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TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING
BOARD OF MEDICINE

Fast-Track Regulation

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-101. Regulations Governing the Licensure of Radiologic Technologists and Radiologic Technologists-Limited (amending 18VAC85-101-25, 18VAC85-101-40, 18VAC85-101-50, 18VAC85-101-60, 18VAC85-101-150; adding 18VAC85-101-55; repealing 18VAC85-101-70).
Statutory Authority: §54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Information:
June 26, 2008 - 8:30 a.m. - Department of Health Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd Floor Conference Center, Richmond, VA

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on July 9, 2008.

Effective Date: July 24, 2008. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4621, FAX (804) 527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov.

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general authority of Chapter 24 (§54.1-2400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. Section 54.1-2400 (6) provides the Board of Medicine the authority to promulgate regulations to administer the regulatory system. The specific mandate for evidence of continued competency is found in §54.1-2912.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Purpose: Regulations currently require 24 hours of continuing education for radiologic technologists and 12 hours for radiologic technologists-limited for the biennial renewal.  The proposed regulation does not change the number of hours but does eliminate the designation of Category A for half of the hours.  Since radiologic technologists must have 24 hours of CE every two years to maintain ARRT certification, the requirement for licensure renewal remains consistent.

Since the initial licensure of radiologic technologists and radiologic technologists-limited, there has been confusion about the requirements for licensure.  Reorganization and clarification of certain sections of regulation may alleviate some of the confusion and assist with compliance. Clarification of the regulation will encourage those who perform radiological services to practice in accordance with law and regulation and provide greater protection for the public health and safety.

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The fast-track process is being used to promulgate the amendment because it is recommended by the Advisory Board on Radiological Technology (ARRT) and by staff to clarify certain provisions of the regulations.  The only substantive change is elimination of Category A as verified by the ARRT in obtaining the required number of hours of continuing education.  Since there are no changes to requirements for initial licensure, hours required for renewal of licensure or standards of practice, there should be no objections raised.

Substance: The proposed fast-track action amends 18VAC85-101-150 by deleting the requirement that at least half of the hours of continuing education be documented by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT).  ARRT no longer distinguishes between Category A and Category B hours.

Issues: There are no advantages or disadvantages to the public of these amendments.  Current requirements for licensure and practice are not being amended, so the competency of rad techs or rad techs-limited to practice should not be affected.

There are no disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth; the proposed amendments are consistent with the board’s regulations.

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The Board of Medicine (Board) proposes to amend its Regulations Governing the Licensure of Radiologic Technologists and Radiologic Technologists-Limited so that rules for each license designation (radiologic technologist and radiologic technologist-limited) are grouped in different sections of these regulations.  The Board also proposes to eliminate the requirement that 12 of the 24 hours of continuing education completed by radiologic technologists (for biennial license renewal) be “acceptable to the ARRT1 as category A."

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all proposed changes.

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, certain rules for radiologic technologists and radiologic technologists-limited are commingled.  The rules that govern license renewal for these license designations, for instance, are all in one regulatory section. In order to add clarity to these regulations, the Board proposes to separate the rules that are commingled. Individuals who are looking in these regulations to find the rules that govern either radiologic technologists or radiologic technologists-limited will likely benefit from this proposed reorganization.

Current regulations require that radiologic technologists complete 24 hours of ARRT approved continuing education during each biennial license renewal cycle; currently 12 of these 24 hours must be acceptable to ARRT as "category A" education.  The Board proposes to eliminate the separate requirement that half of continuing education hours fall into category A because ARRT no longer accepts any education that falls into categories below "A." Since all continuing education must be acceptable to the ARRT, all continuing education hours will now have to be in categories "A" or "A+." Regulated entities will likely incur no additional costs on account of the Board’s Elimination of this now obsolete language from these regulations.  These entities may get a (likely small) benefit from the Board’s removal of language that implies that some lesser category of education is acceptable to maintain licensure.

Businesses and Entities Affected. The Department of Health Professions (DHP) reports that the Board currently licenses 2,977 radiologic technologists and 855 radiologic technologists-limited. These individuals, as well as any individuals who seek licensure in the future, will be affected by these proposed regulatory changes.

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action.

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will likely have no impact on employment in the Commonwealth.

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This regulatory action will likely have no affect on the use or value of private property in the Commonwealth.

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Small businesses in the Commonwealth are unlikely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory action.

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. Small businesses in the Commonwealth are unlikely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory action.

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will likely have no affect on real estate development costs in the Commonwealth.

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance with §2.2-4007.04 of the Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 (06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, §2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts.

____________________________

1 American Registry of Radiologic Technologists

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Board of Medicine concurs with the analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget for 18VAC85-101, Regulations Governing the Licensure of Radiologic Technologists and Radiologic Technologists-Limited, relating to clarification of regulations.

Summary: 
The proposed action will clarify and simplify the regulations for ease of compliance by licensees by separating and reorganizing certain requirements for radiologic technologist-limited.  The board has also amended the regulation to delete Category A as designated by the ARRT for continuing education, since the ARRT will no longer recognize anything but Category A or A+ after January 1, 2008.
18VAC85-101-25. Fees.

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall not be refundable.

B. Initial licensure fees.

1. The application fee for radiologic technologist licensure shall be $130.

2. The application fee for the radiologic technologist-limited licensure shall be $90.

3. All examination fees shall be determined by and made payable as designated by the board.

C. Licensure renewal and reinstatement for a radiologic technologist.

1. The fee for active license renewal for a radiologic technologist shall be $135, and for a radiologic technologist-limited shall be $70. The the fee for inactive license renewal for a radiologic technologist shall be $70 and for a radiologic technologist-limited shall be $35.

2. An additional fee of $50 for a radiologic technologist and $25 for a radiologic technologist-limited to cover administrative costs for processing a late renewal application within one renewal cycle shall be imposed by the board.

3. The fee for reinstatement of a license that has lapsed for a period of two years or more shall be $180 for a radiologic technologist and $120 for a radiologic technologist-limited and shall be submitted with an application for licensure reinstatement.

4. The fee for reinstatement of a license pursuant to §54.1-2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000.

D. Licensure renewal and reinstatement for a radiologic technologist-limited.
1. The fee for active license renewal shall be $70, and the fee for inactive license renewal shall be $35.
2. An additional fee of $25 to cover administrative costs for processing a late renewal application within one renewal cycle shall be imposed by the board.
3. The fee for reinstatement of a license that has lapsed for a period of two years or more shall be $120 and shall be submitted with an application for licensure reinstatement.
4. The fee for reinstatement of a license pursuant to §54.1-2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000.
E. Other fees.

1. The application fee for a traineeship as a radiologic technologist or a radiologic technologist-limited shall be $25.

2. The fee for a letter of good standing or verification to another state for licensure shall be $10; the fee for certification of grades scores to another jurisdiction shall be $25.

3. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.

4. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5.00, and the fee for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.

18VAC85-101-40. Licensure requirements.

A. An applicant for board licensure shall:

1. Meet the educational requirements specified in 18VAC85-101-30;

2. Submit the required application, fee, and credentials to the board; and

3. Submit evidence of passage of the ARRT certification examination with a minimum passing score acceptable to the board.

B. If an applicant has been licensed or certified in another jurisdiction, he shall provide on the application information on the status of each license or certificate held and verification from that jurisdiction of any current, unrestricted license.

C. An applicant who fails the ARRT examination shall follow the policies and procedures of the ARRT for successive attempts.

18VAC85-101-50. Traineeship for unlicensed graduate.

A. An applicant who is an unlicensed graduate of an ARRT acceptable program may be employed as a trainee under the direct supervision of a licensed radiologic technologist, or doctor of medicine, osteopathy, chiropractic, or podiatry.

B. The graduate shall submit an application for a traineeship to the board for review and approval by the Chairman of the Advisory Board on Radiological Technology or his designee.

C. The traineeship shall terminate 14 working days after receipt by the candidate of the licensure examination results. The unlicensed graduate may reapply for a new traineeship while awaiting to take the next examination.

D. An unlicensed graduate may serve in a traineeship for a period not to exceed two years or through three unsuccessful attempts of the licensure examination, whichever comes first. After such time, the graduate shall apply to the Radiologic Advisory Board on Radiological Technology Advisory Committee for approval to continue in practice as a trainee.

Part III 
Licensure Requirements - Radiologic Technologist-Limited 

18VAC85-101-55. Educational requirements for radiologic technologists-limited.
A. An applicant for licensure as a radiologic technologist-limited shall be trained by one of the following: 
1. Successful completion of a program that is directed by a radiologic technologist with a bachelor's degree and current ARRT certification, has instructors who are licensed radiologic technologists or doctors of medicine or osteopathic medicine who are board certified in radiology, and has a minimum of the following coursework: 
a. Image production/equipment operation - 25 clock hours;
b. Radiation protection - 15 clock hours; and 
c. Radiographic procedures in the anatomical area of the radiologic technologist-limited's practice - 10 clock hours taught by a radiologic technologist with current ARRT certification or a licensed doctor of medicine, osteopathy, podiatry or chiropractic; 
2. An ACRRT-approved program; 
3. The ISCD certification course for bone densitometry; or 
4. Any other program acceptable to the board. 
B. A radiologic technologist-limited who has been trained through the ACRRT-approved program or the ISCD certification course and who also wishes to be authorized to perform x-rays in other anatomical areas shall meet the requirements of subdivision A 1 of this section.
18VAC85-101-60. Examination Licensure requirements.

A. An applicant for licensure by examination as a radiologic technologist-limited shall submit: 

1. The required application and fee as prescribed by the board;

2. Evidence of successful completion of an examination as required in this section; and

3. Evidence of completion of training as required in 18VAC85-101-70 18VAC85-101-55.

B. To qualify for limited licensure to practice under the direction of a doctor of medicine, osteopathy, or chiropractic osteopathic medicine, with the exception of practice in bone densitometry, the applicant shall: 

1. Provide evidence that he has received a passing score as determined by the board on the core section of the ARRT examination for Limited Scope of Practice in Radiography; 

2. Meet one of the following requirements: 

a. Provide evidence that he has received a passing score, as determined by the board, on the section of the ARRT examination on specific radiographic procedures, depending on the anatomical areas in which the applicant intends to practice; or 

b. Until the ARRT offers an examination for limited licensure in the radiographic procedures of the abdomen and pelvis, the applicant may qualify for a limited license by submission of a notarized statement from a licensed radiologic technologist or doctor of medicine or osteopathy attesting to the applicant's training and competency to practice in that anatomical area as follows: 

(1) To perform radiographic procedures on the abdomen or pelvis, the applicant shall have successfully performed during the traineeship at least 25 radiologic examinations of the abdomen or pelvis in a traineeship under the direct supervision and observation of a licensed radiologic technologist or a doctor of medicine or osteopathy. The notarized statement shall further attest to the applicant's competency in the areas of radiation safety, positioning, patient instruction, anatomy, pathology and technical factors. 

(2) When a section is added to the limited license examination by the ARRT that includes the abdomen and pelvis, the applicant shall provide evidence that he has received a passing score on that portion of the examination as determined by the board; and 

3. Provide evidence of having successfully performed in a traineeship at least 10 radiologic examinations in the anatomical area for which he is seeking licensure under the direct supervision and observation of a licensed radiologic technologist or a doctor of medicine or osteopathy. A notarized statement from the supervising practitioner shall attest to the applicant's competency in the areas of radiation safety, positioning, patient instruction, anatomy, pathology and technical factors. 

C. To qualify for limited licensure to practice in bone densitometry under the direction of a doctor of medicine, osteopathy, or chiropractic, the applicant shall either: 

1. Provide evidence that he has received a passing score as determined by the board on the core section of the ARRT examination for Limited Scope of Practice in Radiography; and 

a. The applicant shall provide a notarized statement from a licensed radiologic technologist or doctor of medicine, osteopathy, or chiropractic attesting to the applicant's training and competency to practice in that anatomical area. The applicant shall have successfully performed at least 10 examinations for bone density under the direct supervision and observation of a licensed radiologic technologist or a doctor of medicine or osteopathy; or 

b. When a section is added to the limited license examination by the ARRT that includes bone densitometry, the applicant shall provide evidence that he has received a passing score on that portion of the examination as determined by the board; or 

2. Provide evidence that he has taken and passed an examination resulting in certification in bone densitometry from the ISCD or any other substantially equivalent credential acceptable to the board. 

D. To qualify for a limited license in the anatomical areas of the spine or extremities or in bone densitometry to practice under the direction of a doctor of chiropractic, the applicant shall provide evidence that he has met the appropriate requirements of subsection B, taken and passed the appropriate requirements of subsection C for bone densitometry only, or taken and passed an examination by the ACRRT. 

E. To qualify for a limited license in the anatomical area of the foot and ankle to practice under the direction of a doctor of podiatry, the applicant shall provide evidence that he has taken and passed an examination acceptable to the board. 

F. An applicant who fails the examination shall be allowed two more attempts to pass the examination after which he shall reapply and take additional educational hours which meet the criteria of 18VAC85-101-70. 

18VAC85-101-70. Educational requirements for radiologic technologists-limited. (Repealed.)
A. An applicant for licensure as a radiologic technologist-limited shall be trained by one of the following: 
1. Successful completion of a program which is directed by a radiologic technologist with a bachelor's degree and current ARRT certification, has instructors who are licensed radiologic technologists, and has a minimum of the following coursework: 
a. Image Production/Equipment Operation —25 clock hours; 
b. Radiation Protection —15 clock hours; and 
c. Radiographic procedures in the anatomical area of the radiologic technologist-limited's practice —10 clock hours taught by a radiologic technologist with current ARRT certification or a licensed doctor of medicine, osteopathy, podiatry or chiropractic; 
2. An ACRRT approved program; 
3. The ISCD certification course for bone densitometry; or 
4. Any other program acceptable to the board. 
B. A radiologic technologist-limited who has been trained through the ACRRT-approved program or the ISCD certification course and who also wishes to be authorized to perform x-rays in other anatomical areas shall meet the requirements of subdivision A 1 of this section. 

Part VI 
Renewal of Licensure 

18VAC85-101-150. Biennial renewal of license.

A. A radiologic technologist or radiologic technologist-limited who intends to continue practice shall renew his license biennially during his birth month in each odd-numbered year and pay to the board the prescribed renewal fee.

B. A license that has not been renewed by the first day of the month following the month in which renewal is required shall be expired. 

C. An additional fee as prescribed in 18VAC85-101-125 18VAC85-101-25 shall be imposed by the board. 

D. On and after January 1, 2005, in In order to renew an active license as a radiologic technologist, a licensee shall attest to having completed 24 hours of continuing education as acceptable to and documented by the ARRT within the last biennium. At least 12 of the hours must be acceptable to the ARRT as Category A. 

E. On and after January 1, 2005, in In order to renew an active license as a radiologic technologist-limited, a licensee shall attest to having completed 12 hours of Category A continuing education within the last biennium that corresponds to the anatomical areas in which the limited licensee practices. Hours shall be acceptable to and documented by the ARRT, or by the ACRRT for limited licensees whose scope of practice is chiropractic, or by any other entity approved by the board for limited licensees whose scope of practice is podiatry or bone densitometry. 

F. Other provisions for continuing education shall be as follows: 

1. A practitioner shall be exempt from the continuing education requirements for the first biennial renewal following the date of initial licensure in Virginia. 

2. The practitioner shall retain in his records the completed form provided by the board the Continued Competency Activity and Assessment Form available on the board’s website with all supporting documentation for a period of four years following the renewal of an active license. 

3. The board shall periodically conduct a random audit of its active licensees to determine compliance. The practitioners selected for the audit shall provide all supporting documentation within 30 days of receiving notification of the audit. 

4. Failure to comply with these requirements may subject the licensee to disciplinary action by the board. 

5. The board may grant an extension of the deadline for satisfying continuing competency requirements, for up to one year, for good cause shown upon a written request from the licensee prior to the renewal date. 

6. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the requirements for circumstances beyond the control of the licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared disasters. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above regulation are not being published; however, the name of each form is listed below. The forms are available for public inspection by contacting the agency contact for this regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia.

FORMS 

Instructions for Completing an Application for Licensure as a Radiologic Technologist By Examination/Endorsement (rev. 6/04). 

Application for a License as a Radiologic Technologist (rev. 6/04). 

Form A, Claims History Sheet (rev. 6/04). 

Form B, Activity Questionnaire (rev. 6/04). 

Form C, Clearance from Other States (rev. 6/04). 

Form E, Certification Request from ARRT (rev. 6/04). 

Form F, Traineeship Application (rev. 6/04). 

Form L, Certificate of Radiologic Technology Education (eff. 6/04). 

Instructions for Completing an Application for Licensure as a Radiologic Technologist-Limited (rev. 6/04). 

Application for a License to Practice Radiologic Technology-Limited (rev. 6/04). 

Form T/A (1) and T/A (2), Radiologic Technologist-Limited Training Application for Abdomen/Pelvis pursuant to Virginia Regulations 18VAC85-101-60 B (3) (rev. 6/04). 

Form T/C (1) and T/C (2), Radiologic Technologist-Limited Clinical Training Application (rev. 6/04). 

Form T/E, Radiologic Technologist-Limited Traineeship Application (rev. 6/04). 

Instructions for Completing Reinstatement of Radiologic Technology Licensure (rev. 4/04). 

Application for Reinstatement of License to Practice Radiologic Technologist (eff. 4/04). 

Instructions for Completing Reinstatement of Radiologic Technologist-Limited Licensure (rev. 4/04). 

Application for Reinstatement of License to Practice Radiologic Technologist-Limited (eff. 4/04). 

License Renewal Notice and Application, 0120 Radiologic Technologist (rev. 11/02). 

License Renewal Notice and Application, 0122 Limited Radiologic Technologist (eff. 11/02). 

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (eff. 12/02). 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (eff. 1/03). 

Continued Competency Activity and Assessment Form (eff. 7/08).
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