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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, the Virginia Tax Bulletin issued 
periodically by the Department of Taxation, and notices of public 
hearings and open meetings of state agencies. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission of Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
Proposed regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating 
agency at any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
If an agency demonstrates that (i) there is an immediate threat to the 
public’s health or safety; or (ii) Virginia statutory law, the appropriation 
act, federal law, or federal regulation requires a regulation to take effect 
no later than (a) 280 days from the enactment in the case of Virginia or 
federal law or the appropriation act, or (b) 280 days from the effective 
date of a federal regulation, it then requests the Governor’s approval to 
adopt an emergency regulation. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to 
addressing specifically defined situations and may not exceed 12 months 
in duration. Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in 
the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
23:7 VA.R. 1023-1140 December 11, 2006, refers to Volume 23, Issue 
7, pages 1023 through 1140 of the Virginia Register issued on 
December 11, 2006. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: R. Steven Landes, 
Chairman; John S. Edwards, Vice Chairman; Ryan T. McDougle; 
Robert Hurt; Robert L. Calhoun; Frank S. Ferguson; E.M. Miller, 
Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; James F. Almand; S. Bernard 
Goodwyn. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
June T. Chandler, Assistant Registrar. 
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

December 2007 through September 2008 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

INDEX 1 Volume 24  January 2008 

24:8 December 5, 2007 December 24, 2007 

24:9 December 18, 2007 (Tuesday) January 7, 2008 

24:10 January 2, 2008 January 21, 2008 

24:11 January 16, 2008 February 4, 2008 

24:12 January 30, 2008 February 18, 2008 

24:13 February 13, 2008 March 3, 2008 

24:14 February 27, 2008 March 17, 2008 

INDEX 2 Volume 24  April 2008 

24:15 March 12, 2008 March 31, 2008 

24:16 March 26, 2008 April 14, 2008 

24:17 April 9, 2008 April 28, 2008 

24:18 April 23, 2008 May 12, 2008 

24:19 May 7, 2008 May 26, 2008 

24:20 May 21, 2008 June 9, 2008 

INDEX 3 Volume 24  July 2008 

24:21 June 4, 2008 June 23, 2008 

24:22 June 18, 2008 July 7, 2008 

24:23 July 2, 2008 July 21, 2008 

24:24 July 16, 2008 August 4, 2008 

24:25 July 30, 2008 August 18, 2008 

24:26 August 13, 2008 September 1, 2008 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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The table printed below lists regulation sections, by Virginia Administrative Code (VAC) title, that have been amended, 
added or repealed in the Virginia Register since the regulations were originally published or last supplemented in VAC (the 
Fall 2007 VAC Supplement includes final regulations published through Virginia Register Volume 23, Issue 21, dated June 
25, 2007). Emergency regulations, if any, are listed, followed by the designation "emer," and errata pertaining to final 
regulations are listed. Proposed regulations are not listed here. The table lists the sections in numerical order and shows 
action taken, the volume, issue and page number where the section appeared, and the effective date of the section. 

CUMULATIVE TABLE OF VIRGINIA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE SECTIONS ADOPTED, AMENDED, OR REPEALED 

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
Title 1. Administration 
1 VAC 55-30-10 through 1 VAC 55-30-90 Added 23:26 VA.R. 4413-4416 10/3/07 
1 VAC 55-30-10 through 1 VAC 55-30-90 Erratum 24:7 VA.R. 940 -- 
Title 2. Agriculture 
2 VAC 5-110 (Forms) Amended 23:26 VA.R. 4452 -- 
2 VAC 5-580-10 through 2 VAC 5-580-310 Repealed 24:2 VA.R. 72 10/16/07 
2 VAC 5-585-10 through 2 VAC 5-585-4070 Added 24:2 VA.R. 72-133 10/16/07 
Title 3. Alcoholic Beverages 
3 VAC 5-50-40 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4107 * 
3 VAC 5-50-50 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4108 * 
3 VAC 5-50-80 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4108 * 
3 VAC 5-50-100 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4108 * 
3 VAC 5-50-130 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4109 * 
3 VAC 5-50-140 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4110 * 
Title 4. Conservation and Natural Resources 
4 VAC 5-36-50 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 638 1/1/08 
4 VAC 5-36-60 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 644 1/1/08 
4 VAC 5-36-70 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 645 1/1/08 
4 VAC 5-36-90 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 647 1/1/08 
4 VAC 5-36-100 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 649 1/1/08 
4 VAC 5-36-110 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 654 1/1/08 
4 VAC 5-36-120 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 655 1/1/08 
4 VAC 5-36-130 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 656 1/1/08 
4 VAC 5-36-140 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 657 1/1/08 
4 VAC 5-36-150 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 659 1/1/08 
4 VAC 5-36-200 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 662 1/1/08 
4 VAC 5-36-210 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 670 1/1/08 
4 VAC 5-36-220 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 675 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-200-10 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 676 10/26/07 
4 VAC 15-270-40 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 676 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-270-80 Added 24:6 VA.R. 676 10/26/07 
4 VAC 15-270-90 Added 24:6 VA.R. 677 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-20-50 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 555 11/1/07 
4 VAC 20-252-90 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 471 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-252-100 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 471 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-260-10 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 472 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-260-20 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 472 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-260-30 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 473 10/1/07 

                                                           
* Objection to Fast-Track Rulemaking 24:1 



Cumulative Table of VAC Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed 

Volume 24, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 24, 2007 

946 

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
4 VAC 20-260-35 Added 24:4 VA.R. 474 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-260-40 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 474 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-260-60 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 474 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-650-20 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 474 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-650-30 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 475 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-650-40 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 475 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-720-20 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 475 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-720-20 Erratum 24:5 VA.R. 621 -- 
4 VAC 20-720-40 through 4VAC20-720-80 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 478-480 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-720-95 Added 24:4 VA.R. 480 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-720-110 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 480 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-755-10 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 133 9/1/07 
4 VAC 20-755-20 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 133 9/1/07 
4 VAC 20-755-30 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 136 9/1/07 
4 VAC 20-910-45 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 556 11/1/07 
4 VAC 20-1120-20 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3871 6/28/07 
4 VAC 25-20 (Forms) Amended 23:24 VA.R. 3968 -- 
4 VAC 25-50-10 through 4 VAC 25-50-110 Repealed 23:22 VA.R. 3696 8/8/07 
4 VAC 25-130-777.17 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3696 8/8/07 
Title 5. Corporations 
5 VAC 5-30-10 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3872 7/1/07 
5 VAC 5-30-20 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3872 7/1/07 
5 VAC 5-30-30 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3873 7/1/07 
5 VAC 5-30-40 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3873 7/1/07 
5 VAC 5-30-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3874 7/1/07 
5 VAC 5-30-60 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3874 7/1/07 
5 VAC 5-30-70 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3875 7/1/07 
Title 6. Criminal Justice and Corrections 
6 VAC 15-20-10 through 6 VAC 15-20-230 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3697-3703 8/9/07 
6 VAC 20-120-40 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4177 9/19/07 
6 VAC 35-20-37 emer Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4178 8/1/07-7/31/08 
6 VAC 35-180-10 through 6 VAC 35-180-170 Added 24:5 VA.R. 557-561 1/1/08 
6 VAC 35-190-10 through 6VAC35-190-110 Added 24:2 VA.R. 137-139 10/31/07 
6 VAC 40-50-10 through 6VAC40-50-80 emer Added 23:23 VA.R. 3876 7/1/06-12/29/07 
Title 8. Education 
8 VAC 20-21-10 through 8 VAC 20-21-730 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4179 9/21/07 
8 VAC 20-22-10 through 8 VAC 20-22-760 Added 23:25 VA.R. 4179-4214 9/21/07 
8 VAC 20-160-10 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3876 8/27/07 
8 VAC 20-160-20 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3878 8/27/07 
8 VAC 20-160-30 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3878 8/27/07 
8 VAC 20-160-40 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3879 8/27/07 
8 VAC 20-160-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3879 8/27/07 
8 VAC 20-160-60 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3879 8/27/07 
8 VAC 20-190-10 Repealed 24:5 VA.R. 562 1/1/08 
8 VAC 20-500-10 Repealed 24:5 VA.R. 563 1/1/08 
8 VAC 20-541-10 through 8 VAC 20-541-60 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4214 9/21/07 
8 VAC 20-542-10 through 8 VAC 20-542-600 Added 23:25 VA.R. 4214-4270 9/21/07 
8 VAC 35-60-10 Added 24:1 VA.R. 25 8/28/07 
8 VAC 35-60-20 Added 24:1 VA.R. 25 8/28/07 
8 VAC 35-60-30 Added 24:1 VA.R. 25 8/28/07 
8 VAC 40-140-10 through 8 VAC 40-140-90 Added 23:22 VA.R. 3704-3706 7/1/07 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
Title 9. Environment 
9 VAC 5-20-203 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 564 12/12/07 
9 VAC 5-20-204 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 565 12/12/07 
9 VAC 5-40-20 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 566 12/12/07 
9 VAC 5-50-20 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 570 12/12/07 
9 VAC 5-50-400 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 573 12/12/07 
9 VAC 5-50-410 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 573 12/12/07 
9 VAC 5-60-60 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 579 12/12/07 
9 VAC 5-60-90 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 579 12/12/07 
9 VAC 5-60-92 Added 24:5 VA.R. 579 12/12/07 
9 VAC 5-60-95 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 579 12/12/07 
9 VAC 5-60-100 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 580 12/12/07 
9 VAC 5-91-20 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 587 12/12/07 
9 VAC 5-140-1061 Added 24:6 VA.R. 679 12/26/07 
9 VAC 5-140-1062 Added 24:6 VA.R. 680 12/26/07 
9 VAC 5-140-2061 Added 24:6 VA.R. 681 12/26/07 
9 VAC 5-140-2062 Added 24:6 VA.R. 682 12/26/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3061 Added 24:6 VA.R. 683 12/26/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3062 Added 24:6 VA.R. 683 12/26/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3400 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 594 12/12/07 
9 VAC 20-130-10 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 480 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-40 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 484 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-60 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 484 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-70 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 484 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-90 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 485 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-110 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 485 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-120 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 486 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-120 Erratum 24:6 VA.R. 889 -- 
9 VAC 20-130-125 Added 24:4 VA.R. 488 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-125 Erratum 24:6 VA.R. 889 -- 
9 VAC 20-130-130 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 489 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-140 Repealed 24:4 VA.R. 489 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-150 Repealed 24:4 VA.R. 489 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-165 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 489 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-175 through 9VAC20-130-230 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 490-493 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-200 Erratum 24:6 VA.R. 889 -- 
9 VAC 25-20-10 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 701 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-20-20 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 702 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-20-30 Repealed 24:6 VA.R. 702 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-20-40 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 702 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-20-50 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 703 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-20-60 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 703 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-20-90 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 704 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-20-100 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 704 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-20-110 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 705 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-20-120 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 706 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-20-130 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 708 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-20-146 Added 24:6 VA.R. 708 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-20-147 Added 24:6 VA.R. 709 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-20-148 Added 24:6 VA.R. 709 1/1/08 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
9 VAC 25-20-149 Added 24:6 VA.R. 709 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-31-100 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 313 11/14/07 
9 VAC 25-31-100 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 711 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-31-120 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 309 11/14/07 
9 VAC 25-31-165 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 333 11/14/07 
9 VAC 25-31-220 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 731 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-31-290 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 735 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-31-460 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 738 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-31-475 Added 24:6 VA.R. 738 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-31-485 Added 24:6 VA.R. 738 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-31-505 Added 24:6 VA.R. 739 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-32-40 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 739 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-32-60 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 739 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-32-80 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 740 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-32-100 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 743 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-32-140 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 743 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-32-210 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 744 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-32-220 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 745 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-32-240 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 745 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-32-300 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 745 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-32-310 through 9 VAC 25-32-760 Added 24:6 VA.R. 746-781 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-260-5 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 536 8/14/07 
9 VAC 25-260-30 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 139 9/11/07 
9 VAC 25-260-30 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 140 9/11/07 
9 VAC 25-260-30 Amended 24:7 VA.R. 908 ** 
9 VAC 25-260-50 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 536 8/14/07 
9 VAC 25-260-187 Added 24:4 VA.R. 536 8/14/07 
9 VAC 25-260-310 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 536 8/14/07 
9 VAC 25-260-480 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 536 8/14/07 
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3881 10/22/07 
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3888 10/22/07 
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3895 10/22/07 
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 140 11/15/07 
9 VAC 25-720-80 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3901 10/22/07 
9 VAC 25-720-90 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 147 11/15/07 
9 VAC 25-790-10 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 784 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-790-50 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 787 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-790-60 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 787 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-790-120 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 788 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-790-130 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 790 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-790-150 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 790 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-790-180 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 791 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-790-200 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 791 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-790-240 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 791 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-790-540 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 792 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-790-550 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 792 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-790-570 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 795 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-790-580 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 797 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-790-590 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 797 1/1/08 

                                                           
** Effective upon filing notice of U.S. EPA approval with Registrar. 
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9 VAC 25-790-600 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 798 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-790-660 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 799 1/1/08 
9 VAC 25-790-880 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 799 1/1/08 
Title 11. Gaming 
11 VAC 10-45-10 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 595 12/12/07 
11 VAC 10-45-25 Added 24:5 VA.R. 596 12/12/07 
Title 12. Health 
12 VAC 5-31-2300 through 12VAC5-31-2970 Added 24:6 VA.R. 806-818 1/1/08 
12 VAC 5-40-10 through 12VAC5-40-190 Repealed 24:6 VA.R. 806 1/1/08 
12 VAC 5-90-80 emer Amended 24:5 VA.R. 597 10/24/07-10/23/08 
12 VAC 5-125-10 through 12 VAC 5-125-180 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3904-3919 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-421-10 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 149 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-90 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 157 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-100 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 157 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-120 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 158 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-140 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 158 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-160 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 159 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-170 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 159 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-180 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 159 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-190 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 159 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-200 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 160 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-230 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 160 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-250 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 160 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-270 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 160 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-295 Added 24:2 VA.R. 160 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-300 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 160 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-330 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 161 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-340 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 161 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-350 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 161 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-360 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 161 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-430 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 162 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-440 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 162 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-450 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 162 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-460 Added 24:2 VA.R. 162 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-500 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 162 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-520 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 163 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-530 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 163 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-550 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 163 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-560 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 163 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-570 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 163 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-580 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 163 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-590 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 164 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-600 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 164 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-620 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 164 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-670 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 164 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-680 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 164 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-700 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 164 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-720 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 166 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-760 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 166 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-765 Added 24:2 VA.R. 166 10/16/07 
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12 VAC 5-421-780 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 166 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-790 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 166 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-800 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 167 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-820 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 167 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-830 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 167 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-840 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 169 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-850 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 169 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-860 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 170 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-870 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 170 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-880 Added 24:2 VA.R. 171 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-890 Added 24:2 VA.R. 171 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-900 Added 24:2 VA.R. 171 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-910 Added 24:2 VA.R. 171 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-920 Added 24:2 VA.R. 171 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-930 Added 24:2 VA.R. 171 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-940 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 172 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-950 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 172 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-960 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 173 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-970 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 173 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-990 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 173 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1000 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 173 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1010 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 173 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1020 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 173 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1030 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 173 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1040 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 173 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1070 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 174 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1090 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 174 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1120 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 174 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1200 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 174 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1260 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 174 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1270 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 174 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1300 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 174 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1310 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 174 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1320 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 175 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1330 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 175 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1340 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 175 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1350 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 175 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1360 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 175 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1370 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 176 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1460 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 176 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1510 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 176 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1520 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 176 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1530 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 177 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1540 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 177 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1620 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 177 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1640 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 177 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1660 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 177 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1670 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 178 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1680 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 178 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1690 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 178 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1700 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 178 10/16/07 
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12 VAC 5-421-1710 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 179 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1720 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 179 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1730 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 179 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1750 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 179 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1760 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 179 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1780 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 179 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1810 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 180 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1820 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 180 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1880 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 180 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1890 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 180 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1900 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 180 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1960 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 181 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2010 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 181 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2080 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 181 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2190 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 181 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2200 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 181 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2210 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 181 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2270 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 181 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2310 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 182 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2320 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 182 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2520 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 182 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2630 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 182 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2680 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 182 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2710 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 182 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2790 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 182 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2810 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 182 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2820 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 183 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2840 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 183 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2850 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 183 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2870 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 183 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2880 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 183 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2930 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 183 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2990 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 184 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3040 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 184 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3120 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 184 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3200 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 184 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3210 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 184 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3230 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 184 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3310 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 184 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3370 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 185 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3380 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 185 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3450 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 185 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3510 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 185 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3560 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 185 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3580 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 185 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3590 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 186 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3620 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 186 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3660 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 186 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3700 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 186 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3750 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 187 10/16/07 
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12 VAC 5-421-3760 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 188 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3800 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 188 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3815 Added 24:2 VA.R. 188 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3860 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 188 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3900 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 188 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3960 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 189 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3970 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 189 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-4000 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 189 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-4035 Added 24:2 VA.R. 190 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-4050 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 191 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-4070 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 191 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-585-70 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 602 12/17/07 
12 VAC 5-585-510 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 602 12/17/07 
12 VAC 5-585-600 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 607 12/17/07 
12 VAC 5-585-610 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 607 12/17/07 
12 VAC 5-585-620 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 612 12/17/07 
12 VAC 5-585-630 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 614 12/17/07 
12 VAC 5-585-760 through 12 VAC 5-585-830 Added 23:25 VA.R. 4298-4301 10/1/07 
12 VAC 30-10-820 Added 24:2 VA.R. 191 10/31/07 
12 VAC 30-60-500 emer Added 23:26 VA.R. 4427 8/8/07-8/7/08 
12 VAC 30-80-40 emer Amended 24:3 VA.R. 377 10/1/07-9/30/08 
12 VAC 30-120 Erratum 23:24 VA.R. 4080 -- 
12 VAC 30-120-370 emer Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4029 9/1/07-8/31/08 
12 VAC 30-120-380 emer Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4032 9/1/07-8/31/08 
12 VAC 30-120-1500 through 12VAC30-120-1550 Added 24:6 VA.R. 819-829 12/26/07 
12 VAC 30-135-100 through 12VAC30-135-360 Added 24:2 VA.R. 196-218 12/1/07 
12 VAC 35-115-10 through 12 VAC 35-115-250 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4301-4340 9/19/07 
12 VAC 35-115-90 Erratum 24:6 VA.R. 889 -- 
12 VAC 35-115-145 Added 23:25 VA.R. 4329 9/19/07 
12 VAC 35-115-146 Added 23:25 VA.R. 4330 9/19/07 
12 VAC 35-115-160 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4332 9/19/07 
Title 13. Housing 
13 VAC 5-31 Erratum 23:24 VA.R. 4079 -- 
13 VAC 5-91 Erratum 23:24 VA.R. 4080 -- 
13 VAC 10-40-20 Amended 24:7 VA.R. 911 11/13/07 
13 VAC 10-40-60 Amended 24:7 VA.R. 914 11/13/07 
13 VAC 10-40-80 Amended 24:7 VA.R. 915 11/13/07 
13 VAC 10-40-100 Amended 24:7 VA.R. 916 11/13/07 
13 VAC 10-40-110 Amended 24:7 VA.R. 917 11/13/07 
13 VAC 10-40-120 Amended 24:7 VA.R. 917 11/13/07 
13 VAC 10-40-130 Amended 24:7 VA.R. 917 11/13/07 
13 VAC 10-40-170 Amended 24:7 VA.R. 920 11/13/07 
13 VAC 10-40-190 Amended 24:7 VA.R. 920 11/13/07 
13 VAC 10-40-210 Amended 24:7 VA.R. 921 11/13/07 
13 VAC 10-40-230 Amended 24:7 VA.R. 921 11/13/07 
Title 14. Insurance 
14 VAC 5-215-20 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3768 7/1/07 
14 VAC 5-215-30 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3768 7/1/07 
14 VAC 5-215-50 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3769 7/1/07 
14 VAC 5-215-60 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3770 7/1/07 
14 VAC 5-215-80 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3770 7/1/07 
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14 VAC 5-420-10 through 14 VAC 5-420-60 Added 24:7 VA.R. 926-931 2/15/08 
Title 16. Labor and Employment 
16 VAC 15-21-30 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3933 8/23/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.6 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 26 12/15/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.66 Appendix D Amended 24:1 VA.R. 26 12/15/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.302 through 16 VAC 25-90-
1910.308 

Amended 24:1 VA.R. 26 12/15/07 

16 VAC 25-90-1910.399 Subpart S Appendix A  Amended 24:1 VA.R. 26 12/15/07 
Title 18. Professional and Occupational Licensing 
18 VAC 41-70-10 through 18 VAC 41-70-280 Added 23:25 VA.R. 4349-4359 9/20/07 
18 VAC 50-30-10 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 416 11/15/07 
18 VAC 50-30-40 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 418 11/15/07 
18 VAC 50-30-90 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 419 11/15/07 
18 VAC 50-30-100 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 419 11/15/07 
18 VAC 50-30-120 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 419 11/15/07 
18 VAC 50-30-130 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 420 11/15/07 
18 VAC 50-30-190 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 421 11/15/07 
18 VAC 50-30-200 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 422 11/15/07 
18 VAC 50-30-220 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 422 11/15/07 
18 VAC 60-20-17 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 424 11/29/07 
18 VAC 60-20-71 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3934 8/22/07 
18 VAC 65-10-10 through 18VAC65-10-80 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 226-228 11/15/07 
18 VAC 65-10-100 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 228 11/15/07 
18 VAC 65-10-110 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 228 11/15/07 
18 VAC 65-10-120 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 228 11/15/07 
18 VAC 85-20-140 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 27 10/17/07 
18 VAC 85-20-235 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4360 9/20/07 
18 VAC 85-20-235 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4361 9/20/07 
18 VAC 85-20-290 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3934 8/22/07 
18 VAC 85-20-400 through 18 VAC 85-20-420 Adding 23:25 VA.R. 4362-4363 9/20/07 
18 VAC 85-40-61 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 28 10/17/07 
18 VAC 85-40-61 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 29 10/18/07 
18 VAC 85-40-65 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 28 10/17/07 
18 VAC 85-50-58 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 29 10/18/07 
18 VAC 85-80-72 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 29 10/18/07 
18 VAC 85-101-152 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 30 10/18/07 
18 VAC 85-110-155 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 30 10/18/07 
18 VAC 85-120-130 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 229 10/31/07 
18 VAC 90-20-30 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4363 10/1/07 
18 VAC 90-20-225 Added 23:25 VA.R. 4364 10/1/07 
18 VAC 90-30-240 Added 24:3 VA.R. 427 11/29/07 
18 VAC 90-40-100 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 831 1/11/08 
18 VAC 90-60-100 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 429 11/29/07 
18 VAC 95-10-10 through 18VAC95-10-80 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 231-232 11/15/07 
18 VAC 95-10-100 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 232 11/15/07 
18 VAC 95-10-110 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 232 11/15/07 
18 VAC 95-10-120 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 232 11/15/07 
18 VAC 95-30-10 through 18VAC95-30-210 Added 24:6 VA.R. 832-837 1/2/08 
18 VAC 105-20-10 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3791 9/24/07 
18 VAC 110-20-180 Erratum 24:3 VA.R. 444 -- 
18 VAC 110-40-10 through 18VAC110-40-50 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 430-431 11/14/07 
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18 VAC 112-20-81 emer Added 24:4 VA.R. 497 11/1/07-10/31/08 
18 VAC 112-20-90 emer Amended 24:4 VA.R. 497 11/1/07-10/31/08 
18 VAC 112-20-130 emer Amended 24:4 VA.R. 498 11/1/07-10/31/08 
18 VAC 112-20-131 emer Amended 24:4 VA.R. 498 11/1/07-10/31/08 
18 VAC 112-20-150 emer Amended 24:4 VA.R. 499 11/1/07-10/31/08 
18 VAC 120-40-10 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4038 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-15 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4039 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-20 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4039 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-60 Repealed 24:3 VA.R. 433 12/29/07 
18 VAC 120-40-80 through 18VAC120-40-360 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4040-4052 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-221 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4043 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-222 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4043 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-295 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4048 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-342 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4050 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-370 Repealed 23:24 VA.R. 4052 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-380 Repealed 23:24 VA.R. 4052 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-385 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4052 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-390 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4053 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-400 Repealed 23:24 VA.R. 4053 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-410 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4053 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-411 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4053 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-411.1 through 18VAC120-40-411.21 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4054-4064 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-415 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4064 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-415.1 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4065 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-415.2 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4065 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-415.3 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4065 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-420 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4066 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-430 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4066 9/5/07 
18 VAC 130-20-10 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 838 1/1/08 
18 VAC 130-20-30 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 842 1/1/08 
18 VAC 130-20-60 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 843 1/1/08 
18 VAC 130-20-110 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 844 1/1/08 
18 VAC 130-20-170 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 844 1/1/08 
18 VAC 130-20-180 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 844 1/1/08 
18 VAC 130-20-210 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 846 1/1/08 
18 VAC 130-20-220 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 847 1/1/08 
18 VAC 130-20-230 Amended 24:6 VA.R. 847 1/1/08 
18 VAC 135-30 (Forms) Amended 24:1 VA.R. 41 -- 
18 VAC 135-40 (Forms) Amended 24:1 VA.R. 43 -- 
18 VAC 135-50-10 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3794 9/22/07 
18 VAC 135-50-20 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3795 9/22/07 
18 VAC 135-50-220 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3795 9/22/07 
18 VAC 135-50-400 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3795 9/22/07 
18 VAC 150-10-10 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3937 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-20 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3937 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-30 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3937 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-40 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3938 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3938 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-60 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3938 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-70 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3938 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-80 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3938 10/7/07 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
18 VAC 150-10-100 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3939 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-110 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3939 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-120 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3939 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-20-30 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 436 11/29/07 
18 VAC 150-20-100 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 436 11/29/07 
18 VAC 150-20-140 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 437 11/29/07 
18 VAC 150-20-220 Added 24:3 VA.R. 438 11/29/07 
18 VAC 150-20-230 Added 24:3 VA.R. 438 11/29/07 
18 VAC 150-20-240 Added 24:3 VA.R. 438 11/29/07 
Title 19. Public Safety 
19 VAC 30-170-15 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 233 10/1/07 
19 VAC 30-170-50 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 233 10/1/07 
Title 20. Public Utilities and Telecommunications 
20 VAC 5-417-10 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 513 10/9/07 
20 VAC 5-417-50 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 513 10/9/07 
Title 21. Securities and Retail Franchising 
21 VAC 5-10-40 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3940 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-20-65 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3942 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-20-95 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3942 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-20-280 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3943 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-20-330 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3947 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-80-65 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3949 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-80-160 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3950 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-80-200 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3954 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-110 Erratum 23:24 VA.R. 4079 -- 
21 VAC 5-110-65 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3959 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-110-75 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3960 7/1/07 
Title 22. Social Services 
22 VAC 40-35-10 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3962 9/1/07 
22 VAC 40-35-80 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3965 9/1/07 
22 VAC 40-35-90 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3965 9/1/07 
22 VAC 40-35-100 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3966 9/1/07 
22 VAC 40-41-10 through 22 VAC 40-41-50 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3796-3799 9/1/07 
22 VAC 40-41-55 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3799 9/1/07 
22 VAC 40-41-60 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3799 9/1/07 
22 VAC 40-72-55 Added 24:5 VA.R. 616 12/12/07 
22 VAC 40-72-367 Added 24:5 VA.R. 616 12/12/07 
22 VAC 40-72-930 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 38 11/1/07 
22 VAC 40-72-960 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 39 11/1/07 
22 VAC 40-375-10 through 22 VAC 40-375-60 Repealed 24:5 VA.R. 616 12/12/07 
22 VAC 40-770-10 through 22 VAC 40-770-160 Repealed 24:2 VA.R. 234 11/1/07 
22 VAC 40-771-10 through 22 VAC 40-771-160 Added 24:2 VA.R. 234-242 11/1/07 
22 VAC 42-10-10 through 22VAC42-10-1000 Repealed 24:6 VA.R. 849 12/28/07 
22 VAC 42-11-10 through 22VAC42-11-1090 Added 24:6 VA.R. 850-885 12/28/07 
Title 23. Taxation 
23 VAC 10-210-485 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4069 9/6/07 
23 VAC 10-210-693 emer Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4364 7/26/07-07/25/08 
23 VAC 10-210-6041 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4068 9/6/07 
23 VAC 10-210-6042 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4069 9/6/07 
23 VAC 10-210-6043 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4069 9/6/07 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
23 VAC 10-240-20 through 23 VAC 10-240-60 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4372-4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-100 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-130 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-140 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-150 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-200 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-210 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-240 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-270 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-280 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-300 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4374 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-310 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4374 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-330 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4374 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-340 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4374 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-360 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4374 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-380 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4374 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-400 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4375 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-420 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4375 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-430 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4375 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-450 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4375 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-460 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4375 10/04/07 
Title 24. Transportation and Motor Vehicles 
24 VAC 20-120-10 through 24VAC20-120-180 Repealed 24:4 VA.R. 516 1/1/08 
24 VAC 20-121-10 through 24 VAC 20-121-220 Adding 24:4 VA.R. 516-529 1/1/08 
24 VAC 22-20-10 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 439 12/1/07 
24 VAC 22-20-20 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 440 12/1/07 
24 VAC 27-10-10 through 24VAC27-10-120 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4071-4075 9/20/07 
24 VAC 30-45-10 Added 24:2 VA.R. 243 10/1/07 
24 VAC 30-45-20 Added 24:2 VA.R. 243 10/1/07 
24 VAC 30-45-30 Added 24:2 VA.R. 244 10/1/07 
24 VAC 30-200-10 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 529 11/28/07 
24 VAC 30-200-20 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 530 11/28/07 
24 VAC 30-200-30 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 531 11/28/07 
24 VAC 30-200-35 Added 24:4 VA.R. 532 11/28/07 
24 VAC 30-200-40 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 533 11/28/07 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene. 

Statutory Authority: §54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: John Bitting. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request:  To amend requirements for 
administration of conscious sedation. 

Agency's Plan for Disposition of the Request: The board is 
requesting public comment on the petition to amend rules for 
administration of conscious sedation and will review the 2007 
guidelines of the American Dental Association prior to 
making a decision on the petitioner's request to consider the 
request for an amendment at its meeting on March 7, 2008. 

Comments may be submitted until January 23, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 
Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 
(804) 367-4688, FAX (804) 527-4434, or email 
elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-05; Filed November 30, 2007, 9:56 a.m. 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC125-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Psychology. 

Statutory Authority: §54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Michael Krohn. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend regulations to 
require the doctoral psychology program to involve at least 12 
months of continuous physical residency at the degree-
granting institution. 

Agency's Plan for Disposition of the Request: The board will 
consider the petition and any comment received at its meeting 
on April 15, 2008, to consider whether to recommend 
amendments to the requirements for education and training 
for clinical psychology. 

Comments may be submitted until January 24, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, 
Board of Psychology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4697, FAX (804) 
527-4435, or email evelyn.brown@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-06; Filed December 5, 2007, 11:13 a.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

VIRGINIA WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
COMMISSION  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Virginia Workers' 
Compensation Commission intends to consider repealing 
16VAC30-90, Procedural Regulations for Filing First 
Reports Under the Virginia Workers' Compensation Act 
and promulgating 16VAC30-91, Procedural Regulations 
for Filing First Reports Under the Virginia Workers' 
Compensation Act. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
conform claims reporting under the Workers' Compensation 
Act (§65.2-900 of the Code of Virginia) to current IAIABC 
EDI standards, and to require the commission's trading 
partners to utilize such standards in making reports to the 
commission. Due to the extensive formatting changes the 
existing regulation is being repealed and a new regulation 
promulgated in its place. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§65.2-201 and 65.2-900 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until January 23, 2008. 

Contact Information: Matthew Bryant, Director, Technology 
Alignment Program, Virginia Workers' Compensation 
Commission, 1000 DMV Drive, Richmond, VA 23220, 
telephone (804) 367-2253, FAX (877) 366-5495, or email 
matthew.bryant@vwc.state.va.us. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1094; Filed December 7, 2007, 7:55 a.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR’S NOTICE: The following regulation filed by 
the Marine Resources Commission is exempt from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with §2.2-4006 A 
12 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 
required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-610. Pertaining to 
Commercial Fishing and Mandatory Harvest Reporting 
(amending 4VAC20-610-20, 4VAC20-610-30, 4VAC20-
610-50, 4VAC20-610-60; adding 4VAC20-610-25). 

Statutory Authority: §28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 1, 2007.  

Agency Contact: Brandy L. Battle, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Ave., 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
brandy.battle@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) define clam aquaculture product 
owner and oyster aquaculture product owner, (ii) state that 
any clam or oyster aquaculture product owner shall obtain 
a clam or oyster aquaculture product owner’s permit and 
shall report his harvest to Virginia Marine Resources 
Commission monthly, (iii) state the conditions whereby one 
shall obtain an oyster or clam aquaculture harvester’s 
permit for the purposes of providing fisheries effort 
statistics to the commission and describe the guidelines 
associated with possession of that permit, (iv) provide an 
exemption to the harvester’s permit for minors and (v) list 
the information needed for the monthly harvest report from 
the oyster and clam aquaculture product owner permittees. 

4VAC20-610-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise.: 

"Clam aquaculture product owner" means any person or 
firm that owns clams on leased, subleased or fee simple 
ground or on any growing area within or adjacent to Virginia 

tidal waters that are raised by any form of aquaculture. This 
does not include any riparian shellfish gardeners whose 
activities are authorized by 4VAC20-336. 

"Commission" means the Marine Resources Commission. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Marine 
Resources Commission. 

"Continuing business enterprise" means any business which 
that is required to have a Virginia Seafood Buyer's License or 
is required to have a business license by county, city or local 
ordinance. 

"Oyster aquaculture product owner" means any person or 
firm that owns oysters on leased, subleased or fee simple 
ground or on any growing area within or adjacent to Virginia 
tidal waters that are raised by any form of aquaculture. This 
does not include any riparian shellfish gardeners whose 
activities are authorized by 4VAC20-336. 

"Sale" means sale, trade, or barter. 

"Sell" means sell, trade, or barter. 

"Selling" means selling, trading or bartering. 

"Sold" means sold, traded, or bartered. 

4VAC20-610-25. Oyster and clam aquaculture permit 
requirements. 

A. For the purposes of collecting oyster fisheries statistics 
from the Virginia aquaculture industry as authorized by 
§28.2-204 of the Code of Virginia, and in accordance with 
§28.2-613 of the Code of Virginia, which describes 
conditions that determine the duration of a lease, any oyster 
aquaculture product owner shall obtain an oyster aquaculture 
product owner’s permit and shall report harvest of any oysters 
from leased, subleased or fee simple ground or on any 
growing area within or adjacent to Virginia tidal waters in 
accordance with 4VAC20-610-60. 

B. For the purposes of collecting clam fisheries statistics 
from the Virginia aquaculture industry as authorized by 
§28.2-204 of the Code of Virginia, and in accordance with 
§28.2-613 of the Code of Virginia, which describes 
conditions that determine the duration of a lease, any clam 
aquaculture product owner shall obtain a clam aquaculture 
product owner’s permit and shall report harvest of any clams 
from leased, subleased or fee simple ground or on any 
growing area within or adjacent to Virginia tidal waters in 
accordance with 4VAC20-610-60. 
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C. Any person who is not a permitted oyster aquaculture 
product owner who harvests oysters from leased, subleased or 
fee simple ground or on any growing area within or adjacent 
to Virginia tidal waters shall obtain an oyster aquaculture 
harvester’s permit for the purposes of providing fisheries 
effort statistics to the commission as authorized by §28.2-204 
of the Code of Virginia. 

D. Any person who is not a permitted clam aquaculture 
product owner who harvests clams from leased, subleased or 
fee simple ground or on any growing area within or adjacent 
to Virginia tidal waters shall obtain a clam aquaculture 
harvester’s permit for the purposes of providing fisheries 
effort statistics to the commission as authorized by §28.2-204 
of the Code of Virginia. 

E. It shall be unlawful for any person permitted as an oyster 
aquaculture harvester to fail to possess that permit on his 
person while harvesting unless that permit is in the possession 
of a legally permitted oyster aquaculture product owner, and 
the permitted harvester is harvesting oysters of that oyster 
aquaculture product owner. 

F. It shall be unlawful for any person permitted as a clam 
aquaculture harvester to fail to possess that permit on his 
person while harvesting unless that permit is in the possession 
of a legally permitted clam aquaculture product owner, and 
the permitted harvester is harvesting clams of that clam 
aquaculture product owner. 

G. Minor persons younger than 18 years of age shall be 
exempt from the requirements to obtain an oyster aquaculture 
harvester’s permit provided that minor person is harvesting 
oysters under the supervision of a legally permitted oyster 
aquaculture product owner. 

H. Minor persons younger than 18 years of age shall be 
exempt from the requirements to obtain a clam aquaculture 
harvester’s permit provided that minor person is harvesting 
clams under the supervision of a legally permitted clam 
aquaculture product owner. 

4VAC20-610-30. Commercial Fisherman Registration 
License; exceptions and requirements of authorized 
agents. 

A. In accordance with §28.2-241 C of the Code of Virginia, 
only persons who hold a valid Commercial Fisherman 
Registration License may sell, trade, or barter their harvest, or 
give their harvest to another, in order that it may be sold, 
traded, or bartered. Only these licensees may sell their 
harvests from Virginia tidal waters, regardless of the method 
or manner in which caught. Exceptions to the requirement to 
register as a commercial fisherman for selling harvest are 
authorized for the following persons or firms only: 

1. Persons taking menhaden under the authority of licenses 
issued pursuant to §28.2-402 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. Persons independently harvesting and selling, trading, or 
bartering no more than three gallons of minnows per day 
who are not part of, hired by, or engaged in a continuing 
business enterprise. 

a. Only minnow pots, a cast net or a minnow seine less 
than 25 feet in length may be used by persons 
independently harvesting minnows. 

b. All other marine species taken during the process of 
harvesting minnows shall be returned to the water 
immediately. 

3. Any person or firm responsible for planting, 
propagating, or harvesting oysters or clams on private 
shellfish growing grounds, except that:  

a. Any person or firm responsible for planting, 
propagating, or harvesting oysters on private shellfish 
growing grounds must possess a valid Oyster 
Aquaculture License.  

b. Any person or firm responsible for planting, 
propagating, or harvesting clams on private shellfish 
growing grounds must possess a valid Clam Aquaculture 
License.  

B. Requirements of authorized agents. 1. Any person whose 
Commercial Fisherman Registration License or fishing gear 
license is not currently revoked by the Marine Resources 
Commission pursuant to §28.2-232 of the Code of Virginia is 
authorized to possess the registration license of a commercial 
fisherman in order to serve as an agent for fishing the 
commercial fisherman's gear and selling the catch harvest. No 
commercial fisherman shall use more than one person as an 
agent at any time. The agent shall possess the registration 
license and gear license of the commercial fisherman while 
fishing. When transporting or selling a commercial 
fisherman's catch harvest, the agent shall possess either the 
registration license of that commercial fisherman or a bill of 
lading indicating that fisherman's name, address, Commercial 
Fisherman Registration License number, date and amount of 
product to be sold. 

2. Any person whose Oyster Aquaculture License, Clam 
Aquaculture License, or Commercial Fishing Registration 
License is not currently revoked by the Marine Resources 
Commission pursuant to §28.2-232 of the Code of Virginia 
is authorized to possess a valid Oyster Aquaculture License 
or Clam Aquaculture License in order to serve as an agent 
of an oyster aquaculture licensee or a clam aquaculture 
licensee for harvesting from aquaculture gear or private 
oyster ground leases and selling the aquaculture product. 
No aquaculture licensee shall use more than one person as 
an agent at any time. The agent shall possess that Oyster 
Aquaculture License or Clam Aquaculture License while 
harvesting. When transporting or selling the aquaculture 
product, the agent shall possess either the Oyster 
Aquaculture License or Clam Aquaculture License of that 
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aquaculture licensee, or a bill of lading indicating that 
licensee's name, address, Oyster Aquaculture License or 
Clam Aquaculture License number, date, and amount of 
products to be sold.  

C. In accordance with §28.2-241 H of the Code of Virginia, 
only persons with a valid Commercial Fisherman Registration 
License may purchase gear licenses. Beginning with licenses 
for the 1993 calendar year and for all years thereafter, gear 
licenses will be sold only upon presentation of evidence of a 
valid Commercial Fisherman Registration License.  

Exceptions to the prerequisite requirement are authorized for 
the following gears only and under the conditions described 
below:  

1. Menhaden purse seine licenses issued pursuant to §28.2-
402 of the Code of Virginia may be purchased without 
holding a Commercial Fisherman Registration License.  

2. Commercial gear licenses used for recreational purposes 
and issued pursuant to §28.2-226.2 of the Code of Virginia 
may be purchased without holding a Commercial 
Fisherman Registration License.  

D. Exceptions to the two-year delay may be granted by the 
commissioner if he finds any of the following:  

1. The applicant for an exception (i) has demonstrated, to 
the satisfaction of the commissioner, that the applicant has 
fished a significant quantity of commercial gear in Virginia 
waters during at least two of the previous five years; and 
(ii) can demonstrate, to the satisfaction of the 
commissioner, that a significant hardship caused by 
unforeseen circumstances beyond the applicant's control 
has prevented the applicant from making timely 
application for registration. The commissioner may require 
the applicant to provide such documentation as he deems 
necessary to verify the existence of hardship.  

2. The applicant is purchasing another commercial 
fisherman's gear, and the seller of the gear holds a 
Commercial Fisherman Registration License and the seller 
surrenders that license to the commission at the time the 
gear is sold.  

3. An immediate member of the applicant's family, who 
holds a current registration, has died or is retiring from the 
commercial fishery and the applicant intends to continue in 
the fishery.  

Any applicant denied an exception may appeal the decision 
to the commission. The applicant shall provide a request to 
appeal to the commission 30 days in advance of the meeting 
at which the commission will hear the request. The 
commission will hear requests at their March, June, 
September, and December meetings.  

Under no circumstances will an exception be granted solely 
on the basis of economic hardship.  

4VAC20-610-50. Commercial hook-and-line license. 

A. On or after January 1, 1993, it shall be unlawful for any 
person to take or catch harvest fish in the tidal waters of 
Virginia with hook-and-line, rod-and-reel, or hand line and to 
sell such catch harvest without first having purchased a 
Commercial Hook-and-Line License from the commission or 
its agent. 

B. A Commercial Fisherman Registration License, as 
described in §28.2-241 H of the Code of Virginia, is required 
prior to the purchase of this license. 

4VAC20-610-60. Mandatory harvest reporting. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any valid commercial fisherman 
registration licensee, oyster aquaculture licensee product 
owner permittee, or clam aquaculture licensee product owner 
permittee to fail to fully report his harvests and related 
information as set forth in this chapter. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman, 
charter boat captain, head boat captain, commercial fishing 
pier operator, or owner of a private boat licensed pursuant to 
§§28.2-302.7 through 28.2-302.9 of the Code of Virginia, to 
fail to report recreational catches harvests, upon request, to 
those authorized by the commission. 

C. All registered commercial fishermen and any valid 
seafood landing licensee, oyster aquaculture licensee product 
owner permittee, and clam aquaculture licensee product 
owner permittee shall complete a daily form accurately 
quantifying and legibly describing that day's harvest from 
Virginia tidal and federal waters. The forms used to record 
daily harvest shall be those provided by the commission or 
another form approved by the commission. Registered 
commercial fishermen, and seafood landing licensees, oyster 
aquaculture licensees, and clam aquaculture licensees may 
use more than one form when selling to more than one buyer. 

D. Registered commercial fishermen, valid oyster 
aquaculture licensees product owner permittees and valid 
clam aquaculture licensees product owner permittees shall 
submit a monthly harvest report to the commission no later 
than the fifth day of the following month. This report shall be 
accompanied by the daily catch harvest records described in 
subsection C E of this section. Completed forms shall be 
mailed or delivered to the commission or other designated 
locations. 

E. The monthly catch harvest report and daily catch harvest 
records from registered commercial fishermen shall include 
the name and signature of the registered commercial 
fisherman and his license registration number, buyer or 
private sale information, date of harvest, city or county of 
landing, water body fished, gear type and amount used, 
number of hours gear fished, number of hours watermen the 
registered commercial fisherman fished, number of crew on 
board, including captain, species harvested, market category, 
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and live weight or processed weight or species harvested, and 
vessel identification (Coast Guard documentation number, 
Virginia license number or hull/VIN number). Any 
information on the price paid for the catch harvest may be 
provided voluntarily. The monthly harvest report and daily 
harvest records from oyster aquaculture product owner 
permittees and clam aquaculture product owner permittees 
shall include the name, signature, permit number, lease 
number, date of harvest, city or county of landing, gear 
(growing technique) used, species harvested in weight or 
amount, number of crew, and buyer or private sale 
information. 

F. Registered commercial fishermen, valid oyster 
aquaculture licensees, product owner permittees and valid 
clam aquaculture licensees product owner permittees not 
fishing during a month shall so notify the commission no later 
than the 5th fifth of the following month by postage paid 
postal card provided by the commission or by calling the 
commission's toll free telephone line. 

G. Any person licensed as a commercial seafood buyer 
pursuant to §28.2-228 of the Code of Virginia shall maintain 
for a period of one year a copy of each fisherman's daily 
harvest record form for each purchase made. Such records 
shall be made available upon request to those authorized by 
the commission. 

H. Registered commercial fishermen, valid oyster 
aquaculture licensees product owner permittees and valid 
clam aquaculture licensees product owner permittees shall 
maintain their daily harvest records for one year and shall 
make them available upon request to those authorized by the 
commission. 

I. Registered commercial fishermen and licensed seafood 
buyers shall allow those authorized by the commission to 
sample catch harvest and seafood products to obtain 
biological information for scientific and management 
purposes only. Such sampling shall be conducted in a manner 
which that does not hinder normal business operations. 

J. The reporting of oyster harvest and transactions by 
licensed seafood buyers, oyster aquaculture licensees product 
owner permittees, clam aquaculture product owner 
permittees, and any registered commercial fisherman who 
self-markets his oyster catch harvest shall be made in 
accordance with 4VAC20-200 and Article 3 (§28.2-538 et 
seq.) of Chapter 5 of Title 28.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

K. The reporting of the harvest of federally permitted 
species from beyond Virginia's tidal waters that are sold to a 
federally permitted dealer shall be exempt from the 
procedures described in this section. 

L. The owner of any purse seine vessel or bait seine vessel 
(snapper rig) licensed under the provisions of §28.2-402 of 
the Code of Virginia shall submit the Captain's Daily Fishing 
Reports to the National Marine Fisheries Service, in 

accordance with provisions of Amendment 1 to the Interstate 
Fishery Management Plan of the Atlantic States Marine 
Fisheries Commission for Atlantic Menhaden, which became 
effective July 2001. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1032; Filed November 30, 2007, 10:15 a.m.  

Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-620. Pertaining to Summer 
Flounder (amending 4VAC20-620-40). 

Statutory Authority: §§28.2-204.1 and 28.2-210 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: November 28, 2007, through December 27, 
2007. 

Agency Contact: Brandy L. Battle, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Ave., 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
brandy.battle@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

This emergency amendment adds that, from the last 
Monday in October through December 31 of each year, it 
shall be unlawful to possess aboard any vessel in Virginia 
any amount of Summer Flounder in excess of 10% by 
weight of all other landed species on board the vessel once 
it has been projected and announced the quota has been 
taken and, subsequently the commission announces quota 
is still available. 

4VAC20-620-40. Commercial vessel possession 
limitations. 

A. From January 1 through the day preceding the fourth 
Monday in January, it shall be unlawful for any person 
harvesting Summer Flounder outside of Virginia's waters to 
possess aboard any vessel in Virginia any amount of Summer 
Flounder in excess of 10% by weight of all other landed 
species on board the vessel. 

B. From the fourth Monday in January through March 31 of 
each year, it shall be unlawful for any person harvesting 
Summer Flounder outside of Virginia waters to do any of the 
following: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters an amount 
of Summer Flounder in excess of 12,500 pounds. 

2. Land Summer Flounder in Virginia for commercial 
purposes more than twice within each consecutive 10-day 
period, with the first 10-day period beginning on the fourth 
Monday in January. 

3. Land in Virginia more than a total of 12,500 pounds of 
Summer Flounder during each consecutive 10-day period, 
with the first 10-day period beginning on the fourth 
Monday in January. 
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C. When it is projected and announced that 85% of the quota 
for the period from the first Monday in January through 
March 31 has been taken, it shall be unlawful for any person 
harvesting Summer Flounder outside of Virginia's waters to 
possess aboard any vessel in Virginia any amount of Summer 
Flounder in excess of 10% by weight of all other landed 
species on board the vessel. 

D. During the period of April 1 through June 30 of each 
calendar year, it shall be unlawful for any person harvesting 
Summer Flounder outside of Virginia's waters to possess 
aboard any vessel in Virginia any amount of Summer 
Flounder in excess of 5,000 pounds, except that when it is 
projected and announced that 85% of the quota for this period 
has been taken, it shall be unlawful for any person harvesting 
Summer Flounder outside of Virginia's waters to possess 
aboard any vessel in Virginia any amount of Summer 
Flounder in excess of 10% by weight of all other landed 
species on board the vessel. 

E. From July 1 through the day preceding the last Monday in 
October of each calendar year, it shall be unlawful for any 
person harvesting Summer Flounder outside of Virginia's 
waters to possess aboard any vessel in Virginia any amount of 
Summer Flounder in excess of 10% by weight of all other 
landed species on board the vessel. 

F. From the last Monday in October through December 31 
of each year, it shall be unlawful for any person harvesting 
Summer Flounder outside of Virginia waters to do any of the 
following: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters an amount 
of Summer Flounder in excess of 10,000 pounds. 

2. Land Summer Flounder in Virginia for commercial 
purposes more than twice within each consecutive 10-day 
period, with the first 10-day period beginning on the last 
Monday in October. 

3. Land in Virginia more than a total of 10,000 pounds of 
Summer Flounder during each consecutive 10-day period, 
with the first 10-day period beginning on the last Monday 
in October. 

4. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia any amount of 
Summer Flounder in excess of 10% by weight of all other 
landed species on board the vessel once it has been 
projected and announced the quota has been taken and, 
subsequently, the commission announces quota is still 
available. 

G. For each of the time periods set forth in subsections A, B, 
C, D, E and F of this section, the Marine Resources 
Commission will give timely notice of any changes in 
possession limits. 

H. Each possession limit described in subsections A, B, C, 
D, E and F of this section shall be determined by the net 

weight of Summer Flounder as customarily packed, boxed 
and weighed by the seafood buyer or processor. The net 
weight of any Summer Flounder found in excess of this 
possession limit described in subsections A, B, C, D, E and F 
of this section shall be prima facie evidence of violation of 
this chapter. Persons in possession of Summer Flounder, 
aboard any vessel, in excess of the possession limit shall be in 
violation of this chapter, unless that vessel has requested and 
been granted safe harbor. Any buyer or processor offloading 
or accepting any quantity of Summer Flounder from any 
vessel in excess of the possession limit shall be in violation of 
this chapter, except as described by subsection K of this 
section. A buyer or processor may accept or buy Summer 
Flounder from a vessel that has secured safe harbor, provided 
that vessel has satisfied the requirements described in 
subsection K of this section. 

I. If a person violates the possession limits described in this 
section, the entire amount of Summer Flounder in that 
person's possession shall be confiscated. Any confiscated 
Summer Flounder shall be considered as a removal from the 
appropriate commercial harvest or landings quota. Upon 
confiscation, the marine patrol officer shall inventory the 
confiscated Summer Flounder and, at a minimum, secure two 
bids for purchase of the confiscated Summer Flounder from 
approved and licensed seafood buyers. The confiscated fish 
will be sold to the highest bidder and all funds derived from 
such sale shall be deposited for the Commonwealth pending 
court resolution of the charge of violating the possession 
limits established by this chapter. All of the collected funds 
will be returned to the accused upon a finding of innocence or 
forfeited to the Commonwealth upon a finding of guilty. 

J. It shall be unlawful for a licensed seafood buyer or 
federally permitted seafood buyer to fail to contact the Marine 
Resources Commission Operation Station prior to a vessel 
offloading Summer Flounder harvested outside of Virginia. 
The buyer shall provide to the Marine Resources Commission 
the name of the vessel and its captain and the anticipated or 
approximate offloading time. Once offloading of any vessel is 
complete and the weight of the landed Summer Flounder has 
been determined, the buyer shall contact the Marine 
Resources Commission Operations Station and report the 
vessel name and corresponding weight of Summer Flounder 
landed. It shall be unlawful for any person to offload from a 
boat or vessel for commercial purposes any Summer Flounder 
during the period of 10 p.m. to 7 a.m. 

K. Any boat or vessel that has entered Virginia waters for 
safe harbor shall only offload Summer Flounder when the 
state that licenses that vessel requests to transfer quota to 
Virginia, in the amount that corresponds to that vessel's 
possession limit, and the commissioner agrees to accept that 
transfer of quota. 

L. After any commercial harvest or landing quota as 
described in 4VAC20-620-30 has been attained and 
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announced as such, any boat or vessel possessing Summer 
Flounder on board may enter Virginia waters for safe harbor 
but shall contact the Marine Resources Commission 
Operation Center in advance of such entry into Virginia 
waters. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1083; Filed November 28, 2007, 10:41 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR’S NOTICE: The following regulation filed by 
the Marine Resources Commission is exempt from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with §2.2-4006 A 
12 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 
required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-960. Pertaining to Tautog 
(amending 4VAC20-960-45, 4VAC20-960-47).  

Statutory Authority: §28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Brandy L. Battle, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Ave., 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
brandy.battle@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) reduce the recreational possession 
limit for tautog to four, (ii) establish a closed recreational 
fishing season from May 1 through June 24, and (iii) 
change the closed commercial fishing season to April 16 
through October 2 and December 1 through December 15.  

4VAC20-960-45. Recreational fishing season and 
possession limits.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing with hook and 
line, rod and reel, spear, gig or other recreational gear to 
possess more than seven four tautog. When fishing is from a 
boat or vessel where the entire catch is held in a common 
hold or container, the possession limit shall be for the boat or 
vessel and shall be equal to the number of persons on board 
legally eligible to fish multiplied by seven four. The captain 
or operator of the boat or vessel shall be responsible for any 
boat or vessel possession limit. Any tautog taken after the 
possession limit has been reached shall be returned to the 
water immediately.  

B. Possession of any quantity of tautog which exceeds the 
possession limit described in subsection A of this section 
shall be presumed to be for commercial purposes.  

C. The recreational fishing season shall be open throughout 
the year closed from May 1 through June 24. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 
to take, catch, or possess any tautog during any closed 
recreational fishing season.  

4VAC20-960-47. Commercial fishing season and 
possession limits.  

The commercial fishing season shall be closed during the 
period of May 1 from April 16 through August 31 October 2 
and December 1 through December 15, and it shall be 
unlawful for any person to possess tautog for commercial 
purposes during this period.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1037; Filed November 30, 2007, 10:09 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR’S NOTICE: The following regulation filed by 
the Marine Resources Commission is exempt from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with §2.2-4006 A 
12 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 
required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1040. Pertaining to Crabbing 
Licenses and Tags (amending 4VAC20-1040-20).  

Statutory Authority: §28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Brandy L. Battle, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Ave., 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
brandy.battle@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This amendment extends the license sales moratorium 
through the lawful crabbing season of 2010. Fishermen 
eligible for any crabbing license in 2007 will continue to 
be eligible for that specific crab license through 2010 
unless the fisherman fails to register as a commercial 
fisherman or transfers that license to another person.  

CHAPTER 1040 
PERTAINING TO CRABBING LICENSES AND TAGS 

4VAC20-1040-20. License sales moratorium. 

A. For the lawful crabbing seasons of 2004 2008 through 
2007 2010, commercial licenses for crab pot, peeler pot, crab 
scrape, crab trap, ordinary trot line, patent trot line, and dip 
net shall be sold only to those registered commercial 
fishermen who have been determined by the commission to 
be eligible to purchase any of these licenses in 2004 2007. 
Any person receiving a crab license by lawful transfer in 
2004 2008 through 2007 2010 also establishes his eligibility 
to purchase that specific license through 2007 2010; however, 
any person either failing to register as a commercial 
fisherman in any year or lawfully transferring his crab license 
to another person shall forfeit his eligibility to purchase that 
specific crab license through 2007 2010.  

B. Commercial licenses for crab pots, peeler pots, crab 
scrapes, crab traps, ordinary trot lines, patent trot lines, and 
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crab dip nets may be transferred to an immediate family 
member of the licensee at any time and, in the case of death 
or incapacitation of the licensee, may be transferred to a 
registered commercial fisherman at any time. Crabbing 
licenses also may be transferred to another registered 
commercial fisherman, except that not more than 100 licenses 
shall be transferred in the current year. All such transfers shall 
be documented on forms provided by the commission and 
shall be subject to the approval of the commissioner. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1038; Filed November 30, 2007, 10:06 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR’S NOTICE: The following regulation filed by 
the Marine Resources Commission is exempt from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with §2.2-4006 A 
12 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 
required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1090. Pertaining to Licensing 
Requirements and License Fees (amending 4VAC20-1090-
30).  

Statutory Authority: §28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 1, 2007. 

Agency Contact: Brandy L. Battle, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Ave., 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
brandy.battle@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) eliminate the Clam Aquaculture 
License and fee of $10 and Oyster Aquaculture License 
and fee of $10 and (ii) establish a Clam Aquaculture 
Product Owner's Permit and fee of $10, an Oyster 
Aquaculture Product Owner's Permit and fee of $10, a 
Clam Aquaculture Harvester’s Permit and fee of $5.00, 
and an Oyster Aquaculture Harvester’s Permit and fee of 
$5.00. 

4VAC20-1090-30. License fees. 

The following listing of license fees applies to any person 
who purchases a license for the purposes of harvesting for 
commercial purposes, or fishing for recreational purposes, 
during any calendar year. 

 

1. COMMERCIAL LICENSES 

Commercial Fisherman Registration 
License $190.00 

Commercial Fisherman Registration 
License for a person 70 years or older $90.00 

Delayed Entry Registration.  $190.00 

Delayed Entry Registration License for 
a person 70 years or older  $90.00 

Seafood Landing License for each boat 
or vessel $175.00 

For each Commercial Fishing Pier over 
or upon subaqueous beds (mandatory) $83.00 

Seafood Buyer’s License – For each 
boat or motor vehicle $63.00 

Seafood Buyer’s License – For each 
place of business $126.00 

Clam Aquaculture License Product 
Owner's Permit $10.00 

Oyster Aquaculture License Product 
Owner's Permit $10.00 

Clam Aquaculture Harvester's Permit $5.00 

Oyster Aquaculture Harvester's Permit $5.00 

Nonresident Harvester's License $444.00 

OYSTER HARVESTING AND SHUCKING 
LICENSES 

For each person taking oysters by hand, 
or with ordinary tongs $10.00 

For each single-rigged patent tong boat 
taking oysters $35.00 

For each double-rigged patent tong boat 
taking oysters $70.00 

Oyster Dredge Public Ground $50.00 

Oyster Hand Scrape $50.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for any 
number of gallons under 1,000 $12.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 1,000 
gallons, up to 10,000 $33.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 10,000 
gallons, up to 25,000 $74.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 25,000 
gallons, up to 50,000 $124.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 50,000 
gallons, up to 100,000 $207.00 
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To shuck and pack oysters, for 100,000 
gallons, up to 200,000 $290.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 200,000 
gallons or over $456.00 

BLUE CRAB HARVESTING AND SHEDDING 
LICENSES 

For each person taking or catching crabs 
by dip nets $13.00 

For ordinary trotlines  $13.00 

For patent trotlines $51.00 

For each boat used for taking or 
catching hard crabs with dredges $96.00 

For each single-rigged crab-scrape boat $26.00 

For each double-rigged crab-scrape boat $53.00 

For up to 100 crab pots $48.00 

For over 100 but not more than 150 crab 
pots $79.00 

For over 150 but not more than 200 crab 
pots $79.00 

For over 200 but not more than 300 crab 
pots $79.00 

For over 300 but not more than 500 crab 
pots $127.00 

For up to 300 peeler pots $36.00 

For up to 20 tanks and floats for 
shedding crabs $9.00 

For more than 20 tanks or floats for 
shedding crabs $19.00 

For each crab trap or crab pound $8.00 

HORSESHOE CRAB AND LOBSTER LICENSES 

For each person harvesting horseshoe 
crabs by hand  $16.00 

For each boat engaged in fishing for, or 
landing of, lobster using less than 200 
pots  $41.00 

For each boat engaged in fishing for, or 
landing of, lobster using 200 pots or 
more  $166.00 

CLAM HARVESTING LICENSES 

For each person taking or harvesting 
clams by hand, rake or with ordinary 
tongs $24.00 

For each single-rigged patent tong boat 
taking clams $58.00 

For each double-rigged patent tong boat 
taking clams $84.00 

For each boat using clam dredge (hand) $19.00 

For each boat using clam dredge 
(power) $44.00 

For each boat using hydraulic dredge to 
catch soft shell clams $83.00 

For each person taking surf clams $124.00 

CONCH (WHELK) HARVESTING LICENSES 

For each boat using a conch dredge $58.00 

For each person taking channeled whelk 
by conch pot $51.00 

FINFISH HARVESTING LICENSES 

Each pound net $41.00 

Each stake gill net of 1,200 feet in 
length or under, with a fixed location $24.00 

All other gill nets up to 600 feet $16.00 

All other gill nets over 600 feet and up 
to 1,200 feet  $24.00 

Each person using a cast net or throw 
net or similar device $13.00 

Each fyke net head, weir, or similar 
device $13.00 

For fish trotlines $19.00 

Each person using or operating a fish 
dip net $9.00 

On each haul seine used for catching 
fish, under 500 yards in length $48.00 

On each haul seine used for catching 
fish, from 500 yards in length to 1,000 
yards in length $146.00 

For each person using commercial hook 
and line $31.00 

For each person using commercial hook 
and line for catching striped bass only $31.00 
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On each boat or vessel under 70 gross 
tons fishing with purse net, per gross 
ton, but not more than $249 $4.00 

On each boat or vessel over 70 gross 
tons fishing with purse net, per gross 
ton. Provided the maximum license fee 
for such vessels shall not be more than 
$996 $8.00 

For up to 100 fish pots or eel pots $19.00 

For over 100 but not more than 300 fish 
pots or eel pots $24.00 

For over 300 fish pots or eel pots $62.00 

2. COMMERCIAL GEAR FOR RECREATIONAL 
USE. 

Up to five crab pots $36.00 

Crab trotline (300 feet maximum) $10.00 

One crab trap or crab pound $6.00 

One gill net up to 300 feet in length $9.00 

Fish dip net $7.00 

Fish cast net $10.00 

Up to two eel pots $10.00 

3. SALTWATER RECREATIONAL FISHING 
LICENSE. 

Individual License $12.50 

Temporary 10-Day License $5.00 

Recreational boat $38.00 

Head Boat/Charter Boat, six or less 
passengers $190.00 

Head Boat/Charter Boat, more than six 
passengers plus $5.00 per person over six $190.00 

Rental Boat, per boat, with maximum 
fee of $635 $9.00 

Commercial Fishing Pier (Optional) $571.00 

Disabled Resident Lifetime Saltwater 
License $5.00 

Reissuance of Saltwater Recreational 
Boat License $5.00 

Combined Sportfishing License to fish in all inland 
waters and tidal waters of the Commonwealth during 
open season 

Residents $24.50 

Nonresidents $42.50 

Combined Sportfishing Trip License to fish in all inland 
waters and tidal waters of the Commonwealth during 
open season, for five consecutive days 

Residents $10.50 

Nonresidents $15.50 

Individual Lifetime License $250.00 

Individual Lifetime License age 45 – 50 $120.00 

Individual Lifetime License age 51 – 55 $90.00 

Individual Lifetime License age 56 – 60 $60.00 

Individual Lifetime License age 61 – 64 $30.00 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1033; Filed November 30, 2007, 9:58 a.m. 

 

 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR’S NOTICE: The following regulation filed by 
the Marine Resources Commission is exempt from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with §2.2-4006 A 
12 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 
required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1130. General Permit No. 4 
for Temporary Protective Enclosures for Shellfish (adding 
4VAC20-1130-10 through 4VAC20-1130-70). 

Statutory Authority: §§28.2-201 and 28.2-603.1 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 1, 2007.  

 

Agency Contact: Brandy L. Battle, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Ave., 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
brandy.battle@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This chapter (i) establishes a general permit for the use of 
temporary protective enclosures for the propagation of 
oysters and clams and (ii) includes a notification process 
and special conditions necessary for the protection of 
public safety, navigation, natural resources, and the 
environment. 
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CHAPTER 1130 
GENERAL PERMIT NO. 4 FOR TEMPORARY 

PROTECTIVE ENCLOSURES FOR SHELLFISH 

4VAC20-1130-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to establish a general permit 
for the use of temporary protective enclosures for the 
propagation of oysters and clams, including a notification 
process and special conditions necessary for the protection of 
public safety, navigation, natural resources, and the 
environment. 

4VAC20-1130-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Submerged aquatic vegetation" or "SAV" means any 
rooted, vascular submerged plants such as eelgrass (Zostera 
marine), widgeon grass (Ruppia maritima), or other species 
commonly found in the Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries. 

"Temporary protective enclosure" means a cage, rack, tray, 
or other similar device for holding and protecting oysters or 
clams. 

4VAC20-1130-30. Notification procedures. 

A. All notifications for the use of temporary protective 
enclosures authorized by this general permit shall be made in 
writing to the commissioner. 

B. The notification shall contain the following information: 
the name, address and telephone number of the applicant; the 
location and plat file number depicted on an accurately scaled 
vicinity map; the approximate size of the area that will 
contain the temporary protective enclosures; the maximum 
number of structures to be placed on the leasehold at any 
given time; a detailed description of the temporary protective 
enclosures proposed to be deployed; the species to be 
cultured; a general description of the area within 500 feet of 
the lease boundary, including existing marine resources 
(SAV, shellfish beds, fixed fishing devices, traditional fishing 
and shellfish areas); locations of public and private piers and 
docks; water depths at mean low water; tidal range; the 
minimum vertical clearance at mean low water over the 
enclosures; the estimated date of placement of the structures; 
and any other information the commissioner deems necessary 
to evaluate the proposal. Accurately scaled drawings shall be 
included with the notification that depict the type of structures 
proposed to be deployed and the proposed deployment 
pattern. The notification shall also include a list of the names 
and addresses of all riparian property owners within 500 feet 
of the area containing the temporary protective enclosures 
and shall depict the location of their land on a tax map or 
other suitable map. Riparian property owner 
acknowledgement forms for such riparian property owners 
may be included with the notification. Such forms shall be 

signed by the riparian property owner and shall indicate his 
comments on the notification. Should such forms not be 
provided in the notification, the commissioner or his designee 
shall notify the adjacent property owners of the pending 
notification. 

C. The commissioner or his designee shall determine that 
the notification is complete and filed in accordance with the 
instructions contained therein. 

D. The commissioner will provide written notice to the 
leaseholder of his final action on the proposal. 

E. In accordance with the provisions of §28.2-603.2 of the 
Code of Virginia, the commissioner may approve the 
proposal, approve the proposal with conditions, or deny the 
proposal of the leaseholder. The commissioner may prescribe 
conditions for any proposal for the protection of public safety, 
navigation, natural resources, and the environment that 
include, but are not limited to: the type of construction 
materials used for the temporary enclosures; the manner in 
which such structures are deployed; the distances the 
structures are placed from the shoreline, navigable channels, 
piers, wharfs, or other water dependent facility; and the 
minimum vertical clearance at mean low water over any 
temporary structure. When determining these conditions, the 
commissioner shall also consider those factors set forth in 
§28.2-1205 A of the Code of Virginia. 

4VAC20-1130-40. General conditions. 

A. The general permit established by this chapter grants no 
authorizations to the permittee to encroach upon the property 
rights, including riparian rights, of others. 

B. Authorized agents of the commission shall have the right 
to enter upon the premises at reasonable times for the purpose 
of inspecting the work being done pursuant to this permit. 

C. This general permit shall not be transferred without 
written consent of the commissioner. 

D. The permittee shall minimize the adverse effects of the 
project upon adjacent properties and wetlands and upon the 
natural resources of the Commonwealth. 

E. This permit may be revoked at any time by the 
commissioner upon the failure of the permittee to comply 
with any of the terms and conditions hereof. 

F. There is expressly excluded from the permit any portion 
of the waters within the boundaries of the Baylor Survey. 

G. The issuance of this permit does not confer upon the 
permittee any interest or title to the beds or waters of the 
Commonwealth. 

H. All structures authorized by this permit that are not 
maintained in good repair shall be completely removed from 
state-owned bottom within five business days after written 
notification by the commissioner. 
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I. This permit authorizes no claim to archaeological or 
historic artifacts that may be encountered during the 
placement of temporary protective enclosures. If, however, 
archaeological remains are encountered, the permittee agrees 
to notify the commissioner who will in turn notify the 
Department of Historic Resources and the Virginia Institute 
of Marine Science. The permittee further agrees to cooperate 
with agencies of the Commonwealth in the recovery of 
archaeological remains if deemed necessary. 

J. The permittee agrees to indemnify and save harmless the 
Commonwealth of Virginia from any liability arising from 
the establishment, operation or maintenance of said project. 

K. The public shall not be excluded from any space not 
physically occupied by the authorized temporary protective 
enclosures. 

L. This permit does not obviate the need to obtain other 
federal, state, or local authorizations required by law or 
regulation. 

4VAC20-1130-50. Special conditions. 

A. The permittee authorized by this chapter shall hold a 
current oyster or clam aquaculture product owners permit 
issued by the commission; shall be in compliance with the 
provisions of 4VAC20-610, Pertaining to Mandatory Harvest 
Reporting; and shall have paid all fees, costs, and the annual 
rent for the oyster ground lease. Failure to pay all fees and 
rents as required by §§28.2-608 and 28.2-612 of the Code of 
Virginia and failure to report as required in 4VAC20-610 may 
result in termination of the lease and general permit. 

B. Any temporary protective enclosure shall be constructed 
of nontoxic materials. 

C. No temporary protective enclosure shall be placed in or 
upon submerged aquatic vegetation beds, and consideration 
by the commissioner for authorizing the placement of 
protective enclosures in currently unvegetated areas that are 
documented as historically supporting submerged aquatic 
vegetation (SAV) beds shall include consultation with the 
Virginia Institute of Marine Science in order to determine the 
potential for impacts on SAV, within the term of the 
prospective lease. If SAV colonizes within the boundaries of 
the area designated for the temporary protective enclosures, 
the authorization for those structures under this general 
permit shall remain in effect only for the remainder of the 
term of the lease. The general permit shall be renewed only 
upon a finding by the commissioner that the placement of the 
temporary protective enclosures within the lease will not 
significantly interfere with the continued vitality of the SAV. 

D. No individual temporary protective enclosure shall 
exceed 70 cubic feet in volume. 

E. Temporary protective enclosures may be placed 
individually on the bottom, placed in racks, or stacked one on 
top of another. 

F. Temporary protective enclosures shall not be placed 
within any marked navigation channel or in any area that 
would create a hazard. 

G. Temporary protective enclosures shall not be placed in 
any area that would impede customary access to navigable 
waters from any riparian property, public or commercial 
landing, or marina facility. 

H. Temporary protective enclosures shall not be placed 
within 100 feet of any shoreline or pier without the agreement 
of the riparian property owner. 

I. Temporary protective enclosures shall be placed in a 
manner that allows for their ease of access, maintenance, and 
removal and shall not exceed an average of 250 individual 
structures per acre within the permitted area or 250 arrays of 
structures when those enclosures are stacked one on top of 
another. 

J. In addition to the marking of the boundary of the lease 
required by 4VAC20-335, the boundary of the area 
containing the structures shall be identified with markers 
meeting the description for markers identified in 4VAC20-
290-30, while structures are located on the bottom. At 
intervals no smaller than 150 feet and along the perimeter of 
the area containing the temporary protective enclosures, the 
leaseholder shall place placards constructed of a durable 
material that shall be at least four feet above the mean high 
water line and shall conform to the description established by 
the commissioner. 

K. No temporary protective enclosure shall be marked by 
more than one buoy, which shall not exceed 15 inches in its 
longest dimension. The commissioner may designate the 
color of the buoys used for marking temporary protective 
enclosures. 

L. Nothing in this general permit shall authorize the 
placement of any temporary protective enclosure designed to 
float on the surface of the water. 

M. Leaseholders shall within five business days remove any 
enclosure that is not actively in use for the planting and 
propagating of shellfish and, upon expiration or termination 
of a lease or of the leaseholder’s Aquaculture Product 
Owner’s Permit, the leaseholder shall promptly remove all 
enclosures placed on the leasehold. 

N. Leaseholders shall maintain a list identifying those leases 
on which enclosures are placed during the terms of the lease 
and provide upon request a current copy of the list to 
authorized representatives of the commission. Leaseholders 
shall also submit such list to be filed with any application for 
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lease renewal made pursuant to §28.2-613 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

O. The commissioner at his discretion may order the 
immediate removal or relocation of any enclosure that 
interferes with navigation, creates a hazard, or otherwise fails 
to comply with the conditions of the general permit. 

4VAC20-1130-60. General permit fees. 

A. Upon approval of the notification to use temporary 
protective enclosures, the applicant shall pay to the 
commission the following fee: 

1. For up to 500 structures, $125. 

2. For over 500 but not more than 1,000 structures, $250. 

3. For over 1,000 but not more than 2,500 structures, $625. 

4. For over 2,500 structures, $1,000. 

B. The fee established by this section shall be paid annually 
by the leaseholder on or before the anniversary date of the 
issuance of the general permit. 

4VAC20-1130-70. Penalty. 

As set forth in §28.2-903 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person violating any provision of this chapter shall be guilty 
of a Class 3 misdemeanor, and a second or subsequent 
violation of any provision of this chapter committed by the 
same person within 12 months of a prior violation is a Class 1 
misdemeanor. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1041; Filed November 30, 2007, 10:28 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

STATE BOARD OF CORRECTIONS 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Corrections is 
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
pursuant to §2.2-4002 B 9 of the Code of Virginia, which 
exempts agency action relating to inmates of prisons or other 
such facilities or parolees therefrom, and §2.2-4002 B 10 of 
the Code of Virginia, which exempts agency action relating to 
the custody of persons in, or sought to be placed in, mental, 
penal or other state institutions as well as the treatment, 
supervision, or discharge of such persons. 

Titles of Regulations: 6VAC15-61. Standards for State 
Community Correctional Units (repealing 6VAC15-61-10 
through 6VAC15-61-300). 

6VAC15-62. Standards for State Community Corrections 
Units (adding 6VAC15-62-10 through 6VAC15-62-140). 

Statutory Authority: §53.1-5 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 24, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Beverly Hill-Murray, Compliance and 
Accreditation Unit, Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore 
Drive, Richmond, VA 23225, telephone 804-674-3499, FAX 
804-674-3587, or email beverly.hill-
murray@vadoc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This joint action repeals 6VAC15-61, Standards for State 
Community Correctional Units' and adopts a new 
regulation, 6VAC5-62, Standards for State Community 
Corrections Units. The repealed regulation included 
standards for detention and diversion centers, which is 
now regulated by the American Correctional Association's 
performance based standards for Adult Community 
Residential Services. The new regulation revises 
operational and management standards for state-operated 
probation and parole districts. 

CHAPTER 62 
STANDARDS FOR STATE COMMUNITY 

CORRECTIONS UNITS 

6VAC15-62-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Arrest authority (PB-15)" means a written statement or 
document issued by the probation and parole officer for the 
arrest and detention of a delinquent offender.  

"Assessment" means the process that identifies the risk level 
and criminogenic needs of the offender; information obtained 
during the assessment should be used in creating the 
supervision plan. 

"Case record" means a confidential written record regarding 
an offender that includes documentation of actions that have 
occurred.  

"Community correctional facilities" means diversion centers 
and detention centers.  

"Conditions of supervision" means a document that details 
the rules an offender must abide by in order to successfully 
complete supervision.  

"Early release" means release prior to the specified term of 
supervision.  

"Evidence-based practices (EBP)" means the policies, 
protocols, practices, programs and services that have been 
demonstrated to be effective in reducing risks of re-offending. 

"Field staff" means those professionals assigned case 
responsibility for investigation, control, supervision and 
provision of program services to offenders. 
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"Fraternization" means the act of or giving the appearance of 
association with offenders or their family members that 
extends to unacceptable, unprofessional and prohibited 
behavior. 

"Grievance process" means methodology that affords a 
means to address complaints with administration or 
supervision.  

"Incentives" means approved responses to positive 
behaviors.  

"Manual" means a written compilation of operating 
procedures and guidelines.  

"Offender" means any person placed under the supervision 
of the Virginia Department of Corrections.  

"Plan of supervision" or “supervision plan” means the goals 
and objectives of supervision that should be jointly developed 
between the offender and supervising staff and outlines the 
requirements for offenders while on supervision, identifies 
offender goals, and outlines the activities necessary to achieve 
those goals; the officer’s surveillance, verification, referral 
and monitoring responsibilities are defined in conjunction 
with each offender goal. 

"Presentence report" means a criminal and social history of 
an offender prepared prior to the sentencing event.  

"Professional staff" and “professional specialists” mean 
probation and parole officers, surveillance officers, substance 
abuse counselors and other staff assigned to offender cases. 
These individuals generally possess bachelor’s degrees and 
advanced training in the social or behavioral sciences. 

"Program" means any organized set of services designated 
to affect thinking and behavior or teach knowledge or skills. 

"Risk" means the factors that influence or predict criminal 
behavior. 

"Sanctions" means approved responses to negative behavior. 

"Screening" means the preliminary process used to identify 
a potential problem area or areas that may require a 
specialized assessment. 

"Unit head" means the individual who has overall 
responsibility for the operation of a program or facility, 
including the application of state funds provided for that 
purpose.  

"Violation" means an action or inaction by an offender that 
is contrary to the conditions of supervision and is considered 
technical when it does not involve the commission of a new 
offense.  

"Volunteer" means an individual who provides services 
without compensation.  

6VAC15-62-20. Legal standard. 

Nothing contained in these standards shall be construed as 
setting a legal standard for the management or operation of 
any facility for purposes of litigation by offenders.  

6VAC15-62-30. Responsibility; enforcement. 

A. The unit head shall be responsible for ensuring that the 
requirements described in these standards are implemented.  

B. These standards shall be enforced through the Board of 
Corrections regulation 6VAC15-20, Regulations Governing 
Certification and Inspection.  

6VAC15-62-40. Applicability. 

A. These standards shall apply to Department of Corrections 
Community Corrections Probation and Parole Districts. 

B. These standards shall not apply to Department of 
Corrections State Community Corrections facilities. 
Standards for State Community Corrections facilities shall be 
regulated by the American Correctional Association 
performance-based standards for Adult Community 
Residential Services. 

6VAC15-62-50. Organization and administration. 

A. Probation and parole districts are located in areas with 
community input that are optimally accessible to offenders’ 
places of residence and employment, to transportation 
networks, and to other community agencies. 

B. Written policy, procedure and practice provide that 
requests from federal, state, and local legislative and 
executive bodies for information concerning programs and 
specific cases are responded to promptly and fully by district 
staff in accordance with provisions relevant to the right to 
privacy. 

C. There is a written description and organizational chart 
that reflects the current structure of authority, responsibility, 
and accountability within the district. These documents are 
reviewed at least annually and are updated as needed. 

D. Written policy, procedure, and practice provide for the 
participation of all employees in staff meetings related to their 
respective duties. Such meetings are to be conducted at least 
every other month. 

E. There is general personnel policy information that 
includes but is not limited to the following subjects. Access to 
this information is available to each employee. Access to 
individual personnel records and employee evaluations is 
limited to the affected employee and other properly 
authorized persons: 

1. Organizational chart 

2. Recruitment procedures 

3. Equal employment opportunity provisions 
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4. Job qualification, descriptions and responsibilities 

5. Basis for determining salaries 

6. Benefits, holidays, leave and work hours 

7. Personnel records 

8. Employee evaluation 

9. Staff development, including in-service training 

10. Promotion 

11. Physical fitness policy 

12. Retirement, resignation and termination 

13. Statutes related to political activities 

14. Employee-management relations, including harassment 

15. Fraternization 

16. Disciplinary procedures 

17. Grievance procedures 

18. Insurance and professional liability requirements 

F. A unit manual, including policies, procedures, rules and 
regulations of the district is developed and maintained by the 
unit head. The manual is reviewed annually, updated as 
procedures change, and is available to all staff. 

G. Written policy, procedure and practice provide that new 
or revised policies and procedures are disseminated to 
designated staff and volunteers and, when appropriate, to 
probationers and parolees prior to implementation.  

H. Written policy, procedure and practice provide that 
consultants, contract personnel, volunteers and interns who 
work with clients are informed in writing about the unit’s 
policies on confidentiality of information and agree to abide 
by them.  

I. Written policy, procedure and practice govern the 
dissemination of case information to the public and addresses 
confidentiality requirements and the designation of who 
provides such information. 

J. Written policy procedure and practice provide for the 
investigation of citizen complaints about the district. 

K. The district provides the clerical support needed to 
accomplish its stated goals. 

L. Written policy, procedure and practice exist to ensure that 
the privacy of offenders and other parties will be maintained 
during all research. 

M. The district’s statement of purpose affirms that the 
supervision program is to provide necessary services to the 
offender with the goal of reducing the probability of 
continued criminal behavior on the part of the offender. 

6VAC15-62-60. Personnel. 

A. Written policy, procedure and practice provide a 
mechanism to process requests for reasonable 
accommodation to the known physical or mental impairments 
of a qualified applicant or employee with a disability. The 
accommodation need not be granted if it would impose an 
undue hardship or direct threat. 

B. An entry-level probation and parole officer possesses a 
minimum of a bachelor’s degree or has completed a career 
development program that includes work-related experience, 
training, or college credits providing a level of achievement 
equivalent to a bachelor’s degree. 

C. The unit head maintains a current, accurate, confidential 
and secure personnel record on each employee. Information 
obtained as part of a required medical examination (or 
inquiry) regarding the medical condition or history of 
applicants and employees is collected and maintained on 
separate forms in separate medical files and treated as 
confidential medical records. 

D. A thorough background investigation will be conducted 
to include immigration status, criminal record and DMV 
check on all new or prospective employees, contract 
personnel, interns and volunteers to ascertain whether there 
may be criminal convictions that would affect job 
performance or delivery of services. 

E. A written annual performance review of all employees is 
conducted that is based on defined criteria and is reviewed 
and discussed with the employee. 

F. The unit head makes available to all employees a written 
code of ethics that prohibits employees from using their 
official positions to secure privileges for themselves or others 
and from engaging in activities that constitute conflict of 
interest. 

G. Written policy prohibits personnel from accepting any 
gift or gratuity from an offender or an offender’s immediate 
family or from engaging in personal business transactions 
with the offender or the offender’s immediate family. 

H. Written policy, procedure and practice encourage and 
provide for employees to continue their education. 

I. The district encourages employees to attend professional 
meetings, seminars, and similar work-related activities, and 
provides administrative leave and/or reimburses employees 
for expenses connected with these activities. 

J. A full-time supervisor does not supervise more than 12 
field staff members. 

K. Field staff who have caseloads will report to a supervisor 
who is trained in the supervisory function to provide ongoing 
reviews of field supervision and staff compliance with 
policies and procedures. 
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L. Written policy, procedure and practice permit employees 
to challenge information in their personnel file and have it 
corrected or removed if it is proven inaccurate. 

6VAC15-62-70. Citizen and volunteer involvement. 

A. Written policy, procedure and practice for volunteer 
citizen involvement include a system of selecting, training, 
deciding on the term of service, terminating service, and 
defining tasks, responsibilities and authority of volunteers. 

B. Written policy, procedure and practice specify the lines 
of authority, responsibility, and accountability for the 
program’s citizen involvement and volunteer services 
program. 

C. Written policy, procedure and practice call for the 
recruitment of volunteers from all cultural and socioeconomic 
segments of the community. 

D. Written policy, procedure and practice specify that 
volunteers may perform professional services only when 
certified or licensed to do so. 

E. Written policy, procedure and practice specify that 
volunteers agree in writing to abide by all agency policies, 
particularly those relating to the security and confidentiality 
of information. 

6VAC15-62-80. Training and staff development. 

A. All new full-time employees shall receive 40 hours of 
orientation training within the first 90 days of employment. 
Orientation training includes a minimum of the following: 
orientation to the purpose, goals, policies, and procedures of 
the district and parent agency; working conditions and 
regulations; employees’ rights and responsibilities; and an 
overview of the correctional field. Depending on the 
employee and the particular job requirements, orientation 
training may include preparatory instruction related to the 
particular job. 

B. All administrative and professional staff shall receive 40 
hours of training each year after their first year of 
employment. 

C. All professional specialist employees shall receive 20 
hours of training in their specialty in addition to orientation 
training during their first year of employment and 20 hours of 
training each year thereafter. 

D. All part-time employees working less then 35 hours per 
week shall receive orientation within the first 90 days of 
employment and additional training appropriate to their 
assignment. 

E. Written policy, procedure and practice govern the 
issuance of authorization to carry a firearm or other weapon. 
This includes the requirements for a medical or physical 
evaluation, psychological examination, drug and alcohol 

screening, and completion of an approved firearms training 
course. 

F. If firearms are used by any employee of the agency, 
written policy, procedure and practice govern the use of the 
firearm including the following: 

1. Weapons are subjected to stringent safety regulations 
and inspections. 

2. Employees to whom firearms are issued follow 
procedures that specify methods for ensuring the security 
of weapons. 

3. Employees are instructed to use deadly force only after 
other actions have been tried and found ineffective unless 
the employee believes that a person’s life is in immediately 
threatened. 

4. In the performance of their duty, employees use only 
firearms approved by the parent agency and use them only 
when directed by or authorized by the director or 
supervisor in charge. 

5. Employees are instructed as to how and under what 
circumstances they are allowed to carry firearms. 

G. If firearms are used by any staff member, written policy, 
procedure and practice provide the following: 

1. Prior to assignment to a position involving possible use 
of a firearm, all personnel authorized to use firearms 
receive appropriate firearm training; this training covers 
the use, safety, care and constraints involved in the use of 
firearms, and  

2. All authorized personnel are required to demonstrate 
competency in the use of firearms at least annually. 

H. Written policy, procedure and practice provide that a 
supervisor may revoke the authorization to carry a firearm 
and to seize and secure a weapon when reasonable cause 
exists, followed by an administrative review.  

I. Written policy, procedure and practice require that officers 
notify the district of physical and pharmacological conditions 
that could affect their ability to perform their duties to carry a 
firearm or other weapon safely. 

J. Written policy, procedure and practice provide that where 
officers are authorized to carry firearms and other weapons in 
the performance of their duties, the policy specifies those 
situations where agency personnel may carry and use these 
weapons. 

6VAC15-62-90. Fiscal management. 

A. The unit head is responsible for controlling the budget, 
including authorizing purchases, tracking expenditures, and 
monitoring receipt of goods and services. 
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B. Collection of moneys will be done in accordance with 
Chapter 48 (§2.2-4800 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of 
Virginia and Department of Corrections accounting 
procedures. 

C. Funds are available for purchasing community services to 
assist offenders and to supplement existing programs. 

6VAC15-62-100. Case records. 

Written policy, procedure and practice govern case record 
management and includes, but is not limited to, the privacy, 
security, preservation and a schedule for retiring or destroying 
inactive case records. These policies and procedures are 
reviewed annually.  

6VAC15-62-110. Supervision. 

A. Where statute authorizes arrest authority for probation 
and parole officers, written policy, procedure and practice 
define the scope of these powers. 

B. Written policy, procedure and practice provide that a pre-
arrest briefing shall be conducted prior to a planned arrest 
with all staff and other law-enforcement agencies 
participating in the action. 

C. Written policy, procedure and practice provide 
procedures for probation and parole officers to transport 
offenders. 

D. Written policy, procedure and practice govern critical 
incident protocol. 

E. Written policy, procedure and practice govern 
classification and supervision of offenders in order to 
safeguard the community and meet the program needs of the 
offender. Offenders should be placed in the appropriate 
supervision level after the initial interview as required; such 
level to be determined by an approved risk assessment tool 
and process. Reclassification should occur at six-month 
evaluation periods or where warranted and be recorded and 
justified in the chronological record. 

F. Written policy, procedure and practice provide for the 
field officer and offender to jointly develop and follow up on 
a written supervision plan that includes: 

1. Specific supervision objectives (including the 
safeguarding of the community and meeting the program 
needs of the offender and methods to achieve the 
objectives. 

2. An initial assessment of each offender (and all 
subsequent reassessments) using a standardized and 
validated assessment tool. 

3. Specific criteria for determining and changing an 
offender’s supervision plan. 

4. Regular reviews of the offender’s progress with an 
individual supervision plan. 

5. Appropriate programs and services and proportionate 
incentives and sanctions. 

6. Adjustments to the individual plan made based on the 
reassessment and in accordance with the offender’s 
performance in the community. 

Any review results are recorded in the case file and 
communicated with the offender. 

A review and update of the offender’s plan, as needed, is 
performed at least annually. 

G. The probation/parole district staff may request the court 
or the paroling authority to add, remove or modify any of the 
special conditions, including early termination of supervision, 
where indicated. 

H. The conditions of probation/parole are furnished in 
writing to the offender. When a problem prevents an offender 
from understanding conditions of supervision, a field officer 
or other person should assist the offender in understanding 
them. The offender acknowledges in writing that he has 
received and understands the conditions or there is 
certification to that effect. 

I. Written policy procedure and practice provide that access 
to supervision staff is available 24 hours a day. Offenders 
should be made aware that 24-hour access is available and 
informed of methods for obtaining access. 

J. Written policy, procedure and practice provide that the 
security of the offender’s file and file material is maintained. 

K. Written policy, procedure and practice preclude offenders 
from being confronted with possible probation/parole 
violations for failure to meet financial obligations other than 
those that are conditions of probation/parole. 

L. Written policy, procedure and practice provide for 
reviews of offender progress with recommendation of early 
termination of supervision where indicated. The results of 
such reviews are recorded in the case file. 

M. Male and female offenders under supervision have equal 
access to all agency programs and activities.  

N. Written policy, procedure and practice define, in 
accordance with the courts or parole authority, the types of 
minor violation that can be resolved by field staff. 

O. Written policy, procedure and practice require that all 
alleged probation/parole violations be reviewed by the 
probation and parole officer with the supervisor prior to 
formal violation proceedings. 

P. Written policy, procedure and practice provide that all 
arrests and alleged probation/parole violations are 
investigated immediately; all serious arrests and major 
probation/parole violations are reported promptly in writing 
to the proper authority. A serious incident report will be sent 
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to the regional director and the deputy director as required by 
directives and procedures. 

Q. Written policy, procedure and practice require that a 
probable cause hearing be held within 14 calendar days upon 
notification of the arrest and detention of the parolee or the 
lodging of the detention warrant. However, when there has 
been a conviction or a finding of probable cause on new 
criminal charges, the preliminary hearing is not required. 

R. The probable cause hearing is held in or near the 
community where the violation is alleged to have occurred or 
where the offender has been taken into custody whenever 
possible. 

S. Written policy, procedure and practice provide that the 
probable cause hearing may be delayed or postponed for good 
cause and the parolee may waive the hearing if first informed 
of his rights pertaining to the hearing and the consequences of 
waiving the hearing. 

T. When requested by the revoking authority, a member of 
the administrative staff conducts a probable cause hearing and 
makes findings as to probable cause for revocation. 

U. Written policy, procedure and practice require that the 
probable cause hearing is conducted by an administrative 
staff member who has no knowledge of the alleged violations. 

V. Written policy, procedure and practice require that at 
least three days prior to the probable cause hearing, the 
parolee is notified in writing of the time and place of the 
hearing and of the specific violation or violations charged. 
The parolee is also advised in writing of the right to: 

1. Present evidence and favorable witnesses. 

2. Disclosure of evidence. 

3. Confront adverse witnesses, unless the witnesses would 
be subjected to a risk of harm. 

4. Have counsel of choice present or, in the case of 
indigent persons who request assistance to adequately 
present their case, may have counsel appointed. 

5. Request postponement of the hearing for good cause. 

W. Written policy, procedure and practice specify that the 
person who conducts the probable cause hearing determines 
whether there is probable cause to revoke parole and hold the 
offender for a revocation hearing before the revoking 
authority. The revoking authority may empower the hearing 
officer to defer the revocation recommendation, restore the 
offender to supervision, and employ available sanctions or 
report the findings and recommendation to the authority for a 
decision as to revocation. The hearing officer issues a verbal 
decision or recommendation immediately after the hearing 
and provides a written decision to the offender within 21 
calendar days of the hearing. 

X. Written policy, procedure and practice specify that the 
parolee is recommended for incarceration only when probable 
cause is found at the probable cause hearing and when it is 
determined, after considering the appropriateness of less 
severe sanctions, that the clear interest of the public requires 
incarceration. 

Y. When violations occur, alternatives to revocation and 
incarceration are considered to the extent that public safety is 
not endangered and the possibility of successful community 
adjustment exists. 

Z. Written policy, procedure and practice govern, in 
conformance with prevailing law, cooperation with law-
enforcement agencies in efforts to apprehend offenders 
known to be or suspected of being involved in criminal 
activities. 

AA. Written policy, procedure and practice specify the types 
of actions required to locate and recover absconders. 

BB. Written policy, procedure and practice govern the 
exercise of authority for the arrest and detention of offenders 
pending a determination by the revoking authority as to 
whether probation/parole should be revoked. 

CC. The authority for the arrest and detention of offenders is 
exercised only upon adequate evidence of a probable serious 
violation or repeated pattern of violation of conditions and a 
compelling need for detention pending the revoking 
authority’s initial revocation decision. 

DD. Written policy, procedure and practice provide for the 
use of physical force only in instances of justifiable self-
defense and protection of others and in accordance with 
appropriate statutory authority. Only the minimum force 
necessary is employed. 

EE. All incidents involving use of physical force are 
reported full, promptly and in writing to administrative staff 
for their information and review. All injuries are reported in 
writing and treated promptly. 

FF. Special supervision reports are prepared whenever an 
unusual situation involving the offender occurs. 

GG. Written policy, procedure and practice require that all 
offenders are informed of the grievance process available to 
them at the time of the initial interview. 

HH. Written policy, procedure and practice govern the 
transfer, acceptance, rejection, or termination of interest in 
cases to and from other jurisdictions in accordance with the 
Rules effective January 1, 2007, adopted by the Interstate 
Compact for Adult Offender Supervision pursuant to Articles 
V and VIII of the Interstate Compact for Adult Offender 
Supervision. 

II. Written policy, procedure and practice provide that 
probationers and parolees will sign all current Interstate 
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Compact forms found on the interstate website 
(www.interstatecompact.org) that are necessary for 
movement and acceptance in the receiving state. The 
receiving district has 30 days from receipt of the request to 
conduct the investigation and provide a response. 

JJ. Written policy, procedure and practice provide that the 
receiving state shall assume supervision standards and 
services that prevail for its own probationers and parolees, as 
well as for the sending states. The duration of supervision 
will be determined by the sending state and by court order. 
The degree of supervision shall be determined by the 
receiving state. 

KK. Written policy, procedure and practice provide that 
required reports be submitted annually, upon case closure or 
upon request per the Rules effective January 1, 2007, adopted 
by the Interstate Compact for Adult Offender Supervision 
pursuant to Articles V and VIII of the Interstate Compact for 
Adult Offender Supervision. 

LL. Written policy, procedure and practice provide that the 
receiving state shall be notified of any significant violations 
of parole and probation within 30 days per the Rules effective 
January 1, 2007, adopted by the Interstate Compact for Adult 
Offender Supervision pursuant to Articles V and VIII of the 
Interstate Compact for Adult Offender Supervision. 

MM. Written policy, procedure and practice provide that 
preliminary on-site hearings will be conducted under the rules 
of the receiving state following due process as required by 
law. 

NN. Written policy, procedure and practice provide that the 
initial personal contact between the newly released offender 
and the field staff takes place as soon as possible, but not 
more than five working days after the offender’s release to 
supervision unless otherwise agreed upon prior to release. 

OO. Parole violation reports are submitted within five 
working days after the hearing. 

PP. The probation and parole staff provides assistance and 
services to ex-offenders who request such help consistent 
with the provisions of subdivision 3 of §53.1-145 of the Code 
of Virginia and applicable procedures. 

QQ. The district cooperates in providing information on the 
legitimacy of transition visits. 

6VAC15-62-120. Investigations. 

A. Written policy, procedure and practice specify that the 
primary purpose of the presentence report is to provide the 
sentencing court with timely, relevant, and accurate data so 
that it may select the most appropriate sentencing alternative 
and correctional disposition; subject to this primary purpose, 
the report is prepared in a manner to serve the needs of any 
correctional institution or field agency that may receive the 
offender. 

B. Written policy, procedure and practice provide for 
interviewing the victim when appropriate or possible. The 
information obtained is contained in the presentence report. 

C. Written policy, procedure and practice permit the use of 
staff other than probation and parole officers to collect 
information during the presentence investigation. 

D. The presentence report is submitted to the court for 
review and evaluation a minimum of five calendar days in 
advance of the date set for sentencing. 

E. All presentence reports and recommendations are subject 
to review by a supervisor or their designee prior to 
submission to the court. 

F. Written policy, procedure and practice protect the 
confidentiality of presentence reports and case records. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are listed below. Any amended or added forms are 
reflected in the listing and are published following the listing. 

FORMS 

Incident Report Form, rev. 10/06. 
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DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

Rules effective January 1, 2007, adopted by the Interstate 
Compact for Adult Offender Supervision pursuant to Articles 
V and VIII of the Interstate Compact for Adult Offender 
Supervision. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1050; Filed December 5, 2007, 10:54 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 13. HOUSING 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Housing and 
Community Development is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with §2.2-4006 A 4 
a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are 
necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or 
the appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. 
The Board of Housing and Community Development will 
receive, consider and respond to petitions by any interested 
person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC5-112. Enterprise Zone Grant 
Program Regulation (amending 13VAC5-112-340). 

Statutory Authority: §59.1-541 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 23, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Louellen Brumgard, Associate Director, 
Department of Housing and Community Development, The 
Jackson Center, 501 N. 2nd St., Richmond, VA 23219-1321, 
telephone 804-371-7069, FAX 804-371-7090, TTY 804-371-
7089, or email louellen.brumgard@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments conform the regulation to Chapters 242 
and 287 of the 2007 Acts of Assembly by adjusting the 
investment levels required to receive the maximum grant 
amounts in the Enterprise Zone Real Property Investment 
Grant. 

13VAC5-112-340. Computation of grant amount. 

A. For any qualified zone investor, the amount of the grant 
shall be equal to 30% 20% of the qualified zone investments, 
as defined below: 

1. Qualified zone investments include expenditures 
associated with (i) any exterior, interior, structural, 
mechanical or electrical improvements necessary to 
construct, expand or rehabilitate a building for commercial, 
industrial or mixed use; (ii) excavations; (iii) grading and 

paving; (iv) installing driveways; and (v) landscaping or 
land improvements. These can include, but not be limited 
to, costs associated with demolition, carpentry, sheetrock, 
plaster, painting, ceilings, fixtures, doors, windows, fire 
suppression systems, roofing, flashing, exterior repair, 
cleaning and cleanup. 

2. Qualified real property investments do not include: 

a. The cost of acquiring any real property or building. 

b. Other acquisition costs including: (i) the cost of 
furnishings; (ii) any expenditure associated with 
appraisal, architectural, engineering, surveying, and 
interior design fees; (iii) loan fees, points, or capitalized 
interest; (iv) legal, accounting, realtor, sales and 
marketing, or other professional fees; (v) closing costs, 
permits, user fees, zoning fees, impact fees, and 
inspection fees; (vi) bids, insurance, signage, utilities, 
bonding, copying, rent loss, or temporary facilities 
incurred during construction; (vii) utility connection or 
access fees; (viii) outbuildings; (ix) the cost of any well 
or septic or sewer system; and (x) roads. 

c. The basis of any property: (i) for which a grant under 
this section was previously provided; (ii) for which a tax 
credit under §59.1-280.1 of the Code of Virginia was 
previously granted; (iii) which was previously placed in 
service in Virginia by the qualified zone investor, a 
related party as defined by §267(b) of the Internal 
Revenue Code, or a trade or business under common 
control as defined by §52(b) of the Internal Revenue 
Code); or (iv) that was previously in service in Virginia 
and has a basis in the hands of the person acquiring it, 
determined in whole or in part by reference to the basis 
of such property in the hands of the person from whom it 
was acquired or §1014(a) of the Internal Revenue Code. 

B. For any qualified zone investor making less than $2 $5 
million in qualified real property investment, the cumulative 
grant will not exceed $125,000 within any five-year period 
for any building or facility. 

1. In cases where subsequent qualified real property 
investment within the five-year period results in the total 
qualified real property investment equaling $2 $5 million 
or more then the qualified investor(s) shall be eligible to 
receive a grant(s) provided that the total of all grants 
received within the five-year period does not exceed a 
maximum of $250,000 per building or facility. 

2. In such cases the grant will be available to the qualified 
zone investor or investors whose qualified real property 
investment application(s) results in the total qualified real 
property investment for the building or facility to equal $2 
$5 million or more for the calendar year in which the $2 $5 
million threshold is met. The grant will be equal to 30% 
20% of that investor(s) real property investment not 



Regulations  

Volume 24, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 24, 2007 

980 

withstanding the $250,000 cap per building or facility 
pursuant to 13VAC5-112-340 D. 

C. For any qualified zone investor making $2 $5 million or 
more in qualified real property investments, the cumulative 
grant will not exceed $250,000 within any five-year period 
for any building or facility. 

D. Notwithstanding subsection E of this section, in the case 
of a building with multiple tenants and/or owners, the 
maximum amount of the real property investment grant to 
each tenant and/or owner shall relate to the proportion of the 
property for the tenant holds a valid lease or the owner has a 
deed of trust. 

1. This maximum shall be determined by the cumulative 
level of qualified real property investment made within the 
five consecutive year period. The first five consecutive 
year period starts with the first real property investment 
grant issued pursuant to §59.1-548 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. If the total of all qualified real property investments up 
to and including those made in the current grant year are 
less than $2 $5 million then the maximum real property 
investment grant that any one qualified zone investor shall 
receive shall be equal to the qualified zone investor's 
proportion of the building or facility's useable floor space 
times $125,000 or 30% 20% of the qualified real property 
investment, whichever is less.  

3. If the total of all qualified real property investments up 
to and including those made in the current grant year are 
$2 $5 million or more then the maximum real property 
investment grant that any one qualified zone investor shall 
receive shall be equal the qualified zone investor's 
proportion of the building or facility's useable floor space 
times $250,000 or 30% 20% of the qualified real property 
investment, whichever is less. 

E. The total grant amount per building or facility within a 
five-year period shall not exceed $250,000. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-890; Filed November 30, 2007, 1:36 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR ARCHITECTS, PROFESSIONAL 
ENGINEERS, LAND SURVEYORS, CERTIFIED 

INTERIOR DESIGNERS AND LANDSCAPE 
ARCHITECTS 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC10-20. Board for Architects, 
Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified 

Interior Designers and Landscape Architects Regulations 
(amending 18VAC10-20-120, 18VAC10-20-140). 

Statutory Authority: §§54.1-201, 54.1-404 and 54.1-411 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

March 19, 2008 - 9 a.m. - Department of Professional 
and Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
200, Richmond, VA 

Public comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
March 19, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Mark N. Courtney, Executive Director, 
Board for Architects, Professional Engineers, Land 
Surveyors, Certified Interior Designers and Landscape 
Architects, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (804) 527-4294, or 
email apelscidla@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia empowers 
the regulatory boards to promulgate regulations that are 
necessary to ensure continued competency, prevent deceptive 
or misleading practices by practitioners, and effectively 
administer the regulatory system administered by the 
regulatory board.   

Section 54.1-404 of the Code of Virginia provides the board 
the authority to promulgate regulations governing its own 
organization, the professional qualifications of applicants, the 
requirements necessary for passing examinations in whole or 
in part, the proper conduct of its examinations, the 
implementation of exemptions from license requirements, and 
the proper discharge of its duties.   

Section 54.1-411 of the Code of Virginia requires the board 
to adopt regulations governing the registration of persons, 
corporations, partnerships, limited liability companies, sole 
proprietors and other entities offering or rendering the 
practice of architecture, engineering, land surveying or 
offering the title of certified landscape architect or certified 
interior designer.   

Purpose: At its meeting in June 2006, the National Council of 
Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB), of which the 
Virginia board is a member (NCARB is also responsible for 
developing and managing the Architect Registration 
Examination (ARE) and the Intern Development Program 
(IDP), voted to change its policy to allow examination 
candidates to begin taking the ARE prior to completing the 
IDP (provided they are enrolled in the IDP and have 
completed a portion of the IDP). 

In February 2006, the NCARB board adopted a policy on this 
matter which states: 

In the decades since the sequential concept of 
education/IDP/ARE was established in the Model Law, 
much has changed in the education and training of 
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emerging professionals. Notably, with great credit to the 
Boyer Report, the practice of architecture is better 
integrated into the academy, and accredited programs 
today attract among the very best and brightest of 
university students. While an emerging professional has 
much yet to learn after graduation from an accredited 
program, we recognize that some of them may be prepared 
to begin taking the ARE after acquiring a prerequisite level 
of practical experience. 

NCARB has collected and analyzed considerable data, 
debated this subject internally and discussed this matter 
with our collateral colleagues. After these deliberations, it 
is our conclusion that there is no evidence of increased risk 
to the health, safety and welfare of the public if a candidate 
with an accredited professional degree and who is actively 
engaged in IDP is permitted to begin to start taking 
divisions of the ARE. The data revealed that only a very 
small portion of candidates in those jurisdictions that 
permit the ARE to be taken out of sequence currently 
choose to do so. 

At its meeting in June 2007, NCARB further refined its 
policy to allow examination candidates to begin taking the 
ARE prior to completing the IDP (provided they are enrolled 
in the IDP – they no longer have to have completed a portion 
of the IDP). 

The Virginia board concurs with this change and would like 
its applicants, if they so elect, to be able to take advantage of 
this change in NCARB policy. This change will permit 
applicants to begin taking the examination when they are 
most ready to take the examination; more and more 
architectural applicants are nontraditional students who have 
gained substantial amounts of work experience prior to 
completing the education requirement, thereby making them 
ready to begin taking the examination sooner. 

Substance: The board is changing its regulation to allow 
architect license applicants who are applying via examination 
the opportunity to start taking divisions of the Architect 
Registration Examination (ARE) prior to completing the 
NCARB Intern Development Program (IDP). Currently, the 
board’s regulation requires an architect examination applicant 
to complete the NCARB IDP prior to becoming eligible to 
take the ARE. 

Issues: The board could leave the status quo; however, this 
would handicap those candidates who are ready to begin 
taking the examination sooner by forcing them to wait 
unnecessarily. In addition, if Virginia does not make this 
change, and becomes out of sync with the rest of the nation, it 
could cause candidates who would normally apply to Virginia 
to take the examination to, instead, apply to other states that 
would let them take the exam earlier in accordance with 
NCARB’s revised policy position. There are no anticipated 
disadvantages to the public or Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board for Architects, Professional Engineers, Land 
Surveyors, Certified Interior Designers, and Landscape 
Architects (Board) proposes to permit architect licensure 
applicants who are applying via examination to begin taking 
divisions of the Architect Registration Examination (ARE) 
prior to completing the National Council of Architectural 
Registration Boards Intern Development Program (IDP). 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Under the current regulations 
architect licensure applicants must complete the National 
Council of Architectural Registration Boards Intern 
Development Program prior to taking the Architect 
Registration Examination. The Board proposes to permit 
licensure applicants to take parts or the entire ARE prior to 
completing the IDP. 

Since applicants for licensure would still be required to pass 
the same examination and complete the same training as 
under the current regulations, the proposed amendment would 
not result in less-qualified individuals becoming licensed. By 
permitting applicants to start taking parts or the entire ARE 
sooner, some individuals may be able to start working as 
licensed architects as much as one or two years sooner. Thus 
there is a clear benefit with no cost to the public associated 
with the proposed amendment. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 
potentially affects applicants for architecture licensure, the 
600 architecture firms in the Commonwealth (all small 
businesses),1 and their clients. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities are particularly 
disproportionately affected by the proposed change. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 
will allow some individuals to start work as licensed 
architects as much as one or two years sooner. The reduction 
in total time it takes to earn licensure could encourage a small 
number of individuals to pursue the profession who may not 
have otherwise done so. Thus, the supply of architects may 
moderately increase. Unless the potential moderate increase 
in supply of architects helps creates innovation that spurs the 
creation of new architecture services, the demand for 
architecture services will not change due to the amendment.  
The proposed amendment will not likely significantly affect 
the quantity of employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendment will enable some individuals to start 
work as a licensed architect sooner. Thus, lifetime earnings 
for architects may moderately increase. 
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Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The reduction in 
time cost of earning architecture licensure will benefit 
architecture firms. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendment does not 
adversely affect small business. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment 
does not create additional costs related to the development of 
real estate for commercial or residential purposes. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with §2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, §2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

_____________________________________ 
1.Source: Virginia Employment Commission 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The department has 
reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared by the 
Department of Planning and Budget and concurs with the 
approval. 

Summary:  

The proposed amendments permit architect license 
applicants who are applying via examination to begin 
taking divisions of the Architect Registration 
Examination (ARE) prior to completing the NCARB 
Intern Development Program (IDP). Currently, the 
board’s regulation requires an architect examination 
applicant to complete the NCARB IDP prior to becoming 
eligible to take the ARE. 

18VAC10-20-120. Experience. 

A. The successful completion of the National Council of 
Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) Intern 
Development Program (IDP) shall be required of all 
applicants for original licensure. IDP training requirements 
shall be in accordance with NCARB's Handbook for Interns 
and Architects, 2006-2007 Edition. 

B. All applicants must have a minimum of 36 months 
experience/training prior to submitting an application for 
examination. Any experience/training of less than eight 
consecutive weeks will not be considered in satisfying this 
requirement. 

C. All applicants must have a minimum of 12 months 
experience/training in architecture as an employee in the 
office of a licensed architect prior to submitting an 
application for examination. An organization will be 
considered to be an office of a licensed architect if: 

1. The architectural practice of the organization in which 
the applicant works is under the charge of a person 
practicing as a principal, where a principal is a licensed 
architect in charge of an organization's architectural 
practice either alone or with other licensed architects, and 
the applicant works under the direct supervision of a 
licensed architect; and 

2. The practice of the organization encompasses the 
comprehensive practice of architecture, including the 
categories set forth in the NCARB IDP requirements. 

18VAC10-20-140. Examination. 

A. All applicants for original licensure in Virginia are 
required to pass an NCARB-prepared examination after 
meeting the education and experience/training requirements 
as provided in this chapter. Provided all other requirements 
are met, a license as an architect will be issued upon passing 
the NCARB examination. 

An applicant shall be admitted to the NCARB-prepared 
examination prior to completing the experience requirements 
contained in 18VAC10-20-120 if the applicant is otherwise 
qualified and provided the applicant is enrolled in the 
NCARB IDP. 

B. The Virginia board is a member board of NCARB and as 
such is authorized to make available the NCARB-prepared 
examination. 

C. Grading of the examination shall be in accordance with 
the national grading procedure administered by NCARB. The 
board shall utilize the scoring procedures recommended by 
NCARB. Grades for each division of the examination passed 
on or after January 1, 2006, shall be valid in accordance with 
the procedure established by NCARB. 

D. The NCARB-prepared examination will be offered at 
least once a year at a time designated by the board. 
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E. The board may approve transfer credits for parts of the 
NCARB-prepared examination taken and passed in 
accordance with national standards. 

F. Unless otherwise stated, applicants approved to sit for an 
examination shall register and submit the required 
examination fee. Applicants not properly registered will not 
be allowed into the examination site. 

G. Applicants approved to sit for the examination shall 
follow NCARB procedures. 

H. Examinees will be notified by the board of passing or 
failing the examination. 

I. Should an applicant fail to pass the NCARB-prepared 
examination within three years after being approved to sit for 
the examination, the applicant must reapply. If the applicant 
has not been taking the examination on a continuous basis 
during the three-year eligibility period, or fails to reapply 
within six months after the end of the three-year eligibility 
period, or both, then the applicant shall meet the entry 
requirements current at the time of reapplication. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-136; Filed December 4, 2007, 12:58 p.m. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Pharmacy has 
claimed an exemption from the Administrative Process Act in 
accordance with §2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to 
changes in Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act 
where no agency discretion is involved.  The Board of 
Pharmacy will receive, consider and respond to petitions by 
any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-10; 
adding 18VAC110-20-321; repealing 18VAC110-20-411 
through 18VAC110-20-416). 

Statutory Authority: §54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 23, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Elizabeth Scott Russell, RPh, Executive 
Director, Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone 804-367-4456, 
FAX 804-527-4472, or email scotti.russell@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

In conformance with Chapter 200 of the 2005 Acts of 
Assembly, the amendments repeal Part X relating to 
compounding sterile pharmaceutical products, and add a 
section requiring compliance with national standards 

(USP-NF) and §54.1-3410.2 of the Code of Virginia when 
compounding a drug product. 

18VAC110-20-10. Definitions. 

In addition to words and terms defined in §§54.1-3300 and 
54.1-3401 of the Code of Virginia, the following words and 
terms when used in this chapter shall have the following 
meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"ACPE" means the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy 
Education. 

"Acquisition" of an existing entity permitted, registered or 
licensed by the board means (i) the purchase or transfer of all 
or substantially all of the assets of the entity or of any 
corporation that owns or controls the entity; (ii) the creation 
of a partnership by a sole proprietor or change in partnership 
composition; (iii) the acquiring of 50% or more of the 
outstanding shares of voting stock of a corporation owning 
the entity or of the parent corporation of a wholly owned 
subsidiary owning the entity, except that this shall not apply 
to any corporation the voting stock of which is actively traded 
on any securities exchange or in any over-the-counter market; 
or (iv) the merger of a corporation owning the entity, or of the 
parent corporation of a wholly owned subsidiary owning the 
entity, with another business or corporation. 

"Aseptic processing" means the technique involving 
procedures designed to preclude contamination of drugs, 
packaging, equipment, or supplies by microorganisms during 
processing.  

"Beyond-use date" means the date beyond which the 
integrity of a compounded, repackaged, or dispensed drug can 
no longer be assured and as such is deemed to be adulterated 
or misbranded as defined in §§54.1-3461 and 54.1-3462 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Pharmacy. 

"CE" means continuing education as required for renewal of 
licensure by the Board of Pharmacy. 

"CEU" means a continuing education unit awarded for credit 
as the equivalent of 10 contact hours. 

"Class 100 environment" means an atmospheric 
environment which contains less than 100 particles, 0.5 
microns in diameter, per cubic foot of air.  

"Closed system transfer" means the movement of sterile 
products from one container to another in which the 
container-closure system and transfer devices remain intact 
throughout the entire transfer process, compromised only by 
the penetration of a sterile, pyrogen-free needle or cannula 
through a designated stopper or port to effect transfer, 
withdrawal, or delivery, to include the withdrawal of a sterile 
solution from an ampul in a class 100 environment. 
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"Compliance packaging" means packaging for dispensed 
drugs which is comprised of a series of containers for solid 
oral dosage forms and which is designed to assist the user in 
administering or self-administering the drugs in accordance 
with directions for use. 

"Contact hour" means the amount of credit awarded for 60 
minutes of participation in and successful completion of a 
continuing education program. 

"Cytotoxic drug" means a drug which has the capability of 
killing living cells. 

"DEA" means the United States Drug Enforcement 
Administration. 

"Electronic transmission prescription" is means any 
prescription, other than an oral or written prescription or a 
prescription transmitted by facsimile machine, that is 
electronically transmitted from a practitioner authorized to 
prescribe directly to a pharmacy without interception or 
intervention from a third party, or from one pharmacy to 
another pharmacy. 

"Expiration date" means that date placed on a drug package 
by the manufacturer or repacker beyond which the product 
may not be dispensed or used. 

"Facsimile (FAX) prescription" means a written prescription 
or order which is transmitted by an electronic device over 
telephone lines which sends the exact image to the receiver 
(pharmacy) in a hard copy form. 

"FDA" means the United States Food and Drug 
Administration. 

"Floor stock" means a supply of drugs that have been 
distributed for the purpose of general administration by a 
prescriber or other authorized person pursuant to a valid order 
of a prescriber. 

"Foreign school of pharmacy" means a school outside the 
United States and its territories offering a course of study in 
basic sciences, pharmacology, and pharmacy of at least four 
years in duration resulting in a degree that qualifies a person 
to practice pharmacy in that country. 

"Generic drug name" means the nonproprietary name listed 
in the United States Pharmacopeia-National Formulary (USP-
NF) or in the USAN and the USP Dictionary of Drug Names. 

"Hermetic container" means a container that is impervious 
to air or any other gas under the ordinary or customary 
conditions of handling, shipment, storage, and distribution. 

"Home infusion pharmacy" means a pharmacy which 
compounds solutions for direct parenteral administration to a 
patient in a private residence, long-term care facility or 
hospice setting.  

"Hospital" or "nursing home" means those facilities as 
defined in Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia or as defined in 
regulations by the Virginia Department of Health. 

"Inactive license" means a license which is registered with 
the Commonwealth but does not entitle the licensee to 
practice, the holder of which is not required to submit 
documentation of CE necessary to hold an active license. 

"Light-resistant container" means a container that protects 
the contents from the effects of light by virtue of the specific 
properties of the material of which it is composed, including 
any coating applied to it. Alternatively, a clear and colorless 
or a translucent container may be made light resistant by 
means of an opaque covering, in which case the label of the 
container bears a statement that the opaque covering is 
needed until the contents have been used. Where a 
monograph directs protection from light, storage in a light-
resistant container is intended. 

"Long-term care facility" means a nursing home, retirement 
care, mental care or other facility or institution which 
provides extended health care to resident patients. 

"Nuclear pharmacy" means a pharmacy providing 
radiopharmaceutical services. 

"On duty" means that a pharmacist is on the premises at the 
address of the permitted pharmacy and is available as needed. 

"Open-system transfer" means the combining of products in 
a nonsealed reservoir before filling or when a solution passes 
through the atmosphere during a transfer operation. 

"Permitted physician" means a physician who is licensed 
pursuant to §54.1-3304 of the Code of Virginia to dispense 
drugs to persons to whom or for whom pharmacy services are 
not reasonably available. 

"Personal supervision" means the pharmacist must be 
physically present and render direct, personal control over the 
entire service being rendered or act being performed. Neither 
prior nor future instructions shall be sufficient nor, shall 
supervision rendered by telephone, written instructions, or by 
any mechanical or electronic methods be sufficient. 

"Pharmacy closing" means that the permitted pharmacy 
ceases pharmacy services or fails to provide for continuity of 
pharmacy services or lawful access to patient prescription 
records or other required patient records for the purpose of 
continued pharmacy services to patients. 

"PIC" means the pharmacist-in-charge of a permitted 
pharmacy. 

"Practice location" means any location in which a prescriber 
evaluates or treats a patient. 

"Prescription department" means any contiguous or 
noncontiguous areas used for the compounding, dispensing 
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and storage of all Schedule II through VI drugs and devices 
and any Schedule I investigational drugs. 

"PTCB" means the Pharmacy Technician Certification 
Board, co-founded by the American Pharmaceutical 
Association and the American Society of Health System 
Pharmacists, as the national organization for voluntary 
examination and certification of pharmacy technicians. 

"Quality assurance plan" means a plan approved by the 
board for continuous monitoring, measuring, evaluating, and, 
if necessary, improving the performance of a pharmacy 
function or system. 

"Radiopharmaceutical" means any drug that exhibits 
spontaneous disintegration of unstable nuclei with the 
emission of nuclear particles or photons and includes any 
nonradioactive reagent kit or radionuclide generator that is 
intended to be used in the preparation of any such substance, 
but does not include drugs such as carbon-containing 
compounds or potassium-containing salts that include trace 
quantities of naturally occurring radionuclides. The term also 
includes any biological product that is labeled with a 
radionuclide or intended solely to be labeled with a 
radionuclide. 

"Repackaged drug" means any drug removed from the 
manufacturer's original package and placed in different 
packaging. 

"Robotic pharmacy system" means a mechanical system 
controlled by a computer that performs operations or 
activities relative to the storage, packaging, labeling, 
dispensing, or distribution of medications, and collects, 
controls, and maintains all transaction information. 

"Safety closure container" means a container which meets 
the requirements of the federal Poison Prevention Packaging 
Act of 1970 (15 USC §§1471-1476), i.e., in testing such 
containers, that 85% of a test group of 200 children of ages 
41-52 months are unable to open the container in a five-
minute period and that 80% fail in another five minutes after 
a demonstration of how to open it and that 90% of a test 
group of 100 adults must be able to open and close the 
container. 

"Satellite pharmacy" means a pharmacy which is 
noncontiguous to the centrally permitted pharmacy of a 
hospital but at the location designated on the pharmacy 
permit. 

"Special packaging" means packaging that is designed or 
constructed to be significantly difficult for children under five 
years of age to open to obtain a toxic or harmful amount of 
the drug contained therein within a reasonable time and not 
difficult for normal adults to use properly, but does not mean 
packaging which all such children cannot open or obtain a 
toxic or harmful amount within a reasonable time. 

"Special use permit" means a permit issued to conduct a 
pharmacy of a special scope of service that varies in any way 
from the provisions of any board regulation. 

"Sterile pharmaceutical product" means a dosage form free 
from living microorganisms. 

"Storage temperature" means those specific directions stated 
in some monographs with respect to the temperatures at 
which pharmaceutical articles shall be stored, where it is 
considered that storage at a lower or higher temperature may 
produce undesirable results. The conditions are defined by the 
following terms: 

1. "Cold" means any temperature not exceeding 8°C 
(46°F). A refrigerator is a cold place in which temperature 
is maintained thermostatically between 2° and 8°C (36° 
and 46°F). A freezer is a cold place in which the 
temperature is maintained thermostatically between -20° 
and -10°C (-4° and 14°F). 

2. "Room temperature" means the temperature prevailing 
in a working area. 

3. "Controlled room temperature" is means a temperature 
maintained thermostatically that encompasses the usual 
and customary working environment of 20° to 25°C (68° 
to 77°F); that results in a mean kinetic temperature 
calculated to be not more than 25°C; and that allows for 
excursions between 15° and 30°C (59° and 86°F) that are 
experienced in pharmacies, hospitals, and warehouses. 

4. "Warm" means any temperature between 30° and 40°C 
(86° and 104°F). 

5. "Excessive heat" means any temperature above 40°C 
(104°F). 

6. "Protection from freezing" means where, in addition to 
the risk of breakage of the container, freezing subjects a 
product to loss of strength or potency, or to the destructive 
alteration of its characteristics, the container label bears an 
appropriate instruction to protect the product from 
freezing. 

7. "Cool" means any temperature between 8° and 15°C 
(46° and 59°F). 

"Terminally ill" means a patient with a terminal condition as 
defined in §54.1-2982 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Tight container" means a container that protects the 
contents from contamination by extraneous liquids, solids, or 
vapors, from loss of the drug, and from efflorescence, 
deliquescence, or evaporation under the ordinary or 
customary conditions of handling, shipment, storage, and 
distribution, and is capable of tight reclosure. Where a tight 
container is specified, it may be replaced by a hermetic 
container for a single dose of a drug and physical tests to 
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determine whether standards are met shall be as currently 
specified in United States Pharmacopeia-National Formulary. 

"Unit dose container" means a container that is a single-unit 
container, as defined in United States Pharmacopeia-National 
Formulary, for articles intended for administration by other 
than the parenteral route as a single dose, direct from the 
container. 

"Unit dose package" means a container that contains a 
particular dose ordered for a patient. 

"Unit dose system" means a system in which multiple drugs 
in unit dose packaging are dispensed in a single container, 
such as a medication drawer or bin, labeled only with patient 
name and location. Directions for administration are not 
provided by the pharmacy on the drug packaging or container 
but are obtained by the person administering directly from a 
prescriber's order or medication administration record. 

"USP-NF" means the United States Pharmacopeia-National 
Formulary. 

"Well-closed container" means a container that protects the 
contents from extraneous solids and from loss of the drug 
under the ordinary or customary conditions of handling, 
shipment, storage, and distribution. 

18VAC110-20-321. Compounding. 

The compounding of both sterile and nonsterile drug 
products shall be performed in accordance with USP-NF 
compounding standards and §54.1-3410.2 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

Part X  
Compounding Sterile Pharmaceutical Products  

18VAC110-20-411. General requirements. (Repealed.) 

Products intended for parenteral administration or 
ophthalmic instillation shall be compounded using aseptic 
processing and in accordance with §54.1-3410.2 of the Code 
of Virginia.  

18VAC110-20-412. Policy and procedure manual. 
(Repealed.) 

A policy and procedure manual shall be prepared and 
maintained for the compounding, dispensing and delivery of 
sterile products that is consistent with USP-NF standards and 
guidance and shall include at least the following elements:  

1. Personnel qualifications including initial and follow-up 
training and method of periodic reevaluation of 
qualifications and performance;  

2. Scope of compounding performed at the pharmacy and 
proper procedures for compounding to include maintaining 
suitable environmental conditions in the compounding 
area, wearing appropriate garb to reduce particulate matter 

and contamination of work area, performing aseptic 
procedures.  

3. Procedures for maintaining and monitoring proper 
operating conditions for all equipment used in sterile 
compounding;  

4. Guidelines for patient or caretaker education if products 
are dispensed for home use to include instructions 
concerning proper storage, aseptic manipulation of the 
product, proper administration and use of devices if 
applicable, recognizing signs of instability or 
incompatibility, and procedures in case of an emergency 
with the product;  

5. Guidelines for assignment of beyond-use dates for all 
compounded sterile products and justification for any date 
chosen which exceeds the standard set forth in this chapter;  

6. Separate procedures for handling cytotoxic drugs, if 
applicable, to include protective apparel; disposal 
procedures consistent with applicable local, state, and 
federal requirements; procedures for handling spills; 
special packaging and labeling requirements, and delivery 
procedures to minimize risks of accidental spills;  

7. If applicable, separate procedures for compounding 
sterile products using nonsterile components or open 
system transfer techniques and for end-product sterilization 
of these products.  

18VAC110-20-413. Physical and equipment requirements 
for pharmacies preparing sterile products. (Repealed.) 

A. The sterile compounding area shall be of sufficient size 
to accommodate a laminar airflow hood and to provide for the 
proper storage of drugs and supplies used in aseptic 
processing.  

B. The sterile compounding area where parenteral products 
are routinely prepared shall be isolated from other areas and 
other pharmacy functions.  

C. Sterile compounding shall be performed within a laminar 
flow hood or other appropriate environmental control device 
capable of maintaining, during normal activity, at least Class 
100 conditions in the work area where sterile compounding is 
performed. Compounding of cytotoxic preparations shall be 
performed in a vertical flow Class II biological safety cabinet.  

D. A pharmacy preparing sterile products shall maintain 
supplies adequate for the aseptic preparation of sterile 
products including, but not limited to, the following:  

1. Antimicrobial soap;  

2. Hot and cold water supply easily accessible to the sterile 
compounding area for hand washing prior to aseptic 
compounding;  

3. Appropriate apparel for personnel performing sterile 
compounding;  
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4. Suitable disposal containers for used needles, syringes, 
etc. and, if applicable, containers for cytotoxic waste and 
infectious wastes.  

E. A pharmacy preparing sterile products shall have 
sufficient current reference materials related to sterile 
products consistent with the policy and procedure manual and 
with the types of products prepared.  

F. The pharmacy preparing sterile products shall have 
equipment necessary for maintaining and monitoring required 
temperature storage conditions both in the pharmacy and 
during delivery to the patient, if applicable.  

18VAC110-20-414. Labeling requirements. (Repealed.) 

A. In addition to other applicable labeling requirements for 
prescriptions as set forth in §54.1-3410 of the Code of 
Virginia and 18VAC110-20-260 B and 18VAC110-20-330, 
the label of a compounded sterile product shall include all 
active ingredient names, strengths, amounts, and 
concentrations, when applicable, and for IV infusion shall 
include the name of all solutions.  

B. The label of a compounded parenteral sterile product 
shall include an appropriate beyond-use date and time, if 
applicable, and the required storage conditions to assure 
product integrity for that time period. Unless otherwise 
specified and justification provided in the policy and 
procedure manual, the expiration date for unpreserved sterile 
products prepared aseptically in a closed system for a single 
patient shall bear a maximum beyond-use date, including 
administration, as follows:  

1. Twenty-eight hours if stored at controlled room 
temperature;  

2. Seven days if stored under refrigeration; and  

3. Thirty days if stored under freezing conditions.  

C. The label of other compounded sterile products shall bear 
an appropriate beyond-use date, not to exceed 30 days from 
the date of preparation.  

D. If the product is for home or other outpatient use, the 
label shall bear the prescribed administration regimen 
including rate and route of administration and any device 
specific instructions.  

E. The label shall bear any appropriate auxiliary labeling, 
including precautions for cytotoxic drugs.  

18VAC110-20-415. Quality assurance. (Repealed.) 

A. The PIC in a pharmacy compounding sterile products 
shall be responsible for maintaining and updating the policy 
and procedure manual as set forth in 18VAC110-20-411 in 
accordance with current acceptable standards, and for 
ensuring compliance with the policy and procedure manual.  

B. All laminar flow hoods or other environmental control 
devices shall be certified according to accepted standards for 
operational efficiency by a qualified independent contractor 
initially, at least every six months and after relocation.  

18VAC110-20-416. Records for sterile compounding. 
(Repealed.) 

In addition to other required records, the following 
additional records shall be maintained for sterile 
compounding:  

1. Compounding records maintained on or with the original 
prescription, or in a log format which can be cross-
referenced with the prescription, or in an automated data 
processing system which contains the same information 
required in a manual system and is capable of producing a 
hard copy printout of a two-year history of prescription 
compounding and dispensing upon request within 72 
hours. In addition to prescription information, the record 
must include the following information:  

a. Date of sterile compounding;  

b. Beyond-use date assigned to the sterile product; and  

c. Signature, initials, or electronic identification of 
pharmacist compounding, or of both the nonpharmacist 
compounding and pharmacist checking the compounding 
of the sterile product.  

2. Record documenting certification of clean room or 
laminar flow hoods.  

3. If sterile products are provided to a patient's residence, a 
record documenting training of the patient or caregiver, or 
both, in the proper storage and use of the product and any 
devices used to administer the devices.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1087; Filed November 28, 2007, 3:46 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 19. PUBLIC SAFETY 

DEPARTMENT OF STATE POLICE 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of State Police is 
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
pursuant to §2.2-4002 B 6 of the Code of Virginia, which 
exempts agency action relating to customary military, naval 
or police functions. 

Title of Regulation: 19VAC30-70. Motor Vehicle Safety 
Inspection Rules and Regulations (amending 19VAC30-
70-6, 19VAC30-70-7, 19VAC30-70-9, 19VAC30-70-10, 
19VAC30-70-40, 19VAC30-70-50, 19VAC30-70-60, 
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19VAC30-70-80, 19VAC30-70-90, 19VAC30-70-110 
through 19VAC30-70-660). 

Statutory Authority: §46.2-1165 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 1, 2008.  

Agency Contact: LTC Robert Kemmler, Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of State Police, Bureau of 
Administrative and Support Services, P.O. Box 27472, 
Richmond, VA 23261-7472, telephone 804-674-4606, FAX 
804-674-2234, or email robert.kemmler@vsp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments reflect 2007 legislation that affects the 
annual inspection of motor vehicles. This revision also 
includes new administrative procedures concerning the 
testing of inspectors participating in Vocational Schools 
and specific requirements for motor vehicles equipped 
with Supplemental Restraint Systems (SRS) or air bags. 

Changes Since Proposed is not available 

19VAC30-70-6. Class IV offenses. 

Class IV offenses are those violations considered so 
critically important to the integrity and credibility of the 
Official Annual Motor Vehicle Inspection Program as to 
require immediate and severe disciplinary action. The 
following violations and actions shall be considered a Class 
IV offense: 

1. Loss of driver's license, with the exception of an 
administrative court-ordered suspension that does not 
exceed seven days. 

2. Obvious usage of either alcohol and/or drugs by an 
employee associated with the Annual Motor Vehicle 
Inspection Program. 

3. Loss of inspection stickers through neglect. 

4. Improper use of inspection supplies such as placing 
placement on a vehicle that has not been inspected or 
failure to affix the inspection sticker to the vehicle 
windshield in its proper location, after inspection. 

5. Falsifying inspection receipts or inspection records. 

6. Giving false information during an inspection complaint 
investigation. 

7. Performing either an inspection or inspections at a 
station without authority from the safety officer. 

8. The arrest of any person associated with the inspection 
program for a criminal offense or the institution of civil 
action of a nature that would tend to immediately reflect 
upon the integrity and reputation of the Department of 
State Police shall be grounds for an immediate suspension 
upon final court disposition. The conviction for such a 

criminal offense or a civil judgment or bankruptcy may 
result in a revocation of the station appointment. 

9. The use of profanity or verbal abuse directed at 
customers presenting their vehicles for inspection by 
inspectors, managers or business owners. 

10. Illegal use of inspection supplies such as stealing, 
selling, mailing or giving away, shall be grounds for 
revocation. 

11. Nonpayment of inspection fees. 

12. Conduct displayed by station owners and/or state 
inspectors that may be rude or discourteous, or use of 
profanity and/or verbal abuse directed at or towards Safety 
Division Personnel may be grounds for revocation. 

Disciplinary action for a Class IV offense shall be 
immediate suspension or revocation. A suspension shall not 
be less than 90 days nor more than six months. A revocation 
shall not be less than one year nor more than three years. 
Offenses are cumulative in nature and will remain active for a 
period of 24 months from the date of the offense. For a 
subsequent violation within 24 months, the suspension shall 
not be less than six months nor more than one year. 

In the case of the loss of the driver's license, the suspension 
shall remain in effect until the driver's license is reinstated 
and consideration for reinstatement of inspection privileges 
will be made at that time. 

In cases concerning nonpayment of fees when the inspection 
station has been given 15 days to reply to their final notice, 
the suspension of the affected inspection station shall remain 
in effect until all inspection fees are paid. Consideration for 
reinstatement of inspection privileges will be made when all 
fees are paid. Furthermore, stations that have not paid their 
processing fee after the 15-day period will not be issued any 
additional inspection supplies. Supply orders may resume 
when the inspection fee is paid and the station has been 
reinstated to an active status. 

A Class IV offense in combination with three Class I 
offenses, two Class II offenses, or one Class III offense shall 
be grounds for no less than a 90-day nor more than a six-
month suspension. 

19VAC30-70-7. General information. 

Any violation under any class of offenses requiring a third 
suspension within a 24-month period shall be grounds for a 
revocation. The suspension or revocation period for a 
subsequent violation requiring suspension or revocation under 
any class of offenses within a 24-month period shall be twice 
that of a previous suspension or revocation. 

For suspension periods of less than six months, inspection 
stations and safety inspectors will not be required to file 
application for reinstatement. 
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For suspension periods of six months or more, or revocation 
periods of one to three years, inspection stations and safety 
inspectors must complete the process as set forth for original 
appointment. Reapplications may be made 60 days prior to 
the suspension expiration. Suspended inspectors shall contact 
the nearest safety office or supervising trooper to request 
reinstatement. 

Inspection stations and safety inspectors who have their 
privilege to perform inspections revoked must complete the 
application process as set forth for original appointments after 
the expiration of the period of revocation. Safety inspectors 
who have their privilege to perform inspections revoked must 
complete the application process for initial certification, after 
the expiration of the period of revocation. 

If during the course of an official investigation, station 
management voluntarily surrenders the station's inspection 
supplies, particularly after being cautioned not to do so, the 
station shall not be eligible for reinstatement for a period of 
90 days. This voluntary action shall not be the subject of an 
appeal. 

19VAC30-70-9. Examinations for inspector's license. 

A. Effective March 31, 2003, the Department of State Police 
went back to administering the written examination for 
original certification for all inspectors. With few exceptions, 
recertifications are done at the normal testing sites along with 
original certification tests. 

B. In order for an individual to become a certified safety 
inspector, the applicant shall: the following actions shall be 
followed: 

1. Contact The person shall contact his assigned Safety 
Division trooper or the local safety office to obtain the 
following: 

a. Mechanics Certification Application (SP-170B); 

b. Criminal History Record Request (SP-167); and 

c. Mechanics Application Worksheet. 

2. Answer The trooper or office personnel should ask some 
preliminary questions asked by the trooper or office 
personnel to ensure the applicant is qualified to apply. 

3. Complete The person shall complete the SP-170B in its 
entirety and have it notarized on the back. 4. Complete ; 
complete Section 1A of SP-167 and have it notarized. 5. 
Complete ; and complete the worksheet with two character 
and two mechanical references and places of employment. 

6. Take 4. The applicant shall then take the completed 
application forms to the Department of State Police testing 
site and present it to the trooper for the written 
examination. 

C. 5. The trooper will verify the notarizations and check 
the driver's license for validity and identification of the 
applicant. The trooper will administer the test. If the 
applicant's driver's license is found to be expired, 
suspended or revoked, the applicant will be advised and the 
application will be destroyed. The applicant may reapply 
once the driver's license has been reissued or reinstated. 

D. The trooper will administer the test. The examination 
will consist of five sections (brakes, suspensions, glass, 
lights and general) containing 20 questions each. A 
minimum score of 75% must be attained for each section. 

E. 6. If the applicant successfully completes the test, the 
trooper will note at the end of Section 1 on the SP-170B 
form the word "Passed" and the date. The trooper will 
initial the test and send it to Safety Division Headquarters, 
Mechanics File Section, for further processing and 
investigation. 

7. The examination will consist of five sections (brakes, 
suspensions, glass, lights and general) containing 20 
questions each. A minimum score of 75% must be attained 
for each section. 

F. 8. If the applicant fails the test, the trooper it will note be 
noted at the end of Section 1 on the SP-170B form the 
words "Disqualified - Failed Test." 

G. 9. If the applicant desires to test again, he may do so 
after 30 days. If the applicant is again unsuccessful in 
passing the examination, the trooper shall take the 
application forms and destroy them. The applicant may 
contact his assigned Safety Division trooper or the local 
safety office after six months to reapply. 

C. Recertification. 

1. Safety inspectors desiring to renew their inspector's 
license must participate in the recertification process. 

2. All safety inspectors will be required to satisfactorily 
pass the appropriate examination for the license the 
inspector holds. 

3. A safety inspector will not be permitted to perform 
inspections after the expiration date of his inspector's 
license. 

4. A safety inspector's license shall be valid for a period of 
three years. 

5. All safety inspectors' licenses will display an inspector's 
number and will no longer display the social security 
number. The inspector's number will be written on the 
inspection sticker receipt. 

6. Safety inspector's testing sites will no longer be included 
on an inspection bulletin. Testing site information will be 
updated in the computer system, so that the usual letters 
going to inspectors to remind them of this upcoming 
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recertification will contain the updated information. All 
State Police safety area offices will also have the updated 
information. 

7. If the safety inspector has any questions about the 
testing sites, the safety inspector should contact the area 
safety office closest to him. The office numbers are: 

Richmond 804-743-2217 

Culpeper 540-829-7414 

Lynchburg 434-582-5141 

Wytheville 276-228-6220 

Suffolk 757-925-2432 

Salem 540-387-5437 

Fairfax 703-323-4549 

D. Reinstatement of safety inspector's licenses following a 
period of suspension or revocation. 

1. Once a safety inspector's license has been suspended, 
regardless of the cause for suspension, no application form 
(SP-170B) is required for reinstatement. 

2. If the inspector is suspended for less than six months, 
the safety inspector's license will be held at the local area 
office and returned upon the expiration of the suspension 
period. A check will be made with DMV prior to 
reinstatement. 

3. If the inspector's license has been suspended for six 
months or more, he may request reinstatement 60 days 
prior to the suspension expiration by contacting the 
supervising trooper, whereas a check will be made with 
DMV and Central Criminal Records Exchange prior to 
reinstatement. The inspector's license will be returned after 
the suspension expiration if still valid. 

4. If the suspended inspector's license expires during the 
suspension period, the inspector may complete the process 
for inspector recertification as outlined in this section. The 
trooper administering the test will retain all documentation. 
The inspector's license will be returned at the end of the 
suspension period and the appropriate documents 
forwarded to the Safety Division. 

5. Inspectors whose safety inspector's licenses have been 
revoked must complete the application process for initial 
certification as set forth in this section. 

E. Vo-Tech students who successfully complete the 
Vocational Automotive Mechanics Course and who are 
expected to graduate from the program with the required 
1,080 hours, and meet the requirements of the Department of 
State Police, will be certified as safety inspectors. 

1. The Vo-Tech instructor will contact their assigned 
Safety Division trooper or the local safety office in their 

area by March 15 of each year. The written examination 
will be scheduled for students who are at least 18 years of 
age or who will be at least 18 years of age by May 31 of 
that year. 

2. The Safety Division troopers responsible for 
administering the written examinations at the Vo-Tech 
Center will forward sufficient SP-170B forms for each 
student to complete prior to the testing date. A Criminal 
History Record Request, Form SP-167, if the student is at 
least 18 years of age, must also be completed. The Safety 
Division trooper will indicate at the top of the SP-170B 
form the Vo-Tech school, area where the examination was 
given, and the trooper's name who administered the 
examination. 

3. The trooper will verify the notarizations and check the 
driver's license for validity and identification of the 
applicant. The trooper will administer the written 
examination. If the applicant's driver's license is found to 
be expired, suspended or revoked, the applicant will be 
advised and the application will be destroyed. The 
applicant may re-apply once the driver's license has been 
reissued or reinstated. 

4. If the applicant successfully completes the written 
examination, the trooper will note at the send of Section 1 
on the SP-170B form the word "Passed" and the date. The 
trooper will initial the test and forward it to the Safety 
Division, Mechanics File Section for further processing 
and investigation. Due to the age of these students, this 
should be done in a minimal amount of time. 

5. If the applicant fails the test, it will be noted at the end 
of Section 1 on the SP-170B form the words "Disqualified 
- Failed Test." 

a. The Safety Division trooper will only administer one 
written examination at the Vo-Tech Center. Those 
students who fail the first written examination may retest, 
but not sooner than 30 days from the date of the last 
written examination. Those students who fail the first 
written examination will keep the SP-170B form in their 
possession and present it to the Safety Division trooper at 
the test site prior to taking the second written 
examination. 

b. The second written examination will not be 
administered to the students prior to June 15 of that year. 
Prior to taking the second written examination, the 
student shall have completed the Vocational Automotive 
Mechanics Course and must be employed at an Official 
Inspection Station. These students will not be required to 
have completed the one year of practical experience as an 
automotive mechanic. 

c. Students who do not pass the initial examination 
should visit a testing site in their area to take a second 
written examination. 
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d. For those students who pass the second written 
examination, the Safety Division trooper will forward the 
student's form SP-170B to the Safety Division for further 
processing and investigation. Those students who 
successfully pass all phases for original certification will 
then be issued a temporary inspector's license by the 
Safety Division trooper. 

e. Students failing the second written examination will 
not be allowed to test again for six months and must 
complete the application process as set forth for original 
certification. 

6. The written examination will consist of five sections 
(general, brakes, suspensions, glass and lights) containing 
20 questions each. A minimum score of 75% must be 
attained for each section. 

7. Those students who successfully complete all phases of 
the written examination and background checks will then 
be administered a practical examination. The Vo-Tech 
instructor who holds a valid Class-A Safety Inspector's 
License will administer the practical "Class A" 
examination to each student who is expected to graduate 
from the program. The Safety Division trooper should be 
on hand to observe at least some of the practical 
examinations administered by the Vo-Tech instructor to 
ensure that testing is administered according to Safety 
Division regulations. 

8. Those students who successfully complete all phases for 
original certification by May 31 will be issued a temporary 
inspectors license by the Safety Division trooper. The 
Safety Division trooper will then forward the completed 
SP-170B form to the Safety Division and a permanent 
license will then be mailed to the student, provided he is at 
least 18 years of age. 

a. The Safety Division will mail a permanent inspector's 
license to the student after June 15 of that year. 

b. The Vo-Tech instructor will be required to contact the 
Safety Division trooper prior to June 15 of that year if 
any student fails to complete the Vocational Automotive 
Mechanics Course. 

c. Any student who fails to complete the Vocational 
Automotive Mechanics Course will not be licensed as a 
certified safety inspector and will be required to complete 
the application process as set forth for original 
certification. 

9. Those students who will be at least 18 years of age after 
May 31 of that year and have successfully completed the 
Vocational Automotive Mechanics Course must contact 
the Safety Division trooper assigned to the inspection 
station where they are employed and complete the 
application process as set forth for original certification. 
These students will not be required to have completed the 

one year of practical experience as an automotive 
mechanic. 

19VAC30-70-10. Official inspection station requirements. 

A. Official inspection stations, except private appointments, 
shall be open at least eight hours of each normal business day, 
and shall be able to perform inspections 12 months 
throughout the year, except during illness of limited duration 
or normal vacation. 

1. Normal business hours, Monday through Friday, are 
defined as an eight-hour period of time between 8 a.m. and 
6 p.m. 

2. Stations are not prohibited from performing inspections 
at times other than during normal business hours. 

3. A station that advertises inspections beyond normal 
business hours shall be able to perform such inspections. 

4. If a station desires to maintain business hours that are 
different from those defined in this section, written 
permission must be obtained from the safety officer and a 
sign setting forth the inspection hours must be posted 
conspicuously at the station where it can be observed by a 
person desiring to have a vehicle inspected. 

B. At least one safety inspector to perform inspections and 
one inspection lane, meeting the minimum requirements, 
shall be available for inspection at all times during the normal 
business day. All inspections must be made only at the 
locations and in the inspection lane approved by the 
Department of State Police. 

The designated inspection areas, including any location 
where customers are permitted to enter when submitting 
vehicles for inspection, must be kept clean, and free from 
excessive dirt, grease, and loose materials. 

C. Inspection station facilities must be properly maintained 
and must present a businesslike appearance to the general 
public. Property adjacent to the inspection station that is 
owned or controlled by the station must be free of debris, 
litter, used parts and junk vehicles. Vehicles properly 
contained within fenced storage areas shall be deemed to 
comply with this requirement. 

D. Inspections shall be performed on a first-come, first-
served basis. Motorists shall not be required to make an 
appointment to obtain an inspection, except that appointments 
required by paragraph 12 of the Governor's Proclamation, 
which appears at the end of this chapter, shall be made. 
Businesses that take in motorists' vehicles for inspection at 
the beginning of the work day shall not be required to stop the 
work already taken in to provide an inspection for a drive-in 
motorist, provided inspections are actually being performed at 
the time and will continue through the day. 
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Effective October 15, 2001, the safety officer initiated a 
pilot program whereas if the station's existing physical plant 
meets certain requirements, then the station may apply to 
accept safety inspections by appointment. If the requirements 
are met, then the official inspection station may in addition to 
having one lane for the first-come, first-served customers, 
also have a second inspection lane designated for customers 
who have made appointments for a designated time slot. If 
interested, businesses should first contact their supervising 
trooper for specific requirements and guidelines. 

E. Safety inspectors, managers who supervise inspection 
activities and business owners through participation in the 
inspection program are representatives of the Department of 
State Police and should conduct themselves in a manner to 
avoid controversy in dealing with customers presenting 
vehicles for inspection. The use of profanity or verbal abuse 
directed at customers presenting their vehicles for inspection 
will be grounds for suspension from participation in the 
inspection program and will be considered a Class IV offense 
as set forth in 19VAC30-70-6 of the Guidelines for 
Administration of Virginia's Annual Motor Vehicle 
Inspection Program. 

Controversy that cannot be calmly resolved by the safety 
inspector, managers, and owners should be referred to the 
supervising trooper for handling. 

F. The "Certificate of Appointment" must be framed under 
glass or clear plastic and posted in the service 
counter/lounge/waiting area where it can be observed and 
read by a person submitting a vehicle for inspection. 

Inspection stations must have garage liability insurance in 
the amount of at least $500,000 with an approved surplus 
lines carrier or insurance company licensed to write such 
insurance in this Commonwealth. This requirement shall not 
apply to inspection stations that inspect only their company-
owned or leased or government-owned or leased vehicles. 

G. The required "Official Inspection Procedure" sheet and 
the “Direct Inquiries” sheet furnished each station must both 
be framed under glass and posted conspicuously in the service 
counter/lounge/waiting area where it they can be observed 
and read by a person submitting a vehicle for inspection. 

H. The poster designating the station as an official 
inspection station shall be posted in a prominent location, 
outside or visible outside the station to alert passersby that 
inspection services are available. Private inspection stations 
need not comply with this section. 

I. Each official inspection station shall display a list with the 
name(s) and license expiration date of all employees licensed 
to inspect at that station adjacent to the appointment 
certificate, where it can be observed by a person submitting a 
vehicle for inspection. 

The official inspection manual will be kept at or near the 
point of inspection for ready reference. 

J. Important -- Any change in name, ownership or location 
of any official inspection station cancels the appointment of 
that station and the Department of State Police must be 
notified immediately. The department shall be notified when 
an official inspection station discontinues operation. 

K. All inspection supplies, inspection binders and manual, 
unused stickers, duplicates of certificates issued, bulletins and 
other forms are the property of the Department of State Police 
and must be safeguarded against loss. 

L. Inspection supplies issued to an inspection station can be 
used only by that station and are not to be loaned or reissued 
to any other station with the exception of inserts. 

1. Stations must maintain a sufficient supply of approval 
stickers, T/M decals and, rejection stickers and inserts. 
When reordering supplies, station owners/managers shall 
request sufficient supplies to sustain their business for at 
least six months. However, we do realize that a few 
stations will not be able to comply with the six-month 
requirement since there is a maximum of 100 books per 
order limit. Also when ordering supplies, the following 
information should be considered so that the station does 
not over order. Each book of Approvals and 
Trailer/Motorcycle contains 25 stickers/decals and the 
Rejections contain 50 stickers. Monthly inserts are 
packaged in strips of 50 each and T/M's are five per strip. 
In December of each year, a supply of yearly inserts will 
be shipped to each station based on their previous year's 
usage. In November, each station shall check its stock of 
monthly inserts and order what is needed for the months of 
January through June. In May, the same should be done for 
the months of July through December. 

2. Inspection stations that exhaust their supply of approval 
stickers, rejection stickers or T/M decals, shall 
immediately stop performing new inspections and contact 
their supervising trooper or the nearest Safety Division 
office. 

M. All losses of stickers must be reported orally at once to 
the nearest State Police area safety office or supervising 
inspection trooper. 

N. Every precaution against the loss of stickers must be 
taken. If the loss occurs through carelessness or neglect, a 
suspension of the station may result. 

O. Manuals, bulletins, other regulations and lists of 
approved equipment must be available at all times for 
reference. Revisions to the inspection manual must be 
inserted in the manual at the proper location promptly after 
being received by the inspection station. Bulletins of 
temporary interest and pages of bulletins containing the 
synopsis of manual revisions will be retained in the front of 
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each station's inspection manual for two years 24 months. 
Each safety inspector shall review the material contained in 
each inspection bulletin and manual revision within 15 days 
of its receipt. The safety inspector shall certify that the 
revisions have been reviewed by signing his name and 
placing the date reviewed by the signature on the bottom or 
reverse side of the bulletin or manual revision cover sheet. 
Station management shall be responsible to see that each 
safety inspector is familiar with all bulletins and manual 
revisions and shall be required to furnish evidence to the 
department that all bulletins and manual revisions have been 
reviewed by each licensed inspector. 

A copy of the diagram drawn by the investigating trooper, 
showing the approved inspection lane or lanes will be 
inserted in a plastic page protector and inserted as the last 
page of the official inspection manual at each official 
inspection station. The name of the station and the date will 
be inserted in the top right corner. 

P. Private appointment may be made of company stations or 
government stations who that own and operate a minimum of 
20 vehicles and they may inspect only company-owned or 
government-owned vehicles respectively. When authorized 
by the department, they may inspect vehicles of a wholly 
owned subsidiary or leased vehicles. 

1. A private station may perform inspections during each 
month of the year or may elect to inspect only during 
certain designated months. 

2. A private station not electing to inspect vehicles every 
month of the year that finds it necessary to inspect a 
vehicle during a month other than those selected for 
inspection may issue a sticker to the vehicle from the 
nearest past inspection month. 

Q. All official inspection station owners, operators and 
certified safety inspectors shall comply with the Virginia 
inspection laws and the inspection rules and regulations. 
Reports of violations will be investigated and if found to be 
valid may result in the suspension of the station, suspension 
of the mechanic, possible court action or other appropriate 
action. Repeated violations or serious violations may result in 
a revocation of the station appointment by the 
Superintendent. 

R. The arrest of any person associated with the inspection 
program for a criminal offense of a nature that would tend to 
immediately reflect upon the integrity and reputation of the 
Department of State Police shall be grounds for an immediate 
suspension and the conviction for such an offense may result 
in a revocation of the station appointment. 

S.  When a station has been suspended or revoked, it must 
release to an employee of the Department of State Police all 
inspection supplies, posters, and papers including the 

certificate of appointment. Failure to do so is a violation of 
§46.2-1172 of the Code of Virginia. 

T. The authority of the Superintendent to suspend the 
designation or appointment of an official inspection station as 
provided in §46.2-1163 of the Code of Virginia, or to suspend 
the certification of a mechanic designated to perform 
inspections at an official inspection station in keeping with 
the provisions of §46.2-1166 of the Code of Virginia, is 
hereby delegated to any of the following supervisory ranks of 
the Department of State Police: Lieutenant Colonel, Major, 
Captain, Lieutenant, First Sergeant and Sergeant. 

U. Each station must purchase and keep in proper operating 
condition the following equipment: paper hole punch, black 
ball point pen(s), sticker scraper with replacement razor 
blades, tire tread depth gauge, headlight and auxiliary lamp 
adjustment tools, 12" ruler, 25' measuring tape, torque wrench 
or torque sticks, brake pads/shoes/disc/drum measuring 
device, dial indicator, micrometer, pry bars, roller jack (at 
least 4-ton) and an approved type optical headlight aiming 
device. Each station that requests an additional inspection 
lane that is not in close proximity to the originally approved 
inspection lane must purchase an additional approved 
headlight machine for each lane that meets the minimum 
requirements. Stations that have not done so are encouraged 
to upgrade to one of the following headlight aiming devices 
when their budget allows: the Hopkins Vision1, Hopkins 
Vision 100, or the Symtech (former L.E.T.) HBA-4 or 5 
HBA-5, PLA-11, and PLA-12. 

V. The following checklist has been designed to help with 
the monthly submission of inspection receipts. While its use 
is not required, its use is encouraged for a more orderly and 
accurate submission of inspection receipts. 

MONTHLY INSPECTION 
RECEIPT SUBMISSION FOR 

_____________ 
(Month/Year) 

Processing Checklist: 

______ White copies have been removed from 
books (yellow copies remain in the books 
and are on file at the station). 

______ Receipts are in numerical order. 

______ Either rubber bands or paper clips are 
used to secure receipts during mailing. 

______ Voided receipts have matching sticker 
and pink receipt attached. 

______ Receipts are postmarked no later than the 
fifth of the month. 

Accountability Checklist: 

______ All receipts are completely filled out, 
including date, station number, tag 
number, complete ID#, odometer reading, 
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etc. 

______ All receipts are legible. 

______ All receipts are signed by the inspector. 

______ Repair costs are included in inspection-
related charges. If no charge, no charge is 
indicated by "NA." 

______ Inspection charges for motorcycles are no 
more than $12. 

______ All approval and rejection receipts 
indicate which tires were pulled on 
vehicles to check brakes. 

______ Receipts are written in ink; no pencil or 
white-out on receipts. 

______ A block is checked for every segment of 
the vehicle that has actually been 
inspected. 

Receipts processed 
by___________________________________ 

  (Name) (Date) 

19VAC30-70-40. Fees. 

A. Before the inspection of a vehicle begins, the vehicle 
owner or operator must be informed that a charge is to be 
made. 

B. A charge of $50 $51 may be made for inspection of 
tractor trucks, trucks that have a gross vehicle weight rating 
of 26,000 pounds or more, and buses that seat more than 16 
15 passengers, including the driver. A charge of $15 $16 may 
be made for each inspection performed on any other vehicle 
except for the inspection of a motorcycle to include 
recreational motor homes. A charge of $5.00 $12 may be 
charged for each motorcycle inspection. 

C. If a rejected vehicle is not submitted to the same station 
within the validity period of the rejection sticker or is 
submitted to another official inspection station, a complete 
inspection must be performed and a charge of $50 $51 may 
be made for inspection of tractor trucks, trucks that have a 
gross vehicle weight rating of 26,000 pounds or more, and 
buses that seat more than 16 15 passengers, including the 
driver. A charge of $15 $16 may be made for each inspection 
performed on any other vehicle except for the inspection of a 
motorcycle to include recreational motor homes. A charge of 
$5.00 $12 may be charged for each motorcycle inspection. 

NOTE: The truck inspection fee does not pertain to any 
trailer nor does it affect the $1.00 reinspection fee. 

D. A charge of $1.00 may be made for reinspection of a 
vehicle rejected by the same station during the 15-day validity 
of the rejection sticker. 

E. Inspection stations shall not charge an additional fee to 
those customers who drop off their vehicles for a state 
inspection. This is a violation of §46.2-1167 of the Code of 
Virginia unless the station charges a "storage fee" for all 
services and repairs and not just for inspections. 

F. The maximum inspection fees effective July 1, 2006, are 
as follows: 

$51 for each inspection of any (i) tractor truck, (ii) truck 
that has a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,000 pounds 
or more, or (iii) motor vehicle that is used to transport 
passengers and has a seating capacity of more than 15 
passengers, including the driver. 

$12 for each inspection of any motorcycle. 

$16 for each inspection of any other vehicle, including 
trailers and recreation vehicles. 

1. Beginning July 1, 2006, inspection fees will result in 
inspection stations retaining an additional $.50 and 
forwarding $.50 to the Department of State Police to 
support the department's costs in administering the motor 
vehicle inspection program. Collection of these fees will 
begin on May 15 of every year. 

2. Effective January 1, 2006, $10 of the $12 inspection fee 
for motorcycles shall be retained by the inspection station, 
and the other $2.00 shall be transmitted to the Department 
of State Police. Collection of these fees will begin May 15 
of every year. 

3. After the appropriate fee has been determined for each 
station, a letter from the Safety Division will be mailed to 
the station requiring that a check for that amount be mailed 
in the enclosed envelope to: Department of State Police, 
Safety Division, 7700 Midlothian Turnpike, Richmond, 
VA 23235. The check must be made out to the Department 
of State Police. 

The letter will include the following notice: 

"Do Not Send The Processing Fee To The P.O. Box Or 
Include With The Monthly Inspection Receipts. All Fees 
Are To Be Sent To The Safety Division Street Address." 

4. The station will have 30 days in which to mail in the 
processing fee. In the event a check does not clear the bank 
for any reason, a $15 fee will be assessed the station. Also, 
under the Administrative Rules and Regulations, 
19VAC30-70-5, a returned check will be a Class III 
offense and administrative actions may be held against the 
record of the station. Once the station has been contacted 
by the Virginia State Police regarding a returned check, it 
will have 15 days to respond. If the returned check dispute 
is not settled in this period of time, administrative and/or 
legal sanctions may be taken against the station and, in 
addition, any requests for supplies will not be honored until 
the dispute has been settled. 
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19VAC30-70-50. Approval stickers and decals. 

A. If the vehicle meets all inspection requirements, the 
inspection sticker receipt shall be legibly filled out with a ball 
point pen in its entirety and signed by the authorized 
mechanic making the inspection. The inspection fee (if no 
charge then indicate N/A), the cost of the repairs relating to 
the inspection and the complete vehicle identification 
number, tag number or car dealer name if a dealer tag is 
attached, mileage, year, make, and model must be filled out 
on the receipt. A circle to indicate which wheels were pulled 
to check for brakes, and an individual mark in each block of 
the approval receipt that was pertinent to it being issued shall 
be made (straight or zig-zag lines are not acceptable), are also 
to be written on the receipt. 

The inspection sticker is not valid unless the rear portion is 
completed with the vehicle make, year built, license plate 
number (dealer name if a dealer tag is displayed), body type, 
and the complete vehicle identification number (VIN). The 
VIN should be entered using indelible ink. 

B. Approval stickers and decals shall be issued according to 
the following schedule:  

ANNUAL PROGRAM 

Vehicles inspected in January are issued stickers 
bearing the Number "1" 
Vehicles inspected in February are issued stickers 
bearing the Number "2" 
Vehicles inspected in March are issued stickers bearing 
the Number "3" 
Vehicles inspected in April are issued stickers bearing 
the Number "4" 
Vehicles inspected in May are issued stickers bearing 
the Number "5" 
Vehicles inspected in June are issued stickers bearing 
the Number "6" 
Vehicles inspected in July are issued stickers bearing 
the Number "7" 
Vehicles inspected in August are issued stickers 
bearing the Number "8" 
Vehicles inspected in September are issued stickers 
bearing the Number "9" 
Vehicles inspected in October are issued stickers 
bearing the Number "10" 
Vehicles inspected in November are issued stickers 
bearing the Number "11" 
Vehicles inspected in December are issued stickers 
bearing the Number "12" 

All February annual inspection stickers and 
trailer/motorcycle for trailer and motorcycle decals (#2) due 
to expire at midnight, February 28 automatically will be valid 
through midnight February 29 each leap year. 

C. The numeral decal indicating the month of expiration 
shall be inserted in the box identified as month and the 
numeral decal indicating the year of expiration shall be 
inserted in the box identified as year of the approval sticker 
and the trailer/cycle decal. Extreme care should be used by 
inspectors in applying these inserts. On all windshields, 
except school buses, the sticker is to be placed at the bottom 
of the windshield so that the inside or left edge of the sticker 
is one inch to the right of the vertical center of the windshield 
when looking through the windshield from inside the vehicle. 
(If the vehicle is normally operated from the right side, the 
sticker must be placed one inch to the left of the vertical 
center of the windshield.) 

On passenger vehicles not equipped with a windshield, the 
sticker shall be placed on or under the dash and protected in 
some manner from the weather. 

The approval sticker on official yellow school buses is to be 
placed at the bottom and in the right corner of the windshield 
when looking through the windshield from inside the vehicle. 

EXCEPTIONS: The approval sticker shall be placed one 
inch to the right of the vertical center of the windshield when 
looking through the windshield from the inside on all new 
flat-face cowl yellow school buses. On vehicles equipped 
with heating and grid elements on the inside of the 
windshield, the sticker shall be placed one inch above the top 
of the grid element and the inside left edge of the sticker shall 
be one inch to the right of the vertical center when looking 
through the windshield from the inside. 

Stickers or decals used by counties, cities and towns in lieu 
of license plates affixed adjacent to the old approval sticker 
and which are affixed in the location where the new approval 
sticker is required to be placed will not be removed. In these 
cases, the approval sticker will be placed as close to one inch 
to the right of the vertical center of the windshield as it can be 
placed without removing or overlapping the county, city or 
town decal. 

D. The Virginia statutes require that the inspection sticker be 
displayed on the windshield or at other designated places at 
all times. The inspection sticker cannot be transferred from 
one vehicle to another. 

EXCEPTION: If the windshield in a vehicle is replaced, a 
valid sticker may be removed from the old windshield and 
placed on the new windshield. 

E. The decal issued to a motorcycle shall be affixed to the 
left front side of the cycle where it will be most visible after 
mounting. The left front shall mean any area from the middle 
of the cycle forward. The decal may be placed on a plate on 
the left side where it will be most visible and securely 
fastened to the motorcycle for the purpose of displaying the 
decal. 
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F. Trailer decals will be issued to all trailers and semitrailers 
required to be inspected. (No boat, utility, or travel trailer that 
is not equipped with brakes shall be required to be inspected.) 

G. All trailers must display a trailer decal on that particular 
vehicle. These decals are to be placed on the left side of the 
trailer near the front corner. The decal must be affixed to the 
trailer body or frame. In those instances where a metal back 
container with a removable transparent cover has been 
permanently affixed to the trailer body, the decal may be 
glued to it. The container must be permanently mounted in 
such a manner that the decal must be destroyed to remove it. 

H. In all other cases involving unusually designed trailers 
such as pole trailers, the inspecting mechanic is to exercise 
his own good judgment in placing the decal at a point where 
it will be as prominent as possible and visible for 
examination.  

I. Decals shall be punched to indicate the type vehicle 
(motorcycle or trailer) inspected. Effective January 1, 2006, 
motorcycles will have a separate decal that will be orange and 
issued with the prefix M. The current trailer/motorcycle decal 
will continue to be utilized for trailers only until depletion. 
Decals for trailers will eventually have the prefix T and will 
remain blue. 

The receipts are completed in the same manner as other 
inspection receipts. 

J. Appointed stations will keep sufficient inspection supplies 
on hand to meet their needs. Requests for additional supplies 
are to may be made to the Safety Division by telephone, in 
writing or via e-mail. Requests for supplies that are to be 
picked up at the Safety Division headquarters must be made 
at least 24 hours prior to pick up. If e-mail email is used, then 
the subject should be the station number and station name. If 
written request is preferred or if there is a need to return 
inspection receipts to the Safety Division via United Parcel 
Service then it shall be addressed to: Safety Division, 
Department of State Police, 491 Southlake Boulevard P.O. 
Box 85607, Richmond, VA 23236-3044 23285-5607. 

1. Do not make requests for stickers on inventory forms or 
slips of paper enclosed with returned supplies. 

2. Packing slips mailed with inspection supplies will be 
kept on file at the station for at least 24 months. 

K. All unused center inserts used to indicate the month that a 
sticker or decal expires, in possession of the inspection station 
at the end of each month shall be retained by the inspection 
station, properly safeguarded, and used in the inspection of 
vehicles for the particular month in the following year or be 
disposed of as directed by the Department of State Police. 

All inspection supplies that are voided, damaged, disfigured 
or become unserviceable in any manner, will be returned to 
the Safety Division, Department of State Police and 

replacement supplies will be furnished the station. Expired 
stickers will be picked up by the station's supervising trooper. 

L. The white receipts for all approval stickers including 
trailer/motorcycle stickers and pink copies for rejection 
stickers will be removed from the sticker books and placed in 
numerical order for submission to the Safety Division by the 
fifth of the month following the month of inspection. (Staples 
or tape are not to be used to secure these receipts.) All voided 
approval/rejection stickers and decals, along with the white 
and pink receipts, shall be marked void and returned to the 
Safety Division. The yellow receipt shall also be marked void 
and retained in the book. 

M. The pink receipt copies of the approval stickers and 
decals shall be given to the owner or operator of the vehicle. 

N. All yellow receipt copies of approval stickers and decals 
will be retained in the books and shall be kept on file at the 
station for at least 24 months. They may be inspected by any 
law-enforcement officer during normal business hours. 

O. Safety Division troopers may replace inspection stickers 
that have separated from the windshield of motor vehicles and 
become lost or damaged without conducting an inspection of 
the safety components of the vehicle. Such replacement of 
inspection stickers shall be made only in accordance with the 
following provisions: 

1. A vehicle owner or operator complaining of the loss or 
damage to the inspection sticker on the windshield of their 
vehicle due to separation of the sticker from the windshield 
shall be directed to the nearest Safety Division office or 
Safety Division trooper. 

2. Safety Division troopers, upon receipt of a complaint 
from a vehicle owner or operator that their inspection 
sticker has been stolen, lost or become damaged due to 
separation from the windshield, will make arrangements to 
meet the person to effect the replacement of the sticker. A 
vehicle owner or operator alleging theft of the inspection 
sticker will furnish proof to the Safety Division trooper 
that such theft has been reported to proper law-
enforcement authority. 

3. The vehicle owner or operator must produce the original 
pink inspection receipt indicating a valid approval 
inspection sticker was issued to the vehicle within the past 
11 months. (The vehicle must be reinspected if the 
expiration of the original inspection sticker is in the month 
the request is being made.) 

4. The Safety Division trooper will verify by the inspection 
receipt that the vehicle was issued an approval inspection 
sticker within the past 11 months and issue a replacement 
inspection sticker to the vehicle. 

5. The Safety Division trooper will complete the inspection 
sticker receipt for the approval sticker from information 
contained on the original receipt. The date the replacement 
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sticker is issued will be used in the date space. In the space 
for Inspection Related Charges, the trooper will insert the 
word "REPLACEMENT" and the sticker number from the 
original pink inspection receipt. 

6. The Safety Division trooper will sign the receipt 
vertically in the O.K. column in the "Equipment Inspected" 
blocks. These blocks will not otherwise be completed. 

7. The Safety Division trooper shall place month and year 
inserts on the inspection sticker to reflect the expiration as 
shown on the original approval inspection sticker and place 
the inspection sticker on the windshield in accordance with 
the requirements of subsection C of this section. 

8. The Safety Division trooper will staple the original pink 
inspection receipt to the new white receipt. At the end of 
each week, the Safety Division trooper will forward all 
inspection receipts for replacement stickers issued by him 
to the Safety Division. The yellow receipts will be 
submitted to the area office and maintained on file for 24 
months. 

P. New vehicle safety inspections. 

1. Section 46.2-1157 of the Code of Virginia allows an 
employee who customarily performs the inspection 
requirement of a manufacturer or distributor of new motor 
vehicles to place an inspection sticker furnished by the 
Department of State Police on the vehicle once it has met 
the requirements of that manufacturer or distributor. This 
employee does not have to be a certified state inspector. 

2. With the addition of other personnel using State Police 
inspection supplies, a system should be developed at each 
inspection station to afford accountability of all supplies. 
The system should include proper safeguards to prevent the 
loss of supplies through carelessness, neglect, theft or 
unauthorized use. 

3. Inspection stations should not mix annual state 
inspections with predelivery inspections (PDI) in the same 
book. 

4. All employees should be reminded that anyone who 
performs inspections, whether it be for the annual 
inspection or the PDI inspection, are subject to criminal 
prosecution if inspection supplies are used illegally or used 
in some other unauthorized way. 

5. Station management and licensed inspectors are subject 
to administrative sanctions for any misuse of inspection 
supplies. 

6. The inspection receipts should be completed as usual 
with the following exceptions. On the "inspector" line, the 
initials "PDI" (for predelivery inspection) before the 
inspector's name should be entered. On the "inspector's 
license number" line, the letters "N/A" should be entered. 
In the equipment inspected section, the words "New 

Vehicle" should be entered in the "adjust" column. The 
PDI inspector should sign his name in the "O.K." column. 

19VAC30-70-60. Rejection stickers. 

A. Only one rejection sticker shall be issued to any one 
vehicle. A rejection sticker shall not be issued to any vehicle 
already bearing such a sticker or to one which bears evidence 
of previously being issued a rejection sticker. When a vehicle 
is bearing a valid or expired rejection sticker, it is not to be 
removed unless the vehicle meets all of the inspection 
requirements. 

B. A vehicle rejected by one station may be reinspected by 
another station if the owner desires to have this done; 
however, that station shall perform a complete inspection of 
the vehicle. 

C. Reinspection of a rejected vehicle by the same station 
during the 15-day validity of the rejection sticker need 
include only a check of the items previously found defective, 
unless there is an obvious defect that would warrant further 
rejection of the vehicle. Such reinspection will not constitute 
a complete inspection and a $1.00 fee may be charged. 
Furthermore, if a vehicle returns for reinspection within the 
15-day period, the rejecting station will reinspect the vehicle 
without delay or at conclusion of the current inspection being 
performed. 

1. If additional defects are detected during reinspection of a 
vehicle previously rejected, the vehicle will not be issued 
an approval sticker. 

2. No vehicle bearing a valid rejection sticker shall be 
entitled to receive more than two reinspections by the 
rejecting station during the validity period of the rejection 
sticker. 

3. The validity period of the rejection sticker shall be 15 
days in addition to the day of inspection. 

4. Any vehicle that is presented for inspection at another 
inspection station after the 15-day validity period, if the 
vehicle was rejected for brakes, and the inspector cannot 
determine which wheels were removed, then all four 
wheels will be removed to ensure that all repairs or defects 
have been corrected. 

D. If repairs are to be made to a rejected vehicle that would 
necessitate removing the vehicle from the inspection lane, no 
rejection sticker need be issued; however, the vehicle must be 
returned to an approved lane for a recheck of the rejected 
items and the installation of the approval sticker. 

E. If the vehicle does not meet all the requirements and the 
owner does not authorize immediate repairs, and if a rejection 
sticker has not already been issued, a rejection sticker will be 
legibly filled out with a ball point pen. The complete vehicle 
identification number, tag number or car dealer name if a 
dealer tag is attached, mileage, year, make, and model shall 
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be included. Circle which wheels were pulled to check for 
brakes and place an individual mark in each block of the 
rejection sticker that was pertinent to it being issued. In 
addition, information may be written on any blank area as to 
the exact nature of the rejection (i.e., front brakes vs. rear 
brakes). The date of issue shall be punched, and the sticker 
affixed to the same location as indicated in 19VAC30-70-50 
C, E and G. (When affixed to a trailer, the face of the 
rejection sticker shall be glued to the trailer in order to allow 
the rejection data on the back side to be read.) 

F. The operator of the rejected vehicle shall be informed of 
the following: 

1. The rejection sticker is valid for 15 days in addition to 
the date of inspection. 

2. The rejection sticker places no travel restriction on 
operation of the vehicle and is issued in lieu of an approval 
sticker. 

3. The vehicle operator is legally responsible for any defect 
if operated on the highway and may be subject to a traffic 
summons for any existing equipment violation. 

G. Duplicate copies (pink) of rejection stickers shall be 
forwarded, in numerical order, to the Safety Division by the 
fifth of the month following the month of inspection. The 
yellow copy shall be retained, in numerical order, by the 
station for at least 24 months. 

19VAC30-70-80. Service brakes. 

A. The inspector, as a minimum, must drive all vehicles into 
the inspection lane and test both service and parking brakes. 

B. A minimum of two wheels or two wheels and drums, one 
front and one rear, must be removed from each passenger and 
multi-purpose multipurpose vehicle with a gross vehicle 
weight rating of 10,000 pounds or less at the time of 
inspection, except those listed in subdivisions 1, 2 and 3 of 
this subsection. Two front wheels or two front wheels and 
drums must be removed from vehicles listed in subdivision 3 
of this subsection. 

1. Motorcycles. 

2. A new model vehicle is defined as a vehicle that has not 
been titled or leased and is less than one year old, 
measured from October 1 as of each year; if such motor 
vehicle does not have a model year, such measurement 
shall be made from the date of manufacture. 

3. Trucks with floating axles that require seal replacement 
upon removal of rear wheels. The inspection receipt 
(approval and rejection) shall be marked to reflect which 
wheels were pulled. 

Warning: Lug nuts must be torqued to the manufacturer's 
specifications to prevent damage to disc rotors. The use of 

an impact wrench may exceed the manufacturer's 
specifications and damage disc rotors. 

C. If any braking problem is detected, the inspector may test 
drive or require a test drive of the vehicle. 

D. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Vehicle is not equipped with brakes or any brake has 
been disconnected, rendered inoperative, or improperly 
installed. Trailers having an actual gross weight of less 
than 3,000 pounds are not required to be equipped with 
brakes; however, if brakes are installed, these vehicles 
must be inspected. 

Brake System Failure Indicator Lamp 

2. Passenger vehicles manufactured after January 1, 1968, 
are not equipped with a red brake failure warning lamp or 
warning lamp does not light with parking brake applied 
when ignition key is turned to the start position, except for 
anti-lock system. The red brake failure warning lamp 
should light when the ignition key is turned to the start 
position; on some imports it may be checked when the 
emergency brake is applied or other factory installed test 
button. (DO NOT reject if only the amber ABS/anti-lock 
brake lamp is on.) With the engine running and parking 
brake released, the red brake failure warning lamp should 
go off, except for vehicles equipped with anti-lock system. 
If so, apply service brake for 10 seconds and if the red 
brake failure warning lamp lights again the system is 
defective. Also, if the warning lamp light does not come on 
when there is a leak or the warning lamp light is not 
functioning properly, the system is defective and shall be 
rejected. NOTE: This paragraph does not apply to vehicles 
registered as street rods nor does it imply that the red brake 
failure warning lamp needs to light when the emergency 
brake is set. There are many vehicles that are not factory 
equipped with an emergency brake indicator light. 

Brake Linings and Disc Pads  

3. Riveted linings or disc pads are worn to less than 2/32 of 
an inch over the rivet head(s). 

4. Bonded or molded linings or disc pads are worn to less 
than 2/32 of an inch in thickness or are worn beyond 
manufacturer's specifications. 

5. Wire in wire-backed lining is visible in friction surface. 

6. Snap-on brake linings are loose. 

7. Any lining is broken or cracked so that lining or parts of 
lining are not firmly attached to the shoe or has cracks on 
the friction surface extending to the open edge. 

8. Grease or other contamination cannot be satisfactorily 
removed from the lining, drums, or rotors. 

9. Rivets in riveted linings are loose or missing. 
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10. Any lining or pad is misaligned or does not make full 
contact with the drum or rotor. 

Brake Drums and Discs 

11. Brake drums or brake discs (rotors) are worn or scored 
to the extent that their remachining would result in a failure 
to meet manufacturer's specifications. 

NOTE: A number of vehicles on the market are equipped 
with a lock nut to hold the rear brake drum in place. 
Manufacturers recommend replacement of these lock nuts 
after each removal to prevent failure of the component. If 
the customer is advised up front, then the wholesale cost of 
the replacement nut may be charged to the customer. 

NOTE: The proper method to remove the rear brake 
assembly on the 2000 Ford Focus is to remove the four 
bolts from the opposite side of the assembly. Removal 
otherwise may damage the outside grease cap and incur a 
cost to replace. 

12. Brake drums or discs have any external crack or cracks 
more than one half the width of the friction surface of the 
drum or disc. NOTE: Do not confuse short hairline heat 
cracks with flexural cracks. 

Mechanical Linkage 

13. Cables are frayed or frozen. 

14. Mechanical parts missing, broken, badly worn, or 
misaligned. 

E. Hydraulic. 

NOTE: Some motor vehicles, beginning with 1976 models, 
have a hydraulic power system that serves both the power 
assisted brakes and power assisted steering system. Some 
vehicles, beginning with 1985 models, have an integrated 
hydraulic actuation and anti-lock brake unit using only brake 
fluid. 

1. Brake hydraulic system. Inspector should check the 
brake hydraulic system in the following manner: test 
vehicle in a standing position; apply moderate pressure to 
the brake pedal for 10 seconds. Brake pedal height must be 
maintained. On vehicles equipped with power assisted 
systems, the engine should be running. 

2. Hydraulic system operation. Stop engine, then depress 
brake pedal several times to eliminate all pressure. Depress 
pedal with a light foot-force (30 pounds). While 
maintaining this force on the pedal, start engine and 
observe if pedal moves slightly when engine starts. 

Reject vehicle if pedal does not move slightly as engine 
is started while force is on brake pedal. 

 
3. Condition of hydraulic booster power brake system. 
Inspect system for fluid level and leaks. 

Reject vehicle if there is insufficient fluid in the 
reservoir; if there are broken, kinked or restricted fluid 
lines or hoses; if there is any leakage of fluid at the 
pump, steering gear or brake booster, or any of the lines 
or hoses in the system; or if belts are frayed, cracked or 
excessively worn. 

4. Integrated hydraulic booster/anti-lock system operation. 
With the ignition key in the off position, depress brake 
pedal a minimum of 25 times to deplete all residual stored 
pressure in the accumulator. Depress pedal with a light 
foot-force (25 pounds). Place ignition key in the on 
position and allow 60 seconds for the brake warning light 
to go out and the electric pump to shut off. 

Reject vehicle if the brake pedal does not move down 
slightly as the pump builds pressure or if the brake and 
anti-lock warning lights remain on longer than 60 
seconds. 

NOTE: The inspection of the ABS light is only for an 
integrated system that is the older system. The new 
systems system that have has the nonintegrated systems 
do does not need to be checked. If the ABS system 
malfunctions on the new system, the brake systems are 
still functional. 

 
5. Condition of integrated hydraulic booster/anti-lock 
system with electronic pump. With the system fully 
charged, inspect system for fluid level and leaks. 
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Reject vehicle if there is insufficient fluid in the 
reservoir; if there are broken, kinked or restricted fluid 
lines or hoses; or if there is any leakage of fluid at the 
pump or brake booster, or any of the lines or hoses in the 
system. 

6. Vacuum system operation. Stop engine then depress 
brake pedal several times to eliminate all vacuum in the 
system. Depress pedal with a light foot-force (25 pounds). 
While maintaining this force on the pedal, start engine and 
observe if pedal moves down slightly when engine starts. 

Reject vehicle if pedal does not move down slightly as 
engine is started while force is on the brake pedal. In full 
vacuum-equipped vehicles, there is insufficient vacuum 
reserve for one full service brake application after engine 
is stopped. 

 
7. Condition of vacuum booster power brake system. 
Reject vehicle if there are collapsed, cracked, broken, 
badly chafed or improperly supported hoses and tubes, 
loose or broken hose clamps. 

F. Inspect for and reject if: 

General Specifications - Hydraulic Brakes 

1. There is any leakage in the master cylinder, wheel 
cylinders, or brake calipers. When checking for leakage in 
rear wheel cylinders, do not disturb the dust boot. 

NOTE: Do not reject for the common dust ball formed on 
wheel cylinders or for wetness that may have spread to the 
backing plate unless it has contaminated the lining or 
drums as specified in subdivision D 8 of this section. The 
consumer Consumers should be advised of this wear so 
that they will be aware that repair may be needed before 
the their next inspection. This may not warrant an 
immediate repair considering the dual valve master 
cylinder. 

2. Fluid level in master cylinder is below the proper level 
for the particular vehicle. 

3. There is any evidence of a caliper sticking or binding. 

Electric Brake System 

4. Trailers show an amperage value more than 20% above 
or 30% below the brake manufacturer's maximum current 
rating for each brake. 

5. Ammeter shows no reading or indicator is not steady on 
application and release of brake controller. 

6. Any terminal connections are loose or dirty; wires are 
broken, frayed, or unsupported; any single conductor 
nonstranded wire or wires below the size recommended by 
the brake manufacturers are installed. 

7. Electrical trailer brakes do not apply automatically when 
the breakaway safety switch is operated. 

General Specifications 

8. There is any leakage in any hydraulic, air, or vacuum 
lines; hoses have any cracks, crimps, restrictions, or are 
abraded exposing fabric; tubing or connections leak, are 
crimped, restricted, cracked or broken; any valves leak or 
are inoperative. 

Reject the vehicle if the brake hoses or lines tubing are 
stretched or extended and do not allow for suspension 
movement. 

Brake tubing and hose must: 

a. Be long and flexible enough to accommodate without 
damage all normal motions of the parts to which it is 
attached; 

b. Be secured against chaffing, kinking, or other 
mechanical damage; and 

c. Be installed in a manner that prevents it from 
contacting the vehicle’s exhaust system or any other 
source of high temperatures. 

9. Brakes are not equalized so as to stop the vehicle on a 
straight line. 

10. There is less than 1/5 reserve in actuator travel of the 
service brake when fully applied on all hydraulic, 
mechanical, or power-assisted hydraulic braking systems. 

11. When tested on dry, hard, approximately level road 
free from loose material, at a speed of 20 miles per hour 
without leaving a 12-foot wide lane, results in excess of the 
following distances are obtained: (When in doubt about a 
vehicle's stopping ability, the inspector shall conduct a 
road test.) 

a. Any motor vehicle (except motorcycles, trucks, and 
tractor-trucks with semitrailers attached) four wheel 
brakes - 25 feet. 

b. Any motor vehicle (except motorcycles, trucks, and 
tractor-trucks with semitrailers attached) two wheel 
brakes - 45 feet. 
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c. All combinations of vehicles - 40 feet. 

19VAC30-70-90. Brakes: emergency, parking, or holding. 

A. Some vehicles are equipped with an actual emergency 
brake, while others have only a parking or holding brake. 
Some types may be actuated by a foot or hand lever, while 
others may incorporate a switch or valve to actuate the brake. 
Air and vacuum brake systems may employ spring activating 
parking brakes. 

B. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Vehicle or combination of vehicles is not equipped with 
a parking, holding, or emergency brake in good working 
order of the type installed as original standard factory 
equipment for the vehicle on which it is installed. 

2. The parking brake actuating mechanism does not fully 
release when the control is operated to the off position or if 
the parking brake lamp light remains on. 

NOTE: The light does not apply to vehicles that are not 
equipped with a parking (emergency) brake indicator light. 

3. Any mechanical parts are missing, broken, badly worn, 
or are inoperative. 

4. Cables are stretched, worn, or frayed or not operating 
freely. 

5. Parking brake will not hold the vehicle stationary with 
the engine running at slightly accelerated speed with shift 
lever in drive position for automatic transmission or shift 
lever in low gear with clutch engaged for standard shift 
transmission. 

6. Holding brake will not disengage when engine is started 
and vehicle is placed in drive. Holding brake will not hold 
vehicle stationary with foot on holding brake and vehicle 
in drive. 

7. On vehicles equipped with automatic transmissions, the 
vehicle will start in any gear other than (P) park and (N) 
neutral. If the gearshift indicator does not identify the park 
(P) and neutral (N) positions, then the vehicle shall be 
rejected. 

8. On vehicles equipped with manual transmissions, the 
vehicle will start in any gear if the clutch is not depressed 
or disengaged. 

NOTE: This will not apply to older vehicles, which were 
not originally equipped with a neutral-safety switch, clutch 
disengagement system or clutch pedal position sensor by 
the manufacturer. 

9. The accelerator does not disengage after being 
depressed, allowing the engine to return to a normal idle 
speed. 

10. The storage battery is not attached to a fixed part of the 
motor vehicle or protected by a removable cover or 
enclosure if the battery is installed in a location other than 
the engine compartment. This includes all brackets, 
hardware, bolts, and bushings used for securely mounting 
the storage battery to the vehicle. 

a. Removable covers or enclosures shall be substantial 
and shall be securely latched or fastened. 

b. The storage battery compartment shall have openings 
to provide ample battery ventilation and drainage. 

c. Whenever the cable to the starting motor passes 
through a metal compartment, the cable shall be 
protected against grounding by an acid and waterproof 
insulating bushing. 

d. Whenever a battery and a fuel tank are both placed 
under the driver's seat, they shall be partitioned from 
each other, and each compartment shall be provided with 
an independent cover, ventilation, and drainage. 

19VAC30-70-110. Steering and suspension. 

A. The steering and suspension systems installed and 
utilized on motor vehicles have evolved to where many 
different suspension systems are being designed, developed, 
and employed on vehicles. To properly inspect the steering 
and suspension on vehicles, it may be necessary for the 
inspection to be made in accordance with manufacturer's 
recommended procedures in addition to meeting any 
requirements outlined in this regulation. 

B. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any modification has been made that affects normal 
functioning of the shock absorbers. The inspector should 
operate the vehicle when in doubt. (If there is no evidence 
of the convolutions (coils) of the spring hitting one 
another, one pair (2) of nonmetallic coil spring stabilizers 
may be present in each of a vehicle's front coil springs, 
provided the installation of the stabilizers does not cause 
the springs to be higher than their original height.) 

Shock absorbers in fully extended or compressed position 
positions when the vehicle is stationary will not function 
normally. 

2. The front end suspension has been modified by the use 
of lift blocks (a . (A lift block is defined as any solid piece 
of wood, metal, or other material placed between and 
separating the vehicle's front axle and the springs). 
springs.) This does not prohibit the use of shims that may 
be necessary to correct front end alignment. 

3. Any modification has been made to the front end 
suspension which reduces turning radius, bypasses safety 
components of original steering mechanism or if there is 
any lateral movement between the axle and frame. 
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4. Any modification has been made to the suspension to 
cause the vehicle body or chassis to come in contact with 
the ground or expose the fuel tank to damage from 
collision. 

Reject the vehicle if it has been modified by any means so 
as to raise its body more than three inches above the 
manufacturer's attachment points or the frame rail (exclude 
original manufacturer's spacers, washers or bushings when 
measuring).  

5. Any modification has been made to cause the wheels to 
come in contact with the body or frame under normal 
operating conditions. 

6. A motor vehicle has a repair kit or preventive 
maintenance kit installed on a tie rod end, idler arm, ball 
joint, or any other part of the vehicle's steering gear. 

NOTE: The repair kit or preventive maintenance kit 
usually consists of a small coil spring and a plastic cap that 
is placed over the bolt stud of the component and held in 
place by a retaining nut. There is nothing in this paragraph 
that prohibits the replacement of parts or components of a 
motor vehicle's steering gear in order to correct 
deficiencies in the steering gear. 

7. When checked visually, the wheels appear to be out of 
line or an axle is bent. 

8. Any vehicle that shimmies or wanders up to the legal 
speed limit at normal operating speeds. 

9. Rack and pinion steering bellows (boot) is defective or 
missing. Do not inspect CV boots, CV joints, or universal 
joints on rear wheel drive vehicles. 

10. Power steering is defective and affects adequate 
steering of the vehicle or power steering fluid in reservoir 
is below operating level, or if there is an obvious leak of 
power steering fluid. Do not reject for dampness. 

NOTE: If the vehicle is equipped with power steering, the 
engine must be operating during testing. 

11. Power steering belts do not have sufficient tension or 
are frayed or missing. The serpentine v-ribbed belt is more 
common versus the old v-drive belt and should only be 
rejected if a chunk of the ribbing is missing or a deep cut 
or crack exposes the inner fabric of the belt. (Do not reject 
for the many little surface cracks that appear in the ribs or 
back.) 

12. Any modification has been made to any part of the 
steering or suspension system that affects proper steering 
or suspension or any part of the original suspension system 
has been disconnected. 

NOTE: "All thread rod material" shall not be used as U-
bolts in the suspension system. 

Vehicles registered as street rods may substitute any part of 
the original suspension system provided the components 
are installed in accordance with the component 
manufacturers' specifications. 

13. Any modification or replacement has been made to the 
steering wheel that affects proper steering. The steering 
wheel shall be rejected if the outside diameter is less than 
13 inches unless original factory equipment. 

14. Steering column has any absence or looseness of bolts 
or positioning parts, resulting in motion of the steering 
column from its normal position. 

15. A spring is broken, sagging or misaligned, shackles are 
worn or loose, or if air springs are collapsed or the air 
suspension system leaks or is deflated. 

CAUTION: Underneath inspection of a vehicle equipped 
with air suspension with excessive leak down could result 
in serious personal injury. 

16. Vehicles designed for shock absorbers or cross 
stabilizer links if any are disconnected or broken, bent, 
loose or do not function properly. 

17. Any front or rear axle or suspension positioning parts 
are cracked, broken, loose, worn, bent or missing, resulting 
in shifting of an axle from its the normal position. Any 
control arm or suspension positioning part using bushings 
for control, support and normal functioning is missing, 
deteriorated or , damaged or missing. 

NOTE: All rear suspension parts including but not limited 
to control arms (upper and lower ball joints, radius or 
torque arms, stabilizer bars, and trailing arms) shall not 
have any damage or noticeable play when checked with 
hand pressure.  

18. A MacPherson strut installed on a motor vehicle is 
broken, bent, loose or does not function properly. 

NOTE: Do not reject a shock absorber or MacPherson strut 
unless there is evidence of leakage that causes the device 
not to function properly. 

19. King pin play. If vehicle is equipped with king pins, 
first eliminate all wheel bearing movement by applying 
service brake. With front end lifted as illustrated for 
inspecting wheel bearings (Figure C), grasp the tire at the 
top and bottom and attempt to move in and out to detect 
looseness. Measure the movement at the top or bottom of 
the tire at the outer circumference.  

19. Reject vehicle if If vehicles measured movement at top 
or bottom of tire is greater than: 
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  Wheel Size: 16 inches or less than 17 inches - 1/4 inch 

    17 to 18 inches - 3/8 inch 

    over 18 inches - 1/2 inch 

  

 
  Proper lifting for wheel bearing, steering linkage looseness, and kingpin king pin play action 

  FIGURE A FIGURE B  FIGURE C 

            

NOTE: King pin play. If vehicle is equipped with king 
pins, first eliminate all wheel bearing movement by 
applying service brake. With front end lifted as illustrated 
for inspecting wheel bearings (Figure C), grasp the tire at 
the top and bottom and attempt to move in and out to 
detect looseness. Measure the movement at the top or 
bottom of the tire at the outer circumference. 

20. C. Wheel bearing/steering linkage. 

Reject vehicle if any wheel bearing is excessively worn or 
not properly adjusted; any cotter key or other locking 
device is missing or inoperative. 

a. NOTE: Lifting techniques vary for measuring wheel 
bearing movement. On vehicles with coil spring or torsion 
bar on lower support arm-hoist at frame (Figure A). On 
vehicles with coil spring on upper support arm-hoist at 
lower support arm (Figure B). On front wheel drive 
vehicles, the inspector must consult manufacturer's lifting 
information. 

b. NOTE: Front wheel bearings on rear wheel drive 
vehicles or rear wheel bearings on front wheel drive 
vehicles. With vehicle lifted properly, grasp tire at top and 
bottom, rock in and out and record movement. Wheel 
bearing looseness is detected by the relative movement 
between the brake drum or disc and the braking plate or 
splash shield. CAUTION: If air suspension vehicles are 
hoisted via body support area, air spring damage may 
occur if the air suspension switch is not turned off. Reject 
vehicle if relative movement between drum and backing 
plate (disc and splash shield) is more than 1/8 inch 
measured at the outer circumference of the tire. 

c. Reject vehicle if any wheel bearing is excessively 
worn or not properly adjusted; any cotter key or other 
locking device is missing or inoperative. 

21. D. Steering linkage play. First eliminate all wheel 
bearing movement by applying service brake. With vehicle 
lifted as shown in diagram and wheels in straight ahead 
position, grasp front and rear of tire and attempt to move 
assembly right and left without moving the steering gear. 

1. Reject vehicle if measured movement at front or rear of 
tire is greater than: 

Wheel Size: 16 inches or less - 1/4 inch (6.5mm) 

 17 to 18 inches - 3/8 inch (9.5mm) 

 over 18 inches - 1/2 inch (13mm) 

 

 



Regulations  

Volume 24, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 24, 2007 

1004 

NOTE: First eliminate all wheel-bearing movement by 
applying service brake. With vehicle lifted as shown in 
diagram and wheels in straight-ahead position, grasp front 
and rear of tire and attempt to move assembly right and left 
without moving the steering gear. 

a. 2. Reject vehicle if there is noticeable play at any point 
in the steering mechanism except General Motors products. 
On General Motors products, reject vehicle if play exceeds 
factory specifications. 

b. 3. Reject vehicle if the steering mechanism is unusually 
tight or binding when turning the steering wheel 
completely to the left or right or the steering mechanism 
will not turn in both directions stop to stop. 

c. 4. Reject vehicle if the steering stops have been removed 
or adjusted in so that steering radius is reduced. 

22. E. Steering lash/travel. 

Reject vehicle if inspection reveals excessive wear and/or 
looseness in any ball stud, end assembly, pivot point, 
mechanical linkage and/or if steering gear box has any 
loose or missing bolts, or excessive wear, and/or looseness 
is found at any other location in the steering that adversely 
affects the steering of the vehicle. 

NOTE: For vehicles equipped with power steering, the 
engine must be running and the fluid level, belt tension and 
condition must be adequate before testing.  

a. With road wheels in straight ahead position, turn 
steering wheel until motion can be detected at the front 
road wheels. Align a reference mark on the steering 
wheel with a mark on a ruler and slowly turn steering 
wheel in the opposite direction until motion can again be 
detected at the front road wheel (see diagram). Measure 
lash at steering wheel. Special lash-checking instruments 
may be used to measure free play in inches or degrees. 
Such instruments should always be mounted and used 
according to the manufacturer's instructions. Reject 
vehicle if steering wheel movement exceeds:  

Power - 2 inches 

Manual - 3 inches 

Rack & Pinion - (Power or Manual) - 0.4 inch - see note 

b. Reject vehicle if inspection reveals excessive wear 
and/or looseness in any ball stud, end assembly, pivot 
point, mechanical linkage and/or if steering gear box has 
any loose or missing bolts, or excessive wear, and/or 
looseness is found at any other location in the steering 
that adversely affects the steering of the vehicle.  

NOTE: No play is permissible for Volkswagen and Audi 
vehicles - consult respective manufacturer's 
specifications. 

 

 

23. F. Steering lash/travel; trucks.  

a. NOTE: Before inspection the vehicle must be placed on 
a smooth, dry, level surface. For vehicles equipped with 
power steering, the engine must be running and the fluid 
level, belt tension and condition must be adequate before 
testing. b. With road wheels in straight ahead position, turn 
steering wheel until motion can be detected at the front 
road wheels. Align a reference mark on steering wheel 
with a mark on a ruler and slowly turn steering wheel in 
the opposite direction until motion can be detected at the 
front road wheel. Measure lash at steering wheel. Special 
lash-checking instruments are also available, measuring 
free play in inches or degrees. Such instruments should 
always be mounted and used according to the 
manufacturer's instructions. With vehicle raised, visually 
inspect steering linkage, ball studs, tie rod end socket 
assemblies and all pivot points. 

NOTE: On vehicles with power steering, engine must be 
running. 

c. Reject vehicle if steering wheel movement exceeds: 

Steering Wheel Size and Lash 
  Manual Steering Power Steering 

  16 inches 
or less 

4-1/2 
inches 
(11.5 cm) 

16 
inches or 
less 

2 inches 
(5.1 cm) 

  18 inches 4-3/4 
inches 
(12.0 cm) 

18 
inches 

2-1/4 
inches 
(5.4 cm) 

  20 inches 5-1/4 
inches 
(13.5 cm) 

20 
inches 

2-1/2 
inches 
(6.4 cm) 

  22 inches 5-3/4 
inches 
(14.5 cm) 

22 
inches 

2-3/4 
inches 
(7.0 cm) 
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Steering wheel 
diameter 

Manual 
steering 
system 

Power 
steering 
system 

16 inches or 
less 

2 inches (51 
mm) 

4-1/4 inches 
(108 mm) 

18 inches 2-1/4 inches 
(57 mm) 

4-3/4 inches 
(121 mm) 

19 inches 2-3/8 inches 
(60 mm) 

5 inches (127 
mm) 

20 inches 2-1/2 inches 
(64 mm) 

5-1/4 inches 
(133 mm) 

21 inches 2-5/8 inches 
(67 mm)  

5-1/2 inches 
(140 mm) 

 

22 inches 2-3/4 inches 
(70 mm) 

5-3/4 inches 
(146 mm) 

 

d. Reject vehicle if inspection reveals excessive wear 
and/or looseness in any ball stud, end assembly, pivot 
point, mechanical linkage and/or if steering gear box has 
any loose or missing bolts, or excessive wear, and/or 
looseness is found at any other location in the steering 
that adversely affects the steering of the vehicle. 

24. G. Ball joint wear (front and rear). There is a trend 
among U.S. automobile manufacturers toward the use of 
"wear-indicating" ball joints. Many vehicles on the road, 
however, do not have wear-indicating ball joints. The 
inspection of both types will be discussed. With the 
broadening use of rear suspension ball joints, their inspection 
shall be made in accordance with manufacturer's 
recommended procedures. Figures 1, 2, 3 and 4 illustrate the 
proper hoisting for checking most ball joints. On late model 
vehicles, it may be necessary to check for both horizontal and 
vertical movement. Figures 1, 2, 3 and 4 illustrate the proper 
hoisting for checking ball joints. 

 

 
 

 

a. NOTE: To check ball joint wear on vehicles when the 
spring is supported on the upper control arm or when the 
spring is a part of a MacPherson strut or wear in any other 
type suspension not using ball joints when the front wheels 
are suspended on a solid axle, the vehicle must be hoisted 
as shown in Figure 1 or 2. 

b. NOTE: Upper control arm must be stabilized in normal 
load carrying position by means of an upper control or  
 

other support tool to insure ball joint is in unloaded 
position. 

c. NOTE: To check ball joint wear on vehicles not listed in 
above referred to section and diagram or tables when the 
spring is supported on the lower control arm; and to check 
the kingpin king pin wear in any other type suspension not 
previously described when the wheels are independently 
suspended, the vehicle must be hoisted as shown in Figure 
3 or 4. 
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25. H. Ball joints without wear indicators (front and rear). 

a. Reject vehicle if there is noticeable play in the lower ball 
joint when hoisted as in Figures 1 or 2, or in the upper ball 
joint when hoisted as in Figures 3 or 4. 1. If play is 
detected in any ball joint without "wear-indicating" ball 
joints, it will be necessary for the inspection to be made in 
accordance with the manufacturer's recommended 
procedures and specifications prior to rejecting the vehicle. 

b. Reject vehicle if there is lateral movement in either front 
wheel in excess of 1/4 inch measured at the outside of the 
tire up to and including a 16-inch wheel; or in excess of 3/8 
inch when the wheel is over 16 inches. This check must be 
made by grasping the tire at the extreme top and bottom 
and moving the wheel laterally across the surface. If play is 
noted, accurate measurement must be made by using the 
block test or with an accurate measuring device. No 
rejection should be made unless the specified tolerances 
are exceeded. 2. If there are no manufacturer's 

recommended procedures and specifications, the lower ball 
joints will be checked when hoisted as in Figures 1 or 2 of 
subsection G of this section, or in the upper ball joints 
when hoisted as in Figures 3 or 4 of subsection G of this 
section. There should be no noticeable play detected in the 
ball joints when checked in this manner. 

3. Reject vehicle if play exceeds the manufacturer's 
specifications. It is recommended that Inspectors use a dial 
indicator or ball joint checking gauge when checking for 
play of a ball joint, when procedures and specifications are 
provided by the manufacturer. 

26. I. Ball joints with wear indicators. Support vehicle with 
ball joints loaded (in normal driving attitude). Wipe grease 
fitting and checking surface free of dirt and grease. Determine 
if checking surface extends beyond the surface of the ball 
joint cover. 

Reject vehicle if checking surface is flush with or inside 
the cover surface. 

 

 

27. J. American Motors Pacer (only). Position vehicle on 
level surface. Remove lubrication plug from lower ball joint. 
Check lower ball joint clearance by inserting stiff wire or thin 
rod into lubrication plug hole until it contacts ball stud. 
Accurately mark rod with knife or scriber where it aligned 
with outer edge of plug hole. Distance from ball stud to outer 
edge of plug hole is ball joint clearance. Measure distance 
from mark to end of rod. (Anything less than 7/16 inch is 
acceptable.) 

 

 

 

Reject vehicle if distance measured is 7/16 inch or more. 
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28. K. Chrysler frontally driven front-wheel drive vehicles 
(lower only). With the weight of the vehicle resting on the 
road wheels, grasp the grease fitting as shown below and 
attempt to move fitting. No mechanical assistance or added 
force is necessary. 

Reject vehicle if grease fitting shows any movement. 
 

 

29. Ball joints; light trucks. There is a trend among U.S. 
automobile manufacturers toward the use of "wear-
indicating" ball joints on light trucks. Many vehicles on the 
road, however, do not have wear indicating ball joints. The 
inspection of both types will be discussed. 

30. Ball joint wear; light trucks. Figures 1, 2, 3 and 4 
illustrate the proper hoisting for checking ball joints. 

 

 
  

  

 

a. NOTE: To check ball joint wear on vehicles when the 
spring is supported on the upper control arm or when the 
spring is a part of a MacPherson strut or wear in any 
other type suspension not using ball joints when the front 
wheels are suspended on a solid axle, the vehicle must be 
hoisted as shown in Figure 1 or 2. 

b. NOTE: Upper control arm must be stabilized in 
normal load carrying position by means of an upper 
control or other support tool to insure ball joint is in 
unloaded position.  

c. NOTE: To check ball joint wear on vehicles not listed 
in previously referred to sections, and diagrams or tables 
when the spring is supported on the lower control arm; 
and to check the king pin wear in any other type 
suspension not previously described when the wheels are 
independently suspended, the vehicle must be hoisted as 
shown in Figure 3 or 4. 
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31. Vehicles without wear indicator ball joint; light trucks. 

a. Reject vehicle if there is noticeable play in the lower 
ball joint when hoisted as in Figures 1 or 2, or in the 
upper ball joint when hoisted as in Figures 3 or 4 above. 

b. Reject vehicle if there is lateral movement in either 
front wheel in excess of 1/4 inch measured at the outside 
of the tire up to and including a 16 inch wheel; or in 
excess of 3/8 inch when the wheel is over 16 inches. This 
check must be made by grasping the tire at the extreme 
top and bottom and moving the wheel laterally across the 
surface. If play is noted, accurate measurement must be 

made by using the block test or with an accurate 
measuring device. No rejection should be made unless 
the specified tolerances are exceeded. 

32. Ball joints with wear indicators; light trucks. Support 
vehicle with ball joints loaded (in normal driving attitude). 
Wipe grease fitting and checking surface free of dirt and 
grease. Determine if checking surface extends beyond the 
surface of the ball joint cover. 

Reject vehicle if checking surface is flush with or inside 
the cover surface. 

 
  

 

 

19VAC30-70-120. Frame, engine mounts, coupling devices 
and emergency chains. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Frame or unitized body of any motor vehicle, trailer or 
semitrailer is broken or , cracked, bent or damaged at any 
location, including any welded joint and/or is rusted or 
corroded to the point the frame is weakened as to constitute 
a hazard during the operation of the vehicle. 

2. Engine or transmission mounts are and hardware is 
broken or missing. This includes all hardware bolts and 
bushings used for mounting to the vehicle's frame, engine, 
or transmission. The more common fluid-filled mounts or 
those with rubber bushings should be rejected if they allow 
the power train to come in contact with the firewall or 
other body parts. 

3. Trailer hitch or pintle hook is not securely attached. 
Reject if the pintle eye or trailer drawbar has any cracks or 
if any welding repairs have been made to the pintle eye. 

4. Chains, cables, etc., used to attach a towed vehicle are 
not securely attached or are broken, worn or abraded. 

5. Fifth wheel does not lock in position or have a locking 
mechanism in proper working order. 

6. Fifth wheel assembly system has any leak of fluid or air. 

7. Fifth wheel has any broken, missing, or damaged parts; 
or is not securely attached to the frame. 

8. Trailer kingpin king pin is not secure, or is broken, or 
worn so as to prevent secure fit in fifth wheel. 

9. Any movement is detected at any location where any 
device has been placed between the body and the chassis. 

10. Trailer is not equipped with an emergency chain or 
chains steel cable. 
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NOTE: Fifth wheel assembly system does not require an 
emergency chain or cable. A fifth wheel is defined as a 
device which interfaces with and couples to the upper 
coupler assembly of a semitrailer. The upper coupler 
assembly is a structure consisting of an upper coupler 
plate, kingpin king pin and supporting framework which 
interfaces with and couples to a fifth wheel. Ball and 
socket connections also referred to as hitch and coupling 
connections are not fifth wheel assemblies and do require 
safety chains an emergency chain or steel cable. 

19VAC30-70-130. Tires; wheels; rims. 

INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any tire is marked specifically for use other than on the 
highway, such as "For Farm Use Only," or "For Off-
Highway Use Only," or "Mobile Home Use Only." 

2. A radial tire is mismatched on the same axle with a bias 
ply tire or a bias belted tire. 

3. Bias ply or bias belted tires are used on the rear axle 
when radial ply tires are used on the front axle. Except:  

EXCEPTION: On a two-axle vehicle equipped with truck 
tires with 20-inch rim diameter and larger, bias or radial 
tires may be used on either axle if the vehicle has dual rear 
wheels or is equipped with wide-base single tires. 

4. A vehicle has installed on one of its axles a space saver 
emergency spare tire that is intended for temporary use. 

5. Any motor vehicle, trailer or semitrailer, except the dual 
wheels installed on motor vehicles having seats for more 
than seven passengers (i) operated wholly within a 
municipality or (ii) operated by urban and suburban bus 
lines, which are defined as bus lines operating over 
regularly scheduled routes and the majority of whose 
passengers use the buses for traveling a distance not 
exceeding 40 miles, measured one way, on the same day 
between their place of abode and their place of work, 
shopping areas, or schools, is equipped with a tire which 
that has a tread depth measuring less than 2/32 of an inch 
when measured as follows: 

NOTE: The exemptions provided in (i) and (ii) of this 
paragraph do not apply to buses owned or operated by any 
public school district, private school or contract operator of 
buses. 

6. NOTE: Measure in two adjacent tread grooves where 
tread is thinnest. Refer to Figure 1. If either of the grooves 
measure 2/32 of an inch or more, no further measurements 
are necessary and tread depth is satisfactory. Do not 
measure on take measurements from the tread wear 
indicators. 

7. 6. If both adjacent grooves measure less than 2/32 of an 
inch, the tire tread depth must be measured again at two 

additional equally spaced intervals around the 
circumference of the tire in a like manner as the first 
measurement. Refer to Figure 1. If the tread depth is less 
than 2/32 of an inch in two adjacent tread grooves at each 
of the equally spaced intervals, the tire must be rejected. 
MEASURE WHERE THE TREAD IS THINNEST IN 
TWO ADJACENT TREAD GROOVES 

  

 
FIGURE 1 

IF THE 
DEPTH IS 
LESS THAN 
2/32-INCH IN 
BOTH 
GROOVES, 
MEASURE 
AT TWO 
ADDITIONA
L EQUALLY 
SPACED 
INTERVALS 

8. 7. A tire equipped with tread wear indicators if found to 
have such indicators in contact with the pavement in any 
two adjacent grooves at three equally spaced intervals 
around the circumference of the tire. Refer to Figure 2. 
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FIGURE 2 

REJECT IF THE TREAD WEAR INDICATORS ARE 
IN CONTACT WITH THE PAVEMENT IN ANY TWO 
ADJACENT GROOVES AT THREE EQUALLY 
SPACED LOCATIONS 

9. 8. Any tire has a cut or puncture into the fabric. This 
does not include a plug or patch that may be used as a 
manner of repair. 

NOTE: Plugs/patches shall be in the tread area only. 
Plugs/patches are not permitted in the sidewall of the tire. 

10. 9. Any tire is worn so that the fabric or steel cord is 
visible. 

11. 10. Any tire has knots or bulges in its sidewalls or if 
there is evidence of a broken belt under the tread, or if the 
tread is separating from the fabric. 

12. 11. Any tire which that has been recut or regrooved 
except commercial tires so designed and constructed to 
provide for acceptable and safe recutting and regrooving. 
(Regrooved tires must be identified on each sidewall as a 
regrooved tire.) 

13. 12. Any bolts, nuts or lugs are loose, missing or 
damaged. 

14. 13. Wheels are installed on the vehicle in a reversed 
position, except the wheels on vehicles that are reversed to 
perform part of a dual wheel combination. 

14. Directional tires and/or wheels designed and 
manufactured to travel in one direction of rotation are not 
properly installed. 

15. Rims or wheels are bent, cracked or damaged so as to 
affect safe operation of the vehicle. 

16. NOTE: Refer to subdivision 1 of 19VAC30-70-180 
(Clearance lamps and reflectors) for tires that exceed more 
than 4  four inches from the body. 

19VAC30-70-140. Headlamps; except motorcycles. 

A. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any motor vehicle is not equipped with headlamps of an 
approved type. The approval designation letter that must 
appear is DOT or SAE-H, HG, HH or HR. 

2. Headlights are not of the same approved type except 
sealed beam headlamps. At least two headlamps are 
required. 

3. In any headlamp the lens is cracked, broken, discolored, 
or rotated away from the proper position, or the reflector is 
not clean and bright. 

NOTE: A clear plastic headlight assembly lens with a 
crack may be repaired by procedures similar to that 
required of a windshield repair. The inside reflector surface 
must be in satisfactory condition and the repair cannot 
affect the headlight aiming pattern. This repair does not 
apply to headlamps and the headlamp assembly lenses that 
are designed where the aiming pattern is part of the lens. 

4. Moisture or water buildup in headlamp is such that it 
affects the aimable aiming pattern. 

5. Lens is other than clear. 

6. Bulbs are not of an approved type (must have DOT 
stamp and the manufacturer's name) or are over 32 
candlepower. (Sealed beam lamps including the ones 
which permit the use of a replacement halogen bulb are the 
only lamps approved with over 32 candlepower.) Ordinary 
lenses and reflectors were not designed for over 32 
candlepower bulbs. 

NOTE: The Sylvania 9003 (HB2), 9004 (HB1), 9005 
(HB3) and 9006 (HB4) Cool Blue xenon bulbs were found 
to comply with FMVSS 108. There is a noticeable blue tint 
around the outside of the lamp pattern but the concentrated 
light is white. Only the Sylvania has approval and is 
marked with DOT. 

7. Any filament or bulb in headlamps fails to burn properly 
or headlamps are not at the same location or configuration 
as designed by manufacturer. (Location and type of 
headlamps can be found in subsection F of this section.) 

8. Wiring is dangling or connections are loose; or if proper 
filaments do not burn at different switch positions; or if 
switches, including foot or hand dimmer, do not function 
properly and are not convenient to the driver. 

9. Foreign material is placed on or in front of the headlamp 
lens or interferes with the beam from the lamp. No glazing 
may be placed over or in front of the headlamps unless it is 
a part of an approved headlamp assembly. 
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a. Reject if vehicle has wire, unapproved plastic covers, 
any other materials that are not original equipment or any 
colored material placed on or in front of the headlamps. 

b. Vehicles registered as street rods may have clear, rigid 
plastic or glass headlamp lens covers in front of sealed 
beam units to replace original manufacturer's equipment. 

c. EXCEPTION: A clean impact film known as 
Headlight Savers produced by Grand Prix Motoring 
Accessories may be applied to the headlight lens to 
absorb impact of rocks, etc. 

10. Lamps can be moved easily by hand due to a broken 
fender or loose support, or if a good ground is not made by 
the mounting. 

11. Headlamps, auxiliary driving lamps and front fog 
lamps are not mounted so that the beams are aimable and 
the mounting does not prevent the aim of the lighting 
device from being disturbed while the vehicle is operating 
on public roads. All lamps shall be securely mounted on a 
rigid part of the vehicle. 

11. 12. A headlamp visor is over two inches long unless 
part of the original body design. 

12. 13. The high beam indicator in the driver's 
compartment does not burn when the high or "country" 
beam is on or does not go off when the low beam is on. 
(Vehicles not originally equipped with an indicator are not 
required to comply unless sealed beam headlamps have 
been installed.) 

B. Aiming the headlamps. 

1. Headlamps shall be checked for proper aim by using 
either an optical or a mechanical headlamp aimer on every 
motor vehicle inspected, except vehicles with on-board 
aimers. 

Headlamp aim on vehicles with on-board aimers shall be 
checked by visually examining the leveling device 
mounted either on or adjacent to the headlamp. Reject the 
vehicle if the leveling device shows the headlamp 
adjustment to exceed indicated specifications. 

NOTE: Driving lamp and fog lamps must be aimed using 
the optical aimer, according to instructions in 19VAC30-
70-160 I 10 i and 11 g (2). 

2. Headlamps are not aimed within the following 
tolerances using the optical aimer. 

a. The center of the hot spot of all single element high 
beam lamps is set more than four inches up or down from 
the horizontal centerline or more than four inches to the 
left or right from the vertical centerline. 

b. The left edge of the lamp pattern of any low beam 
lamp or any combination or multi-element lamp is more 

than four inches to the left or right of the vertical 
centerline or the top edge of the lamp pattern is more 
than four inches above or below the horizontal centerline 
when checked on low beam.  

C. Optical aimer. 

1. Approved optical headlamp machines may be used to 
properly aim any of the headlamps. Optical aimers must be 
properly calibrated and used in the manner recommended 
by the manufacturer. 

The optical headlamp machine must be aligned to the 
vehicle in accordance with the manufacturer's 
specifications. 

2. When aiming headlamps, first look for the type of lamp, 
which will be found embossed on the lens. The type 
determines which aiming requirements must be followed 
for the optical aimer. 

3. All low beam or combination/multi-element headlamps 
must be set by aiming the lamp pattern with the lamps set 
on low beam. 

NOTE: If attempting to align a composite or sealed beam 
lamp with a high and low beam within the same housing, 
align only the low beam. If aligning a four-lamp system 
with high and low beams in separate housings, it may be 
necessary to cover the low beam while aligning the high 
beam, if all four lamps are on at the same time. 

4. Pattern should be aimed so that the left edge does not 
extend to the left or right of straight ahead, and the top of 
the pattern should be even with the horizontal. 

Pattern "A" represents the light pattern as it should appear 
on the view screen of the approved aimer when checking 
the low-beam pattern on a single element headlamp or a 
combination multielement headlamp. 
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5. All VOL and VOR headlamps will be aimed as follows: 

To properly aim a combination multi-element or low-
beam VOL or VOR headlamp assembly, the headlamp 
pattern should be aimed on low beam only. 

Letters marked on the headlamp cover should properly 
identify VOL and VOR headlamps. 

NOTE: VOL and VOR headlamps will normally have 
only one adjustment, which will be for the vertical aim 
only. The horizontal aim should be disregarded, as the 
horizontal aim is preset at the factory. 

5. 6. All single element high beam headlamps shall be set 
by aiming the center of the hot spot with the lamps set on 
high beam. 

6. 7. Aim straight ahead-center of the hot spot should be 
centered with the vertical and horizontal centerlines. 

Pattern "B" represents the light pattern as it should appear 
on the view screen of the approved aimers. 

 

7. 8. When lamp pairs are mounted horizontally, the low 
beam lamp must be on the outer side and when mounted 
vertically, the low beam lamp must be at the higher 
position in the pair. 

8. 9. The four headlamp system must be wired so that only 
the lower beam lamp will burn when the light beams are 
depressed. When switched to high beams, both high beam 
and low beam may burn. 

The "F" type halogen headlamp 1986 (LF-UF) of the four 
headlamp system will function in the following manner: 

system must be used so the low beam does not burn with 
the high beam. 

D. Mechanical aimers. 

1. Mechanical aimers can be used to aim only those 
headlamps that have "aiming" pads molded into the lens. 

2. Mechanical aimers must be properly calibrated and used 
with the proper adapter recommended by the manufacturer. 
(The adapter setting will be embossed on the face of some 
lamps.) 

3. Turn on headlamps and check all filaments-both high 
and low beam. Turn off headlamps before checking for 
adjustments. Do not turn on headlamps while mechanical 
aimers are attached to the headlamp. 

4. All headlamps that are found not to be within the four-
inch tolerance shall be adjusted to zero inches up or down 
and zero inches to the right or left. 

E. Headlamps on vehicles used for snow removal. Approved 
auxiliary headlamps may be mounted above the conventional 
headlamps. (These lamps must be in compliance with this 
section in its entirety, subdivision 7 of 19VAC30-70-150, and 
subdivision 1 of 19VAC30-70-170.) 

F. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Lamps are not approved type headlamps (DOT or SAE-
H or HH). 

2. Lamps are not mounted in a manner that will permit 
proper aiming. 

3. Lamps are mounted so as to obstruct the driver's vision. 

4. The auxiliary headlamp circuit does not contain a switch 
that will deactivate the primary headlamp system when the 
auxiliary headlamps are in use. 

5. Auxiliary headlamps are not aimed in accordance with 
the provisions of subdivision B 2 of this section. 

6. Headlamps are not wired in accordance with the 
provisions of subdivision C 8 of this section. 

NOTE: Light patterns shown in the following diagram will 
be displayed on the most recently approved light machines 
produced by Hopkins and Symtech Corporations. 

 

HEADLAMP PATTERNS 
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Regulations  

Volume 24, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 24, 2007 

1014 

 

  

      

 

NOTE: Always inspect the following sealed beam and 
replaceable bulb, and integral beam headlamps on LOW 
BEAM only; : 

- 5-3/4 inch, marked 2, 2C, or 2C1 

- 7 inch, marked 2, 2D, or 2D1 

- 100 X 165mm rectangular, marked 2A, 2A1, or 2E1, 
2G1 or 2H1  

- 200 X 142mm rectangular, marked 2B or 2B1  

- Replaceable bulb headlamp, marked LF with 9004 
(HB1)  

- 92 X 160mm rectangular, marked LF  

- Replaceable bulb headlamps with 9006 (HB4) alone or 
in combination with 9005 (HB3)  

- 55 X 135mm rectangular, marked L  

- Integral beam headlamp when high and low beam 
reflectors move together.  

19VAC30-70-150. Rear lamps: tail lamp; license plate 
lamps and rear lamp combinations. 

INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Vehicle is not equipped with a rear (tail lamp) or rear 
lamp combination of an approved type or light assembly 
does not work as designed by the manufacturer. The 
approval designation letters that must appear are DOT or 
SAE-A-I-S-T-P for single lamps, DOT or SAE-A-I-S-T-P-
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R with a backup light, DOT or SAE-A-I-S-T-P-P2-R with 
a wrap around side-marker lamp and backup light. (NOTE: 
Any combination of letters must be preceded by the 
manufacturer's name and followed by the two-digit year 
when manufactured. If either the manufacturer and/or two-
digit year is not present, then reject.)  

2. The vehicle is equipped with more than one rear lamp, if 
all are not in operating condition. 

3. The vehicle is not equipped with a license plate lamp of 
an approved type (DOT or SAE-L) that emits a white light. 
The license plate lamp may be a separate lamp or part of a 
combination rear lamp. 

4. Lens for license License plate lamp is not clear 
illuminated by an approved license plate lamp that admits a 
white light. 

5. Lens on rear lamps, or lens area in combination rear 
lamps (tail lamps) are not red or contain a dot of another 
color. LED (light emitting diode) lights with a clear lens 
are acceptable if of an approved type. For those vehicles 
that are equipped with a multiple LED light (not filament 
burning bulbs), they will pass inspection if more than 50% 
of the diode lights are burning. 

NOTE: Replacement tail lamps, commonly sold as "clear" 
tail lamps or "Euro-Tail" lamps will not pass inspection if 
the red lamps and reflectors are replaced with clear ones or 
the tail lamps are missing the side red marker lamps or 
reflectors. 

6. Lens has piece broken from it or does not fit properly. 
The lens may have one or more cracks provided an off-
color light does not project through the crack or cracks. 

NOTE: Taping or gluing cracks or pieces is not allowed. 

7. Filament in all rear (tail) lamps does not burn when 
headlamp switch is turned on to any position, or if lamps 
do not provide a red light visible to the rear through an 
approved red lens as annotated in subdivision 1 of this 
section. If it is a rear lamp combination incorporated with a 
wrap around side-marker light, then the side-marker lens 
must be red and not a clear lens with a red bulb. If the bulb, 
socket and wiring are removed from the side-marker 
lamps, then they will not be considered during the 
inspection. 

8. Rear (tail) lamp is not mounted near extreme rear of 
vehicle. Dump trucks and other specially constructed 
vehicles may mount the rear lamp at a point other than on 
the extreme rear, provided such rear lamp is clearly visible 
from the rear, and further provided that a red reflector of an 
approved type is mounted on the extreme rear. In unusual 
cases, the rear lamp may be mounted on the cab. Reject if 
the lamp is hidden by a bolster or other part of the body or 

frame, is not mounted securely, or if the lamp does not 
make a good electrical contact. 

9. The vehicle has unapproved lens or plastic covers, any 
other materials which that are not original equipment or 
any colored material placed on or in front of rear lamps, 
license plate lamps and rear lamp combinations. 

10. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 
filaments do not burn. 

11. NOTE: Every trailer shall carry at the rear two red 
lights of a type approved by the Superintendent. 

19VAC30-70-160. Auxiliary lamps: backup; cornering; 
driving; fog; spot and warning. 

A. Auxiliary lamps on a vehicle consist of seven general 
types: backup lamps (SAE-R), cornering lamps (SAE-K), 
driving lamps (SAE-Y), front fog lamps with an amber or 
clear lens (SAE-F and rear fog lamps with red lens (SAE-F2), 
spot lamps (SAE-O), warning lamps (SAE-W, W2, W3), and 
daytime running lamps (DRLs) (SAE-Y2). 

B. School buses may be equipped with an eight-lamp 
warning system of two red and two amber warning lamps of 
an approved type (SAE-W2) on the front and rear of such 
vehicle. 

1. School buses may also be equipped with roof mounted 
flashing white or amber warning lamps of an approved 
type (SAE-W2). 

2. In addition to required warning lamps, school buses may 
be equipped with a stop signal arm consisting of an 
octagonal sign which meets FMVSS specifications 
(Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards, 49 CFR Part 
571). The stop signal arm shall be reflectorized or be 
equipped with two red warning lamps of an approved type. 

C. There is no limit on the number of backup lamps that a 
vehicle may have so long as they are of an approved type 
(SAE-R). 

D. No more than four lamps, including two headlamps, may 
be lighted at any time to provide general illumination ahead 
of the vehicle. 

E. Approved type (DOT or SAE-W) blue or blue and red 
lights are permitted on Department of Corrections vehicles 
designated by the Director of the Department of Corrections 
and any law-enforcement vehicle. 

1. Approved type secondary warning lights installed only 
on the four corners, on law-enforcement vehicles, 
Department of Corrections, fire apparatus, government-
owned vehicle operated on official business by a local fire 
chief or other local fire official, rescue squad vehicle, 
ambulance, or any other emergency medical vehicles. 
These lights shall also have primary warning lights 
installed. 
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2. The hide-away or undercover strobe lights shall be 
installed in the side marker lights, tail lights or parking 
lights. The strobe itself must be clear and the lens color 
must continue to be the same type and color as originally 
approved. It will not be permissible to install the hide-away 
lights in the headlights or in the backup lights. 

3. Approved type (SAE-W) red warning lights or red and 
white lights showing to the front are permitted on fire 
department vehicles, including publicly owned state forest 
warden vehicles, ambulances, any rescue vehicle used for 
emergency calls, local departments of emergency 
management, animal warden vehicles, school buses and 
vehicles used by security personnel at the Newport News 
Shipbuilding and Drydock Company, Bassett-Walker, 
Incorporated, the Tultex Corporation, or the Winchester 
Medical Center, or the National Aeronautics and Space 
Administration’s Wallops Flight Facility. 

4. No more than two flashing or steady-burning red lights 
or red and white combination lights of an approved type 
(SAE-W) may be installed on one vehicle owned by any 
member of a fire company, volunteer fire company or 
volunteer rescue squad, any ambulance driver employed by 
a privately owned ambulance service, and any police 
chaplain. 

F. Vehicles mentioned in subsection E of this section 
permitted to be equipped with flashing, blinking or 
alternating red, red and white, blue, or blue and red 
emergency lights (except vehicles owned by any member of a 
fire company, volunteer fire company, volunteer rescue squad 
or any ambulance driver employed by a privately owned 
ambulance service) may be equipped with the means to flash 
their headlamps when their emergency warning lamps are 
activated provided: 

1. The headlamps are wired to allow either the upper beam 
or lower beam to flash but not both. 

2. The headlamp system includes a switch or device which 
prevents flashing of headlamps when headlamps are 
required to be lighted pursuant to current statute. 

3. Emergency vehicles in Chesapeake, Poquoson, and York 
County may be equipped with flashing headlights that will 
function whenever their warning lights are activated. 

G. Any fire vehicle used exclusively for fire fighting, any 
ambulance or rescue or lifesaving vehicle used for the 
principal purpose of emergency relief or any wrecker used for 
the principal purpose of towing disabled vehicles may be 
equipped with clear auxiliary lamps which shall be used 
exclusively for lighting emergency scenes. Such lamps shall 
be of a type permitted by the superintendent. Any 
government-owned police vehicle may be equipped with clear 
auxiliary lamps of a type approved by the superintendent. 

H. Approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 
alternating lights are permitted on vehicles used for the 
principal purpose of towing or servicing disabled vehicles or 
in constructing, maintaining and repairing highways or 
utilities on or along public highways and vehicles used for the 
principal purpose of removing hazardous or polluting 
substances from the state waters or drainage areas on or along 
public highways. Such lamps are permitted on vehicles used 
for servicing automatic teller machines, refuse collection 
vehicles, hi-rail vehicles and on vehicles used for towing or 
escorting over-dimensional materials, equipment, boats, or 
manufactured housing units by authority of highway hauling 
permit. 

1. Approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 
alternating lights are permitted on fire apparatus, 
government-owned vehicles operated on official business 
by a local fire chief or other local fire official, rescue squad 
vehicles, ambulances, and any other emergency medical 
vehicles to be equipped with alternating blinking or 
flashing red, or red and white secondary lights mounted 
inside the vehicle's tail lights or marker lights. 

2. Approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 
alternating lights are permitted on vehicles owned and used 
by municipal safety officers in the performance of their 
official duties, businesses providing security services and 
vehicles used to collect and deliver the United States mail, 
vehicles used by law-enforcement personnel in the 
enforcement of laws governing motor vehicle parking, 
government owned law-enforcement vehicles provided the 
lights are used for giving directional warning and vehicles 
used to provide escort for funeral processions. 

3. Approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 
alternating lights are permitted on vehicles used as pace 
cars, security vehicles, or fire-fighting vehicles by any 
speedway or motor vehicle race track. 

4. An approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 
alternating light may be mounted on the rear of any vehicle 
used to transport petroleum products. The light must be 
wired through the reverse gear circuit and activate in 
conjunction with the back-up lights and audible alarm. 

5. An approved type (SAE-W) green warning light is 
permitted on vehicles used by police, fire-fighting, or 
rescue personnel as command centers at the scene of 
incidents. Such lights shall not be activated while the 
vehicle is operating upon the highway. 

I. Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Vehicle has an auxiliary lamp being used for a purpose 
other than for which it was approved. 

EXCEPTION: Any lighting device that is both covered and 
not illuminated, other than lamps required, shall not be 
considered for inspection. Fog and driving lamps mounted 
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below the level of the regular headlamps must be checked 
for aim as outlined in subdivisions I 10 i and 11 g of this 
section if not covered. 

NOTE: The covers shall be a type that would be installed 
as original equipment and not tape, paper bags, aluminum 
foil or similar materials per subdivision I 11g (2). 

2. A vehicle has installed on it a warning lamp (DOT or 
SAE-W) that is not of an approved type or has been 
altered. 

Reject if the vehicle has wire, unapproved plastic covers, 
any other materials that are not original equipment or any 
colored material placed on or in front of any auxiliary 
lamps: backup, cornering, driving, fog, spot, or warning 
lamps. 

3. Vehicle is equipped with a combination of auxiliary 
lamps which that include more than two fog lamps, or 
more than two spot lamps, or more than two driving lamps. 
Motor vehicles may be equipped with more than two fog or 
auxiliary lights; however, only two of these types of lights 
can be illuminated at any time. Reject a vehicle equipped 
with a headlamp mounted or used as an auxiliary lamp. 

NOTE: Vehicles equipped, from the factory, with two 
driving lamps should not be rejected. 

4. Vehicle is equipped with an auxiliary lamp that does not 
function properly. (If an auxiliary lamp has been modified 
by removing the wiring, bulb and socket, the unit will be 
considered an ornament and not a lamp and will not be 
considered in inspection.) 

5. Vehicle is equipped with a lighted advertising sign, 
except commercial motor vehicles, buses operated as 
public carriers, taxicabs, and privately owned passenger 
cars used for home delivery of commercially prepared 
food. Commercial motor vehicles, buses operated as public 
carriers, and taxicabs may be equipped with vacant and 
destination signs and one steady burning white light for 
illumination of external advertising. Privately owned 
passenger cars used for home delivery of commercially 
prepared food may be equipped with one steady burning 
white light for the nighttime illumination of a sign 
identifying the business delivering the food. Do not reject 
approved identification lights. 

6. Any lamp is not of an approved type or if lamps to be 
burned together as a pair do not emit the same color light. 

7. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have 
one or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 
project through the crack or cracks. 

8. Backup lamps are not required. However, if installed 
they must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-R) 
or a lamp has been altered; 

b. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 
filaments do not burn; 

c. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have 
one or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 
project through the crack or cracks; 

d. Lens is other than clear. LED (light emitting diode) 
lights with a clear lens are acceptable, if of an approved 
type. For those vehicles that are equipped with a multiple 
LED light (not filament burning bulbs), they will pass 
inspection if more than 50% of the diode lights are 
burning; 

e. Lamps are not wired into the reverse gear or an 
independent circuit. 

9. Cornering lamps are not required. However, if installed 
they must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-K) 
or a lamp has been altered; 

b. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 
filaments do not burn; 

c. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have 
one or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 
project through the crack or cracks; 

d. The color of the light is other than clear or amber; 

e. The lamps do not burn in conjunction with the turn 
signals. 

10. Driving lamps are not required. However, if installed 
they must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Driving lamps are installed on vehicles equipped with 
the four-headlamp system, except the "F" type headlamp 
system; 

b. A vehicle is equipped with more than two driving 
lamps; 

c. Driving lamps are not of an approved type or have 
been altered; 

d. The color of the lamp is other than white; 

e. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated away 
from its proper position. The lens may have one or more 
cracks provided an off-color light does not project 
through the crack or crack; 

f. Wiring or electrical connections are defective; 
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g. Any driving lamp is mounted above the level of the 
regular headlamps, or is not mounted firmly to prevent 
excessive vibration; 

h. Driving lamps are not wired so that they will burn only 
when the high beams of the regular headlamps are 
activated; 

i. Driving lamps are not aimed so that the center of the 
hot spot drops three inches in 25 feet so that the hot spot 
is directly ahead of the lamp; 

NOTE: Driving lamps must be aimed using the optical 
headlight aimer. j. A tolerance of four inches in 25 feet is 
allowed in both the horizontal and the vertical 
adjustment. 

11. Fog lamps are not required. However, if installed they 
must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. A vehicle is equipped with more than two fog lamps; 

b. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-F on 
front or F2 on rear plus two-digit year and manufacturer) 
or a lamp has been altered;  

c. The lens is other than clear or amber. Fog lamps may 
have black-end bulbs or small metal caps over the end of 
the bulb; 

d. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated away 
from its proper position. The lens may have one or more 
cracks provided an off-color light does not project 
through the crack or crack; 

e. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 
filaments do not burn; 

f. Any fog lamp is mounted above the level of the regular 
headlamps, or is not mounted firmly; 

g. Lamps are not wired and aimed according to the 
following instructions: 

(1) Fog lamps are general illumination lamps as covered 
in subsection A of this section. They must burn through 
the tail light circuit even if on a separate switch. If 
installed on a vehicle with a four-headlamp system, or a 
vehicle equipped with driving lamps, they must be wired 
into the low beam circuit. 

(2) Fog lamps must be aimed so that the top edge of the 
high intensity zone is set at the horizontal centerline and 
the left edge of the high intensity zone is set at the 
vertical centerline. (Same as low beam headlights.) 

NOTE: Fog lamps must be aimed using the optical 
headlight aimer. (3) A tolerance of four inches in 25 feet 
is allowed in both the horizontal and the vertical 
adjustment. 

12. Spot lamps are not required; however, if installed they 
must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Vehicle is equipped with more than two spot lamps; 

b. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-O) 
or a lamp has been altered; 

c. The lens in any spot lamp is other than clear; 

d. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated away 
from its proper position. The lens may have one or more 
cracks provided an off-color light does not project 
through the crack or crack; 

e. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 
filaments do not burn. 

13. Daytime Running Lamps (DRLs) are not required. 
However, if installed they must operate and be inspected. 
DRLs must be installed in pairs. 

NOTE: DRLs may or may not be wired into the tail light 
circuit. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Any lamp, except headlamps, used as DRLs if not an 
approved type (SAE-Y2) and is not marked "DRL"; 

b. Fog lamps or parking lamps are used as DRLs; 

c. More than one pair of lamps is used and/or designated 
as DRLs; 

d. A DRL is mounted higher than 34 inches measured to 
the center of the lamp; 

e. The color is other than white to amber; 

f. DRLs do not deactivate when the headlamps are in any 
"on" position. 

Any DRL optically combined with a turn signal or hazard 
lamp must deactivate when the turn signal or hazard lamp 
is activated and then reactivate when the turn signal or 
hazard lamp deactivates. 

19VAC30-70-170. Parking lamps. 

A. Parking lamps are not required; however, if installed they 
must operate and be inspected. Parking lamps may burn in 
conjunction with the headlamps. 

B. INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF Inspect for and reject 
if: 

1. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-P) or a 
lamp has been altered; 

NOTE: The clear lens lights between the headlamps and 
the red lens lights between tail lamps on various vehicles 
are approved parking lamps and must work if not rendered 
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inoperative by removing the bulb, socket and wiring from 
each individual lamp. 

2. Parking lamps have other than white or amber lenses 
showing to the front. If the lens is clear, then the bulb shall 
be amber; 

3. Parking lamps do not burn with the rear lamps; 

4. If lens has a piece broken from it. Lens may have one or 
more cracks provided no off-color light projects through 
the crack or cracks; 

5. Reject if the vehicle has unapproved lens or plastic 
covers, any other materials which are not original 
equipment or any colored material placed on or in front of 
the parking lamps; 

6. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 
filaments do not burn. 

7. LED (light emitting diode) lights with a clear lens are 
acceptable if of an approved type. For those vehicles that 
are equipped with a multiple LED light (not filament 
burning bulbs), they will pass inspection if more than 50% 
of the diode lights are burning. 

19VAC30-70-180. Clearance lamps and reflectors. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer or other vehicle is 
not equipped with clearance lamps if the vehicle is over 
seven feet wide or if any portion extends four inches or 
more outside the front fender line. 

NOTE: See 19VAC30-70-550 for vehicles exceeding 
10,000 GVWR. 

When a motor vehicle with a trailer attached is presented, 
the combination may be considered as one unit in meeting 
this requirement. If presented separately, the individual 
unit must meet these requirements. 

2. Lamps (DOT or SAE-P2, P3 or PC) or reflectors (DOT 
or SAE-A or B) are not of an approved type or a lamp has 
been altered. 

If the lamps or reflectors have unapproved plastic covers, 
any other materials that are not original equipment or any 
colored material placed on or in front of lamps or 
reflectors. 

3. Lenses on lamps on the front are not amber and lenses 
on lamps on the rear are not red or if a lens has a piece 
broken from it. A lens may have one or more cracks 
provided an off-color light does not project through the 
crack or cracks. 

NOTE: LED (light emitting diode) lights with a clear lens 
are acceptable if of an approved type. For those vehicles 
that are equipped with a multiple LED light (not filament 

burning bulbs), they will pass inspection if more than 50% 
of the diode lights are burning. 

4. Wiring or electrical connections are defective, all 
filaments do not burn. 

5. Two amber lamps are not mounted on the front and two 
red lamps on the rear, so as to indicate the extreme width 
of the body, and as high on the permanent body as 
practical, except that approved 180 degree lamps with 
yellow or amber lens may be mounted on the side of the 
vehicle at or as near the front as possible, or if the front is 
not the widest portion, the lamps may be installed on the 
side and as near that point as possible. And with the further 
exception that 180 degree lamps with red lens may be 
mounted on the side of the vehicle at or as near the rear as 
possible or if the rear is not the widest portion of the 
vehicle, the lamps may be installed on the side as near that 
point as possible. 

6. Any vehicle equipped with three red identification lamps 
with the lamp centers spaced not less than six inches or 
more than 12 inches apart and installed as close as 
practicable to the top of the vehicle and as close as 
practicable to the vertical centerline of the vehicle may 
have the rear dimension or marker lamps required by 
subdivision 5 of this section, mounted at any height but 
indicate as nearly as practicable the extreme width of the 
vehicle. 

7. NOTE: Other specially constructed vehicles may be 
equipped with the required clearance lamps not mounted 
on the extreme rear, provided such red lamps are clearly 
visible from the rear and provided further that two red 
reflectors of an approved type are mounted on the extreme 
rear. In unusual cases the rear lamp may be mounted on the 
cab and another red reflex reflector placed on the extreme 
rear. 

8. NOTE: In addition to the required clearance lamps 
showing to the front and to the rear, a vehicle may be 
equipped with clearance lamps on the side of the vehicle. 
When such an installation is used, all of the clearance 
lamps on the side except the one at or near the rear must 
have an amber lens. The clearance lamps on the side at or 
near the rear must have a red lens. 

9. 7. Any vehicle covered by subdivision 1 of this section, 
except school buses, is not equipped with amber reflectors 
on the sides as near the front as practical, and red reflectors 
on the rear. The reflectors must be at least 15 inches and 
not more than 60 inches from the ground. No reflector can 
have a piece broken from its reflective surface, but may 
have one or more cracks. 

10. 8. Any combination of vehicles whose actual length 
exceeds 35 feet if the vehicles are not wide enough to have 
clearance lights, if the vehicle is not equipped with reflex 
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reflectors of a type approved by the superintendent and 
mounted on the widest part of the towed vehicle so as to be 
visible from the front and sides of the vehicle. No reflector 
can have a piece broken from its reflective surface, but 
may have one or more cracks. 

11. 9. Any passenger vehicle is equipped with clearance 
lamps, unless such lamps are used to mark the extreme 
width of the vehicle or used as taxicab identification, or 

used as supplemental turn signals. (See 19VAC30-70-190 
B.) 

12. 10. Vehicles so constructed as to make compliance 
with the requirements of subdivisions 1, 5, 7, 9 and 10 of 
this section impractical will be equipped with clearance 
lamps and reflectors at the most practical location to 
provide maximum visibility. 

 

 

 
  

 
 
 
If equipped with three red 
identification lamps, the required 
clearance lamps may be mounted 
at any height so long as they 
indicate, as nearly as practicable, 
the extreme width of the vehicle. 

 
 
 
NOTE: Must be equipped 
with three red identification 
lamps 
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ILLUSTRATIONS FOR PROPER INSTALLATION OF REFLECTORS 

 

 
 
 
 
At least 15 inches and not more than 60 inches 
from the ground. 

  

  

  Amber Reflector   

 

 
 
 
Red Reflectors: At least 15 inches and not 
more than 60 inches from the ground. 

  

  

 
19VAC30-70-190. Signal device (intention to stop or turn), 
hazard lights, stop lamp. 

A. Any motor vehicle may be equipped with a switch that 
will permit all turn signal lamps to flash simultaneously. 

B. Supplemental turn signals, properly wired into the turn 
signal circuit, may be installed. These may be either approved 
type turn signals or clearance lamps. 

C. Single face lamps are permissible on the front, except 
tractor units shall be equipped with two-faced lamps mounted 
on the front fenders or on or near the front of the vehicle. 

D. INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF Inspect for and reject 
if: 

1. Motor vehicle, or trailer, except an antique vehicle not 
originally equipped with a stop lamp, is not equipped with 
at least one stop lamp of an approved type (DOT or SAE-
S) that automatically exhibits a red or amber lens to the 
rear when the brake pedal is actuated; 

2. Any 1986 or subsequent year model passenger vehicle 
or any 1994 or subsequent year model multipurpose 
vehicle Every passenger car manufactured for the 1986 or 
subsequent model year and multipurpose passenger 
vehicle, truck, or bus whose overall width is less than 80 
inches, manufactured September 1, 1993, and subsequent 
model year is not equipped with a supplemental center 
high mount stop lamp of an approved type (DOT or SAE-
U, U1 or U2) mounted at the vertical centerline of the 

vehicle which functions only in cooperation with the  
vehicle's stop lamps brake lights and hazard lights. Any 
other vehicle on which a supplemental center high mount 
stop lamp is mounted shall have the lamp mounted at the 
vertical center line of the vehicle. The lamps shall be of an 
approved type and shall function only in conjunction with 
the stop lamps. The high mount stop lamp must be steady 
burning and not wired to flash with turn signals or other 
wig-wag device. 

"Multipurpose passenger vehicle" means any motor vehicle 
that is (i) designed to carry no more than 10 persons and 
(ii) constructed either on a truck chassis or with special 
features for occasional off-road use. 

NOTE: Camper shells and/or other items that may be 
temporarily carried on or attached to multipurpose vehicles 
will not be considered during inspection of the center high 
mount stop lamp, provided the lamp continues to function 
as designed. 

NOTE: Multipurpose passenger vehicles with an overall 
width of 80 or more inches or GVWR of 10,000 pounds or 
more are not required to be equipped with a center high 
mount stop light; 

No sticker or other foreign material shall be affixed to the 
vehicle in such a manner so as to obscure the center high 
mount stop lamp; 

3. Proper signals do not go on with each throw of the 
switch or if stop signals do not go on with slightest 
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pressure on the brake pedal. Turn signals may flash-stop 
signals may not flash except when the vehicle is equipped 
with a brake warning system or device which will cause 
the brake lights to flash when the vehicle is in motion but 
committed to an emergency or panic stop; 

4. Motor vehicle was manufactured after January 1, 1955, 
and is not equipped with approved signaling devices (SAE-
I); 

5. Vehicle is not equipped with a turn signal if such signal 
is not working properly or does not continue to function in 
the same manner as when it was originally manufactured. 
(The turn signal switch shall lock in place when positioned 
for a left turn or a right turn, and the turn signal indicators 
must function. Do not reject a vehicle if the self-cancelling 
mechanism in the switch does not function when the 
steering wheel is rotated.); 

6. Switch is not convenient to the driver and not of an 
approved type; 

7. Any vehicle so constructed so as to prevent the operator 
from making a hand and arm signal, if such vehicle is not 
equipped with an approved type signaling device; 

8. Turn signal lens is not clear or amber to the front, or red 
or amber to the rear. Lens or bulb color has been altered or 
modified. If the turn signal lens is clear, then the bulb shall 
be amber. 

NOTE: The pink color lens found on 1998 and 1999 
Honda Accords emit the proper color light (amber) when 
the lamp is activated. There may be other manufacturers 
using the same configuration and are not in violation of the 
Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards; 

9. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 
filaments do not burn. 

NOTE: LED (light emitting diode) lights with a clear lens 
are acceptable if of an approved type. For those vehicles 
that are equipped with the high mount a multiple diode 
LED light (not filament burning bulbs), they will pass 
inspection if a majority 50% of the diode lights are 
burning; 

10. Lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have one 
or more cracks provided an off-color light does not project 
through the crack(s). 

NOTE: No repairs shall be effected like taping or gluing 
cracks or pieces. 

11. Hazard warning lamps do not flash simultaneously. 
The hazard warning signal operating unit does not operate 
independently of the ignition or equivalent switch and 
when activated cause all turn signals to flash 
simultaneously. 

NOTE: They are deemed not to be installed if none of the 
lights burn or flash when the switch is activated and the 
hazard warning signal flasher unit has been removed; 

12. Device is not mounted near the rear for rear signals or 
near the front for front signals (except supplemental turn 
signals) or if the signal is hidden by a bolster or other part 
of body chassis; 

13. All "Class A" signals are not mounted at least three feet 
apart. (This does not apply to the combination rear signal 
device.) However, signal lamps that are mounted as far 
apart as practical inside and at the rear of the frame so as to 
be properly visible will meet inspection requirements; 

14. Any vehicle has unapproved lens or plastic covers, any 
other materials that are not original equipment or any 
colored material placed on or in front of the signal device 
(intention to stop or turn), hazard lights or stop lamp. 

19VAC30-70-200. Permissible lighting equipment. 

A. Any vehicle may be equipped with: 

1. Running board or courtesy lamps, of not over six 
candlepower. 

2. Vacant or destination signs, if a taxicab or bus. 

3. Identification lamps of approved type (SAE -P2 or P-3). 

4. Interior lights, not more than 15 candlepower. 

Exception: This does not apply to alternating, blinking or 
flashing colored emergency lights mounted inside law 
enforcement vehicles or flashing shielded red or red and 
white lights, mounted inside vehicles owned by members 
of volunteer fire companies, volunteer rescue squads or 
owned or used by professional firefighters, or police 
chaplains. Also, this does not apply to fire-fighting 
vehicles equipped with map lights. 

5. Hood ornament light if of an approved type or permitted 
by the Superintendent. 

6. Any approved lamp in good working order when used 
for the purpose for which it was approved. 

B. Side marker lamps are not required. If installed they must 
operate and be inspected. If the bulb, socket and wiring are 
removed from an individual lamp unit, the unit will not be 
considered during inspection. This does not include 
wraparound tail/marker lamp assembly/lens, which is 
intended to perform multiple functions. 

C. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-P2 or 
P3), or do not comply with subdivision 1 of this section; 

2. Lamps are not installed on the permanent structure of 
the vehicle with one as far to the rear and one as far 
forward as practicable and at a location which is not less 
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than 15 inches above the road surface when measured from 
the center of the lamp; 

3. Lamps installed on the side to the rear do not have a red 
approved lens (SAE-P2). Lamps installed on the side of the 
front do not a clear or amber approved lens (SAE-P2) so as 
to project an amber light. If the approved lens on the front 
side is clear, then the bulb shall be a DOT-approved amber 
bulb; 

4. Lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have one 
or more cracks provided no off-color light projects through 
the crack(s); 

5. Any vehicle has unapproved lens or plastic covers, any 
other materials which are not original equipment or any 
colored material placed on or in front of permissible 
lighting equipment; 

6. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 
filaments do not burn. 

7. LED (light emitting diode) lights with a clear lens are 
acceptable if of an approved type. For those vehicles that 
are equipped with a multiple LED light (not filament 
burning bulbs), they will pass inspection if more than 50% 
of the diode lights are burning. 

19VAC30-70-210. Glass and glazing. 

A. Motor vehicles may be inspected without windshields, 
side glasses, or any kind of glazing, except that any motor 
vehicle other than a motorcycle that was manufactured, 
assembled, or reconstructed after July 1, 1970, must be 
equipped with a windshield. If glass or other glazing is 
installed, it must be inspected. If no windshield is installed, 
see 19VAC30-70-50 C for location of the sticker. 

B. INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF Inspect for and reject 
if: 

1. Any motor vehicle manufactured or assembled after 
January 1, 1936, or any bus, taxicab or school bus 
manufactured or assembled after January 1, 1935, is not 
equipped throughout with safety glass, or other safety 
glazing material. (This requirement includes slide-in 
campers used on pickups or trucks, caps, or covers used on 
pickup trucks, motor homes, and vans.) 

2. Any safety glass or glazing used in a motor vehicle is 
not of an approved type and properly identified (DOT and 
AS-1, AS-2, or AS-3). (Replacement safety glass installed 
in any part of a vehicle other than the windshield need not 
bear a trademark or name, provided the glass consists of 
two or more sheets of glass separated by a glazing 
material, and provided the glass is cut from a piece of 
approved safety glass, and provided the edge of the glass 
can be observed.) 

NOTE: A number of 1998 and 1999 model year Ford 
Contour/Mystique, Econoline and Ranger vehicles were 
produced without the AS-1 windshield marking as required 
by FMVSS #205. Ford has certified that these vehicles' 
windshields meet all performance standards and will not be 
rejected. 

3. Any glass at any location where glass is used is cracked 
or broken so that it is likely to cut or injure a person in the 
vehicle. 

4. Windshield has any cloudiness more than three inches 
above the bottom, one inch inward from the outer borders, 
one inch down from the top, or one inch inward from the 
center strip. The bottom of the windshield shall be defined 
as the point where the top of the dash contacts the 
windshield. 

5. Any distortion or obstruction that interferes with a 
driver's vision; any alteration that has been made to a 
vehicle that obstructs the driver's clear view through the 
windshield. This may include but is not limited to large 
objects hanging from the inside mirror, CB radios or 
tachometers on the dash, hood scoops and other 
ornamentation on or in front of the hood that is not 
transparent. 

a. Any hood scoop installed on any motor vehicle 
manufactured for the year 1990 or earlier model year 
cannot exceed 2-1/4 inches high at its highest point 
measured from the junction of the dashboard and the 
windshield. 

b. Any hood scoop installed on any motor vehicle 
manufactured for the 1991 or subsequent model year 
cannot exceed 1-1/8 inches high at its highest point 
measured from the junction of the dashboard and the 
windshield. 

6. Windshield glass, on the driver's side, has any scratch 
more than 1/4 inch in width and six inches long within the 
area covered by the windshield wiper blade, excluding the 
three inches above the bottom of the windshield. A 
windshield wiper that remains parked within the driver's 
side windshield wiper area shall be rejected. 

EXCEPTION: Do not reject safety grooves designed to 
clean wiper blades if the grooves do not extend upward 
from the bottom of the windshield more than six inches at 
the highest point. 

7. There is a pit, chip, or star crack larger than 1-1/2 inches 
in diameter at any location in the windshield above the 
three-inch line at the bottom. 

8. At any location in the windshield above the three-inch 
line at the bottom (as measured from the junction of the 
dash board and the windshield) there is more than one 
crack from the same point if at least one of the cracks is 
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more than 1-1/2 inches in length. There is any crack that 
weakens the windshield so that one piece may be moved in 
relation to the other. (If there is more than one crack 
running from a star crack that extends above the three-inch 
line, the windshield shall be rejected.) 

EXCEPTION: Windshield repair is a viable option to 
windshield replacement. A windshield that has been 
repaired will pass inspection unless: 

a. It is likely to cut or injure a person. 

b. There is any distortion that interferes with a driver's 
vision. 

c. The windshield remains weakened so that one piece 
may be moved in relation to the other. 

d. The integrity of the windshield has obviously been 
compromised by the damage or the repair.  

9. Any sticker is on the windshield other than an official 
one required by law or permitted by the Superintendent. 
Authorization is hereby granted to for stickers measuring 
not more than 2-1/2 inches in width and four inches in 
length to be placed in the blind spot behind the rear view 
mirror. Department of Defense decals measuring no more 
than three inches in width and eight inches in length may 
be affixed to the upper edge of the center of the 
windshield. At the option of the motor vehicle's owner, the 
decal may be affixed at the lower left corner of the 
windshield so that the inside or left edge of the sticker or 
decal is within one inch of the extreme left edge of the 
windshield when looking through the windshield from 
inside the vehicle. When placed at this location, the bottom 
edge of the sticker or decal must be affixed within three 
inches of the bottom of the windshield. This location can 
only be used if the owner of the vehicle has chosen not to 
place any required county, town or city decal there. The 
normal location for any required county, town, or city 
decal is adjacent to the official inspection sticker and must 
not extend upward more than three inches from the bottom 
of the windshield. Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance 
(CVSA) inspection decals may be placed at the bottom or 
sides of the windshield provided such decals do not extend 
more than 4-1/2 inches from the bottom of the windshield 
and are located outside the area swept by the windshield 
wipers and outside the driver's sight line.  

Fastoll Transponder devices may be affixed to the inside 
center of the windshield at the roof line just above the rear 
view mirror. If space does not allow, then it may be affixed 
to the immediate right of the mirror at the roof line.  

Any sticker required by the laws of any other state or the 
District of Columbia and displayed upon the windshield of 
a vehicle submitted for inspection in this state is permitted 
by the Superintendent, provided the vehicle is currently 
registered in that jurisdiction and the sticker is displayed in 

a manner designated by the issuing authority and has not 
expired. This includes vehicles with dual registration; i.e., 
Virginia and the District of Columbia.  

NOTE: Fastoll Transponder devices may be affixed to the 
inside center of the windshield at the roof line just above 
the rear view mirror. If space does not allow, then it may 
be affixed to the immediate right of the mirror at the roof 
line. 

NOTE: Volvo placed a warning sticker on the windshield 
of their cars equipped with side impact air bags. In 
accordance with this paragraph the sticker shall be 
removed. If the sticker can be removed intact then it may 
be placed on the left rear window in the lower front corner. 
Customers should be referred to the nearest Safety 
Division area office for replacement if it could not be 
removed intact.  

10. EXCEPTION: Stickers or decals used by counties, 
cities and towns in lieu of license plates may be placed on 
the windshield without further authority. Except on 
privately owned yellow school buses, the sticker or decal 
shall be placed on the windshield adjacent to the right side 
of the official inspection sticker or the optional placement 
to the extreme lower left side of the windshield. The top 
edge of the sticker or decal shall not extend upward more 
than three inches from the bottom of the windshield. The 
left side edge adjacent to the official inspection sticker 
shall not be more than 1/4 inch from the right edge of the 
official inspection sticker when looking through the 
windshield from inside the vehicle. At the option of the 
motor vehicle owner, the sticker or decal may be affixed at 
the lower left corner of the windshield so that the inside or 
left edge of the sticker or decal is within one inch of the 
extreme left edge of the windshield when looking through 
the windshield from inside the vehicle. When placed at this 
location, the bottom edge of the sticker or decal must be 
affixed within three inches of the bottom of the windshield. 
Any expired sticker or decal, excluding a rejection sticker 
that is present on the windshield at the time of inspection, 
shall not be issued an approval sticker unless the 
owner/operator "authorizes" its removal. A rejection 
sticker will be issued versus an involuntary removal. On 
privately owned yellow school buses, the sticker or decal 
shall be placed on the windshield adjacent to the left side 
of the official inspection sticker, and not more than 1/4 
inch from the left edge of the official inspection sticker 
when looking through the windshield from inside the 
vehicle. The top edge of the sticker shall not extend 
upward more than three inches from the bottom of the 
windshield.  

11. 10. Sunshading material attached to the windshield 
extends more than three inches downward from the top of 
the windshield, unless authorized by a medical waiver 
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certificate the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles and 
indicated on the vehicle registration.  

NOTE: Sunshading material on windshield displaying 
words, lettering, numbers or pictures is not approved and is 
not that does not extend below the AS-1 line is permitted.  

NOTE: Vehicles with logos made into the glass at the 
factory that meet federal standards will pass state 
inspection. 

12. 11. Any sunscreening material is scratched, distorted, 
wrinkled or obscures or distorts clear vision through the 
glazing.  

13. 12. Front side windows have cloudiness above three 
inches from the bottom of the glass or other defects that 
affect the driver's vision or one or more cracks which 
permit one part of the glass to be moved in relation to 
another part. Wind silencers, breezes or other ventilator 
adaptors are not made of clear transparent material.  

EXCEPTION: Colored or tinted ventvisors that do not 
exceed more than two inches from the forward door post 
into the driver's viewing area are permitted.  

14. 13. Glass in the left front door cannot be raised or 
lowered easily so a hand signal can be given. (This does 
not apply to vehicles that were not designed and/or 
manufactured for the left front glass to be lowered, 
provided the vehicle is equipped with approved turn 
signals.) If either front door has the glass removed and 
material inserted in place of the glass that could obstruct 
the driver's vision.  

EXCEPTION: Sunscreening material is permissible if the 
vehicle is equipped with a mirror on each side.  

15. 14. Any sticker or other obstruction is on either front 
side window, rear side windows, or rear windows. (The 
price label, fuel economy label and the buyer's guide 
required by federal statute and regulations to be affixed to 
new/used vehicles by the manufacturer shall normally be 
affixed to one of the rear side windows.) If a vehicle only 
has two door windows, the labels may be affixed to one of 
these windows. If a vehicle does not have any door or side 
windows the labels may be temporarily affixed to the right 
side of the windshield until the vehicle is sold to the first 
purchaser.  

NOTE: A single sticker no larger than 20 square inches in 
area, if such sticker is totally contained within the lower 
five inches of the glass in the rear window or a single 
sticker or decal no larger than 10 square inches located in 
an area not more than three inches above the bottom and 
not more than eight inches from the rearmost edge of either 
front side window, is permissible and should not be 
rejected.  

A single sticker issued by the Department of 
Transportation to identify a physically challenged driver, 
no larger than two inches X two inches, located not more 
than one inch to the rear of the front door post, or one inch 
to the rear of the front ventilator glass, if equipped with a 
ventilator glass, and no higher than one inch from the 
bottom of the window opening, is permitted on the front 
driver's side window on a vehicle specially equipped for 
the physically challenged.  

16. 15. Rear window is clouded or distorted so that the 
driver does not have a view 200 feet to the rear. 

EXCEPTIONS: The following are permissible if the 
vehicle is equipped with a mirror on each side: 

a. There is attached to one rear window of such motor 
vehicle one optically grooved clear plastic right angle 
rear view lens, not exceeding 18 inches in diameter in the 
case of a circular lens or not exceeding 11 inches by 14 
inches in the case of a rectangular lens, which enables the 
operator of the motor vehicle to view below the line of 
sight as viewed through the rear window. 

b. There is affixed to the rear side windows, rear window 
or windows of such motor vehicle any sticker or stickers, 
regardless of size. 

c. There is affixed to the rear side windows, rear window 
or windows of such motor vehicle a single layer of 
sunshading material.  

d. Rear side windows, rear window or windows is 
clouded or distorted.  

19VAC30-70-220. Mirrors.  

INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Any motor vehicle is not equipped with at least one 
mirror.  

2. Any 1969 and subsequent model motor vehicle, 
designed and licensed primarily for passenger vehicular 
transportation, is not equipped with at least one outside and 
one inside rear view mirror.  

NOTE: The inside mirror cannot be removed on these 
vehicles even if it has an outside on each side.  

Vehicles equipped with only one outside mirror must have 
the mirror on the driver's side.  

3. EXCEPTION: No motor vehicle shall be required to be 
equipped with an inside rear view mirror if it does not have 
a rear window or if the rear window is so obstructed as to 
prevent rearward vision by means of an inside rear view 
mirror, if the motor vehicle has horizontally and vertically 
adjustable outside rear view mirrors installed on both sides 
of such motor vehicle in such a manner as to provide the 
driver of such motor vehicle a rearward clear view along 
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both sides of such motor vehicle for a distance of not less 
than 200 feet.  

4. 3. Reflecting surface of mirror is cracked, broken, 
peeled, pitted, clouded, tarnished, has sharp edges, reflects 
more than one image or a distorted image, or is not 
mounted securely.  

5. 4. Mirror does not give the driver a clear view of the 
road 200 feet to the rear.  

6. 5. Interior rear view mirror.  

a. Mirror is loose enough that rear view is impaired.  

b. Mirror cannot be adjusted or will not maintain a set 
adjustment.  

7. 6. Exterior rear view mirror.  

a. Mirror is loose enough that rear view is impaired.  

b. Left mirror is obscured by an unwiped portion of 
windshield or mirror is mounted so it cannot be adjusted 
from driver's seat. (Applies to 1969 and subsequent 
model vehicles.)  

c. A right side mirror is not required if the reflecting 
surface of the mirror has been completely removed from 
the mirror housing; however, a vehicle will be required to 
have two outside mirrors if there is a sticker or stickers, 
regardless of size, sunshading or tinting film on the rear 
side windows or rear window. 

NOTE: A single sticker no larger than 20 square inches, if 
such sticker is totally contained within the lower five 
inches of the glass of the rear window and does not 
obstruct the center high mount brake light, is allowed and 
will pass inspection. 

19VAC30-70-290. Seat belts; definitions.  

"Bus" means a motor vehicle with motive power designed to 
carry more than 10 persons.  

"Designated seating position" means any plan view (looking 
down from the top) location intended by the manufacturer to 
provide seating accommodations while the vehicle is in 
motion, except auxiliary seating accommodations as 
temporary or folding jump seats.  

"Front outboard designated seating positions" means those 
designated seating positions for the driver and outside front 
seat passenger (except for trucks which have the passenger 
seat nearest the passenger side door separated from the door 
by a passageway used to access the cargo area).  

"GVWR" means Gross Vehicle Weight Rating as specified 
by the manufacturer (loaded weight of a single vehicle).  

"Multi-purpose passenger vehicle" means a any motor 
vehicle with motive power that is (i) designed to carry no 
more than 10 persons or less which is and (ii) constructed 

either on a truck chassis or with special features for 
occasional off-road operation use. This shall include a mini-
van.  

"Open-body type vehicle" means a vehicle having no 
occupant compartment top or an occupant compartment top 
that can be installed or removed by the user at his 
convenience.  

"Passenger car" means a motor vehicle with motive power 
except a multipurpose passenger vehicle or motorcycle 
designed for carrying 10 persons or less.  

"Rear outboard front facing designated seating positions" 
means those designated seating positions for passengers in 
outside front facing seats behind the driver and front 
passenger seat, except any designated seating position 
adjacent to a walk-way, that is located between the seat and 
the near side of the vehicle and is designated to allow access 
to more rearward seating positions.  

"Truck" means a motor vehicle with motive power designed 
primarily for the transportation of property or special purpose 
equipment.  

Passive Restraint System  

A. Inflatable occupant restraint (commonly known as air 
bags).  

B. Passive belt system (automatic deployment around the 
occupant after the occupant enters the vehicle and closes the 
door).  

C. INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF Inspect for and reject 
if:  

1. Not of an approved type;  

2. Installation not in compliance as follows:  

a. All motor vehicle seat belt anchorages and attachment 
hardware must meet the standards and specifications set 
forth by the Society of Automotive Engineers, Inc., and 
Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard No. 209 (49 CFR 
571.209), for such anchorages and attachment hardware;  

b. Any questions concerning the proper installation of 
seat belt assemblies should be directed to the nearest 
Safety Division office.  

3. Any 1963 and subsequent model vehicle, designed and 
licensed primarily for private passenger use, is not 
equipped with adult safety lap belts for at least two front 
seats or a combination of lap belts and shoulder straps or 
harnesses.  

4. Any passenger car manufactured on or after January 1, 
1968, is not equipped with lap/shoulder or harness seat belt 
assemblies located at the front outboard designated seating 
positions (except in convertibles) and lap seat belt 
assemblies located at all other designated seating positions.  
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5. Any convertible passenger car manufactured on or after 
January 1, 1968, does not have a lap seat belt assembly for 
each designated seating position.  

6. Any passenger car manufactured on or after December 
11, 1989, (except convertibles) not equipped with 
lap/shoulder seat belt assemblies located at all forward 
facing rear outboard designated seating positions.  

a. Any passenger car manufactured on or after September 
1, 1991, (including convertibles) is not equipped with a 
lap/shoulder seatbelt assembly located at all forward 
facing rear outboard designated seating positions.  

b. Any truck, multipurpose vehicle, or bus (except school 
buses and motor homes) with a gross vehicle weight 
rating (GVWR) of 10,000 pounds or less, manufactured 
on or after September 1, 1991, is not equipped with a 
lap/shoulder seatbelt assembly at all forward facing rear 
outboard designated seating positions.  

c. Any of the heretofore described vehicles manufactured 
on or after September 1, 1992, are not equipped with 
lap/shoulder seatbelt assembly located at all forward 
facing rear outboard designated seating positions on a 
readily removable seat.  

7. Any of the following motor vehicles manufactured on or 
after July 1, 1971, do not have a lap seat belt assembly for 
each designated seating position:  

a. Open-body type vehicles;  

b. Walk-in van type trucks;  

c. Trucks (GVWR in excess of 10,000 pounds);  

d. Multi-purpose Multipurpose passenger vehicles 
(GVWR in excess of 10,000 pounds).  

8. Any buses manufactured on or after July 1, 1971, do not 
have a lap seat belt assembly for the driver's seating 
position.  

9. All other motor vehicles manufactured on or after 
January 1, 1976, except those for which requirements are 
specified in subdivisions 3 and 4 of this subsection, do not 
have lap/shoulder or harness seat belt assemblies installed 
for each front outboard designated seating position. Those 
vehicles originally equipped and sold by the manufacturer 
with only a lap belt installed for each designated seating 
position in compliance with Federal Motor Vehicle Safety 
Standards (49 CFR Part 571) will be deemed to be in 
compliance with this section.  

10. Any seat belt buckle, webbing, or mounting is cut, torn, 
frayed or no longer operates properly.  

11. Any seat belt anchorage is loose, badly corroded, 
missing or not fastened to belt.  

D. Safety belts (motorized). Enter the vehicle and close the 
door. Insert the key into the ignition and turn to the on 
position. A motor causes the shoulder belt to slide along a 
track (Figure 1) starting at the front body "A" pillar and 
moving rearward to its locked position at the "B" pillar. The 
seat belt warning indicator lamp should illuminate with the 
lap belt unbuckled. When the ignition is turned to the off 
position and the door is opened, the shoulder belt moves 
forward to the "A" pillar.  

NOTE: Do not reject if the motor is inoperative and the 
shoulder belt is permanently "locked" at pillar "B."  

 
E. Air bag and air bag readiness light.  

Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any defects in the air bag system are noted by the air 
bag readiness light or otherwise indicated; 

2. The air bag has been deployed and has not been replaced 
(and is not deactivated because of a medical or other 
exemption and a notice is posted to indicate that it has been 
deactivated); 

3. Any part of the air bag system has been removed from 
the vehicle; or 

NOTE: 4. If the air bag indicator fails to light or stays on 
continuously.  

NOTE: Checking the air bag readiness light. Turn the 
ignition key to the on position; the air bag readiness light 
will indicate normal system operation by lighting for six to 
eight seconds, then turning off. A system malfunction is 
indicated by the flashing or continuous illumination of the 
readiness light or failure of the light to turn on.  



Regulations  

Volume 24, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 24, 2007 

1028 

EXCEPTION: Don't reject if the air bag has been deployed 
or removed, provided the air bag warning light has been 
disabled. 

19VAC30-70-300. Muffler, exhaust system and trailer 
venting.  

A. Flexible tubing may be used anywhere in the exhaust 
system.  

B. Inspection of exhaust system does not concern noise 
level.  

C. INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF Inspect for and reject 
if:  

1. There is any leakage of exhaust gases at any point in the 
system. Do not reject "built-in" drain holes in muffler or 
tailpipe.  

2. A muffler or catalytic converter has been repaired in any 
manner. The exhaust pipe may be welded to the muffler or 
catalytic converter. Holes or cracks in the exhaust line have 
been repaired with a patch or caulking.  

NOTE: If a vehicle is inspected that does not have a 
muffler, the inspector should explain to the customer that 
although the vehicle will pass inspection without a muffler, 
it is a violation of state law for the vehicle to be operated 
on the highway without it.  

NOTE: Nissan has designed an exhaust repair for 
leak/noise at the front tube for the 2002-03 Nissan 
Pathfinders. The repair may require the application of a 
specially designed caulk to the front tube of the exhaust 
system. Since Nissan has designed the repair for their 
vehicles and trained Nissan technicians would perform the 
repair, this would be acceptable and should not be rejected. 
This exception would not preclude the rejection of exhaust 
systems repaired in a manner that is not designed or 
approved by the manufacturer and not performed by 
trained persons. 

3. Tailpipe opening is mashed or pinched.  

4. Brackets are loose, broken, or missing.  

5. The exhaust system fails to discharge the exhaust to the 
rear or sides of that part of a property-carrying-vehicle that 
is designed for and normally used for the driver and 
passengers and to the rear or sides of the passenger and 
trunk compartment of passenger vehicles.  

D. Trailers and semitrailer venting. Inspection of trailers and 
semitrailers will include a visual inspection of the venting of 
cooking or heating appliances to the outside of the trailer or 
semitrailer to determine if the heating and cooking appliances 
are adequately vented to the outside to prevent the 
asphyxiation of occupants of any trailer or semitrailer by the 
operation of the heating or cooking appliances.  

1. Reject the trailer or semitrailer if not equipped with a 
vent or venting system to the outside.  

2. Reject the trailer or semitrailer if there is any complete 
or partial obstruction of the vent or venting system.  

19VAC30-70-340. Motorcycle brakes.  

A. The inspector, if qualified to operate a motorcycle, must 
drive it into the inspection lane and test the service brakes. If 
not qualified to operate motorcycles, the inspector must 
observe the operator operate the brakes. The inspector is 
required to observe and inspect the braking system on both 
wheels if so equipped or required to be equipped.  

B. INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF Inspect for and reject 
if: 

1. Any motorcycle is not equipped with a brake, or which 
has a disconnected brake.  

2. Any motorcycle which was originally equipped with a 
service brake system on both the front or rear wheel(s) if 
the service brake system has been altered by removing or 
disconnecting any of the brake system components from 
any of the wheels.  

3. Any motorcycle manufactured after July 1, 1974, is not 
equipped with either a split service brake system or two 
independently actuated service brake systems which shall 
act on the front as well as the rear wheel or wheels.  

4. Bonded linings or disc pads are worn to less than 2/32 of 
an inch in thickness or riveted linings or disc pads are worn 
to less than 2/32 of an inch over the rivet head(s).  

5. Any lining is broken or cracked so that the lining or 
parts of the lining are not firmly attached to the shoe or 
disc pad.  

6. Grease or any other contamination cannot be 
satisfactorily removed from the lining or disc pad.  

7. Rivets in riveted linings or disc pads are loose or 
missing.  

8. A brake drum or brake disc (rotor) is scored to the extent 
that it impairs the braking system.  

9. A brake drum or brake disc is worn beyond the 
manufacturer's recommended limit. (A brake drum or 
brake disc shall under no circumstances be re-machined 
beyond the manufacturer's specifications.)  

10. Rods are bent, cotter keys or lock nuts are missing, 
cables frayed or broken or parts misaligned.  

11. When operated at 20 miles per hour on a dry, level, 
hard surface free from loose material, the brakes will not 
stop the motorcycle within 30 feet.  

12. Levers (foot and hand) do not have at least 1/3 of their 
travel as reserve after brakes are fully applied.  
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13. Any leaks in master cylinder, wheel cylinders, or any 
brake hoses or lines.  

14. Fluid level in master cylinder below full mark unless 
level recommended by manufacturer is clearly marked. A 
motorcycle that is equipped with a front and rear master 
cylinder, if one or both are not displaying the 
recommended manufacturer fluid level. 

15. Any hydraulic lines or hoses are crimped, abraded, 
broken or restricted. Any line or hose not installed so as to 
prevent damage or abrasion by contact with the frame or 
other components. There is any leakage in any hydraulic, 
air, or vacuum lines; hoses have any cracks, crimps, 
restrictions, or are abraded exposing fabric; tubing or 
connections leak, are crimped, restricted, cracked or 
broken; any valves leak or are inoperative. Reject the 
vehicle if the brake hoses or tubing are stretched or 
extended and do not allow for suspension movement. 
Brake tubing and hoses must: 

a. Be long and flexible enough to accommodate without 
damage all normal motions of the parts to which it is 
attached; 

b. Be secured against chaffing, kinking, or other 
mechanical damage; and 

c. Be installed in a manner that prevents it from 
contacting the vehicle’s exhaust system or any other 
source of high temperatures. 

19VAC30-70-350. Motorcycle seat, steering and 
suspension.  

INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Frame is bent or damaged so as to constitute a hazard in 
proper operation.  

2. Wheels are out of line to a degree steering and control is 
affected.  

3. Steering-head bearing is loose, broken, defective or out 
of adjustment.  

4. Handlebars are loose, bent, broken or damaged in such a 
manner as to affect proper steering.  

5. Shock absorbers are broken, worn, missing, defective, 
disconnected or do not function properly.  

6. Any spring in the suspension system is broken or 
sagging.  

7. If motorcycle seat or seats are not securely fastened.  

8. Any motorcycle designed to carry more than one person 
is not equipped with a footrest for each passenger.  

9. The storage battery is not attached to a fixed part of the 
motorcycle or protected by a removable cover or enclosure 
if the battery is installed in a location other than the engine 

compartment. This includes all brackets, hardware, bolts, 
and bushings used for securely mounting the storage 
battery to the motorcycle. 

a. Removable covers or enclosures shall be substantial 
and shall be securely latched or fastened. 

b. The storage battery compartment shall have openings 
to provide ample battery ventilation and drainage. 

c. Whenever the cable to the starting motor passes 
through a metal compartment, the cable shall be 
protected against grounding by an acid and waterproof 
insulating bushing. 

d. Whenever a battery and a fuel tank are both placed 
under the driver's seat, they shall be partitioned from 
each other and each compartment shall be provided with 
an independent cover, ventilation, and drainage. 

19VAC30-70-360. Motorcycle lights: headlamp, rear, 
signal, warning.  

A. Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Motorcycle is not equipped with at least one motorcycle 
headlamp.  

2. Any motorcycle headlamp is not of an approved type 
(SAE-M). A motorcycle may have one or more headlamps. 
In addition to the headlamp(s), a motorcycle may be 
equipped with not more than two auxiliary headlamps of a 
type approved (SAE-C) by the superintendent and 
identified as "auxiliary front lamps."  

3. Lens and reflector do not match except in sealed units, 
or if the lens is cracked, broken or rotated, or if the lens 
and reflector are not clean or bright.  

4. Any motorcycle lights-headlamp, rear lamp, signal or 
warning lamp has any wire, unapproved lens or plastic 
covers, any other materials that are not original equipment 
or any colored material placed on or in front of lamp or 
lens.  

5. Motorcycles may be equipped with means of modulating 
the high beam of their headlights between high and low 
beam at a rate of 200 to 280 flashes per minute, provided 
they are equipped with a switch or device that prevents 
flashing of headlights when headlights are required to be 
lighted.  

6. 5. Lamp is not focused or any filament or bulb fails to 
burn.  

7. The center of the hot spot is set more than four inches up 
or down from the horizontal centerline or more than four 
inches to the left or right from the vertical centerline.  

8. 6. Lamp is not mounted securely or if switch does not 
operate properly.  
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NOTE: Motorcycles may be equipped with means of 
modulating the high beam of their headlights between high 
and low beam at a rate of 200 to 280 flashes per minute, 
provided they are equipped with a switch or device that 
prevents flashing of headlights when headlights are 
required to be lighted.  

NOTE: The center of the hot spot is set more than four 
inches up or down from the horizontal centerline or more 
than four inches to the left or right from the vertical 
centerline.  

NOTE: Inspection is to be performed with lamp on high 
beam.  

NOTE: The use of strobe lights being placed inside the 
headlamps of police motorcycles is permitted. The strobe 
light system developed by Harley-Davidson for use in 
police motorcycle headlamps has been tested and does 
meet the current standard; therefore, strobe light systems of 
this type and similar types may be used in police 
motorcycle headlamp systems. 

B. Aiming the headlamp. All headlamps that do not comply 
with subdivision A 7 of this section shall be aimed straight 
ahead. (Zero inches up or down and zero inches to the right or 
left.)  

C. Rear lamp.  

Inspect for and reject if:  

1. The high beam indicator does not burn when the high or 
"country" beam is on or does not go off when the low 
beam is on.  

2. Motorcycle is not equipped with a rear lamp of approved 
type SAE-T-S-P-A).  

3. Lamp is not mounted near rear of vehicle, or is not 
mounted securely, or if lamp does not make a good 
electrical connection.  

4. Lenses are not red to the rear and clear or amber to the 
front or any lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may 
have one or more cracks provided an off-color light does 
not project through the crack(s).  

NOTE: With the changing technology, there are a few rear 
lamps that do not have a red lens but rather white with red 
diode bulbs that have been approved.  

NOTE: LED (light emitting diode) lights with a clear lens 
are acceptable if of an approved type. For those vehicles 
that are equipped with a multiple LED light (not filament 
burning bulbs), they will pass inspection if more than 50% 
of the diode lights are burning. 

5. Filaments in all lamps do not burn when headlamp 
switch is turned on to any position.  

6. The rear license plate is not illuminated by an approved 
license plate lamp.  

D. Signal device (intention to stop or turn).  

1. Signal devices are not required on motorcycles; 
however, if installed, they must operate and be inspected.  

2. Signal lamp lenses installed on the front of the 
motorcycle shall be amber and be located on each side of 
the vertical centerline of the motorcycle and as far apart as 
practicable and not closer than nine inches, measured from 
the optical centerline of the lamps, and to be located on the 
same level and not less than 20 inches above the ground 
plate. The optical centerline of the lamp shall not be less 
than four inches from the retaining ring of the headlamp 
unit.  

3. Signal lamps installed on the rear of the motorcycle shall 
be red or amber and shall be located on each side of the 
vertical centerline of the motorcycle as far apart as 
practicable but not closer than nine inches, measured from 
the optical centerline of the lens, and shall be located on 
the same level and not less than 20 inches above the 
ground level.  

4. Inspect for and reject if:  

a. Motorcycle, except an antique vehicle not originally 
equipped with a stop lamp, is not equipped with at least 
one stop lamp of an approved type that automatically 
exhibits a red or amber light to the rear when the brake 
control foot pedal or hand grip brake control device is 
activated. (On motorcycles manufactured prior to 
January 1, 1972, the activation of the front wheel brake 
control device is not required to activate the stop lamp.)  

b. The signal lamp is not of an approved type (SAE-D) or 
does not flash.  

c. Lens in brake lamp or signal lamp has a piece broken 
from it. (Lens in brake lamp or signal lamp may have one 
or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 
project through the crack or cracks.)  

d. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or any 
filaments do not burn.  

e. Switch is not convenient to the driver and not of an 
approved type.  

f. Signal devices are not installed as provided in 
subdivisions D 1 and 2 of this section.  

E. Warning lights.  

Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Warning lamps are not of an approved type or have been 
altered.  

2. Any lighted advertising sign is present.  
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19VAC30-70-370. Motorcycle mirror.  

INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Motorcycle is not equipped with a mirror.  

2. Reflecting surface of mirror is cracked, broken, peeled, 
pitted, clouded, tarnished, has sharp edges, or reflects more 
than one image or a distorted image.  

3. Mirror is not mounted securely.  

4. Operator does not have a view of the road 200 feet to the 
rear.  

19VAC30-70-400. Motorcycle tires, wheels, rims.  

INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Any tire has a cut or puncture, not to include a plug or 
patch that may be used as a manner of repair, or is worn so 
that the fabric is visible.  

NOTE: Plugs/patches shall be in the tread area only. 
Plugs/patches are not permitted in the side wall of the tire. 

2. Any tire has knots or bulges in any side wall or if there 
is evidence of a broken belt under the tread or of the tread 
separating from the fabric.  

3. Any bolts, nuts, lugs or spokes are bent, loose or 
missing. Rims or wheels are bent, cracked or damaged so 
as to affect the safe operation of the motorcycle.  

4. Wheel bearings are excessively worn or out of 
adjustment.  

5. Any motorcycle is equipped with a tire that has a tread 
depth measuring less than 2/32 of an inch when measured 
in accordance with the instructions set forth in subdivisions 
6, 7, and 8 of 19VAC30-70-130.  

6. Any tire is marked specifically for use other than on the 
highway such as "For Farm Use Only," or "For Off-
Highway Use Only." or "For Mobile Home Use Only." 

7. Any motorcycle tire has been recut or regrooved.  

8. Directional tires and/or wheels designed and 
manufactured to go in a certain direction or rotation are not 
installed in the proper direction of rotation. 
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19VAC30-70-430. Inspection procedure -- heavy vehicles.  

Inspection procedure -- heavy vehicles: 
1. Remove existing inspection 
sticker (all vehicles). 

2. While in right front, inspect right 
side glass and right side lug nuts, 
windshield, seat belts, and door 
latches. 

3. Drive vehicle into inspection 
lane. 

4. While in driver's seat, check left 
side glass and window crank, 
windshield, driver's seat, seat belts, 
door latches and parking or holding 
brake. Check service brake, high 
beam indicator, turn signal switch, 
air brake low air warning, air 
pressure loss, (single/combination) 
horn, windshield wiper, defroster, 
mirrors, steering lash and floor pan. 

5. Check exhaust system and fuel 
tank. 

6. Check right side marker and 
clearance reflectors. 

7. Check all rear lights (including 
brake and turn signal). Check all 
rear reflectors. 

 

8. Check left side marker, 
clearance lights and reflectors. 

9. Check all wheels for brakes, 
push rod travel, tires, rims and 
suspension. 

10. Check headlights, fog, 
driving, turn signals, other lights 
and reflectors. 

11. Check steering system, ball 
joints/king pin, shocks, springs. 

12. Open hood and check 
latching mechanism, master 
cylinder, engine mounts, and 
compressor belts. 

13. Check frame (all vehicles) 
and coupling device. 

14. Check air lines and 
couplings. Disconnect 
emergency air line (red) (left) 
and check for automatic 
operation of trailer breakaway 
brakes. Check tractor air 
protection valve. (Combination 
vehicle only). 

15. Issue approval or rejection 
sticker. 

Required lamps and reflectors on commercial vehicles. 

Lamps and reflex reflectors. Table 1 specifies the requirements for lamps, reflective devices and associated equipment by the 
type of commercial motor vehicle. The diagrams in this section illustrate the position of the lamps, reflective devices and 
associated equipment specified in Table 1. All commercial motor vehicles manufactured on or after December 25, 1968, must, 
at a minimum, meet the applicable requirements. 
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Table 1 
Required Lamps and Reflectors on Commercial Motor Vehicles 

Item on the 
vehicle Quantity Color Location Position 

Height above the 
road surface in 

millimeters (mm) 
(with English units 

in parenthesis) 
measured from the 
center of the lamp 

at curb weight 

Vehicles for 
which the 

devices are 
required 

Headlamps 2 White  Front On the front at the 
same height, with an 
equal number at each 
side of the vertical 
center line as far apart 
as practicable.  

Not less than 559 
mm (22 inches) nor 
more than 1,372 
mm (54 inches) 

A, B, C 

Turn signal 
(front)2, 12 

2 Amber At or near 
the front 

One on each side of the 
vertical centerline at 
the same height and as 
far apart as practicable. 

Not less than 381 
mm (15 inches) nor 
more than 2,108 
mm (83 inches.) 

A, B, C 

Identification 
lamps (front)1 

3 Amber Front As close as practicable 
to the top of the 
vehicle, at the same 
height, and as close as 
practicable to the 
vertical centerline of 
the vehicle (or the 
vertical centerline of 
the cab where different 
from the centerline of 
the vehicle) with lamp 
centers spaced not less 
than 152 mm (6 inches) 
or more than 305 mm 
(12 inches) apart. 
Alternatively, the front 
lamps may be located 
as close as practicable 
to the top of the cab. 

All three on the 
same level as close 
as practicable to the 
top of the motor 
vehicle. 

B, C 

Tail lamps5, 11 2 Red Rear One lamp on each side 
of the vertical 
centerline at the same 
height and as far apart 
as practicable. 

Both on the same 
level between 381 
mm (15 inches) and 
1,829 mm (72 
inches). 

A, B, C, D, E, 
F, G, H 
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Stop lamps5, 13 2 Red Rear One lamp on each side 
of the vertical 
centerline at the same 
height and as far apart 
as practicable  

Both on the same 
level between 381 
mm (15 inches) and 
1,829 mm (72 
inches). 

A, B, C, D, E, 
F, G 

2 Amber  One on each 
side of the 
front of the 
vehicle. 

One on each side of the 
vertical centerline to 
indicate overall width. 

Both on the same 
level as high as 
practicable. 

B, C, D, G, H Clearance 
lamps8, 9, 10, 15, 17 

2 Red  One on each 
side of the 
rear of the 
vehicle. 

One on each side of the 
vertical centerline to 
indicate overall width. 

Both on the same 
level as high as 
practicable. 

B, D, G, H 

Reflex reflector, 
intermediate 
(side). 

2 Amber  One on each 
side 

At or near the midpoint 
between the front and 
rear side marker lamps, 
if the length of the 
vehicle is more than 
9,144 mm (30 feet) 

Between 381 mm 
(15 inches) and 
1,524 (60 inches). 

A, B, D, F, G 

Reflex reflector 
(rear)5, 6, 8 

2 Red Rear  One on each side of the 
vertical centerline, as 
far apart as practicable 
and at the same height. 

Both on the same 
level, between 381 
mm (15 inches) and 
1,524 mm (60 
inches). 

A, B, C, D, E, 
F, G 

Reflex reflector 
(rear side) 

2 Red One on each 
side (rear). 

As far to the rear as 
practicable. 

Both on the same 
level, between 381 
mm (15 inches) and 
1,524 mm (60 
inches). 

A, B, D, F, G 

Reflex relector 
(front side)16 

2 Amber One on each 
side (front). 

As far to the front as 
practicable 

Between 381 mm 
(15 inches) and 
1,524 mm (60 
inches). 

A, B, C, D, F, G

License plate 
lamp (rear)11 

1 White At rear 
license plate 
to illuminate 
the plate 
from the top 
or sides. 

As far to the front as 
practicable 

No requirements A, B, C, D, F, G

Side marker 
lamp (front)16 

2 Amber  One on each 
side 

  Not less than 381 
mm (15 inches). 

A, B, C, D, F 
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Side marker 
lamp 
intermediate 

2 Amber One on each 
side 

At or near the midpoint 
between the front and 
rear side marker lamps, 
if the length of the 
vehicle is more than 
9,144 mm (30 feet). 

Not less than 381 
mm (15 inches). 

A, B, D, F, G 

Side marker 
lamp (rear)4, 8 

2 Red One on each 
side. 

As far to the rear as 
practicable. 

Not less than 381 
mm (15 inches), and 
on the rear of 
trailers not more 
than 1,524 mm (60 
inches). 

A, B, D, F, G 

Turn signal 
(rear)5, 12 

2 Amber 
or red 

Rear  One lamp on each side 
of the vertical 
centerline as far apart 
as practicable. 

Both on the same 
level, between 381 
mm (15 inches) and 
2,108 mm (83 
inches). 

A, B, C, D, E, 
F, G 

Identification 
lamp (rear)3, 7, 15 

3 Red  Rear One as close as 
practicable to the 
vertical centerline. One 
on each side with lamp 
centers spaced not less 
than 152 mm (6 inches) 
or more than 305 mm 
(12 inches) apart. 

All three on the 
same level as close 
as practicable to the 
top of the vehicle. 

B, D, G 

2 Amber  Front  One lamp on each side 
of the vertical 
centerline, as far apart 
as practicable. 

Both on the same 
level, between 381 
mm (15 inches) and 
2,108 mm (83 
inches). 

A, B, C Vehicular 
hazard warning 
signal flasher 
lamps5, 12 

1 or 2 Amber 
or red 

Rear  One lamp on each side 
of the vertical 
centerline, as far apart 
as practicable. 

Both on the same 
level, between 381 
mm (15 inches) and 
2,108 mm (83 
inches). 

A, B, C, D, E, 
F, G 

Backup lamp14 1 or 2 White  Rear  Rear  No requirement  A, B, C 

Parking lamp 2 Amber 
or white 

Front  One lamp on each side 
of the vertical 
centerline, as far apart 
as practicable. 

Both on the same 
level, between 381 
mm (15 inches) and 
2,108 mm (83 
inches). 

A 

Legend: Types of commercial motor vehicles shown in the last column of Table 1: 

A. Buses and trucks less than 2,032 mm (80 inches) in overall width. 
B. Buses and trucks 2,032 mm (80 inches) or more in overall width. 
C. Truck tractors. 
D. Semi-trailers and full trailers 2,032 mm (80 inches) or more in overall width except converter dollies. 
E. Converter dolly. 
F. Semi-trailers and full trailers less than 2,032 mm (80 inches) in overall width. 
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G. Pole trailers. 
H. Projecting loads. 

Note: Lamps and reflectors may be combined as permitted by equipment combinations. 

NOTES: 
1Identification lamps and reflectors may be mounted on the vertical centerline of the cab where different from the centerline 
of the vehicle, except where the cab is not more than 42 inches wide at the front roofline, then a single lamp at the center of 
the cab shall be deemed to comply with the requirements for identification lamps. No part of the identification lamps or their 
mountings may extend below the top of the vehicle windshield. 
2Unless the turn signals on the front are so constructed (doubled-faced) and located as to be visible to passing drivers, two 
turn signals are required on the rear of the truck tractor, one at each side as far apart as practicable. 
3The identification lamps need not be visible or lighted if obscured by a vehicle in the same combination. 
4Any semitrailer or full trailer manufactured on or after March 1, 1979, shall be equipped with rear side-marker lamps at a 
height of not less than 381 mm (15 inches), and on the rear of the trailers not more than 1,524 mm (60 inches) above the road 
surface, as measured from the center of the lamp on the vehicle at curb weight. 
5Each converter dolly, when towed singly by another vehicle and not as part of a full trailer, shall be equipped with one stop 
lamp, one tail lamp, and two reflectors (one on each side of the vertical centerline, as far apart as practicable) on the rear. 
Each converter dolly shall be equipped with rear turn signals and vehicular hazard warning signal flasher lamps when towed 
singly by another vehicle and not as part of a full trailer, if the converter dolly obscures the turn signals at the rear of the 
towing vehicle. 
6Pole trailers shall be equipped with two reflex reflectors on the rear, one on each side of the vertical centerline as far as 
practicable, to indicate the extreme width of the trailer. 
7Pole trailers, when towed by motor vehicles with rear identification lamps and mounted at a height gre 

ater than the load being transported on the pole trailer, are not required to have rear identification lamps. 
8Pole trailers shall have on the rearmost support for the load: (1) two front clearance lamps, one on each side of the vehicle, 
both on the same level and as high as practicable to indicate the overall width of the pole trailer; (2) two rear clearance lamps, 
one on each side of the vehicle, both at the same level and as high as practicable to indicate the overall width of the pole 
trailer; (3) two rear side marker lamps, one on each side of the vehicle, both on the same level, not less than 375 mm (15 
inches) above the road surface; (4) two rear reflex reflectors, one on each side, both on the same level, not less than 375 mm 
(15 inches) above the road surface to indicate maximum width of the pole trailer; and (5) one red reflector on each side of the 
rearmost support for the load. Lamps and reflectors may be combined. 
9Any motor vehicle transporting a load that extends more than 102 mm (4 inches) beyond the overall width of the motor 
vehicle shall be equipped with the following lamps in addition to other required lamps when operated during the hours when 
headlamps are required to be used. 

(1) The foremost edge of that portion of the load that projects beyond the side of the 

vehicle shall be marked (at its outermost extremity) with an amber lamp visible from the front and side.  

(2) The rearmost edge of that portion of the load that projects beyond the side of the vehicle shall be marked (at its outermost 
extremity) with a red lamp visible from the rear and side. 

(3) If the projecting load does not measure more than 914 mm (3 feet) from front to rear, it shall be marked with an amber 
lamp visible from the front, both sides, and rear, except that if the projection is located at or near the rear it shall be marked by 
a red lamp visible from front, side, and rear. 
10Projections beyond rear of motor vehicles. Motor vehicles transporting loads that extend more than 1,219 mm (4 feet) 
beyond the rear of the motor vehicle, or that have tailboards or tailgates extending more than 1,219 mm (4 feet) beyond the 
body, shall have these projections marked as follows when the vehicle is operated during the hours when headlamps are 
required to be used: 
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(1) On each side of the projecting load, one red side marker lamp, visible from the side, located so as to indicate maximum 
overhang. 

(2) On the rear of the projecting load, two red lamps, visible from the rear, one at each side; and two red reflectors visible 
from the rear, one at each side, located so as to indicate maximum width. 
11To be illuminated when tractor headlamps are illuminated. 
12Every bus, truck, and truck tractor shall be equipped with a signaling system that, in addition to signaling turning 
movements, shall have a switch or combination of switches that will cause the two front turn signals and the two rear signals 
to flash simultaneously as a vehicular traffic signal warning. The system shall be capable of flashing simultaneously with the 
ignition of the vehicle on or off. 
13To be actuated upon application of service brakes. 
14Backup lamp required to operate when bus, truck, or truck tractor is in reverse. 
15(1) For the purposes, the term “overall width” refers to the nominal design dimension of the widest part of the vehicle, 
exclusive of the signal lamps, marker lamps, outside rearview mirrors, flexible fender extensions, and mud flaps. 

(2) Clearance lamps may be mounted at a location other than on the front and rear if necessary to indicate the overall width of 
a vehicle, or for protection from damage during normal operation of the vehicle. 

(3) On a trailer, the front clearance lamps may be mounted at a height below the extreme height if mounting at the extreme 
height results in the lamps failing to mark the overall width of the trailer. 

(4) On a truck tractor, clearance lamps mounted on the cab may be located to indicate the width of the cab, rather than the 
width of the vehicle. 

(5) When the rear identification lamps are mounted at the extreme height of a vehicle, rear clearance lamps are not required to 
be located as close as practicable to the top of the vehicle. 
16A trailer subject to this part that is less than 1,829 mm (6 feet) in overall length, including the trailer tongue, need not be 
equipped with front side marker lamps and front side reflex reflectors. 
17A boat trailer subject to this part whose overall width is 2,032 mm (80 inches) or more need not be equipped with both front 
and rear clearance lamps provided an amber (front) and red (rear) clearance lamp is located at or near the midpoint on each 
side so as to indicate its extreme width. 

19VAC30-70-440. Service brakes. 

A. The inspector, as at a minimum, must drive all vehicles 
into the inspection lane and test both service and parking 
brakes, except vehicles the inspector is not qualified to drive. 
In these cases, the inspector will ride in the vehicle and 
observe the application of the brakes. 

B. A minimum of one wheel or one wheel and drum or dust 
cover must be removed from each vehicle at the time of 
inspection except vehicles having open brake mechanisms 
that will permit the inspection of the brake lining, or discs and 
disc pads, without removing the wheel and rim. 

WARNING: Failure to properly torque lug nuts may cause 
severe damage to the wheel. 

The inspection receipt (approval and rejection) shall be 
marked to reflect which wheel and drum or dust cover was 
removed or inspected. 

C. If any braking problem is detected, the inspector may test 
drive or require a test drive of the vehicle. 

D. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any commercial motor vehicle manufactured on or after 
October 20, 1994, is equipped with an air brake system but 
is not equipped with the proper and functioning automatic 
brake adjuster system and brake adjuster indicator. 

2. Vehicles equipped with air brakes: when the air brake 
adjustment on vehicles is equal to or exceeds values in the 
following tables for cam brakes or brake shoe travel is 
greater than 1/16" on wedge brakes when measured 
according to Illustrations #1 and #2. (See procedure in 
addition to illustrations.) 
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  TABLE 1  
MINIMUM CRITERIA FOR BRAKE 

ADJUSTMENT  
COMMERCIAL VEHICLE SAFETY ALLIANCE 

NORTH AMERICAN STANDARD OUT-OF-
SERVICE CRITERIA  

Brake adjustment shall not exceed those specifications 
contained hereunder relating to "Brake adjustment 

limit." (Dimensions are in inches.)  

  CLAMP TYPE BRAKE CHAMBER DATA 

  

Type Outside 
Diameter 

Brakes Exceeding the 
Maximum Brake 

Adjustment Limit Shall 
be Readjusted 

  6 4-1/2 
(114mm) 

1-1/4 (32mm) 

  9 5-1/4 
(133mm) 

1-3/8 (35mm) 

  12 5-11/16 
(145mm) 

1-3/8 (35mm) 

  16 6-3/8 
(162mm) 

1-3/4 (45mm) 

  20 6-25/32 
(172mm) 

1-3/4 (45mm) 

  24 7-7/32 
(184mm) 

1-3/4 (45mm) 

  30 8-3/32 
(206mm) 

2.0 (51mm) 

  36 9.0 (229mm) 2-1/4 (57mm) 

  NOTE: A brake found at the adjustment limit is not to 
be rejected.  

  LONG STROKE CLAMP TYPE BRAKE 
CHAMBER DATA 

  

Type Outside 
Diameter 

Brakes Exceeding the 
Maximum Brake 

Adjustment Limit Shall 
be Readjusted 

  12 5-11/16 
(14.5mm) 

1-3/4 (45mm) 

  16 6-3/8 
(162mm) 

2.0 (51mm) 

  20 6-25/32 
(172mm) 

2.0 (51mm) 

  24 7-7/32 2.0 (51mm) 

(184mm) 

  24* 7-7/32 
(184mm) 

2.5 (64mm) 

  30 8-3/32 
(206mm) 

2.5 (64mm) 

  *For 3" maximum stroke type 24 chambers 

  NOTE: A brake found at the adjustment limit is not to 
be rejected.  

NOTE: 3" long stroke brake chambers are identified 
by square air line ports and a trapezoidal tag attached 
to the chamber.  

  BOLT TYPE BRAKE CHAMBER DATA 

  

Type Outside 
Diameter 

Brakes Exceeding the 
Maximum Brake 

Adjustment Limit Shall 
be Readjusted 

  A (12) 6-15/16 
(176mm) 

1-3/8 (35mm) 

  B (24) -3/16 
(234mm) 

1-3/4 (45mm) 

  C (16) 8-1/16 
(205mm) 

1-3/4 (45mm) 

  D (6) 5-1/4 
(133mm) 

1-1/4 (32mm) 

  E (9) 6-3/16 
(157mm) 

1-3/8 (35mm) 

  F (36) 11.0 
(279mm) 

2-1/4 (57mm) 

  G (30) 9-7/8 
(251mm) 

2.0 (51mm) 

  NOTE: A brake found at the adjustment limit is not to 
be rejected.  

  ROTOCHAMBER DATA 

  

Type Outside 
Diameter 

Brakes Exceeding the 
Maximum Brake 

Adjustment Limit Shall 
be Readjusted 

  9 4-9/32 
(109mm) 

1-1/2 (38mm) 

  12 4-13/16 
(122mm) 

1-1/2 (38mm) 

  16 5-13/32 
(138mm) 

2.0 (51mm) 
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  20 5-15/16 
(151mm) 

2.0 (51mm) 

  24 6-13/32 
(163mm) 

2.0 (51mm) 

  30 7-1/16 
(180mm) 

2-1/4 (57mm) 

  36 7-5/8 
(194mm) 

2-3/4 (70mm) 

  50 8-7/8 
(226mm) 

3.0 (76mm) 

  NOTE: A brake found at the adjustment limit is not to 
be rejected.  

  DD-3 BRAKE CHAMBER DATA 

  

Type Outside 
Diameter 

Brakes Exceeding the 
Maximum Brake 

Adjustment Limit Shall 
be Readjusted 

  30 8-1/8 
(206mm) 

2-1/4 (57mm) 

  NOTE: This chamber has three air lines and is found 
on motor coaches.  

NOTE: A brake found at the adjustment limit is not to 
be rejected.  

  WEDGE BRAKE DATA 

  The combined movement of both brake shoe lining 
scribe marks shall not exceed 1/8 inch (3.18mm).  

PROCEDURE FOR MEASURING CAM AND WEDGE 
BRAKES AND HOW TO PROPERLY IDENTIFY 3" 

LONG STROKE CHAMBERS  

On vehicles equipped with cam brakes, mark each brake 
chamber push rod at the face of the brake chamber with the 
brakes released. Apply the air brakes fully, minimum air 
pressure of 90 to 100 psi, and measure the distance the push 
rod travels from the face of the chamber to the mark 
previously made when the brakes were released. This 
measurement is the push-rod stroke (see illustration).  

On vehicles equipped with wedge brakes, remove the 
inspection hole cover at each dust shield and with the brakes 
released, scribe a line on the edge of the brake lining. Apply 
the air brakes fully and measure the distance the brake lining 
travels. 
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3. Brake hose and tubing. There is any leakage in any 
hydraulic, air or vacuum lines; hoses have any cracks, 
crimps, restrictions, or are abraded exposing fabric into 
second ply of fabric; tubing or connections leak, are 
crimped, restricted, cracked, or broken.  

a. Hose with any damage extending through the 
reinforcement ply. Rubber impregnated fabric cover is 
not a reinforcement ply. Thermoplastic nylon may have 
braid reinforcement or color difference between cover 
and inner tube. Exposure of second color is cause for 
rejection.  

b. Bulge or swelling when air pressure is applied.  

c. Two hoses improperly joined (such as a splice made 
by sliding the hose ends over a piece of tubing and 
clamping the hose to the tube).  

d. Brake tubing and hose must: 

(1) Be long and flexible enough to accommodate without 
damage all normal motions of the parts to which it is 
attached; 

(2) Be secured against chaffing, kinking, or other 
mechanical damage; and 

(3) Be installed in a manner that prevents it from 
contacting the vehicle’s exhaust system or any other 
source of high temperatures. 

4. Service brakes.  

a. There is less than 1/5 reserve in pedal travel of the 
service brake when fully applied on all hydraulic, 
mechanical, or power-assisted hydraulic braking systems.  

b. When tested on dry, hard, approximately level road 
free from loose material at a speed of 20 miles per hour 
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without leaving a 12-foot wide lane, a distance in excess 
of the following stopping distance is obtained:  

Any bus, truck or tractor - 40 feet;  

All combinations of vehicles - 40 feet.  

c. Every motor vehicle, trailer or semitrailer is not 
equipped with operational brakes on all wheels (except as 
shown in subdivision a below) or any brake has been 
disconnected or rendered inoperative or improperly 
installed.  

(1) Road tractors, tractor trucks, or trucks if 
manufactured prior to July 25, 1980, having three or 
more axles are not required to have brakes on the steering 
axle; however, if installed must be inspected and meet all 
requirements of this section.  

(2) Missing, bent or broken mechanical components 
including: shoes, lining pads, spring, anchor pin, spiders, 
cam rollers, push rods and air chamber mounting bolts, 
air reservoirs not securely mounted or leaks.  

(3) Absence of braking action on any axle required to 
have brakes, upon application of the service brakes (such 
as missing brakes or brake shoes, failing to move upon 
application of a wedge, S-cam or disc brake).  

(4) Loose brake components including air chambers, 
spiders and cam shaft support brackets.  

(5) Audible air leak at brake chamber (example: ruptured 
diaphragm, loose chamber clamp, etc.)  

d. Linings or pads are broken or cracked so that brake 
pad is not firmly attached to the shoe or improperly 
installed or cracks on the friction surface extends to the 
open edge.  

(1) Rivets or bolts are loose or missing.  

(2) Lining or pad friction surface is saturated with oil, 
grease or brake fluid.  

e. Nonsteering axles. Lining has a thickness less than 1/4 
inch at the shoe center for air drum brakes, 1/16 inch or 
less at the shoe center for hydraulic and electric drum 
brakes and less than 1/8 inch for air disc brakes, lining 
with a thickness less than 3/16 inch for a shoe with a 
continuous strip of lining or to wear indicators if so 
equipped.  

(1) Steering axles. Lining has thickness less than 1/4 inch 
at the shoe center from drum brakes, less than 1/8 inch 
for air disc brakes and 1/16 inch or less for hydraulic disc 
and electric brakes, lining with a thickness less than 3/16 
inch for a shoe with a continuous strip of lining or to 
wear indicators if so equipped.  

(2) Mismatch across any power unit steering axle of:  

(a) Air chamber sizes.  

(b) Slack adjuster length.  

f. Thickness of riveted or bolted lining is less than 2/32 
of an inch above the rivet or bolt head(s).  

g. Any lining or pad is misaligned or does not make full 
contact with the drum or rotor.  

5. Brake Drums and Discs.  

a. Brake drums or brake discs (rotors) are worn or scored 
to the extent that their remachining would result in a 
failure to meet manufacturer's specifications.  

b. Brake drums or discs with any external crack or cracks 
that open upon brake application.  

NOTE: Do not confuse short hairline heat cracks with 
flexural cracks.  

6. Mechanical linkage.  

Any portion of the drum or rotor missing or in danger of 
falling away.  

7. Hydraulic.  

NOTE: Some motor vehicles, beginning with 1976 models, 
have a hydraulic power system that serves both the power 
assisted brakes and power assisted steering system. Some 
vehicles, beginning with 1985 models, have an integrated 
hydraulic actuation and anti-lock brake unit using only 
brake fluid.  

8. Hydraulic System Operation.  

Stop engine, then depress brake pedal several times to 
eliminate all pressure. Depress pedal with a light foot-force 
(30 pounds). While maintaining this force on the pedal, 
start engine and observe if pedal moves slightly when 
engine starts.  

Reject vehicle if pedal does not move slightly as engine is 
started while force is on brake pedal.  
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9. Condition of hydraulic booster power brake system.  

Inspect system for fluid level and leaks. Reject vehicle if 
there is insufficient fluid in the power steering pump 
reservoir; if there are broken, kinked or restricted fluid 
lines or hoses; if there is any leakage of fluid at the pump, 
steering gear or brake booster, or any of the lines or hoses 
in the system; or if belts are frayed, cracked or excessively 
worn.  

10. Integrated hydraulic booster/anti-lock system 
operation.  

With the ignition key in the off position, depress brake 
pedal a minimum of 25 times to deplete all residual stored 
pressure in the accumulator. Depress pedal with a light 
foot- force (25 lbs.). Place ignition key in the on position 
and allow 60 seconds for the brake warning light to go out 
and the electric pump to shut off.  

Reject vehicle if the brake pedal does not move down 
slightly as the pump builds pressure or if the brake and 
anti-lock warning lights remain on longer than 60 seconds.  

 
11. Condition of integrated hydraulic booster/anti-lock 
system with electronic pump.  

With the system fully charged, inspect system for fluid 
level and leaks.  

Reject vehicle if there is insufficient fluid in the reservoir; 
if there are broken, kinked or restricted fluid lines or hoses; 
or if there is any leakage of fluid at the pump or brake 
booster, or any of the lines or hoses in the system.  

12. Vacuum system operation.  

Stop engine then depress brake pedal several times to 
eliminate all vacuum in the system. Depress pedal with a 
light foot-force (25 lbs.). While maintaining this force on 
the pedal, start engine and observe if pedal moves down 
slightly when engine starts.  

Reject vehicle if pedal does not move down slightly as 
engine is started while force is on the brake pedal. In full 
vacuum-equipped vehicles, there is insufficient vacuum 
reserve for one full service brake application after engine is 
stopped.  

a. Has insufficient vacuum reserve to permit one full 
brake application after engine is shut off.  

b. Lacks an operative low-vacuum warning device as 
required.  

 
13. Condition of vacuum booster power brake system. 

a. Visual inspection. Reject vehicle if there are collapsed, 
cracked, broken, badly chafed or improperly supported 
hoses and tubes, loose or broken hose clamps.  

b. There is any leakage in the hydraulic system. (Do not 
disturb the dust boot when checking for leaking wheel 
cylinders.)  

c. Fluid level in master cylinder is below the proper level 
for the particular vehicle.  

d. There is any evidence of a caliper sticking or binding.  

14. Air brakes.  

a. Motor vehicle is equipped with air brakes and does not 
have an operating air pressure gauge.  

b. Any bus, truck, road tractor and tractor truck 
manufactured after March 15, 1975, must have a visible 
low air warning device. Those manufactured on or before 
March 15, 1975, may have either an audible or visible 
low air warning device.  

Low pressure warning device is missing, inoperative or 
does not operate at 55 psi and below or 1/2 the governor 
cut out pressure, whichever is less.  

c. Compressed air reserve is not sufficient to make one 
full service brake application after engine is stopped, or 
with system fully charged, the reservoir pressure is 
lowered more than 30% by one full brake application.  

Brake chamber push rods do not follow application of 
service brake pedal, or do not reach full released position 
(example: defective return spring).  

d. Any bus, truck, road tractor, or tractor truck 
manufactured after February 28, 1975, if equipped with a 
manually operated device to reduce or remove the 
braking effort upon its front wheels.  
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15. Electric brakes.  

a. Trailers show an amperage value more than 20% 
above or 30% below the brake manufacturer's maximum 
current rating for each brake.  

b. Ammeter shows no reading or indicator is not steady 
on application and release of brake controller.  

c. Any terminal connections are loose or dirty; wires are 
broken, frayed or unsupported; any single conductor or 
nonstranded wire or wires below size recommended by 
brake manufacturers are installed.  

d. Electrical trailer brakes do not apply automatically 
when breakaway safety switch is operated.  

e. Absence of braking action on any wheel required to 
have brakes.  

f. Missing or inoperative breakaway braking device(s).  

16. Air compressor.  

a. Compressor drive belts are in condition of impending 
or probable failure.  

b. Loose compressor mounting bolts or compressor leaks.  

c. Cracked, broken or loose pulley.  

d. Tractor protection valve(s) is defective or inoperative.  

e. Air safety relief valve is defective or inoperative.  

19VAC30-70-450. Brakes: emergency parking or holding.  

A. Some vehicles are equipped with an actual emergency 
brake, while others have only a parking or holding brake. 
Some types may be actuated by a foot or hand lever, while 
others may incorporate a switch or valve to actuate the brake. 
Air and vacuum brake systems may employ spring activating 
parking brakes.  

B. Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Vehicle or combination of vehicles is not equipped with 
a parking, holding, or emergency brake in good working 
order of the type installed as original standard factory 
equipment for the vehicle on which it is installed.  

2. The brake actuating mechanism does not fully release 
when the control is operated to the off position.  

3. Any mechanical parts are missing, broken, badly worn, 
or are inoperative.  

4. Cables are stretched, worn, or frayed or not operating 
freely.  

5. Parking brake will not hold the vehicle stationary with 
the engine running at slightly accelerated speed with shift 
lever in drive position for automatic transmission or shift 

lever in low gear with clutch engaged for standard shift 
transmission.  

6. On vehicles equipped with automatic transmissions, the 
vehicle will start in any gear other than (P) park or (N) 
neutral. If the gearshift indicator does not identify the park 
(P) and neutral (N) positions, then the vehicle shall be 
rejected.  

7. On vehicles equipped with manual transmissions, the 
vehicle will start in any gear if the clutch is not depressed 
or disengaged. 

NOTE: This will not apply to older vehicles, which were 
not originally equipped with a neutral-safety switch, clutch 
disengagement system or clutch pedal position sensor by 
the manufacturer. 

7. There are any 8. Any nonmanufactured hole(s) in the 
spring brake housing section of a parking brake. 

8. NOTE: All commercial motor vehicles manufactured 
after March 7, 1990, shall be equipped with a parking 
brake system adequate to hold the vehicle or combination 
under any condition of loading except agricultural 
commodity trailers, converter dollies, heavy haulers and 
pulpwood trailers.  

C. Battery mounting and storage. 

10. NOTE: The storage battery shall be attached to a fixed 
part of the motor vehicle or protected by a removable cover 
or enclosure if the battery is installed in a location other 
than the engine compartment. This includes all brackets, 
hardware, bolts, and bushings used for securely mounting 
the storage battery to the vehicle. 

1. Removable covers or enclosures shall be substantial and 
shall be securely latched or fastened. 

2. The storage battery compartment shall have openings to 
provide ample battery ventilation and drainage. 

3. Whenever the cable to the starting motor passes through 
a metal compartment, the cable shall be protected against 
grounding by an acid and waterproof insulating bushing. 

4. Whenever a battery and a fuel tank are both placed 
under the driver’s seat, they shall be partitioned from each 
other, and each compartment shall be provided with an 
independent cover, ventilation, and drainage. 

19VAC30-70-460. Brakes: trailer (GVWR 10,000 pounds 
or more).  

A. All trailers and semitrailers registered for or having an 
actual gross weight of 10,000 pounds or more shall be 
equipped with operational brakes acting on all wheels.  

B. INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF Inspect for and reject 
if:  
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1. Trailer brakes do not comply with provisions of 
19VAC30-70-430, 19VAC30-70-440 and 19VAC30-70-
450.  

2. Operator does not have full control over brakes.  

3. Combination will not stop as required in 19VAC30-70-
440 D 5.  

4. Trailers are not equipped with emergency breakaway 
brakes designed to:  

a. Apply automatically upon breakaway from towing 
vehicle.  

b. Remain fully applied for at least 15 minutes. 

c. Apply and release by operation of the manual 
emergency control.  

d. Apply automatically when the pressure in the towing 
vehicle reservoir is reduced to a point between 45 and 20 
PSI by a series of foot applications, when equipped with 
air brakes. 

5. NOTE: A minimum of one wheel must be removed from 
each axle equipped with brakes to inspect the brake 
components.  

Exceptions: 

a. Wheels on trailers equipped with open brake 
mechanisms are not required to be removed.  

b. The inspection receipt (approval and rejection) shall be 
marked to reflect on which side the wheel or wheels were 
pulled, drum or dust cover was removed or inspected.  

19VAC30-70-470. Steering.  

A. This system requires moving components to be checked 
for steering wheel lash, loose parts or binding. To properly 
inspect the power steering components, the engine must be 
running.  

B. Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Play at any point in the steering mechanism is excessive. 
The steering mechanism is unusually tight and binding 
when turning the steering wheel completely to the right 
and left. The steering mechanism will not turn in both 
directions, stop to stop, or steering stops have been 
removed. On certain model passenger buses, it may be 
necessary to open the inspection access door to allow 
visual inspection of the steering shaft universal joints.  

2. Power steering is defective and affects adequate steering 
of the vehicle or fluid level in reservoir is below operating 
level or if there is an obvious leak of power steering fluid. 
Do not reject for dampness. Belts do or the serpentine belt 
does not have sufficient tension or are worn, frayed, or 
missing. Damage to hoses or leaks in hoses or fittings.  

3. Any modification has been made to any part of the 
steering system that affects proper steering. A repair kit or 
preventive maintenance kit has been installed on a tie rod 
end, idler arm, ball joint, or any other part of the vehicle's 
steering gear.  

NOTE: This system requires moving components to be 
checked for steering wheel lash, loose parts or binding. To 
properly inspect the power steering components, the engine 
must be running.  

NOTE: The repair kit or preventive maintenance kit 
usually consists of a small spring and a plastic cap that is 
placed over the bolt stud of the component and held in 
place by a retaining nut. There is nothing in this paragraph 
that prohibits the replacement of parts or components of a 
motor vehicle's steering gear in order to correct 
deficiencies in the steering gear.  

4. Steering Lash/Travel-Trucks.  

a. Before inspection the vehicle must be placed on a 
smooth, dry, level surface. For vehicles equipped with 
power steering, the engine must be running and the fluid 
level, belt tension and condition must be adequate before 
testing.  

b. With road wheels in straight ahead position, turn 
steering wheel until motion can be detected at the front 
road wheels. Align a reference mark on steering wheel 
with a mark on a ruler and slowly turn steering wheel in 
the opposite direction until motion can be detected at the 
front road wheel. Measure lash at steering wheel. Special 
lash-checking instruments are also available, measuring 
free play in inches or degrees. Such instruments should 
always be mounted and used according to the 
manufacturer's instructions. With vehicle raised, visually 
inspect steering linkage, ball studs, tie rod end socket 
assemblies and all pivot points. NOTE: On vehicles with 
power steering, engine must be running.  

c. Reject vehicle if steering wheel movement exceeds:  

Steering Wheel Size and Lash  
  Manual Steering Power Steering 

  16 in. or less - 4 1/2 
in.(11.5cm) 

16 in. or less - 2 in. 
(5.1cm) 

  18 in. -4 3/4 in. 
(12.0cm) 

18 in. - 2 1/4 in. 
(5.4cm) 

  20 in. - 5 1/4 in. 
(13.5cm) 

20 inches - 2 1/2 in. 
(6.4cm) 

  22 in. - 5 3/4 in. 
(14.5cm) 

22 inches - 2 3/4 in. 
(7.0cm) 
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  Steering wheel 
diameter 

Manual steering system 

  16 inches or less 2 inches (51 mm) 

  18 inches 2 1/4 inches (57 mm) 

  19 inches 2 3/8 inches (60 mm) 

  20 inches 2 1/2 inches (64 mm) 

d. Reject vehicle if visual inspection reveals excessive 
wear and/or looseness in any ball stud, end assembly, 
pivot point or mechanical linkage.  

 

 

5. Any modification or replacement has been made to the 
steering wheel which affects proper steering. It shall be 
rejected if it is of a smaller size than the original factory 
equipment.  

6. Steering column has any missing or loose bolts or 
positioning parts, resulting in motion of the steering 
column from its normal position. Steering shaft universal 
joints are loose or exhibit any abnormal movement when 
shaft is rotated. Any welded repairs are made to the 
steering system, steering column, steering gear box, pitman 
arm or universal joints. Any movement of a steering nut 
under steering load.  

7. Any missing or loose bolts or other parts resulting in 
motion of the steering gear box at the point of attachment 
to the vehicle's frame.  

8. Any looseness of the pitman arm on the steering gear 
box, output shaft or gear box.  

9. Any control arm bushing is missing.  

10. Any vehicle equipped with an idler arm shows 
excessive looseness.  

11. Any motion, other than rotational, between any linkage 
member and its attachment point of more than 1/8 inch 
measured with hand pressure only.  

12. Loose clamps, clamp bolts on tie rod ends or drag 
links.  

13. Any looseness in any threaded joint.  

14. Loose or missing nut on tie rods, pitman arm, drag ink, 
steering arm or tie rod ends.  

15. Wheel bearings/steering linkage.  

a. With the front end of vehicle lifted properly, push pads 
away from rotor on disc brakes, and grab front tire at top 
and bottom, rock vigorously in and out and record 
movement. Wheel bearing looseness is detected by the 
relative movement between the brake drum or disc and 
the backing plate or splash shield.  

(1) Reject vehicle if relative movement between drum 
and backing plate (disc and splash shield) is more than 
1/4 inch measured at the outer circumference of the tire 
for vehicles more than 10,000 pounds GVWR.  

(2) Reject vehicle if any wheel bearing is excessively 
worn or not properly adjusted; any cotter key or other 
locking device is missing or inoperative.  

b. Steering linkage play. First eliminate all wheel bearing 
movement by applying service brake. With vehicle lifted 
as shown below and wheels in straight ahead position, 
grasp front and rear of tire and attempt to move assembly 
right and left without moving the steering gear.  

Reject vehicle if measured movement at front or rear of tire 
is greater than:  

Wheel size: 16 inches or less  - 1/4 inch (6.5mm) 

 17 to 18 inches  - 3/8 inch (9.5mm) 

 over 18 inches  - 1/2 inch (13mm) 
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c. Kingpin play King pin. If vehicle is equipped with 
kingpins king pins, first eliminate all wheel bearing 
movement by applying service brake. With front end 
lifted as illustrated for inspecting wheel bearings, (Figure 
C) grasp the tire at the top and bottom and attempt to 
move in and out to detect looseness. Measure the 
movement at the top or bottom of the tire at the outer 
circumference.  

 

 

 

 

Reject vehicle if measured movement at top or bottom of tire is greater than:  
  Wheel size: 16 inches or less  - 1/4 inch 

    17 to 18 inches  - 3/8 inch 

    over 18 inches  - 1/2 inch 

  

 
  Proper lifting for wheel bearing, steering linkage looseness, and kingpin king play action 

  FIGURE A FIGURE B  FIGURE C 

            

16. NOTE: Ball joint wear: There is a trend among U.S. automobile manufacturers toward the use of "wear-indicating" ball 
joints on light trucks. Many vehicles on the road, however, do not have wear-indicating ball joints. The inspection of both 
types will be discussed.  
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Figures 1, 2, 3 and 4 below illustrate the proper hoisting for checking ball joints.  
  

 

 
a. NOTE: To check ball joint wear on vehicles when the 
spring is supported on the upper control arm or when the 
spring is a part of a MacPherson strut or wear in any 
other type suspension not using ball joints when the front 
wheels are suspended on a solid axle, the vehicle must be 
hoisted as shown in Figure 1 or 2.  

b. NOTE: Upper control arm must be stabilized in 
normal load carrying position by means of an upper 
control or other support tool to insure ball joint is in 
unloaded position.  

c. NOTE: To check ball joint wear on vehicles not listed 
in above referred to section and diagram or tables when 
the spring is supported on the lower control arm; and to 
check the kingpin wear in any other type suspension not 
previously described when the wheels are independently 
suspended, the vehicle must be hoisted as shown in 
Figure 3 or 4.  

17. 16. Vehicles without wear indicator ball joint.  

a. Reject vehicle if there is noticeable play in the lower 
ball joint when hoisted as in Figures 1 or 2, or in the 
upper ball joint when hoisted as in Figures 3 or 4. If play 
is detected in any ball joint without “wear-indicating” 
ball joints, it will be necessary for the inspection to be 
made in accordance with the manufacturer’s 
recommended procedures and specifications prior to 
rejecting the vehicle. 

b. Reject vehicle if there is lateral movement in either 
front wheel in excess of 1/4 inch measured at the outside 
of the tire up to and including a 16-inch wheel; or in 
excess of 3/8 inch when the wheel is over 16 inches. This 
check must be made by grasping the tire at the extreme 
top and bottom and moving the wheel laterally across the 
surface. If play is noted, accurate measurement must be 
made by using the block test or with an accurate 
measuring device. No rejection should be made unless 
the specified tolerances are exceeded. If there are no 
manufacturer’s recommended procedures and 
specifications, the lower ball joints will be checked when 
hoisted as in Figures 1 or 2, or in the upper ball joints 
when hoisted as in Figures 3 or 4. There should be no 
noticeable play detected in the ball joints when checked 
in this manner. 

c. Reject vehicle if play exceeds the manufacturer’s 
specifications. It is recommended that inspectors use a 
dial indicator or ball joint checking gauge when checking 
for play of a ball joint when procedures and 
specifications are provided by the manufacturer. 

18. 17. Ball joints with wear indicators (trucks). Support 
vehicle with ball joints loaded (in normal driving attitude). 
Wipe grease fitting and checking surface free of dirt and 
grease. Determine if checking surface extends beyond the 
surface of the ball joint cover. 
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Reject vehicle if checking surface is flush with or inside the cover surface.  
 

 

 

19. 18. Any vehicle inspected in accordance with the 
recommendation of the manufacturer of such vehicle and  

found to be within the specification shall be deemed to 
meet inspection regulations.  

19VAC30-70-490. Frame, engine mounts, coupling devices 
and emergency chains. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Frame of any bus, truck, truck tractor truck is cracked, 
loose, broken or sagging. Frame of any trailer or semi-
trailer has any broken or, cracked, loose, or sagging top or 
bottom frame rails or frame is cracked or broken.  

2. Engine, transmission or cab mounts are , to include all 
hardware, bolts, and bushings used to connect the mount to 
the vehicle, frame, engine, or transmission are broken or 
missing. Cab mounts should be rejected if they do not 
properly secure the body to the frame.  

3. Trailer hitch or pintle hook is not securely attached. 
Reject if the pintle eye or trailer drawbar has any cracks or 
if any welding repairs have been made to the pintle eye.  

4. Chains, cables, etc., used to attach a towed vehicle are 
not securely attached, or are broken, worn or abraded.  

5. Fifth wheel does not lock in position or have a locking 
mechanism that is in proper working order.  

NOTE: Reject if horizontal movement exceeds 1/2 inch 
between upper and lower fifth wheel halves.  

6. Fifth wheel assembly system has any leak of fluid or air.  

7. Fifth wheel has any broken, missing, or damaged parts; 
or is not securely attached to the frame. This includes fore 
and aft stops.  

8. Trailer kingpin king pin is not secure, or is broken, or 
worn so as to prevent secure fit in fifth wheel. The upper 
coupler device is not securely attached.  

9. Any cracks, breaks or damaged parts in the stress or load 
bearing areas of a coupling device.  

10. Trailer is not equipped with an emergency chain 
chain(s) or chains steel cable(s).  

NOTE: Fifth wheel assembly does not require emergency 
chains chain or steel cable. A fifth wheel is defined as a 
device that interfaces with and couples to the upper coupler 
assembly of a semitrailer. The upper coupler assembly is a 
structure consisting of an upper coupler plate, kingpin king 
pin and supporting framework which interfaces with and 
couples to a fifth wheel. Ball and socket connections also 
referred to as hitch and coupling connections are not fifth 
wheel assemblies and do require safety chains an 
emergency chain or steel cable.  

11. Reject if sliding Sliding trailer tandem or multi-axle 
assemblies do not lock in place or have worn, broken or 
missing parts.  
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19VAC30-70-500. Tires, wheels, rims.  

Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Any tire is marked specifically for use other than on the 
highway, such as "For Farm Use Only," or "For Off-
Highway Use Only," or any tire marked "Not for Steering 
Axle." or "For Mobile Home use only." 

2. A radial tire is mismatched on the same axle with a bias 
ply tire or a bias belted tire.  

3. Bias ply or bias belted tires are used on the rear axle 
when radial ply tires are used on the front axle. Except:  

a. On a two-axle vehicle equipped with truck tires with 
20-inch rim diameter and larger. Bias or radial tires may 
be used on either axle if the vehicle has dual rear wheels 
or is equipped with wide-base single tires.  

b. Either bias or radial tires may be used on the steering 
axle of vehicles with three or more axles.  

4. Bias tires and radial tires are mixed in a tandem-drive 
axle combination on a vehicle equipped with truck tires 
with 20-inch rim diameter and larger.  

5. Any tire on the front wheel of a bus, truck or any tractor 
truck has a tread groove pattern of 4/32 inch or less when 
measured at any point on a major tread groove.  

6. Any bus has regrooved, recapped or retreaded tires on 
the front wheels.  

7. Any motor vehicle, trailer or semitrailer, except the dual 
wheels installed on motor vehicles having seats for more 
than seven passengers: (i) operated wholly within a 
municipality, or (ii) operated by urban and suburban bus 
lines, which are defined as bus lines operating over 
regularly scheduled routes and the majority of whose 
passengers use the buses for traveling a distance of not 
exceeding 40 miles, measured one way, on the same day 
between their place of abode and their place of work, 
shopping areas, or schools, is equipped with a tire that has 
a tread depth measuring less than 2/32 of an inch when 
measured as follows: NOTE: The exemptions provided in 
clauses (i) and (ii) of this paragraph do not apply to buses 
owned or operated by any public school district, private 
school or contract operator of buses.  

8. NOTE: Measure in two adjacent tread grooves where 
tread is thinnest. If either of the grooves measure 2/32 of 
an inch or more, no further measurements are necessary 
and tread depth is satisfactory. Do not measure on tread 
wear indicators.  

If both adjacent grooves measure less than 2/32 of an inch, 
the tire tread depth must be measured again at two 
additional equally spaced intervals around the 
circumference of the tire in a like manner as the first 
measurement. If the tread depth is less than 2/32 of an inch 

in two adjacent tread grooves at each of the equally spaced 
intervals, the tire must be rejected.  

NOTE: Refer to Figures 1, 2, 3, and 4 in this section for 
illustrations of how to measure tire tread.  
MEASURE WHERE THE TREAD IS THINNEST IN 
TWO ADJACENT TREAD GROOVES 

 
FIGURE 1 

IF THE DEPTH IS LESS THAN 2/32-INCH IN 
BOTH GROOVES MEASURE AT TWO 
ADDITIONAL EQUALLY SPACED INTERVALS 

9. 8. A tire equipped with tread wear indicators if found to 
have such indicators in contact with the pavement in any 
two adjacent grooves at three equally spaced intervals 
around the circumference of the tire. Refer to Figure 2.  
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REJECT IF THE TREAD WEAR INDICATORS 
ARE IN CONTACT WITH THE PAVEMENT IN 
ANY TWO ADJACENT GROOVES AT THREE 
EQUALLY SPACED LOCATIONS 

 
FIGURE 2 

10. 9. Any tire has a cut to the extent a ply or belt material 
is exposed or puncture, not to include a plug or patch that 
may be used as a manner of repair. 

NOTE: Plugs/patches shall be in the tread area only. 
Plugs/patches are not permitted in the sidewall of the tire.  

11. 10. Any tire is worn so that the fabric or steel cord is 
visible.  

12. 11. Any tire has knots or bulges in its sidewalls or if 
there is evidence of a broken belt under the tread, or if the 
tread is separating from the fabric.  

13. 12. Any tire which that has been recut or regrooved 
except commercial tires so designed and constructed to 
provide for acceptable and safe recutting and regrooving. 
Each tire that has been regrooved must be labeled with the 
word "Regroovable" molded on or into the tire on both 
sidewalls in raised or recessed letters.  

14. 13. Any tire is flat or has an audible air leak.  

15. 14. Any tire so mounted or inflated that it comes into 
contact with its mate or any parts of the vehicle.  

16. 15. Rims, or lock rings or wheels are bent, cracked or 
damaged so as to affect safe operation of the vehicle. 
Reject if lug nut holes are elongated (out of round).  

17. 16. Any bolts, nuts, lugs or other fasteners (both spoke 
and disc wheels) are loose, broken, cracked, stripped, 
missing or damaged or otherwise ineffective.  

18. 17. Any welded repair on aluminum wheel(s) on a 
steering axle or any welded repair (other than disc to rim 

attachment) on steel drive wheel(s) mounted on the 
steering axle.  

18. Directional tires and/or wheels, designed and 
manufactured to go in a certain direction of rotation not 
installed in the proper direction of rotation. 
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19VAC30-70-510. Headlamps.  

A. INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF Inspect for and reject 
if: 

1. Any motor vehicle is not equipped with headlamps of an 
approved type. The approval designation letter that must 
appear is DOT or SAE-H, HG, HH or HR.  

2. Headlights are not of the same approved type except 
sealed beam headlamps. At least two headlamps are 
required. 

3. In any headlamp the lens is cracked, broken, discolored, 
or rotated away from the proper position, or the reflector is 
not clean and bright. A clear plastic headlight assembly 
lens with a crack may be repaired by procedures similar to 
that required of a windshield repair. The inside reflector 
surface must be in satisfactory condition and the repair 
cannot effect the headlight aim pattern when checked with 
an approved headlight aiming machine. This repair does 
not apply to headlamps and headlamp assembly lenses that 
are designed where the aiming pattern is part of the lens. 

4. Moisture or water buildup in headlamp is such that it 
affects the aimable aiming pattern. 

5. Lens is other than clear. 

6. Bulbs are not of an approved type (must have DOT 
stamp and the manufacturer's name) or are over 32 
candlepower. (Sealed beam lamps including the ones that 
permit the use of a replacement halogen bulb are the only 
lamps approved with over 32 candlepower.) Ordinary 
lenses and reflectors were not designed for over 32 
candlepower bulbs. 

NOTE: The Sylvania 9003 (HB2), 9004 (HB1), 9005 
(HB3) and 9006 (HB4) Cool Blue xenon bulbs were found 
to comply with FMVSS 108. There is a noticeable blue tint 
around the outside of the lamp pattern but the concentrated 
light is white. Only the Sylvania has approval and is 
marked with DOT. 

7. Any filament or bulb in headlamps fails to burn properly 
or headlamps are not at the same location or configuration 
as designed by the manufacturer. (Location and type of 
headlamps can be found in subsection B of this section.) 

8. Wiring is dangling or connections are loose, or if proper 
filaments do not burn at different switch positions, or if 
switches -- including foot or hand dimmer -- do not 
function properly, and are not convenient to the driver. 

9. Foreign material is placed on or in front of the headlamp 
lens or interferes with the beam from the lamp. No glazing 
may be placed over or in front of the headlamps unless it is 
a part of an approved headlamp assembly. 

a. Reject if the vehicle has wire, unapproved plastic 
covers, any other materials that are not original 

equipment or any colored material placed on or in front 
of the headlamps. 

b. EXCEPTION: A clear impact film known as 
Headlight Savers produced by Grand Prix Motoring 
Accessories may be applied to the headlight lens to 
absorb impact of rocks, etc. 

NOTE: Headlamps, auxiliary driving lamps and front fog 
lamps shall be mounted so that the beams are aimable and 
the mounting shall prevent the aim of the lighting device 
from being disturbed while the vehicle is operating on 
public roads. All lamps shall be securely mounted on a 
rigid part of the vehicle. 

10. Lamps can be moved easily by hand due to a broken 
fender or loose support, or if a good ground is not made by 
the mounting.  

Headlamps, auxiliary driving lamps and front fog lamps 
shall be mounted so that the beams are aimable and the 
mounting shall prevent the aim of the lighting device from 
being disturbed while the vehicle is operating on public 
roads. All lamps shall be securely mounted on a rigid part 
of the vehicle.  

11. A headlamp visor is over two inches long unless part of 
the original body design. 

12. The beam indicator in the driver's compartment does 
not burn when the high or "country" beam is on. (Vehicles 
not originally equipped with an indicator are not required 
to comply unless sealed beam headlamps have been 
installed.) 

13. Headlamps are not aimed within the following 
tolerances using optical aimer: 

a. The center of the hot spot of all Type 1 lamps, all 
single element high beam lamps, and all lamps that do 
not have Type 2 embossed in the lens, is set more than 
four inches up or down from the horizontal centerline or 
more than four inches to the left or right from the vertical 
centerline. 

b. The left edge of the lamp pattern of any low beam 
lamp or any combination or multielement lamp or Type 2 
lamp is more than four inches to the left or right of the 
vertical centerline or the top edge of the lamp pattern is 
more than four inches above or below the horizontal 
centerline. 

Aiming the Headlamps: 

14. NOTE: Headlamps shall be checked for proper aim by 
using either an optical or a mechanical headlamp aimer on 
every motor vehicle inspected. 
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Optical Aimer: 

15. NOTE: Approved optical headlamp machines may be 
used to properly aim any of the headlamps. Optical aimers 
must be properly calibrated and used in the manner 
recommended by the manufacturer. 

16. NOTE: When aiming headlamps, first look for the type 
of lamp, which will be found embossed on the lens. The 
type determines which aiming requirements must be 
followed for the optical aimer. 

17. NOTE: All Type 2 headlamps and all low beam or 
multielement headlamps must be set by aiming the lamp 
pattern with the lamps set on low beam. 

NOTE: If attempting to align a composite or sealed beam 
lamp with a high and low beam within the same housing, 
align only the low beam. If aligning a four-lamp system 
with high and low beams in separate housings, it may be 
necessary to cover the low beam while aligning the high 
beam, if all four lamps are on at the same time. 

18. NOTE: Pattern should be aimed so that the left edge 
does not extend to the left or right of straight ahead, and 
the top of the pattern should be even with the horizontal. 

NOTE: All VOL and VOR headlamps will be aimed as 
follows: 

To properly aim a combination multielement or low beam 
VOL or VOR headlamp assembly, the headlamp pattern 
should be aimed on low beam only. 

Letters marked on the headlamp cover should properly 
identify VOL and VOR headlamps. 

NOTE: VOL and VOR headlamps will normally have only 
one adjustment, which will be for the vertical aim only. 
The horizontal aim should be disregarded, as the horizontal 
aim is preset at the factory. 

Pattern "A" represents the light pattern, as it should appear 
on the view screen of the approved aimer when checking 
the low beam pattern on a single element headlamp or a 
combination multi-element headlamp. 

 

19. NOTE: All Type 1 headlamps and all headlamps that 
do not have Type 2 embossed in the lens shall be set by 
aiming the center of the hot spot with the lamps set on high 
beam. 

20. NOTE: Aim straight ahead-center of the hot spot 
should be centered with the vertical and horizontal 
centerlines. 

Pattern "B" represents the light pattern as it should appear 
on the view screen of the approved aimer. 

 
21. NOTE: The four headlamp system combines four 5-
3/4-inch lamps in pairs.  

22. NOTE: One lamp embossed at the top as Type "1" and 
one embossed on the top as a Type "2" are arranged as a 
pair on each side.  

23. NOTE: When lamp pairs are mounted horizontally, the 
Type "2" lamp must be on the outer side.  

24. NOTE: The four headlamp system must be wired so 
that only the lower beam in the Type "2" lamps will burn 
when the light beams are depressed. When switched to 
high beams, both the Type "1" and Type "2" will burn.  

NOTE: Light patterns shown on the following page will be 
displayed on the most recently approved light machines 
produced by Hopkins and Symtech Corporations. 

Mechanical Aimers:  

25. NOTE: Mechanical aimers can be used to aim only 
those headlamps that have "aiming" pads molded into the 
lens.  

26. NOTE: Mechanical aimers must be properly calibrated 
and used in the manner recommended by the manufacturer.  

27. NOTE: Turn on headlamps and check all filaments—
both high and low beam. Turn off headlamps before 
checking for adjustments. Do not turn on headlamps while 
mechanical aimers are attached to the headlamp.  

Aiming the Headlamps (Mechanical Aimer):  
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28. NOTE: All headlamps that are found not to be within 
the 4 inch tolerance shall be adjusted to zero inches up or 
down and zero inches to the right or left.  

Headlamps on Vehicles used for Snow Removal:  

29. NOTE: Approved auxiliary headlamps (SAE-Z) may 
be mounted above the conventional headlamps. (These 
lamps must be in compliance with 19VAC30-70-140, in its 
entirety, 19VAC30-70-150, subdivision 7, and 19VAC30-
70-170, subsection A, of this manual.)  

B. INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF Inspect for and reject 
if:  

1. Lamps are not approved type headlamps.  

2. Lamps are not mounted in a manner that will permit 
proper aiming.  

3. Lamps are mounted so as to obstruct the driver's vision.  

4. The auxiliary headlamp circuit does not contain a switch 
that will deactivate the primary headlamp system when the 
auxiliary headlamps are in use.  

5. Auxiliary headlamps are not aimed in accordance with 
the provisions of this section.  

 

 

HEADLAMP PATTERNS 
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NOTE: ALWAYS inspect the following sealed beam and 
replacement bulb headlamps on LOW BEAM only:  

- 5-3/4 inch, marked Type 2 or 2CI  

- 7 inch, marked Type 2 or 2DI  

- 6-1/2 X 4-1/4 inch rectangular, marked Type 2QA or 
2A1  

- 2000 X 142mm rectangular, marked Type 2B or 2B1  

19VAC30-70-520. Rear lamps: tail lamp; license plate 
lamps; and rear lamp combinations.  

A. INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF Inspect for and reject 
if: 

1. Vehicle is not equipped with a rear (tail lamp) or rear 
lamp combination of an approved type and the light or 
light assembly does not work as approved. The approval 
designation letters that must appear are DOT or SAE-A-I-
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S-T-P for single lamps and DOT or SAE-A-I-S-T-P-R if a 
backup light is incorporated.  

NOTE: Any combination of letters must be preceded by 
the manufacturer's name and followed by the two-digit 
year when manufactured. If either the manufacturer and/or 
two-digit year is not present, then reject. 

2. The vehicle is equipped with more than one rear lamp, if 
all are not in operating condition. 

3. The vehicle is not equipped with a license plate lamp of 
an approved type (DOT or SAE-L) which emits a white 
light. The license plate lamp may be a separate lamp or 
part of a combination rear lamp. (A road tractor or tractor-
truck that does not have a rear license plate is not required 
to have a license plate lamp.) 

4. Lens for license plate lamp is not clear illuminated by an 
approved license plate lamp that admits a white light. 

5. Lens on rear lamps, or lens area in combination rear 
lamps (tail lamps) are not red or contain a dot DOT of 
another color. LED (light emitting diode) lights with a 
clear lens are acceptable, if of an approved type. For those 
vehicles that are equipped with a multiple LED light (not 
filament burning bulbs), they will pass inspection if more 
than 50% of the diode lights are burning. 

6. Lens has piece broken from it or does not fit properly. 
The lens may have one or more cracks provided an off-
color light does not project through the crack(s).  

NOTE: Taping or gluing cracks or pieces is not allowed. 

7. Filament in all rear (tail) lamps does not burn when 
headlamp switch is turned on to any position, or if lamps 
do not provide a red light visible to the rear through an 
approved red lens as annotated in subdivision 1 of this 
subsection.  

8. Rear (tail) lamp is not mounted near extreme rear of 
vehicle. Dump trucks and other specially constructed 
vehicles may mount the rear lamp at a point other than on 
the extreme rear, provided such rear lamp is clearly visible 
from the rear, and further provided that a red reflector of an 
approved type is mounted on the extreme rear. In unusual 
cases, the rear lamp may be mounted on the cab. Reject if 
the lamp is hidden by a bolster or other part of the body or 
frame, is not mounted securely, or if the lamp does not 
make a good electrical contact. 

9. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 
filaments do not burn. 

10. Any vehicle has unapproved lens or plastic covers, any 
other materials that are not original equipment or any 
colored material placed on or in front of rear lamps, tail 
lamps, license plate lamps or rear lamp combinations.  

19VAC30-70-530. Auxiliary lamps: backup; cornering; 
driving; fog; spot and warning.  

A. Auxiliary lamps on a vehicle consist of seven general 
types: backup lamps (SAE-R), cornering lamps (SAE-K), 
driving lamps (SAE-Y), front fog lamps with an amber or 
clear lens (SAE-F) and rear fog lamps with red lens (SAE-
F2), spot lamps (SAE-O), warning lamps (SAE-W), and 
daytime running lamps (DRLs) (SAE-Y2). 

1. School buses may be equipped with an eight-lamp 
warning system of two red and two amber warning lamps 
of an approved type (SAE-W2) on the front and rear of 
such vehicle. 

a. In addition to required warning lamps, school buses 
may be equipped with a stop signal arm consisting of an 
octagonal sign that meets FMVSS specifications (Federal 
Motor Vehicle Safety Standards, 49 CFR Part 571). The 
stop signal arm shall be reflectorized or be equipped with 
two red warning lamps of an approved type. 

b. School buses may also be equipped with roof mounted 
flashing white or amber warning lamps of an approved 
type (SAE-W2). 

2. Reject if the vehicle has wire, unapproved plastic covers, 
any other materials that are not original equipment or any 
colored material placed on or in front of any auxiliary 
lamps-backup, cornering, driving, fog, spot or warning 
lamps. 

EXCEPTION: Any lighting device that is both covered and 
not illuminated, other than lamps required or permitted by 
this manual, shall not be considered for inspection. Fog 
and driving lamps mounted below the level of the regular 
headlights must be checked for aim as outlined in 
subdivisions H K 10 i and H K 11 g of this section, if not 
covered. 

NOTE: The covers shall be a type that would be installed 
as original equipment and not tape, paper bags, aluminum 
foil or similar materials. 

B. There is no limit on the number of backup lamps that a 
vehicle may have so long as they are of an approved type 
(SAE-R). 

C. No more than four lamps, including two headlamps may 
be lighted at any time to provide general illumination ahead 
of the vehicle. 

D. Approved type (DOT or SAE-W) blue or blue and red 
lights are permitted on Department of Corrections vehicles 
designated by the Director of the Department of Corrections 
and any law-enforcement vehicle. 

E. Approved type blue or blue and red lights as well as 
approved type hide-away or undercover strobe warning lights 
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are permissible for use on Department of Corrections and any 
law-enforcement vehicles. 

1. Approved type secondary warning lights installed only 
on the four corners, on Department of Corrections and any 
law-enforcement vehicles, fire apparatus, government-
owned vehicle operated on official business by a local fire 
chief or other local fire official, rescue squad vehicle, 
ambulance, or any other emergency medical vehicles. 
These lights shall also have primary warning lights 
installed. 

2. The hide-away or undercover strobe lights shall be 
installed in the side marker lights, tail lights or parking 
lights. The strobe itself must be clear and the lens color 
must continue to be the same type and color as originally 
approved. It will not be permissible to install the hide-away 
lights in the headlights or in the backup lights. 

F. Approved type (SAE-W) red warning lights or red and 
white lights showing to the front are permitted on fire 
department vehicles, including publicly owned state forest 
warden vehicles, ambulances, any rescue vehicle used for 
emergency calls, local Departments of Emergency 
Management, animal warden vehicles, school buses and 
vehicles used by security personnel at the Newport News 
Shipbuilding and Drydock Company, Bassett-Walker, 
Incorporated, the Tultex Corporation, or the Winchester 
Medical Center, or the National Aeronautics and Space 
Administration’s Wallops Flight Facility. 

G. No more than two flashing or steady-burning red or 
combination red and white lights of an approved type may be 
installed on one vehicle owned by any member of a fire 
company, volunteer fire company, volunteer rescue squad or 
any ambulance driver employed by a privately owned 
ambulance service.  

H. Vehicles mentioned in subsections D, E and F permitted 
to be equipped with flashing, blinking or alternating red, red 
and white, blue, or blue and red emergency lights (except 
vehicles owned by any member of a fire company, volunteer 
fire company, volunteer rescue squad or an ambulance driver 
employed by a privately owned ambulance service) may be 
equipped with the means to flash their headlamps when their 
emergency warning lamps are activated provided: 

1. The headlamps are wired to allow either the upper beam 
or lower beam to flash but not both and; 

2. The headlamp system includes a sensor that prevents 
flashing of headlamps when headlamps are required to be 
lighted pursuant to current statute. 

Emergency vehicles in Chesapeake, Poquoson, and York 
County may be equipped with flashing headlights that will 
function whenever their warning lights are activated. 

I. Any fire vehicle used exclusively for fire fighting, any 
ambulance or rescue or lifesaving vehicle used for the 

principal purpose of emergency relief or any wrecker used for 
the principal purpose of towing disabled vehicles may be 
equipped with clear auxiliary lamps that shall be used 
exclusively for lighting emergency scenes. Such lamps shall 
be of a type permitted by the Superintendent. Any 
government-owned police vehicle may be equipped with clear 
auxiliary lamps of a type approved by the Superintendent. 

J. Approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 
alternating lights are permitted on vehicles used for the 
principal purpose of towing or servicing disabled vehicles or 
in constructing, maintaining and repairing highways or 
utilities on or along public highways and vehicles used for the 
principal purpose of removing hazardous or polluting 
substances from the state waters or drainage areas on or along 
public highways. Such lamps are permitted on vehicles used 
for servicing automatic teller machines, refuse collection 
vehicles, hi-rail vehicles and on vehicles used for towing or 
escorting over-dimensional materials, equipment, boats, or 
manufactured housing units by authority of highway hauling 
permit. 

1. Approved type (DOT or SAE-W) amber, red, and red 
and white flashing, blinking or alternating warning lights 
are permitted on fire apparatus, ambulances, and rescue 
and life-saving vehicles, provided the lights are mounted or 
installed as to be visible from behind the vehicle.  

2. Approved type (DOT or SAE-W) amber flashing, 
blinking or alternating lights are permitted on vehicles 
owned and used by municipal safety officers in the 
performance of their official duties, by businesses 
providing security services and vehicles used to collect and 
deliver the United States mail, vehicles used by law-
enforcement personnel in the enforcement of laws 
governing motor vehicle parking, and government-owned 
law-enforcement vehicles provided the lights are used for 
giving directional warning and vehicles used to provide 
escort for funeral processions. 

3. An approved type amber flashing, blinking or alternating 
lights are permitted on vehicles used as pace cars, security 
vehicles, or fire-fighting vehicles by any speedway or 
motor vehicle race track. 

4. An approved type (DOT or SAE-W) amber flashing, 
blinking or alternating light may be mounted on the rear of 
any vehicle used to transport petroleum products. The light 
must be wired through the reverse gear circuit and activate 
in conjunction with the backup lights and audible alarm. 

5. An approved type (SAE-W) green warning light is 
permitted on vehicles used by police, fire-fighting, or 
rescue personnel as command centers at the scene of 
incidents. Such lights shall not be activated while the 
vehicle is operating upon the highway. 

K. Inspect for and reject if: 
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1. Vehicle has an auxiliary lamp being used for a purpose 
other than that for which it was approved. 

Do not reject tractor trucks equipped with cargo lights of 
an approved type (SAE-G) that are mounted on the rear of 
the tractor cab and wired through an independent switch 
used to illuminate brake connectors and fifth-wheels for 
nighttime hookups. 

2. A vehicle has installed on it a warning lamp that is not 
of an approved type or has been altered.  

3. Vehicle is equipped with a combination of auxiliary 
lamps which include more than two fog lamps, or more 
than two spot lamps, or more than two driving lamps. 
Motor vehicles may be equipped with more than two fog or 
auxiliary lights; however, only two of these types of lights 
can be illuminated at any time. Reject a vehicle equipped 
with a headlamp mounted or used as an auxiliary lamp. 

NOTE: Vehicles equipped from the factory, with two 
driving lamps should not be rejected. 

4. Vehicle is equipped with an auxiliary lamp that does not 
function properly. (If an auxiliary lamp has been modified 
by removing the wiring, bulb and socket, the unit will be 
considered an ornament and not a lamp and will not be 
considered in for inspection.) 

5. Vehicle is equipped with a lighted advertising sign. 
Except, except commercial motor vehicles and buses 
operated as public carriers. These vehicles may be 
equipped with vacant and destination signs and one steady 
steadily burning white light for illumination of external 
advertising. Do not reject approved identification lights. 

6. Any lamp is not of an approved type or if lamps to be 
burned together as a pair do not emit the same color light. 

7. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have 
one or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 
project through the crack or cracks. 

8. Backup lamps are not required. However, if installed 
they must operate and be inspected.  

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-R) 
or a lamp has been altered. 

b. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 
filaments do not burn. 

c. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have 
one or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 
project through the crack or cracks. 

d. Lens is other than clear. LED (light emitting diode) 
lights with a clear lens are acceptable, if of an approved 
type. For those vehicles that are equipped with a multiple 
LED light (not filament burning bulbs), they will pass 

inspection if more than 50% of the diode lights are 
burning. 

e. Lamps are not wired into the reverse gear or an 
independent circuit. 

9. Cornering lamps are not required. However, if installed 
they must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-K) 
or a lamp has been altered. 

b. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 
filaments do not burn. 

c. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have 
one or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 
project through the crack or cracks. 

d. The color of the light is other than clear or amber.  

e. The lamps do not burn in conjunction with the turn 
signals. 

10. Driving lamps are not required. However, if installed 
they must operate and be inspected.  

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Driving lamps are installed on vehicles equipped with 
the four-headlamp system, except the "F" type headlamp 
system. 

b. A vehicle is equipped with more than two driving 
lamps. 

c. Driving lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or 
SAE-Y) or have been altered. 

d. The color of the lamp is other than white. 

e. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated away 
from its proper position. The lens may have one or more 
cracks provided an off-color light does not project 
through the crack or cracks. 

f. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 
filaments do not burn. 

g. Any driving lamp is mounted above the level of the 
regular headlamps, or is not mounted firmly to prevent 
excessive vibration. 

h. Driving lamps are not wired so that they will burn only 
when the high beams of the regular headlamps are 
activated. 

i. Driving lamps are not aimed so that the center of the 
hot spot drops three inches in 25 feet so that the hot spot 
is directly ahead of the lamp. 
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NOTE: Driving lamps must be aimed using the optical 
headlight aimer. j. A tolerance of four inches in 25 feet is 
allowed in both the horizontal and the vertical 
adjustment. 

11. Fog lamps are not required. However, if installed they 
must operate and be inspected.  

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. A vehicle is equipped with more than two fog lamps. 
A vehicle may be equipped with more than two fog 
lamps; however, not more than two lamps can be 
illuminated at any time.  

b. Lamps are not of an approved type (SAE or DOT-F or 
F2) or a lamp has been altered. 

c. The lens is other than clear or amber. (Fog lamps may 
have black end bulbs or small metal caps over the end of 
the bulb.) 

d. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated away 
from its proper position. The lens may have one or more 
cracks provided an off-color light does not project 
through the crack or cracks. 

e. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 
filaments do not burn. 

f. Any fog lamp is mounted above the level of the regular 
headlamps, or is not mounted firmly. 

g. Lamps are not wired and aimed according to the 
following instructions: 

(1) Fog lamps are general illumination lamps as covered 
in 19VAC30-70-160 D. They must burn through the tail 
light circuit even if on a separate switch. If installed on a 
vehicle with a four-headlamp system or a vehicle 
equipped with driving lamps, they must be wired into the 
low beam circuit. 

(2) Fog lamps must be aimed so that the top edge of the 
high intensity zone is set at the horizontal centerline and 
the left edge of the high intensity zone is set at the 
vertical centerline. (Same as low beam headlights.) 

NOTE: Fog lamps must be aimed using the optical 
headlight aimer. 

(3) A tolerance of four inches in 25 feet is allowed in 
both the horizontal and the vertical adjustment. 

12. Spot lamps are not required. However, if installed they 
must operate and be inspected.  

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Vehicle is equipped with more than two spot lamps. 

b. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-O) 
or a lamp has been altered. 

c. The lens in any spot lamp is other than clear. 

d. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated away 
from its proper position. The lens may have one or more 
cracks provided an off-color light does not project 
through the crack or cracks. 

e. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 
filaments do not burn. 

13. Daytime running lamps (DRLs) are not required. 
However, if installed they must operate and be inspected. 
DRLs must be installed in pairs. 

NOTE: DRLs may or may not be wired into the tail light 
circuit. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Any lamp, except headlamps, used as DRLs is not an 
approved type (SAE-Y2) and is not marked "DRL." 

b. Fog lamps or parking lamps are used as DRLs. 

c. More than one pair is of lamps are used and or 
designated as DRLs. 

d. A DRL is mounted higher than 34 inches measured to 
the center of the lamp. 

e. The color is other than white to or amber.  

f. DRLs do not deactivate when the headlamps are in any 
"on" position. 

Any DRL optically combined with a turn signal or 
hazard lamp must deactivate when the turn signal or 
hazard lamp is activated and then reactivate when the 
turn signal or hazard lamp deactivates. 

19VAC30-70-540. Parking lamps.  

Parking lamps are not required. However, if installed they 
must operate and be inspected. Parking lamps may burn in 
conjunction with the headlamps. 

INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-P) or a 
lamp has been altered. 

2. Parking lamps have other than white clear or amber 
lenses showing to the front. If the lens is clear, then the 
bulb shall be amber.  

3. Parking lamps do not burn with the rear lamps. 

4. If lens has a piece broken from it. Lens may have one or 
more cracks provided no off-color light projects through 
the crack or cracks. 

5. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 
filaments do not burn. 
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6. Any vehicle has unapproved lens or plastic covers, any 
other materials which are not original equipment or any 
colored material placed on or in front of parking lamps. 

NOTE. LED (light emitting diode) lights with a clear lens 
are acceptable if of an approved type. For those vehicles 
that are equipped with a multiple LED light (not filament 
burning bulbs), they will pass inspection if more than 50% 
of the diode lights are burning. 

19VAC30-70-550. Clearance lamps and reflectors.  

Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer or other vehicle is 
not equipped with clearance lamps if the vehicle is over 
seven feet wide or if any portion extends four inches or 
more outside the front fender line.  

Trailers of 80 inches or more overall width, and with a 
GVWR over 10,000 pounds, manufactured on or after 
December 1, 1993, except pole trailers and trailers 
designed exclusively for living or office use, shall be 
equipped with either retroreflective sheeting, reflex 
reflectors, or a combination of retroreflective sheeting and 
reflex reflectors. 

When a motor vehicle with a trailer attached is presented, 
the combination may be considered as one unit in meeting 
this requirement. If presented separately, the individual 
unit must meet these requirements except that any tractor-
truck need not be equipped with rear red dimension or 
marker lamps. 

2. Lamps (DOT or SAE-P2, P3, PC or PC2) or reflectors 
(DOT or SAE-A or B) are not of an approved type or a 
lamp has been altered. 

Reject if the lamps or reflectors have unapproved plastic 
covers, any other materials that are not original equipment 
or any colored material placed on or in front of lamps or 
reflectors. 

Retro-reflective surfaces. Retro-reflective surfaces other 
than required reflectors may be used, provided (see 
diagram): 

a. Designs do not resemble traffic control signs, lights, or 
devices, except that straight edge striping resembling a 
barricade pattern may be used. 

b. Designs do not tend to distort the length and/or width 
of the motor vehicle. 

c. Such surfaces shall be at least three inches from any 
required lamp or reflector unless of the same color as 
such lamp or reflector.  

d. No red color shall be used on the front of any motor 
vehicle, except for display of markings or placards 
required by law. 

3. Lenses on lamps on the front are not amber and lenses 
on lamps on the rear are not red or if a lens has a piece 
broken from it. A lens may have one or more cracks 
provided an off-color light does not project through the 
crack or cracks. 

4. Wiring or electrical connections are defective, or all 
filaments do not burn. 

NOTE: LED (light emitting diode) lights with a clear lens 
are acceptable, if of an approved type. For those vehicles 
that are equipped with a multiple LED light (not filament 
burning bulbs), they will pass inspection if more than 50% 
of the diode lights are burning. 

5. Two amber lamps are not mounted on the front and two 
red lamps on the rear, so as to indicate the extreme width 
of the body, and as high on the permanent body as 
practical, except that approved 180 degree lamps with 
yellow or amber lens may be mounted on the side of the 
vehicle at or as near the front as possible, or if the front is 
not the widest portion, the lamps may be installed on the 
side and as near that point as possible. 

And with the further exception that 180 degree lamps with 
red lens may be mounted on the side of the vehicle at or as 
near the rear as possible or if the rear is not the widest 
portion of the vehicle, the lamps may be installed on the 
side as near that point as possible. 

6. NOTE: Any vehicle equipped with three red 
identification lamps with the lamp centers spaced not less 
than six inches or more than 12 inches apart and installed 
as close as practicable to the top of the vehicle and as close 
as practicable to the vertical centerline of the vehicle may 
have the rear dimension or marker lamps required by 
subdivision 5 of this section mounted at any height but 
indicate as nearly as practicable the extreme width of the 
vehicle. 

7. NOTE: Dump trucks with a high lift body, concrete 
mixer trucks and other specially constructed vehicles may 
be equipped with the required clearance lamps not 
mounted on the extreme rear, provided such red lamps are 
clearly visible from the rear and provided further that two 
red reflectors of an approved type are mounted on the 
extreme rear. In unusual cases the rear lamp may be 
mounted on the cab and another red reflex reflector placed 
on the extreme rear. 

8. NOTE: In addition to the required clearance lamps 
showing to the front and to the rear, a vehicle may be 
equipped with clearance lamps on the side of the vehicle. 
When such an installation is used, all of the clearance 
lamps on the side except the one at or near the rear must 
have an amber lens. The clearance lamps on the side at or 
near the rear must have a red lens. 
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9. 6. Any vehicle covered by subdivision 1 of this section, 
except school buses, is not equipped with amber reflectors 
on the sides as near the front as practical, and red reflectors 
on the rear. The reflectors must be at least 15 inches and 
not more than 60 inches from the ground. No reflector can 
have a piece broken from its reflective surface, but may 
have one or more cracks. 

10. 7. Any combination of vehicles whose actual length 
exceeds 35 feet if the vehicles are not wide enough to have 
clearance lights, if the vehicle is not equipped with reflex 
reflectors of a type approved by the Superintendent and 
mounted on the widest part of the towed vehicle so as to be 
visible from the front and sides of the vehicle. No reflector 

can have a piece broken from its reflective surface, but 
may have one or more cracks. 

11. 8. Any passenger vehicle is equipped with clearance 
lamps, unless such lamps are used to mark the extreme 
width of the vehicle or used as taxicab identification, or 
used as supplemental turn signals. (See 19VAC30-70-190 
B.) 

12. NOTE: Vehicles so constructed as to make compliance 
with the requirements of subdivisions 1, 5, 7, 9 and 10 of 
this section impractical, will be equipped with clearance 
lamps and reflectors at the most practical location to 
provide maximum visibility. 
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If equipped with three 
red identification lamps, 
the required clearance 
lamps may be mounted at 
any height so long as 
they indicate, as nearly as 
practicable, the extreme 
width of the vehicle. 

 
 

  

  

 
Amber Reflector -- At least 15 inches but not more than 60 inches from the ground 
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Red Reflectors -- At least 
15 inches and not more 
than 60 inches from the 
ground 
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19VAC30-70-560. Signal device (intention to stop or turn), 
hazard lights, stop lamps.  

A. Any motor vehicle may be equipped with a switch that 
will permit all turn signal lamps to flash simultaneously. 

B. Supplemental turn signals, properly wired into the turn 
signal circuit may be installed. These may be either approved 
type turn signals or clearance lamps. 

C. Single face lamps are permissible on the front except 
tractor units shall be equipped with two-faced lamps mounted 
on the front fenders or on or near the front of the vehicle. 

D. INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF Inspect for and reject 
if: 

1. Motor vehicle, or trailer or semitrailer, except an antique 
vehicle not originally equipped with a stop lamp, is not 
equipped with at least two stop lamps of an approved type 
(DOT or SAE-S) that automatically exhibits exhibit a light 
through a red or amber lens to the rear when the brake 
pedal is actuated.  

2. Proper signals do not go on with each throw of the 
switch or if stop signals do not go on with slightest 
pressure on the brake pedal. Turn signals may flash; 
however, stop signals may not flash except when the 
vehicle is equipped with a brake warning system or device 
that will cause the brake lights to flash when the vehicle is 
in motion but committed to an emergency or panic stop. 

Every passenger car manufactured for the 1986 or 
subsequent model year and multipurpose passenger 
vehicle, truck, or bus whose overall width is less than 80 
inches, manufactured September 1, 1993, and subsequent 
model year is not equipped with a supplemental center 
high mount stop lamp of an approved type (DOT or SAE-
U, U1 or U2) mounted at the vertical centerline of the 
vehicle that functions only in cooperation with the 
vehicle’s brake lights and hazard lights. Any other vehicle 
on which a supplemental center high mount stop lamp is 
mounted shall have the lamp mounted at the vertical center 
line of the vehicle. The lamps shall be of an approved type 
and shall function only in conjunction with the stop lamps. 
The high mount stop lamp must be steady burning and not 
wired to flash with turn signals or other wig-wag device. 

"Multipurpose passenger vehicle" means any motor vehicle 
that is (i) designed to carry no more than 10 persons and 
(ii) constructed either on a truck chassis or with special 
features for occasional off-road use. 

NOTE: Camper shells and/or other items that may be 
temporarily carried on or attached to multipurpose vehicles 
will not be considered during inspection of the center high 
mount stop lamp, provided the lamp continues to function 
as designed. 

NOTE: Multipurpose passenger vehicles with an overall 
width of 80 or more inches or GVWR of 10,000 pounds or 
more are not required to be equipped with a center high 
mount stop light. 

No sticker or other foreign material shall be affixed to the 
vehicle in such a manner so as to obscure the center high 
mount stop lamp. 

3. Motor vehicle was manufactured after January 1, 1955, 
and is not equipped with approved signaling devices. 

4. Vehicle is not equipped with a turn signal if such signal 
is not working properly or does not continue to function in 
the same manner as when it was originally manufactured. 
(The turn signal switch shall lock in place when positioned 
for a left turn or a right turn, and the turn signal indicators 
must function. Do not reject a vehicle if the self-cancelling 
mechanism in the switch does not function when the 
steering wheel is rotated.) 

5. Switch is not convenient to the driver and/or not of an 
approved type. 

6. Any vehicle constructed so as to prevent the operator 
from making a hand and arm signal, if such vehicle is not 
equipped with an approved type signaling device. 

7. Turn signal lens is not clear or amber to the front, or red 
or amber to the rear. Lens or bulb color has been altered or 
modified. If the lens is clear, then the bulb shall be amber. 

NOTE: LED (light emitting diode) lights with a clear lens 
are acceptable, if of an approved type. For those vehicles 
that are equipped with a multiple LED light (not filament 
burning bulbs), they will pass inspection if more than 50% 
of the diode lights are burning. 

8. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 
filaments do not burn.  

9. Lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have one 
or more cracks provided an off-color light does not project 
through the crack(s). 

NOTE: Taping or gluing cracks or pieces is not allowed. 

10. Hazard warning lamps do not all flash simultaneously. 
NOTE: The hazard warning signal operating unit shall 
operate independently of the ignition or equivalent switch, 
and when activated, cause all turn signals to flash 
simultaneously. 

NOTE: They are deemed not to be installed if none of the 
lights burn or flash when the switch is activated and the 
hazard warning signal flasher unit has been removed. 

11. 10. Device is not mounted near rear for rear signals, or 
near front for front signals (except supplemental turn 
signals) or if the signal is hidden by a bolster or other part 
of body chassis. 
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A tractor truck need not be equipped with mechanical or 
electrical signal devices on the rear if it is equipped with 
double-faced signal lamps mounted on the front fenders or 
on the sides near the front of the vehicle clearly visible to 
the rear. 

12. 11. All "Class A" signals are not mounted at least three 
feet apart. (This does not apply to the combination rear 
signal device.) However, signal lamps that are mounted as 

far apart as practical inside and at the rear of the frame so 
as to be properly visible will meet inspection requirements. 

13. 12. Any vehicle has unapproved lens or plastic covers, 
any other materials that are not original equipment or any 
colored material placed on or in front of signal device 
(intention to stop or turn), hazard lights or stop lamp. 

 

 
ILLUSTRATIONS FOR PROPER INSTALLATION AND TYPE OF SIGNAL LIGHTS 

 
 

TRUCK: Front  
Permissible --  
Class A Type I  
Class A Type II  

Must show to front -  
may use two faced  

TRUCK: Rear 
Permissible --  
Class A Type I Class A 
Type II  

--or-- 

Combination Arrow Tail 
Stop & Signal 

TRACTOR TRAILER: Front 
Permissible --  
Class A Type I  
Class A Type II 

Two faced lamps - must show to both front and rear 

      

 
TRAILER: Rear 
Permissible 
Class A Type I 
Class A Type II 

-- or --  Combination 
Arrow Tail 
Stop & Signal 

Class A Type I - Are lamps which indicate a change in direction by giving flashing warning signal (clear lens - amber to 
front; amber to red on rear) on the side toward which the turn will be made. 

Class A Type II - Are lamps which indicate a change in direction by means of illuminated arrow heads (flashing or steady) 
on the side toward which the turn will be made. 
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19VAC30-70-570. Permissible lighting equipment.  

A. Any vehicle may be equipped with: 

1. Running board or courtesy lamps, of not over six 
candlepower. 

2. Vacant or destination signs, if a taxicab or bus. 

3. Identification lamps of approved type (SAE-P2 or P3). 

4. Interior lights. (Not more than 15 candlepower.) 

Exception: This does not apply to alternating, blinking or 
flashing colored emergency lights mounted inside law-
enforcement vehicles or flashing shielded red or red and 
white lights, mounted inside vehicles owned or used by 
members of volunteer fire companies, volunteer rescue 
squads or owned or used by professional firefighters, or 
police chaplains. Also, this does not apply to firefighting 
vehicles equipped with map lights. 

5. A motor vehicle having a GVWR of 10,001 pounds or 
more may be equipped with an illuminated bumper guide 
attached to each end of the front bumper, provided: 

a. The light thereon is amber in color and less than 6 
candle-power candlepower. 

b. The light is wired to burn only in conjunction with the 
marker or clearance lamps on the vehicle. 

6. Any approved lamp in good working order when used 
for the purpose for that which it was approved or any 
colored material placed on or in front of permissible 
lighting equipment. 

B. Side marker lamps are not required if the vehicle(s) is 
over 30 feet in length. If installed they must operate and be 
inspected. If the bulb, socket and wiring are removed from an 
individual lamp unit, the unit will not be considered during 
inspection. This does not include a wraparound tail/marker 
lamp assembly/lens that are intended to perform multiple 
functions. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-P2, 
P3, PC), or do not comply with subsection A of this 
section. 

2. Lamps are not installed on the permanent structure of 
the vehicle with one as far to the rear and one as far 
forward as practicable and at a location which is not less 
than 15 inches above the road surface when measured from 
the center of the lamp. 

3. Lamps installed on the side to the rear do not project a 
red light and lamps installed on the front do not project an 
amber light. 

4. Lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have one 
or more cracks provided no off-color light projects through 
the crack(s). 

5. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 
filaments do not burn. 

6. Any vehicle has unapproved lens or plastic covers, any 
other materials that are not original equipment or any 
colored material placed on or in front of permissible 
lighting equipment. 

NOTE: LED (light emitting diode) lights with a clear lens 
are acceptable, if of an approved type. For those vehicles 
that are equipped with a multiple LED light (not filament 
burning bulbs), they will pass inspection if more than 50% 
of the diode lights are burning. 

19VAC30-70-580. Glass and glazing.  

A. Motor vehicles may be inspected without windshields, 
side glasses, or any kind of glazing except that any motor 
vehicle other than a motorcycle which was manufactured, 
assembled, or reconstructed after July 1, 1970, must be 
equipped with a windshield. If glass or other glazing is 
installed, it must be inspected. If no windshield is installed, 
see 19VAC30-70-50, C, for location of the sticker. 

B. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any motor vehicle manufactured or assembled after 
January 1, 1936, or any bus or school bus manufactured or 
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assembled after January 1, 1935, is not equipped 
throughout with safety glass, or other safety glazing 
material. (This requirement includes slide-in campers used 
on pickups or trucks, caps, or covers used on pickup 
trucks, motor homes, and vans.) 

2. Any safety glass or glazing used in a motor vehicle is 
not of an approved type and properly identified (DOT and 
AS-1, AS-2, or AS-3). (Replacement safety glass installed 
in any part of a vehicle other than the windshield need not 
bear a trademark or name, provided the glass consists of 
two or more sheets of glass separated by a glazing 
material, and provided the glass is cut from a piece of 
approved safety glass, and provided the edge of the glass 
can be observed.) 

3. Any glass at any location where glass is used is cracked 
or broken so that it is likely to cut or injure a person in the 
vehicle. 

4. Windshield has any cloudiness more than three inches 
above the bottom, one inch inward from the outer borders, 
one inch down from the top, or one inch inward from the 
center strip. The bottom of the windshield shall be defined 
as the point where the top of the dash contacts the 
windshield. 

5. Any distortion or obstruction that interferes with a 
driver's vision.  

Any alteration has been made to a vehicle that obstructs the 
driver's clear view through the windshield. This may 
include but is not limited to large objects hanging from the 
inside mirror, CB radios or tachometers on the dash, hood 
scoops and other ornamentation on or in front of the hood 
that is not transparent. 

a. Any hood scoop installed on any motor vehicle 
manufactured for 1990 or earlier model year cannot 
exceed 2-1/4 inches high at its highest point measured 
from the junction of the dashboard and the windshield. 

b. Any hood scoop installed on any motor vehicle 
manufactured for the year 1991 or subsequent model year 
cannot exceed 1-1/8 inches high at its highest point 
measured from the junction of the dashboard and the 
windshield. 

6. Windshield glass, on the driver's side, has any scratch 
more than 1/4 inch in width and six inches long within the 
area covered by the windshield wiper blade, excluding the 
three inches above the bottom of the windshield. A 
windshield wiper that remains parked within the driver's 
side windshield wiper area shall be rejected.  

EXCEPTION: Do not reject safety grooves designed to 
clean wiper blades if the grooves do not extend upward 
from the bottom of the windshield more than six inches at 
the highest point. 

7. There is a pit, chip, or star crack larger than 3/4 inch in 
diameter at any location in the windshield above the 
topmost portion of the steering wheel except the two-inch 
border at the top and the one-inch border at each side. 

8. At any location above the topmost portion of the 
steering wheel excluding a two-inch border at the top and 
one-inch border at the sides there is: 

a. Any crack over 1/4 inch in width. 

b. Any crack 1/4 inch or less in width intersected by 
another crack. 

c. Any damage area 3/4 inch or less in diameter if within 
three inches of any other damage area.  

9. Any sticker is on the windshield other than an official 
one required by law, or permitted by the Superintendent. 
Authorization is hereby granted for stickers measuring not 
more than three 2-1/2 inches in width and eight four inches 
in length to be affixed to the upper edge of the center of the 
windshield. Any sticker required by law must be placed 
adjacent to the official inspection sticker and must not 
extend upward more than three inches from the bottom of 
the windshield; except, on vehicles operating in interstate 
commerce, under rules and regulations of ICC, stickers 
required by law must not extend upward more than 4-1/2 
inches from the bottom of the windshield. A valid 
Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance or motor carrier 
inspection sticker issued by certified law-enforcement 
agencies not exceeding three inches in height and two 
inches in width may be placed at the lower right corner of 
the windshield on trucks and tractor-trucks having a 
GVWR of 26,001 pounds or more placed in the blind spot 
behind the rearview mirror. Department of Defense decals 
measuring no more than three inches in width and eight 
inches in length may be affixed to the upper edge of the 
center of the windshield. At the option of the motor 
vehicle’s owner, the decal may be affixed at the lower left 
corner of the windshield so that the inside or left edge of 
the sticker or decal is within one inch of the extreme left 
edge of the windshield when looking through the 
windshield from inside the vehicle. When placed at this 
location, the bottom edge of the sticker or decal must be 
affixed within three inches of the bottom of the windshield. 
This location can only be used if the owner of the vehicle 
has chosen not to place any required county, town or city 
decal there. The normal location for any required county, 
town, or city decal is adjacent to the official inspection 
sticker and must not extend upward more than three inches 
from the bottom of the windshield. Commercial Vehicle 
Safety Alliance (CVSA) inspection decals may be placed 
at the bottom or sides of the windshield provided such 
decals do not extend more that 4-1/2 inches from the 
bottom of the windshield and are located outside the area 
swept by the windshield wipers and outside of the driver’s 
sight line.  
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Fastoll transponder devices may be affixed to the inside 
center of the windshield at the roofline roof line just above 
the rear view mirror. If space does not allow, then it may 
be affixed to the immediate right of the mirror at the 
roofline roof line. 

Any sticker required by the laws of any other state or 
District of Columbia and displayed upon the windshield of 
a vehicle submitted for inspection in this state is permitted 
by the superintendent, provided the vehicle is currently 
registered in that jurisdiction, the sticker is displayed in a 
manner designated by the issuing authority and has not 
expired. This includes vehicles with dual registration, i.e., 
Virginia and the District of Columbia. 

10. NOTE: Stickers or decals used by counties, cities and 
towns in lieu of license plates may be placed on the 
windshield without further authority. Except on privately 
owned yellow school buses, the sticker or decal shall be 
placed on the windshield adjacent to the right side of the 
official inspection sticker or the optional placement to the 
extreme lower left side of the windshield. The top edge of 
the sticker or decal shall not extend upwards more than 
three inches from the bottom of the windshield. The left 
side edge adjacent to the official inspection sticker shall 
not be more than 1/4 inch from the right edge of the 
official inspection sticker when looking through the 
windshield from inside the vehicle. However, at the option 
of the motor vehicle owner, the sticker or decal may be 
affixed to the upper edge of the center of the windshield. 
(Any expired sticker or decal, excluding a rejection sticker, 
that is present on the windshield at the time of inspection 
shall not be issued an approval sticker unless the 
owner/operator “authorizes” its removal. A rejection 
sticker will be issued versus an involuntary removal.) On 
privately owned yellow school buses, the sticker or decal 
shall be placed on the windshield adjacent to the left side 
of the official inspection sticker, and not more than 1/4 
inch from the official inspection sticker when looking 
through the windshield from inside the vehicle. The top 
edge of the sticker shall not extend upward more than three 
inches from the bottom of the windshield. 

11. Any 10. Sunshading material attached to the 
windshield extends more than three inches downward from 
the top of the windshield, unless authorized by a medical 
waiver certificate, or replacement of the sunshield in the 
uppermost area as installed by the manufacturer of the 
vehicle the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles and 
indicated on the vehicle registration. 

NOTE: Any Sunshading material on the windshield 
displaying words, lettering, numbers or pictures is not 
approved and is not permitted that do not extend below the 
AS-1 line are permitted. 

NOTE: Vehicles with logos made into the glass at the 
factory that meet federal standards will pass state 
inspection. 

12. 11. Any sunscreening material is scratched, distorted, 
wrinkled or obscures or distorts clear vision through the 
glazing. 

13. 12. Front side windows have cloudiness above three 
inches from the bottom of the glass, or other defects that 
affect the driver's vision or one or more cracks which 
permit one part of the glass to be moved in relation to 
another part. Wind silencers, breezes or other ventilator 
adaptors are not made of clear transparent material. 

14. 13. Glass in the left front door cannot be raised or 
lowered easily so a hand signal can be given. (This does 
not apply to vehicle equipped with approved turn signals 
which were not designed and/or manufactured for left front 
glass to be lowered.) If either front door has the glass 
removed and material inserted in place of the glass which 
could obstruct the driver's vision. 

Exception: Sunscreening material is permissible if the 
vehicle is equipped with a mirror on each side. 

15. 14. Any sticker or other obstruction is on either front 
side window, rear side windows, or rear windows. (The 
price label, fuel economy label and the buyer's guide 
required by federal statute and regulations to be affixed to 
new/used vehicles by the manufacturer shall normally be 
affixed to one of the rear side windows.) If a vehicle only 
has two door windows, the labels may be affixed to one of 
these windows. If a vehicle does not have any door or side 
windows the labels may be temporarily affixed to the right 
side of the windshield until the vehicle is sold to the first 
purchaser. 

NOTE: A single sticker no larger than 20 square inches in 
area, if such sticker is totally contained within the lower 
five inches of the glass in the rear window or a single 
sticker or decal no larger than 10 square inches located in 
an area not more than three inches above the bottom and 
not more than eight inches from the rearmost edge of either 
front side window, is permissible and should not be 
rejected. 

Do not reject a tractor truck having a gross vehicle weight 
rating of 26,001 pounds or more equipped with one 
optically grooved clear plastic wide angle lens affixed to 
the right front side window. Such wide angle lens shall not 
extend upward from the bottom of the window opening 
more than six inches or backward from the front of the 
window opening more than eight inches. 

16. 15. Rear window is clouded or distorted so that the 
driver does not have a view 200 feet to the rear. 
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EXCEPTIONS: The following are permissible if the 
vehicle is equipped with a mirror on each side: 

a. There is attached to one rear window of such motor 
vehicle one optically grooved clear plastic right angle 
rear view lens, not exceeding 18 inches in diameter in the 
case of a circular lens or not exceeding 11 inches by 14 
inches in the case of a rectangular lens, which enables the 
operator of the motor vehicle to view below the line of 
sight as viewed through the rear window. 

b. There is affixed to the rear side windows, rear window 
or windows of such motor vehicle any sticker or stickers, 
regardless of size. 

c. There is affixed to the rear side windows, rear window 
or windows of such motor vehicle a single layer of 
sunshading material. 

d. Rear side windows, rear window or windows is 
clouded or distorted. 

19VAC30-70-590. Mirrors.  

INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Any motor vehicle is not equipped with at least one 
mirror.  

2. Any bus, truck, road tractor or tractor truck is not 
equipped with two outside rear view mirrors, one at each 
side, firmly attached.  

EXCEPTION: Only one outside mirror shall be required, 
on the driver's side, on vehicles so constructed that the 
driver has a view to the rear by means of an inside mirror.  

Vehicles equipped with only one outside mirror must have 
the mirror on the driver's side.  

3. NOTE: No motor vehicle shall be required to be 
equipped with an inside rear view mirror if it does not have 
a rear window or if the rear window is so obstructed as to 
prevent rearward vision by means of an inside rear view 
mirror, if the motor vehicle has horizontally and vertically 
adjustable outside rear view mirrors installed on both sides 
of such motor vehicle in such a manner as to provide the 
driver of such motor vehicle a rearward clear view along 
both sides of such motor vehicle for a distance of not less 
than 200 feet.  

4. 3. Reflecting surface of mirror is cracked, broken, 
peeled, pitted, clouded, tarnished, the image is distorted, 
has sharp edges, reflects more than one image, or is not 
mounted securely.  

5. 4. Mirror does not give the driver a clear view of the 
road 200 feet to the rear.  

6. Mirror is loose enough that rear view is impaired.  

7. Mirror is mounted so it cannot be adjusted from driver's 
seat or will not maintain adjustment.  

6. 5. Interior rearview mirror; 

a. Mirror is loose enough that rear view is impaired. 

b. Mirror cannot be adjusted or will not maintain a set 
adjustment. 

7. 6. Exterior rearview mirror;  

a. Mirror is loose enough that rear view is impaired. 

b. Left mirror is obscured by an unwiped portion of 
windshield or mirror is mounted so it cannot be adjusted 
from driver's seat. (Applies to 1969 and subsequent 
model vehicles.) 

NOTE: A right side mirror is not required if the 
reflecting surface of the mirror has been completely 
removed from the mirror housing. However, a vehicle 
will be required to have two outside mirrors if there is a 
sticker or stickers, regardless of size, sun-shading or 
tinting film, on the rear side windows or rear window. 

NOTE: A single sticker, no larger than 20 square inches, 
if such sticker is totally contained within the lower five 
inches of the glass of the rear window, and does not 
obstruct the center high mount brake light, is allowed and 
will pass inspection. 

19VAC30-70-660. Seat belts.  

A. Definitions: 

"Bus" means a motor vehicle with motive power designed to 
carry more than 10 persons. 

"Designated seating position" means any plan view (looking 
down from the top) location intended by the manufacturer to 
provide seating accommodations while the vehicle is in 
motion, except auxiliary seating accommodations as 
temporary or folding jump seats. 

"Front outboard designated seating positions" means those 
designated seating positions for the driver and outside front 
seat passenger (except for trucks which have the passenger 
seat nearest the passenger side door separated from the door 
by a passageway used to access the cargo area.) 

"GVWR" means gross vehicle weight rating as specified by 
the manufacturer (loaded weight of a single vehicle.)  

"Multi-purpose Multipurpose passenger vehicle" means a 
any motor vehicle with motive power that is (i) designed to 
carry no more than 10 persons or less which is and (ii) 
constructed either on a truck chassis or with special features 
for occasional off-road operation use. This shall also include 
a minivan. 

"Open-body type vehicle" means a vehicle having no 
occupant compartment top or an occupant compartment top 
that can be installed or removed by the user at his 
convenience. 
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"Rear outboard front facing designated seating positions" 
means those designated seating positions for passengers in 
outside front facing seats behind the driver and front 
passenger seat, except any designated seating position 
adjacent to a walkway, that is located between the seat and 
the nearside of the vehicle and is designated to allow access 
to more rearward seating positions. 

"Truck" means a motor vehicle with motive power designed 
primarily for the transportation of property or special purpose 
equipment. 

B. Passive Restraint System: 

Inflatable occupant restraint (commonly known as air 
bags). 

Passive belt system (automatic deployment around the 
occupant after the occupant enters the vehicle and closes 
the door). 

INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF: Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Not of an approved type. 

2. Installation not in compliance as follows: 

a. All motor vehicle seat belt anchorages and attachment 
hardware must meet the standards and specifications set 
forth by the Society of Automotive Engineers, Inc., and 
Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard Number 209, for 
such anchorages and attachment hardware. 

b. Any questions concerning the proper installation of 
seat belt assemblies should be directed to the nearest 
Safety Division office. 

3. Any of the following motor vehicles manufactured on or 
after July 1, 1971, not having a lap seat belt assembly for 
each designated seating position: 

a. Open-body type vehicles; 

b. Walk-in van type trucks; 

c. Trucks (GVWR in excess of 10,000 pounds); 

d. Multipurpose passenger vehicles (GVWR in excess of 
10,000 pounds). 

4. Any buses manufactured on or after July 1, 1971, not 
having a lap seat belt assembly for the driver's seating 
position. 

5. All other motor vehicles manufactured on or after 
January 1, 1976, except those for which requirements are 
specified in subdivisions 3 and 4 of this subsection, not 
having lap/shoulder or harness seat belt assemblies 
installed for each front outboard designated seating 
position.  

Those vehicles originally equipped and sold by the 
manufacturer with only a lap belt installed for each 

designated seating position, in compliance with Federal 
Motor Vehicle Safety Standards, will be deemed to be in 
compliance with this section.  

6. Any seat belt buckle, webbing, or mounting is cut, torn, 
frayed, or no longer operates properly.  

7. Any seat belt anchorage is loose, badly corroded, 
missing or not fastened to belt.  

8. Any truck, multi-purpose vehicle, or bus (except school 
buses and motor homes) with a GVWR of 10,000 pounds 
or less, manufactured on or after September 1, 1991, is not 
equipped with a lap/shoulder seatbelt assembly at all 
forward facing rear outboard designated seating positions.  

9. Any of the heretofore described vehicles manufactured 
on or after September 1, 1992, are not equipped with 
lap/shoulder seatbelt assembly located at all forward facing 
rear outboard designated seating positions on a readily 
removable seat.  

C. Air bag and air bag readiness light. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Air bag. Any defects in the air bag system are noted by 
the air bag readiness light, or otherwise indicated;  

2. The air bag has been deployed and has not been replaced 
(and is not deactivated because of a medical or other 
exemption and a notice is posted to indicate that it has been 
deactivated);  

3. Any part of the air bag system has been removed from 
the vehicle; or 

4. If the air bag indicator fails to light or stays on 
continuously. 

NOTE: Air bag readiness light. Turn the ignition key to the 
on position; the air bag readiness light will indicate normal 
operation by lighting for six to eight seconds, then turning 
off. A system malfunction is indicated by the flashing or 
continuous illumination of the readiness light or failure of 
the light to turn on. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-953; Filed December 4, 2007, 9:28 a.m.  
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Results of Periodic Review 
Pursuant to Executive Order 36 (2006), the Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services has completed a periodic 
review for 2VAC5-140, Health Requirements Governing the 
Admission of Livestock, Poultry, Companion Animals, and 
Other Animals or Birds into Virginia. No public comment 
was received during the periodic review period. In view of its 
continued need and effectiveness, the department 
recommends that the regulation remain in effect without 
change. 

Agency Contact: Roy Seward, Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services, 102 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 786-3535, or email 
roy.seward@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The distribution list referenced as 
Appendix A in the following order is not being published. 
However, the list is available for public inspection at the State 
Corporation Commission, Document Control Center, Tyler 
Building, 1st Floor, 1300 East Main Street, Richmond, 
Virginia 23219, from 8:15 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through 
Friday. 

AT RICHMOND, DECEMBER 3, 2007 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 

At the relation of the 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO.  PUE-2007-00107 

Ex Parte: In the matter of establishing rules 
and regulations to implement the sale of electricity 
from renewable sources through a renewable 
energy portfolio standard program pursuant 
to § 56-585.2 of the Code of Virginia 

ORDER ESTABLISHING PROCEEDING 

The General Assembly of Virginia enacted, on April 4, 2007, 
Chapter 933 of the 2007 Acts of Assembly ("Chapter 933")1 
that, among other provisions, established incentives for 
regulated electric utilities to implement the sale of electricity 
from renewable sources through a renewable energy portfolio 
standard ("RPS") program.  The statute, in § 56-585.2, sets 
forth detailed requirements relating to the incentives offered 

                                                           
1 Chapter 933 (SB 1416) amends and reenacts §§ 56-233.1, 56-234.2, 56-235.2, 
56-235.6, 56-249.6, 56-576 through 56-581, 56-582, 56-584, 56-585, 56-587, 56-589, 
56-590, and 56-594 of the Code of Virginia ("Code"); amends the Code by adding 
sections numbered 56-585.1, 56-585.2, and 56-585.3; and repeals §§ 56-581.1 and 
56-583 of the Code, relating to the regulation of electric utility service. 

to regulated utilities for achieving renewable goals, the goals 
that must be attained by regulated utilities seeking to capture 
incentive payments, the manner in which potential attainment 
of those goals are to be measured and the identification of the 
subset of retail customers that will be required to fund the 
incremental cost of renewable generation, including the 
specified incentives. 

In § 56-585.2 G, the statute further directs the Virginia State 
Corporation Commission ("Commission") to "promulgate 
such rules and regulations as may be necessary to implement 
the provisions of this section including a requirement that 
participants verify whether the RPS goals are met in 
accordance with this section."  The Commission initiates the 
above-captioned proceeding to comply with this statutory 
requirement.  We first seek comment on several questions 
raised by § 56-585.2 of the Code.2 

Issues identified for comment 

The Commission seeks comment on the following issues: 

(1) Should there be a standard package of data and 
information that utilities must file in order to demonstrate 
that they have achieved an RPS goal as those goals change 
through time as set forth in § 56-585.2 D?  If so, what data 
and information should be provided to the Commission?  In 
the alternative, should such applications be instead handled 
on a case-by-case basis? 

(2) What special procedural rules, if any, should apply to 
proceedings3 regarding applications submitted pursuant to 
§ 56-585.2 of the Code for award of incentives to utilities 
for RPS Goals attained? 

(3) What special procedural rules should apply to 
proceedings4 opened to establish and provide for recovery 
of all incremental costs incurred for the purpose of such 
participation in a RPS program? 

(4) Should a tracking system be required to ensure that 
renewable resource certificates are appropriately and 
accurately credited to renewable resource facilities?  If so, 
how should such a tracking system be designed and what 
entity should maintain the tracking system?  

(5) The Commission seeks comment as to whether there are 
programs or elements of programs adopted by other states 
that may be appropriate and comply with the provisions set 
forth in § 56-585.2.5 

                                                           
2 This order initiating proceeding will not include proposed rules.  Rather, as indicated 
by our questions posed, the Commission seeks stakeholder input as to the type of rules, 
if any, needing promulgation at this time or in the near future.  After comments and 
reply comments are received, the Commission may issue a further order deciding that no 
rules are necessary.  Alternatively, the Commission may later decide to issue specific 
proposed rules as may be necessary to implement the provisions of § 56-585.2. 
3 Other than the application of the Commission's Rules of Practice and Procedure 
(5 VAC 5-20-10 et seq.) 
4 Id. 
5 See, e.g., North Carolina's ncGreenPower program.  This program provides for 
voluntary (double tax-deductible) contributions collected by electric companies and then 
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(6) Virginia Code Section 56-585.2 F states in part:  

A participating utility shall be required to fulfill any 
remaining deficit needed to fulfill its RPS Goals from new 
renewable energy supplies at reasonable cost and in a 
prudent manner to be determined by the Commission at the 
time of approval of any application made pursuant to 
subsection B.  

What standards should the Commission apply in determining 
the reasonableness and prudence of these resource 
acquisitions? 

(7) Virginia Code Section 56-585.2 E states in part:  

All incremental costs of the RPS program shall be allocated 
to and recovered from the utility's customer classes based 
on the demand created by the class and within the class 
based on energy used by the individual customer in the 
class, except that the incremental costs of the RPS program 
shall not be allocated to or recovered from customers that 
are served within the large industrial rate classes of the 
participating utilities and that are served at primary or 
transmission voltage. 

How shall the Commission determine which customer classes 
and subclasses should be construed to fall within the "large 
industrial rate classes of participating utilities" that are not to 
be allocated incremental costs of the RPS program, given that 
such a customer may be served at transmission or primary 
voltage? 

To allow for broad and efficient dissemination of information, 
we will request the filing of responses to these questions, if 
possible, in electronic form in addition to filing such 
comments with the Clerk of the Commission as ordered 
below.  The responses will be posted on the Commission's 
Division of Economics and Finance website.  We recognize 
that responses to some of the questions may contain 
information which the authors deem confidential.  
Accordingly, only information that is available in the public 
domain and not deemed confidential should be supplied in 
electronic format for posting on the website.  Any response 
deemed confidential should be filed in paper form with the 
Clerk of the Commission and be prominently marked as 
confidential in accordance with 5 VAC 5-20-170 of the 
Commission's Rules of Practice and Procedure. 

The Commission Staff has developed lists of individuals, 
organizations, and companies that may be interested in the 
Commission's determination of its duties under § 56-585.2 of 
the Code.  The Commission will direct the Staff to provide 
copies of this Order by electronic transmission or, when 

                                                                                                    
provided to an independent § 501(c)3 organization.  The monies are paid out to in-state 
only "green" electricity producers, providing those producers with an incremental cash 
flow in excess of that provided by the utility" "avoided-cost" established by the North 
Carolina Public Utilities Commission.  The ncGreenPower model may be viewed at 
http://www.ncgreenpower.org/. 

electronic transmission is not possible, by mail to individuals, 
organizations, and companies on these lists. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) This matter be docketed as Case No. PUE-2007-00107 
and all associated papers filed herein. 

(2) Within five (5) business days of the filing of this Order 
with the Clerk, the Commission Staff shall transmit 
electronically or mail copies of this Order to interested 
persons and organizations as discussed in this Order. 

(3) On or before December 10, 2007, the Commission Staff 
shall file with the Clerk a certificate of the transmission or 
mailing required by paragraph (2) of this Order, and shall 
include a list of the names and addresses of persons to 
whom the Order was transmitted or mailed. 

(4) On or before February 4, 2008, any person desiring to 
comment and respond to the issues and questions posed 
hereinabove shall file an original and fifteen (15) copies of 
their comments with the Clerk of the Commission, c/o 
Document Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, 
Virginia 23218-2118, making reference in such comments 
to Case No. PUE-2007-00107.  If possible, complete copies 
of responses to the questions, including attachments and the 
like, should be transmitted electronically to 
econfin@scc.virginia.gov.  Any portion of the responses 
deemed confidential should be deleted from responses 
transmitted to this electronic address. 

(5) The Commission Staff shall post promptly upon receipt 
all non-confidential materials received by electronic 
transmission to econfin@scc.virginia.gov on the Division 
of Economics and Finance Web site, 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/division/eaf/comments.htm.  
The Commission Staff shall not be responsible for editing 
any posted document to remove information deemed 
confidential. 

(6) This matter shall be continued generally pending further 
Order of the Commission. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall he sent by the Clerk of 
the Commission to: the regulated electric utilities listed on 
Appendix A attached hereto; C. Meade Browder, Jr., Senior 
Assistant Attorney General, Division of Consumer Counsel, 
Office of Attorney General, 900 East Main Street, 2nd Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219; and the Commission's Office of 
General Counsel and Divisions of Economics and Finance, 
Energy Regulation, and Public Utility Accounting. 
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DEPARTMENT OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES 

Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant 
Program 

The Department of Criminal Justice Services intends to 
submit an application to the Bureau of Justice Assistance of 
the U.S. Department of Justice to obtain federal fiscal year 
2008 funding available through the Edward Byrne Memorial 
Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) Program.  Although the 
Bureau has not yet determined the specific amount for which 
we are eligible to apply, we expect it to be approximately 
$5.9 million.  The application will be submitted no later than 
January 31, 2008. 

The department will use these funds to make grants to support 
local and state agency law enforcement, prosecution and 
judicial programs; crime prevention and education programs; 
corrections and community corrections programs; drug 
treatment programs; and planning, evaluation and technology 
improvement programs.  Specific guidelines and instructions 
for agencies interested in submitting grant proposals have 
been posted on the department’s website at 
http://www.dcjs.virginia.gov. 

The application to the Bureau of Justice Assistance will be 
available for public review at the department’s offices at 202 
North Ninth Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219; and 
comments from the public are welcome.  Inquiries should be 
directed to Joe Marshall at (804) 786-1577 or by email to 
joe.marshall@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Proposed Consent Special Order - Gladys Timber 
Products, Inc. 

Purpose of notice: To invite citizens to comment on a 
proposed consent order for Gladys Timber Products, Inc. 

Public comment period: December 24, 2007, to January 23, 
2008. 

Consent order description: The State Waste Management 
Board proposes to issue a consent order to Gladys Timber 
Products, Inc. to address alleged violations of Hazardous 
Waste Registration No. VAD988203675. The location of the 
facility where the alleged violations occurred is on Highway 
501 South in the Town of Gladys, Virginia. The consent order 
describes a settlement to resolve alleged containment and 
inspection documentation provisions of the Virginia Solid 
Waste Management Regulations. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax or postal mail. All comments must include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by close of business on the final 
day of the public comment period. The public may review the 

proposed consent order at the DEQ office named below or on 
the DEQ website at www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests and 
additional information: G. Marvin Booth, III, Department of 
Environmental Quality, South Central Regional Office, 7705 
Timberlake Road, Lynchburg, VA 24502, telephone (434) 
582-5120 ext. 6237, FAX (434) 582-5125, or email 
gmbooth@deq.virginia.gov. 

Total Maximum Daily Load - Rappahannock River 

Announcement of a water quality study to develop a total 
maximum daily load (TMDL) for the bacteria impairment in 
the tidal freshwater Rappahannock River. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality (DEQ) and the Virginia Department of Conservation 
and Recreation (DCR) announce the second public meeting 
for the Tidal Freshwater Rappahannock River TMDL study. 

Public meeting: Wednesday, January 9, 2008, 7 p.m. - 
8:30 p.m., Jepson Science Center, Room 100, Fredericksburg 
Campus of the University of Mary Washington. 

Meeting description: This is the second public meeting for 
this project.  The purpose of this meeting is to present the 
draft TMDL report and discuss the study with community 
members. 

Description of study: Virginia agencies are working to 
identify sources of bacteria pollution in a 3.8 square mile 
segment of the tidal freshwater Rappahannock River. The 
impaired river segment is located in portions of Caroline, 
King George, Spotsylvania, and Stafford counties, and the 
City of Fredericksburg. Below is a description of the impaired 
portion of the Rappahannock River that will be addressed in 
this TMDL study. 

Stream 
Name Locality Impairment Area 

(mi2) 
Upstream 

Limit 
Downstream 

Limit 

Rappa-
hannock 
River 

Fredericks-
burg  
Caroline  
King George 
Spotsylvania 
Stafford 

Bacteria 3.8 

Fall Line 
at the 
Route 1 
Bridge in 
Freder-
icksburg 

Confluence 
with Mill 
Creek, below 
the Route 
301 Bridge 

During the study DEQ will develop a total maximum daily 
load (TMDL) for the impaired river segment. A TMDL is the 
total amount of a pollutant a water body can receive and still 
meet water quality standards.  To restore water quality, 
pollutant levels have to be reduced to the TMDL allocated 
amount. 

How to comment:  The public comment period on the 
materials presented at the public meeting, including the draft 
TMDL Report, will extend from January 9, 2008, to February 
7, 2008.  DEQ accepts written comments by email, fax, or 
postal mail. Written comments should include the name, 
address, and telephone number of the person commenting, 
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and be received by DEQ during the comment period. Please 
send all comments to the contact listed below. 

Contact for additional information: Katie Conaway, Virginia 
Department of Environmental Quality, 13901 Crown Court, 
Woodbridge, VA 22193, or email 
mkconaway@deq.virginia.gov. 

Total Maximum Daily Loads - Spring Creek, Little 
Sandy Creek, Bush River, Briery Creek and Saylers 

Creek 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) and the 
Department of Conservation and Recreation seek written and 
oral comments from interested persons on the development of 
an Implementation Plan (IP) for bacteria total maximum daily 
loads (TMDLs) on the following impaired stream segments - 
5.5 miles of Spring Creek, 7.35 miles of Little Sandy Creek, 
0.78 mile of Bush River, 9.94 miles of Briery Creek and 8.9 
miles of the Saylers Creek in Prince Edward and Amelia 
counties.  TMDLs of these five segments were included in the 
TMDL study completed for the Appomattox River Basin. The 
TMDLs were approved by EPA on August 8, 2004, a copy of 
which can be found on DEQ’s website at 
http://gisweb.deq.virginia.gov/tmdlapp/tmdl_report_result.cfm. 

Section 62.1-44.19:7 C of the Code of Virginia requires the 
development of an IP for approved TMDLs.  The IP should 
provide measurable goals and the date of expected 
achievement of water quality objectives.  The IP should also 
include the corrective actions needed and their associated 
costs, benefits and environmental impacts. 

The first public meeting on the development of the IP for the 
above impaired segments will be held on Tuesday, January 
10, 2008, at 7 p.m. in the South Street Conference Center, 
located at 112 North South St., Farmville, VA 23901. After a 
one hour public meeting, stakeholders will break into a 
working group session to begin the public participation input 
process for the implementation plan. 

The public comment period will end on February 9, 2008.  A 
fact sheet on the development of an IP for the above impaired 
segments is available upon request.  Questions or information 
requests should be addressed to Ram Gupta with the Virginia 
Department of Conservation and Recreation.  Written 
comments and inquiries should include the name, address, 
and telephone number of the person submitting the comments 
and should be sent to Ram Gupta, Department of 
Conservation and Recreation, 101 North 14th St., 11th Floor, 
Monroe Building, Richmond, Virginia 23219, email address 
ram.gupta@dcr.virginia.gov, telephone (804) 371-0991. 

 

Water Quality Improvement Study - Dan River 
Watershed 

Purpose of notice: To announce a public meeting and seek 
public comment on a water quality improvement study by the 
Department of Environmental Quality for the Dan River 
watershed in Halifax and Pittsylvania counties in Virginia. 

Public meeting: Halifax County Board of Supervisors 
Conference Room, 134 South Main Street, Halifax, VA, on 
Thursday, January 17, 2008, from 6:30 to 8:30 p.m.  In the 
event of inclement weather, the snow date will be Thursday, 
January 24, 2008, from 6:30 to 8:30 p.m. 

Public comment period: January 17, 2008, to February 18, 
2008. 

Meeting description: This is a public meeting to discuss a 
study to restore water quality in stream and river segments in 
the Dan River watershed. 

Description of study: Virginia agencies are working to 
identify sources of bacteria contamination in stream segments 
in the Dan River watershed in Central Virginia.  This 
contamination exceeds water quality standards, thus 
prohibiting swimming and other forms of primary contact 
recreation.  The contamination impairs or decreases the 
quality of the water. 

The following is a list of the "impaired" waters, the length of 
the impaired segment, their location, and the reason for the 
impairment: 

Dan River (42.8 miles), Pittsylvania County, total fecal 
coliform; Sandy River (7.21 miles), Pittsylvania County, 
total fecal coliform; Sandy Creek (9.17 miles), 
Pittsylvania County, total fecal coliform; Fall Creek (2.3 
miles), City of Danville, total fecal coliform; Byrds 
Branch (2.98 miles), Halifax County, total fecal coliform; 
Double Creek (8.28 miles), Halifax and Pittsylvania 
counties, total fecal coliform. 

During the study DEQ will develop a total maximum daily 
load (TMDL) for the impaired waters. A TMDL is the total 
amount of a pollutant a water body can contain and still meet 
water quality standards. To restore water quality, 
contamination levels to have to be reduced to the TMDL 
amount. 

Contact for additional information: Amanda Gray, Virginia 
Department of Environmental Quality, 7705 Timberlake 
Road, Lynchburg, VA 24502, telephone (434) 582-6227, 
FAX (434) 582-5125, or email abgray@deq.virginia.gov. 
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STATE LOTTERY DEPARTMENT 

Director's Orders 
The following Director's Orders of the State Lottery 
Department were filed with the Virginia Registrar of 
Regulations on November 28, 2007.  The orders may be 
viewed at the State Lottery Department, 900 E. Main Street, 
Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, 910 Capitol Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
Virginia. 

Director's Order Number Sixty-Three (07) 
Certain Virginia Instant Game Lotteries; End of Games. 

In accordance with the authority granted by §§2.2-4002 B 
(15) and 58.1-4006 A of the Code of Virginia, I hereby give 
notice that the following Virginia Lottery instant games will 
officially end at midnight on November 30, 2007: 

Game 332 Easy 8's Bingo 
Game 333 Bingo 
Game 621 Super Blackjack 
Game 623 Ruby Red 7's 
Game 669 Lightning 7's 
Game 715 $500,000 Maximum Payout 
Game 729 Tiki Tripler 
Game 732 Take The Money and Run 
Game 737 Tropical Island 
Game 758 Double Dollars 
Game 764 Be My Boop 
Game 767 Lucky Symbols 
Game 768 Lucky $5,000 
Game 772 Blackjack Doubler 
Game 774 American Idol 
Game 778 Wild Cherry 
Game 779 Royal Riches 
Game 781 Fun In The Sun 
Game 782 10 X The Money 
Game 794 Pink Panther 

The last day for lottery retailers to return for credit unsold 
tickets from any of these games will be January 11, 2008. The 
last day to redeem winning tickets for any of these games will 
be May 28, 2008, 180 days from the declared official end of 
the game.  Claims for winning tickets from any of these 
games will not be accepted after that date.  Claims that are 
mailed and received in an envelope bearing a postmark of the 
United States Postal Service or another sovereign nation of 
May 28, 2008, or earlier, will be deemed to have been 
received on time.  This notice amplifies and conforms to the 
duly adopted State Lottery Board regulations for the conduct 
of lottery games. 

This order is available for inspection and copying during 
normal business hours at the Virginia Lottery headquarters, 
900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia; and at any 
Virginia Lottery regional office.  A copy may be requested by 

mail by writing to Director's Office, Virginia Lottery, 900 
East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

This Director's Order becomes effective on the date of its 
signing and shall remain in full force and effect unless 
amended or rescinded by further Director's Order. 

/s/ Shelia Hill-Christian 
Executive Director 
November 19, 2007 

DEPARTMENT OF MINORITY BUSINESS 
ENTERPRISE 

Notice of Public Comment Period 

The Virginia Department of Minority Business Enterprise, 
pursuant to §2.2-1403 of the Code of Virginia, is required to 
adopt regulations to implement certification programs for 
small, women- and minority-owned businesses. Such 
regulations are exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
(§2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) pursuant to 
subdivision B 2 of §2.2-4002. 

As a courtesy to the public, however, the Department of 
Minority Business Enterprise is accepting public comments 
on the adoption of its new regulations and repeal of existing 
regulations 7VAC10-10, Public Participation Guidelines, and 
7VAC10-20, Regulations to Govern the Certification of 
Minority Business Enterprises. The purpose of this action is 
to revise and update the existing administrative regulations 
that govern the agency’s public participation guidelines and 
the regulations that govern the certification of small, women- 
and minority-owned businesses in accordance with Chapter 
14 (§2.2-1400 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 
The draft regulations are available on the Commonwealth's 
Regulatory Town Hall at www.townhall.virginia.gov as well 
as on the agency’s website at www.dmbe.virginia.gov. 

Public comments were received until December 14, 2007. 

Agency Contact: Paula Gentius-Harris, Esq.,/Acting Director, 
1111 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-5560, FAX (804) 786-9736, or email 
paula.gentius-harris@dmbe.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

Availability of Revisions to Proposed Replacement 
Regulation for the Current Land Use Permit Manual 

(24VAC30-150) 

The Virginia Department of Transportation (VDOT) has 
made revisions to the proposed draft of the Land Use Permit 
Regulations (24VAC30-151) published in Volume 23, Issue 
22 of the Virginia Register on July 9, 2007. These revisions 
were made in conjunction with the 60-day comment period 
mandated for Administrative Process Act regulatory actions, 
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a series of public hearings, and additional meetings with 
specific stakeholder groups. 

The revised regulation has been posted on the following 
website for informational purposes only: 

http://www.virginiadot.org/business/bu-landUsePermits.asp 

VDOT tentatively plans to present the final regulation to the 
Commonwealth Transportation Board for consideration at a 
public business meeting after the General Assembly Session 
adjourns in March of 2008. The final regulation will become 
effective after Executive Branch review and approval 
following the CTB action, and at the close of a 30-day 
adoption period after its publication in the Virginia Register.  

Agency Contact: Mutaz Alkhadra, Land Use Permit Manager, 
Asset Management Division, Virginia Department of 
Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 662-9403, FAX (804) 662-9426, or 
email mutaz.alkhadra@vdot.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Aquatic Life Use Attainability Analysis Study Plan 
for Straight Creek 

In accordance with §62.1-44.19:7 the Code of Virginia, the 
board conditionally approved at their March 2007 meeting the 
request from the Virginia Mining Issues Group (Group) to 
conduct a Use Attainability Analysis (UAA) for Straight 
Creek in Lee County. One of the conditions was to present a 
study plan for public comment and Department of 
Environmental Quality (DEQ) approval before initiation of 
the UAA study. 

A UAA study plan has been submitted to the DEQ on behalf 
of the Group to conduct an aquatic life use study to determine 
whether human caused conditions and hydrologic 
modifications are limiting attainment of the designated 
aquatic life use in Straight Creek. A UAA is a structured 
scientific assessment of the factors affecting the attainment of 
the designated use. Designated uses are those uses specified 
in water quality standards for each water body or segment 
whether or not they are being attained. The agency is seeking 
comment on the submitted UAA study plan. Agency approval 
of the study plan is pending review of comment submitted. If 
the study indicates that the current designated use is 
unattainable, study results may indicate an appropriate use 
category for regulatory consideration. 

The comment period begins on December 24, 2007, and ends 
February 14, 2008. 

The document submitted to the agency by the Group may be 
found at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/wqs or obtained from 
the contact person listed below. 

Comments should be received by February 14, 2008, and 
submitted to the contact person below. 

Agency Contact: David C. Whitehurst, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4121, FAX (804) 
698-4116, or email dcwhitehurst@deq.virginia.gov. 

Total Daily Maximum Loads - Appomattox River 
Basin 

Notice is hereby given that the State Water Control Board 
seeks comment on proposed modifications to the bacteria 
total maximum daily load (TMDL) developed for the 
Appomattox River Basin in Appomattox, Buckingham, 
Cumberland, Prince Edward, Amelia, Nottoway, Powhatan, 
Chesterfield, Dinwiddie and Prince George counties and 
cities of Petersburg, Colonial Heights and Hopewell. 

The total maximum daily load of E. coli was developed to 
address bacterial impairment in the Appomattox River Basin.  
The TMDL was approved by the Environmental Protection 
Agency (EPA) on August 30, 2004, and can be found at the 
following website: 
http://gisweb.deq.virginia.gov/tmdlapp/tmdl_report_result.cfm. 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (VDEQ) 
seeks written comments from interested persons on the 
modification of this TMDL.  As part of the issuance of new 
VPDES permit VA0091707, Amelia Courthouse Sanitary 
District requested a maximum tiered design flow of 3.0 mgd 
for a new STP discharging to Smacks Creek in Amelia 
County.  VDEQ proposes to modify the wasteload allocation 
and TMDL to accommodate this expansion at a permitted E. 
coli concentration of 126 cfu/100ml.  To review the proposed 
revisions to the wasteload allocation tables and TMDL 
equation tables, please contact Mark Alling using the contact 
information below. 

For the bacterial TMDL, the proposed increase will not cause 
a water quality violation because Virginia’s Water Quality 
Standards for bacteria require that treated effluent discharged 
into a receiving stream meet the bacteria criteria for the 
stream.  The EPA considers a less than 1.0% change to the 
TMDL to be insignificant.  The proposed wasteload 
allocation for this facility will be 0.662% of the TMDL. 

The public comment period for this modification will end on 
January 23, 2008.  Questions or information requests should 
be addressed to Mark Alling.  Written comments should 
include the name, address, and telephone number of the 
person submitting the comments and should be sent to Mark 
Alling, Piedmont Regional Office, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 
23060, telephone (804) 527-5021, or email 
msalling@deq.virginia.gov. 
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Total Daily Maximum Loads - Appomattox River 
Basin 

Notice is hereby given that the State Water Control Board 
seeks comment on proposed modifications to the bacteria 
total maximum daily load (TMDL) developed for the 
Appomattox River Basin in Appomattox, Buckingham, 
Cumberland, Prince Edward, Amelia, Nottoway, Powhatan, 
Chesterfield, Dinwiddie and Prince George counties and 
cities of Petersburg, Colonial Heights and Hopewell. 

The total maximum daily load of E. coli was developed to 
address bacterial impairment in the Appomattox River Basin. 
The TMDL was approved by the Environmental Protection 
Agency (EPA) on August 30, 2004 and can be found at the 
following website: 
http://gisweb.deq.virginia.gov/tmdlapp/tmdl_report_result.cfm. 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (VDEQ) 
seeks written comments from interested persons on the 
modification of this TMDL.  In 2004, after approval of the 
Appomattox River Basin Bacterial TMDL by the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency and the State Water 
Control Board, the DOC Pocahontas WWTP, VA0023426, 
was issued a Certificate to Operate at 0.65 mgd.  The TMDL 
needs to reflect the expanded design flow of 0.65 mgd, rather 
than the 0.55 mgd design flow in effect during TMDL 
development.  VDEQ proposes to modify the wasteload 
allocation and TMDL to accommodate this expansion at a 
permitted E. coli concentration of 126 cfu/100ml.  To review 
the proposed revisions to the wasteload allocation tables and 
TMDL equation tables, please contact Mark Alling using the 
contact information below. 

For the bacterial TMDL, the proposed increase will not cause 
a water quality violation because Virginia’s Water Quality 
Standards for bacteria require that treated effluent discharged 
into a receiving stream meet the bacteria criteria for the 
stream.  The EPA considers a less than 1.0% change to the 
TMDL to be insignificant.  The proposed increase in the 
wasteload allocation for this facility will be 0.002% of the 
TMDL. 

The public comment period for this modification will end on 
January 23, 2008.  Questions or information requests should 
be addressed to Mark Alling.  Written comments should 
include the name, address, and telephone number of the 
person submitting the comments and should be sent to Mark 
Alling, Piedmont Regional Office, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 
23060, telephone (804) 527-5021, or email 
msalling@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Elimination of the Calendar of Events Section 
Effective July 1, 2007, the Calendar of Events section will no 
longer be published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 
Chapter 300 of the 2007 Acts of Assembly amended the 
Administrative Process Act by eliminating the requirement 
that all state agency meeting notices be published in the 
Virginia Register.  In lieu of publication in the Virginia 
Register, the Virginia Freedom of Information Act was 
amended to require that agencies post meeting notices on the 
agency's website and on the Commonwealth Calendar 
maintained by the Virginia Information Technologies 
Agency.  To access the Commonwealth Calendar, please visit 
the Commonwealth of Virginia's homepage at 
www.virginia.gov and click on the calendar on the right side 
of the screen. Public hearing information will still be 
published in the Register and can be found with the 
corresponding proposed regulation. 

Notice to State Agencies 
Mailing Address: Virginia Code Commission, 910 Capitol 
Street, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations 

Agencies are required to use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) when filing regulations for publication in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. The Office of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations implemented a web-based application 
called RIS for filing regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register. The Registrar's office has 
worked closely with the Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) to coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory 
Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one 
another by sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

The Office of the Virginia Register is working toward the 
eventual elimination of the requirement that agencies file 
print copies of regulatory packages. Until that time, agencies 
may file petitions for rulemaking, notices of intended 
regulatory actions and general notices in electronic form only; 
however, until further notice, agencies must continue to file 
print copies of proposed, final, fast-track and emergency 
regulatory packages. 

CALENDAR OF EVENTS 

 




