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For information concerning the different types of regulations, see the Information Page.

Symbol Key

Roman type indicates existing text of regulations. Underscored language indicates proposed new text.
Language that has been stricken indicates proposed text for deletion.  Brackets are used in final regulations to indicate changes from the proposed regulation.
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TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 
BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Fast-Track Regulation

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-20. Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene (amending 18VAC60-20-30).
Statutory Authority: §54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Information:
June 27, 2008 - 8:45 a.m. - Department of Health Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on July 9, 2008.

Effective Date: July 24, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4538, FAX (804) 527-4428, or email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov.

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general authority of Chapter 24 (§54.1-2400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. Section 54.1-2400 provides the Board of Dentistry the authority to promulgate regulations to administer the regulatory system and to set fees.

Purpose: In 2006, the Board of Dentistry adopted an amended fee schedule to address a growing deficit in its budget. As a part of the revenue and expenditure analysis, it was projected that the fee for an inspection of a dental office would be increased from $200 to $350 to reflect the actual cost of having an investigator conduct the inspection as ordered in a disciplinary proceeding. While other increased fees were included in the action that became effective January 10, 2007, the inspection fee was omitted. The inspection fee has been included in board orders and was increased to $350 as a part of the overall fee increase, so inclusion in board regulations does not increase the fee for those dentists subject to an inspection.

The inclusion of the fee is necessary to ensure that the board can recover its costs for the inspection. Otherwise, the board will be required to increase other fees charged to licensees through renewal or application fees. Those practitioners who are the subject of a disciplinary proceeding should incur the cost for inspection, just as pharmacies and other facilities are charged an inspection fee, if required by regulation or by a disciplinary action.  A fee that covers the actual cost for the inspection will enable the board to order an inspection that it believes is necessary to protect the health and safety of patients of the dentist in question without jeopardizing the balance between revenues and expenditures.

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The fast-track process is being used to promulgate the amendments because there is general agreement with the addition of the inspection fee as proposed. The inspection fee is currently a part of the disciplinary order from the board whenever an inspection of a dental office is required. The action was unanimously supported by the members of the board, and it is believed that there will be no objections raised.

Substance: The amendment includes a fee for $350 for an inspection of a dental office.

Issues: The advantage to the public would be greater protection offered by an inspection of a dental office for a practice in which there has been unprofessional conduct or patient harm by a licensee. There would be no disadvantages.

There are no disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth. The advantage of setting the fee in regulation would be less confusion about the fee or its amount. Rather than stating the amount of a fee in the order, it could require the licensee to pay the inspection fee. Currently, some orders continued to include a $200 inspection fee, even after the board voted in 2006 to increase the fee to $350.

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: 
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The Board of Dentistry (Board) proposes to amend its regulations to include a fee for inspecting dental offices pursuant to disciplinary proceeding orders.

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for this proposed change.

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently the Board’s regulations do not include a fee for inspection of dental offices during disciplinary proceedings.  Instead, the $350 fee is written into the disciplinary proceeding orders.  The Board proposes to amend its regulations so that this inspection fee is listed in the regulatory fee schedule.

Because dentists and dental offices are already charged this fee as part of disciplinary proceedings, they are unlikely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory action.  To the extent that any interested individuals may have been unsure about what these office inspections cost, including this fee in the text of the regulations will provide the benefit of clarity.

Businesses and Entities Affected. This regulatory change may affect any dentist who is the subject of disciplinary proceedings. The Department of Health Professions (DHP) reports that 22 dentists have had to pay this fee in the last two years.

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action.

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will likely have no impact on employment in the Commonwealth.

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This regulatory action will likely have no effect on the use or value of private property in the Commonwealth.

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Small businesses in the Commonwealth are unlikely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory action.

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. Small businesses in the Commonwealth are unlikely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory action.

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will likely have no affect on real estate development costs in the Commonwealth.

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance with §2.2-4007.04 of the Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 (06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, §2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts.

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Board of Dentistry concurs with the analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget for the proposed regulation, 18VAC60-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene, relating to setting an inspection fee for dental offices in a disciplinary matter.

Summary:
The amendment adds a fee of $350 for an inspection of a dental office pursuant to a disciplinary proceeding order.
18VAC60-20-30. Other fees.

A. Dental licensure application fees. The application fee for a dental license by examination, a license to teach dentistry, a full-time faculty license, or a temporary permit as a dentist shall be $400. The application fee for dental license by credentials shall be $500.

B. Dental hygiene licensure application fees. The application fee for a dental hygiene license by examination, a license to teach dental hygiene, or a temporary permit as a dental hygienist shall be $175. The application fee for dental hygienist license by endorsement shall be $275.

C. Duplicate wall certificate. Licensees desiring a duplicate wall certificate shall submit a request in writing stating the necessity for such duplicate wall certificate, accompanied by a fee of $60.

D. Duplicate license. Licensees desiring a duplicate license shall submit a request in writing stating the necessity for such duplicate license, accompanied by a fee of $20. If a licensee maintains more than one office, a notarized photocopy of a license may be used.

E. Licensure certification. Licensees requesting endorsement or certification by this board shall pay a fee of $35 for each endorsement or certification.

F. Restricted license. Restricted license issued in accordance with §54.1-2714 of the Code of Virginia shall be at a fee of $285.

G. Restricted volunteer license. The application fee for licensure as a restricted volunteer dentist or dental hygienist issued in accordance with §54.1-2712.1 or §54.1-2726.1 of the Code of Virginia shall be $25.

H. Returned check. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.

I. Inspection fee. The fee for an inspection of a dental office shall be $350.
VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1090; Filed May 21, 2008, 8:47 a.m. 
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