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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, the Virginia Tax Bulletin issued 
periodically by the Department of Taxation, and notices of public 
hearings and open meetings of state agencies. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
Proposed regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating 
agency at any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
If an agency demonstrates that (i) there is an immediate threat to the 
public’s health or safety; or (ii) Virginia statutory law, the appropriation 
act, federal law, or federal regulation requires a regulation to take effect 
no later than (a) 280 days from the enactment in the case of Virginia or 
federal law or the appropriation act, or (b) 280 days from the effective 
date of a federal regulation, it then requests the Governor’s approval to 
adopt an emergency regulation. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to 
addressing specifically defined situations and may not exceed 12 months 
in duration. Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in 
the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
23:7 VA.R. 1023-1140 December 11, 2006, refers to Volume 23, Issue 
7, pages 1023 through 1140 of the Virginia Register issued on 
December 11, 2006. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: R. Steven Landes, 
Chairman; John S. Edwards, Vice Chairman; Ryan T. McDougle; 
Robert Hurt; Robert L. Calhoun; Frank S. Ferguson; E.M. Miller, 
Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; James F. Almand. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
June T. Chandler, Assistant Registrar. 
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

June 2008 through March 2009 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

INDEX 3 Volume 24  July 2008 

24:21 June 4, 2008 June 23, 2008 

24:22 June 18, 2008 July 7, 2008 

24:23 July 2, 2008 July 21, 2008 

24:24 July 16, 2008 August 4, 2008 

24:25 July 30, 2008 August 18, 2008 

24:26 August 13, 2008 September 1, 2008 

FINAL INDEX Volume 24  October 2008 

25:1 August 27, 2008 September 15, 2008 

25:2 September 10, 2008 September 29, 2008 

25:3 September 24, 2008 October 13, 2008 

25:4 October 8, 2008 October 27, 2008 

25:5 October 22, 2008 November 10, 2008 

25:6 November 5, 2008 November 24, 2008 

25:7 November 18, 2008 (Tuesday) December 8, 2008 

INDEX 1 Volume 25  October 2008 

25:8 December 3, 2008 December 22, 2008 

25:9 December 16, 2008 (Tuesday) January 5, 2009 

25:10 December 30, 2008 (Tuesday) January 19, 2009 

25:11 January 14, 2009 February 2, 2009 

25:12 January 28, 2009 February 16, 2009 

25:13 February 11, 2009 March 2, 2009 

25:14 February 25, 2009 March 16, 2009 

INDEX 2 Volume 25  April 2009 

25:15 March 11, 2009 March 30, 2009 

25:16 March 25, 2009 April 13, 2009 

25:17 April 8, 2009 April 27, 2009 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 



CUMULATIVE TABLE OF VIRGINIA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE 
SECTIONS ADOPTED, AMENDED, OR REPEALED 

 

Volume 24, Issue 21 Virginia Register of Regulations June 23, 2008 

2901 

The table printed below lists regulation sections, by Virginia Administrative Code (VAC) title, that have been amended, 
added or repealed in the Virginia Register since the regulations were originally published or last supplemented in VAC (the 
Spring 2008 VAC Supplement includes final regulations published through Virginia Register Volume 24, Issue 7, dated 
December 10, 2007, and fast-track regulations published through Virginia Register Volume 24 Issue 10, dated January 21, 
2008). Emergency regulations, if any, are listed, followed by the designation "emer," and errata pertaining to final regulations 
are listed. Proposed regulations are not listed here. The table lists the sections in numerical order and shows action taken, the 
volume, issue and page number where the section appeared, and the effective date of the section. 

CUMULATIVE TABLE OF VIRGINIA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE SECTIONS ADOPTED, AMENDED, OR REPEALED 

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
Title 2. Agriculture 
2 VAC 5-30-10 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2318 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-30-20 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2318 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-50-20 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2320 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-50-70 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2320 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-50-100 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2320 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-50-110 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2321 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-90-30 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2322 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-150-10 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2323 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-180-20 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2326 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-180-30 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2327 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-180-50 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2327 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-180-60 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2327 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-180-80 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2327 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-180-120 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2328 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-210-30 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1096 12/11/07 
2 VAC 5-210-41 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1097 12/11/07 
2 VAC 5-390-180 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2023 3/11/08 
2 VAC 5-400-5 Added 24:17 VA.R. 2330 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-420-30 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2838 5/21/08 
2 VAC 5-420-80 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2840 5/21/08 
2 VAC 5-501-80 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2332 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-501-100 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2336 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-10 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2340 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-50 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2341 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-60 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2341 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-70 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2341 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-80 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2342 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-90 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2342 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-100 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2344 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-110 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2344 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-120 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2345 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-130 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2345 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-140 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2347 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-150 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2347 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-160 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2348 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-170 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2348 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-180 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2348 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-190 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2348 6/12/08 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
2 VAC 5-510-200 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2349 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-210 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2349 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-220 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2349 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-230 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2349 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-240 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2349 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-250 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2349 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-260 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2349 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-270 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2350 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-290 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2350 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-300 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2350 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-310 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2350 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-320 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2350 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-330 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2350 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-340 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2351 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-350 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2351 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-360 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2351 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-390 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2351 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-400 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2352 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-410 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2352 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-420 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2352 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-500 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2352 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-510 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2353 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-531-50 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2235 5/29/08 
2 VAC 5-531-140 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2241 5/29/08 
2 VAC 15-20-81 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2242 4/14/08 
2 VAC 20-20-70 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2355 6/12/08 
2 VAC 20-20-130 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2355 6/12/08 
2 VAC 20-20-210 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2355 6/12/08 
2 VAC 20-40-50 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2357 6/12/08 
Title 3. Alcoholic Beverages 
3 VAC 5-50-140 emer Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1344 1/9/08-1/8/09 
3 VAC 5-50-145 emer Added 24:11 VA.R. 1345 1/9/08-1/8/09 
3 VAC 5-70-220 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1891 5/1/08 
3 VAC 5-70-225 emer Added 24:10 VA.R. 1257 1/2/08-1/1/09 
Title 4. Conservation and Natural Resources 
4 VAC 5-50-10 through 4VAC5-50-170 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2357 5/28/08 
4 VAC 15-20-50 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1258 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-20-130 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1259 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-20-200 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1261 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-20-210 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1261 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-30-5 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1262 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-30-40 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1262 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-320-25 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1265 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-30 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1272 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-100 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1272 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-120 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1272 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-160 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1272 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-171 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1273 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-200 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1273 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-340-10 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1273 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-340-30 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1274 1/1/08 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
4 VAC 15-350-20 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1275 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-350-30 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1275 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-350-60 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1275 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-350-70 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1275 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-360-10 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1276 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-40-10 through 4 VAC 20-40-40 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2749 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-90-10 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2749 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-90-20 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2749 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-90-30 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2749 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-150-30 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1277 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-252-55 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1278 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-252-120 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1278 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-252-150 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1279 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-252-160 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1279 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-252-230 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1281 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-270-10 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2751 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-270-30 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2750 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-270-40 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2750 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-270-50 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2750 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-270-50 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2751 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-270-55 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2023 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-270-55 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2751 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-270-56 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2751 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-270-58 Added 24:19 VA.R. 2751 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-320-50 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1456 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-530-20 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1456 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-530-31 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1735 2/5/08 
4 VAC 20-530-32 Repealed 24:12 VA.R. 1457 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-610-20 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 959 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-610-25 Added 24:8 VA.R. 959 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-610-30 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 960 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-610-30 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2024 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-610-50 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 961 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-610-60 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 961 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-620-30 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1281 12/27/07 
4 VAC 20-620-40 emer Amended 24:8 VA.R. 962 11/28/07-12/27/07 
4 VAC 20-620-40 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1282 12/27/07 
4 VAC 20-620-50 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2025 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-620-70 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2026 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-670-20 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2752 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-670-25 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2752 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-670-30 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2752 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-670-40 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2753 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-700-10 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2753 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-700-15 emer Added 24:19 VA.R. 2753 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-700-20 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2026 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-700-20 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2754 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-720-40 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1457 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-50 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1458 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-60 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1458 2/1/08 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
4 VAC 20-720-80 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1458 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-750-10 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2026 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-750-10 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2754 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-750-30 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2026 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-750-30 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2754 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-750-40 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2754 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-750-50 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2754 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-751-15 Added 24:15 VA.R. 2027 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-751-20 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2027 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-752-20 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2754 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-752-30 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2246 4/1/08 
4 VAC 20-752-30 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2755 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-880-10 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2755 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-880-20 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2755 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-880-20 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2756 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-880-30 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2757 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-880-30 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2757 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-950-47 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2028 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-950-48 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2028 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-950-48.1 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2029 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-960-45 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 964 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-960-47 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 964 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-1040-20 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 964 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-1040-35 Added 24:12 VA.R. 1459 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-1090-10 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2757 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-1090-30 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 965 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-1090-30 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2757 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-1090-30 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2760 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-1130-10 through 4 VAC 20-1130-70 Added 24:8 VA.R. 968-970 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-1140-10 Added 24:19 VA.R. 2763 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-1140-20 Added 24:19 VA.R. 2763 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-1140-30 Added 24:19 VA.R. 2763 4/30/08 
4 VAC 25-130 (Forms) Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1424 -- 
4 VAC 25-150-90 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2359 6/12/08 
4 VAC 50-60-10 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2842 7/9/08 
4 VAC 50-60-1200 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2852 7/9/08 
4 VAC 50-60-1210 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2853 7/9/08 
4 VAC 50-60-1220 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2854 7/9/08 
4 VAC 50-60-1230 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2854 7/9/08 
4 VAC 50-60-1240 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2856 7/9/08 
Title 5. Corporations 
5 VAC 5-20-20 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1347 2/15/08 
5 VAC 5-20-140 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1347 2/15/08 
5 VAC 5-20-150 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1348 2/15/08 
5 VAC 5-20-170 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1348 2/15/08 
5 VAC 5-20-240 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1349 2/15/08 
Title 6. Criminal Justice and Corrections 
6 VAC 15-61-10 through 6 VAC 15-61-300 Repealed 24:8 VA.R. 970 1/24/08 
6 VAC 15-62-10 through 6 VAC 15-62-120 Added 24:8 VA.R. 970-979 1/24/08 
6 VAC 15-62-110 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1736 3/3/08 
6 VAC 15-62 (Forms) Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1523 -- 
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6 VAC 40-50-10 through 6 VAC 40-50-80 Added 24:9 VA.R. 1103-1104 2/6/08 
Title 9. Environment 
9 VAC 20-60-18 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1106 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-32 (Forms) Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1738 -- 
9 VAC 25-120-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1107 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-120-20 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1107 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-120-50 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1108 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-120-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1108 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-120-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1108 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-120-80 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1109 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-120-80 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2502 6/11/08 
9 VAC 25-193-40 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2517 6/11/08 
9 VAC 25-193-70 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2517 6/11/08 
9 VAC 25-196-20 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1124 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-196-40 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1124 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-196-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1124 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-196-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1125 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-196-70 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2532 6/11/08 
9 VAC 25-210-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1132 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-210-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1136 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-210-116 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1140 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-210-130 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1142 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-260-30 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1741 * 
9 VAC 25-660-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1144 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-660-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1145 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-660-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1147 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-660-80 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1148 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-660-100 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1148 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-670-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1156 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-670-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1157 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-670-80 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1158 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-670-100 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1159 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-680-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1170 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-680-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1172 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-680-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1174 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-680-80 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1175 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-680-100 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1176 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-690-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1188 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-690-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1190 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-690-80 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1191 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-690-100 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1191 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2540 6/11/08 
9 VAC 25-720-130 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2548 6/11/08 
Title 11. Gaming 
11 VAC 10-130-60 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2247 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-10 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2247 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-20 Repealed 24:16 VA.R. 2248 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-25 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2250 4/14/08 

                                                           
* Effective upon filing notice of U.S. EPA approval with Registrar of Regulations 
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11 VAC 10-180-35 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2250 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-60 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2251 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-70 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2256 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-75 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2256 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-80 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2257 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-85 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2258 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-110 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2259 4/14/08 
Title 12. Health 
12 VAC 5-90-370 Added 24:19 VA.R. 2777 7/1/08 
12 VAC 5-195-10 through 12 VAC 5-195-670 Added 24:19 VA.R. 2778-2802 5/26/08 
12 VAC 5-220-10 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1350 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-220-110 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1353 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-220-130 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1354 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-220-200 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1354 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-371-150 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1357 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-381-10 through 12VAC5-381-40 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1358-1361 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-381-60 through 12VAC5-381-100 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1361-1362 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-381-120 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1362 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-381-140 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1362 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-381-150 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1362 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-381-240 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1363 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-381-280 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1363 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-10 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1364 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-30 through 12 VAC 5-391-100 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1366-1368 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-120 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1368 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-130 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1368 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-150 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1369 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-160 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1369 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-250 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1370 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-280 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1370 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-410-230 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1371 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-481-10 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2566 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-20 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2592 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-30 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2592 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-90 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2592 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-100 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2593 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-110 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2593 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-130 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2594 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-150 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2594 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-200 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2594 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-230 through 12 VAC 5-481-270 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2594-2595 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-340 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2595 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-370 through 12 VAC 5-481-450 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2597-2607 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-460 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2607 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-470 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2608 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-480 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2610 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-500 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2619 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-510 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2620 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-530 through 12 VAC 5-481-590 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2622-2626 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-571 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2624 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-630 through 12 VAC 5-481-760 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2626-2629 6/12/08 
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12 VAC 5-481-780 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2629 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-790 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2629 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-800 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2629 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-810 through 12 VAC 5-481-910 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2630-2631 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-930 through 12 VAC 5-481-1050 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2632-2633 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-971 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2632 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1070 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2633 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1090 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2633 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1100 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2633 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1110 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2633 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1130 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2634 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1151 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2634 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1160 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2635 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1161 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2635 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1190 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2637 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1200 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2638 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1220 through 12 VAC 5-481-1250 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2639-2640 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1270 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2640 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1300 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2640 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1310 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2641 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1320 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2641 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1350 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2644 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1380 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2644 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1420 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2644 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1440 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2644 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1490 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2645 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1520 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2645 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1540 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2645 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1550 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2646 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1560 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2646 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1570 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2647 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1670 through 12 VAC 5-481-2040 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2647-2650 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2001 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2649 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2050 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2650 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2060 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2651 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2070 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2651 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2080 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2651 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2100 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2651 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2230 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2652 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2240 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2653 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2260 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2653 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2270 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2653 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2280 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2654 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2330 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2654 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2420 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2654 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2430 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2655 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2470 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2655 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2490 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2655 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2510 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2656 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2530 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2656 6/12/08 
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12 VAC 5-481-2540 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2656 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2550 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2657 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2571 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2657 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2572 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2659 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2573 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2660 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2660 through 12 VAC 5-481-2950 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2660-2661 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2970 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2661 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2980 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2662 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3000 through 12 VAC 5-481-3040 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2663-2665 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3070 through 12 VAC 5-481-3140 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2667-2670 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3050 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2665 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3051 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2666 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3091 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2668 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3151 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2670 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3160 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2671 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3200 through 12 VAC 5-481-3270 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2671-2675 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3241 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2673 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3261 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2674 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3290 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2675 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3300 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2675 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3340 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2675 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3350 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2675 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3400 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2676 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3430 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2677 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3440 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2683 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3480 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2684 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3490 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2684 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3510 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2684 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3520 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2685 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3530 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2685 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3560 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2686 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3580 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2687 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3600 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2687 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3610 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2688 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3650 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2688 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3670 through 12 VAC 5-481-3780 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2689-2715 6/12/08 
12 VAC 30-80-30  Erratum 24:17 VA.R. 2473 -- 
12 VAC 30-120-70 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1791 7/1/08 
12 VAC 30-120-90 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1793 7/1/08 
12 VAC 30-120-140 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1794 7/1/08 
12 VAC 30-120-211 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1797 7/1/08 
12 VAC 30-120-213 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1800 7/1/08 
12 VAC 30-120-225 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1802 7/1/08 
12 VAC 30-120-229 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1804 7/1/08 
12 VAC 30-120-237 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1805 7/1/08 
12 VAC 30-120-247 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1807 7/1/08 
12 VAC 30-120-700 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1808 7/1/08 
12 VAC 30-120-710 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1812 7/1/08 
12 VAC 30-120-754 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1813 7/1/08 
12 VAC 30-120-758 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1815 7/1/08 
12 VAC 30-120-762 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1815 7/1/08 
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12 VAC 30-120-770 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1816 7/1/08 
12 VAC 30-120-900 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1818 7/1/08 
12 VAC 30-120-910 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1820 7/1/08 
12 VAC 30-120-920 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1821 7/1/08 
12 VAC 30-120-970 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1823 7/1/08 
12 VAC 30-120-1500 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1825 7/1/08 
12 VAC 30-120-1510 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1827 7/1/08 
12 VAC 30-120-1550 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1828 7/1/08 
12 VAC 30-120-1560 Added 24:13 VA.R. 1830 7/1/08 
12 VAC 30-120-2000 Added 24:13 VA.R. 1832 7/1/08 
12 VAC 30-120-2010 Added 24:13 VA.R. 1833 7/1/08 
12 VAC 35-105-115 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1372 3/5/08 
Title 13. Housing 
13 VAC 5-21-10 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1894 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-21-20 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1894 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-21-31 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1895 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-21-41 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1895 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-21-45 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1895 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-21-51 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1895 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-21-61 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1896 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-31-20 through 13 VAC 5-31-50 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1897-1898 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-31-70 through 13 VAC 5-31-170 Repealed 24:14 VA.R. 1898-1903 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-31-75 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1898 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-31-85 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1900 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-31-200 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1904 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-31-210 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1904 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-31-215 through 13 VAC 5-31-270 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1904-1905 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-21 through 13 VAC 5-51-51 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1907-1910 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-81 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1910 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-85 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1921 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-91 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1924 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-130 through 13 VAC 5-51-135 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1925-1928 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-143 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1928 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-145 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1932 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-150 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1932 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-152 Repealed 24:14 VA.R. 1937 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-154 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1937 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-155 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1939 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-10 through 13 VAC 5-63-50 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-70 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-80 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-100 through 13 VAC 5-63-130 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-150 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-160 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-190 through 13 VAC 5-63-260 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-225 Repealed 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-265 Repealed 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-267 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-270 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-280 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
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13 VAC 5-63-300 through 13 VAC 5-63-360 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-335 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-400 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-430 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-432 Repealed 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-434 through 13 VAC 5-63-450 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-470 through 13 VAC 5-63-500 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-520 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-525 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-550 Repealed 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-91-20 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1943 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-91-100 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1943 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-91-110 Repealed 24:14 VA.R. 1944 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-91-115 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1944 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-91-120 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1944 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-91-160 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1945 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-91-270 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1945 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-95-10 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1947 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-95-30 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1948 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-112-340 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 979 1/23/08 
13 VAC 10-180-10 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1373 2/4/08 
13 VAC 10-180-50 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1374 2/4/08 
13 VAC 10-180-60 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1376 2/4/08 
13 VAC 10-180-60 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1387 2/4/08 
13 VAC 10-180-100 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1397 2/4/08 
Title 14. Insurance 
14 VAC 5-30-30 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2153 4/1/08 
14 VAC 5-200-185 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2155 4/1/08 
14 VAC 5-215 (Forms) Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2452 -- 
14 VAC 5-270-10 through 14 VAC 5-270-150 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1460-1470 1/1/10 
14 VAC 5-270-144 Added 24:12 VA.R. 1467 1/1/10 
14 VAC 5-270-146 Added 24:12 VA.R. 1468 1/1/10 
14 VAC 5-270-148 Added 24:12 VA.R. 1469 1/1/10 
14 VAC 5-270-170 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1470 1/1/10 
14 VAC 5-270-174 Added 24:12 VA.R. 1470 1/1/10 
14 VAC 5-270-180 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1470 1/1/10 
Title 16. Labor and Employment 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.6 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.68 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.94 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.103 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.107 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.110 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.111 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.132 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2263 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.144 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.243 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.251 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.253 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.261 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-100-1915.152 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2263 6/1/08 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
16 VAC 25-120-1917.96 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2263 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-130-1918.106 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2263 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.95 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2263 6/1/08 
Title 18. Professional and Occupational Licensing 
18 VAC 15-20-451 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2455 8/1/08 
18 VAC 30-20-80 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1284 2/20/08 
18 VAC 30-20-170 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1284 2/20/08 
18 VAC 30-20-171 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1285 2/20/08 
18 VAC 60-20-30 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2874 7/24/08 
18 VAC 60-20-81 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1949 4/16/08 
18 VAC 60-20-108 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1950 4/16/08 
18 VAC 60-20-190 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1951 4/16/08 
18 VAC 60-20-220 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1287 3/10/08 
18 VAC 60-20-220 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1951 4/16/08 
18 VAC 85-20-22 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1404 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-20-22 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1952 4/16/08 
18 VAC 85-20-226 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1404 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-20-400 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2876 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-40-35 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1404 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-40-67 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1405 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-50-35 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1405 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-50-61 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1405 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-80-26 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1406 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-80-73 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1406 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-101-25 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1406 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-101-25 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2879 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-101-40 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2879 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-101-50 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2879 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-101-55 Added 24:20 VA.R. 2880 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-101-60 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2880 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-101-70 Repealed 24:20 VA.R. 2881 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-101-150 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2881 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-101-153 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1407 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-110-35 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1407 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-110-161 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1407 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-120-10 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2884 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-120-50 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2884 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-120-70 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2885 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-120-90 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2885 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-120-95 Added 24:20 VA.R. 2885 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-120-150 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2885 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-130-30 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1952 4/16/08 
18 VAC 90-20-10 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1842 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-35 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1843 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-40 through 18 VAC 90-20-60 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1843-1845 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-65 Repealed 24:13 VA.R. 1844 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-70 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1844 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-90 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1845 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-95 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1846 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-96 Added 24:13 VA.R. 1846 4/2/08 
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18 VAC 90-20-110 through 18 VAC 90-20-140 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1846-1848 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-151 Added 24:13 VA.R. 1848 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-160 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1849 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-190 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1849 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-200 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1850 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-220 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1850 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-230 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1851 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-275 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1851 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-280 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1851 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-300 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1851 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-370 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1852 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-390 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1852 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-410 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1853 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-30-10 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1288 2/20/08 
18 VAC 90-30-80 Erratum 24:18 VA.R. 2731-2732 -- 
18 VAC 90-30-120 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1288 2/20/08 
18 VAC 90-30-121 Added 24:10 VA.R. 1289 2/20/08 
18 VAC 95-20-80 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2264 5/14/08 
18 VAC 95-20-175 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2887 7/24/08 
18 VAC 95-20-220 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2888 7/24/08 
18 VAC 95-20-230 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2888 7/24/08 
18 VAC 95-30-40 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2264 5/14/08 
18 VAC 110-20-10 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 983 1/23/08 
18 VAC 110-20-321 Added 24:8 VA.R. 986 1/23/08 
18 VAC 110-20-411 through 18 VAC 110-20-416 Repealed 24:8 VA.R. 986-987 1/23/08 
18 VAC 110-20-530 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2265 5/14/08 
18 VAC 110-30-15 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1290 2/20/08 
18 VAC 110-50-10 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1290 2/20/08 
18 VAC 110-50-160 Added 24:10 VA.R. 1291 2/20/08 
18 VAC 110-50-170 Added 24:10 VA.R. 1291 2/20/08 
18 VAC 110-50-180 Added 24:10 VA.R. 1292 2/20/08 
18 VAC 110-50-190 Added 24:10 VA.R. 1292 2/20/08 
18 VAC 115-30-150 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1953 4/16/08 
18 VAC 115-30-160 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1953 4/16/08 
18 VAC 125-20-170 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1471 3/19/08 
18 VAC 125-30-120 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1471 3/19/08 
18 VAC 135-20-10 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1408 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-30 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1409 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-60 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1410 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-100 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1410 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-101 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1412 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-105 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1413 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-160 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1413 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-170 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1414 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-180 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1414 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-190 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1416 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-210 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1417 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-220 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1417 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-280 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1417 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-300 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1418 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-345 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1418 4/1/08 
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18 VAC 135-20-360 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1419 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-370 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1419 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-390 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1420 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-60-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1230 3/1/08 
18 VAC 140-20-105 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2890 7/24/08 
Title 19. Public Safety 
19 VAC 30-20-115 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1421 3/6/08 
19 VAC 30-70-6 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 988 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-7 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 988 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-9 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 989 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-10 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 991 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-40 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 994 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-50 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 995 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-60 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 997 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-80 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 998 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-90 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 1001 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-110 through 19 VAC 30-70-660 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 1001-1070 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-190-10 through 19 VAC 30-190-140 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1421-1423 3/6/08 
Title 22. Social Services 
22 VAC 15-30-310 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1295 3/6/08 
22 VAC 40-470-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1231 2/6/08 
22 VAC 40-685-30 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1231 2/6/08 
22 VAC 40-705-10 emer Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1987 3/1/08-2/28/09 
22 VAC 40-705-30 emer Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1990 3/1/08-2/28/09 
Title 23. Taxation 
23 VAC 10-10-10 through 23 VAC 10-10-80 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1520-1521 4/19/08 
23 VAC 10-10-80 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1521 4/19/08 
23 VAC 10-10-90 Repealed 24:12 VA.R. 1522 4/19/08 
Title 24. Transportation and Motor Vehicles 
24 VAC 30-72-10 through 24 VAC 30-72-170 Added 24:17 VA.R. 2458-2466 7/1/08 
24 VAC 30-72-30 Erratum 24:18 VA.R. 2732 -- 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-370. Rules Governing Fees 
and Charges. 

Statutory Authority: §§22.1-6 and 22.1-16 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: JustChildren. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner requests that the 
Virginia Board of Education review and revise the current 
Regulations Governing Fees and Charges (8VAC20-370-10) 
in order to ensure clarity in the implementation of the 
provisions of this regulation. 

Agency's Plan for Disposition of Request: The agency has 
received the petitioner's request and has announced a 21-day 
comment period, which will be published in the Register. 

Comments may be submitted until July 14, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Margaret N. Roberts, Department of 
Education, P.O. Box 2120, Richmond, VA 23218-2120, 
telephone (804) 225-2540, FAX (804) 225-2524, or email 
margaret.roberts@doe.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-17; Filed May 29, 2008, 1:00 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-50. Regulations Governing 
Certification of Massage Therapists. 

Statutory Authority: §54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: JoAnn Agnone. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend regulations to 
eliminate or reduce the mandated continuing education for 
massage therapists. 

Agency's Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reasons for Decision: The board determined 
that a requirement for continuing education or current 
certification by the national credentialing body in massage 
therapy is necessary to protect the public, but it has proposed 
to reduce the number of hours required from 25 to 24 per 
biennium. 

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, Executive Director, Board 
of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4623, FAX (804) 527-
4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-09; Filed May 22, 2008, 9:24 a.m. 

BOARD OF LONG-TERM CARE ADMINISTRATORS 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC95-30. Rules Governing the 
Practice of Assisted Living Facility Administrators. 

Statutory Authority: §§54.1-2400 and 54.1-3102 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Stuart Lovelace. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To eliminate the requirement 
for a national examination for licensure of assisted living 
facility administrators and replace it with a state examination. 

Agency's Plan for Disposition of Request: The request will be 
distributed to interested parties on the public participation list 
for the board and published in the Virginia Register on June 
23, 2008.  The board will consider the request and any 
comment received at its next meeting, which is scheduled for 
October 28, 2008. 

Comments may be submitted until July 23, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Senior Policy Analyst, 
Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, 
FAX (804) 527-4434, or email 
elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-16; Filed May 29, 2008, 10:17 a.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board 
intends to consider amending the following regulations: 
9VAC25-20, Fees for Permits and Certificates; 9VAC25-
31, Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
(VPDES) Permit Regulation and 9VAC25-32, Virginia 
Pollution Abatement (VPA) Permit Regulation. On 
September 25, 2007, the State Water Control Board voted to 
amend the Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Regulation 
(9VAC25-32), the Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 
System Permit Regulation (9VAC25-31), the Fees for Permits 
and Certificates regulation (9VAC25-20), and the Sewage 
Collection and Treatment Regulations (9VAC25-790), where 
applicable, to reflect changes to §62.1-44.19:3 of the Code of 
Virginia. The changes to the code and these related 
amendments transferred oversight of the regulatory program 
pertaining to biosolids (treated sewage sludge) from the 
Virginia Department of Health to the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality as a final exempt regulatory action. 
The final exempt process did not allow substantive changes to 
be made to the regulation apart from those specifically 
outlined in the statutory mandate. As a result, several issues 
regarding inconsistency between biosolids land application 
requirements in the Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit 
Regulation (9VAC25-32) and the Virginia Pollutant 
Discharge Elimination System Permit Regulation (9VAC25-
31) still exist. The amendments will address three regulatory 
actions initiated by the Board of Health pertaining to field 
storage of biosolids, permit fees, and site access control. In 
order to include consideration of the fee structure for 
biosolids land application permits, the Fees for Permits and 
Certificates regulation (9VAC25-20) is also included in this 
intended regulatory action. The board will also consider (i) 
issues pertaining to public notice processes, processes to 
establish appropriate buffers to address health concerns, 
permit modification procedures, sampling requirements, 
nutrient management requirements, animal health issues 
associated with grazing, financial assurance procedures, 
changes to permitting procedures to reduce administrative 
burden while securing adequate requirements for public 
notice, site-specific nutrient management and health; and (ii) 
input from the Biosolids Expert Panel. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on July 31, 2008. 

Agency Contact: William K. Norris, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4022, FAX (804) 
698-4347, or email wknorris@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1248; Filed June 4, 2008, 10:20 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given that the Board of Veterinary Medicine 
has WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory for 
18VAC150-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Veterinary Medicine, that was published in 24:14 VA.R. 
1888 March 17, 2008. The board is withdrawing the notice 
because legislation passed by the 2008 General Assembly has 
resolved most of the issues addressed. 

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, Perimeter 
Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX (804) 527-
4475, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1217; Filed May 22, 2008, 2:16 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER BOARD  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board 
intends to consider promulgating the following regulations: 
24VAC22-40, Motor Vehicle Dealer Operator Training 
Regulations. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
establish regulations for mandatory, continuing education for 
independent (used) motor vehicle dealers.  

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §46.2-1506.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on September 5, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Bruce Gould, Executive Director, Motor 
Vehicle Dealer Board, 2201 West Broad Street, Suite 104, 
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Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-1100, FAX (804) 
367-1053, or email bruce.gould@mvdb.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1219; Filed June 4, 2008, 11:43 a.m. 
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 
REGISTRAR’S NOTICE: The following regulations filed by 
the Marine Resources Commission are exempt from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with §2.2-4006 A 
12 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 
required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-140. Pertaining to the 
Identification and Location of Fish Pots (amending 
4VAC20-140-10, 4VAC20-140-20; adding 4VAC20-140-
25).  

Statutory Authority: §28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 17, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Ave., 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments: (i) require all hard crab pot fishermen 
to use their MRC ID number preceded by the letter “C” 
on each buoy or stake attached to each pot; (ii) require 
all peeler pot fishermen to use their MRC ID number 
preceded by the letter “P” on each buoy or stake 
attached to each peeler pot; (iii) make it illegal for any 
fisherman to place any additional numbers or letters on 
any crab pot or peeler pot buoy or stake; and (iv) allow 
fishermen legally licensed to crab pot or peeler pot in 
North Carolina or the Potomac River to also display 
identification required by those jurisdictions.  

CHAPTER 140  
PERTAINING TO THE IDENTIFICATION OF CRAB 

POTS, PEELER POTS AND LOCATION OF FISH POTS  

4VAC20-140-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to lessen gear conflicts and to 
aid in enforcement of the requirement to keep gear out of 
marked navigable channels by requiring all fish pots to be 
appropriately identified describe the lawful methods an 
individual shall use to identify his licensed crab pots, peeler 
pots or fish pots.  

4VAC20-140-20. Identification of fish pots.  

Any person owning or using a fish pot, for which a license is 
prescribed by law, shall display and maintain his or its current 
identification number, assigned by the Marine Resources 
Commission, on each floating buoy or stake attached to each 
such fish pot, in a legible and visible manner.  

4VAC20-140-25. Identification of crab pots and peeler 
pots. 

A. Any person placing, setting, or fishing crab pots in 
Virginia waters, for which a commercial license is prescribed 
by law, shall display his Marine Resources Commission 
identification number, preceded by the letter "C," on each 
floating buoy or stake attached to each such crab pot, in a 
legible and visible manner.  

B. Any person placing, setting, or fishing peeler pots in 
Virginia waters, for which a commercial license is prescribed 
by law, shall display his Marine Resources Commission 
identification number, preceded by the letter "P," on each 
floating buoy or stake attached to each such peeler pot, in a 
legible and visible manner. 

C. Except as provided in subsection D of this section, it shall 
be unlawful for any person to place numbers or letters on any 
crab pot or peeler pot buoy or stake that is in addition to the 
identification requirement described in subsection A or B of 
this section. 

D. Any person who is legally licensed to crab pot or peeler 
pot in North Carolina or the Potomac River may also display 
identification required by those jurisdictions on the buoys or 
stakes attached to those crab pots or peeler pots while placing, 
setting or fishing those crab pots or peeler pots in Virginia 
waters. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1342; Filed May 30, 2008, 11:21 a.m. 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-270. Pertaining to Crabbing 
(amending 4VAC20-270-10, 4VAC20-270-50). 

Statutory Authority: §28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 1, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 
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Summary: 

The amendment establishes hard crab pot limits for crab 
pot category limits, up to 85 crab pots, up to 127 crab 
pots, up to 170 crab pots, up to 255 crab pots, and up to 
425 for the 2008 crab pot season.  

4VAC20-270-10. Purpose.  

The purpose of this chapter is to allow for the conservation 
of crabs and rebuilding of the crab resource and to improve 
the enforceability of other laws pertaining to crabbing.  

4VAC20-270-50. Peeler crab pot and crab pot limits.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to place, set or fish or 
attempt to place, set or fish more than 210 peeler crab pots in 
Virginia tidal waters. 

B. The lawful crab pot license categories and crab pot limits 
for the 2008 crab pot season are as follows: 

1. Up to 85 crab pots. 

2. Up to 127 crab pots. 

3. Up to 170 crab pots. 

4. Up to 255 crab pots. 

5. Up to 425 crab pots. 

C. The lawful crab pot license categories and crab pot limits 
for the 2009 crab pot season are as follows: 

1. Up to 70 crab pots. 

2. Up to 105 crab pots. 

3. Up to 140 crab pots. 

4. Up to 210 crab pots. 

5. Up to 350 crab pots. 

C. D. It shall be unlawful for any person to knowingly place, 
set or fish any amount of crab pots that exceeds that person's 
crab pot limit, as described in subsection subsections B and C 
of this section. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1312; Filed May 30, 2008, 11:18 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-450. Pertaining to the Taking 
of Bluefish (amending 4VAC20-450-30). 

Statutory Authority: §28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 1, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Ave., 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment establishes the 2008 commercial bluefish 
quota as 1,048,366 pounds.  

4VAC20-450-30. Commercial landings quota.  

A. During the period of January 1 through December 31, 
commercial landings of bluefish shall be limited to 1,018,660 
1,048,366 pounds.  

B. When it is projected that 95% of the commercial landings 
quota has been realized, a notice will be posted to close 
commercial harvest and landings from the bluefish fishery 
within five days of posting.  

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or land 
bluefish for commercial purposes after the closure date set 
forth in the notice described in subsection B of this section.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1324; Filed May 30, 2008, 11:22 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-700. Pertaining to Crab Pots 
(amending 4VAC20-700-20; adding 4VAC20-700-15). 

Statutory Authority: §§28.2-201 and 28.2-210 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 1, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Ave., 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendments establish that all crab pots in any area 
shall contain four unobstructed cull rings, one 2-5/16-
inch ring and one 2-3/16-inch ring, which shall be 
located one each in opposite exterior side panels of the 
upper chamber of the pot; and two 2-3/8-inch rings, 
which shall be located on each opposite exterior side 
panels of the upper chamber of the pot, except that in 
Virginia’s seaside area, only two unobstructed cull rings 
(one cull ring as 2-3/16", another as 2-5/16", inside 
diameter) shall be required. 

4VAC20-700-15. Definitions. 

"Mainstem Chesapeake Bay" means all tidal waters 
westward of the shoreward boundary of Virginia's portion of 
the federal territorial sea, exclusive of the tributaries of the 
Chesapeake Bay and Potomac River. 

"Seaside area" means any Virginia tidal waters on the ocean 
side of Accomack and Northampton counties, including any 
bays, inlets or other waters that have an open connection to 
ocean waters. 
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"Tributaries of the mainstem Chesapeake Bay" means those 
waters outside of the mainstem of the Chesapeake Bay but 
westward of the shoreward boundary of Virginia's portion of 
the federal territorial sea. 

4VAC20-700-20. Cull ring requirements.  

A. It Effective July 1, 2008, it shall be unlawful for any 
person to place, set or fish any crab pot, in Virginia's tidal 
waters seaside area, that does not contain at least two 
unobstructed cull rings of size and location within the pot, as 
described in this subsection, except as provided in subsection 
subsections B and C of this section. One cull ring shall be at 
least 2-5/16 inches inside diameter, and the other cull ring 
shall be at least 2-3/16 inches inside diameter. These cull 
rings shall be located one each in opposite exterior side 
panels of the upper chamber of the pot.  

B. Effective July 1, 2008, it shall be unlawful for any person 
to place, set or fish any crab pot, in any Virginia waters, 
except as described in subsection A of this section, that does 
not contain at least four unobstructed cull rings of size and 
location within the pot, as described in this subsection. Two 
cull rings shall be at least 2-3/8 inches inside diameter. These 
cull rings shall be located one each in opposite exterior side 
panels of the upper chamber of the pot. A third cull ring shall 
be at least 2-5/16 inches inside diameter, and the fourth cull 
ring shall be at least 2-3/16 inches inside diameter. The 2-
5/16 inch and 2-3/16 inch cull rings shall be located one each 
in opposite exterior side panels of the upper chamber of the 
pot. 

B. C. Peeler pots with a mesh size less than 1-1/2 inches 
shall be exempt from the cull ring requirement.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1320; Filed May 30, 2008, 11:27 a.m. 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-880. Pertaining to Hard Crab 
Pot Limits (amending 4VAC20-880-10, 4VAC20-880-30). 

Statutory Authority: §28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 1, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) establish that between May 1, 2008, 
through November 30, 2008, it shall be unlawful to 
place, set or fish more than 255 hard crab pots in the 
tributaries of the mainstem Chesapeake Bay; (ii) 
establish that between May 1, 2008, through November 
30, 2008, it is unlawful to fish more than 425 hard crab 

pots in the mainstem Chesapeake Bay or coastal area; 
and (iii) make it unlawful, from May 1, 2008, through 
November 30, 2008, to place, set or fish more than 425 
pots in Virginia tidal waters. 

4VAC20-880-10. Purpose.  

The purpose of this chapter is to protect and conserve the 
blue crab resource by controlling fishing effort by 
establishing additional limits on the number of crab pots that 
can be set or fished.  

4VAC20-880-30. Hard crab pot limits.  

A. It From May 1, 2008, through November 30, 2008, it 
shall be unlawful for any person to place, set or fish more 
than 300 255 hard crab pots in the tributaries of the mainstem 
Chesapeake Bay. After March 16, 2009, it shall be unlawful 
for any person to place, set or fish more than 210 hard crab 
pots in the tributaries of the mainstem Chesapeake Bay or the 
Potomac River tributaries. 

B. It From May 1, 2008, through November 30, 2008, it 
shall be unlawful for any person to place, set or fish more 
than 500 425 hard crab pots in the mainstem Chesapeake Bay 
and  coastal area.  After March 16, 2009, it shall be unlawful 
for any person to place, set or fish more than 350 hard crab 
pots in the mainstem Chesapeake Bay or coastal area. 

C. It From May 1, 2008, through November 30, 2008, it 
shall be unlawful for any person to place, set or fish more 
than a combined total of 500 425 hard crab pots in Virginia 
tidal waters. After March 16, 2009, it shall be unlawful for 
any person to place, set or fish more than 350 hard crab pots 
in Virginia tidal waters. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to take or catch hard 
crabs or peeler crabs using any type of pot other than a 
licensed hard crab pot or peeler pot except as provided in 
§28.2-226 of the Code of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1314; Filed May 30, 2008, 11:24 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1090. Pertaining to Licensing 
Requirements and License Fees (amending 4VAC20-1090-
30). 

Statutory Authority: §28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 1, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 
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The amendments establish crab hard pot categories and 
their limits for May 1, 2008, through November 30, 2008.  

4VAC20-1090-30. License fees. 

The following listing of license fees applies to any person 
who purchases a license for the purposes of harvesting for 
commercial purposes, or fishing for recreational purposes, 
during any calendar year. 

1. COMMERCIAL LICENSES. 

Commercial Fisherman Registration License $190.00 

Commercial Fisherman Registration License for a 
person 70 years or older $90.00 

Delayed Entry Registration.  $190.00 

Delayed Entry Registration License for a person 
70 years or older  $90.00 

Seafood Landing License for each boat or vessel $175.00 

For each Commercial Fishing Pier over or upon 
subaqueous beds (mandatory) $83.00 

Seafood Buyer's License -- For each boat or motor 
vehicle $63.00 

Seafood Buyer's License -- For each place of 
business $126.00 

Clam Aquaculture Product Owner's Permit $10.00 

Oyster Aquaculture Product Owner's Permit $10.00 

Clam Aquaculture Harvester's Permit $5.00 

Oyster Aquaculture Harvester's Permit $5.00 

Nonresident Harvester's License $444.00 

OYSTER HARVESTING AND SHUCKING LICENSES 

For each person taking oysters by hand, or with 
ordinary tongs $10.00 

For each single-rigged patent tong boat taking 
oysters $35.00 

For each double-rigged patent tong boat taking 
oysters $70.00 

Oyster Dredge Public Ground $50.00 

Oyster Hand Scrape $50.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for any number of 
gallons under 1,000 $12.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 1,000 gallons, up to 
10,000 $33.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 10,000 gallons, up 
to 25,000 $74.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 25,000 gallons, up 
to 50,000 $124.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 50,000 gallons, up 
to 100,000 $207.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 100,000 gallons, up 
to 200,000 $290.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 200,000 gallons or 
over $456.00 

BLUE CRAB HARVESTING AND SHEDDING LICENSES, 
EXCLUSIVE OF CRAB POT LICENSES 

For each person taking or catching crabs by dip 
nets $13.00 

For ordinary trotlines  $13.00 

For patent trotlines $51.00 

For each single-rigged crab-scrape boat $26.00 

For each double-rigged crab-scrape boat $53.00 

For up to 100 crab pots $48.00 

For over 100 but not more than 150 crab pots $79.00 

For over 150 but not more than 200 crab pots $79.00 

For over 200 but not more than 300 crab pots $79.00 

For over 300 but not more than 500 crab pots $127.00 

For up to 300 210 peeler pots $36.00 

For up to 20 tanks and floats for shedding crabs $9.00 

For more than 20 tanks or floats for shedding crabs $19.00 

For each crab trap or crab pound $8.00 

CRAB POT LICENSES 

a. From May 1, 2008, through November 30, 2008, the 
following crab pot licenses and fees shall be in effect: 

For up to 85 crab pots $48.00 

For over 85 but not more than 127 crab pots $79.00 

For over 127 but not more than 170 crab pots $79.00 

For over 170 but not more than 255 crab pots $79.00 

For over 255 but not more than 425 crab pots $127.00 

b. After November 30, 2008, the following crab pot licenses and 
fees shall be in effect: 

For up to 70 crab pots $48.00 

For over 70 but not more than 105 crab pots $79.00 

For over 105 but not more than 140 crab pots $79.00 

For over 140 but not more than 210 crab pots $79.00 

For over 210 but not more than 350 crab pots $127.00 

For up to 210 peeler pots $36.00 
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HORSESHOE CRAB AND LOBSTER LICENSES 

For each person harvesting horseshoe crabs by 
hand  $16.00 

For each boat engaged in fishing for, or landing of, 
lobster using less than 200 pots  $41.00 

For each boat engaged in fishing for, or landing of, 
lobster using 200 pots or more  $166.00 

CLAM HARVESTING LICENSES 

For each person taking or harvesting clams by 
hand, rake or with ordinary tongs $24.00 

For each single-rigged patent tong boat taking 
clams $58.00 

For each double-rigged patent tong boat taking 
clams $84.00 

For each boat using clam dredge (hand) $19.00 

For each boat using clam dredge (power) $44.00 

For each boat using hydraulic dredge to catch soft 
shell clams $83.00 

For each person taking surf clams $124.00 

CONCH (WHELK) HARVESTING LICENSES 

For each boat using a conch dredge $58.00 

For each person taking channeled whelk by conch 
pot $51.00 

FINFISH HARVESTING LICENSES 

Each pound net $41.00 

Each stake gill net of 1,200 feet in length or under, 
with a fixed location $24.00 

All other gill nets up to 600 feet $16.00 

All other gill nets over 600 feet and up to 1,200 
feet  $24.00 

Each person using a cast net or throw net or similar 
device $13.00 

Each fyke net head, weir, or similar device $13.00 

For fish trotlines $19.00 

Each person using or operating a fish dip net $9.00 

On each haul seine used for catching fish, under 
500 yards in length $48.00 

On each haul seine used for catching fish, from 
500 yards in length to 1,000 yards in length $146.00 

For each person using commercial hook and line $31.00 

For each person using commercial hook and line $31.00 

for catching striped bass only 

On each boat or vessel under 70 gross tons fishing 
with purse net, per gross ton, but not more than 
$249 $4.00 

On each boat or vessel over 70 gross tons fishing 
with purse net, per gross ton. Provided the 
maximum license fee for such vessels shall not be 
more than $996 $8.00 

For up to 100 fish pots or eel pots $19.00 

For over 100 but not more than 300 fish pots or eel 
pots $24.00 

For over 300 fish pots or eel pots $62.00 

2. COMMERCIAL GEAR FOR RECREATIONAL USE. 

Crab trotline (300 feet maximum) $10.00 

One crab trap or crab pound $6.00 

One gill net up to 300 feet in length $9.00 

Fish dip net $7.00 

Fish cast net $10.00 

Up to two eel pots $10.00 

3. SALTWATER RECREATIONAL FISHING LICENSE. 

Individual License $12.50 

Temporary 10-Day License $5.00 

Recreational boat $38.00 

Head Boat/Charter Boat, six or less passengers $190.00 

Head Boat/Charter Boat, more than six passengers 
plus $5.00 per person over six $190.00 

Rental Boat, per boat, with maximum fee of $635 $9.00 

Commercial Fishing Pier (Optional) $571.00 

Disabled Resident Lifetime Saltwater License $5.00 

Reissuance of Saltwater Recreational Boat License $5.00 

Combined Sportfishing License to fish in all inland waters and 
tidal waters of the Commonwealth during open season 

Residents $24.50 

Nonresidents $42.50 

Combined Sportfishing Trip License to fish in all inland waters 
and tidal waters of the Commonwealth during open season, for 
five consecutive days 

Residents $10.50 

Nonresidents $15.50 

Individual Lifetime License $250.00 



Regulations 

Volume 24, Issue 21 Virginia Register of Regulations June 23, 2008 

2922 

Individual Lifetime License age 45 - 50 $120.00 

Individual Lifetime License age 51 - 55 $90.00 

Individual Lifetime License age 56 - 60 $60.00 

Individual Lifetime License age 61 - 64 $30.00 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1315; Filed May 30, 2008, 11:25 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-40. Regulations Governing 
Educational Services for Gifted Students (amending 
8VAC20-40-10, 8VAC20-40-20, 8VAC20-40-40, 8VAC20-
40-60; adding 8VAC20-40-55; repealing 8VAC20-40-30, 
8VAC20-40-50, 8VAC20-40-70). 

Statutory Authority: §22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

September 25, 2008 - 11 a.m. - James Monroe Building, 
101 N. 14th Street, 22nd Floor Conference Room, 
Richmond, VA 23218 

September 22, 2008 - 7 p.m. - Marshall High School, 
7731 Leesburg Pike, Falls Church, VA (703) 714-5400 

September 22, 2008 - 7 p.m. - Oscar F. Smith High 
School, 1994 Tiger Drive, Chesapeake, VA (757) 548-
0696 

September 23, 2008 - 7 p.m. - Radford High School, 
50 Dalton Drive, Radford, VA (540) 731-3649 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on September 26, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Dr. Margaret N. Roberts, Office of Policy & 
Communications, Department of Education, Post Office Box 
2120, 101 N. 14th St., 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 225-2540, FAX (804) 225-2524, or email 
margaret.roberts@doe.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia vests the 
Board of Education with the authority to adopt bylaws for its 
own government and promulgate such regulations as may be 
necessary to carry out its powers and duties and the 
provisions of Title 22.1. 

Purpose: This action is essential to ensure that students in the 
Commonwealth are provided with an education that is 
commensurate with their abilities.  The state definitions and 
provisions found in the Regulations Governing Educational 
Services for Gifted Students establish the basic expectation 

for school divisions’ services for gifted students.  These 
regulations ensure that school divisions’ programs respond 
appropriately to the learning needs of gifted students, 
especially those students with economically disadvantaged 
backgrounds, those with limited English language 
proficiency, or those with disabilities. The proposed 
regulations reflect the relevant findings from research 
regarding effective program options, appropriate curricular 
designs and instructional strategies, and the significance of 
teacher professional development in providing appropriate 
instruction for gifted students. 

Substance: The following changes are proposed to the 
Regulations Governing Educational Services for Gifted 
Students: 

1. Additions to and revisions of critical terms; 

2. Clarification of the screening, referral, identification, 
and placement components; 

3. Addition of parental rights, notification, consent, and 
appeals information; 

4. Revision of components of the local plan for the 
education of the gifted; 

5. Revision of the role and function of the local advisory 
committee for the education of the gifted to comply with 
§22.1-18.l of the Code of Virginia; and 

6. Addition and expansion of annual report expectations to 
comply with §22.1-18.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Issues: The primary advantages of the proposed regulations 
for the public or the Commonwealth: 

1. Alignment of services for gifted students with current 
standards and practices found in relevant research and 
practice; 

2. Establishment of basic expectations for the annual 
screening of all students for gifted education services; 

3. Reduction of the number of instruments used to 
identify gifted students from four to three; 

4. Establishment of basic expectations that programs for 
the gifted include monitoring and assessment of student 
outcomes; 

5. Establishment of expectations that programs for the 
gifted will be provided within the school day and week to 
ensure these students have time to study with their age-
level peers and their intellectual peers, and time to study 
independently; and 

6. Establishment of expectations that school boards, and 
not the Department of Education, will approve local 
plans that are in compliance with the regulations. 

There are no perceived disadvantages to the public, to the 
agency, or to the Commonwealth. 
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The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Education (Board) proposes to: 1) no longer require 
that school divisions submit their plan for the education of 
gifted students to the Department of Education (Department) 
for approval, 2) require that school divisions post their plan 
for the education of gifted students on their website and have 
printed copies of the plan available for citizens who do not 
have online access, 3) require that the identification and 
placement committee determine the eligibility status of each 
student referred for the division’s gifted education program 
and notify the parent or guardian of its decision within 60 
business days of the receipt of the referral, 4) require that 
requests filed by parents or legal guardians to appeal any 
action of the identification and placement committee shall be 
filed within 10 business days of receipt of notification of the 
action by the division, 5) reduce the minimum number of 
criteria used for the identification of gifted students from four 
to three, 6) explicitly require that gifted services include 
English, history and social science in place of the current 
vague requirement for gifted services in humanities, 7) clarify 
that the appropriately differentiated curriculum and 
instruction for gifted students be provided "continuously and 
sequentially," and 8) require that school divisions provide 
professional development for instructional personnel who 
deliver services within the gifted education program based on 
the competencies specified for the gifted education add-on 
endorsement. 

Result of Analysis. The costs likely exceed the benefits for 
one or more proposed changes.  The benefits exceed the costs 
for one or more other proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  

Plan for the education of gifted students 

Section 22.1-18.1 of the Code of Virginia states that "With 
such funds as may be appropriated for this purpose, the 
Department of Education shall conduct an annual review of 
all local gifted education programs, on such date as it may 
determine, to ensure full implementation and compliance with 
federal and state laws and regulations governing gifted 
education. The Department may conduct the review as an on-
site observation or require certification of compliance from 
the division superintendent."  The current regulations require 
that "Each school division shall submit to the Department of 
Education for approval a plan for the education of gifted 
students." 

In practice, the Department of Education (Department) 
requires that each school division submit their plan for the 
education of gifted students every fifth year.  Department 
staff invite gifted education coordinators from other school 
divisions to participate in peer review of the submitted plans.  
According to the gifted education coordinator for 

Charlottesville Public Schools, the reviews are very useful in 
that excellent feedback is received from the Department staff 
and the other school coordinators.  According to Department 
staff, gifted education coordinators who participate in the 
reviews consistently state that the reviews are an excellent 
experience that provides useful information for themselves as 
well. Approximately 150 hours a year of staff time is spent on 
the reviews. The Department reimburses gifted education 
coordinators on average approximately $4,000 a year for 
lodging and travel. 

The Board proposes to repeal the language stating "Each 
school division shall submit to the Department of Education 
for approval a plan for the education of gifted students."  
Consequently, plans would no longer be submitted for 
approval, and there would no longer be state-run peer reviews 
of plans for the education of gifted students. The 
Commonwealth would save approximately $4,000 a year in 
lodging and travel costs and about 150 hours a year of staff 
time. Significant though essentially unquantifiable benefits 
will be lost if Department and peer reviews no longer occur. 
School division coordinators will learn less about their peer’s 
experiences, and will thus be less likely to learn about 
improved methods of providing gifted services. 
Implementation of these improved methods could result in 
improved student learning.  Parents will also no longer be 
able to check with the Department to see if their local school 
division’s plan for the education of gifted students officially 
complies with the state regulations. Estimating the value of 
the significant but uncertain potential of gifted education 
coordinators learning about improved methods of providing 
gifted services that could result in improved student learning, 
and parents’ ability to check with the Department to see if 
their local school divisions plan for the education of gifted 
students officially complies with the state regulations is 
inherently subjective. Nonetheless, it seems likely that the 
value exceeds $4,000 plus 150 hours of staff time.  Thus, the 
ending of state and peer review of school divisions’ plan for 
the education of gifted students will likely produce a net cost 
for the Commonwealth.  

Under the proposed regulations school divisions will still be 
required to prepare a detailed plan for the education of gifted 
students.  Thus, school division staff time will still be 
expended preparing the plan.  The Board proposes to require 
that school divisions post their plan for the education of gifted 
students on their website and have printed copies of the plan 
available for citizens who do not have online access.  Since 
all school divisions already must produce a plan for the 
education of gifted students, and all school divisions already 
have a website, the proposal to require posting the plan on the 
website will produce minimal cost.  The value for the public 
to have easy access to the plan almost certainly exceeds the 
cost of posting the plan.  Thus, this proposal produces a net 
benefit for the Commonwealth.  The value of school divisions 
keeping some printed copies of the plan for those who do not 
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have online access also likely exceeds the costs to school 
divisions of printing and keeping those copies. 

Time limits 

The current regulations do not specify any time limit for 
gifted identification and placement committees to determine 
the eligibility status of each student referred for the division’s 
gifted education program.  The Board proposes to require that 
the identification and placement committee determine the 
eligibility status of each student referred for the division’s 
gifted education program and notify the parent or guardian of 
its decision within 60 business days of the receipt of the 
referral.  Providing a time limit is beneficial in that it allows 
families to plan and helps insure that students do not spend 
unnecessary time in suboptimal educational settings.  
Generally, school division staff have not objected to there 
being a time limit, but some have objected to the specific time 
limit of 60 business days.  Some school officials have argued 
for 60 class days or 90 business days instead.  Short time 
limits could potentially force school staff to delay other 
useful activities; while long time limits dilute the value of 
having time limits.  Thus, while it is not within the scope of 
this analysis to determine the precise appropriate time limit, it 
can be said that the value of introducing a feasible time limit 
likely exceeds the cost. 

The current regulations do not specify any time limit for 
parents or guardians to appeal decisions of gifted 
identification and placement committees.  The Board 
proposes to require that requests filed by parents or legal 
guardians to appeal any action of the identification and 
placement committee shall be filed within 10 business days of 
receipt of notification of the action by the division.  Providing 
a time limit for appeals is potentially beneficial in that staff 
time can be saved from expenditure on a process that may 
provide little benefit.  After a period of time families can 
reapply for gifted services based on new evidence; so 
appealing old decisions can produce administrative costs that 
are best not spent.  On the other hand, if the time limit is set 
too short reasonable families may be shut out of the process.  
For example, notice may be sent while the family is on 
vacation.  Families do on occasion go on vacation for two 
weeks; so a ten business day time limit may be less than 
ideal.  Overall, setting a reasonable time limit for parents or 
legal guardians to appeal actions of the gifted identification 
and placement committee will likely produce a net benefit; 
but the net benefit would likely be greater if the limit was 
longer than 10 days. 

Criteria for identification 

The current regulations require the school divisions use at 
least four criteria from the following list for gifted screening 
and identification:  

1. Assessment of appropriate student products, 
performance, or portfolio;  

2. Record of observation of in-classroom behavior;  

3. Appropriate rating scales, checklists, or 
questionnaires;  

4. Individual interview;  

5. Individual or group aptitude tests;  

6. Individual or group achievement tests;  

7. Record of previous accomplishments (such as awards, 
honors, grades, etc.);  

8. Additional valid and reliable measures or procedures.  

The Board proposes to remove "Individual or group aptitude 
tests" and "Individual or group achievement tests" from the 
list of criteria, and add "Individually-administered or group-
administered, norm-referenced aptitude tests" in their place.  
According to the Department, this proposed change was made 
to ensure that only tests that are designed to measure aptitude 
are used, while tests such as the Standards of Learning 
examinations that are not intended to distinguish gifted 
students from reasonably successful students who are not 
gifted are excluded.  To the extent that the probability that 
inappropriate tests are used for gifted screening and 
identification is reduced, this proposed change will create a 
net benefit. 

The Board also proposes to reduce the minimum number of 
criteria used for the screening and identification of gifted 
students from four to three.  This provides school divisions 
with some additional flexibility which should be beneficial 
from their point of view.  It may also provide for some 
moderate cost savings.  As long as no school division drops a 
criterion from their screening and identification process that 
would have accurately identified students as gifted who will 
not be identified as gifted without that criterion, the proposal 
will not introduce costs.  The probability of this happening is 
unknown, but it seems likely that school divisions could 
produce accurate identifications with three criteria. 

Nature of services 

The current regulations specify that "If the school division 
elects to identify students with specific academic aptitudes, 
they shall include procedures for identification and service in 
mathematics, science, and humanities."  The board proposes 
to replace "humanities" with "English, history and social 
science." According to the Department "humanities" has been 
interpreted differently by different school divisions.  Not all 
school divisions have interpreted humanities to include 
English, history and social science and have thus not provided 
identification and service in all three of those disciplines.  To 
the extent that school divisions that are not currently 
providing identification and service in English, history or 
social science choose to comply with this proposed change, 
there will be significant impact.1 Students who are capable of 
handling gifted level instruction in the newly introduced 
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disciplines would likely benefit by receiving such 
instruction.  On the other hand, by newly spending resources 
on identification and service in new disciplines the school 
divisions will necessarily reduce resource expenditure 
elsewhere or otherwise raise additional revenue.  By having 
chosen to not provide identification and service in these 
disciplines previously, local decision makers have implicitly 
shown that they believe that the costs of providing these 
services exceed the benefits (if they must use their own 
resources). 

Section 22.1-253.13:1 of the Code of Virginia (Standard 1 of 
the Standards of Quality) states that local school boards shall 
implement "Early identification of gifted students and 
enrollment of such students in appropriately differentiated 
instructional programs."  The current regulations define 
appropriately differentiated curricula as follows: 

"Appropriately differentiated curricula" for gifted 
students refer to curricula designed in response to their 
cognitive and effective needs. Such curricula provide 
emphasis on both accelerative and enrichment 
opportunities for (i) advanced content and pacing of 
instruction, (ii) original research or production, (iii) 
problem finding and solving, (iv) higher level thinking 
that leads to the generation of products, and (v) a focus 
on issues, themes, and ideas within and across areas of 
study.  

The Board proposes wording changes to the definition, 
including emphasizing that appropriately differentiated 
curriculum and instruction are offered "continuously and 
sequentially." According to the Department, some school 
divisions provide appropriately differentiated instruction one 
or two days a week, but do not on the other days of the week. 
For example, students gifted in English receive appropriately 
differentiated instruction on Mondays, but receive basic 
grade-level English instruction on Tuesdays through Fridays. 
Continuous and sequential instruction would essentially 
require that the appropriately differentiated instruction be 
provided every day the subject is taught. Gifted students 
would likely benefit significantly if aptitude-appropriate 
instruction is provided more often. For a school division to go 
from providing appropriately differentiated instruction one 
day a week to five days a week would require additional 
resources, though. These resources would come from either 
reducing expenditure elsewhere or otherwise raising 
additional revenue. To the extent that school divisions that are 
not currently providing appropriately differentiated 
curriculum and instruction continuously and sequentially do 
provide such instruction to comply with this proposed 
amendment, there will be significant impact.2 

Professional development 

The Board proposes to require that school divisions provide 
professional development for instructional personnel who 

deliver services within the gifted education program based on 
the competencies specified in 8VAC 20-542-310 for the 
gifted education add-on endorsement.  There would be 
definite value in having personnel who deliver services within 
the gifted education program be trained in best practices and 
advances in the field as they develop. The proposed 
requirement does not specify a minimum amount of 
professional development to be dedicated toward gifted 
education competencies; thus, the proposal does not create a 
particularly costly burden.  Thus, the benefits of this proposal 
likely exceed the costs. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. All 132 school divisions in 
the Commonwealth are affected by the proposed 
amendments. School staff and families involved in gifted 
education will be particularly affected. 

Localities Particularly Affected. All localities are affected. 

Projected Impact on Employment. To the extent that: 1) 
school divisions that are not currently providing gifted 
identification and service in English, history or social science 
choose to provide these services and 2) school divisions that 
are not currently providing appropriately differentiated 
instruction every day begin to do so due to the proposed 
amendments, there may increased employment for those 
teachers trained to provide gifted education. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments to these regulations are not likely to 
significantly affect the use and value of private property in 
the short run. To the extent that the quality of gifted 
instruction is improved due to changes, there may be some 
positive impact on the value of property produced by current 
gifted students in the long run. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
amendments do not directly affect small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments do not directly 
affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not directly affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with §2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
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regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, §2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

_______________________________ 
1 The proposed end to required submittal of plans for the education of gifted 
students for state approval and end to peer review of plans will result in the 
Commonwealth no longer regularly determining compliance with the 
regulations.  Thus, the public will no longer be able to check with the 
Department to see if their local school division is officially complying with 
the regulations.  This may result in less public pressure for school divisions 
to comply with these regulations.  On the other hand, energetic and 
knowledgeable parents will be able to view the school division plan for the 
education of gifted students on their local school division website and 
compare it to the requirements in these regulations. 
2 As noted earlier, the proposed end to required submittal of plans for the 
education of gifted students for state approval and end to peer review of plans 
may result in less public pressure for school divisions to comply with these 
regulations. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The agency agrees with 
the economic impact analysis. The agency will continue to 
examine the economic and administrative impact of the 
regulations as they progress through the Administrative 
Process Act process. 

Summary:  

The proposed amendments (i) eliminate the requirement 
that school divisions submit their plan for the education of 
gifted students to the Department of Education for 
approval, (ii) require that school divisions post their plan 
for the education of gifted students on their websites and 
have printed copies of the plan available for citizens who 
do not have online access, (iii) require that the 
identification and placement committee determine the 
eligibility status of each student referred for the division’s 
gifted education program and notify the parent or 
guardian of its decision within 60 business days of the 
receipt of the referral, (iv) require that requests filed by 
parents or legal guardians to appeal any action of the 
identification and placement committee shall be filed 
within 10 business days of receipt of notification of the 
action by the division, (v) reduce the minimum number of 
criteria used for the identification of gifted students from 
four to three, (vi) explicitly require that gifted services 
include English, history and social science in place of the 
current vague requirement for gifted services in 

humanities, (vii) clarify that the appropriately 
differentiated curriculum and instruction for gifted 
students be provided "continuously and sequentially," and 
(viii) require that school divisions provide professional 
development for instructional personnel who deliver 
services within the gifted education program based on the 
competencies specified for the gifted education add-on 
endorsement. 

Part I  
Applicability and Definitions  

8VAC20-40-10. Applicability. 

This chapter shall apply to all local school divisions in the 
Commonwealth, regarding their services for students from 
kindergarten through high school graduation. 

8VAC20-40-20. Definitions. 

The words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have 
the following meanings, unless the content context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Appropriately differentiated curricula" for gifted students 
refer to curricula designed in response to their cognitive and 
effective needs. Such curricula provide emphasis on both 
accelerative and enrichment opportunities for curriculum and 
instruction" means curriculum and instruction adapted or 
modified to accommodate the accelerated learning aptitudes 
of eligible or identified students in their areas of strength. 
Such curriculum and instructional strategies provide 
accelerated and enrichment opportunities that recognize 
gifted students’ needs for (i) advanced content and pacing of 
instruction, ; (ii) original research or production, ; (iii) 
problem finding and solving, ; (iv) higher level thinking that 
leads to the generation of products, ; and (v) a focus on 
issues, themes, and ideas within and across areas of study. 
Such curriculum and instruction are offered continuously and 
sequentially to support the achievement of student outcomes, 
and provide support necessary for these students to work at 
increasing levels of complexity that differ significantly from 
those of their age-level peers.  

"Eligible student" means a student who has been identified 
as gifted by the identification and placement committee for 
the school division's gifted education program. 

"Gifted students" means those students in public elementary, 
middle, and secondary schools beginning with kindergarten 
through graduation whose abilities who demonstrate high 
levels of accomplishment or who show the potential for 
higher levels of accomplishment when compared to others of 
the same age, experience, or environment. Their aptitudes and 
potential for accomplishment are so outstanding that they 
require special programs to meet their educational needs. 
These students will be identified by professionally qualified 
persons through the use of multiple criteria as having 
potential or demonstrated abilities and who have evidence of 
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high performance capabilities, which may include leadership, 
aptitudes in one or more of the following areas:  

1. Intellectual General intellectual aptitude or aptitudes. 
Students with advanced aptitude or conceptualization 
whose development is accelerated beyond their age peers 
as demonstrated by advanced skills, concepts, and creative 
expression in multiple general intellectual ability or in 
specific intellectual abilities. Such students demonstrate or 
have the potential to demonstrate superior reasoning; 
persistent intellectual curiosity; advanced use of language; 
exceptional problem solving; rapid acquisition and mastery 
of facts, concepts, and principles; and creative and 
imaginative expression across a broad range of intellectual 
disciplines beyond their age-level peers. 

2. Specific academic aptitude. Students with specific 
aptitudes in selected academic areas: mathematics; the 
sciences; or the humanities as demonstrated by advanced 
skills, concepts, and creative expression in those areas. 
Such students demonstrate or have the potential to 
demonstrate superior reasoning; persistent intellectual 
curiosity; advanced use of language; exceptional problem 
solving; rapid acquisition and mastery of facts, concepts, 
and principles; and creative and imaginative expression 
beyond their age-level peers in selected academic areas 
that include English, history and social science, 
mathematics, and science. 

3. Technical and practical arts Career and technical 
aptitude. Students with specific aptitudes in selected 
technical or practical arts as demonstrated by advanced 
skills and creative expression in those areas to the extent 
they need and can benefit from specifically planned 
educational services differentiated from those provided by 
the general program experience. Such students demonstrate 
or have the potential to demonstrate superior reasoning; 
persistent technical curiosity; advanced use of language; 
exceptional problem solving; rapid acquisition and mastery 
of facts, concepts, and principles; and creative and 
imaginative expression beyond their age-level peers in 
career and technical fields. 

4. Visual or performing arts aptitude. Students with 
specific aptitudes in selected visual or performing arts as 
demonstrated by advanced skills and creative expression 
who excel consistently in the development of a product or 
performance in any of the visual and performing arts to the 
extent that they need and can benefit from specifically 
planned educational services differentiated from those 
generally provided by the general program experience. 
Such students demonstrate or have the potential to 
demonstrate superior creative reasoning and imaginative 
expression; persistent artistic curiosity; and advanced 
acquisition and mastery of techniques, perspectives, 
concepts, and principles beyond their age-level peers in 
visual or performing arts. 

"Identification" is means the multistaged process of 
reviewing student data collected at the screening level and 
conducting further evaluation of student potential to 
determine the most qualified students for the specific gifted 
program available. finding students who are eligible for the 
division's gifted education program. The identification 
process begins with a divisionwide screening component that 
is followed by a referral component, and that concludes with 
the determination of eligibility by the school division's 
identification and placement committee. The identification 
process includes the review of valid and reliable student data 
based on criteria established and applied consistently by the 
school division. The process shall include the review of 
information or data from multiple sources to determine 
whether a student's aptitudes and learning needs are most 
appropriately served through the school division's gifted 
education program. 

"Identification/Placement Committee" "Identification and 
placement committee" means a standing committee which is 
composed of a professional who knows the child, classroom 
teacher or teachers, others representing assessment 
specialists, gifted program staff and school administration, 
and others deemed appropriate. This committee may operate 
at the school or division level. In either case, consistent 
criteria must be established for the division. the building-level 
or division-level committee that shall determine a student's 
eligibility for the division's gifted education program, based 
on the student's assessed aptitude and learning needs. The 
identification and placement committee shall determine 
which of the school division's service options are appropriate 
for meeting the learning needs of the eligible student. 

"Learning needs of gifted students" means gifted students' 
needs for advanced and complex content that is paced and 
sequenced to respond to their persistent intellectual, artistic, 
or technical curiosity; exceptional problem-solving abilities; 
rapid acquisition and mastery of information; conceptual 
thinking processes; and imaginative expression across a broad 
range of disciplines.  

"Placement" means the determination of the appropriate 
educational option options for each eligible student.  

"Referral" means the formal and direct process that parents, 
teachers, professionals, or students use to request that a 
kindergarten through twelfth-grade student be assessed for 
gifted education program services. 

"Screening" is the process of creating the pool of potential 
candidates using multiple criteria through the referral process, 
review of test data, or from other sources. Screening is the 
active search for students who should be evaluated for 
identification means the divisionwide search each school 
division conducts at least once annually across all its students 
to determine which students should be referred for 
identification and service in the gifted education program. 
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The annual screening shall, at a minimum, consist of a review 
of current assessment data for all kindergarten through 
twelfth-grade students. Students selected through the school 
division's screening process are then referred for formal 
identification. 

"Service options" include means the instructional approach 
or approaches, setting or settings, and staffing selected for the 
delivery of appropriate service or services that are based on 
student needs programs provided to eligible students based on 
their assessed needs in their areas of strength. 

"Student outcomes" are specified expectations based on the 
assessment of student cognitive and affective needs. Such 
outcomes should articulate expectations for advanced levels 
of performance for gifted learners means the advanced 
achievement and performance expectations established for 
each gifted student, through the review of the student's 
assessed learning needs and the goals of the program of 
study, that are reviewed and reported to parents or legal 
guardians. 

Part II  

Responsibilities of the Local School Divisions  

8VAC20-40-30. Applicability. (Repealed.) 

The requirements set forth in this part are applicable to local 
school divisions providing educational services for gifted 
students in elementary and secondary schools from 
kindergarten through graduation.  

8VAC20-40-40. Identification Screening, referral, 
identification, and placement. 

A. Each school division shall establish a uniform procedure 
with common criteria procedures for screening, referral, and 
identification of general intellectual or specific academic 
aptitude gifted students. If the school division elects to 
identify students with specific academic aptitudes, they it 
shall include procedures for identification and service in, at a 
minimum, English, history and social science, mathematics, 
and science, and humanities. These procedures will permit 
referrals from school personnel, parents or legal guardians, 
other persons of related expertise, peer referral and self-
referral of those students believed to be gifted. Pertinent 
information, records, and other performance evidence of 
referred students will be examined by a building level or 
division level identification committee. Further, the 
committee or committees will determine the eligibility of the 
referred students for differentiated programs. Students who 
are found to be eligible by the Identification/Placement 
Committee shall be offered a differentiated program by the 
school division. School divisions may identify and serve 
gifted students in career and technical aptitude or visual and 
performing arts aptitude, or both, at their discretion. 

B. Each school division shall maintain a division review 
procedure for students whose cases are appealed. This 

procedure shall involve individuals, the majority of whom did 
not serve on the Identification/Placement Committee. These 
uniform procedures shall include a screening process that 
requires instructional personnel to review, at a minimum, 
current assessment data on each kindergarten through twelfth-
grade student annually. Some data used in the screening 
process may be incorporated into multiple criteria reviewed 
by the identification and placement committee to determine 
eligibility, but those data shall not replace norm-referenced 
aptitude test data. 

C. These uniform procedures shall permit referrals from 
school personnel, parents or legal guardians, or other persons 
of related expertise, as well as peer or self-referral. Such 
referrals shall be accepted for kindergarten through twelfth-
grade students. 

D. An identification and placement committee shall review 
pertinent information, records, and other performance 
evidence for referred students. The committee shall include a 
professional who knows the child, as well as classroom 
teachers, assessment specialists, gifted program staff, school 
administrators, or others with credentials or experience in 
gifted education. The committee shall (i) review data from 
multiple sources selected and used consistently within the 
division to assess students’ aptitudes in the areas of giftedness 
the school division serves, (ii) determine whether a student is 
eligible for the division’s services, and (iii) determine which 
of the school division’s service options match the learning 
needs of the eligible student. The committee may review 
valid and reliable data administered by another division for a 
transfer student who has been identified previously. 

1. Identification of students for the gifted education 
program shall be based on multiple criteria established by 
the school division and designed to seek out those students 
with superior aptitudes, including students for whom 
accurate identification may be affected because they are 
economically disadvantaged, have limited English 
proficiency, or have a disability. Data shall include scores 
from valid and reliable instruments that assess students’ 
potential for advanced achievement, as well as instruments 
that assess demonstrated advanced skills, conceptual 
knowledge, and problem-solving aptitudes.  

2. Valid and reliable data for each referred student shall be 
examined by the building-level or division-level 
identification and placement committee. The committee 
shall determine the eligibility of each referred student for 
the school division’s gifted education program. Students 
who are found eligible by the identification and placement 
committee shall be offered programs or courses with 
appropriately differentiated curriculum and instruction by 
the school division.  

3. The identification process used by each school division 
must ensure that no single criterion is used to determine a 
student’s eligibility. The identification process shall 
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include at least three measures from the following 
categories: 

a. Assessment of appropriate student products, 
performance, or portfolio;  

b. Record of observation of in-classroom behavior;  

c. Appropriate rating scales, checklists, or questionnaires;  

d. Individual interview;  

e. Individually administered or group-administered, 
norm-referenced aptitude tests;  

f. Record of previous accomplishments (such as awards, 
honors, grades, etc.); or 

g. Additional valid and reliable measures or procedures.  

4. If a program is designed to address general intellectual 
aptitude or specific academic aptitude, an individually 
administered or group-administered, norm-referenced 
aptitude test shall be included as one of the three measures 
used in the school division’s identification procedure.  

5. If a program is designed to address either the visual and 
performing arts or career and technical aptitude, a portfolio 
or other performance assessment measure in the specific 
aptitude area shall be included as part of the data reviewed 
by the identification and placement committee.  

E. Within 60 business days of the receipt of a referral, the 
identification and placement committee shall determine the 
eligibility status of each student referred for the division’s 
gifted education program and notify the parent or guardian of 
its decision. If a student is identified as gifted and eligible for 
services, the identification and placement committee shall 
determine which service options most effectively meet the 
assessed learning needs of the student. Identified gifted 
students shall be offered placement in a classroom or program 
setting that provides: 

1. Appropriately differentiated curriculum and instruction 
provided by professional instructional personnel trained to 
work with gifted students; and 

2. Monitored and assessed student outcomes that are 
reported to the parents and legal guardians. 

8VAC20-40-50. Criteria for screening and identification. 
(Repealed.) 

Eligibility of students for programs for the gifted shall be 
based on multiple criteria for screening and identification 
established by the school division, and designed to seek out 
high aptitude in all populations. Multiple criteria shall include 
four or more of the following categories:  

1. Assessment of appropriate student products, 
performance, or portfolio;  

2. Record of observation of in-classroom behavior;  

3. Appropriate rating scales, checklists, or questionnaires;  

4. Individual interview;  

5. Individual or group aptitude tests;  

6. Individual or group achievement tests;  

7. Record of previous accomplishments (such as awards, 
honors, grades, etc.);  

8. Additional valid and reliable measures or procedures.  

If a program is designed to address general intellectual 
aptitude, aptitude measures must be included as one of the 
categories in the division identification plan. If a program is 
designed to address specific academic aptitude, an 
achievement or an aptitude measure in the specific academic 
area must be included as one of the categories in the division 
identification plan. If a program is designed to address either 
the visual/performing arts or technical/practical arts aptitude, 
a performance measure in the specific aptitude area must be 
used. Inclusion of a test score in a division identification plan 
does not indicate that an individual student must score at a 
prescribed level on the test or tests to be admitted to the 
program. No single criterion shall be used in determining 
students who qualify for, or are denied access to, programs 
for the gifted.  

8VAC20-40-55. Parental rights for notification, consent, 
and appeal. 

A. School divisions shall provide written notification to and 
seek written consent from parents and legal guardians to:  

1. Conduct any required assessment to determine a referred 
student's eligibility for the school division's gifted 
education program; 

2. Announce the decision of the identification and 
placement committee regarding a referred student's 
eligibility for and placement in the school division's gifted 
education program; and 

3. Provide services for an identified gifted student in the 
school division's gifted education program.  

B. Each school division shall adopt a review procedure for 
students whose cases are appealed. This procedure shall 
involve a committee, the majority of whose members did not 
serve on the initial identification and placement committee, 
and shall inform parents or legal guardians, in writing, of the 
appeal process. Requests filed by parents or legal guardians to 
appeal any action of the identification and placement 
committee shall be filed within 10 business days of receipt of 
notification of the action by the division. The process shall 
include an opportunity to meet with an administrator to 
discuss the decision. 

1. A parent or legal guardian of a student who was referred 
but not identified by the identification and placement 
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committee as eligible for services in the school division's 
gifted education program shall be informed, in writing, 
within 10 business days, of the school division's process to 
appeal the committee's decision. 

2. A parent or legal guardian of an identified gifted student 
may appeal any action taken by the school division to 
change the student's identification for, placement in, or exit 
from the school division's gifted education program.  

C. Following the notification and consent of a parent or 
legal guardian, the identification and placement committee 
shall apprise school administrators of each student's eligibility 
status. 

8VAC20-40-60. Local plan, local advisory committee, and 
annual report. 

A. Each school division board shall submit to the 
Department of Education for approval a review and approve 
annually a comprehensive plan for the education of gifted 
students that includes the components identified in these 
regulations. Modifications to the plan shall be reported to the 
Department of Education on dates specified by the 
department. The development process for the school 
division’s local plan for the education of the gifted shall 
include opportunities for public review of the school 
division’s plan. The approved local plan shall be accessible 
through the school division’s website and the school division 
shall ensure that printed copies of the comprehensive plan are 
available to citizens who do not have online access. The plan 
shall include the following components as follow:  

1. A statement of philosophy for the gifted education 
program;  

2. A statement of the school division’s gifted education 
program goals and objectives for identification, delivery of 
services, curriculum and instruction, personnel preparation, 
and parent and community involvement;  

3. Procedures for the early and on-going screening, 
referral, identification and placement of gifted students;, 
beginning with kindergarten through secondary graduation 
twelfth-grade in at least one of the four defined areas of 
giftedness; a general intellectual or a specific academic 
aptitude program; and, if provided in the school division, 
procedures for the screening, referral, identification, and 
placement of gifted students in visual and performing arts 
or career and technical aptitude programs; 

4. A procedure for notifying written notification of parents 
or legal guardians when additional testing or additional 
information is required during the identification process 
and for obtaining permission of parents or legal guardians 
prior to placement of students a gifted student in the 
appropriate program service options;  

5. A policy for notifying gifted students' change of 
placement within, and written notification to parents or 

legal guardians of identification and placement decisions, 
including initial changes in placement or exit from the 
program, which includes an opportunity for parents who 
disagree with the committee or committees decision to 
meet and discuss their concern or concerns with an 
appropriate administrator. Such notice shall include an 
opportunity for parents or guardians to meet and discuss 
their concerns with an appropriate administrator and to file 
an appeal; 

6. Assurances that student records are maintained 
according to 8VAC20-150-10 et seq., Management of 
Student's Scholastic Record in the Public Schools of 
Virginia in compliance with applicable state and federal 
privacy laws and regulations;  

7. Assurances that (i) testing and evaluation assessment 
materials selected and administered are sensitive to free of 
cultural, racial, and linguistic differences, biases; (ii) 
identification procedures are constructed so that they those 
procedures may identify high potential/ability in all 
underserved culturally diverse, low socio-economic, and 
disabled populations, high potential or aptitude in any 
student whose accurate identification may be affected by 
economic disadvantages, by limited English proficiency, or 
by disability; (iii) standardized tests and other measures 
have been validated for the specific purpose for which they 
are used purpose of identifying gifted students; and (iv) 
instruments are administered and interpreted by a trained 
personnel in conformity with the developer’s instructions 
of their producer;  

8. A procedure to identify and evaluate student outcomes 
based on the initial and ongoing assessment of their 
cognitive and affective needs;  

9. A procedure to match service options, including 
instructional approaches, settings, and staffing, to 
designated student needs;  

10. A framework for appropriately differentiated curricula 
indicating accelerative and enrichment opportunities in 
content, process, and product;  

11. Procedures for the selection/evaluation of teachers and 
for the training of personnel to include 
administrators/supervisors, teachers, and support staff;  

12. Procedures for the appropriate evaluation of the 
effectiveness of the school division's program for gifted 
students; and  

13. Other information as required by the Department of 
Education.  

8. Assurances that accommodations or modifications 
determined by the school division’s special education 
Individualized Education Program (IEP) team, as required 
for the student to receive a free appropriate public 
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education, shall be incorporated into the student’s gifted 
education services; 

9. Assurances that a written copy of the school division’s 
approved local plan for the education of the gifted is 
available to parents or legal guardians of each referred 
student, and to others upon request; 

10. Evidence that gifted education service options from 
kindergarten through twelfth grade are offered 
continuously and sequentially, with instructional time 
during the school day and week to (i) work with their age-
level peers, (ii) work with their intellectual and academic 
peers, (iii) work independently; and (iv) foster intellectual 
and academic growth of gifted students. Parents and legal 
guardians shall receive assessment of each gifted student’s 
intellectual and academic growth; 

11. A description of the school division’s program of 
differentiated curriculum and instruction demonstrating 
accelerated and advanced content within programs or 
courses;  

12. Polices and procedures that allow access to programs 
of study and advanced courses at a pace and sequence 
commensurate with their learning needs;  

13. Evidence that school divisions provide professional 
development based on the competencies specified in 
8VAC20-542-310, Gifted education (add-on endorsement), 
for instructional personnel who deliver services within the 
gifted education program; and  

14. Procedures for the annual evaluation of the 
effectiveness of the school division's gifted education 
program, including review of student outcomes and the 
intellectual and academic growth of gifted students. Such 
evaluations shall be based on multiple criteria and shall 
include multiple sources of information for gifted students.  

B. Each school division shall establish a local advisory 
committee composed of parents, school personnel, and other 
community members who are appointed by the school board. 
This committee shall reflect the ethnic and geographical 
composition of the school division. The purpose of this 
committee shall be to advise the school board through the 
division superintendent of the educational needs of all gifted 
students in the division. As a part of this goal, the This 
committee shall have two responsibilities: (i) to review 
annually the local plan for the education of gifted students, 
including revisions, and (ii) to determine the extent to which 
the plan for the previous year was implemented. The findings 
of the annual program effectiveness and the recommendations 
of the advisory committee shall be submitted annually in 
writing through to the division superintendent to and the 
school board.  

C. Each school division shall submit an annual report to the 
Department of Education in a format prescribed by the 
department. 

8VAC20-40-70. Funding. (Repealed.) 

State funds administered by the Department of Education for 
the education of gifted students shall be used to support only 
those activities identified in the school division's plan as 
approved by the Board of Education.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-94; Filed June 4, 2008, 11:40 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 8VAC20-280. Jointly Owned and 
Operated Schools and Jointly Operated Programs 
(repealing 8VAC20-280-10, 8VAC20-280-20). 

8VAC20-281. Regulations Governing Jointly Owned and 
Operated Schools and Jointly Operated Programs (adding 
8VAC20-281-10, 8VAC20-281-20). 

Statutory Authority: §§22.1-16 and 22.1-26 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

July 17, 2008 - 11 a.m. - James Monroe Building, 101 N. 
14th Street, 22nd Floor Conference Room, Richmond, 
VA 23218 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on August 25, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Dr. Margaret N. Roberts, Office of Policy 
and Communications, Department of Education, Post Office 
Box 2120, 101 N. 14th St., 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 225-2540, FAX (804) 225-2524, or email 
margaret.roberts@doe.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia vests the 
Board of Education with the authority to promulgate such 
regulations as may be necessary to carry out its powers and 
duties and the provisions of Title 22.1.  In addition, §22.1-26 
of the Code of Virginia provides the Board of Education with 
the legal authority to promulgate regulations that govern joint 
schools. 

Purpose: These regulations provide joint schools and joint 
school boards with guidance and operating procedures that 
support regional efforts to establish programs that meet the 
needs of their communities and ensure that these programs 
are managed appropriately and in a fiscally sound manner. 

Substance: The current regulations (8VAC20-280) are being 
repealed.  The proposed regulations (8VAC20-281) include 
the following: 

1. Addition of a definitions section for clarity.  
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2. Revision of the second section of the regulations that 
includes all of the organizing and operating procedures, 
including membership, organization, authority, authority of 
the division superintendent, annual budget and financing 
plan, and expenditures.  Most of these headings/catchlines 
from the current regulations remain, but the language has 
been streamlined and is more user-friendly. 

3. Addition of the new language related to HB 2371 that 
was passed by the 2007 General Assembly regarding the 
appointment of a fiscal agent and the holding of title to 
property. 

Issues: The proposed amendments to these regulations are 
advantageous to the public, the agency, and the 
Commonwealth as they establish clear and basic expectations 
for all programs subject to its requirements, replace current 
regulations that are ambiguous in some areas, and replace one 
section of the current regulations where much of the language 
is aspirational. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Education (Board) proposes amendments to these 
regulations including the following: 1) repealing aspirational 
language, 2) adding a definitions section, 3) altering the 
requirements concerning membership of the governing board 
of the joint school to be less restrictive, and 4) specifying that 
the fiscal agent can be selected from any of the treasurers of 
the participating localities. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Joint schools include academic-
year Governor’s schools, alternative education centers, career 
and technical centers, and special education centers.  The 
Regulations Governing Jointly Owned and Operated Schools 
and Jointly Operated Programs were adopted September 1, 
1980 and have not been amended since. 

The Board’s proposal to repeal aspirational language will 
have no impact since the text contained no legal 
requirements.  The proposed addition of the definitions 
section will provide a small benefit in that it will provide 
clarity. 

The current regulations require that:  

When not more than two school boards agree to establish 
a joint board, its membership shall consist of three 
members of each of the participating school boards. 
When three school boards agree to establish a joint 
board, its membership shall consist of two members from 
each participating school board. When more than three 
school boards agree to establish a joint board, its 
membership shall consist of one member from each of 
the participating school boards.” 

The Board proposes to allow greater discretion by repealing 
the language above and to just require that membership of the 
joint board “be composed of at least one member of each of 
the local school boards participating in the joint program.” 
This should provide a net benefit since the local boards will 
be free to arrange their joint board in the manner that they 
find most appropriate, while still guaranteeing that each 
participating locality is represented. 

The current regulations require that the fiscal agent for the 
joint school “be the treasurer of the county or city where the 
school is located.”  Pursuant to Chapter 45 of the 2007 
Virginia Acts of Assembly, the Board proposes to allow the 
fiscal agent to be selected from any of the treasurers of the 
participating localities.  It is entirely plausible that the best 
suited treasurer to be fiscal agent may be from a locality other 
the one where the joint school is physically located.  Thus, 
the proposal to permit such an individual to be chosen as the 
fiscal agent is clearly beneficial.  There is no apparent cost to 
this proposed change.  Therefore this proposed amendment 
will create a net benefit. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. All 132 school divisions in 
the Commonwealth are potentially affected by the proposed 
amendments.   

Localities Particularly Affected. All localities are potentially 
affected.  Localities which currently or plan to jointly operate 
schools or programs with other localities are particularly 
affected. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
will not significantly affect employment.   

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments will not significantly affect the use and 
value of private property.   

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
amendments do not directly affect small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments do not directly 
affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not directly affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with §2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
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on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The agency agrees with 
the economic impact analysis done by DPB. The agency will 
continue to examine the economic and administrative impact 
of the regulations as they progress through the Administrative 
Process Act. 

Summary:  

The Regulations Governing Jointly Owned and Operated 
Schools and Jointly Operated Programs were adopted on 
or before September 1, 1980. These regulations have not 
been amended since then and do not address changes 
made in these programs since that time. Joint schools 
include academic-year Governor’s schools, alternative 
education centers, career and technical centers, and 
special education centers. In a concurrent action, the 
Board of Education proposes to repeal the text of the 
current regulations (8VAC20-280) and promulgate new 
regulations (8VAC20-281). 

Significant changes are made in the proposed 
regulations. The first section of the regulations has been 
deleted because it is primarily aspirational; the second 
section has been reorganized, revised, and streamlined; 
and a definitions section has been added for clarity. The 
proposed regulations also make membership 
requirements of the governing board of the joint school 
less restrictive and, in response to Chapter 45 of the 
2007 Acts of Assembly, specify that the fiscal agent can 
be selected from any of the treasurers of the participating 
localities. 

CHAPTER 281  
REGULATIONS GOVERNING JOINTLY OWNED AND 

OPERATED SCHOOLS AND JOINTLY OPERATED 
PROGRAMS  

8VAC20-281-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms apply only to these 
regulations and do not supersede those definitions used for 
federal reporting purposes or for the calculation of costs 

related to the Standards of Quality (§22.1-253.13:1 et seq. of 
the Code of Virginia). When used in these regulations, these 
words shall have the following meanings, unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Alternative education program" means any program 
designed to offer instruction to students for whom the regular 
program of instruction may be inappropriate, as defined in 
§22.1-276.01 of the Code of Virginia, and as prescribed in the 
Rules Governing Alternative Education (8VAC20-330). 

"Classification of expenditures" means a system of 
accounting for all school funds, as prescribed in §22.1-115 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

"Finance officer" means fiscal agent for the joint school. 

"Fiscal agent" means the treasurer of a county or city in 
which a joint school is physically located or the treasurer 
from one of the participating localities as selected by 
agreement of the participating local school boards with 
approval of the participating local governing bodies. (See also 
"finance officer" or "treasurer.") 

"Joint board" means the governing board of the joint school. 
The joint board is composed of at least one member from 
each participating local school board. 

"Joint school" means a program or school established by two 
or more local school boards, including a regional public 
charter school, as defined in §22.1-212.5 of the Code of 
Virginia, or a comprehensive school offering part- or full-day 
programs. 

"Operation and maintenance" means budget preparation, 
contracts for services, personnel matters, use of or 
construction of a school building and grounds and the 
operation and maintenance thereof, and the provision of any 
services, activity, or undertaking that the joint school is 
required to perform in order to carry out its educational 
program. 

"Regional public charter school" means a public charter 
school operated by two or more school boards and chartered 
directly by the participating school boards, as defined in 
§22.1-212.5 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Treasurer" means the fiscal agent of the joint school, in 
accordance with §58.1-3123 of the Code of Virginia. 

8VAC20-281-20. Organization and operating procedures. 

Two or more school boards, by individual resolution, may 
establish a joint board to manage and control schools or 
programs jointly owned and operated in accordance with the 
following requirements: 

1. Membership. The membership of the joint board shall be 
composed of at least one member of each of the local 
school boards participating in the joint program. Each 
school board shall fill any vacancies in its membership on 
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the joint board. If a member of the joint board ceases to be 
a member of the school board that elected him, the local 
school board shall appoint his successor to the joint board. 
If at any time the number of members of the joint board 
shall fall below a quorum, the local board shall appoint a 
member to fill the vacancy or vacancies within 30 calendar 
days. 

Members of the joint board may receive compensation 
fixed by each of the participating school boards. This 
compensation shall be paid by the local boards and shall 
not exceed the amount paid for service on the local school 
boards. 

The joint board shall adopt bylaws or rules of operation 
and shall establish the length and beginning dates or terms 
of its members and establish committees that might be 
needed to carry out its responsibilities. Such bylaws shall 
address the receipt, custody, and disbursement of funds and 
the payment of all claims related to the operation and 
maintenance of the joint facility, consistent with the state 
statutes and regulations of the Board of Education. 

2. Organization. The joint board shall elect from its 
membership a chairman who shall preside at its meetings 
and a vice-chairman who shall preside in the absence of the 
chairman. 

The joint board shall elect a clerk and, if desired, a deputy 
clerk. Neither the clerk nor the deputy clerk shall be a 
member of the joint board but shall keep record of the 
proceedings. The compensation of the clerk and the deputy 
clerk shall be fixed by the joint board. The clerk and the 
deputy clerk shall execute bond of at least $10,000, as 
provided by §22.1-76 of the Code of Virginia. 

The joint board also shall elect a finance officer, who shall 
have custody of its funds, fix the compensation, and 
provide for bond. All disbursements shall be by warrant 
signed by the clerk of the joint board and countersigned by 
the finance officer. Through its finance officer, the joint 
board shall arrange for the safe depository of the funds 
and, where necessary, see that sufficient collateral is posted 
to secure such funds. 

3. Authority. The joint board shall be authorized to employ 
the staff required to operate the joint school and programs; 
purchase supplies; purchase, sell, or dispose of equipment 
or appliances; determine policies concerning instruction; 
approve the curriculum in keeping with the general laws, 
and with the regulations and requirements of the Virginia 
Board of Education; maintain jointly owned school 
buildings; and, in general, manage, operate, and conduct 
joint schools and programs. 

The title to all property acquired for joint schools shall vest 
jointly in the participating school boards in such respective 
proportions as the participating school boards may 
determine, and the schools or programs shall be managed 

and controlled by the participating school boards jointly. 
With the approval of the participating school boards and 
the respective local governing bodies, title to property 
acquired for a joint school shall be vested in the governing 
body of such school. 

Except as otherwise provided, all meetings and procedures 
of the joint board shall be in accordance with provisions of 
§§22.1-72 through 22.1-75 of the Code of Virginia. Any 
action by the joint board shall be deemed an action by the 
school boards jointly owning such school. 

4. Authority of the division superintendent. The division 
superintendents representing the counties or cities of the 
school boards that form the joint board shall constitute a 
Committee of Superintendents and shall jointly exercise 
the same authority they have in the counties or cities for 
which they are appointed. With the approval of their 
respective school boards, the division superintendents may 
elect one of their members as executive officer in whom 
may be vested such authority as the superintendents may 
from time to time find advisable. 

The Committee of Superintendents shall prepare, with the 
advice and approval of the joint board, an annual program 
plan, budget, and plan for financing the operation of the 
joint school that would include appropriate state and local 
funding from each participating school division. The 
financing plan shall include an estimate of the amount of 
money that will be needed from each participating school 
system during the next scholastic year for operation and 
maintenance of the joint school facility. The estimate shall 
clearly show all necessary details and be provided in a 
timely manner so that the participating school boards may 
be well-informed about every item included in the 
estimate. 

In case of disagreement, all matters shall be referred to the 
joint board for resolution. 

5. Budget and expenditures. Each participating school 
board shall review and approve the annual budget 
presented by the joint board and provide funds to cover its 
share of the cost of operating and maintaining the joint 
school facility. The amount provided by each participating 
school board shall be made available for expenditures by 
the joint board as follows: 

a. Funds to be provided by participating school boards 
shall be made available to the joint board upon its 
requests. 

b. Funds to be provided on a fee for service basis shall be 
paid to the joint board upon receipt of an appropriate 
invoice. 

On a regular monthly basis, the clerk of the joint board 
shall transmit to the Committee of Superintendents of the 
participating school boards an itemized statement of 
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receipts and disbursements during the preceding months, 
with a cumulative statement of all receipts and 
disbursements since the beginning of the current fiscal 
year. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-279; Filed June 2, 2008, 8:12 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-650. Regulations Governing 
the Determination of Critical Teacher Shortage Areas 
(amending 8VAC20-650-30). 

Statutory Authority: §§22.1-16 and 22.1-290.01 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on July 25, 2008. 

Effective Date: September 15, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Mrs. Patty Pitts, Assistant Superintendent 
for Teacher Education and Licensure, Department of 
Education, P.O. Box 2120, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 371-2522, FAX (804) 225-2524, or email 
patty.pitts@doe.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia provides that 
"The Board of Education may adopt bylaws for its own 
governance and promulgate such regulations as may be 
necessary to carry out its powers and duties and the 
provisions of this title." Additionally, §22.1-290.01 of the 
Code of Virginia requires the Board of Education to 
"establish, in regulation, criteria for determining critical 
teacher shortage areas for awarding scholarships pursuant to 
this section." 

Purpose: The purpose for the amended regulations is that, 
according to the Code of Virginia, the board may promulgate 
such regulations as may be necessary for the implementation 
of the Virginia Teaching Scholarship Loan Program. The 
purpose of the regulation amendment is to align the text with 
the amendments to the Code of Virginia. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The Administrative 
Process Act provides for expedited rulemaking for regulatory 
actions that are expected to be noncontroversial. The 
regulation as proposed is expected to be noncontroversial 
since there is minimal to no fiscal or administrative impact on 
the local school divisions or on the Department of Education. 

Substance: The proposed amendments (i) delete the 
requirement to include one Commonwealth Scholarship from 
each college or university, (ii) align revised parameters for 
eligibility, and (iii) provide greater flexibility in appointment 
of the selection panel by the Superintendent of Instruction 

when the teacher education program recommendations for 
scholarships exceed the appropriation. 

Issues: The purpose of the proposed amendments is to align 
the language in the regulation with the amendments to §22.1-
290.01 of the Code of Virginia made by HB 1913 (2007). The 
advantage of these amendments to the public, the agency, and 
the Commonwealth is that the language in the regulation 
would be consistent with the language in the Code of 
Virginia. There are no disadvantages. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Education (Board) proposes several amendments to 
these regulations to match changes to §22.1-290.01 of the 
Code of Virginia generated by Chapter 31 of the 2007 Acts of 
Assembly.  All of the amendments concern the Virginia 
Teaching Scholarship Loan Program (Program). Additionally, 
the Board proposes to 1) remove the requirement that each 
nominating institution be guaranteed one scholarship, 2) 
repeal the Virginia residency requirement, and 3) allow the 
Superintendent of Instruction additional flexibility in 
appointing panel members who determine scholarship 
recipients when the dollar value of qualified scholarship 
applications exceed the scholarship appropriation. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. According to the Department of 
Education (Department) not all institutions nominate 
scholarship candidates every year despite being well informed 
of the opportunity. Consequently, the Board proposes to 
remove the requirement that each institution be guaranteed 
one scholarship in the Program. The Department does plan to 
continue to try to give scholarships to students at every 
approved teacher education program. Thus, the repeal of this 
requirement will likely not affect what occurs in practice. 

Further, the Board seeks to remove the requirement of 
Virginia residency for applicants. As a result of this change, 
additional individuals would be eligible to participate in the 
Program. For example, an individual residing in the District 
of Columbia or Maryland who is training to be a teacher at 
George Mason University and meets all other criteria would 
become eligible to receive the scholarship with the removal of 
the residency requirement. The Program requires scholarship 
recipients to teach in Virginia for the same number of years as 
they received the scholarship. Thus, this proposed 
amendment may moderately increase the supply of teachers 
in Virginia. Given the difficulty school divisions at times 
have finding highly qualified teaching candidates, increasing 
the supply of teachers is clearly beneficial. 

The current regulations specify that panel members who 
determine scholarship recipients when the dollar value of 
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qualified scholarship applications exceed the scholarship 
appropriation must include teachers, college and university 
faculty, members of professional organizations, and 
Department personnel. The Board proposes to permit the 
Superintendent of Instruction the flexibility to appoint panel 
members as she or he sees fit. The proposed increase in 
flexibility in choosing panel members would allow decisions 
to be made in a timelier manner. As long as reasonable 
representation is maintained and decisions are made 
equitably, this proposed change will likely produce a small 
net benefit. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
affect the 37 approved teacher education programs in the 
Commonwealth, as well as individuals interested in 
participating in the Virginia Teaching Scholarship Loan 
Program. Approximately 200 scholarships are granted per 
annum.1 

Localities Particularly Affected. All Virginia localities are 
affected by these regulations. Localities adjacent to the state 
border may be particularly affected by the elimination of the 
residency requirement for the scholarship. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the 
value of private property in the short run. In the long run 
increasing the supply of qualified teachers may allow school 
divisions to be more selective in whom they hire. Better 
teachers may lead to students becoming more productive 
adults. The increase in supply will likely be small so the long-
run impact will likely be small as well. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
amendments are unlikely to significantly affect small 
businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments are unlikely to 
significantly affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect real estate development 
costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with §2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, §2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

____________________ 
1 Source: Department of Education 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The agency agrees with 
the economic impact analysis done by DPB. The agency will 
continue to examine the economic and administrative impact 
of the regulations as they progress through the Administrative 
Process Act process. 

Summary:  

The amendments (i) remove the requirement that each 
nominating institution be guaranteed one Commonwealth 
Scholarship in Teacher Education, (ii) repeal the Virginia 
residency requirement, and (iii) allow the Superintendent 
of Instruction additional flexibility in appointing panel 
members who determine scholarship recipients when the 
dollar value of qualified scholarship applications exceeds 
the scholarship appropriation. 

8VAC20-650-30. Virginia Teaching Scholarship Loan 
Program requirements and selection procedures. 

A. Annually, the teacher preparation institutions in Virginia 
that have approved teacher preparation programs shall be 
invited to nominate individuals to receive loans through the 
Virginia Teaching Scholarship Loan Program subject to 
available appropriations. Subject to available appropriations, 
each nominating institution shall be guaranteed at least one 
scholarship loan that is designated as the Commonwealth 
Scholarship in Teacher Education. Scholarships shall be 
awarded to undergraduate students in the sophomore, junior, 
or senior year of college, and to graduate students at an 
accredited public or private four-year institution of higher 
education in the Commonwealth.  

B. To be nominated by the college or university, students 
must (i) be The Virginia Teaching Scholarship Loan Program 
shall consist of scholarships awarded annually to teacher 
candidates, including graduate students and paraprofessionals 
from Virginia school divisions at a regionally accredited 
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public or private four-year institution of higher education in 
the Commonwealth, who (i) are enrolled full-time full time or 
part-time part time in an approved teacher education program 
or in a critical teacher shortage discipline, or employed as 
paraprofessionals and enrolled full-time or part-time to 
complete an are participants in another approved teacher 
education program to become fully licensed teachers; (ii) 
have and maintain maintained a cumulative grade point 
average of at least 2.7 on a 4.0 scale or its equivalent; and (iii) 
be are nominated for the such scholarship by the institution 
where they are enrolled; and (iv) be identified as a Virginia 
domiciliary resident. Students enrolled in any area of an 
approved teacher education program who are seeking 
endorsements in elementary or middle education who meet 
the program requirements may be eligible for the award. In 
addition, the candidates must meet one or more of the 
following criteria: (a) be enrolled in a program leading to an 
endorsement in a critical shortage area as established by the 
Board of Education; (b) be a male teacher candidate in an 
elementary or middle school education program; or (c) be a 
minority teacher candidate enrolled in any teacher 
endorsement area. 

C. Scholarship recipients shall be selected by a panel 
appointed by the Superintendent of Public Instruction 
representing the various critical teacher shortage areas, 
geographic regions of the state, and members of professional 
organizations. The selection panel shall be composed of 
representatives from the following categories:  

1. Teachers;  

2. College and university faculty;  

3. Members of professional organizations; and  

4. Department of Education personnel.  

C. A selection panel appointed by the Superintendent of 
Public Instruction may be convened if the number of Teacher 
Education Program recommendations for scholarships exceed 
the appropriations. The panel shall select recipients for the 
teaching scholarship loan from the eligible applicants. Efforts 
should be made to have an appropriate distribution of 
scholarships among the identified critical teacher shortage 
areas. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1100; Filed June 2, 2008, 8:12 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 9VAC25-720. Water Quality 
Management Planning Regulation (amending 9VAC25-
720-120). 

9VAC25-820. General Virginia Pollutant Discharge 
Elimination System (VPDES) Watershed Permit 
Regulation for Total Nitrogen and Total Phosphorus 
Discharges and Nutrient Trading in the Chesapeake Bay 
Watershed in Virginia (amending 9VAC25-820-10, 
9VAC25-820-20, 9VAC25-820-70). 

Statutory Authority: §§62.1-44.15 and 62.1-44.19:4 of the 
Code of Virginia; §303 of the Clean Water Act. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on July 23, 2008. 

Effective Date: August 7, 2008.  

Agency Contact: John M. Kennedy, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4312, FAX (804) 
698-4116, or email jmkennedy@deq.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The State Water Control Law at §62.1-44.15 of the 
Code of Virginia mandates the board to adopt such 
regulations as it deems necessary to enforce the general water 
quality management program of the board in all or part of the 
Commonwealth. In addition, §62.1-44.15 requires the board 
to establish requirements for the treatment of sewage, 
industrial wastes and other wastes that are consistent with the 
purposes of this chapter. The specific effluent limits needed 
to meet the water quality goals are discretionary. 

Purpose: The purpose of the proposed amendments is to 
revise the total nitrogen and total phosphorus waste load 
allocations (WLAs) for the Doswell Wastewater Treatment 
Plant, to exclude the portions attributable to Bear Island Paper 
Company, and add separate WLAs for their industrial facility. 
These revisions will make Bear Island Paper accountable for 
their own nutrient discharges and eligible to participate in the 
Nutrient Credit Exchange Program. The beneficial results of 
nutrient reduction from point sources in the Bay watershed 
are maintained with these changes, as the sum of the WLAs 
for the individual plants in question will be the same as the 
original WLAs originally assigned just to the Doswell plant 
(i.e., no increase in nutrient WLAs results from these 
changes). 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The proposed 
amendments are expected to be noncontroversial, and 
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therefore justify using the fast-track process. The primary 
Action under this proposal will reduce the Doswell WWTP 
TN and TP WLAs to exclude the portion of the discharge 
attributable to Bear Island Paper Company, and add to the 
listing separate WLAs for Bear Island Paper. The total WLAs 
from the combined discharge remain unchanged, and Bear 
Island Paper will be accountable for their own nutrient 
discharges. 

The secondary action will simply revise the definition of 
"existing discharge" to include certain industrial plants that 
have WLAs in the Water Quality Management Planning 
Regulation, but do not hold an individual VPDES permit, 
allowing them to participate in the Nutrient Credit Exchange 
Program. 

Substance: In 9VAC25-720-120, for the Doswell WWTP 
(VA0029521), revise the total nitrogen waste load allocation 
figure from 65,601 to 18,273 pounds per year, and the total 
phosphorus waste load allocation figure from 14,923 to 2,132 
pounds per year.  Add to the listing Bear Island Paper 
Company, with a total nitrogen waste load allocation figure of 
47,328 pounds per year, and a total phosphorus waste load 
allocation figure of 12,791 pounds per year. 

The changes to 9VAC25-820-10 add the following as the last 
sentence in the definition of "existing facility": …"shall also 
mean and include any industry that holds a separate waste 
load allocation in the Water Quality Management Planning 
Regulation but does not hold an individual VPDES permit 
authorizing its discharge." 

Changes to 9VAC25-820-20 and 9VAC25-820-70, where 
applicable, add references to the revised definition of 
"existing facility." 

Issues: The public will benefit, as these amendments will 
result in the discharge of reduced amounts of nitrogen and 
phosphorus in the Chesapeake Bay watershed. This, in turn, 
will aid water quality restoration in the Bay and its tributary 
rivers, and assist in meeting the water quality standards 
necessary for protection of the living resources that inhabit 
the Bay. Hanover County and Bear Island Paper will benefit, 
as each will now be accountable for just the nutrient loads 
discharged by their individual plants. Additionally, having 
waste load allocations assigned in 9VAC25-720-120, along 
with the revised definition of "existing facility" in 9VAC25-
820-10, will allow Bear Island Paper to participate in the 
Nutrient Credit Exchange Program, which was authorized by 
the Virginia General Assembly to aid in achieving point 
source nutrient load reductions more cost-effectively and in a 
timely manner. There is no disadvantage to the agency or the 
Commonwealth that will result from the adoption of these 
amendments. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
State Water Control Board (Board) is proposing to revise the 
total nitrogen and total phosphorous waste load allocations 
(WLAs) for the Doswell Wastewater Treatment Plant 
(WWTP) to exclude the portions attributable to Bear Island 
Paper Company (BIPCo), and add separate WLAs for BIPCo. 
The Board is also proposing to amend the definition of 
"existing facilities" to include plants that have WLAs in the 
Water Quality Management Planning Regulation, even if they 
do not have an individual Virginia Pollution Discharge 
Elimination System (VPDES) permit. This will allow those 
plants (such as BIPCo) to participate in the Nutrient Credit 
Exchange Program. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. With these amendments, the 
Board proposes to do the following: (1) separate out the Bear 
Island Paper Company (BIPCo) waste load allocations 
(WLAs) for nitrogen and phosphorous from the Doswell 
WWTP WLAs, (2) amend the definition of "existing facility" 
to allow it to include any facility which holds a separate WLA 
(thereby including BIPCo in the definition of "existing 
facility"), and (3) amend the regulation to authorize any 
facility that fits the definition of "existing facility" to 
discharge to surface waters and exchange credits for total 
nitrogen and/or total phosphorous. In other words, any 
"existing facility," including BIPCo, can receive a general 
permit for total nitrogen and total phosphorous discharges and 
nutrient trading in the Chesapeake watershed in Virginia. 

Under current regulation, Doswell WWTP and BIPCo WLAs 
are both under the jurisdiction of Hanover County, which 
owns and operates the Doswell WWTP. Under the proposed 
amendment, the BIPCo WLAs will be separated out from 
Doswell, allowing BIPCo to participate in the nutrient credit 
exchange program. The amendment should not have any 
effect on the environment, nor on the operations of Doswell 
WWTP or BIPCo, with the exception that BIPCo will now 
have an incentive to cut down on the amount of discharge or 
the concentration of nitrogen or phosphorous in its discharge 
in order to sell nutrient credits, which would be $2/lb for 
nitrogen and $4/lb for phosphorous. 

This amendment does not change the total amount of 
allowable nitrogen and phosphorous discharge. Under current 
regulation, Doswell WWTP is allocated 65,601 lbs/year of 
total nitrogen and 14,923 lbs/year of total phosphorous. 
Under the proposed amendment, Doswell WWTP would be 
allocated 18,273 lbs/year of total nitrogen and 2,132 lbs/year 
of total phosphorous, and BIPCo will be allocated 47,328 
lbs/year of total nitrogen and 12,791 lbs/year of total 
phosphorous. Since 18,273 + 47,328 = 65,601 and 2,132 + 
12,791 = 14,923, clearly the total allowable amount of 
nitrogen and phosphorous that can be discharged is 
unchanged. 
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The nutrient allocations to BIPCo and Doswell WWTP (and, 
in fact, to all relevant facilities) are based on the design 
capacity of the plant and the annual average nutrient 
concentration. For example, the Doswell WWTP design flow 
for nitrogen is 1.0 mllion gallons per day (MGD) and the 
annual average total nitrogen concentration is 6.0 mg/L. 
Therefore, the total nitrogen waste load allocation (WLA) for 
Doswell WWTP for nitrogen is 18,273 lbs/year.1 Similarly, 
the Doswell phosphorous concentration is 0.7, so the total 
phosphorous WLA is 2,132 lbs/yr.2 BIPCo’s design capacity 
is 4.2 MGD, with an annual average nitrogen concentration of 
3.7 and a phosphorous concentration of 1.0, so BIPCo 
nitrogen and phosphorous allocations are 47,328 lbs/year and 
12,791 lbs/year, respectively.3  

In late 2005, the Department of Environmental Quality 
(Department) adopted the Watershed General Permit 
Regulation (9 VAC25-820) to reduce nutrient loading into 
Virginia waterways that included facility-specific waste load 
allocations. The average annual nutrient concentrations were 
based on the Department’s decision to reduce nutrient 
discharge by allowing facilities to utilize the full capacity of 
the plant design but restricting the nutrient concentration of 
the discharge. The facilities were granted a compliance period 
until January 1, 2011, at which point each facility must be in 
compliance with their assigned waste load allocation. 
Therefore, the WLAs assigned to Doswell WWTP and BIPCo 
represent reductions in the total nitrogen and phosphorous 
discharge, but the total reduction was agreed upon in earlier 
regulatory changes. 

The separation of BIPCo allocations from Doswell was the 
result of a legal action taken by BIPCo, who appealed the 
adoption of the Watershed General Permit Regulation. Part of 
the settlement offer in that suit was to propose the separate 
allocations and to qualify BIPCo as a facility eligible to 
participate in the nutrient credit exchange program. BIPCo 
wants to participate in the nutrient credit exchange program 
so that it can acquire its own compliance credits rather than 
relying on the current agreement with Hanover County. 
Hanover County has endorsed the proposed separate nitrogen 
and phosphorous load allocations.  

Because the waste load allocations were made using the same 
formula used for all facilities’ allocations, we have no reason 
to believe that the allocations themselves will lead to costs or 
benefits. (For example, there is no reason to believe that we 
will see a scenario like the following: Plant A discharges 75 
units. Plant B discharges 25 units. Plant A and Plant B 
allocations are separated so each is allowed to discharge only 
50 units. In this case, if both plants strive to be in compliance 
with regulation, total discharge would be reduced from 100 
units to 75 units, even though the total allowable amount has 
not changed.) Therefore, the costs and benefits will depend 
upon how BIPCo uses its allocation. Is BIPCo more likely to 
buy or sell nutrient exchange credits if they have a separate 

WLA than they would under Hanover County’s WLA? If 
they are more likely to buy or sell credits, will they buy 
credits or sell credits and what will be the economic effects of 
the exchange on the company and Virginia citizens? 

These two questions are difficult to answer for two reasons. 
First, although the Department knows that BIPCo would be 
held accountable by Hanover County for any violations of the 
Doswell permit that could be attributed to the performance of 
BIPCo’s wastewater treatment facility, the Department is not 
privy to the terms of the agreement. We do not know if 
BIPCo could come to an internal agreement with Hanover 
County about buying or selling credits. Second, although all 
facilities affected by the Watershed General Permit 
Regulation have been required to submit compliance plans 
with details on how they will meet the new waste load 
requirements, because BIPCo was not considered a separate 
facility, it has not submitted a plan. BIPCo will be required to 
submit a plan only with the passage of this regulatory change. 
Without a plan, we do not know if BIPCo will buy or sell 
credits through the nutrient credit exchange program. 

In the end, if BIPCo would be able to exchange credits 
through Doswell under the current agreement, this 
amendment leaves the status quo unchanged and, therefore, 
provides neither cost nor benefit. If BIPCo would not be able 
to exchange credits under the current system, then assuming 
that the nutrient credit exchange program is economically 
beneficial to Virginia, the benefits of this amendment 
outweigh the costs.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. Doswell WWTP, Bear 
Island Paper Company (BIPCo), and whichever facilities 
BIPCo chooses to exchange credits with (if it chooses to 
exchange credits), are affected by the proposed amendments.  

Localities Particularly Affected. Only Hanover County, 
which owns and operates Doswell WWTP, is directly affected 
by the proposed amendments. If Bear County Island Paper 
Company sells nutrient discharge credits to facilities in 
different counties, however, those counties will also be 
affected.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed changes are 
not anticipated to have any impact on employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed changes will allow Bear Island Paper Company to 
participate in the Nutrient Credit Exchange Program, which 
could increase the value of the business, thereby improving 
the use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Since BIPCo is 
not a small business and, according to the Department, none 
of the facilities from which it could acquire/to which it could 
sell credits are small businesses, the proposed amendment 
should have no effect on small businesses. 
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Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments do not add cost 
to, or otherwise affect, small businesses.  

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not create additional costs related to the development of 
real estate for commercial or residential purposes.  

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with §2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, §2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 
_____________________________________ 
1 The equation is WLA=Design Flow*concentration*8.344*365, where the 
design flow is measured in MGD, concentration is measured in mg/L, 8.344 
is the conversion for mg/L into lbs/day, and 365 is the number of days in a 
year. So, the nitrogen WLA for Doswell WWTP is: 1.0*6.0*8.344*365= 
18,273 lbs/year 
2 1.0*0.7*8.344*365=2,132 
3 Nitrogen WLA: 4.2*3.7*8.344*365=47,328, Phosphorous WLA: 
4.2*1.0*8.344*365=12,791 
Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The department has 
reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared by the 
Department of Planning and Budget and has no comment. 

Summary  

The proposed amendments (i) revise the total nitrogen 
and total phosphorus waste load allocations (WLAs) for 
the Doswell Wastewater Treatment Plant (VA0029521) 
to exclude the portions attributable to Bear Island Paper 
Company and add separate WLAs for Bear Island Paper 
Company, and (ii) define certain industrial plants as 
existing facilities eligible to exchange nutrient credits. 

9VAC25-720-120. York River Basin. 

A. Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDLs). 

B. Stream segment classifications, effluent limitations 
including water quality based effluent limitations, and waste 
load allocations.  

TABLE B1 -- RECOMMENDED STREAM SEGMENTS IN THE 
YORK RIVER BASIN  

Segment 
Number Classification Name of River (Description)* 

8-1 EL 

North Anna River (main and 
tributaries except Goldmine 
Creek and Contrary Creek) R.M. 
68.4-0.0 

8-2 EL Goldmine Creek 

8-3 WQ Contrary Creek (main only) R.M. 
9.5-0.0 

8-4 EL South Anna River (main and 
tributaries) R.M. 101.2-97.1 

8-5 EL South Anna River (main only) 
R.M. 97.1-77.4 

8-6 EL South Anna River (main and 
tributaries) R.M.77.4-0.0 

8-7 EL Pamunkey River (main and 
tributaries) R.M. 90.7-12.2 

8-8 WQ Pamunkey River (main only) 
R.M. 12.2-0.0 

8-9 EL Mattaponi River (main and 
tributaries) R.M.102.2-10.2 

8-10 EL Mattaponi River (main only) 
R.M.10.2-0.0 

8-11 WQ York River (main only) R.M. 
30.4-22.4 

8-12 EL 
York River (main and tributaries 
except King Creek and Carter 
Creek) –R.M. 22.4-0.0 

8-13 EL Carter Creek (main and 
tributaries) R.M. 5.4-2.0 

8-14 EL Carter Creek (main only) R.M. 
2.0-0.0 

8-15 EL King Creek (main only) R.M.5.6-
0.0 

8-16 WQ 

Condemned shellfish areas- 
Timberneck, Queens, and Sarah 
Creeks and portions of the main 
stream of the York River. 

*R.M.= River Mile, measured from the river mouth 

Source: Roy F. Western 
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TABLE B2 - WASTE LOAD ALLOCATIONS (IN LBS PER DAY) 

1977 WASTE 
LOAD2 

MAXIMUM7 
DAILY LOAD RECOMMENDED ALLOCATION RAW WASTE 

LOAD AT 1995 

REQUIRED & 
REMOVAL 

EFFICENCY 1995 POINT 
SOURCE 

CBOD5 UBOD1 CBOD5 UBOD CBOD5 UBOD PERCENT 
RESERVE CBOD5 UBOD CBOD5 UBOD 

Gordonsville 145 398 150 412 150 412 0 1950 2730 92 85 

Louisa-
Mineral 50 108 55 118 55 118 0 850 1150 93 90 

Doswell 52 110 8628 14078 6908 11258 20 1080 1444 854 71 

Thornburg 63 150 68 162 68 162 0 1240 1690 94 90 

Bowling 
Green 27 64 29 68 29 68 0 680 926 96 93 

Ashland 160 303 235 559 188 447 20 2250 3825 92 88 

Hanover 
(Regional 
STP) 

170 437 280 820 280 820 0 5730 7930 96 90 

Chesapeake 
Corp. 6400 8000 104455 150005 104455 150005 N/A 51700 64630 90 90 

West Point 105 380 2813 1020 225 814 20 1000 1600 854 66 

1BOD is Ultimate Biochemical Oxygen Demand. Its concentration is derived by the following: BOD5 /0.80+ 4.5(TKN)=(UBOD). NOTE: The amount of TKN 
utilized depends on the location in the basin. 
2Projected for 1977 based on population projections. 
3Recommended allocation based on BPCTCA effluent guidelines applied to raw waste loads at 2020. 
4Minimum removal efficiency. 
5Allocation based on BPCTCA effluent guidelines; amended by Minute 25, June 3-5, 1979 board meeting. 
7Assimilative capacity. 
8Amended by Minute 1, August 17, 1978, board meeting. 
Source: Roy F. Weston, Inc. 

C. Nitrogen and phosphorus waste load allocations to restore the Chesapeake Bay and its tidal rivers. The following table 
presents nitrogen and phosphorus waste load allocations for the identified significant dischargers and the total nitrogen and total 
phosphorus waste load allocations for the listed facilities.  

Virginia 
Waterbody ID Discharger Name VPDES Permit 

No. 

Total Nitrogen 
(TN) Waste Load 
Allocation (lbs/yr) 

Total Phosphorus 
(TP) Waste Load 

Allocation (lbs/yr) 

F20R Caroline County STP VA0073504 9,137 1,066 

F01R Gordonsville STP VA0021105 17,177 2,004 

F04R Ashland WWTP VA0024899 36,547 4,264 

F09R Doswell WWTP VA0029521 65,601 18,273 14,923 2,132 

F09R Bear Island Paper Company VA0029521 47,328 12,791 

F27E Giant Yorktown Refinery VA0003018 167,128 22,111 

F27E HRSD - York River STP VA0081311 274,100 31,978 
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F14R Parham Landing WWTP(1)  VA0088331 54,820 6,396 

F14E Smurfit Stone - West Point VA0003115 259,177 70,048 

F12E Totopotomoy WWTP VA0089915 182,734 21,319 

F25E West Point STP VA0075434 10,964 1,279 

C04E HRSD - Mathews Courthouse 
STP VA0028819 1,827 213 

  TOTALS:   1,079,212 175,601 

NOTES: (1) Parham Landing WWTP: waste load allocations (WLAs) based on a design flow capacity of 3.0 million gallons per 
day (MGD). If plant is not certified to operate at 3.0 MGD design flow capacity by December 31, 2010, the WLAs will 
decrease to TN = 10,416 lbs/yr; TP = 1,215 lbs/yr, based on a design flow capacity of 0.57 MGD.  

 

9VAC25-820-10. Definitions. 

Except as defined below, the words and terms used in this 
chapter shall have the meanings defined in the Virginia 
Pollution Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Permit 
Regulation (9VAC25-31). 

"Annual mass load of total nitrogen" (expressed in pounds 
per year) means the daily total nitrogen concentration 
(expressed as mg/l to the nearest 0.01 mg/l) multiplied by the 
flow volume of effluent discharged during the 24-hour period 
(expressed as MGD to the nearest 0.01 MGD), multiplied by 
8.3438 and rounded to the nearest whole number to convert to 
pounds per day (lbs/day) units, then totaled for the calendar 
month to convert to pounds per month (lbs/mo) units, and 
then totaled for the calendar year to convert to pounds per 
year (lbs/yr) units. 

"Annual mass load of total phosphorus" (expressed in 
pounds per year) means the daily total phosphorus 
concentration (expressed as mg/l to the nearest 0.01mg/l) 
multiplied by the flow volume of effluent discharged during 
the 24-hour period (expressed as MGD to the nearest 0.01 
MGD) multiplied by 8.3438 and rounded to the nearest whole 
number to convert to pounds per day (lbs/day) units, then 
totaled for the calendar month to convert to pounds per month 
(lbs/mo) units, and then totaled for the calendar year to 
convert to pounds per year (lbs/yr) units. 

"Association" means the Virginia Nutrient Credit Exchange 
Association authorized by §62.1-44.19:17 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

"Attenuation" means the rate at which nutrients are reduced 
through natural processes during transport in water. 

"Biological nutrient removal technology" means (i) 
technology that will achieve an annual average total nitrogen 
effluent concentration of eight milligrams per liter and an 
annual average total phosphorus effluent concentration of one 
milligram per liter, or (ii) equivalent reductions in loads of 

total nitrogen and total phosphorus through the recycle or 
reuse of wastewater as determined by the department. 

"Board" means the Virginia State Water Control Board or 
State Water Control Board. 

"Delivered total nitrogen load" means the discharged mass 
load of total nitrogen from a point source that is adjusted by 
the delivery factor for that point source. 

"Delivered total phosphorus load" means the discharged 
mass load of total phosphorus from a point source that is 
adjusted by the delivery factor for that point source. 

"Delivery factor" means an estimate of the number of 
pounds of total nitrogen or total phosphorus delivered to tidal 
waters for every pound discharged from a permitted facility, 
as determined by the specific geographic location of the 
permitted facility, to account for attenuation that occurs 
during riverine transport between the permitted facility and 
tidal waters. Delivery factors shall be calculated using the 
Chesapeake Bay Program watershed model. For the purpose 
of this regulation, delivery factors with a value greater than 
1.00 in the Chesapeake Bay Program watershed model shall 
be considered to be equal to 1.00. 

"Department" means the Department of Environmental 
Quality. 

"Equivalent load" means: 

2,300 pounds per year of total nitrogen or 300 pounds per 
year of total phosphorus discharged by an industrial facility 
are considered equivalent to the load discharged from sewage 
treatment works with a design capacity of 0.04 million 
gallons per day, 

5,700 pounds per year of total nitrogen or 760 pounds per 
year of total phosphorus discharged by an industrial facility 
are considered equivalent to the load discharged from sewage 
treatment works with a design capacity of 0.1 million gallons 
per day, and 
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28,500 pounds per year of total nitrogen or 3,800 pounds per 
year of total phosphorus discharged by an industrial facility 
are considered equivalent to the load discharged from sewage 
treatment works with a design capacity of 0.05 million 
gallons per day. 

"Existing facility" means a facility holding a current 
individual VPDES permit that has either commenced 
discharge from, or has received a Certificate to Construct (for 
sewage treatment works, or equivalent DEQ approval for 
discharges from industrial facilities) the treatment works used 
to derive its waste load allocation on or before July 1, 2005, 
or has a wasteload allocation listed in 9VAC25-720-50 C, 
9VAC25-720-60 C, 9VAC25-720-70 C, 9VAC25-720-110 C, 
and 9VAC25-720-120 C of the Water Quality Management 
Planning Regulation. Existing facility shall also mean and 
include any facility, without an individual VPDES permit, 
which holds a separate waste load allocation in 9VAC25-720-
120 C of the Water Quality Management Planning 
Regulation. 

"Expansion" or "expands" means initiating construction at 
an existing treatment works after July 1, 2005, to increase 
design flow capacity, except that the term does not apply in 
those cases where a Certificate to Construct (for sewage 
treatment works, or equivalent DEQ approval for discharges 
from industrial facilities) was issued on or before July 1, 
2005. 

"Facility" means a point source discharging or proposing to 
discharge total nitrogen or total phosphorus to the 
Chesapeake Bay or its tributaries. This term does not include 
confined animal feeding operations, discharges of storm 
water, return flows from irrigated agriculture, or vessels. 

"General permit" means this general permit authorized by 
§62.1-44.19:14 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Industrial facility" means any facility (as defined above) 
other than sewage treatment works. 

"New discharge" means any discharge from a facility that 
did not commence the discharge of pollutants prior to July 1, 
2005, except that the term does not apply in those cases 
where a Certificate to Construct (for sewage treatment works, 
or equivalent DEQ approval for discharges from industrial 
facilities) was issued to the facility on or before July 1, 2005. 

"Nonsignificant discharger" means (i) a sewage treatment 
works discharging to the Chesapeake Bay watershed 
downstream of the fall line with a design capacity of less than 
0.1 million gallons per day, or less than an equivalent load 
discharged from industrial facilities, or (ii) a sewage 
treatment works discharging to the Chesapeake Bay 
watershed upstream of the fall line with a design capacity of 
less than 0.5 million gallons per day, or less than an 
equivalent load discharged from industrial facilities. 

"Offset" means to acquire an annual waste load allocation of 
total nitrogen or total phosphorus by a new or expanding 
facility to ensure that there is no net increase of nutrients into 
the affected tributary of the Chesapeake Bay. 

"Permitted facility" means a facility authorized by this 
general permit to discharge total nitrogen or total phosphorus. 
For the sole purpose of generating point source nitrogen 
credits or point source phosphorus credits, "permitted 
facility" shall also mean the Blue Plains wastewater treatment 
facility operated by the District of Columbia Water and Sewer 
Authority. 

"Permitted design capacity" or "permitted capacity" means 
the allowable load (pounds per year) assigned to an existing 
facility that is a nonsignificant discharger, that does not have 
a wasteload allocation listed in 9VAC25-720-50 C, 9VAC25-
720-60 C, 9VAC25-720-70 C, 9VAC25-720-110 C, and 
9VAC25-720-120 C of the Water Quality Management 
Planning Regulation. The permitted design capacity is 
calculated based on the design flow and installed nutrient 
removal technology (for sewage treatment works, or 
equivalent discharge from industrial facilities) at a facility 
that has either commenced discharge, or has received a 
Certificate to Construct (for sewage treatment works, or 
equivalent DEQ approval for discharges from industrial 
facilities) prior to July 1, 2005. This mass load is used for (i) 
determining whether the expanding facility must offset 
additional mass loading of nitrogen and phosphorus and (ii) 
determining whether the facility must acquire credits at the 
end of a calendar year. For the purpose of this regulation, 
facilities that have installed secondary wastewater treatment 
(intended to achieve BOD and TSS monthly average 
concentrations equal to or less than 30 milligrams per liter) 
are assumed to achieve an annual average total nitrogen 
effluent concentration of 18.7 milligrams per liter and an 
annual average total phosphorus effluent concentration of 2.5 
milligrams per liter. Permitted design capacities for facilities 
that, before July 1, 2005, were required to comply with more 
stringent nutrient limits shall be calculated using the more 
stringent values. 

"Permittee" means a person authorized by this general 
permit to discharge total nitrogen or total phosphorus. 

"Point source nitrogen credit" means the difference between 
(i) the waste load allocation for a permitted facility specified 
as an annual mass load of total nitrogen and (ii) the monitored 
annual mass load of total nitrogen discharged by that facility, 
that clause (ii) is less than clause (i), and where the difference 
is adjusted by the applicable delivery factor and expressed as 
pounds per year of delivered total nitrogen load. 

"Point source phosphorus credit" means the difference 
between (i) the waste load allocation for a permitted facility 
specified as an annual mass load of total phosphorus and (ii) 
the monitored annual mass load of total phosphorus 
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discharged by that facility, where clause (ii) is less than 
clause (i), and where the difference is adjusted by the 
applicable delivery factor and expressed as pounds per year of 
delivered total phosphorus load.  

"Quantification level (QL)" means the lowest standard in the 
calibration curve for a given analyte. The QL must have a 
value greater than zero and be verified each day of analysis 
by analyzing a sample of known concentration at the selected 
QL with a recovery range of 70% - 130%. 

"Registration list" means a list maintained by the department 
indicating all facilities that have registered for coverage under 
this general permit, by tributary, including their waste load 
allocations, permitted design capacities and delivery factors 
as appropriate. 

"Significant discharger" means (i) a sewage treatment works 
discharging to the Chesapeake Bay watershed upstream of the 
fall line with a design capacity of 0.5 million gallons per day 
or greater, or an equivalent load discharged from industrial 
facilities; (ii) a sewage treatment works discharging to the 
Chesapeake Bay watershed downstream of the fall line with a 
design capacity of 0.1 million gallons per day or greater, or an 
equivalent load discharged from industrial facilities; (iii) a 
planned or newly expanding sewage treatment works 
discharging to the Chesapeake Bay watershed upstream of the 
fall line that is expected to be in operation by December 31, 
2010, with a permitted design of 0.5 million gallons per day 
or greater, or an equivalent load to be discharged from 
industrial facilities; or (iv) a planned or newly expanding 
sewage treatment works discharging to the Chesapeake Bay 
watershed downstream of the fall line that is expected to be in 
operation by December 31, 2010, with a design capacity of 
0.1 million gallons per day or greater, or an equivalent load to 
be discharged from industrial facilities. 

"State-of-the-art nutrient removal technology" means (i) 
technology that will achieve an annual average total nitrogen 
effluent concentration of three milligrams per liter and an 
annual average total phosphorus effluent concentration of 0.3 
milligrams per liter or (ii) equivalent load reductions in total 
nitrogen and total phosphorus through recycle or reuse of 
wastewater as determined by the department. 

"Tributaries" means those river basins for which separate 
tributary strategies were prepared pursuant to §2.2-218 of the 
Code of Virginia and includes the Potomac, Rappahannock, 
York, and James River Basins, and the Eastern Coastal Basin, 
which encompasses the creeks and rivers of the Eastern Shore 
of Virginia that are west of Route 13 and drain into the 
Chesapeake Bay. 

"Waste load allocation" means (i) the water quality-based 
annual mass load of total nitrogen or annual mass load of 
total phosphorus allocated to individual facilities pursuant to 
9VAC25-720-50 C, 9VAC25-720-60 C, 9VAC25-720-70 C, 
9VAC25-720-110 C, and 9VAC25-720-120 C of the Water 

Quality Management Planning Regulation or its successor, 
(ii) the water quality-based annual mass load of total nitrogen 
or annual mass load of total phosphorus acquired pursuant to 
§62.1-44.19:15 of the Code of Virginia for new or expanded 
facilities, or (iii) applicable total nitrogen or total phosphorus 
total maximum daily loads to restore or protect the water 
quality and beneficial uses of the Chesapeake Bay or its tidal 
tributaries. 

9VAC25-820-20. Purpose, applicability, delegation of 
authority. 

A. This regulation fulfills the statutory requirement for the 
General VPDES Watershed Permit for Total Nitrogen and 
Total Phosphorus discharges and nutrient trading in the 
Chesapeake watershed issued by the board pursuant to the 
Clean Water Act (33 USC §1251 et seq.) and §62.1-44.19:14 
of the Code of Virginia. 

B. This general permit regulation governs facilities holding 
individual VPDES permits or that otherwise meet the 
definition of existing facility that discharge or propose to 
discharge total nitrogen or total phosphorus to the 
Chesapeake Bay or its tributaries. 

C. The director may perform any act of the board provided 
under this regulation, except as limited by §62.1-44.14 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

9VAC25-820-70. General permit. 

Any owner whose registration statement is accepted by the 
board will receive the following general permit and shall 
comply with the requirements therein. 

General Permit No.: VAN000000  

Effective Date: January 1, 2007  

Expiration Date: December 31, 2011  

GENERAL PERMIT FOR TOTAL NITROGEN AND 
TOTAL PHOSPHORUS DISCHARGES AND NUTRIENT 

TRADING IN THE CHESAPEAKE WATERSHED IN 
VIRGINIA  

AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE UNDER THE 
VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION 

SYSTEM AND THE VIRGINIA STATE WATER 
CONTROL LAW  

In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act, 
as amended, and pursuant to the State Water Control Law and 
regulations adopted pursuant thereto, owners of facilities 
holding a VPDES individual permit or owners of facilities 
that otherwise meet the definition of an existing facility, with 
total nitrogen and/or total phosphorus discharges to the 
Chesapeake Bay or its tributaries, are authorized to discharge 
to surface waters and exchange credits for total nitrogen 
and/or total phosphorus. 
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The authorized discharge shall be in accordance with the 
registration statement filed with DEQ, this cover page, Part I-
Special Conditions Applicable to All Facilities, Part II-
Special Conditions Applicable to New and Expanded 
Facilities, and Part III-Conditions Applicable to All VPDES 
Permits, as set forth herein. 

Part I  
Special Conditions Applicable To All Facilities 

A. Authorized activities.  

1. Authorization to discharge for facilities required to 
register. 

a. Every owner or operator of a facility required to 
submit a registration statement to the department by 
January 1, 2007, and thereafter upon the reissuance of 
this general permit, shall be authorized to discharge total 
nitrogen and total phosphorus subject to the requirements 
of this general permit upon the department's approval of 
the registration statement.  

b. Any owner or operator of a facility required to submit 
a registration statement with the department at the time 
he makes application with the department for a new 
discharge or expansion that is subject to an offset or 
technology-based requirement in Part II of this general 
permit, shall be authorized to discharge total nitrogen and 
total phosphorus subject to the requirements of this 
general permit upon the department's approval of the 
registration statement.  

c. Upon the department's approval of the registration 
statement, a facility will be included in the registration 
list maintained by the department. 

2. Authorization to discharge for facilities not required to 
register. Any facility authorized by a Virginia Pollutant 
Discharge Elimination System permit and not required by 
this general permit to submit a registration statement shall 
be deemed to be authorized to discharge total nitrogen and 
total phosphorus under this general permit at the time it is 
issued. Owners or operators of facilities that are deemed to 
be permitted under this subsection shall have no obligation 
under this general permit prior to submitting a registration 
statement and securing coverage under this general permit 
based upon such registration statement. 

B. Waste load allocations. 

1. Waste load allocations allocated to permitted facilities 
pursuant to 9VAC25-720-50 C, 9VAC25-720-60 C, 
9VAC25-720-70 C, 9VAC25-720-110 C, and 9VAC25-
720-120 C of the Water Quality Management Planning 
Regulation, or applicable total maximum daily loads, or 
waste load allocations acquired by new and expanding 
facilities to offset new or increased delivered total nitrogen 
and delivered total phosphorus loads from a new discharge 

or expansion under Part II B of this general permit, and 
existing loads calculated from the permitted design 
capacity of expanding facilities not previously covered by 
this general permit, shall be incorporated into the 
registration list maintained by the department. The waste 
load allocations contained in this list shall be enforceable 
as annual mass load limits in this general permit. Credits 
shall not be generated by facilities whose mass loads are 
derived from permitted design capacities. 

2. Except as described in subdivision 2 d of this 
subsection, an owner or operator of two or more facilities 
covered by this general permit and located in the same 
tributary may apply for and receive an aggregated mass 
load limit for delivered total nitrogen and an aggregated 
mass load limit for delivered total phosphorus reflecting 
the total of the water quality-based total nitrogen and total 
phosphorus waste load allocations or permitted design 
capacities established for such facilities individually. 

a. The permittee (and all of the individual facilities 
covered under a single registration) shall be deemed to be 
in compliance when the aggregate mass load discharged 
by the facilities is less than the aggregate load limit. 

b. The permittee will be eligible to generate credits only 
if the aggregate mass load discharged by the facilities is 
less than the total of the waste load allocations assigned 
to any of the affected facilities in 9VAC25-720-50 C, 
9VAC25-720-60 C, 9VAC25-720-70 C, 9VAC25-720-
110 C and 9VAC25-720-120 C of the Water Quality 
Management Planning Regulation. 

c. Credits shall not be generated by permittees whose 
aggregated mass load limit is derived entirely from 
permitted design capacities. 

d. The aggregation of mass load limits shall not affect 
any requirement to comply with local water quality-
based limitations. 

e. Operation under an aggregated mass load limit in 
accordance with this section shall not be deemed credit 
acquisition as described in Part I J 2 of this general 
permit. 

3. An owner who consolidates two or more facilities 
located in the same tributary into a single regional facility 
may apply for and receive an aggregated mass load limit 
for delivered total nitrogen and an aggregated mass load 
limit for delivered total phosphorus, subject to the 
following conditions: 

a. If all of the affected facilities have waste load 
allocations in 9VAC25-720-50 C, 9VAC25-720-60 C, 
9VAC25-720-70 C, 9VAC25-720-110 C, and 9VAC25-
720-120 C of the Water Quality Management Planning 
Regulation, the aggregate mass load limit shall be 
calculated by adding the waste load allocations of the 
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affected facilities. The regional facility shall be eligible 
to generate credits. 

b. If any, but not all, of the affected facilities has a waste 
load allocation in 9VAC25-720-50 C, 9VAC25-720-60 
C, 9VAC25-720-70 C, 9VAC25-720-110 C, and 
9VAC25-720-120 C of the Water Quality Management 
Planning Regulation, the aggregate mass load limit shall 
be calculated by adding: 

(1) Waste load allocations of those facilities that have 
wasteload allocations in 9VAC25-720-50 C, 9VAC25-
720-60 C, 9VAC25-720-70 C, 9VAC25-720-110 C, and 
9VAC25-720-120 C of the Water Quality Management 
Planning Regulation; 

(2) Permitted design capacities assigned to affected 
industrial facilities; and 

(3) Loads from affected sewage treatment works that do 
not have a waste load allocation in 9VAC25-720-50 C, 
9VAC25-720-60 C, 9VAC25-720-70 C, 9VAC25-720-
110 C, and 9VAC25-720-120 C of the Water Quality 
Management Planning Regulation, calculated by the 
following formulae: 

Nitrogen Load (lbs/day) = flow (expressed as MGD to 
the nearest 0.01 MGD) x 8.0 mg/l x 8.3438 x 365 
days/year 

Phosphorus Load (lbs/day) = flow (expressed as MGD to 
the nearest 0.01 MGD) x 1.0 mg/l x 8.3438 x 365 
days/year 

Flows used in the preceding formulae shall be the design 
flow of the treatment works from which the affected 
facility currently discharges. 

The regional facility shall be eligible to generate credits. 

c. If none of the affected facilities have a waste load 
allocation in 9VAC25-720-50 C, 9VAC25-720-60 C, 
9VAC25-720-70 C, 9VAC25-720-110 C, and 9VAC25-
720-120 C of the Water Quality Management Planning 
Regulation, the aggregate mass load limit shall be 
calculated by adding the respective permitted design 
capacities for the affected facilities. The regional facility 
shall not be eligible to generate credits. 

4. Unless otherwise noted, the nitrogen and phosphorus 
waste load allocations assigned to permitted facilities are 
considered total loads including nutrients present in the 
intake water from the river, as applicable. On a case-by-
case basis, an industrial discharger may demonstrate to the 
satisfaction of the board that a portion of the nutrient load 
originates in its intake water. This demonstration shall be 
consistent with the assumptions and methods used to 
derive the allocations through the Chesapeake Bay models. 
In these cases, the board may limit the permitted discharge 

to the net nutrient load portion of the assigned waste load 
allocation. 

5. Bioavailability. Unless otherwise noted, the entire 
nitrogen and phosphorus waste load allocations assigned to 
permitted facilities are considered to be bioavailable to 
organisms in the receiving stream. On a case-by-case basis, 
a discharger may demonstrate to the satisfaction of the 
board that a portion of the nutrient load is not bioavailable; 
this demonstration shall not be based on the ability of the 
nutrient to resist degradation at the wastewater treatment 
plant, but instead, on the ability of the nutrient to resist 
degradation within a natural environment for the amount of 
time that it is expected to remain in the bay watershed. 
This demonstration shall also be consistent with the 
assumptions and methods used to derive the allocations 
through the Chesapeake Bay models. In these cases, the 
board may limit the permitted discharge to the bioavailable 
portion of the assigned waste load allocation. 

C. Schedule of compliance. 

1. The following schedule of compliance pertaining to the 
load allocations for total nitrogen and total phosphorus 
applies to the facilities in each tributary, as listed. 

a. Compliance shall be achieved as soon as possible, but 
no later than the following dates, subject to any 
compliance plan-based adjustment by the board pursuant 
to subdivision 1 b of this subsection, for each parameter:  

Tributary Parameter 

Final Effluent 
Limits Effective 
Date 

James River Nitrogen 

Phosphorus 

January 1, 2011 

January 1, 2011 

Shenandoah 
and Potomac 
Rivers 

Nitrogen 

Phosphorus 

January 1, 2011 

January 1, 2011 

Rappahannock 
River 

Nitrogen 

Phosphorus 

January 1, 2011 

January 1, 2011 

York River Nitrogen 

Phosphorus 

January 1, 2011 

January 1, 2011 

Eastern Shore Nitrogen 

Phosphorus 

January 1, 2011 

January 1, 2011 

b. Following submission of compliance plans and 
compliance plan updates required by 9VAC25-820-40, 
the board shall reevaluate the schedule of compliance in 
subdivision 1 a of this subsection, taking into account the 
information in the compliance plans and the factors in 
§62.1-44.19:14 C 2 of the Code of Virginia. When 
warranted based on such information and factors, the 
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board shall adjust the schedule in subdivision 1 a of this 
subsection as appropriate by modification or reissuance 
of this general permit.  

2. The registration list shall contain individual dates for 
compliance (as defined in Part I J 1 a-b of this general 
permit) for dischargers, as follows:  

a. Facilities that were required to submit a registration 
statement with the department by January 1, 2007, will 
have individual dates for compliance based on their 
respective compliance plans, that may be earlier than the 
basin schedule listed in subdivision 1 of this subsection.  

b. Facilities that have waived their compliance schedules 
in accordance with 9VAC25-820-40 A 2 b shall have an 
individual compliance date of January 1, 2007.  

c. Upon completion of the projects contained in their 
compliance plans, facilities may receive a revised 
individual compliance date of January 1 for the calendar 
year immediately following the year in which a 
Certificate to Operate was issued for the capital projects, 
but not later than the basin schedule listed in subdivision 
1 of this subsection.  

d. New and expanded facilities will have individual dates 
for compliance corresponding to the date that coverage 
under this general permit was extended to the facility.  

D. Annual update of compliance plan. Every owner or 
operator of a facility required to submit a registration 
statement shall either individually or through the Virginia 
Nutrient Credit Exchange Association submit updated 
compliance plans to the department no later than February 1 
of each year. The compliance plans shall contain, at a 
minimum, any capital projects and implementation schedules 
needed to achieve total nitrogen and phosphorus reductions 
sufficient to comply with the individual and combined waste 
load allocations of all the permittees in the tributary. 
Compliance plans for facilities that were required to submit a 
registration statement with the department by January 1, 
2007, may rely on the acquisition of point source credits in 
accordance with Part I J of this general permit, but not the 
acquisition of credits through payments into the Water 
Quality Improvement Fund, to achieve compliance with the 
individual and combined waste load allocations in each 
tributary. Compliance plans for expansions or new discharges 
for facilities that are required to submit a registration 
statement with the department may rely on the acquisition of 
allocation in accordance with Part II B of this general permit 
to achieve compliance with the individual and combined 
waste load allocations in each tributary.  

E. Monitoring requirements.  

1. Discharges shall be monitored by the permittee during 
weekdays as specified below:  

STP design flow >20.0 
MGD 

1.0-19.999 
MGD 

0.040-
0.999 
MGD 

Effluent TN load 
limit for 
industrial 
facilities 

  >100,000 
lb/yr 

487-
99,999 
lb/yr 

Effluent TP load 
limit for 
industrial 
facilities 

  >10,000 
lb/yr 

37-9,999 
lb/yr 

Parameter Sample Type and Collection Frequency 

Flow Totalizing, Indicating and Recording 

Nitrogen 
Compounds 
(Total Nitrogen = 
TKN + NO2- (as 
N) + NO3- (as 
N)) 

24 HC 

3 
Days/Week 

24 HC 

1/Week 

8 HC 

2/Month, > 
7 days 
apart 

Phosphorus 
Compounds 

(Total 
Phosphorus and 
Orthophosphate) 

24 HC 

3 
Days/Week 

24 HC 

1/Week 

8 HC 

2/Month, > 
7 days 
apart 

2. Monitoring for compliance with effluent limitations 
shall be performed in a manner identical to that used to 
determine compliance with effluent limitations established 
in the individual VPDES permit and monitoring or 
sampling shall be conducted according to analytical 
laboratory methods approved under 40 CFR Part 136 
(2006), unless other test or sample collection procedures 
have been requested by the permittee and approved by the 
department in writing. Monitoring may be performed by 
the permittee at frequencies more stringent than listed 
above; however, the permittee shall report all results of 
such monitoring. 

3. Loading values reported in accordance with Part I E and 
F of this general permit shall be calculated and reported to 
the nearest pound without regard to mathematical rules of 
precision. 

4. Data shall be reported on a form provided by the 
department, by the same date each month as is required by 
the facility's individual permit. The total monthly load shall 
be calculated in accordance with the following formula:  

ML = MLavg * d  

where:  

ML = total monthly load (lb/mo)  

MLavg = monthly average load as reported on DMR (lb/d)  
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d = number of discharge days in the calendar month  

MLavg =  

where:  

DL = daily load = daily concentration (expressed as mg/l 
to the nearest 0.01 mg/l) multiplied by the flow volume 
of effluent discharged during the 24-hour period 
(expressed as MGD to the nearest 0.01 MGD), multiplied 
by 8.3438 and rounded to the nearest whole number to 
convert to pounds per day (lbs/day)  

s = number of days in the calendar month in which a 
sample was collected and analyzed  

All daily concentration data below the quantification 
level (QL) for the analytical method used should be 
treated as half the QL. All daily concentration data equal 
to or above the QL for the analytical method used shall 
be treated as it is reported.  

The total year-to-date mass load shall be calculated in 
accordance with the following formula:  

AL-YTD =  

where:  

AL-YTD = calendar year-to-date annual load (lb/yr)  

ML = total monthly load (lb/mo) as reported on DMR  

F. Annual reporting.  

1. Annually, on or before February 1, the permittee shall 
either individually or through the Virginia Nutrient Credit 
Exchange Association file a report with the department, 
using a reporting form supplied by the department. The 
report shall identify:  

a. The annual mass load of total nitrogen and the annual 
mass load of total phosphorus discharged by each of its 
permitted facilities during the previous calendar year;  

b. The delivered total nitrogen load and delivered total 
phosphorus load discharged by each of its permitted 
facilities during the previous year; and  

c. The number of total nitrogen and total phosphorus 
credits for the previous calendar year to be acquired or 
eligible for exchange by the permittee.  

The total annual mass load shall be calculated in 
accordance with the following formula:  

AL =  

where:  

AL = calendar year annual load (lb/yr)  

ML = total monthly load (lb/mo) as reported on DMR  

G. Requirement to register; exclusions.  

1. The following owners or operators are required to 
register for coverage under this general permit:  

a. Every owner or operator of an existing facility 
authorized by a Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 
System permit to discharge 100,000 gallons or more per 
day from a sewage treatment work, or an equivalent load 
from an industrial facility, directly into tidal waters, or 
500,000 gallons or more per day from a sewage treatment 
work, or an equivalent load from an industrial facility, 
directly into nontidal waters, shall submit a registration 
statement to the department by January 1, 2007, and 
thereafter upon the reissuance of this general permit in 
accordance with Part III B. The conditions of this general 
permit will apply to such owner and operator upon 
approval of a registration statement.  

b. Any owner or operator of a facility authorized by a 
Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System permit 
to discharge 40,000 gallons or more per day from a 
sewage treatment work, or an equivalent load from an 
industrial facility, directly into tidal or nontidal waters 
shall submit a registration statement with the department 
at the time he makes application for an individual permit 
with the department for a new discharge or expansion 
that is subject to an offset or technology-based 
requirement in Part II of this general permit, and 
thereafter upon the reissuance of this general permit in 
accordance with Part III B. The conditions of this general 
permit will apply to such owner or operator beginning on 
the start of the calendar year immediately following 
submittal of a registration statement and issuance or 
modification of the individual permit.  

2. All other categories of discharges are excluded from 
registration under this general permit.  

H. Registration statement.  

1. The registration statement shall contain the following 
information:  

a. Name, mailing address and telephone number, e-mail 
address and fax number of the owner (and facility 
operator, if different from the owner) applying for permit 
coverage;  

b. Name (or other identifier), address, city or county, 
contact name, phone number, e-mail address and fax 
number for the facility for which the registration 
statement is submitted;  

c. VPDES permit numbers for all permits assigned to the 
facility, or pursuant to which the discharge is authorized;  

d. If applying for an aggregated waste load allocation in 
accordance with Part I B 2 of this permit, list all affected 
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facilities and the VPDES permit numbers assigned to 
these facilities;  

e. For new and expanded facilities, a plan to offset new 
or increased delivered total nitrogen and delivered total 
phosphorus loads, including the amount of waste load 
allocation acquired; and  

f. For existing facilities, the amount of a facility's waste 
load allocation transferred to or from another facility to 
offset new or increased delivered total nitrogen and 
delivered total phosphorus loads from a new discharge or 
expansion.  

2. The registration statement shall be submitted to the DEQ 
Central Office, Office of Water Permit Programs.  

3. An amended registration statement shall be submitted 
upon the acquisition or transfer of a facility's waste load 
allocation to offset new or increased delivered total 
nitrogen and delivered total phosphorus loads from a new 
discharge or expansion.  

I. Public notice for registration statements proposing 
modifications or incorporations of new waste load allocations 
or delivery factors.  

1. All public notices issued pursuant to a proposed 
modification or incorporation of a (i) new waste load 
allocation to offset new or increased delivered total 
nitrogen and delivered total phosphorus loads from a new 
discharge or expansion, or (ii) delivery factor, shall be 
published once a week for two consecutive weeks in a 
major local newspaper of general circulation serving the 
locality where the facility is located informing the public 
that the facility intends to apply for coverage under this 
general permit. At a minimum, the notice shall include:  

a. A statement of the owner or operator's intent to register 
for coverage under this general permit;  

b. A brief description of the facility and its location;  

c. The amount of waste load allocation that will be 
acquired or transferred if applicable;  

d. The delivery factor for a new discharge or expansion;  

e. A statement that the purpose of the public participation 
is to acquaint the public with the technical aspects of the 
facility and how the standards and the requirements of 
this chapter will be met, to identify issues of concern, to 
facilitate communication and to establish a dialogue 
between the owner or operator and persons who may be 
affected by the facility;  

f. An announcement of a 30-day comment period, in 
accordance with 9VAC25-720-50 C, 9VAC25-720-60 C, 
9VAC25-720-70 C, 9VAC25-720-110 C, and 9VAC25-
720-120 C of the Water Quality Management Planning 
Regulation, and the name, telephone number, and address 

of the owner's or operator's representative who can be 
contacted by the interested persons to answer questions;  

g. The name, telephone number, and address of the DEQ 
representative who can be contacted by the interested 
persons to answer questions, or where comments shall be 
sent; and  

h. The location where copies of the documentation to be 
submitted to the department in support of this general 
permit notification and any supporting documents can be 
viewed and copied.  

2. The owner or operator shall place a copy of the 
documentation and support documents in a location 
accessible to the public in the vicinity of the proposed 
facility.  

3. The public shall be provided 30 days to comment on the 
technical and the regulatory aspects of the proposal. The 
comment period will begin on the date the notice is 
published in the local newspaper.  

J. Compliance with waste load allocations.  

1. Methods of compliance. The permitted facility shall 
comply with its waste load allocation contained in the 
registration list maintained by the department. The 
permitted facility shall be in compliance with its waste 
load allocation if:  

a. The annual mass load is less than or equal to the 
applicable waste load allocation assigned to the facility in 
this general permit (or permitted design capacity for 
expanded facilities without allocations);  

b. The permitted facility acquires sufficient point source 
nitrogen or phosphorus credits in accordance with 
subdivision 2 of this subsection; provided, however, that 
the acquisition of nitrogen or phosphorus credits pursuant 
to this section shall not alter or otherwise affect the 
individual waste load allocations for each permitted 
facility; or  

c. In the event it is unable to meet the individual waste 
load allocation pursuant to subdivision 1 a or 1 b of this 
subsection, the permitted facility acquires sufficient 
nitrogen or phosphorus credits through payments made 
into the Water Quality Improvement Fund pursuant to 
subdivision 3 of this subsection; provided, however, that 
the acquisition of nitrogen or phosphorus credits pursuant 
to this section shall not alter or otherwise affect the 
individual waste load allocations for each permitted 
facility.  

2. Credit acquisition from permitted facilities. A permittee 
may acquire point source nitrogen credits or point source 
phosphorus credits from one or more permitted facilities 
with waste load allocations in 9VAC25-720-50 C, 
9VAC25-720-60 C, 9VAC25-720-70 C, 9VAC25-720-110 
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C and 9VAC25-720-120 C of the Water Quality 
Management Planning Regulation, including the Blue 
Plains wastewater treatment facility operated by the 
District of Columbia Water and Sewer Authority, only if:  

a. The credits are generated and applied to a compliance 
obligation in the same calendar year;  

b. The credits are generated by one or more permitted 
facilities in the same tributary;  

c. The exchange or acquisition of credits does not affect 
any requirement to comply with local water quality-
based limitations as determined by the board;  

d. The credits are acquired no later than June 1 
immediately following the calendar year in which the 
credits are applied;  

e. The credits are generated by a facility that has been 
constructed, and has discharged from treatment works 
whose design flow or equivalent industrial activity is the 
basis for the facility's waste load allocations (until a 
facility is constructed and has commenced operation, 
such credits are held, and may be sold, by the Water 
Quality Improvement Fund; and  

f. No later than June 1 immediately following the 
calendar year in which the credits are applied, the 
permittee certifies on a credit exchange notification form 
supplied by the department that he has acquired sufficient 
credits to satisfy his compliance obligations. The 
permittee shall comply with the terms and conditions 
contained in the credit exchange notification form 
submitted to the department.  

3. Credit acquisitions from the Water Quality Improvement 
Fund. Until such time as the board finds that no allocations 
are reasonably available in an individual tributary, 
permittees that cannot meet their total nitrogen or total 
phosphorus effluent limit may acquire nitrogen or 
phosphorus credits through payments made into the 
Virginia Water Quality Improvement Fund established in 
§10.1-2128 of the Code of Virginia only if, no later than 
June 1 immediately following the calendar year in which 
the credits are to be applied, the permittee certifies on a 
form supplied by the department that he has diligently 
sought, but has been unable to acquire, sufficient credits to 
satisfy his compliance obligations through the acquisition 
of point source nitrogen or phosphorus credits with other 
permitted facilities in the same tributary, and that he has 
acquired sufficient credits to satisfy his compliance 
obligations through one or more payments made in 
accordance with the terms of this general permit. Such 
certification may include, but not be limited to, providing a 
record of solicitation or demonstration that point source 
allocations are not available for sale in the tributary in 
which the permittee is located. Payments to the Water 
Quality Improvement Fund shall be in the amount of 

$11.06 for each pound of nitrogen and $5.04 for each 
pound of phosphorus and shall be subject to the following 
requirements:  

a. The credits are generated and applied to a compliance 
obligation in the same calendar year,  

b. The credits are generated in the same tributary,  

c. The acquisition of credits does not affect any 
requirement to comply with local water quality-based 
limitations, as determined by the board.  

4. This general permit neither requires, nor prohibits a 
municipality or regional sewerage authority's development 
and implementation of trading programs among industrial 
users, which are consistent with the pretreatment 
regulatory requirements at 40 CFR Part 403 and the 
municipality's or authority's individual VPDES permit.  

Part II  
Special Conditions Applicable To New And Expanded 

Facilities  

A. Offsetting mass loads discharged by new and expanded 
facilities.  

1. An owner or operator of a new or expanded facility shall 
comply with the applicable requirements of this section as 
a condition of the facility's coverage under this general 
permit.  

a. An owner or operator of a facility authorized by a 
Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System permit 
first issued before July 1, 2005, that expands his facility 
to discharge 40,000 gallons or more per day, or an 
equivalent load, shall demonstrate to the department that 
he has acquired waste load allocations sufficient to offset 
any increase in his delivered total nitrogen and delivered 
total phosphorus loads resulting from any expansion 
beyond his permitted capacity as of July 1, 2005.  

b. An owner or operator of a facility authorized by a 
Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System permit 
first issued on or after July 1, 2005, to discharge 40,000 
gallons or more per day, or an equivalent load, shall 
demonstrate to the department that he has acquired waste 
load allocations sufficient to offset his delivered total 
nitrogen and delivered total phosphorus loads.  

2. Offset calculations shall address the proposed discharge 
that exceeds:  

a. The applicable waste load allocation assigned to the 
facility in this general permit, for expanding significant 
dischargers with a wasteload allocation listed in 
9VAC25-720-50 C, 9VAC25-720-60 C, 9VAC25-720-
70 C, 9VAC25-720-110 C, and 9VAC25-720-120 C of 
the Water Quality Management Planning Regulation;  
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b. The permitted design capacity, for all other expanding 
dischargers; and  

c. Zero, for facilities with a new discharge.  

3. An owner or operator of multiple facilities located in the 
same tributary, and assigned an aggregate mass load limit 
in accordance with Part I B 2 of this general permit, that 
undertakes construction of new or expanded facilities, shall 
be required to acquire waste load allocations sufficient to 
offset any increase in delivered total nitrogen and delivered 
total phosphorus loads resulting from any expansion 
beyond the aggregate mass load limit assigned these 
facilities.  

B. Acquisition of waste load allocations. Waste load 
allocations required by this section to offset new or increased 
delivered total nitrogen and delivered total phosphorus loads 
shall be acquired in accordance with this section.  

1. Such allocations may be acquired from one or a 
combination of the following:  

a. Acquisition of all or a portion of the waste load 
allocations from one or more permitted facilities, based 
on delivered pounds by the respective trading parties as 
listed by the department;  

b. Acquisition of nonpoint source load allocations, using 
a trading ratio of two pounds reduced for every pound to 
be discharged, through the use of best management 
practices that are:  

(1) Acquired through a public or private entity acting on 
behalf of the land owner;  

(2) Calculated using best management practices 
efficiency rates and attenuation rates, as established by 
the latest science and relevant technical information, and 
approved by the board;  

(3) Based on appropriate delivery factors, as established 
by the latest science and relevant technical information, 
and approved by the board;  

(4) Demonstrated to have achieved reductions beyond 
those already required by or funded under federal or state 
law, or by the Virginia tributaries strategies plans; and  

(5) Included as conditions of the facility's individual 
Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System permit;  

c. Until such time as the board finds that no allocations 
are reasonably available in an individual tributary, 
acquisition of allocations through payments made into 
the Virginia Water Quality Improvement Fund 
established in §10.1-2128 of the Code of Virginia; or  

d. Acquisition of allocations through such other means as 
may be approved by the department on a case-by-case 
basis.  

2. Acquisition of allocations is subject to the following 
conditions:  

a. The allocations shall be generated and applied to an 
offset obligation in the same calendar year;  

b. The allocations shall be generated in the same 
tributary;  

c. Such acquisition does not affect any requirement to 
comply with local water quality-based limitations, as 
determined by the board;  

d. The allocations are authenticated (i.e., verified to have 
been generated) by the permittee as required by the 
facility's individual Virginia Pollutant Discharge 
Elimination permit, utilizing procedures approved by the 
board, no later than February 1 immediately following 
the calendar year in which the allocations are applied;  

e. If obtained from a permitted point source, the 
allocations shall be generated by a facility that has been 
constructed, and has discharged from treatment works 
whose design flow or equivalent industrial activity is the 
basis for the facility's waste load allocations; and  

f. No later than June 1 in the year prior to the calendar 
year in which the allocations are to be applied, the 
permittee shall certify on an exchange notification form 
supplied by the department that he has acquired sufficient 
allocations to satisfy his compliance obligations. The 
permittee shall comply with the terms and conditions 
contained in the exchange notification form submitted to 
the department.  

3. Priority of options. The board shall give priority to 
allocations acquired in accordance with subdivisions 1 a 
and 1 b of this subsection. The board shall approve 
allocations acquired in accordance with subdivisions 1 c 
and 1 d of this subsection only after the owner or operator 
has demonstrated that he has made a good faith effort to 
acquire sufficient allocations in accordance with 
subdivisions 1 a and 1 b of this subsection, and that such 
allocations are not reasonably available taking into account 
timing, cost and other relevant factors. Such demonstration 
may include, but not be limited to, providing a record of 
solicitation, or other demonstration that point source 
allocations or nonpoint source allocations are not available 
for sale in the tributary in which the permittee is located.  

4. Annual allocation acquisitions from the Water Quality 
Improvement Fund. The cost for each pound of nitrogen 
and each pound of phosphorus shall be determined at the 
time payment is made to the WQIF, based on the higher of 
(i) the estimated cost of achieving a reduction of one pound 
of nitrogen or phosphorus at the facility that is securing the 
allocation, or comparable facility, for each pound of 
allocation acquired; or (ii) the average cost, as determined 
by the Department of Conservation and Recreation on an 
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annual basis, of reducing two pounds of nitrogen or 
phosphorus from nonpoint sources in the same tributary for 
each pound of allocation acquired.  

Part III  
Conditions Applicable To All VPDES Permits  

A. Duty to comply. The permittee must comply with all 
conditions of the permit. Any permit noncompliance 
constitutes a violation of the law and the Clean Water Act, 
except that noncompliance with certain provisions of the 
permit may constitute a violation of the law but not the Clean 
Water Act. Permit noncompliance is grounds for enforcement 
action; for permit termination, revocation and reissuance, or 
modification; or denial of a permit renewal application. 

B. Duty to register for reissued general permit. If the 
permittee wishes to continue an activity regulated by the 
general permit after its expiration date, the permittee must 
register for coverage under the new general permit, when it is 
reissued by the department. 

C. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not 
be a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it 
would have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted 
activity in order to maintain compliance with the conditions 
of the permit. 

D. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 
steps to minimize or prevent any discharge in violation of the 
permit that has a reasonable likelihood of adversely affecting 
human health or the environment. 

E. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee shall at 
all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and 
systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) 
that are installed or used by the permittee to achieve 
compliance with the conditions of the permit. Proper 
operation and maintenance also includes adequate laboratory 
controls and appropriate quality assurance procedures. This 
provision requires the operation of back-up or auxiliary 
facilities or similar systems that are installed by a permittee 
only when the operation is necessary to achieve compliance 
with the conditions of the permit. 

F. Permit actions. Permits may be modified, revoked and 
reissued, or terminated for cause. The filing of a request by 
the permittee for a permit modification, revocation and 
reissuance, or termination, or a notification of planned 
changes or anticipated noncompliance does not stay any 
permit condition. 

G. Property rights. Permits do not convey any property 
rights of any sort, or any exclusive privilege. 

H. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 
to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 
that the board may request to determine whether cause exists 
for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating the 
permit or to determine compliance with the permit. The board 

may require the permittee to furnish, upon request, such 
plans, specifications, and other pertinent information as may 
be necessary to determine the effect of the wastes from his 
discharge on the quality of state waters, or such other 
information as may be necessary to accomplish the purposes 
of the law. The permittee shall also furnish to the department 
upon request, copies of records required to be kept by the 
permit, pertaining to activities related to the permitted 
facility. 

I. Inspection and entry. The permittee shall allow the 
director, or an authorized representative (including an 
authorized contractor acting as a representative of the 
administrator), upon presentation of credentials and other 
documents as may be required by law, to: 

1. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a regulated 
facility or activity is located or conducted, or where 
records must be kept under the conditions of the permit; 

2. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any 
records that must be kept under the conditions of the 
permit; 

3. Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment 
(including monitoring and control equipment), practices, or 
operations regulated or required under the permit; and 

4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 
of assuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized 
by the Clean Water Act and the law, any substances or 
parameters at any location. 

J. Monitoring and records. 

1. Samples and measurements taken for the purpose of 
monitoring shall be representative of the monitored 
activity. 

2. The permittee shall retain records of all monitoring 
information, including all calibration and maintenance 
records and all original strip chart recordings for 
continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 
reports required by the permit, and records of all data used 
to complete the application for the permit, for a period of at 
least three years from the date of the sample, measurement, 
report or application. This period of retention shall be 
extended automatically during the course of any 
unresolved litigation regarding the regulated activity or 
regarding control standards applicable to the permittee, or 
as requested by the board.  

3. Records of monitoring information shall include: 

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 
measurements; 

b. The individual(s) who performed the sampling or 
measurements; 

c. The date(s) analyses were performed; 
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d. The individual(s) who performed the analyses; 

e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and 

f. The results of such analyses. 

4. Monitoring results must be conducted according to test 
procedures approved under 40 CFR Part 136 (2006) or 
alternative EPA-approved methods, unless other test 
procedures have been specified in the permit. 

K. Signatory requirements. All applications, reports, or 
information submitted to the department shall be signed and 
certified as required by 9VAC25-31-110. 

L. Reporting requirements. 

1. The permittee shall give notice to the department as 
soon as possible of any planned physical alterations or 
additions to the permitted facility. Notice is required only 
when: 

a. The alteration or addition to a permitted facility may 
meet one of the criteria for determining whether a facility 
is a new source in 9VAC25-31-180 A; or 

b. The alteration or addition could significantly change 
the nature or increase the quantity of pollutants 
discharged. This notification applies to pollutants that are 
subject neither to effluent limitations in the permit, nor to 
notification requirements under 9VAC25-31-200 A 1. 

2. The permittee shall give advance notice to the 
department of any planned changes in the permitted facility 
or activity that may result in noncompliance with permit 
requirements. 

3. Permits are not transferable to any person except after 
notice to the department. The board may require 
modification or revocation and reissuance of permits to 
change the name of the permittee and incorporate such 
other requirements as may be necessary under the law or 
the Clean Water Act. 

4. Monitoring results shall be reported at the intervals 
specified in the permit. 

a. Monitoring results must be reported on a Discharge 
Monitoring Report (DMR). 

b. If the permittee monitors any pollutant specifically 
addressed by the permit more frequently than required by 
the permit using test procedures approved under 40 CFR 
Part 136 (2006), or as specified in the permit, the results 
of this monitoring shall be included in the calculation and 
reporting of the data submitted in the DMR specified by 
the department. 

c. Calculations for all limitations that require averaging 
of measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean unless 
otherwise specified in the permit. 

5. Reports of compliance or noncompliance with, or any 
progress reports on, interim and final requirements 
contained in any compliance schedule of the permit shall 
be submitted no later than 14 days following each schedule 
date. 

6. If any unusual or extraordinary discharge including a 
bypass or upset should occur from a facility and such 
discharge enters or could be expected to enter state waters, 
the owner shall promptly notify, in no case later than 24 
hours, the department by telephone after the discovery of 
such discharge. This notification shall provide all available 
details of the incident, including any adverse affects on 
aquatic life and the known number of fish killed. The 
permittee shall reduce the report to writing and shall 
submit it to the department within five days of discovery of 
the discharge in accordance with subdivision 7 a of this 
subsection. Unusual and extraordinary discharges include 
but are not limited to any discharge resulting from: 

a. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 
indirectly from processing operations; 

b. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment; 

c. Failure or taking out of service of the treatment work 
or auxiliary facilities (such as sewer lines or wastewater 
pump stations); and 

d. Flooding or other acts of nature. 

7. Twenty-four-hour reporting. 

a. The permittee shall report any noncompliance that may 
endanger health or the environment. Any information 
shall be provided orally within 24 hours from the time 
the permittee becomes aware of the circumstances. A 
written submission shall also be provided within five 
days of the time the permittee becomes aware of the 
circumstances. The written submission shall contain a 
description of the noncompliance and its cause; the 
period of noncompliance, including exact dates and 
times, and if the noncompliance has not been corrected, 
the anticipated time it is expected to continue; and steps 
taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and prevent 
reoccurrence of the noncompliance. 

b. The following shall be included as information that 
must be reported within 24 hours under this subdivision. 

(1) Any unanticipated bypass that exceeds any effluent 
limitation in the permit. 

(2) Any upset that exceeds any effluent limitation in the 
permit. 

(3) Violation of a maximum daily discharge limitation 
for any of the pollutants listed in the permit to be 
reported within 24 hours. 
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c. The board may waive the written report on a case-by-
case basis for reports under this subdivision if the oral 
report has been received within 24 hours. 

8. The permittee shall report all instances of 
noncompliance not reported under subdivisions 4, 5, 6, and 
7 of this subsection, in writing at the time the next 
monitoring reports are submitted. The reports shall contain 
the information listed in subdivision 7 of this subsection. 

9. Where the permittee becomes aware that it failed to 
submit any relevant facts in a permit application, or 
submitted incorrect information in a permit application or 
in any report to the department, it shall promptly submit 
such facts or information. 

M. Bypass.  

1. The permittee may allow any bypass to occur that does 
not cause effluent limitations to be exceeded, but only if it 
also is for essential maintenance to assure efficient 
operation. These bypasses are not subject to the provisions 
of subdivisions 2 and 3 of this subsection. 

2. Notice. 

a. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance 
of the need for a bypass, it shall submit prior notice, if 
possible at least 10 days before the date of the bypass. 

b. Unanticipated bypass. The permittee shall submit 
notice of an unanticipated bypass as required in 
subdivision L 7 of this section (24-hour notice). 

3. Prohibition of bypass. 

a. Bypass is prohibited, and the board may take 
enforcement action against a permittee for bypass, 
unless:  

(1) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, 
personal injury, or severe property damage; 

(2) There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, 
such as the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention 
of untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal 
periods of equipment downtime. This condition is not 
satisfied if adequate back-up equipment should have 
been installed in the exercise of reasonable engineering 
judgment to prevent a bypass that occurred during 
normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive 
maintenance; and  

(3) The permittee submitted notices as required under 
subdivision 2 of this subsection. 

b. The board may approve an anticipated bypass, after 
considering its adverse effects, if the board determines 
that it will meet the three conditions listed above in 
subdivision 3 a of this subsection. 

N. Upset.  

1. An upset constitutes an affirmative defense to an action 
brought for noncompliance with such technology-based 
permit effluent limitations if the requirements of 
subdivision 2 of this subsection are met. No determination 
made during administrative review of claims that 
noncompliance was caused by upset, and before an action 
for noncompliance, is final administrative action subject to 
judicial review. 

2. A permittee who wishes to establish the affirmative 
defense of upset shall demonstrate, through properly 
signed, contemporaneous operating logs, or other relevant 
evidence that: 

a. An upset occurred and that the permittee can identify 
the cause(s) of the upset; 

b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 
operated; 

c. The permittee submitted notice of the upset as required 
in subdivision L 7 b (2) of this section (24-hour notice); 
and 

d. The permittee complied with any remedial measures 
required under subsection D of this section. 

3. In any enforcement proceeding, the permittee seeking to 
establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of 
proof. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-936; Filed June 3, 2008, 1:25 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-490. Virginia Radiation 
Protection Regulations: Fee Schedule (adding 12VAC5-
490-30, 12VAC5-490-40). 

Statutory Authority: §32.1-229 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on August 22, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Les Foldesi, Director, Bureau of 
Radiological Health, Department of Health, 109 Governor 
Street, Room 730, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
864-8151, FAX (804) 864-8155, or email 
les.foldesi@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-229 authorizes the Board of Health to 
establish fee schedules, which shall not exceed comparable 
federal Nuclear Regulatory Commission fees, for the 
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licensure and inspection of radioactive materials. Section 
32.1-232.1 establishes a special trust fund for Radioactive 
Materials Facility Licensure and Inspection fees. 

Purpose: The proposed regulatory action addresses the 
radioactive materials licensing and inspection activity. 
Additional sections are required to implement a fee schedule 
to support a radioactive materials licensing and inspections 
program for certain radioactive materials the federal 
government currently implements. During the 1999 session of 
the General Assembly, legislation was passed that authorized 
implementation of a fee schedule to support a radioactive 
materials licensing and inspections program for the 
radioactive materials the federal government currently 
regulates, and created a special fund for the fees collected. 
This fee schedule will not be implemented until the Governor 
enters into an agreement with the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory 
Commission (NRC) for the regulation of these materials. The 
Governor sent a letter of intent in December 2005 to the NRC 
requesting an agreement. The NRC will not enter into an 
agreement until the state demonstrates its ability to fiscally 
support this activity. 

The harmful effects of radiation are well known, as well as 
the many beneficial applications of radiation in industry and 
healthcare. Adequate regulatory controls for the useful 
application of radiation are necessary to protect the health, 
safety and welfare of citizens. Adequate funding is also 
required to support such a regulatory program. 

Substance: 8VAC5-490-30 is being created to establish 
licensing fees for naturally occurring radioactive materials 
and accelerator-produced materials that Virginia currently 
regulates, which will revert to the NRC in 2009 unless the 
Commonwealth enters into an agreement with the NRC. 

8VAC5-490-40 is being created to establish the licensing fees 
for radioactive material users currently regulated by the 
NRC.  These fees will provide sufficient funding to cover the 
expenses relating to licensing, inspections, investigations, 
emergency response, and personnel training. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is that the 
radioactive materials licensing and inspection activities will 
not rely on general funds to support these activities and will 
financially impact the businesses that directly benefit from 
the use of radiation. It is also advantageous to businesses 
currently using radioactive materials under a federal license 
to pay a lesser fee when the Commonwealth enters into an 
agreement with the NRC. 

There are no disadvantages to the public in promulgating the 
proposed fee schedule. 

Primary advantages and disadvantages to the agency and 
Commonwealth: approving the proposed fee structure will 
allow VDH to eliminate its dependence on its general fund 
appropriation to support this regulatory program. The 

proposed fee schedule will also allow the Commonwealth to 
enter into an agreement with the NRC to regulate radioactive 
materials and be self-sufficient. There are no disadvantages to 
the agency and Commonwealth in promulgating the proposed 
fee schedule. 

Pertinent matters of interest to the regulated community: 
VDH does not anticipate any issues from most of the 
radioactive materials licensees, since the proposed fee 
schedule for radioactive materials will be significantly 
reduced in most cases from the fees the licensees are 
currently paying to the NRC. 

Other matters: In 1995, President Bush signed the Energy 
Policy Act (EPA), which changed the definition of 
radioactive material to include naturally occurring and 
accelerated-produced material (NARM). By signing the EPA, 
the NRC will assume full regulatory control of all radioactive 
material unless a state has entered into an agreement with the 
NRC. This process will conclude in 2009. Currently, 34 states 
have entered into such an agreement. Pennsylvania, Virginia 
and New Jersey have signed letters of intent to become 
Agreement States. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Section 32.1-229 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 
Board of Health (Board) to establish fee schedules which 
shall not exceed comparable U.S. Nuclear Regulatory 
Commission (NRC) fees. The Board proposes to amend the 
existing Radiation Protection Regulation Fee Schedule to 
adopt a fee structure to support the radioactive materials 
licensing and inspection program for those materials the NRC 
intends to transfer to the Commonwealth by agreement. The 
proposed regulations will supersede the Radiation Protection 
Regulation Fee Schedule which became effective January 1, 
1989. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Under current regulation, there 
are two programs for regulating nuclear materials: one for by-
product, source, and special nuclear materials that is operated 
by the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) and one 
for naturally-occurring and accelerator-produced radioactive 
materials (NARM) that is operated by the Virginia 
Department of Health. In 2005, Congress approved the 
Energy Policy Act of 2005, which moved jurisdiction over 
the latter program to the NRC. The NRC, then, gave all states 
a waiver until 2009. In other words, under current regulation 
the NRC will operate both programs for regulating nuclear 
and radioactive materials beginning in 2009.  

A state can take over full regulatory control of radioactive 
material by entering into an agreement with the NRC. The 
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Governor of Virginia sent a letter of intent in December 2005 
to the NRC requesting such an agreement. (Currently, 34 
states have become "Agreement States" and Pennsylvania, 
New Jersey, and Virginia have signed letters of intent to 
become Agreement States.) The NRC will not enter into an 
agreement until the state demonstrates that it is able to 
fiscally support the program. During the 1999 session of the 
General Assembly, legislation was passed that authorized 
implementation of a fee schedule to support a radioactive 
materials licensing and inspections program, and set up a 
special fund for the fees collected. 

Under current regulation, the program for by-product, source, 
and special nuclear materials that is operated out of the NRC 
is funded by license fees set up by the NRC. (Congress 
requires the NRC to recover 90 percent of its expenses.) The 
NARM program was funded from the general fund, is 
currently funded out of a special fund within the Virginia 
Department of Health that also supports the effort to become 
an Agreement state (the funding source is still a general 
funding source, however), and if Virginia does not become an 
Agreement state, starting in 2009 the NARM program will be 
funded through fees paid to the NRC.  

One benefit of the proposed amendment is that the NARM 
program will no longer be financed from the general fund (or 
a general funding source); however, starting in 2009 the 
NARM program will be funded through the NRC out of 
licensing fees, so this benefit is only a short-term benefit of 
the proposed amendment. In the short term, funding a 
program using a fee rather than using general funding is 
economically beneficial to the citizens of Virginia because it 
requires only those businesses that benefit from the use of 
radiation to pay the fees. In the longer-term, there is a benefit 
to NRC and NARM licensees in the form of lower fees. 
Because states can implement these programs within state 
more cheaply than the federal government1, the cost of the 
program will be reduced with its move from federal to state 
control. This will allow the Board to lower the fees charged to 
licensees. The smallest fee reduction (8 percent) is for 
licenses for commercial facilities involving waste 
compaction, repackaging, storage, or transfer. The largest fee 
reduction (91 percent) is in the licenses of portable x-ray 
fluorescence analyzers, dewpointers, or gas chromatographs. 
The average reduction in the 36 license fees from the NRC 
fees to the proposed fees is a 58 percent reduction and the 
median reduction is 62 percent.2 In other words, for most 
licensees, the fees are substantially reduced. In its proposed 
fees, the Board includes some licenses that the NRC has 
never issued and licenses for activities that the NRC has not 
yet regulated (such as the NARM program). Although for 
these activities, we do not know that the license fees 
suggested in the proposed amendments are less than what 
federal fees would be, given the existing differences, it seems 
safe to assume that the fees in the proposed amendments are 
likely to be lower. 

Another benefit of the proposed fee structure is that it allows 
the Commonwealth to enter into an agreement with the NRC 
to regulate radioactive materials. Once Virginia is granted 
Agreement state status by the NRC, the proposed fee 
structure will enable the program to be self-sufficient. 

There is a short-term cost to NARM licensees in that they 
currently do not pay license fees. However, because Virginia 
must finish the process of becoming an Agreement state 
before these fees are implemented and NARM licensees will 
anyway have to pay fees starting in 2009, and because all 
Virginia residents—including NARM licensees—pay for the 
NARM program now, the proposed amendment is not likely 
to increase costs significantly, if at all, for NARM licensees. 
In addition, the Department estimates that the annual cost of 
the proposed amendment for a licensee includes the cost of 
generating a check to VDH and postage in response to a VDH 
invoice, which would probably be less than $5.00. The cost of 
submitting an application will vary depending upon the 
proposed licensing activity. There is no reason to think, 
however, that licensees will have any more cost than that 
which they are currently paying to comply with NRC 
requirements. 

In sum, the benefits clearly outweigh the costs for the 
proposed amendment. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Currently, there are 
approximately 350 NRC licensees that will become Virginia 
licensees after the agreement is approved. Currently, there are 
228 NARM licensees, of which approximately 75 do not 
possess an NRC license. In sum, the proposed amendment 
will affect approximately 425 separate entities. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
will affect localities with entities that engage in activities 
involving nuclear or radioactive materials. The proposed 
amendments do not disproportionately affect particular 
localities, as the businesses and entities that deal with nuclear 
and regulatory materials are spread across the 
Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
will enable Virginia to become an Agreement state which will 
allow Virginia to implement the radiation protection 
programs and therefore add a few jobs to the Virginia 
Department of Health (in place of federal employees who 
may reside out of state).  The proposed amendments are not 
anticipated to impact employment in any other manner. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments will lower the license fees for the 
relevant entities and therefore increase the value of their 
businesses.  

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Of the 350 NRC 
licensees that will become Virginia licensees after the 
agreement is approved, 25 are considered small entities by the 
NRC.3 
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Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. There is no apparent alternative method that 
minimizes adverse impact while still accomplishing the 
intended positive policy goals. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not create additional costs related to the development of 
real estate for commercial or residential purposes.  

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with §2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

___________________________ 
1 Source: Virginia Department of Health. State programs do not have to fund 
airplane flights, rental cars, or extensive lodging, and federal government 
workers are usually paid more than state workers.  
2 Source: Virginia Department of Health 
3 All small businesses would qualify as "small entities". For more 
information, see 10 CFR 171.16. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The department concurs 
generally with the economic impact analysis performed by 
the Department of Planning and Bugdet. 

Summary:  

The proposed amendments establish a fee structure to 
support the radioactive materials licensing and inspection 
program for those materials the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory 
Commission intends to transfer to the Commonwealth by 
agreement. 

12VAC5-490-30. Application and licensing fees for 
naturally occurring and accelerator-produced radioactive 
materials. 

The application and licensing fees to receive, possess, use, 
transfer, own or acquire naturally occurring and accelerator-
produced radioactive materials license pursuant to 12VAC5-
481 are listed in 12VAC5-490-40. 

12VAC5-490-40. Application and licensing fees for 
byproduct, source, and special nuclear materials. 

The application and licensing fees to receive, possess, use, 
transfer, own or acquire byproduct materials, source and 
special nuclear materials shall not become effective until 30 
days after publication in the Virginia Register of a notice of 
an agreement executed by the Commonwealth of Virginia and 
the federal government under the provisions of §274b of the 
Atomic Energy Act of 1954, as amended (73 Statute 689). 
Application for a radioactive materials license and annual 
fees for persons issued a radioactive materials license 
pursuant to 12VAC5-481 are listed in the following table: 

Category Specific License Type 
Application 
& Annual 

Fee 

1   Special Nuclear Material (SNM)   

  A. License for possession and use of 
SNM in sealed sources contained in 
devices used in measuring systems 

$1,000 

  B. License for use of SNM to be used as 
calibration and reference sources 

$500 

  C. SNM - all other, except license 
authorizing special nuclear material 
in unsealed form that would 
constitute a critical mass (fee waived 
if facility holds additional license 
category) 

$2,000 

2   Source Material   

  A. Source material processing and 
distribution 

$3,000 

  B. Source material in shielding (fee 
waived if facility holds additional 
license category) 

$200 

  C. Source material - all other, excluding 
depleted uranium used as shielding or 
counterweights 

$2,000 

3   Byproduct, NARM   

  A. License of broad scope for processing 
or manufacturing of items for 
commercial distribution 

$15,000 

  B. License for processing or 
manufacturing and commercial 
distribution of radiopharmaceuticals, 
generators, reagent kits and sources 
or devices 

$8,000 
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  C. License for commercial distribution 
or redistribution of 
radiopharmaceuticals, generators, 
reagent kits and sources or devices 

$4,000 

  D. Other licenses for processing or 
manufacturing of items for 
commercial distribution 

$4,000 

  E. License for industrial radiography 
operations performed only in a 
shielded radiography installation 

$3,000 

  F. License for industrial radiography 
performed only at the address 
indicated on the license, and at 
temporary job sites 

$4,000 

  G. License for possession and use of less 
than 370 TBq (10,000 curies) of 
radioactive material in sealed sources 
for irradiation of materials where the 
source is not removed from the shield 
(fee waived if facility holds 
additional irradiator license category) 

$3,000 

  H. License for possession and use of less 
than 370 TBq (10,000 curies) of 
radioactive material in sealed sources 
for irradiation of materials where the 
source is exposed for irradiation 
purposes.  The category also includes 
underwater irradiators for irradiation 
of materials in which the source is not 
exposed for irradiation 

$3,000 

  I. License for possession and use of at 
least 370 TBq (10,000 curies) and 
less than 3.7 PBq (100,000 curies) of 
radioactive material in sealed sources 
for irradiation of materials)  

$5,000 

  J. License for possession and use of 3.7 
PBq (100,000 curies) or more of 
radioactive material in sealed sources 
for irradiation of materials 

$15,000 

  K. License to distribute items containing 
radioactive materials to persons under 
a general license 

$2,000 

  L. License to possess radioactive 
materials intended for distribution to 
persons exempt from licensing 

$1,000 

  M. License of broad scope for research 
and development that does not 
authorize commercial distribution 

$7,500 

  N. Other licenses for research and 
development that do not authorize 
commercial distribution 

$1,500 

  O. License for installation, repair, 
maintenance or other service of 
devices or items containing 
radioactive material, excluding waste 
transportation or broker services 

$1,500 

  P. License for portable gauges $1,000 

  Q. License for portable X-ray 
fluorescence analyzer, dewpointer or 
gas chromatograph 

$250 

  R. Leak testing services $500 

  S. Instrument calibration services $1,000 

  T. Fixed gauges $1,000 

  U. All other byproduct, naturally 
occurring or accelerator-produced 
material licenses, except as otherwise 
noted 

$1,500 

4   Waste Processing   

  A. Commercial waste treatment 
facilities, including incineration 

$200,000 

  B. All other commercial facilities 
involving waste compaction, 
repackaging, storage or transfer 

$11,000 

  C. Waste processing - all other, 
including decontamination service 

$5,000 

5   Well Logging   

  A. License for well logging using sealed 
sources or subsurface tracer studies 

$3,000 

  B. License for well logging using sealed 
sources and subsurface tracer studies 

$4,000 

6   Nuclear Laundry   

  A. License for commercial collection 
and laundry of items contaminated 
with radioactive material 

$10,000 

7   Medical/Veterinary   

  A. License for human use of byproduct, 
source, special nuclear or NARM 
material in sealed sources contained 
in teletherapy or stereotactic 
radiosurgery devices, including 
mobile therapy 

$10,000 

  B. License of broad scope for human use 
of byproduct, source, special nuclear 
or NARM materials used in medical 
diagnosis, treatment, research and 
development (excluding teletherapy 
or stereotactic radiosurgery devices) 

$15,000 

  C. License for mobile nuclear medicine $2,000 

  D. Medical - all others, including SNM 
pacemakers and high dose rate 
remote afterloading devices 

$4,000 

  E. License for veterinary use of 
radioactive materials 

$2,000 

  F. In-vitro $1,000 
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8   Academic   

  A. License for possession and use of 
byproduct, naturally occurring or 
accelerator-produced radioactive 
material for educational use or 
academic research and development 
that does not authorize commercial 
distribution, excluding broad scope or 
human use licenses 

$1,000 

9   Accelerator   

  A. License for accelerator production of 
radioisotopes with commercial 
distribution 

$4,000 

  B. Accelerator isotope production - all 
other (fee waived if facility holds 
medical broad scope license with no 
commercial distribution) 

$2,000 

10   Reciprocity   

  A. Reciprocity recognition of an out-of-
state specific license 

50% of 
annual fee of 

applicable 
category 

11   Amendments   

  A. Request to amend specific license - 
no license review 

$0 

  B. Request to amend specific license - 
license review required 

$100 

  C. Request to terminate license $200 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-114; Filed June 2, 2008, 2:47 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-70. Methods and Standards 
for Establishing Payment Rates - Inpatient Hospital 
Services (amending 12VAC30-70-221). 

Statutory Authority: §§32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 23, 2008. 

Agency Contact: William Lessard, Provider Reimbursement, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804)225-4593, FAX (804)786-1680, or email 
william.lessard@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments provide that the definition of Medicaid 
days does not include any general assistance, Family 
Access to Medical Insurance Security (FAMIS), State and 
Local Hospitalization (SLH), charity care, low income, 

indigent care, uncompensated care, bad debt, or Medicare 
dually eligible days. Additionally, the amendments state 
that the definition of Medicaid days  does not include days 
for newborns not enrolled in Medicaid during the fiscal 
year even though the mother was Medicaid eligible during 
the birth. 

Changes from the proposed include clarifying the 
definition of Medicaid utilization percentage and adding a 
document incorporated by reference. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

Article 2  
Prospective (DRG-Based) Payment Methodology  

12VAC30-70-221. General.  

A. Effective July 1, 2000, the prospective (DRG-based) 
payment system described in this article shall apply to 
inpatient hospital services provided in enrolled general acute 
care hospitals, rehabilitation hospitals, and freestanding 
psychiatric facilities licensed as hospitals, unless otherwise 
noted.  

B. The following methodologies shall apply under the 
prospective payment system:  

1. As stipulated in 12VAC30-70-231, operating payments 
for DRG cases that are not transfer cases shall be 
determined on the basis of a hospital specific operating rate 
per case times relative weight of the DRG to which the 
case is assigned.  

2. As stipulated in 12VAC30-70-241, operating payments 
for per diem cases shall be determined on the basis of a 
hospital specific operating rate per day times the covered 
days for the case with the exception of payments for per 
diem cases in freestanding psychiatric facilities. Payments 
for per diem cases in freestanding psychiatric facilities 
licensed as hospitals shall be determined on the basis of a 
hospital specific rate per day that represents an all-
inclusive payment for operating and capital costs.  

3. As stipulated in 12VAC30-70-251, operating payments 
for transfer cases shall be determined as follows: (i) the 
transferring hospital shall receive an operating per diem 
payment, not to exceed the DRG operating payment that 
would have otherwise been made and (ii) the final 
discharging hospital shall receive the full DRG operating 
payment.  

4. As stipulated in 12VAC30-70-261, additional operating 
payments shall be made for outlier cases. These additional 
payments shall be added to the operating payments 
determined in subdivisions 1 and 3 of this subsection.  

5. As stipulated in 12VAC30-70-271, payments for capital 
costs shall be made on an allowable cost basis.  
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6. As stipulated in 12VAC30-70-281, payments for direct 
medical education costs of nursing schools and 
paramedical programs shall be made on an allowable cost 
basis. Payment for direct graduate medical education 
(GME) costs for interns and residents shall be made 
quarterly on a prospective basis, subject to cost settlement 
based on the number of full time equivalent (FTE) interns 
and residents as reported on the cost report.  

7. As stipulated in 12VAC30-70-291, payments for 
indirect medical education costs shall be made quarterly on 
a prospective basis.  

8. As stipulated in 12VAC30-70-301, payments to 
hospitals that qualify as disproportionate share hospitals 
shall be made quarterly on a prospective basis.  

C. The terms used in this article shall be defined as provided 
in this subsection:  

"Base year" means the state fiscal year for which data is 
used to establish the DRG relative weights, the hospital case-
mix indices, the base year standardized operating costs per 
case, and the base year standardized operating costs per day. 
The base year will change when the DRG payment system is 
rebased and recalibrated. In subsequent rebasing, the 
Commonwealth shall notify affected providers of the base 
year to be used in this calculation. In subsequent rebasings, 
the Commonwealth shall notify affected providers of the base 
year to be used in this calculation.  

"Base year standardized costs per case" reflects the 
statewide average hospital costs per discharge for DRG cases 
in the base year. The standardization process removes the 
effects of case-mix and regional variations in wages from the 
claims data and places all hospitals on a comparable basis.  

"Base year standardized costs per day" reflects the statewide 
average hospital costs per day for per diem cases in the base 
year. The standardization process removes the effects of 
regional variations in wages from the claims data and places 
all hospitals on a comparable basis. Base year standardized 
costs per day were calculated separately, but using the same 
calculation methodology, for the different types of per diem 
cases identified in this subsection under the definition of "per 
diem cases."  

"Cost" means allowable cost as defined in Supplement 3 
(12VAC30-70-10 through 12VAC30-70-130) and by 
Medicare principles of reimbursement.  

"Disproportionate share hospital" means a hospital that 
meets the following criteria:  

1. A Medicaid utilization rate in excess of 15%, or a low-
income patient utilization rate exceeding 25% (as defined in 
the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1987 and as 
amended by the Medicare Catastrophic Coverage Act of 
1988); and  

2. At least two obstetricians with staff privileges at the 
hospital who have agreed to provide obstetric services to 
individuals entitled to such services under a state Medicaid 
plan. In the case of a hospital located in a rural area (that is, 
an area outside of a Metropolitan Statistical Area as defined 
by the Executive Office of Management and Budget), the 
term "obstetrician" includes any physician with staff 
privileges at the hospital to perform nonemergency obstetric 
procedures.  

3. Subdivision 2 of this definition does not apply to a 
hospital:  

a. At which the inpatients are predominantly individuals 
under 18 years of age; or  

b. Which does not offer nonemergency obstetric services as 
of December 21, 1987.  

"DRG cases" means medical/surgical cases subject to 
payment on the basis of DRGs. DRG cases do not include per 
diem cases.  

"DRG relative weight" means the average standardized costs 
for cases assigned to that DRG divided by the average 
standardized costs for cases assigned to all DRGs.  

"Groupable cases" means DRG cases having coding data of 
sufficient quality to support DRG assignment.  

"Hospital case-mix index" means the weighted average 
DRG relative weight for all cases occurring at that hospital.  

"Medicaid utilization percentage" is equal to the hospital's 
total Medicaid inpatient days divided by the hospital's total 
inpatient days for a given hospital fiscal year. The Medicaid 
utilization percentage includes days associated with inpatient 
hospital services provided to Medicaid patients but 
reimbursed by capitated managed care providers. This 
definition includes all paid Medicaid days [ (from DMAS MR 
reports for fee-for-service days and managed care 
organization or hospital reports for HMO days) ] and 
nonpaid/denied Medicaid days to include medically 
unnecessary days, inappropriate level of care service days, 
and days that exceed any maximum day limits [ (with 
appropriate documentation) ]. The definition of Medicaid 
days does not include any general assistance, Family Access 
to Medical Insurance Security (FAMIS), State and Local 
Hospitalization (SLH), charity care, low-income, indigent 
care, uncompensated care, bad debt, or Medicare dually 
eligible days. It does not include days for newborns not 
enrolled in Medicaid during the fiscal year even though the 
mother was Medicaid eligible during the birth. 

"Medicare wage index" and the "Medicare geographic 
adjustment factor" are published annually in the Federal 
Register by the Health Care Financing Administration. The 
indices and factors used in this article shall be those in effect 
in the base year.  
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"Operating cost-to-charge ratio" equals the hospital's total 
operating costs, less any applicable operating costs for a 
psychiatric DPU, divided by the hospital's total charges, less 
any applicable charges for a psychiatric DPU. The operating 
cost-to-charge ratio shall be calculated using data from cost 
reports from hospital fiscal years ending in the state fiscal 
year used as the base year.  

"Outlier adjustment factor" means a fixed factor published 
annually in the Federal Register by the Health Care Financing 
Administration. The factor used in this article shall be the one 
in effect in the base year.  

"Outlier cases" means those DRG cases, including transfer 
cases, in which the hospital's adjusted operating cost for the 
case exceeds the hospital's operating outlier threshold for the 
case.  

"Outlier operating fixed loss threshold" means a fixed dollar 
amount applicable to all hospitals that shall be calculated in 
the base year so as to result in an expenditure for outliers 
operating payments equal to 5.1% of total operating payments 
for DRG cases. The threshold shall be updated in subsequent 
years using the same inflation values applied to hospital rates.  

"Per diem cases" means cases subject to per diem payment 
and include (i) covered psychiatric cases in general acute care 
hospitals and distinct part units (DPUs) of general acute care 
hospitals (hereinafter "acute care psychiatric cases"), (ii) 
covered psychiatric cases in freestanding psychiatric facilities 
licensed as hospitals (hereinafter "freestanding psychiatric 
cases"), and (iii) rehabilitation cases in general acute care 
hospitals and rehabilitation hospitals (hereinafter 
"rehabilitation cases").  

"Psychiatric cases" means cases with a principal diagnosis 
that is a mental disorder as specified in the ICD-9-CM. Not 
all mental disorders are covered. For coverage information, 
see Amount, Duration, and Scope of Services, Supplement 1 
to Attachment 3.1 A & B (12VAC30-50-95 through 
12VAC30-50-310). The limit of coverage of 21 days in a 60-
day period for the same or similar diagnosis shall continue to 
apply to adult psychiatric cases.  

"Psychiatric operating cost-to-charge ratio" for the 
psychiatric DPU of a general acute care hospital means the 
hospital's operating costs for a psychiatric DPU divided by 
the hospital's charges for a psychiatric DPU. In the base year, 
this ratio shall be calculated as described in the definition of 
"operating cost-to-charge ratio" in this subsection, using data 
from psychiatric DPUs.  

"Readmissions" occur when patients are readmitted to the 
same hospital for the same or a similar diagnosis within five 
days of discharge. Such cases shall be considered a 
continuation of the same stay and shall not be treated as a 
new case. Similar diagnoses shall be defined as ICD-9-CM 
diagnosis codes possessing the same first three digits.  

"Rehabilitation operating cost-to-charge ratio" for a 
rehabilitation unit or hospital means the provider's operating 
costs divided by the provider's charges. In the base year, this 
ratio shall be calculated as described in the definition of 
"operating cost-to-charge ratio" in this subsection, using data 
from rehabilitation units or hospitals.  

"Statewide average labor portion of operating costs" means 
a fixed percentage applicable to all hospitals. The percentage 
shall be periodically revised using the most recent reliable 
data from the Virginia Health Information (VHI), or its 
successor.  

"Transfer cases" means DRG cases involving patients (i) 
who are transferred from one general acute care hospital to 
another for related care or (ii) who are discharged from one 
general acute care hospital and admitted to another for the 
same or a similar diagnosis within five days of that discharge. 
Similar diagnoses shall be defined as ICD-9-CM diagnosis 
codes possessing the same first three digits.  

"Type One" hospitals means those hospitals that were state-
owned teaching hospitals on January 1, 1996. "Type Two" 
hospitals means all other hospitals.  

"Ungroupable cases" means cases assigned to DRG 469 
(principal diagnosis invalid as discharge diagnosis) and DRG 
470 (ungroupable) as determined by the AP-DRG Grouper.  

D. The All Patient Diagnosis Related Groups (AP-DRG) 
Grouper shall be used in the DRG payment system. Until 
notification of a change is given, Version 14.0 of this grouper 
shall be used. DMAS shall notify hospitals when updating the 
system to later grouper versions.  

E. The primary data sources used in the development of the 
DRG payment methodology were the department's hospital 
computerized claims history file and the cost report file. The 
claims history file captures available claims data from all 
enrolled, cost-reporting general acute care hospitals, 
including Type One hospitals. The cost report file captures 
audited cost and charge data from all enrolled general acute 
care hospitals, including Type One hospitals. The following 
table identifies key data elements that were used to develop 
the DRG payment methodology and that will be used when 
the system is recalibrated and rebased.  

Data Elements for DRG Payment Methodology 

Data Elements Source 

Total charges for each groupable case Claims history 
file 

Number of groupable cases in each 
DRG 

Claims history 
file 

Total number of groupable cases Claims history 
file 
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Total charges for each DRG case Claims history 
file 

Total number of DRG cases Claims history 
file 

Total charges for each acute care 
psychiatric case 

Claims history 
file 

Total number of acute care 
psychiatric days for each acute care 
hospital 

Claims history 
file 

Total charges for each freestanding 
psychiatric case 

Medicare cost 
reports 

Total number of psychiatric days for 
each freestanding psychiatric hospital 

Medicare cost 
reports 

Total charges for each rehabilitation 
case 

Claims history 
file 

Total number of rehabilitation days 
for each acute care and freestanding 
rehabilitation hospital 

Claims history 
file 

Operating cost-to-charge ratio for 
each hospital Cost report file 

Operating cost-to-charge ratio for 
each freestanding psychiatric facility 
licensed as a hospital 

Medicare cost 
reports 

Psychiatric operating cost-to-charge 
ratio for the psychiatric DPU of each 
general acute care hospital Cost report file 

Rehabilitation cost-to-charge ratio for 
each rehabilitation unit or hospital Cost report file 

Statewide average labor portion of 
operating costs VHI 

Medicare wage index for each 
hospital Federal Register 

Medicare geographic adjustment 
factor for each hospital Federal Register 

Outlier operating fixed loss threshold Claims history 
file 

Outlier adjustment factor Federal Register 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE  

All Patient Diagnosis Related Groups (AP-DRG) Grouper, 
DRG and MDC Code Listings, Version 12, January 1995.  

Health Care Cost Review, Second Quarter 2000, copyright 
2001, DRI-WEFA, Inc.  

[ International Classification of Diseases (ICD-9-CM), 
Physician, Volumes 1 and 2, American Medical Association, 
2007. ]  

VA.R. Doc. No. R06-317; Filed May 27, 2008, 3:24 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards 
for Establishing Payment Rates; Other Types of Care 
(amending 12VAC30-80-30, 12VAC30-80-75). 

Statutory Authority: §§32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 23, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Mike Lupien, Provider Reimbursement 
Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 
East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23238, telephone 
(804)786-3673, FAX (804)786-1680, or email 
michael.lupien@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments change reimbursement for school 
divisions from statewide fee-for-service to a cost settlement 
process. School division providers shall file annual cost 
reports for these services and the department shall settle 
reimbursement to actual costs.  Reimbursement to school 
divisions shall continue to be subject to the provisions of 
§32.1-326.3 A 1 of the Code of Virginia that only the 
federal share shall be reimbursed for special education 
health services and that local governments fund the state 
match for special education health services provided by 
school divisions.  This reimbursement methodology change 
is required by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services (CMS), the federal funding agency for the 
Medicaid program. 

The changes made to the text between the proposed and 
final regulation stipulate that in order for the Local 
Education Agency providers to be reimbursed by DMAS, 
they must provide the services now listed in 12VAC30-80-
75 A. The reimbursement method provides that the first 
rate year costs will be reported on a cash basis and for the 
subsequent years on an accrual basis under this 
methodology. There were numerous other clarifying 
changes based upon review of the regulation language by 
the CMS. Without the changes noted, CMS would not have 
approved the underlying state plan amendment providing 
the federal financial participation for the Medicaid School 
Health Services described in the regulation. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

12VAC30-80-30. Fee-for-service providers.  

A. Payment for the following services, except for physician 
services, shall be the lower of the state agency fee schedule 
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(12VAC30-80-190 has information about the state agency fee 
schedule) or actual charge (charge to the general public): 

1. Physicians' services (12VAC30-80-160 has 
obstetric/pediatric fees). Payment for physician services 
shall be the lower of the state agency fee schedule or actual 
charge (charge to the general public), except that 
reimbursement rates for designated physician services 
when performed in hospital outpatient settings shall be 
50% of the reimbursement rate established for those 
services when performed in a physician's office. The 
following limitations shall apply to emergency physician 
services. 

a. Definitions. The following words and terms, when 
used in this subdivision 1 shall have the following 
meanings when applied to emergency services unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"All-inclusive" means all emergency service and 
ancillary service charges claimed in association with the 
emergency department visit, with the exception of 
laboratory services. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services consistent with Chapter 10 (§32.1-323 et seq.) 
of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Emergency physician services" means services that are 
necessary to prevent the death or serious impairment of 
the health of the recipient. The threat to the life or health 
of the recipient necessitates the use of the most 
accessible hospital available that is equipped to furnish 
the services. 

"Recent injury" means an injury that has occurred less 
than 72 hours prior to the emergency department visit. 

b. Scope. DMAS shall differentiate, as determined by the 
attending physician's diagnosis, the kinds of care 
routinely rendered in emergency departments and 
reimburse physicians for nonemergency care rendered in 
emergency departments at a reduced rate. 

(1) DMAS shall reimburse at a reduced and all-inclusive 
reimbursement rate for all physician services, including 
those obstetric and pediatric procedures contained in 
12VAC30-80-160, rendered in emergency departments 
that DMAS determines are nonemergency care. 

(2) Services determined by the attending physician to be 
emergencies shall be reimbursed under the existing 
methodologies and at the existing rates. 

(3) Services determined by the attending physician that 
may be emergencies shall be manually reviewed. If such 
services meet certain criteria, they shall be paid under the 
methodology in subdivision 1 b (2) of this subsection. 
Services not meeting certain criteria shall be paid under 

the methodology in subdivision 1 b (1) of this subsection. 
Such criteria shall include, but not be limited to: 

(a) The initial treatment following a recent obvious 
injury. 

(b) Treatment related to an injury sustained more than 72 
hours prior to the visit with the deterioration of the 
symptoms to the point of requiring medical treatment for 
stabilization. 

(c) The initial treatment for medical emergencies 
including indications of severe chest pain, dyspnea, 
gastrointestinal hemorrhage, spontaneous abortion, loss 
of consciousness, status epilepticus, or other conditions 
considered life threatening. 

(d) A visit in which the recipient's condition requires 
immediate hospital admission or the transfer to another 
facility for further treatment or a visit in which the 
recipient dies. 

(e) Services provided for acute vital sign changes as 
specified in the provider manual. 

(f) Services provided for severe pain when combined 
with one or more of the other guidelines. 

(4) Payment shall be determined based on ICD-9-CM 
diagnosis codes and necessary supporting documentation. 

(5) DMAS shall review on an ongoing basis the 
effectiveness of this program in achieving its objectives 
and for its effect on recipients, physicians, and hospitals. 
Program components may be revised subject to achieving 
program intent objectives, the accuracy and effectiveness 
of the ICD-9-CM code designations, and the impact on 
recipients and providers. 

2. Dentists' services. 

3. Mental health services including: (i) community mental 
health services; (ii) services of a licensed clinical 
psychologist; or (iii) mental health services provided by a 
physician. 

a. Services provided by licensed clinical psychologists 
shall be reimbursed at 90% of the reimbursement rate for 
psychiatrists. 

b. Services provided by independently enrolled licensed 
clinical social workers, licensed professional counselors 
or licensed clinical nurse specialists-psychiatric shall be 
reimbursed at 75% of the reimbursement rate for licensed 
clinical psychologists. 

4. Podiatry. 

5. Nurse-midwife services. 

6. Durable medical equipment (DME). 
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a. For those items that have a national Healthcare 
Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) code, the 
rate for durable medical equipment shall be set at the 
Durable Medical Equipment Regional Carrier (DMERC) 
reimbursement level. 

b. The rate paid for all items of durable medical 
equipment except nutritional supplements shall be the 
lower of the state agency fee schedule that existed prior 
to July 1, 1996, less 4.5%, or the actual charge. 

c. The rate paid for nutritional supplements shall be the 
lower of the state agency fee schedule or the actual 
charge. 

d. Certain durable medical equipment used for 
intravenous therapy and oxygen therapy shall be bundled 
under specified procedure codes and reimbursed as 
determined by the agency. Certain services/durable 
medical equipment such as service maintenance 
agreements shall be bundled under specified procedure 
codes and reimbursed as determined by the agency. 

(1) Intravenous therapies. The DME for a single therapy, 
administered in one day, shall be reimbursed at the 
established service day rate for the bundled durable 
medical equipment and the standard pharmacy payment, 
consistent with the ingredient cost as described in 
12VAC30-80-40, plus the pharmacy service day and 
dispensing fee. Multiple applications of the same therapy 
shall be included in one service day rate of 
reimbursement. Multiple applications of different 
therapies administered in one day shall be reimbursed for 
the bundled durable medical equipment service day rate 
as follows: the most expensive therapy shall be 
reimbursed at 100% of cost; the second and all 
subsequent most expensive therapies shall be reimbursed 
at 50% of cost. Multiple therapies administered in one 
day shall be reimbursed at the pharmacy service day rate 
plus 100% of every active therapeutic ingredient in the 
compound (at the lowest ingredient cost methodology) 
plus the appropriate pharmacy dispensing fee. 

(2) Respiratory therapies. The DME for oxygen therapy 
shall have supplies or components bundled under a 
service day rate based on oxygen liter flow rate or blood 
gas levels. Equipment associated with respiratory therapy 
may have ancillary components bundled with the main 
component for reimbursement. The reimbursement shall 
be a service day per diem rate for rental of equipment or 
a total amount of purchase for the purchase of equipment. 
Such respiratory equipment shall include, but not be 
limited to, oxygen tanks and tubing, ventilators, 
noncontinuous ventilators, and suction machines. 
Ventilators, noncontinuous ventilators, and suction 
machines may be purchased based on the individual 
patient's medical necessity and length of need. 

(3) Service maintenance agreements. Provision shall be 
made for a combination of services, routine maintenance, 
and supplies, to be known as agreements, under a single 
reimbursement code only for equipment that is recipient 
owned. Such bundled agreements shall be reimbursed 
either monthly or in units per year based on the 
individual agreement between the DME provider and 
DMAS. Such bundled agreements may apply to, but not 
necessarily be limited to, either respiratory equipment or 
apnea monitors. 

7. Local health services, including services paid to local 
school districts. 

8. Laboratory services (other than inpatient hospital). 

9. Payments to physicians who handle laboratory 
specimens, but do not perform laboratory analysis (limited 
to payment for handling). 

10. X-Ray services. 

11. Optometry services. 

12. Medical supplies and equipment. 

13. Home health services. Effective June 30, 1991, cost 
reimbursement for home health services is eliminated. A 
rate per visit by discipline shall be established as set forth 
by 12VAC30-80-180. 

14. Physical therapy; occupational therapy; and speech, 
hearing, language disorders services when rendered to 
noninstitutionalized recipients. 

15. Clinic services, as defined under 42 CFR 440.90. 

16. Supplemental payments for services provided by Type 
I physicians. 

a. In addition to payments for physician services 
specified elsewhere in this State Plan, DMAS provides 
supplemental payments to Type I physicians for 
furnished services provided on or after July 2, 2002. A 
Type I physician is a member of a practice group 
organized by or under the control of a state academic 
health system or an academic health system that operates 
under a state authority and includes a hospital, who has 
entered into contractual agreements for the assignment of 
payments in accordance with 42 CFR 447.10. 

b. Effective July 2, 2002, the supplemental payment 
amount for Type I physician services shall be the 
difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise 
made for Type I physician services and Medicare rates. 
Effective August 13, 2002, the supplemental payment 
amount for Type I physician services shall be the 
difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise 
made for physician services and 143% of Medicare rates. 
This percentage was determined by dividing the total 
commercial allowed amounts for Type I physicians for at 
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least the top five commercial insurers in CY 2004 by 
what Medicare would have allowed. The average 
commercial allowed amount was determined by 
multiplying the relative value units times the conversion 
factor for RBRVS procedures and by multiplying the unit 
cost times anesthesia units for anesthesia procedures for 
each insurer and practice group with Type I physicians 
and summing for all insurers and practice groups. The 
Medicare equivalent amount was determined by 
multiplying the total commercial relative value units for 
Type I physicians times the Medicare conversion factor 
for RBRVS procedures and by multiplying the Medicare 
unit cost times total commercial anesthesia units for 
anesthesia procedures for all Type I physicians and 
summing.  

c. Supplemental payments shall be made quarterly. 

d. Payment will not be made to the extent that this would 
duplicate payments based on physician costs covered by 
the supplemental payments. 

17. Supplemental payments to nonstate government-owned 
or operated clinics.  

a. In addition to payments for clinic services specified 
elsewhere in the regulations, DMAS provides 
supplemental payments to qualifying nonstate 
government-owned or operated clinics for outpatient 
services provided to Medicaid patients on or after July 2, 
2002. Clinic means a facility that is not part of a hospital 
but is organized and operated to provide medical care to 
outpatients. Outpatient services include those furnished 
by or under the direction of a physician, dentist or other 
medical professional acting within the scope of his 
license to an eligible individual. Effective July 1, 2005, a 
qualifying clinic is a clinic operated by a community 
services board. The state share for supplemental clinic 
payments will be funded by general fund appropriations.  

b. The amount of the supplemental payment made to 
each qualifying nonstate government-owned or operated 
clinic is determined by:  

(1) Calculating for each clinic the annual difference 
between the upper payment limit attributed to each clinic 
according to subdivision 17 d and the amount otherwise 
actually paid for the services by the Medicaid program;  

(2) Dividing the difference determined in subdivision 17 
b (1) for each qualifying clinic by the aggregate 
difference for all such qualifying clinics; and  

(3) Multiplying the proportion determined in subdivision 
(2) of this subdivision 17 b by the aggregate upper 
payment limit amount for all such clinics as determined 
in accordance with 42 CFR 447.321 less all payments 
made to such clinics other than under this section.  

c. Payments for furnished services made under this 
section may be made in one or more installments at such 
times, within the fiscal year or thereafter, as is 
determined by DMAS.  

d. To determine the aggregate upper payment limit 
referred to in subdivision 17 b (3), Medicaid payments to 
nonstate government-owned or operated clinics will be 
divided by the "additional factor" whose calculation is 
described in Attachment 4.19-B, Supplement 4 
(12VAC30-80-190 B 2) in regard to the state agency fee 
schedule for RBRVS. Medicaid payments will be 
estimated using payments for dates of service from the 
prior fiscal year adjusted for expected claim payments. 
Additional adjustments will be made for any program 
changes in Medicare or Medicaid payments.  

B. Hospice services payments must be no lower than the 
amounts using the same methodology used under Part A of 
Title XVIII, and take into account the room and board 
furnished by the facility, equal to at least 95% of the rate that 
would have been paid by the state under the plan for facility 
services in that facility for that individual. Hospice services 
shall be paid according to the location of the service delivery 
and not the location of the agency's home office. 

12VAC30-80-75. Local Education Agency (LEA) 
providers. 

A. Definitions. The following words are terms when used in 
this section shall have the following meanings unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"CMS" means Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. 

"DMAS" means Department of Medical Assistance 
Services. 

"FAMIS" means Family Access to Medical Insurance 
Security Plan. 

"FFP" means Federal Financial Participation. 

"IDEA" means Individuals with Disabilities Education Act. 

"IEP" means Individual Education Plan. 

"LEA" means Local Education Agency. 

"MMIS" means Medicaid Management Information System. 

[ B. Effective for services on or after July 1, 2006, the 
following methodology will determine the reimbursement for 
Local Education Agency (LEA) providers. The methodology 
described below applies to reimbursement for the following 
services delivered by LEA providers. These services are 
described in 12VAC30-50-135. 

1. Speech therapy; 

2. Audiology and hearing services; 

3. Physician services for medical evaluation services; 
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4. Occupational therapy; 

5. Physical therapy; 

6. Psychiatric and psychological services; 

7. Personal care services; 

8. Skilled nursing services; and 

9. Special transportation. ]  

[ B. C. ] Medical services provided by LEA providers for 
special education students. The following methodology will 
determine the reimbursement for (LEA) providers. 

1. For each of the IDEA-related school-based medical 
services covered under the State Plan other than 
specialized transportation services, the LEA provider's 
actual cost of providing the services shall be certified and 
the FFP shall be paid to LEA providers based on the 
methodology described in subdivisions 2 through 7 of this 
subsection. [ For the rate year ending June 30, 2007, cost 
will be reported on a cash basis; for all succeeding years 
cost will be reported on an accrual basis. ] All costs to be 
certified and used subsequently to determine reconciliation 
and final settlement amounts as well as interim rates are 
identified on the CMS-approved Medical Services Cost 
Report. Final payment for each school year is based on 
actual costs as determined by desk review [ or and/or ] 
audit for each LEA provider. 

2. Step 1: Develop the personnel cost base for medical 
services. Total [ annual ] salaries and benefits paid as well 
as contracted (vendor) payments shall be obtained initially 
from each LEA's payroll/benefits and financial system [ for 
each quarter of the fiscal year ]. This data shall be reported 
on the DMAS Medical Services Cost Report form for all 
direct service personnel (i.e., all personnel providing 
medical services covered under the State Plan). [ Personnel 
Total computable personnel ] costs are reduced by any 
reimbursement that is not from state or local funding 
sources. The personnel cost base does not include any 
amounts for staff whose compensation is 100% reimbursed 
by a funding source other than state or local funds. The 
application of Step 1 results in total adjusted salary cost.  

3. Step 2: Determine medical services personnel cost using 
a time study. A time study that incorporates the CMS-
approved time study methodology shall be used to 
determine the percentage of time medical service personnel 
spend on [ IEP-related ] medical services and general and 
administrative (G&A) time. This time study shall assure 
that there shall be no duplicate claiming relative to 
claiming for administrative costs [ and no more than 100% 
of practitioner time is reported ]. G&A time shall be 
allocated to medical services based on the percentage of 
time spent on medical services. To reallocate G&A time to 
medical services, the percentage of time spent on medical 
services shall be divided by 100% minus the percentage of 

time spent on G&A. This shall result in a percentage that 
represents the medical services with appropriate allocation 
of G&A. This percentage [ , which shall be determined 
quarterly, ] shall be multiplied by the personnel cost base 
as determined in Step 1 to allocate personnel cost to 
medical services. The product represents medical services 
personnel cost [ for all payers and not just Medicaid ]. A 
sufficient number of medical service personnel shall be 
sampled to ensure time study results that will have a 
confidence level of at least 95% with a precision of plus or 
minus 5.0% overall. [ The time study is CMS-approved 
and may not be modified unless prior approval is received 
from CMS. Quarterly personnel costs are summed for the 
fiscal year and reported on the DMAS Medical Services 
Cost Report.  

For claims submitted after the effective date of July 1, 
2006, and prior to the implementation of the CMS-
approved time study only, cost will be identified in 
accordance with a methodology developed by the 
department and approved by CMS that utilizes the 
quarterly results of the prospectively approved time study 
and applies them to the prior period claims. ]  

4. Step 3: Develop medical services nonpersonnel costs. 
[ Costs for materials and supplies, employee travel, and 
capital used in the delivery of medical services 
Nonpersonnel costs used in the delivery of medical 
services, detailed as line items on the CMS-approved cost 
report, ] shall be obtained from each LEA's financial 
system. Capital costs must [ be equal to or ] exceed $5,000 
and have a useful life greater than two years. The straight 
line method of depreciation is used for capital costs. 
 [ Nonpersonnel Total computable nonpersonnel ] costs 
shall be reduced by any reimbursement that is not from 
state or local funding sources. 

5. Step 4: Determine indirect costs. Indirect costs shall be 
determined by multiplying each LEA's [ unrestricted ] 
indirect rate assigned by the cognizant agency (the 
Department of Education) by total direct costs as 
determined under Steps 2 and 3. No additional indirect 
costs shall be recognized outside of the indirect costs 
determined by Step 4.  

6. Step 5: Total medical services costs. Total medical 
services costs shall be determined by adding costs from 
Steps 2, 3 and 4.  

7. Step 6: Allocate total medical services costs to 
Medicaid, Medicaid expansion and FAMIS. To determine 
the Medicaid, Medicaid expansion, and FAMIS medical 
services costs to be certified, total medical services costs 
shall be multiplied by the ratios of Medicaid, Medicaid 
expansion and FAMIS recipients with an IEP to all 
students with an IEP. 
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[ C. D. ] Special transportation services provided by LEA 
providers for special education students. 

1. The participating LEA's actual cost of providing special 
transportation services shall be claimed for Medicaid FFP 
based on the methodology described in subdivisions 2 
through 6 of this subsection. Special transportation refers 
to transportation on buses modified and dedicated for 
special education. All costs to be certified and used 
subsequently to determine the reconciliation and final 
settlement amounts as well as interim rates shall be 
identified on the CMS-approved Special Transportation 
Cost Report. Final payment for each school year shall be 
based on actual costs as determined by desk review or 
audit for each LEA provider. 

2. Step 1: Develop special transportation nonpersonnel 
costs. The costs for special transportation [ includes ] fuel, 
repairs and maintenance, rentals, contract vehicle use costs, 
[ insurance and other costs as approved by CMS ] and 
[ capital ] shall be obtained from the LEA's [ accounts 
payable system general ledger ] and reported on the 
Special Transportation Cost Report form. Nonpersonnel 
costs shall be reduced by any reimbursement that is not 
from state or local funding sources. [ All costs shall be 
reported on an accrual basis. ]  

3. Step 2: Develop special transportation personnel costs. 
Total annual salaries and benefits paid as well as contract 
costs (vendor payments) for special transportation services 
shall be obtained from each LEA's payroll/benefits and 
financial systems. This data shall be reported on the 
Special Transportation Cost Report form for all direct 
service personnel. [ The included personnel are specified 
on the approved CMS cost report.  

To the extent that any allowed cost for transportation is 
reported as shared between regular and specialized 
transportation, there must be an allocation of cost between 
the programs. For example, a mechanic may work on buses 
for both programs but his salary may not be reported as 
such in the accounting records. In these instances, the 
provider should allocate cost using the ratio of specialized 
buses/vehicles owned by the provider to total regular 
transportation buses/vehicles owned by the provider. ] 

4. Step 3: Determine indirect costs. Indirect cost shall be 
determined by multiplying each LEA's unrestricted indirect 
rate assigned by the cognizant agency (the Department of 
Education) by total special transportation costs as 
determined under Steps 1 and 2. No additional indirect 
costs shall be recognized outside of the indirect costs 
determined by Step 3.  

5. Step 4: Total special transportation costs. Total special 
transportation services costs shall be determined by adding 
costs from Steps 1, 2 and 3. 

6. Step 5: Allocate total special transportation services cost 
to Medicaid, Medicaid expansion, and FAMIS. Special 
transportation drivers or other school personnel shall 
maintain logs of all students transported on each one-way 
trip. These logs shall be used to calculate reimbursable 
percentages for Medicaid, Medicaid expansion and 
FAMIS. The denominator shall be the total annual one-
way trips on special buses. The numerator shall be 
Medicaid, Medicaid expansion or FAMIS special 
transportation one-way trips. To qualify as a special 
transportation trip, the student must be eligible for 
Medicaid, Medicaid expansion or FAMIS; transportation 
must be included in the IEP; and the student must have 
received a covered medical service on the day of the 
special transportation. To allocate special transportation 
costs to Medicaid, Medicaid expansion and FAMIS, total 
special transportation cost as determined under Step 4 shall 
be multiplied by the reimbursable percentages described 
above. 

[ D. E. ] Reconciliation of the [ federal share of LEA-
certified costs and MMIS paid claims total computable 
interim payment for medical costs to total incurred cost ]. 

1. Each LEA provider will complete the Medical Services 
and Special Transportation Cost [ Reports reports ] and 
submit the cost reports no later than five months after the 
end of the LEA's fiscal year. All cost reports shall be 
reviewed and [ the total certified expenditures shall be 
initially settled reconciled to final costs ] within 180 days 
[ (11 months from the end of the rate year) ] of the receipt 
of a completed cost report [ based on a desk review by the 
agency's audit contractor ]. DMAS may conduct additional 
desk or field audits up to two years after the fiscal year-end 
based on risk assessment developed by DMAS. LEA 
providers may appeal audit findings in accordance with 
DMAS appeal procedures.  

2. [ The agency's audit contractor shall reconcile the FFP 
from the Medical Services and Special Transportation Cost 
Reports against the MMIS paid claims data and ] DMAS 
shall issue a [ settlement ] notice [ of at the time of the ] 
reconciliation that denotes the amount due to or from the 
LEA provider. This reconciliation shall be inclusive of 
both medical services and special transportation services 
provided by the LEA provider. [ The state will settle with 
each provider, using one of the methods described below 
for either under- or overpayment associated with school-
based services. Settlement will be limited to recovery or 
payment of only the federal financial participation 
associated with total computable cost. ]  

a. If the interim payments exceed the FFP of the certified 
costs of an LEA's Medicaid, Medicaid expansion or 
FAMIS services, DMAS shall recoup the overpayment in 
one of the following methods: 
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(1) Offset all future claim payments from the affected 
LEA until the amount of the overpayment is recovered;  

(2) Recoup an agreed upon percentage from future claims 
payments to the LEA to ensure recovery of the 
overpayment within one year; or  

(3) Recoup an agreed upon dollar amount from future 
claims payments to the LEA to ensure recovery of the 
overpayment within one year. 

b. If the FFP of the certified costs exceed interim 
payments, DMAS shall pay the difference to the LEA 
provider.  

[ E. F. ] Interim rates. At the end of each settlement, interim 
rates for each LEA provider shall be determined by dividing 
total medical services cost and special transportation services 
cost by an estimate of the number of units of service. For the 
initial interim rates or for new providers, interim rates shall be 
based on pro forma cost data. Interim rates shall be 
provisional in nature pending completion of the cost report. 

[ F. G. ] Billing. Each LEA provider shall submit claims in 
accordance with the school division manual and shall be paid 
an interim rate for approved claims.  

[ G. H. ] State monitoring. If DMAS becomes aware of 
potential instances of fraud, misuse or abuse of services and 
funds, it shall perform timely audits and investigations to 
identify and take the necessary actions to remedy and resolve 
the problems.  

[ H. I. ] Other services.  [ Other covered services provided to 
Medicaid, Medicaid expansion, and FAMIS recipients 
EPSDT well child screenings provided to Medicaid, Medicaid 
expansion, and FAMIS recipients and described in 
12VAC30-50-130 ] shall be reimbursed according to the 
agency fee schedule for all providers. These costs shall not be 
[ included on reimbursed through ] the cost report. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering 12VAC30-80, 
Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates: 
Other Types of Care, are not being published; however, the 
name of each form is listed below. The forms are available 
for public inspection at the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services, 600 East Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at 
the office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly 
Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS 

Pharmacy Claim Form (3/96).  

[ CMS Noninstitutional Services Cost Report Certification 
Statement (10/07). ]  

Compound Prescription Pharmacy Claim Form (3/96).  

I.V. Therapy Implementation Form, DMAS-354 (eff. 6/98).  

Questionnaire to Assess an Applicant's Ability to 
Independently Manage Personal Attendant Services in the 
CD-PAS Waiver or DD Waiver, DMAS-95 Addendum (eff. 
8/00).  

DD Waiver Enrollment Request, DMAS-453 (eff. 1/01).  

DD Waiver Consumer Service Plan, DMAS-456 (eff. 1/01).  

DD Medicaid Waiver -- Level of Functioning Survey -- 
Summary Sheet, DMAS-458 (eff. 1/01).  

Documentation of Recipient Choice between Institutional 
Care or Home and Community-Based Services (eff. 8/00).  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE  

Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence 
Evaluations, 25th Edition, 2005, U.S. Department of Health 
and Human Services.  

[ Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS), 
National Level II Codes, 2001, Medicode. 

International Classification of Diseases, ICD-9-CM 2007, 
Physician, Volumes 1 and 2, 9th Revision-Clinical 
Modification, American Medical Association. ]  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-50; Filed May 27, 2008, 3:24 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Nursing has claimed 
an exemption from the Administrative Process Act in 
accordance with §2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to 
changes in Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act 
where no agency discretion is involved. The Board of 
Nursing will receive, consider and respond to petitions by any 
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 
or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Nursing (amending 18VAC90-20-271). 

Statutory Authority: §54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 23, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 
Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-
4515, FAX (804) 527-4455, or email 
jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 
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Summary: 

Chapter 674 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly amended 
§54.1-3001 of the Code of Virginia, which sets out 
exemptions for which the requirement for licensure as a 
nurse does not apply. The legislation deleted the 
requirement that the volunteer, nonprofit organization 
have no paid employees and the requirement that it 
sponsor health care to populations of underserved people 
throughout the world. It also changed the requirement 
that the board be notified of the dates and location of 
services from 15 days to five business days. The 
regulations are amended accordingly. 

18VAC90-20-271. Registration for voluntary practice by 
out-of-state licensees.  

Any licensed nurse who does not hold a license to practice 
in Virginia and who seeks registration to practice on a 
voluntary basis under the auspices of a publicly supported, all 
volunteer, nonprofit organization with no paid employees that 
sponsors the provision of health care to populations of 
underserved people throughout the world shall:  

1. File a complete application for registration on a form 
provided by the board at least 15 five business days prior 
to engaging in such practice. An incomplete application 
will not be considered;  

2. Provide a complete record of professional licensure in 
each state in which he has held a license and a copy of 
every current license;  

3. Provide the name of the nonprofit organization, the dates 
and location of the voluntary provision of services;  

4. Pay a registration fee of $10; and  

5. Provide a notarized statement from a representative of 
the nonprofit organization attesting to its compliance with 
provisions of subdivision 11 of §54.1-3001 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1257; Filed May 27, 2008, 8:57 a.m.  

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Veterinary Medicine 
has claimed an exemption from the Administrative Process 
Act in accordance with §2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of 
Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 
appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 
Board of Veterinary Medicine will receive, consider and 
respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 
respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC150-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Veterinary Medicine (amending 
18VAC150-20-135). 

Statutory Authority: §54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 23, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Elizabeth Carter, Executive Director, 
Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 662-4426, 
FAX (804) 527-4471, or email 
elizabeth.carter@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Chapter 674 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly amended 
§54.1-3801 of the Code of Virginia, which sets out 
exemptions for which the requirement for licensure as a 
veterinarian does not apply. The legislation deleted the 
requirement that the volunteer, nonprofit organization 
have no paid employees and the requirement that it 
sponsor health care to populations of underserved people 
throughout the world. It also changed the requirement 
that the board be notified of the dates and location of 
services from 15 days to five business days. The 
regulations are amended accordingly. 

18VAC150-20-135. Voluntary practice by out-of-state 
practitioners. 

Any veterinarian who seeks registration to practice on a 
voluntary basis under the auspices of a publicly supported all 
volunteer, nonprofit organization with no paid employees that 
sponsors the provision of health care to populations of 
underserved people throughout the world shall:  

1. File a complete application for registration on a form 
provided by the board at least 15 five business days prior 
to engaging in such practice. An incomplete application 
will not be considered;  

2. Provide a complete record of professional licensure in 
each state in which he has held a license and a copy of 
every current license;  

3. Provide the name of the nonprofit organization, the dates 
and location of the voluntary provision of services;  

4. Pay a registration fee of $10; and  

5. Provide a notarized statement from a representative of 
the nonprofit organization attesting to its compliance with 
provisions of subdivision 4 of §54.1-3801 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1256; Filed May 27, 2008, 8:58 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 21. SECURITIES AND RETAIL 
FRANCHISING 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with §2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 
of the powers of a court of record. 

Titles of Regulations: 21VAC5-20. Broker-Dealers, 
Broker-Dealer Agents and Agents of the Issuer (amending 
21VAC5-20-280). 

21VAC5-80. Investment Advisors (amending 21VAC5-80-
10, 21VAC5-80-200). 

Statutory Authority: §§12.1-13, 13.1-523 and 13.1-523.1 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Don Gouldin, Deputy Director, Division of 
Securities, State Corporation Commission, Tyler Building, 
9th Floor, P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 371-9755, FAX (804) 371-9911, or email 
don.gouldin@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) make available to the public all 
registration information with regard to investment 
advisors by requiring electronic filing of two additional 
pieces of the current form used by investment advisors to 
register with the federal Securities and Exchange 
Commission and the state regulatory authorities, and (ii) 
address identified abusive practices that affect senior 
citizens and retirees by adding language to the unethical 
practices sections of the investment advisor regulations 
and to the prohibited business conduct sections of the 
broker-dealer securities rules to prevent the use of 
misleading certifications or designations. 

Changes from the proposed regulations include 
clarifying that designations and certifications primarily 
for sales and marketing are disallowed and providing 
blanket exclusion for advanced degrees offered by 
regionally accredited academic institutions. 

AT RICHMOND, MAY 23, 2008 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. SEC-2008-00026 

Ex Parte: In the matter of Adopting a  
Revision to the Rules Governing  
the Virginia Securities Act 

ORDER ADOPTING AMENDED RULES 

By Order entered on March 7, 2008, all interested persons 
were ordered to take notice that the State Corporation 
Commission ("Commission") would consider the adoption of 
a revision to Chapters 20 and 80 of Title 21 of the Virginia 
Administrative Code ("Regulations") entitled "Rules and 
Forms Governing Virginia Securities Act."  On March 28, 
2008, the Division of Securities and Retail Franchising 
("Division") mailed the Order to Take Notice of the proposed 
Regulations to all registrants and applicants as of March 24, 
2008, and to all interested parties pursuant to the Virginia 
Securities Act, § 13.1501 et seq. of the Code of Virginia. The 
Order to Take Notice described the proposed amendments 
and afforded interested parties an opportunity to file 
comments. 

The Division received three comments. Each comment was 
received via e-mail correspondence. No hearing was 
requested and none was conducted. As a result of the 
comments, the Commission issued an Order Directing 
Response to Comments on April 22, 2008, directing the 
Division to respond to each commenter and address their 
concerns. 

The Division sent a response to each commenter.  The first 
commenter disagreed with the mandatory implementation of 
electronic filing of Part II of Form ADV for state registered 
investment advisors on the Investment Advisory Registration 
Depository ("IARD") operated through the Financial Industry 
Regulatory Authority (FINRA).  The Division noted that the 
IARD filing requirements did not apply to the commenter's 
firm since it was a federally covered advisor and not subject 
to state registration requirements.  Further, the Division stated 
that the enhancement to the IARD had been pending since 
April 2007. 

The second commenter indicated that their association was 
concerned about the adoption of the proposed Regulations in 
21 VAC 5-80-200 and 21 VAC 20-280 covering the abuse of 
professional designations.  The third commenter supported 
the second commenter's comments.  As a result of the second 
commenter, the Division added some clarifying language to 
the proposed regulations in order to make the language 
conform with the proposed language being adopted in other 
state jurisdictions covering the same issue.  The Division 
notified the third commenter that the Division had addressed 
the second commenter's comments and that its constituency 
was not subject to the jurisdiction of the securities 
regulations. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of the 
proposed amendments to the Regulations, as modified, the 
recommendation of the Division, and the record in this case, 
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finds that the proposed amendments to the Regulations, as 
modified, should be adopted. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1)  The proposed Regulations, as modified, are attached 
hereto, made a part hereof, and are hereby ADOPTED 
effective July 1, 2008. 

(2)  This matter is dismissed from the Commission's docket, 
and the papers herein shall be placed in the file for ended 
causes. 

AN ATTESTED COPY of this Order shall be sent to each 
of the following by regular mail by the Division to:  the North 
American Securities Administrators Association, Inc., 
750 First Street, N.E., Suite 1140, Washington, D.C. 20002; 
the Commission's Division of Information Resources; the 
Commission's Office of General Counsel; and such other 
persons as the Division deems appropriate. 

CHAPTER 20  
BROKER-DEALERS, BROKER-DEALER AGENTS AND 

AGENTS OF THE ISSUER: REGISTRATION, 
EXPIRATION, RENEWAL, UPDATES AND 

AMENDMENTS, TERMINATION, CHANGING 
CONNECTION, MERGER OR CONSOLIDATION, 
EXAMINATIONS/QUALIFICATION, FINANCIAL 

STATEMENTS AND REPORTS  

21VAC5-20-280. Prohibited business conduct. 

A. No broker-dealer shall: 

1. Engage in a pattern of unreasonable and unjustifiable 
delays in the delivery of securities purchased by any of its 
customers or in the payment upon request of free credit 
balances reflecting completed transactions of any of its 
customers, or take any action that directly or indirectly 
interferes with a customer's ability to transfer his account; 
provided that the account is not subject to any lien for 
moneys owed by the customer or other bona fide claim, 
including, but not limited to, seeking a judicial order or 
decree that would bar or restrict the submission, delivery or 
acceptance of a written request from a customer to transfer 
his account; 

2. Induce trading in a customer's account which is 
excessive in size or frequency in view of the financial 
resources and character of the account; 

3. Recommend to a customer the purchase, sale or 
exchange of any security without reasonable grounds to 
believe that the recommendation is suitable for the 
customer based upon reasonable inquiry concerning the 
customer's investment objectives, financial situation, risk 
tolerance and needs, and any other relevant information 
known by the broker-dealer; 

4. Execute a transaction on behalf of a customer without 
authority to do so or, when securities are held in a 
customer's account, fail to execute a sell transaction 
involving those securities as instructed by a customer, 
without reasonable cause; 

5. Exercise any discretionary power in effecting a 
transaction for a customer's account without first obtaining 
written discretionary authority from the customer, unless 
the discretionary power relates solely to the time or price 
for the execution of orders; 

6. Execute any transaction in a margin account without 
securing from the customer a properly executed written 
margin agreement promptly after the initial transaction in 
the account, or fail, prior to or at the opening of a margin 
account, to disclose to a noninstitutional customer the 
operation of a margin account and the risks associated with 
trading on margin at least as comprehensively as required 
by NASD Rule 2341; 

7. Fail to segregate customers' free securities or securities 
held in safekeeping; 

8. Hypothecate a customer's securities without having a 
lien thereon unless the broker-dealer secures from the 
customer a properly executed written consent promptly 
after the initial transaction, except as permitted by Rules of 
the SEC; 

9. Enter into a transaction with or for a customer at a price 
not reasonably related to the current market price of a 
security or receiving an unreasonable commission or 
profit; 

10. Fail to furnish to a customer purchasing securities in an 
offering, no later than the date of confirmation of the 
transaction, either a final prospectus or a preliminary 
prospectus and an additional document, which together 
include all information set forth in the final prospectus; 

11. Introduce customer transactions on a "fully disclosed" 
basis to another broker-dealer that is not exempt under 
§13.1-514 B 6 of the Act; 

12. a. Charge unreasonable and inequitable fees for 
services performed, including miscellaneous services such 
as collection of moneys due for principal, dividends or 
interest, exchange or transfer of securities, appraisals, 
safekeeping, or custody of securities and other services 
related to its securities business; 

b. Charge a fee based on the activity, value or contents 
(or lack thereof) of a customer account unless written 
disclosure pertaining to the fee, which shall include 
information about the amount of the fee, how imposition 
of the fee can be avoided and any consequence of late 
payment or nonpayment of the fee, was provided no later 
than the date the account was established or, with respect 
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to an existing account, at least 60 days prior to the 
effective date of the fee; 

13. Offer to buy from or sell to any person any security at a 
stated price unless the broker-dealer is prepared to 
purchase or sell at the price and under such conditions as 
are stated at the time of the offer to buy or sell; 

14. Represent that a security is being offered to a customer 
"at a market" or a price relevant to the market price unless 
the broker-dealer knows or has reasonable grounds to 
believe that a market for the security exists other than that 
made, created or controlled by the broker-dealer, or by any 
person for whom he is acting or with whom he is 
associated in the distribution, or any person controlled by, 
controlling or under common control with the broker-
dealer; 

15. Effect any transaction in, or induce the purchase or sale 
of, any security by means of any manipulative, deceptive 
or fraudulent device, practice, plan, program, design or 
contrivance, which may include but not be limited to: 

a. Effecting any transaction in a security which involves 
no change in the beneficial ownership thereof; 

b. Entering an order or orders for the purchase or sale of 
any security with the knowledge that an order or orders 
of substantially the same size, at substantially the same 
time and substantially the same price, for the sale of any 
security, has been or will be entered by or for the same or 
different parties for the purpose of creating a false or 
misleading appearance of active trading in the security or 
a false or misleading appearance with respect to the 
market for the security; however, nothing in this 
subdivision shall prohibit a broker-dealer from entering 
bona fide agency cross transactions for its customers; 

c. Effecting, alone or with one or more other persons, a 
series of transactions in any security creating actual or 
apparent active trading in the security or raising or 
depressing the price of the security, for the purpose of 
inducing the purchase or sale of the security by others; 

16. Guarantee a customer against loss in any securities 
account of the customer carried by the broker-dealer or in 
any securities transaction effected by the broker-dealer 
with or for the customer; 

17. Publish or circulate, or cause to be published or 
circulated, any notice, circular, advertisement, newspaper 
article, investment service, or communication of any kind 
which purports to report any transaction as a purchase or 
sale of any security unless the broker-dealer believes that 
the transaction was a bona fide purchase or sale of the 
security; or which purports to quote the bid price or asked 
price for any security, unless the broker-dealer believes 
that the quotation represents a bona fide bid for, or offer of, 
the security; 

18. Use any advertising or sales presentation in such a 
fashion as to be deceptive or misleading. An example of 
such practice would be a distribution of any nonfactual 
data, material or presentation based on conjecture, 
unfounded or unrealistic claims or assertions in any 
brochure, flyer, or display by words, pictures, graphs or 
otherwise designed to supplement, detract from, supersede 
or defeat the purpose or effect of any prospectus or 
disclosure; 

19. Fail to make reasonably available upon request to any 
person expressing an interest in a solicited transaction in a 
security, not listed on a registered securities exchange or 
quoted on an automated quotation system operated by a 
national securities association approved by regulation of 
the commission, a balance sheet of the issuer as of a date 
within 18 months of the offer or sale of the issuer's 
securities and a profit and loss statement for either the 
fiscal year preceding that date or the most recent year of 
operations, the names of the issuer's proprietor, partners or 
officers, the nature of the enterprises of the issuer and any 
available information reasonably necessary for evaluating 
the desirability or lack of desirability of investing in the 
securities of an issuer. All transactions in securities 
described in this subdivision shall comply with the 
provisions of §13.1-507 of the Act; 

20. Fail to disclose that the broker-dealer is controlled by, 
controlling, affiliated with or under common control with 
the issuer of any security before entering into any contract 
with or for a customer for the purchase or sale of the 
security, the existence of control to the customer, and if 
disclosure is not made in writing, it shall be supplemented 
by the giving or sending of written disclosure at or before 
the completion of the transaction; 

21. Fail to make a bona fide public offering of all of the 
securities allotted to a broker-dealer for distribution, 
whether acquired as an underwriter, a selling group 
member, or from a member participating in the distribution 
as an underwriter or selling group member; 

22. Fail or refuse to furnish a customer, upon reasonable 
request, information to which the customer is entitled, or to 
respond to a formal written request or complaint;  

23. Fail to clearly and separately disclose to its customer, 
prior to any security transaction, providing investment 
advice for compensation or any materially related 
transaction that the customer's funds or securities will be in 
the custody of an investment advisor or contracted 
custodian, in a manner that does not provide Securities 
Investor Protection Corporation protection, or equivalent 
third-party coverage over the customer's assets; 

24. Market broker-dealer services that are associated with 
financial institutions in a manner that is misleading or 
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confusing to customers as to the nature of securities 
products or risks; or 

25. In transactions subject to breakpoints, fail to: 

a. Utilize advantageous breakpoints without reasonable 
basis for their exclusion; 

b. Determine information that should be recorded on the 
books and records of a member or its clearing firm, 
which is necessary to determine the availability and 
appropriateness of breakpoint opportunities; or 

c. Inquire whether the customer has positions or 
transactions away from the member that should be 
considered in connection with the pending transaction, 
and apprise the customer of the breakpoint opportunities. 

26. [ In Use a certification or professional designation in ] 
connection with the offer, sale, or purchase of securities, 
[ use a certification or professional designation ] that 
indicates or implies that the user has special certification or 
training in advising or servicing senior citizens or retirees 
in such a way as to mislead any person. 

a. The use of such certification or professional 
designation includes, but is not limited to, the following: 

(1) Use of a certification or designation by a person who 
has not actually earned or is otherwise ineligible to use 
such certification or designation; 

(2) Use of a nonexistent or self-conferred certification or 
professional designation; 

(3) Use of a certification or professional designation that 
indicates or implies a level of occupational qualifications 
obtained through education, training, or experience that 
the person using the certification or professional 
designation does not have; or 

(4) Use of a certification or professional designation that 
was obtained from a designating or certifying 
organization that: 

(a) Is primarily engaged in the business of instruction in 
sales and/or marketing; 

(b) Does not have reasonable standards or procedures for 
assuring the competency of its designees or certificants; 

(c) Does not have reasonable standards or procedures for 
monitoring and disciplining its designees or certificants 
for improper or unethical conduct; or 

(d) Does not have reasonable continuing education 
requirements for its designees or certificants in order to 
maintain the designation or certificate. 

b. There is a rebuttable presumption that a designating or 
certifying organization is not disqualified solely for 

purposes of subdivision 26 a (4) of this subsection, when 
the organization has been accredited by:  

(1) The American National Standards Institute; 

(2) The National Commission for Certifying Agencies; or 

(3) An organization that is on the United States 
Department of Education’s list entitled "Accrediting 
Agencies Recognized for Title IV Purposes" and the 
designation or credential issued therefrom does not 
primarily apply to sales and/or marketing. 

c. In determining whether a combination of words (or an 
acronym standing for a combination of words) 
constitutes a certification or professional designation 
indicating or implying that a person has special 
certification or training in advising or servicing senior 
citizens or retirees, factors to be considered shall include:  

(1) Use of one or more words such as "senior," 
"retirement," "elder," or like words, combined with one 
or more words such as "certified," "chartered," "adviser," 
"specialist," "consultant," "planner," or like words, in the 
name of the certification or professional designation; and  

(2) The manner in which those words are combined.  

d. For purposes of this section, a certification or 
professional designation does not include a job title 
within an organization that is licensed or registered by a 
state or federal financial services regulatory agency when 
that job title:  

(1) Indicates seniority within the organization; or  

(2) Specifies an individual's area of specialization within 
the organization.  

For purposes of this subdivision d, "financial services 
regulatory agency" includes, but is not limited to, an 
agency that regulates broker-dealers, investment 
advisers, or investment companies as defined under §3 
(a)(1) of the Investment Company Act of 1940 (15 USC 
§80a-3(a)(1)). 

e. Nothing in this regulation shall limit the commission's 
authority to enforce existing provisions of law.  

B. No agent shall: 

1. Engage in the practice of lending or borrowing money or 
securities from a customer, or acting as a custodian for 
money, securities or an executed stock power of a 
customer; 

2. Effect any securities transaction not recorded on the 
regular books or records of the broker-dealer which the 
agent represents, unless the transaction is authorized in 
writing by the broker-dealer prior to execution of the 
transaction; 
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3. Establish or maintain an account containing fictitious 
information in order to execute a transaction which would 
otherwise be unlawful or prohibited; 

4. Share directly or indirectly in profits or losses in the 
account of any customer without the written authorization 
of the customer and the broker-dealer which the agent 
represents; 

5. Divide or otherwise split the agent's commissions, 
profits or other compensation from the purchase or sale of 
securities in this state with any person not also registered 
as an agent for the same broker-dealer, or for a broker-
dealer under direct or indirect common control; or 

6. Engage in conduct specified in subdivisions subdivision 
A 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 10, 15, 16, 17, 18, 23, 24, or 25 or 26 of this 
section. 

C. It shall be deemed a demonstration of a lack of business 
knowledge by an agent insofar as business knowledge is 
required for registration by §13.1-505 A 3 of the Act, if an 
agent fails to comply with any of the applicable continuing 
education requirements set forth in any of the following and 
such failure has resulted in an agent’s denial, suspension, or 
revocation of a license, registration, or membership with a 
self-regulatory organization. 

1. Schedule C to the National Association of Securities 
Dealers By-Laws, Part XII of the National Association of 
Securities Dealers, as such provisions existed on July 1, 
1995; 

2. Rule 345 A of the New York Stock Exchange, as such 
provisions existed on July 1, 1995; 

3. Rule G-3(h) of the Municipal Securities Rulemaking 
Board, as such provisions existed on July 1, 1995; 

4. Rule 341 A of the American Stock Exchange, as such 
provisions existed on July 1, 1995; 

5. Rule 9.3A of the Chicago Board of Options Exchange, 
as such provisions existed on July 1, 1995; 

6. Article VI, Rule 9 of the Chicago Stock Exchange, as 
such provisions existed on July 1, 1995; 

7. Rule 9.27(C) of the Pacific Stock Exchange, as such 
provisions existed on July 1, 1995; or 

8. Rule 640 of the Philadelphia Stock Exchange, as such 
provisions existed on July 1, 1995. 

Each or all of the education requirements standards listed 
above may be changed by each respective entity and if so 
changed will become a requirement if the change does not 
materially reduce the educational requirements expressed 
above or reduce the investor protection provided by the 
requirements. 

D. No person shall publish, give publicity to, or circulate 
any notice, circular, advertisement, newspaper article, letter, 
investment service or communication which, though not 
purporting to offer a security for sale, describes the security, 
for a consideration received or to be received, directly or 
indirectly, from an issuer, underwriter, or dealer, without 
fully disclosing the receipt, whether past or prospective, of 
such consideration and the amount thereof. 

E. The purpose of this subsection is to identify practices in 
the securities business which are generally associated with 
schemes to manipulate and to identify prohibited business 
conduct of broker-dealers or sales agents. 

1. Entering into a transaction with a customer in any 
security at an unreasonable price or at a price not 
reasonably related to the current market price of the 
security or receiving an unreasonable commission or profit. 

2. Contradicting or negating the importance of any 
information contained in a prospectus or other offering 
materials with intent to deceive or mislead or using any 
advertising or sales presentation in a deceptive or 
misleading manner. 

3. In connection with the offer, sale, or purchase of a 
security, falsely leading a customer to believe that the 
broker-dealer or agent is in possession of material, 
nonpublic information which would affect the value of the 
security. 

4. In connection with the solicitation of a sale or purchase 
of a security, engaging in a pattern or practice of making 
contradictory recommendations to different investors of 
similar investment objective for some to sell and others to 
purchase the same security, at or about the same time, 
when not justified by the particular circumstances of each 
investor. 

5. Failing to make a bona fide public offering of all the 
securities allotted to a broker-dealer for distribution by, 
among other things, (i) transferring securities to a 
customer, another broker-dealer or a fictitious account with 
the understanding that those securities will be returned to 
the broker-dealer or its nominees or (ii) parking or 
withholding securities. 

6. Although nothing in this subsection precludes 
application of the general antifraud provisions against 
anyone for practices similar in nature to the practices 
discussed below, the following subdivisions a through f 
specifically apply only in connection with the solicitation 
of a purchase or sale of OTC (over the counter) unlisted 
non-NASDAQ equity securities: 

a. Failing to advise the customer, both at the time of 
solicitation and on the confirmation, of any and all 
compensation related to a specific securities transaction 



Regulations 

Volume 24, Issue 21 Virginia Register of Regulations June 23, 2008 

2975 
 

to be paid to the agent including commissions, sales 
charges, or concessions. 

b. In connection with a principal transaction, failing to 
disclose, both at the time of solicitation and on the 
confirmation, a short inventory position in the firm's 
account of more than 3.0% of the issued and outstanding 
shares of that class of securities of the issuer; however, 
subdivision 6 of this subsection shall apply only if the 
firm is a market maker at the time of the solicitation. 

c. Conducting sales contests in a particular security. 

d. After a solicited purchase by a customer, failing or 
refusing, in connection with a principal transaction, to 
promptly execute sell orders. 

e. Soliciting a secondary market transaction when there 
has not been a bona fide distribution in the primary 
market. 

f. Engaging in a pattern of compensating an agent in 
different amounts for effecting sales and purchases in the 
same security. 

7. Effecting any transaction in, or inducing the purchase or 
sale of any security by means of any manipulative, 
deceptive or other fraudulent device or contrivance 
including but not limited to the use of boiler room tactics 
or use of fictitious or nominee accounts. 

8. Failing to comply with any prospectus delivery 
requirements promulgated under federal law or the Act. 

9. In connection with the solicitation of a sale or purchase 
of an OTC unlisted non-NASDAQ security, failing to 
promptly provide the most current prospectus or the most 
recently filed periodic report filed under §13 of the 
Securities Exchange Act when requested to do so by a 
customer. 

10. Marking any order tickets or confirmations as 
unsolicited when in fact the transaction was solicited. 

11. For any month in which activity has occurred in a 
customer's account, but in no event less than every three 
months, failing to provide each customer with a statement 
of account with respect to all OTC non-NASDAQ equity 
securities in the account, containing a value for each such 
security based on the closing market bid on a date certain; 
however, this subdivision shall apply only if the firm has 
been a market maker in the security at any time during the 
month in which the monthly or quarterly statement is 
issued. 

12. Failing to comply with any applicable provision of the 
Rules of Fair Practice of the NASD or any applicable fair 
practice or ethical standard promulgated by the SEC or by 
a self-regulatory organization approved by the SEC. 

13. In connection with the solicitation of a purchase or sale 
of a designated security: 

a. Failing to disclose to the customer the bid and ask 
price, at which the broker-dealer effects transactions with 
individual, retail customers, of the designated security as 
well as its spread in both percentage and dollar amounts 
at the time of solicitation and on the trade confirmation 
documents; or 

b. Failing to include with the confirmation, the notice 
disclosure contained in subsection F of this section, 
except the following shall be exempt from this 
requirement: 

(1) Transactions in which the price of the designated 
security is $5.00 or more, exclusive of costs or charges; 
however, if the designated security is a unit composed of 
one or more securities, the unit price divided by the 
number of components of the unit other than warrants, 
options, rights, or similar securities must be $5.00 or 
more, and any component of the unit that is a warrant, 
option, right, or similar securities, or a convertible 
security must have an exercise price or conversion price 
of $5.00 or more. 

(2) Transactions that are not recommended by the broker-
dealer or agent. 

(3) Transactions by a broker-dealer: (i) whose 
commissions, commission equivalents, and mark-ups 
from transactions in designated securities during each of 
the preceding three months, and during 11 or more of the 
preceding 12 months, did not exceed 5.0% of its total 
commissions, commission-equivalents, and mark-ups 
from transactions in securities during those months; and 
(ii) who has not executed principal transactions in 
connection with the solicitation to purchase the 
designated security that is the subject of the transaction 
in the preceding 12 months. 

(4) Any transaction or transactions that, upon prior 
written request or upon its own motion, the commission 
conditionally or unconditionally exempts as not 
encompassed within the purposes of this section. 

c. For purposes of this section, the term "designated 
security" means any equity security other than a security: 

(1) Registered, or approved for registration upon notice 
of issuance, on a national securities exchange and makes 
transaction reports available pursuant to 17 CFR 11Aa3-
1 under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934; 

(2) Authorized, or approved for authorization upon notice 
of issuance, for quotation in the NASDAQ system; 

(3) Issued by an investment company registered under 
the Investment Company Act of 1940; 
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(4) That is a put option or call option issued by The 
Options Clearing Corporation; or 

(5) Whose issuer has net tangible assets in excess of 
$4,000,000 as demonstrated by financial statements dated 
within no less than 15 months that the broker or dealer 
has reviewed and has a reasonable basis to believe are 
true and complete in relation to the date of the transaction 
with the person, and 

(a) In the event the issuer is other than a foreign private 
issuer, are the most recent financial statements for the 
issuer that have been audited and reported on by an 
independent public accountant in accordance with the 
provisions of 17 CFR 210.2.02 under the Securities 
Exchange Act of 1934; or 

(b) In the event the issuer is a foreign private issuer, are 
the most recent financial statements for the issuer that 
have been filed with the SEC; furnished to the SEC 
pursuant to 17 CFR 241.12g3-2(b) under the Securities 
Exchange Act of 1934; or prepared in accordance with 
generally accepted accounting principles in the country 
of incorporation, audited in compliance with the 
requirements of that jurisdiction, and reported on by an 
accountant duly registered and in good standing in 
accordance with the regulations of that jurisdiction. 

F. Customer notice requirements follow: 

IMPORTANT CUSTOMER NOTICE-READ 
CAREFULLY 

You have just entered into a solicited transaction involving 
a security which may not trade on an active national 
market. The following should help you understand this 
transaction and be better able to follow and protect your 
investment. 

Q. What is meant by the BID and ASK price and the 
spread? 

A. The BID is the price at which you could sell your 
securities at this time. The ASK is the price at which you 
bought. Both are noted on your confirmation. The 
difference between these prices is the "spread," which is 
also noted on the confirmation, in both a dollar amount and 
a percentage relative to the ASK price. 

Q. How can I follow the price of my security? 

A. For the most part, you are dependent on broker-dealers 
that trade in your security for all price information. You 
may be able to find a quote in the newspaper, but you 
should keep in mind that the quote you see will be for 
dealer-to-dealer transactions (essentially wholesale prices 
and will not necessarily be the prices at which you could 
buy or sell). 

Q. How does the spread relate to my investments? 

A. The spread represents the profit made by your broker-
dealer and is the amount by which your investment must 
increase (the BID must rise) for you to break even. 
Generally, a greater spread indicates a higher risk. 

Q. How do I compute the spread? 

A. If you bought 100 shares at an ASK price of $1.00, you 
would pay $100 (100 shares X $1.00 = $100). If the BID 
price at the time you purchased your stock was $.50, you 
could sell the stock back to the broker-dealer for $50 (100 
shares X $.50 = $50). In this example, if you sold at the 
BID price, you would suffer a loss of 50%. 

Q. Can I sell at any time? 

A. Maybe. Some securities are not easy to sell because 
there are few buyers, or because there are no broker-
dealers who buy or sell them on a regular basis. 

Q. Why did I receive this notice? 

A. The laws of some states require your broker-dealer or 
sales agent to disclose the BID and ASK price on your 
confirmation and include this notice in some instances. If 
the BID and ASK were not explained to you at the time 
you discussed this investment with your broker, you may 
have further rights and remedies under both state and 
federal law. 

Q. Where do I go if I have a problem? 

A. If you cannot work the problem out with your broker-
dealer, you may contact the Virginia State Corporation 
Commission or the securities commissioner in the state in 
which you reside, the United States Securities and 
Exchange Commission, or the National Association of 
Securities Dealers, Inc. 

G. Engaging in or having engaged in conduct specified in 
subsection A, B, C, D, or E of this section, or other conduct 
such as forgery, embezzlement, nondisclosure, incomplete 
disclosure or misstatement of material facts, or manipulative 
or deceptive practices shall be grounds under the Act for 
imposition of a penalty, denial of a pending application or 
refusal to renew or revocation of an effective registration. 

21VAC5-80-10. Application for registration as an 
investment advisor and notice filing as a federal covered 
advisor. 

A. Application for registration as an investment advisor 
shall be filed in compliance with all requirements of the 
Investment Advisor Registration Depository (IARD) system 
and in full compliance with forms and regulations prescribed 
by the commission and shall include all information required 
by such forms. 

B. An application shall be deemed incomplete for purposes 
of applying for registration as an investment advisor unless 
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the following executed forms, fee and information are 
submitted:  

1. Form ADV Parts I and II submitted to the IARD system. 

a. Part 1A and 1B filed with the IARD system.  

b. Part II filed with the commission at its Division of 
Securities and Retail Franchising.  

2. The statutory fee in the amount of $200 submitted to the 
IARD system. The check must be made payable to the 
NASD.  

3. Any other information the commission may require.  

C. The commission shall either grant or deny each 
application for registration within 30 days after it is filed. 
However, if additional time is needed to obtain or verify 
information regarding the application, the commission may 
extend such period as much as 90 days by giving written 
notice to the applicant. No more than three such extensions 
may be made by the commission on any one application. An 
extension of the initial 30-day period, not to exceed 90 days, 
shall be granted upon written request of the applicant.  

D. Every person who transacts business in this 
Commonwealth as a federal covered advisor shall file a notice 
as prescribed in subsection E of this section in compliance 
with all requirements of the Investment Advisor Registration 
Depository (IARD) system.  

E. A notice filing for a federal covered advisor shall be 
deemed incomplete unless the following executed forms, fee 
and information are submitted:  

1. Form ADV.  

2. The statutory fee in the amount of $200 submitted to the 
IARD system. The check must be made payable to the 
NASD.  

21VAC5-80-200. Dishonest or unethical practices. 

A. An investment advisor or federal covered advisor is a 
fiduciary and has a duty to act primarily for the benefit of his 
clients. While the extent and nature of this duty varies 
according to the nature of the relationship between an 
investment advisor or federal covered advisor and his clients 
and the circumstances of each case, an investment advisor or 
federal covered advisor shall not engage in unethical 
practices, including the following: 

1. Recommending to a client to whom investment 
supervisory, management or consulting services are 
provided the purchase, sale or exchange of any security 
without reasonable grounds to believe that the 
recommendation is suitable for the client on the basis of 
information furnished by the client after reasonable inquiry 
concerning the client's investment objectives, financial 
situation, risk tolerance and needs, and any other 

information known or acquired by the investment advisor 
or federal covered advisor after reasonable examination of 
the client's financial records. 

2. Placing an order to purchase or sell a security for the 
account of a client without written authority to do so. 

3. Placing an order to purchase or sell a security for the 
account of a client upon instruction of a third party without 
first having obtained a written third-party authorization 
from the client. 

4. Exercising any discretionary power in placing an order 
for the purchase or sale of securities for a client without 
obtaining written discretionary authority from the client 
within 10 business days after the date of the first 
transaction placed pursuant to oral discretionary authority, 
unless the discretionary power relates solely to the price at 
which, or the time when, an order involving a definite 
amount of a specified security shall be executed, or both. 

5. Inducing trading in a client's account that is excessive in 
size or frequency in view of the financial resources, 
investment objectives and character of the account. 

6. Borrowing money or securities from a client unless the 
client is a broker-dealer, an affiliate of the investment 
advisor or federal covered advisor, or a financial institution 
engaged in the business of loaning funds or securities. 

7. Loaning money to a client unless the investment advisor 
or federal covered advisor is a financial institution engaged 
in the business of loaning funds or the client is an affiliate 
of the investment advisor or federal covered advisor. 

8. Misrepresenting to any advisory client, or prospective 
advisory client, the qualifications of the investment advisor 
or federal covered advisor, or misrepresenting the nature of 
the advisory services being offered or fees to be charged 
for the services, or omission to state a material fact 
necessary to make the statements made regarding 
qualifications services or fees, in light of the circumstances 
under which they are made, not misleading. 

9. Providing a report or recommendation to any advisory 
client prepared by someone other than the investment 
advisor or federal covered advisor without disclosing that 
fact. This prohibition does not apply to a situation where 
the advisor uses published research reports or statistical 
analyses to render advice or where an advisor orders such a 
report in the normal course of providing service. 

10. Charging a client an unreasonable advisory fee in light 
of the fees charged by other investment advisors or federal 
covered advisors providing essentially the same services. 

11. Failing to disclose to clients in writing before any 
advice is rendered any material conflict of interest relating 
to the investment advisor or federal covered advisor or any 
of his employees which could reasonably be expected to 
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impair the rendering of unbiased and objective advice 
including: 

a. Compensation arrangements connected with advisory 
services to clients which are in addition to compensation 
from such clients for such services; or 

b. Charging a client an advisory fee for rendering advice 
when a commission for executing securities transactions 
pursuant to such advice will be received by the advisor or 
his employees. 

12. Guaranteeing a client that a specific result will be 
achieved as a result of the advice which will be rendered. 

13. Directly or indirectly using any advertisement that does 
any one of the following: 

a. Refers to any testimonial of any kind concerning the 
investment advisor or investment advisor representative 
or concerning any advice, analysis, report, or other 
service rendered by the investment advisor or investment 
advisor representative; 

b. Refers to past specific recommendations of the 
investment advisor or investment advisor representative 
that were or would have been profitable to any person; 
except that an investment advisor or investment advisor 
representative may furnish or offer to furnish a list of all 
recommendations made by the investment advisor or 
investment advisor representative within the immediately 
preceding period of not less than one year if the 
advertisement or list also includes both of the following: 

(1) The name of each security recommended, the date 
and nature of each recommendation, the market price at 
that time, the price at which the recommendation was to 
be acted upon, and the most recently available market 
price of each security; or 

(2) A legend on the first page in prominent print or type 
that states that the reader should not assume that 
recommendations made in the future will be profitable or 
will equal the performance of the securities in the list; 

c. Represents that any graph, chart, formula, or other 
device being offered can be used to determine which 
securities to buy or sell, or when to buy or sell them; or 
which represents, directly or indirectly, that any graph, 
chart, formula, or other device being offered will assist 
any person in making that person’s own decisions as to 
which securities to buy or sell, or when to buy or sell 
them, without prominently disclosing in the 
advertisement the limitations thereof and the risks 
associated to its use; 

d. Represents that any report, analysis, or other service 
will be furnished for free or without charge, unless the 
report, analysis, or other service actually is or will be 

furnished entirely free and without any direct or indirect 
condition or obligation; 

e. Represents that the commission has approved any 
advertisement; or 

f. Contains any untrue statement of a material fact, or that 
is otherwise false or misleading.  

For the purposes of this section, the term "advertisement" 
includes any notice, circular, letter, or other written 
communication addressed to more than one person, or any 
notice or other announcement in any electronic or paper 
publication, by radio or television, or by any medium, that 
offers any one of the following: 

(i) Any analysis, report, or publication concerning 
securities; 

(ii) Any analysis, report, or publication that is to be used 
in making any determination as to when to buy or sell 
any security or which security to buy or sell; 

(iii) Any graph, chart, formula, or other device to be used 
in making any determination as to when to buy or sell 
any security, or which security to buy or sell; or 

(iv) Any other investment advisory service with regard to 
securities. 

14. Disclosing the identity, affairs, or investments of any 
client to any third party unless required by law or an order 
of a court or a regulatory agency to do so, or unless 
consented to by the client. 

15. Taking any action, directly or indirectly, with respect to 
those securities or funds in which any client has any 
beneficial interest, where the investment advisor has 
custody or possession of such securities or funds, when the 
investment advisor's action is subject to and does not 
comply with the safekeeping requirements of 21VAC5-80-
140. 

16. Entering into, extending or renewing any investment 
advisory contract unless the contract is in writing and 
discloses, in substance, the services to be provided, the 
term of the contract, the advisory fee, the formula for 
computing the fee, the amount of prepaid fee to be returned 
in the event of contract termination or nonperformance, 
whether the contract grants discretionary power to the 
investment advisor or federal covered advisor and that no 
assignment of such contract shall be made by the 
investment advisor or federal covered advisor without the 
consent of the other party to the contract. 

17. Failing to clearly and separately disclose to its 
customer, prior to any security transaction, providing 
investment advice for compensation or any materially 
related transaction that the customer's funds or securities 
will be in the custody of an investment advisor or 
contracted custodian in a manner that does not provide 
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Securities Investor Protection Corporation protection, or 
equivalent third-party coverage over the customer's assets. 

18. [ In Using a certification or professional designation 
in ] connection with the provision of advice as to the value 
of or the advisability of investing in, purchasing, or selling 
securities, either directly or indirectly or through 
publications or writings, or by issuing or promulgating 
analyses or reports relating to securities that indicates or 
implies that the user has special certification or training in 
advising or servicing senior citizens or retirees in such a 
way as to mislead any person. 

a. The use of such certification or professional 
designation includes, but is not limited to, the following:  

(1) Use of a certification or designation by a person who 
has not actually earned or is otherwise ineligible to use 
such certification or designation;  

(2) Use of a nonexistent or self-conferred certification or 
professional designation;  

(3) Use of a certification or professional designation that 
indicates or implies a level of occupational qualifications 
obtained through education, training, or experience that 
the person using the certification or professional 
designation does not have; or  

(4) Use of a certification or professional designation that 
was obtained from a designating or certifying 
organization that:  

(a) Is primarily engaged in the business of instruction in 
sales and/or marketing;  

(b) Does not have reasonable standards or procedures for 
assuring the competency of its designees or certificants;  

(c) Does not have reasonable standards or procedures for 
monitoring and disciplining its designees or certificants 
for improper or unethical conduct; or  

(d) Does not have reasonable continuing education 
requirements for its designees or certificants in order to 
maintain the designation or certificate.  

b. There is a rebuttable presumption that a designating or 
certifying organization is not disqualified solely for 
purposes of subdivision 18 a (4) of this subsection, when 
the organization has been accredited by: 

(1) The American National Standards Institute;  

(2) The National Commission for Certifying Agencies; or  

(3) An organization that is on the United States 
Department of Education’s list entitled "Accrediting 
Agencies Recognized for Title IV Purposes" and the 
designation or credential issued therefrom does not 
primarily  apply to sales and/or marketing.  

c. In determining whether a combination of words (or an 
acronym standing for a combination of words) 
constitutes a certification or professional designation 
indicating or implying that a person has special 
certification or training in advising or servicing senior 
citizens or retirees, factors to be considered shall include:  

(1) Use of one or more words such as "senior," 
"retirement," "elder," or like words, combined with one 
or more words such as "certified," "chartered," "adviser," 
"specialist," "consultant," "planner," or like words, in the 
name of the certification or professional designation; and  

(2) The manner in which those words are combined.  

d. For purposes of this section, a certification or 
professional designation does not include a job title 
within an organization that is licensed or registered by a 
state or federal financial services regulatory agency, 
when that job title:  

(1) Indicates seniority within the organization; or  

(2) Specifies an individual’s area of specialization within 
the organization.  

For purposes of this subdivision d, [ :" ] financial 
services regulatory agency" includes, but is not limited 
to, an agency that regulates broker-dealers, investment 
advisers, or investment companies as defined under §3 
(a)(1) of the Investment Company Act of 1940 (15 USC 
§80a-3(a)(1)).  

e. Nothing in this regulation shall limit the commission’s 
authority to enforce existing provisions of the law. 

B. An investment advisor representative is a fiduciary and 
has a duty to act primarily for the benefit of his clients. While 
the extent and nature of this duty varies according to the 
nature of the relationship between an investment advisor 
representative and his clients and the circumstances of each 
case, an investment advisor representative shall not engage in 
unethical practices, including the following: 

1. Recommending to a client to whom investment 
supervisory, management or consulting services are 
provided the purchase, sale or exchange of any security 
without reasonable grounds to believe that the 
recommendation is suitable for the client on the basis of 
information furnished by the client after reasonable inquiry 
concerning the client's investment objectives, financial 
situation and needs, and any other information known or 
acquired by the investment advisor representative after 
reasonable examination of the client's financial records. 

2. Placing an order to purchase or sell a security for the 
account of a client without written authority to do so. 

3. Placing an order to purchase or sell a security for the 
account of a client upon instruction of a third party without 
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first having obtained a written third-party authorization 
from the client. 

4. Exercising any discretionary power in placing an order 
for the purchase or sale of securities for a client without 
obtaining written discretionary authority from the client 
within 10 business days after the date of the first 
transaction placed pursuant to oral discretionary authority, 
unless the discretionary power relates solely to the price at 
which, or the time when, an order involving a definite 
amount of a specified security shall be executed, or both. 

5. Inducing trading in a client's account that is excessive in 
size or frequency in view of the financial resources, 
investment objectives and character of the account. 

6. Borrowing money or securities from a client unless the 
client is a broker-dealer, an affiliate of the investment 
advisor representative, or a financial institution engaged in 
the business of loaning funds or securities. 

7. Loaning money to a client unless the investment advisor 
representative is engaged in the business of loaning funds 
or the client is an affiliate of the investment advisor 
representative. 

8. Misrepresenting to any advisory client, or prospective 
advisory client, the qualifications of the investment advisor 
representative, or misrepresenting the nature of the 
advisory services being offered or fees to be charged for 
the services, or omission to state a material fact necessary 
to make the statements made regarding qualifications, 
services or fees, in light of the circumstances under which 
they are made, not misleading. 

9. Providing a report or recommendation to any advisory 
client prepared by someone other than the investment 
advisor or federal covered advisor who the investment 
advisor representative is employed by or associated with 
without disclosing that fact. This prohibition does not 
apply to a situation where the investment advisor or federal 
covered advisor uses published research reports or 
statistical analyses to render advice or where an investment 
advisor or federal covered advisor orders such a report in 
the normal course of providing service. 

10. Charging a client an unreasonable advisory fee in light 
of the fees charged by other investment advisor 
representatives providing essentially the same services. 

11. Failing to disclose to clients in writing before any 
advice is rendered any material conflict of interest relating 
to the investment advisor representative which could 
reasonably be expected to impair the rendering of unbiased 
and objective advice including: 

a. Compensation arrangements connected with advisory 
services to clients which are in addition to compensation 
from such clients for such services; or 

b. Charging a client an advisory fee for rendering advice 
when a commission for executing securities transactions 
pursuant to such advice will be received by the 
investment advisor representative. 

12. Guaranteeing a client that a specific result will be 
achieved as a result of the advice which will be rendered. 

13. Publishing, circulating or distributing any 
advertisement that would not be permitted under Rule 
206(4)-1 under the Investment Advisers Act of 1940. 

14. Disclosing the identity, affairs, or investments of any 
client to any third party unless required by law or an order 
of a court or a regulatory agency to do so, or unless 
consented to by the client. 

15. Taking any action, directly or indirectly, with respect to 
those securities or funds in which any client has any 
beneficial interest, where the investment advisor 
representative other than a person associated with a federal 
covered advisor has custody or possession of such 
securities or funds, when the investment advisor 
representative's action is subject to and does not comply 
with the safekeeping requirements of 21VAC5-80-140. 

16. Entering into, extending or renewing any investment 
advisory or federal covered advisory contract unless such 
contract is in writing and discloses, in substance, the 
services to be provided, the term of the contract, the 
advisory fee, the formula for computing the fee, the 
amount of prepaid fee to be returned in the event of 
contract termination or nonperformance, whether the 
contract grants discretionary power to the investment 
advisor representative and that no assignment of such 
contract shall be made by the investment advisor 
representative without the consent of the other party to the 
contract. 

17. Failing to clearly and separately disclose to its 
customer, prior to any security transaction, providing 
investment advice for compensation or any materially 
related transaction that the customer's funds or securities 
will be in the custody of an investment advisor or 
contracted custodian in a manner that does not provide 
Securities Investor Protection Corporation protection, or 
equivalent third-party coverage over the customer's assets. 

18. [ In Using a certification or professional designation 
in ] connection with the provision of advice as to the value 
of or the advisability of investing in, purchasing, or selling 
securities, either directly or indirectly or through 
publications or writings, or by issuing or promulgating 
analyses or reports relating to securities  that indicates or 
implies that the user has special certification or training in 
advising or servicing senior citizens or retirees in such a 
way as to mislead any person. 
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a. The use of such certification or professional designation 
includes, but is not limited to, the following:  

(1) Use of a certification or designation by a person who 
has not actually earned or is otherwise ineligible to use 
such certification or designation;  

(2) Use of a nonexistent or self-conferred certification or 
professional designation;  

(3) Use of a certification or professional designation that 
indicates or implies a level of occupational qualifications 
obtained through education, training, or experience that 
the person using the certification or professional 
designation does not have; or  

(4) Use of a certification or professional designation that 
was obtained from a designating or certifying 
organization that:  

(a) Is primarily engaged in the business of instruction in 
sales and or marketing;  

(b) Does not have reasonable standards or procedures for 
assuring the competency of its designees or certificants;  

(c) Does not have reasonable standards or procedures for 
monitoring and disciplining its designees or certificants 
for improper or unethical conduct; or  

(d) Does not have reasonable continuing education 
requirements for its designees or certificants in order to 
maintain the designation or certificate.  

b. There is a rebuttable presumption that a designating or 
certifying organization is not disqualified solely for 
purposes of subdivision 18 a (4) of this subsection, when 
the organization has been accredited by: 

(1) The American National Standards Institute; 

(2) The National Commission for Certifying Agencies; or 

(3) An organization that is on the United States 
Department of Education’s list entitled "Accrediting 
Agencies Recognized for Title IV Purposes" and the 
designation or credential issued therefrom does not 
primarily apply to sales and/or marketing. 

c. In determining whether a combination of words (or an 
acronym standing for a combination of words) 
constitutes a certification or professional designation 
indicating or implying that a person has special 
certification or training in advising or servicing senior 
citizens or retirees, factors to be considered shall include:  

(1) Use of one or more words such as "senior," 
"retirement," "elder," or like words, combined with one 
or more words such as "certified," "chartered," "adviser," 
"specialist," "consultant," "planner," or like words, in the 
name of the certification or professional designation; and  

(2) The manner in which those words are combined.  

d. For purposes of this section, a certification or 
professional designation does not include a job title 
within an organization that is licensed or registered by a 
state or federal financial services regulatory agency, 
when that job title:  

(1) Indicates seniority within the organization; or  

(2) Specifies an individual’s area of specialization within 
the organization. 

For purposes of this subdivision d, "financial services 
regulatory agency" includes, but is not limited to, an 
agency that regulates broker-dealers, investment 
advisers, or investment companies as defined under 
§3(a)(1) of the Investment Company Act of 1940 (15 
USC §80a-3(a)(1). 

e. Nothing in this regulation shall limit the commission’s 
authority to enforce existing provisions of law. 

C. The conduct set forth in subsections A and B of this 
section is not all inclusive. Engaging in other conduct such as 
nondisclosure, incomplete disclosure, or deceptive practices 
may be deemed an unethical business practice except to the 
extent permitted by the National Securities Markets 
Improvement Act of 1996 (Pub. L. No. 104-290) 104-290 
(96)). 

D. The provisions of this section shall apply to federal 
covered advisors to the extent that fraud or deceit is involved, 
or as otherwise permitted by the National Securities Markets 
Improvement Act of 1996 (Pub. L. No. 104-290) 104-290 
(96)). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1153; Filed June 4, 2008, 11:55 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with §2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 
of the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 21VAC5-110. Retail Franchising Act 
Rules (amending 21VAC5-110-10, 21VAC5-110-20, 
21VAC5-110-30, 21VAC5-110-40, 21VAC5-110-50, 
21VAC5-110-60, 21VAC5-110-65, 21VAC5-110-70, 
21VAC5-110-75, 21VAC5-110-80; adding 21VAC5-110-
55, 21VAC5-110-95; repealing 21VAC5-110-90).  

Statutory Authority: §§12.1-13 and 13.1-572 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2008.  
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Agency Contact: Don Gouldin, Deputy Director, Division of 
Securities, State Corporation Commission, Tyler Building, 
9th Floor, P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 371-9755, FAX (804) 371-9911, or email 
don.gouldin@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

On January 23, 2007, the Federal Trade Commission 
(FTC) adopted a final amended Franchise Rule, 16 CFR 
Part 436, which provides that, as of July 1, 2008, all 
franchisors must prepare and distribute disclosure 
documents that, at a minimum, comply with the disclosure 
format of the amended FTC Franchise Rule. The proposed 
amendments to the Virginia franchise regulations (i) 
incorporate the minimum presale franchise disclosures 
required by the amended FTC Franchise Rule; (ii) adopt in 
substantial part the disclosure format of the amended FTC 
Franchise Rule, except with respect to the financial 
statement required for start-up franchisors and a state 
cover page; (iii) add certain definitions found in the 
amended FTC Franchise Rule; (iv) replace obsolete terms 
and references; and (v) repeal the Uniform Franchise 
Offering Circular Guidelines. 

The amendments also (i) make changes to the general 
requirements for preparing disclosure documents and 
filing registration applications; (ii) provide for 
registrations applications to be filed on a CD-ROM, in 
addition to paper copies; (iii) specify procedures to follow 
for making disclosure via electronic means; and (iv) make 
housekeeping changes. 

After receipt of public comments, the following changes 
were made to the proposed regulation: the instructions 
contained in subdivision C 7 of 21VAC5-110-55 were 
renumbered for clarity and form; new subsection D was 
added to 21VAC5-110-55 to provide guidance to 
applicants on how to conform mandatory language of the 
Franchise Disclosure Document cover page statement to 
the applicable terms contained in the Va. Retail 
Franchising Act; new subsection E was added to 21VAC5-
110-55 to provide guidance to applicants on how to 
conform mandatory language of the Franchise Disclosure 
Document receipt page statement to the applicable terms 
contained in the Va. Retail Franchising Act; for purposes 
of clarity and to correct the structure of the regulation, 
subsection A of 21VAC5-110-95 was redesignated and 
more descriptive instructional language was added to 
21VAC5-110-95 B; and various typographical and style 
changes were made. 

AT RICHMOND, MAY 21, 2008 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. SEC-2008-00027 

Ex Parte: In the matter of Adopting a  
Revision to the Rules Governing  
the Virginia Retail Franchising Act 

as he may designate. 

ORDER ADOPTING AMENDED RULES 

By Order entered on March 7, 2008, all interested persons 
were ordered to take notice that the State Corporation 
Commission ("Commission") would consider the adoption of 
a revision to Chapter 110 of Title 21 of the Virginia 
Administrative Code ("Regulations") entitled "Virginia Retail 
Franchising Act Rules and Forms."  On March 28, 2008, the 
Division of Securities and Retail Franchising ("Division") 
mailed the Order to Take Notice of the proposed Regulations 
to all registrants and applicants as of March 24, 2008, and to 
all interested parties pursuant to the Virginia Retail 
Franchising Act, § 13.1-557 et seq. of the Code of Virginia.  
The Order to Take Notice describes the proposed 
amendments and afforded interested parties an opportunity to 
file written comments or requests for hearing by April 16, 
2008. 

One comment letter was filed.  Although the comment was 
filed late, the filer requested that the Commission grant him 
leave to comment. The Commission granted leave to file the 
comment and the Division responded to the comment letter 
by letter to the commenter and filing a copy of said letter with 
the Commission's Document Control Center. 

The commenter requested that certain typographical errors 
be addressed, and the Division did so.  The commenter also 
questioned the need for using the term "grant" instead of 
"sale" as required in the Federal Trade Commission Rule 
("FTC Rule").  As indicated in the Division's response to the 
commenter, on file in the Commission's Document Control 
Center, the use of the term "grant" rather than "sale" or "sell" 
tracks the Virginia Retail Franchising Act and is not 
preempted by the FTC Rule.  The FTC Rule only preempts 
state law if state law creates a lesser standard.  The Division 
also added clarifying language to proposed Rule 
21 VAC 5-110-55 and corrected a couple of typographical 
errors pointed out by the commenter. 

The Division also corrected its forms, attached to the 
proposed amended Regulations, to conform to the new FTC 
Rule and other states using the same forms. 

The Commission, upon consideration of the proposed 
amendments to the Regulations, as modified, the 
recommendation of the Division, and the record in this case, 
finds that the proposed amendments to the Regulations, as 
modified, should be adopted. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1)  The proposed Regulations, as modified, are attached 
hereto, made a part hereof, and are hereby ADOPTED 
effective July 1, 2008. 
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(2)  This matter is dismissed from the Commission's docket, 
and the papers herein shall be placed in the file for ended 
causes. 

AN ATTESTED COPY of this Order shall be sent to each 
of the following by regular mail by the Division to:  David 
French, Vice President, Government Relations, International 
Franchise Association, 1501 K Street, N.W., Suite 350, 
Washington, D.C. 20005; the North American Securities 
Administrators Association, 750 First Street, N.E., Suite 
1140, Washington, D.C. 20002; Robert S. Burstein, Esquire, 
Wiggin and Dana, LLP, One Liberty Place, 1650 Market 
Street, 36th Floor, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19103; the 
Commission's Division of Information Resources; the 
Commission's Office of General Counsel; and such other 
persons as the Division deems appropriate. 

21VAC5-110-10. Definitions. 

"Action" includes complaints, cross claims, counterclaims, 
and third-party complaints in a judicial action or proceeding, 
and their equivalents in an administrative action or 
arbitration. 

"Affiliate" means an entity controlled by, controlling, or 
under common control with, another entity. 

"Commission" means Virginia State Corporation 
Commission. 

"Confidentiality clause" means any contract, order, or 
settlement provision that directly or indirectly restricts a 
current or former franchisee from discussing his personal 
experience as a franchisee in the franchisor’s system with any 
prospective franchisee. It does not include clauses that protect 
franchisor’s trademarks or other proprietary information. 

"Disclose," "state," [ " ] describe," and "list" each mean to 
present all material facts accurately, clearly, concisely, and 
legibly in plain English. 

"Effective date" means the date on which the franchise 
becomes registered under the provisions of §13.1-561 of the 
Code of Virginia.  

"Effective registration" means authorization to offer and 
grant one or more franchises provided that the initial contracts 
or agreements are substantially identical in their terms or 
provisions. Whenever the franchisor offers or grants more 
than one franchise and the resulting contracts or agreements 
vary substantially in their terms or provisions, separate 
franchises will be deemed to have been offered or granted and 
separate registration will be required. For the purpose of this 
rule, substantial variation in the contract will relate without 
limitation to different products, services, fees charged, dues 
imposed, obligations incurred or investments required to be 
made by contract or agreement.  

"FDD" means Franchise Disclosure Document. 

"Financial performance representation" means any 
representation, including any oral, written, or visual 
representation, to a prospective franchisee, including a 
representation in the general media, that states, expressly or 
by implication, a specific level or range of actual or potential 
sales, income, gross profits, or net profits.  The term includes 
a chart, table, or mathematical calculation that shows possible 
results based on a combination of variables. 

"Fiscal year" refers to the franchisor’s fiscal year. 

"Franchise broker" means a person engaged in the business 
of representing a franchisor or subfranchisor in offering for 
sale or selling a franchise, except anyone whose identity and 
business experience are otherwise required to be disclosed in 
Item 11 in the body of the disclosure document.  

"Franchise seller" means a person that offers to grant, grants, 
or arranges for the grant or sale of a franchise. It includes the 
franchisor and the franchisor’s employees, representatives, 
agents, subfranchisors, and third-party brokers who are 
involved in franchise sales activities. It does not include 
existing franchisees who sell only their own outlet and who 
are otherwise not engaged in franchise sales on behalf of the 
franchisor. 

"Grant" or "sale" of a franchise includes an agreement 
whereby a person obtains a franchise from a franchise seller 
for value by purchase, license, or otherwise. It does not 
include extending or renewing an existing franchise 
agreement where there has been no interruption in the 
franchisee’s operation of the business, unless the new 
agreement contains terms and conditions that differ materially 
from the original agreement. 

"Material change" includes a fact, circumstance, or 
condition which would have a substantial likelihood of 
influencing a reasonable prospective franchisee in the making 
of a decision relating to the purchase of a franchise.  

"Parent" means an entity that controls another entity directly 
or indirectly through one or more subsidiaries. 

"Person" means any individual, group, association, limited 
or general partnership, corporation, or any other entity. 

"Plain English" means the organization of information and 
language usage understandable by a person unfamiliar with 
the franchise business. It incorporates short sentences, 
definite, concrete, everyday language, active voice, and 
tabular presentation of information where possible. It avoids 
legal jargon, highly technical business terms, and multiple 
negatives. 

"Predecessor" means a person from whom the franchisor 
acquired, directly or indirectly, the major portion of the 
franchisor’s assets. 

"Principal business address" means the street address of a 
person’s home office in the United States. A principal 



Regulations 

Volume 24, Issue 21 Virginia Register of Regulations June 23, 2008 

2984 

business address cannot be a post office box or private mail 
drop. 

"Prospective franchisee" means any person (including any 
agent, representative, or employee) who approaches or is 
approached by a franchise seller to discuss the possible 
establishment of a franchise relationship. 

"Signature" means a person’s affirmative step to 
authenticate his identity. It includes a person’s handwritten 
signature, as well as a person’s use of security codes, 
passwords, electronic signatures, and similar devices to 
authenticate his identity. 

"Trademark" includes trademarks, service marks, names, 
logos, and other commercial symbols. 

"UFOC" means Uniform Franchise Offering Circular.  

"Virginia Retail Franchising Act" means §13.1-557 et seq. 
of the Code of Virginia.  

21VAC5-110-20. Preliminary statement. 

Follow these rules for each item in franchise applications 
and disclosures in the UFOC FDD. 

The following rules shall be adhered to with respect to 
applications for registration or exemption of a franchise, and 
applications for renewal or amendment of a franchise 
registration or exemption, and amendments filed pursuant to 
Chapter 8 (§13.1-557 et seq.) of Title 13.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. These applications shall be submitted to Virginia's 
state administrator: State Corporation Commission, Division 
of Securities and Retail Franchising, P.O. Box 1197, 1300 
East Main Street, 9th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219 
23218. 

21VAC5-110-30. Registration application; documents to 
file. 

A. An application for registration of a franchise is made by 
filing with the commission the following completed forms 
and other material:  

1. Uniform Franchise Registration Application page (also 
known as "Facing Page"), Form A;  

2. Supplemental Information page(s) Total Costs and 
Sources of Funds for Establishing New Franchises, Form 
B;  

3. Certification page, Form C;  

4. 3. Uniform Consent to Service of Process, Form D C; 

5. 4. If the applicant is a corporation or partnership, an 
authorizing resolution if the application is verified by a 
person other than applicant's officer or general partner;  

6. 5. Uniform Franchise Offering Circular Franchise 
Disclosure Document; 

7. 6. Application fee (payable to the "Treasurer of 
Virginia"); and  

8. 7. Auditor's consent (or a photocopy of the consent) to 
the use of the latest audited financial statements in the 
offering circular Franchise Disclosure Document. 

B. The certifications made by or on behalf of the franchisor 
in Form A shall extend and apply to all documents and 
materials filed in connection with the registration application, 
including any documents or materials submitted to the 
commission subsequent to the initial filing that may be 
required to complete the registration application. 

C. In addition to paper copies of the materials required by 
subsection A of this section, the franchisor may file one copy 
of the complete franchise registration application, including 
the Franchise Disclosure Document, on a CD-ROM in PDF 
format, subject to the following conditions: 

1. The transmittal letter submitting the application must 
contain a representation that all of the information 
contained in the electronic file is identical to the paper 
documents; 

2. The electronic version of the Franchise Disclosure 
Document must be text searchable; and 

3. If the commission’s review of the application results in 
any revision to the documents, the franchisor must submit 
a revised CD-ROM containing a marked and unmarked 
final copy of the Franchise Disclosure Document, and final 
copies of all other application documents. The revised CD-
ROM must be accompanied by a transmittal letter as 
described in subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

B. D. Examples of Forms A through D C are printed at the 
end of these rules this chapter. 

21VAC5-110-40. Pre-effective and post-effective 
amendments to the registration. 

A. Upon the occurrence of a material change, the franchisor 
shall amend the effective registration filed at the commission. 
An amendment to an application filed either before or after 
the effective date of registration may include only the pages 
containing the information being amended if pagination is not 
disturbed. The information being amended shall be identified 
by item, shall be underscored in red or highlighted in some 
other appropriate manner. The amended pages must be black-
lined to show all additions, deletions, and other changes from 
the franchisor’s previous submission. The franchisor may not 
use margin balloons or color highlights to show changes. 

B. An application to amend a franchise registration is made 
by submitting the following completed forms and other 
material: 

1. Uniform Franchise Registration Application page (also 
known as "Facing Page"), Form A; 
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2. Certification page, Form C; 

3. 2. One clean copy of the updated Uniform Franchise 
Offering Circular Franchise Disclosure Document pages; 

4. 3. One copy of the amended Uniform Franchise Offering 
Circular Franchise Disclosure Document pages 
underscored in red or highlighted in some other appropriate 
manner marked in black; and 

5. 4. Application fee (payable to the "Treasurer of 
Virginia"). The fee shall accompany all post-effective 
amendments unless submitted in connection with an 
application for renewal. 

C. The certifications made by or on behalf of the franchisor 
in Form A shall extend and apply to all documents and 
materials filed in connection with the amendment application, 
including any documents or materials submitted to the 
commission subsequent to the initial filing that may be 
required to complete the amendment application. 

D. In addition to paper copies of the materials required by 
subsection B of this section, the franchisor may file one copy 
of the complete franchise amendment application, including a 
marked and unmarked copy of the Franchise Disclosure 
Document, on a CD-ROM in PDF format, subject to the 
following conditions: 

1. The transmittal letter submitting the application must 
contain a representation that all of the information 
contained in the electronic file is identical to the paper 
documents; 

2. The electronic version of the Franchise Disclosure 
Document must be text searchable; and 

3. If the commission’s review of the application results in 
any revision to the documents, the franchisor must submit 
a revised CD-ROM containing a marked and unmarked 
final copy of the Franchise Disclosure Document, and final 
copies of all other application documents. The revised CD-
ROM must be accompanied by a transmittal letter as 
described in subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

Examples E. An example of Forms Form A and C are is 
printed at the end of these regulations this chapter. 

21VAC5-110-50. Expiration; application to renew the 
registration. 

A. A franchise registration expires at midnight on the annual 
date of the registration's effectiveness. An application to 
renew the franchise registration should be filed 30 days prior 
to the expiration date in order to prevent a lapse of 
registration under the Virginia statute.  

B. An application for renewal of a franchise registration is 
made by submitting the following completed forms and other 
material:  

1. Uniform Franchise Registration Application page (also 
known as "Facing Page"), Form A;  

2. Certification page, Form C;  

3. 2. Updated Uniform Franchise Offering Circular 
Franchise Disclosure Document;  

4. 3. One copy of the amended Uniform Franchise Offering 
Circular Franchise Disclosure Document pages 
underscored in red or highlighted in some other appropriate 
manner marked in black, using no margin balloons or color 
highlights; and  

5. 4. Application fee (payable to the "Treasurer of 
Virginia"). 

C. The certifications made by or on behalf of the franchisor 
in Form A shall extend and apply to all documents and 
materials filed in connection with the renewal application, 
including any documents or materials submitted to the 
commission subsequent to the initial filing that may be 
required to complete the renewal application. 

D. In addition to paper copies of the materials required by 
subsection B of this section, the franchisor may file one copy 
of the complete franchise renewal application, including a 
marked and unmarked copy of the Franchise Disclosure 
Document, on a CD-ROM in PDF format, subject to the 
following conditions: 

1. The transmittal letter submitting the application must 
contain a representation that all of the information 
contained in the electronic file is identical to the paper 
documents; 

2. The electronic version of the Franchise Disclosure 
Document must be text searchable; and 

3. If the commission’s review of the application results in 
any revision to the documents, the franchisor must submit 
a revised CD-ROM containing a marked and unmarked 
final copy of the Franchise Disclosure Document, and final 
copies of all other application documents. The revised CD-
ROM must be accompanied by a transmittal letter as 
described in subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

Examples E. An example of Forms Form A and C are is 
printed at the end of these regulations this chapter. 

21VAC5-110-55. The Franchise Disclosure Document. 

A. Format. The Franchise Disclosure Document must be 
prepared in accordance with §§436.3-436.5 of the Federal 
Trade Commission Franchise Rule (16 CFR 436.3-436.5), 
subject to the modifications set forth in subsections B [ and C 
through E ] of this section. 

B. Financial statements. Notwithstanding §436.5 (u)(2) of 
the Federal Trade Commission Franchise Rule (16 CFR 
436.5), a start-up franchisor in its first partial or full fiscal 
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year selling franchises shall provide an opening balance sheet 
that has been audited by an independent certified public 
accountant using generally accepted United States auditing 
standards. 

C. State cover page. The Franchise Disclosure Document 
shall include the following state cover page prepared in 
accordance with this subsection, which must immediately 
follow the Federal Trade Commission required cover page: 

1. State the following legend:  

STATE COVER PAGE 

Your state may have a franchise law that requires a 
franchisor to register or file with a state franchise 
administrator before offering or selling in your state. 
REGISTRATION OF A FRANCHISE BY A STATE 
DOES NOT MEAN THAT THE STATE 
RECOMMENDS THE FRANCHISE OR HAS VERIFIED 
THE INFORMATION IN THIS DISCLOSURE 
DOCUMENT. 

Call the state franchise administrator listed in Exhibit __ 
for information about the franchisor or about franchising in 
your state. 

2. State the following: 

MANY FRANCHISE AGREEMENTS DO NOT ALLOW 
YOU TO RENEW UNCONDITIONALLY AFTER THE 
INITIAL TERM EXPIRES.  YOU MAY HAVE TO SIGN 
A NEW AGREEMENT WITH DIFFERENT TERMS 
AND CONDITIONS IN ORDER TO CONTINUE TO 
OPERATE YOUR BUSINESS. BEFORE YOU BUY, 
CONSIDER WHAT RIGHTS YOU HAVE TO RENEW 
YOUR FRANCHISE, IF ANY, AND WHAT TERMS 
YOU MIGHT HAVE TO ACCEPT IN ORDER TO 
RENEW. 

3. If any of the following apply, state the following, using 
capital letters as shown: 

Please consider the following RISK FACTORS before you 
buy this franchise: 

THE FRANCHISE AGREEMENT REQUIRES YOU TO 
RESOLVE DISPUTES WITH US BY 
[LITIGATION/ARBITRATION/MEDIATION] ONLY IN 
[STATE]. OUT-OF-STATE 
[LITIGATION/ARBITRATION/MEDIATION] MAY 
FORCE YOU TO ACCEPT A LESS FAVORABLE 
SETTLEMENT FOR DISPUTES. IT MAY ALSO COST 
YOU MORE TO [LITIGATE/ARBITRATE/MEDIATE] 
WITH US IN [STATE] THAN IN YOUR OWN STATE. 

THE FRANCHISE AGREEMENT STATES THAT 
[STATE] LAW GOVERNS THE AGREEMENT, AND 
THIS LAW MAY NOT PROVIDE THE SAME 
PROTECTIONS AND BENEFITS AS LOCAL LAW. 
YOU MAY WANT TO COMPARE THESE LAWS. 

4. In addition to the above, disclose other risk factors 
required by the state administrator. 

5. If one or more risk factors applies, also state: 

THERE MAY BE OTHER RISKS CONCERNING THIS 
FRANCHISE. 

6. If you use the services of a franchise broker or referral 
source, state the following: 

We use the services of one or more FRANCHISE 
BROKERS or referral sources to assist us in selling our 
franchise. A franchise broker or referral source represents 
us, not you.  We pay this person a fee for selling our 
franchise or referring you to us.  You should be sure to do 
your own investigation of the franchise. 

7. State the following: 

[ a. ] Effective Date: 

[ (1) a. ] Leave the effective date blank until notified of 
effectiveness by the state administrator. 

[ (2) b. ] If an applicant is using a multistate disclosure 
document, the applicant may list multiple state effective 
dates together on a separate page that is to be inserted 
immediately following the state cover page. 

[ D. To conform language to the Virginia Retail Franchising 
Act, 21VAC5-110-95 A 5 b adds certain terms to the 
Franchise Disclosure Document cover page statement 
mandated by §436.3(e)(2) of the Federal Trade Commission 
Franchise Rule.  The franchisor may comply with this 
requirement of 21VAC5-110-95 by including the required 
statement in the text of the Franchise Disclosure Document 
cover page or in an additional cover page attached as part of a 
Virginia addendum to the Franchise Disclosure Document. 

E. To conform language to the Virginia Retail Franchising 
Act, 21VAC5-110-95 B 23 a adds certain terms to the 
Franchise Disclosure Document receipt page statement 
mandated by §436.5(w)(1) of the Federal Trade Commission 
Franchise Rule.  The franchisor may comply with this 
requirement of 21VAC5-110-95 by including the required 
statement in the text of the Franchise Disclosure Document or 
in an additional receipt page attached as part of a Virginia 
addendum to the Franchise Disclosure Document. ]  

21VAC5-110-60. Automatic effectiveness (optional). 

If the registrant desires, an application to amend or renew an 
effective registration may be accompanied by an executed 
Affidavit of Compliance on Form E and filed in accordance 
with 21VAC5-110-40 or 21VAC5-110-50. The application 
shall become effective immediately upon receipt by the 
commission (or upon such later date as the applicant indicates 
in writing to the commission) unless one or more of the 
following is applicable: 
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1. The franchisor has, since the effective date of its most 
recent application, been convicted of any crime or been 
held liable in any civil action by final judgment (if such 
crime or civil action involved a felony, an act of fraud, a 
misdemeanor involving a franchise, or a violation of the 
Virginia Retail Franchising Act). 

2. The franchisor is insolvent or in danger of becoming 
insolvent, either in the sense that its liabilities exceed its 
assets (determined in accordance with "generally accepted 
accounting principles") or in the sense that it cannot meet 
its obligations as they mature. 

3. The revised disclosure document submitted in 
connection with the application to amend/renew is not in 
compliance with the requirements of 21VAC5-110-55, 
21VAC5-110-80 and 21VAC5-110-90 21VAC5-110-95. 

If the application does not qualify for automatic 
effectiveness, it shall become effective as of the date it is 
granted by the commission. 

21VAC5-110-65. Escrow and deferral. 

A. Escrow requirement. The commission may require a 
franchisor to escrow franchise fees and other payments made 
by a franchisee to the franchisor until the franchisor's pre-
opening obligations under the franchise agreement have been 
satisfied. The commission may require escrow at any time 
after the submission of a registration or renewal application 
and upon a finding that the grounds enumerated in clause (i) 
of subdivision A 2 of §13.1-562 of the Act as provided in 
Chapter 668 of the 2007 Acts of Assembly exist. 

B. Depository. Funds subject to an escrow condition shall be 
placed in a separate trust account with a national bank or a 
state chartered bank or trust company transacting business in 
the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

C. Compliance with escrow requirement. The franchisor 
shall file with the commission the following to comply with 
the commission’s escrow requirement: 

1. An original, fully executed copy of the Escrow 
Agreement, Form K; 

2. A written consent from the depository agreeing to 
operate the escrow account under this regulation;  

3. The name and address of the depository and the account 
number of the escrow account;  

4. The name, address, telephone number and email address 
of an individual or individuals at the depository who may 
be contacted by the commission regarding the escrow 
account; and  

5. An amended franchise application reflecting, in Item 5 
of the offering circular Franchise Disclosure Document or 
in a Virginia Addendum to the offering circular Franchise 
Disclosure Document, that the commission has imposed 

the escrow requirement and the material terms of that 
escrow condition, including the name of the depository. 

D. Operation of escrow account. After the commission 
imposes an escrow requirement upon the franchisor, the 
franchisor shall:  

1. Make franchisee checks for franchise fees or other 
payments for the franchisor payable to the depository; and 

2. Deposit with the depository, within two business days of 
the receipt, the funds described in subdivision 1 of this 
subsection; 

Deposits made to the depository shall remain escrowed until 
the commission authorizes the release of the funds. 

E. Release of escrowed funds. 

1. A franchisor may apply to the commission for the 
release of escrowed funds together with any interest 
earned.  

2. A franchisor's application to the commission to 
authorize the release of escrowed funds to the franchisor 
shall be in writing, verified by an authorized officer of the 
franchisor and shall contain:  

a. The franchisor’s statement that all proceeds from the 
grant of franchises have been placed with the depository 
in accordance with the terms and conditions of the 
escrow requirement;  

b. The depository’s statement, signed by an appropriate 
officer, setting forth the aggregate amount of escrowed 
funds deposited with the depository and the franchisor's 
account number with the depository;  

c. A list of the names and addresses of each franchisee 
and the amount held in the escrow account for the 
account of each franchisee;  

d. The amount of funds sought to be released; 

e. A written certification from the franchisee stating the 
amount of funds to be released that acknowledges that 
the franchisor has completely performed its pre-opening 
obligations under the franchise agreement, including 
providing real estate, improvements, equipment, 
inventory, training, or other items as required by the 
franchise agreement; and  

f. Other information the commission may reasonably 
require.  

3. If the commission finds that the franchisor has fulfilled 
its obligations under the franchise agreement for a 
specified franchisee, the commission shall authorize the 
depository to release to the franchisor the amount held in 
escrow for the account of the applicable franchisee. 
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F. Removal of escrow requirement. The commission may 
remove the escrow requirement at any time, if:  

1. The franchisor agrees to defer franchise fees and other 
initial payments; or  

2. Based upon new information, the commission finds that 
the escrow requirement is no longer necessary and 
appropriate for the protection of prospective franchisees. 

G. Deferral of fees in place of escrow requirement. 

1. In lieu of an escrow requirement, the commission may, 
under appropriate circumstances, accept a franchisor's 
agreement to defer franchise fees and other initial 
payments owed by franchisees to the franchisor until the 
franchisor has completed its pre-opening obligations under 
the franchise agreement. 

2. The franchisor's agreement to defer franchise fees shall 
be reflected in Item 5 of the offering circular Franchise 
Disclosure Document or in a Virginia Addendum to the 
offering circular Franchise Disclosure Document. 

21VAC5-110-70. Consent to service of process. 

If the franchisor is not a Virginia corporation, a foreign 
corporation or other entity authorized to transact business in 
the Commonwealth of Virginia, the franchisor shall execute 
the Consent to Service of Process on Form D C designating 
the Clerk of the State Corporation Commission, 1300 East 
Main Street, First Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, as the agent 
authorized to receive service of process for the franchisor in 
Virginia. If the franchisor is a Virginia corporation, a foreign 
corporation or other entity authorized to transact business in 
the Commonwealth of Virginia, a Consent to Service of 
Process is not necessary under this section. 

The Division of Securities and Retail Franchising does not 
administer the qualification of foreign corporations. 
Qualification of foreign corporations is handled by the Clerk 
of the State Corporation Commission (804) 371-9672 (804) 
371-9733, P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218. 
Qualification must be completed prior to the filing of the 
application. 

21VAC5-110-75. Exemptions. 

Any offer or grant of a franchise in a transaction that meets 
the requirements of this section is exempt from the 
registration requirement of §13.1-560 of the Act. 

1. Sale or transfer by existing franchisee. The sale or 
transfer of a franchise by a franchisee who is not an 
affiliate of the franchisor for the franchisee's own account 
is exempt if: 

a. The franchisee's entire franchise is sold or transferred 
and the sale or transfer is not effected by or through the 
franchisor.  

b. The sale or transfer is not effected by or through a 
franchisor merely because a franchisor has a right to 
approve or disapprove the sale or transfer or requires 
payment of a reasonable transfer fee. 

2. Offers and grants to existing franchisees. The offer or 
grant of an additional franchise to an existing franchisee of 
the franchisor for the franchisee's own account is exempt if 
the franchise being sold is substantially the same as the 
franchise that the franchisee has operated for at least two 
years at the time of the offer or grant of the franchise, 
provided the prior sale to the franchisee was pursuant to a 
franchise offering that was registered or exempt pursuant 
to the requirements of the Act. 

3. Seasoned franchisor. 

a. The offer or grant of a franchise by a franchisor is 
exempt if: 

(1) The franchisor has a net equity, according to its most 
recently audited financial statements, of not less than 
$15,000,000 on a consolidated basis, or $1,000,000 on an 
unaudited basis and is at least 80% owned by a 
corporation or entity that has a net equity, on a 
consolidated basis, according to its most recently audited 
financial statements, of not less than $15,000,000, and 
the 80% owner guarantees the performance of the 
franchisor's obligations; and  

(2) The franchisor or any 80% owner of the franchisor or 
the franchisor's predecessor, or any combination thereof, 
has had at least 25 franchisees conducting the same 
franchise business to be offered or granted for the entire 
five-year period immediately preceding the offer or 
grant;  

b. The exemption set forth in subdivision 3 of this section 
may be claimed only if the franchisor: 

(1) Files a Form H Notice of Claim of Exemption and 
other material as set forth in subdivision 6 of this section 
no later than 10 business days before the offer or grant of 
any franchise; and 

(2) Submits financial statements demonstrating 
compliance with the conditions set forth in subdivision 3 
a (1) of this section. 

c. An initial exemption filing and any renewal filing shall 
expire after a period of one year. The franchisor shall file 
for a renewal by making an exemption filing if it intends 
to offer or grant franchises for any additional period 
annually, at least 10 business days before the expiration 
of the previously filed Notice of Claim of Exemption. 

4. Institutional franchisee. 

a. The offer or grant of a franchise to a bank, savings 
bank, savings and loan association, trust company, 
insurance company, investment company, or other 
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financial institution, or to a broker-dealer is exempt when 
the:  

(1) Purchaser is acting for itself or in a fiduciary 
capacity; and  

(2) Franchise is not being purchased for the purpose of 
resale to an individual not exempt under this regulation.  

b. The exemption set forth in subdivision 4 a of this 
section may be claimed only if the franchisor files an 
initial filing Form H, Notice of Claim of Exemption, and 
other material as set forth in subdivision 6 a of this 
section, at least 10 business days before each offer or 
grant of each franchise.  

5. Disclosure requirements.  

a. If a franchisor relies upon any of the exemptions set 
forth in subdivision 2, 3 or 4 of this section, the 
franchisor shall provide an offering circular a disclosure 
document complying with 21VAC5-110-90, or Federal 
Trade Commission (FTC) disclosure document pursuant 
to 16 CFR Part 436 21VAC5-110-55 and 21VAC5-110-
95 together with all proposed agreements relating to the 
grant of the franchise to a prospective franchisee 14 
calendar days before the signing of the agreement or the 
payment of any consideration.  

b. Franchisors filing a claim of exemption under 
subdivisions 3 or 4 of this section shall include a self-
addressed stamped envelope by which the commission 
may return to the franchisor a confirmation of receipt of 
the filing and the exemption file number assigned. 
Correspondence shall refer to the assigned file number in 
all subsequent related filings and correspondence with 
the commission. 

6. Filing requirements for exemptions set forth in 
subdivisions 3 and 4 of this section. 

a. Initial exemption filing. 

(1) The initial exemption period shall expire after a 
period of one year. 

(2) Franchisor files an application for exemption of a 
franchise by filing with the commission no later than 10 
business days before the offer or grant of any franchise, 
the following completed forms and other material:  

(a) Notice of Claim of Exemption, Form H;  

(b) Uniform Consent to Service of Process, Form D C; 

(c) If the applicant is a corporation or partnership, an 
authorizing resolution is required if the application is 
verified by a person other than applicant's officer or 
general partner;  

(d) Uniform Franchise Offering Circular or FTC 
disclosure document pursuant to 16 CFR Part 436 
Franchise Disclosure Document; 

(e) Files an undertaking by which it agrees to supply any 
additional information the commission may reasonably 
request; and 

(f) Application fee of $500 (payable to the Treasurer of 
Virginia). 

b. Amendment to exemption filing. 

(1) Upon the occurrence of a material change, the 
franchisor shall amend the effective exemption filed at 
the commission.  

(2) An application to amend a franchise exemption is 
made by submitting the following completed forms and 
other material: 

(a) Notice of Claim of Exemption, Form H;  

(b) One clean copy of the amended Uniform Franchise 
Offering Circular or FTC disclosure document pursuant 
to 16 CFR Part 436 Franchise Disclosure Document; and  

(c) Application fee of $100 (payable to the Treasurer of 
Virginia). 

c. Renewal exemption filing. 

(1) A franchise exemption expires at midnight on the 
annual exemption effective date. An application to renew 
the franchise exemption shall be filed 10 days prior to the 
expiration date in order to prevent a lapse of exemption 
under the Act.  

(2) An application for renewal of a franchise exemption 
is made by submitting the following completed forms 
and other material:  

(a) Notice of Claim of Exemption, Form H;  

(b) One clean copy of the Uniform Franchise Offering 
Circular or FTC disclosure document pursuant to 16 CFR 
Part 436 Franchise Disclosure Document; and  

(c) Application fee of $250 (payable to the Treasurer of 
Virginia). 

21VAC5-110-80. Disclosure General requirements for 
preparation of disclosure documents; definition of disclose 
master franchises; electronic disclosure. 

A. "Disclose" means to state the material facts in an accurate 
and unambiguous manner. Disclosure shall be clear, concise 
and in a narrative form that is understandable by a person 
unfamiliar with the franchise business. For clear and concise 
disclosure avoid legal antiques1 and repetitive phrases.2 When 
possible, use active, not passive voice.3 Limit the length and 
complexity of disclosure through careful organization of 
information in the disclosure. Avoid technical language and 
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unnecessary detail. Make the format and chronological order 
consistent within each Item. Disclosure instructions. 

1. Disclose all required information clearly, legibly, and 
concisely in a single document using plain English. 

B. Since prospective franchisees shall have sufficient 
disclosure to understand economic commitments and to 
develop a business plan, Items 5, 6, 7, and 8 of the UFOC 
shall disclose the minimum and maximum franchisee cost. 
The franchisor shall provide reasonably available information 
to allow franchisees to forecast future charges listed in these 
Items and to be paid to persons who are independent of the 
franchisor. Future payments to the franchisor shall be specific 
as is required by individual Items.  

C. 2. The disclosure for each UFOC FDD item shall be 
separately titled and in the required order. Do not repeat 
the UFOC question in the offering circular FDD. Respond 
to each question fully. If the disclosure is not applicable, 
respond in the negative, but if an answer is required "if 
applicable," respond only if the requested information 
applies. Do not qualify a response with a reference to 
another document unless permitted by the instructions to 
that Item.  

3. For each Item in the UFOC FDD, type the requirement's 
Arabic number and item title and number. Sub-items may 
be designated by descriptive headings, but do not use sub-
item letters and numbers. Exhibits should be identified by a 
letter of the alphabet. 

D. Additional requirements for disclosure are:  

1. Separate documents (for example, a confidential 
operations manual) must not make representations or 
impose terms that contradict or are materially different 
from the disclosure in the offering circular.  

2. Use 8½ by 11 inch paper for the entire application.  

3. When the applicant is a master franchisor seeking to sell 
subfranchises, references in these requirements and 
instructions to "franchisee" include the subfranchisor 
unless the language context requires a different meaning.  

4. The offer of subfranchises is an offer separate from the 
offer of franchises and usually requires a separate 
registration. A single application may register the sale of 
single unit and multi-unit franchises if the offering circular 
is not confusing.  

5. When the applicant is a subfranchisor, disclose to the 
extent applicable the same information concerning the 
subfranchisor that is required about the franchisor.  

6. In offerings by a subfranchisor, "franchisor" means both 
the franchisor and subfranchisor.  

7. The commission may modify or waive these rules or 
may require additional documentation or information.  

8. Grossly deficient applications may be rejected 
summarily by the commission as incomplete for filing.  

E. The instructions on the preparation of the UFOC that 
continue after these provisions use the following format:  

1. The title of the item follows the item number. It is 
capitalized and centered on the page.  

2. The "Item" is a restatement of the UFOC item 
requirement. It is capitalized and follows the title of the 
item.  

3. The "Instruction" appears beneath the item. It explains 
portions of the item requirements.  

4. The "Sample Answer" at the end of each item provides 
sample disclosures. Double horizontal lines divide the 
Sample Answer from the Instructions.  

4. The disclosure must be in a form that permits each 
prospective franchisee to store, download, print, or 
otherwise maintain the disclosure document for future 
reference. 

5. Separate documents (for example, a confidential 
operations manual) must not make representations or 
impose terms that contradict or are materially different 
from the disclosure in the FDD. 

6. Use 8-1/2 by 11 inch paper for the FDD and other forms. 
All documents and disclosures must be readable, using not 
less than 11-point type. 

7. Franchisors may prepare multistate disclosure 
documents by including nonpreempted, state-specific 
information in the text of the FDD or in a Virginia 
Addendum attached to the FDD. The Virginia Addendum 
may be included in an exhibit to the FDD. Any 
amendments to the franchise agreement may be included in 
the Virginia Addendum or in a separate exhibit 
immediately following the franchise agreement. 

8. The two copies of the Item 23 receipt pages should be 
the last two pages of the FDD and should be attached after 
all exhibits. 

9. Before furnishing a FDD, the franchisor must advise the 
prospective franchisee of the formats in which the FDD is 
made available, any prerequisites for obtaining the FDD in 
a particular format, and any conditions necessary for 
reviewing the FDD in a particular format. 

10. Grossly deficient applications may be rejected 
summarily by the commission as incomplete for filing. 

B. Master franchises. 

1. When the applicant is a master franchisor seeking to 
grant master franchises (subfranchises), references in these 
regulations to "franchisee" include the master franchisee 
(subfranchisor).  
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2. The offer of master franchises (subfranchises) is an offer 
separate from the offer of franchises and usually requires a 
separate registration or exemption. A single application 
may register the grant of a single unit and multiunit 
franchises if the FDD is not confusing. 

3. In an offering by a master franchisee (subfranchisor), 
"franchisor" means both the master franchisor and master 
franchisee. 

4. Master franchisees (subfranchisors) must disclose the 
required information about the master franchisor, and to 
the extent applicable, the same information concerning the 
master franchisee. 

C. Electronic disclosure. 

1. A franchisor may deliver a franchise disclosure 
document over the Internet or by other electronic means, or 
in machine-readable media, provided: 

a. The disclosure document is delivered as a single, 
integrated document or file; 

b. The disclosure document has no extraneous content 
beyond what is required or permitted by law or 
regulation, but which may include customary devices for 
manipulating electronic documents in machine-readable 
form and tools or access to tools that may be necessary or 
convenient to enable the recipient to receive and view the 
disclosure document; 

c. The disclosure document has no links to or from 
external documents or content; 

d. The disclosure document is delivered in a form that 
intrinsically enables the recipient to store, retrieve, and 
print the disclosure document; 

e. The disclosure document conforms as to its content 
and format to the requirements of applicable law or 
regulation; 

f. The franchisor can prove that it delivered the 
disclosure document electronically in compliance with 
this subsection, and that it did so at or before the time 
required by applicable law or regulation; and 

g. The franchisor keeps records of its electronic delivery 
of disclosure documents and makes those records 
available on demand by the commission. 

2. For the sole purpose of enhancing the prospective 
franchisee’s ability to maneuver through an electronic 
version of a disclosure document, the franchisor may 
include scroll bars, internal links, and search features. All 
other features such as audio, video, animation, pop-up 
screens or links to external information are prohibited. 

3. "Delivery" requires that the disclosure document be 
conveyed to and received by the prospective franchisee, or 

that the storage media in which the disclosure is stored be 
physically delivered to the prospective franchisee in 
accordance with subdivision 1 a of this subsection. 

4. This subsection does not change or waive any other 
requirement of law or regulation concerning registration or 
presale disclosure of franchise offerings. 

D. Other requirements. 

1. If the franchise agreement requires a franchisee to sign a 
release or waiver as a condition of consenting to some 
future action, such as a transfer or assignment of the 
franchise, include a sample copy of the document the 
franchisee will be asked to sign. This requirement does not 
apply to negotiated releases or waivers that a franchisee 
may sign to resolve a dispute with the franchisor. 

2. The commission may modify or waive the provisions of 
this chapter or may require additional documentation or 
information. 

1Avoid these legal antiques. Preferred substitutes are in 
parentheses; aforesaid; arising from (from); as between; as an 
inducement for; as part of the consideration; as set forth in 
(in); as the case may be; at a later point in time; binding upon 
and inure; commerce (begin); condition precedent (before); 
condition subsequent (after); consist of (are); engaged in the 
business of offering (offers); for and in consideration of the 
grant of the franchise; for a period of (for); foregoing; 
forthwith; from time to time; further; hereby; herein; 
hereinafter; hereto; heretofore; if necessary; in the event (if); 
including but not limited to (including); in any manner 
whatsoever; including without limitation (including); in 
conjunction with; in no event; in the event of (if); in whole or 
in part; it will be specifically understood that; manner in 
which; not later than (within, by); not less than (at least); 
notwithstanding; offers to an individual, corporation or 
partnership (offer); on behalf of (for); precedent (before); 
prescribed (required); prior to (before); provided however 
(but, unless); provided that (if, unless); purporting to; relating 
to (under); subsequent (after); such (this); so as to (to); so 
long as (while); thereafter; therefrom; thereof; thereunder; 
without limiting the foregoing; whatsoever; with respect to.  
2Avoid repetitive phrases. Preferred substitutes are in 
parentheses; agrees, acknowledges and recognizes; any and 
all; are and remain; based upon, related to, or growing out of 
(because); certified as true and correct (certified); 
consultation, assistance and guidance (guidance); each and 
every; equipment, furniture, supplies and inventory; set forth 
on the equipment list attached as Exhibit __ (items on Exhibit 
__); necessary and appropriate; sample, test and review (test); 
and twenty-three (23)(write as 23).  
3The preferred phrase is in parentheses. As the franchisor 
prescribes (you must); being offered (offers); consist of (is); 
engaged in the business of offering (offer); giving rise to; if it 
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becomes necessary; for (if); inure to the benefit of (benefits); 
is granted the right to (can); is given an opportunity to (can); 
is required to (must); shall be no less than (a minimum of); 
shall continue in effect (continues); with the exception of 
(except).  

21VAC5-110-90. Requirements for UFOC preparation. 
(Repealed.) 

21VAC5-110-95. Requirements for Franchise Disclosure 
Document preparation. 

[ A. ] Applications for registration of a franchise, or 
applications for renewal or amendment of an existing 
franchise registration, must comply with the following 
requirements for preparing the contents of a Franchise 
Disclosure Document. Except for financial statement 
requirements for start-up franchise systems, as further 
discussed in Item 21, these requirements are substantively 
equivalent to the requirements adopted under the Federal 
Trade Commission Franchise Rule, 16 CFR 436.3 through 16 
CFR 436.5, effective July 1, 2007. 

Contents of the Franchise Disclosure Document 

The Cover Page 

Begin the disclosure document with a cover page, in the order 
and form as follows: 

1. The title "FRANCHISE DISCLOSURE 
DOCUMENT" in capital letters and bold type. 

2. The franchisor’s name, type of business organization, 
principal business address, telephone number, and, if 
applicable, email address and primary home page address. 

3. A sample of the primary business trademark that the 
franchisee will use in its business. 

4. A brief description of the franchised business. 

5. The following statements: 

a. The total investment necessary to begin operation of a 
[franchise system name] franchise is [the total amount of 
Item 7]. This includes [the total amount in Item 5] that 
must be paid to the franchisor or affiliate. 

b. This disclosure document summarizes certain 
provisions of your franchise agreement and other 
information in plain English. Read this disclosure 
document and all accompanying agreements carefully. 
You must receive this disclosure document at least 14 
calendar days before you sign a binding agreement with, 
or make any payment to, the franchisor or an affiliate in 
connection with the proposed franchise sale or grant. 
[The following sentence in bold type] Note, however, 
that no governmental agency has verified the information 
contained in this document. 

c. The terms of your contract will govern your franchise 
relationship. Don’t rely on the disclosure document alone 
to understand your contract. Read all of your contract 
carefully. Show your contract and this disclosure 
document to an advisor, such as a lawyer or an 
accountant. 

d. Buying a franchise is a complex investment. The 
information in this disclosure document can help you 
make up your mind. More information on franchising, 
such as "A Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise," 
which can help you understand how to use this disclosure 
document, is available from the Federal Trade 
Commission. You can contact the FTC at 1-877-FTC-
HELP or by writing to the FTC at 600 Pennsylvania 
Avenue, NW, Washington, D.C. 20580. You can also 
visit the FTC’s home page at www.ftc.gov for additional 
information. Call your state agency or visit your public 
library for other sources of information on franchising. 

e. There may also be laws on franchising in your state. 
Ask your state agencies about them. 

f. [The issuance date]. 

6. A franchisor may include the following statement 
between the statements set out at subdivisions b and c of 
the cover page: "You may wish to receive your disclosure 
document in another format that is more convenient for 
you. To discuss the availability of disclosures in different 
formats, contact [name or office] at [address] and 
[telephone number]." 

7. Franchisors may include additional disclosures on the 
cover page, on a separate cover page, or addendum to 
comply with state presale disclosure laws. 

The Table of Contents 

Include the following table of contents. State the page where 
each disclosure item begins. List all exhibits by letter, as 
shown in the following example. 

Table of Contents 

1. The Franchisor and any Parents, Predecessors, and 
Affiliates 

2. Business Experience 

3. Litigation 

4. Bankruptcy 

5. Initial Fees 

6. Other Fees 

7. Estimated Initial Investment 

8. Restrictions on Sources of Products and Services 

9. Franchisee’s Obligations 
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10. Financing 

11. Franchisor’s Assistance, Advertising, Computer 
Systems, and Training 

12. Territory 

13. Trademarks 

14. Patents, Copyrights, and Proprietary Information 

15. Obligation to Participate in the Actual Operation of the 
Franchise Business 

16. Restrictions on What the Franchisee May Sell 

17. Renewal, Termination, Transfer, and Dispute 
Resolution 

18. Public Figures 

19. Financial Performance Representations 

20. Outlets and Franchisee Information 

21. Financial Statements 

22. Contracts 

23. Receipts 

Exhibits 

A. Franchise Agreement 

[ B. Additional exhibits as applicable ]  

B. The [ Disclosure Items additional requirements for 
preparation of the Franchise Disclosure Document are 
contained below: ]  

1. Item 1: The Franchisor, and any Parents, Predecessors, 
and Affiliates. 

Disclose: 

a. The name and principal business address of the 
franchisor; any parents; and any affiliates that offer 
franchises in any line of business or provide products or 
services to the franchisees of the franchisor. 

b. The name and principal business address of any 
predecessors during the 10-year period immediately 
before the close of the franchisor’s most recent fiscal 
year. 

c. The name that the franchisor uses and any names it 
intends to use to conduct business. 

d. The identity and principal business address of the 
franchisor’s agent for service of process. 

e. The type of business organization used by the 
franchisor (for example, corporation, partnership) and the 
state in which it was organized. 

f. The following information about the franchisor’s 
business and the franchises offered: 

(1) Whether the franchisor operates businesses of the 
type being franchised. 

(2) The franchisor’s other business activities. 

(3) The business the franchisee will conduct. 

(4) The general market for the product or service the 
franchisee will offer.  In describing the general market, 
consider factors such as whether the market is developed 
or developing, whether the goods will be sold primarily 
to a certain group, and whether sales are seasonal. 

(5) In general terms, any laws or regulations specific to 
the industry in which the franchise business operates. 

(6) A general description of the competition. 

g. The prior business experience of the franchisor; any 
predecessors listed in Item 1 b; and any affiliates that 
offer franchises in any line of business or provide 
products or services to the franchisees of the franchisor, 
including: 

(1) The length of time each has conducted the type of 
business the franchisee will operate. 

(2) The length of time each has offered franchises 
providing the type of business the franchisee will 
operate.  

(3) Whether each has offered franchises in other lines of 
business. If so, include: 

(a) A description of each other line of business. 

(b) The number of franchises sold in each other line of 
business. 

(c) The length of time each has offered franchises in each 
other line of business. 

2. Item 2: Business Experience. 

Disclose by name and position the franchisor’s directors, 
trustees, general partners, principal officers, and any other 
individuals who will have management responsibility 
relating to the sale, grant or operation of franchises offered 
by this document. For each person listed in this section, 
state his principal positions and employers during the past 
five years, including each position’s starting date, ending 
date, and location. 

3. Item 3: Litigation. 

a. Disclose whether the franchisor; a predecessor; a 
parent or affiliate who induces franchise sales or grants 
by promising to back the franchisor financially or 
otherwise guarantees the franchisor’s performance; an 
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affiliate who offers franchises under the franchisor’s 
principal trademark; and any person identified in Item 2: 

(1) Has pending against that person: 

(a) An administrative, criminal, or material civil action 
alleging a violation of a franchise, antitrust, or securities 
law, or alleging fraud, unfair or deceptive practices, or 
comparable allegations. 

(b) Civil actions, other than ordinary routine litigation 
incidental to the business, which are material in the 
context of the number of franchisees and the size, nature, 
or financial condition of the franchise system or its 
business operations. 

(2) Was a party to any material civil action involving the 
franchise relationship in the last fiscal year. For purposes 
of this item, "franchise relationship" means contractual 
obligations between the franchisor and franchisee 
directly relating to the operation of the franchised 
business (such as royalty payment and training 
obligations). It does not include actions involving 
suppliers or other third parties, or indemnification for tort 
liability. 

(3) Has in the 10-year period immediately before the 
disclosure document’s issuance date: 

(a) Been convicted of or pleaded nolo contendere to a 
felony charge.  

(b) Been held liable in a civil action involving an alleged 
violation of a franchise, antitrust, or securities law, or 
involving allegations of fraud, unfair or deceptive 
practices, or comparable allegations.  "Held liable" 
means that, as a result of claims or counterclaims, the 
person must pay money or other consideration, must 
reduce an indebtedness by the amount of an award, 
cannot enforce its rights, or must take action adverse to 
its interests. 

b. Disclose whether the franchisor; a predecessor; a 
parent or affiliate who guarantees the franchisor’s 
performance; an affiliate who has offered, sold or granted 
franchises in any line of business within the last 10 years; 
or any other person identified in Item 2 is subject to a 
currently effective injunctive or restrictive order or 
decree resulting from a pending or concluded action 
brought by a public agency and relating to the franchise 
or to a federal, state, or Canadian franchise, securities, 
antitrust, trade regulation, or trade practice law. 

c. For each action identified in subdivision a and b of 
Item 3, state the title, case number or citation, the initial 
filing date, the names of the parties, the forum, and the 
relationship of the opposing party to the franchisor (for 
example, competitor, supplier, lessor, franchisee, former 
franchisee, or class of franchisees). Except as provided in 
subdivision d of Item 3, summarize the legal and factual 

nature of each claim in the action, the relief sought or 
obtained, and any conclusions of law or fact.1 In addition, 
state: 

(1) For pending actions, the status of the action. 

(2) For prior actions, the date when the judgment was 
entered and any damages or settlement terms.2 

(3) For injunctive or restrictive orders, the nature, terms, 
and conditions of the order or decree. 

(4) For convictions or pleas, the crime or violation, the 
date of conviction, and the sentence or penalty imposed. 

d. For any other franchisor-initiated suit identified in 
subdivision a (2) of Item 3, the franchisor may comply 
with the requirements of subdivision c (1) through (4) of 
Item 3 by listing individual suits under one common 
heading that will serve as the case summary (for 
example, "royalty collection suits"). 

4. Item 4: Bankruptcy. 

a. Disclose whether the franchisor; any parent; 
predecessor; affiliate; officer, or general partner of the 
franchisor, or any other individual who will have 
management responsibility relating to the sale, grant or 
operation of franchises offered by this document, has, 
during the 10-year period immediately before the date of 
this disclosure document: 

(1) Filed as debtor (or had filed against it) a petition 
under the United States Bankruptcy Code (Bankruptcy 
Code). 

(2) Obtained a discharge of its debts under the 
Bankruptcy Code. 

(3) Been a principal officer of a company or a general 
partner in a partnership that either filed as a debtor (or 
had filed against it) a petition under the Bankruptcy 
Code, or that obtained a discharge of its debts under the 
Bankruptcy Code while, or within one year after, the 
officer or general partner held the position in the 
company. 

b. For each bankruptcy, state: 

(1) The current name, address, and principal place of 
business of the debtor. 

(2) Whether the debtor is the franchisor. If not, state the 
relationship of the debtor to the franchisor (for example, 
affiliate, officer). 

(3) The date of the original filing and the material facts, 
including the bankruptcy court, and the case name and 
number. If applicable, state the debtor’s discharge date, 
including discharges under Chapter 7 and confirmation 
of any plans of reorganization under Chapters 11 and 13 
of the Bankruptcy Code. 
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c. Disclose cases, actions, and other proceedings under 
the laws of foreign nations relating to bankruptcy. 

5. Item 5: Initial Fees. 

Disclose the initial fees and any conditions under which 
these fees are refundable. If the initial fees are not uniform, 
disclose the range or formula used to calculate the initial 
fees paid in the fiscal year before the issuance date and the 
factors that determined the amount. For this item, "initial 
fees" means all fees and payments, or commitments to pay, 
for services or goods received from the franchisor or any 
affiliate before the franchisee’s business opens, whether 
payable in lump sum or installments. Disclose installment 
payment terms in this section or in Item 10. 

6. Item 6: Other Fees. 

Disclose, in the following tabular form, all other fees that 
the franchisee must pay to the franchisor or its affiliates, or 
that the franchisor or its affiliates impose or collect in 
whole or in part for a third party. State the title "OTHER 
FEES" in capital letters using bold type. Include any 
formula used to compute the fees.3 

  Item 6 Table 

OTHER FEES 

  Column 1 

Type of 
fee 

Column 2 

Amount 

Column 3 

Due Date 

Column 4 

Remarks 

          

a. In column 1, list the type of fee (for example, royalties, 
and fees for lease negotiations, construction, remodeling, 
additional training or assistance, advertising, advertising 
cooperatives, purchasing cooperatives, audits, 
accounting, inventory, transfers, and renewals). 

b. In column 2, state the amount of the fee. 

c. In column 3, state the due date for each fee. 

d. In column 4, include remarks, definitions, or caveats 
that elaborate on the information in the table. If remarks 
are long, franchisors may use footnotes instead of the 
remarks column. If applicable, include the following 
information in the remarks column or in a footnote: 

(1) Whether the fees are payable only to the franchisor. 

(2) Whether the fees are imposed and collected by the 
franchisor. 

(3) Whether the fees are nonrefundable or describe the 
circumstances when the fees are refundable. 

(4) Whether the fees are uniformly imposed.  

(5) The voting power of franchisor-owned outlets on any 
fees imposed by cooperatives. If franchisor-owned 
outlets have controlling voting power, disclose the 
maximum and minimum fees that may be imposed. 

7. Item 7: Estimated Initial Investment. 

Disclose, in the following tabular form, the franchisee’s 
estimated initial investment. State the title "YOUR 
ESTIMATED INITIAL INVESTMENT" in capital letters 
using bold type. Franchisors may include additional 
expenditure tables to show expenditure variations caused 
by differences such as in site location and premises size. 

Item 7 Table 

YOUR ESTIMATED INITIAL INVESTMENT 

Column 1 Column 
2 

Column 
3 

Column 
4 

Column 
5 

Type of 
expendi-

ture Amount 

Method 
of 

payment 
When 
due 

To 
whom 

payment 
is to be 
made 

          

 

Total         

a. In column 1: 

(1) List each type of expense, beginning with pre-
opening expenses. Include the following expenses, if 
applicable. Use footnotes to include remarks, definitions, 
or caveats that elaborate on the information in the table. 

(a) The initial franchise fee. 

(b) Training expenses. 

(c) Real property, whether purchased or leased. 

(d) Equipment, fixtures, other fixed assets, construction, 
remodeling, leasehold improvements, and decorating 
costs, whether purchased or leased. 

(e) Inventory to begin operating. 

(f) Security deposits, utility deposits, business licenses, 
and other prepaid expenses. 

(2) List separately and by name any other specific 
required payments (for example, additional training, 
travel, or advertising expenses) that the franchisee must 
make to begin operations. 

(3) Include a category titled "Additional funds – [initial 
period]" for any other required expenses the franchisee 
will incur before operations begin and during the initial 
period of operations. State the initial period. A 
reasonable initial period is at least three months or a 
reasonable period for the industry. Describe in general 
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terms the factors, basis, and experience that the 
franchisor considered or relied upon in formulating the 
amount required for additional funds. 

b. In column 2, state the amount of the payment. If the 
amount is unknown, use a low-high range based on the 
franchisor’s current experience. If real property costs 
cannot be estimated in a low-high range, describe the 
approximate size of the property and building and the 
probable location of the building (for example, strip 
shopping center, mall, downtown, rural, or highway). 

c. In column 3, state the method of payment. 

d. In column 4, state the due date. 

e. In column 5, state to whom payment will be made. 

f. Total the initial investment, incorporating ranges of 
fees, if used. 

g. In a footnote, state: 

(1) Whether each payment is nonrefundable, or describe 
the circumstances when each payment is refundable. 

(2) If the franchisor or an affiliate finances part of the 
initial investment, the amount that it will finance, the 
required down payment, the annual interest rate, rate 
factors, and the estimated loan repayments.  Franchisors 
may refer to Item 10 for additional details. 

8. Item 8: Restrictions on Sources of Products and 
Services. 

Disclose the franchisee’s obligations to purchase or lease 
goods, services, supplies, fixtures, equipment, inventory, 
computer hardware and software, real estate, or 
comparable items related to establishing or operating the 
franchised business either from the franchisor, its designee, 
or suppliers approved by the franchisor, or under the 
franchisor’s specifications. Include obligations to purchase 
imposed by the franchisor’s written agreement or by the 
franchisor’s practice.4 For each applicable obligation, state: 

a. The good or service required to be purchased or leased. 

b. Whether the franchisor or its affiliates are approved 
suppliers or the only approved suppliers of that good or 
service. 

c. Any supplier in which an officer of the franchisor 
owns an interest. 

d. How the franchisor grants and revokes approval of 
alternative suppliers, including: 

(1) Whether the franchisor’s criteria for approving 
suppliers are available to franchisees.  

(2) Whether the franchisor permits franchisees to 
contract with alternative suppliers who meet the 
franchisor’s criteria. 

(3) Any fees and procedures to secure approval to 
purchase from alternative suppliers. 

(4) The time period in which the franchisee will be 
notified of approval or disapproval.  

(5) How approvals are revoked. 

e. Whether the franchisor issues specifications and 
standards to franchisees, subfranchisees, or approved 
suppliers. If so, describe how the franchisor issues and 
modifies specifications. 

f. Whether the franchisor or its affiliates will or may 
derive revenue or other material consideration from 
required purchases or leases by franchisees. If so, 
describe the precise basis by which the franchisor or its 
affiliates will or may derive that consideration by stating: 

(1) The franchisor’s total revenue.5 

(2) The franchisor’s revenues from all required purchases 
and leases of products and services. 

(3) The percentage of the franchisor’s total revenues that 
are from required purchases or leases. 

(4) If the franchisor’s affiliates also sell or lease products 
or services to franchisees, the affiliates’ revenues from 
those sales or leases. 

g. The estimated proportion of these required purchases 
and leases by the franchisee to all purchases and leases 
by the franchisee of goods and services in establishing 
and operating the franchised businesses. 

h. If a designated supplier will make payments to the 
franchisor from franchisee purchases, disclose the basis 
for the payment (for example, specify a percentage or a 
flat amount). For purposes of this disclosure, a 
"payment" includes the sale of similar goods or services 
to the franchisor at a lower price than to franchisees. 

i. The existence of purchasing or distribution 
cooperatives. 

j. Whether the franchisor negotiates purchase 
arrangements with suppliers, including price terms, for 
the benefit of franchisees. 

k. Whether the franchisor provides material benefits (for 
example, renewal or granting additional franchises) to a 
franchisee based on a franchisee’s purchase of particular 
products or services or use of particular suppliers. 

9. Item 9: Franchisee’s Obligations. 

Disclose, in the following tabular form, a list of the 
franchisee’s principal obligations. State the title 
"FRANCHISEE’S OBLIGATIONS" in capital letters 
using bold type. Cross-reference each listed obligation with 
any applicable section of the franchise or other agreement 
and with the relevant disclosure document provision. If a 
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particular obligation is not applicable, state "Not 
Applicable." Include additional obligations, as warranted. 

Item 9 Table 

FRANCHISEE’S OBLIGATIONS 

[In bold] This table lists your principal obligations under the 
franchise and other agreements.  It will help you find more 
detailed information about your obligations in these 
agreements and in other items of this disclosure document. 

Obligation 
Section in 
agreement 

Disclosure 
document 

item 

a. Site selection and 
acquisition/lease 

    

b. Pre-opening purchase/leases     

c. Site development and other pre-
opening requirements 

    

d. Initial and ongoing training     

e. Opening     

f. Fees     

g. Compliance with standards and 
policies/operating manual 

    

h. Trademarks and proprietary 
information 

    

i. Restrictions on 
products/services offered 

    

j. Warranty and customer service 
requirements 

    

k. Territorial development and 
sales quotas 

    

l. Ongoing product/service 
purchases 

    

m. Maintenance, appearance, and 
remodeling requirements 

    

n. Insurance     

o. Advertising     

p. Indemnification     

q. Owner’s 
participation/management/staffing 

    

r. Records and reports     

s. Inspections and audits     

t. Transfer     

u. Renewal     

v. Posttermination obligations     

w. Noncompetition covenants     

x. Dispute resolution     

y. Other (describe)     

10. Item 10: Financing. 

a. Disclose the terms of each financing arrangement, 
including leases and installment contracts, that the 
franchisor, its agent, or affiliates offer directly or 
indirectly to the franchisee.6 The franchisor may 
summarize the terms of each financing arrangement in 
tabular form, using footnotes to provide additional 
information. For a sample Item 10 table, see Appendix A. 
For each financing arrangement, state: 

(1) What the financing covers (for example, the initial 
franchise fee, site acquisition, construction or 
remodeling, initial or replacement equipment or fixtures, 
opening or ongoing inventory or supplies, or other 
continuing expenses).7 

(2) The identity of each lender providing financing and 
their relationship to the franchisor (for example, 
affiliate). 

(3) The amount of financing offered or, if the amount 
depends on an actual cost that may vary, the percentage 
of the cost that will be financed. 

(4) The rate of interest, plus finance charges, expressed 
on an annual basis. If the rate of interest, plus finance 
charges, expressed on an annual basis, may differ 
depending on when the financing is issued, state what 
that rate was on a specified recent date. 

(5) The number of payments or the period of repayment. 

(6) The nature of any security interest required by the 
lender. 

(7) Whether a person other than the franchisee must 
personally guarantee the debt. 

(8) Whether the debt can be prepaid and the nature of any 
prepayment penalty. 

(9) The franchisee’s potential liabilities upon default, 
including any: 

(a) Accelerated obligation to pay the entire amount due; 

(b) Obligations to pay court costs and attorney’s fees 
incurred in collecting the debt; 

(c) Termination of the franchise; and  

(d) Liabilities from cross defaults such as those resulting 
directly from nonpayment, or indirectly from the loss of 
business property. 

(10) Other material financing terms. 
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b. Disclose whether the loan agreement requires 
franchisees to waive defenses or other legal rights (for 
example, confession of judgment), or bars franchisees 
from asserting a defense against the lender, the lender’s 
assignee or the franchisor. If so, describe the relevant 
provisions. 

c. Disclose whether the franchisor’s practice or intent is 
to sell, assign, or discount to a third party all or part of 
the financing arrangement. If so, state: 

(1) The assignment terms, including whether the 
franchisor will remain primarily obligated to provide the 
financed goods or services; and 

(2) That the franchisee may lose all its defenses against 
the lender as a result of the sale or assignment. 

d. Disclose whether the franchisor or an affiliate receives 
any consideration for placing financing with the lender.  
If such payments exist: 

(1) Disclose the amount or the method of determining the 
payment; and 

(2) Identify the source of the payment and the 
relationship of the source to the franchisor or its 
affiliates. 

11. Item 11: Franchisor’s Assistance, Advertising, 
Computer Systems, and Training. 

Disclose the franchisor’s principal assistance and related 
obligations of both the franchisor and franchisee as 
follows. For each obligation, cite the section number of the 
franchise agreement imposing the obligation. Begin by 
stating the following sentence in bold type: "Except as 
listed below, [the franchisor] is not required to provide you 
with any assistance." 

a. Disclose the franchisor’s pre-opening obligations to 
the franchisee, including any assistance in: 

(1) Locating a site and negotiating the purchase or lease 
of the site. If such assistance is provided, state: 

(a) Whether the franchisor generally owns the premises 
and leases it to the franchisee. 

(b) Whether the franchisor selects the site or approves an 
area in which the franchisee selects a site. If so, state 
further whether and how the franchisor must approve a 
franchisee-selected site. 

(c) The factors that the franchisor considers in selecting 
or approving sites (for example, general location and 
neighborhood, traffic patterns, parking, size, physical 
characteristics of existing buildings, and lease terms). 

(d) The time limit for the franchisor to locate or approve 
or disapprove the site and the consequences if the 
franchisor and franchisee cannot agree on a site. 

(2) Conforming the premises to local ordinances and 
building codes and obtaining any required permits. 

(3) Constructing, remodeling, or decorating the premises. 

(4) Hiring and training employees. 

(5) Providing for necessary equipment, signs, fixtures, 
opening inventory, and supplies.  If any such assistance 
is provided, state: 

(a) Whether the franchisor provides these items directly 
or only provides the names of approved suppliers. 

(b) Whether the franchisor provides written 
specifications for these items. 

(c) Whether the franchisor delivers or installs these 
items. 

b. Disclose the typical length of time between the earlier 
of the signing of the franchise agreement or the first 
payment of consideration for the franchise and the 
opening of the franchisee’s business. Describe the factors 
that may affect the time period, such as ability to obtain a 
lease, financing or building permits, zoning and local 
ordinances, weather conditions, shortages, or delayed 
installation of equipment, fixtures, and signs. 

c. Disclose the franchisor’s obligations to the franchisee 
during the operation of the franchise, including any 
assistance in: 

(1) Developing products or services the franchisee will 
offer to its customers. 

(2) Hiring and training employees. 

(3) Improving and developing the franchised business. 

(4) Establishing prices. 

(5) Establishing and using administrative, bookkeeping, 
accounting, and inventory control procedures. 

(6) Resolving operating problems encountered by the 
franchisee. 

d. Describe the advertising program for the franchise 
system, including the following: 

(1) The franchisor’s obligation to conduct advertising, 
including: 

(a) The media the franchisor may use. 

(b) Whether media coverage is local, regional, or 
national. 

(c) The source of the advertising (for example, an in-
house advertising department or a national or regional 
advertising agency). 
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(d) Whether the franchisor must spend any amount on 
advertising in the area or territory where the franchisee is 
located. 

(2) The circumstances when the franchisor will permit 
franchisees to use their own advertising material. 

(3) Whether there is an advertising council composed of 
franchisees that advises the franchisor on advertising 
policies. If so, disclose: 

(a) How members of the council are selected. 

(b) Whether the council serves in an advisory capacity 
only or has operational or decision-making power.  

(c) Whether the franchisor has the power to form, 
change, or dissolve the advertising council. 

(4) Whether the franchisee must participate in a local or 
regional advertising cooperative. If so, state: 

(a) How the area or membership of the cooperative is 
defined. 

(b) How much the franchisee must contribute to the fund 
and whether other franchisees must contribute a different 
amount or at a different rate. 

(c) Whether the franchisor-owned outlets must contribute 
to the fund and, if so, whether those contributions are on 
the same basis as those for franchisees. 

(d) Who is responsible for administering the cooperative 
(for example, franchisor, franchisees, or advertising 
agency). 

(e) Whether cooperatives must operate from written 
governing documents and whether the documents are 
available for the franchisee to review. 

(f) Whether cooperatives must prepare annual or periodic 
financial statements and whether the statements are 
available for review by the franchisee. 

(g) Whether the franchisor has the power to require 
cooperatives to be formed, changed, dissolved, or 
merged. 

(5) Whether the franchisee must participate in any other 
advertising fund. If so, state: 

(a) Who contributes to the fund. 

(b) How much the franchisee must contribute to the fund 
and whether other franchisees must contribute a different 
amount or at a different rate. 

(c) Whether the franchisor-owned outlets must contribute 
to the fund and, if so, whether it is on the same basis as 
franchisees. 

(d) Who administers the fund. 

(e) Whether the fund is audited and when it is audited. 

(f) Whether financial statements of the fund are available 
for review by the franchisee.  

(g) How the funds were used in the most recently 
concluded fiscal year, including the percentages spent on 
production, media placement, administrative expenses, 
and a description of any other use.  

(6) If not all advertising funds are spent in the fiscal year 
in which they accrue, how the franchisor uses the 
remaining amount, including whether franchisees receive 
a periodic accounting of how advertising fees are spent. 

(7) The percentage of advertising funds, if any, that the 
franchisor uses principally to solicit new franchise sales 
or grants. 

e. Disclose whether the franchisor requires the franchisee 
to buy or use electronic cash registers or computer 
systems. If so, describe the systems generally in 
nontechnical language, including the types of data to be 
generated or stored in these systems, and state the 
following: 

(1) The cost of purchasing or leasing the systems. 

(2) Any obligation of the franchisor, any affiliate, or third 
party to provide ongoing maintenance, repairs, upgrades, 
or updates. 

(3) Any obligations of the franchisee to upgrade or 
update any system during the term of the franchise, and, 
if so, any contractual limitations on the frequency and 
cost of the obligation. 

(4) The annual cost of any optional or required 
maintenance, updating, upgrading, or support contracts. 

(5) Whether the franchisor will have independent access 
to the information that will be generated or stored in any 
electronic cash register or computer system. If so, 
describe the information that the franchisor may access 
and whether there are any contractual limitations on the 
franchisor’s right to access the information. 

f. Disclose the table of contents of the franchisor’s 
operating manual provided to franchisees as of the 
franchisor’s last fiscal year-end or a more recent date. 
State the number of pages devoted to each subject and 
the total number of pages in the manual as of this date. 
This disclosure may be omitted if the franchisor offers 
the prospective franchisee the opportunity to view the 
manual before buying the franchise. 

g. Disclose the franchisor’s training program as of the 
franchisor’s last fiscal year-end or a more recent date. 
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(1) Describe the training program in the following tabular 
form. Title the table "TRAINING PROGRAM" in capital 
letters and bold type. 

  Item 11 Table 

TRAINING PROGRAM 

  Column 1 Column 2 Column 3 Column 4 

  

Subject 
Hours of 

Classroom 
Training 

Hours of 
On-The-

Job 
Training 

Location 

(a) In column 1, state the subjects taught. 

(b) In column 2, state the hours of classroom training for 
each subject. 

(c) In column 3, state the hours of on-the-job training for 
each subject. 

(d) In column 4, state the location of the training for each 
subject.  

(2) State further: 

(a) How often training classes are held and the nature of 
the location or facility where training is held (for 
example, company, home, office, franchisor-owned 
store). 

(b) The nature of instructional materials and the 
instructor’s experience, including the instructor’s length 
of experience in the field and with the franchisor.  State 
only experience relevant to the subject taught and the 
franchisor’s operations. 

(c) Any charges franchisees must pay for training and 
who must pay travel and living expenses of the training 
program enrollees. 

(d) Who may and who must attend training. State 
whether the franchisee or other persons must complete 
the program to the franchisor’s satisfaction. If successful 
completion is required, state how long after signing the 
agreement or before opening the business the training 
must be completed.  If training is not mandatory, state the 
percentage of new franchisees that enrolled in the 
training program during the preceding 12 months. 

(e) Whether additional training programs or refresher 
courses are required.  

12. Item 12: Territory. 

Disclose: 

a. Whether the franchise is for a specific location or a 
location to be approved by the franchisor. 

b. Any minimum territory granted to the franchisee (for 
example, a specific radius, a distance sufficient to 

encompass a specified population, or another specific 
designation). 

c. The conditions under which the franchisor will 
approve the relocation of the franchised business or the 
franchisee’s establishment of additional franchised 
outlets. 

d. Franchisee options, rights of first refusal, or similar 
rights to acquire additional franchises. 

e. Whether the franchisor grants an exclusive territory. 

(1) If the franchisor does not grant an exclusive territory, 
state: "You will not receive an exclusive territory. You 
may face competition from other franchisees, from 
outlets that we own, or from other channels of 
distribution or competitive brands that we control." 

(2) If the franchisor grants an exclusive territory, 
disclose: 

(a) Whether continuation of territorial exclusivity 
depends on achieving a certain sales volume, market 
penetration, or other contingency, and the circumstances 
when the franchisee’s territory may be altered. Describe 
any sales or other conditions. State the franchisor’s rights 
if the franchisee fails to meet the requirements. 

(b) Any other circumstances that permit the franchisor to 
modify the franchisee’s territorial rights (for example, a 
population increase in the territory giving the franchisor 
the right to grant an additional franchise in the area) and 
the effect of such modifications on the franchisee’s 
rights. 

f. For all territories (exclusive and nonexclusive): 

(1) Any restrictions on the franchisor from soliciting or 
accepting orders from consumers inside the franchisee’s 
territory, including: 

(a) Whether the franchisor or an affiliate has used or 
reserves the right to use other channels of distribution 
such as the Internet, catalog sales, telemarketing, or other 
direct marketing sales to make sales within the 
franchisee’s territory using the franchisor’s principal 
trademarks. 

(b) Whether the franchisor or an affiliate has used or 
reserves the right to use other channels of distribution 
such as the Internet, catalog sales, telemarketing, or other 
direct marketing to make sales within the franchisee’s 
territory of products or services under trademarks 
different from the ones the franchisee will use under the 
franchise agreement. 

(c) Any compensation that the franchisor must pay for 
soliciting or accepting orders from inside the franchisee’s 
territory. 
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(2) Any restrictions on the franchisee from soliciting or 
accepting orders from consumers outside of his territory, 
including whether the franchisee has the right to use 
other channels of distribution such as the Internet, 
catalog sales, telemarketing, or other direct marketing to 
make sales outside of his territory. 

(3) If the franchisor or an affiliate operates, franchises, or 
has plans to operate or franchise a business under a 
different trademark and that business sells or will sell 
goods or services similar to those the franchisee will 
offer, describe: 

(a) The similar goods and services. 

(b) The different trademark. 

(c) Whether outlets will be franchisor-owned or -
operated. 

(d) Whether the franchisor or its franchisees who use the 
different trademark will solicit or accept orders within 
the franchisee’s territory. 

(e) The timetable for the plan. 

(f) How the franchisor will resolve conflicts between the 
franchisor and franchisees and between the franchisees of 
each system regarding territory, customers, and 
franchisor support. 

(g) The principal business address of the franchisor’s 
similar operating business. If it is the same as the 
franchisor’s principal business address stated in Item 1, 
disclose whether the franchisor maintains (or plans to 
maintain) physically separate offices and training 
facilities for the similar competing business. 

13. Item 13: Trademarks. 

a. Disclose each principal trademark to be licensed to the 
franchisee. For this item, "principal trademark" means 
the primary trademarks, service marks, names, logos, and 
commercial symbols the franchisee will use to identify 
the franchised business. It may not include every 
trademark the franchisor owns. 

b. Disclose whether each principal trademark is 
registered with the United States Patent and Trademark 
Office. If so, state: 

(1) The date and identification number of each trademark 
registration.  

(2) Whether the franchisor has filed all required 
affidavits. 

(3) Whether any registration has been renewed. 

(4) Whether the principal trademarks are registered on 
the Principal or Supplemental Register of the United 
States Patent and Trademark Office. 

c. If the principal trademark is not registered with the 
United States Patent and Trademark Office, state whether 
the franchisor has filed any trademark application, 
including any "intent to use" application or an application 
based on actual use. If so, state the date and identification 
number of the application. 

d. If the trademark is not registered on the Principal 
Register of the United States Patent and Trademark 
Office, state: "We do not have a federal registration for 
our principal trademark. Therefore, our trademark does 
not have many legal benefits and rights as a federally 
registered trademark. If our right to use the trademark is 
challenged, you may have to change to an alternative 
trademark, which may increase your expenses." 

e. Disclose any currently effective material 
determinations of the United States Patent and 
Trademark Office, the Trademark Trial and Appeal 
Board, or any state trademark administrator or court; and 
any pending infringement, opposition, or cancellation 
proceeding. Include infringement, opposition, or 
cancellation proceedings in which the franchisor 
unsuccessfully sought to prevent registration of a 
trademark in order to protect a trademark licensed by the 
franchisor. Describe how the determination affects the 
ownership, use, or licensing of the trademark. 

f. Disclose any pending material federal or state court 
litigation regarding the franchisor’s use or ownership 
rights in a trademark. For each pending action, disclose:8 

(1) The forum and case number. 

(2) The nature of claims made opposing the franchisor’s 
use of the trademark or by the franchisor opposing 
another person’s use of the trademark. 

(3) Any effective court or administrative agency ruling in 
the matter. 

g. Disclose any currently effective agreements that 
significantly limit the franchisor’s rights to use or license 
the use of trademarks listed in this section in a manner 
material to the franchise. For each agreement, disclose: 

(1) The manner and extent of the limitation or grant. 

(2) The extent to which the agreement may affect the 
franchisee. 

(3) The agreement’s duration. 

(4) The parties to the agreement. 

(5) The circumstances when the agreement may be 
canceled or modified. 

(6) All other material terms. 

h. Disclose: 
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(1) Whether the franchisor must protect the franchisee’s 
right to use the principal trademarks listed in this section, 
and must protect the franchisee against claims of 
infringement or unfair competition arising out of the 
franchisee’s use of the trademarks. 

(2) The franchisee’s obligation to notify the franchisor of 
the use of, or claims of rights to, a trademark identical to 
or confusingly similar to a trademark licensed to the 
franchisee. 

(3) Whether the franchise agreement requires the 
franchisor to take affirmative action when notified of 
these uses or claims. 

(4) Whether the franchisor or franchisee has the right to 
control any administrative proceedings or litigation 
involving a trademark licensed by the franchisor to the 
franchisee. 

(5) Whether the franchise agreement requires the 
franchisor to participate in the franchisee’s defense 
and/or indemnify the franchisee for expenses or damages 
if the franchisee is a party to an administrative or judicial 
proceeding involving a trademark licensed by the 
franchisor to the franchisee, or if the proceeding is 
resolved unfavorably to the franchisee. 

(6) The franchisee’s rights under the franchise agreement 
if the franchisor requires the franchisee to modify or 
discontinue using a trademark. 

i. Disclose whether the franchisor knows of either 
superior prior rights or infringing uses that could 
materially affect the franchisee’s use of the principal 
trademarks in the state where the franchised business will 
be located. For each use of a principal trademark that the 
franchisor believes is an infringement that could 
materially affect the franchisee’s use of a trademark, 
disclose: 

(1) The nature of the infringement. 

(2) The locations where the infringement is occurring. 

(3) The length of time of the infringement (to the extent 
known). 

(4) Any action taken or anticipated by the franchisor. 

14. Item 14: Patents, Copyrights, and Proprietary 
Information. 

a. Disclose whether the franchisor owns rights in, or 
licenses to, patents or copyrights that are material to the 
franchise. Also, disclose whether the franchisor has any 
pending patent applications that are material to the 
franchise. If so, state: 

(1) The nature of the patent, patent application, or 
copyright and its relationship to the franchise. 

(2) For each patent: 

(a) The duration of the patent. 

(b) The type of patent (for example, mechanical, process, 
or design).  

(c) The patent number, issuance date, and title. 

(3) For each patent application: 

(a) The type of patent application (for example, 
mechanical, process, or design). 

(b) The serial number, filing date, and title. 

(4) For each copyright:  

(a) The duration of the copyright. 

(b) The registration number and date. 

(c) Whether the franchisor can and intends to renew the 
copyright. 

b. Describe any current material determination of the 
United States Patent and Trademark Office, the United 
States Copyright Office, or a court regarding the patent 
or copyright. Include the forum and matter number. 
Describe how the determination affects the franchised 
business. 

c. State the forum, case number, claims asserted, issues 
involved, and effective determinations for any material 
proceeding pending in the United States Patent and 
Trademark Office or any court.9 

d. If an agreement limits the use of the patent, patent 
application, or copyright, state the parties to and duration 
of the agreement, the extent to which the agreement may 
affect the franchisee, and other material terms of the 
agreement. 

e. Disclose the franchisor’s obligation to protect the 
patent, patent application, or copyright; and to defend the 
franchisee against claims arising from the franchisee’s 
use of patented or copyrighted items, including: 

(1) Whether the franchisor’s obligation is contingent 
upon the franchisee notifying the franchisor of any 
infringement claims or whether the franchisee’s 
notification is discretionary. 

(2) Whether the franchise agreement requires the 
franchisor to take affirmative action when notified of 
infringement.   

(3) Who has the right to control any litigation. 

(4) Whether the franchisor must participate in the defense 
of a franchisee or indemnify the franchisee for expenses 
or damages in a proceeding involving a patent, patent 
application, or copyright licensed to the franchisee. 
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(5) Whether the franchisor’s obligation is contingent 
upon the franchisee modifying or discontinuing the use 
of the subject matter covered by the patent or copyright. 

(6) The franchisee’s rights under the franchise agreement 
if the franchisor requires the franchisee to modify or 
discontinue using the subject matter covered by the 
patent or copyright.  

f. If the franchisor knows of any patent or copyright 
infringement that could materially affect the franchisee, 
disclose: 

(1) The nature of the infringement. 

(2) The locations where the infringement is occurring. 

(3) The length of time of the infringement (to the extent 
known). 

(4) Any action taken or anticipated by the franchisor. 

g. If the franchisor claims proprietary rights in other 
confidential information or trade secrets, describe in 
general terms the proprietary information communicated 
to the franchisee and the terms for use by the franchisee. 
The franchisor need only describe the general nature of 
the proprietary information, such as whether a formula or 
recipe is considered to be a trade secret.  

15. Item 15: Obligation to Participate in the Actual 
Operation of the Franchise Business. 

a. Disclose the franchisee’s obligation to participate 
personally in the direct operation of the franchisee’s 
business and whether the franchisor recommends 
participation. Include obligations arising from any 
written agreement or from the franchisor’s practice. 

b. If personal "on-premises" supervision is not required, 
disclose the following: 

(1) If the franchisee is an individual, whether the 
franchisor recommends on-premises supervision by the 
franchisee.  

(2) Limits on whom the franchisee can hire as an on-
premises supervisor. 

(3) Whether an on-premises supervisor must successfully 
complete the franchisor’s training program. 

(4) If the franchisee is a business entity, the amount of 
equity interest, if any, that the on-premises supervisor 
must have in the franchisee’s business. 

c. Disclose any restrictions that the franchisee must place 
on its manager (for example, maintain trade secrets, 
covenants not to compete). 

16. Item 16: Restrictions on What the Franchisee May Sell. 

Disclose any franchisor-imposed restrictions or conditions 
on the goods or services that the franchisee may sell or that 
limit access to customers, including: 

a. Any obligation on the franchisee to sell only goods or 
services approved by the franchisor. 

b. Any obligation on the franchisee to sell all goods or 
services authorized by the franchisor. 

c. Whether the franchisor has the right to change the 
types of authorized goods or services and whether there 
are limits on the franchisor’s right to make changes. 

[(q)17.] Item 17: Renewal, Termination, Transfer, and 
Dispute Resolution. 

Disclose, in the following tabular form, a table that cross-
references each enumerated franchise relationship item 
with the applicable provision in the franchise or related 
agreement. Title the table "THE FRANCHISE 
RELATIONSHIP" in capital letters and bold type. 

a. Describe briefly each contractual provision. If a 
particular item is not applicable, state "Not Applicable." 

b. If the agreement is silent about one of the listed 
provisions, but the franchisor unilaterally offers to 
provide certain benefits or protections to franchisees as a 
matter of policy, use a footnote to describe the policy and 
state whether the policy is subject to change.  

c. In the summary column for Item 17 c, state what the 
term "renewal" means for your franchise system, 
including, if applicable, a statement that franchisees may 
be asked to sign a contract with materially different terms 
and conditions than their original contract. 

Item 17 Table 

THE FRANCHISE RELATIONSHIP  

[In bold] This table lists certain important provisions of the 
franchise and related agreements. You should read these 
provisions in the agreements attached to this disclosure 
document. 

Provision Section in 
franchise or 

other 
agreement 

Summary 

a. Length of the franchise 
term 

    

b. Renewal or extension 
of the term 

    

c. Requirements for 
franchisee to renew or 
extend 
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d. Termination by 
franchisee 

    

e. Termination by 
franchisor without cause 

    

f. Termination by 
franchisor with cause 

    

g. "Cause" defined - 
curable defaults 

    

h. "Cause" defined -  

noncurable defaults 

    

i. Franchisee’s 
obligations on 
termination/nonrenewal 

    

j. Assignment of contract 
by franchisor 

    

k. "Transfer" by 
franchisee – defined 

    

l. Franchisor approval of 
transfer by franchisee 

    

m. Conditions for 
franchisor approval of 
transfer 

    

n. Franchisor’s right of 
first refusal to acquire 
franchisee’s business 

    

o. Franchisor’s option to 
purchase franchisee’s 
business 

    

p. Death or disability of 
franchisee 

    

q. Noncompetition 
covenants during the 
term of the franchise 

    

r. Noncompetition 
covenants after the 
franchise is terminated or 
expires 

    

s. Modification of the 
agreement 

    

t. Integration/merger 
clause 

    

u. Dispute resolution by 
arbitration or mediation 

    

v. Choice of forum     

w. Choice of law     

18. Item 18: Public Figures. 

Disclose: 

a. Any compensation or other benefit given or promised 
to a public figure arising from either the use of the public 
figure in the franchise name or symbol, or the public 
figure’s endorsement or recommendation of the franchise 
to prospective franchisees. 

b. The extent to which the public figure is involved in the 
management or control of the franchisor. Describe the 
public figure’s position and duties in the franchisor’s 
business structure. 

c. The public figure’s total investment in the franchisor, 
including the amount the public figure contributed in 
services performed or to be performed. State the type of 
investment (for example, common stock, promissory 
note). 

d. For purposes of this section, a public figure means a 
person whose name or physical appearance is generally 
known to the public in the geographic area where the 
franchise will be located. 

19. Item 19: Financial Performance Representations. 

a. Begin by stating the following: 

The FTC’s Franchise Rule permits a franchisor to 
provide information about the actual or potential 
financial performance of its franchised and/or franchisor-
owned outlets, if there is a reasonable basis for the 
information, and if the information is included in the 
disclosure document. Financial performance information 
that differs from that included in Item 19 may be given 
only if: (i) a franchisor provides the actual records of an 
existing outlet you are considering buying; or (ii) a 
franchisor supplements the information provided in this 
Item 19, for example, by providing information about 
possible performance at a particular location or under 
particular circumstances. 

b. If a franchisor does not provide any financial 
performance representation in Item 19, also state: 

We do not make any representations about a franchisee’s 
future financial performance or the past financial 
performance of company-owned or franchised outlets. 
We also do not authorize our employees or 
representatives to make any such representations either 
orally or in writing. If you are purchasing an existing 
outlet, however, we may provide you with the actual 
records of that outlet. If you receive any other financial 
performance information or projections of your future 
income, you should report it to the franchisor’s 
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management by contacting [name, address, and telephone 
number], the Federal Trade Commission, and the 
appropriate state regulatory agencies. 

c. If the franchisor makes any financial performance 
representation to prospective franchisees, the franchisor 
must have a reasonable basis and written substantiation 
for the representation at the time the representation is 
made and must state the representation in the Item 19 
disclosure. The franchisor must also disclose the 
following: 

(1) Whether the representation is an historic financial 
performance representation about the franchise system’s 
existing outlets, or a subset of those outlets, or is a 
forecast of the prospective franchisee’s future financial 
performance. 

(2) If the representation relates to past performance of the 
franchise system’s existing outlets, the material basis for 
the representation, including: 

(a) Whether the representation relates to the performance 
of all of the franchise system’s existing outlets or only to 
a subset of outlets that share a particular set of 
characteristics (for example, geographic location, type of 
location such as free standing vs. shopping center, degree 
of competition, length of time the outlets have operated, 
services or goods sold, services supplied by the 
franchisor, and whether the outlets are franchised or 
franchisor-owned or -operated).  

(b) The dates when the reported level of financial 
performance was achieved. 

(c) The total number of outlets that existed in the relevant 
period and, if different, the number of outlets that had the 
described characteristics.  

(d) The number of outlets with the described 
characteristics whose actual financial performance data 
were used in arriving at the representation. 

(e) Of those outlets whose data were used in arriving at 
the representation, the number and percent that actually 
attained or surpassed the stated results. 

(f) Characteristics of the included outlets, such as those 
characteristics noted in subdivision c (2)(a) of Item 19, 
that may differ materially from those of the outlet that 
may be offered to a prospective franchisee. 

(3) If the representation is a forecast of future financial 
performance, state the material basis and assumptions on 
which the projection is based. The material assumptions 
underlying a forecast include significant factors upon 
which a franchisee’s future results are expected to 
depend. These factors include, for example, economic or 
market conditions that are basic to a franchisee’s 
operation, and encompass matters affecting, among other 

things, a franchisee’s sales, the cost of goods or services 
sold, and operating expenses. 

(4) A clear and conspicuous admonition that a new 
franchisee’s individual financial results may differ from 
the result stated in the financial performance 
representation. 

(5) A statement that written substantiation for the 
financial performance representation will be made 
available to the prospective franchisee upon reasonable 
request. 

d. If a franchisor wishes to disclose only the actual 
operating results for a specific outlet being offered for 
sale, it need not comply with this section, provided the 
information is given only to potential purchasers of that 
outlet. 

e. If a franchisor furnishes financial performance 
information according to this section, the franchisor may 
deliver to a prospective franchisee a supplemental 
financial performance representation about a particular 
location or variation, apart from the disclosure document. 
The supplemental representation must: 

(1) Be in writing.  

(2) Explain the departure from the financial performance 
representation in the disclosure document.  

(3) Be prepared in accordance with the requirements of 
subdivision c (1) through (4) of this item. 

(4) Be furnished to the prospective franchisee. 

20. Item 20: Outlets and Franchisee Information. 

a. Disclose, in the following tabular form, the total 
number of franchised and company-owned outlets for 
each of the franchisor’s last three fiscal years. For this 
item, "outlet" includes outlets of a type substantially 
similar to that offered to the prospective franchisee. A 
sample Item 20a table is attached as Appendix B. 

Table No. 1 

Systemwide Outlet Summary 

For years [   ] to [   ] 
Column 1 Column 2 Column 3 Column 4 Column 5 

Outlet 
Type 

Year Outlets at 
the Start 
of the 
Year 

Outlets at 
the End of 
the Year 

Net 
Change 

2004    

2005    

Franchised 

2006    
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2004    

2005    

Company-
Owned 

2006    

2004    

2005    

Total 
Outlets 

2006    

(1) In column 1, include three outlet categories titled 
"franchised," "company-owned," and "total outlets." 

(2) In column 2, state the last three fiscal years. 

(3) In column 3, state the total number of each type of 
outlet operating at the beginning of each fiscal year. 

(4) In column 4, state the total number of each type of 
outlet operating at the end of each fiscal year. 

(5) In column 5, state the net change, and indicate 
whether the change is positive or negative, for each type 
of outlet during each fiscal year. 

b. Disclose, in the following tabular form, the number of 
franchised and company-owned outlets and changes in 
the number and ownership of outlets located in each state 
during each of the last three fiscal years. Except as noted, 
each change in ownership shall be reported only once in 
the following tables.  If multiple events occurred in the 
process of transferring ownership of an outlet, report the 
event that occurred last in time. If a single outlet changed 
ownership two or more times during the same fiscal year, 
use footnotes to describe the types of changes involved 
and the order in which the changes occurred. 

(1) Disclose, in the following tabular form, the total 
number of franchised outlets transferred in each state 
during each of the franchisor’s last three fiscal years. For 
this item, "transfer" means the acquisition of a 
controlling interest in a franchised outlet, during its term, 

by a person other than the franchisor or an affiliate. A 
sample Item 20 b Table is attached as Appendix C. 

Table No. 2 

Transfers of Outlets from Franchisees to New Owners 
(other than the Franchisor) 

For years [   ] to [   ] 

Column 1 Column 2 Column 3 

State Year Number of 
Transfers 

2004   

2005   

  

2006   

2004   

2005   

  

2006   

2004   

2005   

Total 

2006   

(a) In column 1, list each state with one or more 
franchised outlets. 

(b) In column 2, state the last three fiscal years. 

(c) In column 3, state the total number of completed 
transfers in each state during each fiscal year. 

(2) Disclose, in the following tabular form, the status of 
franchisee-owned outlets located in each state for each of 
the franchisor’s last three fiscal years. A sample Item 20 
c table is attached as Appendix D. 

 

Table No. 3 

Status of Franchised Outlets 

For years [   ] to [   ] 

Col. 1 Col. 2 Col. 3 Col. 4 Col. 5 Col. 6 Col. 7 Col. 8 Col. 9 

State Year 

Outlets 
at Start 
of Year 

Outlets 
Opened Terminations Nonrenewals 

Reacquired 
by Franchisor 

Ceased 
Operations- 
Other Reasons 

Outlets at 
End of 
the Year 

2004 

2005 

  

2006 
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2004 

2005 

  

2006 

              

Totals                 

(a) In column 1, list each state with one or more franchised outlets. 

(b) In column 2, state the last three fiscal years. 

(c) In column 3, state the total number of franchised outlets in each state at the start of each fiscal year. 

(d) In column 4, state the total number of franchised outlets opened in each state during each fiscal year. Include both new 
outlets and existing company-owned outlets that a franchisee purchased from the franchisor. (Also report the number of 
existing company-owned outlets that are sold or granted to a franchisee in Column 7 of Table 4). 

(e) In column 5, state the total number of franchised outlets that were terminated in each state during each fiscal year. For 
purposes of this item, "termination" means the franchisor’s termination of a franchise agreement prior to the end of its term 
and without providing any consideration to the franchisee (whether by payment or forgiveness or assumption of debt). 

(f) In column 6, state the total number of nonrenewals in each state during each fiscal year. For purposes of this item, 
"nonrenewal" occurs when the franchise agreement for a franchised outlet is not renewed at the end of its term. 

(g) In column 7, state the total number of franchised outlets reacquired by the franchisor in each state during each fiscal 
year. For purposes of this item, a "reacquisition" means the franchisor’s acquisition for consideration (whether by payment 
or forgiveness or assumption of debt) of a franchised outlet during its term. (Also report franchised outlets reacquired by 
the franchisor in column 5 of Table 4). 

(h) In column 8, state the total number of outlets in each state not operating as one of the franchisor’s outlets at the end of 
each fiscal year for reasons other than termination, nonrenewal, or reacquisition by the franchisor. 

(i) In column 9, state the total number of franchised outlets in each state at the end of the fiscal year. 

(3) Disclose, in the following tabular form, the status of company-owned outlets located in each state for each of the 
franchisor’s last three fiscal years. A sample Item 20 d table is attached as Appendix E. 

Table No. 4 

Status of Company-Owned Outlets 

For years [   ] to [   ] 

Col. 1 Col. 2 Col. 3 Col. 4 Col. 5 Col. 6 Col. 7 Col. 8 

State Year 

Outlets at 
Start of the 
Year 

Outlets 
Opened 

Outlets 
Reacquired From 
Franchisee 

Outlets 
Closed 

Outlets Sold to 
Franchisee 

Outlets at 
End of the 
Year 

2004             

2005             

  

2006             

2004             

2005             

  

2006             

2004             

2005             

Totals 

2006             
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(a) In column 1, list each state with one or more company-owned outlets. 

(b) In column 2, state the last three fiscal years. 

(c) In column 3, state the total number of company-owned outlets in each state at the start of the fiscal year. 

(d) In column 4, state the total number of company-owned outlets opened in each state during each fiscal year. 

(e) In column 5, state the total number of franchised outlets reacquired from franchisees in each state during each fiscal 
year. 

(f) In column 6, state the total number of company-owned outlets closed in each state during each fiscal year. Include both 
actual closures and instances when an outlet ceases to operate under the franchisor’s trademark. 

(g) In column 7, state the total number of company-owned outlets sold or granted to franchisees in each state during each 
fiscal year. 

(h) In column 8, state the total number of company-owned outlets operating in each state at the end of each fiscal year. 

c. Disclose, in the following tabular form, projected new franchised and company-owned outlets. A sample Item 20 e table 
is attached as Appendix F. 

Table No. 5 

Projected Openings As Of [Last Day of Last Fiscal Year] 

Column 1 

  

State 

Column 2 

  

Franchise 
Agreements 
Signed But 
Outlet Not 
Opened 

Column 3 

  

Projected 
New 
Franchised 
Outlet In 
The Next 
Fiscal Year 

Column 4 

  

Projected 
New 
Company-
Owned 
Outlet In the 
Next Fiscal 
Year 

        

Total       

(1) In column 1, list each state where one or more 
franchised or company-owned outlets are located or are 
projected to be located. 

(2) In column 2, state the total number franchise 
agreements that had been signed for new outlets to be 
located in each state as of the end of the previous fiscal 
year where the outlet had not yet opened. 

(3) In column 3, state the total number of new franchised 
outlets in each state projected to be opened during the 
next fiscal year. 

(4) In column 4, state the total number of new company-
owned outlets in each state that are projected to be 
opened during the next fiscal year. 

d. Disclose the names of all current franchisees and the 
address and telephone number of each of their outlets. 
Alternatively, disclose this information for all franchised 
outlets in the state, but if these franchised outlets total 
fewer than 100, disclose this information for franchised 

outlets from contiguous states and then the next closest 
states until at least 100 franchised outlets are listed. 

e. Disclose the name, city and state, and current business 
telephone number, or if unknown, the last known home 
telephone number of every franchisee who had an outlet 
terminated, canceled, not renewed, or otherwise 
voluntarily or involuntarily ceased to do business under 
the franchise agreement during the most recently 
completed fiscal year or who has not communicated with 
the franchisor within 10 weeks of the disclosure 
document issuance date.10 State in immediate 
conjunction with this information: "If you buy this 
franchise, your contact information may be disclosed to 
other buyers when you leave the franchise system." 

f. If a franchisor is selling or granting a previously-
owned franchised outlet now under its control, disclose 
the following additional information for that outlet for 
the last five fiscal years.  This information may be 
attached as an addendum to a disclosure document, or, if 
disclosure has already been made, then in a supplement 
to the previously furnished disclosure document. 

(1) The name, city and state, current business telephone 
number, or if unknown, last known home telephone 
number of each previous owner of the outlet; 

(2) The time period when each previous owner controlled 
the outlet; 

(3) The reason for each previous change in ownership 
(for example, termination, nonrenewal, voluntary 
transfer, ceased operations); and 

(4) The time period(s) when the franchisor retained 
control of the outlet (for example, after termination, 
nonrenewal, or reacquisition). 

g. Disclose whether franchisees signed confidentiality 
clauses during the last three fiscal years. If so, state the 
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following: "In some instances, current and former 
franchisees sign provisions restricting their ability to 
speak openly about their experience with [name of 
franchise system]. You may wish to speak with current 
and former franchisees, but be aware that not all such 
franchisees will be able to communicate with you." 
Franchisors may also disclose the number and percentage 
of current and former franchisees who during each of the 
last three fiscal years signed agreements that include 
confidentiality clauses and may disclose the 
circumstances under which such clauses were signed. 

h. Disclose, to the extent known, the name, address, 
telephone number, email address, and website address (to 
the extent known) of each trademark-specific franchisee 
organization associated with the franchise system being 
offered, if such organization: 

(1) Has been created, sponsored, or endorsed by the 
franchisor. If so, state the relationship between the 
organization and the franchisor (for example, the 
organization was created by the franchisor, sponsored by 
the franchisor, or endorsed by the franchisor). 

(2) Is incorporated or otherwise organized under state 
law and asks the franchisor to be included in the 
franchisor’s disclosure document during the next fiscal 
year. Such organizations must renew their request on an 
annual basis by submitting a request no later than 60 days 
after the close of the franchisor’s fiscal year. The 
franchisor has no obligation to verify the organization’s 
continued existence at the end of each fiscal year. 
Franchisors may also include the following statement: 
"The following independent franchisee organizations 
have asked to be included in this disclosure document." 

21. Item 21: Financial Statements. 

a. Include the following financial statements prepared 
according to United States generally accepted accounting 
principles, as revised by any future United States 
government mandated accounting principles, or as 
permitted by the Securities and Exchange Commission. 
Except as provided in subdivision b of this item, these 
financial statements must be audited by an independent 
certified public accountant using generally accepted 
United States auditing standards. Present the required 
financial statements in a tabular form that compares at 
least two fiscal years. 

(1) The franchisor’s balance sheet for the previous two 
fiscal year-ends before the disclosure document issuance 
date. 

(2) Statements of operations, stockholders equity, and 
cash flows for each of the franchisor’s previous three 
fiscal years. 

(3) Instead of the financial disclosures required by 
subdivisions a (1) and (2) of this item, the franchisor may 
include financial statements of any of its affiliates if the 
affiliate’s financial statements satisfy subdivisions a (1) 
and (2) of this item and the affiliate absolutely and 
unconditionally guarantees to assume the duties and 
obligations of the franchisor under the franchise 
agreement.  The affiliate’s guarantee must cover all of 
the franchisor’s obligations to the franchisee, but need 
not extend to third parties. If this alternative is used, 
attach a copy of the guarantee to the disclosure 
document. 

(4) When a franchisor owns a direct or beneficial 
controlling financial interest in a subsidiary, its financial 
statements should reflect the financial condition of the 
franchisor and its subsidiary. 

(5) Include separate financial statements for the 
franchisor and any subfranchisor, as well as for any 
parent that commits to perform postsale obligations for 
the franchisor or guarantees the franchisor’s obligations. 
Attach a copy of any guarantee to the disclosure 
document. 

b. A start-up franchise system may phase-in the use of 
the financial statements specified in subdivisions a (1) 
and (2) of this item by providing, at a minimum, the 
following statements at the indicated times: 

(1) The franchisor’s first 
partial or full fiscal year 
selling or granting 
franchises.  

An audited opening balance 
sheet. 

(2) The franchisor’s second 
fiscal year selling or 
granting franchises. 

Audited balance sheet 
opinion as of the end of the 
first partial or full fiscal 
year selling or granting 
franchises.  

(3) The franchisor’s third 
and subsequent fiscal years 
selling or granting 
franchises. 

All required financial 
statements for the previous 
fiscal year, plus any 
previously disclosed 
audited statements that still 
must be disclosed according 
to subdivisions a (1) and (2) 
of this item. 

(4) Start-up franchisors may phase-in the disclosure of all 
financial statements required in subdivisions a (1) and (2) 
of this item, provided the franchisor: 

(a) Prepares audited statements of operations, 
stockholders equity, and cash flows as soon as 
practicable. 
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(b) Prepares all unaudited statements in a format that 
conforms as closely as possible to audited statements. 

(c) Includes one or more years of unaudited statements of 
operations or clearly and conspicuously discloses in this 
section that the franchisor has not been in business for 
three years or more, and cannot include all financial 
statements required in subdivisions a (1) and (2) of this 
item. 

22. Item 22: Contracts. 

Attach a copy of all proposed agreements regarding the 
franchise offering, including the franchise agreement and 
any lease, options, and purchase agreements. 

23. Item 23: Receipts. 

Include two copies of the following detachable 
acknowledgment of receipt in the following form as the 
last pages of the disclosure document: 

a. State the following: 

Receipt 

This disclosure document summarizes certain provisions 
of the franchise agreement and other information in plain 
language. Read this disclosure document and all 
agreements carefully. 

If [name of franchisor] offers you a franchise, it must 
provide this disclosure document to you 14 calendar days 
before you sign a binding agreement with, or make a 

payment to, the franchisor or an affiliate in connection 
with the proposed franchise sale or grant. 

If [name of franchisor] does not deliver this disclosure 
document on time or if it contains a false or misleading 
statement, or a material omission, a violation of federal 
law and state law may have occurred and should be 
reported to the Federal Trade Commission, Washington, 
D.C. 20580 and [state agency]. 

b. Disclose the name, principal business address, and 
telephone number of each franchise seller offering the 
franchise. 

c. State the issuance date. 

d. If not disclosed in Item 1, state the name and address 
of the franchisor’s registered agent authorized to receive 
service of process. 

e. State the following: 

I received a disclosure document dated ____that included 
the following Exhibits: 

f. List the title(s) of all attached Exhibits. 

g. Provide space for the prospective franchisee’s 
signature and date. 

h. Franchisors may include any specific instructions for 
returning the receipt (for example, street address, email 
address, facsimile telephone number). 

 

Appendix A: Sample Item 10 Table 

Summary of Financing Offered 

Item 
Financed 

Source of 
Financing 

Down 
Payment 

Amount 
Financed 

Term 
(Yrs) 

Interest 
Rate 

Monthly 
Payment 

Prepay 
Penalty 

Security 
Required 

Liability 
Upon 
Default 

Loss of 
Legal 
Right 
on 
Default 

Initial Fee                     

Land/ 

Constr 

                    

Leased 
Space 

                    

Equip. 
Lease 

                    

Equip. 

Purchase 

                    

Opening 
Inventory 

                    

Other 
Financing 
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Appendix B: Sample Item 20(1) Table – Systemwide Outlet Summary 

Systemwide Outlet Summary 

For years 2004 to 2006 

Column 1 

  

Outlet Type 

Column 2 

  

Year 

Column 3 

  

Outlets at the Start of 
the Year 

Column 4 

  

Outlets at the End of 
the Year 

Column 5 

  

Net Change 

2004 859 1,062 +203 

2005 1,062 1,296 +234 

Franchised 

  

  

  
2006 1,296 2,720 +1,424 

2004 125 145 +20 

2005 145 76 -69 

Company 

Owned 

2006 76 141 +65 

2004 984 1,207 +223 

2005 1,207 1,372 +165 

Total Outlets 

2006 1,372 2,861 +1,489 

  

Appendix C: Sample Item 20(2) Table – Transfers of Franchised Outlets 

 Transfers of Outlets from Franchisees to New Owners (other than the Franchisor) 

For years 2004 to 2006 

Column 1 

  

State 

Column 2 

  

Year 

Column 3 

  

Number of Transfers 

2004 1 

2005 0 

NC 

2006 2 

2004 0 

2005 0 

SC 

2006 2 

2004 1 

2005 0 

Total 

2006 4 
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Appendix D: Sample Item 20(3) Table – Status of Franchise Outlets 

Status of Franchise Outlets 

For years 2004 to 2006 

Col. 1 

  

State 

Col. 2 

  

Year 

Col. 3 

  

Outlets 
at Start 
of Year 

Col. 4 

  

Outlets 
Opened 

  

Col. 5 

  

Terminations 

Col. 6 

  

Non-
Renewals 

Col. 7 

  

Reacquired 
by 
Franchisor 

Col. 8 

  
Ceased 
Operations- 
Other  
Reasons 

Col. 9 

  
Outlets  
at End 
of  
the 
Year 

2004 10 2 1 0 0 1 10 

2005 11 5 0 1 0 0 15 

AL 

2006 15 4 1 0 1 2 15 

2004 20 5 0 0 0 0 25 

2005 25 4 1 0 0 2 26 

AZ 

2006 26 4 0 0 0 0 30 

2004 30 7 1 0 0 1 35 

2005 36 9 1 1 0 2 41 

Totals 

2006 41 8 1 0 1 2 45 

  
Appendix E:  Sample Item 20(4) Table – Status of Company-Owned Outlets 

Status of Company-Owned Outlets 

For years 2004 to 2006 

Col. 1 

  

State 

Col 2 

  

Year 

Col. 3 

  

Outlets at 
Start of the 
Year 

Col. 4 

  

 Outlets 
Opened 

Col. 5 

  
Outlets 
Reacquired 
From 
Franchisees 

Col. 6 

  

Outlets 
Closed 

Col. 7 

  
Outlets  
Sold to 
Franchisees 

Col. 8 

  

Outlets at 
End of the 
Year 

2004 1 0 1 0 0 2 

2005 2 2 0 1 0 3 

NY 

2006 3 0 0 3 0 0 

2004 4 0 1 0 0 5 

2005 5 0 0 2 0 3 

OR 

2006 3 0 0 0 1 2 

2004 5 0 2 0 0 7 

2005 7 2 0 3 0 6 

Totals 

2006 6 0 0 3 1 2 
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Appendix F: Sample Item 20(5) Table – Projected New Franchised Outlets 

Projected New Franchised Outlets 

As of December 31, 2006 

Column 1 

  

State 

Column 2 

  

Franchise Agreements 
Signed But Outlet Not 
Opened 

Column 3 

  

Projected New 
Franchised Outlet in 
the Next Fiscal Year 

Column 4 

  

Projected New 
Company-
Owned Outlets 
in the [Current 
Next] Fiscal 
Year 

CO 2 3 1 

NM 0 4 2 

Total 2 7 3 
____________________________________________________ 

1 Franchisors may include a summary opinion of counsel concerning any action if counsel consent to use the summary opinion and the full opinion is attached 
to the disclosure document. 
2 If a settlement agreement must be disclosed in this item, all material settlement terms must be disclosed, whether or not the agreement is confidential. 
However, franchisors need not disclose the terms of confidential settlements entered into before commencing franchise sales. 
3 If fees may increase, disclose the formula that determines the increase or the maximum amount of the increase. For example, a percentage of gross sales is 
acceptable if the franchisor defines the term "gross sales." 
4 Franchisors may include the reason for the requirement. Franchisors need not disclose in this item the purchase or lease of goods or services provided as part 
of the franchise without a separate charge (such as initial training, if the cost is included in the franchise fee). Describe such fees in Item 5. Do not disclose fees 
already described in Item 6. 
5 Take figures from the franchisor’s most recent annual audited financial statement required in Item 21. If the entity deriving the income is an affiliate, disclose 
the sources of information used in computing revenues. 
6 Indirect offers of financing include a written arrangement between a franchisor or its affiliate and a lender, for the lender to offer financing to a franchisee; an 
arrangement in which a franchisor or its affiliate receives a benefit from a lender in exchange for financing a franchise purchase; and a franchisor’s guarantee of 
a note, lease, or other obligation of the franchisee. 
7 Include sample copies of the financing documents as an exhibit to Item 22. Cite the section and name of the document containing the financing terms and 
conditions. 
8 The franchisor may include an attorney’s opinion relative to the merits of litigation or of an action if the attorney issuing the opinion consents to its use. The 
text of the disclosure may include a summary of the opinion if the full opinion is attached and the attorney issuing the opinion consents to the use of the 
summary. 
9 If counsel consents, the franchisor may include a counsel’s opinion or a summary of the opinion if the full opinion is attached. 
10 Franchisors may substitute alternative contact information at the request of the former franchisee, such as a home address, post office address, or a personal 
or business email address. 
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NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for 
public inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
Virginia. 

FORMS  

FORM A, "Facing Page" —Uniform Franchise 
Registration Application (eff. 7/1/95; rev. [ 7/08 ] ).  

FORM B, Supplemental Information Franchisor’s Costs 
and Sources of Funds (eff. 7/1/95; rev. [ 7/08 ] ).  

FORM C, Certification (rev. 7/99).  

FORM D C, Uniform Consent to Service of Process (rev. 
7/99 rev. [ 7/08 ] ).  

FORM E, Affidavit of Compliance —Franchise 
Amendment/Renewal (rev. 7/99 [ 7/08 ] ).  

FORM F, Guarantee of Performance (rev. 7/99 [ 7/08 ] ).  

FORM G, Franchisor's Surety Bond (rev. 7/99).  

FORM H, Notice of Claim of Exemption (eff. 7/07, rev. 
[ 7/08 ] ). 

FORM K, Escrow Agreement (eff. 7/07). 
VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1123; Filed May 21, 2008, 12:36 p.m.  
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GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 67 (2008) 

DECLARATION OF A STATE OF EMERGENCY 
WITHIN THE COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA AS A 

MEASURE FOR UNINTERRUPTED PETROLEUM 
DISTRIBUTION 

On May 30, 2008, I verbally declared a state of emergency to 
exist for the Commonwealth of Virginia in order to ensure the 
uninterrupted availability of gasoline for consumers in all 
parts of the Commonwealth and in accordance with my 
authority contained in §44-146.17 of the Emergency Services 
and Disaster Laws. 

With the rising price of fuel exceeding in many instances four 
dollars a gallon and the fact that many retailers of petroleum 
products with pumps that are mechanically unable to display 
accurately the current price of their petroleum product and 
have placed orders for upgrades to their pumps, I have taken 
this action in order to allow retailers the ability to display the 
half gallon price at the pump and make adjustment to the full 
price at the register. 

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me by §44-
146.17 of the Code of Virginia, as Governor and as Director 
of Emergency Management, and by virtue of the authority 
vested in me by Article V, Section 7 of the Constitution of 
Virginia and by §44-75.1 of the Code of Virginia, as 
Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces of 
the Commonwealth, and subject always to my continuing and 
ultimate authority and responsibility to act in such matters, I 
hereby order the temporary waiver by the Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services of enforcement of the 
provisions of §3.1-949 of the Code of Virginia for retailers of 
petroleum products whose pumps are mechanically unable to 
display accurately the current price of petroleum products. 
This limited waiver shall be effective for a period of 120 days 
from the effective date of this executive order and shall apply 
only to retailers whose pumps are mechanically unable to 
display accurately the current price of petroleum products due 
to the age and design of the pump.  The Commissioner of 
Agriculture and Consumer Affairs, in consultation with the 
Secretary of Agriculture and Forestry, shall forthwith develop 
and issue guidelines allowing such retailers to use a "half 
pricing" technique for the sale of petroleum products.  Any 
such retailer shall be required to display the actual price of the 
petroleum product on any applicable signage or 
advertisements in accordance with these guidelines. The 
Commissioner and Secretary shall consult with affected 
stakeholders in the development of such guidelines and shall 
make available appropriate technical assistance to affected 
retailers as well as appropriate consumer education. 

This Executive Order shall be effective May 30, 2008 and 
shall remain in full force and effect until September 30, 2008 
unless sooner amended or rescinded by further executive 
order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia, this 30th Day of May, 2008. 

/s/ Timothy M. Kaine 
Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 68 (2008) 

DESIGNATION OF THE DIRECTOR OF THE 
DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 

DEVELOPMENT AS THE DELEGATE OF THE 
GOVERNOR TO MAKE THE CERTIFICATIONS 
REQUIRED BY SECTION 149(e)(2)(F) OF THE 

INTERNAL REVENUE CODE 

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor under 
Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and under the laws 
of the Commonwealth, including but not limited to Chapter 1 
of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia, and under Title 26 Code 
of Federal Regulations Section 1.149(e)-1(b)(2) and subject 
always to my continuing and ultimate authority and 
responsibility to act in such matters, I hereby designate the 
Director of the Department of Housing and Community 
Development as the delegate of the Governor for the purpose 
of making the certifications required by Section 149(e)(2)(F) 
of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended (the 
"Code"), that private activity bonds (as defined in Section 141 
of the Code) meet the requirements of Section 146 of the 
Code relating to the cap on private activity bonds. 
This Executive Order shall be effective July 1, 2008 and shall 
remain in full force and effect unless amended or rescinded 
by further executive order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia this 6th day of June 2008. 

/s/ Timothy M. Kaine 
Governor 
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Enforcement Action - New Town Associates, L.L.C. 
and AIG Baker Williamsburg, L.L.C. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for New Town 
Associates, L.L.C. and AIG Baker Williamsburg, L.L.C. for 
alleged violations in James City County, Virginia to resolve 
violations of State Water Control Law. Descriptions of the 
proposed actions are available at the DEQ office named 
below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Daniel J. Van 
Orman will accept comments by email 
djvanorman@deq.virginia.gov, FAX (757) 518-2003 or 
postal mail Department of Environmental Quality, Tidewater 
Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, Virginia Beach, 
VA 23462 from June 23, 2008, to July 23, 2008. 

Contact Information: Daniel J. Van Orman, Esquire, Regional 
Enforcement Specialist, Department of Environmental 
Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern 
Boulevard,| Virginia Beach, VA 23462, telephone (757) 
518.2014, FAX (757) 518.2003, or email 
djvanorman@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Order - The Scotts Company 
LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for The Scotts 
Company LLC of Ohio for alleged violations in 
Lawrenceville, Virginia. A consent order describes a 
settlement to resolve unauthorized discharges that occurred at 
3175 Bright Leaf Road. The order requires corrective action 
and payment of a civil charge. A description of the proposed 
order is available at the DEQ office named below or online at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. Frank Lupini will accept comments 
by email felupini@deq.virginia.gov, FAX (804) 527-5106 or 
postal mail Department of Environmental Quality, Piedmont 
Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, Virginia 
23060 from June 23, 2008, to July 24, 2008. 

Contact Information: Frank Lupini, Enforcement Specialist, 
Department of Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional 
Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, telephone 
(804) 527-5093, FAX (804) 527-5106, or email 
felupini@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE LOTTERY DEPARTMENT 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Order of the State Lottery 
Department was filed with the Virginia Registrar of 
Regulations on May 29, 2008. 

Director's Order Number Sixteen (08) 
Certain Virginia Instant Game Lotteries; End of Games. 

In accordance with the authority granted by §§2.2-4002 B 15 
and 58.1-4006 A of the Code of Virginia, I hereby give notice 
that the following Virginia Lottery instant games will 
officially end at midnight on May 16, 2008: 

Game 606 Sapphire Blue 7's 
Game 682 Treasure Chest 
Game 722 Ca$h Windfall 
Game 730 Best of 7's 
Game 733 One-Eyed Jacks 
Game 749 Casino Cash 
Game 761 Aces Wild 
Game 765 Big Bucks Doubler 
Game 769 Super Lucky 7's 
Game 776 Junior Ruby Red 7's 
Game 789 Game Card Series 
Game 790 Double Take 
Game 793 Welcome To Fabulous Las Vegas 
Game 803 Deal Or No Deal 
Game 1005 Cash Flurries Doubler 
Game 1007 Snowflakes & 7's 
Game 1008 7 Come 11 
Game 1012 Pink Panther 
Game 1013 $100,000 Mega Multipler 

The last day for lottery retailers to return for credit unsold 
tickets from any of these games will be June 27, 2008. The 
last day to redeem winning tickets for any of these games will 
be November 12, 2008, 180 days from the declared official 
end of the game. Claims for winning tickets from any of these 
games will not be accepted after that date.  Claims that are 
mailed and received in an envelope bearing a postmark of the 
United States Postal Service or another sovereign nation of 
November 12, 2008, or earlier, will be deemed to have been 
received on time.  This notice amplifies and conforms to the 
duly adopted State Lottery Board regulations for the conduct 
of lottery games. 

This order is available for inspection and copying during 
normal business hours at the Virginia Lottery headquarters, 
900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia; and at any 
Virginia Lottery regional office. A copy may be requested by 
mail by writing to Director's Office, Virginia Lottery, 900 
East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

This Director's Order becomes effective on the date of its 
signing and shall remain in full force and effect unless 
amended or rescinded by further Director's Order. 

/s/ Paula I. Otto 
Executive Director 
May 22, 2008 

* * * * * * * * 

The following Director's Orders of the State Lottery 
Department were filed with the Virginia Registrar of 
Regulations on May 29, 2008, and June 3, 2008. The orders 
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may be viewed at the State Lottery Department, 900 E. Main 
Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, 910 Capitol Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
Virginia. 

Final Rules for Game Operation: 

Director's Order Number Eighteen (08) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1025; "Money Money 
Money" (effective 5/22/08) 

Director's Order Number Nineteen (08) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1026; "$100,000 Casino 
Action" (effective 5/22/08) 

Director's Order Number Twenty (08) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1031; "Easy Money" 
(effective 5/22/08) 

Director's Order Number Twenty-One (08) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1033; "Harley-Davidson" 
(effective 5/29/08) 

Director's Order Number Twenty-Two (08) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1056; "Be My Boop" 
(effective 5/22/08) 

Director's Order Number Twenty-Three (08) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1059; "Sizzlin' 7's" (effective 
5/22/08) 

Director's Order Number Twenty-Four (08) 

Virginia's Fourteenth On-Line Game Lottery; "Fast Play 
Dodge Ball" (effective 5/22/08) 

Director's Order Number Twenty-Five (08) 

"Harley-Davidson Sweepstakes" (effective 5/22/08) 

Director's Order Number Twenty-Six (08) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1029; "Are You In" 
(effective 5/22/08) 

Director's Order Number Twenty-Seven (08) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1035; "Pinball Wizard" 
(effective 5/22/08) 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Order - American Timberland 
Company 

Purpose of notice: To seek public comment on a proposed 
consent order from the Department of Environmental Quality 
for a location in Suffolk, Virginia. 

Public comment period: June 23, 2008, to July 23, 2008. 

Consent order description: The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to address alleged violations 
of the Virginia Water Protection Permit Regulations to 
American Timberland Company at property adjacent to 
Corinth Chapel Road in the City of Suffolk. The consent 
order describes a settlement to resolve unauthorized clearing 
and filling of approximately 1.63 acres of forested wetlands 
and 48 linear feet of stream and requires development and 
implementation of a restoration plan and includes a civil 
charge. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax or postal mail. All comments must include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ within the comment 
period. The public may review the proposed consent order at 
the DEQ office named below or on the DEQ website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests and 
additional information: Paul R. Smith, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 
Southern Blvd, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, telephone (757) 
518-2020, FAX (757) 518-2003, or email 
prsmith@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Order - Associated Naval 
Architects, Incorporated 

Purpose of notice: To seek public comment on a proposed 
consent order from the Department of Environmental Quality 
for a facility in Portsmouth, Virginia. 

Public comment period: June 23, 2008, to July 23, 2008. 

Consent order description: The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to Associated Naval 
Architects, Incorporated, to address alleged violations of 
Virginia State Water Control Law. The location of the facility 
where the alleged violations occurred is 3400 Shipwright 
Street, Portsmouth.  The consent order describes a settlement 
to resolve alleged violations of the facility Virginia Pollutant 
Discharge Elimination System Permit and includes a civil 
charge. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax or postal mail. All comments must include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ within the comment 
period. The public may review the proposed consent order at 
the DEQ office named below or on the DEQ website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests and 
additional information: Paul R. Smith, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 
Southern Blvd, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, telephone 
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(757) 518-2020, FAX (757) 518-2003, or email 
prsmith@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Order - C. W. Properties 

Purpose of notice: To invite citizens to comment on a 
proposed consent order for C. W. Properties, LLC. 

Public comment period: June 23, 2008, through July 24, 
2008. 

Consent order description: The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to C. W. Properties to 
address alleged violations of State Water Control Law. The 
location where the alleged violations occurred is at the Ben 
Leake Plaza property located off of Rt. 29 North, 
approximately 0.10 mile north of the Rt. 29 and Rt. 607 
intersection in Green County, Virginia. The consent order 
describes a settlement to resolve alleged unauthorized stream 
disturbances on an unnamed tributary of Preddy Creek. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax or postal mail. All comments must include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by close of business on the final 
day of the public comment period. The public may review the 
proposed consent order at the DEQ office named below or on 
the DEQ web site at www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests and 
additional information: Steven W. Hetrick, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Valley Regional Office, P.O. Box 
3000, 4411 Early Road, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, telephone 
(540) 574-7833, FAX (540) 574-7878, or email 
swhetrick@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Order - Columbia Gas 
Transmission Corporation 

Purpose of notice: To invite citizens to comment on a 
proposed consent order for the Columbia Gas Transmission 
Corporation. 

Public comment period: June 23, 2008, through July 24, 
2008. 

Consent order description: The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to the Columbia Gas 
Transmission Corporation to address alleged violations of 
State Water Control Law. The location where the alleged 
violations occurred is in Swift Run along State Rt. 634 
between its intersections with Rt. 33 and Rt. 819 near Lydia 
in Green County, Virginia. The consent order describes a 
settlement to resolve alleged unauthorized discharges and 
stream disturbances that resulted in a fish kill in the Swift 
Run. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax or postal mail.  All comments must include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 

commenting and be received by close of business on the final 
day of the public comment period. The public may review the 
proposed consent order at the DEQ office named below or on 
the DEQ website at www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests and 
additional information: Steven W. Hetrick, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Valley Regional Office, P.O. Box 
3000, 4411 Early Road, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, telephone 
(540) 574-7833, FAX (540) 574-7878, or email 
swhetrick@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Order - Town of Craigsville 

Purpose of notice: To invite citizens to comment on a 
proposed consent order for a facility in Augusta County, 
Virginia. 

Public comment period: June 23, 2008, to July 23, 2008. 

Consent order description: The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to the Town of Craigsville 
to address alleged permit violations. The location of the 
facility where the alleged violations occurred is at the Town 
of Craigsville’s STP in Augusta County, Virginia. The 
consent order describes a settlement to resolve these 
violations. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax or postal mail. All comments must include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ within the comment 
period. The public may review the proposed consent order at 
the DEQ office named below or on the DEQ website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests and 
additional information: Steven W. Hetrick, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Valley Regional Office, Post Office 
Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-9519, telephone 
(540) 574-7833, FAX (540) 574-7878, or email 
swhetrick@deq.virginia.gov 

Proposed Consent Order - Grottoes Ganesh, Inc. 
Purpose of notice: To invite citizens to comment on a 
proposed consent order for a facility. 

Public comment period: June 23, 2008, to July 23, 2008. 

Consent order description: The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to Grottoes Ganesh, Inc. to 
address alleged violations of the regulations. The location of 
the UST facility where the alleged violations occurred is in 
Rockingham County, Virginia.  The consent order describes a 
settlement to resolve these violations. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax or postal mail. All comments must include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
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commenting and be received by DEQ within the comment 
period. The public may review the proposed consent order at 
the DEQ office named below or on the DEQ website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests and 
additional information: David C. Robinett, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Valley Regional Office, Post Office 
Box 3000, 4411 Early Road, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-9519, 
telephone (540) 574-7862, FAX (540) 574-7878, or email 
dcrobinett@deq.virginia.gov. 

Total Maximum Daily Load - Pamunkey River Basin 

Notice is hereby given that the State Water Control Board 
seeks comment on the proposed modifications to the bacteria 
total maximum daily load (TMDL) developed for the 
Pamunkey River Basin in Louisa, Caroline, Hanover, Orange, 
King William, and New Kent counties. 

The total maximum daily load of E. coli was developed to 
address bacterial impairment in the Pamunkey River Basin. 
The TMDL was approved by the Environmental Protection 
Agency (EPA) on August 2, 2006, and can be found at the 
following websites: 

www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl 

www.epa.gov/reg3wapd/tmdl/VA_TMDLs/PamunkeyRiverBac/ 
PamunkeyRvBac_DR.pdf 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (VDEQ) 
seeks written comments from interested persons on the 
modification of this TMDL. In the Pamunkey River Basin 
bacterial TMDL approved by the U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency and the State Water Control Board in 
2006, the Missionary Learning Center Sewage Treatment 
Plant (STP), VA0067105, was issued a waste load allocation 
of 4.4E+10 cfu/year, based on the design flow (25,000 
gallons per day or gpd) at the time of issuance. DEQ proposes 
to revise the TMDL by increasing the bacteria waste load 
allocation to 1.17E+11 cfu/year to accommodate this facility 
at a maximum design flow of 65,000 gpd and an E. coli 
concentration of 126 N/100mL. 

This increase will neither cause nor contribute to the 
nonattainment of the Pamunkey River Basin, as documented 
in the EPA-approved TMDL report.  The EPA considers a 
less than 1% change to the TMDL to be insignificant.  The 
proposed increase in the waste load allocation for this facility 
will be 0.37% of the TMDL. 

The public comment period for this modification will end on 
July 23, 2008. Questions or information requests should be 
addressed to Margaret Smigo. Written comments should 
include the name, address, and telephone number of the 
person submitting the comments and should be sent to 
Margaret Smigo, Department of Environmental Quality, 
Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, 

VA 23060, telephone (804)527-5124, or email 
mjsmigo@deq.virginia.gov. 

2008 Water Quality Assessment Integrated Report 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) 
will release the Draft 2008 Water Quality Assessment 
Integrated Report (Integrated Report) on June 16, 2008, for 
public comment. The final report will be released this fall 
after review and approval by the United States Environmental 
Protection Agency. 

The Integrated Report combines both the 305(b) Water 
Quality Assessment Report and the 303(d) List of Impaired 
Waters. Both are required by the federal Clean Water Act and 
the Virginia Water Quality Monitoring Information and 
Restoration Act. This report will be available for download 
on the DEQ website at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/wqa/ 
throughout the public comment period, which ends on Friday, 
July 25, 2008, at 5 p.m. 

A CD with a copy of the final report and associated maps can 
be pre-ordered at no charge via the website above. CD copies 
may also be requested via the website above. Anyone who 
received the report on CD in 2006 will automatically receive 
a 2008 CD. Hard copies of the report will only be printed 
upon request, via the website. Maps will also be available 
when the final report is released. 

A public information meeting will be held via a simultaneous 
teleconference at all seven DEQ regional offices and the DEQ 
central office on June 24, 2008, from 7 p.m. - 8:30 p.m., 
regarding the draft Integrated Report. The public may attend 
at any of the following locations: 

DEQ Central Office, 629 East Main Street in 
Richmond. For directions please contact Harry Augustine, 
(804) 698-4037, hhaugustine@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEQ Valley Regional Office, 4411 Early Road in 
Harrisonburg. For directions please contact James Shiflet, 
(540) 574-7828, jashiflet@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEQ West Central Regional Office, 3019 Peters Creek 
Road in Roanoke. For directions please contact Mike 
McLeod, (540) 562-6721, dmmcleod@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEQ Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard 
in Virginia Beach. For directions, please contact Steve 
Cioccia, (757) 518-2159, sacioccia@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEQ South Central Regional Office, 7705 Timberlake 
Road in Lynchburg. For directions, please contact Amanda 
Gray, (434) 582-6227, abgray@deq.virginia.gov.  

DEQ Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road in Glen 
Allen. For directions, please contact Jennifer Palmore, 
(804)527-5058, jvpalmore@deq.virginia.gov. (Please note 
that seating space is limited). 
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DEQ South West Regional Office, 355 Deadmore Street in 
Abingdon. For directions please contact Allen Newman, 
(276) 676-4804, ajnewman@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEQ Northern Va. Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court in 
Woodbridge. For directions please contact Bryant Thomas, 
(703) 583-3848, bhthomas@deq.virginia.gov. 

Written comments on the draft 2008 Integrated Report can 
be sent to the contact person below. Commenters 
should include your name, (US mail) address, telephone 
number, and email address. 

Contact Information: Darryl M. Glover, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality Monitoring and 
Assessment Manager, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4321, FAX (804) 
698-4416, or email dmglover@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Mailing Address: Virginia Code Commission, 910 Capitol 
Street, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations 

Agencies are required to use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) when filing regulations for publication in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. The Office of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations implemented a web-based application 
called RIS for filing regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register. The Registrar's office has 
worked closely with the Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) to coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory 
Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one 
another by sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

The Office of the Virginia Register is working toward the 
eventual elimination of the requirement that agencies file 
print copies of regulatory packages. Until that time, agencies 
may file petitions for rulemaking, notices of intended 
regulatory actions and general notices in electronic form only; 
however, until further notice, agencies must continue to file 
print copies of proposed, final, fast-track and emergency 
regulatory packages. 
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