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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, the Virginia Tax Bulletin issued 
periodically by the Department of Taxation, and notices of public 
hearings and open meetings of state agencies. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
Proposed regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating 
agency at any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 12 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
23:7 VA.R. 1023-1140 December 11, 2006, refers to Volume 23, Issue 
7, pages 1023 through 1140 of the Virginia Register issued on 
December 11, 2006. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: R. Steven Landes, 
Chairman; John S. Edwards, Vice Chairman; Ryan T. McDougle; 
Robert Hurt; Robert L. Calhoun; Frank S. Ferguson; E.M. Miller, 
Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; James F. Almand; Jane M. Roush. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
June T. Chandler, Assistant Registrar. 
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

February 2009 through November 2009 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

INDEX 1 Volume 25  January 2009 

25:11 January 14, 2009 February 2, 2009 

25:12 January 28, 2009 February 16, 2009 

25:13 February 11, 2009 March 2, 2009 

25:14 February 25, 2009 March 16, 2009 

INDEX 2 Volume 25  April 2009 

25:15 March 11, 2009 March 30, 2009 

25:16 March 25, 2009 April 13, 2009 

25:17 April 8, 2009 April 27, 2009 

25:18 April 22, 2009 May 11, 2009 

25:19 May 6, 2009 May 25, 2009 

25:20 May 20, 2009 June 8, 2009 

INDEX 3 Volume 25  July 2009 

25:21 June 3, 2009 June 22, 2009 

25:22 June 17, 2009 July 6, 2009 

25:23 July 1, 2009 July 20, 2009 

25:24 July 15, 2009 August 3, 2009 

25:25 July 29, 2009 August 17, 2009 

25:26 August 12, 2009 August 31, 2009 

FINAL INDEX Volume 25  October 2009 

26:1 August 26, 2009 September 14, 2009 

26:2 September 9, 2009 September 28, 2009 

26:3 September 23, 2009 October 12, 2009 

26:4 October 7, 2009 October 26, 2009 

26:5 October 21, 2009 November 9, 2009 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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The table printed below lists regulation sections, by Virginia Administrative Code (VAC) title, that have been amended, 
added or repealed in the Virginia Register since the regulations were originally published or last supplemented in VAC (the 
Fall 2008 VAC Supplement includes final regulations published through Virginia Register Volume 24, Issue 24, dated 
August 4, 2008). Emergency regulations, if any, are listed, followed by the designation "emer," and errata pertaining to final 
regulations are listed. Proposed regulations are not listed here. The table lists the sections in numerical order and shows 
action taken, the volume, issue and page number where the section appeared, and the effective date of the section. 

CUMULATIVE TABLE OF VIRGINIA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE SECTIONS ADOPTED, AMENDED, OR REPEALED 

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
Title 1. Administration 
1 VAC 17-10-10 through 1 VAC 17-10-90 Repealed 25:8 VA.R. 1484 1/21/09 
1 VAC 17-11-10 through 1 VAC 17-11-110 Added 25:8 VA.R. 1484-1487 1/21/09 
1 VAC 30-10-10 through 1 VAC 30-10-70 Repealed 25:8 VA.R. 1487 1/21/09 
1 VAC 30-11-10 through 1 VAC 30-11-110 Erratum 25:9 VA.R. 1827 -- 
1 VAC 30-11-10 through 1 VAC 30-11-110 Added 25:8 VA.R. 1488-1490 1/21/09 
1 VAC 30-45-10 through 1 VAC 30-45-860 Added 25:7 VA.R. 1409-1413 1/1/09 
1 VAC 30-46-10 through 1 VAC 30-46-210 Added 25:7 VA.R. 1413-1417 1/1/09 
1 VAC 50-10-60 through 1 VAC 50-10-150 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 119 10/29/08 
1 VAC 50-11-10 through 1 VAC 50-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 119-122 10/29/08 
1 VAC 55-10-10 through 1 VAC 55-10-50 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 122 10/29/08 
1 VAC 55-11-10 through 1 VAC 55-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 122-125 10/29/08 
1 VAC 75-10-10 through 1 VAC 75-10-40 Repealed 24:25 VA.R. 3523 9/17/08 
1 VAC 75-11-10 through 1 VAC 75-11-110 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3523-3526 9/17/08 
Title 2. Agriculture 
2 VAC 5-10-10 through 2 VAC 5-10-70 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 342 11/12/08 
2 VAC 5-11-10 through 2 VAC 5-11-110 Added 25:3 VA.R. 343-345 11/12/08 
2 VAC 5-206-10 through 2 VAC 5-206-50 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3527-3531 10/3/08 
2 VAC 5-330-30 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 126 10/15/08 
2 VAC 5-335-10 through 2 VAC 5-335-130 Added 25:2 VA.R. 126-129 10/15/08 
2 VAC 15-11-10 through 2 VAC 15-11-120 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 576 11/26/08 
2 VAC 15-12-10 through 2 VAC 15-12-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 577-579 11/26/08 
2 VAC 15-20-90 Amended 25:10 VA.R. 1847 2/18/09 
2 VAC 15-20-110 Amended 25:10 VA.R. 1848 2/18/09 
2 VAC 15-20-120 Amended 25:10 VA.R. 1848 2/18/09 
2 VAC 20-10-10 through 2 VAC 20-10-120 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 792 12/10/08 
2 VAC 20-11-10 through 2 VAC 20-11-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 792-795 12/10/08 
2 VAC 20-51-10 through 2 VAC 20-51-50 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 346-350 12/1/08 
2 VAC 20-51-70 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 350 12/1/08 
2 VAC 20-51-90  Amended 25:3 VA.R. 351 12/1/08 
2 VAC 20-51-100 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 351 12/1/08 
2 VAC 20-51-160 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 351 12/1/08 
2 VAC 20-51-170 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 352 12/1/08 
2 VAC 20-51-200 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 352 12/1/08 
2 VAC 20-51-210 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 352 12/1/08 
Title 3. Alcoholic Beverages 
3 VAC 5-10 Erratum 25:9 VA.R. 1826 -- 
3 VAC 5-10-480 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1173 12/24/08 
3 VAC 5-11-10 through 3 VAC 5-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1175-1178 12/24/08 
Title 4. Conservation and Natural Resources 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
4 VAC 3-10-10 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 129 10/29/08 
4 VAC 3-10-20 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 129 10/29/08 
4 VAC 3-10-30 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 129 10/29/08 
4 VAC 3-11-10 through 4 VAC 3-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 130-132 10/29/08 
4 VAC 5-10-10 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 132 10/29/08 
4 VAC 5-10-20 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 132 10/29/08 
4 VAC 5-10-30 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 132 10/29/08 
4 VAC 5-11-10 through 4 VAC 5-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 133-136 10/29/08 
4 VAC 5-36-50 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1178 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-60 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1183 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-70 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1184 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-90 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1185 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-100 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1187 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-110 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1191 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-115 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1192 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-120 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1192 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-140 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1193 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-150 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1195 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-180 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1198 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-200 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1199 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-210 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1204 1/1/09 
4 VAC 10-10-10 through 4 VAC 10-10-30 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1208 12/24/08 
4 VAC 10-11-10 through 4 VAC 10-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1209-1212 12/24/08 
4 VAC 15-450-10 through 4 VAC 15-450-40 Added 25:10 VA.R. 1849-1850 1/1/09 
4 VAC 20-20-50 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1212 11/1/08 
4 VAC 20-252-90 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1213 11/1/08 
4 VAC 20-252-100 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1213 11/1/08 
4 VAC 20-260-35 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 353 10/1/08-10/31/08 
4 VAC 20-260-35 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1213 11/1/08 
4 VAC 20-260-40 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 353 10/1/08-10/31/08 
4 VAC 20-260-40 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1213 11/1/08 
4 VAC 20-620-20 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 354 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-620-30 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 354 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-620-40 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 355 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-20 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 357 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-40 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 359 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-50 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 360 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-60 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 360 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-70 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 360 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-75 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 361 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-80 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 361 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-95 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 361 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-100 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 361 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-106 emer Amended 25:1 VA.R. 24 9/1/08-9/30/08 
4 VAC 20-720-106 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 361 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-751-10 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 362 9/29/08-10/28/08 
4 VAC 20-751-15 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 362 9/29/08-10/28/08 
4 VAC 20-751-20 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 362 9/29/08-10/28/08 
4 VAC 20-751-20 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1214 10/29/08 
4 VAC 20-910-45 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3537 8/1/08 
4 VAC 20-910-45 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1214 11/1/08 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
4 VAC 20-950-47 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1491 1/1/09 
4 VAC 20-950-48 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1491 1/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1040-20 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1492 11/30/08 
4 VAC 20-1040-25 Added 25:8 VA.R. 1493 11/30/08 
4 VAC 20-1150-10 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3538 8/1/08 
4 VAC 20-1150-20 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3538 8/1/08 
4 VAC 20-1170-10 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1215 12/1/08 
4 VAC 20-1170-20 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1215 12/1/08 
4 VAC 20-1180-10 through 4 VAC 20-1180-60 Added 25:9 VA.R. 1680-1681 12/22/08 
4 VAC 25-10-10 through 4 VAC 25-10-90 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 795 12/25/08 
4 VAC 25-11-10 through 4 VAC 25-11-120 Added 25:5 VA.R. 797-800 12/25/08 
4 VAC 50-10-10 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 137 10/29/08 
4 VAC 50-10-20 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 137 10/29/08 
4 VAC 50-10-30 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 137 10/29/08 
4 VAC 50-11-10 through 4 VAC 50-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 138-141 10/29/08 
4 VAC 50-20-20 through 4 VAC 50-20-90 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3539-3554 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-51 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3544 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-52 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3545 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-54 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3545 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-58 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3546 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-59 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3546 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-100 through 4 VAC 50-20-140 Repealed 24:25 VA.R. 3554-3558 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-105 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3554 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-125 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3557 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-150 through 4 VAC 50-20-240 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3558-3563 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-155 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3558 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-165 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3559 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-175 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3560 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-177 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3561 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-250 Repealed 24:25 VA.R. 3564 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-260 through 4 VAC 50-20-320 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3564-3565 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-330 through 4 VAC 50-20-400 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3565-3567 9/26/08 
Title 6. Criminal Justice and Corrections 
6 VAC 15-10-10 through 6 VAC 15-10-100 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 363 11/15/08 
6 VAC 15-11-10 through 6 VAC 15-11-110 Added 25:3 VA.R. 363-366 11/15/08 
6 VAC 15-31-320 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3568 9/18/08 
6 VAC 15-70-10 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 367 11/15/08 
6 VAC 15-70-40 through 6 VAC 15-70-130 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 367-372 11/15/08 
6 VAC 15-70-160 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 372 11/15/08 
6 VAC 20-10-10 through 6 VAC 20-10-50 Repealed 25:10 VA.R. 1850 2/20/09 
6 VAC 20-11-10 through 6 VAC 20-11-110 Added 25:10 VA.R. 1851-1853 2/20/09 
6 VAC 20-160-10 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 141 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-20 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 142 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-30 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 142 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-40 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 143 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-60 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 144 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-70 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 144 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-80 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 144 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-100 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 145 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-120 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 145 10/29/08 
6 VAC 35-10-10 through 6 VAC 35-10-150 Repealed 24:25 VA.R. 3573 9/17/08 
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6 VAC 35-11-10 through 6 VAC 35-11-110 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3574-3576 9/17/08 
6 VAC 35-20-37 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 373 8/1/07-1/31/09 
6 VAC 35-20-37 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 626 12/12/08 
6 VAC 35-51-10 through 6 VAC 35-51-1100 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3577-3610 9/17/08 
6 VAC 35-140-46 Added 25:3 VA.R. 376 12/12/08 
6 VAC 40-10-10 through 6 VAC 40-10-90 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 146 10/30/08 
6 VAC 40-11-10 through 6 VAC 40-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 147-149 10/30/08 
6 VAC 40-20-30 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3718 10/16/08 
6 VAC 40-20-120 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3718 10/16/08 
6 VAC 40-20-130 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3718 10/16/08 
6 VAC 40-20-160 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3718 10/16/08 
Title 7. Economic Development 
7 VAC 10-20-10 through 7 VAC 10-20-350 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3719 9/1/08 
7 VAC 10-21-10 through 7 VAC 10-21-610 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3719-3729 9/1/08 
Title 8. Education 
8 VAC 35-60-20 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 800 11/10/08 
8 VAC 40-10-10 through 8 VAC 40-10-90 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 376 1/1/09 
8 VAC 40-11-10 through 8 VAC 40-11-110 Added 25:3 VA.R. 377-379 1/1/09 
Title 9. Environment 
9 VAC 5-5-10 through 9 VAC 5-5-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 801-804 1/1/09 
9 VAC 5-80-5 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1231 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-15 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1234 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-25 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1234 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-35 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1235 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-150 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1237 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-230 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1237 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-270 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1238 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-510 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1239 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-590 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1241 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-670 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1241 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-670 Erratum 25:8 VA.R. 1644 -- 
9 VAC 5-80-860 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1243 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-990 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1243 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1020 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1244 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1100 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1258 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1110 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1259 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1160 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1244 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1170 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1245 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1290 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1246 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1320 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1264 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1450 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1247 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1450 Erratum 25:8 VA.R. 1644 -- 
9 VAC 5-80-1460 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1248 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1615 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1218 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1695 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1229 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1765 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1249 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1773 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1251 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1775 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1251 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1955 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1253 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-2060 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1254 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-2070 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1255 12/31/08 



Cumulative Table of VAC Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed 

Volume 25, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations February 2, 2009 

1877 

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
9 VAC 5-80-2230 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1256 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-91-20 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1268 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-140-900 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1275 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-140-920 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1275 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-140-930 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1275 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-151-10 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1276 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-151-20 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1278 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-151-40 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1279 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-151-61 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1279 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-151-70 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1280 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-170-20 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 804 1/1/09 
9 VAC 5-170-30 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1256 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-170-40 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 806 1/1/09 
9 VAC 5-170-80 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 807 1/1/09 
9 VAC 5-170-90 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 807 1/1/09 
9 VAC 5-170-100 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 807 1/1/09 
9 VAC 5-170-110 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 809 1/1/09 
9 VAC 5-170-180 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1256 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-170-190 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1257 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-170-200 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1257 12/31/08 
9 VAC 10-10-10 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 627 11/26/08 
9 VAC 10-10-20 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 627 11/26/08 
9 VAC 10-10-30 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 627 11/26/08 
9 VAC 10-11-10 through 9 VAC 10-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 627-630 11/26/08 
9 VAC 15-10-10 through 9 VAC 15-10-40 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 809 1/1/09 
9 VAC 15-11-10 through 9 VAC 15-11-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 810-813 1/1/09 
9 VAC 20-10-10 through 9 VAC 20-10-40 Repealed 25:9 VA.R. 1681 2/4/09 
9 VAC 20-11-10 through 9 VAC 20-11-110 Added 25:9 VA.R. 1682-1685 2/4/09 
9 VAC 20-80-10 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 150 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-60 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 160 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-250 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 166 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-260 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 176 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-270 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 183 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-280 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 191 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-485 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 193 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-500 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 200 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-510 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 203 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-10-10 through 9 VAC 25-10-40 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 813 1/1/09 
9 VAC 25-11-10 through 9 VAC 25-11-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 813-816 1/1/09 
9 VAC 25-210-10 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 894 12/10/08 
9 VAC 25-210-50 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 898 12/10/08 
9 VAC 25-210-60 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 898 12/10/08 
9 VAC 25-210-130 Erratum 25:9 VA.R. 1826 -- 
9 VAC 25-210-130 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 902 12/10/08 
9 VAC 25-210-220 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 903 12/10/08 
9 VAC 25-260-30 Amending 24:26 VA.R. 3747 8/12/08 
9 VAC 25-260-30 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 904 10/22/08 
9 VAC 25-640 Appendices I through IX Amended  25:2 VA.R. 217-231 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-10 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 206 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-20 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 209 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-30 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 209 11/1/08 
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9 VAC 25-640-50 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 210 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-70 through 9 VAC 25-640-120 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 210-213 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-130 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 213 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-150 through 9 VAC 25-640-230 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 213-217 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-250 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 217 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-740-10 through 9 VAC 25-740-210 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3748-3773 10/1/08 
9 VAC 25-790 (Forms) Added 25:6 VA.R. 1285 -- 
9 VAC 25-860-10 through 9 VAC 25-860-70 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1285-1295 12/24/08 
Title 10. Finance and Financial Institutions 
10 VAC 5-160-10 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3775 8/10/08 
10 VAC 5-160-70 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3776 8/10/08 
10 VAC 5-160-80 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3776 8/10/08 
10 VAC 5-200-10 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 637 1/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-20 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 637 1/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-33 Added 25:4 VA.R. 638 1/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-35 Added 25:4 VA.R. 639 1/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-40 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 641 1/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-60 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 642 1/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-70 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 642 1/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-80 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 643 1/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 646 1/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-115 Added 25:4 VA.R. 651 1/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-120 Added 25:4 VA.R. 650 1/1/09 
Title 11. Gaming 
11 VAC 10-10-10 through 11 VAC 10-10-70 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 904 12/10/08 
11 VAC 10-11-10 through 11 VAC 10-11-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 905-907 12/10/08 
11 VAC 15-12-10 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 651 11/26/08 
11 VAC 15-12-20 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 651 11/26/08 
11 VAC 15-13-10 through 11 VAC 15-13-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 652-654 11/26/08 
Title 12. Health 
12 VAC 5-10-10 through 12 VAC 5-10-80 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 654 1/1/09 
12 VAC 5-11-10 through 12 VAC 5-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 655-657 1/1/09 
12 VAC 5-67-10 emer Added 25:4 VA.R. 658 11/1/08-10/31/09 
12 VAC 5-67-20 emer Added 25:4 VA.R. 658 11/1/08-10/31/09 
12 VAC 5-67-30 emer Added 25:4 VA.R. 658 11/1/08-10/31/09 
12 VAC 5-220-110 Amended 25:1 VA.R. 26 10/15/08 
12 VAC 5-220-160 Amended 25:1 VA.R. 25 10/15/08 
12 VAC 5-220-200 Amended 25:1 VA.R. 26 10/15/08 
12 VAC 5-230-10 Amended 25:9 VA.R. 1707 2/15/09 
12 VAC 5-230-20 Repealed 25:9 VA.R. 1711 2/15/09 
12 VAC 5-230-30 Amended 25:9 VA.R. 1712 2/15/09 
12 VAC 5-230-40 through 12 VAC 5-230-1000 Added 25:9 VA.R. 1713-1742 2/15/09 
12 VAC 5-240-10 through 12 VAC 5-240-60 Repealed 25:9 VA.R. 1706 2/15/09 
12 VAC 5-250-10 through 12 VAC 5-250-120 Repealed 25:9 VA.R. 1706 2/15/09 
12 VAC 5-260-10 through 12 VAC 5-260-130 Repealed 25:9 VA.R. 1706 2/15/09 
12 VAC 5-270-10 through 12 VAC 5-270-60 Repealed 25:9 VA.R. 1706 2/15/09 
12 VAC 5-280-10 through 12 VAC 5-280-70 Repealed 25:9 VA.R. 1706 2/15/09 
12 VAC 5-290-10 through 12 VAC 5-290-70 Repealed 25:9 VA.R. 1706 2/15/09 
12 VAC 5-300-10 through 12 VAC 5-300-70 Repealed 25:9 VA.R. 1706 2/15/09 
12 VAC 5-310-10 through 12 VAC 5-310-70 Repealed 25:9 VA.R. 1706 2/15/09 
12 VAC 5-320-10 through 12 VAC 5-320-480 Repealed 25:9 VA.R. 1706 2/15/09 
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12 VAC 5-330-10 through 12 VAC 5-330-70 Repealed 25:9 VA.R. 1706 2/15/09 
12 VAC 5-340-10 through 12 VAC 5-340-120 Repealed 25:9 VA.R. 1706 2/15/09 
12 VAC 5-350-10 through 12 VAC 5-350-60 Repealed 25:9 VA.R. 1707 2/15/09 
12 VAC 5-360-10 through 12 VAC 5-360-70 Repealed 25:9 VA.R. 1707 2/15/09 
12 VAC 5-481-10 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 231 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-481-390 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 256 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-481-400 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 256 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-481-450 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 257 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-481-451 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3612 10/3/08 
12 VAC 5-481-480 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 260 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2870 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 267 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3160 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 267 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3710 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 267 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-590-10 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 908 12/10/08 
12 VAC 5-590-370 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 916 12/10/08 
12 VAC 5-590-410 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 955 12/10/08 
12 VAC 5-590-420 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 959 12/10/08 
12 VAC 5-590-440 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 994 12/10/08 
12 VAC 5-590-500 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 998 12/10/08 
12 VAC 5-590-530 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 999 12/10/08 
12 VAC 5-590-540 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1011 12/10/08 
12 VAC 5-590-545 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1016 12/10/08 
12 VAC 5-590-550 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1021 12/10/08 
12 VAC 30-5-10 through 12 VAC 30-5-110 Added 25:3 VA.R. 380-383 11/12/08 
12 VAC 30-10-815 Added 25:4 VA.R. 662 11/26/08 
12 VAC 30-40-290 emer Amended 25:1 VA.R. 35 8/27/08-8/26/09 
12 VAC 30-50-130 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1041 12/10/08 
12 VAC 30-50-140 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-50-150 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-50-180 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-50-228 emer Added 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-50-229.1 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 1045 12/10/08 
12 VAC 30-50-320 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1515 2/5/09 
12 VAC 30-50-330 through 12 VAC 30-50-360 Added 25:8 VA.R. 1515-1520 2/5/09 
12 VAC 30-50-491 emer Added 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-50-530 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1049 12/10/08 
12 VAC 30-60-180 emer Added 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-60-185 emer Added 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-60-500 emer Added 25:3 VA.R. 384 8/8/07-2/7/09 
12 VAC 30-70-70 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 387 11/27/08 
12 VAC 30-70-261 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 388 11/27/08 
12 VAC 30-70-271 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 388 11/27/08 
12 VAC 30-70-311 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3778 10/15/08 
12 VAC 30-70-321 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3778 10/15/08 
12 VAC 30-70-500 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 389 11/27/08 
12 VAC 30-80-32 emer Added 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-80-40 emer Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3617 8/4/08-8/3/09 
12 VAC 30-80-190 emer Amended 25:1 VA.R. 41 8/27/08-8/26/09 
12 VAC 30-90-41 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3778 10/15/08 
12 VAC 30-90-264 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 390 11/27/08 
12 VAC 30-100-10 through 12 VAC 30-100-60 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 383-384 11/12/08 
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12 VAC 30-100-170 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3622 10/2/08 
12 VAC 30-120-61 through 12 VAC 30-120-68 Repealed 25:8 VA.R. 1520-1526 2/5/09 
12 VAC 30-120-100 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3781 10/15/08 
12 VAC 30-120-310 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-120-370 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 393 9/1/07-3/3/09 
12 VAC 30-120-380 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 393 9/1/07-3/3/09 
12 VAC 30-120-380 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-135-10 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3783 10/16/08 
12 VAC 30-135-20 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3783 10/16/08 
12 VAC 30-135-30 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3783 10/16/08 
12 VAC 30-135-40 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3783 10/16/08 
12 VAC 30-135-70 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3784 10/16/08 
12 VAC 30-141-660 emer Amended 25:10 VA.R. 1854 12/22/08-12/21/09 
12 VAC 35-11-10 through 12 VAC 35-11-110 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 271 10/29/08 
12 VAC 35-12-10 through 12 VAC 35-12-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 271-274 10/29/08 
Title 13. Housing 
13 VAC 5-10-10 through 13 VAC 5-10-120 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 666 11/26/08 
13 VAC 5-11-10 through 13 VAC 5-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 667-669 11/26/08 
13 VAC 5-51-81 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3622 10/1/08 
13 VAC 5-200-10 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3784 10/1/08 
13 VAC 5-200-40 through 13 VAC 5-200-80 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3784-3785 10/1/08 
13 VAC 5-200-100 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3785 10/1/08 
13 VAC 6-10-10 through 13 VAC 6-10-120 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 394 11/13/08 
13 VAC 6-11-10 through 13 VAC 6-11-110 Added 25:3 VA.R. 394-397 11/13/08 
13 VAC 10-20-40 Amended 25:9 VA.R. 1743 12/15/08 
13 VAC 10-180-40 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1418 1/1/09 
13 VAC 10-180-50 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1419 1/1/09 
13 VAC 10-180-60 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1421 1/1/09 
Title 14. Insurance 
14 VAC 5-323-10 through 14 VAC 5-323-70 Added 25:8 VA.R. 1527-1528 1/1/09 
14 VAC 5-395-40 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3811 8/29/08 
Title 16. Labor and Employment 
16 VAC 15-10-10 through 16 VAC 15-10-100 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 672 11/26/08 
16 VAC 15-11-10 through 16 VAC 15-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 672-675 11/26/08 
16 VAC 15-30-40 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3632 9/18/08 
16 VAC 20-10-10 through 16 VAC 20-10-100 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 675 11/27/08 
16 VAC 20-11-10 through 16 VAC 20-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 676-678 11/27/08 
16 VAC 25-10-10 through 16 VAC 25-10-120 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3811 10/1/08 
16 VAC 25-11-10 through 16 VAC 25-11-110 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3811-3814 10/1/08 
16 VAC 25-20-10 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1529 2/1/09 
16 VAC 30-11-10 through 16 VAC 30-11-30 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1307 12/24/08 
16 VAC 30-12-10 through 16 VAC 30-12-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1307-1310 12/24/08 
Title 17. Libraries and Cultural Resources 
17 VAC 5-10-10 through 17 VAC 5-10-40 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1310 12/24/08 
17 VAC 5-11-10 through 17 VAC 5-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1311-1313 12/24/08 
17 VAC 10-10-10 through 17 VAC 10-10-40 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1313 12/24/08 
17 VAC 10-11-10 through 17 VAC 10-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1314-1316 12/24/08 
17 VAC 15-10-10 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 1064 12/10/08 
17 VAC 15-11-10 through 17 VAC 15-11-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 1065-1067 12/10/08 
17 VAC 15-120-10 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1317 12/24/08 
17 VAC 15-120-20 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1317 12/24/08 
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17 VAC 15-120-30 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1317 12/24/08 
Title 18. Professional and Occupational Licensing 
18 VAC 5-10-10 through 18 VAC 5-10-90 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 678 11/26/08 
18 VAC 5-11-10 through 18 VAC 5-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 679-682 11/26/08 
18 VAC 10-10-10 through 18 VAC 10-10-90 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 682 11/27/08 
18 VAC 10-11-10 through 18 VAC 10-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 682-685 11/27/08 
18 VAC 10-20-10 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 397 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-120 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 399 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-120 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1068 1/1/09 
18 VAC 10-20-140 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1068 1/1/09 
18 VAC 10-20-280 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 399 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-295 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 400 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-310 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 400 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-310 Erratum 25:7 VA.R. 1451 -- 
18 VAC 10-20-340 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 401 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-350 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 401 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-360 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 401 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-380 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 402 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-382 Added 25:3 VA.R. 403 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-392 Added 25:3 VA.R. 404 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-395 Added 25:3 VA.R. 404 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-760 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 404 12/1/08 
18 VAC 15-10-10 through 18 VAC 15-10-90 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 55 10/15/08 
18 VAC 15-11-10 through 18 VAC 15-11-110 Added 25:1 VA.R. 55-58 10/15/08 
18 VAC 25-10-10 through 18 VAC 25-10-90 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1318 12/24/08 
18 VAC 25-11-10 through 18 VAC 25-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1319-1321 12/24/08 
18 VAC 25-21-20 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1431 2/1/09 
18 VAC 25-21-40 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1432 2/1/09 
18 VAC 25-21-50 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1432 2/1/09 
18 VAC 25-21-60 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1432 2/1/09 
18 VAC 25-21-110 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1433 2/1/09 
18 VAC 25-21-120 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1433 2/1/09 
18 VAC 25-21-150 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1433 2/1/09 
18 VAC 25-21-170 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1434 2/1/09 
18 VAC 25-21-180 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1434 2/1/09 
18 VAC 25-21-185 Added 25:7 VA.R. 1435 2/1/09 
18 VAC 30-10-10 through 18 VAC 30-10-120 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 1070 12/10/08 
18 VAC 30-11-10 through 18 VAC 30-11-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 1070-1073 12/10/08 
18 VAC 30-20 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3814 -- 
18 VAC 41-10-10 through 18 VAC 41-10-90 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1321 12/24/08 
18 VAC 41-11-10 Erratum 25:9 VA.R. 1826 -- 
18 VAC 41-11-20 Erratum 25:9 VA.R. 1826 -- 
18 VAC 41-11-10 through 18 VAC 41-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1322-1325 12/24/08 
18 VAC 45-10-10 through 18 VAC 45- 10-90 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3815 10/2/08 
18 VAC 45-11-10 through 18 VAC 45-11-110 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3815-3818 10/2/08 
18 VAC 47-10-10 through 18 VAC 47-10-90 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1325 12/24/08 
18 VAC 47-11-10 through 18 VAC 47-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1325-1328 12/24/08 
18 VAC 48-10-10 through 18 VAC 48-10-110 Added 25:3 VA.R. 411-414 11/13/08 
18 VAC 48-20-10 through 18 VAC 48-20-730 emer Added 25:5 VA.R. 1074-1093 11/13/08-11/12/09 
18 VAC 48-40-10 through 18 VAC 48-40-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 685-688 11/27/08 
18 VAC 48-50-10 through 18 VAC 48-50-200 emer Added 25:5 VA.R. 1095-1100 11/13/08-11/12/09 
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18 VAC 48-60-10 through 18 VAC 48-60-60 Added 25:4 VA.R. 688-689 11/27/08 
18 VAC 50-10-10 through 18 VAC 50-10-90 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1328 12/24/08 
18 VAC 50-11-10 through 18 VAC 50-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1328-1331 12/24/08 
18 VAC 50-22-40 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 415 12/1/08 
18 VAC 50-22-50 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 415 12/1/08 
18 VAC 50-22-60 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 416 12/1/08 
18 VAC 50-22-300 through 18 VAC 50-22-350 Added 25:3 VA.R. 417-418 12/1/08 
18 VAC 60-10-10 through 18 VAC 60-10-120 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 418 11/12/08 
18 VAC 60-11-10 through 18 VAC 60-11-110 Added 25:3 VA.R. 419-422 11/12/08 
18 VAC 60-20 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 58 -- 
18 VAC 62-10-10 through 18 VAC 62-10-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1332-1334 12/24/08 
18 VAC 65-10-10 through 18 VAC 65-10-120 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 291 10/29/08 
18 VAC 65-11-10 through 18 VAC 65-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 291-294 10/29/08 
18 VAC 65-20 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3818 -- 
18 VAC 65-40 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3818 -- 
18 VAC 70-10-10 through 18 VAC 70-10-90 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 1100 12/10/08 
18 VAC 70-11-10 through 18 VAC 70-11-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 1100-1103 12/10/08 
18 VAC 75-10-10 through 18 VAC 75-10-120 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 294 10/29/08 
18 VAC 75-11-10 through 18 VAC 75-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 295-297 10/29/08 
18 VAC 75-20 (Forms) Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3632 -- 
18 VAC 76-20 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3819 -- 
18 VAC 76-30-10 through 18 VAC 76-30-120 Repealed 24:25 VA.R. 3632 9/17/08 
18 VAC 76-31-10 through 18 VAC 76-31-110 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3633-3635 9/17/08 
18 VAC 76-40 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3820 -- 
18 VAC 80-10-10 through 18 VAC 80-10-90 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1334 12/24/08 
18 VAC 80-11-10 through 18 VAC 80-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1335-1338 12/24/08 
18 VAC 85-10-10 through 18 VAC 85-10-110 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3820 10/1/08 
18 VAC 85-11-10 through 18 VAC 85-11-110 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3820 10/1/08 
18 VAC 85-20 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-40 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-50 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-80 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-80-10 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1104 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-26 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1104 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-40 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1104 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-45 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1105 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-50 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1105 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-61 emer Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 1105 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-65 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1105 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-70 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1105 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-72 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1105 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-73 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1106 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-80 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1106 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-90 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1106 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-100 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1107 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-110 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1107 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-111 emer Added 25:5 VA.R. 1108 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-101 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-110 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-120 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-130 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
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18 VAC 90-10-10 through 18 VAC 90-10-120 Repealed 24:25 VA.R. 3635 9/17/08 
18 VAC 90-11-10 through 18 VAC 90-11-110 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3636-3639 9/17/08 
18 VAC 90-20 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 59 -- 
18 VAC 90-25 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 59 -- 
18 VAC 90-30 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 59 -- 
18 VAC 90-30-10 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1111 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-30-20 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1112 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-30-30 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1112 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-30-80 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1112 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-30-85 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1112 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-30-100 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1113 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-30-105 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1113 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-30-110 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1113 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-30-120 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1114 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-30-121 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1114 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-30-220 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1115 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-30-230 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1115 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-40 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 59 -- 
18 VAC 90-40-10 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1115 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-40-20 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1116 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-40-40 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1116 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-40-50 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1116 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-40-55 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1116 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-40-60 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1117 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-40-90 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1117 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-40-100 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1117 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-40-121 Added 25:5 VA.R. 1118 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-40-130 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1118 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-40-140 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1118 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-50 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 59 -- 
18 VAC 90-50-10 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 691 12/11/08 
18 VAC 90-50-40 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 691 12/11/08 
18 VAC 90-50-75 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 691 12/11/08 
18 VAC 90-50-80 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 692 12/11/08 
18 VAC 90-50-90 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 692 12/11/08 
18 VAC 90-60 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 59 -- 
18 VAC 95-10-10 through 18 VAC 95-10-120 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1338 12/24/08 
18 VAC 95-11-10 through 18 VAC 95-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1338-1341 12/24/08 
18 VAC 95-20 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3827 -- 
18 VAC 95-20-80 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2264 5/14/08 
18 VAC 95-20-225 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1341 12/24/08 
18 VAC 95-30 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3827 -- 
18 VAC 100-10-10 through 18 VAC 100-10-90 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1342 12/24/08 
18 VAC 100-11-10 through 18 VAC 100-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1342-1345 12/24/08 
18 VAC 105-10-10 through 18 VAC 105-10-120 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3828 10/1/08 
18 VAC 105-11-10 through 18 VAC 105-11-110 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3828-3831 10/1/08 
18 VAC 105-20 (Forms) Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3639 -- 
18 VAC 110-10-10 through 18 VAC 110-10-120 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 298 10/29/08 
18 VAC 110-11-10 through 18 VAC 110-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 298-301 10/29/08 
18 VAC 110-20 (Forms) Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3640 -- 
18 VAC 110-20-20 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 464 9/23/08-9/22/09 
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18 VAC 110-20-220 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 694 12/11/08 
18 VAC 110-20-230 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 695 12/11/08 
18 VAC 110-30 (Forms) Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3640 -- 
18 VAC 110-50 (Forms) Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3640 -- 
18 VAC 110-50-20 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 466 9/23/08-9/22/09 
18 VAC 112-10-10 through 18 VAC 112-10-120 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 61 10/15/08 
18 VAC 112-11-10 through 18 VAC 112-11-110 Added 25:1 VA.R. 62-64 10/15/08 
18 VAC 112-20 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3831 -- 
18 VAC 112-20-81 emer Added 25:3 VA.R. 467 11/1/07-4/29/09 
18 VAC 112-20-90 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 467 11/1/07-4/29/09 
18 VAC 112-20-130 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 467 11/1/07-4/29/09 
18 VAC 112-20-131 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 467 11/1/07-4/29/09 
18 VAC 112-20-150 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 467 11/1/07-4/29/09 
18 VAC 115-10-10 through 18 VAC 115-10-120 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3832 10/1/08 
18 VAC 115-11-10 through 18 VAC 115-11-110 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3832-3835 10/1/08 
18 VAC 115-20 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 65 -- 
18 VAC 115-30 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 65 -- 
18 VAC 115-40 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 65 -- 
18 VAC 115-50 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 65 -- 
18 VAC 115-60 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 65 -- 
18 VAC 120-10-100 through 18 VAC 120-10-180 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3835 10/2/08 
18 VAC 120-11-10 through 18 VAC 120-11-110 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3836-3838 10/2/08 
18 VAC 125-10-10 through 18 VAC 125-10-120 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 699 11/26/08 
18 VAC 125-11-10 through 18 VAC 125-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 699-702 11/26/08 
18 VAC 125-20 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 66 -- 
18 VAC 125-30 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 66 -- 
18 VAC 130-10-10 through 18 VAC 130-10-90 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1345 12/24/08 
18 VAC 130-11-10 through 18 VAC 130-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1345-1348 12/24/08 
18 VAC 135-10-10 through 18 VAC 135-10-90 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1348 12/24/08 
18 VAC 135-11-10 through 18 VAC 135-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1348-1351 12/24/08 
18 VAC 140-10-10 through 18 VAC 140-10-120 Repealed 24:25 VA.R. 3641 9/17/08 
18 VAC 140-11-10 through 18 VAC 140-11-110 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3641-3644 9/17/08 
18 VAC 140-20 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 67 -- 
18 VAC 140-20-10 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 703 11/26/08 
18 VAC 140-20-40 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 703 11/26/08 
18 VAC 140-20-50 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 703 11/26/08 
18 VAC 140-20-51 Added 25:4 VA.R. 705 11/26/08 
18 VAC 140-20-60 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 705 11/26/08 
18 VAC 140-20-105 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 706 11/26/08 
18 VAC 140-20-140 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 707 11/26/08 
18 VAC 140-20-150 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 707 11/26/08 
18 VAC 140-20-160 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 709 11/26/08 
18 VAC 145-10-10 through 18 VAC 145-10-90 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1351 12/24/08 
18 VAC 145-11-10 through 18 VAC 145-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1352-1355 12/24/08 
18 VAC 150-10-10 through 18 VAC 150-10-120 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 68 10/15/08 
18 VAC 150-11-10 through 18 VAC 150-11-110 Added 25:1 VA.R. 68-71 10/15/08 
18 VAC 150-20 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3838 -- 
18 VAC 155-10-5 through 18 VAC 155-10-80 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1355 12/24/08 
18 VAC 155-11-10 through 18 VAC 155-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1355-1358 12/24/08 
18 VAC 160-10-10 through 18 VAC 160-10-90 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 709 11/26/08 
18 VAC 160-11-10 through 18 VAC 160-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 709-712 11/26/08 
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Title 19. Public Safety 
19 VAC 15-10-10 through 19 VAC 15-10-50 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 1118 12/10/08 
19 VAC 15-11-10 through 19 VAC 15-11-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 1119-1121 12/10/08 
19 VAC 30-10-10 through 19 VAC 30-10-40 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3839 10/1/08 
19 VAC 30-11-10 through 19 VAC 30-11-110 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3839-3842 10/1/08 
Title 20. Public Utilities and Telecommunications 
20 VAC 5-200-30 Repealed 25:9 VA.R. 1768 1/1/09 
20 VAC 5-201-10 through 20 VAC 5-201-110 Added 25:9 VA.R. 1768-1816 1/1/09 
20 VAC 5-302-10 through 20 VAC 5-302-35 Amended 25:10 VA.R. 1859-1863 1/15/09 
20 VAC 5-312-10 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1534 1/1/09 
20 VAC 5-312-20 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1535 1/1/09 
20 VAC 5-312-60 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1537 1/1/09 
20 VAC 5-312-80 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1538 1/1/09 
20 VAC 5-312-90 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1540 1/1/09 
20 VAC 5-312-120 Repealed 25:8 VA.R. 1542 1/1/09 
20 VAC 5-313-10 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1543 1/1/09 
20 VAC 5-313-20 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1543 1/1/09 
20 VAC 5-313-30 Repealed 25:8 VA.R. 1544 1/1/09 
20 VAC 5-315-10 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3845 8/25/08 
20 VAC 5-315-20 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3845 8/25/08 
20 VAC 5-315-40 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3846 8/25/08 
20 VAC 5-315-50 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3847 8/25/08 
20 VAC 5-403-70 Amended 25:9 VA.R. 1816 1/1/09 
20 VAC 5-414-10 through 20 VAC 5-414-70 Added 25:7 VA.R. 1437-1438 12/1/08 
Title 22. Social Services 
22 VAC 5-10-10 through 22 VAC 5-10-110 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 1122 1/1/09 
22 VAC 5-11-10 through 22 VAC 5-11-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 1122-1125 1/1/09 
22 VAC 5-30-10 through 22 VAC 5-30-60 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3665-3669 1/1/09 
22 VAC 15-10-10 through 22 VAC 15-10-70 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 712 1/1/09 
22 VAC 15-11-10 through 22 VAC 15-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 713-715 1/1/09 
22 VAC 20-10-10 through 22 VAC 20-10-100 Repealed 25:7 VA.R. 1438 1/7/09 
22 VAC 20-11-10 through 22 VAC 20-11-110 Added 25:7 VA.R. 1439-1441 1/7/09 
22 VAC 27-10-10 through 22 VAC 27-10-110 Added 25:7 VA.R. 1442-1445 1/7/09 
22 VAC 30-10-10 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 71 10/15/08 
22 VAC 30-10-20 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 71 10/15/08 
22 VAC 30-10-40 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 71 10/15/08 
22 VAC 30-10-50 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 71 10/15/08 
22 VAC 30-10-60 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 71 10/15/08 
22 VAC 30-11-10 through 22 VAC 30-11-110 Added 25:1 VA.R. 72-74 10/15/08 
22 VAC 40-11-10 through 22 VAC 40-11-70 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 74 1/1/09 
22 VAC 40-12-10 through 22 VAC 40-12-110 Added 25:1 VA.R. 74-78 1/1/09 
22 VAC 40-72-10 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1592 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-30 Repealed 25:8 VA.R. 1598 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-50 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1598 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-90 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1599 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-100 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1600 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-150 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1600 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-190 Repealed 25:8 VA.R. 1600 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-191 Added 25:8 VA.R. 1601 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-200 Repealed 25:8 VA.R. 1601 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-201 Added 25:8 VA.R. 1602 2/5/09 
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22 VAC 40-72-210 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1603 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-220 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1603 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-230 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1605 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-260 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1606 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-290 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1606 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-340 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1607 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-390 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1609 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-420 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1610 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-430 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1610 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-440 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1611 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-630 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1612 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-660 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1613 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-670 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1613 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-910 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1615 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-920 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1615 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-930 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1615 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-950 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1616 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-960 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1616 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-970 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1617 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-1010 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1617 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-1120 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1618 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-151-10 through 22 VAC 40-151-1020 Added 25:3 VA.R. 482-512 1/1/09 
22 VAC 45-11-10 through 22 VAC 45-11-90 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 1125 12/1/08 
22 VAC 45-12-10 through 22 VAC 45-12-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 1125-1128 12/1/08 
Title 23. Taxation 
23 VAC 10-10-10 through 23 VAC 10-10-80 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 730 1/10/09*** 
23 VAC 10-11-10 through 23 VAC 10-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 732-735 1/10/09*** 
23 VAC 10-20-155 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3848 10/1/08 
23 VAC 10-20 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1128 -- 
23 VAC 10-20-160 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1620 3/8/09 
23 VAC 10-20-165 Added 25:8 VA.R. 1622 3/8/09 
23 VAC 10-20-170 Repealed 25:8 VA.R. 1627 3/8/09 
23 VAC 10-20-180 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1628 3/8/09 
23 VAC 10-20-190 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1628 3/8/09 
23 VAC 10-55 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1129 -- 
23 VAC 10-60 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1129 -- 
23 VAC 10-65 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1129 -- 
23 VAC 10-75 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1129 -- 
23 VAC 10-210 (Forms) Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1358 -- 
23 VAC 10-210-20 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3849 10/1/08 
23 VAC 10-210-170 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 736 11/26/08 
23 VAC 10-210-595 Added 25:4 VA.R. 736 11/26/08 
23 VAC 10-210-870 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 736 11/26/08 
23 VAC 10-210-4010 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 736 11/26/08 
23 VAC 10-210-6060 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1632 3/8/09 
23 VAC 10-220 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1129 -- 
23 VAC 10-230 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1129 -- 
23 VAC 10-230-20 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1633 3/8/09 
23 VAC 10-230-30 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1633 3/8/09 

                                                           
*** See erratum (25:6 VA.R. 1375) for effective date 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
23 VAC 10-230-40 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1635 3/8/09 
23 VAC 10-230-70 Added 25:8 VA.R. 1637 3/8/09 
23 VAC 10-230-75 Added 25:8 VA.R. 1637 3/8/09 
23 VAC 10-230-80 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1637 3/8/09 
23 VAC 10-230-90 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1638 3/8/09 
23 VAC 10-230-110 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1639 3/8/09 
23 VAC 10-230-120 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1639 3/8/09 
23 VAC 10-240 (Forms) Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1359 -- 
23 VAC 10-300 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1129 -- 
23 VAC 10-310 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1129 -- 
23 VAC 10-330 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1129 -- 
23 VAC 10-350 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1129 -- 
23 VAC 10-370 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1129 -- 
23 VAC 10-390 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1130 -- 
Title 24. Transportation and Motor Vehicles 
24 VAC 20-10-10 through 24 VAC 20-10-140 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1360 12/24/08 
24 VAC 20-11-10 through 24 VAC 20-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1361-1364 12/24/08 
24 VAC 22-10-10 through 24 VAC 22-10-140 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 752 11/26/08 
24 VAC 22-11-10 through 24 VAC 22-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 753-755 11/26/08 
24 VAC 25-5-10 through 24 VAC 25-5-110 Added 25:7 VA.R. 1445-1448 1/7/09 
24 VAC 25-10-10 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 519 10/13/08 
24 VAC 25-20-10 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 519 10/13/08 
24 VAC 27-10-10 through 24 VAC 27-10-120 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1364 12/24/08 
24 VAC 27-11-10 through 24 VAC 27-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1364-1367 12/24/08 
24 VAC 27-30-10 through 24 VAC 27-30-190 Added 25:1 VA.R. 78-89 10/15/08 
24 VAC 30-10-10 through 24 VAC 30-10-70 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1367 12/24/08 
24 VAC 30-11-10 through 24 VAC 30-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1367-1370 12/24/08 
24 VAC 30-15-10 Repealed 25:10 VA.R. 1863 2/18/09 
24 VAC 30-16-10 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 520 11/12/08 
24 VAC 30-380-10 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1130 10/22/08 
24 VAC 35-10-10 through 24 VAC 35-10-70 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 1131 12/10/08 
24 VAC 35-11-10 through 24 VAC 35-11-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 1132-1134 12/10/08 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 3. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Board intends to consider amending the following 
regulations: 3VAC5-50, Retail Operations. The purpose of 
the proposed action is to adopt a definition of the term 
"dessert wines" as used in subdivision A 12 of § 4.1-210 of 
the Code of Virginia. A 2008 act of the General Assembly 
allows the holders of limited mixed beverage restaurant 
licenses to sell and serve "dessert wines" as defined by board 
regulation. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on March 4, 2009. 

Agency Contact: W. Curtis Coleburn III, Chief Operating 
Officer, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 
Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-
4409, FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, or email 
curtis.coleburn@abc.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1605; Filed January 13, 2009, 10:05 a.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Board intends to consider amending the following 
regulations: 3VAC5-70, Other Provisions. The purpose of 
the proposed action is to carry out the mandate of Chapter 
513 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly, which amends § 4.1-227 
of the Code of Virginia and requires the Alcoholic Beverage 
Control Board to promulgate a regulation providing for a 
reduction in penalty in certain disciplinary actions against 
licensees where the licensee can demonstrate that it has 
provided certified alcohol server training to its employees. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on March 4, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Jeffrey L. Painter, Chief Administrative 
Officer, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, P.O. Box 
27491, Richmond, VA 23261, telephone (804) 213-4621, 

FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, or email 
jeffrey.painter@abc.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1678; Filed January 8, 2009, 4:41 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Corrections intends to 
consider amending the following regulations: 6VAC15-40, 
Minimum Standards for Jails and Lockups. The purpose 
of the proposed action is to review and update the regulation, 
as necessary, to address operational and supervision issues 
related to inmate access to physical activities, medical 
copayments, staff training, and frequency of inspections. 
Additional amendments may include document organization 
as it applies to audit and compliance documentation. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 53.1-5; 53.1-68, and 53.1-131 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on March 4, 2009. 

Agency Contact: William Wilson, Compliance and 
Accreditation Unit, Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore 
Drive, Richmond, VA 23225, telephone (804) 674-3499, 
FAX (804) 674-3587, or email 
william.t.wilson@vadoc.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1738; Filed January 13, 2009, 2:55 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

REGISTRAR’S NOTICE: The Board of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 
are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law 
where no agency discretion is involved. The Board of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services will receive, consider and 
respond to petitions from any interested person at any time 
with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-60. Rules and Regulations 
Governing the Operation of Livestock Markets (amending 
2VAC5-60-10).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 3.2-6001, 3.2-6002, and 3.2-6004 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Colleen Calderwood, DVM, Program 
Manager, Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 
P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-
2483, FAX (804) 371-2380, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 
colleen.calderwood@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update citations to reflect the 
recodification of Title 3.1 to Title 3.2 of the Code of 
Virginia, which became effective October 1, 2008. 

2VAC5-60-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 
shall have the following meaning, meanings unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Animal waste" means livestock or poultry excreta and 
associated feed losses, bedding, litter or other materials. 

"Brucellosis" means a disease of cattle, goats, and swine 
caused by the bacterium Brucella. 

"Cull pigs" means those swine offered for sale that do not 
pass veterinary health inspection. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services. 

"Feeder or breeder swine" means all swine except slaughter 
swine. 

"Interstate health certificate" means a legible record 
covering the requirements for the importation of animals into 
the Commonwealth of Virginia, executed on an approved 
form of the state of origin and bearing the endorsement of the 
livestock health official of that state. 

"Livestock" means farm animals kept for use and profit such 
as cattle, sheep, swine, goats, and horses. 

"Livestock inspector" means an employee of the State 
Veterinarian who is assigned to each livestock market for the 
purpose of carrying out the orders of the State Veterinarian. 

"Livestock market" means any premise where animals are 
habitually assembled for sale or exchange as outlined in 
§ 3.1-737 3.2-6012 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Official brucellosis test" means a blood serum test for 
brucellosis, commonly called the card test. 

"Reactors" means those animals which react positive to the 
official test for brucellosis. 

"Slaughter swine" means those swine offered for sale, sold 
or exchanged for immediate slaughter, which are shipped 
without diversion to a state or federally inspected 
slaughtering establishment for immediate slaughter. 

"State Veterinarian" means a Virginia Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services veterinarian employed by 
the Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services 
who is resposible for the animal health programs in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"State waters" means all waters of any river, creek, branch, 
lake, reservoir, pond, bay, roadstead, estuary, inlet, spring, 
well; and bodies of surface or underground water, natural or 
artificial, wholly or partially within or bordering the 
Commonwealth or within its jurisdiction. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1695; Filed January 13, 2009, 11:20 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-190. Rules and Regulations 
Establishing a Monitoring Program for Avian Influenza 
and other Poultry Diseases (amending 2VAC5-190-30). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 3.2-6001 and 3.2-6002 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2009. 
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Agency Contact: Colleen Calderwood, DVM, Program 
Manager, Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 
P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-
2483, FAX (804) 371-2380, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 
colleen.calderwood@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update citations to reflect the 
recodification of Title 3.1 to Title 3.2 of the Code of 
Virginia, which became effective October 1, 2008. 

2VAC5-190-30. Specimen submissions.  

A. All growers of poultry shall submit to a state laboratory 
for diagnostic testing specimens from poultry they grow, as 
specified in subsection C of this section.  

B. All persons operating slaughtering plants, egg plants, 
hatcheries, layer houses, or any other poultry-raising, poultry-
keeping or poultry-handling endeavor also shall submit such 
specimens from poultry they grow, handle, or process, as 
specified in subsection C of this section.  

C. Specimens from poultry submitted pursuant to 
subsections A and B of this section for laboratory analysis 
shall be for diseases governed by § 3.1-726 3.2-6002 of the 
Code of Virginia in the number and kind and at a time 
designated by the State Veterinarian.  

D. Specimens submitted in accordance with subsection C of 
this section shall be from the following classes of poultry.  

1. Chickens  

a. Slaughter birds  

b. Broiler breeders  

c. Layers  

d. Layer breeders  

e. Broilers  

f. Pullets  

g. Cockerels  

2. Turkeys  

a. Slaughter birds  

b. Turkey breeders  

c. Commercial toms and hens  

d. Poults  

3. Game birds  

a. Bobwhite quail  

b. Chukar partridge  

c. Pheasant  

d. Others  

E. Specimens that are required for laboratory testing to 
detect infectious and contagious diseases shall be submitted 
as directed by the State Veterinarian from the following:  

1. Exhibition birds;  

2. Birds from small privately owned layer flocks;  

3. Birds on game farms; and  

4. Birds in backyard flocks.  

F. Disposition of poultry that have recovered from infectious 
or contagious diseases. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit 
the marketing of poultry that have recovered from avian 
influenza, but the marketing of such recovered poultry shall 
occur only with the prior approval of the State Veterinarian.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1696; Filed January 13, 2009, 11:21 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-205. Rules and Regulations 
Pertaining to Shooting Enclosures (amending 2VAC5-
205-20).  

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-6039 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Colleen Calderwood, DVM, Program 
Manager, Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 
P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-
2483, FAX (804) 371-2380, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 
colleen.calderwood@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update citations to reflect the 
recodification of Title 3.1 to Title 3.2 of the Code of 
Virginia, which became effective October 1, 2008. 

2VAC5-205-20. General provisions. 

A. Persons holding animals listed in subsection G of this 
section in Virginia for the purpose of recreational shooting 
must make application for and obtain an annual shooting 
enclosure license from the Virginia Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS). A topographic 
map showing the boundaries of the fenced shooting enclosure 
and a contingency plan that they are capable of executing, 
specifying how they will eradicate and control any disease 
outbreak or recover escaped animals must accompany the 
application for a license.  

B. Applicants must state on the application that the shooting 
enclosure complies with all county and city ordinances and 
statutes.  

C. No license shall be issued without prior inspection and 
approval from a representative of VDACS. The applicant 
must contact the regional veterinary supervisor in the 
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respective region to schedule an appointment for the 
inspection.  

D. A one-time application fee plus an annual license fee as 
set forth in § 3.1-763.5:4 3.2-6038 of the Code of Virginia 
will be required of each licensee.  

E. Operators of a shooting enclosure shall be liable for all 
costs incurred by any person, city, county, the 
Commonwealth of Virginia or federal government, resulting 
from escape of animals or disease eradication or control 
efforts resulting from animals confined to or escaped from the 
shooting enclosure.  

F. Operators of shooting enclosures must notify VDACS 
Regional Veterinary Supervisor within 24 hours of first 
discovering a diseased, dead, or escaped animal; and the 
carcass must be submitted to the nearest VDACS regional 
laboratory for necropsy.  

G. Animals allowed under a shooting enclosure permit are 
restricted to the following:  

1. Goats: Ibex (Capra ibex), Iranian Ibex (C. hircus), 
Angora (C. hircus);  

2. Sheep: Four-horned or Jacob's (Ovis aries), Black 
Hawaiian (O. musimon), Corsican (O. corsican), Merino 
(O. aries), Mouflon (O. musimon); and  

3. Swine: Swine (Sus scrofa).  

H. A shooting enclosure shall have a minimum of 100 
adjoining acres. The applicant shall own or have the area 
under written lease. Shooting enclosures not contiguous with 
each other shall be operated under separate licenses.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1698; Filed January 13, 2009, 11:21 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-210. Rules and Regulations 
Pertaining to Meat and Poultry Inspection Under the 
Virginia Meat and Poultry Products Inspection Act 
(amending 2VAC5-210-20). 

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-5406 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Richard. C. Hackenbracht, Program 
Manager, Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 
P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-
4569, FAX (804) 786-1003, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 
richard.hackenbracht@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update citations to reflect the 
recodification of Title 3.1 to Title 3.2 of the Code of 
Virginia, which became effective October 1, 2008. 

2VAC5-210-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 
have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Act" means the Virginia Meat and Poultry Products 
Inspection Act (§ 3.1-884.17 3.2-5400 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia).  

"Administrator" means the Director of the Division of 
Animal and Food Industry Services, or any other officer or 
employee of the department to whom authority has heretofore 
been delegated or may hereafter be delegated to act in his 
stead.  

"Commerce" means commerce within the Commonwealth 
of Virginia.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services.  

"Federal" means "Virginia."  

"Federally inspected and passed" means Virginia inspected 
and passed.  

"Interstate" means intrastate.  

"Program" means the Office of Meat and Poultry Services, 
Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.  

"Secretary" means the Commissioner of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services.  

"Food Safety Inspection Service" means the Virginia meat 
and poultry inspection program.  

"United States" or "U.S." means "Virginia."  

"U.S. Brands and Legends" means "Virginia Brands and 
Legends."  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1699; Filed January 13, 2009, 11:21 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-230. Rules and Regulations 
Applicable to Controlled Atmosphere (CA) Apples 
(amending 2VAC5-230-30, 2VAC5-230-50, 2VAC5-230-
60). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 3.2-4601 and 3.2-4605 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Thomas H. Smith, Agriculture and 
Consumer Services Supervisor, Department of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 786-3548, FAX (804) 371-7785, TTY 
(800) 828-1120, or email thomas.smith@vdacs.virginia.gov. 
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Summary: 

The amendments update citations to reflect the 
recodification of Title 3.1 to Title 3.2 of the Code of 
Virginia, which became effective October 1, 2008. 

2VAC5-230-30. Requirements for selling (CA) apples.  

Any person selling (or placing in transit for first shipment or 
delivery) any apples identified as being from controlled 
atmosphere shall provide an invoice which shows the 
assigned identification number and the original certificate 
number, as required by § 3.1-993 3.2-4608 of the Code of 
Virginia. Enforcement officials may investigate and examine 
records and invoices relating to any transactions in 
connection with this chapter in order to confirm that apples 
have met these requirements.  

2VAC5-230-50. CA registration by other states.  

Any person who owns or operates a controlled atmosphere 
room, or storage building, or who engages in the business of 
packing or repacking apples which have been held in 
controlled atmosphere storage where business is local or 
outside Virginia and who intends to, or does, market in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia apples so treated and represented 
as having been exposed to "controlled atmosphere" storage 
shall register with the commissioner in the same manner as 
any person within this Commonwealth. Provided, however, 
that where such person has registered with the proper 
authorities in the state of origin and has been assigned a 
comparable registration number or CA identification number 
under the authority of laws or regulations of such state, he 
may use that registration if that state has laws or regulations 
comparable to the CA provisions of § 3.1-995 3.2-4603 of the 
Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

2VAC5-230-60. Inspection and certification fees.  

The authority of the board contained in § 3.1-1001 3.2-4605 
of the Code of Virginia to prescribe fees for the inspection 
and certification of CA apples is delegated to the 
commissioner.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1700; Filed January 13, 2009, 11:21 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-320. Regulations for the 
Enforcement of the Endangered Plant and Insect Species 
Act (amending 2VAC5-320-10). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 3.2-1002 and 3.2-1005 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Frank Fulgham, Program Manager, 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 
1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-3515, FAX 
(804) 371-7793, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 
frank.fulgham@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update citations to reflect the 
recodification of Title 3.1 to Title 3.2 of the Code of 
Virginia, which became effective October 1, 2008. 

2VAC5-320-10. Listing of endangered and threatened 
plant and insect species.  

A. The Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services hereby 
adopts the following regulation in order to protect designated 
plant and insect species that exist in this Commonwealth. All 
designated species are subject to all sections of the Virginia 
Endangered Plant and Insect Species Act (§§ 3.1-1020 3.2-
1000 through 3.1-1030 3.2-1011 of the Code of Virginia).  

B. The following plant and insect species are hereby 
declared an endangered species:  

1. Cardamine micranthera, small-anthered bittercress.  

2. Carex juniperorum, juniper sedge.  

3. Corallorhiza bentley, Bentley's coralroot.  

4. Fimbristylis perpusilla, Harper's fimbristylis.  

5. Helenium virginicum, Virginia sneezeweed.  

6. Helonias bullata, swamp-pink.  

7. Ilex collina, long-stalked holly.  

8. Iliamna corei, Peter's mountain mallow.  

9. Isotria medeoloides, small whorled pogonia.  

10. Neonympha mitchellii, Mitchell's satyr butterfly.  

11. Nestronia umbellula, nestronia.  

12. Ptilimnium nodosum, harperella.  

13. Puto kosztarabi, Buffalo Mountain mealybug.  

14. Pseudanophthalmus holsingeri, Holsinger's cave beetle.  

15. Scirpus ancistrochaetus, Northeastern bulrush.  

16. Sigara depressa, Virginia Piedmont water boatman.  

17. Spiraea virginiana, Virginia spiraea.  

18. Trifolium calcaricum, running glade clover.  

C. The following plant and insect species are hereby 
declared a threatened species:  

1. Aeschynomene virginica, sensitive-joint vetch.  

2. Amaranthus pumilus, seabeach amaranth.  

3. Arabis serotina, shale barren rock cress.  

4. Cicindela dorsalis dorsalis, Northeastern beach tiger 
beetle.  

5. Echinacea laevigata, smooth coneflower.  
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6. Juncus caesariensis, New Jersey rush.  

7. Lycopodiella margueritiae, Northern prostrate clubmoss.  

8. Nuphar sagittifolia, narrow-leaved spatterdock.  

9. Platanthera leucophaea, Eastern prairie fringed orchid.  

10. Pyrgus wyandot, Appalachian grizzled skipper.  

11. Rhus michauxii, Michaux's sumac.  

12. Scirpus flaccidifolius, reclining bulrush.  
VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1702; Filed January 13, 2009, 11:22 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-325. Regulations Governing 
Pine Shoot Beetle (amending 2VAC5-325-10). 

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-109 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Larry Nichols, Program Manager, 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 
1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-3515, FAX 
(804) 371-7793, or email larry.nichols@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update citations to reflect the 
recodification of Title 3.1 to Title 3.2 of the Code of 
Virginia, which became effective October 1, 2008. 

2VAC5-325-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms shall have the following 
meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Certificate" means a document in which an inspector 
affirms that a specified regulated article is free of pine shoot 
beetle and may be moved to any destination outside the area 
under quarantine.  

"Compliance agreement" means a written agreement 
between a person engaged in growing, handling, receiving or 
moving regulated articles and the Virginia Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services, the U.S. Department of 
Agriculture, or both, wherein the former agrees to comply 
with the requirements of the compliance agreement.  

"Infestation" means the presence of the pine shoot beetle or 
the existence of circumstances that make it reasonable to 
believe that the pine shoot beetle is present.  

"Inspector" means any employee of the Virginia Department 
of Agriculture and Consumer Services, or other person 
authorized by the commissioner to enforce the provisions of 
the quarantine or regulation.  

"Limited permit" or "permit" means a document in which an 
inspector affirms that the regulated article identified on the 
document is eligible for movement in accordance with this 

regulation only to a specified destination and only in 
accordance with specified conditions.  

"Moved," "move," or "movement" means shipped, offered 
for shipment, received for transportation, transported, carried, 
or allowed to be moved, shipped, transported, or carried.  

"Person" means any association, company, corporation, 
firm, individual, joint stock company, partnership, society, or 
other entity.  

"Pine nursery stock" means all Pinus spp. woody plants, 
shrubs, and rooted trees, including dug (balled and burlaped) 
Christmas trees, and ornamental pine, such as bonsai.  

"Pine shoot beetle" means the insect known as pine shoot 
beetle, Tomicus piniperda (Linnaeus), in any stage of 
development.  

"Virginia Pest Law" means the statute set forth in Article 6 
(§ 3.1-188.20 et seq.) of Chapter 13 Chapter 7 (§ 3.2-700 et 
seq.) of Title 3.1 3.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1703; Filed January 13, 2009, 11:22 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-330. Rules and Regulations for 
Enforcement of the Virginia Pest Law-Virginia Gypsy 
Moth Quarantine (amending 2VAC5-330-10). 

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-703 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Larry M. Nichols, Program Manager, 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 
1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-3515, FAX 
(804) 371-7793, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 
larry.nichols@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update citations to reflect the 
recodification of Title 3.1 to Title 3.2 of the Code of 
Virginia, which became effective October 1, 2008. 

2VAC5-330-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 
shall have the following meaning, meanings unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Associated equipment" means articles associated with 
mobile homes and recreational vehicles such as, but not 
limited to: awnings, tents, outdoor furniture, trailer blocks, LP 
gas containers and trailer skirts.  

"Compliance agreement" means a written agreement 
between a person engaged in growing, handling, or moving 
regulated articles, and the VDACS, U.S. Department of 
Agriculture (USDA), or both, wherein the former agrees to 
comply with the requirements of the compliance agreement.  
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"Gypsy moth" means the insect "Lymantria dispar" 
(Linnaeus) in any living stage.  

"Hazardous recreational vehicle site" means any site where a 
recreational vehicle is, or may be parked, which is determined 
by an inspector to harbor populations of gypsy moth that 
could be spread by movement of recreational vehicles or 
associated equipment.  

"Inspector" means any employee of the Virginia Department 
of Agriculture and Consumer Services, or other person 
authorized by the commissioner to enforce the provisions of 
the quarantine and chapter.  

"Mobile home" means any vehicle, other than a recreational 
vehicle, designed to serve, when parked, as a dwelling or 
place of business.  

"Outdoor household articles" means articles associated with 
a household that have been kept outside the home, including 
but not limited to outdoor furniture, barbeque grills, building 
materials, children's play things, yard items, trash cans, dog 
houses, boats, hauling trailers, garden tools, tents, and 
awnings.  

"Recreational vehicles" means highway vehicles, including 
pickup truck campers, one-piece motor homes, and camping 
or travel trailers, designed to serve as a temporary dwelling.  

"Scientific permit" means a document issued by the Virginia 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services to 
authorize movement of regulated articles to a specified 
destination for scientific purposes.  

"Virginia Pest Law" means that law set forth in Article 6 (§ 
3.1-188.20 et seq.) of Chapter 13 Chapter 7 (§ 3.2-700 et 
seq.) of Title 3.1 3.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1704; Filed January 13, 2009, 11:23 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-340. Rules and Regulations for 
the Enforcement of the Virginia Weights and Measures 
Law (amending 2VAC5-340-140, 2VAC5-340-170, 
2VAC5-340-180).  

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-5607 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Robert E. Bailey, Program Manager, 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 
1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-1274, FAX 
(804) 786-1571, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 
robert.bailey@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update citations to reflect the 
recodification of Title 3.1 to Title 3.2 of the Code of 
Virginia, which became effective October 1, 2008. 

2VAC5-340-140. Food products.8 

A. Berries and Small Fruits. Shall be offered and exposed 
for sale and sold by weight or by volume in open measure 
containers having capacities per subdivision 1 or 2 of this 
subsection and when sold by volume, the containers shall be 
deemed not to be packages for labeling purposes.  

1. Inch-Pound Capacities - ½ dry pint, 1 dry pint, or 1 dry 
quart.  

2. Metric Capacities - 250 milliliters, 500 milliliters, or 1 
liter.  

B. Butter, Oleomargarine, and Margarine.9 Shall be offered 
and exposed for sale and sold by weight per subsection 1 or 2 
of this section.  

1. Inch-Pound-Weights - ¼ pound, ½ pound, 1 pound, or a 
multiple of 1 pound.  

2. Metric Weights - 125 grams, 250 grams, 500 grams, or a 
multiple of 500 grams.  

C. Flour, Cornmeal, and Hominy Grits. Wheat flour, whole 
wheat flour, graham flour, self-rising wheat flour, phosphated 
wheat flour, bromated flour, corn flour, cornmeal, and 
hominy grits whether enriched or not, shall be packaged, 
kept, offered, or exposed for sale, or sold only in weights per 
subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection; provided, that inch-
pound sizes less than 2 pounds or more than 100 pounds and 
that metric sizes less than 1 kilogram or more than 50 
kilograms shall be permitted.  

(a) Inch-Pound Weights - 2, 5, 10, 25, 50, or 100 pounds.  

(b) Metric Weights - 1, 2.5, 5, 10, 25, or 50 kilograms. 
(Section 3.1-952 Weights and Measures Law [repealed]).  

D. Meat, Poultry, Fish, and Seafood10. Shall be sold by 
weight, except that shellfish may be sold by weight, measure, 
or count.  

1. Combination With Other Foods. When meat, poultry, 
fish or seafood is combined with some other food element 
to form a distinctive food product, the quantity 
representation may be in terms of the total weight of the 
product or combination, and a quantity representation need 
not be made for each element.  

2. Stuffed Fish, Seafood, Poultry or Meat Products. In the 
case of ready-to-cook stuffed fish, seafood, poultry, or 
meat products, the label must show the total net weight of 
the stuffed fish, seafood, poultry or meat products and the 
minimum net weight of the fish, seafood, poultry or meat 
in the product excluding the fish, seafood, meat, or poultry 
that may be part of the stuffing.  

Excluding the poultry or meat that may be part of the 
stuffing. (Required by the United States Department of 
Agriculture).  



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations February 2, 2009 

1895 

E. Clams, Mussels, Oysters, and other Mollusks.  

1. Whole clams, mussels, oysters, and other mollusks in 
the shell (fresh or frozen) shall be sold by weight 
(including the weight of the shell, but not including the 
liquid or ice packed with them), dry measure (e.g., bushel), 
or count. In addition, size designations may be provided.  

2. Whole clams, mussels, oysters, or other mollusks on the 
half shell (fresh, cooked, smoked, or frozen, with or 
without sauces or spices added) shall be sold by weight 
(excluding the weight of the shell) or by count. Size 
designations may also be provided.  

3. Fresh clams, mussels, oysters, or other mollusks 
removed from the shell and placed in a container shall be 
sold by fluid volume, with free liquid not to exceed 15% 
by weight.  

4. Processed clams, mussels, oysters, or other mollusks on 
the half shell (fresh or frozen) shall be sold by net weight 
excluding the weight of the shell. The term "processed" 
means removing the meat from the shell and chopping it or 
cutting it or commingling it with other solid foods.  

5. Canned (heat-processed) clams, mussels, oysters, or 
other mollusks shall be sold by net weight, with free liquid 
not to exceed 41% by weight for canned oysters.  

F. Pickles. The declaration of net quantity of contents on 
pickles and pickles products, including relishes but excluding 
one or two whole pickles in a transparent wrapping which 
may be declared by count, shall be expressed in terms of 
liquid measure. Sales of pickles from bulk may be by count.  

G. Pricing of Bulk Food Commodities. Bulk food 
commodities or food commodities not in package form and 
sold by weight shall be priced in terms of whole units of 
weight and not in common or decimal fractions.  

H. Ready-To-Eat Food. The following may be sold by 
weight, measure, or count:  

1. Items sold for consumption on the premises;  

2. Items sold as one of three or more different elements, 
excluding condiments, comprising a ready-to-eat meal sold 
as a unit, for consumption elsewhere than on the premises 
where sold;  

3. Ready-to-eat chicken parts cooked on the premises but 
not packaged in advance of sale;  

4. Sandwiches and sandwich-like commodities when 
offered or exposed for sale on the premises where packed 
or produced and not intended for resale.  

8 Packages subject to the Federal Fair Packaging and Labeling Act must be 
labeled in inch-pound units of measure. Metric units may also be declared on 
the principal display panel and may even appear first. 
9 Oleomargarine and margarine are not permitted in multiples of one pound, 
500 grams, or multiples of 500 grams because Section 407(b)(2) of the 

Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act prohibits margarine and 
oleomargarine packaged in sizes greater than one pound. 
10 See 2VAC5-340-140 for additional requirements for ready-to-eat food. 

2VAC5-340-170. General. 

A. Presentation of Price. Whenever an advertised, posted, or 
labeled price per unit of weight, measure, or count for any 
commodity includes a fraction of a cent, all elements of the 
fraction shall be prominently displayed, and the numerals 
expressing the fraction shall be immediately adjacent to, of 
the same general design and style as, and at least one-half of 
the height and width of the numerals representing the whole 
cent. (Weights and Measures Law Section 3.1-949) § 3.2-
5631)  

B. Allowable Differences: Combination Quantity 
Declarations. Whenever the method of sale for a bulk or 
packaged commodity requires the use of a statement, that 
includes count in addition to weight, measure, or size, the 
following shall apply to the particular commodity:  

1. Beverageware: Pressed and Blown Tumblers and 
Stemware. The allowable difference between actual and 
declared capacity shall be:  

a. For Inch-Pound:  

(1) Plus or minus ¼ fluid ounce for items of five fluid 
ounce capacity or less;  

(2) Plus or minus 5% of the stated capacity for items over 
five fluid ounce capacity.  

b. For Metric:  

(1) Plus or minus 10 milliliters for items of 200 milliliter 
capacity or less;  

(2) Plus or minus 5% of the stated capacity for items over 
200 milliliter capacity.  

C. Machine Vended Commodities. All vending machines 
dispensing packaged commodities shall indicate:  

1. Product identity.  

2. Net Quantity.  

3. Name, address, and telephone number of responsible 
party.  

The requirements for product identity and net quantity can 
be met either by display of the package or by information 
posted on the outside of the machine.  

D. Railroad Car Tare Weights. Whenever stenciled tare 
weights on freight cars are employed in the sale of 
commodities or the assessment of freight charges, the 
following conditions and requirements shall apply:  

1. Newly or Restenciled Tare Weights. All newly stenciled 
or restenciled tare weights shall be accurately represented 
to the nearest 100 pounds for inch-pound units and the 
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nearest 50 kilograms for metric units and the representation 
shall include the date of weighing.  

2. Allowable Differences. The allowable difference 
between actual tare weight and stenciled tare weight on 
freight cars in use shall be per subdivision D 2 a or b of 
this section.  

a. Inch-pound allowable difference:  

(1) Plus or minus 300 pounds for cars 50,000 pounds or 
less;  

(2) Plus or minus 400 pounds for cars over 50,000 
pounds to and including 60,000 pounds;  

(3) Plus or minus 500 pounds for cars over 60,000 
pounds.  

b. Metric allowable difference:  

(1) Plus or minus 150 kilograms for cars 25,000 
kilograms or less;  

(2) Plus or minus 200 kilograms for cars over 25,000 
kilograms to and including 30,000 kilograms;  

(3) Plus or minus 250 kilograms for cars over 30,000 
kilograms.  

3. Change of Stenciled Weights. Tare weight 
determinations for verification or change of stenciled 
weights shall only be made on properly prepared and 
adequately cleaned freight cars.  

4. Responsibility For Reweighing and Restenciling. Tank 
cars, covered hopper cars, flat cars equipped with 
multideck racks, or special superstructure, mechanical 
refrigerator cars, and house-type cars equipped with special 
lading protective devices must be reweighed and 
restenciled only by owners or other authorized 
representatives:  

(a) When car bears no light weight (empty weight) 
stenciling;  

(b) When repairs or alterations result in a change of 
weight in excess of the permissible lightweight tolerance.  

2VAC5-340-180. Exemptions from sealing or marking 
and/or annual retesting of weights and measures devices.  

A. Weights and Measures Specifically Exempted. The 
weights and measures listed below shall be specifically 
exempted from the sealing and marking requirements of §§ 
3.1-926 3.2-5607 and 3.1-934 3.2-5613 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

B. Annual Retesting Exemption. The weights and measures 
listed below shall be specifically exempted from the annual 
retesting requirements of §§ 3.1-926 3.2-5607 and 3.1-928 
3.2-5609 of the Code of Virginia, and shall be retested only 
as required:  

1. Vehicle tanks used as measures.*  

2. Farm milk tanks.*  

3. Liquid measures.*  

4. Glass graduates.*  

5. Measures containers.*  

6. Linear measures.*  

7. Dry measures.*  

* Whenever an item of this class is damaged, repaired, or 
modified in any way that affects the accuracy of 
measurement, it shall not thereafter be used for measurement 
until it has been officially inspected and reapproved.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1705; Filed January 13, 2009, 11:23 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-350. Rules and Regulations for 
the Enforcement of the Virginia Commission Merchant 
Law (amending 2VAC5-350-10 through 2VAC5-350-60, 
2VAC5-350-80). 

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-4704 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Robert E. Bailey, Program Manager, 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 
1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-1274, FAX 
(804) 786-1571, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 
robert.bailey@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update citations to reflect the 
recodification of Title 3.1 to Title 3.2 of the Code of 
Virginia, which became effective October 1, 2008. 

2VAC5-350-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 
shall have the following meaning, meanings unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise.  

"Buyer bill" means the document generated by the licensee 
showing the tobacco purchased by each buyer at each sale.  

"Check register" means the daily journal that is maintained 
by the licensee to record each check issued by the warehouse 
covering tobacco sales.  

"Coupon" means any one of the copies of the ticket.  

"Long and short" document means the document provided 
by the buyer showing the adjustment in the bill to reflect 
tobacco received and paid for by the buyer.  

"Ticket" means the document which is used to identify a 
single sale unit in the auction system.  
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"Tobacco sale bill" or "Floor sheet" means the document 
that is used to record the data from the ticket covering the 
sales transaction of individual sellers.  

"Virginia Weights and Measure Law" means regulations 
promulgated under the requirements of Chapter 35 56 (§ 3.1-
919 3.2-5600 et seq.) of Title 3.1 3.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

2VAC5-350-20. Applicability.  

This chapter shall apply to tobacco auction warehouses 
licensed under the Commission Merchants Law, Article 2 (§ 
3.1-692 et seq.) of Chapter 26 Chapter 47 (§ 3.2-4709 et seq.) 
of Title 3.1 3.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

2VAC5-350-30. Records to be kept.  

A. For the purpose of complying with § 3.1-713(h) 3.2-4729 
(8) of the Code of Virginia, and in order to give a true 
account of sales as required in § 3.1-709(c) 3.2-4724 (3) of 
the Code of Virginia, the following records shall be kept by 
the licensee and made available for inspection by the 
Commissioner commissioner. This does not preclude the 
inclusion of other information needed by the licensee or 
others:  

1. Sequentially numbered tickets covering sales 
transactions. A sale transaction is defined as a transaction 
appearing on the tobacco sales bill for which the seller 
received payment.  

2. Preprinted sequentially numbered tobacco sale bills, 
including voided tobacco sale bills.  

3. Check registers.  

4. Buyer bills or recap sheet of buyers bills.  

5. Long and short documents.  

B. The licensee shall accurately record on the ticket:  

1. Seller identification. (Grower's name or crop number.)  

2. Warehouse number or name.  

3. Ticket number - preprinted sequential numbers meet this 
requirement for flue-cured. Sale bill number plus line 
number suffix and basket number meets this requirement 
for burley.  

4. Tobacco sale bill number.  

5. Date of weighing.  

6. Net weight.  

7. Buyer.  

8. Price.  

And provide space for the USDA inspector to record:  

9. USDA grade.  

10. Date of grading.  

11. Grader identification.  

C. The licensee shall accurately record on the tobacco sale 
bill:  

1. Tobacco sale bill number - preprinted sequential 
numbers meet this requirement.  

2. Sale date.  

3. Seller identification.  

4. Warehouse identification.  

5. The following information for each ticket covered by the 
tobacco sale bill:  

a. Ticket number or basket number.  

b. Buyer.  

c. Net weight.  

d. Price per pound.  

e. Sale extension - amount.  

6. Warehouse charges.  

7. Excise tax deduction.  

8. Amount paid seller.  

D. The licensee shall accurately record in the check register 
or other comparable record the following information:  

1. Check number.  

2. Date of issue.  

3. Tobacco sale bill number.  

4. Amount paid.  

E. The licensee shall accurately record the following 
information on the buyer bill for each sale unit purchased by 
the buyer:  

1. Ticket or basket number.  

2. Net weight.  

3. Price.  

4. Tobacco sale extension - amount.  

2VAC5-350-40. Accountability for alterations to records.  

A. Alterations. Section 3.1-713(h) 3.2-4729 (8) of the Code 
of Virginia requires that "any record which is altered in any 
fashion must bear the full signature of the person authorized 
to make, and who is responsible for, the alteration." For the 
purpose of this chapter, alterations to such records shall apply 
only to tickets and tobacco sale bills. Such alterations made 
by the warehouse owner, operator, ticket marker, or 
bookkeeper may be identified by their initials, provided that 
their full signature and the initials to be used are posted in the 
tobacco warehouse office.  



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations February 2, 2009 

1898 

1. Ticket. Alterations to the ticket shall apply only to the 
weight, buyer, or price; and shall have the full signature or 
initials permitted in this subsection of the person 
authorized to make, and who is responsible for, the 
alteration.  

2. Tobacco sale bill. Alterations on tobacco sale bills shall 
apply only to the weight, buyer, price, or total net amount 
due to the seller; and shall have the full signature or initials 
permitted in this subsection of the person authorized to 
make, and who is responsible for, the alteration.  

B. Full signature. For the purpose of § 3.1-713(h) 3.2-4729 
(8) of the Code of Virginia and this chapter, the following 
examples are considered full signatures:  

(1) 1. John Henry Jones  

(2) 2. John H. Jones  

(3) 3. John Jones  

(4) 4. J.H. Jones  

(5) 5. J. Jones  

2VAC5-350-50. Sales rejected by the seller.  

For the purpose of meeting the requirements of § 3.1-713(h) 
3.2-4729 (8) of the Code of Virginia, any record which that is 
altered because of a rejected sale by the seller shall be so 
indicated on the tobacco sale bill by the word "rejected," or 
the letter "R," and properly initialed as permitted by 
subsection A of 2VAC5-350-40. The rejected sale ticket or 
coupon is not required to be kept.  

2VAC5-350-60. Authorization from consignor for licensee 
to buy tobacco for his own account except during auction.  

For the purpose of § 3.1-718(e) 3.2-4737 (5) of the Code of 
Virginia, prior authority from the consignor in writing is 
required only when the licensee purchases the tobacco for his 
own account except at auction. Where prior written authority 
has not been obtained from the consignor, a telephone 
conversation or other oral authorization by the consignor 
permitting the licensee to buy his tobacco for his own account 
shall be permitted, provided that written authorization is 
given by the consignor signing the ticket or other appropriate 
statement before a final sale is consummated.  

The licensee does not need written authorization to act in 
behalf of a producer by rejecting a sale and making 
disposition of the tobacco in accordance with 2VAC5-350-80 
as follows:  

1. Holding for resale at auction.  

2. Reselling to the original buyer at a higher price.  

3. Reselling to another buyer at the same or a higher price.  

2VAC5-350-80. Alterations to tickets and tobacco sales 
bills. 

Alterations to weight, buyer, price, or total amount due the 
producer may be made by persons authorized to make, and 
who are responsible for, such alterations under the following 
conditions and requirements:  

1. Weight on ticket. Only persons authorized by 2VAC5-
340-190 may alter weights on tickets. Changes shall be 
initialed as provided in 2VAC5-340-190.  

2. Buyer or price on ticket during auction. As long as the 
auctioneer controls the sale, the ticket marker is authorized 
to make, and is responsible for, alterations on the ticket as 
to the buyer or price. Changes must be initialed by the 
ticket marker.  

3. Buyer or price on ticket after auction. When the 
auctioneer is no longer in control of the sale, alterations on 
the ticket as to the buyer or price may be made by the 
person outlined below with signature as indicated:  

a. When the producer rejects a sale, the following 
disposition of the sales unit may be made:  

(1) Producer may hold for resale - no signature required.  

(2) Producer may sell to original buyer at a higher price. 
The original buyer must sign the ticket.  

(3) Producer may sell to another buyer. The producer and 
the new buyer must sign the ticket.  

b. When the original buyer finds a sale unit to be 
objectionable, the following disposition of the sale unit 
may be made:  

(1) The original buyer may sell the sale unit to another 
buyer who may be the licensee. Both the original buyer 
and the new buyer, including the licensee if he is the new 
buyer, must sign the ticket; or  

(2) In the event the sale unit is found to be nested, 
unsound or unsafe, or contains foreign matter or inferior 
tobacco to the extent that the quality of the sale unit is 
significantly lowered, the buyer may ask for a 
reinspection by the USDA grader. If the sale unit is 
determined by the grader to be of lower quality, the 
buyer may reject the sale unit, which would then be held 
by the licensee for disposition by the seller. The original 
buyer must sign the ticket.  

c. When the licensee rejects a sale on behalf of a 
producer, the following disposition of the sale unit may 
be made:  

(1) Without written authorization from the producer, as 
required in § 3.1-718(e) 3.2-4737 (5) of the Code of 
Virginia to buy tobacco for his own account, the licensee:  

(a) May hold for future sale.  
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(b) May resell to the original buyer at a higher price. The 
original buyer must sign the price alteration.  

(c) May sell to another buyer, other than himself. The 
original buyer must sign to release the sales unit, and the 
new buyer must sign to accept the sales unit.  

(2) With written authorization from the producer, as 
required by § 3.1-718(e) 3.2-4737 (5) of the Code of 
Virginia to buy tobacco for his own account, the licensee 
may, in addition to the options listed in paragraph 
subdivision c (1) above, reject the sale and purchase the 
tobacco for his own account, provided that the licensee 
signs the ticket.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1706; Filed January 13, 2009, 11:24 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-360. Regulations for the 
Enforcement of the Virginia Commercial Feed Act 
(amending 2VAC5-360-10, 2VAC5-360-50). 

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-4801 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Robert E. Bailey, Program Manager, 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 
1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-1274, FAX 
(804) 786-1571, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 
robert.bailey@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update citations to reflect the 
recodification of Title 3.1 to Title 3.2 of the Code of 
Virginia, which became effective October 1, 2008. 

2VAC5-360-10. Definitions.  

A. Words used in the singular form in this chapter shall 
include the plural, and vice versa, as appropriate.  

B. All terms used in this chapter shall have the meaning set 
forth for such in the Act. In addition, the following words and 
terms shall have the following meanings, unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Act" means Chapter 28.1 48 (§ 3.1-828.1 3.2-4800 et seq.) 
of Title 3.1 3.2 of the Code of Virginia, hereinafter known as 
the Virginia Commercial Feed Act.  

"Animal" means any animate being which is not human.  

"Adulteration" means a commercial feed is adulterated if:  

1. Enough of any harmful or non-nutritive ingredient has 
been added to endanger animal health when used according 
to labeling directions.  

2. Any part of an essential component has been omitted, 
removed, or replaced with an inferior substance.  

3. The composition or quality of the feed fails to conform 
to its representation in the labeling.  

4. It was prepared or held under unsanitary conditions.  

5. It contains any filthy, putrid, decomposed, tainted, 
unsound or unwholesome substance.  

6. Its container is composed of any substance which may 
cause the feed to endanger animal health.  

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services.  

"Brand" means the term, design, or trademark and other 
specific designation under which an individual commercial 
feed is distributed in Virginia.  

"Canned animal food" means all materials packed in any 
airtight container with a moisture content of 70% or more 
which are distributed for use as food for animals other than 
humans.  

"Commercial feed" means all mixed or unmixed feed 
including concentrates, supplements, molasses, minerals, 
mineral mixtures, and all other materials used for their 
nutritional or physical properties for feeding to animals 
except those materials exempted by the Act.  

"Commissioner" means the Virginia Commissioner of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services or his delegated assistant 
or agent.  

"Distribute" means to offer or expose for sale, sell, 
warehouse, exchange, barter, furnish or otherwise supply.  

"Distributor" means a person who distributes commercial 
feeds.  

"Feed ingredient" means each of the constituent materials 
making up a commercial feed.  

"Inert mineral matter" means mineral matter that has no 
nutritional value.  

"Label" means a display of written, printed, or graphic 
matter upon or affixed to the container in which a commercial 
feed is distributed. The invoice or delivery slip with which a 
commercial feed is distributed in bulk is the label.  

"Labeling" means any written, printed, graphic, electronic, 
or advertising information pertaining to the commercial feed 
which is:  

1. On the commercial feed or any of its containers,  

2. On the invoice or delivery slip,  

3. Accompanying the commercial feed at any time, or  

4. Otherwise provided to the consumer.  

"Medicated feed" means a product obtained by mixing a 
drug, as defined in § 3.1-828.2 3.2-4800 of the Code of 
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Virginia, and a commercial feed. It is subject to all provisions 
of the Virginia Commercial Feed Act.  

"Misbranding" means a commercial feed is misbranded if:  

1. The label does not include:  

a. The name and principal address of the manufacturer, 
distributor, or person responsible for placing the 
commercial feed on the market.  

b. The name, brand or trademark under which the 
commercial feed is sold.  

c. An accurate quantity statement of the contents.  

d. An accurate statement of the minimum percentage of 
crude protein.  

e. An accurate statement of the minimum percentage of 
crude fat.  

f. An accurate statement of the maximum percentage of 
crude fiber.  

g. An accurate statement of the maximum percentage of 
moisture for all dog and cat foods.  

h. The English name of each ingredient or conform to the 
requirements of 2VAC5-360-40.  

i. Adequate warnings against use under normal or 
pathological conditions where its use may endanger 
animal health, or against unsafe use or application as 
necessary for the protection of animals.  

2. Labeling is false or misleading in any particular.  

3. It is distributed under the name of another commercial 
feed.  

4. Its container is so made, formed or filled as to be 
deceptive or misleading as to the amount of contents.  

5. Its labeling bears any reference to registration or license 
under the Act.  

6. It is represented as containing a feed ingredient, unless 
such feed ingredient conforms to the definition prescribed 
by regulation of the board.  

7. Any word, statement or other information required by 
the Act is not prominently placed upon the label so 
conspicuously (as compared with other words, statements, 
designs, or devices in the labeling) and in such terms as to 
make it likely to be read and understood by the ordinary 
individual under customary conditions of purchase and use.  

"Official sample" means any sample of feed taken by the 
commissioner and designated as "Official" by the 
commissioner.  

"Person" means an individual, partnership, association, 
corporation, firm, agent or authorized group of individuals 
whether incorporated or not.  

"Prohibited noxious-weed seeds" means the seeds of 
perennial weeds which not only reproduce by seed but which 
also spread by underground roots and stems; and which, when 
established, are highly destructive and are not controlled in 
the Commonwealth by commonly used cultural practices. 
These include but are not limited to the seeds of Balloonvine-
Cardiospermum halicacabum, Field bindweed-Convolulus 
arvensis, Quackgrass-Agropyron repends, Canada thistle-
Cirsium arvense, Johnson grass-Sorghum spp., perennial, 
Plumeless thistle, which includes Musk thistle and Curled 
thistle Carduus spp., Serrated tussock-Nassella trichotoma, 
and Sicklepod-Senna obtusifolia.  

"Restricted noxious-weed seeds" means the seeds of weeds 
which are very objectionable in fields, lawns and gardens in 
this Commonwealth and are difficult to control by commonly 
used cultural practices. These include but are not limited to 
seeds of Dodder Cuscuta spp., Bermudagrass Cynodon 
dactylon, Wild onion bulblets, Wild garlic bulblets Allium 
spp., Wild mustardBrassica spp., Giant foxtail-Setaia faberia, 
radish-Raphanus, and Annual bluegrass-Poa annua.  

"Sell" means sales, barter, or exchange.  

"Ton" means a net weight of 2,000 pounds, avoirdupois.  

2VAC5-360-50. Labeling.  

A. The information required in § 3.1-828.5 3.2-4806 of the 
Code of Virginia, with the exception of the quantity 
statement, shall appear in its entirety on one side of a label or 
on one side of the container. However, in case a tag is used, 
the directions for use and warnings against misuse may 
appear on the other side of the tag.  

B. When ingredients are listed, the names of all feed 
ingredients shall be shown in letters or type of the same size.  

C. When feeds carry label information in more than one 
position on the container, there shall be no variance with 
respect to name, ingredients, or guaranteed composition.  

D. The term "degermed" must precede the name of any 
product from which the germ has been wholly or partially 
removed.  

E. All printed or written information attached to or packed 
with feed must conform in all respects to the information 
printed on the principal label.  

F. Labeling which implies that added enzyme-bearing 
materials improve the utilization of a product is prohibited 
unless the claims are substantiated by scientific evidence.  

G. The term "Bond Phosphate of Lime," "Bone Phosphate of 
Lime (BPL)," or "BPL" shall not be used in connection with 
the labeling of feed ingredients.  

H. The label of a commercial feed, other than an individual 
ingredient or supplement with directions for further mixing, 
shall designate the species and may designate the animal class 
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for which the feed is intended. For the purpose of this 
subsection, animal class may include, but is not limited to, 
weight range, sex, or age of the animal for which the feed is 
manufactured.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1707; Filed January 13, 2009, 11:24 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-370. Rules and Regulations for 
Enforcement of the Virginia Animal Remedies Law 
(amending 2VAC5-370-10). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 3.2-109, 3.2-4912 and 3.2-4914 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2009.  

Agency Contact: Robert E. Bailey, Program Manager, 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 
1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-1274, FAX 
(804) 786-1571, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 
robert.bailey@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update citations to reflect the 
recodification of Title 3.1 to Title 3.2 of the Code of 
Virginia, which became effective October 1, 2008. 

2VAC5-370-10. Equipment and supervision. 

At the request of the Commissioner of the Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services, a registrant shall provide 
a description of his equipment and a list of the qualifications 
of his supervisory personnel. Such reports, together with 
further investigation, if necessary, will form the basis for 
determining if the requirements of subdivision 3 of § 3.1-
837(3) 3.2-4912 of the Code of Virginia are being met as they 
apply to adequate equipment and proper supervisory 
qualifications. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1708; Filed January 13, 2009, 11:24 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-380. Rules and Regulations for 
the Enforcement of the Virginia Dealers in Agricultural 
Products Law (amending 2VAC5-380-10, 2VAC5-380-60). 

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-109 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Robert E. Bailey, Program Manager, 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 
1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-1274, FAX 
(804) 786-1571, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 
robert.bailey@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update citations to reflect the 
recodification of Title 3.1 to Title 3.2 of the Code of 
Virginia, which became effective October 1, 2008. 

2VAC5-380-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 
shall have the following meaning, meanings unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Buyer or shipper" means a dealer who purchases any 
agricultural product from a producer, and who takes 
possession at the buyer's or the producer's place of business at 
an agreed price without conditions or contingencies. 

"Conditional buyer" means a dealer who purchases any 
agricultural product from a producer by quoting a fixed net 
price or fixed gross price less handling charges. The purchase 
is conditioned upon the arrival of the product at the first point 
of delivery in the grade specified at the time of purchase. 
(Grade shall include size, quality, and soundness.)  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services. 

"Grower's agent or broker" means a dealer who negotiates 
the sale of agricultural produce on behalf of the producer 
according to the terms of an agreement between the parties. 
Written agreements are recommended but not required. 

"Handling for the account of" means a dealer who accepts 
agricultural products from a producer to be sold directly to a 
specific and identified purchaser, exclusive of intermediate 
dealers, agents or brokers, for which the dealer charges a 
fixed percentage commission on gross returns, or a fixed fee 
per unit of product, with or without additional charges such as 
grading, packing, etc. 

"Virginia Agricultural Products Dealers Licensing and 
Bonding Law" means Article 3 Chapter 47 (§ 3.1-722.1 3.2-
4738 et seq.) of Chapter 26 of Title 3.1 3.2 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

2VAC5-380-60. Filing of contracts.  

Copies of all contracts made pursuant to § 3.1-722.14 3.2-
4745 of the Code of Virginia shall be filed with the Office of 
Product Regulation, Virginia Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, Virginia 
23209.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1709; Filed January 13, 2009, 11:25 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-390. Rules and Regulations for 
the Enforcement of the Virginia Seed Law (amending 
2VAC5-390-20, 2VAC5-390-30, 2VAC5-390-40, 2VAC5-
390-60, 2VAC5-390-70, 2VAC5-390-80, 2VAC5-390-100, 
2VAC5-390-110, 2VAC5-390-120, 2VAC5-390-160, 
2VAC5-390-170, 2VAC5-390-180). 

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-4001 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2009. 
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Agency Contact: Robert E. Bailey, Program Manager, 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 
1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-1274, FAX 
(804) 786-1571, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 
robert.bailey@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update citations to reflect the 
recodification of Title 3.1 to Title 3.2 of the Code of 
Virginia, which became effective October 1, 2008. 

2VAC5-390-20. Noxious weed seeds.  

Noxious weed seeds as defined in the Virginia Seed Law, 
Article 1 (§ 3.1-262 3.2-4000 et seq.) of Chapter 16 of Title 
3.1 3.2 of the Code of Virginia are divided into two classes:  

A. Prohibited noxious weed seeds are:  

Balloonvine - Cardiospermum halicacabum  

Canada thistle - Cirsium arvens  

Field Bindweed - Convolvulus arvensis  

Johnsongrass, Sorgrass and, Sorghum almum, and 
hybrids derived therefrom - Sorghum spp. - Perennial  

Plumeless thistles, which includes Musk thistle, and 
Curled thistle - Carduus spp.  

Quackgrass - Agropyron repens  

Serrated tussock - Nassella trichotoma  

Sicklepod - Cassia tora  

B. Restricted noxious weed seeds are:  

1. Restricted noxious weed seeds for agricultural and 
vegetable seed, except for lawn and turf seed and 
mixtures thereof, shall be prohibited from sale for 
seeding purposes if the number per ounce or per pound of 
such noxious weed seed found exceeds the limitations 
allowed for each. Such weed seeds and limitations shall 
be:  

  KIND LIMITATION 

  Wild onion bulblets and 
wild garlic bulblets - 
Allium spp. 

5 per ounce or 80 per 
pound for orchardgrass; 2 
per ounce or 32 per pound 
for other kinds 

  Dodder - Cuscuta spp. 4 per ounce or 64 per 
pound  

  Wild mustard - Brassica 
spp. - includes species 
when incidentally 
occurring in agricultural 
seed, provided that 
species listed in §§ 5 and 
9 of the regulations 

5 per ounce all or 80 per 
pound 

2VAC5-390-50 and 
2VAC5-390-90 may be 
sold as such when 
labeled as required. 

 Giant foxtail - Setaria 
faberi 

4 per ounce or 64 per 
pound 

 Radish - Raphanus spp. 1 per ounce or 16 per 
pound 

2. Restricted noxious weed seeds for lawn and turf seed 
and mixtures thereof. Those kinds listed below shall be 
restricted noxious weed seeds and shall be declared on 
the label under the heading "Noxious weed seeds" or 
"Undesirable grass seed" according to § 3.1-264 (I) (5) 
3.2-4008 J 5 when present in bentgrasses, Kentrucky 
bluegrass, chewings fescue, red fescue, hard fescue, 
varieties of perennial ryegrass, varieties of named turf 
type tall fescue, and/or mixtures containing these grasses. 
Such weed seeds are:  

  Annual bluegrass Poa annua 

  **Bentgrasses (creeping, 
colonial, velvet) 

Agrostis spp. 

  **Bermudagrass, Giant 
bermudagrass 

Cynodon spp. 

  **Meadow fescue Festuca pratensis 

  Orchardgrass Dactylis glomerata 

  **Redtop Agrostis gigantea 

  **Rough bluegrass Poa trivialis 

  **Tall fescue Festuca arundinacea 

  Timothy Phleum pratense 

  Velvetgrass Holcus lanatus 

  **May be included as a labeled component of a 
mixture when in excess of 5.0% of the whole.  

NOTE - EXEMPTIONS - This chapter does not apply to 
restricted noxious weed seeds in grasses or mixtures clearly 
labeled for pasture, forage, hay, or spoilbank reclamation 
usage.  

2VAC5-390-30. Net weight requirements.  

A. Net weight is required on all containers except on packets 
containing less than ½ ounce avoirdupois.  

B. All net weight labeling shall be consistent with the 
requirements of the Virginia Weights and Measures Law, 
Chapter 35 56 (§ 3.1-919 3.2-5600 et seq.) of Title 3.1 3.2 of 
the Code of Virginia and the Virginia Weights and Measures 
regulations except that when a seed tag is used the net weight 
information may appear on the seed tag rather than on the 
seed bag.  
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2VAC5-390-40. Labeling treated seed.  

A. Contents of label. All seed "treated" as defined by § 3.1-
263 3.2-4000 of the Code of Virginia, shall be labeled in type 
no smaller than eight points to indicate that such seed has 
been treated and to show the name of any substance or a 
description of any process (other than application of a 
substance) used to treat such seed, for example:  

Treated with -(Name of substance or process)  

or -(Name of substance or process) treated.  

If the substance used in such treatment in the amount 
remaining with the seed is harmful to humans or other 
vertebrate animals, the seed shall also bear a label containing 
statements as specified by subsections C and D below. The 
label shall contain the required information in any form that is 
clearly legible and complies with this chapter. The 
information may be on the analysis tag, on a separate tag, or 
printed on the container in a conspicuous manner.  

B. Name of substance. The name of any substance as 
required by subsection A of this section shall be commonly 
accepted coined, chemical (generic), or abbreviated chemical 
name. Commonly accepted coined names are not private 
trademarks and are free for use by the public and are 
commonly recognized as names of particular substances such 
as thiram, captan, lindane, and dichlone. Examples of 
commonly accepted chemical (generic) names are: bluestone, 
calcium carbonate, cuprous oxide, zinc hydroxide, 
hexachlorobenzene and ethyl mercury acetate. The terms 
"mercury" or "mercurial" may be used to represent all types 
of mercurial compounds. Examples of commonly accepted 
abbreviated chemical names are: BHC (1,2,3,4,5,6, 
Hexachloroclolexane) and DDT (dichloro diphenyl 
trichloroethane)  

C. Mercurials and similarly toxic substance.  

1. Seeds treated with a mercurial or similarly toxic 
substance, if any amount whatsoever remains with the 
seed, shall be labeled to show a representation of a skull 
and crossbones at least twice the size of the type used for 
information required to be on the label under subsection A 
and shall also include in red letters on a background of 
distinctly contrasting color a statement substantially as 
follows: "Treated with Poison," "Poison treated," or 
"Poison." Such treatment shall appear in type no smaller 
than eight points.  

2. Substances similarly toxic to mercurials include the 
following: Aldrin (technical); demeton; dieldrin; endrin; 
heptachlor; O, O-diethyl S-(ethylthiomethyl) 
phosphorodithiolate; and O, O-diethyl S-2 (ethylthio) ethyl 
phosphorodithiolate. Any amount of such substances 
remaining with the seed shall be considered harmful to 
humans and other vertebrate animals.  

D. Other harmful substances. If any substance, other than 
one which would be classified as a mercurial or similarly 
toxic substance under subsection C., is used in the treatment 
of seed; the amount remaining with the seed is considered 
harmful to humans or other vertebrate animals unless the seed 
is in containers of four ounces or less. Seed treated with such 
substances shall be labeled with an appropriate caution 
statement in type no smaller than eight points worded 
substantially as follows: "Do not use for food," "Do not use 
for feed," "Do not use for oil purposes," or "Do not use for 
food, feed, or oil purposes." This subsection applies to all 
chemical substances not within subsection C. except that the 
following substances shall not be deemed harmful when 
present at a rate less than the number of parts per million 
indicated:  

Allethrin - 2 p.p.m.  

Malathion - 8 p.p.m.  

Methoxyclor - 8 p.p.m.  

Piperonyl butoxide - 20 p.p.m. except 8 p.p.m. on Oat and 
Sorghum.  

Pyrethrins -- 3 p.p.m. except 1 p.p.m. on Oat and Sorghum.  

E. Weight of treatment substance. When the weight of 
treatment substances added exceed 1.0% of the net weight of 
seed, the rate of treatment must be given on the analysis tag.  

2VAC5-390-60. Weed seeds.  

As provided by subdivision 1 f of § 3.1-265 I(A)(6) 3.2-
4015 of the Code of Virginia, agricultural seed of the 
following kinds may contain weed seeds not to exceed the 
following limitations:  

A. 1. Korean Lespedeza -- Lespedeza stipulacea 1.50%  

B. 2. Orchardgrass -- Dactylis glomerata (Hulled) 1.50%  

C. 3. Oatgrass, tall -- Arrhenatherum elatius 1.50%  

D. 4. Redtop -- Agrostis gigantea 1.50%  

2VAC5-390-70. Code designation. 

As provided by § 3.1-264, subsections B paragraph (12)(b) 
and I(10)(b) § 3.2-4008 C 12 and J 10 of the Code of 
Virginia, any Virginia seed dealer may request from the 
commissioner a code designation to be used in lieu of his 
name and address for use on seed labeled for intrastate 
shipment provided; however, such shipments must be labeled 
to show the name and address of the consignee. Such 
designation will bear the prefix VDACS followed by an 
appropriate assigned number; however, a bona fide AMS 
(C&MS) number may be used in lieu of the VDACS code 
designation provided it is recorded with the commissioner by 
the seed dealer. 
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2VAC5-390-80. Controlled conditions. 

Controlled conditions are those minimum field standards for 
certification last established by the State Certified Seed Board 
as authorized under Article 2, Chapter 16, 40 (§ 3.2-4000 et 
seq.) of Title 3.1 3.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

2VAC5-390-100. Origin.  

Origin as required by § 3.1-264(B)(4) 3.2-4008 C 4 of the 
Code of Virginia shall not apply to seed in lawn or turf grass 
mixtures in prepacked containers of fifty pounds or less; 
however, the formulator of such mixtures shall maintain 
origin records as required by § 3.1-266 3.2-4006 of the Code 
of Virginia.  

2VAC5-390-110. Flower seed and minimum germination 
standards.  

A. The kinds of flower seeds listed below are those for 
which standard testing procedures have been prescribed and 
which are, therefore, required to be labeled in accordance 
with the germination labeling provisions of §§ 3.1-263 3.2-
4000 and 3.1-264 3.2-4008 of the Code of Virginia. The 
percentage listed opposite each kind is the germination 
standard for that kind. For the kinds marked with an asterisk, 
this percentage is the total of percentage germination and 
percentage hard seed. For other kinds, it is the percentage 
germination.  

Kind 

Minimum 
Germination 

Standard 

African daisy--Dimorphotheca sinuata 55 

Ageratum--Ageratum houstonianum 60 

Alyssum--Alyssum compactum, 
A.Lobularia maritima, A.saxatile 

60 

Anemone--Anemone pulsatilla 55 

Angel's trumpet--Brugmansia arborea 60 

Arabis--Arabis alpina 60 

Aster, China--Callistephus chinensis 
except Pompon, Powderpuff, and 
Princess types 

55 

Aster, China--Callistephus chinensis, 
Pompon, Powderpuff and Princess 
types 

50 

Aubrieta--Aubrieta deltoidea 45 

Balsam--Impatiens balsamina 70 

Calendula--Calendula officinalis 65 

California poppy--Eschscholzia 
californica 

60 

Calliopsis--Corepsis tinctoria C. 
basalis 

65 

Campanula:   

  Canterbury bells--Campanula 
medium 

60 

  Cup and Saucer bellflower--
Campanula medium calycanthema 

60 

  Carpathian bellflower--Campanula 
carpatica 

50 

  Peach bellflower--Campanula 
persicifolia 

50 

Candytuft, annual--Iberis amara, I. 
umbellata 

65 

Candytuft, perennial--Iberis 
gibraltarica, I.sempervirens 

55 

*Castor bean--Ricinus communis 60 

Cathedral bells--Cobaea scandens 65 

Celosia--Celosia argentea 65 

Centaurea: basket flower--entaurea 
americana, Cornflower--C. cyanus, 
dusty miller--C.cineraria royal 
centaurea--C. imperialis, sweet sultan, 
Amberboa moschata, Velvet 
centaurea--C. gymnocarpa 

60 

Chinese forget-me-not--Cynoglossum 
amabile 

55 

Chrysanthemum, annual--
Chrysanthemum carinatum, C., 
coronarium, C.segetum 

40 

Clarkia--Clarkia unguiculata 65 

Cleome--Cleome hassleriana 65 

Columbine--Aquilegia spp. 50 

Coral bells--Heuchera sanguinea 55 

Coreopsis, perennial--Coreopsis 
lanceolata 

40 

Cosmos: Sensation, Mammoth and 
Crested type--Cosmos bipinnatus; 
Klondyke type--C. sulphureus 

65 

Dahlia--Dahlia spp 55 

Delphinium: cardinal larkspur--
perennial delphinuim--Delphinium 
cardinale; Pacific giant, gold metal and 
other hybrids, belladonna, bellamosum 
types, Chinensis types D.elatum 

55 
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Dianthus:   

  Carnation--Dianthus caryophyllus 60 

  China pinks--Dianthus Chinensis, 
Heddewigii, Heddensis 

70 

  Grass pinks--Dianthus plumarius 60 

  Maiden pinks--Dianthus deltoide 60 

  Sweet William--Dianthus barbatu 70 

  Sweet Wivelsfield--Dianthus X 
allwoodii 

60 

Dracena--Cordyline australis 55 

English daisy--Bellis perennis 55 

Foxglove--Digitalis spp. 60 

Gaillardia, annual--Gaillardia 
pulchella, var.picta; perennial--
G..aristata 

45 

Geum--Geum spp. 55 

Gilia--Gilia spp. 65 

Godetia--Clarkia amoena var. 
concinne 

65 

Gourds--Cucurbita spp.; Lagenaria 
spp. 

70 

Gypsophila: annual baby's breath--
Gypsophila elegans; perennial baby's 
breath--G. paniculata, G. pacifica, G. 
repens 

70 

Helichrysum--Helichrysum bracteatum 60 

*Hollyhock--Alcea rosea 65 

*Ipomopa: Cypress vine--Ipomea 
quamoclit; Moonflower--I. alba; 
morning glories, cardinal climber, 
hearts and honey vine--I. spp. 

75 

Job's tears--Coix lacryma-jobi 70 

Kochia--Kochia scoparia trichophylla 55 

Larkspur, annual--Consolida ambigua 60 

Lantana--Lantana camara 35 

Linaria--Linaria spp. 65 

Lobelia, annual--Lobelia erinus 65 

Lunaria, annual--Lunaria annua 65 

*Lupine--Lupinus spp. 65 

Marigold--Tagetes spp. 65 

Marvel of Peru--Mirabilis jalapa 60 

Mighonette--Reseda odorata 55 

Myosotis--Myosotis alpestris, M. 
oblongata, M. pulastris, M. scorpioides 

50 

Nasturtium--Tropaeolum spp. 60 

Nemesia--Nemesia spp. 65 

Nemophila--Nemophila menziesil 
subsp. insignis 

70 

Nicotiana--Nicotiana alata, N. X 
sanderae 

65 

Nierembergia--Nierembergia spp. 55 

Nigella--Nigella damascena 55 

Pansy--Viola tricolor 60 

Penstemon--Penstemon barbatus, P. 
grandiflorus, P. laevigatus, P.hirsutus 

60 

Petunia--Petunia spp. 45 

Phacelia--Phacelia campanularia, P. 
minor, P. tanace tifolia 

65 

Phlox, annual--Phlox drummondii all 
types and varieties 

55 

Physalis--Physalis spp. 60 

Poppy: shirley poppy--Papaver rhoeas; 
Iceland poppy--P. nudicaule; oriental 
poppy--P. orientale; tulip poppy--P. 
glaucum 

60 

Portulaca--Portulaca grandiflora 55 

Salpiglossis--Salpiglossis sinuata 
gloxiniiflora, S. salpiglossis 

60 

Salvia--Scarlet Sage--Salvia 
splendens; mealycup sage (blue 
bedder)--S. farinacea 

50 

Saponaria--Saponaria ocymoides, S. 
vaccaria pyramidata  

60 

Scabiosa, annual--Scabiosa 
atropurpurea 

50 

Scabiosa, perennial--Scabiosa 
caucasica 

40 

Schizanthus--Schizanthus spp. 60 

Shasta Daisy--Chrysanthemum 
maximum, C. leucanthemum 

65 

Snapdragon--Antirrhinum spp. 55 

Solanum--Solanum spp. 60 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations February 2, 2009 

1906 

Stocks:Common--Matthiola incana; 
Evening Scented--Matthiola 
longipetala subsp. bicornis 

65 

Sunflower--Helianthus spp. 65 

*Sweet pea, annual and perennial 
other than dwarf bush--Lathyrus 
odoratus, L. latifolius 

75 

*Sweet pea, dwarf bush--Lathyrus 
odoratus 

65 

Thunbergia--Thunbergia alata 60 

Torch flower--Tithonia rotundifolia 70 

Tritoma--Kniphofia spp. 65 

Verbena, annual--Verbena X hybrida 35 

Vinca--Catharanthus roseus 60 

Viola--Viola cornuta 55 

Wallflower--Cheiranthus cheiri 65 

Zinnia--Zinnia angustifolia, Z. 
elegans, Z.grandiflora, Z. acerosa, Z. 
peruviana 

50 

B. Testing tolerances shall not be applied unless the 
percentage of germination is shown on the seed package or 
label attached to the seed container. If no germination 
percentage is shown on the label, the seed must meet the 
minimum standards without benefit of tolerance.  

2VAC5-390-120. Labeling of flower seed.  

Flower seeds shall be labeled with the name of the kind and 
variety or a statement of type and performance characteristics 
as prescribed by § 3.1-264(F) and (G) 3.2-4008 G and H of 
the Code of Virginia.  

A. For seeds of plants grown primarily for their blooms:  

1. Seeds of a single name variety shall be labeled to show 
the kind and variety name. For example -- "Marigold, 
Butterball."  

2. Seeds of a single type and color for which there is no 
special variety name shall be labeled to show either the 
type of plant or the type and color of bloom. For example -
- "Scabiosa, Tall, Large Flowered, Double, Pink."  

3. Seeds consisting of an assortment or mixture of colors or 
varieties of a single kind, the kind name, the type of plant, 
and the type or types of bloom shall be indicated. In 
addition, it shall be clearly indicated that the seed is mixed 
or assorted. An example of labeling such a mixture or 
assortment is -- "Marigold, Dwarf double French, Mixed 
colors."  

4. Seeds consisting of an assortment or mixture of kinds, 
shall clearly indicate that the seed is assorted or mixed and 
the specific use of the assortment or mixture shall be 
indicated. For example -- "Cut flower mixture," or "Rock 
garden mixture." Such statements as "Wild flower 
mixture," "General purpose mixture," "Wonder mixture," 
or any other statement which fails to indicate the specific 
use of the seed shall not meet the requirements of this 
provision unless the specific use of the mixture is also 
stated.  

B. Seeds of plants grown for ornamental purposes other than 
their blooms shall be labeled to show the kind and variety, or 
the kind together with a descriptive statement concerning the 
ornamental part of the plant. For example -- "Ornamental 
gourds, Small fruited, Mixed."  

2VAC5-390-160. Maximum percentage of inert matter.  

Seed or seed mixtures as defined by § 3.1-263 3.2-4000 of 
the Code of Virginia shall not contain more than 15% by 
weight of inert matter, excluding coating material which has 
been added to enhance the planting value.  

2VAC5-390-170. Minimum size of peanut seed.  

Shelled peanuts for agricultural seed as defined in § 3.1-263 
3.2-4000 of the Code of Virginia shall be a size of which 97% 
by weight of whole seed shall pass over a 16/64 inch screen 
and none shall pass through a 14/64 inch screen.  

2VAC5-390-180. Minimum germination standard for 
peanut seed.  

Peanuts for agricultural seed as defined in § 3.1-263 3.2-
4000 of the Code of Virginia shall have a 75% minimum total 
germination. However, effective March 1, 2008, and 
continuing until July 1, 2008, the minimum total germination 
shall be 70%.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1710; Filed January 13, 2009, 11:25 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-400. Rules and Regulations for 
the Enforcement of the Virginia Fertilizer Law (amending 
2VAC5-400-10, 2VAC5-400-30, 2VAC5-400-90). 

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-3601 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Robert E. Bailey, Program Manager, 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 
1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-1274, FAX 
(804) 786-1571, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 
robert.bailey@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update citations to reflect the 
recodification of Title 3.1 to Title 3.2 of the Code of 
Virginia, which became effective October 1, 2008. 
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2VAC5-400-10. Definitions.  

A. Except as the board designates otherwise in specific 
cases, the names and definitions for commercial fertilizer 
shall be those adopted as official by the Association of 
American Plant Food Control Officials.  

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meaning, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Virginia 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.  

"Fertilizer Law" means Chapter 10.1 36 (§ 3.1-106.1 3.2-
3600 et seq.) of Title 3.1 3.2 of the Code of Virginia, known 
as the Virginia Fertilizer Act.  

"Pesticide Law" means Chapter 14.1 39 (§ 3.1-249.27 
(§§ 3.2-3900 and 3.2-3938 et seq.) of Title 3.1 3.2 of the 
Code of Virginia, known as the Virginia Pesticide Control 
Act.  

2VAC5-400-30. Specialty fertilizer labels.  

A. The following information, if not appearing on the face 
or display side in a readable and conspicuous form, shall 
occupy at least the upper third of a side of the container, and 
shall be considered the label. (With the exception of "quantity 
statement," which must always appear on the display panel of 
the package or container.)  

1. Quantity statement.   

2. Brand name.   

3. Grade.   

4. Guaranteed Analysis:*   

  Total Nitrogen (N) % 

    % Ammoniacal Nitrogen*** 

% Nitrate Nitrogen*** 

% Water Insoluble 
Nitrogen** 

% Urea Nitrogen*** 

% (Other recognized and 
determinable forms of 
N)*** 

  Available Phosphoric 
Acid (P2O5) 

% 

  Soluble Potash (K2O) % 

  Additional Plant 
Nutrients as prescribed 
by regulation. 

  

  **Potential Acidity or % or  lbs.

Basicity  

 Calcium Carbonate 
Equivalent per ton. 

  

5. Sources of nutrients, 
when shown on the label, 
shall be listed below the 
completed guaranteed 
analysis statement. 

  

6. Name and address of 
registrant. 

  

NOTES: 

* Zero (0) guarantees should not be made and may not 
appear in statement except in nutrient guarantee 
breakdowns. 

** If claimed or the statement organic or slow acting 
nitrogen is used on the label. 

*** If claimed or required. 

B. Slowly available or slowly released plant nutrients.  

1. No fertilizer label shall bear a statement that connotes or 
implies the presence of a slowly available or slowly 
released plant nutrient unless the nutrient or nutrients are 
identified and guaranteed at a level of at least 15% of the 
total guarantee for that nutrient or nutrients.  

2. Types of products with slow release properties 
recognized are (i) water insoluble, such as natural organics, 
ureaform materials, urea-formaldehyde products, 
isobutylidene diurea, oxamide, etc., (ii) coated slow 
release, such as sulfur coated urea and other encapsulated 
soluble fertilizers, (iii) occluded slow release, where 
fertilizers or fertilizer materials are mixed with waxes, 
resins, or other inert materials and formed into particles 
and (iv) products containing water soluble nitrogen such as 
ureaform materials, urea-formaldehyde products, 
methylenediurea (MDU), dimethylenetriurea (DMTU), 
dicyanodiamide (DCD), etc. The terms "water insoluble," 
"coated slow release," "slow release," "controlled release," 
"slowly available water soluble," and "occluded slow 
release" are accepted as descriptive of these products, 
provided the manufacturer can show a testing program 
substantiating the claim (testing under guidance of 
Experiment Station personnel or a recognized independent 
researcher acceptable to the commissioner). A laboratory 
procedure, acceptable to the commissioner for evaluating 
the release characteristics of the product, must also be 
provided by the manufacturer upon request of the 
commissioner.  

3. If a label states the amount of organic nitrogen present in 
a phrase, such as "25.0% organic nitrogen," then the water 
insoluble nitrogen guarantee must be not less than 60.0% 
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of the nitrogen so designated. Coated urea shall not be 
included in meeting the 60% requirement.  

Example: 10-6-4 Rose Food  

25.0% of Nitrogen is Organic  

10(Total N) X .25(% N claimed or Organic) X .60  

(Average insolubility in H2O) of organic nitrogen sources 
= 1.5% WIN  

4. Association of Official Analytical Chemist (AOAC) 
herein referred to as AOAC International analytical 
methods or those adopted by the commissioner pursuant to 
§ 3.1-106.4 B 3.2-3601 B of the Virginia Fertilizer Act 
shall be used to substantiate the fact that "Coated-slow 
release" and "occluded slow release" materials are present.  

C. Soil amendment and soil conditioners.  

1. Each container of a soil amendment or soil conditioner 
shall be labeled in a legible and conspicuous form to show 
the following information:  

a. The quantity statement;  

b. The name of the product;  

c. The guaranteed analysis, including the common or 
usual English name and the percentage of each active 
ingredient, and the name and percentage of inert 
ingredients;  

d. A statement of the purpose of the product, stated in 
terms of the claimed or beneficial effect resulting from 
the use of the product;  

e. Adequate directions for use, and cautions or warnings 
against misuse, if applicable; and  

f. The name and address of the registrant.  

2. Bulk lots shall be labeled by attaching a copy of a 
printed label to the invoice, or by the inclusion on the 
invoice of all information required by subdivision C 1 of 
this section. The invoice shall be given to the purchaser at 
the time of sale or delivery.  

3. The commissioner may require proof of any claims 
made for any soil amendment or soil conditioner. If no 
claims are made, the commissioner may require proof of 
usefulness and value. For evidence of proof, the 
commissioner may rely on experimental data, evaluations 
or advice from such sources as the extension service of the 
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University and the 
Virginia State University. The experimental data shall 
relate to Virginia conditions for which the product is 
advertised or sold. The commissioner may accept or reject 
other sources of proof as additional evidence in evaluating 
soil amendments or soil conditioners.  

4. No soil amending or soil conditioning ingredient may be 
listed or guaranteed on the labels or in labeling of soil 
amendments or soil conditioners without the 
commissioner's approval. The commissioner may allow a 
soil amending or soil conditioning ingredient to be listed or 
guaranteed on the label or in labeling if satisfactory 
supportive data is provided to substantiate the value and 
usefulness of the product. The commissioner may rely on 
outside sources such as the extension service of the 
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University and the 
Virginia State University for assistance in evaluating the 
data submitted. When a soil amending or soil conditioning 
ingredient is permitted to be listed and guaranteed, it must 
be verifiable by laboratory methods and is subject to 
inspection and analysis. The commissioner may prescribe 
methods and procedures of inspection and analysis of the 
soil amending or soil conditioning ingredient.  

5. With the application for registration for each product the 
applicant shall submit a copy of the label, a copy of all 
advertisements and any other materials to be used in 
promoting the sale of the soil amendment or soil 
conditioner.  

2VAC5-400-90. Sampling and analysis procedures. 

Unless otherwise adopted by the commissioner pursuant to § 
3.1-106.4 B 3.2-3601 B of the Virginia Fertilizer Law, 
procedures for obtaining samples, sample preparation, and 
sample analysis shall be those described in the 17th edition 
(2000) of the "Official Methods of Analysis of AOAC 
International". 

Procedures used in sample preparation and analysis for 
enforcement of this chapter are available from:  

AOAC International  
481 North Frederick Avenue  
Suite 500  
Gaithersburg, Maryland 20877-2417  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1711; Filed January 13, 2009, 11:25 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-440. Rules and Regulations for 
Enforcement of the Virginia Pest Law - Cotton Boll 
Weevil Quarantine (amending 2VAC5-440-20, 2VAC5-
440-110). 

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-703 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Frank M. Fulgham, Program Manager, 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 
1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-3515, FAX 
(804) 371-7793, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 
frank.fulgham@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 
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The amendments update citations to reflect the 
recodification of Title 3.1 to Title 3.2 of the Code of 
Virginia, which became effective October 1, 2008. 

2VAC5-440-20. Notice of quarantine.  

Under the authority of §§ 3.1-188.20 through 3.1-188.31:2 
Chapter 7 (§ 3.2-700 et seq.) of Title 3.2 of the Code of 
Virginia, a quarantine of the Commonwealth of Virginia and 
all cotton producing states and countries infested with the boll 
weevil is hereby established to control, eradicate, and prevent 
the spread or reintroduction of the cotton boll weevil, 
"Anthonomus grandis grandis" Boheman.  

2VAC5-440-110. Determination of reasonableness of costs 
for services, products, or articles.  

The commissioner, pursuant to § 3.1-188.30 3.2-711 of the 
Code of Virginia, may determine costs for services, products, 
or articles that shall be paid by the persons affected when 
those services, products, or articles are beyond the reasonable 
scope of the law.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1712; Filed January 13, 2009, 11:26 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-450. Rules and Regulations 
Relating to the Virginia Plants and Plant Products 
Inspection Law (amending 2VAC5-450-20). 

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-109 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Frank M. Fulgham, Program Manager, 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 
1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-3515, FAX 
(804) 371-7793, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 
frank.fulgham@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update citations to reflect the 
recodification of Title 3.1 to Title 3.2 of the Code of 
Virginia, which became effective October 1, 2008. 

2VAC5-450-20. Nursery shipments out of the 
Commonwealth.  

As authorized by Article 7 Chapter 38 (§ 3.1-188.32 3.2-
3800 et seq.) of Chapter 13 of Title 3.1 3.2 of the Code of 
Virginia, known as the Plants and Plant Products Inspection 
Law, Narcissus plants, bulbs, and vegetable transplants 
destined for shipment out of the Commonwealth are nursery 
stock. Narcissus bulbs inspected during the growing season, 
and again after they are dug and cleaned, may be eligible for 
certification.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1713; Filed January 13, 2009, 11:26 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-490. Regulations Governing 
Grade "A" Milk (amending 2VAC5-490-10, 2VAC5-490-
31). 

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-5206 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2009. 

Agency Contact: John A. Beers, Program Supervisor, 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 
1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-1452, FAX 
(804) 371-7792, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 
john.beers@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update citations to reflect the 
recodification of Title 3.1 to Title 3.2 of the Code of 
Virginia, which became effective October 1, 2008. 

Part I  
Definitions and Standards of Identity  

2VAC5-490-10. Definitions and standards of identity.  

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"A hazard that is reasonably likely to occur" means a hazard 
for which a prudent milk plant, receiving station or transfer 
station operator would establish controls because experience, 
illness data, scientific reports, or other information provide a 
basis to conclude that there is a reasonable possibility that, in 
the absence of these controls, the hazard will occur in the 
particular type of milk, milk product, condensed milk, 
condensed milk product, dry milk, or dry milk product being 
processed. 

"Abnormal milk" means milk that is visibly changed in 
color, odor or texture. 

"Acidified milk" means "acidified milk" as defined in 21 
CFR 131.111.  

"Acidified milk product" means a product with an acidity of 
not less than 0.50% expressed as lactic acid, which product is 
obtained by the addition of food grade acids to pasteurized 
cream, half-and-half, heavy cream, light cream, lowfat milk, 
milk, skim milk, or sour cream.  

"Acidified sour cream" means "acidified sour cream" as 
defined in 21 CFR 131.162.  

"Adulterated milk" or "adulterated milk product" means any 
milk, milk product, condensed milk product, or dry milk 
product which meets one or more of the conditions specified 
in Section 402 of the Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act, 
as amended (21 USC 342).  
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"Aseptically processed milk" means milk that is 
hermetically sealed in a container and so thermally processed 
before or after packaging in conformance with 21 CFR Part 
113 and the provisions of this chapter so as to render the 
product free of microorganisms capable of reproducing in the 
product under nonrefrigeration conditions of storage and 
distribution and that is free of viable microorganisms 
(including spores) capable of causing disease in humans.  

"Aseptically processed milk product" means any milk or 
milk product that is hermetically sealed in a container and so 
thermally processed before or after packaging in conformance 
with 21 CFR Part 113 and the provisions of this chapter so as 
to render the product free of microorganisms capable of 
reproducing in the product under normal nonrefrigeration 
conditions of storage and distribution and that is free of viable 
microorganisms (including spores) capable of causing disease 
in humans.  

"Aseptic processing" means that the product has been 
subjected to sufficient heat processing and packaged in a 
hermetically sealed container, to conform to the applicable 
requirements of 21 CFR Part 113 and the provisions of this 
chapter and to maintain the commercial sterility of the 
product under normal nonrefrigerated conditions. 

"Audit" means an evaluation of the entire milk plant, 
receiving station or transfer station facility and HACCP 
System to ensure compliance with the voluntary HACCP 
program requirements of this chapter. 

"Automatic milking installation" means the entire 
installation of one or more automatic milking units, including 
the hardware and software utilized in the operation of 
individual automatic milking units, the animal selection 
system, the automatic milking machine, the milk cooling 
system, the system for cleaning and sanitizing the automatic 
milking unit, the teat cleaning system, and the alarm systems 
associated with the process of milking cooling, cleaning and 
sanitation. 

"Boiled custard" means "eggnog" as defined in 21 CFR 
131.170. 

"Bulk milk hauler" means any person who holds a permit 
issued by the Virginia Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services to collect official milk samples and 
transport: (i) raw milk from a dairy farm to a milk plant, 
receiving station or transfer station; or (ii) raw milk products 
from one milk plant, receiving station or transfer station to 
another milk plant, receiving station or transfer station. 

"Buttermilk" means the fluid milk product that remains after 
the manufacture of butter from milk or cream and contains 
not less than 8.25% of milk solids not fat.  

"Cancel" means to permanently nullify, void, or delete a 
grade A permit issued by the State Regulatory Authority.  

"Centralized deviation log" means a centralized log or file 
identifying data detailing any deviation of critical limits and 
the corrective actions taken. 

"CFR" means the Code of Federal Regulations.  

"Clean" means the surfaces of equipment and facilities have 
had an effective and thorough removal of product, soils, and 
contaminants. 

"Coffee cream" means "light cream."  

"Commercially sterile" means (i) the food has been 
thermally processed by the application of heat to render the 
food free of viable microorganisms (including spores) of 
public health significance and microorganisms capable of 
reproducing in the food under normal nonrefrigerated 
conditions of storage and distribution; or (ii) the food has 
been processed with the application of heat and the water 
activity of the food has been controlled to render the food free 
of microorganisms capable of reproducing in the food under 
normal nonrefrigerated conditions of storage and distribution. 

"Concentrated milk" means "concentrated milk" as defined 
in 21 CFR 131.115.  

"Concentrated milk product" means any of the following 
foods: homogenized concentrated milk, homogenized 
concentrated skim milk, concentrated lowfat milk, 
concentrated milk, and concentrated skim milk, which when 
combined with potable water according to the instructions 
printed on the food's container, conforms to the definition of 
the corresponding milk product in this chapter.  

"Condensed buttermilk" means the product resulting from 
the removal of a considerable portion of water from 
buttermilk. 

"Condensed and dry milk product" means grade A 
condensed milk, grade A condensed and dry whey, grade A 
dry milk product, or grade A dry milk and whey product.  

"Condensed milk" means concentrated milk as defined in 21 
CFR 131.115. This definition does not include:  

1. Any sterilized milk or milk product, when the sterilized 
milk or milk product is hermetically sealed in a container 
and processed, either before or after sealing, so as to 
prevent microbial spoilage; or  

2. Any evaporated milk or sweetened condensed milk, 
except when the evaporated milk or sweetened condensed 
milk is combined with other substances in the commercial 
preparation of any pasteurized, ultra-pasteurized, or 
aseptically processed milk or milk product.  

"Condensed whey" means "condensed whey" as defined in 
21 CFR 184.1979(a)(2).  

"Consumer" means any person who uses any grade A milk, 
grade A milk product, or milk product.  
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"Corrective action" means procedures followed when a 
deviation occurs. 

"Cottage cheese" means "cottage cheese" as defined in 
21 CFR 133.128.  

"Cottage cheese dry curd" means "dry curd cottage cheese."  

"Cream" means "cream" as defined in 21 CFR 131.3(a).  

"Critical control point" means a step at which control can be 
applied and is essential to prevent or eliminate a milk, milk 
product, condensed milk, condensed milk product, dry milk, 
or dry milk product safety hazard or reduce it to an acceptable 
level. 

"Critical limit" means a maximum value or a minimum 
value to which a biological, chemical, or physical parameter 
must be controlled at a critical control point to prevent, 
eliminate, or reduce to an acceptable level the occurrence of a 
milk, milk product, condensed milk, condensed milk product, 
dry milk, or dry milk product safety hazard. 

"Cultured half-and-half" means "sour half-and-half."  

"Cultured milk" means "cultured milk" as defined in 21 CFR 
131.112.  

"Cultured sour cream" means "sour cream."  

"Dairy farm" means any place or premises where any cow, 
goat, sheep, water buffalo, or other mammal (except humans) 
is kept, from which cow, goat, sheep, water buffalo, or other 
mammal (except humans) milk or any milk product is 
provided, sold or offered for sale for human consumption or 
provided to a milk plant, cheese plant, frozen desserts plant, 
transfer station, or receiving station.  

"Deficiency" means an element that is inadequate or missing 
from the requirements of a HACCP System or with the 
voluntary HACCP program requirements of this chapter. 

"Deny" means the State Regulatory Authority will not issue 
a grade A permit to the applicant.  

"Deviation" means a failure to meet a critical limit. 

"Drug" means: (i) articles recognized in the official United 
States Pharmacopeia, official Homeopathic Pharmacopeia of 
the United States, or official National Formulary, or any 
supplement to any of them; (ii) articles intended for use in the 
diagnosis, cure, mitigation, treatment, or prevention of 
disease in man or other animals; (iii) articles other than food 
intended to affect the structure or any function of the body of 
man or other animals; and (iv) articles intended for use as a 
component of any articles specified in clause (i), (ii), or (iii) 
of this definition, but does not include devices or their 
components, parts, or accessories.  

"Dry buttermilk" means "dry buttermilk" as defined in 7 
CFR 58.251. 

"Dry buttermilk product" means "dry buttermilk product" as 
defined in 7 CFR 58.251. 

"Dry cream" means "dry cream" as defined in 21 CFR 
131.149.  

"Dry curd cottage cheese" means "dry curd cottage cheese" 
as defined in 21 CFR 133.129.  

"Dry milk product" means a product resulting from the 
drying of any milk or milk product and any product resulting 
from the combination of a dry milk product with other safe 
and suitable dry ingredients.  

"Dry whey" means "dry whey" as defined in 21 CFR 
184.1979.  

"Dry whey product" means a product resulting from the 
drying of whey or whey products and any product resulting 
from the combination of dry whey products with other 
wholesome dry ingredients. 

"Dry whole milk" means "dry whole milk" as defined in 
21 CFR 131.147.  

"Eggnog" means "eggnog" as defined in 21 CFR 131.170.  

"Eggnog-flavored milk" means a milk product, to which an 
emulsifier and a maximum of 0.5% stabilizer may have been 
added consisting of a mixture of (i) at least 3.25% butterfat, 
(ii) at least 0.5% egg yolk solids, (iii) sweetener, and (iv) 
flavoring.  

"Evaporated milk" means "evaporated milk" as defined in 
21 CFR 131.130.  

"Flavored milk" means milk to which a flavor or sweetener 
has been added.  

"Flavored milk product" means any milk product to which a 
flavor or sweetener has been added.  

"Fortified milk" means milk, other than vitamin D milk, the 
vitamin or mineral content of which milk has been increased.  

"Fortified milk product" means any milk product, other than 
a vitamin D milk product, the vitamin or mineral content of 
which milk product has been increased.  

"Frozen milk concentrate" means the frozen milk product 
which, when water is added in accordance with instructions 
on the package containing the frozen milk product, the 
reconstituted milk product contains the percentage of milkfat 
and the percentage of milk solids not fat of milk.  

"Goat milk" means the normal lacteal secretion, practically 
free of colostrum, obtained by the complete milking of one or 
more healthy goats which, when sold in retail packages, 
contains not less than 2.5% milkfat and not less than 7.5% 
nonfat milk solids not fat.  
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"Grade A condensed and dry whey" means condensed or dry 
whey which complies with the provisions of the "Grade "A" 
Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 2005 Revision" and this chapter.  

"Grade A condensed milk" means condensed milk which 
complies with the provisions of the "Grade "A" Pasteurized 
Milk Ordinance, 2005 Revision" and this chapter.  

"Grade A dry milk product" means any dry milk product 
which complies with the provisions of the "Grade "A" 
Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 2005 Revision" and this chapter.  

"Grade A dry milk and whey product" means any dry milk 
or whey product which has been produced for use in any 
grade A pasteurized, ultra-pasteurized, or aseptically 
processed milk product; and which has been manufactured 
under the provisions of the "Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk 
Ordinance, 2005 Revision" and this chapter.  

"Grade A permit" means the written document issued by the 
state regulatory authority to the person who operates a: (i) 
dairy farm to produce raw milk for pasteurization, ultra-
pasteurization, or aseptic processing; (ii) milk plant; (iii) 
receiving station; (iv) transfer station; (v) milk condensing 
plant; (vi) milk drying plant; (vii) whey condensing plant; or 
(viii) whey drying plant; after the State Regulatory Authority 
has inspected and approved the person's operation and 
determined the person's compliance with the provisions of 
this chapter for the operations specified in this definition.  

"HACCP" means hazard analysis critical control point. 

"HACCP plan" means the written document, which is based 
upon the principles of HACCP and delineates the procedures 
to be followed. 

"HACCP system" means the implemented HACCP plan and 
prerequisite programs, including other applicable 
requirements of the voluntary HACCP program of this 
chapter. 

"Half-and-half" means "half-and-half" as defined in 21 CFR 
131.180.  

"Hazard" means a biological, chemical, or physical agent 
that is reasonably likely to cause illness or injury in the 
absence of its control. 

"Hazard analysis" means the process of collecting and 
evaluating information on hazards associated with the milk, 
milk product, condensed milk, condensed milk product, dry 
milk, or dry milk product under consideration, to decide 
which are reasonably likely to occur and must be addressed in 
the HACCP plan. 

"Heavy cream" means "heavy cream" as defined in 21 CFR 
131.150.  

"Lactose-reduced lowfat milk" means the product resulting 
from the addition of safe and suitable enzymes to convert 
enough lactose to glucose or galactose so that less than 30% 

of the lactose remains in the lowfat milk from which the 
product is made.  

"Lactose-reduced milk" means the product resulting from 
the addition of safe and suitable enzymes to convert enough 
lactose to glucose or galactose so that less than 30% of the 
lactose remains in the milk from which the product is made.  

"Lactose-reduced skim milk" means the product resulting 
from the addition of safe and suitable enzymes to convert 
enough lactose to glucose or galactose so that less than 30% 
of the lactose remains in the skim milk from which the 
product is made.  

"Light cream" means "light cream" as defined in 21 CFR 
131.155.  

"Light whipping cream" means "light whipping cream" as 
defined in 21 CFR 131.157.  

"Lowfat yogurt" means "lowfat yogurt" as defined in 21 
CFR 131.203.  

"Low-sodium lowfat milk" means the milk product resulting 
from the treatment of lowfat milk by a process of passing the 
lowfat milk through an ion exchange resin process, or by any 
other process which has been recognized by the Food and 
Drug Administration that effectively reduces the sodium 
content of the product to less than 10 milligrams in 100 
milliliters.  

"Low-sodium milk" means the milk product resulting from 
the treatment of milk by a process of passing the milk through 
an ion exchange resin process, or by any other process which 
has been recognized by the Food and Drug Administration 
that effectively reduces the sodium content of the product to 
less than 10 milligrams in 100 milliliters.  

"Low-sodium skim milk" means the milk product resulting 
from the treatment of skim milk by a process of passing the 
skim milk through an ion exchange resin process, or by any 
other process which has been recognized by the Food and 
Drug Administration that effectively reduces the sodium 
content of the product to less than 10 milligrams in 100 
milliliters.  

"Market milk" means milk.  

"Market milk product" means milk product.  

"Milk" means the whole, fresh, clean lacteal secretion 
obtained by the complete milking of one or more healthy 
cows, goats, sheep, water buffalo, or other mammal (except 
humans) intended for human consumption excluding that 
obtained before and after birthing, for such a period as may 
be necessary to render the milk practically colostrum free. 

"Milk condensing plant" means any plant in which milk or 
any milk product is condensed or dried, or in which milk or 
any milk product is received, separated, or otherwise 
processed for drying and packaging.  
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"Milk drying plant" means any plant in which milk or any 
milk product is condensed or dried, or in which milk or any 
milk product is received, separated, or otherwise processed 
for drying and packaging.  

"Milkfat" means the fat of milk.  

"Milkhouse" means the building or room in which there is 
conducted on a grade A dairy farm (i) the cooling, handling, 
and storing of milk and (ii) the washing, sanitizing, and 
storing of milk containers and utensils.  

"Milk plant" means any place, premises, or establishment 
where any milk or milk product is collected, handled, 
processed, stored, pasteurized, ultra-pasteurized, aseptically 
processed, condensed, dried, bottled, or prepared for 
distribution.  

"Milk producer" means any person who operates a dairy 
farm and who provides, sells, or offers milk for sale for 
human consumption or to a milk plant, receiving station, or 
transfer station.  

"Milk product" means: (i) acidified lowfat milk, acidified 
nonfat milk, acidified milk, acidified milk product, acidified 
reduced fat milk, acidified skim milk, acidified sour cream, 
acidified sour half-and-half, aseptically processed milk, 
aseptically processed milk product, buttermilk, coffee cream, 
concentrated milk, concentrated milk product, cottage cheese, 
cottage cheese dry curd, cream, cultured half-and-half, 
cultured milk, cultured lowfat milk, cultured nonfat milk, 
cultured reduced fat milk, cultured skim milk, cultured sour 
cream, cultured sour half-and-half, dry curd cottage cheese, 
eggnog, eggnog-flavored milk, flavored milk, flavored milk 
product, fortified milk, fortified milk product, frozen milk 
concentrate, goat milk, half-and-half, heavy cream, heavy 
whipping cream, lactose-reduced lowfat milk, lactose-reduced 
nonfat milk, lactose-reduced milk, lactose-reduced reduced 
fat milk, lactose-reduced skim milk, light cream, light 
whipping cream, lowfat cottage cheese, lowfat milk, lowfat 
yogurt, low-sodium lowfat milk, low-sodium nonfat milk, 
low-sodium milk, low-sodium reduced fat milk, low-sodium 
skim milk, milk, nonfat milk, nonfat yogurt, recombined 
milk, recombined milk product, reconstituted milk, 
reconstituted milk product, reduced fat milk, sheep milk, 
skim milk, sour cream, sour half-and-half, table cream, 
vitamin D milk, vitamin D milk product, whipped cream, 
whipped light cream, whipping cream, or yogurt; (ii) any of 
the following foods: milk, lowfat milk, or skim milk with 
added safe and suitable microbial organisms; or (iii) any food 
made with a food specified in (i) of this definition by the 
addition or subtraction of milkfat or addition of safe and 
suitable optional ingredients for protein, vitamin, or mineral 
fortification. Nothing in this definition shall be deemed to 
include any evaporated milk, evaporated skim milk, 
condensed milk (sweetened or unsweetened), infant formula, 
ice cream or other dessert, dietary product, dry milk product 
(except as defined herein), canned eggnog in a rigid metal 

container, or butter or cheese, except when butter or cheese is 
combined with other substances to produce any pasteurized or 
aseptically processed food as specified in this definition.  

"Misbranded milk" or "misbranded milk product" means any 
milk, milk product, or condensed and dry milk product that: 
(i) satisfies any of the conditions specified in § 403 of the 
Federal Food Drug, and Cosmetic Act, as amended (21 USC 
343), (ii) does not conform to its definition; or (iii) is not 
labeled in accordance with 2VAC5-490-40.  

"Nonconformity" means a failure to meet specified 
requirements of the HACCP system. 

"Nonfat dry milk" means "nonfat dry milk" as defined in 21 
CFR 131.125.  

"Nonfat dry milk fortified with vitamins A and D" means 
"nonfat dry milk fortified with vitamins A and D" as defined 
in 21 CFR 131.127.  

"Nonfat yogurt" means "nonfat yogurt" as defined in 21 
CFR 131.206.  

"Normal storage" means storage at a temperature of 45°F or 
cooler, but does not include freezing.  

"Official laboratory" means a biological, chemical, or 
physical laboratory operated by the Commonwealth of 
Virginia.  

"Officially designated laboratory" means: (i) a commercial 
laboratory authorized by the State Regulatory Authority to 
examine milk, milk product, condensed and dry milk product, 
producer samples of Grade "A" raw milk for pasteurization, 
or commingled milk tank truck samples of raw milk or milk 
products or (ii) a milk-industry laboratory authorized by the 
State Regulatory Authority to examine milk producer samples 
of raw milk for pasteurization, and for drug residues and 
bacterial limits, samples of raw milk commingled in a tank 
truck.  

"Pasteurization" or "pasteurized" means the process of 
heating every particle of milk, milk product, or whey in 
equipment designed and operated in conformance with this 
chapter, to one of the temperatures given in the following 
table and held continuously at or above that temperature for at 
least the corresponding specified time for the equipment 
indicated:  

Temperature Time Equipment 

145°F* 30 minutes Vat Pasteurization 

161°F* 15 seconds High Temperature Short 
Time 

191°F 1.0 second High Temperature Short 
Time 

194°F 0.5 second High Temperature Short 
Time 
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201°F 0.1 second High Temperature Short 
Time 

204°F 0.05 second High Temperature Short 
Time 

212°F 0.01 second High Temperature Short 
Time 

*If: (i) the fat content of the milk or milk product is 10% or 
more; (ii) the milk or milk product contains added 
sweeteners; (iii) the product is condensed milk; or (iv) the 
milk product is a condensed milk product, then pasteurization 
means increasing the specified temperature by 5°F. 

*If the dairy product is cream for butter-making, then 
"pasteurization" means heating to at least 165°F and holding 
continuously in a vat pasteurizer for not less than 30 minutes 
or pasteurizing by the High Temperature Short Time method 
at a minimum temperature of not less than 185°F for not less 
than 15 seconds. 

*If the milk product is eggnog, then "pasteurization" means 
heating to at least the following temperatures for the 
corresponding time specifications and equipment:  

Temperature Time Equipment 

155°F 30 minutes Vat Pasteurization 

175°F 25 seconds High Temperature Short 
Time 

180°F 15 seconds High Temperature Short 
Time 

Nothing in this definition shall be construed as barring any 
other process which has been recognized by the Food and 
Drug Administration as being equally efficacious as 
pasteurization, so long as that other process has been 
approved by the State Regulatory Authority.  

"Person" means any individual, plant operator, partnership, 
corporation, company, firm, trustee, or institution.  

"Prerequisite programs" means procedures, including Good 
Manufacturing Practices, that address operational conditions 
that provide the foundation for the HACCP system. 

"Public" means any person in the Commonwealth.  

"Pull date" means the date affixed to a consumer package or 
container of grade A pasteurized milk or grade A pasteurized 
milk product which is the date after the day of manufacturing 
and processing of the package or container and the last day on 
which the grade A pasteurized milk or grade A pasteurized 
milk product as determined by the milk plant may be offered 
for sale to consumers under normal storage.  

"Raw milk" means: (i) any milk or any milk product which 
has not been pasteurized, ultra-pasteurized, or aseptically 
processed; or (ii) or any milk or any milk product which has 

been pasteurized, ultra-pasteurized, or aseptically processed 
and which has been exposed to microbiological 
contamination before, during, or after packaging.  

"Receiving station" means any place, premises, or 
establishment where raw milk is: (i) received, collected, 
handled, stored, or cooled; and (ii) prepared for further 
transporting.  

"Recombined milk" means the food which, when combined 
with potable water according to the instructions printed on the 
food's container, conforms to the milk fat and nonfat milk 
solids requirements for milk, as specified in the definition of 
"milk."  

"Recombined milk product" means the food which, when 
combined with potable water according to the instructions 
printed on the food's container, conforms to the milk fat and 
milk nonfat solids requirements for the milk product 
designated on the food's container.  

"Reconstituted milk" means "recombined milk."  

"Reconstituted milk product" means "recombined milk 
product."  

"Reduced lactose whey" means "reduced lactose whey" as 
defined in 21 CFR 184.1979a. 

"Reduced minerals whey" means "reduced minerals whey" 
as defined in 21 CFR 184.1979b. 

"Revoke" means to permanently annul, repeal, rescind, 
countermand, or abrogate a Grade A permit issued by the 
State Regulatory Authority.  

"Safe and suitable" means "safe and suitable" as defined in 
21 CFR 130.3(d).  

"Sanitization" means the application of any effective method 
or substance to a clean surface for the destruction of 
pathogens, and of other organisms as far as is practicable, and 
when used does not adversely affect: (i) the equipment which 
comes in contact with milk, milk product, or condensed and 
dry milk product; (ii) the milk, milk product, or condensed 
and dry milk product; or (iii) the health of consumers.  

"Septage" means material accumulated in a pretreatment 
system or privy.  

"Sewage" means water-carried and nonwater-carried human 
excrement; kitchen, laundry, shower, bath, or lavatory wastes 
separately or together with such underground, surface, storm 
and other water and liquid industrial wastes as may be present 
from residences, buildings, vehicles, industrial establishments 
or other places.  

"Sheep milk" means the normal lacteal secretion, practically 
free of colostrum, obtained by the complete milking of one or 
more healthy sheep.  
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"Sour cream" means "sour cream" as defined in 21 CFR 
131.160.  

"State Regulatory Authority" means the Commissioner of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services or his agent when 
carrying out any duty specified in § 3.1-530.3 3.2-5207 of the 
Code of Virginia or the State Health Commissioner or his 
agent when carrying out any duty specified in § 3.1-530.4 
3.2-5208 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Suspend" means to temporarily nullify, void, debar, or 
cease for a period of time a grade A permit issued by the State 
Regulatory Authority.  

"Sweetened condensed milk" means "sweetened condensed 
milk" as defined in 21 CFR 131.120.  

"Table cream" means "light cream" as defined in 21 CFR 
131.155.  

"Transfer station" means any place, premises, or 
establishment where milk or milk products are transferred 
directly from one milk tank truck to another. 

"Trim" means to shorten the hair on the udder and tail of 
milking cows and goats by clipping, singeing, cutting, or 
other means.  

"Ultra-pasteurized" means, when used to describe any milk 
or milk product, that the milk or milk product has been 
thermally processed at a temperature of 280°F (138°C) or 
hotter for at least two seconds, either before or after 
packaging, so as to produce a product that has an extended 
shelf life under normal storage.  

"Validation" means the element of verification focused on 
collecting and evaluating scientific and technical information 
to determine whether the HACCP plan, when properly 
implemented, will effectively control the hazards. 

"Verification" means those activities, other than monitoring, 
that determine the validity of the HACCP plan and that the 
HACCP system is operating according to the plan. 

"Vitamin A milk" means milk, the vitamin A content of 
which has been increased to at least 2000 International Units 
per quart.  

"Vitamin A milk product" means a milk product, the vitamin 
A content of which has been increased to at least 2000 
International Units per quart.  

"Vitamin D milk" means milk, the vitamin D content of 
which has been increased to at least 400 International Units 
per quart.  

"Vitamin D milk product" means a milk product, the vitamin 
D content of which has been increased to at least 400 
International Units per quart.  

"Water buffalo milk" means the normal lacteal secretion, 
practically free of colostrum, obtained by the complete 
milking of one or more healthy water buffalo. 

"Whey" means "whey" as defined in 21 CFR 184.1979.  

"Whey condensing plant" means a plant in which whey is 
condensed or in which whey is received and processed for 
drying and packaging.  

"Whey drying plant" means a plant in which whey is dried 
or in which whey is received and processed for drying and 
packaging.  

"Whey product" means any fluid product removed from 
whey, or made by the removal of any constituent from whey, 
or by the addition of any wholesome substance to whey or 
parts thereof. 

"Whipped cream" means "heavy cream" as defined in 
21 CFR 131.150 or "light whipping cream" as defined in 
21 CFR 131.157, into which air or gas has been incorporated.  

"Whipped light cream" means "light whipped cream" as 
defined in 21 CFR 131.155, into which air or gas has been 
incorporated.  

"Whipping cream" means "light whipping cream" as defined 
in 21 CFR 131.157.  

"Yogurt" means "yogurt" as defined in 21 CFR 131.200.  

2VAC5-490-31. Authority to cancel, suspend, revoke or 
deny a permit. 

A. The State Regulatory Authority may cancel, suspend, or 
revoke the grade A permit of any person, or may deny to any 
person a grade A permit if:  

1. The grade A permit holder fails to engage daily in the 
business for which the grade A permit is issued;  

2. The grade A permit holder does not daily produce, 
provide, manufacture, sell, offer for sale, or store in the 
Commonwealth, or bring, send, or receive into the 
Commonwealth milk, milk product, condensed milk 
product or dry milk product;  

3. The grade A permit holder fails to provide at no cost to 
the State Regulatory Authority samples of milk, milk 
product, condensed milk product and dry milk product in 
the person's possession for testing by the State Regulatory 
Authority; 

4. The grade A permit holder fails to provide on a daily 
basis milk, milk product, condensed milk product or dry 
milk product in the person's possession for sampling and 
testing by the State Regulatory Authority; 

5. The grade A permit holder fails to comply with any 
requirement of this chapter, or of §§ 3.1-420 through 3.1-
424, §§ 3.1-530.1 through 3.1-530.11 or §§ 3.1-531.1 
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through 3.1-545.1 §§ 3.2-5200 through 3.2-5211 or 3.2-
5218 through 3.2-5233 of the Code of Virginia; 

6. A public health hazard exists that affects the grade A 
permit holder's milk, milk product, condensed milk product 
or dry milk product;  

7. The grade A permit holder or any agent of the grade A 
permit holder has obstructed or interfered with the State 
Regulatory Authority in the performance of its duties;  

8. The person supplies false or misleading information to 
the State Regulatory Authority: (i) in the person's 
application for a grade A permit; (ii) concerning the 
identity of the person who will control the facility that is 
the subject of the grade A permit; (iii) concerning the 
amount of milk, milk product, condensed milk product or 
dry milk product which the person produces, provides, 
manufactures, sells, offers for sale, or stores in the 
Commonwealth, or brings, sends, or receives into the 
Commonwealth and the distribution of the person's milk, 
milk product, condensed milk product or dry milk product; 
(iv) concerning any investigation conducted by the State 
Regulatory Authority; or (v) concerning the location of any 
part of the person's operation that is subject to a grade A 
permit;  

9. The grade A permit holder engages in fraudulent activity 
regarding: (i) the amount of milk, milk product, condensed 
milk product or dry milk product the person offers to sell 
or sells; or (ii) the collection of samples of the person's 
milk, milk product, condensed milk product or dry milk 
product used to determine compliance with any provision 
of this chapter or as a basis for payment for milk, milk 
product, condensed milk product or dry milk product;  

10. Three of the most recent five bacteria counts, somatic 
cell counts, or cooling temperature determinations 
conducted on the grade A permit holder's raw milk exceed 
the standards specified in this chapter;  

11. Three of the most recent five bacteria counts, coliform 
determinations, or cooling temperature determinations 
conducted on the grade A permit holder's milk, milk 
product, condensed milk product or dry milk product 
exceed the standards specified in this chapter;  

12. Two of the most recent cryoscope tests on the grade A 
permit holder's milk violate the standard specified in this 
chapter and the most recent violative sample occurred 
within two years of the next most recent violative sample;  

13. The most recent aflatoxin or drug residue test on the 
grade A permit holder's milk, milk product, condensed 
milk product or dry milk product violates the standards 
specified in this chapter.  

14. The most recent phosphatase test on the grade A permit 
holder's milk, milk product, condensed milk product or dry 
milk product violates the standard specified in this chapter;  

15. The most recent chemical residue test or pesticide 
residue test on the grade A permit holder's milk, milk 
product, condensed milk product or dry milk product 
exceeds the actionable level, tolerance level, or safe level 
for any chemical residue or pesticide residue specified in: 
40 CFR Part 180 and 21 CFR Parts 70, 71, 73, 74, 80, 82, 
130, 131, 133, 170, 172, 173, 174, 175, 176, 177, 178, 189, 
556, 570, 573, 589. In the event that no actionable level, 
tolerance level, or safe level for a chemical residue or 
pesticides residue has been established in: 40 CFR Part 180 
and 21 CFR Parts 70, 71, 73, 74, 80, 82, 130, 131, 133, 
170, 172, 173, 174, 175, 176, 177, 178, 189, 556, 570, 573, 
589, the tolerance level shall be deemed to be zero;  

16. The grade A permit holder fails to correct any: (i) 
violation of this chapter documented as a result of an 
inspection or (ii) deficiency or nonconformity documented 
as a result of a HACCP audit that the State Regulatory 
Authority has cited in a written notice of intent to suspend 
the person's grade A permit, as a violation of this chapter;  

17. The grade A permit holder's raw milk for 
pasteurization is warmer than 50°F two hours after the 
completion of the first milking or the grade A permit 
holder's raw milk for pasteurization is warmer than 50°F 
during or after any subsequent milking;  

18. The grade A permit holder's equipment is covered or 
partially covered by an accumulation of milk solids, milk 
fat, or other residue so that the milk, milk product, 
condensed milk product or dry milk product is adulterated;  

19. The grade A permit holder sells or offers for sale milk, 
milk products, condensed milk product or dry milk product 
which violate any requirement of this chapter;  

20. The grade A permit holder's permit is suspended three 
times within a 12-month period;  

21. The authority in another state responsible for issuing 
grade A permits has denied, suspended, or revoked the 
permit of the person in that state for any act or omission 
that would violate this chapter or the statutes under which 
this chapter was adopted, had the act or omission occurred 
in the Commonwealth; or 

22. The Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services has previously revoked the person's grade A 
permit.  

B. The State Regulatory Authority may summarily suspend 
a grade A permit for violation of any of the following 
subdivisions of subsection A of this section: 6, 9, 10, 11, 12, 
13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, or 19.  

C. The State Regulatory Authority may suspend from sale 
any condensed milk, condensed milk product, dry milk, dry 
milk product, milk or milk product in violation of the 
requirements of this chapter processed by any grade A dairy 
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plant permit holder in lieu of suspending the grade A dairy 
plant permit holder's permit. 

D. If the State Regulatory Authority suspends a permit 
holder's permit more than three times within any 12-month 
period, the permit holder's permit shall not be reinstated for a 
period of three days on the fourth suspension within any 12-
month period and six days on the fifth suspension within any 
12-month period with three days being added to the required 
suspension period for each additional suspension thereafter 
within any 12-month period. 

E. If the State Regulatory Authority issues two written 
notices of intent to suspend a person's permit for failure to 
correct the same deficiency within any 12-month period, the 
State Regulatory Authority may issue and enforce a written 
notice of intent to summarily suspend the person's permit at 
any time within six months after the date the written notice of 
intent to summarily suspend is issued, to summarily suspend 
the person's permit if the same violation exist on any 
inspection during the six-month period specified in the 
written notice of intent to summarily suspend. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1714; Filed January 13, 2009, 11:26 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-501. Regulations Governing 
the Cooling, Storing, Sampling and Transporting of Milk 
(amending 2VAC5-501-30, 2VAC5-501-60, 2VAC5-501-
70). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 3.2-5206, 3.2-5223 and 3.2-5224 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Roy E. Seward, Jr., Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Oliver W. 
Hill, Sr., Building, 102 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 786-3535, FAX (804) 371-7679, or 
email roy.seward@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update citations to reflect the 
recodification of Title 3.1 to Title 3.2 of the Code of 
Virginia, which became effective October 1, 2008. 

2VAC5-501-30. Permits. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess 
a permit from the state regulatory authority of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia to: (i) operate a bulk milk pickup 
tanker; (ii) sample, measure, and collect milk from farm bulk 
milk cooling or holding tanks; (iii) sample, measure, or 
receive milk in cans or containers into any milk plant, 
receiving station, or transfer station; (iv) possess or transport 
official milk samples; (v) collect official milk samples from 
bulk milk pickup tankers or milk transport tanks; or (vi) 
collect official milk samples of pasteurized milk or 
pasteurized milk products from a milk plant. Each person 

shall pass a test as prescribed by the state regulatory 
authority. Qualifications of such persons shall be those set 
forth by laws, regulations, and procedures prescribed by the 
state regulatory authority. All such permits shall expire on 
December 31 next following the date of issuance. All such 
permits shall be renewed without further examination if the 
permit holder renews his permit within one year after the 
permit's expiration date. No permit to operate a bulk milk 
pickup tanker to sample, measure, and collect milk from farm 
bulk milk cooling or holding tanks shall be renewed without 
the applicant satisfactorily passing a test as prescribed by the 
state regulatory authority if the applicant did not renew his 
permit within one year after it expired. Each bulk milk 
sampler shall be evaluated by the state regulatory authority at 
least once during the first year after his permit is issued and a 
minimum of once every two years thereafter as a condition of 
permit renewal. It shall be the responsibility of each bulk 
milk sampler to ensure he is available to be evaluated by the 
state regulatory authority. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess 
a permit from the state regulatory authority of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia to operate a milk tank truck 
cleaning facility. Each milk tank truck cleaning facility shall 
be inspected and determined to be in compliance with all 
requirements of this chapter by the state regulatory authority 
prior to permit issuance. All such permits shall expire on 
December 31 next following the date of issuance. 

C. Each contract hauler and subcontract hauler shall obtain a 
permit from the state regulatory authority in order to contract 
for the hauling of milk from a dairy farm to a milk plant or 
transfer station. Each contract hauler and subcontract hauler 
shall also obtain a permit from the state regulatory authority 
for each bulk milk pickup tanker and each milk transport tank 
they operate. Each bulk milk pickup tanker and each transport 
tank shall be identified by a five-digit number preceded by 
the letters "VA". The first two digits of the five-digit number 
shall identify the contract hauler or subcontract hauler as 
assigned by the state regulatory authority and the last three 
digits of the five-digit number shall identify the specific bulk 
milk pickup tanker or transport tank as assigned by the state 
regulatory authority. Each contract hauler and subcontract 
hauler shall identify each bulk milk pickup tanker and 
transport tank on the left hand side of the rear bulkhead of 
each tank with permanent, water resistant letters and 
numbers. Each contract hauler and subcontract hauler shall 
use only letters and numbers to identify a bulk milk pickup 
tanker or milk transport tank that are at least three inches tall 
and one-and-one-half inches wide. Each contract hauler and 
subcontract hauler shall provide the state regulatory authority 
with the name of the manufacturer, year made, model 
number, capacity, serial number, number of compartments, 
whether the tanker is a bulk milk pickup tanker or milk 
transport tank, delivery address, mailing address, telephone, 
and contact information for each bulk milk pickup tanker and 
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milk transport tank for permitting purposes. Permits for 
contract haulers, subcontract haulers, bulk milk pickup 
tankers, and milk transport tanks shall expire on December 31 
next following the date of issuance and shall be renewed 
annually. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess 
a permit from the state regulatory authority of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia to operate a pay purpose 
laboratory or to test milk for pay purposes. Each person 
employed by a pay purpose laboratory who is involved in 
testing milk for pay purposes shall pass a test as prescribed by 
the state regulatory authority. Qualifications of such persons 
shall be those set forth by laws, regulations, and procedures 
prescribed by the state regulatory authority. All such permits 
shall expire on December 31 next following the date of 
issuance and shall be renewed annually. All such permits 
shall be renewed without further examination if the permit 
holder renews within one year after the permit's expiration 
date. 

E. Only a person who complies with this chapter shall be 
entitled to receive and retain such a permit. Permits or 
identification numbers shall not be transferable with respect 
to persons, equipment, or locations. 

F. The state regulatory authority may cancel, suspend, or 
revoke the permit of any person, or may deny to any person a 
permit if: 

1. It has reason to believe that a public health hazard exists; 

2. The permit holder fails to engage daily in the business 
for which the permit was issued; 

3. The permit holder was not evaluated by the state 
regulatory authority if required for permit renewal; 

4. The permit holder fails to comply with any requirement 
of this chapter, or of §§ 3.1-420 through 3.1-424, §§ 3.1-
530.1 through 3.1-530.10, §§ 3.1-531.1 through 3.1-542, or 
§§ 3.1-544 through 3.1-545.1 §§ 3.2-5200 through 3.2-
5210 or 3.2-5218 through 3.2-5233 of the Code of 
Virginia; 

5. The permit holder has interfered with the state 
regulatory authority in the performance of its duties; 

6. The person supplies false or misleading information to 
the state regulatory authority: (i) in the person's application 
for a permit; (ii) concerning the identity of the person who 
will control the business or equipment that is the subject of 
the permit; (iii) concerning the amount of milk, milk 
product, or dairy product that the person weighs, samples, 
tests, or transports; (iv) concerning the distribution of the 
person's milk, milk product, or dairy product; (v) 
concerning any investigation conducted by the state 
regulatory authority; or (vi) concerning the location of any 
part of the person's operation or equipment that is subject 
to a permit; 

7. The permit holder engages in fraudulent activity 
regarding: (i) the amount of milk, milk product, or dairy 
product the person weighs, samples, tests, or transports; (ii) 
the collection of samples used to determine compliance 
with any provision of 2VAC5-490, 2VAC5-530, or this 
chapter; or (iii) the collection or testing of samples used for 
pay purposes; 

8. The permit holder fails to correct any deficiency that the 
state regulatory authority has cited in a written notice of 
intent to suspend the person's permit, as a violation of this 
chapter; or 

9. The authority in another state responsible for issuing 
permits to contract haulers, subcontract haulers, bulk milk 
haulers, bulk milk samplers, dairy plant samplers, 
transporters of official samples, pay purpose laboratories, 
or testers of milk samples for pay purposes has suspended, 
or revoked the permit of the person in that state for any act 
or omission that would violate this chapter or the statutes 
under which this chapter was adopted, had the act or 
omission occurred in the Commonwealth. 

G. The state regulatory authority may summarily suspend 
the permit of any person for violation of subdivisions F 1 or F 
8 of this section. 

H. Each bulk milk sampler and bulk milk hauler shall ensure 
that one complete set of milk samples representing each of 
the milk pickups on each load of farm pickup milk in his 
possession shall accompany the load to its destination. No 
person may remove the last complete set of milk samples 
from a bulk milk pickup tanker prior to its delivery to a milk 
plant, receiving station, or transfer station. 

I. Each person who holds a permit to produce milk shall 
store a minimum of the past 30 days bulk milk pickup tickets 
in his milkroom for use by the state regulatory authority if he 
ships his milk by bulk shipment. 

J. Each person who operates a dairy farm shall abstain from 
selling any milk from his dairy farm after his milk tests 
positive for excessive drug residues until notified by the state 
regulatory authority that a followup official milk sample 
taken from his milk supply tested negative for excessive drug 
residues.  

K. To provide for permitting reciprocity between states, the 
state regulatory authority may issue a Virginia permit to any 
bulk milk hauler or bulk milk sampler who holds a valid 
permit issued by the regulatory authority in another state 
without that person having to take or pass a test in Virginia if 
the person will be picking up or sampling milk in Virginia.  

L. Each person who operates a dairy farm shall use only a 
farm bulk milk pickup tanker or milk transport tanker for 
direct loading and storage of milk on his dairy farm if: (i) the 
milk tank truck is equipped with a means to collect 
representative milk samples approved by the state regulatory 
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authority at his dairy farm; (ii) the milk tank truck is always 
delivered to the same milk plant in Virginia where a 
representative milk sample may be obtained by the state 
regulatory authority or (iii) the operator of the dairy farm 
arranges for official milk samples to be collected and 
delivered to a laboratory operated by the state regulatory 
authority. 

M. Each bulk milk hauler, bulk milk sampler, contract 
hauler, and subcontract hauler who transports any pasteurized 
milk, pasteurized milk product, pasteurized dairy product, or 
pasteurized frozen dessert mix shall use only a milk tank 
truck that is dedicated solely to transport or hold pasteurized 
milk, pasteurized milk product, pasteurized dairy product, or 
pasteurized frozen dessert mix if the pasteurized milk, 
pasteurized milk product, pasteurized dairy product, or 
pasteurized frozen dessert mix will not be repasteurized in the 
milk plant receiving the pasteurized milk, pasteurized milk 
product, pasteurized dairy product, or pasteurized frozen 
dessert mix prior to being packaged for sale. 

2VAC5-501-60. Construction and operation of farm bulk 
milk cooling or holding tanks, recording thermometers, 
interval timing devices, and other required milkhouse or 
milkroom facilities.  

A. Each person who operates a dairy farm and installs one or 
more farm bulk cooling or holding tanks in his milkhouse 
shall provide the following facilities:  

1. A milk hose port opening no larger than eight inches in 
diameter through a wall in the milkhouse closest to the area 
the bulk milk pickup tanker will be parked to receive the 
milk from each farm bulk cooling or holding tank;  

2. The hose port shall be provided with a self-closing door 
which shall open to the outside;  

3. The hose port shall be of sufficient height above the 
milkhouse floor and the outside apron to prevent flooding 
or draining of the milkhouse;  

4. An outside apron constructed of concrete or other 
equally impervious material shall be provided on the 
outside of the milkhouse directly beneath the hose port to 
protect the milk-conducting equipment from 
contamination;  

5. Each outside apron shall be a minimum of four inches 
thick if constructed of concrete and measure a minimum of 
two feet by two feet horizontally;  

6. Each outside apron constructed of a material other than 
concrete shall measure a minimum of two feet by two feet 
horizontally;  

7. A 220-volt grounded weatherproof electrical outlet 
installed on the outside of the milkroom or milkhouse near 
the hoseport for the bulk milk hauler's use to power the 
milk pump on the bulk milk pickup tanker; and  

8. A switch to control the electrical power to the 220-volt 
grounded weatherproof electrical outlet located on the 
inside of the milkroom or milkhouse near the outlet to the 
farm bulk cooling or holding tank.  

B. Each person who operates a dairy farm and installs one or 
more farm bulk cooling or holding tanks in his milkhouse or 
milkroom shall comply with the following requirements:  

1. Each farm bulk cooling or holding tank shall comply 
with all the requirements contained in:  

a. 3-A Sanitary Standards for Farm Milk Cooling and 
Holding Tanks, Document No. 13-09 (Nov. 1993); or  

b. 3-A Sanitary Standards for Farm Milk Storage Tanks, 
Document No. 30-01 (Sept. 1984);  

2. Each farm bulk cooling or holding tank shall be 
equipped with an indicating thermometer accurate to plus 
or minus 2.0°F and capable of registering the temperature 
of the milk in the tank before it reaches 10% of the tank's 
volume;  

3. Each farm bulk cooling or holding tank shall be installed 
to comply with the following minimum clearance distances 
around, above, and below each farm bulk cooling or 
holding tank:  

a. Three feet measured horizontally between a wash vat 
and the outermost portion of any farm bulk cooling or 
holding tank;  

b. Three feet measured horizontally in a 180-degree arch 
from the front of the tank where the outlet valve is 
located;  

c. Two feet measured horizontally from the sides and rear 
of any farm bulk cooling or holding tank to any wall, 
shelves, water heater, hand-basin, or other object;  

d. Eighteen inches measured horizontally from the 
outermost portion of any farm bulk cooling or holding 
tank to any floor drain and the floor drain shall not be 
located underneath the tank;  

e. Three feet measured vertically from the top of the 
manhole cover of any farm bulk cooling or holding tank 
to the ceiling;  

f. Eight inches measured vertically from the floor 
underneath the bottom of any round farm bulk cooling or 
holding tank that measures greater than 72 inches in 
diameter;  

g. Four inches measured vertically from the floor 
underneath the bottom of any round farm bulk cooling or 
holding tank that measures equal to or less than 72 inches 
in diameter; and  
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h. Six inches measured vertically from the floor 
underneath the bottom of any flat bottom farm bulk 
cooling or holding tank;  

4. Farm bulk cooling or holding tanks installed through a 
milkroom wall shall meet the following minimum 
requirements:  

a. The area between the farm bulk cooling or holding 
tank and the wall shall be tightly sealed;  

b. All vents and openings on the farm bulk cooling or 
holding tank located outside the milkroom shall be 
protected from dust, insects, moisture, and other debris 
which might enter the tank;  

c. All agitators located outside the milkroom shall be 
equipped with a tightly fitting seal between the bottom of 
the agitator motor and the top of the farm bulk cooling or 
holding tank;  

5. Each person who operates a dairy farm shall ensure that 
each farm bulk cooling or holding tank is installed with a 
foundation of sufficient strength to support the tank when 
it is full;  

6. Each person who operates a dairy farm shall obtain prior 
approval from the state regulatory authority for each farm 
bulk cooling or holding tank and its installation before it is 
installed on the person's dairy farm; and  

7. Each person who operates a dairy farm shall ensure each 
farm bulk cooling or holding tank on his farm is installed, 
gauged, and a volume chart prepared in compliance with § 
3.1-941.1 3.2-5260 of the Code of Virginia. Each farm 
bulk cooling or holding tank and any gauge rod, surface 
gauge, gauge, or gauge tube and calibration chart 
associated with it shall be identified by serial number in a 
prominent manner.  

C. Each person who holds a grade "A" dairy farm permit 
and installs a farm bulk cooling or holding tank shall comply 
with the following:  

1. Each farm bulk cooling or holding tank shall be 
equipped with a recording thermometer;  

2. Each recording thermometer shall be installed to comply 
with the following:  

a. Each recording thermometer shall be installed in the 
milkhouse;  

b. No recording thermometer may be installed on or 
attached to a farm bulk cooling or holding tank;  

c. Each recording thermometer shall be installed: (i) on 
an inside wall of the milkhouse; (ii) on an outside wall of 
the milkhouse or milkroom if installed with one inch of 
rigid insulation between the back of the recording 
thermometer and the surface of the outside wall; or (iii) 
on metal brackets from the ceiling or floor;  

d. Each recording thermometer sensor shall be installed 
on the farm bulk cooling or holding tank to record the 
temperature of the milk in the tank before the milk 
reaches 10% of the tank's volume;  

3. Standards for recording thermometers. Each recording 
thermometer installed on a farm bulk cooling or holding 
tank shall comply with the following minimum 
requirements:  

a. The case for each recording thermometer shall be 
moisture proof under milkhouse conditions;  

b. The case for each recording thermometer shall be UL 
rated NEMA 4X enclosure or equivalent as provided in 
ANSI/NEMA 250, Enclosures for Electrical Equipment 
(1000 Volts Maximum) dated August 30, 2001;  

c. The case for each recording thermometer shall be 
equipped with a corrosion-resistant latching mechanism 
that keeps the recording thermometer tightly closed;  

d. The recorder chart for each recording thermometer 
shall not exceed a maximum chart rotation time of 48 
hours. Recorder charts for farm bulk cooling or holding 
tanks that are picked up every other day shall have a 
chart rotation time of 48 hours. Recorder charts for farm 
bulk cooling or holding tanks that are picked up every 
day may have a chart rotation time of 24 or 48 hours;  

e. The recorder chart for each recording thermometer 
shall be marked with water resistant ink;  

f. The scale on the recording chart shall cover a 
minimum of 30°F to 180°F, with the scale reversed to 
show cold temperatures at the outside of the chart for 
best resolution;  

g. Each division on the recording chart shall represent a 
maximum of 1.0°F between 30°F and 60°F, with two 
degree divisions between 60°F and 180°F;  

h. Spacing of divisions on the recorder chart shall be a 
minimum of 0.040 inches per 2.0°F, with the ink line 
easily distinguishable from the printed line;  

i. The recording thermometer speed of response or 
sensing of temperature shall be a maximum of 20 
seconds;  

j. The recording thermometer shall be accurate to plus or 
minus 2.0°F;  

k. The sensor for each recording thermometer shall be: (i) 
a resistance temperature detector (RTD) type sensor; (ii) 
constructed of stainless steel type 304 or type 316 on all 
exterior surfaces; (iii) hermetically sealed; (iv) accurate 
to 0.3°C; and (v) continuous run wire;  

l. Each recording thermometer and sensor shall be 
calibrated and supplied as a package;  
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m. No capillary system containing any toxic gas or liquid 
shall be allowed to come into direct contact with any 
milk or milk product;  

n. Other recording devices may be accepted by the state 
regulatory authority if they comply with the requirements 
of subdivisions 3 a through m of this subsection;  

o. If a strip chart style recorder is used, it shall move not 
less than one inch per hour, and may be continuous for a 
maximum of 30 days; and  

p. Recording thermometers may be manually wound or 
electrically operated;  

4. Recording thermometer operation: Each recording 
thermometer installed on a farm bulk cooling or holding 
tank shall comply with the following minimum operating 
requirements:  

a. Each recording thermometer shall be provided with a 
means to seal the calibration and zeroing mechanism to 
provide evidence of unauthorized adjustment or 
tampering;  

b. Each recording thermometer shall be provided with a 
pin in the hub to prevent the recording chart from being 
rotated; and  

c. Each recording thermometer shall be properly 
grounded and short circuit protected;  

5. Each person who operates a dairy farm and installs a 
recording thermometer on his farm bulk cooling or holding 
tank shall maintain a minimum of a 30-day supply of 
unused recorder charts designed for the specific recording 
thermometer he installed and maintain a minimum of the 
past 60 days of used charts for purposes of inspection;  

6. Each person who operates a dairy farm and installs a 
recording thermometer on his farm bulk cooling or holding 
tank shall provide a moisture proof storage container in the 
milkhouse or milkroom for purpose of storing a supply of 
new charts and a minimum of 60 days of used charts;  

D. No person may remove from the dairy farm any recorder 
chart that has been used once and removed from the recorder 
within the past 60 days unless he has obtained permission 
from the state regulatory authority. All recorder charts 
removed from any dairy farm by any person other than a 
representative of the state regulatory authority shall be 
returned to the dairy farm within ten days. All recorder charts 
shall be available to the state regulatory authority.  

E. Handling of recording charts. Each bulk milk hauler shall 
comply with the following requirements when picking up 
milk from a dairy farm if the farm bulk cooling or holding 
tank is equipped with a recording thermometer:  

1. Each milk hauler, in making a milk pickup, shall 
properly agitate the milk and remove the chart from the 
recorder;  

2. Each milk hauler shall record the following information 
on each chart removed from the recorder:  

a. The date and time of pickup; and  

b. The signature of the milk hauler;  

3. Each milk hauler shall store the used chart in the storage 
container supplied by the dairy farmer;  

4. Each milk hauler shall obtain a new chart from the 
supply provided by the dairy farmer and record the 
following information in the chart:  

a. The date; and  

b. The patron number of the dairy farmer;  

5. If a recorder chart is used for more than one pickup, 
each milk hauler shall identify each lot of milk on the chart 
with the date, time of pickup, and his signature;  

6. Before removing any milk from the farm tank, each milk 
hauler shall check the recorder chart. If the recorder chart 
indicates that the milk temperature has varied in a manner 
that would preclude acceptance, he shall immediately 
notify his superior and the dairy farmer. If the milk is 
rejected, each milk hauler shall record this information on 
the chart. If the milk is picked up, each milk hauler shall 
sign the chart and record the date and time of pickup;  

F. Maintenance of recording thermometers. Each person 
who operates a dairy farm and holds a grade "A" dairy farm 
permit shall be responsible for maintaining each of his 
recording thermometers in good repair and adjustment to 
include calibrating the recording thermometer to read 
accurately within plus or minus 2.0°F of the actual milk 
temperature in the farm bulk cooling or holding tank.  

G. Sealing of recording thermometers: Each recording 
thermometer installed on a farm bulk cooling or holding tank 
shall be inspected and may be sealed by the state regulatory 
authority after it has been shown to be properly installed and 
calibrated.  

H. Each person who holds a grade "A" dairy farm permit 
and installs a farm bulk cooling or holding tank shall:  

1. Install on each farm bulk cooling or holding tank an 
interval timing device that automatically agitates the milk 
in the farm bulk tank for not less than five minutes every 
hour during the entire time milk is being cooled or stored 
in the tank;  

2. Not install a manual switch capable of turning off the 
interval timing device on any farm bulk milk cooling or 
holding tank while any milk is being cooled or stored; and  
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3. Maintain in good repair and operating condition each 
interval timing device installed on his farm bulk cooling or 
holding tank.  

2VAC5-501-70. Measuring, sampling, and testing.  

A. Quantity measurements. Each person who determines the 
quantity of milk in any lot of milk being picked up on any 
dairy farm in Virginia shall comply with one of the following:  

1. If the milk is being picked up from a farm bulk cooling 
or holding tank, the person shall use only a measuring rod, 
gauge, or gauge tube accurately calibrated to the individual 
farm bulk cooling or holding tank and the accompanying 
calibration chart with a serial number that matches the 
serial number for the specific farm bulk cooling or holding 
tank for which it was prepared;  

2. If the milk being picked up is not stored in a farm bulk 
cooling or holding tank, the person shall determine the 
quantity of milk at the point of delivery to the milk plant 
processing the milk by commingling all of the milk in a 
vessel equipped with a gauge rod, surface gauge, gauge, or 
gauge tube and a volume chart that has been prepared in 
compliance with § 3.1-941.1 3.2-5620 of the Code of 
Virginia;  

3. If the milk being picked up is not stored in a farm bulk 
cooling or holding tank and the basis for payment for the 
milk will be based solely on the volume of milk in gallons, 
the person shall determine the quantity of milk by adding 
the volume in gallons of each separate full container and 
the volume in gallons of any milk in containers that are not 
full; or  

4. If the milk being picked up is not stored in a farm bulk 
cooling or holding tank and the basis for payment for the 
milk will be based solely on the pounds of milk delivered, 
the person shall determine the quantity of milk in pounds 
by weighing each of the containers of milk on a 
commercial scale before and after they have been emptied 
and subtracting the weight of the empty containers from 
the total weight of the containers and the milk, the 
difference being the weight in pounds of milk.  

B. Each person who desires to convert a volumetric 
measurement of milk to weight in pounds of milk shall 
multiply the volume of milk in gallons by 8.60.  

C. Each person who operates a dairy farm and transports any 
milk in cans or other containers from his dairy farm to a milk 
plant and intends to determine the basis for payment of his 
milk based solely on its volume in gallons or solely on its 
weight in pounds, shall ensure the cans or other containers 
comply with the following:  

1. Each container shall be provided with a visual means to 
measure the volume of milk in the container in divisions of 
one or more whole gallons up to the total capacity of the 
container;  

2. Each container shall be equipped with a tightly fitting lid 
that prevents any milk from leaking out around the closure;  

3. Each container shall be manufactured from stainless 
steel, food grade plastic, or tinned metal;  

4. No container shall be manufactured from glass or other 
easily breakable material;  

5. Each container shall be smooth and easily cleanable; and  

6. Each container shall be equipped with an opening large 
enough to allow the container to be washed by hand if it is 
intended to be washed by hand or washed by mechanical 
means if it is intended to be washed by mechanical means.  

D. Each person who operates a pay purpose laboratory shall:  

1. Provide a separate room of sufficient size in which pay 
purpose testing shall be conducted;  

2. Provide lighting of at least 20 foot-candles when 
measured at work bench levels and at all other work areas 
used to conduct testing;  

3. Provide adequate ventilation sufficient to prevent 
condensation from forming and to prevent noxious or 
hazardous chemical fumes from collecting in the 
laboratory;  

4. Provide heating and cooling equipment sufficient to 
maintain a constant room temperature of 70°F plus or 
minus 2.0°F in his laboratory at all times;  

5. Provide a separate permanently installed hand-washing 
facility with hot and cold running water under pressure 
supplied through a mix valve, soap, and single service 
paper towels;  

6. Provide only potable water under pressure in his 
laboratory;  

7. Provide walls that are constructed of impervious 
material with a light-colored material and that are easily 
cleanable;  

8. Provide floors made of concrete or other equally 
impervious material that are easily cleanable;  

9. Provide toilet facilities for his employees;  

10. Use only methods and equipment approved by the state 
regulatory authority to test milk for protein, solids, solids 
not fat, and fat;  

11. Construct the facility to insure that the laboratory 
environment has a stable electrical supply, water supply, 
stable heating and cooling, and stable ventilation to allow a 
constantly controllable environment for pay purpose 
testing procedures and pay purpose equipment; and  

12. Dispose of all liquid, solid, and gaseous wastes in a 
manner that complies with state and federal requirements 
for waste disposal.  
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E. Sampling. Each bulk milk hauler shall:  

1. Collect at least two representative samples from each 
bulk milk cooling or holding tank each time that milk is 
picked up from the dairy farm for use as official milk 
samples;  

2. Collect a minimum of four ounces of milk for each 
official milk sample collected;  

3. Maintain custody of all official milk samples collected 
or transfer custody of all official milk samples collected to 
another permitted bulk milk hauler, bulk milk sampler, or 
at the discretion of the state regulatory agency, lock all 
official milk samples in a suitable container in which they 
may be transported or stored;  

4. Pickup all of the milk in each farm bulk cooling or 
holding tank each time that milk is picked up from the 
farm bulk cooling or holding tank; and  

5. Pick up only milk that is 45°F or cooler, but not frozen.  

F. Butterfat testing. Each person who desires to determine 
the butterfat content of milk as a basis for payment shall:  

1. Select from each dairy farm supplying them with milk a 
minimum of four milk samples taken at irregular intervals 
each month and utilize only laboratory butterfat test results 
from milk samples that have been tested within 48 hours of 
collection for pay purposes; or  

2. Collect a representative sample from each shipment of 
each producer supplying them with milk for a maximum of 
16 days, if composite milk samples are used to determine 
butterfat content;  

3. Store composite milk samples only in an approved milk 
laboratory that will perform the butterfat test;  

4. Preserve all composite milk samples with an appropriate 
preservative designed to prevent the spoilage of milk and 
that will not affect the butterfat test; and  

5. Test each composite milk sample within three days 
following the end of the number of days used to create the 
composite milk sample.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1715; Filed January 13, 2009, 11:27 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-570. Rules and Regulations 
Defining Standards for Grades/Sizes of Shell Eggs 
(amending 2VAC5-570-70). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 3.2-5302 and 3.2-5311 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2009. 

Agency Contact: James A. Morano, Review and Compliance 
Officer, Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 
P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-

3520, FAX (804) 371-7792, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 
james.morano@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update citations to reflect the 
recodification of Title 3.1 to Title 3.2 of the Code of 
Virginia, which became effective October 1, 2008. 

2VAC5-570-70. Egg case and container markings.  

All egg cases or retail containers in which eggs are kept for 
the purpose of sale, or offered or exposed for sale (except 
those exempt in § 3.1-765) § 3.2-5305), shall be marked 
according to one of the grades and sizes, or marked ungraded. 
The marking, identity of the commodity in the package, and 
net quantity of the contents in terms of count shall appear on 
the principal display panel of the package. The retail 
containers shall bear the name and address of the packer or 
distributor when the eggs are kept, offered, exposed for sale 
or sold at any place other than on the premises where packed. 
The grade and size, or ungraded status, shall be spelled out in 
full. All information required to appear on the container shall 
be prominent, definite, and plain, and shall be conspicuous as 
to size and style of letters and numbers. When loose eggs are 
on display for sale, a sign shall be attached showing the grade 
and size, or the ungraded status, in plain view to the public.  

The plant of origin grading within the meaning of 
"Regulations Governing the Grading of Shell Eggs and 
United States Standards, Grades and Weight Classes for Shell 
Eggs (7 CFR Part 56)," § 56.1 of the Code of Federal 
Regulations shall be identified on all cases or containers in 
which shell eggs are delivered to the retail or food service 
institution.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1717; Filed January 13, 2009, 11:27 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-620. Regulations Pertaining to 
the Establishment of the Dangerous Dog Registry 
(amending 2VAC5-620-20, 2VAC5-620-100). 

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-6542 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Colleen Calderwood, DVM, Program 
Manager, Office of Veterinary Services, Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services, 102 Governor Street, 
Suite 141, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2483, 
FAX (804) 371-2380, or email 
colleen.calderwood@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update citations to reflect the 
recodification of Title 3.1 to Title 3.2 of the Code of 
Virginia, which became effective October 1, 2008. 
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2VAC5-620-20. Definition. 

The following word and term when used in this regulation 
shall have the following meaning unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Dangerous dog" means a canine or canine crossbreed that 
has bitten, attacked, or inflicted injury on a person or 
companion animal that is a dog or cat, or killed a companion 
animal that is a dog or cat.  

When a dog attacks or bites a companion animal that is a 
dog or cat, the attacking or biting dog shall not be deemed 
dangerous (i) if no serious physical injury as determined by a 
licensed veterinarian has occurred to the dog or cat as a result 
of the attack or bite, (ii) if both animals are owned by the 
same person, (iii) if such attack occurs on the property of the 
attacking or biting dog's owner or custodian, or (iv) for other 
good cause as determined by the court. No dog shall be found 
to be a dangerous dog as a result of biting, attacking, or 
inflicting injury on a dog or cat while engaged with an owner 
or custodian as part of lawful hunting or participating in an 
organized, lawful dog handling event. (See § 3.1-796.93:1 
3.2-6540 of the Code of Virginia.) 

Part III  
Commonwealth of Virginia Dangerous Dog Registry  

2VAC5-620-100. Establishment, operation and 
maintenance of the Dangerous Dog Registry. 

The following shall be the procedures and requirements for 
establishment, operation, and maintenance of the Dangerous 
Dog Registry: 

1. By July 1, 2007, the Commissioner of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services shall establish the Dangerous Dog 
Registry to be maintained by the Virginia Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services, State Veterinarian's 
Office. 

2. The State Veterinarian shall cause a website to be 
created and named the Virginia Dangerous Dog Registry. 

3. A personal identification number (PIN) shall be assigned 
by the State Veterinarian to each local jurisdiction for 
administrative access to the Dangerous Dog Registry. 

4. All information in the Dangerous Dog Registry shall be 
available to the State Veterinarian, local jurisdictions, and 
the public via the website. 

5. Any funds collected for the Dangerous Dog Registry 
shall be used by the State Veterinarian to maintain the 
Dangerous Dog Registry and website. 

All fees collected pursuant to this section, less the costs 
incurred by the animal control authority in producing and 
distributing the certificates and tags required by this section, 
shall be paid into a special dedicated fund in the treasury of 
the locality for the purpose of paying the expenses of any 

training course required under § 3.1-796.104:1 3.2-6556 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

The governing body of any locality may enact an ordinance 
parallel to this statute regulating dangerous and vicious dogs 
provided, however, that no locality may impose a felony 
penalty for violation of such local ordinances. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1719; Filed January 13, 2009, 11:27 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
SEED POTATO BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR’S NOTICE: The Seed Potato Board is claiming 
an exemption from the Administrative Process Act in 
accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to 
changes in Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion 
is involved. The Seed Potato Board will receive, consider and 
respond to petitions from any interested person at any time 
with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-300. Rules and Regulations for 
the Enforcement of the Virginia Seed Potato Inspection 
Law (amending 2VAC5-300-50). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 3.2-4104 and 3.2-4105 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Thomas H. Smith, Agriculture and 
Consumer Services Supervisor, Department of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 786-3548, FAX (804) 371-7785, TTY 
(800) 828-1120, or email thomas.smith@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update citations to reflect the 
recodification of Title 3.1 to Title 3.2 of the Code of 
Virginia, which became effective October 1, 2008. 

2VAC5-300-50. Certificate of inspection.  

A certificate of inspection shall be issued by the 
Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services or his 
duly authorized agents at the time of inspection if all 
requirements of the Virginia Seed Potato Inspection Law and 
its rules and regulations have been met. Seed Irish Potatoes 
which that fail to comply shall be placed under "stop sale" 
order and the chairman of the State Seed Potato Board shall 
be promptly notified of this action. Any lot of seed potatoes 
placed under "stop sale" order shall be held until an official 
release is issued by the commissioner or his authorized agents 
in accordance with § 3.1-292 3.2-4107 of the Virginia Seed 
Potato Inspection Law. The commissioner or his authorized 
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agents shall verify the removal of certification tags from all 
bags on lots released for nonpropagational purposes.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1701; Filed January 13, 2009, 11:22 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 3. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Extension of Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-50. Retail Operations 
(amending 3VAC5-50-140). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 41.1-111 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Dates: January 9, 2008, through June 30, 2009. 

The Alcoholic Beverage Control Board requested an 
extension of the above-referenced emergency regulation 
pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia. The 
emergency regulation was published in 24:11 VA.R. 1344-
1345 February 4, 2008 
(http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol24/iss11/v24i11.pdf). 

The final permanent regulation to replace this emergency 
regulation was adopted by the Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Board on November 17, 2008. Executive review of the 
regulation was completed in January. The regulation is 
expected to be published in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations in February 2009, and to become effective in 
March. A gap between the emergency regulation and its 
permanent replacement would make the board’s nudity 
regulation unenforceable for that period since the U. S. 
District Court for the Eastern District of Virginia has 
determined that without an exemption for legitimate artistic, 
scientific, or political expression, the current permanent 
regulation is unconstitutionally broad. 

This regulation has been the focus of litigation since 2007. Its 
enforcement was enjoined in August 2007, which led to the 
adoption of the emergency regulation. The regulatory action 
that creates the permanent replacement was actually initiated 
prior to the effective date of the emergency regulation, and 
the board has acted expeditiously at each step of the process. 
Executive branch approval was slowed because of interest in 
seeking changes to the procedure for approving the 
employment of felons at licensed establishments, another 
change made in the regulatory action. The proposed 
regulation was submitted by the department on October 5, 
2007. It was approved for publication July 3, 2008, submitted 
to the Registrar of Regulations on July 14, 2008, and 
published in the Virginia Register of Regulations on August 
18, 2008. The public comment period on the proposed 
regulation ended October 17, 2008, and the board took final 
action on November 17, 2008, and submitted the final 

regulation to the Department of Planning and Budget on 
November 19, 2008. 

A six-month extension of the expiration date is requested to 
make sure that there is no gap between the emergency 
regulation and the permanent replacement, taking into 
account the Virginia Register publication schedule and any 
possible additional public comment period. 

The Governor approved the department's request to extend 
the expiration date of the emergency regulations for six 
months as provided in § 2.2-4011 D of the Code of Virginia. 
Therefore, the regulation will continue in effect through June 
30, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Jeffrey L. Painter, Legislative and 
Regulatory Coordinator, Department of Alcoholic Beverage 
Control, P.O. Box 27491, Richmond, VA 23261, telephone 
(804) 213-4621, FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, 
or email jeffrey.painter@abc.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-924; Filed January 9, 2009, 5:03 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-50. Retail Operations 
(amending 3VAC5-50-40, 3VAC5-50-50, 3VAC5-50-80, 
3VAC5-50-100, 3VAC5-50-130, 3VAC5-50-140). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2009. 

Agency Contact: W. Curtis Coleburn III, Chief Operating 
Officer, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 
Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-
4409, FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, or email 
curtis.coleburn@abc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) provide a process for licensees to 
apply for permission to employ individuals with certain 
criminal convictions; (ii) allow persons 18 and over to 
serve wine at a counter in establishments selling wine 
only; (iii) allow wine to be placed in containers of ice by 
farm wineries at wine festivals; (iv) simplify food 
requirements for grocery stores and convenience grocery 
stores; (v) simplify the limitations of nonmember use of 
licensed club facilities; and (vi) clarify the rules with 
respect to partially nude entertainers at licensed 
establishments to define the separation that must be 
maintained from customers, specify the minimum 
clothing required at mixed beverage establishments, and 
clarify that this regulation does not restrict legitimate 
theatrical productions. 

The amendment to the proposed regulation clarifies that 
the prohibition from entering a mixed beverage 
restaurant wearing bathing suits or revealing clothing 
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applies to persons connected with the licensed business, 
not to patrons. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations. 

3VAC5-50-40. Designated managers of licensees; 
appointment generally; disapproval by board; restrictions 
upon employment. 

A. Each licensee, except a licensed individual who is on the 
premises, shall have a designated manager present and in 
actual charge of the business being conducted under the 
license at any time the licensed establishment is kept open for 
business, whether or not the privileges of the license are being 
exercised. The name of the designated manager of every retail 
licensee shall be kept posted in a conspicuous place in the 
establishment, in letters not less than one inch in size, during 
the time he is in charge. 

The posting of the name of a designated manager shall 
qualify such person to act in that capacity until disapproved 
by the board. 

B. The board reserves the right to disapprove any person as 
a designated manager if it shall have reasonable cause to 
believe that any cause exists which would justify the board in 
refusing to issue such person a license, or that such person 
has committed any act that would justify the board in 
suspending or revoking a license. 

Before disapproving a designated manager, the board shall 
accord him the same notice, opportunity to be heard, and 
follow the same administrative procedures accorded a 
licensee cited for a violation of Title 4.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

C. No licensee of the board shall knowingly permit a person 
under 21 years of age, nor one who has been disapproved by 
the board within the preceding 12 months, to act as 
designated manager of his business. 

D. Notwithstanding the provisions of § 4.1-225 (1) (i) of the 
Code of Virginia, the board will not take action to suspend or 
revoke a license if a licensee knowingly employs a person 
who has been convicted in any court of a felony or of any 
crime or offense involving moral turpitude, except in the 
following two categories: 

1. The board may suspend or revoke a license if a licensee 
knowingly employs in the business conducted under such 
license, as agent, servant, or employee, in a position that is 
involved in the selling or serving of alcoholic beverages to 
customers, any person who has been convicted of a felony 
violation of Articles 1 (§ 18.2-248 et seq.), 1.1 (§ 18.2-
265.1 et seq.), or 2 (§ 18.2-266 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of 
Title 18.2 or a similar offense under the laws of any state, 
or the United States; or 

2. The board may suspend or revoke a license if a licensee 
knowingly employs in the business conducted under such 
license, as agent, servant, or employee, in a position that is 
involved in the creation or maintenance of records required 
to be kept by the licensee under the provisions of Title 4.1 
of the Code of Virginia or board regulations, or in the 
preparation or filing of any tax return or report required 
under Title 4.1 or Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia or 
board regulations, any person who has been convicted of a 
felony violation of Articles 2 (§ 18.2-89 et seq.), 3 (§ 18.2-
97.1 et seq.), 4 (§ 18.2-112.1 et seq.), or 7.1 (§ 18.2-152.2 
et seq.) of Chapter 5 of Title 18.2 or Articles 1 (§ 18.2-
172.2 et seq.), 3 (§ 18.2-178 et seq.), 4 (§ 18.2-182 et seq.), 
5 (§ 18.2-186 et seq.), 6 (§ 18.2-194 et seq.), or 9 (§ 18.2-
246.1 et seq.) of Chapter 6 of Title 18.2 or a similar 
offense under the laws of any state, or the United States. 

E. If a licensee wishes to employ a person whose 
employment would be covered by subdivisions D 1 or 2 of 
this section, or who has violated the laws of the 
Commonwealth, of any other state, or of the United States, 
applicable to the manufacture, transportation, possession, use 
or sale of alcoholic beverages, the licensee may apply to the 
board for approval of such employment. The board will cause 
the Bureau of Law Enforcement Operations to conduct an 
investigation into the suitability of the person for employment 
and recommend approval or disapproval. Before disapproving 
the employment of a person, the board shall accord him the 
same notice, opportunity to be heard, and follow the same 
administrative procedures accorded a licensee cited for a 
violation of Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

3VAC5-50-50. Restrictions upon employment of minors. 

No person licensed to sell alcoholic beverages at retail shall 
permit any employee under the age of 18 years to sell, serve 
or dispense in any manner any alcoholic beverage in his 
licensed establishment for on-premises consumption, nor 
shall such person permit any employee under the age of 21 
years to prepare or mix alcoholic beverages in the capacity of 
a bartender. "Bartender" is defined as a person who sells, 
serves or dispenses alcoholic beverages for on-premises 
consumption at a counter, as defined in 3VAC5-50-110, and 
does not include a person employed to serve food and drink 
to patrons at tables as defined in that section. However, a 
person who is 18 years of age or older may sell or serve beer 
for on-premises consumption at a counter in an establishment 
that sells beer only, or may sell or serve wine for on-premises 
consumption in an establishment that sells wine only. 

3VAC5-50-80. Entreating, urging or enticing patrons to 
purchase prohibited. 

No retail licensee shall entreat, urge or entice any patron of 
his establishment to purchase any alcoholic beverage; nor 
shall such licensee allow any other person to so entreat, urge 
or entice a patron upon his licensed premises. Entreating, 
urging or enticing shall include, but not be limited to, placing 
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alcoholic beverages in containers of ice which are visible, 
located in public display areas and available to patrons of 
retail establishments for off-premises sales, except for farm 
winery licensees operating at a remote location in connection 
with a wine festival. Knowledge by a manager of the licensee 
of a violation of this section shall be imputed to the licensee. 

This section shall not be construed to prohibit the taking of 
orders in the regular course of business, the purchase of a 
drink by one patron for another patron as a matter of normal 
social intercourse, nor advertising in accordance with 
regulations of the board. 

3VAC5-50-100. Definitions and qualifications for retail 
off-premises wine and beer licenses and off-premises beer 
licenses; exceptions; further conditions; temporary 
licenses. 

A. Retail off-premises wine and beer licenses may be issued 
to persons operating the following types of establishments 
provided the total monthly sales and inventory (cost) of the 
required commodities listed in the definitions are not less 
than those shown: 

1. "Delicatessen." An establishment which sells a variety 
of prepared foods or foods requiring little preparation such 
as cheeses, salads, cooked meats and related condiments: 
Monthly sales ......................................................... $2,000 
Inventory (cost) ....................................................... $2,000 
2. "Drugstore." An establishment selling medicines 
prepared by a registered pharmacist according to 
prescription and other medicines and articles of home and 
general use;  

Monthly sales .......................................................... $2,000 
Inventory (cost) ....................................................... $2,000 
3. "Grocery store." An establishment which sells edible 
items intended for human consumption, including a variety 
of staple foodstuffs used in the preparation of meals:  

Monthly sales .......................................................... $2,000 
Inventory (cost) ....................................................... $2,000 
4. "Convenience grocery store." An establishment which 
has an enclosed room in a permanent structure where stock 
is displayed and offered for sale, and which sells edible 
items intended for human consumption, consisting of a 
variety of such items of the type normally sold in grocery 
stores:  

Monthly sales .......................................................... $2,000 
Inventory (cost) ....................................................... $2,000 
In regard to both grocery stores and convenience grocery 
stores, "edible items" shall mean such items normally used 
in the preparation of meals, including liquids, and which 
shall include a variety (at least five) of representative items 
from each of the basic food groups: dairy, meat, grain, 
vegetables and fruit.  

5. "Gourmet shop." An establishment provided with 
adequate shelving and storage facilities which sell products 
such as cheeses and gourmet foods:  

Monthly sales .......................................................... $2,000 
Inventory (cost) ....................................................... $2,000 
B. Retail off-premises beer licenses may be issued to 

persons operating the following types of establishments 
provided the total monthly sales and inventory (cost) of the 
required commodities listed in the definitions are not less 
than those shown:  

1. "Delicatessen." An establishment as defined in 
subsection A:  

Monthly sales .......................................................... $1,000 
Inventory (cost) ....................................................... $1,000 
2. "Drugstore." An establishment as defined in subsection 
A:  

Monthly sales .......................................................... $1,000 
Inventory (cost) ....................................................... $1,000 
3. "Grocery store." An establishment as defined in 
subsection A:  

Monthly sales .......................................................... $1,000 
Inventory (cost) ....................................................... $1,000 
4. "Marina store." An establishment operated by the owner 
of a marina which sells food and nautical and fishing 
supplies:  

Monthly sales .......................................................... $1,000 
Inventory (cost) ....................................................... $1,000 
C. The board may grant a license to an establishment not 

meeting the qualifying figures in subsections A and B 
provided it affirmatively appears that there is a substantial 
public demand for such an establishment and that public 
convenience will be promoted by the issuance of the license.  

D. The board in determining the eligibility of an 
establishment for a license shall give consideration to, but 
shall not be limited to, the following: 

1. The extent to which sales of required commodities are 
secondary or merely incidental to sales of all products sold 
in such establishment; 

2. The extent to which a variety of edible items of the types 
normally found in grocery stores are sold; and 

3. The extent to which such establishment is constructed, 
arranged or illuminated to allow reasonable observation of 
the age and sobriety of purchasers of alcoholic beverages. 

E. Notwithstanding the above, the board may issue a 
temporary license for any of the above retail operations. Such 
licenses may be issued only after application has been filed in 
accordance with § 4.1-230 of the Code of Virginia and in 
cases where the sole objection to issuance of a license is that 
the establishment will not be qualified in terms of the sale of 
food or edible items. If a temporary license is issued, the 
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board shall conduct an audit of the business after a reasonable 
period of operation not to exceed 180 days. Should the 
business be qualified, the license applied for may be issued. If 
the business is not qualified, the application will become the 
subject of a hearing if the applicant so desires. No further 
temporary license shall be issued to the applicant or to any 
other person with respect to that establishment for a period of 
one year from the expiration and, once the application 
becomes the subject of a hearing, no temporary license may 
be issued. 

3VAC5-50-130. Clubs; applications; qualifications; 
reciprocal arrangements; changes; financial statements. 

A. Each applicant for a club license shall furnish the 
following information: 

1. A certified copy of the charter, articles of association or 
constitution; 

2. A copy of the bylaws;  

3. A list of the officers and directors showing names, 
addresses, ages and business employment; 

4. The average number of members for the preceding 12 
months. Only natural persons may be members of clubs; 
and 

5. A financial statement for the latest calendar or fiscal 
year of the club, and a brief summary of the financial 
condition as of the end of the month next preceding the 
date of application. 

B. In determining whether an applicant qualifies under the 
statutory definition of a club, as well as whether a club 
license should be suspended or revoked, the board will 
consider, but is not limited to, the following factors: 

1. The club's purposes and its compliance with the 
purposes; 

2. The club's qualification for tax exempt status from 
federal and state income taxes; and 

3. The club's permitted use of club premises by 
nonmembers, including reciprocal arrangements. 

C. The club shall limit nonmember use of club premises 
according to this section and shall notify the board each time 
the club premises are used in accordance with subdivision 1 
of this subsection. The notice shall be received by the board 
at least two business days in advance of any such event. 

1. A licensed club may allow nonmembers, who would 
otherwise qualify for a banquet or banquet special events 
license, to use club premises, where the privileges of the 
club license are exercised, 12 times per calendar year for 
(i) hold public events held at the licensed premises, such 
events allowing nonmembers to attend and participate in 
the event at the licensed premises; or (ii) allow its premises 
to be used by organizations or groups who obtain banquet 

or banquet special events licenses. The total number of 
such events in both categories may not exceed 24 per 
calendar year. 

2. A member of a licensed club may sponsor private 
functions on club premises for an organization or group of 
which he is a member, such attendees being guests of the 
sponsoring member; or . 

3. Notwithstanding subdivisions C 1 and C 2, a licensed 
club may allow its premises to be used no more than a total 
of 12 times per calendar year by organizations or groups 
who obtain banquet or banquet special events licenses.  

3. Additionally, there shall be no limitation on the numbers 
of times a licensed club may allow its premises to be used 
by organizations or groups if alcoholic beverages are not 
served at such functions.  

D. A licensed club may not obtain a banquet special events 
license or a mixed beverage special events license for use on 
its premises. However, a club may obtain a banquet special 
events license or a mixed beverage special events license not 
more than 12 times per calendar year upon the unlicensed 
portion of its premises.  

E. D. Persons who are resident members of other clubs 
located at least 100 miles from the club licensed by the board 
(the "host club") and who are accorded privileges in the host 
club by reason of bona fide, prearranged reciprocal 
arrangements between the host club and such clubs shall be 
considered guests of the host club and deemed to have 
members' privileges with respect to the use of its facilities. 
The reciprocal arrangements shall be set out in a written 
agreement and approved by the board prior to the exercise of 
the privileges thereunder.  

The mileage limitations of this subsection notwithstanding, 
members of private, nonprofit clubs or private clubs operated 
for profit located in separate cities which are licensed by the 
board to operate mixed beverage restaurants on their 
respective premises and which have written agreements 
approved by the board for reciprocal dining privileges may be 
considered guests of the host club and deemed to have 
members' privileges with respect to its dining facilities.  

F. E. Any change in the officers and directors of a club shall 
be reported to the board within 30 days, and a certified copy 
of any change in the charter, articles of association or by-laws 
shall be furnished the board within 30 days thereafter.  

G. F. Each club licensee shall prepare and sign an annual 
financial statement on forms prescribed by the board. The 
statement may be on a calendar year or fiscal year basis, but 
shall be consistent with any established tax year of the club. 
The statement must be prepared and available for inspection 
on the club premises no later than 120 days next following 
the last day of the respective calendar or fiscal year, and each 
such statement must be maintained on the premises for a 
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period of three consecutive years. In addition, each club 
holding a mixed beverage license shall be required to prepare 
and timely submit the mixed beverage annual review report 
required by 3VAC5-70-90 D. 

3VAC5-50-140. Lewd or disorderly Prohibited conduct on 
licensed premises. 

While not limited thereto, the board shall consider the A. 
The following conduct upon any licensed premises to 
constitute lewd or disorderly conduct is prohibited: 

1. The real or simulated display of any portion of the 
genitals, pubic hair or buttocks, or any portion of the breast 
below the top of the areola, by any employee, or by any 
other person; except that when entertainers are on a 
platform or stage and reasonably separated from the 
patrons of the establishment, they shall be in conformity 
with subdivision 2; 

2. The real or simulated display of any portion of the 
genitals, pubic hair or anus by an entertainer, or any 
portion of the areola of the breast of a female entertainer. 
When not on a platform or stage and reasonably separate 
from the patrons of the establishment, entertainers shall be 
in conformity with subdivision 1; 

3. Any real or simulated act of sexual intercourse, sodomy, 
masturbation, flagellation or any other sexual act 
prohibited by law, by any person, whether an entertainer or 
not; or 

4. The fondling or caressing by any person, whether an 
entertainer or not, of his own or of another's breast, 
genitals or buttocks. 

As used in this section, the term "reasonably separated" shall 
mean that no portion of the body of an entertainer may come 
in contact with any portion of the body of a patron. 

B. No mixed beverage licensee shall permit any person 
[ connected with the licensed business in any capacity ] to 
enter or remain on the premises with less than a fully-opaque 
covering of the genitals, pubic hair or buttocks, or any portion 
of the breast below the top of the areola. [ For the purposes of 
this subsection, “connected with the licensed business” shall 
mean:  (i) any owner, partner, member, manager, agent, or 
employee of the licensed business; (ii) any entertainer or 
other contractor with the licensed business; or (iii) any 
participant in any contest, display, or other event conducted 
by or at the invitation of the licensed business. ]  

C. The provisions of this section shall not apply to persons 
operating theaters, concert halls, art centers, museums, or 
similar establishments that are primarily devoted to the arts or 
theatrical performances, when the performances that are 
presented are expressing matters of serious literary, artistic, 
scientific or political value. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-625; Filed January 13, 2009, 10:05 a.m.  

Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-50. Retail Operations (adding 
3VAC5-50-230). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 13, 2009, through January 12, 2010. 

Agency Contact: W. Curtis Coleburn III, Chief Operating 
Officer, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 
Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-
4409, FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, or email 
curtis.coleburn@abc.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Chapter 172 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly amended the 
provisions of subdivision A 12 of § 4.1-210 of the Code 
of Virginia, adding "dessert wines as defined by Board 
regulation" to the types of alcoholic beverages that may 
be sold and sold and served by holders of limited mixed 
beverage restaurant licenses. The second enactment 
clause of this act provides that "the Alcoholic Beverage 
Control Board shall promulgate regulations to 
implement the provisions of this act to be effective within 
280 days of its enactment." The purpose of this action is 
to create a new section, defining "dessert wines" for the 
purposes of the act. 

The new section to be promulgated provides a definition 
of "dessert wines," which holders of limited mixed 
beverage restaurant licenses will be authorized to sell 
and serve. The board is required to define the term by 
statute. The goal of the new section is to provide a broad 
definition, to enable licensees to sell and serve most wine 
products consumers desire to drink with dessert, while at 
the same time allowing easy compliance with and 
enforcement of the regulation. 

Limited mixed beverage restaurants are not subject to the 
full food sale requirements of other mixed beverage 
restaurants.  The General Assembly has determined that 
such restaurants should sell a limited number of liqueurs 
mixed with coffee or other drinks, as well as dessert 
wines.  The proposed regulatory action is necessary to 
protect the health, safety, or welfare of citizens by 
insuring that the alcoholic beverage products offered for 
sale fall within the limits prescribed by the legislature.  
During the development of the permanent regulation, 
there could be additional types of wines identified as 
properly considered “dessert wines,” although none 
have been discovered in research. 

3VAC5-50-230. Dessert wines. 

For the purposes of § 4.1-210 A 12 of the Code of Virginia, 
"dessert wines" shall mean any wine having an alcohol 
content of more than 14% by volume, any wine whose label 
contains a statement that it contains more than 2.0% residual 
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sugar, or any wine described on its label as a "dessert," "late 
harvest," or "ice" wine. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1605; Filed January 13, 2009, 10:05 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 8VAC20-10. Board of Education 
Public Participation Guidelines (repealing 8VAC20-10-
10). 

8VAC20-11. Regulations Governing Public Participation 
(adding 8VAC20-11-10 through 8VAC20-11-110). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 22.1-16 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on March 4, 2009. 

Effective Date: March 19, 2009.  

Agency Contact: Dr. Margaret N. Roberts, Office of Policy 
and Communications, Department of Education, P.O. Box 
2120, 101 N. 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 225-2540, FAX (804) 225-2524, or email 
margaret.roberts@doe.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Under § 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia, every 
rulemaking body in Virginia is required to adopt public 
participation guidelines and to use these guidelines in the 
development of its regulations. This law was modified during 
the 2008 General Assembly session, and the 2008 
modifications permit the use of fast-track rulemaking 
procedures to promulgate the public participation regulations. 
By action of the General Assembly, the adoption of public 
participation rules is mandatory, and the use of the fast-track 
process is discretionary. 

Purpose: The purpose of the Regulations Governing Public 
Participation is to promote public involvement in the 
development, amendment, or repeal of Board of Education 
regulations. 

The Board of Education’s rationale for the regulation is to 
comply with state law, as described above. The Board of 
Education proposes minor, noncontroversial modifications to 
the model public participation guidelines developed by the 
Department of Planning and Budget (DPB); therefore the 
fast-track process is being utilized. 

The reason that the proposed regulation is essential to protect 
the welfare of citizens is the Board of Education’s position 

that those who are affected by a decision have a right to be 
informed and involved in the decision making process. 
Hence, the regulations set forth a uniform procedure for the 
public's contribution to the board in its rulemaking process. 

The goals of the proposed regulation are: 

1. To set forth a procedure to seek out and facilitate the 
involvement of those potentially affected by or interested 
in a regulatory action; 

2. To communicate clearly to the Board of Education’s 
constituents how they may participate in the regulatory 
process in a meaningful way; and 

To ensure that the Board of Education’s regulatory 
procedures are in full compliance with state laws and 
regulations governing such actions. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The changes 
proposed by the Board of Education are noncontroversial in 
that, in every case, the proposed changes are consistent with 
longstanding Board of Education practice and procedures; the 
terms are consistent with current, clearly understood use; and 
the proposed language serves to clarify a provision. In no 
instance is the intent or meaning changed from the model 
public participation guidelines as promulgated by DPB. 

Substance: The proposed regulations are consistent with the 
model public participation guidelines developed by DPB. The 
Board of Education has made minor adjustments in the model 
guidelines, including language to clarify the advisory capacity 
standing advisory committees. Certain terms are clarified to 
be consistent with terminology in current use in the field. 

The current regulation (8VAC20-10-10) is being repealed 
because it has not been amended since 1984. It is now 
seriously outdated because it pre-dates most of the current 
provisions of the Administrative Process Act. It also pre-dates 
the use of the Internet and electronic communications and, 
thus, contains no provision for electronic transmission of 
notices and comments. 

Issues: The advantage to the Commonwealth, the Board of 
Education, and the public is that the proposed regulations are 
intended to inform the public in a way that encourages public 
participation and to make such participation meaningful, 
convenient, cost effective, and accessible to constituents. 
There are no known disadvantages to the Commonwealth, the 
public, or the Board of Education. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Education (Board) proposes to adopt the model 
public participation guidelines (PPGs) developed by the 
Department of Planning and Budget in consultation with the 
Office of the Attorney General (as required by Chapter 321 of 
the 2008 Acts of Assembly), with the following amendments: 
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1. Title: The Board proposes to change the title from 
"Public Participation Guidelines" to "Regulations 
Governing Public Participation." 

2. Definition of "Agency": The Board proposes to amend 
the wording in the definition of the term "agency" for 
clarification purposes. 

3. Notification List: The Board proposes to delete the 
provision stating that the "agency may maintain additional 
lists for persons who have requested to be informed of 
specific regulatory issues, proposals, and sections." 

4. Undeliverable Electronic Mail: The Board wishes to 
change the model provision of the notification list section 
that states "When electronic mail is returned as 
undeliverable on multiple occasions at least 24 hours 
apart" to "When electronic mail is returned as 
undeliverable on two occasions at least 24 hours apart." 

5. Public Comment: Lastly, with regard to the public 
comment section of the regulation, the model PPGs state as 
follows: "In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt 
regulatory action, the agency shall afford interested 
persons an opportunity to submit data, views, and 
arguments, either orally or in writing, to the agency." The 
Board proposes to amend this language to read "either 
orally at a public hearing or at a Board of Education 
meeting or in writing at any time during the public 
comment period." 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
one or more proposed changes. There is insufficient data to 
accurately compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the 
costs for other changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Pursuant to Chapter 321 of the 
2008 Acts of Assembly, the Department of Planning and 
Budget, in consultation with the Office of the Attorney 
General, (i) developed model PPGs and (ii) provided these 
model PPGs to each agency that has the authority to 
promulgate regulations. Chapter 321 requires that by 
December 1, 2008, each agency shall either (a) adopt the 
model public participation guidelines as an exempt action or 
(b) if significant additions or changes are proposed, 
promulgate the model public participation guidelines with the 
proposed changes as fast-track regulations pursuant to Code 
of Virginia § 2.2-4012.1. 

The purpose of the model PPG legislation is threefold: first, 
to ensure that each agency or board has a current set of PPGs 
in place.1 Second, to ensure that each agency or board’s PPGs 
incorporate the use of technology such as the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall, email to the extent possible, and the 
use of electronic mailing lists. Last, but perhaps most 
importantly, to have uniform guidelines in place to facilitate 
citizen participation in rulemaking and to make those 
guidelines consistent, to the extent possible, among all 
executive branch boards and agencies. 

As described above, promulgating model PPGs will be 
beneficial in that the Department of Education (DOE) PPGs 
will: 1) reflect current information, 2) incorporate the use of 
technology such as the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, email 
to the extent possible, and the use of electronic mailing lists, 
and 3) be largely consistent with other agency PPGs which 
will facilitate citizen participation in rulemaking. The Board 
does propose several amendments that make the DOE PPGs 
less consistent with other agency PPGs. The proposed 
changes to the title of the regulations, wording in the 
definition "agency," and undeliverable electronic mail have 
no effect on requirements or opportunities for anyone or any 
entity private or public. According to DOE, there will always 
be one master notification list and there is no intention of ever 
maintaining additional lists for persons who have requested to 
be informed of specific regulatory issues, proposals, and 
sections. Thus, the proposal to delete language affording the 
agency the opportunity of maintaining such lists should have 
no impact. 

Changing "In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt 
regulatory action, the agency shall afford interested persons 
an opportunity to submit data, views, and arguments, either 
orally or in writing, to the agency" to read "either orally at a 
public hearing or at a Board of Education meeting or in 
writing at any time during the public comment period" 
potentially produces both benefits and costs. DOE has stated 
that the additional language is intended to make clear to the 
public that the Board cannot practically consider comments 
from the public at informal settings such as when an 
individual spots a Board member at the supermarket. Making 
clear to the public that they need to make more official 
comments for their views and information to be properly 
considered is beneficial in informing in the public. On the 
other hand, there may be some individuals who are unable to 
appear in person or present their views in writing. The 
additional language may preclude or at least add to the 
difficulty for such individuals to present their views. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
affect the 132 school divisions in the Commonwealth, as well 
their students and staff, and all members of the public 
interested in participating in the development of Virginia’s 
education policies and regulations. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal amendments 
do not directly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposal amendments do not directly affect the use and value 
of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
amendments do not directly affect small businesses. 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations February 2, 2009 

1932 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not directly affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

________________________ 
1 Some agencies and boards have not updated their PPGs since the mid-late 
1980's. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The agency agrees with 
the economic impact analysis done by DPB.  The agency will 
continue to examine the economic and administrative impact 
of the regulations as they progress through the Administrative 
Process Act process. 

Summary: 

The regulations comply with the legislative mandate 
(Chapter 321, 2008 Acts of Assembly) that agencies 
adopt model public participation guidelines issued by the 
Department of Planning and Budget (DPB). Public 
participation guidelines exist to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment, or repeal of 
an agency's regulations. 

This regulatory action repeals the current public 
participation guidelines and promulgates new public 
participation guidelines as required by Chapter 321 of 
the 2008 Acts of Assembly. Highlights of the public 

participation guidelines include (i) providing for the 
establishment and maintenance of notification lists of 
interested persons and specifying the information to be 
sent to such persons; (ii) providing for public comments 
on regulatory actions; (iii) establishing the time period 
during which public comments shall be accepted; (iv) 
providing that the plan to hold a public meeting shall be 
indicated in any notice of intended regulatory action; (v) 
providing for the appointment, when necessary, of 
regulatory advisory panels to provide professional 
specialization or technical assistance and negotiated 
rulemaking panels if a regulatory action is expected to be 
controversial; and (vi) providing for the periodic review 
of regulations. 

The present action proposes minor, noncontroversial 
revisions to model public participation guidelines as 
developed by DPB. The changes proposed by the Board 
of Education are noncontroversial in that, in every case, 
the proposed changes are consistent with longstanding 
Board of Education practice and procedures; the terms 
are consistent with current, clearly understood use; and 
the proposed language serves to clarify a provision. In 
no instance is the intent or meaning of a provision 
changed or modified from the model public participation 
guidelines as promulgated by DPB. 

CHAPTER 11  
REGULATIONS GOVERNING PUBLIC PARTICIPATION 

Part I  
Purpose and Definitions  

8VAC20-11-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment or repeal of the 
regulations of the Board of Education. This chapter does not 
apply to regulations, guidelines, or other documents 
exempted or excluded from the provisions of the 
Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia). 

8VAC20-11-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 
et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency" means the Board of Education, which is the unit 
of state government empowered by the agency's basic law to 
make regulations or decide cases. Actions specified in this 
chapter may be fulfilled by state employees as delegated by 
the Board of Education. 

"Basic law" means provisions in the Code of Virginia that 
delineate the basic authority and responsibilities of an agency. 
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"Commonwealth Calendar" means the electronic calendar 
for official government meetings open to the public as 
required by § 2.2-3707 C of the Freedom of Information Act. 

''Negotiated rulemaking panel'' or ''NRP'' means an ad hoc 
advisory panel of interested parties established by an agency 
to consider issues that are controversial with the assistance of 
a facilitator or mediator, for the purpose of reaching a 
consensus in the development of a proposed regulatory 
action. 

"Notification list" means a list used to notify persons 
pursuant to this chapter. Such a list may include an electronic 
list maintained through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall or 
other list maintained by the agency. 

"Open meeting" means any scheduled gathering of a unit of 
state government empowered by an agency's basic law to 
make regulations or decide cases, which is related to 
promulgating, amending or repealing a regulation. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, cooperative, limited liability company, trust, joint 
venture, government, political subdivision, or any other legal 
or commercial entity and any successor, representative, agent, 
agency, or instrumentality thereof. 

"Public hearing" means a scheduled time at which members 
or staff of the agency will meet for the purpose of receiving 
public comment on a regulatory action. 

"Regulation" means any statement of general application 
having the force of law, affecting the rights or conduct of any 
person, adopted by the agency in accordance with the 
authority conferred on it by applicable laws. 

"Regulatory action" means the promulgation, amendment, or 
repeal of a regulation by the agency. 

"Regulatory advisory panel" or "RAP" means a standing or 
ad hoc advisory panel of interested parties established by the 
agency for the purpose of assisting in regulatory actions. 

"Town Hall" means the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, the 
website operated by the Virginia Department of Planning and 
Budget at www.townhall.virginia.gov, which has online 
public comment forums and displays information about 
regulatory meetings and regulatory actions under 
consideration in Virginia and sends this information to 
registered public users. 

"Virginia Register" means the Virginia Register of 
Regulations, the publication that provides official legal notice 
of new, amended and repealed regulations of state agencies, 
which is published under the provisions of Article 6 (§ 2.2-
4031 et seq.) of the Administrative Process Act. 

Part II  
Notification of Interested Persons  

8VAC20-11-30. Notification list. 

A. The agency shall maintain a list of persons who have 
requested to be notified of regulatory actions being pursued 
by the agency. 

B. Any person may request to be placed on a notification list 
by registering as a public user on the Town Hall or by making 
a request to the agency. Any person who requests to be placed 
on a notification list shall elect to be notified either by 
electronic means or through a postal carrier. 

C. When electronic mail is returned as undeliverable on two 
occasions at least 24 hours apart, that person may be deleted 
from the list. A single undeliverable message is insufficient 
cause to delete the person from the list. 

D. When mail delivered by a postal carrier is returned as 
undeliverable on two occasions, that person may be deleted 
from the list. 

E. The agency may periodically request those persons on the 
notification list to indicate their desire to either continue to be 
notified electronically, receive documents through a postal 
carrier, or be deleted from the list. 

8VAC20-11-40. Information to be sent to persons on the 
notification list. 

A. To persons electing to receive electronic notification or 
notification through a postal carrier as described in 8VAC20-
11-30, the agency shall send the following information: 

1. A notice of intended regulatory action (NOIRA). 

2. A notice of the comment period on a proposed, a 
reproposed, or a fast-track regulation and hyperlinks to, or 
instructions on how to obtain, a copy of the regulation and 
any supporting documents. 

3. A notice soliciting comment on a final regulation when 
the regulatory process has been extended pursuant to § 2.2-
4007.06 or 2.2-4013 C of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The failure of any person to receive any notice or copies 
of any documents shall not affect the validity of any 
regulation or regulatory action. 

Part III  
Public Participation Procedures  

8VAC20-11-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 
action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 
opportunity to submit data, views, and arguments, either 
orally at a public hearing or at a Board of Education meeting 
or in writing at any time during the public comment period, to 
the agency. Such opportunity to comment shall include an 
online public comment forum on the Town Hall.  
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1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 
copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 
issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 
fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 
public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 
to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 
submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 
the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 
as follows:  

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 
(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 
publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 
publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 
of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 
listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 
substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 
he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 
calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 
changes in accordance with § 2.2-4013 C of the Code of 
Virginia.  

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 
description of public comment to all public commenters on 
the proposed regulation at least five days before final 
adoption of the regulation pursuant to § 2.2-4012 E of the 
Code of Virginia.  

8VAC20-11-60. Petition for rulemaking. 

A. As provided in § 2.2-4007 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person may petition the agency to consider a regulatory 
action. 

B. A petition shall include but is not limited to the following 
information: 

1. The petitioner's name and contact information; 

2. The substance and purpose of the rulemaking that is 
requested, including reference to any applicable Virginia 
Administrative Code sections; and 

3. Reference to the legal authority of the agency to take the 
action requested. 

C. The agency shall receive, consider and respond to a 
petition pursuant to § 2.2-4007 and shall have the sole 
authority to dispose of the petition. 

D. The petition shall be posted on the Town Hall and 
published in the Virginia Register. 

E. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit the agency from 
receiving information or from proceeding on its own motion 
for rulemaking. 

8VAC20-11-70. Appointment of regulatory advisory 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a regulatory advisory panel 
(RAP) to provide professional specialization or technical 
assistance when the agency determines that such expertise is 
necessary to address a specific regulatory issue or action or 
when individuals indicate an interest in working with the 
agency on a specific regulatory issue or action. 

B. Any person may request the appointment of a RAP and 
request to participate in its activities. The agency shall 
determine when a RAP shall be appointed and the 
composition of the RAP. 

C. A RAP may be dissolved by the agency if: 

1. The proposed text of the regulation is posted on the 
Town Hall, published in the Virginia Register, or such 
other time as the agency determines is appropriate; or 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act. 

D. At the discretion of the Board of Education, the 
appropriate standing advisory committee to the Board of 
Education may serve in the same advisory capacity as a 
regulatory advisory panel. 

8VAC20-11-80. Appointment of negotiated rulemaking 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a negotiated rulemaking panel 
(NRP) if a regulatory action is expected to be controversial. 

B. An NRP that has been appointed by the agency may be 
dissolved by the agency when: 

1. There is no longer controversy associated with the 
development of the regulation; 

2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act; or 
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3. The agency determines that resolution of a controversy 
is unlikely. 

C. At the discretion of the Board of Education, the 
appropriate standing advisory committee to the Board of 
Education may serve in the same advisory capacity as a 
negotiated rulemaking panel. 

8VAC20-11-90. Meetings. 

Notice of any open meeting, including meetings of a RAP or 
NRP, or Board of Education advisory committees shall be 
posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and 
Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working days prior to 
the date of the meeting. The exception to this requirement is 
any meeting held in accordance with § 2.2-3707 D of the 
Code of Virginia allowing for contemporaneous notice to be 
provided to participants and the public. 

8VAC20-11-100. Public hearings on regulations. 

A. The agency shall indicate in its notice of intended 
regulatory action whether it plans to hold a public hearing 
following the publication of the proposed stage of the 
regulatory action.  

B. The agency may conduct one or more public hearings 
during the comment period following the publication of a 
proposed regulatory action.  

C. An agency is required to hold a public hearing following 
the publication of the proposed regulatory action when:  

1. The agency's basic law requires the agency to hold a 
public hearing;  

2. The Governor directs the agency to hold a public 
hearing; or  

3. The agency receives requests for a public hearing from 
at least 25 persons during the public comment period 
following the publication of the notice of intended 
regulatory action.  

D. Notice of any public hearing shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working 
days prior to the date of the hearing. The agency shall also 
notify those persons who requested a hearing under 
subdivision C 3 of this section.  

8VAC20-11-110. Periodic review of regulations. 

A. The agency shall conduct a periodic review of its 
regulations consistent with:  

1. An executive order issued by the Governor pursuant to § 
2.2-4017 of the Administrative Process Act to receive 
comment on all existing regulations as to their 
effectiveness, efficiency, necessity, clarity, and cost of 
compliance; and  

2. The requirements in § 2.2-4007.1 of the Administrative 
Process Act regarding regulatory flexibility for small 
businesses.  

B. A periodic review may be conducted separately or in 
conjunction with other regulatory actions.  

C. Notice of a periodic review shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and published in the Virginia Register.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1439; Filed January 13, 2009, 1:16 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-90. Regulations for Disease 
Reporting and Control (amending 12VAC5-90-80). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-35 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 1990. 

Agency Contact: Diane Woolard, PhD, Director, Disease 
Surveillance, Department of Health, 109 Governor St., 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-8124, or email 
diane.woolard@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

This amendment makes permanent an emergency 
regulation that went into effect on October 24, 2007. It 
requires laboratory directors to report ethicillin-resistant 
Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) infections confirmed from 
specimens collected from normally sterile sites of the body, 
which indicate a serious, invasive form of the infection. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

Part III  
Reporting of Disease  

12VAC5-90-80. Reportable disease list. 

A. The board declares suspected or confirmed cases of the 
following named diseases, toxic effects, and conditions to be 
reportable by the persons enumerated in 12VAC5-90-90. 
Conditions identified by an asterisk (*) require rapid 
communication to the local health department within 24 hours 
of suspicion or confirmation, as defined in subsection C of 
this section. Other conditions should be reported within three 
days of suspected or confirmed diagnosis.  

Acquired immunodeficiency syndrome (AIDS)  
Amebiasis  
*Anthrax  
Arboviral infections (e.g., EEE, LAC, SLE, WNV)  
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*Botulism  
*Brucellosis  
Campylobacteriosis  
Chancroid  
Chickenpox (Varicella)  
Chlamydia trachomatis infection  
*Cholera  
Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease if <55 years of age 
Cryptosporidiosis  
Cyclosporiasis  
*Diphtheria  
*Disease caused by an agent that may have been used as a 

weapon  
Ehrlichiosis  
Escherichia coli infection, Shiga toxin-producing  
Giardiasis  
Gonorrhea  
Granuloma inguinale  
*Haemophilus influenzae infection, invasive  
Hantavirus pulmonary syndrome  
Hemolytic uremic syndrome (HUS)  
*Hepatitis A  
Hepatitis B: (acute and chronic)  
Hepatitis C (acute and chronic)  
Hepatitis, other acute viral  
Human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection  
Influenza  
*Influenza-associated deaths in children <18 years of age 
Kawasaki syndrome  
Lead-elevated blood levels  
Legionellosis  
Leprosy (Hansen's disease)  
Listeriosis  
Lyme disease  
Lymphogranuloma venereum  
Malaria  
*Measles (Rubeola)  
*Meningococcal disease  
*Monkeypox  
Mumps  
Ophthalmia neonatorum  
*Outbreaks, all (including but not limited to foodborne, 

nosocomial, occupational, toxic substance-related, and 
waterborne)  

*Pertussis  
*Plague  
*Poliomyelitis  
*Psittacosis  
*Q fever  
*Rabies, human and animal  
Rabies treatment, post-exposure  
Rocky Mountain spotted fever  
*Rubella, including congenital rubella syndrome  
Salmonellosis  
*Severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS)  
Shigellosis  

*Smallpox (Variola)  
Streptococcal disease, Group A, invasive  
Streptococcus pneumoniae infection, invasive, in children 

<5 years of age 
Syphilis (report *primary and *secondary syphilis by rapid 

means)  
Tetanus  
Toxic shock syndrome  
Toxic substance-related illness  
Trichinosis (Trichinellosis)  
*Tuberculosis, active disease  
Tuberculosis infection in children <4 years of age 
*Tularemia  
*Typhoid fever  
*Unusual occurrence of disease of public health concern  
*Vaccinia, disease or adverse event  
Vancomycin-intermediate or vancomycin-resistant 

Staphylococcus aureus infection  
*Vibrio infection  
*Viral hemorrhagic fever  
*Yellow fever  
Yersiniosis  

B. Conditions reportable by directors of laboratories.  

Conditions identified by an asterisk (*) require rapid 
communication to the local health department within 24 hours 
of suspicion or confirmation, as defined in subsection C of 
this section. Other conditions should be reported within three 
days of suspected or confirmed diagnosis.  

Amebiasis—by microscopic examination, culture, antigen 
detection, nucleic acid detection, or serologic results 
consistent with recent infection  

*Anthrax—by culture, antigen detection or nucleic acid 
detection  

Arboviral infection—by culture, antigen detection, nucleic 
acid detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 
infection  

*Botulism—by culture or identification of toxin in a 
clinical specimen  

*Brucellosis—by culture, antigen detection, nucleic acid 
detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 
infection  

Campylobacteriosis—by culture  

Chancroid—by culture, antigen detection, or nucleic acid 
detection  

Chickenpox (varicella)—by culture, antigen detection, 
nucleic acid detection, or serologic results consistent with 
recent infection  

Chlamydia trachomatis infection—by culture, antigen 
detection, nucleic acid detection or, for lymphogranuloma 
venereum, serologic results consistent with recent infection  
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*Cholera—by culture or serologic results consistent with 
recent infection  

Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease if <55 years of age—
presumptive diagnosis—by histopathology in patients 
under the age of 55 years 

Cryptosporidiosis—by microscopic examination, antigen 
detection, or nucleic acid detection  

Cyclosporiasis—by microscopic examination or nucleic 
acid detection  

*Diphtheria—by culture  

Ehrlichiosis—by culture, nucleic acid detection, or 
serologic results consistent with recent infection  

Escherichia coli infection, Shiga toxin-producing—by 
culture of E. coli O157 or other Shiga toxin-producing E. 
coli, Shiga toxin detection (e.g., by EIA), or nucleic acid 
detection  

Giardiasis—by microscopic examination or antigen 
detection  

Gonorrhea—by microscopic examination of a urethral 
smear specimen (males only), culture, antigen detection, or 
nucleic acid detection  

*Haemophilus influenzae infection, invasive—by culture, 
antigen detection, or nucleic acid detection from a 
normally sterile site  

Hantavirus pulmonary syndrome—by antigen detection 
(immunohistochemistry), nucleic acid detection, or 
serologic results consistent with recent infection  

*Hepatitis A—by detection of IgM antibodies  

Hepatitis B (acute and chronic)—by detection of HBsAg or 
IgM antibodies  

Hepatitis C (acute and chronic)—by hepatitis C virus 
antibody (anti-HCV) screening test positive with a signal-
to-cutoff ratio predictive of a true positive as determined 
for the particular assay as defined by CDC, HCV antibody 
positive by immunoblot (RIBA), or HCV RNA positive by 
nucleic acid test. For all hepatitis C patients, also report 
available results of serum alanine aminotransferase (ALT), 
anti-HAV IgM, anti-HBc IgM, and HBsAg  

Human immunodeficiency virus infection—by culture, 
antigen detection, nucleic acid detection, or detection of 
antibody confirmed with a supplemental test. For HIV-
infected patients, report all results of CD4 and HIV viral 
load tests  

Influenza—by culture, antigen detection by direct 
fluorescent antibody (DFA) or nucleic acid detection  

Lead-elevated blood levels—by blood lead level greater 
than or equal to 10 μg/dL in children ages 0-15 years, or 

greater than or equal to 25 μg/dL in persons older than 15 
years of age  

Legionellosis—by culture, antigen detection including 
urinary antigen), nucleic acid detection, or serologic results 
consistent with recent infection  

Listeriosis—by culture  

Malaria—by microscopic examination, antigen detection, 
or nucleic acid detection  

*Measles (rubeola)—by culture, antigen detection, nucleic 
acid detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 
infection  

*Meningococcal disease—by culture or antigen detection 
from a normally sterile site  

*Monkeypox—by culture nucleic acid detection  

Mumps—by culture, nucleic acid detection, or serologic 
results consistent with recent infection  

*Mycobacterial diseases—(See 12VAC5-90-225 B) Report 
any of the following:  

1. Acid fast bacilli by microscopic examination;  

2. Mycobacterial identification—preliminary and final 
identification by culture or nucleic acid detection;  

3. Drug susceptibility test results for M. tuberculosis.  

*Pertussis—by culture, antigen detection, or nucleic acid 
detection  

*Plague—by culture, antigen detection, nucleic acid 
detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 
infection  

*Poliomyelitis—by culture  

*Psittacosis—by culture, antigen detection, nucleic acid 
detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 
infection  

*Q fever—by culture, antigen detection, nucleic acid 
detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 
infection  

*Rabies, human and animal—by culture, antigen detection 
by direct fluorescent antibody test, nucleic acid detection, 
or, for humans only, serologic results consistent with 
recent infection  

Rocky Mountain spotted fever—by culture, antigen 
detection (including immunohistochemical staining), 
nucleic acid detection, or serologic results consistent with 
recent infection  

*Rubella—by culture, nucleic acid detection, or serologic 
results consistent with recent infection  

Salmonellosis—by culture  
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*Severe acute respiratory syndrome—by culture, nucleic 
acid detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 
infection  

Shigellosis—by culture  

*Smallpox (variola)—by culture or nucleic acid detection  

Staphylococcus aureus infection, resistant, as defined 
below: 

1. Methicillin-resistant - by antimicrobial susceptibility 
testing of a Staphylococcus aureus isolate, with a 
susceptibility result indicating methicillin resistance, 
cultured from a normally sterile site; 

2. Vancomycin-intermediate or vancomycin-resistant 
Staphylococcus aureus infection - by antimicrobial 
susceptibility testing of a Staphylococcus aureus isolate, 
with a vancomycin susceptibility result of intermediate or 
resistant, cultured from a clinical specimen. 

Streptococcal disease, Group A, invasive—by culture from 
a normally sterile site  

Streptococcus pneumoniae infection, invasive, in children 
<5 years of age—by culture from a normally sterile site in 
a child under the age of five years 

*Syphilis—by microscopic examination (including dark 
field), antigen detection (including direct fluorescent 
antibody), or serology by either treponemal or 
nontreponemal methods  

Toxic substance-related illness—by blood or urine 
laboratory findings above the normal range, including but 
not limited to heavy metals, pesticides, and industrial-type 
solvents and gases  

Trichinosis (trichinellosis)—by microscopic examination 
of a muscle biopsy or serologic results consistent with 
recent infection  

*Tularemia—by culture, antigen detection, nucleic acid 
detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 
infection  

*Typhoid fever—by culture  

*Vaccinia, disease or adverse event—by culture or nucleic 
acid detection  

Vancomycin—intermediate or vancomycin-resistant 
Staphylococcus aureus infection—by antimicrobial 
susceptibility testing of a Staphylococcus aureus isolate, 
with a vancomycin susceptibility result of intermediate or 
resistant, cultured from a clinical specimen  

*Vibrio infection—by culture  

*Viral hemorrhagic fever—by culture, antigen detection 
(including immunohistochemical staining), nucleic acid 

detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 
infection  

*Yellow fever—by culture, antigen detection, nucleic acid 
detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 
infection  

Yersiniosis—by culture, nucleic acid detection, or 
serologic results consistent with recent infection  

C. Reportable diseases requiring rapid communication. 
Certain of the diseases in the list of reportable diseases, 
because of their extremely contagious nature or their potential 
for greater harm, or both, require immediate identification 
and control. Reporting of persons confirmed or suspected of 
having these diseases, listed below, shall be made within 24 
hours by the most rapid means available, preferably that of 
telecommunication (e.g., telephone, telephone transmitted 
facsimile, pagers, etc.) to the local health director or other 
professional employee of the department. (These same 
diseases are also identified by an asterisk (*) in subsection A 
and subsection B, where applicable, of this section.)  

Anthrax  
Botulism  
Brucellosis  
Cholera  
Diphtheria  
Disease caused by an agent that may have been used as a 

weapon  
Haemophilus influenzae infection, invasive  
Hepatitis A  
Influenza deaths in children <18 years of age 
Measles (Rubeola)  
Meningococcal disease  
Monkeypox  
Outbreaks, all  
Pertussis  
Plague  
Poliomyelitis  
Psittacosis  
Q fever  
Rabies, human and animal  
Rubella  
Severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS)  
Smallpox (Variola)  
Syphilis, primary and secondary  
Tuberculosis, active disease  
Tularemia  
Typhoid fever  
Unusual occurrence of disease of public health concern  
Vaccinia, disease or adverse event  
Vibrio infection  
Viral hemorrhagic fever  
Yellow Fever  

D. Toxic substance-related illnesses. All toxic substance-
related illnesses, including pesticide and heavy metal 
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poisoning or illness resulting from exposure to an 
occupational dust or fiber or radioactive substance, shall be 
reported.  

If such illness is verified or suspected and presents an 
emergency or a serious threat to public health or safety, the 
report of such illness shall be by rapid communication as in 
subsection C of this section.  

E. Outbreaks. The occurrence of outbreaks or clusters of any 
illness which may represent a group expression of an illness 
which may be of public health concern shall be reported to 
the local health department by the most rapid means 
available.  

F. Unusual or ill-defined diseases or emerging or 
reemerging pathogens. Unusual or emerging conditions of 
public health concern shall be reported to the local health 
department by the most rapid means available. In addition, 
the commissioner or his designee may establish surveillance 
systems for diseases or conditions that are not on the list of 
reportable diseases. Such surveillance may be established to 
identify cases (delineate the magnitude of the situation), to 
identify the mode of transmission and risk factors for the 
disease, and to identify and implement appropriate action to 
protect public health. Any person reporting information at the 
request of the department for special surveillance or other 
epidemiological studies shall be immune from liability as 
provided by § 32.1-38 of the Code of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1024; Filed January 13, 2009, 11:51 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-490. Virginia Radiation 
Protection Regulations: Fee Schedule (adding 12VAC5-
490-30, 12VAC5-490-40). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-229.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Les Foldesi, Director, Bureau of 
Radiological Health, Department of Health, 109 Governor 
Street, Room 730, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
864-8151, FAX (804) 864-8155, or email 
les.foldesi@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

This regulation establishes a fee structure to support the 
radioactive materials licensing and inspection program for 
those materials the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 
intends to transfer to the Commonwealth by agreement. 

Changes to the proposed regulation reduce the fee for (i) 
Category 7A to $7,500, (ii) Category 7D to $3,750, and 
(iii) Category 11B to zero. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

12VAC5-490-30. Application and licensing fees for 
naturally occurring and accelerator-produced radioactive 
materials. 

The application and licensing fees to receive, possess, use, 
transfer, own or acquire naturally occurring and accelerator-
produced radioactive materials license pursuant to 12VAC5-
481 are listed in 12VAC5-490-40. 

12VAC5-490-40. Application and licensing fees for 
byproduct, source, and special nuclear materials. 

The application and licensing fees to receive, possess, use, 
transfer, own or acquire byproduct materials, source and 
special nuclear materials shall not become effective until 30 
days after publication in the Virginia Register of a notice of 
an agreement executed by the Commonwealth of Virginia and 
the federal government under the provisions of § 274b of the 
Atomic Energy Act of 1954, as amended (73 Statute 689). 
Application for a radioactive materials license and annual 
fees for persons issued a radioactive materials license 
pursuant to 12VAC5-481 are listed in the following table: 

Category Specific License Type 
Application 
& Annual 

Fee 

1   Special Nuclear Material 
(SNM) 

  

  A. License for possession and 
use of SNM in sealed 
sources contained in devices 
used in measuring systems 

$1,000 

  B. License for use of SNM to 
be used as calibration and 
reference sources 

$500 

  C. SNM - all other, except 
license authorizing special 
nuclear material in unsealed 
form that would constitute a 
critical mass (fee waived if 
facility holds additional 
license category) 

$2,000 

2   Source Material   

  A. Source material processing 
and distribution 

$3,000 

  B. Source material in shielding 
(fee waived if facility holds 
additional license category) 

$200 

  C. Source material - all other, 
excluding depleted uranium 

$2,000 
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used as shielding or 
counterweights 

3   Byproduct, NARM   

  A. License of broad scope for 
processing or manufacturing 
of items for commercial 
distribution 

$15,000 

  B. License for processing or 
manufacturing and 
commercial distribution of 
radiopharmaceuticals, 
generators, reagent kits and 
sources or devices 

$8,000 

  C. License for commercial 
distribution or redistribution 
of radiopharmaceuticals, 
generators, reagent kits and 
sources or devices 

$4,000 

  D. Other licenses for 
processing or manufacturing 
of items for commercial 
distribution 

$4,000 

  E. License for industrial 
radiography operations 
performed only in a shielded 
radiography installation 

$3,000 

  F. License for industrial 
radiography performed only 
at the address indicated on 
the license, and at temporary 
job sites 

$4,000 

  G. License for possession and 
use of less than 370 TBq 
(10,000 curies) of 
radioactive material in 
sealed sources for irradiation 
of materials where the 
source is not removed from 
the shield (fee waived if 
facility holds additional 
irradiator license category) 

$3,000 

  H. License for possession and 
use of less than 370 TBq 
(10,000 curies) of 
radioactive material in 
sealed sources for irradiation 
of materials where the 
source is exposed for 
irradiation purposes.  The 
category also includes 

$3,000 

underwater irradiators for 
irradiation of materials in 
which the source is not 
exposed for irradiation 

  I. License for possession and 
use of at least 370 TBq 
(10,000 curies) and less than 
3.7 PBq (100,000 curies) of 
radioactive material in 
sealed sources for irradiation 
of materials)  

$5,000 

  J. License for possession and 
use of 3.7 PBq (100,000 
curies) or more of 
radioactive material in 
sealed sources for irradiation 
of materials 

$15,000 

  K. License to distribute items 
containing radioactive 
materials to persons under a 
general license 

$2,000 

  L. License to possess 
radioactive materials 
intended for distribution to 
persons exempt from 
licensing 

$1,000 

  M. License of broad scope for 
research and development 
that does not authorize 
commercial distribution 

$7,500 

  N. Other licenses for research 
and development that do not 
authorize commercial 
distribution 

$1,500 

  O. License for installation, 
repair, maintenance or other 
service of devices or items 
containing radioactive 
material, excluding waste 
transportation or broker 
services 

$1,500 

  P. License for portable gauges $1,000 

  Q. License for portable X-ray 
fluorescence analyzer, 
dewpointer or gas 
chromatograph 

$250 

  R. Leak testing services $500 

  S. Instrument calibration $1,000 
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services 

  T. Fixed gauges $1,000 

  U. All other byproduct, 
naturally occurring or 
accelerator-produced 
material licenses, except as 
otherwise noted 

$1,500 

4   Waste Processing   

  A. Commercial waste treatment 
facilities, including 
incineration 

$200,000 

  B. All other commercial 
facilities involving waste 
compaction, repackaging, 
storage or transfer 

$11,000 

  C. Waste processing - all other, 
including decontamination 
service 

$5,000 

5   Well Logging   

  A. License for well logging 
using sealed sources or 
subsurface tracer studies 

$3,000 

  B. License for well logging 
using sealed sources and 
subsurface tracer studies 

$4,000 

6   Nuclear Laundry   

  A. License for commercial 
collection and laundry of 
items contaminated with 
radioactive material 

$10,000 

7   Medical/Veterinary   

  A. License for human use of 
byproduct, source, special 
nuclear or NARM material 
in sealed sources contained 
in teletherapy or stereotactic 
radiosurgery devices, 
including mobile therapy 

 [ $10,000 

$7,500 ]  

  B. License of broad scope for 
human use of byproduct, 
source, special nuclear or 
NARM materials used in 
medical diagnosis, 
treatment, research and 
development (excluding 
teletherapy or stereotactic 
radiosurgery devices) 

$15,000 

  C. License for mobile nuclear 
medicine 

$2,000 

  D. Medical - all others, 
including SNM pacemakers 
and high dose rate remote 
afterloading devices 

 [ $4,000   

 $3,750]  

  E. License for veterinary use of 
radioactive materials 

$2,000 

  F. In-vitro $1,000 

8   Academic   

  A. License for possession and 
use of byproduct, naturally 
occurring or accelerator-
produced radioactive 
material for educational use 
or academic research and 
development that does not 
authorize commercial 
distribution, excluding broad 
scope or human use licenses 

$1,000 

9   Accelerator   

  A. License for accelerator 
production of radioisotopes 
with commercial distribution 

$4,000 

  B. Accelerator isotope 
production - all other (fee 
waived if facility holds 
medical broad scope license 
with no commercial 
distribution) 

$2,000 

10   Reciprocity   

  A. Reciprocity recognition of 
an out-of-state specific 
license 

50% of 
annual fee 

of 
applicable 

category 

11   Amendments   

  A. Request to amend specific 
license - no license review 

$0 

  B. Request to amend specific 
license - license review 
required 

 [ $100 

$0 ]  

  C. Request to terminate license $200 
VA.R. Doc. No. R07-114; Filed January 14, 2009, 2:37 p.m.  
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Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-490. Virginia Radiation 
Protection Regulations: Fee Schedule (amending 
12VAC5-490-10, 12VAC5-490-20). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-229.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2009.  

Agency Contact: Les Foldesi, Director, Bureau of 
Radiological Health, Department of Health, 109 Governor 
Street, Room 730, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
864-8151, FAX (804) 864-8155, or email 
les.foldesi@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments increase X-ray machine registration fees 
and inspection fees for most X-ray machines; decrease 
inspection fees for veterinary, podiatric, and cephalometric 
machines; and include additional types of X-ray machines 
in the inspection fee schedule. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

12VAC5-490-10. Registration fees. 

All operators or owners of diagnostic X-ray machines used 
in the healing arts and capable of producing radiation shall 
pay the following registration fee: 

$15 $50 for each machine and additional tube(s) that have 
a required annual inspection, collected annually; 

$15 $50 for each machine and additional tube(s) that have 
a required inspection every three years, collected every 
three years. 

All operators or owners of therapeutic X-ray, particle 
accelerators, and teletherapy machines used in the healing arts 
capable of producing radiation shall pay the following annual 
registration fee: 

$15 $50 for each machine with a maximum beam energy 
of less than 1Mev 500 KVp; 

$15 $50 for each machine with a maximum beam energy 
of 1Mev 500 KVp or greater. 

Where the operator or owner of the aforementioned 
machines is a state agency or local government, that agency is 
exempt from the payment of the registration fee. 

12VAC5-490-20. Inspection fees. 

The following fees shall be charged for surveys requested by 
the registrant and performed by a Department of Health 
inspector: 

Type Cost Per Tube 

General Radiographic (includes: 
Chiropractic, Mammographic, 
Podiatric, Veterinary, Cephalometric, 
and Special Purpose X-ray Systems) 

$190 $230 

Fluoroscopic, C-arm Fluoroscopic $190 $230 

Combination (General Purpose-
Fluoroscopic) 

$380 $460 

Dental Intraoral, Cephalometric and 
Panographic 

$65 $90 

Veterinary $160 

Podiatric $90 

Cephalometric $120 

Bone Densitometry $90 

Combination (Dental Panographic and 
Cephalometric) 

$210 

Shielding Review for Dental Facilities $250 

Shielding Review for Radiographic, 
Chiropractic, Veterinary, 
Fluoroscopic, or Podiatric Facilities 

$450 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-114a; Filed January 14, 2009, 2:36 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-40. Eligibility Conditions 
and Requirements (amending 12VAC30-40-280, 
12VAC30-40-345). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
March 4, 2009. 

Effective Date: March 19, 2009.  

Agency Contact: Lois Brengel, Project Manager, Department 
of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-7958, FAX (804) 
786-1680, or email lois.brengel@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 
Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 
administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance. 
Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 
Director of DMAS to administer and amend the Plan for 
Medical Assistance according to the board's requirements. 
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The Medicaid authority as established by § 1902 (a) of the 
Social Security Act (42 USC § 1396a) provides governing 
authority for payments for services. 

Purpose: The purpose of this regulatory change is to amend 
current Medicaid regulations to provide for the disregard of 
income obtained through temporary employment with the 
United States Census Bureau for the decennial census. This 
proposed amendment to the current regulations contributes to 
preserving the health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of the 
Commonwealth by maintaining Medicaid coverage for 
recipients during this temporary period of employment and 
allowing for the disregard of this temporary source of income. 

The loss of Medicaid coverage is potentially more costly to 
the Commonwealth than allowing the individual to maintain 
his current health status by continuing his Medicaid coverage 
during this period of temporary employment. Maintaining 
coverage should be cost effective. A loss of coverage could 
result in the utilization of emergent care because the 
individual would otherwise be uninsured. The use of 
emergent care by an uninsured individual places a burden on 
the healthcare system and serves to increase costs for the 
general population. The denial of Medicaid coverage for 
individuals, who would otherwise be eligible if not for this 
income, is also potentially more costly. Additionally, 
reapplication to the Medicaid Program at a point in time 
where lack of healthcare may have caused an individual’s 
health status to deteriorate, would bring the individual back 
into the program with increased costs. Therefore, DMAS 
believes that it is in the best interests of the Commonwealth 
and its citizens to permit this regulatory change and allow for 
the disregard of this income source from the Medicaid income 
eligibility determination. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The fast-track 
process is being utilized to promulgate this change in 
regulatory language as it is expected to be a noncontroversial 
amendment to existing regulations. The result of this 
additional income disregard would allow vulnerable 
recipients to maintain their health care coverage and, 
therefore, a stable health status. The disregard would also 
allow individuals of limited financial means to temporarily 
increase their disposable income to provide for nonmedical 
needs. Additionally, the continuation of healthcare may result 
in an overall cost savings to the Commonwealth. The United 
States Census Bureau has advised that it will begin hiring 
temporary workers in preparation for the upcoming decennial 
census in 2009, meaning that the time frame to complete this 
change is very limited. 

Substance: Current Medicaid regulations provide for the 
disregard of certain types of income. Under 12VAC30-40-
345, Eligibility under § 1931 of the Act, Low-income 
Families and Children (LIFC) are covered by the 
Commonwealth. In determining eligibility for Medicaid, the 
agency uses the Aids to Families with Dependent Children 

(AFDC) policy in effect as of July 16, 1996, with some 
modifications. With regard to income, this regulation allows 
for the use of less restrictive methodologies than those in 
effect as of July 16, 1996. Earned income is disregarded for 
any child under the age of 19 years old who is a student, as 
well as, the fair market value of all in-kind support and 
maintenance as income in determining financial eligibility for 
these groups. Under 12VAC30-40-280, More Liberal Income 
Disregards, the value of in-kind support and maintenance as 
income is disregarded when determining financial eligibility 
for Medicaid. This applies to Aged, Blind and Disabled 
(ABD) individuals, with the exception of the special income 
level group of institutionalized individuals, and all 
categorically needy and medically needy individuals under 
the family and children covered groups. 

The recommended amendment of these regulations permits 
the addition of income derived from temporary census bureau 
employment to be disregarded or not counted as a source of 
income. The bureau concentrates employment efforts in the 
geographic locations where enumeration activities are being 
conducted. It places emphasis on hiring individuals from 
within low-income neighborhoods as they are hard to serve 
areas. This source of income is not only temporary, but offers 
no opportunity for permanent employment, is time limited 
and intermittent, with no benefits. An individual eligible for 
full coverage under the Medicaid Program must have an 
income of less than 80% of the federal poverty level or $694 
per month in the ABD covered groups. An adult eligible for 
full coverage in the LIFC covered groups must have 
countable income equal to or less than 90% Families and 
Children Income Limit for the locality in which the individual 
resides. [Example-A low income adult with a dependent child 
in a Group One locality must have countable income equal to 
or less than $253.51 per month.]  All of these individuals 
have incomes well below the federal poverty level. The 
amount of compensation for this type of work is not likely to 
cause these affected persons’ incomes to exceed the federal 
poverty level. Therefore, the termination of Medicaid 
coverage for these individuals because of income earned from 
a temporary census job, under these circumstances would not 
be in the best interest of the individual or the Commonwealth. 

Temporary positions with the Census Bureau are available 
only every 10 years. These positions last for short periods (2-
3 months), work schedules are intermittent, no benefits are 
offered and no opportunity for permanent employment is 
available. Medicaid eligible individuals who may obtain these 
positions are low income adults with dependent children and 
Aged, Blind and Disabled (ABD) populations. The census 
bureau targets individuals for employment within the 
geographic locations in which it is conducting enumeration 
activities, especially in hard to serve low-income 
neighborhoods. This increases the likelihood that a Medicaid 
eligible individual may be employed by the Census Bureau. 
DMAS anticipates that this increase in income could cause 
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ineligibility for Medicaid coverage for individuals, as they are 
within the income demographic targeted by the Census 
Bureau’s hiring practices. These individuals are some of the 
most vulnerable of the general population and would 
otherwise be eligible for Medicaid if not for this temporary, 
intermittent source of income. 

Individuals eligible under the Medicaid Program as noted are 
low-income individuals who may have had little or no access 
to health coverage up until the time they were determined 
eligible for Medicaid coverage. As such, some may come into 
the program with pre-existing illnesses, which could be 
chronic conditions. Loss or denial of Medicaid coverage 
because of this temporary income could cause these medical 
conditions to go untreated. The individual’s primary source of 
treatment if Medicaid was unavailable would be emergent 
care. This is detrimental to both the individual in terms of 
health and to the overall healthcare system in terms of cost. 
Additionally, individuals placed in this position would more 
than likely gain Medicaid coverage for payment of these costs 
at a point in time when the cost may be greater to the 
program. This leads to the conclusion that there is potential 
for an overall increase in the cost to the Medicaid Program for 
these individuals over what would have been spent had 
Medicaid coverage been available. 

Implementation of the requested addition of this disregard 
would have little impact on the local administration of the 
program by social services. Individuals would maintain their 
Medicaid coverage and yet have some additional funds to 
provide for nonmedical needs not covered by the Medicaid 
Program. Therefore, this change would be relatively 
transparent to both the recipient and the social services 
system. 

Issues: There are no disadvantages to the public or the 
Commonwealth in this regulation. The advantage is to low-
income citizens by allowing for the disregard of a temporary, 
intermittent source of income that would cause a barrier to 
services to which they are otherwise eligible and should be 
able to access. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
proposed regulations will add to Medicaid eligibility rules a 
disregard for income earned from temporary employment 
with the United States Census Bureau in completing a 
decennial census. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The United States Census 
Bureau has advised states that it will start hiring temporary 
workers in 2009 to conduct the upcoming decennial census. 
Under current regulations, an existing Medicaid recipient may 
experience interruption in his or her eligibility due to the 

temporary income earned from the Census Bureau. In order to 
maintain uninterrupted eligibility of existing recipients, the 
proposed regulations will add to Medicaid eligibility rules a 
disregard for income earned from temporary employment 
with the United States Census Bureau in completing a 
decennial census. 

The Department of Medical Assistance Services has no 
estimate for the number of Medicaid recipients who may be 
temporarily hired by the Census Bureau. However, temporary 
interruption in the Medicaid coverage is potentially more 
costly than uninterrupted coverage due to the possibility of 
emergency care and deterioration of chronic conditions if care 
is not continuous. There may also be some administrative 
savings from eliminating disenrollment and reenrollment of 
the same individuals during the temporary employment with 
the Census Bureau. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulations 
apply to Medicaid enrollees. The number of Medicaid 
enrollees who may be temporarily hired by the Census 
Bureau is not known. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 
apply throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulations 
will remove a disincentive from regulations that may 
discourage some Medicaid enrollees to obtain temporary 
employment with the Census Bureau. Thus, the proposed 
changes are expected to increase labor supply. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed regulations are not expected to have any significant 
effect on the use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
regulations are not anticipated to create any small business 
costs and other affects. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed regulations are not expected to 
have any adverse effect on small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed regulations are 
not expected to create any real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the 
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proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§ 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The agency concurs 
with the economic impact analysis prepared by the 
Department of Planning and Budget regarding the regulations 
concerning Medicaid Eligibility Income Disregards 
(12VAC30-40-280 and 12VAC30-40-345). 

Summary:  

The Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) 
is proposing to amend regulations regarding the income 
disregards utilized in the Medicaid income eligibility 
determination. Income that is disregarded is not counted 
in determining an individual’s eligibility for the 
Medicaid program. Currently, individuals eligible for 
coverage under the Medicaid program are allowed 
disregards for certain types of income in the 
determination of their eligibility. The proposed change 
will add a disregard for income earned from temporary 
employment with the United States Census Bureau in 
completing a decennial census. 

12VAC30-40-280. More liberal income disregards. 

A. For children covered under §§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(III) and 
1905(n) of the Social Security Act, the Commonwealth of 
Virginia will disregard one dollar plus an amount equal to the 
difference between 100% of the AFDC payment standard for 
the same family size and 100% of the Federal Poverty Level 
federal poverty level for the same family size as updated 
annually in the Federal Register. 

B. For ADC-related cases, both categorically and medically 
needy, any individual or family applying for or receiving 
assistance shall be granted an income exemption consistent 
with the Act (§§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(III), (IV), (VI), (VII); 
§§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(VIII), (IX); § 1902(a)(10)(C)(i)(III)). 
Any interest earned on one interest-bearing savings or 
investment account per assistance unit not to exceed $5,000, 
if the applicant, applicants, recipient or recipients designate 
that the account is reserved for purposes related to self-
sufficiency, shall be exempt when determining eligibility for 
medical assistance for so long as the funds and interest 
remain on deposit in the account. For purposes of this section, 

"purposes related to self-sufficiency" shall include, but are 
not limited to, (i) paying for tuition, books, and incidental 
expenses at any elementary, secondary, or vocational school, 
or any college or university; (ii) for making down payment on 
a primary residence; or (iii) for establishment of a commercial 
operation that is owned by a member of the Medicaid 
assistance unit.  

C. For the group described in §§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(VII) and 
1902(l)(1)(D), income in the amount of the difference 
between 100% and 133% of the Federal Poverty Level federal 
poverty level (as revised annually in the Federal Register) is 
disregarded.  

D. For aged, blind, and disabled individuals, both 
categorically and medically needy, with the exception of the 
special income level group of institutionalized individuals, 
the Commonwealth of Virginia shall disregard the value of 
in-kind support and maintenance when determining 
eligibility. In-kind support and maintenance means food, 
clothing, or shelter or any combination of these provided to 
an individual. 

E. For all categorically needy and medically needy children 
covered under the family and children covered groups, 
(§§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(I), 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(III), 
1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(VI), 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(VII), 
1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(VIII), 1902(a)(10)(C)(ii)(I) and 1905(n) of 
the Act), the Commonwealth will disregard all earned income 
of a child under the age of 19 who is a student. 

F. For all categorically needy and medically needy 
individuals covered under the family and children covered 
groups (§§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(I), 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(III), 
1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(IV), 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(V), 
1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(VI), 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(VII), 
1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(VIII), 1902(a)(10)(C)(ii)(I) and 1905(n) of 
the Act), the Commonwealth will disregard the fair market 
value of all in-kind support and maintenance as income in 
determining financial eligibility. In-kind support and 
maintenance means food, clothing or shelter or any 
combination of these provided to an individual. 

G. For aged, blind and disabled individuals, both 
categorically and medically needy, with the exception of the 
special income level group of institutionalized individuals, 
the Commonwealth of Virginia shall disregard the value of 
income derived from temporary employment with the United 
States Census Bureau for a decennial census. 

H. For all categorically needy and medically needy 
individuals covered under the family and children covered 
groups (§§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(I), 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(III), 
1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(IV), 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(V), 
1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(VI), 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(VII), 
1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(VIII), 1902(a)(10)(C)(ii)(I) and 1905(n) of 
the Act), the Commonwealth will disregard income derived 
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from the temporary employment with the United States 
Census Bureau for a decennial census. 

12VAC30-40-345. Eligibility under § 1931 of the Act. 

A. The state covers low-income families and children under 
§ 1931 of the Act as follows:  

AFDC children age 18 who are full-time students in a 
secondary school or in the equivalent level of vocational or 
technical training.  

B. In determining eligibility for Medicaid, the agency uses 
the AFDC standards and methodologies in effect as of July 
16, 1996, with the following modifications. 

1. The agency applies higher income standards than those 
in effect as of July 16, 1996, increased by no more than the 
percentage increases in the CPI-U since July 16, 1996. The 
agency increases the July 16, 1996, income standards 
shown in 12VAC30-40-220 by the annual increase in the 
CPI beginning July 1, 2001.  

2. The agency uses less restrictive income or resource 
methodologies than those in effect as of July 16, 1996. The 
agency does not consider resources in determining 
eligibility. The agency disregards all earned income of a 
child under the age of 19 who is a student. The agency 
disregards the fair market value of all in-kind support and 
maintenance as income in determining financial eligibility 
for the above referenced group. The agency disregards 
income earned from temporary employment with the 
United States Census Bureau for a decennial census. 

3. The income or resource methodologies that the less 
restrictive methodologies replace are as follows: 

a. Resources. The family resource limit was $1,000. 
Additionally, any applicant or recipient may have or 
establish one savings or investment account not to exceed 
$5,000 if the applicant or recipient designates that the 
account is reserved for purposes related to self-
sufficiency. Any funds deposited in the account and any 
interest earned on or appreciation in the value of the 
funds shall be exempt when determining eligibility for as 
long as the funds and interest on or appreciation in value 
of remain in the account. Any amounts withdrawn and 
used for purposes related to self-sufficiency shall be 
exempt. For purposes of this section, "purposes related to 
self-sufficiency" shall include, but is not limited to, 
paying for tuition, books and incidental expenses at any 
elementary, secondary or vocational school or any 
college or university; making down payment on a 
primary residence; or establishing a commercial 
operation that is owned by a member of the Medicaid 
assistance unit. 

b. Income. Any interest or appreciation earned on one 
interest-bearing savings account per medical assistance 
unit not to exceed $5,000 at a financial institution, if the 

applicant or recipient designates that the account is 
reserved for the purpose of paying for tuition, books, and 
incidental expenses at any elementary, secondary or 
vocational school or any college or university, or for 
making down payment on a primary residence or for 
business incubation, shall be exempt when determining 
eligibility for medical assistance for as long as the funds 
and interest remain on deposit in the account. For 
purposes of this section, "business incubation" means the 
initial establishment of a commercial operation owned by 
a member of the Medicaid assistance unit. 

c. Income earned by a child under the age of 19 who is a 
student was counted in determining eligibility in 
accordance with the AFDC income methodologies that 
were in effect as of July 16, 1996. 

d. The fair market value of in-kind support and 
maintenance is counted as income when evaluating the 
financial eligibility of the above-referenced group. In-
kind support and maintenance means food, clothing or 
shelter or any combination of these provided to an 
individual.  

C. The agency continues to apply the following waivers of 
the provisions of Part A of Title IV in effect as of July 16, 
1996, or submitted prior to August 22, 1996, and approved by 
the secretary on or before July 1, 1997. For individuals who 
receive TANF benefits and meet the requirements of 
Virginia's § 1115 waiver for the Virginia Independence 
Program, the agency continues to apply the following waivers 
of the provisions of Part A of Title IV in effect as of July 16, 
1996, or submitted prior to August 22, 1996, and approved by 
the secretary on or before July 1, 1997. The waiver contains 
the following more liberal income disregards:  

Earned income will be disregarded so long as the earnings 
plus the AFDC benefits are equal to or less than 100% of the 
Federal Income Poverty Guidelines. For any month in which 
earnings plus the AFDC standard of payment for the family 
size exceed the Federal Poverty Income Guidelines for a 
family of the same size, earned income above 100% of the 
Federal Poverty Income Guidelines shall be counted.  

These waivers will apply only to TANF cash assistance 
recipients. These waivers will be continued only for as long 
as eligibility for TANF was established under the welfare 
reform demonstration project for which these waivers were 
originally approved. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1610; Filed January 14, 2009, 10:50 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-120. Waivered Services 
(amending 12VAC30-120-370, 12VAC30-120-380). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2009. 
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Agency Contact: Adrienne Fegans, Program Operations 
Administrator, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-4112, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
adrienne.fegans@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendments, generally referred to as Phase I of the 
Integration of Acute and Long-Term Care, permit persons 
who become newly enrolled home-based and community-
based care (CBC) waiver recipients (HIV-AIDS, Individual 
and Family Developmental Disabilities Support (IFDDS), 
Mental Retardation (MR), Elderly or Disabled with 
Consumer Direction (EDCD), Day Support, and 
Alzheimer’s Waiver programs) to retain their enrollment in 
their managed care organization for purposes of obtaining 
needed acute medical care. Excluded from this change are 
persons newly admitted to the Technology Assisted waiver, 
to nursing facilities, and those persons who become dual 
eligibles (eligible for both Medicare and Medicaid). Prior 
to the agency’s current emergency regulation, these 
persons have been disenrolled from their managed care 
organization (once they qualify for certain CBC waivers) 
and have been required to seek needed acute care services 
in the unmanaged fee-for-service environment. The 
persons affected by this change will have their home-based 
and community-based waiver services, including necessary 
transportation to waiver services, reimbursed by the 
Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) 
through a fee-for-service mechanism. The managed care 
organizations will be financially responsible for these 
affected persons’ acute medical care. 

The changes made to the proposed regulation add 
language to further clarify the existing regulation or to 
conform the existing regulation to the newly approved 
federal 1915(b) waiver from CMS. The changes include 
clarification of recipients excluded from managed care, the 
preassignment to the managed care enrollment process, 
defining the newborn enrollment period, and adding 
midwife as an obstetrical provider. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

12VAC30-120-370. Medallion II enrollees. 

A. DMAS shall determine enrollment in Medallion II. 
Enrollment in Medallion II is not a guarantee of continuing 
eligibility for services and benefits under the Virginia 
Medical Assistance Services Program. DMAS reserves the 
right to exclude from participation in the Medallion II 
managed care program any recipient who has been 
consistently noncompliant with the policies and procedures of 
managed care or who is threatening to providers, MCOs, or 

DMAS. There must be sufficient documentation from various 
providers, the MCO, and DMAS of these noncompliance 
issues and any attempts at resolution. Recipients excluded 
from Medallion II through this provision may appeal the 
decision to DMAS. 

B. The following individuals shall be excluded (as defined 
in 12VAC30-120-360) from participating in Medallion II [ or 
will be disenrolled from Medallion II if any of the following 
apply ]. Individuals not meeting the exclusion criteria must 
participate in the Medallion II program. 

1. Individuals who are inpatients in state mental hospitals; 

2. Individuals who are approved by DMAS as inpatients in 
long-stay hospitals, nursing facilities, or intermediate care 
facilities for the mentally retarded; 

3. Individuals who are placed on spend-down; 

4. Individuals who are participating in the family planning 
waiver, and or in federal waiver programs for home-based 
and community-based Medicaid coverage prior to managed 
care enrollment; 

5. Individuals who are participating in foster care or 
subsidized adoption programs; 

6. Individuals under age 21 who are [ either ] enrolled in 
DMAS authorized [ residential treatment or ] treatment 
foster care programs [ as defined in 12VAC30-60-170 A, 
or who are approved for DMAS residential facility Level C 
programs as defined in 12VAC30-130-860 ]; 

7. Newly eligible individuals who are in the third trimester 
of pregnancy and who request exclusion within a 
department-specified timeframe of the effective date of 
their MCO enrollment. Exclusion may be granted only if 
the member's obstetrical provider [ (physician or hospital) 
(e.g., physician, hospital, midwife) ] does not participate 
with the enrollee's assigned MCO. Exclusion requests 
made during the third trimester may be made by the 
recipient, MCO, or provider. DMAS shall determine if the 
request meets the criteria for exclusion. Following the end 
of the pregnancy, these individuals shall be required to 
enroll to the extent they remain eligible for Medicaid; 

8. Individuals, other than students, who permanently live 
outside their area of residence for greater than 60 
consecutive days except those individuals placed there for 
medically necessary services funded by the MCO; 

9. Individuals who receive hospice services in accordance 
with DMAS criteria; 

10. Individuals with other comprehensive group or 
individual health insurance coverage, including Medicare, 
insurance provided to military dependents, and any other 
insurance purchased through the Health Insurance 
Premium Payment Program (HIPP); 
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11. Individuals requesting exclusion who are inpatients in 
hospitals, other than those listed in subdivisions 1 and 2 of 
this subsection, at the scheduled time of [ MCO ] 
enrollment or who are scheduled for inpatient hospital stay 
or surgery within 30 calendar days of the [ MCO ] 
enrollment effective date. The exclusion shall remain 
effective until the first day of the month following 
discharge [ . This exclusion reason shall not apply to 
recipients admitted to the hospital while already enrolled in 
a department-contracted MCO ];  

12. Individuals who request exclusion during 
preassignment to an MCO or within a time set by DMAS 
from the effective date of their MCO enrollment, who have 
been diagnosed with a terminal condition and who have a 
life expectancy of six months or less. The client's physician 
must certify the life expectancy; 

13. Certain individuals between birth and age three 
certified by the Department of Mental Health, Mental 
Retardation and Substance Abuse Services as eligible for 
services pursuant to Part C of the Individuals with 
Disabilities Education Act (20 USC § 1471 et seq.) who 
are granted an exception by DMAS to the mandatory 
Medallion II enrollment; 

14. Individuals who have an eligibility period that is less 
than three months; 

15. Individuals who are enrolled in the Commonwealth's 
Title XXI SCHIP program; 

16. Individuals who have an eligibility period that is only 
retroactive; and 

17. Children enrolled in the Virginia Birth-Related 
Neurological Injury Compensation Program established 
pursuant to Chapter 50 (§ 38.2-5000 et seq.) of Title 38.2 
of the Code of Virginia. 

C. Individuals enrolled with a MCO [ that who ] 
subsequently meet one or more of the aforementioned criteria 
during MCO enrollment shall be excluded from MCO 
participation as determined by DMAS, with the exception of 
those who subsequently become recipients in the federal 
long-term care waiver programs, as otherwise defined 
elsewhere in this chapter, for home-based and community-
based Medicaid coverage (AIDS, IFDDS, MR, EDCD, Day 
Support, or Alzheimers, or as may be amended from time to 
time). These individuals shall receive acute and primary 
medical services via the MCO and shall receive waiver 
services and related transportation to waiver services via the 
fee-for-service program. 

Individuals excluded from mandatory managed care 
enrollment shall receive Medicaid services under the current 
fee-for-service system. When enrollees no longer meet the 
criteria for exclusion, they shall be required to enroll in the 
appropriate managed care program. 

D. Medallion II managed care plans shall be offered to 
recipients, and recipients shall be enrolled in those plans, 
exclusively through an independent enrollment broker under 
contract to DMAS. 

D. E. Clients shall be enrolled as follows: 

1. All eligible persons, except those meeting one of the 
exclusions of subsection B of this section, shall be enrolled 
in Medallion II. 

2. Clients shall receive a Medicaid card from DMAS, and 
shall be provided authorized medical care in accordance 
with DMAS' procedures after Medicaid eligibility has been 
determined to exist. 

3. Once individuals are enrolled in Medicaid, they will 
receive a letter indicating that they may select one of the 
contracted MCOs. These letters shall indicate a 
preassigned MCO, determined as provided in subsection E 
F of this section, in which the client will be enrolled if he 
does not make a selection within a period specified by 
DMAS of not less than 30 days. [ Recipients who are 
enrolled in one mandatory MCO program who 
immediately become eligible for another mandatory MCO 
program are able to maintain consistent enrollment with 
their currently assigned MCO, if available. These 
recipients will receive a notification letter including 
information regarding their ability to change health plans 
under the new program. ] 

4. Any newborn whose mother is enrolled with an MCO at 
the time of birth shall be considered an enrollee of that 
same MCO for the newborn enrollment period. [ The 
newborn enrollment period is defined as the birth month 
plus two months following the birth month. ] This 
requirement does not preclude the enrollee, once he is 
assigned a Medicaid identification number, from 
disenrolling from one MCO to another in accordance with 
subdivision F G 1 of this section. 

The newborn's continued enrollment with the MCO is not 
contingent upon the mother's enrollment. Additionally, if 
the MCO's contract is terminated in whole or in part, the 
MCO shall continue newborn coverage if the child is born 
while the contract is active, until the newborn receives a 
Medicaid number or for the newborn enrollment period, 
whichever timeframe is earlier. Infants who do not receive 
a Medicaid identification number prior to the end of the 
newborn enrollment period will be disenrolled. Newborns 
who remain eligible for participation in Medallion II will 
be reenrolled in an MCO through the preassignment 
process upon receiving a Medicaid identification number. 

5. Individuals who lose then regain eligibility for 
Medallion II within 60 days will be reenrolled into their 
previous MCO without going through preassignment and 
selection. 
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E. F. Clients who do not select an MCO as described in 
subdivision D E 3 of this section shall be assigned to an MCO 
as follows: 

1. Clients are assigned through a system algorithm based 
upon the client's history with a contracted MCO. 

2. Clients not assigned pursuant to subdivision 1 of this 
subsection shall be assigned to the MCO of another family 
member, if applicable. 

3. All other clients shall be assigned to an MCO on a basis 
of approximately equal number by MCO in each locality. 

4. In areas where there is only one contracted MCO, 
recipients have a choice of enrolling with the contracted 
MCO or the PCCM program. All eligible recipients in 
areas where one contracted MCO exists, however, are 
automatically assigned to the contracted MCO. Individuals 
are allowed 90 days after the effective date of new or 
initial enrollment to change from either the contracted 
MCO to the PCCM program or vice versa. 

5. DMAS shall have the discretion to utilize an alternate 
strategy for enrollment or transition of enrollment from the 
method described in this section for expansions to new 
client populations, new geographical areas, expansion 
through procurement, or any or all of these [ ; such 
alternate strategy shall comply with federal waiver 
requirements ] . 

F. G. Following their initial enrollment into an MCO or 
PCCM program, recipients shall be restricted to the MCO or 
PCCM program until the next open enrollment period, unless 
appropriately disenrolled or excluded by the department (as 
defined in 12VAC30-120-360). 

1. During the first 90 calendar days of enrollment in a new 
or initial MCO, a client may disenroll from that MCO to 
enroll into another MCO or into PCCM, if applicable, for 
any reason. Such disenrollment shall be effective no later 
than the first day of the second month after the month in 
which the client requests disenrollment. 

2. During the remainder of the enrollment period, the client 
may only disenroll from one MCO into another MCO or 
PCCM, if applicable, upon determination by DMAS that 
good cause exists as determined under subsection H I of 
this section. 

G. H. The department shall conduct an annual open 
enrollment for all Medallion II participants. The open 
enrollment period shall be the 60 calendar days before the end 
of the enrollment period. Prior to the open enrollment period, 
DMAS will inform the recipient of the opportunity to remain 
with the current MCO or change to another MCO, without 
cause, for the following year. In areas with only one 
contracted MCO, recipients will be given the opportunity to 
select either the MCO or the PCCM program. Enrollment 
selections will be effective on the first day of the next month 

following the open enrollment period. Recipients who do not 
make a choice during the open enrollment period will remain 
with their current MCO selection. 

H. I. Disenrollment for cause may be requested at any time. 

1. After the first 90 days of enrollment in an MCO, clients 
must request disenrollment from DMAS based on cause. 
The request may be made orally or in writing to DMAS 
and must cite the reasons why the client wishes to 
disenroll. Cause for disenrollment shall include the 
following: 

a. A recipient's desire to seek services from a federally 
qualified health center which is not under contract with 
the recipient's current MCO, and the recipient (i) requests 
a change to another MCO that subcontracts with the 
desired federally qualified health center or (ii) requests a 
change to the PCCM, if the federally qualified health 
center is contracting directly with DMAS as a PCCM; 

b. Performance or nonperformance of service to the 
recipient by an MCO or one or more of its providers 
which is deemed by the department's external quality 
review organizations to be below the generally accepted 
community practice of health care. This may include 
poor quality care; 

c. Lack of access to a PCP or necessary specialty services 
covered under the State Plan or lack of access to 
providers experienced in dealing with the enrollee's 
health care needs; 

d. A client has a combination of complex medical factors 
that, in the sole discretion of DMAS, would be better 
served under another contracted MCO or PCCM 
program, if applicable, or provider; 

e. The enrollee moves out of the MCO's service area; 

f. The MCO does not, because of moral or religious 
objections, cover the service the enrollee seeks; 

g. The enrollee needs related services to be performed at 
the same time; not all related services are available 
within the network, and the enrollee's primary care 
provider or another provider determines that receiving 
the services separately would subject the enrollee to 
unnecessary risk; or 

h. Other reasons as determined by DMAS through 
written policy directives. 

2. DMAS shall determine whether cause exists for 
disenrollment. Written responses shall be provided within a 
timeframe set by department policy; however, the effective 
date of an approved disenrollment shall be no later than the 
first day of the second month following the month in which 
the enrollee files the request, in compliance with 42 CFR 
438.56. 
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3. Cause for disenrollment shall be deemed to exist and the 
disenrollment shall be granted if DMAS fails to take final 
action on a valid request prior to the first day of the second 
month after the request. 

4. The DMAS determination concerning cause for 
disenrollment may be appealed by the client in accordance 
with the department's client appeals process at 12VAC30-
110-10 through 12VAC30-110-380. 

5. The current MCO shall provide, within two working 
days of a request from DMAS, information necessary to 
determine cause. 

6. Individuals enrolled with a MCO [ that who ] 
subsequently meet one or more of the exclusions in 
subsection B of this section during MCO enrollment shall 
be disenrolled as appropriate by DMAS, with the exception 
of those who subsequently become recipients into the 
AIDS, IFDDS, MR, EDCD, Day Support, or Alzheimer's 
federal waiver programs for home-based and community-
based Medicaid coverage. These individuals shall receive 
acute and primary medical services via the MCO and shall 
receive waiver services and related transportation to waiver 
services via the fee-for-service program. 

Individuals excluded from mandatory managed care 
enrollment shall receive Medicaid services under the 
current fee-for-service system. When enrollees no longer 
meet the criteria for exclusion, they shall be required to 
enroll in the appropriate managed care program. 

12VAC30-120-380. Medallion II MCO responsibilities. 

A. The MCO shall provide, at a minimum, all medically 
necessary covered services provided under the State Plan for 
Medical Assistance and further defined by written DMAS 
regulations, policies and instructions, except as otherwise 
modified or excluded in this part. 

1. Nonemergency services provided by hospital emergency 
departments shall be covered by MCOs in accordance with 
rates negotiated between the MCOs and the emergency 
departments. 

2. Services that shall be provided outside the MCO 
network shall include those services identified and defined 
by the contract between DMAS and the MCO. Services 
reimbursed by DMAS include dental and orthodontic 
services for children up to age 21; for all others, dental 
services (as described in 12VAC30-50-190), school health 
services (as defined in 12VAC30-120-360) and, 
community mental health services (rehabilitative, targeted 
case management and substance abuse services), and long-
term care services provided under the § 1915(c) home-
based and community-based waivers including related 
transportation to such authorized waiver services. 

3. The MCOs shall pay for emergency services and family 
planning services and supplies whether they are provided 
inside or outside the MCO network. 

B. EPSDT services shall be covered by the MCO. The MCO 
shall have the authority to determine the provider of service 
for EPSDT screenings. 

C. The MCOs shall report data to DMAS under the contract 
requirements, which may include data reports, report cards 
for clients, and ad hoc quality studies performed by the MCO 
or third parties. 

D. Documentation requirements. 

1. The MCO shall maintain records as required by federal 
and state law and regulation and by DMAS policy. The 
MCO shall furnish such required information to DMAS, 
the Attorney General of Virginia or his authorized 
representatives, or the State Medicaid Fraud Control Unit 
on request and in the form requested. 

2. Each MCO shall have written policies regarding enrollee 
rights and shall comply with any applicable federal and 
state laws that pertain to enrollee rights and shall ensure 
that its staff and affiliated providers take those rights into 
account when furnishing services to enrollees in 
accordance with 42 CFR 438.100. 

E. The MCO shall ensure that the health care provided to its 
clients meets all applicable federal and state mandates, 
community standards for quality, and standards developed 
pursuant to the DMAS managed care quality program. 

F. The MCOs shall promptly provide or arrange for the 
provision of all required services as specified in the contract 
between the state and the contractor. Medical evaluations 
shall be available within 48 hours for urgent care and within 
30 calendar days for routine care. On-call clinicians shall be 
available 24 hours per day, seven days per week. 

G. The MCOs must meet standards specified by DMAS for 
sufficiency of provider networks as specified in the contract 
between the state and the contractor. 

H. Each MCO and its subcontractors shall have in place, and 
follow, written policies and procedures for processing 
requests for initial and continuing authorizations of service. 
Each MCO and its subcontractors shall ensure that any 
decision to deny a service authorization request or to 
authorize a service in an amount, duration, or scope that is 
less than requested, be made by a health care professional 
who has appropriate clinical expertise in treating the 
enrollee's condition or disease. Each MCO and its 
subcontractors shall have in effect mechanisms to ensure 
consistent application of review criteria for authorization 
decisions and shall consult with the requesting provider when 
appropriate. 
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I. In accordance with 42 CFR 447.50 through 42 CFR 
447.60, MCOs shall not impose any cost sharing obligations 
on enrollees except as set forth in 12VAC30-20-150 and 
12VAC30-20-160. 

J. An MCO may not prohibit, or otherwise restrict, a health 
care professional acting within the lawful scope of practice, 
from advising or advocating on behalf of an enrollee who is 
his patient in accordance with 42 CFR 438.102. 

K. An MCO that would otherwise be required to reimburse 
for or provide coverage of a counseling or referral service is 
not required to do so if the MCO objects to the service on 
moral or religious grounds and furnishes information about 
the service it does not cover in accordance with 42 CFR 
438.102. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-729; Filed January 14, 2009, 10:51 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

VIRGINIA WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 16VAC30-90. Procedural 
Regulations for Filing First Reports Under the Virginia 
Workers' Compensation Act (repealing 16VAC30-90-10 
through 16VAC30-90-80). 

16VAC30-91. Claims Reporting (adding 16VAC30-91-10, 
16VAC30-91-20). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 65.2-201 and 65.2-900 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Matthew Bryant, Director, Technology 
Alignment Program, Virginia Workers' Compensation 
Commission, 1000 DMV Drive, Richmond, VA 23220, 
telephone (804) 367-2253, FAX (877) 366-5495, or email 
matthew.bryant@vwc.state.va.us. 

Summary: 

This action repeals 16VAC30-90 and promulgates 
16VAC30-91 to conform the electronic filing method for 
mandatory reports to the commission to the industry 
standard for such reports. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

CHAPTER 91  
CLAIMS REPORTING  

16VAC30-91-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Claims reports" means FROI and SROI reports concerning 
an injury filed by or on behalf of an insurer or self-insurer 
with the commission pursuant to the requirements set forth in 
the implementation guide. 

"Commission" means the Virginia Workers' Compensation 
Commission. 

"EDI" or "electronic data interchange" means the method 
used to exchange data electronically between the commission 
and those organizations submitting claims reports to the 
commission. 

"Filed electronically" means filed with the commission 
through EDI or through the Internet portal established by the 
commission for submission of claims reports, pursuant to the 
requirements set forth in the implementation guide. 

"First report of injury" or "FROI" means the initial claims 
report filed with the commission concerning an injury. 

"Implementation guide" means the Electronic Data 
Interchange (EDI) Implementation Guide, May 1, 2008 
Edition, which contains requirements published and updated 
by the commission to be followed when claims reports are 
filed electronically with the commission. 

"Insurer" means a company licensed to write workers' 
compensation coverage in Virginia. 

"Minor injury" means an injury that meets none of the 
following seven reporting criteria: 

1. Lost time or partial disability exceeding seven days. 

2. Medical expenses exceeding $1,000. 

3. Any denial of compensability. 

4. Any disputed issues. 

5. An accident that results in death. 

6. Any permanent disability or disfigurement. 

7. Any specific request made by the commission. 

"Self-insurer" means an entity providing workers' 
compensation coverage directly to its employees based on 
formal approval by either the Virginia Workers' 
Compensation Commission or the State Corporation 
Commission. 

"Subsequent report of injury" or "SROI" means a claims 
report filed with the commission after a FROI, which reports 
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medical or indemnity payment activity about an injury or a 
decision to deny or no longer make payment on an injury. 

16VAC30-91-20. Procedures for filing claims reports. 

A. By no later than July 1, 2009, all claims reports must be 
filed electronically with the commission. 

B. The commission shall publish an implementation guide 
describing the requirements to be followed when claims 
reports are filed electronically with the commission. Any 
changes or updates to the implementation guide shall be 
published by the commission on an annual basis on or about 
September 1. 

C. A FROI must be filed on all injuries in accordance with 
the implementation guide. 

D. SROI reports concerning denials, indemnity payments, 
medical payments, and suspensions must be filed on all 

injuries that do not meet the definition of a minor injury in 
accordance with the implementation guide. 

E. An injury that meets the definition of a minor injury may 
be reported as such to the commission on a FROI in 
accordance with the implementation guide. If an injury that is 
reported to the commission as being a minor injury 
subsequently fails to meet the definition of a minor injury, 
then an updated FROI on that injury, followed by required 
SROI reports, must be filed with the commission 
immediately, in accordance with the implementation guide. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are listed below. Any amended or added forms are 
reflected in the listing and are published following the listing. 

FORMS (16VAC30-91) 

First Report of Injury (rev. 5/1/08). 
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DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(16VAC30-91) 

Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) Implementation Guide, 
Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission, May 1, 2008 
Edition. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1094; Filed January 14, 2009, 11:53 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR WATERWORKS AND WASTEWATER 
WORKS OPERATORS AND ONSITE SEWAGE 

SYSTEM PROFESSIONALS 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC160-20. Board for Waterworks 
and Wastewater Works Operators Regulations (amending 
18VAC160-20-10, 18VAC160-20-90, 18VAC160-20-95, 
18VAC160-20-106, 18VAC160-20-109, 18VAC160-20-120 
through 18VAC160-20-150; repealing 18VAC160-20-85). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2301 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

April 15, 2009 - 10 a.m. - Department of Professional 
and Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd 
Floor, Richmond, VA 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
April 17, 2009. 

Agency Contact: David E. Dick, Executive Director, Board 
for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite 
Sewage System Professionals, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
400, Richmond, VA 23233-1485, telephone (804) 367-2648, 
FAX (804) 527-4297, or email 
waterwasteoper@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia states that the 
board has the power and duty "to promulgate regulations in 
accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 
et seq.) necessary to assure continued competency, to prevent 
deceptive or misleading practices by practitioners and to 
effectively administer the regulatory system administered by 
the regulatory board. The regulations shall not be in conflict 
with the purposes and intent of this chapter or of Chapters 1 
(§ 54.1-100 et seq.) and 3 (§ 54.1-300 et seq.) of this title." 

Section 54.1-2301 B of the Code of Virginia states that the 
board shall examine operators and issue licenses.  The 
licenses may be issued in specific operator classifications to 
attest to the competency of an operator to supervise and 
operate waterworks and wastewater works while protecting 

the public health, welfare and property and conserving and 
protecting the water resources of the Commonwealth. 

Purpose: The technology used to treat water and wastewater 
continues to evolve over time.  For this reason, the board 
decided that a thorough review of its existing regulations in 
light of current industry practice is necessary.  That need is 
best illustrated by the college degrees and degree programs 
designed to prepare students to work in the environmental 
protection field. Many, if not most, of these degree fields did 
not exist or were very new when the board last conducted a 
general review of its regulations. The same is true of the 
facility classification standards in the current regulations. A 
review will identify any necessary modifications to reflect 
current practice and assure operation by competent 
individuals. 

Substance: 18VAC160-20-10 is amended to clarify 
definitions that differentiate between waterworks and 
wastewater works licensees as well as expand on the 
definition of "structured training activity." 

18VAC160-20-85 is repealed because the time period 
affecting restricted Class VI waterworks licenses has expired. 

18VAC160-20-90 is amended to include all specific 
qualifications for licensure of both waterworks and 
wastewater works operators. The amendments replace Roman 
numerals with Arabic numerals, specify the requirements for 
experience verification, expand education to included 
master’s degrees as well as related science degrees, and 
modify the experience and experience substitution 
requirements. 

18VAC160-20-95 is amended to emphasize that only 
nonclassified facility operation experience is applicable to 
provisional licensure. 

18VAC160-20-106 is amended to specify that the regulant’s 
act of submitting to renew a license is the equivalent of an 
implied declaration that he has already fulfilled the board’s 
continued professional education (CPE) requirement. 

18VAC160-20-109 is amended to include CPE for all regular 
and provisional licensed facility operators. The amendments 
also specify that CPE must be appropriate to the license held 
and safety subjects may not count for more than one-half of 
the CPE requirement. The amendments extend the amount of 
time a regulant is required to maintain CPE completion 
records, eliminate the possibility of using the same CPE 
course for credit more than once during a license cycle, and 
provide CPE credit for course instructors. 

18VAC160-20-120 is amended to replace Roman numerals 
with Arabic numerals and to specify the particular type of 
waterworks facilities that may be operated by a Class 1 
waterworks licensee. 

18VAC160-20-130 is amended to replace Roman numerals 
with Arabic numerals and to specify the particular type of 
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wastewater works facilities that may be operated by a Class 1 
wastewater works licensee. 

18VAC160-20-140 is amended to clarify the scope of the 
board’s disciplinary authority over fraudulent attempts to 
obtain or renew a license. 

18VAC160-20-150 is amended to replace Roman numerals 
with Arabic numerals, remove self-assessment as a course 
completion requirement, and specify that other assessment 
techniques must be similar to the aforementioned assessment 
techniques within the section. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is the assurance 
that, as the relevant technology continues to advance, 
waterworks and wastewater works facilities in Virginia will 
continue to be operated by individuals whose education and 
experience includes the relevant changes in technology. 
These changes are best illustrated by the need for some $1.4 
billion in upgrades to approximately 120 wastewater facilities 
located in the Chesapeake Bay Watershed to meet EPA water 
quality improvement standards. Therefore, minimally 
competent individuals will continue to operate those facilities 
assuring the continued protection of the health and welfare of 
the citizens of the Commonwealth. 

The primary advantage to the Commonwealth will be the 
continued successful regulation of competent and licensed 
individuals operating waterworks and wastewater works 
facilities throughout Virginia. No disadvantage has been 
identified. 

The proposed amendments allow applicants to meet the 
licensing educational requirements with degrees in specific as 
well as related science fields pertinent to the waterworks and 
wastewater works industry. This may expand the scope of 
potential applicants while simultaneously ensuring competent 
applicants and licensees. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and 
Onsite Sewage System Professionals (Board) propose to: 1) 
add continuing professional education (CPE) as a requirement 
for wastewater works operator license renewal; 2) limit safety 
subjects to at most half of qualifying CPE (for both 
waterworks operator licenses and wastewater works operator 
licenses); 3) allow the teaching of CPE courses to apply 
toward CPE credit; 4) allow the development of CPE courses 
to apply toward CPE credit; 5) add distance learning to the 
definition of “Structured training activity"; 6) repeal obsolete, 
repetitive, and contradictory language; and 7) make clarifying 
changes. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. In order to comply with U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) requirements 
waterworks operators have been required to complete CPE 
via these regulations since 2001. According to the 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 
(DPOR), since 2001 it has been anticipated that EPA would 
make the same requirement for wastewater works operators. 
EPA has yet to do so. 

Nevertheless, the technology associated with wastewater 
management has been advancing and is expected to continue 
to advance at a rapid pace. According to DPOR, $1.4 billion 
dollars in upgrades to approximately 120 wastewater facilities 
located in the Chesapeake Bay Watershed are now needed to 
meet EPA water quality improvement standards. Wastewater 
works operator license holders will need additional training in 
order to assure continuing operator competency to operate the 
new technology and, thereby, protect the Chesapeake Bay 
Watershed and the public. Not all of Virginia is in the 
Chesapeake Bay Watershed, but wastewater works in other 
parts of the Commonwealth will likely upgrade their 
technology as well eventually, even if it is not as soon as in 
the Chesapeake Bay Watershed. Thus, the Board proposes to 
require that wastewater works operators complete CPE during 
each two-year renewal cycle in order to renew their license. 

For each class of licensure, the proposed required amount of 
CPE per two-year renewal cycle is the same for both 
waterworks operators and wastewater works operators: 16 
contact hours for Class 4, and 20 contact hours for Classes 1, 
2, and 3. DPOR states that waterworks and wastewater 
facilities may conduct and document their own CPE training 
to meet the needs of their facility, and that training can apply 
toward the CPE contact hours required for license renewal. 
The agency also reports that for licensees taking outside CPE 
"The typical cost of continuing education is from $30 to $90 
per contact hour." This works out to $480 to $1,440 for Class 
4 licenses, and $600 to $1,800 for Classes 1, 2, and 3. The 
potential consequences of not requiring CPE for wastewater 
works operators include the contamination of public and 
private waters through inadequate work due to ignorance of 
proper procedures in use of new technology.  A significant 
portion of wastewater works operators would likely keep up 
with the necessary knowledge to competently practice 
without the CPE requirement. The proposed requirement for 
CPE will likely increase that portion though. The increase in 
number of licensees who remain competent and the increase 
in depth of relevant knowledge for those who would have 
been competent anyway is not known; but the benefits from 
the reduced risk to water quality likely exceeds the costs. 

The Board also proposes to limit safety-themed subjects to at 
most half of qualifying CPE (for both waterworks operator 
licenses and wastewater works operator licenses). The 
apparent reasoning is that there has been and should remain a 
significant emphasis on the important subject of safety, but 
that other areas that are necessary for competent practice may 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations February 2, 2009 

1957 

be overlooked if CPE is dominated by safety instruction. To 
the extent that this proposal encourages greater education in 
advancements in non-safety areas of waterworks and 
wastewater works operations without compromising safety, 
this proposal should create a net benefit. 

Though the Board proposes to limit the amount of safety-
themed qualifying CPE, it also proposes three additional 
methods of obtaining qualifying CPE: distance learning, the 
development of license-relevant CPE courses, and the 
teaching of license-relevant CPE courses. Currently Internet-
based courses and other methods of distance learning are not 
accepted for CPE credit. Under the proposed regulations 
distance learning can qualify for CPE credit as long as it is 
determined that it meets all other CPE criteria. This proposed 
change is clearly beneficial in that it has the potential to 
reduce travel and time costs for licensees, and may allow 
relatively isolated licensees greater opportunity to take 
relevant courses. Developing a course and teaching a class 
both involve adding depth of understanding. Given that CPE 
courses developed and/or taught must be pertinent to the 
license in question to qualify for CPE credit, developing and 
teaching these courses add depth of knowledge in license-
relevant topics. Thus, giving CPE credit for developing and 
teaching these courses increases knowledge relevant for 
protecting the public and the proposal creates net benefit. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
affect the 2,583 licensed wastewater works operators in the 
Commonwealth,1 wastewater works facilities, colleges that 
offer instruction relevant to waterworks and wastewater 
works operations, and the public. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal to require 
CPE for wastewater works operator license renewal may 
moderately increase employment for providers of such 
instruction. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the 
use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. As most 
waterworks operator licensees and wastewater works operator 
licensees work for public entities, and most license-relevant 
CPE courses are provided by public entities, the proposed 
amendments are unlikely to significantly affect small 
businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. As most waterworks operator licensees and 
wastewater works operator licensees work for public entities, 
and most license-relevant CPE courses are provided by public 
entities, the proposed amendments are unlikely to 
significantly affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect real estate development 
costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

_____________________ 
1 Data Source: Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The agency agrees with 
the Department of Planning and Budget’s economic impact 
analysis. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) add continuing professional 
education (CPE) as a requirement for wastewater works 
operator license renewal; (ii) specify that safety subjects 
may not count for more than one-half of the CPE 
requirement for both waterworks operator licenses and 
wastewater works operator licenses; (iii) allow the 
development and teaching of CPE courses to apply toward 
CPE credit; (iv) clarify the scope of the board’s 
disciplinary authority over fraudulent attempts to obtain or 
renew a license; (v) delineate the types of waterworks and 
wastewater works facilities that may be operated by a 
Class 1 license holder; (vi) add distance learning to the 
definition of "structured training activity"; (vii) repeal the 
restricted Class VI waterworks license provisions; and 
(viii) make other changes for consistency and clarification 
purposes. 
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Part I  
Definitions, Licensing and Classification Requirements  

18VAC160-20-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Board" means the Board for Waterworks and Wastewater 
Works Operators and Onsite Sewage System Professionals. 

"Category" means the two divisions of waterworks and 
wastewater works operators' licenses, one being waterworks 
and the second being wastewater works.  

"Classification" means the divisions of within each category 
of waterworks and wastewater works operators' licenses into 
classes where Class "I" "1" represents the highest 
classification.  

"Classified facility" means a waterworks that has been 
granted a classification by the Virginia Department of Health 
or a wastewater works that has been granted a classification 
by the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality. 

"Contact hour" means 50 minutes of participation in a 
structured training activity.  

"Continuing Professional Education (CPE)" means 
participation in a structured training activity that enables a 
licensed waterworks operator licensee to maintain and 
increase the competence required to assure the public's 
protection. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation. 

"Experience" means time spent learning how to physically 
and theoretically operate the waterworks or wastewater works 
as an operator-in-training or time spent operating a 
waterworks or wastewater works for which the operator is 
currently licensed. 

"Licensed operator" means an operator with a license in the 
category and with a classification equal to or higher than the 
classification of the waterworks or wastewater works being 
operated. 

"Licensee" means an individual holding a valid license 
issued by the board. 

"Licensure" means a method of regulation whereby the 
Commonwealth, through the issuance of a license, authorizes 
a person possessing the character and minimum skills to 
engage in the practice of a profession or occupation that is 
unlawful to practice without a license. 

"Nonclassified facility" means a facility located in Virginia 
that has not been classified by the Virginia Department of 
Health or a facility that has not been classified by the Virginia 
Department of Environmental Quality. 

"Operate" means any act of an individual, which that may 
impact on the finished water quality at a waterworks or the 
plant effluent at a wastewater works. 

"Operating staff" means individuals employed or appointed 
by an owner to work at a waterworks or wastewater works. 

"Operator" means any individual employed or appointed by 
any owner, and who is designated by such owner to be the 
person in responsible charge, such as a supervisor, a shift 
operator, or a substitute in charge, and whose duties include 
testing or evaluation to control waterworks or wastewater 
works operations. Not included in this definition are 
superintendents or directors of public works, city engineers, 
or other municipal or industrial officials whose duties do not 
include the actual operation or direct supervision of 
waterworks or wastewater works. 

"Operator-in-training" means an individual employed by an 
owner to work under the direct supervision and direction of 
an operator holding a valid license in the proper category and 
classification for the purpose of gaining experience and 
knowledge in the duties and responsibilities of an operator of 
a waterworks or wastewater works. An operator-in-training is 
not an operator. 

"Owner" means the Commonwealth of Virginia, or any 
political subdivision thereof, any public or private institution, 
corporation, association, or any other entity organized or 
existing under the laws of this Commonwealth or of any other 
state or nation, or any person or group of persons acting 
individually or as a group, who own, manage, or maintain 
waterworks or wastewater works.  

"Provisional licensee" means an individual holding a valid 
provisional license issued by the board. 

"Provisional licensure" or "provisional license" means a 
method of regulation whereby the Commonwealth recognizes 
an individual as having met specific standards but who is not 
authorized to operate a classified facility until he has met the 
remaining requirements for licensure and has been issued a 
license. 

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license 
for another period of time. 

"Responsible charge" means the designation by the owner of 
any individual to have the duty and the authority to operate a 
waterworks or wastewater works. 

"Structured training activity" means a formal educational 
process designed to permit a participant to learn a given 
subject or subjects through interaction with an instructor in a 
course, seminar, conference, distance learning, or other 
performance-oriented format. 

"Wastewater works" means a system of (i) sewerage 
systems or sewage treatment works serving more than 400 
persons, as set forth in § 62.1-44.18 of the Code of Virginia; 
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(ii) sewerage systems or sewage treatment works serving 
fewer than 400 persons, as set forth in § 62.1-44.18 of the 
Code of Virginia, if so certified by the State Water Control 
Board; and (iii) facilities for discharge into state waters of 
industrial wastes or other wastes, if certified by the State 
Water Control Board. 

"Waterworks" means a system that serves piped water for 
drinking or domestic use to (i) at least 15 connections or (ii) 
at least 25 of the same individuals for more than six months 
out of the year. The term waterworks shall include all 
structures, equipment, and appurtenances used in the storage, 
collection, purification, treatment and distribution of pure 
water, except the piping and fixtures inside the building 
where such water is delivered.  

18VAC160-20-85. Restricted License of Class VI 
Waterworks. (Repealed.) 

A. The board shall issue a restricted license to operate a 
Class VI waterworks to the Class VI waterworks owner or the 
Class VI waterworks owner's designee upon application for 
such restricted license by the waterworks owner or his 
designee and provided said application is received by 
February 15, 2003. Waterworks owners or their designees 
who fail to apply by February 15, 2003, must apply for a 
license pursuant to 18VAC160-20-90. A restricted license 
shall be limited to one license per Class VI waterworks 
facility. The restricted license is site specific and 
nontransferable. The restricted license expires three years 
from the date of issuance and is not subject to renewal.  

B. Each applicant for a restricted license to operate a Class 
VI waterworks shall apply on the application form provided 
by the board which establishes that the applicant:  

1. Is at least 18 years of age;  

2. Has a high school diploma or G.E.D. and six months 
experience, or has no high school diploma or G.E.D. and 
has 12 months experience;  

3. Is the current operator of a specific Class VI system and 
does not hold a waterworks license issued by the board; 
and  

4. Understands that the restricted Class VI license that may 
be issued becomes invalid if he leaves the facility for 
which the license is sought or is issued a waterworks 
operator license in any other class.  

18VAC160-20-90. Licensure by experience and 
examination Qualifications for licensure – waterworks 
operator and wastewater works operator. 

A. Licensure is based upon having applicable experience 
and demonstrating minimum required knowledge, skills, and 
abilities through an examination. Education, training, and 
experience in the other category may be substituted for the 
required experience as specified in this section.  

A. B. Experience. For purposes of this chapter, experience 
requirements are expressed in terms of calendar periods of 
full-time employment as an operator or as an operator-in-
training at a waterworks or wastewater works in the same 
category as the license being applied for. All experience 
claimed on the application for licensure must be certified by 
the individual's immediate supervisor.  

1. A year of full-time employment is defined as a 
minimum of 1,760 hours during a 12-month period or a 
minimum of 220 workdays in a 12-month period. A 
workday is defined as attendance at a waterworks or 
wastewater works to the extent required for proper 
operation. More than 1,760 hours or 220 work days during 
a 12-month period will not be considered as more than one 
year of full-time employment. 

2. Experience gained as an operator-in-training must be 
obtained under the direct supervision of an operator 
holding a valid license of the same category and of a 
classification equal to or higher than the classification of 
the waterworks or wastewater works at which the 
experience is gained. The supervising operator direct 
supervisor shall certify the experience on the application 
form as accurate and relevant to the classification and 
category of license for which the application is being 
submitted. In the event that a licensed operator is not 
available to certify the experience on the application, the 
experience may be certified by a representative of the 
facility owner, as defined in 18VAC160-20-10, with first-
hand knowledge of the applicant's experience. 

3. Partial credit may be given for actual hours of work or 
workdays experience if the applicant works as an operator 
or as an operator-in-training less than full time.  

4. Experience solely limited to the operation and 
maintenance of wastewater collection systems and water 
distribution systems, laboratory work, plant maintenance, 
and other nonoperating duties shall not be counted as 
experience as an operator or as an operator-in-training.  

5. Experience limited to water distribution system 
operation and maintenance shall be considered only when 
applying for a Class V 5 or Class VI 6 waterworks operator 
license.  

B. C. Specific requirements for licenses.  

1. Specific requirements for a Class VI 6 license. 
Applicants for licensure as a Class VI 6 waterworks 
operator shall meet one of the following requirements and 
pass a board-approved Class 6 examination:  

a. Have (i) a high school diploma or GED and (ii) at least 
six months of experience as an operator-in-training in a 
Class VI 6, Class V 5, Class IV 4, Class III 3, Class II 2, 
or Class I 1 waterworks; or  
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b. Have (i) no high school diploma and (ii) at least one 
year of experience as an operator-in-training in a Class 
VI 6, Class V 5, Class IV 4, Class III 3, Class II 2, or 
Class I 1 waterworks.  

2. Specific requirements for a Class V 5 license. 
Applicants for licensure as a Class V 5 waterworks 
operator shall meet one of the following requirements and 
pass a board-approved Class 5 examination:  

a. Have (i) a high school diploma or GED and (ii) at least 
six months of experience as an operator-in-training in a 
Class V 5, Class IV 4, Class III 3, Class II 2, or Class I 1 
waterworks; or  

b. Have (i) no high school diploma and (ii) at least one 
year of experience as an operator-in-training in a Class V 
5, Class IV 4, Class III 3, Class II 2, or Class I 1 
waterworks.  

3. Specific requirements for a Class IV 4 license. 
Applicants for licensure as either a Class IV 4 waterworks 
or wastewater works operator shall meet one of the 
following requirements and pass a the appropriate board-
approved Class 4 examination:  

a. Have (i) a high school diploma or GED and (ii) at least 
six months of experience as an operator-in-training in a 
Class IV 4, Class III 3, Class II 2, or Class I 1 
waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate); or  

b. Have (i) no high school diploma and (ii) at least one 
year of experience as an operator-in-training in a Class 
IV 4, Class III 3, Class II 2, or Class I 1 waterworks or 
wastewater works (as appropriate).  

4. Specific requirements for a Class III 3 license. 
Applicants for licensure as either a Class III 3 waterworks 
or wastewater works operator shall meet one of the 
following requirements and pass a the appropriate board-
approved Class 3 examination:  

a. Have (i) a bachelor's or master's degree with a major in 
engineering or, engineering technology, or in a related 
physical, biological, environmental, or chemical science; 
and (ii) at least one year of experience as an operator-in-
training in a Class IV 4, Class III 3, Class II 2, or Class I 
1 waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate); or  

b. Have (i) a bachelor's degree in engineering or 
engineering technology, or in physical, biological or 
chemical science; (ii) a Class IV license; and (iii) a total 
of at least one year of experience as an operator or 
operator-in-training in a Class IV waterworks or 
wastewater works (as appropriate) or as an operator-in-
training in a Class III, Class II, or Class I waterworks or 
wastewater works (as appropriate); or  

c. b. Have (i) a high school diploma or GED and (ii) at 
least two years of experience as an operator-in-training in 

a Class IV 4, Class III 3, Class II 2, or Class I 1 
waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate); or  

d. Have (i) a high school diploma or GED, (ii) a Class IV 
license, and (iii) a total of at least two years of experience 
as an operator or operator-in-training in a Class IV 
waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate) or as an 
operator-in-training in a Class III, Class II, or Class I 
waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate); or  

e. c. Have (i) no high school diploma, (ii) a Class IV 4 
license, and (iii) a total of at least four years of 
experience as an operator or operator-in-training in a 
Class IV 4 waterworks or wastewater works (as 
appropriate) or as an operator-in-training in a Class III 3, 
Class II 2, or Class I 1 waterworks or wastewater works 
(as appropriate).  

5. Specific requirements for a Class II 2 license. Applicants 
for licensure as either a Class II 2 waterworks or 
wastewater works operator shall meet one of the following 
requirements and pass a the appropriate board-approved 
Class 2 examination:  

a. Have (i) a bachelor's or master's degree with a major in 
engineering or, engineering technology, or in a related 
physical, biological, environmental, or chemical science; 
and (ii) a total of at least 1-1/2 years 18 months of 
experience, of which at least six nine months without 
substitutions shall be as an operator-in-training in a Class 
III 3, Class II 2 or Class I 1 waterworks or wastewater 
works (as appropriate); or  

b. Have (i) a bachelor's degree in engineering or 
engineering technology, or in physical, biological or 
chemical science; (ii) a Class IV license; and (iii) a total 
of at least 1-1/2 years of experience, of which at least six 
months without substitutions shall be as an operator-in-
training in a Class III, Class II or Class I waterworks or 
wastewater works (as appropriate); or  

c. Have (i) a bachelor's degree in engineering or 
engineering technology, or in physical, biological or 
chemical science; (ii) a Class III license; and (iii) a total 
of at least 1-1/2 years of experience, of which at least six 
months, without substitutions shall be as an operator or 
operator-in-training in a Class III waterworks or 
wastewater works (as appropriate) or as an operator-in-
training in a Class II or Class I waterworks or wastewater 
works (as appropriate); or  

d. b. Have (i) a high school diploma or GED, (ii) a Class 
III 3 license, and (iii) a total of at least four three years of 
experience of which at least two years 18 months without 
substitutions shall be as an operator or operator-in-
training in a Class III 3 waterworks or wastewater works 
(as appropriate) or as an operator-in-training in a Class II 
2 or Class I 1 waterworks or wastewater works (as 
appropriate); or  
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e. c. Have (i) no high school diploma, (ii) a Class III 3 
license, and (iii) a total of at least seven six years of 
experience of which at least three years without 
substitutions shall be as an operator or operator-in-
training in a Class III 3 waterworks or wastewater works 
(as appropriate) or as an operator-in-training in a Class II 
2 or Class I 1 waterworks or wastewater works (as 
appropriate).  

6. Specific requirements for a Class I 1 license. Applicants 
for licensure as either a Class I 1 waterworks or wastewater 
works operator shall meet one of the following 
requirements and pass a the appropriate board-approved 
Class 1 examination:  

a. Have (i) a bachelor's or master's degree with a major in 
engineering or engineering technology, or in a related 
physical, biological, environmental, or chemical science; 
(ii) a Class II 2 license; and (iii) a total of at least 2-1/2 
years of experience, of which at least one year 15 months 
without substitutions shall be as an operator or operator-
in-training in a Class II 2 waterworks or wastewater 
works (as appropriate) or as an operator-in-training in a 
Class I 1 waterworks or wastewater works (as 
appropriate); or 

b. Have (i) a high school diploma or GED, (ii) a Class II 
2 license and (iii) a total of at least six five years of 
experience of which at least two years 30 months without 
substitutions shall be as an operator or operator-in-
training in a Class II 2 waterworks or wastewater works 
(as appropriate) or as an operator-in-training in a Class I 
1 waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate); or  

c. Have (i) no high school diploma, (ii) a Class II 2 
license, and (iii) a total of at least 10 years of experience 
of which at least three five years without substitutions 
shall be as an operator or operator-in-training in a Class 
II 2 waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate) or 
as an operator-in-training in a Class I 1 waterworks or 
wastewater works (as appropriate). 

C. Substitutions for required experience. For the purpose of 
meeting the experience requirements for Class III 3, Class II 
2, and Class I 1 licenses, experience in the other category, 
relevant training in waterworks and wastewater works 
operation, and formal education may be substituted for actual 
hands-on experience in the category being applied for.  

1. Category experience substitution. One half of the actual 
experience gained in the other category may be substituted 
for required experience in the category of the license being 
applied for.  

2. Education substitution. Education may be substituted for 
part of the required experience in the category of the 
license being applied for, subject to the following 
limitations:  

a. Education used to meet the educational requirements 
for any class of license may not be substituted for 
experience.  

b. Formal education courses at a post-secondary level in 
a related physical, biological or, environmental, or 
chemical science; engineering or engineering technology; 
waterworks or wastewater works operation; or public 
health may be substituted for part of the required 
experience. 

(1) All education substituted for experience must be 
relevant to the category and classification of the license 
being applied for.  

(2) Education may be substituted for experience at a rate 
of up to one month experience for each semester hour of 
college credit approved by the board. One quarter hour of 
college credit will be considered equal to two thirds of a 
semester hour. 

(3) Substitution of formal education experience will be 
approved by the board only for applicants who submit a 
transcript from the institution where the course was 
taken.  

c. Training substitution. Waterworks or wastewater 
works operator training courses, seminars, workshops, or 
similar training, specifically approved by the board, may 
be substituted for part of the required experience.  

(1) All training substituted for experience must be 
relevant to the category and classification of the license 
being applied for. 

(2) Training may be substituted for experience at a rate of 
one month experience for each training credit approved 
by the board. Up to one training credit is awarded for 
each 10 hours of classroom contact time or for each 20 
hours of laboratory exercise and field trip contact time. 
No credit towards training credits is granted for breaks, 
meals, receptions, and time other than classroom, 
laboratory and field trip contact time.  

(3) All courses used for substitution must be approved by 
utilizing the criteria set forth in Part VI (18VAC160-20-
160) (18VAC160-20-150) of this chapter.  

(4) Substitution of training for experience will be 
approved by the board only for applicants who submit a 
copy of an appropriate certificate identifying the subject 
matter of the course and the training credit value, and 
signed by a representative of the organization sponsoring 
the training.  

3. Limitations on substitution.  

a. Under no circumstances shall category experience, 
education, and training substitutions exceed 50% of the 
total experience required under this subsection B of this 
section.  
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b. No category experience, education, or training 
substitutions are permitted for the experience required to 
obtain a Class VI 6, Class V 5 or a Class IV 4 license as 
specified in subsection B of this section. 

D. Examination. A board-approved examination shall be 
administered by the board or by an examination vendor 
approved by the board.  

1. Each individual applying to sit for the examination shall 
satisfy the experience standards established in this section 
before being approved to sit for the examination. 
Individuals approved to sit for the examination shall be 
provided with written instructions for examination 
registration.  

2. Examinees will be given specific instructions as to the 
conduct of the examination at the examination site. 
Examinees shall follow these instructions during the course 
of the examination. Misconduct may result in removal 
from the examination site, voided examination scores, the 
denial of the application or any combination of the 
foregoing.  

3. Upon submission of an application for reexamination 
and payment of the fee established in 18VAC160-20-102, 
an applicant who is unsuccessful in passing the 
examination shall be allowed to retake the examination an 
unlimited number of times within one year after the date 
the application to sit for the examination was approved. If 
the one-year period elapses, then the applicant shall submit 
a new application to sit for the examination establishing 
that he meets the then-current requirements of this chapter 
and the fee established in 18VAC160-20-102.  

4. Each application for reexamination shall be 
accompanied by the fee established in 18VAC160-20-102.  

E. Licensure. Individuals who have passed the board-
approved examination shall apply for licensure and shall 
satisfy the application requirements established in 
18VAC160-20-76.  

18VAC160-20-95. Provisional licensure – nonclassified 
facility operation experience only. 

A. Each person desiring provisional licensure shall make 
application in accordance with 18VAC160-20-76 and shall 
meet all of the requirements of 18VAC160-20-90 except that 
the experience requirement may be met through experience 
gained as an operator of a nonclassified facility provided that:  

1. The experience is obtained at a nonclassified facility that 
is comparable in size and in the treatment processes used to 
those facilities described in 18VAC160-20-120 in the case 
of waterworks or to those facilities described in 
18VAC160-20-130 in the case of wastewater works. 

2. The experience is obtained while performing actual 
nonclassified facility operation duties that provide 

experience comparable to that obtained at a classified 
facility. Experience limited solely to the operation and 
maintenance of wastewater collection systems and water 
distribution systems, laboratory work, plant maintenance 
and other nonoperating duties shall not be counted as 
qualifying experience. Except that experience limited to 
water distribution system operation and maintenance at a 
nonclassified facility that is comparable to a facility 
classified as a Class V or Class VI waterworks may be 
counted for a provisional Class V or Class VI license for 
Class 1, Class 2, Class 3, or Class 4 provisional licenses 
but may be counted for a provisional Class 5 or Class 6 
license. 

B. Each applicant meeting the requirements of subsection A 
of this section shall be eligible to sit for the operator 
examination for the category and class of operator license that 
is comparable to the nonclassified facility where the 
experience was obtained. The provisional license shall not be 
issued until all applicable requirements have been met and 
satisfactorily verified. 

C. Each individual holding provisional licensure may apply 
for licensure by submitting evidence of having met 50% of 
the experience required by 18VAC160-20-90. 

Part III  
Renewal  

18VAC160-20-106. Renewal. 

A. Licenses and provisional licenses for waterworks 
operators shall expire on the last day of February of each odd-
numbered year. Licenses and provisional licenses for 
wastewater works operators shall expire on the last day of 
February of each even-numbered year. 

B. The Department of Professional and Occupational 
Regulation shall mail a renewal notice to the licensee and the 
provisional licensee outlining the procedures for renewal. 
Renewal notices shall be mailed to the licensee and to the 
provisional licensee at the last known address of record. 
Failure to receive written notice shall not relieve the licensee 
or the provisional licensee of the obligation to renew and pay 
the required fee outlined in 18VAC160-20-102. 

C. Each licensee and provisional licensee applying for 
renewal shall return the renewal notice, and fee, and, in the 
case of waterworks licensees and provisional licensees only, a 
statement that the applicant for license renewal has met the 
CPE requirement established in 18VAC160-20-109 prior to 
the expiration date shown on the license. If the licensee or 
provisional licensee fails to receive the renewal notice, a copy 
of the expired license or provisional license may be submitted 
in place of the renewal notice along with the required fee and, 
in the case of waterworks licensees and provisional licensees 
only, a statement that the licensee or provisional licensee has 
met the CPE requirement in 18VAC160-20-109. 
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D. By submitting the renewal fee, an applicant for renewal is 
certifying continued compliance with this chapter and 
compliance with the continuing professional education 
requirements of this chapter. 

E. The date on which the renewal fee and any required 
forms are actually received by the board or its agent shall 
determine whether an additional fee is due. 

E. F. If the requirements of subsection C of this section are 
met more than 30 days but less than 12 months after the 
expiration date on the license or provisional license, a late 
penalty fee shall be required as established in 18VAC160-20-
102. The date on which the renewal application, any required 
documentation and the required fees are actually received by 
the board or its agent shall determine whether the licensee or 
provisional licensee is eligible for renewal and whether an 
additional fee is due. 

F. G. Any individual who fails to renew his license or 
provisional license within 12 months after the expiration date 
printed on the license or the provisional license, as 
appropriate, shall apply for a new license by examination or 
for a new provisional license in accordance with Part II 
(18VAC160-20-74 et seq.) of this chapter. Such individual 
shall be deemed to be eligible to sit for the examination for 
the same category and class of license as the expired license 
or provisional license. 

G. H. The board may deny renewal of a license or 
provisional license for the same reasons as it may refuse 
initial licensure or provisional licensure or discipline a 
licensee or provisional licensee. 

18VAC160-20-109. Waterworks operator Operator 
continuing profession professional education (CPE).  

A. Each licensed and provisionally licensed waterworks 
operator licensee and provisional licensee shall have 
completed the following number of CPE contact hours 
required for his class of license during each renewal cycle:  

1. Class I 1, II 2, and III 3 waterworks and wastewater 
works operators shall obtain a minimum of 20 contact 
hours during each license renewal cycle.  

2. Class IV 4 waterworks and wastewater works operators 
shall obtain a minimum of 16 contact hours during each 
license renewal cycle.  

3. Class V 5 waterworks operators shall obtain a minimum 
of eight contact hours during each license renewal cycle.  

4. Class VI 6 waterworks operators shall obtain a minimum 
of four contact hours during each license renewal cycle.  

CPE provisions do not apply for the renewal of licenses or 
provisional licenses that were held for less than two years on 
the date of expiration. 

B. The subject matter addressed during CPE contact hours 
shall be limited to the content areas covered by the board's 
examination appropriate to the license held. Safety subjects 
shall not count for more than one-half of the total CPE 
required content hours for waterworks operators and for 
wastewater works operators. 

C. Any course approved by the board for substitution as 
training credits or formal education semester hours, as 
provided for in 18VAC160-20-160 18VAC160-20-150, shall 
also be acceptable on an hour-for-hour basis for CPE contact 
hours. One semester hour of college credit shall equal 15 CPE 
contact hours, and one quarter hour of college credit shall 
equal 10 CPE credit hours.  

D. The following evidence shall be maintained to document 
completion of the hours of CPE specified in subsection A of 
this section:  

1. Evidence of completion of a structured training activity 
which shall consist of the name, address and telephone 
number of the sponsor;  

2. The dates the applicant participated in the training;  

3. Descriptive material of the subject matter presented; and  

4. A statement from the sponsor verifying the number of 
hours completed.  

E. Each licensee and provisional licensee shall maintain 
evidence of the satisfactory completion of CPE for a period of 
at least one year two years following the end of the license 
renewal cycle for which the CPE was taken. Such 
documentation shall be in the form required by subsection D 
of this section and shall be provided to the board or its duly 
authorized agents upon request.  

F. The licensee or provisional licensee shall not receive CPE 
credit for the same training course or structured training 
activity more than once during a single license renewal cycle 
to meet the CPE requirement unless the same training course 
or structured training activity is an annual requirement 
established by Virginia or federal regulations. 

G. The licensee or provisional licensee may receive CPE 
credit for a training course or structured training activity 
which has been mandated by Virginia or federal regulation 
towards fulfilling the CPE requirement.  

H. CPE instructors who hold a license issued by the board 
may receive CPE credit for the time spent actually instructing 
subject matter that is pertinent to their license.  CPE credit 
shall not be allowed for instructing the same subject matter 
more than once during a single renewal cycle. 

I. CPE instructors who hold a license issued by the board 
may be granted two additional hours of CPE credit for the 
initial development of or the substantial updating of a CPE 
activity that is pertinent to the license held for each hour spent 
delivering the initial presentation.  CPE credit for the initial 
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development or the substantial updating of a specific CPE 
activity shall be granted no more than once during a single 
renewal cycle. 

H. J. The licensee or provisional licensee may petition the 
board for additional time to meet the CPE requirement. 
However, CPE hours earned during a license renewal cycle to 
satisfy the CPE requirement of the preceding license renewal 
cycle shall be valid only for that preceding license renewal 
cycle.  

Part IV  
Classification Requirements  

18VAC160-20-120. Waterworks.  

A. A Class VI 6 waterworks licensee may operate any 
waterworks as follows:  

1. A waterworks providing no treatment and serving fewer 
than 400 persons; or  

2. A waterworks classified by the Virginia Department of 
Health as a Class VI 6 waterworks.  

B. A Class V 5 waterworks licensee may operate any 
waterworks as follows:  

1. A waterworks serving 400 or more persons which (i) 
provides no treatment or (ii) employs hypochlorination for 
disinfection; or  

2. A waterworks classified by the Virginia Department of 
Health as either a Class V 5 or Class VI 6 waterworks.  

C. A Class IV 4 waterworks licensee may operate any 
waterworks as follows:  

1. A waterworks serving fewer than 5,000 persons or 
having a design hydraulic capacity of less than 0.5 MGD, 
employing one or more of the following (i) disinfection 
other than with hypochlorination, (ii) corrosion control, 
(iii) iron and manganese removal, (iv) ion exchange, (v) 
membrane technology without pretreatment, (vi) slow sand 
filtration, (vii) aeration, (viii) rechlorination other than 
with hypochlorination, or (ix) activated carbon contactors; 
or  

2. A waterworks classified by the Virginia Department of 
Health as either a Class IV, V, or VI 4, 5, or 6 waterworks.  

D. A Class III 3 waterworks licensee may operate any 
waterworks as follows:  

1. A waterworks serving fewer than 5,000 persons or 
having a design capacity less than 0.5 MGD, employing 
chemical coagulation or lime softening in combination 
with one or more of the following (i) sedimentation, (ii) 
rapid sand filtration with a filtration rate of 2 gpm/square 
foot or less, (iii) fluoridation, (iv) disinfection, (v) aeration, 
(vi) corrosion control, or (vii) membrane technologies;  

2. A waterworks serving 5,000 or more persons or having a 
design hydraulic capacity of 0.5 MGD, employing one or 
more of the following; (i) disinfection other than with 
hypochlorination, (ii) corrosion control, (iii) iron and 
manganese removal, (iv) ion exchange, (v) membrane 
technology without pretreatment, (vi) slow sand filtration, 
(vii) aeration, (viii) rechlorination other than with 
hypochlorination, or (ix) activated carbon contactors;  

3. A waterworks employing (i) membrane technology 
requiring pretreatment consisting of pH adjustment; or (ii) 
diatomaceous earth filtration, coupled with aeration, 
corrosion control, disinfection, or fluoridation;  

4. A waterworks employing fluoridation which is not under 
a higher classification; or  

5. A waterworks classified by the Virginia Department of 
Health as either a Class III, IV, V or VI 3, 4, 5, or 6 
waterworks.  

E. A Class II 2 waterworks licensee may operate any 
waterworks as follows:  

1. A waterworks serving 5,000 or more persons but fewer 
than 50,000 persons or having a design hydraulic capacity 
of 0.5 MGD or more but less than 5.0 MGD employing 
chemical coagulation or lime softening in combination 
with one or more of the following; (i) sedimentation, (ii) 
rapid sand filtration, (iii) fluoridation, (iv) disinfection, (v) 
aeration, (vi) corrosion control, or (vii) membrane 
technologies;  

2. A waterworks serving fewer than 50,000 persons or 
having a design hydraulic capacity of less than 5.0 MGD 
which employs chemical coagulation or lime softening 
coupled with multimedia granular filtration or granular 
filtration at rates above 2.0 gpm/square foot (high rate 
filtration) in combination with one or more of the 
following: (i) sedimentation, (ii) fluoridation, (iii) 
disinfection, (iv) aeration, or (v) corrosion control;  

3. A waterworks employing biological activated carbon 
contactors or membrane technology requiring pretreatment 
other than pH adjustment; or  

4. A waterworks classified by the Virginia Department of 
Health as either a Class II, III, IV, V or VI 2, 3, 4, 5, or 6 
waterworks.  

F. A Class I 1 waterworks licensee may operate any 
waterworks. any waterworks as follows: 

1. A waterworks serving 50,000 or more persons or having 
a design hydraulic capacity of 5.0 MGD or more 
employing chemical coagulation or lime softening in 
combination with one or more of the following: (i) 
sedimentation, (ii) rapid sand filtration, (iii) fluoridation, 
(iv) disinfection, (v) aeration, (vi) corrosion control, or 
(vii) membrane technologies; 
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2. A waterworks serving 50,000 or more persons or having 
a design hydraulic capacity of 5.0 MGD or more that 
employs chemical coagulation or lime softening coupled 
with multimedia granular filtration or granular filtration at 
rates above 2.0 gpm/square foot (high rate filtration) in 
combination with one or more of the following: (i) 
sedimentation, (ii) fluoridation, (iii) disinfection, (iv) 
aeration, or (v) corrosion control; 

3. A waterworks employing biological activated carbon 
contactors or membrane technology requiring pretreatment 
other than pH adjustment; or 

4. A waterworks classified by the Virginia Department of 
Health as a Class 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, or 6 waterworks. 

G. The term membrane technologies includes (i) electrical 
dialysis electrodialysis reversal, (ii) reverse osmosis, (iii) ultra 
filtration ultrafiltration, (iv) micro filtration microfiltration, 
and (v) nano filtration nanofiltration. 

18VAC160-20-130. Wastewater works. 

A. A Class IV 4 wastewater works licensee may operate any 
wastewater works as follows: 

1. A wastewater works employing natural treatment 
methods (i.e., those not utilizing aerated or mixed flows 
and not using electrical or outside energy sources to 
accomplish treatment) with a design hydraulic capacity 
greater than 0.4 0.04 MGD but equal to or less than 1.0 
MGD; or 

2. A wastewater works classified by the Virginia 
Department of Health or the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality as a Class IV 4 wastewater works. 

B. A Class III 3 wastewater works licensee may operate any 
wastewater works as follows: 

1. A wastewater works using biological treatment methods 
consisting of but not limited to (i) suspended growth 
reactors, (ii) aerated lagoons, (iii) constructed wetlands, 
(iv) biological filters or other attached growth contactors, 
(v) processes utilizing biological nutrient control, or (vi) 
processes utilizing land application having a design 
hydraulic capacity greater than 0.04 MGD, but equal to or 
less than 0.5 MGD; 

2. A wastewater works using advanced waste treatment 
methods consisting of but not limited to (i) ammonia 
stripping, (ii) breakpoint chlorination, (iii) carbon 
adsorption, (iv) chemical coagulation, (v) flocculation, (vi) 
precipitation, (vii) filtration, or (viii) demineralization (ion 
exchange, reverse osmosis or electrodialysis) having a 
design hydraulic capacity greater than 0.04 MGD, but 
equal to or less than 0.5 MGD;  

3. A wastewater works using combinations of biological 
and advanced waste treatment methods having a design 

hydraulic capacity greater than 0.04 MGD, but equal to or 
less than 0.1 MGD;  

4. A wastewater works using natural treatment methods 
(i.e., those not using aerated or mixed flows and not using 
electrical or outside energy sources to accomplish 
treatment) with a design hydraulic capacity greater than 1.0 
MGD; or  

5. A wastewater works classified by the Virginia 
Department of Health or the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality as either a Class III or IV 3 or 4 
wastewater works.  

C. A Class II 2 wastewater works licensee may operate any 
wastewater works as follows:  

1. A wastewater works using biological treatment methods 
consisting of but not limited to (i) suspended growth 
reactors, (ii) aerated lagoons, (iii) constructed wetlands, 
(iv) biological filters or other attached growth contactors, 
(v) processes utilizing biological nutrient control, or (vi) 
processes utilizing land application having a design 
hydraulic capacity greater than 0.5 MGD, but equal to or 
less than 5.0 MGD;  

2. A wastewater works using advanced waste treatment 
methods consisting of but not limited to (i) ammonia 
stripping, (ii) breakpoint chlorination, (iii) carbon 
adsorption, (iv) chemical coagulation, (v) flocculation, (vi) 
precipitation, (vii) filtration, or (viii) demineralization (ion 
exchange, reverse osmosis or electrodialysis) having a 
design hydraulic capacity greater than 0.5 MGD, but equal 
to or less than 5.0 MGD;  

3. A wastewater works using combinations of biological 
and advanced waste treatment methods, having a design 
hydraulic capacity greater than 0.1 MGD, but equal to or 
less than 2.5 MGD; or 

4. A wastewater works classified by the Virginia 
Department of Health or the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality as either a Class II, III or IV 2, 3, or 
4 wastewater works.  

D. A Class I 1 wastewater works licensee may operate any 
wastewater works. as follows: 

1. A wastewater works using biological treatment methods 
consisting of, but not limited to (i) suspended growth 
reactors, (ii) aerated lagoons, (iii) constructed wetlands, 
(iv) biological filters or other attached growth contactors, 
(v) processes utilizing biological nutrient control, or (vi) 
processes utilizing land application having a design 
hydraulic capacity greater than 5.0 MGD; 

2. A wastewater works using advanced waste treatment 
methods consisting of, but not limited to (i) ammonia 
stripping, (ii) breakpoint chlorination, (iii) carbon 
adsorption, (iv) chemical coagulation, (v) flocculation, (vi) 
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precipitation, (vii) filtration, or (viii) demineralization (ion 
exchange, reverse osmosis or electrodialysis) having a 
design hydraulic capacity greater than 5.0 MGD; 

3. A wastewater works using combinations of biological 
and advanced waste treatment methods, having a design 
hydraulic capacity greater than 2.5 MGD; or 

4. A wastewater works classified by the Virginia 
Department of Health or the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality as a Class 1, 2, 3, or 4 wastewater 
works. 

Part V  
Standards of Practice  

18VAC160-20-140. Discipline. 

The board has the power to discipline and fine any licensee 
or provisional licensee and to suspend or revoke or refuse to 
renew or reinstate any license or provisional license as well as 
the power to deny any application for a license or provisional 
license under the provisions of Chapter 23 (§ 54.1-2300 et 
seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and this chapter for 
any of the following:  

1. Obtaining or, renewing, or attempting to obtain or renew 
a license or provisional license through fraudulent means 
or misrepresentation;  

2. Having been convicted or found guilty by a court in any 
jurisdiction of any felony or of any misdemeanor involving 
lying, cheating or stealing, or for activities carried out 
while engaged in waterworks or wastewater works 
activities, there being no appeal pending therefrom or the 
time for appeal having lapsed. Any plea of nolo contendere 
shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this 
subsection. A certified copy of a final order, decree or case 
decision by a court or regulatory agency with the lawful 
authority to issue such order, decree or case decision shall 
be prima facie evidence of such conviction or discipline. 
The record of conviction certified or authenticated in such 
form as to be admissible in evidence under the laws of the 
jurisdiction where convicted shall be admissible as prima 
facie evidence of such guilt;  

3. Not demonstrating reasonable care, judgment, or 
application of the required knowledge, skill and ability in 
the performance of the operating duties;  

4. Violating or inducing another person to violate any 
provisions of Chapter 1, 2, 3 or 23 of Title 54.1 of the 
Code of Virginia, or of any provision of this chapter;  

5. Having been found guilty by the board, an 
administrative body or by a court of any activity in the 
course of performing his operating duties that resulted in 
the harm or the threat of harm to human health or the 
environment;  

6. Failing to inform the board in writing within 30 days of 
pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being convicted or 
found guilty, regardless of adjudication, of any felony 
which resulted in the harm or the threat of harm to human 
health or the environment. Failing to inform the board in 
writing within 30 days of pleading guilty or nolo 
contendere or being convicted of or found guilty, 
regardless of adjudication, of any felony or of any 
misdemeanor for activities carried out while engaged in 
waterworks or wastewater works activities or involving 
lying, cheating or stealing; or  

7. Negligence, or a continued pattern of incompetence, in 
the practice as a waterworks or wastewater works operator.  

Part VI  
Approval of Training  

18VAC160-20-150. Approval of training. 

A. Waterworks and wastewater works operator training for 
all licenses may be substituted for some of the experience 
required for Class III 3, Class II 2 and Class I 1 licenses, 
subject to the limitations in this section. Training courses that 
may be substituted for required experience must be approved 
by the board except those provided by federal or state 
agencies, institutions, schools and universities approved by 
the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia, for which 
continuing education units are awarded. Training courses 
requiring board approval shall be approved by the board prior 
to commencing in accordance with the following:  

B. Training courses for which experience credit may be 
granted must be conducted in general conformance with the 
guidelines of the International Association for Continuing 
Education and Training (Association). The board reserves the 
right to waive any of the requirements of the association's 
guidelines on a case-by-case basis. Only classroom, 
laboratory and field trip contact time will be used to compute 
training credits. No credit will be given for breaks, meals, or 
receptions.  

1. Organization. The board will only approve training 
offered by a sponsor who is an identifiable organization 
with a mission statement outlining its functions, structure, 
process and philosophy, and that has a staff of one or more 
persons with the authority to administer and coordinate a 
training credit (TC) program.  

2. TC records. The board will only approve training 
offered by a sponsor who maintains TC records for all 
participants for a minimum of seven years, and who has a 
written policy on retention and release of TC records.  

3. Instructors. The board will only approve training 
conducted by personnel who have demonstrated 
competence in the subject being taught, an understanding 
of the learning objective, a knowledge of the learning 
process to be used, and a proven ability to communicate.  
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4. Objectives. The board will only approve courses that 
have a series of stated objectives that are consistent with 
the job requirements of waterworks and wastewater works 
operators. The training course content must be consistent 
with those objectives.  

5. Course completion requirements. For successful 
completion of a training course, participants must attend 
90% or more of the class contact time and must 
demonstrate their learning through written examinations, 
completion of a project, self-assessment, oral examination, 
or other similar assessment technique.  

C. The board shall consider the following information, to be 
submitted by the course sponsor or instructor on forms 
provided by the board, at least 45 days prior to the scheduled 
training course:  

1. Course information.  

a. Course title;  

b. Planned audience;  

c. Name of sponsor;  

d. Name, address, phone number of contact person;  

e. Scheduled presentation dates;  

f. Detailed course schedule, hour-by-hour;  

g. List of planned breaks;  

h. Scheduled presentation location; and  

i. Relevancy of course to waterworks or wastewater 
works operator licensing.  

2. Instructor qualifications.  

a. Name of instructor;  

b. Title, employer; and  

c. Summary of qualifications to teach this course.  

3. Training materials.  

a. Course objectives. A listing of the course objectives 
stated in terms of the skills, knowledge, or attitude the 
participant will be able to demonstrate as a result of the 
training.  

b. Course outline. A detailed outline showing the planned 
activities that will occur during the training course, 
including major topics, planned presentation sequence, 
laboratory and field activities, audio-visual presentation, 
and other major activities.  

c. Course reference materials. A list of the name, 
publisher and publication date for commercially available 
publications. For reference materials developed by the 
course sponsor or available exclusively through the 
course, a copy of the reference.  

d. Audio-visual support materials. A listing of any 
commercially available audio-visual support material that 
will be used in the program. A brief description of any 
sponsor or instructor generated audio-visual material that 
will be used.  

e. Handouts. Identification of all commercially available 
handout materials that will be used; as well as copies of 
all other planned handouts.  

4. Determination of successful completion. A description 
of the means that will be used to assess the learning of each 
participant to determine successful completion of the 
training program, such as examinations, projects, personal 
evaluations by the instructor, or other recognized 
evaluation techniques.  

D. Recurring training programs. If there are plans to present 
the same course of instruction routinely at multiple locations 
with only minor modifications and changes, the board may 
approve the overall program rather than individual 
presentations if so requested by the sponsor.  

1. The board shall consider all of the information listed 
above except those items related to specific offerings of the 
course.  

2. Board approval may be granted for a specific period of 
time or for an indefinite period.  

3. Board approval will apply only to those specific 
offerings certified by the sponsoring organization as 
having been conducted by instructors meeting the 
established criteria and in accordance with the board-
approved course outlines and objectives.  

4. To maintain approval of the program, changes made to 
the program since its approval must be submitted.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-792; Filed January 14, 2009, 11:14 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 19. PUBLIC SAFETY 

DEPARTMENT OF STATE POLICE 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory actions 
are exempt from the Administrative Process Act in 
accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 
requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 
regulations do not differ materially from those required by 
federal law or regulation. The Department of State Police will 
receive, consider and respond to petitions by any interested 
person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 19VAC30-20. Motor Carrier Safety 
Regulations (amending 19VAC30-20-40, 19VAC30-20-60, 
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19VAC30-20-80; adding 19VAC30-20-270 through 
19VAC30-20-300). 

Statutory Authority: § 52-8.4 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2009.  

Agency Contact: Lt. Colonel Robert Kemmler, Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of State Police, Bureau of 
Administrative and Support Services, P.O. Box 27472, 
Richmond, VA 23261-7472, telephone (804) 674-4606, FAX 
(804) 674-2234, or email robert.kemmler@vsp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments comply with the controlling Federal 
Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (49 CFR Part 390). 

19VAC30-20-40. Application of regulations.  

A. These regulations and those contained in 49 CFR Parts 
366, 370 through 376, 379, 380 Subpart E, 382, 385, 387 and 
390 through 397, unless excepted, shall be applicable to all 
employers, employees, and commercial motor vehicles, 
which transport property or passengers in interstate and 
intrastate commerce.  

B. These regulations shall not apply to hours worked by any 
carrier when transporting passengers or property to or from 
any portion of the Commonwealth for the purpose of (i) 
providing relief or assistance in case of earthquake, flood, 
fire, famine, drought, epidemic, pestilence, major loss of 
utility services or other calamity or disaster or (ii) engaging in 
the provision or restoration of utility services when the loss of 
such service is unexpected, unplanned or unscheduled. The 
suspension of the regulation provided for in § 52-8.4 A of the 
Code of Virginia shall expire if the Secretary of the United 
States Department of Transportation determines that it is in 
conflict with the intent of Federal Motor Carrier Safety 
Regulations.  

19VAC30-20-60. Inspection of records.  

Any records required to be maintained by motor carriers 
pursuant to regulations promulgated by the Superintendent 
under the authority of § 52-8.4 A of the Code of Virginia, 
shall be open to inspection during a carrier's normal business 
hours by specially trained members of the Department of 
State Police designated for that purpose by the Superintendent 
shall also be authorized, with consent of the owner, operator 
or agent in charge or with an appropriate warrant obtained 
under the procedure prescribed in Chapter 24 (§ 19.2-393 et 
seq.) of Title 19.2 of the Code of Virginia, to go upon the 
property of motor carriers to verify the accuracy and 
compliance of maintenance such records by an and inspection 
of the vehicles to which those records relate.  

Part III  
Incorporation by Reference  

Article 1  
Compliance with Federal Regulations  

19VAC30-20-80. Compliance.  

Every person and commercial motor vehicle subject to the 
Motor Carrier Safety Regulations operating in interstate or 
intrastate commerce within or through the Commonwealth of 
Virginia shall comply with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety 
Regulations promulgated by the United States Department of 
Transportation, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, 
with amendments promulgated and in effect as of January 2, 
2007 2009, pursuant to the United States Motor Carrier 
Safety Act found in 49 CFR Parts 366, 370 through 376, 379, 
380 Subpart E, 382, 385, 387, and 390 through 397, which 
are incorporated in these regulations by reference, with 
certain exceptions, as set forth below.  

Article 10  
Part 370 - Principle and Practices for the Investigation and 
Voluntary Disposition of Loss and Damaged Claims and 

Processing Salvage  

19VAC30-20-270. Investigation of claims - § 370.7(b). 

Supporting documents. When a necessary part of an 
investigation, each claim shall be supported by the original 
bill of lading, evidence of the freight charges, if any, and 
either the original invoice, a photographic copy of the original 
invoice, or an exact copy thereof or any extract made 
therefrom, certified by the claimant to be true and correct 
with respect to the property and value involved in the claim; 
or certification of prices or values, with trade or other 
discounts, allowance, or deductions, of any nature whatsoever 
and the terms thereof, or depreciation reflected thereon; 
provided, however, that where property involved in a claim 
has not been invoiced to the consignee shown on the bill of 
lading or where an invoice does not show price or value, or 
where the property involved has been sold, or where the 
property has been transferred at bookkeeping values only, the 
carrier shall, before voluntarily paying a claim, require the 
claimant to establish the destination value in the quantity, 
shipped, transported, or involved; provided, further, that 
when supporting documents are determined to be a necessary 
part of an investigation, the supporting documents are 
retained by the carriers for possible inspection, by an 
authorized specially trained member of the Department of 
State Police designated for that purpose by the 
superintendent.  
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Article 11  
Part 375 - Subpart A - General Requirements  

19VAC30-20-280. What are the definitions of terms used 
in this part? § 375.103. 

We, us, and our means authorized specially trained member 
of the Department of State Police designated for that purpose 
by the superintendent. 

Article 12  
Part 380 - Subpart E - Entry-Level Driver Training 

Requirements  

19VAC30-20-290. Employer responsibilities - § 380.509(c). 

All records required by this subpart shall be maintained as 
required by 49 CFR 390.31 and shall be made available for 
inspection at the employer’s principal place of business 
within two business days after a request has been made by an 
authorized specially trained member of the Department of 
State Police designated for that purpose by the 
superintendent. 

Article 13  
Part 382 - Controlled Substances and Alcohol Use and 

Testing  

19VAC30-20-300. Retention of records - § 382.401(d). 

Location of records. All records required by this part shall 
be maintained as required by 49 CFR 390.31 and shall be 
made available for inspection at the employer’s principal 
place of business within two business days after a request has 
been made by an authorized specially trained member of the 
Department of State Police designated for that purpose by the 
superintendent.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1753; Filed January 7, 2009, 8:01 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 22VAC40-110. Minimum Standards 
for Licensed Family Day Homes (repealing 22VAC40-110-
10 through 22VAC40-110-1400). 

22VAC40-111. Standards for Licensed Family Day Homes 
(adding 22VAC40-111-10 through 22VAC40-111-1020). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-1734 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
April 3, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Karen Cullen, Program Development 
Consultant, Department of Social Services, Division of 
Licensing Programs, 7 North 8th Street, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 726-7152, FAX (804) 726-7132, TTY 
(800) 828-1120, or email karen.cullen@dss.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The following sections of the Code of Virginia are the 
sources of legal authority to promulgate this regulation: 
§ 63.2-217 (mandatory) states that the State Board of Social 
Services (board) shall adopt regulations as may be necessary 
or desirable to carry out the purpose of Title 63.2 of the Code 
of Virginia; § 63.2-1721 (mandatory) requires applicants for 
family day home licensure to undergo a background check; 
§ 63.2-1734 (mandatory and discretionary) addresses the 
board’s overall authority to promulgate regulations for 
licensed family day homes and specifies content areas to be 
included in the regulation. 

Purpose: The new regulation replaces the current regulation, 
22VAC40-110, Minimum Standards for Licensed Family 
Day Homes. The goal of the regulation is to protect the 
health, safety and well-being of children receiving care in 
licensed family day homes.  The last major revision of the 
regulation for licensed family day homes occurred in 1993. 

A periodic review of 22VAC40-110 was conducted in 1999. 
The periodic review resulted in a recommendation to repeal 
the current regulation and promulgate a new regulation to 
improve readability and clarity. In addition to incorporating 
the majority of the 1993 revisions, this new regulation adds 
requirements that are based on changes in law and practice. 

This regulatory action has several purposes. The first purpose 
is to ensure that parents have sufficient information to make 
informed decisions about placing their children in licensed 
family day homes. The second purpose is to facilitate the 
social, emotional and intellectual development of children 
receiving care in licensed family day homes. The third 
purpose is to ensure the safety of children receiving care in 
licensed family day homes. 

Substance: The proposed regulatory action adds requirements 
related to operational responsibilities of the licensee; 
capacity; general record keeping; children’s and caregivers’ 
records; written information for parents; proof of a child’s age 
and identity along with a record of the child care and schools 
the child has attended; immunizations for children; 
qualifications and requirements for providers, substitute 
providers, and assistants; tuberculosis screening; physical or 
mental health evaluations for caregivers or household 
members; orientation for substitute providers and assistants; 
annual training for caregivers; medication administration 
training; home maintenance; hanging and drowning hazards; 
firearms; sharp objects; body fluids contamination; 
machinery; heaters; telephones; water supply; heating and 
cooling; electric fans; stairs; decks and porches; doors and 
windows; animals; smoking and prohibited substances; play 
equipment and materials; indoor slides and climbing 
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equipment; outdoor play area and equipment; rest areas; 
cribs; linens; infant and toddler equipment; play pens; 
supervision; programs; sleeping and resting; daily activities 
for infants and toddlers; television, computers, videos, and 
video games; time out; forbidden actions; parent 
notifications; swimming and wading activities; exclusion of 
sick children; hand washing; diapering and toileting; 
medication; sunscreen, diaper ointment, and insect repellant; 
first aid supplies; emergency radios; emergency information; 
posted telephone numbers; emergency preparedness and 
response plans; evacuation, relocation, and shelter-in-place 
procedures; emergency response drills; reports to the 
department and to the health department; meals and snacks; 
drinking water and fluids; feeding infants; special feeding 
needs; transportation, drivers, and vehicles; and nighttime 
care. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the proposed regulatory 
action is the increased protection it provides to children 
receiving care in licensed family day homes.  The proposed 
regulatory action strengthens the standards to provide much 
needed improvements for the care and services; for 
qualifications, training, and responsibilities of staff who 
provide the care and services; for management of the 
operation of the home; and for the building and grounds 
where care is provided. 

When requirements are strengthened, there must be a balance 
between the benefit and associated costs.  In the proposed 
regulatory action, a fair and reasonable balance has been 
achieved. 

The advantage to the Commonwealth is that the proposed 
regulatory action reflects the importance that Virginia places 
on ensuring adequate child care for children of working 
parents. There are no known disadvantages to the 
Commonwealth. 

It is possible that family day homes will pass along some of 
the increased costs to parents. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
State Board of Social Services proposes to incorporate and 
replace Minimum Standards for Licensed Family Day Homes 
(22 VAC 40-110) with new regulations, Standards for 
Licensed Family Day Homes (22 VAC 40-111). The main 
goal of the changes is to improve health and safety of children 
while under the care of a licensed family day home.  The 
proposed new requirements are related to following areas: 
staff qualifications, training, and responsibilities; physical 
plant features; care and services for children; and emergency 
preparedness. 

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient data to accurately 
compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the costs. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The State Board of Social 
Services proposes to incorporate and replace Minimum 
Standards for Licensed Family Day Homes (22 VAC 40-110) 
with new regulations, Standards for Licensed Family Day 
Homes (22VAC40-111). The main goal of the changes is to 
improve health and safety of children while under the care of 
a licensed family day home. 

In general, most of the proposed changes are aimed at 
clarifying the intent of the regulations to improve compliance 
with the standards and procedures and thus to improve health 
and safety of children at licensed day homes. However, 
several proposed changes will create generally small, but non-
negligible costs for compliance. 

One of the proposed changes will increase annual training 
from 6 hours to 16 hours over a four year time frame. When 
the regulation becomes effective, the annual raining hours 
will increase to 8 hours, one year after the effective date the 
annual raining hours will increase to 12 hours, two years after 
the effective date the annual raining hours will increase to 14 
hours, and three years after the effective date the annual 
raining hours will increase to 16 hours. DSS estimates that 
the cost of providing additional two hours of training when 
the regulations become effective is $26, the cost of providing 
additional six hours of training one year after the regulations 
become effective is $68, the cost of providing additional eight 
hours of training two years after the regulations become 
effective is $84, the cost of providing additional ten hours of 
training three years after the regulations become effective is 
$110. 

Also, pursuant to § 54.1-3408 N of the Code of Virginia, 
proposed regulations requires medication administration 
training for caregivers who choose to administer prescription 
medications. The cost of medication administration training is 
estimated to be $50. 

Another proposed change will remove the exemption to have 
a CPR certification from providers who are registered nurses 
or licensed practical nurses as they may not have had this 
training. Also, the CPR certification and First Aid 
Certification will be required from assistants. According to 
the DSS, the cost of CPR certification is $28 the cost of First 
Aid Certification is $35. 

Also, basic water rescue certification will be required if 
needed when children are in water over two feet deep. This 
certification is estimated to cost $30. 

The proposed regulations will require that the providers 
provide orientation to assistants and substitute providers 
within one week of the employment. The orientation will 
cover job related responsibilities and obligations. DSS 
estimates the cost of the orientation to be $8. 

Also, providers will be required to develop an emergency 
preparedness and response plan. Estimated cost of the plan is 
$40.  
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The proposed regulations will also require a fence or barrier 
around play areas that are in close proximity to hazards such 
as pools, ponds, railroad tracks. The estimated cost of the 
fence or barrier is $1,000. 

In addition, several other proposed changes will establish 
requirements that may introduce additional costs. These 
include that the provider have 1) a land-line phone (the phone 
is estimated to cost $20 and the monthly service is estimated 
to cost $30), 2) safety locks on each closet and bathroom door 
(estimated to cost $8), 3) a set of bed linens for each child 
(estimated to cost $15), 4) activated charcoal preparation for 
first aid kit (estimated to cost $20), 5) weather band radio and 
extra batteries (estimated to cost $15), 6) baby monitor if 
night time care is provided (estimated to cost $15).  

While each of the proposed changes mentioned above is 
expected to create some additional costs, the significance of 
the overall impact will depend on the current compliance 
levels. For example, if a provider already has a land line 
phone, he or she will not face additional costs as she or he has 
been already incurring all of the costs of having a landline 
phone. Since the level of current compliance is not known, an 
accurate estimate of the total potential costs cannot be 
provided. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulations 
apply to licensed family day homes. Currently, there are 
1,768 licensed day homes in Virginia caring for 
approximately 19,467 children. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 
apply throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulations 
are expected to affect demand for labor in two directions. 
Increased training, certification, and physical plant 
requirements may add to demand for labor. On the other 
hand, any increase caused by increase in child care prices 
may reduce demand for labor by reducing the demand for 
child care. Thus, the net effect on employment is uncertain. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed changes could also affect the value of family day 
home businesses through the effects on future profit streams. 
Most changes will increase compliance costs. Therefore, the 
value of family day home businesses would decrease on 
average. On the other hand, costs of litigation and liability 
insurance might be lower if the family day home industry is 
operating under better health and safety standards which 
could balance out the potential decrease in value to some 
extent. Furthermore, some physical plant requirements such 
as fencing or safety locks may affect the value of provider 
homes in either direction. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. All licensed 
family day homes are estimated to be small businesses. Thus, 
all of the costs and benefits discussed above apply to small 
businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. There is no known alternative that 
minimizes adverse impact while improving health and safety 
of children. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed regulations are 
not anticipated to have any effect on real estate development 
costs.  

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Department of 
Social Services concurs with the economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

CHAPTER 111 
STANDARDS FOR LICENSED FAMILY DAY HOMES 

22VAC40-111-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Accessible" means capable of being entered, reached, or 
used. 

"Adult" means any individual 18 years of age or older. 

"Age-appropriate" means suitable to the chronological age 
and individual needs of a child. 
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"Assistant" means an individual who helps the provider or 
substitute provider in the care, protection, supervision and 
guidance to children in the home. 

"Body fluids" means urine, feces, vomit, blood, saliva, nasal 
discharge, and tissue discharge. 

"Caregiver" means an individual who provides care, 
protection, supervision and guidance to children in the home 
and includes the provider, substitute provider and assistant. 

"Child" means an individual under 18 years of age. 

"Child day program" means a regularly operating service 
arrangement for children where, during the absence of a 
parent or guardian, a person or organization has agreed to 
assume responsibility for the supervision, protection, and 
well-being of a child under the age of 13 for less than a 24-
hour period. 

"Child with special needs" means a child with 
developmental disabilities, mental retardation, emotional 
disturbance, sensory or motor impairment, or significant 
chronic illness who requires special health surveillance or 
specialized programs, interventions, technologies, or 
facilities. 

"Cleaned" means treated in such a way as to remove dirt and 
debris by scrubbing and washing with soap and water or 
detergent solution and rinsing with water. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Virginia 
Department of Social Services. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 
Services. 

"Department's representative" means an employee or 
designee of the Virginia Department of Social Services, 
acting as the authorized agent of the commissioner. 

"Evacuation" means movement of occupants out of the 
building to a safe area near the building. 

"Family day home" means a child day program offered in 
the residence of the provider or the home of any of the 
children in care for one through 12 children under the age of 
13, exclusive of the provider's own children and any children 
who reside in the home, when at least one child receives care 
for compensation. 

"Good character and reputation" means knowledgeable and 
objective people agree that the individual (i) maintains 
business, professional, family, and community relationships 
that are characterized by honesty, fairness, and truthfulness; 
and (ii) demonstrates a concern for the well-being of others to 
the extent that the individual is considered suitable to be 
entrusted with the care, guidance, and protection of children. 
Relatives by blood or marriage, and people who are not 
knowledgeable of the individual, such as recent 
acquaintances, shall not be considered objective references. 

"High school program completion or the equivalent" means 
an individual has earned a high school diploma or General 
Education Development (G.E.D.) certificate, or has 
completed a program of home instruction equivalent to high 
school completion. 

"Inaccessible" means not capable of being entered, reached, 
or used. 

"Infant" means a child from birth up to 16 months of age. 

"Nighttime care" means care provided between 7 p.m. and 
6 a.m. 

"Parent" means the biological, foster or adoptive parent, 
legal guardian, or any individual with responsibility for, or 
custody of a child enrolled in or in the process of being 
enrolled in a family day home. 

"Physician" means an individual licensed to practice 
medicine in any of the 50 states or the District of Columbia. 

"Preschool" means children from two years up to the age of 
eligibility to attend public school, age five by September 30 
of that same year. 

"Programmatic experience" means time spent working 
directly with children in a group that is located away from the 
child's home. Work time shall be computed on the basis of 
full-time work experience during the period prescribed or 
equivalent work time over a longer period. Experience 
settings may include, but not be limited to, a child day 
program, family day home, child day center, boys and girls 
club, field placement, elementary school, or a faith-based 
organization. 

"Provider" means an individual who is issued the family day 
home license by the Department of Social Services and who 
has primary responsibility in providing care, protection, 
supervision, and guidance of children in the family home. 

"Relocation" means movement of occupants of the building 
to a safe location away from the vicinity of the building. 

"Residence" means principal legal dwelling or abode that is 
occupied for living purposes by the provider and contains the 
facilities necessary for sleeping, eating, cooking, and family 
living. 

"Sanitized" means treated in such a way as to remove 
bacteria and viruses from inanimate surfaces through first 
cleaning and secondly using a disinfectant solution (i.e., 
bleach solution or commercial chemical disinfectant) or 
physical agent (e.g., heat). The surface of the item is sprayed 
or dipped into the disinfectant solution and then allowed to air 
dry. 

"School age" means eligible to attend public school, age five 
or older by September 30 of that same year. 

"Serious injury" means a wound or other specific damage to 
the body such as, but not limited to, unconsciousness; broken 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations February 2, 2009 

1973 

bones; dislocation; deep cut requiring stitches; poisoning; 
concussion; and a foreign object lodged in eye, nose, ear, or 
other body orifice. 

"Shelter-in-place" means movement of occupants of the 
building to designated protected spaces within the building. 

"Substitute provider" means an individual who meets the 
qualifications of a provider; is designated by the provider; and 
who provides care, protection, supervision and guidance for 
children in the family day home when the provider is absent 
from the home for more than two hours. 

"Time out" means a discipline technique in which a child is 
moved for a brief time away from the stimulation and 
reinforcement of ongoing activities and other children in the 
group to allow the child who is losing self-control to regain 
composure. 

"Toddler" means a child from 16 months of age up to 24 
months of age. 

22VAC40-111-20. (Reserved.) 

22VAC40-111-30. Operational responsibilities. 

A. The provider shall ensure compliance with these 
standards and the terms of the current license issued by the 
department and with relevant federal, state or local laws, and 
other relevant regulations. 

B. The provider will ensure compliance with the home's 
policies that have been disclosed to the parents as required by 
22VAC-40-111-70. 

C. The provider shall give evidence of financial 
responsibility. 

D. The provider shall be of good character and reputation. 
Character and reputation investigation includes, but is not 
limited to, background checks as required by §§ 63.2-1702 
and 63.2-1721 of the Code of Virginia. 

E. The provider shall meet the requirements specified in 
22VAC40-191, Background Checks for Child Welfare 
Agencies. 

F. The provider shall ensure that the home's activities, 
services, and facilities are conducive to the welfare of 
children in care. 

G. The provider shall be responsible for the home's day-to-
day operation. 

H. The provider shall ensure that any advertising is not 
misleading or deceptive as required by § 63.2-1713 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

I. The provider shall meet the requirements specified in 
22VAC40-80, General Procedures and Information for 
Licensure. 

22VAC40-111-40. Capacity. 

A. The provider shall ensure that the total number of 
children receiving care at any one time does not exceed the 
maximum licensed capacity of the home. 

B. When at least one child receives care for compensation, 
all children, exclusive of the provider's own children and 
children who reside in the home, who are in the care and 
supervision of a provider, count in the licensed capacity. 

C. The department may restrict the number and ages of 
children who may be in care at one time in a family day home 
to less than the maximum group size of 12 children, if the 
department determines that the maximum is unsuitable for 
that home based on the following factors: 

1. The provider's responsibility to supervise children 13 
years of age or older who are not the provider's own 
children or who do not reside in the home; 

2. The availability of adequate space to allow each child 
free movement and active play indoors and outdoors as 
required by 22VAC40-111-380; 

3. The provider's responsibility to care for another 
individual who may require special attention or care, 
including but not limited to an elderly resident or a child 
with a serious physical, emotional, or behavioral condition; 
or 

4. The issuance of a special order to limit capacity pursuant 
to § 63.2-1709.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

22VAC40-111-50. General record keeping. 

A. The family day home shall keep a written record of 
children in attendance each day. 

B. The provider's records shall be maintained in the home 
and made accessible to the department's representative. 

C. Information contained in a child's record shall be 
privileged and confidential.  The provider shall not distribute 
or release information in a child's record to any unauthorized 
person without the written consent of the child's parent. 

D. Children's records shall be made available to a child's 
parent upon request, unless otherwise ordered by the court. 

E. Records and reports on children, caregivers, and 
household members required by this chapter shall be 
maintained and made accessible to the department's 
representative for two years from the date of termination of 
services for a child, date of separation from employment for 
caregivers, or date of termination of residence for a household 
member, or unless specified otherwise. 

22VAC40-111-60. Children's records. 

A. The provider shall maintain an up-to-date record at the 
family day home for each enrolled child. 
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B. A child's record shall contain the following information: 

1. Child's full name, nickname (if any), sex, address, and 
birth date; 

2. Emergency contact information including: 

a. Name, home address, and telephone number of each 
parent who has custody; 

b. Name, address and telephone number of each custodial 
parent's place of employment; 

c. Name, office address and telephone number of the 
child's physician; 

d. Name, address and telephone number of two 
designated persons to contact in case of an emergency if 
the parent cannot be reached; 

e. Information on allergies and intolerance to food, 
medication, or any other substances, and actions to take 
in an emergency situation;  

f. Name and policy number of the child's medical 
insurance, if applicable; 

g. Names of persons other than the custodial parents who 
are authorized to pick up the child; 

h. Appropriate legal paperwork when a custodial parent 
does not authorize the provider to release the child to the 
other parent; and 

i. Chronic physical problems, pertinent developmental 
information, and any special accommodations needed; 

3. First and last dates of attendance; 

4. Parent's signed acknowledgement of the receipt of the 
information required by 22VAC40-111-70; 

5. Proof of the child's age and identity and the names and 
addresses of previously attended child day care and schools 
as required by 22VAC40-111-80; 

6. Immunization records for the child as required by 
22VAC40-111-90; 

7. Results of the health examination for the child as 
required by 22VAC40-111-100; 

8. Written authorization for emergency medical care 
should an emergency occur and the parent cannot be 
located immediately unless the parent presents a written 
objection to provision of medical treatment on religious or 
other grounds;  

9. Written authorization if a caregiver is to administer 
prescription or nonprescription medication to the child as 
required by 22VAC40-111-700 A 2; 

10. Written authorization if the child is to participate in 
swimming or wading activities as required by 22VAC40-
111-660 B; 

11. Written authorization if the child is taken off the 
premises of the family day home as required by 22VAC40-
111-980; 

12. Special instructions to the provider including, but not 
limited to, exception to an infant's sleeping position as 
required in 22VAC40-111-590 A, recommendations for 
the care and activities of a child with special needs as 
required in 22VAC40-111-620 A, and exception to an 
infant's being fed on demand as required in 22VAC40-111-
960 A; 

13. Record of any accidents or injuries sustained by the 
child while at the family day home as required by 
22VAC40-111-840; and 

14. Documentation of the review of the child's emergency 
contact information as required by 22VAC40-111-780 B. 

22VAC40-111-70. Written information for parents. 

A. Before the child's first day of attendance, parents shall be 
provided in writing the following information: 

1. Operating information including the hours and days of 
operation, holidays or other times closed, and the telephone 
number where a message can be left for a caregiver; 

2. Schedule of fees and payment plans; 

3. Check in and check out procedures; 

4. Policies for the administration of medications; 

5. Whether or not there is liability insurance of at least 
$100,000 per occurrence and $300,000 aggregate in force 
on the family day home operation as required by § 63.2-
1809.1 of the Code of Virginia; 

6. Requirement for the family day home to notify the 
parent when the child becomes ill and for the parent to 
arrange to have the child picked up as soon as possible if 
so requested by the home; 

7. Requirement for the parent to inform the family day 
home within 24 hours or the next business day after his 
child or any member of the immediate household has 
developed any reportable communicable disease, as 
defined by the State Board of Health, except for life-
threatening diseases, which must be reported immediately; 

8. Requirement for the child to be age-appropriately 
immunized; 

9. Requirement for paid caregivers to report suspected 
child abuse or neglect according to § 63.2-1509 of the 
Code of Virginia; 

10. Custodial parent's right to be admitted to the family day 
home any time the child is in care as required by § 63.2-
1813 of the Code of Virginia; 
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11. General daily schedule that is appropriate for the age of 
the enrolling child; 

12. Policies for the provision of food; 

13. Presence of a pet or animal in the home; 

14. Discipline policies including acceptable and 
unacceptable discipline measures; 

15. Amount of time per week that an adult assistant or 
substitute provider instead of the provider is scheduled to 
care for the child and the name of the adult assistant or 
substitute provider; 

16. Provisions of the family day home's emergency 
preparedness and response plan; 

17. Parental notifications required in 22VAC40-111-650; 

18. Policies for termination of care; and 

19. Address of the website of the department, with a note 
that a copy of this regulation and additional information 
about the family day home may be obtained from the 
website, including compliance history that includes 
information after July 1, 2003. 

B. The provider shall obtain the parent's written 
acknowledgement of the receipt of the information in this 
section. 

22VAC40-111-80. Proof of age and identity; record of 
child care and schools. 

A. Within seven business days of the child's first day of 
attendance at the family day home, the provider shall obtain 
from the parent: 

1. Verification of the identity and age of the child; and 

2. Name and location of previous day care programs and 
schools the child has attended. 

B. The provider shall verify the identity and age of a child 
by viewing one of the following: 

1. Certified birth certificate; 

2. Birth registration card; 

3. Notification of birth, i.e., hospital, physician, or midwife 
record; 

4. Passport; 

5. Copy of the placement agreement or other proof of the 
child's identity from a child placing agency; 

6. Original or copy of a record or report card from a public 
school in Virginia; or 

7. Signed statement on letterhead stationery from a public 
school principal or other designated official that assures the 
child is or was enrolled in the school. 

C. The provider shall document in the child's record: 

1. The method of verification of the child's age and 
identity; and 

2. The names and locations of the previous child care 
programs and schools the child has attended. 

D. The provider shall notify the local law-enforcement 
agency if the parent does not provide the information required 
in 22VAC40-111-80 A within seven business days of the 
child's first day of attendance at the family day home. 

E. The proof of identity, if reproduced or retained by the 
family day home, shall be destroyed two years after 
termination of services to the child. The procedures for the 
disposal, physical destruction or other disposition of the proof 
of identity containing social security numbers shall include all 
reasonable steps to destroy such documents by: 

1. Shredding; 

2. Erasing; or 

3. Otherwise modifying the social security numbers in 
those records to make them unreadable or indecipherable 
by any means. 

22VAC40-111-90. Immunizations for children. 

A. Before a child may attend the family day home, the 
provider shall obtain documentation that the child has been 
adequately immunized according to State Board of Health 
regulations. 

B. A child whose immunizations are incomplete may attend 
the family day home if the provider obtains documentation 
signed by a licensed physician, the physician's designee, or an 
official of a local health department that: 

1. The child has received at least one dose of the required 
immunizations; and  

2. There is a schedule for completion of the required 
immunizations within 90 days of the child's first day of 
attendance at the family day home. 

C. At the end of 90 days from the child's first day of 
attendance at the family day home, the provider shall not 
allow the child to attend the family day home unless the 
provider obtains documentation signed by a licensed 
physician, the physician's designee, or an official of a local 
health department that: 

1. The child's immunization schedule has been completed; 
or 

2. A medical contraindication developed during the 90-day 
completion schedule. 

D. Pursuant to subsection C of § 22.1-271.2 of the Code of 
Virginia, documentation of immunizations is not required for 
any child whose: 
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1. Parent submits an affidavit to the family day home on 
the current form approved by the Virginia Department of 
Health stating that the administration of immunizing agents 
conflicts with the parent's or child's religious tenets or 
practices; or 

2. Physician or a local health department states on a 
Department of Health-approved form that one or more of 
the required immunizations may be detrimental to the 
child's health, indicating the specific nature and probable 
duration of the medical condition or circumstance that 
contraindicates immunization.  

E. The family day home shall obtain documentation of 
additional immunizations for a child who is not exempt from 
the immunization requirements according to subsection D of 
this section: 

1. Once every six months for children under the age of two 
years; and  

2. Once between each child's fourth and sixth birthdays. 

22VAC40-111-100. Physical examinations for children. 

A. The provider shall obtain documentation of a physical 
examination by or under the direction of a physician prior to a 
child's attendance or within 30 days after the first day of 
attendance.  

B. The physical examination prior to attendance shall have 
been conducted: 

1. Within two months prior to attendance for children six 
months of age or younger; 

2. Within three months prior to attendance for children age 
seven months through 18 months; 

3. Within six months prior to attendance for children age 
19 months through 24 months; or 

4. Within 12 months prior to attendance for children two 
years of age through five years of age. 

C. EXCEPTIONS: 

1. A new physical examination is not required if a copy of 
the physical examination is available to the admitting 
family day home for a child transferring from a facility 
licensed by the Virginia Department of Social Services, 
approved by a licensed family day system, voluntarily 
registered by the Virginia Department of Social Services or 
by a contract agency of the Virginia Department of Social 
Services, or transferring from a Virginia Department of 
Education-approved child care program;  

2. Pursuant to subsection D of § 22.1-270 of the Code of 
Virginia, physical examinations are not required for any 
child whose parent objects on religious grounds.  The 
parent must submit a signed statement noting that the 
parent objects on religious grounds and certifying that to 

the best of the parent's knowledge the child is in good 
health and free from communicable or contagious disease. 

22VAC40-111-110. Form and content of immunization 
and physical examination reports for children. 

A. The current form approved by the Virginia Department of 
Health or a physician's form shall be used to record 
immunizations received and the results of the required 
physical examination. 

B. Each report shall include the date of the physical 
examination and dates immunizations were received and shall 
be signed by a licensed physician, the physician's designee, or 
an official of a local health department. 

22VAC40-111-120. Caregiver records. 

A. The provider shall maintain a record for each caregiver. 

B. Caregivers' records shall contain the following: 

1. Name; 

2. Address; 

3. Verification of age; 

4. Job title; 

5. Date of employment or volunteering; 

6. Name address and telephone number of a person to be 
notified in an emergency; 

7. For caregivers hired after [insert effective date of this 
regulation], documentation that two or more references as 
to character and reputation as well as competency were 
checked before employment. If a reference check is taken 
over the telephone, documentation shall include: 

a. Dates of contact, 

b. Names of persons contacted, 

c. Firms contacted, 

d. Results, and 

e. Signature of person making call; 

8. Background checks as required by 22VAC40-111-130; 

9. Documentation of the time of arrivals and departures for 
substitute providers as required by 22VAC40-111-140 D; 

10. Documentation of tuberculosis screening as required by 
22VAC40-111-170 and 22VAC40-111-180 A; and 

11. Documentation of the education and training as 
required by 22VAC40-111-230. 

22VAC40-111-130. General qualifications for caregivers. 

Caregivers shall: 

1. Be of good character and reputation; 
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2. Be physically and mentally capable of carrying out 
assigned responsibilities; 

3. Be courteous, respectful, patient, and affectionate 
toward the children in care; 

4. Be able to speak, read, and write in English as necessary 
to: 

a. Carry out assigned job responsibilities, and  

b. Communicate effectively with emergency responders; 
and 

5. Meet the requirements specified in 22VAC40-191, 
Background Checks for Child Welfare Agencies. 

22VAC40-111-140. Qualifications and requirements for 
providers and substitute providers. 

A. Providers and substitute providers shall be 18 years of 
age or older. 

B. Providers licensed after and substitute providers 
employed after [insert effective date of this regulation] shall 
have: 

1. (i) A high school program completion or the equivalent 
or (ii) evidence of having met the requirements for 
admission to an accredited college or university; 

2. Three months of programmatic experience; 

3. Current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation 
(CPR), as appropriate to the age of the children in care, 
from the American Red Cross, American Heart 
Association, American Safety and Health Institute, the 
National Safety Council, or other designated program 
approved by the department; and 

4. Current certification in first aid from the American Red 
Cross, American Heart Association, American Safety and 
Health Institute, the National Safety Council, or other 
designated program approved by the department. 

EXCEPTION: A provider or substitute provider who is a 
registered nurse or licensed practical nurse with a current 
license from the Board of Nursing shall not be required to 
obtain first aid certification. 

C. Use of a substitute provider shall be limited to no more 
than a total of 240 hours per calendar year. 

D. A substitute provider shall record and sign the time of 
arrivals and departures on each day that the substitute 
provider works. 

22VAC40-111-150. Qualifications and requirements for 
assistants. 

A. Assistants shall: 

1. Be 16 years of age or older; 

2. Have current certification in cardiopulmonary 
resuscitation (CPR), as appropriate to the age of the 
children in care, from the American Red Cross, 
American Heart Association, American Safety and 
Health Institute, National Safety Council, or other 
designated program approved by the department; and 

3. Have current certification in first aid from the 
American Red Cross, American Heart Association, 
American Safety and Health Institute, National Safety 
Council, or other designated program approved by the 
department. 

EXCEPTION: An assistant who is a registered nurse or 
licensed practical nurse with a current license from the Board 
of Nursing shall not be required to obtain first aid 
certification. 

B. An assistant under the age of 18 years of age shall always 
work under the direct supervision of the provider or substitute 
provider. Direct supervision means being able to hear or see 
the assistant and children at all times. 

C. An assistant 18 years of age or older shall not be left 
alone with children in care for more than two hours per day. 

D. An assistant 18 years of age or older who meets the 
requirements for a substitute provider may act as the 
substitute provider when the provider is absent from the home 
for more than two hours. 

22VAC40-111-160. Attributes for household members. 

Members of the family day household 14 years of age and 
older, including relatives and lodgers shall: 

1. Display behavior that demonstrates emotional stability, 

2. Be of good character and reputation, and 

3. Meet the requirements specified in 22VAC40-191, 
Background Checks for Child Welfare Agencies. 

22VAC40-111-170. Initial tuberculosis screening for 
caregivers and household members. 

A. The provider shall obtain from each caregiver at the time 
of hire and each adult household member prior to coming into 
contact with children a current Report of Tuberculosis 
Screening form published by the Virginia Department of 
Health or a form consistent with it documenting the absence 
of tuberculosis in a communicable form. 

B. The form shall have been completed within the last 30 
days and be signed by a physician, physicians' designee, or an 
official of the local health department.  

22VAC40-111-180. Subsequent tuberculosis screening for 
caregivers and household members. 

A. The provider shall obtain for each caregiver and adult 
household member a current Report of Tuberculosis 
Screening form, in accordance with the requirements in 
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22VAC40-111-170, every two years from the date of the first 
screening or more frequently as recommended by a physician 
or the local health department. 

B. Within 30 days of a caregiver's or adult household 
member's coming into contact with a known case of 
infectious tuberculosis, the provider shall obtain for the 
individual a new Report of Tuberculosis Screening form in 
accordance with the requirements in 22VAC40-111-170. 
Until a new screening form is issued that documents the 
absence of tuberculosis in a communicable form, the 
caregiver or adult household member shall not have contact 
with children. 

C. The provider shall immediately obtain a new Report of 
Tuberculosis Screening form in accordance with the 
requirements in 22VAC40-111-170 for any caregiver or adult 
household member who develops chronic respiratory 
symptoms of three weeks duration. Until a new screening 
form is issued that documents the absence of tuberculosis in a 
communicable form, the caregiver or adult household 
member shall not have contact with children. 

22VAC40-111-190. Physical and mental health 
examinations for caregivers and household members. 

A. The provider or the department's representative may 
require a report of examination by a licensed physician or 
mental health professional when there are indications that a 
caregiver's or household member's physical or mental health 
may endanger the health, safety, or well-being of children in 
care. 

B. A caregiver or household member who is determined by 
a licensed physician or mental health professional to show an 
indication of a physical or mental condition that may 
endanger the health, safety, or well-being of children in care 
or that would prevent the performance of duties shall be 
removed immediately from contact with children and food 
served to children until the condition is cleared as evidenced 
by a signed statement from the physician or mental health 
professional. 

22VAC40-111-200. Orientation. 

A. The provider shall orient the substitute provider and 
assistant by the end of their first week of assuming job 
responsibilities.  

B. The orientation shall cover the following topics: 

1. Job responsibilities; 

2. Requirements for parental notifications listed in 
22VAC40-111-650; 

3. Standards in this chapter that relate to the substitute 
provider's or assistant's responsibilities; 

4. Emergency evacuation, relocation, and shelter-in-place 
procedures; 

5. Location of emergency numbers, first aid kit, and 
emergency supplies;  

6. Confidential treatment of information about children in 
care and their families; and 

7. Requirement for reporting suspected child abuse and 
neglect. 

C. Documentation of the orientation shall be signed and 
dated by the provider and substitute provider or by the 
provider and assistant. 

22VAC40-111-210. Annual training. 

A. In addition to satisfactory completion of first aid training 
and CPR training, caregivers shall obtain a minimum of eight 
clock hours of training annually in areas relevant to their job 
responsibilities. 

1. One year after [insert the effective date of this 
regulation], caregivers shall obtain 12 clock hours of 
training annually. 

2. Two years after [insert the effective date of this 
regulation], caregivers shall obtain 14 clock hours of 
training annually. 

3. Three years after [insert the effective date of this 
regulation], caregivers shall obtain 16 clock hours of 
training annually. 

B. The annual training shall cover areas such as, but not 
limited to: 

1. Physical, intellectual, social, and emotional child 
development; 

2. Behavior management and discipline techniques; 

3. Health and safety in the family day home environment; 

4. Art and music activities for children;  

5. Child nutrition; 

6. Recognition and prevention of child abuse and neglect; 
or 

7. Recognition and prevention of the spread of 
communicable diseases. 

22VAC40-111-220. Medication administration training. 

A. To safely perform medication administration practices 
listed in 22VAC40-111-710 whenever the family day home 
has agreed to administer prescription medications, the 
administration shall be performed by a caregiver who: 

1. Has satisfactorily completed a training program for this 
purpose developed or approved by the Board of Nursing 
and taught by a registered nurse, licensed practical nurse, 
doctor of medicine or osteopathic medicine, or pharmacist; 
or 
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2. Is licensed by the Commonwealth of Virginia to 
administer medications. 

B. Caregivers required to have the training in subdivision A 
1 of this section shall be retrained at three-year intervals. 

C. To safely perform medication administration practices 
listed in 22VAC40-111-720 whenever the family day home 
has agreed to administer nonprescription medications, the 
administration must shall be performed by a caregiver who: 

1. Has satisfactorily completed a training program for this 
purpose developed by the Department of Social Services, 
or  

2. Is licensed by the Commonwealth of Virginia to 
administer medications. 

D. Caregivers required to have the training specified in 
subdivision C 1 of this section shall be retrained at three-year 
intervals. 

22VAC40-111-230. Documentation of education and 
training. 

A. The provider shall maintain written documentation of 
each caregiver's applicable education and programmatic 
experience, first aid certification, CPR certification, 
orientation, annual training, and applicable medication 
administration training. 

B. Written documentation of annual training shall include: 

1. Name of the caregiver, 

2. Name of the training session, 

3. Date and total hours of the session, and 

4. Name of the organization that sponsored the training and 
the trainer. 

22VAC40-111-240. Home maintenance. 

A. Areas and furnishings of the family day home, inside and 
outside, shall be maintained in a clean, safe, and operable 
condition. Unsafe conditions shall include, but not be limited 
to, splintered, cracked or otherwise deteriorating wood; 
chipped or peeling paint; visible cracks, bending or warping, 
rusting or breakage of any equipment; head entrapment 
hazards; and protruding nails, bolts, or other components that 
could entangle or could snag skin. 

B. No equipment, materials, or furnishings shall be used if 
recalled or identified by the U.S. Consumer Product Safety 
Commission as being hazardous. 

22VAC40-111-250. Hanging and strangulation hazards. 

A. Hanging items including, but not limited to, window 
blind or curtain cords, appliance cords, and tablecloths shall 
be out of reach of children under five years of age. 

B. Children shall be protected from materials that could be 
swallowed or present a choking hazard. Toys or objects less 
than 1-1/4 inches in diameter and less than two inches in 
length shall be kept out of reach of children under the age of 
three years. 

C. Items tied across the top or corner of a crib or playpen or 
toys hung from the sides with strings or cords shall be 
removed when the child begins to push up on hands and 
knees or is five months of age, whichever occurs first. 

D. Hood or neck drawstrings shall be removed from a child's 
clothing prior to a child's using climbing play equipment. 

22VAC40-111-260. Drowning hazards. 

A. Access to the water in aboveground swimming pools 
shall be prevented by locking and securing the ladder in place 
or storing the ladder in a place inaccessible to children. 

B. A nonclimbable barrier at least four feet high such as, but 
not limited to, a fence or impenetrable hedge shall surround 
outdoor play areas located within 30 feet of drowning hazards 
such as, but not limited to, inground swimming or wading 
pools, ponds, or fountains not enclosed by safety fences. 
Facilities licensed prior to [insert the effective date of this 
regulation] must comply fully with the requirement of this 
subsection within one year of [insert the effective date of this 
regulation]. 

C. Portable wading pools without integral filter systems 
shall: 

1. Be emptied after use by each group of children, rinsed, 
and filled with clean water, or more frequently as 
necessary; and  

2. When not in use during the family day home's hours of 
operation, be emptied, sanitized, and stored in a position to 
keep them clean and dry. 

D. Portable wading pools shall not be used by children who 
are not potty trained. 

E. Bathtubs, buckets, and other containers of liquid 
accessible to children shall be emptied immediately after use. 

F. Hot tubs, spas, and whirlpools shall: 

1. Not be used by children in care, and 

2. Covered with safety covers while children are in care. 

22VAC40-111-270. Firearms and ammunition. 

A. Firearms of every type and purpose shall be stored 
unloaded in a locked container, compartment or cabinet, and 
apart from ammunition. 

B. Ammunition shall be stored in a locked container, 
compartment or cabinet during the family day home's hours 
of operation. 
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C. If a key is used to lock the container, compartment or 
cabinet, the key shall be inaccessible to children. 

22VAC40-111-280. Poisonous materials. 

Potentially poisonous substances, materials and supplies 
such as, but not limited to, cleaning agents, disinfectants, 
deodorizers, plant care chemicals, pesticides, and petroleum 
distillates shall be stored away from food in areas inaccessible 
to children. 

22VAC40-111-290. Sharp objects. 

Sharp kitchen utensils and other sharp objects shall be 
inaccessible to children unless being used by the caregiver or 
with children under close supervision. 

22VAC40-111-300. Body fluids contamination. 

When any surface has been contaminated with body fluids, 
it shall be cleaned and sanitized. 

22VAC40-111-310. Machinery. 

Machinery such as lawnmowers and power tools shall be 
inaccessible to the children in care. 

22VAC40-111-320. Fire safety and shock prevention. 

A. Small electrical appliances such as, but not limited to, 
curling irons, toasters, blenders, can openers, and irons shall 
be unplugged and placed in an area inaccessible to children 
unless being used by the caregiver or with children under 
close supervision. 

B. Child-resistant protective covers larger than 1-1/4 inches 
in diameter shall be installed on all unused electrical outlets 
accessible to children. 

C. No electrical device accessible to children shall be placed 
so that it could be plugged into an electrical outlet while in 
contact with a water source, such as a sink, tub, shower area, 
toilet, or swimming or wading pool. 

D. Electrical cords and electrical appliances and equipment 
with cords that are frayed and have exposed wires shall not be 
used. 

E. Radiators, oil and wood burning stoves, floor furnaces, 
fireplaces, portable electric heaters, and similar heating 
devices located in areas accessible to children shall have 
barriers or screens and be located at least three feet from 
combustible materials. 

F. Unvented fuel burning heaters shall not be used when 
children are in care. Unvented fuel burning heaters include, 
but are not limited to, portable oil-burning (kerosene) heaters; 
portable, unvented liquid or gas fueled heaters; and unvented 
fireplaces. 

G. Wood burning stoves and fireplaces and associated 
chimneys shall be inspected annually by a knowledgeable 
inspector to verify that the devices are properly installed, 

maintained, and cleaned as needed. Documentation of the 
inspection and cleaning shall be maintained by the provider. 

H. All flammable and combustible materials such as, but not 
limited to, matches, lighters, lighter fluid, kerosene, 
turpentine, oil and grease products, aerosol cans and alcohol 
shall be stored in an area inaccessible to children. 

I. If there are open and obvious fire hazards, including the 
absence of fire extinguishers or smoke detectors as required 
by the Uniform Statewide Building Code and the Statewide 
Fire Prevention Code, the local fire prevention or building 
officials, or the State Fire Marshal's office shall be contacted 
by the department's representative. The provider shall comply 
with the requirements or recommendations made by the fire 
prevention or building officials to eliminate fire hazards. 

22VAC40-111-330. Telephones. 

A. A landline telephone, excluding a cordless or cell phone, 
shall be available, operable, and accessible during the family 
day home's hours of operation. An operable landline 
telephone is one that does not require electricity to operate. 
Cordless or cell phones may be used in addition to the 
landline telephone.  

B. If the telephone number is unlisted, the provider shall 
ensure that parents and the department have been given the 
unlisted number in writing. 

C. The provider shall inform the department within 48 hours 
and parents within 24 hours of a change of the telephone 
number. 

22VAC40-111-340. Bathrooms. 

A. The home shall have an indoor bathroom. 

B. The bathroom shall be easily accessible to children two 
years of age and older. 

C. The bathroom shall be kept clean and contain a working 
toilet and sink, toilet tissue, liquid soap, and paper towels. 

22VAC40-111-350. Water supply. 

A. The home shall have indoor running water. 

B. When water is not obtained from a municipal supply, and 
the house is not connected to a municipal sewer line, the 
water supply and septic system of the family day home shall 
be inspected and approved by the local health official or a 
private laboratory if there are open and obvious symptoms of 
water or sewage system problems, such as evidence of 
cloudy, murky, or muddy water, or sewage back up. 

C. Family day homes connected to a municipal water supply 
and sewer line that have open and obvious symptoms of water 
or sewage system problems shall have the problems corrected 
within a time frame established by the local public utility 
department. 
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D. There shall be an ample supply of hot and cold water 
available to children and caregivers for hand washing. 

E. Hot water at taps available to children shall be maintained 
within a range of 105°F to 120°F. 

22VAC40-111-360. Garbage. 

A. Garbage shall be removed on a daily basis from rooms 
occupied by children and removed from the premises at least 
once weekly or more often as needed. 

B. There shall be a sufficient number of garbage and diaper 
containers. 

C. Children shall not be allowed access to garbage storage 
areas. 

D. Garbage storage areas shall be free of litter, odor, and 
uncontained trash. 

22VAC40-111-370. Rodents and insects. 

A. The home shall be kept free from rodents and insect 
infestation. 

B. No home shall maintain any receptacle or pool, whether 
natural or artificial, containing water in such condition that 
insects breeding therein may become a menace to public 
health. 

22VAC40-111-380. Space. 

The home shall provide each child with adequate space to 
allow free movement and active play indoors and out. 

22VAC40-111-390. Individual location. 

A. Each child who is two years of age and older shall have 
access to an individual location in which to keep clothing, 
toys, and belongings. 

B. Each child who is under the age of two shall have an 
individual location in which to keep clothing, toys, and 
belongings that is accessible to the caregiver and parent. 

22VAC40-111-400. Heating and cooling. 

A. The temperature in all inside areas occupied by children 
shall be maintained no lower than 65ºF. 

B. Fans or other cooling systems shall be used when the 
temperature of inside areas occupied by children exceeds 
80ºF. 

22VAC40-111-410. Electric fans. 

Portable electric fans shall be securely mounted out of the 
reach of children and shall be equipped with a mesh guard. 

22VAC40-111-420. Lighting. 

A. All rooms, halls, and stairways used by children in care 
shall be lighted with natural or electric lighting for the 
children's safety and comfort.   

B. Entrance and exit ways shall be unobstructed and be 
lighted with natural or electric lighting. 

22VAC40-111-430. Stairs. 

A. Children under two years of age and children over two 
years of age who are not developmentally ready to climb or 
descend stairs without supervision shall not have access to 
stairs.  

B. Accordion expansion gates and pressure mounted gates 
shall not be used as protective barriers at stair openings.  

C. Children over the age of two shall not have access to 
stairs with three or more risers that do not have protective 
barriers or guardrails on each side. 

D. Protective barriers or guardrails on sides of stairs shall be 
constructed to prevent a child from climbing over, crawling 
or falling through, or becoming entrapped. 

22VAC40-111-440. Decks and porches. 

A. Children shall not have access to decks, porches, lofts, or 
balconies that do not have protective barriers or guardrails. 

B. Protective barriers or guardrails shall be constructed to 
prevent a child from climbing over, crawling or falling 
through, or becoming entrapped. 

22VAC40-111-450. Doors and windows. 

A. Doors with clear glass panels that reach within 18 inches 
of the floor shall be clearly marked with decorative objects 
such as pictures, art work, or decals at the eye level of 
children in care. 

B. Closet door latches shall be such that children can open 
the door from inside the closet. 

C. Bathroom door locks shall be designed to permit opening 
of the locked door from the outside with a readily accessible 
opening device. 

D. Windows and doors used for ventilation shall be securely 
screened. 

22VAC40-111-460. Animals. 

A. Family pets shall not be allowed on any surfaces where 
food is prepared or served. 

B. Any pet or animal present at the home, indoors or 
outdoors, shall be in good health and show no evidence of 
carrying any disease. 

C. Dogs or cats, where allowed, shall be vaccinated for 
rabies and shall be treated for fleas, ticks, or worms as 
needed. 

D. The provider shall maintain documentation of the current 
rabies vaccination. 

E. Caregivers shall closely supervise children when children 
are exposed to animals. 
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F. Children shall be instructed on safe procedures to follow 
when in close proximity to animals, e.g., not to provoke or 
startle them or remove their food. 

G. Animals that have shown aggressive behavior shall not 
be kept in the home or on the grounds. 

H. Monkeys, ferrets, turtles, iguanas, psittacine birds (birds 
of the parrot family), or venomous and constricting snakes 
shall not be in areas accessible to children during the hours 
children are in care. 

I. Animal litter boxes, toys, food dishes, and water dishes 
shall not be located in areas accessible to children. 

J. All animal excrement shall be removed promptly, 
disposed of properly, and the soiled area cleaned. 

22VAC40-111-470. Smoking and prohibited substances. 

The provider shall ensure that: 

1. No person smokes: 

a. Indoors while children are in care, 

b. In a vehicle when children are transported, or 

c. Outdoors in an area occupied by children. 

2. No caregiver is under the effects of medication that 
impairs functioning, alcohol, or illegal drugs. 

22VAC40-111-480. Play equipment and materials. 

A. The family day home shall provide a sufficient quantity 
and variety of play materials and equipment that shall be 
readily accessible to children. 

B. Equipment and materials used by a child shall be 
appropriate to the age, size, ability, and interest of the child. 

C. Materials and equipment available shall include, but not 
be limited to, arts and crafts materials, texture materials, 
construction materials, music and sound materials, books, 
social living equipment, and manipulative equipment. 

D. Equipment used by children shall be assembled, 
maintained, and used in accordance with the manufacturer's 
instructions. 

E. Equipment and materials used by children shall be clean, 
nontoxic, and free from hazards such as lead paint, sharp 
edges or points, loose parts, and rust. 

F. Toys mouthed by children shall be cleaned and sanitized 
daily. 

22VAC40-111-490. Indoor slides and climbing equipment. 

The climbing portions of indoor slides and climbing 
equipment over 18 inches high shall not be over bare floor. 

22VAC40-111-500. Outdoor play area and equipment. 

A. A nonclimbable barrier at least four feet high such as, but 
not limited to, a fence or impenetrable hedge shall surround 
outdoor play areas located within 30 feet of hazards such as, 
but not limited to, streets with speed limits in excess of 25 
miles per hour or with heavy traffic, or railroad tracks. 
Facilities licensed prior to [insert the effective date of this 
regulation] must comply fully with the requirement of this 
subsection within one year of [insert the effective date of this 
regulation]. 

B. The highest climbing rung or platform on outdoor 
climbing equipment or top of a slide shall not exceed six feet 
for school age children and four feet for preschool children. 

C. Stationary outdoor playground equipment shall: 

1. Not be installed over concrete, asphalt, or any other hard 
surface;  

2. Be placed at least six feet from the perimeter of other 
play structures or obstacles; and 

3. Be firmly anchored with ground supports that are 
covered with materials to protect children from injury. 

D. Outdoor play equipment shall meet the following 
requirements: 

1. "S" hooks shall be tightly closed; 

2. Swings shall have flexible seats of rubber, canvas, or 
nylon; 

3. Nonflexible-molded seats shall be used only when a 
caregiver stays within arm's length of any hard-molded 
swing in use and is positioned to see and protect other 
children who might walk into the path of the swing; 

4. Openings above the ground that are closed on all sides 
shall be smaller than 3-1/2 inches or larger than nine inches 
to prevent head entrapment hazards; 

5. Ropes, loops or any hanging apparatus that might entrap, 
close, or tighten upon a child shall not be used; 

6. Equipment with moving parts that might pinch or crush 
children's hands or fingers shall not be used unless they 
have guards or covers; and 

7. Equipment with platforms and ramps over 30 inches 
high shall have been designed with guardrails or barriers to 
prevent falls. 

E. Sandboxes shall be covered when not in use. 

F. Trampolines shall not be used during the hours children 
are in care. 

22VAC40-111-510. Rest areas. 

A. A child shall be provided with an individual crib, cot, rest 
mat, or bed for resting or napping. 
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B. Upper levels of double-deck beds shall not be used. 

C. Occupied cribs, cots, rest mats, and beds shall be: 

1. At least three feet from any heat-producing appliance; 
and 

2. At least 12 inches from each other. 

D. Rest mats that are used must have at least an inch of 
cushioning. 

E. Rest mats shall be cleaned and sanitized on all sides at 
least weekly and as needed. 

22VAC40-111-520. Cribs. 

A. Cribs shall be provided for children from birth through 
12 months of age and for children over 12 months of age who 
are not developmentally ready to sleep on a cot, rest mat, or 
bed. 

B. Cribs shall not be used as a play space for infants. 

C. Cribs shall: 

1. Meet the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission 
standards at the time they were manufactured; 

2. Not have been recalled; 

3. Have no more than six centimeters or 2-3/8 inches of 
space between slats; 

4. Have mattresses that fit snugly next to the crib so that no 
more than two fingers can be inserted between the mattress 
and the crib; 

5. Not have end panel cutouts of a size to cause head 
entrapment; and 

6. Not have mesh sides. 

D. Double-decker cribs shall not be used. 

E. Crib bumper pads shall not be used. 

F. Crib sides shall always be up and the fastenings secured 
when a child is in the crib, except when the caregiver is 
giving the child immediate attention. 

22VAC40-111-530. Linens. 

A. Cribs, cots, rest mats, and beds when being used for 
sleeping or napping by children other than infants shall have 
linens consisting of a top cover and a bottom cover or a one-
piece covering that is open on three edges. 

B. Cribs when being used by infants shall have a tight-fitting 
bottom cover. 

C. Linens shall be assigned for individual use. 

D. Linens shall be clean and washed at least weekly or when 
soiled; crib sheets shall be cleaned and washed daily. 

E. Clean linens shall be used each time a child rests on the 
bed of a family member. 

F. No soft bedding of any kind shall be used under or around 
infants including, but not limited to, pillows, quilts, 
comforters, sheepskins, or stuffed toys. 

G. Children under two years of age shall not use pillows or 
filled comforters. 

H. Pillows, when used for children over two years of age, 
shall be assigned for individual use and covered with 
pillowcases. 

I. Mattresses, when used, shall be covered with a waterproof 
material that can be cleaned and sanitized. 

22VAC40-111-540. Infant and toddler equipment. 

A. Infant carrier seats, swings, strollers, feeding or activity 
tables, and high chairs shall be used according to the 
manufacturer's instructions and when occupied by a child, a 
safety strap shall be used and securely fastened. 

B. Infant walkers shall not be used. 

22VAC40-111-550. Play pens. 

A play pen where used shall: 

1. Have either mesh netting with mesh holes smaller than 
1/4 inch or slats no more than 2-3/8 inches apart; 

2. Have a firm floor with a secured, waterproof pad that is 
not more than one-inch thick; 

3. Have the sides up and the fastenings secured when a 
child is in the play pen, except when the caregiver is giving 
the child immediate attention;  

4. Be cleaned and sanitized each day of use or more often 
as needed; 

5. Not be occupied by more than one child;  

6. Not be used for the designated sleeping area; 

7. Not have torn mesh sides or vinyl-covered or fabric-
covered rails, protruding rivets on the rails, or broken 
hinges; 

8. Not contain any pillows or filled comforters; 

9. Not contain large toys and other objects that can serve as 
a stepping stool for climbing out when a child can pull to a 
standing position;  

10. Not be used by children who weigh 30 pounds or more; 
and 

11. Not be used by children who are 35 inches tall or taller. 

22VAC40-111-560. Supervision. 

A. Caregivers who are supervising children shall always 
ensure the children's care, protection, and guidance. 
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B. When awake, infants and toddlers shall always be within 
actual sight and sound of a caregiver. 

C. When awake, preschoolers shall always be within actual 
sight or sound of a caregiver. If a preschool-aged child is only 
within sound of a caregiver, the caregiver shall monitor the 
child by in-person checks at least every 15 minutes and every 
five minutes if the child is in the restroom. 

D. Sleeping infants, toddlers, and preschoolers shall be 
within actual sight or sound of a caregiver. 

E. If a sleeping infant, toddler, or preschooler is only within 
sound of a caregiver, the caregiver shall monitor the child by 
observing the child at least every 15 minutes. 

F. Infants shall be protected from older children. 

G. School age children shall be supervised in a manner that 
ensures a caregiver is aware of what the children are doing at 
all times and can promptly assist, redirect, and intervene in 
activities when necessary. 

H. In deciding how closely to supervise school age children, 
caregivers shall consider the following: 

1. Ages of children; 

2. Individual differences and abilities; 

3. Layout of the house and play area; 

4. Neighborhood circumstances or hazards; and 

5. Risk of activities in which children are engaged. 

I. No child under five years of age or a child older than five 
who lacks the motor skills and strength to avoid accidental 
drowning, scalding, or falling while bathing shall be left 
unattended while in the bathtub. 

22VAC40-111-570. Determining need for additional 
caregiver. 

A. The provider shall ensure that a caregiver does not 
exceed 16 points by using the following point system to 
determine if an additional caregiver is needed: 

1. Children from birth through 15 months of age count as 
four points each; 

2. Children from 16 months through 23 months of age 
count as three points each; 

3. Children from two through four years of age count as 
two points each; 

4. Children from five years through nine years of age count 
as one point each; and 

5. Children who are 10 years of age and older count as zero 
points. 

B. A caregiver's own children and resident children under 
eight years of age count in point maximums. 

22VAC40-111-580. General requirements for programs. 

A. In order to promote the child's physical, intellectual, 
emotional, and social well-being and growth, caregivers shall: 

1. Talk to the child; 

2. Provide needed help, comfort, support; 

3. Respect personal privacy; 

4. Respect differences in cultural, ethnic, and family 
backgrounds; 

5. Encourage decision-making abilities; 

6. Promote ways of getting along; 

7. Encourage independence and self-direction; and 

8. Use consistency in applying expectations. 

B. Caregivers shall provide age-appropriate activities for 
children in care throughout the day that: 

1. Are based on the physical, social, emotional, and 
intellectual needs of the children; 

2. Reflect the diversity of enrolled children's families, 
culture, and ethnic backgrounds; and 

3. Enhance the total development of children. 

C. Daily age-appropriate activities shall include: 

1. Opportunities for alternating periods of indoor active 
and quiet play depending on the ages of the children; 

2. Opportunities for vigorous outdoor play daily, 
depending upon the weather, the ages, and the health of the 
children; 

3. Opportunities for one or more regularly scheduled rest 
or nap periods. Children unable to sleep shall be provided 
time and space for quiet play; 

4. Opportunities for children to learn about themselves, 
others, and the world around them; 

5. Opportunities for children to exercise initiative and 
develop independence in accordance with their ages; and 

6. Opportunities for structured and unstructured play time 
and provider-directed and child-initiated learning activities. 

22VAC40-111-590. Requirements for sleeping and resting. 

A. Infants shall be placed on their backs when sleeping or 
napping unless otherwise ordered by a written statement 
signed by the child's physician. 

B. An infant, toddler, or preschool child who falls asleep in 
a play space other than his own crib, cot, mat, or bed shall be 
moved promptly to his designated sleeping space if the safety 
or comfort of the infant, toddler, or preschool child is in 
question. 
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C. School age children shall be allowed to nap if needed, but 
not forced to do so. 

22VAC40-111-600. Daily activities for infants and 
toddlers. 

A. Infants and toddlers shall be provided with opportunities 
to: 

1. Interact with caregivers and other children in the home 
in order to stimulate language development; 

2. Play with a wide variety of safe, age-appropriate toys; 

3. Receive individual attention from caregivers including, 
but not limited to, holding, cuddling, talking, and reading; 
and 

4. Reach, grasp, pull up, creep, crawl, and walk to develop 
motor skills. 

B. Infants and toddlers shall spend no more than 30 minutes 
of consecutive time during waking hours, with the exception 
of mealtimes, confined in a crib, play pen, high chair or other 
confining piece of equipment. The intervening time period 
between confinements shall be at least one hour. 

22VAC40-111-610. Television, computers, videos, and 
video games. 

A. Use of media such as, but not limited to, television, 
videos, video games, and computers shall be: 

1. Limited to not more than a total of two hours per day; 
and 

2. Limited to programs, tapes, websites, and software that 
are produced for children or are suitable for children.  

B. Other activities shall be available to children during 
television or video viewing. 

22VAC40-111-620. Care of a child with special needs. 

A. Caregivers shall provide a child with special needs with 
the care and activities recommended in writing by a 
physician, psychologist, or other professional who has 
evaluated or treated the child. 

B. The written recommendation shall: 

1. Include instructions for any special treatment, diet, or 
restrictions in activities that are necessary for the health of 
the child; and 

2. Be maintained in the child's record. 

C. The provider shall ensure the environment is appropriate 
for the child based on the plan of care and shall instruct other 
caregivers in the proper techniques of care. 

D. A caregiver shall perform only those procedures and 
treatments for which he has the necessary training, 
experience, credentials or license to perform. 

E. Staffing shall be appropriate and adequate to meet the 
specific physical and developmental needs of a child with 
special needs in care. 

F. The provider and the parent of the child with special 
needs shall mutually determine a recommendation for the 
level of staffing necessary to care for and supervise the child 
based on the child's chronological and functional age and 
degree of disability. 

G. Within 30 days of the child's enrollment, the provider 
shall provide the department's representative a written 
recommendation for the level of staffing necessary to care for 
and supervise the child. 

H. The department shall make the final decision regarding 
level of staffing or any capacity limitations necessary to care 
for, supervise, and protect all children in care when a child 
with special needs is receiving care. 

I. The parent, provider, and department's representative shall 
review the staffing requirements annually. 

J. A separate area shall be provided for the purpose of 
privacy for diapering, dressing, and other personal care 
procedures for a child above age three with special needs who 
requires assistance in these activities. 

22VAC40-111-630. Behavioral guidance. 

A. Caregivers shall use positive methods of discipline.  
Discipline shall be constructive in nature and include 
techniques such as: 

1. Using limits that are fair, consistently applied, 
appropriate, and understandable for the child's level of 
development; 

2. Providing children with reasons for limits; 

3. Giving positively worded direction; 

4. Modeling and redirecting children to acceptable 
behavior; 

5. Helping children to constructively express their feelings 
and frustration to resolve conflict; and 

6. Arranging equipment, materials, activities, and 
schedules in a way that promotes desirable behavior. 

B. When time out is used as a discipline technique: 

1. It shall be used sparingly and shall not exceed one 
minute for each year of the child's age; 

2. It shall be appropriate to the child's developmental level 
and circumstances; 

3. It shall not be used with infants or toddlers; 

4. The child shall be in a safe, lighted, well-ventilated 
place, and within sight and sound of a caregiver; and 
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5. The child shall not be left alone inside or outside the 
home while separated from the group. 

22VAC40-111-640. Forbidden actions. 

The following acts or threats thereof are forbidden: 

1. Physical punishment including, but not limited to, 
striking a child, roughly handling or shaking a child, 
biting, pinching, restricting movement through binding or 
tying, forcing a child to assume an uncomfortable position, 
or exercise as punishment; 

2. Enclosure in a small, confined space or any space that 
the child cannot freely exit himself; however, this does not 
apply to the use of equipment such as cribs, play pens, high 
chairs, and safety gates when used for their intended 
purpose with children preschool age or younger; 

3. Punishment by another child; 

4. Withholding or forcing of food, water, or rest; 

5. Verbal remarks that are demeaning to the child; 

6. Punishment for toileting accidents; and 

7. Punishment by applying unpleasant or harmful 
substances. 

22VAC40-111-650. Parent notifications. 

A. The provider shall provide written notification to the 
parent within 10 business days after the effective date of the 
change when there is no longer liability insurance in force on 
the family day home operation; 

1. The provider shall obtain the parent's written 
acknowledgement of the receipt of this notification, and 

2. A copy of the parent's written acknowledgement of the 
receipt of this notification shall be maintained in the child's 
record. 

B. Caregivers shall provide information daily to parents 
about the child's health, development, behavior, adjustment, 
or needs. 

C. The provider shall give parents prior notice when a 
substitute provider will be caring for the children. 

D. Caregivers shall notify parents when persistent 
behavioral problems are identified and such notification shall 
include any disciplinary steps taken in response. 

E. The provider shall notify the parent immediately when 
the child: 

1. Has a head injury or any serious injury that requires 
emergency medical or dental treatment; 

2. Has an adverse reaction to medication administered; 

3. Has been administered medication incorrectly; 

4. Is lost or missing; or 

5. Has died. 

F. The provider shall notify a parent the same day whenever 
first aid is administered to the child. 

G. When a child has been exposed to a communicable 
disease listed in the Department of Health's current 
communicable disease chart, the provider shall notify the 
parent within 24 hours or the next business day of the home's 
having been informed, unless forbidden by law, except for 
life-threatening diseases, which must be reported to parents 
immediately. The provider shall consult the local health 
department if there is a question about the communicability of 
a disease. 

H. Parents shall be informed of any changes in the home's 
emergency preparedness and response plan. 

I. Except in emergency evacuation or relocation situations, 
the provider shall inform the parent and have written 
permission as required by 22VAC40-111-980 whenever the 
child will be taken off the premises of the family day home, 
before such occasion. 

J. If an emergency evacuation or relocation is necessary, the 
parent shall be informed of the child's whereabouts as soon as 
possible. 

22VAC40-111-660. Swimming and wading activities. 

A. The level of supervision by caregivers required in 
22VAC40-111-560 and the point system as outlined in 
22VAC40-111-570 shall be maintained while the children are 
participating in swimming or wading activities. 

B. The family day home shall obtain: 

1. Written permission from the parent of each child who 
participates in swimming or wading activities, and  

2. A written statement from the parent advising of a child's 
swimming skills before the child is allowed in water above 
the child's shoulder height. 

C. Caregivers shall have a system for accounting for all 
children in the water. 

D. Outdoor swimming activities shall occur only during 
daylight hours. 

E. When one or more children are in water that is more than 
two feet deep in a pool, lake, or other swimming area on or 
off the premises of the family day home: 

1. A minimum of least two caregivers shall be present and 
able to supervise the children; and  

2. An individual currently certified in basic water rescue, 
community water safety, water safety instruction, or 
lifeguarding shall be on duty supervising the children 
participating in swimming or wading activities at all times. 
The certification shall be obtained from an organization 
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such as, but not limited to, the American Red Cross, the 
YMCA, or the Boy Scouts. 

22VAC40-111-670. Exclusion of sick children. 

A. Unless otherwise approved by a child's health care 
professional, a child shall be excluded from the family day 
home if he has: 

1. Both fever and behavior change. A fever means oral 
temperature over 101ºF or armpit temperature over 100ºF; 

2. Diarrhea (more watery, less formed, more frequent 
stools not associated with a diet change or medication). 
Children in diapers who develop diarrhea shall be 
excluded, and children who have learned to use the toilet, 
but cannot make it to the toilet in time, shall also be 
excluded; 

3. Recurrent vomiting (vomiting two or more times in 24 
hours); or  

4. Symptoms of a communicable disease listed in the 
Virginia Department of Health's current communicable 
disease chart. 

B. If a child needs to be excluded according to subsection A 
of this section, the following shall apply: 

1. The parents or designated emergency contact shall be 
contacted immediately so that arrangements can be made 
to remove the child from the home as soon as possible; and 

2. The child shall remain in a quiet, designated area and the 
caregiver shall respond immediately to the child until the 
child leaves the home. 

22VAC40-111-680. Hand washing. 

A. Caregivers shall wash their hands with liquid soap and 
warm running water: 

1. When their hands are dirty; 

2. After toileting; 

3. Before preparing and serving food; 

4. Before feeding or helping children with feeding; 

5. After contact with any body fluids; 

6. After handling or caring for animals; 

7. After handling raw eggs or meat; and 

8. After diapering a child or assisting a child with toileting. 

B. Caregivers shall ensure that children wash their hands 
with liquid soap and warm running water: 

1. When their hands are dirty; 

2. Before eating; 

3. After toileting; 

4. After handling or caring for animals; and 

5. After contact with any body fluids. 

22VAC40-111-690. Diapering and toileting. 

A. A child shall not be left unattended on a changing table 
during diapering. 

B. When a child's clothing or diaper becomes wet or soiled, 
the child shall be cleaned and changed immediately. 

C. During each diaper change or after toileting accidents, the 
child's genital area shall be thoroughly cleaned with a moist 
disposable wipe or a moist, clean individually assigned cloth, 
if the child is allergic to disposable wipes. 

D. The diapering surface shall be: 

1. Separate from the kitchen, food preparation areas, or 
surfaces used for children's activities; 

2. Nonabsorbent and washable; and 

3. Cleaned and sanitized after each use. 

E. Soiled disposable diapers and wipes shall be disposed of 
in a leak-proof or plastic-lined storage system that is either 
foot operated or used in such a way that neither the 
caregiver's hand nor the soiled diaper or wipe touches the 
exterior surface of the storage system during disposal. 

F. When cloth diapers are used, a separate leak-proof 
storage system as specified in subsection E of this section 
shall be used. 

G. Children five years of age and older shall be permitted 
privacy when toileting. 

H. Caregivers shall respond promptly to a child's request for 
toileting assistance. 

I. The provider shall consult with the parent before toilet 
training is initiated. 

J. Toilet training shall be relaxed and pressure free. 

K. There shall be a toilet chair or an adult-sized toilet with a 
platform or steps and adapter seat available to a child being 
toilet trained. 

L. Toilet chairs, when used, shall be emptied promptly, 
cleaned and sanitized after each use. 

22VAC40-111-700. General requirements for medication 
administration. 

A. Prescription and nonprescription medications shall be 
given to a child: 

1. According to the home's written medication policies, 
and 

2. Only with written authorization from the parent. 
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B. The parent's written authorization for medication shall 
expire or be renewed after 10 work days. 

EXCEPTION: Long-term prescription and nonprescription 
drug use may be allowed with written authorization from the 
child's physician and parent. 

C. When an authorization for medication expires, the parent 
shall be notified that the medication needs to be picked up 
within 14 days or the parent must renew the authorization. 
Medications that are not picked up by the parent within 14 
days will be disposed of by the family day home by either 
dissolving the medication down the sink or flushing it down 
the toilet. 

22VAC40-111-710. Prescription medication. 

The family day home may administer prescription 
medication that would normally be administered by a parent 
or guardian to a child provided: 

1. The medication is administered by a caregiver who 
meets the requirements in 22VAC40-111-220 A; 

2. The caregiver administers only those drugs that were 
dispensed from a pharmacy and maintained in the original, 
labeled container; and 

3. The caregiver administers drugs only to the child 
identified on the prescription label in accordance with the 
prescriber's instructions pertaining to dosage, frequency, 
and manner of administration. 

22VAC40-111-720. Nonprescription medication. 

A. The family day home may administer nonprescription 
medication provided the medication is: 

1. Administered by a caregiver 18 years of age or older 
who meets the requirements in 22VAC40-111-220 C; 

2. Labeled with the child's name;  

3. In the original container with the manufacturer's 
direction label attached; and 

4. Given only at the dose, duration, and method of 
administration specified on the manufacturer's label for the 
age or weight of the child needing the medication. 

B. Nonprescription medication shall not be used beyond the 
expiration date of the product. 

22VAC40-111-730. Storage of medication. 

A. Medications for children in care shall be stored separately 
from medications for household members and caregivers. 

B. When needed, medication shall be refrigerated.  

C. When medication is stored in a refrigerator used for food, 
the medications shall be stored together in a container or in a 
clearly defined area away from food.  

D. Medication, except for those prescriptions designated 
otherwise by a written physician's order, including 
refrigerated medication and medications for caregivers and 
household members, shall be kept in a locked place using a 
safe locking method that prevents access by children.  

E. If a key is used, the key shall not be accessible to the 
children.  

22VAC40-111-740. Medication records. 

The provider shall keep a record of prescription and 
nonprescription medication given children, which shall 
include the following:  

1. Name of the child to whom medication was 
administered;  

2. Amount and type of medication administered to the 
child;  

3. The day and time the medication was administered to 
the child;  

4. Name of the caregiver administering the medication;  

5. Any adverse reactions; and  

6. Any medication administration error.  

22VAC40-111-750. Sunscreen, diaper ointment, and insect 
repellent. 

A. When sunscreen, diaper ointment and insect repellent are 
used, the following requirements shall be met: 

1. Written parent authorization noting any known adverse 
reactions shall be obtained; 

2. The product shall be in the original container labeled 
with the child's name; 

3. Manufacturer's instructions for application shall be 
followed; and  

4. Parents shall be informed immediately of any adverse 
reaction.  

B. The product does not need to be kept locked, but shall be 
inaccessible to children. 

C. Caregivers without medication administration training 
may apply the product unless it is a prescription medication, 
in which case the storing and administration must meet 
prescription medication requirements of this chapter. 

D. The product shall not be used beyond the expiration date 
of the product. 

22VAC40-111-760. First aid and emergency medical 
supplies. 

A. The following emergency supplies shall be in the family 
day home, accessible to outdoor play areas, on field trips, in 
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vehicles used for transportation and wherever children are in 
care: 

1. A first aid kit that contains at a minimum: 

a. Scissors; 

b. Tweezers; 

c. Gauze pads; 

d. Adhesive tape; 

e. Adhesive bandages, assorted sizes; 

f. Antiseptic cleaning solution or pads; 

g. Digital thermometer; 

h. Triangular bandages; 

i. Single use gloves such as surgical or examination 
gloves;  

j. Activated charcoal preparation (to be used only on the 
direction of a physician or the home's local poison 
control center); and  

k. First aid instructional manual. 

2. An ice pack or cooling agent. 

B. The first aid kit shall be readily accessible to caregivers 
and inaccessible to children  

22VAC40-111-770. Emergency flashlights and radios. 

A working battery-operated flashlight, a working portable 
battery-operated weather band radio, and extra batteries shall 
be kept in a designated area and be available to caregivers at 
all times. 

22VAC40-111-780. Emergency information. 

A. The emergency contact information listed in 22VAC40-
111-60 B 2 and the parent's written authorization for 
emergency medical care as required by 22VAC40-111-60 B 8 
shall be made available to a physician, hospital, or emergency 
responders in the event of a child's illness or injury. 

B. Annually, the provider shall: 

1. Review with the parent the emergency contact 
information required in 22VAC40-111-60 B 2 to ensure 
the information is correct, and 

2. Obtain the parent's signed acknowledgment of the 
review. 

22VAC40-111-790. Posted telephone numbers. 

The following telephone numbers shall be posted in a visible 
area close to the telephone: 

1. A 911 or local dial number for police, fire, and 
emergency medical responders;  

2. The responsible person for emergency backup care as 
required in 22VAC40-111-800 A 3; and 

3. The regional poison control center. 

22VAC40-111-800. Emergency preparedness and 
response plan. 

A. The family day home shall have a written emergency 
preparedness and response plan that: 

1. Includes emergency evacuation, emergency relocation, 
and shelter-in-place procedures; 

2. Addresses the most likely to occur scenarios, including 
but not limited to natural disasters, chemical spills, and an 
intruder; and  

3. Includes provisions for a responsible person who is 18 
years of age or older and is able to arrive within 10 minutes 
for emergency backup care until the children can be picked 
up by their parents. 

B. The provider shall review the emergency plan at least 
annually and update the plan as needed. The provider shall 
document in writing each review and update to the emergency 
plan. 

C. The provider shall ensure that each caregiver receives 
training regarding the emergency evacuation, emergency 
relocation, and shelter-in-place procedures by the end of their 
first week of assuming job responsibilities, on an annual 
basis, and at the time of each plan update. 

22VAC40-111-810. Evacuation and relocation procedures. 

Evacuation procedures shall include: 

1. Methods to alert caregivers and emergency responders; 

2. Designated primary and secondary routes out of the 
building; 

3. Designated assembly point away from the building; 

4. Designated relocation sites; 

5. Methods to ensure all children are evacuated from the 
building and, if necessary, moved to a relocation site; 

6. Methods to account for all children at the assembly point 
and relocation site; 

7. Methods to ensure essential documents, including 
emergency contact information, medications, and supplies 
are taken to the assembly point and relocation site;  

8. Method of communication with parents and emergency 
responders after the evacuation; and 

9. Method of communication with parents after the 
relocation. 

22VAC40-111-820. Shelter-in-place procedures. 

Shelter-in-place procedures shall include: 
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1. Methods to alert caregivers and emergency responders; 

2. Designated safe locations within the home; 

3. Designated primary and secondary routes to the safe 
locations;  

4. Methods to ensure all children are moved to the safe 
locations; 

5. Methods to account for all children at the safe location; 

6. Methods to ensure essential documents, including 
emergency contact information, and supplies are taken to 
the safe location; and 

7. Method of communication with parents and emergency 
responders. 

22VAC40-111-830. Emergency response drills. 

A. The emergency evacuation procedures shall be practiced 
monthly with all caregivers and children in care during all 
shifts that children are in care. 

B. Shelter-in-place procedures shall be practiced a minimum 
of twice per year. 

C. Documentation shall be maintained of emergency 
evacuation and shelter-in-place drills that include: 

1. Date of the event, 

2. Number and ages of children involved, 

3. Weather conditions, and 

4. Beginning and ending time of event. 

D. Records of emergency evacuation and shelter-in-place 
drills shall be maintained for one year. 

22VAC40-111-840. Injury records. 

A. The provider shall record in the child's record an injury or 
accident sustained by a child while at the family day home 
that requires first aid or emergency medical or dental 
treatment. 

B. The information recorded shall include the following: 

1. Date and time of injury, 

2. Name of injured child, 

3. Type and circumstance of the injury, 

4. Caregiver present and action taken, 

5. Date and time when parents were notified, 

6. Any future action to prevent recurrence of the injury, 

7. Caregiver and parent signatures or two caregiver 
signatures, and 

8. Documentation on how the parent was notified. 

22VAC40-111-850. Reports to department. 

A. The provider shall report to the department within 24 
hours of the circumstances surrounding the following 
incidents: 

1. Lost or missing child when local authorities have been 
contacted for help, 

2. Serious injury to a child while under the family day 
home's supervision, and 

3. Death of a child while under the family day home's 
supervision. 

B. A written report shall be completed and submitted to the 
department within five working days of the date the incident 
occurred. 

22VAC40-111-860. Reports of suspected child abuse or 
neglect and disease outbreaks. 

A. A caregiver shall immediately call the local department 
of social services or call the toll free number of the Child 
Abuse and Neglect Hotline (1-800-552-7096/TDD) whenever 
there is reason to suspect that a child has been or is being 
subjected to any kind of child abuse or neglect by any person. 

B. The provider shall immediately make or cause to be made 
a report of an outbreak of disease as defined by the Virginia 
Board of Health.  Such report shall be made by rapid means 
to the local health department or to the Commissioner of the 
Virginia Department of Health. 

22VAC40-111-870. General requirements for meals and 
snacks. 

A. Meals and snacks shall be served in accordance with the 
times children are in care, which include:  

1. Between the hours of 6 a.m. and 7 p.m., breakfast, 
lunch, and snacks shall be served.  

2. Between the hours of 2 p.m. and 10 p.m., an afternoon 
snack, supper and a bed time snack shall be served.  

3. Between the hours of 7 p.m. and 6 a.m., a bed time 
snack and breakfast shall be served.  

B. A family day home shall ensure that children arriving 
from a half-day, morning program who have not yet eaten 
lunch receive a lunch.  

C. The family day home shall schedule snacks or meals so 
there is a period of at least 1-1/2 hours, but no more than 
three hours, between each meal or snack unless there is a 
scheduled rest or sleep period for children between the meals 
and snacks. 

D. Children shall be served small-sized portions. 

E. Food shall be prepared, stored, and transported in a clean 
and sanitary manner. 
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F. Leftover food shall be discarded from individual plates 
following a meal or snack.  

G. Tables and high chair trays shall be cleaned after each 
use, but at least daily. 

22VAC40-111-880. Meals and snacks provided by family 
day home. 

When family day homes provide meals or snacks, the 
following shall apply: 

1. Family day homes shall follow the most recent, age-
appropriate nutritional requirements of a recognized 
authority such as the Child and Adult Care Food Program 
of the United States Department of Agriculture (UDSA). 

2. Children shall be allowed second helpings of food listed 
in the child care food program meal patterns. 

22VAC40-111-890. Meals and snacks brought from 
child's home. 

When food is brought from home, the following shall apply: 

1. The food container shall be clearly labeled in a way that 
identifies the owner; 

2. The family day home shall have extra food or shall have 
provisions to obtain food to serve to a child so the child 
can have an appropriate snack or meal as required in 
22VAC40-111-880 if the child forgets to bring food from 
home or brings an inadequate meal or snack; and 

3. Unused portions of food shall be discarded by the end of 
the day or returned to the parent. 

22VAC40-111-900. Preventing choking. 

A. To assist in preventing choking, food that is hard, round, 
small, thick and sticky, or smooth and slippery such as whole 
hot dogs sliced into rounds, nuts, seeds, raisins, uncut grapes, 
uncut raw carrots, peanuts, chunks of peanut butter, hard 
candy, and popcorn shall not be served to children under four 
years of age, unless the food is prepared before being served 
in a manner that will reduce the risk of choking, i.e., hot dogs 
cut lengthwise, grapes cut in small pieces, and carrots cooked 
or cut lengthwise. 

B. Children shall not be allowed to eat or drink while 
walking, running, playing, lying down, or riding in vehicles. 

22VAC40-111-910. Drinking water and fluids. 

A. Water shall be available for drinking and shall be offered 
on a regular basis to all children in care. 

B. In environments of 80ºF or above, attention shall be 
given to the fluid needs of children at regular intervals. 
Children in such environments shall be encouraged to drink 
fluids. 

C. Clean individual drinking cups shall be provided daily. 
Children shall not be allowed to share common drinking cups. 

22VAC40-111-920. Menus. 

When meals or snacks are provided by the family day home, 
the menu for the current one-week period shall: 

1. Be dated, 

2. Be given to parents or posted or placed in an area 
accessible to parents, 

3. List any substituted food, and  

4. Be kept on file one week at the family day home. 

22VAC40-111-930. Eating utensils and dishes. 

A. Eating utensils shall be appropriate in size for children to 
handle. 

B. Chipped or cracked dishes shall not be used. 

C. Eating utensils and dishes shall be properly cleaned by 
prerinsing, washing, and air drying or using a dishwasher. 

D. Eating utensils and dishes shall be stored in a clean dry 
place, and protected from contamination. 

E. If disposable eating utensils and dishes are used, they 
shall be sturdy enough to prevent spillage or other health and 
safety hazards. 

F. Disposable utensils and dishes shall be used once and 
discarded. 

22VAC40-111-940. Food storage. 

A. Temperatures shall be maintained at or below 40ºF in 
refrigerator compartments and at or below 0ºF in the freezer 
compartments. 

B. The provider shall have an operable thermometer 
available to monitor refrigerator and freezer compartment 
temperatures. 

C. All perishable foods and drinks used for children in care, 
except when being prepared and served, shall be kept in the 
refrigerator. 

D. Leftover food shall be discarded from individual plates 
following a meal or snack. 

22VAC40-111-950. Milk. 

A. All milk and milk products shall be pasteurized.  

B. Powdered milk shall be used only for cooking. 

22VAC40-111-960. Feeding infants. 

A. Infants shall be fed on demand unless the parent provides 
other written instructions. 

B. Infants who cannot hold their own bottles shall be picked 
up and held for bottle feeding. Bottles shall not be propped. 

C. High chairs, infant carrier seats, or feeding tables with 
safety waist and crotch straps fastened according to the 
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manufacturer's instructions shall be used for children under 
12 months of age who are not held while being fed. 

D. Infant formula shall be prepared according to the 
manufacturer's or physician's instructions. 

E. Bottles shall be refrigerated and labeled with the child's 
full name and the date, if more than one infant is in care. 

F. Refrigerated bottles of prepared formula and breast milk 
shall be discarded after 48 hours if not used. 

G. Bottles shall not be heated in a microwave oven. 

H. To avoid burns, heated formula and baby food shall be 
stirred or shaken and tested for temperature before being 
served to children. 

I. A child's mother shall be granted access to a private area 
of the family day home to facilitate breast feeding. 

J. Solid foods shall: 

1. Not be fed to infants less than four months of age 
without parental consent, and 

2. Be fed with a spoon, with the exception of finger foods. 

K. Baby food shall be served from a dish and not from the 
container. 

L. Baby food remaining in: 

1. A serving dish shall be discarded; 

2. Opened containers, from which a portion has been 
removed, shall be refrigerated and labeled with the child's 
full name and the date, if more than one infant is in care; 
and 

3. Opened containers stored in the refrigerator shall be 
discarded if not consumed within 24 hours of storage. 

22VAC40-111-970. Special feeding needs. 

A. The consistency of food provided for a child with special 
needs shall be appropriate to any special feeding needs of the 
child. 

B. Necessary and adaptive feeding equipment and feeding 
techniques shall be used for a child with special feeding 
needs. 

22VAC40-111-980. Written permission for transportation 
and field trips. 

A. General written permission shall be obtained from the 
parent of each child for the provider to take the child off the 
premises of the family day home. The general written 
permission shall be on a form that lists regularly scheduled 
trips (e.g., library, store, playground) and the driver, if the 
child is to be transported. 

B. Special written permission shall be obtained from the 
parent of each child for the provider to take the child on 

special field trips (those not regularly scheduled). The written 
special permission shall specify destination, duration of trip, 
and driver, if the child is to be transported. 

22VAC40-111-990. Requirements for drivers. 

A. Drivers must be 18 years of age or older. 

B. The provider shall ensure that during transportation of 
children the driver has: 

1. A valid driver's license; 

2. The name, address and telephone number of the family 
day home;  

3. A copy of the parent's written permission to transport the 
child; 

4. A copy of each child's emergency contact information as 
required in 22VAC40-111-60 B 2; 

5. Emergency supplies as required in 22VAC40-111-760; 
and 

6. A mechanism for making telephone calls to emergency 
responders and parents (e.g., change, calling card, cellular 
phone). 

22VAC40-111-1000. Requirements for vehicles. 

The provider shall ensure that the vehicle used for 
transportation: 

1. Meets the safety standards set by the Virginia 
Department of Motor Vehicles, 

2. Is kept in satisfactory condition to assure the safety of 
children, 

3. Is licensed and insured according to state law, 

4. Was manufactured for the purpose of transporting 
people seated in an enclosed area, and 

5. Has seats that are attached to the floor. 

22VAC40-111-1010. Requirements for transportation. 

The provider shall ensure that during transportation of 
children: 

1. Each child is in an individual car seat or individual and 
appropriate restraint in accordance with Virginia law, 

2. Each child's arms, legs, and head remain inside the 
vehicle, 

3. Doors are closed properly and locked unless locks were 
not installed by the manufacturer of the vehicle, 

4. No child is left unattended inside or outside a vehicle, 
and 

5. Each child boards and leaves the vehicle from the curb 
side of the street. 
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22VAC40-111-1020. Nighttime care. 

A. For nighttime care during which a child sleeps more than 
two hours, the following is required: 

1. A child shall have a rest area that meets the requirements 
of 22VAC40-111-510, 

2. An infant shall have an individual crib that meets the 
requirements of 22VAC40-111-520, and 

3. Linens shall be provided that meet the requirements in 
22VAC40-111-530. 

B. For children in nighttime care, quiet activities and 
experiences shall be available immediately before bedtime. 

C. Providers shall establish a bedtime schedule for a child in 
consultation with the child's parent. 

D. Separate sleeping and dressing areas shall be provided for 
children of the opposite sex over six years of age. 

E. Each child shall have a toothbrush, and a comb or hair 
brush assigned for individual use. 

F. Each child nine months of age or older shall have flame-
resistant or snug-fitting sleepwear. 

G. Bath towels and washcloths, when used, shall be assigned 
for individual use and laundered as needed, but at least 
weekly. 

H. A child shall have a routine that encourages good 
personal hygiene practices including bathing (if needed) and 
teeth brushing. 

I. Caregivers shall remain awake until all children are asleep 
and shall sleep on the same floor level as the children in care. 

J. A baby monitor shall be used if the caregiver is not 
sleeping in the room with the child or in a room adjacent to 
the room where the child is sleeping. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R03-186; Filed January 13, 2009, 3:22 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-705. Child Protective 
Services (amending 22VAC40-705-10, 22VAC40-705-30, 
22VAC40-705-40, 22VAC40-705-50, 22VAC40-705-70, 
22VAC40-705-80, 22VAC40-705-120, 22VAC40-705-140, 
22VAC40-705-150, 22VAC40-705-180). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-1503 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Nan McKenney, Child Protective Services 
Policy Supervisor, Department of Social Services, Division of 
Family Services, 7 North Eighth Street, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 726-7569, FAX (804) 726-7895, TTY 
(800) 828-1120, or email nan.mckenney@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This amendments incorporate current Code of Virginia 
requirements and clarify existing regulations. These 
changes include (i) expanding the definitions of physical 
and medical neglect, (ii) clarifying the use of state criminal 
history searches in child protective services investigations, 
(iii) revising the length of time local departments have to 
validate a report or complaint, and (iv) amending training 
requirements. 

A change from the proposed regulation retains the existing 
language in 22VAC40-705-80 regarding the exception to 
electronically recording a victim interview. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

22VAC40-705-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise.  

"Abuser or neglector" means any person who is found to 
have committed the abuse and/or neglect of a child pursuant 
to Chapter 15 (§ 63.2-1500 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

"Administrative appeal rights" means the child protective 
services appeals procedures for a local level informal 
conference and a state level hearing pursuant to § 63.2-1526 
of the Code of Virginia, under which an individual who is 
found to have committed abuse and/or neglect may request 
that the local department's records be amended. 

"Alternative treatment options" means treatments used to 
prevent or treat illnesses or promote health and well-being 
outside the realm of modern conventional medicine. 

"Appellant" means anyone who has been found to be an 
abuser and/or neglector and appeals the founded disposition 
to the director of the local department of social services, an 
administrative hearing officer, or to circuit court.  

"Assessment" means the process by which child protective 
services workers determine a child's and family's needs.  

"Caretaker" means any individual having the responsibility 
of providing care for a child and includes the following: (i) 
parent or other person legally responsible for the child's care; 
(ii) any other person who has assumed caretaking 
responsibility by virtue of an agreement with the legally 
responsible person; (iii) persons responsible by virtue of their 
positions of conferred authority; and (iv) adult persons 
residing in the home with the child.  

"Case record" means a collection of information maintained 
by a local department, including written material, letters, 
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documents, tapes, photographs, film or other materials 
regardless of physical form about a specific child protective 
services investigation, family or individual.  

"Central Registry" means a subset of the child abuse and 
neglect information system and is the name index with 
identifying information of individuals named as an abuser 
and/or neglector in founded child abuse and/or neglect 
complaints or reports not currently under administrative 
appeal, maintained by the department.  

"Certified substance abuse counselor" means a person 
certified to provide substance abuse counseling in a state-
approved public or private substance abuse program or 
facility.  

"Child abuse and neglect information system" means the 
computer system which collects and maintains information 
regarding incidents of child abuse and neglect involving 
parents or other caretakers. The computer system is composed 
of three parts: the statistical information system with 
nonidentifying information, the Central Registry of founded 
complaints not on appeal, and a database that can be accessed 
only by the department and local departments that contains all 
nonpurged CPS reports. This system is the official state 
automated system.  

"Child protective services" means the identification, receipt 
and immediate response to complaints and reports of alleged 
child abuse and/or neglect for children under 18 years of age. 
It also includes assessment, and arranging for and providing 
necessary protective and rehabilitative services for a child and 
his family when the child has been found to have been abused 
or neglected or is at risk of being abused or neglected.  

"Child protective services worker" means one who is 
qualified by virtue of education, training and supervision and 
is employed by the local department to respond to child 
protective services complaints and reports of alleged child 
abuse and/or neglect.  

"Chronically and irreversibly comatose" means a condition 
caused by injury, disease or illness in which a patient has 
suffered a loss of consciousness with no behavioral evidence 
of self-awareness or awareness of surroundings in a learned 
manner other than reflexive activity of muscles and nerves for 
low-level conditioned response and from which to a 
reasonable degree of medical probability there can be no 
recovery.  

"Collateral" means a person whose personal or professional 
knowledge may help confirm or rebut the allegations of child 
abuse and/or neglect or whose involvement may help ensure 
the safety of the child.  

"Complaint" means any information or allegation of child 
abuse and/or neglect made orally or in writing pursuant to § 
63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Consultation" means the process by which the alleged 
abuser and/or neglector may request an informal meeting to 
discuss the investigative findings with the local department 
prior to the local department rendering a founded disposition 
of abuse and/or neglect against that person pursuant to § 63.2-
1526 A of the Code of Virginia.  

"Controlled substance" means a drug, substance or 
marijuana as defined in § 18.2-247 of the Code of Virginia 
including those terms as they are used or defined in the Drug 
Control Act, Chapter 34 (§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 
the Code of Virginia. The term does not include alcoholic 
beverages or tobacco as those terms are defined or used in 
Title 3.1 or Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 
Services.  

"Differential response system" means that local departments 
of social services may respond to valid reports or complaints 
of child abuse or neglect by conducting either a family 
assessment or an investigation.  

"Disposition" means the determination of whether or not 
child abuse and/or neglect has occurred.  

"Documentation" means information and materials, written 
or otherwise, concerning allegations, facts and evidence.  

"Family Advocacy Program representative" means the 
professional employed by the United States Armed Forces 
who has responsibility for the program designed to address 
prevention, identification, evaluation, treatment, 
rehabilitation, follow-up and reporting of family violence, 
pursuant to 22VAC40-720-20.  

"Family assessment" means the collection of information 
necessary to determine:  

1. The immediate safety needs of the child;  

2. The protective and rehabilitative services needs of the 
child and family that will deter abuse or neglect;  

3. Risk of future harm to the child; and  

4. Alternative plans for the child's safety if protective and 
rehabilitative services are indicated and the family is 
unable or unwilling to participate in services. These 
arrangements may be made in consultation with the 
caretaker(s) of the child.  

"First source" means any direct evidence establishing or 
helping to establish the existence or nonexistence of a fact. 
Indirect evidence and anonymous complaints do no constitute 
first source evidence.  

"Founded" means that a review of the facts shows by a 
preponderance of the evidence that child abuse and/or neglect 
has occurred. A determination that a case is founded shall be 
based primarily on first source evidence; in no instance shall 
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a determination that a case is founded be based solely on 
indirect evidence or an anonymous complaint.  

"He" means he or she. 

"His" means his or her. 

"Identifying information" means name, social security 
number, address, race, sex, and date of birth. 

"Indirect evidence" means any statement made outside the 
presence of the child protective services worker and relayed 
to the child protective services worker as proof of the 
contents of the statement. 

"Informed opinion" means that the child has been informed 
and understands the benefits and risks, to the extent known, 
of the treatment recommended by conventional medical 
providers for his condition and the alternative treatment being 
considered as well as the basis of efficacy for each, or lack 
thereof. 

"Investigation" means the collection of information to 
determine: 

1. The immediate safety needs of the child; 

2. The protective and rehabilitative services needs of the 
child and family that will deter abuse or neglect; 

3. Risk of future harm to the child; 

4. Alternative plans for the child's safety if protective and 
rehabilitative services are indicated and the family is 
unable or unwilling to participate in services; 

5. Whether or not abuse or neglect has occurred; 

6. If abuse or neglect has occurred, who abused or 
neglected the child; and 

7. A finding of either founded or unfounded based on the 
facts collected during the investigation. 

"Investigative narrative" means the written account of the 
investigation contained in the child protective services case 
record. 

"Legitimate interest" means a lawful, demonstrated privilege 
to access the information as defined in § 63.2-104 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

"Licensed substance abuse treatment practitioner" means a 
person who (i) is trained in and engages in the practice of 
substance abuse treatment with individuals or groups of 
individuals suffering from the effects of substance abuse or 
dependence, and in the prevention of substance abuse or 
dependence and (ii) is licensed to provide advanced substance 
abuse treatment and independent, direct and unsupervised 
treatment to such individuals or groups of individuals, and to 
plan, evaluate, supervise, and direct substance abuse 
treatment provided by others. 

"Life-threatening condition" means a condition that if left 
untreated more likely than not will result in death and for 
which the recommended medical treatments carry a probable 
chance of impairing the health of the individual or a risk of 
terminating the life of the individual. 

"Local department" means the city or county local agency of 
social services or department of public welfare in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia responsible for conducting 
investigations or family assessments of child abuse and/or 
neglect complaints or reports pursuant to § 63.2-1503 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

"Local department of jurisdiction" means the local 
department in the city or county in Virginia where the alleged 
victim child resides or in which the alleged abuse and/or 
neglect is believed to have occurred. If neither of these is 
known, then the local department of jurisdiction shall be the 
local department in the county or city where the abuse and/or 
neglect was discovered. 

"Mandated reporters" means those persons who are required 
to report suspicions of child abuse and/or neglect pursuant to 
§ 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Monitoring" means contacts with the child, family and 
collaterals which provide information about the child's safety 
and the family's compliance with the service plan. 

"Multidisciplinary teams" means any organized group of 
individuals representing, but not limited to, medical, mental 
health, social work, education, legal and law enforcement, 
which will assist local departments in the protection and 
prevention of child abuse and neglect pursuant to § 63.2-1503 
K of the Code of Virginia. Citizen representatives may also 
be included. 

"Notification" means informing designated and appropriate 
individuals of the local department's actions and the 
individual's rights. 

"Particular medical treatment" means a process or procedure 
that is recommended by conventional medical providers and 
accepted by the conventional medical community. 

"Preponderance of evidence" means the evidence as a whole 
shows that the facts are more probable and credible than not. 
It is evidence which is of greater weight or more convincing 
than the evidence offered in opposition.  

"Purge" means to delete or destroy any reference data and 
materials specific to subject identification contained in 
records maintained by the department and the local 
department pursuant to §§ 63.2-1513 and 63.2-1514 of the 
Code of Virginia.  

"Reasonable diligence" means the exercise of justifiable and 
appropriate persistent effort.  

"Report" means either a complaint as defined in this section 
or an official document on which information is given 
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concerning abuse and neglect. A report is required to be made 
by persons designated herein and by local departments in 
those situations in which a response to a complaint from the 
general public reveals suspected child abuse and/or neglect 
pursuant to subdivision 5 of the definition of abused or 
neglected child in § 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Safety plan" means an immediate course of action designed 
to protect a child from abuse or neglect. 

"Service plan" means a plan of action to address the service 
needs of a child and/or his family in order to protect a child 
and his siblings, to prevent future abuse and neglect, and to 
preserve the family life of the parents and children whenever 
possible. 

"State automated system" means the "child abuse and 
neglect information system" as previously defined. 

"Substance abuse counseling or treatment services" are 
services provided to individuals for the prevention, diagnosis, 
treatment, or palliation of chemical dependency, which may 
include attendant medical and psychiatric complications of 
chemical dependency. 

"Sufficiently mature" is determined on a case-by-case basis 
and means that a child has no impairment of his cognitive 
ability and is of a maturity level capable of having intelligent 
views on the subject of his health condition and medical care. 

"Terminal condition" means a condition caused by injury, 
disease or illness from which to a reasonable degree of 
medical probability a patient cannot recover and (i) the 
patient's death is imminent or (ii) the patient is chronically 
and irreversibly comatose.  

"Unfounded" means that a review of the facts does not show 
by a preponderance of the evidence that child abuse or 
neglect occurred.  

"Valid report or complaint" means the local department of 
social services has evaluated the information and allegations 
of the report or complaint and determined that the local 
department shall conduct an investigation or family 
assessment because the following elements are present:  

1. The alleged victim child or children are under the age of 
18 at the time of the complaint or report;  

2. The alleged abuser is the alleged victim child's parent or 
other caretaker;  

3. The local department receiving the complaint or report is 
a local department of jurisdiction; and  

4. The circumstances described allege suspected child 
abuse or neglect.  

"Withholding of medically indicated treatment" means the 
failure to respond to the infant's life-threatening condition by 
providing treatment (including appropriate nutrition, 
hydration, and medication) which in the treating physician's 

or physicians' reasonable medical judgment will most likely 
be effective in ameliorating or correcting all such conditions.  

22VAC40-705-30. Types of abuse and neglect. 

A. Physical abuse occurs when a caretaker creates or 
inflicts, threatens to create or inflict, or allows to be created or 
inflicted upon a child a physical injury by other than 
accidental means or creates a substantial risk of death, 
disfigurement, or impairment of bodily functions, including, 
but not limited to, a child who is with his parent or other 
person responsible for his care either (i) during the 
manufacture or attempted manufacture of a Schedule I or II 
controlled substance or (ii) during the unlawful sale of such 
substance by that child's parents or other person responsible 
for his care, where such manufacture, or attempted 
manufacture or unlawful sale would constitute a felony 
violation of § 18.2-248 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Physical neglect occurs when there is the failure to 
provide food, clothing, shelter, or supervision for a child to 
the extent that the child's health or safety is endangered. This 
also includes abandonment and situations where the parent's 
or caretaker's own incapacitating behavior or absence 
prevents or severely limits the performing of child caring 
tasks pursuant to § 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia. This 
also includes a child under the age of 18 whose parent or 
other person responsible for his care knowingly leaves the 
child alone in the same dwelling as a person, not related by 
blood or marriage, who has been convicted of an offense 
against a minor for which registration is required as a violent 
sexual offender pursuant to § 9.1-902 of the Code of Virginia. 
In situations where the neglect is the result of family poverty 
and there are no outside resources available to the family, the 
parent or caretaker shall not be determined to have neglected 
the child; however, the local department may provide 
appropriate services to the family.  

1. Physical neglect may include multiple occurrences or a 
one-time critical or severe event that results in a threat to 
health or safety.  

2. Physical neglect may include failure to thrive.  

a. Failure to thrive occurs as a syndrome of infancy and 
early childhood which is characterized by growth failure, 
signs of severe malnutrition, and variable degrees of 
developmental retardation.  

b. Failure to thrive can only be diagnosed by a physician 
and is caused by nonorganic factors.  

C. Medical neglect occurs when there is the failure by the 
caretaker to obtain or follow through with a complete regimen 
of medical, mental or dental care for a condition which if 
untreated could result in illness or developmental delays 
pursuant to § 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia. However, a 
decision by parents or other persons legally responsible for 
the child to refuse a particular medical treatment for a child 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations February 2, 2009 

1997 

with life-threatening condition shall not be deemed a refusal 
to provide necessary care if (i) such decision is made jointly 
by the parents or other person legally responsible for the child 
and the child; (ii) the child has reached 14 years of age and 
sufficiently mature to have an informed opinion on the 
subject of his medical treatment; (iii) the parents or other 
person legally responsible for the child and the child have 
considered alternative treatment options; and (iv) the parents 
or other person legally responsible for the child and the child 
believe in good faith that such decision is in the child's best 
interest. Medical neglect also includes withholding of 
medically indicated treatment. 

1. A child who, in good faith, is under treatment solely by 
spiritual means through prayer in accordance with the 
tenets and practices of a recognized church or religious 
denomination pursuant to § 63.2-100 of the Code of 
Virginia shall not for that reason alone be considered a 
neglected child. 

2. For the purposes of this regulation, "withholding of 
medically indicated treatment" does not include the failure 
to provide treatment (other than appropriate nutrition, 
hydration, or medication) to an infant when in the treating 
physician's or physicians' reasonable medical judgment: 

a. The infant is chronically and irreversibly comatose; 

b. The infant has a terminal condition and the provision 
of such treatment would: 

(1) Merely prolong dying;  

(2) Not be effective in ameliorating or correcting all of 
the infant's life-threatening conditions;  

(3) Otherwise be futile in terms of the survival of the 
infant; or  

(4) Be virtually futile in terms of the survival of the 
infant and the treatment itself under such circumstances 
would be inhumane. 

D. Mental abuse or neglect occurs when a caretaker creates 
or inflicts, threatens to create or inflict, or allows to be created 
or inflicted upon a child a mental injury by other than 
accidental means or creates a substantial risk of impairment 
of mental functions. 

Mental abuse or neglect may include failure to thrive. 

1. Failure to thrive occurs as a syndrome of infancy and 
early childhood which is characterized by growth failure, 
signs of severe malnutrition, and variable degrees of 
developmental retardation. 

2. Failure to thrive can only be diagnosed by a physician 
and is caused by nonorganic factors. 

E. Sexual abuse occurs when there is any act of sexual 
exploitation or any sexual act upon a child in violation of the 
law which is committed or allowed to be committed by the 

child's parents or other persons responsible for the care of the 
child pursuant to § 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia. 

22VAC40-705-40. Complaints and reports of suspected 
child abuse and/or neglect. 

A. Persons who are mandated to report are those individuals 
defined in § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia. 

1. Mandated reporters shall report immediately any 
suspected abuse or neglect that they learn of in their 
professional capacity.  

2. Mandated reporters shall disclose all information that is 
the basis for the suspicion of child abuse or neglect and 
shall make available, upon request, to the local department 
any records and reports that document the basis for the 
complaint and/or report. 

3. A mandated reporter's failure to report within 72 hours 
of the first suspicion of child abuse or neglect shall result 
in a fine. 

4. Pursuant to § 63.2-1509 B of the Code of Virginia, 
certain specified facts indicating that a newborn infant may 
have been exposed to controlled substances prior to birth 
or a positive drug toxicology of the mother indicating the 
presence of a controlled substance are sufficient to suspect 
that a child is abused or neglected. A diagnosis of fetal 
alcohol syndrome is also sufficient. Any report made 
pursuant to § 63.2-1509 A of the Code of Virginia 
constitutes a valid report of abuse or neglect and requires a 
child protective services investigation or family 
assessment, unless the mother sought treatment or 
counseling as required in this section and pursuant to 
§ 63.2-1505 B of the Code of Virginia. 

a. The attending physician may designate a hospital staff 
person to make the report to the local department on 
behalf of the attending physician. That hospital staff 
person may include a nurse or hospital social worker. 

b. Pursuant to § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia, 
whenever a physician makes a finding pursuant to § 63.2-
1509 A of the Code of Virginia, then the physician or his 
designee must make a report to child protective services 
immediately. Pursuant to § 63.2-1509 D of the Code of 
Virginia, a physician who fails to make a report pursuant 
to § 63.2-1509 A of the Code of Virginia is subject to a 
fine.  

c. When a report or complaint alleging abuse or neglect 
is made pursuant to § 63.2-1509 A of the Code of 
Virginia, then the local department must immediately 
assess the infant's circumstances and any threat to the 
infant's health and safety. Pursuant to 22VAC40-705-110 
A, the local department must conduct an initial 
assessment.  
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d. When a report or complaint alleging abuse or neglect 
is made pursuant to § 63.2-1509 A of the Code of 
Virginia, then the local department must immediately 
determine whether to petition a juvenile and domestic 
relations district court for any necessary services or court 
orders needed to ensure the safety and health of the 
infant.  

e. Within the first 14 five days of receipt of a report made 
pursuant to § 63.2-1509 A of the Code of Virginia, the 
local department shall invalidate the complaint if the 
following two conditions are met: (i) the mother of the 
infant sought substance abuse counseling or treatment 
during her pregnancy prior to the infant's birth and (ii) 
there is no evidence of child abuse and/or neglect by the 
mother after the infant's birth.  

(1) The local department must notify the mother 
immediately upon receipt of a complaint made pursuant 
to § 63.2-1509 A of the Code of Virginia. This 
notification must include a statement informing the 
mother that, if the mother fails to present evidence within 
14 five days of receipt of the complaint that she sought 
substance abuse counseling/treatment during the 
pregnancy, the report will be accepted as valid and an 
investigation or family assessment initiated. 

(2) If the mother sought counseling or treatment but did 
not receive such services, then the local department must 
determine whether the mother made a substantive effort 
to receive substance abuse treatment before the child's 
birth. If the mother made a substantive effort to receive 
treatment or counseling prior to the child's birth, but did 
not receive such services due to no fault of her own, then 
the local department should invalidate the complaint or 
report.  

(3) If the mother sought or received substance abuse 
counseling or treatment, but there is evidence, other than 
exposure to a controlled substance, that the child may be 
abused or neglected, then the local department may 
initiate the investigation or family assessment.  

f. Substance abuse counseling or treatment includes, but 
is not limited to, education about the impact of alcohol, 
controlled substances and other drugs on the fetus and on 
the maternal relationship; education about relapse 
prevention to recognize personal and environmental cues 
which may trigger a return to the use of alcohol or other 
drugs.  

g. The substance abuse counseling or treatment should 
attempt to serve the purposes of improving the pregnancy 
outcome, treating the substance abuse disorder, 
strengthening the maternal relationship with existing 
children and the infant, and achieving and maintaining a 
sober and drug-free lifestyle.  

h. The substance abuse counseling or treatment services 
must be provided by a professional. Professional 
substance abuse treatment or counseling may be provided 
by a certified substance abuse counselor or a licensed 
substance abuse treatment practitioner.  

i. Facts indicating that the infant may have been exposed 
to controlled substances prior to birth are not sufficient, 
in and of themselves, to render a founded disposition of 
abuse or neglect. The local department must establish, by 
a preponderance of the evidence, that the infant was 
abused or neglected according to the statutory and 
regulatory definitions of abuse and neglect.  

j. The local department may provide assistance to the 
mother in locating and receiving substance abuse 
counseling or treatment.  

B. Persons who may report child abuse and/or neglect 
include any individual who suspects that a child is being 
abused and/or neglected pursuant to § 63.2-1510 of the Code 
of Virginia.  

C. Complaints and reports of child abuse and/or neglect may 
be made anonymously. An anonymous complaint, standing 
alone, shall not meet the preponderance of evidence standard 
necessary to support a founded determination. 

D. Any person making a complaint and/or report of child 
abuse and/or neglect shall be immune from any civil or 
criminal liability in connection therewith, unless the court 
decides that such person acted in bad faith or with malicious 
intent pursuant to § 63.2-1512 of the Code of Virginia. 

E. When the identity of the reporter is known to the 
department or local department, these agencies shall make 
every effort to protect the reporter's identity. Upon request, 
the local department shall advise the person who was the 
subject of an unfounded investigation if the complaint or 
report was made anonymously. 

F. If a person suspects that he is the subject of a report or 
complaint of child abuse and/or neglect made in bad faith or 
with malicious intent, that person may petition the court for 
access to the record including the identity of the reporter or 
complainant pursuant to § 63.2-1514 of the Code of Virginia. 

G. Any person age 14 years or older who makes or causes to 
be made a knowingly false complaint or report of child abuse 
and/or neglect and is convicted shall be guilty of a Class 1 
misdemeanor for a first offense pursuant to § 63.2-1513 of 
the Code of Virginia.  

1. A subsequent conviction results in a Class 6 felony.  

2. Upon receipt of notification of such conviction, the 
department will retain a list of convicted reporters.  

3. The subject of the records may have the records purged 
upon presentation of proof of such conviction.  
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H. To make a complaint or report of child abuse and/or 
neglect, a person may telephone the department's toll-free 
child abuse and neglect hotline or contact a local department 
of jurisdiction pursuant to § 63.2-1510 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

1. The local department of jurisdiction that first receives a 
complaint or report of child abuse and/or neglect shall 
assume responsibility to ensure that a family assessment or 
an investigation is conducted.  

2. A local department may ask another local department 
that is a local department of jurisdiction to assist in 
conducting the family assessment or investigation. If 
assistance is requested, the local department shall comply.  

3. A local department may ask another local department 
through a cooperative agreement to assist in conducting the 
family assessment or investigation.  

4. If a local department employee is suspected of abusing 
and/or neglecting a child, the complaint or report of child 
abuse and/or neglect shall be made to the juvenile and 
domestic relations district court of the county or city where 
the alleged abuse and/or neglect was discovered. The judge 
shall assign the report to a local department that is not the 
employer of the subject of the report pursuant to §§ 63.2-
1509 and 63.2-1510 of the Code of Virginia. The judge 
may consult with the department in selecting a local 
department to respond.  

22VAC40-705-50. Actions to be taken upon receipt of a 
complaint or report.  

A. All complaints and reports of suspected child abuse 
and/or neglect shall be recorded in the child abuse and neglect 
information system and either screened out or determined 
valid within 14 five days of receipt. A record of all reports 
and complaints made to a local department or to the 
department, regardless of whether the report or complaint was 
found to be a valid complaint of abuse and/or neglect, shall be 
retained for one year from the date of the complaint.  

B. In all valid complaints or reports of child abuse and/or 
neglect the local department of social services shall determine 
whether to conduct an investigation or a family assessment. A 
valid complaint or report is one in which: 

1. The alleged victim child or children are under the age of 
18 at the time of the complaint and/or report; 

2. The alleged abuser is the alleged victim child's parent or 
other caretaker; 

3. The local department receiving the complaint or report is 
a local department of jurisdiction; and 

4. The circumstances described allege suspected child 
abuse and/or neglect as defined in § 63.2-100 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

C. The local department shall not conduct a family 
assessment or investigate complaints or reports of child abuse 
and/or neglect that fail to meet all of the criteria in subsection 
B of this section. 

D. The local department shall report certain cases of 
suspected child abuse or neglect to the local attorney for the 
Commonwealth and the local law-enforcement agency 
pursuant to § 63.2-1503 D of the Code of Virginia. 

E. Pursuant to § 63.2-1503 J of the Code of Virginia, local 
departments shall develop, where practical, memoranda of 
understanding for responding to reports of child abuse and 
neglect with local law enforcement and the local office of the 
commonwealth's attorney. 

F. The local department shall report to the following when 
the death of a child is involved: 

1. When abuse and/or neglect is suspected in any case 
involving the death of a child, the local department shall 
report the case immediately to the regional medical 
examiner pursuant to § 63.2-1503 E of the Code of 
Virginia. 

2. When abuse and/or neglect is suspected in any case 
involving the death of a child, the local department shall 
report the case immediately to the attorney for the 
Commonwealth and the local law-enforcement agency 
pursuant to § 63.2-1503 D of the Code of Virginia. 

3. The local department shall contact the department 
immediately upon receiving a complaint involving the 
death of a child and at the conclusion of the investigation. 

4. The department shall immediately, upon receipt of 
information, report on all child fatalities to the state board 
in a manner consistent with department policy and 
procedures approved by the board. At a minimum, the 
report shall contain information regarding any prior 
statewide child protective services involvement of the 
family, alleged perpetrator, or victim. 

G. Valid complaints or reports shall be screened for high 
priority based on the following: 

1. The immediate danger to the child; 

2. The severity of the type of abuse or neglect alleged; 

3. The age of the child; 

4. The circumstances surrounding the alleged abuse or 
neglect;  

5. The physical and mental condition of the child; and  

6. Reports made by mandated reporters.  

H. The local department shall initiate an immediate 
response. The response shall be a family assessment or an 
investigation. Any valid report may be investigated, but in 
accordance with § 63.2-1506 C of the Code of Virginia, those 
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cases shall be investigated that involve: (i) sexual abuse, (ii) a 
child fatality, (iii) abuse or neglect resulting in a serious 
injury as defined in § 18.2-371.1 of the Code of Virginia, (iv) 
a child having been taken into the custody of the local 
department of social services, or (v) a caretaker at a state-
licensed child day care center, religiously exempt child day 
center, regulated family day home, private or public school, 
or hospital or any institution.  

1. The purpose of an investigation is to collect the 
information necessary to determine or assess the following:  

a. Immediate safety needs of the child;  

b. Whether or not abuse or neglect has occurred;  

c. Who abused or neglected the child;  

d. To what extent the child is at risk of future harm, 
either immediate or longer term;  

e. What types of services can meet the needs of this child 
or family; and  

f. If services are indicated and the family appears to be 
unable or unwilling to participate in services, what 
alternate plans will provide for the child's safety. 

2. The purpose of a family assessment is to engage the 
family in a process to collect the information necessary to 
determine or assess the following: 

a. Immediate safety needs of the child; 

b. The extent to which the child is at risk of future harm, 
either immediate or longer term; 

c. The types of services that can meet the needs of this 
child or family; and 

d. If services are indicated and the family appears to be 
unable or unwilling to participate in services, the plans 
that will be developed in consultation with the family to 
provide for the child's safety. These arrangements may be 
made in consultation with the caretaker(s) of the child. 

3. The local department shall use reasonable diligence to 
locate any child for whom a report or complaint of 
suspected child abuse and/or neglect has been received and 
determined valid or persons who are the subject of a valid 
report if the whereabouts of such persons are unknown to 
the local department pursuant to § 63.2-1503 F of the Code 
of Virginia. 

4. The local department shall document its attempts to 
locate the child and family. 

5. In the event the alleged victim child or children cannot 
be found, the time the child cannot be found shall not be 
computed as part of the 45-60-day time frame to complete 
the investigation, pursuant to subdivision 5 of § 63.2-1505 
of the Code of Virginia. 

22VAC40-705-70. Collection of information. 

A. When conducting an investigation the local department 
shall seek first-source information about the allegation of 
child abuse and/or neglect. When applicable, the local 
department shall include in the case record: police reports; 
depositions; photographs; physical, medical and 
psychological reports; and any tape electronic recordings of 
interviews. 

B. When completing a family assessment, the local 
department shall gather all relevant information in 
collaboration with the family, to the degree possible, in order 
to determine the child and family services needs related to 
current safety or future risk of harm to the child. 

C. All information collected must be entered in the state 
automated system and maintained according to § 63.2-1514 
for unfounded investigations or family assessments or 
according to 22VAC40-700-30 for founded investigations. 
The automated record entered in the statewide automation 
system is the official record. When documentation is not 
available in electronic form, it must be maintained in the hard 
copy portion of the record. Any hard copy information, 
including photographs and recordings, shall be noted as an 
addendum to the official record. 

22VAC40-705-80. Family assessment and investigation 
contacts. 

A. During the course of the family assessment, the child 
protective services (CPS) worker shall make and record the 
following contacts and observations. 

1. The child protective services worker shall conduct a 
face-to-face interview with and observe the alleged victim 
child and siblings. 

2. The child protective services worker shall conduct a 
face-to-face interview with the alleged victim child's 
parents or guardians and/or any caretaker named in the 
report. 

3. The child protective services worker shall observe the 
family environment, contact pertinent collaterals, and 
review pertinent records in consultation with the family. 

B. During the course of the investigation, the child 
protective services (CPS) worker shall make and record in 
writing in the state automated system the following contacts 
and observations. When any of these contacts or observations 
is not made, the CPS worker shall record in writing why the 
specific contact or observation was not made. 

1. The child protective services worker shall conduct a 
face-to-face interview with and observation of the alleged 
victim child and siblings. All interviews with alleged 
victim children must be audio tape electronically recorded 
except when the child protective services worker 
determines that: 
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a. The child's safety may be endangered by audio taping 
electronically recording his statement; 

b. The age and/or developmental capacity of the child 
makes audio taping electronic recording impractical; 

c. A child refuses to participate in the interview if audio 
taping electronic recording occurs; or 

d. [ In the context of a team investigation with law-
enforcement personnel, the team or team leader 
determines that audio taping is not appropriate. The local 
Commonwealth Attorney determines that electronic 
recording of the victim interview during the CPS 
investigation is not appropriate in the context of the 
criminal investigation. ] 

e. The victim provided new information as part of a 
family assessment and it would be detrimental to 
reinterview the victim and the child protective services 
worker provides a detailed narrative of the interview in 
the investigation record. 

In the case of an interview conducted with a nonverbal 
child where none of the above exceptions apply, it is 
appropriate to audio tape electronically record the 
questions being asked by the child protective services 
worker and to describe, either verbally or in writing, the 
child's responses. A child protective services worker shall 
document in detail in the record and discuss with 
supervisory personnel the basis for a decision not to audio 
tape electronically record an interview with the alleged 
victim child. 

A child protective services finding may be based on the 
written narrative of the child protective services worker in 
cases where an audio electronic recording is unavailable 
due to equipment failure or other cause the above 
exceptions. 

2. The child protective services (CPS) worker shall 
conduct a face-to-face interview with the alleged abuser 
and/or neglector. 

a. The CPS worker shall inform the alleged abuser and/or 
neglector of his right to tape record any communication 
pursuant to § 63.2-1516 of the Code of Virginia. 

b. The If requested by the alleged abuser and/or 
neglector, the local department shall provide the 
necessary equipment in order to tape electronically 
record the interview and retain a copy of the tape for the 
record electronic recording. 

3. The child protective services worker shall conduct a 
face-to-face interview with the alleged victim child's 
parents or guardians. 

4. The child protective services worker shall observe the 
environment where the alleged victim child lives. This 
requirement may be waived in complaints of child abuse 

and neglect involving caretakers in state licensed and 
religiously exempted child care centers, regulated and 
unregulated family day care homes, private and public 
schools, group residential facilities, hospitals or 
institutions. 

5. The child protective services worker shall observe the 
site where the alleged incident took place. 

6. The child protective services worker shall conduct 
interviews with collaterals who have pertinent information 
relevant to the investigation and the safety of the child. 

7. Pursuant to § 63.2-1505 of the Code of Virginia, local 
departments may obtain and consider statewide criminal 
history record information from the Central Criminal 
Records Exchange on any individual who is the subject of 
a child abuse and neglect investigation where there is 
evidence of child abuse or neglect and the local department 
is evaluating the safety of the home and whether removal is 
necessary to ensure the child's safety. The local department 
may also obtain a criminal record check on all adult 
household members residing in the home of the alleged 
abuser and/or neglector and where the child visits. 
Pursuant to § 19.2-389 of the Code of Virginia, local 
departments are authorized to receive criminal history 
information on the person who is the subject of the 
investigation as well as other adult members of the 
household for the purposes in § 63.2-1505 of the Code of 
Virginia. The results of the criminal record history search 
may be admitted into evidence if a child abuse or neglect 
petition is filed in connection with the child's removal. 
Local departments are prohibited from dissemination of 
this information excepted as authorized by the Code of 
Virginia. 

22VAC40-705-120. Complete the family assessment or 
investigation. 

A. The local department shall promptly notify the alleged 
abuser and/or neglector and the alleged victim's parents or 
guardians of any extension of the deadline for the completion 
of the family assessment or investigation pursuant to § 63.2-
1506 B 3 or subdivision 5 of § 63.2-1505 of the Code of 
Virginia. The child protective services worker shall document 
the notifications and the reason for the need for additional 
time in the case record. 

B. At the completion of the family assessment, the subject of 
the report shall be notified orally and in writing of the results 
of the assessment. 

C. The subject of the report shall be notified immediately if 
during the course of completing the family assessment the 
situation is reassessed and determined to meet the 
requirements, as specified in § 63.2-1506 B of the Code of 
Virginia, to be investigated. 
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D. When completing an investigation, prior to rendering a 
founded disposition concerning a complaint of child abuse 
and/or neglect, the local department shall provide an 
opportunity for the alleged abuser and/or neglector to have a 
local consultation with the local director or his designee to 
hear and refute the evidence supporting a founded disposition. 
The subject of the report or complaint may consult with the 
local department to hear and refute evidence collected during 
the investigation. Whenever a criminal charge is also filed 
against the alleged abuser for the same conduct involving the 
same victim child as investigated by the local department, 
sharing the evidence prior to the court hearing is prohibited. 

1. The alleged abuser and/or neglector shall be afforded the 
opportunity to informally present testimony, witnesses or 
documentation to representatives of the local department. 

2. The local department shall consider any evidence 
presented by the alleged abuser and/or neglector prior to 
rendering a disposition.  

E. Local conference. 

1. If the alleged abuser and/or neglector is found to have 
committed abuse or neglect, that alleged abuser and/or 
neglector may, within 30 days of being notified of that 
determination, submit a written request for an amendment 
of the determination and the local department's related 
records pursuant to § 63.2-1526 A of the Code of Virginia. 
The local department shall conduct an informal conference 
in an effort to examine the local department's disposition 
and reasons for it and consider additional information 
about the investigation and disposition presented by the 
alleged abuser and/or neglector. 

2. The local conference shall be conducted in accordance 
with 22VAC40-705-190.  

22VAC40-705-140. Notification of findings. 

A. Upon completion of the investigation the local child 
protective services worker shall make notifications as 
provided in this section. 

B. Individual against whom allegations of abuse and/or 
neglect were made. 

1. When the disposition is unfounded, the child protective 
services worker shall inform the individual against whom 
allegations of abuse and/or neglect were made of this 
finding. This notification shall be in writing with a copy to 
be maintained in the case record. The individual against 
whom allegations of abuse and/or neglect were made shall 
be informed that he may have access to the case record and 
that the case record shall be retained by the local 
department for one year unless requested in writing by 
such individual that the local department retain the record 
for up to an additional two years. 

a. If the individual against whom allegations of abuse 
and/or neglect were made or the subject child is involved 
in subsequent complaints, the information from all 
complaints shall be retained until the last purge date has 
been reached. 

b. The local worker shall notify the individual against 
whom allegations of abuse and/or neglect were made of 
the procedures set forth in § 63.2-1514 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

c. When an unfounded investigation involves a child 
death, the child protective services worker shall inform 
the individual against whom allegations of abuse and/or 
neglect were made that the case record will be retained 
for the longer of 12 months or until the State Child 
Fatality Review Team has completed its review of the 
case pursuant to § 32.1-283.1 D of the Code of Virginia. 

2. When the abuser and/or neglector in a founded 
complaint is a foster parent of the victim child, the local 
department shall place a copy of this notification letter in 
the child's foster care record and in the foster home 
provider record.  

3. No disposition of founded or unfounded shall be made 
in a family assessment. At the completion of the family 
assessment the subject of the report shall be notified orally 
and in writing of the results of the assessment.  

C. Subject child's parents or guardian. 

1. When the disposition is unfounded, the child protective 
services worker shall inform the parents or guardian of the 
subject child in writing, when they are not the individuals 
against whom allegations of child abuse and/or neglect 
were made, that the complaint involving their child was 
determined to be unfounded and the length of time the 
child's name and information about the case will be 
maintained. The child protective services worker shall file 
a copy in the case record. 

2. When the disposition is founded, the child protective 
services worker shall inform the parents or guardian of the 
child in writing, when they are not the abuser and/or 
neglector, that the complaint involving their child was 
determined to be founded and the length of time the child's 
name and information about the case will be retained in the 
Central Registry. The child protective services worker shall 
file a copy in the case record. 

3. When the founded case of abuse or neglect does not 
name the parents or guardians of the child as the abuser or 
neglector and when the abuse or neglect occurred in a 
licensed or unlicensed day care center, a regulated family 
day home, a private or public school, a child-caring 
institution or a residential facility for juveniles, the parent 
or guardian must be consulted and must give permission 
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for the child's name to be entered into the central registry 
pursuant to § 63.2-1515 of the Code of Virginia. 

D. Complainant.  

1. When an unfounded disposition is made, the child 
protective services worker shall notify the complainant, 
when known, in writing that the complaint was 
investigated and determined to be unfounded. The worker 
shall file a copy in the case record. 

2. When a founded disposition is made, the child protective 
services worker shall notify the complainant, when known, 
in writing that the complaint was investigated and 
necessary action was taken. The local worker shall file a 
copy in the case record. 

3. When a family assessment is completed, the child 
protective services worker shall notify the complainant, 
when known, that the complaint was assessed and 
necessary action taken. 

E. Family Advocacy Program. When a founded disposition 
is made, the child protective services worker shall notify the 
Family Advocacy Program representative in writing as set 
forth in 22VAC40-720-20. When a family assessment is 
conducted and the family is determined to be in need of 
services, the child protective services worker may notify the 
Family Advocacy Program representative in writing as set 
forth in 22VAC40-720-20. 

22VAC40-705-150. Services. 

A. At the completion of a family assessment or 
investigation, the local department shall consult with the 
family to provide or arrange for necessary protective and 
rehabilitative services to be provided to the child and his 
family to the extent funding is available pursuant to 
subdivision A 2 of § 63.2-1505 or § 63.2-1506 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

B. Families may decline services offered as a result of a 
family assessment or an investigation. If the family declines 
services, the case shall be closed unless there is an existing 
court order or the local department determines that sufficient 
cause exists due to threat of harm or actual harm to the child 
to redetermine the case as one that needs to be investigated or 
brought to the attention of the court. In no instance shall these 
actions be taken solely because the family declines services. 

C. At the completion of a family assessment or 
investigation, local departments of social services may 
petition the court for services deemed necessary. 

D. Protective services also includes preventive services to 
children about whom no formal complaint of abuse or neglect 
has been made, but for whom potential harm or threat of harm 
exists, to be consistent with §§ 16.1-251, 16.1-252, 16.1-
279.1, 63.2-1503 J, and 63.2-1502 of the Code of Virginia. 

E. Local departments shall support the establishment and 
functioning of multidisciplinary teams pursuant to § 63.2-
1503 J of the Code of Virginia. 

F. The local department must use reasonable diligence to 
locate any child for whom a founded disposition of abuse or 
neglect has been made and/or a child protective services case 
has been opened pursuant to § 63.2-1503 F of the Code of 
Virginia. The local department shall document its attempts to 
locate the child and family. 

G. When an abused or neglected child and persons who are 
the subject of an open child abuse services case have 
relocated out of the jurisdiction of the local department, the 
local department shall notify the child protective services 
agency in the jurisdiction to which such persons have 
relocated, whether inside or outside of the Commonwealth of 
Virginia, and forward to such agency relevant portions of the 
case records pursuant to § 63.2-1503 G of the Code of 
Virginia. 

H. The receiving local department shall arrange necessary 
protective and rehabilitative services pursuant to § 63.2-1503 
G of the Code of Virginia. 

22VAC40-705-180. Training. 

A. The department shall implement a uniform training plan 
for child protective services workers and supervisors. The 
plan shall establish minimum standards for all child 
protective services workers and supervisors in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia. 

B. Workers shall complete skills and policy training specific 
to child abuse and neglect investigations and family 
assessments within the first year two years of their 
employment. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-215; Filed January 14, 2009, 8:05 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 23. TAXATION 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Taxation is 
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with (i) § 2.2-4006 A 3 of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that consist only of changes in 
style or form or corrections of technical errors and (ii) § 2.2-
4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes 
regulations that are necessary to conform to changes in 
Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion is 
involved. The Department of Taxation will receive, consider 
and respond to petitions by any interested person at any time 
with respect to reconsideration or revision. 
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Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 23VAC10-20. General Provisions 
Applicable to All Taxes Administered by the Department 
of Taxation (amending 23VAC10-20-20, 23VAC10-20-80, 
23VAC10-20-90, 23VAC10-20-110, 23VAC10-20-130, 
23VAC10-20-200). 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Lewis, Tax Policy Analyst, 
Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 27185, Richmond, VA 
23261-7185, telephone (804) 371-2341, FAX (804) 371-
2355, or email jennifer.lewis@tax.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

This regulatory action amends 23VAC10-20-130, 
Memorandum of lien for collection of taxes, to reflect 
statutory changes. Chapter 384 of the 1993 Acts of 
Assembly required the taxpayer to be given 10 days notice 
before a memorandum of lien can be issued unless the lien 
is filed in instances where the commissioner determines the 
collection to be in jeopardy. Chapter 384 also required 
that notice be given at a taxpayer's "last known address" 
and defined the term. Chapter 800 of the 1994 Acts of 
Assembly allowed TAX to deposit any payment submitted 
with an offer in compromise unless directed otherwise by 
the taxpayer. Chapter 634 of the 1996 Acts of Assembly 
allowed the taxpayer to appeal to the commissioner if the 
taxpayer alleges an error in the filing of the lien. 

In addition, this action conforms the regulation to the 
Form, Style, and Procedure Manual for Publication of 
Virginia Regulations. 

23VAC10-20-20. Filing of tax returns and payment of 
taxes which fall due on Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday. 

A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 
this section shall have the following meanings unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Legal holiday" means any day designated as such by § 2.2-
3300 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Business day" means any Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, 
Thursday, or Friday that is not a legal holiday. 

B. Generally. When the last day prescribed by law for filing 
a return or paying a tax falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal 
holiday, then the return may be filed or the payment may be 
made without penalty or interest on the next succeeding 
business day. If an extension has been obtained, and the last 
day of the extension falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal 
holiday the return may be filed or the payment may be made 
without penalty on the next succeeding business day. 

B. Definitions.  

1. Legal holiday. "Legal holidays" shall be those defined in 
Va. Code § 2.1-21.  

2. Business day. A "business day" means a Monday, 
Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, or Friday which is not a 
legal holiday.  

23VAC10-20-80. Waiver of time limitation on assessment 
of taxes. 

A. Assessments. The Tax Commissioner and a taxpayer may 
agree to extend the period for assessing a tax prescribed by 
Va. Code §§ 58.1-104 (period of limitations in general), 58.1-
312 (relating to income tax only), 58.1-634 (relating to retail 
sales and use tax only) and 58.1-1812 (assessment of omitted 
taxes) of the Code of Virginia. Such agreements shall be in 
writing, on forms prescribed by the Tax Commissioner, and 
shall extend the period for assessing a tax for all issues 
relevant to the tax and taxable period for which the agreement 
is executed.  

B. Refunds. Any such agreement will also extend the period 
for filing an amended return claiming a refund. See also 
23VAC10-20-190 relating to for information regarding 
protective claims.  

23VAC10-20-90. Retention of records by taxpayer. 

A. In general Generally. Every taxpayer must retain suitable 
records and documents substantiating all information 
contained on any return for any tax administered by the 
Department department. Such records and documents shall be 
preserved for a period of three years from the required date 
for filing a return to which such records or documents pertain. 
If an extension of the date for filing a return has been granted 
such records and documents shall be preserved for a period of 
three years from the extended date.  

B. Net operating loss deductions. When an income tax 
return contains a net operating loss deduction, the records and 
documents pertinent to such return shall include:  

1. the The return for the year of the loss with supporting 
records and documents, and  

2. the The returns for all years to which any portion of the 
loss has been or could have been carried under federal law 
together with the supporting records and documents for such 
returns.  

23VAC10-20-110. Offers in compromise. 

A. In general Generally. 

1. The Tax Commissioner has the authority to accept an 
offer in compromise of a penalty, or to abate a penalty in its 
entirety, if he determines that such action is justified. An offer 
in compromise is considered accepted only when the taxpayer 
is notified in writing by the Tax Commissioner. 

2. The Tax Commissioner has the authority to accept an 
offer in compromise of taxes if he determines that the 
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assessment is based upon a doubtful and disputed claim or 
that the tax liability is of doubtful collectibility. 

B. Form of submission. An offer in compromise shall be 
submitted in the form of a letter addressed to the Tax 
Commissioner, Virginia Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 
1880, Richmond, Virginia 23282-1880. See the department’s 
website, www.tax.virginia.gov, for contact information and 
the mailing address for the commissioner. The letter should 
state that it is an offer in compromise and identify the 
taxpayer, type of tax involved, taxable period, date and 
amount of the assessment and contain a complete statement of 
the reasons for acceptance of the offer. A check payable to 
the Department of Taxation in the amount of the offer may be 
attached to the letter in addition to any supporting 
documents. In the case of an offer in compromise based upon 
doubtful collectibility, the taxpayer shall submit signed 
financial statements in sufficient detail to indicate the 
financial condition of the taxpayer. 

C. The Department of Taxation may deposit any payments 
submitted with offers in compromise into the state treasury 
unless the taxpayer specifically and clearly directs otherwise. 

23VAC10-20-130. Memorandum of lien for collection of 
taxes. 

1. If an A. The Tax Commissioner may file a memorandum 
of lien in the circuit court clerk's office of the county or city 
in which the taxpayer's place of business is located, or in 
which the taxpayer resides, if: 

1. An assessment of any tax, fees, penalty or interest 
remains unpaid thirty 30 days after the assessment, or if 
there has been an immediate assessment of income or sales 
tax where collection would be jeopardized by delay 
pursuant to Va. Code §§ 58.1-313 (relating to income tax) 
or 58.1-631 (relating to sales tax), the Tax Commissioner 
may file a memorandum of lien in the circuit court clerk's 
office of the county or city in which the taxpayer's place of 
business is located, or in which the taxpayer resides.; or 

2. There has been an immediate assessment of income or 
sales tax where collection would be jeopardized by delay 
pursuant to § 58.1-313 (relating to income tax) or 58.1-631 
(relating to sales tax) of the Code of Virginia. 

B. No memorandum of lien shall be filed unless the taxpayer 
is first given 10 or more days' prior notice of intent to file a 
lien. Notice shall be given to the taxpayer at his last known 
address. For purposes of this section, "last known address" 
refers to the address shown on the most recent return filed by 
or on behalf of the taxpayer or the address provided in 
correspondence by or on behalf of the taxpayer indicating that 
it is a change of the taxpayer's address. 

C. If the taxpayer has no place of business or residence 
within Virginia, such memorandum may be filed in the clerk's 
office of the Circuit Court circuit court of the City of 

Richmond. A copy of such memorandum may also be filed in 
the circuit court clerk's office of all counties in which the 
taxpayer owns real estate. 

2. D. The recordation of a memorandum of lien shall not 
prevent a taxpayer from seeking refund or exoneration under 
Va. Code §§ § 58.1-1821 (application to Tax Commissioner), 
58.1-1823 (amended return claiming a refund), 58.1-1824 
(protective claim) or 58.1-1825 (application to Court) of the 
Code of Virginia. 

E. A taxpayer may appeal to the Tax Commissioner after a 
memorandum of lien has been filed under this section if the 
taxpayer alleges an error in the filing of the lien. The Tax 
Commissioner shall make a determination of such an appeal 
within 14 days. If the Tax Commissioner determines that the 
filing was erroneous, he shall issue a certificate of release of 
the lien within seven days after such determination is made. 

23VAC10-20-200. Interest on overpayments or improper 
collection. 

A. In general Generally. Interest will be allowed and paid 
upon the overpayment of any tax administered by the 
department, the refund of which is either permitted or 
required under Title 58.1, Chapter 18, Article 2 Article 2 
(§ 58.1-1820 et seq.) of Chapter 18 of Title 58.1 of the Code 
of Virginia, at a rate equal to the rate of interest established 
pursuant to Va. Code § 58.1-15 of the Code of Virginia. Such 
interest will accrue from a date 60 days after the date of the 
payment of the tax, except as set forth below, to a date 
determined by the Department of Taxation, which will not be 
more than 30 days prior to the date of the refund check. 

B. Income tax. Refunds appearing on the face of an income 
tax return will accrue interest from a date 60 days after the 
due date for filing the return or the date on which such return 
was filed, whichever is later. Refunds resulting from 
payments of estimated tax or withholding tax can only be 
claimed on the face of the income tax return to which such 
payments apply. 

C. Erroneous assessment. 

1. Refunds pursuant to an erroneous assessment accrue 
interest from the date the assessment was paid. 

2. If the assessment is a self assessment paid upon filing a 
return, the date the assessment is paid is the date the return 
is filed and the tax paid or the last day prescribed by law 
for filing the return, whichever is later. 

3. If the assessment is a written assessment made pursuant 
to notice by the department, the date the assessment is paid 
is the date the department receives payment. 

4. A refund is the result of an erroneous assessment if the 
refund is pursuant to an application for correction of an 
erroneous assessment or improper collection under § 58.1-
1821 of the Code of Virginia, an amended return under 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations February 2, 2009 

2006 

§ 58.1-1823 of the Code of Virginia, a protective claim 
under § 58.1-1824 of the Code of Virginia or an 
application to a court for correction of an erroneous 
assessment or improper collection under § 58.1-1825 of the 
Code of Virginia.  

D. Sales tax. No interest will be paid on sales taxes refunded 
to a dealer unless the dealer agrees to pass such interest on to 
the purchaser. (See 23VAC10-20-160 C 2 for procedure.) See 
23VAC10-20-180 A 2 for more information. 

E. Net operating loss. Any overpayment of tax resulting 
from the carryback of a net operating loss or net capital loss 
will be deemed to have been made on the day on which the 
return for the year in which the loss occurred was filed, or the 
last day prescribed by law for such filing, whichever is later. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1735; Filed January 12, 2009, 10:25 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 23VAC10-210. Retail Sales and Use 
Tax (amending 23VAC10-210-220, 23VAC10-210-250, 
23VAC10-210-3080). 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Lewis, Tax Policy Analyst, 
Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 27185, Richmond, VA 
23261-7185, telephone (804) 371-2341, FAX (804) 371-
2355, or email jennifer.lewis@tax.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments reflect the 2004 retail sales and use tax 
rate increase and conform the regulations to the Form, 
Style, and Procedure Manual for Publication of Virginia 
Regulations. 

23VAC10-210-220. Brackets for collection of the tax.  

A. The rate of the sales and use tax is 4.5% 5.0%, which is 
comprised of a 3.5% 4.0% state tax and a 1.0% local tax 
applicable throughout Virginia. (See 23VAC10-210-6040 
through 23VAC10-210-6043 for special tax rate and 
provisions applicable to sales through vending machines.) 
The bracket system is used to eliminate fractions of $.01 and 
must be used to compute the tax on transactions of $5.00 or 
less. On transactions over $5.00, the tax is computed at a 
straight 4.5%. One 5.0%, with one half cent or more treated 
as $.01. Any dealer who collects the tax in accordance with 
the bracket system set forth herein shall not be deemed to 
have overcollected over collected the tax. (For overcollection 
For over collection of the tax generally, see 23VAC10-210-
340 D.) D. 

B. The bracket system does not relieve the dealer from the 
liability to pay an amount equal to 4.5% 5.0% of his gross 
taxable sales. However, there is one exception. If if the dealer 
can prove to the department that more than 85% of the gross 

taxable sales for the period was were from individual sales of 
$.10 or less (and that he was unable to adjust his prices to 
avoid the situation) in such manner as to prevent the 
economic incidence of the sales tax from falling on him), the 
department will determine the proper tax liability of the 
dealer based on the portion of gross taxable sales that came 
from sales of $.11 or more. Any dealer who may claim this 
exception must file with each return a separate statement 
explaining his claim in detail for consideration by the 
department. 

C. Below is the bracket system for the combined state and 
local tax of 4.5% 5.0% on transactions of $5.00 or less: 

$0.00 to $0.11                        no tax  
0.12 to 0.33                        $.01 tax 
0.34 to 0.55                        $.02 tax 
0.56 to 0.77                        $.03 tax 
0.78 to 0.99                        $.04 tax 
1.00 to 1.22                        $.05 tax 
1.23 to 1.44                        $.06 tax 
1.45 to 1.66                        $.07 tax 
1.67 to 1.88                        $.08 tax 
1.89 to 2.11                        $.09 tax 
2.12 to 2.33                        $.10 tax 
2.34 to 2.55                        $.11 tax 
2.56 to 2.77                        $.12 tax 
2.78 to 2.99                        $.13 tax 
3.00 to 3.22                        $.14 tax 
3.23 to 3.44                        $.15 tax 
3.45 to 3.66                        $.16 tax 
3.67 to 3.88                        $.17 tax 
3.89 to 4.11                        $.18 tax 
4.12 to 4.33                        $.19 tax 
4.34 to 4.55                        $.20 tax 
4.56 to 4.77                        $.21 tax 
4.78 to 4.99                        $.22 tax 
5.00                                         $.23 tax 

Sales Price Tax Due 

0.01 to 0.09 0 
0.10 to 0.29 0.01 
0.30 to 0.49 0.02 
0.50 to 0.69 0.03 
0.70 to 0.89 0.04 
0.90 to 1.09 0.05 
1.10 to 1.29 0.06 
1.30 to 1.49 0.07 
1.50 to 1.69 0.08 
1.70 to 1.89 0.09 
1.90 to 2.09 0.1 
2.10 to 2.29 0.11 
2.30 to 2.49 0.12 
2.50 to 2.69 0.13 
2.70 to 2.89 0.14 
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2.90 to 3.09 0.15 
3.10 to 3.29 0.16 
3.30 to 3.49 0.17 
3.50 to 3.69 0.18 
3.70 to 3.89 0.19 
3.90 to 4.09 0.2 
4.10 to 4.29 0.21 
4.30 to 4.49 0.22 
4.50 to 4.69 0.23 
4.70 to 4.89 0.24 
4.90 to 5.00 0.25 
For differential rate on fuels for domestic consumption, see 

23VAC10-210-630.  

23VAC10-210-250. Cash and trade discounts.  

A. The following words and terms, when used in this 
regulation, section shall have the following meanings, unless 
the content clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Cash or trade discount" includes a discount for the early 
payment of the purchase price, a discount attributable to the 
value of an item taken in trade, or a discount based upon the 
method of payment.  

B. Cash and trade discounts taken on sales are not includible 
in the sales price for purposes of computing the tax. The 
amount of such discounts may be deducted from gross sales 
provided the discounts have been included in gross sales.  

C. In computing the amount of a discount which that may be 
subtracted from gross sales, the discount must be allocated 
between sales price and sales tax. The following examples 
illustrate the application of this concept.  

Example 1: Dealer A sells an item to a customer for $100 
and bills the customer $100 for the item and $ 4.50 $5.00 for 
the tax. The terms of the sale provide for a 10% discount if 
the bill is paid within 30 days. The customer pays within 20 
days and is therefore entitled to the discount, which is 
computed as follows:  

Amount Billed $104.50 $105.00 

Sales Price 100.00 $100.00 

Tax 4.50 $5.00 

Less 10% Discount $10.00 discount 

Sales price discount 100.00 x l0% = 10.00 

Tax discount 4.50 x 10% = .45 
5.0 x 10% = $0.50 

Therefore, the customer remits $94.05 $94.50, which 
includes $90 in sales price and $4.05 $4.50 in sales tax. 
Dealer A may deduct $10.00 from gross sales, and will 
accordingly remit only $4.05 $4.50 in tax.  

Example 2: Dealer B sells an item to a customer for $100 
and bills the customer $100 for the item and $4.50 $5.00 for 
the tax. The terms of the sale provide for a $10 discount if the 
bill is paid within 30 days. The customer pays within 20 days 
and is therefore entitled to the discount, which is computed as 
follows:  

Amount Billed $104.50 $105.00 

Sales Price 100.00 $100.00 

Tax 4.50 $5.00 

Less $10.00 Discount $10.00 discount 

  $10.00 / 1.045 = 9.57 $1.05 = 
$9.52 sales price discount 

  .43 $0.48 tax discount 

Therefore, the customer remits $ 94.50 $95.00, which 
includes $ 90.43 $90.48 in sales price and $ 4.07 $4.52 in 
sales tax. Dealer B may deduct $ 9.57 $9.52 from gross sales, 
and will accordingly remit only $ 4.07 $4.52 in tax.  

Example 3: Dealer B repairs a piece of equipment for a 
customer and bills the customer $100 for parts, $50 for labor, 
and $ 4.50 $5.00 for tax. The terms of the sale provide for a 
$10 discount if the bill is paid within 30 days. B pays within 
20 days and earns the discount which is computed as follows:  

Amount Billed $154.50 $155.00 

Sales Price of Parts 100.00 $100.00 

Separately Stated Repair 
Labor (nontaxable) 

50.00 $50.00 

Sales tax 4.50 $5.00 

Less $10.00 discount attributed as follows: 

Attributable to Parts: (100 / $150) x $10.00 - = $6.67 
$6.67 / 1.045 1.05 = $6.38 $6.35 sales price discount 

.29 $0.32 sales tax reduction  

$3.33 attributable to nontaxable labor 

Therefore, the customer remits $ 144.50 $145.00, which 
includes $ 93.62 $93.65 in sales price for the parts, $ 4.21 
$4.68 in sales tax attributable to the parts, and $46.67 for 
nontaxable labor. Dealer B may deduct $ 6.38 $6.35 from 
gross sales and will accordingly remit only $ 4.21 $4.68 in 
tax.  

Regardless of whether a cash or percentage discount is used, 
the discount must be allocated between the sales price and the 
tax to avoid overcollection of the tax.  

23VAC10-210-3080. Returned goods. 

A. Generally. A dealer may deduct from gross sales any 
portion of the sales price of tangible personal property 
returned by a customer provided that such amount has been 
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refunded to or credited to the account of the purchaser. 
Adequate records must be kept to disclose the essential facts.  

B. Returns before tax paid by dealer. If a dealer refunds or 
credits to a customer's account all or any portion of the sales 
price of returned goods and has not yet paid the sales tax to 
the department, such portion of the sales price may be 
deducted from gross sales by the dealer in the appropriate 
place on his return for the period.  

For example, Example 1. Customer A purchases a sweater 
from Dealer B for $20.00 and pays to B the appropriate $.80 
$1.00 sales tax. A returns the sweater the same day and B 
refunds $20.80 $21.00. If the sale was included in gross sales 
for the month, B may deduct the $20.00 sales price of the 
sweater.  

C. Returns after tax paid by dealer. If a dealer refunds or 
credits to a customer's account all or any portion of the sales 
price of returned goods after the dealer has paid the tax on the 
goods to the department, such portion may be deducted from 
gross sales on the dealer's return for the period in which the 
refund was made or credit given.  

For example, in Example 2. In December Customer C 
purchases a bed from Dealer D for $700 and pays the $28 $35 
tax. C returns the bed to D in January and D credits C's 
account for $728 $735. In reporting gross sales for January, D 
may deduct the $700 sales price of the bed reported in a 
previous month.  

D. Refund or credit for returned goods. If a dealer as 
described in subsection C above of this section has 
insufficient gross sales during the period in which goods are 
returned or a refund/credit issued to absorb the amount of the 
sales price of the returned goods, the dealer may carry the 
deduction forward as a credit against gross sales until used. If 
any portion of such credit has not been used by the time a 
dealer ceases business or if a dealer is no longer engaged in 
making retail sales, he may request a refund for any portion 
of the unused credit for returned goods. The amount of refund 
will be the net amount of tax remitted, therefore, if a dealer 
deducted dealer's discount in filing his original return, such 
discount shall similarly be deducted from the amount to be 
refunded. The following example illustrates this concept.  

Example:. Customer E purchases equipment from Dealer G 
in January for $10,000 and pays the $400 $500 sales tax. The 
transaction is reported on G's January sales tax return which 
is filed timely. E returns the equipment in April and G 
refunds to E $8,000 of the sales price and the applicable tax 
of $320 $400. G's gross sales for April are only $5,000, 
therefore, only $5,000 of the amount refunded may be used as 
a credit. G goes out of business on April 30 and applies for 
refund of the tax attributable to the remaining $3,000 of sales 
price which was refunded. G will be issued a refund of 
$117.30 $146.40 computed as follows:  

(Sales Price X 4% 5.0% tax) - dealer's discount = Refund 
($3,000 X 4%) 5.0% tax) - (3% (4.0% X $90) = $117.30 
$146.40  

E. Sales of returned goods. When any returned tangible 
personal property is resold, the sale is subject to the sales tax.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1734; Filed January 12, 2009, 10:25 a.m. 
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GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 80 (2009) 

DECLARATION OF A STATE OF EMERGENCY TO 
SUPPORT THE 56th PRESIDENTIAL 

INAUGURATION 

The Presidential Inaugural Committee estimates the visitor 
attendance between 1.5 and 4 million. Projections for 
attendance are far above any past Presidential Inaugural. 
Emergency Management officials expect this to be the most 
complex and difficult Inaugural in history. The mass of 
attendees expected into the National Capital Region will 
challenge fire, law enforcement, emergency medical and mass 
transit capabilities. 

Supporting the Inauguration and related activities requires the 
Commonwealth’s full attention and preparation. A number of 
plausible challenges may emerge that create requirements that 
significantly exceed the Commonwealth’s capacity to 
respond. The high volume of buses/traffic, weather factors 
and other threats will further impact support to and from all 
jurisdictions. Additionally, Virginia must also be prepared to 
implement the Northern Virginia Evacuation Plan and 
support a Federal Continuity of Operations Plan operation if 
necessary. 

Therefore, the purpose of this order is to declare a state of 
emergency to exist for the Commonwealth in order to provide 
state agencies the greatest possible ability to prepare for and 
respond to the unusually high-risk environment and 
associated threat risk that will be generated by the 56th 
Presidential Inauguration. In accordance with § 44-146.28:1, 
the Commonwealth of Virginia, local jurisdictions in the 
National Capital Region and local jurisdictions throughout 
the Commonwealth will provide resources and assistance to 
the fullest extent possible associated with the comprehensive 
emergency actions generated in support of the 56th 
Presidential Inauguration during the National Special Security 
Event period of January 17, 2009 through January 21, 2009. 

By virtue of the authority vested in me by § 44-146.17 of the 
Code of Virginia, as Governor and as Director of Emergency 
Management, and by virtue of the authority vested in me by 
Article V, Section 7 of the Constitution of Virginia and by 
§ 44-75.1 of the Code of Virginia, as Governor and 
Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces of the 
Commonwealth, and subject always to my continuing and 
ultimate authority and responsibility to act in such matters, I 
hereby proclaim that a state of emergency exists and direct 
that appropriate assistance be rendered by agencies of the 
state government to respond to needs of the District of 
Columbia and the National Capital Region and surrounding 
areas to alleviate adverse conditions created by events. 
Pursuant to § 44-75.1 A 3 and A 4 of the Code of Virginia, I 
direct the Virginia National Guard be called forth to state 
duty to assist in providing such aid. This shall include such 
functions as the State Coordinator of Emergency 

Management, the Adjutant General, and the Secretary of 
Public Safety, may find necessary. 

In order to marshal all public resources and appropriate 
preparedness, response and recovery measures to meet this 
potential threat and recover from its effects, and in 
accordance with my authority contained in § 44-146.17 of the 
Emergency Services and Disaster Laws, I hereby order the 
following measures: 

A. The implementation by agencies of the state and local 
governments of the Commonwealth of Virginia Emergency 
Operations Plan (COVEOP), as amended along with other 
appropriate state agency plans. 

B. Activation of the Virginia Emergency Operations Center 
(VEOC) and Virginia Emergency Response Team (VERT) to 
coordinate the provision of assistance to the District of 
Columbia and National Capital Region. I am directing that 
the VEOC and VERT coordinate state operations in support 
of the EMAC agreement, other mission assignments to 
agencies designated in the Commonwealth of Virginia 
Emergency Operations Plan (COVEOP) and other measures 
that may be identified by the State Coordinator of Emergency 
Management, in consultation with the Secretary of Public 
Safety, which are needed to provide assistance for the 
preservation of life, protection of property, and 
implementation of recovery activities. 

C. The activation, implementation and coordination of 
appropriate mutual aid agreements and compacts, including 
the Emergency Management Assistance Compact (EMAC), 
and the authorization of the State Coordinator of Emergency 
Management to enter into any other supplemental 
agreements, pursuant to §§ 44-146.17(5) and 44-146.28:1 of 
the Code of Virginia to provide for the exchange of medical, 
fire, police, National Guard personnel and equipment, public 
utility, reconnaissance, welfare, transportation and 
communications personnel, and equipment and supplies. The 
State Coordinator of Emergency Management is hereby 
designated as Virginia’s authorized representative within the 
meaning of the Emergency Management Assistance Compact, 
§ 44-146.28:1 of the Code of Virginia. 

D. The authorization of the Departments of State Police, 
Transportation and Motor Vehicles to grant temporary 
overweight, over width, registration, or license exemptions to 
all carriers transporting essential commodities in and through 
any area of the Commonwealth in order to support the 
emergency conditions, regardless of their point of origin or 
destination.  

The axle and gross weights shown below are the maximum 
allowed, unless otherwise posted. 
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Any One Axle 24,000 Pounds 
Tandem Axles (more than 40 inches but 
not more than 96 inches spacing between 
axle centers) 

44,000 Pounds 

Single Unit (2 Axles)  44,000 Pounds 
Single Unit (3 Axles)  54,500 Pounds 
Tractor-Semi trailer (4 Axles) 64,500 Pounds 
Tractor-Semi trailer (5 or more Axles) 90,000 Pounds 
Tractor-Twin Trailers (5 or more Axles)  90,000 Pounds 
Other Combinations (5 or more Axles)  90,000 Pounds 
Per Inch of Tire Width in Contact with 
Road Surface  

850 Pounds 

All over width loads, up to a maximum of 12 feet, must 
follow Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (VDMV) 
hauling permit and safety guidelines. 

In addition to described overweight/over width transportation 
privileges, carriers are also exempt from registration with the 
Department of Motor Vehicles. This includes the vehicles 
enroute and returning to their home base. The above-cited 
agencies shall communicate this information to all staff 
responsible for permit issuance and truck legalization 
enforcement. 

This authorization shall apply to hours worked by any carrier 
when transporting passengers, property, equipment, food, 
fuel, construction materials and other critical supplies to or 
from any portion of the Commonwealth for purpose of 
providing relief or assistance as a result of this disaster, 
pursuant to § 52-8.4 of the Code of Virginia. 

The foregoing overweight/over width transportation 
privileges as well as the regulatory exemption provided by 
§ 52-8.4 A of the Code of Virginia, and implemented in 
19VAC30-20-40 B of the "Motor Carrier Safety 
Regulations," shall remain in effect for 30 days from the 
onset of the disaster, or until emergency relief is no longer 
necessary, as determined by the Secretary of Public Safety in 
consultation with the Secretary of Transportation, whichever 
is earlier. 

E. The discontinuance of provisions authorized in paragraph 
D above may be implemented and disseminated by 
publication of administrative notice to all affected and 
interested parties by the authority I hereby delegate to the 
Secretary of Public Safety, after consultation with other 
affected Cabinet-level Secretaries. 

F. A vehicle operated as a Virginia Department of 
Transportation Safety Service Patrol, while en route to an 
emergency, traffic incident, or other congestion management 
issue and with due regard to the safety of persons and 
property, may overtake and pass stopped or slow-moving 
vehicles by going off the paved or main traveled portion of 
the highway on the right or on the left. This temporary 
authority shall be limited to the time period beginning 11:59 
p.m. January 16, 2009, and ending 12 p.m. January 23, 2009, 

and shall apply only to Interstates 66, 95, 395, and 495 in the 
established VDOT Northern Virginia and Fredericksburg 
Districts. 

G. This state of emergency constitutes a major medical 
emergency under the Rules and Regulations of the Board of 
Health Governing Emergency Medical Services, pursuant to 
Article 3.01 (§ 32.1-111.1 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 32.1, 
of the Code of Virginia, Statewide Emergency Medical 
Services System and Services, and exemptions specified in 
the Rules and Regulations regarding patient transport and 
provider certification in disasters apply. 

H. The implementation by public agencies under my 
supervision and control of their emergency assignments as 
directed in the COVEOP without regard to normal procedures 
pertaining to performance of public work, entering into 
contracts, incurring of obligations, or other logistical and 
support measures of the Emergency Services and Disaster 
Laws, as provided in § 44-146.28 (b) of the Code of Virginia. 
Section 44-146.24 of the Code of Virginia also applies to the 
disaster activities of state agencies. 

I. Designation of members and personnel of volunteer, 
auxiliary and reserve groups including search and rescue 
(SAR), Virginia Associations of Volunteer Rescue Squads 
(VAVRS), Civil Air Patrol (CAP), member organizations of 
the Voluntary Organizations Active in Disaster (VOAD), 
Radio Amateur Civil Emergency Services (RACES), 
volunteer fire fighters, Medical Reserve Corps (MRC), 
Citizen Emergency Response Teams (CERT) and others 
identified and tasked by the State Coordinator of Emergency 
Management for specific disaster-related mission assignments 
as representatives of the Commonwealth engaged in 
emergency services activities within the meaning of the 
immunity provisions of § 44-146.23 (a) of the Code of 
Virginia, in the performance of their specific disaster-related 
mission assignments. 

K. I hereby authorize the Superintendent of Public Instruction 
to issue such guidance to local school divisions as may be 
necessary to facilitate enrollment of students displaced by 
events related to possible evacuation needs within the District 
of Columbia. 

L. The temporary waiver, for a period of 90 days, of the 
enforcement by the Board of Pharmacy of statutory and 
regulatory provisions which, in the judgment of the Director 
of the Department of Health Professions, impede the ability 
of Virginia pharmacies to provide assistance to patients who 
have been displaced. 

M. The following conditions apply to the deployment of the 
Virginia National Guard: 

1. The Adjutant General of Virginia, after consultation with 
the State Coordinator of Emergency Management, shall 
make available on state active duty such units and members 
of the Virginia National Guard and such equipment as may 
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be necessary or desirable to assist in alleviating the human 
suffering and damage to property. 

2. Pursuant to § 52-6 of the Code of Virginia, I authorize 
and direct the Superintendent of State Police to appoint any 
and all such Virginia Army and Air National Guard 
personnel called to state active duty as additional police 
officers as deemed necessary. These police officers shall 
have the same powers and perform the same duties as the 
regular State Police officers appointed by the 
Superintendent. However, they shall nevertheless remain 
members of the Virginia National Guard, subject to 
military command as members of the State Militia. Any 
bonds and/or insurance required by § 52-7 of the Code of 
Virginia shall be provided for them at the expense of the 
Commonwealth. 

3. In all instances, members of the Virginia National Guard 
shall remain subject to military command as prescribed by 
§ 44-78.1 of the Code of Virginia and not subject to the 
civilian authorities of county or municipal governments. 
This shall not be deemed to prohibit working in close 
cooperation with members of the Virginia Departments of 
State Police or Emergency Management or local law 
enforcement or emergency management authorities or 
receiving guidance from them in the performance of their 
duties. 

4. Should service under this Executive Order result in the 
injury or death of any member of the Virginia National 
Guard, the following will be provided to the member and 
the member’s dependents or survivors: 

(a) Workers Compensation benefits provided to members 
of the National Guard by the Virginia Workers 
Compensation Act, subject to the requirements and 
limitations thereof; and, in addition, 

(b) The same benefits, or their equivalent, for injury, 
disability and/or death, as would be provided by the 
federal government if the member were serving on 
federal active duty at the time of the injury or death. Any 
such federal-type benefits due to a member and his or her 
dependents or survivors during any calendar month shall 
be reduced by any payments due under the Virginia 
Workers Compensation Act during the same month. If 
and when the time period for payment of Workers 
Compensation benefits has elapsed, the member and his 
or her dependents or survivors shall thereafter receive 
full federal-type benefits for as long as they would have 
received such benefits if the member had been serving on 
federal active duty at the time of injury or death. Any 
federal-type benefits due shall be computed on the basis 
of military pay grade E5 or the member’s military grade 
at the time of injury or death, whichever produces the 
greater benefit amount. Pursuant to § 44-14 of the Code 
of Virginia, and subject to the availability of future 
appropriations which may be lawfully applied to this 

purpose, I now approve of future expenditures out of 
appropriations to the Department of Military Affairs for 
such federal-type benefits as being manifestly for the 
benefit of the military service. 

5. The costs incurred by the Department of Military Affairs 
in performing these missions shall be paid from state funds. 

N. The activation of the statutory provisions in § 59.1-525 et 
seq. of the Code of Virginia related to price gouging. Price 
gouging at any time is unacceptable. Price gouging is even 
more reprehensible after a disaster. I have directed all 
applicable executive branch agencies to take immediate 
action to address any verified reports of price gouging of 
necessary goods or services. I make the same request of the 
Office of Attorney General and appropriate local officials. 

O. I hereby authorize the heads of executive branch agencies, 
acting when appropriate on behalf of their regulatory boards, 
to waive any state requirement or regulation for which the 
federal government has issued a waiver of the corresponding 
federal or state regulation based on the impact of events 
related to this situation. 

P. I hereby authorize the presidents of colleges and 
universities in the Commonwealth to waive the requirements 
of any state law or regulation for good cause to facilitate 
enrollment of students displaced by events related to this 
situation. 

Q. A state of emergency exists for the Commonwealth in 
support of the proper management, care and support of 
persons who may need medical care at facilities impacted by 
events related to the Inauguration, including an influx of large 
numbers of displaced persons. I hereby order the following 
measures: 

1. Designation of physicians, nurses, and other licensed and 
nonlicensed health care providers and other individuals as 
well as hospitals, nursing facilities and other licensed and 
nonlicensed health care organizations and other private 
entities by agencies of the Commonwealth, including but 
not limited to the Department of Health, Department of 
Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse 
Services, Department of Emergency Management, 
Department of Transportation, Department of State Police, 
Department of Motor Vehicles, and Department of Social 
Services, as representatives of the Commonwealth engaged 
in emergency services activities, at sites designated by the 
Commonwealth, within the meaning of the immunity 
provisions of § 44-146.23 (a) of the Code of Virginia, in 
the performance of their disaster-related mission 
assignments. 

2. It may be necessary to authorize persons not normally 
authorized by law to administer or dispense necessary 
drugs and devices for the prophylaxis or treatment of the 
Commonwealth’s population pursuant to Article 3 (§ 32.1-
42.1) of Chapter 2 of Title 32.1. The Commissioner of 
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Health shall determine the necessity for administration and 
dispensing of drugs and devices by persons not normally 
authorized to do so. 

3. The temporary waiver, for a period of 90 days, of the 
enforcement by the Board of Health Professions of 
statutory and regulatory provisions which, in the judgment 
of the Commissioner of Health, impede the ability of 
Virginia healthcare providers to provide assistance to 
patients to the extent that events related to the Inauguration, 
including large numbers of displaced persons, create 
barriers to care. 

R. Upon my approval, the costs incurred by state agencies 
and other agents in performing mission assignments through 
the VEOC of the Commonwealth as defined herein and in 
§ 44-146.24 of the Code of Virginia, other than costs defined 
in Item 5 of the paragraphs above pertaining to the Virginia 
National Guard, in performing these missions shall be paid 
from state funds and/or Federal funds. In addition, up to 
$100,000 shall be made available for state response and 
recovery operations and incident documentation with the 
Department of Planning and Budget overseeing the release of 
these funds. 

This Executive Order shall be effective January 13, 2009, and 
shall remain in full force and effect until June 30, 2010, 
unless sooner amended or rescinded by further executive 
order. 

Termination of the Executive Order is not intended to 
terminate any Federal-type benefits granted or to be granted 
due to injury or death as a result of service under this 
Executive Order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia, this 13th day of January 2009. 

/s/ Timothy M. Kaine 
Governor 
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

State Implementation Plan Revision 

Notice of action: The Department of Environmental Quality 
(DEQ) is announcing an opportunity for public comment on a 
proposed plan to attain and maintain the national ambient air 
quality standard for particulate matter in the Northeastern 
Virginia Intrastate Air Quality Control Region. If adopted, the 
Commonwealth intends to submit the plan as a revision to the 
Commonwealth of Virginia State Implementation Plan (SIP) 
in accordance with the requirements of § 110(a) of the federal 
Clean Air Act. The SIP is the plan developed by the 
Commonwealth in order to fulfill its responsibilities under the 
federal Clean Air Act to attain and maintain the ambient air 
quality standards promulgated by the U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency (EPA) under the Act. 

Purpose of notice: DEQ is seeking comments on the overall 
plan. 

Public comment period: January 12, 2009, to February 12, 
2009. 

Public hearing: A public hearing will be conducted if a 
request is made in writing to the contact listed below. In order 
to be considered, the request must include the full name, 
address and telephone number of the person requesting the 
hearing and be received by DEQ by 5 p.m. on the last day of 
the comment period. Notice of the date, time, and location of 
any requested public hearing will be announced in a separate 
notice, and another 30-day comment period will be 
conducted. 

Background: On September 30, 2002, the State Air Pollution 
Control Board adopted an opacity variance (9VAC5 Chapter 
220) for the rocket motor test operations at Atlantic Research 
Corporation’s Orange County facility located at 7499 Pine 
Stake Road, Culpeper VA 22701 (Registration No. 4074) 
from the standard for visible emissions in 9VAC5-50-80. In 
lieu of compliance with this standard, the variance required 
the facility to limit total particulate matter emissions from its 
rocket motor test operations to 714 pounds per 
hour. Subsequently, the facility was purchased by Aerojet 
Corporation. This variance was submitted to EPA as a 
revision to the Virginia SIP on January 26, 2004. 

Description of proposal: The January 2004 SIP submittal 
contained a technical support document (TSD) that provided 
a basis for proposed hourly limit for particulate matter 
emissions from the rocket motor testing operations. In 
conducting its administrative and technical review of the 
submittal, EPA determined that the technical support 
document did not provide adequate air dispersion modeling 
information. On April 20, 2005, the company provided a 
more comprehensive TSD, "Technical Support 
Documentation for Opacity Variance for Rocket Test 
Facility." 

This TSD was reviewed by EPA, which provided a number of 
questions and comments. One of the comments was that the 
OB/OD Model software program used to estimate the PM 
emissions from the rocket motor testing operations is not an 
EPA-approved model. On May 5, 2008, DEQ requested EPA 
approval of an alternative air quality model for analyzing air 
quality in support of the variance. EPA approved this request 
on July 24, 2008. On August 29, 2008, the company provided 
responses to the remaining EPA comments. These documents 
make up the proposed revision to the SIP. The documents 
have been reviewed by DEQ, and DEQ agrees with the 
company’s modeling procedures and results. 

The TSD includes references to the PM10 annual NAAQS. 
All references to the annual PM10 NAAQS should be 
disregarded due to the fact that EPA revoked this standard on 
December 18, 2006. 

Federal information: This notice is being given to satisfy the 
public participation requirements of federal regulations (40 
CFR 51.102). The proposal will be submitted as a revision to 
the Commonwealth of Virginia SIP under § 110(a) of the 
federal Clean Air Act in accordance with 40 CFR 51.104. It is 
planned to submit all provisions of the proposal as a revision 
to the Commonwealth of Virginia SIP. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax, and postal mail.  In order to be considered, comments 
must include the full name, address and telephone number of 
the person commenting and be received by DEQ by 5 p.m. on 
the last day of the comment period. All testimony, exhibits 
and documents received are part of the public record. Please 
note this proposed plan is being concurrently reviewed by the 
U. S. Environmental Protection Agency. 

To review proposal: The proposal and any supporting 
documents are available on the DEQ Air Public Notices for 
Plans website 
(http://www.deq.virginia.gov/air/permitting/planotes.html). 
The documents may also be obtained by contacting the DEQ 
representative named below. The public may review the 
documents between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. of each business 
day until the close of the public comment period at the 
following DEQ locations: 1) Main Street Office, 8th Floor, 
629 E. Main St, Richmond VA, (804) 698-4070 and 2) 
Charlottesville Office, 900 Natural Resources Dr, Suite 600, 
Charlottesville VA, (434) 293-1020. Note that the modeling 
data in support of this plan is extensive, and available only in 
electronic format. An electronic copy of the modeling data is 
available on request. 

Contact Information: Doug Stockman, Environmental 
Engineer Senior, Department of Environmental Quality, 
13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, telephone 
(703) 583-3800, FAX (703) 583-3821, or email 
rdstockman@deq.virginia.gov. 
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STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 
AT RICHMOND, DECEMBER 23, 2008 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. PUE-2008-00099 
Concerning Electric Utility Integrated 
Resource Planning Pursuant 
to §§ 56-597 et seq. Code of Virginia 

ORDER ESTABLISHING GUIDELINES FOR 
DEVELOPING INTEGRATED RESOURCE PLANS 

Pursuant to §§ 56-597 et seq. of the Code of Virginia 
("Code"), the State Corporation Commission ("Commission") 
issued an Order Proposing Guidelines and Directing the 
Filing of Integrated Resource Plans on November 12, 2008 
("November 12 Order").  The November 12 Order, inter alia, 
directed each investor-owned electric utility to develop and 
file an integrated resource plan ("IRP") by September 1, 2009 
and, pursuant to § 56-599 A of the Code, proposed guidelines 
for use by each electric utility in developing its IRP.  The 
November 12 Order also afforded interested persons an 
opportunity to comment on the proposed guidelines. 

On December 12, 2008, interested persons submitted 
comments on the proposed guidelines.  Some commenters 
suggested revisions for the Commission to consider.  
Comments were filed by Appalachian Power Company; 
Richard F. Hirsh; Barbara Kessinger; Kentucky Utilities 
Company d/b/a Old Dominion Power Company; Office of the 
Attorney General, Division of Consumer Counsel; The 
Potomac Edison Company d/b/a Allegheny Power; Virginia 
Chapter of the Sierra Club; Southern Environmental Law 
Center; Virginia Committee for Fair Utility Rates; Virginia 
Electric and Power Company d/b/a Dominion Virginia Power 
("Virginia Power"); Virginia Energy Providers Association; 
Virginia Independent Power Producers; and Washington Gas 
Light Company.  Also, MeadWestvaco Corporation filed a 
Notice of Intent to Participate.1 On December 17, 2008, 
Virginia Power filed a motion requesting permission to file 
reply comments by December 22, 2008. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of this 
matter, is of the opinion and finds as follows.  Pursuant to 
§ 56-599 A of the Code, which states that the Commission 
"may establish guidelines for developing an IRP," the 
Commission hereby establishes such guidelines as attached to 
this Order. 

We acknowledge and appreciate the comments submitted by 
numerous interested persons on the guidelines as proposed in 
our November 12 Order. We have considered all such 
comments and, at this time, find that it is reasonable to 
establish the guidelines as attached to this Order.  For ease of 

reference of those submitting comments, a version of the 
guidelines showing the additions and deletions from the 
guidelines as proposed in the November 12 Order is also 
attached hereto. 

In addition, we emphasize that, as mandated by § 56-599 A of 
the Code, the attached are "guidelines" - they are not, for 
example, filing requirements issued as part of the Virginia 
Administrative Code.  New language in Section C of the 
guidelines further clarifies as follows: "To the extent the 
information requested is not currently available or is not 
applicable, the utility will clearly note and explain this in the 
appropriate location in the plan, narrative, or schedule." 
Moreover, § 56-599 C of the Code permits the Commission 
to modify the guidelines after gaining experience therewith 
by issuing subsequent guidelines for updated and revised 
IRPs. 

Similarly, the guidelines established herein do not limit the 
information that the Commission may determine is 
reasonable and relevant as part of the utilities' subsequent, 
actual IRP cases to be filed by September 1, 2009.  In this 
regard, we note that several interested persons filed comments 
regarding specific issues and analyses that the commenter 
asserted should be part of the guidelines and part of those 
subsequent IRP cases.  Accordingly, we also clarify that the 
exclusion from the guidelines herein of any comments or 
recommendations received in this matter does not represent a 
rejection of such request for purposes of any particular, 
subsequent IRP case.  Rather, such issues may be raised - and 
addressed by all participants and the Commission - as part of 
the specific IRP case filed by the utility.2 

Finally, our November 12 Order did not provide for reply 
comments and, for the reasons discussed above, we continue 
to find that it is not necessary to consider reply comments in 
this matter. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The guidelines as set forth in Attachment B to this 
Order are hereby established pursuant to § 56-599 A of the 
Code for use by each investor-owned electric utility in 
developing its initial IRP. 

(2) Each IRP is to be filed with this Commission pursuant 
to the Commission's November 12 Order and § 56-599 of 
the Code, by September 1, 2009.  Said filing shall be in 
conformity with the Commission's Rules of Practice and 
Procedure in effect at the time of the filing. 

(3) As directed in the November 12 Order, each electric 
utility shall provide a copy of its IRP filed with the 
Commission to the chairmen of the committees and the 
commission set out in the third enactment clauses in 
Chapters 476 and 603 of the 2008 Virginia Acts of 
Assembly. 
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(4) The motion filed by Virginia Power for leave to file 
reply comments is denied. 

(5) There being nothing further to come before the 
Commission in this proceeding, this case is hereby closed 
and the papers herein placed upon the Commission's file 
for ended causes. 

Commissioner Dimitri did not participate in this matter. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of the 
Commission to all persons on the official Service List in this matter.  
The Service List is available from the Clerk of the State Corporation 
Commission, c/o Document Control Center, 1300 East Main Street, 
First Floor, Tyler Building, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  A copy 
shall also be delivered to the Commission's Office of General 
Counsel and Divisions of Energy Regulation and Economics and 
Finance. 

________________________ 

1 MeadWestvaco Corporation stated it had not determined its final 
recommendation or position on the issues involved, but wished to be on the 
service list for this proceeding. 
2 Several commenters also raised questions regarding procedures for the IRP 
cases.  As noted in the November 12 Order, and as referenced in the 
proposed guidelines, each utility shall file an initial IRP with the Clerk of the 
Commission in conformity with the Commission's Rules of Practice and 
Procedure. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY AND 
THE DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND 

RECREATION 

Development of Total Maximum Daily Load 
Implementation Plan 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) and the 
Department of Conservation and Recreation (DCR) seek 
written and oral comments from interested persons on the 
development of a total maximum daily load (TMDL) 
implementation plan for the Pigg River and Old Womans 
Creek watersheds in Franklin County, Pittsylvania County, 
Henry County and the Town of Rocky Mount, Virginia. 
Segments of these streams were originally listed as impaired 
due to violations of the state’s water quality standard for 
bacteria on the 1998 and 2004 § 303(d) TMDL Priority Lists. 
A TMDL was developed to address the bacterial impairment. 
The TMDL was approved by EPA on September 11, 2006, 
and is available on DEQ’s website at:  

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/TMDLDataSearch/ReportSearch.jspx. 

Section 62.1-44.19:7 C of the Code of Virginia requires the 
development of an implementation plan (IP) for approved 
TMDLs. The IP should provide measurable goals and the date 
of expected achievement of water quality objectives. The IP 
should also include the corrective actions needed and their 
associated costs, benefits, and environmental impacts. 

DEQ and DCR will hold a final public meeting on Thursday, 
February 19, 2009, at 6:30 p.m. to inform the public of the IP 
development and to solicit comments on the draft document. 
The draft IP will be available for review on the web no later 
than February 12, 2009, at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl/iprpts.html. The meeting 
will be held at the Franklin Center in Rocky Mount, Virginia. 

Directions to the Franklin Center: From US 220, take the first 
Rocky Mount exit. This exit puts you on North Main Street. 
Go 3-4 miles. You will come to a light that crosses old 
railroad tracks and onto a bridge. Drive straight ahead (go 
past The Hub Restaurant), look for Claiborne Avenue on right 
(between Red Clay Cafe and Rocky Mount UMC). Turn right 
onto Claiborne Avenue, go 1/2 mile to The Franklin Center 
on left. 

The public comment period for this final public meeting will 
end on Tuesday, March 23, 2009. Questions or information 
requests should be addressed to Mary Dail, Department of 
Environmental Quality, (540) 562-6715 or 
mrdail@deq.virginia.gov. Written comments should include 
the name, address, and telephone number of the person 
submitting the comments and should be sent to Mary Dail, 
Department of Environmental Quality, 3019 Peters Creek 
Road, Roanoke, VA 24019, telephone (540) 562-6715, FAX 
(540) 562-6725, or email mrdail@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Proposed Consent Order - Hammaker East, L.P. 
An enforcement action has been proposed for Hammaker 
East, L.P. for an alleged violation in Chesterfield County, 
Virginia. A consent order describes a settlement to resolve an 
unauthorized discharge that occurred at 7600 Fort Darling 
Road. The order requires corrective action, monitoring, and 
payment of a civil charge. A description of the proposed order 
is available at the DEQ office named below or online at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. Frank Lupini will accept comments 
by email felupini@deq.virginia.gov, FAX (804) 527-5106 or 
postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 
Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, 
VA 23060, from February 2, 2009, to March 5, 2009. 
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

Drinking Water Construction Funding 

VDH will offer funding informational meetings at six locations throughout the state.  Attendance is on a first come basis and is 
limited to 50 people at each location. 
Material will focus on Drinking Water Construction funding available through VDH.  The Drinking Water State Revolving 
Fund (DWSRF) Program and the Water Supply Assistance Fund (WSAGF) Program will be discussed.  You will be asked for 
your specific suggestions and opinions. 
You will be advised on program updates and then guided through program criteria, program applications, and the project 
scheduling steps needed for smooth project implementation. 
If you plan to attend, please return the form below by February 13, 2009 so we may properly plan the meeting.  You may mail 
it to Theresa Hewlett at the above address or FAX at (804) 864-7521.  If you have any questions, please call Theresa Hewlett at 
(804) 864-7501. 
 

I (we) wish to attend the meeting indicated below: 
□  Danville  9:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m., Wednesday, February 18, 2009 at the Pittsylvania/Danville Health District’s Auditorium, 

326 Taylor Drive, Danville, VA 

□  Abingdon 9:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m., Thursday, February 19, 2009 at the Southwest VA Higher Education Center, Room 222, 
Abingdon, VA 

□  Chesterfield 9:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m., Monday, February 23, 2009 at the Chesterfield County Health Department’s Multi-
purpose Room, 9501 Lucy Corr Circle, Chesterfield, VA 

□  Suffolk Area 9:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m., Tuesday, February 24, 2009 at the Town of Windsor’s Municipal Building Counsel 
Chamber, 8 East Windsor Blvd., Windsor, VA. (Isle of Wight County) 

□  Culpeper  9:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m., Wednesday, February 25, 2009 at the County of Culpeper’s Board of Supervisors Room 
(rear entrance to Administration Bldg. and 3-hr. parking across the street), 302 North Main Street, Culpeper, 
VA 

□  Lexington 9:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m., Thursday, February 26, 2009 at the Virginia Military Institute’s Preston Library, Turman 
Room, Lexington, VA 

 
There will be _______ persons in my party as follows: 
Name   Address   Phone   Representing 
____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

* * * 
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We are pleased to announce several opportunities for drinking 
water funding.  Construction applications may be submitted 
year round.  However, applications received after the due date 
stated below will be considered for funding in following 
cycle.  As described below, funding is made possible by our 
Drinking Water State Revolving Fund (DWSRF) Program.  
We anticipate having at least $10 million.  Also the enclosed 
attachment describes our Water Supply Assistance Grant 
Fund Program.  Our FY 2010 DWSRF Intended Use Plan 
will be developed using your input on these issues. 

(1) 1452(k) Source Water Protection Initiatives - (Yellow 
application) Must be postmarked by March 27, 2009. 

This provision allows VDH to loan money for activities to 
protect important drinking water resources.  Loan funds are 
available to: (1) community and non-profit noncommunity 
waterworks to acquire land/conservation easements and (2) 
to community waterworks, only, to establish local, 
voluntary incentive-based protection measures. 

(2) Construction Funds – (Cream application) Must be 
postmarked by March 27, 2009. 

Private and public owners of community waterworks and 
nonprofit noncommunity waterworks are eligible to apply 
for construction funds. VDH makes selections based on 
criteria described in the Program Design Manual, such as 
existing public health problems, noncompliance, 
affordability, regionalization, the availability of matching 
funds, etc.  Readiness to proceed with construction is a key 
element.  A Preliminary Engineering Report must be 
submitted if required by VDH.  An instruction packet and 
Construction Project Schedule are included. 

(3) Set-Aside Suggestion Forms – (White form) Must be 
postmarked by March 27, 2009. 

Anyone has the opportunity to suggest new or continuing 
set-aside (nonconstruction) activities.  Set-aside funds help 
VDH assist waterworks owners to prepare for future 
drinking water challenges and assure the sustainability of 
safe drinking water. 

(4) Planning & Design Grants – (Gray application) Must be 
postmarked by August 28, 2009. 

Private and public owners of community waterworks are 
eligible to apply for these grant funds.  Grants can be up to 
$30,000 per project for small, financially stressed, 
community waterworks serving fewer than 3,300 persons.  
Eligible projects may include preliminary engineering 
planning, design of plans and specifications, performance 
of source water quality and quantity studies, drilling test 
wells to determine source feasibility, or other similar 
technical assistance projects.  These funds could assist the 
waterworks owner in future submittals for construction 
funds. 

The VDH’s Program Design Manual describes the features of 
the above opportunities for funding. After receiving the 
aforementioned public input, VDH will develop a draft 
Intended Use Plan for public review and comment.  When 
developed in August, the draft Intended Use Plan will 
describe specific details for use of the funds.  A public 
meeting is planned for October and written comments will be 
accepted before we submit a final version to the USEPA for 
approval. 

You may request the applications, set-aside suggestion form, 
Program Design Manual and information from and forward 
any comments to Steve Pellei, P.E., FCAP Director, by 
writing, calling, or faxing at the above address. The materials 
are also accessible on our website 
www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinkingwater/financial. 

* * * 

The 1999 General Assembly created the Water Supply 
Assistance Grant Fund (WSAGF) in Section 32.1-171.2 of 
the Code of Virginia.  The purpose of the WSAG is to make 
grant funds available to localities and owners of waterworks 
to assist in the provision of drinking water. 

Funds are available by submitting an application postmarked 
on or before the dates indicated for the following: 

(1) Planning Grants – Application must be postmarked by 
August 28, 2009. 

Of available funding, $60,000 or 16.67% will be used for 
planning needs.  Your application cannot exceed this amount. 

In ranking of applications, preference is given to those that 
address problems of small, community waterworks with 
multi-jurisdictional support. The applicant submits the current 
VDH planning application to VDH. To promote coordination 
of funding and streamline the process for applicants, grants 
are prioritized in accordance with rating criteria of the current 
DWSRF Program. For WSAGF funding purposes only, up to 
fifty (50) extra points are added to the DWSRF rating criteria 
relative to the Stress Index rank. 

Eligible activities may include (but not be limited to): 
Capacity building activities addressing regionalization or 
consolidation, performance of source water quality and 
quantity studies, drilling test wells to determine source 
feasibility, income surveys, preliminary engineering planning, 
design and preparation of plans and specifications, or other 
similar technical assistance projects. 

(2) Surface Water Development or Improvement Grants – 
Application must be postmarked by March 27, 2009. 

Of available funding, $200,000 or 55.55% will be used for 
community waterworks surface source water development or 
improvement activities.  Your application cannot exceed this 
amount. 
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The applicant submits the current VDH construction 
application to VDH.  In ranking of applications, preference is 
given to those that address problems of small, community 
waterworks with multi-jurisdictional support.  

Eligible activities may include: land purchase, options to 
purchase land, general site development costs, and dam 
upgrade and construction. 

(3) Small Project Construction Grants – Application must be 
postmarked by March 27, 2009. 

Of available funding, $100,000 or 27.78% will be used for 
small project construction that is defined as a project whose 
total project cost does not exceed $50,000. Eligible activities 
may include (but not be limited to): upgrade or construction 
of well or spring sources, waterlines, storage tanks, and 
treatment. 

The applicant submits the current VDH construction 
application to VDH.  To promote coordination of funding and 
streamline the process for applicants, grants are prioritized in 
accordance with rating criteria of the current DWSRF 
Program. For WSAGF purposes only, up to thirty (30) extra 
points are added to the VDH rating criteria relative to the 
Stress Index rank. Preference is given to community 
waterworks. This priority system ensures that all eligible 
acute or chronic health/SDWA compliance projects are 
funded before any other eligible project.  

The VDH’s WSAGF Program Guidelines describes the 
features of the above opportunities for funding.  

You may request the applications or Program Guidelines 
from us by writing, calling, or faxing at the above address.  
The applications are also accessible on our website 
www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinkingwater/financial. 

STATE LOTTERY DEPARTMENT 

Director's Orders 
The following Director's Order of the State Lottery 
Department was filed with the Virginia Registrar of 
Regulations on January 14, 2009. The order may be viewed at 
the State Lottery Department, 900 East Main Street, 
Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, 910 Capitol Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
Virginia. 

Final Rules for Game Operation: 

Director's Order Number Ninety (08) 

2 Ways 2 Win Sweepstakes; (effective 1/14/09) 

ERRATA 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC5-230. State Medical Facilities 
Plan (amending 12VAC5-230-10, 12VAC5-230-30; adding 
12VAC5-230-40 through 12VAC5-230-1000; repealing 
12VAC5-230-20). 

Publication: 25:9 VA.R. 1706-1742 January 5, 2009. 

Correction to final regulation: 

Page 1707, 12VAC5-230-10, definition of "Bed," line 2, 
strike "are" and insert "care" 

Page 1710, 12VAC5-230-10, definition of "PET/CT," line 
7, strike "services" and insert "service" 

Page 1713, 12VAC5-230-60, first sentence should read: In 
the review of reviewing competing applications, 
[ preference consideration will may ] be given to applicants 
[ the an ] applicant [ that who ] : 

Page 1714, 12VAC5-230-70, strike " [ D. Applicants shall 
not use this section to justify a need to establish new 
services. ]" 

Page 1714, 12VAC5-230-80, insert "[ D. Applicants shall 
not use this section to justify a need to establish new 
services. ]" 

Page 1715, 12VAC5-230-110, line 4, strike "if"  

Page 1719, 12VAC5-230-340 B, line 2, change 
"tereotactic" to "stereotactic" 

Page 1741, 12VAC5-230-870 subdivision 6, change 
"Sservices" to "Services" 

R03-117, January 8, 2009 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Mailing Address: Virginia Code Commission, 910 Capitol 
Street, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations 

Agencies are required to use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) when filing regulations for publication in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. The Office of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations implemented a web-based application 
called RIS for filing regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register. The Registrar's office has 
worked closely with the Department of Planning and Budget 



General Notices/Errata 

Volume 25, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations February 2, 2009 

2019 

(DPB) to coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory 
Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one 
another by sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

The Office of the Virginia Register is working toward the 
eventual elimination of the requirement that agencies file 
print copies of regulatory packages. Until that time, agencies 
may file petitions for rulemaking, notices of intended 
regulatory actions and general notices in electronic form only; 
however, until further notice, agencies must continue to file 
print copies of proposed, final, fast-track and emergency 
regulatory packages. 
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