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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, the Virginia Tax Bulletin issued 
periodically by the Department of Taxation, and notices of public 
hearings and open meetings of state agencies. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
Proposed regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating 
agency at any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 12 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
23:7 VA.R. 1023-1140 December 11, 2006, refers to Volume 23, Issue 
7, pages 1023 through 1140 of the Virginia Register issued on 
December 11, 2006. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: R. Steven Landes, 
Chairman; John S. Edwards, Vice Chairman; Ryan T. McDougle; 
Robert Hurt; Robert L. Calhoun; Frank S. Ferguson; E.M. Miller, 
Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; James F. Almand; Jane M. Roush. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
June T. Chandler, Assistant Registrar. 
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

December 2008 through October 2009 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

INDEX 1 Volume 25  January 2009 

25:8 December 3, 2008 December 22, 2008 

25:9 December 16, 2008 (Tuesday) January 5, 2009 

25:10 December 30, 2008 (Tuesday) January 19, 2009 

25:11 January 14, 2009 February 2, 2009 

25:12 January 28, 2009 February 16, 2009 

25:13 February 11, 2009 March 2, 2009 

25:14 February 25, 2009 March 16, 2009 

INDEX 2 Volume 25  April 2009 

25:15 March 11, 2009 March 30, 2009 

25:16 March 25, 2009 April 13, 2009 

25:17 April 8, 2009 April 27, 2009 

25:18 April 22, 2009 May 11, 2009 

25:19 May 6, 2009 May 25, 2009 

25:20 May 20, 2009 June 8, 2009 

INDEX 3 Volume 25  July 2009 

25:21 June 3, 2009 June 22, 2009 

25:22 June 17, 2009 July 6, 2009 

25:23 July 1, 2009 July 20, 2009 

25:24 July 15, 2009 August 3, 2009 

25:25 July 29, 2009 August 17, 2009 

25:26 August 12, 2009 August 31, 2009 

FINAL INDEX Volume 25  October 2009 

26:1 August 26, 2009 September 14, 2009 

26:2 September 9, 2009 September 28, 2009 

26:3 September 23, 2009 October 12, 2009 

26:4 October 7, 2009 October 26, 2009 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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The table printed below lists regulation sections, by Virginia Administrative Code (VAC) title, that have been amended, 
added or repealed in the Virginia Register since the regulations were originally published or last supplemented in VAC (the 
Spring 2008 VAC Supplement includes final regulations published through Virginia Register Volume 24, Issue 7, dated 
December 10, 2007, and fast-track regulations published through Virginia Register Volume 24 Issue 10, dated January 21, 
2008). Emergency regulations, if any, are listed, followed by the designation "emer," and errata pertaining to final regulations 
are listed. Proposed regulations are not listed here. The table lists the sections in numerical order and shows action taken, the 
volume, issue and page number where the section appeared, and the effective date of the section. 

CUMULATIVE TABLE OF VIRGINIA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE SECTIONS ADOPTED, AMENDED, OR REPEALED 

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
Title 1. Administration 
1 VAC 30-10-10 through 1 VAC 30-10-70 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1170 1/1/09 
1 VAC 30-11-10 through 1 VAC 30-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1170-1173 1/1/09 
1 VAC 30-45-10 through 1 VAC 30-45-860 Added 25:7 VA.R. 1409-1413 1/1/09 
1 VAC 30-46-10 through 1 VAC 30-46-210 Added 25:7 VA.R. 1413-1417 1/1/09 
1 VAC 50-10-60 through 1 VAC 50-10-150 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 119 10/29/08 
1 VAC 50-11-10 through 1 VAC 50-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 119-122 10/29/08 
1 VAC 55-10-10 through 1 VAC 55-10-50 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 122 10/29/08 
1 VAC 55-11-10 through 1 VAC 55-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 122-125 10/29/08 
1 VAC 75-10-10 through 1 VAC 75-10-40 Repealed 24:25 VA.R. 3523 9/17/08 
1 VAC 75-11-10 through 1 VAC 75-11-110 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3523-3526 9/17/08 
Title 2. Agriculture 
2 VAC 5-10-10 through 2VAC5-10-70 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 342 11/12/08 
2 VAC 5-11-10 through 2VAC5-11-110 Added 25:3 VA.R. 343-345 11/12/08 
2 VAC 5-30-10 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2318 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-30-20 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2318 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-50-20 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2320 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-50-70 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2320 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-50-100 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2320 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-50-110 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2321 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-90-30 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2322 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-150-10 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2323 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-180-20 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2326 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-180-30 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2327 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-180-50 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2327 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-180-60 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2327 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-180-80 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2327 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-180-120 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2328 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-206-10 through 2 VAC 5-206-50 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3527-3531 10/3/08 
2 VAC 5-210-30 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1096 12/11/07 
2 VAC 5-210-41 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1097 12/11/07 
2 VAC 5-330-30 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 126 10/15/08 
2 VAC 5-335-10 through 2 VAC 5-335-130 Added 25:2 VA.R. 126-129 10/15/08 
2 VAC 5-390-180 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2023 3/11/08 
2 VAC 5-400-5 Added 24:17 VA.R. 2330 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-420-30 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2838 5/21/08 
2 VAC 5-420-80 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2840 5/21/08 
2 VAC 5-501-80 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2332 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-501-100 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2336 6/12/08 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
2 VAC 5-510-10 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2340 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-50 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2341 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-60 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2341 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-70 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2341 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-80 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2342 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-90 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2342 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-100 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2344 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-110 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2344 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-120 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2345 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-130 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2345 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-140 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2347 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-150 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2347 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-160 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2348 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-170 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2348 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-180 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2348 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-190 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2348 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-200 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2349 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-210 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2349 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-220 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2349 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-230 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2349 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-240 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2349 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-250 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2349 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-260 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2349 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-270 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2350 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-290 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2350 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-300 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2350 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-310 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2350 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-320 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2350 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-330 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2350 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-340 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2351 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-350 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2351 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-360 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2351 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-390 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2351 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-400 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2352 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-410 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2352 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-420 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2352 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-500 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2352 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-510-510 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2353 6/12/08 
2 VAC 5-531-50 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2235 5/29/08 
2 VAC 5-531-140 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2241 5/29/08 
2 VAC 15-11-10 through 2 VAC 15-11-120 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 576 11/26/08 
2 VAC 15-12-10 through 2 VAC 15-12-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 577-579 11/26/08 
2 VAC 15-20-81 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2242 4/14/08 
2 VAC 20-10-10 through 2 VAC 20-10-120 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 792 12/10/08 
2 VAC 20-10-80 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3331 9/18/08 
2 VAC 20-10-100 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3331 9/18/08 
2 VAC 20-10-110 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3331 9/18/08 
2 VAC 20-11-10 through 2 VAC 20-11-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 792-795 12/10/08 
2 VAC 20-20-70 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2355 6/12/08 
2 VAC 20-20-130 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2355 6/12/08 
2 VAC 20-20-210 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2355 6/12/08 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
2 VAC 20-40-50 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2357 6/12/08 
2 VAC 20-51-10 through 2 VAC 20-51-50 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 346-350 12/1/08 
2 VAC 20-51-70 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 350 12/1/08 
2 VAC 20-51-90  Amended 25:3 VA.R. 351 12/1/08 
2 VAC 20-51-100 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 351 12/1/08 
2 VAC 20-51-160 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 351 12/1/08 
2 VAC 20-51-170 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 352 12/1/08 
2 VAC 20-51-200 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 352 12/1/08 
2 VAC 20-51-210 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 352 12/1/08 
Title 3. Alcoholic Beverages 
3 VAC 5-10-480 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1173 12/24/08 
3 VAC 5-11-10 through 3 VAC 5-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1175-1178 12/24/08 
3 VAC 5-50-140 emer Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1344 1/9/08-1/8/09 
3 VAC 5-50-145 emer Added 24:11 VA.R. 1345 1/9/08-1/8/09 
3 VAC 5-70-220 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1891 5/1/08 
3 VAC 5-70-225 emer Added 24:10 VA.R. 1257 1/2/08-1/1/09 
Title 4. Conservation and Natural Resources 
4 VAC 3-10-10 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 129 10/29/08 
4 VAC 3-10-20 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 129 10/29/08 
4 VAC 3-10-30 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 129 10/29/08 
4 VAC 3-11-10 through 4 VAC 3-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 130-132 10/29/08 
4 VAC 5-10-10 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 132 10/29/08 
4 VAC 5-10-20 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 132 10/29/08 
4 VAC 5-10-30 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 132 10/29/08 
4 VAC 5-11-10 through 4 VAC 5-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 133-136 10/29/08 
4 VAC 5-36-50 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1178 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-60 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1183 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-70 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1184 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-90 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1185 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-100 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1187 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-110 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1191 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-115 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1192 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-120 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1192 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-140 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1193 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-150 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1195 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-180 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1198 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-200 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1199 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-210 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1204 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-50-10 through 4 VAC 5-50-170 Repealed 24:17 VA.R. 2357 5/28/08 
4 VAC 10-10-10 through 4 VAC 10-10-30 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1208 12/24/08 
4 VAC 10-11-10 through 4 VAC 10-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1209-1212 12/24/08 
4 VAC 15-20-50 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1258 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-20-130 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1259 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-20-200 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1261 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-20-210 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1261 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-30-5 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1262 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-30-40 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1262 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-40-30 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3108 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-40-70 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3108 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-40-190 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3109 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-40-210 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3109 7/1/08 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
4 VAC 15-40-220 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3109 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-50-20 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3109 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-50-25 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3109 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-50-71 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3332 7/8/08 
4 VAC 15-50-81 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3109 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-50-91 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3110 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-70-50 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3111 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-70-70 Added 24:23 VA.R. 3111 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-90-22 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3111 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-90-70 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3112 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-90-80 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3112 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-90-80 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3332 7/8/08 
4 VAC 15-90-90 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3113 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-90-91 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3114 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-110-10 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3117 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-110-75 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3118 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-240-11 Added 24:23 VA.R. 3118 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-240-20 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3118 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-240-31 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3118 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-240-40 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3118 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-240-50 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3119 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-240-51 Added 24:23 VA.R. 3119 7/1/08 
4 VAC 15-260-140 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3333 7/8/08 
4 VAC 15-270-50 Repealed 24:24 VA.R. 3334 7/8/08 
4 VAC 15-320-25 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1265 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-30 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1272 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-100 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1272 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-120 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1272 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-160 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1272 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-171 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1273 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-330-200 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1273 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-340-10 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1273 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-340-30 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1274 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-350-20 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1275 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-350-30 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1275 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-350-60 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1275 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-350-70 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1275 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-360-10 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1276 1/1/08 
4 VAC 15-410-10 through 4 VAC 15-410-160 Added 24:23 VA.R. 3119-3125 7/1/08 
4 VAC 20-20-50 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1212 11/1/08 
4 VAC 20-40-10 through 4 VAC 20-40-40 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2749 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-90-10 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2749 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-90-20 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2749 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-90-30 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2749 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-140-10 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2917 3/17/09 
4 VAC 20-140-20 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2917 3/17/09 
4 VAC 20-140-25 Added 24:21 VA.R. 2917 3/17/09 
4 VAC 20-150-30 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1277 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-252-55 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1278 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-252-90 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1213 11/1/08 
4 VAC 20-252-100 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1213 11/1/08 
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4 VAC 20-252-120 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1278 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-252-150 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1279 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-252-160 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1279 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-252-230 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1281 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-260-35 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 353 10/1/08-10/31/08 
4 VAC 20-260-35 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1213 11/1/08 
4 VAC 20-260-40 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 353 10/1/08-10/31/08 
4 VAC 20-260-40 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1213 11/1/08 
4 VAC 20-270-10 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2751 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-270-10 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2918 6/1/08 
4 VAC 20-270-30 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2750 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-270-40 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2750 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-270-50 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2750 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-270-50 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2751 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-270-50 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2918 6/1/08 
4 VAC 20-270-55 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2023 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-270-55 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2751 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-270-56 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2751 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-270-58 Added 24:19 VA.R. 2751 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-320-50 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1456 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-450-30 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2918 6/1/08 
4 VAC 20-530-20 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1456 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-530-31 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1735 2/5/08 
4 VAC 20-530-32 Repealed 24:12 VA.R. 1457 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-610-20 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 959 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-610-25 Added 24:8 VA.R. 959 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-610-30 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 960 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-610-30 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2024 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-610-50 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 961 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-610-60 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 961 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-620-20 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 354 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-620-30 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1281 12/27/07 
4 VAC 20-620-30 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 354 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-620-40 emer Amended 24:8 VA.R. 962 11/28/07-12/27/07 
4 VAC 20-620-40 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1282 12/27/07 
4 VAC 20-620-40 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 355 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-620-50 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2025 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-620-70 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2026 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-670-20 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2752 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-670-25 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2752 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-670-30 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2752 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-670-40 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2753 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-700-10 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2753 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-700-15 emer Added 24:19 VA.R. 2753 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-700-15 Added 24:21 VA.R. 2918 6/1/08 
4 VAC 20-700-20 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2026 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-700-20 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2754 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-700-20 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2919 6/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-20 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 357 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-40 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1457 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-40 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 359 10/1/08 
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4 VAC 20-720-50 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1458 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-50 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 360 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-60 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1458 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-60 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 360 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-70 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 360 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-75 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 361 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-80 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1458 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-80 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 361 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-95 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 361 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-100 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 361 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-106 emer Amended 25:1 VA.R. 24 9/1/08-9/30/08 
4 VAC 20-720-106 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 361 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-750-10 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2026 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-750-10 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2754 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-750-30 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2026 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-750-30 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2754 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-750-40 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2754 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-750-50 Repealed 24:19 VA.R. 2754 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-751-10 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 362 9/29/08-10/28/08 
4 VAC 20-751-15 Added 24:15 VA.R. 2027 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-751-15 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 362 9/29/08-10/28/08 
4 VAC 20-751-20 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2027 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-751-20 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 362 9/29/08-10/28/08 
4 VAC 20-751-20 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1214 10/29/08 
4 VAC 20-752-20 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2754 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-752-30 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2246 4/1/08 
4 VAC 20-752-30 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2755 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-880-10 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2755 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-880-10 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2919 6/1/08 
4 VAC 20-880-20 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2755 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-880-20 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2756 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-880-30 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2757 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-880-30 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2757 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-880-30 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2919 6/1/08 
4 VAC 20-910-45 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3537 8/1/08 
4 VAC 20-910-45 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1214 11/1/08 
4 VAC 20-950-47 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2028 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-950-48 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2028 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-950-48.1 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2029 3/1/08 
4 VAC 20-960-45 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 964 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-960-47 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 964 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-1040-20 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 964 1/1/08 
4 VAC 20-1040-35 Added 24:12 VA.R. 1459 2/1/08 
4 VAC 20-1090-10 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2757 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-1090-30 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 965 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-1090-30 emer Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2757 5/1/08-5/31/08 
4 VAC 20-1090-30 Amended 24:19 VA.R. 2760 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-1090-30 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2920 6/1/08 
4 VAC 20-1130-10 through 4 VAC 20-1130-70 Added 24:8 VA.R. 968-970 12/1/07 
4 VAC 20-1140-10 Added 24:19 VA.R. 2763 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-1140-20 Added 24:19 VA.R. 2763 4/30/08 
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4 VAC 20-1140-30 Added 24:19 VA.R. 2763 4/30/08 
4 VAC 20-1150-10 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3538 8/1/08 
4 VAC 20-1150-20 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3538 8/1/08 
4 VAC 20-1170-10 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1215 12/1/08 
4 VAC 20-1170-20 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1215 12/1/08 
4 VAC 25-10-10 through 4 VAC 25-10-90 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 795 12/25/08 
4 VAC 25-11-10 through 4 VAC 25-11-120 Added 25:5 VA.R. 797-800 12/25/08 
4 VAC 25-130 (Forms) Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1424 -- 
4 VAC 25-150-90 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2359 6/12/08 
4 VAC 50-10-10 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 137 10/29/08 
4 VAC 50-10-20 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 137 10/29/08 
4 VAC 50-10-30 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 137 10/29/08 
4 VAC 50-11-10 through 4 VAC 50-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 138-141 10/29/08 
4 VAC 50-20-20 through 4 VAC 50-20-90 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3539-3554 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-51 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3544 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-52 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3545 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-54 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3545 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-58 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3546 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-59 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3546 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-100 through 4 VAC 50-20-140 Repealed 24:25 VA.R. 3554-3558 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-105 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3554 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-125 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3557 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-150 through 4 VAC 50-20-240 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3558-3563 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-155 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3558 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-165 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3559 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-175 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3560 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-177 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3561 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-250 Repealed 24:25 VA.R. 3564 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-260 through 4 VAC 50-20-320 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3564-3565 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-330 through 4 VAC 50-20-400 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3565-3567 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-60-10 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2842 7/9/08 
4 VAC 50-60-1200 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2852 7/9/08 
4 VAC 50-60-1210 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2853 7/9/08 
4 VAC 50-60-1220 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2854 7/9/08 
4 VAC 50-60-1230 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2854 7/9/08 
4 VAC 50-60-1240 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2856 7/9/08 
Title 5. Corporations 
5 VAC 5-20-20 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1347 2/15/08 
5 VAC 5-20-140 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1347 2/15/08 
5 VAC 5-20-150 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1348 2/15/08 
5 VAC 5-20-170 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1348 2/15/08 
5 VAC 5-20-240 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1349 2/15/08 
Title 6. Criminal Justice and Corrections 
6 VAC 15-10-10 through 6 VAC 15-10-100 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 363 11/15/08 
6 VAC 15-11-10 through 6 VAC 15-11-110 Added 25:3 VA.R. 363-366 11/15/08 
6 VAC 15-31-320 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3568 9/18/08 
6 VAC 15-61-10 through 6 VAC 15-61-300 Repealed 24:8 VA.R. 970 1/24/08 
6 VAC 15-62-10 through 6 VAC 15-62-120 Added 24:8 VA.R. 970-979 1/24/08 
6 VAC 15-62-110 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1736 3/3/08 
6 VAC 15-62 (Forms) Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1523 -- 
6 VAC 15-70-10 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 367 11/15/08 
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6 VAC 15-70-40 through 6 VAC 15-70-130 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 367-372 11/15/08 
6 VAC 15-70-160 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 372 11/15/08 
6 VAC 20-80-10 through 6 VAC 20-80-90 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3127-3132 9/1/08 
6 VAC 20-80-100 Repealed 24:23 VA.R. 3132 9/1/08 
6 VAC 20-80-110 Repealed 24:23 VA.R. 3132 9/1/08 
6 VAC 20-160-10 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 141 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-20 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 142 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-30 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 142 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-40 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 143 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-60 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 144 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-70 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 144 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-80 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 144 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-100 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 145 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-120 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 145 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-171-10 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3134 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
6 VAC 20-171-50 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3137 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
6 VAC 20-171-120 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3138 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
6 VAC 20-171-230 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3139 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
6 VAC 20-171-320 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3141 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
6 VAC 20-171-350 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3142 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
6 VAC 20-171-360 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3145 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
6 VAC 20-250-10 through 6 VAC 20-250-380 Added 24:23 VA.R. 3146-3161 8/20/08 
6 VAC 35-10-10 through 6 VAC 35-10-150 Repealed 24:25 VA.R. 3573 9/17/08 
6 VAC 35-11-10 through 6 VAC 35-11-110 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3574-3576 9/17/08 
6 VAC 35-20-37 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 373 8/1/07-1/31/09 
6 VAC 35-20-37 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 626 12/12/08 
6 VAC 35-51-10 through 6 VAC 35-51-1100 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3577-3610 9/17/08 
6 VAC 35-140-46 Added 25:3 VA.R. 376 12/12/08 
6 VAC 40-10-10 through 6 VAC 40-10-90 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 146 10/30/08 
6 VAC 40-11-10 through 6 VAC 40-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 147-149 10/30/08 
6 VAC 40-20-30 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3718 10/16/08 
6 VAC 40-20-120 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3718 10/16/08 
6 VAC 40-20-130 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3718 10/16/08 
6 VAC 40-20-160 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3718 10/16/08 
6 VAC 40-50-10 through 6 VAC 40-50-80 Added 24:9 VA.R. 1103-1104 2/6/08 
Title 7. Economic Development 
7 VAC 10-20-10 through 7 VAC 10-20-350 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3719 9/1/08 
7 VAC 10-21-10 through 7 VAC 10-21-610 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3719-3729 9/1/08 
Title 8. Education 
8 VAC 20-650-30 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2936 9/15/08 
8 VAC 35-60-20 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 800 11/10/08 
8 VAC 40-10-10 through 8 VAC 40-10-90 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 376 1/1/09 
8 VAC 40-11-10 through 8 VAC 40-11-110 Added 25:3 VA.R. 377-379 1/1/09 
Title 9. Environment 
9 VAC 5-5-10 through 9 VAC 5-5-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 801-804 1/1/09 
9 VAC 5-80-5 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1231 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-15 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1234 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-25 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1234 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-35 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1235 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-150 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1237 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-230 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1237 12/31/08 
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9 VAC 5-80-270 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1238 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-510 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1239 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-590 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1241 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-670 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1241 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-860 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1243 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-990 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1243 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1020 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1244 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1100 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1258 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1110 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1259 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1160 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1244 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1170 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1245 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1290 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1246 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1320 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1264 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1450 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1247 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1460 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1248 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1615 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1218 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1695 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1229 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1765 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1249 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1773 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1251 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1775 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1251 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1955 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1253 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-2060 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1254 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-2070 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1255 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-2230 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1256 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-91-20 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1268 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-140-900 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1275 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-140-920 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1275 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-140-930 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1275 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-151-10 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1276 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-151-20 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1278 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-151-40 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1279 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-151-61 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1279 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-151-70 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1280 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-170-20 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 804 1/1/09 
9 VAC 5-170-30 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1256 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-170-40 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 806 1/1/09 
9 VAC 5-170-80 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 807 1/1/09 
9 VAC 5-170-90 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 807 1/1/09 
9 VAC 5-170-100 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 807 1/1/09 
9 VAC 5-170-110 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 809 1/1/09 
9 VAC 5-170-180 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1256 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-170-190 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1257 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-170-200 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1257 12/31/08 
9 VAC 10-10-10 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 627 11/26/08 
9 VAC 10-10-20 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 627 11/26/08 
9 VAC 10-10-30 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 627 11/26/08 
9 VAC 10-11-10 through 9 VAC 10-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 627-630 11/26/08 
9 VAC 10-20-120 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3040 8/6/08 
9 VAC 15-10-10 through 9 VAC 15-10-40 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 809 1/1/09 
9 VAC 15-11-10 through 9 VAC 15-11-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 810-813 1/1/09 
9 VAC 20-60-18 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1106 2/6/08 
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9 VAC 20-80-10 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 150 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-60 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 160 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-250 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 166 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-260 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 176 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-270 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 183 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-280 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 191 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-485 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 193 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-500 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 200 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-510 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 203 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-10-10 through 9 VAC 25-10-40 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 813 1/1/09 
9 VAC 25-11-10 through 9 VAC 25-11-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 813-816 1/1/09 
9 VAC 25-32 (Forms) Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1738 -- 
9 VAC 25-120-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1107 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-120-20 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1107 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-120-50 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1108 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-120-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1108 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-120-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1108 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-120-80 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1109 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-120-80 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2502 6/11/08 
9 VAC 25-193-40 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2517 6/11/08 
9 VAC 25-193-70 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2517 6/11/08 
9 VAC 25-196-20 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1124 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-196-40 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1124 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-196-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1124 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-196-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1125 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-196-70 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2532 6/11/08 
9 VAC 25-210-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1132 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-210-10 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 894 12/10/08 
9 VAC 25-210-50 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 898 12/10/08 
9 VAC 25-210-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1136 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-210-60 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 898 12/10/08 
9 VAC 25-210-116 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1140 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-210-130 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1142 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-210-130 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 902 12/10/08 
9 VAC 25-210-220 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 903 12/10/08 
9 VAC 25-260-30 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1741 10/22/08 
9 VAC 25-260-30 Amending 24:26 VA.R. 3747 8/12/08 
9 VAC 25-260-30 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 904 10/22/08 
9 VAC 25-640 Appendices I through IX Amended  25:2 VA.R. 217-231 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-10 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 206 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-20 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 209 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-30 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 209 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-50 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 210 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-70 through 9 VAC 25-640-120 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 210-213 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-130 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 213 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-150 through 9 VAC 25-640-230 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 213-217 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-250 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 217 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-660-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1144 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-660-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1145 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-660-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1147 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-660-80 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1148 2/6/08 
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9 VAC 25-660-100 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1148 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-670-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1156 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-670-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1157 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-670-80 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1158 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-670-100 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1159 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-680-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1170 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-680-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1172 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-680-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1174 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-680-80 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1175 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-680-100 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1176 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-690-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1188 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-690-70 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1190 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-690-80 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1191 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-690-100 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1191 2/6/08 
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2540 6/11/08 
9 VAC 25-720-120 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2940 8/7/08 
9 VAC 25-720-130 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2548 6/11/08 
9 VAC 25-740-10 through 9 VAC 25-740-210 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3748-3773 10/1/08 
9 VAC 25-790 (Forms) Added 25:6 VA.R. 1285 -- 
9 VAC 25-820-10 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2942 8/7/08 
9 VAC 25-820-20 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2944 8/7/08 
9 VAC 25-820-70 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2944 8/7/08 
9 VAC 25-860-10 through 9 VAC 25-860-70 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1285-1295 12/24/08 
Title 10. Finance and Financial Institutions 
10 VAC 5-20-30 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3043 6/23/08 
10 VAC 5-40-5 Added 24:22 VA.R. 3045 7/1/08 
10 VAC 5-40-60 Added 24:22 VA.R. 3045 7/1/08 
10 VAC 5-160-10 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3775 8/10/08 
10 VAC 5-160-70 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3776 8/10/08 
10 VAC 5-160-80 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3776 8/10/08 
10 VAC 5-200-10 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 637 1/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-20 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 637 1/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-33 Added 25:4 VA.R. 638 1/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-35 Added 25:4 VA.R. 639 1/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-40 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 641 1/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-60 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 642 1/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-70 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 642 1/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-80 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 643 1/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 646 1/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-115 Added 25:4 VA.R. 651 1/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-120 Added 25:4 VA.R. 650 1/1/09 
Title 11. Gaming 
11 VAC 10-10-10 through 11 VAC 10-10-70 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 904 12/10/08 
11 VAC 10-11-10 through 11 VAC 10-11-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 905-907 12/10/08 
11 VAC 10-130-60 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2247 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-10 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2247 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-20 Repealed 24:16 VA.R. 2248 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-25 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2250 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-35 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2250 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-60 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2251 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-70 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2256 4/14/08 
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11 VAC 10-180-75 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2256 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-80 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2257 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-85 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2258 4/14/08 
11 VAC 10-180-110 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2259 4/14/08 
11 VAC 15-12-10 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 651 11/26/08 
11 VAC 15-12-20 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 651 11/26/08 
11 VAC 15-13-10 through 11 VAC 15-13-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 652-654 11/26/08 
Title 12. Health 
12 VAC 5-10-10 through 12 VAC 5-10-80 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 654 1/1/09 
12 VAC 5-11-10 through 12 VAC 5-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 655-657 1/1/09 
12 VAC 5-67-10 emer Added 25:4 VA.R. 658 11/1/08-10/31/09 
12 VAC 5-67-20 emer Added 25:4 VA.R. 658 11/1/08-10/31/09 
12 VAC 5-67-30 emer Added 25:4 VA.R. 658 11/1/08-10/31/09 
12 VAC 5-90-370 Added 24:19 VA.R. 2777 7/1/08 
12 VAC 5-195-10 through 12 VAC 5-195-670 Added 24:19 VA.R. 2778-2802 5/26/08 
12 VAC 5-220-10 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1350 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-220-110 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1353 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-220-110 Amended 25:1 VA.R. 26 10/15/08 
12 VAC 5-220-130 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1354 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-220-160 Amended 25:1 VA.R. 25 10/15/08 
12 VAC 5-220-200 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1354 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-220-200 Amended 25:1 VA.R. 26 10/15/08 
12 VAC 5-371-150 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1357 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-381-10 through 12VAC5-381-40 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1358-1361 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-381-60 through 12VAC5-381-100 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1361-1362 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-381-120 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1362 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-381-140 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1362 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-381-150 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1362 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-381-240 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1363 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-381-280 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1363 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-10 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1364 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-30 through 12 VAC 5-391-100 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1366-1368 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-120 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1368 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-130 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1368 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-150 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1369 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-160 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1369 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-250 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1370 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-391-280 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1370 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-410-230 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1371 3/5/08 
12 VAC 5-481-10 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2566 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-10 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 231 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-481-20 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2592 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-30 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2592 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-90 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2592 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-100 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2593 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-110 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2593 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-130 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2594 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-150 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2594 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-200 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2594 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-230 through 12 VAC 5-481-270 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2594-2595 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-340 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2595 6/12/08 
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12 VAC 5-481-370 through 12 VAC 5-481-450 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2597-2607 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-390 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 256 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-481-400 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 256 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-481-450 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 257 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-481-451 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3612 10/3/08 
12 VAC 5-481-460 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2607 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-470 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2608 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-480 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2610 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-480 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 260 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-481-500 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2619 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-510 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2620 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-530 through 12 VAC 5-481-590 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2622-2626 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-571 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2624 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-630 through 12 VAC 5-481-760 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2626-2629 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-780 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2629 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-790 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2629 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-800 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2629 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-810 through 12 VAC 5-481-910 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2630-2631 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-930 through 12 VAC 5-481-1050 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2632-2633 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-971 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2632 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1070 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2633 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1090 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2633 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1100 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2633 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1110 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2633 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1130 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2634 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1151 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2634 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1160 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2635 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1161 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2635 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1190 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2637 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1200 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2638 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1220 through 12 VAC 5-481-1250 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2639-2640 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1270 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2640 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1300 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2640 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1310 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2641 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1320 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2641 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1350 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2644 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1380 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2644 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1420 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2644 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1440 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2644 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1490 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2645 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1520 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2645 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1540 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2645 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1550 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2646 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1560 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2646 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1570 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2647 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-1670 through 12 VAC 5-481-2040 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2647-2650 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2001 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2649 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2050 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2650 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2060 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2651 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2070 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2651 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2080 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2651 6/12/08 
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12 VAC 5-481-2100 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2651 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2230 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2652 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2240 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2653 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2260 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2653 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2270 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2653 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2280 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2654 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2330 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2654 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2420 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2654 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2430 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2655 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2470 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2655 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2490 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2655 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2510 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2656 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2530 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2656 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2540 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2656 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2550 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2657 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2571 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2657 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2572 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2659 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2573 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2660 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2660 through 12 VAC 5-481-2950 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2660-2661 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2870 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 267 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2970 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2661 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2980 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2662 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3000 through 12 VAC 5-481-3040 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2663-2665 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3070 through 12 VAC 5-481-3140 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2667-2670 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3050 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2665 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3051 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2666 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3091 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2668 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3151 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2670 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3160 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2671 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3160 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 267 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3200 through 12 VAC 5-481-3270 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2671-2675 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3241 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2673 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3261 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2674 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3290 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2675 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3300 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2675 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3340 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2675 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3350 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2675 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3400 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2676 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3430 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2677 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3440 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2683 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3480 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2684 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3490 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2684 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3510 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2684 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3520 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2685 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3530 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2685 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3560 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2686 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3580 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2687 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3600 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2687 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3610 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2688 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3650 Amended 24:18 VA.R. 2688 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3670 Repealed 24:18 VA.R. 2689 6/12/08 
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12 VAC 5-481-3680 through 12 VAC 5-481-3780 Added 24:18 VA.R. 2689-2715 6/12/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3710 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 267 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-590-10 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 908 12/10/08 
12 VAC 5-590-370 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 916 12/10/08 
12 VAC 5-590-410 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 955 12/10/08 
12 VAC 5-590-420 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 959 12/10/08 
12 VAC 5-590-440 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 994 12/10/08 
12 VAC 5-590-500 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 998 12/10/08 
12 VAC 5-590-530 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 999 12/10/08 
12 VAC 5-590-540 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1011 12/10/08 
12 VAC 5-590-545 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1016 12/10/08 
12 VAC 5-590-550 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1021 12/10/08 
12 VAC 30-5-10 through 12 VAC 30-5-110 Added 25:3 VA.R. 380-383 11/12/08 
12 VAC 30-10-815 Added 25:4 VA.R. 662 11/26/08 
12 VAC 30-40-290 emer Amended 25:1 VA.R. 35 8/27/08-8/26/09 
12 VAC 30-50-130 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3165 7/2/08 - 7/1/09 
12 VAC 30-50-130 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1041 12/10/08 
12 VAC 30-50-140 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-50-150 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-50-180 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-50-228 emer Added 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-50-229.1 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 1045 12/10/08 
12 VAC 30-50-491 emer Added 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-50-530 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1049 12/10/08 
12 VAC 30-60-180 emer Added 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-60-185 emer Added 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-60-500 emer Added 25:3 VA.R. 384 8/8/07-2/7/09 
12 VAC 30-70-70 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 387 11/27/08 
12 VAC 30-70-221 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2959 7/23/08 
12 VAC 30-70-261 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 388 11/27/08 
12 VAC 30-70-271 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 388 11/27/08 
12 VAC 30-70-311 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3778 10/15/08 
12 VAC 30-70-321 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3778 10/15/08 
12 VAC 30-70-500 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 389 11/27/08 
12 VAC 30-80-30 Erratum 24:17 VA.R. 2473 -- 
12 VAC 30-80-30 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2962 7/23/08 
12 VAC 30-80-32 emer Added 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-80-40 emer Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3617 8/4/08-8/3/09 
12 VAC 30-80-75 Added 24:21 VA.R. 2965 7/23/08 
12 VAC 30-80-190 emer Amended 25:1 VA.R. 41 8/27/08-8/26/09 
12 VAC 30-90-41 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3778 10/15/08 
12 VAC 30-90-264 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 390 11/27/08 
12 VAC 30-100-10 through 12 VAC 30-100-60 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 383-384 11/12/08 
12 VAC 30-100-170 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3622 10/2/08 
12 VAC 30-120-70 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3168 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-90 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3169 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-100 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3781 10/15/08 
12 VAC 30-120-140 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3171 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-211 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3174 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-213 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3177 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-225 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3178 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 



Cumulative Table of VAC Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed 

Volume 25, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 22, 2008 

1470 

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
12 VAC 30-120-229 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3181 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-237 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3182 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-247 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3184 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-310 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-120-370 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 393 9/1/07-3/3/09 
12 VAC 30-120-380 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 393 9/1/07-3/3/09 
12 VAC 30-120-380 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-120-700 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3185 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-710 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3189 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-754 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3190 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-758 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3191 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-762 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3192 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-770 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3193 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-900 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3195 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-910 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3197 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-920 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3198 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-970 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3200 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-1500 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3202 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-1550 emer Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3204 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-2000 emer Added 24:23 VA.R. 3206 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-120-2010 emer Added 24:23 VA.R. 3207 7/1/08 - 6/30/09 
12 VAC 30-135-10 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3783 10/16/08 
12 VAC 30-135-20 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3783 10/16/08 
12 VAC 30-135-30 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3783 10/16/08 
12 VAC 30-135-40 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3783 10/16/08 
12 VAC 30-135-70 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3784 10/16/08 
12 VAC 35-11-10 through 12 VAC 35-11-110 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 271 10/29/08 
12 VAC 35-12-10 through 12 VAC 35-12-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 271-274 10/29/08 
12 VAC 35-105-115 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1372 3/5/08 
Title 13. Housing 
13 VAC 5-10-10 through 13 VAC 5-10-120 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 666 11/26/08 
13 VAC 5-11-10 through 13 VAC 5-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 667-669 11/26/08 
13 VAC 5-21-10 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1894 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-21-20 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1894 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-21-31 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1895 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-21-41 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1895 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-21-45 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1895 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-21-51 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1895 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-21-61 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1896 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-31-20 through 13 VAC 5-31-50 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1897-1898 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-31-70 through 13 VAC 5-31-170 Repealed 24:14 VA.R. 1898-1903 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-31-75 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1898 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-31-85 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1900 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-31-200 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1904 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-31-210 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1904 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-31-215 through 13 VAC 5-31-270 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1904-1905 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-21 through 13 VAC 5-51-51 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1907-1910 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-81 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1910 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-81 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3622 10/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-85 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1921 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-91 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1924 5/1/08 
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13 VAC 5-51-130 through 13 VAC 5-51-135 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1925-1928 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-143 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1928 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-145 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1932 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-150 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1932 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-152 Repealed 24:14 VA.R. 1937 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-154 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1937 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-51-155 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1939 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-10 through 13 VAC 5-63-50 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-70 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-80 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-100 through 13 VAC 5-63-130 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-150 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-160 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-190 through 13 VAC 5-63-260 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-225 Repealed 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-265 Repealed 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-267 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-270 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-280 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-300 through 13 VAC 5-63-360 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-335 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-400 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-430 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-432 Repealed 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-434 through 13 VAC 5-63-450 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-470 through 13 VAC 5-63-500 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-520 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-525 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-550 Repealed 24:14 VA.R. 1941 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-91-20 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1943 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-91-100 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1943 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-91-110 Repealed 24:14 VA.R. 1944 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-91-115 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1944 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-91-120 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1944 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-91-160 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1945 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-91-270 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1945 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-95-10 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1947 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-95-30 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1948 5/1/08 
13 VAC 5-112-340 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 979 1/23/08 
13 VAC 5-200-10 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3784 10/1/08 
13 VAC 5-200-40 through 13 VAC 5-200-80 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3784-3785 10/1/08 
13 VAC 5-200-100 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3785 10/1/08 
13 VAC 6-10-10 through 13 VAC 6-10-120 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 394 11/13/08 
13 VAC 6-11-10 through 13 VAC 6-11-110 Added 25:3 VA.R. 394-397 11/13/08 
13 VAC 10-180-10 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1373 2/4/08 
13 VAC 10-180-40 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1418 1/1/09 
13 VAC 10-180-50 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1374 2/4/08 
13 VAC 10-180-50 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1419 1/1/09 
13 VAC 10-180-60 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1376 2/4/08 
13 VAC 10-180-60 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1387 2/4/08 
13 VAC 10-180-60 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1421 1/1/09 
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13 VAC 10-180-100 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1397 2/4/08 
Title 14. Insurance 
14 VAC 5-30-30 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2153 4/1/08 
14 VAC 5-200-185 Amended 24:15 VA.R. 2155 4/1/08 
14 VAC 5-211-50 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3063 7/1/08 
14 VAC 5-211-90 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3063 7/1/08 
14 VAC 5-211-100 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3063 7/1/08 
14 VAC 5-215 (Forms) Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2452 -- 
14 VAC 5-270-10 through 14 VAC 5-270-150 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1460-1470 1/1/10 
14 VAC 5-270-144 Added 24:12 VA.R. 1467 1/1/10 
14 VAC 5-270-146 Added 24:12 VA.R. 1468 1/1/10 
14 VAC 5-270-148 Added 24:12 VA.R. 1469 1/1/10 
14 VAC 5-270-170 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1470 1/1/10 
14 VAC 5-270-174 Added 24:12 VA.R. 1470 1/1/10 
14 VAC 5-270-180 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1470 1/1/10 
14 VAC 5-395-40 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3811 8/29/08 
Title 15. Judicial 
15 VAC 5-80-50 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3211 7/1/08 
Title 16. Labor and Employment 
16 VAC 15-10-10 through 16 VAC 15-10-100 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 672 11/26/08 
16 VAC 15-11-10 through 16 VAC 15-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 672-675 11/26/08 
16 VAC 15-21-30 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3213 8/21/08 
16 VAC 15-30-40 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3632 9/18/08 
16 VAC 15-30-190 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3214 8/21/08 
16 VAC 20-10-10 through 16 VAC 20-10-100 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 675 11/27/08 
16 VAC 20-11-10 through 16 VAC 20-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 676-678 11/27/08 
16 VAC 20-20-20 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3065 8/7/08 
16 VAC 20-20-40 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3066 8/7/08 
16 VAC 20-20-50 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3068 8/7/08 
16 VAC 20-20-60 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3069 8/7/08 
16 VAC 20-20-80 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3070 8/7/08 
16 VAC 20-20-110 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3070 8/7/08 
16 VAC 25-10-10 through 16 VAC 25-10-120 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3811 10/1/08 
16 VAC 25-11-10 through 16 VAC 25-11-110 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3811-3814 10/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.6 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.68 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.94 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.103 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.107 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.110 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.111 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.132 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2263 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.144 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.243 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.251 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.253 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.261 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2262 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-100-1915.152 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2263 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-120-1917.96 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2263 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-130-1918.106 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2263 6/1/08 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.95 Added 24:16 VA.R. 2263 6/1/08 
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16 VAC 30-11-10 through 16 VAC 30-11-30 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1307 12/24/08 
16 VAC 30-12-10 through 16 VAC 30-12-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1307-1310 12/24/08 
Title 17. Libraries and Cultural Resources 
17 VAC 5-10-10 through 17 VAC 5-10-40 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1310 12/24/08 
17 VAC 5-11-10 through 17 VAC 5-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1311-1313 12/24/08 
17 VAC 10-10-10 through 17 VAC 10-10-40 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1313 12/24/08 
17 VAC 10-11-10 through 17 VAC 10-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1314-1316 12/24/08 
17 VAC 15-10-10 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 1064 12/10/08 
17 VAC 15-11-10 through 17 VAC 15-11-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 1065-1067 12/10/08 
17 VAC 15-120-10 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1317 12/24/08 
17 VAC 15-120-20 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1317 12/24/08 
17 VAC 15-120-30 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1317 12/24/08 
Title 18. Professional and Occupational Licensing 
18 VAC 5-10-10 through 18 VAC 5-10-90 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 678 11/26/08 
18 VAC 5-11-10 through 18 VAC 5-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 679-682 11/26/08 
18 VAC 10-10-10 through 18 VAC 10-10-90 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 682 11/27/08 
18 VAC 10-11-10 through 18 VAC 10-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 682-685 11/27/08 
18 VAC 10-20-10 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 397 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-120 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 399 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-120 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1068 1/1/09 
18 VAC 10-20-140 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1068 1/1/09 
18 VAC 10-20-280 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 399 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-295 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 400 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-310 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 400 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-310 Erratum 25:7 VA.R. 1451 -- 
18 VAC 10-20-340 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 401 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-350 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 401 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-360 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 401 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-380 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 402 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-382 Added 25:3 VA.R. 403 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-392 Added 25:3 VA.R. 404 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-395 Added 25:3 VA.R. 404 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-760 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 404 12/1/08 
18 VAC 15-10-10 through 18 VAC 15-10-90 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 55 10/15/08 
18 VAC 15-11-10 through 18 VAC 15-11-110 Added 25:1 VA.R. 55-58 10/15/08 
18 VAC 15-20-451 Amended 24:17 VA.R. 2455 8/1/08 
18 VAC 25-10-10 through 18 VAC 25-10-90 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1318 12/24/08 
18 VAC 25-11-10 through 18 VAC 25-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1319-1321 12/24/08 
18 VAC 25-21-20 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1431 2/1/09 
18 VAC 25-21-40 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1432 2/1/09 
18 VAC 25-21-50 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1432 2/1/09 
18 VAC 25-21-60 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1432 2/1/09 
18 VAC 25-21-110 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1433 2/1/09 
18 VAC 25-21-120 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1433 2/1/09 
18 VAC 25-21-150 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1433 2/1/09 
18 VAC 25-21-170 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1434 2/1/09 
18 VAC 25-21-180 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1434 2/1/09 
18 VAC 25-21-185 Added 25:7 VA.R. 1435 2/1/09 
18 VAC 30-10-10 through 18 VAC 30-10-120 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 1070 12/10/08 
18 VAC 30-11-10 through 18 VAC 30-11-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 1070-1073 12/10/08 
18 VAC 30-20 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3814 -- 
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18 VAC 30-20-80 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1284 2/20/08 
18 VAC 30-20-170 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1284 2/20/08 
18 VAC 30-20-171 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1285 2/20/08 
18 VAC 41-10-10 through 18 VAC 41-10-90 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1321 12/24/08 
18 VAC 41-11-10 through 18 VAC 41-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1322-1325 12/24/08 
18 VAC 45-10-10 through 18 VAC 45- 10-90 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3815 10/2/08 
18 VAC 45-11-10 through 18 VAC 45-11-110 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3815-3818 10/2/08 
18 VAC 47-10-10 through 18 VAC 47-10-90 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1325 12/24/08 
18 VAC 47-11-10 through 18 VAC 47-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1325-1328 12/24/08 
18 VAC 48-10-10 through 18 VAC 48-10-110 Added 25:3 VA.R. 411-414 11/13/08 
18 VAC 48-20-10 through 18 VAC 48-20-730 emer Added 25:5 VA.R. 1074-1093 11/13/08-11/12/09 
18 VAC 48-40-10 through 18 VAC 48-40-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 685-688 11/27/08 
18 VAC 48-50-10 through 18 VAC 48-50-200 emer Added 25:5 VA.R. 1095-1100 11/13/08-11/12/09 
18 VAC 48-60-10 through 18 VAC 48-60-60 Added 25:4 VA.R. 688-689 11/27/08 
18 VAC 50-10-10 through 18 VAC 50-10-90 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1328 12/24/08 
18 VAC 50-11-10 through 18 VAC 50-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1328-1331 12/24/08 
18 VAC 50-22-40 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 415 12/1/08 
18 VAC 50-22-50 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 415 12/1/08 
18 VAC 50-22-60 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 416 12/1/08 
18 VAC 50-22-300 through 18 VAC 50-22-350 Added 25:3 VA.R. 417-418 12/1/08 
18 VAC 60-10-10 through 18 VAC 60-10-120 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 418 11/12/08 
18 VAC 60-11-10 through 18 VAC 60-11-110 Added 25:3 VA.R. 419-422 11/12/08 
18 VAC 60-20 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 58 -- 
18 VAC 60-20-30 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2874 7/24/08 
18 VAC 60-20-81 Added 24:14 VA.R. 1949 4/16/08 
18 VAC 60-20-108 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1950 4/16/08 
18 VAC 60-20-190 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1951 4/16/08 
18 VAC 60-20-220 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1287 3/10/08 
18 VAC 60-20-220 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1951 4/16/08 
18 VAC 62-10-10 through 18 VAC 62-10-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1332-1334 12/24/08 
18 VAC 65-10-10 through 18 VAC 65-10-120 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 291 10/29/08 
18 VAC 65-11-10 through 18 VAC 65-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 291-294 10/29/08 
18 VAC 65-20 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3818 -- 
18 VAC 65-20-10 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3358 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-15 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3358 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-60 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3358 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-120 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3358 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-130 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3359 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-151 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3070 8/6/08 
18 VAC 65-20-153 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3359 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-170 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3359 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-171 Added 24:24 VA.R. 3359 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-240 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3360 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-350 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3360 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-420 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3360 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-440 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3360 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-500 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3360 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-510 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3361 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-590 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3361 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-20-700 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3361 9/3/08 
18 VAC 65-40 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3818 -- 



Cumulative Table of VAC Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed 

Volume 25, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 22, 2008 

1475 

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
18 VAC 70-10-10 through 18 VAC 70-10-90 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 1100 12/10/08 
18 VAC 70-11-10 through 18 VAC 70-11-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 1100-1103 12/10/08 
18 VAC 75-10-10 through 18 VAC 75-10-120 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 294 10/29/08 
18 VAC 75-11-10 through 18 VAC 75-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 295-297 10/29/08 
18 VAC 75-20 (Forms) Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3632 -- 
18 VAC 76-20 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3819 -- 
18 VAC 76-30-10 through 18 VAC 76-30-120 Repealed 24:25 VA.R. 3632 9/17/08 
18 VAC 76-31-10 through 18 VAC 76-31-110 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3633-3635 9/17/08 
18 VAC 76-40 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3820 -- 
18 VAC 80-10-10 through 18 VAC 80-10-90 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1334 12/24/08 
18 VAC 80-11-10 through 18 VAC 80-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1335-1338 12/24/08 
18 VAC 85-10-10 through 18 VAC 85-10-110 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3820 10/1/08 
18 VAC 85-11-10 through 18 VAC 85-11-110 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3820 10/1/08 
18 VAC 85-20 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-20-22 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1404 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-20-22 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1952 4/16/08 
18 VAC 85-20-225 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3367 9/3/08 
18 VAC 85-20-226 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1404 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-20-400 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2876 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-40 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-40-35 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1404 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-40-55 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3368 9/3/08 
18 VAC 85-40-67 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1405 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-50 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-50-35 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1405 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-50-59 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3368 9/3/08 
18 VAC 85-50-61 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1405 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-80 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-80-10 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1104 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-26 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1406 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-80-26 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1104 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-40 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1104 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-45 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1105 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-50 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1105 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-61 emer Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 1105 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-65 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3368 9/3/08 
18 VAC 85-80-65 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1105 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-70 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1105 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-72 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1105 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-73 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1406 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-80-73 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1106 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-80 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1106 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-90 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1106 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-100 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1107 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-110 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1107 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-111 emer Added 25:5 VA.R. 1108 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-101 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-101-25 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1406 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-101-25 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2879 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-101-40 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2879 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-101-50 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2879 7/24/08 
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18 VAC 85-101-55 Added 24:20 VA.R. 2880 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-101-60 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2880 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-101-70 Repealed 24:20 VA.R. 2881 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-101-145 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3368 9/3/08 
18 VAC 85-101-150 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2881 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-101-153 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1407 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-110 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-110-35 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1407 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-110-145 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3369 9/3/08 
18 VAC 85-110-161 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1407 3/5/08 
18 VAC 85-120 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-120-10 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2884 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-120-50 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2884 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-120-70 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2885 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-120-85 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3369 9/3/08 
18 VAC 85-120-90 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2885 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-120-95 Added 24:20 VA.R. 2885 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-120-150 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2885 7/24/08 
18 VAC 85-130 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-130-30 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1952 4/16/08 
18 VAC 90-10-10 through 18 VAC 90-10-120 Repealed 24:25 VA.R. 3635 9/17/08 
18 VAC 90-11-10 through 18 VAC 90-11-110 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3636-3639 9/17/08 
18 VAC 90-20 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 59 -- 
18 VAC 90-20-10 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1842 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-35 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1843 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-40 through 18 VAC 90-20-60 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1843-1845 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-65 Repealed 24:13 VA.R. 1844 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-70 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1844 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-90 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1845 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-95 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1846 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-96 Added 24:13 VA.R. 1846 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-110 through 18 VAC 90-20-140 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1846-1848 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-151 Added 24:13 VA.R. 1848 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-160 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1849 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-190 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1849 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-200 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1850 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-220 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1850 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-230 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1851 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-271 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2969 7/23/08 
18 VAC 90-20-275 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1851 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-280 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1851 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-300 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1851 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-370 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1852 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-390 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1852 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-20-410 Amended 24:13 VA.R. 1853 4/2/08 
18 VAC 90-25 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 59 -- 
18 VAC 90-30 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 59 -- 
18 VAC 90-30-10 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1288 2/20/08 
18 VAC 90-30-10 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1111 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-30-20 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1112 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-30-30 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1112 12/25/08 
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18 VAC 90-30-80 Erratum 24:18 VA.R. 2731-2732 -- 
18 VAC 90-30-80 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3369 9/3/08 
18 VAC 90-30-80 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1112 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-30-85 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1112 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-30-100 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1113 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-30-105 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1113 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-30-110 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1113 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-30-120 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1288 2/20/08 
18 VAC 90-30-120 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1114 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-30-121 Added 24:10 VA.R. 1289 2/20/08 
18 VAC 90-30-121 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1114 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-30-160 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3370 9/3/08 
18 VAC 90-30-220 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1115 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-30-230 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1115 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-40 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 59 -- 
18 VAC 90-40-10 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1115 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-40-20 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1116 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-40-40 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1116 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-40-50 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1116 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-40-55 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1116 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-40-60 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1117 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-40-90 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1117 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-40-100 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1117 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-40-121 Added 25:5 VA.R. 1118 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-40-130 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1118 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-40-140 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1118 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-50 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 59 -- 
18 VAC 90-50-10 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 691 12/11/08 
18 VAC 90-50-40 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 691 12/11/08 
18 VAC 90-50-75 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 691 12/11/08 
18 VAC 90-50-80 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 692 12/11/08 
18 VAC 90-50-90 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 692 12/11/08 
18 VAC 90-60 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 59 -- 
18 VAC 90-60-110 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3216 9/4/08 
18 VAC 95-10-10 through 18 VAC 95-10-120 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1338 12/24/08 
18 VAC 95-11-10 through 18 VAC 95-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1338-1341 12/24/08 
18 VAC 95-20 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3827 -- 
18 VAC 95-20-80 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2264 5/14/08 
18 VAC 95-20-175 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2887 7/24/08 
18 VAC 95-20-220 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2888 7/24/08 
18 VAC 95-20-225 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1341 12/24/08 
18 VAC 95-20-230 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2888 7/24/08 
18 VAC 95-30 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3827 -- 
18 VAC 95-30-40 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2264 5/14/08 
18 VAC 95-30-95 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3219 9/4/08 
18 VAC 95-30-150 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3220 9/4/08 
18 VAC 95-30-180 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3220 9/4/08 
18 VAC 100-10-10 through 18 VAC 100-10-90 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1342 12/24/08 
18 VAC 100-11-10 through 18 VAC 100-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1342-1345 12/24/08 
18 VAC 105-10-10 through 18 VAC 105-10-120 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3828 10/1/08 
18 VAC 105-11-10 through 18 VAC 105-11-110 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3828-3831 10/1/08 
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18 VAC 105-20 (Forms) Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3639 -- 
18 VAC 105-20-75 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3071 8/6/08 
18 VAC 110-10-10 through 18 VAC 110-10-120 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 298 10/29/08 
18 VAC 110-11-10 through 18 VAC 110-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 298-301 10/29/08 
18 VAC 110-20 (Forms) Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3640 -- 
18 VAC 110-20-10 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 983 1/23/08 
18 VAC 110-20-20 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 464 9/23/08-9/22/09 
18 VAC 110-20-75 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3071 8/6/08 
18 VAC 110-20-220 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 694 12/11/08 
18 VAC 110-20-230 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 695 12/11/08 
18 VAC 110-20-321 Added 24:8 VA.R. 986 1/23/08 
18 VAC 110-20-411 through 18 VAC 110-20-416 Repealed 24:8 VA.R. 986-987 1/23/08 
18 VAC 110-20-530 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2265 5/14/08 
18 VAC 110-30 (Forms) Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3640 -- 
18 VAC 110-30-15 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1290 2/20/08 
18 VAC 110-50 (Forms) Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3640 -- 
18 VAC 110-50-10 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1290 2/20/08 
18 VAC 110-50-20 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 466 9/23/08-9/22/09 
18 VAC 110-50-160 Added 24:10 VA.R. 1291 2/20/08 
18 VAC 110-50-170 Added 24:10 VA.R. 1291 2/20/08 
18 VAC 110-50-180 Added 24:10 VA.R. 1292 2/20/08 
18 VAC 110-50-190 Added 24:10 VA.R. 1292 2/20/08 
18 VAC 112-10-10 through 18 VAC 112-10-120 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 61 10/15/08 
18 VAC 112-11-10 through 18 VAC 112-11-110 Added 25:1 VA.R. 62-64 10/15/08 
18 VAC 112-20 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3831 -- 
18 VAC 112-20-81 emer Added 25:3 VA.R. 467 11/1/07-4/29/09 
18 VAC 112-20-90 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 467 11/1/07-4/29/09 
18 VAC 112-20-130 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 467 11/1/07-4/29/09 
18 VAC 112-20-131 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 467 11/1/07-4/29/09 
18 VAC 112-20-150 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 467 11/1/07-4/29/09 
18 VAC 115-10-10 through 18 VAC 115-10-120 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3832 10/1/08 
18 VAC 115-11-10 through 18 VAC 115-11-110 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3832-3835 10/1/08 
18 VAC 115-20 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 65 -- 
18 VAC 115-20-10 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3387 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-20-45 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3387 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-20-49 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3388 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-20-51 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3388 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-20-52 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3388 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-20-120 Repealed 24:24 VA.R. 3390 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-30 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 65 -- 
18 VAC 115-30-150 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1953 4/16/08 
18 VAC 115-30-160 Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1953 4/16/08 
18 VAC 115-40 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 65 -- 
18 VAC 115-50 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 65 -- 
18 VAC 115-50-10 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3390 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-50-40 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3390 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-50-55 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3391 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-50-60 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3391 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-60 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 65 -- 
18 VAC 115-60-10 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3392 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-60-50 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3393 9/3/08 
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18 VAC 115-60-70 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3393 9/3/08 
18 VAC 115-60-80 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3394 9/3/08 
18 VAC 120-10-100 through 18 VAC 120-10-180 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3835 10/2/08 
18 VAC 120-11-10 through 18 VAC 120-11-110 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3836-3838 10/2/08 
18 VAC 125-10-10 through 18 VAC 125-10-120 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 699 11/26/08 
18 VAC 125-11-10 through 18 VAC 125-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 699-702 11/26/08 
18 VAC 125-20 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 66 -- 
18 VAC 125-20-170 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1471 3/19/08 
18 VAC 125-30 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 66 -- 
18 VAC 125-30-120 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1471 3/19/08 
18 VAC 130-10-10 through 18 VAC 130-10-90 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1345 12/24/08 
18 VAC 130-11-10 through 18 VAC 130-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1345-1348 12/24/08 
18 VAC 130-20-10 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3225 9/1/08 
18 VAC 130-20-70 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3229 9/1/08 
18 VAC 130-20-180 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3229 9/1/08 
18 VAC 130-20-200 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3231 9/1/08 
18 VAC 130-20-230 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3231 9/1/08 
18 VAC 135-10-10 through 18 VAC 135-10-90 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1348 12/24/08 
18 VAC 135-11-10 through 18 VAC 135-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1348-1351 12/24/08 
18 VAC 135-20-10 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1408 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-30 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1409 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-60 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1410 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-100 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1410 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-101 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1412 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-105 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1413 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-160 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1413 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-170 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1414 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-180 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1414 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-190 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1416 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-210 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1417 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-220 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1417 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-280 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1417 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-300 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1418 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-345 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1418 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-360 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1419 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-370 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1419 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-20-390 Amended 24:11 VA.R. 1420 4/1/08 
18 VAC 135-60-60 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1230 3/1/08 
18 VAC 140-10-10 through 18 VAC 140-10-120 Repealed 24:25 VA.R. 3641 9/17/08 
18 VAC 140-11-10 through 18 VAC 140-11-110 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3641-3644 9/17/08 
18 VAC 140-20 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 67 -- 
18 VAC 140-20-10 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 703 11/26/08 
18 VAC 140-20-40 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 703 11/26/08 
18 VAC 140-20-50 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3234 9/4/08 
18 VAC 140-20-50 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 703 11/26/08 
18 VAC 140-20-51 Added 25:4 VA.R. 705 11/26/08 
18 VAC 140-20-60 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 705 11/26/08 
18 VAC 140-20-70 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3235 9/4/08 
18 VAC 140-20-105 Amended 24:20 VA.R. 2890 7/24/08 
18 VAC 140-20-105 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 706 11/26/08 
18 VAC 140-20-140 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 707 11/26/08 
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18 VAC 140-20-150 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 707 11/26/08 
18 VAC 140-20-160 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 709 11/26/08 
18 VAC 145-10-10 through 18 VAC 145-10-90 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1351 12/24/08 
18 VAC 145-11-10 through 18 VAC 145-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1352-1355 12/24/08 
18 VAC 150-10-10 through 18 VAC 150-10-120 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 68 10/15/08 
18 VAC 150-11-10 through 18 VAC 150-11-110 Added 25:1 VA.R. 68-71 10/15/08 
18 VAC 150-20 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3838 -- 
18 VAC 150-20-135 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2969 7/23/08 
18 VAC 155-10-5 through 18 VAC 155-10-80 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1355 12/24/08 
18 VAC 155-11-10 through 18 VAC 155-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1355-1358 12/24/08 
18 VAC 160-10-10 through 18 VAC 160-10-90 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 709 11/26/08 
18 VAC 160-11-10 through 18 VAC 160-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 709-712 11/26/08 
Title 19. Public Safety 
19 VAC 15-10-10 through 19 VAC 15-10-50 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 1118 12/10/08 
19 VAC 15-11-10 through 19 VAC 15-11-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 1119-1121 12/10/08 
19 VAC 30-10-10 through 19 VAC 30-10-40 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3839 10/1/08 
19 VAC 30-11-10 through 19 VAC 30-11-110 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3839-3842 10/1/08 
19 VAC 30-20-115 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1421 3/6/08 
19 VAC 30-70-6 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 988 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-7 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 988 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-9 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 989 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-10 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 991 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-40 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 994 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-50 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 995 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-60 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 997 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-80 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 998 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-90 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 1001 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-70-110 through 19 VAC 30-70-660 Amended 24:8 VA.R. 1001-1070 3/1/08 
19 VAC 30-190-10 through 19 VAC 30-190-140 Added 24:11 VA.R. 1421-1423 3/6/08 
Title 20. Public Utilities and Telecommunications 
20 VAC 5-315-10 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3845 8/25/08 
20 VAC 5-315-20 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3845 8/25/08 
20 VAC 5-315-40 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3846 8/25/08 
20 VAC 5-315-50 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3847 8/25/08 
20 VAC 5-414-10 through 20 VAC 5-414-70 Added 25:7 VA.R. 1437-1438 12/1/08 
Title 21. Securities and Retail Franchising 
21 VAC 5-20-280 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2971 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-80-10 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2976 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-80-200 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2977 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-10 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2983 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-20 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2984 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-30 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2984 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-40 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2984 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-50 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2985 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-55 Added 24:21 VA.R. 2985 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-60 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2986 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-65 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2987 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-70 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2988 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-75 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2988 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-80 Amended 24:21 VA.R. 2989 7/1/08 
21 VAC 5-110-90 Repealed 24:21 VA.R. 2992 7/1/08 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
21 VAC 5-110-95 Added 24:21 VA.R. 2992 7/1/08 
Title 22. Social Services 
22 VAC 5-10-10 through 22 VAC 5-10-110 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 1122 1/1/09 
22 VAC 5-11-10 through 22 VAC 5-11-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 1122-1125 1/1/09 
22 VAC 5-30-10 through 22 VAC 5-30-60 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3665-3669 1/1/09 
22 VAC 15-10-10 through 22 VAC 15-10-70 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 712 1/1/09 
22 VAC 15-11-10 through 22 VAC 15-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 713-715 1/1/09 
22 VAC 15-30-310 Amended 24:10 VA.R. 1295 3/6/08 
22 VAC 20-10-10 through 22 VAC 20-10-100 Repealed 25:7 VA.R. 1438 1/7/09 
22 VAC 20-11-10 through 22 VAC 20-11-110 Added 25:7 VA.R. 1439-1441 1/7/09 
22 VAC 27-10-10 through 22 VAC 27-10-110 Added 25:7 VA.R. 1442-1445 1/7/09 
22 VAC 30-10-10 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3076 8/8/08 
22 VAC 30-10-10 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 71 10/15/08 
22 VAC 30-10-20 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3077 8/8/08 
22 VAC 30-10-20 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 71 10/15/08 
22 VAC 30-10-40 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3077 8/8/08 
22 VAC 30-10-40 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 71 10/15/08 
22 VAC 30-10-50 Amended 24:22 VA.R. 3077 8/8/08 
22 VAC 30-10-50 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 71 10/15/08 
22 VAC 30-10-60 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 71 10/15/08 
22 VAC 30-11-10 through 22 VAC 30-11-110 Added 25:1 VA.R. 72-74 10/15/08 
22 VAC 40-11-10 through 22 VAC 40-11-70 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 74 1/1/09 
22 VAC 40-12-10 through 22 VAC 40-12-110 Added 25:1 VA.R. 74-78 1/1/09 
22 VAC 40-151-10 through 22 VAC 40-151-1020 Added 25:3 VA.R. 482-512 1/1/09 
22 VAC 40-470-10 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1231 2/6/08 
22 VAC 40-685-30 Amended 24:9 VA.R. 1231 2/6/08 
22 VAC 40-690-20 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3420 10/1/08 
22 VAC 40-690-30 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3420 10/1/08 
22 VAC 40-690-40 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3421 10/1/08 
22 VAC 40-690-55 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3421 10/1/08 
22 VAC 40-690-65 Amended 24:24 VA.R. 3421 10/1/08 
22 VAC 40-705-10 emer Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1987 3/1/08-2/28/09 
22 VAC 40-705-30 emer Amended 24:14 VA.R. 1990 3/1/08-2/28/09 
22 VAC 45-11-10 through 22 VAC 45-11-90 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 1125 12/1/08 
22 VAC 45-12-10 through 22 VAC 45-12-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 1125-1128 12/1/08 
Title 23. Taxation 
23 VAC 10-10-10 through 23 VAC 10-10-80 Amended 24:12 VA.R. 1520-1521 4/19/08 
23 VAC 10-10-10 through 23 VAC 10-10-80 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 730 1/10/09*** 
23 VAC 10-10-90 Repealed 24:12 VA.R. 1522 4/19/08 
23 VAC 10-11-10 through 23 VAC 10-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 732-735 1/10/09*** 
23 VAC 10-20-155 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3848 10/1/08 
23 VAC 10-20 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1128 -- 
23 VAC 10-55 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1129 -- 
23 VAC 10-60 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1129 -- 
23 VAC 10-65 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1129 -- 
23 VAC 10-75 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1129 -- 
23 VAC 10-210 (Forms) Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1358 -- 
23 VAC 10-210-20 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3849 10/1/08 
23 VAC 10-210-170 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 736 11/26/08 

                                                           
*** See erratum (25:6 VA.R. 1375) for effective date 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
23 VAC 10-210-595 Added 25:4 VA.R. 736 11/26/08 
23 VAC 10-210-693 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3240 10/6/08 
23 VAC 10-210-870 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 736 11/26/08 
23 VAC 10-210-4010 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 736 11/26/08 
23 VAC 10-220 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1129 -- 
23 VAC 10-230 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1129 -- 
23 VAC 10-240 (Forms) Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1359 -- 
23 VAC 10-300 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1129 -- 
23 VAC 10-310 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1129 -- 
23 VAC 10-330 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1129 -- 
23 VAC 10-350 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1129 -- 
23 VAC 10-370 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1129 -- 
23 VAC 10-390 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1130 -- 
23 VAC 10-500-10 through 23 VAC 10-500-820 Added 24:23 VA.R. 3253-3289 10/6/08 
Title 24. Transportation and Motor Vehicles 
24 VAC 20-10-10 through 24 VAC 20-10-140 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1360 12/24/08 
24 VAC 20-11-10 through 24 VAC 20-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1361-1364 12/24/08 
24 VAC 22-10-10 through 24 VAC 22-10-140 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 752 11/26/08 
24 VAC 22-11-10 through 24 VAC 22-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 753-755 11/26/08 
24 VAC 25-5-10 through 24 VAC 25-5-110 Added 25:7 VA.R. 1445-1448 1/7/09 
24 VAC 25-10-10 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 519 10/13/08 
24 VAC 25-20-10 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 519 10/13/08 
24 VAC 27-10-10 through 24 VAC 27-10-120 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1364 12/24/08 
24 VAC 27-11-10 through 24 VAC 27-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1364-1367 12/24/08 
24 VAC 27-30-10 through 24 VAC 27-30-190 Added 25:1 VA.R. 78-89 10/15/08 
24 VAC 30-10-10 through 24 VAC 30-10-70 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1367 12/24/08 
24 VAC 30-11-10 through 24 VAC 30-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1367-1370 12/24/08 
24 VAC 30-16-10 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 520 11/12/08 
24 VAC 30-72-10 through 24 VAC 30-72-170 Added 24:17 VA.R. 2458-2466 7/1/08 
24 VAC 30-72-30 Erratum 24:18 VA.R. 2732 -- 
24 VAC 30-155-10 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3290 7/1/08 
24 VAC 30-155-40 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3291 7/1/08 
24 VAC 30-155-50 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3292 7/1/08 
24 VAC 30-155-60 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3294 7/1/08 
24 VAC 30-155-70 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3303 7/1/08 
24 VAC 30-155-80 Amended 24:23 VA.R. 3303 7/1/08 
24 VAC 30-380-10 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1130 10/22/08 
24 VAC 35-10-10 through 24 VAC 35-10-70 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 1131 12/10/08 
24 VAC 35-11-10 through 24 VAC 35-11-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 1132-1134 12/10/08 



NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 
 

Volume 25, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 22, 2008 

1483 

NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board 
intends to consider amending the following regulations: 
9VAC25-720, Water Quality Management Planning 
Regulation. The purpose of the proposed action is to apply 
an appropriate, scientifically based total nitrogen (TN) 
concentration value to calculate the TN waste load allocation 
for the Fauquier County Water and Sewer Authority 
(FCW&SA)-Vint Hill wastewater treatment facility. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 
33 USC § 1313(e) of the Clean Water Act. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on January 23, 2009. 

Agency Contact: John M. Kennedy, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4312, FAX (804) 
698-4116, TTY (804) 698-4021, or email 
jmkennedy@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1527; Filed December 3, 2008, 11:10 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

COMMISSION ON THE VIRGINIA ALCOHOL SAFETY 
ACTION PROGRAM 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Commission on the Virginia 
Alcohol Safety Action Program intends to consider 
promulgating the following regulations: 24VAC35-60, 
Ignition Interlock Regulations. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to promulgate a new regulation covering the process 
for certifying ignition interlock as required by § 18.2-270.2 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 18.2 -270.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
January 21, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Richard L. Foy, Technical Instructor, 
Commission on the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program, 
701 East Franklin Street, Suite 1110, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-5895, FAX (804) 786-6286, or email 
rfoy.vasap@state.va.us. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1589; Filed December 3, 2008, 3:21 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

DESIGN-BUILD/CONSTRUCTION MANAGEMENT 
REVIEW BOARD 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following model public 
participation guidelines are exempt from Article 2 (§ 2.2-
4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of 
Virginia pursuant to Chapter 321 of the 2008 Acts of 
Assembly. 

Titles of Regulations: 1VAC17-10. Public Participation 
Guidelines (repealing 1VAC17-10-10 through 1VAC17-
10-90). 

1VAC17-11. Public Participation Guidelines (adding 
1VAC17-11-10 through 1VAC17-11-110). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-2405 and 2.2-4007.02 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 21, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Rhonda Bishton, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of General Services, Ninth St. Office Bldg., 202 
North 9th Street, Suite 209, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-3311, FAX (804) 371-8305, or email 
rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulations comply with the legislative mandate 
(Chapter 321, 2008 Acts of Assembly) that agencies 
adopt model public participation guidelines issued by the 
Department of Planning and Budget by December 1, 
2008. Public participation guidelines exist to promote 
public involvement in the development, amendment, or 
repeal of an agency's regulations.  

This regulatory action repeals the current public 
participation guidelines and promulgates new public 
participation guidelines as required by Chapter 321 of 
the 2008 Acts of Assembly. Highlights of the public 
participation guidelines include (i) providing for the 
establishment and maintenance of notification lists of 
interested persons and specifying the information to be 
sent to such persons; (ii) providing for public comments 
on regulatory actions; (iii) establishing the time period 
during which public comments shall be accepted; (iv) 
providing that the plan to hold a public meeting shall be 
indicated in any notice of intended regulatory action; (v) 
providing for the appointment, when necessary, of 

regulatory advisory panels to provide professional 
specialization or technical assistance and negotiated 
rulemaking panels if a regulatory action is expected to be 
controversial; and (vi) providing for the periodic review 
of regulations. 

CHAPTER 11  
PUBLIC PARTICIPATION GUIDELINES  

Part I  
Purpose and Definitions  

1VAC17-11-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment or repeal of the 
regulations of the Design-Build/Construction Management 
Review Board. This chapter does not apply to regulations, 
guidelines, or other documents exempted or excluded from 
the provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 
et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

1VAC17-11-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 
et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency" means the Design-Build/Construction 
Management Review Board, which is the unit of state 
government empowered by the agency's basic law to make 
regulations or decide cases. Actions specified in this chapter 
may be fulfilled by state employees as delegated by the 
agency. 

"Basic law" means provisions in the Code of Virginia that 
delineate the basic authority and responsibilities of an agency. 

"Commonwealth Calendar" means the electronic calendar 
for official government meetings open to the public as 
required by § 2.2-3707 C of the Freedom of Information Act. 

''Negotiated rulemaking panel'' or ''NRP'' means an ad hoc 
advisory panel of interested parties established by an agency 
to consider issues that are controversial with the assistance of 
a facilitator or mediator, for the purpose of reaching a 
consensus in the development of a proposed regulatory 
action. 

"Notification list" means a list used to notify persons 
pursuant to this chapter. Such a list may include an electronic 
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list maintained through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall or 
other list maintained by the agency. 

"Open meeting" means any scheduled gathering of a unit of 
state government empowered by an agency's basic law to 
make regulations or decide cases, which is related to 
promulgating, amending or repealing a regulation. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, cooperative, limited liability company, trust, joint 
venture, government, political subdivision, or any other legal 
or commercial entity and any successor, representative, agent, 
agency, or instrumentality thereof. 

"Public hearing" means a scheduled time at which members 
or staff of the agency will meet for the purpose of receiving 
public comment on a regulatory action. 

"Regulation" means any statement of general application 
having the force of law, affecting the rights or conduct of any 
person, adopted by the agency in accordance with the 
authority conferred on it by applicable laws. 

"Regulatory action" means the promulgation, amendment, or 
repeal of a regulation by the agency. 

"Regulatory advisory panel" or "RAP" means a standing or 
ad hoc advisory panel of interested parties established by the 
agency for the purpose of assisting in regulatory actions. 

"Town Hall" means the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, the 
website operated by the Virginia Department of Planning and 
Budget at www.townhall.virginia.gov, which has online 
public comment forums and displays information about 
regulatory meetings and regulatory actions under 
consideration in Virginia and sends this information to 
registered public users. 

"Virginia Register" means the Virginia Register of 
Regulations, the publication that provides official legal notice 
of new, amended and repealed regulations of state agencies, 
which is published under the provisions of Article 6 (§ 2.2-
4031 et seq.) of the Administrative Process Act. 

Part II  
Notification of Interested Persons 

1VAC17-11-30. Notification list. 

A. The agency shall maintain a list of persons who have 
requested to be notified of regulatory actions being pursued 
by the agency. 

B. Any person may request to be placed on a notification list 
by registering as a public user on the Town Hall or by making 
a request to the agency. Any person who requests to be placed 
on a notification list shall elect to be notified either by 
electronic means or through a postal carrier. 

C. The agency may maintain additional lists for persons who 
have requested to be informed of specific regulatory issues, 
proposals, or actions. 

D. When electronic mail is returned as undeliverable on 
multiple occasions at least 24 hours apart, that person may be 
deleted from the list. A single undeliverable message is 
insufficient cause to delete the person from the list. 

E. When mail delivered by a postal carrier is returned as 
undeliverable on multiple occasions, that person may be 
deleted from the list. 

F. The agency may periodically request those persons on the 
notification list to indicate their desire to either continue to be 
notified electronically, receive documents through a postal 
carrier, or be deleted from the list. 

1VAC17-11-40. Information to be sent to persons on the 
notification list. 

A. To persons electing to receive electronic notification or 
notification through a postal carrier as described in 1VAC17-
11-30, the agency shall send the following information: 

1. A notice of intended regulatory action (NOIRA). 

2. A notice of the comment period on a proposed, a 
reproposed, or a fast-track regulation and hyperlinks to, or 
instructions on how to obtain, a copy of the regulation and 
any supporting documents. 

3. A notice soliciting comment on a final regulation when 
the regulatory process has been extended pursuant to § 2.2-
4007.06 or 2.2-4013 C of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The failure of any person to receive any notice or copies 
of any documents shall not affect the validity of any 
regulation or regulatory action. 

Part III  
Public Participation Procedures  

1VAC17-11-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 
action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 
opportunity to submit data, views, and arguments, either 
orally or in writing, to the agency. Such opportunity to 
comment shall include an online public comment forum on 
the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 
copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 
issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 
fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 
public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 
to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 
submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 
the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 
as follows:  
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1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 
(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 
publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 
publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 
of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 
listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 
substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 
he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 
calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 
changes in accordance with § 2.2-4013 C of the Code of 
Virginia.  

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 
description of public comment to all public commenters on 
the proposed regulation at least five days before final 
adoption of the regulation pursuant to § 2.2-4012 E of the 
Code of Virginia.  

1VAC17-11-60. Petition for rulemaking. 

A. As provided in § 2.2-4007 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person may petition the agency to consider a regulatory 
action. 

B. A petition shall include but is not limited to the following 
information: 

1. The petitioner's name and contact information; 

2. The substance and purpose of the rulemaking that is 
requested, including reference to any applicable Virginia 
Administrative Code sections; and 

3. Reference to the legal authority of the agency to take the 
action requested. 

C. The agency shall receive, consider and respond to a 
petition pursuant to § 2.2-4007 and shall have the sole 
authority to dispose of the petition. 

D. The petition shall be posted on the Town Hall and 
published in the Virginia Register. 

E. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit the agency from 
receiving information or from proceeding on its own motion 
for rulemaking. 

1VAC17-11-70. Appointment of regulatory advisory 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a regulatory advisory panel 
(RAP) to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance when the agency determines that such expertise is 
necessary to address a specific regulatory issue or action or 
when individuals indicate an interest in working with the 
agency on a specific regulatory issue or action. 

B. Any person may request the appointment of a RAP and 
request to participate in its activities. The agency shall 
determine when a RAP shall be appointed and the 
composition of the RAP. 

C. A RAP may be dissolved by the agency if: 

1. The proposed text of the regulation is posted on the 
Town Hall, published in the Virginia Register, or such 
other time as the agency determines is appropriate; or 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act. 

1VAC17-11-80. Appointment of negotiated rulemaking 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a negotiated rulemaking panel 
(NRP) if a regulatory action is expected to be controversial. 

B. An NRP that has been appointed by the agency may be 
dissolved by the agency when: 

1. There is no longer controversy associated with the 
development of the regulation; 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act; or 

3. The agency determines that resolution of a controversy 
is unlikely. 

1VAC17-11-90. Meetings. 

Notice of any open meeting, including meetings of a RAP or 
NRP, shall be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 
and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working days 
prior to the date of the meeting. The exception to this 
requirement is any meeting held in accordance with § 2.2-
3707 D of the Code of Virginia allowing for 
contemporaneous notice to be provided to participants and the 
public. 

1VAC17-11-100. Public hearings on regulations. 

A. The agency shall indicate in its notice of intended 
regulatory action whether it plans to hold a public hearing 
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following the publication of the proposed stage of the 
regulatory action.  

B. The agency may conduct one or more public hearings 
during the comment period following the publication of a 
proposed regulatory action.  

C. An agency is required to hold a public hearing following 
the publication of the proposed regulatory action when:  

1. The agency's basic law requires the agency to hold a 
public hearing;  

2. The Governor directs the agency to hold a public 
hearing; or  

3. The agency receives requests for a public hearing from 
at least 25 persons during the public comment period 
following the publication of the notice of intended 
regulatory action.  

D. Notice of any public hearing shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working 
days prior to the date of the hearing. The agency shall also 
notify those persons who requested a hearing under 
subdivision C 3 of this section.  

1VAC17-11-110. Periodic review of regulations. 

A. The agency shall conduct a periodic review of its 
regulations consistent with:  

1. An executive order issued by the Governor pursuant to § 
2.2-4017 of the Administrative Process Act to receive 
comment on all existing regulations as to their 
effectiveness, efficiency, necessity, clarity, and cost of 
compliance; and  

2. The requirements in § 2.2-4007.1 of the Administrative 
Process Act regarding regulatory flexibility for small 
businesses.  

B. A periodic review may be conducted separately or in 
conjunction with other regulatory actions.  

C. Notice of a periodic review shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and published in the Virginia Register.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1416; Filed December 1, 2008, 1:12 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following model public 
participation guidelines are exempt from Article 2 (§ 2.2-
4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of 
Virginia pursuant to Chapter 321 of the 2008 Acts of 
Assembly. 

Titles of Regulations: 1VAC30-10. Public Participation 
Guidelines (repealing 1VAC30-10-10 through 1VAC30-
10-70). 

1VAC30-11. Public Participation Guidelines (adding 
1VAC30-11-10 through 1VAC30-11-110). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-1102 and 2.2-4007.02 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 21, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Rhonda Bishton, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of General Services, 202 North Ninth Street, 
Room 209, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3311, 
FAX (804) 371-8305, or email 
rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulations comply with the legislative mandate 
(Chapter 321, 2008 Acts of Assembly) that agencies 
adopt model public participation guidelines issued by the 
Department of Planning and Budget by December 1, 
2008. Public participation guidelines exist to promote 
public involvement in the development, amendment, or 
repeal of an agency's regulations.  

This regulatory action repeals the current public 
participation guidelines and promulgates new public 
participation guidelines as required by Chapter 321 of 
the 2008 Acts of Assembly. Highlights of the public 
participation guidelines include (i) providing for the 
establishment and maintenance of notification lists of 
interested persons and specifying the information to be 
sent to such persons; (ii) providing for public comments 
on regulatory actions; (iii) establishing the time period 
during which public comments shall be accepted; (iv) 
providing that the plan to hold a public meeting shall be 
indicated in any notice of intended regulatory action; (v) 
providing for the appointment, when necessary, of 
regulatory advisory panels to provide professional 
specialization or technical assistance and negotiated 
rulemaking panels if a regulatory action is expected to be 
controversial; and (vi) providing for the periodic review 
of regulations. 
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CHAPTER 11 
PUBLIC PARTICIPATION GUIDELINES  

Part I  
Purpose and Definitions  

1VAC30-11-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment or repeal of the 
regulations of the Department of General Services. This 
chapter does not apply to regulations, guidelines, or other 
documents exempted or excluded from the provisions of the 
Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia). 

1VAC30-11-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 
et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency" means the Department of General Services, which 
is the unit of state government empowered by the agency's 
basic law to make regulations or decide cases. Actions 
specified in this chapter may be fulfilled by state employees 
as delegated by the agency. 

"Basic law" means provisions in the Code of Virginia that 
delineate the basic authority and responsibilities of an agency. 

"Commonwealth Calendar" means the electronic calendar 
for official government meetings open to the public as 
required by § 2.2-3707 C of the Freedom of Information Act. 

''Negotiated rulemaking panel'' or ''NRP'' means an ad hoc 
advisory panel of interested parties established by an agency 
to consider issues that are controversial with the assistance of 
a facilitator or mediator, for the purpose of reaching a 
consensus in the development of a proposed regulatory 
action. 

"Notification list" means a list used to notify persons 
pursuant to this chapter. Such a list may include an electronic 
list maintained through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall or 
other list maintained by the agency. 

"Open meeting" means any scheduled gathering of a unit of 
state government empowered by an agency's basic law to 
make regulations or decide cases, which is related to 
promulgating, amending or repealing a regulation. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, cooperative, limited liability company, trust, joint 
venture, government, political subdivision, or any other legal 
or commercial entity and any successor, representative, agent, 
agency, or instrumentality thereof. 

"Public hearing" means a scheduled time at which members 
or staff of the agency will meet for the purpose of receiving 
public comment on a regulatory action. 

"Regulation" means any statement of general application 
having the force of law, affecting the rights or conduct of any 
person, adopted by the agency in accordance with the 
authority conferred on it by applicable laws. 

"Regulatory action" means the promulgation, amendment, or 
repeal of a regulation by the agency. 

"Regulatory advisory panel" or "RAP" means a standing or 
ad hoc advisory panel of interested parties established by the 
agency for the purpose of assisting in regulatory actions. 

"Town Hall" means the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, the 
website operated by the Virginia Department of Planning and 
Budget at www.townhall.virginia.gov, which has online 
public comment forums and displays information about 
regulatory meetings and regulatory actions under 
consideration in Virginia and sends this information to 
registered public users. 

"Virginia Register" means the Virginia Register of 
Regulations, the publication that provides official legal notice 
of new, amended and repealed regulations of state agencies, 
which is published under the provisions of Article 6 (§ 2.2-
4031 et seq.) of the Administrative Process Act. 

Part II  
Notification of Interested Persons 

1VAC30-11-30. Notification list. 

A. The agency shall maintain a list of persons who have 
requested to be notified of regulatory actions being pursued 
by the agency. 

B. Any person may request to be placed on a notification list 
by registering as a public user on the Town Hall or by making 
a request to the agency. Any person who requests to be placed 
on a notification list shall elect to be notified either by 
electronic means or through a postal carrier. 

C. The agency may maintain additional lists for persons who 
have requested to be informed of specific regulatory issues, 
proposals, or actions. 

D. When electronic mail is returned as undeliverable on 
multiple occasions at least 24 hours apart, that person may be 
deleted from the list. A single undeliverable message is 
insufficient cause to delete the person from the list. 

E. When mail delivered by a postal carrier is returned as 
undeliverable on multiple occasions, that person may be 
deleted from the list. 

F. The agency may periodically request those persons on the 
notification list to indicate their desire to either continue to be 
notified electronically, receive documents through a postal 
carrier, or be deleted from the list. 
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1VAC30-11-40. Information to be sent to persons on the 
notification list. 

A. To persons electing to receive electronic notification or 
notification through a postal carrier as described in 1VAC30-
11-30, the agency shall send the following information: 

1. A notice of intended regulatory action (NOIRA). 

2. A notice of the comment period on a proposed, a 
reproposed, or a fast-track regulation and hyperlinks to, or 
instructions on how to obtain, a copy of the regulation and 
any supporting documents. 

3. A notice soliciting comment on a final regulation when 
the regulatory process has been extended pursuant to § 2.2-
4007.06 or 2.2-4013 C of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The failure of any person to receive any notice or copies 
of any documents shall not affect the validity of any 
regulation or regulatory action. 

Part III  
Public Participation Procedures  

1VAC30-11-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 
action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 
opportunity to submit data, views, and arguments, either 
orally or in writing, to the agency. Such opportunity to 
comment shall include an online public comment forum on 
the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 
copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 
issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 
fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 
public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 
to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 
submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 
the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 
as follows:  

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 
(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 
publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 
publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 
of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 
listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 
substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 
he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 
calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 
changes in accordance with § 2.2-4013 C of the Code of 
Virginia.  

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 
description of public comment to all public commenters on 
the proposed regulation at least five days before final 
adoption of the regulation pursuant to § 2.2-4012 E of the 
Code of Virginia.  

1VAC30-11-60. Petition for rulemaking. 

A. As provided in § 2.2-4007 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person may petition the agency to consider a regulatory 
action. 

B. A petition shall include but is not limited to the following 
information: 

1. The petitioner's name and contact information; 

2. The substance and purpose of the rulemaking that is 
requested, including reference to any applicable Virginia 
Administrative Code sections; and 

3. Reference to the legal authority of the agency to take the 
action requested. 

C. The agency shall receive, consider and respond to a 
petition pursuant to § 2.2-4007 and shall have the sole 
authority to dispose of the petition. 

D. The petition shall be posted on the Town Hall and 
published in the Virginia Register. 

E. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit the agency from 
receiving information or from proceeding on its own motion 
for rulemaking. 

1VAC30-11-70. Appointment of regulatory advisory 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a regulatory advisory panel 
(RAP) to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance when the agency determines that such expertise is 
necessary to address a specific regulatory issue or action or 
when individuals indicate an interest in working with the 
agency on a specific regulatory issue or action. 

B. Any person may request the appointment of a RAP and 
request to participate in its activities. The agency shall 
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determine when a RAP shall be appointed and the 
composition of the RAP. 

C. A RAP may be dissolved by the agency if: 

1. The proposed text of the regulation is posted on the 
Town Hall, published in the Virginia Register, or such 
other time as the agency determines is appropriate; or 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act. 

1VAC30-11-80. Appointment of negotiated rulemaking 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a negotiated rulemaking panel 
(NRP) if a regulatory action is expected to be controversial. 

B. An NRP that has been appointed by the agency may be 
dissolved by the agency when: 

1. There is no longer controversy associated with the 
development of the regulation; 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act; or 

3. The agency determines that resolution of a controversy 
is unlikely. 

1VAC30-11-90. Meetings. 

Notice of any open meeting, including meetings of a RAP or 
NRP, shall be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 
and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working days 
prior to the date of the meeting. The exception to this 
requirement is any meeting held in accordance with § 2.2-
3707 D of the Code of Virginia allowing for 
contemporaneous notice to be provided to participants and the 
public. 

1VAC30-11-100. Public hearings on regulations. 

A. The agency shall indicate in its notice of intended 
regulatory action whether it plans to hold a public hearing 
following the publication of the proposed stage of the 
regulatory action.  

B. The agency may conduct one or more public hearings 
during the comment period following the publication of a 
proposed regulatory action.  

C. An agency is required to hold a public hearing following 
the publication of the proposed regulatory action when:  

1. The agency's basic law requires the agency to hold a 
public hearing;  

2. The Governor directs the agency to hold a public 
hearing; or  

3. The agency receives requests for a public hearing from 
at least 25 persons during the public comment period 
following the publication of the notice of intended 
regulatory action.  

D. Notice of any public hearing shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working 
days prior to the date of the hearing. The agency shall also 
notify those persons who requested a hearing under 
subdivision C 3 of this section.  

1VAC30-11-110. Periodic review of regulations. 

A. The agency shall conduct a periodic review of its 
regulations consistent with:  

1. An executive order issued by the Governor pursuant to § 
2.2-4017 of the Administrative Process Act to receive 
comment on all existing regulations as to their 
effectiveness, efficiency, necessity, clarity, and cost of 
compliance; and  

2. The requirements in § 2.2-4007.1 of the Administrative 
Process Act regarding regulatory flexibility for small 
businesses.  

B. A periodic review may be conducted separately or in 
conjunction with other regulatory actions.  

C. Notice of a periodic review shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and published in the Virginia Register.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1417; Filed November 24, 2008, 10:43 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

REGISTRAR’S NOTICE: The following regulations filed by 
the Marine Resources Commission are exempt from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
12 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 
required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-950. Pertaining to Black Sea 
Bass (amending 4VAC20-950-47, 4VAC20-950-48). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 
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Summary: 

The amendments establish that (i) the 2009 commercial 
black sea bass directed fishery quota shall be 168,638 
pounds and the bycatch fishery quota shall be 40,000 
pounds from January 1 through April 30, and from May 1 
through December 31, 2009, the black sea bass bycatch 
fishery quota is the lesser of 10,000 pounds or the 
remaining amount of black sea bass bycatch fishery quota 
as of May 1, 2009; (ii) when 75% of the bycatch fishery 
quota has been taken, it shall be unlawful for any person 
permitted for the bycatch fishery to possess aboard a 
vessel or to land in Virginia more than 100 pounds of 
black sea bass; and (iii) as of May 1, 2009, should the 
remaining amount of black sea bass bycatch fishery quota 
exceed 10,000 pounds, that excess quota shall be allocated 
to commercial black sea bass directed fishery permit 
holders who have landed at least 500 pounds of black sea 
bass in at least two of three years starting in 2005 and 
ending in 2007. The basis for that allocation shall be the 
same as used to determine an individual directed fishery 
quota as described in 4VAC20-950-46.  

4VAC20-950-47. Commercial harvest quotas.  

A. The 2008 2009 commercial black sea bass directed 
fishery quota is 355,152 168,638 pounds. When it has been 
announced that the directed fishery quota has been projected 
as reached and the directed fishery has been closed, it shall be 
unlawful for any directed commercial black sea bass fishery 
permittee to possess aboard any vessel or land in Virginia any 
black sea bass.  

B. The 2008 2009 commercial black sea bass bycatch 
fishery quota is 40,000 pounds from January 1 through April 
30.  From May 1 through December 31, 2009, the 
commercial black sea bass bycatch fishery quota is the lesser 
of 10,000 pounds or the remaining amount of black sea bass 
bycatch fishery quota as of May 1, 2009. When it has been 
announced that the bycatch fishery quota has been projected 
as reached and the bycatch fishery has been closed, it shall be 
unlawful for any bycatch commercial black sea bass fishery 
permittee to possess aboard any vessel or land in Virginia any 
black sea bass. In the event the bycatch fishery quota is 
exceeded, the amount the quota overage shall be deducted 
from the following year's bycatch fishing quota.  

4VAC20-950-48. Individual fishery quotas; bycatch limit; 
at sea harvesters; exceptions.  

A. Each person possessing a directed fishery permit shall be 
assigned an individual fishery quota, in pounds, for each 
calendar year. Except as provided in subsection F of this 
section, a person's individual fishery quota shall be equal to 
that person's percentage of the total landings of black sea bass 
in Virginia from July 1, 1997, through December 31, 2001, 
multiplied by the directed commercial fishery black sea bass 
quota for the calendar year. Any directed fishery permittee 

shall be limited to landings in the amount of his individual 
fishery quota, in pounds, in any calendar year and it shall be 
unlawful for any permittee to exceed his individual fishery 
quota. In addition to the penalties prescribed by law, any 
overages of an individual's fishery quota shall be deducted 
from that permittee's individual fishery quota for the 
following year.  

B. In the determination of a person's percentage of total 
landings, the commission shall use the greater amount of 
landings from either the National Marine Fisheries Service 
Dealer Weigh-out Reports or National Marine Fisheries 
Service Vessel Trip Reports that have been reported and filed 
as of November 26, 2002. If a person's percentage of the total 
landings of black sea bass is determined by using the Vessel 
Trip Reports as the greater amount, then the person shall 
provide documentation to the Marine Resources Commission 
to verify the Vessel Trip Reports as accurate. This 
documentation may include dealer receipts of sales or other 
pertinent documentation, and such documentation shall be 
submitted to the commission by December 1, 2004. In the 
event the commission is not able to verify the full amount of 
the person's Vessel Trip Reports for the qualifying period, the 
commission shall use the greater amount of landings, from 
either the Dealer Weigh-Out Reports or the verified portion of 
the Vessel Trip Reports to establish that person's share of the 
quota.  

C. It shall be unlawful for any person permitted for the 
bycatch fishery to possess aboard a vessel, or to land in 
Virginia, in any one day, more than 200 pounds of black sea 
bass, except that any person permitted in the bycatch fishery 
may possess aboard a vessel, or land in Virginia, more than 
200 pounds of black sea bass, in any one day, provided the 
total weight of black sea bass on board the vessel does not 
exceed 10%, by weight, of the total weight of summer 
flounder, scup, Loligo squid and Atlantic mackerel on board 
the vessel. When it is projected and announced that 85% 75% 
of the bycatch fishery quota has been be taken, it shall be 
unlawful for any person permitted for the bycatch fishery to 
possess aboard a vessel, or to land in Virginia, more than 200 
100 pounds of black sea bass, except that any person 
permitted in the bycatch fishery may possess aboard a vessel, 
or land in Virginia, more than 200 pounds of black sea bass, 
in any one day, but not more than 1,000 pounds, provided the 
total weight of black sea bass aboard the vessel does not 
exceed 10%, by weight, of the total weight of summer 
flounder, scup, Loligo squid and Atlantic mackerel on board 
the vessel.  

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to transfer black sea 
bass from one vessel to another while at sea.  

E. The commission sets aside 10,000 pounds of the annual 
commercial fishery black sea bass quota for distribution to all 
qualified applicants granted an exception by the commission 
from the requirements of 4VAC20-950-46 B based upon 
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medical conditions, or other hardship, which limited the 
applicant's ability to fish for black sea bass during the 
qualifying period. In granting an exception, the commission 
will give preference to those applicants who can demonstrate 
the greater levels of participation in the black sea bass fishery 
during and after the qualifying period or document an 
apprenticeship or helper status in the black sea bass fishery. 
Any applicant who is granted an exception by the 
commission shall receive a portion of the 10,000 pounds; 
however, no portion shall exceed the lowest individual 
fishery quota, in pounds, at the beginning of the season. 
There shall be no transfer of quota received by applicants to 
the exception process for a period of five years after receipt of 
that quota. Any portion of the 10,000 pounds not allotted by 
the commission to the qualified applicants as of November 1 
shall be added to the annual bycatch quota described in 
4VAC20-950-47 B.  

F. An individual fishery quota, as described in subsection A 
of this section, shall be equal to an individual's current 
percentage share of the directed fishery quota, as described in 
4VAC20-950-47 A.  As of May 1, 2009, should the 
remaining amount of black sea bass bycatch fishery quota 
exceed 10,000 pounds, that excess quota shall be allocated to 
commercial black sea bass directed fishery permit holders 
who have landed at least 500 pounds of black sea bass in at 
least two of three years, starting in 2005 and ending in  2007. 
 The basis for that allocation shall be the same as used to 
determine an individual directed fishery quota as described in 
subsection A of this section. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1725; Filed December 1, 2008, 10:18 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1040. Pertaining to Crabbing 
Licenses (amending 4VAC20-1040-20; adding 4VAC20-
1040-25). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 30, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendments (i) establish license ineligibility 
conditions for the lawful crabbing seasons of 2008 through 
2010 for crab pots and peeler pots; (ii) establish that for 
the lawful crabbing seasons of 2009 and all subsequent 
seasons, those registered commercial fisherman who were 
eligible from 2004 through 2008 for any crab pot or peeler 
pot licenses, but reported no harvest from 2004 through 
2007, shall be placed on a waiting list and shall be 
ineligible to purchase a crab pot or peeler pot license, 

except as described in 4VAC20-1040-20 B; (iii) establish 
that those crab pot or peeler pot fishermen who reported 
harvest prior to the control date of December 17, 2007, 
from the crab dredge fishery for both the 2005/2006 and 
2006/2007 seasons, shall remain eligible to purchase their 
crab pot or peeler pot license for the lawful crabbing 
seasons of 2009 and 2010, and establish that those crab 
pot or peeler pot fishermen who do not meet the condition 
shall remain on the waiting list until such time that results 
from the Chesapeake Bay Winter Dredge Survey indicate 
that an abundance of 200 million age 1+ blue crabs (2.4 
inches and greater, carapace width) has been attained in 
three consecutive seasonal (December/March) surveys; 
and (iv) establish that any registered commercial 
fisherman may appeal the status of his license ineligibility 
to the commission provided documentation of a health 
condition that prevented the harvest of any crabs during 
the 2004 through 2007 lawful crabbing seasons, active 
military service that prevented the harvest of any crabs 
during the 2004 through 2007 lawful crabbing seasons, or 
a substantial error in his Mandatory Harvest Reporting 
records. 

4VAC20-1040-20. License sales moratorium and license 
ineligibility conditions. 

A. For the lawful crabbing seasons of 2008 through 2010, 
commercial licenses for crab pot, peeler pot, crab scrape, crab 
trap, ordinary trot line, patent trot line, and dip net shall be 
sold only to those registered commercial fishermen who have 
been determined by the commission to be eligible to purchase 
any of these licenses in 2007, except as described in 
subsection B of this section. Any person receiving a crab 
license by lawful transfer in 2008 through 2010 also 
establishes his eligibility to purchase that specific license 
through 2010; however, any person either failing to register 
as a commercial fisherman in any year or lawfully 
transferring his crab license to another person shall forfeit his 
eligibility to purchase that specific crab license through 2010.  

B. For the lawful crabbing seasons of 2009 and all 
subsequent seasons, those registered commercial fishermen 
who were eligible from 2004 through 2008 for any crab pot 
or peeler pot licenses, but reported no harvest from 2004 
through 2007, shall be placed on a waiting list and shall be 
ineligible to purchase a crab pot or peeler pot license, except 
as described in subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection. 

1. Those crab pot or peeler pot fishermen, described in this 
subsection, who reported harvest prior to the control date 
of December 17, 2007, from the crab dredge fishery for 
both the 2005/06 and 2006/07 seasons shall remain eligible 
to purchase their crab pot or peeler pot license for the 
lawful crabbing seasons of 2009 and 2010. 

2. Those crab pot or peeler pot fishermen, described in this 
subsection, who do not meet the condition described in 
subdivision 1 of this subsection shall remain on the waiting 
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list until such time that results from the Chesapeake Bay 
Winter Dredge Survey indicate that an abundance of 200 
million age 1+ blue crabs (blue crabs 2.4 inches and 
greater, in carapace width) has been attained in three 
consecutive, seasonal (December - March) surveys. 

C. Any person receiving a crab license by lawful transfer in 
2008 through 2010 also establishes his eligibility to purchase 
that specific license through 2010; however, any person either 
failing to register as a commercial fisherman in any year or 
lawfully transferring his crab license to another person shall 
forfeit his eligibility to purchase that specific crab license 
through 2010. 

B. D. Commercial licenses for crab pots, peeler pots, crab 
scrapes, crab traps, ordinary trot lines, patent trot lines, and 
crab dip nets may be transferred to an immediate family 
member of the licensee at any time and, in the case of death 
or incapacitation of the licensee, may be transferred to a 
registered commercial fisherman at any time. Crabbing 
licenses also may be transferred to another registered 
commercial fisherman, except that not more than 100 licenses 
shall be transferred in the current year. All such transfers shall 
be documented on forms provided by the commission and 
shall be subject to the approval of the commissioner.  

4VAC20-1040-25. Appeal process. 

Any registered commercial fisherman described in 
4VAC20-1040-20 B 2 may appeal the status of his license 
ineligibility, to the commission, provided he documents one 
of the following conditions: (i) a health condition that 
prevented the registered commercial fisherman from 
harvesting any crabs during the 2004 through 2007 lawful 
crabbing seasons; (ii) an active military service that prevented 
the registered commercial fisherman from harvesting any 
crabs during the 2004 through 2007 lawful crabbing seasons; 
or (iii) a substantial error in his mandatory harvest reporting 
records.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1730; Filed December 1, 2008, 10:17 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 6VAC20-260. Regulations Relating to 
Bail Enforcement Agents (adding 6VAC20-260-10 
through 6VAC20-260-370). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 9.1-102 and 9.1-186.2 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

March 12, 2009 - 11 a.m. - General Assembly Building, 
House Room D, 910 Capitol Street, Richmond, VA. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
February 20, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Lisa McGee, Section Chief, Private Security 
Services Section, Department of Criminal Justice Services, 
202 North 9th Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-2419, FAX (804) 786-6344, or email 
lisa.mcgee@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The legal authority to regulate bail enforcement agents 
is found in subdivision 47 of § 9.1-102 of the Code of 
Virginia, effective October 1, 2005, authorizing the 
department, under the direction of the board to license and 
regulate bail enforcement agents in accordance with Article 
12 (§ 9.1-186 et seq.) of Chapter 1 of Title 9.1 of the Code of 
Virginia.  The board is adopting regulations that are necessary 
to ensure respectable, responsible, safe and effective bail 
enforcement within the Commonwealth pursuant to § 9.1-
186.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The purpose of the proposed regulation is to 
regulate bail enforcement agents. The regulation establishes a 
licensure process to include a fingerprint-based background 
check, licensure fees, compulsory minimum entry-level 
training standards, and administration of the regulatory 
system. It authorizes the department to receive complaints 
concerning the conduct of any person whose activities are 
monitored by the board, to conduct investigations, to issue 
disciplinary action, and to revoke, to suspend, and to refuse to 
renew a license. These procedures are established to ensure 
respectable, responsible, safe and effective bail enforcement 
in the Commonwealth. 

The regulations will help to ensure respectable, responsible, 
safe and effective bail enforcement within the 
Commonwealth.  This regulatory action will result in 
verifying the qualifications of the individuals providing bail 
enforcement services through criminal history records checks 
and training, to ensure competency and prevent deceptive or 
unsafe practices towards the family unit. 

Substance: The regulation establishes a licensure process, 
licensure fees, compulsory minimum entry-level training 
standards including firearms training and qualifications, 
standards of conduct, and administration of the regulatory 
system.  It outlines procedures for receiving complaints 
concerning the conduct of any person whose activities are 
monitored by the board; procedures for conducting 
investigations; issuing disciplinary action; and revoking, 
suspending, refusing to renew a license, and provides an 
appeal process pursuant to the Administrative Process Act. 

Issues: The primary advantage of implementing the new 
provisions presented in the proposed regulations is to provide 
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necessary public protection tasked through existing statutes. 
Advantages to the public and the Commonwealth are to 
ensure respectable, responsible, safe and effective bail 
enforcement in the Commonwealth. The goal of these 
regulations is to ensure eligible individuals in the bail 
enforcement industry receive compulsory minimum training, 
abide by established standards of conduct and ensure that 
individuals with certain criminal history records, or who are 
in violation of rules established for public safety are 
prohibited from performing bail enforcement services. 

The establishment of these regulations does not pose any 
disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth.  

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Regulation. Pursuant to legislation 
passed during the 2004 General Assembly session, the 
Criminal Justice Services Board (Board) proposes regulations 
for licensure of bail enforcement agents (bounty hunters). 

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient data to weigh the 
magnitude of costs versus benefits for this proposed 
regulation. Costs and benefits are discussed below. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Previous to October 2005, 
bounty hunters were not regulated by the Commonwealth. 
This proposed regulation replaces emergency regulations for 
licensure of bounty hunters and will require bounty hunters 
to: 

• Be at least 21 years of age. Although bounty hunters must 
be at least 21 to be licensed, bail bondsmen are only 
required to be at least 18 years of age to be licensed and to 
engage in fugitive recovery.  

• Have a General Equivalency Diploma (GED) or a high 
school diploma. 

• Undergo a fingerprint background check through the 
Department of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) (this costs 
$60). Individuals will not be allowed licensure if they have 
ever been convicted of a felony or, except in certain 
limited cases, if they have been convicted of a 
misdemeanor in the last five years. DCJS does have a 
limited ability to license individuals who have a 
misdemeanor conviction so long as that conviction is not 
for 1) carrying a concealed weapon 2) assault and battery 
3) sexual battery 4) a drug offence 5) driving under the 
influence 6) discharging a firearm 7) a sex offence or 8) 
larceny. This requirement is apparently more restrictive 
than conviction requirements for any other DCJS licensure 
program.  

• Undergo 40 hours of bail enforcement core training and 
14 hours of firearms training (if they intend to carry a gun 
while acting as a bounty hunter). 

• Take an exam (through DCJS). 

• Pay a licensure fee of $200. An additional $30 must be 
paid on an annual basis if a bounty hunter wants a DCJS 
firearms endorsement.  

• Undergo eight hours of in-service training before 
biannual license renewal (fee for license renewal will be 
$200). Bounty hunters who fail to complete in-service 
training, and pay the renewal fee, before their licenses 
expire will have 60 days to reinstate their licenses. The fee 
for this will be the cost of renewal plus 50% of the cost of 
renewal ($200 + $100 = $300). Bounty hunters who fail to 
renew their licenses either before the expiration of their 
license or during the reinstatement period will have to 
complete all 40 hours of bail enforcement core training 
again.  

• Retain all records on fugitive recovery for at least three 
years (at a physical location known to DCJS). 

The General Assembly is requiring licensure for bounty 
hunters because there have been a few rather notorious 
incidents in Virginia where bounty hunters mistakenly seized 
or tried to seize the wrong person. One of these incidents, in 
2002, ended in the death of a Mexican immigrant in South 
Richmond. There have also been, in the past few years, some 
allegations of sexual misconduct by bounty hunters. These 
incidences appear to be anomalous and not indicative of how 
bond recovery usually happens: nonetheless, legislators 
believe that licensure with several restrictions as to who may 
be licensed will protect the public from possible harm. 

Weighed against this possible benefit are the costs that will be 
incurred by bounty hunters, bail bondsmen, localities, the 
state and the tax-paying public.  

Bounty hunters who are not restricted from licensure will 
incur all explicit fees and training costs plus the implicit costs 
of time spent on becoming and remaining licensed (time 
spent in training, filling out paperwork, etc.). It is likely that 
three quarters of the individuals who worked as bounty 
hunters before October 2005 would not have been eligible for 
licensure (see discussion below under Projected Impact on 
Employment). These people would likely choose to continue 
working at bail recovery if the Commonwealth were not 
prohibiting that choice. Because of this, these individuals 
have incurred costs equal to what they could have earned 
working as a bounty hunter minus whatever they earn in 
alternate employment. 

Bail bondsmen will likely incur larger costs associated with a 
likely lower probability of being able to capture bonded 
fugitives and return them to court jurisdiction before bail is 
forfeited. The number of bounty hunters has likely dropped 
precipitously since licensure has been required (see 
discussion below under Projected Impact on Employment); 
this drop in supply of bounty hunters is likely to make their 
services more expensive to acquire and will also likely mean 
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that some fugitives who would otherwise be recaptured 
remain at large.  

Additionally, since bounty hunting appears to be a job that 
attracts risk seeking individuals who live on the fringes of 
mainstream society (individuals who may be good at 
recovering fugitives because they, too, have been on the 
wrong side of the law and know how to think like a criminal), 
there may not be a large population of eligible individuals 
who would be as effective at fugitive recovery as those who 
are now ineligible for licensure were. Although bail 
bondsmen are able to engage in bond recovery, they will still 
incur costs if they choose to do this job themselves since time 
spent engaging in bond recovery cannot be spent engaging in 
writing bonds (an activity which likely has a higher return).  

Localities and the state (and tax-paying citizens) will likely 
also incur costs associated with implementation of this 
proposed regulation (and its initiating legislation). Changes in 
the number and (potentially) the effectiveness of bounty 
hunters will likely mean that prisoners free on bond who 
choose to flee will be found and brought back for trial less 
often. When prisoners become fugitives, and remain at large, 
bail bondsmen have to forfeit their bonds to the court. Bail 
bondsmen are likely to respond to these monetary losses by 
refusing to offer bail to riskier prisoners. Other things 
remaining equal, this will mean that more prisoners will 
remain in jail longer or until their trial instead of being 
released. If this happens, and preliminary data would support 
that it will1, the costs that localities and the state pay to house 
prisoners in jail will increase. The daily cost increase will be 
equal to the number of prisoners now housed (either until trial 
or during a more lengthy search for bond) rather than being 
released times the cost per day for housing, feeding clothing 
and guarding each prisoner in jail.  

The public will also incur costs associated with possible 
increased fugitive rates. Although DCJS does not have 
information on individuals who fail to appear for court 
hearings or on individuals who are classified as fugitives 
because they remain at large for one year or longer, it is 
reasonable to assume that Virginia’s numbers in these 
categories would be proportional to national numbers (after 
adjusting for types of release allowed in each state). 
Nationally, each year roughly one quarter (200,000) of all 
released felony defendants fail to appear for scheduled court 
hearings. Of these, approximately 30% (60,000) will remain 
at large for at least a year.2 Virginia’s portion of these 
individuals is a not-inconsiderable number. These fugitives 
impose significant costs on society. These costs would 
include those associated with lost court time and resources. 
Since approximately 16% of released defendants are 
rearrested for crimes committed while awaiting trial (and the 
actual percent of released individuals who commit crimes 
while awaiting trial is even higher than that), society also 
incurs a cost associated with higher crime. This cost may 
increase if fugitive rates for bonded defendants increase. 

Whether the costs associated with licensing of bounty hunters 
outweigh the benefits will largely depend on whether 
licensure restrictions curtail further incidents of public harm 
caused by overzealous or unethical bounty hunters. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Bail bondsmen and bounty 
hunters currently practicing in the Commonwealth, as well as 
individuals who may want to join these occupations in the 
future, will be affected by the proposed regulation. Currently, 
DCJS licenses 378 bail bondsmen and 73 bounty hunters. 
Localities and the state will also likely be affected since these 
entities will absorb any extra jail expenditures brought about 
by the legislation that initiated this proposed regulation. 

Localities Particularly Affected. Changes in the number and 
(potentially) the effectiveness of bounty hunters will likely 
mean that prisoners free on bond who choose to flee will be 
found and brought back for trial less often. When prisoners 
become fugitives, and remain at large, bail bondsmen have to 
forfeit their bonds to the court. Bail bondsmen are likely to 
respond to these monetary losses by refusing to offer bail to 
riskier prisoners. Other things remaining equal, this will mean 
that more prisoners will remain in jail longer or until their 
trial instead of being released. If this happens, and 
preliminary data would support that it will, the costs that 
localities and the state pay to house prisoners in jail will 
increase. The daily cost increase will be equal to the number 
of prisoners now housed (either until trial or during a more 
lengthy search for bond) rather than being released times the 
cost per day for housing, feeding clothing and guarding each 
prisoner in jail. This cost will likely fall disproportionately on 
localities that house their prisoners in regional jails. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The legislation that 
initiated this proposed regulation has reduced the number of 
individuals employed as bounty hunters. The magnitude of 
this reduction is unknown since there is no data on the 
number of bounty hunters who practiced in the state before 
licensure. It is likely, however, that bounty hunters 
experienced at least as great a drop in numbers as did bail 
bondsmen post licensure. The number of bail bondsmen fell 
from around 1,300 pre-licensure to approximately 380 post-
licensure. Assuming comparable decreases, there would have 
been approximately 250 bounty hunters practicing in the 
Commonwealth prior to licensure. Additionally, the number 
of bail bondsmen practicing in Virginia may fall further if 
bail defaults increase enough to drive defaulting bondsmen 
out of business. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The value 
of bail bondsmen businesses may decrease if bail defaults 
increase. Property bail bondsmen, in particular, may lose any 
property used to secure bonds for prisoners who skip out on 
their court dates and are not found.  

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Bail bondsmen 
may incur costs associated with increased bail defaults. 
Bounty hunters will incur costs for keeping records on all bail 
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recoveries for three years as required by the proposed 
regulation. They will also incur explicit cost for training and 
licensure fees as well as opportunity costs associated with 
time spent getting and maintaining their licensure that could 
have been spent elsewhere. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Within the confines of legislative 
requirements for this licensure program, there is likely no 
alternate method that the Board could have employed to 
minimize most adverse effects of this regulatory program. 
The Board might choose to rewrite this proposed regulation 
to remove the requirement that bounty hunters who do not 
renew their licenses on time, or within the 60 day 
reinstatement period, take all initial core training again. 
Specifically, the costs associated with re-obtaining a license 
would be minimized if applicants only had to complete extra 
hours of core education if the core education requirements 
have increased since initial licensure was first obtained. 

References. Hellend, Eric and Tabarrok, Alexander. "The 
Fugitive: Evidence of Public versus Private Law Enforcement 
from Bail Jumping." Journal of Law and Economics, Vol 
XLVII. April 2004. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21 
(02). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

 
1 Total jail populations grew at an average annual rate of 4.2% from FY 2001 
through FY 2005. In FY 2006 (the year after implementation of bail 
enforcement agent licensure), total jail populations grew 9.96%. Growth rate 
changes for the jail subpopulation consisting of unsentenced individuals 
awaiting trial are even more startling. This subpopulation had an average 

annual growth rate of 4.3% from FY 2001 through FY 2005. In FY 2006, this 
subpopulation grew 12.7%. Jail populations have not experienced a 
comparable growth rate since FY 2000 when Virginia implemented bail 
reform. 
2 Source: Hellend and Tabarrok (2004)  

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Department of 
Criminal Justice Services concurs generally with the 
Economic Impact Analysis (EIA) of the Department of 
Planning and Budget on the proposed Regulations Relating to 
Bail Enforcement Agents with one exception. 

Under the Small Businesses: Alternative Method that 
Minimizes Adverse Impact, DBP recommended that the 
agency remove the requirement that bounty hunters who do 
not renew their licenses on time or within the 60-day 
reinstatement period are then required to meet initial core 
training. 

The provision in question is in reference to bail enforcement 
agent in-service training requirements. The applicants are 
required to take a 40-hour entry-level training prior to 
licensure. In order to renew the license, they are required to 
complete an eight-hour in-service training session during the 
last 12 months of a two-year license. The department had 
added the provision that if in-service training is not 
completed by their expiration date then they are required to 
meet all initial training requirements. This did not allow for 
any reinstatement period. 

The Code of Virginia specifically provides that the 
department establish compulsory minimum training standards 
that shall ensure public safety and welfare from incompetent 
or unqualified persons engaging in bail enforcement 
activities. Furthermore, the department is required to ensure 
continued competency of the regulated community. 

Section 9.1-186.6 of the Code of Virginia specifically states 
that prior to renewing the two-year license, the applicant 
must: complete eight hours of continuing education approved 
by the department and that any license not renewed by its 
expiration date shall terminate on such date. 

This requirement was added to clarify to the applicant the 
penalty for not meeting renewal requirements and to 
encourage applicants to stay in compliance with the 
regulations. This is consistent with all other regulatory 
programs under the authority of the Private Security Services 
Section of the Department of Criminal Justice Services. They 
have 12 months to take an eight-hour course as well as a 
provision to extend this requirement under an emergency 
situation, such as illness, injury or active duty (6VAC 20-
260-170), as well as a provision that they may receive 
alternate in-service credit for taking training that meets or 
exceeds the standards promulgated by the board (6VAC 20-
260-150). 
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DPB’s concern was over the provision that the requirement of 
retaking entry-level training again was too harsh a penalty. 
The agency agrees that it was too harsh to require entry-level 
training if requirements were not met by the expiration date 
of the license, but does not agree that it is too harsh a penalty 
to require entry-level training if training was not met within 
an additional 60-day reinstatement period after the expiration 
of the license. The agency has rewritten the regulations to 
incorporate a 60-day reinstatement period in which to meet 
renewal requirements. 

Summary:  

The proposed regulation establishes a licensure process, 
licensure fees, compulsory minimum entry-level training 
standards, including firearms training and qualifications, 
standards of conduct, and administration of the 
regulatory system. It provides procedures for receiving 
complaints concerning the conduct of any person whose 
activities are monitored by the board; conducting 
investigations; issuing disciplinary action; revoking, 
suspending, or refusing to renew a license; and an 
appeal process pursuant to the Administrative Process 
Act. 

CHAPTER 260  
REGULATIONS RELATING TO BAIL ENFORCEMENT 

AGENTS  

Part I  
Definitions  

6VAC20-260-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this regulation 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Armed" means a bail enforcement agent who carries or has 
immediate access to a firearm in the performance of his 
duties. 

"Bail bondsman" means any person who is licensed by the 
department who engages in the business of bail bonding and 
is thereby authorized to conduct business in all courts of the 
Commonwealth. 

"Bail enforcement agent," also known as "bounty hunter," 
means any individual engaged in bail recovery. 

"Bail recovery" means an act whereby a person arrests a 
bailee with the object of surrendering the bailee to the 
appropriate court, jail, or police department for the purpose of 
discharging the bailee's surety from liability on his bond. Bail 
recovery shall include investigating, surveilling or locating a 
bailee in preparation for an imminent arrest, with such object 
and for such purpose. 

"Bailee" means a person who has been released on bail and 
who is or has been subject to a bond as defined in § 19.2-119 
of the Code of Virginia.  

"Board" means the Criminal Justice Services Board or any 
successor board or agency. 

"Department" or "DCJS" means the Department of Criminal 
Justice Services or any successor agency. 

"Firearms endorsement" means a method of regulation that 
identifies a person licensed as a bail enforcement agent who 
has successfully completed the annual firearms training and 
has met the requirements as set forth in this regulation. 

"On duty" means the time during which bail enforcement 
agents receive or are entitled to receive compensation for 
employment for which licensure is required. 

"Private security services training school" means a training 
school that is certified or licensed by the department for the 
specific purpose of training regulated personnel in at least one 
category of the compulsory minimum training standards.  

Part II  
Fees  

6VAC20-260-20. Fees. 

A. Schedule of fees. The following fees reflect the costs of 
handling, issuance, and production associated with 
administering and processing applications for licensing and 
other administrative requests for services relating to bail 
enforcement services: 

Categories  Fees 

Initial bail enforcement agent license  $200 

Bail enforcement agent license renewal 
(biannually) 

$200 

Firearms endorsement (annually) $30 

Fingerprint card processing (biannually) $50 

Replacement photo identification  $30 

Partial training exemption $25 

In-service alternative training credit $25 

B. Reinstatement fee.  

1. The department shall collect a reinstatement fee for 
license renewal applications not received on or before the 
expiration date of the expiring license.  

2. The reinstatement fee shall be 50% above and beyond 
the renewal fee of the license or any other credential issued 
by the department wherein a fee is established and renewal 
is required.  

C. Dishonor of fee payment due to nonsufficient funds.  

1. The department may suspend the license it has granted 
any person who submits a check or similar instrument for 
payment of a fee required by statute or regulation that is 
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not honored by the financial institution upon which the 
check or similar instrument is drawn. 

2. The suspension shall become effective upon receipt of 
written notice of the dishonored payment. Upon 
notification of the suspension, the licensee may request 
that the suspended license or authority be reinstated, 
provided payment of the dishonored amount plus any 
penalties or fees required under the statute or regulation 
accompanies the request. Suspension under this provision 
shall be exempt from the Administrative Process Act. 

Part III  
Licensing Procedures and Requirements  

6VAC20-260-30. Bail enforcement agent eligibility. 

A. Persons required to be licensed pursuant to subdivision 
47 of § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia as a bail enforcement 
agent shall meet all licensure requirements in this section. 
Persons who carry or have access to a firearm while on duty 
must have a valid license with a firearms endorsement as 
described under 6VAC20-260-80. If carrying a handgun 
concealed, the person must also have a valid concealed 
handgun permit and the written permission of his employer 
pursuant to § 18.2-308 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Each person applying for a bail enforcement agent license 
shall meet the minimum requirements for eligibility as 
follows: 

1. Be a minimum of 21 years of age; 

2. Be a United States citizen or legal resident alien of the 
United States; 

3. Have received a high school diploma or GED; and 

4. Have successfully completed all initial training 
requirements, including firearms endorsement if 
applicable, requested pursuant to the compulsory minimum 
training standards in Part IV (6 VAC 20-260-120 et seq.) 
of this regulation. 

C. The following persons are not eligible for licensure as a 
bail enforcement agent and may not be employed by or serve 
as agents for a bail enforcement agent: 

1. Persons who have been convicted of a felony within the 
Commonwealth, any other state, or the United States, who 
have not been pardoned, or whose civil rights have not 
been restored. 

2. Persons who have been convicted of any misdemeanor 
within the Commonwealth, any other state, or the United 
States within the preceding five years. This prohibition 
may be waived by the department, for good cause shown, 
so long as the conviction was not for one of the following 
or a substantially similar misdemeanor: carrying a 
concealed weapon, assault and battery, sexual battery, a 

drug offense, driving under the influence, discharging a 
firearm, a sex offense, or larceny. 

3. Persons who have been convicted of any misdemeanor 
within the Commonwealth, any other state, or the United 
States, that is substantially similar to the following: 
brandishing a firearm or stalking. The department may not 
waive the prohibitions under this subdivision. 

4. Persons currently the subject of a protective order within 
the Commonwealth or another state.  

5. Employees of a local or regional jail.  

6. Employees of a sheriff's office or a state or local police 
department.  

7. Commonwealth's attorneys and any employees of their 
offices.  

8. Employees of the Department of Corrections, 
Department of Criminal Justice Services, or a local pretrial 
or community-based probation services agency.  

D. The exclusions in subsection C of this section shall not be 
construed to prohibit law enforcement from accompanying a 
bail enforcement agent when he engages in bail recovery.  

6VAC20-260-40. Initial bail enforcement agent license 
application. 

Prior to the issuance of any bail enforcement agent license, 
each agent applicant shall:  

1. File with the department a completed application for 
such license on the form and in the manner provided by the 
department; 

2. Provide the address of a physical location in Virginia 
where records required to be maintained pursuant to 
6VAC20-260-230 are kept and available for inspection by 
the department. A post office box is not a physical 
location; 

3. Successfully complete entry-level training, and firearms 
training if applicable, pursuant to the compulsory 
minimum training standards set forth under Part IV 
(6VAC20-260-120 et seq.) of this regulation;  

4. Submit fingerprints to the department pursuant to 
6VAC20-260-50; and 

5. Submit the appropriate nonrefundable application 
processing fee to the department. 

6VAC20-260-50. Fingerprint processing. 

A. Each person applying for licensure as a bail enforcement 
agent shall submit to the department: 

1. One completed fingerprint card provided by the 
department or another electronic method approved by the 
department;  
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2. A fingerprint processing application;  

3. The applicable nonrefundable fee; and 

4. All criminal history conviction information on a form 
provided by the department. 

B. The department shall submit those fingerprints to the 
Virginia State Police for the purpose of conducting a Virginia 
Criminal History Records search and a National Criminal 
Records search to determine whether the person or persons 
has a record of conviction.  

C. Fingerprint cards found to be unclassifiable will suspend 
action on the application pending the resubmittal of a 
classifiable fingerprint card. The applicant shall be so notified 
in writing and shall submit a new fingerprint card within 30 
days before the processing of his application shall resume. 
After 30 days, the initial fingerprint application process will 
be required to include applicable application fees.  

D. If the applicant is denied by DCJS, the department will 
notify the applicant by letter regarding the reasons for the 
denial.  

6VAC20-260-60. Application sanctions/denial, probation, 
suspension and revocation. 

A. The department may deny a license in which any person 
has been convicted in any jurisdiction of any felony. Any plea 
of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for the 
purposes of this regulation. The record of a conviction, 
authenticated in such form as to be admissible in evidence 
under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted, shall be 
admissible as prima facie evidence of such conviction. 

B. The department may deny a license in which any person 
(i) has not maintained good standing in every jurisdiction 
where licensed; (ii) has had his license denied upon initial 
application, suspended, revoked, surrendered, or not renewed; 
or (iii) has otherwise been disciplined in connection with a 
disciplinary action prior to applying for licensing in Virginia. 

C. Any false or misleading statement on any state 
application or supporting documentation is grounds for denial 
or revocation and may be subject to criminal prosecution. 

D. The department may deny licensure to a person for other 
just cause. 

E. A licensee shall be subject to disciplinary action for 
violations or noncompliance with the Code of Virginia or this 
regulation. Disciplinary action shall be in accordance with 
procedures prescribed by the Administrative Process Act. The 
disciplinary action may include but is not limited to a letter of 
censure, fine, probation, suspension or revocation. 

6VAC20-260-70. License issuance. 

A. Upon completion of the initial license application 
requirements, the department may issue an initial license for a 
period not to exceed 24 months. 

B. Each license shall be issued to the applicant named on the 
application and shall be valid only for the person named on 
the license. No license shall be assigned or otherwise 
transferred to another person. 

C. Each licensee shall comply with all applicable 
administrative requirements and standards of conduct and 
shall not engage in any acts prohibited by applicable sections 
of the Code of Virginia and this regulation. 

D. At the discretion of the department, a temporary license 
may be issued for a 30-day period while awaiting the results 
of the applicant's criminal history records search based on 
extenuating circumstances. 

6VAC20-260-80. Firearms endorsement. 

A. In addition to applying for a bail enforcement agent 
license, each applicant who carries or has access to a firearm 
while on duty must apply for such endorsement on a form and 
in the manner prescribed by the board and containing any 
information the board requires. 

B. Prior to the issuance of a firearms endorsement, each 
applicant shall: 

1. Successfully complete the entry-level firearms training 
pursuant to the compulsory minimum training standards as 
set forth in Part IV (6VAC20-260-120 et seq.) of this 
regulation; and 

2. Submit the appropriate nonrefundable application 
processing fee to the department.  

C. Upon completion of the application requirements, the 
department may issue a firearms endorsement for a period not 
to exceed 12 months. 

D. Firearms endorsements may be reissued for a period not 
to exceed a period of 12 months when the applicant has met 
the following requirements: 

1. Filed with the department a completed application for 
such endorsement on the form and in the manner provided 
by the department at least 30 days prior to expiration of the 
current endorsement; 

2. Successfully completed the firearms retraining, pursuant 
to the compulsory minimum training standards set forth 
under Part IV (6VAC20-260-120 et seq.) of this regulation; 
and 

3. Submitted the appropriate nonrefundable application 
processing fee to the department. 

6VAC20-260-90. License renewal application. 

A. The department should receive applications for licensure 
renewal at least 30 days prior to expiration. The department 
will provide a renewal notification to the last known mailing 
address of the licensed person. However, if a renewal 
notification is not received by the person, it is the 
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responsibility of the person to ensure renewal requirements 
are filed with the department. License renewal applications 
must be received by the department and all license 
requirements must be completed prior to the expiration date 
or shall be subject to all applicable, nonrefundable renewal 
fees plus reinstatement fees. Outstanding fees or monetary 
penalties owed to DCJS must be paid prior to issuance of a 
renewal.  

B. Each person applying for license renewal shall meet the 
minimum requirements for eligibility as follows:  

1. Successfully complete the in-service training, and 
firearms retraining if applicable, pursuant to the 
compulsory minimum training standards set forth under 
Part IV (6VAC20-260-120 et seq.) of this regulation; 

2. Be in good standing in every jurisdiction where licensed. 
This subdivision shall not apply to any probationary 
periods during which the person is eligible to operate under 
the license; and 

3. Maintain eligibility pursuant to 6VAC20-260-30 B. 

C. The department may renew a license when the 
department receives the following:  

1. A properly completed renewal application provided by 
the department; 

2. Fingerprint cards submitted pursuant to 6VAC20-260-
50; 

3. The applicable, nonrefundable license renewal fee; and 

4. Proof of successful completion of the in-service training, 
pursuant to the compulsory minimum training standards set 
forth under Part IV (6VAC20-260-120 et seq.) of this 
regulation. 

D. Upon completion of the renewal license application 
requirements, the department may issue a license for a period 
not to exceed 24 months.  

E. Any renewal application received after the expiration date 
of a license shall be subject to the requirements set forth by 
the reinstatement provisions of this chapter.  

6VAC20-260-100. Replacement state-issued identification. 

A licensed person seeking a replacement state-issued photo 
identification shall submit to the department:  

1. A properly completed application provided by the 
department; and 

2. The applicable, nonrefundable application fee. 

6VAC20-260-110. Reinstatement. 

A. A bail enforcement agent license not renewed on or 
before the expiration date shall become null and void. 
Pursuant to the Code of Virginia, all such persons must 

currently be licensed with the department to provide bail 
enforcement agent services.  

B. A renewal application must be received by the 
department within 60 days following the expiration date of 
the license in order to be reinstated by the department, 
providing all renewal requirements have been met. Prior to 
reinstatement, the following shall be submitted to the 
department:  

1. The appropriate renewal application and completion of 
renewal requirements, including required training pursuant 
to this chapter; and 

2. The applicable, nonrefundable reinstatement fee 
pursuant to this chapter and in accordance with 6VAC20-
260-20 B. 

The department shall not reinstate renewal applications 
received after the 60-day reinstatement period has expired. It 
is unlawful to operate without a valid license including during 
a reinstatement period. 

C. No license shall be renewed or reinstated when all 
renewal application requirements are received by the 
department more than 60 days following the expiration date 
of the license. After that date, the applicant shall meet all 
initial application requirements, including applicable training 
requirements.  

D. Following submittal of all reinstatement requirements, 
the department will process and may approve any application 
for reinstatement pursuant to the renewal process for the 
application. 

Part IV  
Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for Bail 

Enforcement Agents  

Article 1  
Training Requirements  

6VAC20-260-120. Entry-level training. 

A. Each bail enforcement agent as defined by § 9.1-186 of 
the Code of Virginia must meet the compulsory minimum 
training standards established in this part unless provided for 
otherwise in accordance with this regulation. 

B. Training will be credited only if application for licensure 
is submitted to the department within 12 months of 
completion of training. 

C. The compulsory minimum entry-level training hour 
requirement by category, excluding examinations, practical 
exercises and range qualification, shall be: 

1. Bail Enforcement Core Training -- 40 hours. 

2. Firearms Training -- 14 hours. 

D. The compulsory minimum entry-level training course 
content, excluding examinations, mandated practical 
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exercises and range qualification, shall be as provided in this 
subsection. 

Core subjects. The entry-level curriculum sets forth the 
following areas identified as: 

I. Orientation: ethics -- 2 hours 

A. Ethics 

1. Professionalism 

2. Conflict of Interest 

3. Code of Ethics 

II. Law: Code of Virginia and Regulations; basic law; 
courts; and bail enforcement -- 12 hours + 1 practical exercise 

A. Code of Virginia and Regulations 

1. Definitions 

2. Licensing Procedures and Requirements 

3. Compulsory Minimum Training Standards 

4. Standards of Practice and Prohibited Acts 

5. Administrative Requirements/Standards of Conduct 

6. Administrative Reviews, Complaints, Procedures 

B. Basic Law 

1. Legal Terminology and Definitions 

2. Purpose and Function of Law 

3. U.S. Constitution 

a. Bill of Rights 

b. Amendments 

4. Code of Virginia 

a. Bail Bonding Laws 

b. Laws of Arrest 

5. Landmark Cases 

a. Taylor v. Taintor 

b. Old Fugitive Slave Laws 

6. Virginia Cases 

7. Limitations and Liabilities 

C. Courts 

1. Federal Court System 

a. Criminal 

b. Civil 

2. State Court System 

a. Criminal 

b. Civil 

D. Bail Enforcement 

1. Right to Arrest 

2. Search and Seizure 

3. Uniform Extradition Act 

4. Virginia Extradition Procedures 

5. Legal and Criminal Forms 

III. Fugitive Recovery: investigative techniques; recovery 
procedures; agent survival; and apprehension of a fugitive -- 
24 hours + 1 practical exercise 

A. Investigative Techniques 

1. Surveillance 

2. Court Research 

3. Law Enforcement Coordination 

4. Interviewing 

5. Impersonation and Misrepresentation 

6. Reference Materials and Resource List 

7. Skip Tracing Techniques 

8. Fugitive Identification 

B. Recovery Procedures 

1. Pursuit  

a. Foot 

b. Vehicular 

c. Other  

2. Entry and Search 

3. Perimeter/Interior Room Control 

C. Agent Survival 

1. Confrontation Management 

2. Use of Force 

3. Deadly Force 

4. Escalation of Force 

5. Emergency Procedures 

D. Apprehension of a Fugitive 

1. Compliant versus Noncompliant Procedures 

2. Search of Person 

a. Personal Items 

b. Seizure of Contraband 
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3. Handcuffing Techniques 

4. Rights of the Accused 

5. Detainment and Transportation 

6. Interstate Transport 

7. False Arrest 

IV. Remanding to Custody: legal detainment facilities; 
entering the jail or sally port; signing the bail piece/return to 
court; and hospital procedures for injuries -- 2 hours + 1 
practical exercise 

A. Legal Detainment Facilities 

B. Entering the Jail or Sally Port 

C. Signing the Bail Piece/Return to Court 

D. Hospital Procedures for Injuries 

V. Written Comprehensive Examination.  

6VAC20-260-130. In-service training. 

A. Each person licensed with the department as a bail 
enforcement agent shall complete the compulsory in-service 
training standards within the last 12 months preceding the 
expiration date of licensure.  

B. The compulsory minimum in-service training course 
content by category, excluding examinations, practical 
exercises and range qualification, shall be as follows:  

Bail enforcement core subjects:  

1. Legal authority -- 2 hours  

2. Job-related training -- 6 hours  

Total hours -- 8 hours  

6VAC20-260-140. Training exemption. 

Persons who meet the statutory requirements as set forth in 
§ 9.1-186 of the Code of Virginia may apply for a partial 
exemption from the compulsory training standards. 
Individuals requesting such partial exemption shall file an 
application furnished by the department and include the 
applicable, nonrefundable application fee. The department 
may issue such partial exemption on the basis of individual 
qualifications as supported by required documentation. Those 
applying for and receiving exemptions must comply with all 
regulations promulgated by the board. Each person receiving 
a partial exemption must apply to the department for 
registration within 12 months from the date of issuance; 
otherwise the partial exemption shall become null and void. 

6VAC20-260-150. Entry-level training exemption. 

A. Persons previously employed as law-enforcement 
officers for a local, state or federal government who have not 
terminated or been terminated from the employment more 
than five years prior to the application date must submit 

official documentation of the following with the application 
for partial exemption of the entry-level training requirements: 

1. Completion of law-enforcement entry-level training; and 

2. Five continuous years of law-enforcement employment, 
provided such employment as a law-enforcement officer 
was not terminated due to misconduct or incompetence. 

B. Persons having previous bail enforcement agent training 
and five years continuous experience must submit official 
documentation of the following with the application for 
partial exemption:  

1. Completion of previous bail enforcement agent training, 
which has been approved by the department and which 
meets or exceeds the compulsory minimum training 
standards promulgated by the board; and 

2. Five years continuous experience in bail recovery, 
provided such experience did not end more then 12 months 
prior to submittal of licensure application. 

6VAC20-260-160. In-service alternative training credit. 

Persons who have completed training that meets or exceeds 
the compulsory minimum training standards promulgated by 
the board for the in-service training required for bail 
enforcement agents may be authorized credit for such 
training, provided the training has been completed within 12 
months of the expiration date of the license period during 
which in-service training is required. Such training must be 
provided by a third party organization offering services or 
expertise for the particular training category. Official 
documentation of the following must accompany the 
application for in-service training credit:  

1. Information regarding the sponsoring organization, 
including documentation regarding the instructor for each 
session; 

2. An outline of the training session material, including the 
dates, times and specific subject matter; 

3. Proof of attendance and successful completion; and 

4. The applicable, nonrefundable application fee. 

6VAC20-260-170. Prior firearms training exemption. 

Persons having previous department-approved firearms 
training may be authorized credit for such training that meets 
or exceeds the compulsory minimum training standards for 
private security services business personnel, provided such 
training has been completed within the 12 months preceding 
the date of application. Official documentation of the 
following must accompany the application for partial in-
service training credit: 

1. Completion of department-approved firearms training; 
and 
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2. Qualification at a Virginia criminal justice agency, 
academy or correctional department. 

6VAC20-260-180. Renewal extension. 

A. An extension of the time period to meet in-service 
training requirements for renewal of a license may be 
approved only under specific circumstances that do not allow 
bail enforcement agents to complete the required renewal 
procedures within the prescribed time period. The following 
are the only circumstances for which extensions may be 
granted:  

1. Extended illness, 

2. Extended injury, or 

3. Military deployment.  

B. A request for extension shall:  

1. Be submitted in writing, dated and signed by the 
licensee prior to the expiration date of the time limit 
required for completion of the requirements. This 
requirement may be waived by the department in cases of 
military deployment; 

2. Indicate the projected date the person will be able to 
comply with the requirements; and  

3. Include a copy of the physician's record of the injury or 
illness or a copy of the government orders.  

C. No extension will be approved for licenses that have 
expired except in the cases involving military deployment. 

D. Applications for additional extensions may be approved 
upon written request of the licensee. 

E. Approved extensions may only be granted for a period 
not to exceed 12 months. 

F. The bail enforcement agent shall be nonoperational 
during the period of extension. 

Article 2  
Firearms Training Requirements  

6VAC20-260-190. General firearms training 
requirements. 

Firearms training endorsement is required for all bail 
enforcement agents who carry or have access to a firearm 
while on duty. Each person who carries or has access to 
firearms while on duty shall qualify with each type of action 
and caliber of firearm to which he has access.  

6VAC20-260-200. Firearms (handgun/shotgun) entry-
level training. 

All armed bail enforcement agents must satisfactorily 
complete the firearms classroom training, practical exercises 
and range training as prescribed in 6VAC20-171, Regulations 
Relating to Private Security Services, for handgun and for 

shotgun, if applicable, prior to the issuance of the firearms 
endorsement. 

6VAC20-260-210. Firearms (handgun/shotgun) 
retraining. 

On an annual basis all armed bail enforcement agents must 
requalify for a firearms endorsement by satisfactorily 
completing firearms classroom training, practical exercises 
and range training as prescribed in 6VAC20-171, Regulations 
Relating to Private Security Services, for handgun and for 
shotgun, if applicable. 

Article 3  
Training Sessions  

6VAC20-260-220. Bail enforcement and firearms training 
sessions. 

A. Training sessions will be conducted by private security 
services training schools certified or licensed under 6VAC20-
171, Regulations Relating to Private Security Services, in 
accordance with requirements established in this chapter. 
Adherence to the administrative requirements, attendance and 
standards of conduct are the responsibility of the training 
school, training school director and instructor of the training 
session.  

B. Administrative requirements.  

1. In a manner approved by the department, a notification 
to conduct a training session shall be publicly accessible 
and submitted to the department upon request. All 
notifications shall be posted no less than seven calendar 
days prior to the beginning of each training session to 
include the date, time, instructors and location of the 
training session. The department may allow a session to be 
conducted with less than seven calendar days of 
notification with prior approval. A notification to conduct a 
training session shall be deemed to be in compliance unless 
the training school director is notified by the department to 
the contrary.  

2. Notification of any changes to the dates, times, location 
or cancellation of a future training session must be made at 
least 24 hours in advance of the scheduled starting time of 
the class. In the event that a session must be cancelled on 
the scheduled date, the department must be notified 
immediately.  

3. On a form provided by the department, the training 
school director shall issue an original training completion 
form and training certificate to each student who 
satisfactorily completes a training session no later than five 
business days following the training completion date.  

4. In a manner approved by the department, the training 
school director shall maintain an original training 
completion roster and submit to the department upon 
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request, affirming each student's successful completion of 
the session. 

5. A written examination shall be administered at the 
conclusion of each entry-level training session. The 
examination shall be based on the applicable learning 
objectives. The student must attain a minimum grade of 
70% for all entry-level training examinations to 
satisfactorily complete the training session. 

6. Firearms classroom training shall be separately tested 
and graded. Individuals must achieve a minimum score of 
70% on the firearms classroom training examination. 

7. Failure to achieve a minimum score of 70% on the 
firearms classroom written examination will exclude the 
individual from the firearms range training.  

8. To successfully complete the firearms range training, the 
individual must achieve a minimum qualification score of 
75% of the scoring value of the target.  

9. To successfully complete the bail enforcement agent 
entry-level training session, the individual must:  

a. Successfully complete each of the three graded 
practical exercises required, and  

b. Pass the written examination with a minimum score of 
70%.  

C. Attendance.  

1. Individuals enrolled in an approved training session are 
required to be present for the hours required for each 
training session unless they have been granted a partial 
exemption to training from the department.  

2. Tardiness and absenteeism will not be permitted. 
Individuals violating these provisions will be required to 
make up any training missed. Such training must be 
completed within 60 days after the completion of the 
training session or at the next available session offered by 
the training school. Individuals not completing the required 
training within this period are required to complete the 
entire training session.  

3. Individuals who do not successfully complete the 
compulsory minimum training standards of the training 
session shall not be reported to the department except 
where required pursuant to this chapter.  

4. Each individual attending an approved training session 
shall comply with the regulations promulgated by the 
board and any other rules within the authority of the 
training school. If the training school director or instructor 
considers a violation of the rules detrimental to the training 
of other students or to involve cheating on examinations, 
the training school director or instructor may expel the 
individual from the school. Notification of such action 

shall immediately be reported to the employing firms and 
the department.  

D. Standards of conduct.  

1. The training school, training school director and 
instructor shall at all times conform to the application 
requirements, administrative requirements and standards of 
conduct established for certification as a training school 
and instructor.  

2. Training sessions will be conducted by certified 
instructors or other individuals authorized to provide 
instruction pursuant to this chapter.  

3. Training sessions will be conducted utilizing lesson 
plans developed, including at a minimum the compulsory 
minimum training standards established pursuant to this 
chapter.  

4. Instruction shall be provided in no less than 50-minute 
classes. 

5. Training sessions may not exceed nine hours of 
classroom instruction per day. Range qualification and 
practical exercises shall not be considered classroom 
instruction; however, total training, including the 
maximum allotment of nine hours classroom instruction 
and applicable range qualification and practical exercises, 
shall not exceed 12 hours per day. This does not include 
time allotted for breaks, meals and testing.  

6. All audiovisual training aids must be accompanied by a 
period of instruction where the instructor reviews the 
content of the presentation and the students are provided 
the opportunity to ask questions regarding the content.  

7. A training session must adhere to the minimum 
compulsory training standards and must be presented in its 
entirety. Training school directors may require additional 
hours of instruction, testing or evaluation procedures.  

8. A training session must provide accurate and current 
information to the students.  

9. Mandated training conducted not in accordance with the 
Code of Virginia and this chapter is null and void.  

10. A duplicate set of instructor course materials including 
all student materials shall be made available to any 
department inspector during the training session, if 
requested. 

Part V  
Recordkeeping Standards and Reporting Requirements  

6VAC20-260-230. Reporting standards and requirements. 

A. Each licensed bail enforcement agent shall report within 
30 calendar days to the department any change in his 
residence, name, or business name or business address, and 
ensure that the department has the names and fictitious names 
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of all companies under which he carries out his bail recovery 
business.  

B. Each licensed bail enforcement agent arrested or issued a 
summons for any crime shall report such fact within 30 
calendar days to the department and shall report to the 
department within 30 days the facts and circumstances 
regarding the final disposition of his case.  

C. Each licensed bail enforcement agent shall report to the 
department within 30 calendar days of the final disposition 
any administrative action taken against him by another 
governmental agency in this Commonwealth or in another 
jurisdiction. Such report shall include a copy of the order, 
consent to order or other relevant legal documents. 

D. Each licensed bail enforcement agent shall report to the 
department within 24 hours any event in which he discharges 
a firearm during the course of his duties.  

E. The bail enforcement agent shall retain, for a minimum of 
three calendar years from the date of a recovery, copies of all 
written documentation in connection with the recovery of a 
bailee pursuant to 6VAC20-260-260. 

Part VI  
Administrative Requirements; Standards of Conduct  

6VAC20-260-240. General requirements. 

All bail enforcement agents are required to maintain 
administrative requirements and standards of conduct as 
determined by the Code of Virginia, department guidelines 
and this regulation. 

6VAC20-260-250. Professional conduct standards; 
grounds for disciplinary actions. 

A. Any violations of the restrictions or standards under the 
Code of Virginia or this regulation shall be grounds for 
placing on probation, refusal to issue or renew, sanctioning, 
suspension or revocation of the bail enforcement agent's 
license. A licensed bail enforcement agent is responsible for 
ensuring that his employees, partners and individuals 
contracted to perform services for or on his behalf comply 
with all of these provisions and do not violate any of the 
restrictions that apply to bail enforcement agents. Violations 
by a bail enforcement agent's employee, partner, or agent may 
be grounds for disciplinary action against the bail 
enforcement agent, including probation, suspension or 
revocation of license.  

B. A licensed bail enforcement agent shall not:  

1. Engage in any fraud or willful misrepresentation, or 
provide materially incorrect, misleading, incomplete or 
untrue information in applying for an original license or 
renewal of an existing license, or in submitting any 
documents to the department. 

2. Use any letterhead, advertising, or other printed matter 
in any manner representing that he is an agent, employee, 
or instrumentality of the federal government, a state, or any 
political subdivision of a state.  

3. Impersonate, permit or aid and abet any employee to 
impersonate a law-enforcement officer or employee of the 
United States, any state, or a political subdivision of a 
state.  

4. Use a name different from that under which he is 
currently licensed for any advertising, solicitation, or 
contract to secure business unless the name is an 
authorized fictitious name.  

5. Coerce, suggest, aid and abet, offer promise of favor, or 
threaten any person to induce that person to commit any 
crime.  

6. Give or receive, directly or indirectly, any gift of any 
kind to any nonelected public official or any employee of a 
governmental agency involved with the administration of 
justice, including but not limited to law-enforcement 
personnel, magistrates, judges, jail employees, and 
attorneys. De minimis gifts, not to exceed $50 per year per 
recipient, are acceptable provided the purpose of the gift is 
not to directly solicit business or would otherwise be a 
violation of department regulations or the laws of the 
Commonwealth.  

7. Knowingly violate, advise, encourage, or assist in the 
violation of any statute, local jurisdictional law, court 
order, or injunction in the course of conducting activities 
regulated under this chapter.  

8. Solicit business for an attorney in return for 
compensation.  

9. Willfully neglect to render to a client services or a report 
as agreed between the parties and for which compensation 
has been paid or tendered in accordance with the 
agreement of the parties, but if the bail enforcement agent 
chooses to withdraw from the case and returns the funds 
for work not yet done, no violation of this section exists.  

10. Fail to comply with any of the statutory or regulatory 
requirements governing licensed bail enforcement agents.  

11. Fail or refuse to cooperate with any investigation by 
the department.  

12. Fail to comply with any subpoena issued by the 
department.  

13. Employ or contract with any unlicensed or improperly 
licensed person or agency to conduct activities pertaining 
to bail enforcement services regulated in the Code of 
Virginia or this regulation, if the licensure status was 
known or could have been ascertained by reasonable 
inquiry.  
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14. Solicit or receive a bribe or other consideration in 
exchange for failing to recover or detain a bailee.  

15. Provide false or misleading information to 
representatives of the department. 

C. The department shall have the authority to place on 
probation, suspend or revoke a bail enforcement agent's 
license if an agent is arrested or issued a summons for a 
criminal offense, or becomes the subject of a protective order.  

6VAC20-260-260. Recovery of bailees; methods of 
capture; standards and requirements; limitations. 

A. During the recovery of a bailee, a bail enforcement agent 
shall have a copy of the relevant recognizance for the bailee. 
He shall also have written authorization from the bailee's 
bondsman, obtained prior to effecting the capture. The 
department shall develop the written authorization form to be 
used in such circumstances.  

B. A bail enforcement agent shall not enter a residential 
structure without first verbally notifying the occupants who 
are present at the time of the entry.  

C. Absent exigent circumstances, a bail enforcement agent 
shall give prior notification of at least 24 hours to local law 
enforcement or state police of the intent to apprehend a 
bailee. In all cases, a bail enforcement agent shall inform 
local law enforcement within 60 minutes of capturing a 
bailee.  

D. In the apprehension of a bailee, the bail enforcement 
agent shall provide a written inventory of items taken into 
possession to both the bailee as well as the legal detainment 
facility. 

E. A bail enforcement agent shall not utilize a canine or 
security rifle in the performance of bail recovery. 

F. A bail enforcement agent may not transfer a bailee to an 
unlicensed bail bondsman or bail enforcement agent within 
the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

G. A bail enforcement agent shall not break any laws of the 
Commonwealth in the act of apprehending a bailee.  

H. A bail enforcement agent shall adhere to the recovery 
requirements pursuant to § 19.2-149 of the Code of Virginia. 

I. A bail enforcement agent must complete and maintain the 
information on the recovery of a bailee on a form prescribed 
by the department.  

6VAC20-260-270. Uniforms and identification; standards 
and restrictions. 

A. A bail enforcement agent shall not wear, carry, or display 
any uniform, badge, shield, or other insignia or emblem that 
implies he is an agent of state, local, or federal government.  

B. A bail enforcement agent shall wear or display only 
identification issued by, or whose design has been approved 
by, the department.  

Part VII  
Complaints, Department Actions, Adjudication  

Article 1  
Complaints  

6VAC20-260-280. Submittal requirements. 

A. Any aggrieved or interested person may file a complaint 
against any person whose conduct and activities are regulated 
or required to be regulated by the board. The complaint must 
allege a violation of the law governing bail enforcement 
services or this regulation. 

B. Complaints may be submitted: 

1. In writing, or on a form provided by the department, by 
a signed complainant; 

2. In writing, submitted anonymously, that provide 
sufficient detailed information for the department to 
conduct an investigation; or 

3. Telephonically, providing the complaint alleges 
activities that constitute a life-threatening situation, have 
resulted in personal injury or loss to the public or to a 
consumer, or may result in imminent harm or personal 
injury, and that provide sufficient detailed information for 
the department to conduct an investigation. 

6VAC20-260-290. Department investigation. 

A. The department may initiate or conduct an investigation 
based on any information received or action taken by the 
department to determine compliance with the Code of 
Virginia and this regulation.  

B. Documentation.  

1. Persons regulated or required to be regulated by this 
regulation pursuant to the Code of Virginia are required to 
provide department investigators with any and all records 
required to be maintained by this regulation.  

a. This shall not be construed to authorize the department 
to demand records protected under applicable federal and 
state laws. If such records are necessary to complete an 
investigation, the department may seek a subpoena to 
satisfy the request. 

b. The department shall endeavor to review, and request 
as necessary, only those records required to verify 
alleged violations of compliance with the Code of 
Virginia and this regulation.  

2. The department shall endeavor to keep any 
documentation, evidence or information on an 
investigation confidential until such time as adjudication 
has been completed, at which time information may be 
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released upon request pursuant to applicable federal and 
state laws, rules or regulations.  

Article 2  
Department Actions 

6VAC20-260-300. Penalties: criminal and monetary. 

A. Any person who engages in bail recovery in the 
Commonwealth without a valid license issued by the 
department is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. A third 
conviction under this section is a Class 6 felony.  

B. Any person who violates any statute or board regulation 
who is not criminally prosecuted shall be subject to the 
monetary penalty provided in this section. If the board 
determines that a respondent is guilty of the violation 
complained of, the board shall determine the amount of the 
monetary penalty for the violation, which shall not exceed 
$2,500 for each violation. The penalty may be sued for and 
recovered in the name of the Commonwealth.  

6VAC20-260-310. Disciplinary action; sanctions; 
publication of records. 

A. Each person subject to jurisdiction of this regulation who 
violates any statute or regulation pertaining to bail 
enforcement services shall be subject to sanctions imposed by 
the department regardless of criminal prosecution.  

B. The department may impose any of the following 
sanctions, singly or in combination, when it finds the 
respondent in violation or in noncompliance of the Code of 
Virginia or of this regulation:  

1. Letter of reprimand or censure;  

2. Probation for any period of time;  

3. Suspension of license or approval granted, for any 
period of time;  

4. Revocation;  

5. Refusal to issue or renew a license or approval;  

6. Fine not to exceed $2,500 per violation as long as the 
respondent was not criminally prosecuted; or 

7. Remedial training. 

C. The department may conduct hearings and issue cease 
and desist orders to persons who engage in activities 
prohibited by this regulation but do not hold a valid license, 
certification or registration. Any person in violation of a cease 
and desist order entered by the department shall be subject to 
all of the remedies provided by law and, in addition, shall be 
subject to a civil penalty payable to the party injured by the 
violation.  

D. The director (chief administrative officer of the 
department) may summarily suspend a license under this 
regulation without a hearing, simultaneously with the filing of 

a formal complaint and notice for a hearing, if the director 
finds that the continued operations of the licensee would 
constitute a life-threatening situation, or has resulted in 
personal injury or loss to the public or to a consumer, or 
which may result in imminent harm, personal injury or loss.  

E. All proceedings pursuant to this section are matters of 
public record and shall be preserved. The department may 
publish a list of the names and addresses of all licensees 
whose conduct and activities are subject to this regulation and 
have been sanctioned or denied licensure or approval.  

6VAC20-260-320. Fines: administrative and investigative 
costs. 

The department may recover costs of any investigation and 
adjudication of any violations of the Code of Virginia or 
regulations that result in a sanction, including fine, probation, 
suspension, revocation or denial of any license. Such costs 
shall be in addition to any monetary penalty that may be 
imposed. 

Article 3  
Adjudication  

6VAC20-260-330. Hearing process. 

Following a preliminary investigative process, the 
department may initiate action to resolve the complaint 
through an informal fact-finding conference or formal hearing 
as established in this regulation. Pursuant to the authority 
conferred in § 9.1-141 C 6 of the Code of Virginia and in 
accordance with the procedures set forth by the 
Administrative Process Act and the procedures prescribed in 
this regulation, the department is empowered to receive, 
review, investigate and adjudicate complaints concerning the 
conduct of any person whose activities are regulated by the 
board. The board will hear and act upon appeals arising from 
decisions made by the director. In all case decisions, the 
Criminal Justice Services Board shall be the final agency 
authority. 

6VAC20-260-340. Informal fact-finding conference. 

The purpose of an informal fact-finding conference is to 
resolve allegations through informal consultation and 
negotiation. Informal fact-finding conferences shall be 
conducted in accordance with § 2.2-4019 of the Code of 
Virginia. The respondent, the person against whom the 
complaint is filed, may appeal the decision of an informal 
fact-finding conference and request a formal hearing, 
provided that written notification is given to the department 
within 30 days of the date the informal fact-finding decision 
notice was served, or the date it was mailed to the respondent, 
whichever occurred first. In the event the informal fact-
finding decision was served by mail, three days shall be 
added to that period. 
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6VAC20-260-350. Formal hearing. 

A. Formal hearing proceedings may be initiated in any case 
in which the basic laws provide expressly for a case decision 
or in any case to the extent the informal fact-finding 
conference has not been conducted or an appeal thereto has 
been timely received. Formal hearings shall be conducted in 
accordance with § 2.2-4020 of the Code of Virginia. The 
findings and decision of the director resulting from a formal 
hearing may be appealed to the board. 

B. After a formal hearing pursuant to § 2.2-4020 of the Code 
of Virginia wherein a sanction is imposed to fine, or to 
suspend, revoke or deny issuance or renewal of any license or 
approval, the department may assess the holder thereof the 
cost of conducting such hearing when the department has 
final authority to grant such license, registration, certification 
or approval, unless the department determines that the offense 
was inadvertent or done in good faith belief that such act did 
not violate a statute or regulation. The cost shall be limited to 
(i) the reasonable hourly rate for the hearing officer and (ii) 
the actual cost of recording the proceedings. This assessment 
shall be in addition to any fine imposed by sanctions. 

6VAC20-260-360. Appeals. 

The findings and the decision of the director may be 
appealed to the board provided that written notification is 
given to the attention of the Director, Department of Criminal 
Justice Services, within 30 days following the date 
notification of the hearing decision was served or the date it 
was mailed to the respondent, whichever occurred first. In the 
event the hearing decision is served by mail, three days shall 
be added to that period. (Rule 2A:2 of Rules of the Virginia 
Supreme Court.)  

6VAC20-260-370. Court review; appeal of final agency 
order. 

A. The final administrative decision may be appealed 
pursuant to § 2.2-4026 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Notification shall be given to the attention of the 
Director, Department of Criminal Justice Services, in writing 
within 30 days of the date notification of the board decision 
was served or the date it was mailed to the respondent, 
whichever occurred first. In the event the board decision was 
served by mail, three days shall be added to that period. (Rule 
2A:2 of Rules of the Virginia Supreme Court.)  

C. During all judicial proceedings incidental to such 
disciplinary action, the sanctions imposed by the board shall 
remain in effect unless the court issues a stay of the order. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R06-182; Filed December 3, 2008, 9:47 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-260. Water Quality 
Standards (adding 9VAC25-260-275). 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 
33 USC § 1251 et seq.; 40 CFR Part 131. 

Public Hearing Information: 

January 28, 2009 - 6 p.m. - Northampton High School 
Auditorium, 16041 Courthouse Road, Eastville, VA 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on February 20, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Elleanore M. Daub, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4111, FAX (804) 
698-4116, or email emdaub@deq.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Federal and state legal authority to promulgate this 
proposed regulation exists in the Clean Water Act at § 303(c), 
40 CFR Part 131 and § 62.1-44.15(3a) of the Code of 
Virginia. 

The scope and objective of the Clean Water Act is to restore 
and maintain the chemical, physical, and biological integrity 
of the nation's waters. The Clean Water Act at § 303(c) (1) 
requires that the states hold public hearings for the purpose of 
reviewing applicable water quality standards and, as 
appropriate, modifying and adopting standards. 

The scope of the federal regulations at 40 CFR Part 131 is to 
describe the requirements and procedures for developing, 
reviewing, revising and approving water quality standards by 
the states as authorized by § 303(c) of the Clean Water Act. 
40 CFR Part 131 specifically requires the states to adopt 
criteria to protect designated uses. 

The scope and purpose of the State Water Control Law is to 
protect and to restore the quality of state waters, to safeguard 
the clean waters from pollution, to prevent and to reduce 
pollution and to promote water conservation. The State Water 
Control Law at § 62.1-44.15(3a) of the Code of Virginia 
requires the board to establish standards of quality and to 
modify, amend or cancel any such standards or policies. It 
also requires the board to hold public hearings from time to 
time for the purpose of reviewing the water quality standards, 
and, as appropriate, adopting, modifying or canceling such 
standards. 

The authority to adopt standards as provided by the 
provisions in the previously referenced citations is mandated, 
although the specific standards to be adopted or modified are 
discretionary to the Environmental Protection Agency and the 
state. 
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Purpose: This amended regulation is essential to the 
protection of health, safety or welfare of the citizens of the 
Commonwealth. Proper water quality standards protect water 
quality and living resources of Virginia's waters for 
consumption of shellfish, recreational uses and conservation 
in general. 

The goals of the proposal are to provide additional water 
quality protection for clams and oysters in waters on the 
Eastern Shore of Virginia and to ensure that the wastewater 
management disposal alternative chosen for that area has less 
of an environmental impact than another alternative. The 
proposal is intended to reduce condemnations on the Eastern 
Shore so more waters may be protected for clam and oyster 
production. 

Substance: The substantive provisions to the regulation 
include a new section, 9VAC25-260-275, that applies to new 
or expanding individual VPDES permit applications 
discharging to or affecting waters on the Eastern Shore.  This 
section is initiated when applications for new or expanded 
VPDES discharges to Eastern Shore waters are not denied 
pursuant to 9VAC25-260-270 but still result in a shellfish 
condemnation.  These applications must have an analysis that 
shows if a wastewater management alternative other than a 
surface water discharge would be feasible, produce less of an 
environmental impact, and not result in significant social and 
economic impacts to beneficial uses and to the locality and its 
citizens. 

9VAC25-260-275 also inserts an allowable phased approach 
to the analysis to help reduce costs to the localities and other 
applicants. First the feasibility of each alternative can be 
analyzed.  If technically feasible, then the environmental, 
socio-economic and mitigation opportunities can be analyzed. 

9VAC25-260-275 also describes the three scenarios that can 
result from the analysis and how each scenario proceeds. The 
first scenario is that the VPDES surface water discharge is the 
"best" option (the only technically feasible option or the best 
option for the environment).  In that case, the VPDES 
application proceeds. The second scenario is that an 
alternative proves to be the best option for the environment 
but results in adverse socio-economic impact. In that case, the 
VPDES application proceeds. The third scenario is that an 
alternative to VPDES is the best option for the environment 
and causes no significant adverse socio-economic impact. In 
that case, a good faith effort must be made to pursue the 
alternative. If the alternative is disapproved by the appropriate 
regulatory authority, then the VPDES application proceeds. 

The Notice of Intended Regulatory Action for this action 
indicated amendments to 9VAC25-370 were being 
considered; however, no changes were proposed to the Policy 
for the Protection of Water Quality in Virginia’s Shellfish 
Growing Waters at 9VAC25-370. 

Issues: The primary advantages to all aspects of the public are 
to help ensure protection of good water quality and reduce 
condemnations in Eastern Shore waters to promote clam and 
oyster growth for commercial and recreational uses. The 
primary disadvantages to the public, specifically businesses 
or localities applying for new or expanded discharges, is in 
the cost or impact of having to do an alternatives analysis if 
they fall under the requirements of this new section. 

There are no advantages to the agency or Commonwealth. 
The disadvantage is that it will expend additional staff 
resources to implement this new requirement. 

Eastern Shore localities must be aware of these requirements 
and consider these when planning for increased sewage 
disposal. 

Requirements More Restrictive Than Federal: The 
requirement for a wastewater disposal management 
alternative analysis is more restrictive than applicable federal 
requirements. The rationale for the need was set forth by the 
Executive Office of the Commonwealth of Virginia to protect 
these sensitive good quality waters that are threatened by new 
or expanded wastewater discharges. 

Localities Particularly Affected: There are localities 
particularly affected by this regulation as follows: 

Accomack and Northampton counties and the towns of  
Accomac, Belle Haven, Bloxum, Cape Charles, Cheriton, 
Chincoteague, Eastville, Exmore, Hallwood, Keller, Melfa, 
Nassawadox, Onancock, Onley, Painter, Parksley, Saxis, 
Tangier, and Wachapreague. 

Public Participation: In addition to any other comments, the 
board/agency is seeking comments on the costs and benefits 
of the proposal, the potential impacts of this regulatory 
proposal and any impacts of the regulation on farm and forest 
land preservation. Also, the agency/board is seeking 
information on impacts on small businesses as defined in 
§ 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia. Information may 
include (i) projected reporting, recordkeeping and other 
administrative costs; (ii) probable effect of the regulation on 
affected small businesses; and (iii) description of less 
intrusive or costly alternative methods of achieving the 
purpose of the regulation. 

Anyone wishing to submit written comments may do so at the 
public hearing or by mail, email or fax to Elleanore Daub, 
Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA  23218, telephone (804) 698-4111, FAX 
(804) 698-4032 or email emdaub@deq.virginia.gov. 
Comments may also be submitted through the Public Forum 
feature of the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website at 
www.townhall.virginia.gov. Written comments (including 
email) must include the name and address of the commenter. 
In order to be considered comments must be received by 5 
p.m. on February 20, 2009. 
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A public hearing will be held on January 28, 2009, at 6 p.m., 
in the Northampton High School Auditorium, 16041 
Courthouse Road, Eastville, VA. Both oral and written 
comments may be submitted at that time. 

A formal hearing will be held at a time and place to be 
determined if a request for a formal hearing is received by the 
contact person listed above within 30 days of publication of 
the notice of public comment period in the Virginia Register 
of Regulations. The request for formal hearing is to include 
the information set forth in 9VAC25-230-130 B of the 
board’s Procedure Rule No. 1.  

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
State Water Control Board (board) seeks to amend the Water 
Quality Standards by designating special "shellfish 
aquaculture enhancement zones" on the Eastern Shore of 
Virginia. These zones would be granted additional protection 
by requiring applicants for permits to discharge into Eastern 
Shore waters to have completed a valid analysis of whether 
wastewater management alternatives other than a discharge 
would be technically feasible, produce less of an 
environmental impact, and not result in significant social and 
economic impacts to beneficial uses and to the locality and its 
citizens. If the analysis demonstrates that an alternative meets 
these criteria, then that alternative must be pursued for 
approval prior to the board taking action on the application to 
discharge into the shellfish aquaculture enhancement zone. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The goal of this proposed 
regulation amendment is to improve the sustainability of 
aquaculture, while at the same time, preventing the shifting of 
the potential pollution impact from surface water to ground 
water. This proposal is the result of a Governor’s initiative 
dating back to early 2006, and results from cooperation 
among the Secretaries of Natural Resources, Health and 
Human Resources, and Agriculture and Forestry. 

The proposed change would modify criteria that are used to 
protect Eastern Shore waters that are used or could be used 
for shellfish aquaculture. If this amendment is promulgated, 
these waters which include all tidal rivers and creeks on the 
Eastern Shore (Accomack and Northampton Counties) 
including the tidal waters within the barrier islands on the 
eastern seaside of the Eastern Shore (does not include 
Atlantic Ocean waters) and all tidal rivers and creeks on the 
western bayside and including the Chesapeake Bay to a point 
one mile offshore from any point of land on the Eastern Shore 
would be designated as shellfish aquaculture enhancement 
zones. 

The proposed requirement that discharge applicants seek 
alternative wastewater management methods if specified 

conditions are met would apply in situations where proposed 
discharges would result in shellfish condemnation by the 
Virginia Department of Health.  In these situations, the 
applicant would need to first complete a valid analysis of 
whether wastewater management alternatives other than a 
discharge would be technically feasible.  This phase would 
involve an assessment of the land availability for alternative 
treatment of surface water discharge and also the related soil 
composition and type. Such an assessment would cost 
approximately $30,000 and could vary based on the nature 
and size of expansion.1 According to the Department of 
Environmental Quality applicants for discharge already do 
this when applying for discharge permits from DEQ.  Thus 
the proposed technical feasibility analysis requirement would 
not in practice add cost. 

If the technical feasibility analysis demonstrates that any of 
the identified alternatives are technically feasible, then the 
applicant is required to have an assessment of the 
environmental and socio-economic effects of adopting the 
select alternative technology conducted. Environmental 
analysis would include a review of groundwater impacts, 
swimming or recreational impacts and shellfish 
condemnations. Socio-economic impact analysis of any 
technically feasible alternative would include an analysis of 
the affordability of the land, technology, positive and 
negative tax revenue impacts to the locality, eco-tourism, 
recreation and aesthetics.  Such an analysis that includes an 
accounting assessment of the technology options and 
mitigation measures and socio-economic welfare assessment 
for a typical proposed expansion of a locality’s wastewater 
discharge would cost the applicant approximately $35,000 to 
$55,000.2 

If the alternatives analysis demonstrates that the proposed 
new or expanded discharge into the shellfish aquaculture 
enhancement zone is the only technically feasible alternative 
or produces the least environmental impact of all the 
technically feasible alternatives, then the permit application 
for discharge into the shellfish aquaculture enhancement zone 
is processed in accordance with the Virginia Pollutant 
Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Permit Regulation 
(9VAC25-31).  If the analysis demonstrates that a technically 
feasible alternative produces less of an environmental impact 
than that associated with the proposed new or expanded 
discharge but results in significant adverse social and 
economic impacts to beneficial uses and to the locality and its 
citizens, then the permit application for discharge into the 
shellfish aquaculture enhancement zone is processed in 
accordance with the VPDES Permit Regulation. If the 
analysis demonstrates that a technically feasible alternative 
produces less of an environmental impact than that associated 
with the proposed new or expanded discharge and does not 
result in significant adverse social and economic impacts to 
beneficial uses and to the locality and its citizens, then 
processing of the VPDES application is suspended while the 
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applicant makes a good faith effort to obtain approval from 
the appropriate regulatory authorities for the alternative.  
Processing of the application shall be resumed only if the 
alternative form of wastewater management is disapproved by 
the appropriate regulatory authorities. 

To the extent that alternative wastewater management 
methods are found that are technically feasible, less 
environmentally harmful, and do not cause significant 
adverse social and economic impacts to beneficial uses and to 
the locality and its citizens, the requirement that these 
alternative wastewater management methods are pursued 
when specified conditions are met may produce significant 
benefit for the aquaculture industry, consumers of clams and 
oysters, and the general public who seek recreation in the 
shellfish aquaculture enhancement zone.  Some firms who 
supply environmental, social and economic impact analysis 
may benefit as well. 

Some local governments, private builders and developers will 
encounter the additional cost of having an assessment of the 
environmental and socio-economic effects of adopting the 
select alternative wastewater management method.  If 
alternative wastewater management methods are found that 
are technically feasible, less environmentally harmful, and do 
not cause significant adverse social and economic impacts to 
beneficial uses and to the locality and its citizens are found in 
practice, then the benefits to the environment, the aquaculture 
industry, consumers of clams and oysters, and the general 
public who seek recreation in the shellfish aquaculture 
enhancement zone will likely outweigh the cost to discharge 
applicants of the assessment of the environmental and socio-
economic effects of adopting the select alternative wastewater 
management method. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 
affects any public or private entity that proposes new 
construction or expansion of existing facilities to discharge 
sanitary waste into estuarine waters in Accomack or 
Northampton Counties, or close enough to such waters as to 
create the potential for bacterial contamination if there were a 
treatment plant failure.  The proposal also potentially affects 
environmental engineering firms, economic consulting firms, 
aquaculture firms, and the general public who seek recreation 
in the shellfish aquaculture enhancement zone. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
particularly affect Accomack and Northampton counties and 
the towns of Accomac, Belle Haven, Bloxum, Cape Charles, 
Cheriton, Chincoteague, Eastville, Exmore, Hallwood, Keller, 
Melfa, Nassawadox, Onancock, Onley, Painter, Parksley, 
Saxis, Tangier, and Wachapreague. 

Projected Impact on Employment. Aquaculture firms will 
likely benefit by the proposed requirements in that fewer 
portions of tidal waters that have potential for aquaculture 
may be rendered unsuitable for aquaculture.  In the long run 
this may increase employment in that industry.  Demand for 

services from environmental engineering firms and economic 
consulting firms will likely moderately increase due to the 
proposed requirement for analysis of environmental, social 
and economic impacts of technically feasible alternatives. 
Consequently there may be a small increase in employment 
for some of these firms. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. 
Aquaculture firms will likely benefit by the proposed 
requirements in that fewer portions of tidal waters that have 
potential for aquaculture may be rendered unsuitable for 
aquaculture. In the long run this may increase the growth and 
collection of edible clams and oysters, increasing the size and 
value of the aquaculture industry in Virginia. Demand for 
services from environmental engineering firms and economic 
consulting firms will likely moderately increase due to the 
proposed requirement for analysis of environmental, social 
and economic impacts of technically feasible alternatives. 
Consequently there may be a small increase in the value of 
some environmental engineering firms and economic 
consulting firms. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Small aquaculture 
firms will likely benefit by the proposed requirements in that 
fewer portions of tidal waters that have potential for 
aquaculture may be rendered unsuitable for aquaculture. 
Some small environmental engineering firms and economic 
consulting firms may benefit by having greater demand for 
their services due to the proposed requirement for analysis of 
environmental, social and economic impacts of technically 
feasible alternatives. 

Some small builders and developers considering doing 
business on the Eastern Shore will encounter greater costs if 
the technical feasibility analysis demonstrates that any of the 
identified alternatives are technically feasible. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed requirements will increase 
costs for small builders and developers doing business on the 
Eastern Shore; but there are no obvious alternative methods 
that would reduce the adverse impact and still produce the 
desired policy of greater protection of the shellfish 
aquaculture enhancement zones. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed requirements 
will in some incidences increase real estate development costs 
on the Eastern Shore. When the technical feasibility analysis 
demonstrates that any of the identified alternatives are 
technically feasible, then the discharge applicant is required 
to have an assessment of the environmental and socio-
economic effects of adopting the select alternative technology 
conducted under the proposed regulations. Such analysis 
would cost the applicant approximately $35,000 to $55,000.3 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
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Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§ 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

__________________________ 
1 Cost estimate from Department of Environmental Quality 
2 Ibid 
3 Cost estimate from Department of Environmental Quality 
Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The department has 
reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared by the 
Department of Planning and Budget and has no comment. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments add a new section, 9VAC25-
260-275, that is initiated when applications for new or 
expanded VPDES discharges to Eastern Shore waters 
are not denied pursuant to 9VAC25-260-270.  If these 
discharges result in shellfish condemnations, then the 
applicant must analyze whether wastewater management 
alternatives other than a discharge would be feasible, 
produce less of an environmental impact, and not result 
in significant social and economic impacts to beneficial 
uses and to the locality and its citizens. If the analysis 
demonstrates that an alternative meets these criteria, 
then that alternative must be pursued for approval prior 
to the board taking action on the discharge alternative. 

9VAC25-260-275. Protection of Eastern Shore tidal 
waters for clams and oysters. 

A. This section applies to applications for individual 
Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 
permits authorizing new or expanded discharges to or 
otherwise affecting Eastern Shore tidal waters, which include 
all tidal rivers and creeks on the Eastern Shore (Accomack 

and Northampton counties) including the tidal waters within 
the barrier islands on the eastern seaside of the Eastern Shore 
(does not include Atlantic Ocean waters) and all tidal rivers 
and creeks on the western bayside and including the 
Chesapeake Bay to a point one mile offshore from any point 
of land on the Eastern Shore. 

B. When such application proposes a new or expanded 
discharge that would not be denied pursuant to 9VAC25-260-
270 but would result in shellfish water condemnation, then 
the application shall be amended to contain an analysis of 
wastewater management alternatives to the proposed 
discharge. An application shall be deemed incomplete until 
this analysis is provided to the department. 

C. For purposes of this part, condemnation shall mean a 
reclassification of shellfish waters by the state Department of 
Health to prohibited or restricted (as defined by the U.S. Food 
and Drug Administration, National Shellfish Sanitation 
Program, Guide for the Control of Molluscan Shellfish, 2005, 
Section II, Model Ordinance, Definitions, and Chapter 4, 
Classification of Shellfish Growing Areas) thereby signifying 
that shellfish from such waters are unfit for market. 

D. The alternatives analysis shall first identify and describe 
the technical feasibility of each wastewater management 
alternative to the proposed new or expanded discharge.  If the 
analysis demonstrates that any of the identified alternatives 
are technically feasible, then the analysis shall further 
describe the environmental, social and economic impacts and 
opportunities to mitigate any adverse impacts for those 
alternatives. 

E. If the alternatives analysis demonstrates that the proposed 
new or expanded discharge is the only technically feasible 
alternative or produces the least environmental impact of all 
the technically feasible alternatives, the application will be 
processed in accordance with 9VAC25-31 (VPDES Permit 
Regulation). If the analysis demonstrates that a technically 
feasible alternative produces less of an environmental impact 
than that associated with the proposed new or expanded 
discharge but results in significant adverse social and 
economic impacts to beneficial uses and to the locality and its 
citizens, the application shall be processed in accordance with 
9VAC25-31. If the analysis demonstrates that a technically 
feasible alternative produces less of an environmental impact 
than that associated with the proposed new or expanded 
discharge and does not result in significant adverse social and 
economic impacts to beneficial uses and to the locality and its 
citizens, then processing of the VPDES application shall be 
suspended while the applicant makes a good faith effort to 
obtain approval from the appropriate regulatory authorities 
for the alternative. Processing of the application shall be 
resumed only if the alternative form of wastewater 
management is disapproved by the appropriate regulatory 
authorities. 
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DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(9VAC25-260)  

Chesapeake Bay Program Analytical Segmentation  
Scheme -- Revisions, Decisions and Rationales 1983-2003, 
EPA CBP/TRS 268/04, October 2004.  

Ambient Water Quality Criteria for Dissolved Oxygen, 
Water Clarity and Chlorophyll a for the Chesapeake Bay and 
Its Tidal Tributaries, EPA 903-R-03-002, April 2003 and 
2004 Addendum, October 2004.  

Technical Support Document for Identification of 
Chesapeake Bay Designated Uses and Attainability, EPA 
903-R-03-004, October 2003 and 2004 Addendum, October 
2004.  

Guide for the Control of Molluscan Shellfish, 2005 (Section 
II. Model Ordinance and Chapter 4. Classification of 
Shellfish Growing Areas), U.S. Food and Drug 
Administration, National Shellfish Sanitation Program.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-783; Filed December 3, 2008, 11:30 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, 
and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services 
(amending 12VAC30-50-320; adding 12VAC30-50-330 
through 12VAC30-50-360). 

12VAC30-120. Waivered Services (repealing 12VAC30-
120-61 through 12VAC30-120-68). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on January 21, 2009. 

Effective Date: February 5, 2009.  

Agency Contact: Deborah Pegram, Long-Term Care Services 
Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 
East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-2912, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
deborah.pegram@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 
Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 
administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance. 
Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Director of DMAS to administer and amend the Plan for 
Medical Assistance according to the board's requirements. 
 The Medicaid authority as established by § 1902 (a) of the 
Social Security Act (42 USC § 1396a) provides governing 
authority for payments for services. 

Purpose: The amended regulation is required in order to meet 
CMS’ requirements to have the PACE program categorized 
as a State Plan optional service and not a waiver service. 
These regulations must be promulgated to accomplish this 
action. 

The purpose of PACE is to provide a community-based 
alternative to nursing facility care that integrates primary and 
long-term care services within Medicaid, but excludes 
Medicare financing and services.  Sentara Senior Community 
Care, a pre-PACE provider in the Tidewater area, served 122 
enrolled participants in FY 06 at a cost of $3.4 million for an 
average of approximately $27,655 per person. PACE 
combines Medicaid and Medicare funding to provide all 
medical, social, and long-term care services through an adult 
day health care center (ADHC). The pre-PACE and PACE 
programs allows elders to remain in familiar surroundings; 
maintain self-sufficiency; and preserve the highest level of 
physical, social, and cognitive function and independence. A 
nursing facility preadmission screening team must authorize 
PACE services. In order to continue the PACE program 
DMAS must move the PACE regulations out of the waiver 
services section of the Virginia Administrative Code and into 
the State Plan services section of the Administrative Code. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The fast-track 
regulatory process is required in order to bring the PACE 
regulation into compliance with DMAS' approved State Plan 
amendment. Except as noted for 12VAC30-120-67 in the 
"Substance" statement below, no language is being 
substantively amended; technical and grammatical changes 
are being recommended in four places. The primary intent of 
the proposed action is to move the PACE regulation from the 
waiver section of DMAS regulations to the State Plan section. 

Substance: 12VAC30-120-67, PACE catastrophic coverage 
limitation, is being repealed. The remaining PACE 
regulations are being moved from the waiver section to the 
State Plan section. 

In addition, four technical changes are being recommended: 

1. In the "Definitions" section (12VAC30-50-330), "all" is 
added to the "capitation rate" definition to clarify that all 
necessary services are provided to PACE participants 
within the negotiated monthly per capita amount.  This is 
the original intent and is clearly stated in the Request for 
Proposals. 

2. In the "Definitions" section, "by" is added to the 
definition for the "PACE plan feasibility study" to correct a 
grammatical error. 
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3. Also in the "Definitions" section, "provider" is defined.  
The definition is taken from other existing waiver 
regulations and was inadvertently omitted. 

4. In response to a request by the Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid (CMS), in the "General PACE Plan 
Requirements" section at 12VAC30-50-335, "prior to the 
beginning of employment" is added to the existing 
requirement for the criminal record check process for 
providers and employees. This clarifies the intent of the 
existing language and brings the regulation into 
compliance with CMS requirements. 

Issues: The movement of this regulation is to maintain 
department efforts to improve the infrastructure for 
community-based long-term support services by making the 
PACE regulation a State Plan option, allowing the state 
additional flexibility within the program. The PACE program 
creates a system of long-term services and supports that 
enables the elderly to remain in the community rather than in 
a more costly and less restrictive institutional setting. 

This proposal supports Virginia’s implementation of the 
Olmstead decision and complements the efforts of the 
recently awarded Systems Transformation Grant and Money 
Follows the Person Demonstration that both intend  to 
improve the infrastructure for community-based long-term 
support services. 

There are no disadvantages to the public or the 
Commonwealth. 

This proposed regulatory action will have a positive impact 
on families in allowing individuals facing institutional 
placement an additional home and community-based option. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
proposed changes will move the PACE regulations from the 
waiver section of Medicaid regulations to the State Plan for 
Medical Assistance Services section. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Program of All-Inclusive Care 
for the Elderly (PACE) provides community based services 
that are alternative to nursing facility care to the recipients 
through an adult day health care center. 

The PACE program started as a waiver program and its rules 
were placed in the waiver section of Medicaid regulations 
(12VAC30-120). On January 1, 2007, the Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid (CMS) allowed Virginia to offer 
PACE program as an optional State Plan service rather than a 
waiver service. Consequently, the proposed changes will 
move the PACE rules into the section of Medicaid regulations 

where State Option service regulations are housed 
(12VAC30-50). 

A waiver service, unlike a state plan service, waives either 
one of the three primary federal limitations: statewideness; 
comparability of services, and free choice of providers. So, 
making a waiver service a state plan service would normally 
mean a change in statewideness, comparability of services, or 
free choice of providers. However, in this particular case, 
CMS granted exemptions so that there was no change in 
statewideness, comparability of services, and free choice of 
providers. In short, the proposed movement of the regulations 
will produce no change in practice. Thus, no significant 
economic effect is expected from the proposed regulations 
other than providing a small benefit in terms of the 
consistency in housing all of the state option services under 
the same section. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulations 
apply to PACE providers and recipients. In 2006, there were 
one provider and 122 enrollees. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The regulations apply 
throughout the Commonwealth, but, the only provider was 
located in Tidewater area. 

Projected Impact on Employment. No significant effect on 
employment is expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No 
significant effect on the use and value of private property is 
expected. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Proposed 
regulations have no costs or other effects on small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Proposed regulations have no adverse 
impact on small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. Proposed regulations have 
no real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property. Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§ 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
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reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The agency concurs 
with the economic impact analysis prepared by the 
Department of Planning and Budget regarding the regulations 
concerning Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly 
(PACE) as State Plan Service (12VAC30-50-320, 12VAC30-
50-330, 12VAC30-50-335, 12VAC30-50-340, 12VAC30-50-
345, 12VAC30-50-350, 12VAC30-50-355, 12VAC30-50-
360, and 12VAC30-120-61, 12VAC30-120-62, 12VAC30-
120-63, 12VAC30-120-64, 12VAC30-120-65, 12VAC30-
120-66, 12VAC30-120-67, and 12VAC30-120-68). 

Summary  

The amendments (i) move the Program of All-Inclusive 
Care for the Elderly (PACE) regulations from the waiver 
services section of the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services' (DMAS') regulations to the State Plan for 
Medical Assistance Services section, (ii) repeal 
12VAC30-120-67 (PACE catastrophic coverage 
limitation), (iii) make technical changes to the definitions 
section, and (iv) require that the existing criminal record 
check process for providers and employees by conducted 
prior to the beginning of employment. 

12VAC30-50-320. Program of All-Inclusive Care for the 
Elderly (PACE). 

The Commonwealth of Virginia has not entered into a valid 
program agreement or agreements with a PACE provider or 
providers and the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health 
and Human Services. 

12VAC30-50-330. PACE definitions. 

For purposes of this part and all contracts establishing the 
Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE) 
programs as defined in 42 CFR Part 460, the following 
definitions shall apply:  

"Adult day health care center" or "ADHC" means a DMAS-
enrolled provider that offers a community-based day program 
providing a variety of health, therapeutic, and social services 
designed to meet the specialized needs of those elderly and 
disabled individuals at risk of placement in a nursing facility. 
The ADHC must be licensed by the Virginia Department of 
Social Services as an adult day care center (ADC) as defined 
in 22VAC40-60-10. 

"Applicant" means an individual seeking enrollment in a 
PACE plan.  

"Capitation rate" means the negotiated Medicaid monthly 
per capita amount paid to a PACE provider for all services 
provided to enrollees.  

"Catchment area" means the designated service area for a 
PACE plan. 

"Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services" or "CMS" 
means the unit of the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services that administers the Medicare and Medicaid 
programs. 

"CFR" means the Code of Federal Regulations. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services. 

"DSS" means the Department of Social Services. 

"Direct marketing" means either (i) conducting directly or 
indirectly door-to-door, telephonic or other "cold call" 
marketing of services at residences and provider sites; (ii) 
mailing directly; (iii) paying "finders' fees;" (iv) offering 
financial incentives, rewards, gifts or special opportunities to 
eligible individuals or family/caregivers as inducements to 
use the providers' services; (v) continuous, periodic marketing 
activities to the same prospective individual or 
family/caregiver for example, monthly, quarterly, or annual 
giveaways as inducements to use the providers' services; or 
(vi) engaging in marketing activities that offer potential 
customers rebates or discounts in conjunction with the use of 
the providers' services or other benefits as a means of 
influencing the individual's or family/caregiver's use of the 
providers' services. 

"Enrollee" means a Medicaid-eligible individual meeting 
PACE enrollment criteria and receiving services from a 
PACE plan. 

"Full disclosure" means fully informing all PACE enrollees 
at the time of enrollment that, pursuant to § 32.1-330.3 of the 
Code of Virginia, PACE plan enrollment can only be 
guaranteed for a 30-day period.  

"Imminent risk of nursing facility placement" means that an 
individual will require nursing facility care within 30 days if a 
community-based alternative care program, such as a PACE 
plan, is not available.  

"PACE" means a Program of All-Inclusive Care for the 
Elderly. PACE services are designed to enhance the quality of 
life and autonomy for frail, older adults; maximize dignity of, 
and respect for, older adults; enable frail, older adults to live 
in the community as long as medically and socially feasible; 
and preserve and support the older adult's family unit. 

"PACE plan" means a comprehensive acute and long-term 
care prepaid health plan, pursuant to § 32.1-330.3 of the Code 
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of Virginia and as defined in 42 CFR 460.6, operating on a 
capitated payment basis through which the PACE provider 
assumes full financial risk. PACE plans operate under both 
Medicare and Medicaid capitation. 

"PACE plan contract" means a contract, pursuant to § 32.1-
330.3 of the Code of Virginia, under which an entity assumes 
full financial risk for operation of a comprehensive acute and 
long-term care prepaid health plan with capitated payments 
for services provided to Medicaid enrollees being made by 
DMAS. The parties to a PACE plan contract are the entities 
operating the PACE plan, DMAS and CMS. 

"PACE plan feasibility study" means a study performed by a 
research entity approved by DMAS to determine a potential 
PACE plan provider's ability and resources, or lack thereof, to 
effectively operate a PACE plan. All study costs are the 
responsibility of the potential PACE provider. 

"PACE protocol" means the protocol for the Program of All-
Inclusive Care for the Elderly, as published by On Lok, Inc., 
as of April 14, 1995, or any successor protocol that may be 
agreed upon by the federal Secretary of Health and Human 
Services and On Lok, Inc.  

"PACE site" means the location, which includes a primary 
care center, where the PACE provider both operates the 
PACE plan's adult day health care center and coordinates the 
provision of core PACE services, including the provision of 
primary care. 

"PACE provider" means the entity contracting with the 
Department of Medical Assistance Services to operate a 
PACE plan. 

"Plan of care" means the written plan developed by the 
provider related solely to the specific services required by the 
individual to ensure optimal health and safety while receiving 
services from the provider. 

"Preadmission screening" means the process to: (i) evaluate 
the functional, nursing, and social supports of individuals 
referred for preadmission screenings; (ii) assist individuals in 
determining what specific services individuals need; (iii) 
evaluate whether a service or a combination of existing 
community-based services are available to meet the 
individual's needs; (iv) refer individuals to the appropriate 
provider for Medicaid-funded nursing facility or home and 
community-based care for those individuals who meet 
nursing facility level of care. 

"Preadmission screening team" means the entity contracted 
with DMAS that is responsible for performing preadmission 
screening pursuant to § 32.1-330 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Primary care provider" or "PCP" means the individual 
responsible for the coordination of medical care provided to 
an enrollee under a PACE plan. 

"Provider" means the individual or other entity registered, 
licensed, or certified, as appropriate, and enrolled by DMAS 
to render services to Medicaid recipients eligible for services. 

"State Plan for Medical Assistance" or "the Plan" means the 
Commonwealth's legal document approved by CMS 
identifying the covered groups, covered services and their 
limitations, and provider reimbursement methodologies as 
provided for under Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

"Virginia Uniform Assessment Instrument" or "UAI" means 
the standardized, multidimensional questionnaire that 
assesses an individual's social, physical and mental health, 
and functional abilities. 

12VAC30-50-335. General PACE plan requirements. 

A. DMAS, the state agency responsible for administering 
Virginia's Medicaid program, shall only enter into PACE plan 
contracts with approved PACE plan providers. The PACE 
provider must have an agreement with CMS and DMAS for 
the operation of a PACE program. The agreement must 
include: 

1. Designation of the program's service area; 

2. The program's commitment to meet all applicable 
federal, state, and local requirements; 

3. The effective date and term of the agreement; 

4. The description of the organizational structure; 

5. Participant bill of rights; 

6. Description of grievance and appeals processes; 

7. Policies on eligibility, enrollment, and disenrollment; 

8. Description of services available; 

9. Description of quality management and performance 
improvement program; 

10. A statement of levels of performance required on 
standard quality measures; 

11. CMS and DMAS data requirements; 

12. The Medicaid capitation rate and the methodology used 
to calculate the Medicare capitation rate; 

13. Procedures for program termination; and 

14. A statement to hold harmless CMS, the state, and 
PACE participants if the PACE organization does not pay 
for services performed by the provider in accordance with 
the contract. 

B. A PACE plan feasibility study shall be performed before 
DMAS enters into any PACE plan contract. DMAS shall 
contract only with those entities it determines to have the 
ability and resources to effectively operate a PACE plan. A 
feasibility plan shall only be submitted in response to a 
Request for Applications published by DMAS. 
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C. PACE plans shall offer a voluntary comprehensive 
alternative to enrollees who would otherwise be placed in a 
nursing facility. PACE plan services shall be comprehensive 
and offered as an alternative to nursing facility admission. 

D. All Medicaid-enrolled PACE participants shall continue 
to meet the nonfinancial and financial Medicaid eligibility 
criteria established by federal law and these regulations. This 
requirement shall not apply to Medicare only or private pay 
PACE participants. 

E. Each PACE provider shall operate a PACE site that is in 
continuous compliance with all state licensure requirements 
for that site. 

F. Each PACE provider shall offer core PACE services as 
described in 12VAC30-50-345 B through a coordination site 
that is licensed as an ADHC by DSS. 

G. Each PACE provider shall ensure that services are 
provided by health care providers and institutions that are in 
continuous compliance with state licensure and certification 
requirements.  

H. Each PACE plan shall meet the requirements of §§ 32.1-
330.2 and 32.1-330.3 of the Code of Virginia and 42 CFR 
Part 460. 

I. All PACE providers must meet the general requirements 
and conditions for participation pursuant to the required 
contracts by DMAS and CMS. All providers must sign the 
appropriate participation agreement. All providers must 
adhere to the conditions of participation outlined in the 
participation agreement and application to provide PACE 
services, DMAS regulations, policies and procedures, and 
CMS requirements pursuant to 42 CFR Part 460. 

J. Requests for participation as a PACE provider will be 
screened by DMAS to determine whether the provider 
applicant meets these basic requirements for participation and 
demonstrates the abilities to perform, at a minimum, the 
following activities: 

1. Immediately notify DMAS, in writing, of any change in 
the information that the provider previously submitted to 
DMAS. 

2. Assure freedom of choice to individuals in seeking 
services from any institution, pharmacy, practitioner, or 
other provider qualified to perform the service or services 
required and participating in the Medicaid Program at the 
time the service or services are performed. 

3. Assure the individual's freedom to refuse medical care, 
treatment, and services. 

4. Accept referrals for services only when qualified staff is 
available to initiate and perform such services on an 
ongoing basis. 

5. Provide services and supplies to individuals in full 
compliance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 
as amended (42 USC § 2000 et seq.), which prohibits 
discrimination on the grounds of race, color, religion, 
sexual orientation or national origin; the Virginians with 
Disabilities Act (§ 51.5-1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia); 
§ 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended (29 
USC § 794), which prohibits discrimination on the basis of 
a disability; and the Americans with Disabilities Act of 
1990, as amended (42 USC § 12101 et seq.), which 
provides comprehensive civil rights protections to 
individuals with disabilities in the areas of employment, 
public accommodations, state and local government 
services, and telecommunications. 

6. Provide services and supplies to individuals of the same 
quality and in the same mode of delivery as is provided to 
the general public. 

7. Use only DMAS-designated forms for service 
documentation. The provider must not alter the DMAS 
forms in any manner unless approval from DMAS is 
obtained prior to using the altered forms. 

8. Not perform any type of direct marketing activities to 
Medicaid individuals. 

9. Maintain and retain business and professional records 
sufficient to document fully and accurately the nature, 
scope, and details of the services provided. 

a. In general, such records shall be retained for at least 
six years from the last date of service or as provided by 
applicable federal and state laws, whichever period is 
longer. However, if an audit is initiated within the 
required retention period, the records shall be retained 
until the audit is completed and every exception resolved. 
Records of minors shall be kept for at least six years after 
such minor has reached the age of 18 years. However, 
records for Medicare Part D shall be maintained for 10 
years in accordance with 42 CFR 423.505(d). 

b. Policies regarding retention of records shall apply even 
if the provider discontinues operation. DMAS shall be 
notified in writing of the storage location and procedures 
for obtaining records for review. The location, agent, or 
trustee shall be within the Commonwealth. 

10. Furnish information on request and in the form 
requested to DMAS, the Attorney General of Virginia or 
his authorized representatives, federal personnel, and the 
state Medicaid Fraud Control Unit. The Commonwealth's 
right of access to provider agencies and records shall 
survive any termination of the provider agreement. 

11. Disclose, as requested by DMAS, all financial, 
beneficial, ownership, equity, surety, or other interests in 
any and all firms, corporations, partnerships, associations, 
business enterprises, joint ventures, agencies, institutions, 
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or other legal entities providing any form of health care 
services to individuals of Medicaid. 

12. Pursuant to 42 CFR 431.300 et seq., 12VAC30-20-90, 
and any other applicable federal or state law, all providers 
shall hold confidential and use for authorized DMAS 
purposes only all medical assistance information regarding 
individuals served. A provider shall disclose information in 
his possession only when the information is used in 
conjunction with a claim for health benefits, or the data are 
necessary for the functioning of DMAS in conjunction 
with the cited laws. 

13. CMS and DMAS shall be notified in writing of any 
change in the organizational structure of a PACE provider 
organization at least 14 calendar days before the change 
takes effect. 

14. In addition to compliance with the general conditions 
and requirements, all providers enrolled by DMAS shall 
adhere to the conditions of participation outlined in their 
individual provider participation agreements and in the 
applicable DMAS provider manual. DMAS shall conduct 
ongoing monitoring of compliance with provider 
participation standards and DMAS policies. A provider's 
noncompliance with DMAS policies and procedures may 
result in a retraction of Medicaid payment or termination 
of the provider agreement, or both.  

15. Minimum qualifications of staff.  

a. All employees must have a satisfactory work record as 
evidenced by references from prior job experience, 
including no evidence of abuse, neglect, or exploitation 
of vulnerable adults and children. Prior to the beginning 
of employment, a criminal record check shall be 
conducted for the provider and each employee and made 
available for review by DMAS staff. Providers are 
responsible for complying with the Code of Virginia and 
state regulations regarding criminal record checks and 
barrier crimes as they pertain to the licensure and 
program requirements of their employees' particular 
practice areas. 

b. Staff must meet any certifications, licensure, 
registration, etc., as required by applicable federal and 
state law. Staff qualifications must be documented and 
maintained for review by DMAS or its authorized 
contractors. 

16. At the time of their admission to services, all providers 
participating in the Medicare and Medicaid programs must 
provide adult individuals with written information 
regarding each individual's right to make medical care 
decisions, including the right to accept or refuse medical 
treatment and the right to formulate advance directives. 

K. Provider's conviction of a felony. The Medicaid provider 
agreement shall terminate upon conviction of the provider of 

a felony pursuant to § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia. A 
provider convicted of a felony in Virginia or in any other of 
the 50 states, the District of Columbia, or the U.S. territories 
must, within 30 days, notify the Virginia Medicaid Program 
of this conviction and relinquish the provider agreement. In 
addition, termination of a provider participation agreement 
will occur as may be required for federal financial 
participation. 

L. Ongoing quality management review. DMAS shall be 
responsible for assuring continued adherence to provider 
participation standards. DMAS shall conduct ongoing 
monitoring of compliance with provider participation 
standards and DMAS policies and periodically recertify each 
provider for participation agreement renewal with DMAS to 
provide PACE services. 

M. Reporting suspected abuse or neglect. Pursuant to 
§§ 63.2-1508 through 63.2-1513 and 63.2-1606 of the Code 
of Virginia, if a participating provider entity suspects that a 
child or vulnerable adult is being abused, neglected, or 
exploited, the party having knowledge or suspicion of the 
abuse, neglect, or exploitation shall report this immediately to 
DSS and to DMAS. In addition, as mandated reporters for 
vulnerable adults, participating providers must inform their 
staff that they are mandated reporters and provide education 
regarding how to report suspected adult abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation pursuant to § 63.2-1606 F of the Code of 
Virginia. 

N. Documentation requirements. The provider must 
maintain all records of each individual receiving services. All 
documentation in the individual's record must be completely 
signed and dated with name of the person providing the 
service, title, and complete date with month, day, and year. 
This documentation shall contain, up to and including the last 
date of service, all of the following: 

1. The most recently updated Virginia Uniform 
Assessment Instrument (UAI), all other assessments and 
reassessments, plans of care, supporting documentation, 
and documentation of any inpatient hospital admissions;  

2. All correspondence and related communication with the 
individual and, as appropriate, consultants, providers, 
DMAS, DSS, or other related parties; and  

3. Documentation of the date services were rendered and 
the amount and type of services rendered. 

12VAC30-50-340. Criteria for PACE enrollment. 

A. Eligibility shall be determined in the manner provided for 
in the State Plan and these regulations. To the extent these 
regulations differ from other provisions of the State Plan for 
purposes of PACE eligibility and enrollment, these 
regulations shall control.  

B. Individuals meeting the following nonfinancial criteria 
shall be eligible to enroll in PACE plans approved by DMAS:  
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1. Individuals who are age 55 or older;  

2. Individuals who require nursing facility level of care and 
are at imminent risk of nursing facility placement as 
determined by a nursing home preadmission screening 
team through a nursing home preadmission screening 
performed using the UAI;  

3. Individuals for whom PACE plan services are medically 
appropriate and necessary because without the services the 
individual is at imminent risk of nursing facility placement;  

4. Individuals who reside in a PACE plan catchment area;  

5. Individuals who meet other criteria specified in a PACE 
plan contract;  

6. Individuals who participate in the Medicaid or Medicare 
programs as specified in § 32.1-330.3 E of the Code of 
Virginia; and  

7. Individuals who voluntarily enroll in a PACE plan and 
agree to the terms and conditions of enrollment.  

C. To the extent permitted by federal law and regulation, 
individuals meeting the following financial criteria shall be 
eligible to enroll in PACE plans approved by DMAS:  

1. Individuals whose income is determined by DMAS 
under the provision of the State Plan to be equal to or less 
than 300% of the current Supplemental Security Income 
payment standard for one person; and  

2. Individuals whose resources are determined by DMAS 
under the provisions of the State Plan to be equal to or less 
than the current resource allowance established in the State 
Plan. 

D. For purposes of a financial eligibility determination, 
applicants shall be considered as if they are institutionalized 
for the purpose of applying institutional deeming rules. 

E. DMAS shall not pay for services provided to an applicant 
by a PACE contractor if such services are provided prior to 
the PACE plan authorization date set by the nursing home 
preadmission screening team. 

12VAC30-50-345. PACE enrollee rights. 

A. PACE providers shall ensure that enrollees are fully 
informed of their rights and responsibilities in accordance 
with all state and federal requirements. These rights and 
responsibilities shall include, but not be limited to:  

1. The right to be fully informed at the time of enrollment 
that PACE plan enrollment can only be guaranteed for a 
30-day period pursuant to § 32.1-330.3 F of the Code of 
Virginia;  

2. The right to receive PACE plan services directly from 
the provider or under arrangements made by the provider; 
and 

3. The right to be fully informed in writing of any action to 
be taken affecting the receipt of PACE plan services. 

B. PACE providers shall notify enrollees of the full scope of 
services available under a PACE plan, as described in 42 
CFR 460.92. The services shall include, but not be limited to: 

1. Medical services, including the services of a PCP and 
other specialists; 

2. Transportation services; 

3. Outpatient rehabilitation services, including physical, 
occupational and speech therapy services;  

4. Hospital (acute care) services;  

5. Nursing facility (long-term care) services;  

6. Prescription drugs;  

7. Home health services;  

8. Laboratory services;  

9. Radiology services;  

10. Ambulatory surgery services;  

11. Respite care services;  

12. Personal care services;  

13. Dental services;  

14. Adult day health care services, to include social work 
services;  

15. Interdisciplinary case management services;  

16. Outpatient mental health and mental retardation 
services;  

17. Outpatient psychological services;  

18. Prosthetics; and  

19. Durable medical equipment and other medical supplies. 

C. Services available under a PACE plan shall not include 
any of the following:  

1. Any service not authorized by the interdisciplinary team 
unless such service is an emergency service (i.e., a service 
provided in the event of a situation of a serious or urgent 
nature that endangers the health, safety, or welfare of an 
individual and demands immediate action); 

2. In an inpatient facility, private room and private duty 
nursing services unless medically necessary, and 
nonmedical items for personal convenience such as 
telephones charges and radio or television rental, unless 
specifically authorized by the interdisciplinary team as part 
of the participant's plan of care; 

3. Cosmetic surgery except as described in agency 
guidance documents; 
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4. Any experimental medical, surgical or other health 
procedure; and 

5. Any other service excluded under 42 CFR 460.96. 

D. PACE providers shall ensure that PACE plan services are 
at least as accessible to enrollees as they are to other 
Medicaid-eligible individuals residing in the applicable 
catchment area.  

E. PACE providers shall provide enrollees with access to 
services authorized by the interdisciplinary team 24 hours per 
day every day of the year.  

F. PACE providers shall provide enrollees with all 
information necessary to facilitate easy access to services.  

G. PACE providers shall provide enrollees with 
identification documents approved by DMAS. PACE plan 
identification documents shall give notice to others of 
enrollees' coverage under PACE plans.  

H. PACE providers shall clearly and fully inform enrollees 
of their right to disenroll at will upon giving 30 days' notice.  

I. PACE providers shall make available to enrollees a 
mechanism whereby disputes relating to enrollment and 
services can be considered. This mechanism shall be one that 
is approved by DMAS.  

J. PACE providers shall fully inform enrollees of the 
individual provider's policies regarding accessing care 
generally and, in particular, accessing urgent or emergency 
care both within and without the catchment area.  

K. PACE providers shall maintain the confidentiality of 
enrollees and the services provided to them. 

12VAC30-50-350. PACE enrollee responsibilities. 

A. Enrollees shall access services through an assigned PCP. 
Enrollees shall be given the opportunity to choose a PCP 
affiliated with the applicable PACE provider. In the event an 
enrollee fails to choose a PCP, one shall be assigned by the 
provider. 

B. Enrollees shall be responsible for copayments, if any.  

C. Enrollees shall raise complaints relating to PACE plan 
coverage and services directly with the PACE provider. The 
provider shall have a DMAS-approved enrollee complaint 
process in place at all times.  

D. Enrollees shall raise complaints pertaining to Medicaid 
eligibility and PACE plan eligibility directly to DMAS. These 
complaints shall be considered under DMAS' Client Appeals 
regulations (12VAC30-110). 

E. The PACE provider shall have a grievance process in 
place including procedures for filing an enrollee's grievance, 
documenting the grievance, responding to and resolving the 
grievance in a timely manner, and maintaining confidentiality 
of the agreement pursuant to 42 CFR 460.120. 

12VAC30-50-355. PACE plan contract requirements and 
standards. 

A. Pursuant to 42 CFR Part 460 and § 32.1-330.3 of the 
Code of Virginia, DMAS shall establish contract 
requirements and standards for PACE providers. 

B. At the point of PACE plan contract agreement, DMAS 
shall modify 12VAC30-50-320 accordingly and submit it to 
CMS. 

C. Any expansion of PACE programs shall be on a schedule 
and within an area determined solely at the discretion of 
DMAS through a Request for Applications (RFA) process. 
No organization shall begin any new PACE program without 
going through the RFA process as required by DMAS. 

12VAC30-50-360. PACE sanctions. 

A. DMAS shall apply sanctions to providers for violations 
of PACE contract provisions or federal or state law and 
regulation. 

B. Permissible state sanctions shall include, but need not be 
limited to, the following:  

1. A written warning to the provider;  

2. Withholding all or part of the PACE provider's 
capitation payments, or retracting all or part of any 
reimbursement previously paid;  

3. Suspension of new enrollment in the PACE plan; 

4. Restriction of current enrollment in the PACE plan; and  

5. Contract termination.  

Part I  
Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE) 

(Repealed.) 

12VAC30-120-61. Definitions. (Repealed.) 

For purposes of this part and all contracts establishing the 
Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE) 
programs, as defined in 42 CFR Part 460, the following 
definitions shall apply:  

"Adult day health care center" or "ADHC" means a DMAS-
enrolled provider that offers a community-based day program 
providing a variety of health, therapeutic, and social services 
designed to meet the specialized needs of those elderly and 
disabled individuals at risk of placement in a nursing facility. 
The ADHC must be licensed by the Virginia Department of 
Social Services as an Adult Day Care Center (ADC) as 
defined in 22VAC40-60-10. 

"Applicant" means an individual seeking enrollment in a 
PACE plan.  

"Capitation rate" means the negotiated Medicaid monthly 
per capita amount paid to a PACE provider for services 
provided to enrollees.  
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"Catchment area" means the designated service area for a 
PACE plan. 

"Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services" or "CMS" 
means the unit of the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services that administers the Medicare and Medicaid 
programs. 

"CFR" means the Code of Federal Regulations. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services. 

"DSS" means the Department of Social Services. 

"Direct marketing" means either (i) conducting directly or 
indirectly door-to-door, telephonic or other "cold call" 
marketing of services at residences and provider sites; (ii) 
mailing directly; (iii) paying "finders' fees;" (iv) offering 
financial incentives, rewards, gifts or special opportunities to 
eligible individuals or family/caregivers as inducements to 
use the providers' services; (v) continuous, periodic marketing 
activities to the same prospective individual or 
family/caregiver for example, monthly, quarterly, or annual 
giveaways as inducements to use the providers' services; or 
(vi) engaging in marketing activities that offer potential 
customers rebates or discounts in conjunction with the use of 
the providers' services or other benefits as a means of 
influencing the individual's or family/caregiver's use of the 
providers' services. 

"Enrollee" means a Medicaid-eligible individual meeting 
PACE enrollment criteria and receiving services from a 
PACE plan. 

"Full disclosure" means fully informing all PACE enrollees 
at the time of enrollment that, pursuant to § 32.1-330.3 of the 
Code of Virginia, PACE plan enrollment can only be 
guaranteed for a 30-day period.  

"Imminent risk of nursing facility placement" means that an 
individual will require nursing facility care within 30 days if a 
community-based alternative care program, such as a PACE 
plan, is not available.  

"PACE" means a Program of All-Inclusive Care for the 
Elderly. PACE services are designed to enhance the quality of 
life and autonomy for frail, older adults, maximize dignity of, 
and respect for, older adults, enable frail older adults to live in 
the community as long as medically and socially feasible, and 
preserve and support the older adult's family unit. 

"PACE plan" means a comprehensive acute and long-term 
care prepaid health plan, pursuant to § 32.1-330.3 of the Code 
of Virginia and as defined in 42 CFR 460.6, operating on a 
capitated payment basis through which the PACE provider 
assumes full financial risk. PACE plans operate under both 
Medicare and Medicaid capitation. 

"PACE plan contract" means a contract, pursuant to § 32.1-
330.3 of the Code of Virginia, under which an entity assumes 

full financial risk for operation of a comprehensive acute and 
long-term care prepaid health plan with capitated payments 
for services provided to Medicaid enrollees being made by 
DMAS. The parties to a PACE plan contract are the entity 
operating the PACE plan, DMAS and CMS. 

"PACE plan feasibility study" means a study performed by a 
research entity approved DMAS to determine a potential 
PACE plan provider's ability and resources or lack thereof to 
effectively operate a PACE plan. All study costs are the 
responsibility of the potential PACE provider. 

"PACE protocol" means the protocol for the Program of All-
Inclusive Care for the Elderly, as published by On Lok, Inc., 
as of April 14, 1995, or any successor protocol that may be 
agreed upon by the federal Secretary of Health and Human 
Services and On Lok, Inc.  

"PACE site" means the location, which includes a primary 
care center, where the PACE provider both operates the 
PACE plan's adult day health care center and coordinates the 
provision of core PACE services, including the provision of 
primary care. 

"PACE provider" means the entity contracting with the 
Department of Medical Assistance Services to operate a 
PACE plan. 

"Plan of care" means the written plan developed by the 
provider related solely to the specific services required by the 
individual to ensure optimal health and safety while receiving 
services from the provider. 

"Preadmission screening" means the process to: (i) evaluate 
the functional, nursing, and social supports of individuals 
referred for preadmission screenings; (ii) assist individuals in 
determining what specific services individuals need; (iii) 
evaluate whether a service or a combination of existing 
community-based services are available to meet the 
individual's needs; (iv) refer individuals to the appropriate 
provider for Medicaid-funded nursing facility or home and 
community-based care for those individuals who meet 
nursing facility level of care. 

"Preadmission screening team" means the entity contracted 
with DMAS that is responsible for performing preadmission 
screening pursuant to § 32.1-330 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Primary care provider" or "PCP" means the individual 
responsible for the coordination of medical care provided to 
an enrollee under a PACE plan. 

"State Plan for Medical Assistance" or "the Plan" means the 
Commonwealth's legal document approved by CMS 
identifying the covered groups, covered services and their 
limitations, and provider reimbursement methodologies as 
provided for under Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

"Virginia Uniform Assessment Instrument" or "UAI" means 
the standardized, multidimensional questionnaire that 
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assesses an individual's social, physical and mental health, 
and functional abilities.  

12VAC30-120-62. General PACE plan requirements. 
(Repealed.) 

A. DMAS, the state agency responsible for administering 
Virginia's Medicaid program, shall only enter into PACE plan 
contracts with approved PACE plan providers. The PACE 
provider must have an agreement with CMS and DMAS for 
the operation of a PACE program. The agreement must 
include: 

1. Designation of the program's service area; 

2. The program's commitment to meet all applicable 
federal, state, and local requirements; 

3. The effective date and term of the agreement; 

4. The description of the organizational structure; 

5. Participant bill of rights; 

6. Description of grievance and appeals processes; 

7. Policies on eligibility, enrollment, and disenrollment; 

8. Description of services available; 

9. Description of quality management and performance 
improvement program; 

10. A statement of levels of performance required on 
standard quality measures; 

11. CMS and DMAS data requirements; 

12. The Medicaid capitation rate and the methodology used 
to calculate the Medicare capitation rate; 

13. Procedures for program termination; and 

14. A statement to hold harmless CMS, the state, and 
PACE participants if the PACE organization does not pay 
for services performed by the provider in accordance with 
the contract. 

B. A PACE plan feasibility study shall be performed before 
DMAS enters into any PACE plan contract. DMAS shall 
contract only with those entities it determines to have the 
ability and resources to effectively operate a PACE plan. A 
feasibility plan shall only be submitted in response to a 
Request for Applications published by DMAS. 

C. PACE plans shall offer a voluntary comprehensive 
alternative to enrollees who would otherwise be placed in a 
nursing facility. PACE plan services shall be comprehensive 
and offered as an alternative to nursing facility admission. 

D. All Medicaid-enrolled PACE participants shall continue 
to meet the nonfinancial and financial Medicaid eligibility 
criteria established by federal law and these regulations. This 
requirement shall not apply to Medicare only or private pay 
PACE participants. 

E. Each PACE provider shall operate a PACE site that is in 
continuous compliance with all state licensure requirements 
for that site.  

F. Each PACE provider shall offer core PACE services as 
described in 12VAC30-120-64 B through a coordination site 
that is licensed as an ADHC by DSS.  

G. Each PACE provider shall ensure that services are 
provided by health care providers and institutions that are in 
continuous compliance with state licensure and certification 
requirements.  

H. Each PACE plan shall meet the requirements of §§ 32.1-
330.2 and 32.1-330.3 of the Code of Virginia and 42 CFR, 
Part 460. 

I. All PACE providers must meet the general requirements 
and conditions for participation pursuant to the required 
contracts by DMAS and CMS. All providers must sign the 
appropriate participation agreement. All providers must 
adhere to the conditions of participation outlined in the 
participation agreement and application to provide PACE 
services, DMAS regulations, policies and procedures, and 
CMS requirements pursuant to 42 CFR, Part 460. 

J. Requests for participation as a PACE provider will be 
screened by DMAS to determine whether the provider 
applicant meets these basic requirements for participation and 
demonstrates the abilities to perform, at a minimum, the 
following activities: 

1. Immediately notify DMAS, in writing, of any change in 
the information that the provider previously submitted to 
DMAS. 

2. Assure freedom of choice to individuals in seeking 
services from any institution, pharmacy, practitioner, or 
other provider qualified to perform the service or services 
required and participating in the Medicaid Program at the 
time the service or services are performed. 

3. Assure the individual's freedom to refuse medical care, 
treatment, and services. 

4. Accept referrals for services only when qualified staff is 
available to initiate and perform such services on an 
ongoing basis. 

5. Provide services and supplies to individuals in full 
compliance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 
as amended (42 USC § 2000 et seq.), which prohibits 
discrimination on the grounds of race, color, religion, 
sexual orientation or national origin; the Virginians with 
Disabilities Act (§ 51.5-1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia); 
§ 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended 
(29 USC § 794), which prohibits discrimination on the 
basis of a disability; and the Americans with Disabilities 
Act of 1990, as amended (42 USC § 12101 et seq.), which 
provides comprehensive civil rights protections to 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 22, 2008 

1523 

individuals with disabilities in the areas of employment, 
public accommodations, state and local government 
services, and telecommunications. 

6. Provide services and supplies to individuals of the same 
quality and in the same mode of delivery as is provided to 
the general public. 

7. Use only DMAS-designated forms for service 
documentation. The provider must not alter the DMAS 
forms in any manner unless approval from DMAS is 
obtained prior to using the altered forms. 

8. Not perform any type of direct marketing activities to 
Medicaid individuals. 

9. Maintain and retain business and professional records 
sufficient to document fully and accurately the nature, 
scope, and details of the services provided. 

a. In general, such records shall be retained for at least 
six years from the last date of service or as provided by 
applicable federal and state laws, whichever period is 
longer. However, if an audit is initiated within the 
required retention period, the records shall be retained 
until the audit is completed and every exception resolved. 
Records of minors shall be kept for at least six years after 
such minor has reached the age of 18 years. However, 
records for Medicare Part D shall be maintained for 10 
years in accordance with 42 CFR 423.505(d). 

b. Policies regarding retention of records shall apply even 
if the provider discontinues operation. DMAS shall be 
notified in writing of the storage location and procedures 
for obtaining records for review. The location, agent, or 
trustee shall be within the Commonwealth. 

10. Furnish information on request and in the form 
requested to DMAS, the Attorney General of Virginia or 
his authorized representatives, federal personnel, and the 
state Medicaid Fraud Control Unit. The Commonwealth's 
right of access to provider agencies and records shall 
survive any termination of the provider agreement. 

11. Disclose, as requested by DMAS, all financial, 
beneficial, ownership, equity, surety, or other interests in 
any and all firms, corporations, partnerships, associations, 
business enterprises, joint ventures, agencies, institutions, 
or other legal entities providing any form of health care 
services to individuals of Medicaid. 

12. Pursuant to 42 CFR 431.300 et seq., 12VAC30-20-90, 
and any other applicable federal or state law, all providers 
shall hold confidential and use for authorized DMAS 
purposes only all medical assistance information regarding 
individuals served. A provider shall disclose information in 
his possession only when the information is used in 
conjunction with a claim for health benefits, or the data are 
necessary for the functioning of DMAS in conjunction 
with the cited laws. 

13. CMS and DMAS shall be notified in writing of any 
change in the organizational structure of a PACE provider 
organization at least 14 calendar days before the change 
takes effect. 

14. In addition to compliance with the general conditions 
and requirements, all providers enrolled by DMAS shall 
adhere to the conditions of participation outlined in their 
individual provider participation agreements and in the 
applicable DMAS provider manual. DMAS shall conduct 
ongoing monitoring of compliance with provider 
participation standards and DMAS policies. A provider's 
noncompliance with DMAS policies and procedures may 
result in a retraction of Medicaid payment or termination 
of the provider agreement, or both.  

15. Minimum qualifications of staff.  

a. All employees must have a satisfactory work record as 
evidenced by references from prior job experience, 
including no evidence of abuse, neglect, or exploitation 
of vulnerable adults and children. A criminal record 
check shall be conducted for the provider and each 
employee and made available for review by DMAS staff. 
Providers are responsible for complying with the Code of 
Virginia and state regulations regarding criminal record 
checks and barrier crimes as they pertain to the licensure 
and program requirements of their employees' particular 
practice areas. 

b. Staff must meet any certifications, licensure, 
registration, etc., as required by applicable federal and 
state law. Staff qualifications must be documented and 
maintained for review by DMAS or its authorized 
contractors. 

16. At the time of their admission to services, all providers 
participating in the Medicare and Medicaid programs must 
provide adult individuals with written information 
regarding each individual's right to make medical care 
decisions, including the right to accept or refuse medical 
treatment and the right to formulate advance directives. 

K. Provider's conviction of a felony. The Medicaid provider 
agreement shall terminate upon conviction of the provider of 
a felony pursuant to § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia. A 
provider convicted of a felony in Virginia or in any other of 
the 50 states, the District of Columbia or, the U.S. territories, 
must, within 30 days, notify the Virginia Medicaid Program 
of this conviction and relinquish the provider agreement. In 
addition, termination of a provider participation agreement 
will occur as may be required for federal financial 
participation. 

L. Ongoing quality management review. DMAS shall be 
responsible for assuring continued adherence to provider 
participation standards. DMAS shall conduct ongoing 
monitoring of compliance with provider participation 
standards and DMAS policies and periodically recertify each 
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provider for participation agreement renewal with DMAS to 
provide PACE services. 

M. Reporting suspected abuse or neglect. Pursuant to §§ 
63.2-1606 and 63.2-1508 through 63.2-1513 of the Code of 
Virginia, if a participating provider entity suspects that a child 
or vulnerable adult is being abused, neglected, or exploited, 
the party having knowledge or suspicion of the abuse, 
neglect, or exploitation shall report this immediately to DSS 
and to DMAS. In addition, as mandated reporters for 
vulnerable adults, participating providers must inform their 
staff that they are mandated reporters and provide education 
regarding how to report suspected adult abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation pursuant to § 63.2-1606 F of the Code of 
Virginia. 

N. Documentation requirements. The provider must 
maintain all records of each individual receiving services. All 
documentation in the individual's record must be completely 
signed and dated with name of the person providing the 
service, title, and complete date with month, day, and year. 
This documentation shall contain, up to and including the last 
date of service, all of the following: 

1. The most recently updated Virginia Uniform 
Assessment Instrument (UAI), all other assessments and 
reassessments, plans of care, supporting documentation, 
and documentation of any inpatient hospital admissions;  

2. All correspondence and related communication with the 
individual, and, as appropriate, consultants, providers, 
DMAS, DSS, or other related parties; and  

3. Documentation of the date services were rendered and 
the amount and type of services rendered. 

12VAC30-120-63. Criteria for PACE enrollment. 
(Repealed.) 

A. Eligibility shall be determined in the manner provided for 
in the State Plan and these regulations. To the extent these 
regulations differ from other provisions of the State Plan for 
purposes of PACE eligibility and enrollment, these 
regulations shall control.  

B. Individuals meeting the following nonfinancial criteria 
shall be eligible to enroll in PACE plans approved by DMAS:  

1. Individuals who are age 55 or older;  

2. Individuals who require nursing facility level of care and 
are at imminent risk of nursing facility placement as 
determined by a Nursing Home Preadmission Screening 
Team through a Nursing Home Preadmission Screening 
performed using the UAI;  

3. Individuals for whom PACE plan services are medically 
appropriate and necessary because without the services the 
individual is at imminent risk of nursing facility placement;  

4. Individuals who reside in a PACE plan catchment area;  

5. Individuals who meet other criteria specified in a PACE 
plan contract;  

6. Individuals who participate in the Medicaid or Medicare 
programs as specified in § 32.1-330.3 E of the Code of 
Virginia; and  

7. Individuals who voluntarily enroll in a PACE plan and 
agree to the terms and conditions of enrollment.  

C. To the extent permitted by federal law and regulation, 
individuals meeting the following financial criteria shall be 
eligible to enroll in PACE plans approved by DMAS:  

1. Individuals whose income is determined by DMAS 
under the provision of the State Plan to be equal to or less 
than 300% of the current Supplemental Security Income 
payment standard for one person; and  

2. Individuals whose resources are determined by DMAS 
under the provisions of the State Plan to be equal to or less 
than the current resource allowance established in the State 
Plan.  

D. For purposes of a financial eligibility determination, 
applicants shall be considered as if they are institutionalized 
for the purpose of applying institutional deeming rules.  

E. DMAS shall not pay for services provided to an applicant 
by a PACE contractor if such services are provided prior to 
the PACE plan authorization date set by the Nursing Home 
Preadmission Screening team.  

12VAC30-120-64. PACE enrollee rights. (Repealed.) 

A. PACE providers contractors shall ensure that enrollees 
are fully informed of their rights and responsibilities in 
accordance with all state and federal requirements. These 
rights and responsibilities shall include, but not be limited to:  

1. The right to be fully informed at the time of enrollment 
that PACE plan enrollment can only be guaranteed for a 
30-day period pursuant to § 32.1-330.3 F of the Code of 
Virginia;  

2. The right to receive PACE plan services directly from 
the provider or under arrangements made by the provider; 
and 

3. The right to be fully informed in writing of any action to 
be taken affecting the receipt of PACE plan services. 

B. PACE providers shall notify enrollees of the full scope of 
services available under a PACE plan, as described in 42 
CFR 460.92. The services shall include, but not be limited to: 

1. Medical services, including the services of a PCP and 
other specialists; 

2. Transportation services; 

3. Outpatient rehabilitation services, including physical, 
occupational and speech therapy services;  
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4. Hospital (acute care) services;  

5. Nursing facility (long-term care) services;  

6. Prescription drugs;  

7. Home health services;  

8. Laboratory services;  

9. Radiology services;  

10. Ambulatory surgery services;  

11. Respite care services;  

12. Personal care services;  

13. Dental services;  

14. Adult day health care services, to include social work 
services;  

15. Interdisciplinary case management services;  

16. Outpatient mental health and mental retardation 
services;  

17. Outpatient psychological services;  

18. Prosthetics; and  

19. Durable medical equipment and other medical supplies. 

C. Services available under a PACE plan shall not include 
any of the following:  

1. Any service not authorized by the interdisciplinary team 
unless such service is an emergency service (i.e., a service 
provided in the event of a situation of a serious or urgent 
nature that endangers the health, safety, or welfare of an 
individual and demands immediate action); 

2. In an inpatient facility, private room and private duty 
nursing services unless medically necessary, and 
nonmedical items for personal convenience such as 
telephones charges and radio or television rental unless 
specifically authorized by the interdisciplinary team as part 
of the participant's plan of care; 

3. Cosmetic surgery except as described in agency 
guidance documents; 

4. Any experimental medical, surgical or other health 
procedure; and 

5. Any other service excluded under 42 CFR 460.96. 

D. PACE providers shall ensure that PACE plan services are 
at least as accessible to enrollees as they are to other 
Medicaid-eligible individuals residing in the applicable 
catchment area.  

E. PACE providers shall provide enrollees with access to 
services authorized by the interdisciplinary team 24 hours per 
day every day of the year.  

F. PACE providers shall provide enrollees with all 
information necessary to facilitate easy access to services.  

G. PACE providers shall provide enrollees with 
identification documents approved by DMAS. PACE plan 
identification documents shall give notice to others of 
enrollees' coverage under PACE plans.  

H. PACE providers shall clearly and fully inform enrollees 
of their right to disenroll at will upon giving 30 days' notice.  

I. PACE providers shall make available to enrollees a 
mechanism whereby disputes relating to enrollment and 
services can be considered. This mechanism shall be one that 
is approved by DMAS.  

J. PACE providers shall fully inform enrollees of the 
individual provider's policies regarding accessing care 
generally, and in particular, accessing urgent or emergency 
care both within and without the catchment area.  

K. PACE providers shall maintain the confidentiality of 
enrollees and the services provided to them. 

12VAC30-120-65. PACE enrollee responsibilities. 
(Repealed.) 

A. Enrollees shall access services through an assigned PCP. 
Enrollees shall be given the opportunity to choose a PCP 
affiliated with the applicable PACE provider. In the event an 
enrollee fails to choose a PCP, one shall be assigned by the 
provider. 

B. Enrollees shall be responsible for co-payments, if any.  

C. Enrollees shall raise complaints relating to PACE plan 
coverage and services directly with the PACE provider. The 
provider shall have a DMAS-approved enrollee complaint 
process in place at all times.  

D. Enrollees shall raise complaints pertaining to Medicaid 
eligibility and PACE plan eligibility directly to DMAS. These 
complaints shall be considered under DMAS' Client Appeals 
regulations (12VAC30-110-10 et seq.). 

E. The PACE provider shall have a grievance process in 
place including procedures for filing an enrollee's grievance, 
documenting the grievance, responding to and resolving the 
grievance in a timely manner, and maintaining confidentiality 
of the agreement pursuant to 42 CFR 460.120. 

12VAC30-120-66. PACE plan contract requirements and 
standards. (Repealed.) 

A. Pursuant to 42 CFR Part 460 and § 32.1-330.3 of the 
Code of Virginia, DMAS shall establish contract 
requirements and standards for PACE providers. 

B. At the point of PACE plan contract agreement, DMAS 
shall modify 12VAC30-50-320 accordingly and submit it to 
CMS. 
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C. Any expansion of PACE programs shall be on a schedule 
and within an area determined solely at the discretion of 
DMAS through a Request for Applications (RFA) process. 
No organization shall begin any new PACE program without 
going through the RFA process as required by DMAS. 

12VAC30-120-67. PACE catastrophic coverage limitation. 
(Repealed.) 

A. DMAS shall limit contractors' liability for Medicaid 
covered services required by individual enrollees when the 
need for services arises from a catastrophic occurrence or 
disease.  

B. If, during a single state fiscal year period (July 1 through 
June 30), an enrollee receives medically necessary PACE 
plan services necessitated by a catastrophic occurrence or 
disease and the cost of those services, calculated using 
DMAS' applicable provider payment schedules, exceeds the 
catastrophic coverage limitation established in the PACE plan 
contract for the Medicaid capitated portion of the payments, 
DMAS shall compensate the contractor for Medicaid covered 
services provided beyond the limitation amount.  

C. When this provision is invoked, DMAS shall compensate 
the contractor for Medicaid covered services at the rates 
established under the applicable Medicaid provider payment 
schedules.  

12VAC30-120-68. PACE sanctions. (Repealed.) 

A. DMAS shall apply sanctions to providers for violations 
of PACE contract provisions and/or federal or state law and 
regulation. 

B. Permissible state sanctions shall include, but need not be 
limited to, the following:  

1. A written warning to the provider;  

2. Withholding all or part of the PACE provider's 
capitation payments, or retracting all or part of any 
reimbursement previously paid;  

3. Suspension of new enrollment in the PACE plan; 

4. Restriction of current enrollment in the PACE plan; and  

5. Contract termination.  
VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1534; Filed December 2, 2008, 3:00 p.m.  
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Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 
of the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-323. Preneed Life Insurance 
Minimum Standards for Determining Reserve Liabilities 
and Nonforfeiture Values (adding 14VAC5-323-10 
through 14VAC5-323-70). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Raquel Pino-Moreno, Principal Insurance 
Analyst, State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance, 
1300 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 371-9499, FAX (804) 371-9511, or 
email raquel.pino-moreno@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulations increase the reserves required for preneed 
insurance policies by not allowing the 2001 
Commissioners Standard Ordinary Mortality Table to be 
used (mandatory after January 1, 2012) and instead 
requiring that reserves be based on the older 
Commissioners 1980 Standard Ordinary Life Valuation 
Mortality Table. The regulations are based on the Preneed 
Life Insurance Minimum Standards for Determining 
Reserve Liabilities and Nonforfeiture Values Model 
Regulation (model), which was adopted by the National 
Association of Insurance Commissioners in March 2008. 
The higher reserves may qualify as tax reserves (tax 
deductible) per the Internal Revenue Code if 26 states 
adopt the model by January 1, 2009. There were no 
changes from the proposed version of the regulations. 

AT RICHMOND, SEPTEMBER 9, 2008 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 

At the relation of the 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2008-00194 

Ex parte: In the matter of  
Adopting Rules Governing 
Preneed Life Insurance 
Minimum Standards for  
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Determining Reserve Liabilities 
And Nonforfeiture Values 

By Order to Take Notice ("Order") entered September 9, 
2008, all interested persons were ordered to take notice that 
subsequent to November 14, 2008, the State Corporation 
Commission ("Commission") would consider the entry of an 
order adopting new rules proposed by the Bureau of 
Insurance ("Bureau") entitled "Rules Governing Preneed Life 
Insurance Minimum Standards for Determining Reserve 
Liabilities and Nonforfeiture Values" ("Rules"), set forth in 
Chapter 323 of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code, 
unless on or before November 14, 2008, any person objecting 
to the adoption of the proposed new Rules filed a request for 
a hearing with the Clerk of the Commission ("Clerk"). 

The Order also required all interested persons to file their 
comments in support of or in opposition to the proposed new 
Rules on or before November 14, 2008. 

The Funeral Directors Life Insurance Company timely filed 
comments with the Clerk in support of the proposed new 
Rules.  There were no other comments or requests for a 
hearing filed with the Clerk. 

The Bureau does not recommend further changes to the 
proposed new Rules and, further, recommends that the Rules 
be adopted as proposed. 

THE COMMISSION, having considered the comments and 
the Bureau's recommendation, is of the opinion that the 
attached proposed new Rules should be adopted. 

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED THAT: 

(1)  The proposed new Rules at Chapter 323 of Title 14 of 
the Virginia Administrative Code entitled "Rules Governing 
Preneed Life Insurance Minimum Standards for Determining 
Reserve Liabilities and Nonforfeiture Values," which are 
attached hereto and made a part hereof, should be, and they 
are hereby, ADOPTED to be effective January 1, 2009. 

(2)  AN ATTESTED COPY hereof, together with a copy of 
the adopted Rules, shall be sent by the Clerk of the 
Commission to the Bureau in care of Deputy Commissioner 
Douglas C. Stolte, who forthwith shall give further notice of 
the adoption of the new Rules by mailing a copy of this 
Order, together with a clean copy of the attached Rules, to all 
licensed life insurers, burial societies, and fraternal benefit 
societies authorized by the Commission pursuant to Title 38.2 
of the Code of Virginia, and certain interested parties 
designated by the Bureau. 

(3)  The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
forthwith shall cause a copy of this Order, together with the 
attached Rules, to be forwarded to the Virginia Registrar of 
Regulations for appropriate publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations. 

(4)  The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
shall make available this Order and the adopted Rules on the 
Commission's website, http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(5)  The Bureau shall file with the Clerk of the Commission 
an affidavit of compliance with the notice requirements of 
Ordering Paragraph (2) above. 

CHAPTER 323  
PRENEED LIFE INSURANCE MINIMUM STANDARDS 

FOR DETERMINING RESERVE LIABILITIES AND 
NONFORFEITURE VALUES  

14VAC5-323-10. Authority. 

This chapter is promulgated by the commission, pursuant to 
§ 38.2-223 of the Code of Virginia and in accordance with §§ 
38.2-3130, 38.2-3206 through 38.2-3209, and 38.2-4120 of 
the Code of Virginia and 14VAC5-319-40, to approve, 
recognize, permit, and prescribe the use of the 1980 
Commissioners Standard Ordinary (CSO) Life Valuation 
Mortality Table for use in determining the minimum standard 
of valuation of reserves and the minimum standard 
nonforfeiture values for insurers offering preneed insurance in 
this Commonwealth. 

14VAC5-323-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"2001 CSO Mortality Table" means that mortality table, 
which is included in the Proceedings of the NAIC (2nd 
Quarter 2002), consisting of separate rates of mortality for 
male and female lives, developed by the American Academy 
of Actuaries CSO Task Force from the Valuation Basic 
Mortality Table developed by the Society of Actuaries 
Individual Life Insurance Valuation Mortality Task Force, 
and adopted by the NAIC in December 2002. Unless the 
context indicates otherwise, the "2001 CSO Mortality Table" 
includes both the ultimate form of that table and the select 
and ultimate form of that table and includes both the smoker 
and nonsmoker mortality tables and the composite mortality 
tables. It also includes both the age-nearest-birthday and age-
last-birthday bases of the mortality tables. 

"Commission" means the State Corporation Commission. 

"NAIC" means the National Association of Insurance 
Commissioners. 

"Preneed insurance," "preneed insurance contract," or 
"preneed insurance policy" means a life insurance policy, or 
other life insurance contract which at issue, whether by 
assignment or otherwise, has for a purpose, the funding of a 
preneed funeral contract as defined in § 54.1-2800 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

"Ultimate 1980 CSO" means the Commissioners 1980 
Standard Ordinary Life Valuation Mortality Table without 
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any selection factors, incorporated into the 1980 NAIC 
amendments to the Standard Valuation Law and Standard 
Nonforfeiture Law for Life Insurance models, and adopted by 
the NAIC in December 1983.  It is a mortality table 
consisting of separate rates of mortality for male and female 
lives, developed by the Society of Actuaries Committee to 
recommend new mortality tables for valuation of standard 
individual ordinary life insurance, as set forth in Transactions, 
Society of Actuaries, Vol. XXXIII (1981), pp. 673 and 674. 

14VAC5-323-30. Minimum valuation mortality standards. 

For preneed insurance contracts, and similar policies and 
contracts, the minimum mortality standard for determining 
reserve liabilities and nonforfeiture values for both male and 
female insureds shall be the Ultimate 1980 CSO. 

14VAC5-323-40. Minimum valuation interest rate 
standards. 

A. The interest rates used in determining the minimum 
standard for valuation of preneed insurance shall be the 
calendar year statutory valuation interest rates as defined in 
§§ 38.2-3133 through 38.2-3136 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The interest rates used in determining the minimum 
standard for nonforfeiture values for preneed insurance shall 
be the calendar year statutory nonforfeiture interest rates as 
defined in § 38.2-3209 of the Code of Virginia. 

14VAC5-323-50. Minimum valuation method standards. 

A. The method used in determining the standard for the 
minimum valuation of reserves of preneed insurance shall be 
the method defined in §§ 38.2-3129 and 38.2-3130 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

B. The method used in determining the standard for the 
minimum nonforfeiture values for preneed insurance shall be 
the method defined in § 38.2-3209 of the Code of Virginia. 

14VAC5-323-60. Transition provisions. 

A. For preneed insurance policies issued on or after January 
1, 2009, and before January 1, 2012, the 2001 CSO Mortality 
Table may be used as the minimum standard for reserves and 
minimum standard for nonforfeiture benefits for both male 
and female insureds pursuant to the requirements of the rules 
entitled "Use of the 2001 CSO Mortality Table in 
Determining Minimum Reserve Liabilities and Nonforfeiture 
Benefits (14VAC 5-321)." 

B. If an insurer elects to use the 2001 CSO Mortality Table 
as a minimum standard for any preneed insurance policy 
issued on or after January 1, 2009, and before January 1, 
2012, the insurer shall provide, as a part of the actuarial 
opinion memorandum submitted in support of the company's 
asset adequacy testing, an annual written notification to the 
domiciliary commissioner. The notification shall include: 

1. A complete list of all preneed insurance policy forms 
that use the 2001 CSO as a minimum standard; 

2. A certification signed by the appointed actuary stating 
that the reserve methodology employed by the company in 
determining reserves for the preneed insurance policies 
issued after January 1, 2009, and using the 2001 CSO as a 
minimum standard, develops adequate reserves (for the 
purposes of this certification, the preneed insurance 
policies using the 2001 CSO as a minimum standard 
cannot be aggregated with any other insurance policies.); 
and 

3. Supporting information regarding the adequacy of 
reserves for preneed insurance policies issued after January 
1, 2009, and using the 2001 CSO as a minimum standard 
for reserves. 

C. Preneed insurance policies issued on or after January 1, 
2012, shall use the Ultimate 1980 CSO in the calculation of 
minimum nonforfeiture values and minimum reserves. 

14VAC5-323-70. Severability. 

If any provision of this chapter or the application thereof to 
any person or circumstance is for any reason held to be 
invalid, the remainder of the chapter and the application of 
the provision to other persons or circumstances shall not be 
affected thereby. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1348; Filed December 2, 2008, 1:53 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR’S NOTICE: The Safety and Health Codes 
Board is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 3, which 
excludes regulations that consist only of changes in style or 
form or corrections of technical errors. The Safety and Health 
Codes Board will receive, consider and respond to petitions 
by any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC25-20. Regulation Concerning 
Licensed Asbestos Contractor Notification, Asbestos 
Project Permits, and Permit Fees (amending 16VAC25-
20-10). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 40.1-22 and 40.1-51.20 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 1, 2009. 

Agency Contact: John Crisanti, Planning and Evaluation 
Manager, Department of Labor and Industry, Powers-Taylor 
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Building, 13 South Thirteenth Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-4300, FAX (804) 786-8418, TTY (804) 
786-2376, or email john.crisanti@doli.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment clarifies that roofing, flooring and siding 
are the only nonfriable materials that do not become 
friable when installed, encapsulated or removed. The 
intent of the amendment is to eliminate confusion on the 
part of asbestos contractors who must be licensed by the 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 
but who must file asbestos project permits with the 
Department of Labor and Industry. 

16VAC25-20-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Activity" means from the set-up of negative air 
containment through the breakdown of that containment. 
Work within a single structure or building shall be considered 
as one "activity" so long as such work is not interrupted 
except for weekends, holidays, or delays due to inclement 
weather. Where containment is not required, all work within 
single structure or building shall be considered as one 
"activity."  

"Asbestos" means any material containing more than 1.0% 
asbestos by area as determined by microscopy.  

"Asbestos contractor's license" means an authorization 
issued by the Department of Professional and Occupational 
Regulation permitting a person to enter into contracts to 
perform an asbestos abatement project.  

"Asbestos project" means an activity involving job set-up 
for containment, removal, encapsulation, enclosure, 
encasement, renovation, repair, construction or alteration of 
an asbestos-containing material. An asbestos project or 
asbestos abatement project shall not include nonfriable 
asbestos-containing material roofing, flooring and siding 
materials which material that when installed, encapsulated or 
removed do does not become friable.  

"Asbestos supervisor" means any person so designated by an 
asbestos contractor who provides on-site supervision and 
direction to the workers engaged in asbestos projects.  

"Building" means a combination of any materials, whether 
portable or fixed including part or parts and fixed equipment 
of them, that forms a structure for use or occupancy by 
persons or property.  

"Construction" means all the on-site work done in building 
or altering structures from land clearance through completion, 
including excavation, erection, and the assembly and 
installation of components and equipment.  

"Department" means the Department of Labor and Industry.  

"Friable" means that the material when dry, may be 
crumbled, pulverized, or reduced to powder by hand pressure 
and includes previously nonfriable material after such 
previously nonfriable material becomes damaged to the extent 
that when dry it may be crumbled, pulverized, or reduced to 
powder by hand pressure.  

"Person" means a corporation, partnership, sole 
proprietorship, firm, enterprise, franchise, association, or any 
other individual or entity.  

"Residential buildings" means site-built homes, modular 
homes, condominium units, mobile homes, manufactured 
housing, and duplexes, or other multi-unit dwelling consisting 
of four units or less which are currently in use or intended for 
use only for residential purposes. Demolitions of any of the 
above structures which that are to be replaced by other than a 
residential building shall not fall within this definition.  

"RFS contractor's license" means an authorization issued by 
the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 
permitting a person to enter into contracts to install, remove 
or encapsulate nonfriable asbestos-containing roofing, 
flooring, and siding materials.  

"Site" means a specific geographically contiguous area with 
defined limits owned by a single entity on which asbestos 
removal will occur.  

"Structure" means an assembly of materials, or part or parts 
of them, forming a construction.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1733; Filed December 3, 2008, 10:21 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 20. PUBLIC UTILITIES AND 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 
of the powers of a court of record. 

Titles of Regulations: 20VAC5-312. Rules Governing 
Retail Access to Competitive Energy Services (amending 
20VAC5-312-10, 20VAC5-312-20, 20VAC5-312-60, 
20VAC5-312-80, 20VAC5-312-90; repealing 20VAC5-312-
120). 
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20VAC5-313. Rules Governing Exemptions to Minimum 
Stay Requirements and Wires Charges (amending 
20VAC5-313-10, 20VAC5-313-20; repealing 20VAC5-313-
30). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 56-576 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2009.  

Agency Contact: David Eichenlaub, Assistant Director, 
Economic and Finance Division, State Corporation 
Commission, P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (804) 371-9050, FAX (804) 371-9935, or email 
david.eichenlaub@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Revisions have been made to these rules as they relate to 
electric energy services necessitated by the changes in the 
statutory requirements for the provision of retail access to 
electric energy services set forth in amendments by the 
Virginia General Assembly to the Virginia Electric Utility 
Restructuring Act (§ 56-576 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia), renamed the Virginia Electric Utility Regulation 
Act. The revisions remove references to default service, 
modify the initiation of the reporting requirements for 
companies to begin with enrollment of customers under a 
retail access program, modify the customer information 
requirement on local distribution companies, modify the 
minimum stay requirement for electric customers, provide 
for an exception to the billing and payment rules for those 
companies offering an approved 100% renewable electric 
tariff to its retail customers, and eliminate the regulation 
governing competitive metering from 20VAC5-312. The 
changes to 20VAC5-313 eliminate provisions related to 
wires charges.  

In response to comments filed by interested parties and the 
staff report filed by the commission’s staff, several 
revisions to the proposed version were made to (i) clarify 
how the minimum stay provisions of 20VAC5-312-80 Q 
will operate; (ii) reflect that consolidated billing is now 
permissive, not mandatory, and covered by filed utility 
tariffs; and (iii) add MCF, a gas usage term, to provisions 
previously only using the electric designations MW or 
kWh.  

AT RICHMOND, NOVEMBER 26, 2008 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 

At the relation of the 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. PUE-2008-00061 

Ex Parte: In the matter of revising the rules 
of the State Corporation Commission governing 
Retail Access to Competitive Energy Services 

ORDER REVISING REGULATIONS 

The Commission's Rules Governing Retail Access to 
Competitive Energy Services ("Retail Access Rules"), 
20 VAC 5-312-10 et seq., were adopted in 2001[1] and last 
revised in 2003.[2]  Additionally, the Rules Governing 
Exemptions to the Minimum Stay Requirements and Wires 
Charges, set forth in 20 VA 5-313-10 et seq., were adopted in 
2006 as transitory regulations promulgated to be in addition 
to the existing Retail Access Rules.[3] 

On July 29, 2008, the Commission entered an Order For 
Notice of Proceeding To Consider Revisions to the 
Commission's Rules Governing Retail Access to Competitive 
Energy Services ("July 29, 2008 Order") to revise the Retail 
Access Rules in order to reflect statutory changes made to the 
Virginia Electric Utility Restructuring Act,[4] §§ 56-576 et 
seq. of the Code of Virginia ("Code") by the Virginia General 
Assembly regarding retail access to electric energy services 
within the Commonwealth.[5]  The July 29, 2008 Order 
attached draft revisions ("Proposed Rules") prepared by the 
Commission Staff ("Staff"), directed that notice of the 
Proposed Rules be given to the public, and provided an 
opportunity for interested persons to file comments on, 
propose modifications and supplements to, and request a 
hearing on the Proposed Rules. 

Pursuant to the July 29, 2008 Order, comments were due by 
September 22, 2008.  The Commission received comments 
from Appalachian Power Company ("APCo"), Virginia 
Electric Cooperatives,[6]Virginia Electric and Power 
Company ("Virginia Power"), and Columbia Gas of Virginia, 
Inc. ("CGV").  None of the parties filing comments requested 
a hearing on the proposed revisions.  However, Virginia 
Power requested an opportunity to file reply comments on or 
before October 15, 2008, in order to address any issues in the 
comments filed by others or in the Staff Report scheduled to 
be filed on October 6, 2008.  On October 3, 2008, Robert A. 
Vanderhye filed with the Commission a request that 
comments he had filed in another Commission proceeding[7] 
be considered in this case, and that a hearing on the Proposed 
Rules be held by the Commission.  Mr. Vanderhye requested 
that the hearing be scheduled after a decision has been 
reached in Case No. PUE-2008-00044, and another 
Commission proceeding,[8] asserting that the decisions 
reached in these cases will have a bearing on any changes to 
the Retail Access Rules.  The Staff filed a Report on October 
6, 2008, as directed by July 29, 2008 Order, summarizing the 
comments filed by APCo, the Virginia Electric Cooperatives, 
Virginia Power, and CGV, and making further revisions to 
the Proposed Rules, where necessary, in response to the 
comments filed on September 22, 2008.[9] 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of this 
matter, is of the opinion and finds that the regulations 
attached hereto should be adopted effective January 1, 
2009.           
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In the revisions to the Code enacted under Chapters 888 and 
933 of the 2007 Virginia Acts of Assembly, the General 
Assembly, inter alia, moved the expiration of capped rates to 
December 31, 2008, and limited the ability of most 
consumers to purchase electric generation service from 
competing suppliers thereafter.  Residential retail consumers 
will have the ability to engage in a choice of competitive 
generation suppliers only if the incumbent electric utility does 
not offer an approved tariff for electric energy provided 100 
percent from renewable energy.  Large customers exceeding 5 
MW in demand maintain the ability to shop among 
competitive suppliers, and nonresidential customers may seek 
to aggregate load up to the 5 MW threshold in order to use a 
competitive supplier.  Accordingly, it is necessary for the 
Commission to revise the Retail Access Rules effective 
January 1, 2009, in order to have the Commission's rules and 
regulations properly tailored to the new regulatory paradigm 
prescribed by the Virginia General Assembly.  

The July 29, 2008 Order provided Proposed Rules which 
were developed by the Staff to incorporate changes to the 
Retail Access Rules necessitated by the statutory changes 
described above.  APCo, the Virginia Electric Cooperatives, 
Virginia Power, and CGV provided comments on the Staff's 
Proposed Rules, and proposed several modifications of their 
own, which, as will be discussed below, are adopted or 
rejected by this Order. 

The Virginia Electric Cooperatives and Virginia Power each 
proposed modifications to 20 VAC 5-312-10, the 
"Applicability; definitions" section of the Retail Access 
Rules.  The Virginia Electric Cooperatives suggest stating 
that the regulations do not apply to a utility that offers a 100% 
renewable energy tariff option and has no customers meeting 
the load threshold.[10]  We find that this modification is 
unnecessary.  As drafted, the regulations attached hereto will 
operate so as to cover the various scenarios provided by the 
statute.  As noted in the Staff Report, certain rules refer to 
"eligible customers" to recognize that specific regulations are 
not applicable to, for example, residential customers, if the 
Commission has approved a tariff for electric energy 
provided 100% from renewable energy.[11]  Virginia Power 
suggests that certain definitions be changed to reflect that 
they are only applicable to natural gas customers.[12]  We find 
that these proposed changes are unnecessary.  For example, as 
noted in the Staff Report, while the 2007 statutory changes 
eliminated electric utilities' obligation to provide consolidated 
billing, the regulations have been revised to reflect that 
consolidated billing is no longer mandatory. [13]  Thus, 
consistent with the natural gas utilities' present practice, the 
utilities' tariffs, as approved by the Commission, will 
determine billing options. 

Virginia Power, CGV, and the Virginia Electric 
Cooperatives each proposed additional modifications to 
20 VAC 5-312-20, the "General provisions" section of the 
Retail Access Rules.  CGV suggested several technical 

corrections to this section, including the need for subsection 
N to use the gas measurement term "MCF" in addition to the 
electric terms MW or kWh.  The Staff Report included these 
technical corrections in the revisions to the Proposed Rules, 
and we adopt them herein. 

The Virginia Electric Cooperatives seek an addition to 
subsection F of 20 VAC 5-312-20 to reflect what they 
perceive as a statutory obligation under § 56-577 A 5 of the 
Code for competitive suppliers that provide electricity supply 
service to individual retail customers to provide only 100 
percent renewable energy, unless such customers can shop 
under § 56-577 A 3 or A 4.[14]  Similarly, APCo requested as 
part of this rulemaking that the Commission affirm that Code 
§ 56-577 A 5 establishes that if a local distribution company 
offers an approved tariff for electric energy provided 100 
percent from renewable energy, other competitive providers 
are prevented from offering all renewable energy products 
within that service area and may not offer a mix of 50 percent 
from renewable sources and 50 percent from traditional 
sources.[15] We find it unnecessary to restate the statute in 
these rules or to address the interpretation requested by the 
Virginia Electric Cooperatives and APCo. 

Virginia Power proposed several modifications to 20 VAC 
5-312-20 on the basis that this rule applied only to natural gas 
local distribution companies going forward.  For the same 
reasons discussed above, we find these proposed changes 
unnecessary.  With regard to the reporting requirements in 
subsections M and N of 20 VAC 5-312-20, as set forth 
initially by the Staff in the Proposed Rules, the reporting 
requirement is activated "[u]pon enrollment of a customer to 
receive competitive supply service."  We find this sufficient 
to address Virginia Power's concern that the reporting 
requirements will have little value given the very limited 
access to retail choice.[16]  Finally, as acknowledged in the 
Staff Report, 20 VAC 5-312-20 preserves the right of any 
electric or natural gas utility to request a waiver of any 
provision believed to be unwarranted or cause harm or 
hardship to such utility.[17] 

      Virginia Power and the Virginia Electric Cooperatives 
each proposed additional modifications to 20 VAC 5-312-60, 
the "Customer information" section of the Retail Access 
Rules.  Virginia Power asserts that it would be burdensome to 
continually update its mass list of eligible customers every 
time a competitive service provider requests a list.[18]  Virginia 
Power's proposed solution is to require electric local 
distribution companies to provide the mass list once 
annually.[19]  As revised by the Staff in the initial Proposed 
Rules, the original regulations have been amended to require 
the local distribution companies to update or replace their list 
of eligible customers annually.  This annually updated list 
would be provided upon request of a competitive service 
provider.  Hence, there is no burden placed upon local 
distribution companies to update their list every time a 
competitive service provider makes a request.  The Staff 
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Report notes that as revised, creation of the mass list is not 
necessary until a list is requested by a competitive service 
provider.[20]  We find that the revisions to this section set forth 
in the Proposed Rules by Staff adequately address this 
concern raised by Virginia Power. 

      The Virginia Electric Cooperatives proposed to define 
who "eligible customers" are in greater detail.  We find this 
proposal to be unnecessary.  Whether a customer is "eligible" 
or not is determined by the customer's class and size, and the 
renewable energy offerings by its incumbent provider, as 
stated in the Code.   

Virginia Power, APCO, and the Virginia Electric 
Cooperatives each expressed concern regarding the revisions 
to 20 VAC 5-312-80 Q, as initially drafted by the Staff, 
regarding "minimum stay" obligations.[21]  In its Staff Report, 
the Staff acknowledged the potential for confusion in the 
revised language concerning the rules governing the 
minimum stay requirements and offered further clarification 
to those rules.[22]  As adopted herein, the 12-month minimum 
stay requirement applies to any electric customer with an 
annual peak demand of 500 kW or greater.  This is the same 
threshold that existed in this regulation prior to this 
proceeding.  Subsection Q is further revised to account for the 
statutory revisions regarding 5 MW and aggregated 
nonresidential retail customers set out in Code § 56-577 
requiring either a five-year notice or Commission permission 
to return to tariffed rates.  The 12-month minimum stay 
period retained herein applies to returning 5 MW and 
aggregated nonresidential retail customers, as required by § 
56-577 A 3 C of the Code.  Likewise, retained from the 
current Retail Access Rules as set out in 20 VAC 5-313-20[23] 

is the alternative for returning customers to pay market-based 
rates in order to avoid the obligation of a minimum stay 
requirement. 

Virginia Power also proposed in its comments an expansion 
of the minimum stay period from one year to five years for 5 
MW or aggregated nonresidential retail customers.[24]  This 
proposal is based upon the hypothetical that if several large 
industrial customers return to service and leave within a year, 
then the utility may have started on construction of a new 
generation facility to meet those needs.  According to 
Virginia Power, to allow customers with substantial electric 
energy requirements to jump on and off the system may do 
harm to customers who do not leave.[25]  We find nothing in 
the present enactments that necessitates an expansion of the 
minimum stay requirement from one to five years.  The new 
provisions in § 56-577 requiring a five-year notice before a 
large or aggregated customer can return to the electric 
incumbent without Commission approval provides the 
electric incumbent and its non-shopping customers more 
protection than existed prior to these statutory changes.  We 
therefore decline to adopt Virginia Power's proposed five-
year minimum stay period. 

      CGV proposed to amend subsection F of 20 VAC 5-312-
80 as it relates to customers currently receiving service from a 
competitive service provider.  CGV's proposed modification 
would require the local distribution company to reject a 
provider enrollment submitted by a new shopping customer's 
provider unless it has received a timely cancellation from the 
present provider.[26]  As noted in the Staff Report, we have 
received complaints from customers whose desire to switch to 
a new competitive service provider has been hampered.[27]  

The Staff asserts that the present provisions adequately 
address this issue concerning multiple enrollments, i.e., if two 
or more enrollments are received during the monthly 
enrollment period then the utility is to process the first and 
reject all others.  However, when a new monthly enrollment 
period begins upon the next meter read, the customer is free 
to choose another competitive service provider.[28]  We agree 
with the Staff that a customer's right to choose a new provider 
should not be denied because the current provider has not 
submitted a cancellation to the local distribution company. 

      Virginia Power proposed that subsection E of 20 VAC 
5-312-80 be further revised to be applicable to only natural 
gas customers.[29]  The Staff did not agree, but did note that a 
change was warranted, modifying the Proposed Rules, as 
attached to the Staff Report, to ensure that the regulation 
applies to only those with "eligible" customers.[30]  We find 
that the Staff adequately addresses this concern. 

      CGV suggested that provisions of 20 VAC 5-312-90, the 
"Billing and payment" section of the Retail Access Rules, be 
further modified to reflect the repeal of the statutory 
requirement to offer consolidated billing.[31]  Likewise, and 
consistent with its earlier approach, Virginia Power proposed 
to modify the regulation to have it apply to natural gas local 
distribution companies only.[32]  The Staff agreed with CGV 
that the statutory obligation to provide for consolidated 
billing has been removed.[33]  The language proposed by the 
Staff establishes that, consistent with the natural gas utilities' 
present practice, the utilities' tariff as approved by the 
Commission will determine billing options.  We adopt the 
Staff's revisions to 20 VAC 5-312-90 A. 

      Virginia Power also proposed that a provision be added 
to this section which would require competitive service 
providers to support aggregating nonresidential retail 
customers to the extent necessary to comply with the petition 
and reporting requirements of § 56-577 A 4 of the Code.[34]  
We find that we need not adopt such a regulation at this time.  
Section 56-577 A 4 b of the Code requires the Commission to 
impose reasonable periodic monitoring and reporting 
obligations in granting a petition to aggregate load.  This 
should be sufficient to address any reporting requirements 
that might be addressed in a regulation.  Furthermore, as § 
56-577 A 4 of the Code permits certain customers to petition 
"for permission to aggregate or combine their demands . . . so 
as to become qualified to purchase electric energy from any 
supplier. . . ," the statute on its face does not require the 
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participation of the competitive service provider in the 
petitioning process. 

      Finally, we deny Virginia Power's request for an 
opportunity to file reply comments, and the late-filed request 
for a hearing submitted by Robert A. Vanderhye,[35] as 
unnecessary for interested persons to comment upon, and for 
the Commission to consider adoption of, the revised rules 
herein.   

      Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

      (1) The current Rules Governing Retail Access to 
Competitive Energy Services 20 VAC 5-312-10 et seq., and 
the Rules Governing Exemptions to the Minimum Stay 
Requirements and Wires Charges, 20 VAC 5-313-10 et seq., 
are hereby revised and adopted as attached to this Order, 
effective as of January 1, 2009. 

      (2) A copy of this Order with a copy of the rules adopted 
herein shall be forwarded to the Virginia Register of 
Regulations for publication. 

      (3) The request by Virginia Power for an opportunity to 
file reply comments is hereby denied. 

      (4) The late-filed request by Robert A. Vanderhye for a 
hearing on the revisions to the Retail Access Rules is hereby 
denied. 

      (5) There being nothing further to come before the 
Commission, this case shall be removed from the 
Commission's docket of active proceedings and the papers 
filed herein placed in the file for ended causes.  

      Commissioner Dimitri did not participate in this matter.  

      AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk 
of the Commission to:  Charles E. Bayless, Esquire, 
Appalachian Power Company, 3 James Center, Suite 702, 
1051 East Cary Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219; Samuel R. 
Brumberg, Esquire, LeClair Ryan, 4201 Dominion 
Boulevard, Suite 200, Glen Allen, Virginia 23060; M. Renae 
Carter, Esquire, Dominion Resources Services, Law 
Department,  120 Tredegar Street, P.O. Box 26532, 
Richmond, Virginia 23261-6532; James S. Copenhaver, 
Esquire, Columbia Gas of Virginia, 1809 Coyote Drive, 
Chester, Virginia 23836; Robert A. Vanderhye, 801 Ridge 
Drive, McLean, Virginia, 22101; C. Meade Browder, Jr., 
Senior Assistant Attorney General, Division of Consumer 
Counsel, Office of Attorney General, 900 East Main Street, 
2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219; and the Commission's 
Office of General Counsel and Divisions of Energy 
Regulation and Economics and Finance. 
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20VAC5-312-10. Applicability; definitions. 

A. These regulations are promulgated pursuant to the 
provisions of the Virginia Electric Utility Restructuring 
Regulation Act (§ 56-576 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and 
to the provisions of retail supply choice for natural gas 
customers, § 56-235.8 of the Code of Virginia. The 
provisions in this chapter apply to suppliers of electric and 
natural gas services including local distribution companies 
and competitive service providers, and govern the 
implementation of retail access to competitive energy 
services, to the extent permissible by statute, in the electricity 
and natural gas markets, including the conduct of market 
participants. The provisions in this chapter shall be effective 
January 1, 2009, and applicable to the implementation of full 
or phased-in retail access to competitive energy services in 
the service territory of each local distribution company. 

B. The following terms when used in this chapter shall have 
the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates 
otherwise: 

"Affiliated competitive service provider" means a 
competitive service provider that is a separate legal entity that 
controls, is controlled by, or is under common control of, a 
local distribution company or its parent. For the purpose of 
this chapter, any unit or division created by a local 
distribution company for the purpose of acting as a 
competitive service provider shall be treated as an affiliated 
competitive service provider and shall be subject to the same 
provisions and regulations. 

"Aggregator" means a person licensed by the State 
Corporation Commission that, as an agent or intermediary, (i) 
offers to purchase, or purchases, electricity or natural gas 
supply service, or both, or (ii) offers to arrange for, or 
arranges for, the purchase of electricity supply service or 
natural gas supply service, or both, for sale to, or on behalf of, 

two or more retail customers not controlled by or under 
common control with such person. The following activities 
shall not, in and of themselves, make a person an aggregator 
under this chapter: (i) furnishing legal services to two or more 
retail customers or competitive service providers; (ii) 
furnishing educational, informational, or analytical services to 
two or more retail customers, unless direct or indirect 
compensation for such services is paid by a competitive 
service provider supplying electricity or natural gas, or both; 
(iii) furnishing educational, informational, or analytical 
services to two or more competitive service providers; (iv) 
providing default service under § 56-585 of the Code of 
Virginia; (v) conducting business as a competitive service 
provider licensed under 20VAC5-312-40; and (vi) (v) 
engaging in actions of a retail customer, acting in common 
with one or more other such retail customers, to issue a 
request for proposal or to negotiate a purchase of electricity 
supply service or natural gas supply service, or both, for 
consumption by such retail customers. 

"Billing party" means a person who renders a consolidated 
or separate bill directly to a retail customer for competitive 
energy services, or distribution services, or both. 

"Bill-ready" means the consolidated billing practice in 
which the nonbilling party calculates each retail customer's 
billing charges for services provided and forwards such 
charges to the billing party for inclusion on the consolidated 
bill. 

"Business day" means any calendar day or computer 
processing day in the Eastern United States time zone in 
which the general office of the applicable local distribution 
company is open for business with the public. 

"Competitive energy service" means the retail sale of 
electricity supply service, natural gas supply service, or any 
other competitive service as provided by legislation and 
approved by the State Corporation Commission as part of 
retail access by an entity other than the local distribution 
company as a regulated utility. For the purpose of this 
chapter, competitive energy services include services 
provided to retail customers by aggregators. 

"Competitive service provider' means a person, licensed by 
the State Corporation Commission, that sells or offers to sell 
a competitive energy service within the Commonwealth. This 
term includes affiliated competitive service providers, as 
defined above, but does not include a party that supplies 
electricity or natural gas, or both, exclusively for its own 
consumption or the consumption of one or more of its 
affiliates. For the purpose of this chapter, competitive service 
providers include aggregators. 

"Competitive transition charge" means the wires charge, as 
provided by § 56-583 of the Code of Virginia, that is 
applicable to a retail customer that chooses to procure 
electricity supply service from a competitive service provider. 
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"Consolidated billing" means the rendering of a single bill to 
a retail customer that includes the billing charges of a 
competitive service provider and the billing charges of the 
local distribution company. 

"Customer" means retail customer. 

"Distribution service" means the delivery of electricity or 
natural gas, or both, through the distribution facilities of the 
local distribution company to a retail customer. 

"Electricity supply service" means the generation of 
electricity, or when provided together, the generation of 
electricity and its transmission to the distribution facilities of 
the local distribution company on behalf of a retail customer. 

"Electronic Data Interchange" (EDI) means computer-to-
computer exchange of business information using common 
standards for high volume electronic transactions. 

"Local Distribution Company" means an entity regulated by 
the State Corporation Commission that owns or controls the 
distribution facilities required for the transportation and 
delivery of electricity or natural gas to the retail customer.  

"Minimum stay period" means the minimum period of time 
a customer who requests electricity supply service from the 
local distribution company, pursuant to § 56-582 D §§ 56-577 
A 3 c, 56-577 C 1, and 56-582 D of the Code of Virginia, 
after a period of receiving electricity supply service from a 
competitive service provider, is required to use such service 
from the local distribution company.  

"Natural gas supply service" means the procurement of 
natural gas, or when provided together, the procurement of 
natural gas and its transportation to the distribution facilities 
of a local distribution company on behalf of a retail customer. 

"Nonbilling party" means a person who provides retail 
customer billing information for competitive energy services 
or regulated service to the billing party for the purpose of 
consolidated billing. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, company, business, trust, joint venture, or other 
private legal entity, and the Commonwealth or any city, 
county, town, authority or other political subdivision of the 
Commonwealth. 

"Price-to-compare" means the portion of the electric local 
distribution company's regulated rate applicable to electricity 
supply service less the competitive transition charge rate or 
the portion of the natural gas local distribution company's 
regulated rate applicable to natural gas supply service. 

"Rate-ready" means the consolidated billing practice in 
which the nonbilling party provides rate information to the 
billing party to calculate and include the nonbilling party's 
charges on the consolidated bill. 

"Residential customer" means any person receiving retail 
distribution service under a residential tariff of the local 
distribution company. 

"Retail access" means the opportunity for a retail customer 
in the Commonwealth to purchase a competitive energy 
service from a licensed competitive service provider seeking 
to sell such services to that customer. 

"Retail customer" means any person who purchases retail 
electricity or natural gas for his or her own consumption at 
one or more metering points or nonmetered points of delivery 
located within the Commonwealth. 

"Separate billing" means the rendering of separate bills to a 
retail customer for the billing charges of a competitive service 
provider and the billing charges of the local distribution 
company. 

"Transmission provider" means an entity regulated by the 
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission that owns or 
operates, or both, the transmission facilities required for the 
delivery of electricity or natural gas to the local distribution 
company or retail customer. 

"Virginia Electronic Data Transfer Working Group" 
(VAEDT) means the group of representatives from electric 
and natural gas local distribution companies, competitive 
service providers, the staff of the State Corporation 
Commission, and the Office of Attorney General whose 
objective is to formulate guidelines and practices for the 
electronic exchange of information necessitated by retail 
access. 

20VAC5-312-20. General provisions. 

A. A request for a waiver of any of the provisions in this 
chapter shall be considered by the State Corporation 
Commission on a case-by-case basis, and may be granted 
upon such terms and conditions as the State Corporation 
Commission may impose.  

B. The provisions of this chapter may be enforced by the 
State Corporation Commission by any means authorized 
under applicable law or regulation. Enforcement actions may 
include, without limitation, the refusal to issue any license for 
which application has been made, and the revocation or 
suspension of any license previously granted. The provisions 
of this chapter shall not be deemed to preclude a person 
aggrieved by a violation of these regulations from pursuing 
any civil relief that may be available under state or federal 
law, including, without limitation, private actions for 
damages or other equitable relief.  

C. The provisions of this chapter shall not be deemed to 
prohibit the local distribution company, in emergency 
situations, from taking actions it is otherwise authorized to 
take that are necessary to ensure public safety and reliability 
of the distribution system. The State Corporation 
Commission, upon a claim of inappropriate action or its own 
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motion, may investigate and take such corrective actions as 
may be appropriate.  

D. The State Corporation Commission maintains the right to 
inspect the books, papers, records and documents, and to 
require reports and statements, of a competitive service 
provider as required to verify qualifications to conduct 
business within the Commonwealth, to support affiliate 
transactions, to investigate allegations of violations of this 
chapter, or to resolve a complaint filed against a competitive 
service provider. Every competitive service provider licensed 
pursuant to this chapter shall establish and maintain records 
identifying persons or entities performing promotional or 
marketing activities on behalf of or in conjunction with such 
competitive service provider.  

E. Absent the designation of a default service provider as 
determined by the State Corporation Commission pursuant to 
§ 56-585 of the Code of Virginia, the The local distribution 
company shall provide, pursuant to the prices, terms, and 
conditions of its tariffs approved by the State Corporation 
Commission, service to all customers that do not select a 
competitive service provider and to customers that chose a 
competitive service provider but whose service is terminated 
for any reason.  

F. A competitive service provider selling electricity supply 
service or natural gas supply service, or both, at retail shall:  

1. Procure sufficient electric generation and transmission 
service or sufficient natural gas supply and delivery 
capability, or both, to serve the requirements of its firm 
customers. 

2. Abide by any applicable regulation or procedure of any 
institution charged with ensuring the reliability of the 
electric or natural gas systems, including the State 
Corporation Commission, the North American Electric 
Reliability Council Corporation, and the Federal Energy 
Regulatory Commission, or any successor agencies thereto.  

3. Comply with any obligations that the State Corporation 
Commission may impose to ensure access to sufficient 
availability of capacity.  

G. The local distribution company and a competitive service 
provider shall not:  

1. Suggest that the services provided by the local 
distribution company are of any different quality when 
competitive energy services are purchased from a 
particular competitive service provider; or  

2. Suggest that the competitive energy services provided 
by a competitive service provider are being provided by 
the local distribution company rather than the competitive 
service provider.  

H. The local distribution company shall conduct its 
forecasting, scheduling, balancing, and settlement activities in 
a nondiscriminatory and reasonably transparent manner.  

I. The local distribution company or competitive service 
provider shall bear the responsibility for metering as provided 
by legislation and implemented by the State Corporation 
Commission.  

J. The local distribution company and a competitive service 
provider, shall coordinate their customer communication 
activities with the State Corporation Commission's statewide 
consumer education campaign.  

K. J. The local distribution company and a competitive 
service provider shall adhere to standard practices for 
exchanging data and information in an electronic medium as 
specified by the VAEDT and filed with the State Corporation 
Commission or as otherwise provided by the local 
distribution company's tariff approved by the State 
Corporation Commission. In the event the parties agree to 
initially use a means other than those specified by VAEDT or 
the local distribution company's tariff, then the competitive 
service provider shall file a plan with the State Corporation 
Commission's Division of Economics and Finance to 
implement VAEDT or tariff approved standards within 180 
days of the initial retail offering.  

L. K. The local distribution company and a competitive 
service provider that is responsible for exchanging customer 
information electronically with such local distribution 
company shall, except as otherwise provided by the local 
distribution company's tariff approved by the State 
Corporation Commission, successfully complete EDI testing 
and receive certification for all EDI transactions, as outlined 
in the VAEDT EDI Test Plan, prior to actively enrolling 
customers, except as permitted by subsection K of this 
section.  

M. L. A competitive service provider offering billing service 
that requires the direct delivery of a bill to a customer and 
that requires the electronic exchange of data with the local 
distribution company shall furnish, prior to enrolling the 
customer, a sample bill produced from the data exchanged in 
the EDI certification process, or comparable electronic data 
exchange process, as described in subsection L of this section, 
or a sample bill produced similarly elsewhere, to the State 
Corporation Commission's Division of Energy Regulation 
and Division of Economics and Finance.  

N. The M. Upon enrollment of a customer to receive 
competitive supply service, the local distribution company 
shall file with the State Corporation Commission's Division 
of Energy Regulation and Division of Economics and Finance 
a monthly report which shall, at a minimum, include all 
cancellation requests alleging a customer was enrolled 
without authorization. Such reports shall include: (i) the 
approximate date of the enrollment; (ii) the identity of the 
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competitive service provider involved; (iii) the name and 
address of the customer that cancelled such enrollment; and 
(iv) if readily available, a brief statement regarding the 
customer's explanation for the cancellation. Such reports shall 
be reviewed by commission staff and regarded as confidential 
unless and until the State Corporation Commission orders 
otherwise.  

O. The N. Upon enrollment of a customer to receive 
competitive supply service, the local distribution company 
shall file with the State Corporation Commission's Division 
of Economics and Finance a quarterly report providing a 
detailed breakdown of residential and nonresidential customer 
switching activity. Such reports shall include, for the local 
distribution company, the total number of customers and 
corresponding amount of load eligible to switch; and, for each 
competitive service provider, the total number of customers 
and corresponding amount of load served. The amount of 
load shall be measured in MW [ , Mcf, ] or dekatherm 
capacity of peak load contribution and in kWh [ , Mcf, ] or 
therms of associated energy. Such reports shall be reviewed 
by commission staff and information specific to individual 
competitive service providers shall be regarded as 
confidential unless and until the State Corporation 
Commission orders otherwise.  

P. O. By March 31 of each year, the provider of electricity 
supply service shall report to its customers and file a report 
with the State Corporation Commission stating to the extent 
feasible, fuel mix and emissions data for the prior calendar 
year. If such data is unavailable, the provider of electricity 
supply service shall file a report with the State Corporation 
Commission stating why it is not feasible to submit any 
portion of such data.  

Q. P. A competitive service provider shall file a report with 
the State Corporation Commission by March 31 of each year 
to update all information required in the original application 
for licensure. A $100 administrative fee payable to the State 
Corporation Commission shall accompany this report.  

R. Q. A competitive service provider shall inform the State 
Corporation Commission within 30 days of the following: (i) 
any change in its name, address and telephone numbers; (ii) 
any change in information regarding its affiliate status with 
the local distribution company; (iii) any changes to 
information provided pursuant to 20VAC5-312-40 A 13; and 
(iv) any changes to information provided pursuant to 
20VAC5-312-40 A 15.  

S. R. If a filing with the State Corporation Commission, 
made pursuant to this chapter, contains information that the 
local distribution company or a competitive service provider 
claims to be confidential, the filing may be made under seal 
provided it is accompanied by both a motion for protective 
order or other confidential treatment and an additional five 
copies of a redacted version of the filing to be available for 
public disclosure. Unredacted filings containing the 

confidential information shall be maintained under seal unless 
the State Corporation Commission orders otherwise, except 
that such filings shall be immediately available to the 
commission staff for internal use at the commission. Filings 
containing confidential or redacted information shall be so 
stated on the cover of the filing, and the precise portions of 
the filing containing such confidential or redacted 
information, including supporting material, shall be clearly 
marked within the filing.  

20VAC5-312-60. Customer information. 

A. A competitive service provider shall adequately 
safeguard all customer information and shall not disclose 
such information unless the customer authorizes disclosure or 
unless the information to be disclosed is already in the public 
domain. This provision, however, shall not restrict the 
disclosure of credit and payment information as currently 
permitted by federal and state statutes. 

B. The local distribution company shall provide, upon the 
request of a competitive service provider, a mass list of 
eligible customers. A competitive service provider shall 
adequately safeguard all of the information included on the 
mass list and shall not disclose such information unless the 
customer authorizes disclosure or unless the information to be 
disclosed is already in the public domain. 

1. The mass list shall include the following customer 
information: (i) customer name; (ii) service address; (iii) 
billing address; (iv) either an account number, a service 
delivery point, or universal identifier, as applicable; (v) 
meter reading date or cycle; (vi) wholesale delivery point, 
if applicable; (vii) rate class and subclass or rider, as 
applicable; (viii) load profile reference category, if not 
based on rate class; and (ix) up to twelve months of 
cumulative historic energy usage and annual peak demand 
information as available.  

2. Prior to disclosing any information on the mass list, the 
local distribution company shall provide each customer the 
opportunity to have the information itemized in 
subdivision 1 of this subsection withheld, in total, from the 
mass list.  

3. The local distribution company shall make the mass list 
available two months prior to implementation of full or 
phased-in retail access and shall update or replace the list 
every six months thereafter annually. Prior to each update, 
each customer shall be provided an opportunity to reverse 
the prior decision regarding the disclosure of the 
information included on the mass list.  

4. The local distribution company shall prepare and make 
available the mass list by means specified by the VAEDT 
or as otherwise provided by the local distribution 
company's tariff approved by the State Corporation 
Commission.  
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C. A competitive service provider choosing to utilize the 
mass list shall use the most recent mass list made available by 
the local distribution company.  

D. A competitive service provider shall obtain customer 
authorization prior to requesting any customer usage 
information not included on the mass list from the local 
distribution company. A competitive service provider shall 
provide evidence of such authorization, in the manner 
required to demonstrate authorization to enroll a customer in 
20VAC5-312-80 B, upon request by the customer or the State 
Corporation Commission. 

20VAC5-312-80. Enrollment and switching.  

A. A competitive service provider may offer to enroll a 
customer upon: (i) receiving a license from the State 
Corporation Commission; (ii) receiving EDI certification as 
required from the VAEDT or completing other data exchange 
testing requirements as provided by the local distribution 
company's tariff approved by the State Corporation 
Commission, including the subsequent provision of a sample 
bill as required by 20VAC5-312-20 M L ; and (iii) 
completing registration with the local distribution company.  

B. A competitive service provider may enroll, or modify the 
services provided to, a customer only after the customer has 
affirmatively authorized such enrollment or modification. A 
competitive service provider shall maintain adequate records 
allowing it to verify a customer's enrollment authorization. 
Examples of adequate records of enrollment authorization 
include: (i) a written contract signed by the customer; (ii) a 
written statement by an independent third party that witnessed 
or heard the customer's verbal commitments; (iii) a recording 
of the customer's verbal commitment; or (iv) electronic data 
exchange, including the Internet, provided that the 
competitive service provider can show that the electronic 
transmittal of a customer's authorization originated with the 
customer. Such authorization records shall contain the 
customer's name and address; the date the authorization was 
obtained; the name of the product, pricing plan, or service 
that is being subscribed; and acknowledgment of any 
switching fees, minimum contract terms or usage 
requirements, or cancellation fees. Such authorization records 
shall be retained for at least 12 months after enrollment and 
shall be provided within five business days upon request by 
the customer or the State Corporation Commission.  

C. A competitive service provider shall send a written 
contract to a customer prior to, or contemporaneously with, 
sending the enrollment request to the local distribution 
company.  

D. Upon a customer's request, a competitive service provider 
may re-enroll such customer at a new address under the 
existing contract, without acquiring new authorization 
records, if the competitive service provider is licensed to 

provide service to the customer's new address and is 
registered with the local distribution company.  

E. The local distribution company shall advise [ a customer 
eligible customers ] initiating new service of the customer's 
right and opportunity to choose a competitive service 
provider.  

F. In the event that multiple enrollment requests are 
submitted regarding the same customer within the same 
enrollment period, the local distribution company shall 
process the first one submitted and reject all others for the 
same enrollment period.  

G. Except as otherwise provided by the local distribution 
company's tariff approved by the State Corporation 
Commission, the competitive service provider shall submit an 
enrollment request to the local distribution company at least 
15 days prior to the customer's next scheduled meter reading 
date for service to be effective on that meter reading date. For 
an enrollment request received less than 15 days prior to the 
customer's next scheduled meter reading date, service shall be 
effective on the customer's subsequent meter reading date, 
except as provided by subsection H of this section.  

H. A competitive service provider may request, pursuant to 
the local distribution company's tariff, a special meter 
reading, in which case the enrollment may become effective 
on the date of the special meter reading. The local distribution 
company shall perform the requested special meter reading as 
promptly as working conditions permit.  

I. Upon receipt of an enrollment request from a competitive 
service provider, the local distribution company shall, 
normally within one business day of receipt of such notice, 
mail notification to the customer advising of the enrollment 
request, the approximate date that the competitive service 
provider's service commences, and the caption and statement 
as to cancellation required by 20VAC5-312-70 C 8. The 
customer shall have until the close of business on the tenth 
day following the mailing of such notification to advise the 
local distribution company to cancel such enrollment without 
penalty.  

J. In the event a competitive service provider receives a 
cancellation request within the cancellation period provided 
by 20VAC5-312-70 C 8 or 20VAC5-312-70 D, it shall notify, 
by any means specified by the VAEDT or as otherwise 
provided by the local distribution company's tariff approved 
by the State Corporation Commission, the local distribution 
company of the customer's cancellation in order to terminate 
the enrollment process.  

K. In the event the local distribution company receives 
notice of a cancellation request from a competitive service 
provider or a customer within the cancellation period 
provided by 20VAC5-312-70 C 8 or 20VAC5-312-70 D, the 
local distribution company shall terminate the enrollment 
process by any means specified by the VAEDT or as 
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otherwise provided by the local distribution company's tariff 
approved by the State Corporation Commission.  

L. In the event a customer terminates a contract beyond the 
cancellation period as provided by 20VAC5-312-70 C 8 and 
20VAC5-312-70 D, the competitive service provider or the 
local distribution company shall provide notice of termination 
to the other party by any means specified by the VAEDT or 
as otherwise provided by the local distribution company's 
tariff approved by the State Corporation Commission.  

M. If a competitive service provider terminates an individual 
contract for any reason, including expiration of the contract, 
the competitive service provider shall provide notice of 
termination to the local distribution company by any means 
specified by the VAEDT or as otherwise provided by the 
local distribution company's tariff approved by the State 
Corporation Commission and also shall send written 
notification of such termination, for reasons other than 
nonpayment, to the customer at least 30 days prior to the date 
that service to the customer is scheduled to terminate. A 
competitive service provider shall send written notification to 
the customer for termination for nonpayment at least 15 days 
prior to the date that service to such customer is scheduled to 
terminate.  

N. If the local distribution company is notified by a 
competitive service provider that the competitive service 
provider will terminate service to a customer, the local 
distribution company shall respond to the competitive service 
provider by any means specified by the VAEDT or as 
otherwise provided by the local distribution company's tariff 
approved by the State Corporation Commission to 
acknowledge (i) receipt of the competitive service provider's 
notice, and (ii) the date that the competitive service provider's 
service to the customer is scheduled to terminate. 
Additionally, the local distribution company shall send 
written notification to the customer, normally within five 
business days, that it was so informed and describe the 
customer's opportunity to select a new supplier. Absent the 
designation of a default service provider as determined by the 
State Corporation Commission pursuant to § 56-585 of the 
Code of Virginia, the The local distribution company shall 
inform the affected customer that if the customer does not 
select another competitive service provider, the local 
distribution company shall provide the customer's electricity 
supply service or natural gas supply service pursuant to the 
prices, terms, and conditions of its tariffs approved by the 
State Corporation Commission.  

O. If a competitive service provider decides to terminate 
service to a customer class or to abandon service within the 
Commonwealth, the competitive service provider shall 
provide at least 60 days advanced written notice to the local 
distribution company, to the affected customers, and to the 
State Corporation Commission.  

P. If the local distribution company issues a final bill to a 
customer, the local distribution company shall notify, by any 
means specified by the VAEDT or as otherwise provided in 
the local distribution company's tariff approved by the State 
Corporation Commission, the customer's competitive service 
provider.  

Q. The [ If the local distribution company does not offer an 
approved tariff for electric energy provided 100% from 
renewable energy pursuant to § 56-577 A 5 of the Code of 
Virginia, the The ] local distribution company may require a 
12-month minimum stay period for electricity customers with 
an annual peak demand of 500 kW or greater. [ Electricity If 
the local distribution company does not offer an approved 
tariff for electric energy provided 100% from renewable 
energy pursuant to § 56-577 A 5 of the Code of Virginia, 
such electricity ] customers that return to capped rate service 
provided by the local distribution company as a result of a 
competitive service provider's abandonment of service in the 
Commonwealth may choose another competitive service 
provider at any time without the requirement to remain for the 
minimum stay period of 12 months. For [ individual or 
aggregated ] customers greater than 5 MW and pursuant to § 
56-577 A 3 c of the Code of Virginia [ , an such ] electricity 
[ customer customers ] choosing to purchase supply service 
from a licensed supplier after December 31, 2008, may return 
to service provided by the local distribution company upon 
five years' written notice and at the prices, terms, and 
conditions of the tariffs approved by the State Corporation 
Commission. Alternatively, such [ an ] electricity [ customer 
customers ] may seek an exemption from the State 
Corporation Commission to provide less than five years' 
notice and, if such exemption is granted, return to service 
provided by the local distribution company at prices based on 
market-based costs pursuant to § 56-577 A 3 d [ of the Code 
of Virginia ]. 

R. The local distribution company may, upon a proper 
showing with evidence acquired by actual experience, apply 
for approval from the State Corporation Commission to 
implement alternative minimum stay period requirements. If 
the applicant proposes to lower the applicability limit below 
500 kW, such application shall include at a minimum, the 
detailed information prescribed by the State Corporation 
Commission in the text of its Final Order in Case No. 
PUE010296, or as may be revised in a subsequent order.  

S. The local distribution company electing to implement a 
minimum-stay period in conformance with this chapter shall 
notify, in writing, applicable customers at least 30 days in 
advance of such implementation date and within each 
subsequent notification letter as required by 20VAC5-312-80 
I. Electricity customers who have selected a competitive 
service provider prior to the local distribution company's 
notice of implementing a minimum-stay period will not be 
subject to the minimum stay period until such time as the 
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customer renews an existing contract or chooses a new 
competitive service provider.  

20VAC5-312-90. Billing and payment. 

A. A competitive service provider [ shall may ] offer 
separate billing service or consolidated billing service, where 
either the local distribution company or the competitive 
service provider would be the billing party, to prospective 
customers pursuant to § 56-581.1 of the Code of Virginia and 
the local distribution company's tariff approved by the State 
Corporation Commission. Where a competitive service 
provider would be the billing party, prior to an initial offering 
of consolidated billing service to customers within the service 
territory of each local distribution company, and after 
certification as required by 20VAC5-312-20 L K, the 
competitive service provider shall abide by the following 
requirements: 

1. The competitive service provider shall provide written 
notice, at least 30 days in advance, to the local distribution 
company and to the State Corporation Commission's 
Division of Energy Regulation and Division of Economics 
and Finance. The written notification to the Division of 
Energy Regulation and the Division of Economics and 
Finance shall include: 

a. The anticipated date of the initial consolidated billing 
service offering in each local distribution company 
service territory in which the service will be offered. 

b. Any changes in information provided by the 
competitive service provider in its original license 
application pursuant to 20VAC5-312-40 A that have not 
been reported to the State Corporation Commission 
pursuant to 20VAC5-312-20 Q P and 20VAC5-312-20 R 
Q. 

c. The expected maximum market penetration for the 
provision of consolidated billing service to electricity 
customers during the following 12 months, including the 
estimated number of customers and associated annual 
consumption by customer type or load profile 
classification. 

d. A representation that the electric competitive service 
provider has undertaken the necessary preliminary 
coordination efforts with tax officials of each potentially 
affected locality regarding the competitive service 
provider's obligation to collect and remit local 
consumption taxes and local utility consumer taxes. 

2. The competitive service provider shall establish such 
financial security as the State Corporation Commission 
may require for such competitive service provider's 
estimated liability associated with the collection and 
remittance of state, local, and special regulatory 
consumption taxes and local utility consumer taxes. 

B. Subject to the exemptions applicable to municipal electric 
utilities and utility consumer service cooperatives set forth in 
§ 56-581.1 J of the Code of Virginia, a competitive service 
provider shall coordinate the provision of the customer-
selected billing service with the local distribution company by 
any means specified by VAEDT or as otherwise provided by 
the local distribution company's tariff approved by the State 
Corporation Commission. 

C. Consolidated billing, except as otherwise arranged 
through contractual agreement between the local distribution 
company and a competitive service provider or as otherwise 
provided by the local distribution company's tariff approved 
by the State Corporation Commission, shall: 

1. Be performed under a "bill-ready" protocol. 

2. Not require the billing party to purchase the accounts 
receivable of the nonbilling party. 

3. Not require the electric local distribution company to 
include natural gas competitive energy service charges on a 
consolidated bill or the natural gas local distribution 
company to include electric competitive energy service 
charges on a consolidated bill. 

4. Not require the local distribution company to exchange 
billing information for any customer account with more 
than one competitive service provider for the same billing 
period. 

5. Comply with the local distribution company's normal 
billing and credit cycle requirements for distribution 
service. 

D. In the event a competitive service provider collects 
security deposits or prepayments, such funds shall be held in 
escrow by a third party in Virginia, and the competitive 
service provider shall provide to the State Corporation 
Commission the name and address of the entity holding such 
deposits or prepayments. 

E. A competitive service provider requiring a deposit or 
prepayment from a customer shall limit the amount of the 
deposit or prepayment to the equivalent of a customer's 
estimated liability for no more than three months' usage of 
services from the competitive service provider by that 
customer. 

F. Customer deposits held or collected by a local distribution 
company shall be for only those services provided by the 
local distribution company. Any deposit held in excess of this 
amount shall be promptly credited or refunded to the 
customer. The local distribution company may, upon a 
customer's return to regulated electricity supply service or 
natural gas supply service, collect that portion of a customer 
deposit as permitted by the local distribution company's 
tariffs and 20VAC5-10-20. 
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G. Terms and conditions concerning customer disconnection 
for nonpayment of regulated service charges shall be set forth 
in each local distribution company's tariff approved by the 
State Corporation Commission. A customer may not be 
disconnected for nonpayment of unregulated service charges. 
If a customer receives consolidated billing service and a 
competitive service provider is the billing party, the local 
distribution company shall advise the customer directly of 
any pending disconnection action for nonpayment through 10 
days' notice by mail, separate from the consolidated bill. Such 
notice shall clearly identify the amount that must be paid and 
the date by which such amount must be received by, and also 
provide instructions for direct payment to, the local 
distribution company to avoid disconnection. 

H. The provision of consolidated billing service shall 
conform to the following requirements: 

1. The billing party shall apply a customer's partial 
payment of a consolidated bill as designated by the 
customer, or, in the absence of a customer's designation, to 
charges in the following order: (i) to regulated service 
arrearages owed the local distribution company; (ii) to 
competitive energy service arrearages owed the 
competitive service provider; (iii) to regulated service 
current charges of the local distribution company; (iv) to 
competitive energy service current charges of the 
competitive service provider; and (v) to other charges. 

2. Collections of state and local consumption taxes and 
local utility consumer taxes shall be remitted as required 
by law. The person responsible for collecting and remitting 
such taxes shall: 

a. Submit simultaneously, on or before the last day of the 
succeeding month of collection to the State Corporation 
Commission's Division of Public Service Taxation, the 
payment of the preceding month's state and special 
regulatory consumption taxes and associated Electric 
Utility or Natural Gas Consumption Tax Monthly Report.  

b. Submit simultaneously, in accordance with the Code 
of Virginia and local ordinance, to each local government 
in whose jurisdiction the taxes have been collected, the 
payment of local consumption taxes and local utility 
consumer taxes and associated tax remittance reports. 

I. The local distribution company and a competitive service 
provider shall comply with the following minimum billing 
information standards applicable to all customer bills: 

1. Sufficient information shall be provided or referenced 
on the bill so that a customer can understand and calculate 
the billing charges. 

2. Charges for regulated services and unregulated services 
shall be clearly distinguished. 

3. Standard terminology shall be employed and charges 
shall be categorized for the following key bill components, 

as applicable: (i) distribution service; (ii) competitive 
transition charge; (iii) electricity supply service or natural 
gas supply service; (iv) (iii) state and local consumption 
tax; and (v) (iv) local (or locality name) utility tax. The bill 
may provide further detail of each of these key components 
as appropriate. 

4. Nonroutine charges and fees shall be itemized including 
late payment charges and deposit collections. 

5. The total bill amount due and date by which payment 
must be received to avoid late payment charges shall be 
clearly identified. 

6. The 24-hour toll-free telephone number of the local 
distribution company for service emergencies shall be 
clearly identified. 

7. In the event a disconnection notice for nonpayment is 
included on a customer bill issued by the local distribution 
company, the notice shall appear on the first page of the 
bill and be emphasized in a manner that draws immediate 
attention to such notice. The notice shall clearly identify 
the amount that must be paid and the date by which such 
amount must be paid to avoid disconnection. 

8. The following additional information shall be provided 
on customer bills to the extent applicable: 

a. Customer name, service address, billing address, 
account number, rate schedule identifier, and meter 
identification number. 

b. Billing party name, payment address, and toll-free 
telephone number for customer inquiries and complaints. 

c. For consolidated bills, nonbilling party name and toll-
free telephone number for customer inquiries and 
complaints and the customer's local distribution company 
account number. 

d. Bill issue date and notice of change in rates. 

e. Previous and current meter readings and dates of such 
meter readings or metering period days, current period 
energy consumption, meter reading unit conversion 
factor, billing-demand information, and "estimated" 
indicator for non-actual meter reads. 

f. Previous bill amount or account balance, payments 
received since previous billing, balance forward, current 
charges, total amount due or current account balance, and 
payment plan information. 

g. For consolidated bills, billing party and nonbilling 
party elements as specified in subdivision 8 f of this 
subsection. 

J. The local distribution company shall comply with the 
following additional billing information standards applicable 
to the bills of customers that are not subject to demand-based 
billing charges and that purchase regulated electricity supply 
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service or regulated natural gas supply service from the local 
distribution company: 

1. The local distribution company shall employ standard 
terminology and categorize charges for the following key 
billing components: (i) distribution service; (ii) electricity 
supply service or natural gas supply service; (iii) state and 
local consumption tax; and (iv) local (or locality name) 
utility tax. Brief explanations of distribution service and 
electricity supply service or natural gas supply service shall 
be presented on the bill. Such explanations shall convey 
that distribution service is a regulated service that must be 
purchased from the local distribution company and that 
electricity supply service or natural gas supply service may 
be purchased from the competitive market but, if 
applicable, may result in a competitive transition charge; 

2. The local distribution company shall provide on 
customer bills a customer's monthly energy consumption, 
numerically or graphically, for the previous 12 months; 
and 

3. The investor-owned electric local distribution company 
shall provide on each bill a "price-to-compare" value, 
stated in cents per kilowatt-hour, representing the cost of 
regulated electricity supply service [ less the competitive 
transition charge, if any, ] that would be applicable if such 
service were purchased from a competitive service 
provider. The appropriate use and limitations of such 
"price-to-compare" value shall be stated on the bill. 

K. The local distribution company shall develop and 
implement a program to provide "price-to-compare" 
information and assistance to customers. [ The local 
distribution company shall provide a program plan to the 
State Corporation Commission's Division of Energy 
Regulation at least 90 days prior to the implementation of full 
or phased-in retail access. ] Such a program shall ensure that 
customers will be provided meaningful information for 
evaluating competitive offers of electricity supply service or 
natural gas supply service. At a minimum, the program shall 
include a mechanism for providing, or making readily 
accessible, customer-specific "price-to-compare" information, 
including explanations of its appropriate use and limitations 
and, if applicable, the relationship between the regulated 
electricity supply charge, the competitive transition charge, 
and the "price-to-compare.". 

L. The billing party shall, except as otherwise arranged 
through contractual agreement with the nonbilling party, 
provide sufficient space on a consolidated bill to 
accommodate the local distribution company's customer 
account number and the nonbilling party's name and toll-free 
telephone number, previous bill amount or account balance, 
payments applied since the previous billing, balance forward, 
total current charges, total amount due or current account 
balance, six additional numeric fields to detail current 
charges, and 240 additional text characters. 

M. If the local distribution company, as the billing party, 
provides consolidated billing service to a customer and 
continues to be the customer's billing party after the 
customer's service with a competitive service provider 
terminates, the local distribution company shall, except as 
otherwise arranged through contractual agreement with such 
competitive service provider, continue to track and bill 
customer account arrearages owed to such competitive 
service provider for two billing cycles after service has 
terminated. The bill shall list, at a minimum, the name, toll-
free telephone number, and balance due for each former 
competitive service provider. 

N. If the current charges of the nonbilling party are not 
included on the consolidated bill issued by the billing party, 
the bill shall note that such charges are not included. 

O. If the current charges of the nonbilling party are not 
included on the consolidated bill issued by the billing party 
due to causes attributable to the nonbilling party, the charges 
shall be billed in the following month unless the two parties 
mutually agree to other arrangements. 

P. If the current charges of the nonbilling party are not 
included on the consolidated bill issued by the billing party 
due to causes attributable to the billing party, the bill shall be 
cancelled and reissued to include such charges unless the two 
parties mutually agree to other arrangements. 

Q. The local distribution company or a competitive service 
provider shall report any significant deficiency regarding the 
timely issuance, accuracy, or completeness of customer bills 
to the State Corporation Commission's Division of Energy 
Regulation as soon as practicable. Such reports shall detail 
the circumstances surrounding the deficiency and the planned 
corrective actions. 

R. If the local distribution company has an approved tariff 
for electric energy provided 100% from renewable energy 
pursuant to § 56-577 A 5 of the Code of Virginia, the 
provisions of [ subsections A through Q of ] this section shall 
not be applicable. Instead, an electric distribution company 
and an electric competitive service provider shall only offer 
separate billing service where both would be the billing party 
for the respective services to prospective customers pursuant 
to the local distribution company's tariff approved by the 
State Corporation Commission. 

20VAC5-312-120. Electricity metering. (Repealed.) 

A. If the local distribution company provides interval 
metering as a customer's basic metering service in accordance 
with its applicable tariff, interval metering of that customer's 
load shall continue to be required if the customer purchases 
electricity supply service from a competitive service provider. 
Unless other arrangements are agreed upon between the local 
distribution company and the customer, the local distribution 
company may remove the interval meter if the customer's 
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load deteriorates below previously established interval 
metering thresholds.  

B. Upon a customer's request, the local distribution company 
shall provide interval metering service to the customer at the 
net incremental cost above the basic metering service 
provided by the local distribution company. The local 
distribution company shall reply to the customer in writing 
within five business days of the request for interval metering 
service, acknowledging receipt of the request, explaining the 
process, and identifying the prerequisites for commencing 
and completing the work. Once the customer has completed 
the applicable prerequisites, the local distribution company 
shall complete the work within 45 calendar days, or as 
promptly as working conditions permit.  

C. The local distribution company shall offer each of the 
following interval metering service options to customers or 
their authorized competitive service provider to access 
unedited interval data from the local distribution company's 
interval metering equipment and consistent with the local 
distribution company's communication protocol: (i) read-only 
electronic access to the interval billing meter, (ii) receipt of a 
stream of data pulses proportional to energy usage, and (iii) 
both of the foregoing.  

D. As a component of interval metering service, the local 
distribution company shall read interval meters at a frequency 
in accordance with its applicable terms and conditions and 
shall store interval meter data at intervals compatible with 
wholesale load settlement requirements. Interval meter data 
may be estimated on occasion as necessary. The local 
distribution company shall make available to customers or 
their authorized competitive service provider 12 months of 
historical edited interval data through electronic 
communication medium unless otherwise requested by mail, 
as mutually agreed.  

E. The local distribution company shall respond to requests 
from customers or their authorized competitive service 
provider to evaluate special metering functionality that may 
not be provided normally under the local distribution 
company's tariff but that is determined by the local 
distribution company to be within the capability of its interval 
metering equipment. The local distribution company shall 
acknowledge receipt of the requests in writing within five 
business days, indicating that the net incremental cost, 
prerequisites and process for providing the special metering 
functionality will be submitted in writing within 30 days. 
Once the customer has completed the applicable 
prerequisites, the local distribution company shall provide the 
special metering functionality within 45 calendar days, or as 
promptly as working conditions permit.  

F. The local distribution company shall install and maintain 
meters owned by large industrial customers and large 
commercial customers if the meter is determined to be 
consistent with the local distribution company's billing and 

metering systems and communication protocol. Ownership 
shall apply to the meter as defined by a line of demarcation 
specified in the local distribution company tariff approved by 
the State Corporation Commission.  

G. Upon a customer's request to own a meter in accordance 
with subsection F of this section, the local distribution 
company shall reply to the customer in writing within 10 days 
of the request, acknowledging receipt of the request, 
explaining the process, and identifying the prerequisites for 
commencing and completing the work. The local distribution 
company shall also explain its policies with respect to 
replacement of defective meters. Once the customer has 
completed the applicable prerequisites, the local distribution 
company shall complete the work within 45 days, or as 
promptly as working conditions permit.  

H. Upon the installation of a meter owned by a customer in 
accordance with subsections F and G of this section, the local 
distribution company shall continue to have full access to the 
meter and shall continue to perform its normal obligations 
including but not limited to testing, replacement, customer 
accounting, reading and data management. In accordance 
with subsection C of this section, the local distribution 
company shall provide customers or their authorized 
competitive service provider with read-only electronic access 
to the meter.  

20VAC5-313-10. Applicability. 

A. The existing Rules Governing Retail Access to 
Competitive Energy Services (20VAC5-312) remain 
enforceable unless further qualified by the following 
additional rules. 

B. These transitory regulations are promulgated pursuant to 
the amended provisions of the Virginia Electric Utility 
Restructuring Act (§§ 56-577 E and 56-583 of the Code of 
Virginia). This chapter applies to suppliers of electric services 
including investor-owned local distribution companies and 
competitive service providers, and are in addition to the 
existing rules of 20VAC5-312. The provisions in this chapter 
shall be applicable to the provision of generation service to 
the qualifying customers electing exemption to the current 
minimum stay provisions or to payment of the current wires 
charges. Rules applicable to the minimum stay exemption 
program shall remain in force until the termination of capped 
rates as provided under statute or State Corporation 
Commission order. Rules applicable to the offering of the 
wires charges exemption program shall remain in force until 
the earlier of July 1, 2007, or the termination of any wires 
charges.  

[ 20VAC5-313-20. Exemption to minimum stay 
provisions.  

A. This section applies to an investor-owned electric local 
distribution company imposing minimum stay provisions on 
certain customers as applicable under 20VAC5-312-80 Q and 
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20VAC5-312-80 R and to competitive service providers 
serving such customers.  

B. An investor-owned electric local distribution company 
shall offer any customer with an annual peak demand of 500 
kW or greater that returns to the service of the local 
distribution company the option to accept the service at 
pursuant to the  established capped rates prices, terms, and 
conditions of its tariffs approved by the State Corporation 
Commission and abide by the current minimum stay 
requirements or to accept the service at market-based costs 
without the obligation of a minimum stay requirement.  

C. The investor-owned electric local distribution company 
shall provide written notice, in a clear and conspicuous 
manner, as approved by the staff of the State Corporation 
Commission to qualified customers of the options identified 
in subsection B of this section. In addition, the investor-
owned local distribution company shall supplement such 
written notice by providing information on its website, as 
approved by the staff of the State Corporation Commission, 
detailing the options identified in subsection B of this section.  

D. The investor-owned local distribution company's 
notification to the customer advising that it has received a 
cancellation notice from the customer's competitive service 
provider, as required by 20VAC5-312-80 N, shall also in a 
clear and conspicuous manner, as approved by the staff of the 
State Corporation Commission, advise the customer of the 
options identified in subsection B of this section.  

E. The investor-owned electric local distribution company 
shall employ the methodology to determine its market-based 
costs as provided in 20VAC5-313-40 and approved by the 
State Corporation Commission in Case No. PUE-2004-00068 
for any customer electing such option and subsequently 
returning to the local distribution company.  

F. The investor-owned electric local distribution company 
shall submit a tariff containing the market-based prices 
determined in subsection E of this section to the State 
Corporation Commission for approval prior to implementing 
such prices. ] 

20VAC5-313-30. Exemption to wires charges. (Repealed.) 

A. This section applies to an investor-owned electric local 
distribution company imposing wires charges on its 
customers, except those customers participating in pilot 
programs approved by the State Corporation Commission in 
Case No. PUE-2003-00118, and to competitive service 
providers serving such customers.  

B. The investor-owned electric local distribution company 
shall offer large industrial customers or large commercial 
customers, as well as any group of customers of any rate class 
aggregated together, subject to the participation limits of 
subsection I of this section, and upon the customer's notice to 
participate at least 60 days in advance, the option to purchase 

retail electric energy from licensed competitive service 
providers without the obligation to pay any wires charges 
imposed by the utility in exchange for the customers' 
agreement to pay market-based costs upon any subsequent 
return to service of the local distribution company.  

C. The investor-owned electric local distribution company 
shall provide written notice, in a clear and conspicuous 
manner, as approved by the staff of the State Corporation 
Commission, to qualified customers of the options identified 
in subsection B of this section and associated risks, 
particularly the customer's inability to ever return to service 
of the local distribution company at capped rates. In addition, 
the investor-owned local distribution company shall 
supplement such written notice by providing information on 
its website, as approved by the staff of the State Corporation 
Commission, detailing the options identified in subsection B 
of this section.  

D. The investor-owned electric local distribution company 
shall employ the methodology to determine its market-based 
costs as provided in 20VAC5-313-40 and approved by the 
State Corporation Commission in Case No. PUE-2004-00068 
for any customer electing such option and subsequently 
returning to the local distribution company.  

E. An aggregator electing to serve a group of electric 
customers and acting on behalf of each customer and electing 
the option offered through subsection B of this section shall 
do so on behalf of its total aggregated load.  

F. A contract of an aggregator and a competitive service 
provider serving such qualified customers shall contain a 
clear and conspicuous caption: "Customer's Right to 
Exemption of Wires Charges," in bold face type of a 
minimum size of 10 points, disclosing any wires charges 
imposed by the local distribution company, including options 
to exempt such payment, and associated risks to exercise such 
options, including the inability to ever return to service of the 
local distribution company at capped rates.  

G. The investor-owned local distribution company's 
notification to the customer advising of an enrollment 
request, as required by 20VAC5-312-80 I, for customers 
electing to waive the wires charges, shall in a clear and 
conspicuous manner, as approved by the staff of the State 
Corporation Commission, state that the customer will not be 
required to pay wires charges, but that the customer will not 
ever return to service of the local distribution company at 
capped rates.  

H. The competitive service provider serving a customer that 
is not obligated to pay wires charges shall provide the 
investor-owned local distribution company 60 days notice 
prior to terminating service to such a customer.  

I. The election to be exempt from any wires charges is 
available to the first 1,000 MW or 8.0% of the investor-
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owned electric local distribution company's prior year 
Virginia adjusted peak-load.  

J. Such exemption provisions are enforceable until the 
earlier of July 1, 2007, or the termination of any imposed 
wires charges, while the inability to return to capped rate 
service remains indefinitely upon exercising this option.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1525; Filed December 1, 2008, 10:49 a.m.  

Reproposed Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 
of the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-314. Regulations Governing 
Interconnection of Small Electrical Generators (adding 
20VAC5-314-10 through 20VAC5-314-170). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 56-578 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: Public hearing will be held upon 
request. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on January 15, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Michael Martin, Senior Utilities Engineer, 
State Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, 
VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9336, FAX (804) 371-9350, 
or email mike.martin@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to § 56-578 A of the Virginia Electric Utility 
Restructuring Act, Chapter 23 (§ 56 576 et seq.) of Title 56 
of the Code of Virginia (Restructuring Act), all electric 
energy distributors have the obligation to connect any 
retail customer, including those using distributed 
generation, located within its service territory to the 
distributor's facilities used for delivery of retail electric 
energy, subject to State Corporation Commission 
(commission) rules and regulations and approved tariff 
provisions relating to connection of service. In accordance 
with § 56-578 C of the Restructuring Act, the commission 
proposed interconnection standards, not inconsistent with 
nationally recognized standards, to ensure transmission 
and distribution safety and reliability. Based upon 
comments received on the proposed interconnection 
standards published in the Virginia Register, the 
commission now directs that revisions to the proposed 
interconnection standards be made available for comment. 
These interconnection standards are now republished as 
reproposed regulations for further comment. 

The interconnection regulations establish standardized 
interconnection and operating requirements for the safe 
operation of electric generating facilities with a rated 
capacity of 20 MW or less connected to the distribution 
systems of electric utilities under the jurisdiction of the 
Virginia State Corporation Commission. These 
requirements apply to retail electric customers, 
independently owned generators or any other parties 
operating or intending to operate a distributed generation 
facility. The regulations establish three interconnection 
review paths for interconnection of customer-sited 
generation in Virginia - Level 1, Level 2 and Level 3. Level 
1 interconnections must include a request to interconnect a 
certified inverter-based generating facility no larger than 
500 kW. To qualify for a Level 2 interconnection request, 
the generating facility can be no larger than 2 MW and the 
proposed generator must meet certain specified codes, 
standards, and certification requirements. Level 3 
interconnection requests apply to generating facilities 
larger than 2 MW but no larger than 20 MW or a 
generating facility that does not pass the Level 1 or Level 2 
Process. The revised proposed interconnection regulations 
for distributed generation are intended to more clearly 
delineate the responsibility of each party under an 
interconnection agreement. The revisions also clearly 
identify the cost responsibility of each party while more 
clearly identifying what costs can be charged 
interconnection customers. Moreover, the revisions are 
intended to make the interconnection regulations more 
readable.  

AT RICHMOND, NOVEMBER 26, 2008 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. PUE-2008-00004 

Ex Parte: In the matter of establishing 
interconnection standards for distributed 
electric generation 

ORDER 

On February 26, 2008, the State Corporation Commission 
("Commission") issued an Order Establishing Proceeding in 
the above-captioned case to consider interconnection 
standards for distributed generation for the Commonwealth in 
accordance with § 56-578 A of the Virginia Electric Utility 
Restructuring Act, Chapter 23 (§ 56-576 et seq.) of Title 56 
of the Code of Virginia ("Code").  The Staff of the 
Commission developed proposed rules to meet the 
requirement of § 56-578 C of the Restructuring Act, 
Chapter 314, Regulations Governing Interconnection of 
Small Electrical Generators, and the Commission directed 
that notice be given to the public and invited comments on 
Staff's proposed rules. 
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Following comments filed on Staff's proposed rules,1 the 
Commission granted Staff leave to file a response to the 
comments filed.2 

On October 27, 2008, the Staff of the Commission filed its 
Motion for Leave to File ("Motion") requesting that it be 
granted leave to file its Staff Report, also filed on October 27, 
2008, one business day out of time.  The Staff Report 
includes revised rules in response to the comments filed. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered Staff's 
Motion, is of the opinion and finds that it should be granted.  
We further find that notice of Staff's revised rules, attached 
hereto as Appendix A, should be given to the public and that 
interested persons should have an opportunity to comment on 
Staff's revised rules (Appendix A). 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) Staff is hereby granted its Motion and the Staff 
Report filed on October 27, 2008, is hereby received into 
the record of this case. 

(2) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
shall forward a copy of this Order including Appendix A 
to the Registrar of Regulations for publication in the 
Virginia Register.  

(3) On or before January 15, 2009, interested persons 
may file an original and fifteen (15) copies of comments 
with Joel H. Peck, Clerk, State Corporation Commission, 
c/o Document Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, 
Richmond, Virginia 23218.  Comments shall refer to 
Case No. PUE-2008-00004 and address Staff's revised 
rules (Appendix A). 

(4) This matter shall remain open for further order of the 
Commission. 

Commissioner Dimitri did not participate in this matter. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 
the Commission to: T. Borden Ellis, Senior Attorney, Legal, 
NiSource Corporate Services Company, 1809 Coyote Drive, 
Chester, Virginia 23836; Noelle J. Coates, Esquire, Hunton & 
Williams LLP, Riverfront Plaza, East Tower, 951 East Byrd 
Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219-4074; Horace P. Payne, Jr., 
Esquire, Dominion Resources Services, Inc., 120 Tredegar 
Street, RS-2, Richmond, Virginia 23219; John A. Pirko, 
Esquire, LeClairRyan, P.C., 4201 Dominion Boulevard, 
Suite 200, Glen Allen, Virginia 23060; Charles E. Bayless, 
Esquire, Appalachian Power Company, P.O. Box 1986, 
Charleston, West Virginia 25327; Kevin Fox, Esquire, 
Keyes & Fox LLP, 5727 Keith Avenue, Oakland, California 
94618; C. Meade Browder, Jr., Senior Assistant Attorney 
General, Division of Consumer Counsel, Office of Attorney 
General, 900 East Main Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
Virginia 23219; and the Commission's Office of General 
Counsel and Divisions of Energy Regulation and Economics 
and Finance. 

_______________________________________ 
1 The Commission granted extensions for comments to be filed on May 15, 
2008, and August 28, 2008. 
2 Order issued August 28, 2008. The Staff was granted a filing extension to 
October 24, 2008, by Order Granting Extension to Staff issued September 24, 
2008. 

CHAPTER 314  
REGULATIONS GOVERNING INTERCONNECTION OF 

SMALL ELECTRICAL GENERATORS  

20VAC5-314-10. Applicability and scope. 

These regulations are promulgated pursuant to § 56-578 of 
the Virginia Electric Utility Restructuring Act (§ 56-576 et 
seq. of the Code of Virginia). They establish standardized 
interconnection and operating requirements for the safe 
operation of electric generating facilities with a rated capacity 
of 20 megawatts (MW) or less connected to [ distribution 
companies' electric utility ] distribution [ (and in certain cases 
transmission) ] systems in Virginia. These [ requirements 
regulations ] apply to retail electric customers, independently 
owned generators [ or and ] any other parties operating [ , ] or 
intending to operate [ , ] a distributed generation facility [ in 
parallel with a utility's system and to the utility ]. 
[ Interconnections These regulations do not apply to customer 
generators operating pursuant to the commission's 
Regulations Governing Net Energy Metering (20VAC5-315) 
or those ] that fall under the jurisdiction of the Federal Energy 
Regulatory Commission [ are not subject to these 
regulations ]. 

[ If the utility has turned over control of its transmission 
system to a Regional Transmission Entity (RTE), and if the 
small generator interconnection process identifies upgrades to 
the transmission system as necessary to interconnect the small 
generating facility, then the utility will coordinate with the 
RTE, and the procedures herein will be adjusted as necessary 
to satisfy the RTE's requirements with respect to such 
upgrades. ] 

There are three [ interconnection ] review paths for [ the ] 
interconnection of [ customer-sited ] generation in Virginia 
[ having an output of not more than 20 MW ]: 

Level 1 - A request to interconnect a [ certified inverter-
based ] small generating facility [ (SGF) ] no larger than 
500 kilowatts (kW) shall be evaluated under the Level 1 
process. 

Level 2 - A request to interconnect a certified [ small 
generating facility SGF no ] larger than [ 500 kW but no 
larger than ] 2 MW [ and not qualifying for the Level 1 
process ] shall be evaluated under the Level 2 process. 

Level 3 - A request to interconnect [ a small generating 
facility larger than 2 MW but an SGF ] no larger than 20 
MW [ or a small generating facility that does not pass and 
not qualifying for ] the Level 1 [ process ] or Level 2 
process, shall be evaluated under the Level 3 process. 
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[ An SGF proposed to be interconnected to a distribution 
feeder may be limited to a capacity substantially less than 20 
MW, depending upon the characteristics of that feeder and 
the potential for upgrading it, as well as the nature of the 
loads and other generation on the feeder relative to the 
proposed point of interconnection. ] 

The utility shall designate an employee or office from which 
[ the interconnection customer ("IC") may informally 
request ] information [ on concerning ] the application 
process [ can be obtained through informal requests from the 
interconnection customer presenting a proposed project for a 
specific site ]. The name, telephone number, and email 
address of such contact employee or office shall be made 
available on the utility's Internet web site. Electric system 
information [ for specific locations, feeders, or small areas 
relevant to the location of the proposed SGF ] shall be 
provided to the [ interconnection customer IC ] upon request 
and may include [ relevant system studies, ] interconnection 
studies [ , ] and [ any ] other [ relevant ] materials [ useful to 
an understanding of an interconnection at a particular point on 
the utility's system ], to the extent such provision does not 
violate confidentiality provisions of prior agreements or 
[ release ] critical infrastructure [ requirements information ]. 
The utility shall comply with reasonable requests for such 
information unless the information is proprietary or 
confidential and cannot be provided pursuant to a 
confidentiality agreement. 

The utility shall make reasonable efforts to meet all time 
frames provided in these [ procedures regulations ] unless the 
utility and the [ interconnection customer IC ] agree to a 
different schedule. If the utility cannot meet a deadline 
provided herein, it shall notify the [ interconnection customer 
IC ], explain the reason for the failure to meet the deadline, 
and provide an estimated time by which it will complete the 
applicable interconnection procedure in the process. 

20VAC5-314-20. Definitions. 

The following terms when used in this chapter shall have the 
following meaning unless the context clearly indicates 
otherwise: 

"Affected system" means an electric [ utility ] system other 
than [ that of ] the [ utility's distribution system utility ] that 
may be affected by the proposed interconnection. 

[ "Affected system operator" means an entity that operates 
an affected system or, if the affected system is under the 
operational control of an independent system operator or a 
regional transmission entity, such independent entity. 

"Applicable laws and regulations" means all duly 
promulgated applicable federal, state and local laws, 
regulations, rules, ordinances, codes, decrees, judgments, 
directives, or judicial or administrative orders, permits and 
other duly authorized actions of any government authority. 

"Attachment facilities" means the facilities and equipment 
owned, operated, and maintained by the utility that are built 
new in order to physically connect the customer's 
interconnection facilities to the utility system. Attachment 
facilities shall not include distribution upgrades or previously 
existing distribution and transmission facilities. ] 

"Business day" means Monday through Friday, excluding 
federal holidays. 

[ "Certified" has the meaning ascribed to it in Schedule 2 of 
this chapter. 

"Customer's interconnection facilities" means all of the 
facilities and equipment owned, operated and maintained by 
the interconnection customer, between the small generating 
facility and the point of interconnection necessary to 
physically and electrically interconnect the small generating 
facility to the utility system. ] 

"Commission" means the Virginia State Corporation 
Commission. 

[ "Distribution company" means the utility that owns and/or 
operates the distribution system located in Virginia to which 
the small generation facility proposes to interconnect its small 
generating facility. ] 

[ "Default" means the failure of a breaching party to cure its 
breach under the small generator interconnection agreement. ] 

"Distribution system" means [ a the ] utility's facilities and 
equipment generally delivering electricity to ultimate 
customers from substations supplied by higher voltages 
(usually at transmission level). For purposes of these 
[ interconnection rules regulations], all portions of the 
[ distribution company's utility's ] transmission system 
regulated by the commission for which interconnections are 
not within Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) 
jurisdiction are considered [ also ] to be [ part of subject to ] 
these interconnection [ rules regulations ]. 

"Distribution upgrades" means the additions, modifications, 
and upgrades to the utility's distribution system at or beyond 
the point of interconnection [ to facilitate necessary to abate 
problems on the utility's distribution system caused by the ] 
interconnection of the small generating facility [ and to render 
the service necessary to effect the interconnection customer's 
operation of on-site generation ]. Distribution upgrades do not 
include [ customer's ] interconnection facilities [ or 
attachment facilities ]. 

"Energy service provider" means any entity supplying 
electric energy [ service ] to the [ producer, either as tariffed, 
competitive, or default service pursuant to § 56-585 of the 
Code of Virginia interconnection customer ]. 

[ "Facilities study" has the meaning ascribed to it in 
20VAC5-314-70 E. 
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"Feasibility study" has the meaning ascribed to it in 
20VAC5-314-70 C. 

"FERC" means the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission. 

"Good Utility Practice" means any of the practices, methods 
and acts engaged in or approved by a significant portion of 
the electric industry during the relevant time period, or any of 
the practices, methods and acts which, in the exercise of 
reasonable judgment in light of the facts known at the time 
the decision was made, could have been expected to 
accomplish the desired result at a reasonable cost consistent 
with good business practices, reliability, safety and 
expedition. Good Utility Practice is not intended to be limited 
to the optimum practice, method, or act to the exclusion of all 
others, but rather to be acceptable practices, methods, or acts 
generally accepted in the region. 

"Governmental authority" means any federal, state, local or 
other governmental regulatory or administrative agency, 
court, commission, department, board, or other governmental 
subdivision, legislature, rulemaking board, tribunal, or other 
governmental authority having jurisdiction over the parties, 
their respective facilities, or the respective services they 
provide, and exercising or entitled to exercise any 
administrative, executive, police, or taxing authority or 
power; provided that such term does not include the 
interconnection customer, the utility or a utility affiliate. ] 

"Interconnection customer" or "IC" means any entity [ , 
including the utility, any affiliates or subsidiaries of either, ] 
proposing to interconnect a new small generating facility with 
the [ utility's utility ] system [ under this chapter ] . 

[ "Interconnection facilities" means the utility's 
interconnection facilities and the interconnection customer's 
interconnection facilities. Collectively, interconnection 
facilities include all facilities and equipment between the 
small generating facility and the point of interconnection, 
including any modification, additions or upgrades that are 
necessary to physically and electrically interconnect the small 
generating facility to the utility's distribution system. 
Interconnection facilities are sole use facilities and shall not 
include distribution upgrades. ] 

"Interconnection request" means the [ interconnection 
customer's IC's ] request, in accordance with the tariff, to 
interconnect a new small generating facility, or to increase the 
capacity of, or make a material modification to the operating 
characteristics of, an existing small generating facility that is 
interconnected with the [ utility's utility ] system. 

"Interconnection [ study studies ] " means the [ study that is 
undertaken studies conducted ] by the [ company utility ], or a 
[ mutually agreed upon ] third party agreed to by the 
[ company utility ] and the [ producer interconnection 
customer ], in order to determine the interaction of the small 
generating facility [ and with ] the [ distribution utility ] 
system [ , ] and [ the affected systems in order ] to specify any 

[ modification modifications ] to the small generating facility 
or the [ distribution system needed electric systems studied ] 
to ensure safe and reliable operation of the small generating 
facility in parallel with the [ distribution utility ] system.  

[ "Material modification" means a modification that has a 
material impact on the cost or timing of any interconnection 
request with a later queue priority date. 

"Operating requirements" means any operating and technical 
requirements that may be applicable due to regional 
transmission entity, independent system operator, control 
area, or the utility's requirements, including those set forth in 
the Small Generator Interconnection Agreement. ] 

"Party" or "parties" means the utility, interconnection 
customer, or [ any combination thereof both ]. 

"Point of interconnection" means the point where the 
[ customer's ] interconnection facilities connect [ with to ] the 
[ utility's utility ] system. 

[ "Producer" means a person operating a small generating 
facility interconnected to the distribution system of a utility 
for the purpose of parallel operation. 

"Regional Transmission Entity" or "RTE" means an entity 
having the management and control of a utility's transmission 
system as further set forth in § 56-579 of the Code of 
Virginia. ] 

"Small generating facility" [ or "generator" or "SGF" ] 
means the interconnection customer's [ device equipment ] for 
the production of electricity identified in the interconnection 
request [ , but shall not include the interconnection facilities 
not owned by the interconnection customer ]. 

[ "Study process" means the procedure for evaluating an 
interconnection request that includes the Level 3 scoping 
meeting, feasibility study, system impact study, and facilities 
study. 

"Small Generator Interconnection Agreement" or "SGIA" 
means the agreement between the utility and the 
interconnection customer as set forth in Schedule 6 of 
20VAC5-314-170. 

"Supplemental review" has the meaning ascribed to it in 
20VAC5-314-60 G. ] 

"System" [ or "utility system" ] means the [ distribution and 
transmission ] facilities owned, controlled, or operated by the 
utility that are used to [ provide electric service under the 
tariff deliver electricity ]. 

[ "System impact study" has the meaning ascribed to in 
20VAC5-314-70 E. ] 

"Tariff" means the rates, terms and conditions filed by the 
utility with the commission for the purpose of providing 
commission-regulated electric service to retail customers. 
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[ "Transmission system" means the utility's facilities and 
equipment delivering electric energy to the distribution 
system, such facilities being operated at voltages above the 
utility's typical distribution system voltages. ] 

"Utility" means the public utility company subject to 
regulation by the commission pursuant to Chapter 10 (§ 56-
232 et seq.) of Title 56 of the Code of Virginia with regard to 
rates and/or service quality [ to which the interconnection 
customer proposes to interconnect a small generating 
facility ]. 

20VAC5-314-30. Siting of distributed generation facilities. 

Prior to installing a small generating facility, the [ IC 
interconnection customer ] must ensure compliance with 
local, state and federal laws and regulations, including 
[ siting. If the producer has satisfied the requirements of this 
chapter and has submitted a copy of his interconnection 
notification form to the commission's Division of Energy 
Regulation, the statutory requirements of § 56-580 D all 
applicable easements and permits, and §§ 56-265.2 and 56-
580 ] of the Code of Virginia [ shall be deemed to have been 
met, as applicable ]. 

20VAC5-314-40. Level 1 interconnection process. 

[ A. ] The Level 1 interconnection [ path process ] is 
available to any [ IC interconnection customer ] proposing to 
interconnect a small generating facility with the [ utility's 
distribution utility ] system if the [ small generating facility 
SGF ] is no larger than 500 kW. [ In order to interconnect 
under this path, the small generating facility shall complete 
the streamlined Interconnection Request Form contained in 
20VAC5-314-170 as Schedule 1. The utility shall follow the 
same time line established by the commission in 20VAC5-
315-30 of the Net Metering Regulations. 

B. An IC may begin operation of a small generating facility 
when: 

1. The IC has completed the Level 1 Interconnection 
Request Form (Schedule 1 in 20VAC5-314-170) and 
submitted it to the utility with the required $100 processing 
fee attached. The utility shall submit a copy of the 
Interconnection Notification Form to the commission's 
Division of Energy Regulation. The utility may supply a 
commission-approved Interconnection Request Form 
similar to Schedule 1; 

2. If required by the utility's tariff, the IC has installed a 
lockable, utility-accessible, load breaking manual 
disconnect switch; 

3. A licensed electrician has certified, by signing the 
Interconnection Request Form, that any required manual 
disconnect switch has been installed properly and that the 
small generating facility has been installed in accordance 
with the manufacturer's specifications as well as all 
applicable provisions of the National Electrical Code; 

4. The vendor of the SGF has certified on the 
Interconnection Request Form that the SGF equipment is 
in compliance with the requirements established by 
Underwriters Laboratories or other national testing 
laboratories in accordance with IEEE Standard 1547, 
Standard for Interconnecting Distributed Resources with 
Electric Power Systems; 

5. In the case of a static inverter-connected SGF with an 
alternating current capacity in excess of 10 kilowatts, the 
IC has had the inverter settings inspected by the utility.  
The utility may not impose a charge for the inspection; 

6. In the case of a nonstatic inverter-connected SGF, the IC 
has interconnected according to the utility's 
interconnection guidelines, and the utility has inspected all 
protective equipment settings. The utility may not impose a 
charge for such inspection. 

7. In the case of an SGF having an alternating current 
capacity greater than 25 kilowatts, the following 
requirements shall be met before interconnection may 
occur: 

a. Distribution facilities and customer impact limitations. 
An SGF shall not be permitted to interconnect to 
distribution facilities if the interconnection would 
reasonably lead to damage to any of the utility's facilities 
or would reasonably lead to voltage regulation or power 
quality problems at other customer revenue meters due to 
the incremental effect of the SGF on the performance of 
the system, unless the IC reimburses the utility for its 
cost to modify any facilities needed to accommodate the 
interconnection. 

b. Secondary, service, and service entrance limitations. 
The capacity of the SGF shall be less than the capacity of 
the utility-owned secondary, service, and service 
entrance cable connected to the point of interconnection, 
unless the IC reimburses the utility for its cost to modify 
any facilities needed to accommodate the 
interconnection. 

c. Transformer loading limitations. The SGF shall not 
have the ability to overload the utility's distribution 
transformer, or any distribution transformer winding, 
beyond manufacturer or nameplate ratings, unless the IC 
reimburses the utility for its cost to modify any facilities 
needed to accommodate the interconnection. 

d. Integration with utility's grounding. The grounding 
scheme of the SGF shall comply with the IEEE 1547, 
Standard for Interconnecting Distributed Resources with 
Electric Power Systems, and shall be consistent with the 
grounding scheme used by the utility. If requested by an 
IC, the utility shall assist the IC in selecting a grounding 
scheme that coordinates with its distribution system. 
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e. Balance limitation. The SGF shall not create a voltage 
imbalance of more than 3.0% at any other customer's 
revenue meter if the utility distribution transformer, with 
the secondary connected to the point of interconnection, 
is a three-phase transformer, unless the IC reimburses the 
utility for its cost to modify any facilities needed to 
accommodate the interconnection. 

C. Neither the utility nor the energy service provider shall 
impose any charges upon an IC for any interconnection 
requirements specified by this chapter, except as may be 
incurred in providing off-site metering. 

D. The IC shall immediately notify the utility of any 
changes in the ownership of, operational responsibility for, 
or contact information for the SGF. 

E. The utility shall not be required to maintain an 
interconnection with an SGF if the SGF or associated 
equipment is found to be out of compliance with the codes, 
standards and certifications applicable to the SGF. ] 

20VAC5-314-50. Levels [ 1 2 ] and [ 2 3 ] interconnection 
request general requirements. 

A. The interconnection customer shall submit [ it’s a 
completed Levels 2 and 3 ] Interconnection Request Form 
[ contained in (Schedule 4 of ] 20VAC5-314-170 [ (Schedule 
4 ]) to the utility, with the processing fee or deposit specified 
in the Interconnection Request Form. [ The utility shall 
provide a copy of the Interconnection Request Form to the 
commission's Division of Energy Regulation. ] The 
Interconnection Request Form shall be date- and time-
stamped upon receipt by the utility [ , which. The date- and 
time-stamp of a completed Interconnection Request Form ] 
shall be used as the qualifying date- and time-stamp for the 
purposes of any timetable in these procedures. The 
interconnection customer shall be notified of receipt by the 
utility within three business days of receiving the 
interconnection request, which notification may be [ to an by 
US mail, ] email address or fax number provided by the IC. 

The utility shall notify the interconnection customer within 
10 business days of the receipt of the Interconnection Request 
Form as to whether the Interconnection Request Form is 
complete or incomplete. If the Interconnection Request Form 
is incomplete, the utility shall [ provide, along with the notice 
that the Interconnection Request Form is incomplete, so 
notify the IC, including ] a written list detailing all 
information that must be provided to complete the 
Interconnection Request Form. 

The interconnection customer [ will shall ] have 10 business 
days after receipt of the notice [ of incomplete information ] 
to submit the listed information or to request an extension of 
time to provide such information. If the [ interconnection 
customer IC ] does not provide the listed information or a 
request for an extension of time within the deadline, the 
Interconnection Request Form will be deemed withdrawn. 

[ An Interconnection Request Form will be deemed complete 
upon submission of the listed information to the utility. 

The utility shall provide a copy of the final completed date- 
and time-stamped Interconnection Request Form to the 
commission's Division of Energy Regulation. ] 

B. Any [ material ] modification to machine data or 
equipment configuration or to the interconnection site of the 
small generating facility as specified in the Interconnection 
Request Form but not agreed to in writing by the utility and 
the [ interconnection customer IC ] may be deemed a 
withdrawal of the Interconnection Request Form and may 
require submission of a new Interconnection Request Form, 
unless proper notification of each party by the other and a 
reasonable time to cure the problems created by the changes 
are undertaken. 

C. Site control documentation must be submitted with the 
[ interconnection request Interconnection Request Form ]. 
[ Any information appearing in public records may not be 
labeled Confidential. (Confidential information is discussed 
in 20VAC5-314-110.) ] Site control may be demonstrated 
through: 

1. Ownership of, a leasehold interest in, or a right to 
develop a site for the purpose of constructing the small 
generating facility; 

2. An option to purchase or acquire a leasehold site for 
such purpose; 

3. An exclusivity or other business relationship between 
the interconnection customer and the entity having the 
right to sell, lease, or grant the [ interconnection customer 
IC ] the right to possess or occupy a site for such purpose. 

D. The utility shall place interconnection requests [ in into ] 
a first come, first served [ order per queue that is based on the 
interconnection's distribution ] feeder and [ per distribution ] 
substation [ . The queue position shall be ] based upon the 
date- and time-stamp of the [ completed ] Interconnection 
Request Form. The [ order of each Interconnection Request 
Form queue position of an interconnection request ] will be 
used to determine the cost responsibility for the [ necessary ] 
upgrades [ necessary to accommodate the interconnection ]. 
At the utility's option, interconnection requests may be 
studied serially or in clusters for the purpose of the system 
impact study. 

[ E. The utility shall not be required to maintain an 
interconnection with an SGF if the SGF or associated 
equipment is found to be out of compliance with the codes, 
standards and certification applicable to the SGF. ] 

20VAC5-314-60. Level 2 interconnection process. 

A. The Level 2 interconnection process is available to an 
interconnection customer proposing to interconnect a small 
generating facility with the [ utility's distribution utility ] 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 22, 2008 

1551 

system if the [ small generating facility SGF ] is no larger 
than 2 MW and [ if the interconnection customer's proposed 
small generating facility does not qualify for the Level 1 
process, and ] meets the codes, standards, and certification 
requirements of Schedules 2 and 3 in 20VAC5-314-170. 

B. Within 15 business days after the utility notifies the 
[ interconnection customer IC ] it has received a complete 
[ interconnection request Interconnection Request Form ], the 
utility shall perform an initial review using the screens set 
forth below and shall notify the [ interconnection customer 
IC ] of the results including copies of the analysis and data 
underlying the utility's determinations under the screens. 

[ 1. The proposed small generating facility's point of 
interconnection must be on a portion of the utility's 
distribution system that is subject to the tariff. ] 

[ C. Interconnection to radial circuits. ] 

[2. 1. ] For interconnection of a [ proposed ] small 
generating facility to a radial distribution circuit, the 
aggregated generation, including the proposed small 
generating facility, on the circuit shall not exceed 15% of 
the line section's annual peak load as most recently 
measured at the substation or calculated for the line 
[ segment section ]. A line section is that portion of a 
[ utility's electric system distribution circuit ] connected to 
a customer [ that is ] bounded by automatic sectionalizing 
devices or the end of the [ distribution line circuit ]. 

[ 3. 2. ] The [ proposed small generating facility SGF ], in 
aggregation with other generation on the distribution 
circuit, shall not contribute more than 10% to the 
[ distribution ] circuit's maximum fault current at the point 
on the distribution [ feeder feeder's (primary) ] voltage 
[ (primary) ] level [ that is ] nearest the [ proposed ] point 
of [ change of ownership interconnection ]. 

[ 4. 3. ] The [ proposed small generating facility SGF ], in 
aggregate with other generation on the distribution circuit, 
shall not cause any distribution protective devices and 
equipment (including, but not limited to, substation 
breakers, [ fuse fused ] cutouts, and line reclosers), or 
interconnection customer equipment on the system to 
exceed 87.5% of the short circuit interrupting capability; 
nor shall the interconnection be [ proposed for permitted 
on ] a circuit [ that already exceeds where ] 87.5% of the 
short circuit interrupting capability [ is already exceeded ]. 

[ 5. Using 4. For interconnections to the distribution 
primary voltage, use ] the table below, [ to ] determine the 
[ acceptable ] type of interconnection to a primary 
distribution [ line circuit ]. This screen includes a review of 
the type of electrical service provided to the 
[ interconnection customer IC ], including line 
configuration and the transformer connection [ , ] to limit 
the potential for creating over-voltages on the utility's 
[ electric power distribution ] system due to a loss of 

ground during the operating time of any anti-islanding 
function. 

 
Primary 

Distribution 
Line Type 

Type of 
Interconnection 

to Primary 
Distribution Line 

Result/Criteria 

  Three-phase, 
three wire 

Three-phase [ , ] 
or single phase, 
phase-to-phase 

Pass screen 

  

Three-phase, 
four wire 

Effectively-
grounded three 
phase [ , ] or 
single-phase, 
line-to-neutral 

Pass screen 

[ 6. 5. ] If the [ proposed ] small generating facility is to be 
interconnected [ on to a ] single-phase shared secondary, 
the aggregate generation capacity on the shared secondary, 
including the proposed [ small generating facility SGF ], 
shall not exceed 20 kW.  

[ 7. 6. ] If the [ proposed small generating facility SGF ] is 
single-phase and is to be interconnected on a center tap 
neutral of a 240 volt service, its addition shall not create an 
imbalance between the two sides of the 240 volt service of 
more than 20% of the nameplate rating of the service 
transformer. 

[ 8. 7. ] The [ small generating facility SGF ], in aggregate 
with [ other ] generation interconnected to the transmission 
side of [ a the ] substation transformer [ feeding that feeds ] 
the [ distribution ] circuit where the [ small generating 
facility SGF ] proposes to interconnect [ , ] shall not 
exceed 10 MW in an area where there are known, or 
posted, transient stability limitations to generating units 
located in the general electrical vicinity (e.g., three or four 
transmission busses from the point of interconnection). 

[ 9. 8. ] No construction of facilities by the utility on its 
own system shall be required to accommodate the [ small 
generating facility SGF, except minor modifications ]. 

[ C. D. ] Interconnections to [ distribution systems 
secondary voltage networks (120 volts to 480 volts) ]. 

1. For interconnection of a [ proposed ] small generating 
facility to the load side of spot network protectors serving 
more than a single customer, the [ proposed small 
generating facility SGF ] must utilize an inverter-based 
equipment package and, together with the aggregated other 
inverter-based generation, shall not exceed the smaller of 
5.0% of a spot network's maximum load or 300 kW. For 
spot networks serving a single customer, the [ small 
generating facility SGF ] must use [ an ] inverter-based 
equipment package and either meet the requirements above 
[ , ] or [ shall ] use a protection scheme [ , ] or operate the 
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generator so as not to exceed on-site load or otherwise 
prevent nuisance operation of the spot network protectors. 

2. For interconnection of [ a proposed small generating 
facility an SGF ] to the load side of area network 
protectors, the [ proposed small generating facility SGF ] 
must utilize an inverter-based equipment package and, 
together with the aggregated other inverter-based 
generation, shall not exceed the smaller of 10% of an area 
network's minimum load [ , ] or 500 kW. 

3. [ Notwithstanding subdivision 1 or 2 of this subsection, 
each utility may incorporate into its interconnection 
standards any change in interconnection guidelines related 
to networks pursuant to standards developed under IEEE 
1547 for interconnections to networks. ] To the extent [ the 
any ] new IEEE standards conflict with this chapter, [ in 
particular IEEE 1547, ] the new standards shall apply. In 
addition, [ and with the consent of the ] utility [ , a small 
generating facility may be interconnected consent shall not 
be unreasonably withheld from an SGF interconnecting ] to 
a spot or area network provided the [ facility SGF ] utilizes 
a protection scheme that will prevent any power export 
from the [ customer's IC's ] site including inadvertent 
export under fault conditions [ or, and ] otherwise prevent 
nuisance operation of the network protectors. 

[ D. E. ] If the [ proposed ] interconnection passes the 
screens, the interconnection request shall be approved and the 
utility will provide the interconnection customer an 
executable interconnection agreement within [ 10 five ] 
business days after the determination. 

[ E. F. ] If the [ proposed ]  interconnection fails any screens, 
but the utility determines that the small generating facility 
may nevertheless be interconnected consistent with safety, 
reliability, and power quality standards, the utility shall 
provide the [ interconnection customer IC ] an executable 
interconnection agreement within five business days after the 
determination.  

[ F. G. ] If the [ proposed ] interconnection fails [ the any ] 
screens, but the utility does not or cannot determine from the 
initial review that the [ small generating facility SGF ] may 
nevertheless be interconnected consistent with safety, 
reliability, and power quality standards [ , ] unless the 
[ interconnection customer IC ] is willing to consider minor 
modifications or further study, the utility shall provide the 
[ interconnection customer IC ] with the opportunity to attend 
a customer options meeting. 

[ G. H. ] If the utility determines the [ Interconnection 
Request Form interconnection ] cannot be approved without 
minor modifications at minimal cost; a supplemental study or 
other additional studies or actions; or at significant cost to 
address safety, reliability, or power quality problems, [ within 
the five business day period after the determination, ] the 
utility shall notify the [ interconnection customer IC ] and 

provide copies of the data and analyses underlying its 
conclusion [ within five business days after determination ]. 
Within 10 business days of the [ utility's ] determination, the 
utility shall offer to convene a customer options meeting 
[ with the utility ] to review possible [ interconnection 
customer IC ] facility modifications [ , ] or the screen analysis 
and related results, to determine what further steps are needed 
to permit the [ small generating facility SGF ] to be connected 
safely and reliably. At the time of notification of the utility's 
determination, or at the customer options meeting, the utility 
shall:  

1. Offer to perform facility modifications or minor 
modifications to the utility's electric system (e.g., changing 
meters, fuses, relay settings) and provide [ a nonbinding 
good faith an ] estimate of the [ limited ] cost to make such 
modifications to the utility's electric system; 

2. Offer to perform a supplemental review if the utility 
concludes that the supplemental review might determine 
that the [ small generating facility SGF ] could continue to 
qualify for interconnection pursuant to the [ fast track 
Level 2 ] process, and provide [ a nonbinding good faith 
an ] estimate of the costs and time of such review; or  

3. [ Obtain the interconnection customer's agreement 
Offer ] to continue evaluating the interconnection request 
[ , but ] under the Level 3 [ study interconnection ] process.  

[ H. I. ] Supplemental review. 

If [ the interconnection customer agrees to ] a supplemental 
review [ , is offered to ] the interconnection customer [ shall 
agree in writing within 15 business days of the offer and 
submit a deposit for the estimated costs provided in 
subdivision G 2 of this section and the IC agrees to the 
supplemental review, the utility shall, within 10 business days 
of the request, provide to the IC an appropriate supplemental 
review agreement. To maintain its position in the utility’s 
interconnection queue, the IC must execute the supplemental 
review agreement and return it to the utility, along with a 
deposit for the estimated cost of the supplemental review, 
within 15 business days after receipt of the agreement. If the 
IC fails to return the executed supplemental review agreement 
along with the deposit within 15 business days after receipt, 
the interconnection request shall be deemed withdrawn and 
shall lose its place in the utility’s interconnection queue ]. 

The [ interconnection customer IC ] shall be responsible for 
the utility's actual costs [ for of ] conducting the supplemental 
review. The [ interconnection customer IC ] shall pay any 
review costs that exceed the deposit within [ 20 30 ] business 
days of receipt of the invoice or resolution of any dispute. If 
the deposit exceeds the invoiced costs, the utility will return 
such excess within [ 20 30 ] business days of the invoice 
without interest. 

Within 10 business days following receipt of the 
[ supplemental review agreement and ] deposit [ for a 
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supplemental review ], the utility will determine if the [ small 
generating facility SGF ] can be interconnected safely and 
reliably. 

1. If so, [ and if the supplemental review reveals that no 
modification are required to the customer’s interconnection 
facilities, or to the system, or to an affected system, ] the 
utility shall forward an executable interconnection 
agreement to the interconnection customer within five 
business days [ after the determination ]. 

2. If so, and [ interconnection customer facility the 
customer’s interconnection facilities ] modifications are 
required to allow the [ small generating facility SGF ] to be 
interconnected consistent with safety, reliability, and 
power quality standards under these procedures, the utility 
shall forward an executable interconnection agreement to 
the [ interconnection customer IC ] within five business 
days after confirmation that the [ interconnection customer 
IC ] has agreed to make the necessary changes at the 
[ interconnection customer's IC’s ] cost. 

3. If so, and minor modifications to the utility's electric 
system are required to allow the [ small generating facility 
SGF ] to be interconnected consistent with safety, 
reliability, and power quality standards under the Level 2 
process, the utility shall forward an executable 
interconnection agreement to the [ interconnection 
customer IC ] within 10 business days [ after the 
determination ] that requires the [ interconnection customer 
IC ] to pay the costs of such system modifications prior to 
interconnection. 

4. If not, the interconnection request will [ continue to ] be 
[ evaluated under elevated to ] the Level 3 [ study 
interconnection ] process. 

20VAC5-314-70. Level 3 interconnection process. 

A. The Level 3 interconnection process shall be used by an 
[ IC interconnection customer ] proposing to interconnect a 
small generating facility with the [ utility's distribution 
utility ] system if the [ small generating facility SGF ] is [ (i) 
larger than 2 MW but ] no larger than 20 MW [ , (ii) not 
certified, or (iii) certified but did and does ] not pass [ or 
qualify for ] the Level 1 or Level 2 interconnection [ process 
processes ]. [ A study process consisting of As needed, a ] 
scoping [ meeting ], feasibility [ study ], system impact 
[ study ], and facilities [ study ] shall precede the preparation 
of [ an interconnection agreement a Small Generator 
Interconnection Agreement (Schedule 6 of 20VAC5-314-
170) ]. [ Feasibility studies, scoping studies, and facility Any 
of the ] studies may be combined [ for simpler projects ] by 
mutual agreement of the [ utility and the ] parties. 

B. Scoping [ study meeting ]. 

1. A scoping meeting will be held within 10 business days 
after the [ interconnection request Interconnection Request 

Form ] is deemed complete, or as otherwise mutually 
agreed to by the parties. The utility and the 
[ interconnection customer IC ] shall bring to the meeting 
personnel, including system engineers and other resources 
as may be reasonably required to accomplish the purpose 
of the meeting. 

2. The purpose of the scoping meeting is to discuss the 
interconnection request. The parties shall [ further ] discuss 
[ whether the utility should perform a feasibility study or 
proceed directly to a system impact study, or a facilities 
study, or an interconnection agreement the studies and the 
cost responsibilities for the studies ]. [ If the parties agree 
that a feasibility study should be performed, the utility 
shall provide the interconnection customer, as soon as 
possible, but not later than five business days after the 
scoping meeting, a feasibility study agreement including an 
outline of the scope of the study and a nonbinding good 
faith estimate of the cost to perform the study. ] 

3. The scoping meeting may be omitted by mutual 
agreement. [ In order to remain in consideration for 
interconnection, an interconnection customer who has 
requested a feasibility study must return the executed 
feasibility study agreement within 15 business days. If the 
parties agree not to perform a feasibility study, the utility 
shall provide the interconnection customer, no later than 
five business days after the scoping meeting, a system 
impact study agreement including an outline of the scope 
of the study and a nonbinding good faith estimate of the 
cost to perform the study. ] 

C. Feasibility study. 

[ 1. If the parties agree that a feasibility study should be 
performed, the utility shall provide the IC with a feasibility 
study agreement, including an outline of the scope of the 
feasibility study and an estimate of the cost to perform the 
study no later than five business days after the scoping 
meeting or five business days after the decision is made to 
not have a scoping meeting. 

If the parties agree to not perform a feasibility study, the 
utility shall provide the IC a system impact study 
agreement including an outline of the scope of the study 
and an estimate of the cost to perform the study no later 
than five business days after the scoping meeting, or five 
business days after the decision is made to not have a 
scoping meeting. 

2. To maintain its position in the utility’s interconnection 
queue, the IC must execute the feasibility study agreement 
and return it to the utility along with the deposit for the 
feasibility study within 15 business days after receipt of the 
agreement.  If the IC fails to return the executed feasibility 
study agreement along with the deposit within 15 business 
days after receipt of the agreement, the interconnection 
request shall be deemed withdrawn and the interconnection 
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request shall lose its place in the utility’s interconnection 
queue. ] 

[ 1. 3. ] A feasibility study shall identify any potential 
adverse system impacts that would result from the 
interconnection of the [ small generating facility SGF ]. 

[ 2. 4. ] A deposit of [ the lesser of no more than ] 50% of 
the [ good faith ] estimated feasibility study costs or 
earnest money of $1,000 may be required from the 
interconnection customer. 

a. [ Any study fees Study costs ] shall be [ based on ] the 
[ distribution company's utility’s ] actual [ incremental ] 
costs and will be invoiced to the [ interconnection 
customer IC ] after the study is completed and delivered 
and will include a summary of professional time. 

b. The [ interconnection customer must IC shall ] pay any 
study costs that exceed the deposit without interest within 
30 calendar days on receipt of the invoice or resolution of 
any dispute. If the deposit exceeds the invoiced fees, the 
[ distribution company utility ] shall refund such excess 
within 30 calendar days of the invoice without interest. 

[ 3. 5. ] The feasibility study shall be based on the technical 
information provided by the [ interconnection customer 
IC ] in the [ interconnection request Interconnection 
Request Form ], as may be modified as the result of the 
scoping meeting. The [ distribution company utility ] 
reserves the right to request additional technical 
information from the [ interconnection customer IC ] as 
may reasonably become necessary consistent with [ Good 
Utility Practice ] during the course of the feasibility study 
and as designated in accordance with the standard small 
generator interconnection procedures. [ All modification 
made to the interconnection request shall be made in 
writing to the utility. ] If the interconnection customer 
modifies its interconnection request, the time to complete 
the feasibility study may be extended by agreement of the 
parties. 

[ 4. 6. ] In performing the [ feasibility ] study, the 
[ distribution company utility ] shall rely, to the extent 
reasonably practicable, on recent studies. The 
[ interconnection customer IC ] shall not be charged for 
such existing studies; however, the [ interconnection 
customer IC ] shall be responsible for charges associated 
with any new study or modifications to existing studies 
that are reasonably necessary to perform the feasibility 
study. 

[ 5. 7. ] The feasibility study report shall provide the 
following analyses for the purpose of identifying any 
potential adverse system impacts that would result from the 
interconnection of the [ small generating facility as 
proposed SGF ]: 

a. Initial identification of any circuit breaker short circuit 
capability limits exceeded [ as a result of the 
interconnection ]; 

b. Initial identification of any thermal overload or voltage 
limit violations [ resulting from the interconnection ]; 

c. Initial review of grounding requirements and electric 
system protection; and 

d. Description and [ nonbonding ] estimated cost of 
facilities [ and estimated construction time ] required to 
interconnect the [ proposed small generating facility 
SGF ] and to address the identified short circuit and 
power flow issues. 

[ 6. 8. ] The feasibility study shall model the impact of the 
[ small generating facility regardless of purpose SGF for 
all purposes identified in the Interconnection Request 
Form ] in order to avoid the further expense and 
interruption of operation for reexamination of feasibility 
and impacts if the [ interconnection customer IC ] later 
changes the purpose for which the [ small generating 
facility SGF ] is being installed. 

[ 7. 9. ] The [ feasibility ] study shall include the feasibility 
of [ any interconnection at a proposed project site where 
there could be multiple all ] potential points of 
interconnection, as requested by the [ interconnection 
customer IC ] and at the [ interconnection customer's IC’s ] 
cost. 

[ 8. Once the feasibility study is completed, a 10. A ] 
feasibility study report shall be prepared and transmitted to 
the [ interconnection customer.  Barring unusual 
circumstances, the feasibility study must be completed and 
the feasibility study report transmitted IC ] within 30 
business days of the [ interconnection customer's 
agreement to conduct a feasibility study utility’s receipt of 
the complete executed feasibility study agreement and 
required deposit ]. 

[ 9. 11. ] If the feasibility study shows no potential for 
adverse system impacts, [ then within five business days ] 
the utility shall send the [ interconnection customer IC 
either an executable Small Generator Interconnection 
Agreement (Schedule 5, 20VAC5-314-170) or ] a facilities 
study agreement, including an outline of the scope of the 
study and [ a nonbinding good faith an ] estimate of the 
cost to perform the study. 

[ 10. 12. ] If the feasibility study shows [ the ] potential for 
adverse system impacts, the review process shall proceed 
to the [ appropriate ] system impact study [ or studies ]. 

D. System impact study. 

[ 1. No later than five business days after the parties agree 
that a system impact study should be performed, the utility 
shall provide the IC a system impact study agreement 
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including an outline of the scope of the system impact 
study and an estimate of the cost to perform the study.  

2. To maintain its position in the utility’s interconnection 
queue, the IC must execute the system impact study 
agreement and return it to the utility along with the deposit 
for the system impact study within 15 business days after 
receipt of the agreement. If the IC fails to return the 
executed system impact study agreement along with the 
deposit within 15 business days after receipt of the 
agreement, the interconnection request shall be deemed 
withdrawn and the interconnection request shall lose its 
place in the utility’s interconnection queue. 

3. A deposit equal to the estimated cost of a system impact 
study may be required from the IC. 

a. Study cost shall be the utility’s actual incremental 
costs and will be invoiced to the IC after the study is 
completed and delivered and will include a summary of 
professional time. 

b. The IC shall pay any study costs that exceed the 
deposit within 30 calendar days on receipt of the invoice 
or resolution of any dispute. If the deposit exceeds the 
invoiced fees, the utility shall refund the excess within 30 
calendar days of the invoice without interest. ] 

[ 1. 4. ] A system impact study shall identify and detail the 
electric system impacts that would result if the [ proposed 
small generating facility SGF ] were interconnected 
without project modifications or electric system 
modifications, focusing on the adverse [ electric ] system 
impacts identified in the feasibility study, or [ to study 
potential impacts, including but not limited to those 
identified ] in the scoping meeting. A system impact study 
shall evaluate the impact of the proposed interconnection 
on the reliability of the electric system. 

[ 2. 5. ] A system impact study will be based upon the 
results of the feasibility study and the technical information 
provided by the interconnection customer in the 
interconnection request. The [ distribution company 
utility ] reserves the right to request additional technical 
information from the [ interconnection customer IC ] as 
may reasonably become necessary consistent with [ Good 
Utility Practice ] during the course of the system impact 
study. If the [ interconnection customer IC ] modifies its 
designated point of interconnection, [ or ] interconnection 
request, or the technical information provided therein [ is 
modified ], the time to complete the system impact study 
may be extended. 

[ 3. 6. ] A system impact study shall consist of a [ study of 
the potentially impacted transmission and distribution 
systems, a ] short circuit analysis, a stability analysis, a 
power flow analysis, voltage drop and flicker studies, 
[ protection and set point coordination studies, and ] 
grounding reviews, [ distribution load flow study, analysis 

of equipment interrupting ratings, protection coordination 
study, and impacts on electric system operation, ] as 
necessary. A system impact study shall state the 
assumptions upon which it is based, state the results of the 
analyses, and provide the requirement or potential 
impediments to providing the requested interconnection 
service, including a preliminary indication of the cost and 
length of time that would be necessary to correct any 
problems identified in those analyses and implement the 
interconnection. A system impact study shall provide a list 
of facilities [ and modifications ] that [ are would be ] 
required as a result of the interconnection [ request and 
nonbinding good faith along with ] estimates of cost 
responsibility and time to construct. [ If arranged with the 
utility prior to the utility preparing the system impact study 
agreement, the system impact study may, at the IC’s cost, 
include one or more alternatives to the point of 
interconnection; however, such alternative points must be 
on the same distribution circuit as the point of 
interconnection the IC specified as the proposed point of 
interconnection. ]  

[ 4. A distribution system impact study shall incorporate a 
distribution load flow study, an analysis of equipment 
interrupting ratings, protection coordination study, voltage 
drop and flicker studies, protection and set point 
coordination studies, grounding reviews, and the impact on 
electric system operation, as necessary. 

5. 7. ] Affected systems may participate in the preparation 
of a system impact study, with a division of costs among 
such entities as they may agree. All affected systems shall 
be afforded an opportunity to review and comment upon a 
system impact study that covers potential adverse system 
impacts on their electric systems, and the [ distribution 
company utility ] has 20 additional business days to 
complete a system impact study requiring review by 
affected systems. 

[ 6. 8. ] If the utility uses a queuing procedure for sorting 
or prioritizing projects and their associated cost 
responsibilities for any required network upgrades, the 
system impact study shall consider all generating facilities 
(and with respect to clause iii below, any identified 
upgrades associated with such higher queued 
interconnection) that, on the date the system impact study 
is commenced are: (i) directly interconnected with the 
[ distribution company's electric utility ] system; or (ii) 
interconnected with affected systems and may have an 
impact on the proposed interconnection; and (iii) have a 
pending higher queued interconnection request to 
interconnect with the [ utility's electric utility ] system. 

[ 7. 9. ] A [ distribution ] system impact study, if required, 
shall be completed and the results transmitted to the 
[ interconnection customer IC ] within [ 30 45 ] business 
days after an agreement is signed by the parties [ . A 
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transmission system impact study, if required, shall be 
completed and the results transmitted to the 
interconnection customer within 45 business days after an 
agreement is signed by the parties ], or in accordance with 
the utility's queuing procedures. 

[ 8. A deposit of the equivalent of the good faith estimated 
cost of a distribution system impact study and one-half of 
the good faith estimated cost of a transmission system 
impact study may be required from the interconnection 
customer. 

9. Any study fees shall be based on the utility's actual costs 
and will be invoiced to the interconnection customer after 
the study is completed and delivered and will include a 
summary of professional time. 

10. The interconnection customer shall pay any study costs 
that exceed the deposit within 30 calendar days on receipt 
of the invoice or resolution of any dispute. If the deposit 
exceeds the invoiced fees, the utility shall refund such 
excess within 30 calendar days of the invoice. Interest shall 
not apply. 

11. If no transmission system impact study is required, 
adverse distribution system impacts are identified in the 
scoping meeting or shown in the feasibility study, a 
distribution system impact study shall be performed. The 
utility shall send the interconnection customer a 
distribution system impact study agreement within 15 
business days of transmittal of the feasibility study report, 
including an outline of the scope of the study and a 
nonbinding good faith estimate of the cost to perform the 
study, or following the scoping meeting if no feasibility 
study is to be performed. 

12. In instances where the feasibility study or the 
distribution system impact study shows potential for 
transmission system adverse system impacts, within five 
business days following transmittal of the feasibility study 
report, the utility shall send the interconnection customer a 
transmission system impact study agreement, including an 
outline of the scope of the study and a nonbinding good 
faith estimate of the cost to perform the study, if such a 
study is required. 

13. If a transmission system impact study is not required, 
but adverse distribution system impacts are shown by the 
feasibility study to be possible and no distribution system 
impact study has been conducted, the utility shall send the 
interconnection customer a distribution system impact 
study agreement. 

14. If the feasibility study shows no potential for 
transmission system or distribution system adverse 
impacts, the utility shall send the interconnection customer 
either an executable Small Generator Interconnection 
Agreement (SGIA) included in this chapter as Schedule 5 
in 20VAC5-314-170, or a facilities study agreement, 

including an outline of the scope of the study and a 
nonbinding good faith estimate of the cost to perform the 
study, as applicable. 

15. In order to remain under consideration for 
interconnection, the interconnection customer shall return 
executed system impact study agreements, if applicable, 
within 30 business days. 

10. If the system impact study shows that facility 
modifications are needed to accommodate the SGF, then 
within five business days following transmittal of the 
system impact study report, the utility shall send the IC a 
facilities study agreement, including an outline of the 
scope of the study and an estimate of the cost to perform 
the study.] 

E. Facilities study. 

1. [ Once the required system impact study (or studies) is 
completed, a system impact study report shall be prepared 
and transmitted to the interconnection customer along with 
a facilities study agreement within five business days, 
including an outline of the scope of the study and a 
nonbinding good faith estimate of the cost to perform the 
facilities study. In the case where one or both impact 
studies are determined to be unnecessary, a notice of the 
fact shall be transmitted to the interconnection customer 
within the same timeframe.  The facilities study shall 
specify and estimate the cost of the equipment, 
engineering, procurement, and construction work needed to 
implement the conclusion of the feasibility and/or system 
impact study and to allow SGF to be interconnected and 
operate safely and reliably. ] 

[ 2. In order to remain under consideration for 
interconnection, or, as appropriate, in the utility's 
interconnection queue, the interconnection customer shall 
provide the following information, or a request for an 
extension of time within 30 business days, and the facilities 
study shall be based on the responses of the IC to the 
following queries: 

a. Provide a location plan and simplified one-line 
diagram of the plant and station facilities. For staged 
projects, please indicate future generation, transmission 
circuits, etc. On the one-line diagram, indicate the 
generation capacity attached at each metering location. 
(Maximum load on CT (current transformer)/PT (partial 
transformer)  On the one-line diagram, indicate the 
location of auxiliary power. (Minimum load on CT/PT) 
Amps 

b. One set of metering is required for each generation 
connection to the new ring bus or existing distribution 
company station.  

Number of generation connections: 
_____________________ 
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c. Will an alternate source of auxiliary power be 
available during CT/PT maintenance?  

Yes ___________ No ___________ 

d. Will a transfer bus on the generation side of the 
metering require that each meter set be designed for the 
total plant generation? 

Yes ___________ No ___________ (Please indicate on 
the one-line diagram). 

e. What type of control system or Programmable Logic 
Controller (PLC) will be located at the small generating 
facility? 

______________________________________________ 

f. What protocol does the control system or PLC use? 

______________________________________________ 

g. Provide a 7.5-minute quadrangle map of the site. 
Indicate the plant, station, transmission line, and property 
lines.  

h. Physical dimensions of the proposed interconnection 
station: 
______________________________________________ 

i. Bus length from generation to interconnection station: 
______________________________ 

j. Line length from interconnection station to utility's 
transmission system. 
________________________________________ 

k. Tower number observed in the field. (Painted on tower 
leg)*: 
______________________________________________ 

l. Number of third party easements required for 
transmission lines*: 
______________________________________________ 

*To be completed in coordination with distribution 
company. 

m. Is the small generating facility located in utility's 
service area? Yes ___________ No___________; 

If No, please provide name of local provider: 

______________________________________________ 

n. Please provide the following proposed schedule dates: 

Begin Construction 
Date:____________________________ 

Generator step-up transformers receive back feed power 
date: ___________________ 

Generation Testing 
Date:____________________________ 

Commercial Operation 
Date:____________________________ 

3. The facilities study shall specify and estimate the cost of 
the equipment, engineering, procurement, and construction 
work (including overheads) needed to implement the 
conclusions of the system impact study or studies. 

4. A deposit of the good faith estimated facilities study 
costs may be required from the interconnection customer. 

5. Any study fees shall be based on the distribution 
company's actual costs and will be invoiced to the 
interconnection customer after the study is completed and 
delivered and will include a summary of professional time. 

6. The interconnection customer shall pay any study costs 
that exceed the deposit within 30 calendar days on receipt 
of the invoice or resolution of any dispute. If the deposit 
exceeds the invoiced fees, the distribution company shall 
refund such excess within 30 calendar days of the invoice. 
Interest shall not apply. 

2. To maintain its position in the utility’s interconnection 
queue, the IC must execute the facilities study agreement 
and return it to the utility along with a completed Facilities 
Study Information Form (Schedule 5, 20VAC5-314-170) 
and deposit for the facilities study within 30 business days 
after receipt of the agreement, unless an extension has been 
agreed to with the utility.  Otherwise, the interconnection 
request shall be deemed withdrawn and the interconnection 
request shall lose its place in the utility’s interconnection 
queue. 

3. A deposit equal to the estimated cost of a facilities study 
may be required from the IC. 

a. Study cost shall be the utility’s actual incremental 
costs and will be invoiced to the IC after the study is 
completed and delivered and will include a summary of 
professional time. 

b. The IC shall pay any study costs that exceed the 
deposit within 30 calendar days after receipt of the 
invoice or resolution of any dispute. If the deposit 
exceeds the invoiced fees, the utility shall refund the 
excess within 30 calendar days of the invoice without 
interest. ] 

[ 7. 4. ] Design for any required [ customer’s ] 
interconnection facilities [ , attachment facilities, ] and/or 
upgrades shall be performed under the facilities study 
[ agreement ]. The utility may contract with consultants to 
perform activities required under the facilities study 
[ agreement ]. The [ interconnection customer IC ] and the 
utility may agree to allow the [ interconnection customer 
IC ] to separately arrange for the design of some of the 
[ customer’s ] interconnection facilities. In such cases, 
facilities design will be reviewed and/or modified prior to 
acceptance by the utility, under the provisions of the 
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facilities study [ agreement ]. If the parties agree to 
separately arrange for design and construction, and 
provided security and confidentiality requirements can be 
met, the utility shall make sufficient information available 
to the [ interconnection customer IC ] in accordance with 
confidentiality and critical infrastructure requirements [ , ] 
to permit the [ interconnection customer IC ] to obtain an 
independent design and cost estimate for any necessary 
facilities.  

[ 8. 5. ] The facilities study shall [ specify and estimate the 
cost of the equipment, engineering, procurement and 
construction work (including overheads) needed to 
implement the conclusions of the system impact study or 
studies. The facilities study shall also ] identify (i) the 
electrical switching configuration of the equipment, 
including, without limitation, transformer, switchgear, 
meters, and other station equipment, (ii) the nature and 
estimated cost of the [ utility's interconnection attachment ] 
facilities and [ distribution ] upgrades necessary to 
accomplish the interconnection, and (iii) an estimate of the 
time required to complete the construction and installation 
of such facilities. 

[ 9. 6. ] The utility may propose to group facilities required 
for more than one [ interconnection customer IC ] in order 
to minimize facilities costs through economies of scale, but 
any [ interconnection customer IC ] may require the 
installation of facilities required for its own small 
generating facility if it [ is willing to pay pays ] the costs of 
those facilities. 

[ 10. Once the facilities study is completed, a facilities 
study report shall be prepared and transmitted to the 
interconnection customer. Barring unusual circumstances, 
the facilities study must be completed and the facilities 
study report transmitted within 30 business days of the 
interconnection customer's agreement to conduct a 
facilities study 11. In cases where upgrades are required, 
the facilities study must be completed within 45 business 
days of the receipt of this facilities study agreement. In 
cases where no upgrades are necessary, and the required 
facilities are limited to interconnection facilities, the 
facilities study must be completed within 30 business days. 

7. In cases where system upgrades are required, the utility 
shall transmit the facilities study report within 45 business 
days after receipt of the complete facilities study 
agreement, Facilities Study Information Form, and the 
deposit. In cases where no system upgrades are necessary, 
and the required facilities are limited to customer’s 
interconnection facilities and attachment facilities only, the 
utility shall transmit the facilities study report within 30 
business days after receipt of the complete facilities study 
agreement, Facilities Study Information Form and the 
deposit. ] 

F. [ Interconnection agreement Small Generator 
Interconnection Agreement ]. 

1. [ Upon completion of the facilities study, and with the 
agreement of the interconnection customer to pay for 
interconnection facilities and upgrades identified in the 
facilities study, the utility shall provide the interconnection 
customer an executable SGIA within five business days 
Within five business days after transmittal of the final 
study (i.e. the facilities study, or if applicable, a combined 
study that satisfies all study requirements), the utility shall 
provide the interconnection customer an executable SGIA 
(Schedule 6, 20VAC5-314-170) ]. 

2. After receiving [ an interconnection agreement the 
SGIA ] from the utility, the [ interconnection customer IC ] 
shall have 30 business days or another mutually agreeable 
[ time frame deadline, ] to sign and return the 
[ interconnection agreement, or request that the utility file 
an unexecuted interconnection agreement with the 
commission SGIA ]. If the [ interconnection customer IC ] 
does not [ sign return ] the [ interconnection agreement, or 
ask that it be filed unexecuted by the utility within 30 
business days SGIA within the deadline ], the 
interconnection request shall be deemed withdrawn [ and 
the IC shall lose its place in the utility’s queue ]. After the 
[ interconnection agreement SGIA ] is signed by the 
parties, the interconnection of the [ small generating 
facility SGF ] shall proceed under the provisions of the 
SGIA. 

20VAC5-314-80. Interconnection metering. 

Any metering necessitated by the use of the small generating 
facility shall be installed at the interconnection customer's 
expense in accordance with commission requirements or the 
utility's specifications. 

20VAC5-314-90. Commissioning tests. 

Commissioning tests of the interconnection customer's 
installed equipment shall be performed pursuant to applicable 
codes and standards, including IEEE 1547.1 2005 "IEEE 
Standard Conformance Test Procedures for Equipment 
Interconnecting Distributed Resources with Electric Power 
Systems." The utility shall be given at least five business days 
written notice, or notice as otherwise mutually agreed to by 
the parties, of the tests and [ may the utility shall ] be 
[ allowed to be ] present to witness the commissioning tests. 
The utility shall [ not ] be compensated by the 
[ interconnection customer IC ] for [ its expense in ] 
witnessing [ Level 2 and Level 3 ] commissioning tests. 

20VAC5-314-100. Disputes. 

A. The parties agree to attempt to resolve all disputes arising 
out of the interconnection process according to the provisions 
of this section. 
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B. In the event of a dispute, either party shall provide the 
other party with a written notice of dispute. The notice shall 
describe in detail the nature of the dispute. [ If the dispute has 
not been resolved within five business days after receipt of 
the notice, either party may contact a mutually agreed upon 
third party dispute resolution service for assistance in 
resolving the dispute The parties shall make a good faith 
effort to resolve the dispute informally within 10 business 
days ]. 

C. [ If the dispute has not been resolved within 10 business 
days after receipt of the notice, either party may seek 
resolution assistance from the commission’s Division of 
Energy Regulation where the matter will be handled as an 
informal complaint. If that process is unsatisfactory, either 
party may petition the commission to handle the dispute as a 
formal complaint. 

Alternatively, the parties may seek resolution through the 
assistance of a dispute resolution service. ] The dispute 
resolution service will assist the parties in either resolving the 
dispute or in selecting an appropriate dispute resolution venue 
(e.g., mediation, settlement judge, early neutral evaluation, or 
technical expert) to assist the parties in resolving their 
dispute. [ Each party agrees to conduct all negotiations in 
good faith and will be responsible for one half of any costs 
paid to neutral third parties. ] 

[ D. Each party agrees to conduct all negotiations in good 
faith and will be responsible for 1/2 of any costs paid to 
neutral third parties. 

E. D. ] If [ neither party elects to seek assistance from the 
dispute resolution service, or if the ] attempted dispute 
resolution fails [ to satisfy one or both of the parties ] , then 
either party may exercise whatever rights and remedies it may 
have in equity or law consistent with the terms of the 
[ agreements between the parties or it may seek resolution at 
the commission agreement ]. 

20VAC5-314-110. Confidential information. 

A. Confidential information shall mean any confidential 
and/or proprietary information provided by one party to the 
other party that is clearly marked or otherwise designated 
"Confidential." All design, operating specifications, and 
metering data provided by the [ interconnection customer IC ] 
shall be deemed confidential information regardless of 
whether it is clearly marked or otherwise designated as such. 

B. Confidential information does not include information 
previously in the public domain, required to be publicly 
submitted or divulged by governmental authorities (after 
notice to the other party and after exhausting any opportunity 
to oppose such publication or release), or necessary to be 
divulged in an action to enforce an agreement between the 
parties. Each party receiving confidential information shall 
hold such information in confidence and shall not disclose it 
to any third party nor to the public without the prior written 

authorization from the party providing that information, 
except to fulfill obligations under agreements between the 
parties, or to fulfill legal or regulatory requirements. 

1. Each party shall employ at least the same standard of 
care to protect confidential information obtained from the 
other party as it employs to protect its own confidential 
information. 

2. Each party is entitled to equitable relief, by injunction or 
otherwise, to enforce its rights under this section to prevent 
the release of confidential information without bond or 
proof of damages, and may seek other remedies available 
at law or in equity for breach of this provision. 

C. Notwithstanding anything in this chapter to the contrary, 
if the commission, during the course of an investigation or 
otherwise, requests information from one of the parties that is 
otherwise required to be maintained in confidence, the party 
shall provide the requested information to the commission, 
within the time provided for in the request for information. In 
providing the information to the commission, the party may 
request that the information be treated as confidential and 
nonpublic by the commission and that the information be 
withheld from public disclosure. Parties are prohibited from 
notifying the other party prior to the release of the 
confidential information to the commission. [ The party shall 
notify the other party when it is notified by the commission 
that a request to release confidential information has been 
received by the commission, at which time either of the 
parties may respond before such information would be made 
public. ] 

20VAC5-314-120. [ Comparability Equal treatment ]. 

The utility shall receive, process, and analyze all 
interconnection requests in a timely manner as set forth in this 
chapter. The utility shall use the same reasonable efforts in 
processing and analyzing interconnection requests from all 
Interconnection customers, whether the [ small generating 
facility SGF ] is owned or operated by the utility, its 
subsidiaries or affiliates, or others. 

20VAC5-314-130. Record retention. 

The utility shall maintain, subject to audit, records for three 
years of (i) all interconnection requests received pursuant to 
this chapter, (ii) the times required to complete 
interconnection request approvals and disapprovals, and (iii) 
justification for the actions taken on the interconnection 
requests. 

20VAC5-314-140. Coordination with affected systems. 

The utility shall coordinate the conduct of any studies 
required to determine the impact of the [ interconnection 
request small generating facility ] on affected systems with 
affected system operators and, if possible, include those 
results (if available) in its applicable interconnection [ study 
studies ] within the time frame specified in this chapter. The 
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utility will include such affected system operators in all 
meetings held with the [ interconnection customer IC ] as 
required by this chapter. The [ interconnection customer IC ] 
shall cooperate with the utility in all matters related to the 
conduct of studies and the determination of modifications to 
affected systems. A utility [ which that ] may be an affected 
system shall cooperate with the utility with [ whom which ] 
interconnection has been requested in all matters related to 
the conduct of studies and the determination of modifications 
to affected systems. [ The utility owning or operating the 
system to which the IC desires to interconnect shall not be 
held responsible or liable for any delays in the 
interconnection process attributable to the lack of information 
or cooperation from the owners or operators of affected 
systems. ] 

20VAC5-314-150. Capacity of the small generating 
facility. 

A. If the interconnection request is for an increase in 
capacity for an existing small generating facility, the 
interconnection request shall be evaluated on the basis of the 
new total capacity of the [ small generating facility SGF ]. 

B. If the interconnection request is for a [ small generating 
facility SGF ] that includes multiple energy production 
devices at a site for which the interconnection customer seeks 
a single point of interconnection, the interconnection request 
shall be evaluated on the basis of the aggregate capacity of 
the multiple devices. 

C. The interconnection request shall be evaluated using the 
maximum rated capacity of the [ small generating facility 
SGF ]. 

20VAC5-314-160. Insurance. 

A. For [ systems of 500 kW or less a small generating 
facility with a rated capacity not exceeding 10 kW ], the IC, 
at its own expense, shall secure and maintain in effect during 
the term of the agreement liability insurance with a combined 
single limit for bodily injury and property damage of not less 
than [ $300,000 $100,000 ] for each occurrence. 

[ For an SGF with a rated capacity exceeding 10 kW but not 
exceeding 500 kW, the IC, at its own expense, shall secure 
and maintain in effect during the term of the agreement 
liability insurance with a combined single limit for bodily 
injury and property damage of not less than $300,000 for each 
occurrence. ] 

For [ systems greater than an SGF with a rated capacity 
exceeding ] 500 kW but [ smaller than not exceeding ] 2 MW, 
the IC, at its own expense, shall secure and maintain in effect 
during the term of the agreement liability insurance with a 
combined single limit for bodily injury and property damage 
of not less than $2 million for each occurrence. Insurance 
coverage for [ systems greater than an SGF with a rated 
capacity exceeding ] 2 MW shall be determined on a case-by-
case basis [ by the utility ] and shall reflect the size of the 
installation and the potential for system damage. 

B. Except for those [ photovoltaic inverter-based ] systems 
[ installed on a residential premise ] that have a [ design 
rated ] capacity of 500 kW or less, the utility shall be named 
as an additional insured by endorsement to the insurance 
policy and the policy shall provide that written notice be 
given to the utility at least 30 days prior to any cancellation or 
reduction of any coverage. Such liability insurance shall 
provide, by endorsement to the policy, that the utility shall 
not by reason of its inclusion as an additional insured incur 
liability to the insurance carrier for the payment of premium 
of such insurance. For all [ photovoltaic inverter-based ] 
systems, the liability insurance shall not exclude coverage for 
any incident related to the subject generator or its operation. 

C. Certificates of insurance evidencing the requisite 
coverage and provision shall be furnished to [ a the ] utility 
prior to the date of interconnection of the [ small generating 
facility SGF ]. [ Utilities The utility ] shall be permitted to 
periodically obtain proof of current insurance coverage form 
the [ producer IC ] in order to verify [ continuing ] proper 
liability insurance coverage. [ The ] IC will not be allowed to 
commence or continue interconnected operations unless 
evidence is provided that [ satisfactory required ] insurance 
coverage is in effect at all times. 

 

20VAC5-314-170. Schedules for Chapter 314. 

The following schedules shall be used in the administration of this chapter. 

Schedule 1 

LEVEL 1 INTERCONNECTION REQUEST FORM FOR SMALL GENERATING FACILITY [ LESS THAN NOT 
EXCEEDING ] 500 kW  

PURSUANT TO 20VAC5-314-40 OF THE COMMISSION'S REGULATIONS GOVERNING INTERCONNECTION OF 
SMALL ELECTRIC GENERATORS, APPLICANT HEREBY GIVES NOTICE OF INTENT TO OPERATE A 
GENERATING FACILITY. 

  

Section 1. [ Applicant Interconnection Customer ] Information 
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Name:____________________________________________________________ 

Mailing Address:____________________________________________________ 

[ City: ______________________________State: _____________ Zip Code:_____ 

City, State, Zip: _________________________________________________] 

Street Address: __________________________________________________ 

[ City: ______________________________State: _____________ Zip Code: _____ 

City, State, Zip: _________________________________________________] 

Phone Number(s): ___________________________________________________ 

Fax Number: _____________________________ Email [ Address ]: _____________ 

[ Facility location (if different from above): __________________________________ 

Distribution Company Utility ]: ________________________________________________ 

[ Distribution Company Utility ] Account Number: ___________________________________ 

Energy Service Provider [ (ESP) (if different than electric distribution 
company)]:________________________________ 

[ ESP ] Account Number [ (if applicable) ]: _____________________________________ 

Proposed Interconnection Date:_________________________________________ 

  

[ Section 2. Processing Fee or Deposit 

  

The nonrefundable processing fee payable to the utility is $100. ] 

  

Section [ 2. 3. Small ] Generating Facility Information 

[ Facility owner and/or Operator name (if different from Applicant): ________________ 

SGF owner: _____________________________________________________ 

SGF operator: ___________________________________________________ ] 

Business relationship to applicant: _______________________________________ 

Mailing address: ______________________________________________________ 

[ City: ________________________________State: ____________ Zip Code: ______ 

City, State, Zip:__________________________________________________ ] 

[ Street SGF ] Address: _______________________________________________________ 

[ City: ________________________________State: ____________ Zip Code: ______ 

City, State, Zip: _________________________________________________ ] 

Phone Number(s): ____________________________________________________ 

Fax Number: ______________________________ Email [ Address ]: _____________ 

Fuel Type:____________________________________________________________ 

Generator Manufacturer and Model: ______________________________________ 

Rated Capacity in kilowatts: AC: _________________________ DC: ____________ 
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Inverter Manufacturer and Model:_________________________________________ 

Battery Backup [ (circle one) ]: Yes_____ No_____ 

  

Section [ 3 4 ]. Information for Generators with an AC capacity in excess of 25 [ kilowatts kW ] 

Is the proposed generator inverter based? Yes ____ No ____  

Generator Type [ (circle one) ]: Inverter [            ] Induction [            ] Synchronous [           ] 

Frequency: ____________ Hz; Number of phases [ (circle one) ] : One [         ]  Three [           ] 

Rated Capacity: DC _________KW; AC apparent ___________ KVA; AC real _________ KW;  

Power factor ____________%; AC voltage _________; AC amperage___________ 

Facility schematic and equipment layout must be attached to this form.  

  

Section [ 4. 5. ] Vendor Certification 

The [ system hardware SGF equipment ] is listed by Underwriters Laboratories to be in compliance with UL [ - ] 1741.  

Signed (Vendor): ______________________________________________ Date: __________ 

Name (printed): _______________________________________________________________ 

Company: ___________________________________________________________________ 

Phone Number: _______________________________  

Mailing Address:_______________________________________________________________ 

[ City: _______________________________ State: _____________ Zip Code: _____________ 

City, State, Zip: _________________________________________________ ] 

  

Section [ 5. 6. ] Electrician Certification 

The [ system generator equipment ] has been installed in accordance with the manufacturer's specifications as well 
as all applicable provisions of the National Electrical Code.  

Signed (Licensed Electrician): ___________________________ Date: ______ 

Name (printed): ___________________________________________________ 

License Number: __________________________ Phone Number: ___________ 

Mailing Address: ____________________________________________________ 

[ City: ___________________________ State: _____________ Zip Code: _______ 

City, State, Zip:__________________________________________________ ] 

[ Utility signature signifies only receipt of this form, in compliance with the State Corporation Commission's net 
energy metering regulations, 20 VAC 5-315-30.  

Signed (Utility Representative): ___________________________ Date: _______ ] 
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[ Section 7.  Applicant Signature ] 

  

I hereby certify that, to the best of my knowledge, all of the information provided in this Request Form is 
true and correct.  

Signature of Applicant: _____________________________________________  

Date:________________________ 

  

[ Section 8.  Utility Acknowledgement of Receipt 

Signed: _______________________________________________________  

Title:__________________________________________________________  

Utility: ________________________________________________________  

Date:______________________________ 

Utility signature signifies only receipt of this form, in compliance with 20VAC5-314-40, the State Corporation 
Commission's Regulations Governing Interconnection of Small Electrical Generators. ] 

Schedule 2 

Certification of Small Generator Equipment Packages 

Small generating facility equipment proposed for use 
separately or packaged with other equipment in an 
interconnection system shall be considered certified for 
interconnected operation if (i) it has been tested in accordance 
with industry standards for continuous utility interactive 
operation in compliance with the appropriate codes and 
standards referenced below by any Nationally Recognized 
Testing Laboratory (NRTL) recognized by the United States 
Occupational Safety and Health Administration to test and 
certify interconnection equipment pursuant to the relevant 
codes and standards listed in SGIP Schedule 3, (ii) it has been 
labeled and is publicly listed by such NRTL at the time of the 
interconnection application, and (iii) such NRTL makes 
readily available for verification all test standards and 
procedures it utilized in performing such equipment 
certification, and, with consumer approval, the test data itself. 
The NRTL may make such information available on its 
website and by encouraging such information to be included 
in the manufacturer's literature accompanying the equipment. 

The interconnection customer must verify that the intended 
use of the equipment falls within the use or uses for which the 
equipment was tested, labeled, and listed by the NRTL. 

Certified equipment shall not require further type-test 
review, testing, or additional equipment to meet the 
requirements of this interconnection procedure; however, 
nothing herein shall preclude the need for an on-site 
commissioning test by the parties to the interconnection nor 
follow up production testing by the NRTL. 

If the certified equipment package includes only interface 
components (switchgear, inverters, or other interface 

devices), then an [ interconnection customer IC ] must show 
that the generator or other electric source being utilized with 
the equipment package is compatible with the equipment 
package and is consistent with the testing and listing specified 
for this type of interconnection equipment. 

Provided the generator or electric source, when combined 
with the equipment package, is within the range of 
capabilities for which it was tested by the NRTL, and does 
not violate the interface components' labeling and listing 
performed by the NRTL, no further design review, testing or 
additional equipment on the customer side of the point of 
[ common coupling interconnection ] shall be required to 
meet the requirements of this interconnection procedure. 

An equipment package does not include equipment provided 
by the utility. 

Schedule 3 

Certification Codes and Standards 

IEEE1547 Standard for Interconnecting Distributed 
Resources with Electric Power Systems (including use of 
IEEE 1547.1 testing protocols to establish conformity)  

UL 1741 Inverters, Converters, and Controllers for Use in 
Independent Power Systems  

IEEE Std 929-2000 IEEE Recommended Practice for Utility 
Interface of Photovoltaic (PV) Systems  

NFPA 70 (2005), National Electrical Code  

IEEE Std C37.90.1-1989 (R1994), IEEE Standard Surge 
Withstand Capability (SWC) Tests for Protective Relays and 
Relay Systems  
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IEEE Std C37.90.2 (1995), IEEE Standard Withstand 
Capability of Relay Systems to Radiated Electromagnetic 
Interference from Transceivers  

IEEE Std C37.108-1989 (R2002), IEEE Guide for the 
Protection of Network Transformers  

IEEE Std C57.12.44-2000, IEEE Standard Requirements for 
Secondary Network Protectors  

IEEE Std C62.41.2-2002, IEEE Recommended Practice on 
Characterization of Surges in Low Voltage (1000V and Less) 
AC Power Circuits  

IEEE Std C62.45-1992 (R2002), IEEE Recommended 
Practice on Surge Testing for Equipment Connected to Low-
Voltage (1000V and Less) AC Power Circuits  

ANSI C84.1-1995 Electric Power Systems and Equipment – 
Voltage Ratings (60 Hertz)  

IEEE Std 100-2000, IEEE Standard Dictionary of Electrical 
and Electronic Terms  

NEMA MG 1-1998, Motors and Small Resources, Revision 3  

IEEE Std 519-1992, IEEE Recommended Practices and 
Requirements for Harmonic Control in Electrical Power 
Systems  

NEMA MG 1-2003 (Rev 2004), Motors and Generators, 
Revision 1 

Schedule 4 

[ LEVEL LEVELS ] 2 AND 3 INTERCONNECTION 
REQUEST FORM [ FOR ] SMALL GENERATING 

[ FACILITIES FACILITY ] LESS THAN 20 MW 

[ Distribution 
Company:________________________________________ 

Designated Contact Person: 
________________________________________ 

Address: 
________________________________________________ 

Telephone Number: ____________________ 

Fax:________________________________ 

E-Mail Address: 
________________________________________________ 

  

An Interconnection Request is considered complete when it 
provides all applicable and correct information required 
below. 

  

Processing Fee or Deposit 

If the Interconnection Request is submitted as Level 2, the 
nonrefundable processing fee payable to the distribution 
company is $500. 

  

If the interconnection request is submitted as Level 3, the 
interconnection customer shall submit to the distribution 
company a deposit not to exceed $1,000 towards the cost of 
the feasibility study. 

  

Interconnection Customer Information 

Legal Name of the Interconnection Customer (or, if an 
individual, individual's name) 

Name:___________________________________________ 

Account Number: 
________________________________________________ 

Contact 
person:__________________________________________ 

Mailing 
Address:_________________________________________ 

City: State: 
Zip:_____________________________________________ 

Facility location (if different from 
above):_______________________________ 

Telephone (Day): __________________ Telephone 
(Evening): _____________ 

Fax: _________________________ E-Mail 
Address:_____________________ 

Alternative contact information (if different from the 
interconnection customer) 

Contact Name: 
________________________________________________ 

Title: 
________________________________________________ 

Address:_________________________________________ 

________________________________________________ 

Telephone (Day): ________________ Telephone 
(Evening): ________________ 

Fax: __________________________ E-Mail Address: 
____________________ 

  

New Small Generating 
Facility 

Application is for: 

Capacity addition to 
Existing Small Generating 
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Facility 

If capacity addition to existing facility, please describe: 
_____________________________________________ 

Will the Small Generating Facility be used for any of 
the following? 

To supply power to the interconnection 
customer? Yes ___No ___ 

  

To supply power to others? Yes ___ No ___ 

      

Contact Name: 
________________________________________________ 

Title: 
________________________________________________ 

Address: 
________________________________________________ 

Telephone (Day): _________________ Telephone 
(Evening): ______________ 

Fax: ________________ E-Mail Address: _____________ 

Requested point of interconnection: 
____________________________________ 

Interconnection customer's requested in-service date: 
______________________ 

  

Section 1. Interconnection Customer Information 

Name:                                                                                       

Contact 
person:                                                                                     

Mailing 
address:                                                                                    

City: State: 
Zip:                                                                                           

Utility and account number: 
                                                                                   

Energy Service Provider and account 
number:                                                      

Facility 
address:                                                                                    

Telephone (Day): ___________ (Evening):                            

Fax: _______________ E-Mail:                                            

Alternative contact information  

Contact Name: 
                                                                                                 

Title: 
                                                                                                 

Mailing Address: 
________________________________________________ 

City: State: 
Zip:                                                                                           

Telephone (Day): __________   (Evening):                            

Fax: __________________ E-Mail:                                        

Application is for:  New Small Generating Facility ______  
Capacity addition ______ 

If capacity addition to existing facility, please describe:  
                                                                                                 

The Small Generating Facility will supply: Interconnection 
Customer  ___ others ____ 

Point of Interconnection: 
                                                                                        

Interconnection Customer's requested in-service date: 
                                         

  

Section 2. Processing Fee or Deposit 

If the Interconnection Request is submitted as Level 2, the 
nonrefundable processing fee payable to the utility is $500. 

If the Interconnection Request is submitted as Level 3, the 
Interconnection Customer shall submit to the Utility the 
deposit is $1,000, or 50% of the estimated cost of the 
Feasibility Study, whichever is less. 

  

Section 3. ] Small Generating Facility Information 

Data apply only to the small generating facility, not the 
interconnection facilities. 

Energy Source: ___ Solar ___ Wind ___ Hydro ___ Hydro 
Type [ (e.g. Run-of-River) ]:_________  

Diesel ___ Natural Gas ___ Fuel Oil ___ Other ([ state type 
describe ]) ______________________________ 

Prime Mover: Fuel Cell__ Recip Engine__ Gas Turb__ 
Steam Turb__ Microturbine__ PV__ Other 
[ (describe)                                                                ] 

Type of Generator: [ ____ ] Synchronous ____Induction 
____ Inverter [        ] 

Generator Nameplate Rating: ________kW [ (Typical) ] 
Generator Nameplate kVAR: ______ 

  

Interconnection customer or customer-site load: 
_________________kW [ (if none, so state) ] 
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Typical reactive load [ (if known) ]: _________________ 

  

Maximum physical export capability requested: 
______________ kW 

  

List components of the small generating facility equipment 
package that are currently certified: 

  

Equipment [ Type ]  Certifying Entity 

1.________________ 1.___________________ 

2.________________ 2.___________________ 

3.________________ 3.___________________ 

4.________________ 4.___________________ 

5.________________ 5.___________________ 

  

Is the prime mover compatible with the certified protective 
relay package? [ ____]Yes ____No [ ____ ] 

  

Generator (or solar collector) 

Manufacturer, model name & 
number:_____________________________________ 

Version 
Number:_________________________________________ 

  

Nameplate Output Power Rating in kW: (Summer) 
_________ (Winter) ______ 

Nameplate Output Power Rating in kVA: (Summer) 
________ (Winter) _______ 

  

Individual Generator Power Factor 

Rated Power Factor: Leading: _____________Lagging: 
_______________ 

  

Total number of generators in wind farm to be 
interconnected pursuant to this 

Interconnection Request: [ _______ ] Elevation: ____ 
___Single phase ___Three phase [ ____________ ] 

  

Inverter manufacturer, model name & number [ (if 
used) ]:___________________ 

  

List of adjustable set points for the protective equipment or 
software:_________ 

  

Note: A completed power systems load flow data sheet 
must be supplied with the Interconnection Request. 

  

Small Generating Facility Characteristic Data (for inverter-
based machines) 

Max design fault contribution current:________ 
Instantaneous_____ or RMS [ ? ] _________ 

Harmonics characteristics: 
__________________________________________ 

Start-up requirements: 
_____________________________________________ 

  

Small Generating Facility Characteristic Data (for rotating 
machines) 

RPM Frequency: 
_______________________________________________ 

[ (*) ] Neutral Grounding Resistor (If Applicable): 
____________ 

Synchronous Generators: 

  

Direct Axis Synchronous Reactance, Xd: _______ P.U. 

Direct Axis Transient Reactance, X'd: ___________ P.U. 

Direct Axis Subtransient Reactance, X"d: 
______________P.U. 

Negative Sequence Reactance, X2: _________ P.U. 

Zero Sequence Reactance, X0: ____________ P.U. 

KVA Base: __________________________ 

Field Volts: ______________ 

Field Amperes: ______________ 

  

Induction Generators: 

Motoring Power (kW): ______________ 

[ I2 2t I2t ] or K (Heating Time Constant): ______________ 

Rotor Resistance, Rr: ______________ 
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Stator Resistance, Rs: ______________ 

Stator Reactance, Xs: ______________ 

Rotor Reactance, Xr: ______________ 

Magnetizing Reactance, Xm: ______________ 

Short Circuit Reactance, Xd'': ______________ 

Exciting Current: ______________ 

Temperature Rise: ______________ 

Frame Size: ______________ 

Design Letter: ______________ 

Reactive Power Required In Vars (No Load): 
______________ 

Reactive Power Required In Vars (Full Load): 
______________ 

Total Rotating Inertia, H: _____________ Per Unit on kVA 
[ Base base ] 

  

Excitation and Governor System Data for Synchronous 
Generators Only 

  

Provide appropriate IEEE model block diagram of 
excitation system, governor system and power system 
stabilizer (PSS) in accordance with the regional reliability 
council criteria. A PSS may be determined to be required by 
applicable studies. A copy of the manufacturer's block 
diagram may not be substituted. 

  

[ Section 4. Customer's ] Interconnection Facilities 
Information 

Will a transformer be used between the generator and the 
point of [ common coupling interconnection ] ? [ ___ ] Yes 
____No [ ____ ] 

Will the transformer be provided by the interconnection 
customer? [ ____ ] Yes ____No [ ____ ] 

  

Transformer Data (If applicable, for interconnection 
customer-owned transformer): 

Is the transformer: [ ____ ] single phase _____three phase 
[ ? ___ ] Size: [ ___________ ] kVA [ _____ ] 

Transformer Impedance: _______% on __________kVA 
[ Base base] 

  

If Three Phase: 

Transformer Primary:_____      Volts _____ Delta 
_____Wye _____ Wye Grounded 

Transformer Secondary: _____Volts _____ Delta 
_____Wye _____ Wye Grounded 

Transformer Tertiary:_____       Volts _____ Delta 
_____Wye _____ Wye Grounded 

  

Transformer Fuse Data (If applicable, for interconnection 
customer-owned fuse): 

(Attach copy of fuse manufacturer's minimum melt and 
total clearing time-current curves) 

Manufacturer: ____________ Type: __________ Size: 
______Speed: _______ 

  

Interconnecting Circuit Breaker (if applicable): 

Manufacturer: ___________________ Type: __________ 

Load Rating (Amps): ______ Interrupting Rating (Amps): 
_______ Trip Speed (Cycles): ______ 

Interconnection Protective Relays (If Applicable): 

  

If microprocessor-controlled: 

Manufacturer: _________________________ Type: 
_____________________ Model No. ___________ 
Firmware ID: _____________ Instruction Book No. 
______________ 

List of functions and adjustable setpoints for the protective 
equipment or software: 

  

Setpoint Function Minimum Maximum 

1.________________ ____________ __________ 

2.________________ ____________ __________ 

3.________________ ____________ __________ 

4.________________ ____________ __________ 

5.________________ ____________ __________ 

6.________________ ____________ __________ 

  

If Discrete Components: 

(Enclose copy of any proposed time-overcurrent 
coordination curves) 
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Manufacturer: ___________Type: _______ Style/Catalog 
No.: ______ Proposed Setting: ______ 

Manufacturer: ___________Type: _______ Style/Catalog 
No.: ______ Proposed Setting: ______ 

Manufacturer: ___________Type: _______ Style/Catalog 
No.: ______ Proposed Setting: ______ 

Manufacturer: ___________Type: _______ Style/Catalog 
No.: ______ Proposed Setting: ______ 

Manufacturer: ___________Type: _______ Style/Catalog 
No.: ______ Proposed Setting: ______ 

  

Current Transformer Data (If applicable): 

(Enclose copy of manufacturer's excitation and ratio 
correction curves) 

Manufacturer:____________________________________ 

Type: _______ Accuracy Class: ________Proposed Ratio 
Connection: ____ 

Manufacturer:____________________________________ 

Type: _______ Accuracy Class: ________Proposed Ratio 
Connection: ____ 

  

Potential Transformer Data (If applicable): 

Manufacturer:____________________________________ 

Type: __________ Accuracy Class: _______Proposed 
Ratio Connection: ____ 

Manufacturer:____________________________________ 

Type: ________ Accuracy Class: _________Proposed 
Ratio Connection: ____ 

  

[ Section 5. ] General Information 

  

Enclose [ a ] copy of [ the ] site electrical one-line diagram 
showing the configuration of [ all the ] small generating 
facility equipment, current and potential circuits, and 
protection and control schemes.  

  

Enclose [ a ] copy of any site documentation that indicates 
the precise physical location of the proposed [ small 
generating facility SGF ] (e.g., United States Geological 
Survey [ (USGS) ] topographic map or other diagram or 
documentation). 

  

[ Proposed Describe the proposed ] location of [ the ] 
protective interface equipment on [ the ] property [ (include 
address if different from the interconnection customer's 
address) ] 
________________________________________________ 

  

Enclose [ a ] copy of any site documentation that describes 
and details the operation of the protection and control 
schemes. Is available documentation enclosed? [ ___ ] Yes 
____No [ ____ ] 

  

Enclose copies of schematic drawings for all protection and 
control circuits, relay current circuits, relay potential 
circuits, and alarm/monitoring circuits (if applicable). 

Are schematic drawings enclosed? [ ___ ] Yes ____No 
[ ____ ] 

  

[ Applicant Section 6.  Interconnection Customer ] 
Signature 

I hereby certify that, to the best of my knowledge, all the 
information provided in this Interconnection Request is true 
and correct. 

  

[ For Interconnection Customer Signature ] : 
_________________________ Date: 
___________________________________ 

  

[ Section 7. Utility Acknowledgement of Receipt 

Signed:                                                                                      

Title:                                                                                          

Utility:                                                                                       

Date:                                                              

  

Utility signature signifies only receipt of this form, in 
compliance with 20VAC5-314-50 of the State Corporation 
Commission's Regulations Governing Interconnection of 
Small Electrical Generators. ] 

  

[ Schedule 5 

LEVELS 2 AND 3 FACILITIES STUDY 
INFORMATION FORM FOR SMALL GENERATING 

FACILITIES LESS THAN 20 MW 

1. Provide a location plan and simplified one-line diagram of 
the plant and station facilities. For staged projects, indicate 
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future generation, future transmission circuits, and other 
major future facilities. On the one-line diagram, show (i) each 
generator, its electric connection configuration, and its 
generation capacity, (ii) the location and capacity of auxiliary 
power, and (iii) minimum load on CT/PT. 

2. One set of metering is required for each generation 
connection to the new ring bus or existing utility station. 
Indicate the number of generation connections requiring a 
metering set: _____________________ 

3. Indicate whether an alternate source of auxiliary power will 
be available during CT/PT maintenance. Yes ___________ 
No ________________ 

4. Indicate whether a transfer bus on the generation side of 
the metering will require that each meter set be designed for 
the total plant generation. Indicate such on the one-line 
diagram. Yes ________ No _____  

5. State the type of control system or Programmable Logic 
Controller (PLC) that will be located at the small generating 
facility. 

_________________________________________________
_________________________________________________ 

6. State the protocol used by the control system or PLC. 
_________________________________________________
____________________ 

7. Provide a 7.5-minute quadrangle map of the site. Indicate 
the plant, station, transmission line, and property lines.  

8. State the physical dimensions of the proposed 
interconnection station. 

_________________________________________________
_________________________________________________
______________ 

9. State the bus length from generation to interconnection 
station.  

_________________________________________________
_________________________________________________
______________ 

10. Provide a diagram or description of the point of 
interconnection desired by the IC that is to be the point of 
interconnection in the system impact study report. 

11. State the line length from interconnection station to utility 
system.  

_________________________________________________
_________________________________________________
______________ 

12. State the pole or tower number observed in the field 
affixed to the pole or tower leg. 
_____________________________________________ 

13. State the number of third party easements required for 
distribution or transmission lines.  

_________________________________________________
_________________________________________________
______________ 

14. Provide the following proposed schedule dates: 

a. Date IC to begin construction: 
______________________________________________ 

b. Date generator step-up transformers to receive back 
feed power: ______________________ 

c. Date IC will test SGF: 
______________________________________________ 

d. Date IC will place SGF into commercial operation: 
_________________________________ ] 

  

Schedule [ 5 6 ] 

[ LEVEL 3 ] SMALL GENERATOR 
INTERCONNECTION AGREEMENT (SGIA) 

[ (For Small Generating Facilities Subject to the Level 3 
Process) ] 

  

This [ Small Generator ] Interconnection Agreement 
("Agreement") is made and entered into this ______ day of 
____________, 20__, by __________________ 

[ ("Distribution Company Utility ]"), and 
_________________________________ 

("Interconnection Customer") each hereinafter sometimes 
referred to individually as "Party" or both referred to 
collectively as the "Parties." 

  

[ Distribution Company Utility ] Information 

[ Distribution Company Utility ]: 
_____________________________________________ 

Attention: 
________________________________________________ 

Address: 
________________________________________________
________ 

[ City: ________________________ State: 
________________ Zip: _________ 

City, State, 
Zip:___________________________________________ ] 

Phone: _____________ Fax: _______________________ 
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Interconnection Customer Information 

Interconnection Customer: 
__________________________________________ 

Attention: 
________________________________________________ 

Address: 
________________________________________________ 

[ City: _________________________ State: 
_______________ Zip: _________ 

City, State, 
Zip:___________________________________________ ] 

Phone: _______________________ Fax: 
_____________________________ 

  

Interconnection Customer Application No: _____________ 

  

In consideration of the mutual covenants set forth herein, 
the Parties agree as follows: 

  

Article 1. Scope and Limitations of Agreement 

1.1 This Agreement shall be used for all Interconnection 
Requests submitted under the [ Small Generator 
Interconnection Procedures (SGIP) Level 3 interconnections 
pursuant to the Commission's Regulations Governing 
Interconnection of Small Electrical Generators, Chapter 314 
of the Virginia Administrative Code ]. 

1.2 This Agreement governs the terms and conditions under 
which the Interconnection Customer's [ ("IC") ] Small 
Generating Facility [ ("SGF") ] will interconnect with, and 
operate in parallel with, the [ utility's distribution utility ] 
system. 

1.3 This Agreement does not constitute an agreement to 
purchase or deliver the Interconnection Customer's power. 
The purchase or delivery of power and other services [ , 
including station service or backup power, ] that the 
[ Interconnection Customer IC ] may require will be covered 
under separate agreements [ , possibly with other parties ]. 
The [ Interconnection Customer IC ] will be responsible for 
separately making all necessary arrangements (including 
scheduling) for delivery of electricity with the applicable 
[ Distribution Company utility and provider of transmission 
service ]. 

1.4 Nothing in this Agreement is intended to affect any other 
agreement between the [ Distribution Company utility ] and 
the [ Interconnection Customer IC ]. 

1.5 Responsibilities of the Parties 

1.5.1 The Parties shall perform all obligations of this 
Agreement in accordance with all applicable laws and 
regulations, operating requirements, and Good 
[ Distribution Company Utility ] Practice. 

1.5.2 The [ Interconnection Customer IC ] shall construct, 
interconnect, operate and maintain its [ Small Generating 
Facility SGF ] and construct, operate, and maintain its 
[ Customer's ] Interconnection Facilities in accordance 
with the applicable manufacturer's recommended 
maintenance schedule, in accordance with this Agreement, 
and with Good [ Distribution Company Utility ] Practice. 

1.5.3 The [ Distribution Company utility ] shall construct, 
operate, and maintain its distribution and transmission 
system and [ interconnection attachment ] facilities in 
accordance with this Agreement, and with Good 
[ Distribution Company Utility ] Practice. 

1.5.4 The [ Interconnection Customer IC ] agrees to 
construct its facilities [ or systems ] in accordance with 
applicable specifications that meet or exceed those 
provided by the National Electrical Safety Code, the 
American National Standards Institute, IEEE, 
Underwriter's Laboratory, and operating requirements in 
effect at the time of construction and other applicable 
national and state codes and standards. The 
[ Interconnection Customer IC ] agrees to design, install, 
maintain, and operate its [ small generating facility SGF ] 
so as to reasonably minimize the likelihood of a 
disturbance adversely affecting or impairing the system or 
equipment of the [ Distribution Company utility ] or 
affected systems [ and to otherwise maintain and operate 
its SGF in accordance with the specifications and 
certifications under which the SGF was initially installed 
and interconnected ]. 

1.5.5 Each Party shall operate, maintain, repair, and 
inspect, and shall be fully responsible for the facilities that 
it now or subsequently may own unless otherwise specified 
in the Attachments to this Agreement. Each Party shall be 
responsible for the safe installation, maintenance, repair 
and condition of their respective lines and appurtenances 
on their respective sides of the point of change of 
ownership. The [ Distribution Company utility ] and the 
[ Interconnection Customer IC ], as appropriate, shall 
provide [ Interconnection Attachment ] Facilities [ and 
Customer's Interconnection Facilities ] that adequately 
protect the [ Distribution Company's Transmission System, 
utility's ] personnel, and other persons from damage and 
injury. The allocation of responsibility for the design, 
installation, operation, maintenance and ownership of 
[ Interconnection Attachment ] Facilities [ and Customer's 
Interconnection Facilities ] shall be delineated in the 
Attachments to this Agreement. [ The design, installation, 
operation, and maintenance of such facilities shall be the 
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responsibility of the owner except as otherwise provided 
for in this Agreement. ] 

1.5.6 The [ Distribution Company utility ] shall coordinate 
with all affected systems to support the interconnection. 

1.6 Parallel operation obligations 

Once the [ small generating facility SGF ] has been 
authorized to commence parallel operation, the 
[ Interconnection Customer IC ] shall abide by all rules and 
procedures pertaining to the parallel operation of the [ small 
generating facility SGF ] including, but not limited to the 
rules and procedures concerning the operation of generation 
set forth in the tariff. 

1.7 Metering 

The [ Interconnection Customer IC ] shall be responsible for 
the [ Distribution Company's utility's ] reasonable and 
necessary cost for the purchase, installation, operation, 
maintenance, testing, repair, and replacement of metering and 
data acquisition equipment specified in Attachments 2 and 3 
of this Agreement. The [ Interconnection Customer's IC's ] 
metering (and data acquisition, as required) equipment shall 
conform to applicable industry rules and operating 
requirements. 

1.8 Reactive power 

1.8.1 The [ Interconnection Customer IC ] shall design its 
[ small generating facility SGF ] to maintain a composite 
power delivery at continuous rated power output at the 
point of interconnection at a power factor within the range 
of 0.95 leading to 0.95 lagging, unless the [ Distribution 
Company utility ] has established different requirements 
that apply to all similarly situated generators in the control 
area on a comparable basis. The requirements of this 
paragraph shall not apply to wind generators.  

1.8.2 The [ Distribution Company utility ] is required to 
pay the Interconnection Customer for reactive power that 
the [ Interconnection Customer IC ] provides or absorbs 
from the [ small generating facility SGF ] when the 
[ Distribution Company utility ] requests the 
[ Interconnection Customer IC ] to operate its [ small 
generating facility SGF ] outside the range specified in 
article 1.8.1. In addition, if the [ Distribution Company 
utility ] pays its own or affiliated generators for reactive 
power service within the specified range, it must [ also 
similarly ] pay the [ Interconnection Customer IC ]. 

1.8.3 Payments shall be in accordance with the 
[ Interconnection Customer's IC's ] applicable rate schedule 
[ then as may be ] in effect [ and accepted by the 
appropriate government authority ]. To the extent that no 
rate schedule is in effect at the time the Interconnection 
Customer is required to provide or absorb reactive power 
under this Agreement, the [ Parties agree to IC may ] 
expeditiously file such rate schedule [ and agree with the 

appropriate government authority, and the utility agrees ] 
to support any request for waiver of [ the State Corporation 
Commission's any ] prior notice requirement [ of such 
authority ] in order to [ compensate permit compensation 
to ] the [ Interconnection Customer IC ] from the time 
service commenced. 

1.9 Capitalized terms used herein shall have the meanings 
specified in the [ Glossary of Terms definitions ] in 
Attachment 1 to Schedule [ 5 6 ] or [ in ] the body of this 
Agreement. 

Article 2. Inspection, Testing, Authorization, and Right of 
Access 

2.1 Equipment testing and inspection 

2.1.1 The Interconnection Customer shall test and inspect 
its small generating facility and interconnection facilities 
prior to interconnection. The [ Interconnection Customer 
IC ] shall notify the [ Distribution Company utility ] of 
such activities no fewer than five business days (or as may 
be agreed to by the Parties) prior to such testing and 
inspection. Testing and inspection shall occur on a 
business day. The [ Distribution Company utility ] may, at 
its own expense, send qualified personnel to the [ small 
generating facility SGF ] site to inspect the interconnection 
and observe the testing. The [ Interconnection Customer 
IC ] shall provide the [ Distribution Company utility ] a 
written test report when such testing and inspection is 
completed.  

2.1.2 The [ Distribution Company utility ] shall provide the 
[ Interconnection Customer IC ] written acknowledgment 
that it has received the [ Interconnection Customer's IC's ] 
written test report. Such written acknowledgment shall not 
be deemed to be or construed as any representation, 
assurance, guarantee, or warranty by the [ Distribution 
Company utility ] of the safety, durability, suitability, or 
reliability of the [ small generating facility SGF ] or any 
associated control, protective, and safety devices owned or 
controlled by the [ Interconnection Customer IC ] or the 
quality of power produced by the [ small generating 
facility SGF ]. 

2.2 Authorization required prior to parallel operation 

2.2.1 The [ Distribution Company utility ] shall use 
reasonable efforts to list applicable parallel operation 
requirements in Attachment 5 of this Agreement. 
Additionally, the [ Distribution Company utility ] shall 
notify the Interconnection Customer of any changes to 
these requirements as soon as they are known. The 
[ Distribution Company utility ] shall make reasonable 
efforts to cooperate with the [ Interconnection Customer 
IC ] in meeting requirements necessary for the 
[ Interconnection Customer IC ] to commence parallel 
operations by the in-service date. 
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2.2.2 The [ Interconnection Customer IC ] shall not operate 
its [ small generating facility SGF ] in parallel with the 
[ Distribution Company's utility's ] system without prior 
written authorization of the [ Distribution Company 
utility]. The [ Distribution Company utility ] will provide 
such authorization once the [ Distribution Company 
utility ] receives notification that the [ Interconnection 
Customer IC ] has complied with all applicable parallel 
operation requirements. Such authorization shall not be 
unreasonably withheld, conditioned, or delayed. 

2.3 Right of access 

2.3.1 Upon reasonable notice, the [ Distribution Company 
utility ] may send a qualified person to the premises of the 
Interconnection Customer at or immediately before the 
time the [ small generating facility SGF ] first produces 
energy to inspect the interconnection, and observe the 
commissioning of the [ small generating facility SGF ] 
(including any required testing), startup, and operation for 
a period of up to three business days after initial start-up of 
the unit. In addition, the [ Interconnection Customer IC ] 
shall notify the [ Distribution Company utility ] at least 
five business days prior to conducting any on-site 
verification testing of the [ small generating facility SGF ]. 

2.3.2 Following the initial inspection process described 
above, at reasonable hours, and upon reasonable notice, or 
at any time without notice in the event of an emergency or 
hazardous condition, the [ Distribution Company utility ] 
shall have access to the Interconnection Customer's 
premises for any reasonable purpose in connection with the 
performance of the obligations imposed on it by this 
Agreement or if necessary to meet its legal obligation to 
provide service to its customers. 

2.3.3 Each Party shall be responsible for its own costs 
associated with [ following ] this article. 

Article 3. Effective Date, Term, Termination, and 
Disconnection 

3.1 Effective date 

This Agreement shall become effective upon execution by 
the Parties [ subject to acceptance by the State Corporation 
Commission's Division of Energy Regulation (if applicable), 
or if filed unexecuted, upon the date specified by the State 
Corporation Commission's Division of Energy Regulation]. 
The [ Distribution Company utility ] shall promptly file this 
Agreement with the [ State Corporation ] Commission's 
Division of Energy Regulation upon execution [ , if 
required ]. 

3.2 Term of Agreement 

This Agreement [ shall become effective on the effective 
date and ] shall remain in effect for a period of 10 years from 
the effective date or such other longer period as the 

Interconnection Customer may request and shall be 
automatically renewed for each successive one-year period 
thereafter, unless terminated earlier in accordance with article 
3.3 of this Agreement. 

3.3 Termination 

No termination shall become effective until the Parties have 
complied with all applicable laws and regulations applicable 
to such termination, including the filing with the [ State 
Corporation ] Commission's Division of Energy Regulation 
of a notice of termination of this Agreement [ (if required), 
which notice has been accepted for filing by commission's 
Division of Energy Regulation ]. 

3.3.1 The Interconnection Customer may terminate this 
Agreement at any time by giving the [ Distribution 
Company utility ] 20 business days written notice. 

3.3.2 Either Party may terminate this Agreement after 
default pursuant to article 7.6. 

3.3.3 Upon termination of this Agreement, the [ small 
generating facility Small Generating Facility ] will be 
disconnected from the [ Distribution Company's utility ] 
system. The termination of this Agreement shall not relieve 
either Party of its liabilities and obligations, owed or 
continuing at the time of the termination. 

[ 3.3.4 This provisions of this article shall survive 
termination or expiration of this Agreement. ] 

3.4 Temporary disconnection 

Temporary disconnection shall continue only for so long as 
reasonably necessary under Good [ Distribution Company 
Utility ] Practice. 

3.4.1 Emergency Conditions -- "Emergency Condition" 
shall mean a condition or situation: (i) that in the judgment 
of the Party making the claim is imminently likely to 
endanger life or property; or (ii) that, in the case of the 
[ Distribution Company utility ], is imminently likely (as 
determined in a non-discriminatory manner) to cause a 
material adverse effect on the security of, or damage to the 
[ distribution utility ] system, the [ Distribution Company's 
Interconnection Attachment ] Facilities or the electrical 
facilities of others to which the [ Distribution Company's 
distribution utility ] system is directly connected; or (iii) 
that, in the case of the Interconnection Customer, is 
imminently likely (as determined in a non-discriminatory 
manner) to cause a material adverse effect on the security 
of, or damage to, the [ small generating facility Small 
Generating Facility ] or the [ Interconnection ] Customer's 
[ interconnection facilities Interconnection Facilities ]. 
Under emergency conditions, the [ Distribution Company 
utility ] may immediately suspend interconnection service 
and temporarily disconnect the [ small generating facility 
SGF ]. The [ Distribution Company utility ] shall notify the 
[ Interconnection Customer IC ] promptly when it becomes 
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aware of an emergency condition that may reasonably be 
expected to affect the [ Interconnection Customer's IC's ] 
operation of the [ small generating facility SGF ]. The 
[ Interconnection Customer IC ] shall notify the 
[ Distribution Company utility ] promptly when it becomes 
aware of an emergency condition that may reasonably be 
expected to affect the [ Distribution Company's utility ] 
system or other affected systems. To the extent information 
is known, the notification shall describe the emergency 
condition, the extent of the damage or deficiency, the 
expected effect on the operation of both Parties' facilities 
and operations, its anticipated duration, and the necessary 
corrective action. 

3.4.2 Routine maintenance, construction, and repair 

The [ Distribution Company utility ] may interrupt 
interconnection service or curtail the output of the [ small 
generating facility SGF ] and temporarily disconnect the 
[ small generating facility SGF ] from the [ Distribution 
Company's distribution utility's ] system when necessary 
for routine maintenance, construction, and repairs on the 
[ Distribution Company's distribution utility ] system. The 
[ Distribution Company utility ] shall provide the 
[ Interconnection Customer IC ] with [ at least ] five 
business days notice prior to such interruption [ unless 
circumstances require shorter notice ]. The [ Distribution 
Company utility ] shall use reasonable efforts to coordinate 
such reduction or temporary disconnection with the 
[ Interconnection Customer IC ]. 

3.4.3 Forced outages 

During any forced outage, the [ Distribution Company 
utility ] may suspend interconnection service to effect 
immediate repairs on the [ Distribution Company's 
distribution utility ] system. The [ Distribution Company 
utility ] shall use reasonable efforts to provide the 
[ Interconnection Customer IC ] with prior notice. If prior 
notice is not given, the [ Distribution Company utility ] 
shall, upon request, provide the [ Interconnection Customer 
IC ] written documentation after the fact explaining the 
circumstances of the disconnection. 

3.4.4 Adverse operating effects 

The [ Distribution Company utility ] shall notify the 
[ Interconnection Customer IC ] as soon as practicable if, 
based on Good [ Distribution Company Utility ] Practice, 
operation of the [ small generating facility SGF ] may 
cause disruption or deterioration of service to other 
customers served from the [ same electric utility ] system 
[ or affected systems], or if operating the [ small generating 
facility SGF ] could cause damage to the [ Distribution 
Company's distribution utility ] system or affected systems. 
Supporting documentation used to reach the decision to 
disconnect shall be provided to the [ Interconnection 
Customer IC ] upon request. If, after notice, the 

[ Interconnection Customer IC ] fails to remedy the 
adverse operating effect within a reasonable time, the 
[ Distribution Company utility ] may disconnect the [ small 
generating facility SGF ]. The [ Distribution Company 
utility ] shall provide the [ Interconnection Customer IC ] 
with a five business day notice of such disconnection, 
unless the provisions of article 3.4.1 apply. 

3.4.5 Modification of the [ small generating facility Small 
Generating Facility ] 

The Interconnection Customer must receive written 
authorization from the [ Distribution Company utility ] 
before making [ any change changes ] to the [ small 
generating facility SGF or mode of operations ] that may 
have a material impact on the safety or reliability of the 
[ Distribution Company's utility ] system [ or affected 
system ]. Such authorization shall not be unreasonably 
withheld. Modifications shall be done in accordance with 
Good [ Distribution Company Utility ] Practice. If the 
[ Interconnection Customer IC ] makes such [ modification 
modifications ] without the [ Distribution Company's 
utility's ] prior written authorization, the latter shall have 
the right to temporarily disconnect the [ small generating 
facility SGF ]. 

3.4.6 Reconnection 

The Parties shall cooperate with each other to restore the 
[ small generating facility SGF ], interconnection facilities, 
and the [ Distribution Company's distribution utility ] 
system to their normal operating state as soon as 
reasonably practicable following a temporary 
disconnection. 

Article 4. Cost Responsibility for [ Customer's ] 
Interconnection Facilities [ , Attachment Facilities, ] and 
Distribution Upgrades 

4.1 [ Customer's ] Interconnection [ facilities Facilities ] 

[ The IC shall be responsible for the costs associated with 
owning, operating, maintaining, repairing, and replacing 
the Customer's Interconnection Facilities. ] 

[ 4.1.1 4.2 Attachment Facilities ] 

The [ Interconnection Customer IC ] shall pay for [ the cost 
of one-time and ongoing costs of installing, owning, 
operating, maintaining and replacing ] the [ interconnection 
attachment ] facilities itemized in Attachment 2 of this 
Agreement. The [ Distribution Company utility ] shall 
provide [ a best estimate an estimated ] cost [ , including 
overheads, ] for the purchase and construction of [ its 
interconnection the attachment ] facilities and provide a 
detailed itemization of such costs. Costs associated with 
[ interconnection attachment ] facilities may be shared with 
other entities that may benefit from such facilities by 
agreement of the [ Interconnection Customer IC ], such 
other entities, and the [ Distribution Company utility ]. 
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[ 4.1.2 The Interconnection Customer shall be responsible 
for its share of all reasonable expenses, including 
overheads, associated with (i) owning, operating, 
maintaining, repairing, and replacing its own 
interconnection facilities, and (ii) operating, maintaining, 
repairing, and replacing the Distribution Company's 
interconnection facilities. 

4.2 4.3 ] Distribution upgrades 

The [ Distribution Company utility ] shall design, procure, 
construct, install, and own the distribution upgrades 
described in Attachment 6 of this Agreement. [ The actual 
cost of the distribution upgrades shall be directly assigned 
to the IC. ] If the [ Distribution Company utility ] and the 
[ Interconnection Customer IC ] agree, the 
[ Interconnection Customer IC ] may construct distribution 
upgrades that are located on land owned by the 
[ Interconnection Customer IC ]. [ The actual cost of the 
distribution upgrades, including overheads, shall be 
directly assigned to the Interconnection Customer. ] 

[ Article 5. Cost Responsibility for System Upgrades 

5.1 Applicability 

No portion of this article 5 shall apply unless the 
interconnection of the small generating facility requires 
system upgrades. 

5.2 System upgrades 

The Distribution Company shall design, procure, construct, 
install, and own the system upgrades described in Attachment 
3 of this Agreement. If the Distribution Company and the 
Interconnection Customer agree, the Interconnection 
Customer may construct system upgrades that are located on 
land owned by the Interconnection Customer. Unless the 
Distribution Company elects to pay for system upgrades, the 
actual cost of the system upgrades, including overheads, shall 
be borne initially by the Interconnection Customer. 

5.2.1 Repayment of amounts advanced for system 
upgrades 

The Interconnection Customer shall be entitled to a cash 
repayment, equal to the total amount paid to the 
Distribution Company and affected system operator, if any, 
for system upgrades, including any tax gross-up or other 
tax-related payments associated with the system upgrades, 
and not otherwise refunded to the Interconnection 
Customer, to be paid to the Interconnection Customer on a 
dollar-for-dollar basis for the nonusage sensitive portion of 
transmission charges, as payments are made under the 
Distribution Company's tariff and affected system's tariff 
for distribution services with respect to the small 
generating facility. Upgrades through the date on which the 
Interconnection Customer receives a repayment of such 
payment pursuant to this subparagraph. The 

Interconnection Customer may assign such repayment 
rights to any person. 

5.2.1.1 Notwithstanding the foregoing, the Interconnection 
Customer, the Distribution Company, and affected system 
operator may adopt any alternative payment schedule that 
is mutually agreeable so long as the Distribution Company 
and affected system operator take one of the following 
actions no later than five years from the commercial 
operation date: (i) return to the Interconnection Customer 
any amounts advanced for system upgrades not previously 
repaid, or (ii) declare in writing that the Distribution 
Company or affected system operator will continue to 
provide payments to the Interconnection Customer on a 
dollar-for-dollar basis for the nonusage sensitive portion of 
transmission charges, or develop an alternative schedule 
that is mutually agreeable and provides for the return of all 
amounts advanced for system upgrades not previously 
repaid; however, full reimbursement shall not extend 
beyond 20 years from the commercial operation date. 

5.2.1.2 If the small generating facility fails to achieve 
commercial operation, but it or another generating facility 
is later constructed and requires use of the system 
upgrades, the Distribution Company and affected system 
operator shall at that time reimburse the Interconnection 
Customer for the amounts advanced for the system 
upgrades. Before any such reimbursement can occur, the 
Interconnection Customer, or the entity that ultimately 
constructs the generating facility, if different, is 
responsible for identifying the entity to which 
reimbursement must be made. 

5.3 Special provisions for affected systems 

Unless the Distribution Company provides, under this 
Agreement, for the repayment of amounts advanced to 
affected system operator for system upgrades, the 
Interconnection Customer and affected system operator shall 
enter into an agreement that provides for such repayment. The 
agreement shall specify the terms governing payments to be 
made by the Interconnection Customer to affected system 
operator as well as the repayment by affected system 
operator. 

Article 5. Transmission System 

5.1 Transmission system upgrades 

5.1.1 No portion of section 5.1 of this article 5 shall apply 
unless the interconnection of the Small Generating Facility 
requires transmission system upgrades. 

5.1.2 The utility shall design, procure, construct, install, 
and own the transmission system upgrades described in 
Attachment 6 of this Agreement. If the utility and the 
Interconnection Customer agree, the IC may construct 
transmission system upgrades that are located on land 
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owned by the IC. The costs of the transmission system 
upgrades shall be borne by the IC. 

5.1.3 Notwithstanding any other provision of section 5.1 of 
article 5, in the event and to the extent an RTE has rules, 
tariffs, agreements, or procedures properly applying to 
transmission system upgrades, the provisions of section 5.2 
of article 5 shall apply to such upgrades. 

5.2 Regional Transmission Entities 

Notwithstanding any other provision of this Agreement, if 
the utility's transmission system is under the control of an 
RTE and the RTE has rules, tariffs, agreements or procedures 
properly governing operation of the SGF, transmission of the 
output of the SGF, sale of the output of the SGF, system 
upgrades required for interconnection of the SGF, or other 
aspects of the interconnection and operation of the SGF, the 
IC and the utility shall comply with the applicable of such 
agreements, rules, tariffs, or procedures. ] 

[ 5.4 5.3 ] Rights under other agreements 

Notwithstanding any other provision of this Agreement, 
nothing herein shall be construed as relinquishing or 
foreclosing any rights, including but not limited to firm 
transmission rights, capacity rights, transmission congestion 
rights, or transmission credits, that the [ Interconnection 
Customer IC ] shall be entitled to, now or in the future, under 
any other agreement or tariff as a result of, or otherwise 
associated with system upgrades, including the right to obtain 
cash reimbursements or transmission credits for transmission 
service that is not associated with the [ small generating 
facility SGF ]. 

Article 6. Billing, Payment, Milestones, and Financial 
Security 

6.1 Billing and payment procedures and final accounting 

6.1.1 The [ Distribution Company utility ] shall bill the 
[ Interconnection Customer IC ] for the design, 
engineering, construction, and procurement costs of 
[ interconnection attachment ] facilities and upgrades 
contemplated by this Agreement on a monthly basis, or as 
otherwise agreed by the Parties. The [ Interconnection 
Customer IC ] shall pay each bill within 30 calendar days 
of receipt, or as otherwise agreed to by the Parties. 

6.1.2 Within [ three months 120 calendar days ] of 
completing the construction and installation of the 
[ Distribution Company's interconnection attachment ] 
facilities and/or [ distribution ] upgrades described in the 
Attachments to this Agreement, the [ Distribution 
Company utility ] shall provide the [ Interconnection 
Customer IC ] with a final accounting report of any 
difference between (i) the [ Interconnection Customer's 
IC's ] cost responsibility for the actual cost of such 
facilities or upgrades, and (ii) the [ Interconnection 
Customer's IC's ] previous aggregate payments to the 

[ Distribution Company utility ] for such facilities or 
upgrades. If the [ Interconnection Customer's IC's ] cost 
responsibility exceeds its previous aggregate payments, the 
[ Distribution Company utility ] shall invoice the 
[ Interconnection Customer IC ] for the amount due and the 
[ Interconnection Customer IC ] shall make payment to the 
[ Distribution Company utility ] within 30 calendar days. If 
the [ Interconnection Customer's IC's ] previous aggregate 
payments exceed its cost responsibility under this 
Agreement, the [ Distribution Company utility ] shall 
refund to the [ Interconnection Customer IC ] an amount 
equal to the difference within 30 calendar days of the final 
accounting report. 

6.2 Milestones 

The Parties shall agree on milestones for which each Party is 
responsible and [ list them such milestone shall be listed ] in 
Attachment 4 of this Agreement. A Party's [ milestones ] 
obligations under this provision may be [ extended modified ] 
by agreement. If a Party anticipates that it will be unable to 
meet a milestone for any reason other than a Force Majeure 
[ Event event], it shall immediately [ (i) ] notify the other 
Party of the reason(s) for not meeting the milestone [ , ] and 
[ (i) (ii) ] propose the earliest reasonable alternate date by 
which it can attain this and future milestones, and [ (ii) 
requesting (iii) request ] appropriate amendments to 
Attachment 4. The Party affected by the failure to meet a 
milestone shall not [ unreasonably ] withhold agreement to 
such an amendment unless it will suffer [ significant ] 
uncompensated economic or operational harm from the delay, 
attainment of the same milestone has previously been 
delayed, or it has reason to believe that the delay in meeting 
the milestone is intentional or unwarranted notwithstanding 
the circumstances explained by the Party proposing the 
amendment. 

6.3 Financial security arrangements 

At least 20 business days prior to the commencement of the 
design, procurement, installation, or construction of a discrete 
portion of the [ Distribution Company's interconnection 
attachment ] facilities and [ distribution ] upgrades, the 
Interconnection Customer shall provide the [ Distribution 
Company utility ], at the [ Interconnection Customer's IC's ] 
option, a guarantee, a surety bond, letter of credit or other 
form of security that is reasonably acceptable to the 
[ Distribution Company utility ] and is consistent with the 
Uniform Commercial Code of the jurisdiction where the point 
of interconnection is located. Such security for payment shall 
be in an amount sufficient to cover the costs for 
[ constructing, ] designing, procuring, [ and ] installing [ , and 
constructing ] the applicable portion of the [ Distribution 
Company's interconnection attachment ] facilities and 
[ distribution ] upgrades and shall be reduced on a dollar-for-
dollar basis for payments made to the [ Distribution Company 
utility ] under this Agreement during its term. In addition:  
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6.3.1 The guarantee must be made by an entity that meets 
the creditworthiness requirements of the [ Distribution 
Company utility ], and contain terms and conditions that 
guarantee payment of any amount that may be due from 
the [ Interconnection Customer IC ], up to an agreed-to 
maximum amount. 

6.3.2 The letter of credit or surety bond must be issued by a 
financial institution or insured reasonably acceptable to the 
[ Distribution Company utility ] and must specify a 
reasonable expiration date.  

Article 7. Assignment, Liability, Indemnity, Force 
Majeure, Consequential Damages, and Default 

7.1 Assignment 

This Agreement may be assigned by either Party upon 15 
business days prior written notice and opportunity to object 
by the other Party; provided that: 

7.1.1 Either Party may assign this Agreement without the 
consent of the other Party to any affiliate of the assigning 
Party with an equal or greater credit rating and with the 
legal authority and operational ability to satisfy the 
obligations of the assigning Party under this Agreement; 

7.1.2 The Interconnection Customer shall have the right to 
assign this Agreement, without the consent of the 
[ Distribution Company utility ], for collateral security 
purposes to aid in providing financing for the [ small 
generating facility SGF ], provided that the 
[ Interconnection Customer IC ] will promptly notify the 
[ Distribution Company utility ] of any such assignment. 

7.1.3 Any attempted assignment that violates this article is 
void and ineffective. 

Assignment shall not relieve a Party of its obligations, nor 
shall a Party's obligations be enlarged, in whole or in part, 
by reason thereof. An assignee is responsible for meeting 
the same financial, credit, and insurance obligations as the 
[ Interconnection Customer IC ]. Where required, consent 
to assignment will not be unreasonably withheld, 
conditioned or delayed. 

7.2 Limitation of liability 

Each Party's liability to the other Party for any loss, cost, 
claim, injury, liability, or expense, including reasonable 
attorney's fees, relating to or arising from any act or omission 
in its performance of this Agreement, shall be limited to the 
amount of direct damage actually incurred. In no event shall 
either Party be liable to the other Party for any indirect, 
special, consequential, or punitive damages, except as 
authorized by this Agreement. 

7.3 Indemnity 

7.3.1 This provision protects each Party from liability 
incurred to third parties as a result of carrying out the 

provisions of this Agreement. Liability under this 
provision is exempt from the general limitations on 
liability found in article 7.2. 

7.3.2 The Parties shall at all times indemnify, defend, and 
hold the other Party harmless from, any and all damages, 
losses, claims, including claims and actions relating to 
injury to or death of any person or damage to property, 
demand, suits, recoveries, costs and expenses, court costs, 
attorney fees, and all other obligations by or to third 
parties, arising out of or resulting from the other Party's 
action or failure to meet its obligations under this 
Agreement on behalf of the indemnifying Party, except in 
cases of gross negligence or intentional wrongdoing by the 
indemnified Party. 

7.3.3 If an indemnified [ person Party ] is entitled to 
indemnification under this article as a result of a claim by a 
third party, and the indemnifying Party fails, after notice 
and reasonable opportunity to proceed under this article, to 
assume the defense of such claim, such indemnified person 
may at the expense of the indemnifying Party contest, 
settle or consent to the entry of any judgment with respect 
to, or pay in full, such claim. 

7.3.4 If an indemnifying [ party Party ] is obligated to 
indemnify and hold any indemnified person harmless 
under this article, the amount owing to the indemnified 
person shall be the amount of such indemnified person's 
actual loss, net of any insurance or other recovery. 

7.3.5 Promptly after receipt by an indemnified person of 
any claim or notice of the commencement of any action or 
administrative or legal proceeding or small generator 
investigation as to which the indemnity provided for in this 
article may apply, the indemnified person shall notify the 
indemnifying [ party Party ] of such fact. Any failure of or 
delay in such notification shall not affect a Party's 
indemnification obligation unless such failure or delay is 
materially prejudicial to the indemnifying party. 

7.4 Consequential damages 

Other than as expressly provided for in this Agreement, 
neither Party shall be liable under any provision of this 
Agreement for any losses, damages, costs or expenses for any 
special, indirect, incidental, consequential, or punitive 
damages, including but not limited to loss of profit or 
revenue, loss of the use of equipment, cost of capital, cost of 
temporary equipment or services, whether based in whole or 
in part in contract, in tort, including negligence, strict 
liability, or any other theory of liability; provided that 
damages for which a Party may be liable to the other Party 
under another agreement will not be considered to be special, 
indirect, incidental, or consequential damages hereunder. 
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7.5 Force Majeure 

7.5.1 As used in this article, a Force Majeure [ Event 
event ] means "any act of God, labor disturbance, act of the 
public enemy, war, insurrection, riot, fire, storm or flood, 
explosion, breakage or accident to machinery or 
equipment, any order, regulation or restriction imposed by 
governmental, military or lawfully established civilian 
authorities, or any other cause beyond a Party's control. A 
Force Majeure [ Event event ] does not include an act of 
negligence or intentional wrongdoing." 

7.5.2 If a Force Majeure [ Event event ] prevents a Party 
from fulfilling any obligations under this Agreement, the 
Party affected by the Force Majeure [ Event event ] ([ " ] 
Affected Party [ " ]) shall promptly notify the other Party, 
either in writing or via the telephone, of the existence of 
the Force Majeure [ Event event ]. The notification must 
specify in reasonable detail the circumstances of the Force 
Majeure [ Event event ], its expected duration, and the 
steps that the Affected Party is taking to mitigate the 
effects of the event on its performance. The Affected Party 
shall keep the other Party informed on a continuing basis 
of developments relating to the Force Majeure [ Event 
event ] until the event ends. The Affected Party will be 
entitled to suspend or modify its performance of 
obligations under this Agreement (other than the obligation 
to make payments) only to the extent that the effect of the 
Force Majeure [ Event event ] cannot be mitigated by the 
use of reasonable efforts. The Affected Party will use 
reasonable efforts to resume its performance as soon as 
possible. 

7.6 Default 

7.6.1 No default shall exist where such failure to discharge 
an obligation (other than the payment of money) is the 
result of a Force Majeure [ Event event ] as defined in this 
Small Generator Interconnection Agreement or the result 
of an act or omission of the other Party. Upon a default, the 
[ nondefaulting Nondefaulting ] Party shall give written 
notice of such default to the [ defaulting Defaulting ] Party. 
Except as provided in article 7.6.2, the [ defaulting 
Defaulting ] Party shall have 60 calendar days from receipt 
of the default notice within which to cure the default; 
however, if the default is not capable of cure within 60 
calendar days, the [ defaulting Defaulting ] Party shall 
commence the cure within 20 calendar days after notice 
and continuously and diligently complete the cure within 
six months from receipt of the default notice; and, if cured 
within such time, the default specified in such notice shall 
cease to exist. 

7.6.2 If a default is not cured as provided in this article, or 
if a default is not capable of being cured within the period 
provided for herein, the [ nondefaulting Nondefaulting ] 
Party shall have the right to terminate this Agreement by 
written notice at any time until cure occurs, and be relieved 

of any further obligation hereunder and, whether or not that 
Party terminates this Agreement, to recover from the 
[ defaulting Defaulting ] Party all amounts due hereunder, 
plus all other damages and remedies to which it is entitled 
at law or in equity. The provisions of this article will 
survive termination of this Agreement. 

Article 8. Insurance 

8.1 The Interconnection Customer shall, at its own expense, 
maintain in force general liability insurance without any 
exclusion for liabilities related to the interconnection 
undertaken pursuant to this Agreement. The amount of such 
insurance shall be [ sufficient to insure against all reasonably 
foreseeable direct liabilities given the size and nature of the 
generating equipment being interconnected, the 
interconnection itself, and the characteristics of the system to 
which the interconnection is made in accordance with 
20VAC5-314-160 of the Commission's Regulations 
Governing the Interconnection of Small Electrical 
Generators ]. The [ Interconnection Customer IC ] shall 
obtain additional insurance only if necessary as a function of 
owning and operating a generating facility. Insurance shall be 
obtained from an insurance provider authorized to do 
business in the State [ where the interconnection is located of 
Virginia ]. Certification that such insurance is in effect shall 
be provided upon request of the [ Distribution Company 
utility ], except that the [ Interconnection Customer IC ] shall 
show proof of insurance to the [ Distribution Company 
utility ] no later than 10 business days prior to the anticipated 
commercial operation date [ of the SGF ]. An 
[ Interconnection Customer IC ] of sufficient creditworthiness 
may propose to self-insure for such liabilities, and such a 
proposal shall not be unreasonably rejected. 

8.2 The [ Distribution Company utility ] agrees to maintain 
general liability insurance or self insurance consistent with 
the [ Distribution Company's utility's ] commercial practice. 
Such insurance or self-insurance shall not exclude coverage 
for the [ Distribution Company's utility's ] liabilities 
undertaken pursuant to this Agreement. 

8.3 The Parties further agree to notify each other whenever 
an accident or incident occurs resulting in any injuries or 
damages that are included within the scope of coverage of 
such insurance, whether or not such coverage is sought. 

Article 9. Confidentiality 

9.1 Confidential information shall mean any confidential 
and/or proprietary information provided by one Party to the 
other Party that is clearly marked or otherwise designated 
"Confidential." For purposes of this Agreement all design, 
operating specifications, and metering data provided by the 
Interconnection Customer shall be deemed confidential 
information regardless of whether it is clearly marked or 
otherwise designated as such. 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 22, 2008 

1578 

9.2 Confidential information does not include information 
previously in the public domain, required to be publicly 
submitted or divulged by governmental authorities (after 
notice to the other Party and after exhausting any opportunity 
to oppose such publication or release), or necessary to be 
divulged in an action to enforce this Agreement. Each Party 
receiving confidential information shall hold such 
information in confidence and shall not disclose it to any third 
party nor to the public without the prior written authorization 
from the Party providing that information, except to fulfill 
obligations under this Agreement, or to fulfill legal or 
regulatory requirements. 

9.2.1 Each Party shall employ at least the same standard of 
care to protect confidential information obtained from the 
other Party as it employs to protect its own confidential 
information. 

9.2.2 Each Party is entitled to equitable relief, by 
injunction or otherwise, to enforce its rights under this 
provision to prevent the release of confidential information 
without bond or proof of damages, and may seek other 
remedies available at law or in equity for breach of this 
provision. 

[ 9.3 Notwithstanding anything in this Agreement to the 
contrary, if the Virginia State Corporation Commission 
("Commission"), during the course of an investigation or 
otherwise, requests information from one of the Parties that 
is otherwise required to be maintained in confidence, the 
Party shall provide the requested information to the 
Commission, within the time provided for in the request 
for information. In providing the information to the 
Commission, the Party may request that the information be 
treated as confidential and nonpublic by the Commission 
and that the information be withheld from public 
disclosure. Parties are prohibited from notifying the other 
Party prior to the release of the confidential information to 
the Commission. ] 

Article 10. Disputes 

10.1 The Parties agree to attempt to resolve all disputes 
arising out of the interconnection process according to the 
provisions of this article. 

10.2 In the event of a dispute, either Party shall provide the 
other Party with a written Notice of Dispute. Such Notice 
shall describe in detail the nature of the dispute. [ The Parties 
shall make a good faith effort to resolve the dispute 
informally within 10 business days. ] 

10.3 If the dispute has not been resolved within [ two 10 ] 
business days after receipt of the Notice, either Party may 
[ contact seek resolution assistance from ] the 
[ Commission's ] Division of Energy Regulation [ for 
assistance in resolving the dispute where the matter will be 
handled as an informal complaint. If that process is 

unsatisfactory, either Party may petition the Commission to 
handle the dispute as a formal complaint ]. 

[ Alternatively, either Party may seek resolution through the 
assistance of a dispute resolution service. The dispute 
resolution service will assist the Parties in either resolving the 
dispute or in selecting an appropriate dispute resolution venue 
(e.g., mediation, settlement judge, early neutral evaluation, or 
technical expert) to assist the Parties in resolving their 
dispute. Each Party agrees to conduct all negotiations in good 
faith and will be responsible for ½  of any costs paid to 
neutral third parties. ] 

10.4 [ Each Party agrees to conduct all negotiations in good 
faith and will be responsible for one-half of any costs paid to 
neutral third-parties If attempted dispute resolutions fail to 
satisfy one or both of the Parties, then either Party may 
exercise whatever rights and remedies it may have in equity 
or law consistent with the terms of this Agreement ]. 

[ 10.5 If neither Party elects to seek assistance from the State 
Corporation Commission's Division of Energy Regulation, or 
if the attempted dispute resolution fails, then either Party may 
exercise whatever rights and remedies it may have in equity 
or law consistent with the terms of this Agreement. ] 

Article 11. Taxes 

11.1 The Parties agree to follow all applicable tax laws and 
regulations 

11.2 Each Party shall cooperate with the other to maintain 
the other Party's tax status. Nothing in this Agreement is 
intended to adversely affect the [ Distribution Company's 
utility's ] tax exempt status with respect to the issuance of 
bonds including, but not limited to, local furnishing bonds. 

Article 12. Miscellaneous 

12.1 Governing [ Law, Regulatory Authority, and Rules law, 
regulatory authority, and rules ] 

The validity, interpretation and enforcement of this 
Agreement and each of its provisions shall be governed by 
the laws of the [ state State of ] Virginia without regard to its 
conflicts of law principles. This Agreement is subject to all 
applicable laws and regulations. Each Party expressly 
reserves the right to seek changes in, appeal, or otherwise 
contest any laws, orders, or regulations of a governmental 
authority. 

12.2 Amendment 

The Parties may amend this Agreement by a written 
instrument duly executed by both Parties. 

12.3 No [ Third-Party Beneficiaries third-party 
beneficiaries ] 

This Agreement is not intended to and does not create rights, 
remedies, or benefits of any character whatsoever in favor of 
any persons, corporations, associations, or entities other than 
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the Parties, and the obligations herein assumed are solely for 
the use and benefit of the Parties, their successors in interest 
and where permitted, their assigns. 

12.4 Waiver 

12.4.1 The failure of a Party to this Agreement to insist, on 
any occasion, upon strict performance of any provision of 
this Agreement will not be considered a waiver of any 
obligation, right, or duty of, or imposed upon, such Party. 

12.4.2 Any waiver at any time by either Party of its rights 
with respect to this Agreement shall not be deemed [ to 
be ] a continuing waiver or a waiver with respect to any 
other failure to comply with any other obligation, right, 
[ or ] duty of this Agreement. Termination or default of this 
Agreement for any reason by [ the ] Interconnection 
Customer shall not constitute a waiver of the 
[ Interconnection Customer's IC's ] legal rights to obtain an 
interconnection from the [ Distribution Company utility ]. 
Any waiver of this Agreement shall, if requested, be 
provided in writing.  

12.5 Entire Agreement 

This Agreement, including all Attachments, constitutes the 
entire agreement between the Parties with reference to the 
subject matter hereof, and supersedes all prior and 
contemporaneous understandings or agreements, oral or 
written, between the Parties with respect to the subject matter 
of this Agreement. There are no other agreements, 
representations, warranties, or covenants which constitute any 
part of the consideration for, or any condition to, either 
Party's compliance with its obligations under this Agreement. 

12.6 Multiple [ Counterparts counterparts ] 

This Agreement may be executed in two or more 
counterparts, each of which is deemed an original but all 
constitute one and the same instrument. 

12.7 No [ Partnership partnership ] 

This Agreement shall not be interpreted or construed to 
create an association, joint venture, agency relationship, or 
partnership between the Parties or to impose any partnership 
obligation or partnership liability upon either Party. Neither 
Party shall have any right, power or authority to enter into 
any agreement or undertaking for, or act on behalf of, or to 
act as or be an agent or representative of, or to otherwise 
bind, the other Party. 

12.8 Severability 

If any provision or portion of this Agreement shall for any 
reason be held or adjudged to be invalid or illegal or 
unenforceable by any court of competent jurisdiction or other 
governmental authority, (i) such portion or provision shall be 
deemed separate and independent, (ii) the Parties shall 
negotiate in good faith to restore insofar as practicable the 
benefits to each Party that were affected by such ruling, and 

(iii) the remainder of this Agreement shall remain in full force 
and effect. 

12.9 Environmental [ Releases releases ] 

Each Party shall notify the other Party, first orally and then 
in writing, of the release of any hazardous substances, any 
asbestos or lead abatement activities, or any type of 
remediation activities related to the [ small generating facility 
or Small Generating Facility, ] the [ customer's ] 
interconnection facilities, [ or attachment facilities, ] each of 
which may reasonably be expected to affect the other Party. 
The notifying Party shall (i) provide the notice as soon as 
practicable, provided such Party makes a good faith effort to 
provide the notice no later than 24 hours after such Party 
becomes aware of the occurrence, and (ii) promptly furnish to 
the other Party copies of any publicly available reports filed 
with any governmental authorities addressing such events. 

12.10 Subcontractors 

Nothing in this Agreement shall prevent a Party from 
utilizing the services of any subcontractor as it deems 
appropriate to perform its obligations under this Agreement; 
however, each Party shall require its subcontractors to comply 
with all applicable terms and conditions of this Agreement in 
providing such services and each Party shall remain primarily 
liable to the other Party for the performance of such 
subcontractor. 

12.10.1 The creation of any subcontract relationship shall 
not relieve the hiring Party of any of its obligations under 
this Agreement. The hiring Party shall be fully responsible 
to the other Party for the acts or omissions of any 
subcontractor the hiring Party hires as if no subcontract 
had been made; however, in no event shall the 
[ Distribution Company utility ] be liable for the actions or 
inactions of the [ Interconnection Customer IC ] or its 
subcontractors with respect to obligations of the 
[ Interconnection Customer IC ] under this Agreement. 
Any applicable obligation imposed by this Agreement 
upon the hiring Party shall be equally binding upon, and 
shall be construed as having application to, any 
subcontractor of such Party. 

12.10.2 The obligations under this article will not be 
limited in any way by any limitation of subcontractor's 
insurance. 

12.11 Reservation of [ Rights rights ] 

The [ Distribution Company utility ] shall have the right to 
make a unilateral filing with the Commission to modify this 
Agreement with respect to any rates, terms and conditions, 
charges, classifications of service, rule or regulation. 
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Article 13. Notices 

13.1 General 

Unless otherwise provided in this Agreement, any written 
notice, demand, or request required or authorized in 
connection with this Agreement ("Notice") shall be deemed 
properly given if delivered in person, delivered by recognized 
national [ currier courier ] service, or sent by first class mail, 
postage prepaid, to the person specified below: 

If to the Interconnection Customer: 

Interconnection Customer: 
___________________________________________ 

Attention: 
________________________________________________ 

Address: 
________________________________________________ 

[ City: ______________________________ 
State:_______________ Zip:_______ 

City, State, 
Zip:                                                                                        ] 

Phone: __________________ Fax: _________________ 

  

If to the [ Distribution Company Utility ]: 

[ Distribution Company Utility ]: 
_______________________________________________ 

Attention: 
________________________________________________ 

Address:_________________________________________ 

[ City: ______________________________ 
State:_______________ Zip:_______ 

City, State, 
Zip:                                                                                        ] 

  

Phone: _________________ Fax: ____________________ 

  

13.2 Billing and [ Payment payment ] 

Billings and payments shall be sent to the addresses set out 
below: 

If to the Interconnection Customer: 

Interconnection Customer: 
___________________________________________ 

Attention: 
________________________________________________ 

Address: 
________________________________________________ 

[ City: ______________________________ 
State:_______________ Zip:_______ 

City, State, 
Zip:                                                                                           ] 

If to the [ Distribution Company Utility ]: 

[ Distribution Company Utility ]: 
_______________________________________________ 

Attention: 
________________________________________________ 

Address:_________________________________________ 

[ City: ______________________________ 
State:_______________ Zip:_______ 

City, State, 
Zip:                                                                                        ] 

  

13.3 Alternative [ Forms forms ] of [ Notice notice ] 

Any notice or request required or permitted to be given by 
either Party to the other and not required by this Agreement to 
be given in writing may be so given by telephone, facsimile 
or e-mail to the telephone numbers and email addresses set 
out below: 

If to the Interconnection Customer: 

Interconnection Customer: 
___________________________________________ 

Attention: 
________________________________________________ 

Address: 
________________________________________________ 

[ City: ______________________________ 
State:_______________ Zip:_______ 

City, State, 
Zip:                                                                                        ] 

Phone: ___________________ Fax: __________________ 

If to the [ Distribution Company Utility ]: 

[ Distribution Company Utility]: 
_______________________________________________ 

Attention: 
________________________________________________ 

Address:_________________________________________ 

[ City: ______________________________ 
State:_______________ Zip:_______ 
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City, State, 
Zip:                                                                                        ] 

Phone: __________________ Fax: ___________________ 

  

13.4 Designated [ Operating Representative operating 
representative] 

The Parties may also designate operating representatives to 
conduct the communications which may be necessary or 
convenient for the administration of this Agreement. This 
person will also serve as the point of contact with respect to 
operations and maintenance of the Party's facilities. 

Interconnection Customer's Operating Representative: 

Interconnection Customer: 
___________________________________________ 

Attention: 
________________________________________________ 

Address: 
________________________________________________ 

[ City: ______________________________ 
State:_______________ Zip:_______ 

City, State, 
Zip:                                                                                        ] 

Phone: __________________ Fax: ___________________ 

[ Distribution Company's Utility's ] Operating Representative: 

[ Distribution Company Utility ]: 
_______________________________________________ 

Attention: 
________________________________________________ 

Address:________________________________________ 

[ City: ______________________________ 
State:_______________ Zip:_______ 

City, State, 
Zip:                                                                                        ] 

Phone: __________________ Fax: ___________________ 

  

13.5 Changes to the [ Notice Information notice 
information ] 

Either Party may change this information by giving five 
business days written notice prior to the effective date of the 
change. 

Article 14. Signatures 

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the Parties have caused this 
Agreement to be executed by their respective duly authorized 
representatives. 

For the [ Distribution Company Utility ] 

Name: 
________________________________________________ 

Title: 
________________________________________________ 

Date: 
________________________________________________ 

  

For the Interconnection Customer 

Name: 
________________________________________________ 

Title: 
________________________________________________ 

Date: 
________________________________________________ 

  

Attachment 1 to  

Schedule [ 5 6 ] 

Glossary of Terms 

[ " ] Affected system [ – An " means an ] electric [ utility ] 
system other than [ that of ] the [ Distribution Company's 
transmission system utility ] that may be affected by the 
proposed interconnection. 

[ "Affected system operator" means an entity that operates an 
affected system or, if the affected system is under the 
operational control of an independent system operator or a 
Regional Transmission Entity, such independent entity. ] 

[ " ] Applicable laws and regulations [ – All " means all ] duly 
promulgated applicable federal, state and local laws, 
regulations, rules, ordinances, codes, decrees, judgments, 
directives, or judicial or administrative orders, permits and 
other duly authorized actions of any governmental authority. 

[ "Attachment facilities" means the facilities and equipment 
owned, operated, and maintained by the utility that are built 
new in order to physically connect the customer’s 
interconnection facilities to the utility system. Attachment 
facilities shall not include distribution upgrades or previously 
existing distribution and transmission facilities. ] 

[ " ] Business Day [ –  " means ] Monday through Friday, 
excluding federal holidays. 

[ "Certified" has the meaning ascribed to it in Schedule 2 of 
Chapter 314 ( 20VAC5-314-10 et seq.) of the Virginia 
Administrative Code. 

"Customer’s interconnection facilities" means all the facilities 
and equipment owned, operated and maintained by the 
Interconnection Customer, between the Small Generating 
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Facility and the point of interconnection necessary to 
physically and electrically interconnect the Small Generating 
Facility to the utility system. 

"Commission" means the Virginia State Corporation 
Commission. ] 

[ " ] Default [ – The " means the ] failure of a breaching Party 
to cure its breach under the Small Generator Interconnection 
Agreement. 

[ Distribution Company – The Utility that owns and/or 
operates the Distribution System located in Virginia to which 
the small generation facility proposes to interconnect its small 
generating facility. ] 

[ " ] Distribution system [ – The Distribution Company's " 
means the utility's ] facilities and equipment [ used to transmit 
generally delivering ] electricity to ultimate [ usage points 
such as homes and industries directly from nearby generators 
or from interchanges with higher voltage transmission 
systems which transport bulk power over longer distances. 
The voltage levels at which distribution systems operate 
differ among areas customers from substations supplied by 
higher voltages (usually at transmission level). For purposes 
of this Agreement, all portions of the utility's transmission 
system regulated by the Commission for which 
interconnections are not within Federal Energy Regulatory 
Commission jurisdiction are considered also to be subject to 
Commission regulations. ] 

[ " ] Distribution upgrades [ – The " means the ] additions, 
modifications, and upgrades to the [ Distribution Company's 
utility's ] distribution system at or beyond the point of 
interconnection [ necessary ] to [ facilitate abate problems on 
the utility's distribution system caused by the ] 
interconnection of the [ small generating facility and render 
the transmission service necessary to effect the 
Interconnection Customer's wholesale sale of electricity in 
interstate commerce Small Generating Facility ]. Distribution 
upgrades do not include [ customer's ] interconnection 
facilities [ or attachment facilities ]. 

[ "Energy service provider" means any entity supplying 
electric energy service to the Interconnection Customer. 

"Facilities study" has the meaning ascribed to it in the 
commission’s regulations governing the interconnection of 
small generating facilities at 20VAC5-314-70 F. 

"Feasibility study" has the meaning ascribed to it in the 
commission’s regulations governing the interconnection of 
small generating facilities at 20VAC5-314-70 D. 

"FERC" means the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission.] 

[ " ] Good [ Distribution Company Utility ] Practice [ – Any " 
means any ] of the practices, methods and acts engaged in or 
approved by a significant portion of the electric industry 
during the relevant time period, or any of the practices, 

methods and acts which, in the exercise of reasonable 
judgment in light of the facts known at the time the decision 
was made, could have been expected to accomplish the 
desired result at a reasonable cost consistent with good 
business practices, reliability, safety and expedition. Good 
[ Distribution Company Utility ] Practice is not intended to be 
limited to the optimum practice, method, or act to the 
exclusion of all others, but rather to be acceptable practices, 
methods, or acts generally accepted in the region. 

[ " ] Governmental authority [ – Any " means any ] federal, 
state, local or other governmental regulatory or administrative 
agency, court, commission, department, board, or other 
governmental subdivision, legislature, rulemaking board, 
tribunal, or other governmental authority having jurisdiction 
over the Parties, their respective facilities, or the respective 
services they provide, and exercising or entitled to exercise 
any administrative, executive, police, or taxing authority or 
power; provided that such term does not include the 
Interconnection Customer, the [ interconnection provider, or 
any Affiliate thereof utility, or a utility affiliate ]. 

[ " ] Interconnection Customer [ – Any " or "IC" means any ] 
entity [ , including the Distribution Company, the 
transmission owner or any of the affiliates or subsidiaries of 
either, that proposes to interconnect its small generating 
facility with the Distribution Company's transmission 
proposing to interconnect a new Small Generating Facility 
with the utility ] system. 

[ Interconnection facilities – The Distribution Company's 
interconnection facilities and the Interconnection Customer's 
interconnection facilities. Collectively, interconnection 
facilities include all facilities and equipment between the 
small generating facility and the point of interconnection, 
including any modification, additions or upgrades that are 
necessary to physically and electrically interconnect the small 
generating facility to the Distribution Company's transmission 
system. Interconnection facilities are sole use facilities and 
shall not include distribution upgrades or system upgrades. 

" ] Interconnection request [ – The Interconnection 
Customer's " means the IC's ] request, in accordance with the 
tariff, to interconnect a new [ small generating facility Small 
General Facility ], or to increase the capacity of, or make a 
material modification to the operating characteristics of, an 
existing [ small generating facility Small Generating Facility ] 
that is interconnected with the [ Distribution Company's 
utility ] system. 

[ "Interconnection studies" means the studies conducted by 
the utility, or a third party agreed to by the utility and the 
Interconnection Customer, in order to determine the 
interaction of the Small Generating Facility with the utility 
system and the affected systems in order to specify any 
modifications to the Small Generating Facility or the electric 
systems studied to ensure safe and reliable operation of the 
Small Generating Facility in parallel with the utility system. 
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" ] Material modification [ – A " means a ] modification that 
has a material impact on the cost or timing of any 
Interconnection Request with a later queue priority date. 

[ System upgrades – Additions, modifications, and upgrades 
to the Distribution Company's distribution and transmission 
system required at or beyond the point at which the small 
generating facility interconnects with the system to 
accommodate the interconnection of the small generating 
facility with the Distribution Company's transmission system. 

" ] Operating requirements [ – Any " means any ] operating 
and technical requirements that may be applicable due to 
[ Regional Transmission Organization, Independent System 
Operator regional transmission entity, independent system 
operator], control area, or the [ Distribution Company's 
utility's ] requirements, including those set forth in the Small 
Generator Interconnection Agreement. 

[ " ] Party [ " ] or [ " ] Parties [ " ] [ – The Distribution 
Company means the utility ], [ the ] Interconnection 
Customer or [ any combination of the above both ]. 

[ " ] Point of interconnection [ – The " means the ] point 
where the [ customer's ] interconnection facilities connect 
[ with to ] the [ Distribution Company's transmission utility ] 
system. 

[ Reasonable efforts – With respect to an action required to be 
attempted or taken by a Party under the Small Generator 
Interconnection Agreement, efforts that are timely and 
consistent with Good Distribution Company Practice and are 
otherwise substantially equivalent to those a Party would use 
to protect its own interests. 

"Regional Transmission Entity" or "RTE" shall refer to an 
entity having the management and control of a utility’s 
transmission system as further set forth in § 56-579 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

" ] Small Generating Facility [ – The " or "generator" or 
"SGF" means the ] Interconnection Customer's [ device 
equipment ] for the production of electricity identified in the 
Interconnection Request [ , but shall not include the 
Interconnection Customer's interconnection facilities ]. 

[ "Small Generator Interconnection Agreement" or "SGIA" 
means the agreement between the utility and the 
Interconnection Customer as set forth in Schedule 6 of 
20VAC5-314-170 of the Commission’s regulations governing 
interconnection of small electrical generators. 

"Supplemental review" has the meaning ascribed to it in the 
Commission’s regulations governing the interconnection of 
small generating facilities at 20VAC5-314-70 E. 

"System" or "utility system" means the distribution and 
transmission facilities owned, controlled, or operated by the 
utility that are used to deliver electricity. 

"System impact study" has the meaning ascribed to it in the 
Commission’s regulations governing the interconnection of 
small generating facilities at 20VAC5-314-70 E. ] 

[ " ] Tariff [ – The " means the ] rates, terms and conditions 
filed by the utility with the [ State Corporation ] Commission 
for the purpose of providing [ commission-regulated 
Commission-regulated ] electric service to retail customers. 

[ Upgrades – The required additions and modifications to the 
Distribution Company's distribution or transmission system at 
or beyond the point of interconnection. Upgrades do not 
include interconnection facilities. 

"Transmission system" means the utility’s facilities and 
equipment delivering electric energy to the distribution 
system, such facilities usually being operated at voltages 
above the utility’s typical distribution system voltages. 

"Utility" means the public utility company subject to 
regulation by the Commission pursuant to Chapter 10 (§ 56-
232 et seq.) of Title 56 of the Code of Virginia with regard to 
rates and/or service quality to which the Interconnection 
Customer proposes to interconnect a Small Generating 
Facility. ] 

  

Attachment 2 to  

Schedule [ 5 6 ] 

Description and Costs of the Small Generating Facility, 
[ Customer's ] Interconnection Facilities, [ Attachment 

Facilities ] and Metering Equipment 

[ Equipment, including the small generating facility, 
interconnection facilities, and metering equipment shall be 
itemized and identified as being The following shall be 
provided in this exhibit: 

1. An itemization of the major equipment components ] 
owned by the Interconnection Customer [ or and ] the 
[ Distribution Company. The Distribution Company will 
provide a best estimate itemized cost, including 
overheads, of its interconnection facilities and metering 
equipment, and a best estimate itemized cost of the 
annual operation and maintenance expenses associated 
with its interconnection facilities and metering equipment 
utility, including components of the Small Generating 
Facility, the customer’s interconnection facilities, 
attachment facilities, and metering equipment. Such 
itemization shall identify the owner of each item listed. 

2. The utility’s estimated itemized cost of its attachment 
facilities and its metering equipment. 

3. The utility’s estimated cost of its annual operation and 
maintenance expenses associated with attachment 
facilities and metering equipment to be charged to the 
Interconnection Customer ]. 
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Attachment 3 to  

Schedule [ 5 6 ] 

  

[ [ Diagram to be provided by applicant ]  ] 

One-line Diagram Depicting the Small Generating 
Facility, [ Customer's ] Interconnection Facilities, 

[ Attachment Facilities, ] Metering Equipment, and 
[ Distribution ] Upgrades 

  

[ (Diagram and description to be provided by 
Interconnection Customer) ] 

  

Attachment 4 to  

Schedule [ 5 6 ] 

Milestones 

In-Service Date: ___________________ 

Critical milestones and responsibility as agreed to by the 
Parties: 

Milestone/Date  Responsible Party 

(1)____________________ ____________________ 

(2)____________________ ____________________ 

(3)____________________ ____________________ 

(4)____________________ ____________________ 

(5)____________________ ____________________ 

(6)____________________ ____________________ 

(7)____________________ ____________________ 

(8)____________________ ____________________ 

(9)____________________ ____________________ 

(10)___________________ ____________________ 

  

Agreed to by: 

For the [ Distribution Company Utility ] 
____________________ Date__________ 

For the Transmission Owner (If Applicable)_____________ 
    Date__________ 

For the Interconnection Customer_____________________ 
Date___________ 

  

Attachment 5 to  

Schedule [ 5 6 ] 

  

Additional Operating Requirements for the 
[ Distribution Company's Utility ] System and Affected 

Systems Needed to Support the Interconnection 
Customer's Needs 

The [ Distribution Company utility ] shall [ also ] provide 
requirements that must be met by the Interconnection 
Customer prior to initiating parallel operation with the 
[ Distribution Company's utility ] system. 

  

Attachment 6 to  

Schedule [ 5 6 ] 

  

[ Distribution Company's Utility's ] Description of its 
[ Distribution and Transmission ] Upgrades [ And Best 

and ] Estimate of Upgrade Costs 

The [ Distribution Company shall describe upgrades and 
provide an itemized estimate of the cost, including overheads, 
of the upgrades and annual operation and maintenance 
expenses associated with such upgrades. The Distribution 
Company shall functionalize upgrade costs and annual 
expenses as either transmission or distribution related. utility 
shall provide the following in this attachment: 

1. An itemized list of the upgrades required to be 
constructed by the utility prior to interconnection of the 
Small Generating Facility, with transmission and 
distribution related upgrades shown separately. 

2. An estimate of the cost of each item listed pursuant to 
item 1. 

3. An estimate of annual operation and maintenance 
expenses associated with such upgrades that are to be 
charged to the Interconnection Customer, shown 
separately for transmission and distribution related 
items. ] 

Attestation 
VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1147; Filed December 1, 2008, 10:48 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT OF REHABILITATIVE SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 22VAC30-50. Policies and Procedures 
for Administering the Commonwealth Neurotrauma 
Initiative Trust Fund (amending 22VAC30-50-10, 
22VAC30-50-20, 22VAC30-50-30, 22VAC30-50-50 
through 22VAC30-50-110; adding 22VAC30-50-120). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 51.5-12.4 and 51.5-14 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on February 22, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Vanessa S. Rakestraw, Policy Analyst, 
Department of Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms 
Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 662-7612, 
FAX (804) 662-7696, TTY (800) 464-9950, or email 
vanessa.rakestraw@drs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 51.5-12.4 of the Code of Virginia requires the 
Commissioner of Rehabilitative Services to promulgate 
regulations establishing procedures and policies for soliciting 
and receiving grant applications and criteria for reviewing 
and ranking such applications. Section 51.5-14 grants general 
authority to the commissioner to promulgate regulations 
necessary to carry out the laws of the Commonwealth 
administered by the department. 

Purpose: The regulations to administer the Commonwealth 
Neurotrauma Initiative (CNI) Trust Fund are essential to the 
integrity of the program.  The CNI Trust Fund is designed to 
promote medical research into traumatic brain and spinal cord 
injuries and to provide treatment and care for individuals who 
have sustained such injuries.  Moneys in the trust fund are to 
be used solely to support grants for Virginia-based 
researchers, organizations, and institutions that either conduct 
research into the mechanism of neurotrauma or that provide 
medical or rehabilitative treatment and care for individuals 
with such injuries. The amendment to this regulation will 
clarify that the fund is to be used for innovative research and 
treatment programs and is not to be used as a source for long-
term funding. The amended regulation will also provide that 
the commissioner can reallocate a limited amount of 
unexpended balances to fund new research in the area of 
neurotrauma. 

Substance: Most sections in this regulation contain only 
minor technical changes. The following sections contain 
substantive changes: 

22VAC30-50-30 - Title of catchline has been changed to 
"Disbursement of funds" to more adequately describe this 

section. A phrase that funds are to be used for the 
development of innovative, model programs and services for 
individuals with neurotrauma has been added. Wording has 
been changed to ensure that "person first" language is used in 
the regulations. 

22VAC30-50-60 - Section has been amended deleting the 
timeline for release of a request for proposals to allow more 
leniency to applicants or the advisory board in the deadline 
due date. 

22VAC30-50-70 - Title of catchline has been streamlined 
from "Appointment of grant reviewers and technical 
advisors" to "Grant reviewers and technical advisors." The 
restriction that the chairperson of the advisory board of the 
Commonwealth Neurotrauma Initiative Trust Fund not be 
able to vote on applications for funds when reviewers and 
advisors sit as a committee has been removed. 

22VAC30-50-80 - Section has been amended to stress that 
grant funds for rehabilitative services are to be used for the 
development of innovative, community-based rehabilitation 
programs and services and that when grant funds are not to be 
used for the long-term funding of research projects or service 
programs. 

22VAC30-50-90 - Review of applications; stated priorities. 
This section has been amended to state that the advisory 
board may fund applicants who seek funds for research 
projects relevant to rehabilitative as well as medical inquiry. 
Additionally the detail under Option B was modified in an 
attempt to make submission requirements clear. 

22VAC30-50-100 - Reviewing and ranking grant 
applications. The inclusion of an itemized list of weighted 
criteria with point values assigned to each criterion has been 
changed to an unweighted list of criteria, with specific point 
values to be assigned in the individual requests for proposals. 

22VAC30-50-110 - Amount of grant awards; duration and 
availability of funding. A statement was added that provides 
that the selection of successful applications will be based on 
available moneys in the fund, the review and ranking of the 
applications by the advisory board, as well as information 
from grant reviewers or technical advisors appointed by the 
board. 

22VAC30-50-120 - Unexpended funds. This new section has 
been added as the result of a 2005 budget amendment, which 
states that the commissioner may reallocate up to $500,000 
from unexpended balances in the Commonwealth 
Neurotrauma Initiative Trust Fund to fund new grant awards 
for research on traumatic brain and spinal cord injuries. 

Issues: The proposed regulatory action will provide citizens, 
applicants, consumers of services and their advocates with 
information on the Commonwealth Neurotrauma Initiative 
Trust Fund. The primary advantage of this regulatory action 
is that the integrity of the Commonwealth Neurotrauma 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 22, 2008 

1586 

Initiative Trust Fund will be maintained.  This action provides 
an objective means of reviewing and ranking applications to 
the fund while allowing for flexibility in distributing the 
funds during times of economic change. No disadvantages to 
the public or the Commonwealth have been identified. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
proposed changes will remove the assigned weights to the 
criteria that are used in reviewing and ranking grant 
applications, incorporate a legislative change occurred in 
2004, and make numerous editorial and formatting changes. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. These regulations set out the 
rules for the Commonwealth Neurotrauma Initiative Trust 
Fund (CNI). The CNI Trust Fund is a non-reverting fund 
established to provide grants for up to three years to 
recipients who engage in research pertaining to brain and 
spinal cord injuries or recipients who provide community 
services to individuals who have suffered brain or spinal cord 
injuries.  The fund receives moneys from the Virginia 
Department of Motor Vehicles from persons who apply for 
reinstatement of their drivers’ licenses after being convicted 
of certain specified dangerous driving offenses.1  

One of the proposed changes will remove the assigned 
weights to the criteria that are used in reviewing and ranking 
grant applications. This change is expected to allow 
evaluators to place greater emphasis on criteria that are most 
relevant for a specific research or community service project 
and give them greater discretion on ranking grant 
applications. As the importance of each criterion would be 
different for each specific project, this change is expected to 
produce net benefits. 

Another proposed change will incorporate in the regulations a 
budget provision enacted during the 2004 General Assembly 
session stating that the Department of Rehabilitative Services 
Commissioner may reallocate up to $500,000 from 
unexpended balances in the CNI Trust Fund to fund new 
grand awards. Also, proposed changes include numerous 
changes that are technical and/or clarifying in nature such as 
re-arranging sections and updating current language. None of 
these changes are expected to create any significant change in 
practice. Thus, no significant costs or benefits are expected 
from these changes other than improving the clarity and 
consistency of the regulations. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. These regulations primarily 
affect grant applicants. In 2007, there were seven applications 
from the University of Virginia, thirteen from the Virginia 
Commonwealth University, and one from another entity. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 
apply throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. No significant impact on 
employment is expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No 
significant impact on the use and value of private property is 
expected. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No significant 
costs and other effects on small businesses are expected. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. No adverse impact on small businesses is 
expected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No adverse impact on real 
estate development costs is expected. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§ 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

___________________________ 
1 These offenses include: DUI-related offenses, hit-and-run, reckless driving, 
and failure to comply with conditions imposed upon license probation for 
driving offenses. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Department of 
Rehabilitative Services concurs with the economic impact 
analysis completed by the Department of Planning and 
Budget on July 1, 2008. 

Summary: 
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The proposed amendments (i) clarify that the 
Commonwealth Neurotrauma Initiative Trust Fund is to be 
used for innovative research and treatment programs and 
is not to be used as a source for long-term funding; (ii) 
remove the assigned weights to the criteria that are used in 
reviewing and ranking grant applications; (iii) provide 
that the commissioner can reallocate a limited amount of 
unexpended balances to fund new research in the area of 
neurotrauma; and (iv) make clarification and editorial 
changes. 

Part I  
Definitions and General Information  

22VAC30-50-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meaning unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Advisory board" means the Commonwealth Neurotrauma 
Initiative Advisory Board. 

"Fund" means the Commonwealth Neurotrauma Initiative 
Trust Fund. 

"Neurotrauma" means an injury to the central nervous 
system, i.e., a traumatic spinal cord or brain injury, which 
results in loss of physical functions, cognitive functions or 
both. 

"RFP" or "request" means a request for proposals published 
issued by the advisory board seeking applications for grant 
moneys in the fund. 

22VAC30-50-20. Statement of general policy. 

The Commonwealth of Virginia has recognized the need to 
prevent traumatic spinal cord and brain injuries and is 
committed to improve improving the treatment and care of 
Virginians with traumatic spinal cord and brain injuries. By 
creating the fund and authorizing the advisory board to 
administer the fund, the Commonwealth makes grant funds 
available to Virginia-based organizations, institutions and 
researchers funds to address these needs. The advisory board 
seeks to administer administers the fund in order to carry out 
the intent of the law in accordance with its authority.  

22VAC30-50-30. Purpose of chapter Disbursement of 
funds. 

A. This chapter serves to (i) establish policies and 
procedures for soliciting and receiving applications for grants 
from the fund, (ii) establish criteria for reviewing and ranking 
such applications, and (iii) establish procedures for 
distributing moneys in the fund, which shall be used solely to 
provide grants to Virginia-based organizations, institutions, 
and researchers. 

B. Forty-seven and one-half percent of the moneys shall be 
allocated for research on the mechanisms and treatment of 

neurotrauma; 47-1/2% of the moneys shall be allocated for 
rehabilitative services, i.e., the development of innovative, 
model community-based rehabilitative programs and services 
for injured individuals with neurotrauma; and 5.0% of the 
moneys shall be allocated for the Department of 
Rehabilitative Services' costs for administering and staffing 
the Commonwealth Neurotrauma Initiative Advisory Board 
Trust Fund and advisory board. Those applications for grants 
to conduct research on the mechanisms and treatment of 
neurotrauma shall be identified as Option A applications. 
Those applications for grants to provide rehabilitative 
services shall be identified as Option B applications.  

22VAC30-50-50. Application of an exemption to the 
Virginia Freedom of Information Act.  

Pursuant to a provision of the Virginia Freedom of 
Information Act, Chapter 37 (§ 2.2-3700 et seq.) of Title 2.2 
of the Code of Virginia, records submitted to the advisory 
board as a grant application, or accompanying a grant 
application, to the advisory board pursuant to the law and this 
chapter are excluded from the requirement of open inspection 
to the extent that they contain medical or mental records or 
other data identifying individual patients, or proprietary 
business or research-related information produced or 
collected by an applicant in the conduct of or as a result of 
study or research on medical, rehabilitative, scientific, 
technical or scholarly issues,. This exemption shall apply 
when such information has not been publicly released, 
published, copyrighted or patented, if the disclosure of such 
information would be harmful to the competitive position of 
the applicant. The advisory board intends to rely upon this 
exemption in order to encourage the submission of 
applications.  

Part II  
Soliciting and Reviewing Applications  

22VAC30-50-60. Requests for proposals.  

The advisory board will solicit applications for grants of 
moneys from the fund by publishing issuing requests for 
proposals from time to time. Each application for a grant 
must be received in response to an actual request for 
proposals a proposal and by a deadline specified in the 
request, which will be no fewer than 60 days following 
publication of the request.  

22VAC30-50-70. Appointment of grant Grant reviewers 
and technical advisors.  

The advisory board may choose, at any time, to appoint 
grant reviewers or other technical advisors, or both, at any 
time to assist in reviewing and ranking applications. Such 
reviewers and advisors may represent medical researchers, 
medical practitioners, community-based service providers, 
consumers, or advocates for consumers, or others deemed 
appropriate by the advisory board for this purpose. Reviewers 
and advisors shall be appointed so as to provide equal 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 22, 2008 

1588 

representation from Virginia's three medical schools. 
Reviewers and advisors shall be selected so as to avoid any 
conflict of interests or the appearance thereof, and may be 
chosen because of their the advisory board may choose 
reviewers and advisors residing or working outside Virginia 
in order to ensure impartiality. Whenever reviewers or 
advisors sit as a committee, the chairman of the advisory 
board or his designee shall serve as chairman of the 
committee but shall not vote on individual applications.  

22VAC30-50-80. Specification of Option A or B. 

Each application shall clearly state a purpose to seek funds 
to carry out a program consistent with Option A or Option B. 
for projects to conduct research on the mechanisms and 
treatment of neurotrauma, which shall be referred to as 
"Option A," or to develop innovative, model community-
based rehabilitative programs and services for individuals 
with neurotrauma, which shall be referred to as "Option B." 
Option A applications shall state and demonstrate a clear 
intention of researching the mechanisms of neurotrauma or 
the treatment of neurotrauma, or both. Option B applications 
shall state and demonstrate a clear intention to provide 
innovative, model community-based rehabilitative services by 
developing, expanding or improving community-based 
programs and facilities serving and treating individuals who 
have experienced services for people with traumatic brain 
injury or traumatic spinal cord injury, or both, and expanding 
opportunities for such individuals to become as independent 
and physically and functionally capable as possible. Neither 
Option A nor Option B grants are intended for long-term 
funding of research projects or service programs. 

22VAC30-50-90. Review of applications; stated priorities. 
Submission of applications. 

In reviewing applications submitted for grant awards, 
whether Option A or Option B, the advisory board will give 
priority to accept applications that:  

1. Present a convincing and persuasive discussion of how 
the proposed project will carry out its intention as specified 
in accordance with 22VAC30-50-80, and describe in as 
much detail as possible its anticipated effectiveness in 
carrying out its intention.  

2. Include a system for measuring outcomes and 
documenting project impact and effectiveness, including 
any anticipated long-term effect of the proposed project.  

3. Provide the means for consumer involvement in the 
design, implementation and evaluation of the project as 
relevant to the intention of the proposed project;  

4. Identify sources of funds, if known, and fundraising 
strategies to be used in sustaining the proposed project 
following termination of a grant award as relevant to the 
intention of the proposed project;  

5. 2. Comply fully with additional informational and 
administrative requirements stated in the specific RFP to 
which applications applicants are responding;. 

6. 3. In the case of an Option A application:  

a. Discuss the relevance of the proposed project to an 
identified field of medical or rehabilitative inquiry,  

b. Demonstrate the anticipated benefit of the proposed 
project in terms of expanding knowledge and 
understanding of neurotrauma,  

c. Discuss any innovation or breakthrough the project 
seeks to promote, specifying outcome measures where 
possible for each of the preceding enumerated items in 
this subdivision, and  

d. Describe efforts to ensure that the proposed project 
will does not duplicate completed previous or ongoing 
research; and  

7. 4. In the case of an Option B application:  

a. Describe and demonstrate the need for the Discuss the 
relevance of the proposed project to an identified need 
for innovative, model community-based rehabilitative 
services in terms of the absence of alternative programs, 
services, and resources and facilities available to the 
intended individuals and community,; 

b. Demonstrate the avoidance of duplication of Describe 
efforts to ensure that the proposed project does not 
duplicate programs, services, or resources already 
available; and  

c. State and emphasize a commitment to collaborative 
community planning involving consumer groups, service 
providers, employers, relevant state and local agencies, 
and other funding sources, as available or anticipated to 
become available, and relevant state and local agencies.  

Part III  
Specific Project Consideration and Application Criteria, 
Selection of Successful Applications and Amount and 

Announcement of Awards  

22VAC30-50-100. Ranking and reviewing Reviewing and 
ranking grant applications. 

A. The advisory board will distinguish the class of Option A 
applications from the class of Option B applications when 
soliciting, ranking and reviewing and ranking grant 
applications. Applications will be considered and ranked only 
among only other applications with the stated intention to 
address the same option submitted under the same stated 
option, either Option A or Option B. Applications initially 
deemed effective in serving meeting the purpose of either 
option a solicitation and to have substantially addressed the 
general considerations stated in Part II (22VAC30-50-60 et 
seq.) of this chapter, as applicable, will be subsequently 
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ranked and reviewed and ranked according to their 
satisfaction of the following criteria, which will be weighted 
as indicated:  

1. The purpose and significance of the project - 20 points; 

2. The objectives and expected benefits of the project - 20 
points;  

3. The design of the project, means of assessing outcomes, 
methods to be employed, and the level of detail and 
feasibility of an included action plan - 25 points to include 
(i) methods, activities, and a timeline for achieving project 
goals and objectives, and (ii) a system for measuring 
outcomes and documenting project impact, effectiveness, 
and any anticipated long-term effects; 

4. Detailed nature, completeness and feasibility of an 
included A detailed budget - 15 points that is reasonable 
and appropriate for the scope of the project; 

5. The identification of potential sources of funds and 
fundraising strategies to be used in sustaining the proposed 
project following termination of a grant award as relevant 
to the intention of the proposed project; 

5. 6. Demonstrated or anticipated capability of the existing 
or planned organizational structure - 15 points; 

7. The means for consumer involvement in the design, 
implementation, and evaluation of the project as feasible 
and relevant  to the intention of the proposed project; 

6. 8. A commitment to include the participation of small, 
women-owned and minority businesses, as such are 
available and capable of participation - 5 points. 

B. When initially reviewing applications or subsequently 
ranking and reviewing and ranking applications, the advisory 
board may ask applicants to provide required information that 
is missing from the application or additional clarifying 
information relating to their applications and proposed 
projects. Failure to provide missing information or failure to 
provide additional information that is material and relevant 
may result in the rejection or lowered ranking of an 
application.  

22VAC30-50-110. Amount of grant awards; duration and 
availability of funding. 

A. After reviewing all applications, duly received, for either 
Option A or Option B, the advisory board will determine 
which proposed projects will be offered funding. The 
selection of successful applications will be made based on (i) 
availability of moneys in the fund and, (ii) the criteria listed 
in this chapter review and ranking of the applications 
according to the criteria listed in this chapter, (iii) information 
from grant reviewers or technical advisors who the board may 
appoint to assist in evaluating applications, and (iv) the 
advisory board's assessment of those applications, which 
further the intentions and the purpose of the fund. Subsequent 

discussions Discussions and negotiations may be conducted 
between the advisory board and successful grant applicants in 
order to clarify any remaining issues relating to the proposed 
project.  

B. In considering and determining the amount of a grant 
award and the duration of funding for a particular project, the 
advisory board will consider the requested amount, need, and 
the project design and justification. Actual grant awards will 
be made in amounts ranging from $5,000 to $150,000 per 
year for an anticipated duration, i.e., a total anticipated 
funding period, of one to three years as described in the 
proposal. The award and duration of funding for of a project 
of an anticipated duration exceeding to exceed one year will 
be contingent upon (i) the availability of moneys in the fund, 
whether so stated at the time of the award or not, and (ii) the 
grantee's successful completion of timelines and of interim 
objectives and milestones as proposed and approved in the 
grant application, grant award, and contract documents.  

C. The award of grants to successful applicants will be made 
public within 60 days of the advisory board's decision 
regarding all applications submitted in response to a request 
for proposals.  

D. C. In the event any timelines and interim objectives and 
milestones pertaining to a project are not completed to the 
satisfaction of the advisory board, the advisory board may act 
to withhold moneys not yet disbursed for such a project. In 
the event of a substantial decline in moneys in the fund, the 
advisory board will attempt to distribute moneys to projects 
of an anticipated duration greater than one year in a manner 
as fair and equitable as possible.  

D. The award of grants to successful applicants will be made 
public within 60 days of the advisory board's decision 
regarding all applications submitted in response to a request 
for proposals. 

22VAC30-50-120. Unexpended funds. 

Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, the 
Commissioner of the Department of Rehabilitative Services 
may reallocate up to $500,000 from unexpended balances in 
the Commonwealth Neurotrauma Initiative Trust Fund to 
fund new grant awards for research on traumatic brain and 
spinal cord injuries. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-843; Filed November 25, 2008, 11:06 a.m.  
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STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation  
Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-72. Standards for Licensed 
Assisted Living Facilities (amending 22VAC40-72-10, 
22VAC40-72-50, 22VAC40-72-90, 22VAC40-72-100, 
22VAC40-72-150, 22VAC40-72-210, 22VAC40-72-220, 
22VAC40-72-230, 22VAC40-72-260, 22VAC40-72-290, 
22VAC40-72-340, 22VAC40-72-390, 22VAC40-72-420, 
22VAC40-72-430, 22VAC40-72-440, 22VAC40-72-630, 
22VAC40-72-660, 22VAC40-72-670, 22VAC40-72-910, 
22VAC40-72-920, 22VAC40-72-930, 22VAC40-72-950, 
22VAC40-72-960, 22VAC40-72-970, 22VAC40-72-1010, 
22VAC40-72-1120; adding 22VAC40-72-191, 22VAC40-
72-201; repealing 22VAC40-72-30, 22VAC40-72-190, 
22VAC40-72-200). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-1732 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
January 21, 2009. 

Effective Date: February 5, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Judith McGreal, Program Development 
Consultant, Department of Social Services, Division of 
Licensing Programs, 7 North 8th Street, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 726-7157, FAX (804) 726-7132, TTY 
(800) 828-1120, or email judith.mcgreal@dss.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The following sections of the Code of Virginia are the 
sources of legal authority to promulgate the regulation: 
§ 63.2-217 (mandatory) states that the board shall adopt 
regulations as may be necessary or desirable to carry out the 
purpose of Title 63.2; § 63.2-1732 (mandatory and 
discretionary) addresses the board’s overall authority to 
promulgate regulation for assisted living facilities and 
specifies content areas to be included in the standards; § 63.2-
1803 (mandatory and discretionary) relates to licensure of 
assisted living facility administrators; § 54.1-3041 
(mandatory) addresses registration of medication aides by the 
Board of Nursing; and § 32.1-37 (mandatory) requires 
licensed facilities to report outbreaks of disease. 

Purpose: The amended regulation is needed to coordinate the 
requirements for the licensure of administrators and the 
registration of medication aides with regulations promulgated 
by the Virginia Board of Long-Term Care Administrators and 
the Virginia Board of Nursing, respectively. This 
coordination will ensure that the different sets of regulations 
work together to protect the health, safety, and welfare of 
residents and to avoid confusing or conflicting requirements. 

The amended regulation incorporates recent changes to the 
Code of Virginia. These amendments keep the regulations up 

to date and ensure that assisted living facilities do not 
inadvertently overlook changes to the Code of Virginia. 

This regulatory action proposes changes based on other 
agency regulations, as well as changes for increased clarity 
and readability of standards. In addition, several technical 
adjustments are proposed. A well-written regulation promotes 
compliance, which leads to increased protection for residents 
of assisted living facilities. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The fast-track 
process is being used because this regulatory action is 
expected to be noncontroversial and there is a sense of 
urgency regarding the effective date of the proposed changes.  
The proposed regulation needs to be in effect on January 2, 
2009, to coordinate with the dates by which administrators of 
facilities providing both residential and assisted living care 
must be licensed (January 2, 2009) and medications aides in 
all assisted living facilities must be registered (December 31, 
2008). 

This regulatory action is expected to be noncontroversial 
because the Assisted Living Facility Advisory Committee 
was involved in the proposed changes and is expected to 
agree with the revisions. 

Substance: The proposed regulatory action revises the 
regulation in respect to dedicated hospice facilities, reporting 
outbreaks of disease, documentation of delegation of resident 
funds, licensure of administrators, provisions for acting 
administrators, administrator responsibilities, administrator 
training, shared administrators for smaller facilities, 
continuing education for medication aides, tuberculosis risk 
assessment, bed hold policy information, review and update 
of individualized service plans, medication reference 
materials, registration of medication aides, supervision of 
medication aides, administration of medications, retention of 
fire inspection reports, and items included in fire and 
emergency evacuation drill records. 

Issues: The following issues were identified: 

22VAC40-72-90. There should be more specific requirements 
for the reporting of outbreaks of disease in assisted living 
facilities. The proposed language is taken from the Code of 
Virginia. Procedures for reporting and plans for training staff 
and providers are being developed in a joint effort by the 
Department of Social Services (DSS) and the Department of 
Health and will be available to assisted living facilities as 
technical assistance. 

22VAC40-72-210 and 22VAC40-72-660. Administrators 
who supervise registered medication aides should complete 
training required for medication aides, not the much less 
comprehensive course that is also available. DSS originally 
proposed that administrators be given the option of either 
course, but revised the proposed standards to require 
administrators to complete the more comprehensive 
registered medication aide training. This change will increase 
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the knowledge base of the administrators who supervise 
medication aides and, therefore, provide increased protection 
to residents for whom medication is administered. The course 
for registered medication aides will take more time to 
complete than the shorter course and may be more costly, 
depending upon the circumstances. 

22VAC40-72-201. Because licensed administrators are 
accountable to the Virginia Board of Long-Term Care 
Administrators, they should not be required to be on the 
premises of an assisted living facility for a specified number 
of hours per week. If the Virginia Board of Long-Term Care 
Administrators determines that a licensed administrator’s 
performance is inadequate, it can suspend, place on probation, 
or revoke that person’s license. DSS revised the proposed 
standards to reflect the same requirements regarding this 
matter that are specified for licensed nursing home 
administrators, i.e., licensed administrators will serve as the 
on-site agent of the licensee and be responsible on a full-time 
basis for the administration and management of the facility. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
State Board of Social Services (Board) proposes to amend its 
Standards for Licensed Assisted Living Facilities to 
incorporate recent changes to Virginia statute and Department 
of Health Professions (DHP) regulations that affect assisted 
living facilities. The Board also proposes several amendments 
to this regulation to conform with recommendations from the 
Assisted Living Facility Advisory Committee (ALFAC). 
Among the changes that are ALFAC initiated, the Board 
proposes to: 

• Require facility staff to document when residents 
delegate management of personal funds to a facility; 

• Modify requirements that govern how much time an 
administrator must spend at any facilities which he 
administers; 

• Change the timing for staff to submit tuberculosis test 
results from the time of hire to on or within seven days 
prior to the first day of work; and 

• Add qualified mental health professionals to the list of 
individuals who may be involved in the review and update 
of individualized service plans. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Persuant to statutory mandate, 
the Board of Long-Term Care Administrators and the Board 
of Nursing within DHP have respectively promulgated 
regulations for licensure of assisted living facility 
administrators and for registration of medication aides. The 
State Board of Social Services (Board) proposes to amend 
sections of their regulation for assisted living facilities so that 

it conforms with these DHP regulations. For instance, the 
Board proposes to amend the medication aide requirements in 
this regulation to explicitly note that medication aides must 
be registered with the Board of Nursing and that the Board of 
Nursing requires continuing education for medication aides 
that must be completed in addition to the continuing 
education required by this regulation. 

The Board also proposes amendments to this regulation that 
will bring it into conformity with recent changes to the Code 
of Virginia. For instance, the Board proposes to eliminate 
provisions in this regulation for dedicated hospice facilities as 
these are no longer licensed as assisted living facilities. The 
changes that the Board proposes to conform this regulation to 
the Code of Virginia and to statute-mandated DHP 
regulations will likely not cause any new costs for regulated 
entities. These changes will, however, provide the added 
benefit of clarity for individuals who would likely, and 
rightly, be confused by having conflicting standards coming 
from different sources. 

Currently, this regulation has provisions for facilities to 
manage residents’ private funds if residents choose to 
delegate this authority. Facility staff is required to keep such 
funds seperate from any facility money and must keep an 
accounting of these funds which must be available to affected 
residents or their legal representatives. There is, however, no 
current explicit requirement that facilities have documented 
proof that residents have delegated authority over their funds. 
The Board proposes to add this requirement. This change is 
likely to slightly increase bookkeeping costs for facilities but 
will also benefit both facility staff and residents and their 
families. Facility staff will be less open to charges of 
improper keeping of resident funds and residents will be 
better protected from fund misappropriation. 

Current regulation has fairly strict requirements as to how 
many hours administrators who administer multiple smaller 
facilities must spend at each of these facilities; current 
regulation also has different limits on the number of smaller 
facilities that an administrator may be in charge of depending 
on how many residents these facilities are licensed for. 
Currently, administrators must spend at least 10 hours a week 
in any facilities that are licensed for 10 or fewer residents and 
may administer up to four of these facilities. Administrators 
must spend at least 20 hours a week in any facilities that are 
licensed for 11-19 residents and may only administer two 
such facilities. Administrators must work a total of at least 40 
hours in all their facilities combined. This proposed 
regulation will require that administrators spend at least 10 
hours working in each facility that they administer but must 
still spend at least 40 hours total working in all facilities 
combined.  Administrators will be allowed to work in up to 
four facilities so long as these facilities have capacity of 40 or 
fewer residents total.  These regulatory changes will likely 
not adversely affect patient care but will allow administrators 
greater flexibility in doing their jobs. 
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Current regulation requires facility staff to submit the results 
of a tuberculosis risk assessment upon hire even if they do not 
start working for some time after that. This proposed 
regulation will require staff to submit the results of this 
assessment sometime in a seven day period before they 
actually start to work (or on their start date).  This provision 
will allow facilities to better protect residents from possible 
exposure to tuberculosis. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The Department of Social 
Services (DSS) reports that there are approximately 600 
licensed assisted living facilities in the Commonwealth. All 
of these facilities, and all administrators and medication aides 
who work in these facilities, will be affected by this proposed 
regulation. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 
likely have no impact on employment in the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 
regulatory action will likely have no effect on the use or value 
of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. DSS reports that 
most, if not all, of the approximately 600 assisted living 
facilities in the Commonwealth are small businesses. These 
businesses will likely incur slightly higher bookkeeping costs 
because of a provision in this proposed regulation that require 
documentation of residents’ consent for facilities to manage 
their funds. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. There are likely no alternate methods that 
the board could have employed in writing the requirements of 
this proposed regulation that would have both accomplished 
the board’s goals and further minimized any adverse impact 
on small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 

§ 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Department of 
Social Services concurs with the economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

This regulatory action amends the regulation pertaining 
to licensure of administrators and registration of 
medication aides in order to coordinate the State Board 
of Social Services (board) assisted living facility 
regulation with regulations of the Virginia Board of 
Long-Term Care Administrators and the Virginia Board 
of Nursing at the Department of Health Professions. The 
licensure of administrators and the registration of 
medication aides are a result of revisions to the Code of 
Virginia. Other changes made by the regulatory action 
include adding a requirement for reporting outbreaks of 
disease and deleting a standard regarding dedicated 
hospice facilities.  These changes are being made to 
mirror revisions made to the Code of Virginia. 

The regulatory action also includes changes to the 
requirements for safeguarding resident funds, shared 
administrators for smaller homes, initial tuberculosis 
risk assessment report, bed hold policy information, 
individualized service plan update and review, 
administration of medication, fire safety inspection 
reports, and fire and emergency evacuation drill records. 
In addition, revisions were made to several definitions of 
terms used in the regulations. Changes were also made 
to improve clarity and readability, and to make technical 
adjustments. 

Part I  
General Provisions  

22VAC40-72-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Activities of daily living (ADLs)" means bathing, dressing, 
toileting, transferring, bowel control, bladder control and 
eating/feeding. A person's degree of independence in 
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performing these activities is a part of determining 
appropriate level of care and services.  

"Administer medication" means to open a container of 
medicine or to remove the ordered dosage and to give it to the 
resident for whom it is ordered.  

"Administrator" means the licensee or a person designated 
by the licensee who is responsible for the general 
administration and management of an assisted living facility 
and who oversees the day-to-day operation of the facility, 
including compliance with all regulations for licensed 
assisted living facilities.  

"Advance directive" means, as defined in § 54.1-2982 of the 
Code of Virginia, (i) a witnessed written document, 
voluntarily executed by the declarant in accordance with the 
requirements of § 54.1-2983 of the Code of Virginia or (ii) a 
witnessed oral statement, made by the declarant subsequent to 
the time he is diagnosed as suffering from a terminal 
condition and in accordance with the provisions of § 54.1-
2983 of the Code of Virginia. The individual or his legal 
representative can rescind the document at any time.  

"Ambulatory" means the condition of a resident who is 
physically and mentally capable of self-preservation by 
evacuating in response to an emergency to a refuge area as 
defined by 13VAC5-63, the Virginia Uniform Statewide 
Building Code, without the assistance of another person, or 
from the structure itself without the assistance of another 
person if there is no such refuge area within the structure, 
even if such resident may require the assistance of a 
wheelchair, walker, cane, prosthetic device, or a single verbal 
command to evacuate.  

"Assisted living care" means a level of service provided by 
an assisted living facility for adults who may have physical or 
mental impairments and require at least moderate assistance 
with the activities of daily living. Included in this level of 
service are individuals who are dependent in behavior pattern 
(i.e., abusive, aggressive, disruptive) as documented on the 
uniform assessment instrument.  

"Assisted living facility" means, as defined in § 63.2-100 of 
the Code of Virginia, any congregate residential setting that 
provides or coordinates personal and health care services, 24-
hour supervision, and assistance (scheduled and unscheduled) 
for the maintenance or care of four or more adults who are 
aged, infirm or disabled and who are cared for in a primarily 
residential setting, except (i) a facility or portion of a facility 
licensed by the State Board of Health or the Department of 
Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse 
Services, but including any portion of such facility not so 
licensed; (ii) the home or residence of an individual who 
cares for or maintains only persons related to him by blood or 
marriage; (iii) a facility or portion of a facility serving infirm 
or disabled persons between the ages of 18 and 21, or 22 if 
enrolled in an educational program for the handicapped 

pursuant to § 22.1-214 of the Code of Virginia, when such 
facility is licensed by the department as a children's 
residential facility under Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of 
Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia, but including any portion 
of the facility not so licensed; and (iv) any housing project for 
persons 62 years of age or older or the disabled that provides 
no more than basic coordination of care services and is 
funded by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban 
Development, by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, or by 
the Virginia Housing Development Authority. Included in 
this definition are any two or more places, establishments or 
institutions owned or operated by a single entity and 
providing maintenance or care to a combined total of four or 
more aged, infirm or disabled adults. Maintenance or care 
means the protection, general supervision and oversight of the 
physical and mental well-being of an aged, infirm or disabled 
individual.  

Assuming responsibility for the well-being of residents, 
either directly or through contracted agents, is considered 
"general supervision and oversight."  

"Behavioral health authority" means the organization, 
appointed by and accountable to the governing body of the 
city or county that established it, that provides mental health, 
mental retardation, and substance abuse services through its 
own staff or through contracts with other organizations and 
providers.  

"Building" means a structure with exterior walls under one 
roof.  

"Cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR)" means an 
emergency procedure consisting of external cardiac massage 
and artificial respiration; the first treatment for a person who 
has collapsed and has no pulse and has stopped breathing; and 
attempts to restore circulation of the blood and prevent death 
or brain damage due to lack of oxygen.  

"Case management" means multiple functions designed to 
link clients to appropriate services. Case management may 
include a variety of common components such as initial 
screening of needs, comprehensive assessment of needs, 
development and implementation of a plan of care, service 
monitoring, and client follow-up.  

"Case manager" means an employee of a public human 
services agency who is qualified and designated to develop 
and coordinate plans of care.  

"Chemical restraint" means a psychopharmacologic drug 
that is used for discipline or convenience and not required to 
treat the resident's medical symptoms or symptoms from 
mental illness or mental retardation, that prohibits an 
individual from reaching his highest level of functioning.  

"Commissioner" means the commissioner of the department, 
his designee or authorized representative.  
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"Community services board" or "CSB" means a citizens' 
board established pursuant to § 37.2-501 of the Code of 
Virginia that provides mental health, mental retardation and 
substance abuse programs and services within the political 
subdivision or political subdivisions participating on the 
board.  

"Conservator" means a person appointed by the court who is 
responsible for managing the estate and financial affairs of an 
incapacitated person and, where the context plainly indicates, 
includes a "limited conservator" or a "temporary 
conservator." The term includes a local or regional program 
designated by the Department for the Aging as a public 
conservator pursuant to Article 2 (§ 2.2-711 et seq.) of 
Chapter 7 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Continuous licensed nursing care" means around-the-clock 
observation, assessment, monitoring, supervision, or 
provision of medical treatments provided by a licensed nurse. 
Residents requiring continuous licensed nursing care may 
include:  

1. Individuals who have a medical instability due to 
complexities created by multiple, interrelated medical 
conditions; or  

2. Individuals with a health care condition with a high 
potential for medical instability.  

"Department" means the State Department of Social 
Services.  

"Department's representative" means an employee or 
designee of the State Department of Social Services, acting as 
an authorized agent of the Commissioner of Social Services.  

"Dietary supplement" means a product intended for 
ingestion that supplements the diet, is labeled as a dietary 
supplement, is not represented as a sole item of a meal or diet, 
and contains a dietary ingredient(s), i.e., vitamins, minerals, 
amino acid, herbs or other botanicals, dietary substances 
(such as enzymes), and concentrates, metabolites, 
constituents, extracts, or combinations of the preceding types 
of ingredients. Dietary supplements may be found in many 
forms, such as tablets, capsules, liquids, or bars.  

"Direct care staff" means supervisors, assistants, aides, or 
other employees of a facility who assist residents in the 
performance of personal care and or daily living activities. 
Examples are likely to include nursing staff, activity staff, 
geriatric or personal care assistants, medication aides, and 
mental health workers but are not likely to include waiters, 
chauffeurs, cooks, and dedicated housekeeping, maintenance 
and laundry personnel.  

"Discharge" means the movement of a resident out of the 
assisted living facility.  

"Emergency" means, as it applies to restraints, a situation 
that may require the use of a restraint where the resident's 

behavior is unmanageable to the degree an immediate and 
serious danger is presented to the health and safety of the 
resident or others.  

"Emergency placement" means the temporary status of an 
individual in an assisted living facility when the person's 
health and safety would be jeopardized by denying entry into 
the facility until the requirements for admission have been 
met.  

"Good character and reputation" means findings have been 
established and knowledgeable, reasonable, and objective 
people agree that the individual (i) maintains business or 
professional, family, and community relationships that are 
characterized by honesty, fairness, truthfulness, and 
dependability; and (ii) has a history and pattern of behavior 
that demonstrates the individual is suitable and able to 
administer a program for the care, supervision, and protection 
of adults. Relatives by blood or marriage and persons who are 
not knowledgeable of the individual, such as recent 
acquaintances, may not act as references.  

"Guardian" means a person who has been legally invested 
with the authority and charged with the duty of taking care of 
the person, managing his property and protecting the rights of 
the person who has been declared by the circuit court to be 
incapacitated and incapable of administering his own affairs. 
The powers and duties of the guardian are defined by the 
court and are limited to matters within the areas where the 
person in need of a guardian has been determined to be 
incapacitated.  

"Habilitative service" means activities to advance a normal 
sequence of motor skills, movement, and self-care abilities or 
to prevent avoidable additional deformity or dysfunction.  

"Health care provider" means a person, corporation, facility 
or institution licensed by this Commonwealth to provide 
health care or professional services such as a physician or 
hospital, dentist, pharmacist, registered or licensed practical 
nurse, optometrist, podiatrist, chiropractor, physical therapist, 
physical therapy assistant, clinical psychologist, or health 
maintenance organization. This list is not all inclusive.  

"Household member" means any person domiciled in an 
assisted living facility other than residents or staff.  

"Imminent physical threat or danger" means clear and 
present risk of sustaining or inflicting serious or life 
threatening injuries.  

"Independent clinical psychologist" means a clinical 
psychologist who is chosen by the resident of the assisted 
living facility and who has no financial interest in the assisted 
living facility, directly or indirectly, as an owner, officer or 
employee or as an independent contractor with the facility.  

"Independent living environment" means one in which the 
resident or residents perform all activities of daily living and 
instrumental activities of daily living for themselves without 
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requiring the assistance of another person and take 
medication without requiring the assistance of another person.  

"Independent living status" means that the resident is 
assessed as capable of performing all activities of daily living 
and instrumental activities of daily living for himself without 
requiring the assistance of another person and is assessed as 
capable of taking medications without the assistance of 
another person. (If the policy of a facility dictates that 
medications are administered or distributed centrally without 
regard for the residents' capacity, this policy shall not be 
considered in determining independent status.)  

"Independent physician" means a physician who is chosen 
by the resident of the assisted living facility and who has no 
financial interest in the assisted living facility, directly or 
indirectly, as an owner, officer, or employee or as an 
independent contractor with the facility.  

"Individualized service plan (ISP)" means the written 
description of actions to be taken by the licensee, including 
coordination with other services providers, to meet the 
assessed needs of the resident.  

"Instrumental activities of daily living (IADLs)" means meal 
preparation, housekeeping, laundry, and managing money. A 
person's degree of independence in performing these 
activities is a part of determining appropriate level of care and 
services.  

"Intermittent intravenous therapy" means therapy provided 
by a licensed health care professional at medically predictable 
intervals for a limited period of time on a daily or periodic 
basis.  

"Legal representative" means a person legally responsible 
for representing or standing in the place of the resident for the 
conduct of his affairs. This may include a guardian, 
conservator, attorney-in-fact under durable power of attorney, 
trustee, or other person expressly named by a court of 
competent jurisdiction or the resident as his agent in a legal 
document that specifies the scope of the representative's 
authority to act. A legal representative may only represent or 
stand in the place of a resident for the function or functions 
for which he has legal authority to act.  

A resident is presumed competent and is responsible for 
making all health care, personal care, financial, and other 
personal decisions that affect his life unless a representative 
with legal authority has been appointed by a court of 
competent jurisdiction or has been appointed by the resident 
in a properly executed and signed document. A resident may 
have different legal representatives for different functions.  

For any given standard, the term legal representative applies 
solely to the legal representative with the authority to act in 
regard to the function or functions relevant to that particular 
standard.  

"Licensed health care professional" means any health care 
professional currently licensed by the Commonwealth of 
Virginia to practice within the scope of his profession, such 
as a nurse practitioner, registered nurse, licensed practical 
nurse, (nurses may be licensed or hold multistate licensure 
pursuant to § 54.1-3000 of the Code of Virginia), clinical 
social worker, dentist, occupational therapist, pharmacist, 
physical therapist, physician, physician assistant, 
psychologist, and speech-language pathologist.  

Responsibilities of physicians referenced in this chapter may 
be implemented by nurse practitioners or physician assistants 
in accordance with their protocols or practice agreements 
with their supervising physicians and in accordance with the 
law.  

"Licensee" means any person, association, partnership, 
corporation, company or public agency to whom the license is 
issued.  

"Manager" means a designated person who serves as a 
manager pursuant to 22VAC40-72-220 and 22VAC40-72-
230.  

"Mandated reporter" means the following persons acting in 
their professional capacity who have reason to suspect abuse, 
neglect or exploitation of an adult:  

1. Any person licensed, certified, or registered by health 
regulatory boards listed in § 54.1-2503 of the Code of 
Virginia, with the exception of persons licensed by the 
Board of Veterinary Medicine;  

2. Any mental health services provider as defined in § 
54.1-2400.1 of the Code of Virginia;  

3. Any emergency medical services personnel certified by 
the Board of Health pursuant to § 32.1-111.5 of the Code 
of Virginia;  

4. Any guardian or conservator of an adult;  

5. Any person employed by or contracted with a public or 
private agency or facility and working with adults in an 
administrative, supportive or direct care capacity;  

6. Any person providing full, intermittent or occasional 
care to an adult for compensation, including but not limited 
to companion, chore, homemaker, and personal care 
workers; and  

7. Any law-enforcement officer.  

This is pursuant to § 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Maximum physical assistance" means that an individual 
has a rating of total dependence in four or more of the seven 
activities of daily living as documented on the uniform 
assessment instrument.  
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An individual who can participate in any way with 
performance of the activity is not considered to be totally 
dependent.  

"Medication aide" means a staff person who has 
successfully completed (i) one of the five requirements 
specified in 22VAC40-72-250 C 1 through 5 (See 22VAC40-
72-660 for exception), and (ii) the medication training 
program developed by the department and approved by the 
Board of Nursing.  

This definition expires one year after the effective date of 
regulations promulgated by the Board of Nursing for the 
registration of medication aides. Thereafter, medication aides 
shall mean those persons who have current registration by 
with the Virginia Board of Nursing to administer drugs that 
would otherwise be self-administered to residents in an 
assisted living facility in accordance with the Regulations 
Governing the Registration of Medication Aides (18VAC90-
60). 

"Mental impairment" means a disability that reduces an 
individual's ability to reason logically, make appropriate 
decisions, or engage in purposeful behavior.  

"Mental illness" means a disorder of thought, mood, 
emotion, perception, or orientation that significantly impairs 
judgment, behavior, capacity to recognize reality, or ability to 
address basic life necessities and requires care and treatment 
for the health, safety, or recovery of the individual or for the 
safety of others.  

"Mental retardation" means disability, originating before the 
age of 18 years, characterized concurrently by (i) significantly 
subaverage intellectual functioning as demonstrated by 
performance on a standardized measure of intellectual 
functioning, administered in conformity with accepted 
professional practice, that is at least two standard deviations 
below the mean and (ii) significant limitations in adaptive 
behavior as expressed in conceptual, social, and practical 
adaptive skills.  

"Minimal assistance" means dependency in only one activity 
of daily living or dependency in one or more of the 
instrumental activities of daily living as documented on the 
uniform assessment instrument.  

"Moderate assistance" means dependency in two or more of 
the activities of daily living as documented on the uniform 
assessment instrument.  

"Nonambulatory" means the condition of a resident who by 
reason of physical or mental impairment is not capable of 
self-preservation without the assistance of another person.  

"Nonemergency" means, as it applies to restraints, 
circumstances that may require the use of a restraint for the 
purpose of providing support to a physically weakened 
resident.  

"Outbreak" means a sudden rise in the incidence of a disease 
or symptoms above expected levels, or the occurrence of a 
large number of cases of a disease or symptoms in a short 
period of time. There is not a specific number or percentage 
that always constitutes an outbreak because the level of risk is 
dependent upon the severity of the disease or the intensity of 
the symptoms.  

"Physical impairment" means a condition of a bodily or 
sensory nature that reduces an individual's ability to function 
or to perform activities.  

"Physical restraint" means any manual method or physical 
or mechanical device, material, or equipment attached or 
adjacent to the resident's body that the resident cannot remove 
easily, which restricts freedom of movement or access to his 
body.  

"Physician" means an individual licensed to practice 
medicine or osteopathic medicine in any of the 50 states or 
the District of Columbia.  

"Prescriber" means a practitioner who is authorized pursuant 
to §§ 54.1-3303 and 54.1-3408 of the Code of Virginia to 
issue a prescription.  

"Private pay" means that a resident of an assisted living 
facility is not eligible for benefits under the Auxiliary Grants 
Program.  

"Psychopharmacologic drug" means any drug prescribed or 
administered with the intent of controlling mood, mental 
status or behavior. Psychopharmacologic drugs include not 
only the obvious drug classes, such as antipsychotic, 
antidepressants, and the antianxiety/hypnotic class, but any 
drug that is prescribed or administered with the intent of 
controlling mood, mental status, or behavior, regardless of the 
manner in which it is marketed by the manufacturers and 
regardless of labeling or other approvals by the United States 
Food and Drug Administration.  

"Public pay" means that a resident of an assisted living 
facility is eligible for benefits under the Auxiliary Grants 
Program.  

"Qualified" means having appropriate training and 
experience commensurate with assigned responsibilities; or if 
referring to a professional, possessing an appropriate degree 
or having documented equivalent education, training or 
experience. There are specific definitions for "qualified 
assessor" and "qualified mental health professional" below.  

"Qualified assessor" means an individual who is authorized 
to perform an assessment, reassessment, or change in level of 
care for an applicant to or resident of an assisted living 
facility. For public pay individuals, a qualified assessor is an 
employee of a public human services agency trained in the 
completion of the uniform assessment instrument (UAI). For 
private pay individuals, a qualified assessor is an employee of 
the assisted living facility trained in the completion of the 
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UAI or an independent private physician or a qualified 
assessor for public pay individuals.  

"Qualified mental health professional" means a behavioral 
health professional who is trained and experienced in 
providing psychiatric or mental health services to individuals 
who have a psychiatric diagnosis, including and limited to (i) 
a physician licensed in Virginia; (ii) a psychologist: an 
individual with a master's degree in psychology from a 
college or university accredited by an association recognized 
by the U.S. Secretary of Education, with at least one year of 
clinical experience; (iii) a social worker: an individual with at 
least a master's degree in human services or related field 
(social work, psychology, psychiatric rehabilitation, 
sociology, counseling, vocational rehabilitation, or human 
services counseling) from a college or university accredited 
by an association recognized by the U.S. Secretary of 
Education, with at least one year of clinical experience 
providing direct services to persons with a diagnosis of 
mental illness; (iv) a Registered Psychiatric Rehabilitation 
Provider (RPRP) registered with the International Association 
of Psychosocial Rehabilitation Services (IAPSRS); (v) a 
clinical nurse specialist or psychiatric nurse practitioner 
licensed in the Commonwealth of Virginia with at least one 
year of clinical experience working in a mental health 
treatment facility or agency; (vi) any other licensed mental 
health professional; or (viii) any other person deemed by the 
Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services as having qualifications equivalent 
to those described in this definition. Any unlicensed person 
who meets the requirements contained in this definition shall 
either be under the supervision of a licensed mental health 
professional or employed by an agency or organization 
licensed by the Department of Mental Health, Mental 
Retardation and Substance Abuse Services. 

"Rehabilitative services" means activities that are ordered by 
a physician or other qualified health care professional that are 
provided by a rehabilitative therapist (physical therapist, 
occupational therapist or speech-language pathologist). These 
activities may be necessary when a resident has demonstrated 
a change in his capabilities and are provided to restore or 
improve his level of functioning. 

"Resident" means any adult residing in an assisted living 
facility for the purpose of receiving maintenance or care. 

"Residential living care" means a level of service provided 
by an assisted living facility for adults who may have 
physical or mental impairments and require only minimal 
assistance with the activities of daily living. Included in this 
level of service are individuals who are dependent in 
medication administration as documented on the uniform 
assessment instrument. This definition includes the services 
provided by the facility to individuals who are assessed as 
capable of maintaining themselves in an independent living 
status.  

"Respite care" means services provided for maintenance and 
care of aged, infirm or disabled adults for temporary periods 
of time, regularly or intermittently. Facilities offering this 
type of care are subject to this chapter.  

"Restorative care" means activities designed to assist the 
resident in reaching or maintaining his level of potential. 
These activities are not required to be provided by a 
rehabilitative therapist and may include activities such as 
range of motion, assistance with ambulation, positioning, 
assistance and instruction in the activities of daily living, 
psychosocial skills training, and reorientation and reality 
orientation.  

"Safe, secure environment" means a self-contained special 
care unit for individuals with serious cognitive impairments 
due to a primary psychiatric diagnosis of dementia who 
cannot recognize danger or protect their own safety and 
welfare. Means of egress that lead to unprotected areas must 
be monitored or secured through devices that conform to 
applicable building and fire safety standards, including but 
not limited to door alarms, cameras, constant staff oversight, 
security bracelets that are part of an alarm system, pressure 
pads at doorways, delayed egress mechanisms, locking 
devices or perimeter fence gates. There may be one or more 
self-contained special care units in a facility or the whole 
facility may be a special care unit. Nothing in this definition 
limits or contravenes the privacy protections set forth in 
§ 63.2-1808 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Sanitizing" means treating in such a way to remove bacteria 
and viruses through using a disinfectant solution (e.g., bleach 
solution or commercial chemical disinfectant) or physical 
agent (e.g., heat).  

"Serious cognitive impairment" means severe deficit in 
mental capability of a chronic, enduring or long-term nature 
that affects areas such as thought processes, problem-solving, 
judgment, memory, and comprehension and that interferes 
with such things as reality orientation, ability to care for self, 
ability to recognize danger to self or others, and impulse 
control. Such cognitive impairment is not due to acute or 
episodic conditions, nor conditions arising from treatable 
metabolic or chemical imbalances or caused by reactions to 
medication or toxic substances.  

"Significant change" means a change in a resident's 
condition that is expected to last longer than 30 days. It does 
not include short-term changes that resolve with or without 
intervention, a short-term acute illness or episodic event, or a 
well-established, predictive, cyclic pattern of clinical signs 
and symptoms associated with a previously diagnosed 
condition where an appropriate course of treatment is in 
progress. 

"Skilled nursing treatment" means a service ordered by a 
physician or other prescriber that is provided by and within 
the scope and practice of a licensed nurse. 
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"Skills training" means systematic skill building through 
curriculum-based psychoeducational and cognitive-behavioral 
interventions. These interventions break down complex 
objectives for role performance into simpler components, 
including basic cognitive skills such as attention, to facilitate 
learning and competency.  

"Staff" or "staff person" means personnel working at a 
facility who are compensated or have a financial interest in 
the facility, regardless of role, service, age, function or 
duration of employment at the facility. Staff or staff person 
also includes those individuals hired through a contract to 
provide services for the facility.  

"Substance abuse" means the use, without compelling 
medical reason, of alcohol or other legal or illegal drugs that 
results in psychological or physiological dependency or 
danger to self or others as a function of continued use in such 
a manner as to induce mental, emotional or physical 
impairment and cause socially dysfunctional or socially 
disordering behavior.  

"Systems review" means a physical examination of the body 
to determine if the person is experiencing problems or 
distress, including cardiovascular system, respiratory system, 
gastrointestinal system, urinary system, endocrine system, 
musculoskeletal system, nervous system, sensory system and 
the skin.  

"Transfer" means movement of a resident to a different 
assigned living area within the same licensed facility.  

"Uniform assessment instrument (UAI)" means the 
department designated assessment form. There is an alternate 
version of the form that may be used for private pay residents. 
Social and financial information that is not relevant because 
of the resident's payment status is not included on the private 
pay version of the form.  

22VAC40-72-30. Dedicated hospice facilities. (Repealed.) 

A. Providers operating an assisted living facility that is a 
dedicated hospice facility shall maintain compliance with 
both the department's regulations for the licensure of assisted 
living facilities and the Department of Health's regulations for 
the licensure of hospice.  

B. When applicable regulations for licensure of assisted 
living facilities and licensure of hospice are similar, the more 
stringent regulation shall take precedence.  

C. At the time of submission of a renewal application for an 
assisted living facility license, providers operating a dedicated 
hospice facility shall include a copy of all inspection reports 
and plans of correction for the licensed hospice for the 
previous assisted living facility licensure period. These 
reports may be taken into consideration in the department's 
decision to renew an assisted living facility's license.  

D. The administration of medications to residents of 
dedicated hospice facilities shall comply with 12VAC5-391-
430 A and B. The use of medication aides is prohibited.  

E. The health care oversight stipulated in 22VAC40-72-480 
shall be conducted by a registered nurse, licensed physician, 
or a nurse practitioner or physician's assistant acting as 
assigned by the supervising physician and within the 
parameters of professional licensing.  

Part II  
Administration and Administrative Services  

22VAC40-72-50. Licensee.  

A. The licensee shall ensure compliance with all regulations 
for licensed assisted living facilities and terms of the license 
issued by the department; with relevant federal, state or local 
laws and other relevant regulations; and with the facility's 
own policies and procedures.  

B. The licensee shall meet the following requirements:  

1. The licensee shall give evidence of financial 
responsibility.  

2. The licensee shall be of good character and reputation.  

Character and reputation investigation includes, but is not 
limited to, background checks as required by §§ 63.2-1702 
and 63.2-1721 of the Code of Virginia.  

3. The licensee shall meet the requirements specified in the 
Regulation for Background Checks for Assisted Living 
Facilities and Adult Day Care Centers (22VAC40-90).  

4. The licensee shall protect the physical and mental well-
being of residents.  

5. The licensee shall exercise general supervision over the 
affairs of the licensed facility and establish policies and 
procedures concerning its operation in conformance with 
applicable law, these regulations, and the welfare of the 
residents.  

6. The licensee shall develop and maintain an operating 
budget, including resident care, dietary, and physical plant 
maintenance allocations and expenditures. The budget 
shall be sufficient to ensure adequate funds in all aspects of 
operation.  

7. The licensee shall ensure that the facility keeps such 
records, makes such reports and maintains such plans, 
schedules, and other information as required by this 
chapter for licensed assisted living facilities. The facility 
shall submit, or make available, to the department's 
representative, records, reports, plans, schedules, and other 
information necessary to establish compliance with this 
chapter and applicable law. Such records, reports, plans, 
schedules, and other information shall be maintained at the 
facility and may be inspected at any reasonable time by the 
department's representative.  
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8. The licensee shall meet the qualifications of and 
requirements for the administrator if he serves as the 
administrator of the facility.  

C. An assisted living facility sponsored by a religious 
organization, a corporation or a voluntary association shall be 
controlled by a governing board of directors that shall fulfill 
the duties of the licensee.  

D. Upon initial application for an assisted living facility 
license, any person applying to operate such a facility who 
has not previously owned or managed or does not currently 
own or manage a licensed assisted living facility shall be 
required to undergo training by the commissioner or his 
designated agents. Such training shall be required of those 
owners and currently employed administrators of an assisted 
living facility at the time of initial application for a license.  

1. The commissioner may also approve training programs 
provided by other entities and allow owners or 
administrators to attend such approved training programs 
in lieu of training by the department.  

2. The commissioner may at his discretion also approve for 
licensure applicants who meet requisite experience criteria 
as established by the board.  

3. The training programs shall focus on the health and 
safety regulations and resident rights as they pertain to 
assisted living facilities and shall be completed by the 
owner or administrator prior to the granting of an initial 
license.  

4. The commissioner may, at his discretion, issue a license 
conditioned upon the owner or administrator's completion 
of the required training.  

E. If there are plans for a facility to be voluntarily closed or 
sold, the licensee shall notify the regional licensing office of 
intent to close or sell the facility no less than 60 days prior to 
the closure or sale date. The following shall apply:  

1. No less than 60 days prior to the planned closure or sale 
date, the licensee shall notify the residents, legal 
representatives, and designated contact persons of the 
intended closure or sale of the facility and the date for 
such, and the requirements of 22VAC40-72-420 shall 
apply.  

2. If the facility is to be sold, at the time of notification of 
residents of such, the licensee shall explain to each 
resident, legal representative, and at least one designated 
contact person that unless provided otherwise by the new 
licensee, the resident has a choice as to whether to stay or 
to relocate and that if a resident chooses to stay, there must 
be a new agreement/acknowledgment between the resident 
and the new licensee that meets the specifications of 
22VAC40-72-390.  

3. The licensee shall provide updates regarding the closure 
or sale of the facility to the regional licensing office, as 
requested.  

EXCEPTION: If plans are made at such time that 60-day 
notice is not possible, the licensee shall notify the regional 
licensing office, the residents, legal representatives, and 
designated contact persons as soon as the intent to close or 
sell the facility is known.  

22VAC40-72-90. Infection control program.  

A. The assisted living facility shall establish and maintain an 
infection control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary, 
and comfortable environment and to prevent the development 
and transmission of disease and infection.  

B. The infection control program shall include all staff and 
services and the entire physical plant and grounds.  

C. The infection control program addressing the 
surveillance, prevention and control of infections shall 
include:  

1. Establishing procedures to isolate the infecting 
organism;  

2. Providing easy access to handwashing equipment for all 
staff and volunteers;  

3. Training for and supervisory monitoring of all staff and 
volunteers in proper handwashing techniques, according to 
accepted professional standards, to prevent cross 
contamination;  

4. Training for all staff and volunteers in appropriate 
implementation of standard precautions;  

5. Prohibiting staff and volunteers with communicable 
diseases or infections from direct contact with residents or 
their food, if direct contact may transmit disease;  

6. Monitoring performance of infection control practices 
by staff and volunteers;  

7. Handling, storing, processing and transporting linens, 
supplies and equipment in a manner that prevents the 
spread of infection;  

8. Handling, storing, processing and transporting medical 
waste in accordance with applicable regulations;  

9. Maintaining an effective pest control program; and  

10. Providing staff and volunteer education regarding 
infection risk-reduction behavior. 

D. The methods utilized for infection control shall be 
described in a written document that shall be available to all 
staff. 

E.  The facility administrator shall immediately make or 
cause to be made a report of an outbreak of disease as defined 
by the Virginia Board of Health.  Such report shall be made 
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by rapid means to the local health director or to the 
Commissioner of the Department of Health.  

22VAC40-72-100. Incident reports.  

A. Each facility shall report to the regional licensing office 
by the next working day any major incident that has 
negatively affected or that threatens the life, health, safety or 
welfare of any resident.  

B. The report required in subsection A of this section shall 
include (i) the name of the facility, (ii) the name(s) of the 
resident(s) involved in the incident, (iii) the name of the 
person making the report, (iv) the date of the incident, (v) a 
description of the incident, and (vi) the actions taken in 
response to the incident.  

C. The facility shall submit a written report of each incident 
specified in subsection A of this section to the regional 
licensing office within seven days after the incident took 
place. The report shall be signed and dated by the 
administrator and include the following information:  

1. Name and address of the facility;  

2. Name of the resident(s) involved in the incident;  

3. Date and time of the incident;  

4. Name, title, and signature of the person making the 
report;  

5. Date of completion of the report;  

6. Type of incident;  

7. Description of the incident, the circumstances under 
which it happened, and when applicable, extent of injury or 
damage;  

8. Location of the incident;  

9. Actions taken in response to the incident;  

10. Outcome resolution of the incident, and if applicable 
follow-up actions or care;  

11. Name of staff person in charge at the time of the 
incident;  

12. Names, telephone numbers and addresses of witnesses 
to the incident, if any.  

D. The facility shall submit to the regional licensing office 
amendments to the written report when circumstances 
require, such as when substantial additional actions are taken, 
significant new information becomes available, or there is 
resolution of the incident after submission of the report.  

E. A copy of the written report of each incident shall be 
maintained by the facility for at least two years.  

22VAC40-72-150. Safeguarding residents' funds. 

A. If the resident delegates the management of personal 
funds to the facility, the following standards apply:  

1. Documentation of this delegation, signed and dated by 
the resident and the administrator, shall be maintained in 
the resident's record. 

1. 2. Residents' funds shall be held separately from any 
other moneys of the facility. Residents' funds shall not be 
borrowed, used as assets of the facility, or used for 
purposes of personal interest by the licensee/operator, 
administrator, or facility staff.  

2. 3. If the facility's accumulated residents' funds are 
maintained in a single interest-bearing account, each 
resident shall receive interest proportionate to his average 
monthly account balance. The facility may deduct a 
reasonable cost for administration of the account.  

3. 4. If any personal funds are held by the facility for 
safekeeping on behalf of the resident, a written accounting 
of money received and disbursed, showing a current 
balance, shall be maintained. Residents' funds and the 
accounting of the funds shall be made available to the 
resident or the legal representative or both upon request.  

B. No facility administrator or staff person shall act as either 
attorney-in-fact or trustee unless the resident has no other 
preferred designee and the resident himself expressly requests 
such service by or through facility personnel. Any facility 
administrator or staff person so named shall be accountable at 
all times in the proper discharge of such fiduciary 
responsibility as provided under Virginia law, shall provide a 
quarterly accounting to the resident, and, upon termination of 
the power of attorney or trust for any reason, shall return all 
funds and assets, with full accounting, to the resident or to his 
legal representative or to another responsible party expressly 
designated by the resident. See also 22VAC40-72-120 
regarding conservators or guardians appointed by a court of 
competent jurisdiction.  

22VAC40-72-190. Administrator provisions and 
responsibilities. (Repealed.) 

A. Each facility shall have an administrator of record. This 
does not prohibit the administrator from serving as the 
administrator of record for more than one facility.  

B. The licensee shall notify the licensing office in writing 
within 10 working days of a change in a facility's 
administrator including, but not limited to, the resignation of 
an administrator, appointment of an acting administrator, and 
appointment of a new administrator.  

C. When an administrator terminates employment, the 
licensee shall hire a new administrator within 90 days from 
the date of termination. Unless a new administrator is 
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employed immediately, a qualified acting administrator shall 
be appointed when the administrator terminates employment.  

D. The administrator shall be responsible for the general 
administration of the facility and shall oversee the day-to-day 
operation of the facility. This shall include, but shall not be 
limited to, responsibility for:  

1. Developing and implementing all policies and services 
as required by this chapter;  

2. Ensuring staff and volunteers comply with residents' 
rights;  

3. Maintaining buildings and grounds;  

4. Recruiting, hiring, training, and supervising staff; and  

5. Ensuring the development, implementation, and 
monitoring of an individualized service plan for each 
resident, except that a plan is not required for a resident 
with independent living status.  

E. Either the administrator or a designated assistant who 
meets the qualifications of the administrator shall be awake 
and on duty on the premises at least 40 hours per week with 
no fewer than 24 of those hours being during the day shift on 
week days.  

EXCEPTIONS:  

1. 22VAC40-72-220 allows a shared administrator for 
smaller facilities.  

2. In facilities licensed for both residential and assisted 
living care, if the designated assistant is performing as an 
administrator for fewer than 15 of the 40 hours or for fewer 
than four weeks due to the vacation or illness of the 
administrator, the requirements of 22VAC40-72-200 D 
shall be acceptable.  

F. The facility shall maintain a written schedule of the on-
site presence of the administrator and, if applicable, the 
designated assistant or, as provided for in 22VAC40-72-220 
and 22VAC40-72-230, the manager.  

1. Any changes shall be noted on the schedule.  

2. The facility shall maintain a copy of the schedule for 
two years.  

22VAC40-72-191. Administrator qualifications. 

A. The administrator shall be at least 21 years of age.  

B. The administrator shall be able to read and write, and 
understand this chapter.  

C. The administrator shall be able to perform the duties and 
carry out the responsibilities required by this chapter.  

D. For facilities licensed for residential living care only, the 
administrator shall:  

1. Be a high school graduate or shall have a General 
Education Development (GED) Certificate,  

2. (i) Have successfully completed at least 30 credit hours 
of postsecondary education from a college or university 
accredited by an association recognized by the U.S. 
Secretary of Education or (ii) have successfully completed 
a department-approved course specific to the 
administration of an assisted living facility, and  

3. Have at least one year of administrative or supervisory 
experience in caring for adults in a group care facility.  

EXCEPTIONS:  

1. A nursing home administrator or an assisted living 
facility administrator licensed by the Virginia Board of 
Long-Term Care Administrators,  

2. A licensed nurse who meets the experience requirements 
in subdivision 3 of this subsection, or  

3. An administrator of an assisted living facility employed 
prior to December 28, 2006, who met the requirements in 
effect when employed and who has been continuously 
employed as an assisted living facility administrator.  

E. For facilities licensed for both residential and assisted 
living care, the administrator shall be licensed as an assisted 
living facility administrator or nursing home administrator by 
the Virginia Board of Long-Term Care Administrators 
pursuant to Chapter 31 (§ 54.1-3100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 
the Code of Virginia and in conformance with 18VAC95-20 
or 18VAC95-30 respectively. 

22VAC40-72-200. Administrator qualifications. 
(Repealed.) 

A. The administrator shall be at least 21 years of age.  

B. The administrator shall be able to read and write, and 
understand this chapter.  

C. The administrator shall be able to perform the duties and 
carry out the responsibilities required by this chapter.  

D. For facilities licensed for residential living care only, the 
administrator shall:  

1. Be a high school graduate or shall have a General 
Education Development (GED) Certificate;  

2. (i) Have successfully completed at least 30 credit hours 
of postsecondary education from a college or university 
accredited by an association recognized by the U.S. 
Secretary of Education or (ii) have successfully completed 
a department-approved course specific to the 
administration of an assisted living facility; and  

3. Have at least one year of administrative or supervisory 
experience in caring for adults in a group care facility.  
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EXCEPTIONS:  

1. A licensed nursing home administrator who meets the 
qualifications under § 54.1-3103 of the Code of Virginia;  

2. A licensed nurse who meets the experience requirements 
in subdivision 3 of this subsection;  

3. An administrator of an assisted living facility employed 
prior to December 28, 2006, who met the requirements in 
effect when employed and who has been continuously 
employed as an assisted living facility administrator.  

E. Until the provisions of this subsection expire as specified 
in subsection F of this section, for facilities licensed for both 
residential and assisted living care, the administrator shall:  

1. Be a graduate of a four-year college or university 
accredited by an association recognized by the U.S. 
Secretary of Education; or  

2. Have successfully completed at least 60 credit hours of 
courses in human services or group care administration, 
from a college or university accredited by an association 
recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education; or  

EXCEPTION: Ten or fewer of the 60 credit hours may be 
in business courses.  

3. Have successfully completed at least 30 credit hours of 
courses in human services or group care administration 
from a college or university accredited by an association 
recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education and have 
successfully completed a department-approved course 
specific to the administration of an assisted living facility; 
and  

4. Have completed at least one year of administrative or 
supervisory experience in caring for adults in a group care 
facility.  

EXCEPTIONS:  

1. A licensed nursing home administrator who meets the 
qualifications under § 54.1-3103 of the Code of Virginia;  

2. A licensed registered nurse who meets the experience 
requirements in subdivision 4 of this subsection;  

3. An administrator of an assisted living facility employed 
prior to December 28, 2006, who met the requirements in 
effect when employed and who has been continuously 
employed as an assisted living facility administrator.  

EXCEPTION: An administrator employed prior to February 
1, 1996, who met the exception to the standards effective 
February 1, 1996, shall successfully complete within one year 
a department-approved course specific to the administration 
of an assisted living facility.  

F. The provisions of subsection E of this section expire one 
year after the effective date of regulations promulgated by the 
Board of Long-Term Care Administrators for the licensure of 

assisted living facility administrators. Thereafter, assisted 
living administrators for facilities licensed for both residential 
and assisted living care shall meet the qualifications for 
licensure and be licensed by the Board of Long-Term Care 
Administrators within the Virginia Department of Health 
Professions.  

G. The administrator, designated assistant administrator, or 
acting administrator shall not be a resident of the facility.  

22VAC40-72-201. Administrator provisions and 
responsibilities. 

A. Each facility shall have an administrator of record. 

B. When an administrator terminates employment, the 
licensee shall hire a new administrator within 90 days from 
the date of termination. If a new administrator is not 
employed immediately when the administrator terminates 
employment, a qualified acting administrator, who is not 
required to be licensed, shall be appointed so that no lapse in 
administrator coverage occurs. 

1. The licensee shall notify the department's regional 
licensing office in writing within 10 working days of a 
change in a facility's administrator including, but not 
limited to, the resignation of an administrator, appointment 
of an acting administrator, and appointment of a new 
administrator. 

2. For facilities licensed for both residential and assisted 
living care, if the facility is operating without an 
administrator licensed by the Virginia Board of Long-Term 
Care Administrators, the acting administrator shall 
immediately notify the Virginia Board of Long-Term Care 
Administrators and the department's regional licensing 
office of this fact. 

EXCEPTION: An acting administrator who is awaiting the 
final licensing decision of the Virginia Board of Long-Term 
Care Administrators may be granted one extension of up to 
60 days in addition to the 90 allowed days if a written request 
to the regional licensing office of the Virginia Department of 
Social Services provides documentation of such. 

C. The administrator shall be responsible for the general 
administration and management of the facility and shall 
oversee the day-to-day operation of the facility. This shall 
include, but shall not be limited to, responsibility for:  

1. Maintaining compliance with applicable laws and 
regulations; 

2. Developing and implementing all policies, procedures 
and services as required by this chapter;  

3. Ensuring staff and volunteers comply with residents' 
rights;  

4. Maintaining buildings and grounds;  

5. Recruiting, hiring, training, and supervising staff; and  
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6. Ensuring the development, implementation, and 
monitoring of an individualized service plan for each 
resident, except that a plan is not required for a resident 
with independent living status.  

D. For facilities licensed for residential living care only, 
either the administrator or a designated assistant who meets 
the qualifications of the administrator shall be awake and on 
duty on the premises at least 40 hours per week with no fewer 
than 24 of those hours being during the day shift on week 
days.  

EXCEPTIONS:  

1. 22VAC40-72-220 allows a shared administrator for 
smaller facilities. 

2. If the administrator is licensed as an assisted living 
facility administrator or nursing home administrator by the 
Board of Long-Term Care Administrators, the provisions 
regarding the administrator in subsection E of this section 
apply.  When such is the case, there is no requirement for a 
designated assistant. 

E. For facilities licensed for both residential and assisted 
living care, an administrator licensed by the Virginia Board of 
Long-Term Care Administrators, as specified in 22VAC40-
72-191 E, shall serve as the on-site agent of the licensee and 
shall be responsible on a full-time basis for the day-to-day 
administration and management of the facility, except as 
provided in 22VAC40-72-220. 

F. The administrator, acting administrator or, as allowed in 
subsection D of this section, designated assistant 
administrator shall not be a resident of the facility. 

G. The facility shall maintain a written work schedule of the 
on-site presence of the administrator and, if applicable, the 
designated assistant or, as provided for in 22VAC40-72-220 
and 22VAC40-72-230, the manager.  

1. Any changes shall be noted on the schedule.  

2. The facility shall maintain a copy of the schedule for 
two years.  

22VAC40-72-210. Administrator training.  

A. The For facilities licensed for residential living care only, 
the administrator shall attend at least 20 hours of training 
related to management or operation of a residential facility for 
adults or relevant to the population in care within 12 months 
from the date of employment and annually thereafter from 
that date. When adults with mental impairments reside in the 
facility, at least five of the required 20 hours of training shall 
focus on topics related to residents' mental impairments. 
Documentation of attendance shall be retained at the facility 
and shall include title of course, name of the entity that 
provided the training, date and number of hours.  

EXCEPTION: If the administrator is licensed as an assisted 
living facility administrator or nursing home administrator by 
the Virginia Board of Long-Term Care Administrators, 
subsection B of this section applies rather than subsection A 
of this section. 

B. For facilities licensed for both residential and assisted 
living care, the administrator shall meet the continuing 
education requirements for licensure as an assisted living 
facility or nursing home administrator, whichever is 
applicable. 

C. Any administrator who has not previously undergone the 
training specified in 22VAC40-72-50 D shall be required to 
complete that training within two months of employment as 
administrator of the facility. The training may be counted 
toward the annual training requirement for the first year, 
except that for licensed administrators, whether the training 
counts toward continuing education and for what period of 
time depends upon the administrator licensure requirements.  

EXCEPTION: Administrators employed prior to December 
28, 2006, are not required to complete this training.  

C. Administrators shall be required to complete training on 
standards when they are revised, unless the department 
determines that such training is not necessary.  

D. If medication is administered to residents by medication 
aides as allowed in 22VAC40-72-660 1 b, the administrator 
shall successfully complete a medication training program 
approved by the Virginia Board of Nursing for the 
registration of medication aides. The training program for 
administrators who supervise medication aides, but are not 
registered medication aides themselves, must include a 
minimum of 68 hours of student instruction and training, but 
need not include the prerequisite for the program or the 
written examination for registration.  The training shall be 
completed within four months of employment as an 
administrator and may be counted toward the annual training 
requirement for the first year, except that for licensed 
administrators, whether the training counts toward continuing 
education and for what period of time depends upon the 
administrator licensure requirements. Administrators 
employed prior to December 28, 2006, have six months from 
December 28, 2006, to successfully complete the medication 
training program. The following exceptions apply:  

1. The administrator is licensed by the Commonwealth of 
Virginia to administer medications;, or 

2. Medication aides are supervised by an individual 
employed full time at the facility who is licensed by the 
Commonwealth of Virginia to administer medications.  

22VAC40-72-220. Shared administrator for smaller 
facilities.  

The A. For facilities licensed for residential living care only, 
the administrator may be awake and on duty on the premises 
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of a facility for fewer than the minimum 40 hours per week, 
without a designated assistant, under the following 
conditions:  

1. In facilities licensed for 10 or fewer residents:  

a. The administrator shall be awake and on duty on the 
premises of each facility for at least 10 hours a week; and  

b. The administrator shall serve no more than four 
facilities.  

2. In facilities licensed for 11-19 residents:  

a. The administrator shall be awake and on duty on the 
premises of each facility for at least 20 hours a week; and  

b. The administrator shall serve no more than two 
facilities.  

3. In facilities licensed for 10 or fewer residents as 
specified in subdivision 1 of this section and in facilities 
licensed for 11-19 residents as specified in subdivision 2 of 
this section:  

a. The administrator shall serve as a full time 
administrator, i.e., shall be awake and on duty on the 
premises of more than one assisted living facility for at 
least 40 hours a week;  

1. The administrator shall serve no more than four 
facilities. 

2. The combined total licensed capacity of the facilities 
served by the administrator shall be 40 or fewer residents. 

3. The administrator shall be awake and on duty on the 
premises of each facility served for at least 10 hours a 
week. 

4. The administrator shall serve as a full-time 
administrator, i.e., shall be awake and on duty on the 
premises of all facilities served for a combined total of at 
least 40 hours a week. 

b. 5. Each of the facilities served shall be within a 30-
minute average one way travel time of the other facilities;. 

c. 6. When not present at a facility, the administrator shall 
be on call to that facility during the hours he is working as 
an administrator and shall maintain such accessibility 
through suitable communication devices;.  

d. 7. A designated assistant may act in place of the 
administrator during the required minimum of 40 hours 
only if the administrator is ill or on vacation and for a 
period of time that shall not exceed four consecutive 
weeks. The designated assistant shall meet the 
qualifications of the administrator;.  

e. There shall be a designated person who shall serve as 
manager and who 8. Each of the facilities served shall have 
a manager, designated and supervised by the administrator. 

The manager shall be awake and on duty on the premises 
of each the facility for the remaining part of the 40 
required hours per week when the administrator or 
designated assistant as permitted in subdivision 7 of this 
subsection is not present at the facility and who shall be 
supervised by the administrator. The manager shall meet 
the following minimum qualifications and requirements:  

(1) a. The manager shall be at least 21 years of age.  

(2) b. The manager shall be able to read and write, and 
understand this chapter.  

(3) c. The manager shall be able to perform the duties 
and to carry out the responsibilities of his position.  

(4) d. The manager shall:  

(a) (1) Be a high school graduate or shall have a General 
Education Development (GED) Certificate;,  

(b) (2) Have successfully completed (i) at least 30 credit 
hours of postsecondary education from a college or 
university accredited by an association recognized by the 
U.S. Secretary of Education or (ii) a department-
approved course of 40 or fewer hours specific to the 
management of an assisted living facility;, and  

(c) (3) Have at least one year of administrative or 
supervisory experience in caring for adults in a group 
care facility.  

EXCEPTION: A licensed nurse who meets the 
experience requirements in subdivision (c) (3) of this 
subdivision (4) d.  

(5) e. The manager shall not be a resident of the facility;.  

f. 9. The manager shall complete the training specified in 
22VAC40-72-50 D within two months of employment as 
manager. The training may be counted toward the annual 
training requirement for the first year;.  

g. Managers shall be required to complete training on 
standards when they are revised, unless the department 
determines that such training is not necessary;  

h. 10. The manager shall attend at least 16 hours of training 
related to management or operation of a residential facility 
for adults or relevant to the population in care within each 
12-month period. When adults with mental impairments 
reside in the facility, at least four of the required 16 hours 
of training shall focus on topics related to residents' mental 
impairments. Documentation of attendance shall be 
retained at the facility and shall include title of course, 
name of the entity that provided the training, date and 
number of hours;.  

i. 11. There shall be a written management plan for each 
facility that includes written policies and procedures that 
describe how the administrator shall oversee the care and 
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supervision of the residents and the day-to-day operation of 
the facility;.  

j. 12. The minimum of 40 hours per week required for the 
administrator or manager to be awake and on duty on the 
premises of a facility shall include at least 24 hours during 
the day shift on week days.  

4. This section shall not apply to an administrator who 
serves both an assisted living facility and a nursing home, 
as provided for in 22VAC40-72-230. 

EXCEPTION: If the administrator is licensed as an 
assisted living facility administrator or nursing home 
administrator by the Board of Long-Term Care 
Administrators, the provisions in subsection B of this 
section apply rather than subsection A of this section. 

B. For facilities licensed for both residential and assisted 
living care, the administrator, as the on-site agent of the 
licensee or licensees, may be responsible for the day-to-day 
administration and management of multiple facilities under 
the following conditions: 

1. The administrator shall serve no more than four 
facilities. 

2. The combined total licensed capacity of the facilities 
served by the administrator shall be 40 or fewer residents. 

3. The administrator shall serve on a full-time basis, 
proportioning his time among all the facilities served in 
order to ensure that he provides sufficient administrative 
and management functions to each facility. 

4. Each of the facilities served shall be within a 30-minute 
average one way travel time of the other facilities. 

5. When not present at a facility, the administrator shall be 
on call to that facility during the hours he is working as an 
administrator and shall maintain such accessibility through 
suitable communication devices. 

6. Each of the facilities served shall have a manager, 
designated and supervised by the administrator, to assist 
the administrator in overseeing the care and supervision of 
the residents and the day-to-day operation of the facility. 
The majority of the time, the administrator and the 
manager shall be present at a facility at different times to 
ensure appropriate oversight of the facility. The manager 
shall meet the qualifications and requirements specified in 
subdivisions A 8 through 11 of this section. 

7. There shall be a written management plan for each 
facility that includes written policies and procedures that 
describe how the administrator shall oversee the care and 
supervision of the residents and the day-to-day operation of 
the facility.  

C. This section shall not apply to an administrator who 
serves both an assisted living facility and a nursing home as 
provided for in 22VAC40-72-230. 

22VAC40-72-230. Administrator of both assisted living 
facility and nursing home. 

A. Any person meeting the qualifications for a licensed 
nursing home administrator pursuant to § 54.1-3103 of the 
Code of Virginia may serve as the administrator of both an 
assisted living facility and a licensed nursing home, provided 
the assisted living facility and licensed nursing home are part 
of the same building and the requirements of subsections B 
and C of this section are met.  

B. Whenever an assisted living facility and a licensed 
nursing home have a single administrator, there shall be a 
written management plan that addresses the care and 
supervision of the assisted living facility residents. The 
management plan shall include, but not be limited to, the 
following:  

1. Written policies and procedures that describe how the 
administrator will oversee the care and supervision of the 
residents and the day-to-day operation of the facility;  

2. If the administrator does not provide the direct 
management of the assisted living facility or only provides 
a portion thereof, the plan shall specify a designated 
individual who shall serve as manager and who shall be 
supervised by the administrator.  

C. The manager referred to in subdivision B 2 of this section 
shall be on-site and meet the following minimum 
qualifications and requirements: of 22VAC40-72-220 A 8 
through 11. 

1. The manager shall be at least 21 years of age.  

2. The manager shall be able to read and write, and 
understand this chapter.  

3. The manager shall be able to perform the duties and 
carry out the responsibilities of his position.  

4. The manager shall:  

a. Be a high school graduate or shall have a General 
Education Development (GED) Certificate;  

b. (i) Have successfully completed at least 30 credit 
hours of postsecondary education from a college or 
university accredited by an association recognized by the 
U.S. Secretary of Education or (ii) have successfully 
completed a department-approved course of 40 or fewer 
hours specific to the management of an assisted living 
facility; and  

c. Have at least one year of administrative or supervisory 
experience in caring for adults in a group care facility.  
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EXCEPTIONS:  

1. A licensed nurse who meets the experience 
requirements in subdivision c of this subdivision 4;  

2. EXCEPTION: A manager employed prior to December 
28, 2006, who met the requirements in effect when employed 
and who has been continuously employed as a manager is 
excepted from 22VAC40-72-220 A 8 a, 8 d, and 9.  

5. The manager shall not be a resident of the facility.  

6. The manager shall complete the training specified in 
22VAC40-72-50 D within two months of employment as 
manager. The training may be counted toward the annual 
training requirement for the first year.  

EXCEPTION: Managers employed prior to December 28, 
2006, are not required to complete this training.  

7. Managers shall be required to complete training on 
standards when they are revised, unless the department 
determines that such training is not necessary.  

8. The manager shall attend at least 16 hours of training 
related to management or operation of a residential facility 
for adults or relevant to the population in care within each 
12-month period. When adults with mental impairments 
reside in the facility, at least four of the required 16 hours 
of training shall focus on residents who are mentally 
impaired. Documentation of attendance shall be retained at 
the facility and shall include title of course, name of the 
entity that provided the training, date and number of hours.  

22VAC40-72-260. Direct care staff training.  

A. In facilities licensed for residential living care only, all 
direct care staff shall attend at least eight hours of training 
annually (in addition to (i) required first aid training; and (ii) 
CPR training) training, if taken; and (iii) for medication aides, 
continuing education required by the Virginia Board of 
Nursing). Training for the first year shall commence no later 
than 60 days after employment.  

1. The training shall be relevant to the population in care 
and shall be provided by a qualified individual through in-
service training programs or institutes, workshops, classes, 
or conferences.  

2. When adults with mental impairments reside in the 
facility, at least two of the required eight hours of training 
shall focus on the resident who is mentally impaired.  

3. Documentation of the type of training received, the 
entity that provided the training, number of hours of 
training, and dates of the training shall be kept by the 
facility in a manner that allows for identification by 
individual staff person and is considered part of the staff 
member's record.  

B. In facilities licensed for both residential and assisted 
living care, all direct care staff shall attend at least 16 hours of 

training annually (in addition to (i) required first aid and 
training; (ii) CPR training) training, if taken; and (iii) for 
medication aides, continuing education required by the 
Virginia Board of Nursing). Training for the first year shall 
commence no later than 60 days after employment.  

1. The training shall be relevant to the population in care 
and shall be provided by a qualified individual through in-
service training programs or institutes, workshops, classes, 
or conferences.  

2. When adults with mental impairments reside in the 
facility, at least four of the required 16 hours of training 
shall focus on the resident who is mentally impaired.  

3. Documentation of the type of training received, the 
entity that provided the training, number of hours of 
training, and dates of the training shall be kept by the 
facility in a manner that allows for identification by 
individual staff person and is considered part of the staff 
person's record.  

EXCEPTION: Direct care staff who are licensed health care 
professionals or certified nurse aides shall attend at least 12 
hours of annual training.  

22VAC40-72-290. Staff records and health requirements.  

A. A record shall be established for each staff person. It 
shall not be destroyed until at least two years after 
employment is terminated.  

B. All staff records shall be retained at the facility, treated 
confidentially, kept in a locked area, and made available for 
inspection by the department's representative upon request.  

EXCEPTION: Emergency contact information required by 
subdivision C 14 of this section shall also be kept in an easily 
accessible place.  

C. Personal and social data to be maintained on staff and 
included in the staff record are as follows:  

1. Name;  

2. Birthdate;  

3. Current address and telephone number;  

4. Social security number;  

5. Position title, job description and date employed;  

6. Verification that the staff person has received a copy of 
his job description and the organizational chart;  

7. Most recent previous employment;  

8. For persons employed after November 9, 1975, copies of 
at least two references or notations of verbal references, 
obtained prior to employment, reflecting the date of the 
reference, the source and the content;  



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 22, 2008 

1607 

9. An original criminal record report and a sworn 
disclosure statement;  

10. Previous experience or training or both;  

11. Verification of current professional license, 
certification, registration, or completion of a required 
approved training course;  

12. Annual staff performance evaluations;  

13. Any disciplinary action taken;  

14. Name and telephone number of person to contact in an 
emergency;  

15. Documentation of formal training received following 
employment, including orientation, in-services and 
workshops; and  

16. Date and reason for termination of employment, when 
applicable.  

D. Health information required by these standards shall be 
maintained at the facility and be included in the staff record 
for the administrator and each staff person, and also shall be 
maintained at the facility for each household member who 
comes in contact with residents.  

1. Initial tuberculosis examination and report.  

a. Each staff person at the time of hire on or within seven 
days prior to the first day of work at the facility and each 
household member prior to coming in contact with 
residents shall submit the results of a risk assessment, 
documenting the absence of tuberculosis in a 
communicable form as evidenced by the completion of 
the current screening form published by the Virginia 
Department of Health or a form consistent with it. The 
risk assessment shall be no older than 30 days.  

b. An evaluation shall not be required for a staff person 
who (i) has separated from employment with a facility 
licensed or certified by the Commonwealth of Virginia, 
(ii) has a break in service of six months or less, and (iii) 
submits a copy of the original statement of tuberculosis 
screening to his new employer.  

2. Subsequent tuberculosis evaluations and reports.  

a. Any staff person or household member required to be 
evaluated who comes in contact with a known case of 
infectious tuberculosis shall be screened as determined 
appropriate based on consultation with the local health 
department.  

b. Any staff person or household member required to be 
evaluated who develops chronic respiratory symptoms of 
three weeks duration shall be evaluated immediately for 
the presence of infectious tuberculosis.  

c. Each staff person or household member required to be 
evaluated shall annually submit the results of a risk 

assessment, documenting that the individual is free of 
tuberculosis in a communicable form as evidenced by the 
completion of the current screening form published by 
the Virginia Department of Health or a form consistent 
with it.  

3. Any individual suspected to have infectious tuberculosis 
shall not be allowed to return to work or have any contact 
with the residents and personnel of the facility until a 
physician has determined that the individual is free of 
infectious tuberculosis.  

4. The facility shall report any active case of tuberculosis 
developed by a staff person or household member required 
to be evaluated to the local health department.  

E. At the request of the administrator of the facility or the 
department, a report of examination by a licensed physician 
shall be obtained when there are indications that the safety of 
residents in care may be jeopardized by the physical or 
mental health of a staff person or household member.  

F. Any staff person or household member who, upon 
examination or as a result of tests, shows indication of a 
physical or mental condition that may jeopardize the safety of 
residents in care or that would prevent performance of duties:  

1. Shall be removed immediately from contact with 
residents;, and  

2. Shall not be allowed contact with residents until the 
condition is cleared to the satisfaction of the examining 
physician as evidenced by a signed statement from the 
physician.  

Part V  
Admission, Retention and Discharge of Residents 

22VAC40-72-340. Admission and retention of residents. 

A. No resident shall be admitted or retained:  

1. For whom the facility cannot provide or secure 
appropriate care;, 

2. Who requires a level of care or service or type of service 
for which the facility is not licensed or which the facility 
does not provide;, or  

3. If the facility does not have staff appropriate in numbers 
and with appropriate skill to provide the care and services 
needed by the resident.  

B. Assisted living facilities shall not admit an individual 
before a determination has been made that the facility can 
meet the needs of the resident. The facility shall make the 
determination based upon the following information at a 
minimum:  

1. The completed UAI;. 

2. The physical examination report;. 
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3. A documented interview between the administrator or a 
designee responsible for admission and retention decisions, 
the resident and his legal representative, if any. In some 
cases, medical conditions may create special circumstances 
that make it necessary to hold the interview on the date of 
admission.  

4. A screening of psychological, behavioral, and emotional 
functioning, conducted by a qualified mental health 
professional, if recommended by the UAI assessor, a health 
care professional, or the administrator or designee 
responsible for the admission and retention decision. This 
includes meeting the requirements of 22VAC40-72-360.  

C. An assisted living facility shall only admit or retain 
residents as permitted by its use and occupancy classification 
and certificate of occupancy. The ambulatory/nonambulatory 
status of an individual is based upon:  

1. Information contained in the physical examination 
report;, and  

2. Information contained in the most recent UAI.  

D. Upon receiving the UAI prior to admission of a resident, 
the assisted living facility administrator shall provide written 
assurance to the resident that the facility has the appropriate 
license to meet his care needs at the time of admission. 
Copies of the written assurance shall be given to the legal 
representative and case manager, if any, and a copy signed by 
the resident or his legal representative shall be kept in the 
resident's record.  

E. All residents shall be 18 years of age or older.  

F. No person shall be admitted without his consent and 
agreement, or that of his legal representative with 
demonstrated legal authority to give such consent on his 
behalf.  

G. Assisted living facilities shall not admit or retain 
individuals with any of the following conditions or care 
needs:  

1. Ventilator dependency;  

2. Dermal ulcers III and IV except those stage III ulcers 
that are determined by an independent physician to be 
healing, as permitted in subsection H of this section;  

3. Intravenous therapy or injections directly into the vein, 
except for intermittent intravenous therapy managed by a 
health care professional licensed in Virginia as permitted in 
subsection I of this section or except as permitted in 
subsection J of this section;  

4. Airborne infectious disease in a communicable state that 
requires isolation of the individual or requires special 
precautions by the caretaker to prevent transmission of the 
disease, including diseases such as tuberculosis and 
excluding infections such as the common cold;  

5. Psychotropic medications without appropriate diagnosis 
and treatment plans;  

6. Nasogastric tubes;  

7. Gastric tubes except when the individual is capable of 
independently feeding himself and caring for the tube or as 
permitted in subsection J of this section;  

8. Individuals presenting an imminent physical threat or 
danger to self or others;  

9. Individuals requiring continuous licensed nursing care;  

10. Individuals whose physician certifies that placement is 
no longer appropriate;  

11. Unless the individual's independent physician 
determines otherwise, individuals who require maximum 
physical assistance as documented by the UAI and meet 
Medicaid nursing facility level of care criteria as defined in 
the State Plan for Medical Assistance (12VAC30-10); or  

12. Individuals whose physical or mental health care needs 
cannot be met in the specific assisted living facility as 
determined by the facility.  

H. When a resident has a stage III dermal ulcer that has been 
determined by an independent physician to be healing, 
periodic observation and any necessary dressing changes shall 
be performed by a licensed health care professional under a 
physician's or other prescriber's treatment plan.  

I. Intermittent intravenous therapy may be provided to a 
resident for a limited period of time on a daily or periodic 
basis by a licensed health care professional under a 
physician's or other prescriber's treatment plan. When a 
course of treatment is expected to be ongoing and extends 
beyond a two-week period, evaluation is required at two-
week intervals by the licensed health care professional.  

J. At the request of the resident in an assisted living facility 
and when his independent physician determines that it is 
appropriate, (i) care for the conditions or care needs specified 
in subdivisions G 3 and 7 of this section may be provided to 
the resident by a physician licensed in Virginia, a nurse 
licensed in Virginia or a nurse holding a multistate licensure 
privilege under a physician's or other prescriber's treatment 
plan, or a home care organization licensed in Virginia or (ii) 
care for the conditions or care needs specified in subdivision 
G 7 of this section may also be provided to the resident by 
unlicensed direct care facility staff if the care is delivered in 
accordance with the regulations of the Board of Nursing for 
delegation by a registered nurse, 18VAC90-20-420 through 
18VAC90-20-460 and 22VAC40-72-460 D.  

This standard does not apply to recipients of auxiliary 
grants.  

K. When care for a resident's special medical needs is 
provided by licensed staff of a home care agency, the assisted 
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living facility direct care staff may receive training from the 
home care agency staff in appropriate treatment monitoring 
techniques regarding safety precautions and actions to take in 
case of emergency.  

L. Notwithstanding § 63.2-1805 of the Code of Virginia, at 
the request of the resident, hospice care may be provided in 
an assisted living facility under the same requirements for 
hospice programs provided in Article 7 (§ 32.1-162.1 et seq.) 
of Chapter 5 of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia, if the 
hospice program determines that such program is appropriate 
for the resident.  

22VAC40-72-390. Resident agreement with facility.  

A. At or prior to the time of admission, there shall be a 
written agreement/acknowledgment of notification dated and 
signed by the resident/applicant for admission or the 
appropriate legal representative, and by the licensee or 
administrator. This document shall include the following:  

1. Financial arrangement for accommodations, services and 
care that specifies:  

a. Listing of specific charges for accommodations, 
services, and care to be made to the individual resident 
signing the agreement, the frequency of payment, and 
any rules relating to nonpayment;  

b. Description of all accommodations, services, and care 
that the facility offers and any related charges;  

c. The amount and purpose of an advance payment or 
deposit payment and the refund policy for such payment;  

d. The policy with respect to increases in charges and 
length of time for advance notice of intent to increase 
charges;  

e. If the ownership of any personal property, real estate, 
money or financial investments is to be transferred to the 
facility at the time of admission or at some future date, it 
shall be stipulated in the agreement; and  

f. The refund policy to apply when transfer of ownership, 
closing of facility, or resident transfer or discharge 
occurs.  

2. Requirements or rules to be imposed regarding resident 
conduct and other restrictions or special conditions and 
signed acknowledgment that they have been reviewed by 
the resident or his legal representative.  

3. Acknowledgment that the resident or his legal 
representative has been informed of the policy regarding 
the amount of notice required when a resident wishes to 
move from the facility.  

4. Acknowledgment that the resident has been informed of 
the policy required by 22VAC40-72-840 J regarding 
weapons.  

5. Those actions, circumstances, or conditions that would 
result or might result in the resident's discharge from the 
facility.  

6. Acknowledgment that the resident or his legal 
representative or responsible individual as stipulated in 
22VAC40-72-550 G has reviewed a copy of § 63.2-1808 
of the Code of Virginia, Rights and Responsibilities of 
Residents of Assisted Living Facilities, and that the 
provisions of this statute have been explained to him.  

7. Acknowledgment that the resident or his legal 
representative or responsible individual as stipulated in 
22VAC40-72-550 G has reviewed and had explained to 
him the facility's policies and procedures for implementing 
§ 63.2-1808 of the Code of Virginia, including the 
grievance policy and the transfer/discharge policy.  

8. Acknowledgment that the resident has been informed 
that interested residents may establish and maintain a 
resident council, that the facility is responsible for 
providing assistance with the formation and maintenance 
of the council, whether or not such a council currently 
exists in the facility, and the general purpose of a resident 
council. (See 22VAC40-72-810.)  

9. Acknowledgment that the resident has been informed of 
the bed hold policy in case of temporary transfer or 
movement from the facility, if the facility has such a 
policy.  

10. Acknowledgment that the resident has been informed 
of the rules and restrictions regarding smoking on the 
premises of the facility, including but not limited to that 
which is required by 22VAC40-72-800.  

11. Acknowledgment that the resident has been informed 
of the policy regarding the administration and storage of 
medications and dietary supplements.  

12. Acknowledgment that the resident has received written 
assurance that the facility has the appropriate license to 
meet his care needs at the time of admission, as required by 
22VAC40-72-340 D.  

B. Copies of the signed agreement/acknowledgment of 
notification shall be provided to the resident and as 
appropriate, his legal representative and shall be retained in 
the resident's record.  

C. The original agreement shall be updated whenever there 
are changes in financial arrangements, accommodations, 
services, care provided by the facility, or requirements 
governing the resident's conduct, and signed by the licensee 
or administrator and the resident or his legal representative. If 
the original agreement provides for specific changes in 
financial arrangements, services, or requirements any of these 
items, this standard does not apply to those changes.  
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22VAC40-72-420. Discharge of residents.  

A. When actions, circumstances, conditions, or care needs 
occur that will result in the discharge of a resident, discharge 
planning shall begin immediately, and there shall be 
documentation of such, including the beginning date of 
discharge planning. The resident shall be moved within 30 
days, except that if persistent efforts have been made and the 
time frame is not met, the facility shall document the reason 
and the efforts that have been made.  

B. As soon as discharge planning begins, the assisted living 
facility shall notify the resident and the resident's legal 
representatives and designated contact person if any, of the 
planned discharge, the reason for the discharge, and that the 
resident will be moved within 30 days unless there are 
extenuating circumstances as referenced in subsection A of 
this section. Written notification of the actual discharge date 
shall be given to the resident and the resident's legal 
representatives and contact person if any, at least 14 calendar 
days prior to the date that the resident will be discharged.  

C. The assisted living facility shall adopt and conform to a 
written policy regarding the number of calendar days notice 
that is required when a resident wishes to move from the 
facility. Any required notice of intent to move shall not 
exceed 30 days.  

D. The facility shall assist the resident and his legal 
representative, if any, in the discharge or transfer process. 
The facility shall help the resident prepare for relocation, 
including discussing the resident's destination. Primary 
responsibility for transporting the resident and his possessions 
rests with the resident or his legal representative.  

E. When a resident's condition presents an immediate and 
serious risk to the health, safety or welfare of the resident or 
others and emergency discharge is necessary, 14-day 
notification of planned discharge does not apply, although the 
reason for the relocation shall be discussed with the resident 
and, when possible, his legal representative prior to the move.  

F. Under emergency conditions, the resident's legal 
representative, designated contact person, the family, 
caseworker, social worker or other agency personnel, as 
appropriate, shall be informed as rapidly as possible, but by 
the close of the business day following discharge, of the 
reasons for the move.  

G. If the resident's uniform assessment instrument has been 
completed by a public human services agency assessor, the 
assisted living facility shall notify such assessor of the date 
and place of discharge to which the resident moved, as well 
as when a resident dies, within 10 days of the resident's 
discharge or death.  

H. Discharge statement.  

1. At the time of discharge, except as noted in subdivision 
2 of this subsection, the assisted living facility shall 

provide to the resident and, as appropriate, his legal 
representative and designated contact person a dated 
statement signed by the licensee or administrator that 
contains the following information:  

a. The date on which the resident, his legal representative 
or designated contact person was notified of the planned 
discharge and the name of the legal representative or 
designated contact person who was notified;  

b. The reason or reasons for the discharge;  

c. The actions taken by the facility to assist the resident 
in the discharge and relocation process; and  

d. The date of the actual discharge from the facility and 
the resident's destination.  

2. When the termination of care is due to emergency 
conditions, the dated statement shall contain the above 
information as appropriate and shall be provided or mailed 
to the resident, his legal representative, or designated 
contact person as soon as practicable and within 48 hours 
from the time of the decision to discharge.  

3. A copy of the written statement shall be retained in the 
resident's record.  

I. When the resident is discharged and moves to another 
caregiving facility, the assisted living facility shall provide to 
the receiving facility such information related to the resident 
as is necessary to ensure continuity of care and services. 
Original information pertaining to the resident shall be 
maintained by the assisted living facility from which the 
resident was discharged. The assisted living facility shall 
maintain a listing of all information shared with the receiving 
facility.  

J. Within 60 days of the date of discharge, each resident or 
his legal representative shall be given a final statement of 
account, any refunds due, and return of any money, property 
or things of value held in trust or custody by the facility.  

Part VI  
Resident Care and Related Services  

22VAC40-72-430. Uniform assessment instrument (UAI).  

A. All residents of and applicants to assisted living facilities 
shall be assessed face-to-face using the uniform assessment 
instrument pursuant to the requirements in Assessment in 
Adult Care Residences Assisted Living Facilities (22VAC40-
745). Assessments shall be completed prior to admission, 
annually, and whenever there is a significant change in the 
resident's condition.  

1. For private pay individuals, the UAI shall be completed 
by one of the following qualified assessors:  

a. An assisted living facility staff person who has 
successfully completed state-approved training on the 
uniform assessment instrument and level of care criteria 
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for either public or private pay assessments, provided the 
administrator or the administrator's designated 
representative approves and then signs the completed 
UAI, and the facility maintains documentation of the 
completed training;  

EXCEPTION: An assisted living facility staff person 
who began employment at the facility prior to December 
28, 2006, and who had documented training that was not 
state-approved state approved in the completion of the 
UAI and application of level of care criteria shall meet 
the requirements for state approved state-approved 
training within one year from December 28, 2006;  

b. An independent physician; or 

c. A qualified public human services agency assessor.  

2. For public pay individuals, the UAI shall be completed 
by a case manager or qualified assessor as specified in 
22VAC40-745.  

B. The UAI shall be completed within 90 days prior to the 
date of admission to the assisted living facility except that if 
there has been a change in the resident's condition since the 
completion of the UAI that would affect the admission, a new 
UAI shall be completed.  

C. When a resident moves to an assisted living facility from 
another assisted living facility or other long-term care setting 
that uses the UAI, if there is a completed UAI on record, 
another UAI does not have to be completed except that a new 
UAI shall be completed whenever:  

1. There is a significant change in the resident's condition;, 
or  

2. The previous assessment is more than 12 months old.  

D. The assessor is responsible for being knowledgeable of 
the criteria for level of care and authorizing the individual for 
the appropriate level of care for admission to and for 
continued stay in an assisted living facility based on the 
information in the UAI.  

E. Annual reassessments and reassessments due to a 
significant change in the resident's condition, using the UAI, 
shall be utilized to determine whether a resident's needs can 
continue to be met by the facility and whether continued 
placement in the facility is in the best interest of the resident.  

F. For private pay individuals, the assisted living facility 
shall ensure that the uniform assessment instrument is 
completed as required by 22VAC40-745.  

G. For a private pay resident, if the UAI is completed by an 
independent physican or a qualified human services agency 
assessor, the assisted living facility shall be responsible for 
coordinating with the physician or the agency assessor to 
ensure that the UAI is completed as required.  

H. The assisted living facility shall be in compliance with all 
requirements set forth in 22VAC40-745.  

I. The facility shall maintain the completed UAI in the 
resident's record.  

J. At the request of the assisted living facility, the resident, 
the resident's legal representative, the resident's physician, the 
department, or the local department of social services, an 
independent assessment using the UAI shall be completed to 
determine whether the resident's care needs are being met in 
the assisted living facility. The assisted living facility shall 
assist the resident in obtaining the independent assessment as 
requested.  

An independent assessment is one that is completed by a 
qualified entity other than the original assessor.  

K. During an inspection or review, staff from the 
department, the Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
or the local department of social services may initiate a 
change in level of care for any assisted living facility resident 
for whom it is determined that the resident's UAI is not 
reflective of the resident's current status.  

L. The facility shall ensure that facility staff and 
independent physicians who are qualified assessors advise 
orally and in writing all applicants to and residents of assisted 
living facilities of the right to appeal the outcome of the 
assessment, the annual reassessment, or determination of 
level of care.  

22VAC40-72-440. Individualized service plans. 

A. The licensee/administrator who has completed an 
individualized service plan (ISP) training program approved 
by the department or his designee who has completed such a 
program shall develop an individualized service plan to meet 
the resident's service needs. The licensee/administrator or 
designee shall develop the ISP in conjunction with the 
resident, and as appropriate, with the resident's family, legal 
representative, direct care staff members, case manager, 
health care providers, qualified mental health professionals, 
or other persons. The plan shall be designed to maximize the 
resident's level of functional ability.  

An individualized service plan is not required for those 
residents who are assessed as capable of maintaining 
themselves in an independent living status.  

B. The service plan to address the immediate needs of the 
resident shall be completed within 72 hours of admission. The 
comprehensive plan shall be completed within 30 days after 
admission and shall include the following:  

1. Description of identified needs based upon the (i) UAI; 
(ii) admission physical examination; (iii) interview with 
resident; (iv) assessment of psychological, behavioral and 
emotional functioning, if appropriate; and (v) other 
sources;  
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2. A written description of what services will be provided 
and who will provide them;  

3. When and where the services will be provided;  

4. The expected outcome and date of expected outcome; 
and  

5. If a resident lives in a building housing 19 or fewer 
residents, a statement that specifies whether the person 
does need or does not need to have a staff member awake 
and on duty at night.  

C. The individualized service plan shall reflect the resident's 
assessed needs and support the principles of individuality, 
personal dignity, freedom of choice and home-like 
environment and shall include other formal and informal 
supports that may participate in the delivery of services. 
Whenever possible, residents shall be given a choice of 
options regarding the type and delivery of services.  

D. When hospice care is provided to a resident, the assisted 
living facility and the licensed hospice organization shall 
communicate, establish and agree upon a coordinated plan of 
care for the resident. The services provided by each shall be 
included on the individualized service plan.  

E. The individualized service plan shall be signed and dated 
by the licensee/administrator or his designee, i.e., the person 
who has developed the plan, and by the resident or his legal 
representative. The plan shall also be signed and dated by any 
other individuals who contributed to the development of the 
plan. Each person signing the plan shall note his title or 
relationship to the resident next to his signature. These 
requirements shall also apply to reviews and updates of the 
plan.  

EXCEPTION: The signature of an individual who 
contributed to the plan without being present at the facility 
shall not be required, although his name, date of participation, 
and title or relationship shall be indicated on the plan.  

F. The master service plan shall be filed in the resident's 
record. A current copy shall be maintained in a location 
accessible at all times to direct care staff, but that protects the 
confidentiality of the contents of the service plan. Extracts 
from the plan may be filed in locations specifically identified 
for their retention, e.g., dietary plan in kitchen.  

G. The facility shall ensure that the care and services 
specified in the individualized service plan are provided to 
each resident.  

EXCEPTION: There may be a deviation from the plan when 
mutually agreed upon between the facility and the resident or 
the resident's legal representative at the time the care or 
services are scheduled or when there is an emergency that 
prevents the care or services from being provided. Deviation 
from the plan shall be documented in writing, including a 
description of the circumstances, the date it occurred, and the 

signatures of the parties involved, and the documentation 
shall be retained in the resident's record.  

The facility may not start, change or discontinue 
medications, dietary supplements, diets, medical procedures 
or treatments without an order from a physician or other 
prescriber.  

H. Outcomes shall be noted on the individualized plan or on 
a separate document as outcomes are achieved, and progress 
toward reaching expected outcomes shall be noted on the 
service plan or other document at least annually. Personnel 
making such notes shall sign and date them.  

I. Individualized service plans shall be reviewed and 
updated at least once every 12 months and as needed as the 
condition of the resident changes. The review and update 
shall be performed by a staff person who has completed an 
ISP training program approved by the department, in 
conjunction with the resident, and as appropriate, with the 
resident's family, legal representative, direct care staff, case 
manager, health care providers, qualified mental health 
professionals or other persons.  

22VAC40-72-630. Medication management plan and 
reference materials.  

A. The facility shall have, and keep current, a written plan 
for medication management. The facility's medication plan 
shall address procedures for administering medication and 
shall include:  

1. Methods to ensure an understanding of the 
responsibilities associated with medication management;  

2. Standard operating procedures and any general 
restrictions specific to the facility;  

3. Methods to prevent the use of outdated, damaged or 
contaminated medications;  

4. Methods to ensure that each resident's prescription 
medications and any over-the-counter drugs and 
supplements ordered for the resident are filled and refilled 
in a timely manner to avoid missed dosages;  

5. Methods for verifying that medication orders have been 
accurately transcribed to Medication Administration 
Records (MARs);  

6. Methods for monitoring medication administration and 
the effective use of the MARs for documentation;  

7. Methods to ensure that staff who are responsible for 
administering medications meet the qualification and 
training requirements of 22VAC40-72-660;  

8. Methods to ensure that staff who are responsible for 
administering medications are adequately supervised;  

9. A plan for proper disposal of medication; 
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10. Methods to ensure that residents do not receive 
medications or dietary supplements to which they have 
known allergies; and  

11. Identification of the medication aide or the person 
licensed to administer drugs responsible for routinely 
communicating issues or observations related to 
medication administration to the prescribing physician or 
other prescriber.  

B. The facility's written medication management plan and 
any subsequent changes shall be approved by the department.  

C. The plan and subsequent changes shall be reviewed as 
part of the department's regular inspection process.  

D. In addition to the facility's written medication 
management plan, the facility shall maintain, as reference 
materials for medication aides, a current copy of "A Resource 
Guide for Medication Management for Persons Authorized 
Under the Drug Control Act," approved by the Virginia Board 
of Nursing until such time as registration of medication aides 
is enforced, and at least one pharmacy reference book, drug 
guide or medication handbook for nurses that is no more than 
two years old.  

22VAC40-72-660. Qualifications, training, and 
supervision of staff administering medications. 

When staff administers medications to residents, the 
following standards shall apply:  

1. Each staff person who administers medication shall be 
authorized by § 54.1-3408 of the Virginia Drug Control 
Act. All staff responsible for medication administration 
shall:  

a. Be licensed by the Commonwealth of Virginia to 
administer medications;. or 

b. (i) Have successfully completed one of the five 
requirements specified in 22VAC40-72-250 C 1 through 
5 and (ii) have successfully completed the medication 
training program developed by the department and 
approved by the Board of Nursing Be registered with the 
Virginia Board of Nursing as a medication aide.  

EXCEPTION: Staff responsible for medication 
administration prior to December 28, 2006, who would 
otherwise be subject to completion of one of the five 
requirements specified in 22VAC40-72-250 C 1 through 5 
do not have to meet any of the requirements listed in 
22VAC40-72-250 C 1 through 5 in order to administer 
medication.  

2. All staff who have met the requirements of subdivision 1 
b of this section shall be listed in the department's database 
for medication aides.  

3. All staff who have successfully completed the 
medication training program approved by the Board of 
Nursing shall also successfully complete:  

a. Annual in-service training provided by a licensed 
health care professional, acting within the scope of the 
requirements of his profession, on side effects of the 
medications prescribed to the residents in care and on 
recognizing and reporting adverse medication reactions.  

b. The most current refresher course developed by the 
department that is based on the curriculum approved by 
the Board of Nursing. The refresher course shall be 
completed every three years.  

4. 2. Medication aides shall be supervised by:  

a. A licensed health care professional, acting within the 
scope of the requirements of his profession An individual 
employed full time at the facility who is licensed by the 
Commonwealth of Virginia to administer medications;  

b. The administrator who is licensed by the 
Commonwealth of Virginia to administer medications or 
who has successfully completed the medication a training 
program approved by the Virginia Board of Nursing for 
the registration of medication aides. The training 
program for administrators who supervise medication 
aides, but are not registered medication aides themselves, 
must include a minimum of 68 hours of student 
instruction and training, but need not include the 
prerequisite for the program or the written examination 
for registration; or 

c. The For facilities licensed for residential living care 
only, the designated assistant administrator, who meets 
the qualifications of the administrator as specified in 
22VAC40-72-201 D, who is licensed by the 
Commonwealth of Virginia to administer medications or 
who has successfully completed the medication a training 
program approved by the Virginia Board of Nursing for 
the registration of medication aides. The training 
program for designated assistant administrators who 
supervise medication aides, but are not registered 
medication aides themselves, must include a minimum of 
68 hours of student instruction and training, but need not 
include the prerequisite for the program or the written 
examination for registration. 

22VAC40-72-670. Administration of medications and 
related provisions.  

A. Drugs shall be administered Staff who are licensed or 
registered as specified in 22VAC40-72-660 shall administer 
drugs to those residents who are dependent in medication 
administration as documented on the UAI.  

B. All medications shall be removed from the pharmacy 
container by an authorized a staff person licensed or 
registered as specified in 22VAC40-72-660 and administered 
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by the same authorized staff person not earlier than one hour 
before and not later than one hour after the facility's standard 
dosing schedules, except those drugs that are ordered for 
specific times, such as before, after or with meals. Pre-
pouring for later administration is not permitted.  

C. All medications shall be administered in accordance with 
the physician's or other prescriber's instructions and 
consistent with the standards of practice outlined in the 
current registered medication aide curriculum approved by 
the Virginia Board of Nursing.  

D. All medications shall remain in the pharmacy issued 
container, with the legible prescription label or direction label 
attached, until administered.  

E. Sample medications shall remain in the original 
packaging, labeled by a physician or other prescriber or 
pharmacist with the resident's name, the name of the 
medication, the strength, dosage, route and frequency of 
administration, until administered.  

F. Over-the-counter medication shall remain in the original 
container, labeled with the resident's name, or in a pharmacy-
issued container, until administered.  

G. In the event of an adverse drug reaction or a medication 
error:  

1. First aid shall be administered as directed by a 
physician, pharmacist or the Virginia Poison Control 
Center.  

2. The resident's physician of record shall be notified as 
soon as possible.  

3. The direct care staff person shall document actions taken 
in the resident's record.  

H. The facility shall document on a medication 
administration record (MAR) all medications administered to 
residents, including over-the-counter medications, and dietary 
supplements. The MAR shall include:  

1. Name of the resident;  

2. Date prescribed;  

3. Drug product name;  

4. Strength of the drug;  

5. Dosage;  

6. Diagnosis, condition, or specific indications for 
administering the drug or supplement;  

7. Route (for example, by mouth);  

8. How often medication is to be taken;  

9. Date and time given and initials of direct care staff 
administering the medication;  

10. Dates the medication is discontinued or changed;  

11. Any medication errors or omissions;  

12. Description of significant adverse effects suffered by 
the resident;  

13. For PRN medications:  

a. Symptoms for which medication was given;  

b. Exact dosage given; and  

c. Effectiveness; and  

14. The name, signature and initials of all staff 
administering medications.  

I. The performance of all medical procedures and treatments 
ordered by a physician or other prescriber shall be 
documented and the documentation shall be retained in the 
resident's record.  

J. The use of PRN (as needed) medications is prohibited, 
unless one or more of the following conditions exist:  

1. The resident is capable of determining when the 
medication is needed;  

2. Licensed health care professionals are responsible for 
medication administration and management; or  

3. The facility has obtained from the resident's physician or 
other prescriber detailed written instructions or a staff 
person as allowed in 22VAC40-72-640 D has telephoned 
the physician or other prescriber prior to administering the 
medication, explained the symptoms and received a 
documented oral order to assist the resident in self-
administration. The physician's or other prescriber's 
instructions shall include symptoms that might indicate the 
use of the medication, exact dosage, the exact timeframes 
time frames the medication is to be given in a 24-hour 
period, and directions as to what to do if symptoms persist.  

K. Medications ordered for PRN administration shall be 
available, properly labeled for the specific resident and 
properly stored at the facility.  

L. Stat-drug boxes may only be used when the following 
conditions are met:  

1. There is an order from the prescriber for any drug 
removed from the stat-drug box; and  

2. The drug is removed from the stat-drug box and 
administered by a nurse, pharmacist or prescriber licensed 
to administer medications.  

A stat-drug box may be prepared by a pharmacy prior to the 
receipt of ordered drugs from the pharmacy. Stat-drug boxes 
are subject to the conditions specified in 18VAC110-20-550 
of the Virginia Board of Pharmacy.  
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22VAC40-72-910. Provisions for signaling/call systems.  

A. All assisted living facilities shall have a signaling device 
that is easily accessible to the resident in his bedroom or in a 
connecting bathroom that alerts the direct care staff that the 
resident needs assistance.  

B. In facilities buildings licensed to care for 20 or more 
residents under one roof, there shall be a signaling device that 
terminates at a central location that is continuously staffed 
and permits staff to determine the origin of the signal or is 
audible and visible in a manner that permits staff to determine 
the origin of the signal.  

C. In facilities buildings licensed to care for 19 or fewer 
residents under one roof, if the signaling device does not 
permit staff to determine the origin of the signal as specified 
in subsection B of this section, direct care staff shall make 
rounds at least once each hour to monitor for emergencies or 
other unanticipated resident needs. These rounds shall begin 
when the majority of the residents have gone to bed each 
evening and shall terminate when the majority of the residents 
have arisen each morning, and shall be documented as 
follows:  

1. A written log shall be maintained showing the date and 
time rounds were made and the signature of the direct care 
staff member who made rounds.  

2. Logs for the past two years shall be retained.  

22VAC40-72-920. Fire safety: compliance with state 
regulations and local fire ordinances.  

A. An assisted living facility shall comply with the Virginia 
Statewide Fire Prevention Code (13VAC5-51) as determined 
by at least an annual inspection by the appropriate fire 
official. Reports of the annual inspections shall be retained at 
the facility for at least two years.  

B. An assisted living facility shall comply with any local fire 
ordinance.  

Part IX  
Emergency Preparedness  

22VAC40-72-930. Emergency preparedness and response 
plan. 

A. The facility shall develop a written emergency 
preparedness and response plan that shall address: 

1. Documentation of contact with the local emergency 
coordinator to determine (i) local disaster risks, (ii) 
communitywide plans to address different disasters and 
emergency situations, and (iii) assistance, if any, that the 
local emergency management office will provide to the 
facility in an emergency. 

2. Analysis of the facility's potential hazards, including 
severe weather, fire, loss of utilities, flooding, work place 

violence or terrorism, severe injuries, or other emergencies 
that would disrupt normal operation of the facility. 

3. Written emergency management policies outlining 
specific responsibilities for provision of: 

a. Administrative direction and management of response 
activities; 

b. Coordination of logistics during the emergency; 

c. Communications; 

d. Life safety of residents, staff, volunteers, and visitors; 

e. Property protection; 

f. Continued provision of services to residents; 

g. Community resource accessibility; and 

h. Recovery and restoration. 

4. Written emergency response procedures for assessing 
the situation; protecting residents, staff, volunteers, 
visitors, equipment, medications, and vital records; and 
restoring services. Emergency procedures shall address: 

a. Alerting emergency personnel and facility staff; 

b. Warning and notification of residents, including 
sounding of alarms when appropriate; 

c. Providing emergency access to secure areas and 
opening locked doors; 

d. Conducting evacuations and sheltering in place, as 
appropriate, and accounting for all residents; 

e. Locating and shutting off utilities when necessary; 

f. Maintaining and operating emergency equipment 
effectively and safely; 

g. Communicating with staff and community emergency 
responders during the emergency; and 

h. Conducting relocations to emergency shelters or 
alternative sites when necessary and accounting for all 
residents. 

5. Supporting documents that would be needed in an 
emergency, including emergency call lists, building and 
site maps necessary to shut off utilities, memoranda of 
understanding with relocation sites, and list of major 
resources such as suppliers of emergency equipment. 

B. Staff and volunteers shall be knowledgeable in and 
prepared to implement the emergency preparedness plan in 
the event of an emergency. 

C. The facility shall develop and implement an orientation 
and quarterly review on the emergency preparedness and 
response plan for all staff, residents, and volunteers. The 
orientation and review shall cover responsibilities for: 
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1. Alerting emergency personnel and sounding alarms; 

2. Implementing evacuation, shelter in place, and 
relocation procedures; 

3. Using, maintaining, and operating emergency 
equipment; 

4. Accessing emergency medical information, equipment, 
and medications for residents; 

5. Locating and shutting off utilities; and 

6. Utilizing community support services. 

D. The facility shall review the emergency preparedness 
plan annually or more often as needed and make necessary 
revisions. Such revisions shall be communicated to staff, 
residents, and volunteers and incorporated into the orientation 
and quarterly review for staff, residents, and volunteers. 

E. In the event of a disaster, fire, emergency or any other 
condition that may jeopardize the health, safety and welfare 
of residents, the facility shall take appropriate action to 
protect the health, safety and welfare of the residents and take 
appropriate actions to remedy the conditions as soon as 
possible. 

F. After the disaster/emergency is stabilized, the facility 
shall: 

1. Notify family members and legal representatives;, and 

2. Report the disaster/emergency to the regional licensing 
office by the next working day as specified in 22VAC40-
72-100. 

22VAC40-72-950. Fire and emergency evacuation drills. 

A. Fire and emergency evacuation drill frequency and 
participation shall be in accordance with the current edition of 
the Virginia Statewide Fire Prevention Code (13VAC5-51). 
The drills required for each shift in a quarter shall not be 
conducted in the same month. 

B. Additional fire and emergency evacuation drills may be 
held at the discretion of the administrator or licensing 
inspector and must be held when there is any reason to 
question whether the requirements of the approved fire and 
emergency evacuation plan can be met. 

C. Each required fire and emergency evacuation drill shall 
be unannounced. 

D. Immediately following each required fire and emergency 
evacuation drill, there shall be an evaluation of the drill by the 
staff in order to determine the effectiveness of the drill. The 
licensee or administrator shall immediately correct any 
problems identified in the evaluation. 

E. A record of the required fire and emergency evacuation 
drills shall be kept in the facility for two years. Such record 
shall include: 

1. Identity of the person conducting the drill; 

1. 2. The date and time of the drill;  

3. The method used for notification of the drill; 

2. 4. The number of staff participating;  

3. 5. The number of residents participating; 

6. Any special conditions simulated;  

4. 7. The time it took to complete the drill;  

5. 8. Weather conditions; and  

6. 9. Problems encountered, if any.  

22VAC40-72-960. Emergency equipment and supplies. 

A. A complete first aid kit shall be on hand at the facility, 
located in a designated place that is easily accessible to staff 
but not to residents. Items with expiration dates must not have 
dates that have already passed. The kit shall include, but not 
be limited to, the following items: 

1. Activated charcoal (use only if instructed by physician 
or Poison Control Center); 

2. Adhesive tape; 

3. Antiseptic ointment; 

4. Band-aids (assorted sizes); 

5. Blankets (disposable or other); 

6. Disposable single use breathing barriers/shields for use 
with rescue breathing or CPR (CPR mask or other type); 

7. Cold pack; 

8. Disposable single use waterproof gloves; 

9. Gauze pads and roller gauze (assorted sizes); 

10. Hand cleaner (e.g., waterless hand sanitizer or 
antiseptic towelettes); 

11. Plastic bags; 

12. Scissors; 

13. Small flashlight and extra batteries; 

14. Syrup of ipecac (use only if instructed by physician or 
Poison Control Center);  

15. 14. Thermometer; 

16. 15. Triangular bandages; 

17. 16. Tweezers; and 

18. 17. The first aid instructional manual. 

Items with expiration dates must not have dates that have 
already passed. 
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B. In facilities that have a motor vehicle that is used to 
transport residents and in a motor vehicle used for a field trip, 
there shall be a first aid kit on the vehicle, located in a 
designated place that is accessible to staff but not residents, 
that includes items as specified in subsection A of this 
section. 

C. First aid kits shall be checked at least monthly to assure 
that all items are present and items with expiration dates are 
not past their expiration date. 

D. Each facility with six or more residents shall be able to 
connect by July 1, 2007, to a temporary emergency electrical 
power source for the provision of electricity during an 
interruption of the normal electric power supply. The 
installation of a connection for temporary electric power shall 
be in compliance with the Virginia Uniform Statewide 
Building Code, 13VAC5-63. 

E. The following emergency lighting shall be available: 

1. Flashlights or battery lanterns for general use. 

2. One flashlight or battery lantern for each employee 
directly responsible for resident care who is on duty 
between 5 p.m. and 7 a.m. 

3. One flashlight or battery lantern for each bedroom used 
by residents and for the living and dining area unless there 
is a provision for emergency lighting in the adjoining 
hallways. 

4. The use of open flame lighting is prohibited. 

F. There shall be an alternative form of communication in 
addition to the telephone such as a cell phone, two-way radio, 
or ham radio. 

G. The facility shall ensure the availability of a 96-hour 
supply of emergency food and drinking water, and oxygen for 
residents using oxygen.  

22VAC40-72-970. Plan for resident emergencies and 
practice exercise.  

A. Assisted living facilities shall have a written plan for 
resident emergencies that includes:  

1. Procedures for handling medical emergencies including 
identifying the staff person responsible for (i) calling the 
rescue squad, ambulance service, resident's physician, or 
Poison Control Center, and (ii) providing first aid and 
CPR, when indicated.  

2. Procedures for handling mental health emergencies such 
as, but not limited to, catastrophic reaction or the need for 
a temporary detention order.  

3. Procedures for making pertinent medical information 
and history available to the rescue squad and hospital, 
including but not limited to information on medications 
and any advance directives.  

4. Procedures to be followed in the event that a resident is 
missing, including but not limited to (i) involvement of 
facility staff, appropriate law-enforcement agency, and 
others as needed; (ii) areas to be searched; (iii) 
expectations upon locating the resident; and (iv) 
documentation of the event.  

5. Procedures for notifying the resident's family, legal 
representative, designated contact person, and any 
responsible social agency.  

6. Procedures for notifying the regional licensing office as 
specified in 22VAC40-72-100.  

B. At least once every six months, all staff on each shift 
shall participate in an exercise in which the procedures for 
resident emergencies are practiced. Documentation of each 
exercise shall be maintained in the facility for at least two 
years.  

C. The plan for resident emergencies shall be readily 
available to all staff.  

22VAC40-72-1010. Staff training.  

A. Commencing immediately upon employment and within 
three months, the administrator shall attend 12 hours of 
training in cognitive impairment that meets the requirements 
of subsection C of this section. This training is counted 
toward the annual training requirement for the first year, 
except that for licensed administrators, whether the training 
counts toward continuing education and for what period of 
time depends upon the administrator licensure requirements. 
Previous training that meets the requirements of subsection C 
of this section and was completed in the year prior to 
employment is transferable if there is documentation of the 
training. The documented previous training is counted toward 
the required 12 hours but not toward the annual training 
requirement, except as noted earlier in this subsection.  

B. Commencing immediately upon employment and within 
four months, direct care staff shall attend four hours of 
training in cognitive impairment that meets the requirements 
of subsection C of this section. This training is counted 
toward meeting the annual training requirement for the first 
year. Previous training that meets the requirements of 
subsection C of this section and was completed in the year 
prior to employment is transferable if there is documentation 
of the training. The documented previous training is counted 
toward the required four hours but not toward the annual 
training requirement.  

C. Curriculum for the training in cognitive impairment for 
direct care staff and administrators shall be developed by a 
qualified health professional or by a licensed social worker, 
shall be relevant to the population in care and shall include, 
but need not be limited to:  

1. Explanation of cognitive impairments;  
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2. Resident care techniques;  

3. Behavior management;  

4. Communication skills;  

5. Activity planning; and  

6. Safety considerations.  

D. Within the first month of employment, staff other than 
the administrator and direct care staff shall complete one hour 
of training on the nature and needs of residents with cognitive 
impairments relevant to the population in care.  

22VAC40-72-1120. Staff training.  

A. Commencing immediately upon employment and within 
two months, the administrator and direct care staff shall 
attend at least four hours of training in cognitive impairments 
due to dementia. This training is counted toward meeting the 
annual training requirement for the first year, except that for 
licensed administrators, whether the training counts toward 
continuing education and for what period of time depends 
upon the administrator licensure requirements. The training 
shall cover the following topics:  

1. Information about the cognitive impairment, including 
areas such as cause, progression, behaviors, management 
of the condition;  

2. Communicating with the resident;  

3. Managing dysfunctional behavior; and  

4. Identifying and alleviating safety risks to residents with 
cognitive impairment.  

Previous training that meets the requirements of this 
subsection and subsections C and D of this section that was 
completed in the year prior to employment is transferable if 
there is documentation of the training. The documented 
previous training is counted toward the required four hours 
but not toward the annual training requirement, except as 
noted earlier in this subsection. In this subsection, for direct 
care staff, employment means employment in the safe, secure 
environment.  

B. Within the first year of employment, the administrator 
and direct care staff shall attend at least six more hours of 
training, in addition to that required in subsection A of this 
section, in caring for residents with cognitive impairments 
due to dementia. The training is counted toward meeting the 
annual training requirement for the first year, except that for 
licensed administrators, whether the training counts toward 
continuing education and for what period of time depends 
upon the administrator licensure requirements. The training 
shall cover the following topics:  

1. Assessing resident needs and capabilities and 
understanding and implementing service plans;  

2. Resident care techniques for persons with physical, 
cognitive, behavioral and social disabilities;  

3. Creating a therapeutic environment;  

4. Promoting resident dignity, independence, individuality, 
privacy and choice;  

5. Communicating with families and other persons 
interested in the resident;  

6. Planning and facilitating activities appropriate for each 
resident; and  

7. Common behavioral problems and behavior 
management techniques.  

Previous training that meets the requirements of this 
subsection and subsections C and D of this section that was 
completed in the year prior to employment is transferable if 
there is documentation of the training. The documented 
previous training is counted toward the required six hours but 
not toward the annual training requirement, except as noted 
earlier in this subsection. In this subsection, for direct care 
staff, employment means employment in the safe, secure 
environment.  

C. The training required in subsections A and B of this 
section shall be developed by:  

1. A licensed health care professional acting within the 
scope of the requirements of his profession who has at least 
12 hours of training in the care of individuals with 
cognitive impairments due to dementia; or  

2. A person who has been approved by the department to 
develop the training.  

D. The training required in subsections A and B of this 
section shall be provided by a person qualified under 
subdivision C 1 of this section or a person who has been 
approved by the department to provide the training.  

E. Within the first month of employment, staff, other than 
the administrator and direct care staff, who will have contact 
with residents in the special care unit shall complete one hour 
of training on the nature and needs of residents with cognitive 
impairments due to dementia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1523; Filed December 3, 2008, 10:54 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 23. TAXATION 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 23VAC10-20. General Provisions 
Applicable to All Taxes Administered by the Department 
of Taxation (amending 23VAC10-20-160, 23VAC10-20-
180, 23VAC10-20-190; adding 23VAC10-20-165; 
repealing 23VAC10-20-170). 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on February 20, 2009. 

Effective Date: March 8, 2009.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Lewis, Policy Analyst, Department 
of Taxation, P.O. Box 27185, Richmond, VA 23261-7185, 
telephone (804) 371-2341 or FAX (804) 371-2355. 

Basis: Section 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia provides that 
the "Tax Commissioner shall have the power to issue 
regulations relating to the interpretation and enforcement of 
the laws of this Commonwealth governing taxes administered 
by the Department."  The authority for the current regulatory 
action is discretionary. 

Purpose: The purpose of this regulatory action is to create a 
new regulation section, 23VAC10-20-165, concerning 
administrative appeals that will give TAX’s current policy the 
authority of a regulation. This regulatory action will also 
repeal 23VAC10-20-170, which is being superceded by the 
new regulation section. Additionally, this regulatory action 
will amend 23VAC10-20-160 to reference the new regulation 
section and remove overlapping information about 
administrative appeals. TAX will also move some language 
from 23VAC10-20-160, which will be placed in 23VAC10-
20-165, 23VAC10-20-180 and 23VAC10-20-190. 

A regulation section on administrative appeals will facilitate a 
predictable and adequate revenue stream for the government 
to provide for the health, safety, and welfare of its citizens by 
clearly stating TAX’s policy concerning administrative 
appeals. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: As the new 
regulation section will not make any substantive changes to 
TAX’s current administrative appeals process and existing 
policies related to the process, this action is not expected to 
be controversial. 

When the Administrative Appeals Guidelines set forth in 
Public Document 06-140 were created, TAX met with the 
Virginia Society of Certified Public Accountants (VSCPA).  
TAX and VSCPA both agreed on the guidelines before 

completion.  The Virginia Bar Association Tax Section was 
also given access to the document for review. 

Substance: This action will codify in the Virginia 
Administrative Code TAX’s current policy on appeals as set 
forth in Public Document 06-140.  Creating a new regulation 
section on administrative appeals will help maximize 
knowledge of the process among taxpayers. 

23VAC10-20-160 will be amended to reference the new 
regulation section and remove overlap information about 
administrative appeals.  TAX will also remove some language 
from 23VAC10-20-160, which will be placed in 23VAC10-
20-165, 23VAC10-20-180 and 23VAC10-20-190.  
23VAC10-20-170 will be repealed because it is superceded 
by the new regulation section, 23VAC10-20-165. 

Issues: The regulatory action poses no disadvantages to the 
public or the Commonwealth.  The primary advantage to the 
public and to the Commonwealth is that by detailing the 
administrative appeals process, the public will better 
understand the process and the options available to them.  The 
regulation section will facilitate the appeals process for both 
the agency and the taxpayer. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Department of Taxation (Department) currently provides 
guidance to the public on how to appeal tax assessments 
within a document titled "Administrative Appeal Guidelines 
for Tax Assessments Issued by the Virginia Department of 
Taxation." The Guidelines were created to supplement Code 
of Virginia § 58.1-1821 and these regulations (23VAC10-20, 
General Provisions Applicable to All Taxes Administered by 
the Department of Taxation). The Department now proposes 
to incorporate the Guidelines into the regulations and to 
eliminate duplicate language and reorganize the content of 
some related regulation sections. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Since the Guidelines are not 
more restrictive than the Code of Virginia and placing the 
Guidelines within the regulations may make it easier for 
taxpayers who are aware of the regulations but not the 
Guidelines to determine how and when their appeals should 
be filed, the proposal should provide benefit to the public 
with no associated cost. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. These regulations 
potentially affect all Virginia taxpayers. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal amendments 
do not directly affect employment. 
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Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposal amendments do not directly affect the use and value 
of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposal to 
incorporate the Guidelines within the regulations may save a 
small amount of time for small business owners who wish to 
appeal tax assessments. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not directly affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§ 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The agency agrees with 
the Department of Planning and Budget’s economic impact 
analysis. 

Summary: 

This regulatory action will promulgate a new regulation 
section, 23VAC10-20-165, setting forth TAX’s 
administrative appeals process and procedures as outlined 
in Public Document 06-140 issued by TAX on November 
29, 2006.  This regulatory action will also repeal 
23VAC10-20-170, which is superceded by the new 
regulation section.  23VAC10-20-165 will turn the current 
process as detailed by Public Document 06-140 into a 
regulation section. 

Additionally, this regulatory action will amend 23VAC10-
20-160 to reference the new regulation section and remove 
overlapping information about administrative appeals.  
TAX will also move some language from 23VAC10-20-160, 
which will be placed in 23VAC10-20-165, 23VAC10-20-
180, and 23VAC10-20-190. 

23VAC10-20-160. In general; definitions Assessments and 
administrative remedies. 

A. Types of remedies. Article 2 (§ 58.1-1820 et seq.) of 
Chapter 18 of Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia provides 
several administrative and judicial remedies for taxpayers 
who believe an assessment to be erroneous. In addition, Va. 
Code § 58.1-105 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the Tax 
Commissioner to accept an offer in compromise in certain 
circumstances. The various remedies available for taxes 
administered by the department may be summarized as 
follows: 

1. Offer in compromise under § 58.1-105 of the Code of 
Virginia, which may be used to waive or compromise a 
penalty for good cause or to compromise a tax based on a 
doubtful or disputed claim or a liability of doubtful 
collectibility.  

2. Application for correction of an erroneous assessment 
under § 58.1-1821 of the Code of Virginia before payment 
of the assessment, which may be used to protest any or all 
issues connected with an assessment. See 23VAC10-20-
165 for the full explanation of the administrative appeals 
process. 

3. Amended return claiming a refund under § 58.1-1823 of 
the Code of Virginia, which may be used to amend a return 
based upon new or newly discovered facts such as errors 
discovered in the original return or a change in federal 
taxable income. 

4. Protective claim under § 58.1-1824 of the Code of 
Virginia after payment of the assessment, which may be 
used to protest any or all issues connected with an 
assessment and, in certain circumstances, may extend the 
time in which taxpayer may apply to a court. See 
23VAC10-20-190 for more information on protective 
claims. 

5. If the above administrative remedies are not satisfactory 
to the taxpayer, the assessment may be paid and an 
application to a court may be made under § 58.1-1825 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

B. Exhaustion of administrative remedies. Although not 
required by law, taxpayers are encouraged to exhaust their 
administrative remedies before resorting to litigation. 
Administrative reviews remain confidential pursuant to 
§§ 58.1-3 and 58.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. Even if a 
dispute cannot be resolved administratively, the issues in 
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dispute may be significantly narrowed allowing expeditious 
court review. 

C. Forms.  

1. There is no form for applications for correction of 
assessments or protective claims but the information 
required for both is similar. The Department will accept 
any submission which sufficiently identifies the taxpayer, 
type of tax, taxable period, remedy sought, date of 
assessment and, if paid, the date of payment, and a 
statement signed by the taxpayer or duly appointed or 
authorized agent or attorney setting forth each alleged error 
in the assessment, the grounds upon which taxpayer relies 
and all facts relevant to taxpayer''s contention.  

2. When a dealer is applying for a refund of sales tax, the 
dealer shall attach a list of the purchasers from whom the 
tax was collected and to whom the refund and interest, if 
allowed, will be paid.  

3. When a consumer is applying for a refund of sales or use 
tax assessed against a dealer or contractor, the consumer 
shall identify the dealer or contractor, explain the 
circumstances surrounding the payment by the consumer 
and explain why the claim for refund could not, or would 
not, be made by the dealer or contractor.  

4. An application for correction or a protective claim filed 
on behalf of a taxpayer by an attorney, accountant or tax 
preparer must be signed by the taxpayer or accompanied 
by a duly executed power of attorney in favor of such 
representative who signs the application or claim.  

D. C. Person assessed. Any person assessed with any tax, as 
such term is defined in § 58.1-1820(1) of the Code of 
Virginia, may file an application for correction or a protective 
claim. 

E. D. Definition of assessment Assessments.  

1. When referring to taxes administered by the Department 
department, the terms "assess" and "assessment" mean the 
act of determining that a tax (or additional tax) is due and 
the amount of such tax. An assessment may be made by the 
Department department or by the taxpayer (self-
assessment). 

2. When an assessment is made by the Department 
department, a written notice of the assessment must be 
delivered to the taxpayer by an employee of the 
Department department or mailed to the taxpayer at his last 
known address. The date that such notice is mailed or 
delivered is the date of the assessment for the purpose of 
any limitations on the time in which administrative and 
judicial remedies are available and for any other 
administrative purposes.  

3. The written notice of an assessment made by the 
Department department is made on a form clearly labeled 

"Notice of Assessment" which that sets forth the date of 
the assessment, amount of assessment, the tax type, taxable 
period and taxpayer. Subsequent statements which that 
merely report payments and additional accrued interest are 
not assessments or notices of another assessment. An 
assessment may be preceded by correspondence proposing 
adjustments to a filed return based on an audit or other 
information received by the Department department. Such 
correspondence is not an assessment but is intended to 
provide taxpayers an opportunity to correct any errors 
before an assessment is made.  

4. A self-assessment is usually made when the taxpayer 
files a return. If an annual, quarterly or monthly return is 
not required to be filed for a tax then the self-assessment is 
usually made when the tax is paid. The date of assessment 
is the date of filing or payment except that:  

a. A return filed or tax paid before the last day prescribed 
by law for the filing or payment thereof, including 
extensions granted pursuant to law, shall be deemed to be 
filed or paid on such last day.  

b. After the Department department has mailed or 
delivered a notice of assessment a return filed or tax paid 
shall be deemed filed or paid pursuant to the notice. Such 
filing or payment is not a self assessment. The date of 
assessment shall be the date the notice of assessment was 
mailed or delivered, not the date the return was filed or 
the tax paid.  

c. In certain circumstances the date a return or payment is 
mailed will be deemed the date of filing or payment. See 
Va. Code § 58.1-9 of the Code of Virginia.  

5. A jeopardy assessment under §§ § 58.1-313 or 58.1-631 
of the Code of Virginia occurs when the Tax 
Commissioner finds that collection of income, sales or use 
taxes will be jeopardized by delay, terminates the current 
taxable period and assesses tax, penalty and interest. A 
jeopardy assessment is an assessment for purposes of 
administrative remedies and a taxpayer may protest either 
the finding of jeopardy or the amount of liability, or both.  

6. The date of an assessment is not affected if the amount 
of the assessment is later corrected, whether the correction 
is the result of an application under §§ § 58.1-1821 or 
58.1-1824 of the Code of Virginia or made on the 
Department's department's own initiative after receiving 
additional information. The Department department will 
not correct an assessment by increasing the amount of 
liability (except for additional accrued interest). If the 
Department department determines that the proper tax is 
greater than the amount previously assessed and paid, the 
Department department will make a second assessment 
unless the period for assessing additional tax has expired. 
The second assessment may be for the total amount due (in 
which case the first assessment will be abated) or for only 
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that portion of the tax due which that has not yet been 
assessed, whichever is appropriate in the opinion of the 
Department department. 

7. Amended returns claiming refunds under Va. Code 
§ 58.1-1823 of the Code of Virginia are not assessments or 
self-assessments. However, for the purpose of allowing a 
taxpayer to pursue administrative and judicial remedies, 
the denial or failure to act upon a refund claim is deemed 
to be an assessment, but only as to matters first raised in 
the amended return claiming a refund. A matter shall not 
be considered first raised in an amended return claiming a 
refund if it was previously the subject of an audit or an 
application under §§ § 58.1-1821, 58.1-1824 or 58.1-1825 
of the Code of Virginia. The date of such deemed 
assessment shall be the date of an order of the Department 
department denying the refund claim or three months from 
the date the amended return was filed with the Department 
department, whichever is earlier.  

23VAC10-20-165. Administrative appeals. 

A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 
this section shall have the following meanings unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative appeal" means an application for correction 
of an assessment filed with the Tax Commissioner pursuant 
to § 58.1-1821 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Assessment" means a determination of the amount of tax, 
including additional or omitted tax, that is due. An 
assessment includes a written assessment made pursuant to a 
notice by the department or a self-assessment made by a 
taxpayer upon the filing of a return or otherwise not pursuant 
to notice. A return filed or tax paid before the last day 
prescribed by law for the filing or payment thereof shall be 
deemed to be filed or paid on the last day specified for the 
filing of a return or the payment of tax, as the case may be. 
The denial of a refund claim is deemed to be an assessment, 
and a taxpayer may file an administrative appeal in response 
to the denial of a refund claim.  

"Collection action" means the use of any means permitted 
by law, direct or indirect, by the department, or collection 
agencies authorized by the department, to obtain payment on 
an assessment. 

"Complete appeal" means an administrative appeal 
containing sufficient information, as prescribed in subsection 
D of this section, so that the grounds upon which the taxpayer 
relies in contesting an assessment are fully set forth to allow 
the Tax Commissioner to make an informed final 
determination. 

"Date of assessment" means, for purposes of filing an 
administrative appeal, the date stated on the notice of 
assessment. In the case of a denial of a refund claim, the date 
of assessment is the date of the department’s correspondence 

informing the taxpayer that the refund claim is denied. If the 
department fails to act within three months on an amended 
return claiming a refund, the date of assessment is the day 
following the expiration of the three-month period for the 
purpose of permitting the taxpayer to pursue an 
administrative appeal under § 58.1-1821 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Taxation 
and its employees. 

"Determination" means the Tax Commissioner’s written 
final determination issued pursuant to § 58.1-1822 of the 
Code of Virginia to a taxpayer’s administrative appeal. A 
determination also includes the Tax Commissioner’s written 
response to a request for reconsideration pursuant to 
subsection F of this section, except as provided in subdivision 
F 5 of this section. 

"Notice of assessment" means the department’s official form 
labeled "Notice of Assessment" that contains written 
information that sets out the date of the assessment, amount 
of assessment, the tax type, taxable period, account number, 
bill number and name of the taxpayer. A subsequent 
statement of balance due the department does not constitute a 
new notice of assessment. Such subsequent statements 
include reports of payments applied to assessments, updated 
bills reflecting additional accrued interest, or other changes to 
an assessment.  A notice of assessment may be preceded by 
correspondence proposing adjustments to a filed return based 
on an audit or other information received by the department. 
Such correspondence is not a notice of assessment but is 
intended to provide taxpayers an opportunity to correct any 
errors before an assessment is made. 

"Notice of intent to appeal" means a taxpayer’s written 
statement filed with the department that informs the 
department of a taxpayer’s intent to file an administrative 
appeal of an assessment to the Tax Commissioner. 

"Tax Commissioner" means the chief executive officer of 
the Department of Taxation. 

"Taxpayer" means a person, corporation, partnership, 
limited liability company, organization, trust or estate or other 
entity subject to the taxes administered by the Department of 
Taxation. 

B. Administrative appeal process. 

1. Taxpayer appeal rights.  

a. Section 58.1-1821 of the Code of Virginia gives a 
taxpayer the right to an administrative appeal of an 
assessment issued by the Department of Taxation, if the 
taxpayer believes that the department has incorrectly 
assessed tax, penalty or interest. The administrative 
appeal must include all elements listed in subsection D of 
this section.  
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b. The department strictly enforces the 90-day limitations 
period for filing a timely administrative appeal. A 
taxpayer must file a complete appeal within 90 calendar 
days after the date of assessment. See subsection C of 
this section for computing the 90-day limitations period. 

c. A taxpayer is not required to pay the portion of an 
assessment that is the subject of an administrative appeal 
until the Tax Commissioner has issued a determination 
that requires such payment unless the Tax Commissioner 
determines collection is in jeopardy. 

d. An administrative appeal may be filed with the 
department by hand delivery, email, common carrier, 
delivery service, United States mail, facsimile 
transmission or by any other means that ensures the filing 
of a complete appeal to the department within the 90-day 
limitations period. 

e. The department will determine the manner best suited 
to resolve an appeal, which may include submission of 
additional documents and memoranda, further audit, 
holding a conference with the taxpayer or the taking of 
testimony. 

f. An administrative appeal of an assessment filed 
pursuant to § 58.1-1821 of the Code of Virginia is not 
subject to the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et 
seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

g. An application under § 58.1-1821 of the Code of 
Virginia does not extend the period in which a taxpayer 
may apply to a court under § 58.1-1825 of the Code of 
Virginia. See 23VAC10-20-190 C. 

2. Collection action. 

a. Upon receipt of a complete appeal or a notice of intent 
to appeal within the 90-day limitations period, the 
department will suspend collection action on the 
contested assessment unless the Tax Commissioner 
determines collection of the assessment is in jeopardy. 

b. When a notice of intent to appeal is filed and a 
complete appeal is not filed within the 90-day limitations 
period, the suspension of collection will be released, and 
collection action will resume. 

c. After the Tax Commissioner has made a determination 
on the application, the assessment, as it may have been 
modified by such determination, shall become 
immediately collectible with accrued interest. 

3. Accrual of interest. 

a. While the taxpayer’s administrative appeal is pending, 
interest will accrue on any outstanding balance pursuant 
to § 58.1-1812 of the Code of Virginia. To avoid the 
accrual of additional interest, the taxpayer may choose to 
make full payment of the assessment. Payment of any 
disputed tax, penalty, or interest shall not be construed to 

mean that the taxpayer is in agreement with the 
assessment. 

b. If the taxpayer decides to make full payment and the 
final determination results in a refund, the taxpayer will 
be paid interest on the overpayment of the erroneously 
assessed tax pursuant to § 58.1-1833 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

4. Acknowledgement letter. 

a. The taxpayer will receive an acknowledgement letter 
from the department once the administrative appeal or a 
notice of intent to appeal has been received. The 
acknowledgement letter sent by the department after an 
appeal is filed will provide the taxpayer with the name 
and phone number of the analyst assigned to review the 
appeal.  

b. The acknowledgement letter serves only to indicate 
receipt of the taxpayer’s administrative appeal by the 
department. It does not acknowledge whether the 
administrative appeal is complete or whether the appeal 
was timely filed.  

c. If it is determined that the taxpayer has not filed a 
complete appeal, the analyst assigned to the appeal will 
notify the taxpayer in separate correspondence. 

5. Power of attorney. 

a. An administrative appeal filed on behalf of a taxpayer 
by an attorney, accountant, tax preparer, or other 
representative of the taxpayer should be accompanied by 
a properly executed power of attorney. The power of 
attorney must be signed and dated by both the taxpayer 
and the taxpayer’s representative(s). 

b. A power of attorney must be filed if the taxpayer will 
be represented in a taxpayer conference with the 
department by an attorney, accountant, tax preparer, or 
other representative, and a power of attorney has not 
been previously filed with the department with regard to 
the administrative appeal. 

c. Form PAR 101, Power of Attorney and Declaration of 
Representative can be found on the department’s website. 
Form PAR 101 or any other power of attorney form that 
includes the same information will be accepted by the 
department. 

d. Failure to provide a power of attorney within the 90-
day limitations period does not preclude consideration of 
the administrative appeal; however, it may delay the 
issuance of the final determination.  

6. Tax Commissioner’s determination. The Tax 
Commissioner will issue a determination letter in response 
to the taxpayer’s administrative appeal. The determination 
will be based on the issues raised in the taxpayer’s 
administrative appeal. 
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C. Time for filing an administrative appeal. Section 58.1-
1821 of the Code of Virginia provides that a taxpayer 
assessed with any tax administered by the department may, 
within 90 calendar days after the date of such assessment, file 
an administrative appeal with the Tax Commissioner. 

1. The 90-day limitations period begins on the calendar day 
after the date of assessment and continues for 90 
consecutive calendar days (including weekends and 
holidays). 

2. Regardless of the delivery method used, if the 90th 
calendar day after the date of assessment is a Saturday, 
Sunday, federal holiday or Virginia state holiday, the 
administrative appeal will be considered timely if filed on 
the Commonwealth’s next business day. 

3. An administrative appeal that is delivered to the 
department using the United States mail must be 
postmarked or have a metered date that is on or before the 
90th calendar day after the date of assessment to be 
considered timely filed. The department will use the 
United States mail postmark in cases where there is both a 
postmark date and a metered date on the administrative 
appeal. In the case of metered mail not bearing a United 
States mail postmark, an appeal or a request for 
redetermination will be deemed to be filed untimely if: 

a. The metered date is missing from the metered imprint 
and the item is received by the department more than 
three business days after the last day for filing the appeal 
or a request for redetermination; or  

b. The metered date is present bearing a timely date for 
the filing, but the filing is received by the department 
more than 10 business days after the last day for filing, in 
which case it is presumed that the metered date does not 
accurately reflect the date on which the filing was 
deposited with the United States Postal Service.  

4. An administrative appeal that is delivered to the 
department by hand, by common carrier or delivery 
service, facsimile transmission, electronic mail (email) or 
any means of delivery other than by United States mail, 
must be dated and received on or before the 90th calendar 
day after the date of assessment to be considered timely 
filed, except as noted below. 

a. An administrative appeal delivered by hand will be 
date-stamped by an employee of the department on the 
day received. This date will be the filing date for 
purposes of determining if the administrative appeal is 
filed within the 90-day limitations period. 

b. The date of receipt by the carrier or delivery service 
shown on the shipping or address label or elsewhere on 
the envelope or package delivered to the department by 
common carrier or delivery service will be the filing date 
of the administrative appeal for purposes of determining 

if the administrative appeal is filed within the 90-day 
limitations period. 

c. The most recent date printed on a facsimile 
transmission or shown on an email transmission will be 
the filing date of the administrative appeal for purposes 
of determining if the administrative appeal is filed within 
the 90-day limitations period unless, for whatever reason, 
that date is patently inconsistent with the date actually 
received by the department. 

d. An administrative appeal received by the department 
via hand delivery, in an envelope or package, by 
facsimile transmission, by email, or by any other means 
of delivery bearing no legible date will be considered 
filed on the date of actual receipt by the department. 

5. Examples of the 90-day limitations period for 
administrative appeals. 

Example 1. The department issues Taxpayer A a notice 
of assessment with an assessment date of February 28, 
2006. Taxpayer A files an administrative appeal with the 
Tax Commissioner by United States mail. The 90-day 
limitations period to file an administrative appeal starts 
on March 1, 2006, the first calendar day after the date of 
assessment. The 90th day after the date of assessment 
falls on May 29, 2006, which is a state holiday. Taxpayer 
A’s administrative appeal will be considered timely filed 
if postmarked on or before May 30, 2006, the next 
business day following a state holiday. 

Example 2. The department issues Taxpayer B a notice 
of assessment with an assessment date of March 13, 
2006. The 90-day limitations period to file an 
administrative appeal starts on March 14, 2006. The 90th 
day after the date of assessment falls on June 11, 2006, 
which is a Sunday. Taxpayer B’s administrative appeal 
will be considered timely filed if it is emailed to the 
department on or before June 12, 2006. 

Example 3. The department issues Taxpayer C a notice 
of assessment with an assessment date of May 2, 2006. 
The department later sends Taxpayer C a statement dated 
June 5, 2006, showing that the original assessment 
remains outstanding and that additional interest has 
accrued on the assessment. The 90-day limitations period 
to file an administrative appeal begins on May 3, 2006, 
the first calendar day after the date of assessment. The 
90th day after the date of assessment falls on August 1, 
2006, which is a regular business day. Taxpayer C’s 
administrative appeal will be considered timely filed if 
the envelope is postmarked or dated by a delivery service 
on or before August 1, 2006. The 90-day limitations 
period is not extended by the department’s issuance of 
the statement dated June 5, 2006, to Taxpayer C. 

D. Complete administrative appeal. 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 22, 2008 

1625 

1. In order to be complete, an administrative appeal shall 
contain the following:  

a. Identification of the taxpayer (to include mailing 
address, federal tax identification number or social 
security number); 

b. Type of tax; 

c. Taxable period; 

d. Date of assessment (if paid, include date of payment); 

e. Remedy sought; 

f. A statement signed by the taxpayer or duly appointed 
or authorized agent or attorney setting forth each alleged 
error in the assessment, the grounds upon which the 
taxpayer relies and all facts relevant to the taxpayer’s 
contention; and 

g. Controlling legal authority (statutes, regulations, 
rulings of the Tax Commissioner, court decisions, etc.) 
upon which the taxpayer’s position is based. 

2. Administrative appeal form. 

a. The department has available an administrative appeal 
form that can be used to file an administrative appeal 
with the Tax Commissioner. While use of this form is not 
mandatory, the information required on the form must be 
included in the administrative appeal. 

b. The form can be found in the appendix of the 
Taxpayer Bill of Rights on the department’s website at 
www.tax.virginia.gov. 

3. Supporting documentation. 

a. The taxpayer should include with the administrative 
appeal all the essential documentation that supports its 
contentions. 

(1) When a dealer is applying for a refund of sales tax, 
the dealer shall attach a list of the purchasers from whom 
the tax was collected and to whom the refund and 
interest, if allowed, will be paid.  

(2) When a consumer is applying for a refund of sales or 
use tax assessed against a dealer or contractor, the 
consumer shall identify the dealer or contractor, explain 
the circumstances surrounding the payment by the 
consumer and explain why the claim for refund could 
not, or would not, be made by the dealer or contractor. 

(3) If the supporting documentation cannot be provided 
at the time of filing the administrative appeal, the 
taxpayer should state the reasons why. 

b. The department may allow the taxpayer up to 60 
additional days from the date the department 
acknowledges receipt of the administrative appeal to 
submit the necessary documents. It will be within the 

department’s discretion to allow any additional time 
beyond the 60 additional days.  

c. In some instances, the taxpayer may be permitted to 
submit a sample of the supporting documents. The 
taxpayer must agree to make the remainder of the 
documents available for review by the department. 

d. During the course of the administrative appeal process, 
the department may request additional information from 
the taxpayer to facilitate rendering a determination of the 
taxpayer’s administrative appeal.  

4. Incomplete appeal/notice of intent to appeal. 

a. An incomplete appeal or notice of intent to appeal does 
not satisfy or extend the 90-day limitations period. 
Informal contact made by a taxpayer with the department 
after an assessment has been issued does not constitute a 
complete appeal or a notice of intent to file an 
administrative appeal.  

b. Examples of informal contact include a phone call to 
an auditor or other department personnel or a meeting 
with department personnel to discuss the assessment.  

5. Examples. 

a. Complete administrative appeal. 

Example 1. An administrative appeal is filed within the 
90-day limitations period and includes the relevant facts, 
the basis for the appeal and the legal authority that 
support the taxpayer’s position. A sample of the 
documentation that supports the taxpayer’s position is 
also included. The taxpayer notes that the remainder of 
the documentation is available for review. 

b. Incomplete administrative appeals. 

Example 2. The taxpayer’s representative files a notice of 
intent letter with the department within the 90-day 
limitations period, indicating that it will supplement the 
letter of intent with the complete grounds for appeal and 
documentation. The 90-day limitations period expires 
before the department receives the supplement. 

Example 3. A taxpayer submits a written request for a 
conference to discuss an assessment. This action, by 
itself, does not constitute a complete appeal.  

E. Appeal conference. Any taxpayer assessed with any tax 
administered by the department as stated in Title 58.1 of the 
Code of Virginia, and any person assessed a penalty pursuant 
to § 58.1-1813 of the Code of Virginia, and who has filed a 
complete appeal is entitled to a conference, if requested, prior 
to the Tax Commissioner issuing a determination. 

1. Purpose of conference. 

a. The appeal conference is an informal means by which 
a taxpayer can present legal arguments and factual 
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documentation to the department concerning the 
protested issue(s) in its administrative appeal.  

b. A conference to resolve an administrative appeal is not 
subject to the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et 
seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

2. Taxes discussed in the conference. 

a. Any tax administered and assessed by the department 
as stated in Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia may be 
discussed in the conference.  

b. The taxes in Subtitle II (§ 58.1-2020 et seq.) of Title 
58.1 of the Code of Virginia are administered by other 
state agencies. Administrative issues related to these 
taxes should be resolved through the appropriate agency.  

3. Requesting a conference. 

a. A taxpayer may request a conference at the time a 
complete appeal is filed with the Tax Commissioner. The 
conference request must be related to an audit assessment 
being addressed in the appeal.  

b. A taxpayer may also request a conference separately 
while the administrative appeal is pending. The taxpayer 
may mail, fax, telephone or email a request for a 
conference to the department using the contact 
information located on the administrative appeals form 
found in the appendix of the Taxpayer's Bill of Rights on 
the department’s website at www.tax.virginia.gov. 

4. Granting a conference. 

a. A taxpayer will be granted a conference provided a 
complete appeal has been filed within the 90-day 
limitations period.  

b. The department will not grant a conference for an 
administrative appeal deemed frivolous or for cases in 
which a taxpayer requests a conference for the purpose of 
delaying collection action on a valid assessment. 

5. Scheduling a conference. Every attempt will be made to 
schedule a date and time that is mutually convenient for 
both the taxpayer and the department. The department will 
notify the taxpayer by a confirmation letter of the date and 
time for the conference.  

6. Location of conference. 

a. A conference will normally be held in the department’s 
main office in Richmond, Virginia. As a convenience for 
taxpayers, a conference may be held by telephone. 

b. A conference may also be held, upon request and at 
the department’s discretion, at other locations. A 
taxpayer should provide the department sufficient 
information to support requests for conferences at other 
sites. 

7. Conference attendees. 

a. The conference will be conducted by the Tax 
Commissioner or a designee(s) of the Tax Commissioner. 
The analyst assigned to the taxpayer’s administrative 
appeal will also attend the conference. 

b. The taxpayer and the taxpayer’s representative(s) may 
attend the conference. The taxpayer is not required to 
attend. See subdivision B 5 of this section for 
information regarding a power of attorney. 

8. Documentation. 

a. The taxpayer should be prepared to submit 
documentation that supports or validates the issues raised 
in the administrative appeal, as appropriate.  

b. A sample of documentation is acceptable, provided the 
taxpayer agrees to give the department access to the 
remainder of the documentation for review. 

9. After the conference. 

a. The Tax Commissioner or his designee will not issue a 
determination at the conference. The information and 
supporting documentation presented will be considered 
as part of the administrative appeal.  

b. The Tax Commissioner will issue a determination to 
the taxpayer’s administrative appeal after careful 
consideration of all information provided, applicable 
statutes and regulations. 

F. Request for reconsideration. A taxpayer who disagrees 
with the Tax Commissioner’s final determination issued 
pursuant to § 58.1-1822 of the Code of Virginia may request 
a reconsideration of the determination.  

1. Requirements. In order for the Tax Commissioner to 
grant a request for reconsideration, the request must be 
received by the department not later than 45 days after the 
final determination and the taxpayer must demonstrate one 
of the following:  

a. The facts upon which the original determination is 
based are misstated by the Tax Commissioner or are 
inaccurate, and the determination would have a different 
result based on a correction of the Tax Commissioner’s 
misstatement of the facts presented or a clarification of 
the original facts presented in the taxpayer’s 
administrative appeal;  

b. The law upon which the original determination is 
based has been changed by legislation, court decision or 
other authority effective for the tax period(s) at issue; 

c. The policy upon which the original determination is 
based is misapplied, and the determination would have a 
different result based on the application of the proper 
policy; or 

d. The taxpayer has discovered additional evidence or 
documentation that was not available to the taxpayer at 
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the time the original administrative appeal was filed with 
the department, and the additional evidence or 
documentation could produce a result different from the 
original determination. 

In addition, a taxpayer’s request for reconsideration must 
include the information required for a complete appeal. 
The taxpayer’s request should also include the 
appropriate documentation (if applicable) to support the 
taxpayer’s position. A sample of the documentation is 
acceptable, provided the taxpayer agrees to give the 
department access to the remainder of the documentation 
for review. Documentation provided with the original 
administrative appeal does not need to be resubmitted.  

If at least one of the four requirements listed above is 
satisfied, and the request for reconsideration includes the 
information required for a complete appeal, the Tax 
Commissioner will grant a taxpayer’s request for 
reconsideration.  

2. Collection action. 

a. Collection action will be suspended on the portion of 
the assessment related to the contested issues while the 
request for reconsideration is pending with the 
department. 

b. Collection action will not be suspended on any portion 
of the contested assessment if the request for 
reconsideration fails to satisfy the requirements in 
subsection A of this section. For example, a notice of 
intent to file a request for reconsideration or a request for 
a conference without any other information does not 
meet the requirements specified in subdivision 1 of this 
subsection and is not sufficient to suspend collection 
action. 

c. Collection action will not be suspended on the assessed 
amount attributable to any uncontested issues. 

3. Conference. 

a. A conference to discuss the issues raised in the request 
for reconsideration may be granted at the discretion of 
the department. In the event a conference is granted, it 
will be scheduled at a date and time that is mutually 
convenient for both the taxpayer and the department.  

b. If appropriate and agreed to by both the taxpayer and 
the department, the conference may be held by telephone. 

4. Denial of request for reconsideration. A request for 
reconsideration will not be granted if the Tax 
Commissioner determines the request is: 

a. Frivolous or intended to delay collection action on an 
assessment ruled to be proper in a determination issued 
pursuant to § 58.1-1822 of the Code of Virginia.  

(1) A request for reconsideration will be deemed 
frivolous if it is based on arguments that are not 
grounded in law or fact. 

(2) A request for reconsideration will be deemed as 
intending to delay collection action if it repeats the same 
information contained in the taxpayer’s original 
administrative appeal letter and offers no new 
information or new legal arguments. 

b. Received by the department more than 45 days after 
the final determination. 

5. The Tax Commissioner’s written response denying a 
request for reconsideration based on a finding that (i) the 
request fails to meet the requirements in subdivision 1 of 
this subsection or (ii) one of the conditions specified in 
subsection D of this section exists is not a final 
determination pursuant to § 58.1-1822 of the Code of 
Virginia for purposes of filing an application for correction 
with the circuit court pursuant to § 58.1-1825 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

G. The appropriate contact and mailing information related 
to the content of this section can be found on the department’s 
website at www.tax.virginia.gov. 

H. See 23VAC10-20-160 A for the types of administrative 
remedies. See 23VAC10-20-160 B for information about the 
exhaustion of administrative remedies. 

23VAC10-20-170. Application for correction (before 
payment). (Repealed.) 

A. Application.  

1. A taxpayer may apply to the Commissioner for 
correction of an erroneous assessment before payment of 
the assessment. The application must contain all of the 
information specified in 23VAC10-20-160 C. The 
application will be handled within the Department in the 
manner best determined by the Commissioner to resolve 
the dispute, which may include submission of additional 
documents and memoranda, further audit, holding a 
conference with the taxpayer or the taking of testimony. 
Applications should be addressed to: Tax Commissioner, 
Virginia Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 1880, 
Richmond, VA 23282-1880.  

2. After receiving a written notice of assessment taxpayers 
sometimes contact the auditors or other Department 
personnel with additional information seeking a corrected 
assessment. Such informal contact will not be considered 
an application under this section.  

B. Collection and billing. When an application has been 
duly filed the Commissioner will not take any action to 
collect the tax, penalty and interest assessed unless he 
determines that collection is in jeopardy. Interest under §58.1-
1812 of the Code of Virginia and additional incremental 
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penalties for nonpayment of taxes may accrue while the 
application is pending. After the Commissioner has made a 
determination on the application, the assessment, as it may 
have been modified by such determination, shall become 
immediately collectible with accrued interest.  

C. Statute of limitations. An application under this §58.1-
1821 of the Code of Virginia does not extend the period in 
which a taxpayer may apply to a court under §58.1-1825 of 
the Code of Virginia. See 23VAC10-20-190 C.  

23VAC10-20-180. Amended returns claiming a refund. 

A. Filing.  

1. Amended returns claiming a refund of any tax 
administered by the Department department are governed 
by § 58.1-1823 of the Code of Virginia. Amended returns 
claiming a refund must be filed within three years from the 
last day prescribed by law for the timely filing of the 
original return or, if later, within 60 days from the final 
determination of any change or correction in the liability of 
the taxpayer for any federal tax upon which the Virginia 
tax is based. 

2. The amended return shall supply all the information 
required in an original return and, in addition, the taxpayer 
must attach a statement explaining the changes made and 
the reasons for the changes. If the refund claim is due to a 
change in federal taxable income or estate, the taxpayer 
must furnish a copy of the Revenue Agent''s Agent's 
Report or other appropriate notice that the change has been 
accepted by the Internal Revenue Service. For additional 
information required from dealers claiming a refund of 
sales and use tax see 23VAC10-20-160 C.  

a. When a dealer is applying for a refund of sales tax, the 
dealer shall attach a list of the purchasers from whom the 
tax was collected and to whom the refund and interest, if 
allowed, will be paid.  

b. When a consumer is applying for a refund of sales or 
use tax assessed against a dealer or contractor, the 
consumer shall identify the dealer or contractor, explain 
the circumstances surrounding the payment by the 
consumer and explain why the claim for refund could 
not, or would not, be made by the dealer or contractor.  

3. The time limit specified above applies only to amended 
returns claiming a refund and does not apply to amended 
returns showing a tax due. The period for assessing taxes 
due may vary for each type of tax and may also depend on 
circumstances such as fraud or failure to file a return.  

4. See § 58.1-9 of the Code of Virginia for provisions 
relating to filing a return by mail.  

B. Final determination. For the purposes of this regulation, 
any one of the following shall be deemed a final 
determination of a change in liability for the federal tax:  

1. Payment or refund of any federal income or estate tax, 
not the subject of any other final determination described 
in subdivisions subdivision 2, 3, 4, or 5 of subsection B. 
The payment of a federal income or estate tax is a final 
determination for Virginia purposes even though a refund 
suit may be pending or contemplated which could result in 
another "final determination";  

2. The receipt of an assessment or other notice that the 
amount of deficiency or overassessment stated on federal 
Form 870 or similar form has been agreed to by the IRS;  

3. The expiration of the 90-day time period (150-day 
period in the case of notice addressed to a person outside 
the states of the union and the District of Columbia) within 
which a petition for redetermination may be filed with the 
U.S. Tax Court with respect to a statutory notice of 
deficiency issued by the Internal Revenue Service, if a 
petition is not filed with that court within such time;  

4. A closing agreement entered into with the Internal 
Revenue Service under Section 7121 of the Internal 
Revenue Code. The "final determination" shall occur when 
the taxpayer receives notice of the signing by the 
Commissioner of Internal Revenue;  

5. A decision by the U.S. Tax Court, U.S. District Court, 
U.S. Claims Court, U.S. Court of Appeals or the United 
States Supreme Court which that has become final, or the 
date the court approves a voluntary agreement stipulating 
disposition of the case.  

C. Assessment. The denial in whole or in part of taxpayers 
claim for refund, or the department's failure to act within 
three months, is treated as an assessment for the purpose of 
permitting taxpayer to pursue other administrative and 
judicial remedies, but only as to matters first raised by the 
amended return. Therefore an amended return should not be 
filed if the claim for refund involves issues that were 
previously considered in the course of an audit, application 
for correction or protective claim.  

23VAC10-20-190. Protective claims (after payment). 

A. Filing. 

1. If all assessed taxes, penalties and accrued interest have 
been paid and taxpayer desires to preserve his judicial 
remedies he may file a protective claim with the Tax 
Commissioner within three years of the assessment. The 
protective claim must furnish all information specified in 
subsection C of 23VAC10-20-160  

2. There is no form for applications for protective claims. 
The department will accept any submission that 
sufficiently identifies the taxpayer, type of tax, taxable 
period, remedy sought, date of assessment and the date of 
payment, a statement signed by the taxpayer or duly 
appointed or authorized agent or attorney setting forth each 
alleged error in the assessment, the grounds upon which 
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taxpayer relies, and all facts relevant to taxpayer's 
contention, and, if appropriate, should show that 
determination of the facts or law applicable to taxpayer 
depends upon the outcome of another case pending in the 
Department department or the courts. See the department’s 
website at www.tax.virginia.gov for the appropriate 
contact and mailing information. 

3. An application for a protective claim filed on behalf of a 
taxpayer by an attorney, accountant or tax preparer must be 
signed by the taxpayer or accompanied by a duly executed 
power of attorney in favor of such representative who signs 
the application or claim.  

Protective claims shall be addressed to the Tax 
Commissioner, Virginia Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 
1880, Richmond, VA 23282-1880. 

2. 4. Taxpayer may submit a protective claim even if the 
merits have already been administratively considered under 
either § 58.1-1821 or § 58.1-1823 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Issues held pending litigation. If the Tax Commissioner 
determines that the protective claim involves facts or law 
which depend upon resolution of a pending case, he may, in 
his discretion, hold that portion of the protective claim 
without decision until the pending case has been decided. 
Upon resolution of the pending case the Tax Commissioner 
will decide those issues held pending such resolution. The 
provisions of this subsection will be strictly limited to those 
issues which actually depend upon resolution of a pending 
case; all other issues will be decided on the merits. The Tax 
Commissioner may require additional information about the 
protective claim as limited to particular issues involved in a 
pending case. Taxpayer will be advised as to what portion, if 
any, of his protective claim is being held without decision 
pending resolution of another case. 

C. Statute of limitations. 

1. Taxpayer may apply to the court under § 58.1-1825 of 
the Code of Virginia within one year after decision on 
taxpayer''s protective claim, or three years from the 
assessment, whichever is later. 

2. If an application for correction is pending under § 58.1-
1821 of the Code of Virginia and taxpayer desires to 
extend his right to apply to a court under § 58.1-1825 of 
the Code of Virginia, taxpayer may pay all assessed taxes, 
penalties and accrued interest and, within three years of the 
assessment, reapply under this section. Such reapplication 
may simply refer to the pending § 58.1-1821 of the Code 
of Virginia application, state that the assessment has been 

paid and request consideration under § 58.1-1824 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are listed below. Any amended or added forms are 
reflected in the listing and are published following the listing. 

FORMS (23VAC10-20) 

Power of Attorney and Declaration of Representation, PAR 
101 (rev. 6/06).  

Offer in Compromise Business Request for Settlement, OIC-
Bus (eff. 11/08).  

Offer in Compromise Individual Request for Settlement, 
Form 21 OIC-Ind (eff. 11/08).  

Administrative Appeal Pursuant to Virginia Code § 58.1-
1821. 
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Fast-Track Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 23VAC10-210. Retail Sales and Use 
Tax (amending 23VAC10-210-6060). 

23VAC10-230. Watercraft Sales and Use Tax (amending 
23VAC10-230-20, 23VAC10-230-30, 23VAC10-230-40, 
23VAC10-230-80, 23VAC10-230-90, 23VAC10-230-110, 
23VAC10-230-120; adding 23VAC10-230-70, 23VAC10-
230-75). 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on February 20, 2009. 

Effective Date: March 8, 2009.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Lewis, Tax Policy Analyst, 
Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 27185, Richmond, VA 
23261-7185, telephone (804) 371-2341, FAX (804) 371-
2355, or email jennifer.lewis@tax.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia provides that 
the "Tax Commissioner shall have the power to issue 
regulations relating to the interpretation and enforcement of 
the laws of this Commonwealth governing taxes administered 
by the Department." 

Purpose: The purpose of this regulatory action is to provide 
clarification with respect to Watercraft Sales and Use Tax as 
well as amend the regulation to reflect statutory changes 
regarding the maximum tax limitation, the titling 
requirements, the tax status of watercraft motors, and the 
definition of dealer watercraft.  This regulatory action will 
also promulgate two new regulation sections, 23VAC10-230-
70 and 23VAC10-230-75. 23VAC10-230-70 will clarify 
information already in the regulation and 23VAC10-230-75 
will clarify TAX's existing policy on dealer exclusion.  The 
Retail Sales and Use Tax regulation section regarding 
watercraft sales, leases, and rentals, repair and replacement 
parts, and maintenance materials will be amended to reflect a 
statutory change regarding maintenance contracts. 

This regulatory action is necessary to ensure a predictable and 
adequate revenue stream for the government to provide for 
the health, safety, and welfare of its citizens. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: As the new 
regulation will not make any changes to TAX’s current policy 
regarding the watercraft, this action is not expected to be 
controversial. 

Substance: This regulatory action will provide clarification on 
the Watercraft Sales and Use Tax. The Retail Sales and Use 
Tax section subjecting "watercraft" to the Watercraft Sales 
and Use Tax will be amended to reflect a statutory change 

regarding maintenance contracts as well as the tax application 
for boat motors. 

The Watercraft Sales and Use Tax definition section will be 
organized alphabetically and definitions currently found in 
other sections will be moved. 

This regulatory action will also promulgate a new regulation 
23VAC10-230-70. This section will incorporate language 
currently located in the definition section. The section will 
detail when a transaction is subject to the Retail Sales and 
Use Tax and reference 23VAC10-210-6060. 

23VAC10-230-75 will clarify TAX's existing policy on 
dealer exclusion. This section will clarify the definition of 
gross receipts. 

This regulatory action will also amend the regulation section 
to reflect statutory changes. Since the regulation was 
promulgated in the 1980s, there have been multiple statutory 
changes. In 1986, an exemption was added for watercraft 
purchased by nonprofit sea rescue squads. In 1987 a tax 
limitation was placed on the tax. In 1990 the tax limitation 
was increased to its current level of $2000. In 1994 boat 
motors were subjected to the Watercraft Sales and Use Tax. 
In 1997 the definition of watercraft was altered to include any 
vessel propelled by machinery, whether or not the machinery 
was the principle source of propulsion. The titling 
requirements set forth in §§ 29.1-712 through 29.1-722 of the 
Code of Virginia have also changed. 

Issues: The regulatory action poses no disadvantages to the 
public or the Commonwealth. The primary advantage to the 
public and to the Commonwealth is that by updating the 
regulation to reflect statutory changes, the public will better 
understand the tax and how it is administered. Another 
advantage to the public and to the Commonwealth is that by 
adding additional examples, the public will better understand 
TAX's policy regarding watercraft.  

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Department of Taxation (Department) proposes several 
amendments to the Watercraft Sales and Use Tax regulations. 
There have been several statutory changes since this 
regulation was last amended.  All proposed changes to the 
regulation are either straight from current statutes or are 
merely clarifying language and do not change requirements. 
Proposed amendments reflecting statutory change include: 1) 
adding a tax exemption for watercraft purchased by nonprofit 
sea rescue squads, 2) first establishing, and then raising the 
maximum tax limitation to its current level of $2000 (this 
maximum tax was first imposed in 1990), 3) amending the 
titling requirements, 4) addressing the tax status of watercraft 
motors, and 5) amending the definition of watercraft to 
include any vessel propelled by machinery. Further, the 
Department proposes numerous clarifying changes such as 
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amending definitions, moving certain language from one 
section to another, adding examples, and updating Code 
citations as well as regulatory cross-references. Also, the 
Department proposes to add a new section to the regulations 
that would clarify existing policy on dealer exclusion and 
modify the definition of gross receipts. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The current regulation is 
inconsistent with parts of the Code of Virginia.  When 
statutes and regulations conflict, the statutes prevail.  Since all 
proposed changes are either straight from statute or are 
merely clarifying language, the proposed amendments do not 
change any requirements for the public and thus do not 
produce any cost.  The proposed amendments will be 
beneficial for the public in that there will be less confusion on 
the law regarding watercraft sales and use tax. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. These regulations 
potentially affect all Virginia taxpayers. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
affect all localities.  Localities along the coast or that 
particular feature other navigable waters may be particularly 
affected. 

Projected Impact on Employment. Since the proposed 
amendments do not change current or future requirements, 
employment is not significantly affected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Since the 
proposed amendments do not change current or future 
requirements, the use and value of private property is not 
significantly affected. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Since the 
proposed amendments do not change current or future 
requirements, small business are not significantly affected. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not directly affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 

on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§ 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The agency agrees with 
the Department of Planning and Budget’s economic impact 
analysis. 

Summary:  

This regulatory action provides clarification with respect 
to Watercraft Sales and Use Tax as well as amends the 
regulation to reflect statutory changes. This regulatory 
action will also promulgate two new regulation sections, 
23VAC10-230-70 and 23VAC10-230-75, that clarify 
information already in the regulation. The retail sales 
and use tax regulation section regarding watercraft 
sales, leases, and rentals; repair and replacement parts; 
and maintenance materials is amended to reflect a 
statutory change regarding maintenance contracts. 

23VAC10-210-6060. Watercraft sales, leases, and rentals, 
; repair and replacement parts, ; and maintenance 
materials. 

A. Generally. Sales, leases, and rentals of watercraft are not 
subject to the retail sales and use tax when such the same 
transactions are subject to the watercraft sales and use tax. 
See the Watercraft Sales and Use Tax Regulations, 
23VAC10-230, for more information on the tax. Watercraft 
not subject to the watercraft sales and use tax are subject to 
the retail sales and use tax when sold, leased or rented.  

B. Watercraft subject to the watercraft sales and use tax 
described. For the purposes of this regulation, watercraft 
subject to the watercraft sales and use tax shall mean every 
type of craft described in § 58.1-1401 of the Code of Virginia 
and the accompanying regulations.  

C. B. Repair and replacement parts installed in watercraft 
sold, leased or rented and accessories .  

1. Repair and replacement parts and, accessories, 
attachments, and lubricants installed on a watercraft at the 
time of sale, or on leased or rented watercraft, that are 
included in the sales price for computing the watercraft 
sales and use tax or in gross receipts from a lease or rental 
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are exempt from the retail sales and use tax. Such items 
may be purchased by a dealer, as defined in § 58.1-1401 of 
the Code of Virginia and the accompanying regulations, 
exclusive of the retail sales and use tax when a resale 
exemption certificate, Form ST-10, is presented at the time 
of sale. Repair parts purchased by nondealers for 
installation on watercraft are not exempted from the retail 
sales and use tax. 

2. Boat motors. Boat motors that will be installed on 
watercraft are subject to the Watercraft Sales and Use Tax. 
Any boat motors that will not be installed on watercraft are 
subject to the retail sales and use tax. See 23VAC10-230-
40 B for more information on boat motors subject to the 
Watercraft Sales and Use Tax. 

D. C. Maintenance contracts and materials. One-half the 
charge for maintenance contracts that provide for both repair 
labor and repair parts is subject to the tax. If a maintenance 
contract provides only for repair labor, the charge for the 
contract is tax exempt. Maintenance contracts for replacement 
parts only are taxable on the full charge for this contract. 
Maintenance materials such as oil, grease, soaps, cleaners, 
etc. used on watercraft are subject to the retail sales and use 
tax. See the Virginia Watercraft Sales and Use Tax 
Regulations for information relating to the watercraft sales 
and use tax generally. 

23VAC10-230-20. Watercraft exclusion. 

Effective January 1, 1982, watercraft Watercraft as defined 
in § 58.1-1401 of the Code of Virginia are not subject to the 
four percent Virginia retail sales and use tax imposed by 
Chapter 6 (§ 58.1-600 et seq.) of Title 58.1 but are subject to 
the two percent 2.0% watercraft sales and use tax imposed by 
Chapter 14 (§ 58.1-1400 et seq.) of Title 58.1 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

23VAC10-230-30. Definitions. 

The following words, and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings: and phrases are defined 
herein for purposes of the tax imposed by Chapter 14 of Title 
58.1 of the Code of Virginia only:  

"Attachments thereon and accessories thereto" means all 
tangible personal property that is physically attached to 
watercraft or property that is customarily used in watercraft, 
whether or not affixed to the structure of the watercraft, and 
which was transferred in the same transaction as the 
watercraft as a part of the watercraft sale. 

"Watercraft" means every description of watercraft, other 
than a seaplane on the water, used or capable of being used as 
a means of transportation on water and which are fifteen feet 
or more in overall length measured along the centerline and 
which have a gross weight in excess of four hundred pounds, 
except watercraft which are documented by the United States 
Coast Guard.  

The term "overall length" as used here is the horizontal 
distance, measured along the centerline, that is, between the 
foremost part of the stem and the aftermost part of the stern, 
excluding bowsprits, bumpkins, rudders, outboard motor, and 
similar fittings or attachments. The term "gross weight" as 
used here includes the boat hull and motor and all other 
attachments thereon and accessories thereto.  

Marine documentation is issued by the United States Coast 
Guard to the owner(s) of vessels or watercraft as evidence of 
ownership in such vessels or watercraft. Valid documentation 
becomes void upon sale and must be reinstated in the name(s) 
of the purchaser(s). Therefore, for purposes of this chapter, no 
watercraft will be considered to have a valid marine 
document when purchased either new or used and every 
watercraft purchased on or after January 1, 1982 which meets 
the length and weight requirements of this subparagraph will 
meet the definition of "watercraft."  

Watercraft purchased and documented without this State and 
brought into this State for use in this State on or after January 
1, 1982 may have valid documentation issued by the United 
States Coast Guard. Such vessels with valid documentation 
do not meet the definition of "watercraft."  

"Commissioner" means the Tax Commissioner. 

"Current market value" means the value of a watercraft 
considering age, make, model, and included accessories in 
accordance with such publications or other data as are 
customarily employed in ascertaining the sales price of used 
watercraft. 

"Dealer" means any person the Tax Commissioner finds to 
be in the regular business of selling watercraft. If a person has 
held during the previous or current calendar year five or more 
watercraft for resale, (or use for compensation), the 
Commissioner may find such person to be a dealer for 
purposes of this chapter. watercraft dealer as defined in 
§ 29.1-801 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Person" means every natural person, firm, partnership, 
association, corporation, or other entity. 

"Sale" means any transfer of ownership or possession, or 
both, exchange, barter, conditional or otherwise, in any 
manner or by any means whatsoever, of a watercraft. The 
term "sale" includes a transaction whereby possession is 
transferred but title is retained by the seller as security. 
However, "sale" excludes any transfer of ownership or 
possession which transfer is made to secure payment of an 
obligation. The term "sale" also includes any lease or rental 
for a period of time substantially equal to or exceeding 80% 
of the remaining life of the watercraft, and any lease or rental 
requiring total payments by the lessee during the lease or 
rental period which substantially equal the value of the 
watercraft. (a) The remaining life of the watercraft shall be 
estimated in accordance with generally accepted accounting 
principles, considering factors such as physical deterioration, 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 22, 2008 

1634 

normal obsolescence, maintenance, and intensity of use. (b) 
For purposes of this chapter, the term "substantially equal" 
shall mean "80% or more."  

(c) For purposes of this chapter, the term "value of the 
watercraft" shall mean the current market value of the 
watercraft in accordance with such publications or other data 
as are customarily employed in ascertaining the maximum 
sale price of watercraft.  

The same sale will not be subject to the tax more than once. 
However, unless it is an exempt transfer, each time a transfer 
of ownership or possession takes place, the new owner will 
be subject to the tax on the transfer.  

As used in this chapter, the term "sale" does not include the 
following:  

(a) Any transfer of ownership or possession which 
transfer is made to secure payment of an obligation.  

(b) Any transfer of ownership or possession which is 
incidental to repossession under a lien and under which 
ownership is transferred to the repossessor, his nominee 
or a trustee, pending ultimate disposition or sale of the 
collateral.  

(c) Any transfer of ownership or possession which is part 
of the sale of all or substantially all the assets of any 
business. The exemption applies only to watercraft upon 
which Virginia Watercraft Sales and Use Tax or Virginia 
Retail Sales and Use Tax has been paid by the transferor 
and does not include non-titled watercraft held for resale 
by a dealer or manufacturer or any other watercraft held 
or used for exempt purposes by the transferor. The tax 
status of such watercraft will be determined by the 
transferee's purposes and use of the watercraft. For 
purposes of this regulation the term "substantially all the 
assets" shall mean "80% or more."  

(d) Any transfer of ownership or possession by 
survivorship, inheritance or gift.  

(e) Any transfer of ownership or possession from an 
individual or partnership to a corporation or from a 
corporation to an individual or partnership if the transfer 
is incidental to the formation, organization, 
reorganization, or dissolution of a corporation in which 
the individual or partnership holds the controlling 
interest. For purposes of this exemption, a controlling 
interest means the ownership of at least 80% of all 
outstanding shares of voting stock.  

(f) Any transfer of ownership or possession between 
affiliated corporations if Virginia Watercraft Sales and 
Use Tax or Virginia Retail Sales and Use Tax was paid 
on the acquisition or use of the transferred watercraft by 
the transferring corporation. For purposes of this 
exemption, two or more corporations shall be deemed to 
be affiliated if (a) one corporation owns at least 80% of 

the outstanding shares of voting stock of the other or 
others or (b) at least 80% of the outstanding shares of 
voting stock of two or more corporations is owned by the 
same interests.  

Example 1 

Corporation A purchased in 1979 a watercraft in excess 
of 15 feet in length and in excess of 400 pounds in 
weight and paid Virginia Retail Sales and Use Tax on the 
purchase. In 1982 Corporation A acquired all of the 
capital stock of Corporation B and transferred its 
watercraft to Corporation B. The transfer would not be 
subject to Virginia Watercraft Sales and Use Tax because 
it would represent a transfer between qualified affiliates 
(parent owning at least 80% of subsidiary) and because 
Virginia Retail Sales and Use Tax was paid on the 
acquisition of the transferred watercraft by the 
transferring corporation.  

Example 2 

Corporation C purchased a watercraft in excess of 15 feet 
in length and in excess of 400 pounds in weight in 
Delaware in March 1982. In June 1982 Corporation C 
acquired all of the capital stock of Corporation D, a 
Virginia corporation, and transferred its watercraft to 
Corporation D. The acquisition of the watercraft by 
Corporation D is subject to Virginia Watercraft Sales and 
Use Tax. While this would represent a transfer between 
qualified affiliates, Virginia Watercraft Sales and Use 
Tax was not paid on the acquisition of the transferred 
asset by the transferring corporation.  

Example 3 

Individual A owns 100% of the voting stock of 
Corporation E and 85% of the voting stock of 
Corporation F. Both corporations operate businesses 
within Virginia. In 1982, Corporation E transfers to 
Corporation F a watercraft which it had previously 
purchased and on which it had paid Virginia Watercraft 
Sales and Use Tax. The transfer would not be subject to 
Virginia Watercraft Sales and Use Tax because it would 
represent a transfer between qualified affiliates (at least 
80% of the voting stock of each corporation is owned by 
the same owner) and because Watercraft Sales and Use 
Tax was paid on the acquisition of the transferred 
watercraft by the transferring corporation.  

(g) Transfer of watercraft repair parts, accessories, 
attachments, and lubricants, not included in the same 
transaction with the transfer of the watercraft. Sales of all 
such tangible personal property are subject to the 
Virginia Retail Sales and Use Tax and reportable on 
Form ST-9, Dealer's Retail Sales and Use Tax Return.  

"Sale "Sales price" as used in this chapter means the total 
price paid for a watercraft and all attachments thereon and 
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accessories thereto including all installation and labor 
charges, without any allowance or deduction for trade-ins or 
unpaid liens or encumbrances, but exclusive of any federal 
manufacturers' excise tax. Such tangible personal property 
transferred other than in the same transaction with the 
watercraft will be subject to the retail sales and use tax, 
except boat motors that will be placed on a watercraft. 
Charges for lettering and get-ready charges (cleaning, 
washing and preparing) are also included in the sales price 
when made in the same transaction with the watercraft 
transfer. However, excluded from the sales price are charges 
for federal manufacturer's excise tax, registration and titling 
fees, insurance, and gasoline, when separately stated on the 
invoice. 

"Titled with the Department of Game and Inland Fisheries" 
means titled with the Department of Game and Inland 
Fisheries pursuant to § 29.1-713 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Watercraft" means any vessel propelled by machinery 
whether or not the machinery is the principal source of 
propulsion. The term shall also include any sail-powered 
vessel that has an overall length in excess of 18 feet in length 
measured along the centerline. The term shall not include a 
seaplane on the water or a watercraft that has a valid marine 
titling document issued by the United States Coast Guard 
(USCG). See subsection D of 23VAC10-230-80 for more 
information on USCG marine titling.  Any motor used to 
power a watercraft shall be deemed a "watercraft" for 
purposes of the tax. The term "overall length" as used here is 
the horizontal distance, measured along the centerline, that is, 
between the foremost part of the stem and the aftermost part 
of the stern, excluding bowsprits, bumpkins, rudders, 
outboard motor, and similar fittings or attachments. 

The terms "attachments thereon" and "accessories thereto" 
as used herein mean all tangible personal property that is 
physically attached to watercraft, including installation 
charges, or property that is customarily used in watercraft, 
whether or not affixed to the structure of the watercraft, and 
which was transferred in the same transaction as the 
watercraft as a part of the watercraft sale. Such tangible 
personal property transferred other than in the same 
transaction with the watercraft will be subject to the four 
percent retail sales and use tax.  

Charges for lettering and get-ready charges (cleaning, 
washing and preparing) are also included in the sale price 
when made in the same transaction with the watercraft 
transfer. However, excluded from the sale price are charges 
for federal manufacturer's excise tax, registration and titling 
fees, insurance, and gasoline, when separately stated on the 
invoice.  

23VAC10-230-40. Tax levied.  

A. Generally. On and after January 1, 1982, the The 
Watercraft Sales and Use Tax is imposed at the rate of two 

percent 2.0% upon the sale of every watercraft sold in 
Virginia that is required to be titled with the Department of 
Game and Inland Fisheries and upon the use in Virginia of 
any watercraft that is required to be titled with the 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries. 

1. There is a $2,000 maximum tax limitation on the amount 
of Watercraft Sales and Use Tax that may be levied on the 
sales price of watercraft sold in Virginia, on the sales price 
of watercraft sold elsewhere but required to be titled in 
Virginia, and on the market value of watercraft first 
required to be titled in Virginia six months or more after its 
acquisition.  This maximum tax limitation does not apply 
to leases, charters or other uses of watercraft subject to the 
Watercraft Sales and Use Tax. The tax is to be collected by 
applying the following rate against the sale price:  

(1) For watercraft sold in Virginia, the amount of tax is 
two percent of the sale price of the watercraft.  

(2) For watercraft not sold in Virginia but required to be 
titled in Virginia, the amount of tax is two percent of the 
sale price of the watercraft, wherever sold; however, if  

2. If the watercraft is not sold in Virginia and is first 
required to be titled in Virginia six months or more after its 
acquisition, the tax is imposed at two percent 2.0% of the 
current market value of the watercraft if such current 
market value is less than the sale sales price of the 
watercraft including the cost of any modifications, 
improvements or additions subsequent to initial 
acquisition.  

B. Boat motors generally. The tax applies to all boat motors 
that will be placed on a watercraft as defined in 23VAC10-
230-30. 

1. Dealers who are in the regular business of selling 
watercraft, and who have agreed with the department to 
collect and remit watercraft tax on behalf of their 
customers, shall collect and remit the tax on motors sold 
that will be placed on watercraft. 

2. If a dealer has not agreed with the department to collect 
and remit watercraft tax, the dealer must charge the retail 
sales and use tax. the department will subsequently refund 
the difference (between the retail sales and use tax and 
watercraft tax) directly to the customer upon application by 
the customer to the department. 

3. See 23VAC10-230-75 and 23VAC10-230-90 C for 
more information on dealers. 

B. C. The following list contains scenarios that are not 
considered sales for the purposes of the Watercraft Sales and 
Use Tax and are therefore not taxable transactions:  

1. Any transfer of ownership or possession where the 
transfer is made to secure payment of an obligation.  
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2. Any transfer of ownership or possession that is 
incidental to repossession under a lien and under which 
ownership is transferred to the repossessor, his nominee or 
a trustee pending ultimate disposition or sale of the 
collateral. 

3. Any transfer of ownership or possession that is part of 
the sale of all or substantially all the assets of any business. 
The exemption applies only to watercraft upon which 
Virginia Watercraft Sales and Use Tax or Virginia Retail 
Sales and Use Tax has been paid by the transferor and does 
not include nontitled watercraft held for resale by a dealer 
or manufacturer or any other watercraft held or used for 
exempt purposes by the transferor. The tax status of such 
watercraft will be determined by the transferee's purposes 
and use of the watercraft. For purposes of this exclusion, 
the term "substantially all the assets" shall mean "80% or 
more." 

4. Any transfer of ownership or possession by 
survivorship, inheritance or gift.  

5. Any transfer of ownership or possession from an 
individual or partnership to a corporation or from a 
corporation to an individual or partnership if the transfer is 
incidental to the formation, organization, reorganization, or 
dissolution of a corporation where the individual or 
partnership holds the controlling interest. For purposes of 
this exclusion, a controlling interest means the ownership 
of at least 80% of all outstanding shares of voting stock. 

Example 1. Corporation ABC transfers ownership of its 
watercraft to Partnership JKL, where the transfer is 
incidental to the dissolution of Corporation ABC and 
Partnership JKL owns 85% of the voting stock of 
Corporation ABC. The transfer is not considered a sale for 
the purposes of the Watercraft Sales and Use Tax. 

Example 2. Same facts as example 1, except that 
Partnership JKL owns 50% of the voting stock of 
Corporation ABC. The transfer is considered a sale for the 
purposes of the Watercraft Sales and Use Tax. 

6. Any transfer of ownership from a partner to the 
partnership in which he is a partner will be deemed a 
taxable sale only in part. The part taxable is the gained 
aggregate interest of the partnership.  Similarly, any 
transfer of ownership from a partnership to a partner will 
be deemed a taxable sale only on the gained aggregate 
interest of the partner. 

Example. Partner T owned a watercraft that he has 
transferred to Partnership RST. Partnership RST has two 
partners in addition to Partner T, where all partners are 
equal shareholders possessing 1/3 of the partnership. The 
gained aggregate interest of Partnership RST is 2/3, while 
as a member of Partnership RST, Partner T is maintaining 
possession of 1/3. The tax must be paid on 2/3 the current 

market value or the purchase price of the watercraft, 
whichever is lower. 

7. Any transfer of ownership or possession between 
affiliated entities if Virginia Watercraft Sales and Use Tax 
or Virginia Retail Sales and Use Tax was paid on the 
acquisition or use of the transferred watercraft by the 
transferring entity. For purposes of this exclusion, two or 
more entities shall be deemed to be affiliated if (i) one 
entity owns at least 80% of the outstanding shares of 
voting stock (or equivalent ownership interests) of the 
other or others or (ii) at least 80% of the outstanding shares 
of voting stock (or equivalent ownership interests) of two 
or more entities is owned by the same interests. For 
purposes of this exclusion, entity means a business 
organization, other than a sole proprietorship, that is a 
corporation, limited liability company, or partnership, 
including general partnership, limited partnership, or 
limited liability partnership, duly organized under the laws 
of the Commonwealth or another state. 

Example 1. Corporation A purchased a watercraft in 
Virginia and paid Virginia Watercraft Sales and Use Tax 
on the purchase. The following year, Corporation A 
acquired all of the capital stock of Corporation B and 
transferred its watercraft to Corporation B. The transfer 
would not be subject to Virginia Watercraft Sales and Use 
Tax because it would represent a transfer between qualified 
affiliates (parent owning at least 80% of subsidiary) and 
because the tax was paid on the acquisition of the 
transferred watercraft by the transferring corporation. 

Example 2. Individual A owns 100% of the voting stock of 
Corporation E and 85% of the voting stock of Corporation 
F. Both corporations operate businesses within Virginia. In 
1982, Corporation E transfers to Corporation F a watercraft 
that it had previously purchased and on which it had paid 
Virginia Watercraft Sales and Use Tax. The transfer would 
not be subject to Virginia Watercraft Sales and Use Tax 
because it would represent a transfer between qualified 
affiliates (at least 80% of the voting stock of each 
corporation is owned by the same owner) and because 
Watercraft Sales and Use Tax was paid on the acquisition 
of the transferred watercraft by the transferring 
corporation. 

D. Each transaction taxable. The same transaction will not 
be subject to the tax more than once. However, each time a 
sale or transfer takes place, or a watercraft is brought into use 
in Virginia and required to be titled, the new owner or new 
user in Virginia will be subject to the tax and will be required 
to title the watercraft with the Department of Game and 
Inland Fisheries. 

C. Requirement to be titled. "Required to be titled" as used 
in this section refers to the titling and registration provisions 
of Chapter 17 of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia 
(Repealed). Section 62.1-186.2 of the Code of Virginia 
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(Repealed) requires that any owner, except a registered 
dealer, of any watercraft acquired after January 1, 1982, or in 
which an interest is transferred after that date, must apply for 
a title with the Department of Game and Inland Fisheries 
within 30 days of acquisition or transfer. Furthermore, § 62.1-
186.2 of the Code of Virginia (Repealed) requires that "any 
owner who renews the certificate of number for his 
watercraft, shall apply for a certificate of title at the time of 
such renewal."  

D. E. Watercraft not sold in Virginia; use tax. When the 
watercraft is not sold in Virginia but is required to be titled 
for use in Virginia, i.e., when the owner applies for renewal 
of his certificate of number, the use tax applies. Any 
watercraft purchased without this state, even if before January 
1, 1982, and subsequently required to be titled in Virginia, is 
subject to the two percent 2.0% use tax based on the sale sales 
price, or the current market value of the watercraft if 
purchased six or more months before being required to be 
titled in Virginia and if such value is less than the sales price, 
including the cost of any modifications, improvements or 
additions subsequent to initial acquisition.  

E. Current market value. "Current market value" as used in 
this section means an average value considering age, make, 
model, and included accessories in accordance with such 
publications or other data as are customarily employed in 
ascertaining the sale price of used watercraft.  

F. Occasional sale. In addition to transfers by dealers, the 
tax applies to an occasional sale of a watercraft. Occasional 
sale means a sale of a watercraft by anyone not a dealer in 
watercraft.  

E. See 23VAC10-230-90 for information concerning 
payment of tax. 

23VAC10-230-70. Transfer of watercraft repair parts, 
accessories, attachments, and lubricants, not included in 
the same transaction with the transfer of the watercraft. 

Sales of all watercraft repair parts, accessories, attachments, 
and lubricants not included in the same transaction with the 
transfer of the watercraft are subject to the Virginia Retail 
Sales and Use Tax and reportable on Form ST-9, Dealer's 
Retail Sales and Use Tax Return. All such tangible personal 
property is only subject to the Watercraft Sales and Use Tax 
when it is considered an attachment thereon or accessory 
thereto and part of the sales price. See 23VAC10-210-6060 
for more information on the application of the retail sales and 
use tax. 

23VAC10-230-75. Dealer exclusion. 

A. Generally. Any person determined by the Tax 
Commissioner to be a dealer and who desires to transfer 
ownership in watercraft without first titling them, must apply 
with the Tax Commissioner for a dealer certificate of 
registration. 

If a person is determined by the Tax Commissioner to be a 
dealer in watercraft and is registered, he will be exempt from 
the Watercraft Sales and Use Tax as to all watercraft he 
purchases for resale or for lease, charter, or other use for 
compensation. However, a registered dealer is subject to a tax 
of 2.0% of the gross receipts from the lease, charter, or other 
use of any watercraft so used. 

B. Gross receipts. Gross receipts includes hourly rental, 
maintenance, and all other charges for use of such watercraft. 
Also, unless separately stated on the invoice, gross receipts 
includes charges for piloting, crew, or other services in 
connection with the use of such watercraft. 

For purposes of the dealer exclusion, the dealer is the user of 
the watercraft and is subject to tax on his gross receipts. 
Therefore, gross receipts from rentals, leases or charters to the 
United States or any governmental agencies thereof, or to the 
Commonwealth of Virginia or any political subdivision 
thereof, are includible in the dealer's gross receipts and 
subject to the tax. 

23VAC10-230-80. Other exemptions Exemptions and 
exclusions. 

A. Governments, insurance companies. The watercraft sales 
and use tax does not apply to sales to or use by the United 
States or any of the governmental agencies thereof, the 
Commonwealth of Virginia or any political subdivision 
thereof, or sold to an insurance company for the sole purpose 
of disposition when such insurance company has paid the 
registered owner of the watercraft on a total loss claim, nor 
does the tax apply to ships or vessels used or to be used 
exclusively in interstate or foreign commerce.  

For sales to the United States, the Commonwealth of 
Virginia or any political subdivision to be exempt from the 
tax, the purchases must be pursuant to required official 
purchase orders to be paid for out of public funds. Sales to 
governmental employees for their own use are taxable. If 
pursuant to an official purchase order, the tax will not apply 
to sales to or use by officers' clubs, noncommissioned 
officers' clubs, officers' messes, noncommissioned officers' 
messes, and post exchanges organized, operated and 
controlled under Department of Defense regulations. The 
exemption does not cover individuals or organizations 
operating on a military reservation in their own right. No 
person is relieved from liability for payment of, collection of, 
or accounting for the tax on the ground that the sale or use 
occurred in whole or in part within a federal area. 

In the first sentence of this section, the phrase "use by" 
relates to the exempt use in this state the Commonwealth of 
any watercraft purchased without this state by a governmental 
agency as set out above. It has no application in cases where 
the renter, lessee, or other user is a governmental agency. 

B. Owners on January 1, 1982. Any person who was the 
owner of a watercraft before January 1, 1982, is not liable for 
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the watercraft sales and use tax on the watercraft and may 
apply for title without payment of the tax. The purchase in 
Virginia before January 1, 1982, would have been subject to 
the four percent retail sales and use tax unless it was an 
exempt sale. However, any watercraft purchased without 
Virginia before January 1, 1982, and which is first used in 
Virginia on or after January 1, 1982, is subject to the two 
percent use tax. See 23VAC10-230-120 for credit provisions.  

C. B. Commercial watermen. Any watercraft constructed by 
a commercial waterman for his own use in extracting fish, 
bivalves or crustaceans from waters for commercial purposes 
is exempt from the watercraft sales and use tax Watercraft 
Sales and Use Tax so long as such watercraft is used solely 
and exclusively for such purposes. If such watercraft is used 
primarily for exempt purposes but also for non-exempt 
nonexempt purposes, it will be subject to tax on a pro rata 
portion of its value based on the percentage of non-exempt 
use; if not used primarily for exempt purposes, its entire value 
will be subject to tax. For purposes of this subparagraph 
subsection the term "used primarily" means used more than 
fifty percent 50% for exempt purposes. 

C. United States Coast Guard marine documentation. 
Vessels with valid marine documentation do not meet the 
definition of "watercraft" (see 23VAC10-230-30). Marine 
documentation is issued by the United States Coast Guard to 
the owner(s) of vessels as evidence of ownership in such 
vessels. Valid documentation becomes void upon sale and 
must be reinstated in the name(s) of the purchaser(s). 
Therefore, for purposes of this chapter, no watercraft will be 
considered to have a valid marine document when purchased 
either new or used. 

D. See § 58.1-1404 of the Code of Virginia for additional 
exemptions. 

NOTE: E. The exemptions of this section do not apply with 
respect to rentals, leases or charters in the case of a dealer 
who pays a gross receipts tax under the dealer exclusion, as 
the gross receipts tax is levied on the dealer and not upon the 
renter, lessee, or other user.  

23VAC10-230-90. Payment of tax required for title. 

A. Generally. The watercraft sales and use tax is to be paid 
by the purchaser or user of watercraft and is to be collected 
by the Tax Commissioner at the time the owner is required to 
apply for a title for the watercraft. 

Application for title is to be made with the Department of 
Game and Inland Fisheries. As used in this section, the phrase 
"at the time the owner is required to apply for a title" refers to 
the requirement given in § 62.1-186.2(A) of the Code of 
Virginia (Repealed) as follows: 

"Any owner, except a registered dealer, of any watercraft 
acquired after January one, nineteen hundred eighty-two, or 
in which an interest is transferred after that date, shall apply 

to the Commission for a certificate of title in the name of the 
owner within thirty days of such acquisition or transfer." 

1. If a watercraft originally acquired for tax exempt use 
and titled without payment of tax is subsequently utilized 
for nonexempt purposes, it then becomes subject to the tax 
based on the lower of its cost or current market value. 

2. If no title is required on a watercraft, then the watercraft 
sales and use tax will not be levied on the watercraft, 
unless transferred under a lease defined as a sale under 
23VAC10-230-90 or unless the owner chooses to apply for 
a title under Section 62.1-186.2(D) of the Code of Virginia 
(Repealed) with the Department of Game and Inland 
Fisheries. 

Unless a watercraft is exempt from the Watercraft Sales and 
Use Tax, title may not be issued unless the applicant shows to 
the satisfaction of the Department of Game and Inland 
Fisheries that the tax has been paid.  

B. Payment and collection of tax. The tax may be paid to the 
Department of Taxation at the Richmond headquarters or at 
the department's nine field district offices. Payment may also 
be made or to the Department of Game and Inland Fisheries 
in Richmond except in cases where no title change is 
involved. In such cases, tax payment must be made directly to 
the Department of Taxation. See the department's website, 
www.tax.virginia.gov, for more information about payment 
and forms. 

C. Dealer collection. The Tax Commissioner may also enter 
into agreements with registered dealers allowing them to 
collect the tax from their customers. If a registered dealer 
desires to collect the 2.0% Watercraft Sales and Use Tax on 
all his taxable transfers of watercraft, he may do so by signing 
an agreement with the Tax Commissioner. In agreeing with 
the Tax Commissioner to collect the 2.0% tax on transfers of 
watercraft, the dealer must agree to abide by the following 
regulations: 

1. Collection of tax by dealers from their customers. 

a. Generally. The tax must be paid to the state 
Commonwealth by the dealer, but the dealer must 
separately state on the invoice the amount of the tax and 
add the tax to the sales price or charge. As to a purchaser, 
the tax is then deemed paid to the Department of 
Taxation and thereafter Thereafter, the tax is a debt from 
the purchaser, consumer or lessee to the dealer until paid 
and is recoverable at law in the same manner as other 
debts. 

b. Advertising absorption of tax prohibited. A dealer may 
not advertise or hold out to the public in any manner, 
directly or indirectly, that he will absorb all or any part of 
the watercraft sales or use tax Watercraft Sales and Use 
Tax, or that he will relieve the purchaser, consumer or 
lessee of the payment of all or any part of the tax. 
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c. Erroneous collection on nontaxable transactions. Any 
dealer collecting the watercraft sales or use tax 
Watercraft Sales and Use Tax on nontaxable transactions 
must transmit to the Department of Taxation such 
erroneously or illegally collected tax unless he can show 
that the tax has been refunded to the purchaser or 
credited to the purchaser's account. 

2. Dealers' monthly returns and payment of tax. 

a. Generally. Every dealer authorized by execution of 
"Dealer Agreement" to collect Watercraft Sales Tax is 
required to file a return on or before the twentieth day of 
the month following each reporting period even if no tax 
has been collected. Returns are prescribed and furnished 
by the Department of Taxation. 

b. Payment to accompany dealer's return. At the time of 
filing the return, the dealer must pay the full amount of 
tax collected or invoiced to purchasers. Failure to pay the 
tax will cause it to become delinquent. 

c. Penalties. A dealer who fails to file a return and pay 
the full amount of tax by the due date is subject by 
"Dealer Agreement" to a penalty of 5.0% 6.0% of the 
amount due for each month or portion thereof that the 
failure continues, not to exceed 25% 30%. The penalty 
may be waived by the Tax Commissioner if there is good 
cause for the failure to file and/or pay on time. Request 
for waiver of penalty must be made in writing to the 
Department of Taxation and must include all pertinent 
facts to support the request. 

d. Interest. Interest at a rate determined in accordance 
with § 58.1-15 of the Code of Virginia will by "Dealer 
Agreement" accrue on the unpaid amount of the tax from 
the due date until the time of payment. Interest will 
accrue whether or not any penalty is waived. 

3. Extension not allowed. No extension will be allowed for 
filing and/or paying the tax due for the month. 

4. Dealer compensation not allowed. A dealer will not be 
allowed any deduction from the amount of the two percent 
watercraft sales 2.0% Watercraft Sales and use tax Use Tax 
due on his return to compensate him for accounting for and 
paying the tax. 

5. See 23VAC10-230-40 B for information on payment of 
the tax for a boat motor.  

23VAC10-230-110. Retention of documents. 

A. Seller of watercraft. Any person who sells a watercraft in 
Virginia must retain a copy of the invoice required by § 58.1-
1403 of the Code of Virginia for six years following the sale 
(See 23VAC10-230-100).  

B. Dealer paying gross receipts tax. Any dealer taxed on 
gross receipts under § 58.1-1402 of the Code of Virginia (see 
23VAC10-230-70) must retain a copy of all invoices for 

lease, charter or other usage of watercraft for six years 
following the transaction.  

C. Invoice information therein. Each invoice must 
accurately describe the watercraft sold, leased or used. 

1. Watercraft sales invoices must contain a complete 
description of the watercraft sold, including its sale sales 
price, its make, model, year, length, builder's hull number, 
if any, and the manufacturer's engine serial number, if an 
inboard; for an outboard motor, its make, model, year, 
horsepower, and manufacturer's serial number.  

2. For purposes of a dealer's monthly or periodic invoice 
for lease, rental or other usage of watercraft, the required 
description is limited to make, model and year; provided 
the dealer retains a copy of the original purchase invoice 
for each watercraft so used. See also 23VAC10-230-100.  

D. Examination by Tax Commissioner. The Tax 
Commissioner may examine during the usual business hours 
of the day records, books, papers, or other documents of any 
dealer or other person selling or purchasing watercraft, 
relating to the receipts or sales prices for any watercraft, to 
verify the truth and accuracy of any statement or any other 
information as to a particular sale, lease or other taxable 
transaction.  

23VAC10-230-120. Credit for payment of tax. 

A credit A. Credit will be given against the Virginia 
Watercraft Sales and Use Tax imposed on the use of 
watercraft in Virginia for the amount of tax paid by the owner 
to another state or to this State by reason of the imposition of 
a similar tax on his purchase or use of the watercraft. The 
credit is primarily applicable to sales or use taxes paid by the 
owner on the purchase or use of a watercraft prior to its use in 
Virginia. It has very limited application to Virginia Retail 
Sales and Use Tax because any watercraft purchased or used 
in Virginia on or after January 1, 1982, is exempt from 
Virginia Retail Sales and Use Tax (§ 58.1-609.1(9) of the 
Code of Virginia) and because any watercraft purchased in 
Virginia prior to January 1, 1982, is exempt from Virginia 
Watercraft Sales and Use Tax (§ 58.1-1404 of the Code of 
Virginia).  

NOTE: B. Credit against the tax will not be given for state 
Virginia retail sales tax paid on component parts or kits used 
in construction of a watercraft. Whereas watercraft 
constructed by commercial watermen for their own use are 
exempt from the tax under § 58.1-1404 of the Code of 
Virginia, watercraft constructed by a person other than a 
commercial waterman will be subject to the watercraft sales 
and use tax in order to be titled in Virginia. 

Example 1. A moved his residence to Virginia in 1981 and 
brought with him a watercraft purchased in 1979 two years 
before in the state of his former residence. The watercraft was 
originally purchased for $20,000 and sales tax was paid in the 
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amount of $600 to the state of his former residence. The 
published pricing guide value of the watercraft when moved 
into Virginia was $16,000. Since the watercraft was not 
required to be titled in Virginia until six months or more after 
its acquisition, the Virginia watercraft use tax will be two 
percent 2.0% of its current market value, or $320. The credit 
for a similar tax paid to another state completely offsets the 
Virginia watercraft tax. 

Example 2. In January 1982, B purchased a boat in Virginia 
which was eighteen feet long and weighed three hundred fifty 
pounds. Since its weight was not in excess of four hundred 
pounds, it did not meet the definition of a watercraft and 
Virginia retail sales tax in the amount of $320 based on an 
$8,000 purchase price was paid. Subsequently, in February 
1982, marine accessories and engine were purchased and 
installed for $4,000 and Virginia retail sales tax was paid in 
the amount of $160. The boat then qualified as a "watercraft" 
since it then weighed in excess of four hundred pounds. It 
was then subject to titling requirements and to Watercraft 
sales tax, but no tax was due because Virginia retail sales tax 
paid on the original purchase of the boat exceeded the 
Virginia watercraft sales tax liability.  

Example 3. 2. X purchased a watercraft in State A which 
imposed no tax on the purchase; the watercraft was used in 
State C and a use tax was imposed by State C in the amount 
of $200. X then moved the watercraft to Virginia for use in 
this State Commonwealth and the Virginia watercraft use tax 
based on the lower of original cost or current market value 
was $320. X required to pay $120 Virginia watercraft use tax 
($320 tax liability less $200 credit for a similar tax paid to 
another state.) 

Example 4. 3. Y purchased parts and materials and built a 
watercraft valued at $12,000 when completed and required to 
be titled in Virginia. The watercraft use tax liability was $240 
and Y sought credit for $200 Virginia retail sales tax which 
he paid on parts and materials purchased to construct the 
watercraft. No credit was allowable because no similar tax 
was paid to Virginia or to another state on the watercraft. The 
tax paid on parts and materials was is not considered a similar 
tax paid on the purchase or use of the watercraft. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1543; Filed December 2, 2008, 12:11 p.m.  

.  
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

AT RICHMOND, NOVEMBER 21, 2008 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

 CASE NO. CLK-2008-00002 
Ex Parte: In the matter concerning revised 
State Corporation Commission Rules of 
Practice and Procedure 

ORDER SCHEDULING HEARING AND DIRECTING 
PARTIES AND STAFF TO FILE ADDITIONAL 

COMMENTS 

On August 7, 2008, the State Corporation Commission 
("Commission") entered an Order for Notice of Proceeding to 
Consider Revisions to Commission's Rules of Practice and 
Procedure ("Order").  In the Order, the Commission permitted 
interested persons to review the Commission Staff's ("Staff") 
proposed revisions to the Commission Rules of Practice and 
Procedure ("Proposed Rules") and file comments and 
suggestions thereon.  A copy of the Proposed Rules was 
attached to the Order. 

Seven parties filed comments1 on the Proposed Rules in 
response to the Order.  The parties that filed comments 
included Dominion, Appalachian Power Company 
("Appalachian Power"), the Office of the Attorney General, 
Division of Consumer Counsel, Potomac Edison Company, 
d/b/a Allegheny Power, Columbia Gas of Virginia, Inc. 
("Columbia Gas"), Washington Gas Light Company, and the 
Virginia Industrial Energy Users Groups ("VIEUG").2 
Columbia Gas and Dominion requested a hearing, and 
Appalachian Power requested that the Commission require 
the Staff to file a report and to permit responses by parties to 
other comments and the Staff report. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered the foregoing, 
finds that it is appropriate to have the Staff file a report 
("Report") on the Proposed Rules and the comments thereto, 
permit the parties to file a response thereto, and to permit the 
Staff to file a reply to the responses.  The Staff and parties are 
also encouraged to meet and attempt to narrow the areas of 
disagreement prior to the hearing to be scheduled in this 
matter. 

ACCORDINGLY, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The Staff shall file a Report on the comments made by the 
parties in response to the Order on or before December 16, 
2008. 

(2) All the parties that have filed comments herein may file a 
response to the Staff Report and the other comments filed 
herein on or before January 9, 2009. 

(3) The Staff may file a reply to the responses on or before 
January 23, 2009. 

(4) A public hearing shall be convened on February 4, 2009, 
at 10:00 a.m., in the Commission's Courtroom, Second Floor, 
Tyler Building, 1300 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, 
to receive oral argument on the Proposed Rules and other 
filings herein. 

(5) This matter is continued. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 
the Commission to:  Donald G. Owens, Esquire, and Thomas 
C. Walker, Jr., Esquire, Troutman Sanders LLP, 1001 Haxall 
Point, P.O. Box 1122, Richmond, Virginia 23218-1122; 
Karen L. Bell, Esquire, and Lisa S. Booth, Esquire, Dominion 
Resources Services, Inc., P.O. Box 26532, Richmond, 
Virginia 23261-6532; Vishwa B. Link, Esquire, and 
Andrea R. Chase, Esquire, McGuire Woods LLP, One James 
Center, 901 East Cary Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219-
4030; Anthony Gambardella, Esquire, Woods Rogers, PLC, 
823 East Main Street, Suite 1200, Richmond, Virginia 23219; 
Charles E. Bayless, Esquire, and James R. Bacha, Esquire, 
Appalachian Power Company, Three James Center, 
Suite 702, 1051 East Cary Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219; 
C. Meade Browder, Jr., Senior Assistant Attorney General, 
and Kiva Bland Pierce, Assistant Attorney General, Division 
of Consumer Counsel, Office of the Attorney General, 
900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219; Richard D. 
Gary, Esquire, and Noelle J. Coates, Esquire, Hunton & 
Williams LLP, Riverfront Plaza, East Tower, 951 East Byrd 
Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219; Jeffrey P. Trout, Esquire, 
Allegheny Power, 800 Cabin Hill Drive, Greensburg, 
Pennsylvania 15601; James S. Copenhaver, Esquire, and 
T. Borden Ellis, Esquire, Columbia Gas of Virginia, Inc., 
1809 Coyote Drive, Chester, Virginia 23836; Meera Ahamed, 
Esquire, Washington Gas Light Company, 101 Constitution 
Avenue, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20080; Louis R. Monacell, 
Esquire, Edward L. Petrini, Esquire, and Cliona Mary Robb, 
Esquire, Christian & Barton, L.L.P., 909 East Main Street, 
Suite 1200, Richmond, Virginia 23219-3095; and the 
Commission's Office of General Counsel. 
___________________________________ 
1 One party, Virginia Electric and Power Company d/b/a Dominion Virginia 
Power ("Dominion"), also filed a Notice of Participation and a Request for 
Hearing on the Proposed Rules. 
2 The VIEUG is comprised of the Virginia Committee for Fair Utility Rates, 
the Old Dominion Committee for Fair Utility Rates, and the Virginia 
Industrial Gas Users Association. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Final 2008 § 305(b)/303(d) Water Quality 
Assessment Integrated Report 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) 
will release the Final 2008 § 305(b)/303(d) Water Quality 
Assessment Integrated Report (Integrated Report) by 
December 22, 2008. 
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The Integrated Report combines both the § 305(b) Water 
Quality Assessment and the § 303(d) Report on Impaired 
Waters. This report was available for public comment from 
June 16, 2008, through July 25, 2008. Comments were 
received from the public and the United States Environmental 
Protection Agency (EPA). In response to comments, the 
report was slightly revised and resubmitted to EPA on 
October 31, 2008, and later approved. 

The final report, responses to written comments, and map 
images are available for download on our website at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/wqa/. Copies are available at no 
charge on CD-ROM (limit one per person) by request via the 
webpage or via phone at (804) 698-4191. These CD-ROMs 
include the entire final report, all of its appendices, and a 
digital book of maps developed from the 2008 assessment. 
Due to the cost of printing, hard copies are only available by 
special request. 

Contact Information: Darryl M. Glover, Office of Water 
Monitoring and Assessment, Department of Environmental 
Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, 
VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4321, FAX (804) 698-4032, 
or email dmglover@deq.virginia.gov. 

Notice of Citizen Nomination of Surface Waters for 
Water Quality Monitoring 

In accordance with § 62.1-44.19:5 F of the Code of Virginia, 
the Water Quality Monitoring Information and Restoration 
Act, the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality 
(DEQ) has developed guidance for requests from the public 
regarding specific segments that can be nominated for 
consideration to be included in the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality annual Water Quality Monitoring 
Plan. 

Any citizen of the Commonwealth who wishes to nominate a 
water body or stream segment for inclusion in DEQ’s Water 
Quality Monitoring Plan should refer to the guidance in 
preparation and submittal of their requests. All nominations 
must be received by April 30, 2009, to be considered for the 
2010 calendar year. Copies of the guidance document and 
nomination form are available online at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/cmonitor. 

Contact Information: Stuart Torbeck, Water Quality Data 
Liaison, Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East 
Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 698-4461, FAX (804) 698-4032, or email 
cstorbeck@deq.virginia.gov. 

Notice of Opportunity to Serve on a Technical 
Advisory Committee 

Purpose of notice: The Department of Environmental Quality 
is announcing the establishment of a Technical Advisory 
Committee (committee) to assist the department in 

developing amendments to the Coal Combustion By-Products 
Regulation and is seeking persons interested in serving on the 
committee. 

Deadline for submittal of requests: January 21, 2009. 

Background: During the development of amendment 7 to the 
Solid Waste Regulations, the amendment 7 advisory 
committee discussed (i) incorporating the Coal Combustion 
By-Products Regulation into the Solid Waste Management 
Regulations and (ii) areas of the Coal Combustion By-
Products Regulations that should be reviewed. As a result of 
those discussions, the amendment 7 advisory committee 
recommended that the Coal Combustion By-Products 
Regulation remain separate from the Solid Waste 
Management Regulations and that any necessary revisions to 
the program should be undertaken in a separate rulemaking. 

Purpose of committee: The department is establishing this 
committee to review the Coal Combustion By-Products 
Regulation, 9VAC20-85. Specifically the committee will 
review and make recommendations on the entire regulation 
including locational restrictions, design and construction 
requirements, operations, closure, testing of the product prior 
to placement, a public notice component and other topics that 
may be brought up during the public comment period. The 
department expects that a rulemaking will be initiated to 
amend the regulation and the committee established in 
response to this notice will be used to assist in the 
development of a proposal for the Virginia Waste 
Management Board’s consideration. 

Contact Information: Leslie D. Beckwith, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4123, or email 
ldbeckwith@deq.virginia.gov. 

Study to Restore Water Quality for Shellfish 
Growing Areas Along Oyster and Mosquito Creeks 

Public meeting: January 8, 2009, at the Lancaster Community 
Library, 235 School Street, Kilmarnock, Virginia 22482. 
Public meetings will be held from 2-4 p.m. and 6-8 p.m. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality and the Department of Conservation and Recreation 
are holding the final public meetings for a study to restore 
water quality for two shellfish growing areas and a public 
comment opportunity. 

Meeting description: Final public meetings on a study to 
restore water quality for shellfish growing areas along Oyster 
and Mosquito Creeks, which are impaired due to bacterial 
violations. 

Description of study: Virginia agencies have worked to 
identify sources of the bacterial contamination in the shellfish 
growing waters of the (tidal) Oyster and Mosquito Creeks and 
their tributaries, an area totalling approximately 0.178 square 
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miles in Lancaster County.  These streams are impaired for 
failure to meet the designated use of shellfish consumption 
because of bacterial water quality standard violations. 

Stream County Area 
(miles²) 

Impairment 

Oyster 
Creek Lancaster 0.11 

 
Mosquito 

Creek 
 

Lancaster 0.068 

Shellfish 
Use 

(Fecal 
Coliform) 
Bacteria 

The study reports the current status of the creeks via sampling 
performed by the Virginia Department of Health, Division of 
Shellfish Sanitation, shellfish area condemnations, and the 
possible sources of bacterial contamination.  The study 
recommends total maximum daily loads (TMDLs) for the 
impaired waters.  A TMDL is the total amount of a pollutant 
a water body can contain and still meet water quality 
standards.  To restore water quality, bacterial levels have to 
be reduced to the TMDL amount. 

How to comment:  DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax, or postal mail.  Written comments should include the 
name, address, and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ during the comment 
period, which will begin January 8, 2009, and ends on 
February 9, 2009.  DEQ also accepts written and oral 
comments at the public meeting announced in this notice. 

Contact for additional information: Margaret Smigo, TMDL 
Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, 
Piedmont Regional Office, 4949A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 
23060, telephone (804) 527-5124, FAX (804)-527-5106, or 
email mjsmigo@deq.virginia.gov. 

Public Meeting Relating to Fecal Bacteria 
Impairments in the Back Bay and North Landing 

Watersheds 
The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), the 
Department of Conservation and Recreation (DCR), the 
Hampton Roads Planning District Commission, and the City 
of Virginia Beach invite citizens to a public meeting to 
discuss the development of an implementation plan (IP) to 
address fecal bacteria impairments in the Back Bay and North 
Landing Watersheds. Water quality monitoring indicates that 
bacteria levels in Nanney Creek, Milldam Creek, and Middle 
West Neck Creek violate Virginia’s water quality standards. 
A Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) study for the 
impairments was approved by EPA in 2005 and is available 
on DEQ’s website at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl/apptmdls/chowanrvr/chowant.pdf.  

The Implementation Plan will identify ways to meet the 
pollutant reductions outlined in the TMDL study. A 
Technical Advisory Committee comprised of stakeholders 

from the watersheds was formed in spring 2007, and has 
worked over the past year to conduct additional studies in the 
Nanney Creek Watershed and develop a list of potential 
pollutant reduction actions that can be implemented in all 
three watersheds. 

The final public meeting to review the development of the 
TMDL implementation plan and discuss the proposed plan 
will be held on: Monday, January 26, 2009, 7 p.m., Creeds 
Elementary School, 920 Princess Anne Road, Virginia Beach, 
Virginia. 

The purposes of this meeting are to report the results of the 
ground truthing study conducted by the City of Virginia 
Beach in the Nanney Creek Watershed and discuss the 
implementation actions that the Technical Advisory 
Committee developed. The IP includes the corrective actions 
needed to reduce bacteria and the associated costs, benefits 
and environmental impacts.  The IP also provides measurable 
goals and a timeline of expected achievement of water quality 
objectives.  A copy of the draft implementation plan is 
available upon request. 

How to comment: The formal public comment period on the 
IPs will end on February 27, 2009.  Oral comments will be 
accepted and addressed at the public meeting.  Written 
comments and inquires should include the name, address, and 
telephone number of the person submitting the comments and 
should be sent to Jennifer Howell, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 5636 Southern Blvd., Virginia Beach, 
VA 23262, telephone (757) 518-2111, FAX (757) 518-2003, 
or email jshowell@deq.virginia.gov or to William J. 
Johnston, PE, City of Virginia Beach, 2405 Courthouse Dr., 
Municipal Center, Bldg. 2, Virginia Beach, VA 23456, 
telephone (757) 385-4519, or email bjohnsto@vbgov.com. 

DEPARTMENT OF MENTAL HEALTH, MENTAL 
RETARDATION AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE 

SERVICES 

Requests for Approval of Variances 
The State Human Rights Committee considered the following 
requests for variances to the Rules and Regulations to Assure 
the Rights of Individuals Receiving Services from Providers 
Licensed, Funded or Operated by the Department of Mental 
Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services at 
its meeting on December 5, 2008. 

The requests for approval of variances were considered from 
the following providers: 

Specialized Youth Services 

12VAC35-115-110 B 13, Time Out Western State Hospital 

12VAC35-115-110 C 3, Seclusion in an Emergency 

12VAC35-115-110 C 13, Seclusion or Mechanical 
   Restraint 
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12VAC35-115-110 C 17, Monitoring 

12VAC35-115-110 C 15, Standing Orders 

For additional information please contact Margaret Walsh, 
Director, Office of Human Rights, Department of Mental 
Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services, 
1220 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
786-3988, FAX (804) 371-2308, or email 
margaret.walsh@co.dmhmrsas.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Periodic Review of Regulations 
Pursuant to Executive Order Number 36 (2006), the 
Department of Social Services is currently reviewing 
22VAC40-160, Fee Requirements for Processing 
Applications, to determine if it should be terminated, 
amended, or retained in its current form. The review will be 
guided by the principles listed in Executive Order Number 36 
(2006) and in the department’s Plan for Review of Existing 
Agency Regulations. 

The department seeks public comment regarding the 
regulation’s interference in private enterprise and life, 
essential need of the regulations, less burdensome and 
intrusive alternatives to the regulations, specific and 
measurable goals that the regulation is intended to achieve, 
and whether the regulation is clearly written and easily 
understandable. 

Written comments may be submitted until January 12, 2009, 
in care of Karen Cullen, Program Development Consultant, 
Division of Licensing Programs, 7 North 8th Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, FAX (804) 726-7132, or email 
karen.cullen@dss.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Mailing Address: Virginia Code Commission, 910 Capitol 
Street, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations 

Agencies are required to use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) when filing regulations for publication in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. The Office of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations implemented a web-based application 
called RIS for filing regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register. The Registrar's office has 
worked closely with the Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) to coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory 
Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one 
another by sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

The Office of the Virginia Register is working toward the 
eventual elimination of the requirement that agencies file 
print copies of regulatory packages. Until that time, agencies 
may file petitions for rulemaking, notices of intended 
regulatory actions and general notices in electronic form only; 
however, until further notice, agencies must continue to file 
print copies of proposed, final, fast-track and emergency 
regulatory packages. 

ERRATA 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Titles of Regulations: 9VAC5-80. Permits for Stationary 
Sources. 

9VAC5-170. Regulation for General Administration. 

Publication:  25:6 VA.R. 1231-1257 November 24, 2008. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 1242, in 9VAC5-80-670 E 2 d, line 5, unstrike 
"including" 

Page 1247, in 9VAC5-80-1450 B 5, line 1, strike 
"Completion of" and insert "Complete" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1364; Filed November 26, 2008, 9:26 a.m.  

AUCTIONEERS BOARD 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC25-21. Regulations of the 
Virginia Auctioneers Board. 

Publication:  25:7 VA.R. 1431-1435 December 8, 2008. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 1431, replace the published summary with the 
following: 

Summary: 
The amendments clarify the basic qualifications for 
licensure by examination and licensure by reciprocity, 
modify the examination application procedures, and 
establish and modify the standards of practice and 
standards of conduct to identify requirements that affect 
the administration of, and compliance with, the board's 
regulations. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R06-87; Filed December 9, 2008; 1:41 p.m. 
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