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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, the Virginia Tax Bulletin issued 
periodically by the Department of Taxation, and notices of public 
hearings and open meetings of state agencies. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
Proposed regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating 
agency at any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 12 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
23:7 VA.R. 1023-1140 December 11, 2006, refers to Volume 23, Issue 
7, pages 1023 through 1140 of the Virginia Register issued on 
December 11, 2006. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: R. Steven Landes, 
Chairman; John S. Edwards, Vice Chairman; Ryan T. McDougle; 
Robert Hurt; Robert L. Calhoun; Frank S. Ferguson; E.M. Miller, 
Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; James F. Almand; Jane M. Roush. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
June T. Chandler, Assistant Registrar. 
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

October 2008 through August 2009 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

FINAL INDEX Volume 24  October 2008 

25:4 October 8, 2008 October 27, 2008 

25:5 October 22, 2008 November 10, 2008 

25:6 November 5, 2008 November 24, 2008 

25:7 November 18, 2008 (Tuesday) December 8, 2008 

INDEX 1 Volume 25  January 2009 

25:8 December 3, 2008 December 22, 2008 

25:9 December 16, 2008 (Tuesday) January 5, 2009 

25:10 December 30, 2008 (Tuesday) January 19, 2009 

25:11 January 14, 2009 February 2, 2009 

25:12 January 28, 2009 February 16, 2009 

25:13 February 11, 2009 March 2, 2009 

25:14 February 25, 2009 March 16, 2009 

INDEX 2 Volume 25  April 2009 

25:15 March 11, 2009 March 30, 2009 

25:16 March 25, 2009 April 13, 2009 

25:17 April 8, 2009 April 27, 2009 

25:18 April 22, 2009 May 11, 2009 

25:19 May 6, 2009 May 25, 2009 

25:20 May 20, 2009 June 8, 2009 

INDEX 3 Volume 25  July 2009 

25:21 June 3, 2009 June 22, 2009 

25:22 June 17, 2009 July 6, 2009 

25:23 July 1, 2009 July 20, 2009 

25:24 July 15, 2009 August 3, 2009 

25:25 July 29, 2009 August 17, 2009 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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The table printed below lists regulation sections, by Virginia Administrative Code (VAC) title, that have been amended, 
added or repealed in the Virginia Register since the regulations were originally published or last supplemented in VAC (the 
Spring 2008 VAC Supplement includes final regulations published through Virginia Register Volume 24, Issue 7, dated 
December 10, 2007, and fast-track regulations published through Virginia Register Volume 24 Issue 10, dated January 21, 
2008). Emergency regulations, if any, are listed, followed by the designation "emer," and errata pertaining to final regulations 
are listed. Proposed regulations are not listed here. The table lists the sections in numerical order and shows action taken, the 
volume, issue and page number where the section appeared, and the effective date of the section. 

CUMULATIVE TABLE OF VIRGINIA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE SECTIONS ADOPTED, AMENDED, OR REPEALED 

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
Title 1. Administration 
1 VAC 30-45-10 through 1 VAC 30-45-860 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3449-3506 ** 
1 VAC 30-46-10 through 1 VAC 30-46-210 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3506-3523 ** 
1 VAC 50-10-60 through 1 VAC 50-10-150 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 119 10/29/08 
1 VAC 50-11-10 through 1 VAC 50-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 119-122 10/29/08 
1 VAC 55-10-10 through 1 VAC 55-10-50 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 122 10/29/08 
1 VAC 55-11-10 through 1 VAC 55-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 122-125 10/29/08 
1 VAC 75-10-10 through 1 VAC 75-10-40 Repealed 24:25 VA.R. 3523 9/17/08 
1 VAC 75-11-10 through 1 VAC 75-11-110 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3523-3526 9/17/08 
Title 2. Agriculture 
2 VAC 5-10-10 through 2VAC5-10-70 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 342 11/12/08 
2 VAC 5-11-10 through 2VAC5-11-110 Added 25:3 VA.R. 343-345 11/12/08 
2 VAC 5-30-10 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2318 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-30-20 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2318 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-50-20 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2320 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-50-70 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2320 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-50-100 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2320 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-50-110 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2321 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-90-30 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2322 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-100-10 through 2 VAC 5-100-40 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3707 10/18/08 
2 VAC 5-150-10 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2323 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-180-20 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2326 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-180-30 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2327 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-180-50 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2327 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-180-60 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2327 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-180-80 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2327 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-180-120 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2328 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-206-10 through 2 VAC 5-206-50 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3527-3531 10/3/08 
2 VAC 5-210-30 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1096 12/11/07 
2 VAC 5-210-41 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1097 12/11/07 
2 VAC 5-330-30 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 126 10/15/08 
2 VAC 5-335-10 through 2 VAC 5-335-130 Added 25:2 VA.R. 126-129 10/15/08 
2 VAC 5-390-180 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2023 3/11/08 
2 VAC 5-400-5 Added 24:17 VA.R. 2330 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-420-30 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2838 5/21/08 
2 VAC 5-420-80 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2840 5/21/08 
2 VAC 5-501-80 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2332 6/12/08 

                                                           
** Suspension of Regulatory Process 25:3 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
2 VAC 5-501-100 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2336 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-10 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2340 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-50 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2341 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-60 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2341 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-70 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2341 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-80 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2342 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-90 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2342 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-100 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2344 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-110 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2344 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-120 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2345 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-130 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2345 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-140 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2347 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-150 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2347 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-160 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2348 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-170 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2348 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-180 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2348 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-190 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2348 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-200 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2349 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-210 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2349 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-220 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2349 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-230 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2349 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-240 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2349 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-250 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2349 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-260 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2349 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-270 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2350 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-290 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2350 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-300 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2350 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-310 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2350 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-320 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2350 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-330 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2350 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-340 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2351 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-350 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2351 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-360 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2351 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-390 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2351 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-400 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2352 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-410 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2352 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-420 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2352 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-500 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2352 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-510 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2353 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-531-50 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2235 5/29/08 
2 VAC 5-531-140 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2241 5/29/08 
2 VAC 15-20-81 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2242 4/14/08 
2 VAC 20-10-80 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3331 9/18/08 
2 VAC 20-10-100 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3331 9/18/08 
2 VAC 20-10-110 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3331 9/18/08 
2 VAC 20-20-70 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2355 6/12/08 
2 VAC 20-20-130 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2355 6/12/08 
2 VAC 20-20-210 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2355 6/12/08 
2 VAC 20-40-50 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2357 6/12/08 
2 VAC 20-51-10 through 2 VAC 20-51-50 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 346-350 12/1/08 
2 VAC 20-51-70 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 350 12/1/08 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
2 VAC 20-51-90  Amended 25:3 VA.R. 351 12/1/08 
2 VAC 20-51-100 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 351 12/1/08 
2 VAC 20-51-160 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 351 12/1/08 
2 VAC 20-51-170 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 352 12/1/08 
2 VAC 20-51-200 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 352 12/1/08 
2 VAC 20-51-210 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 352 12/1/08 
Title 3. Alcoholic Beverages 
3 VAC 5-50-140 emer Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1344 1/9/08-1/8/09 
3 VAC 5-50-145 emer Added 24:11 VA.R. 1345 1/9/08-1/8/09 
3 VAC 5-70-220 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1891 5/1/08 
3 VAC 5-70-225 emer Added 24:10 VA.R. 1257 1/2/08-1/1/09 
Title 4. Conservation and Natural Resources 
4 VAC 3-10-10 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 129 10/29/08 
4 VAC 3-10-20 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 129 10/29/08 
4 VAC 3-10-30 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 129 10/29/08 
4 VAC 3-11-10 through 4 VAC 3-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 130-132 10/29/08 
4 VAC 5-10-10 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 132 10/29/08 
4 VAC 5-10-20 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 132 10/29/08 
4 VAC 5-10-30 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 132 10/29/08 
4 VAC 5-11-10 through 4 VAC 5-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 133-136 10/29/08 
4 VAC 5-50-10 through 4VAC5-50-170 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2357 5/28/08 
4 VAC 15-20-50 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1258 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-20-130 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1259 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-20-200 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1261 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-20-210 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1261 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-30-5 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1262 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-30-40 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1262 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-40-30 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3108 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-40-70 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3108 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-40-190 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3109 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-40-210 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3109 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-40-220 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3109 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-50-20 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3109 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-50-25 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3109 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-50-71 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3332 7/8/08 
4 VAC 15-50-81 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3109 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-50-91 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3110 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-70-50 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3111 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-70-70 Added 24:23 VA.R. 3111 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-90-22 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3111 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-90-70 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3112 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-90-80 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3112 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-90-80 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3332 7/8/08 
4 VAC 15-90-90 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3113 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-90-91 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3114 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-110-10 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3117 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-110-75 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3118 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-240-11 Added 24:23 VA.R. 3118 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-240-20 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3118 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-240-31 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3118 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-240-40 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3118 7/1/08 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
4 VAC 15-240-50 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3119 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-240-51 Added 24:23 VA.R. 3119 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-260-140 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3333 7/8/08 
4 VAC 15-270-50 Repealed 24:24 VA.R. 3334 7/8/08 
4 VAC 15-320-25 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1265 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-30 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1272 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-100 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1272 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-120 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1272 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-160 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1272 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-171 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1273 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-200 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1273 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-340-10 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1273 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-340-30 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1274 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-350-20 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1275 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-350-30 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1275 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-350-60 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1275 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-350-70 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1275 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-360-10 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1276 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-410-10 through 4 VAC 15-410-160 Added 24:23 VA.R. 3119-3125 7/1/08 
4 VAC 20-40-10 through 4 VAC 20-40-40 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2749 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-90-10 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2749 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-90-20 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2749 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-90-30 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2749 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-140-10 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2917 3/17/09 
4 VAC 20-140-20 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2917 3/17/09 
4 VAC 20-140-25 Added 24:21 VA.R. 2917 3/17/09 
4 VAC 20-150-30 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1277 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-252-55 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1278 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-252-120 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1278 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-252-150 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1279 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-252-160 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1279 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-252-230 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1281 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-260-35 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 353 10/1/08-10/31/08 
4 VAC 20-260-40 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 353 10/1/08-10/31/08 
4 VAC 20-270-10 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2751 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-270-10 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2918 6/1/08 
4 VAC 20-270-30 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2750 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-270-40 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2750 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-270-50 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2750 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-270-50 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2751 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-270-50 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2918 6/1/08 
4 VAC 20-270-55 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2023 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-270-55 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2751 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-270-56 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2751 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-270-58 Added 24:19 VA.R. 2751 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-320-50 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1456 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-450-30 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2918 6/1/08 
4 VAC 20-530-20 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1456 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-530-31 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1735 2/5/08 
4 VAC 20-530-32 Repealed 24:12 VA.R. 1457 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-610-20 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 959 12/1/07 
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4 VAC 20-610-25 Added 24:8 VA.R. 959 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-610-30 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 960 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-610-30 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2024 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-610-50 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 961 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-610-60 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 961 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-620-20 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 354 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-620-30 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1281 12/27/07 
4 VAC 20-620-30 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 354 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-620-40 emer Amended 24:8 VA.R. 962 11/28/07-12/27/07 
4 VAC 20-620-40 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1282 12/27/07 
4 VAC 20-620-40 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 355 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-620-50 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2025 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-620-70 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2026 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-670-20 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2752 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-670-25 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2752 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-670-30 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2752 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-670-40 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2753 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-700-10 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2753 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-700-15 emer Added 24:19 VA.R. 2753 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-700-15 Added 24:21 VA.R. 2918 6/1/08 
4 VAC 20-700-20 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2026 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-700-20 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2754 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-700-20 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2919 6/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-20 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 357 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-40 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1457 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-40 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 359 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-50 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1458 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-50 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 360 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-60 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1458 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-60 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 360 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-70 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 360 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-75 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 361 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-80 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1458 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-80 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 361 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-95 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 361 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-100 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 361 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-106 emer Amended 25:1 VA.R. 24 9/1/08-9/30/08 
4 VAC 20-720-106 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 361 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-750-10 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2026 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-750-10 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2754 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-750-30 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2026 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-750-30 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2754 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-750-40 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2754 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-750-50 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2754 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-751-10 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 362 9/29/08-10/28/08 
4 VAC 20-751-15 Added 24:15 VA.R. 2027 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-751-15 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 362 9/29/08-10/28/08 
4 VAC 20-751-20 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2027 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-751-20 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 362 9/29/08-10/28/08 
4 VAC 20-752-20 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2754 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-752-30 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2246 4/1/08 
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4 VAC 20-752-30 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2755 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-880-10 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2755 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-880-10 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2919 6/1/08 
4 VAC 20-880-20 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2755 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-880-20 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2756 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-880-30 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2757 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-880-30 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2757 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-880-30 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2919 6/1/08 
4 VAC 20-910-45 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3537 8/1/08 
4 VAC 20-950-47 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2028 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-950-48 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2028 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-950-48.1 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2029 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-960-45 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 964 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-960-47 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 964 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-1040-20 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 964 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-1040-35 Added 24:12 VA.R. 1459 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-1090-10 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2757 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-1090-30 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 965 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-1090-30 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2757 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-1090-30 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2760 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-1090-30 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2920 6/1/08 
4 VAC 20-1130-10 through 4 VAC 20-1130-70 Added 24:8 VA.R. 968-970 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-1140-10 Added 24:19 VA.R. 2763 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-1140-20 Added 24:19 VA.R. 2763 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-1140-30 Added 24:19 VA.R. 2763 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-1150-10 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3538 8/1/08 
4 VAC 20-1150-20 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3538 8/1/08 
4 VAC 25-130 (Forms) Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1424 -- 
4 VAC 25-150-90 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2359 6/12/08 
4 VAC 50-10-10 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 137 10/29/08 
4 VAC 50-10-20 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 137 10/29/08 
4 VAC 50-10-30 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 137 10/29/08 
4 VAC 50-11-10 through 4 VAC 50-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 138-141 10/29/08 
4 VAC 50-20-20 through 4 VAC 50-20-90 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3539-3554 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-51 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3544 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-52 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3545 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-54 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3545 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-58 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3546 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-59 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3546 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-100 through 4 VAC 50-20-140 Repealed 24:25 VA.R. 3554-3558 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-105 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3554 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-125 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3557 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-150 through 4 VAC 50-20-240 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3558-3563 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-155 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3558 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-165 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3559 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-175 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3560 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-177 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3561 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-250 Repealed 24:25 VA.R. 3564 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-260 through 4 VAC 50-20-320 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3564-3565 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-330 through 4 VAC 50-20-400 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3565-3567 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-60-10 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2842 7/9/08 
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4 VAC 50-60-1200 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2852 7/9/08 
4 VAC 50-60-1210 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2853 7/9/08 
4 VAC 50-60-1220 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2854 7/9/08 
4 VAC 50-60-1230 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2854 7/9/08 
4 VAC 50-60-1240 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2856 7/9/08 
Title 5. Corporations 
5 VAC 5-20-20 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1347 2/15/08 
5 VAC 5-20-140 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1347 2/15/08 
5 VAC 5-20-150 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1348 2/15/08 
5 VAC 5-20-170 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1348 2/15/08 
5 VAC 5-20-240 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1349 2/15/08 
Title 6. Criminal Justice and Corrections 
6 VAC 15-10-10 through 6 VAC 15-10-100 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 363 11/15/08 
6 VAC 15-11-10 through 6 VAC 15-11-110 Added 25:3 VA.R. 363-366 11/15/08 
6 VAC 15-31-320 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3568 9/18/08 
6 VAC 15-61-10 through 6 VAC 15-61-300 Repealed 24:8 VA.R. 970 1/24/08 
6 VAC 15-62-10 through 6 VAC 15-62-120 Added 24:8 VA.R. 970-979 1/24/08 
6 VAC 15-62-110 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1736 3/3/08 
6 VAC 15-62 (Forms) Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1523 -- 
6 VAC 15-70-10 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 367 11/15/08 
6 VAC 15-70-40 through 6 VAC 15-70-130 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 367-372 11/15/08 
6 VAC 15-70-160 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 372 11/15/08 
6 VAC 20-80-10 through 6 VAC 20-80-90 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3127-3132 9/1/08 
6 VAC 20-80-100 Repealed 24:23 VA.R. 3132 9/1/08 
6 VAC 20-80-110 Repealed 24:23 VA.R. 3132 9/1/08 
6 VAC 20-160-10 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 141 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-20 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 142 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-30 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 142 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-40 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 143 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-60 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 144 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-70 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 144 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-80 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 144 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-100 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 145 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-120 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 145 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-171-10 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3134 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
6 VAC 20-171-50 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3137 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
6 VAC 20-171-120 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3138 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
6 VAC 20-171-230 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3139 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
6 VAC 20-171-320 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3141 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
6 VAC 20-171-350 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3142 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
6 VAC 20-171-360 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3145 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
6 VAC 20-250-10 through 6 VAC 20-250-380 Added 24:23 VA.R. 3146-3161 8/20/08 
6 VAC 35-10-10 through 6 VAC 35-10-150 Repealed 24:25 VA.R. 3573 9/17/08 
6 VAC 35-11-10 through 6 VAC 35-11-110 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3574-3576 9/17/08 
6 VAC 35-20-37 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 373 8/1/07-1/31/09 
6 VAC 35-51-10 through 6 VAC 35-51-1100 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3577-3610 9/17/08 
6 VAC 35-140-46 Added 25:3 VA.R. 376 12/12/08 
6 VAC 40-10-10 through 6 VAC 40-10-90 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 146 10/30/08 
6 VAC 40-11-10 through 6 VAC 40-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 147-149 10/30/08 
6 VAC 40-20-30 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3718 10/16/08 
6 VAC 40-20-120 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3718 10/16/08 



Cumulative Table of VAC Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed 

Volume 25, Issue 4 Virginia Register of Regulations October 27, 2008 

554 

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
6 VAC 40-20-130 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3718 10/16/08 
6 VAC 40-20-160 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3718 10/16/08 
6 VAC 40-50-10 through 6 VAC 40-50-80 Added 24:9 VA.R. 1103-1104 2/6/08 
Title 7. Economic Development 
7 VAC 10-20-10 through 7 VAC 10-20-350 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3719 9/1/08 
7 VAC 10-21-10 through 7 VAC 10-21-610 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3719-3729 9/1/08 
Title 8. Education 
8 VAC 20-650-30 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2936 9/15/08 
8 VAC 40-10-10 through 8 VAC 40-10-90 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 376 1/1/09 
8 VAC 40-11-10 through 8 VAC 40-11-110 Added 25:3 VA.R. 377-379 1/1/09 
Title 9. Environment 
9 VAC 10-20-120 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3040 8/6/08 
9 VAC 20-60-18 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1106 2/6/08 
9 VAC 20-80-10 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 150 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-60 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 160 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-250 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 166 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-260 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 176 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-270 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 183 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-280 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 191 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-485 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 193 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-500 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 200 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-510 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 203 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-32 (Forms) Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1738 -- 
9 VAC 25-120-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1107 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-120-20 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1107 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-120-50 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1108 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-120-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1108 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-120-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1108 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-120-80 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1109 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-120-80 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2502 6/11/08 
9 VAC 25-193-40 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2517 6/11/08 
9 VAC 25-193-70 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2517 6/11/08 
9 VAC 25-196-20 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1124 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-196-40 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1124 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-196-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1124 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-196-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1125 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-196-70 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2532 6/11/08 
9 VAC 25-210-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1132 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-210-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1136 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-210-116 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1140 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-210-130 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1142 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-260-30 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1741 * 
9 VAC 25-260-30 Amending 24:26 VA.R. 3747 8/12/08 
9 VAC 25-640 Appendices I through IX Amended  25:2 VA.R. 217-231 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-10 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 206 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-20 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 209 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-30 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 209 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-50 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 210 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-70 through 9 VAC 25-640-120 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 210-213 11/1/08 

                                                           
* Effective upon filing notice of U.S. EPA approval with Registrar of Regulations 
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9 VAC 25-640-130 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 213 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-150 through 9 VAC 25-640-230 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 213-217 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-250 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 217 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-660-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1144 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-660-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1145 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-660-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1147 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-660-80 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1148 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-660-100 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1148 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-670-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1156 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-670-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1157 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-670-80 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1158 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-670-100 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1159 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-680-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1170 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-680-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1172 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-680-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1174 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-680-80 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1175 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-680-100 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1176 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-690-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1188 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-690-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1190 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-690-80 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1191 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-690-100 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1191 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2540 6/11/08 
9 VAC 25-720-120 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2940 8/7/08 
9 VAC 25-720-130 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2548 6/11/08 
9 VAC 25-740-10 through 9 VAC 25-740-210 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3748-3773 10/1/08 
9 VAC 25-820-10 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2942 8/7/08 
9 VAC 25-820-20 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2944 8/7/08 
9 VAC 25-820-70 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2944 8/7/08 
Title 10. Finance and Financial Institutions 
10 VAC 5-20-30 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3043 6/23/08 
10 VAC 5-40-5 Added 24:22 VA.R. 3045 7/1/08 
10 VAC 5-40-60 Added 24:22 VA.R. 3045 7/1/08 
10 VAC 5-160-10 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3775 8/10/08 
10 VAC 5-160-70 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3776 8/10/08 
10 VAC 5-160-80 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3776 8/10/08 
Title 11. Gaming 
11 VAC 10-130-60 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2247 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-10 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2247 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-20 Repealed 24:16 VA.R. 2248 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-25 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2250 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-35 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2250 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-60 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2251 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-70 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2256 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-75 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2256 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-80 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2257 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-85 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2258 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-110 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2259 4/14/08 
Title 12. Health 
12 VAC 5-90-370 Added 24:19 VA.R. 2777 7/1/08 
12 VAC 5-195-10 through 12 VAC 5-195-670 Added 24:19 VA.R. 2778-2802 5/26/08 
12 VAC 5-220-10 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1350 3/5/08 
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12 VAC 5-220-110 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1353 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-220-110 Amended 25:1 VA.R. 26 10/15/08 
12 VAC 5-220-130 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1354 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-220-160 Amended 25:1 VA.R. 25 10/15/08 
12 VAC 5-220-200 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1354 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-220-200 Amended 25:1 VA.R. 26 10/15/08 
12 VAC 5-371-150 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1357 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-381-10 through 12VAC5-381-40 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1358-1361 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-381-60 through 12VAC5-381-100 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1361-1362 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-381-120 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1362 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-381-140 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1362 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-381-150 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1362 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-381-240 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1363 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-381-280 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1363 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-10 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1364 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-30 through 12 VAC 5-391-100 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1366-1368 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-120 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1368 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-130 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1368 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-150 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1369 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-160 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1369 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-250 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1370 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-280 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1370 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-410-230 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1371 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-481-10 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2566 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-10 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 231 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-481-20 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2592 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-30 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2592 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-90 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2592 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-100 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2593 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-110 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2593 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-130 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2594 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-150 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2594 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-200 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2594 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-230 through 12 VAC 5-481-270 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2594-2595 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-340 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2595 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-370 through 12 VAC 5-481-450 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2597-2607 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-390 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 256 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-481-400 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 256 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-481-450 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 257 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-481-451 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3612 10/3/08 
12 VAC 5-481-460 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2607 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-470 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2608 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-480 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2610 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-480 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 260 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-481-500 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2619 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-510 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2620 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-530 through 12 VAC 5-481-590 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2622-2626 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-571 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2624 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-630 through 12 VAC 5-481-760 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2626-2629 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-780 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2629 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-790 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2629 6/12/08 
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12 VAC 5-481-800 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2629 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-810 through 12 VAC 5-481-910 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2630-2631 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-930 through 12 VAC 5-481-1050 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2632-2633 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-971 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2632 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1070 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2633 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1090 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2633 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1100 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2633 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1110 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2633 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1130 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2634 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1151 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2634 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1160 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2635 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1161 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2635 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1190 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2637 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1200 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2638 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1220 through 12 VAC 5-481-1250 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2639-2640 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1270 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2640 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1300 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2640 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1310 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2641 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1320 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2641 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1350 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2644 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1380 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2644 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1420 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2644 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1440 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2644 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1490 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2645 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1520 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2645 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1540 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2645 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1550 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2646 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1560 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2646 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1570 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2647 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1670 through 12 VAC 5-481-2040 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2647-2650 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2001 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2649 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2050 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2650 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2060 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2651 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2070 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2651 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2080 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2651 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2100 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2651 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2230 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2652 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2240 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2653 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2260 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2653 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2270 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2653 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2280 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2654 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2330 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2654 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2420 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2654 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2430 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2655 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2470 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2655 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2490 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2655 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2510 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2656 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2530 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2656 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2540 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2656 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2550 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2657 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2571 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2657 6/12/08 
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12 VAC 5-481-2572 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2659 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2573 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2660 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2660 through 12 VAC 5-481-2950 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2660-2661 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2870 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 267 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2970 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2661 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2980 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2662 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3000 through 12 VAC 5-481-3040 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2663-2665 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3070 through 12 VAC 5-481-3140 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2667-2670 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3050 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2665 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3051 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2666 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3091 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2668 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3151 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2670 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3160 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2671 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3160 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 267 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3200 through 12 VAC 5-481-3270 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2671-2675 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3241 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2673 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3261 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2674 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3290 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2675 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3300 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2675 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3340 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2675 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3350 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2675 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3400 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2676 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3430 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2677 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3440 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2683 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3480 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2684 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3490 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2684 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3510 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2684 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3520 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2685 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3530 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2685 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3560 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2686 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3580 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2687 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3600 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2687 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3610 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2688 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3650 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2688 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3670 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2689 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3680 through 12 VAC 5-481-3780 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2689-2715 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3710 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 267 11/1/08 
12 VAC 30-5-10 through 12 VAC 30-5-110 Added 25:3 VA.R. 380-383 11/12/08 
12 VAC 30-40-290 emer Amended 25:1 VA.R. 35 8/27/08-8/26/09 
12 VAC 30-50-130 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3165 7/2/08 - 7/1/09 
12 VAC 30-50-140 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-50-150 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-50-180 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-50-228 emer Added 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-50-491 emer Added 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-60-180 emer Added 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-60-185 emer Added 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-60-500 emer Added 25:3 VA.R. 384 8/8/07-2/7/09 
12 VAC 30-70-70 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 387 11/27/08 
12 VAC 30-70-221 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2959 7/23/08 
12 VAC 30-70-261 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 388 11/27/08 
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12 VAC 30-70-271 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 388 11/27/08 
12 VAC 30-70-311 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3778 10/15/08 
12 VAC 30-70-321 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3778 10/15/08 
12 VAC 30-70-500 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 389 11/27/08 
12 VAC 30-80-30 Erratum 24:17 VA.R. 2473 -- 
12 VAC 30-80-30 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2962 7/23/08 
12 VAC 30-80-32 emer Added 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-80-40 emer Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3617 8/4/08-8/3/09 
12 VAC 30-80-75 Added 24:21 VA.R. 2965 7/23/08 
12 VAC 30-80-190 emer Amended 25:1 VA.R. 41 8/27/08-8/26/09 
12 VAC 30-90-41 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3778 10/15/08 
12 VAC 30-90-264 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 390 11/27/08 
12 VAC 30-100-10 through 12 VAC 30-100-60 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 383-384 11/12/08 
12 VAC 30-100-170 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3622 10/2/08 
12 VAC 30-120-70 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3168 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-90 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3169 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-100 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3781 10/15/08 
12 VAC 30-120-140 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3171 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-211 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3174 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-213 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3177 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-225 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3178 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-229 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3181 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-237 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3182 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-247 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3184 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-310 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-120-370 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 393 9/1/07-3/3/09 
12 VAC 30-120-380 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 393 9/1/07-3/3/09 
12 VAC 30-120-380 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-120-700 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3185 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-710 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3189 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-754 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3190 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-758 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3191 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-762 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3192 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-770 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3193 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-900 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3195 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-910 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3197 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-920 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3198 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-970 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3200 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-1500 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3202 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-1550 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3204 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-2000 emer Added 24:23 VA.R. 3206 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-2010 emer Added 24:23 VA.R. 3207 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-135-10 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3783 10/16/08 
12 VAC 30-135-20 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3783 10/16/08 
12 VAC 30-135-30 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3783 10/16/08 
12 VAC 30-135-40 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3783 10/16/08 
12 VAC 30-135-70 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3784 10/16/08 
12 VAC 35-11-10 through 12 VAC 35-11-110 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 271 10/29/08 
12 VAC 35-12-10 through 12 VAC 35-12-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 271-274 10/29/08 
12 VAC 35-105-115 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1372 3/5/08 
Title 13. Housing 
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13 VAC 5-21-10 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1894 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-21-20 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1894 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-21-31 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1895 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-21-41 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1895 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-21-45 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1895 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-21-51 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1895 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-21-61 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1896 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-31-20 through 13 VAC 5-31-50 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1897-1898 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-31-70 through 13 VAC 5-31-170 Repealed 24:14 VA.R. 1898-1903 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-31-75 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1898 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-31-85 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1900 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-31-200 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1904 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-31-210 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1904 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-31-215 through 13 VAC 5-31-270 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1904-1905 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-21 through 13 VAC 5-51-51 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1907-1910 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-81 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1910 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-81 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3622 10/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-85 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1921 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-91 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1924 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-130 through 13 VAC 5-51-135 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1925-1928 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-143 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1928 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-145 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1932 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-150 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1932 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-152 Repealed 24:14 VA.R. 1937 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-154 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1937 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-155 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1939 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-10 through 13 VAC 5-63-50 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-70 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-80 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-100 through 13 VAC 5-63-130 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-150 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-160 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-190 through 13 VAC 5-63-260 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-225 Repealed 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-265 Repealed 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-267 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-270 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-280 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-300 through 13 VAC 5-63-360 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-335 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-400 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-430 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-432 Repealed 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-434 through 13 VAC 5-63-450 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-470 through 13 VAC 5-63-500 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-520 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-525 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-550 Repealed 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-91-20 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1943 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-91-100 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1943 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-91-110 Repealed 24:14 VA.R. 1944 5/1/08 
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13 VAC 5-91-115 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1944 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-91-120 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1944 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-91-160 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1945 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-91-270 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1945 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-95-10 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1947 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-95-30 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1948 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-112-340 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 979 1/23/08 
13 VAC 5-200-10 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3784 10/1/08 
13 VAC 5-200-40 through 13 VAC 5-200-80 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3784-3785 10/1/08 
13 VAC 5-200-100 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3785 10/1/08 
13 VAC 6-10-10 through 13 VAC 6-10-120 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 394 11/13/08 
13 VAC 6-11-10 through 13 VAC 6-11-110 Added 25:3 VA.R. 394-397 11/13/08 
13 VAC 10-180-10 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1373 2/4/08 
13 VAC 10-180-50 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1374 2/4/08 
13 VAC 10-180-60 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1376 2/4/08 
13 VAC 10-180-60 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1387 2/4/08 
13 VAC 10-180-100 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1397 2/4/08 
Title 14. Insurance 
14 VAC 5-30-30 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2153 4/1/08 
14 VAC 5-200-185 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2155 4/1/08 
14 VAC 5-211-50 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3063 7/1/08 
14 VAC 5-211-90 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3063 7/1/08 
14 VAC 5-211-100 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3063 7/1/08 
14 VAC 5-215 (Forms) Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2452 -- 
14 VAC 5-270-10 through 14 VAC 5-270-150 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1460-1470 1/1/10 
14 VAC 5-270-144 Added 24:12 VA.R. 1467 1/1/10 
14 VAC 5-270-146 Added 24:12 VA.R. 1468 1/1/10 
14 VAC 5-270-148 Added 24:12 VA.R. 1469 1/1/10 
14 VAC 5-270-170 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1470 1/1/10 
14 VAC 5-270-174 Added 24:12 VA.R. 1470 1/1/10 
14 VAC 5-270-180 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1470 1/1/10 
14 VAC 5-395-40 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3811 8/29/08 
Title 15. Judicial 
15 VAC 5-80-50 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3211 7/1/08 
Title 16. Labor and Employment 
16 VAC 15-21-30 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3213 8/21/08 
16 VAC 15-30-40 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3632 9/18/08 
16 VAC 15-30-190 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3214 8/21/08 
16 VAC 20-20-20 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3065 8/7/08 
16 VAC 20-20-40 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3066 8/7/08 
16 VAC 20-20-50 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3068 8/7/08 
16 VAC 20-20-60 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3069 8/7/08 
16 VAC 20-20-80 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3070 8/7/08 
16 VAC 20-20-110 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3070 8/7/08 
16 VAC 25-10-10 through 16 VAC 25-10-120 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3811 10/1/08 
16 VAC 25-11-10 through 16 VAC 25-11-110 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3811-3814 10/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.6 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.68 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.94 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.103 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.107 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
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16 VAC 25-90-1910.110 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.111 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.132 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2263 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.144 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.243 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.251 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.253 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.261 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-100-1915.152 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2263 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-120-1917.96 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2263 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-130-1918.106 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2263 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.95 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2263 6/1/08 
Title 18. Professional and Occupational Licensing 
18 VAC 10-20-10 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 397 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-120 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 399 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-280 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 399 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-295 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 400 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-310 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 400 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-340 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 401 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-350 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 401 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-360 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 401 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-380 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 402 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-382 Added 25:3 VA.R. 403 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-392 Added 25:3 VA.R. 404 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-395 Added 25:3 VA.R. 404 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-760 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 404 12/1/08 
18 VAC 15-10-10 through 18 VAC 15-10-90 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 55 10/15/08 
18 VAC 15-11-10 through 18 VAC 15-11-110 Added 25:1 VA.R. 55-58 10/15/08 
18 VAC 15-20-451 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2455 8/1/08 
18 VAC 30-20 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3814 -- 
18 VAC 30-20-80 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1284 2/20/08 
18 VAC 30-20-170 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1284 2/20/08 
18 VAC 30-20-171 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1285 2/20/08 
18 VAC 45-10-10 through 18 VAC 45- 10-90 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3815 10/2/08 
18 VAC 45-11-10 through 18 VAC 45-11-110 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3815-3818 10/2/08 
18 VAC 48-10-10 through 18 VAC 48-10-110 Added 25:3 VA.R. 411-414 11/13/08 
18 VAC 50-22-40 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 415 12/1/08 
18 VAC 50-22-50 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 415 12/1/08 
18 VAC 50-22-60 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 416 12/1/08 
18 VAC 50-22-300 through 18 VAC 50-22-350 Added 25:3 VA.R. 417-418 12/1/08 
18 VAC 60-10-10 through 18 VAC 60-10-120 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 418 11/12/08 
18 VAC 60-11-10 through 18 VAC 60-11-110 Added 25:3 VA.R. 419-422 11/12/08 
18 VAC 60-20 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 58 -- 
18 VAC 60-20-30 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2874 7/24/08 
18 VAC 60-20-81 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1949 4/16/08 
18 VAC 60-20-108 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1950 4/16/08 
18 VAC 60-20-190 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1951 4/16/08 
18 VAC 60-20-220 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1287 3/10/08 
18 VAC 60-20-220 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1951 4/16/08 
18 VAC 65-10-10 through 18 VAC 65-10-120 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 291 10/29/08 
18 VAC 65-11-10 through 18 VAC 65-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 291-294 10/29/08 



Cumulative Table of VAC Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed 

Volume 25, Issue 4 Virginia Register of Regulations October 27, 2008 

563 

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
18 VAC 65-20 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3818 -- 
18 VAC 65-20-10 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3358 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-15 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3358 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-60 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3358 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-120 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3358 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-130 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3359 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-151 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3070 8/6/08 
18 VAC 65-20-153 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3359 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-170 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3359 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-171 Added 24:24 VA.R. 3359 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-240 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3360 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-350 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3360 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-420 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3360 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-440 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3360 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-500 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3360 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-510 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3361 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-590 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3361 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-700 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3361 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-40 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3818 -- 
18 VAC 75-10-10 through 18 VAC 75-10-120 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 294 10/29/08 
18 VAC 75-11-10 through 18 VAC 75-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 295-297 10/29/08 
18 VAC 75-20 (Forms) Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3632 -- 
18 VAC 76-20 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3819 -- 
18 VAC 76-30-10 through 18 VAC 76-30-120 Repealed 24:25 VA.R. 3632 9/17/08 
18 VAC 76-31-10 through 18 VAC 76-31-110 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3633-3635 9/17/08 
18 VAC 76-40 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3820 -- 
18 VAC 85-10-10 through 18 VAC 85-10-110 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3820 10/1/08 
18 VAC 85-11-10 through 18 VAC 85-11-110 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3820 10/1/08 
18 VAC 85-20 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-20-22 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1404 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-20-22 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1952 4/16/08 
18 VAC 85-20-225 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3367 9/3/08 
18 VAC 85-20-226 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1404 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-20-400 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2876 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-40 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-40-35 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1404 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-40-55 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3368 9/3/08 
18 VAC 85-40-67 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1405 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-50 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-50-35 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1405 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-50-59 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3368 9/3/08 
18 VAC 85-50-61 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1405 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-80 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-80-26 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1406 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-80-65 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3368 9/3/08 
18 VAC 85-80-73 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1406 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-101 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-101-25 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1406 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-101-25 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2879 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-101-40 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2879 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-101-50 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2879 7/24/08 
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18 VAC 85-101-55 Added 24:20 VA.R. 2880 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-101-60 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2880 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-101-70 Repealed 24:20 VA.R. 2881 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-101-145 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3368 9/3/08 
18 VAC 85-101-150 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2881 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-101-153 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1407 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-110 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-110-35 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1407 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-110-145 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3369 9/3/08 
18 VAC 85-110-161 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1407 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-120 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-120-10 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2884 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-120-50 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2884 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-120-70 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2885 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-120-85 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3369 9/3/08 
18 VAC 85-120-90 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2885 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-120-95 Added 24:20 VA.R. 2885 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-120-150 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2885 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-130 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-130-30 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1952 4/16/08 
18 VAC 90-10-10 through 18 VAC 90-10-120 Repealed 24:25 VA.R. 3635 9/17/08 
18 VAC 90-11-10 through 18 VAC 90-11-110 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3636-3639 9/17/08 
18 VAC 90-20 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 59 -- 
18 VAC 90-20-10 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1842 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-35 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1843 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-40 through 18 VAC 90-20-60 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1843-1845 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-65 Repealed 24:13 VA.R. 1844 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-70 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1844 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-90 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1845 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-95 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1846 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-96 Added 24:13 VA.R. 1846 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-110 through 18 VAC 90-20-140 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1846-1848 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-151 Added 24:13 VA.R. 1848 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-160 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1849 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-190 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1849 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-200 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1850 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-220 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1850 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-230 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1851 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-271 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2969 7/23/08 
18 VAC 90-20-275 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1851 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-280 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1851 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-300 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1851 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-370 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1852 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-390 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1852 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-410 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1853 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-25 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 59 -- 
18 VAC 90-30 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 59 -- 
18 VAC 90-30-10 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1288 2/20/08 
18 VAC 90-30-80 Erratum 24:18 VA.R. 2731-2732 -- 
18 VAC 90-30-80 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3369 9/3/08 
18 VAC 90-30-120 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1288 2/20/08 
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18 VAC 90-30-121 Added 24:10 VA.R. 1289 2/20/08 
18 VAC 90-30-160 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3370 9/3/08 
18 VAC 90-40 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 59 -- 
18 VAC 90-50 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 59 -- 
18 VAC 90-60 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 59 -- 
18 VAC 90-60-110 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3216 9/4/08 
18 VAC 95-20 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3827 -- 
18 VAC 95-20-80 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2264 5/14/08 
18 VAC 95-20-175 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2887 7/24/08 
18 VAC 95-20-220 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2888 7/24/08 
18 VAC 95-20-230 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2888 7/24/08 
18 VAC 95-30 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3827 -- 
18 VAC 95-30-40 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2264 5/14/08 
18 VAC 95-30-95 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3219 9/4/08 
18 VAC 95-30-150 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3220 9/4/08 
18 VAC 95-30-180 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3220 9/4/08 
18 VAC 105-10-10 through 18 VAC 105-10-120 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3828 10/1/08 
18 VAC 105-11-10 through 18 VAC 105-11-110 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3828-3831 10/1/08 
18 VAC 105-20 (Forms) Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3639 -- 
18 VAC 105-20-75 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3071 8/6/08 
18 VAC 110-10-10 through 18 VAC 110-10-120 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 298 10/29/08 
18 VAC 110-11-10 through 18 VAC 110-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 298-301 10/29/08 
18 VAC 110-20 (Forms) Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3640 -- 
18 VAC 110-20-10 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 983 1/23/08 
18 VAC 110-20-20 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 464 9/23/08-9/22/09 
18 VAC 110-20-75 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3071 8/6/08 
18 VAC 110-20-321 Added 24:8 VA.R. 986 1/23/08 
18 VAC 110-20-411 through 18 VAC 110-20-416 Repealed 24:8 VA.R. 986-987 1/23/08 
18 VAC 110-20-530 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2265 5/14/08 
18 VAC 110-30 (Forms) Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3640 -- 
18 VAC 110-30-15 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1290 2/20/08 
18 VAC 110-50 (Forms) Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3640 -- 
18 VAC 110-50-10 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1290 2/20/08 
18 VAC 110-50-20 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 466 9/23/08-9/22/09 
18 VAC 110-50-160 Added 24:10 VA.R. 1291 2/20/08 
18 VAC 110-50-170 Added 24:10 VA.R. 1291 2/20/08 
18 VAC 110-50-180 Added 24:10 VA.R. 1292 2/20/08 
18 VAC 110-50-190 Added 24:10 VA.R. 1292 2/20/08 
18 VAC 112-10-10 through 18 VAC 112-10-120 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 61 10/15/08 
18 VAC 112-11-10 through 18 VAC 112-11-110 Added 25:1 VA.R. 62-64 10/15/08 
18 VAC 112-20 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3831 -- 
18 VAC 112-20-81 emer Added 25:3 VA.R. 467 11/1/07-4/29/09 
18 VAC 112-20-90 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 467 11/1/07-4/29/09 
18 VAC 112-20-130 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 467 11/1/07-4/29/09 
18 VAC 112-20-131 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 467 11/1/07-4/29/09 
18 VAC 112-20-150 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 467 11/1/07-4/29/09 
18 VAC 115-10-10 through 18 VAC 115-10-120 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3832 10/1/08 
18 VAC 115-11-10 through 18 VAC 115-11-110 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3832-3835 10/1/08 
18 VAC 115-20 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 65 -- 
18 VAC 115-20-10 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3387 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-20-45 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3387 9/3/08 
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18 VAC 115-20-49 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3388 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-20-51 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3388 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-20-52 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3388 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-20-120 Repealed 24:24 VA.R. 3390 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-30 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 65 -- 
18 VAC 115-30-150 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1953 4/16/08 
18 VAC 115-30-160 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1953 4/16/08 
18 VAC 115-40 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 65 -- 
18 VAC 115-50 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 65 -- 
18 VAC 115-50-10 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3390 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-50-40 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3390 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-50-55 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3391 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-50-60 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3391 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-60 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 65 -- 
18 VAC 115-60-10 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3392 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-60-50 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3393 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-60-70 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3393 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-60-80 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3394 9/3/08 
18 VAC 120-10-100 through 18 VAC 120-10-180 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3835 10/2/08 
18 VAC 120-11-10 through 18 VAC 120-11-110 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3836-3838 10/2/08 
18 VAC 125-20 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 66 -- 
18 VAC 125-20-170 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1471 3/19/08 
18 VAC 125-30 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 66 -- 
18 VAC 125-30-120 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1471 3/19/08 
18 VAC 130-20-10 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3225 9/1/08 
18 VAC 130-20-70 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3229 9/1/08 
18 VAC 130-20-180 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3229 9/1/08 
18 VAC 130-20-200 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3231 9/1/08 
18 VAC 130-20-230 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3231 9/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-10 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1408 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-30 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1409 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-60 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1410 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-100 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1410 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-101 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1412 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-105 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1413 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-160 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1413 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-170 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1414 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-180 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1414 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-190 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1416 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-210 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1417 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-220 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1417 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-280 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1417 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-300 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1418 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-345 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1418 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-360 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1419 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-370 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1419 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-390 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1420 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-60-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1230 3/1/08 
18 VAC 140-10-10 through 18 VAC 140-10-120 Repealed 24:25 VA.R. 3641 9/17/08 
18 VAC 140-11-10 through 18 VAC 140-11-110 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3641-3644 9/17/08 
18 VAC 140-20 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 67 -- 



Cumulative Table of VAC Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed 

Volume 25, Issue 4 Virginia Register of Regulations October 27, 2008 

567 

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
18 VAC 140-20-50 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3234 9/4/08 
18 VAC 140-20-70 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3235 9/4/08 
18 VAC 140-20-105 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2890 7/24/08 
18 VAC 150-10-10 through 18 VAC 150-10-120 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 68 10/15/08 
18 VAC 150-11-10 through 18 VAC 150-11-110 Added 25:1 VA.R. 68-71 10/15/08 
18 VAC 150-20 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3838 -- 
18 VAC 150-20-135 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2969 7/23/08 
Title 19. Public Safety 
19 VAC 30-10-10 through 19 VAC 30-10-40 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3839 10/1/08 
19 VAC 30-11-10 through 19 VAC 30-11-110 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3839-3842 10/1/08 
19 VAC 30-20-115 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1421 3/6/08 
19 VAC 30-70-6 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 988 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-7 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 988 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-9 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 989 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-10 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 991 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-40 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 994 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-50 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 995 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-60 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 997 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-80 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 998 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-90 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 1001 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-110 through 19 VAC 30-70-660 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 1001-1070 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-190-10 through 19 VAC 30-190-140 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1421-1423 3/6/08 
Title 20. Public Utilities and Telecommunications 
20 VAC 5-315-10 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3845 8/25/08 
20 VAC 5-315-20 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3845 8/25/08 
20 VAC 5-315-40 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3846 8/25/08 
20 VAC 5-315-50 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3847 8/25/08 
Title 21. Securities and Retail Franchising 
21 VAC 5-20-280 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2971 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-80-10 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2976 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-80-200 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2977 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-10 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2983 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-20 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2984 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-30 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2984 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-40 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2984 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-50 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2985 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-55 Added 24:21 VA.R. 2985 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-60 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2986 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-65 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2987 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-70 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2988 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-75 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2988 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-80 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2989 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-90 Repealed 24:21 VA.R. 2992 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-95 Added 24:21 VA.R. 2992 7/1/08 
Title 22. Social Services 
22 VAC 5-30-10 through 22 VAC 5-30-60 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3665-3669 1/1/09 
22 VAC 15-30-310 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1295 3/6/08 
22 VAC 30-10-10 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3076 8/8/08 
22 VAC 30-10-10 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 71 10/15/08 
22 VAC 30-10-20 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3077 8/8/08 
22 VAC 30-10-20 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 71 10/15/08 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
22 VAC 30-10-40 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3077 8/8/08 
22 VAC 30-10-40 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 71 10/15/08 
22 VAC 30-10-50 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3077 8/8/08 
22 VAC 30-10-50 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 71 10/15/08 
22 VAC 30-10-60 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 71 10/15/08 
22 VAC 30-11-10 through 22 VAC 30-11-110 Added 25:1 VA.R. 72-74 10/15/08 
22 VAC 40-11-10 through 22 VAC 40-11-70 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 74 1/1/09 
22 VAC 40-12-10 through 22 VAC 40-12-110 Added 25:1 VA.R. 74-78 1/1/09 
22 VAC 40-151-10 through 22 VAC 40-151-1020 Added 25:3 VA.R. 482-512 1/1/09 
22 VAC 40-470-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1231 2/6/08 
22 VAC 40-685-30 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1231 2/6/08 
22 VAC 40-690-20 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3420 10/1/08 
22 VAC 40-690-30 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3420 10/1/08 
22 VAC 40-690-40 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3421 10/1/08 
22 VAC 40-690-55 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3421 10/1/08 
22 VAC 40-690-65 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3421 10/1/08 
22 VAC 40-705-10 emer Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1987 3/1/08-2/28/09 
22 VAC 40-705-30 emer Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1990 3/1/08-2/28/09 
Title 23. Taxation 
23 VAC 10-10-10 through 23 VAC 10-10-80 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1520-1521 4/19/08 
23 VAC 10-10-80 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1521 4/19/08 
23 VAC 10-10-90 Repealed 24:12 VA.R. 1522 4/19/08 
23 VAC 10-20-155 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3848 10/1/08 
23 VAC 10-210-20 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3849 10/1/08 
23 VAC 10-210-693 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3240 10/6/08 
23 VAC 10-500-10 through 23 VAC 10-500-820 Added 24:23 VA.R. 3253-3289 10/6/08 
Title 24. Transportation and Motor Vehicles 
24 VAC 25-10-10 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 519 10/13/08 
24 VAC 25-20-10 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 519 10/13/08 
24 VAC 27-30-10 through 24 VAC 27-30-190 Added 25:1 VA.R. 78-89 10/15/08 
24 VAC 30-16-10 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 520 11/12/08 
24 VAC 30-72-10 through 24 VAC 30-72-170 Added 24:17 VA.R. 2458-2466 7/1/08 
24 VAC 30-72-30 Erratum 24:18 VA.R. 2732 -- 
24 VAC 30-155-10 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3290 7/1/08 
24 VAC 30-155-40 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3291 7/1/08 
24 VAC 30-155-50 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3292 7/1/08 
24 VAC 30-155-60 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3294 7/1/08 
24 VAC 30-155-70 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3303 7/1/08 
24 VAC 30-155-80 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3303 7/1/08 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 3. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL BOARD 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  
Notice is hereby given that the Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Board has WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory 
Action for 3VAC5-50, Retail Operations, which was 
published in 24:11 VA.R. 1341 February 4, 2008. The 
changes contemplated in the action were also included in 
another action for which the proposed stage has already been 
published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Agency Contact: Jeffrey L. Painter, Legislative and 
Regulatory Coordinator, Department of Alcoholic Beverage 
Control, P.O. Box 27491, Richmond, VA 23261, telephone 
(804) 213-4621, FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, 
or email jeffrey.painter@abc.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-924; Filed October 2, 2008, 3:40 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 

CORRECTIONS 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Criminal Justice Services Board 
intends to consider amending the following regulations: 
6VAC20-171, Regulations Relating to Private Security 
Services. The purpose of the proposed action is a 
comprehensive review and amendment of existing 
regulations. This review and recommended amendments are 
based on legislative actions that require development of 
regulations for locksmiths as well as further development of 
regulations relating to detective canine handlers. In addition 
to recent legislative actions, a comprehensive review will 
amend and revise the rules mandating and prescribing 
standards, requirements and procedures that serve to protect 
the citizens of the Commonwealth from unqualified, 
unscrupulous and incompetent persons engaging in the 
activities of private security services. 
The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  
Statutory Authority: § 9.1-141 of the Code of Virginia. 
Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on November 26, 2008. 
Agency Contact: Lisa McGee, Section Chief, Department of 
Criminal Justice Services, P.O. Box 1300, Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 371-2419, FAX (804) 786-6344, or 
email lisa.mcgee@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1546; Filed September 29, 2008, 8:36 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to 
consider promulgating the following regulations: 12VAC5-
67, Advance Health Care Directive Registry. The purpose 
of the proposed action is to implement a central online 
registry for advance health care directives. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2994 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on November 26, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Kimberly S. Barnes, Policy Analyst, 
Department of Health, 109 Governor St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 864-7661, or email 
kim.barnes@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1382; Filed October 8, 2008, 11:10 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Amended Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Pharmacy intends to 
consider amending the following regulations: 18VAC110-20, 
Regulations Governing the Practice of Pharmacy, and 
18VAC110-50, Regulations Governing Wholesale 
Distributors, Manufacturers and Warehousers. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to set the renewal dates in 
the regulations as prescribed in Chapter 330 of the 2008 Acts 
of Assembly.  When this notice was initially published in 
25:3 VA.R. 339 October 13, 2008, the intent to also amend 
18VAC110-50, Regulations Governing Wholesale 
Distributors, Manufacturers and Warehousers, was 
unintentionally omitted from the notice.  The agency is 
extending the public comment period to provide the public 30 
days' notice from this notice for submitting comments to the 
agency. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register. 
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Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on November 26, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Elizabeth Scott Russell, RPh, Executive 
Director, Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, 
FAX (804) 527-4472, or email 
scotti.russell@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1311 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services 
intends to consider amending the following regulations: 
22VAC40-601, Food Stamp Program. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to alter the length of time an application 
for food stamp benefits may be held pending before 
processing. Federal regulations allow states an option to deny 
applications after 30 days if the local department of social 
services is unable to process the application or to hold the 
application pending for an additional 30-day period. The State 
Board of Social Services would like to deny applications after 
30 days instead of holding the application pending for an 
additional 30-day period before disposing of the applications. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia; 
7 CFR 271.4. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on November 26, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Celeste Jackson, Program Consultant, 
Department of Social Services, Office of Legislative and 
Regulatory Affairs, 7 North Eighth Street, Room 5214, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7376, FAX (804) 
726-7356, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 
celeste.jackson@dss.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1593; Filed October 8, 2008, 10:32 a.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services 
intends to consider amending the following regulations: 
22VAC40-25, Auxiliary Grants Program. The purpose of 
the proposed action is to (i) clarify and simplify requirements 
for assisted living facilities to document proper handling of 
Auxiliary Grant funds and Auxiliary Grant recipients’ 

personal needs allowances; (ii) establish a residency 
requirement for Auxiliary Grant applicants; and (iii) ensure 
that the regulations conform to current Virginia Department 
of Social Services licensing and assessment regulations. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-800 of the Code of 
Virginia; § 416-2001 of Title XX of the Social Security Act.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on November 26, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Paige McCleary, Adult Services Program 
Consultant, Department of Social Services, 7 North Eighth 
Street, Room 5214, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
726-7536, FAX (804) 726-7895, TTY (800) 828-1120, or 
email paige.mccleary@dss.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1327; Filed October 8, 2008, 10:31 a.m.  

DEPARTMENT FOR THE BLIND AND VISION 
IMPAIRED 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Department for the Blind and 
Vision Impaired intends to consider repealing 22VAC45-50, 
Regulation Governing Provisions of Services in 
Vocational Rehabilitation and promulgating the following 
regulations: 22VAC45-51, Regulations Governing 
Provisions of Services in Vocational Rehabilitation. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to repeal existing 
regulations (22VAC45-50) concurrently with the 
promulgation of new regulations (22VAC45-51). The current 
regulations, last revised in 1990, are outdated. 22VAC45-51 
incorporates updated federal language, updates the names of 
two agencies, and combines two sections. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 51.5-65 and 51.5-66 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on November 26, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Susan D. Payne, Program Director, 
Vocational Rehabilitation, Department for the Blind and 
Vision Impaired, 397 Azalea Avenue, Richmond, VA 23227, 
telephone (804) 371-3184, FAX (804) 371-3351, TTY 
(804) 371-3140, or email susan.payne@dbvi.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1168; Filed September 28, 2008, 9:12 a.m. 
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

STATE BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND 
CONSUMER SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-200. Rules and Regulations 
Pertaining to the Disposal of Entire Flocks of Dead 
Poultry (amending 2VAC5-200-10, 2VAC5-200-20, 
2VAC5-200-30, 2VAC5-200-50, 2VAC5-200-60). 

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-6002 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

December 4, 2008 - 10 a.m. - Oliver Hill Building, 
Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services, 102 Governor Street, Room 220, Richmond, 
VA 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
December 26, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Colleen Calderwood, DVM, Program 
Manager, Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 
P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-
2483, FAX (804) 371-2380, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 
colleen.calderwood@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services is 
authorized to adopt regulations under § 3.2-6002 of the Code 
of Virginia. This section encourages the board to conform its 
regulations involving the prevention and eradication of 
contagious or infectious diseases to livestock and poultry with 
federal regulations establishing regional or national plans of 
control and eradication. This regulation is in keeping with the 
state’s duty to control and eradicate infectious or contagious 
disease as part of that state/federal cooperative effort. This 
regulation as it now exists and as it will be amended leaves 
extensive discretion with the State Veterinarian as to which 
method will be used to dispose of large numbers of poultry 
carcasses when an outbreak of an infectious or contagious 
disease, such as Avian Influenza or Exotic Newcastle 
Disease, occurs. Disposal of whole flocks will be 
accomplished by the use of quarantine orders issued by the 
State Veterinarian under § 3.2-6003 of the Code of Virginia. 
Although this latter authority exists, the proposed regulation 
further identifies the acceptable methods that can be used for 
disposal. 

Purpose: This regulatory action is essential to protect the 
health of Virginia’s citizens by preventing the spread of 

infectious or contagious diseases. Some of the diseases of 
concern (i.e., H5, H7 high pathogenicity avian influenza) are 
zoonotic diseases (i.e., can be spread from poultry to 
humans). Delayed identification of an effective, safe, and 
environmentally sound means of disposing of the poultry 
carcasses would cause a delay in the depopulation of infected 
flocks, thereby potentially causing an increase in the number 
of flocks becoming infected. In case of a high pathogenicity 
avian influenza outbreak, the risk of humans becoming 
infected with the disease would increase. This on-farm 
composting can help protect the public by reducing the 
possible exposure to the disease of concern that could occur if 
carcasses are moved from the premises. 

Substance: The substantive provisions of the proposed 
regulation include the following: 

A definition of "composting" is added to define that specific 
biological process. 

The definition of "dead poultry" is amended to update the 
definition and to incorporate poultry destroyed as a result of 
natural disasters. 

The definition of "department" is removed as being 
unnecessary. 

The definition of "disposal" is amended to include 
composting or other methods approved by the State 
Veterinarian to allow for greater flexibility. 

The definition of "disposal pit" is amended to update and 
reference appropriate Department of Environmental Quality 
regulations. 

The definition of "flock" is amended to provide discretion for 
determining a separate flock by the State Veterinarian instead 
of the department. 

The definition of "incinerator" is amended to mirror a similar 
definition contained in the Code of Virginia. 

The definition of "infectious and contagious disease" is 
removed as being unnecessary. 

The definition of "landfill" is amended to mirror a similar 
definition contained in the Code of Virginia. 

The definition of "person" is amended to remove the 
terminology "for profit." Additionally, other "for profit" 
references are removed throughout the proposed regulation to 
show that the regulation applies to whole flock disposal, 
whether for profit or not for profit. 
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2VAC5-200-20 is amended to better emphasize that the 
proposed regulation only applies to situations where the entire 
flock must be disposed of. 

2VAC5-200-30 is amended to incorporate composting as an 
acceptable method of disposal. 

2VAC5-200-50 is amended to eliminate the requirement of 
filing a disposal plan with the State Veterinarian, to require 
that the person must have a plan in their possession that can 
be made readily available to the State Veterinarian or his 
representative, and to identify that persons owning flocks of 
less than 500 poultry are not required to have a disposal plan, 
but will work in consultation with the State Veterinarian to 
determine a proper method of disposal. 

The forms section is removed as the forms identified in the 
existing regulation are obsolete. 

Issues: Poultry diseases of regulatory concern like Avian 
Influenza and Exotic Newcastle Disease can have serious 
financial and economical impacts on the affected individuals 
and communities. Poultry growers and their employees, 
poultry farm service providers, litter brokers, processing 
facility employees, and transportation providers can be 
adversely impacted during a contagious disease outbreak. 
During the 2002-2003 low pathogenicity avian influenza 
outbreak in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, delayed 
identification of an effective, safe, and environmentally sound 
means of disposing of the poultry carcasses caused an 
interruption in the depopulation of infected flocks. 

Adding composting as an acceptable method of whole poultry 
flock carcass disposal provides poultry growers, and the 
industry as a whole, an additional economical and 
environmentally sound method of carcass disposal, in 
addition to other methods already permitted by the regulation. 

The primary advantages to the public include benefits to 
Virginia families whose income would be severely and 
adversely affected if there were an outbreak of avian 
influenza. Allowing composting provides an economical and 
environmentally sound option to poultry producers to quickly 
and effectively dispose of large numbers of poultry carcasses, 
minimizing the negative economic impact that will be 
experienced by these producers.  Also, suppliers and family 
businesses dependent on the poultry industry would also have 
diminished income during the control and eradication period 
following the outbreak of the disease; consequently, if poultry 
carcasses can be disposed of quickly and effectively, the 
length of time that these other businesses will be affected can 
be shortened minimizing the negative financial impact on 
these businesses. 

Primary advantages to the agency and the Commonwealth are 
that this proposed regulation would facilitate the state’s duty 
to control and eradicate infectious or contagious disease in 
poultry by allowing as many viable options of carcass 
disposal as possible.  

Composting is an environmentally sound method of carcass 
disposal that allows for disposing of large biomasses of dead 
poultry on the same premises where the birds were grown. 
This on-farm composting can protect other poultry and 
possibly the public by reducing the possible exposure to the 
disease of concern (i.e. H5, H7 avian influenza) that could 
occur if carcasses are moved from the premises. This is one 
of the methods of carcass disposal preferred by the Virginia 
Poultry Disease Task Force that is composed of 
representatives from the commercial poultry industry, the 
Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 
the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality, and the 
United States Department of Agriculture. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Regulation. The Virginia 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS) 
proposed to amend the existing Rules and Regulations 
Pertaining to the Disposal of Entire Flocks of Dead Poultry 
by (1) adding "composting" as a method of whole poultry 
flock carcass disposal; (2) removing the terminology "for 
profit" from the definition of "person" as well as other 
locations of the regulations; (3) amending the definition of 
"dead poultry" to incorporate poultry destroyed as a result of 
natural disasters; and (4) no longer requiring that disposal 
plans be filed with the State Veterinarian. 

Results of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
all proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The current regulation permits 
poultry infected with infectious or contagious disease to be 
destroyed by incineration (on or off the farm premises where 
the birds were raised), rendering, burying in a landfill, or 
burying on premises in a disposal pit. The proposed 
regulation will add "composting" as an approved method of 
disposal. Composting of poultry carcasses is a decomposition 
process that involves mixing carcasses, a carbon source, and 
water that, following the decomposition process, will create a 
homogenous organic material suitable for use as a soil 
conditioner, fertilizer or material for land application.  

Composting is an environmentally sound method of carcass 
disposal which allows for disposing of large biomasses of 
dead poultry on the same premises where the birds were 
grown. This on-farm composting can protect other poultry 
and possibly the public by reducing the possible exposure to 
the disease of concern that could occur if carcasses are moved 
from the premises. It is one of the methods of carcass disposal 
preferred by the Virginia Poultry Disease Task Force.1 The 
use of composting for disposal of whole poultry flock 
mortality will expedite responses to disease events and help 
control the consequences of a disease spreading in a locality. 
Rapid response relative to disposal of whole flocks of poultry 
will likely minimize any negative effect that would be 
experienced by poultry producers. Also, if poultry carcasses 
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can be disposed of quickly and effectively, the length of time 
that suppliers and family businesses dependent on the poultry 
industry will be affected can be shortened, minimizing the 
negative financial impact on these businesses. 

VDACS also proposes to amend the definition of "dead 
poultry" to incorporate poultry destroyed as a result of natural 
disasters and makes it clear that on farm composting is a 
disposal option for whole flock mortality that results from 
nondisease causes. According to VDACS, currently the 
options are similar for disposal of whole flock mortality that 
results from either infectious disease or natural disasters, with 
the actual disposal method chosen based on a combination of 
considerations including public safety, worker safety, 
environmental considerations, and efficiency. Therefore this 
proposed change will likely not have any significant effect. 

The proposed regulation will amend the requirement 
pertaining to disposal plans for an entire flock of dead 
poultry. Disposal plans will be no longer required to be filed 
with the State Veterinarian before any person could engage in 
the raising or keeping of poultry2 or enter into a contract 
involving the raising or keeping of poultry with any other 
person. Instead, the proposed regulation requires that a 
disposal plan be developed and be made available to the State 
Veterinarian or his representative upon request. This 
proposed change will likely save the processing time for the 
regulated operations and allow them to conduct business in a 
more efficient way. Neither the current regulation nor the 
proposed regulation requires disposal plans for persons 
owning flocks of less than 500 poultry. The proposed 
regulation adds a statement that the State Veterinarian, in 
consultation with the owner, will determine a method of 
disposal during a mortality event of a flock of less than 500 
poultry. The added language will provide clarifications to the 
existing regulation without causing any significant costs to 
the small poultry growers.  

VDACS also proposes to remove the words "for profit" from 
the definition of "person" and throughout the regulation to 
reflect that the regulation applies to both for-profit operations 
and not-for-profit entities. VDACS states that this proposed 
change will not cause any significant impact except for the 
requirement of plan development. The proposed regulation 
requires that all poultry growers with a flock of more than 
500 poultry shall have a disposal plan developed and make it 
available to the State Veterinarian or his representative on 
request. Poultry owners with a flock of less than 500 poultry 
are not required to develop such a plan.  According to 
VDACS, the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality 
and the Virginia Cooperative Extension Service (VCE) have 
released a publication entitled "Guidelines for In-House 
Composting"; the Virginia Poultry Disease Task Force has 
developed a document entitled "Avian Influenza, Surveillance 
and Rapid Response Plans." These documents are available to 
the public and may be used to develop a whole flock 
mortality disposal plan.  VDACS will work with VCE Poultry 

Specialists to develop generic disposal plans that local 
extension agents can use to help producers develop a whole 
flock mortality plan. VDACS believes that this proposed 
change will cause only a minimal investment in time for the 
relevant poultry growers.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. VDACS reports that there 
are approximately 7 large poultry companies and 1200 
growers doing businesses in Virginia, all of which have more 
than 500 poultry on their premises. There are a large number 
of owners with less than 500 poultry, but the number is 
unknown.  

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 
will affect all localities with poultry growers. Particularly, 
localities that have the greatest densities of poultry growers 
would be impacted to a much greater extent than other 
localities. These localities would include counties located in 
the Shenandoah Valley, South Central Virginia, Southeast 
Virginia, and the Eastern Shore. 

Projected Impact on Employment.  Adding composting as a 
method of disposal of whole poultry flock mortality will 
likely expedite responses to disease events and reduce any 
negative effect for poultry producers, suppliers and other 
businesses dependent on the poultry industry. This will likely 
reduce the drop in employment in the event of diseases or 
natural disasters. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Allowing 
the use of composting for disposal of whole poultry flock 
mortality will likely reduce the spread of high mortality 
infectious disease and benefit other poultry growers. Adding 
composting as an option for the disposal of whole flock 
mortality will also likely expedite responses to disease events 
and will likely minimize any negative effect that would be 
experienced by poultry growers, suppliers and other 
businesses dependent on the poultry industry. Therefore, the 
proposed change will likely have a positive impact on the 
value of these properties. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Allowing the use 
of composting for disposal of whole flock mortality will 
likely reduce the spread of high mortality infectious disease 
and expedite responses to disease events, which will likely 
minimize any negative effect that would be experienced by 
small poultry producers, suppliers and other small businesses 
dependent on the poultry industry. Small for-profit growers 
with more than 500 poultry will benefit from the proposed 
change relating to the disposal plan. Small not-for-profit 
growers with a flock of more than 500 poultry will be 
required to have a disposal plan developed. VDACS believes 
that this requirement will cause only a minimal investment in 
time for the poultry growers, because documents are available 
to the public from the Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality, Virginia Cooperative Extension Service, and the 
Virginia Poultry Disease Task Force, at no charge, that will 
facilitate the development of whole flock mortality disposal 
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plans. VDACS estimates that approximately 25% of the 1200 
poultry growers are small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed regulation will likely benefit 
all poultry owners by reducing the possible exposure to the 
high mortality, infectious diseases. Small for-profit growers 
with more than 500 poultry will benefit from the proposed 
change relating to the disposal plan. Small not-for-profit 
growers that own flocks of more than 500 poultry may incur a 
minimal cost in developing a disposal plan from a model. 
There is no alternative method that could achieve the same 
purpose with a lower adverse effect. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect real estate development 
costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The agency concurs 
with the analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed regulation amends the acceptable methods 
of carcass disposal to permit composting or other methods 
approved by the State Veterinarian; adds language on 
provisions governing composting; and amends the 
requirement to file disposal plans. The substantive changes 
proposed by this action include adding "composting" as a 
method of disposing of poultry destroyed to prevent the 

spread of an infectious or contagious disease; amending 
the definitions of "incinerator" and "landfill" to mirror 
definitions in the Code of Virginia; removing the definition 
of "infectious and contagious disease"; amending the 
definition of "person" to remove the terminology "for 
profit" (as well as removing this terminology from other 
locations within the proposed regulation) to reflect that the 
regulation applies not only to for-profit operations, but 
also to those that are not-for-profit. 

2VAC5-200-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 
shall have the following meaning, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Composting" means the natural process in which beneficial 
microbes reduce dead poultry into a biologically safe 
byproduct. 

"Dead poultry" means poultry, exclusive of those 
intentionally slaughtered for food, which that die or are 
destroyed as a result of a contagious and infectious disease 
upon any premises in the state through natural contagion on 
any premises in this state and poultry destroyed as the result 
of a natural or manmade disaster. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services. 

"Disposal" means the complete to put dead poultry into a 
landfill or disposal pit; the complete destruction of dead 
poultry in an incinerator or their proper disposition in a 
disposal pit, in a landfill, or by rendering or composting; or 
the management of dead poultry by other methods approved 
by the State Veterinarian. 

"Disposal pit" means an opening dug in the ground that 
meets the Initial Site Screening Criteria for Burial of Dead 
Poultry, the terms of which are hereby incorporated by 
reference and criteria as specified in VR 672-20-10 9VAC20-
80, of the Virginia Department of Waste Management 
Environmental Quality, Solid Waste Management 
Regulations. 

"Entire flock" means all of the poultry within one group of 
poultry that has been designated as a flock for a period of at 
least 21 days. 

"Flock" means all of the poultry on one premises, except 
that, at the discretion of the department State Veterinarian, 
any group of poultry which is segregated from other poultry 
and has been so segregated for a period of at least 21 days 
may be considered as a separate flock. 

"Incinerator" means a firebox constructed of masonry or 
metal in which dead poultry is burned by the use of fuel 
device designed for treatment of waste by combustion. 

"Infectious and contagious disease" means avian influenza 
and exotic newcastle disease. 
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"Landfill" means an engineered land burial facility for the 
disposal of solid waste which is so located, designed, 
constructed, and operated to contain and isolate the solid 
waste so that it does not pose a substantial present or potential 
hazard to human health or the environment area permitted by 
the Department of Environmental Quality allowing the 
disposal of dead poultry.  

"Off-farm disposal site" means any site for the disposal of 
dead poultry other than the farm on which the dead poultry 
died.  

"Person" means any person, firm, partnership, corporation, 
or institution which engages in the raising or keeping of 
poultry for profit in this state.  

"Poultry" means all chickens, ducks, turkeys or other 
domestic fowls being raised or kept on any premises in the 
state for profit.  

"Premises" means the entire tract of land, including but not 
limited to the buildings thereon, owned, leased or used by any 
person for the raising or keeping of poultry for profit.  

"Raising or keeping of poultry for profit" means the raising 
or keeping of 500 or more poultry at one time for the purpose 
of sale of such poultry or the eggs produced therefrom.  

"Rendering" means treating dead poultry according to the 
process described in 9 CFR § 381.95(a) 82.1. 

2VAC5-200-20. Applicability. 

This chapter shall govern the disposal of dead birds poultry 
by persons who raise or keep poultry for profit or who have 
entered into a contract for the raising or keeping of poultry for 
profit, but only when the entire flock is to be depopulated or 
when the entire flock dies. In all other instances § 3.1-742.1 
et seq. involving for profit operations, Article 2 (§ 3.2-6024 et 
seq.) of Chapter 60 of Title 3.2 of the Code of Virginia, 
Disposal of Dead Poultry, shall govern. 

2VAC5-200-30. Disposal pits, incinerators, landfilling 
landfills, or rendering, or composting required of persons 
raising or keeping poultry for profit. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to engage in the 
raising or keeping of poultry for profit on any premises within 
the Commonwealth of Virginia, or to enter into a contract 
involving the raising or keeping of poultry for profit with any 
other person, unless the premises upon which such poultry is 
to be raised or kept is provided with or unless the person 
maintaining the premises whereon the poultry is raised or 
kept has access to: 

1. A disposal pit; 

2. An incinerator; 

3. A renderer through a bona fide contract for rendering; 

4. A landfill, through a bona fide contract for the disposal 
of dead poultry therein. 

5. Composting either on site, in the poultry house, or at 
another site approved by the State Veterinarian; or 

6. Any other method approved by the State Veterinarian. 

B. Provisions governing disposal pits. 

1. If possible, an area away from public view should be 
selected. 

2. No person engaged in the raising or keeping of poultry 
for profit and no person who has entered into a contract 
involving the raising or keeping of poultry for profit with 
any other person shall construct or use any pit for the 
disposal of poultry unless it conforms to the definition of a 
disposal pit contained in this chapter.  

3. Any person engaged in the raising or keeping of poultry 
for profit and any person who has entered into a contract 
involving the raising or keeping of poultry for profit with 
any other person shall, before using a disposal pit, obtain 
approval for its use as required by state law. 

C. Provisions governing incinerators. 

1. If possible, an area away from public view should be 
selected. 

2. No person engaged in the raising or keeping of poultry 
for profit and no person who has entered into a contract 
involving the raising or keeping of poultry for profit with 
any other person shall construct or use an incinerator for 
the disposal of dead poultry unless it is constructed of 
masonry or metal and has the capability to burn within a 
time frame approved by the State Veterinarian all poultry 
raised or kept on the premises at any time.  

3. Any person engaged in the raising or keeping of poultry 
for profit and any person who has entered into a contract 
involving the raising or keeping of poultry for profit with 
any other person shall, before using an incinerator on his 
premises to dispose of birds, obtain approval for its use as 
required by state law. 

D. Provisions governing bona fide rendering contract. No 
person engaged in the raising or keeping of poultry for profit 
and no person who has entered into a contract involving the 
raising or keeping of poultry for profit with any other person 
shall dispose of dead poultry through rendering unless he 
owns a rending facility, or unless he has entered into a bona 
fide contract for the rendering of such dead poultry, which 
contract shall be part of the plan for disposal of dead poultry 
specified by 2VAC5-200-50 of this chapter. 

E. Provisions governing bona fide contract with a landfill. 
No person engaged in the raising or keeping of poultry for 
profit and no person who has entered into a contract involving 
the raising or keeping of poultry for profit with any other 
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person shall dispose of dead poultry in a landfill unless he 
owns a landfill, or unless he has entered into a bona fide 
contract for such disposal of dead poultry in a landfill, which 
contract shall be part of the plan for the disposal of dead 
poultry specified by 2VAC5-200-50 of this chapter. 

F. Provisions governing composting. 

1. If possible, an area from public view should be selected. 

2. No person engaged in the raising or keeping of poultry 
and no person who has entered into a contract involving 
the raising or keeping of poultry with any other person 
shall construct or use any facility for the composting of 
dead poultry unless it conforms to best management 
practices or acceptable composting guidance as approved 
by the State Veterinarian. 

3. Any person engaged in the raising or keeping of poultry 
and any person who has entered into a contract involving 
the raising or keeping of poultry with any other person 
shall, before composting, obtain approval for composting 
as required by state law. 

2VAC5-200-50. Plans for disposal of dead poultry. 

A. No person shall engage in the raising or keeping of 
poultry for profit and no person shall enter into a contract 
involving the raising or keeping of poultry for profit with any 
other person unless he files with the State Veterinarian a plan, 
has in his possession a dead poultry disposal plan embracing 
at a minimum provisions consistent with the requirements of 
this chapter for the disposal of an entire flock of dead poultry. 
The plan shall be made available upon request of the State 
Veterinarian or his representative. 

B. No person may implement the plan or any amendment to 
it until it is approved by the State Veterinarian. No person 
who owns a flock of less than 500 poultry shall be required to 
have a plan for the disposal of dead poultry. In the event a 
flock of less than 500 poultry needs to be depopulated or dies, 
the State Veterinarian, in consultation with the owner, will 
determine a method of disposal that complies with disease 
prevention protocol and is environmentally sound. 

C. Nothing in this section shall prohibit a person from filing 
developing a plan on behalf of its contract growers.  

2VAC5-200-60. Transportation of dead poultry; 
sanitation. 

A. No person may transport any dead poultry from any 
premises to an off-farm disposal site without the prior 
approval, granted by permit on a case-by-case basis, by the 
State Veterinarian or his representative.  

B. No person may transport dead poultry from a farm 
premises to any off-farm disposal site except in leak-proof 
containers or leak-proof trucks transporting vehicles.  

C. No person may transport dead poultry from a farm 
premises to any off-farm disposal site unless the dead poultry 
is enclosed in the transporting vehicle so that feathers and 
other debris will not be released into the environment.  

D. No person may transport dead poultry from a farm 
premises to an off-farm disposal site unless:  

1. The containers are disinfected prior to loading on the 
truck transporting vehicle and the exterior of the loaded 
truck transporting vehicle disinfected prior to leaving the 
farm; and  

2. The entire truck transporting vehicle is cleaned and 
disinfected after unloading at the off-farm disposal site and 
prior to leaving the off-farm disposal site.  

FORMS (2VAC5-200) (Repealed.) 

Initial Premises Survey For Burial of Poultry, Form 
VDACS-03110.  

Approval of Dead Poultry Disposal Plan, Form VDACS-
03111, eff. 2/93.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-916; Filed October 2, 2008, 1:00 p.m.  

STATE MILK COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following model public 
participation guidelines are exempt from Article 2 (§ 2.2-
4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of 
Virginia pursuant to Chapter 321 of the 2008 Acts of 
Assembly. 

Titles of Regulations: 2VAC15-11. Public Participation 
Guidelines (repealing 2VAC15-11-10 through 2VAC15-
11-120). 

2VAC15-12. Public Participation Guidelines (adding 
2VAC15-12-10 through 2VAC15-12-110). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 3.2-3204 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 26, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Rodney L. Phillips, Administrator, 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Oliver 
Hill Building, 102 Governor Street, Room 205, Richmond, 
VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-2013, FAX (804) 786-3779, 
or email rodney.phillips@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulations comply with the legislative mandate 
(Chapter 321, 2008 Acts of Assembly) that agencies adopt 
model public participation guidelines issued by the 
Department of Planning and Budget by December 1, 2008. 
Public participation guidelines exist to promote public 
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involvement in the development, amendment, or repeal of 
an agency's regulations.  

This regulatory action repeals the current public 
participation guidelines and promulgates new public 
participation guidelines as required by Chapter 321 of the 
2008 Acts of Assembly. Highlights of the public 
participation guidelines include (i) providing for the 
establishment and maintenance of notification lists of 
interested persons and specifying the information to be 
sent to such persons; (ii) providing for public comments on 
regulatory actions; (iii) establishing the time period during 
which public comments shall be accepted; (iv) providing 
that the plan to hold a public meeting shall be indicated in 
any notice of intended regulatory action; (v) providing for 
the appointment, when necessary, of regulatory advisory 
panels to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance and negotiated rulemaking panels if a 
regulatory action is expected to be controversial; and (vi) 
providing for the periodic review of regulations. 

CHAPTER 12  
PUBLIC PARTICIPATION GUIDELINES  

Part I  
Purpose and Definitions  

2VAC15-12-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment or repeal of the 
regulations of the State Milk Commission. This chapter does 
not apply to regulations, guidelines, or other documents 
exempted or excluded from the provisions of the 
Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia). 

2VAC15-12-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 
et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency" means the State Milk Commission, which is the 
unit of state government empowered by the agency's basic 
law to make regulations or decide cases. Actions specified in 
this chapter may be fulfilled by state employees as delegated 
by the agency. 

"Basic law" means provisions in the Code of Virginia that 
delineate the basic authority and responsibilities of an agency. 

"Commonwealth Calendar" means the electronic calendar 
for official government meetings open to the public as 
required by § 2.2-3707 C of the Freedom of Information Act. 

''Negotiated rulemaking panel'' or ''NRP'' means an ad hoc 
advisory panel of interested parties established by an agency 

to consider issues that are controversial with the assistance of 
a facilitator or mediator, for the purpose of reaching a 
consensus in the development of a proposed regulatory 
action. 

"Notification list" means a list used to notify persons 
pursuant to this chapter. Such a list may include an electronic 
list maintained through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall or 
other list maintained by the agency. 

"Open meeting" means any scheduled gathering of a unit of 
state government empowered by an agency's basic law to 
make regulations or decide cases, which is related to 
promulgating, amending or repealing a regulation. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, cooperative, limited liability company, trust, joint 
venture, government, political subdivision, or any other legal 
or commercial entity and any successor, representative, agent, 
agency, or instrumentality thereof. 

"Public hearing" means a scheduled time at which members 
or staff of the agency will meet for the purpose of receiving 
public comment on a regulatory action. 

"Regulation" means any statement of general application 
having the force of law, affecting the rights or conduct of any 
person, adopted by the agency in accordance with the 
authority conferred on it by applicable laws. 

"Regulatory action" means the promulgation, amendment, or 
repeal of a regulation by the agency. 

"Regulatory advisory panel" or "RAP" means a standing or 
ad hoc advisory panel of interested parties established by the 
agency for the purpose of assisting in regulatory actions. 

"Town Hall" means the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, the 
website operated by the Virginia Department of Planning and 
Budget at www.townhall.virginia.gov, which has online 
public comment forums and displays information about 
regulatory meetings and regulatory actions under 
consideration in Virginia and sends this information to 
registered public users. 

"Virginia Register" means the Virginia Register of 
Regulations, the publication that provides official legal notice 
of new, amended and repealed regulations of state agencies, 
which is published under the provisions of Article 6 (§ 2.2-
4031 et seq.) of the Administrative Process Act. 

Part II  
Notification of Interested Persons 

2VAC15-12-30. Notification list. 

A. The agency shall maintain a list of persons who have 
requested to be notified of regulatory actions being pursued 
by the agency. 

B. Any person may request to be placed on a notification list 
by registering as a public user on the Town Hall or by making 
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a request to the agency. Any person who requests to be placed 
on a notification list shall elect to be notified either by 
electronic means or through a postal carrier. 

C. The agency may maintain additional lists for persons who 
have requested to be informed of specific regulatory issues, 
proposals, or actions. 

D. When electronic mail is returned as undeliverable on 
multiple occasions at least 24 hours apart, that person may be 
deleted from the list. A single undeliverable message is 
insufficient cause to delete the person from the list. 

E. When mail delivered by a postal carrier is returned as 
undeliverable on multiple occasions, that person may be 
deleted from the list. 

F. The agency may periodically request those persons on the 
notification list to indicate their desire to either continue to be 
notified electronically, receive documents through a postal 
carrier, or be deleted from the list. 

2VAC15-12-40. Information to be sent to persons on the 
notification list. 

A. To persons electing to receive electronic notification or 
notification through a postal carrier as described in 2VAC15-
12-30, the agency shall send the following information: 

1. A notice of intended regulatory action (NOIRA). 

2. A notice of the comment period on a proposed, a 
reproposed, or a fast-track regulation and hyperlinks to, or 
instructions on how to obtain, a copy of the regulation and 
any supporting documents. 

3. A notice soliciting comment on a final regulation when 
the regulatory process has been extended pursuant to § 2.2-
4007.06 or 2.2-4013 C of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The failure of any person to receive any notice or copies 
of any documents shall not affect the validity of any 
regulation or regulatory action. 

Part III  
Public Participation Procedures  

2VAC15-12-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 
action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 
opportunity to submit data, views, and arguments, either 
orally or in writing, to the agency. Such opportunity to 
comment shall include an online public comment forum on 
the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 
copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 
issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 
fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 
public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 
to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 
submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 
the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 
as follows:  

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 
(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 
publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 
publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 
of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 
listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 
substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 
he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 
calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 
changes in accordance with § 2.2-4013 C of the Code of 
Virginia.  

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 
description of public comment to all public commenters on 
the proposed regulation at least five days before final 
adoption of the regulation pursuant to § 2.2-4012 E of the 
Code of Virginia.  

2VAC15-12-60. Petition for rulemaking. 

A. As provided in § 2.2-4007 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person may petition the agency to consider a regulatory 
action. 

B. A petition shall include but is not limited to the following 
information: 

1. The petitioner's name and contact information; 

2. The substance and purpose of the rulemaking that is 
requested, including reference to any applicable Virginia 
Administrative Code sections; and 

3. Reference to the legal authority of the agency to take the 
action requested. 
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C. The agency shall receive, consider and respond to a 
petition pursuant to § 2.2-4007 and shall have the sole 
authority to dispose of the petition. 

D. The petition shall be posted on the Town Hall and 
published in the Virginia Register. 

E. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit the agency from 
receiving information or from proceeding on its own motion 
for rulemaking. 

2VAC15-12-70. Appointment of regulatory advisory 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a regulatory advisory panel 
(RAP) to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance when the agency determines that such expertise is 
necessary to address a specific regulatory issue or action or 
when individuals indicate an interest in working with the 
agency on a specific regulatory issue or action. 

B. Any person may request the appointment of a RAP and 
request to participate in its activities. The agency shall 
determine when a RAP shall be appointed and the 
composition of the RAP. 

C. A RAP may be dissolved by the agency if: 

1. The proposed text of the regulation is posted on the 
Town Hall, published in the Virginia Register, or such 
other time as the agency determines is appropriate; or 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act. 

2VAC15-12-80. Appointment of negotiated rulemaking 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a negotiated rulemaking panel 
(NRP) if a regulatory action is expected to be controversial. 

B. An NRP that has been appointed by the agency may be 
dissolved by the agency when: 

1. There is no longer controversy associated with the 
development of the regulation; 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act; or 

3. The agency determines that resolution of a controversy 
is unlikely. 

2VAC15-12-90. Meetings. 

Notice of any open meeting, including meetings of a RAP or 
NRP, shall be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 
and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working days 
prior to the date of the meeting. The exception to this 
requirement is any meeting held in accordance with § 2.2-
3707 D of the Code of Virginia allowing for 

contemporaneous notice to be provided to participants and the 
public. 

2VAC15-12-100. Public hearings on regulations. 

A. The agency shall indicate in its notice of intended 
regulatory action whether it plans to hold a public hearing 
following the publication of the proposed stage of the 
regulatory action.  

B. The agency may conduct one or more public hearings 
during the comment period following the publication of a 
proposed regulatory action.  

C. An agency is required to hold a public hearing following 
the publication of the proposed regulatory action when:  

1. The agency's basic law requires the agency to hold a 
public hearing;  

2. The Governor directs the agency to hold a public 
hearing; or  

3. The agency receives requests for a public hearing from 
at least 25 persons during the public comment period 
following the publication of the notice of intended 
regulatory action.  

D. Notice of any public hearing shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working 
days prior to the date of the hearing. The agency shall also 
notify those persons who requested a hearing under 
subdivision C 3 of this section.  

2VAC15-12-110. Periodic review of regulations. 

A. The agency shall conduct a periodic review of its 
regulations consistent with:  

1. An executive order issued by the Governor pursuant to 
§ 2.2-4017 of the Administrative Process Act to receive 
comment on all existing regulations as to their 
effectiveness, efficiency, necessity, clarity, and cost of 
compliance; and  

2. The requirements in § 2.2-4007.1 of the Administrative 
Process Act regarding regulatory flexibility for small 
businesses.  

B. A periodic review may be conducted separately or in 
conjunction with other regulatory actions.  

C. Notice of a periodic review shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and published in the Virginia Register.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1423; Filed October 2, 2008, 1:00 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC25-40. Safety and Health 
Regulations for Mineral Mining (amending 4VAC25-40-
25, 4VAC25-40-90, 4VAC25-40-120, 4VAC25-40-130, 
4VAC25-40-190, 4VAC25-40-260, 4VAC25-40-350, 
4VAC25-40-410, 4VAC25-40-720, 4VAC25-40-780, 
4VAC25-40-800, 4VAC25-40-810, 4VAC25-40-880, 
4VAC25-40-890, 4VAC25-40-1600, 4VAC25-40-2790, 
4VAC25-40-2800, 4VAC25-40-2980, 4VAC25-40-3800, 
4VAC25-40-3830, 4VAC25-40-3840, 4VAC25-40-3990, 
4VAC25-40-4060, 4VAC25-40-4240, 4VAC25-40-4260, 
4VAC25-40-4400; adding 4VAC25-40-365, 4VAC25-40-
893, 4VAC25-40-925, 4VAC25-40-1095, 4VAC25-40-4061, 
4VAC25-40-4062, 4VAC25-40-4063, 4VAC25-40-4064, 
4VAC25-40-4065, 4VAC25-40-4066; repealing 4VAC25-
40-3050 through 4VAC25-40-3090, 4VAC25-40-3110, 
4VAC25-40-3120). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 45.1-161.3, 45.1-161.294, 45.1-
161.305 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

November 12, 2008 - 10 a.m. - Department of Mines, 
Minerals and Energy, 900 Natural Resources Drive, 
Charlottesville, VA  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on December 26, 2008. 

Agency Contact: David Spears, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, 202 N. Ninth St., 
8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219-3402, telephone (804) 692-
3212, FAX (804) 692-3237, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 
david.spears@dmme.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy is 
authorized to promulgate regulations necessary to the 
performance of its duties under § 45.1-161.3 of the Code of 
Virginia. Sections 45.1-161.294 and 45.1-161.305 require 
that the director of the department promulgate regulations to 
ensure safe working conditions and practices at underground 
and surface mineral mines, respectively.  This authority is 
mandatory. 

Purpose: The purpose of the regulation at 4VAC25-40, Safety 
and Health Regulations for Mineral Mining, is to provide for 
the protection of persons and property on and around mineral 
(noncoal) mines. The proposed action is the result of periodic 
review. Even though no public comments were received 
during the review comment period, agency staff identified 
sections that would benefit from amendments as proposed 
herein. The amendments will improve this chapter by making 
technical corrections, clarifying unclear language, updating 

references, making the regulation internally consistent and 
consistent with the Code of Virginia, and strengthening 
certain provisions relating to mine safety. Because the 
regulation is specifically intended to protect persons and 
property from the effects of mining, the agency has 
determined that the proposed amendments are essential to 
protect the health, safety and welfare of citizens. 

Substance: The intended action will amend provisions of an 
existing regulation. Unclear language in various sections will 
be clarified.  Sections identified for clarification are those 
dealing with examination and inspection of workings, 
compliance with regulations, repairing machinery, exposure 
to airborne contaminants, loaders in operation, scaling bars, 
and open flame restrictions. 

Several sections will be amended to make them internally 
consistent with other sections and with the Code of Virginia.  
References to external documents and the Code of Virginia 
will be corrected to reflect more recent publication dates of 
those documents; references to federal and other agencies that 
have changed their names will be updated. Corrections will 
be made to typographical and other technical errors. 

In Part XV of the chapter, a number of sections will be moved 
to different articles to more efficiently organize the rules.  Six 
sections dealing with mine rescue and evacuation will be 
moved from Article 2, Fire Prevention and Control, to Article 
9, Safety Program.  The heading for Article 6, Loading, 
Hauling, and Dumping, will be moved from the beginning of 
4VAC25-40-3590 to the beginning of 4VAC25-40-3560 to 
fully encompass sections dealing with hauling. The heading 
for Article 10, Personnel Hoisting, will be moved from the 
beginning of 4VAC25-40-4090 to the beginning of 4VAC25-
40-4070 to fully encompass sections dealing with hoisting. 

During the periodic review, the agency identified sections 
dealing with mineral mine safety that would benefit from 
being strengthened. The agency intends to add a section 
requiring drill logs for boreholes intended for blasting. The 
agency also intends to amend other sections dealing with 
blasting to: require reporting of flyrock incidents; require 
review of drill logs before blasting; require that areas 
containing loaded boreholes be posted as well as barricaded, 
if not guarded; require that drill logs be kept as part of the 
blast record; and require that electronic detonation systems be 
of an approved type.  Regarding underground rescue in 
mineral mines, the agency intends to amend and generally 
strengthen sections dealing with mine rescue stations, 
equipment, crews, and self-contained breathing apparatus. 
Also for the purpose of improved safety, the agency intends 
to add one new section requiring that structures be substantial 
and well maintained. 

Issues: The proposed action will provide certain advantages 
to the public, particularly those who live near or work in 
mineral mines. Strengthening sections dealing with 
preparations for blasting and requiring mine operators to have 
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a plan to minimize the affects of blasting on adjacent 
properties are intended to reduce citizen complaints related to 
blasting.  The strengthening of mine safety provisions such as 
those dealing with underground mine rescue and self-rescue 
devices will improve worker safety.  Correcting existing 
unclear, inconsistent, or incorrect language will make the 
regulation more accurate and easy to understand.  No 
disadvantages are foreseen for the public. 

Since the amended regulations will be enforced with existing 
personnel in existing programs, there will be no additional 
cost or any other anticipated disadvantages for the 
Commonwealth. 

At least one of the amended provisions will cause some 
mineral mine operators to incur additional costs, but the 
magnitude of these costs is not considered by the agency to 
be excessive in proportion to the safety benefits returned. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Regulation. The Department of 
Mines, Minerals and Energy (DMME) proposes to amend the 
existing Safety and Health Regulations for Mineral Mining 
for better protection of persons and property on and around 
mineral mines. DMME proposes to amend sections dealing 
with blasting to require that: 1) flyrock incidents be reported 
to the Division of Mineral Mining (division) immediately and 
details noted in the blast record; 2) the certified blaster in 
charge review the drill logs to determine specific downhole 
conditions prior to loading the shot; 3) areas containing 
loaded boreholes be posted as well as barricaded, if not 
guarded; 4) drill logs for boreholes intended for blasting be 
included in the blast record; 5) mine operators maintain a plan 
to control the affects of blasting on adjacent areas; and 6) 
electronic detonation systems be approved by the Director of 
the division and used according to manufacturer’s 
instructions. Sections regarding underground rescue and 
evacuation will be reorganized and strengthened. One section 
is added to require that structures shall be of substantial 
construction and maintained in safe condition.  DMME also 
proposes to make corrections and clarifications to the existing 
language.  

Results of Analysis. There is insufficient data to accurately 
compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the costs. 
Detailed analysis of the benefits and costs can be found in the 
next section. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The purpose of the existing 
Safety and Health Regulations for Mineral Mining is to 
provide for the protection of persons and property on and 
around mineral mines. DMME proposes to amend the 
sections dealing with blasting for improved safety. One of the 
proposed changes is to require that flyrock incidents be 
reported to the division immediately and details noted in the 
blast record. Flyrock means any uncontrolled material 

generated by the effect of a blast that is hazardous to persons, 
or to property not owned or controlled by the operator. The 
existing regulations do not specifically require the reporting 
of flyrock incidents. However, according to DMME, mine 
operators generally report flyrock incidents. Thus adding this 
proposed requirement will allow DMME to better monitor the 
blasting and will help in minimizing the effects of the flyrock 
incidents, without causing any significant costs to the mine 
operators.  

The proposed regulation also requires that areas containing 
loaded boreholes be posted as well as barricaded, if not 
guarded. The current regulation requires that areas containing 
boreholes be either guarded or barricaded.  Requiring the 
areas to be posted in addition to being barricaded when not 
guarded will prevent unauthorized entry and protect people 
living near the mineral mines. This proposed change will 
likely not cause any significant costs because a sign or other 
visual indications will serve the need for posting.  

DMME proposes to require that drill logs for boreholes 
intended for blasting be included in the blast record and to 
add a section specifying the required information to be 
included in the drill logs. The certified blaster in charge will 
be required to review the drill logs to determine specific 
downhole conditions prior to loading the shot. According to 
DMME, reviewing the drill log may take 5 to 10 minutes. 
Currently it is standard practice for the drillers to prepare drill 
logs and for the certified blaster to review the drill log. Some 
of the blasting contractors already have internal policies that 
require the review of drill logs by their blasters. Therefore, 
these requirements will likely not cause any significant costs 
for the operators or the certified blasters. Requiring the 
blaster to review the logs prior to loading the shots will help 
the blaster gain more accurate knowledge of the blastholes he 
is loading, which will likely improve the loading process and 
reduce the possibilities of incidents.  

According to the proposed regulation, each mine operator 
shall maintain a plan to control the effects of blasting on 
adjacent areas. This plan shall be documented and made 
available for review by the division upon request. This 
proposed change will improve protection of areas adjacent to 
the blasting and may help in dealing with citizen complaints 
related to blasting. DMME reports that there are about 130 
mineral mines in the Commonwealth that use explosives. 
These mineral mines will be required to develop such a plan, 
which will cause an estimated one-time cost of approximately 
$300 each on average.  

Another proposed change relating to blasting requires that the 
electronic detonation systems be approved by the Director of 
the division and used according to manufacturer’s instruction. 
The electronic detonation system is a fairly new technology 
and is becoming more widespread due to improvement in 
blasting that they provide. This proposed requirement will 
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assure that the types to be employed have been approved as 
safe. 

DMME proposes to amend and strengthen sections regarding 
underground rescue and evacuation. As one of the proposed 
changes, telephones are required to be supplied in refuge 
areas, in addition to adequate air and water supplies, for 
improved communications during emergencies. According to 
DMME, currently there are only two underground mines in 
the Commonwealth, which shall comply with sections 
regarding underground rescue and evacuation.  Neither of 
them is required to have refuge areas due to other sections of 
the regulations. And, both of the underground operators have 
spare telephone units that could be used in refuge areas when 
needed.  Therefore, this proposed requirement will likely not 
cause any significant costs for these two underground mine 
operations.  For future underground operations, DMME 
estimates that a new telephone supplied in refuge areas may 
cost approximately $300.  

Another proposed change regarding underground rescue is 
that a written plan for the number, type, and location of self-
rescue devices will be required and shall be sufficient for the 
number of people working underground and the possible 
hazards of the mine. And, the escape and evacuation plan 
shall include a plan for instruction of mine workers and 
rescue personnel, as well as a statement of the location and 
availability of mine rescue personnel and equipment. The 
mine maps shall include more information than currently 
required.  These proposed changes regarding underground 
rescue and evacuation will likely increase worker safety and 
minimize the potential hazard in the mineral mines. DMME 
estimates that it will take the draftsman or engineer 5 to 10 
minutes to add the locations onto the map. The other 
proposed requirements about the plans will cause minimal 
costs to the mine operators because they are currently 
addressed in the federal regulations (30 CFR Part 56 & 57). 
Adding these requirements to the existing regulation will 
make the regulation consistent with the federal regulations. 

The proposed regulation will allow small mines employing 
fewer than 75 persons underground to request in writing and 
obtain approval from the director of DMME for an alternative 
mine rescue capability. Under the current regulation, smaller 
mines are required to have at least one person so trained for 
each 10 persons employed underground. This proposed 
change will provide small mines with flexibility in 
developing a mine rescue capability that is most suitable to 
their situation and will likely benefit these small mines.  

DMME also proposes to add one section requiring that 
structures shall be of substantial construction and maintained 
in safe condition.  “Substantial construction” means 
construction of such strength, material, and workmanship that 
the object will withstand all reasonable shock, wear, and 
usage to which it will be subjected. The current regulation has 
one section stating that machinery and equipment shall be 

maintained in accordance with manufacturer's specifications. 
DMME proposes to add a section about the structure to 
ensure that structures be in good condition. 

Besides the above proposed changes, DMME will also make 
corrections and update references to the existing language to 
improve clarity of the regulation, which will reduce confusion 
and benefit the regulatory community. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. According to DMME, there 
are approximately 440 mineral mines in the Commonwealth 
of Virginia. There are approximately 130 mineral mines that 
use explosives and two underground mines. People working 
or living near the mineral mines will benefit from the 
proposed regulation. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 
will affect all localities in the Commonwealth that have 
mineral mines. According to DMME, 91% of Virginia’s 
counties have mineral mines governed by these regulations. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 
will improve worker safety of the mineral mines and will 
likely have a positive impact on the number of people 
working in those mines. Some of the proposed changes may 
cause a few minutes’ extra work for the relevant persons. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed regulation will improve safety of the mineral mines 
and will better protect the property on and around the mines, 
which may have a positive impact on the value of these 
properties. The proposed requirement of maintaining a plan to 
control the effects of blasting on adjacent areas will cause a 
one-time cost of approximately $300 to the mineral mines on 
average, which may have a slight negative impact on their 
profits and thus the value of their property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Small mineral 
mines that use explosives will likely incur an estimated one-
time cost of approximately $300 each to maintain a plan to 
control the effects of blasting on adjacent areas. Allowing 
small mines with fewer than 75 persons underground to 
request and obtain approval for an alternative mine rescue 
capability will provide these mines with more flexibility in 
developing a mine rescue capability and will likely benefit 
these small mines.  According to DMME, most of the 440 
mineral mines are small businesses.  

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed regulation will improve 
worker safety and provide for better protection of persons and 
properties from the effects of mining. Small mineral mines 
will incur a one-time cost of $300 to maintain a plan to 
control the effects of blasting on adjacent areas. Small mines 
with fewer than 75 persons underground may benefit from 
more flexibility in developing a mine rescue capability. There 
is no alternative method that can achieve the same purpose 
with a lower adverse impact.  
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Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect real estate development 
costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§ 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Department of 
Mines, Minerals and Energy concurs with the economic 
impact analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

As a result of a periodic review, the Department of Mines, 
Minerals and Energy (DMME) is amending 4VAC25-40, 
Safety and Health Regulations for Mineral Mining. The 
amendments improve this chapter by making technical 
corrections, clarifying unclear language, updating 
references, making the regulation internally consistent and 
consistent with the Code of Virginia, and strengthening 
certain provisions relating to mine safety. Sections to be 
strengthened relate to blasting, mine rescue, and 
construction and maintenance of mine structures. 

EDITOR'S NOTICE: Also as a result of the periodic review, 
DMME is moving the designations for Articles 6 and 10 of 
Part XV such that they precede 4VAC25-40-3560 and 
4VAC25-40-4070, respectively. 

4VAC25-40-25. Purpose and authority. 

The purpose of this chapter is to provide for the protection 
of persons and property on and around mineral mines. The 
chapter works with the Virginia Mineral Mine Safety Act 

(§ 45.1-161.292:1 et seq.) of the Code of Virginia (as shown 
in Mineral Mine Safety Laws of Virginia, 1997 2005 edition). 
Refer to the Act for other definitions and requirements related 
to this chapter.  

4VAC25-40-90. Documents incorporated by reference.  

A. 1996 Threshold Limit Values and Biological Exposure 
Indices published by the American Conference of 
Governmental Industrial Hygienists.  

B. American Table of Distances, 1991 edition, published by 
the Institute of Makers of Explosives.  

C. National Electrical Code, 1996 2008 edition, published 
by the National Fire Protection Association.  

D. Virginia Department of Labor and Industry, Boiler and 
Pressure Vessel Safety Division, Boiler and Pressure Vessel 
Regulations, amended 1995 2007 by the Virginia Department 
of Labor and Industry.  

E. Bureau of Mines Instruction Guide 19, Mine Emergency 
Training, U.S. Department of Labor, 1972 edition.  

F. Blasting Guidance Manual, U.S. Department of Interior, 
Office of Surface Mining Reclamation and Enforcement, 
1987 edition.  

G. The American National Standard for Wire Rope for 
Miners, M11.1-1980, published by the American National 
Standards Institute.  

H. Addresses for references may be obtained from the 
division.  

4VAC25-40-120. When foreman required.  

When three or more persons are working in a mine, a 
certified mine foreman shall be employed who shall ensure 
that all activities under the foreman's supervision are 
conducted in a safe manner in compliance with applicable 
laws and regulations adopted by the department. The director 
may designate an approved competent person to perform the 
duties of a certified surface mine foreman except for the 
preshift examination made at the beginning of each shift. 

4VAC25-40-130. Examination by foreman. 

The certified mine foreman shall examine active workings at 
the beginning of each shift. Any hazardous or unsafe 
condition shall be corrected prior to personnel starting work 
in the affected area. If the hazardous or unsafe condition 
cannot be corrected immediately, the affected area shall be 
barricaded and posted with warning signs. A documented 
record of the examination shall be made and shall include the 
date, areas examined, time work began in the area, and time 
of examination. A documented record of hazards found and 
corrective actions taken shall also be made. The records shall 
be signed or certified by the certified mine foreman making 
the examination. A record Records of the daily inspection 
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examinations made at the beginning of each shift shall be 
kept for one year.  

4VAC25-40-190. Compliance with regulations.  

Mine employees Miners shall comply with all state safety 
and health regulations applicable to their task or duties.  

4VAC25-40-260. Posting hazards. 

Areas containing safety or health hazards that are not 
immediate immediately obvious to personnel shall be 
barricaded or posted with warning signs specifying the hazard 
and proper safety procedures.  

4VAC25-40-350. Repairing machinery. 

Repairs or maintenance shall not be performed on 
machinery until the power is off and the machinery is blocked 
against motion, except where machinery motion is necessary 
to make adjustments. Energy sources, other than those related 
to electricity (which are covered under 4VAC25-40-2140 and 
4VAC25-40-2150) or internal combustion (which are covered 
under 4VAC25-40-1685), which pose a hazard to miners, 
shall be tagged out and signed by marked by a means that 
identifies the individuals doing the work, and locked out if 
practical, by each authorized person exposed to the hazard. 
Tags or locks shall be removed only by the persons who 
installed them or by an authorized person, after ensuring that 
affected persons are in the clear. 

4VAC25-40-365. Construction and maintenance of 
structures. 

Structures shall be of substantial construction and 
maintained in safe condition. 

4VAC25-40-410. Benches.  

Benches shall be wide enough to allow safe operation and 
passage of equipment.  

Part V  
Air Quality and Physical Agents—Surface and Underground  

4VAC25-40-720. Employee exposure limits to airborne 
contaminants.  

With respect to airborne contaminants, the following shall 
apply:  

1. Employees shall be withdrawn from areas where 
airborne contaminants given a "C" designation in 
Threshold Limit Values and Biological Exposure Indices 
are present in concentrations that exceed specified TLVs.  

2. Control of employee exposure to harmful airborne 
contaminants shall be by feasible engineering control 
methods. If such control measures are not available, an 
approved program of controlling employee exposure to 
airborne contaminants shall be implemented by the 
operator. Miners exposed for short periods to gas, dust, 
fumes and mist-inhalation hazards shall wear permissible 

acceptable respiratory equipment appropriate for the 
hazard. When the exposure is for prolonged periods, other 
measures to protect workers or to reduce the hazard shall 
be taken.  

Part VI  
Explosives—Surface and Underground  

4VAC25-40-780. Storage of explosive materials.  

A. Detonators and explosives, other than blasting agents, 
shall be stored in magazines accepted by the Institute of 
Makers of Explosives or other approved agency.  

B. Detonators shall not be stored in the same magazine with 
explosives.  

C. Explosives magazines shall be:  

1. Located in accordance with the American Table of 
Distances;  

2. Detached structures located away from power lines, fuel 
storage areas, and other possible sources of fire;  

3. Constructed substantially Of substantial construction 
and constructed of noncombustible material or covered 
with fire-resistant material;  

4. Reasonably bullet resistant;  

5. Electrically bonded and grounded if constructed of 
metal;  

6. Made of nonsparking material on the inside, including 
floors;  

7. Provided with adequate and effectively screened 
ventilation openings near the floor and ceiling;  

8. Kept locked securely when unattended;  

9. Posted with suitable danger signs so located that a bullet 
passing through the sign will not strike the magazine;  

10. Used exclusively for storage of explosives or 
detonators and blasting-related materials;  

11. Kept clean and dry in the interior and in good repair;  

12. Unheated, unless heated in a manner that does not 
create a fire or explosion hazard. Electrical heating devices 
shall not be used inside a magazine; and  

13. Located at least 300 feet away from any underground 
mine opening, occupied building, public road, or private 
road not used in connection with the mine.  

D. An accurate inventory log of explosives stored in the 
magazine shall be maintained on site.  

E. Any theft or unaccounted loss of explosives shall be 
reported immediately by telephone to local police, state 
police, the U.S. Department of Treasury Justice, Bureau of 
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Alcohol, Tobacco and, Firearms, and Explosives and the 
Division of Mineral Mining.  

F. Smoking or open flames shall be prohibited within 50 feet 
of explosives magazines or blasting agents storage facilities.  

G. Areas surrounding magazines and facilities for the 
storage of blasting agents shall be kept clear of combustible 
materials, except live trees over 10 feet tall, for a distance of 
50 feet in all directions.  

H. Prior to repairs of a magazine which may cause a fire or 
explosion, the contents shall be removed to a safe location 
and guarded.  

I. Explosives stored in magazines shall be:  

1. Arranged so that the oldest stock is used first;  

2. Separated by brand and type;  

3. Stored with their top sides up; and  

4. Stacked in a stable manner not over eight feet high.  

J. When stored with other explosives, ammonium nitrate 
fuel oil blasting agents shall be physically separated to 
prevent contamination.  

K. Damaged or deteriorated explosives and blasting agents 
shall be destroyed in a safe manner by a certified blaster.  

4VAC25-40-800. Use of explosives. 

A. A certified blaster shall be in direct charge of blasting 
activities. 

B. Persons who assist in blasting activities shall be under the 
direct supervision of the certified blaster in charge and shall 
be alerted to the hazards involved. 

C. Black powder or safety fuse shall not be used without 
approval from the director. Special approvals shall specify 
use restrictions and procedures necessary for safe storage, 
transportation, and use. 

D. The design and loading of a blast shall provide sufficient 
burden, spacing, and stemming to prevent flyrock or other 
dangerous effects. Flyrock incidents shall be reported to the 
division immediately and details noted in the blast record.  

E. Boreholes shall not be drilled where there is a danger of 
intersecting a loaded or misfired hole.  

F. No person shall smoke or use an open flame within 50 
feet of explosives or detonators.  

G. Prior to bringing explosives and detonators to the blast 
site, the certified blaster in charge shall:  

1. Weather Monitor weather conditions shall be monitored 
to ensure safe loading and firing;  

2. The Inspect the blast site shall be inspected for hazards;  

3. The Inspect and clear the boreholes shall be inspected 
and cleared of obstructions; and  

4. Personnel Remove personnel and equipment, except 
those used in loading the shot, shall be removed from the 
blast site.  

H. The certified blaster in charge shall review the drill logs 
to determine specific downhole conditions prior to loading 
the shot. 

H. I. Boreholes to be blasted shall be loaded as near to the 
blasting time as practical. Loaded shots shall be blasted as 
soon as possible upon completion of loading and connection 
to the initiation device. Surface blasting shall be conducted 
during daylight hours only.  

I. J. Explosives shall be kept a safe distance from detonators 
until they are made into a primer.  

J. K. Primers shall not be made up or assembled in advance 
of the borehole being loaded.  

K. L. Only wooden or other nonsparking implements shall 
be used to punch holes in an explosive cartridge.  

L. M. Detonators shall be inserted completely and securely 
into explosive cartridges used as primers. Priming shall be 
sufficient to detonate the explosive column in the borehole.  

M. N. Primers shall be inserted into the borehole slowly to 
prevent accidental detonation from impact, and tamping shall 
not be done directly on the primer.  

N. O. Tamping poles shall be constructed of wood and/or 
nonsparking materials.  

O. P. Unused explosives, detonators, and blasting agents 
shall be returned to the magazine or storage facility upon 
completion of loading activities and prior to firing the blast.  

P. Q. Equipment and machinery used to load or stem 
boreholes shall not be operated over loaded boreholes for any 
reason. Areas containing loaded boreholes shall be guarded or 
barricaded and posted to prevent unauthorized entry.  

Q. R. Blast warning signals shall be established and posted 
at the mine. Audible warning signals shall be given prior to 
firing a blast.  

R. S. All personnel shall be removed from the blast area 
prior to connection to the initiation device and the firing of a 
blast.  

S. T. Blasting personnel shall fire shots from a safe location.  

T. U. A post-blast examination of the blast area shall be 
made by the certified blaster in charge. Other personnel shall 
not return to the blasting area until an all clear signal is 
received from the certified blaster in charge.  
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4VAC25-40-810. Recordkeeping.  

A detailed record of each surface blast shall be prepared 
immediately by the certified blaster. Records shall be 
maintained for three years and subject to inspection by the 
division mine inspectors. Records shall contain the following 
information:  

1. Name of company or contractor;  

2. Location, date, and time of blast;  

3. Name, signature, and certification number of the 
certified blaster in charge;  

4. Type of material blasted;  

5. Number of holes, and burden and spacing for each hole;  

6. Diameter, depth and condition Drill logs of boreholes as 
required by 4VAC25-40-1095;  

7. Types of explosives used;  

8. Total amount of explosives used;  

9. Maximum amount of explosives per delay period of 
eight milliseconds or greater;  

10. Method of firing and type of circuit;  

11. Direction and distance in feet to nearest dwelling 
house, public building, school, church, commercial or 
institutional building neither owned nor leased by the 
person conducting the blasting;  

12. Weather conditions (including such factors as wind 
directions, etc.);  

13. Height or length of stemming;  

14. Whether mats or other protections were used;  

15. Type of detonators used and delay periods used timing 
of detonation for each detonator used;  

16. The person taking the seismograph reading shall 
accurately indicate exact location of seismograph, if used, 
and shall also show the distance of seismograph from blast;  

17. Seismograph records, including seismograph readings, 
where required:  

a. Name and signature of person operating seismograph;  

b. Name of person analyzing the seismograph record; and  

c. Seismograph reading; and  

18. Maximum number of holes per delay period of eight 
milliseconds or greater; and  

19. All anomalies or abnormalities occurring during the 
execution of the blast and actions taken to correct or 
address them. 

4VAC25-40-880. Ground vibration from blasting.  

A. Ground vibration, measured as peak particle velocity 
resulting from blasting, shall not exceed the limits set forth 
below at any inhabited building not owned or leased by the 
operator, without approval of the director. A seismographic 
record shall be provided for each blast.  

Distance (D) to 
nearest inhabited 

building, feet 

Peak Particle 
Velocity, inches 

per second 

Ds (when not 
using a 

seismograph) 

0 - 300 1.25 50 

301 - 5,000 1.00 55 

5,001 and beyond 0.75 65 

B. If seismic Seismic monitoring of each blast is not shall be 
conducted, blasting shall be in accordance unless the scaled 
distance, Ds, as calculated with the following scaled distance 
formulas, is 90 or greater:  

 
W = Maximum charge weight of explosives per delay 
period of 8.0 milliseconds or more.  

D = Distance in feet from the blast site to the nearest 
inhabited building not owned or leased by the mine 
operator.  

Ds = Scaled distance factor shown in table in subsection A 
of this section.  

C. The operator may use the alternative ground vibration 
limits shown below to determine the maximum allowable 
ground vibration. If these limits are used, a seismographic 
record including both particle velocity and vibration 
frequency levels shall be kept for each blast. Ground 
vibration levels and airblast levels are taken from the Blasting 
Guidance Manual.  
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4VAC25-40-890. Airblast Air overpressure limits. 

Airblast A. Air overpressure resulting from surface blasting 
shall not exceed 129 133 decibels, as measured with a 2Hz or 
lower flat response microphone, at any private inhabited 
building not owned or leased by the operator unless an 
alternate level based on the sensitivity of the seismograph 
microphone as specified below is being used. 

Lower Frequency Limit of 
Measuring System, in Hz 

Max. Level in dB 
(3dB) 

1 Hz or lower--flat response* 134 peak 

2 Hz or lower--flat response 133 peak 

6 Hz or lower--flat response 129 peak 

C-weighted slow response 105 peak dBC 

*Only when approved by the director.  

4VAC25-40-893. Action plans. 

Each operator shall maintain a plan to control the effects of 
blasting on areas adjacent to the operation.  This plan will be 
documented and made available for review by the Division of 
Mineral Mining upon request. 

4VAC25-40-925. Electronic detonators. 

Electronic detonation systems shall be approved by the 
director as providing performance equivalent to that required 
in 4VAC25-40-920, and shall be used in accordance with the 
manufacturer's instructions. 

4VAC25-40-1095. Drill logs required for boreholes 
intended for blasting. 

For each borehole intended for blasting, the driller shall 
produce a drill log as each hole is being drilled.  The drill log 
shall include, at minimum, the name of the driller, borehole 
diameter, borehole depth, depth of broken material at the 
collar, and other geological conditions (for example, cracks, 
seams, voids, mud, or any other anomalies that could affect 
the blast) encountered during drilling.  A signed copy of the 
drill log shall be provided to the mine operator and a copy 
shall be included in the record of the blast. 

4VAC25-40-1600. Avoiding loaders mobile equipment in 
operation.  

Persons shall remain clear of mobile equipment in operation 
and shall not work or pass under the buckets or booms of 
loaders equipment in operation.  

4VAC25-40-2790. Inspection of work area.  

Miners shall examine and test, where possible, the back, 
face, and ribs of their working areas, visually and by 
sounding, at the beginning of each shift and frequently 
thereafter. Competent persons shall examine the ground 
conditions during daily visits to ensure that proper testing and 
ground control practices are being followed. Loose ground 
shall be taken down or adequately supported before any other 
work is done. Ground conditions along haulageways and 
travelways shall be examined periodically and scaled or 
supported as necessary.  

4VAC25-40-2800. Scaling bar to be provided.  

A scaling bar of proper length and blunt on one end design 
shall be provided where manual scaling may be required. 
Picks or other short tools shall not be used for scaling when 
this use places the user in danger of from falling material.  

4VAC25-40-2980. Open flame restrictions.  

Fires shall not be built underground; open flame torches and 
candles shall not be left underground shall be attended at all 
times while lit.  

4VAC25-40-3050. Mine rescue stations. (Repealed.) 

A mine rescue station equipped with at least 10 sets of 
approved and properly maintained two-hour, self-contained, 
breathing apparatus, adequate supplies, and spare parts shall 
be maintained at mines employing 75 or more persons 
underground or, in lieu thereof, the mine shall be affiliated 
with a central mine rescue station.  

4VAC25-40-3060. Central or cooperative stations. 
(Repealed.) 

Mines at which individual mine rescue stations are not 
maintained shall affiliate with central or cooperative mine 
rescue stations.  
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4VAC25-40-3070. Rescue apparatus. (Repealed.) 

Mine rescue apparatus acceptable to the MSHA or other 
approved agency shall be properly maintained for immediate 
use. The equipment shall be tested at least once a month and 
records kept of the test.  

4VAC25-40-3080. Rescue crews to be provided. 
(Repealed.) 

At any mine employing 75 or more persons underground, at 
least two rescue crews (10 persons) shall be trained at least 
annually in the use, care, and limitations of self-contained 
breathing and firefighting apparatus and in mine rescue 
procedures. Smaller mines shall have at least one person so 
trained for each 10 persons employed underground. These 
persons shall complete, at minimum, an approved course of 
instruction as prescribed by MSHA's Office of Educational 
Policy and Development in the use, care, and maintenance of 
the type of breathing apparatus which will be used by the 
mine rescue team. The instruction shall be given by division 
personnel or by persons approved to give such instruction.  

4VAC25-40-3090. Rescue crew personnel. (Repealed.) 

Rescue crews shall include supervisory and key personnel 
familiar with all mine installations that could prove vital to 
firefighting and rescue operations.  

4VAC25-40-3110. Mine evacuation drills. (Repealed.) 

Mine evacuation drills shall be held for each shift once 
every six months. These evacuation drills shall involve all 
employees each shift and shall include:  

1. Activation of the fire alarm system; and  

2. Evacuation of all persons from their work areas to the 
surface or to designated central evacuation points at some 
time other than a shift change.  

Records of such drills, showing the time and date, shall be 
kept for at least two years after each drill.  

4VAC25-40-3120. Instruction in escape plans. (Repealed.) 

All employees involved in the escape and evacuation plan 
for an underground operation shall be instructed at least once 
each calendar year on current escape and evacuation plans, 
fire alarm signals, and applicable procedures to be followed 
in case of fire or other emergency. New employees shall 
receive such instructions before going underground. 
Whenever an employee is assigned to work in another area of 
the mine, he shall be instructed on the escapeway for that area 
at the time of such assignment. However, employees who 
normally work in more than one area of the mine shall be 
instructed at least once each calendar year in the location of 
escapeways for all areas of the mine in which they normally 
work or travel. Whenever a change is made in escape and 
evacuation plans and procedures for any area of the mine, all 

affected employees shall be instructed of such change. 
Records of instruction shall be kept for two years.  

4VAC25-40-3800. Steep Fixed ladders.  

Ladders with an inclination of more than 70° off the 
horizontal shall be offset and have landing gates, backguards 
or substantial landings at least every 30 feet. Fixed ladders 
shall be equipped with backguards starting at a point not more 
than seven feet from the bottom of the ladder meet the 
requirements of 4VAC25-40-1990 and 4VAC25-40-2000.  

4VAC25-40-3830. Refuge areas.  

Refuge areas shall be:  

1. Of fire-resistant construction, preferably in untimbered 
areas of the mine;  

2. Large enough to accommodate readily the normal 
number of persons in the particular area of the mine;  

3. Constructed so they can be made gas-tight; and  

4. Provided with compressed air lines, waterlines 
telephones, adequate air and water supplies, suitable hand 
tools, and stopping materials. 

4VAC25-40-3840. Development of escape and evacuation 
plan.  

A specific escape and evacuation plan, and revisions thereof, 
suitable to the conditions and mining system of the mine and 
showing assigned responsibilities of all key personnel in the 
event of an emergency shall be developed by the operator and 
set out in written form. A copy of the plan and revisions 
thereof shall be available to the director or an authorized 
representative, and any affiliated mine rescue teams. Also 
copies of the plans and revisions thereof shall be posted at 
locations convenient to all persons on the surface and 
underground. Such a plan shall be updated as necessary and 
shall be reviewed jointly by the operator and the director or 
his authorized representative at least once every six months 
from the date of the last review. The plan shall include:  

1. Mine maps or diagrams showing all underground 
workings, locations of surface and underground ventilation 
fans and ventilation controls, directions of principal air 
flow, locations of refuge chambers, locations of first aid 
supplies and firefighting equipment, locations of main 
electrical installations and disconnects, locations of surface 
and underground fuel storage, locations of surface and 
underground facilities to store explosives and detonators, 
location of escape routes and locations of existing 
telephones or other voice communication devices (see 
4VAC25-40-3120 and 4VAC25-40-3850);  

2. A plan for fire prevention, warning, emergency 
evacuation, firefighting plan and emergency medical 
assistance;  
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3. Surface procedure to follow in an emergency, including 
the notification of proper authorities and preparing rescue 
equipment and other equipment which may be used in 
rescue and recovery operations; and  

4. A statement of the location and availability of mine 
rescue personnel and equipment; 

5. A plan for instruction of mine workers and rescue 
personnel; and 

4. 6. A statement of the availability of emergency 
communication and communications, transportation 
facilities, emergency power and ventilation and location of 
rescue personnel and equipment.  

4VAC25-40-3990. Self-rescue devices to be made available 
requirements. 

A Each mine having underground workings shall submit to 
the Division a plan for the number, type, and location(s) of 
self-rescue devices sufficient for the number of persons 
working underground and the hazards particular to the 
underground workings of the mine. At a minimum, a one 
hour filter self-rescue device approved by the MSHA shall be 
made available by the operator to all personnel underground. 
The filter self-rescue devices shall be maintained in a good 
condition by a daily visual check and weighing of the devices 
every six months, with maintenance records kept.  

Article 9  
Safety Program  

4VAC25-40-4060. Mine emergency and self-rescue 
training.  

A. On an annual basis all persons who are required to go 
underground shall be instructed in an approved course 
contained in applicable sections of the Bureau of Mines 
Instruction Guide 19, Mine Emergency Training.  

B. On an annual basis all persons who are required to go 
underground shall be instructed in the use of the individual 
self-rescuer self-rescue device provided to them. The 
instruction shall be given by division personnel or by persons 
who are approved by the MSHA to give such instructions; 
provided, however, that if a division instructor or an approved 
instructor is not immediately available, such instruction of 
new employees in self-rescuers may be conducted by 
competent persons a competent person using a training model 
of the same type as the self-rescue device provided to the 
employee.  

4VAC25-40-4061. Mine rescue stations. 

Mines employing 75 or more persons underground shall 
either: 

1. Maintain a mine rescue station equipped with at least 10 
self-contained oxygen breathing apparatus, each with a 

minimum of two hours capacity, along with adequate 
supplies and spare parts; or 

2. Affiliate with central or cooperative mine rescue stations 
that can provide two fully equipped mine rescue teams in 
the event of an emergency. Such affiliations shall be in 
writing and must be approved annually by the director. 

4VAC25-40-4062. Rescue apparatus. 

Mine rescue apparatus shall be acceptable to the MSHA or 
other approved agency and shall be properly maintained for 
immediate use. The equipment shall be tested at least once a 
month and records kept of the tests for at least one year. 

4VAC25-40-4063. Rescue crews to be provided. 

At any mine employing 75 or more persons underground, at 
least two rescue crews of five persons each shall be trained at 
least annually in the use, care, and limitations of self-
contained oxygen breathing and firefighting apparatus and in 
mine rescue procedures. The training shall be given by 
division personnel or by persons approved to give such 
instruction. Rescue crews shall include supervisory and key 
personnel familiar with all mine installations that could prove 
vital to firefighting and rescue operations. 

4VAC25-40-4064. Alternative mine rescue capability. 

Mines employing fewer than 75 persons underground shall 
maintain mine rescue capabilities as described in 4VAC25-
40-4061 through 4VAC25-40-4063, or the operator may 
request in writing and obtain approval from the director for an 
alternative mine rescue capability. Such alternative mine 
rescue plans shall be subject to annual review and approval. 

4VAC25-40-4065. Mine evacuation drills. 

Mine evacuation drills shall be held for each shift once 
every six months. These evacuation drills shall involve all 
employees each shift and shall include:  

1. Activation of the fire alarm system; and  

2. Evacuation of all persons from their work areas to the 
surface or to designated central evacuation points at some 
time other than a shift change.  

Records of such drills, showing the time and date, shall be 
kept for at least two years after each drill.  

4VAC25-40-4066. Instruction in escape plans. 

All persons who work underground shall be instructed at 
least once each calendar year on current escape and 
evacuation plans, fire alarm signals, and applicable 
procedures to be followed in case of fire or other emergency. 
New employees shall receive such instructions before going 
underground. Whenever an employee is assigned to work in 
another area of the mine, he shall be instructed on the 
escapeway for that area at the time of such assignment. 
However, employees who normally work in more than one 
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area of the mine shall be instructed at least once each calendar 
year in the location of escapeways for all areas of the mine in 
which they normally work or travel. Whenever a change is 
made in escape and evacuation plans and procedures for any 
area of the mine, all affected employees shall be instructed of 
such change. Records of instruction shall be kept for two 
years.  

4VAC25-40-4240. Installation of wire ropes.  

At installation, the nominal strength (manufacturer's 
published catalog strength) of wire ropes used for hoisting 
shall meet the minimum rope strength values obtained by the 
following formulas in which "L" equals the maximum 
suspended rope length in feet:  

1. Winding drum ropes (all constructions, including 
rotation resistant):  

For rope lengths less than 3,000 feet:  

Minimum Value = Static Load X (7.0 - 0.001L)  

For rope lengths 3,000 feet or greater:  

Minimum Value = Static Load X 4.0  

2. Friction drum ropes:  

For rope lengths less than 4,000 feet:  

Minimum Value = Static Load X (7.0 - 0.005L) (7.0 - 
 0.0005L)  

For rope lengths 4,000 feet or greater:  

Minimum Value = Static Load X 5.0  

3. Tall Tail ropes (balance ropes):  

Minimum Value = Weight of Rope X 7.0  

4VAC25-40-4260. Wire rope examination.  

A. Wire rope attachments shall be replaced when cracked, 
deformed, or excessively worn.  

B. At least once every 14 calendar days, each wire rope in 
service shall be visually examined along its entire active 
length for visible structural damage, corrosion, and improper 
lubrication or dressing. In addition, visual examination for 
wear and broken wires shall be made at stress points, 
including the area near attachments, where the rope rests on 
sheaves, where the rope leaves the drum, at drum crossovers, 
and at change of layer regions. When any visible condition 
that results in a reduction of rope strength is present, the 
affected portion of the rope shall be examined on a daily 
basis.  

C. Before any person is hoisted with a newly installed wire 
rope or any wire rope that has not been examined in the 
previous 14 calendar days, the wire rope shall be examined in 
accordance with subsection B of this section.  

D. At least once every six months, nondestructive tests shall 
be conducted of the active length of the rope, or rope 
diameter measurements shall be made:  

1. Wherever wear is evident;  

2. Where the hoist rope rests on sheaves at regular stopping 
points; and  

3. Where the hoist rope leaves the drum at regular stopping 
points and at drum crossover and change of layer regions.  

E. At the completion of each examination required by 
subsections B, C and D of this section, the person making the 
examination shall certify by signature and date that the 
examination has been made. If any condition listed in 
subsection D B of this section is present, the person 
conducting the examination shall make a record of the 
condition and the date. Certifications and records of 
examinations shall be retained for one year.  

F. The person making the measurements or nondestructive 
tests as required by subsection D of this section shall record 
the measurements or test results and the date. This record 
shall be retained until the rope is retired from service.  

4VAC25-40-4400. Specifications for buckets used to hoist 
persons.  

Buckets used to hoist persons during shaft sinking 
operations shall be provided with adequate guide ropes and 
shall have crossheads equipped with safety catches and 
protective bonnets when the shaft depth exceeds 50 feet.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-944; Filed October 7, 2008, 9:39 a.m.  

VIRGINIA SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION 
BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulation filed by 
the Virginia Soil and Water Conservation Board is exempt 
from the Administrative Process Act in accordance with 
§ 2.2-4006 A 9 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts 
general permits issued by the Virginia Soil and Water 
Conservation Board pursuant to the Virginia Stormwater 
Management Act (§ 10.1-603.1 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia), if the board (i) provides a Notice of Intended 
Regulatory Action in conformance with the provisions of 
§ 2.2-4007.01; (ii) following the passage of 30 days from the 
publication of the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
forms a technical advisory committee composed of relevant 
stakeholders, including potentially affected citizens groups, to 
assist in the development of the general permit; (iii) provides 
notice and receives oral and written comment as provided in 
§ 2.2-4007.03; and (iv) conducts at least one public hearing 
on the proposed general permit.  
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Title of Regulation: 4VAC50-60. Virginia Stormwater 
Management Program (VSMP) Permit Regulations 
(amending 4VAC50-60-10, 4VAC50-60-1100 through 
4VAC50-60-1190; adding 4VAC50-60-1182, 4VAC50-60-
1184, 4VAC50-60-1186, 4VAC50-60-1188). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 10.1-603.2:1 and 10.1-603.4 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

December 2, 2008 - 7 p.m. - City of Manassas Council 
Chambers, 9027 Center Street, Manassas, VA  

December 3, 2008 - 7 p.m. - City of Roanoke Council 
Chambers, Noel C. Taylor Municipal Building, 215 
Church Avenue, Southwest Roanoke, VA  

December 10, 2008 - 7 p.m. - City of Williamsburg 
Council Chambers, 412 North Boundary Street, 
Williamsburg, VA  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on December 26, 2008. 

Agency Contact: David C. Dowling, Policy, Planning, and 
Budget Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 
203 Governor Street, Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-2291, FAX (804) 786-6141, or email 
david.dowling@dcr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulatory action amends the Virginia Soil and Water 
Conservation Board’s Virginia Stormwater Management 
Program (VSMP) Permit Regulations by developing a new 
General Permit for Stormwater Discharges from 
Construction Activities and amending associated 
definitions contained in Part I of the regulations. 
Regulations developed under the federal Clean Water Act 
(33 USC § 1251 et seq.) and Article 1.1 (§ 10.1-603.1 et 
seq.) of Chapter 6 of Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia 
require that VSMP permits be effective for a fixed term not 
to exceed five years (§ 10.1-603.2:2 B) of the Code of 
Virginia. The existing five-year general permit was issued 
on July 1, 2004, thus necessitating the promulgation of a 
new general permit by the June 30, 2009, expiration date. 

Part I  
Definitions, Purpose, and Applicability  

4VAC50-60-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms used in this chapter have the 
following meanings unless the context clearly indicates 
otherwise. 

"Adequate channel" means a channel that will convey the 
designated frequency storm event without overtopping the 
channel bank nor causing erosive damage to the channel bed 
or banks. 

"Administrator" means the Administrator of the United 
States Environmental Protection Agency or an authorized 
representative. 

"Applicable standards and limitations" means all state, 
interstate, and federal standards and limitations to which a 
discharge or a related activity is subject under the Clean 
Water Act (CWA) (33 USC § 1251 et seq.) and the Act, 
including effluent limitations, water quality standards, 
standards of performance, toxic effluent standards or 
prohibitions, best management practices, and standards for 
sewage sludge use or disposal under §§ 301, 302, 303, 304, 
306, 307, 308, 403 and 405 of CWA. 

"Approval authority" means the Virginia Soil and Water 
Conservation Board or their designee. 

"Approved program" or "approved state" means a state or 
interstate program that has been approved or authorized by 
EPA under 40 CFR Part 123 (2000). 

"Aquatic bench" means a 10- to 15-foot wide bench around 
the inside perimeter of a permanent pool that ranges in depth 
from zero to 12 inches. Vegetated with emergent plants, the 
bench augments pollutant removal, provides habitats, 
conceals trash and water level fluctuations, and enhances 
safety. 

"Average land cover condition" means a measure of the 
average amount of impervious surfaces within a watershed, 
assumed to be 16%. Note that a locality may opt to calculate 
actual watershed-specific values for the average land cover 
condition based upon 4VAC50-60-110. 

"Average monthly discharge limitation" means the highest 
allowable average of daily discharges over a calendar month, 
calculated as the sum of all daily discharges measured during 
a calendar month divided by the number of daily discharges 
measured during that month. 

"Average weekly discharge limitation" means the highest 
allowable average of daily discharges over a calendar week, 
calculated as the sum of all daily discharges measured during 
a calendar week divided by the number of daily discharges 
measured during that week. 

"Best management practice (BMP)" means schedules of 
activities, prohibitions of practices, including both a structural 
or nonstructural practice, maintenance procedures, and other 
management practices to prevent or reduce the pollution of 
surface waters and groundwater systems from the impacts of 
land-disturbing activities. BMPs also include treatment 
requirements, operating procedures, and practices to control 
plant site runoff, spillage or leaks, sludge or waste disposal, 
or drainage from raw material storage. 

"Bioretention basin" means a water quality BMP engineered 
to filter the water quality volume through an engineered 
planting bed, consisting of a vegetated surface layer 
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(vegetation, mulch, ground cover), planting soil, and sand 
bed, and into the in-situ material. 

"Bioretention filter" means a bioretention basin with the 
addition of a sand filter collector pipe system beneath the 
planting bed. 

"Board" means the Virginia Soil and Water Conservation 
Board. 

"Bypass" means the intentional diversion of waste streams 
from any portion of a treatment facility. 

"Channel" means a natural or manmade waterway. 

"Constructed wetlands" means areas intentionally designed 
and created to emulate the water quality improvement 
function of wetlands for the primary purpose of removing 
pollutants from stormwater. 

"Construction activity" means any clearing, grading or 
excavation associated with large construction activity or 
associated with small construction activity. 

"Contiguous zone" means the entire zone established by the 
United States under Article 24 of the Convention on the 
Territorial Sea and the Contiguous Zone (37 FR 11906). 

"Continuous discharge" means a discharge which occurs 
without interruption throughout the operating hours of the 
facility, except for infrequent shutdowns for maintenance, 
process changes, or other similar activities. 

"Control measure" means any best management practice 
BMP, stormwater facility, or other method used to prevent, or 
reduce minimize the discharge of pollutants to surface state 
waters. 

"Co-operator" means an operator to a VSMP permit that is 
only responsible for permit conditions relating to the 
discharge for which it is the operator. 

"Clean Water Act" or "CWA" means the federal Clean 
Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et seq.), formerly referred to as 
the Federal Water Pollution Control Act or Federal Water 
Pollution Control Act Amendments of 1972, Public Law 92-
500, as amended by Public Law 95-217, Public Law 95-576, 
Public Law 96-483, and Public Law 97-117, or any 
subsequent revisions thereto. 

"CWA and regulations" means the Clean Water Act (CWA) 
and applicable regulations published in the Code of Federal 
Regulations promulgated thereunder. For the purposes of this 
chapter, it includes state program requirements. 

"Daily discharge" means the discharge of a pollutant 
measured during a calendar day or any 24-hour period that 
reasonably represents the calendar day for purposes of 
sampling. For pollutants with limitations expressed in units of 
mass, the daily discharge is calculated as the total mass of the 
pollutant discharged over the day. For pollutants with 
limitations expressed in other units of measurement, the daily 

discharge is calculated as the average measurement of the 
pollutant over the day. 

"Department" means the Department of Conservation and 
Recreation. 

"Development" means a tract of land developed or to be 
developed as a unit under single ownership or unified control 
which is to be used for any business or industrial purpose or 
is to contain three or more residential dwelling units. 

"Direct discharge" means the discharge of a pollutant. 

"Director" means the Director of the Department of 
Conservation and Recreation or his designee. 

"Discharge," when used without qualification, means the 
discharge of a pollutant. 

"Discharge of a pollutant" means: 

1. Any addition of any pollutant or combination of 
pollutants to surface waters from any point source; or  

2. Any addition of any pollutant or combination of 
pollutants to the waters of the contiguous zone or the ocean 
from any point source other than a vessel or other floating 
craft which is being used as a means of transportation. 

This definition includes additions of pollutants into surface 
waters from: surface runoff that is collected or channeled by 
man; discharges through pipes, sewers, or other conveyances 
owned by a state, municipality, or other person that do not 
lead to a treatment works; and discharges through pipes, 
sewers, or other conveyances, leading into privately owned 
treatment works. This term does not include an addition of 
pollutants by any indirect discharger. 

"Discharge Monitoring Report" or "DMR" means the form 
supplied by the department, or an equivalent form developed 
by the operator and approved by the board, for the reporting 
of self-monitoring results by operators. 

"Draft permit" means a document indicating the board's 
tentative decision to issue or deny, modify, revoke and 
reissue, terminate, or reissue a permit. A notice of intent to 
terminate a permit, and a notice of intent to deny a permit are 
types of draft permits. A denial of a request for modification, 
revocation and reissuance, or termination is not a draft permit. 
A proposed permit is not a draft permit. 

"Effluent limitation" means any restriction imposed by the 
board on quantities, discharge rates, and concentrations of 
pollutants which are discharged from point sources into 
surface waters, the waters of the contiguous zone, or the 
ocean. 

"Effluent limitations guidelines" means a regulation 
published by the administrator under § 304(b) of the CWA to 
adopt or revise effluent limitations. 
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"Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)" means the 
United States Environmental Protection Agency. 

"Existing permit" means for the purposes of this chapter a 
permit issued by the permit-issuing authority and currently 
held by a permit applicant. 

"Existing source" means any source that is not a new source 
or a new discharger. 

"Facilities or equipment" means buildings, structures, 
process or production equipment or machinery that form a 
permanent part of a new source and that will be used in its 
operation, if these facilities or equipment are of such value as 
to represent a substantial commitment to construct. It 
excludes facilities or equipment used in connection with 
feasibility, engineering, and design studies regarding the new 
source or water pollution treatment for the new source. 

"Facility or activity" means any VSMP point source or 
treatment works treating domestic sewage or any other 
facility or activity (including land or appurtenances thereto) 
that is subject to regulation under the VSMP program. 

"Flooding" means a volume of water that is too great to be 
confined within the banks or walls of the stream, water body 
or conveyance system and that overflows onto adjacent lands, 
causing or threatening damage. 

"General permit" means a VSMP permit authorizing a 
category of discharges under the CWA and the Act within a 
geographical area. 

"Grassed swale" means an earthen conveyance system 
which is broad and shallow with erosion resistant grasses and 
check dams, engineered to remove pollutants from 
stormwater runoff by filtration through grass and infiltration 
into the soil. 

"Hazardous substance" means any substance designated 
under the Code of Virginia and 40 CFR Part 116 (2000) 
pursuant to § 311 of the CWA. 

"Hydrologic Unit Code" or "HUC" means a watershed unit 
established in the most recent version of Virginia's 6th Order 
National Watershed Boundary Dataset. 

"Illicit discharge" means any discharge to a municipal 
separate storm sewer that is not composed entirely of 
stormwater, except discharges pursuant to a VPDES or 
VSMP permit (other than the VSMP permit for discharges 
from the municipal separate storm sewer), discharges 
resulting from fire fighting activities, and discharges 
identified by and in compliance with 4VAC50-60-1220 C 2. 

"Impervious cover" means a surface composed of any 
material that significantly impedes or prevents natural 
infiltration of water into soil. Impervious surfaces include, but 
are not limited to, roofs, buildings, streets, parking areas, and 
any concrete, asphalt, or compacted gravel surface. 

"Incorporated place" means a city, town, township, or 
village that is incorporated under the Code of Virginia. 

"Indian country" means (i) all land within the limits of any 
Indian reservation under the jurisdiction of the United States 
government, notwithstanding the issuance of any patent, and 
including rights-of-way running through the reservation; (ii) 
all dependent Indian communities with the borders of the 
United States whether within the originally or subsequently 
acquired territory thereof, and whether within or without the 
limits of a state; and (iii) all Indian allotments, the Indian 
titles to which have not been extinguished, including rights-
of-way running through the same.  

"Indirect discharger" means a nondomestic discharger 
introducing "pollutants" to a "publicly owned treatment 
works (POTW)." 

"Infiltration facility" means a stormwater management 
facility that temporarily impounds runoff and discharges it via 
infiltration through the surrounding soil. While an infiltration 
facility may also be equipped with an outlet structure to 
discharge impounded runoff, such discharge is normally 
reserved for overflow and other emergency conditions. Since 
an infiltration facility impounds runoff only temporarily, it is 
normally dry during nonrainfall periods. Infiltration basin, 
infiltration trench, infiltration dry well, and porous pavement 
shall be considered infiltration facilities. 

"Inspection" means an on-site review of the project's 
compliance with the permit, the local stormwater 
management program, and any applicable design criteria, or 
an on-site review to obtain information or conduct surveys or 
investigations necessary in the enforcement of the Act and 
this chapter. 

"Interstate agency" means an agency of two or more states 
established by or under an agreement or compact approved by 
Congress, or any other agency of two or more states having 
substantial powers or duties pertaining to the control of 
pollution as determined and approved by the administrator 
under the CWA and regulations. 

"Land disturbance" or "land-disturbing activity" means a 
manmade change to the land surface that potentially changes 
its runoff characteristics including any clearing, grading, or 
excavation associated with a construction activity regulated 
pursuant to the federal Clean Water Act, the Act, and this 
chapter. 

"Large construction activity" means construction activity 
including clearing, grading and excavation, except operations 
that result in the disturbance of less than five acres of total 
land area. Large construction activity also includes the 
disturbance of less than five acres of total land area that is a 
part of a larger common plan of development or sale if the 
larger common plan will ultimately disturb five acres or 
more. 
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"Large municipal separate storm sewer system" means all 
municipal separate storm sewers that are either: 

1. Located in an incorporated place with a population of 
250,000 or more as determined by the 1990 decennial 
census by the Bureau of Census (40 CFR Part 122 
Appendix F (2000)); 

2. Located in the counties listed in 40 CFR Part 122 
Appendix H (2000), except municipal separate storm 
sewers that are located in the incorporated places, 
townships or towns within such counties; 

3. Owned or operated by a municipality other than those 
described in subdivision 1 or 2 of this definition and that 
are designated by the board as part of the large or medium 
municipal separate storm sewer system due to the 
interrelationship between the discharges of the designated 
storm sewer and the discharges from municipal separate 
storm sewers described under subdivision 1 or 2 of this 
definition. In making this determination the board may 
consider the following factors: 

a. Physical interconnections between the municipal 
separate storm sewers; 

b. The location of discharges from the designated 
municipal separate storm sewer relative to discharges 
from municipal separate storm sewers described in 
subdivision 1 of this definition; 

c. The quantity and nature of pollutants discharged to 
surface waters; 

d. The nature of the receiving surface waters; and 

e. Other relevant factors. 

4. The board may, upon petition, designate as a large 
municipal separate storm sewer system, municipal separate 
storm sewers located within the boundaries of a region 
defined by a stormwater management regional authority 
based on a jurisdictional, watershed, or other appropriate 
basis that includes one or more of the systems described in 
this definition. 

"Linear development project" means a land-disturbing 
activity that is linear in nature such as, but not limited to, (i) 
the construction of electric and telephone utility lines, and 
natural gas pipelines; (ii) construction of tracks, rights-of-
way, bridges, communication facilities and other related 
structures of a railroad company; and (iii) highway 
construction projects; and (iv) construction of stormwater 
channels and stream restoration activities. Private subdivision 
roads or streets shall not be considered linear development 
projects. 

"Local stormwater management program" or "local 
program" means a statement of the various methods 
employed by a locality to manage the quality and quantity of 
runoff resulting from land-disturbing activities and shall 

include such items as local ordinances, permit requirements, 
policies and guidelines, technical materials, inspection, 
enforcement, and evaluation consistent with the Act and this 
chapter. The ordinance shall include provisions to require the 
control of after-development stormwater runoff rate of flow, 
the proper maintenance of stormwater management facilities, 
and minimum administrative procedures. 

"Locality" means a county, city, or town. 

"Major facility" means any VSMP facility or activity 
classified as such by the regional administrator in conjunction 
with the board. 

"Major modification" means, for the purposes of this 
chapter, the modification or amendment of an existing permit 
before its expiration that is not a minor modification as 
defined in this regulation. 

"Major municipal separate storm sewer outfall (or major 
outfall)" means a municipal separate storm sewer outfall that 
discharges from a single pipe with an inside diameter of 36 
inches or more or its equivalent (discharge from a single 
conveyance other than circular pipe which is associated with 
a drainage area of more than 50 acres); or for municipal 
separate storm sewers that receive stormwater from lands 
zoned for industrial activity (based on comprehensive zoning 
plans or the equivalent), with an outfall that discharges from a 
single pipe with an inside diameter of 12 inches or more or 
from its equivalent (discharge from other than a circular pipe 
associated with a drainage area of two acres or more). 

"Manmade" means constructed by man. 

"Maximum daily discharge limitation" means the highest 
allowable daily discharge. 

"Maximum extent practicable" or "MEP" means the 
technology-based discharge standard for municipal separate 
storm sewer systems established by CWA § 402(p). MEP is 
achieved, in part, by selecting and implementing effective 
structural and nonstructural best management practices 
(BMPs) and rejecting ineffective BMPs and replacing them 
with effective best management practices (BMPs). MEP is an 
iterative standard, which evolves over time as urban runoff 
management knowledge increases. As such, the operator's 
MS4 program must continually be assessed and modified to 
incorporate improved programs, control measures, BMPs, 
etc., to attain compliance with water quality standards. 

"Medium municipal separate storm sewer system" means all 
municipal separate storm sewers that are either: 

1. Located in an incorporated place with a population of 
100,000 or more but less than 250,000 as determined by 
the 1990 decennial census by the Bureau of Census (40 
CFR Part 122 Appendix G (2000));  

2. Located in the counties listed in 40 CFR Part 122 
Appendix I (2000), except municipal separate storm sewers 
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that are located in the incorporated places, townships or 
towns within such counties; 

3. Owned or operated by a municipality other than those 
described in subdivision 1 or 2 of this definition and that 
are designated by the board as part of the large or medium 
municipal separate storm sewer system due to the 
interrelationship between the discharges of the designated 
storm sewer and the discharges from municipal separate 
storm sewers described under subdivision 1 or 2 of this 
definition. In making this determination the board may 
consider the following factors: 

a. Physical interconnections between the municipal 
separate storm sewers; 

b. The location of discharges from the designated 
municipal separate storm sewer relative to discharges 
from municipal separate storm sewers described in 
subdivision 1 of this definition; 

c. The quantity and nature of pollutants discharged to 
surface waters; 

d. The nature of the receiving surface waters; or 

e. Other relevant factors. 

4. The board may, upon petition, designate as a medium 
municipal separate storm sewer system, municipal separate 
storm sewers located within the boundaries of a region 
defined by a stormwater management regional authority 
based on a jurisdictional, watershed, or other appropriate 
basis that includes one or more of the systems described in 
subdivisions 1, 2 and 3 of this definition. 

"Minor modification" means, for the purposes of this 
chapter, minor modification or amendment of an existing 
permit before its expiration as specified in 4VAC50-60-640. 
Minor modification for the purposes of this chapter also 
means other modifications and amendments not requiring 
extensive review and evaluation including, but not limited to, 
changes in EPA promulgated test protocols, increasing 
monitoring frequency requirements, changes in sampling 
locations, and changes to compliance dates within the overall 
compliance schedules. A minor permit modification or 
amendment does not substantially alter permit conditions, 
substantially increase or decrease the amount of surface water 
impacts, increase the size of the operation, or reduce the 
capacity of the facility to protect human health or the 
environment. 

"Municipal separate storm sewer" means a conveyance or 
system of conveyances otherwise known as a municipal 
separate storm sewer system, including roads with drainage 
systems, municipal streets, catch basins, curbs, gutters, 
ditches, manmade channels, or storm drains: 

1. Owned or operated by a federal, state, city, town, 
county, district, association, or other public body, created 

by or pursuant to state law, having jurisdiction or delegated 
authority for erosion and sediment control and stormwater 
management, or a designated and approved management 
agency under § 208 of the CWA that discharges to surface 
waters; 

2. Designed or used for collecting or conveying 
stormwater; 

3. That is not a combined sewer; and 

4. That is not part of a publicly owned treatment works. 

"Municipal separate storm sewer system" or "MS4" means 
all separate storm sewers that are defined as "large" or 
"medium" or "small" municipal separate storm sewer systems 
or designated under 4VAC50-60-380 A 1. 

"Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System Management 
Program" or "MS4 Program" means a management program 
covering the duration of a permit for a municipal separate 
storm sewer system that includes a comprehensive planning 
process that involves public participation and 
intergovernmental coordination, to reduce the discharge of 
pollutants to the maximum extent practicable, to protect water 
quality, and to satisfy the appropriate water quality 
requirements of the CWA and regulations and the Virginia 
Stormwater Management Act and attendant regulations, using 
management practices, control techniques, and system, design 
and engineering methods, and such other provisions that are 
appropriate. 

"Municipality" means a city, town, county, district, 
association, or other public body created by or under state law 
and having jurisdiction over disposal of sewage, industrial 
wastes, or other wastes, or an Indian tribe or an authorized 
Indian tribal organization, or a designated and approved 
management agency under § 208 of the CWA. 

"National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
(NPDES)" means the national program for issuing, 
modifying, revoking and reissuing, terminating, monitoring 
and enforcing permits, and imposing and enforcing 
pretreatment requirements under §§ 307, 402, 318, and 405 of 
the CWA. The term includes an approved program. 

"New discharger" means any building, structure, facility, or 
installation: 

1. From which there is or may be a discharge of pollutants; 

2. That did not commence the discharge of pollutants at a 
particular site prior to August 13, 1979; 

3. Which is not a new source; and 

4. Which has never received a finally effective VPDES or 
VSMP permit for discharges at that site. 

This definition includes an indirect discharger that 
commences discharging into surface waters after August 13, 
1979. It also includes any existing mobile point source (other 
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than an offshore or coastal oil and gas exploratory drilling rig 
or a coastal oil and gas developmental drilling rig) such as a 
seafood processing rig, seafood processing vessel, or 
aggregate plant, that begins discharging at a site for which it 
does not have a permit; and any offshore or coastal mobile oil 
and gas exploratory drilling rig or coastal mobile oil and gas 
developmental drilling rig that commences the discharge of 
pollutants after August 13, 1979. 

"New permit" means, for the purposes of this chapter, a 
permit issued by the permit-issuing authority to a permit 
applicant that does not currently hold and has never held a 
permit of that type, for that activity, at that location. 

"New source," means any building, structure, facility, or 
installation from which there is or may be a discharge of 
pollutants, the construction of which commenced: 

1. After promulgation of standards of performance under 
§ 306 of the CWA that are applicable to such source; or 

2. After proposal of standards of performance in 
accordance with § 306 of the CWA that are applicable to 
such source, but only if the standards are promulgated in 
accordance with § 306 of the CWA within 120 days of 
their proposal. 

"Nonpoint source pollution" means pollution such as 
sediment, nitrogen and phosphorous, hydrocarbons, heavy 
metals, and toxics whose sources cannot be pinpointed but 
rather are washed from the land surface in a diffuse manner 
by stormwater runoff. 

"Nonpoint source pollutant runoff load" or "pollutant 
discharge" means the average amount of a particular pollutant 
measured in pounds per year, delivered in a diffuse manner 
by stormwater runoff. 

"Operator" means the owner or operator of any facility or 
activity subject to the VSMP permit regulation under the 
VSMP program. In the context of stormwater associated with 
a large or small construction activity, operator means any 
person associated with a construction project that meets either 
of the following two criteria: (i) the person has direct 
operational control over construction plans and specifications, 
including the ability to make modifications to those plans and 
specifications or (ii) the person has day-to-day operational 
control of those activities at a project that are necessary to 
ensure compliance with a stormwater pollution prevention 
plan for the site or other permit conditions (i.e., they are 
authorized to direct workers at a site to carry out activities 
required by the stormwater pollution prevention plan or 
comply with other permit conditions). In the context of 
stormwater discharges from Municipal Separate Storm Sewer 
Systems (MS4s), operator means the operator of the regulated 
MS4 system.  

"Outfall" means, when used in reference to municipal 
separate storm sewers, a point source at the point where a 

municipal separate storm sewer discharges to surface waters 
and does not include open conveyances connecting two 
municipal separate storm sewers, or pipes, tunnels or other 
conveyances which connect segments of the same stream or 
other surface waters and are used to convey surface waters. 

"Overburden" means any material of any nature, 
consolidated or unconsolidated, that overlies a mineral 
deposit, excluding topsoil or similar naturally occurring 
surface materials that are not disturbed by mining operations. 

"Owner" means the Commonwealth or any of its political 
subdivisions including, but not limited to, sanitation district 
commissions and authorities, and any public or private 
institution, corporation, association, firm or company 
organized or existing under the laws of this or any other state 
or country, or any officer or agency of the United States, or 
any person or group of persons acting individually or as a 
group that owns, operates, charters, rents, or otherwise 
exercises control over or is responsible for any actual or 
potential discharge of sewage, industrial wastes, or other 
wastes to state waters, or any facility or operation that has the 
capability to alter the physical, chemical, or biological 
properties of state waters in contravention of § 62.1-44.5 of 
the Code of Virginia, the Act and this chapter. 

"Percent impervious" means the impervious area within the 
site divided by the area of the site multiplied by 100. 

"Permit" means an approval issued by the permit-issuing 
authority for the initiation of a land-disturbing activity or for 
stormwater discharges from an MS4. Permit does not include 
any permit that has not yet been the subject of final permit-
issuing authority action, such as a draft permit or a proposed 
permit. 

"Permit-issuing authority" means the board, the department, 
or a locality that is delegated authority by the board to issue, 
deny, revoke, terminate, or amend stormwater permits under 
the provisions of the Act and this chapter. 

"Permittee" means the person or locality to which the permit 
is issued, including any owner or operator whose construction 
site is covered under a construction general permit. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, state, municipality, commission, or political 
subdivision of a state, governmental body (including but not 
limited to a federal, state, or local entity), any interstate body 
or any other legal entity. 

"Planning area" means a designated portion of the parcel on 
which the land development project is located. Planning areas 
shall be established by delineation on a master plan. Once 
established, planning areas shall be applied consistently for 
all future projects. 

"Point source" means any discernible, confined, and discrete 
conveyance including, but not limited to, any pipe, ditch, 
channel, tunnel, conduit, well, discrete fissure, container, 
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rolling stock, concentrated animal feeding operation, landfill 
leachate collection system, vessel, or other floating craft from 
which pollutants are or may be discharged. This term does 
not include return flows from irrigated agriculture or 
agricultural stormwater runoff. 

"Pollutant" means dredged spoil, solid waste, incinerator 
residue, filter backwash, sewage, garbage, sewage sludge, 
munitions, chemical wastes, biological materials, radioactive 
materials (except those regulated under the Atomic Energy 
Act of 1954, as amended (42 USC § 2011 et seq.)), heat, 
wrecked or discarded equipment, rock, sand, cellar dirt and 
industrial, municipal, and agricultural waste discharged into 
water. It does not mean: 

1. Sewage from vessels; or 

2. Water, gas, or other material that is injected into a well 
to facilitate production of oil or gas, or water derived in 
association with oil and gas production and disposed of in 
a well if the well used either to facilitate production or for 
disposal purposes is approved by the board and if the board 
determines that the injection or disposal will not result in 
the degradation of ground or surface water resources. 

"Pollution" means such alteration of the physical, chemical 
or biological properties of any state waters as will or is likely 
to create a nuisance or render such waters (a) harmful or 
detrimental or injurious to the public health, safety or welfare, 
or to the health of animals, fish or aquatic life; (b) unsuitable 
with reasonable treatment for use as present or possible future 
sources of public water supply; or (c) unsuitable for 
recreational, commercial, industrial, agricultural, or other 
reasonable uses, provided that (i) an alteration of the physical, 
chemical, or biological property of state waters, or a 
discharge or deposit of sewage, industrial wastes or other 
wastes to state waters by any owner which by itself is not 
sufficient to cause pollution, but which, in combination with 
such alteration of or discharge or deposit to state waters by 
other owners, is sufficient to cause pollution; (ii) the 
discharge of untreated sewage by any owner into state waters; 
and (iii) contributing to the contravention of standards of 
water quality duly established by the State Water Control 
Board, are "pollution" for the terms and purposes of this 
chapter. 

"Post-development" refers to conditions that reasonably may 
be expected or anticipated to exist after completion of the 
land development activity on a specific site or tract of land. 

"Pre-development" refers to the conditions that exist at the 
time that plans for the land development of a tract of land are 
approved by the plan approval authority. Where phased 
development or plan approval occurs (preliminary grading, 
roads and utilities, etc.), the existing conditions at the time 
prior to the first item being approved or permitted shall 
establish pre-development conditions. 

"Privately owned treatment works (PVOTW)" means any 
device or system that is (i) used to treat wastes from any 
facility whose operator is not the operator of the treatment 
works and (ii) not a POTW. 

"Proposed permit" means a VSMP permit prepared after the 
close of the public comment period (and, when applicable, 
any public hearing and administrative appeals) that is sent to 
EPA for review before final issuance. A proposed permit is 
not a draft permit. 

"Publicly owned treatment works (POTW)" means a 
treatment works as defined by § 212 of the CWA that is 
owned by a state or municipality (as defined by § 502(4) of 
the CWA). This definition includes any devices and systems 
used in the storage, treatment, recycling, and reclamation of 
municipal sewage or industrial wastes of a liquid nature. It 
also includes sewers, pipes, and other conveyances only if 
they convey wastewater to a POTW treatment plant. The term 
also means the municipality as defined in § 502(4) of the 
CWA, that has jurisdiction over the indirect discharges to and 
the discharges from such a treatment works. 

"Qualified personnel" means a licensed professional 
engineer, responsible land disturber, or other knowledgeable 
person who holds a certificate of competency from the board 
in the area of project inspection or combined administrator. 

"Recommencing discharger" means a source that 
recommences discharge after terminating operations. 

"Regional administrator" means the Regional Administrator 
of Region III of the Environmental Protection Agency or the 
authorized representative of the regional administrator. 

"Regional (watershed-wide) stormwater management 
facility" or "regional facility" means a facility or series of 
facilities designed to control stormwater runoff from a 
specific watershed, although only portions of the watershed 
may experience land development. 

"Regional (watershed-wide) stormwater management plan" 
or "regional plan" means a document containing material 
describing how runoff from open space, existing development 
and future planned development areas within a watershed will 
be controlled by coordinated design and implementation of 
regional stormwater management facilities. 

"Revoked permit" means, for the purposes of this chapter, an 
existing permit that is terminated by the board before its 
expiration. 

"Runoff coefficient" means the fraction of total rainfall that 
will appear at a conveyance as runoff.  

"Runoff" or "stormwater runoff" means that portion of 
precipitation that is discharged across the land surface or 
through conveyances to one or more waterways. 

"Sand filter" means a contained bed of sand that acts to filter 
the first flush of runoff. The runoff is then collected beneath 
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the sand bed and conveyed to an adequate discharge point or 
infiltrated into the in-situ soils. 

"Schedule of compliance" means a schedule of remedial 
measures included in a permit, including an enforceable 
sequence of interim requirements (for example, actions, 
operations, or milestone events) leading to compliance with 
the Act, the CWA and regulations. 

"Secretary" means the Secretary of the Army, acting through 
the Chief of Engineers. 

"Severe property damage" means substantial physical 
damage to property, damage to the treatment facilities that 
causes them to become inoperable, or substantial and 
permanent loss of natural resources that can reasonably be 
expected to occur in the absence of a bypass. Severe property 
damage does not mean economic loss caused by delays in 
production. 

"Shallow marsh" means a zone within a stormwater 
extended detention basin that exists from the surface of the 
normal pool to a depth of six to 18 inches, and has a large 
surface area and, therefore, requires a reliable source of 
baseflow, groundwater supply, or a sizeable drainage area, to 
maintain the desired water surface elevations to support 
emergent vegetation. 

"Significant materials" means, but is not limited to: raw 
materials; fuels; materials such as solvents, detergents, and 
plastic pellets; finished materials such as metallic products; 
raw materials used in food processing or production; 
hazardous substances designated under § 101(14) of 
CERCLA (42 USC § 9601(14)); any chemical the facility is 
required to report pursuant to § 313 of Title III of SARA (42 
USC § 11023); fertilizers; pesticides; and waste products such 
as ashes, slag and sludge that have the potential to be released 
with stormwater discharges. 

"Single jurisdiction" means, for the purposes of this chapter, 
a single county or city. The term county includes incorporated 
towns which are part of the county. 

"Site" means the land or water area where any facility or 
activity is physically located or conducted, a parcel of land 
being developed, or a designated planning area in which the 
land development project is located. 

"Small construction activity" means: 

1. Construction activities including clearing, grading, and 
excavating that results in land disturbance of equal to or 
greater than one acre, or equal to or greater than 2,500 
square feet in all areas of the jurisdictions designated as 
subject to the Chesapeake Bay Preservation Area 
Designation and Management Regulations adopted 
pursuant to the Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act, and less 
than five acres. Small construction activity also includes 
the disturbance of less than one acre of total land area that 
is part of a larger common plan of development or sale if 

the larger common plan will ultimately disturb equal to or 
greater than one and less than five acres. Small 
construction activity does not include routine maintenance 
that is performed to maintain the original line and grade, 
hydraulic capacity, or original purpose of the facility. The 
board may waive the otherwise applicable requirements in 
a general permit for a stormwater discharge from 
construction activities that disturb less than five acres 
where stormwater controls are not needed based on a "total 
maximum daily load" (TMDL) approved or established by 
EPA that addresses the pollutant(s) of concern or, for 
nonimpaired waters that do not require TMDLs, an 
equivalent analysis that determines allocations for small 
construction sites for the pollutant(s) of concern or that 
determines that such allocations are not needed to protect 
water quality based on consideration of existing in-stream 
concentrations, expected growth in pollutant contributions 
from all sources, and a margin of safety. For the purpose of 
this subdivision, the pollutant(s) of concern include 
sediment or a parameter that addresses sediment (such as 
total suspended solids, turbidity or siltation) and any other 
pollutant that has been identified as a cause of impairment 
of any water body that will receive a discharge from the 
construction activity. The operator must certify to the 
board that the construction activity will take place, and 
stormwater discharges will occur, within the drainage area 
addressed by the TMDL or equivalent analysis. 

2. Any other construction activity designated by the either 
the board or the EPA regional administrator, based on the 
potential for contribution to a violation of a water quality 
standard or for significant contribution of pollutants to 
surface waters. 

"Small municipal separate storm sewer system" or "small 
MS4" means all separate storm sewers that are (i) owned or 
operated by the United States, a state, city, town, borough, 
county, parish, district, association, or other public body 
(created by or pursuant to state law) having jurisdiction over 
disposal of sewage, industrial wastes, stormwater, or other 
wastes, including special districts under state law such as a 
sewer district, flood control district or drainage district, or 
similar entity, or an Indian tribe or an authorized Indian tribal 
organization, or a designated and approved management 
agency under § 208 of the CWA that discharges to surface 
waters and (ii) not defined as "large" or "medium" municipal 
separate storm sewer systems or designated under 4VAC50-
60-380 A 1. This term includes systems similar to separate 
storm sewer systems in municipalities, such as systems at 
military bases, large hospital or prison complexes, and 
highway and other thoroughfares. The term does not include 
separate storm sewers in very discrete areas, such as 
individual buildings. 

"Source" means any building, structure, facility, or 
installation from which there is or may be a discharge of 
pollutants. 
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"State" means the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"State/EPA agreement" means an agreement between the 
regional administrator and the state that coordinates EPA and 
state activities, responsibilities and programs including those 
under the CWA and the Act. 

"State project" means any land development project that is 
undertaken by any state agency, board, commission, authority 
or any branch of state government, including state-supported 
institutions of higher learning. 

"State Water Control Law" means Chapter 3.1 (§ 62.1-44.2 
et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"State waters" means all water, on the surface and under the 
ground, wholly or partially within or bordering the 
Commonwealth or within its jurisdiction, including wetlands. 

"Stormwater" means precipitation that is discharged across 
the land surface or through conveyances to one or more 
waterways and that may include stormwater runoff, snow 
melt runoff, and surface runoff and drainage. 

"Stormwater detention basin" or "detention basin" means a 
stormwater management facility that temporarily impounds 
runoff and discharges it through a hydraulic outlet structure to 
a downstream conveyance system. While a certain amount of 
outflow may also occur via infiltration through the 
surrounding soil, such amounts are negligible when compared 
to the outlet structure discharge rates and are, therefore, not 
considered in the facility's design. Since a detention facility 
impounds runoff only temporarily, it is normally dry during 
nonrainfall periods. 

"Stormwater discharge associated with construction activity" 
means a discharge of pollutants in stormwater runoff from 
areas where land-disturbing activities (e.g., clearing, grading, 
or excavation); construction materials or equipment storage or 
maintenance (e.g., fill piles, borrow area, concrete truck 
washout, fueling); or other industrial stormwater directly 
related to the construction process (e.g., concrete or asphalt 
batch plants) are located. 

"Stormwater discharge associated with large construction 
activity" means the discharge of stormwater from large 
construction activities. 

"Stormwater discharge associated with small construction 
activity" means the discharge of stormwater from small 
construction activities. 

"Stormwater extended detention basin" or "extended 
detention basin" means a stormwater management facility 
that temporarily impounds runoff and discharges it through a 
hydraulic outlet structure over a specified period of time to a 
downstream conveyance system for the purpose of water 
quality enhancement or stream channel erosion control. While 
a certain amount of outflow may also occur via infiltration 
through the surrounding soil, such amounts are negligible 

when compared to the outlet structure discharge rates and, 
therefore, are not considered in the facility's design. Since an 
extended detention basin impounds runoff only temporarily, it 
is normally dry during nonrainfall periods. 

"Stormwater extended detention basin-enhanced" or 
"extended detention basin-enhanced" means an extended 
detention basin modified to increase pollutant removal by 
providing a shallow marsh in the lower stage of the basin. 

"Stormwater management facility" means a device that 
controls stormwater runoff and changes the characteristics of 
that runoff including, but not limited to, the quantity and 
quality, the period of release or the velocity of flow. 

"Stormwater management plan" means a document 
document(s) containing material for describing how existing 
runoff characteristics will be maintained by a land-disturbing 
activity and methods for complying with the requirements of 
the local program or this chapter. 

"Stormwater Management Program" means a program 
established by a locality that is consistent with the 
requirements of the Virginia Stormwater Management Act, 
this chapter and associated guidance documents. 

"Stormwater Pollution Prevention Plan" (SWPPP) or "plan" 
"SWPPP" means a document that is prepared in accordance 
with good engineering practices and that identifies potential 
sources of pollution pollutants that may reasonably be 
expected to affect the quality of stormwater discharges from 
the construction site or its associated land-disturbing 
activities. In addition the document shall describe and ensure 
identify and require the implementation of best management 
practices control measures, and shall include, but not be 
limited to the inclusion of, or the incorporation by reference 
of, an erosion and sediment control plan, a post-construction 
stormwater management plan, a spill prevention control and 
countermeasure (SPCC) plan, and other practices that will be 
used to reduce minimize pollutants in stormwater discharges 
from land-disturbing activities and to assure in compliance 
with the terms and conditions of this chapter. All plans 
incorporated by reference into the SWPPP shall be 
enforceable under the permit issued or general permit 
coverage authorized. 

"Stormwater retention basin" or "retention basin" means a 
stormwater management facility that includes a permanent 
impoundment, or normal pool of water, for the purpose of 
enhancing water quality and, therefore, is normally wet, even 
during nonrainfall periods. Storm runoff inflows may be 
temporarily stored above this permanent impoundment for the 
purpose of reducing flooding, or stream channel erosion. 

"Stormwater retention basin I" or "retention basin I" means a 
retention basin with the volume of the permanent pool equal 
to three times the water quality volume. 
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"Stormwater retention basin II" or "retention basin II" means 
a retention basin with the volume of the permanent pool equal 
to four times the water quality volume. 

"Stormwater retention basin III" or "retention basin III" 
means a retention basin with the volume of the permanent 
pool equal to four times the water quality volume with the 
addition of an aquatic bench. 

"Subdivision" means the same as defined in § 15.2-2201 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

"Surface waters" means: 

1. All waters that are currently used, were used in the past, 
or may be susceptible to use in interstate or foreign 
commerce, including all waters that are subject to the ebb 
and flow of the tide; 

2. All interstate waters, including interstate wetlands; 

3. All other waters such as intrastate lakes, rivers, streams 
(including intermittent streams), mudflats, sandflats, 
wetlands, sloughs, prairie potholes, wet meadows, playa 
lakes, or natural ponds the use, degradation, or destruction 
of which would affect or could affect interstate or foreign 
commerce including any such waters: 

a. That are or could be used by interstate or foreign 
travelers for recreational or other purposes; 

b. From which fish or shellfish are or could be taken and 
sold in interstate or foreign commerce; or 

c. That are used or could be used for industrial purposes 
by industries in interstate commerce. 

4. All impoundments of waters otherwise defined as 
surface waters under this definition; 

5. Tributaries of waters identified in subdivisions 1 through 
4 of this definition; 

6. The territorial sea; and 

7. Wetlands adjacent to waters (other than waters that are 
themselves wetlands) identified in subdivisions 1 through 6 
of this definition. 

Waste treatment systems, including treatment ponds or 
lagoons designed to meet the requirements of the CWA and 
the law, are not surface waters. Surface waters do not include 
prior converted cropland. Notwithstanding the determination 
of an area's status as prior converted cropland by any other 
agency, for the purposes of the Clean Water Act, the final 
authority regarding the Clean Water Act jurisdiction remains 
with the EPA. 

"Total dissolved solids" means the total dissolved (filterable) 
solids as determined by use of the method specified in 40 
CFR Part 136 (2000). 

"Total maximum daily load" or "TMDL" means the sum of 
the individual wasteload allocations for point sources, load 
allocations (LAs) for nonpoint sources, natural background 
loading and a margin of safety. TMDLs can be expressed in 
terms of either mass per time, toxicity, or other appropriate 
measure. The TMDL process provides for point versus 
nonpoint source trade-offs. 

"Toxic pollutant" means any pollutant listed as toxic under 
§ 307(a)(1) of the CWA or, in the case of sludge use or 
disposal practices, any pollutant identified in regulations 
implementing § 405(d) of the CWA. 

"Upset" means an exceptional incident in which there is 
unintentional and temporary noncompliance with technology 
based permit effluent limitations because of factors beyond 
the reasonable control of the operator. An upset does not 
include noncompliance to the extent caused by operational 
error, improperly designed treatment facilities, inadequate 
treatment facilities, lack of preventive maintenance, or 
careless or improper operation. 

"Variance" means any mechanism or provision under § 301 
or § 316 of the CWA or under 40 CFR Part 125 (2000), or in 
the applicable effluent limitations guidelines that allows 
modification to or waiver of the generally applicable effluent 
limitation requirements or time deadlines of the CWA. This 
includes provisions that allow the establishment of alternative 
limitations based on fundamentally different factors or on 
§ 301(c), § 301(g), § 301(h), § 301(i), or § 316(a) of the 
CWA. 

"Vegetated filter strip" means a densely vegetated section of 
land engineered to accept runoff as overland sheet flow from 
upstream development. It shall adopt any natural vegetated 
form, from grassy meadow to small forest. The vegetative 
cover facilitates pollutant removal through filtration, sediment 
deposition, infiltration and absorption, and is dedicated for 
that purpose. 

"Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 
permit" or "VPDES permit" means a document issued by the 
State Water Control Board pursuant to the State Water 
Control Law authorizing, under prescribed conditions, the 
potential or actual discharge of pollutants from a point source 
to surface waters and the use or disposal of sewage sludge. 

"Virginia Stormwater Management Act" or "Act" means 
Article 1.1 (§ 10.1-603.1 et seq.) of Chapter 6 of Title 10.1 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

"Virginia Stormwater BMP Clearinghouse website" means a 
website that contains detailed design standards and 
specifications for control measures that may be used in 
Virginia to comply with the requirements of the Virginia 
Stormwater Management Act and associated regulations and 
that is jointly created by the department and the Virginia 
Water Resources Research Center subject to advice to the 
director from a permanent stakeholder advisory committee.   
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"Virginia Stormwater Management Program (VSMP)" 
means the Virginia program for issuing, modifying, revoking 
and reissuing, terminating, monitoring and enforcing permits, 
and imposing and enforcing requirements pursuant to the 
federal Clean Water Act, the Virginia Stormwater 
Management Act, this chapter, and associated guidance 
documents. 

"Virginia Stormwater Management Program (VSMP) 
permit" means a document issued by the permit-issuing 
authority pursuant to the Virginia Stormwater Management 
Act and this chapter authorizing, under prescribed conditions, 
the potential or actual discharge of pollutants from a point 
source to surface waters. Under the approved state program, a 
VSMP permit is equivalent to a NPDES permit. 

"VSMP application" or "application" means the standard 
form or forms, including any additions, revisions or 
modifications to the forms, approved by the administrator and 
the board for applying for a VSMP permit. 

"Wasteload allocation" or "wasteload" or "WLA" means the 
portion of a receiving surface water's loading or assimilative 
capacity allocated to one of its existing or future point sources 
of pollution. WLAs are a type of water quality-based effluent 
limitation. 

"Water quality standards" or "WQS" means provisions of 
state or federal law that consist of a designated use or uses for 
the waters of the Commonwealth and water quality criteria 
for such waters based on such uses. Water quality standards 
are to protect the public health or welfare, enhance the quality 
of water, and serve the purposes of the State Water Control 
Law (§ 62.1-44.2 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), the 
Virginia Stormwater Management Act (§ 10.1-603.1 et seq. 
of the Code of Virginia), and the federal Clean Water Act (33 
USC § 1251 et seq.).  

"Water quality volume" means the volume equal to the first 
1/2 inch of runoff multiplied by the impervious surface of the 
land development project. 

"Watershed" means a defined land area drained by a river or 
stream or system of connecting rivers or streams such that all 
surface water within the area flows through a single outlet. 

"Wetlands" means those areas that are inundated or 
saturated by surface or groundwater at a frequency and 
duration sufficient to support, and that under normal 
circumstances do support, a prevalence of vegetation 
typically adapted for life in saturated soil conditions. 
Wetlands generally include swamps, marshes, bogs, and 
similar areas. 

"Whole effluent toxicity" means the aggregate toxic effect 
of an effluent measured directly by a toxicity test. 

Part XIV  
General Virginia Stormwater Management Program (VSMP) 

Permit for Discharges of Stormwater from Construction 
Activities  

4VAC50-60-1100. Definitions.  

The words and terms used in this part shall have the 
meanings defined in the Act and this chapter unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise, except that for the 
purposes of this part:  

"Commencement of construction" means the initial 
disturbance of soils associated with clearing, grading, or 
excavating activities or other construction activities (e.g., 
stockpiling of fill material).  

"Final stabilization" means that one of the following 
situations has occurred:  

1. All soil disturbing activities at the site have been 
completed and a permanent vegetative cover has been 
established on denuded areas not otherwise permanently 
stabilized. Permanent vegetation shall not be considered 
established until a ground cover is achieved that is uniform 
(e.g., evenly distributed, without large bare areas), mature 
enough to survive, and will inhibit erosion.  

2. For individual lots in residential construction, final 
stabilization can occur by either:  

a. The homebuilder completing final stabilization as 
specified in subdivision 1 of this definition; or  

b. The homebuilder establishing temporary stabilization, 
including perimeter controls for an individual lot prior to 
occupation of the home by the homeowner, and 
informing the homeowner of the need for, and benefits 
of, final stabilization.  

3. For construction projects on land used for agricultural 
purposes (e.g., pipelines across crop or range land), final 
stabilization may be accomplished by returning the 
disturbed land to its preconstruction agricultural use. Areas 
disturbed that were not previously used for agricultural 
activities, such as buffer strips immediately adjacent to 
surface waters, and areas that are not being returned to 
their preconstruction agricultural use must meet the final 
stabilization criteria specified in subdivision 1 or 2 of this 
definition.  

"Minimize" means to prevent, reduce, or eliminate using 
practicable control measures to meet the conditions of this 
permit. 

4VAC50-60-1110. Purpose.  

This general permit regulation governs authorizes 
stormwater discharges from construction activities. For the 
purposes of this part, these discharges are defined as 
stormwater discharges associated with large construction 
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activity, and stormwater discharges associated with small 
construction activity. Stormwater discharges associated with 
other types of industrial activity shall not have coverage 
under this general permit. This general permit covers only 
discharges through a point source to a surface water state 
waters or through a municipal or nonmunicipal separate storm 
sewer system to surface state waters. Stormwater discharges 
associated with industrial activity that originate from the site 
after construction activities have been completed and the site 
has undergone final stabilization are not authorized by this 
permit. The goal of this permit is to minimize stormwater 
pollutants from construction activity by requiring that the 
operator plan and implement appropriate control measures. 
Implementation of the strategies and control measures 
consistent with the provisions of this permit constitutes 
compliance with the assumptions of an approved TMDL, 
protects water quality in the absence of a TMDL wasteload 
allocation, ensures compliance by the operator with water 
quality standards, and satisfies the appropriate water quality 
requirements of the Clean Water Act and regulations. 

4VAC50-60-1120. Effective date of the permit.  

This general permit became effective on July 1, 2004 2009. 
The general permit will expire on June 30, 2009 2014.  

4VAC50-60-1130. Authorization to discharge.  

A. Any operator governed by this general permit is 
authorized by this to discharge to surface state waters of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia upon issuance of coverage under 
the general permit by the permit issuing authority provided 
that the operator files has filed a complete and accurate 
registration statement in accordance with 4VAC50-60-1140, 
submitted any fees required by 4VAC50-60-700 et seq. (Part 
XIII), complies complied with the requirements of 4VAC50-
60-1150, complied with the requirements of 4VAC50-60-
1180 through 4VAC50-60-1190, and provided that:  

1. The operator shall not have been required to obtain an 
individual permit according to 4VAC50-60-410 B;  

2. The operator shall not be authorized by this general 
permit to discharge to state waters specifically named in 
other State Water Control Board regulations or policies 
that prohibit such discharges;  

3. Prior to commencing construction, the operator shall 
obtain approval of an erosion and sediment control plan 
from the locality in which the construction activity is to 
occur or from another appropriate plan-approving authority 
authorized under the Virginia Erosion and Sediment 
Control Regulations, 4VAC50-30, unless the operator 
receives from the locality an "agreement in lieu of a plan" 
from the locality as defined in 4VAC50-30-10, or is 
exempt from the requirement to submit an erosion and 
sediment control plan by 4VAC50-30 § 10.1-560 of the 
Code of Virginia; 

4. Stormwater discharges which that the permit-issuing 
authority State Water Control Board determines cause, 
may reasonably be expected to cause, or contribute to a 
violation of water quality standards (9VAC25-260) are not 
covered by this permit;  

5. The stormwater discharge authorized by this permit may 
be combined with other sources of stormwater that are not 
required to be covered under a VSMP permit, so long as 
the combined discharge is in compliance with this permit. 
Any discharge authorized by a different VSMP or a 
VPDES permit may be commingled with discharges 
authorized by this permit; and  

6. Discharges to waters for which a "total maximum daily 
load" (TMDL) wasteload allocation for sediment or a 
parameter that addresses sediment (such as total suspended 
solids, turbidity, or siltation) has been established by the 
State Water Control Board and approved by EPA are not 
eligible for coverage under this permit unless the 
stormwater pollution prevention plan (SWPPP) developed 
by the operator incorporates measures and controls that are 
consistent with the assumptions and requirements of such 
TMDL. To be are not eligible for coverage under this 
general permit, the SWPPP must incorporate any 
conditions applicable to discharges from the construction 
site that are necessary for consistency with the assumptions 
and requirements of the TMDL. If a specific wasteload 
allocation has been established that would apply to 
discharges from the construction site, the operator must 
incorporate that allocation into the SWPPP and implement 
necessary steps to meet that allocation. unless they are 
addressed in accordance with 4VAC50-60-1170 Section II 
D 7; and 

7. Discharges to waters that have been identified as 
impaired in the 2006 § 305(b)/303(d) Water Quality 
Assessment Integrated Report are not eligible for coverage 
under this general permit unless they are addressed in 
accordance with 4VAC50-60-1170 Section I H. 

B. This permit may also be used to authorize stormwater 
discharges from support activities (e.g., concrete or asphalt 
batch plants, equipment staging yards, material storage areas, 
excavated material disposal areas, borrow areas) located on-
site or off-site provided that:  

1. The support activity is directly related to a construction 
site that is required to have VSMP permit coverage for 
discharges of stormwater associated with construction 
activity;  

2. The support activity is not a commercial operation 
serving multiple unrelated construction projects by 
different operators, and does not operate beyond the 
completion of the construction activity at the last 
construction project it supports; and  



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 4 Virginia Register of Regulations October 27, 2008 

603 

3. Appropriate controls and control measures are identified 
in a stormwater pollution prevention plan covering the 
discharges from the support activity areas.  

C. Support activities located off-site are not required to be 
covered under this general permit. Discharges of stormwater 
from off-site support activities may be authorized under 
another VSMP or a VPDES permit. Where stormwater 
discharges from off-site support activities are not authorized 
under this general permit, the land area of the off-site support 
activity need not be included in determining the total land 
disturbance acreage of the construction activity seeking 
general permit coverage.  

D. Receipt of this general permit does not relieve any 
operator of the responsibility to comply with any other 
applicable federal, state or local statute, ordinance or 
regulation.  

E. The board may waive the otherwise applicable 
requirements in this general permit regulation for a 
stormwater discharge from small construction activity where 
stormwater controls are not needed based on a "total 
maximum daily load" (TMDL) established by the board and 
approved by EPA that addresses the pollutants of concern or, 
for nonimpaired waters that do not require TMDLs, an 
equivalent analysis that determines allocations for small 
construction sites for the pollutants of concern or that 
determines that such allocations are not needed to protect 
water quality based on consideration of existing in-stream 
concentrations, expected growth in pollutant contributions 
from all sources, and a margin of safety. For the purpose of 
this section, the pollutants of concern include sediment or a 
parameter that addresses sediment (such as total suspended 
solids, turbidity or siltation) and any other pollutant that has 
been identified as a cause of impairment of any water body 
that will receive a discharge from the construction activity. In 
order to obtain this waiver, prior to the commencement of 
construction the operator must certify to the board that the 
construction activity will take place, and stormwater 
discharges will occur, within the drainage area addressed by a 
TMDL, or within the drainage area addressed by an 
equivalent analysis. The permit issuing authority may allow 
exceptions to technical criteria contained in the permit in 
accordance with Part III. 

4VAC50-60-1140. Qualifying state, tribal and local 
programs.  

Qualifying state, tribal, or local erosion and sediment control 
program requirements may be incorporated by reference into 
the Stormwater Pollution Prevention Plan (SWPPP) required 
by 4VAC50-60-1170 of this permit. Where a qualifying state, 
tribal, or local program does not include one or more of the 
elements in this section, then the permittee operator must 
include those elements as part of the SWPPP required by 
4VAC50-60-1170 of this permit. A qualifying state, tribal, or 

local erosion and sediment control program is one that is 
approved by the board and includes:  

1. Requirements for construction site operators to 
implement appropriate erosion and sediment control best 
management practices measures;  

2. Requirements for construction site operators to control 
waste such as discarded building materials, concrete truck 
washout, chemicals, litter, and sanitary waste at the 
construction site that may cause adverse impacts to water 
quality; and 

3. Requirements for construction site operators to develop 
and implement an a SWPPP in accordance with 4VAC50-
60-1170 Section II. (An SWPPP includes site descriptions, 
descriptions of appropriate control measures, copies of 
approved state, tribal or local requirements, maintenance 
procedures, inspection procedures, and identification of 
nonstormwater discharges); and  

4. Requirements to submit a site plan for review that 
incorporates consideration of potential water quality 
impacts.  

4VAC50-60-1150. Permit application (registration 
statement).  

A. Deadlines for submitting registration statement.  

1. Except as provided in subdivision 3 of this subsection, 
operators must submit a complete and accurate registration 
statement in accordance with the requirements of this 
section prior to the issuance of coverage under the general 
permit that authorizes the commencement of construction 
land-disturbing activities (i.e., the initial disturbance of 
soils associated with clearing, grading, excavation 
activities, or other construction activities).  

2. For stormwater discharges from construction projects 
activities where the operator changes, including instances 
where an operator is added after a registration statement 
has been submitted, the new operator must submit a 
complete and accurate registration statement or transfer 
form prior to assuming operational control over site 
specifications or commencing work on-site.  

3. In order to continue permit coverage, operators of 
ongoing construction activity projects as of July 1, 2004 
2009, that received authorization to discharge for those 
projects under the construction stormwater general permit 
issued in 1999 2004 must:  

a. Submit a complete and accurate registration statement 
by July 1, 2004 2009; and  

b. Update their stormwater pollution prevention plan to 
comply with the requirements of this general permit 
within 30 days after the date of coverage under this 
general permit.  
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4. Effective date of permit coverage. The operator of a 
construction activity is authorized to discharge stormwater 
from those construction activities under the terms and 
conditions of this permit immediately upon submission of 
a complete and accurate registration statement to only upon 
issuance of coverage under the general permit by the 
permit-issuing authority, but in no event earlier than the 
effective date of this permit, except as noted in subdivision 
3 of this subsection. For the purposes of this regulation, a 
registration statement that is mailed is considered to be 
submitted once it is postmarked. Operators are not 
authorized to discharge if the registration statement is 
incomplete or incorrect, or if the discharge(s) was not 
eligible for coverage under this permit.  

5. Late notifications. Operators are not prohibited from 
submitting registration statements after initiating clearing, 
grading, excavation activities, or other construction land-
disturbing activities. When a late registration statement is 
submitted, authorization for discharges occurs no earlier 
than the submission date of the registration statement shall 
not occur until coverage under the general permit is issued. 
The permit-issuing authority reserves the right to take 
enforcement action for any unpermitted discharges or 
permit noncompliance that occurs between the 
commencement of construction and discharge 
authorization.  

B. Registration statement. The operator shall submit a 
registration statement on the official department form that 
shall contain the following information:  

1. Name, mailing address and telephone number of the 
construction activity operator. No more than one operator 
may receive coverage under each registration statement. 
(NOTE: The permit will be issued to this operator, and the 
certification in subdivision 13 11 of this subsection must 
be signed by the appropriate person associated with this 
operator);  

2. Name and location of the construction activity, including 
town, city, or county, and all off-site support activities to 
be covered under the permit. If a street address is 
unavailable, provide latitude and longitude;  

3. Status of the activity: federal, state, public, or private;  

4. Nature of the construction project activity (e.g., 
commercial, industrial, residential, agricultural, oil and 
gas, etc.);  

5. Name of the receiving water(s) and HUC. Direct 
discharges to any receiving water identified as impaired on 
the 2006 § 305(b)/303(d) Water Quality Assessment 
Integrated Report or for which a TMDL WLA has been 
established for stormwater discharges from a construction 
activity shall be noted;  

6. If the discharge is through a municipal separate storm 
sewer system (MS4), the name of the municipal operator of 
the storm sewer;  

7. Estimated project start date and completion date;  

8. Total land area of development and estimated area to be 
disturbed by the construction activity (to the nearest 
quarter one-tenth of an acre);  

9. Whether the area to be disturbed by the construction 
activity is part of a larger common plan of development or 
sale;  

10. A topographic map or other map that clearly shows the 
location of the construction activity, the area to be 
disturbed (including off-site support activities), and the 
receiving stream or streams for the stormwater discharges;  

NOTE: 10. A stormwater pollution prevention plan 
(SWPPP) must be prepared in accordance with the 
requirements of the VSMP General Permit for Stormwater 
Discharges from Construction Activities prior to 
submitting this registration statement. By signing this 
registration statement you are the operator is certifying that 
the SWPPP has been prepared;  

11. The location of where the SWPPP may be viewed, and 
the name and phone number of a contact person (NOTE: 
The contact person should be a person knowledgeable in 
the principles and practice of erosion and sediment 
controls, that is a licensed professional engineer, 
responsible land disturber (RLD), or other knowledgeable 
person that (i) holds a certificate of competence from the 
board in the area of project inspection; or (ii) is enrolled in 
the board's training program for project inspection or 
combined administrator and successfully completes such 
program within one year of enrollment); and  

12. A list of the permanent BMPs (both structural and 
nonstructural) that will be installed at the construction 
activity site. For each BMP that will be installed, include 
the following information:  

a. Type of permanent BMP to be installed;  

b. Geographic location (county—state Hydrologic Unit 
Code);  

c. Waterbody the BMP will discharge into;  

d. Number of acres that will be treated (to the nearest 
one-tenth acre).  

13. 11. The following certification: "I certify under penalty 
of law that I have read and understand this registration 
statement and that this document and all attachments were 
prepared under my direction or supervision in accordance 
with a system designed to assure that qualified personnel 
properly gather gathered and evaluate evaluated the 
information submitted. Based on my inquiry of the person 
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or persons who manage the system or those persons 
directly responsible for gathering the information, the 
information submitted is to the best of my knowledge and 
belief true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that there 
are significant penalties for submitting false information 
including the possibility of fine and imprisonment for 
knowing violations."  

C. The registration statement shall be signed in accordance 
with 4VAC50-60-1170, Section III K.  

D. Where to submit. The registration statement shall be 
submitted to the permit-issuing authority.  

4VAC50-60-1160. Termination of permit coverage.  

A. Requirements. The operator of the construction activity 
may only submit a notice of termination on the official 
department form after one or more of the following 
conditions have been met:  

1. Final Necessary postconstruction control measures 
included in the SWPPP for the site are in place and 
functioning and final stabilization has been achieved on all 
portions of the site for which the operator is responsible;  

2. Another operator has assumed control over all areas of 
the site that have not been finally stabilized;  

3. Coverage under an alternative VPDES or VSMP permit 
has been obtained; or  

4. For residential construction only, temporary stabilization 
has been completed and the residence has been transferred 
to the homeowner.  

The notice of termination must be submitted within 30 days 
of one of the above conditions being met. Authorization to 
discharge terminates seven days after at midnight on the date 
that the notice of termination is submitted. For the purposes 
of this regulation, a notice of termination that is mailed is 
considered to be submitted once it is postmarked.  

B. Notice of termination. The notice of termination shall 
contain the following information:  

1. Name, mailing address and telephone number of the 
construction activity operator.  

2. Name and location of the construction activity. If a street 
address is unavailable, provide latitude and longitude.  

3. The VSMP stormwater general permit number.  

4. The basis for submission of the notice of termination, 
including: pursuant to subsection A. 

a. Final stabilization has been achieved on all portions of 
the site for which the operator is responsible;  

b. Another operator has assumed control over all areas of 
the site that have not been finally stabilized;  

c. Coverage under an alternative VPDES or VSMP 
permit has been obtained; or  

d. For residential construction only, temporary 
stabilization has been completed and the residence has 
been transferred to the homeowner.  

5. A list of the permanent control measures (both structural 
and nonstructural) that were installed at the construction 
activity site. For each control measure that was installed, 
include the following information: 

a. Type of permanent control measure installed; 

b. Geographic location (county or city and Hydrologic 
Unit Code);  

c. Waterbody the control measure discharges into; and 

d. Number of acres treated (to the nearest one-tenth of an 
acre). 

5. 6. The following certification: "I certify under penalty of 
law that I have read and understand this notice of 
termination and that this document and all attachments 
were prepared under my direction or supervision in 
accordance with a system designed to assure that qualified 
personnel properly gather gathered and evaluate evaluated 
the information submitted. Based on my inquiry of the 
person or persons who manage the system or those persons 
directly responsible for gathering the information, the 
information submitted is to the best of my knowledge and 
belief true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that there 
are significant penalties for submitting false information 
including the possibility of fine and imprisonment for 
knowing violations." 

C. The notice of termination shall be signed in accordance 
with 4VAC50-60-1170, Section III K. 

D. Where to submit. The notice of termination shall be 
submitted to the permit-issuing authority.  

4VAC50-60-1170. General permit.  

Any operator whose registration statement is accepted by the 
permit-issuing authority will receive the following permit and 
shall comply with the requirements in it and be subject to all 
requirements of the Virginia Stormwater Management Act 
(Chapter 6, Article 1.1 (§ 10.1-603.1 et seq.) of Title 10.1 of 
the Code of Virginia) and the Virginia Stormwater 
Management Program (VSMP) Permit Regulations 
(4VAC50-60). No more than one operator may receive 
coverage under each registration statement.  
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General Permit No.: DCR01 VAR10 

Effective Date: July 1, 2004 2009 

Expiration Date: June 30, 2009 2014 

GENERAL PERMIT FOR DISCHARGES OF 
STORMWATER FROM CONSTRUCTION ACTIVITIES  

AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE UNDER THE 
VIRGINIA STORMWATER MANAGEMENT PROGRAM 
AND THE VIRGINIA STORMWATER MANAGEMENT 

ACT  

In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act, 
as amended, and pursuant to the Virginia Stormwater 
Management Act and attendant regulations adopted pursuant 
to that, operators of construction activities covered by this 
permit (those sites or common plans of development or sale 
that will result in the disturbance of one or more acres of total 
land area) with stormwater discharges from these construction 
activities are authorized to discharge to surface state waters, 
including discharges to a regulated MS4 system, within the 
boundaries of the Commonwealth of Virginia, except those 
specifically named in State Water Control Board and Virginia 
Soil and Water Conservation Board regulations and policies 
or permit-issuing authority policies and ordinances which that 
prohibit such discharges.  

The authorized discharge shall be in accordance with this 
cover page, Section I—Discharge Authorization and Special 
Conditions, Section II—Stormwater Pollution Prevention 
Plan, and Section III—Conditions Applicable To All VSMP 
Permits as set forth herein.  

SECTION I  
DISCHARGE AUTHORIZATION AND SPECIAL 

CONDITIONS  

A. Coverage under this permit.  

1. During the period beginning with the date of coverage 
under this general permit and lasting until the permit's 
expiration date, the permittee operator is authorized to 
discharge stormwater from construction activities.  

2. This permit may also authorizes authorize stormwater 
discharges from off-site support activities (e.g., concrete or 
asphalt batch plants, equipment staging yards, material 
storage areas, excavated material disposal areas, borrow 
areas) located on-site or off-site provided that:  

a. The support activity is directly related to a the 
construction site that is required to have VSMP permit 
coverage for discharges of stormwater associated with 
construction activity;  

b. The support activity is not a commercial operation 
serving multiple unrelated construction projects by 
different operators, and does not operate beyond the 

completion of the construction activity at the last 
construction project it supports; and  

c. Appropriate controls and pollution prevention control 
measures for the discharges from the support activity 
areas are identified in the a stormwater pollution 
prevention plan required for the construction activity 
under Section II D of this permit and implemented to 
address the discharges from the support activity areas.  

3. There shall be no discharge of floating solids or visible 
foam in other than trace amounts that contravenes 
established standards or interferes directly or indirectly 
with designated uses of surface waters.  

B. Limitation on coverage.  

1. Post-construction discharges. This permit does not 
authorize stormwater discharges that originate from the site 
after construction activities have been completed and the 
site, including any temporary support activity site, has 
undergone final stabilization. Post-construction industrial 
stormwater discharges may need to be covered by a 
separate VPDES permit.  

2. Discharges mixed with nonstormwater. This permit does 
not authorize discharges that are mixed with sources of 
nonstormwater, other than those discharges that are 
identified in Section I D 2 (Exceptions to prohibition of 
nonstormwater discharges) and are in compliance with 
Section II D 5 (Nonstormwater discharge management).  

3. Discharges covered by another permit. This permit does 
not authorize stormwater discharges associated with 
construction activity that have been covered under an 
individual permit or required to obtain coverage under an 
alternative general permit in accordance with Part Section 
III X.  

4. TMDL limitation. Discharges to waters for which a 
wasteload allocation (WLA) for a pollutant has been 
established in a "total maximum daily load" (TMDL) 
allocation for sediment or a parameter that addresses 
sediment (such as total suspended solids, turbidity, or 
siltation) has been established by the State Water Control 
Board and approved by EPA  by the Commonwealth and 
approved by the EPA that would apply to stormwater 
discharges from a construction activity are not eligible for 
coverage under this permit unless the stormwater pollution 
prevention plan (SWPPP) developed by the operator 
incorporates measures and controls that are is consistent 
with the assumptions and requirements of such TMDL 
Section II D 7. To be eligible for coverage under this 
general permit, the SWPPP must incorporate any 
conditions applicable to discharges from the construction 
site that are necessary for consistency with the assumptions 
and requirements of the TMDL. If a specific wasteload 
allocation has been established that would apply to 
discharges from the construction site, the operator must 
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incorporate that allocation into the SWPPP and implement 
necessary steps to meet that allocation.  

5. Impaired waters limitation. Discharges to waters that 
have been identified as impaired in the 2006 
§ 305(b)/303(d) Water Quality Assessment Integrated 
Report are not eligible for coverage under this permit 
unless the operator implements strategies and control 
measures consistent with Sections I H and II D 8. 

C. Commingled discharges. Any discharge authorized by a 
different VSMP or VPDES permit may be commingled with 
discharges authorized by this permit.  

D. Prohibition of nonstormwater discharges.  

1. Except as provided in Sections I A 2, I C and I D 2, all 
discharges covered by this permit shall be composed 
entirely of stormwater associated with construction 
activity.  

2. The following nonstormwater discharges from active 
construction sites are authorized by this permit provided 
the nonstormwater component of the discharge is in 
compliance with Section II D 5 (Nonstormwater 
discharges):  

a. Discharges from fire fighting activities;  

b. Fire hydrant flushings;  

c. Waters used to wash vehicles where detergents are not 
used;  

d. Water used to control dust;  

e. Potable water sources, including uncontaminated 
waterline flushings;  

f. Water used for hydrostatic testing of new pipeline 
construction;  

g. f. Routine external building wash down which does 
not use detergents;  

h. g. Pavement washwaters where spills or leaks of toxic 
or hazardous materials have not occurred (unless all 
spilled material has been removed) and where detergents 
are not used;  

i. h. Uncontaminated air conditioning or compressor 
condensate;  

j. i. Uncontaminated ground water or spring water;  

k. j. Foundation or footing drains where flows are not 
contaminated with process materials such as solvents;  

l. k. Uncontaminated excavation dewatering, and  

m. l. Landscape irrigation.  

E. Releases of hazardous substances or oil in excess of 
reportable quantities. The discharge of hazardous substances 
or oil in the stormwater discharges from the construction site 

shall be prevented or minimized in accordance with the 
stormwater pollution prevention plan for the site. This permit 
does not relieve the permittee of the reporting requirements of 
40 CFR Part 110 (2002), 40 CFR Part 117 (2002) and 40 
CFR Part 302 (2002) or § 62.1-44.34:19 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

Where a release containing a hazardous substance or oil in 
an amount equal to or in excess of a reportable quantity 
established under either 40 CFR Part 110 (2002), 40 CFR 
Part 117 (2002), or 40 CFR Part 302 (2002), or § 62.1-
44.34.19 of the Code of Virginia occurs during a 24-hour 
period:  

1. The permittee operator is required to notify the 
Department of Environmental Quality and the permit-
issuing authority in accordance with the requirements of 
Section III G as soon as he has knowledge of the 
discharge;  

2. Where a release enters a municipal separate storm sewer 
system (MS4), the permittee operator shall also notify the 
owner operator of the MS4 and the Department of 
Conservation and Recreation; and  

3. The stormwater pollution prevention plan required under 
Section II D of this permit must be reviewed by the 
operator to identify measures to prevent the reoccurrence 
of such releases and to respond to such releases, and the 
plan must be modified where appropriate within seven 
calendar days of knowledge of a release.  

F. Spills. This permit does not authorize the discharge of 
hazardous substances or oil resulting from an on-site spill.  

G. Termination of permit coverage. Coverage under this 
permit may be terminated in accordance with 4VAC50-60-
1160. 

1. The operator of the construction activity may only 
submit a notice of termination after one or more of the 
following conditions have been met:  

a. Final stabilization has been achieved on all portions of 
the site for which the operator is responsible;  

b. Another operator has assumed control over all areas of 
the site that have not been finally stabilized;  

c. Coverage under an alternative VPDES or VSMP 
permit has been obtained; or  

d. For residential construction only, temporary 
stabilization has been completed and the residence has 
been transferred to the homeowner.  

2. The notice of termination must be submitted within 30 
days of one of the conditions in Section I G 1 being met. 
Authorization to discharge terminates seven days after the 
notice of termination is submitted.  
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3. The notice of termination shall be signed in accordance 
with Section III K of this permit.  

H. Water quality protection.  

1. The permittee operator must select, install, implement 
and maintain best management practices (BMPs) control 
measures at the construction site that minimize pollutants 
in the discharge as necessary to meet applicable water 
quality standards. If there is evidence indicating that the 
stormwater discharges authorized by this permit are 
causing, have the reasonable potential to cause, or are 
contributing to an excursion above an applicable water 
quality standard, or are causing downstream pollution (as 
defined in this part), the permit-issuing authority may take 
appropriate enforcement action, may require the permittee 
to include and implement appropriate controls in the 
SWPPP to correct the problem, and/or may require the 
permittee to obtain an individual permit in accordance with 
4VAC50-60-410 B 3. In general, except in situations 
explained in subdivision 2 of this subsection, the 
stormwater control measures developed, implemented, and 
updated consistent with Section II shall be considered as 
stringent as necessary to ensure that the operator's 
discharges do not cause or contribute to an excursion 
above any applicable water quality standard. 

2. If it is determined at any time that the operator's 
stormwater discharges have reasonable potential to cause 
or contribute to an excursion above any applicable water 
quality standard, the permit-issuing authority shall require 
the operator to: 

a. Modify control measures in accordance with Section II 
C to adequately address the identified water quality 
concerns; 

b. Submit valid and verifiable data and information that 
are representative of ambient conditions and indicate that 
the receiving water is attaining water quality standards; 
or 

c. Cease discharges of pollutants from construction 
activity and submit an individual permit application 
according to 4VAC50-60-410 B 3. 

All written responses required under this part must include 
a signed certification consistent with Section III K. 

SECTION II  
STORMWATER POLLUTION PREVENTION PLAN  

A. Stormwater Pollution Prevention Plan Framework. 

1. A stormwater pollution prevention plan (SWPPP) shall 
be developed prior to submission of a registration 
statement and implemented for the construction activity 
covered by this permit. SWPPPs shall be prepared in 
accordance with good engineering practices.  

2. The SWPPP shall:  

identify a. Identify potential sources of pollution which 
pollutants that may reasonably be expected to affect the 
quality of stormwater discharges from the construction 
site.; 

In addition, the SWPPP shall describe and ensure the 
implementation of practices which b. Describe control 
measures that will be used to reduce minimize pollutants 
in stormwater discharges from the construction site,; and 

to assure compliance c. Comply with the terms and 
conditions of this permit.  

3. The SWPPP requirements of this general permit may be 
fulfilled by incorporating by reference other state, tribal or 
local plans such as (i) an erosion and sediment control 
(ESC) plan, (ii) an agreement in lieu of a plan as defined in 
4VAC50-30-10, (iii) a stormwater management plan, (iv) a 
spill prevention control and countermeasure (SPCC) plan 
developed for the site under § 311 of the federal Clean 
Water Act or (v) best management practices (BMP) 
programs otherwise required for the facility provided that 
the incorporated plan meets or exceeds the SWPPP 
requirements of Section II D. If an erosion and sediment 
control plan for the construction land-disturbing activity is 
being incorporated by reference, the referenced plan must 
be approved by the locality in which the construction 
activity is to occur or by another appropriate plan-
approving authority authorized under the Virginia Erosion 
and Sediment Control Regulations (4VAC50-30) prior to 
the commencement of construction land disturbance.  

4. All plans incorporated by reference into the SWPPP 
become enforceable under this permit. If a plan 
incorporated by reference does not contain all of the 
required elements of the SWPPP of Section II D, the 
permittee operator must develop the missing elements and 
include them in the required SWPPP.  

5. Once a definable area has been finally stabilized, the 
operator may mark this on the SWPPP and no further 
SWPPP or inspection requirements apply to that portion of 
the site (e.g., earth-disturbing activities around one of three 
buildings in a complex are done and the area is finally 
stabilized; one mile of a roadway or pipeline project is 
done and finally stabilized, etc.).  

6. The SWPPP shall identify all properties that are no 
longer under the control of the operator and the dates on 
which the operator no longer had control over each 
property. 

7. The operator must implement the SWPPP as written and 
updated in accordance with Section II C from 
commencement of construction activity until final 
stabilization is complete.  

A. Deadlines for SWPPP preparation and compliance.  
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1. The SWPPP shall be prepared prior to submittal of the 
registration statement and provide for compliance with the 
terms and schedule of the plan beginning with the initiation 
of construction activities.  

2. For ongoing construction activity involving a change of 
operator, the new operator shall accept and maintain the 
existing SWPPP, or prepare and implement a new SWPPP 
prior to taking over operations at the site.  

B. Signature, plan SWPPP review and making plans 
SWPPPs available.  

1. The SWPPP shall be signed in accordance with Section 
III K.  

2. The SWPPP shall be retained, along with a copy of this 
permit, registration statement, and acknowledgement letter 
from the permit-issuing authority, at the construction site 
or other location easily accessible during normal business 
hours from the date of commencement of construction 
activity to the date of final stabilization. Permittees 
Operators with day-to-day operation operational control 
over SWPPP implementation shall have a copy of the plan 
SWPPP available at a central location on-site for the use of 
all operators and those identified as having responsibilities 
under the plan SWPPP whenever they are on the 
construction site. The SWPPP must be made available, in 
its entirety, to the department and, the permit-issuing 
authority, and the operator of a municipal separate storm 
sewer system receiving discharges from the site for review 
at the time of an on-site inspection. If an on-site location is 
unavailable to store the SWPPP when no personnel are 
present, notice of the SWPPP's location must be posted 
near the main entrance at the construction site. 

3. The permittee operator shall make SWPPPs available 
upon request to the department; the permit-issuing 
authority; a state or local agency approving erosion and 
sediment control plans, grading plans, or stormwater 
management plans; local government officials; or the 
operator of a municipal separate storm sewer system 
receiving discharges from the site.  

4. A sign or other notice must be posted conspicuously 
near the main entrance of the construction site. The sign or 
other notice must contain the following information:  

a. A copy of the permit coverage letter than includes the 
registration number for the construction activity; and  

b. If the location of the SWPPP or the name and 
telephone number of the contact person for scheduling 
SWPPP viewing times has changed (i.e., is different than 
that submitted to the permit issuing authority in the 
registration statement), the current location of the 
SWPPP and name and telephone number of a contact 
person for scheduling viewing times. 

For linear projects, the sign or other notice must be posted 
at a publicly accessible location near the active part of the 
construction project (e.g., where a pipeline project crosses 
a public road).  

5. The operator shall make the SWPPP available to the 
public for review upon request. Access to the SWPPP may 
be arranged at a time and at a publicly accessible location 
convenient to the operator or his designee but shall be no 
less that twice per month and shall be during normal 
business hours. Information shall not be required to be 
released if it is excluded from disclosure under applicable 
law.  

C. Maintaining an updated SWPPP.  

1. The permittee operator shall amend the SWPPP 
whenever there is a change in design, construction, 
operation, or maintenance that has a significant effect on 
the discharge of pollutants to surface state waters and that 
has not been previously addressed in the SWPPP.  

2. The SWPPP must be amended if during inspections or 
investigations by site staff the operator's qualified 
personnel, or by local, state or federal officials, it is 
determined that the discharges are causing water quality 
exceedances, or the SWPPP is existing control measures 
are ineffective in eliminating or significantly minimizing 
pollutants in stormwater discharges from the construction 
site. Revisions to the SWPPP shall include additional or 
modified control measures designed to correct problems 
identified. If approval by a plan-approving authority is 
necessary for the control measure, revisions to the SWPPP 
shall be completed within seven calendar days of approval. 
Implementation of these additional or modified control 
measures must be accomplished as described in Section II 
D 3 b. 

3. Based on the results of an inspection, the SWPPP must 
be modified as necessary to include additional or modified 
BMPs designed to correct problems identified. Revisions 
to the SWPPP must be completed within seven calendar 
days following the inspection. Implementation of these 
additional or modified BMPs must be accomplished as 
described in Section II D 3 b. Revisions to the SWPPP 
must be dated and signed in accordance with Section III K 
2. 

4. The SWPPP must clearly identify for each measure 
identified in the plan, the contractor(s) or subcontractor(s) 
that will implement the and maintain each measure 
identified in the SWPPP. The SWPPP shall be amended 
revised to identify any new contractor that will implement 
a measure of the plan.  

D. Stormwater pollution prevention plan contents. The 
SWPPP shall include the registration statement, this permit, 
and the following items:  
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1. Site and activity description. Each SWPPP shall provide 
the following information:  

a. A narrative description of the nature of the 
construction activity, including the function of the project 
(e.g., low density residential, shopping mall, highway, 
etc.);  

b. The intended sequence and timing of activities that 
disturb soils at the site (e.g., grubbing, excavation, 
grading, utilities and infrastructure installation). ; 

c. A record of the dates when major grading activities 
occur, when construction activities temporarily or 
permanently cease on a portion of the site, and when 
stabilization measures are initiated; 

c. d. Estimates of the total area expected to be disturbed 
by excavation, grading, or other construction activities 
including off-site borrow and fill areas;  

d. e. A description of any other potential pollution 
pollutant sources, such as vehicle fueling, storage of 
fertilizers or chemicals, sanitary waste facilities, etc.;  

e. f. Identification of the nearest receiving waters at or 
near the construction site that will receive discharges 
from disturbed areas of the project;  

f. g. The location and description on of any discharge 
associated with industrial activity other than construction 
at the site. This includes stormwater discharges from 
dedicated asphalt plants and dedicated concrete plants 
that are covered by this permit.; 

h. A legible general location map (e.g., USGS quadrangle 
map, a portion of a city or county map, or other map) 
with sufficient detail to identify the location of the 
construction activity and surface waters within one mile 
of the construction activity; and 

g. i. A legible site map indicating identifying:  

(1) Directions of stormwater flow and approximate 
slopes anticipated after major grading activities;  

(2) Areas of soil disturbance and areas of the site which 
will not be disturbed;  

(3) Locations of major structural and nonstructural 
controls control measures identified in the SWPPP, 
including those that will be permanent controls that will 
remain after construction activities have been completed;  

(4) Locations where stabilization practices are expected 
to occur;  

(5) Surface water bodies (including wetlands) Locations 
of surface waters;  

(6) Locations where concentrated stormwater discharges 
to a surface water;  

(7) Locations of off-site material, waste, borrow or 
equipment storage areas covered by the plan SWPPP;  

(8) Locations of other potential pollution pollutant 
sources, such as vehicle fueling, storage of chemicals, 
concrete wash-out areas, sanitary waste facilities, 
including those temporarily placed on the construction 
site, etc.; and  

(9) Areas where final stabilization has been 
accomplished and no further construction-phase permit 
requirements apply.  

2. Controls to reduce minimize pollutants. The SWPPP 
shall include a description of all pollution control measures 
that will be implemented as part of the construction 
activity to control minimize pollutants in stormwater 
discharges. For each major activity identified in the project 
description, the SWPPP shall clearly describe appropriate 
control measures, the general sequencing during the 
construction process in which the control measures will be 
implemented, and which operator is responsible for the 
control measure's implementation.  

a. Erosion and sediment controls.  

(1) Stabilization practices. The SWPPP shall include a 
description of interim and permanent stabilization 
practices for the site. Site plans should ensure that 
existing vegetation is preserved where attainable and that 
disturbed portions of the site are stabilized. Stabilization 
practices may include, but are not limited to: temporary 
seeding, permanent seeding, mulching, geotextiles, sod 
stabilization, vegetative buffer strips, protection of trees, 
preservation of mature vegetation, riprap, gabions, 
facines, biologs and other appropriate measures. Use of 
impervious surfaces for stabilization should be avoided.  

(a) A record of the dates when major grading activities 
occur, when construction activities temporarily or 
permanently cease on a portion of the site, and when 
stabilization measures are initiated shall be maintained 
and included in the SWPPP.  

(b) Except as provided in Section II D 2 a (1) (c), (d) and 
(e), stabilization measures shall be initiated as soon as 
practicable in portions of the site where construction 
activities have temporarily or permanently ceased, but in 
no case more than seven days after the construction 
activity in that portion of the site has temporarily or 
permanently ceased.  

(c) Where the initiation of stabilization measures by the 
seventh day after construction activity temporary or 
permanently ceased is precluded by snow cover or frozen 
ground conditions, stabilization measures shall be 
initiated as soon as practicable.  

(d) Where construction activity on a portion of the site is 
temporarily ceased, and earth disturbing activities will be 
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resumed within 30 days, temporary stabilization 
measures do not have to be initiated on that portion of the 
site.  

(e) In drought-stricken areas where initiating perennial 
vegetative stabilization measures is not possible within 
seven days after construction activity has temporarily or 
permanently ceased, final vegetative stabilization 
measures shall be initiated as soon as practicable.  

(2) Structural practices. The SWPPP shall include a 
description of structural practices to divert flows from 
exposed soils, retain/detain flows or otherwise limit 
runoff and the discharge of pollutants from exposed areas 
of the site. Such practices may include, but are not 
limited to: silt fences, earth dikes, drainage swales, 
sediment traps, check dams, subsurface drains, pipe slope 
drains, level spreaders, storm drain inlet protection, rock 
outlet protection, reinforced soil retaining systems, 
gabions, and temporary or permanent sediment basins. 
Structural practices should be located on upland soils to 
the degree attainable. The department and the permit-
issuing authority encourages the use of a combination of 
erosion and sediment control measures in order to 
achieve maximum pollutant removal.  

(a) Sediment basins: For common drainage locations that 
serve an area with three or more acres disturbed at one 
time, a temporary (or permanent) sediment basin 
providing 3,618 cubic feet of storage per acre drained, or 
equivalent control measures, shall be provided where 
attainable until final stabilization of the site. The 3,618 
cubic feet of storage area per acre drained does not apply 
to flows from off-site areas and flows from on-site areas 
that are either undisturbed or have undergone final 
stabilization where such flows are diverted around both 
the disturbed area and the sediment basin. In determining 
whether installing a sediment basin is attainable, the 
permittee may consider factors such as site soils, slope, 
available area on site, etc. In any event, the permittee 
must consider public safety, especially as it relates to 
children, as a design factor for the sediment basin and 
alternative sediment controls shall be used where site 
limitations would preclude a safe design.  

(b) For drainage locations that serve three or more acres 
at one time and where a temporary sediment basin or 
equivalent controls is not attainable, smaller sediment 
basins and/or sediment traps should be used. At a 
minimum, silt fences, vegetative buffer strips, or 
equivalent sediment controls are required for all down 
slope boundaries, and for those side slope boundaries 
deemed appropriate as dictated by individual site 
conditions.  

(c) For drainage locations serving less than three acres, 
smaller sediment basins or sediment traps or both should 
be used. At a minimum, silt fences, vegetative buffer 

strips or equivalent sediment controls are required for all 
downslope boundaries, and for those side slope 
boundaries deemed appropriate as dictated by individual 
site conditions, of the construction area unless a sediment 
basin providing storage for 3,618 cubic feet of storage 
per acre drained is provided.  

(1) An erosion and sediment control plan or an 
agreement in lieu of a plan shall be approved by the 
appropriate plan-approving authority for the land-
disturbing activity in accordance with the Virginia 
Erosion and Sediment Control Law (§ 10.1-560 et seq.) 
and regulations (4VAC50-30). Where applicable, a plan 
shall be developed in accordance with board-approved 
annual general erosion and sediment control 
specifications. 

(2) All control measures required by the plan shall be 
designed, installed, and maintained in accordance with 
good engineering practices and the minimum standards 
of the Virginia Erosion and Sediment Control Law 
(§ 10.1-560 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and 
regulations (4VAC50-30). 

b. Management practices.  

(1) Site plans should ensure that existing vegetation is 
preserved where possible and that disturbed portions of 
the site are stabilized.  

(2) All control measures must be properly selected, 
installed, and maintained in accordance with good 
engineering practices and, where applicable, 
manufacturer specifications and good engineering 
practices. If periodic inspections or other information 
indicates a control has been used inappropriately, or 
incorrectly, the permittee operator must replace or 
modify the control for site situations as soon as 
practicable and update the SWPPP in accordance with 
Section II C.  

(2)(3) If sediment escapes the construction site, off-site 
accumulations of sediment must be removed at a 
frequency sufficient as soon as practicable to minimize 
off-site impacts. If approval by a plan-approving 
authority is necessary, control measures shall be 
implemented to minimize pollutants in stormwater 
discharges until such approvals can be obtained.  

(3) Litter, construction (4) Construction debris, and 
construction chemicals exposed to stormwater shall be 
prevented from becoming a pollutant source in 
stormwater discharges.  

(5) Litter exposed to stormwater shall be prevented from 
becoming a pollutant source in stormwater discharges 
and the construction site shall be policed daily to control 
litter. 

c. Stormwater management.  
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(1) The operator shall ensure compliance with the 
requirements of 4VAC50-60-1180 through 4VAC50-60-
1190 of the Virginia Stormwater Management 
Regulations, including but not limited to water quality 
and quantity requirements. The SWPPP shall include a 
description of, and all necessary calculations supporting, 
all post-construction stormwater management measures 
that will be installed during the construction process to 
control pollutants in stormwater discharges after 
construction operations have been completed. Structural 
measures should be placed on upland soils to the degree 
attainable possible. Such measures must be designed and 
installed in accordance with applicable local and/or, 
state, and federal requirements, and any necessary 
permits must be obtained.  

(2) Such measures may include, but are not limited to: 
stormwater detention structures (including dry ponds); 
stormwater retention structures; flow attenuation by use 
of open vegetated swales and natural depressions; 
infiltration of runoff on-site; stormwater wetlands; sand 
filters; bioretention systems; water quality structures; and 
sequential systems (which combine several practices). 
The SWPPP shall include an explanation of the technical 
basis used to select the practices to control pollution and 
flows that exceed predevelopment levels. Control 
measures contained in Part II of the Virginia Stormwater 
Management Regulations, 4VAC50-60-1184, or on the 
Virginia BMP Clearinghouse may be utilized. Innovative 
or alternate control measures may be allowed by the 
department provided such measures effectively address 
water quality and quantity in accordance with the 
requirements of 4VAC50-60-1180 through 4VAC50-60-
1190 and are not restricted by the locality. 

(3) Outflows from a stormwater management facility or 
stormwater conveyance system shall be discharged to an 
adequate channel as defined in the Virginia Erosion and 
Sediment Control Regulations (4VAC50-30). In addition, 
the natural, physical, chemical, and biological 
characteristics and functions of the receiving waters must 
be maintained and protected (e.g., no significant changes 
in the hydrological regime of the receiving water) all 
control measures shall be employed in a manner that 
minimizes impacts on the physical, chemical and 
biological integrity of rivers, streams, and other state 
waters, is protective of water quality standards, and is 
consistent with Section II D 6 through D 8 and other 
applicable provisions of this permit.  

d. Other controls.  

(1) The SWPPP shall describe measures to prevent the 
discharge of solid materials, including building materials, 
garbage, and debris to surface state waters of the state, 
except as authorized by a Clean Water Act § 404 permit.  

(2) Where construction vehicle access routes intersect 
paved public roads, provisions shall be made to minimize 
the transport of sediment by vehicular tracking onto the 
paved surface. Where sediment is transported onto a 
public road surface, the road shall be cleaned thoroughly 
at the end of each day. Sediment shall be removed from 
the roads by shoveling or sweeping and transported to a 
sediment control disposal area. Street washing shall be 
allowed only after sediment is removed in this manner.  

(3)(2) The SWPPP shall ensure and demonstrate 
compliance describe control measures used to comply 
with applicable state or local waste disposal, sanitary 
sewer or septic system regulations.  

(4)(3) The SWPPP shall include a description of 
construction and waste materials expected to be stored 
on-site with updates as appropriate. The plan SWPPP 
shall also include a description of controls to reduce 
pollutants from these materials, including storage 
practices, to minimize exposure of the materials to 
stormwater, and for spill prevention and response.  

(5)(4) The SWPPP shall include a description of 
pollutant sources from off-site areas other than 
construction (including stormwater discharges from 
dedicated asphalt plants and dedicated concrete plants), 
and a description of controls and control measures that 
will be implemented at those sites to minimize pollutant 
discharges.  

e. Applicable state or local programs. The SWPPP 
control measures implemented at the site shall be 
consistent with all applicable federal, state, or local 
requirements for erosion and sediment control and 
stormwater management including updates to the . The 
SWPPP shall be updated as necessary to reflect any 
revisions to applicable federal, state or local requirements 
for erosion and sediment control and stormwater 
management that affect the control measures 
implemented at the site.  

3. Maintenance of controls.  

a. The SWPPP must include a description and schedule 
of procedures to maintain in good and effective operating 
conditions vegetation, erosion and sediment control 
measures and other protective measures during 
construction identified in the site plan. All control 
measures must be properly maintained in effective 
operating condition in accordance with good engineering 
practices and, where applicable, manufacturer 
specifications. If site inspections required by Section II D 
4 identify BMPs control measures that are not operating 
effectively, maintenance shall be performed before the 
next anticipated storm event, or as soon as practicable to 
maintain the continued effectiveness of stormwater 
controls.  
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b. If site inspections required by Section II D 4 identify 
existing BMPs control measures that need to be modified 
or if additional BMPs control measures are necessary for 
any reason, implementation shall be completed before the 
next anticipated storm event. If implementation before 
the next anticipated storm event is impracticable, the 
situation shall be documented in the SWPPP and 
alternative BMPs control measures shall be implemented 
as soon as practicable.  

4. Inspections. Inspections by qualified personnel must be 
conducted of all areas of the site disturbed by construction 
activity, and areas used for storage of materials that are 
exposed to stormwater. "Qualified personnel" means a 
licensed professional engineer, responsible land disturber 
(RLD), or other knowledgeable person that (i) holds a 
certificate of competence from the board in the area of 
project inspection; or (ii) is enrolled in the board's training 
program for project inspection or combined administrator 
and successfully completes such program within one year 
of enrollment. The name and phone number of qualified 
personnel conducting inspections shall be included in the 
SWPPP.  

a. Inspections shall be conducted (i) at least every seven 
calendar days or (ii) at least once every 14 calendar days 
and within 48 hours of the end of following any runoff 
producing storm event. Where areas have been finally or 
temporarily stabilized or runoff is unlikely due to winter 
conditions (e.g., the site is covered with snow or ice, or 
frozen ground exists) such inspections shall be conducted 
at least once every month.  

b. Inspections must include all areas of the site disturbed 
by construction activity, off-site areas, and areas used for 
storage of materials that are exposed to precipitation. 
Inspectors must look for evidence of, or the potential for, 
pollutants entering the a stormwater conveyance system. 
Erosion and sediment control Control measures identified 
in the SWPPP shall be observed to ensure inspected for 
proper installation, maintenance, and operation. 
Discharge locations, where accessible, shall be inspected 
to ascertain whether erosion and sediment control 
measures are effective in preventing significant 
minimizing impacts to receiving waters. Where discharge 
locations are inaccessible, nearby downstream locations 
shall be inspected to the extent that such inspections are 
practicable. Locations where vehicles enter or exit the 
site shall be inspected for evidence of off-site sediment 
tracking.  

c. Utility line installation, pipeline construction, and 
other examples of long, narrow, linear construction 
activities may limit the access of inspection personnel to 
the areas described in Section II D 4 b. Inspection of 
these areas could require that vehicles compromise 
temporarily or even permanently stabilized areas, cause 

additional disturbance of soils, and increase the potential 
for erosion. In these circumstances, controls must be 
inspected on the same frequencies as other construction 
projects, but representative inspections may be 
performed. For representative inspections, personnel 
must inspect controls along the construction site for 0.25 
miles above and below each access point where a 
roadway, undisturbed right-of-way, or other similar 
feature intersects the construction site and allows access 
to the areas described above. The conditions of the 
controls along each inspected 0.25-mile segment may be 
considered as representative of the condition of controls 
along that reach extending from the end of the 0.25-mile 
segment to either the end of the next 0.25-mile segment, 
or to the end of the project, whichever occurs first. 
Inspection locations must be listed in the report required 
by Section II D 4 e.  

d. Based on the results of the inspection, the site and 
activity description identified in the plan in accordance 
with Section II D 1 of this permit and pollution 
prevention measures identified in the SWPPP in 
accordance with Section II D 2 of this permit shall be 
revised as appropriate within seven calendar days 
following the inspection.  

e. d. A report summarizing the scope of the inspection, 
names and qualifications of personnel making the 
inspection, the dates of the inspection, major 
observations relating to the implementation of the 
SWPPP, and actions taken in accordance with Section II 
D 4 d of the permit shall be made and retained as part of 
the SWPPP in accordance with Section III B of this 
permit. Major observations should include:  

(1) The location(s) of discharges of sediment or other 
pollutants from the site;  

(2) Location(s) of BMPs control measures that need to be 
maintained;  

(3) Location(s) of BMPs control measures that failed to 
operate as designed or proved inadequate for a particular 
location;  

(4) Location(s) where additional BMPs control measures 
are needed that did not exist at the time of inspection; 
and  

(5) Corrective action required including any changes to 
the SWPPP that are necessary and implementation dates.; 

(6) The amount of rainfall at the construction site (in 
inches) from the runoff producing storm event requiring 
the inspection, or if inspecting on a seven-day schedule, 
the amount of rainfall (in inches) since the previous 
inspection; and 

(7) Weather information and a description of any 
discharges occurring at the time of inspection. 
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A record of each inspection and of any actions taken in 
accordance with Section II must be retained by the 
operator as part of the SWPPP for at least three years from 
the date that permit coverage expires or is terminated. The 
inspection reports shall identify any incidents of 
noncompliance. Where a report does not identify any 
incidents of noncompliance, the report shall contain a 
certification that the facility is in compliance with the 
stormwater pollution prevention plan SWPPP and this 
permit. The report shall be signed in accordance with 
Section III K of this permit.  

5. Nonstormwater discharge management. The SWPPP 
shall identify all allowable sources of nonstormwater 
discharges listed in Section I D 2 of this permit that are 
combined with stormwater discharges from the 
construction activity at the site, except for flows from fire 
fighting activities. The SWPPP shall identify and ensure 
require the implementation of appropriate pollution 
prevention control measures for the nonstormwater 
components of the discharge.  

6. Endangered species. The SWPPP shall include, if 
applicable, the following documentation with regard to 
endangered species: 

a. Any correspondence for any stage of project planning 
between the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS), EPA, 
the U.S. National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS), or 
others and the operator regarding listed species and 
critical habitat; and 

b. A description of measures that were determined 
necessary to protect federally listed endangered or 
threatened species, or federally designated critical 
habitat. 

7. Total maximum daily loads. A total maximum daily load 
(TMDL) approved by the State Water Control Board may 
include a wasteload allocation to the regulated construction 
activity that identifies the pollutant for which stormwater 
controls are necessary for the surface waters to meet water 
quality standards. The pollutant identified in a wasteload 
allocation as of the effective date of this permit must be 
specified in the SWPPP and addressed through the use of 
strategies and control measures as specified in the SWPPP. 
Implementation of the strategies and control measures 
consistent with the provisions of this permit constitutes 
compliance with the assumptions and requirements of the 
approved TMDL. A wasteload allocation does not establish 
that the operator is in or out of compliance with the 
conditions of this permit. 

The SWPPP shall include strategies and control measures 
to ensure consistency with the assumptions and 
requirements of the TMDL WLA; or shall be updated 
within 30 days of the effective date of any reopening of 
this permit to include wasteloads allocated to the 

construction activity after issuance of permit coverage and 
shall implement such strategies and control measures. 

8. Impaired waters. The control measures shall be 
protective of water quality standards for impaired waters 
identified as having impairments for pollutants that may be 
discharged from the construction activity in the 2006 
§ 305(b)/303(d) Water Quality Assessment Integrated 
Report in accordance with Section I H. 

SECTION III  
CONDITIONS APPLICABLE TO ALL VSMP PERMITS  

NOTE: Monitoring Discharge monitoring is not required for 
this permit. If you choose the operator chooses to monitor 
your stormwater discharges or BMPs control measures, you 
the operator must comply with the requirements of 
subsections A, B, and C, as appropriate.  

A. Monitoring.  

1. Samples and measurements taken for the purpose of 
monitoring shall be representative of the monitoring 
activity.  

2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to procedures 
approved under 40 CFR Part 136 (2001) or alternative 
methods approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection 
Agency, unless other procedures have been specified in 
this permit.  

3. The permittee operator shall periodically calibrate and 
perform maintenance procedures on all monitoring and 
analytical instrumentation at intervals that will ensure 
accuracy of measurements.  

B. Records.  

1. Records of monitoring information Monitoring records 
and reports shall include:  

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 
measurements;  

b. The individual(s) who performed the sampling or 
measurements;  

c. The date(s) and time(s) analyses were performed;  

d. The individual(s) who performed the analyses;  

e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and  

f. The results of such analyses.  

2. The permittee operator shall retain records of all 
monitoring information, including all calibration and 
maintenance records and all original strip chart recordings 
for continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 
reports required by this permit, and records of all data used 
to complete the registration statement for this permit, for a 
period of at least three years from the date of the sample, 
measurement, report or request for coverage. This period 
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of retention shall be extended automatically during the 
course of any unresolved litigation regarding the regulated 
activity or regarding control standards applicable to the 
permittee operator, or as requested by the board.  

C. Reporting monitoring results.  

1. The permittee operator shall submit update the SWPPP 
to include the results of the monitoring required by this 
permit not later than the 10th day of the month after 
monitoring takes place as may be performed in accordance 
with this permit, unless another reporting schedule is 
specified elsewhere in this permit. Monitoring results shall 
be submitted to the permit-issuing authority.  

2. Monitoring results shall be reported on a discharge 
monitoring report (DMR) or; on forms provided, approved 
or specified by the department; or in any format provided 
that the date, location, parameter, method, and result of the 
monitoring activity are included.  

3. If the permittee operator monitors any pollutant 
specifically addressed by this permit more frequently than 
required by this permit using test procedures approved 
under 40 CFR Part 136 (2001) or using other test 
procedures approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection 
Agency or using procedures specified in this permit, the 
results of this monitoring shall be included in the 
calculation and reporting of the data submitted in the DMR 
or reporting form specified by the department.  

4. Calculations for all limitations which require averaging 
of measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean unless 
otherwise specified in this permit.  

D. Duty to provide information. The permittee operator shall 
furnish to the permit-issuing authority, within a reasonable 
time, any information which the board, department, or other 
permit-issuing authority may request to determine whether 
cause exists for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or 
terminating this permit or to determine compliance with this 
permit. The board, department, or other permit-issuing 
authority may require the permittee operator to furnish, upon 
request, such plans, specifications, and other pertinent 
information as may be necessary to determine the effect of 
the wastes from his discharge on the quality of state waters, 
or such other information as may be necessary to accomplish 
the purposes of the CWA and the Virginia Stormwater 
Management Act. The permittee operator shall also furnish to 
the board, department, or other permit-issuing authority, upon 
request, copies of records required to be kept by this permit.  

E. Compliance schedule reports. Reports of compliance or 
noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 
final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of 
this permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days following 
each schedule date.  

F. Unauthorized stormwater discharges. Except in 
compliance with this permit or another permit issued by the 
permit-issuing authority or the Department of Environmental 
Quality, it shall be unlawful for any person to: Pursuant to 
§ 10.1-603.2:2 A of the Code of Virginia, except in 
compliance with a permit issued by the permit-issuing 
authority, it shall be unlawful to cause a stormwater discharge 
from a construction activity. 

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 
other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; or  

2. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical or biological 
properties of such state waters and make them detrimental 
to the public health, or to animal or aquatic life, or to the 
use of such waters for domestic or industrial consumption, 
or for recreation, or for other uses.  

G. Reports of unauthorized discharges. Any permittee 
operator who discharges or causes or allows a discharge of 
sewage, industrial waste, other wastes or any noxious or 
deleterious substance or a hazardous substance or oil in an 
amount equal to or in excess of a reportable quantity 
established under either 40 CFR Part 110 (2002), 40 CFR 
Part 117 (2002), or 40 CFR Part 302 (2002) that occurs 
during a 24-hour period into or upon state waters in violation 
of Section III F, or who discharges or causes or allows a 
discharge that may reasonably be expected to enter state 
waters in violation of Section III F, shall notify the 
department, the Department of Environmental Quality, and 
the permit-issuing authority of the discharge immediately 
upon discovery of the discharge, but in no case later than 
within 24 hours after said discovery. A written report of the 
unauthorized discharge shall be submitted to the department, 
the Department of Environmental Quality, and the permit-
issuing authority within five days of discovery of the 
discharge. The written report shall contain:  

1. A description of the nature and location of the discharge;  

2. The cause of the discharge;  

3. The date on which the discharge occurred;  

4. The length of time that the discharge continued;  

5. The volume of the discharge;  

6. If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected to 
continue;  

7. If the discharge is continuing, what the expected total 
volume of the discharge will be; and  

8. Any steps planned or taken to reduce, eliminate and 
prevent a recurrence of the present discharge or any future 
discharges not authorized by this permit.  

Discharges reportable to the department, the Department of 
Environmental Quality, and the permit-issuing authority 
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under the immediate reporting requirements of other 
regulations are exempted from this requirement.  

H. Reports of unusual or extraordinary discharges. If any 
unusual or extraordinary discharge including a "bypass" or 
"upset", as defined herein, should occur from a facility and 
the discharge enters or could be expected to enter state 
waters, the permittee operator shall promptly notify, in no 
case later than within 24 hours, the department, the 
Department of Environmental Quality, and the permit-issuing 
authority by telephone after the discovery of the discharge. 
This notification shall provide all available details of the 
incident, including any adverse effects on aquatic life and the 
known number of fish killed. The permittee operator shall 
reduce the report to writing and shall submit it to the 
department, the Department of Environmental Quality, and 
the permit-issuing authority within five days of discovery of 
the discharge in accordance with Section III I 2. Unusual and 
extraordinary discharges include but are not limited to any 
discharge resulting from:  

1. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 
indirectly from processing operations;  

2. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment;  

3. Failure or taking out of service of some or all of the 
facilities; and  

4. Flooding or other acts of nature.  

I. Reports of noncompliance. The permittee operator shall 
report any noncompliance which may adversely affect state 
waters or may endanger public health.  

1. An oral report to the department, the Department of 
Environmental Quality, and the permit-issuing authority 
shall be provided within 24 hours from the time the 
permittee operator becomes aware of the circumstances. 
The following shall be included as information that shall 
be reported within 24 hours under this subdivision:  

a. Any unanticipated bypass; and 

b. Any upset that causes a discharge to surface state 
waters.  

2. A written report shall be submitted within five days and 
shall contain:  

a. A description of the noncompliance and its cause;  

b. The period of noncompliance, including exact dates 
and times, and if the noncompliance has not been 
corrected, the anticipated time it is expected to continue; 
and  

c. Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and 
prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance.  

The permit-issuing authority may waive the written 
report on a case-by-case basis for reports of 

noncompliance under Section III I if the oral report has 
been received within 24 hours and no adverse impact on 
state waters has been reported.  

3. The permittee operator shall report all instances of 
noncompliance not reported under Section III I 1 or 2 in 
writing at the time the next monitoring reports are 
submitted as part of the SWPPP. The reports shall contain 
the information listed in Section III I 2.  

NOTE: The immediate (within 24 hours) reports required 
in Section III G, H and I may shall be made to the 
department's Urban Program's Stormwater Program 
Section of the Division of Soil and Water Conservation, 
appropriate Department of Environmental Quality's 
Regional Office Pollution Response Program, and the 
permit-issuing authority. Reports may be made by 
telephone or by fax. For reports outside normal working 
hours, leaving a recorded message shall fulfill the 
immediate reporting requirement. For emergencies, the 
Virginia Department of Emergency Management maintains 
a 24-hour telephone service at 1-800-468-8892.  

4. Where the permittee operator becomes aware that it 
failed of a failure to submit any relevant facts in a permit 
application, or submitted submittal of incorrect information 
in a permit application or in any report to the department or 
the permit-issuing authority, it the operator shall promptly 
submit such facts or correct information.  

J. Notice of planned changes.  

1. The permittee operator shall give notice to the permit-
issuing authority as soon as possible of any planned 
physical alterations or additions to the permitted facility or 
activity. Notice is required only when:  

a. The permittee operator plans an alteration or addition 
to any building, structure, facility, or installation from 
which there is or may be a discharge of pollutants, the 
construction of which commenced that may meet one of 
the criteria for determining whether a facility is a new 
source in 4VAC50-60-420; 

(1) After promulgation of standards of performance 
under § 306 of the federal Clean Water Act that are 
applicable to such source; or  

(2) After proposal of standards of performance in 
accordance with § 306 of the Clean Water Act that are 
applicable to such source, but only if the standards are 
promulgated in accordance with § 306 within 120 days of 
their proposal;  

b. The operator plans an alteration or addition could that 
would significantly change the nature or increase the 
quantity of pollutants discharged. This notification 
applies to pollutants that are not subject to effluent 
limitations in this permit; or  
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2. The permittee operator shall give advance notice to the 
permit-issuing authority of any planned changes in the 
permitted facility or activity that, which may result in 
noncompliance with permit requirements.  

K. Signatory requirements.  

1. Registration statement. All registration statements shall 
be signed as follows:  

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. 
For the purpose of this section part, a responsible 
corporate officer means: (i) a president, secretary, 
treasurer, or vice-president of the corporation in charge 
of a principal business function, or any other person who 
performs similar policy-making or decision-making 
functions for the corporation; or (ii) the manager of one 
or more manufacturing, production, or operating 
facilities, provided the manager is authorized to make 
management decisions that govern the operation of the 
regulated facility including having the explicit or implicit 
duty of making major capital investment 
recommendations, and initiating and directing other 
comprehensive measures to assure long-term 
environmental compliance with environmental laws and 
regulations; the manager can ensure that the necessary 
systems are established or actions taken to gather 
complete and accurate information for permit application 
requirements; and where authority to sign documents has 
been assigned or delegated to the manager in accordance 
with corporate procedures;  

b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 
partner or the proprietor, respectively; or  

c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 
agency: by either a principal executive officer or ranking 
elected official. For purposes of this section part, a 
principal executive officer of a public agency includes: 
(i) the chief executive officer of the agency or (ii) a 
senior executive officer having responsibility for the 
overall operations of a principal geographic unit of the 
agency.  

2. Reports, etc. All reports required by permits, including 
SWPPPs, and other information requested by the board, the 
department, or the permit-issuing authority shall be signed 
by a person described in Section III K 1 or by a duly 
authorized representative of that person. A person is a duly 
authorized representative only if:  

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 
described in Section III K 1;  

b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 
position having responsibility for the overall operation of 
the regulated facility or activity such as the position of 
plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, 
superintendent, position of equivalent responsibility, or 

an individual or position having overall responsibility for 
environmental matters for the company operator. (A duly 
authorized representative may thus be either a named 
individual or any individual occupying a named 
position); and  

c. The signed and dated written authorization is 
submitted to the department included in the SWPPP. A 
copy must be provided to the permit-issuing authority, if 
requested. 

3. Changes to authorization. If an authorization under 
Section III K 2 is no longer accurate because a different 
individual or position has responsibility for the overall 
operation of the facility construction activity, a new 
authorization satisfying the requirements of Section III K 2 
shall be submitted to the permit-issuing authority prior to 
or together with any reports or information to be signed by 
an authorized representative.  

4. Certification. Any person signing a document under 
Section III K 1 or 2 shall make the following certification:  

"I certify under penalty of law that I have read and 
understand this document and that this document and all 
attachments were prepared under my direction or 
supervision in accordance with a system designed to assure 
that qualified personnel properly gather gathered and 
evaluate evaluated the information submitted. Based on my 
inquiry of the person or persons who manage the system, 
or those persons directly responsible for gathering the 
information, the information submitted is, to the best of my 
knowledge and belief, true, accurate, and complete. I am 
aware that there are significant penalties for submitting 
false information, including the possibility of fine and 
imprisonment for knowing violations."  

L. Duty to comply. The permittee operator shall comply 
with all conditions of this permit. Any permit noncompliance 
constitutes a violation of the Virginia Stormwater 
Management Act and the Clean Water Act, except that 
noncompliance with certain provisions of this permit may 
constitute a violation of the Virginia Stormwater 
Management Act but not the Clean Water Act. Permit 
noncompliance is grounds for enforcement action; for permit 
termination, revocation and reissuance, or modification; or 
denial of a permit renewal application.  

The permittee operator shall comply with effluent standards 
or prohibitions established under § 307(a) of the Clean Water 
Act for toxic pollutants within the time provided in the 
regulations that establish these standards or prohibitions or 
standards for sewage sludge use or disposal, even if this 
permit has not yet been modified to incorporate the 
requirement.  

M. Duty to reapply. If the permittee operator wishes to 
continue an activity regulated by this permit after the 
expiration date of this permit, the permittee operator shall 
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submit a new registration statement at least 90 days before the 
expiration date of the existing permit, unless permission for a 
later date has been granted by the board. The board shall not 
grant permission for registration statements to be submitted 
later than the expiration date of the existing permit.  

N. Effect of a permit. This permit does not convey any 
property rights in either real or personal property or any 
exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to 
private property or invasion of personal rights, or any 
infringement of federal, state or local law or regulations.  

O. State law. Nothing in this permit shall be construed to 
preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve 
the permittee operator from any responsibilities, liabilities, or 
penalties established pursuant to any other state law or 
regulation or under authority preserved by § 510 of the Clean 
Water Act. Except as provided in permit conditions on 
"bypassing" (Section III U), and "upset" (Section III V), 
nothing in this permit shall be construed to relieve the 
permittee operator from civil and criminal penalties for 
noncompliance.  

P. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 
permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any 
legal action or relieve the permittee operator from any 
responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee 
operator is or may be subject under §§ 62.1-44.34:14 through 
62.1-44.34:23 of the State Water Control Law or § 311 of the 
Clean Water Act.  

Q. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee 
operator shall at all times properly operate and maintain all 
facilities and systems of treatment and control (and related 
appurtenances) that, which are installed or used by the 
permittee operator to achieve compliance with the conditions 
of this permit. Proper operation and maintenance also 
includes effective plant performance, adequate funding, 
adequate staffing, and adequate laboratory and process 
controls, including appropriate quality assurance procedures. 
This provision requires the operation of back-up or auxiliary 
facilities or similar systems that, which are installed by the 
permittee operator only when the operation is necessary to 
achieve compliance with the conditions of this permit.  

R. Disposal of solids or sludges. Solids, sludges or other 
pollutants removed in the course of treatment or management 
of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner so as to prevent 
any pollutant from such materials from entering state waters.  

S. Duty to mitigate. The permittee operator shall take all 
reasonable steps to minimize or prevent any discharge in 
violation of this permit that has a reasonable likelihood of 
adversely affecting human health or the environment.  

T. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not 
be a defense for a permittee an operator in an enforcement 
action that it would have been necessary to halt or reduce the 

permitted activity in order to maintain compliance with the 
conditions of this permit.  

U. Bypass.  

1. "Bypass", as defined in 4VAC50-60-10, means the 
intentional diversion of waste streams from any portion of 
a treatment facility. The permittee operator may allow any 
bypass to occur that does not cause effluent limitations to 
be exceeded, but only if it also is for essential maintenance 
to ensure efficient operation. These bypasses are not 
subject to the provisions of Section III U 2 and 3. 

2. Notice.  

a. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee operator knows in 
advance of the need for a bypass, prior notice shall be 
submitted to the department, if possible at least 10 days 
before the date of the bypass.  

b. Unanticipated bypass. The permittee operator shall 
submit notice of an unanticipated bypass as required in 
Section III I.  

3. Prohibition of bypass.  

a. Bypass Except as provided in Section III U 1, bypass 
is prohibited, and the permit-issuing authority may take 
enforcement action against a permittee an operator for 
bypass unless:  

(1) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, 
personal injury, or severe property damage. Severe 
property damage means substantial physical damage to 
property, damage to the treatment facilities that causes 
them to become inoperable, or substantial and permanent 
loss of natural resources that can reasonably be expected 
to occur in the absence of a bypass. Severe property 
damage does not mean economic loss caused by delays 
in production;  

(2) There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, 
such as the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention 
of untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal 
periods of equipment downtime. This condition is not 
satisfied if adequate back-up equipment should have 
been installed in the exercise of reasonable engineering 
judgment to prevent a bypass that occurred during 
normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive 
maintenance; and  

(3) The permittee operator submitted notices as required 
under Section III U 2.  

b. The permit-issuing authority may approve an 
anticipated bypass, after considering its adverse effects, 
if the permit-issuing authority determines that it will 
meet the three conditions listed in Section III U 3 a.  

V. Upset.  
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1. An upset, as defined in 4VAC50-60-10, constitutes an 
affirmative defense to an action brought for noncompliance 
with technology-based permit effluent limitations if the 
requirements of Section III V 2 are met. A determination 
made during administrative review of claims that 
noncompliance was caused by upset, and before an action 
for noncompliance, is not a final administrative action 
subject to judicial review.  

2. An upset does not include noncompliance to the extent 
caused by operational error, improperly designed treatment 
facilities, inadequate treatment facilities, lack of 
preventative maintenance, or careless or improper 
operation. 

2. A permittee 3. An operator who wishes to establish the 
affirmative defense of upset shall demonstrate, through 
properly signed, contemporaneous operating logs or other 
relevant evidence that:  

a. An upset occurred and that the permittee operator can 
identify the cause(s) of the upset;  

b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 
operated;  

c. The permittee operator submitted notice of the upset as 
required in Section III I; and  

d. The permittee operator complied with any remedial 
measures required under Section III S.  

3. 4. In any enforcement proceeding, the permittee operator 
seeking to establish the occurrence of an upset has the 
burden of proof.  

W. Inspection and entry. The permittee operator shall allow 
the director department as the board's designee, the permit-
issuing authority, or an authorized representative (including 
an authorized contractor acting as a representative of the 
administrator) of either (including an authorized contractor), 
upon presentation of credentials and other documents as may 
be required by law to:  

1. Enter upon the permittee's operator's premises where a 
regulated facility or activity is located or conducted, or 
where records must be kept under the conditions of this 
permit;  

2. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any 
records that must be kept under the conditions of this 
permit;  

3. Inspect and photograph at reasonable times any 
facilities, equipment (including monitoring and control 
equipment), practices, or operations regulated or required 
under this permit; and  

4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 
of ensuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized 
by the Clean Water Act and the Virginia Stormwater 

Management Act, any substances or parameters at any 
location.  

For purposes of this section, the time for inspection shall be 
deemed reasonable during regular business hours, and 
whenever the facility is discharging. Nothing contained 
herein shall make an inspection unreasonable during an 
emergency.  

X. Permit actions. Permits may be modified, revoked and 
reissued, or terminated for cause. The filing of a request by 
the permittee operator for a permit modification, revocation 
and reissuance, or termination, or a notification of planned 
changes or anticipated noncompliance does not stay any 
permit condition.  

Y. Transfer of permits.  

1. Permits are not transferable to any person except after 
notice to the permit-issuing authority. Except as provided 
in Section III Y 2, a permit may be transferred by the 
permittee operator to a new owner or operator only if the 
permit has been modified or revoked and reissued, or a 
minor modification made, to identify the new permittee 
operator and incorporate such other requirements as may 
be necessary under the Virginia Stormwater Management 
Act and the Clean Water Act.  

2. As an alternative to transfers under Section III Y 1, this 
permit may be automatically transferred to a new permittee 
operator if:  

a. The current permittee operator notifies the permit-
issuing authority at least 30 days in advance of the 
proposed transfer of the title to the facility or property;  

b. The notice includes a written agreement between the 
existing and new permittees operators containing a 
specific date for transfer of permit responsibility, 
coverage, and liability between them; and  

c. The permit-issuing authority does not notify the 
existing permittee operator and the proposed new 
permittee operator of its intent to modify or revoke and 
reissue the permit. If this notice is not received, the 
transfer is effective on the date specified in the 
agreement mentioned in Section III Y 2 b.  

3. For ongoing construction activity involving a change of 
operator, the new operator shall accept and maintain the 
existing SWPPP, or prepare and implement a new SWPPP 
prior to taking over operations at the site. 

Z. Severability. The provisions of this permit are severable, 
and if any provision of this permit or the application of any 
provision of this permit to any circumstance, is held invalid, 
the application of such provision to other circumstances and 
the remainder of this permit shall not be affected thereby.  
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4VAC50-60-1180. [Reserved] Applicability. 

4VAC50-60-1180 through 4VAC50-60-1190 specify 
technical criteria for every regulated land-disturbing activity.  

4VAC50-60-1182. General. 

A. Determination of flooding and channel erosion impacts to 
receiving streams due to land-disturbing activities shall be 
measured at each point of discharge from the land disturbance 
and such determination shall include any runoff from the 
balance of the watershed that also contributes to that point of 
discharge.  

B. The specified design storms shall be defined as either a 
24-hour storm using the rainfall distribution recommended by 
the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Natural Resources 
Conservation Service (NRCS) when using NRCS methods or 
as the storm of critical duration that produces the greatest 
required storage volume at the site when using a design 
method such as the Modified Rational Method.  

C. For purposes of computing runoff, all pervious lands in 
the site shall be assumed prior to development to be in good 
condition (if the lands are pastures, lawns, or parks), with 
good cover (if the lands are woods), or with conservation 
treatment (if the lands are cultivated); regardless of conditions 
existing at the time of computation.  

D. Construction of stormwater management facilities or 
modifications to channels shall comply with all applicable 
laws and regulations. Evidence of approval of all necessary 
permits shall be presented.  

E. Impounding structures that are not covered by the 
Impounding Structure Regulations (4VAC50-20) shall be 
engineered for structural integrity during the 100-year storm 
event.  

F. Predevelopment and postdevelopment runoff rates shall 
be verified by calculations that are consistent with good 
engineering practices.  

G. Outflows from a stormwater management facility or 
stormwater conveyance system, shall be discharged to an 
adequate channel.  

H. Proposed residential, commercial, or industrial 
subdivisions shall apply these stormwater management 
criteria to the land disturbance as a whole. Individual lots in 
new subdivisions shall not be considered separate land-
disturbing activities, but rather the entire subdivision shall be 
considered a single land development project. Hydrologic 
parameters shall reflect the ultimate land disturbance and 
shall be used in all engineering calculations.  

I. All stormwater management facilities shall have an 
inspection and maintenance plan that identifies the owner and 
the responsible party for carrying out the inspection and 
maintenance plan. 

J. Construction of stormwater management impoundment 
structures within a Federal Emergency Management Agency 
(FEMA) designated 100-year floodplain shall be avoided to 
the extent possible. When this is unavoidable, all stormwater 
management facility construction shall be in compliance with 
all applicable regulations under the National Flood Insurance 
Program, 44 CFR Part 59. 

K. Natural channel characteristics shall be preserved to the 
maximum extent practicable. 

L. Land-disturbing activities shall comply with the Virginia 
Erosion and Sediment Control Law (§ 10.1-560 et seq. of the 
Code of Virginia) and attendant regulations. 

M. Flood control and stormwater management facilities that 
drain or treat water from multiple development projects or 
from a significant portion of a watershed may be allowed in 
Resource Protection Areas defined in the Chesapeake Bay 
Preservation Act, provided that (i) the local government has 
conclusively established that the location of the facility within 
the Resource Protection Area is the optimum location; (ii) the 
size of the facility is the minimum necessary to provide 
necessary flood control, stormwater treatment, or both; and 
(iii) the facility must be consistent with a stormwater 
management program that has been approved by the board. 

4VAC50-60-1184. Water quality. 

A. Compliance with the water quality criteria may be 
achieved by applying the performance-based criteria or the 
technology-based criteria to either the site or a planning area. 

B. Performance-based criteria. For land-disturbing activities, 
the calculated postdevelopment nonpoint source pollutant 
runoff load shall be compared to the calculated 
predevelopment load based upon the average land cover 
condition or the existing site condition. A BMP shall be 
located, designed, and maintained to achieve the target 
pollutant removal efficiencies specified in Table 1 of this 
section to effectively reduce the pollutant load to the required 
level based upon the following four applicable land 
development situations for which the performance criteria 
apply: 

1. Situation 1 consists of land-disturbing activities where 
the existing percent impervious cover is less than or equal 
to the average land cover condition and the proposed 
improvements will create a total percent impervious cover 
that is less than the average land cover condition. 

Requirement: No reduction in the after disturbance 
pollutant discharge is required. 

2. Situation 2 consists of land-disturbing activities where 
the existing percent impervious cover is less than or equal 
to the average land cover condition and the proposed 
improvements will create a total percent impervious cover 
that is greater than the average land cover condition.  
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Requirement: The pollutant discharge after disturbance 
shall not exceed the existing pollutant discharge based on 
the average land cover condition.  

3. Situation 3 consists of land-disturbing activities where 
the existing percent impervious cover is greater than the 
average land cover condition.  

Requirement: The pollutant discharge after disturbance 
shall not exceed (i) the pollutant discharge based on 
existing conditions less 10% or (ii) the pollutant discharge 
based on the average land cover condition, whichever is 
greater.  

4. Situation 4 consists of land-disturbing activities where 
the existing percent impervious cover is served by an 
existing stormwater management BMP that addresses 
water quality. 

Requirement: The pollutant discharge after disturbance 
shall not exceed the existing pollutant discharge based on 
the existing percent impervious cover while served by the 
existing BMP. The existing BMP shall be shown to have 
been designed and constructed in accordance with proper 
design standards and specifications, and to be in proper 
functioning condition. 

C. Technology-based criteria. For land-disturbing activities, 
the postdeveloped stormwater runoff from the impervious 
cover shall be treated by an appropriate BMP as required by 
the postdeveloped condition percent impervious cover as 
specified in Table 1 of this section. The selected BMP shall 
be located, designed, and maintained to perform at the target 
pollutant removal efficiency specified in Table 1. Design 
standards and specifications for the BMPs in Table 1 that 
meet the required target pollutant removal efficiency will be 
available at the department.  

Table 1* 

Water Quality BMP* 
Target Phosphorus 

Removal 
Efficiency 

Percent 
Impervious 

Cover 

Vegetated filter strip 10% 16-21% 

Grassed Swale 15%  

Constructed wetlands 20% 22-37% 

Extended detention 
(2 x WQ Vol) 

35%  

Retention basin I (3 
x WQ Vol) 

40%  

Bioretention basin 50% 38-66% 

Bioretention filter 50%  

Extended detention-
enhanced 

50%  

Retention basin II (4 
x WQ Vol) 

50%  

Infiltration (1 x WQ 
Vol) 

50%  

Sand filter 65% 67-100% 

Infiltration (2 x WQ 
Vol) 

65%  

Retention basin III (4 
x WQ Vol with 
aquatic bench) 

65%  

*Innovative or alternate BMPs not included in this table may 
be allowed at the discretion of the local program 
administrator or the department. Innovative or alternate 
BMPs not included in this table that target appropriate 
nonpoint source pollution other than phosphorous may be 
allowed at the discretion of the local program administrator or 
the department. 

4VAC50-60-1186. Stream channel erosion. 

A. Properties and receiving waterways downstream of any 
land-disturbing activity shall be protected from erosion and 
damage due to changes in runoff rate of flow and hydrologic 
characteristics, including but not limited to, changes in 
volume, velocity, frequency, duration, and peak flow rate of 
stormwater runoff in accordance with the minimum design 
standards set out in this section.  

B. The permit-issuing authority shall require compliance 
with subdivision 19 of 4VAC50-30-40 of the Erosion and 
Sediment Control Regulations, promulgated pursuant to 
Article 4 (§ 10.1-560 et seq.) of Chapter 5 of Title 10.1 of the 
Code of Virginia.  

C. The permit-issuing authority may determine that some 
watersheds or receiving stream systems require enhanced 
criteria in order to address the increased frequency of bankfull 
flow conditions (top of bank) brought on by land-disturbing 
activities. Therefore, in lieu of the reduction of the two-year 
post-developed peak rate of runoff as required in subsection B 
of this section, the land development project being considered 
shall provide 24-hour extended detention of the runoff 
generated by the one-year, 24-hour duration storm.  

D. In addition to subsections B and C of this section, permit-
issuing authorities, by local ordinance may, or the board by 
state regulation may, adopt more stringent channel analysis 
criteria or design standards to ensure that the natural level of 
channel erosion, to the maximum extent practicable, will not 
increase due to the land-disturbing activities. These criteria 
may include, but are not limited to, the following:  

1. Criteria and procedures for channel analysis and 
classification.  

2. Procedures for channel data collection.  
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3. Criteria and procedures for the determination of the 
magnitude and frequency of natural sediment transport 
loads.  

4. Criteria for the selection of proposed natural or 
manmade channel linings.  

4VAC50-60-1188. Flooding. 

A. Downstream properties and waterways shall be protected 
from damages from localized flooding due to changes in 
runoff rate of flow and hydrologic characteristics, including 
but not limited to, changes in volume, velocity, frequency, 
duration, and peak flow rate of stormwater runoff in 
accordance with the minimum design standards set out in this 
section.  

B. The 10-year postdeveloped peak rate of runoff from the 
development site shall not exceed the 10-year predeveloped 
peak rate of runoff.  

C. In lieu of subsection B of this section, localities may, by 
ordinance, adopt alternate design criteria based upon 
geographic, land use, topographic, geologic factors or other 
downstream conveyance factors as appropriate.  

D. Linear development projects shall not be required to 
control post-developed stormwater runoff for flooding, except 
in accordance with a watershed or regional stormwater 
management plan. 

4VAC50-60-1190. [Reserved] Regional (watershed-wide) 
stormwater management plans. 

This section enables localities to develop regional 
stormwater management plans. State agencies intending to 
develop large tracts of land such as campuses or prison 
compounds are encouraged to develop regional plans where 
practical.  

The objective of a regional stormwater management plan is 
to address the stormwater management concerns in a given 
watershed with greater economy and efficiency by installing 
regional stormwater management facilities versus individual, 
site-specific facilities. The result will be fewer stormwater 
management facilities to design, build and maintain in the 
affected watershed. It is also anticipated that regional 
stormwater management facilities will not only help mitigate 
the impacts of new development, but may also provide for the 
remediation of erosion, flooding or water quality problems 
caused by existing development within the given watershed.  

If developed, a regional plan shall, at a minimum, address 
the following:  

1. The specific stormwater management issues within the 
targeted watersheds.  

2. The technical criteria in 4VAC50-60-1180 through 
4VAC50-60-1188 as needed based on subdivision 1 of this 
section.  

3. The implications of any local comprehensive plans, 
zoning requirements, local ordinances pursuant to the 
Chesapeake Bay Preservation Area Designation and 
Management Regulations adopted pursuant to the 
Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act, and other planning 
documents.  

4. Opportunities for financing a watershed plan through 
cost sharing with neighboring agencies or localities, 
implementation of regional stormwater utility fees, etc.  

5. Maintenance of the selected stormwater management 
facilities.  

6. Future expansion of the selected stormwater 
management facilities in the event that development 
exceeds the anticipated level.  

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (4VAC50-60) 

Application Form 1-General Information, Consolidated 
Permits Program, EPA Form 3510-1 (August 1990) (DCR 
199-149). 

Department of Conservation and Recreation Permit 
Application Fee Form, (DCR 199-145) (09/04) (09/08). 

VSMP General Permit Registration Statement for 
Stormwater Discharge from Construction Activity 
Stormwater Discharges, (DCR01) Activities (VAR10), (DCR 
199-146) (09/04) (09/08). 

VSMP General Permit Notice of Termination for - 
Construction Activity Stormwater Discharges, (DCR01) 
(VAR10), (DCR 199-147) (09/04) (09/08). 

VSMP General Permit for Discharge of Stormwater from 
Construction Activities (VAR10), (DCR199-191) (09/08). 

VSMP General Permit Registration Statement for 
Stormwater Discharges From Small Municipal Separate 
Storm Sewer Systems (VAR04), (DCR 199-148) (07/08). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1245; Filed October 7, 2008, 3:32 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

BOARD OF JUVENILE JUSTICE 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 6VAC35-20. Regulations Governing 
the Monitoring, Approval, and Certification of Juvenile 
Justice Programs (amending 6VAC35-20-37). 

Statutory Authority: § 66-10 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
November 27, 2008. 

Effective Date: December 12, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Janet P. Van Cuyk, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Juvenile Justice, P.O. Box 1110, Richmond, 
VA 23218-1110, telephone (804) 371-4097, FAX (804) 371-
0773, or email janet.vancuyk@djj.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 66-10 of the Code of Virginia establishes the 
general authority of the Board of Juvenile Justice to 
promulgate regulations. This action is necessary due to 
legislation enacted during the 2006 General Assembly 
session.  Chapter 168 of the 2006 Virginia Acts of Assembly 
(SB 190) amends § 66-24 of the Code of Virginia relating to 
summary suspension of licenses or certificates for group 
homes and residential facilities under certain circumstances. 

In 2005 the General Assembly gave the Commissioner of the 
Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services Board authority to issue a 
summary suspension order for children’s group homes and 
residential facilities in cases of immediate and substantial 
threat to the health, safety, and welfare of residents. 

In 2006 the Joint Subcommittee Studying Private Youth and 
Single Family Group Homes pursuant to HJR 685 (2005) 
recommended providing the same summary suspension order 
authority to the Superintendent of Public Instruction, the 
Director of the Department of Juvenile Justice, and the 
Commissioner of Social Services. Chapter 168 of the 2006 
Virginia Acts of Assembly (SB 190) is intended to provide 
consistency in the legal authority for the interdepartmental 
licensure program for children’s residential facilities by 
giving all four departments the authority to address egregious 
circumstances while ensuring due process for the licensees or 
certificate holders. The legislation authorizes the 
Superintendent of Public Instruction, the Director of the 
Department of Juvenile Justice, and the Commissioner of 
Social Services to issue orders of summary suspension of a 
license or certificate to operate a group home or other 
residential facility for children in cases of immediate and 

substantial threat to the health, safety, and welfare of 
residents. 

Purpose: The existing regulation prescribes how, in 
accordance with §§ 16.1-234, 16.1-309.1, 16.1-309.9 B, 16.1-
309.10, 16.1-349, and 66-10 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Board and Department of Juvenile Justice will monitor and 
approve residential and nonresidential programs that are part 
of the Commonwealth's juvenile justice system. The 
emergency regulation adds procedures to the existing 
certification process that will enable the director to issue an 
order of summary suspension consistent with the statutory 
authority. The regulation is intended to provide the process 
for suspending the license or certificate to operate a group 
home or residential facility for children in cases of immediate 
and substantial threat to the health, safety, and welfare of the 
residents.  The regulations will provide the basis for the 
department to act in accordance with legal protocols and 
ensure protections for the legal rights of all parties that may 
be affected by an action to suspend a license or certificate. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: There are two 
reasons for using the fast track process for promulgating this 
regulation. First, this regulation is not a substantive change to 
the powers of the director and the State Board of Juvenile 
Justice. The actual authority of the director to take action 
against a licensee or a certificate holder dates back to 1992. 
As promulgated in 1992, former regulations 6VAC35-20-120 
and 6VAC35-20-130 allowed the director to withdraw 
funding or prohibit placement of children in certified child 
residential facilities. 

The current regulation was amended in 2003 (6VAC35-20-
37). Current regulatory law provides the director with the 
authority to take immediate administrative action when there 
is evidence of any life, health, or safety violation or a 
program is not in substantial compliance with board-approved 
standards, policies, or the local plan for Virginia Juvenile 
Community Crime Control Act programs. The administrative 
action may include withholding funds; removing juveniles 
from the program; or placing the program on administrative 
probation for up to six months pending certification action by 
the board. Therefore, the proposed regulation is not a 
substantive change to the director’s authority. The proposed 
regulation clarifies the duties of the director; enhances the due 
process rights of the licensee or certificate holder; and 
clarifies the circumstances in which the director may issue a 
summary suspension order and the due process rights for the 
certificate or license holder for whom the summary order was 
issued against. 

Second, this regulatory action is mandated by Chapter 168 of 
the 2006 Virginia Acts of Assembly (SB 190) and the 
proposed changes are consistent with the Code of Virginia 
amendments made by Chapter 168 of the 2006 Virginia Acts 
of Assembly. (See § 66-24 of the Code of Virginia.) 
Moreover, the proposed regulation addresses a fundamental 
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due process notice issue by fixing a critical timing flaw in the 
law as passed by the General Assembly. As amended, § 66-24 
of the Code of Virginia states that the summary order of 
suspension becomes effective at the time of issuance by the 
director. By law, the licensee then has three business days to 
appeal the decision from the date of issuance. However, § 66-
24 requires that summary order of suspension be served on 
the licensee or its designee as soon as practicable thereafter 
by personal service and certified mail, return receipt 
requested, to the address of record of the licensee. The issue 
is that the timeframe for requesting an appeal could elapse 
before the licensee receives notice that the summary order of 
suspension has been issued and his right to appeal. The 
proposed regulation requires the director to provide notice of 
the issuance of the summary suspension immediately upon its 
issuance verbally and by facsimile. 

Substance: The current regulation allows the director to take 
immediate administrative action whenever evidence is found 
of any life, health, or safety violation or a program is not in 
substantial compliance with board-approved standards, 
policies, or local plan for Virginia Juvenile Community 
Crime Control Act programs. Such administrative action may 
include withholding funds; removing juveniles from the 
program; or placing the program on administrative probation 
for up to six months pending certification action by the board. 

The proposed regulation significantly improves the due 
process rights for licensees and certificate holders upon 
whom a summary order of suspension has been issued by 
expediting notice and ensuring that the licensee or certificate 
holder receives a summary of the information used as the 
basis for the summary order of suspension. The proposed 
regulation allows the director to issue a summary order of 
suspension of the license or certificate of any group home or 
residential facility when conditions or practices exist in the 
home or facility that pose an immediate and substantial threat 
to the health, safety, and welfare of the juveniles who are 
residents. As required by the Code of Virginia, the new 
language in the proposed regulation establishes that the 
summary order of suspension will take effect upon its 
issuance. The new language provides the process for serving 
notice and the timeframes for requesting and conducting an 
appeal. 

Issues: These provisions are advantageous to the public 
because they provide additional protections for the health, 
safety, and welfare of individuals receiving services in 
licensed group homes and their families. The regulation 
implements legislative changes that allow the director to act 
promptly to suspend the operation of a licensed group home 
or residential facility when there is evidence of immediate 
and substantial risk to the residents. 

The proposed regulations significantly improve the due 
process rights for licensees and certificate holders upon 
whom a summary order of suspension has been issued by 

expediting notice and ensuring that the licensee or certificate 
holder receives a summary of the information used as the 
basis for the summary order of suspension. 

There are no known disadvantages to this regulation. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Pursuant to Chapter 168 of the 2006 Virginia Acts of the 
Assembly, the Board of Juvenile Justice (Board) proposes to 
set forth procedures for summarily suspending the license of 
any group home or residential facility that poses an 
"immediate and substantial threat to the health, safety and 
welfare of its residents." 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. During its 2006 session, the 
General Assembly passed legislation which gives the Director 
of the Department of Juvenile Justice (DJJ) the power to 
“issue a summary order of suspension of the license or 
certificate of any group home or residential facility” regulated 
by DJJ that is deemed an immediate threat to the health and 
safety of its residents.  This legislation stipulates that any 
such suspension would be effective upon issuance. The 
legislation further stipulates that affected licensees (certificate 
holders) had to be served with notice of the suspension "as 
soon as practicable… by personal service and certified mail" 
and that such notice has to include the time, date and location 
of a hearing to determine if the suspension is appropriate.  
The legislation mandates that all suspension hearings occur 
no later than three days after the summary suspension order is 
issued. 

Since the code section that this legislation amended has a 
clause that requires the affected agencies to promulgate 
regulations to implement the legislation’s provisions within 
280 days of enactment, the Board promulgated emergency 
regulations.  These emergency regulations did not differ in 
any substantive way from the specific requirements 
enumerated in Chapter 168.  Emergency regulations became 
effective on August 1, 2007 and will expire on July 31, 2008. 

The Board now proposes to promulgate regulations to replace 
the emergency regulations that will soon expire.  The Board 
proposes new regulations that differ from expiring regulations 
in several substantive ways.  The Board proposes to 
specifically list conditions and actions that would constitute 
an "immediate and substantial threat" to residents of affected 
facilities.  A facility will be subject to summary suspension 
under these proposed regulations if, for example, facility staff 
are "permitting, aiding or abetting the commission of any 
illegal acts in… the facility" or are "engaging in conduct or 
practices that are in violation of statutes related to abuse or 
neglect of children."  This change will very likely benefit 
regulated entities since it clearly lays out the behaviors that 
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can trigger licensure suspension so that those behaviors can 
be avoided. 

The Board also proposes several other changes to emergency 
regulations.  The Board proposes to: 

• Notify license holders of summary suspension, 
verbally and by facsimile, on the day the summary 
suspension is issued.  Because notification by certified 
mail very likely would not get to a licensee before the 
three day hearing deadline, the Board believes that all 
parties would be better protected by regulations that 
require quicker notice than does the mandating 
legislation, 

• Allow license holders to appear at the hearing by 
phone or video as well as in person and 

• Explicitly promulgate language that recognizes the 
right of license holders to be represented by council 
and to present evidence and witnesses. 

These changes will likely all benefit the licensees, who will 
have their procedural rights better preserved.  These changes 
may also help to protect children; not only from the immanent 
harm that these regulations aim to stop, but also from the 
harm that can be caused by unnecessarily disrupting their 
placements. 

While Chapter 168, these proposed regulations, and the 
emergency regulations that they will replace, all grant the 
Director of DJJ a new power to summarily suspend licensure, 
in practice the Director has been able to shut down shoddily 
run facilities since 1992.  Other DJJ regulations dating from 
this time allow the Director to both refuse to fund licensed 
facilities and the power to refuse to place and/or remove 
children from placements for cause.  Because the Director’s 
new power is duplicative in its effects, no regulated entity is 
likely to face any increased costs on account of this 
regulatory action.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The Department of Juvenile 
Justice reports that the Board currently certifies 26 
community and family-oriented group homes.  All of these 
are subject to the requirements of these proposed regulations. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 
likely have no impact on employment in the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 
regulatory action will likely have no effect on the use or value 
of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Small businesses 
in the Commonwealth are unlikely to incur any costs on 
account of this regulatory action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Small businesses in the Commonwealth are 
unlikely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 
action. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§ 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Department of 
Juvenile Justice concurs with the economic impact analysis as 
submitted by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments allow the director to issue a summary 
order of suspension of the license or certificate of any 
group home or residential facility when conditions or 
practices exist in the home or facility that pose an 
immediate and substantial threat to the health, safety, and 
welfare of the juveniles who are residents. 

The amendments establish that the summary order of 
suspension will take effect upon its issuance. The 
amendments provide the process for serving notice and the 
timeframes for requesting and conducting an appeal. 
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6VAC35-20-37. Director's authority to take immediate 
administrative action. 

A. Nothing in this regulation shall be construed to limit the 
director's authority to take immediate administrative action in 
accordance with law whenever (i) evidence is found of any 
life, health, or safety violation or (ii) a program is not in 
substantial noncompliance compliance with board-approved 
standards, policies, or local plan for Virginia Juvenile 
Community Crime Control Act programs. Such 
administrative action may include, but is not limited to (a) 
withholding funds; (b) removing juveniles from the program; 
or (c) placing the program on administrative probation for up 
to six months pending certification action by the board. In 
taking such action, the department shall notify both the 
program, the administrative entity that the program reports to, 
and the board, in writing, of the reason for the administrative 
action, and the action the program must take to correct the 
situation. 

B. In accordance with subsection A of this section and 
pursuant to the provisions set forth in § 66-24 of the Code of 
Virginia, the director may issue a summary order of 
suspension of the license or certificate of any group home or 
residential facility so regulated by the department. 

1. Conditions or practices existing in the home or facility 
posing an immediate and substantial threat to the health, 
safety, and welfare of the residents include: 

a. Violations of any provision of applicable laws or 
applicable regulations made pursuant to such laws; 

b. Permitting, aiding, or abetting the commission of any 
illegal act in the regulated home or facility; 

c. Engaging in conduct or practices that are in violation 
of statutes related to abuse or neglect of children; 

d. Deviating significantly from the program or services 
for which a license or certificate was issued without 
obtaining prior written approval from the regulatory 
authority or failing to correct such deviations within the 
specified time; or 

e. Engaging in a willful action or gross negligence that 
jeopardizes the care or protection of the resident. 

2. The director shall immediately notify the licensee or 
certificate holder verbally and by facsimile of the issuance 
of the preliminary order of suspension and the opportunity 
for a hearing before the director or his designee within 
three working days of the issuance of the preliminary 
summary order of suspension. 

a. The licensee or certificate holder may decline the 
opportunity for an appeal to the director or his designee. 

b. Whenever an appeal is requested and a criminal charge 
is also filed against the appellant involving the same 
conduct, the appeal process shall be stayed until the 

criminal prosecution is completed. During such stay, the 
licensee's or certificate holder's right of access to the 
records of the department regarding the matter being 
appealed shall also be stayed. Once the criminal 
prosecution in court has been completed, the department 
shall advise the appellant in writing of his right to resume 
his appeal within the timeframes provided by law and 
regulation. 

3. The licensee or certificate holder may appear before the 
director or his designee by personal appearance or by 
telephone. Any documents filed may be transmitted by 
facsimile and the facsimile and any signatures thereon shall 
serve, for all purposes, as an original document. 

a. Upon request, the department shall provide the 
appellant a summary of the information used in making 
its determination. Information prohibited from being 
disclosed by state or federal law or regulation shall not be 
released. In the case of any information being withheld, 
the licensee or certificate holder shall be advised of the 
general nature of the information and the reasons, of 
privacy or otherwise, that it is being withheld. 

b. The director or his designee shall preside over the 
appeal. With the exception of the director, no person 
whose regular duties include substantial involvement 
with the certification or licensing of the facilities shall 
preside over the appeal. 

(1) The licensee or certificate holder may be represented 
by counsel. 

(2) The licensee or certificate holder shall be entitled to 
present the testimony of witnesses, documents, factual 
data, arguments, or other submissions of proof. 

4. The director or his designee shall have the authority to 
sustain, amend, or reverse the summary suspension order. 
The director or his designee shall notify the licensee or 
certificate holder in writing of the results of the appeal 
within 10 days of the hearing. Notification of the results of 
the appeal before the director or his designee shall be 
mailed certified with return receipt to the licensee or 
certificate holder. 

a. The chair of the board must be immediately notified 
when the director issues a final order of summary 
suspension. In accordance with 6VAC35-20-65, the 
director shall report to the board no later than its next 
regularly scheduled meeting the action taken. 

b. If the licensee or certificate holder is not satisfied, the 
licensee or certificate holder may dispute the 
noncompliance finding in accordance with 6VAC35-20-
67. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-639; Filed September 30, 2008, 2:29 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

CHESAPEAKE BAY LOCAL ASSISTANCE BOARD 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following model public 
participation guidelines are exempt from Article 2 (§ 2.2-
4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of 
Virginia pursuant to Chapter 321 of the 2008 Acts of 
Assembly. 

Titles of Regulations: 9VAC10-10. Public Participation 
Guidelines (repealing 9VAC10-10-10, 9VAC10-10-20, 
9VAC10-10-30). 

9VAC10-11. Public Participation Guidelines (adding 
9VAC10-11-10 through 9VAC10-11-110). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 10.1-2103 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 26, 2008. 

Agency Contact: David C. Dowling, Policy, Planning, and 
Budget Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 
203 Governor Street, Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-2291, FAX (804) 786-6141, or email 
david.dowling@dcr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulations comply with the legislative mandate 
(Chapter 321, 2008 Acts of Assembly) that agencies adopt 
model public participation guidelines issued by the 
Department of Planning and Budget by December 1, 2008. 
Public participation guidelines exist to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment, or repeal of 
an agency's regulations.  

This regulatory action repeals the current public 
participation guidelines and promulgates new public 
participation guidelines as required by Chapter 321 of the 
2008 Acts of Assembly. Highlights of the public 
participation guidelines include (i) providing for the 
establishment and maintenance of notification lists of 
interested persons and specifying the information to be 
sent to such persons; (ii) providing for public comments on 
regulatory actions; (iii) establishing the time period during 
which public comments shall be accepted; (iv) providing 
that the plan to hold a public meeting shall be indicated in 
any notice of intended regulatory action; (v) providing for 
the appointment, when necessary, of regulatory advisory 
panels to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance and negotiated rulemaking panels if a 
regulatory action is expected to be controversial; and (vi) 
providing for the periodic review of regulations. 

CHAPTER 11  
PUBLIC PARTICIPATION GUIDELINES  

Part I  
Purpose and Definitions  

9VAC10-11-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment or repeal of the 
regulations of the Chesapeake Bay Local Assistance Board. 
This chapter does not apply to regulations, guidelines, or 
other documents exempted or excluded from the provisions of 
the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the 
Code of Virginia). 

9VAC10-11-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 
et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency" means the Chesapeake Bay Local Assistance 
Board, which is the unit of state government empowered by 
the agency's basic law to make regulations or decide cases. 
Actions specified in this chapter may be fulfilled by state 
employees as delegated by the agency. 

"Basic law" means provisions in the Code of Virginia that 
delineate the basic authority and responsibilities of an agency. 

"Commonwealth Calendar" means the electronic calendar 
for official government meetings open to the public as 
required by § 2.2-3707 C of the Freedom of Information Act. 

''Negotiated rulemaking panel'' or ''NRP'' means an ad hoc 
advisory panel of interested parties established by an agency 
to consider issues that are controversial with the assistance of 
a facilitator or mediator, for the purpose of reaching a 
consensus in the development of a proposed regulatory 
action. 

"Notification list" means a list used to notify persons 
pursuant to this chapter. Such a list may include an electronic 
list maintained through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall or 
other list maintained by the agency. 

"Open meeting" means any scheduled gathering of a unit of 
state government empowered by an agency's basic law to 
make regulations or decide cases, which is related to 
promulgating, amending or repealing a regulation. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, cooperative, limited liability company, trust, joint 
venture, government, political subdivision, or any other legal 
or commercial entity and any successor, representative, agent, 
agency, or instrumentality thereof. 
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"Public hearing" means a scheduled time at which members 
or staff of the agency will meet for the purpose of receiving 
public comment on a regulatory action. 

"Regulation" means any statement of general application 
having the force of law, affecting the rights or conduct of any 
person, adopted by the agency in accordance with the 
authority conferred on it by applicable laws. 

"Regulatory action" means the promulgation, amendment, or 
repeal of a regulation by the agency. 

"Regulatory advisory panel" or "RAP" means a standing or 
ad hoc advisory panel of interested parties established by the 
agency for the purpose of assisting in regulatory actions. 

"Town Hall" means the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, the 
website operated by the Virginia Department of Planning and 
Budget at www.townhall.virginia.gov, which has online 
public comment forums and displays information about 
regulatory meetings and regulatory actions under 
consideration in Virginia and sends this information to 
registered public users. 

"Virginia Register" means the Virginia Register of 
Regulations, the publication that provides official legal notice 
of new, amended and repealed regulations of state agencies, 
which is published under the provisions of Article 6 (§ 2.2-
4031 et seq.) of the Administrative Process Act. 

Part II  
Notification of Interested Persons 

9VAC10-11-30. Notification list. 

A. The agency shall maintain a list of persons who have 
requested to be notified of regulatory actions being pursued 
by the agency. 

B. Any person may request to be placed on a notification list 
by registering as a public user on the Town Hall or by making 
a request to the agency. Any person who requests to be placed 
on a notification list shall elect to be notified either by 
electronic means or through a postal carrier. 

C. The agency may maintain additional lists for persons who 
have requested to be informed of specific regulatory issues, 
proposals, or actions. 

D. When electronic mail is returned as undeliverable on 
multiple occasions at least 24 hours apart, that person may be 
deleted from the list. A single undeliverable message is 
insufficient cause to delete the person from the list. 

E. When mail delivered by a postal carrier is returned as 
undeliverable on multiple occasions, that person may be 
deleted from the list. 

F. The agency may periodically request those persons on the 
notification list to indicate their desire to either continue to be 
notified electronically, receive documents through a postal 
carrier, or be deleted from the list. 

9VAC10-11-40. Information to be sent to persons on the 
notification list. 

A. To persons electing to receive electronic notification or 
notification through a postal carrier as described in 9VAC10-
11-30, the agency shall send the following information: 

1. A notice of intended regulatory action (NOIRA). 

2. A notice of the comment period on a proposed, a 
reproposed, or a fast-track regulation and hyperlinks to, or 
instructions on how to obtain, a copy of the regulation and 
any supporting documents. 

3. A notice soliciting comment on a final regulation when 
the regulatory process has been extended pursuant to § 2.2-
4007.06 or 2.2-4013 C of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The failure of any person to receive any notice or copies 
of any documents shall not affect the validity of any 
regulation or regulatory action. 

Part III  
Public Participation Procedures  

9VAC10-11-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 
action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 
opportunity to submit data, views, and arguments, either 
orally or in writing, to the agency. Such opportunity to 
comment shall include an online public comment forum on 
the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 
copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 
issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 
fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 
public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 
to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 
submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 
the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 
as follows:  

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 
(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 
publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a fast-track regulation.  
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6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 
publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 
of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 
listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 
substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 
he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 
calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 
changes in accordance with § 2.2-4013 C of the Code of 
Virginia.  

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 
description of public comment to all public commenters on 
the proposed regulation at least five days before final 
adoption of the regulation pursuant to § 2.2-4012 E of the 
Code of Virginia.  

9VAC10-11-60. Petition for rulemaking. 

A. As provided in § 2.2-4007 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person may petition the agency to consider a regulatory 
action. 

B. A petition shall include but is not limited to the following 
information: 

1. The petitioner's name and contact information; 

2. The substance and purpose of the rulemaking that is 
requested, including reference to any applicable Virginia 
Administrative Code sections; and 

3. Reference to the legal authority of the agency to take the 
action requested. 

C. The agency shall receive, consider and respond to a 
petition pursuant to § 2.2-4007 and shall have the sole 
authority to dispose of the petition. 

D. The petition shall be posted on the Town Hall and 
published in the Virginia Register. 

E. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit the agency from 
receiving information or from proceeding on its own motion 
for rulemaking. 

9VAC10-11-70. Appointment of regulatory advisory 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a regulatory advisory panel 
(RAP) to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance when the agency determines that such expertise is 
necessary to address a specific regulatory issue or action or 
when individuals indicate an interest in working with the 
agency on a specific regulatory issue or action. 

B. Any person may request the appointment of a RAP and 
request to participate in its activities. The agency shall 

determine when a RAP shall be appointed and the 
composition of the RAP. 

C. A RAP may be dissolved by the agency if: 

1. The proposed text of the regulation is posted on the 
Town Hall, published in the Virginia Register, or such 
other time as the agency determines is appropriate; or 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act. 

9VAC10-11-80. Appointment of negotiated rulemaking 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a negotiated rulemaking panel 
(NRP) if a regulatory action is expected to be controversial. 

B. An NRP that has been appointed by the agency may be 
dissolved by the agency when: 

1. There is no longer controversy associated with the 
development of the regulation; 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act; or 

3. The agency determines that resolution of a controversy 
is unlikely. 

9VAC10-11-90. Meetings. 

Notice of any open meeting, including meetings of a RAP or 
NRP, shall be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 
and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working days 
prior to the date of the meeting. The exception to this 
requirement is any meeting held in accordance with § 2.2-
3707 D of the Code of Virginia allowing for 
contemporaneous notice to be provided to participants and the 
public. 

9VAC10-11-100. Public hearings on regulations. 

A. The agency shall indicate in its notice of intended 
regulatory action whether it plans to hold a public hearing 
following the publication of the proposed stage of the 
regulatory action.  

B. The agency may conduct one or more public hearings 
during the comment period following the publication of a 
proposed regulatory action.  

C. An agency is required to hold a public hearing following 
the publication of the proposed regulatory action when:  

1. The agency's basic law requires the agency to hold a 
public hearing;  

2. The Governor directs the agency to hold a public 
hearing; or  
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3. The agency receives requests for a public hearing from 
at least 25 persons during the public comment period 
following the publication of the notice of intended 
regulatory action.  

D. Notice of any public hearing shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working 
days prior to the date of the hearing. The agency shall also 
notify those persons who requested a hearing under 
subdivision C 3 of this section.  

9VAC10-11-110. Periodic review of regulations. 

A. The agency shall conduct a periodic review of its 
regulations consistent with:  

1. An executive order issued by the Governor pursuant to 
§ 2.2-4017 of the Administrative Process Act to receive 
comment on all existing regulations as to their 
effectiveness, efficiency, necessity, clarity, and cost of 
compliance; and  

2. The requirements in § 2.2-4007.1 of the Administrative 
Process Act regarding regulatory flexibility for small 
businesses.  

B. A periodic review may be conducted separately or in 
conjunction with other regulatory actions.  

C. Notice of a periodic review shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and published in the Virginia Register.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1443; Filed October 3, 2008, 12:38 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 10. FINANCE AND FINANCIAL 
INSTITUTIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR’S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 
of the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 10VAC5-200. Payday Lending 
(amending 10VAC5-200-10, 10VAC5-200-20, 10VAC5-
200-40, 10VAC5-200-60, 10VAC5-200-70, 10VAC5-200-
80; adding 10VAC5-200-33, 10VAC5-200-35, 10VAC5-
200-110, 10VAC5-200-120). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 6.1-458 and 12.1-13 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2009. 

Agency Contact: E. J. Face, Jr., Bureau of Financial 
Institutions Commissioner, State Corporation Commission, 
P.O. Box 640, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-
9659, FAX (804) 371-9416, or email 
joe.face@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments incorporate changes made by Chapter 
849 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly (Chapter 849), which 
generally amends the Payday Loan Act effective January 1, 
2009.* The final regulations specify the information that 
licensees are required to collect and transmit to the payday 
lending database, and establish rules governing what 
licensees must do if they are unable to access the database 
at the time that they are required to transmit information 
to the database. The regulations also limit licensees’ 
access to the database and require licensees to transmit 
limited information to the database in connection with 
certain loans that remain outstanding as of January 1, 
2009. In addition, the regulations instruct licensees how to 
calculate a borrower’s pay cycle and minimum loan term, 
and establish the rules applicable to extended payment 
plans and extended term loans, including when these types 
of repayment arrangements may be elected by borrowers. 
The final rules also require licensees to provide consumers 
with oral and written notices regarding extended payment 
plans and extended term loans, and address the waiting 
periods associated with these repayment arrangements. 
The regulations also contain definitions for "member of the 
military services of the United States" and "other 
dependent of a member of the military services of the 
United States," and establish the process by which 
licensees are required to determine whether an individual 
is a member of the military services of the United States, or 
the spouse or other dependent of a member of the military 
services of the United States. The regulations also make 
various changes to 10VAC5-200-40, which relates to the 
prepayment of a payday loan, as well as 10VAC5-200-60, 
which pertains to the required posting of charges. 
Additionally, the regulations contain revisions to the text of 
the payday lending pamphlet, which licensees must give to 
all consumers prior to entering into payday loan 
transactions. Various other requirements and limitations 
are also set forth in the final regulations. 

The final regulations made numerous changes to the 
proposed regulations. In 10VAC5-200-10, payments 
effected by the use of a debit card are no longer included 
in the definition of "good funds instrument," and "National 
Guard" has been added to the definition of "member of the 
military services of the United States." In 10VAC5-200-20, 
various revisions were made to subsection F, which 
addresses a borrower’s pay cycle and corresponding 
minimum loan term. Subsection G was modified to provide 
examples of acceptable supporting documentation for a 
borrower’s pay cycle. Subsection M of 10VAC5-200-20 
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was revised to require licensees to immediately return a 
check given as security for a loan when the loan is either 
cancelled or repaid in full with cash or good funds 
instrument. In 10VAC5-200-33, subdivision B 2 was 
amended to allow a borrower to exchange security checks 
with a licensee when making a payment on an extended 
payment plan. The final regulations also changed the oral 
notice requirement relating to extended payment plans, 
which is set forth in subdivision C 4 of 10VAC5-200-33. 
Similar changes were made to the provisions relating to 
extended term loans, which are set forth in 10VAC5-200-
35. Next, 10VAC5-200-40 and 10VAC5-200-60 were 
updated to reflect the amendments to 10VAC5-200-20 F. In 
10VAC5-200-80 and 10VAC5-200-110, the references to 
"DMV" were replaced with "state driver’s licensing 
authority." 10VAC5-200-110, which addresses the payday 
lending database, was also amended in the final 
regulations. In subsection C, the information required to 
be transmitted to the database was revised to include an 
applicant’s date of birth. The final regulations removed the 
proposed requirement in subdivision C 7 that licensees 
transmit information to the database regarding whether 
specific applicants are members of the military services of 
the United States, or the spouses or other dependents of 
such members. In lieu of this requirement, a new 
subsection N will require licensees to transmit each 
business day the total daily number of individuals who 
were unable to obtain payday loans because they are 
members of the military services of the United States, or 
the spouses or other dependents of such members. 
Subdivision D 2 was amended to require licensees to 
partially redact applicants’ driver’s license numbers and 
identification card numbers so that only the last four digits 
remain visible in the licensees’ records. The final 
regulations also eliminated the proposed requirement that 
licensees transmit to the database information concerning 
an applicant’s source of income for repayment of a loan 
(subsection F) and a borrower’s method of repayment or 
satisfaction (subsection J). The regulations added an 
express requirement that licensees transmit information to 
the database when a judgment obtained by a licensee 
against a borrower is satisfied (subdivision J 7). 
Subsection O was modified to permit a licensee to access 
information that the licensee is required to transmit to the 
database provided that such access is for the sole purpose 
of verifying, updating, or correcting the information.  

* Subsection A of § 6.1-453.1 of the Code of Virginia 
became effective on July 1, 2008. 

AT RICHMOND, SEPTEMBER 19, 2008 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. BFI-2008-00295 

Ex Parte: In re: proposed amendments  
to Payday Loan Act regulations 

ORDER ADOPTING FINAL REGULATIONS 

On June 17, 2008, the Commission issued an Order to Take 
Notice of new regulations proposed by the Bureau of 
Financial Institutions ("Bureau") to implement extensive 
amendments to the Payday Loan Act ("the Act"), §§ 6.1-444 
et seq. of the Code of Virginia that were adopted by the 
General Assembly in 2008.  In its Order the Commission 
provided interested parties an opportunity to submit written 
comments on or before July 25, 2008, and a further 
opportunity to offer oral comments at a public hearing to be 
conducted on August 5, 2008.  The Order also required the 
proposed regulations to be published in the Virginia Register 
of Regulations.  That publication was completed on July 7, 
2008.[1] 

Amendments to the Act made by Chapter 849 of the 2008 
Acts of Assembly require the Commission to certify and 
contract with one or more third parties to develop, implement, 
and maintain a real-time Internet-accessible database that 
contains such payday loan information as the Commission 
may require. The Act as amended prevents individual 
borrowers from obtaining payday loans under various 
circumstances, such as if they have outstanding payday loans 
or repaid previous payday loans on the same day they are 
seeking new payday loans, or if they are members of the 
military services of the United States or the spouses or other 
dependents of such members.  The law also provides 
borrowers the option under certain circumstances to repay 
their payday loans by means of extended payment plans or 
extended term loans, and requires borrowers who elect either 
of those options to wait a period of time after repaying their 
loans before obtaining new payday loans.  It also modifies the 
amount of interest and fees that may be charged by a licensed 
payday lender, provides that the term of a payday loan must 
be at least two times a borrower's pay cycle, and imposes 
additional requirements and limitations.  

Many of the reforms are complex and warrant substantial 
changes to the Commission Payday Lending Rules, 
10VAC5-200-10 et seq.  The amendments to the Act are 
generally effective January 1, 2009, but the implementing 
regulations must be finalized well in advance so that the 
database can be developed in conformity with the regulations 
and operational before January 1, 2009.  The proposed 
amendments to the regulations (i) specify the information that 
licensees are required to collect and transmit to the payday 
lending database and establish rules governing what licensees 
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must do if they are unable to access the database at the time 
that they are required to transmit information to the database; 
(ii) limit licensees' access to the database and require 
licensees to transmit limited information to the database in 
connection with certain loans that remain outstanding as of 
January 1, 2009; (iii) instruct licensees how to determine 
borrower's pay cycle and minimum loan term, and require 
licensees to return the check given as security for a loan to a 
borrower if the loan is repaid in full with cash or good funds 
instrument; (iv) establish the rules applicable to extended 
payment plans and extended term loans, including when these 
types of repayment arrangements may be elected by 
borrowers; (v) require licensees to provide consumers with 
oral and written notices regarding extended payment plans 
and extended term loans, and address the waiting periods 
associated with these repayment arrangements; (vi) contain 
definitions for "member of the military services of the United 
States" and "other dependent of a member of the military 
services of the United States," and establish the process by 
which licensees are required to determine whether an 
individual is a member of the military services of the United 
States, or the spouse or other dependent of a member of the 
military services of the United States; (vii) make various 
changes to 10VAC5-200-40, which relates to the prepayment 
of a payday loan, as well as 10VAC5-200-60, which pertains 
to the required posting of charges; and (viii) revise the text of 
the payday lending pamphlet, which licensees must give to all 
consumers prior to entering into payday loan transactions.   

Written comments on the proposed regulations were 
received from the Community Financial Services Association 
of America ("CFSA"); the Virginians Against Payday Loans 
("VAPL"); the Virginia Partnership to Encourage 
Responsible Lending ("VaPERL"); the Center for 
Responsible Lending ("CRL"); the Office of the Attorney 
General, Division of Consumer Counsel ("AG"); Veritec 
Solutions, LLC ("Veritec"); and Checks Mate, Inc. ("Checks 
Mate").  The CFSA, VAPL, VaPERL, CRL, the AG, and 
Ward Scull, III, a businessman from Newport News, Virginia 
and one of the cofounders of VAPL, also appeared at the 
public hearing to offer oral comments and respond to the 
written comments submitted by others.  The Commission has 
considered all comments received, both written and oral, and 
hereby adopts a number of changes to the proposed 
regulations as part of its final regulations and as discussed 
below. 

10VAC5-200-10.  Definitions. 

First, CFSA recommended that the definition of "duplicate 
original" be clarified to allow e-signed documents. We find 
that such clarification is not necessary. E-signed documents 
are not prohibited. 

CFSA also asked that the regulations be further clarified to 
explicitly allow payments to be made by use of a credit card.  
The definition of "good funds instrument" currently includes 

"payment effected by use of a debit or credit card."  This 
comment, however, caused us to refocus on this definition 
and one of the new provisions in the law that states "[a] 
licensee shall not obtain authorization to electronically debit a 
borrower's deposit account in connection with any payday 
loan."[2] Accordingly, the inclusion of payment by use of a 
debit card must be struck from the definition of "good funds 
instrument." The inclusion of credit card payments will 
remain.  Similarly, other references to payments by debit 
cards that appear elsewhere in the regulations should also be 
removed. 

CFSA and VAPL focused on the definition of "[m]ember of 
the military services of the United States" and "[o]ther 
dependent of a member. . ."  The proposed definitions were 
intended to be consistent with the Department of Defense's 
regulations.[3] However, VAPL recommended adding 
"National Guard" to the list of services in the definition, and 
at the hearing CFSA stated that it had no objection.[4] We 
agree that any member of the National Guard serving on 
active duty under a call or order that does not specify a period 
of 30 days or fewer should be explicitly included as a 
"member of the military services of the United States." 

VAPL also recommended that the definition of "[o]ther 
dependent of a member. . ." be revised to include persons 
receiving more than half of their income from any married 
couple including a member of the military and his or her 
spouse. The proposed regulation tracks the Department of 
Defense's regulation and will not be modified. 

10VAC5-200-20. Requirements for licensees; operating 
rules; acquisitions. 

The CRL had a number of technical changes to reinforce the 
importance of the real-time entry and accuracy of the data in 
the database.  CRL asserted that licensees therefore should be 
held to a high standard of expediency and accuracy of 
reporting.[5] Several of those changes have been incorporated. 

A number of commenters focused their attention on 
10VAC5-200-20 F, the provisions that define borrowers' 
minimum loan terms.  The AG addressed this provision, and 
at his recommendation we have incorporated revisions to 
address a borrower who is paid more frequently than weekly. 
Such borrower's minimum loan term should be 14 days, 
which is two times the minimum term loan allowed currently 
by statute. VAPL was concerned that a borrower paid semi-
monthly with a minimum loan term of 30 days, as proposed, 
would not receive a second paycheck on months with 31 days 
before loan repayment would be due. VAPL therefore 
recommended the minimum loan term for borrowers paid 
semi-monthly be revised to 31 days. VAPL had a similar 
concern with borrowers paid monthly, and recommended the 
minimum loan term for those borrowers be revised to 
62 days. We have adopted those changes. 
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VaPERL recommended adding "Veteran Benefits or other 
forms of pension received monthly" to examples of monthly 
sources of income in addition to monthly paychecks.  CFSA 
noted that "to include is to exclude."[6] It is our intent for this 
section to define the minimum loan term for all borrowers 
paid or receiving income on a monthly basis from whatever 
source that income may be derived. Consistent with CFSA's 
suggestion, we have deleted the examples, and the regulation 
now simply refers to a borrower paid monthly. 

The formula set forth in 10VAC5-200-20 F 5 was the topic 
of extended discussion in written and oral comments.  Several 
commenters recommended the Commission choose a more 
certain and less complicated loan term in place of the formula 
approach in the proposed regulations.  The recommendations 
ranged from a minimum loan term of 14 days to 60 days.  We 
will revise this regulation to provide that the minimum loan 
term for a borrower who is paid either less frequently than 
monthly (i.e., his or her pay cycle is greater than 30 days) or 
on an irregular basis not covered in 10VAC5-200-20 F 1 will 
be 62 days. 

CFSA next sought guidance on what a licensee should retain 
to document a borrower's pay cycle. The regulations are 
hereby revised to advise licensees that supporting 
documentation may include, but not be limited to, a pay stub 
if the pay cycle is clearly indicated thereon or a representation 
by the borrower in the written loan application. 

CFSA also sought clarification that the prohibition 
contained in 10VAC5-200-20 H did not preclude use of 
Check 21 clearing.  This concern is not justified.  The 
regulations as drafted do not prohibit depository institutions 
from processing checks in accordance with Check 21.   

VAPL offered language to clarify that a licensee shall hold 
no more than one security check.  That language is consistent 
with the statute and we will incorporate it.   

The AG also suggested revisions to 10VAC5-200-20 M to 
require a licensee to return a borrower's check not only when 
a loan is repaid in full with cash, but also when it is canceled. 
He also recommended that licensees be required to return the 
security check immediately if the borrower repays or 
otherwise satisfies a payday loan with cash.  Those revisions 
are also appropriate and are hereby made. 

10VAC5-200-33.  Extended payment plans. 

VaPERL urged the Commission to allow borrowers to elect 
an extended payment plan to repay a payday loan even after a 
loan is past due. However, § 6.1-459(27)(a)(ii) of the Act 
provides that borrowers may elect "at any time on or before 
its due date, to repay such fifth payday loan by means of an 
extended payment plan as provided in subdivision 26(b)."  
The proposed regulation reconciles the timing provisions for 
all extended payment plan elections with the specific 
language in the statute for extended payment plans elected in 
conjunction with a fifth payday loan. Therefore, a borrower is 

permitted to enter into an extended payment plan at any time 
on or after the date a loan is made through the date that the 
loan is due to be repaid. However, 10VAC5-200-70 H 
explicitly allows mutually agreeable alternative payment 
plans, and we have added language to cross-reference that 
provision. 

The regulations provide that a licensee shall permit a 
borrower to repay a payday loan "in at least four equal 
installments over a term of at least 60 days."  The VAPL 
recommends the regulations provide for a minimum term of 
at least 90 days, arguing that borrowers should have the 
benefit of an extended payment plan term longer than the 
minimum loan term, noting that at 60 days, a borrower paid 
monthly would have no extension over his or her minimum 
loan term that would be otherwise available.  VAPL urges the 
Commission to require licensees to offer minimum terms of 
no less than 90 days for extended payment plans.  VaPERL 
also asked the Commission to provide guidance to licensees 
to determine the correct term for each borrower by accounting 
for individual financial circumstances.  We find it appropriate 
to adhere to § 6.1-459(26)(b) of the Act, which explicitly 
provides that an extended payment plan shall have a term of 
at least 60 days. 

CFSA suggested that the regulations should provide for 
"substantially equal payments" and for payments to be spread 
out "substantially evenly" over the term of the loan.  The 
change proposed by CFSA makes the regulation more 
ambiguous, and conflicts with Virginia Code 
§ 6.1-459(26)(b) of the Act.  The language in the Act is very 
specific, and provides for "at least four equal installments 
over an aggregate term of at least 60 days."  We observe, 
however, the normal and acceptable business practice is that 
when a payment due date falls on a holiday or weekend, the 
payment is due on the next business day. 

Also in this section of the regulations, CFSA and VAPL 
contend that a licensee should not be prohibited from 
exchanging security checks, or accepting a subsequent and 
smaller security check in place of the original security check 
when a borrower makes an installment payment under an 
extended payment plan.  VAPL offered specific language 
changes, and at the hearing CFSA agreed to that language.[7] 

We find those changes to be reasonable. 

VAPL next turned to the written notice required to be posted 
by licensees, and suggested that it should be more 
personalized and clarify when the rolling -2-month period 
during which a borrower is allowed only one extended 
payment plan begins.  We have no objection to the first 
suggestion; however, we will slightly modify VAPL's 
personalization to make the notice more accurate relative to 
eligibility.  We do not think the desired clarification is 
necessary or belongs in the written notice. 

CFSA complains that the length of the oral notice is too 
long.  Other commenters thought the proposed oral notice is 
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important and helpful to consumers.  We also agree that oral 
notice is important but want to avoid a situation where a 
lengthy prescribed statement is read so quickly that in reality 
it provides little or no actual notice of the extended payment 
plan option and its features. We will therefore modify the oral 
notice prescribed in the proposed regulations to instead 
require a licensee to (i) orally notify an applicant that he is 
eligible for an extended payment plan, (ii) direct the 
applicants to read the written notice posted in the licensee's 
office or the "Borrower Rights and Responsibilities" 
pamphlet, and (iii) advise the applicant that the licensee is 
available to answer any questions.  We believe this approach 
will protect borrowers more effectively than a rushed reading 
of a long text. 

10VAC5-200-35. Five payday loans within 180 days. 

Although an extended payment plan is different from an 
extended term loan, which is provided as an option to a 
borrower seeking a fifth payday loan within 180 days, many 
of the comments we received on this section of the 
regulations were similar, such as comments supporting the 
addition of language to allow borrowers to exchange security 
checks when making an installment payment.  We will adopt 
parallel changes in this section of the regulations. 

CFSA also urged the Commission to eliminate the written 
and oral notice of the availability of an extended term loan, 
arguing that such notice is not required by the Act.  CFSA 
again specifically complained that the oral notice required by 
this section of the regulations was burdensome and too long.  
Although not expressly required by the Act, requiring notice 
is well within our authority and is essential to fulfilling the 
intent of the General Assembly.  We will, however, also 
modify the oral notice relating to an applicant's eligibility for 
an extended term loan.   

Finally, VAPL urged the Commission to include payday 
loans made between October 1, 2008 and December 31, 2008, 
for purposes of determining how many loans a borrower 
obtained in any rolling 180-day period, rather than beginning 
that count on January 1, 2009. We decline to make that 
change.  Chapter 849 is generally effective January 1, 2009, 
and beginning both the rolling 180-day and 12-month periods 
applicable to extended payment plans and extended term 
loans, respectively, on that effective date provides a 
consistent start date. 

10VAC5-200-40.  Borrower prepayment [ ; right to 
cancel ] . 

      Although no commenters addressed the majority of this 
section of the regulations, several changes, most notably 
explicit inclusion of a borrower's right to cancel a payday 
loan, and the provisions addressing the prepayment of a 
payday loan (particularly when an extended payment plan or 
extended term loan has been elected) were necessitated by the 

amendments to the Act and other changes adopted in these 
regulations. 

VAPL did urge the Commission to modify 10VAC5-200-40 
F to require partial prepayments on extended payment plans 
and extended term loans to result in a pro-rata adjustment of 
the total interest due on a loan.  The statute, however, requires 
equal payment installments which would preclude pro-rata 
interest adjustments, as each installment is effectively a 
partial prepayment. A prepayment that results in full payment 
or satisfaction of a loan may result in a pro-rata interest 
adjustment. 

10VAC5-200-70.  Additional business requirements and 
restrictions. 

VAPL first suggests that this section of the regulations be 
modified to include a requirement that licensees post a sign 
that members of the military and their dependants are 
prohibited under the Act from getting a payday loan in 
Virginia.  We find that one more sign is not necessary, as it 
will quickly become evident that such lending is not allowed. 

This section of the regulations also reiterates the statutory 
provision providing that a licensee shall not make a payday 
loan to a member of the military or their spouse or other 
dependant, and further directs that four questions be included 
in the loan application. First, consistent with our earlier 
revision to the definition of a "member of the military 
services of the United States," we will add references to 
"National Guard" in these questions. VAPL also suggests 
adding a clear and explicit prohibition against a licensee 
making a payday loan to an applicant unless the applicant 
answers "no" to all four questions. We believe such 
prohibition is reasonable and comports with the Act as 
amended.  CFSA also asked the Commission to substitute the 
Department of Defense certification for the four questions 
included in the regulations.[8] We note that the prohibition in 
these regulations is broader than that contemplated by the 
Department of Defense certification. 

One final comment addressed this section. Specifically, 
VAPL recommended extensive revision to 
10VAC5-200-70 F, which we had not proposed to change. 
VAPL would have us impose a requirement that licensees 
provide payday lending notices, applications, and other 
materials in Spanish to all applicants for whom Spanish is a 
native language.  VAPL would further direct licensees to not 
make payday loans to any applicant whose native language is 
something other than English or Spanish unless the licensee 
determines that the applicant can read and understand the 
documents, or the licensee reads and explains the documents 
to the applicant in a language the applicant can comprehend, 
or the applicant is accompanied by someone who can and 
does read and explain the documents to the borrower.  This 
policy directive was not addressed by the General Assembly 
despite the opportunity to do so amidst extensive debate.  
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Accordingly, we decline to make this policy determination in 
these regulations. 

10VAC5-200-80.  Payday lending pamphlet text. 

Numerous changes to the text of the pamphlet are necessary 
to correspond to statutory amendments and changes adopted 
elsewhere in the regulations, and should be self explanatory.  
Also, the AG suggested adding language to the pamphlet 
directing certain applicants to contact credit counseling 
agencies or consumer finance companies.  VAPL made a 
similar suggestion relative to another section of the 
regulations that would have required licensees to provide a 
Federal Trade Commission publication to applicants who 
were declined loans.[9]  We believe that such additions go 
beyond the requirements of the Act, and decline to 
incorporate them, although we note that the Commission's 
website has a list of licensed credit agencies. 

10VAC5-200-110. Payday lending database. 

CFSA raised concern that the regulations imply that a 
prospective borrower must furnish a current Virginia driver's 
license or identification card issued by the Virginia 
Department of Motor Vehicles or "DMV" in order to apply 
for a payday loan.  CFSA contends that such a requirement is 
too restrictive, and that licensees have always made loans to 
persons who did not reside within Virginia.  It recommends 
that the requirement be modified to provide that any current 
government issued identification that includes a photograph 
of the prospective borrower may be used and relied upon by a 
licensee to verify a borrower's identity.  Counsel for the 
Bureau explained that it was not the intent to limit borrowers 
to those with a Virginia driver's license or identification card, 
but countered that the modification suggested by CFSA 
would allow borrowers to use multiple identification cards, 
thus creating several unique borrower identification numbers 
to be entered into the database which would allow an 
individual borrower to circumvent the Act and provide the 
borrower with the opportunity to hold more than one 
outstanding payday loan at any one time.  We agree with the 
Bureau that we must carefully consider the means of 
borrower identification to eliminate such opportunities. A 
single consistent source document containing identifying 
information is necessary to create a unique borrower 
identification for purposes of tracking payday loan activity in 
the database as contemplated by the Act.  We agree, however, 
that the regulations should be clarified to allow use of driver's 
licenses and identification cards issued by states other than 
Virginia. 

Veritec, a database provider in several other states, also 
addressed borrower identification.  Veritec commended the 
Commission's effort to limit the personal data collected and 
transmitted from an individual borrower, but stated that for 
the database to effectively function, a balance between 
limiting the transmission of personal information and 
adequate data point collections must be achieved.  "To 

facilitate effective fraud detection, an additional data point 
. . . is needed."  Veritec recommended the Commission also 
collect the applicant's date of birth.  We will adopt that 
recommendation.   

Veritec also noted that the normal practice in other states 
already using payday lending databases is to identify 
borrowers by means of borrowers' Social Security Numbers.  
Although the industry standard appears to be to use a 
borrower's full Social Security Number as the unique 
borrower identification number, numerous laws have been 
enacted or proposed that prohibit or significantly restrict the 
identification of individuals by means of their Social Security 
Numbers.  Furthermore, storing borrowers' full Social 
Security Numbers in a centralized database increases the risk 
of identity theft.  Accordingly, we find that we are required to 
consider and adopt a different means of uniquely identifying 
borrowers in the payday lending database.  As noted above, 
we find that a current driver's license or identification card 
issued by the state licensing authority in a borrower's state of 
residence provides a single consistent source document that 
contains a combination of information sufficient to create a 
unique identifier for each borrower.  Furthermore, at least in 
Virginia, a driver's license or identification card also includes 
a picture of the borrower.  Borrowers will be uniquely 
identified in the database using a combination of the last four 
digits of their driver's license or identification card number, 
their numeric date of birth, and the first five digits of their zip 
code. If the General Assembly subsequently enacts legislation 
to expressly require Social Security Numbers to be used to 
uniquely identify borrowers in the payday lending database, 
we will modify our regulations accordingly.  To further 
protect borrowers' identities, licensees will also be required to 
redact a borrower's driver's license or identification card 
number so that only the last four digits remain visible on the 
copy that is to be retained in their files.  

CFSA and the AG recommend elimination of 
10VAC5-200-110 C 7, which requires licensees to obtain and 
transmit data including "[w]hether the applicant is a member 
of the military services of the United States, or the spouse or 
other dependent of a member of the military services of the 
United States." They contend that the Act prohibits licensees 
from making payday loans to such persons, and therefore the 
removal of this information from what is required to be 
transmitted will reduce the complexity of the database, speed 
up the data entry process, and eliminate unnecessary 
information from the database.  We agree.  The Bureau, 
however, proposed this data point to facilitate responding to 
the directive of the General Assembly to "report to the 
Chairman of the House and Senate Commerce and Labor 
Committees regarding the utilization of payday loans, 
including . . . effectiveness of the prohibitions on military 
lending . . .."  To facilitate the collection of data to respond to 
this legislative requirement, we will add a provision, new 
subsection N, to require licensees to report on a daily basis 
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the number of individuals who were unable to obtain loans 
due to their status as a member of the military or the spouse 
or dependent of such a member. 

This section of the regulations provides a list of additional 
information that a licensee must transmit to the database if an 
applicant is eligible for a payday loan.  Subdivision F 5 
includes "[s]ource of income for repayment of loan 
(employment or Social Security)."  Both the AG and the 
CFSA urge the Commission to strike this data item.  They 
contend that the source of funds for repayment should not 
matter, and this requirement is unnecessary.  We agree. 

Both the AG and CFSA also recommend elimination of a 
required data field in Subdivision J 2, which is the "method of 
repayment or satisfaction (e.g., cash, good funds instrument, 
check given to licensee as security for loan, other personal 
check, etc.)."  They again contend that there is nothing in the 
Act that makes information concerning the source of funds 
used to repay or satisfy a payday loan necessary to the 
database or significant for future use, but will unnecessarily 
increase the amount of information maintained in the 
database.  We agree with this recommendation as well and 
have deleted this data requirement. 

The AG, however, also recommends an addition.  
Specifically, he suggests that licensees should be required to 
update the database when a judgment they obtained for a 
payday loan is paid. CFSA agreed, but expressed concern that 
licensees may not know a judgment has been paid on the 
same date it is paid, and urges the Commission to allow 
licensees additional time to enter such data.  We will 
incorporate the AG's suggestion, but licensees will not be 
required to enter the data until the date they learn that the 
judgment has been satisfied.   

The regulations provide procedures for those times in which 
a licensee is unable to access the database due to technical 
problems beyond the licensee's control, and require the 
licensee to collect specific information including the first and 
last name of the person in the call center who provides the 
results of a query. Veritec stated that given concerns for the 
safety and security of call center employees, it is standard and 
commonplace industry practice for call center employees to 
instead provide a "pseudonym, user name or a customer 
service representative identification number" and suggested a 
customer service representative identification number would 
provide the same level of accountability and verification as a 
first and last name.  We appreciate this concern and have 
modified the regulations to permit the use of an identification 
number. 

Subsection O of the regulations limits licensees' access to 
data in the database. It was suggested that licensees should be 
allowed access to all data that the individual licensee has 
entered into the database.  Such access would provide the 
licensee with no more information than it should already 
possess, but would enable the licensees to reconcile internal 

records with the information submitted to the database, and 
correct information previously submitted as required by 
Subdivision K 2.  On consideration, we find such limited 
access would provide a better means of assuring quality 
control over the accuracy of the data in the database, and 
should be permitted. 

Veritec emphasized the need to input historical data for 
transactions that will remain open on or after January 1, 2009, 
and urged the Commission to require licensees to input such 
data prior to being granted access to the database for 
verification of applicant eligibility.  The regulation already 
directs such data to be collected and transmitted to the 
database.  However, as a practical matter it will be impossible 
for the database provider or us to timely determine whether 
all such historic data has been uploaded by January 1, 2009.  
While we agree that such data is necessary, we decline to 
include a provision as suggested by Veritec. 

10VAC5-200-120.  Enforcement 

Finally, VaPERL and CRL recommended the regulations 
include substantial penalties for licensees that engage in 
intentional, willful, negligent, or repeated delays or 
inaccuracies in reporting data to the database.  This section of 
the regulations already sets forth the penalties and 
consequences for any violations of the Act or regulations. 

THE COMMISSION, having considered the proposed 
regulations and comments, is of the opinion that the attached 
regulations should be adopted as final.    

THEREFORE IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The new regulations at Chapter 200 of Title 10 of the 
Virginia Administrative Code entitled "Payday Lending 
Rules," which are attached hereto and made a part hereof, 
should be, and they are hereby, ADOPTED effective 
January 1, 2009; 

(2) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
shall forthwith cause a copy of this Order, including a copy of 
the final regulations, to be forwarded to the Virginia Registrar 
of Regulations for publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations;  

(3) This Order and the attached regulations shall be posted 
on the Commission's website at www.scc.virginia.gov/case; 
and 

(4) This case is dismissed from the Commission's docket of 
active cases. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 
the Commission to the Commissioner of Financial 
Institutions, who shall forthwith mail a copy of this Order and 
the final regulations to all licensed payday lenders and such 
other interested persons as he may designate. 

 
[1] 24:22 VA.R. 3048 et seq. July 7, 2008. 
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[2] Virginia Code § 6.1-459(24). 
[3] Limitations on Terms of Consumer Credit Extended to 
Service Members and Dependents, 32 C.F.R. § 232.3(c). 
[4] Transcript 66. 
[5] Transcript 43-46. 
[6] Transcript 66. 
[7] Transcript 102. 
[8] Transcript 101. 
[9] VAPL would provide for such notice in 10VAC5-200-110 
E. 
10VAC5-200-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Act" means the Payday Loan Act (§ 6.1-444 et seq. of the 
Code of Virginia). 

"Bureau" means the Bureau of Financial Institutions. 

"Business day" for purposes of clause 1 (vi) of § 6.1-459 of 
the Code of Virginia and this chapter means a day on which 
the licensee's office is open for business as posted as required 
by subsection A of 10VAC5-200-70. 

"Commission" means the State Corporation Commission. 

"Duplicate original" for purposes of subdivision 2 of § 6.1-
459 of the Code of Virginia and this chapter means an exact 
copy of a signed original, an exact copy with signatures 
created by the same impression as the original, or an exact 
copy bearing an original signature. 

"Good funds instrument" for purposes of clause 1(vi) of 
§ 6.1-459 of the Code of Virginia and this chapter means a 
certified check, cashier's check, money order or, if the 
licensee is equipped to handle such payments, payment 
effected by use of a  [ debit or ]  credit card. 

"Liquid assets" for purposes of the Act and this chapter 
means cash on hand and in depository institutions, money 
market funds, commercial paper, and treasury bills. 

"Member of the military services of the United States" for 
purposes of the Act and this chapter means a regular or 
reserve member of the United States Army, Navy, Marine 
Corps, Air Force, [ or ] Coast Guard, [ or National Guard ] 
serving on active duty under a call or order that does not 
specify a period of 30 days or fewer. 

"Other dependent of a member of the military services of the 
United States" for purposes of the Act and this chapter means 
(i) an individual under the age of 18 whose mother or father is 
a member of the military services of the United States or (ii) 
an individual for whom a member of the military services of 
the United States provided more than one-half of the 
individual's financial support for 180 days immediately 
preceding the date the individual applied for a payday loan. 

"Small," as used in the definition of "payday loan" in § 6.1-
444 of the Code of Virginia, means $2,500 or less. 

B. Other terms used in this chapter shall have the meaning 
set forth in § 6.1-444 of the Act.  

10VAC5-200-20. Requirements for licensees; operating 
rules; acquisitions. 

A. A licensee shall maintain unencumbered liquid assets per 
place of business in Virginia of at least $25,000 at all times. 
The bureau may require submission of proof of maintenance 
of such liquid assets at any time. 

B. Any person submitting an application to acquire, directly 
or indirectly, 25% or more of the voting shares of a 
corporation or 25% or more of the ownership of any other 
person licensed to conduct business under the Act shall pay a 
nonrefundable application fee of $500. 

C. Each original license shall be prominently posted in each 
place of business of the licensee. In order for a licensee to 
receive a replacement or reissued license, a licensee shall pay 
a fee of $50 per place of business to the commission. 
Licenses will only be replaced or reissued if the licensee is in 
compliance with all laws and regulations applicable to the 
conduct of the licensee's business. 

D. If a person has filed a bond with the bureau, as required 
by § 6.1-448 of the Code of Virginia, such bond shall be 
retained by the bureau notwithstanding the occurrence of any 
of the following events: 

1. The person's license is surrendered, suspended, or 
revoked; or 

2. The person ceases engaging in business as a payday 
lender. 

E. Upon becoming licensed, a licensee shall give written 
notice to the bureau of its commencement of business within 
10 days thereafter. 

F. For purposes of clause 1 (v) of § 6.1-459 of the Code of 
Virginia, the number of days in a borrower's pay cycle and 
the corresponding minimum loan term shall be determined by 
a licensee in accordance with the following: 

1. If a borrower is paid on a weekly  [ or more frequent ]  
basis, there are seven days in the borrower's pay cycle and 
the minimum loan term shall be 14 days. 

2. If a borrower is paid on a biweekly basis, there are 14 
days in the borrower's pay cycle and the minimum loan 
term shall be 28 days. 

3. If a borrower is paid on a semimonthly basis, there are 
15 days in the borrower's pay cycle and the minimum loan 
term shall be [ 30 31 ] days. 

4. If a borrower is paid on a monthly basis [ or a borrower's 
source of income for repayment of a loan is Social 
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Security ], there are 30 days in the borrower's pay cycle 
and the minimum loan term shall be [ 60 62 ] days. 

5. If a borrower is paid either [ (i) ] less frequently than 
monthly [ , ] or [ (ii) ] on an irregular basis [ (e.g., self-
employed), the number of days in a borrower's pay cycle 
shall be calculated by dividing 90 by the number of 
payments the borrower received within the past 90 days, 
rounded to the nearest whole number (e.g., 8.49 would be 
rounded to eight days and 8.50 would be rounded to nine 
days). The minimum loan term shall be calculated by 
multiplying the preceding result by two. However, in no 
event shall the minimum loan term for any borrower be 
less than 14 days (but less frequently than weekly), there 
are 30 days in the borrower's pay cycle and minimum loan 
term shall be 62 days ]. 

G. A licensee shall retain supporting documentation for a 
borrower's pay cycle in each loan file [ , which may consist of 
(i) a copy of a borrower's pay stub or similar periodic 
earnings statement that clearly reflects the borrower's pay 
cycle, or (ii) a representation by the borrower in the written 
loan application ].  

H. A licensee shall not electronically debit a borrower's 
deposit account or otherwise obtain any funds from a 
borrower by electronic means, including the use of the 
Automated Clearing House network, electronic funds 
transfers, electronic check conversions, or re-presented check 
entries. 

I. With the exception of the check given by a borrower to a 
licensee as security for a payday loan, a licensee shall not 
collect or receive from a borrower any interest or fees 
permitted by § 6.1-460 of the Code of Virginia, either in 
whole or in part, prior to the date of loan maturity unless the 
borrower is voluntarily making a full or partial prepayment 
pursuant to 10VAC5-200-40. If a borrower enters into an 
extended payment plan or extended term loan, a licensee shall 
not collect or receive any interest or fees, either in whole or in 
part, prior to the due date of a scheduled installment unless 
the borrower is voluntarily making a payment in advance. 

J. The amount of the check given by a borrower to a licensee 
as security for a payday loan shall not exceed the sum of the 
principal amount advanced to the borrower and the interest 
and fees permitted by § 6.1-460 of the Code of Virginia. If a 
borrower enters into an extended payment plan at the time a 
loan is obtained, the amount of the check shall not include 
any interest. 

K. [ A Upon satisfaction of a loan or upon learning that a 
loan has been satisfied, a ] licensee shall attach to each loan 
agreement [ that has been satisfied ] either (i) a copy of the 
signed and dated receipt for the payment that satisfied the 
loan or (ii) if a judgment was obtained and satisfied, a copy of 
the judgment marked satisfied. 

L. Except as otherwise provided in subdivision B 2 of 
10VAC5-200-33 or subdivision D 1 of 10VAC5-200-35, the 
check used to secure a payday loan shall be dated as of the 
date the loan is due. A licensee shall not deposit or otherwise 
present for payment a check given as security for a loan, 
including an extended term loan or a loan that a borrower 
elected to repay by means of an extended payment plan, prior 
to the date stated on the face of the check. [ A licensee shall 
not require or accept multiple checks or any additional or 
alternative security in connection with a payday loan. ]  

M. If a borrower [ (i) cancels a loan in accordance with 
subsection G of 10VAC5-200-40, or (ii) ] repays [ or 
otherwise satisfies ] a loan in full with cash or good funds 
instrument [ and not with the check securing the loan ], the 
licensee shall [ immediately ] return the check given as 
security for the loan to the borrower [ within three business 
days of repayment or satisfaction ]. 

10VAC5-200-33. Extended payment plans. 

A. In any rolling 12-month period, an eligible borrower may 
elect to pay an outstanding payday loan from any licensee by 
means of an extended payment plan. A borrower shall not be 
eligible to obtain an extended payment plan if the borrower 
obtained an extended payment plan within the preceding 12 
months. 

B. A borrower may enter into an extended payment plan at 
any time on or after the date a loan is made through the date 
that the loan is due to be repaid. A borrower shall not be 
permitted to repay a past due payday loan by means of an 
extended payment plan. [ If a loan is past due and a borrower 
cannot obtain an extended payment plan, a licensee may 
voluntarily accept payments from a borrower in accordance 
with subsection H of 10VAC5-200-70. ]  

1. If an eligible borrower elects an extended payment plan, 
a licensee shall permit the borrower to repay the amount 
owed in at least four equal installments over a term of at 
least 60 days. The dollar amount of each installment shall 
be the same and the installment due dates shall be spread 
out evenly over the term of the extended payment plan 
(e.g., if the term is 60 days and there are four installments, 
an installment shall be due every 15 days). 

2. If a borrower enters into an extended payment plan on 
the date a loan is made, the check used to secure the loan 
shall be dated as of the date the final installment is due. A 
licensee shall not require or accept multiple checks or any 
additional or alternative security in connection with an 
extended payment plan. [ A borrower shall have the option 
of exchanging security checks with a licensee at the time 
the borrower makes a payment on an extended payment 
plan. If a borrower wishes to exchange security checks, a 
licensee shall upon receipt of the payment return the check 
held as security to the borrower and the borrower shall 
deliver to the licensee a replacement security check, dated 
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as of the date the final installment is due, for the remaining 
amount owed to the licensee. ]  

3. A borrower who elects to repay a payday loan with an 
extended payment plan shall not be eligible for another 
payday loan until 90 days after the borrower has repaid or 
satisfied in full the balance of the loan. 

C. A licensee shall provide notice to borrowers of the 
potential availability of the extended payment plan option in 
accordance with the provisions of this subsection. 

1. A licensee shall conspicuously post in each licensed 
location a written notice in at least 24-point bold type 
informing borrowers that they may be eligible to enter into 
an extended payment plan. The minimum size for such 
written notice shall be 24 inches by 18 inches. 

2. The title of the written notice, which shall appear in at 
least 48-point bold type, shall be "NOTICE – EXTENDED 
PAYMENT PLANS AVAILABLE TO ELIGIBLE 
BORROWERS AT NO ADDITIONAL COST."  

3. The required text of the written notice shall be as 
follows: 

[ The Payday Loan Act gives eligible borrowers If you 
are eligible, you have ] the option of repaying a payday 
loan by means of an extended payment plan. You may 
only obtain an extended payment plan once in any rolling 
12-month period (even if you obtain loans from different 
lenders or locations). You may obtain an extended 
payment plan at any time on or after the date that you 
receive your loan through the date that your loan is due 
to be repaid. Under an extended payment plan, you will 
be permitted to repay the amount you owe in at least four 
equal installments over a term of at least 60 days. You 
will not be charged any additional interest or fees in 
connection with an extended payment plan, and interest 
will not accrue during the term of an extended payment 
plan. [ When you make a payment on an extended 
payment plan, you will have the option of providing a 
replacement security check for the remaining amount you 
owe. ] Please be advised that if you obtain an extended 
payment plan, you will not be permitted to get another 
payday loan from any lender for a period of 90 days after 
you fully repay or satisfy the extended payment plan. 

4. If the payday lending database referred to in 10VAC5-
200-110 advises a licensee that an applicant is eligible for 
an extended payment plan, the licensee shall immediately 
provide oral notice to the applicant that [ (i) ] the applicant 
is eligible to repay the payday loan through an extended 
payment plan [ . The; (ii) information about extended 
payment plans may be found on the poster in the licensee's 
office or in the "Borrower Rights and Responsibilities" 
pamphlet; and (iii) the licensee is available to answer any 
questions that the applicant may have about extended 
payment plans. When providing this notice, the ] licensee 

shall also [ read aloud to the applicant the text of the 
written notice as specified in subdivision C 3 of this 
section. direct the applicant to the specific locations of both 
the poster referred to in subdivision 1 of this subsection 
and the section of the pamphlet entitled "Extended 
Payment Plans." ]  

D. A licensee shall [ immediately ] give a borrower receipts, 
signed and dated by the licensee, for all payments made in 
connection with an extended payment plan. The receipts shall 
also state the loan balance due after each payment. 

E. A licensee shall retain the written and signed extended 
payment plan document identifying the terms of the extended 
payment plan and provide the borrower with a duplicate 
original. A licensee shall also retain copies of receipts 
provided in accordance with subsection D of this section. 
Upon full repayment or satisfaction of an extended payment 
plan, a licensee shall mark both the original loan agreement 
and original extended payment plan document with the word 
"paid" or "canceled," return both items to the borrower, and 
retain copies in its loan records. 

10VAC5-200-35. Five payday loans within 180 days. 

A. A borrower obtaining a fifth payday loan within any 
rolling 180-day period may elect, at the option of the 
borrower, (i) to repay the loan through an extended payment 
plan, unless the borrower previously elected an extended 
payment plan within the preceding 12 months, or (ii) to 
obtain the loan in the form of an extended term loan. 

B. If a borrower does not obtain an extended payment plan 
or extended term loan in connection with his fifth payday 
loan in 180 days, the borrower shall not be eligible for 
another payday loan until 45 days after the date the fifth 
payday loan is paid or otherwise satisfied in full. 

C. If a borrower previously obtained an extended payment 
plan within the preceding 12-month period, the borrower 
shall not be eligible to repay a fifth payday loan obtained in 
any rolling 180-day period by means of an extended payment 
plan. However, if an eligible borrower elects to repay a fifth 
payday loan obtained in any rolling 180-day period by means 
of an extended payment plan, the provisions of 10VAC5-200-
33 shall apply. A borrower who elects to repay such loan by 
means of an extended payment plan shall not be eligible for 
another payday loan until 90 days after the borrower has 
repaid or satisfied in full the balance of the loan. 

D. The following provisions shall apply to extended term 
loans. 

1. An extended term loan is a payday loan, as this term is 
defined in § 6.1-444 of the Code of Virginia. As with other 
payday loans, an extended term loan shall be secured by a 
check that does not exceed the sum of the principal amount 
advanced to the borrower and the interest and fees 
permitted by § 6.1-460 of the Code of Virginia. The check 
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used to secure an extended term loan shall be dated as of 
the date the final installment is due. A licensee shall not 
require or accept multiple checks or any additional or 
alternative security in connection with an extended term 
loan. [ A borrower shall have the option of exchanging 
security checks with a licensee at the time the borrower 
makes a payment on an extended term loan. If a borrower 
wishes to exchange security checks, a licensee shall upon 
receipt of the payment return the check held as security to 
the borrower and the borrower shall deliver to the licensee 
a replacement security check, dated as of the date the final 
installment is due, for the remaining amount owed to the 
licensee. ]  

2. If an eligible borrower elects an extended term loan, a 
licensee shall permit the borrower to repay the amount 
owed in four equal installments over a term of 60 days. 
The dollar amount of each installment shall be the same 
and the installment due dates shall be spread out evenly 
over the term of the extended term loan (i.e., an installment 
shall be due every 15 days). 

3. The terms of an extended term loan shall be set forth in a 
written agreement signed and dated by the borrower. An 
eligible borrower may elect the extended term loan option 
only on the date a payday loan is made. 

4. A borrower who obtains an extended term loan shall not 
be eligible for another payday loan during the longer of 90 
days following the date the extended term loan is paid or 
otherwise satisfied in full, or 150 days following the date 
the extended term loan is obtained. Subject to one of the 
applicable waiting periods associated with a fifth loan in 
any rolling 180-day period, a borrower may be eligible for 
consecutive extended term loans or multiple extended term 
loans in any rolling 12-month period. 

5. A licensee shall [ immediately ] give a borrower 
receipts, signed and dated by the licensee, for all payments 
made in connection with an extended term loan. The 
receipts shall also state the loan balance due after each 
payment. 

6. A licensee shall retain the written and signed extended 
term loan agreement and provide the borrower with a 
duplicate original. A licensee shall also retain copies of 
receipts provided in accordance with subdivision 5 of this 
subsection. Upon full repayment or satisfaction of an 
extended term loan, a licensee shall mark the original 
extended term loan agreement with the word "paid" or 
"canceled," return it to the borrower, and retain a copy in 
its loan records. 

E. A licensee shall provide notice to borrowers of the 
potential availability of the extended term loan option in 
accordance with the provisions of this subsection. 

1. A licensee shall conspicuously post in each licensed 
location a written notice in at least 24-point bold type 

informing borrowers that they may be eligible to obtain an 
extended term loan. The minimum size for such written 
notice shall be 24 inches by 18 inches. 

2. The title of the written notice, which shall appear in at 
least 48-point bold type, shall be "NOTICE – EXTENDED 
TERM LOANS AVAILABLE TO BORROWERS 
OBTAINING A FIFTH PAYDAY LOAN WITHIN 180 
DAYS." 

3. The required text of the written notice shall be as 
follows: 

The Payday Loan Act gives borrowers obtaining their fifth 
payday loan within 180 days the option to receive it in the 
form of an extended term loan. An extended term loan is a 
payday loan under which you are permitted to repay the 
amount you owe in four equal installments spread out 
evenly over a term of 60 days. You may obtain an 
extended term loan even if you previously obtained another 
extended term loan or an extended payment plan. If you 
want an extended term loan, you must choose this option 
on the date you obtain the payday loan. [ When you make a 
payment on an extended term loan, you will have the 
option of providing a replacement security check for the 
remaining amount you owe. ] Please be advised that if you 
obtain an extended term loan, you will not be permitted to 
get another payday loan from any lender for a period of 90 
days after you fully repay or satisfy the extended term loan 
or 150 days after you obtain the extended term loan 
(whichever is longer). However, even if you do not choose 
an installment payment arrangement, you will still be 
unable to obtain another payday loan from any lender for a 
period of 45 days after you fully repay or satisfy your fifth 
payday loan. 

4. If the payday lending database referred to in 10VAC5-
200-110 advises a licensee that an applicant is eligible for 
an extended term loan, the licensee shall immediately 
provide oral notice to the applicant that [ (i) ] the applicant 
is eligible to obtain an extended term loan [ . The; (ii) 
information about extended term loans may be found on 
the poster in the licensee's office or in the "Borrower 
Rights and Responsibilities" pamphlet; and (iii) the 
licensee is available to answer any questions that the 
applicant may have about extended term loans. When 
providing this notice, the ] licensee shall also [ read aloud 
to the applicant the text of the written notice as specified in 
subdivision 3 of this subsection. direct the applicant to the 
specific locations of both the poster referred to in 
subdivision 1 of this subsection and the section of the 
pamphlet entitled "Five Payday Loans within 180 days." ] 
In addition, if the payday lending database advises a 
licensee that an applicant is eligible for an extended 
payment plan, the licensee shall also comply with 
subdivision C 4 of 10VAC5-200-33. 
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F. Payday loans made prior to January 1, 2009, shall not be 
considered for purposes of determining how many loans a 
borrower obtained in any rolling 180-day period. 

10VAC5-200-40. Borrower prepayment [ ; right to 
cancel ]. 

A. In order to prepay a payday loan in full, a borrower shall 
only be required to pay the principal amount advanced as well 
as any accrued and unpaid fees. A borrower shall be 
permitted to make partial payments, in increments of not less 
than $5.00, on the loan at any time without charge. The 
licensee shall give the borrower signed, dated receipts for 
each payment made, which shall state the balance due on the 
loan. 

B. For purposes of the Act and this chapter, the interest and 
fees will loan fee permitted by subsections A and B of § 6.1-
460 of the Code of Virginia shall be deemed "accrued" on a 
straight line basis over the term of a payday loan. A licensee 
shall calculate interest charges using either a 360-day year or 
a 365-day year. The verification fee permitted by subsection 
C of § 6.1-460 of the Code of Virginia shall be deemed 
accrued in full at the time a payday loan is made. 

C. 1. A borrower choosing to prepay his payday loan in full 
shall only be responsible for the verification fee and the pro-
rata portion of the total interest and fees loan fee based upon 
the number of days which that have elapsed between the loan 
disbursement date and the date of repayment. (For example, if 
a $400 loan with fees of $60 and a term of 10 days a simple 
annual interest rate of 36%, a 20% loan fee, a $5.00 
verification fee, a term of 28 days, and a 360-day year is 
prepaid in full after five seven days, the borrower shall only 
be required to pay in cash or good funds instrument $430 
($400 + $30) $427.80 ($400 + $2.80 interest + $20 loan fee + 
$5.00 verification fee) to the licensee.)  

2. A borrower choosing to make partial payments on a 
payday loan shall only be responsible for the verification 
fee and the pro-rata portion of the total interest and fees 
loan fee based upon the timing and amount of such partial 
payments. (For example, given a $500 loan with fees of 
$75 and a term of 10 days, a borrower making a partial 
payment of $200 after five days shall only be required to 
pay a total of $562.81 to the licensee ($500 principal + 
$62.81 interest ($500 for five days = $37.50, plus $337.50 
for five days = $25.31)). In this example, $37.50 of the 
borrower's $200 partial payment would be applied toward 
interest and the remaining $162.50 would be applied 
toward principal, thereby resulting in an outstanding 
balance of $337.50 until maturity a simple annual interest 
rate of 36%, a 20% loan fee, a $5.00 verification fee, a 
term of [ 30 31 ] days, and a 360-day year, a borrower 
making a partial payment of $200 after 15 days shall only 
be required to pay a total of [ $604.19 $603.91 ] to the 
licensee ($500 principal + [ $104.19 $103.91 ] interest and 
fees). In this example, [ $62.50 $60.89 ] of the borrower's 

$200 partial payment would be applied toward interest 
($7.50) and fees [ ($50 ($48.39 ] loan fee + $5.00 
verification fee) and the remaining [ $137.50 $139.11 ] 
would be applied toward principal, thereby resulting in an 
outstanding balance of [ $362.50 $360.89 ] until maturity. 
Based on this outstanding balance, the charges for the 
remainder of the term are [ $5.44 $5.77 ] (interest on 
[ $362.50 $360.89 ] for [ 15 16 ] days) + [ $36.25 $37.25 ] 
(loan fee on [ $362.50 $360.89 ] pro-rated for [ 15 16 ] 
days).) 

D. If a borrower enters into an extended payment plan and 
subsequently elects to prepay it in full, the borrower shall 
only be responsible for the verification fee, any interest that 
accrued prior to the borrower entering into the extended 
payment plan, and the pro-rata portion of the total loan fee 
based upon the number of days that have elapsed between the 
loan disbursement date and the date the loan would have been 
due if the borrower had not entered into the extended 
payment plan. The total payoff amount shall be reduced by 
the amount of any installment payments made by the 
borrower prior to prepaying the extended payment plan in 
full. 

1. Example: Assume that a borrower who is paid on a 
[ semi-monthly semimonthly ] basis (minimum term of 
[ 30 31 ] days) obtains a $500 loan on April 1 with an 
extended payment plan, an extended payment plan term of 
60 days, no interest (interest does not accrue during the 
term of an extended payment plan), a 20% loan fee, a 
$5.00 verification fee, and installment payments of 
$151.25 due on April 16, May 1, May 16, and May 31. 
Since the borrower is paid on a semimonthly basis, the 
loan fee shall accrue over a period of [ 30 31 ] days. If the 
borrower prepays the extended payment plan in full on 
April 21, the borrower shall only be required to pay in cash 
or good funds instrument the principal ($500), a pro-rata 
portion of the loan fee [ ($66.67) ($64.52) ], and the 
verification fee ($5.00) for a total of [ $571.67 $569.52 ] to 
the licensee. If the borrower made an installment payment 
of $151.25 on April 16, the payoff amount on April 21 
would be [ $420.42 ($571.67 $418.27 ($569.52 ] - 
$151.25). 

2. Example: Assume that a borrower who is paid on a 
semimonthly basis obtains a $500 loan on April 1 with a 
simple annual interest rate of 36%, a 20% loan fee, a $5.00 
verification fee, a term of [ 30 31 ] days, and a 360-day 
year. Next assume that the borrower elects an extended 
payment plan on April 23 with a term of 60 days and 
installment payments of $154 due on May 8, May 23, June 
7, and June 22. If the borrower prepays the extended 
payment plan in full on June 2, the borrower shall only be 
required to pay in cash or good funds instrument the 
principal ($500), the interest that accrued prior to the 
borrower electing an extended payment plan ($11), the 
entire loan fee ($100), and the verification fee ($5.00) for a 
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total of $616 to the licensee. If the borrower made 
installment payments of $154 on both May 8 and May 23, 
the payoff amount on June 2 would be $308 ($616 - $154 - 
$154). 

E. If a borrower enters into an extended term loan and 
subsequently elects to prepay it in full, the borrower shall 
only be responsible for the verification fee and the pro-rata 
portion of the total interest and loan fee based upon the 
number of days that have elapsed between the loan 
disbursement date and the loan maturity date (i.e., the date the 
fourth installment is due). The total payoff amount shall be 
reduced by the amount of any installment payments made by 
the borrower prior to prepaying the extended term loan in full. 

Example: Assume that a borrower obtains a $500 extended 
term loan on April 1 with a simple annual interest rate of 
36%, a 20% loan fee, a $5.00 verification fee, a 360-day year, 
a 60-day term, and installment payments of $158.75 due on 
April 16, May 1, May 16, and May 31. If the borrower 
prepays the extended term loan in full on May 20, the 
borrower shall only be required to pay in cash or good funds 
instrument the principal ($500), the interest that accrued for 
49 days ($24.50), a pro-rata portion of the loan fee ($81.67), 
and the verification fee ($5.00) for a total of $611.17 to the 
licensee. If the borrower made installment payments of 
$158.75 on April 16, May 1, and May 16, the payoff amount 
on May 20 would be $134.92 ($611.17 - $158.75 - $158.75 - 
$158.75). 

F. Unless it results in the prepayment in full of an extended 
payment plan or extended term loan pursuant to subsection D 
or E of this section, a partial payment, excess payment, 
installment payment, or other payment received by a licensee 
in advance of the date the funds are due under the terms of the 
extended payment plan or extended term loan shall not result 
in a modification of the payment schedule or a pro-rata 
adjustment of the total interest, if any, or loan fee. Payments 
made by a borrower pursuant to an extended payment plan or 
extended term loan shall be first applied to any past due 
installment and then to the next regularly scheduled 
installment. 

G. Notwithstanding any provision of this section, a borrower 
shall have the right to cancel a payday loan (including an 
extended term loan or a loan repayable by means of an 
extended payment plan) at any time before the close of 
business on the next business day following the date of the 
loan by paying to the licensee, in the form of cash or good 
funds instrument, the principal amount advanced to the 
borrower. The licensee shall not be entitled to charge or 
receive any interest or fees, including a verification fee, when 
a borrower cancels a payday loan. 

10VAC5-200-60. Posting of charges. 

A. A licensee shall conspicuously post in its licensed 
location a schedule of payments, fees and interest charges, 

with examples using (i) a $300 loan payable in seven days, 14 
days, and; (ii) a $300 loan payable in [ 30 31 ] days; (iii) a 
$300 loan payable in [ 60 62 ] days; (iv) a $300 loan payable 
through an extended payment plan that is elected on the date 
the loan is obtained; (v) a $300 loan payable through an 
extended payment plan that is elected on the 15th day of a 
[ 30-day 31-day ] term; and (vi) a $300 extended term loan. 

B. A licensee shall display its fees and interest charges not 
only as a dollar amount, but also as an Annual Percentage 
Rate, which shall be stated using this term, calculated in 
accordance with Federal Reserve Board Regulation Z (12 
CFR 226.1 et seq.). 

10VAC5-200-70. Additional business requirements and 
restrictions. 

A. A licensee shall conspicuously post in its licensed 
locations the days and hours during which it is open for 
business. 

B. A licensee shall not deposit or otherwise present for 
payment more than two times any check given by a borrower 
as security for a loan, and in no event shall a licensee recover 
from a borrower more than a total of $25 attributable to 
returned check fees incurred by the licensee with respect to a 
single check. 

C. A licensee shall not accept or require an allotment of 
military pay or any authorization of electronic funds transfer 
as security for repayment of a loan. A licensee shall not 
knowingly make a payday loan to a member of the military 
services of the United States, or the spouse or other dependent 
of a member of the military services of the United States. To 
enable a licensee to make this determination, a licensee shall 
clearly and conspicuously include the following questions in 
its written loan application, which the licensee shall require 
each applicant to answer before obtaining a payday loan [ . A 
licensee shall not make a payday loan to an applicant unless 
the applicant answers "no" to all of these questions ]: 

1. Are you a regular or reserve member of the United 
States Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, [ or ] Coast 
Guard, [ or National Guard ] serving on active duty under a 
call or order that does not specify a period of 30 days or 
fewer? 

2. Are you married to a regular or reserve member of the 
United States Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, [ or ] 
Coast Guard, [ or National Guard ] serving on active duty 
under a call or order that does not specify a period of 30 
days or fewer? 

3. Are you under the age of 18 and the son or daughter of a 
regular or reserve member of the United States Army, 
Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, [ or ] Coast Guard, [ or 
National Guard ] serving on active duty under a call or 
order that does not specify a period of 30 days or fewer? 
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4. Was more than one-half of your financial support for the 
past 180 days provided by a regular or reserve member of 
the United States Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, 
[ or ] Coast Guard, [ or National Guard ] serving on active 
duty under a call or order that does not specify a period of 
30 days or fewer? 

D. A licensee shall maintain in its licensed offices such 
books, accounts, and records as the Commissioner of 
Financial Institutions may reasonably require in order to 
determine whether such licensee is complying with the 
provisions of the Act and all rules and regulations adopted in 
furtherance thereof. Such books, accounts, and records shall 
be maintained apart and separate from those relating to any 
other business in which the licensee is involved. Such records 
relating to loans, including loan applications, shall be retained 
for at least three years after final payment is made on any 
loan. 

E. A licensee shall report, in accordance with § 6.1-455 of 
the Code of Virginia, the institution of an action against the 
licensee under the Virginia Consumer Protection Act (§ 59.1-
196 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) by the Attorney General 
or any other governmental authority. 

F. A licensee shall endeavor to provide the loan documents, 
printed notice, and pamphlet required by 10VAC5-200-30, in 
a language other than English when a prospective borrower is 
unable to read the materials printed in English. 

G. A licensee shall not file or initiate a legal proceeding 
against a borrower until 60 days after the date of default on a 
payday loan, including defaults under extended payment 
plans or extended term loans, during which time the licensee 
and borrower may voluntarily enter into a repayment 
arrangement. 

H. Nothing in the Act or this chapter shall be construed to 
prohibit a licensee from voluntarily accepting a payment on 
an outstanding loan from a borrower after the date that such 
payment was due to the licensee. However, except as 
otherwise permitted by the Act and this chapter, the licensee 
shall not collect, receive, or otherwise recover any additional 
interest, fees, or charges from the borrower. 

10VAC5-200-80. Payday lending pamphlet text. 

The required text of the payday lending pamphlet referred to 
in 10VAC5-200-30 is as follows:  

PAYDAY LENDING IN THE COMMONWEALTH OF 
VIRGINIA 

BORROWER RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES 

Please take the time to carefully review the information 
contained in this pamphlet. It is designed to advise you of 
your rights and responsibilities in connection with obtaining a 
payday loan in Virginia under the Payday Loan Act, § 6.1-
444 et seq. of the Code of Virginia. If you have any questions 

about payday lending or want additional information, you 
may contact the Virginia State Corporation Commission's 
Bureau of Financial Institutions toll-free at (800) 552-7945 or 
on the Internet at 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/division/banking 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/bfi. The Bureau of Financial 
Institutions has available a "Consumer Guide to Payday 
Lending" that may be viewed at this website or obtained by 
calling the toll-free telephone number listed above. 

In General: You are responsible for evaluating whether a 
payday loan is right for you. Alternatives may include among 
other things less expensive short-term financing from another 
financial institution, family, or friends, a cash advance on a 
credit card, an account with overdraft protection, or a loan 
repayable over several months. 

Notice from Lender: The lender is required to provide you 
with a clear and conspicuous printed notice advising you that 
a payday loan is not intended to meet long-term financial 
needs and that you should use a payday loan only to meet 
occasional or unusual short-term cash needs.  

Payday Lending Database: Before making a payday loan 
to you, a lender is required by Virginia law to access a 
database that contains detailed information about payday 
loans made to Virginia residents by all lenders licensed to do 
business in Virginia. The database will inform the lender 
whether you are eligible for a payday loan. If you are 
ineligible for a payday loan, the lender will provide you with 
the toll-free telephone number of the database provider, 
which you can use to find out the specific reason for your 
ineligibility. To enable the lender to check the database, you 
will be required to provide the lender with your original 
driver's license or [ DMV Identification Card identification 
card issued by a state driver's licensing authority (e.g., 
Department of Motor Vehicles for the Commonwealth of 
Virginia) ]. If you wish to obtain a payday loan but do not 
have a driver's license or [ DMV Identification Card 
identification card ], you will need to obtain a driver's license 
or [ DMV Identification Card identification card ] from the 
[ Department of Motor Vehicles driver's licensing authority in 
your home state ]. 

Prohibition on Loans to Individuals with Certain 
Previous or Outstanding Loans: Virginia law prohibits a 
lender from making a payday loan to you if (i) you currently 
have an outstanding payday loan; (ii) you paid or satisfied in 
full a previous payday loan on the same day that you are 
applying for a new payday loan; (iii) in the past 90 days you 
paid or satisfied in full a previous payday loan by means of an 
extended payment plan; (iv) in the past 45 days you paid or 
satisfied in full a fifth payday loan that you obtained within a 
period of 180 days; (v) in the past 90 days you paid or 
satisfied in full an extended term loan; or (vi) in the past 150 
days you entered into an extended term loan. 
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It is important to note that the previous or outstanding 
payday loans referred to above include loans made by the 
same lender as well as any other lender conducting payday 
lending business in Virginia. 

Prohibition on Loans to Members of the Military and 
their Spouses and Dependents: Virginia law prohibits 
lenders from making payday loans to members of the military 
services of the United States as well as their spouses and 
dependents. If you are a regular or reserve member of the 
United States Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, [ or ] 
Coast Guard, [ or National Guard ] serving on active duty 
under a call or order that does not specify a period of 30 days 
or fewer, the lender is prohibited from making a payday loan 
to you. The lender is also prohibited from making a loan to 
you if (i) you are married to such a member, (ii) you are less 
than 18 years old and the son or daughter of such a member, 
or (iii) more than one-half of your financial support for the 
past 180 days was provided by such a member. 

Limitations on Security Interest / Prohibition on 
Obtaining Funds Electronically: The lender cannot require 
you to provide more than one check as security for any 
payday loan. The check cannot be post-dated must be dated as 
of the date your loan is due. The lender cannot require you to 
provide any security for your payday loan other than a check 
payable to the lender. The lender is also prohibited from 
electronically debiting your deposit account or obtaining any 
of your funds by electronic means. 

One Loan at a Time / $500 Maximum/Seven-Day 
Minimum Term Maximum: The lender cannot have loans 
(either single or in the aggregate) more than one loan 
outstanding to you at any one time in the principal amount of 
more than. If you currently have an outstanding payday loan 
from any lender, you cannot obtain another payday loan. The 
maximum loan amount is $500. By law, the specified due 
date of your loan must be at least seven days after the date 
that money is advanced to you.  

Minimum Loan Term: Under Virginia law, your loan term 
must be at least twice as long as your pay cycle. For example, 
if you are paid on a weekly basis, your minimum loan term 
would be 14 days. 

Fees, Charges, and Interest: The lender is permitted to 
charge you (i) interest in the form of at a simple annual rate of 
36%, (ii) a loan fee not exceeding 15% 20% of the amount of 
money advanced to you (i.e., $15 $20 per $100 advanced), 
and (iii) a verification fee not exceeding $5.00. For example, 
if the lender advances you $300 for seven days, the lender 
may charge you up to $45 as a fee for obtaining the loan (an 
Annual Percentage Rate of 782%). If the lender advances you 
$300 for 14 [ 30 31 ] days, the lender may charge you up to 
the same $45 fee for obtaining the loan [ $9.00 $9.30 ] 
interest, a loan fee of $60, and a verification fee of $5.00 for a 
total of [ $74 (an Annual Percentage Rate of 391%) 296%) 
$74.30 ]. If the lender advances you $300 for 30 [ 60 62 ] 

days, the lender may charge you up to the same $45 fee for 
obtaining the loan [ $18 $18.60 ] interest, a loan fee of $60, 
and a verification fee of $5.00 for a total of [ $83 (an Annual 
Percentage Rate of 183%) 166%) $83.60 ]. Other than the 
specific fees and costs discussed in the section of this 
pamphlet entitled "Failure to Repay" (see below), no 
additional amounts may be directly or indirectly charged, 
contracted for, collected, received, or recovered by the lender. 

You will receive your loan proceeds in the form of either 
cash or a check from the lender. The lender cannot charge 
you a fee for cashing their check. Similarly, a check casher 
affiliated with the lender cannot charge you a fee for cashing 
the lender's check. 

Written Agreement: The lender must provide you with a 
written loan agreement, which must be signed by both you 
and an authorized representative of the lender. The loan 
agreement is a binding, legal document that requires you to 
repay the loan. Make sure you read the entire loan agreement 
carefully before signing and dating it. The lender must 
provide you with a duplicate original of the loan agreement at 
the time of your loan transaction. If any provision of your 
loan agreement violates the Payday Loan Act (§ 6.1-444 et 
seq. of the Code of Virginia), the provision will not be 
enforceable against you. 

Extended Payment Plans: Under Virginia law eligible 
borrowers have the option of repaying a payday loan by 
means of an extended payment plan. You may only obtain an 
extended payment plan once in any rolling 12-month period 
(even if you obtain loans from different lenders or locations). 
You may obtain an extended payment plan at any time on or 
after the date that you received your loan through the date that 
your loan is due to be repaid. 

Under an extended payment plan, you are permitted to repay 
the amount you owe in at least four equal installments spread 
out evenly over a term of at least 60 days. You will not be 
charged any additional interest or fees in connection with an 
extended payment plan, and interest will not accrue during 
the term of an extended payment plan. 

If you obtain an extended payment plan, you will not be able 
to get another payday loan from any lender for a period of 90 
days after you fully repay or satisfy the extended payment 
plan. 

Five Payday Loans within 180 [ days Days ]: If you are 
obtaining a fifth payday loan within a rolling 180-day period, 
you have the option to (i) repay the fifth loan through an 
extended payment plan, unless you previously obtained an 
extended payment plan within the preceding 12 months, or 
(ii) obtain the loan in the form of an extended term loan. 

You do not have to choose either one of these options. 
However, even if you do not obtain an extended payment plan 
or extended term loan, you will not be able to obtain another 
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payday loan from any lender for a period of 45 days after you 
fully repay or satisfy your fifth payday loan. 

Extended payment plans are discussed above. If you are 
eligible to repay your fifth payday loan by means of an 
extended payment plan and choose to do so, you will not be 
able to obtain another payday loan from any lender for a 
period of 90 days after you fully repay or satisfy the extended 
payment plan. 

An extended term loan is a payday loan under which you are 
permitted to repay the amount you owe in four equal 
installments spread out evenly over a term of 60 days. You 
may obtain an extended term loan even if you previously 
obtained another extended term loan or an extended payment 
plan. If you want an extended term loan, you must choose this 
option on the date you obtain the payday loan. If you obtain 
an extended term loan, you will not be able to get another 
payday loan from any lender for a period of 90 days after you 
fully repay or satisfy the extended term loan or 150 days after 
you obtain the extended term loan (whichever is longer). 

Other Businesses: A lender is prohibited by statute from 
engaging in other businesses, besides check cashing, unless 
permitted by order of the State Corporation Commission. A 
lender is also prohibited by statute from selling you any type 
of insurance coverage. 

Loans for Other Products & Services: You are prohibited 
from using any of the money from your payday loan to 
purchase any other product or service sold at the lender's 
business location. 

Right to Cancel: You have the right to cancel your loan at 
any time prior to the close of business on the next day the 
lender is open following the date your loan is made by paying 
the lender the amount advanced to you in cash, certified 
check, cashier's check, money order or, if the lender is 
equipped to handle such payments, by using a credit  [ or 
debit ]  card. 

Partial Payments and Prepayments: You have the right to 
make partial payments (in increments of not less than $5.00) 
on your payday loan at any time prior to its specified due date 
without charge penalty. If you make a partial payment, the 
total interest and loan fee you pay will be reduced (unless you 
have an extended payment plan or extended term loan -- see 
"Payments on Extended Payment Plans and Extended Term 
Loans" below). You have the right to receive signed, dated 
receipts for each payment made along with a statement of the 
balance remaining on your payday loan. You also have the 
right to prepay your loan in full before its specified due date 
without penalty by paying the lender in cash, certified check, 
cashier's check, money order or, if the lender is equipped to 
handle such payments, by use of a credit [ or debit card ] , the 
amount of money advanced to you as well as any accrued and 
unpaid interest and fees. 

Payments on Extended Payment Plans and Extended 
Term Loans: You have the right to prepay an extended 
payment plan or extended term loan without penalty. 
However, unless it results in the prepayment in full of an 
extended payment plan or extended term loan, a partial 
payment, excess payment, installment payment, or other 
payment you give to the lender in advance of the date the 
funds are due does not result in either a change to your 
payment schedule or a pro-rata adjustment of the total 
interest, if any, or loan fee that you will be required to pay. 
Payments you make on an extended payment plan or 
extended term loan are first applied to any past due 
installment and then to your next regularly scheduled 
installment. The lender must give you receipts, signed and 
dated by the lender, for all payments you make on an 
extended payment plan or extended term loan. [ When you 
make a payment on an extended payment plan or extended 
term loan, you have the option to give the lender a 
replacement security check for the remaining amount you 
owe. ]  

Lender to Return Original Loan Agreement: Upon 
repayment of your loan in full, the lender must mark your 
original loan agreement with the word "paid" or "canceled" 
and return it to you. If you obtained an extended payment 
plan, the lender is also required to mark your original 
extended payment plan document with the word "paid" or 
"canceled" and return it to you. 

[ Lender to Return Security Check: If you cancel your 
loan (see "Right to Cancel" above) or repay it in full with 
cash or by certified check, cashier's check, money order or, if 
the lender is equipped to handle such payments, by using a 
credit card, the lender must immediately return the check you 
gave as security for the loan. ]  

No Rollovers, Extensions, Etc.: The lender cannot 
refinance, renew, extend, or rollover your payday loan. 

Failure to Repay: Pay back your loan! Know when your 
payment is due and be sure to repay your loan on time and in 
full. You are responsible for having sufficient funds in your 
checking account on the due date of your loan so that your 
check does not bounce if the lender deposits it in his account. 
If you do not repay your loan by the specified due date, the 
lender may begin accruing interest on the principal amount of 
your loan at a maximum rate of [ 6% 6.0% ] per year.  

In collecting or attempting to collect a payday loan, the 
lender is required to comply with the restrictions and 
prohibitions applicable to debt collectors contained in the Fair 
Debt Collection Practices Act, 15 USC § 1692 et seq., 
regarding harassment or abuse, false or misleading 
misrepresentations, and unfair practices in collections. The 
lender is also prohibited from threatening or beginning 
criminal proceedings against you if a check you provide to 
the lender bounces. If a lender knowingly violates this 
prohibition, the lender is required to pay you a civil monetary 
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penalty equal to three times the amount of the dishonored 
check. 

If you cannot or do not repay the loan: (i) the lender is 
permitted to recover from you any fee charged to the lender 
(maximum of $25) as a result of your check being returned 
due to your account being closed by you or containing 
insufficient funds, or if you stopped payment on your check; 
and (ii) if the lender seeks and obtains judgment against you 
as a result of your returned check, the lender may obtain court 
costs and reasonable attorney's fees (total may not exceed 
$250) if such costs and fees are awarded by the court. 

The lender cannot file or initiate a legal proceeding against 
you until 60 days after the date that you default on a payday 
loan, including a default under an extended payment plan or 
extended term loan. During this 60-day period the lender may 
voluntarily enter into a repayment arrangement with you. 

Legal Action Against Lender: You have the right to bring 
a civil action against the lender if you suffer a loss as a result 
of the lender violating any provision of the Payday Loan Act. 
If you are successful in your civil action, you have the right to 
be reimbursed for reasonable attorney's fees, expert witness 
fees, and court costs you have incurred in connection with 
your civil action. Losses suffered as the result of the lender's 
violation of the Payday Loan Act may also be pursued under 
the Virginia Consumer Protection Act (§ 59.1-196 et seq. of 
the Code of Virginia), which in some cases permits 
consumers to recover actual and punitive damages. 

Additional Protections for Borrowers in the 
Military/Borrowers Married to Members of the Military: 
If you or your spouse is a member of the United States 
military, the lender is prohibited by law from (i) garnishing 
any military wages or salary; (ii) conducting any collection 
activity against you if you or your spouse is deployed to a 
combat or combat support posting or is a member of the 
Reserves or National Guard and called to active duty, for the 
duration of the deployment or active duty service; (iii) 
contacting your commanding officer or your spouse's 
commanding officer, or anyone in your chain of command or 
your spouse's chain of command, in an effort to collect a loan 
made to you; (iv) disregarding the terms of a loan repayment 
agreement that the lender negotiates through military 
counselors or third-party credit counselors; and (v) making a 
loan to you if a military base commander has declared that a 
specific location of the lender's business is off limits to 
military personnel.  

Complaints and Contacting the Bureau of Financial 
Institutions: For assistance with any complaints you may 
have against a payday lender, please contact the Bureau of 
Financial Institutions toll free at (800) 552-7945 or on the 
Internet at http://www.scc.virginia.gov/division/banking 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/bfi. Complaints must be filed in 
writing with the Bureau of Financial Institutions. Complaints 
should be mailed to Bureau of Financial Institutions, Attn: 

Complaints, P.O. Box 640, Richmond, Virginia 23218-0640, 
or faxed to Bureau of Financial Institutions, Attn: 
Complaints, at (804) 371-9416. 

10VAC5-200-110. Payday lending database. 

A. This section sets forth the rules applicable to the payday 
lending database referred to in § 6.1-453.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

B. Except as otherwise provided in this section, a licensee 
shall transmit all information to the database via the Internet. 
In order to maintain the confidentiality and security of the 
information, a licensee shall not transmit information to the 
database using publicly accessible computers, computers that 
are not under the licensee's control, unsecured wireless (Wi-
Fi) connections, or other connections that are not secure. A 
licensee shall maintain generally accepted security safeguards 
to protect the confidentiality of the information transmitted to 
the database, including but not limited to installing and 
regularly updating malware protection (antivirus and 
antispyware) software and a firewall. 

C. Prior to making a payday loan, a licensee shall transmit 
the following information to the database for purposes of 
determining whether an applicant is eligible for a payday 
loan. The licensee shall obtain the applicant information 
required by this subsection in accordance with the provisions 
of subsection D of this section. 

1. Name of licensee and license number. 

2. Office location of licensee. 

3. [ Name First and last name or identification number ] of 
employee entering information into the database. 

4. Applicant's first and last name. 

5. Last four digits of applicant's driver's license number or 
[ DMV Identification Card identification card ] number. 

6. Applicant's address.  

7. [ Whether the applicant is a member of the military 
services of the United States, or the spouse or other 
dependent of a member of the military services of the 
United States Applicant's date of birth ]. 

D. 1. A licensee shall obtain the information required by 
subdivisions C 4, 5, [ and ] 6 [ , and 7 ] of this section directly 
from the applicant's unexpired original driver's license or 
[ DMV Identification Card identification card issued by a 
state driver's licensing authority (e.g., Department of Motor 
Vehicles for the Commonwealth of Virginia) ], regardless of 
whether the information on the driver's license or [ DMV 
Identification Card identification card ] is still accurate. A 
licensee shall not accept photocopies, facsimiles, or other 
reproductions of a driver's license or [ DMV Identification 
Card identification card ]. 
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2. A licensee shall photocopy the applicant's driver's 
license or [ DMV Identification Card identification card, 
partially redact the driver's license number or identification 
card number so that only the last four digits of the number 
remain visible, ] and retain the [ redacted ] photocopy in its 
records. 

3. A licensee shall not accept a driver's license or [ DMV 
Identification Card identification card ] from an applicant 
when there is reason to believe that (i) it belongs to an 
individual other than the applicant or (ii) it is fake, 
counterfeit, or has been altered, fraudulently obtained, 
forged, or is otherwise nongenuine or illegitimate. 

E. If the database advises a licensee that an applicant is 
ineligible for a payday loan, then the licensee shall inform the 
applicant of his ineligibility, instruct the applicant to contact 
the database provider for information about the specific 
reason for his ineligibility, and provide the applicant with the 
toll-free telephone number of the database provider. 

F. If the database advises a licensee that an applicant is 
eligible for a payday loan, then the licensee shall transmit the 
following additional information to the database prior to 
making a payday loan: 

1. Application date. 

2. Loan number. 

3. Date of loan. 

4. Principal amount of loan. 

[ 5. Source of income for repayment of loan (employment 
or Social Security). ]  

[ 6. 5. ] Interest rate. 

[ 7. 6. ] Dollar amount of interest to be charged until date 
of loan maturity. 

[ 8. 7. ] Dollar amount of loan fee to be charged. 

[ 9. 8. ] Dollar amount of verification fee to be charged. 

[ 10. 9. ] Dollar amount of total finance charges. 

[ 11. 10. ] Annual [ percentage rate ] (APR) of loan. 

[ 12. 11. ] Number of days in applicant's pay cycle. 

[ 13. 12. ] Number of days in loan term. 

[ 14. 13. ] Date loan is due. 

[ 15. 14. ] Dollar amount of check given by applicant to 
secure the loan [ i.e., at the time the loan is made ].  

G. If the database advises a licensee that an applicant is 
eligible for an extended payment plan or extended term loan 
and the applicant subsequently elects an extended payment 
plan or extended term loan, then the licensee shall transmit 
the following additional applicable information to the 
database no later than the time the licensee closes for business 

on the date the applicant enters into the extended payment 
plan or extended term loan: 

1. Date the extended payment plan or extended term loan is 
entered into. 

2. Principal amount owed under the extended payment plan 
or extended term loan. 

3. Number of installment payments and the amount of each 
payment to be made under the extended payment plan or 
extended term loan. 

4. Date each installment payment is due under the extended 
payment plan or extended term loan. 

5. Number of days in term of extended payment plan or 
extended term loan. 

H. For purposes of this section, a licensee closes for 
business when it officially shuts its doors to the general 
public on a business day, or within one hour thereafter. 

I. A licensee shall generate a separate printout from the 
database showing the results of each loan eligibility query, 
including whether an applicant is eligible for an extended 
payment plan or extended term loan, and retain the printout in 
its loan records. 

J. Except as otherwise provided in [ subdivision 
subdivisions ] 3 [ , 7, and 8 ] of this subsection, a licensee 
shall transmit the following additional information, as 
applicable, to the database no later than the time the licensee 
closes for business on the date of the event: 

1. If a borrower cancels a payday loan, the date of the 
cancellation. 

2. If a payday loan (including an extended term loan or a 
loan that a borrower elected to repay by means of an 
extended payment plan) is repaid or otherwise satisfied in 
full, (i) the date of repayment or satisfaction, [ and ] (ii) 
[ the method of repayment or satisfaction (e.g., cash, good 
funds instrument, check given to licensee as security for 
loan, other personal check, etc.), and (iii) ] the total net 
dollar amount ultimately paid by the borrower in 
connection with the loan (i.e., principal amount of loan 
plus all fees and charges received or collected pursuant to 
§§ 6.1-460 and 6.1-461 of the Code of Virginia, less any 
amount refunded to the borrower as a result of 
overpayment).  

3. If a check used to repay a loan in full is returned unpaid, 
the date the check is returned unpaid and the dollar amount 
of the check. A licensee shall transmit such information to 
the database no later than five calendar days after the date 
the check is returned unpaid. 

4. If a licensee collects a returned check fee from a 
borrower, the dollar amount of the returned check fee. 
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5. If a licensee initiates a legal proceeding against a 
borrower for nonpayment of a payday loan, the date the 
proceeding is initiated and the total dollar amount sought 
to be recovered. 

6. If a licensee obtains a judgment against a borrower, the 
date and total dollar amount of the judgment. 

[ 7. If a judgment obtained by a licensee against a borrower 
is satisfied, the date of satisfaction. A licensee shall 
transmit such information to the database on the date the 
licensee learns that the judgment has been satisfied. ]  

[ 7. 8. ] If a licensee collects any court costs or attorney's 
fees from a borrower, the dollar amount of the court costs 
or attorney's fees. [ A licensee shall transmit such 
information to the database on the date the licensee learns 
that the court costs or attorney's fees have been paid. ]  

[ 8. 9. ] If a licensee charges off a payday loan as 
uncollectible, the date the loan is charged off and the total 
dollar amount charged off. 

K. 1. If any information required to be transmitted by a 
licensee to the database is automatically populated or 
calculated by the database provider, the licensee shall verify 
the information and immediately correct any inaccuracies or 
other errors. 

2. If a licensee becomes aware of any changes, 
inaccuracies, or other errors in the information previously 
verified or transmitted by the licensee to the database, the 
licensee shall immediately update or correct the database. 

L. The following provisions address a licensee's inability to 
access the database at the time of loan application: 

1. If at the time a licensee receives a loan application the 
licensee is unable to access the database due to technical 
problems beyond the licensee's control, the licensee shall 
contact the database provider's call center and request that 
the call center enter the information required by this 
section and query the database on the licensee's behalf. The 
licensee shall document in its records the technical 
problems it experienced, the specific information it 
provided to the call center, the result of each query 
(including the applicant's eligibility for an extended 
payment plan or extended term loan), the date and time of 
the phone call, and the first and last name [ or 
identification number ] of the person in the call center who 
provided the results of the query to the licensee. 

2. If at the time a licensee receives a loan application the 
licensee is unable to access the database due to technical 
problems beyond the licensee's control and the database 
provider's call center is either closed or also unable to 
access the database, then the licensee may make a payday 
loan to an applicant if the applicant signs and dates a 
separate document containing all of the representations and 
responses to the questions set forth below and the 

prospective loan otherwise complies with the provisions of 
the Act and this chapter. The document shall be printed in 
a type size of not less than 14 point and contain a statement 
that the representations and questions relate to loans 
obtained from either the licensee or another payday lender. 
The licensee shall retain the original document in its loan 
file and provide the applicant with a duplicate original. The 
licensee shall also document in its records the technical 
problems it experienced and the date and time that it 
sought to query the database. 

a. The representations to be made by an applicant are as 
follows: 

(1) I do not currently have any outstanding payday loans. 

(2) I did not repay or otherwise satisfy in full a payday 
loan today. 

(3) In the past 90 days I did not repay or otherwise satisfy 
in full a payday loan by means of an extended payment 
plan. 

(4) In the past 45 days I did not repay or otherwise satisfy 
in full a fifth payday loan that was obtained within a 
period of 180 days. 

(5) In the past 90 days I did not repay or otherwise satisfy 
in full an extended term loan. 

(6) I did not obtain an extended term loan within the past 
150 days. 

(7) I am not a regular or reserve member of the United 
States Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, [ or ] Coast 
Guard, [ or National Guard ] serving on active duty under 
a call or order that does not specify a period of 30 days or 
fewer. 

(8) I am not married to a regular or reserve member of 
the United States Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, 
[ or ] Coast Guard, [ or National Guard ] serving on 
active duty under a call or order that does not specify a 
period of 30 days or fewer 

(9) I am not under the age of 18 and the son or daughter 
of a regular or reserve member of the United States 
Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, [ or ] Coast 
Guard, [ or National Guard ] serving on active duty under 
a call or order that does not specify a period of 30 days or 
fewer. 

(10) One-half or less (including none) of my financial 
support for the past 180 days was provided by a regular 
or reserve member of the United States Army, Navy, 
Marine Corps, Air Force, [ or ] Coast Guard, [ or 
National Guard ] serving on active duty under a call or 
order that does not specify a period of 30 days or fewer. 

b. The questions to be presented to an applicant are as 
follows: 
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(1) In the past 12 months, have you obtained an extended 
payment plan in order to repay a payday loan? If the 
applicant's response is "no" and the applicant is eligible 
for a payday loan, then the licensee shall immediately 
[ provide oral notice to the applicant that the applicant is 
eligible to repay the payday loan through an extended 
payment plan. The licensee shall also read aloud to the 
applicant the text of the written notice as specified in 
provide the applicant with the oral notice prescribed in ] 
subdivision C [ 3 4 ] of 10VAC5-200-33. 

(2) Have you obtained four or more payday loans within 
the past 180 days? If the applicant's response is "yes" and 
the applicant is eligible for a payday loan, then the 
licensee shall immediately [ provide oral notice to the 
applicant that the applicant is eligible to obtain an 
extended term loan. The licensee shall also read aloud to 
the applicant the text of the written notice as specified in 
provide the applicant with the oral notice prescribed in ] 
subdivision E [ 3 4 ] of 10VAC5-200-35. 

3. If a licensee makes a payday loan based upon an 
applicant's written representations and responses, then the 
licensee shall transmit the information required by this 
section to the database no later than the time the licensee 
closes for business on the date the database becomes 
accessible to the licensee, either directly or through the 
database provider's call center. 

M. The following provisions address a licensee's inability to 
access the database subsequent to loan application: 

1. If a licensee is required to transmit to the database 
information regarding a loan that has already been made, 
but the licensee is unable to access the database due to 
technical problems beyond the licensee's control, then the 
licensee shall contact the database provider's call center 
and request that the call center enter the information 
required by this section on the licensee's behalf. The 
licensee shall document in its records the technical 
problems it experienced, the specific information it 
provided to the call center, the date and time of the phone 
call, and the first and last name [ or identification number ] 
of the person in the call center who entered the information 
on the licensee's behalf. 

2. If a licensee is required to transmit to the database 
information regarding a loan that has already been made, 
but the licensee is unable to access the database due to 
technical problems beyond the licensee's control and the 
database provider's call center is closed or also unable to 
access the database, then the licensee shall transmit to the 
database the information required by this section no later 
than the time the licensee closes for business on the date 
the database becomes accessible to the licensee, either 
directly or through the database provider's call center. The 
licensee shall also document in its records the technical 

problems it experienced and the date and time that it 
sought to transmit the information to the database. 

 [ N. By the close of business on each business day, a 
licensee shall transmit to the database the total daily number 
(even if 0) of individuals who were unable to obtain payday 
loans from the licensee because they are members of the 
military services of the United States or the spouses or other 
dependents of members of the military services of the United 
States. If the licensee is unable to access the database due to 
technical problems beyond the licensee's control, then the 
licensee shall transmit to the database the information 
required by this subsection no later than the time the licensee 
closes for business on the next business day that the licensee 
is able to access the database. The licensee shall also 
document in its records the technical problems it experienced 
and the date and time that it sought to transmit the 
information to the database. ]  

[ N. O. ] A licensee shall have limited access to the 
information contained in the database. The database shall 
only provide a licensee with the following information: (i) 
whether an applicant is eligible for a new payday loan; (ii) if 
an applicant is ineligible for a new payday loan, the general 
reason for the ineligibility (e.g., the database may state that 
the applicant has an outstanding payday loan but it shall not 
furnish any details regarding the outstanding loan); and (iii) if 
an applicant is eligible for a new payday loan, whether the 
applicant is also eligible for an extended payment plan or 
extended term loan. [ The database shall also permit a 
licensee to access information that the licensee is required to 
transmit to the database provided that such access is for the 
sole purpose of verifying, updating, or correcting the 
information. ] Except as [ otherwise ] provided in this 
subsection, a licensee shall be prohibited from accessing or 
otherwise obtaining any information contained in or derived 
from the database. 

[ O. P. ] If the Commissioner of Financial Institutions 
determines that a licensee has ceased business but still has 
one or more outstanding payday loans that cannot be repaid 
due to the licensee's closure, the Commissioner of Financial 
Institutions may authorize the database provider to mark the 
outstanding loans as satisfied in the database in order to 
enable the affected borrowers to obtain payday loans in the 
future. 

 [ P. Q. ] 1. Except as provided in subsection F of 10VAC5-
200-35, payday loans made on or after October 1, 2008, and 
prior to January 1, 2009, that remain outstanding on January 
1, 2009, shall be considered for purposes of determining a 
borrower's eligibility for a payday loan. Accordingly, on or 
before January 1, 2009, a licensee shall transmit the following 
information to the database in connection with every payday 
loan made on or after October 1, 2008, that will or may be 
outstanding as of January 1, 2009: 

a. Name of licensee and license number. 
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b. Office location of licensee. 

c. [ Name First and last name or identification number ] 
of employee entering information into the database. 

d. Borrower's first and last name. 

e. Last four digits of borrower's driver's license number 
or [ DMV Identification Card identification card ] 
number. 

f. Borrower's address. 

[ g. Borrower's date of birth. ]  

[ g. h. ] Date loan funds were disbursed. 

 [ h. i. ] Date loan is due. 

2. A licensee shall obtain and retain the borrower 
information required by this subsection in accordance with 
the provisions of subsection D of this section. 

3. For every payday loan made on or after October 1, 2008, 
that remains outstanding as of January 1, 2009, a licensee 
shall transmit to the database all applicable information 
required by subsection J of this section [ by within ] the 
time [ the licensee closes for business on the date of the 
event prescribed therein ] or January 1, 2009, whichever is 
later. 

10VAC5-200-120. Enforcement. 

A. Failure to comply with any provision of the Act or this 
chapter may result in fines, license suspension, or license 
revocation. 

B. Pursuant to § 6.1-467 of the Code of Virginia, a licensee 
shall be subject to a separate fine of up to $1,000 for every 
violation of the Act, this chapter, or other law or regulation 
applicable to the conduct of the licensee's business. If a 
licensee violates any provision of the Act, this chapter, or 
other law or regulation applicable to the conduct of the 
licensee's business in connection with multiple loans or 
borrowers, the licensee shall be subject to a separate fine for 
each loan or borrower. For example, if a licensee makes five 
loans and the licensee violates two provisions of this chapter 
that are applicable to the five loans, the licensee shall be 
subject to a maximum fine of $10,000. 

C. If a licensee (i) fails to transmit information to the payday 
lending database in accordance with the Act or 10VAC5-200-
110, (ii) transmits incorrect information to the database, or 
(iii) transmits information to the database in an untimely 
manner, the licensee shall be subject to a separate fine under 
§ 6.1-467 of the Code of Virginia for each item of data that is 
omitted, incorrect, or untimely. For example, if a licensee 
makes three loans and fails to transmit two items of 
information to the database in connection with each of the 
three loans, the licensee shall be subject to a maximum fine of 
$6,000. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1380; Filed October 7, 2008, 3:26 p.m.  

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR’S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 
of the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 10VAC5-200. Payday Lending (adding 
10VAC5-200-115). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 6.1-453.1, 6.1-460 and 12.1-13 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2009. 

Agency Contact: E. J. Face, Jr., BFI Commissioner, State 
Corporation Commission, P. O. Box 640, Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 371-9659, FAX (804) 371-9416, or 
email joe.face@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The State Corporation Commission is adopting a 
regulation to establish the amount of the database inquiry 
fee that licensed payday lenders will be required to pay to 
the database provider in connection with every 
consummated payday loan. The final regulation is 
identical to the proposed regulation.  

AT RICHMOND, SEPTEMBER 25, 2008 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. BFI-2008-00309 

Ex Parte: In re: payday lending  
database inquiry fee 

ORDER ADOPTING A REGULATION 

By Order entered in this case on July 10, 2008, the State 
Corporation Commission ("Commission") directed that notice 
be given of its proposal, acting pursuant to § 6.1-458 of the 
Payday Loan Act, to promulgate a regulation to establish the 
amount of the database inquiry fee that each licensee will be 
required to pay to the database provider in connection with 
each consummated payday loan to defray the cost of 
submitting a database inquiry.  Notice of the proposed 
regulation was published in the Virginia Register on August 
4, 2008, posted on the Commission's website, and sent by the 
Commissioner of Financial Institutions to all licensed payday 
lenders and other interested persons.  Licensees and other 
interested persons were afforded the opportunity to file 
written comments or request a hearing on or before 
August 20, 2008.   
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The Commission received comment letters from Ms. Joyce 
Hann, who supported the proposed regulation, and Mr. Sanjiv 
Shah, President of Checks Mate, Inc., who objected to the 
requirement that licensees remit the database inquiry fees to 
the database provider on a weekly basis.  However, this 
requirement comes directly from § 6.1-453.1 B 4 of the Code 
of Virginia.  The Commission did not receive any requests for 
a hearing. 

THE COMMISSION, having considered the proposed 
regulation and comments, is of the opinion that the attached 
regulation should be adopted as final. The Commission 
further concludes that the regulation should have a delayed 
effective date of January 1, 2009, to coincide with the date 
that licensees are required to begin submitting inquiries to the 
payday lending database. 

THEREFORE IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The new regulation at 10VAC5-200-115, which is 
attached hereto and made a part hereof, should be, and it is 
hereby, ADOPTED effective January 1, 2009; 

(2) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
shall forthwith cause a copy of this Order, including a copy of 
the final regulation, to be forwarded to the Virginia Registrar 
of Regulations for publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations; 

(3) This Order and the attached regulation shall be posted on 
the Commission's website at www.scc.virginia.gov/case; and 

(4) This case is dismissed from the Commission's docket of 
active cases.Commissioner Dimitri did not participate in this 
matter. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 
the Commission to the Commissioner of Financial 
Institutions, who shall forthwith mail a copy of this Order and 
the final regulation to all licensed payday lenders and such 
other interested persons as he may designate. 

10VAC5-200-115. Database inquiry fee. 

Pursuant to subdivision B 4 of § 6.1-453.1 of the Code of 
Virginia, a licensed payday lender shall pay a database 
inquiry fee to the database provider in connection with every 
payday loan consummated by the licensee. The amount of the 
database inquiry fee shall not exceed $5.00 per loan, which 
shall be remitted by each licensee directly to the database 
provider on a weekly basis. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1401; Filed October 7, 2008, 3:26 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 11. GAMING 

CHARITABLE GAMING BOARD 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following model public 
participation guidelines are exempt from Article 2 (§ 2.2-
4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of 
Virginia pursuant to Chapter 321 of the 2008 Acts of 
Assembly. 

Titles of Regulations: 11VAC15-12. Public Participation 
Guidelines (repealing 11VAC15-12-10, 11VAC15-12-20). 

11VAC15-13. Public Participation Guidelines (adding 
11VAC15-13-10 through 11VAC15-13-110). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 18.2-340.18 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 26, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Betty Bowman, Acting Division Director, 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 101 N. 
14th St., 17th Floor, James Monroe Building, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 786-3015, FAX (804) 786-1079, or 
email betty.bowman@dcg.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulations comply with the legislative mandate 
(Chapter 321, 2008 Acts of Assembly) that agencies adopt 
model public participation guidelines issued by the 
Department of Planning and Budget by December 1, 2008. 
Public participation guidelines exist to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment, or repeal of 
an agency's regulations.  

This regulatory action repeals the current public 
participation guidelines and promulgates new public 
participation guidelines as required by Chapter 321 of the 
2008 Acts of Assembly. Highlights of the public 
participation guidelines include (i) providing for the 
establishment and maintenance of notification lists of 
interested persons and specifying the information to be 
sent to such persons; (ii) providing for public comments on 
regulatory action; (iii) establishing the time period during 
which public comments shall be accepted; (iv) providing 
that the plan to hold a public meeting shall be indicated in 
any notice of intended regulatory action; (v) providing for 
the appointment, when necessary, of regulatory advisory 
panels to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance and negotiated rulemaking panels if a 
regulatory action is expected to be controversial; and (vi) 
providing for the periodic review of regulations. 
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CHAPTER 13  
PUBLIC PARTICIPATION GUIDELINES  

Part I  
Purpose and Definitions  

11VAC15-13-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment or repeal of the 
regulations of the Charitable Gaming Board. This chapter 
does not apply to regulations, guidelines, or other documents 
exempted or excluded from the provisions of the 
Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia). 

11VAC15-13-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 
et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency" means the Charitable Gaming Board, which is the 
unit of state government empowered by the agency's basic 
law to make regulations or decide cases. Actions specified in 
this chapter may be fulfilled by state employees as delegated 
by the agency. 

"Basic law" means provisions in the Code of Virginia that 
delineate the basic authority and responsibilities of an agency. 

"Commonwealth Calendar" means the electronic calendar 
for official government meetings open to the public as 
required by § 2.2-3707 C of the Freedom of Information Act. 

''Negotiated rulemaking panel'' or ''NRP'' means an ad hoc 
advisory panel of interested parties established by an agency 
to consider issues that are controversial with the assistance of 
a facilitator or mediator, for the purpose of reaching a 
consensus in the development of a proposed regulatory 
action. 

"Notification list" means a list used to notify persons 
pursuant to this chapter. Such a list may include an electronic 
list maintained through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall or 
other list maintained by the agency. 

"Open meeting" means any scheduled gathering of a unit of 
state government empowered by an agency's basic law to 
make regulations or decide cases, which is related to 
promulgating, amending or repealing a regulation. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, cooperative, limited liability company, trust, joint 
venture, government, political subdivision, or any other legal 
or commercial entity and any successor, representative, agent, 
agency, or instrumentality thereof. 

"Public hearing" means a scheduled time at which members 
or staff of the agency will meet for the purpose of receiving 
public comment on a regulatory action. 

"Regulation" means any statement of general application 
having the force of law, affecting the rights or conduct of any 
person, adopted by the agency in accordance with the 
authority conferred on it by applicable laws. 

"Regulatory action" means the promulgation, amendment, or 
repeal of a regulation by the agency. 

"Regulatory advisory panel" or "RAP" means a standing or 
ad hoc advisory panel of interested parties established by the 
agency for the purpose of assisting in regulatory actions. 

"Town Hall" means the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, the 
website operated by the Virginia Department of Planning and 
Budget at www.townhall.virginia.gov, which has online 
public comment forums and displays information about 
regulatory meetings and regulatory actions under 
consideration in Virginia and sends this information to 
registered public users. 

"Virginia Register" means the Virginia Register of 
Regulations, the publication that provides official legal notice 
of new, amended and repealed regulations of state agencies, 
which is published under the provisions of Article 6 (§ 2.2-
4031 et seq.) of the Administrative Process Act. 

Part II  
Notification of Interested Persons 

11VAC15-13-30. Notification list. 

A. The agency shall maintain a list of persons who have 
requested to be notified of regulatory actions being pursued 
by the agency. 

B. Any person may request to be placed on a notification list 
by registering as a public user on the Town Hall or by making 
a request to the agency. Any person who requests to be placed 
on a notification list shall elect to be notified either by 
electronic means or through a postal carrier. 

C. The agency may maintain additional lists for persons who 
have requested to be informed of specific regulatory issues, 
proposals, or actions. 

D. When electronic mail is returned as undeliverable on 
multiple occasions at least 24 hours apart, that person may be 
deleted from the list. A single undeliverable message is 
insufficient cause to delete the person from the list. 

E. When mail delivered by a postal carrier is returned as 
undeliverable on multiple occasions, that person may be 
deleted from the list. 

F. The agency may periodically request those persons on the 
notification list to indicate their desire to either continue to be 
notified electronically, receive documents through a postal 
carrier, or be deleted from the list. 
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11VAC15-13-40. Information to be sent to persons on the 
notification list. 

A. To persons electing to receive electronic notification or 
notification through a postal carrier as described in 
11VAC15-13-30, the agency shall send the following 
information: 

1. A notice of intended regulatory action (NOIRA). 

2. A notice of the comment period on a proposed, a 
reproposed, or a fast-track regulation and hyperlinks to, or 
instructions on how to obtain, a copy of the regulation and 
any supporting documents. 

3. A notice soliciting comment on a final regulation when 
the regulatory process has been extended pursuant to § 2.2-
4007.06 or 2.2-4013 C of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The failure of any person to receive any notice or copies 
of any documents shall not affect the validity of any 
regulation or regulatory action. 

Part III  
Public Participation Procedures  

11VAC15-13-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 
action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 
opportunity to submit data, views, and arguments, either 
orally or in writing, to the agency. Such opportunity to 
comment shall include an online public comment forum on 
the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 
copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 
issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 
fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 
public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 
to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 
submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 
the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 
as follows:  

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 
(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 
publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 
publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 
of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 
listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 
substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 
he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 
calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 
changes in accordance with § 2.2-4013 C of the Code of 
Virginia.  

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 
description of public comment to all public commenters on 
the proposed regulation at least five days before final 
adoption of the regulation pursuant to § 2.2-4012 E of the 
Code of Virginia.  

11VAC15-13-60. Petition for rulemaking. 

A. As provided in § 2.2-4007 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person may petition the agency to consider a regulatory 
action. 

B. A petition shall include but is not limited to the following 
information: 

1. The petitioner's name and contact information; 

2. The substance and purpose of the rulemaking that is 
requested, including reference to any applicable Virginia 
Administrative Code sections; and 

3. Reference to the legal authority of the agency to take the 
action requested. 

C. The agency shall receive, consider and respond to a 
petition pursuant to § 2.2-4007 and shall have the sole 
authority to dispose of the petition. 

D. The petition shall be posted on the Town Hall and 
published in the Virginia Register. 

E. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit the agency from 
receiving information or from proceeding on its own motion 
for rulemaking. 

11VAC15-13-70. Appointment of regulatory advisory 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a regulatory advisory panel 
(RAP) to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance when the agency determines that such expertise is 
necessary to address a specific regulatory issue or action or 
when individuals indicate an interest in working with the 
agency on a specific regulatory issue or action. 
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B. Any person may request the appointment of a RAP and 
request to participate in its activities. The agency shall 
determine when a RAP shall be appointed and the 
composition of the RAP. 

C. A RAP may be dissolved by the agency if: 

1. The proposed text of the regulation is posted on the 
Town Hall, published in the Virginia Register, or such 
other time as the agency determines is appropriate; or 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act. 

11VAC15-13-80. Appointment of negotiated rulemaking 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a negotiated rulemaking panel 
(NRP) if a regulatory action is expected to be controversial. 

B. An NRP that has been appointed by the agency may be 
dissolved by the agency when: 

1. There is no longer controversy associated with the 
development of the regulation; 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act; or 

3. The agency determines that resolution of a controversy 
is unlikely. 

11VAC15-13-90. Meetings. 

Notice of any open meeting, including meetings of a RAP or 
NRP, shall be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 
and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working days 
prior to the date of the meeting. The exception to this 
requirement is any meeting held in accordance with § 2.2-
3707 D of the Code of Virginia allowing for 
contemporaneous notice to be provided to participants and the 
public. 

11VAC15-13-100. Public hearings on regulations. 

A. The agency shall indicate in its notice of intended 
regulatory action whether it plans to hold a public hearing 
following the publication of the proposed stage of the 
regulatory action.  

B. The agency may conduct one or more public hearings 
during the comment period following the publication of a 
proposed regulatory action.  

C. An agency is required to hold a public hearing following 
the publication of the proposed regulatory action when:  

1. The agency's basic law requires the agency to hold a 
public hearing;  

2. The Governor directs the agency to hold a public 
hearing; or  

3. The agency receives requests for a public hearing from 
at least 25 persons during the public comment period 
following the publication of the notice of intended 
regulatory action.  

D. Notice of any public hearing shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working 
days prior to the date of the hearing. The agency shall also 
notify those persons who requested a hearing under 
subdivision C 3 of this section.  

11VAC15-13-110. Periodic review of regulations. 

A. The agency shall conduct a periodic review of its 
regulations consistent with:  

1. An executive order issued by the Governor pursuant to 
§ 2.2-4017 of the Administrative Process Act to receive 
comment on all existing regulations as to their 
effectiveness, efficiency, necessity, clarity, and cost of 
compliance; and  

2. The requirements in § 2.2-4007.1 of the Administrative 
Process Act regarding regulatory flexibility for small 
businesses.  

B. A periodic review may be conducted separately or in 
conjunction with other regulatory actions.  

C. Notice of a periodic review shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and published in the Virginia Register.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1449; Filed October 3, 2008, 10:53 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following model public 
participation guidelines are exempt from Article 2 (§ 2.2-
4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of 
Virginia pursuant to Chapter 321 of the 2008 Acts of 
Assembly. 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC5-10. Public Participation 
Guidelines (repealing 12VAC5-10-10 through 12VAC5-
10-80). 

12VAC5-11. Public Participation Guidelines (adding 
12VAC5-11-10 through 12VAC5-11-110). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 32.1-12 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Douglas R. Harris, Adjudication Officer, 
Department of Health, 109 Governor St., Richmond, VA 
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23219, telephone (804) 864-7001, FAX (804) 864-7022, or 
email doug.harris@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulations comply with the legislative mandate 
(Chapter 321, 2008 Acts of Assembly) that agencies adopt 
model public participation guidelines issued by the 
Department of Planning and Budget by December 1, 2008. 
Public participation guidelines exist to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment, or repeal of 
an agency's regulations.  

This regulatory action repeals the current public 
participation guidelines and promulgates new public 
participation guidelines as required by Chapter 321 of the 
2008 Acts of Assembly. Highlights of the public 
participation guidelines include (i) providing for the 
establishment and maintenance of notification lists of 
interested persons and specifying the information to be 
sent to such persons; (ii) providing for public comments on 
regulatory actions; (iii) establishing the time period during 
which public comments shall be accepted; (iv) providing 
that the plan to hold a public meeting shall be indicated in 
any notice of intended regulatory action; (v) providing for 
the appointment, when necessary, of regulatory advisory 
panels to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance and negotiated rulemaking panels if a 
regulatory action is expected to be controversial; and (vi) 
providing for the periodic review of regulations. 

CHAPTER 11  
PUBLIC PARTICIPATION GUIDELINES  

Part I  
Purpose and Definitions  

12VAC5-11-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment or repeal of the 
regulations of the State Board of Health. This chapter does 
not apply to regulations, guidelines, or other documents 
exempted or excluded from the provisions of the 
Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia). 

12VAC5-11-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 
et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency" means the State Board of Health, which is the unit 
of state government empowered by the agency's basic law to 
make regulations or decide cases. Actions specified in this 
chapter may be fulfilled by state employees as delegated by 
the agency. 

"Basic law" means provisions in the Code of Virginia that 
delineate the basic authority and responsibilities of an agency. 

"Commonwealth Calendar" means the electronic calendar 
for official government meetings open to the public as 
required by § 2.2-3707 C of the Freedom of Information Act. 

''Negotiated rulemaking panel'' or ''NRP'' means an ad hoc 
advisory panel of interested parties established by an agency 
to consider issues that are controversial with the assistance of 
a facilitator or mediator, for the purpose of reaching a 
consensus in the development of a proposed regulatory 
action. 

"Notification list" means a list used to notify persons 
pursuant to this chapter. Such a list may include an electronic 
list maintained through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall or 
other list maintained by the agency. 

"Open meeting" means any scheduled gathering of a unit of 
state government empowered by an agency's basic law to 
make regulations or decide cases, which is related to 
promulgating, amending or repealing a regulation. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, cooperative, limited liability company, trust, joint 
venture, government, political subdivision, or any other legal 
or commercial entity and any successor, representative, agent, 
agency, or instrumentality thereof. 

"Public hearing" means a scheduled time at which members 
or staff of the agency will meet for the purpose of receiving 
public comment on a regulatory action. 

"Regulation" means any statement of general application 
having the force of law, affecting the rights or conduct of any 
person, adopted by the agency in accordance with the 
authority conferred on it by applicable laws. 

"Regulatory action" means the promulgation, amendment, or 
repeal of a regulation by the agency. 

"Regulatory advisory panel" or "RAP" means a standing or 
ad hoc advisory panel of interested parties established by the 
agency for the purpose of assisting in regulatory actions. 

"Town Hall" means the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, the 
website operated by the Virginia Department of Planning and 
Budget at www.townhall.virginia.gov, which has online 
public comment forums and displays information about 
regulatory meetings and regulatory actions under 
consideration in Virginia and sends this information to 
registered public users. 

"Virginia Register" means the Virginia Register of 
Regulations, the publication that provides official legal notice 
of new, amended and repealed regulations of state agencies, 
which is published under the provisions of Article 6 (§ 2.2-
4031 et seq.) of the Administrative Process Act. 
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Part II  
Notification of Interested Persons 

12VAC5-11-30. Notification list. 

A. The agency shall maintain a list of persons who have 
requested to be notified of regulatory actions being pursued 
by the agency. 

B. Any person may request to be placed on a notification list 
by registering as a public user on the Town Hall or by making 
a request to the agency. Any person who requests to be placed 
on a notification list shall elect to be notified either by 
electronic means or through a postal carrier. 

C. The agency may maintain additional lists for persons who 
have requested to be informed of specific regulatory issues, 
proposals, or actions. 

D. When electronic mail is returned as undeliverable on 
multiple occasions at least 24 hours apart, that person may be 
deleted from the list. A single undeliverable message is 
insufficient cause to delete the person from the list. 

E. When mail delivered by a postal carrier is returned as 
undeliverable on multiple occasions, that person may be 
deleted from the list. 

F. The agency may periodically request those persons on the 
notification list to indicate their desire to either continue to be 
notified electronically, receive documents through a postal 
carrier, or be deleted from the list. 

12VAC5-11-40. Information to be sent to persons on the 
notification list. 

A. To persons electing to receive electronic notification or 
notification through a postal carrier as described in 12VAC5-
11-30, the agency shall send the following information: 

1. A notice of intended regulatory action (NOIRA). 

2. A notice of the comment period on a proposed, a 
reproposed, or a fast-track regulation and hyperlinks to, or 
instructions on how to obtain, a copy of the regulation and 
any supporting documents. 

3. A notice soliciting comment on a final regulation when 
the regulatory process has been extended pursuant to § 2.2-
4007.06 or 2.2-4013 C of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The failure of any person to receive any notice or copies 
of any documents shall not affect the validity of any 
regulation or regulatory action. 

Part III  
Public Participation Procedures  

12VAC5-11-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 
action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 
opportunity to submit data, views, and arguments, either 

orally or in writing, to the agency. Such opportunity to 
comment shall include an online public comment forum on 
the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 
copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 
issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 
fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 
public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 
to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 
submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 
the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 
as follows:  

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 
(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 
publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 
publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 
of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 
listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 
substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 
he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 
calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 
changes in accordance with § 2.2-4013 C of the Code of 
Virginia.  

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 
description of public comment to all public commenters on 
the proposed regulation at least five days before final 
adoption of the regulation pursuant to § 2.2-4012 E of the 
Code of Virginia.  

12VAC5-11-60. Petition for rulemaking. 

A. As provided in § 2.2-4007 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person may petition the agency to consider a regulatory 
action. 
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B. A petition shall include but is not limited to the following 
information: 

1. The petitioner's name and contact information; 

2. The substance and purpose of the rulemaking that is 
requested, including reference to any applicable Virginia 
Administrative Code sections; and 

3. Reference to the legal authority of the agency to take the 
action requested. 

C. The agency shall receive, consider and respond to a 
petition pursuant to § 2.2-4007 and shall have the sole 
authority to dispose of the petition. 

D. The petition shall be posted on the Town Hall and 
published in the Virginia Register. 

E. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit the agency from 
receiving information or from proceeding on its own motion 
for rulemaking. 

12VAC5-11-70. Appointment of regulatory advisory 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a regulatory advisory panel 
(RAP) to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance when the agency determines that such expertise is 
necessary to address a specific regulatory issue or action or 
when individuals indicate an interest in working with the 
agency on a specific regulatory issue or action. 

B. Any person may request the appointment of a RAP and 
request to participate in its activities. The agency shall 
determine when a RAP shall be appointed and the 
composition of the RAP. 

C. A RAP may be dissolved by the agency if: 

1. The proposed text of the regulation is posted on the 
Town Hall, published in the Virginia Register, or such 
other time as the agency determines is appropriate; or 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act. 

12VAC5-11-80. Appointment of negotiated rulemaking 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a negotiated rulemaking panel 
(NRP) if a regulatory action is expected to be controversial. 

B. An NRP that has been appointed by the agency may be 
dissolved by the agency when: 

1. There is no longer controversy associated with the 
development of the regulation; 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act; or 

3. The agency determines that resolution of a controversy 
is unlikely. 

12VAC5-11-90. Meetings. 

Notice of any open meeting, including meetings of a RAP or 
NRP, shall be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 
and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working days 
prior to the date of the meeting. The exception to this 
requirement is any meeting held in accordance with § 2.2-
3707 D of the Code of Virginia allowing for 
contemporaneous notice to be provided to participants and the 
public. 

12VAC5-11-100. Public hearings on regulations. 

A. The agency shall indicate in its notice of intended 
regulatory action whether it plans to hold a public hearing 
following the publication of the proposed stage of the 
regulatory action.  

B. The agency may conduct one or more public hearings 
during the comment period following the publication of a 
proposed regulatory action.  

C. An agency is required to hold a public hearing following 
the publication of the proposed regulatory action when:  

1. The agency's basic law requires the agency to hold a 
public hearing;  

2. The Governor directs the agency to hold a public 
hearing; or  

3. The agency receives requests for a public hearing from 
at least 25 persons during the public comment period 
following the publication of the notice of intended 
regulatory action.  

D. Notice of any public hearing shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working 
days prior to the date of the hearing. The agency shall also 
notify those persons who requested a hearing under 
subdivision C 3 of this section.  

12VAC5-11-110. Periodic review of regulations. 

A. The agency shall conduct a periodic review of its 
regulations consistent with:  

1. An executive order issued by the Governor pursuant to 
§ 2.2-4017 of the Administrative Process Act to receive 
comment on all existing regulations as to their 
effectiveness, efficiency, necessity, clarity, and cost of 
compliance; and  

2. The requirements in § 2.2-4007.1 of the Administrative 
Process Act regarding regulatory flexibility for small 
businesses.  

B. A periodic review may be conducted separately or in 
conjunction with other regulatory actions.  
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C. Notice of a periodic review shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and published in the Virginia Register.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1450; Filed October 8, 2008, 11:11 a.m.  

Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-67. Advance Health Care 
Directive Registry (adding 12VAC5-67-10, 12VAC5-67-
20, 12VAC5-67-30). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2994 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: November 1, 2008, through October 31, 
2009. 

Agency Contact: Kimberly S. Barnes, Policy Analyst, 
Department of Health, 109 Governor St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 864-7661, or email 
kim.barnes@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Preamble:  

Chapters 301 and 696 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly 
require the board to make available a secure online 
central registry for advance health care directives. 

The key provisions of this regulation consist of a 
description of the documents that may be submitted to the 
Advance Health Care Directive Registry, a provision for 
reasonable fees to be charged by a vendor with whom the 
Department of Health may contract for implementing the 
registry, and provisions outlining who may gain access to 
documents in the registry. 

CHAPTER 67  
ADVANCE HEALTH CARE DIRECTIVE REGISTRY  

12VAC5-67-10. General provisions. 

A. In accordance with Article 9 (§ 54.1-2995 et seq.) of 
Chapter 29 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and this 
chapter, the Department of Health shall make available to the 
public an Advance Health Care Directive Registry by 
contracting with a vendor, publicizing the availability of an 
existing registry maintained by another entity or entering into 
a public-private partnership. 

B. The department shall ensure that the contracted vendor, 
public-private partnership or any other entity through which 
the department has made the Registry available to citizens of 
the Commonwealth annually contacts persons who have 
registered documents to remind them of which documents 
they have registered. 

12VAC5-67-20. Criteria for submission of an advance 
directive to the Registry. 

A. Documents that may be submitted to the Registry 
include: 

1. A health care power of attorney. 

2. An advance directive created pursuant to Article 8 
(§ 54.1-2981 et seq.) of Chapter 29 of Title 54.1 of the 
Code of Virginia or a subsequent act of the General 
Assembly. 

3. A declaration of an anatomical gift made pursuant to the 
Revised Uniform Anatomical Gift Act (§ 32.1-291.1 et 
seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

B. Any document and any revocation of a document 
submitted for filing in the Registry shall be notarized 
regardless of whether notarization is required for its validity. 
The document shall be submitted for filing only by the person 
who executed the document. 

C. The person submitting documents to the Registry shall be 
responsible for payment of any fee required by the contracted 
vendor, public-private partnership or any other entity through 
which the department has made the Registry available to 
citizens of the Commonwealth. Fees associated with the 
Registry shall not exceed the direct costs associated with the 
development and maintenance of the registry and with the 
education of the public about the availability of the registry.  

12VAC5-67-30. Access to the registry. 

The person registering documents may specify a legal 
representative or other persons to have access to such 
documents. It shall be the responsibility of the person 
registering to provide all such persons with the information 
necessary to access the Registry. Unless otherwise specified 
by the person registering documents on the Registry, access 
to the Registry shall be limited to hospitals, nursing homes 
and doctors of medicine or osteopathic medicine licensed in 
the Commonwealth.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1382; Filed October 8, 2008, 11:10 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-120. Regulations for Testing 
Children for Elevated Blood-Lead Levels (amending 
12VAC5-120-10, 12VAC5-120-30; adding 12VAC5-120-
35). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-46.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

December 10, 2008 - 10 a.m. - Madison Building, 109 
Governor St., 5th Floor Conference Room, Richmond, 
VA  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on December 26, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Nancy Van Voorhis, Director, Lead Safe 
Virginia, Department of Health, 109 Governor St., Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7694, or email 
nancy.vanvoorhis@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The legal authority to promulgate the regulation is 
§ 32.1-46.1 of the Code of Virginia, which requires health 
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care providers to make available information on the dangers 
of lead poisoning, along with a list of available resources, to 
parents as part of regular well-check visits for all children. 

Purpose: The amended regulation is needed to require 
physicians to provide information to parents on the dangers of 
lead poisoning, hopefully reducing childhood exposure to 
lead in the environment; this amendment will bring the 
regulations into compliance with the requirements of the 
Code of Virginia. Another amendment will provide health 
care providers with an additional option for screening 
children for elevated blood-lead levels. 

Substance: The addition of language to approve the Clinical 
Laboratory Improvement Amendments (CLIA)-waived 
instruments for administering screening tests provides 
additional tools for screening for elevated blood-lead levels. 
The language requiring health care providers to provide 
information on the dangers of lead poisoning to parents 
during well-check visits increases the awareness of the 
dangers and should aid in the detection and treatment of 
elevated blood-lead levels. 

Issues: The proposed changes provide for an additional 
screening method and provide more educational material to 
parents on the dangers of lead poisoning. Both are advantages 
associated with implementing these changes. There are no 
disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Regulation. The State Board of 
Heath (Board) proposes to amend the existing Regulations for 
Testing Children for Elevated Blood-Lead Levels. The 
proposed amendments will allow the use of CDC1-approved 
and CLIA2-waived instruments for point of care testing3 to 
screen for elevated blood-lead levels, provided that any 
elevated blood-lead level found through point of care testing 
is followed up by a venous blood-lead test performed by a 
qualified laboratory. The proposed regulation also requires 
that health care providers make information on the dangers of 
lead poisoning available to parents during regular well check 
visits for all children up to 72 months of age. 

Results of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
all proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. In Virginia, the main source of 
childhood lead poisoning is paint in homes built before 1978 
(before lead paint was banned). As the paint ages, it may chip 
and peel, or form invisible lead dust. Lead dust can also form 
when painted surfaces are rubbed together, scraped, or 
sanded, like in a window frame or while a home is being 
renovated. The dust settles on places where babies and young 
children crawl and play. They swallow lead when they put 
dust-covered surfaces, like their hands and toys, in their 
mouths. They may also eat visible chips of paint. 

The Regulations for Testing Children for Elevated Blood-
Lead Levels (regulations) require that all children up to and 
including 72 months of age be tested for elevated blood-lead 
levels unless they are determined to be at low risk for 
elevated blood-lead levels. Currently the regulation requires 
that all blood-lead samples be analyzed by a qualified 
laboratory.  The Board proposes to amend the existing 
regulations and allow the use of CDC-approved and CLIA-
waived instruments for point of care testing to screen for 
elevated blood-lead levels. Any elevated blood-lead level 
found through point of care testing shall be confirmed by a 
venous blood-lead test performed by a qualified laboratory. 

The use of CLIA-waived instruments for blood-lead 
screening test will allow children to be tested and treated for 
lead poisoning much easier and faster. Instead of going to a 
laboratory at a later time, the children can be tested in a 
doctor’s office or clinic during their regular wellness check 
visits. Currently the only CDC-approved and CLIA-waived 
instrument for blood-lead test is LeadCare II Blood Lead 
Testing System made by ESA Biosciences. According to the 
U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA),  the test measures 
lead in blood samples taken from a patient in a doctor’s office 
or clinic, and gives results in as little as 3 minutes. If the test 
indicates elevated lead levels, a second sample can be 
obtained before the patient leaves that can be sent to a 
qualified laboratory for a confirmed test. Furthermore, if the 
result indicates high levels of lead, doctors and the parents 
can begin discussing treatment options immediately.  

FDA reports that studies show nearly 98 percent of the values 
measured by the test instrument were within the Occupational 
Safety and Health Administration’s recommendations for 
blood lead proficiency testing.  The proposed regulations 
require that any elevated blood-lead level found through point 
of care testing be confirmed by a venous blood-lead test 
performed by a qualified laboratory.  Therefore, the proposed 
regulations will provide children who need to be tested for 
blood-lead levels with a faster and easier screening test 
method without significantly affecting the accuracy of the 
results. 

The savings of a trip to a laboratory will likely increase the 
lead screening rates for children younger than 3. If children 
under 3 years are not tested for the identification of lead 
hazards, they may be at risk of developmental and 
neurological damage that could have been prevented. The 
Virginia Department of Health (VDH) reports that in Fiscal 
Year 2007, there were approximately 119,000 children under 
3 years of age enrolled in Medicaid. These children, under the 
regulations, are required to be tested for blood-lead levels. 
However, only about 16% of the Medicaid eligible children 
of 3 years and younger have been tested. This proposed 
change will help in the detection and treatment of elevated 
blood-lead levels for children who need to be tested.  
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The proposed regulations will likely shift some of the blood-
lead testing businesses from the qualified laboratories to the 
5,800 health care providers or clinics that list their primary 
practice as pediatrics, family medicine, or general practice. 
According to VDH, currently four large laboratories are 
accredited to do lead testing in Virginia, including the 
Virginia Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services, the 
Medical College of Virginia, Children’s Hospital King’s 
Daughters, and Norfolk Department of Public Health 
Laboratory.  One large national lab also has a small 
accredited location in the Commonwealth and performs some 
lead testing. Some large laboratories may have drawing sites 
in Virginia but send the samples to their main facilities out of 
the Commonwealth for lead tests. Among the health care 
providers that list their primary practice as pediatrics, family 
medicine, or general practice, 11 of them are currently using 
some type of CLIA-waived instruments. These health care 
providers would be the potential point-of-care users.  The 
approximate 5,789 health care providers who are not 
currently using any type of CLIA-waived instruments may 
have to apply for a Certificate of Waiver if they opt to use the 
blood-lead test instruments. The application fee will be $150 
every two years. 

The Board also proposes to require health care providers to 
provide information on the dangers of lead poisoning to 
parents as part of regular well check visits for all children up 
to 72 months of age. This proposed change will increase the 
awareness of the dangers and will help in the detection and 
treatment of elevated blood-lead levels. VDH states that the 
information on the dangers of lead poisoning is already 
available and in use by most health care providers. Therefore, 
this proposed change will likely not cause any significant 
costs to the health care providers. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. According to VDH, 
currently there are approximately 5,800 health care providers 
in the Commonwealth that list their primary practice as 
pediatrics, family medicine, or general practice. Among them, 
approximately 11 are currently using some type of CLIA-
waived instruments. These health care providers would be the 
potential point-of-care users.  The 2000 Census shows that 
there were 276,483 children under 72 months of age in the 
Commonwealth. The 2007 data shows that there were 221 
confirmed elevated blood lead levels for children under 3 
years of age in 2007.  According to VDH, only the Virginia 
Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services, the Medical 
College of Virginia, Children’s Hospital King’s Daughters, 
Norfolk Department of Public Health Laboratory, and a small 
location of a national lab are accredited to do lead testing in 
Virginia. Some large laboratories have drawing sites in 
Virginia but conduct lead tests outside of the Commonwealth. 
VDH reports that currently 8 out of state labs report to VDH 
on a regular basis. This number may vary from time to time. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
will affect all of the localities in the Commonwealth, 

especially the areas that are listed as high-risk zip code areas 
in guidelines issued by VDH. These areas have 27% or more 
of the housing built before 1950 or 12% or more of the 
children with elevated blood-lead levels based on current 
available data. 

Projected Impact on Employment. Allowing the use of CDC-
approved and CLIA-waived instruments for blood-lead 
screening tests will likely increase the hours worked for the 
potential point-of-care users. On the other hand, laboratories 
that conduct lead testing and those that have blood-drawing 
stations in Virginia may experience reduction in their 
business, which may adversely affect the hours worked and 
the number of people employed in those laboratories.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Allowing 
children to be tested for blood-lead levels in a doctor’s office 
or clinic will likely increase the profits of the doctors and the 
clinics, which will have a positive effect on the value of their 
property. The qualified laboratories may see reduction in their 
lead testing business, which may adversely affect their profits 
and the value of their property. Among the private entities, 
currently only one large national lab has a small accredited 
location in the Commonwealth and performs some lead 
testing. Since lead testing is not a major component of its 
business, the impact will likely not be substantive. Some 
laboratories that only have drawing sites in Virginia may also 
see a slight reduction in their business, which may adversely 
affect the value of their property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Allowing the use 
of CDC-approved and CLIA-waived instruments for blood-
lead screening tests may increase the profits of the potential 
users. There are approximately 5,800 health care providers in 
the Commonwealth that list their primary practice as 
pediatrics, family medicine, or general practice.  Most of 
them are small businesses. The qualified laboratories may 
experience reduction in their lead testing businesses, which 
may adversely affect their profits. Among the private entities, 
currently only one large national lab has a small accredited 
location in the Commonwealth and performs some lead 
testing. Since lead testing is not a major component of its 
business, the impact will likely not be substantive. Some 
laboratories that only have drawing sites in Virginia may also 
see a slight reduction in their business. Currently there are 8 
out of state laboratories reporting to VDH on a regular basis. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Doctor’s offices and small clinics will likely 
benefit from the proposed regulations. Small laboratories may 
experience slight reduction in their lead testing business. 
There is no alternative method that will generate lower 
adverse impact.  

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
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(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

__________________________________ 
1 CDC refers to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 
2 CLIA refers to for Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments of 1988 (42 CFR 
Part 493). 
3 According to the proposed regulation, "point of care testing" refers to testing by a 
health care provider that has a CLIA Certificate of Waiver. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The department concurs 
generally with the economic impact analysis performed by 
the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments permit the use of the Clinical 
Laboratory Improvement Amendments (CLIA)-waived 
instruments for point-of-care testing to screen for elevated 
blood-lead levels, provided any elevated blood-lead level is 
followed up with a venous blood-lead test performed by a 
qualified laboratory. The proposed amendments also 
require health care providers to make information 
available on the dangers of lead poisoning, along with a 
list of available resources, to parents as part of regular 
well-check visits for all children up to 72 months of age. 

Part I  
Definitions and General Information 

12VAC5-120-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Board" means the State Board of Health. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Health. 

"Elevated blood-lead level" for children means 10 or more 
micrograms of lead per deciliter of whole blood in a child up 
to and including 72 months of age. 

"Health care provider" means a physician or his designee or 
an official of a local health department. 

"High-risk zip code ZIP Code area" means a zip code ZIP 
Code area listed in guidelines issued by the Virginia 
Department of Health in which 27% or more of the housing 
was built before 1950 or 12% or more of the children have 
elevated blood-lead levels based on current available data.  

"Physician" means a person licensed to practice medicine in 
any of the 50 states or the District of Columbia.  

"Point of care testing" refers to testing by a health care 
provider that has a CLIA Certificate of Waiver. 

"Qualified laboratory" means a laboratory that is certified by 
the Health Care Financing Administration in accordance with 
the Clinical Laboratory Improvement Act (42 CFR Part 430) 
Amendments of 1988 (CLIA) (42 CFR Part 493) and is 
participating in the Centers for Disease Control and 
Prevention's (CDC) Blood Lead Laboratory Proficiency 
Program.  

"μg/dL" means micrograms of lead per deciliter of whole 
blood.  

Part II  
Protocol for Identification of Children with Elevated Blood-

Lead Levels 

12VAC5-120-30. Schedule for testing. 

Virginia health care providers should test all children up to 
and including 72 months of age for elevated blood-lead levels 
according to the following schedule unless they are 
determined under 12VAC5-120-60 to be at low risk for 
elevated blood-lead levels. All blood-lead samples shall be 
analyzed by a qualified laboratory. The use of a CDC-
approved and CLIA-waived instrument for point-of-care 
testing, as a means of administering screening tests for 
elevated blood-lead levels, is exempted from the requirement 
to have all blood-lead samples analyzed by a qualified 
laboratory. However, any elevated blood-lead level found 
through point-of-care testing to be equal to or greater than 10 
μg/dL shall be confirmed by a venous blood-lead test 
performed by a qualified laboratory in accordance with the 
requirements of 12VAC5-120-40. 

1. Children should be tested at ages one and two years.  

2. Children from 36 through 72 months of age should be 
tested if they have never been tested.  

3. Additional testing may be ordered by the health care 
provider.  
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4. Children should be tested at the request of a parent or 
guardian due to any suspected exposure.  

12VAC5-120-35. Information about lead poisoning. 

The health care provider shall make available to parents 
information on the dangers of lead poisoning, along with a 
list of available resources, as part of regular well-check visits 
for all children up to 72 months of age. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-917; Filed September 29, 2008, 11:16 a.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 
exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance 
with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, which 
excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 
requirements of federal law or regulations provided such 
regulations do not differ materially from those required by 
federal law or regulation. The Department of Medical 
Assistance Services will receive, consider and respond to 
petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-10. State Plan Under Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act Medical Assistance 
Program; General Provisions (adding 12VAC30-10-815). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 26, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 E. Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulatory action is intended to implement § 6034 of 
the Deficit Reduction Act (DRA) of 2005. This section of 
the DRA is based upon § 1902(a)(69) of the Social Security 
Act (the Act), and relates to "Cooperation with Medicaid 
Integrity Program Efforts." This regulatory change will 
enhance federal and state oversight of and increase 
enforcement actions against fraud and abuse in the 
Medicaid program. The amendment merely assures the 
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) of the 
Commonwealth comply with federal statutory and 
regulatory requirements. 

Section 1902(a)(69) of the Social Security Act requires that 
the Medicaid State Plan "provide that the States must 
comply with any requirements determined by the Secretary 
to be necessary for carrying out the Medicaid Integrity 

Program established under § 1936." The Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services provided the Department 
of Medical Assistance Services with the specific document 
language to implement this requirement. This document 
was a preprinted form containing the exact and specific 
language that CMS required. 

12VAC30-10-815. Cooperation with Medicaid Integrity 
Program efforts. 

The Medicaid agency assures it complies with such 
requirements determined by the Secretary to be necessary for 
carrying out the Medicaid Integrity Program established 
under § 1936 of the Act.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1588; Filed October 7, 2008, 1:53 p.m.  

STATE MENTAL HEALTH, MENTAL RETARDATION 
AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE SERVICES BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC35-190. Regulations 
Establishing Procedures for Voluntarily Admitting 
Persons Who Are Mentally Retarded to State Mental 
Retardation Facilities (amending 12VAC35-190-10, 
12VAC35-190-21, 12VAC35-190-30, 12VAC35-190-41, 
12VAC35-190-51). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 37.2-203 and 37.2-806 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
December 26, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Dawn Traver, Office of Mental Retardation 
Services, Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation 
and Substance Abuse Services, P.O. Box 1797, 1220 Bank 
St., Richmond, VA 23218-1797, telephone (757) 253-4316, 
FAX (757) 253-5440, or email 
dawn.traver@co.dmhmrsas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The State Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services Board has the statutory authority 
under §§ 37.2-203 and 37.2-806 of the Code of Virginia to 
adopt these regulations. 

Purpose: The action is necessary to clarify the current 
regulatory provisions and to ensure that individuals seeking 
admissions to state training centers have accurate legal 
guidance for seeking such admissions.  These regulations are 
essential to protect the health and welfare of persons who are 
admitted to state training centers by requiring comprehensive 
preadmission screening and appropriate documentation on all 
persons who request admission. This helps to ensure that 
admissions to training centers are appropriate and the needs 
of the individual are addressed when an individual is 
admitted. 
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Substance: A definition for "authorized representative" has 
been added to be consistent with the terminology in the 
recently amended Human Rights Regulations, 12VAC35-115. 
The definition of "legally authorized representative" has been 
stricken. 

A definition of "licensed professional" has been added and 
the regulations are revised to require an individual to have a 
diagnosis of mental retardation made by a licensed 
professional to be considered eligible for admission to a 
training center. 

The timeframe for the director of a facility to make a decision 
on an admission request has been reduced from 30 working 
days to 10 working days from the receipt of the complete 
preadmission screening report. 

Some language and terminology has been revised for clarity 
and consistency with the Code of Virginia and other 
regulations of the board. 

Issues: Throughout the regulations language changes have 
been made to support the concept of person-centeredness and 
a consumer-driven system of services. These changes include 
the replacement of the word "applicant" with "individual." 
Some provisions are reorganized and revised to promote 
clarity and facilitate the process for members of the public 
seeking admissions to training centers. 

The length of time allowed for the director of a facility to 
make a decision on an admission request is reduced from 30 
working days to 10 working days from the receipt of a 
completed preadmission training report. This should be 
reasonable timeframe for the agency and the public. 

The definition of "authorized representative" is updated to 
conform to the recently amended Human Rights Regulations. 
The definition of "case management community services 
board" has been revised to be consistent with the Code of 
Virginia and other agency documents. This will eliminate 
confusion and promote consistent regulatory and 
administrative processes. 

The regulations have been changed to require that a diagnosis 
of mental retardation is made by a "licensed professional" 
rather than an "interdisciplinary team." The term "licensed 
professional" is defined. This is consistent with current 
professional practice. 

There are no other pertinent matters of interest to the 
regulated community, government officials, and the public. 
No disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth are 
noted. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of State Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services proposes to reduce the time frame 

to make a decision on a request for admission to a state 
facility from 30 working days to 10 working days. Also, the 
Board proposes that the diagnosis of mental retardation is 
made by a licensed professional. Finally, the Board proposes 
a number of other changes to update the references to the 
Virginia Code and update specific terms for clarity and 
consistency. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Board of State Mental 
Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services 
(the Board) proposes to reduce the time frame to make a 
decision on a request for admission to a state facility from 30 
working days to 10 working days. According to the 
Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services (DMHMRSAS), these decisions 
are currently made within the 10 working days already. Thus, 
as the proposed changes will more accurately reflect the 
practice already followed, no significant economic effect is 
expected. 

Also, the Board proposes that the diagnosis of mental 
retardation is made by a licensed professional. Similar to the 
previous proposed change, the diagnosis is already made by a 
licensed professional and no change in practice is expected. 
Consequently, no significant effect is likely to result from this 
proposed change. 

Finally, the Board proposes a number of other changes to 
update the references to the Code Virginia and update specific 
terms for clarity and consistency. None of these changes are 
expected to result in any significant economic impact. 

In summary, none of the proposed changes are expected to 
create any significant economic impact, but are expected to 
improve the clarity and consistency of the regulations with 
the current practices in place and with the correct references 
to the Code of Virginia. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulations 
apply to five state training centers, 39 local community 
boards and behavioral health authorities. Approximately, 50 
requests are made for admission to a state facility annually. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 
apply throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed changes are 
not expected to create any significant impact on employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed changes are not expected to create any significant 
impact on the use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. There are no 
significant costs or other effects expected on small 
businesses. 
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Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. No adverse effect on small businesses are 
anticipated. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No significant real estate 
development costs are anticipated. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The agency concurs 
with the economic impact analysis prepared by the 
Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary:  

This action revises the statutory references to reflect the 
recent recodification of Title 37.1 to Title 37.2 of the Code 
of Virginia. Changes have been made to definitions of 
"authorized representative," "case management community 
services board," "mental retardation" and several other 
terms for clarity and consistency with the Code of Virginia 
and other regulations of the board. The application 
process and requirements are revised to require that the 
diagnosis of mental retardation be made by a "licensed 
professional," which has been defined in the regulations. 
The required timeframe for a decision on a request for 
admission has been reduced from 30 to 10 working days 
from the date of receipt of the completed application 
package. 

 

CHAPTER 190  
REGULATIONS ESTABLISHING PROCEDURES FOR 
VOLUNTARILY ADMITTING PERSONS WHO ARE 

MENTALLY RETARDED VOLUNTARY ADMISSIONS 
TO STATE MENTAL RETARDATION FACILITIES 

TRAINING CENTERS 

12VAC35-190-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Admission" means placement of an individual in a 
residential facility for individuals with mental retardation as 
defined in this chapter so that the facility becomes the 
individual's primary locus of care, treatment, and training 
center. 

"Authorized representative" means a person permitted by 
law or regulation to authorize the disclosure of information 
and consent to treatment and services, including medical 
treatment, or the participation in human research on behalf of 
an individual who lacks the mental capacity to make these 
decisions. 

"Case management community services board (CSB)" or 
"CSB" means a citizens board the public body established 
pursuant to § 37.1-195 § 37.2-501 of the Code of Virginia 
that serves the area in which an adult resides or in which a 
minor's parent, or guardian or legally authorized 
representative resides. The case management CSB is 
responsible for case management, liaison with the facility 
when an individual is admitted to a state training center, and 
predischarge planning. If an individual, or the parents, 
guardian or legally authorized representative on behalf of an 
individual, chooses to reside in a different locality after the 
individual's discharge from the facility, the community 
services board serving that locality becomes the case 
management CSB and works with the original case 
management CSB, the individual receiving services and the 
state facility to effect a smooth transition and discharge. For 
the purpose of these regulations, CSB also includes a 
behavioral health authority established pursuant to § 37.2-602 
of the Code of Virginia. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the 
Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services. 

"Discharge plan" or "predischarge plan" means a written 
plan prepared by the case management CSB in consultation 
with the state facility training center pursuant to § 37.1-197.1 
§ 37.2-505 of the Code of Virginia. This plan is prepared 
when the individual is admitted to the facility training center 
and documents the planning for services after discharge. 

"Facility" means a state training center for individuals with 
mental retardation under the supervision and management of 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 4 Virginia Register of Regulations October 27, 2008 

665 

the Commissioner of the Department of Mental Health, 
Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services.  

"Guardian" means:  

For Minors -- An an adult who is either appointed by the 
court as a legal guardian of said a minor or exercises the 
rights and responsibilities of legal custody by delegation 
from a biological or adoptive parent, upon provisional 
adoption or otherwise by operation of law.  

For Adults -- a person appointed by the court who is 
responsible for the personal affairs of an incapacitated 
adult under the order of appointment. The responsibilities 
may include making decisions regarding the individual's 
support, care, health, safety, habilitation, education and 
therapeutic treatment. Refer to definition of "incapacitated 
person" at § 37.1-134.6 § 37.2-1000 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

"Legally authorized representative" means a person 
permitted by law or regulations to give informed consent for 
disclosure of information and give informed consent to 
treatment, including medical treatment and participation in 
human research on behalf of an individual who lacks the 
mental capacity to make these decisions.  

"Licensed professional" means a licensed psychologist, 
licensed professional counselor, or other individual who holds 
a valid professional license and has appropriate training in 
intellectual testing. 

"Mental retardation" means substantial subaverage general 
intellectual functioning which originates during the 
developmental period and is associated with impairment in 
adaptive behavior. a disability originating before the age of 
18 years, characterized concurrently by (i) significantly 
subaverage intellectual functioning as demonstrated by 
performance on a standardized measure of intellectual 
functioning, administered in conformity with accepted 
professional practice, that is at least two standard deviations 
below the mean; and (ii) significant limitations in adaptive 
behavior as expressed in conceptual, social, and practical 
adaptive skills. 

12VAC35-190-21. Application for admission process.  

A. Requests for admission to a facility training center shall 
be processed through the case management CSB. A parent, 
guardian, or legally authorized representative seeking 
admission to a facility training center for an individual with 
mental retardation shall apply first to the CSB that serves the 
area where the applicant individual, or if a minor, his parent, 
or guardian, or legally authorized representative is currently 
residing.  

B. If the case management CSB determines that the services 
for the individual are not available in the community or the 
individual chooses to obtain services in the state facility 
training center, the CSB shall forward a prescreening 

preadmission screening report, pursuant to § 37.1-65.1 B 
§ 37.2-806 B of the Code of Virginia, to the facility training 
center serving individuals with mental retardation from that 
geographic section of the state in which the applicant 
individual or, if a minor, his parent, or guardian, or legally 
authorized representative is currently residing.  

C. The prescreening preadmission screening report shall 
include at a minimum:  

1. An application for services;  

2. A medical history indicating the presence of any current 
medical problems as well as the presence of any known 
communicable disease. In all cases, the application shall 
include any currently prescribed medications as well as any 
known medication allergies;  

3. A social history and current status housing or living 
arrangements; and 

4. A psychological evaluation that has been performed in 
the past three years unless the facility director or designee 
determines that sufficient information as to the applicant's 
abilities and needs is included in other reports received; 
reflects the individual's current functioning.  

D. The preadmission screening report shall also include the 
following, as appropriate:  

5. 1. A current individualized education plan for school-
aged applicants unless the facility director or designee 
determines that sufficient information as to the applicant's 
abilities and needs is included in other reports received; 
individuals. 

6. 2. A vocational assessment for adult applicants unless 
the facility director or designee determines that sufficient 
information as to the applicant's abilities and needs is 
included in other reports received; and adults.  

7. 3. A completed discharge plan outlining the services to 
be provided upon discharge and anticipated date of 
discharge.  

12VAC35-190-30. Determination of suitability Criteria for 
admission.  

A. Within 30 working days from the receipt of the 
completed prescreening report, the director of the facility, or 
his designee, shall notify the case management CSB in 
writing of the determination on the admission request.  

B. Determination of suitability A. Upon the receipt of a 
completed preadmission screening report, the director of the 
training center or designee shall determine eligibility for 
admission by the director shall be based upon the following 
criteria and shall be so stated in his written decision:  

1. The individual has a primary diagnosis of mental 
retardation;  
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2. The diagnosis of mental retardation has been made by an 
interdisciplinary team of qualified mental retardation 
professionals upon review of the completed prescreening 
report a licensed professional; and  

3. The facility training center has available space, training, 
treatment, and habilitation services appropriate and service 
capacity to meet the needs of the individual.  

B. If the director finds that admission is not appropriate, he 
shall state the reasons in a written decision and may 
recommend an alternative location for needed services. 

C. If the director finds that the applicant is not suitable for 
admission to the facility, he shall state the reasons for his 
decision and may recommend alternative locations for needed 
services. Within 10 working days from the receipt of the 
completed preadmission screening report, the director of the 
training center or designee shall provide the written decision 
on the admission request to the case management CSB. 

12VAC35-190-41. Requests for reconsideration of the 
director's determination. 

In the event that (i) the case management CSB making the 
request for admission, or (ii) a person seeking admission to a 
facility, the parent, guardian, or authorized representative 
applying on behalf of an individual disagrees with the 
determination of the director, the CSB, or person seeking 
admission, or both they may request a reconsideration of the 
determination by submitting a request in writing to the 
commissioner within 10 working days of receiving such 
determination. Upon receipt of a request for reconsideration, 
the commissioner shall notify the facility training center 
director and the facility training center director shall forward 
the prescreening preadmission screening report package and 
related information to the commissioner within 48 hours. The 
commissioner shall also provide an opportunity for the person 
individual requesting reconsideration to submit for review 
any additional information or reasons why the admission 
should be approved. The commissioner shall render a written 
decision on the request for reconsideration within 30 calendar 
days of the receipt of the request and notify all involved 
parties. The commissioner's decision shall be binding.  

12VAC35-190-51. Procedure for admission Judicial 
certification.  

Upon receipt of written notification from the facility training 
center director that an individual is suitable eligible for 
admission, the case management CSB will shall inform the 
individual or and the individual's parent, guardian, or legally 
authorized representative of this decision and assist the 
parent, guardian, or legally authorized representative in 
initiating a judicial proceeding pursuant to § 37.1-65.1 § 37.2-
806 of the Code of Virginia. When the judge has certified that 
the individual is eligible for admission to a facility training 
center in accordance with subsection C3 of § 37.1-65.1 

§ 37.2-806 F of the Code of Virginia, a date for admission to 
the facility will training center shall be established.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-261; Filed September 30, 2008, 11:44 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 13. HOUSING 

DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following model public 
participation guidelines are exempt from Article 2 (§ 2.2-
4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of 
Virginia pursuant to Chapter 321 of the 2008 Acts of 
Assembly. 

Titles of Regulations: 13VAC5-10. Public Participation 
Guidelines (repealing 13VAC5-10-10 through 13VAC5-
10-120). 

13VAC5-11. Public Participation Guidelines (adding 
13VAC5-11-10 through 13VAC5-11-110). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 36-137 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 26, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Stephen W. Calhoun, Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Housing and Community 
Development, The Jackson Center, 501 N. 2nd St., 
Richmond, VA 23219-1321, telephone (804) 371-7000, FAX 
(804) 371-7090, TTY (804) 371-7089, or email 
steve.calhoun@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulations comply with the legislative mandate 
(Chapter 321, 2008 Acts of Assembly) that agencies adopt 
model public participation guidelines issued by the 
Department of Planning and Budget by December 1, 2008. 
Public participation guidelines exist to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment, or repeal of 
an agency's regulations.  

This regulatory action repeals the current public 
participation guidelines and promulgates new public 
participation guidelines as required by Chapter 321 of the 
2008 Acts of Assembly. Highlights of the public 
participation guidelines include (i) providing for the 
establishment and maintenance of notification lists of 
interested persons and specifying the information to be 
sent to such persons; (ii) providing for public comments on 
regulatory actions; (iii) establishing the time period during 
which public comments shall be accepted; (iv) providing 
that the plan to hold a public meeting shall be indicated in 
any notice of intended regulatory action; (v) providing for 
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the appointment, when necessary, of regulatory advisory 
panels to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance and negotiated rulemaking panels if a 
regulatory action is expected to be controversial; and (vi) 
providing for the periodic review of regulations. 

CHAPTER 11  
PUBLIC PARTICIPATION GUIDELINES  

Part I  
Purpose and Definitions  

13VAC5-11-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment or repeal of the 
regulations of the Board of Housing and Community 
Development. This chapter does not apply to regulations, 
guidelines, or other documents exempted or excluded from 
the provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 
et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

13VAC5-11-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 
et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency" means the Board of Housing and Community 
Development, which is the unit of state government 
empowered by the agency's basic law to make regulations or 
decide cases. Actions specified in this chapter may be 
fulfilled by state employees as delegated by the agency. 

"Basic law" means provisions in the Code of Virginia that 
delineate the basic authority and responsibilities of an agency. 

"Commonwealth Calendar" means the electronic calendar 
for official government meetings open to the public as 
required by § 2.2-3707 C of the Freedom of Information Act. 

''Negotiated rulemaking panel'' or ''NRP'' means an ad hoc 
advisory panel of interested parties established by an agency 
to consider issues that are controversial with the assistance of 
a facilitator or mediator, for the purpose of reaching a 
consensus in the development of a proposed regulatory 
action. 

"Notification list" means a list used to notify persons 
pursuant to this chapter. Such a list may include an electronic 
list maintained through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall or 
other list maintained by the agency. 

"Open meeting" means any scheduled gathering of a unit of 
state government empowered by an agency's basic law to 
make regulations or decide cases, which is related to 
promulgating, amending or repealing a regulation. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, cooperative, limited liability company, trust, joint 
venture, government, political subdivision, or any other legal 
or commercial entity and any successor, representative, agent, 
agency, or instrumentality thereof. 

"Public hearing" means a scheduled time at which members 
or staff of the agency will meet for the purpose of receiving 
public comment on a regulatory action. 

"Regulation" means any statement of general application 
having the force of law, affecting the rights or conduct of any 
person, adopted by the agency in accordance with the 
authority conferred on it by applicable laws. 

"Regulatory action" means the promulgation, amendment, or 
repeal of a regulation by the agency. 

"Regulatory advisory panel" or "RAP" means a standing or 
ad hoc advisory panel of interested parties established by the 
agency for the purpose of assisting in regulatory actions. 

"Town Hall" means the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, the 
website operated by the Virginia Department of Planning and 
Budget at www.townhall.virginia.gov, which has online 
public comment forums and displays information about 
regulatory meetings and regulatory actions under 
consideration in Virginia and sends this information to 
registered public users. 

"Virginia Register" means the Virginia Register of 
Regulations, the publication that provides official legal notice 
of new, amended and repealed regulations of state agencies, 
which is published under the provisions of Article 6 (§ 2.2-
4031 et seq.) of the Administrative Process Act. 

Part II  
Notification of Interested Persons 

13VAC5-11-30. Notification list. 

A. The agency shall maintain a list of persons who have 
requested to be notified of regulatory actions being pursued 
by the agency. 

B. Any person may request to be placed on a notification list 
by registering as a public user on the Town Hall or by making 
a request to the agency. Any person who requests to be placed 
on a notification list shall elect to be notified either by 
electronic means or through a postal carrier. 

C. The agency may maintain additional lists for persons who 
have requested to be informed of specific regulatory issues, 
proposals, or actions. 

D. When electronic mail is returned as undeliverable on 
multiple occasions at least 24 hours apart, that person may be 
deleted from the list. A single undeliverable message is 
insufficient cause to delete the person from the list. 
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E. When mail delivered by a postal carrier is returned as 
undeliverable on multiple occasions, that person may be 
deleted from the list. 

F. The agency may periodically request those persons on the 
notification list to indicate their desire to either continue to be 
notified electronically, receive documents through a postal 
carrier, or be deleted from the list. 

13VAC5-11-40. Information to be sent to persons on the 
notification list. 

A. To persons electing to receive electronic notification or 
notification through a postal carrier as described in 13VAC5-
11-30, the agency shall send the following information: 

1. A notice of intended regulatory action (NOIRA). 

2. A notice of the comment period on a proposed, a 
reproposed, or a fast-track regulation and hyperlinks to, or 
instructions on how to obtain, a copy of the regulation and 
any supporting documents. 

3. A notice soliciting comment on a final regulation when 
the regulatory process has been extended pursuant to § 2.2-
4007.06 or 2.2-4013 C of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The failure of any person to receive any notice or copies 
of any documents shall not affect the validity of any 
regulation or regulatory action. 

Part III  
Public Participation Procedures  

13VAC5-11-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 
action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 
opportunity to submit data, views, and arguments, either 
orally or in writing, to the agency. Such opportunity to 
comment shall include an online public comment forum on 
the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 
copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 
issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 
fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 
public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 
to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 
submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 
the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 
as follows:  

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 
(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 
publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 
publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 
of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 
listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 
substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 
he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 
calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 
changes in accordance with § 2.2-4013 C of the Code of 
Virginia.  

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 
description of public comment to all public commenters on 
the proposed regulation at least five days before final 
adoption of the regulation pursuant to § 2.2-4012 E of the 
Code of Virginia.  

13VAC5-11-60. Petition for rulemaking. 

A. As provided in § 2.2-4007 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person may petition the agency to consider a regulatory 
action. 

B. A petition shall include but is not limited to the following 
information: 

1. The petitioner's name and contact information; 

2. The substance and purpose of the rulemaking that is 
requested, including reference to any applicable Virginia 
Administrative Code sections; and 

3. Reference to the legal authority of the agency to take the 
action requested. 

C. The agency shall receive, consider and respond to a 
petition pursuant to § 2.2-4007 and shall have the sole 
authority to dispose of the petition. 

D. The petition shall be posted on the Town Hall and 
published in the Virginia Register. 

E. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit the agency from 
receiving information or from proceeding on its own motion 
for rulemaking. 
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13VAC5-11-70. Appointment of regulatory advisory 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a regulatory advisory panel 
(RAP) to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance when the agency determines that such expertise is 
necessary to address a specific regulatory issue or action or 
when individuals indicate an interest in working with the 
agency on a specific regulatory issue or action. 

B. Any person may request the appointment of a RAP and 
request to participate in its activities. The agency shall 
determine when a RAP shall be appointed and the 
composition of the RAP. 

C. A RAP may be dissolved by the agency if: 

1. The proposed text of the regulation is posted on the 
Town Hall, published in the Virginia Register, or such 
other time as the agency determines is appropriate; or 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act. 

13VAC5-11-80. Appointment of negotiated rulemaking 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a negotiated rulemaking panel 
(NRP) if a regulatory action is expected to be controversial. 

B. An NRP that has been appointed by the agency may be 
dissolved by the agency when: 

1. There is no longer controversy associated with the 
development of the regulation; 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act; or 

3. The agency determines that resolution of a controversy 
is unlikely. 

13VAC5-11-90. Meetings. 

Notice of any open meeting, including meetings of a RAP or 
NRP, shall be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 
and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working days 
prior to the date of the meeting. The exception to this 
requirement is any meeting held in accordance with § 2.2-
3707 D of the Code of Virginia allowing for 
contemporaneous notice to be provided to participants and the 
public. 

13VAC5-11-100. Public hearings on regulations. 

A. The agency shall indicate in its notice of intended 
regulatory action whether it plans to hold a public hearing 
following the publication of the proposed stage of the 
regulatory action.  

B. The agency may conduct one or more public hearings 
during the comment period following the publication of a 
proposed regulatory action.  

C. An agency is required to hold a public hearing following 
the publication of the proposed regulatory action when:  

1. The agency's basic law requires the agency to hold a 
public hearing;  

2. The Governor directs the agency to hold a public 
hearing; or  

3. The agency receives requests for a public hearing from 
at least 25 persons during the public comment period 
following the publication of the notice of intended 
regulatory action.  

D. Notice of any public hearing shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working 
days prior to the date of the hearing. The agency shall also 
notify those persons who requested a hearing under 
subdivision C 3 of this section.  

13VAC5-11-110. Periodic review of regulations. 

A. The agency shall conduct a periodic review of its 
regulations consistent with:  

1. An executive order issued by the Governor pursuant to 
§ 2.2-4017 of the Administrative Process Act to receive 
comment on all existing regulations as to their 
effectiveness, efficiency, necessity, clarity, and cost of 
compliance; and  

2. The requirements in § 2.2-4007.1 of the Administrative 
Process Act regarding regulatory flexibility for small 
businesses.  

B. A periodic review may be conducted separately or in 
conjunction with other regulatory actions.  

C. Notice of a periodic review shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and published in the Virginia Register.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1453; Filed October 7, 2008, 3:00 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 15. JUDICIAL 

VIRGINIA STATE BAR 

Proposed Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia State Bar is exempt 
from the Administrative Process Act in accordance with 
§ 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts 
courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and any agency that 
by the Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of 
a court of record. 
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Title of Regulation: 15VAC5-80. Regulations Under the 
Virginia Consumer Real Estate Settlement Protection Act 
(amending 15VAC5-80-40, 15VAC5-80-50). 

Statutory Authority: § 6.1-2.25 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Agency Contact: Mary Yancey Spencer, Deputy Executive 
Director, Virginia State Bar, 707 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 775-0575 or email 
spencer@vsb.org. 

Summary:  

The amendments eliminate a requirement to give each 
registrant a copy of Consumer Real Estate Settlement 
Protection Act (CRESPA) guidelines and allow registrants 
to provide a copy of the surety bond rather than the 
original. 

15VAC5-80-40. Unauthorized practice of law guidelines; 
investigation of complaints. 

The Bar will issue guidelines under CRESPA and in 
consultation with the SCC and the board to assist settlement 
agents in avoiding and preventing the unauthorized practice 
of law in connection with the furnishing of escrow, closing or 
settlement services. In conformity with CRESPA, the rules of 
the Virginia Supreme Court and the Bar's UPL opinions, 
these guidelines will delineate activities which can and cannot 
be carried out by registered nonattorney settlement agents in 
conducting settlements. The guidelines will be revised from 
time to time as necessary. 

A copy of the guidelines will be provided by the Bar to each 
registered settlement agent at the time of initial registration 
and at each reregistration available on the Bar's website for 
review. The guidelines will also be published by the Bar in 
the Virginia Lawyer Register and furnished to the SCC, the 
board, and all other state and federal agencies that regulate 
financial institutions, as well as to members of the general 
public upon request. The guidelines may be photocopied as 
necessary. 

The Bar will continue to receive and investigate 
unauthorized practice of law complaints in the real estate 
settlement area, as well as in other fields, under its 
unauthorized practice of law rules and procedures. 

If the Bar receives complaints against nonattorney 
settlement agents that do not allege the unauthorized practice 
of law, it will refer the complaints to the appropriate licensing 
authority that has jurisdiction over the subject of the 
complaint. If the complaint involves noncompliance with 
15VAC5-80-30, the Bar will conduct an informal 
investigation. If the Bar believes a violation has occurred, it 
will notify the settlement agent in writing. If the apparent 
violation is not rectified within 30 days, the Bar will refer the 

matter to the appropriate licensing authority for further 
enforcement action. 

15VAC5-80-50. Attorney settlement agent compliance. 

A. Attorney settlement agent certification. Each attorney 
settlement agent shall, at the time of initial registration and 
each subsequent reregistration, certify on the form available 
from the Bar for that purpose, that the attorney settlement 
agent has in full force and effect the following insurance and 
bond coverages, and that such coverages will be maintained 
in full force and effect throughout the time the attorney 
settlement agent acts, offers or intends to act in that capacity: 

1. A lawyer's professional liability insurance policy issued 
by a company authorized to write such insurance in 
Virginia providing first dollar coverage and limits of at 
least $250,000 per claim covering the licensed attorney 
acting, offering or intending to act as a settlement agent. 
The policy may also cover other attorneys practicing in the 
same firm or legal entity. 

2. A blanket fidelity bond or employee dishonesty 
insurance policy issued by a company authorized to write 
such bonds or insurance in Virginia providing limits of at 
least $100,000 covering all other employees of the attorney 
settlement agent or the legal entity in which the attorney 
settlement agent practices. 

3. A surety bond issued by a company authorized to write 
such bonds in Virginia, on a form approved by the Virginia 
State Bar, providing limits of at least $200,000 covering 
the licensed attorney acting, offering or intending to act as 
a settlement agent. A copy of the approved bond form is 
available from the Bar. The bond may also cover other 
attorney settlement agents practicing in the same firm or 
legal entity. The A copy of the original surety bond must 
be attached to the attorney settlement agent's certification 
form and furnished to the Bar; a surety bond on which a 
law firm is named as principal may be furnished by the 
firm or any one attorney settlement agent in the firm, with 
other such attorney settlement agents in the same firm 
attaching a copy to their forms. 

The Bar reserves the right to require other evidence of the 
above insurance and bond coverages beyond the attorney's 
certification and surety bond, at its discretion. 

An attorney settlement agent who has no employees other 
than the attorney settlement agent or other licensed owner(s), 
partner(s), shareholder(s), or member(s) of the legal entity in 
which the attorney settlement agent practices may apply to 
the Bar for a waiver of the coverage required in subdivision A 
2 of this section, using the waiver request form available from 
the Bar. Such waiver requests will be acted on by the 
Executive Committee of the Bar, whose decision shall 
constitute final action by the agency. 
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B. Separate fiduciary trust account. Each attorney settlement 
agent shall maintain one or more separate and distinct 
fiduciary trust account(s) used only for the purpose of 
handling funds received in connection with escrow, closing or 
settlement services. Funds received in connection with real 
estate transactions not covered by CRESPA may also be 
deposited in and disbursed from such account(s). All funds 
received by an attorney settlement agent in connection with 
escrow, closing or settlement services shall be deposited in 
and disbursed from the separate fiduciary account(s) in 
conformity with both the Bar's disciplinary rules and 
CRESPA. These separate fiduciary trust accounts shall be 
maintained in the same manner and subject to the same rules 
as those promulgated by the Bar for other lawyer trust 
accounts, as well as in conformity with CRESPA. One 
separate fiduciary trust account may be maintained and used 
by all attorney settlement agents practicing in the same firm 
or legal entity. 

C. Settlement statements. All settlement statements for 
escrow, closing and settlement services governed by 
CRESPA and these regulations shall be in writing and 
identify, by name and business address, the settlement agent. 

D. Complaints against attorney settlement agents. The Bar 
shall receive complaints and/or investigate alleged violations 
of CRESPA or these regulations by attorney settlement 
agents. If, after investigation, the Bar does not have 
reasonable cause to believe that one or more violations of 
CRESPA and/or these regulations have occurred, the Bar may 
dismiss the complaint as unfounded. 

If, after investigation, the Bar has reasonable cause to 
believe that one or more violations have occurred, the 
following procedures shall apply: 

1. The attorney settlement agent shall be notified in writing 
of the alleged violation(s). 

2. The attorney settlement agent shall have 30 days from 
the date of such notification to respond in writing to the 
alleged violations. If, after receipt of the response, the Bar 
no longer has reasonable cause to believe that one or more 
violations of CRESPA and/or these regulations have 
occurred, the Bar may dismiss the complaint as unfounded.  

3. If the Bar believes the alleged violation presents or 
presented a risk to consumers protected under CRESPA, 
the Bar may request a hearing and issue an order requiring 
the attorney settlement agent to appear at the hearing, 
whether or not the attorney settlement agent has responded 
in writing to the notice of alleged violation(s) or the 30-day 
response time period has lapsed.  

4. In conducting investigations of alleged violations of 
CRESPA and/or these regulations by attorney settlement 
agents, the Bar, by Bar Counsel, shall have the authority to 
issue summonses or subpoenas to compel the attendance of 

witnesses and the production of documents necessary and 
material to any inquiry.  

5. The following shall be applicable to hearings on alleged 
violations of CRESPA and/or these regulations:  

a. Hearings shall be held before the disciplinary board 
within 60 days of the issuance of the Bar's order to 
appear.  

b. The standard of proof of violations of CRESPA or 
these regulations shall be clear and convincing evidence.  

c. Hearings shall be conducted in the same manner as 
attorney misconduct hearings as set out in Rules of 
Court, Part Six, Section IV, Paragraph 13.  

d. Agreed dispositions may be entered into in the same 
manner as agreed dispositions at the disciplinary board in 
attorney misconduct cases.  

e. The attorney settlement agent's prior disciplinary 
record and prior record of violations of CRESPA and/or 
these regulations shall be made available to the 
disciplinary board during the sanction stage of a hearing. 
The prior record of violations of CRESPA and/or these 
regulations may be made available to Bar subcommittees, 
district committees, the disciplinary board or a three-
judge circuit court prior to the imposition of any sanction 
for attorney misconduct.  

f. If the attorney settlement agent is found to have 
violated CRESPA and/or these regulations, the attorney 
settlement agent may be subject to the following 
penalties, at the disciplinary board's discretion:  

(1) A penalty not exceeding $5,000 for each violation;  

(2) Revocation or suspension of the attorney settlement 
agent's registration; and  

(3) Any other sanction available to the disciplinary board 
in attorney disciplinary proceedings under the rules of the 
Virginia Supreme Court, including, but not limited to, 
revocation or suspension of the attorney settlement 
agent's license to practice law.  

6. The disciplinary board shall assess costs in accordance 
with the same rules and procedures that apply to the 
imposition of costs in attorney misconduct cases. 

7. All matters and proceedings pertaining to alleged 
violations of CRESPA and/or these regulations are public. 
Related attorney misconduct cases shall be heard by the 
disciplinary board together with alleged violations of 
CRESPA and/or these regulations. Any related disability 
issues shall be heard by the disciplinary board separately. 

8. The Clerk of the Disciplinary System of the Bar shall 
maintain files and records pertaining to ended cases 
involving alleged violations of CRESPA and/or these 
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regulations. The clerk shall follow the same file destruction 
policies that are utilized in attorney misconduct cases. 

9. The Bar may proceed against an attorney settlement 
agent for alleged violations of CRESPA and/or these 
regulations notwithstanding that the attorney settlement 
agent has resigned from the practice of law, surrendered 
his license to practice law in the Commonwealth of 
Virginia or had his license to practice law in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia revoked. 

10. An appeal from an order of the disciplinary board 
imposing sanctions under CRESPA and/or these 
regulations shall be conducted in accordance with the 
provisions of Rules of Court, Part Six, Section IV, 
Paragraph 13 pertaining to an appeal of an order of the 
disciplinary board imposing sanctions upon findings of 
attorney misconduct. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1636; Filed October 7, 2008, 8:02 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following model public 
participation guidelines are exempt from Article 2 (§ 2.2-
4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of 
Virginia pursuant to Chapter 321 of the 2008 Acts of 
Assembly. 

Titles of Regulations: 16VAC15-10. Public Participation 
Guidelines (repealing 16VAC15-10-10 through 16VAC15-
10-100). 

16VAC15-11. Public Participation Guidelines (adding 
16VAC15-11-10 through 16VAC15-11-110). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007 and 40.1-6 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 26, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Reba O'Connor, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Labor and Industry, Powers-Taylor Building, 
13 South Thirteenth Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 371-2631, FAX (804) 371-6524, TTY (804) 786-2376, 
or email reba.oconnor@doli.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulations comply with the legislative mandate 
(Chapter 321, 2008 Acts of Assembly) that agencies adopt 
model public participation guidelines issued by the 
Department of Planning and Budget by December 1, 2008. 
Public participation guidelines exist to promote public 

involvement in the development, amendment, or repeal of 
an agency's regulations.  

This regulatory action repeals the current public 
participation guidelines and promulgates new public 
participation guidelines as required by Chapter 321 of the 
2008 Acts of Assembly. Highlights of the public 
participation guidelines include (i) providing for the 
establishment and maintenance of notification lists of 
interested persons and specifying the information to be 
sent to such persons; (ii) providing for public comments on 
regulatory action; (iii) establishing the time period during 
which public comments shall be accepted; (iv) providing 
that the plan to hold a public meeting shall be indicated in 
any notice of intended regulatory action; (v) providing for 
the appointment, when necessary, of regulatory advisory 
panels to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance and negotiated rulemaking panels if a 
regulatory action is expected to be controversial; and (vi) 
providing for the periodic review of regulations. 

CHAPTER 11  
PUBLIC PARTICIPATION GUIDELINES  

Part I  
Purpose and Definitions  

16VAC15-11-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment or repeal of the 
regulations of the Department of Labor and Industry. This 
chapter does not apply to regulations, guidelines, or other 
documents exempted or excluded from the provisions of the 
Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia). 

16VAC15-11-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 
et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency" means the Department of Labor and Industry, 
which is the unit of state government empowered by the 
agency's basic law to make regulations or decide cases. 
Actions specified in this chapter may be fulfilled by state 
employees as delegated by the agency. 

"Basic law" means provisions in the Code of Virginia that 
delineate the basic authority and responsibilities of an agency. 

"Commonwealth Calendar" means the electronic calendar 
for official government meetings open to the public as 
required by § 2.2-3707 C of the Freedom of Information Act. 

''Negotiated rulemaking panel'' or ''NRP'' means an ad hoc 
advisory panel of interested parties established by an agency 
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to consider issues that are controversial with the assistance of 
a facilitator or mediator, for the purpose of reaching a 
consensus in the development of a proposed regulatory 
action. 

"Notification list" means a list used to notify persons 
pursuant to this chapter. Such a list may include an electronic 
list maintained through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall or 
other list maintained by the agency. 

"Open meeting" means any scheduled gathering of a unit of 
state government empowered by an agency's basic law to 
make regulations or decide cases, which is related to 
promulgating, amending or repealing a regulation. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, cooperative, limited liability company, trust, joint 
venture, government, political subdivision, or any other legal 
or commercial entity and any successor, representative, agent, 
agency, or instrumentality thereof. 

"Public hearing" means a scheduled time at which members 
or staff of the agency will meet for the purpose of receiving 
public comment on a regulatory action. 

"Regulation" means any statement of general application 
having the force of law, affecting the rights or conduct of any 
person, adopted by the agency in accordance with the 
authority conferred on it by applicable laws. 

"Regulatory action" means the promulgation, amendment, or 
repeal of a regulation by the agency. 

"Regulatory advisory panel" or "RAP" means a standing or 
ad hoc advisory panel of interested parties established by the 
agency for the purpose of assisting in regulatory actions. 

"Town Hall" means the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, the 
website operated by the Virginia Department of Planning and 
Budget at www.townhall.virginia.gov, which has online 
public comment forums and displays information about 
regulatory meetings and regulatory actions under 
consideration in Virginia and sends this information to 
registered public users. 

"Virginia Register" means the Virginia Register of 
Regulations, the publication that provides official legal notice 
of new, amended and repealed regulations of state agencies, 
which is published under the provisions of Article 6 (§ 2.2-
4031 et seq.) of the Administrative Process Act. 

Part II  
Notification of Interested Persons 

16VAC15-11-30. Notification list. 

A. The agency shall maintain a list of persons who have 
requested to be notified of regulatory actions being pursued 
by the agency. 

B. Any person may request to be placed on a notification list 
by registering as a public user on the Town Hall or by making 

a request to the agency. Any person who requests to be placed 
on a notification list shall elect to be notified either by 
electronic means or through a postal carrier. 

C. The agency may maintain additional lists for persons who 
have requested to be informed of specific regulatory issues, 
proposals, or actions. 

D. When electronic mail is returned as undeliverable on 
multiple occasions at least 24 hours apart, that person may be 
deleted from the list. A single undeliverable message is 
insufficient cause to delete the person from the list. 

E. When mail delivered by a postal carrier is returned as 
undeliverable on multiple occasions, that person may be 
deleted from the list. 

F. The agency may periodically request those persons on the 
notification list to indicate their desire to either continue to be 
notified electronically, receive documents through a postal 
carrier, or be deleted from the list. 

16VAC15-11-40. Information to be sent to persons on the 
notification list. 

A. To persons electing to receive electronic notification or 
notification through a postal carrier as described in 
16VAC15-11-30, the agency shall send the following 
information: 

1. A notice of intended regulatory action (NOIRA). 

2. A notice of the comment period on a proposed, a 
reproposed, or a fast-track regulation and hyperlinks to, or 
instructions on how to obtain, a copy of the regulation and 
any supporting documents. 

3. A notice soliciting comment on a final regulation when 
the regulatory process has been extended pursuant to § 2.2-
4007.06 or 2.2-4013 C of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The failure of any person to receive any notice or copies 
of any documents shall not affect the validity of any 
regulation or regulatory action. 

Part III  
Public Participation Procedures  

16VAC15-11-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 
action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 
opportunity to submit data, views, and arguments, either 
orally or in writing, to the agency. Such opportunity to 
comment shall include an online public comment forum on 
the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 
copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 
issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 
fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 
public comments received.  



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 4 Virginia Register of Regulations October 27, 2008 

674 

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 
to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 
submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 
the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 
as follows:  

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 
(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 
publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 
publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 
of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 
listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 
substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 
he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 
calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 
changes in accordance with § 2.2-4013 C of the Code of 
Virginia.  

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 
description of public comment to all public commenters on 
the proposed regulation at least five days before final 
adoption of the regulation pursuant to § 2.2-4012 E of the 
Code of Virginia.  

16VAC15-11-60. Petition for rulemaking. 

A. As provided in § 2.2-4007 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person may petition the agency to consider a regulatory 
action. 

B. A petition shall include but is not limited to the following 
information: 

1. The petitioner's name and contact information; 

2. The substance and purpose of the rulemaking that is 
requested, including reference to any applicable Virginia 
Administrative Code sections; and 

3. Reference to the legal authority of the agency to take the 
action requested. 

C. The agency shall receive, consider and respond to a 
petition pursuant to § 2.2-4007 and shall have the sole 
authority to dispose of the petition. 

D. The petition shall be posted on the Town Hall and 
published in the Virginia Register. 

E. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit the agency from 
receiving information or from proceeding on its own motion 
for rulemaking. 

16VAC15-11-70. Appointment of regulatory advisory 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a regulatory advisory panel 
(RAP) to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance when the agency determines that such expertise is 
necessary to address a specific regulatory issue or action or 
when individuals indicate an interest in working with the 
agency on a specific regulatory issue or action. 

B. Any person may request the appointment of a RAP and 
request to participate in its activities. The agency shall 
determine when a RAP shall be appointed and the 
composition of the RAP. 

C. A RAP may be dissolved by the agency if: 

1. The proposed text of the regulation is posted on the 
Town Hall, published in the Virginia Register, or such 
other time as the agency determines is appropriate; or 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act. 

16VAC15-11-80. Appointment of negotiated rulemaking 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a negotiated rulemaking panel 
(NRP) if a regulatory action is expected to be controversial. 

B. An NRP that has been appointed by the agency may be 
dissolved by the agency when: 

1. There is no longer controversy associated with the 
development of the regulation; 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act; or 

3. The agency determines that resolution of a controversy 
is unlikely. 

16VAC15-11-90. Meetings. 

Notice of any open meeting, including meetings of a RAP or 
NRP, shall be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 
and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working days 
prior to the date of the meeting. The exception to this 
requirement is any meeting held in accordance with § 2.2-
3707 D of the Code of Virginia allowing for 
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contemporaneous notice to be provided to participants and the 
public. 

16VAC15-11-100. Public hearings on regulations. 

A. The agency shall indicate in its notice of intended 
regulatory action whether it plans to hold a public hearing 
following the publication of the proposed stage of the 
regulatory action.  

B. The agency may conduct one or more public hearings 
during the comment period following the publication of a 
proposed regulatory action.  

C. An agency is required to hold a public hearing following 
the publication of the proposed regulatory action when:  

1. The agency's basic law requires the agency to hold a 
public hearing;  

2. The Governor directs the agency to hold a public 
hearing; or  

3. The agency receives requests for a public hearing from 
at least 25 persons during the public comment period 
following the publication of the notice of intended 
regulatory action.  

D. Notice of any public hearing shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working 
days prior to the date of the hearing. The agency shall also 
notify those persons who requested a hearing under 
subdivision C 3 of this section.  

16VAC15-11-110. Periodic review of regulations. 

A. The agency shall conduct a periodic review of its 
regulations consistent with:  

1. An executive order issued by the Governor pursuant to 
§ 2.2-4017 of the Administrative Process Act to receive 
comment on all existing regulations as to their 
effectiveness, efficiency, necessity, clarity, and cost of 
compliance; and  

2. The requirements in § 2.2-4007.1 of the Administrative 
Process Act regarding regulatory flexibility for small 
businesses.  

B. A periodic review may be conducted separately or in 
conjunction with other regulatory actions.  

C. Notice of a periodic review shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and published in the Virginia Register.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1456; Filed September 24, 2008, 2:51 p.m.  

 

APPRENTICESHIP COUNCIL 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following model public 
participation guidelines are exempt from Article 2 (§ 2.2-
4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of 
Virginia pursuant to Chapter 321 of the 2008 Acts of 
Assembly. 

Titles of Regulations: 16VAC20-10. Public Participation 
Guidelines (repealing 16VAC20-10-10 through 16VAC20-
10-100). 

16VAC20-11. Public Participation Guidelines (adding 
16VAC20-11-10 through 16VAC20-11-110). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 40.1-117 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 27, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Beverley G. Donati, Program Director, 
Department of Labor and Industry, Powers-Taylor Building, 
13 South Thirteenth Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 225-4362, FAX (804) 786-8418, TTY (804) 786-2376, 
or email bev.donati@doli.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulations comply with the legislative mandate 
(Chapter 321, 2008 Acts of Assembly) that agencies adopt 
model public participation guidelines issued by the 
Department of Planning and Budget by December 1, 2008. 
Public participation guidelines exist to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment, or repeal of 
an agency's regulations.  

This regulatory action repeals the current public 
participation guidelines and promulgates new public 
participation guidelines as required by Chapter 321 of the 
2008 Acts of Assembly. Highlights of the public 
participation guidelines include (i) providing for the 
establishment and maintenance of notification lists of 
interested persons and specifying the information to be 
sent to such persons; (ii) providing for public comments on 
regulatory actions; (iii) establishing the time period during 
which public comments shall be accepted; (iv) providing 
that the plan to hold a public meeting shall be indicated in 
any notice of intended regulatory action; (v) providing for 
the appointment, when necessary, of regulatory advisory 
panels to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance and negotiated rulemaking panels if a 
regulatory action is expected to be controversial; and (vi) 
providing for the periodic review of regulations. 
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CHAPTER 11  
PUBLIC PARTICIPATION GUIDELINES  

Part I  
Purpose and Definitions  

16VAC20-11-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment or repeal of the 
regulations of the Apprenticeship Council. This chapter does 
not apply to regulations, guidelines, or other documents 
exempted or excluded from the provisions of the 
Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia). 

16VAC20-11-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 
et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency" means the Apprenticeship Council, which is the 
unit of state government empowered by the agency's basic 
law to make regulations or decide cases. Actions specified in 
this chapter may be fulfilled by state employees as delegated 
by the agency. 

"Basic law" means provisions in the Code of Virginia that 
delineate the basic authority and responsibilities of an agency. 

"Commonwealth Calendar" means the electronic calendar 
for official government meetings open to the public as 
required by § 2.2-3707 C of the Freedom of Information Act. 

''Negotiated rulemaking panel'' or ''NRP'' means an ad hoc 
advisory panel of interested parties established by an agency 
to consider issues that are controversial with the assistance of 
a facilitator or mediator, for the purpose of reaching a 
consensus in the development of a proposed regulatory 
action. 

"Notification list" means a list used to notify persons 
pursuant to this chapter. Such a list may include an electronic 
list maintained through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall or 
other list maintained by the agency. 

"Open meeting" means any scheduled gathering of a unit of 
state government empowered by an agency's basic law to 
make regulations or decide cases, which is related to 
promulgating, amending or repealing a regulation. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, cooperative, limited liability company, trust, joint 
venture, government, political subdivision, or any other legal 
or commercial entity and any successor, representative, agent, 
agency, or instrumentality thereof. 

"Public hearing" means a scheduled time at which members 
or staff of the agency will meet for the purpose of receiving 
public comment on a regulatory action. 

"Regulation" means any statement of general application 
having the force of law, affecting the rights or conduct of any 
person, adopted by the agency in accordance with the 
authority conferred on it by applicable laws. 

"Regulatory action" means the promulgation, amendment, or 
repeal of a regulation by the agency. 

"Regulatory advisory panel" or "RAP" means a standing or 
ad hoc advisory panel of interested parties established by the 
agency for the purpose of assisting in regulatory actions. 

"Town Hall" means the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, the 
website operated by the Virginia Department of Planning and 
Budget at www.townhall.virginia.gov, which has online 
public comment forums and displays information about 
regulatory meetings and regulatory actions under 
consideration in Virginia and sends this information to 
registered public users. 

"Virginia Register" means the Virginia Register of 
Regulations, the publication that provides official legal notice 
of new, amended and repealed regulations of state agencies, 
which is published under the provisions of Article 6 (§ 2.2-
4031 et seq.) of the Administrative Process Act. 

Part II  
Notification of Interested Persons 

16VAC20-11-30. Notification list. 

A. The agency shall maintain a list of persons who have 
requested to be notified of regulatory actions being pursued 
by the agency. 

B. Any person may request to be placed on a notification list 
by registering as a public user on the Town Hall or by making 
a request to the agency. Any person who requests to be placed 
on a notification list shall elect to be notified either by 
electronic means or through a postal carrier. 

C. The agency may maintain additional lists for persons who 
have requested to be informed of specific regulatory issues, 
proposals, or actions. 

D. When electronic mail is returned as undeliverable on 
multiple occasions at least 24 hours apart, that person may be 
deleted from the list. A single undeliverable message is 
insufficient cause to delete the person from the list. 

E. When mail delivered by a postal carrier is returned as 
undeliverable on multiple occasions, that person may be 
deleted from the list. 

F. The agency may periodically request those persons on the 
notification list to indicate their desire to either continue to be 
notified electronically, receive documents through a postal 
carrier, or be deleted from the list. 
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16VAC20-11-40. Information to be sent to persons on the 
notification list. 

A. To persons electing to receive electronic notification or 
notification through a postal carrier as described in 
16VAC20-11-30, the agency shall send the following 
information: 

1. A notice of intended regulatory action (NOIRA). 

2. A notice of the comment period on a proposed, a 
reproposed, or a fast-track regulation and hyperlinks to, or 
instructions on how to obtain, a copy of the regulation and 
any supporting documents. 

3. A notice soliciting comment on a final regulation when 
the regulatory process has been extended pursuant to § 2.2-
4007.06 or 2.2-4013 C of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The failure of any person to receive any notice or copies 
of any documents shall not affect the validity of any 
regulation or regulatory action. 

Part III  
Public Participation Procedures  

16VAC20-11-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 
action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 
opportunity to submit data, views, and arguments, either 
orally or in writing, to the agency. Such opportunity to 
comment shall include an online public comment forum on 
the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 
copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 
issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 
fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 
public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 
to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 
submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 
the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 
as follows:  

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 
(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 
publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 
publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 
of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 
listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 
substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 
he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 
calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 
changes in accordance with § 2.2-4013 C of the Code of 
Virginia.  

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 
description of public comment to all public commenters on 
the proposed regulation at least five days before final 
adoption of the regulation pursuant to § 2.2-4012 E of the 
Code of Virginia.  

16VAC20-11-60. Petition for rulemaking. 

A. As provided in § 2.2-4007 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person may petition the agency to consider a regulatory 
action. 

B. A petition shall include but is not limited to the following 
information: 

1. The petitioner's name and contact information; 

2. The substance and purpose of the rulemaking that is 
requested, including reference to any applicable Virginia 
Administrative Code sections; and 

3. Reference to the legal authority of the agency to take the 
action requested. 

C. The agency shall receive, consider and respond to a 
petition pursuant to § 2.2-4007 and shall have the sole 
authority to dispose of the petition. 

D. The petition shall be posted on the Town Hall and 
published in the Virginia Register. 

E. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit the agency from 
receiving information or from proceeding on its own motion 
for rulemaking. 

16VAC20-11-70. Appointment of regulatory advisory 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a regulatory advisory panel 
(RAP) to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance when the agency determines that such expertise is 
necessary to address a specific regulatory issue or action or 
when individuals indicate an interest in working with the 
agency on a specific regulatory issue or action. 
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B. Any person may request the appointment of a RAP and 
request to participate in its activities. The agency shall 
determine when a RAP shall be appointed and the 
composition of the RAP. 

C. A RAP may be dissolved by the agency if: 

1. The proposed text of the regulation is posted on the 
Town Hall, published in the Virginia Register, or such 
other time as the agency determines is appropriate; or 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act. 

16VAC20-11-80. Appointment of negotiated rulemaking 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a negotiated rulemaking panel 
(NRP) if a regulatory action is expected to be controversial. 

B. An NRP that has been appointed by the agency may be 
dissolved by the agency when: 

1. There is no longer controversy associated with the 
development of the regulation; 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act; or 

3. The agency determines that resolution of a controversy 
is unlikely. 

16VAC20-11-90. Meetings. 

Notice of any open meeting, including meetings of a RAP or 
NRP, shall be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 
and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working days 
prior to the date of the meeting. The exception to this 
requirement is any meeting held in accordance with § 2.2-
3707 D of the Code of Virginia allowing for 
contemporaneous notice to be provided to participants and the 
public. 

16VAC20-11-100. Public hearings on regulations. 

A. The agency shall indicate in its notice of intended 
regulatory action whether it plans to hold a public hearing 
following the publication of the proposed stage of the 
regulatory action.  

B. The agency may conduct one or more public hearings 
during the comment period following the publication of a 
proposed regulatory action.  

C. An agency is required to hold a public hearing following 
the publication of the proposed regulatory action when:  

1. The agency's basic law requires the agency to hold a 
public hearing;  

2. The Governor directs the agency to hold a public 
hearing; or  

3. The agency receives requests for a public hearing from 
at least 25 persons during the public comment period 
following the publication of the notice of intended 
regulatory action.  

D. Notice of any public hearing shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working 
days prior to the date of the hearing. The agency shall also 
notify those persons who requested a hearing under 
subdivision C 3 of this section.  

16VAC20-11-110. Periodic review of regulations. 

A. The agency shall conduct a periodic review of its 
regulations consistent with:  

1. An executive order issued by the Governor pursuant to 
§ 2.2-4017 of the Administrative Process Act to receive 
comment on all existing regulations as to their 
effectiveness, efficiency, necessity, clarity, and cost of 
compliance; and  

2. The requirements in § 2.2-4007.1 of the Administrative 
Process Act regarding regulatory flexibility for small 
businesses.  

B. A periodic review may be conducted separately or in 
conjunction with other regulatory actions.  

C. Notice of a periodic review shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and published in the Virginia Register.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1457; Filed October 8, 2008, 10:41 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following model public 
participation guidelines are exempt from Article 2 (§ 2.2-
4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of 
Virginia pursuant to Chapter 321 of the 2008 Acts of 
Assembly. 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC5-10. Public Participation 
Guidelines (repealing 18VAC5-10-10 through 18VAC5-
10-90). 

18VAC5-11. Public Participation Guidelines (adding 
18VAC5-11-10 through 18VAC5-11-110). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 54.1-4403 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 26, 2008. 
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Agency Contact: Katherine Idrissi, Board of Accountancy, 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 402, Richmond, VA 23223, 
telephone (804) 367-1586, FAX (804) 367-2174, TTY (804) 
367-9753, or email katherine.idrissi@boa.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulations comply with the legislative mandate 
(Chapter 321, 2008 Acts of Assembly) that agencies adopt 
model public participation guidelines issued by the 
Department of Planning and Budget by December 1, 2008. 
Public participation guidelines exist to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment, or repeal of 
an agency's regulations.  

This regulatory action repeals the current public 
participation guidelines and promulgates new public 
participation guidelines as required by Chapter 321 of the 
2008 Acts of Assembly. Highlights of the public 
participation guidelines include (i) providing for the 
establishment and maintenance of notification lists of 
interested persons and specifying the information to be 
sent to such persons; (ii) providing for public comments on 
regulatory action; (iii) establishing the time period during 
which public comments shall be accepted; (iv) providing 
that the plan to hold a public meeting shall be indicated in 
any notice of intended regulatory action; (v) providing for 
the appointment, when necessary, of regulatory advisory 
panels to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance and negotiated rulemaking panels if a 
regulatory action is expected to be controversial; and (vi) 
providing for the periodic review of regulations. 

CHAPTER 11  
PUBLIC PARTICIPATION GUIDELINES  

Part I  
Purpose and Definitions  

18VAC5-11-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment or repeal of the 
regulations of the Board of Accountancy. This chapter does 
not apply to regulations, guidelines, or other documents 
exempted or excluded from the provisions of the 
Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia). 

18VAC5-11-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 
et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency" means the Board of Accountancy, which is the 
unit of state government empowered by the agency's basic 
law to make regulations or decide cases. Actions specified in 

this chapter may be fulfilled by state employees as delegated 
by the agency. 

"Basic law" means provisions in the Code of Virginia that 
delineate the basic authority and responsibilities of an agency. 

"Commonwealth Calendar" means the electronic calendar 
for official government meetings open to the public as 
required by § 2.2-3707 C of the Freedom of Information Act. 

''Negotiated rulemaking panel'' or ''NRP'' means an ad hoc 
advisory panel of interested parties established by an agency 
to consider issues that are controversial with the assistance of 
a facilitator or mediator, for the purpose of reaching a 
consensus in the development of a proposed regulatory 
action. 

"Notification list" means a list used to notify persons 
pursuant to this chapter. Such a list may include an electronic 
list maintained through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall or 
other list maintained by the agency. 

"Open meeting" means any scheduled gathering of a unit of 
state government empowered by an agency's basic law to 
make regulations or decide cases, which is related to 
promulgating, amending or repealing a regulation. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, cooperative, limited liability company, trust, joint 
venture, government, political subdivision, or any other legal 
or commercial entity and any successor, representative, agent, 
agency, or instrumentality thereof. 

"Public hearing" means a scheduled time at which members 
or staff of the agency will meet for the purpose of receiving 
public comment on a regulatory action. 

"Regulation" means any statement of general application 
having the force of law, affecting the rights or conduct of any 
person, adopted by the agency in accordance with the 
authority conferred on it by applicable laws. 

"Regulatory action" means the promulgation, amendment, or 
repeal of a regulation by the agency. 

"Regulatory advisory panel" or "RAP" means a standing or 
ad hoc advisory panel of interested parties established by the 
agency for the purpose of assisting in regulatory actions. 

"Town Hall" means the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, the 
website operated by the Virginia Department of Planning and 
Budget at www.townhall.virginia.gov, which has online 
public comment forums and displays information about 
regulatory meetings and regulatory actions under 
consideration in Virginia and sends this information to 
registered public users. 

"Virginia Register" means the Virginia Register of 
Regulations, the publication that provides official legal notice 
of new, amended and repealed regulations of state agencies, 
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which is published under the provisions of Article 6 (§ 2.2-
4031 et seq.) of the Administrative Process Act. 

Part II  
Notification of Interested Persons 

18VAC5-11-30. Notification list. 

A. The agency shall maintain a list of persons who have 
requested to be notified of regulatory actions being pursued 
by the agency. 

B. Any person may request to be placed on a notification list 
by registering as a public user on the Town Hall or by making 
a request to the agency. Any person who requests to be placed 
on a notification list shall elect to be notified either by 
electronic means or through a postal carrier. 

C. The agency may maintain additional lists for persons who 
have requested to be informed of specific regulatory issues, 
proposals, or actions. 

D. When electronic mail is returned as undeliverable on 
multiple occasions at least 24 hours apart, that person may be 
deleted from the list. A single undeliverable message is 
insufficient cause to delete the person from the list. 

E. When mail delivered by a postal carrier is returned as 
undeliverable on multiple occasions, that person may be 
deleted from the list. 

F. The agency may periodically request those persons on the 
notification list to indicate their desire to either continue to be 
notified electronically, receive documents through a postal 
carrier, or be deleted from the list. 

18VAC5-11-40. Information to be sent to persons on the 
notification list. 

A. To persons electing to receive electronic notification or 
notification through a postal carrier as described in 18VAC5-
11-30, the agency shall send the following information: 

1. A notice of intended regulatory action (NOIRA). 

2. A notice of the comment period on a proposed, a 
reproposed, or a fast-track regulation and hyperlinks to, or 
instructions on how to obtain, a copy of the regulation and 
any supporting documents. 

3. A notice soliciting comment on a final regulation when 
the regulatory process has been extended pursuant to § 2.2-
4007.06 or 2.2-4013 C of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The failure of any person to receive any notice or copies 
of any documents shall not affect the validity of any 
regulation or regulatory action. 

Part III  
Public Participation Procedures  

18VAC5-11-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 
action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 
opportunity to submit data, views, and arguments, either 
orally or in writing, to the agency. Such opportunity to 
comment shall include an online public comment forum on 
the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 
copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 
issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 
fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 
public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 
to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 
submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 
the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 
as follows:  

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 
(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 
publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 
publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 
of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 
listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 
substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 
he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 
calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 
changes in accordance with § 2.2-4013 C of the Code of 
Virginia.  

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 
description of public comment to all public commenters on 
the proposed regulation at least five days before final 
adoption of the regulation pursuant to § 2.2-4012 E of the 
Code of Virginia.  
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18VAC5-11-60. Petition for rulemaking. 

A. As provided in § 2.2-4007 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person may petition the agency to consider a regulatory 
action. 

B. A petition shall include but is not limited to the following 
information: 

1. The petitioner's name and contact information; 

2. The substance and purpose of the rulemaking that is 
requested, including reference to any applicable Virginia 
Administrative Code sections; and 

3. Reference to the legal authority of the agency to take the 
action requested. 

C. The agency shall receive, consider and respond to a 
petition pursuant to § 2.2-4007 and shall have the sole 
authority to dispose of the petition. 

D. The petition shall be posted on the Town Hall and 
published in the Virginia Register. 

E. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit the agency from 
receiving information or from proceeding on its own motion 
for rulemaking. 

18VAC5-11-70. Appointment of regulatory advisory 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a regulatory advisory panel 
(RAP) to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance when the agency determines that such expertise is 
necessary to address a specific regulatory issue or action or 
when individuals indicate an interest in working with the 
agency on a specific regulatory issue or action. 

B. Any person may request the appointment of a RAP and 
request to participate in its activities. The agency shall 
determine when a RAP shall be appointed and the 
composition of the RAP. 

C. A RAP may be dissolved by the agency if: 

1. The proposed text of the regulation is posted on the 
Town Hall, published in the Virginia Register, or such 
other time as the agency determines is appropriate; or 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act. 

18VAC5-11-80. Appointment of negotiated rulemaking 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a negotiated rulemaking panel 
(NRP) if a regulatory action is expected to be controversial. 

B. An NRP that has been appointed by the agency may be 
dissolved by the agency when: 

1. There is no longer controversy associated with the 
development of the regulation; 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act; or 

3. The agency determines that resolution of a controversy 
is unlikely. 

18VAC5-11-90. Meetings. 

Notice of any open meeting, including meetings of a RAP or 
NRP, shall be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 
and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working days 
prior to the date of the meeting. The exception to this 
requirement is any meeting held in accordance with § 2.2-
3707 D of the Code of Virginia allowing for 
contemporaneous notice to be provided to participants and the 
public. 

18VAC5-11-100. Public hearings on regulations. 

A. The agency shall indicate in its notice of intended 
regulatory action whether it plans to hold a public hearing 
following the publication of the proposed stage of the 
regulatory action.  

B. The agency may conduct one or more public hearings 
during the comment period following the publication of a 
proposed regulatory action.  

C. An agency is required to hold a public hearing following 
the publication of the proposed regulatory action when:  

1. The agency's basic law requires the agency to hold a 
public hearing;  

2. The Governor directs the agency to hold a public 
hearing; or  

3. The agency receives requests for a public hearing from 
at least 25 persons during the public comment period 
following the publication of the notice of intended 
regulatory action.  

D. Notice of any public hearing shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working 
days prior to the date of the hearing. The agency shall also 
notify those persons who requested a hearing under 
subdivision C 3 of this section.  

18VAC5-11-110. Periodic review of regulations. 

A. The agency shall conduct a periodic review of its 
regulations consistent with:  

1. An executive order issued by the Governor pursuant to 
§ 2.2-4017 of the Administrative Process Act to receive 
comment on all existing regulations as to their 
effectiveness, efficiency, necessity, clarity, and cost of 
compliance; and  
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2. The requirements in § 2.2-4007.1 of the Administrative 
Process Act regarding regulatory flexibility for small 
businesses.  

B. A periodic review may be conducted separately or in 
conjunction with other regulatory actions.  

C. Notice of a periodic review shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and published in the Virginia Register.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1463; Filed September 29, 2008, 3:55 p.m.  

BOARD FOR ARCHITECTS, PROFESSIONAL 
ENGINEERS, LAND SURVEYORS, CERTIFIED 

INTERIOR DESIGNERS AND LANDSCAPE 
ARCHITECTS 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following model public 
participation guidelines are exempt from Article 2 (§ 2.2-
4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of 
Virginia pursuant to Chapter 321 of the 2008 Acts of 
Assembly. 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC10-10. Public Participation 
Guidelines (repealing 18VAC10-10-10 through 18VAC10-
10-90). 

18VAC10-11. Public Participation Guidelines (adding 
18VAC10-11-10 through 18VAC10-11-110). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02, 54.1-201, and 54.1-404 
of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 27, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Kathleen R. Nosbisch, Executive Director, 
Board for Architects, Professional Engineers, Land 
Surveyors, Certified Interior Designers, and Landscape 
Architects, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (804) 527-4294, or 
email apelscidla@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulations comply with the legislative mandate 
(Chapter 321, 2008 Acts of Assembly) that agencies adopt 
model public participation guidelines issued by the 
Department of Planning and Budget by December 1, 2008. 
Public participation guidelines exist to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment, or repeal of 
an agency's regulations.  

This regulatory action repeals the current public 
participation guidelines and promulgates new public 
participation guidelines as required by Chapter 321 of the 
2008 Acts of Assembly. Highlights of the public 
participation guidelines include (i) providing for the 
establishment and maintenance of notification lists of 
interested persons and specifying the information to be 
sent to such persons; (ii) providing for public comments on 

regulatory actions; (iii) establishing the time period during 
which public comments shall be accepted; (iv) providing 
that the plan to hold a public meeting shall be indicated in 
any notice of intended regulatory action; (v) providing for 
the appointment, when necessary, of regulatory advisory 
panels to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance and negotiated rulemaking panels if a 
regulatory action is expected to be controversial; and (vi) 
providing for the periodic review of regulations. 

CHAPTER 11  
PUBLIC PARTICIPATION GUIDELINES  

Part I  
Purpose and Definitions  

18VAC10-11-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment or repeal of the 
regulations of the Board for Architects, Professional 
Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified Interior Designers and 
Landscape Architects. This chapter does not apply to 
regulations, guidelines, or other documents exempted or 
excluded from the provisions of the Administrative Process 
Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

18VAC10-11-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 
et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency" means the Board for Architects, Professional 
Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified Interior Designers and 
Landscape Architects, which is the unit of state government 
empowered by the agency's basic law to make regulations or 
decide cases. Actions specified in this chapter may be 
fulfilled by state employees as delegated by the agency. 

"Basic law" means provisions in the Code of Virginia that 
delineate the basic authority and responsibilities of an agency. 

"Commonwealth Calendar" means the electronic calendar 
for official government meetings open to the public as 
required by § 2.2-3707 C of the Freedom of Information Act. 

''Negotiated rulemaking panel'' or ''NRP'' means an ad hoc 
advisory panel of interested parties established by an agency 
to consider issues that are controversial with the assistance of 
a facilitator or mediator, for the purpose of reaching a 
consensus in the development of a proposed regulatory 
action. 

"Notification list" means a list used to notify persons 
pursuant to this chapter. Such a list may include an electronic 
list maintained through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall or 
other list maintained by the agency. 
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"Open meeting" means any scheduled gathering of a unit of 
state government empowered by an agency's basic law to 
make regulations or decide cases, which is related to 
promulgating, amending or repealing a regulation. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, cooperative, limited liability company, trust, joint 
venture, government, political subdivision, or any other legal 
or commercial entity and any successor, representative, agent, 
agency, or instrumentality thereof. 

"Public hearing" means a scheduled time at which members 
or staff of the agency will meet for the purpose of receiving 
public comment on a regulatory action. 

"Regulation" means any statement of general application 
having the force of law, affecting the rights or conduct of any 
person, adopted by the agency in accordance with the 
authority conferred on it by applicable laws. 

"Regulatory action" means the promulgation, amendment, or 
repeal of a regulation by the agency. 

"Regulatory advisory panel" or "RAP" means a standing or 
ad hoc advisory panel of interested parties established by the 
agency for the purpose of assisting in regulatory actions. 

"Town Hall" means the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, the 
website operated by the Virginia Department of Planning and 
Budget at www.townhall.virginia.gov, which has online 
public comment forums and displays information about 
regulatory meetings and regulatory actions under 
consideration in Virginia and sends this information to 
registered public users. 

"Virginia Register" means the Virginia Register of 
Regulations, the publication that provides official legal notice 
of new, amended and repealed regulations of state agencies, 
which is published under the provisions of Article 6 (§ 2.2-
4031 et seq.) of the Administrative Process Act. 

Part II  
Notification of Interested Persons 

18VAC10-11-30. Notification list. 

A. The agency shall maintain a list of persons who have 
requested to be notified of regulatory actions being pursued 
by the agency. 

B. Any person may request to be placed on a notification list 
by registering as a public user on the Town Hall or by making 
a request to the agency. Any person who requests to be placed 
on a notification list shall elect to be notified either by 
electronic means or through a postal carrier. 

C. The agency may maintain additional lists for persons who 
have requested to be informed of specific regulatory issues, 
proposals, or actions. 

D. When electronic mail is returned as undeliverable on 
multiple occasions at least 24 hours apart, that person may be 

deleted from the list. A single undeliverable message is 
insufficient cause to delete the person from the list. 

E. When mail delivered by a postal carrier is returned as 
undeliverable on multiple occasions, that person may be 
deleted from the list. 

F. The agency may periodically request those persons on the 
notification list to indicate their desire to either continue to be 
notified electronically, receive documents through a postal 
carrier, or be deleted from the list. 

18VAC10-11-40. Information to be sent to persons on the 
notification list. 

A. To persons electing to receive electronic notification or 
notification through a postal carrier as described in 
18VAC10-11-30, the agency shall send the following 
information: 

1. A notice of intended regulatory action (NOIRA). 

2. A notice of the comment period on a proposed, a 
reproposed, or a fast-track regulation and hyperlinks to, or 
instructions on how to obtain, a copy of the regulation and 
any supporting documents. 

3. A notice soliciting comment on a final regulation when 
the regulatory process has been extended pursuant to § 2.2-
4007.06 or 2.2-4013 C of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The failure of any person to receive any notice or copies 
of any documents shall not affect the validity of any 
regulation or regulatory action. 

Part III  
Public Participation Procedures  

18VAC10-11-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 
action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 
opportunity to submit data, views, and arguments, either 
orally or in writing, to the agency. Such opportunity to 
comment shall include an online public comment forum on 
the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 
copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 
issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 
fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 
public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 
to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 
submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 
the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 
as follows:  
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1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 
(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 
publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 
publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 
of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 
listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 
substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 
he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 
calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 
changes in accordance with § 2.2-4013 C of the Code of 
Virginia.  

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 
description of public comment to all public commenters on 
the proposed regulation at least five days before final 
adoption of the regulation pursuant to § 2.2-4012 E of the 
Code of Virginia.  

18VAC10-11-60. Petition for rulemaking. 

A. As provided in § 2.2-4007 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person may petition the agency to consider a regulatory 
action. 

B. A petition shall include but is not limited to the following 
information: 

1. The petitioner's name and contact information; 

2. The substance and purpose of the rulemaking that is 
requested, including reference to any applicable Virginia 
Administrative Code sections; and 

3. Reference to the legal authority of the agency to take the 
action requested. 

C. The agency shall receive, consider and respond to a 
petition pursuant to § 2.2-4007 and shall have the sole 
authority to dispose of the petition. 

D. The petition shall be posted on the Town Hall and 
published in the Virginia Register. 

E. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit the agency from 
receiving information or from proceeding on its own motion 
for rulemaking. 

18VAC10-11-70. Appointment of regulatory advisory 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a regulatory advisory panel 
(RAP) to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance when the agency determines that such expertise is 
necessary to address a specific regulatory issue or action or 
when individuals indicate an interest in working with the 
agency on a specific regulatory issue or action. 

B. Any person may request the appointment of a RAP and 
request to participate in its activities. The agency shall 
determine when a RAP shall be appointed and the 
composition of the RAP. 

C. A RAP may be dissolved by the agency if: 

1. The proposed text of the regulation is posted on the 
Town Hall, published in the Virginia Register, or such 
other time as the agency determines is appropriate; or 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act. 

18VAC10-11-80. Appointment of negotiated rulemaking 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a negotiated rulemaking panel 
(NRP) if a regulatory action is expected to be controversial. 

B. An NRP that has been appointed by the agency may be 
dissolved by the agency when: 

1. There is no longer controversy associated with the 
development of the regulation; 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act; or 

3. The agency determines that resolution of a controversy 
is unlikely. 

18VAC10-11-90. Meetings. 

Notice of any open meeting, including meetings of a RAP or 
NRP, shall be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 
and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working days 
prior to the date of the meeting. The exception to this 
requirement is any meeting held in accordance with § 2.2-
3707 D of the Code of Virginia allowing for 
contemporaneous notice to be provided to participants and the 
public. 

18VAC10-11-100. Public hearings on regulations. 

A. The agency shall indicate in its notice of intended 
regulatory action whether it plans to hold a public hearing 
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following the publication of the proposed stage of the 
regulatory action.  

B. The agency may conduct one or more public hearings 
during the comment period following the publication of a 
proposed regulatory action.  

C. An agency is required to hold a public hearing following 
the publication of the proposed regulatory action when:  

1. The agency's basic law requires the agency to hold a 
public hearing;  

2. The Governor directs the agency to hold a public 
hearing; or  

3. The agency receives requests for a public hearing from 
at least 25 persons during the public comment period 
following the publication of the notice of intended 
regulatory action.  

D. Notice of any public hearing shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working 
days prior to the date of the hearing. The agency shall also 
notify those persons who requested a hearing under 
subdivision C 3 of this section.  

18VAC10-11-110. Periodic review of regulations. 

A. The agency shall conduct a periodic review of its 
regulations consistent with:  

1. An executive order issued by the Governor pursuant to 
§ 2.2-4017 of the Administrative Process Act to receive 
comment on all existing regulations as to their 
effectiveness, efficiency, necessity, clarity, and cost of 
compliance; and  

2. The requirements in § 2.2-4007.1 of the Administrative 
Process Act regarding regulatory flexibility for small 
businesses.  

B. A periodic review may be conducted separately or in 
conjunction with other regulatory actions.  

C. Notice of a periodic review shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and published in the Virginia Register.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1464; Filed October 6, 2008, 2:32 p.m.  

COMMON INTEREST COMMUNITY BOARD 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR’S NOTICE: The Common Interest Community 
Board is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 
of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 
agency discretion is involved. The Common Interest 
Community Board will receive, consider and respond to 
petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC48-40. Time-Share Regulations 
(adding 18VAC48-40-10 through 18VAC48-40-110). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2349 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 27, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 
Common Interest Community Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8510, 
FAX (804) 527-4298, or email cic@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulation establishes the registration requirements 
for time-share projects in the Commonwealth. In addition, 
the regulation provides annual reporting requirements, 
information regarding implementation and amendment of 
public offering statements, and marketing standards. The 
regulation is transferred from the Real Estate Board to the 
Common Interest Community Board. The changes consist 
of the replacement of references to "Real Estate Board" 
with "Common Interest Community Board." 

CHAPTER 40 
TIME-SHARE REGULATIONS 

18VAC48-40-10. Definitions and explanation of terms. 

The definitions provided in § 55-362 of the Code of 
Virginia, as they may be supplemented herein, shall apply to 
this chapter.  

18VAC48-40-20. Application for registration. 

Application for registration of time-share projects and 
programs shall be filed with the board on an application form 
furnished by the board and shall contain all of the documents 
and information required by § 55-391.1 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

18VAC48-40-30. Form of the application; submission of 
documents. 

The board may establish specific guidelines that establish 
the form for preparation of the application for registration. 
These guidelines may set forth reasonable requirements for 
paper size, binding and organization that assure uniformity in 
the manner disclosures are made to prospective purchasers.  

18VAC48-40-40. Filing fees. 

1. The filing fee for an original application for registration 
of a time-share project shall be $1,500.  

2. The filing fee for an amendment to the application for 
registration adding a phase or phases to the time-share 
project shall be $250.  

3. The filing fee for the annual report filed by the 
developer shall be $500.  
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4. The filing fee for an original application for registration 
of an exchange company shall be $1,000. The filing fee for 
the annual report of an exchange company shall be $250.  

5. There shall be no fee for filing an amended public 
offering statement with the board.  

18VAC48-40-50. Preregistration offers prohibited. 

A. No developer or individual or entity acting on behalf of 
the developer shall offer or dispose of a time-share prior to its 
registration.  

B. No preregistration time-share marketing activity shall be 
deemed an offer unless, by its express terms, it induces, 
solicits or encourages a prospective purchaser to execute a 
contract of sale for a time-share or perform some other act 
that would create or purport to create a legal or equitable 
interest in a time-share other than a security interest in or a 
nonbinding reservation of the time-share.  

18VAC48-40-60. Time-share marketing standards. 

A. No promise, assertion, representation or statement of fact 
or opinion in connection with a time-share marketing activity 
shall be made that is false, inaccurate or misleading by reason 
of inclusion of an untrue statement of a material fact or 
omission of a statement of a material fact relative to the actual 
or intended characteristics, circumstances or features of the 
time-share project or a time-share.  

B. No promise, assertion, representation or statement of fact 
or opinion made in connection with a time-share marketing 
activity and relating to a time-share project not registered 
shall, by its express terms, induce, solicit or encourage a 
contract for sale or performing some other act that would 
create or purport to create a legal or equitable interest in the 
time-share other than a security interest in or a nonbinding 
reservation of the time-share, when to do so would 
circumvent the provisions of the Virginia Real Estate Time-
Share Act.  

18VAC48-40-70. Preparation and distribution of public 
offering statement. 

A. The public offering statement shall be clear and legible 
with pages numbered sequentially. The first page of the 
public offering statement shall conform to subsection D of 
this section.  

B. The developer may include as part of the public offering 
statement a receipt page printed in such a way that the 
developer may obtain verification that a prospective 
purchaser has received the public offering statement. The 
receipt page shall include the effective date of the public 
offering statement as well as a place for the date of delivery 
and signature lines for the prospective purchaser. The 
authorized receipt page in proper form, duly executed, shall 
be evidence that the public offering statement was delivered.  

C. The developer shall distribute a current public offering 
statement to any prospective purchaser before such purchaser 
executes a contract to purchase a time-share.  

D. The public offering statement should read as follows: 

PURCHASER SHOULD READ THIS DOCUMENT FOR 
HIS OWN PROTECTION 

PUBLIC OFFERING STATEMENT 

NAME OF TIME-SHARE PROJECT: 
____________________________________________ 

LOCATION OF TIME-SHARE PROJECT: 
____________________________________________ 

NAME OF DEVELOPER: 
____________________________________________ 

EFFECTIVE DATE OF PUBLIC OFFERING 
STATEMENT: _______________________________ 

AMENDED: ________________________________ 

REVISED: __________________________________ 

This Public Offering Statement presents information 
regarding Time-Share (s) being offered for sale by the 
Developer. The Virginia Real Estate Time-Share Act, §§ 55-
360 et seq. of the Code of Virginia, requires that a Public 
Offering Statement be given to every Purchaser in order to 
provide full and accurate disclosure of the characteristics of 
and material circumstances affecting the Time-Share Project 
and the characteristics of the Time-Share(s) being offered. 
The Public Offering Statement is not intended, however, to be 
all inclusive. The Purchaser should consult other sources for 
details not covered by the Public Offering Statement. 

The Public Offering Statement summarizes information and 
documents furnished by the developer to the Common 
Interest Community Board. The Board has carefully reviewed 
the Public Offering Statement to ensure that it is an accurate 
summary but does not guarantee its accuracy. In the event of 
any inconsistency between the Public Offering Statement and 
the material it is intended to summarize, the material shall 
control. 

Under § 55-376 of the Virginia Real Estate Time-Share Act, 
a Purchaser of a Time-Share may cancel the Contract until 
midnight of the seventh calendar day following the execution 
of such Contract. If the Purchaser elects to cancel the 
Contract, he can obtain all payments made in connection with 
the Contract before cancellation. If the purchaser elects to 
cancel the Contract, he shall only do so either (i) by hand-
delivering the notice to the developer at its principal office or 
at the project or (ii) by mailing the notice by certified United 
States mail, return receipt requested, to the developer or its 
designated agent. 

The following are violations of Virginia law and should be 
reported to the Common Interest Community Board, 
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Perimeter Center, Suite 400, 9960 Mayland Drive, Richmond, 
Virginia 23233: 

a misrepresentation made in the Public Offering Statement; 

an oral modification of the Public Offering Statement; or 

a representation that the Board has passed on the merits of 
the Time-Share(s) being offered or endorses the Time-
Share project. 

PURCHASER SHOULD READ THIS DOCUMENT FOR 
HIS OWN PROTECTION 

18VAC48-40-80. Nature of information to be included in 
public offering statement. 

A. The provisions of § 55-374 of the Code of Virginia and 
this chapter shall be strictly construed to promote full and 
accurate disclosure in the public offering statement of the 
characteristics of and material circumstances affecting the 
time-share project and the characteristics of the time-share(s) 
being offered.  

B. The requirements for disclosure are not exclusive. In 
addition to expressly required information, the developer 
shall disclose all other available information that may 
reasonably be expected to affect the decision of the ordinarily 
prudent purchaser to accept or reject the offer of a time-share. 
The developer shall disclose any additional information 
necessary to make the required information not misleading. 
No information may be presented in such a fashion as to 
obscure the facts, to encourage a misinterpretation of the facts 
or otherwise to mislead a purchaser.  

C. No information shall be incorporated by reference to an 
extrinsic source that is not readily available or already known 
to an ordinary purchaser. Whenever required information is 
not known or not reasonably available, such fact shall be 
stated in the public offering statement with a brief 
explanation. Whenever special circumstances exist that would 
render required disclosure inaccurate or misleading, the 
required disclosure shall be modified to accomplish the 
purpose of the requirement or the disclosure shall be omitted, 
provided that such modification or omission promotes full 
and accurate disclosure.  

D. The public offering statement shall be as brief as is 
consistent with full and accurate disclosure. In no event shall 
the public offering statement be made so lengthy or detailed 
as to discourage close examination. Duplication and 
unnecessary legal language is discouraged.  

E. Expressions of opinion in the public offering statement 
shall be deemed inconsistent with full and accurate disclosure 
unless there is an existing foundation in fact for the opinion 
expressed therein; provided, however, that this sentence shall 
not affect in any way the developer's duty to set forth a 
projected budget for the time-share estate program's 
operation.  

F. Except for brief excerpts, the public offering statement 
shall not incorporate verbatim portions of the time-share 
instrument or other documents. The developer is encouraged 
in the public offering statement to direct the purchaser's 
attention to pertinent portions of the time-share instrument or 
documents attached to the public offering statement where 
required disclosures can be found, and if incorporated by 
reference, shall be deemed to be a part of the public offering 
statement.  

G. Maps, photographs and drawings may be utilized in the 
public offering statement, provided that such use promotes 
full and accurate disclosure of the required characteristics of 
and material circumstance affecting the time-share project 
and the characteristics of the time-share(s) being offered. 

18VAC48-40-90. Readability of public offering statement. 

The public offering statement shall be clear and 
understandable. The public offering statement may be written 
in narrative, question and answer, or other form selected by 
the developer so long as all information required by the 
Virginia Real Estate Time-Share Act and this chapter is 
included in a clear and understandable manner. Use of 
defined terms in the Virginia Real Estate Time-Share Act in 
writing the public offering statement is encouraged. 
Determination as to compliance with this section is within the 
exclusive discretion of the board.  

18VAC48-40-100. Amendment of public offering 
statement; material change. 

A. Within 20 business days of the occurrence of a material 
change, as defined by § 55-362 of the Code of Virginia, the 
developer shall amend the public offering statement to 
disclose each occurrence constituting the material change.  

B. An amendment of the public offering statement, 
necessitated by the occurrence of a material change, may be 
accomplished in any intelligible manner and, to the extent 
that strict compliance with any of the other provisions of this 
chapter governing the form of presentation of information in 
the public offering statement would be unduly burdensome, 
the developer may deviate therefrom in amending the public 
offering statement, provided that (i) no such deviation shall 
be more extensive than is necessary and appropriate under the 
circumstances, (ii) the requirements of this chapter are strictly 
observed and (iii) the presentation of information in the 
amended public offering statement is organized so as to 
facilitate reading and comprehension. Nothing contained in 
this chapter shall authorize a deviation from strict compliance 
with this chapter governing the substance of disclosure in the 
public offering statement. If any information has become 
inaccurate or misleading by reason of the material change, 
such information shall be deleted from the public offering 
statement or amended in such a way to make the information 
accurate and not misleading.  
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18VAC48-40-110. Filing of amended public offering 
statement. 

A. The developer shall file with the board a copy of the 
amended public offering statement generated pursuant to 
18VAC48-40-100. The filing shall be dated by the developer 
and its receipt dated by the board. The amended public 
offering statement shall be effective upon its receipt by the 
board.  

B. When an amended document pursuant to 18VAC48-40-
100 is filed with the board, and the amendments are not 
apparent on the face of the document, the document shall be 
redlined, highlighted or otherwise marked to indicate the 
changes.  

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 
FORMS (18VAC48-40) 

Time-Share Registration Application, TSREG (eff. 9/08). 

Exchange Company Registration Application, EXCOREG 
(eff. 9/08). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1574; Filed October 3, 2008, 2:40 p.m.  

COMMON INTEREST COMMUNITY BOARD 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR’S NOTICE: The Common Interest Community 
Board is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 
of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 
agency discretion is involved. The Common Interest 
Community Board will receive, consider and respond to 
petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC48-60. Common Interest 
Community Management Information Fund Regulations 
(adding 18VAC48-60-10 through 18VAC48-60-60). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2349 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 27, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 
Common Interest Community Board, Department of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland 
Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-
8510, FAX (804) 527-4298, or email cic@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The new regulation establishes the annual reporting 
requirements and fees of associations that are under the 
purview of the Common Interest Community Board. The 
only change in transferring the regulation from the Real 
Estate Board to the Common Interest Community Board is 
the replacement of all references to "Real Estate Board" 
with "Common Interest Community Board." 

CHAPTER 60  
COMMON INTEREST COMMUNITY MANAGEMENT 

INFORMATION FUND REGULATIONS  

18VAC48-60-10. Purpose. 

These regulations govern the exercise of powers granted to 
and the performance of duties imposed upon the Common 
Interest Community Board by §§ 54.1-2350, 55-79.93:1, 55-
504.1, 55-516.1 and 55-528 of the Code of Virginia.  

18VAC48-60-20. Annual report by association. 

"Association" shall be as defined in § 55-528 of the Code of 
Virginia. Each association annual report shall be on the form 
designated by the board or shall be a copy of the annual 
report filed with the State Corporation Commission. Such 
report shall be accompanied by the fee established by this 
chapter. 

18VAC48-60-30. Annual report by condominium 
association. 

Within 30 days after the date of termination of the declarant 
control period, and every year thereafter, an association shall 
file an annual report with the board.  

18VAC48-60-40. Annual report by cooperative 
association. 

Within 30 days after the date of termination of the declarant 
control period, and every year thereafter, an association shall 
file an annual report with the board. 

18VAC48-60-50. Annual report by property owners' 
association. 

Within the meaning and intent of § 55-516.1 of the Code of 
Virginia, within 30 days of the creation of the association, 
and every year thereafter, the association shall file an annual 
report with the board. 

18VAC48-60-60. Registration fee. 

The following fee schedule is based upon the size of each 
residential common interest community. The application fee 
is different than the annual renewal fee. All fees are 
nonrefundable. 

Number of Lots/Units Application Fee Renewal Fee 

1-50 $45 $30 

51-100 $65 $50 
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101-200 $100 $80 

201-500 $135 $115 

501-1000 $145 $130 

1001-5000 $165 $150 

5001+ $180 $170 

Registration certificates are renewable the month following 
the association's annual meeting. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (18VAC48-60) 

Community Association Registration Application, 
ASSOCANRPT (eff. 09/04/08). 

CIC Annual Renewal Report, CICANRENRPT (eff. 
09/04/08). 

Declarant Annual Report for Condominium, condo annual 
report (eff. 09/04/08). 

Time-Share Annual Report, TSANRPT (eff. 09/04/08). 
VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1575; Filed October 3, 2008, 2:41 p.m.  

BOARD OF NURSING 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-50. Regulations Governing 
the Certification of Massage Therapists (amending 
18VAC90-50-10, 18VAC90-50-40, 18VAC90-50-75, 
18VAC90-50-80, 18VAC90-50-90). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on November 26, 2008. 

Effective Date: December 11, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 
Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4515, FAX 
(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia establishes 
the general powers and duties of health regulatory boards 
including the responsibility to promulgate regulations, 
establish renewal schedules and to levy fees. 

Purpose: The purpose of the proposed regulatory action is to 
make regulations consistent with current approval of 
educational programs, to encourage massage therapists to be 
trained in CPR by accepting those hours for CE credit, to 
ensure that a massage therapist whose certification has been 
suspended or revoked has met continuing competency 
requirements for reinstatement, and to further define the 
prohibition on engaging in any sexual conduct involving a 
patient. Regulations that more clearer delineate the 
prohibition against a professional boundary violations will 
help to protect patients/clients who may be subject to 
inappropriate behaviors by massage therapists. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The board has 
determined that a fast-track process is appropriate because 
there is no controversy with this action.  Massage therapists 
were included in the periodic review of the regulation and 
concurred with the changes.  Amendments will primarily 
clarify current provisions and will not establish any new 
requirements. 

Substance: The only amendment that may be considered 
substantive would be the expanded prohibition against a 
boundary violation. Currently the regulation makes it 
unprofessional conduct to initiate or engage in any sexual 
conduct involving a patient. Consistent with other regulations 
under the Board of Nursing, the amended regulation makes it 
unprofessional to enter into a relationship that constitutes a 
professional boundary violation to include taking advantage 
of the vulnerability of a patient or sexual conduct with a 
patient or his family. 

Issues: The advantage to the public of the amendment on 
unprofessional conduct may be that more explicit language 
about professional boundary violations may help a massage 
therapist understand and avoid actions that would take 
advantage of a client or patient’s vulnerability, including, but 
not limited to, sexual conduct. There are no disadvantages to 
the agency or the Commonwealth. There is no other pertinent 
matter of interest related to this action. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Nursing (Board) proposes to: 1) reduce the 
requirement for continuing education (CE) from 25 hours 
every two years to 24 hours, 2) add cardiopulmonary 
resuscitation (CPR) as a qualifying course for CE, 3) amend 
language describing what types of relationships with clients 
constitute grounds for disciplinary action, 4) add clarifying 
language, and 5) repeal obsolete language. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Under the current regulations to 
renew certification as a massage therapist a practitioner must 
either hold current certification by the National Certification 
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Board for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork (NCBTMB) or 
obtain 25 hours of continuing education (CE) each two-year 
certification period.  “Hours chosen shall be those that 
enhance and expand the skills and knowledge related to the 
clinical practice of massage therapy…”  At minimum half of 
those hours must be in activities or courses provided by an 
NCBTMB-approved provider and may include seminars, 
workshops, home study courses, and continuing education 
courses. The remaining hours can be from activities or 
courses that may include consultation, independent reading or 
research, preparation for a presentation or other such 
experiences that promote continued learning.  Also, at least 
one of the hours must be in professional ethics. 

NCBTMB requires 48 hours of CE in order to be re-certified 
every four years. In order to be consistent with NCBTMB the 
Board proposes to reduce the CE requirement to 24 hours 
each biennium. This modest change should not significantly 
affect massage therapists continuing competence and may 
provide a small cost savings. 

The Board also proposes to specify that a course in CPR 
qualifies for CE credit. According to the Department of 
Health Professions (Department), CPR courses would most 
likely not qualify under the current regulations. The ability to 
properly administer CPR clearly has value in that it can 
potentially save lives.  CPR may not be as directly related to 
maintaining and improving the skills and knowledge related 
to performing massage therapy as other qualifying courses 
and activities, but given that practitioners must still satisfy a 
significant number of CE hours that are more directly related 
coupled with the significant benefit of CPR, this proposal 
likely produces a net benefit. 

The current regulations specifically list “Initiating or 
engaging in any sexual conduct involving a patient” as 
grounds for discipline.  The Board proposes to replace that 
language with 

Entering into a relationship with a patient or client that 
constitutes a professional boundary violation in which 
the massage therapist uses his professional position to 
take advantage of the vulnerability of a patient, a client 
or his family, to include but not limited to actions that 
result in personal gain at the expense of the patient or 
client, a nontherapeutic personal involvement or sexual 
conduct with a patient or client. 

According to the Department the proposed language is 
intended to still include initiating or engaging in any sexual 
conduct involving a patient as grounds for discipline.  In 
disciplining a practitioner the Board could potentially cite 
Code of Virginia Section § 54.1-3007 for the additional 
grounds listed in the proposed regulatory language.  Including 
this language in the regulations may make this information 
more visible to practitioners though.  Thus, including it may 
produce some benefit and will not produce any cost. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
affect the 4866 certified massage therapists in the 
Commonwealth.  Most are self-employed or work in small 
business practices.1 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments may encourage more massage 
therapists to take a course in CPR.  Private providers of CPR 
may encounter a modest increase in demand for their 
services.  

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
amendments are unlikely to significantly affect small 
businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments are unlikely to 
significantly affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect real estate development 
costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§ 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

___________________________ 
1 Source: Department of Health Professions 
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Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Board of Nursing 
concurs with the analysis of the Department of Planning and 
Budget on proposed amended regulations for 18VAC90-50, 
Regulations Governing the Certification of Massage 
Therapists. 

Summary:  

The proposed amendments update and clarify the 
regulations as a result of a periodic review. There is a 
reduction in the hours of continuing education (CE) 
required for biennial renewal of certification from 25 to 24 
and inclusion of a course in cardiopulmonary resuscitation 
(CPR) as acceptable for CE credit. The only amendment 
that may be considered substantive would be the expanded 
prohibition against a boundary violation, rather than the 
somewhat more narrow prohibition against sexual contact. 

Part I  
General Provisions  

18VAC90-50-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Board" means the Board of Nursing.  

"Category A" means continuing education courses or 
programs offered by an organization or individual approved 
as a provider by the NCBTMB.  

"Category B" means continuing education courses, programs 
or experiences that are related to the clinical practice of 
massage therapy but which may not be offered by a provider 
approved by the NCBTMB.  

"Certified massage therapist" means a person who meets the 
qualifications specified in this chapter and who is currently 
certified by the board. Only someone who is certified by the 
board as a massage therapist may use any designation tending 
to imply that he is a certified massage therapist or massage 
therapist.  

"Massage therapy" means the treatment of soft tissues for 
therapeutic purposes by the application of massage and 
bodywork techniques based on the manipulation or 
application of pressure to the muscular structure or soft 
tissues of the human body. The terms "massage therapy" and 
"therapeutic massage" do not include the diagnosis or 
treatment of illness or disease or any service or procedure for 
which a license to practice medicine, nursing, chiropractic 
therapy, physical therapy, occupational therapy, acupuncture, 
or podiatry is required by law.  

"NCBTMB" means the National Certification Board for 
Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork.  

Part II  
Requirements for Certification  

18VAC90-50-40. Initial certification.  

A. An applicant seeking initial certification shall submit a 
completed application and required fee and verification of 
meeting the requirements of § 54.1-3029 A of the Code of 
Virginia as follows:  

1. Is at least 18 years old;  

2. Has successfully completed a minimum of 500 hours of 
training from a massage therapy program, having received 
programmatic approval from the Virginia Board of 
Education, Division of Proprietary Schools, or been 
certified or approved by the Virginia Board of Education, 
Division of Proprietary Schools; certified or approved by 
the State Council of Higher Education or an agency in 
another state, the District of Columbia or a United States 
territory that approves educational programs, 
notwithstanding the provisions of § 22.1-320 of the Code 
of Virginia;  

3. Has passed the National Certification Exam for 
Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork, the National 
Certification Exam for Therapeutic Massage, or an exam 
deemed acceptable to the board leading to national 
certification; and  

4. Has not committed any acts or omissions that would be 
grounds for disciplinary action or denial of certification as 
set forth in § 54.1-3007 of the Code of Virginia and 
18VAC90-50-90.  

B. No application for certification under provisions of 
§ 54.1-3029 B of the Code of Virginia shall be considered 
unless submitted prior to July 1, 1998.  

C. An applicant who has been licensed or certified in 
another country and who, in the opinion of the board, meets 
the educational requirements shall take and pass the national 
certifying examination as required in subsection A of this 
section in order to become certified.  

18VAC90-50-75. Continuing competency requirements.  

A. In order to renew a certificate biennially on and after 
January 15, 2005, a certified massage therapist shall:  

1. Hold current certification by the NCBTMB; or  

2. Complete at least 25 24 hours of continuing education or 
learning activities with at least one hour in professional 
ethics. Hours chosen shall be those that enhance and 
expand the skills and knowledge related to the clinical 
practice of massage therapy and may be distributed as 
follows:  

a. A minimum of 12.5 12 of the 25 24 hours shall be in 
Category A activities or courses provided by an 
NCBTMB-approved provider and may include seminars, 
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workshops, home study courses, and continuing 
education courses.  

b. No more than 12.5 12 of the 25 24 hours may be 
Category B activities or courses that may include 
consultation, independent reading or research, 
preparation for a presentation, a course in 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation or other such experiences 
that promote continued learning.  

B. A massage therapist shall be exempt from the continuing 
competency requirements for the first biennial renewal 
following the date of initial certification in Virginia.  

C. The massage therapist shall retain in his records the 
completed form with all supporting documentation for a 
period of four years following the renewal of an active 
certificate.  

D. The board shall periodically conduct a random audit of 
certificate holders to determine compliance. The persons 
selected for the audit shall provide evidence of current 
NCBTMB certification or the completed continued 
competency form provided by the board and all supporting 
documentation within 30 days of receiving notification of the 
audit.  

E. Failure to comply with these requirements may subject 
the massage therapist to disciplinary action by the board.  

F. The board may grant an extension of the deadline for 
continuing competency requirements, for up to one year, for 
good cause shown upon a written request from the certificate 
holder prior to the renewal date.  

G. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 
requirements for circumstances beyond the control of the 
certificate holder, such as temporary disability, mandatory 
military service, or officially declared disasters.  

18VAC90-50-80. Reinstatement of certificates.  

A. A massage therapist whose certificate has lapsed may 
reinstate his certification within one renewal period by 
attesting to completion of continuing competency 
requirements for the period and payment of the current 
renewal fee and the late renewal fee.  

B. A massage therapist whose certificate has lapsed for more 
than one renewal period shall file a reinstatement application, 
attest to completion of continuing competency requirements 
for the period in which the certificate has been lapsed, not to 
exceed four years, and pay the reinstatement fee.  

C. A massage therapist whose certificate has been 
suspended or revoked may apply for reinstatement by filing a 
reinstatement application meeting the requirements of 
subsection B of this section, and paying the fee for 
reinstatement after suspension or revocation. 

D. The board may require evidence that the massage 
therapist is prepared to resume practice in a competent 
manner. 

Part IV  
Disciplinary Provisions  

18VAC90-50-90. Disciplinary provisions.  

The board has the authority to deny, revoke or suspend a 
certificate issued by it or to otherwise discipline a certificate 
holder upon proof that the practitioner has violated any of the 
provisions of § 54.1-3007 of the Code of Virginia or of this 
chapter or has engaged in the following:  

1. Fraud or deceit which shall mean, but shall not be 
limited to:  

a. Filing false credentials;  

b. Falsely representing facts on an application for initial 
certification, or reinstatement or renewal of a certificate; 
or  

c. Misrepresenting one's qualifications including scope of 
practice.  

2. Unprofessional conduct which shall mean, but shall not 
be limited to:  

a. Performing acts which constitute the practice of any 
other health care profession for which a license or a 
certificate is required or acts which are beyond the limits 
of the practice of massage therapy as defined in § 54.1-
3000 of the Code of Virginia;  

b. Assuming duties and responsibilities within the 
practice of massage therapy without adequate training or 
when competency has not been maintained;  

c. Failing to acknowledge the limitations of and 
contraindications for massage and bodywork or failing to 
refer patients to appropriate health care professionals 
when indicated;  

d. Initiating or engaging in any sexual conduct involving 
a patient Entering into a relationship with a patient or 
client that constitutes a professional boundary violation 
in which the massage therapist uses his professional 
position to take advantage of the vulnerability of a 
patient, a client or his family, to include but not limited 
to actions that result in personal gain at the expense of 
the patient or client, a nontherapeutic personal 
involvement or sexual conduct with a patient or client;  

e. Falsifying or otherwise altering patient or employer 
records;  

f. Violating the privacy of patients or the confidentiality 
of patient information unless required to do so by law;  
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g. Employing or assigning unqualified persons to practice 
under the title of "massage therapist" or "certified 
massage therapist";  

h. Engaging in any material misrepresentation in the 
course of one's practice as a massage therapist; or  

i. Failing to practice in a manner consistent with the code 
of ethics of the NCBTMB, as incorporated by reference 
into this chapter with the exception of the requirement to 
follow all policies, procedures, guidelines, regulations, 
codes, and requirements promulgated by the NCBTMB.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1291; Filed October 7, 2008, 4:21 p.m.  

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-220; 
repealing 18VAC110-20-230). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on November 26, 2008. 

Effective Date: December 11, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Elizabeth Scott Russell, RPh, Executive 
Director, Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, 
FAX (804) 527-4472, or email 
scotti.russell@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 
Board of Pharmacy the authority to promulgate regulations to 
administer the regulatory process. 

Purpose: Proposed amendments modifying the requirements 
for nuclear pharmacies eliminate conflicting or overlapping 
regulations for entities and persons that are already tightly 
regulated by the federal government and the Virginia 
Department of Health, the state agency that has oversight 
responsibility for radiological health programs. Some of the 
board’s regulations were not consistent with current 
requirements and qualifications for nuclear pharmacists; 
others were no longer necessary. By streamlining the 
regulation and addressing only those aspects of pharmacy 
practice that are not regulated by other agencies, the board’s 
requirements focus on the transmission of orders, labeling of 
containers and packaging as necessary for public health and 
safety. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The board has 
determined that a fast-track process is appropriate because 
there is no controversy with this action.  It will eliminate 
conflicting or overlapping regulations for pharmacies and 

pharmacists who are already subject to state and federal 
requirements for other agencies.  The amendments have been 
developed with the Director of the Radioactive Materials 
Program at the Virginia Department of Health and are 
consistent with the request from that department for 
amendments. 

Substance: The board’s amendments eliminate conflicting 
language and unnecessary provisions. A subsection is 
amended to reference compliance with the U.S. Nuclear 
Regulatory Commission (NRC) and VDH requirements for 
staffing and operation of a nuclear facility.  Another 
subsection is amended to use correct terminology – prescriber 
rather than practitioner. 18VAC110-20-230, which sets out 
the qualifications of a nuclear pharmacist, is repealed as 
unnecessary since those agencies have more stringent 
qualifications. 

Issues: There are no particular advantages or disadvantages to 
the public since regulations have been clarified and made 
consistent with requirements of other agencies that are 
already in place. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 
Commonwealth.  There are less than 10 nuclear pharmacies 
in Virginia, so oversight has not been problematic. 

There is no other pertinent matter of interest related to this 
action 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Pharmacy proposes to repeal language that is either 
duplicative or in conflict with U.S. Nuclear Regulatory 
Commission (NRC) and Virginia Department of Health 
provisions. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The proposal to repeal 
duplicative language will have no effect since requirements 
remain in the NRC and VDH provisions.  According to the 
Department of Health Professions language that is not 
consistent with NRC and VDH rules has not been enforced.  
Thus repealing this language will have no impact beyond 
presenting clearer information to the public concerning the 
law as applied.  Thus the proposed changes produce benefit 
and no cost. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
affect the fewer than ten1 pharmacies which provide 
radiopharmaceutical services in the Commonwealth. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal amendments 
do not significantly affect employment. 
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Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments do not significantly affect the use and 
value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
amendments do not significantly affect small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments do not 
significantly affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not significantly affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

_____________________________ 
1 Data Source: Department of Health Professions 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Board of Pharmacy 
concurs with the analysis of the Department of Planning and 
Budget on proposed amended regulations for 18VAC110-20, 
Regulations Governing the Pharmacy, relating to 
requirements for nuclear pharmacies. 

Summary: 

The board has amended its regulations pertaining to the 
general requirements for pharmacies providing 
radiopharmaceutical services and repealed the section of 
regulations that establishes the qualifications for a nuclear 
pharmacist.  Amendments will refer to standards and 
requirements of the U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 

(NRC) and the Virginia Department of Health (VDH) 
related to the staffing and operation of a nuclear 
pharmacy. 

Part V  
Nuclear Pharmacies  

18VAC110-20-220. General requirements for pharmacies 
providing radiopharmaceutical services. 

A. A permit to operate a pharmacy providing 
radiopharmaceutical services shall be issued only to a 
qualified nuclear pharmacist as defined in 18VAC110-20-
230. In emergency situations, in the absence of the nuclear 
pharmacist, he may designate one or more other qualified 
pharmacists to have access to the licensed area. These 
individuals may obtain single doses of radiopharmaceuticals 
for the immediate emergency and shall document such 
withdrawals in the control system.  

B. Pharmacies providing ordinary pharmacy services in 
addition to radiopharmaceutical services shall comply with all 
regulations applicable to pharmacies in general. Pharmacies 
providing only radiopharmaceutical services shall comply 
with all regulations related to physical standards, sanitary 
conditions and security.  

C. A. Nuclear pharmacies shall have adequate space and 
equipment, commensurate with the scope of services required 
and provided and in compliance comply with standards and 
requirements of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) 
and the Virginia Department of Health related to the staffing 
and operation of the facility. 

D. B. Radiopharmaceuticals are to be dispensed only upon 
an order from a practitioner prescriber authorized to possess, 
use and administer radiopharmaceuticals. 

1. Orders shall originate at an institution or healthcare 
facility licensed to receive and possess 
radiopharmaceuticals, and must contain all necessary 
information relative to the radiopharmaceutical, activity, 
time of calibration, and any special preparation or delivery 
instructions. 

2. Orders for radiopharmaceuticals may be transmitted 
orally, by fax, or by electronic transmission by an 
authorized agent of the prescriber. If the fax or electronic 
transmission of the authorized agent is pursuant to an oral 
order from the prescriber, the transmitted document need 
not include the prescriber's signature, but must include the 
name of the agent. 

E. C. The immediate outside container of a radioactive drug 
to be dispensed shall also be labeled in accordance with 
requirements of § 54.1-3410.1 B of the Code of Virginia. 

F. D. The immediate inner container shall be labeled with: 
(i) the standard radiation symbol; (ii) the words "Caution--
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Radioactive Material"; and (iii) the serial number assigned to 
the order. 

G. The amount of radioactivity shall be determined by 
radiometric methods for each individual dose immediately 
prior to dispensing.  

H. E. Nuclear pharmacies may redistribute approved 
radioactive drugs if the pharmacy does not process the 
radioactive drugs in any manner nor violate the product 
packaging. 

18VAC110-20-230. Qualification as a nuclear pharmacist. 
(Repealed.) 

In order to practice as a nuclear pharmacist, a pharmacist 
shall possess the following qualifications:  

1. Meet Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) standards 
of training for medically used or radioactive by-product 
material.  

2. Have received a minimum of 200 contact hours of 
didactic instruction in nuclear pharmacy.  

3. Attain a minimum of 500 hours of clinical nuclear 
pharmacy training under the supervision of a qualified 
nuclear pharmacist in a nuclear pharmacy providing 
nuclear pharmacy services, or in a structured clinical 
nuclear pharmacy training program in an approved school 
of pharmacy.  

4. Submit to the board an affidavit of experience and 
training meeting the requirements of subdivisions 1, 2 and 
3 of this section; documentation of NRC approval as an 
authorized nuclear pharmacist; or documentation of 
certification as a nuclear pharmacist by the American 
Pharmaceutical Association Board of Pharmaceutical 
Specialties.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1359; Filed October 7, 2008, 4:22 p.m. 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-50. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Marriage and Family Therapy (amending 
18VAC115-50-40, 18VAC115-50-60). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

November 13, 2008 - 1 p.m. - Department of Health 
Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd 
Floor, Richmond, VA 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
December 26, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, 
Board of Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4488, FAX (804) 
527-4435, or email evelyn.brown@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 
authority of Chapter 24 (§ 54.1-2400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 
the Code of Virginia. Section 54.1-2400 provides the Board 
of Counseling the authority to promulgate regulations to 
administer the regulatory system. The specific authorization 
to promulgate regulations establishing the qualifications for 
licensure as a marriage and family therapist is found in 
§ 54.1-3505 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The purpose of the action to amend regulations for 
the licensure of marriage and family therapists to require that 
at least 100 of the 200 hours of clinical supervision in a 
residency be provided by a licensed marriage and family 
therapist and to repeal the provision that allows a person 
holding a license as a professional counselor to be granted a 
license as a marriage and family therapist without further 
examination. The action is in response to a petition for 
rulemaking submitted by Dr. Arnold Woodruff, President of 
the Virginia Association for Marriage and Family Therapy.  It 
was strongly supported by comment to the board from 
licensed MFT’s and others. 

The purpose of the action is to ensure that persons who hold 
the marriage and family therapy license are specifically 
trained, experienced and tested in the unique theories and 
modalities for addressing the needs of their clients.  While 
other mental health professionals can and do treat individuals 
and families, public health and safety is protected by the 
assurance that a person who holds a license as a marriage and 
family therapist is appropriately qualified in the specific 
application of theory and technique. 

Substance: 18VAC115-50-60, which sets out the 
requirements for a residency in marriage and family therapy, 
is amended to specify that at least 100 of the required 200 
hours of face-to-face supervision be provided by a person 
holding a license as a marriage and family therapist.  The 
requirement would be similar to that for licensed professional 
counselors and would include a provision to allow the board 
to consider special requests in the event that the regulations 
create an undue burden in regard to geography or disability 
that limits the resident's access to qualified supervision. 

In addition, 18VAC115-50-40 is amended to repeal 
subdivision 3 b, which allows a person holding a license as a 
licensed professional counselor to be licensed by endorsement 
without taking and passing the national examination in 
marriage and family therapy.  Both changes would provide 
the consumer of mental health services with greater assurance 
about the training and competency of the practitioner who 
holds a license to provide marriage and family therapy. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public would be the 
assurance that persons who hold a license as a marriage and 
family therapist have had appropriate supervision in their 
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residencies and have been tested on a national standard in the 
systemic theories and application relative to marriage and 
family therapy. There are no disadvantages to consumers of 
mental health services; persons who hold a license as a 
professional counselor will continue to be authorized to 
provide marriage and family counseling, and residents who 
have difficulty finding a licensed MFT to provide one-half of 
the required supervision will be able to request a hardship 
waiver. 

There are no disadvantages to the agency or the 
Commonwealth.  By specifying requirements for a 
supervisor, there will be less ambiguity in the regulation, 
which may encourage compliance. There are no other matters 
of interest. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Counseling (Board) proposes to amend its 
Regulations Governing the Practice of Marriage and Family 
Therapy to specify that half of the required hours of face-to-
face resident supervision be provided by a licensed marriage 
and family therapist.  The Board also proposes to eliminate 
the regulatory provision that allows licensed professional 
counselors to also be licensed by endorsement as marriage 
and family therapists. 

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient data to weigh the 
magnitude of costs versus benefits for this proposed 
regulation. Costs and benefits are discussed below. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, residents who are 
training to be marriage and family therapists must complete 
4,000 hours of post graduate supervised clinical experience.  
Of those 4,000 hours, 200 must be under the face-to-face 
supervision of a licensed marriage and family therapist, 
professional counselor, clinical psychologist, clinical social 
worker or psychiatrist. The Board proposes to amend this 
provision so that 100 of the 200 hours of required face-to-face 
supervision must be performed by a licensed marriage and 
family therapist.  

The Department of Health Professions (DHP) reports that this 
change is proposed to account for "distinctive differences in 
the therapy paradigms and systemic differences in theory and 
application with respect to marriage and family systems." The 
Board believes that, because of these differences, individuals 
who are working toward licensure in marriage and family 
therapy will be better prepared if they have a certain amount 
of dedicated supervision from individuals that are already 
licensed in the residents’ chosen field. To the extent that 
marriage and family therapists have a distinct knowledge base 
and skills set that they can pass on to future licensees, 
affected residents will benefit from this regulatory change. 

DHP reports that the Board currently licenses approximately 
830 marriage and family therapists, 2,940 professional 

counselors, 1,912 clinical psychologists and 4,409 clinical 
social workers. Since psychiatrists are licensed as medical 
doctors, and the Board of Medicine does not issue separate 
licenses for areas of specialization, DHP does not know the 
number of psychiatrists that practice in the Commonwealth.  
Given the much smaller pool of licensed marriage and family 
therapists, when compared to the pool of all types of 
professionals that can now offer supervision, residents will 
likely have a more difficult time finding an appropriate 
supervisor for the supervision hours that will now be 
restricted.  DHP reports, however, that residents who cannot 
find an available licensed marriage and family therapist to 
provide the proposed supervision may apply to the Board for 
a waiver that would allow supervision by other acceptable 
Board licensed professionals.  Currently this waiver program 
is Board policy but is not explicitly written into this 
regulation.  Residents and others who are subject to this 
regulation would likely benefit from the clarity added if the 
Board were to explicitly write the waiver program into the 
regulatory language. 

Currently regulation includes a provision that allows licensed 
professional counselors to also gain licensure as marriage and 
family therapists without have to meet separate education and 
examination requirements.  The Board proposes to eliminate 
this provision.  Once this amended regulation is promulgated, 
licensed professional counselors will have to have completed 
all course work required for licensure as a marriage and 
family therapist, and will have to take the marriage and 
family therapy exam, if they want to be licensed as marriage 
and family therapists.  

DHP reports that, although there would be overlap with the 
requirements of the license they already hold, most licensed 
professional counselors would not have already completed all 
of the course work required for the dual licensure.  
Accordingly, licensed professional counselors would have to 
incur explicit costs for tuition, books and related school fees, 
as well as implicit costs for the time spent on the extra 
required education, if they want to also be licensed as 
marriage and family therapists. These costs could be small, if 
individual licensed professional counselors have already 
attained most of the required education, or they could be quite 
large, if individual licensed professional counselors have only 
taken a few of the required courses.  DHP reports that there is 
no solid information that would indicate which of these cost 
paths is more likely. With this regulatory change, all licensed 
professional counselors who also wish to be licensed as 
marriage and family therapists would incur a fee of $224 for 
the marriage and family therapy examination and will also 
incur implicit cost for the time spent preparing for, and 
taking, this exam.  

DHP reports that licensed professional counselors will not 
have to limit the scope of their practice on account of this 
proposed regulatory change. Licensed professional counselors 
who choose not to bear the extra costs that will be associated 
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with licensure as a marriage and family therapist may be at a 
slight disadvantage in attracting new clients who have family 
related issues, but they will not face a regulatory bar to 
providing services for the clients they do attract.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. These regulatory changes 
will mainly affect licensed professional counselors, who 
might wish to also be licensed as marriage and family 
therapists, and residents in marriage and family therapy 
programs.  DHP reports that the Board currently licenses 
2,940 professional counselors but has no data to indicate how 
many professional counselors have also been licensed by 
endorsement as marriage and family therapists.  The number 
of individuals who are currently serving residencies in a 
marriage and family therapy program is also unknown.  Other 
Board licensees will also be affected by these regulatory 
changes to the extent that they are no longer eligible to 
provide supervision for part of residents’ required supervised 
clinical hours. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. To the extent that this 
proposed regulation prescribes resident supervision, resident 
employment in offices of other Board licensed professionals 
will be limited. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Licensed 
professional counselors who choose not to bear the extra 
costs that will be associated with licensure as a marriage and 
family therapist may be at a slight disadvantage in attracting 
new clients who have family related issues. If this proposed 
regulation does adversely affect the number of clients that 
professional counselors can attract, these counselors may see 
their revenues decrease. This, in turn, may slightly lower the 
value of impacted counseling practices. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Most licensed 
professional counselors in the Commonwealth are part of a 
practice that qualifies as a small business.  These businesses 
will be affected by this proposed regulation only if the shift in 
requirements to gain an additional license in marriage and 
family therapy puts them at a disadvantage when attracting 
and retaining clients. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. There appear to be no alternative regulatory 
schemes that would both meet the Board’s goal of 
recognizing marriage and family therapy as a distinct 
profession and further minimize any adverse impact on 
affected small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no affect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§ 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Board of 
Counseling concurs with the analysis of the Department of 
Planning and Budget on proposed amended regulations for 
18VAC115-50, Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Marriage and Family Therapists. 

Summary: 

The requirements for a residency in marriage and family 
therapy are amended to specify that at least 100 of the 
required 200 hours of face-to-face supervision must be 
provided by a person holding a license as a marriage and 
family therapist.  The requirements for licensure by 
endorsement are amended to repeal the provision that 
allows a person holding a license as a licensed 
professional counselor to be licensed by endorsement 
without taking and passing the national examination in 
marriage and family therapy. 

18VAC115-50-40. Application for licensure by 
endorsement. 

A. Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall 
submit in one package: 

1. A completed application; 

2. The application processing and initial licensure fee 
prescribed in 18VAC115-50-20; and  

3. Documentation of licensure as follows: 

a. Verification of all professional licenses or certificates 
ever held in any other jurisdiction. In order to qualify for 
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endorsement the applicant shall have no unresolved 
action against a license or certificate. The board will 
consider history of disciplinary action on a case-by-case 
basis; 

b. Documentation of a marriage and family therapy 
license obtained by standards specified in subsection B of 
this section; or.  

c. If currently holding an unrestricted license as a 
professional counselor in Virginia, documentation of 
successful completion of the requirements set forth in 
18VAC115-50-50, 18VAC115-50-55 and 18VAC115-
50-60.  

B. Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall meet 
one of the following: 

1. Educational requirements consistent with those specified 
in 18VAC115-50-50 and 18VAC115-50-55 and experience 
requirements consistent with those specified in 
18VAC115-50-60; or 

2. If an applicant does not have educational and experience 
credentials consistent with those required by this chapter, 
he shall provide:  

a. Documentation of education and supervised 
experience that met the requirements of the jurisdiction 
in which he was initially licensed as verified by an 
official transcript and a certified copy of the original 
application materials; and 

b. Evidence of clinical practice for five of the last six 
years immediately preceding his licensure application in 
Virginia. 

3. In lieu of transcripts verifying education and 
documentation verifying supervised experience, the board 
may accept verification from the credentials registry of the 
American Association of State Counseling Boards or any 
other board-recognized entity. 

18VAC115-50-60. Residency. 

A. Registration. 

1. Applicants who render counseling services shall: 

a. With their supervisor, register their supervisory 
contract on the appropriate forms for board approval 
before starting to practice under supervision; 

b. Have submitted an official transcript documenting a 
graduate degree as specified in 18VAC115-50-50 to 
include completion of the internship requirement 
specified in 18VAC115-50-55; and 

c. Pay the registration fee. 

2. After September 3, 2008, applicants who are beginning 
their residencies in exempt settings shall register 

supervision with the board to assure acceptability at the 
time of application. 

B. Residency requirements. 

1. The applicant shall have completed at least two years of 
supervised post-graduate degree experience, representing 
no fewer than 4,000 hours of supervised work experience, 
to include 200 hours of supervision with the supervisor in 
the practice of marriage and family therapy. Residents 
shall receive a minimum of one hour and a maximum of 
four hours of supervision for every 40 hours of supervised 
work experience. No more than 100 hours of the 
supervision may be acquired through group supervision, 
with the group consisting of no more than six residents. 
One hour of group supervision will be deemed equivalent 
to one hour of individual supervision. 

2. Of the 4,000 hours stipulated, at least 2,000 hours must 
be acquired in direct client contact of which 1,000 hours 
shall be with couples or families or both. 

3. The residency shall consist of practice in the core areas 
set forth in 18VAC115-50-55. 

4. The residency shall begin after the completion of a 
master's degree in marriage and family therapy or a related 
discipline as set forth in 18VAC115-50-50. 

5. A graduate-level internship completed in a program that 
meets the requirements set forth in 18VAC115-50-50 may 
count for no more than 600 of the required 4,000 hours of 
experience. The internship shall include 20 hours of 
individual on-site supervision, and 20 hours of individual 
or group off-site supervision. Internship hours shall not 
begin until completion of 30 semester hours toward the 
graduate degree. 

6. A graduate-level degree internship completed in a 
COAMFTE-approved program or a CACREP-approved 
program in marriage and family counseling/therapy may 
count for no more than 900 of the required 4,000 hours of 
experience. 

7. In order for a graduate level internship to be counted 
toward a residency, either the clinical or faculty supervisor 
shall be licensed as set forth in subsection C of this section. 

8. Residents shall not call themselves marriage and family 
therapists, solicit clients, bill for services rendered or in 
any way represent themselves as marriage and family 
therapists. During the residency, they may use their names, 
the initials of their degree and the title "Resident in 
Marriage and Family Therapy." Clients shall be informed 
in writing of the resident's status, along with the name, 
address and telephone number of the resident's supervisor. 

9. Residents shall not engage in practice under supervision 
in any areas for which they do not have appropriate 
education. 
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10. Residents who do not become candidates for licensure 
after five years of supervised training shall submit an 
explanation to the board stating reasons the residency 
should be allowed to continue. 

C. Supervisory qualifications. A person who provides 
supervision for a resident in marriage and family therapy 
shall: 

1. Hold an active, unrestricted license as a marriage and 
family therapist, professional counselor, clinical 
psychologist, clinical social worker or psychiatrist in the 
jurisdiction where the supervision is being provided; 

2. Document two years post-licensure marriage and family 
therapy experience; and 

3. Have received professional training in supervision, 
consisting of three credit hours or 4.0 quarter hours in 
graduate-level coursework in supervision or at least 20 
hours of continuing education in supervision offered by a 
provider approved under 18VAC115-50-96. Persons who 
have provided supervision for a residency prior to 
September 3, 2008, shall complete such coursework or 
continuing education by September 3, 2010. At least one-
half of the face-to-face supervision shall be rendered by a 
licensed marriage and family therapist. 

D. Supervisory responsibilities. 

1. The supervisor shall complete evaluation forms to be 
given to the resident at the end of each three-month period. 
The supervisor shall report the total hours of residency and 
evaluate the applicant's competency to the board. 

2. Supervision by an individual whose relationship to the 
resident is deemed by the board to compromise the 
objectivity of the supervisor is prohibited. 

3. The supervisor shall assume full responsibility for the 
clinical activities of residents as specified within the 
supervisory contract, for the duration of the residency. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-239; Filed October 7, 2008, 4:25 p.m.  

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following model public 
participation guidelines are exempt from Article 2 (§ 2.2-
4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of 
Virginia pursuant to Chapter 321 of the 2008 Acts of 
Assembly. 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC125-10. Public Participation 
Guidelines (repealing 18VAC125-10-10 through 
18VAC125-10-120). 

18VAC125-11. Public Participation Guidelines (adding 
18VAC125-11-10 through 18VAC125-11-110). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 54.1-2400 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 26, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, 
Board of Psychology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4697, FAX (804) 
327-4435, or email evelyn.brown@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulations comply with the legislative mandate 
(Chapter 321, 2008 Acts of Assembly) that agencies adopt 
model public participation guidelines issued by the 
Department of Planning and Budget by December 1, 2008. 
Public participation guidelines exist to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment, or repeal of 
an agency's regulations.  

This regulatory action repeals the current public 
participation guidelines and promulgates new public 
participation guidelines as required by Chapter 321 of the 
2008 Acts of Assembly. Highlights of the public 
participation guidelines include (i) providing for the 
establishment and maintenance of notification lists of 
interested persons and specifying the information to be 
sent to such persons; (ii) providing for public comments on 
regulatory actions; (iii) establishing the time period during 
which public comments shall be accepted; (iv) providing 
that the plan to hold a public meeting shall be indicated in 
any notice of intended regulatory action; (v) providing for 
the appointment, when necessary, of regulatory advisory 
panels to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance and negotiated rulemaking panels if a 
regulatory action is expected to be controversial; and (vi) 
providing for the periodic review of regulations. 

CHAPTER 11  
PUBLIC PARTICIPATION GUIDELINES  

Part I  
Purpose and Definitions  

18VAC125-11-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment or repeal of the 
regulations of the Board of Psychology. This chapter does not 
apply to regulations, guidelines, or other documents 
exempted or excluded from the provisions of the 
Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia). 

18VAC125-11-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 4 Virginia Register of Regulations October 27, 2008 

700 

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 
et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency" means the Board of Psychology, which is the unit 
of state government empowered by the agency's basic law to 
make regulations or decide cases. Actions specified in this 
chapter may be fulfilled by state employees as delegated by 
the agency. 

"Basic law" means provisions in the Code of Virginia that 
delineate the basic authority and responsibilities of an agency. 

"Commonwealth Calendar" means the electronic calendar 
for official government meetings open to the public as 
required by § 2.2-3707 C of the Freedom of Information Act. 

''Negotiated rulemaking panel'' or ''NRP'' means an ad hoc 
advisory panel of interested parties established by an agency 
to consider issues that are controversial with the assistance of 
a facilitator or mediator, for the purpose of reaching a 
consensus in the development of a proposed regulatory 
action. 

"Notification list" means a list used to notify persons 
pursuant to this chapter. Such a list may include an electronic 
list maintained through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall or 
other list maintained by the agency. 

"Open meeting" means any scheduled gathering of a unit of 
state government empowered by an agency's basic law to 
make regulations or decide cases, which is related to 
promulgating, amending or repealing a regulation. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, cooperative, limited liability company, trust, joint 
venture, government, political subdivision, or any other legal 
or commercial entity and any successor, representative, agent, 
agency, or instrumentality thereof. 

"Public hearing" means a scheduled time at which members 
or staff of the agency will meet for the purpose of receiving 
public comment on a regulatory action. 

"Regulation" means any statement of general application 
having the force of law, affecting the rights or conduct of any 
person, adopted by the agency in accordance with the 
authority conferred on it by applicable laws. 

"Regulatory action" means the promulgation, amendment, or 
repeal of a regulation by the agency. 

"Regulatory advisory panel" or "RAP" means a standing or 
ad hoc advisory panel of interested parties established by the 
agency for the purpose of assisting in regulatory actions. 

"Town Hall" means the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, the 
website operated by the Virginia Department of Planning and 
Budget at www.townhall.virginia.gov, which has online 
public comment forums and displays information about 
regulatory meetings and regulatory actions under 

consideration in Virginia and sends this information to 
registered public users. 

"Virginia Register" means the Virginia Register of 
Regulations, the publication that provides official legal notice 
of new, amended and repealed regulations of state agencies, 
which is published under the provisions of Article 6 (§ 2.2-
4031 et seq.) of the Administrative Process Act. 

Part II  
Notification of Interested Persons 

18VAC125-11-30. Notification list. 

A. The agency shall maintain a list of persons who have 
requested to be notified of regulatory actions being pursued 
by the agency. 

B. Any person may request to be placed on a notification list 
by registering as a public user on the Town Hall or by making 
a request to the agency. Any person who requests to be placed 
on a notification list shall elect to be notified either by 
electronic means or through a postal carrier. 

C. The agency may maintain additional lists for persons who 
have requested to be informed of specific regulatory issues, 
proposals, or actions. 

D. When electronic mail is returned as undeliverable on 
multiple occasions at least 24 hours apart, that person may be 
deleted from the list. A single undeliverable message is 
insufficient cause to delete the person from the list. 

E. When mail delivered by a postal carrier is returned as 
undeliverable on multiple occasions, that person may be 
deleted from the list. 

F. The agency may periodically request those persons on the 
notification list to indicate their desire to either continue to be 
notified electronically, receive documents through a postal 
carrier, or be deleted from the list. 

18VAC125-11-40. Information to be sent to persons on the 
notification list. 

A. To persons electing to receive electronic notification or 
notification through a postal carrier as described in 
18VAC125-11-30, the agency shall send the following 
information: 

1. A notice of intended regulatory action (NOIRA). 

2. A notice of the comment period on a proposed, a 
reproposed, or a fast-track regulation and hyperlinks to, or 
instructions on how to obtain, a copy of the regulation and 
any supporting documents. 

3. A notice soliciting comment on a final regulation when 
the regulatory process has been extended pursuant to § 2.2-
4007.06 or 2.2-4013 C of the Code of Virginia. 
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B. The failure of any person to receive any notice or copies 
of any documents shall not affect the validity of any 
regulation or regulatory action. 

Part III  
Public Participation Procedures  

18VAC125-11-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 
action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 
opportunity to submit data, views, and arguments, either 
orally or in writing, to the agency. Such opportunity to 
comment shall include an online public comment forum on 
the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 
copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 
issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 
fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 
public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 
to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 
submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 
the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 
as follows:  

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 
(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 
publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 
publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 
of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 
listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 
substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 
he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 
calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 
changes in accordance with § 2.2-4013 C of the Code of 
Virginia.  

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 
description of public comment to all public commenters on 
the proposed regulation at least five days before final 
adoption of the regulation pursuant to § 2.2-4012 E of the 
Code of Virginia.  

18VAC125-11-60. Petition for rulemaking. 

A. As provided in § 2.2-4007 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person may petition the agency to consider a regulatory 
action. 

B. A petition shall include but is not limited to the following 
information: 

1. The petitioner's name and contact information; 

2. The substance and purpose of the rulemaking that is 
requested, including reference to any applicable Virginia 
Administrative Code sections; and 

3. Reference to the legal authority of the agency to take the 
action requested. 

C. The agency shall receive, consider and respond to a 
petition pursuant to § 2.2-4007 and shall have the sole 
authority to dispose of the petition. 

D. The petition shall be posted on the Town Hall and 
published in the Virginia Register. 

E. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit the agency from 
receiving information or from proceeding on its own motion 
for rulemaking. 

18VAC125-11-70. Appointment of regulatory advisory 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a regulatory advisory panel 
(RAP) to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance when the agency determines that such expertise is 
necessary to address a specific regulatory issue or action or 
when individuals indicate an interest in working with the 
agency on a specific regulatory issue or action. 

B. Any person may request the appointment of a RAP and 
request to participate in its activities. The agency shall 
determine when a RAP shall be appointed and the 
composition of the RAP. 

C. A RAP may be dissolved by the agency if: 

1. The proposed text of the regulation is posted on the 
Town Hall, published in the Virginia Register, or such 
other time as the agency determines is appropriate; or 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act. 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 4 Virginia Register of Regulations October 27, 2008 

702 

18VAC125-11-80. Appointment of negotiated rulemaking 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a negotiated rulemaking panel 
(NRP) if a regulatory action is expected to be controversial. 

B. An NRP that has been appointed by the agency may be 
dissolved by the agency when: 

1. There is no longer controversy associated with the 
development of the regulation; 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act; or 

3. The agency determines that resolution of a controversy 
is unlikely. 

18VAC125-11-90. Meetings. 

Notice of any open meeting, including meetings of a RAP or 
NRP, shall be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 
and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working days 
prior to the date of the meeting. The exception to this 
requirement is any meeting held in accordance with § 2.2-
3707 D of the Code of Virginia allowing for 
contemporaneous notice to be provided to participants and the 
public. 

18VAC125-11-100. Public hearings on regulations. 

A. The agency shall indicate in its notice of intended 
regulatory action whether it plans to hold a public hearing 
following the publication of the proposed stage of the 
regulatory action.  

B. The agency may conduct one or more public hearings 
during the comment period following the publication of a 
proposed regulatory action.  

C. An agency is required to hold a public hearing following 
the publication of the proposed regulatory action when:  

1. The agency's basic law requires the agency to hold a 
public hearing;  

2. The Governor directs the agency to hold a public 
hearing; or  

3. The agency receives requests for a public hearing from 
at least 25 persons during the public comment period 
following the publication of the notice of intended 
regulatory action.  

D. Notice of any public hearing shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working 
days prior to the date of the hearing. The agency shall also 
notify those persons who requested a hearing under 
subdivision C 3 of this section.  

18VAC125-11-110. Periodic review of regulations. 

A. The agency shall conduct a periodic review of its 
regulations consistent with:  

1. An executive order issued by the Governor pursuant to 
§ 2.2-4017 of the Administrative Process Act to receive 
comment on all existing regulations as to their 
effectiveness, efficiency, necessity, clarity, and cost of 
compliance; and  

2. The requirements in § 2.2-4007.1 of the Administrative 
Process Act regarding regulatory flexibility for small 
businesses.  

B. A periodic review may be conducted separately or in 
conjunction with other regulatory actions.  

C. Notice of a periodic review shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and published in the Virginia Register.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1489; Filed October 7, 2008, 4:24 p.m.  

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC140-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Social Work (amending 18VAC140-20-10, 
18VAC140-20-40, 18VAC140-20-50, 18VAC140-20-60, 
18VAC140-20-105, 18VAC140-20-150, 18VAC140-20-160; 
adding 18VAC140-20-51; repealing 18VAC140-20-140). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 26, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, 
Board of Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4488, FAX 
(804) 527-4435, or email evelyn.brown@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Amended regulations were adopted by the Board of Social 
Work to require registration of supervision by persons 
preparing for licensure in social work, regardless of the 
practice setting, to allow for group supervision, and to 
specify the professional training necessary for a licensee to 
serve as a supervisor. Amendments will also allow a 
bachelor’s degree graduate to take the examination for a 
licensed social worker prior to completing 3,000 hours of 
work experience. Finally, the standards of professional 
conduct are revised to update the language, address 
conduct seen in disciplinary cases and provide consistency 
with other behavioral health professions. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  
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Part I  
General Provisions  

18VAC140-20-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-3700 of 
the Code of Virginia: 

Board 

Casework 

Casework management and supportive services 

Clinical social worker 

Practice of social work 

Social worker 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Accredited school of social work" means a school of social 
work accredited by the Council on Social Work Education. 

"Clinical course of study" means graduate course work 
which includes specialized advanced courses in human 
behavior and social environment, social policy, research, 
clinical practice with individuals, families, groups and a 
clinical practicum which focuses on diagnostic, prevention 
and treatment services. 

"Clinical social work services" include the application of 
social work principles and methods in performing 
assessments and diagnoses based on a recognized manual of 
mental and emotional disorders or recognized system of 
problem definition, preventive and early intervention services 
and treatment services, including but not limited to 
psychotherapy and counseling for mental disorders, substance 
abuse, marriage and family dysfunction, and problems caused 
by social and psychological stress or health impairment. 

"Exempt practice" is that which meets the conditions of 
exemption from the requirements of licensure as defined in 
§ 54.1-3701 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Face-to-face supervision" means the physical presence of 
the individuals involved in the supervisory relationship 
during either individual or group supervision. 

"Nonexempt practice" is that which does not meet the 
conditions of exemption from the requirements of licensure as 
defined in § 54.1-3701 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Supervision" means the relationship between a supervisor 
and supervisee which is designed to promote the development 
of responsibility and skill in the provision of social work 
services. Supervision is the inspection, critical evaluation, and 
direction over the services of the supervisee. Supervision 
shall include, without being limited to, the review of case 

presentations, audio tapes, video tapes, and direct observation 
a professional relationship between a supervisor and 
supervisee in which the supervisor directs, monitors and 
evaluates the supervisee's social work practice while 
promoting development of the supervisee's knowledge, skills 
and abilities to provide social work services in an ethical and 
competent manner. 

Part II  
Requirements for Licensure  

18VAC140-20-40. Requirements for licensure by 
examination as a licensed clinical social worker. 

Every applicant for examination for licensure by the board 
as a licensed clinical social worker shall: 

1. Meet the education and experience requirements 
prescribed in 18VAC140-20-50 or 18VAC140-20-60 for 
the category of practice in which licensure is sought. 

2. Submit in one package to the board office, not less than 
90 days prior to the date of the written examination: 

a. A completed notarized application; 

b. Documentation, on the appropriate forms, of the 
successful completion of the supervised experience 
requirements of 18VAC140-20-50 or 18VAC140-20-60 
along with documentation of the supervisor's out-of-state 
license where applicable. Applicants whose former 
supervisor is deceased, or whose whereabouts is 
unknown, shall submit to the board a notarized affidavit 
from the present chief executive officer of the agency, 
corporation or partnership in which the applicant was 
supervised. The affidavit shall specify dates of 
employment, job responsibilities, supervisor's name and 
last known address, and the total number of hours spent 
by the applicant with the supervisor in face-to-face 
supervision; 

c. The application fee prescribed in 18VAC140-20-30; 

d. Official transcript or transcripts in the original sealed 
envelope submitted from the appropriate institutions of 
higher education directly to the applicant; and 

e. Documentation of applicant's out-of-state licensure 
where applicable. 

18VAC140-20-50. Education and experience requirements 
for licensed clinical social worker. 

A. Education. The applicant shall hold a minimum of a 
master's degree from an accredited school of social work. 
Graduates of foreign institutions shall establish the 
equivalency of their education to this requirement through the 
Foreign Equivalency Determination Service of the Council of 
Social Work Education. 

1. The degree program shall have included a graduate 
clinical course of study; or 
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2. The applicant shall provide documentation of having 
completed specialized experience, course work or training 
acceptable to the board as equivalent to a clinical course of 
study. 

B. Supervised experience. Supervised experience obtained 
prior to December 23, 1998, may be accepted towards 
licensure if this supervision met the requirements of the board 
which were in effect at the time the supervision was rendered. 
Supervised experience in all settings obtained in nonexempt 
settings in Virginia without prior written board approval will 
not be accepted toward licensure. Supervision begun before 
[ November 28, 2007 November 26, 2008 ], that met the 
requirements of this section in effect prior to that date will be 
accepted until [ November 28, 2011 November 26, 2012 ]. 

1. Registration. An individual who proposes to obtain 
supervised post-master's degree experience in Virginia 
shall, prior to the onset of such supervision: 

a. Register on a form provided by the board and 
completed by the supervisor and the supervised 
individual; and  

b. Pay the registration of supervision fee set forth in 
18VAC140-20-30. 

2. Hours. The applicant shall have completed a minimum 
of 3,000 hours of supervised post-master's degree 
experience in the delivery of clinical social work services. 
A minimum of one hour of individual face-to-face 
supervision shall be provided each week for a total of at 
least 100 hours. No more than 50 of the 100 hours may be 
obtained in group supervision, nor shall there be more than 
six persons being supervised in a group unless approved in 
advance by the board. The board may consider alternatives 
to face-to-face supervision if the applicant can demonstrate 
an undue burden due to hardship, disability or geography. 

a. Experience shall be acquired in no less than two nor 
more than four years. 

b. Supervisees shall average no less than 15 hours per 
week in face-to-face client contact for a minimum of 
1,380 hours. The remaining hours may be spent in 
ancillary duties and activities supporting the delivery of 
clinical services. 

3. An individual who does not become a candidate for 
licensure complete the supervision requirement after four 
years of supervised experience shall submit evidence to the 
board showing why the training should be allowed to 
continue. 

C. Requirements for supervisors. 

1. The supervisor shall be hold an active, unrestricted 
license as a licensed clinical social worker in the 
jurisdiction in which the clinical services are being 
rendered with at least five years post-Master of Social 

Work three years of postlicensure clinical social work 
experience. The board may consider supervisors with 
commensurate qualifications if the applicant can 
demonstrate an undue burden due to geography or 
disability. 

2. The supervisor shall have received professional training 
in supervision, consisting of a three credit-hour graduate 
course in supervision or at least 14 hours of continuing 
education offered by a provider approved under 
18VAC140-20-105. The graduate course or hours of 
continuing education in supervision shall be obtained by a 
supervisor within five years immediately preceding 
registration of supervision. 

3. The supervisor shall not provide supervision for a 
member of his immediate family or provide supervision for 
anyone with whom he has a dual relationship. 

D. Responsibilities of supervisors [ : . ] 2. The supervisor 
shall: 

a. 1. Be responsible for the casework social work activities 
of the prospective applicant supervisee as set forth in this 
subsection once the supervisory arrangement is accepted; 

b. 2. Review and approve the diagnostic assessment and 
treatment plan of a representative sample of the clients 
assigned to the applicant during the course of supervision. 
The sample should be representative of the variables of 
gender, age, diagnosis, length of treatment and treatment 
method within the client population seen by the applicant. 
It is the applicant's responsibility to assure the 
representativeness of the sample that is presented to the 
supervisor. The supervisor shall be available to the 
applicant on a regularly scheduled basis for supervision. 
The supervisor will maintain documentation, for five years 
post supervision, of which clients were the subject of 
supervision; 

c. 3. Provide supervision only for those casework social 
work activities for which the supervisor has determined the 
applicant is competent to provide to clients; 

d. 4. Provide supervision only for those activities for which 
the supervisor is qualified by education, training and 
experience; and 

e. 5. Evaluate the supervisee's knowledge and document 
minimal competencies in the areas of an identified theory 
base, application of a differential diagnosis, establishing 
and monitoring a treatment plan, development and 
appropriate use of the professional relationship, assessing 
the client for risk of imminent danger, and implementing a 
professional and ethical relationship with clients.; 

6. Be available to the applicant on a regularly scheduled 
basis for supervision; and 
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7. Maintain documentation, for five years postsupervision, 
of which clients were the subject of supervision. 

3. Supervision between members of the immediate family 
(to include spouses, parents, and siblings) will not be 
approved. 

D. Supervision requirements for applicants in exempt 
practices. Individuals may obtain the required supervision and 
experience without registration of supervision provided such 
experience: 

1. Is obtained in an exempt practice; and 

2. Meets all other requirements for supervised experience 
as set forth in this section. 

18VAC140-20-51. Requirements for licensure by 
examination as a licensed social worker. 

A. In order to be approved to sit for the board-approved 
examination for a licensed social worker, an applicant shall:  

1. Meet the education requirements prescribed in 
18VAC140-20-60 A. 

2. Submit in one package to the board office: 

a. A completed notarized application; 

b. The application fee prescribed in 18VAC140-20-30; 
and 

c. Official transcript or transcripts in the original sealed 
envelope submitted from the appropriate institutions of 
higher education directly to the applicant. 

B. In order to be licensed by examination as a licensed 
social worker, an applicant shall: 

1. Meet the education and experience requirements 
prescribed in 18VAC140-20-60; and 

2. Submit, in addition to the application requirements of 
subsection A, the following: 

a. Documentation, on the appropriate forms, of the 
successful completion of the supervised experience 
requirements of 18VAC140-20-60 along with 
documentation of the supervisor's out-of-state license 
where applicable. An applicant whose former supervisor 
is deceased, or whose whereabouts is unknown, shall 
submit to the board a notarized affidavit from the present 
chief executive officer of the agency, corporation or 
partnership in which the applicant was supervised. The 
affidavit shall specify dates of employment, job 
responsibilities, supervisor's name and last known 
address, and the total number of hours spent by the 
applicant with the supervisor in face-to-face supervision; 

b. Verification of a passing score on the board-approved 
national examination; and 

c. Documentation of applicant's out-of-state licensure 
where applicable. 

18VAC140-20-60. Education and experience requirements 
for licensed social worker. 

A. Education. The applicant shall hold a bachelor's or a 
master's degree from an accredited school of social work. 
Graduates of foreign institutions must establish the 
equivalency of their education to this requirement through the 
Foreign Equivalency Determination Service of the Council on 
Social Work Education. 

B. Master's degree applicant. An applicant who holds a 
master's degree may apply for licensure as a licensed social 
worker without documentation of supervised experience. 

B. Supervised experience. Supervised experience obtained 
prior to December 23, 1998, may be accepted towards 
licensure if this supervision met the requirements of the board 
which were in effect at the time the supervision was rendered.  

C. Bachelor's degree applicant. Supervised experience in all 
settings obtained in nonexempt settings in Virginia without 
prior written board approval will not be accepted toward 
licensure. Supervision begun before [ November 28, 2007 
November 26, 2008 ], that met the requirements of this 
section in effect prior to that date will be accepted until 
[ November 28, 2011 November 26, 2012 ]. 

1. Registration. An individual who proposes to obtain 
supervised post-master's degree experience in Virginia 
shall, prior to the onset of such supervision, register a 
supervision contract with the board as set forth in 
18VAC140-20-50 B. 

2. 1. Hours. a. Bachelor's degree applicants shall have 
completed a minimum of 3,000 hours of full-time post-
bachelor's degree experience or the equivalent in part-time 
experience in casework management and supportive 
services under supervision satisfactory to the board. A 
minimum of one hour of face-to-face supervision shall be 
provided each week for the period of supervision for a total 
of at least 100 hours. 

b. 2. Experience shall be acquired in no less than two nor 
more than four years from the beginning of the supervised 
experience. 

C. D. Requirements for supervisors. 

1. The supervisor providing supervision shall be hold an 
active, unrestricted license as a licensed social worker with 
a master's degree, or a licensed social worker with a 
bachelor's degree and at least three years of postlicensure 
social work experience or a licensed clinical social worker 
in the jurisdiction in which the social work services are 
being rendered. If this requirement places an undue burden 
on the applicant due to geography or disability, the board 
may consider individuals with comparable qualifications. 
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2. The supervisor shall: 

a. Be responsible for the social work practice of the 
prospective applicant once the supervisory arrangement 
is accepted by the board; 

b. Review and approve the assessment and service plan 
of a representative sample of cases assigned to the 
applicant during the course of supervision. The sample 
should be representative of the variables of gender, age, 
assessment, length of service and casework method 
within the client population seen by the applicant. It is 
the applicant's responsibility to assure the 
representativeness of the sample that is presented to the 
supervisor. The supervisor shall be available to the 
applicant on a regularly scheduled basis for supervision. 
The supervisor will maintain documentation, for five 
years post supervision, of which clients were the subject 
of supervision;  

c. Provide supervision only for those casework 
management and support services activities for which the 
supervisor has determined the applicant is competent to 
provide to clients;  

d. Provide supervision only for those activities for which 
the supervisor is qualified; and  

e. Evaluate the supervisee in the areas of professional 
ethics and professional competency. 

3. Supervision between members of the immediate family 
(to include spouses, parents, and siblings) will not be 
approved.  

D. Supervision requirements for applicants in exempt 
practice. Individuals may obtain the required supervised 
experience without registration of supervision provided such 
experience: 

1. Is obtained in an exempt practice; and 

2. Meets all other requirements of the board for supervised 
experience as set forth in this section.  

18VAC140-20-105. Continued competency requirements 
for renewal of an active license.  

A. Licensed clinical social workers shall be required to have 
completed a minimum of 30 contact hours of continuing 
education and licensed social workers shall be required to 
have completed a minimum of 15 contact hours of continuing 
education for each biennial licensure renewal. A minimum of 
two of those hours must pertain to the standards of practice 
and laws governing the profession of social work in Virginia, 
or the Code of Ethics of one of the social work professional 
associations listed under subdivision B 1 d. 

1. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up 
to one year for the completion of continuing education 
requirements upon written request from the licensee prior 

to the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the 
licensee of the continuing education requirement. 

2. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 
continuing education requirements due to circumstances 
beyond the control of the licensee such as temporary 
disability, mandatory military service, or officially 
declared disasters. 

B. Hours may be obtained from a combination of board-
approved activities in the following three two categories:  

1. Category I. Formally Organized Learning Activities. A 
minimum of 20 hours for licensed clinical social workers 
or 10 hours for licensed social workers shall be 
documented in this category, which shall include one or 
more of the following: 

a. Regionally accredited university or college academic 
courses in a behavioral health discipline. A maximum of 
15 hours will be accepted for each academic course. 

b. Continuing education programs offered by universities 
or colleges accredited by the Council on Social Work 
Education. 

c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the 
behavioral health field offered by federal, state or local 
social service agencies, public school systems or licensed 
health facilities and licensed hospitals. 

d. Workshops, seminars, conferences or courses in the 
behavioral health field offered by an individual or 
organization that has been certified or approved by one 
of the following: 

(1) The Child Welfare League of America and its state 
and local affiliates. 

(2) The National Association of Social Workers and its 
state and local affiliates. 

(3) The Association of Black Social Workers and its state 
and local affiliates. 

(4) The Family Service Association of America and its 
state and local affiliates. 

(5) The Clinical Social Work Federation and its state and 
local affiliates. 

(6) Individuals or organizations who have been approved 
as continuing education sponsors by the Association of 
Social Work Boards or any state social work board. 

2. Category II. Individual Professional Activities. A 
maximum of 10 of the required 30 hours for licensed 
clinical social workers or a maximum of five of the 
required 15 hours for licensed social workers may be 
earned in this category, which shall include one or more of 
the following: 
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a. Participation in an Association of Social Work Boards 
item writing workshop. (Activity will count for a 
maximum of two hours.)  

b. Publication of a professional social work-related book 
or initial preparation/presentation of a social work-related 
course. (Activity will count for a maximum of 10 hours.) 

c. Publication of a professional social work-related article 
or chapter of a book, or initial preparation/presentation of 
a social work-related in-service training, seminar or 
workshop. (Activity will count for a maximum of five 
hours.) 

d. Provision of a continuing education program 
sponsored or approved by an organization listed under 
Category I. (Activity will count for a maximum of two 
hours and will only be accepted one time for any specific 
program.) 

e. Field instruction of graduate students in a Council on 
Social Work Education-accredited school. (Activity will 
count for a maximum of two hours.) 

f. Serving as an officer or committee member of one of 
the national professional social work associations listed 
under subdivision B 1 d of this section. (Activity will 
count for a maximum of two hours.) 

g. Attendance at formal staffings at federal, state or local 
social service agencies, public school systems or licensed 
health facilities and licensed hospitals. (Activity will 
count for a maximum of five hours.) 

h. Independent or group study including listening to 
audio tapes, viewing video tapes, reading, professional 
books or articles. (Activity will count for a maximum of 
five hours.) 

Part V 
Committees 

18VAC140-20-140. Examining and advisory committees. 
(Repealed.) 

The board may establish advisory and examining 
committees to assist it in carrying out statutory 
responsibilities. 

1. The committees may assist in evaluating the 
professional qualifications of applicants and candidates for 
licensure and renewal of licenses and in other matters the 
board deems necessary. 

2. The committees may assist in the evaluation of the 
mental or emotional competency, or both, of any licensee 
or applicant for licensure when such competence is an 
issue before the board. 

Part VI V  
Standards of Practice  

18VAC140-20-150. Professional conduct. 

A. The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare 
and the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide 
in determining the appropriate professional conduct of all 
persons whose activities are regulated by the board. 
Regardless of the delivery method, whether in person, by 
telephone or electronically, these standards shall apply to the 
practice of social work. 

B. Persons licensed as social workers and clinical social 
workers shall: 

1. Practice in a manner that is in the best interest of the 
public and does not endanger the public health, safety, or 
welfare. 

2. 1. Be able to justify all service services rendered to or on 
behalf of clients as necessary for diagnostic or therapeutic 
purposes. 

2. Provide for continuation of care when services must be 
interrupted or terminated. 

3. Practice only within the competency areas for which 
they are qualified by education or and experience, or both. 

4. Report to the board known or suspected violations of the 
laws and regulations governing the practice of social work. 

5. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates, or other 
forms of remuneration for referral of clients for 
professional services. 

6. Ensure that clients are aware of fees and billing 
arrangements before rendering services. 

7. Inform clients of potential risks and benefits of services 
and the limitations on confidentiality and ensure that 
clients have provided informed written consent to 
treatment. 

7. 8. Keep confidential their therapeutic relationships with 
clients and disclose client records to others only with 
written consent of the client, with the following 
exceptions: (i) when the client is a danger to self or others; 
or (ii) as required by law. 

8. 9. When advertising their services to the public, ensure 
that such advertising is neither fraudulent nor misleading. 

9. Not engage in dual relationships with clients, former 
clients, supervisees, and supervisors that might 
compromise that person's well-being, impair the social 
worker's or supervisor's objectivity and professional 
judgment or increase the risk of exploitation, to include, 
but is not limited to, such activities as counseling close 
friends, sexual partners, employees or relatives, and 
engaging in business relationships with clients. Sexual 
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contact or conduct of a sexual nature during the course of 
professional services and for a period of not less than two 
years following cessation or termination of professional 
services with a client or those included in the provision of 
collateral therapeutic services shall be prohibited. 
Thereafter, the licensee shall bear the burden of 
demonstrating that there has been no exploitation 
regardless of that person's consent to, initiation of or 
participation in the sexual contact or conduct of a sexual 
nature with the practitioner. 

10. Maintain clinical records on each client. The record 
shall include identifying information to substantiate 
diagnosis and treatment plan, client progress, and 
termination. The clinical record shall be preserved for at 
least five years post termination As treatment requires and 
with the written consent of the client, collaborate with 
other health or mental health providers concurrently 
providing services to the client. 

11. Ensure that clients have provided informed consent to 
treatment Refrain from undertaking any activity in which 
one's personal problems are likely to lead to inadequate or 
harmful services. 

12. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 
the nature and directions of loyalties and responsibilities 
involved. 

C. In regard to client records, persons licensed by the board 
shall comply with provisions of § 32.1-127.1:03 of the Code 
of Virginia on health records privacy and shall: 

1. Maintain written or electronic clinical records for each 
client to include identifying information and assessment 
that substantiates diagnosis and treatment plans. Each 
record shall include a diagnosis and treatment plan, 
progress notes for each case activity, information received 
from all collaborative contacts and the treatment 
implications of that information, and the termination 
process and summary. 

2. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees 
of the requirements of confidentiality, and provide for the 
destruction of records that are no longer useful in a manner 
that ensures client confidentiality. 

3. Disclose or release records to others only with clients' 
expressed written consent or that of their legally authorized 
representative or as mandated by law. 

4. Ensure confidentiality in the usage of client records and 
clinical materials by obtaining informed consent from 
clients or their legally authorized representative before (i) 
videotaping, (ii) audio recording, (iii) permitting third-
party observation, or (iv) using identifiable client records 
and clinical materials in teaching, writing or public 
presentations. 

5. Maintain client records for a minimum of six years or as 
otherwise required by law from the date of termination of 
the therapeutic relationship with the following exceptions: 

a. At minimum, records of a minor child shall be 
maintained for six years after attaining the age of 
majority or 10 years following termination, whichever 
comes later. 

b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 
federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time. 

c. Records that have been transferred to another mental 
health professional or have been given to the client or his 
legally authorized representative. 

D. In regard to dual relationships, persons licensed by the 
board shall: 

1. Not engage in a dual relationship with a client or a 
former client that could impair professional judgment or 
increase the risk of harm to the client. (Examples of such a 
relationship include, but are not limited to, familial, social, 
financial, business, bartering, or a close personal 
relationship with a client.) Social workers shall take 
appropriate professional precautions when a dual 
relationship cannot be avoided, such as informed consent, 
consultation, supervision, and documentation to ensure that 
judgment is not impaired and no exploitation occurs. 

2. Not have any type of sexual intimacies with a client or 
those included in collateral therapeutic services, and not 
provide services to those persons with whom they have had 
a sexual relationship. Social workers shall not engage in 
sexual intimacies with a former client within a minimum of 
five years after terminating the professional relationship. 
Social workers who engage in such a relationship after five 
years following termination shall have the responsibility to 
examine and document thoroughly that such a relationship 
did not have an exploitive nature, based on factors such as 
duration of therapy, amount of time since therapy, 
termination circumstances, client's personal history and 
mental status, adverse impact on the client. A client's 
consent to, initiation of or participation in sexual behavior 
or involvement with a social worker does not change the 
nature of the conduct nor lift the regulatory prohibition. 

3. Not engage in any sexual relationship or establish a 
therapeutic relationship with a current supervisee or 
student. Social workers shall avoid any nonsexual dual 
relationship with a supervisee or student in which there is a 
risk of exploitation or potential harm to the supervisee or 
student, or the potential for interference with the 
supervisor's professional judgment. 

4. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 
the nature and directions of loyalties and responsibilities 
involved. 
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5. Not engage in a personal relationship with a former 
client in which there is a risk of exploitation or potential 
harm or if the former client continues to relate to the social 
worker in his professional capacity. 

18VAC140-20-160. Grounds for disciplinary action or 
denial of issuance of a license. 

Action by the board to deny, revoke, suspend or decline to 
renew a license shall be in accordance with the following The 
board may refuse to admit an applicant to an examination; 
refuse to issue a license to an applicant; or reprimand, impose 
a monetary penalty, place on probation, impose such terms as 
it may designate, suspend for a stated period of time or 
indefinitely, or revoke a license for one or more of the 
following grounds: 

1. Conviction of a felony or of a misdemeanor involving 
moral turpitude; 

2. Procurement of license by fraud or misrepresentation; 

3. Conducting one's practice in such a manner so as to 
make the practice a danger to the health and welfare of 
one's clients or to the public. In the event a question arises 
concerning the continued competence of a licensee, the 
board will consider evidence of continuing education. 

4. Being unable to practice social work with reasonable 
skill and safety to clients by reason of illness, excessive 
use of alcohol, drugs, narcotics, chemicals or any other 
type of material or as a result of any mental or physical 
condition; 

5. Conducting one's practice in a manner contrary to the 
standards of ethics of social work or in violation of 
18VAC140-20-150, standards of practice; 

6. Performing functions outside the board-licensed area of 
competency; 

7. Failure to comply with the continued competency 
requirements set forth in 18VAC140-20-105; and 

8. Violating or aiding and abetting another to violate any 
statute applicable to the practice of social work or any 
provision of this chapter. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-120; Filed October 7, 2008, 4:26 p.m.  

BOARD FOR WATERWORKS AND WASTEWATER 
WORKS OPERATORS AND ONSITE SEWAGE 

SYSTEM PROFESSIONALS 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following model public 
participation guidelines are exempt from Article 2 (§ 2.2-
4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of 
Virginia pursuant to Chapter 321 of the 2008 Acts of 
Assembly. 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC160-10. Public Participation 
Guidelines (repealing 18VAC160-10-10 through 
18VAC160-10-90). 

18VAC160-11. Public Participation Guidelines (adding 
18VAC160-11-10 through 18VAC160-11-110). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 54.1-201 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 26, 2008. 

Agency Contact: David E. Dick, Executive Director, Board 
for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite 
Sewage System Professionals, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX 
(804) 527-4297, or email waterwasteoper@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulations comply with the legislative mandate 
(Chapter 321, 2008 Acts of Assembly) that agencies adopt 
model public participation guidelines issued by the 
Department of Planning and Budget by December 1, 2008. 
Public participation guidelines exist to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment, or repeal of 
an agency's regulations.  

This regulatory action repeals the current public 
participation guidelines and promulgates new public 
participation guidelines as required by Chapter 321 of the 
2008 Acts of Assembly. Highlights of the public 
participation guidelines include (i) providing for the 
establishment and maintenance of notification lists of 
interested persons and specifying the information to be 
sent to such persons; (ii) providing for public comments on 
regulatory actions; (iii) establishing the time period during 
which public comments shall be accepted; (iv) providing 
that the plan to hold a public meeting shall be indicated in 
any notice of intended regulatory action; (v) providing for 
the appointment, when necessary, of regulatory advisory 
panels to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance and negotiated rulemaking panels if a 
regulatory action is expected to be controversial; and (vi) 
providing for the periodic review of regulations. 

CHAPTER 11  
PUBLIC PARTICIPATION GUIDELINES  

Part I  
Purpose and Definitions  

18VAC160-11-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment or repeal of the 
regulations of the Board for Waterworks and Wastewater 
Works Operators and Onsite Sewage System Professionals. 
This chapter does not apply to regulations, guidelines, or 
other documents exempted or excluded from the provisions of 
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the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the 
Code of Virginia). 

18VAC160-11-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 
et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency" means the Board for Waterworks and Wastewater 
Works Operators and Onsite Sewage System Professionals, 
which is the unit of state government empowered by the 
agency's basic law to make regulations or decide cases. 
Actions specified in this chapter may be fulfilled by state 
employees as delegated by the agency. 

"Basic law" means provisions in the Code of Virginia that 
delineate the basic authority and responsibilities of an agency. 

"Commonwealth Calendar" means the electronic calendar 
for official government meetings open to the public as 
required by § 2.2-3707 C of the Freedom of Information Act. 

''Negotiated rulemaking panel'' or ''NRP'' means an ad hoc 
advisory panel of interested parties established by an agency 
to consider issues that are controversial with the assistance of 
a facilitator or mediator, for the purpose of reaching a 
consensus in the development of a proposed regulatory 
action. 

"Notification list" means a list used to notify persons 
pursuant to this chapter. Such a list may include an electronic 
list maintained through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall or 
other list maintained by the agency. 

"Open meeting" means any scheduled gathering of a unit of 
state government empowered by an agency's basic law to 
make regulations or decide cases, which is related to 
promulgating, amending or repealing a regulation. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, cooperative, limited liability company, trust, joint 
venture, government, political subdivision, or any other legal 
or commercial entity and any successor, representative, agent, 
agency, or instrumentality thereof. 

"Public hearing" means a scheduled time at which members 
or staff of the agency will meet for the purpose of receiving 
public comment on a regulatory action. 

"Regulation" means any statement of general application 
having the force of law, affecting the rights or conduct of any 
person, adopted by the agency in accordance with the 
authority conferred on it by applicable laws. 

"Regulatory action" means the promulgation, amendment, or 
repeal of a regulation by the agency. 

"Regulatory advisory panel" or "RAP" means a standing or 
ad hoc advisory panel of interested parties established by the 
agency for the purpose of assisting in regulatory actions. 

"Town Hall" means the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, the 
website operated by the Virginia Department of Planning and 
Budget at www.townhall.virginia.gov, which has online 
public comment forums and displays information about 
regulatory meetings and regulatory actions under 
consideration in Virginia and sends this information to 
registered public users. 

"Virginia Register" means the Virginia Register of 
Regulations, the publication that provides official legal notice 
of new, amended and repealed regulations of state agencies, 
which is published under the provisions of Article 6 (§ 2.2-
4031 et seq.) of the Administrative Process Act. 

Part II  
Notification of Interested Persons 

18VAC160-11-30. Notification list. 

A. The agency shall maintain a list of persons who have 
requested to be notified of regulatory actions being pursued 
by the agency. 

B. Any person may request to be placed on a notification list 
by registering as a public user on the Town Hall or by making 
a request to the agency. Any person who requests to be placed 
on a notification list shall elect to be notified either by 
electronic means or through a postal carrier. 

C. The agency may maintain additional lists for persons who 
have requested to be informed of specific regulatory issues, 
proposals, or actions. 

D. When electronic mail is returned as undeliverable on 
multiple occasions at least 24 hours apart, that person may be 
deleted from the list. A single undeliverable message is 
insufficient cause to delete the person from the list. 

E. When mail delivered by a postal carrier is returned as 
undeliverable on multiple occasions, that person may be 
deleted from the list. 

F. The agency may periodically request those persons on the 
notification list to indicate their desire to either continue to be 
notified electronically, receive documents through a postal 
carrier, or be deleted from the list. 

18VAC160-11-40. Information to be sent to persons on the 
notification list. 

A. To persons electing to receive electronic notification or 
notification through a postal carrier as described in 
18VAC160-11-30, the agency shall send the following 
information: 

1. A notice of intended regulatory action (NOIRA). 
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2. A notice of the comment period on a proposed, a 
reproposed, or a fast-track regulation and hyperlinks to, or 
instructions on how to obtain, a copy of the regulation and 
any supporting documents. 

3. A notice soliciting comment on a final regulation when 
the regulatory process has been extended pursuant to § 2.2-
4007.06 or 2.2-4013 C of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The failure of any person to receive any notice or copies 
of any documents shall not affect the validity of any 
regulation or regulatory action. 

Part III  
Public Participation Procedures  

18VAC160-11-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 
action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 
opportunity to submit data, views, and arguments, either 
orally or in writing, to the agency. Such opportunity to 
comment shall include an online public comment forum on 
the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 
copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 
issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 
fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 
public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 
to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 
submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 
the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 
as follows:  

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 
(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 
publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 
publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 
of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 
listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 
substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 
he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 
calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 
changes in accordance with § 2.2-4013 C of the Code of 
Virginia.  

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 
description of public comment to all public commenters on 
the proposed regulation at least five days before final 
adoption of the regulation pursuant to § 2.2-4012 E of the 
Code of Virginia.  

18VAC160-11-60. Petition for rulemaking. 

A. As provided in § 2.2-4007 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person may petition the agency to consider a regulatory 
action. 

B. A petition shall include but is not limited to the following 
information: 

1. The petitioner's name and contact information; 

2. The substance and purpose of the rulemaking that is 
requested, including reference to any applicable Virginia 
Administrative Code sections; and 

3. Reference to the legal authority of the agency to take the 
action requested. 

C. The agency shall receive, consider and respond to a 
petition pursuant to § 2.2-4007 and shall have the sole 
authority to dispose of the petition. 

D. The petition shall be posted on the Town Hall and 
published in the Virginia Register. 

E. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit the agency from 
receiving information or from proceeding on its own motion 
for rulemaking. 

18VAC160-11-70. Appointment of regulatory advisory 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a regulatory advisory panel 
(RAP) to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance when the agency determines that such expertise is 
necessary to address a specific regulatory issue or action or 
when individuals indicate an interest in working with the 
agency on a specific regulatory issue or action. 

B. Any person may request the appointment of a RAP and 
request to participate in its activities. The agency shall 
determine when a RAP shall be appointed and the 
composition of the RAP. 

C. A RAP may be dissolved by the agency if: 

1. The proposed text of the regulation is posted on the 
Town Hall, published in the Virginia Register, or such 
other time as the agency determines is appropriate; or 
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2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act. 

18VAC160-11-80. Appointment of negotiated rulemaking 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a negotiated rulemaking panel 
(NRP) if a regulatory action is expected to be controversial. 

B. An NRP that has been appointed by the agency may be 
dissolved by the agency when: 

1. There is no longer controversy associated with the 
development of the regulation; 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act; or 

3. The agency determines that resolution of a controversy 
is unlikely. 

18VAC160-11-90. Meetings. 

Notice of any open meeting, including meetings of a RAP or 
NRP, shall be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 
and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working days 
prior to the date of the meeting. The exception to this 
requirement is any meeting held in accordance with § 2.2-
3707 D of the Code of Virginia allowing for 
contemporaneous notice to be provided to participants and the 
public. 

18VAC160-11-100. Public hearings on regulations. 

A. The agency shall indicate in its notice of intended 
regulatory action whether it plans to hold a public hearing 
following the publication of the proposed stage of the 
regulatory action.  

B. The agency may conduct one or more public hearings 
during the comment period following the publication of a 
proposed regulatory action.  

C. An agency is required to hold a public hearing following 
the publication of the proposed regulatory action when:  

1. The agency's basic law requires the agency to hold a 
public hearing;  

2. The Governor directs the agency to hold a public 
hearing; or  

3. The agency receives requests for a public hearing from 
at least 25 persons during the public comment period 
following the publication of the notice of intended 
regulatory action.  

D. Notice of any public hearing shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working 
days prior to the date of the hearing. The agency shall also 

notify those persons who requested a hearing under 
subdivision C 3 of this section.  

18VAC160-11-110. Periodic review of regulations. 

A. The agency shall conduct a periodic review of its 
regulations consistent with:  

1. An executive order issued by the Governor pursuant to 
§ 2.2-4017 of the Administrative Process Act to receive 
comment on all existing regulations as to their 
effectiveness, efficiency, necessity, clarity, and cost of 
compliance; and  

2. The requirements in § 2.2-4007.1 of the Administrative 
Process Act regarding regulatory flexibility for small 
businesses.  

B. A periodic review may be conducted separately or in 
conjunction with other regulatory actions.  

C. Notice of a periodic review shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and published in the Virginia Register. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1496; Filed October 8, 2008, 11:40 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

CHILD DAY-CARE COUNCIL 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following model public 
participation guidelines are exempt from Article 2 (§ 2.2-
4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of 
Virginia pursuant to Chapter 321 of the 2008 Acts of 
Assembly. 
Titles of Regulations: 22VAC15-10. Public Participation 
Guidelines (repealing 22VAC15-10-10 through 22VAC15-
10-70). 

22VAC15-11. Public Participation Guidelines (adding 
22VAC15-11-10 through 22VAC15-11-110). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 63.2-217 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2009. 

Agency Contact: L. Richard Martin, Jr., Manager, 
Department of Social Services, Office of Legislative and 
Regulatory Affairs, 7 North Eighth Street, Room 5214, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219, telephone (804) 726-7902, FAX 
(804) 726-7906, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 
richard.martin@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulations comply with the legislative mandate 
(Chapter 321, 2008 Acts of Assembly) that agencies adopt 
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model public participation guidelines issued by the 
Department of Planning and Budget by December 1, 2008. 
Public participation guidelines exist to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment, or repeal of 
an agency's regulations.  

This regulatory action repeals the current public 
participation guidelines and promulgates new public 
participation guidelines as required by Chapter 321 of the 
2008 Acts of Assembly. Highlights of the public 
participation guidelines include (i) providing for the 
establishment and maintenance of notification lists of 
interested persons and specifying the information to be 
sent to such persons; (ii) providing for public comments on 
regulatory actions; (iii) establishing the time period during 
which public comments shall be accepted; (iv) providing 
that the plan to hold a public meeting shall be indicated in 
any notice of intended regulatory action; (v) providing for 
the appointment, when necessary, of regulatory advisory 
panels to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance and negotiated rulemaking panels if a 
regulatory action is expected to be controversial; and (vi) 
providing for the periodic review of regulations. 

CHAPTER 11  
PUBLIC PARTICIPATION GUIDELINES  

Part I  
Purpose and Definitions  

22VAC15-11-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment or repeal of the 
regulations of the Child Day-Care Council. This chapter does 
not apply to regulations, guidelines, or other documents 
exempted or excluded from the provisions of the 
Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia). 

22VAC15-11-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 
et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency" means the Child Day-Care Council, which is the 
unit of state government empowered by the agency's basic 
law to make regulations or decide cases. Actions specified in 
this chapter may be fulfilled by state employees as delegated 
by the agency. 

"Basic law" means provisions in the Code of Virginia that 
delineate the basic authority and responsibilities of an agency. 

"Commonwealth Calendar" means the electronic calendar 
for official government meetings open to the public as 
required by § 2.2-3707 C of the Freedom of Information Act. 

''Negotiated rulemaking panel'' or ''NRP'' means an ad hoc 
advisory panel of interested parties established by an agency 
to consider issues that are controversial with the assistance of 
a facilitator or mediator, for the purpose of reaching a 
consensus in the development of a proposed regulatory 
action. 

"Notification list" means a list used to notify persons 
pursuant to this chapter. Such a list may include an electronic 
list maintained through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall or 
other list maintained by the agency. 

"Open meeting" means any scheduled gathering of a unit of 
state government empowered by an agency's basic law to 
make regulations or decide cases, which is related to 
promulgating, amending or repealing a regulation. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, cooperative, limited liability company, trust, joint 
venture, government, political subdivision, or any other legal 
or commercial entity and any successor, representative, agent, 
agency, or instrumentality thereof. 

"Public hearing" means a scheduled time at which members 
or staff of the agency will meet for the purpose of receiving 
public comment on a regulatory action. 

"Regulation" means any statement of general application 
having the force of law, affecting the rights or conduct of any 
person, adopted by the agency in accordance with the 
authority conferred on it by applicable laws. 

"Regulatory action" means the promulgation, amendment, or 
repeal of a regulation by the agency. 

"Regulatory advisory panel" or "RAP" means a standing or 
ad hoc advisory panel of interested parties established by the 
agency for the purpose of assisting in regulatory actions. 

"Town Hall" means the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, the 
website operated by the Virginia Department of Planning and 
Budget at www.townhall.virginia.gov, which has online 
public comment forums and displays information about 
regulatory meetings and regulatory actions under 
consideration in Virginia and sends this information to 
registered public users. 

"Virginia Register" means the Virginia Register of 
Regulations, the publication that provides official legal notice 
of new, amended and repealed regulations of state agencies, 
which is published under the provisions of Article 6 (§ 2.2-
4031 et seq.) of the Administrative Process Act. 

Part II  
Notification of Interested Persons 

22VAC15-11-30. Notification list. 

A. The agency shall maintain a list of persons who have 
requested to be notified of regulatory actions being pursued 
by the agency. 
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B. Any person may request to be placed on a notification list 
by registering as a public user on the Town Hall or by making 
a request to the agency. Any person who requests to be placed 
on a notification list shall elect to be notified either by 
electronic means or through a postal carrier. 

C. The agency may maintain additional lists for persons who 
have requested to be informed of specific regulatory issues, 
proposals, or actions. 

D. When electronic mail is returned as undeliverable on 
multiple occasions at least 24 hours apart, that person may be 
deleted from the list. A single undeliverable message is 
insufficient cause to delete the person from the list. 

E. When mail delivered by a postal carrier is returned as 
undeliverable on multiple occasions, that person may be 
deleted from the list. 

F. The agency may periodically request those persons on the 
notification list to indicate their desire to either continue to be 
notified electronically, receive documents through a postal 
carrier, or be deleted from the list. 

22VAC15-11-40. Information to be sent to persons on the 
notification list. 

A. To persons electing to receive electronic notification or 
notification through a postal carrier as described in 
22VAC15-11-30, the agency shall send the following 
information: 

1. A notice of intended regulatory action (NOIRA). 

2. A notice of the comment period on a proposed, a 
reproposed, or a fast-track regulation and hyperlinks to, or 
instructions on how to obtain, a copy of the regulation and 
any supporting documents. 

3. A notice soliciting comment on a final regulation when 
the regulatory process has been extended pursuant to § 2.2-
4007.06 or 2.2-4013 C of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The failure of any person to receive any notice or copies 
of any documents shall not affect the validity of any 
regulation or regulatory action. 

Part III  
Public Participation Procedures  

22VAC15-11-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 
action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 
opportunity to submit data, views, and arguments, either 
orally or in writing, to the agency. Such opportunity to 
comment shall include an online public comment forum on 
the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 
copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 
issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 

fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 
public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 
to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 
submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 
the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 
as follows:  

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 
(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 
publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 
publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 
of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 
listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 
substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 
he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 
calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 
changes in accordance with § 2.2-4013 C of the Code of 
Virginia.  

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 
description of public comment to all public commenters on 
the proposed regulation at least five days before final 
adoption of the regulation pursuant to § 2.2-4012 E of the 
Code of Virginia.  

22VAC15-11-60. Petition for rulemaking. 

A. As provided in § 2.2-4007 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person may petition the agency to consider a regulatory 
action. 

B. A petition shall include but is not limited to the following 
information: 

1. The petitioner's name and contact information; 

2. The substance and purpose of the rulemaking that is 
requested, including reference to any applicable Virginia 
Administrative Code sections; and 
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3. Reference to the legal authority of the agency to take the 
action requested. 

C. The agency shall receive, consider and respond to a 
petition pursuant to § 2.2-4007 and shall have the sole 
authority to dispose of the petition. 

D. The petition shall be posted on the Town Hall and 
published in the Virginia Register. 

E. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit the agency from 
receiving information or from proceeding on its own motion 
for rulemaking. 

22VAC15-11-70. Appointment of regulatory advisory 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a regulatory advisory panel 
(RAP) to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance when the agency determines that such expertise is 
necessary to address a specific regulatory issue or action or 
when individuals indicate an interest in working with the 
agency on a specific regulatory issue or action. 

B. Any person may request the appointment of a RAP and 
request to participate in its activities. The agency shall 
determine when a RAP shall be appointed and the 
composition of the RAP. 

C. A RAP may be dissolved by the agency if: 

1. The proposed text of the regulation is posted on the 
Town Hall, published in the Virginia Register, or such 
other time as the agency determines is appropriate; or 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act. 

22VAC15-11-80. Appointment of negotiated rulemaking 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a negotiated rulemaking panel 
(NRP) if a regulatory action is expected to be controversial. 

B. An NRP that has been appointed by the agency may be 
dissolved by the agency when: 

1. There is no longer controversy associated with the 
development of the regulation; 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act; or 

3. The agency determines that resolution of a controversy 
is unlikely. 

22VAC15-11-90. Meetings. 

Notice of any open meeting, including meetings of a RAP or 
NRP, shall be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 
and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working days 
prior to the date of the meeting. The exception to this 

requirement is any meeting held in accordance with § 2.2-
3707 D of the Code of Virginia allowing for 
contemporaneous notice to be provided to participants and the 
public. 

22VAC15-11-100. Public hearings on regulations. 

A. The agency shall indicate in its notice of intended 
regulatory action whether it plans to hold a public hearing 
following the publication of the proposed stage of the 
regulatory action.  

B. The agency may conduct one or more public hearings 
during the comment period following the publication of a 
proposed regulatory action.  

C. An agency is required to hold a public hearing following 
the publication of the proposed regulatory action when: 

1. The agency's basic law requires the agency to hold a 
public hearing;  

2. The Governor directs the agency to hold a public 
hearing; or  

3. The agency receives requests for a public hearing from 
at least 25 persons during the public comment period 
following the publication of the notice of intended 
regulatory action.  

D. Notice of any public hearing shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working 
days prior to the date of the hearing. The agency shall also 
notify those persons who requested a hearing under 
subdivision C 3 of this section.  

22VAC15-11-110. Periodic review of regulations. 

A. The agency shall conduct a periodic review of its 
regulations consistent with:  

1. An executive order issued by the Governor pursuant to 
§ 2.2-4017 of the Administrative Process Act to receive 
comment on all existing regulations as to their 
effectiveness, efficiency, necessity, clarity, and cost of 
compliance; and 

2. The requirements in § 2.2-4007.1 of the Administrative 
Process Act regarding regulatory flexibility for small 
businesses. 

B. A periodic review may be conducted separately or in 
conjunction with other regulatory actions.  

C. Notice of a periodic review shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and published in the Virginia Register. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1501; Filed October 2, 2008, 3:08 p.m.  
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DEPARTMENT OF REHABILITATIVE SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 22VAC30-40. Protection of 
Participants in Human Research (amending 22VAC30-40-
10, 22VAC30-40-30 through 22VAC30-40-150; adding 
22VAC30-40-160). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 51.5-14 and 51.5-14.01 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
December 27, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Vanessa S. Rakestraw, Policy Analyst, 
Department of Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms 
Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 662-7612, 
FAX (804) 662-7696, TTY (800) 464-9950, or email 
vanessa.rakestraw@drs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 51.5-14.01 of the Code of Virginia requires the 
Commissioner of the Department of Rehabilitative Services 
to promulgate regulations pursuant to the Administrative 
Process Act to effectuate the provisions of Chapter 5.1 
(§ 32.1-162.16 et seq.) of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia 
for human research conducted or authorized by the 
department, any sheltered workshop, or independent living 
center, or Woodrow Wilson Rehabilitation Center. 

Purpose: These regulations will provide a basis for the 
Department of Rehabilitative Services to oversee human 
subjects research involving the Department of Rehabilitative 
Services, the Woodrow Wilson Rehabilitation Center, 
sheltered workshops, and independent living centers. The 
regulations provide guidelines for initiating and conducting 
research in a manner that will protect human subjects from 
harm. They also provide for a human research review 
committee to review and approve human research activities 
based on these established guidelines. The regulations also 
delimit the responsibilities of the human research review 
committee and delimit its reporting requirements. All of these 
guidelines are essential to protecting the health, safety and 
welfare of citizens involved in human research. 

Substance: Modifications to these regulations include: 

1. Adding definitions for the following terms: assent; agent; 
covered entities; guardian; human research review committee; 
human subject; human subject research; identifiable private 
information; informed consent; minor; parent; and 
permission; 

2. Changing the definitions of the following terms to mirror 
those contained in 45 CFR 46.102: interaction; intervention; 
institution; legally authorized representative; minimal risk; 
private information; and research; 

3. Changing the definition of sheltered workshop so that only 
those vocational rehabilitation services programs that have a 
vendor relationship with DRS and are not operated by a 
community services boards are included for the purposes of 
these regulations; 

4. Deleting the definition of "institution"; 

5. Making minor language changes to ensure consistency 
with 45 CFR 46.101 et seq.; 

6. Removing the option of independent living centers and 
sheltered workshops to establish their own human research 
review committee or to affiliate with other independent living 
centers and sheltered workshops to establish a central human 
research review committee. Rather, independent living 
centers and sheltered workshops must affiliate with the DRS 
human research review committee as intended in § 51.5-14.01 
of the Code of Virginia; 

7. Changing procedures for obtaining the informed written 
consent of prospective research volunteers to ensure 
consistency with 45 CFR 46.109 and 45 CFR 46.111; 

8. Changing the composition of the human research review 
committee to ensure consistency with 45 CFR 46.107; 

9. Adding a section governing inclusion of minors as research 
volunteers using the language from 45 CFR 46.401 et seq. 
and 34 CFR 97.101 et seq.; and 

10. Changing the kinds of research that may receive 
expedited review and expedited review procedures to mirror 
45 CFR 45.110. 

Issues: This regulatory action serves to protect the welfare of 
human participants in research.  The regulation poses no 
disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. These 
regulations provide a basis for the Department of 
Rehabilitative Services (Department) to oversee human 
subjects research involving the Department, the Woodrow 
Wilson Rehabilitation Center, sheltered workshops, and 
independent living centers (covered entities).  The 
Department proposes to make several changes to these 
regulations to reflect federal law. The new language reflects 
the federal requirements that have been implemented in 
Virginia since 2005. Additionally, the Department proposes 
to establish a specified deadline of 45 days after the end of 
each state fiscal year for covered entities to send a written 
report to the Department, add clarifying language, and revise 
definitions. The proposed regulations also preclude covered 
entities from establishing their own human research review 
committee (HRRC) or to affiliate with other covered entities 
to establish a central HRRC in lieu of using the Department’s 
HRRC. 
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Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Other than clarifications and 
definitional language that does not affect requirements, most 
of the proposed amendments to these regulations reflect 
changes to federal law that have been applied in Virginia 
since 2005.  These proposed amendments will thus have no 
impact on requirements, but may produce a small benefit 
through clarification of the rules to the public. 

The current regulations permit covered entities to use their 
own or a joint HRRC in lieu of the Department’s HRRC.  
According to the Department, no covered entity has ever done 
so, nor has any indicated an intention to do so in the future.  
Thus, the proposal to preclude covered entities from 
establishing their own HRRC should have no impact. 

The Department also proposes to require that  

No later than 45 days after the end of each state fiscal 
year, Woodrow Wilson Rehabilitation Center, sheltered 
workshops and independent living centers shall send a 
written report to the commissioner giving assurance that 
either all human subjects research conducted during the 
fiscal year was reviewed and approved by the 
department’s HRRC prior to implementation of that 
research or that no human subjects research was 
conducted during that state fiscal year. 

Currently, the covered entities are required to send such 
reports, but no deadline is specified.  According to the 
Department all covered entities have in practice complied 
with sending their reports within 45 days after the end of each 
state fiscal year when prompted. Thus, this proposal will not 
practically create a new cost for covered entities, but will 
produce a small benefit by clarifying to institutions when the 
Department actually needs the reports and may result in less 
time spent by Department staff contacting covered entities.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. These regulations 
potentially affect the Woodrow Wilson Rehabilitation Center, 
the 71 private sheltered workshops in Virginia, the 16 
independent living centers in the Commonwealth, and the 
clients and staff at these covered entities.1 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 
affect localities throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
will not significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amended language will not significantly affect the 
use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
amended language will not significantly affect small 
businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amended language will not 
significantly affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amended 
language will not affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property. Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§ 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

_____________________________ 
1 Data Source: Virginia Department of Rehabilitative Services 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Department of 
Rehabilitative Services concurs with the economic impact 
analysis for 22VAC-30-40 completed on March 17, 2008. 

Summary: 

These regulations provide a basis for the Department of 
Rehabilitative Services (DRS) to oversee human subjects 
research involving the Department of Rehabilitative 
Services, the Woodrow Wilson Rehabilitation Center, 
sheltered workshops, and independent living centers. The 
proposed amendments: (i) make minor changes in 
language to ensure consistency with 45 CFR 46.101 et 
seq.; (ii) change the definition of sheltered workshop so 
that only those vocational rehabilitation service programs 
that have a vendor relationship with the department and 
are not operated by a community services board are 
covered by this regulation; (iii) provide that independent 
living centers and sheltered workshops no longer have the 
option to establish their own human research review 
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committee or to affiliate with other centers or workshops to 
establish a central human research committee but are 
required to affiliate with the DRS human research review 
committee; (iv) change the procedures for obtaining the 
informed written consent of prospective research subjects 
to ensure consistency with the requirements of federal 
regulations; (v) change the composition of the human 
research review committee that reviews research proposals 
to determine if they meet the requirements of this 
regulation to ensure consistency with federal 
requirements; (vi) add a new section that governs the 
inclusion of minors as research subjects; and (vii) change 
procedures for expedited review and the description of 
research that may receive expedited review to reflect 
existing federal regulations. 

22VAC30-40-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Affiliated with the institution covered entity" means 
employed by the institution covered entity or a member of a 
household containing an employee of the institution covered 
entity. 

"Agent" means any individual performing department-
designated activities or exercising department-delegated 
authority or responsibility. 

"Assent" means a child's affirmative agreement to 
participate in research. Mere failure to object should not, 
absent affirmative agreement, be construed as assent. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the 
Department of Rehabilitative Services. 

"Covered entity" means the Department of Rehabilitative 
Services, Woodrow Wilson Rehabilitation Center, sheltered 
workshops, or independent living centers. 

"Department" means the Department of Rehabilitative 
Services. 

"Guardian" means an individual who is authorized under 
applicable state or local law to consent on behalf of a minor 
to general medical care. 

"Human Research Review Committee" or "HRRC" means 
the committee established in accordance with and for the 
purposes expressed in this chapter. 

"HRRC approval" means the determination of the HRRC 
that the research has been reviewed and may be conducted 
within the constraints set forth by the HRRC and by other 
department, state and federal requirements. 

"Human participant or human subject" means a living 
individual about whom an investigator (whether professional 
or student) conducting research obtains: 

(i) data 1. Data through intervention or interaction with the 
individual; or  

(ii) identifiable 2. Identifiable private information.  

"Human research" means any systematic investigation 
which utilizes human participants who may be exposed to 
physical or psychological injury as a consequence of 
participation and which departs from the application of 
established and accepted therapeutic methods appropriate to 
meet the participant's needs.  

"Human subject research" means a systematic investigation, 
experiment, study, evaluation, demonstration or survey 
designed to develop or contribute to general knowledge (basic 
research) or specific knowledge (applied research) in which a 
living individual about whom an investigator (whether 
professional or student) conducting research obtains data 
through intervention or interaction with the individual or 
obtains identifiable private information. 

"Identifiable private information" means information about 
behavior that occurs in a context in which an individual can 
reasonably expect that no observation or recording is taking 
place, and information that has been provided for specific 
purposes by an individual and that the individual can 
reasonably expect will not be made public (for example, a 
medical record, social security number). Private information 
must be individually identifiable (i.e., the identity of the 
subject is or may readily be ascertained by the investigator or 
associated with the information) to constitute research 
involving human subjects. 

"Independent living center" means a consumer-controlled, 
community-based, cross disability, nonresidential private 
nonprofit agency that:  

1. Is designed and operated within a local community by 
individuals with disabilities; and  

2. Provides an array of independent living services.  

"Informed consent" means a process by which the 
investigator fully explains the research activities, ensures that 
the prospective subject has sufficient opportunity to ask 
questions, and has sufficient time to make a decision whether 
or not to participate in the research prior to signing the 
HRRC-approved written consent document. Informed consent 
must be prospectively obtained without coercion, include all 
of the basic elements of informed consent as specified in 
22VAC30-40-100 B, be legally effective, contain no 
exculpatory language, and as required, include the additional 
elements of informed consent specified in 22VAC30-40-100 
C. 

"Institution" means the department, any center of 
independent living, sheltered workshop, the Woodrow Wilson 
Rehabilitation Center, or any facility or program operated, 
funded, or licensed by the department any public or private 
entity or agency (including federal, state, and other agencies). 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 4 Virginia Register of Regulations October 27, 2008 

719 

"Interaction" includes means communication or 
interpersonal contact between investigator and participant 
subject.  

"Intervention" includes means both physical procedures by 
which data are gathered (for example, venipuncture) and 
manipulations of the participant subject or participant's 
subject's environment that are performed for research 
purposes. 

"Investigator" means the person, whether professional or 
student, who conducts the research. 

"Legally authorized representative," as defined in § 32.1-
162.16 of the Code of Virginia, means the, in the following 
specified order of priority: 

1. The parent or parents having custody of a prospective 
participant, the subject who is a minor;  

2. The agent appointed under an advance directive, as 
defined in § 54.1-2982 of the Code of Virginia, executed 
by the prospective subject, provided the advance directive 
authorizes the agent to make decisions regarding the 
prospective subject's participation in human research; 

3. The legal guardian of a prospective participant, subject; 

4. The spouse of the prospective subject, except where a 
suit for divorce has been filed and the divorce decree is not 
yet final;  

5. An adult child of the prospective subject;  

6. A parent of the prospective subject when the subject is 
an adult;  

7. An adult brother or sister of the prospective subject; or  

any 8. Any person or judicial or other body authorized by 
law or regulation to consent on behalf of a prospective 
participant subject to such person's subject's participation 
in the particular human research.  

For the purposes of this definition, any person authorized by 
law or regulation to consent on behalf of a prospective 
participant subject to his such subject's participation in the 
particular human research shall include an attorney-in-fact 
appointed under a durable power of attorney, to the extent the 
power grants the authority to make such a decision. The 
attorney-in-fact shall not be employed by the person, 
institution or agency conducting the human research and shall 
not be authorized to consent to nontherapeutic medical 
research. No official or employee of the institution or agency 
conducting or authorizing the research shall be qualified to 
act as a legally authorized representative. 

"Minimal risk" means that the risks of harm anticipated in 
the proposed research are not greater, considering probability 
and magnitude, of harm or discomfort anticipated in the 
research are not greater in and of themselves than those 

ordinarily encountered in daily life or during the performance 
of routine physical or psychological examinations or tests.  

"Minor," as defined in § 1-207 of the Code of Virginia, 
means an individual who is less than 18 years of age.  

"Nontherapeutic research" means human subject research in 
which there is no reasonable expectation of direct benefit to 
the physical or mental condition of the participant subject.  

"Parent" means a minor's biological or adoptive parent. 

"Permission" means the agreement of parent(s) or a legally 
authorized representative to the participation of their minor or 
ward in research. 

"Private information" includes means information about the 
human participant's behavior that occurs when in a context in 
which an individual can reasonably expect that no 
observation or recording is taking place, and or information 
which that has been provided for specific purposes by the 
human participant which an individual and that the participant 
individual can reasonably expect will not be made public (for 
example, a medical record). Private information must be 
individually identifiable (i.e., the identity of the human 
participant is or may readily be ascertained by the investigator 
or associated with the information) in order for obtaining the 
information to constitute research involving human 
participants. 

"Research" means a systematic investigation, including 
research development, testing, and evaluation, designed to 
develop or contribute to general generalizable knowledge 
(basic research) or specific knowledge (applied research). 
Activities which that meet this definition constitute research 
for purposes of this chapter, whether or not they are supported 
or funded under a program which that is considered research 
for other purposes. For example, some "demonstration" and 
"service" programs may include research activities. 

"Research investigator" means the person, whether 
professional or student, who conducts the research.  

"Sheltered workshop" means a facility-based community 
rehabilitation a program that (i) provides directly or facilitates 
the provision of one or more of the following vocational 
rehabilitation services enumerated in 34 CFR 361.5(b)(9)(i) 
to individuals with disabilities to enable them to maximize 
their opportunities for employment, including career 
advancement:; (ii) has a vendor relationship with the 
department; and (iii) is not operated by a community services 
board.  

1. Medical, psychiatric, psychological, social, and 
vocational services that are provided under one 
management;  

2. Testing, fitting, or training in the use of prosthetic and 
orthotic devices;  

3. Recreational therapy;  
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4. Physical and occupational therapy;  

5. Speech, language, and hearing therapy;  

6. Psychiatric, psychological, and social services, including 
positive behavior management;  

7. Assessment for determining eligibility and vocational 
rehabilitation needs;  

8. Rehabilitation technology;  

9. Job development, placement, and retention services;  

10. Evaluation or control of specific disabilities;  

11. Orientation and mobility services for individuals who 
are blind;  

12. Extended employment;  

13. Psycho-social rehabilitation services;  

14. Supported employment services and extended services;  

15. Services to family members when necessary to the 
vocational rehabilitation of the individual;  

16. Personal assistance services; or  

17. Services similar to the services described in 
subdivisions 1 through 16.  

"Voluntary informed consent" means the knowing, written 
consent of an individual, or the individual's legally authorized 
representative, so situated as to be able to exercise free power 
of choice without undue inducement or any element of force, 
fraud, deceit, duress or other form of constraint or coercion. 
With regard to the conduct of human research, the basic 
elements of information necessary to such consent shall 
include in writing:  

1. A statement that the study involves research, and a 
reasonable and comprehensible explanation to the human 
participant of the procedures that the researcher will follow 
and their purposes, including identification of any 
procedures which are experimental; the expected duration 
of the human participant's participation; and a statement 
describing the extent, if any, to which confidentiality of 
records identifying the participant will be maintained, and 
if any data from this study are published, the individual 
will not be identified without his written permission;  

2. A description of any attendant discomforts and risks to 
the human participant which may reasonably be expected 
and a statement that there may be other risks not yet 
identified;  

3. A description of any benefits to the human participant or 
to others which may reasonably be expected;  

4. A disclosure of any appropriate alternative procedures or 
therapies that might be advantageous for the human 
participant;  

5. An offer to answer and answers to any inquiries by any 
individual concerning the procedure;  

6. A statement that participation is voluntary, refusal to 
participate will involve no penalty or loss of benefits to 
which the human participant is otherwise entitled, and the 
human participant may discontinue participation at any 
time without penalty or loss of benefits to which he is 
otherwise entitled;  

7. An explanation of who to contact for answers to 
pertinent questions about the research and human research 
participants' rights, and who to contact in the event of a 
research related injury;  

8. For research involving more than minimal risk, an 
explanation as to whether any compensation or medical 
care is available if injury occurs and, if so, what it consists 
of or where further information may be obtained; and  

9. An explanation of any costs or compensation which may 
accrue to the person and, if applicable, the availability of 
third party reimbursement for the proposed procedures or 
protocols.  

22VAC30-40-30. Applicability. 

This chapter shall apply to the Department of Rehabilitative 
Services, Woodrow Wilson Rehabilitation Center, any 
sheltered workshop or workshops and independent living 
center centers, and any facility operated, funded or licensed 
by the department which conducts or which proposes to 
conduct or authorize research which uses human participants 
known as covered entities. 

22VAC30-40-40. Policy General provisions for conducting 
human subjects research. 

A. No human subjects research may be conducted by a 
covered entity without the voluntary informed consent of the 
participant subject or his the subject's legally authorized 
representative. The required elements of informed consent are 
provided in 22VAC30-40-100. The consent of the participant 
human subject or his the human subject's legally authorized 
representative to participate in the research must be 
documented in writing and supported by the signature of a 
witness not involved in the conduct of the research, except as 
provided for in 22VAC30-40-100 F J. The research 
investigator shall sign ensure that a knowledgeable member 
of the research team signs and provide participants provides 
human subjects of a research study project with a copy of the 
written, voluntary informed consent statement document as 
defined in 22VAC30-40-10 22VAC30-40-100 B. The 
investigator shall make arrangements for those who need 
special assistance in understanding the consequences of 
participating in the research.  

B. Each human subjects research study project shall be 
approved by a committee composed of representatives of 
varied backgrounds who shall assure the competent, 
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complete, and professional review of human research 
activities the department's HRRC. An institution may 
establish its own research review committee, it may work 
with other institutions to establish a single committee, or it 
may use the department's established committee.  

C. Nontherapeutic research using institutionalized 
participants is prohibited unless the research review 
committee HRRC determines that such nontherapeutic 
research will not present greater than minimal risk to the 
human participant subjects. 

D. The research investigator shall be required to notify all 
human participants in research subjects of the risks caused by 
the research which that are discovered after the research has 
concluded.  

E. 22VAC30-40-160 applies to all research involving 
minors as subjects conducted or supported by the covered 
entity. In addition to other responsibilities assigned to the 
HRRC under 22VAC30-40-160, the HRRC shall review 
research covered by 22VAC30-40-160 and approve only 
research that satisfies the conditions of all applicable sections 
of this chapter. Exemptions in subdivisions 1 and 3 through 6 
of 22VAC30-40-80 are applicable to 22VAC30-40-160. The 
exemption in subdivision 2 of 22VAC30-40-80 regarding 
educational tests is also applicable to 22VAC30-40-160. 
However, the exemption in subdivision 2 of 22VAC30-40-80 
for research involving survey or interview procedures or 
observations of public behavior does not apply to research 
covered by 22VAC30-40-160, except for research involving 
observation of public behavior when the investigator or 
investigators do not participate in the activities being 
observed.  

F. Cooperative research projects are those projects covered 
by this chapter that involve a covered entity in conjunction 
with an institution(s). In the conduct of cooperative research 
projects, the covered entity and each institution are 
responsible for safeguarding the rights and welfare of human 
subjects and for complying with this chapter. With the 
approval of the commissioner, a covered entity participating 
in a cooperative project may enter into a joint review 
arrangement, rely upon the review of another qualified 
institutional review board (IRB), or make similar 
arrangements for avoiding duplication of effort. 

G. In the event research is undertaken without the intention 
of involving human subjects, but it is later proposed to 
involve human subjects in the research, the research shall first 
be reviewed and approved by the HRRC, as provided in this 
chapter, a certification submitted by the covered entity to the 
commissioner, and final approval given to the proposed 
change by the commissioner. 

H. With respect to any research project or any class of 
research projects, the commissioner may impose additional 
conditions prior to or at the time of approval when, in the 

judgment of the commissioner, additional conditions are 
necessary for the protection of human subjects. 

I. In reviewing proposed research projects, the HRRC shall 
consider the requirements of review stated in 22VAC30-40-
70. 

22VAC30-40-50. Certification process.  

A. Institutions seeking to conduct or sponsor human 
research are required to submit statements to the research 
review committee assuring that all human research activities 
will be reviewed and approved by a research review 
committee. Institutions shall report annually No later than 45 
days after the end of each state fiscal year, Woodrow Wilson 
Rehabilitation Center, sheltered workshops and independent 
living centers shall send a written report to the commissioner 
giving assurance that a committee exists and is functioning. 
These reports should include a list of committee members, 
their qualifications for service on the committee, their 
institutional affiliation and a copy of the minutes of 
committee meetings either all human subjects research 
conducted during the fiscal year was reviewed and approved 
by the department's HRRC prior to implementation of that 
research or that no human subjects research was conducted 
during that state fiscal year.  

B. Prior to the initiation of a human research project, 
institutions At the time that the research is approved by the 
HRRC, the HRRC chairperson shall also send to the 
commissioner a description of the research project to be 
undertaken, which shall include a statement of the criteria for 
inclusion of a participant prospective human subjects in the 
research project, a description of what will be done to the 
prospective human participants subjects, and a copy of the 
informed consent statement the type of review performed by 
the HRRC.  

C. The commissioner may inspect the records of the 
research committee department's HRRC.  

D. The chairman of the research committee shall report as 
soon as possible to the head of the institution and to the 
commissioner any violation of the research protocol which 
led the committee to either suspend or terminate the research. 
The HRRC shall have authority to suspend or terminate 
approval of research that is not being conducted in 
accordance with the HRRC's requirements or that has been 
associated with unexpected serious harm to subjects. Any 
suspension or termination of approval shall include a 
statement of the reasons for the HRRC's action and shall be 
reported promptly to the research investigator, the 
commissioner, the head(s) of other appropriate covered 
entities, and in the case of cooperative research, the 
institutional officials responsible for human subjects research. 

E. Research covered by this chapter that has been approved 
by the HRRC may be subject to further appropriate review 
and approval or disapproval by officials of the covered 
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entities. However, those officials may not approve the 
research if it has not been approved by the HRRC. 

22VAC30-40-60. Composition of research review 
committees the HRRC. 

A. Each research committee The HRRC shall have at least 
five members, appointed by the head of the institution or 
department commissioner, with varying backgrounds to 
provide promote complete and adequate review of activities 
research projects commonly conducted by the institution 
covered entities. The committee HRRC shall be sufficiently 
qualified through the research experience, and expertise, and 
diversity of its members, and the diversity of the members, 
including consideration of race, gender, and cultural 
background, and sensitivity to such issues as community 
attitudes, to promote respect for its advice and counsel in 
safeguarding the rights and welfare of participants in human 
research subjects. In addition to possessing the professional 
competence necessary to review specific activities research 
projects, the committee must HRRC shall be able to ascertain 
the acceptability of applications and proposals proposed 
research in terms of institutional the department's 
commitments and regulations, applicable law, standards of 
professional conduct and practice, and community attitudes. 
If a committee the HRRC regularly reviews research that has 
an impact on an institutionalized or other involves a 
vulnerable category of participants subjects, including 
residents of mental health or mental retardation facilities, the 
committee shall have in its membership one or more 
individuals who are primarily concerned with the welfare of 
these participants and who have appropriate experience to 
serve in that capacity such as children, pregnant women, or 
persons with mental disabilities, consideration shall be given 
to the inclusion of one or more individuals who are 
knowledgeable about and experienced in working with these 
subjects. Additional membership requirements may be 
imposed on the HRRC by 34 CFR 350.4(c) and 356.3(c) for 
research sponsored by the National Institute on Disability and 
Rehabilitation Research. When minors with disabilities or 
persons with mental disabilities are purposefully included as 
research subjects, the HRRC's membership must include at 
least one person who is primarily concerned with the welfare 
of these research subjects. 

B. No committee shall Every nondiscriminatory effort will 
be made to ensure that the HRRC does not consist entirely of 
men or entirely of women, or including the department's 
consideration of qualified persons of both sexes, so long as no 
selection is made to the HRRC on the basis of gender. The 
HRRC may not consist entirely of members of one 
profession. 

C. Each committee The HRRC shall include at least one of 
the following: 

1. One At least one member whose primary concerns are in 
nonscientific areas (e.g., lawyers, ethicists, members of the 
clergy); 

2. One At least one member who is not otherwise affiliated 
with the institution any covered entity and who is not part 
of the immediate family of a person who is affiliated with 
the institution covered entity; and  

3. One consumer; and  

4. One 3. At least one member whose primary concerns are 
in the scientific areas. 

D. No member of a committee The HRRC shall not have a 
member participate in the committee's HRRC's initial or 
continuing review of any project in which the member is 
directly involved or for which he has administrative approval 
authority has a conflicting interest, except to provide 
information requested by the committee HRRC. The 
committee HRRC has responsibility for determining whether 
a member has a conflict of conflicting interest with any study. 
The committee HRRC member shall be replaced in the case 
of a conflict of conflicting interest resulting in a decrease of 
the committee HRRC below five persons members. 

E. A committee The HRRC may, at its discretion, invite 
individuals with competence in special areas to assist in the 
review of complex issues which require expertise beyond or 
in addition to that available on the committee HRRC. These 
individuals may not vote with the committee. 

F. A quorum of the committee HRRC shall consist of a 
majority of its members including at least one member whose 
primary concerns are in nonscientific areas. Except when 
exempt or expedited review procedures are used, proposed 
research shall be reviewed at convened meetings at which a 
majority of members is present, including at least one 
member whose primary concerns are in nonscientific areas. In 
order for the research to be approved, it shall receive the 
approval of a majority of those members present at the 
meeting. 

G. The committee HRRC and the institution department 
shall establish procedures and rules of operation necessary to 
fulfill the requirements of these regulations. 

22VAC30-40-70. Elements of each committee's the 
HRRC's review process. 

A. No human research shall be conducted or authorized by 
the Department of Rehabilitative Services, any independent 
living center, any sheltered workshop, or the Woodrow 
Wilson Rehabilitation Center unless the committee has 
reviewed and approved the proposed human research project 
giving consideration to: The HRRC shall review and have 
authority to approve, require modifications in, or disapprove 
all research activities covered by this chapter. 
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1. The adequacy of the description of the potential benefits 
and risks involved and the adequacy of the methodology of 
the research;  

2. The degree of the risk, and, if the research is 
nontherapeutic, whether it presents greater than minimal 
risk;  

3. Whether the rights and welfare of the participants are 
adequately protected;  

4. Whether the risks to the participants are outweighed by 
the potential benefits to them;  

5. Whether the voluntary informed consent is to be 
obtained by methods that adequately and appropriately 
fulfill the requirements of these regulations and whether 
the written consent form is adequate and appropriate in 
both content and language for the particular research and 
for the particular participants of the research;  

6. Whether the research investigators proposing to 
supervise or conduct the particular human research are 
appropriately competent and qualified;  

7. Whether criteria for selection of participants are 
equitable, especially in research regarding the future 
development of mental or physical illness;  

8. Whether the research conforms with such other 
requirements as the department may establish; and  

9. Whether appropriate studies in nonhuman systems have 
been conducted prior to the involvement of human 
participants.  

B. The committee shall review, at least annually, approved 
projects to ensure conformity with the approved proposal. 
The HRRC shall require that information given to prospective 
subjects as part of the informed consent process is in 
accordance with 22VAC30-40-100. The HRRC may require 
that information, in addition to that specifically mentioned in 
22VAC30-40-100, be given to prospective subjects when, in 
the HRRC's judgment, the information would meaningfully 
add to the protection of the rights and welfare of subjects. 

C. Research must be approved by the committee which has 
jurisdiction over the participant. When cooperating 
institutions conduct some or all of the research involving 
some or all of the participants, each cooperating institution is 
responsible for safeguarding the rights and welfare of human 
participants and for complying with this chapter, except that 
in complying with this chapter institutions may enter into 
joint review, rely upon the review of another qualified 
committee, or make similar arrangements aimed at avoiding 
duplication of effort. The committee chairperson may make 
such arrangements with the approval of a majority of the 
members present at a meeting of the committee. The HRRC 
shall require documentation of informed consent or may 
waive documentation in accordance with 22VAC30-40-100 J. 

D. The committee HRRC shall consider research proposals 
within 45 days after submission of a complete application to 
the committee's chairman HRRC's chairperson. In order for 
the research to be approved, it shall receive the approval of a 
majority of those members present at a meeting in which a 
quorum exists. A committee The HRRC shall notify research 
investigators and the institution covered entity in writing of 
its decision to approve or disapprove the proposed research 
activity, or of modifications required to secure committee 
HRRC approval.  

E. The committee HRRC shall develop a written complaint 
description of the procedure procedures to be followed by a 
human participant subject who has a complaint concern(s) 
about a research project in which he is participating or has 
participated.  

F. Any participant who has a complaint about a research 
project in which he is participating or has participated shall be 
referred to the chairperson of the committee HRRC who shall 
refer it to the committee HRRC to determine if there has been 
a violation of the research protocol as approved by the 
HRRC. 

G. The committee shall require periodic reports. The 
frequency of such reports should reflect the nature and degree 
of risk of each research project. 

H. If the HRRC decides to disapprove a research 
application, it shall include in its written notification a 
statement of the reasons for its decision and give the 
investigator an opportunity to respond in person or in writing. 

I. The HRRC shall conduct continuing review of research 
covered by this chapter at intervals appropriate to the degree 
of risk, but not less than once per year, and shall have 
authority to observe or have a third party observe the consent 
process and the research. 

J. In order to approve research covered by this chapter, the 
HRRC shall determine that all of the following requirements 
are satisfied: 

1. Risks to subjects are minimized: 

a. By using procedures that are consistent with sound 
research design and that do not unnecessarily expose 
subjects to risk; and 

b. Whenever appropriate, by using procedures already 
being performed on the subjects for diagnostic or 
treatment purposes. 

2. Risks to subjects are reasonable in relation to anticipated 
benefits, if any, to subjects and the importance of the 
knowledge that may reasonably be expected to result. In 
evaluating risks and benefits, the HRRC should consider 
only those risks and benefits that may result from the 
research (as distinguished from risks and benefits of 
therapies subjects would receive even if not participating in 
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the research). The HRRC should not consider possible 
long-range effects of applying knowledge gained in the 
research (for example, the possible effects of the research 
on public policy) as among those research risks that fall 
within the purview of its responsibility. 

3. Selection of subjects is equitable. In making this 
assessment the HRRC should take into account the 
purposes of the research and the setting in which the 
research will be conducted and should be particularly 
cognizant of the special problems of research involving 
vulnerable populations, such as children, pregnant women, 
persons with mental disabilities, or economically or 
educationally disadvantaged persons. 

4. Informed consent will be sought from each prospective 
subject or the subject's legally authorized representative in 
accordance with and to the extent required by 22VAC30-
40-100. 

5. Informed consent will be appropriately documented in 
accordance with and to the extent required by 22VAC30-
40-100. 

6. When appropriate, the research plan makes adequate 
provision for monitoring the data collected to ensure the 
safety of subjects. 

7. When appropriate, there are adequate provisions to 
protect the privacy of subjects and to maintain the 
confidentiality of data. 

8. When some or all of the subjects are likely to be 
vulnerable to coercion or undue influence, such as 
children, pregnant women, persons with mental 
disabilities, or economically or educationally 
disadvantaged persons, additional safeguards have been 
included in the project to protect the rights and welfare of 
these subjects. 

22VAC30-40-80. Kinds of research exempt from 
committee review. 

Research activities in which the only involvement of human 
participants will be in one or more of the following categories 
are exempt from these regulations unless the research is 
covered by other sections of this chapter. The HRRC shall 
determine whether the proposed research project satisfies at 
least one exemption category in this section before the 
research can be conducted: 

1. Research conducted in established or commonly 
accepted educational settings, involving commonly used 
normal educational practices, such as:  

a. Research on regular and special education instructional 
strategies; or  

b. Research on the effectiveness of or the comparison 
among instructional techniques, curriculum or classroom 
management methods.  

2. Research involving solely the use and analysis of the 
results of standardized psychological, educational, 
diagnostic, aptitude, or achievement tests, if information 
taken from these sources is recorded in such a manner that 
participants cannot be reasonably identified, directly or 
through identifiers linked to the participants. of educational 
tests (cognitive, diagnostic, aptitude, achievement), survey 
procedures, interview procedures or observation of public 
behavior, unless: 

a. Information obtained is recorded in such a manner that 
human subjects can be identified, directly or through 
identifiers linked to the subjects; and  

b. Any disclosure of the human subjects' responses 
outside the research could reasonably place the subjects 
at risk of criminal or civil liability or be damaging to the 
subjects' financial standing, employability, or reputation. 

3. Research involving survey or interview procedures, 
unless responses are recorded in such a manner that 
participants can be identified, directly or through 
identifiers linked to the participants, and either: Research 
involving the use of educational tests (cognitive, 
diagnostic, aptitude, achievement), survey procedures, 
interview procedures, or observation of public behavior 
that is not exempt under subdivision 2 of 22VAC30-40-80 
if: 

a. The participant's responses, if they became known 
outside the research, could reasonably place the 
participant at risk of criminal or civil liability or be 
damaging to the participant's financial standing, 
employability, or reputation The human subjects are 
elected or appointed public officials or candidates for 
public office; or  

b. The research deals with sensitive aspects of the 
participant's own behavior, such as sexual behavior, drug 
or alcohol use, illegal conduct, or family planning. 
Federal statute(s) require(s) without exception that the 
confidentiality of the personally identifiable information 
will be maintained throughout the research and 
thereafter. 

4. Research involving solely the observation (including 
observation by participants) of public behavior, unless 
observations are recorded in such a manner that 
participants can be identified, directly or through 
identifiers linked to the participants, and either:  

a. The observations recorded about the individual, if they 
became known outside the research, could reasonably 
place the human participant at risk of criminal or civil 
liability or be damaging to the participant's financial 
standing, employability, or reputation; or  
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b. The research deals with sensitive aspects of the 
participant's own behavior, such as illegal conduct, drug 
use, sexual behavior, or use of alcohol.  

5. 4. Research involving solely the collection or study of 
existing data, documents, records, or pathological 
specimens, or diagnostic specimens, if these sources are 
publicly available, or if the information taken from these 
sources is recorded by the investigator in such a manner 
that participants subjects cannot be identified, directly or 
through identifiers linked to the participants subjects.  

5. Research and demonstration projects that are conducted 
by or subject to the approval of the commissioner, and that 
are designed to study, evaluate, or otherwise examine:  

a. Public benefit or service programs;  

b. Procedures for obtaining benefits or services under 
those programs;  

c. Possible changes in or alternatives to those programs 
or procedures; or  

d. Possible changes in methods or levels of payment for 
benefits or services under those programs. 

6. Taste and food quality evaluation and consumer 
acceptance studies:  

a. If wholesome foods without additives are consumed; 
or  

b. If a food is consumed that contains a food ingredient at 
or below the level and for a use found to be safe, or 
agricultural chemical or environmental contaminant at or 
below the level found to be safe, by the Food and Drug 
Administration or approved by the Environmental 
Protection Agency or the Food Safety and Inspection 
Service of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. 

22VAC30-40-90. Expedited review procedures for certain 
kinds of research involving no more than minimal risk, 
and for minor changes in approved research.  

A. The committee may conduct an expedited review of a 
human research project which involves no more than minimal 
risk to the participants if (i) another institution's or agency's 
human research review committee has reviewed and approved 
the project or (ii) the review involves only minor changes in 
previously approved research and the changes occur during 
the approved project period. The HRRC may use the 
expedited review procedure for categories of research that are 
listed in 63 FR 60364-60367 where either or both of the 
following apply: 

1. Some or all of the research appearing on the list and 
found by the reviewer(s) to involve no more than minimal 
risk. 

2. Minor changes in previously approved research during 
the period (of one year or less) for which approval is 
authorized. 

Under an expedited review procedure, the committee review 
may be carried out by the HRRC chairperson and one or by 
one or more experienced reviewers designated by the 
chairperson from among members of the committee may 
carry out the review HRRC. In reviewing the research, the 
reviewers may exercise all of the authorities of the committee 
HRRC except that the reviewers may not disapprove the 
research. A research activity proposal may be disapproved 
only after review in accordance with the nonexpedited by a 
convened meeting of the HRRC in which a quorum is present 
and in accordance with procedure set forth in 22VAC30-40-
70. 

B. Each committee which uses When an expedited review 
procedure is used, the HRRC shall adopt a method for 
keeping all members advised of research proposals which 
have been approved under the expedited review procedure.  

C. Research activities involving no more than minimal risk 
and in which the only involvement of human participants will 
be in one or more of the categories referred to in 34 CFR 
97.110. The commissioner may restrict, suspend, terminate, 
or choose not to authorize the HRRC's use of the expedited 
review procedure. 

22VAC30-40-100. Informed consent.  

A. No human research may be conducted in the department, 
any independent living center, any sheltered workshop, or the 
Woodrow Wilson Rehabilitation Center or approved by the 
research committee in the absence of voluntary informed, 
written consent. If the participant is competent at the time the 
consent is required, then the consent must be subscribed to in 
writing by the participant and witnessed. If the participant is 
not competent at the time the consent is required, then the 
consent shall be subscribed to in writing by the participant's 
legally authorized representative and witnessed except as 
provided for in subsection F of this section. If the participant 
is a minor otherwise capable of rendering voluntary informed 
consent, the consent must be subscribed to in writing by both 
the minor and his legally authorized representative and 
witnessed. A research Except as provided elsewhere in this 
chapter, no investigator may involve a human being as a 
subject in research covered by this chapter unless the 
investigator has obtained the legally effective informed 
consent of the prospective subject or the prospective subject's 
legally authorized representative in accordance with this 
chapter. The investigator shall seek such consent only under 
circumstances that provide the prospective human participant 
or the representative prospective human participant's legally 
authorized representative sufficient opportunity to consider 
whether or not to participate and that minimize the possibility 
of coercion or undue influence. The information that is given 
to the prospective human participant or the prospective 
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human participant's legally authorized representative shall be 
in language understandable to the prospective human 
participant or the prospective human participant's legally 
authorized representative. No informed consent, whether oral 
or written, may include any exculpatory language through 
which the subject or the legally authorized representative is 
made to waive or appear to waive any of the subject's legal 
rights, or releases or appears to release the investigator, the 
sponsor, the covered entity, or its agents from liability for 
negligence. 

B. No individual shall participate in research unless this 
requirement is met for each individual. The giving of consent 
by a legally authorized representative shall be subject to the 
provisions of subsection C of this section. No voluntary 
informed consent shall include any language through which 
the participant waives or appears to waive any of his legal 
rights, including any release of any individual, institution or 
agency or any agents thereof from liability for negligence. 
Notwithstanding consent by a legally authorized 
representative, no person shall be forced to participate in any 
human research. Each human participant shall be given a 
copy of the signed consent form required by 22VAC30-40-40 
A, except as provided for in 22VAC30-40-100 F. In seeking 
informed consent, the following basic elements shall be 
provided to each prospective subject or legally authorized 
representative:  

1. A statement that the project involves research, an 
explanation of the purposes of the research and the 
expected duration of the subject's participation, a 
description of the procedures to be followed, and 
identification of any procedures that are experimental; 

2. A description of any reasonably foreseeable risks or 
discomforts to the subject; 

3. A description of any benefits to the subject or to others 
that may reasonably be expected from the research; 

4. A disclosure of appropriate alternative procedures or 
courses of treatment, if any, that might be advantageous to 
the subject; 

5. A statement describing the extent, if any, to which 
confidentiality of records identifying the subject will be 
maintained; 

6. For research involving more than minimal risk, an 
explanation as to whether any compensation and an 
explanation as to whether any medical treatments are 
available if injury occurs and, if so, what they consist of, or 
where further information may be obtained; 

7. An explanation of who to contact for answers to 
pertinent questions about the research and research 
subject's rights, and who to contact in the event of a 
research-related injury to the subject; and 

8. A statement that participation is voluntary, refusal to 
participate will involve no penalty or loss of benefits to 
which the subject is otherwise entitled, and the subject may 
discontinue participation at any time without penalty or 
loss of benefits to which the subject is otherwise entitled. 

C. No legally authorized representative may consent to 
nontherapeutic research unless the committee determines that 
such nontherapeutic research will present no more than a 
minor increase over minimal risk to the participant. No 
nontherapeutic research shall be performed without the 
consent of the human participant. When the HRRC 
determines that it is appropriate, one or more of the following 
additional elements of informed consent shall also be 
provided to each subject: 

1. A statement that the particular treatment or procedure 
may involve risks to the subject (or to the embryo or fetus, 
if the subject is or may become pregnant) that are currently 
unforeseeable; 

2. Anticipated circumstances under which the subject's 
participation may be terminated by the investigator without 
regard to the subject's consent; 

3. Any additional costs to the subject that may result from 
participation in the research; 

4. The consequences of a subject's decision to withdraw 
from the research and procedures for orderly termination of 
participation by the subject; 

5. A statement that significant new findings developed 
during the course of the research that may relate to the 
subject's willingness to continue participation will be 
provided to the subject; and 

6. The approximate number of subjects involved in the 
project. 

D. The committee HRRC may approve a consent procedure 
which that does not include or which alters some or all of the 
elements of informed consent set forth in 22VAC30-40-10. 
The committee may this section, or waive the requirements 
requirement to obtain some or all informed consent provided 
the committee HRRC finds and documents that: 

1. The research involves no more than minimal risk to the 
human participants; or demonstration project is to be 
conducted by or subject to the approval of state or local 
government officials and is designed to study, evaluate, or 
otherwise examine: 

a. Public benefit or service programs; 

b. Procedures for obtaining benefits or services under 
those programs;  

c. Possible changes in or alternatives to those programs 
or procedures; or  
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d. Possible changes in methods or levels of payment for 
benefits or services under those programs; and 

2. The waiver or alteration will not adversely affect the 
rights and welfare of the human participants;  

3. 2. The research could not practicably be carried out 
without the waiver or alteration; and. 

4. Whenever appropriate, the human participants will be 
provided with additional pertinent information after 
participation.  

E. Except as provided in subsection F of this section, the 
consent form may be either of the following: The HRRC may 
approve a consent procedure that does not include or that 
alters some or all of the elements of informed consent set 
forth in subsection B of this section, or waive the 
requirements to obtain informed consent provided the HRRC 
finds and documents that: 

1. A written consent document that embodies the elements 
of informed consent required by 22VAC30-40-10. This 
form may be read to the participant or the participant's 
legally authorized representative, but in any event, the 
investigator shall give either the participant or the 
representative adequate opportunity to read it before it is 
signed; or  

2. A short form written consent document stating that the 
elements of informed consent required by 22VAC30-40-10 
have been presented orally to the participant or the 
participant's legally authorized representative. When this 
method is used, there shall be a witness to the oral 
presentation. Also, the committee shall approve a written 
summary of what is to be said to the participant or the 
representative. Only the short form itself is to be signed by 
the participant or the representative. However, the witness 
shall sign both the short form and a copy of the summary, 
and the person actually obtaining consent shall sign a copy 
of the summary. A copy of the summary shall be given to 
the human participant or the representative, in addition to a 
copy of the short form. 

1. The research involves no more than minimal risk to the 
subject; 

2. The waiver or alteration will not adversely affect the 
rights and welfare of the subjects; 

3. The research could not practicably be carried out 
without the waiver or alteration; and 

4. Whenever appropriate, the subjects will be provided 
with additional pertinent information after participation. 

F. The committee may waive the requirement for the 
research investigator to obtain a signed consent form for some 
or all participants if it finds that the only record linking the 
participant and the research would be the consent document 
and the principal risk would be potential harm resulting from 

a breach of confidentiality and there is no greater than a 
minimal risk of physical or mental harm to the human 
participant. Each participant will be asked whether the 
participant wants documentation linking the participant with 
the research, and the participant's wishes will govern. In cases 
where the documentation requirement is waived, the 
committee may require the investigator to provide 
participants with a written statement regarding the research. 
The informed consent requirements in this chapter are not 
intended to preempt any applicable federal, state, or local 
laws that require additional information to be disclosed in 
order for informed consent to be legally effective. 

G. Nothing in this chapter is intended to limit the authority 
of a physician to provide emergency medical care, to the 
extent the physician is permitted to do so under applicable 
federal or state law, or local ordinance. 

H. Notwithstanding consent by a legally authorized 
representative, no person shall be forced to participate in any 
human subjects research. Each human subject shall be given a 
copy of the signed consent form required by this section, 
except as provided for in subsection J of this section. 

I. No legally authorized representative may consent to 
nontherapeutic research unless the HRRC determines that 
such nontherapeutic research will present no more than a 
minor increase over minimal risk to the prospective subject. 
No nontherapeutic research shall be performed without the 
consent of the human subject. 

J. Documentation of informed consent. 

1. Except as provided in subdivision 3 of this subsection, 
informed consent shall be documented by the use of a 
written consent form approved by the HRRC and signed by 
the subject or the subject's legally authorized 
representative. A copy shall be given to the person signing 
the form. 

2. Except as provided in subdivision 3 of this subsection, 
the consent form may be either of the following: 

a. A written consent document that embodies the 
elements of informed consent required in subsection B of 
this section. This form may be read to the subject or the 
subject's legally authorized representative, but in any 
event, the investigator shall give either the subject or the 
subject's legally authorized representative adequate 
opportunity to read it before it is signed; or 

b. A short form written consent document stating that the 
elements of informed consent required in subsection B of 
this section have been presented orally to the subject or 
the subject's legally authorized representative. When this 
method is used, there shall be a witness to the oral 
presentation. Also, the HRRC shall approve a written 
summary of what is to be said to the subject or the 
representative. Only the short form itself is to be signed 
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by the subject or the representative. However, the witness 
shall sign both the short form and a copy of the summary, 
and the person actually obtaining consent shall sign a 
copy of the summary. A copy of the summary shall be 
given to the subject or the legally authorized 
representative, in addition to a copy of the short form. 

3. The HRRC may waive the requirement for the 
investigator to obtain a signed consent form for some or all 
subjects if it finds either: 

a. That the only record linking the subject and the 
research would be the consent document and the 
principal risk would be potential harm resulting from a 
breach of confidentiality. Each subject will be asked 
whether the subject wants documentation linking the 
subject with the research, and the subject's wishes will 
govern; or 

b. That the research presents no more than minimal risk 
of harm to subjects and involves no procedures for which 
written consent is normally required outside of the 
research context. In cases in which the documentation 
requirement is waived, the HRRC may require the 
investigator to provide subjects with a written statement 
regarding the research. 

22VAC30-40-110. Committee HRRC records. 

A. An institution, or when appropriate a committee, The 
HRRC shall prepare and maintain adequate documentation of 
committee HRRC activities, including the following:  

1. Copies of all research proposals applications reviewed, 
scientific evaluations, if any, that accompany the proposals 
applications, approved sample consent documents, 
progress reports submitted by investigators, and reports of 
injuries to participants subjects;  

2. Minutes of committee HRRC meetings which shall be in 
sufficient detail to show attendance at the meetings; actions 
taken by the committee HRRC; the vote on these actions 
including the number of members voting for, against, and 
abstaining; the basis for requiring changes in or 
disapproving research; and a written summary of the 
discussion of controverted issues and their resolution;  

3. Records of continuing review activities; 

4. Copies of all correspondence between the committee 
HRRC and the research investigators;  

5. A list of all committee HRRC members identified by 
name; earned degrees; representative capacity; indications 
of experience such as board certifications, licenses, etc., 
sufficient to describe each member's chief anticipated 
contributions to HRRC deliberations; and any employment 
or other relationship between each member and the 
covered entity, for example: full-time employee, part-time 

employee, member of governing panel or board, or paid or 
unpaid consultant;  

6. Written procedures for the committee Statements of 
significant new findings provided to participants; and  

7. Statements of significant new findings provided to 
participants. Written procedures for the HRRC that shall 
include: 

a. Conducting its initial and continuing review of 
research and for reporting its findings and actions to the 
investigator and the department;  

b. Determining which projects require review more often 
than annually and which projects need verification from 
sources other than the investigators that no material 
changes have occurred since previous HRRC review;  

c. Ensuring prompt reporting to the HRRC of proposed 
changes in a research activity, and for ensuring that such 
changes in approved research, during the period for 
which HRRC approval has already been given, may not 
be initiated without HRRC review and approval except 
when necessary to eliminate apparent immediate hazards 
to the subject; and  

d. Ensuring prompt reporting to the HRRC and the 
commissioner of (i) any unanticipated problems 
involving risks to subjects or others or any serious or 
continuing noncompliance with this policy or the 
requirements or determinations of the HRRC and (ii) any 
suspension or termination of HRRC approval. 

B. The records required by this chapter shall be retained for 
at least three years, and records relating to research which is 
conducted shall be retained for at least three years after 
completion of the research. All records shall be accessible for 
inspection and copying by authorized employees or agents of 
the department or federal agency at reasonable times and in a 
reasonable manner.  

C. The HRRC shall ensure that an overview of approved 
human subject research projects and the results of such 
projects are made public on the department's website unless 
otherwise exempt from disclosure under the Virginia 
Freedom of Information Act (§ 2.2-3700 et seq. of the Code 
of Virginia). 

22VAC30-40-120. Mandatory reporting. 

Each research review committee The HRRC shall submit to 
the Governor, the General Assembly, and the commissioner 
or his designee at least annually a report on the human 
subjects research projects reviewed and approved by the 
committee HRRC, including any significant deviations from 
the proposals as approved. 
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22VAC30-40-130. Role of the department and the 
commissioner.  

A. The commissioner shall establish and maintain records of 
institutional federal assurances, annual reports, and summary 
descriptions of research projects.  

B. The commissioner shall review communications from 
committees the HRRC reporting violations of research 
protocols which led to suspension or termination of the 
research to ensure that appropriate steps have been taken for 
the protection of the rights of human research participants 
subjects.  

C. The commissioner shall arrange for the printing and 
dissemination of copies of these regulations.  

22VAC30-40-140. Applicability of state policies. 

Nothing in this chapter shall be construed as limiting in any 
way the rights of participants human subjects in research 
under regulations promulgated in response to §§ 32.1-162.19 
and 37.1-84.1 Chapter 5.1 (§ 32.1-162.16 et seq.) of Title 
32.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

22VAC30-40-150. Applicability of federal policies. 

Human research at institutions which The conduct of human 
subjects research that is subject to policies and regulations for 
the protection of human participants subjects promulgated by 
any agency of the federal government shall be exempt from 
requirements of this chapter. Such institutions When the 
HRRC reviews or approves federally funded or sponsored 
human research proposals, the HRRC shall notify the 
commissioner at least annually of their its compliance with 
the federal policies and regulations of federal agencies for the 
protection of human research subjects. 

22VAC30-40-160. Additional protection for minors 
involved as subjects in research. 

A. Research not involving greater than minimal risk. The 
covered entity may conduct or fund research in which the 
HRRC finds that no greater than minimal risk to minors is 
presented, only if the HRRC finds that adequate provisions 
are made for soliciting the assent of the minors and the 
permission of their parents or guardians, pursuant to 
subsection E of this section.  

B. Research involving greater than minimal risk but 
presenting the prospect of direct benefit to the individual 
subjects. The covered entity may conduct or fund research in 
which the HRRC finds that more than minimal risk to minors 
is presented by an intervention or procedure that holds out the 
prospect of direct benefit for the individual subject, or by a 
monitoring procedure that is likely to contribute to the 
subject's well-being, only if the HRRC finds that: 

1. The risk is justified by the anticipated benefit to the 
subjects;  

2. The relation of the anticipated benefit to the risk is at 
least as favorable to the subjects as that presented by 
available alternative approaches; and  

3. Adequate provisions are made for soliciting the assent of 
the minors and permission of their parents or guardians, 
pursuant to subsection E of this section. 

C. Research involving greater than minimal risk and no 
prospect of direct benefit to individual subjects, but likely to 
yield generalizable knowledge about the subject's disorder or 
condition. The covered entity may conduct or fund research 
in which the HRRC finds that more than minimal risk to 
minors is presented by an intervention or procedure that does 
not hold out the prospect of direct benefit for the individual 
subject, or by a monitoring procedure that is not likely to 
contribute to the well-being of the subject, only if the HRRC 
finds that: 

1. The risk represents a minor increase over minimal risk; 

2. The intervention or procedure presents experiences to 
subjects that are reasonably commensurate with those 
inherent in their actual or expected medical, dental, 
psychological, social, or educational situations; 

3. The intervention or procedure is likely to yield 
generalizable knowledge about the subjects' disorder or 
condition that is of vital importance for the understanding 
or amelioration of the subjects' disorder or condition; and  

4. Adequate provisions are made for soliciting assent of the 
minors and permission of their parents or guardians, 
pursuant to subsection E of this section. 

D. Research not otherwise approvable that presents an 
opportunity to understand, prevent, or alleviate a serious 
problem affecting the health or welfare of minors. The 
covered entity may conduct or fund research that the HRRC 
does not believe meets the requirements pursuant to 
subsection A, B, or C of this section only if: 

1. The HRRC finds that the research presents a reasonable 
opportunity to further the understanding, prevention, or 
alleviation of a serious problem affecting the health or 
welfare of minors; and 

2. The Secretary of the United States Department of 
Education, after consultation with a panel of experts in 
pertinent disciplines (for example: science, medicine, 
education, ethics, law) and following opportunity for 
public review and comment, has determined either that: 

a. The research in fact satisfies the conditions pursuant to 
subsection A, B, or C of this section, as applicable; or 

b. (i) The research presents a reasonable opportunity to 
further the understanding, prevention, or alleviation of a 
serious problem affecting the health or welfare of minors; 
(ii) the research will be conducted in accordance with 
sound ethical principles; and (iii) adequate provisions are 
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made for soliciting the assent of minors and the 
permission of their parents or guardians, pursuant to 
subsection E of this section. 

E. Requirements for permission by parents or guardians and 
for assent by minors. 

1. In addition to the determinations required under other 
applicable subsections of this section, the HRRC shall 
determine that adequate provisions are made for soliciting 
the assent of the minors, if in the judgment of the HRRC 
the minors are capable of providing assent. In determining 
whether minors are capable of assenting, the HRRC shall 
take into account the ages, maturity, and psychological 
state of the minors involved. This judgment may be made 
for all minors to be involved in research under a particular 
protocol, or for each minor, as the HRRC deems 
appropriate. If the HRRC determines that the capability of 
some or all of the minors is so limited that they cannot 
reasonably be consulted or that the intervention or 
procedure involved in the research holds out a prospect of 
direct benefit that is important to the health or well-being 
of the minors and is available only in the context of the 
research, the assent of the minors is not a necessary 
condition for proceeding with the research. Even if the 
HRRC determines that the subjects are capable of 
assenting, the HRRC may still waive the assent 
requirement under circumstances in which consent may be 
waived in accord with 22VAC30-40-100. 

2. In addition to the determinations required under other 
applicable subsections of this section, the HRRC shall 
determine, in accordance with and to the extent that 
consent is required by 22VAC30-40-100, that adequate 
provisions are made for soliciting the permission of each 
minor's parent(s) or guardian(s). If parental permission is 
to be obtained, the HRRC may find that the permission of 
one parent is sufficient for research to be conducted 
pursuant to subsection A or B of this section. If research is 
covered pursuant to subsections C and D of this section 
and permission is to be obtained from parents, both parents 
must give their permission unless one parent is deceased, 
unknown, incompetent, or not reasonably available, or if 
only one parent has legal responsibility for the care and 
custody of the minor. Only the legal custodial parent can 
give informed consent. 

3. In addition to the provisions for waiver contained in 
22VAC30-40-100, if the HRRC determines that a research 
protocol is designed for conditions or for a subject 
population for which parental or guardian permission is not 
a reasonable requirement to protect the subjects (for 
example, neglected or abused minors), it may waive the 
consent requirements in 22VAC30-40-100 and subdivision 
2 of this subsection, provided an appropriate mechanism 
for protecting the minors who will participate as subjects in 
the research is substituted, and provided further that the 

waiver is not inconsistent with federal, state, or local law. 
The choice of an appropriate mechanism depends upon the 
nature and purpose of the activities described in the 
protocol, the risk and anticipated benefit to the research 
subjects, and their age, maturity, status, and condition. 

4. Permission by parents or guardians must be documented 
in accordance with and to the extent required by 
22VAC30-40-100 J. 

5. If the HRRC determines that assent is required, it shall 
also determine whether and how assent must be 
documented. 

F. Wards. 

1. Minors who are wards of the state or any other agency, 
institution, or entity may be included in research approved 
under subsection C or D of this section only if that research 
is: 

a. Related to their status as wards; or 

b. Conducted in schools, camps, hospitals, institutions, or 
similar settings in which the majority of minors involved 
as subjects are not wards. 

2. If research is approved under subdivision 1 of this 
subsection, the HRRC shall require appointment of an 
advocate for each minor who is a ward, in addition to any 
other individual acting on behalf of the minor as guardian 
or in loco parentis. One individual may serve as advocate 
for more than one minor. The advocate must be an 
individual who has the background and experience to act 
in, and agrees to act in, the best interest of the minor for 
the duration of the minor's participation in the research and 
who is not associated in any way (except in the role as 
advocate or member of the HRRC) with the research, the 
investigator or investigators, or the guardian organization. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-294; Filed October 7, 2008, 3:30 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 23. TAXATION 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 23VAC10-10. Guidelines for Public 
Participation in Regulation Development and 
Promulgation (repealing 23VAC10-10-10 through 
23VAC10-10-80). 

23VAC10-11. Public Participation Guidelines (adding 
23VAC10-11-10 through 23VAC10-11-110). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 58.1-203 of the Code 
of Virginia. 
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Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
December 12, 2008. 

Effective Date: December 28, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Lewis, Tax Policy Analyst, 
Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 27185, Richmond, VA 
23261-7185, telephone (804) 371-2341, FAX (804) 371-
2355, or email jennifer.lewis@tax.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia provides that 
the "Tax Commissioner shall have the power to issue 
regulations relating to the interpretation and enforcement of 
the laws of this Commonwealth governing taxes administered 
by the Department." The authority for the current regulatory 
action is mandatory under Chapter 321 of the 2008 Acts of 
Assembly. 

Purpose: The purpose of this regulatory action is to repeal the 
current public participation guidelines and promulgate model 
public participation guidelines.  The only change from the 
model public participation guidelines that TAX has made is 
to increase the public comment period for reproposed and 
fast-track regulations from 30 days to 60 days.  This change is 
necessary to conform with § 58.1-203 of the Code of 
Virginia, which provides that "…notice of a proposed 
regulation shall appear at least sixty days in advance of the 
date prescribed for submittals." 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: As the proposed text 
does not make any changes to the model public participation 
guidelines, other than to conform to the mandate of § 58.1-
203 of the Code of Virginia, this action is not expected to be 
controversial. 

Substance: This regulatory action repeals the current public 
participation guidelines and promulgates model public 
participation guidelines. The only change from the model 
public participation guidelines that TAX has made is to 
increase the public comment period for reproposed and fast-
track regulations from 30 days to 60 days.  This change is 
necessary to conform with § 58.1-203 of the Code of 
Virginia, which provides that "…notice of a proposed 
regulation shall appear at least sixty days in advance of the 
date prescribed for submittals." 

Section 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia states that "in 
promulgating regulations, the Tax Commissioner shall follow 
the applicable provisions of the Administrative Process Act 
(§ 2.2-4000 et seq.), except that notice of a proposed 
regulation shall appear at least sixty days in advance of the 
date prescribed for submittals." 

Issues: The regulatory action poses no disadvantages to the 
public or the Commonwealth. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Department of Taxation proposes to adopt the model public 
participation guidelines developed by the Department of 
Planning and Budget in consultation with the Office of the 
Attorney General (as required by Chapter 321 of the 2008 
Acts of Assembly), with one amendment; Tax proposes to 
lengthen the public comment period for re-proposed and fast-
track regulations from 30 to 60 days. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
one or more proposed changes. There is insufficient data to 
accurately compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the 
costs for other changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Pursuant to Chapter 321 of the 
2008 Acts of Assembly, the Department of Planning and 
Budget, in consultation with the Office of the Attorney 
General, (i) developed model public participation guidelines 
(PPGs) and (ii) provided these model PPGs to each agency 
that has the authority to promulgate regulations.  Chapter 321 
requires that by December 1, 2008, each agency shall either 
(a) adopt the model public participation guidelines as an 
exempt action or (b) if significant additions or changes are 
proposed, promulgate the model public participation 
guidelines with the proposed changes as fast-track regulations 
pursuant to Code of Virginia § 2.2-4012.1. 

The purpose of the model PPG legislation is threefold: first, 
to ensure that each agency or board has a current set of PPGs 
in place.1 Second, to ensure that each agency or board’s PPGs 
incorporate the use of technology such as the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall, email to the extent possible, and the 
use of electronic mailing lists.  Last, but perhaps most 
importantly, to have uniform guidelines in place to facilitate 
citizen participation in rulemaking and to make those 
guidelines consistent, to the extent possible, among all 
executive branch boards and agencies. 

The Department of Taxation is proposing only one change to 
the model PPGs, to increase the public comment period for 
re-proposed and fast-track regulations from 30 to 60 days.  
Increasing the public comment period from 30 to 60 days 
produces both potential benefits and costs.  Additional time 
may allow additional individuals and entities to provide input 
who hear about proposed changes indirectly and not at the 
start of comment periods.  On the other hand, increasing the 
public comment period will slow down the regulatory process 
and may delay the implementation of beneficial changes.  As 
described above, promulgating the otherwise model PPGs 
will be beneficial in that the Tax PPGs will: 1) reflect current 
information, 2) incorporate the use of technology such as the 
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, email to the extent possible, 
and the use of electronic mailing lists, and 3) be largely 
consistent with other agency PPGs which will facilitate 
citizen participation in rulemaking.  
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Businesses and Entities Affected. Since essentially all citizens 
and entities in the Commonwealth are either affected or 
potentially affected by tax law, the proposed amendments to 
the Department of Taxation PPGs potentially affect all 
citizens and entities in the Commonwealth. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal amendments 
do not directly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposal amendments do not directly affect the use and value 
of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
amendments do not directly affect small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not directly affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§ 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 
_____________________________________________________________ 
1 Some agencies and boards have not updated their PPGs since the mid-late 1980’s. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The agency generally 
agrees with the Department of Planning and Budget’s 

Economic Impact Analysis. However, it notes that while the 
60-day comment period TAX has chosen for reproposed and 
fast-track regulations is longer than that suggested in the 
Model Public Participation Guidelines, it is consistent with 
§ 58.1-203 B of the Code of Virginia, which provides that "in 
promulgating regulations, the Tax Commissioner shall follow 
the applicable provisions of the Administrative Process Act 
(§ 2.2-4000 et seq.), except that notice of a proposed 
regulation shall appear at least sixty days in advance of the 
date prescribed for submittals." 

Summary: 

The regulations comply with the legislative mandate 
(Chapter 321, 2008 Acts of Assembly) that agencies adopt 
model public participation guidelines issued by the 
Department of Planning and Budget by December 1, 2008. 
Public participation guidelines exist to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment, or repeal of 
an agency's regulations.  

This regulatory action repeals the current public 
participation guidelines and promulgates new public 
participation guidelines as required by Chapter 321 of the 
2008 Acts of Assembly. Highlights of the public 
participation guidelines include (i) providing for the 
establishment and maintenance of notification lists of 
interested persons and specifying the information to be 
sent to such persons; (ii) providing for public comments on 
regulatory action; (iii) establishing the time period during 
which public comments shall be accepted; (iv) providing 
that the plan to hold a public meeting shall be indicated in 
any notice of intended regulatory action; (v) providing for 
the appointment, when necessary, of regulatory advisory 
panels to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance and negotiated rulemaking panels if a 
regulatory action is expected to be controversial; and (vi) 
providing for the periodic review of regulations. 

The only change from the model public participation 
guidelines that the Department of Taxation has made is to 
increase the public comment period for reproposed and 
fast-track regulations from 30 days to 60 days. This 
change is necessary to conform with § 58.1-203 of the 
Code of Virginia, which provides that "...notice of a 
proposed regulation shall appear at least sixty days in 
advance of the date prescribed for submittals." 

CHAPTER 11  
PUBLIC PARTICIPATION GUIDELINES  

Part I  
Purpose and Definitions  

23VAC10-11-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment or repeal of the 
regulations of the Department of Taxation. This chapter does 
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not apply to regulations, guidelines, or other documents 
exempted or excluded from the provisions of the 
Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia). 

23VAC10-11-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 
et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency" means the Department of Taxation, which is the 
unit of state government empowered by the agency's basic 
law to make regulations or decide cases. Actions specified in 
this chapter may be fulfilled by state employees as delegated 
by the agency. 

"Basic law" means provisions in the Code of Virginia that 
delineate the basic authority and responsibilities of an agency. 

"Commonwealth Calendar" means the electronic calendar 
for official government meetings open to the public as 
required by § 2.2-3707 C of the Freedom of Information Act. 

''Negotiated rulemaking panel'' or ''NRP'' means an ad hoc 
advisory panel of interested parties established by an agency 
to consider issues that are controversial with the assistance of 
a facilitator or mediator, for the purpose of reaching a 
consensus in the development of a proposed regulatory 
action. 

"Notification list" means a list used to notify persons 
pursuant to this chapter. Such a list may include an electronic 
list maintained through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall or 
other list maintained by the agency. 

"Open meeting" means any scheduled gathering of a unit of 
state government empowered by an agency's basic law to 
make regulations or decide cases, which is related to 
promulgating, amending or repealing a regulation. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, cooperative, limited liability company, trust, joint 
venture, government, political subdivision, or any other legal 
or commercial entity and any successor, representative, agent, 
agency, or instrumentality thereof. 

"Public hearing" means a scheduled time at which members 
or staff of the agency will meet for the purpose of receiving 
public comment on a regulatory action. 

"Regulation" means any statement of general application 
having the force of law, affecting the rights or conduct of any 
person, adopted by the agency in accordance with the 
authority conferred on it by applicable laws. 

"Regulatory action" means the promulgation, amendment, or 
repeal of a regulation by the agency. 

"Regulatory advisory panel" or "RAP" means a standing or 
ad hoc advisory panel of interested parties established by the 
agency for the purpose of assisting in regulatory actions. 

"Town Hall" means the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, the 
website operated by the Virginia Department of Planning and 
Budget at www.townhall.virginia.gov, which has online 
public comment forums and displays information about 
regulatory meetings and regulatory actions under 
consideration in Virginia and sends this information to 
registered public users. 

"Virginia Register" means the Virginia Register of 
Regulations, the publication that provides official legal notice 
of new, amended and repealed regulations of state agencies, 
which is published under the provisions of Article 6 (§ 2.2-
4031 et seq.) of the Administrative Process Act. 

Part II  
Notification of Interested Persons 

23VAC10-11-30. Notification list. 

A. The agency shall maintain a list of persons who have 
requested to be notified of regulatory actions being pursued 
by the agency. 

B. Any person may request to be placed on a notification list 
by registering as a public user on the Town Hall or by making 
a request to the agency. Any person who requests to be placed 
on a notification list shall elect to be notified either by 
electronic means or through a postal carrier. 

C. The agency may maintain additional lists for persons who 
have requested to be informed of specific regulatory issues, 
proposals, or actions. 

D. When electronic mail is returned as undeliverable on 
multiple occasions at least 24 hours apart, that person may be 
deleted from the list. A single undeliverable message is 
insufficient cause to delete the person from the list. 

E. When mail delivered by a postal carrier is returned as 
undeliverable on multiple occasions, that person may be 
deleted from the list. 

F. The agency may periodically request those persons on the 
notification list to indicate their desire to either continue to be 
notified electronically, receive documents through a postal 
carrier, or be deleted from the list. 

23VAC10-11-40. Information to be sent to persons on the 
notification list. 

A. To persons electing to receive electronic notification or 
notification through a postal carrier as described in 
23VAC10-11-30, the agency shall send the following 
information: 

1. A notice of intended regulatory action (NOIRA). 
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2. A notice of the comment period on a proposed, a 
reproposed, or a fast-track regulation and hyperlinks to, or 
instructions on how to obtain, a copy of the regulation and 
any supporting documents. 

3. A notice soliciting comment on a final regulation when 
the regulatory process has been extended pursuant to § 2.2-
4007.06 or 2.2-4013 C of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The failure of any person to receive any notice or copies 
of any documents shall not affect the validity of any 
regulation or regulatory action. 

Part III  
Public Participation Procedures  

23VAC10-11-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 
action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 
opportunity to submit data, views, and arguments, either 
orally or in writing, to the agency. Such opportunity to 
comment shall include an online public comment forum on 
the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 
copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 
issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 
fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 
public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 
to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 
submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 
the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 
as follows:  

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 
(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 
publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 
publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 
publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 
publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 
of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 
listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 
substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 
he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 
calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 
changes in accordance with § 2.2-4013 C of the Code of 
Virginia. 

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 
description of public comment to all public commenters on 
the proposed regulation at least five days before final 
adoption of the regulation pursuant to § 2.2-4012 E of the 
Code of Virginia. 

23VAC10-11-60. Petition for rulemaking. 

A. As provided in § 2.2-4007 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person may petition the agency to consider a regulatory 
action. 

B. A petition shall include but is not limited to the following 
information: 

1. The petitioner's name and contact information; 

2. The substance and purpose of the rulemaking that is 
requested, including reference to any applicable Virginia 
Administrative Code sections; and 

3. Reference to the legal authority of the agency to take the 
action requested. 

C. The agency shall receive, consider and respond to a 
petition pursuant to § 2.2-4007 and shall have the sole 
authority to dispose of the petition. 

D. The petition shall be posted on the Town Hall and 
published in the Virginia Register. 

E. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit the agency from 
receiving information or from proceeding on its own motion 
for rulemaking. 

23VAC10-11-70. Appointment of regulatory advisory 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a regulatory advisory panel 
(RAP) to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance when the agency determines that such expertise is 
necessary to address a specific regulatory issue or action or 
when individuals indicate an interest in working with the 
agency on a specific regulatory issue or action. 

B. Any person may request the appointment of a RAP and 
request to participate in its activities. The agency shall 
determine when a RAP shall be appointed and the 
composition of the RAP. 

C. A RAP may be dissolved by the agency if: 

1. The proposed text of the regulation is posted on the 
Town Hall, published in the Virginia Register, or such 
other time as the agency determines is appropriate; or 
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2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act. 

23VAC10-11-80. Appointment of negotiated rulemaking 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a negotiated rulemaking panel 
(NRP) if a regulatory action is expected to be controversial. 

B. An NRP that has been appointed by the agency may be 
dissolved by the agency when: 

1. There is no longer controversy associated with the 
development of the regulation; 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act; or 

3. The agency determines that resolution of a controversy 
is unlikely. 

23VAC10-11-90. Meetings. 

Notice of any open meeting, including meetings of a RAP or 
NRP, shall be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 
and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working days 
prior to the date of the meeting. The exception to this 
requirement is any meeting held in accordance with § 2.2-
3707 D of the Code of Virginia allowing for 
contemporaneous notice to be provided to participants and the 
public. 

23VAC10-11-100. Public hearings on regulations. 

A. The agency shall indicate in its notice of intended 
regulatory action whether it plans to hold a public hearing 
following the publication of the proposed stage of the 
regulatory action.  

B. The agency may conduct one or more public hearings 
during the comment period following the publication of a 
proposed regulatory action.  

C. An agency is required to hold a public hearing following 
the publication of the proposed regulatory action when:  

1. The agency's basic law requires the agency to hold a 
public hearing;  

2. The Governor directs the agency to hold a public 
hearing; or  

3. The agency receives requests for a public hearing from 
at least 25 persons during the public comment period 
following the publication of the notice of intended 
regulatory action.  

D. Notice of any public hearing shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working 
days prior to the date of the hearing. The agency shall also 

notify those persons who requested a hearing under 
subdivision C 3 of this section.  

23VAC10-11-110. Periodic review of regulations. 

A. The agency shall conduct a periodic review of its 
regulations consistent with: 

1. An executive order issued by the Governor pursuant to 
§ 2.2-4017 of the Administrative Process Act to receive 
comment on all existing regulations as to their 
effectiveness, efficiency, necessity, clarity, and cost of 
compliance; and 

2. The requirements in § 2.2-4007.1 of the Administrative 
Process Act regarding regulatory flexibility for small 
businesses.  

B. A periodic review may be conducted separately or in 
conjunction with other regulatory actions. 

C. Notice of a periodic review shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and published in the Virginia Register. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1507; Filed September 25, 2008, 9:42 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR’S NOTICE: The Department of Taxation is 
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 3, which excludes 
regulations that consist only of changes in style or form or 
corrections of technical errors. The Department of Taxation 
will receive, consider and respond to petitions by any 
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 
or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 23VAC10-210. Retail Sales and Use 
Tax (adding 23VAC10-210-595; repealing 23VAC10-210-
170, 23VAC10-210-870, 23VAC10-210-4010). 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 26, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Bland Sutton, Analyst, Department of 
Taxation, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-2332, FAX (804) 371-2355, or email 
bland.sutton@tax.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Currently, there are three separate, nearly identical, 
regulation sections addressing banks, loan and finance 
companies, and savings and loan associations.  This 
regulatory activity will repeal the three existing regulation 
sections and combine them into a new section, 23VAC10-
210-595, Financial institutions.  This change will not 
impact or change the current policy of the Department of 
Taxation with respect to financial institutions.  
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23VAC10-210-170. Banks. (Repealed.) 

The tax applies to purchases of tangible personal property 
by all national and state banks for their use and consumption.  

When any bank engages in selling, leasing or renting 
tangible personal property to consumers, it must register as a 
dealer and collect and pay the tax to the Department of 
Taxation.  

Taxable sales by banks include, but are not limited to, sales 
of checks and checkbooks; silverware; savings or piggy 
banks; repossessed merchandise; gold and silver coins or bars 
for investment purposes; and charges for the lease or rental of 
tangible personal property.  

The rental of safe deposit boxes is not subject to the tax. For 
trustees, see 23VAC10-210-6010.  

23VAC10-210-595. Financial institutions. 

A. Purchases. The tax applies to purchases of tangible 
personal property by all national, state and local banks, 
savings and loan associations, and loan and finance 
companies. 

B. Sales. When any bank, savings and loan association, or 
loan and finance company engages in selling, leasing or 
renting tangible personal property to consumers or users, it 
must register as a dealer and collect and pay the tax to the 
Department of Taxation. The tax applies to all sales even if 
the property has been repossessed or obtained by default of 
the borrower. 

The rental of safe deposit boxes does not qualify as the 
rental of tangible personal property and is not subject to the 
tax. For trustees, see 23VAC10-210-6010. 

23VAC10-210-870. Loan and finance companies. 
(Repealed.) 

The tax applies to purchases of tangible personal property 
by all loan and finance companies and like associations for 
their use or consumption. When the association engages in 
selling, leasing or renting tangible personal property to 
consumers or users, it must register as a dealer and collect 
and pay the tax due even if the property has been repossessed 
or obtained by default of borrowers.  

23VAC10-210-4010. Savings and loan associations. 
(Repealed.) 

The tax applies to purchases of tangible personal property 
by all savings and loan and building and loan associations for 
their use or consumption. When such an association engages 
in selling, leasing or renting tangible personal property to 
consumers or users, it must register as a dealer and collect 
and pay the tax due to the Department of Taxation.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1640; Filed October 6, 2008, 3:50 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 24VAC20-81. Hauling Permit 
Regulation (adding 24VAC20-81-10 through 24VAC20-
81-250). 

Statutory Authority: § 46.2-203 and Article 18 (§ 46.2-1139 
et seq.) of Chapter 10 of Title 46.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

November 4, 2008 - 1 p.m. - Virginia Department of 
Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 

November 21, 2008 - 1 p.m. - Mary D. Pretlow Library, 
111 West Ocean View Avenue, Norfolk, VA 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
December 27, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Ron Thompson, Senior Policy Analyst, 
Department of Motor Vehicles, P.O. Box 27412, Richmond, 
VA 23269-0001, telephone (804) 367-1844, FAX (804) 367-
6631, TTY (800) 435-5137, or email 
ronald.thompson@dmv.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Under § 46.2-203 and Article 18 (§ 46.2-1139 et seq.) 
of Chapter 10 of Title 46.2 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Commissioner of the Department of Motor Vehicles may 
adopt reasonable administrative regulations necessary to carry 
out the laws administered by the department and may enforce 
these regulations and laws through the agencies of the 
Commonwealth he may designate. 

Purpose: The Code of Virginia sets forth limitations of 
weight, width, height, and length for objects and vehicles that 
may be moved over the highways of the Commonwealth. 
Pursuant to Article 18 (§ 46.2-1139 et. seq.) of Chapter 10 of 
Title 46.2 of the Code of Virginia, oversize or overweight 
permits may be issued for vehicles with loads that exceed 
these maximum statutory limits. As a result of legislation 
enacted in the 2003 session of the Virginia General 
Assembly, responsibility for the issuance of these permits 
was transferred from the Virginia Department of 
Transportation (VDOT) to the Virginia Department of Motor 
Vehicles (DMV) on July 1, 2003. The Hauling Permit 
Section, which reviews applications and issues these permits 
to haul over dimensional loads and configurations, was 
transferred from VDOT to DMV on that date. 

The Hauling Permit Manual, which governs the issuance of 
oversize and overweight permits by the Hauling Permit 
Section based on state law, is currently contained as a 
regulation in the Virginia Administrative Code under VDOT 
(24VAC30-111). The manual is being revised to reflect the 
transfer of the permit issuance function and the organizational 
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unit to DMV. This document is also being modified to clarify 
requirements relating to safety and enforcement in the hauling 
of these large loads, to enhance the ability of the 
Commonwealth to work cooperatively with other states in 
key areas such as escort vehicle requirements, and to reflect 
new technologies now available to assist customers. The 
revised manual will be a new regulation, and DMV will work 
cooperatively with VDOT to request the repeal of the existing 
24VAC30-111. 

Substance: In order to reflect the transfer of the responsibility 
for the issuance of oversize and overweight permits from 
VDOT to DMV, references to the "Commonwealth 
Transportation Board” and the “Department of 
Transportation" will be changed to the "commissioner" or the 
"Department of Motor Vehicles" as appropriate. In addition, 
key contact information in the manual such as telephone 
numbers and mailing addresses are being updated to reflect 
the relocation of the Hauling Permit Section to DMV. 

In addition to incorporating this organizational change, the 
revision of the Hauling Permit Manual will address other 
relevant program areas. The safety of Virginia’s citizens and 
highways is a key component in the movement of large 
objects and vehicles. The manual is being modified to clarify 
the requirements that must be met by applicants for a hauling 
permit. These requirements are discussed in depth under the 
"detail of changes" section. 

Issues: This regulatory action poses no disadvantages to the 
public or the Commonwealth of Virginia. It will protect the 
citizens of Virginia by ensuring that over dimensional loads 
and configurations are transported safely over the highways 
and roads of our state. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
proposed regulations will 1) establish the regulatory authority 
of the Department of Motor Vehicles in issuing hauling 
permits by proposing much of the same hauling permit 
regulations that currently exists under the authority of the 
Virginia Department of Transportation, 2) establish Escort 
Driver Certification fees, 3) increase hauling permit fees, 4) 
no longer require that a hauling permit be assumed invalid if a 
permit condition is violated, 5) allow reciprocity of escort 
services by other jurisdictions, and 6) require Virginia 
Department of Transportation to conduct an engineering 
analysis for Superload Blanket Permits. 

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient data to accurately 
compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the costs. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The movement of oversize or 
overweight loads on the highways of the Commonwealth is 
subject to these regulations. Prior to 2003, Hauling Permit 
Regulation (24VAC30-111) was administered by the Virginia 
Department of Transportation (VDOT). The 2003 session of 

the Virginia General Assembly has transferred the hauling 
permit authority and the administrative resources from VDOT 
to Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Since then DMV 
has been issuing permits according to the standards and 
procedures established in the VDOT regulations. 

With this action, DMV proposes to establish the Hauling 
Permit Regulation in its own administrative code. The 
majority of the proposed requirements are the same as the 
requirements contained in 24VAC30-111, but are revised to 
reflect the transfer of the permit section from VDOT to DMV 
and to improve the clarity of some of the requirements.1 
Because most of the requirements are the same, there will be 
no significant change in practice. Thus, no significant 
economic effect is expected from the proposed requirements 
that are the same as those contained in the VDOT regulations. 

The proposed regulations also introduce new requirements 
that are not contained in VDOT regulations. One of the 
significant changes is the establishment of Escort Driver 
Certification fees. Currently, escort driver certifications are 
offered by the Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU) in 
exchange for approximately $30,000 from DMV per year. 
According to DMV, VCU no longer wishes to offer these 
certifications. In order to meet the need, DMV plans to start 
its own certification program. It is estimated that 
approximately 3,000 certificates per year will be issued 
generating approximately $75,000 in certification fees. 

Also, the proposed changes will increase the hauling permit 
fees. Approximately 35,000 to 40,000 hauling permits are 
issued every year. Based on the analysis of 2005 revenues, 
the proposed fee increases are estimated to generate an 
additional $1 million annually, an increase from $2.3 million 
to $3.3 million. DMV plans to use the additional revenues to 
purchase new scales, information technology system 
upgrades, personnel, and maintenance of new scales, systems 
and equipment. Maintaining operational stock of scales and 
improved information technology system are expected to 
provide DMV with necessary tools in order to minimize 
potential harm or damage to highways through enforcement 
of these regulations. 

Another proposed change will no longer require that the 
permit be completely invalid if permit conditions are violated. 
Currently, if a law enforcement officer finds a violation of a 
permit condition, the fine is issued based on the assumption 
that there was no hauling permit issued at all. This situation is 
reported to result in excessive (tens of thousands of dollars) 
fines issued to operators most of which are later reduced 
significantly by judges in courts. With this change, law 
enforcement officers will have the ability to issue the fines 
that are proportionate with the seriousness of violation instead 
of issuing exorbitant fines as if no hauling permit existed. 
This change is expected to reduce administrative and legal 
costs associated with disputes over excessive fines. 
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Also, the proposed regulations will allow reciprocity of escort 
services by other states. Currently, as the loads enter or exit 
the Commonwealth they may have to change their escort 
services in order to meet differing requirements among 
different states. With the proposed changes, an escort service 
in the Commonwealth may be recognized by other states and 
escort services in other states may be recognized by the 
Commonwealth. This proposed change is expected to reduce 
compliance costs by providing additional flexibility to 
hauling operators. 

Finally, the proposed regulations will require VDOT to 
conduct an engineering analysis for Superload Blanket 
Permits (for loads over 150,000 pounds gross weight). Since 
2003, when DMV started administering the hauling permit 
regulations, no engineering analysis has been conducted on 
these loads. The proposed engineering analysis will help 
ensure that the structures on highways are not harmed or 
damaged. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulations 
primarily affect hauling permit holders and escort service 
providers. According to DMV, approximately 35,000 to 
40,000 permits and approximately 3,000 escort certifications 
are issued every year. In addition, the proposed regulations 
may have some effect on VDOT, VCU, and law enforcement 
officers. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 
apply throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulations 
may increase demand for labor as a result of planned escort 
driver certification program at DMV and install and 
maintenance of new scales and new information technology 
system. On the other hand, increased compliance costs due to 
new escort driver certification and higher permit fees may 
reduce the demand for hauling services. The net impact on 
labor demand is not known. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No 
significant effect on real property is expected. However, 
increased compliance costs due to new escort driver 
certification and higher permit fees may reduce the revenues 
of hauling services and their asset values. On the other hand 
to the extent hauling operators avoid excessive fines due to 
the proposed changes, their asset values may be enhanced. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Most of the 
hauling operators and escort service businesses are believed 
to be small businesses. As discussed, the proposed regulations 
are likely to increase compliance costs primarily due to new 
escort driver certification and higher permit fees. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The main reason for the proposed new escort 
driver certification fees and increased hauling permit fees is 
to generate revenues to support the administration and 
enforcement of the proposed regulations. An alternative 

method that minimizes the adverse impact on the affected 
small business would be finding a different source of funding. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No significant effect on real 
estate development costs is expected. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§ 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

______________________ 
1 DMV plans to coordinate the repeal of VDOT regulations when these regulations are 
in effect. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The agency concurs 
with the analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The Department of Motor Vehicles is responsible for the 
issuance of oversize and overweight permits for the 
movement of objects and vehicles that exceed the statutory 
limits set forth in the Code of Virginia.  The proposed 
regulation is a new regulation that will contain the 
Hauling Permit Manual.  This manual establishes the 
requirements for the issuance of hauling permits and the 
movement of these objects and vehicles over the highways 
of the Commonwealth of Virginia. 
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CHAPTER 81  
HAULING PERMIT REGULATION  

Part I  
General Provisions  

24VAC20-81-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this regulation 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Automobile and watercraft transporters" means a tractor 
truck, lowboy, vehicle, or combination, including vehicles or 
combinations that transport motor vehicles or watercraft on 
their power unit, designed and used exclusively for the 
transportation of motor vehicles or watercraft.  

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Virginia 
Department of Motor Vehicles. 

"DMV" means the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.  

"Escort Vehicle Driver Certification" means a document 
issued by a state that signifies that the holder of the 
certification has successfully completed the issuing state's 
requirements to escort overdimensional vehicle 
configurations.  

"Nondivisible load" means a vehicle configuration 
exceeding applicable size or weight limits which, if separated 
into smaller loads, would: 

1. Compromise the intended use of the vehicle, i.e., make it 
unable to perform the function for which it was intended; 

2. Destroy the value of the load or vehicle, i.e., make it 
unusable for its intended purpose; or  

3. Require more than eight man work hours to dismantle 
using appropriate equipment.  

The applicant for a nondivisible load permit has the burden 
of proof as to the number of man work hours required to 
dismantle the load.  

"Off-centered load" means a transport vehicle's cargo is 
loaded so that there is no overhang on the driver's side of the 
transport vehicle and overhang on the passenger side.  

"Semitrailer" means a vehicle of the trailer type so designed 
and used in conjunction with a motor vehicle that some part 
of its own weight and that of its own load rest on or is carried 
by another vehicle.  

"Solid waste" means any garbage, refuse, sludge and other 
discarded material, including solid, liquid, semisolid or 
contained gaseous material, resulting from industrial, 
commercial, mining and agricultural operations, or 
community activities but does not include (i) solid or 
dissolved material in domestic sewage, (ii) solid or dissolved 
material in irrigation return flows or in industrial discharges 
that are sources subject to a permit from the State Water 

Control Board, or (iii) source, special nuclear, or byproduct 
material as defined by the Federal Atomic Energy Act of 
1954. 

"Stinger-steered automobile and watercraft transporter" 
means an automobile or watercraft transporter configured as a 
semitrailer combination wherein the fifth wheel is located on 
a drop frame behind and below the rearmost axle of the power 
unit. 

"Tandem axle" means more than 40 inches but not more 
than 96 inches between axle centers of two consecutive axles. 

"Tractor truck" means a motor vehicle designed and used 
primarily for drawing other vehicles and not so constructed as 
to carry a load other than a part of the load and weight of the 
vehicle attached thereto.  

"Trailer" means a vehicle without motive power designed 
for carrying property or passengers wholly on its own 
structure and for being drawn by a motor vehicle, including 
manufactured housing.  

"Truck" means a motor vehicle designed to transport 
property on its own structure independent of any other vehicle 
and having a registered gross weight in excess of 7,500 
pounds.  

"VDOT" means the Virginia Department of Transportation. 

"Vehicle configuration" means the height, weight, width and 
length of a vehicle to include vehicle axle spacing.  

24VAC20-81-20. General.  

A. The Code of Virginia sets forth limitations of weight, 
width, height and length of objects and vehicles that may be 
moved upon state highways and also empowers the 
Commissioner of the Department of Motor Vehicles to issue 
oversize or overweight permits for vehicles traveling over 
Virginia's highways with loads that, when reduced to their 
smallest dimensions, exceed maximum legal weight or size 
limits.  

B. The intent of establishing statutory limitations is to 
protect the traveling public from hazard and unnecessary 
inconvenience, and to preserve the capacity and structural 
integrity of highways and bridges. Also, it is assumed that the 
state legislature did not intend for the Virginia Department of 
Motor Vehicles to allow, by permit, the movement of any and 
all vehicles or loads over the highways where such 
movements would exceed statutory limitations (especially 
where other forms of transportation are available or when 
loads can be reasonably reduced to meet statutory limits).  

C. Permits issued by the Virginia Department of Motor 
Vehicles have jurisdiction only on those roads maintained by 
the Virginia Department of Transportation or where an 
agreement exists between the Virginia Department of Motor 
Vehicles and a jurisdiction that bears the responsibility of 
maintaining their own roads. However, the Virginia 
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Department of Motor Vehicle's hauling permit is valid for 
travel over city streets provided that the streets are listed 
within the permit. Applicants must secure approval from local 
authorities prior to making movements over roads under local 
jurisdictions that are not listed on the Virginia Department of 
Motor Vehicle's hauling permit.  

D. The policy of the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles 
is to give primary consideration to the safety, comfort, 
convenience of the traveling public and to the economic 
interest of the Commonwealth while preserving the integrity 
of the state's highway system. 

24VAC20-81-30. Authority; permits. 

A. The Commissioner of the Department of Motor Vehicles 
or his designee shall issue hauling permits for qualifying 
vehicles when: an overwidth situation is not created by 
loading multiple items side-by-side; an overheight situation is 
not created by stacking multiple items on top of one another; 
an overlength situation is not created by loading multiple 
items behind one another; an overweight situation is not 
created by carrying multiple items; or when statutorily 
exempted by the Code of Virginia. 

B. All applications for hauling permits shall be made to the 
Department of Motor Vehicles or its designee by: 

1. Accessing the hauling permit website online at 
www.dmvnow.com; 

2. Calling the hauling permit ordering line at (804) 786-
2787; 

3. Applying through a permit service chosen by the 
applicant; 

4. Applying in person at the DMV Headquarters Office at 
2300 W. Broad St., Richmond; 

5. Faxing application to the Hauling Permit Section at 
(804) 367-0063; or 

6. Mailing application to: DMV, Hauling Permit Section, 
P.O. Box 23602, Richmond, VA 2326. 

C. Permits may be denied, revoked or declared invalid as 
stated in 24VAC20-81-230.  

Part II  
Legal Weight and Size Limits for Virginia  

24VAC20-81-40. Interstate system and designated 
highways. 

If the vehicle configuration has been reduced to the smallest 
dimensions possible and still exceeds any of the following 
statutory limitations listed below, the applicant may be 
eligible for a hauling permit.  

Single Axle 
Weight: 

20,000 pounds or 650 pounds per 
inch (width) of tire in contact with 
the surface of the highway 

Tandem Axle 
Weight: 

34,000 pounds 

Gross Weight: See 24VAC20-81-60. Legal weight 
allowed based on axle spacing 

Width: 8 feet 6 inches (excluding mirrors 
and safety devices) 

Height: 13 feet 6 inches 

Semitrailer - 48 feet 

Semitrailer - 53 feet, provided that 
the semitrailer has a distance of not 
more than 41 feet between the 
kingpin of the semitrailer and the 
rearmost axle or a point midway 
between the rear tandem axles.  

Tractor truck semitrailer 
combinations with 48 or 53 foot 
semitrailers - no overall length 
restrictions. 

Twin trailers - 28 1/2 feet each 

Length: 

Single unit vehicle - 40 feet 
excluding load 

Tractor trucks shall not have more than one semitrailer 
attached. 

Trucks shall not have more than one trailer attached. 

Three motor vehicles shall be drawn only if coupled 
together by a saddle mount device.  

24VAC20-81-50. Primary and secondary systems. 

If the vehicle configuration has been reduced to the smallest 
dimensions possible and still exceeds any of the following 
statutory limitations listed below, the applicant may be 
eligible for a hauling permit.  
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Single Axle 
Weight: 

20,000 pounds or 650 pounds per 
inch (width) of tire in contact with 
the surface of the highway. 

Tandem Axle 
Weight: 

34,000 pounds. 

Gross Weight: See 24VAC20-81-60. Legal weight 
allowed based on axle spacing. 

Width: 8 feet 6 inches excluding mirrors. 
Safety devices shall not exceed 3 
inches on each side. 

Height: 13 feet 6 inches. 

Single unit - 40 feet excluding load. 

Tractor semitrailer combination - 65 
feet including load 

Length: 

Combination of a towing vehicle 
and any manufactured housing - 65 

feet including load and coupling. 

Semitrailer - 53 feet, provided that 
the semitrailer has a distance of not 
more than 41 feet between the 
kingpin of the semitrailer and the 
rearmost axle or a point midway 
between the rear tandem axles. May 
be prohibited on certain highways 
where posted. 

24VAC20-81-60. Legal weight allowed based on axle 
spacing. 

Legal weight in pounds for any group of two or more 
consecutive axles. A hauling permit is required when a 
vehicle configuration exceeds the weight limitations 
according to axle spacing. "L" is defined as the distance in 
feet between the extremes of any group of two or more 
consecutive axles.  

 
L 2 axles 3 axles 4 axles 5 axles 6 axles 7 or more axles 

4 34,000           

5 34,000           

6 34,000           

7 34,000           

8 34,000 34,000         

9 39,000 42,500         

10 40,000 43,500         

11   44,000         

12   45,000 50,000       

13   45,000 50,500       

14   46,500 51,500       

15   47,000 52,000       

16   48,000 52,500 58,000     

17   48,500 53,500 58,500     

18   49,500 54,000 59,000     

19   50,000 54,500 60,000     

20   51,000 55,500 60,500 66,000   

21   51,500 56,000 61,000 66,500   

22   52,500 56,500 61,500 67,000   

23   53,000 57,500 62,500 68,000   

24   54,000 58,000 63,000 68,500 74,000 
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25   54,500 58,500 63,500 69,000 74,500 

26   55,500 59,500 64,000 69,500 75,000 

27   56,000 60,000 65,000 70,000 75,500 

28   57,000 60,500 65,500 71,000 76,500 

29   57,500 61,500 66,000 71,500 77,000 

30   58,500 62,000 66,500 72,000 77,500 

31   59,000 62,500 67,500 72,500 78,000 

32   60,000 63,500 68,000 73,000 78,500 

33     64,000 68,500 74,000 79,000 

34     64,500 69,000 74,500 80,000 

35     65,500 70,000 75,000   

36     66,000 70,500 75,500   

37     66,500 71,000 76,000   

38     67,500 72,000 77,000   

39     68,000 72,500 77,500   

40     68,500 73,000 78,000   

41     69,500 73,500 78,500   

42     70,000 74,000 79,000   

43     70,500 75,000 80,000   

44     71,500 75,500     

45     72,000 76,000     

46     72,500 76,500     

47     73,500 77,500     

48     74,000 78,000     

49     74,500 78,500     

50     75,500 79,000     

51     76,000 80,000     

24VAC20-81-70. Maximum single axle and tandem axle weight allowed without an engineering review. 

Maximum weight in pounds according to vehicle axle spacings allowed by permit without an engineering review from the 
Virginia Department of Transportation's Structures and Bridges Division for any single axle or tandem axle group.  

Single Axle Weight: 24,000 pounds (or 850 pounds per inch, width of tire measured in 
contact with the surface of the road). 

Tandem Axle Weight: 44,000 pounds.  

24VAC20-81-80. Maximum weight allowed by permit without an engineering review based on axle spacing. 

Maximum weight in pounds according to vehicle axle spacings allowed by permit without an engineering review from the 
Virginia Department of Transportation's Structures and Bridges Division for any group of two or more consecutive axles.  
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All vehicle configurations shall be reduced to the smallest dimensions possible and those exceeding the specifications 
identified in this chart will require an engineering review before a permit can be issued.  

"L" is defined as the distance in feet between extremes of any group of two or more consecutive axles.  

L 2 axles 3 axles 4 axles 5 axles 6 axles 7 or more axles 

4 44,000           

5 44,000           

6 44,000           

7 44,000           

8 48,000 53,500         

9   54,500         

10   55,000         

11   56,000         

12   56,500 63,000       

13   57,500 63,500       

14   58,000 64,500       

15   59,000 65,000       

16   59,500 65,500 72,500     

17   60,500 66,500 73,000     

18   61,000 67,000 74,000     

19   62,000 67,500 74,500     

20   62,500 68,500 75,000 82,000   

21   63,500 69,000 75,500 82,500   

22   64,000 69,500 76,500 83,000   

23   65,000 70,500 77,000 84,000   

24   65,500 71,000 77,500 84,500 91,500 

25   66,500 71,500 78,000 85,000 92,000 

26   67,000 72,500 79,000 85,500 92,500 

27   68,000 73,000 79,500 86,000 93,000 

28   68,500 73,500 80,000 87,000 94,000 

29   69,500 74,500 80,500 87,500 94,500 

30   70,000 75,000 81,500 88,000 95,000 

31   71,000 75,500 82,000 88,500 95,500 

32   71,500 76,500 82,500 89,000 96,000 

33     77,000 83,000 90,000 97,000 

34     77,500 84,000 90,500 97,500 

35     78,500 84,500 91,000 98,000 
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36     79,000 85,000 91,500 98,500 

37     79,500 85,500 92,000 99,000 

38     80,500 86,500 93,000 99,500 

39     81,000 87,000 93,500 100,500 

40     81,500 87,500 94,000 101,000 

41     82,500 88,000 94,500 101,500 

42     83,000 89,000 95,000 102,000 

43     83,500 89,500 96,000 102,500 

44     84,500 90,000 96,500 103,000 

45     85,000 90,500 97,000 104,000 

46     85,500 91,500 97,500 104,500 

47     86,500 92,000 98,000 105,000 

48     87,000 92,500 99,000 105,500 

49     87,500 93,000 99,500 106,000 

50     88,500 94,000 100,000 106,500 

51     89,000 94,500 100,500 107,500 

52     89,500 95,000 101,000 108,000 

53     90,500 95,500 102,000 108,500 

54     91,000 96,500 102,500 109,500 

55     91,500 97,000 103,000 109,500 

56     92,500 97,500 104,000 110,000 

57     93,000 98,000 104,500 111,000 

58     94,000 99,000 105,000 111,500 

59     94,500 99,500 105,500 112,000 

60     95,000 100,000 106,000 112,500 

61     96,000 101,000 106,500 113,000 

62       101,500 107,000 113,500 

63       102,000 108,000 114,500 

64       102,500 108,500 115,000 
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Part III  
Description, Requirements and Limitations of Special Permits 

Available  

24VAC20-81-90. Single trip permit. 

Single trip permits are issued to cover one movement 
between two specific points. Single trip permits are vehicle 
specific and cannot be transferred between vehicle 
configurations. Most single trip permits are valid for a 13-day 
period; however the Hauling Permit Section may restrict any 
single trip permit movement to a lesser period depending on 
various circumstances such as weather, routes of travel, 
construction projects, overall dimensions of the vehicle 
configuration or other unforeseen circumstances. No refunds 
or credits will be granted for unused or expired permits.  

Single trip permits are vehicle specific and cannot be 
transferred between vehicles. Since the permits are vehicle 
specific, the original permit or a legible copy of the entire 
permit is required to be carried in the transport vehicle. This 
permit shall be presented to Department of Motor Vehicles, 
law enforcement or Department of Transportation officials 
when requested. 

Maximum Size and Weight Limitations for the Single Trip 
Permit 

Height: 15 feet 

Width: 15 feet 

Length: 100 feet 

Single Axle: 24,000 pounds 

Tandem Axle: 44,000 pounds 

Tri-Axle: Maximum weight based on total 
amount of spacings between the 
centers of the first and last axle in the 3 
axle group - see 24VAC20-81-80. 

Quad Axle: Maximum weight based on total 
amount of spacings between the 
centers of the first and last axle in the 4 
axle group - see 24VAC20-81-80. 

Gross Weight: Maximum weight based on total 
number of axles in the configuration 
and total amount of spacings between 
the centers of the first and last axles - 
see 24VAC20-81-80. 

24VAC20-81-100. Superload single trip permit. 

A. Like the single trip permit, superload single trip permits 
are issued to cover one movement between two specific 
points. Superload single trip permit requests exceed the 
maximum weight or size limitations allowed on a single trip 
permit. Superload single trip permit requests require various 
levels of research and analysis and should be submitted to the 

Hauling Permit Section at least 10 working days prior to the 
anticipated date of movement. All superload single trip 
permits are issued on a case-by-case basis, and only after an 
appropriate review or VDOT engineering analysis has 
determined that the vehicle configuration will not harm or 
damage bridges and structures on the designated routes of 
travel. Results of the review or engineering analysis may 
render the vehicle configuration ineligible for movement. 

Superload single trip permits are vehicle specific and cannot 
be transferred between vehicles. Since superload single trip 
permits are vehicle specific, the original permit or a legible 
copy of the entire permit is required to be carried in the 
transport vehicle. This permit shall be presented to 
Department of Motor Vehicles, law enforcement or 
Department of Transportation officials when requested. 

In cases where the superload single trip permit request has 
been denied due to weight, the customer may request that an 
in-depth engineering analysis be performed on the desired 
route of travel. VDOT structures and bridges engineers will 
perform the in-depth engineering analysis. The applicant is 
responsible for paying all expenses associated with the in-
depth engineering analysis. All requests for an in-depth 
analysis must be submitted to the Hauling Permit Section in 
writing. Upon receipt of the letter requesting the in-depth 
analysis a member of the hauling permit staff will assist the 
applicant through the remainder of the process.  

B. Requirements for superload single trip permits exceeding 
certain parameters are described in this subsection:  

A letter of variance is required on all movements that exceed 
any of the following parameters: 18 feet in width; 250,000 
pounds in weight; 200 feet in length; or 16 feet in height. The 
shipper or the manufacturer of the oversized or overweight 
item will submit the information listed below to the Virginia 
Department of Motor Vehicles: FAX: (804) 367-0063 or 
mailed to the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles, 
Hauling Permit Section, P.O. Box 26302, Richmond, VA 
23260. The letter shall list, in detail:  

1. Name and description of the item being moved;  

2. Overall loaded dimensions for the vehicle configuration 
to include height, width, length and gross weight;  

3. Explanation of why the load cannot be reduced;  

4. Explanation of why the load cannot be transported by 
air, rail or water;  

5. Origin and destination specific to Virginia, including 
mileage and specific intersecting routes (e.g., Route 65 - 
one mile south of Route 2 in Campbell County);  

6. Preferred routes of travel; and  

7. Point of contact, someone within the company that can 
speak to the requested movement in case additional 
information is needed.  
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C. In addition to the letter of variance all movements that 
exceed 18 feet in width or 16 feet in height may be required 
to submit a detailed travel plan, depending on the time of 
travel and the routes of travel. The plan should include but is 
not limited to the following: 

1. The plan should address how to facilitate the movement 
of emergency vehicles responding to emergencies. The 
plan will also identify locations where the overdimensional 
configuration will pull over to allow movement of traffic. 
Traffic shall not be detained for more than 10 minutes if at 
all possible. The plan will also address layover locations.  

2. Letters from property owners or public facilities giving 
permission to layover on their property until able to 
proceed in accordance with the permit. Each letter shall 
include the name, phone number and email address of the 
primary point of contact. The hauling permit staff will 
contact the point of contact to confirm the layover 
privileges on their property prior to DMV issuing the 
superload single trip permit. 

3. Letters from local law-enforcement personnel agreeing 
to escort the overdimensional configuration through their 
jurisdiction. Each letter shall include the name, phone 
number and email address of the primary point of contact. 
The hauling permit staff will contact the point of contact to 
confirm their escorting role prior to DMV issuing the 
superload single trip permit. 

4. Letters from affected utility, cable and telephone 
companies, agreeing to accompany the overdimensional 
configuration to lift overhead wires. Each letter shall 
include the name, phone number and email address of the 
primary point of contact. The hauling permit staff will 
contact the point of contact to confirm their role in the 
move prior to DMV issuing the hauling permit. 

5. Letters from the Department of Transportation agreeing 
to accompany the overdimensional configuration to lift 
overhead traffic signals, remove traffic signals arms, or 
remove guardrails, or remove signs, or remove and or 
adjust any inventory maintained by their department. Each 
letter shall include the name, phone number and email 
address of the primary point of contact. The hauling permit 
staff will contact the point of contact to confirm their role 
in the move prior to DMV issuing the hauling permit. 

24VAC20-81-110. General blanket permit. 

General blanket permits allow frequent movements within a 
specified time period on designated or unrestricted routes in 
Virginia. General blanket permits are issued on a case-by-
case basis and only after appropriate reviews or analysis have 
been completed to ensure the vehicle configuration will not 
harm or damage bridges, structures, or other state inventory 
along the routes of travel. 

General blanket permits are vehicle specific and cannot be 
transferred between vehicles. Since the permits are vehicle 
specific, the original permit or a legible copy of the entire 
permit is required to be carried in the transport vehicle. This 
permit shall be presented to Department of Motor Vehicles, 
law enforcement or Department of Transportation officials 
when requested. 

All general blanket permits are issued through the Virginia 
Department of Motor Vehicle's headquarters office and all 
requests shall be made at least 10 workdays prior to the 
anticipated movement date. 

Applicants who make multiple moves should strongly 
consider obtaining a general blanket. Generally, the larger the 
vehicle configuration, the more restrictive the regulations will 
be. General blanket permits should be used for core business 
needs or those moves that are the most frequent. For those 
rare or infrequent moves outside of core business 
transactions, routine single trip permits should be considered. 

Maximum Size and Weight Limitations for the General 
Blanket Permit 

Height: 14 feet 

Width: 14 feet 

Length: 85 feet (including front or rear 
overhang) 

Rear Overhang: 10 feet 

Front Overhang: 3 feet 

Single Axle: 24,000 pounds 

Tandem Axle: 44,000 pounds 

Tri-Axle: Maximum weight based on axle 
spacings between the centers of the 
first and last axle in the 3-axle 
group - see 24VAC20-81-80. 

Quad Axle: Maximum weight based on axle 
spacings between the centers of the 
first and last axle in the 4-axle 
group - see 24VAC20-81-80. 

Gross Weight: Maximum weight based on the 
total number of axles in the 
configuration and the total amount 
of spacings between the centers of 
the first and last axles - see 
24VAC20-81-80. 

If the vehicle configuration exceeds any of the weight or 
width parameters defined for the general blanket permit, the 
applicant may be eligible to apply for the superload blanket 
permit or the superload single trip permit. 
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24VAC20-81-120. Superload blanket permit. 

When the vehicle configuration's single axle, tandem axle, 
tri-axle or width exceed the parameters allowed for the 
general blanket permit, the applicant may apply for the 
superload blanket permit. No superload blanket permit shall 
exceed 14 feet in height, 16 feet in width, 105 feet in length, 
or 150,000 pounds gross weight. Furthermore, no blanket 
permit shall have more than three feet of front overhang or 10 
feet of rear overhang, which are both included in the length of 
105 feet. 

The superload blanket permit allows frequent movements 
within a specified time period statewide or on specific routes. 
All requests for the superload blanket permit must be 
submitted to the Hauling Permit Section at least 10 workdays 
in advance of the anticipated movement date. These permits 
are vehicle specific and can not be transferred between 
vehicle configurations. Superload blanket permits are issued 
on a case-by-case basis and only after the appropriate reviews 
or VDOT engineering analysis have been completed to ensure 
that the vehicle configuration will not harm or damage 
bridges, structures, or other state inventory on the routes of 
travel. Results of the reviews or engineering analysis may 
render the vehicle configuration ineligible to move under the 
authority of a superload blanket permit.  

24VAC20-81-130. Exempted permits; eligibility 
requirements. 

Listed below are some of the most frequently requested 
exempt permits. Most exempt permits are reducible but have 
been granted statutory authority to operate on the state 
highway system. These permits are vehicle specific and 
cannot be transferred between vehicle configurations. The 
applicant must adhere to specific statutory criteria in order to 
qualify for these permits. For additional information 
concerning these permits contact the Virginia Department of 
Motor Vehicles at (804) 497-7135 or refer to the hauling 
permit website online at www.dmvnow.com or 
www.dmv.virginia.gov.  

1. When transporting containerized cargo in a sealed 
seagoing container bound to or from a seaport, and the 
seagoing container has been or will be transported by 
marine shipment, the applicant is eligible to receive an 
exempt permit. The contents of the seagoing container 
shall not be changed from the time it is loaded by the 
consignor or his agents to the time it is delivered to the 
consignee or his agents.  

2. Three- or four-axle vehicles with an axle spacing of at 
least 22 feet that are used exclusively for the mixing of 
concrete in transit or at a project site or for transporting 
necessary components in a compartmentalized vehicle to 
produce concrete immediately upon arrival at a project site 
are eligible to receive an exempt permit. This permit does 

not authorize travel on the federal interstate highway 
system. 

3. Three-, four- , five- , and six-axle vehicles are eligible to 
obtain a permit to haul coal from a mine or other place of 
production to a preparation plant, loading dock, or railroad. 
Hauling of coal is restricted to 85 miles from the origin to 
the destination and travel is not authorized on the federal 
interstate highway system. 

Vehicles hauling gravel, sand, or crushed stone, and 
vehicles hauling liquids produced from gas or oil wells or 
water used for drilling and completion of a gas or oil well 
do not require a permit. Travel is restricted to no more than 
50 miles from the origin to the destination. All movements 
are valid only within the counties that impose a tax on coal 
or gases extracted from the earth and no travel is allowed 
on the federal interstate highway system. 

4. Three- or four-axle vehicles with an axle spacing of at 
least 22 feet hauling excavated materials from 
construction-related land clearing operations are eligible to 
receive an exempt permit. This permit does not authorize 
travel on the federal interstate highway system. 

5. When hauling solid waste, other than hazardous waste, 
the applicant is eligible for an exempt permit. This permit 
is only limited to two- and three-axle vehicles. This permit 
does not authorize travel on the federal interstate highway 
system. 

6. Vehicles used to haul farm produce grown in Virginia 
are eligible to receive an exempt permit. These permits are 
only valid in Accomack and Northampton counties.  

7. Vehicles used exclusively to transport seed cotton 
modules are eligible to receive an exempt permit. This 
permit does not authorize travel on the federal interstate 
highway system. 

8. Self-propelled motor vehicles manufactured for the 
specific purpose of supporting well-drilling machinery on 
the job site and whose movement on any highway is 
incidental to the purpose for which it was designed and 
manufactured for is eligible to receive an exempt permit. 
This permit does not authorize travel on the federal 
interstate highway system. 

9. Vehicles or equipment that is registered in the name of 
the United States government, state or local agencies shall 
receive without cost, an overdimensional or overweight 
permit to move overdimensional or overweight items. 
Contractors moving items on behalf of the United States 
government, state or local agencies are not eligible to 
receive this permit at no cost. 

10. A straight truck designed or used to carry fuel and 
having a capacity of less than 6,000 gallons is eligible for 
an exempt permit. The tank wagon is limited to two axles 
and shall not exceed a gross weight of 36,000 pounds, nor 
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can it exceed 24,000 pounds on a single axle. This permit 
does not authorized travel on the federal interstate highway 
system. 

11. For purposes of this section, "underground pipe 
cleaning equipment" means a self-propelled motor vehicle 
manufactured for the specific purpose of vacuuming and 
cleaning underground sanitary and storm pipe. 
"Hydroexcavating equipment" means a self-propelled 
motor vehicle manufactured for the specific purpose of 
digging with water and vacuuming of debris. "Water 
blasting equipment" means a self-propelled motor vehicle 
manufactured for the specific purpose of waterblasting flat 
concrete surfaces and vacuuming spent water for reuse. 
The above vehicles are eligible to receive an exempt 
permit. This permit does not authorized travel on the 
federal interstate highway system.  

Part IV  
Fees  

24VAC20-81-140. Hauling permit administrative fees and 
other fees required by law; escort driver certification fees. 

Hauling Permits:   

Single Trip Hauling Permit $20 

Superload Single Trip Permit $30 

General Blanket Permit – 1 year $100 

General Blanket Permit – 2 years $200 

Superload Blanket Permit – 1 year or less $100 

Tank Wagon Permit (1 year) $845 

Exempt Blanket Permits $100 

In addition to the administrative fees listed above, Virginia 
law requires that all hauling permits be assessed an additional 
mileage fee if the vehicle configuration is overweight or if the 
equipment used is unlicensable in Virginia. Additional fees 
required by Virginia law may be applicable and will be 
collected as required. Refer to the hauling permit website at 
www.dmvnow.com for questions concerning fees.  

Escort Driver Certification:   

Original Certification $25 

Renewal $25 

Reissue $15 

Duplicate $15 

Part V 
Travel Guidelines  

24VAC20-81-150. Travel restrictions; holiday travel; days 
and times of travel; speed limits. 

A. Permitted vehicle configurations are allowed to travel on 
all holidays except the following state observed holidays: (i) 
New Year's Day, (ii) Memorial Day, (iii) Independence Day, 
(iv) Labor Day, (v) Thanksgiving Day, and (vi) Christmas 
Day.  

On the holidays mentioned above, permits will not be valid 
from noon the preceding weekday through the holiday. If the 
observed holiday falls on a Monday the permit will not be 
valid from noon on the preceding Friday through Monday.  

B. Normal times of travel for permitted loads are 30 minutes 
after sunrise to 30 minutes before sunset, Monday through 
Saturday. Vehicle configurations that are 16 feet wide or 
greater may be required to travel during the hours of darkness 
(9:30 p.m. to 5 a.m.). No permitted travel is allowed within 
the corporate limits of cities/towns between the hours of 7 
a.m. to 9 a.m. and 4 p.m. to 6 p.m. except for configurations 
that are overweight or overlength (not exceeding 85 feet, 
including rear overhang) only. No travel is allowed on 
Sundays, except for loads that are permitted for overweight or 
overlength (not exceeding 85 feet, including rear overhang) 
only. The Hauling Permit Section shall have the authority to 
route vehicles outside the normal hours of travel or restrict 
times of travel during normal hours of travel if it is 
determined necessary giving primary consideration to the 
safety and well-being of the traveling public. 

When road conditions, visibility or unfavorable weather 
conditions make traveling hazardous to the operator or to the 
traveling public, permitted vehicles are not authorized to 
operate unless responding to an emergency. Vehicles that are 
underway when inclement weather occurs shall exit the road 
at the first available safe location and park in a safe place 
until the weather clears or until road conditions improve to 
allow safe travel conditions. Law-enforcement judgment shall 
prevail in all circumstances.  

C. Unless otherwise specified within the permit, the 
maximum speed limit for permitted vehicle configurations is 
the posted speed limit not to exceed 55 miles per hour.  

Part VI  
Escort Vehicles and Equipment Requirements; Escort Vehicle 

Driver Certification; and General Escorting Guidelines  

24VAC20-81-160. Escort vehicles and equipment 
requirements. 

A. Depending on the routes of travel, escorts may be 
required for vehicle configurations exceeding 10 feet in 
width, 13 feet 6 inches in height, 85 feet in length, when more 
than 15 feet or more of front or rear overhang exist, or when 
determined as necessary by the issuing agent giving primary 
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consideration to the safety of the traveling public, the 
attributes of the configuration, and the geographical location 
of the move.  

B. The escort vehicle shall be a truck not less than one-
quarter ton-rated load capacity but not more than 17,000 
pounds gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) or a passenger 
vehicle of not less than 2,000 pounds gross weight. Escort 
vehicles shall not resemble nor be confused with law-
enforcement or safety-assistance vehicles. Escort vehicles 
shall be in compliance with all state and local registration 
processes required by the state in which the vehicle is 
registered. Escort vehicles shall not be overdimensional or 
overweight while in use performing escorting duties. They are 
not permitted to pull a trailer of any kind while performing 
escorting duties.  

C. All escort vehicles shall be equipped with a two-way 
radio communication system to maintain communications 
between the permitted vehicle driver and all escort vehicles in 
the group. 

D. Front or lead escort vehicles are required to have a height 
pole/hot-pole when required by permit. While performing 
escorting duties the pole shall be extended at least three 
inches above the specified height of the vehicle configuration 
being escorted.  

E. Escort vehicles headlamps shall be on at all times while 
escorting overdimensional/overweight movements. 

F. All escort vehicles shall have at least one, rotating or 
strobe, positioned on top of the escort vehicle. The light must 
be visible for a distance of at least 500 feet in all directions by 
approaching vehicles. 

G. Paddles shall be at least 24 inches by 24 inches with six-
inch high lettering. For greater visibility, a high-intensity 
flashing stop/slow paddle may be used. 

H. All flags used for flagging purposes shall be red or any 
highly fluorescent color, not less than 18 inches square and in 
good condition. Flags shall be placed at the extremities of a 
vehicle load to identify overwidth or secured at the end of the 
load to identify overhang. 

I. Individuals performing flagging activities shall wear a 
hard hat and a red or any highly visible fluorescent colored 
jacket or vest. 

J. Escort vehicles shall have signs, descriptive of the load it 
is escorting, i.e., "Wide Load" or "Oversize Load" or 
"Overweight Load." At a minimum, the signs shall be 
displayed in black eight-inch high letters with 1-1/2 inch 
brush strokes on a yellow banner. The banner shall be 
mounted on the front and rear bumper of the escort vehicle. If 
displayed on the roof of the escort vehicle other drivers must 
be able to read the signs when approaching or following the 
escort vehicle.  

K. A minimum of one Underwriters Laboratories (U.L.) or 
Factory Mutual Laboratories (F.M.) approved, five pounds or 
greater, Type "BC" or "ABC" fire extinguisher shall be 
carried in the escort vehicle or escort vehicles. 

L. Reflective triangles or road flares shall be used to warn 
oncoming or approaching vehicles of a breakdown.  

24VAC20-81-170. Escort vehicle driver certification. 

Certification as an escort vehicle driver is mandatory when 
escorting oversize loads exceeding 12 feet in width, 85 feet in 
length, or 14 feet in height. Certification is also required 
when escorting a load with 15 feet or more of rear overhang 
or 10 feet or more of front overhang, or whenever an off-
centered load exceeds five feet. The overhang of an off-
centered load must be loaded to the passenger side of the 
transport vehicle. 

Virginia residents who possess a valid Virginia driver's 
license shall obtain their certification through Virginia's 
Escort Vehicle Driver Certification Program. Non-Virginia 
residents may be certified through Virginia's Escort Vehicle 
Driver Certification Program or through a certification 
program from another state. Regardless of what state certifies 
the driver as an escort driver, certification is considered 
invalid if the driver's license is not valid. 

The Virginia Escort Vehicle Driver Certification test is 
available at all Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles 
Customer Service Center locations. The applicant is required 
to successfully pass a multiple-choice exam before a 
certificate can be issued.  

Successful applicants shall carry the certification document 
with them while escorting vehicle configurations that require 
certified escort vehicle drivers. Certification, along with a 
driver's license, must be presented when requested by any 
Department of Motor Vehicles, law enforcement or 
Department of Transportation officials when requested. 
Failure to have the certification in possession while escorting 
a permitted load that requires a certified escort will cause the 
movement to be delayed until proper escorts and credentials 
are in place.  

Additional information concerning Escort Vehicle Driver 
Certification in Virginia can be requested by calling the 
Hauling Permit Section at (804) 497-7135.  

24VAC20-81-180. General escorting guidelines. 

Escort vehicle drivers or certified escort vehicle drivers may 
be required depending on the routes of travel and the overall 
dimensions of the vehicle configuration. Escorts will not be 
picked up or dropped as the permitted configuration travels 
through the Commonwealth. Escorts, when required by 
permit will stay with the vehicle configuration throughout the 
duration of the move. General guidelines as to when escorts 
are required follows; this listing is not all inclusive:  
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1. One front escort is required on all roads if the permitted 
load exceeds 10 feet in width or 75 feet in overall length. 

2. One certified front escort is required on all roads if the 
permitted load exceeds 12 feet in width or 85 feet in 
length. 

3. One front and two rear escorts, all certified, will be 
required on all roads if the permitted load exceeds 14 feet 
in width. 

4. One front escort is required on all roads when the front 
overhang exceeds four feet.  

5. One certified front escort is required on all roads when 
the front overhang is 10 feet or more. 

6. One rear escort will be required on all roads when the 
rear overhang is 10 feet or more.  

7. One certified rear escort is required on all roads when 
the rear overhang is 15 feet or more. 

8. One certified front escort equipped with height pole is 
required on all roads when the permitted load exceeds 14 
feet in height. 

9. One front escort is required on all roads when the off-
centered load exceeds three feet on the passenger side of 
the vehicle configuration. 

10. Two certified front escorts will be required when the 
off-centered load exceeds five feet on the passenger side of 
the vehicle configuration. 

11. One front and one rear escort, both certified, is required 
on all roads when the permitted load exceeds 100 feet in 
overall length. 

12. Two front and two rear escorts, all certified, will be 
required on all roads when the permitted load exceeds 18 
feet in width or 200 feet in length. 

Part VII  
Emergency and National Defense Moves  

24VAC20-81-190. Emergency moves. 

Requests for emergency moves will be carefully reviewed 
on a case-by-case basis. An emergency is defined as "a 
calamity, existing or imminent, caused by fire, flood, riot, 
windstorm, explosion or act of God, which requires 
immediate remedial action to protect life or property." In 
some instances waivers are issued by the appropriate state 
authority exempting overweight/overwidth carriers from 
statutory size and weight limitations who are responding to 
and supporting relief efforts. Maximum size and weight 
limitations will be identified in the waiver and all requests 
that exceed those limitations will have to apply for a hauling 
permit in accordance with established processes that govern 
the permitting process.  

Emergency move requests and questions concerning waivers 
issued in support of a declared relief effort or disaster shall be 
made through the Virginia Department of Transportation's 
Emergency Operations Center (TEOC) at 1-800-367-7623. 
TEOC is open 24 hours a day, seven days a week. During 
normal business hours, contact the Hauling Permit Section at 
(804) 497-7135.  

Blanket permit users may request "emergency travel 
regulations" when ordering permits if there is a possibility 
that the equipment or commodity permitted will be required 
in support of an emergency as defined above. Having 
emergency travel regulations in the permit may allow 
response to the emergency using the blanket permit, if that 
permit covers the routes of travel intended to use. However, 
the permittee must contact the Virginia Department of 
Transportation's Emergency Operations Center and give them 
vital travel information that will be passed on to the Virginia 
State Police, all applicable law-enforcement jurisdictions, and 
DMV weigh stations. 

24VAC20-81-200. National defense moves. 

The U.S. Department of Defense's Military Traffic 
Command shall be the sole certifying agency during 
peacetime for all movements made by an agency declared 
essential to the national defense. During a national 
emergency, movements essential to national defense would 
be far greater in scope, and those not under direct control of 
one of the military departments or Department of Defense 
agencies would be certified by the appropriate emergency 
transportation authority.  

Part VIII  
Responsibilities  

24VAC20-81-210. Compliance with state laws and permit 
requirements. 

A. The acceptance and use of the Virginia hauling permit by 
the applicant or his designee is his agreement that he will 
proof the permit for accuracy prior to traveling on Virginia's 
highways. If the document is incorrect, the permittee will 
immediately contact the Hauling Permit Section to obtain the 
proper permit prior to traveling over Virginia's highways. The 
permittee accepts full responsibility and the consequences 
associated with having a hauling permit containing erroneous 
or incorrect information. 

B. The acceptance and use of the Virginia hauling permit by 
the applicant is his agreement that he has met all legal 
requirements concerning operational authority imposed by 
motor vehicle laws of Virginia, the Department of Motor 
Vehicles, or the Interstate Commerce Commission. 

C. The acceptance and use of the Virginia hauling permit by 
the applicant is his agreement that each vehicle permitted is 
insured no less than that required by the Commonwealth of 
Virginia.  
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D. The acceptance and use of the Virginia hauling permit by 
the applicant is his agreement to pay for all damages and cost 
involved to persons or property as a result of the permitted 
movement.  

E. The acceptance and use of the Virginia hauling permit by 
the applicant is his agreement that he will comply with all the 
terms and conditions as specified within the permit. 

F. The permittee, an agent of the permittee, or any member 
of the permitee's company, shall within 15 workdays notify 
the Hauling Permit Section, if the permitted vehicle is 
involved in any accident. Failure to notify the Hauling Permit 
Section of involvement in an accident may result in 
suspension or denial of permitting privileges as specified in 
24VAC20-81-230.  

24VAC20-81-220. Injury or damage. 

The permittee assumes all responsibility for an injury to 
persons or damage to public or private property caused 
directly or indirectly by the transportation of vehicles and 
loads moving under the authority of a state-issued permit. 
Furthermore, the permittee agrees to hold the Commonwealth 
of Virginia, Department of Motor Vehicles and its employees 
and other state agencies and their employees harmless from 
all suits, claims, damages or proceedings of any kind, as a 
direct or indirect result of the transportation of the permitted 
vehicle. 

Part IX  
Denial; Revocation; Refusal to Renew; Appeal; Invalidation  

24VAC20-81-230. Denial; revocation; refusal to renew; 
appeal; invalidation. 

A. An overweight or oversize permit may be revoked by the 
Department of Motor Vehicles upon written findings that the 
permittee violated the terms of the permit, which shall 
incorporate by reference these rules, as well as state and local 
laws and ordinances regulating the operation of overweight or 
oversized vehicles. Repeated violations may result in a 
permanent denial of the right to use the state highway system 
or roads for transportation of overweight and oversized 
vehicle configurations. A permit may also be revoked for 
misrepresentation of the information on the application, 
fraudulently obtaining a permit, alteration of a permit, or 
unauthorized use of a permit.  

B. Hauling permits may be denied to any applicant or 
company, or both, for a period not to exceed one year when 
the applicant or company or both has been notified in writing 
by the Department of Motor Vehicles designee that violations 
existed under a previously issued permit. Customers who are 
delinquent in payment to other DMV functions will be denied 
a hauling permit until their delinquent account or accounts are 
satisfied.  

C. No permit application request shall be denied or revoked, 
or permit application renewal refused, until a written notice of 

the violation of the issued permit has been furnished to the 
applicant. The permittee may appeal in writing to the 
Assistant Commissioner of Motor Carrier Services or his 
designee within 10 working days of receipt of written 
notification of denial or revocation setting forth the grounds 
for making an appeal. Upon receipt of the appeal, the 
Assistant Commissioner for Motor Carrier Services or his 
designee will conduct an informal fact-finding process 
conforming to the requirements of the Code of Virginia and 
will issue a case decision that will be the final administrative 
step. Judicial review of such decision shall be available 
pursuant to § 2.2-4025 of the Administrative Process Act. 
Upon revocation of the permit, it must be surrendered without 
consideration for refund or credit of fees. Upon restoration of 
permit privileges a new hauling permit must be obtained prior 
to movement on the state highway system.  

D. A hauling permit may be invalidated and confiscated by 
law-enforcement officials or weight-enforcement officials if 
the permitted vehicle or vehicle combination: is found to be 
operating off route; has fewer axles than that required within 
the permit; is moving a commodity other than that specified 
within the permit; is willfully (intentionally) traveling outside 
the hours specified within the permit; is traveling without 
escorts as required by the permit; or if the driver does not 
have the entire permit in the vehicle. In these situations, in 
addition to taking legal enforcement actions, law- and weigh-
enforcement personnel shall have the authority to direct the 
vehicle configuration to a safe location, at the permittee's 
expense, and detain the vehicle configuration until it meets all 
of the requirements of the permit as stated or until a new 
hauling permit is issued.  

Part X  
Transportation of Explosives, Radioactive and Other 

Hazardous Materials  

24VAC20-81-240. Transportation of explosives, 
radioactive and other hazardous materials. 

A. A person, shipper or carrier transporting or proposing to 
transport explosives or other hazardous materials shall do so 
in compliance with all provisions of 49 CFR Parts 100 
through 180. Hazardous materials are those described by class 
in 49 CFR Parts 173 through 180.  

B. All transporters who transport hazardous waste that 
originates or terminates in Virginia for the purpose of storage, 
treatment or disposal shall apply for and receive an 
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) identification 
number that is unique to the transporter, and apply for a 
transportation permit from the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality, Waste Division.  

Transporters of hazardous waste generated outside of 
Virginia and designated for delivery to a treatment, storage or 
disposal facility in another state shall conform with the 
manifest requirements of those states or EPA, as prescribed in 
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40 CFR Part 262. Specific questions regarding the movement 
and permitting of hazardous materials and hazardous waste 
should be addressed to:  

  Department of Environmental Quality  
629 East Main Street  
P.O. Box 10009  
Richmond, VA 23240-0009  

  Phone:  804-698-4249 (Hazardous Materials)  
804-698-4237 (Hazardous Waste)  

Questions regarding the movement of Hazardous Materials 
through tunnels or bridges, or both, shall be addressed to:  

  Department of Transportation  
Hazardous Materials Officer  
1221 East Broad Street  
Richmond, VA 23219  
Phone: 804-371-0891  

Questions regarding hazardous material spills or incidents 
shall be addressed to: CHEMTREC 1-800-424-9300 (24 
hours a day).  

Part XI  
Weigh Stations; Location  

24VAC20-81-250. Permanent weigh stations. 

Operators of trucks which have a registered gross weight in 
excess of 7,500 pounds are required by law to drive their 
vehicles onto scales for weight inspection as directed by 
either a police officer or regulatory highway signs. By 
Virginia law, a police officer may require the operator of a 
truck to drive a distance not to exceed 10 road miles to a 
weigh facility or location for weight inspection. Refusal to 
drive onto scales for inspection is a misdemeanor. Locations 
for the weigh stations in Virginia are as follows:  

Station Route Location 

1. Alberta 85 Alberta 

2. Aldie 50 Aldie 

3. Bland 77 Bland 

4. Carson 95 Carson 

5. Dahlgren 301 Dahlgren 

6. Dumfries 95 Triangle 

7. Hollins 11 Hollins 

8. Middletown 11 Middletown 

9. New Church 13 Temperanceville 

10. Sandston 64 Sandston 

11. Stephens City 81 Stephens City 

12. Suffolk 58 Suffolk 

13. Troutville 81 Troutville 
VA.R. Doc. No. R07-271; Filed October 2, 2008, 1:16 p.m.  

MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER BOARD 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following model public 
participation guidelines are exempt from Article 2 (§ 2.2-
4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of 
Virginia pursuant to Chapter 321 of the 2008 Acts of 
Assembly. 

Titles of Regulations: 24VAC22-10. Public Participation 
Guidelines (repealing 24VAC22-10-10 through 24VAC22-
10-140). 

24VAC22-11. Public Participation Guidelines (adding 
24VAC22-11-10 through 24VAC22-11-110). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 46.2-1506 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 26, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Bruce Gould, Executive Director, Motor 
Vehicle Dealer Board, 2201 West Broad Street, Suite 104, 
Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-1100, FAX (804) 
367-1053, or email bruce.gould@mvdb.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulations comply with the legislative mandate 
(Chapter 321, 2008 Acts of Assembly) that agencies adopt 
model public participation guidelines issued by the 
Department of Planning and Budget by December 1, 2008. 
Public participation guidelines exist to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment, or repeal of 
an agency's regulations.  

This regulatory action repeals the current public 
participation guidelines and promulgates new public 
participation guidelines as required by Chapter 321 of the 
2008 Acts of Assembly. Highlights of the public 
participation guidelines include (i) providing for the 
establishment and maintenance of notification lists of 
interested persons and specifying the information to be 
sent to such persons; (ii) providing for public comments on 
regulatory actions; (iii) establishing the time period during 
which public comments shall be accepted; (iv) providing 
that the plan to hold a public meeting shall be indicated in 
any notice of intended regulatory action; (v) providing for 
the appointment, when necessary, of regulatory advisory 
panels to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance and negotiated rulemaking panels if a 
regulatory action is expected to be controversial; and (vi) 
providing for the periodic review of regulations. 
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CHAPTER 11  
PUBLIC PARTICIPATION GUIDELINES  

Part I  
Purpose and Definitions  

24VAC22-11-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment or repeal of the 
regulations of the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board. This chapter 
does not apply to regulations, guidelines, or other documents 
exempted or excluded from the provisions of the 
Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia). 

24VAC22-11-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 
et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency" means the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board, which is 
the unit of state government empowered by the agency's basic 
law to make regulations or decide cases. Actions specified in 
this chapter may be fulfilled by state employees as delegated 
by the agency. 

"Basic law" means provisions in the Code of Virginia that 
delineate the basic authority and responsibilities of an agency. 

"Commonwealth Calendar" means the electronic calendar 
for official government meetings open to the public as 
required by § 2.2-3707 C of the Freedom of Information Act. 

''Negotiated rulemaking panel'' or ''NRP'' means an ad hoc 
advisory panel of interested parties established by an agency 
to consider issues that are controversial with the assistance of 
a facilitator or mediator, for the purpose of reaching a 
consensus in the development of a proposed regulatory 
action. 

"Notification list" means a list used to notify persons 
pursuant to this chapter. Such a list may include an electronic 
list maintained through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall or 
other list maintained by the agency. 

"Open meeting" means any scheduled gathering of a unit of 
state government empowered by an agency's basic law to 
make regulations or decide cases, which is related to 
promulgating, amending or repealing a regulation. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, cooperative, limited liability company, trust, joint 
venture, government, political subdivision, or any other legal 
or commercial entity and any successor, representative, agent, 
agency, or instrumentality thereof. 

"Public hearing" means a scheduled time at which members 
or staff of the agency will meet for the purpose of receiving 
public comment on a regulatory action. 

"Regulation" means any statement of general application 
having the force of law, affecting the rights or conduct of any 
person, adopted by the agency in accordance with the 
authority conferred on it by applicable laws. 

"Regulatory action" means the promulgation, amendment, or 
repeal of a regulation by the agency. 

"Regulatory advisory panel" or "RAP" means a standing or 
ad hoc advisory panel of interested parties established by the 
agency for the purpose of assisting in regulatory actions. 

"Town Hall" means the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, the 
website operated by the Virginia Department of Planning and 
Budget at www.townhall.virginia.gov, which has online 
public comment forums and displays information about 
regulatory meetings and regulatory actions under 
consideration in Virginia and sends this information to 
registered public users. 

"Virginia Register" means the Virginia Register of 
Regulations, the publication that provides official legal notice 
of new, amended and repealed regulations of state agencies, 
which is published under the provisions of Article 6 (§ 2.2-
4031 et seq.) of the Administrative Process Act. 

Part II  
Notification of Interested Persons 

24VAC22-11-30. Notification list. 

A. The agency shall maintain a list of persons who have 
requested to be notified of regulatory actions being pursued 
by the agency. 

B. Any person may request to be placed on a notification list 
by registering as a public user on the Town Hall or by making 
a request to the agency. Any person who requests to be placed 
on a notification list shall elect to be notified either by 
electronic means or through a postal carrier. 

C. The agency may maintain additional lists for persons who 
have requested to be informed of specific regulatory issues, 
proposals, or actions. 

D. When electronic mail is returned as undeliverable on 
multiple occasions at least 24 hours apart, that person may be 
deleted from the list. A single undeliverable message is 
insufficient cause to delete the person from the list. 

E. When mail delivered by a postal carrier is returned as 
undeliverable on multiple occasions, that person may be 
deleted from the list. 

F. The agency may periodically request those persons on the 
notification list to indicate their desire to either continue to be 
notified electronically, receive documents through a postal 
carrier, or be deleted from the list. 
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24VAC22-11-40. Information to be sent to persons on the 
notification list. 

A. To persons electing to receive electronic notification or 
notification through a postal carrier as described in 
24VAC22-11-30, the agency shall send the following 
information: 

1. A notice of intended regulatory action (NOIRA). 

2. A notice of the comment period on a proposed, a 
reproposed, or a fast-track regulation and hyperlinks to, or 
instructions on how to obtain, a copy of the regulation and 
any supporting documents. 

3. A notice soliciting comment on a final regulation when 
the regulatory process has been extended pursuant to § 2.2-
4007.06 or 2.2-4013 C of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The failure of any person to receive any notice or copies 
of any documents shall not affect the validity of any 
regulation or regulatory action. 

Part III  
Public Participation Procedures  

24VAC22-11-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 
action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 
opportunity to submit data, views, and arguments, either 
orally or in writing, to the agency. Such opportunity to 
comment shall include an online public comment forum on 
the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 
copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 
issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 
fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 
public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 
to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 
submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 
the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 
as follows:  

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 
(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 
publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 
publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 
of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 
listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 
substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 
he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 
calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 
changes in accordance with § 2.2-4013 C of the Code of 
Virginia.  

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 
description of public comment to all public commenters on 
the proposed regulation at least five days before final 
adoption of the regulation pursuant to § 2.2-4012 E of the 
Code of Virginia.  

24VAC22-11-60. Petition for rulemaking. 

A. As provided in § 2.2-4007 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person may petition the agency to consider a regulatory 
action. 

B. A petition shall include but is not limited to the following 
information: 

1. The petitioner's name and contact information; 

2. The substance and purpose of the rulemaking that is 
requested, including reference to any applicable Virginia 
Administrative Code sections; and 

3. Reference to the legal authority of the agency to take the 
action requested. 

C. The agency shall receive, consider and respond to a 
petition pursuant to § 2.2-4007 and shall have the sole 
authority to dispose of the petition. 

D. The petition shall be posted on the Town Hall and 
published in the Virginia Register. 

E. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit the agency from 
receiving information or from proceeding on its own motion 
for rulemaking. 

24VAC22-11-70. Appointment of regulatory advisory 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a regulatory advisory panel 
(RAP) to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance when the agency determines that such expertise is 
necessary to address a specific regulatory issue or action or 
when individuals indicate an interest in working with the 
agency on a specific regulatory issue or action. 
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B. Any person may request the appointment of a RAP and 
request to participate in its activities. The agency shall 
determine when a RAP shall be appointed and the 
composition of the RAP. 

C. A RAP may be dissolved by the agency if: 

1. The proposed text of the regulation is posted on the 
Town Hall, published in the Virginia Register, or such 
other time as the agency determines is appropriate; or 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act. 

24VAC22-11-80. Appointment of negotiated rulemaking 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a negotiated rulemaking panel 
(NRP) if a regulatory action is expected to be controversial. 

B. An NRP that has been appointed by the agency may be 
dissolved by the agency when: 

1. There is no longer controversy associated with the 
development of the regulation; 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act; or 

3. The agency determines that resolution of a controversy 
is unlikely. 

24VAC22-11-90. Meetings. 

Notice of any open meeting, including meetings of a RAP or 
NRP, shall be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 
and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working days 
prior to the date of the meeting. The exception to this 
requirement is any meeting held in accordance with § 2.2-
3707 D of the Code of Virginia allowing for 
contemporaneous notice to be provided to participants and the 
public. 

24VAC22-11-100. Public hearings on regulations. 

A. The agency shall indicate in its notice of intended 
regulatory action whether it plans to hold a public hearing 
following the publication of the proposed stage of the 
regulatory action.  

B. The agency may conduct one or more public hearings 
during the comment period following the publication of a 
proposed regulatory action.  

C. An agency is required to hold a public hearing following 
the publication of the proposed regulatory action when:  

1. The agency's basic law requires the agency to hold a 
public hearing;  

2. The Governor directs the agency to hold a public 
hearing; or  

3. The agency receives requests for a public hearing from 
at least 25 persons during the public comment period 
following the publication of the notice of intended 
regulatory action.  

D. Notice of any public hearing shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working 
days prior to the date of the hearing. The agency shall also 
notify those persons who requested a hearing under 
subdivision C 3 of this section.  

24VAC22-11-110. Periodic review of regulations. 

A. The agency shall conduct a periodic review of its 
regulations consistent with:  

1. An executive order issued by the Governor pursuant to 
§ 2.2-4017 of the Administrative Process Act to receive 
comment on all existing regulations as to their 
effectiveness, efficiency, necessity, clarity, and cost of 
compliance; and  

2. The requirements in § 2.2-4007.1 of the Administrative 
Process Act regarding regulatory flexibility for small 
businesses.  

B. A periodic review may be conducted separately or in 
conjunction with other regulatory actions.  

C. Notice of a periodic review shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and published in the Virginia Register.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1510; Filed October 7, 2008, 3:24 p.m. 
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Proposed Consent Order - Fry’s Spring Beach Club, 
Incorporated 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Fry’s Spring 
Beach Club, Incorporated, for alleged violations in 
Charlottesville, Albemarle County. A proposed consent order 
describes a settlement to resolve an alleged unauthorized 
discharge to an unnamed tributary to the Rivanna River. A 
description of the proposed action is available at the DEQ 
office named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov.  
Steven W. Hetrick will accept comments by email 
swhetrick@deq.virginia.gov, FAX (540) 574-7878 or postal 
mail, Department of Environmental Quality, Valley Regional 
Office, P.O. Box 3000, 4411 Early Road, Harrisonburg, VA 
22801, from October 27, 2008, to November 26, 2008. 

Proposed Consent Order - Houff’s Feed and 
Fertilizer Company, Incorporated 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Houff’s Feed 
and Fertilizer Company, Incorporated, for alleged violations. 
A proposed consent order describes a settlement to resolve 
alleged unpermitted application of food processing sludge on 
1.2 acres in Rockingham County.  A description of the 
proposed action is available at the DEQ office named below 
or online at www.deq.virginia.gov.  Steven W. Hetrick will 
accept comments by email swhetrick@deq.virginia.gov, FAX 
(540) 574-7878 or postal mail Department of Environmental 
Quality, Valley Regional Office, P.O. Box 3000, 4411 Early 
Road, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, from October 27, 2008, to 
November 26, 2008. 

Proposed Consent Order - HHHunt Corporation 
An enforcement action has been proposed for HHHunt 
Corporation for alleged violations at the Rutland development 
in Hanover County. The proposed consent order describes the 
alleged violations, requires corrective action and contains a 
civil charge. A description of the proposed action is available 
at the DEQ office named below or online at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. Allison Dunaway will accept 
comments by email at acdunaway@deq.virginia.gov, FAX 
(804) 527-5106 or postal mail at Department of 
Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A 
Cox Rd., Glen Allen, VA 23060, from October 22, 2008, to 
November 26, 2008. 

Proposed Consent Order - Lovettsville Sewage 
Treatment Plant 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Town of 
Lovettsville for alleged violations in Loudoun County at the 
Lovettsville Sewage Treatment Plant. The consent order 
describes a settlement to resolve permit effluent violations at 

the Lovettsville Sewage Treatment Plant. A description of the 
proposed action is available at the DEQ office named below 
or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Daniel Burstein will 
accept comments by email dpburstein@deq.virginia.gov, 
FAX (703) 583-3821, or postal mail, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 
Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, from October 28, 
2008, through November 27, 2008. 

Proposed Consent Special Order - Motion Control 
Industries, Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Motion Control 
Industries, Inc., for alleged violations in South Hill, Virginia 
(Mecklenburg County). The Department of Environmental 
Quality (DEQ) proposes to issue a special order by consent as 
a settlement to resolve compliance deficiencies of the 
Virginia Water Control Law. A description of the proposed 
action is available at the DEQ office named below or online 
at www.deq.virginia.gov. G. Marvin Booth III will accept 
comments by email gmbooth@deq.virginia.gov, FAX (434) 
582-5125 or postal mail Department of Environmental 
Quality, South Central Regional Office, 7705 Timberlake 
Road, Lynchburg, VA 24502, from October 27, 2008, to 
November 27, 2008. 

Proposed Consent Special Order - Rockbridge 
Farmers Cooperative, Incorporated 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Rockbridge 
Farmers Cooperative, Incorporated, for alleged violations in 
Rockbridge County. A proposed consent order describes a 
settlement to resolve an alleged violation of an unauthorized 
discharge to an unnamed tributary to the Maury River. A 
description of the proposed action is available at the DEQ 
office named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov.  
Steven W. Hetrick will accept comments by email 
swhetrick@deq.virginia.gov, FAX (540) 574-7878, or postal 
mail Department of Environmental Quality, Valley Regional 
Office, P.O. Box 3000, 4411 Early Road, Harrisonburg, VA 
22801, from October 27, 2008 to November 26, 2008. 

Proposed Consent Order - Mr. Jesse Allen Wright 
An enforcement action has been proposed for Mr. Jesse Allen 
Wright, for alleged violations in Henrico County. The consent 
order settles Mr. Wright’s failure to submit a notification 
form to DEQ and the failure to perform closure requirements. 
A description of the proposed action is available at the DEQ 
office named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. 
Jennifer Hoeffner will accept comments by email 
jhoeffner@deq.virginia.gov, FAX (804) 527-5106, or postal 
mail Department of Environmental Quality, Piedmont 
Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, 
from October 22, 2008, to November 26, 2008. 
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Restore Water Quality - Indian, Dymer, Tabbs, and 
Antipoison Creeks 

Public meeting: November 14, 2008, at the Lancaster 
Community Library, 235 School Street, Kilmarnock, VA 
22482. A technical advisory committee (TAC) meeting will 
be held from 1:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. and the public meeting 
from 6 p.m. - 8 p.m.  Both meetings are open to the public. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality and the Department of Conservation and Recreation 
are presenting the final draft report of a study to restore water 
quality for a shellfish growing area, a public comment 
opportunity, a technical advisory committee meeting, and 
public meeting. 

Meeting description: Final TAC and public meeting on a 
study to restore water quality for shellfish growing areas 
along Indian, Dymer, Tabbs, and Antipoison Creeks, which 
are impaired due to bacterial violations. 

Description of study: Virginia agencies have been working to 
identify sources of the bacterial contamination in the shellfish 
growing waters of the (tidal) Indian, Dymer, Tabbs, and 
Antipoison Creeks and their tributaries, an area totalling 
approximately two square miles in Northumberland and 
Lancaster counties.  These streams are impaired for failure to 
meet the designated use of shellfish consumption because of 
bacterial water quality standard violations. 

Stream County Area 
(miles²) Impairment 

Indian Creek 
(headwaters to 
south of Arthur 

Cove) 

Northumberland 
& Lancaster  0.42 

Unnamed Cove Northumberland 0.02 
Bells Creek Northumberland 0.05 

Henrys Creek Northumberland 0.10 
Barnes Creek Northumberland 0.27 
Long Creek Lancaster 0.02 

Dymer Creek 
(headwaters to 

south of Johnson 
Creek) 

Lancaster 0.34 

Hunts Cove Lancaster 0.04 
Lees Cove Lancaster 0.02 

Georges Cove Lancaster 0.03 
Tabbs Creek Lancaster 0.24 

Antipoison Creek 
(headwaters to 

mouth) 
Lancaster 0.45 

Davenport Creek Lancaster 0.02 

Shellfish Use 
(Fecal 

Coliform) 
bacteria 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The study reports the current status of the creeks via sampling 
performed by the Virginia Department of Health; Division of 
Shellfish Sanitation, shellfish area condemnations and the 
sources of bacterial contamination.  The study recommends 
total maximum daily loads, or TMDLs, for the impaired 

waters.  A TMDL is the total amount of a pollutant a water 
body can contain and still meet water quality standards.  To 
restore water quality, bacterial levels have to be reduced to 
the TMDL amount. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax, or postal mail.  Written comments should include the 
name, address, and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ during the comment 
period, which will expire on December 15, 2008.  DEQ also 
accepts written and oral comments at the public meeting 
announced in this notice. 

Contact for additional information: Margaret Smigo, TMDL 
Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, 
Piedmont Regional Office, 4949A Cox Road, Glen Allen, 
VA, 23060, telephone (804) 527-5124, FAX (804)-527-5106, 
or email mjsmigo@deq.virginia.gov. 

Restore Water Quality - North Fork Holston River 

Announcement of an effort to restore water quality in the 
North Fork Holston River in Smyth County, Virginia. 

Public meeting Location: Friend’s Community Church, 
145 Palmer Ave., Saltville, Virginia, on November 4, 2008, 
from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. and at Hilton Elementary School, 
303 Academy Rd., Hiltons, Virginia, on November 6, 2008. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality is announcing a study to restore water quality, a 
public comment opportunity, and public meeting. 

Meeting description: First public meeting on a study to 
restore water quality. 

Description of study: DEQ is working to identify sources of 
mercury contamination in fish in the waters of the North Fork 
Holston. The "impaired" stream segments total approximately 
81 miles. The stream is impaired based on exceedences of the 
screening value for mercury in fish tissue. 

During the study, the sources of the mercury contamination 
will be identified and total maximum daily loads, or TMDLs, 
developed for the impaired waters. A TMDL is the total 
amount of a pollutant a water body can contain and still meet 
water quality standards. To restore water quality, 
contamination levels must be reduced to the TMDL amount.  

How a decision is made: The development of a TMDL 
includes public meetings and a public comment period once 
the study report is drafted. After public comments have been 
considered and addressed, DEQ will submit the TMDL report 
to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency for approval. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax or postal mail. Written comments should include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ during the comment 
period, November 4, 2008, to December 8, 2008. DEQ also 
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accepts written and oral comments at the public meeting 
announced in this notice. 

To review fact sheets: Fact sheets are available on the 
impaired waters from the contacts below or on the DEQ 
website at www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl. 

Contact for additional information: Shelley Williams, 
Regional TMDL Coordinator, Department of Environmental 
Quality, Southwest Regional Office, 355 Deadmore Street, 
P.O. Box 1688, Abingdon, VA 24212-1688, telephone 
(276) 676-4845, FAX (276) 676-4899, or email 
sdwilliams@deq.virginia.gov. 

Restore Water Quality - Oyster and Mosquito Creeks 
Public meeting: November 14, 2008, at the Lancaster 
Community Library, 235 School Street, Kilmarnock, VA 
22482. A technical advisory committee (TAC) meeting will 
be held from 4 p.m. - 5 p.m. and the public meeting from 
8 p.m. - 9 p.m.  Both meetings are open to the public. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality and the Department of Conservation and Recreation 
are announcing a study to restore water quality for a shellfish 
growing area, a public comment opportunity, a technical 
advisory committee meeting, and public meeting. 

Meeting description: First TAC and public meeting on a 
study to restore water quality for shellfish growing areas 
along Oyster and Mosquito Creeks, which are impaired due to 
bacterial violations. 

Description of study: Virginia agencies are working to 
identify sources of the bacterial contamination in the shellfish 
growing waters of the (tidal) Oyster and Mosquito Creeks and 
their tributaries, an area totalling approximately 0.178 square 
miles in Lancaster County.  These streams are impaired for 
failure to meet the designated use of shellfish consumption 
because of bacterial water quality standard violations.   

Stream County Area 
(miles²) Impairment 

 
Oyster Creek 

 
Lancaster 0.11 

Mosquito 
Creek Lancaster 0.068 

 
Shellfish Use 

(Fecal 
Coliform) 
bacteria 

 
 

The study reports the current status of the creeks via sampling 
performed by the Virginia Department of Health; Division of 
Shellfish Sanitiation, shellfish area condemnations and the 
possible sources of bacterial contamination.  The study 
recommends total maximum daily loads, or TMDLs, for the 
impaired waters.  A TMDL is the total amount of a pollutant 
a water body can contain and still meet water quality 

standards.  To restore water quality, bacterial levels have to 
be reduced to the TMDL amount. 

How to comment:  DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax, or postal mail.  Written comments should include the 
name, address, and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ during the comment 
period, which will expire on December 15, 2008.  DEQ also 
accepts written and oral comments at the public meeting 
announced in this notice. 

Contact for additional information: Margaret Smigo, TMDL 
Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, 
Piedmont Regional Office, 4949A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 
23060, telephone (804) 527-5124, FAX (804) 527-5106, or 
email mjsmigo@deq.virginia.gov. 

Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) - Four Mile Run 
Announcement of a total maximum daily load (TMDL) study 
to restore water quality in the bacteria impaired portion of 
tidal Four Mile Run. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality (DEQ) and the Virginia Department of Conservation 
and Recreation (DCR) announce the first technical advisory 
committee (TAC) meeting to introduce the Tidal Four Mile 
Run Bacteria TMDL study. 

Technical advisory committee meeting: Thursday, October 
30, 2008, 10 a.m. – Noon, 1015 North Quincy Street, 
Arlington County Central Library, Second Floor Meeting 
Room, Arlington, VA 22201 

Meeting description: This is the first meeting to introduce this 
project to the TAC.  The purpose of the TAC will be to 
provide technical input and insight for the project, and to 
assist with stakeholder and public participation. 

Description of study: The tidal portion of Four Mile Run has 
been identified as impaired on the Clean Water Act § 303(d) 
list for not supporting the primary contact recreation use due 
to elevated levels of E. coli bacteria.  Virginia agencies are 
working to identify the sources of bacteria contamination in 
this stream segment.  The impaired segment of Four Mile 
Run is located in Arlington County.  The Four Mile Run 
watershed covers parts of the City of Alexandria, City of 
Falls Church, Arlington County, and Fairfax County.  Below 
is a description of the impaired portion of Four Mile Run that 
will be addressed in this study: 
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Stream Name Locality Impairments Area (miles2) Upstream Limit Downstream Limit 

Four Mile 
Run 

Arlington 
County 

Recreational use 
Impairment due to 

E. coli bacteria 
 

0.0516 

 
Tidal waters of Four Mile Run, 
approximately 1.46 rivermiles 

upstream from the mouth of the 
river 

 

Confluence with the 
Potomac River 

This study will focus on the tidal portion of Four Mile Run.  
A bacteria TMDL for the nontidal portion of Four Mile Run 
was completed in 2002.  During this study, DEQ will develop 
a total maximum daily load, or a TMDL, for the impaired 
stream segment.  A TMDL is the total amount of a pollutant 
a water body can receive and still meet water quality 
standards.  To restore water quality, pollutant levels have to 
be reduced to the TMDL allocated amount. 

How to comment: The public comment period on the 
materials presented at the TAC meeting will extend from 
October 30, 2008, to December 1, 2008.  DEQ accepts 
written comments by email, fax, or postal mail. Written 
comments should include the name, address, and telephone 
number of the person commenting, and be received by DEQ 
during the comment period. Please send all comments to the 
contact listed below. 

Contact for additional information:  Katie Conaway, 
Department of Environmental Quality, 13901 Crown Court, 
Woodbridge, VA 22193, telephone (703) 583-3804, or email 
mkconaway@deq.virginia.gov. 

Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) - Pocomoke 
Sound/Pocomoke River 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality will 
provide a public comment period for a water quality study for 
Pocomoke Sound/Pocomoke River, located in Accomack 
County. 

The report may be accessed on the DEQ website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl. 

Pocomoke Sound (VAT-C09E-10) was identified in 
Virginia’s 1998 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report as 
impaired for not supporting the shellfishing use.  The 
impairment is based on the shellfish harvesting 
condemnation of Growing Area 75 imposed by the Virginia 
Department of Health-Division of Shellfish Sanitation. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 
of the Code of Virginia require DEQ to develop TMDLs for 
pollutants responsible for each impaired water contained in 
Virginia’s 303(d) TMDL priority list and report and 
subsequent water quality assessment reports.  

During the study, a total maximum daily load was developed 
for the impaired waters.  A TMDL is the total amount of a  

pollutant a water body can contain and still meet water 
quality standards.  To restore water quality, pollutant levels 
have to be reduced to the TMDL amount.  The Virginia 
Departments of Environmental Quality, Conservation and 
Recreation, and Health are working to identify the sources of 
pollution in the watersheds of these streams. 

The public comment period will extend from October 27, 
2008, through December 11, 2008. A public meeting will be 
held upon request. 

For additional information or to submit comments, contact 
Jennifer Howell, Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Blvd., 
Virginia Beach, VA 23462, telephone (757) 518-2111, or 
email jshowell@deq.virginia.gov. 

Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) - Strait Creek 
and West Strait Creek 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) and the 
Department of Conservation and Recreation seek written and 
oral comments from interested persons on the development 
of total maximum daily loads (TMDLs) for Strait Creek and 
West Strait Creek in Highland County.  West Strait Creek 
was listed on the 1996 303(d) TMDL priority list and report 
as impaired due to violations of the state’s general (benthic) 
standard for aquatic life.  The benthic impairment extends for 
1.17 miles from the headwaters downstream to an unnamed 
tributary originating on Miracle Ridge.  In addition, Strait 
Creek was listed on the 2002 303(d) TMDL Priority List and 
Report as impaired due to violations of the state’s general 
(benthic) standard for aquatic life.  This impairment extends 
for 3.24 miles from the confluence with West Strait Creek to 
the confluence with the South Branch Potomac River. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 
of the Code of Virginia require DEQ to develop TMDLs for 
pollutants responsible for each impaired water contained in 
Virginia’s 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report.  DEQ has 
developed sediment, ammonia, and biochemical oxygen 
demand (BOD) TMDLs to address the benthic impairment in 
West Strait Creek, and DEQ has developed a sediment 
TMDL to address the benthic impairment in Strait Creek.  
DEQ is soliciting public comment on the draft report for 
these TMDLs.  The draft report will be available for review 
and download from the DEQ website at: 
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https://www.deq.virginia.gov/TMDLDataSearch/DraftReports.jspx 
beginning on or before November 12, 2008. 

The final public meeting on the development of these TMDLs 
will be held on Wednesday, November 12, 2008, 7 p.m. at the 
Highland County Modular Conference Center, Spruce Street, 
Monterey, VA. 

The public comment period for the draft TMDLs will end on 
December 12, 2008.  Written comments should include the 
name, address, and telephone number of the person 
submitting the comments and should be sent to Robert Brent, 
Department of Environmental Quality, 4411 Early Road, P.O. 
Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, telephone (540) 574-
7848, FAX (540) 574-7878, or email 
rnbrent@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE LOTTERY DEPARTMENT 

Director's Orders 
The following Director's Orders of the State Lottery 
Department were filed with the Virginia Registrar of 
Regulations on October 8, 2008. The orders may be viewed at 
the State Lottery Department, 900 E. Main Street, Richmond, 
Virginia, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
910 Capitol Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

Final Rules for Game Operation: 

Director's Order Number Sixty-Three (08) 

"World Poker Tour ® $100,000 Hold'em Poker Sweepstakes" 
(effective 10/7/08) 

VIRGINIA BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Notice of Periodic Review 

The Virginia Board of Psychology is conducting a periodic 
review of its current regulations governing the practice of 
psychology and is requesting comment on the following 
current regulations: 

18VAC125-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Psychology 

The board will consider whether the existing regulations are 
essential to protect the health, safety and welfare of the public 
in providing assurance that licensed practitioners are 
competent to practice.  Alternatives to the current regulations 
or suggestions for clarification of the regulation will also be 
received and considered. 

Comment begins on October 27, 2008, and ends on 
November 26, 2008. 

If any member of the public would like to comment on these 
regulations, please send comments by the close of the 
comment period to: Elaine J. Yeatts, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233. 

Comments may also be emailed to 
elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov or faxed to (804) 527-4434. 

Regulations may be viewed online at www.dhp.virginia.gov 
or copies will be sent upon request. 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Pursuant to Executive Order Number 36 (2006), the 
Department of Social Services is currently reviewing 
22VAC40-295, Temporary Assistance for Needy Families, to 
determine if it should be terminated, amended, or retained in 
its current form. The review will be guided by the principles 
listed in Executive Order Number 36 (2006) and in the 
department’s plan for review of existing agency regulations. 

The department seeks public comment regarding the 
regulation’s interference in private enterprise and life, 
essential need of the regulations, less burdensome and 
intrusive alternatives to the regulations, specific and 
measurable goals that the regulation is intended to achieve, 
and whether the regulation is clearly written and easily 
understandable. 

Public comment period: October 27, 2008, to November 17, 
2008. 

Written comments may be submitted until November 17, 
2008, in care of Mark L. Golden, TANF Program Manager, 
Division of Benefit Programs, 7 North 8th Street, Richmond, 
VA 23219, FAX (804) 726-7356, or email to 
mark.golden@dss.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Order - Concrete Precast 
Systems, Inc. and Coastal Precast Systems, LLC 

Purpose of notice: To seek public comment on a proposed 
consent order from the Department of Environmental Quality 
for a facility in Chesapeake, Virginia. 

Public comment period: October 27, 2008, to November 26, 
2008. 

Consent order description: The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to Concrete Precast 
Systems, Inc., and Coastal Precast Systems, LLC, to address 
alleged violations of Virginia State Water Control Law. The 
location of the facility where the alleged violations occurred 
is 1320 Yacht Drive, Chesapeake.  The consent order 
describes a settlement to resolve alleged violations of the 
facility Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
Permit and includes a civil charge. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax or postal mail. All comments must include the 
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name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ within the comment 
period. The public may review the proposed consent order at 
the DEQ office named below or on the DEQ website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests and 
additional information: Paul R. Smith, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 
Southern Blvd., Virginia Beach, VA 23462, telephone (757) 
518-2020, FAX (757) 518-2009, or email 
prsmith@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 
Mailing Address: Virginia Code Commission, 910 Capitol 
Street, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations 

Agencies are required to use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) when filing regulations for publication in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. The Office of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations implemented a web-based application 
called RIS for filing regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register. The Registrar's office has 
worked closely with the Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) to coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory 
Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one 
another by sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

The Office of the Virginia Register is working toward the 
eventual elimination of the requirement that agencies file 
print copies of regulatory packages. Until that time, agencies 
may file petitions for rulemaking, notices of intended 
regulatory actions and general notices in electronic form only; 
however, until further notice, agencies must continue to file 
print copies of proposed, final, fast-track and emergency 
regulatory packages. 

ERRATA 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 
Title of Regulation: 6VAC20-160. Rules Relating to the 
Court-Appointed Special Advocate Program. 

Publication:  25:2 VA.R. 141-146 September 29, 2008. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 144, in 6VAC20-160-40 E 2, line 1, strike 
"Program/volunteer coordinator" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-02  

PESTICIDE CONTROL BOARD 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC20-51. Regulations Governing 
Pesticide Applicator Certification Under Authority of 
Virginia Pesticide Control Act. 

Publication:  25:3 VA.R. 345-353 October 13, 2008. 

Correction to final regulation: 

The sections amended were incorrectly listed.  The sections 
amended should appear as follows: 

(amend 2VAC20-51-10, 2VAC20-51-20, 2VAC20-51-30, 
2VAC20-51-40, 2VAC20-51-50, 2VAC20-51-70, 2VAC20-
51-90, 2VAC20-51-100, 2VAC20-51-160, 2VAC20-51-170, 
2VAC20-51-200, 2VAC20-51-210) 

VA.R. Doc. No.R04-77 

STATE BOARD OF CORRECTIONS 

Title of Regulation: 6VAC15-70. Standards for 
Community Residential Programs. 

Publication: 25:3 VA.R. 366-373 October 13, 2008. 

Correction to final regulation: 

The sections amended were incorrectly listed. The sections 
amended should appear as follows: 

(amend 6VAC15-70-10, 6VAC15-70-40 through 6VAC15-
70-130, 6VAC15-70-160) 

VA.R. Doc. No.R09-1632 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-640. Aboveground Storage 
Tank and Pipeline Facility Financial Responsibility 
Requirements. 

Publication: 25:2 VA.R. 206-230 September 29, 2008. 

Correction to final regulation: 

The promulgating board name was unintentionally omitted 
from publication and the list of sections amended and 
repealed were incorrectly listed.  The regulation should 
appear as follows: 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-640-10, 9VAC25-640-20, 
9VAC25-640-30, 9VAC25-640-50, 9VAC25-640-70 
through 9VAC25-640-120, 9VAC25-640-150 through 
9VAC25-640-230, 9VAC25-640-250, Appendices I 
through IX; repealing 9VAC25-640-130). 

VA.R. Doc. No.R07-293 
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DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-70. Methods and Standards 
for Establishing Payment Rates - Inpatient Hospital 
Services. Standards for Community Residential 
Programs. 

Publication: 25:3 VA.R. 385-390 October 13, 2008. 

Correction to final regulation: 

The sections amended were incorrectly listed. The sections 
amended should appear as follows: 

(amend 12VAC30-70-70, 12VAC30-70-261, 12VAC30-70-
271; repeal 12VAC30-70-500) 

VA.R. Doc. No.R09-1360 
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