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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, the Virginia Tax Bulletin issued 
periodically by the Department of Taxation, and notices of public 
hearings and open meetings of state agencies. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
Proposed regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating 
agency at any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 12 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
23:7 VA.R. 1023-1140 December 11, 2006, refers to Volume 23, Issue 
7, pages 1023 through 1140 of the Virginia Register issued on 
December 11, 2006. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: R. Steven Landes, 
Chairman; John S. Edwards, Vice Chairman; Ryan T. McDougle; 
Robert Hurt; Robert L. Calhoun; Frank S. Ferguson; E.M. Miller, 
Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; James F. Almand; Jane M. Roush. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
June T. Chandler, Assistant Registrar. 
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

May 2009 through February 2010 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

INDEX 2 Volume 25  April 2009 

25:18 April 22, 2009 May 11, 2009 

25:19 May 6, 2009 May 25, 2009 

25:20 May 20, 2009 June 8, 2009 

INDEX 3 Volume 25  July 2009 

25:21 June 3, 2009 June 22, 2009 

25:22 June 17, 2009 July 6, 2009 

25:23 July 1, 2009 July 20, 2009 

25:24 July 15, 2009 August 3, 2009 

25:25 July 29, 2009 August 17, 2009 

25:26 August 12, 2009 August 31, 2009 

FINAL INDEX Volume 25  October 2009 

26:1 August 26, 2009 September 14, 2009 

26:2 September 9, 2009 September 28, 2009 

26:3 September 23, 2009 October 12, 2009 

26:4 October 7, 2009 October 26, 2009 

26:5 October 21, 2009 November 9, 2009 

26:6 November 4, 2009 November 23, 2009 

26:7 November 17, 2009 (Tuesday) December 7, 2009 

INDEX 1 Volume 26  January 2010 

26:8 December 2, 2009 December 21, 2009 

26:9 December 15, 2009 (Tuesday) January 4, 2010 

26:10 December 29, 2009 (Tuesday) January 18, 2010 

26:11 January 13, 2010 February 1, 2010 

26:12 January 27, 2010 February 15, 2010 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 



CUMULATIVE TABLE OF VIRGINIA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE 
SECTIONS ADOPTED, AMENDED, OR REPEALED 

 

Volume 25, Issue 18 Virginia Register of Regulations May 11, 2009 

3083 

The table printed below lists regulation sections, by Virginia Administrative Code (VAC) title, that have been amended, 
added or repealed in the Virginia Register since the regulations were originally published or last supplemented in VAC (the 
Fall 2008 VAC Supplement includes final regulations published through Virginia Register Volume 24, Issue 24, dated 
August 4, 2008). Emergency regulations, if any, are listed, followed by the designation "emer," and errata pertaining to final 
regulations are listed. Proposed regulations are not listed here. The table lists the sections in numerical order and shows 
action taken, the volume, issue and page number where the section appeared, and the effective date of the section. 

CUMULATIVE TABLE OF VIRGINIA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE SECTIONS ADOPTED, AMENDED, OR REPEALED 

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
Title 1. Administration 
1 VAC 17-10-10 through 1 VAC 17-10-90 Repealed 25:8 VA.R. 1484 1/21/09 
1 VAC 17-11-10 through 1 VAC 17-11-110 Added 25:8 VA.R. 1484-1487 1/21/09 
1 VAC 30-10-10 through 1 VAC 30-10-70 Repealed 25:8 VA.R. 1487 1/21/09 
1 VAC 30-11-10 through 1 VAC 30-11-110 Erratum 25:9 VA.R. 1827 -- 
1 VAC 30-11-10 through 1 VAC 30-11-110 Added 25:8 VA.R. 1488-1490 1/21/09 
1 VAC 30-45-10 through 1 VAC 30-45-860 Added 25:7 VA.R. 1409-1413 1/1/09 
1 VAC 30-46-10 through 1 VAC 30-46-210 Added 25:7 VA.R. 1413-1417 1/1/09 
1 VAC 50-10-60 through 1 VAC 50-10-150 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 119 10/29/08 
1 VAC 50-11-10 through 1 VAC 50-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 119-122 10/29/08 
1 VAC 55-10-10 through 1 VAC 55-10-50 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 122 10/29/08 
1 VAC 55-11-10 through 1 VAC 55-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 122-125 10/29/08 
1 VAC 75-10-10 through 1 VAC 75-10-40 Repealed 24:25 VA.R. 3523 9/17/08 
1 VAC 75-11-10 through 1 VAC 75-11-110 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3523-3526 9/17/08 
Title 2. Agriculture 
2 VAC 5-10-10 through 2 VAC 5-10-70 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 342 11/12/08 
2 VAC 5-11-10 through 2 VAC 5-11-110 Added 25:3 VA.R. 343-345 11/12/08 
2 VAC 5-60-10 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1889 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-100-10 through 2VAC5-100-40 Repealed 25:16 VA.R. 2831 5/13/09 
2 VAC 5-190-30 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1890 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-205-20 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1890 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-206-10 through 2 VAC 5-206-50 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3527-3531 10/3/08 
2 VAC 5-210-20 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1891 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-230-30 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1892 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-230-50 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1892 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-230-60 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1892 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-300-50 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1924 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-320-10 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1892 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-320-10 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2565 -- 
2 VAC 5-325-10 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1893 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-325-10 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2565 -- 
2 VAC 5-330-10 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1893 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-330-30 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 126 10/15/08 
2 VAC 5-330-30 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2565 -- 
2 VAC 5-330-30 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2710 3/9/09 
2 VAC 5-335-10 through 2 VAC 5-335-130 Added 25:2 VA.R. 126-129 10/15/08 
2 VAC 5-340-140 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1894 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-340-140 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2565 -- 
2 VAC 5-340-170 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1895 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-340-170 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2565 -- 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
2 VAC 5-340-180 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1896 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-350-10 through 2 VAC 5-350-60 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1896-1898 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-350-20 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2565 -- 
2 VAC 5-350-80 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1898 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-360-10 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1899 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-360-50 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1900 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-370-10 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1901 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-370-10 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2566 -- 
2 VAC 5-380-10 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1901 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-380-10 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2566 -- 
2 VAC 5-380-60 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1901 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-390-20 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1902 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-390-20 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2566 -- 
2 VAC 5-390-30 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1902 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-390-40 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1903 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-390-60 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1903 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-390-70 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1903 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-390-80 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1904 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-390-80 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2566 -- 
2 VAC 5-390-100 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1904 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-390-110 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1904 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-390-120 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1906 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-390-160 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1906 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-390-170 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1906 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-390-180 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1906 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-400-10 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1907 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-400-10 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2566 -- 
2 VAC 5-400-30 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1907 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-400-90 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1908 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-440-20 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1909 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-440-20 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2566 -- 
2 VAC 5-440-110 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1909 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-450-20 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1909 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-490-10 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1909 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-490-31 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1915 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-501-30 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1917 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-501-60 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1919 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-501-70 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1922 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-570-70 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1923 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-620-20 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1924 3/4/09 
2 VAC 5-620-100 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1924 3/4/09 
2 VAC 15-11-10 through 2 VAC 15-11-120 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 576 11/26/08 
2 VAC 15-12-10 through 2 VAC 15-12-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 577-579 11/26/08 
2 VAC 15-20-90 Amended 25:10 VA.R. 1847 2/18/09 
2 VAC 15-20-110 Amended 25:10 VA.R. 1848 2/18/09 
2 VAC 15-20-120 Amended 25:10 VA.R. 1848 2/18/09 
2 VAC 20-10-10 through 2 VAC 20-10-120 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 792 12/10/08 
2 VAC 20-11-10 through 2 VAC 20-11-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 792-795 12/10/08 
2 VAC 20-20-10 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2041 3/18/09 
2 VAC 20-20-30 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2041 3/18/09 
2 VAC 20-20-120 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2042 3/18/09 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
2 VAC 20-30-10 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2043 3/18/09 
2 VAC 20-30-30 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2043 3/18/09 
2 VAC 20-30-40 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2043 3/18/09 
2 VAC 20-40-10 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2044 3/18/09 
2 VAC 20-40-90 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2045 3/18/09 
2 VAC 20-51-10 through 2 VAC 20-51-50 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 346-350 12/1/08 
2 VAC 20-51-70 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 350 12/1/08 
2 VAC 20-51-90  Amended 25:3 VA.R. 351 12/1/08 
2 VAC 20-51-100 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 351 12/1/08 
2 VAC 20-51-160 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 351 12/1/08 
2 VAC 20-51-170 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 352 12/1/08 
2 VAC 20-51-200 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 352 12/1/08 
2 VAC 20-51-210 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 352 12/1/08 
Title 3. Alcoholic Beverages 
3 VAC 5-10 Erratum 25:9 VA.R. 1826 -- 
3 VAC 5-10-480 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1173 12/24/08 
3 VAC 5-11-10 through 3 VAC 5-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1175-1178 12/24/08 
3 VAC 5-50-40 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1926 3/4/09 
3 VAC 5-50-50 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1926 3/4/09 
3 VAC 5-50-80 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1926 3/4/09 
3 VAC 5-50-100 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1927 3/4/09 
3 VAC 5-50-130 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1928 3/4/09 
3 VAC 5-50-140 emer Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1925 1/9/08-6/30/09 
3 VAC 5-50-140 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1929 3/4/09 
3 VAC 5-50-230 emer Added 25:11 VA.R. 1929 1/13/09-1/12/10 
Title 4. Conservation and Natural Resources 
4 VAC 3-10-10 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 129 10/29/08 
4 VAC 3-10-20 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 129 10/29/08 
4 VAC 3-10-30 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 129 10/29/08 
4 VAC 3-11-10 through 4 VAC 3-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 130-132 10/29/08 
4 VAC 5-10-10 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 132 10/29/08 
4 VAC 5-10-20 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 132 10/29/08 
4 VAC 5-10-30 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 132 10/29/08 
4 VAC 5-11-10 through 4 VAC 5-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 133-136 10/29/08 
4 VAC 5-36-50 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1178 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-60 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1183 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-70 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1184 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-90 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1185 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-100 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1187 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-110 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1191 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-115 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1192 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-120 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1192 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-140 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1193 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-150 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1195 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-180 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1198 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-200 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1199 1/1/09 
4 VAC 5-36-210 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1204 1/1/09 
4 VAC 10-10-10 through 4 VAC 10-10-30 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1208 12/24/08 
4 VAC 10-11-10 through 4 VAC 10-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1209-1212 12/24/08 
4 VAC 15-450-10 through 4 VAC 15-450-40 Added 25:10 VA.R. 1849-1850 1/1/09 
4 VAC 20-20-50 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1212 11/1/08 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
4 VAC 20-252-90 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1213 11/1/08 
4 VAC 20-252-100 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1213 11/1/08 
4 VAC 20-260-35 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 353 10/1/08-10/31/08 
4 VAC 20-260-35 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1213 11/1/08 
4 VAC 20-260-40 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 353 10/1/08-10/31/08 
4 VAC 20-260-40 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1213 11/1/08 
4 VAC 20-270-10 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2591 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-270-30 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2591 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-270-30 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2831 3/26/09 
4 VAC 20-270-40 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2048 2/1/09 
4 VAC 20-270-40 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2592 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-270-40 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2832 3/26/09 
4 VAC 20-270-55 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2592 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-270-55 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2832 3/26/09 
4 VAC 20-270-60 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2592 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-490-20 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2593 3/1/09 
4 VAC 20-490-30 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2595 3/1/09 
4 VAC 20-490-40 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2595 3/1/09 
4 VAC 20-490-41 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2595 3/1/09 
4 VAC 20-530-10 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2596 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-530-20 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2596 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-530-31 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2597 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-530-31 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2833 3/26/09 
4 VAC 20-530-40 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2597 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-620-20 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 354 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-620-30 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 354 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-620-40 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 355 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-620-70 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2597 3/1/09 
4 VAC 20-700-20 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2598 3/1/09 
4 VAC 20-720-20 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 357 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-40 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 359 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-50 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 360 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-60 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 360 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-70 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 360 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-75 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 361 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-80 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 361 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-95 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 361 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-100 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 361 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-720-106 emer Amended 25:1 VA.R. 24 9/1/08-9/30/08 
4 VAC 20-720-106 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 361 10/1/08 
4 VAC 20-751-10 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 362 9/29/08-10/28/08 
4 VAC 20-751-15 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 362 9/29/08-10/28/08 
4 VAC 20-751-20 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 362 9/29/08-10/28/08 
4 VAC 20-751-20 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1214 10/29/08 
4 VAC 20-910-45 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3537 8/1/08 
4 VAC 20-910-45 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1214 11/1/08 
4 VAC 20-950-30 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2833 4/1/09 
4 VAC 20-950-47 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1491 1/1/09 
4 VAC 20-950-48 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1491 1/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1040-20 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1492 11/30/08 
4 VAC 20-1040-25 Added 25:8 VA.R. 1493 11/30/08 
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4 VAC 20-1150-10 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3538 8/1/08 
4 VAC 20-1150-20 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3538 8/1/08 
4 VAC 20-1170-10 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1215 12/1/08 
4 VAC 20-1170-20 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1215 12/1/08 
4 VAC 20-1180-10 through 4 VAC 20-1180-60 Added 25:9 VA.R. 1680-1681 12/22/08 
4 VAC 20-1190-10 Added 25:12 VA.R. 2049 2/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1190-20 Added 25:12 VA.R. 2049 2/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1200-10 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2834 4/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1200-20 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2834 4/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1200-30 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2834 4/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1210-10 emer Added 25:16 VA.R. 2835 3/26/09-4/24/09 
4 VAC 20-1210-20 emer Added 25:16 VA.R. 2835 3/26/09-4/24/09 
4 VAC 20-1210-30 emer Added 25:16 VA.R. 2835 3/26/09-4/24/09 
4 VAC 25-10-10 through 4 VAC 25-10-90 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 795 12/25/08 
4 VAC 25-11-10 through 4 VAC 25-11-120 Added 25:5 VA.R. 797-800 12/25/08 
4 VAC 25-31 (Forms) Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2835 -- 
4 VAC 25-130 (Forms) Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2836 -- 
4 VAC 25-130-816.22 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2049 3/18/09 
4 VAC 25-130-816.43 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2051 3/18/09 
4 VAC 25-130-816.116 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2052 3/18/09 
4 VAC 25-130-817.22 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2054 3/18/09 
4 VAC 25-130-817.43 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2055 3/18/09 
4 VAC 25-130-817.116 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2057 3/18/09 
4 VAC 25-130-842.15 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2058 3/18/09 
4 VAC 50-10-10 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 137 10/29/08 
4 VAC 50-10-20 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 137 10/29/08 
4 VAC 50-10-30 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 137 10/29/08 
4 VAC 50-11-10 through 4 VAC 50-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 138-141 10/29/08 
4 VAC 50-20-20 through 4 VAC 50-20-90 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3539-3554 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-51 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3544 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-52 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3545 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-54 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3545 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-58 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3546 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-59 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3546 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-100 through 4 VAC 50-20-140 Repealed 24:25 VA.R. 3554-3558 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-105 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3554 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-125 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3557 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-150 through 4 VAC 50-20-240 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3558-3563 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-155 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3558 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-165 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3559 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-175 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3560 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-177 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3561 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-250 Repealed 24:25 VA.R. 3564 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-260 through 4 VAC 50-20-320 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3564-3565 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-20-330 through 4 VAC 50-20-400 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3565-3567 9/26/08 
4 VAC 50-60-10 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2838 7/1/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1100 through 4VAC50-60-1140 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2849-2851 7/1/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1150 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2851 5/13/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1160 through 4 VAC 50-60-1180 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2853-2868 7/1/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1182 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2869 7/1/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1184 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2869 7/1/09 
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4 VAC 50-60-1186 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2870 7/1/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1188 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2871 7/1/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1190 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2871 7/1/09 
Title 5. Corporations 
5 VAC 5-20-10 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2601 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-20 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2601 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-80 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2602 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-90 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2602 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-100 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2602 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-120 through 5 VAC 5-20-150 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2603-2604 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-170 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2604 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-180 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2605 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-240 through 5 VAC 5-20-280 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2605-2608 3/11/09 
Title 6. Criminal Justice and Corrections 
6 VAC 15-10-10 through 6 VAC 15-10-100 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 363 11/15/08 
6 VAC 15-11-10 through 6 VAC 15-11-110 Added 25:3 VA.R. 363-366 11/15/08 
6 VAC 15-31-320 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3568 9/18/08 
6 VAC 15-70-10 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 367 11/15/08 
6 VAC 15-70-40 through 6 VAC 15-70-130 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 367-372 11/15/08 
6 VAC 15-70-160 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 372 11/15/08 
6 VAC 20-10-10 through 6 VAC 20-10-50 Repealed 25:10 VA.R. 1850 2/20/09 
6 VAC 20-11-10 through 6 VAC 20-11-110 Added 25:10 VA.R. 1851-1853 2/20/09 
6 VAC 20-160-10 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 141 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-20 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 142 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-30 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 142 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-40 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 143 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-60 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 144 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-70 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 144 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-80 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 144 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-100 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 145 10/29/08 
6 VAC 20-160-120 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 145 10/29/08 
6 VAC 35-10-10 through 6 VAC 35-10-150 Repealed 24:25 VA.R. 3573 9/17/08 
6 VAC 35-11-10 through 6 VAC 35-11-110 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3574-3576 9/17/08 
6 VAC 35-20-37 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 373 8/1/07-1/31/09 
6 VAC 35-20-37 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 626 12/12/08 
6 VAC 35-51-10 through 6 VAC 35-51-1100 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3577-3610 9/17/08 
6 VAC 35-140-46 Added 25:3 VA.R. 376 12/12/08 
6 VAC 40-10-10 through 6 VAC 40-10-90 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 146 10/30/08 
6 VAC 40-11-10 through 6 VAC 40-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 147-149 10/30/08 
6 VAC 40-20-30 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3718 10/16/08 
6 VAC 40-20-120 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3718 10/16/08 
6 VAC 40-20-130 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3718 10/16/08 
6 VAC 40-20-160 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3718 10/16/08 
Title 7. Economic Development 
7 VAC 10-20-10 through 7 VAC 10-20-350 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3719 9/1/08 
7 VAC 10-21-10 through 7 VAC 10-21-610 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3719-3729 9/1/08 
Title 8. Education 
8 VAC 20-10-10 Repealed 25:11 VA.R. 1930 3/19/09 
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8 VAC 20-11-10 through 8 VAC 20-11-110 Added 25:11 VA.R. 1932-1935 3/19/09 
8 VAC 20-80-10 through 8VAC20-80-190 Repealed 25:16 VA.R. 2872 ***** 
8 VAC 20-81-10 through 8VAC20-81-340 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2872-2967 ***** 
8 VAC 35-60-20 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 800 11/10/08 
8 VAC 40-10-10 through 8 VAC 40-10-90 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 376 1/1/09 
8 VAC 40-11-10 through 8 VAC 40-11-110 Added 25:3 VA.R. 377-379 1/1/09 
Title 9. Environment 
9 VAC 5-5-10 through 9 VAC 5-5-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 801-804 1/1/09 
9 VAC 5-10-20 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2060 4/2/09 
9 VAC 5-20-21 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2068 3/18/09 
9 VAC 5-30-55 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2072 3/18/09 
9 VAC 5-30-56 Added 25:12 VA.R. 2072 3/18/09 
9 VAC 5-30-65 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2072 3/18/09 
9 VAC 5-40-5600 through 9 VAC 5-40-5645 Repealed 25:12 VA.R. 2088-2097 3/18/09 
9 VAC 5-50-400 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2073 3/18/09 
9 VAC 5-50-410 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2074 3/18/09 
9 VAC 5-60-60 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2079 3/18/09 
9 VAC 5-60-90 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2080 3/18/09 
9 VAC 5-60-100 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2080 3/18/09 
9 VAC 5-80-5 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1231 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-15 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1234 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-25 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1234 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-35 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1235 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-150 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1237 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-230 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1237 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-270 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1238 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-510 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1239 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-590 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1241 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-670 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1241 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-670 Erratum 25:8 VA.R. 1644 -- 
9 VAC 5-80-860 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1243 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-990 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1243 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1020 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1244 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1100 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1258 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1110 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1259 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1160 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1244 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1170 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1245 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1290 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1246 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1320 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1264 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1450 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1247 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1450 Erratum 25:8 VA.R. 1644 -- 
9 VAC 5-80-1460 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1248 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1615 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1218 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1695 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1229 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1765 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1249 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1773 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1251 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1775 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1251 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-1955 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1253 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-2060 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1254 12/31/08 

                                                           
***** Regulatory process suspended in 25:16 VA.R. 2968 
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9 VAC 5-80-2070 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1255 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-80-2230 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1256 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-91-20 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1268 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-130-10 through 9 VAC 5-130-100 Added 25:12 VA.R. 2097-2106 3/18/09 
9 VAC 5-140-900 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1275 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-140-920 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1275 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-140-930 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1275 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-140-1010 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2107 3/18/09 
9 VAC 5-140-1020 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2107 3/18/09 
9 VAC 5-140-1060 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2115 3/18/09 
9 VAC 5-140-2010 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2116 3/18/09 
9 VAC 5-140-2020 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2117 3/18/09 
9 VAC 5-140-3010 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2126 3/18/09 
9 VAC 5-140-3020 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2126 3/18/09 
9 VAC 5-151-10 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1276 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-151-20 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1278 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-151-40 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1279 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-151-61 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1279 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-151-70 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1280 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-170-20 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 804 1/1/09 
9 VAC 5-170-30 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1256 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-170-40 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 806 1/1/09 
9 VAC 5-170-80 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 807 1/1/09 
9 VAC 5-170-90 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 807 1/1/09 
9 VAC 5-170-100 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 807 1/1/09 
9 VAC 5-170-110 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 809 1/1/09 
9 VAC 5-170-180 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1256 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-170-190 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1257 12/31/08 
9 VAC 5-170-200 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1257 12/31/08 
9 VAC 10-10-10 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 627 11/26/08 
9 VAC 10-10-20 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 627 11/26/08 
9 VAC 10-10-30 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 627 11/26/08 
9 VAC 10-11-10 through 9 VAC 10-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 627-630 11/26/08 
9 VAC 15-10-10 through 9 VAC 15-10-40 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 809 1/1/09 
9 VAC 15-11-10 through 9 VAC 15-11-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 810-813 1/1/09 
9 VAC 20-10-10 through 9 VAC 20-10-40 Repealed 25:9 VA.R. 1681 2/4/09 
9 VAC 20-11-10 through 9 VAC 20-11-110 Added 25:9 VA.R. 1682-1685 2/4/09 
9 VAC 20-80-10 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 150 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-60 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 160 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-250 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 166 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-260 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 176 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-270 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 183 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-280 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 191 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-485 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 193 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-500 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 200 11/1/08 
9 VAC 20-80-510 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 203 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-10-10 through 9 VAC 25-10-40 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 813 1/1/09 
9 VAC 25-11-10 through 9 VAC 25-11-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 813-816 1/1/09 
9 VAC 25-32-480 Erratum 25:15 VA.R. 2804 -- 
9 VAC 25-210-10 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 894 12/10/08 
9 VAC 25-210-50 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 898 12/10/08 
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9 VAC 25-210-60 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 898 12/10/08 
9 VAC 25-210-130 Erratum 25:9 VA.R. 1826 -- 
9 VAC 25-210-130 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 902 12/10/08 
9 VAC 25-210-220 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 903 12/10/08 
9 VAC 25-260-10 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2134 * 
9 VAC 25-260-20 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2135 * 
9 VAC 25-260-30 Amending 24:26 VA.R. 3747 8/12/08 
9 VAC 25-260-30 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 904 10/22/08 
9 VAC 25-260-30 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2136 * 
9 VAC 25-260-50 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2139 * 
9 VAC 25-260-55 Repealed 25:12 VA.R. 2139 * 
9 VAC 25-260-90 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2140 * 
9 VAC 25-260-140 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2140 * 
9 VAC 25-260-160 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2162 * 
9 VAC 25-260-170 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2162 * 
9 VAC 25-260-185 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2163 * 
9 VAC 25-260-187 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2167 * 
9 VAC 25-260-290 Repealed 25:12 VA.R. 2170 * 
9 VAC 25-260-310 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2170 * 
9 VAC 25-260-320 Repealed 25:12 VA.R. 2173 * 
9 VAC 25-260-350 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2173 * 
9 VAC 25-260-360 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2174 * 
9 VAC 25-260-380 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2175 * 
9 VAC 25-260-390 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2175 * 
9 VAC 25-260-400 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2179 * 
9 VAC 25-260-410 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2189 * 
9 VAC 25-260-415 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2190 * 
9 VAC 25-260-420 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2191 * 
9 VAC 25-260-430 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2197 * 
9 VAC 25-260-440 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2210 * 
9 VAC 25-260-450 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2213 * 
9 VAC 25-260-460 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2220 * 
9 VAC 25-260-470 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2221 * 
9 VAC 25-260-480 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2224 * 
9 VAC 25-260-490 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2224 * 
9 VAC 25-260-500 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2225 * 
9 VAC 25-260-510 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2228 * 
9 VAC 25-260-520 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2233 * 
9 VAC 25-260-530 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2235 * 
9 VAC 25-260-540 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2236 * 
9 VAC 25-640 Appendices I through IX Amended  25:2 VA.R. 217-231 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-10 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 206 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-20 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 209 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-30 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 209 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-50 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 210 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-70 through 9 VAC 25-640-120 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 210-213 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-130 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 213 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-150 through 9 VAC 25-640-230 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 213-217 11/1/08 
9 VAC 25-640-250 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 217 11/1/08 

                                                           
* Effective upon filing notice of U.S. EPA approval 
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9 VAC 25-720-120 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2250 4/2/09 
9 VAC 25-740-10 through 9 VAC 25-740-210 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3748-3773 10/1/08 
9 VAC 25-790 (Forms) Added 25:6 VA.R. 1285 -- 
9 VAC 25-860-10 through 9 VAC 25-860-70 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1285-1295 12/24/08 
Title 10. Finance and Financial Institutions 
10 VAC 5-160-10 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3775 8/10/08 
10 VAC 5-160-70 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3776 8/10/08 
10 VAC 5-160-80 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3776 8/10/08 
10 VAC 5-200-10 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 637 1/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-20 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 637 1/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-33 Added 25:4 VA.R. 638 1/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-35 Added 25:4 VA.R. 639 1/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-40 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 641 1/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-60 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 642 1/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-60 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2609 3/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-70 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 642 1/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-80 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 643 1/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 646 1/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-110 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2609 3/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-115 Added 25:4 VA.R. 651 1/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-120 Added 25:4 VA.R. 650 1/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-130 Added 25:14 VA.R. 2613 3/1/09 
Title 11. Gaming 
11 VAC 10-10-10 through 11 VAC 10-10-70 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 904 12/10/08 
11 VAC 10-11-10 through 11 VAC 10-11-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 905-907 12/10/08 
11 VAC 10-50-30 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3005 5/27/09 
11 VAC 10-70-20 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2712 4/15/09 
11 VAC 10-70-90 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2712 4/15/09 
11 VAC 10-120-80 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3006 5/27/09 
11 VAC 10-180-10 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3007 5/27/09 
11 VAC 10-180-35 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3007 5/27/09 
11 VAC 10-180-70 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3008 5/27/09 
11 VAC 10-180-80 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3009 5/27/09 
11 VAC 10-180-110 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3010 5/27/09 
11 VAC 15-12-10 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 651 11/26/08 
11 VAC 15-12-20 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 651 11/26/08 
11 VAC 15-13-10 through 11 VAC 15-13-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 652-654 11/26/08 
Title 12. Health 
12 VAC 5-10-10 through 12 VAC 5-10-80 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 654 1/1/09 
12 VAC 5-11-10 through 12 VAC 5-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 655-657 1/1/09 
12 VAC 5-67-10 emer Added 25:4 VA.R. 658 11/1/08-10/31/09 
12 VAC 5-67-20 emer Added 25:4 VA.R. 658 11/1/08-10/31/09 
12 VAC 5-67-30 emer Added 25:4 VA.R. 658 11/1/08-10/31/09 
12 VAC 5-90-80 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1935 3/4/09 
12 VAC 5-220-110 Amended 25:1 VA.R. 26 10/15/08 
12 VAC 5-220-160 Amended 25:1 VA.R. 25 10/15/08 
12 VAC 5-220-200 Amended 25:1 VA.R. 26 10/15/08 
12 VAC 5-230-10 Amended 25:9 VA.R. 1707 2/15/09 
12 VAC 5-230-10 Erratum 25:11 VA.R. 2018 -- 
12 VAC 5-230-20 Repealed 25:9 VA.R. 1711 2/15/09 
12 VAC 5-230-30 Amended 25:9 VA.R. 1712 2/15/09 
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12 VAC 5-230-40 through 12 VAC 5-230-1000 Added 25:9 VA.R. 1713-1742 2/15/09 
12 VAC 5-230-60 Erratum 25:11 VA.R. 2018 -- 
12 VAC 5-230-70 Erratum 25:11 VA.R. 2018 -- 
12 VAC 5-230-80 Erratum 25:11 VA.R. 2018 -- 
12 VAC 5-230-110 Erratum 25:11 VA.R. 2018 -- 
12 VAC 5-230-340 Erratum 25:11 VA.R. 2018 -- 
12 VAC 5-230-540 Amended 25:13 VA.R. 2316 4/1/09 
12 VAC 5-230-550 Amended 25:13 VA.R. 2317 4/1/09 
12 VAC 5-230-560 Amended 25:13 VA.R. 2317 4/1/09 
12 VAC 5-230-870 Erratum 25:11 VA.R. 2018 -- 
12 VAC 5-240-10 through 12 VAC 5-240-60 Repealed 25:9 VA.R. 1706 2/15/09 
12 VAC 5-250-10 through 12 VAC 5-250-120 Repealed 25:9 VA.R. 1706 2/15/09 
12 VAC 5-260-10 through 12 VAC 5-260-130 Repealed 25:9 VA.R. 1706 2/15/09 
12 VAC 5-270-10 through 12 VAC 5-270-60 Repealed 25:9 VA.R. 1706 2/15/09 
12 VAC 5-280-10 through 12 VAC 5-280-70 Repealed 25:9 VA.R. 1706 2/15/09 
12 VAC 5-290-10 through 12 VAC 5-290-70 Repealed 25:9 VA.R. 1706 2/15/09 
12 VAC 5-300-10 through 12 VAC 5-300-70 Repealed 25:9 VA.R. 1706 2/15/09 
12 VAC 5-310-10 through 12 VAC 5-310-70 Repealed 25:9 VA.R. 1706 2/15/09 
12 VAC 5-320-10 through 12 VAC 5-320-480 Repealed 25:9 VA.R. 1706 2/15/09 
12 VAC 5-330-10 through 12 VAC 5-330-70 Repealed 25:9 VA.R. 1706 2/15/09 
12 VAC 5-340-10 through 12 VAC 5-340-120 Repealed 25:9 VA.R. 1706 2/15/09 
12 VAC 5-350-10 through 12 VAC 5-350-60 Repealed 25:9 VA.R. 1707 2/15/09 
12 VAC 5-360-10 through 12 VAC 5-360-70 Repealed 25:9 VA.R. 1707 2/15/09 
12 VAC 5-481-10 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 231 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-481-390 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 256 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-481-400 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 256 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-481-450 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 257 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-481-451 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3612 10/3/08 
12 VAC 5-481-480 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 260 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-481-2870 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 267 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3160 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 267 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-481-3710 Amended 25:2 VA.R. 267 11/1/08 
12 VAC 5-490-10 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1942 3/4/09 
12 VAC 5-490-20 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1942 3/4/09 
12 VAC 5-490-30 Added 25:11 VA.R. 1939 3/4/09 
12 VAC 5-490-40 Added 25:11 VA.R. 1939 3/4/09 
12 VAC 5-590-10 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 908 12/10/08 
12 VAC 5-590-370 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 916 12/10/08 
12 VAC 5-590-410 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 955 12/10/08 
12 VAC 5-590-420 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 959 12/10/08 
12 VAC 5-590-440 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 994 12/10/08 
12 VAC 5-590-500 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 998 12/10/08 
12 VAC 5-590-530 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 999 12/10/08 
12 VAC 5-590-540 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1011 12/10/08 
12 VAC 5-590-545 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1016 12/10/08 
12 VAC 5-590-550 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1021 12/10/08 
12 VAC 30-5-10 through 12 VAC 30-5-110 Added 25:3 VA.R. 380-383 11/12/08 
12 VAC 30-10-150 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2614 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-10-815 Added 25:4 VA.R. 662 11/26/08 
12 VAC 30-10-930 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2615 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-20-90 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2615 4/15/09 
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12 VAC 30-20-500 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2618 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-20-520 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2618 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-40-280 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1945 3/19/09 
12 VAC 30-40-290 emer Amended 25:1 VA.R. 35 8/27/08-2/24/09 ** 
12 VAC 30-40-345 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1946 3/19/09 
12 VAC 30-50-10 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2618 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-50-130 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1041 12/10/08 
12 VAC 30-50-140 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-50-150 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-50-180 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-50-228 emer Added 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-50-229.1 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 1045 12/10/08 
12 VAC 30-50-320 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1515 2/5/09 
12 VAC 30-50-330 through 12 VAC 30-50-360 Added 25:8 VA.R. 1515-1520 2/5/09 
12 VAC 30-50-491 emer Added 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-50-530 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1049 12/10/08 
12 VAC 30-60-180 emer Added 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-60-185 emer Added 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-60-500 emer Added 25:3 VA.R. 384 8/8/07-2/7/09 
12 VAC 30-70-70 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 387 11/27/08 
12 VAC 30-70-261 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 388 11/27/08 
12 VAC 30-70-271 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 388 11/27/08 
12 VAC 30-70-311 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3778 10/15/08 
12 VAC 30-70-321 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3778 10/15/08 
12 VAC 30-70-500 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 389 11/27/08 
12 VAC 30-80-32 emer Added 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-80-40 emer Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3617 8/4/08-8/3/09 
12 VAC 30-80-95 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2253 4/2/09 
12 VAC 30-80-190 emer Amended 25:1 VA.R. 41 8/27/08-8/26/09 
12 VAC 30-90-41 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3778 10/15/08 
12 VAC 30-90-264 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 390 11/27/08 
12 VAC 30-100-10 through 12 VAC 30-100-60 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 383-384 11/12/08 
12 VAC 30-100-170 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3622 10/2/08 
12 VAC 30-110-40 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2619 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-370 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2619 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-380 Repealed 25:14 VA.R. 2619 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-670 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2620 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-680 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2620 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-700 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2620 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-720 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2620 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-741 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2623 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-980 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2623 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-990 Repealed 25:14 VA.R. 2623 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-1000 Repealed 25:14 VA.R. 2623 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-1040 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2623 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-120-140 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2624 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-120-61 through 12 VAC 30-120-68 Repealed 25:8 VA.R. 1520-1526 2/5/09 
12 VAC 30-120-100 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3781 10/15/08 
12 VAC 30-120-310 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 

                                                           
** Emergency Regulation Rescinded in 25:15 VA.R. 2613 
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12 VAC 30-120-370 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 393 9/1/07-3/3/09 
12 VAC 30-120-370 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1947 3/4/09 
12 VAC 30-120-380 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 393 9/1/07-3/3/09 
12 VAC 30-120-380 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 393 7/1/07-12/29/08 
12 VAC 30-120-380 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1950 3/4/09 
12 VAC 30-130-260 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2626 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-270 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2626 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-290 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2627 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-370 Repealed 25:14 VA.R. 2628 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-380 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2628 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-410 Repealed 25:14 VA.R. 2628 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-540 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2629 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-800 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2630 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-820 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2632 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-890 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2633 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-910 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2634 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-135-10 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3783 10/16/08 
12 VAC 30-135-20 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3783 10/16/08 
12 VAC 30-135-30 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3783 10/16/08 
12 VAC 30-135-40 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3783 10/16/08 
12 VAC 30-135-70 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3784 10/16/08 
12 VAC 30-141-60 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2635 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-141-120 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2635 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-141-660 emer Amended 25:10 VA.R. 1854 12/22/08-12/21/09 
12 VAC 30-141-660 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2969 5/13/09 
12 VAC 30-141-720 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2635 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-141-760 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2635 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-150-40 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2636 4/15/09 
12 VAC 35-11-10 through 12 VAC 35-11-110 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 271 10/29/08 
12 VAC 35-12-10 through 12 VAC 35-12-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 271-274 10/29/08 
Title 13. Housing 
13 VAC 5-10-10 through 13 VAC 5-10-120 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 666 11/26/08 
13 VAC 5-11-10 through 13 VAC 5-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 667-669 11/26/08 
13 VAC 5-51-81 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3622 10/1/08 
13 VAC 5-63-220 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3013 6/1/09 
13 VAC 5-100-10 Amended 25:13 VA.R. 2363 2/12/09 
13 VAC 5-100-20 Amended 25:13 VA.R. 2364 2/12/09 
13 VAC 5-200-10 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3784 10/1/08 
13 VAC 5-200-40 through 13 VAC 5-200-80 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3784-3785 10/1/08 
13 VAC 5-200-100 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3785 10/1/08 
13 VAC 6-10-10 through 13 VAC 6-10-120 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 394 11/13/08 
13 VAC 6-11-10 through 13 VAC 6-11-110 Added 25:3 VA.R. 394-397 11/13/08 
13 VAC 10-20-40 Amended 25:9 VA.R. 1743 12/15/08 
13 VAC 10-180-40 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1418 1/1/09 
13 VAC 10-180-50 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1419 1/1/09 
13 VAC 10-180-60 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1421 1/1/09 
Title 14. Insurance 
14 VAC 5-323-10 through 14 VAC 5-323-70 Added 25:8 VA.R. 1527-1528 1/1/09 
14 VAC 5-395-40 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3811 8/29/08 
Title 16. Labor and Employment 
16 VAC 15-10-10 through 16 VAC 15-10-100 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 672 11/26/08 
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16 VAC 15-11-10 through 16 VAC 15-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 672-675 11/26/08 
16 VAC 15-30-40 Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3632 9/18/08 
16 VAC 20-10-10 through 16 VAC 20-10-100 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 675 11/27/08 
16 VAC 20-11-10 through 16 VAC 20-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 676-678 11/27/08 
16 VAC 25-10-10 through 16 VAC 25-10-120 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3811 10/1/08 
16 VAC 25-11-10 through 16 VAC 25-11-110 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3811-3814 10/1/08 
16 VAC 25-20-10 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1529 2/1/09 
16 VAC 30-11-10 through 16 VAC 30-11-30 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1307 12/24/08 
16 VAC 30-12-10 through 16 VAC 30-12-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1307-1310 12/24/08 
16 VAC 30-90-10 through 16 VAC 30-90-80 Repealed 25:11 VA.R. 1951 3/4/09 
16 VAC 30-91-10 Added 25:11 VA.R. 1951 3/4/09 
16 VAC 30-91-20 Added 25:11 VA.R. 1952 3/4/09 
Title 17. Libraries and Cultural Resources 
17 VAC 5-10-10 through 17 VAC 5-10-40 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1310 12/24/08 
17 VAC 5-11-10 through 17 VAC 5-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1311-1313 12/24/08 
17 VAC 10-10-10 through 17 VAC 10-10-40 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1313 12/24/08 
17 VAC 10-11-10 through 17 VAC 10-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1314-1316 12/24/08 
17 VAC 15-10-10 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 1064 12/10/08 
17 VAC 15-11-10 through 17 VAC 15-11-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 1065-1067 12/10/08 
17 VAC 15-120-10 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1317 12/24/08 
17 VAC 15-120-20 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1317 12/24/08 
17 VAC 15-120-30 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1317 12/24/08 
Title 18. Professional and Occupational Licensing 
18 VAC 5-10-10 through 18 VAC 5-10-90 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 678 11/26/08 
18 VAC 5-11-10 through 18 VAC 5-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 679-682 11/26/08 
18 VAC 10-10-10 through 18 VAC 10-10-90 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 682 11/27/08 
18 VAC 10-11-10 through 18 VAC 10-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 682-685 11/27/08 
18 VAC 10-20-10 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 397 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-120 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 399 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-120 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1068 1/1/09 
18 VAC 10-20-140 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1068 1/1/09 
18 VAC 10-20-280 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 399 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-295 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 400 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-310 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 400 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-310 Erratum 25:7 VA.R. 1451 -- 
18 VAC 10-20-340 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 401 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-350 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 401 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-360 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 401 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-380 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 402 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-382 Added 25:3 VA.R. 403 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-392 Added 25:3 VA.R. 404 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-395 Added 25:3 VA.R. 404 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-670 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2258 4/1/09 
18 VAC 10-20-680 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2258 4/1/09 
18 VAC 10-20-683 Added 25:12 VA.R. 2259 4/1/09 
18 VAC 10-20-683 Erratum 25:15 VA.R. 2804 -- 
18 VAC 10-20-687 Added 25:12 VA.R. 2260 4/1/09 
18 VAC 10-20-760 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 404 12/1/08 
18 VAC 10-20-790 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2260 4/1/09 
18 VAC 15-10-10 through 18 VAC 15-10-90 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 55 10/15/08 
18 VAC 15-11-10 through 18 VAC 15-11-110 Added 25:1 VA.R. 55-58 10/15/08 
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18 VAC 25-10-10 through 18 VAC 25-10-90 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1318 12/24/08 
18 VAC 25-11-10 through 18 VAC 25-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1319-1321 12/24/08 
18 VAC 25-21-20 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1431 2/1/09 
18 VAC 25-21-40 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1432 2/1/09 
18 VAC 25-21-50 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1432 2/1/09 
18 VAC 25-21-60 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1432 2/1/09 
18 VAC 25-21-110 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1433 2/1/09 
18 VAC 25-21-120 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1433 2/1/09 
18 VAC 25-21-150 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1433 2/1/09 
18 VAC 25-21-170 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1434 2/1/09 
18 VAC 25-21-180 Amended 25:7 VA.R. 1434 2/1/09 
18 VAC 25-21-185 Added 25:7 VA.R. 1435 2/1/09 
18 VAC 30-10-10 through 18 VAC 30-10-120 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 1070 12/10/08 
18 VAC 30-11-10 through 18 VAC 30-11-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 1070-1073 12/10/08 
18 VAC 30-20 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3814 -- 
18 VAC 41-10-10 through 18 VAC 41-10-90 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1321 12/24/08 
18 VAC 41-11-10 Erratum 25:9 VA.R. 1826 -- 
18 VAC 41-11-20 Erratum 25:9 VA.R. 1826 -- 
18 VAC 41-11-10 through 18 VAC 41-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1322-1325 12/24/08 
18 VAC 45-10-10 through 18 VAC 45- 10-90 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3815 10/2/08 
18 VAC 45-11-10 through 18 VAC 45-11-110 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3815-3818 10/2/08 
18 VAC 47-10-10 through 18 VAC 47-10-90 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1325 12/24/08 
18 VAC 47-11-10 through 18 VAC 47-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1325-1328 12/24/08 
18 VAC 48-10-10 through 18 VAC 48-10-110 Added 25:3 VA.R. 411-414 11/13/08 
18 VAC 48-20-10 through 18 VAC 48-20-730 emer Added 25:5 VA.R. 1074-1093 11/13/08-11/12/09 
18 VAC 48-40-10 through 18 VAC 48-40-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 685-688 11/27/08 
18 VAC 48-50-10 through 18 VAC 48-50-200 emer Added 25:5 VA.R. 1095-1100 11/13/08-11/12/09 
18 VAC 48-60-10 through 18 VAC 48-60-60 Added 25:4 VA.R. 688-689 11/27/08 
18 VAC 48-60-13 Added 25:15 VA.R. 2769 5/15/09 
18 VAC 48-60-17 Added 25:15 VA.R. 2769 5/15/09 
18 VAC 48-60-20 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2770 5/15/09 
18 VAC 48-60-60 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2770 5/15/09 
18 VAC 50-10-10 through 18 VAC 50-10-90 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1328 12/24/08 
18 VAC 50-11-10 through 18 VAC 50-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1328-1331 12/24/08 
18 VAC 50-22-40 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 415 12/1/08 
18 VAC 50-22-50 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 415 12/1/08 
18 VAC 50-22-60 Amended 25:3 VA.R. 416 12/1/08 
18 VAC 50-22-300 through 18 VAC 50-22-350 Added 25:3 VA.R. 417-418 12/1/08 
18 VAC 60-10-10 through 18 VAC 60-10-120 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 418 11/12/08 
18 VAC 60-11-10 through 18 VAC 60-11-110 Added 25:3 VA.R. 419-422 11/12/08 
18 VAC 60-20 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 58 -- 
18 VAC 60-20-16 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3015 7/1/09 
18 VAC 60-20-190 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2970 5/13/09 
18 VAC 62-10-10 through 18 VAC 62-10-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1332-1334 12/24/08 
18 VAC 65-10-10 through 18 VAC 65-10-120 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 291 10/29/08 
18 VAC 65-11-10 through 18 VAC 65-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 291-294 10/29/08 
18 VAC 65-20 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3818 -- 
18 VAC 65-20-60 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3016 7/1/09 
18 VAC 65-30-180 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3016 7/1/09 
18 VAC 65-40 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3818 -- 
18 VAC 70-10-10 through 18 VAC 70-10-90 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 1100 12/10/08 
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18 VAC 70-11-10 through 18 VAC 70-11-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 1100-1103 12/10/08 
18 VAC 75-10-10 through 18 VAC 75-10-120 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 294 10/29/08 
18 VAC 75-11-10 through 18 VAC 75-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 295-297 10/29/08 
18 VAC 75-20 (Forms) Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3632 -- 
18 VAC 76-20 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3819 -- 
18 VAC 76-20-60 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2971 5/13/09 
18 VAC 76-20-70 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2971 5/13/09 
18 VAC 76-30-10 through 18 VAC 76-30-120 Repealed 24:25 VA.R. 3632 9/17/08 
18 VAC 76-31-10 through 18 VAC 76-31-110 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3633-3635 9/17/08 
18 VAC 76-40 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3820 -- 
18 VAC 80-10-10 through 18 VAC 80-10-90 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1334 12/24/08 
18 VAC 80-11-10 through 18 VAC 80-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1335-1338 12/24/08 
18 VAC 85-10-10 through 18 VAC 85-10-110 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3820 10/1/08 
18 VAC 85-11-10 through 18 VAC 85-11-110 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3820 10/1/08 
18 VAC 85-20 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-40 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-50 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-80 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-80-10 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1104 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-26 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1104 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-40 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1104 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-45 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1105 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-50 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1105 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-61 emer Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 1105 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-65 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1105 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-70 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1105 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-72 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1105 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-73 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1106 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-80 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1106 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-90 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1106 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-100 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1107 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-110 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1107 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-111 emer Added 25:5 VA.R. 1108 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-101 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-110 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-120 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 85-130 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3823 -- 
18 VAC 90-10-10 through 18 VAC 90-10-120 Repealed 24:25 VA.R. 3635 9/17/08 
18 VAC 90-11-10 through 18 VAC 90-11-110 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3636-3639 9/17/08 
18 VAC 90-20 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 59 -- 
18 VAC 90-20-35 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3017 7/1/09 
18 VAC 90-25 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 59 -- 
18 VAC 90-25-15 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3017 7/1/09 
18 VAC 90-30 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 59 -- 
18 VAC 90-30-10 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1111 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-30-20 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1112 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-30-30 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1112 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-30-80 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1112 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-30-85 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1112 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-30-100 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1113 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-30-100 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3017 7/1/09 
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18 VAC 90-30-105 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1113 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-30-110 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1113 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-30-120 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1114 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-30-121 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1114 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-30-220 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1115 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-30-230 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1115 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-40 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 59 -- 
18 VAC 90-40-10 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1115 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-40-20 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1116 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-40-40 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1116 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-40-50 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1116 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-40-55 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1116 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-40-60 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1117 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-40-90 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1117 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-40-100 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1117 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-40-121 Added 25:5 VA.R. 1118 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-40-130 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1118 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-40-140 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1118 12/25/08 
18 VAC 90-50 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 59 -- 
18 VAC 90-50-10 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 691 12/11/08 
18 VAC 90-50-20 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3017 7/1/09 
18 VAC 90-50-40 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 691 12/11/08 
18 VAC 90-50-75 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 691 12/11/08 
18 VAC 90-50-80 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 692 12/11/08 
18 VAC 90-50-90 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 692 12/11/08 
18 VAC 90-60 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 59 -- 
18 VAC 90-60-20 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3018 7/1/09 
18 VAC 90-60-90 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2972 5/13/09 
18 VAC 90-60-91 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2972 5/13/09 
18 VAC 90-60-92 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2973 5/13/09 
18 VAC 95-10-10 through 18 VAC 95-10-120 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1338 12/24/08 
18 VAC 95-11-10 through 18 VAC 95-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1338-1341 12/24/08 
18 VAC 95-20 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3827 -- 
18 VAC 95-20-80 Amended 24:16 VA.R. 2264 5/14/08 
18 VAC 95-20-225 Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1341 12/24/08 
18 VAC 95-30 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3827 -- 
18 VAC 100-10-10 through 18 VAC 100-10-90 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1342 12/24/08 
18 VAC 100-11-10 through 18 VAC 100-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1342-1345 12/24/08 
18 VAC 105-10-10 through 18 VAC 105-10-120 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3828 10/1/08 
18 VAC 105-11-10 through 18 VAC 105-11-110 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3828-3831 10/1/08 
18 VAC 105-20 (Forms) Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3639 -- 
18 VAC 110-10-10 through 18 VAC 110-10-120 Repealed 25:2 VA.R. 298 10/29/08 
18 VAC 110-11-10 through 18 VAC 110-11-110 Added 25:2 VA.R. 298-301 10/29/08 
18 VAC 110-20 (Forms) Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3640 -- 
18 VAC 110-20-10 emer Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3018 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-20 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 464 9/23/08-9/22/09 
18 VAC 110-20-21 Added 25:17 VA.R. 3025 7/1/09 
18 VAC 110-20-220 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 694 12/11/08 
18 VAC 110-20-230 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 695 12/11/08 
18 VAC 110-20-400 emer Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3021 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-740 emer Added 25:17 VA.R. 3021 4/10/09-4/9/10 
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18 VAC 110-20-750 emer Added 25:17 VA.R. 3021 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-760 emer Added 25:17 VA.R. 3021 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-770 emer Added 25:17 VA.R. 3022 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-780 emer Added 25:17 VA.R. 3022 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-790 emer Added 25:17 VA.R. 3022 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-800 emer Added 25:17 VA.R. 3022 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-30 (Forms) Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3640 -- 
18 VAC 110-50 (Forms) Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3640 -- 
18 VAC 110-50-20 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 466 9/23/08-9/22/09 
18 VAC 112-10-10 through 18 VAC 112-10-120 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 61 10/15/08 
18 VAC 112-11-10 through 18 VAC 112-11-110 Added 25:1 VA.R. 62-64 10/15/08 
18 VAC 112-20 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3831 -- 
18 VAC 112-20-25 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3025 7/1/09 
18 VAC 112-20-81 emer Added 25:3 VA.R. 467 11/1/07-4/29/09 
18 VAC 112-20-90 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 467 11/1/07-4/29/09 
18 VAC 112-20-130 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 467 11/1/07-4/29/09 
18 VAC 112-20-131 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 467 11/1/07-4/29/09 
18 VAC 112-20-150 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 467 11/1/07-4/29/09 
18 VAC 115-10-10 through 18 VAC 115-10-120 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3832 10/1/08 
18 VAC 115-11-10 through 18 VAC 115-11-110 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3832-3835 10/1/08 
18 VAC 115-20 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 65 -- 
18 VAC 115-30 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 65 -- 
18 VAC 115-40 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 65 -- 
18 VAC 115-50 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 65 -- 
18 VAC 115-60 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 65 -- 
18 VAC 120-10-100 through 18 VAC 120-10-180 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3835 10/2/08 
18 VAC 120-11-10 through 18 VAC 120-11-110 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3836-3838 10/2/08 
18 VAC 120-40-15 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2774 5/14/09 
18 VAC 120-40-85 Added 25:15 VA.R. 2774 5/14/09 
18 VAC 120-40-240 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2774 5/14/09 
18 VAC 120-40-411.1 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2775 5/14/09 
18 VAC 125-10-10 through 18 VAC 125-10-120 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 699 11/26/08 
18 VAC 125-11-10 through 18 VAC 125-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 699-702 11/26/08 
18 VAC 125-20 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 66 -- 
18 VAC 125-20-120 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3026 7/1/09 
18 VAC 125-30 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 66 -- 
18 VAC 125-30-80 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3026 7/1/09 
18 VAC 130-10-10 through 18 VAC 130-10-90 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1345 12/24/08 
18 VAC 130-11-10 through 18 VAC 130-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1345-1348 12/24/08 
18 VAC 130-20-30 Erratum 25:15 VA.R. 2804 -- 
18 VAC 135-10-10 through 18 VAC 135-10-90 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1348 12/24/08 
18 VAC 135-11-10 through 18 VAC 135-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1348-1351 12/24/08 
18 VAC 140-10-10 through 18 VAC 140-10-120 Repealed 24:25 VA.R. 3641 9/17/08 
18 VAC 140-11-10 through 18 VAC 140-11-110 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3641-3644 9/17/08 
18 VAC 140-20 (Forms) Amended 25:1 VA.R. 67 -- 
18 VAC 140-20-10 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 703 11/26/08 
18 VAC 140-20-40 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 703 11/26/08 
18 VAC 140-20-50 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 703 11/26/08 
18 VAC 140-20-51 Added 25:4 VA.R. 705 11/26/08 
18 VAC 140-20-60 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 705 11/26/08 
18 VAC 140-20-105 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 706 11/26/08 
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18 VAC 140-20-140 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 707 11/26/08 
18 VAC 140-20-150 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 707 11/26/08 
18 VAC 140-20-160 Amended 25:4 VA.R. 709 11/26/08 
18 VAC 145-10-10 through 18 VAC 145-10-90 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1351 12/24/08 
18 VAC 145-11-10 through 18 VAC 145-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1352-1355 12/24/08 
18 VAC 150-10-10 through 18 VAC 150-10-120 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 68 10/15/08 
18 VAC 150-11-10 through 18 VAC 150-11-110 Added 25:1 VA.R. 68-71 10/15/08 
18 VAC 150-20 (Forms) Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3838 -- 
18 VAC 155-10-5 through 18 VAC 155-10-80 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1355 12/24/08 
18 VAC 155-11-10 through 18 VAC 155-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1355-1358 12/24/08 
18 VAC 160-10-10 through 18 VAC 160-10-90 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 709 11/26/08 
18 VAC 160-11-10 through 18 VAC 160-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 709-712 11/26/08 
Title 19. Public Safety 
19 VAC 15-10-10 through 19 VAC 15-10-50 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 1118 12/10/08 
19 VAC 15-11-10 through 19 VAC 15-11-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 1119-1121 12/10/08 
19 VAC 30-10-10 through 19 VAC 30-10-40 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3839 10/1/08 
19 VAC 30-11-10 through 19 VAC 30-11-110 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3839-3842 10/1/08 
19 VAC 30-20-40 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1968 3/4/09 
19 VAC 30-20-60 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1968 3/4/09 
19 VAC 30-20-80 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1968 3/4/09 
19 VAC 30-20-270 through 19 VAC 30-20-300 Added 25:11 VA.R. 1968-1969 3/4/09 
19 VAC 30-200-10 Added 25:12 VA.R. 2273 4/2/09 
Title 20. Public Utilities and Telecommunications 
20 VAC 5-200-30 Repealed 25:9 VA.R. 1768 1/1/09 
20 VAC 5-201-10 through 20 VAC 5-201-110 Added 25:9 VA.R. 1768-1816 1/1/09 
20 VAC 5-302-10 through 20 VAC 5-302-35 Amended 25:10 VA.R. 1859-1863 1/15/09 
20 VAC 5-312-10 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1534 1/1/09 
20 VAC 5-312-20 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1535 1/1/09 
20 VAC 5-312-60 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1537 1/1/09 
20 VAC 5-312-80 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1538 1/1/09 
20 VAC 5-312-90 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1540 1/1/09 
20 VAC 5-312-120 Repealed 25:8 VA.R. 1542 1/1/09 
20 VAC 5-313-10 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1543 1/1/09 
20 VAC 5-313-20 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1543 1/1/09 
20 VAC 5-313-30 Repealed 25:8 VA.R. 1544 1/1/09 
20 VAC 5-315-10 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3845 8/25/08 
20 VAC 5-315-20 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3845 8/25/08 
20 VAC 5-315-40 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3846 8/25/08 
20 VAC 5-315-50 Amended 24:26 VA.R. 3847 8/25/08 
20 VAC 5-403-70 Amended 25:9 VA.R. 1816 1/1/09 
20 VAC 5-414-10 through 20 VAC 5-414-70 Added 25:7 VA.R. 1437-1438 12/1/08 
Title 22. Social Services 
22 VAC 5-10-10 through 22 VAC 5-10-110 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 1122 1/1/09 
22 VAC 5-11-10 through 22 VAC 5-11-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 1122-1125 1/1/09 
22 VAC 5-30-10 through 22 VAC 5-30-60 Added 24:25 VA.R. 3665-3669 1/1/09 
22 VAC 15-10-10 through 22 VAC 15-10-70 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 712 1/1/09 
22 VAC 15-11-10 through 22 VAC 15-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 713-715 1/1/09 
22 VAC 20-10-10 through 22 VAC 20-10-100 Repealed 25:7 VA.R. 1438 1/7/09 
22 VAC 20-11-10 through 22 VAC 20-11-110 Added 25:7 VA.R. 1439-1441 1/7/09 
22 VAC 27-10-10 through 22 VAC 27-10-110 Added 25:7 VA.R. 1442-1445 1/7/09 
22 VAC 30-10-10 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 71 10/15/08 
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22 VAC 30-10-20 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 71 10/15/08 
22 VAC 30-10-40 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 71 10/15/08 
22 VAC 30-10-50 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 71 10/15/08 
22 VAC 30-10-60 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 71 10/15/08 
22 VAC 30-11-10 through 22 VAC 30-11-110 Added 25:1 VA.R. 72-74 10/15/08 
22 VAC 40-11-10 through 22 VAC 40-11-70 Repealed 25:1 VA.R. 74 1/1/09 
22 VAC 40-12-10 through 22 VAC 40-12-110 Added 25:1 VA.R. 74-78 1/1/09 
22 VAC 40-72-10 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1592 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-30 Repealed 25:8 VA.R. 1598 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-50 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1598 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-90 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1599 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-100 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1600 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-150 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1600 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-190 Repealed 25:8 VA.R. 1600 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-191 Added 25:8 VA.R. 1601 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-200 Repealed 25:8 VA.R. 1601 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-201 Added 25:8 VA.R. 1602 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-210 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1603 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-220 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1603 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-230 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1605 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-260 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1606 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-290 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1606 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-340 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1607 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-390 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1609 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-420 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1610 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-430 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1610 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-440 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1611 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-630 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1612 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-660 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1613 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-670 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1613 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-910 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1615 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-920 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1615 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-930 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1615 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-950 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1616 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-960 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1616 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-970 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1617 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-1010 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1617 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-72-1120 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1618 2/5/09 
22 VAC 40-151-10 through 22 VAC 40-151-1020 Added 25:3 VA.R. 482-512 1/1/09 
22 VAC 40-705-10 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1993 3/4/09 
22 VAC 40-705-30 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1996 3/4/09 
22 VAC 40-705-40 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1997 3/4/09 
22 VAC 40-705-50 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 1999 3/4/09 
22 VAC 40-705-70 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 2000 3/4/09 
22 VAC 40-705-80 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 2000 3/4/09 
22 VAC 40-705-120 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 2001 3/4/09 
22 VAC 40-705-140 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 2002 3/4/09 
22 VAC 40-705-150 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 2003 3/4/09 
22 VAC 40-705-180 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 2003 3/4/09 
22 VAC 45-11-10 through 22 VAC 45-11-90 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 1125 12/1/08 
22 VAC 45-12-10 through 22 VAC 45-12-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 1125-1128 12/1/08 
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Title 23. Taxation 
23 VAC 10-10-10 through 23 VAC 10-10-80 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 730 1/10/09*** 
23 VAC 10-11-10 through 23 VAC 10-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 732-735 1/10/09*** 
23 VAC 10-20-155 Added 24:26 VA.R. 3848 10/1/08 
23 VAC 10-20 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1128 -- 
23 VAC 10-20-20 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 2004 3/4/09 
23 VAC 10-20-80 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 2004 3/4/09 
23 VAC 10-20-90 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 2004 3/4/09 
23 VAC 10-20-110 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 2004 3/4/09 
23 VAC 10-20-130 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 2005 3/4/09 
23 VAC 10-20-160 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1620 3/8/09 
23 VAC 10-20-165 Added 25:8 VA.R. 1622 3/8/09 
23 VAC 10-20-170 Repealed 25:8 VA.R. 1627 3/8/09 
23 VAC 10-20-180 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1628 3/8/09 
23 VAC 10-20-190 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1628 3/8/09 
23 VAC 10-20-200 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 2005 3/4/09 
23 VAC 10-55 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1129 -- 
23 VAC 10-60 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1129 -- 
23 VAC 10-65 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1129 -- 
23 VAC 10-75 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1129 -- 
23 VAC 10-210 (Forms) Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1358 -- 
23 VAC 10-210-20 Repealed 24:26 VA.R. 3849 10/1/08 
23 VAC 10-210-170 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 736 11/26/08 
23 VAC 10-210-220 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 2006 3/4/09 
23 VAC 10-210-250 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 2007 3/4/09 
23 VAC 10-210-595 Added 25:4 VA.R. 736 11/26/08 
23 VAC 10-210-870 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 736 11/26/08 
23 VAC 10-210-3080 Amended 25:11 VA.R. 2007 3/4/09 
23 VAC 10-210-4010 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 736 11/26/08 
23 VAC 10-210-6060 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1632 3/8/09 
23 VAC 10-220 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1129 -- 
23 VAC 10-230 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1129 -- 
23 VAC 10-230-20 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1633 3/8/09 
23 VAC 10-230-30 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1633 3/8/09 
23 VAC 10-230-40 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1635 3/8/09 
23 VAC 10-230-71 Added 25:8 VA.R. 1637 3/8/09 **** 
23 VAC 10-230-75 Added 25:8 VA.R. 1637 3/8/09 
23 VAC 10-230-80 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1637 3/8/09 
23 VAC 10-230-90 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1638 3/8/09 
23 VAC 10-230-110 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1639 3/8/09 
23 VAC 10-230-120 Amended 25:8 VA.R. 1639 3/8/09 
23 VAC 10-240 (Forms) Amended 25:6 VA.R. 1359 -- 
23 VAC 10-300 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1129 -- 
23 VAC 10-310 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1129 -- 
23 VAC 10-330 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1129 -- 
23 VAC 10-350 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1129 -- 
23 VAC 10-370 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1129 -- 
23 VAC 10-390 (Forms) Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1130 -- 

                                                           
*** See erratum (25:6 VA.R. 1375) for effective date 
**** See erratum (25:14 VA.R. 2682) 



Cumulative Table of VAC Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed 

Volume 25, Issue 18 Virginia Register of Regulations May 11, 2009 

3104 

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
Title 24. Transportation and Motor Vehicles 
24 VAC 20-10-10 through 24 VAC 20-10-140 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1360 12/24/08 
24 VAC 20-11-10 through 24 VAC 20-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1361-1364 12/24/08 
24 VAC 22-10-10 through 24 VAC 22-10-140 Repealed 25:4 VA.R. 752 11/26/08 
24 VAC 22-11-10 through 24 VAC 22-11-110 Added 25:4 VA.R. 753-755 11/26/08 
24 VAC 25-5-10 through 24 VAC 25-5-110 Added 25:7 VA.R. 1445-1448 1/7/09 
24 VAC 25-10-10 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 519 10/13/08 
24 VAC 25-20-10 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 519 10/13/08 
24 VAC 27-10-10 through 24 VAC 27-10-120 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1364 12/24/08 
24 VAC 27-11-10 through 24 VAC 27-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1364-1367 12/24/08 
24 VAC 27-30-10 through 24 VAC 27-30-190 Added 25:1 VA.R. 78-89 10/15/08 
24 VAC 30-10-10 through 24 VAC 30-10-70 Repealed 25:6 VA.R. 1367 12/24/08 
24 VAC 30-11-10 through 24 VAC 30-11-110 Added 25:6 VA.R. 1367-1370 12/24/08 
24 VAC 30-15-10 Repealed 25:10 VA.R. 1863 2/18/09 
24 VAC 30-16-10 Repealed 25:3 VA.R. 520 11/12/08 
24 VAC 30-92-10 through 24 VAC 30-92-150 Added 25:15 VA.R. 2777-2801 3/9/09 
24 VAC 30-380-10 Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1130 10/22/08 
24 VAC 35-10-10 through 24 VAC 35-10-70 Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 1131 12/10/08 
24 VAC 35-11-10 through 24 VAC 35-11-110 Added 25:5 VA.R. 1132-1134 12/10/08 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Initial Agency Notice 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC115-20. Regulations 
Governing Licensed Professional Counselors. 

18VAC115-50. Regulations Governing Marriage and 
Family Therapists. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Dr. Roy Woodruff. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend regulations to 
recognize the American Association of Pastoral Counselors as 
a professional organization that can provide education and 
training required to qualify a licensee as a supervisor of 
residents. 

Agency's Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition will 
be published in the Virginia Register of Regulations and 
circulated to interested parties for comment until June 10, 
2009. Following the comment period, the board will consider 
the request for amendments at its next meeting scheduled for 
August 7, 2009. 

Public Comments: Comments may be submitted until June 
10, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, 
Board of Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4441, FAX (804) 
527-4435, or email evelyn.brown@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-22; Filed April 23, 2009, 12:28 p.m. 

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC140-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Social Work. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Carol A. Gauzens. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend qualifications for 
supervisors to require a licensee wishing to provide 
supervision for a resident to complete and keep record of a 
one-time only (or renewable every 10 years, or must be 
renewed if supervisor has been inactive as a supervisor for 
five or more years) 14-contact hour or three-credit course in 
supervision.  The supervisor shall be responsible for keeping 
on record proof of such course being completed. 

Agency's Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition will 
be published in the Virginia Register of Regulations and 
circulated to interested parties for comment until June 10, 
2009. Following the comment period, the board will consider 
the request for amendments at its next meeting scheduled for 
July 17, 2009. 

Public Comments: Comments may be submitted until June 
10, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, 
Board of Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4441, FAX (804) 
527-4435, or email evelyn.brown@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-21; Filed April 14, 2009, 9:33 a.m. 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC140-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Social Work. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Michael Beattie. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To require social workers to 
perform 25 hours of public service and 25 hours of social 
justice service each biennium or pay a $1,000 fee that would 
be earmarked for awards to social workers who exemplify 
commitment to public service and social justice. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reasons for Decision: The board was advised 
that it did not have statutory authority to charge a fee for 
failure to perform hours of service each biennium and to 
designate the fees to grant awards to social workers for 
service. 

Agency Contact: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, 
Board of Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4441, FAX (804) 
527-4435, or email evelyn.brown@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-16; Filed April 20, 2009, 2:46 p.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

DEPARTMENT (BOARD) OF JUVENILE JUSTICE 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Juvenile Justice 
intends to consider promulgating the following regulation: 
6VAC35-41, Regulation Governing Juvenile Group 
Homes and Halfway Houses. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to develop a comprehensive regulation containing 
the minimum standards for juvenile residential facilities 
covering program operations, health care, personnel, facility 
safety, and physical environment, and to contain additional 
provisions for halfway houses, family group homes, and 
independent living programs. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 16.1-309.9 and 66-24 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on June 12, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Janet P. Van Cuyk, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Juvenile Justice, 700 Centre, 700 East Franklin 
Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-
4097, FAX (804) 371-0773, or email 
janet.vancuyk@djj.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1817; Filed April 14, 2009, 9:24 a.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Department (Board) of Juvenile 
Justice intends to consider promulgating the following 
regulations: 6VAC35-71, Regulation Governing Juvenile 
Correctional Centers. The purpose of the proposed action is 
to develop a comprehensive regulation containing the 
minimum standards for juvenile correctional facilities 
covering program operations, health care, personnel, facility 
safety, physical environment, and to include provisions for 
secure custody facilities, boot camps, work camps, juvenile 
industries, and independent living programs. The current 
requirements for these facilities are contained in 6VAC35-51 
and 6VAC35-140. This regulation will incorporate those 
provisions deemed appropriate and necessary after a 
comprehensive review. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 66-10 and 66-13 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on June 12, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Janet P. Van Cuyk, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Juvenile Justice, 700 Centre, 700 East Franklin 
Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-
4097, FAX (804) 371-0773, or email 
janet.vancuyk@djj.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1820; Filed April 14, 2009, 9:25 a.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Department (Board) of Juvenile 
Justice intends to consider promulgating the following 
regulations: 6VAC35-101, Regulation Governing Juvenile 
Secure Detention Centers. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to develop a comprehensive regulation containing 
the minimum standards for juvenile secure detention centers 
covering program operations, health care, personnel, facility 
safety, physical environment, and post-dispositional detention 
programs. The current requirements for these facilities are 
contained in 6VAC35-51 and 6VAC35-140. This regulation 
will incorporate those provisions deemed appropriate and 
necessary after a comprehensive review. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 16.1-322.7 and 66-10 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on June 12, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Janet P. Van Cuyk, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Juvenile Justice, 700 Centre, 700 East Franklin 
Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-
4097, FAX (804) 371-0773, or email 
janet.vancuyk@djj.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1816; Filed April 14, 2009, 9:24 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR HEARING AID SPECIALISTS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board for Hearing Aid 
Specialists intends to consider amending the following 
regulations: 18VAC80-20, Board for Hearing Aid 
Specialists Regulations. The purpose of the proposed action 
is to increase licensing fees for regulants of the Board for 
Hearing Aid Specialists. 
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The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on June 11, 2009. 

Agency Contact: William H. Ferguson, Executive Director, 
Board for Hearing Aid Specialists, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 
527-4295, or email hearingaidspec@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1925; Filed April 20, 2009, 9:08 a.m.  

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medicine intends to 
consider amending the following regulations: 18VAC85-20, 
Regulations Governing the Practice of Medicine, 
Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, and Chiropractic. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to update regulations 
consistent with current practices of the professions and 
policies of the board. While Chapter 20 of the Board of 
Medicine regulations has not had a periodic review since 
2004, it has been amended 19 times in the interim. Therefore, 
the board does not intend to adopt substantive changes to the 
regulations but will respond to issues raised by comments on 
the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on June 10, 2009. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 
Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4621, FAX 
(804) 527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1755; Filed April 9, 2009, 2:21 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

STATE BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND 
CONSUMER SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 
REGISTRAR’S NOTICE: The State Board of Agriculture is 
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 13 of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes the Board of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services when promulgating regulations pursuant to § 3.2-
5121, which conform, insofar as practicable, with the federal 
Food and Drug Administration's Food Code. Pursuant to 
§ 3.2-5121 C of the Code of Virginia, this regulatory action is 
exempt from portions of the Administrative Process Act 
provided the State Board of Health adopts the same version 
and both agency’s regulations have the same effective date. 
Both agencies are working toward that goal. 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-585. Retail Food 
Establishment Regulations (amending 2VAC5-585-40, 
2VAC5-585-60, 2VAC5-585-70, 2VAC5-585-80, 2VAC5-
585-90, 2VAC5-585-100, 2VAC5-585-140, 2VAC5-585-
180, 2VAC5-585-360, 2VAC5-585-370, 2VAC5-585-400, 
2VAC5-585-410, 2VAC5-585-430, 2VAC5-585-440, 
2VAC5-585-450, 2VAC5-585-490, 2VAC5-585-500, 
2VAC5-585-540, 2VAC5-585-570, 2VAC5-585-680, 
2VAC5-585-700, 2VAC5-585-730, 2VAC5-585-740, 
2VAC5-585-760, 2VAC5-585-780, 2VAC5-585-790, 
2VAC5-585-800, 2VAC5-585-820, 2VAC5-585-830, 
2VAC5-585-850, 2VAC5-585-860, 2VAC5-585-870, 
2VAC5-585-900, 2VAC5-585-950, 2VAC5-585-980, 
2VAC5-585-1200, 2VAC5-585-1230, 2VAC5-585-1260, 
2VAC5-585-1310, 2VAC5-585-1420, 2VAC5-585-1550, 
2VAC5-585-1560, 2VAC5-585-1690, 2VAC5-585-1980, 
2VAC5-585-2040, 2VAC5-585-2190, 2VAC5-585-2230, 
2VAC5-585-2280, 2VAC5-585-2310, 2VAC5-585-2520, 
2VAC5-585-2630, 2VAC5-585-2790, 2VAC5-585-2810, 
2VAC5-585-2920, 2VAC5-585-2950, 2VAC5-585-2960, 
2VAC5-585-3020, 2VAC5-585-3030, 2VAC5-585-3040, 
2VAC5-585-3045, 2VAC5-585-3080, 2VAC5-585-3180, 
2VAC5-585-3240, 2VAC5-585-3360, 2VAC5-585-3460, 
2VAC5-585-3860, 2VAC5-585-4040, 2VAC5-585-4050, 
2VAC5-585-4070; repealing 2VAC5-585-110, 2VAC5-585-
120, 2VAC5-585-150, 2VAC5-585-750, 2VAC5-585-1020, 
2VAC5-585-1030, 2VAC5-585-1440, 2VAC5-585-1880, 
2VAC5-585-2510, 2VAC5-585-2590, 2VAC5-585-3010, 
2VAC5-585-3050, 2VAC5-585-3060, 2VAC5-585-3110, 
2VAC5-585-3120, 2VAC5-585-3160). 

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-5121 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

May 21, 2009 - 10 a.m. - Virginia Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services, Oliver Hill Bldg., 
2nd Floor, Board Room, Richmond, Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
July 10, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Ryan Davis, Program Manager, Office of 
Dairy and Foods, Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 786-8910, FAX (804) 371-7792, TTY (800) 828-1120, 
or email ryan.davis@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 3.2-5121 of the Code of Virginia provides the 
legal basis for the promulgation of this proposed regulation. 
Specifically, subsections B and C identify the authority and 
certain requirements for the expedited adoption of the FDA’s 
Food Code. 

Purpose: This proposed regulatory action is essential to the 
protection of the health and welfare of citizens in that it sets 
the necessary standards of operation for the retail segment of 
Virginia’s food industry to (i) provide a system of prevention 
and overlapping safeguards designed to minimize foodborne 
illness; (ii) ensure employee health, industry manager 
knowledge, safe food, nontoxic and cleanable equipment and 
acceptable levels of sanitation on food establishment 
premises; and (iii) promote fair dealings with the consumer. 

The first goal of the amended regulation is to maintain a 
scientifically sound basis for regulation of the retail food 
industry. The proposed amended regulation contains certain 
additions and modifications that reflect current science and 
additional provisions that address new, emerging food safety 
issues that have surfaced since the regulation was previously 
adopted. Adoption of the amended regulation will thus enable 
the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services (VDACS) to provide regulations to the retail food 
industry that are based on the most current, sound science 
available. 

The second goal of the proposed amended regulation is to 
ensure a regulatory approach that is uniform throughout the 
retail segment of Virginia’s food industry by administering 
standards that are equivalent to those administered by the 
Virginia Department of Health (VDH) in restaurants and food 
service establishments. In years past, VDH have enforced 
different regulations in similar types of food establishments. 
Although the basic requirements of those regulations were the 
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same, there were enough differences in the regulations to 
sometimes be confusing to the retail segment of the food 
industry. The previous, simultaneous adoption of our current 
regulation (a modified version of FDA’s 2001 Model Food 
Code and 2003 Supplement) in October 2007 resolved these 
concerns. In order to continue to provide uniform regulations, 
both VDACS and VDH are on course to concurrently adopt 
these proposed amended regulations. Once both regulations 
are finalized, they will have the same effective date, and at 
that point VDACS and VDH will be administering the same 
food safety standards within all portions of the retail segment 
of Virginia’s food industry. 

Foodborne disease in the United States is a major cause of 
personal distress, preventable death, and avoidable economic 
burden. The U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 
estimate that foodborne diseases cause approximately 76 
million illnesses, 325,000 hospitalizations, and 5,000 deaths 
in the United States each year. Adoption of these amended 
regulations will help to ensure that food provided to 
consumers in Virginia is safe and does not become a vehicle 
in a disease outbreak or in the transmission of communicable 
disease. 

Adoption of these proposed, amended regulations will have 
no environmental impact. 

Substance: The proposed regulation contains the latest 
science relative to food safety and addresses newer food 
safety issues that have emerged since the adoption of the 
previous regulation. It contains additional interventions to 
reduce foodborne disease risk factors and provides for more 
flexibility for the retail segment of the food industry in how 
they choose to alleviate food safety problems or foodborne 
disease risk factors. 

Substantive changes include: 

1. A revised, more inclusive definition of potentially 
hazardous foods that includes any food product that 
requires time/temperature control for safety (TCS) to limit 
pathogenic microorganism growth or toxin formation. 

2. A definition of food allergen that is now consistent with 
the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act 
of 2004. 

3. The inclusion of the viral pathogen Norovirus in the list 
of diseases that require a food employee to be excluded 
from a food establishment as well as the inclusion of 
Norovirus in the list of employee diseases that food 
establishment managers or owners must report to the 
regulatory authority. 

4. Amended handwashing procedures including new 
protocols relative to the washing of hands as well as 
protocols to avoid recontamination of the hands after 
handwashing. The new procedures are now consistent with 

the recommended handwashing procedures in CDC's 
Hygienic Practice Guidelines for Health Care Workers. 

5. Refocused date-marking provisions on foods that present 
a higher risk of contamination. Deli salads (e.g., ham, 
chicken, egg, seafood, pasta, potato and macaroni) 
prepared and packaged in a food processing plant as well 
as cultured dairy products and certain types of hard and 
semi-soft cheeses will now be exempt from date marking. 

6. Amended procedures for reduced oxygen packaging 
(ROP). New requirements have been added relative to 
specific temperature controls for cook-chill and sous vide 
packaging. 

7. Additional labeling requirements for food products 
packaged in a food establishment.  Labels on foods 
packaged in a food establishment will include the name of 
each major food allergen contained in the food, unless it is 
already part of the common name or ingredients. 

8. Additional options for freezing to control parasites as 
well as exemptions for certain fish that are aqua cultured. 

9. Additional provisions allowing time to be used as a food 
safety control measure for six hours if certain requirements 
are met. 

10. The addition of sprouted beans or seeds to the list of 
products that require a HACCP plan if the products are 
sprouted at the retail establishment. 

Issues:  

Public. The proposed amended regulation will enhance the 
safety of food products sold through the retail segment of the 
food industry. Because the proposal is based on the most 
current sound science and addresses newer food safety issues 
and concerns that have surfaced since adoption of the prior 
regulations, consumers purchasing food products from retail 
establishments should develop greater confidence in the 
safety of the retail food supply. 

There are no disadvantages to the public. 

Regulated Entities. This amended regulation is an advantage 
to the industry in that it contains well written, easily 
understandable and scientifically sound retail food safety 
requirements. The regulation is significantly educational in 
nature and provides the industry with knowledge sufficient to 
ensure that food products processed, held and/or offered for 
sale are safe. Additionally, the regulation allows the industry 
additional options and greater flexibility with respect to both 
food processing (souse-vide and cook-chill) and date marking 
as well as parasite control. Updated employee health 
provisions including better ways to protect public health, 
based on new science on pathogens that are most likely to be 
transmitted from an infected worker through food products 
are also provided so that the retail industry can ensure the 
safety of the foods it produces. This proposed amended 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 18 Virginia Register of Regulations May 11, 2009 

3110 

regulation is an important part of the strategy for achieving 
uniform standards both within the Commonwealth as well as 
the nation. 

The primary disadvantage of this proposal to the retail food 
segment of the food industry is the need to understand, 
implement, and conform to both modified and new 
requirements, which may require additional training of 
employees as well as periodic monitoring to ensure adherence 
to the new requirements. 

Commonwealth. This amended regulation will be an 
advantage to the Commonwealth in that it will be able to 
provide safe and wholesome food products for the citizens of 
Virginia. Ensuring the safety of the food supply and reducing 
the level of foodborne illness will ensure a greater degree of 
health and safety for the citizens of Virginia. 

There are no disadvantages to the Commonwealth. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
current Retail Food Establishment Regulations are based on 
the federal Food and Drug Administration’s (FDA) 2001 
Food Code and the 2003 Food Code Supplement.  The 
Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 
(VDACS) proposes several changes to these regulations for 
consistency with the current 2005 FDA Food Code, as well as 
the 2007 Food Code Supplement. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The U.S. Centers for Disease 
Control and Prevention estimate that food borne diseases 
cause approximately 76 million illnesses, 325,000 
hospitalizations, and 5,000 deaths in the United States each 
year.1 These comprehensive regulations establish minimum 
sanitary standards for retail food establishments such as 
supermarkets, grocery stores, and convenience stores.  These 
standards address such topics as the safe and sanitary 
maintenance, storage, operation, and use of equipment, the 
safe preparation, handling, protection, and preservation of 
food including necessary refrigeration or heating methods, 
procedures for vector and pest control, requirements for toilet 
and hand washing facilities for employees, requirements for 
appropriate lighting and ventilation, requirements for an 
approved water supply and sewage disposal system, personal 
hygiene standards for employees, and the appropriate use of 
precautions to prevent the transmission of communicable 
diseases. 

VDACS proposes to add sprouted beans or seeds to the list of 
products that require a HACCP plan if the products are 
sprouted at the retail establishment. The regulations define 
HACCP plan as a written document that delineates the formal 
procedures for following the Hazard Analysis Critical Control 

Point principles developed by the National Advisory 
Committee on Microbiological Criteria for Foods. The FDA 
has found that there are significant health risks due to the 
ingestion of products such as bean sprouts if correct 
procedures are not followed. The FDA and VDACS believe 
that the development of the HACCP plan by retail 
establishments which sprout such products will significantly 
reduce the health risk.  Less than five of the approximately 
4,804 of retail food stores in Virginia sprout beans or seeds. 
VDACS estimates that it would cost less than $100 for each 
establishment to pay for an outside entity to prepare an 
HACCP, or less than one day of research and writing for 
establishments to produce their own HACCP. Since it is 
likely that the benefits of producing the HACCP plan are 
relatively significant and the costs are relatively small, the 
proposal to require the HACCP plan likely produces a net 
benefit. 

Advances in scientific research have enabled the FDA to 
determine that certain reductions in restrictions can be made 
without significant health risks.  This includes exempting deli 
salads prepared and packaged in a food processing plant as 
well as cultured dairy products and certain types of hard and 
semi-soft cheeses from the date-marking requirements. Also, 
VDACS proposes per the FDA Food Code to allow additional 
options for freezing to control parasites as well as exemptions 
for certain fish that are aqua cultured. These reductions in 
restrictions will lower costs for retailers while to the best of 
our knowledge will not significantly add to health risks. Thus, 
these proposed amendments will also likely be net beneficial 
for the public. 

VDACS also proposes additional labeling requirements for 
food products packaged in a food establishment. Under the 
proposed regulations labels on foods packaged in a food 
establishment will include the name of each major food 
allergen contained in the food, unless it is already part of the 
common name or ingredients. This may involve a small initial 
time cost for retailers, but will likely reduce the incidence of 
individuals accidentally consuming foods for which they 
know they are allergic.  Food allergies can induce 
anaphylactic shock, which is potentially fatal. Given the 
potentially large benefit of preventing seriously adverse 
health results for some members of the public and fairly small 
time costs in adding information to labels, this proposed 
change produces a net benefit. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
affect the 8,932 retail food stores in the Commonwealth and 
their customers.  Approximately 4,804 of the retail food 
stores are small businesses.2 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. None of the proposed 
amendments are likely to significantly affect employment. 
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Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Some of the 
proposes changes such as exempting deli salads prepared and 
packaged in a food processing plant as well as cultured dairy 
products and certain types of hard and semi-soft cheeses from 
the date-marking requirements and allowing additional 
options for freezing to control parasites will allow retailers to 
change some of their procedures, resulting in moderate cost 
savings and a commensurate moderate increase in value. 
Other proposed amendments such as requiring more extensive 
allergen labeling will modestly increase costs. None of the 
proposed changes are expected to produce large changes in 
the value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Some of the 
proposes changes such as exempting deli salads prepared and 
packaged in a food processing plant as well as cultured dairy 
products and certain types of hard and semi-soft cheeses from 
the date-marking requirements and allowing additional 
options for freezing to control parasites will allow small 
retailers to change some of their procedures, resulting in 
moderate cost savings.  Other proposed amendments such as 
requiring more extensive allergen labeling will modestly 
increase costs. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Most of the proposed amendments are either 
beneficial or neutral to small businesses. The few changes 
that moderately increase costs, such as requiring more 
extensive allergen labeling or requiring a HACCP plan for 
retailers who sprout beans or seeds at their establishment, 
produce significant benefit for the public.  There is no 
apparent alternative method that would produce this benefit at 
a lower cost. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect real estate development 
costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

__________________________ 
1 Source: Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 
2 Data source: Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 
Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The agency concurs 
with the economic impact analysis submitted by the 
Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The Retail Food Establishment Regulations establish 
minimum sanitary standards for retail food establishments 
such as supermarkets, grocery stores, and convenience 
stores. Those standards include the safe and sanitary 
maintenance, storage, operation, and use of equipment; the 
safe preparation, handling, protection, and preservation of 
food including necessary refrigeration or heating methods; 
procedures for vector and pest control; requirements for 
toilet and handwashing facilities for employees, 
appropriate lighting and ventilation, and an approved 
water supply and sewage disposal system; personal 
hygiene standards for employees, and the appropriate use 
of precautions to prevent the transmission of 
communicable diseases. The current regulations are based 
on the Food and Drug Administrations (FDA) 2001 Food 
Code and the 2003 Food Code Supplement. 

The proposed amendments update the regulations to 
provide consistency with the current 2005 FDA Food Code 
and the 2007 Food Code Supplement. Significant changes 
include: 

1. Revising the definition of "potentially hazardous foods" 
to make it more inclusive by including any food product 
that requires time/temperature control for safety (TCS) to 
limit pathogenic microorganism growth or toxin 
formation; 

2. Defining "food allergen" for consistency with the Food 
Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004; 

3. Including the viral pathogen Norovirus in the list of 
diseases that require a food employee to be excluded from 
a food establishment as well as including Norovirus in the 
list of employee diseases that food establishment managers 
or owners must report to the regulatory authority; 

4. Amending handwashing procedures to include new 
protocols relative to the washing of hands and protocols to 
avoid recontamination of the hands after handwashing, 
which will provide consistency with the recommended 
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handwashing procedures in the Center for Disease 
Control's Hygienic Practice Guidelines for Health Care 
Workers; 

5. Amending the date-marking provisions on foods that 
present a higher risk of contamination, and exempting deli 
salads (e.g., ham, chicken, egg, seafood, pasta, potato and 
macaroni) prepared and packaged in a food processing 
plant, as well as cultured dairy products and certain types 
of hard and semi-soft cheeses, from date marking; 

6. Amending procedures for reduced oxygen packaging 
(ROP) by adding requirements relative to specific 
temperature controls for cook-chill and sous vide 
packaging; 

7. Expanding the labeling requirements for food products 
packaged in a food establishment to require such labels to 
include the name of each major food allergen contained in 
the food, unless it is already part of the common name or 
ingredients; 

8. Adding options for freezing to control parasites as well 
as exemptions for certain fish that are aquacultured; 

9. Allowing time to be used as a food safety control 
measure for six hours if certain requirements are met; and  

10. Adding sprouted beans or seeds to the list of products 
that require a HACCP plan if the products are sprouted at 
the retail establishment.  

Article 2  
Definitions  

2VAC5-585-40. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this regulation 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Accredited program" means a food protection manager 
certification program that has been evaluated and listed by an 
accrediting agency as conforming to national standards for 
organizations that certify individuals. "Accredited program" 
refers to the certification process and is a designation based 
upon an independent evaluation of factors such as the 
sponsor's mission; organizational structure; staff resources; 
revenue sources; policies; public information regarding 
program scope, eligibility requirements, recertification, 
discipline and grievance procedures; and test development 
and administration. "Accredited program" does not refer to 
training functions or educational programs. 

"Additive" means either a (i) "food additive" having the 
meaning stated in the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, 
21 USC § 321(s) and 21 CFR Part 170 or (ii) "color additive" 
having the meaning stated in the Federal Food, Drug, and 
Cosmetic Act, 21 USC § 321(t) and 21 CFR Part 70. 

"Adulterated" has the meaning stated in the Federal Food, 
Drug, and Cosmetic Act, 21 USC § 342. 

"Approved" means acceptable to the department based on a 
determination of conformity with principles, practices, and 
generally recognized standards that protect public health. 

"Asymptomatic" means without obvious symptoms; not 
showing or producing indication of a disease or other medical 
condition, such as an individual infected with a pathogen but 
not exhibiting or producing any signs or symptoms of 
vomiting, diarrhea, or jaundice. Asymptomatic includes not 
showing symptoms because symptoms have resolved or 
subsided, or because symptoms never manifested. 

"aw" means water activity that is a measure of the free 
moisture in a food, is the quotient of the water vapor pressure 
of the substance divided by the vapor pressure of pure water 
at the same temperature, and is indicated by the symbol aw. 

"Balut" means an embryo inside a fertile egg that has been 
incubated for a period sufficient for the embryo to reach a 
specific stage of development after which it is removed from 
incubation before hatching. 

"Beverage" means a liquid for drinking, including water. 

"Board" means the Board of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services. 

"Bottled drinking water" means water that is sealed in 
bottles, packages, or other containers and offered for sale for 
human consumption, including bottled mineral water. 

"Casing" means a tubular container for sausage products 
made of either natural or artificial (synthetic) material. 

"Certification number" means a unique combination of 
letters and numbers assigned by a shellfish control authority 
to a molluscan shellfish dealer according to the provisions of 
the National Shellfish Sanitation Program. 

"CIP" means cleaned in place by the circulation or flowing 
by mechanical means through a piping system of a detergent 
solution, water rinse, and sanitizing solution onto or over 
equipment surfaces that require cleaning, such as the method 
used, in part, to clean and sanitize a frozen dessert machine. 
"CIP" does not include the cleaning of equipment such as 
band saws, slicers or mixers that are subjected to in-place 
manual cleaning without the use of a CIP system. 

"CFR" means Code of Federal Regulations. Citations in this 
regulation to the CFR refer sequentially to the title, part, and 
section numbers, such as 21 CFR 178.1010 refers to Title 21, 
Part 178, Section 1010. 

"Code of Federal Regulations" means the compilation of the 
general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register 
by the executive departments and agencies of the federal 
government that: 
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1. Is published annually by the U.S. Government Printing 
Office; and 

2. Contains FDA rules in 21 CFR, USDA rules in 7 CFR 
and 9 CFR, EPA rules in 40 CFR, and Wildlife and 
Fisheries rules in 50 CFR. 

"Commingle" means: 

1. To combine shellstock harvested on different days or 
from different growing areas as identified on the tag or 
label; or 

2. To combine shucked shellfish from containers with 
different container codes or different shucking dates. 

"Comminuted" means reduced in size by methods including 
chopping, flaking, grinding, or mincing. "Comminuted" 
includes fish or meat products that are reduced in size and 
restructured or reformulated such as gefilte fish, gyros, 
ground beef, and sausage; and a mixture of two or more types 
of meat that have been reduced in size and combined, such as 
sausages made from two or more meats. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services, his duly designated officer or his 
agent. 

"Conditional employee" means a potential food employee to 
whom a job offer is made, conditional on responses to 
subsequent medical questions or examinations designed to 
identify potential food employees who may be suffering from 
a disease that can be transmitted through food and done in 
compliance with Title 1 of the Americans with Disabilities 
Act of 1990. 

"Confirmed disease outbreak" means a foodborne disease 
outbreak in which laboratory analysis of appropriate 
specimens identifies a causative organism or chemical and 
epidemiological analysis implicates the food as the source of 
the illness. 

"Consumer" means a person who is a member of the public, 
takes possession of food, is not functioning in the capacity of 
an operator of a food establishment or food processing plant, 
and does not offer the food for resale. 

"Corrosion-resistant materials" means a material that 
maintains acceptable surface cleanability characteristics under 
prolonged influence of the food to be contacted, the normal 
use of cleaning compounds and sanitizing solutions, and other 
conditions of the use environment. 

"Counter-mounted equipment" means equipment that is not 
easily movable and is designed to be mounted off the floor on 
a table, counter, or shelf. 

"Critical control point" means a point or procedure in a 
specific food system where loss of control may result in an 
unacceptable health risk. 

"Critical item" means a provision of this regulation that, if in 
noncompliance, is more likely than other violations to 
contribute to food contamination, illness, or environmental 
health hazard. "Critical item" is an item that is denoted in this 
regulation with an asterisk (*). 

"Critical limit" means the maximum or minimum value to 
which a physical, biological, or chemical parameter must be 
controlled at a critical control point to minimize the risk that 
the identified food safety hazard may occur. 

"Dealer" means a person who is authorized by a shellfish 
control authority for the activities of a shellstock shipper, 
shucker-packer, repacker, reshipper, or depuration processor 
of molluscan shellfish according to the provisions of the 
National Shellfish Sanitation Program. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services. 

"Disclosure" means a written statement that clearly 
identifies the animal-derived foods that are, or can be ordered, 
raw, undercooked, or without otherwise being processed to 
eliminate pathogens in their entirety, or items that contain an 
ingredient that is raw, undercooked, or without otherwise 
being processed to eliminate pathogens. 

"Drinking water" means water that meets the "water quality 
standards" requirements for bacteria and nitrates of the 
Virginia Waterworks Regulations (12VAC5-590). Drinking 
water is traditionally known as "potable water." Drinking 
water includes the term water except where the term used 
connotes that the water is not potable, such as "boiler water," 
"mop water," "rainwater," "wastewater," and "nondrinking" 
water. 

"Dry storage area" means a room or area designated for the 
storage of packaged or containerized bulk food that is not 
potentially hazardous and dry goods such as single-service 
items. 

"Easily cleanable" means a characteristic of a surface that: 

1. Allows effective removal of soil by normal cleaning 
methods; 

2. Is dependent on the material, design, construction, and 
installation of the surface; and 

3. Varies with the likelihood of the surface's role in 
introducing pathogenic or toxigenic agents or other 
contaminants into food based on the surface's approved 
placement, purpose, and use. 

"Easily cleanable" includes a tiered application of the 
criteria that qualify the surface as easily cleanable as specified 
above in this definition to different situations in which 
varying degrees of cleanability are required such as: 

1. The appropriateness of stainless steel for a food 
preparation surface as opposed to the lack of need for 
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stainless steel to be used for floors or for tables used for 
consumer dining; or 

2. The need for a different degree of cleanability for a 
utilitarian attachment or accessory in the kitchen as 
opposed to a decorative attachment or accessory in the 
consumer dining area. 

"Easily movable" means: 

1. Portable; mounted on casters, gliders, or rollers; or 
provided with a mechanical means to safely tilt a unit of 
equipment for cleaning; and 

2. Having no utility connection, a utility connection that 
disconnects quickly, or a flexible utility connection line of 
sufficient length to allow the equipment to be moved for 
cleaning of the equipment and adjacent area. 

"Egg" means the shell egg of the domesticated chicken, 
turkey, duck, goose, or guinea avian species such as chicken, 
duck, goose, guinea, quail, ratites, or turkey. Egg does not 
include a balut, egg of the reptile species such as alligator, or 
an egg product. 

"Egg product" means all, or a portion of, the contents found 
inside eggs separated from the shell and pasteurized in a food 
processing plant, with or without added ingredients, intended 
for human consumption, such as dried, frozen, or liquid eggs. 
Egg product does not include food that contains eggs only in 
a relatively small proportion such as cake mixes. 

"Employee" means the person in charge, person having 
supervisory or management duties, person on the payroll, 
family member, volunteer, person performing work under 
contractual agreement, or other person working in a food 
establishment. 

"Enterohemorrhagic Escherichia coli (EHEC)" means E. 
coli, which cause hemorrhagic colitis, meaning bleeding 
enterically or bleeding from the intestine. The term is 
typically used in association with E. coli that have the 
capacity to produce Shiga toxins and to cause attaching and 
effacing lesion in the intestine. EHEC is a subset of Shiga 
toxin-producing Escherichia coli (STEC), whose members 
produce additional virulence factors. Infections with EHEC 
may be asymptomatic but are classically associated with 
bloody diarrhea (hemorrhagic colitis) and hemolytic euremic 
syndrome (HUS) or thrombotic thrombocytopenic purpura 
(TTP). Examples of serotypes of EHEC include: E. coli 
O157:H7; E. coli O157:NM; E. coli O26:H11; E. coli 
O145:NM; E. coli O103:H2; or E. coli O111:NM. Also see 
Shiga toxin-producing E. coli. 

"EPA" means the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. 

"Equipment" means an article that is used in the operation of 
a food establishment. "Equipment" includes, but is not limited 
to, items such as a freezer, grinder, hood, ice maker, meat 
block, mixer, oven, reach-in refrigerator, scale, sink, slicer, 

stove, table, temperature measuring device for ambient air, 
vending machine, or warewashing machine. 

"Equipment" does not include items used for handling or 
storing large quantities of packaged foods that are received 
from a supplier in a cased or overwrapped lot, such as hand 
trucks, forklifts, dollies, pallets, racks and skids. 

"Exclude" means to prevent a person from working as a 
food employee in a food establishment or entering a food 
establishment except for those areas open to the general 
public as an employee. 

"°F" means degrees Fahrenheit. 

"FDA" means the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. 

"Fish" means fresh or saltwater finfish, crustaceans, and 
other forms of aquatic life (including alligator, frog, aquatic 
turtle, jellyfish, sea cucumber, and sea urchin and the roe of 
such animals) other than birds or mammals; all mollusks, if 
such animal life is intended for human consumption; and 
includes any edible human food product derived in whole or 
in part from fish, including fish that has been processed in 
any manner. 

"Food" means a raw, cooked, or processed edible substance, 
ice, beverage, or ingredient used or intended for use or for 
sale in whole or in part for human consumption. 

"Foodborne disease outbreak" means the occurrence of two 
or more cases of a similar illness resulting from the ingestion 
of a common food. 

"Food-contact surface" means a surface of equipment or a 
utensil with which food normally comes into contact, or a 
surface of equipment or a utensil from which food may drain, 
drip, or splash into a food, or onto a surface normally in 
contact with food. 

"Food employee" means an individual working with 
unpackaged food, food equipment or utensils, or food-contact 
surfaces. 

"Food establishment," as used in this regulation, means an 
operation that stores, prepares, packages, serves, vends, or 
otherwise offers for retail sale food for human consumption 
(i) such as a market; restaurant; satellite or catered feeding 
location; catering operation if the operation provides food 
directly to a consumer or to a conveyance used to transport 
people; market; vending location; conveyance used to 
transport people; institution; or food bank and (ii) that 
relinquishes possession of a food to a consumer directly, or 
indirectly through a delivery service such as home delivery of 
grocery orders or restaurant take out orders, or delivery 
service that is provided by common carriers. 

"Food establishment," as used in this regulation, includes (i) 
an element of the operation such as a transportation vehicle or 
a central preparation facility that supplies a vending location 
or satellite feeding location and (ii) an operation that is 
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conducted in a mobile, stationary, temporary, or permanent 
facility or location, where consumption is on or off the 
premises. 

"Food establishment," as used in this regulation, does not 
include: 

1. An establishment that offers only prepackaged foods 
that are not potentially hazardous; 

2. A produce stand that only offers whole, uncut fresh 
fruits and vegetables; 

3. A food processing plant; 

4. A food warehouse; 

5. A kitchen in a private home; 

6. A private home that receives catered or home delivered 
food. 

"Food processing plant" means a commercial operation that 
manufactures, packages, labels, or stores food for human 
consumption and does not provide food directly to a 
consumer provides food for sale or distribution to other 
business entities such as food processing plants or food 
establishments. "Food processing plant" does not include a 
"food establishment" as previously defined in this section. 

"Game animal" means an animal, the products of which are 
food, that is not classified as cattle, sheep, swine, goat, horse, 
mule, or other equine in 9 CFR Part 301, Definitions, as 
Poultry in 9 CFR Part 381, Poultry Products Inspection 
Regulations, or as fish as previously defined in this section. 
"Game animal" includes mammals such as reindeer, elk, deer, 
antelope, water buffalo, bison, rabbit, squirrel, opossum, 
raccoon, nutria, or muskrat, and nonaquatic reptiles such as 
land snakes. "Game animal" does not include ratites such as 
ostrich, emu, and rhea. 

"General use pesticide" means a pesticide that is not 
classified by EPA for restricted use as specified in 40 CFR 
152.175. 

"Grade A standards" means the requirements of the United 
States Public Health Service/FDA "Grade A Pasteurized Milk 
Ordinance (2003)" and "Grade A Condensed and Dry Milk 
Ordinance (1995)" with which certain fluid and dry milk and 
milk products comply. 

"HACCP Plan" means a written document that delineates 
the formal procedures for following the Hazard Analysis 
Critical Control Point principles developed by the National 
Advisory Committee on Microbiological Criteria for Foods. 

"Handwashing sink" means a lavatory, a basin or vessel for 
washing, a wash basin, or a plumbing fixture especially 
placed for use in personal hygiene and designed for the 
washing of hands. Handwashing sink includes an automatic 
handwashing facility. 

"Hazard" means a biological, chemical, or physical property 
that may cause an unacceptable consumer health risk. 

"Health practitioner" means a physician licensed to practice 
medicine, or if allowed by law, a nurse practitioner, physician 
assistant, or similar medical profession. 

"Hermetically sealed container" means a container that is 
designed and intended to be secure against the entry of 
microorganisms and, in the case of low acid canned foods, to 
maintain the commercial sterility of its contents after 
processing. 

"Highly susceptible population" means persons who are 
more likely than other people in the general population to 
experience foodborne disease because they are (i) 
immunocompromised; preschool age children, or older 
adults; and (ii) obtaining food at a facility that provides 
services such as custodial care, health care, or assisted living, 
such as a child or adult day care center, kidney dialysis 
center, hospital or nursing home, or nutritional or 
socialization services such as a senior center. 

"Imminent health hazard" means a significant threat or 
danger to health that is considered to exist when there is 
evidence sufficient to show that a product, practice, 
circumstance, or event creates a situation that requires 
immediate correction or cessation of operation to prevent 
injury based on the number of potential injuries, and the 
nature, severity, and duration of the anticipated injury. 

"Injected" means tenderizing a meat with deep penetration 
or injecting the meat such as with juices that may be referred 
to as "injecting," "pinning," or "stitch pumping." During 
injection infectious or toxigenic microorganisms may be 
introduced from its surface to its interior. 

"Juice," when used in the context of food safety, "Juice" 
means the aqueous liquid expressed or extracted from one or 
more fruits or vegetables, purées of the edible portions of one 
or more fruits or vegetables, or any concentrate of such liquid 
or purée. Juice includes juice as a whole beverage, an 
ingredient of a beverage and a purée as an ingredient of a 
beverage does not include, for purposes of HACCP, liquids, 
purées, or concentrates that are not used as beverages or 
ingredients of beverages. 

"Kitchenware" means food preparation and storage utensils. 

"Law" means applicable local, state, and federal statutes, 
regulations, and ordinances. 

"Linens" means fabric items such as cloth hampers, cloth 
napkins, table cloths, wiping cloths, and work garments, 
including cloth gloves. 

"Major food allergen" means milk, egg, fish (such as bass, 
flounder, cod, and including crustacean shellfish such as crab, 
lobster, or shrimp), tree nuts (such as almonds, pecans, or 
walnuts), wheat, peanuts, and soybeans; or a food ingredient 
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that contains protein derived from one of these foods. Major 
food allergen does not include any highly refined oil derived 
from a major food allergen in this definition and any 
ingredient derived from such highly refined oil; or any 
ingredient that is exempt under the petition or notification 
process specified in the Food Allergen Labeling and 
Consumer Protection Act of 2004 (P. L. 108-282, Title II, 
Sec. 201). 

"Meat" means the flesh of animals used as food including 
the dressed flesh of cattle, swine, sheep, or goats and other 
edible animals, except fish, poultry, and wild game animals as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-330 A 3 and 4. 

"mg/L" means milligrams per liter, which is the metric 
equivalent of parts per million (ppm). 

"Molluscan shellfish" means any edible species of fresh or 
frozen oysters, clams, mussels, and scallops or edible portions 
thereof, except when the scallop product consists only of the 
shucked adductor muscle. 

"Operator" means the entity that is legally responsible for 
the operation of the food establishment such as the owner, the 
owner's agent, or other person. 

"Packaged" means bottled, canned, cartoned, securely 
bagged, or securely packaged in a food establishment or a 
food processing plant. "Packaged" does not include a 
wrapper, carry-out box, or other nondurable container used to 
containerize food with the purpose of facilitating food 
protection during service and receipt of the food by the 
consumer. 

"Person" means an association, a corporation, individual, 
partnership, other legal entity, government, or governmental 
subdivision or agency. 

"Person in charge" means the individual present at a food 
establishment who is responsible for the operation at the time 
of inspection. 

"Personal care items" means items or substances that may be 
poisonous, toxic, or a source of contamination and are used to 
maintain or enhance a person's health, hygiene, or 
appearance. Personal care items include items such as 
medicines; first aid supplies; and other items such as 
cosmetics, and toiletries such as toothpaste and mouthwash. 

"pH" means the symbol for the negative logarithm of the 
hydrogen ion concentration, which is a measure of the degree 
of acidity or alkalinity of a solution. 

"Physical facilities" means the structure and interior surfaces 
of a food establishment including accessories such as soap 
and towel dispensers and attachments such as light fixtures 
and heating or air conditioning system vents. 

"Plumbing fixture" means a receptacle or device that is 
permanently or temporarily connected to the water 
distribution system of the premises and demands a supply of 

water from the system or discharges used water, waste 
materials, or sewage directly or indirectly to the drainage 
system of the premises. 

"Plumbing system" means the water supply and distribution 
pipes; plumbing fixtures and traps; soil, waste, and vent 
pipes; sanitary and storm sewers and building drains, 
including their respective connections, devices, and 
appurtenances within the premises; and water-treating 
equipment. 

"Poisonous or toxic materials" means substances that are not 
intended for ingestion and are included in four categories: 

1. Cleaners and sanitizers, which include cleaning and 
sanitizing agents and agents such as caustics, acids, drying 
agents, polishes, and other chemicals; 

2. Pesticides, which include substances such as insecticides 
and rodenticides; 

3. Substances necessary for the operation and maintenance 
of the establishment such as nonfood grade lubricants, 
paints, and personal care items that may be deleterious to 
health; and 

4. Substances that are not necessary for the operation and 
maintenance of the establishment and are on the premises 
for retail sale, such as petroleum products and paints. 

"Potentially hazardous food" means a food that is natural or 
synthetic and that requires temperature control because it is in 
a form capable of supporting: 

1. The rapid and progressive growth of infectious or 
toxigenic microorganisms; 

2. The growth and toxin production of Clostridium 
botulinum; or 

3. In raw shell eggs, the growth of Salmonella enteritidis. 

"Potentially hazardous food" includes an animal food (a 
food of animal origin) that is raw or heat-treated; a food of 
plant origin that is heat-treated or consists of raw seed 
sprouts; cut melons; and garlic-in-oil mixtures that are not 
acidified or otherwise modified at a food processing plant in a 
way that results in mixtures that do not support growth as 
specified above in this definition. 

"Potentially hazardous food" does not include: 

1. An air-cooled hard-boiled egg with shell intact or a shell 
egg that is not hard-boiled, but has been treated to destroy 
all viable Salmonellae; 

2. A food with an aw value of 0.85 or less; 

3. A food with a pH level of 4.6 or below when measured 
at 75°F (24°C); 

4. A food in an unopened hermetically sealed container 
that is commercially processed to achieve and maintain 
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commercial sterility under conditions of nonrefrigerated 
storage and distribution; 

5. A food for which laboratory evidence demonstrates that 
the rapid and progressive growth of infectious and 
toxigenic microorganisms or the growth of Salmonella 
enteritidis in eggs or Clostridium botulinum cannot occur, 
such as a food that has an aw and a pH that are above the 
levels specified in this definition and that may contain a 
preservative, other barrier to the growth of 
microorganisms, or a combination of barriers that inhibit 
the growth of microorganisms; or 

6. A food that does not support the growth of 
microorganisms as specified above in this definition even 
though the food may contain an infectious or toxigenic 
microorganism or chemical or physical contaminant at a 
level sufficient to cause illness. 

"Potentially hazardous food (time/temperature control for 
safety food)" means a food that requires time/temperature 
control for safety (TCS) to limit pathogenic microorganism 
growth or toxin formation:  

1. Potentially hazardous food (time/temperature control for 
safety food) includes an animal food that is raw or heat-
treated; a plant food that is heat-treated or consists of raw 
seed sprouts, cut melons, cut tomatoes, or mixtures of cut 
tomatoes that are not modified in a way so that they are 
unable to support pathogenic microorganism growth or 
toxin formation, or garlic-in-oil mixtures that are not 
modified in a way that results in mixtures that do not 
support pathogenic microorganism growth or toxin 
formation; and except as specified in subdivision 2 of this 
definition, a food that because of the interaction of its Aw 
and pH values is designated as Product Assessment 
Required (PA) in Table A or B of this definition: 

Table A. Interaction of pH and Aw for control of spores 
in food heat treated to destroy vegetative cells and 
subsequently packaged. 

pH values Aw 
values 4.6 or less >4.6-5.6 >5.6 

<0.92 non-
PHF*/non-
TCS 
food** 

non-
PHF/non-
TCS food 

non-
PHF/non-
TCS food 

>0.92-
0.95 

non-
PHF/non-
TCS food 

non-
PHF/non-
TCS food 

PA*** 

>0.95 non-
PHF/non-
TCS food 

PA PA 

*PHF means Potentially Hazardous Food 

**TCS means Time/Temperature Control for Safety Food 

***PA means Product Assessment required 

  

Table B. Interaction of pH and Aw for control of 
vegetative cells and spores in food not heat treated or 
heat treated but not packaged. 

pH values Aw 
values 

<4.2 4.2- 4.6 >4.6-5.0 >5.0 

<0.88 non-
PHF*/ 
non-
TCS 
food** 

non-
PHF/ 
non-
TCS 
food 

non-
PHF/ 
non-
TCS 
food 

non-
PHF/ 
non-
TCS 
food 

0.88-
0.90 

non-
PHF/ 
non-
TCS 
food 

non-
PHF/ 
non-
TCS 
food 

non-
PHF/ 
non-
TCS 
food 

PA*** 

>0.90-
0.92 

non-
PHF/ 
non-
TCS 
food 

non-
PHF/ 
non-
TCS 
food 

PA PA 

>0.92 non-
PHF/ 
non-
TCS 
food 

PA PA PA 

*PHF means Potentially Hazardous Food 

**TCS means Time/Temperature Control for Safety 
Food 

***PA means Product Assessment required 

2. Potentially hazardous food (time/temperature control for 
safety food) does not include: 

a. An air-cooled hard-boiled egg with shell intact, or an 
egg with shell intact that is not hard boiled, but has been 
pasteurized to destroy all viable Salmonellae; 

b. A food in an unopened hermetically sealed container 
that is commercially processed to achieve and maintain 
commercial sterility under conditions of nonrefrigerated 
storage and distribution; 

c. A food that because of its pH or Aw value, or 
interaction of Aw and pH values, is designated as a non-
PHF/non-TCS food in Table A or B of this definition; 

d. A food that is designated as Product Assessment 
required (PA) in Table A or B of this definition and has 
undergone a Product Assessment showing that the 
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growth or toxin formation of pathogenic microorganisms 
that are reasonably likely to occur in that food is 
precluded due to: 

(1) Intrinsic factors including added or natural 
characteristics of the food such as preservatives, 
antimicrobials, humectants, acidulants, or nutrients; 

(2) Extrinsic factors including environmental or 
operational factors that affect the food such as packaging, 
modified atmosphere such as reduced oxygen packaging, 
shelf-life and use, or temperature range of storage and 
use; or 

(3) A combination of intrinsic and extrinsic factors; or 

e. A food that does not support the growth or toxin 
formation of pathogenic microorganisms in accordance 
with one of the subdivisions 2 a through 2 d of this 
definition even though the food may contain a pathogenic 
microorganism or chemical or physical contaminant at a 
level sufficient to cause illness or injury. 

"Poultry" means any domesticated bird (chickens, turkeys, 
ducks, geese, or guineas), whether live or dead, as defined in 
9 CFR Part 381, Poultry Products Inspection Regulations, and 
any migratory waterfowl, game bird, or squab such as 
pheasant, partridge, quail, grouse, or guineas, or pigeon or 
squab, whether live or dead, as defined in 9 CFR Part 362, 
Voluntary Poultry Inspection Regulations. "Poultry" does not 
include ratites. 

"Premises" means the physical facility, its contents, and the 
contiguous land or property under the control of the operator 
or person in charge. 

"Primal cut" means a basic major cut into which carcasses 
and sides of meat are separated, such as a beef round, pork 
loin, lamb flank or veal breast. 

"Public water system" has the meaning stated in 40 CFR 
Part 141, National Primary Drinking Water Regulations. 

"Ratite" means a flightless bird such as an emu, ostrich, or 
rhea. 

"Ready-to-eat food" means food that: 

1. (i) Is in a form that is edible without additional 
preparation to achieve food safety, as specified under 
subsections A through C of 2VAC5-585-700 or 2VAC5-
585-710 or 2VAC5-585-730; (ii) is a raw or partially 
cooked animal food and the consumer is advised as 
specified under subdivisions D 1 and D 2 of 2VAC5-585-
700; or (iii) is prepared in accordance with a variance that 
is granted as specified under subdivisions D 1 and D 3 of 
2VAC5-585-700; and 

2. May receive additional preparation for palatability or 
aesthetic, epicurean, gastronomic, or culinary purposes. 

"Ready-to-eat food" includes: 

1. Raw animal food that is cooked as specified under 
2VAC5-585-700 or 2VAC5-585-710, or frozen as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-730; 

2. Raw fruits and vegetables that are washed as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-510; 

3. Fruits and vegetables that are cooked for hot holding, as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-720; 

4. All potentially hazardous food that is cooked to the 
temperature and time required for the specific food under 
Article 4 (2VAC5-585-700 et seq.) of Part III of this 
regulation and cooled as specified in 2VAC5-585-800; 

5. Plant food for which further washing, cooking, or other 
processing is not required for food safety, and from which 
rinds, peels, husks, or shells, if naturally present, are 
removed; 

6. Substances derived from plants such as spices, 
seasonings, and sugar; 

7. A bakery item such as bread, cakes, pies, fillings, or 
icing for which further cooking is not required for food 
safety; 

8. The following products that are produced in accordance 
with USDA guidelines and that have received a lethality 
treatment for pathogens: dry, fermented sausages, such as 
dry salami or pepperoni; salt-cured meat and poultry 
products, such as prosciutto ham, country cured ham, and 
Parma ham; and dried meat and poultry products, such as 
jerky or beef sticks; and 

9. Food manufactured according to 21 CFR Part 113, 
Thermally Processed Low-Acid Foods Packaged in 
Hermetically Sealed Containers. 

"Reduced oxygen packaging" means (i) the reduction of the 
amount of oxygen in a package by removing oxygen; 
displacing oxygen and replacing it with another gas or 
combination of gases; or otherwise controlling the oxygen 
content to a level below that normally found in the 
surrounding, 21% oxygen atmosphere (approximately 21% at 
sea level); and (ii) a process as specified in clause (i) of this 
definition that involves a food for which Clostridium 
botulinum is identified as a microbiological hazard in the 
final packaged form the hazards Clostridium botulinum or 
Listeria monocytogenes require control in the final packaged 
form. 

"Reduced oxygen packaging" includes: 

1. Vacuum packaging, in which air is removed from a 
package of food and the package is hermetically sealed so 
that a vacuum remains inside the package, such as sous 
vide; 

2. Modified atmosphere packaging, in which the 
atmosphere of a package of food is modified so that its 
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composition is different from air but the atmosphere may 
change over time due to the permeability of the packaging 
material or the respiration of the food. Modified 
atmosphere packaging includes reduction in the proportion 
of oxygen, total replacement of oxygen, or an increase in 
the proportion of other gases such as carbon dioxide or 
nitrogen; and 

3. Controlled atmosphere packaging, in which the 
atmosphere of a package of food is modified so that until 
the package is opened, its composition is different from air, 
and continuous control of that atmosphere is maintained, 
such as by using oxygen scavengers or a combination of 
total replacement of oxygen, nonrespiring food, and 
impermeable packaging material.; 

4. Cook chill packaging, in which cooked food is hot filled 
into impermeable bags that have the air expelled and are 
then sealed or crimped closed. The bagged food is rapidly 
chilled and refrigerated at temperatures that inhibit the 
growth of psychotrophic pathogens; or 

5. Sous vide packaging, in which raw or partially cooked 
food is placed in a hermetically sealed, impermeable bag, 
cooked in the bag, rapidly chilled, and refrigerated at 
temperatures that inhibit the growth of psychotrophic 
pathogens. 

"Refuse" means solid waste not carried by water through the 
sewage system. 

"Regulatory authority" means local, state, or federal 
enforcement body or their authorized representative having 
jurisdiction over the food establishment. 

"Reminder" means a written statement concerning the health 
risk of consuming animal foods raw, undercooked, or without 
being processed to eliminate pathogens. 

"Reservice" means the transfer of food that is unused and 
returned by a consumer after being served or sold and in the 
possession of the consumer, to another person. 

"Restrict" means to limit the activities of a food employee so 
that there is no risk of transmitting a disease that is 
transmissible through food and the food employee does not 
work with exposed food, clean equipment, utensils, linens, 
and unwrapped single-service or single-use articles. 

"Restricted egg" means any check, dirty egg, incubator 
reject, inedible, leaker, or loss as defined in 9 CFR Part 590. 

"Restricted use pesticide" means a pesticide product that 
contains the active ingredients specified in 40 CFR 152.175 
(pesticides classified for restricted use) and that is limited to 
use by or under the direct supervision of a certified applicator. 

"Risk" means the likelihood that an adverse health effect 
will occur within a population as a result of a hazard in a 
food. 

"Safe material" means an article manufactured from or 
composed of materials that may not reasonably be expected to 
result, directly or indirectly, in their becoming a component 
or otherwise affecting the characteristics of any food; an 
additive that is used as specified in § 409 or 706 of the 
Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (21 USC §§ 348 and 
376); or other materials that are not additives and that are 
used in conformity with applicable regulations of the Food 
and Drug Administration. 

"Sanitization" means the application of cumulative heat or 
chemicals on cleaned food contact surfaces that, when 
evaluated for efficacy, yield a reduction of five logs, which is 
equal to a 99.999% reduction, of representative disease 
microorganisms of public health importance. 

"Sealed" means free of cracks or other openings that permit 
the entry or passage of moisture. 

"Service animal" means an animal such as a guide dog, 
signal dog, or other animal individually trained to provide 
assistance to an individual with a disability. 

"Servicing area" means an operating base location to which 
a mobile food establishment or transportation vehicle returns 
regularly for such things as vehicle and equipment cleaning, 
discharging liquid or solid wastes, refilling water tanks and 
ice bins, and boarding food. 

"Sewage" means liquid waste containing animal or 
vegetable matter in suspension or solution and may include 
liquids containing chemicals in solution. 

"Shellfish control authority" means a state, federal, foreign, 
tribal, or other government entity legally responsible for 
administering a program that includes certification of 
molluscan shellfish harvesters and dealers for interstate 
commerce. 

"Shellstock" means raw, in-shell molluscan shellfish. 

"Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli" (STEC) means any 
E. coli capable of producing Shiga toxins (also called 
verocytotoxins or "Shiga-like" toxins). This includes, but is 
not limited to, E. coli reported as serotype O157:H7, 
O157:NM, and O157:H-. Examples of serotypes of STEC 
include both O157 and non-O157 E. coli. Also see 
Enterohemorrhagic Escherichia coli. 

"Shucked shellfish" means molluscan shellfish that have one 
or both shells removed. 

"Single-service articles" means tableware, carry-out utensils, 
and other items such as bags, containers, placemats, stirrers, 
straws, toothpicks, and wrappers that are designed and 
constructed for one time, one person use after which they are 
intended for discard. 

"Single-use articles" means utensils and bulk food 
containers designed and constructed to be used once and 
discarded. Single-use articles includes items such as wax 
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paper, butcher paper, plastic wrap, formed aluminum food 
containers, jars, plastic tubs or buckets, bread wrappers, 
pickle barrels, ketchup bottles, and number 10 cans that do 
not meet the materials, durability, strength and cleanability 
specifications under 2VAC5-585-960, 2VAC5-585-1080, and 
2VAC5-585-1100 for multiuse utensils. 

"Slacking" means the process of moderating the temperature 
of a food such as allowing a food to gradually increase from a 
temperature of -10°F (-23°C) to 25°F (-4°C) in preparation 
for deep-fat frying or to facilitate even heat penetration during 
the cooking of previously block-frozen food such as spinach. 

"Smooth" means a food-contact surface having a surface 
free of pits and inclusions with a cleanability equal to or 
exceeding that of (100 grit) number three stainless steel; a 
nonfood-contact surface of equipment having a surface equal 
to that of commercial grade hot-rolled steel free of visible 
scale; and a floor, wall, or ceiling having an even or level 
surface with no roughness or projections that render it 
difficult to clean. 

"Table-mounted equipment" means equipment that is not 
easily movable and is designed to be mounted off the floor on 
a table, counter, or shelf. 

"Tableware" means eating, drinking, and serving utensils for 
table use such as flatware including forks, knives, and 
spoons; hollowware including bowls, cups, serving dishes, 
and tumblers; and plates. 

"Temperature measuring device" means a thermometer, 
thermocouple, thermistor, or other device that indicates the 
temperature of food, air, or water. 

"Temporary food establishment" means a food 
establishment that operates for a period of no more than 14 
consecutive days in conjunction with a single event or 
celebration. 

"USDA" means the U.S. Department of Agriculture. 

"Utensil" means a food-contact implement or container used 
in the storage, preparation, transportation, dispensing, sale, or 
service of food, such as kitchenware or tableware that is 
multiuse, single service, or single use; gloves used in contact 
with food; temperature sensing probes of food temperature 
measuring devices; and probe-type price or identification tags 
used in contact with food. 

"Variance" means a written document issued by the 
department that authorizes a modification or waiver of one or 
more requirements of this chapter if, in the opinion of the 
department, a health hazard or nuisance will not result from 
the modification or waiver. 

"Vending machine" means a self-service device that, upon 
insertion of a coin, paper currency, token, card, or key, or by 
optional manual operation, dispenses unit servings of food in 

bulk or in packages without the necessity of replenishing the 
device between each vending operation. 

"Vending machine location" means the room, enclosure, 
space, or area where one or more vending machines are 
installed and operated and includes the storage and servicing 
areas on the premises that are used in conjunction with the 
vending machines. 

"Warewashing" means the cleaning and sanitizing of food-
contact surfaces of equipment and utensils. 

"Whole-muscle, intact beef" means whole muscle beef that 
is not injected, mechanically tenderized, reconstructed, or 
scored and marinated, from which beef steaks may be cut. 

2VAC5-585-60. Demonstration.* 

Based on the risks of foodborne illness inherent to the food 
operation, during inspections and upon request the person in 
charge shall demonstrate to the department knowledge of 
foodborne disease prevention, application of the Hazard 
Analysis Critical Control Point principles, and the 
requirements of this regulation. The person in charge shall 
demonstrate this knowledge by: 

1. Complying with this regulation by having no violations 
during the current inspection; 

2. Being a certified food protection manager who has 
shown proficiency of required information through passing 
a test that is part of an accredited program; or 

3. Responding correctly to the inspector's questions as they 
relate to the specific food operation. The areas of 
knowledge include: 

a. Describing the relationship between the prevention of 
foodborne disease and the personal hygiene of a food 
employee; 

b. Explaining the responsibility of the person in charge 
for preventing the transmission of foodborne disease by a 
food employee who has a disease or medical condition 
that may cause foodborne disease; 

c. Describing the symptoms associated with the diseases 
that are transmissible through food; 

d. Explaining the significance of the relationship between 
maintaining the time and temperature of potentially 
hazardous food (time/temperature control for safety food) 
and the prevention of foodborne illness; 

e. Explaining the hazards involved in the consumption of 
raw or undercooked meat, poultry, eggs, and fish; 

f. Stating the required food temperatures and times for 
safe cooking of potentially hazardous food 
(time/temperature control for safety food) including 
meat, poultry, eggs, and fish; 
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g. Stating the required temperatures and times for the 
safe refrigerated storage, hot holding, cooling, and 
reheating of potentially hazardous food 
(time/temperature control for safety food); 

h. Describing the relationship between the prevention of 
foodborne illness and the management and control of the 
following: 

(1) Cross contamination; 

(2) Hand contact with ready-to-eat foods; 

(3) Handwashing; and 

(4) Maintaining the food establishment in a clean 
condition and in good repair; 

i. Describing the foods identified as major food allergens 
and the symptoms that a major food allergen could cause 
in a sensitive individual who has an allergic reaction; 

i. j. Explaining the relationship between food safety and 
providing equipment that is: 

(1) Sufficient in number and capacity; and 

(2) Properly designed, constructed, located, installed, 
operated, maintained, and cleaned; 

j. k. Explaining correct procedures for cleaning and 
sanitizing utensils and food-contact surfaces of 
equipment; 

k. l. Identifying the source of water used and measures 
taken to ensure that it remains protected from 
contamination such as providing protection from 
backflow and precluding the creation of cross 
connections; 

l. m. Identifying poisonous or toxic materials in the food 
establishment and the procedures necessary to ensure that 
they are safely stored, dispensed, used, and disposed of 
according to law; 

m. n. Identifying critical control points in the operation 
from purchasing through sale or service that when not 
controlled may contribute to the transmission of 
foodborne illness and explaining steps taken to ensure 
that the points are controlled in accordance with the 
requirements of this regulation; 

n. o. Explaining the details of how the person in charge 
and food employees comply with the HACCP plan if a 
plan is required by the law, this regulation, or an 
agreement between the department and the 
establishment; and 

o. p. Explaining the responsibilities, rights, and 
authorities assigned by this regulation to the: 

(1) Food employee; 

(2) Person in charge; and 

(3) Department. 

q. Explaining how the person in charge, food employees, 
and conditional employees comply with reporting 
responsibilities and the exclusion or restriction of food 
employees. 

2VAC5-585-70. Person Duties of person in charge. 

The person in charge shall ensure that: 

1. Food establishment operations are not conducted in a 
private home or in a room used as living or sleeping 
quarters as specified under 2VAC5-585-2990; 

2. Persons unnecessary to the food establishment operation 
are not allowed in the food preparation, food storage, or 
warewashing areas, except that brief visits and tours may 
be authorized by the person in charge if steps are taken to 
ensure that exposed food; clean equipment, utensils, and 
linens; and unwrapped single-service and single-use 
articles are protected from contamination; 

3. Employees and other persons such as delivery and 
maintenance persons and pesticide applicators entering the 
food preparation, food storage, and warewashing areas 
comply with this regulation; 

4. Employees are effectively cleaning their hands, by 
routinely monitoring the employees' handwashing; 

5. Employees are visibly observing foods as they are 
received to determine that they are from approved sources, 
delivered at the required temperatures, protected from 
contamination, unadulterated, and accurately presented, by 
routinely monitoring the employees' observations and 
periodically evaluating foods upon their receipt; 

6. Employees are properly cooking potentially hazardous 
food, being particularly careful in cooking those foods 
known to cause severe foodborne illness and death, such as 
eggs and comminuted meats, through daily oversight of the 
employees' routine monitoring of the cooking temperatures 
using appropriate temperature measuring devices properly 
scaled and calibrated as specified under 2VAC5-585-1180 
and 2VAC5-585-1730 B; 

7. Employees are using proper methods to rapidly cool 
potentially hazardous foods that are not held hot or are not 
for consumption within four hours, through daily oversight 
of the employees' routine monitoring of food temperatures 
during cooling; 

8. Consumers who order raw or partially cooked ready-to-
eat foods of animal origin are informed as specified under 
2VAC5-585-930 that the food is not cooked sufficiently to 
ensure its safety; 

9. Employees are properly sanitizing cleaned multiuse 
equipment and utensils before they are reused, through 
routine monitoring of solution temperature and exposure 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 18 Virginia Register of Regulations May 11, 2009 

3122 

time for hot water sanitizing, and chemical concentration, 
pH, temperature, and exposure time for chemical 
sanitizing; 

10. Consumers are notified that clean tableware is to be 
used when they return to self-service areas such as salad 
bars and buffets as specified under 2VAC5-585-590; 

11. Except when otherwise approved as specified in 
2VAC5-585-450 B, employees are preventing cross-
contamination of ready-to-eat food with bare hands by 
properly using suitable utensils such as deli tissue, 
spatulas, tongs, single-use gloves, or dispensing 
equipment; and 

12. Employees are properly trained in food safety as it 
relates to their assigned duties.; and 

13. Food employees and conditional employees are 
informed of their responsibility to report in accordance 
with law, to the person in charge, information about their 
health and activities as they relate to diseases that are 
transmissible through food, as specified under 2VAC5-
585-80. 

Article 2  
Employee Health  

2VAC5-585-80. Responsibility of the person in charge to 
require reporting by food employees and applicants and 
conditional employees.* 

A. The person in charge shall require food employee 
applicants to whom a conditional offer of employment is 
made and food employees and conditional employees to 
report to the person in charge, information about their health 
and activities as they relate to diseases that are transmissible 
through food. A food employee or applicant conditional 
employee shall report the information in a manner that allows 
the person in charge to prevent the likelihood reduce the risk 
of foodborne disease transmission, including providing 
necessary additional information, such as the date of onset of 
jaundice or of symptoms and an illness specified in 
subdivision 3 of this section, or of a diagnosis without 
symptoms, if the food employee or applicant conditional 
employee: 

1. Is diagnosed with an illness due to: 

a. Salmonella typhi; 

b. Shigella spp.; 

c. Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli; or 

d. Hepatitis A virus; 

2. Has a symptom caused by illness, infection, or other 
source that is: 

a. Associated with an acute gastrointestinal illness such 
as: 

(1) Diarrhea; 

(2) Fever; 

(3) Vomiting; 

(4) Jaundice; or 

(5) Sore throat with fever; or 

b. A lesion containing pus such as a boil or infected 
wound that is open or draining and is: 

(1) On the hands or wrists, unless an impermeable cover 
such as a finger cot or stall protects the lesion and a 
single-use glove is worn over the impermeable cover; 

(2) On exposed portions of the arms, unless the lesion is 
protected by an impermeable cover; or 

(3) On other parts of the body, unless the lesion is 
covered by a dry, durable, tight-fitting bandage; 

3. Had a past illness from: 

a. S. typhi within the past three months; 

b. Shigella spp. within the past month; 

c. Shiga Toxin-Producing Escherichia coli, within the 
past month; or 

d. Hepatitis A virus; 

4. Meets one or more of the following high-risk conditions: 

a. Is suspected of causing, or being exposed to, a 
confirmed disease outbreak caused by S. typhi, Shigella 
spp., Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli, or hepatitis 
A virus including an outbreak at an event such as a 
family meal, church supper, or festival because the food 
employee or applicant: 

(1) Prepared food implicated in the outbreak; 

(2) Consumed food implicated in the outbreak; or 

(3) Consumed food at the event prepared by a person 
who is infected or ill with the infectious agent that caused 
the outbreak or who is suspected of being a shedder of 
the infectious agent; 

b. Lives in the same household as a person who is 
diagnosed with a disease caused by S. typhi, Shigella 
spp., Shiga Toxin-Producing Escherichia coli, or 
hepatitis A virus; or 

c. Lives in the same household as a person who attends 
or works in a setting where there is a confirmed disease 
outbreak caused by S. typhi, Shigella spp., Shiga toxin-
producing Escherichia coli, or hepatitis A virus. 

1. Has any of the following symptoms: 

a. Vomiting; 

b. Diarrhea; 
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c. Jaundice;  

d. Sore throat with fever; or  

e. A lesion containing pus such as a boil or infected 
wound that is open or draining and is: 

(1) On the hands or wrists, unless an impermeable cover 
such as a finger cot or stall protects the lesion and a 
single-use glove is worn over the impermeable cover,  

(2) On exposed portions of the arms, unless the lesion is 
protected by an impermeable cover, or  

(3) On other parts of the body, unless the lesion is 
covered by a dry, durable, tight-fitting bandage; 

2. Has an illness diagnosed by a health practitioner due to: 

a. Norovirus; 

b. Hepatitis A virus; 

c. Shigella spp.; 

d. Enterohemorrhagic or Shiga-toxin producing 
Escherichia coli; or 

e. Salmonella Typhi; 

3. Had a previous illness, diagnosed by a health 
practitioner, within the past three months due to 
Salmonella Typhi, without having received antibiotic 
therapy, as determined by a health practitioner; 

4. Has been exposed to, or is the suspected source of, a 
confirmed disease outbreak, because the food employee or 
conditional employee consumed or prepared food 
implicated in the outbreak, or consumed food at an event 
prepared by a person who is infected or ill with: 

a. Norovirus within the past 48 hours of the last 
exposure;  

b. Enterohemorrhagic or Shiga-toxin producing 
Escherichia coli, or Shigella spp. within the past three 
days of the last exposure;  

c. Salmonella Typhi within the past 14 days of the last 
exposure; or 

d. Hepatitis A virus within the past 30 days of the last 
exposure; or 

5. Has been exposed by attending or working in a setting 
where there is a confirmed disease outbreak, or living in 
the same household as, and has knowledge about an 
individual who works or attends a setting where there is a 
confirmed disease outbreak, or living in the same 
household as, and has knowledge about, an individual 
diagnosed with an illness caused by: 

a. Norovirus within the past 48 hours of exposure; 

b. Enterohemorragic or Shiga-toxin producing 
Escherichia coli, or Shigella spp. within the past three 
days of the last exposure;  

c. Salmonella Typhi within the past 14 days of the last 
exposure; or 

d. Hepatitis A virus within the past 30 days of the last 
exposure. 

B. The person in charge shall notify the regulatory authority 
when a food employee is: 

1. Jaundiced; or 

2. Diagnosed with an illness due to a pathogen as specified 
under subdivisions A 2 a through e of this section. 

C. The person in charge shall ensure that a conditional 
employee: 

1. Who exhibits or reports a symptom, or who reports a 
diagnosed illness as specified under subdivisions A 2 a 
through e of this section, is prohibited from becoming a 
food employee until the conditional employee meets the 
criteria for the specific symptoms or diagnosed illness as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-100; and  

2. Who will work as a food employee in a food 
establishment that serves a highly susceptible population 
and reports a history of exposure as specified under 
subdivisions A 4 and 5 of this section, is prohibited from 
becoming a food employee until the conditional employee 
meets the criteria specified under subdivision 9 of 2VAC5-
585-100. 

D. The person in charge shall ensure that a food employee 
who exhibits or reports a symptom, or who reports a 
diagnosed illness or history of exposure as specified under 
subdivision A 1 through 5 of this section is: 

1. Excluded as specified under subdivisions 1 through 3 
and 4 a, 5 a, 6 a, or 7 a of 2VAC5-585-90 and in 
compliance with the provisions specified under 
subdivisions 1 through 7 of 2VAC5-585-100; or 

2. Restricted as specified under subdivisions 4 b, 5 b, 6 b, 7 
b, 8, or 9 of 2VAC5-585-90 and in compliance with the 
provisions specified under subdivisions 4 through 12 of 
2VAC5-585-100. 

E. A food employee or conditional employee shall report to 
the person in charge the information as specified under 
subsection A of this section. 

F. A food employee shall: 

1. Comply with an exclusion as specified under 
subdivisions 1 through 3 and 4 a, 5 a, 6 a, or 7 a of 
2VAC5-585-90, and with the provisions specified under 
subdivisions 1 through 7 of 2VAC5-585-100; or 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 18 Virginia Register of Regulations May 11, 2009 

3124 

2. Comply with a restriction as specified under subdivisons 
4 b, 5 b, 6 b, 7 b, 8, or 9 of 2VAC5-585-90 and comply 
with the provisions specified under subdivisons 4 through 
12 of 2VAC5-585-100. 

2VAC5-585-90. Exclusions and restrictions.* 

A. The person in charge shall exclude a food employee from 
a food establishment if the food employee is diagnosed with 
an infectious agent specified in subdivision 1 of 2VAC5-585-
80. 

B. Except as specified under subsection C or D of this 
section, the person in charge shall restrict a food employee 
from working with exposed food; clean equipment, utensils, 
and linens; and unwrapped single-service and single-use 
articles in a food establishment if the food employee is: 

1. Suffering from a symptom specified under subdivision 2 
a (1), (2), (3) or (5) of 2VAC5-585-80; or 

2. Not experiencing a symptom of acute gastroenteritis 
specified in subdivision 2 a of 2VAC5-585-80, but has a 
stool that yields a specimen culture that is positive for S. 
typhi, Shigella spp., or Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia 
coli. 

C. If the population served is a highly susceptible 
population, the person in charge shall exclude a food 
employee who: 

1. Is experiencing a symptom of acute gastrointestinal 
illness specified under subdivisions 2 a (1), (2), (3) or (5) 
of 2VAC5-585-80 and meets a high-risk condition 
specified in subdivision 4 of 2VAC5-585-80; 

2. Is not experiencing a symptom of acute gastroenteritis 
specified in subdivision 2 a of 2VAC5-585-80, but has a 
stool that yields a specimen culture that is positive for S. 
typhi, Shigella spp., or Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia 
coli; 

3. Had a past illness from S. typhi within the last three 
months; or 

4. Had a past illness from Shigella spp. or Shiga toxin-
producing Escherichia coli within the last month. 

D. For a food employee who is jaundiced: 

1. If the onset of jaundice occurred within the last seven 
calendar days, the person in charge shall exclude the food 
employee from the food establishment; or 

2. If the onset of jaundice occurred more than seven 
calendar days before, the person in charge shall: 

a. Exclude the food employee from a food establishment 
that serves a highly susceptible population; or 

b. Restrict the food employee from activities specified in 
subsection B of this section, if the food establishment 
does not serve a highly susceptible population. 

The person in charge shall exclude or restrict a food 
employee from a food establishment in accordance with the 
following: 

1. Except when the symptom is from a noninfectious 
condition, exclude a food employee if the food employee 
is: 

a. Symptomatic with vomiting or diarrhea; or 

b. Symptomatic with vomiting or diarrhea and diagnosed 
with an infection from Norovirus, Shigella spp., or 
Enterohemorrhagic or Shiga-toxin producing Escherichia 
coli. 

2. Exclude a food employee who is: 

a. Jaundiced and the onset of jaundice occurred within 
the last seven calendar days, unless the food employee 
provides to the person in charge written medical 
documentation from a health practitioner specifying that 
the jaundice is not caused by Hepatitis A virus or other 
fecal-orally transmitted infection; 

b. Diagnosed with an infection from Hepatitis A virus 
within 14 calendar days from the onset of any illness 
symptoms, or within seven calendar days of the onset of 
jaundice; or 

c. Diagnosed with an infection from Hepatitis A virus 
without developing symptoms. 

3. Exclude a food employee who is diagnosed with an 
infection from Salmonella Typhi, or reports a previous 
infection with Salmonella Typhi within the past three 
months as specified in 2VAC5-585-80 A 3. 

4. If a food employee is diagnosed with an infection from 
Norovirus and is asymptomatic: 

a. Exclude the food employee who works in a food 
establishment serving a highly susceptible population; or 

b. Restrict the food employee who works in a food 
establishment not serving a highly susceptible 
population. 

5. If a food employee is diagnosed with an infection from 
Shigella spp. and is asymptomatic: 

a. Exclude the food employee who works in a food 
establishment serving a highly susceptible population; or 

b. Restrict the food employee who works in a food 
establishment not serving a highly susceptible 
population. 

6. If a food employee is diagnosed with an infection from 
Enterohemorrhagic or Shiga-toxin producing E. coli, and is 
asymptomatic: 

a. Exclude the food employee who works in a food 
establishment serving a highly susceptible population; or 
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b. Restrict the food employee who works in a food 
establishment not serving a highly susceptible 
population. 

7. If a food employee is ill with symptoms of acute onset 
of sore throat with fever: 

a. Exclude the food employee who works in a food 
establishment serving a highly susceptible population; or 

b. Restrict the food employee who works in a food 
establishment not serving a highly susceptible 
population. 

8. If a food employee is infected with a skin lesion 
containing pus such as a boil or infected wound that is 
open or draining and not properly covered as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-80 A 1 e, restrict the food employee. 

9. If a food employee is exposed to a foodborne pathogen 
as specified under 2VAC5-585-80 A 4 or 5, restrict the 
food employee who works in a food establishment serving 
a highly susceptible population. 

2VAC5-585-100. Removal of exclusions and restrictions. 

A. The person in charge may remove an exclusion specified 
under 2VAC5-585-90 A if: 

1. The person in charge obtains approval from the 
department; and 

2. The person excluded as specified under 2VAC5-585-90 
A provides to the person in charge written medical 
documentation from a physician licensed to practice 
medicine or, if allowed by law, a nurse practitioner or 
physician assistant, that specifies that the excluded person 
may work in an unrestricted capacity in a food 
establishment, including an establishment that serves a 
highly susceptible population, because the person is free of 
the infectious agent of concern as specified in 2VAC5-585-
4070. 

B. The person in charge may remove a restriction specified 
under: 

1. Subdivision B 1 of 2VAC5-585-90 if the restricted 
person: 

a. Is free of the symptoms specified under subdivision 2 a 
(1), (2), (3), (5), or 2 b of 2VAC5-585-80 and no 
foodborne illness occurs that may have been caused by 
the restricted person; 

b. Is suspected of causing foodborne illness but: 

(1) Is free of the symptoms specified under subdivision 2 
a (1), (2), (3), (5), or 2 b of 2VAC5-585-80; and 

(2) Provides written medical documentation from a 
physician licensed to practice medicine or, if allowed by 
law, a nurse practitioner or physician assistant, stating 
that the restricted person is free of the infectious agent 

that is suspected of causing the person's symptoms or 
causing foodborne illness, as specified in 2VAC5-585-
4070; or 

c. Provides written medical documentation from a 
physician licensed to practice medicine or, if allowed by 
law, a nurse practitioner or physician assistant, stating 
that the symptoms experienced result from a chronic 
noninfectious condition such as Crohn's disease, irritable 
bowel syndrome, or ulcerative colitis; or 

2. Subdivision B 2 of 2VAC5-585-90 if the restricted 
person provides written medical documentation from a 
physician, licensed to practice medicine, or, if allowed by 
law, a nurse practitioner or physician assistant, according 
to the criteria specified in 2VAC5-585-4070 that indicates 
the stools are free of Salmonella typhi, Shigella spp., or 
Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli, whichever is the 
infectious agent of concern. 

C. The person in charge may remove an exclusion specified 
under 2VAC5-585-90 C if the excluded person provides 
written medical documentation from a physician licensed to 
practice medicine or, if allowed by law, a nurse practitioner 
or physician assistant: 

1. That specifies that the person is free of the infectious 
agent of concern as specified in 2VAC5-585-4070; or 

2. If the person is excluded under 2VAC5-585-90 C 1, that 
the symptoms experienced result from a chronic 
noninfectious condition such as Crohn's disease, irritable 
bowel syndrome, or ulcerative colitis. 

D. The person in charge may remove an exclusion specified 
under 2VAC5-585-90 D 1 and 2VAC5-585-90 D 2 a and a 
restriction specified under 2VAC5-585-90 D 2 b if: 

1. No foodborne illness occurs that may have been caused 
by the excluded or restricted person and the person 
provides written medical documentation from a physician 
licensed to practice medicine stating that the person is free 
of hepatitis A virus as specified in subdivision 4 a of 
2VAC5-585-4070; or 

2. The excluded or restricted person is suspected of causing 
foodborne illness and complies with subdivisions 4 a and 4 
b of 2VAC5-585-4070. 

The person in charge shall adhere to the following 
conditions when removing, adjusting, or retaining the 
exclusion or restriction of a food employee: 

1. Except when a food employee is diagnosed with an 
infection from Hepatitis A virus or Salmonella Typhi: 

a. Reinstate a food employee who was excluded as 
specified under subdivision 1 a of 2VAC5-585-90 if the 
food employee: 

(1) Is asymptomatic for at least 24 hours; or 
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(2) Provides to the person in charge written medical 
documentation from a health practitioner that states the 
symptom is from a noninfectious condition. 

b. If a food employee was diagnosed with an infection 
from Norovirus and excluded as specified under 2VAC5-
585-90 1 b: 

(1) Restrict the food employee, who is asymptomatic for 
at least 24 hours and works in a food establishment not 
serving a highly susceptible population until the 
conditions for reinstatement as specified in subdivision 4 
a or b of this section are met; or 

(2) Retain the exclusion for the food employee, who is 
asymptomatic for at least 24 hours and works in a food 
establishment that serves a highly susceptible population, 
until the conditions for reinstatement as specified in 
subdivision 4 a or b of this section are met. 

c. If a food employee was diagnosed with an infection 
from Shigella spp. and excluded as specified under 
subdivision 1 b of 2VAC5-585-90: 

(1) Restrict the food employee, who is asymptomatic, for 
at least 24 hours and works in a food establishment not 
serving a highly susceptible population, until the 
conditions for reinstatement as specified in subdivision 5 
a or b of this section are met; or 

(2) Retain the exclusion for the food employee, who is 
asymptomatic for at least 24 hours and works in a food 
establishment that serves a highly susceptible population, 
until the conditions for reinstatement as specified in 
subdivision 5 a or b, or 5 a and c (1) of this section are 
met. 

d. If a food employee was diagnosed with an infection 
from Enterohemorrhagic or Shiga-toxin producing 
Escherichia coli and excluded as specified under 
subdivision 1 b of 2VAC5-585-90: 

(1) Restrict the food employee, who is asymptomatic for 
at least 24 hours and works in a food establishment not 
serving a highly susceptible population, until the 
conditions for reinstatement as specified in subdivision 6 
a or b of this section are met; or 

(2) Retain the exclusion for the food employee, who is 
asymptomatic for at least 24 hours and works in a food 
establishment that serves a highly susceptible population, 
until the conditions for reinstatement as specified in 
subdivision 6 a or b are met. 

2. Reinstate a food employee who was excluded as 
specified under subdivision 2 of 2VAC5-585-90 if the 
person in charge obtains approval from the regulatory 
authority and one of the following conditions is met: 

a. The food employee has been jaundiced for more than 
seven calendar days; 

b. The anicteric food employee has been symptomatic 
with symptoms other than jaundice for more than 14 
calendar days; or 

c. The food employee provides to the person in charge 
written medical documentation from a health practitioner 
stating that the food employee is free of a Hepatitis A 
virus infection. 

3. Reinstate a food employee who was excluded as 
specified under subdivision 3 of 2VAC5-585-90 if: 

a. The person in charge obtains approval from the 
regulatory authority; and 

b. The food employee provides to the person in charge 
written medical documentation from a health practitioner 
that states the employee is free from S. Typhi infection. 

4. Reinstate a food employee who was excluded as 
specified under subdivision 1 b or 4 a of 2VAC5-585-90, 
who was restricted under subdivision 4 b of 2VAC5-585-
90 if the person in charge obtains approval from the 
regulatory authority and one of the following conditions is 
met: 

a. The excluded or restricted food employee provides to 
the person in charge written medical documentation from 
a health practitioner stating that the food employee is free 
of a Norovirus infection; 

b. The food employee was excluded or restricted after 
symptoms of vomiting or diarrhea resolved, and more 
than 48 hours have passed since the food employee 
became symptomatic; or 

c. The food employee was excluded or restricted and did 
not develop symptoms and more than 48 hours have 
passed since the food employee was diagnosed. 

5. Reinstate a food employee who was excluded as 
specified under subdivision 1 b or 5 a of 2VAC5-585-90 or 
who was restricted under subdivision 5 b of 2VAC5-585-
90 if the person in charge obtains approval from the 
regulatory authority and one of the following conditions is 
met: 

a. The excluded or restricted food employee provides to 
the person in charge written medical documentation from 
a health practitioner stating that the food employee is free 
of a Shigella spp. infection based on test results showing 
two consecutive negative stool specimen cultures that are 
taken: 

(1) Not earlier than 48 hours after discontinuance of 
antibiotics; and 

(2) At least 24 hours apart; 

b. The food employee was excluded or restricted after 
symptoms of vomiting or diarrhea resolved, and more 
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than seven calendar days have passed since the food 
employee became asymptomatic; or 

c. The food employee was excluded or restricted and did 
not develop symptoms and more than seven calendar 
days have passed since the food employee was 
diagnosed. 

6. Reinstate a food employee who was excluded or 
restricted as specified under subdivision 1 b or 6 a of 
2VAC5-585-90 or who was restricted under subdivision 6 
b of 2VAC5-585-90 if the person in charge obtains 
approval from the regulatory authority and one of the 
following conditions is met: 

a. The excluded or restricted food employee provides to 
the person in charge written medical documentation from 
a health practitioner stating that the food employee is free 
of an infection from Enterohemorrhagic or Shiga-toxin 
producing Escherichia coli based on test results that show 
two consecutive negative stool specimen cultures that are 
taken: 

(1) Not earlier than 48 hours after the discontinuance of 
antibiotics; and 

(2) At least 24 hours apart; 

b. The food employee was excluded or restricted after 
symptoms of vomiting or diarrhea resolved and more 
than seven calendar days have passed since the employee 
became asymptomatic; or 

c. The food employee was excluded or restricted and did 
not develop symptoms and more than seven days have 
passed since the employee was diagnosed. 

7. Reinstate a food employee who was excluded or 
restricted as specified under subdivision 7 a or b of 
2VAC5-585-90 if the food employee provides to the 
person in charge written medical documentation from a 
health practitioner stating that the food employee meets 
one of the following conditions: 

a. Has received antibiotic therapy for Streptococcus 
pyogenes infection for more than 24 hours; 

b. Has at least one negative throat specimen culture for 
Streptococcus pyogenes infection; or 

c. Is otherwise determined by a health practitioner to be 
free of Streptococcus pyogenes infection. 

8. Reinstate a food employee who was restricted as 
specified under subdivision 8 of 2VAC5-585-90 if the 
skin, infected wound, cut, or pustular boil is properly 
covered with one of the following: 

a. An impermeable cover such as a finger cot or stall and 
a single-use glove over the impermeable cover if the 
infected wound or pustular boil is on the hand, finger, or 
wrist; 

b. An impermeable cover on the arm if the infected 
wound or pustular boil is on the arm; or 

c. A dry, durable, tight-fitting bandage if the infected 
wound or pustular boil is on another part of the body. 

9. Reinstate a food employee who was restricted as 
specified under subdivision 9 of 2VAC5-585-90 and was 
exposed to one of the following pathogens as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-80 A 4 or 5: 

a. Norovirus and one of the following conditions is met: 

(1) More than 48 hours have passed since the last day the 
food employee was potentially exposed; or 

(2) More than 48 hours have passed since the food 
employee's household contact became asymptomatic. 

b. Shigella spp. or Enterohemorrhagic or Shiga-toxin 
producing Escherichia coli and one of the following 
conditions is met: 

(1) More than three calendar days have passed since the 
last day the food employee was potentially exposed; or 

(2) More than three calendar days have passed since the 
food employee's household contact became 
asymptomatic. 

c. S. Typhi and one of the following conditions is met: 

(1) More than 14 calendar days have passed since the last 
day the food employee was potentially exposed; or 

(2) More than 14 calendar days have passed since the 
food employee's household contact became 
asymptomatic. 

d. Hepatitis A virus and one of the following conditions 
is met: 

(1) The food employee is immune to Hepatitis A virus 
infection because of prior illness from Hepatitis A; 

(2) The food employee is immune to Hepatitis A virus 
infection because of vaccination against Hepatitis A; 

(3) The food employee is immune to Hepatitis A virus 
infection because of IgG administration; 

(4) More than 30 calendar days have passed since the last 
the food employee was potentially exposed; 

(5) More than 30 calendar days have passed since the 
food employee's household contact became jaundiced; or 

(6) The food employee does not use an alternative 
procedure that allows bare hand contact with ready-to-eat 
food until at least 30 days after the potential exposure, as 
specified in subdivision 9 d (4) and (5) of this section, 
and the food employee receives additional training about: 

(a) Hepatitis A symptoms and preventing the 
transmission of infection; 
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(b) Proper handwashing procedures; and 

(c) Protecting ready-to-eat food from contamination 
introduced by bare hand contact. 

2VAC5-585-110. Responsibility of a food employee or an 
applicant to report to the person in charge.* (Repealed.) 

A food employee or a person who applies for a job as a food 
employee shall: 

1. In a manner specified under 2VAC5-585-80, report to 
the person in charge the information specified under 
subdivisions 1 through 4 of 2VAC5-585-80; and 

2. Comply with exclusions and restrictions that are 
specified under subsections A through D of 2VAC5-585-
90. 

2VAC5-585-120. Reporting by the person in charge.* 
(Repealed.) 

The person in charge shall notify the department that a food 
employee is diagnosed with an illness due to Salmonella 
typhi, Shigella spp., Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli, 
or hepatitis A virus. 

2VAC5-585-140. Cleaning procedure of hands and arms.* 

A. Except as specified in subsection B D of this section, 
food employees shall clean their hands and exposed portions 
of their arms (or surrogate prosthetic devices for hands or 
arms) for at least 20 seconds, using a cleaning compound in a 
lavatory that is equipped as specified under 2VAC5-585-
2190. 

B. Food employees shall use the following cleaning 
procedure in the order stated to clean their hands and exposed 
portions of their arms, including surrogate prosthetic devices 
for hands and arms: 

1. Vigorous friction on the surfaces of the lathered fingers, 
finger tips, areas between the fingers, hands and arms (or 
by vigorously rubbing the surrogate prosthetic devices for 
hands or arms) for at least 10 to 15 seconds, followed by; 

2. Thorough rinsing under clean, running warm water; and 

3. Immediately follow the cleaning procedure with 
thorough drying of cleaned hands and arms (or surrogate 
prosthetic devices) using a method as specified under 
2VAC5-585-3030. 

1. Rinse under clean, running warm water; 

2. Apply an amount of cleaning compound recommended 
by the cleaning compound manufacturer; 

3. Rub together vigorously for at least 10 to 15 seconds 
while: 

a. Paying particular attention to removing soil from 
underneath the fingernails during the cleaning procedure; 
and 

b. Creating friction on the surfaces of the hands and arms 
or surrogate prosthetic devices for hands and arms, finger 
tips, and areas between the fingers; 

4. Thoroughly rinsing under clean, running warm water; 
and 

5. Immediately follow the cleaning procedure with 
thorough drying using a method as specified under 
2VAC5-585-3030. 

C. Food employees shall pay particular attention to the areas 
underneath the fingernails during the cleaning procedure. 

C. To avoid recontaminating their hands or surrogate 
prosthetic devices, food employees may use disposable paper 
towels or similar clean barriers when touching surfaces such 
as manually operated faucet handles on a handwashing sink 
or the handle of a restroom door. 

D. If approved and capable of removing the types of soils 
encountered in the food operations involved, an automatic 
handwashing facility may be used by food employees to clean 
their hands. 

2VAC5-585-150. (Reserved.) (Repealed.) 

2VAC5-585-180. Hand sanitizers antiseptics. 

A. A hand sanitizer and a chemical hand sanitizing solution 
antiseptic used as a topical application, a hand antiseptic 
solution used as a hand dip, or a hand antiseptic soap shall: 

1. Comply with one of the following: 

a. Be an approved drug that is listed in the FDA 
publication Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic 
Equivalence Evaluations as an approved drug based on 
safety and effectiveness; or 

b. Have active antimicrobial ingredients that are listed in 
the FDA tentative final monograph for over the counter 
(OTC) Health-Care Antiseptic Drug Products, 59 FR 
31402-31452 (June 17, 1994) as an antiseptic handwash; 
and 

2. Consist of components that are Comply with one of the 
following: 

a. Listed for such use in contact with food in 21 CFR Part 
178, Indirect Food Additives: Adjuvants, Production 
Aids, and Sanitizers; or 

b. Exempt from regulation as food additives under 21 
CFR 170.39, Threshold of Regulation for Substances 
Used in Food-Contact Articles; or 

c. Generally recognized as safe (GRAS) for the intended 
use in contact with food within the meaning of the 
Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act (FFDCA); or 

d. Permitted for such use by an effective Food Contact 
Substance Notification as defined by paragraph 409(h) of 
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the FFDCA and listed in FDA's Inventory of Effective 
Premarket Notifications for Food Contact Substances; 
and 

a. Have components that are exempted from the 
requirement of being listed in the federal Food Additive 
regulations as specified in 21 CFR 170.39 Threshold of 
regulation for substances used in food-contact articles; or 

b. Comply with and be listed in: 

(1) 21 CFR Part 178, Indirect Food Additives: Adjuvants, 
Production Aids, and Sanitizers as regulated for use as a 
food additive with conditions of safe use; or 

(2) 21 CFR Part 182, Substances Generally Recognized 
as Safe; 21 CFR Part 184, Direct Food Substances 
Affirmed as Generally Recognized as Safe; or 21 CFR 
Part 186, Indirect Food Substances Affirmed as 
Generally Recognized as Safe for use in contact with 
food; and 

3. Be applied only to hands that are cleaned as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-140. 

B. If a hand sanitizer or a chemical hand sanitizing 
antiseptic or a hand antiseptic solution used as a hand dip 
does not meet the criteria specified under subdivision A 2 of 
this section, use shall be: 

1. Followed by thorough hand rinsing in clean water before 
hand contact with food or by the use of gloves; or 

2. Limited to situations that involve no direct contact with 
food by the bare hands. 

C. A chemical hand sanitizing hand antiseptic solution used 
as a hand dip shall be maintained clean and at a strength 
equivalent to 100 ppm (mg/l) chlorine or above. 

2VAC5-585-360. Shell eggs.* 

Shell eggs shall be received clean and sound and may not 
exceed the restricted egg tolerances for U.S. Consumer Grade 
B as specified in 7 CFR Part 56, Regulations Governing the 
Grading of Shell Eggs and U.S. Standards, Grades, and 
Weight Classes for Shell Eggs, and 7 CFR Part 59, 
Regulations Governing the Inspection of Eggs and Egg 
Products United States Standards, Grades, and Weight 
Classes for Shell Eggs, AMS 56.200 et seq., administered by 
the Agricultural Marketing Service of USDA. 

2VAC5-585-370. Eggs and milk products, pasteurized.* 

A. Liquid, frozen, and dry eggs and egg Egg products shall 
be obtained pasteurized. 

B. Fluid and dry milk and milk products complying with 
Grade A standards as specified in law shall be obtained 
pasteurized. shall: 

1. Be obtained pasteurized; and 

2. Comply with Grade A standards as specified in law. 

C. Frozen milk products, such as ice cream, shall be 
obtained pasteurized in accordance with 21 CFR Part 135, 
Frozen Desserts. 

D. Cheese shall be obtained pasteurized unless alternative 
procedures to pasteurization are provided for in the Code of 
Federal Regulations, such as 21 CFR Part 133, Cheeses and 
Related Cheese Products, for curing certain cheese varieties. 

2VAC5-585-400. Shucked shellfish, packaging and 
identification. 

A. Raw shucked shellfish shall be obtained in nonreturnable 
packages that bear a legible label that identifies the: 

1. Name, address, and certification number of the shucker-
packer shucker, packer, or repacker of the molluscan 
shellfish; and 

2. The "sell by" or "best if used by" date for packages with 
a capacity of less than one-half gallon (1.87 L) or the date 
shucked for packages with a capacity of one-half gallon 
(1.87 L) or more. 

B. A package of raw shucked shellfish that does not bear a 
label or which bears a label that does not contain all the 
information as specified under subsection A of this section 
shall be subject to a hold order, as allowed by law, or seizure 
and destruction in accordance with 21 CFR 1240.60(d), 
Subpart D, Specific Administrative Decisions Regarding 
Interstate Shipments. 

2VAC5-585-410. Shellstock identification.* 

A. Shellstock shall be obtained in containers bearing legible 
source identification tags or labels that are affixed by the 
harvester and each dealer that depurates, ships, or reships the 
shellstock, as specified in the National Shellfish Sanitation 
Program Manual of Operations, Part II Sanitation of the 
Harvesting, Processing and Distribution of Shellfish, 1995 
Revision, Guide for the Control of Molluscan Shellfish 
(2007) and that list: 

1. Except as specified under subsection C of this section, 
on the harvester's tag or label, the following information in 
the following order: 

a. The harvester's identification number that is assigned 
by the shellfish control authority; 

b. The date of harvesting; 

c. The most precise identification of the harvest location 
or aquaculture site that is practicable based on the system 
of harvest area designations that is in use by the shellfish 
control authority and including the abbreviation of the 
name of the state or country in which the shellfish are 
harvested; 

d. The type and quantity of shellfish; and 
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e. The following statement in bold, capitalized type: 
"This tag is required to be attached until container is 
empty or retagged and thereafter kept on file for 90 
days"; and 

2. Except as specified under subsection D of this section, 
on each dealer's tag or label, the following information in 
the following order: 

a. The dealer's name and address, and the certification 
number assigned by the shellfish control authority; 

b. The original shipper's certification number including 
the abbreviation of the name of the state or country in 
which the shellfish are harvested; 

c. The same information as specified for a harvester's tag 
under subdivisions 1 b through d of this subsection; and 

d. The following statement in bold, capitalized type: 
"This tag is required to be attached until container is 
empty and thereafter kept on file for 90 days." "THIS 
TAG IS REQUIRED TO BE ATTACHED UNTIL 
CONTAINER IS EMPTY AND THEREAFTER KEPT 
ON FILE FOR 90 DAYS." 

B. A container of shellstock that does not bear a tag or label 
or that bears a tag or label that does not contain all the 
information as specified under subsection A of this section 
shall be subject to a hold order, as allowed by law, or seizure 
and destruction in accordance with 21 CFR 1240.60(d), 
Subpart D, Specific Administrative Decisions Regarding 
Interstate Shipments. 

C. If a place is provided on the harvester's tag or label for a 
dealer's name, address, and certification number, the dealer's 
information shall be listed first. 

D. If the harvester's tag or label is designed to accommodate 
each dealer's identification as specified under subdivisions A 
2 a and b of this section, individual dealer tags or labels need 
not be provided. 

2VAC5-585-430. Molluscan shellfish; original container. 

A. Except as specified in subsections B and C of this 
section, molluscan shellfish may not be removed from the 
container in which they were received other than immediately 
before sale or preparation for service. 

B. For display purposes, shellstock may be removed from 
the container in which they are received, displayed on drained 
ice, or held in a display container, and a quantity specified by 
a consumer may be removed from the display or display 
container and provided to the consumer if: 

1. The source of the shellstock on display is identified as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-410 and recorded as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-440; and 

2. The shellstock are protected from contamination. 

C. Shucked shellfish may be removed from the container in 
which they were received and held in a display container 
from which individual servings are dispensed upon a 
consumer's request if: 

1. The labeling information for the shellfish on display as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-400 is retained and correlated 
to the date when, or dates during which, the shellfish are 
sold or served; and 

2. The shellfish are protected from contamination. 

D. Shucked shellfish may be removed from the container in 
which they were received and repacked in consumer self-
service containers where allowed by law if: 

1. The labeling information for the shellfish is on each 
consumer self-service container as specified under 
2VAC5-585-400 and 2VAC5-585-900 A and B 1 through 
5; 

2. The labeling information as specified under 2VAC5-
585-400 is retained and correlated with the date when, or 
dates during which, the shellfish are sold or served; 

3. The labeling information and dates specified under 
subdivision 2 of this subsection are maintained for 90 days; 
and  

4. The shellfish are protected from contamination. 

2VAC5-585-440. Shellstock; maintaining identification.* 

A. Except as specified under subdivision B C 2 of this 
section, shellstock tags or labels shall remain attached to the 
container in which the shellstock are received until the 
container is empty. 

B. The date when the last shellstock from the container is 
sold or served shall be recorded on the tag or label. 

B. C. The identity of the source of shellstock shellfish that 
are sold or served shall be maintained by retaining shellstock 
tags or labels for 90 calendar days from the date the container 
is emptied that is recorded on the tag or label as specified in 
subsection B of this section by: 

1. Using an approved recordkeeping system that keeps the 
tags or labels in chronological order correlated to the date 
when, or dates during which, the shellstock are sold or 
served that is recorded on the tag or label, as specified 
under subsection B of this section; and 

2. If shellstock are removed from their its tagged or labeled 
container: 

a. Preserving source identification by using a 
recordkeeping system as specified under subdivision 1 of 
this subsection; and 

b. Ensuring that shellstock from one tagged or labeled 
container are not commingled with shellstock from 
another container with certification numbers; different 
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harvest dates; or different growing areas as identified on 
the tag or label before being ordered by the consumer. 

Article 3  
Protection from Contamination after Receiving  

2VAC5-585-450. Preventing contamination from hands.* 

A. Food employees shall wash their hands as specified under 
2VAC5-585-140. 

B. Except when washing fruits and vegetables as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-510 or as specified in subsection C of this 
section, food employees may not contact exposed, ready-to-
eat food with their bare hands and shall use suitable utensils 
such as deli tissue, spatulas, tongs, single-use gloves, or 
dispensing equipment. 

C. When otherwise approved, food employees not serving a 
highly susceptible population may contact exposed, ready-to-
eat food with their bare hands. 

D. C. Food employees shall minimize bare hand and arm 
contact with exposed food that is not in a ready-to-eat form.S 

D. Food employees not serving a highly susceptible 
population may contact exposed, ready-to-eat food with their 
bare hands if: 

1. The operator obtains prior approval from the regulatory 
authority; 

2. Written procedures are maintained in the food 
establishment and made available to the regulatory 
authority upon request that include: 

a. For each bare hand contact procedure, a listing of the 
specific ready-to-eat foods that are touched by bare 
hands. 

b. Diagrams and other information showing that 
handwashing facilities, installed, located, equipped, and 
maintained as specified under 2VAC5-585-2230, 
2VAC5-585-2280, 2VAC5-585-2310, 2VAC5-585-3020, 
2VAC5-585-3030, and 2VAC5-585-3045, are in an 
easily accessible location and in close proximity to the 
work station where the bare hand contact procedure is 
conducted; 

3. A written employee health policy that details how the 
food establishment complies with 2VAC5-585-80, 
2VAC5-585-90, and 2VAC5-585-100 including: 

a. Documentation that the food employees and 
conditional employees acknowledge that they are 
informed to report information about their health and 
activities as they relate to gastrointestinal symptoms and 
diseases that are transmittable through food as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-80 A;  

b. Documentation that food employees and conditional 
employees acknowledge their responsibilities as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-80 E and F; and 

c. Documentation that the person in charge acknowledges 
the responsibilities as specified under 2VAC5-585-80 B, 
C, and D, 2VAC5-585-90, and 2VAC5-585-100; 

4. Documentation that the food employees acknowledge 
that they have received training in: 

a. The risks of contacting the specific ready-to-eat foods 
with their bare hands, 

b. Proper handwashing as specified under 2VAC5-585-
140, 

c. When to wash their hands as specified under 2VAC5-
585-160, 

d. Where to wash their hands as specified under 2VAC5-
585-170, 

e. Proper fingernail maintenance as specified under 
2VAC5-585-190, 

f. Prohibition of jewelry as specified under 2VAC5-585-
200, and 

g. Good hygienic practices as specified under 2VAC5-
585-220 and 2VAC5-585-230; 

5. Documentation that hands are washed before food 
preparation and as necessary to prevent cross-
contamination by food employees as specified under 
2VAC5-585-130, 2VAC5-585-140, 2VAC5-585-160, and 
2VAC5-585-170 during all hours of operation when the 
specific ready-to-eat foods are prepared; 

6. Documentation that food employees contacting ready-
to-eat food with bare hands use two or more of the 
following control measures to provide additional 
safeguards to hazards associated with bare hand contact: 

a. Double handwashing, 

b. Nail brushes, 

c. A hand antiseptic after handwashing as specified under 
2VAC5-585-180, 

d. Incentive programs such as paid sick leave that assist 
or encourage food employees not to work when they are 
ill, or  

e. Other control measures approved by the regulatory 
authority; and 

7. Documentation that corrective action is taken when 
subdivisions 1 through 6 of this subsection are not 
followed. 
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2VAC5-585-490. Pasteurized eggs; substitute for raw shell 
eggs for certain recipes and populations.* 

Pasteurized eggs or egg products shall be substituted for raw 
shell eggs in the preparation of foods such as Caesar salad, 
hollandaise or béarnaise sauce, mayonnaise, meringue, and 
egg-fortified beverages that are not: 

1. Cooked as specified under subdivisions A 1 or 2 of 
2VAC5-585-700; or 

2. Included in 2VAC5-585-700 D. 

2VAC5-585-500. Protection from unapproved additives.* 

A. As specified in 2VAC5-585-350, food Food shall be 
protected from contamination that may result from the 
addition of, as specified in 2VAC5-585-350: 

1. Unsafe or unapproved food or color additives; and 

2. Unsafe or unapproved levels of approved food and color 
additives. 

B. A food employee may not: 

1. Apply sulfiting agents to fresh fruits and vegetables 
intended for raw consumption or to a food considered to be 
a good source of vitamin B1; or 

2. Serve Except for grapes, serve or sell food specified in 
subdivision 1 of this subsection that is treated with 
sulfiting agents before receipt by the food establishment, 
except that grapes need not meet the provisions of this 
subsection. 

2VAC5-585-540. Food contact with equipment and 
utensils.* 

Food shall only contact surfaces of equipment and utensils 
that are cleaned as specified under 2VAC5-585-1770 through 
2VAC5-585-1870 and sanitized as specified under 2VAC5-
585-1880 through 2VAC5-585-1900.: 

1. Equipment and utensils that are cleaned as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-1770 through 2VAC5-595-1870 and 
sanitized as specified under 2VAC5-585-1890 through 
2VAC5-585-1900; or 

2. Single-service and single-use articles. 

2VAC5-585-570. Wiping cloths, use limitation. 

A. Cloths that are in use for wiping food spills shall be used 
for no other purpose from tableware and carry-out containers 
that occur as food is being served shall be: 

1. Maintained dry; and 

2. Used for no other purpose. 

B. Cloths used in use for wiping food spills shall be counters 
and other equipment surfaces shall be: 

1. Dry and used for wiping food spills from tableware and 
carry-out containers; or Held between uses in a chemical 
sanitizer solution at a concentration specified in 2VAC5-
585-3380; and 

2. Wet and cleaned as specified under 2VAC5-585-1920 
D, stored in a chemical sanitizer at a concentration 
specified in 2VAC5-585-1700, and used for wiping spills 
from food-contact and nonfood-contact surfaces of 
equipment Laundered daily as specified under 2VAC5-
585-1920 D. 

C. Dry or wet cloths that are used with raw animal foods 
shall be kept separate from cloths used for other purposes, 
and moist cloths used with raw animal foods shall be kept in a 
separate sanitizing solution Cloths in use for wiping surfaces 
in contact with raw animal foods shall be kept separate from 
other cloths used for other purposes. 

D. Wet wiping cloths used with a freshly made sanitizing 
solution and dry wiping cloths and the chemical sanitizing 
solutions specified in subdivision B 1 of this section in which 
wet wiping cloths are held between uses shall be free of food 
debris and visible soil. 

E. Working containers of sanitizing solutions for storage of 
in-use wiping cloths may be placed above the floor and used 
in a manner to prevent Containers of chemical sanitizing 
solutions specified in subdivision B 1 of this section in which 
wet wiping cloths are held between uses shall be stored off 
the floor and used in a manner that prevents contamination of 
food, equipment, utensils, linens, single-service, or single-use 
articles. 

F. Single-use disposable sanitizer wipes shall be used in 
accordance with EPA-approved manufacturer's label use 
instructions. 

2VAC5-585-680. Returned food and reservice of food.* 

A. Except as specified under subsection B of this section, 
after being served or sold and in the possession of a 
consumer, food that is unused or returned by the consumer 
may not be offered as food for human consumption. 

B. A Except as specified in subdivision 8 of 2VAC5-585-
950, a container of food that is not potentially hazardous 
(time/temperature control for safety food) may be transferred 
re-served from one consumer to another if: 

1. The food is dispensed so that it is protected from 
contamination and the container is closed between uses 
such as a narrow-neck bottle containing catsup, steak 
sauce, or wine; or 

2. The food, such as crackers, salt or pepper, is in an 
unopened original package and maintained in sound 
condition. 
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Article 4  
Destruction of Organisms of Public Health Concern  

2VAC5-585-700. Raw animal foods.* 

A. Except as specified in subsections B, C, and D of this 
section, raw animal foods such as eggs, fish, meat, poultry, 
and foods containing these raw animal foods shall be cooked 
to heat all parts of the food to a temperature and for a time 
that complies with one of the following methods based on the 
food that is being cooked: 

1. 145°F (63°C) or above for 15 seconds for: 

a. Raw shell eggs that are broken and prepared in 
response to a consumer's order and for immediate 
service; and 

b. Except as specified under subdivisions A 2 and 3 and 
subsection subsections B and C of this section, fish and 
meat including game animals commercially raised for 
food as specified under 2VAC5-585-330 A 1 and game 
animals under a voluntary inspection program as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-330 A 2; 

2. 155°F (68°C) for 15 seconds or the temperature 
specified in the following chart that corresponds to the 
holding time for ratites and injected meats; the following if 
they are comminuted: fish, meat, game animals 
commercially raised for food as specified under 2VAC5-
585-330 A 1, and game animals under a voluntary 
inspection program as specified under 2VAC5-585-330 A 
2; and raw eggs that are not prepared as specified under 
subdivision A 1 a of this section: 

Minimum 

Temperature °F (°C) Time 

145 (63) 3 minutes 

150 (66) 1 minute 

158 (70) <1 second (instantaneous) 

3. 165°F (74°C) or above for 15 seconds for poultry, wild 
game animals as specified under 2VAC5-585-330 A 3, 
stuffed fish, stuffed meat, stuffed pasta, stuffed poultry, 
stuffed ratites, or stuffing containing fish, meat, or poultry. 

B. Whole beef roasts and corned beef roasts, pork roasts, 
meat roasts including beef, corned beef, lamb, pork, and 
cured pork roasts such as ham shall be cooked: 

1. In an oven that is preheated to the temperature specified 
for the roast's weight in the following chart and that is held 
at that temperature; and 

Oven Temperature Based on Roast 
Weight 

Oven Type 
Less than 10 lbs 

(4.5 kg) 
10 lbs (4.5 kg) or 

more 

Still Dry 350°F (177°C) or 
more 

250°F (121°C) 
or more 

Convection 325°F (163°C) or 
more 

250°F (121°C) 
or more 

High 
Humidity1 

250°F (121°C) or 
less 

250°F (121°C) 
or less 

1Relative humidity greater than 90% for at least one hour as 
measured in the cooking chamber or exit of the oven; or in a 
moisture-impermeable bag that provides 100% humidity 

2. As specified in the following chart, to heat all parts of 
the food to a temperature and for the holding time that 
corresponds to that temperature. 

Temperature 
°F (°C) 

Time1 in 
Minutes 

Temperature 
°F (°C) 

Time1 in 
Seconds 

130 (54.4) 112 147 (63.9) 134 

131 (55.0) 89 149 (65.0) 85 

133 (56.1) 56 151 (66.1) 54 

135 (57.2) 36 153 (67.2) 34 

136 (57.8) 28 155 (68.3) 22 

138 (58.9) 18 157 (69.4) 14 

140 (60.0) 12 158 (70.0) 0 

142 (61.1) 8     

144 (62.2) 5     

145 (62.8) 4     
1Holding time may include postoven heat rise. 

C. A raw or undercooked whole-muscle, intact beef steak 
may be served or offered for sale in a ready-to-eat form if: 

1. The food establishment serves a population that is not a 
highly susceptible population; 

2. The steak is labeled, as specified under 2VAC5-585-270 
E, to indicate that it meets the definition of "whole-muscle, 
intact beef"; and 

3. The steak is cooked on both the top and bottom to a 
surface temperature of 145°F (63°C) or above and a 
cooked color change is achieved on all external surfaces. 

D. A raw animal food such as raw egg, raw fish, raw-
marinated fish, raw molluscan shellfish, or steak tartare, or a 
partially cooked food such as lightly cooked fish, soft cooked 
eggs, or rare meat other than whole-muscle, intact beef steaks 
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as specified in subsection C of this section, may be served or 
offered for sale in a ready-to-eat form if: 

1. As specified under subdivisions 3 a and 3 b of 2VAC5-
585-950, the food establishment serves a population that is 
not a highly susceptible population; and 

2. The consumer is informed as specified under 2VAC5-
585-930 that to ensure its safety, the food should be 
cooked as specified under subsection A or B of this 
section; or 

3. The department grants a variance from subsection A or 
B of this section as specified in 2VAC5-585-3540 based on 
a HACCP plan that: 

a. Is submitted by the operator and approved as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-3541; 

b. Documents scientific data or other information that 
shows that a lesser time and temperature regimen results 
in a safe food; and 

c. Verifies that equipment and procedures for food 
preparation and training of food employees at the food 
establishment meet the conditions of the variance. 

2VAC5-585-730. Parasite destruction.* 

A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, before 
service or sale in ready-to-eat form, raw, raw-marinated, 
partially cooked, or marinated-partially cooked fish other than 
molluscan shellfish shall be: 

1. Frozen and stored at a temperature of -4°F (-20°C) or 
below for a minimum of 168 hours (seven days) in a 
freezer; or 

2. Frozen at -31°F (-35°C) or below until solid and stored 
at -31°F (-35°C) or below for a minimum of 15 hours; or 

3. Frozen at -31°F (-35°C) or below until solid and stored 
at -4°F (-20°C) or below for a minimum of 24 hours. 

B. If the fish are tuna of the species Thunnus alalunga, 
Thunnus albacares (Yellowfin tuna), Thunnus atlanticus, 
Thunnus maccoyii (Bluefin tuna, Southern), Thunnus obesus 
(Bigeye tuna), or Thunnus thynnus (Bluefin tuna, Northern), 
the fish may be served or sold in a raw, raw-marinated, or 
partially cooked ready-to-eat form without freezing as 
specified under subsection A of this section. 

B. Subsection A of this section does not apply to: 

1. Molluscan shellfish, 

2. Tuna of the species Thunnus alalunga, Thunnus 
albacares (Yellowfin tuna), Thunnus atlanticus, Thunnus 
maccoyii (Bluefin tuna, Southern), Thunnus obesus 
(Bigeye tuna), or Thunnus thynnus (Bluefin, Northern); or 

3. Aquacultured fish, such as salmon, that: 

a. If raised in open water, are raised in net pens, or  

b. Are raised in land-based operations such as ponds or 
tanks, and 

c. Are fed formulated feed, such as pellets, that contains 
no live parasites infective to the aquacultured fish. 

2VAC5-585-740. Records; creation and retention. 

A. Except as specified in 2VAC5-585-730 B and subsection 
B of this section, if raw, marinated, raw-marinated, partially 
cooked, or marinated-partially cooked fish are served or sold 
in ready-to-eat form, the person in charge shall record the 
freezing temperature and time to which the fish are subjected 
and shall retain the records at the food establishment for 90 
calendar days beyond the time of service or sale of the fish. 

B. If the fish are frozen by a supplier, a written agreement or 
statement from the supplier stipulating that the fish supplied 
are frozen to a temperature and for a time specified under 
2VAC5-585-730 may substitute for the records specified 
under subsection A of this section. 

C. If raw, raw-marinated, partially cooked, or marinated-
partially cooked fish are served or sold in ready-to-eat form, 
and the fish are raised and fed as specified in 2VAC5-585-
730 B 3, a written agreement or statement from the supplier 
or aquaculturist stipulating that the fish were raised and fed as 
specified in 2VAC5-585-730 B 3 shall be obtained by the 
person in charge and retained in the records of the food 
establishment for 90 calendar days beyond the time of service 
or sale of the fish. 

2VAC5-585-750. Reheating; preparation for immediate 
service. (Repealed.) 

Cooked and refrigerated food that is prepared for immediate 
service in response to an individual consumer order, such as a 
roast beef sandwich au jus, may be served at any temperature. 

2VAC5-585-760. Reheating for hot holding.* 

A. Except as specified under subsections B, C and E of this 
section, potentially hazardous food (time/temperature control 
for safety food) that is cooked, cooled, and reheated for hot 
holding shall be reheated so that all parts of the food reach at 
least 165°F (74°C) for 15 seconds. 

B. Except as specified under subsection C of this section, 
potentially hazardous food (time/temperature control for 
safety food) reheated in a microwave oven for hot holding 
shall be reheated so that all parts of the food reach a 
temperature of at least 165°F (74°C) and the food is rotated or 
stirred, covered, and allowed to stand covered two minutes 
after reheating. 

C. Ready-to-eat food taken from a commercially processed, 
hermetically sealed container, or from an intact package from 
a food processing plant that is inspected by the food 
regulatory authority that has jurisdiction over the plant, shall 
be heated to a temperature of at least 135°F (57°C) for hot 
holding. 
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D. Reheating for hot holding shall be done rapidly and the 
time the food is between the temperature specified under 
2VAC5-585-820 A 2 and 165°F (74°C) the temperatures 
specified under subsections A through C of this section may 
not exceed two hours. 

E. Remaining unsliced portions of meat roasts that are 
cooked as specified under 2VAC5-585-700 B may be 
reheated for hot holding using the oven parameters and 
minimum time and temperature conditions specified under 
2VAC5-585-700 B. 

2VAC5-585-780. Potentially hazardous food, slacking. 

Frozen potentially hazardous food (time/temperature control 
for safety food) that is slacked to moderate the temperature 
shall be held: 

1. Under refrigeration that maintains the food temperature 
at 41°F (5°C) or less, or at 45°F (7°C) or less as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-820 A 2 b; or 

2. At any temperature if the food remains frozen. 

2VAC5-585-790. Thawing. 

Except as specified in subdivision 4 of this section, 
potentially hazardous food (time/temperature control for 
safety food) shall be thawed: 

1. Under refrigeration that maintains the food temperature 
at 41°F (5°C) or less, or at 45°F (7°C) or less as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-820 A 2 b; or 

2. Completely submerged under running water: 

a. At a water temperature of 70°F (21°C) or below; 

b. With sufficient water velocity to agitate and float off 
loose particles in an overflow; and 

c. For a period of time that does not allow thawed 
portions of ready-to-eat food to rise above 41°F (5°C), or 
45°F (7°C) as specified under 2VAC5-585-820 A 2 b; or 

d. For a period of time that does not allow thawed 
portions of a raw animal food requiring cooking as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-700 A or B to be above 
41°F (5°C), or 45°F (7°C) as specified under 2VAC5-
585-820 A 2 b, for more than four hours including: 

(1) The time the food is exposed to the running water and 
the time needed for preparation for cooking; or 

(2) The time it takes under refrigeration to lower the food 
temperature to 41°F (5°C), or 45°F (7°C) as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-820 A 2 b; 

3. As part of a cooking process if the food that is frozen is: 

a. Cooked as specified under 2VAC5-585-700 A or B or 
2VAC5-585-710; or 

b. Thawed in a microwave oven and immediately 
transferred to conventional cooking equipment, with no 
interruption in the process; or 

4. Using any procedure if a portion of frozen ready-to-eat 
food is thawed and prepared for immediate service in 
response to an individual consumer's order. 

2VAC5-585-800. Cooling.* 

A. Cooked potentially hazardous food (time/temperature 
control for safety food) shall be cooled: 

1. Within two hours, from 135°F (57°C) to 70°F (21°C); 
and 

2. Within a total of six hours, from 135°F (57°C) to 41°F 
(5°C) or less, or to 45°F (7°C) or less as specified under 
2VAC5-585-820 A 2 b. 

B. Potentially hazardous food (time/temperature control for 
safety food) shall be cooled within four hours to 41°F (5°C) 
or less, or to 45°F (7°C) or less as specified under 2VAC5-
585-820 A 2 b if prepared from ingredients at ambient 
temperature, such as reconstituted foods and canned tuna. 

C. Except as specified in subsection D of this section, a 
potentially hazardous food (time/temperature control for 
safety food) received in compliance with laws allowing a 
temperature above 41°F (5°C) during shipment from the 
supplier as specified in 2VAC5-585-340 B, shall be cooled 
within four hours to 41°F (5°C) or less, or 45°F (7°C) or less 
as specified under of 2VAC5-585-820 A 2 b. 

D. Raw shell eggs shall be received as specified under 
2VAC5-585-340 C and immediately placed in refrigerated 
equipment that maintains an ambient air temperature of 45°F 
(7°C) or less. 

2VAC5-585-820. Potentially hazardous food; hot and cold 
holding.* 

A. Except during preparation, cooking, or cooling, or when 
time is used as the public health control as specified under 
2VAC5-585-850, potentially hazardous food 
(time/temperature control for safety food) shall be 
maintained: 

1. At 135°F (57°C) or above, except that roasts cooked to a 
temperature and for a time specified in 2VAC5-585-700 B 
or reheated as specified in 2VAC5-585-760 E may be held 
at a temperature of 130°F (54°C) or above; or 

2. At a temperature specified in the following: 

a. 41°F (5°C) or less; or 

b. 45°F (7°C) or between 45°F (7°C) and 41°F (5°C) in 
existing refrigeration equipment that is not capable of 
maintaining the food at 41°F (5°C) or less if: 

(1) The equipment is in place and in use in the food 
establishment; and 
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(2) Before January 1, 2012, the equipment is upgraded or 
replaced to maintain food at a temperature of 41°F (5°C) 
or less. 

B. Shell eggs that have not been treated to destroy all viable 
Salmonellae shall be stored in refrigerated equipment that 
maintains an ambient air temperature of 45°F (7°C) or less. 

C. Potentially hazardous food (time/temperature control for 
safety food) in a homogenous liquid form may be maintained 
outside the temperature control requirements, as specified in 
subsection A of this section, while contained within specially 
designed equipment that complies with the design and 
construction requirements as specified under subdivision 5 of 
2VAC5-585-1230. 

2VAC5-585-830. Ready to eat, potentially hazardous food; 
date marking.* 

A. Except when packaging food using a reduced oxygen 
packaging method as specified under 2VAC5-585-870 and 
except as specified in subsection subsections D and E of this 
section, refrigerated, ready-to-eat, potentially hazardous food 
(time/temperature control for safety food) prepared and held 
in a food establishment for more than 24 hours shall be 
clearly marked to indicate the date or day by which the food 
shall be consumed on the premises, sold, or discarded based 
on the temperature and time combinations specified below. 
The day of preparation shall be counted as Day 1. 

1. 41°F (5°C) or less for a maximum of seven days; or 

2. 45°F (7°C) or between 41°F (5°C) and 45°F (7°C) for a 
maximum of four days in existing refrigeration equipment 
that is not capable of maintaining the food at 41°F (5°C) or 
less if: 

a. The equipment is in place and in use in the food 
establishment; and 

b. Before January 1, 2012, the equipment is upgraded or 
replaced to maintain food at a temperature of 41°F (5°C) 
or less. 

B. Except as specified in subsections D and E through F of 
this section, refrigerated, ready-to-eat, potentially hazardous 
food (time/temperature control for safety food) prepared and 
packaged by a food processing plant shall be clearly marked, 
at the time the original container is opened in a food 
establishment and if the food is held for more than 24 hours, 
to indicate the date or day by which the food shall be 
consumed on the premises, sold, or discarded, based on the 
temperature and time combinations specified in subsection A 
of this section and: 

1. The day the original container is opened in the food 
establishment shall be counted as Day 1; and 

2. The day or date marked by the food establishment may 
not exceed a manufacturer's use-by date if the 

manufacturer determined the use-by date based on food 
safety. 

C. A refrigerated, ready-to-eat potentially hazardous food 
that is frequently rewrapped, such as lunchmeat or a roast, or 
for which date marking is impractical, such as soft serve mix 
or milk in a dispensing machine, may be marked as specified 
in subsection A or B of this section, or by an alternative 
method acceptable to the department (time/temperature 
control for safety food) ingredient or a portion of a 
refrigerated, ready-to-eat, potentially hazardous food 
(time/temperature control for safety food) that is subsequently 
combined with additional ingredients or portions of food shall 
retain the date marking of the earliest-prepared or first-
prepared ingredient. 

D. Subsections A and B of this section do not apply to 
individual meal portions served or repackaged for sale from a 
bulk container upon a consumer's request. 

E. Subsection B of this section does not apply to the 
following when the face has been cut, but the remaining 
portion is whole and intact: 

1. Fermented sausages produced in a federally inspected 
food processing plant that are not labeled "Keep 
Refrigerated" and that retain the original casing on the 
product; 

2. Shelf stable, dry, fermented sausages; and 

3. Shelf stable salt-cured products such as prosciutto and 
Parma (ham) produced in a federally inspected food 
processing plant that are not labeled "Keep Refrigerated." 

F. A refrigerated, ready-to-eat, potentially hazardous food 
ingredient or a portion of a refrigerated, ready-to-eat, 
potentially hazardous food that is subsequently combined 
with additional ingredients or portions of food shall retain the 
date marking of the earliest-prepared or first-prepared 
ingredient. 

D. A date marking system that meets the criteria specified in 
subsections A and B of this section may include: 

1. Using a method approved by the regulatory authority for 
refrigerated, ready-to-eat potentially hazardous food 
(time/temperature control for safety food) that is frequently 
rewrapped, such as lunchmeat or a roast, or for which date 
marking is impractical, such as soft-serve mix or milk in a 
dispensing machine; 

2. Marking the date or day of preparation, with a procedure 
to discard the food on or before the last date or day by 
which the food must be consumed on the premises, sold, or 
discarded as specified in subsection A of this section; 

3. Marking the date or day the original container is opened 
in a food establishment, with a procedure to discard the 
food on or before the last date of day by which the food 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 18 Virginia Register of Regulations May 11, 2009 

3137 

must be consumed on the premises, sold, or discarded as 
specified under subsection B of this section; or 

4. Using calendar dates, days of the week, color-coded 
marks, or other effective marking methods, provided that 
the marking system is disclosed to the regulatory authority 
upon request. 

E. Subsections A and B of this section do not apply to 
individual meal portions served or repackaged for sale from a 
bulk container upon a consumer's request. 

F. Subsection B of this section does not apply to the 
following foods prepared and packaged by a food processing 
plant inspected by a regulatory authority: 

1. Deli salads, such as ham salad, seafood salad, chicken 
salad, egg salad, pasta salad, potato salad, and macaroni 
salad, manufactured in accordance with 21 CFR Part 110, 
Current good manufacturing practice in manufacturing, 
packing, or holding human food; 

2. Hard cheeses containing not more than 39% moisture as 
defined in 21 CFR Part 133, Cheeses and related cheese 
products, such as cheddar, gruyere, parmesan and 
reggiano, and romano; 

3. Semi-soft cheese containing more than 39% moisture, 
but not more than 50% moisture, as defined in 21 CFR Part 
133, Cheeses and related cheese products, such as blue, 
edam, gorgonzola, gouda, and Monterey jack; 

4. Cultured dairy products as defined in 21 CFR Part 131, 
Milk and cream, such as yogurt, sour cream, and 
buttermilk; 

5. Preserved fish products, such as pickled herring and 
dried or salted cod, and other acidified fish products as 
defined in 21 CFR Part 114, Acidified foods; 

6. Shelf stable, dry fermented sausages, such as pepperoni 
and Genoa salami that are not labeled "Keep Refrigerated" 
as specified in 9 CFR Part 317, Labeling, marking devices, 
and containers, and which retain the original casing on the 
product; and 

7. Shelf stable salt-cured products such as prosciutto and 
Parma (ham) that are not labeled "Keep Refrigerated" as 
specified in 9 CFR Part 317, Labeling, marking devices, 
and containers. 

2VAC5-585-850. Time as a public health control.* 

A. Except as specified under subsection B D of this section, 
if time only, rather than time in conjunction with temperature, 
without temperature control is used as the public health 
control for a working supply of potentially hazardous food 
(time/temperature control for safety food) before cooking, or 
for ready-to-eat potentially hazardous food (time/temperature 
control for safety food) that is displayed or held for sale or 
service for immediate consumption: 

1. Written procedures shall be prepared in advance, 
maintained in the food establishment, and made available 
to the regulatory authority upon request that specify: 

a. Methods of compliance with subdivision B 1 through 4 
or C 1 through 5 of this section; and  

b. Methods of compliance with 2VAC5-585-800 for food 
that is prepared, cooked, and refrigerated before time is 
used as a public health control. 

B. If time without temperature control is used as the public 
health control up to a maximum of 4 hours: 

1. The food shall have an initial temperature of 41°F (5°C) 
or less when removed from cold holding temperature 
control, or 135°F (57°C) or greater when removed from 
hot-holding temperature control; 

1. 2. The food shall be marked or otherwise identified to 
indicate the time that is four hours past the point in time 
when the food is removed from temperature control; 

2. 3. The food shall be cooked and served, served at any 
temperature if ready-to-eat, or discarded, within four hours 
from the point in time when the food is removed from 
temperature control; and 

3. 4. The food in unmarked containers or packages or 
marked to exceed a four-hour limit shall be discarded; and 
. 

4. Written procedures shall be maintained in the food 
establishment and made available to the department upon 
request, that ensure compliance with: 

a. Subdivisions 1 through 4 of this subsection; and 

b. 2VAC5-585-800 for food that is prepared, cooked, and 
refrigerated before time is used as a public health control. 

B. In a food establishment that serves a highly susceptible 
population, time only, rather than time in conjunction with 
temperature, may not be used as the public health control for 
raw eggs. 

C. If time without temperature control is used as the public 
health control up to a maximum of six hours: 

1. The food shall have an initial temperature of 41°F (5°C) 
or less when removed from temperature control and the 
food temperature may not exceed 70°F (21°C) within a 
maximum time period of six hours;  

2. The food shall be monitored to ensure the warmest 
portion of the food does not exceed 70°F (21°C) during the 
six-hour period, unless an ambient air temperature is 
maintained that ensures the food does not exceed 70°F 
(21°C) during the six-hour holding period; 

3. The food shall be marked or otherwise identified to 
indicate: 
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a. The time when the food is removed from 41°F (5°C) 
or less cold holding temperature control, and 

b. The time that is six hours past the point in time when 
the food is removed from 41°F (5°C) or less cold holding 
temperature control; 

4. The food shall be: 

a. Discarded if the temperature of the foods exceeds 70°F 
(21°C), or 

b. Cooked and served, served at any temperature if 
ready-to-eat, or discarded within a maximum of six hours 
from the point in time when the food is removed from 
41°F (5°C) or less cold holding temperature control; and 

5. The food in unmarked containers or packages, or 
marked with a time that exceeds the six-hour limit shall be 
discarded. 

D. A food establishment that serves a highly susceptible 
population may not use time as specified under subsections 
A, B, or C of this section as the public health control for raw 
eggs. 

2VAC5-585-860. Variance requirement.* 

A food establishment shall obtain a variance from the 
department as specified in 2VAC5-585-3540 and 2VAC5-
585-3541 before: 

1. Smoking food as a method of food preservation rather 
than as a method of flavor enhancement; 

2. Curing food; 

3. Using food additives or adding components such as 
vinegar: 

a. As a method of food preservation rather than as a 
method of flavor enhancement; or 

b. To render a food so that it is not potentially hazardous; 

4. Packaging food using a reduced oxygen packaging 
method except as specified under 2VAC5-585-870 where a 
barrier to Clostridium botulinum in addition to 
refrigeration exists; 

5. Operating a molluscan shellfish life-support system 
display tank used to store and display shellfish that are 
offered for human consumption; 

6. Custom processing animals that are for personal use as 
food and not for sale or service in a food establishment; or 

7. Sprouting seeds or beans; or 

7. 8. Preparing food by another method that is determined 
by the department regulatory authority to require a 
variance. 

2VAC5-585-870. Reduced oxygen packaging; criteria.* 

A. Except for a food establishment that obtains a variance as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-860, a food establishment that 
packages food using a reduced oxygen packaging method and 
Clostridium botulinum is identified as a microbiological 
hazard in the final packaged form shall ensure that there are at 
least two barriers in place to control the growth and toxin 
formation of Clostridium botulinum. 

B. A food establishment that packages food using a reduced 
oxygen packaging method and Clostridium botulinum is 
identified as a microbiological hazard in the final packaged 
form shall have a HACCP plan that contains the information 
specified under subdivision 4 of 2VAC5-585-3630 and that: 

1. Identifies the food to be packaged; 

2. Limits the food packaged to a food that does not support 
the growth of Clostridium botulinum because it complies 
with one of the following: 

a. Has an aw of 0.91 or less; 

b. Has a pH of 4.6 or less; 

c. Is a meat or poultry product cured at a food processing 
plant regulated by the USDA using substances specified 
in 9 CFR 424.21, Use of Food Ingredients and Sources of 
Radiation, and is received in an intact package; or 

d. Is a food with a high level of competing organisms 
such as raw meat or raw poultry; 

3. Specifies methods for maintaining food at 41°F (5°C) or 
below; 

4. Describes how the packages shall be prominently and 
conspicuously labeled on the principal display panel in 
bold type on a contrasting background, with instructions 
to: 

a. Maintain the food at 41°F (5°C) or below; and 

b. For food held at refrigeration temperatures, discard the 
food if within 14 calendar days of its packaging it is not 
served for on-premises consumption, or consumed if 
served or sold for off-premises consumption; 

5. Limits the refrigerated shelf life to no more than 14 
calendar days from packaging to consumption, except the 
time the product is maintained frozen, or the original 
manufacturer's "sell by" or "use by" date, whichever occurs 
first; 

6. Includes operational procedures that: 

a. Prohibit contacting food with bare hands; 

b. Identify a designated area and the method by which: 

(1) Physical barriers or methods of separation of raw 
foods and ready-to-eat foods minimize cross 
contamination; and 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 18 Virginia Register of Regulations May 11, 2009 

3139 

(2) Access to the processing equipment is restricted to 
responsible trained personnel familiar with the potential 
hazards of the operation; and 

c. Delineate cleaning and sanitization procedures for 
food-contact surfaces; and 

7. Describes the training program that ensures that the 
individual responsible for the reduced oxygen packaging 
operation understands the: 

a. Concepts required for a safe operation; 

b. Equipment and facilities; and 

c. Procedures specified under subdivision 6 of this 
subsection and subdivision 4 of 2VAC5-585-3630. 

C. Except for fish that is frozen before, during, and after 
packaging, a food establishment may not package fish using a 
reduced oxygen packaging method. 

A. Except for a food establishment that obtains a variance as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-860 and except as specified 
under subsections C and E of this section, a food 
establishment that packages potentially hazardous food 
(time/temperature control for safety food) using a reduced 
oxygen packaging method shall ensure that there are at least 
two barriers in place to control the growth and toxin 
formation of Clostridium botulinum and the growth of 
Listeria monocytogenes. 

B. A food establishment that packages potentially hazardous 
food (time/temperature control for safety food) using a 
reduced oxygen method shall have a HACCP plan that 
contains the following information specified under 
subdivision 4 of 2VAC5-585-3630: 

1. Identifies food to be packaged; 

2. Except as specified in subsections C and E and as 
specified in subsection D of this section, requires that the 
packaged food shall be maintained at 41°F (5°C) or less 
and meet at least one of the following criteria: 

a. Has an Aw of 0.91 or less, 

b. Has a pH of 4.6 or less, 

c. Is a meat or poultry product cured at a food processing 
plant regulated by the USDA using substances specified 
in 9 CFR 424.21, Use of food ingredients and sources of 
radiation, and is received in an intact package, or 

d. Is a food with a high level of competing organisms 
such as raw meat or raw poultry; 

3. Describes how the package shall be prominently and 
conspicuously labeled on the principal display panel in 
bold type on a contrasting background, with instructions 
to: 

a. Maintain food at 41°F (5°C) or below, and  

b. Discard the food within 14 calendar days of its 
packaging if it is not served for on-premises 
consumption, or consumed if served or sold for off-
premises consumption; 

4. Limits the refrigerated shelf life to no more than 14 
calendar days from packaging to consumption, except the 
time the product is maintained frozen, or the original 
manufacturer's "sell by" or "use by" date, whichever occurs 
first; 

5. Includes operational procedures that: 

a. Prohibit contacting food with bare hands; 

b. Identify a designated work area and the method by 
which: 

(1) Physical barriers or methods of separation of raw 
foods and ready-to-eat foods minimize cross 
contamination, and 

(2) Access to the processing equipment is limited to 
responsible trained personnel familiar with the potential 
hazards of the operation; and 

c. Delineate cleaning and sanitization procedures for food 
contact surfaces; and 

6. Describes the training program that ensures that the 
individual responsible for the reduced oxygen packaging 
operation understands the: 

a. Concepts required for safe operation; 

b. Equipment and facilities; and 

c. Procedures specified under subdivision 5 of this 
subsection and 2VAC5-585-3630 D. 

C. Except for fish that is frozen before, during, and after 
packaging, a food establishment may not package fish using a 
reduced oxygen packaging method. 

D. Except as specified in subsection C of this section, a food 
establishment may package food using a cook-chill or sous-
vide process without obtaining a variance if: 

1. The food establishment implements a HACCP plan that 
contains the information as specified under 2VAC5-585-
3630 D; 

2. The food is: 

a. Prepared and consumed on the premises, or prepared 
and consumed off the premises but within the same 
business entity with no distribution or sale of the bagged 
product to another business entity or the consumer; 

b. Cooked to heat all parts of the food to a temperature 
and for a time as specified under 2VAC5-585-700; 

c. Protected from contamination after cooking as 
specified in 2VAC5-585-450 through 2VAC5-585-690; 
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d. Placed in a package or bag with an oxygen barrier and 
sealed before cooking, or placed in a package or bag and 
sealed immediately after cooking, and before reaching a 
temperature below 135°F (57°C); 

e. Cooled to 41°F (5°C) in the sealed package or bag as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-800, and subsequently; 

(1) Cooled to 34°F (1°C) within 48 hours of reaching 
41°F (5°C) and held at that temperature until consumed 
or discarded within 30 days after the date of preparation; 

(2) Cooled to 34°F (1°C) within 48 hours of reaching 
41°F (5°C), removed from refrigeration equipment that 
maintains a 34°F (1°C) food temperature and then held at 
41°F (5°C) or less for no more than 72 hours, at which 
time the food must be consumed or discarded; 

(3) Cooled to 38°F (3°C) or less within 24 hours of 
reaching 41°F (5°C) and held there for no more than 72 
hours from packaging, at which time the food must be 
consumed or discarded; or 

(4) Held frozen with no shelf-life restriction while frozen 
until consumed or used; 

g. If transported off-site to a satellite location of the same 
business entity, equipped with verifiable electronic 
monitoring devices to ensure that times and temperatures 
are monitored during transportation; and 

h. Labeled with the product name and the date packaged; 
and 

3. The records required to confirm that cooling and cold 
holding refrigeration time/temperature parameters are 
required as part of the HACCP plan, are maintained and 
are: 

a. Made available to the regulatory authority upon 
request; and 

b. Held for six months; and 

4. Written operational procedures as specified under 
subdivision B 5 of this section and a training program as 
specified under subdivision B 6 of this section are 
implemented. 

E. A food establishment may package cheese using a 
reduced oxygen packaging method without obtaining a 
variance: 

1. If it limits the cheeses packaged to those that are 
commercially manufactured in a food processing plant 
with no ingredients added in the food establishment and 
that meet the Standards of Identity as specified in 21 CFR 
133.150, Hard Cheeses, 21 CFR 133.169, Pasteurized 
process cheese, or 21 CFR 133.187, Semi-soft cheeses; 

2. If it has a HACCP plan that contains the information 
specified in 2VAC5-585-3630 D; 

3. Except as specified under subdivisions B 2, B 3 b, and B 
4, complies with subsection B of this section; 

4. If it labels the package on the principal display panel 
with a "use by" date that does not exceed 30 days or the 
original manufacturer's "sell by" or "use by" date, 
whichever comes first; and 

5. If it discards the reduced oxygen packaged cheese if it is 
not sold for off-premises consumption or consumed within 
30 calendar days of its packaging. 

2VAC5-585-900. Food labels. 

A. Food packaged in a food establishment shall be labeled 
as specified in law, including 21 CFR Part 101, Food 
Labeling, and 9 CFR Part 317, Labeling, Marking Devices, 
and Containers. 

B. Label information shall include: 

1. The common name of the food, or absent a common 
name, an adequately descriptive identity statement; 

2. If made from two or more ingredients, a list of 
ingredients in descending order of predominance by 
weight, including a declaration of artificial color or flavor 
and chemical preservatives, if contained in the food; 

3. An accurate declaration of the quantity of contents; 

4. The name and place of business of the manufacturer, 
packer, or distributor; and 

5. The name of the food source for each major food 
allergen contained in the food unless the food source is 
already part of the common or usual name of the respective 
ingredient. 

5. 6. Except as exempted in the Federal Food, Drug, and 
Cosmetic Act 21 USC § 343(q) (3) through (5), nutrition 
labeling as specified in 21 CFR Part 101, Food Labeling, 
and 9 CFR Part 317, Subpart B, Nutrition Labeling. 

6. 7. For any salmonid fish containing canthaxanthin as a 
color additive, the labeling of the bulk fish container, 
including a list of ingredients, displayed on the retail 
container or by other written means, such as a counter card, 
that discloses the use of canthaxanthin. 

C. Bulk food that is available for consumer self-dispensing 
shall be prominently labeled with the following information 
in plain view of the consumer: 

1. The manufacturer's or processor's label that was 
provided with the food; or 

2. A card, sign, or other method of notification that 
includes the information specified under subdivisions B 1, 
2 and 5 of this section. 
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D. Bulk, unpackaged foods such as bakery products and 
unpackaged foods that are portioned to consumer 
specification need not be labeled if: 

1. A health, nutrient content, or other claim is not made; 

2. There are no state or local laws requiring labeling; and 

3. The food is manufactured or prepared on the premises of 
the food establishment or at another food establishment or 
a food processing plant that is owned by the same person 
and is regulated by the food regulatory agency that has 
jurisdiction. 

Article 8  
Special Requirements for Highly Susceptible Populations  

2VAC5-585-950. Pasteurized foods and prohibited food.* 

In a food establishment that serves a highly susceptible 
population: 

1. The following criteria apply to juice: 

a. For the purposes of subdivision 1 of this section only, 
children who are age 9 or less and receive food in a 
school, day care setting or similar facility that provides 
custodial care are included as highly susceptible 
populations; 

b. Prepackaged juice or a prepackaged beverage 
containing juice, that bears a warning label as specified 
in 21 CFR 101.17(g), Food Labeling, or packaged juice 
or beverage containing juice, that bears a warning label 
as specified under subdivision 2 of 2VAC5-585-765 may 
not be served or offered for sale; and 

c. Unpackaged juice that is prepared on the premises for 
service or sale in a ready-to-eat form shall be processed 
under a HACCP plan that contains the information 
specified in subdivisions 2 through 5 of 2VAC5-585-
3630 and as specified under 21 CFR Part 120, Hazard 
Analysis And Critical Control Point (HACCP) Systems, 
Subpart B, Pathogen Reduction, 120.24, Process 
Controls. 

2. Pasteurized shell eggs or pasteurized liquid, frozen, or 
dry eggs or egg products shall be substituted for raw shell 
eggs in the preparation of: 

a. Foods such as Caesar salad, hollandaise or béarnaise 
sauce, mayonnaise, meringue, eggnog, ice cream, and 
egg-fortified beverages; and 

b. Except as specified in subdivision 5 6 of this section, 
recipes in which more than one egg is broken and the 
eggs are combined. 

3. The following foods may not be served or offered for 
sale in a ready-to-eat form: 

a. Raw animal foods such as raw fish, raw-marinated 
fish, raw molluscan shellfish, and steak tartare; 

b. A partially cooked animal food such as lightly cooked 
fish, rare meat, soft-cooked eggs that are made from raw 
shell eggs, and meringue; and 

c. Raw seed sprouts. 

4. Food employees may not contact ready-to-eat food as 
specified in 2VAC5-585-450 B. 

5. Time only, as the public health control as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-850, may not be used for raw eggs. 

5. 6. Subdivision 2 b of this section does not apply if: 

a. The raw eggs are combined immediately before 
cooking for one consumer's serving at a single meal, 
cooked as specified under 2VAC5-585-700 A 1, and 
served immediately, such as an omelet, soufflé, or 
scrambled eggs; 

b. The raw eggs are combined as an ingredient 
immediately before baking and the eggs are thoroughly 
cooked to a ready-to-eat form, such as a cake, muffin, or 
bread; or 

c. The preparation of the food is conducted under a 
HACCP plan that: 

(1) Identifies the food to be prepared; 

(2) Prohibits contacting ready-to-eat food with bare 
hands; 

(3) Includes specifications and practices that ensure: 

(a) Salmonella Enteritidis enteritidis growth is controlled 
before and after cooking; and 

(b) Salmonella Enteritidis enteritidis is destroyed by 
cooking the eggs according to the temperature and time 
specified in 2VAC5-585-700 A 2; 

(4) d. Contains the information specified under 
subdivision 4 of 2VAC5-585-3630 including procedures 
that: 

(a) (1) Control cross contamination of ready-to-eat food 
with raw eggs; and 

(b) (2) Delineate cleaning and sanitization procedures for 
food-contact surfaces; and 

(5) e. Describes the training program that ensures that the 
food employee responsible for the preparation of the food 
understands the procedures to be used. 

7. Except as specified in subdivision 8 of this section, food 
may be reserved as specified under 2VAC5-585-680 B 1 
and 2. 

8. Foods may not be reserved under the following 
conditions: 

1. Any food served to patients or clients who are under 
contact precautions in medical isolation or quarantine, or 
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protective environment isolation may not be reserved to 
others outside. 

2. Packages of food from any patients, clients, or other 
consumers should not be reserved to persons in 
protective environment isolation. 

2VAC5-585-980. Lead in ceramic, china, and crystal 
utensils, use limitation. 

A. Ceramic, china, crystal utensils, and decorative utensils 
such as hand-painted ceramic or china that are used in contact 
with food shall be lead-free or contain levels of lead not 
exceeding the limits of the following utensil categories: 

Utensil Category Ceramic Article 
Description 

Maximum 
Lead (mg/L) 

Hot Beverage 
Mugs, Cups, 

Pitchers 
Coffee Mugs 0.5 

Large Hollowware 
(excluding 
pitchers) 

Bowls >1.1 L 
Liter (1.16 qt) 

Quart) 
1.0 

Small Hollowware 
(excluding cups 

and mugs) 

Bowls <1.1 L 
Liter (1.16 qt) 

Quart) 
2.0 

Flat Utensils 
Tableware Plates, Saucers 3.0 

B. Pewter alloys containing lead in excess of 0.05% may not 
be used as a food contact surface. 

C. Solder and flux containing lead in excess of 0.2% may 
not be used as a food contact surface. 

2VAC5-585-1020. Lead in pewter alloys, use limitation. 
(Repealed.) 

Pewter alloys containing lead in excess of 0.05% may not be 
used as a food-contact surface. 

2VAC5-585-1030. Lead in solder and flux, use limitation. 
(Repealed.) 

Solder and flux containing lead in excess of 0.2% may not 
be used as a food-contact surface. 

2VAC5-585-1200. Pressure measuring devices, 
mechanical warewashing equipment. 

Pressure measuring devices that display the pressures in the 
water supply line for the fresh hot water sanitizing rinse shall 
have increments of one pound per square inch (seven 
kilopascals) or smaller and shall be accurate to ± two 2 
pounds per square inch (± 14 kilopascals) in the 15-25 pounds 
per square inch (100-170 kilopascals) range in the range 
indicated on the manufacturer's data plate. 

2VAC5-585-1230. Dispensing equipment, protection of 
equipment and food. 

In equipment that dispenses or vends liquid food or ice in 
unpackaged form: 

1. The delivery tube, chute, orifice, and splash surfaces 
directly above the container receiving the food shall be 
designed in a manner, such as with barriers, baffles, or drip 
aprons, so that drips from condensation and splash are 
diverted from the opening of the container receiving the 
food;. 

2. The delivery tube, chute, and orifice shall be protected 
from manual contact such as by being recessed;. 

3. The delivery tube or chute and orifice of equipment used 
to vend liquid food or ice in unpackaged form to self-
service consumers shall be designed so that the delivery 
tube or chute and orifice are protected from dust, insects, 
rodents, and other contamination by a self-closing door if 
the equipment is: 

a. Located in an outside area that does not otherwise 
afford the protection of an enclosure against the rain, 
windblown debris, insects, rodents, and other 
contaminants that are present in the environment; or 

b. Available for self-service during hours when it is not 
under the full-time supervision of a food employee; and. 

4. The dispensing equipment actuating lever or mechanism 
and filling device of consumer self-service beverage 
dispensing equipment shall be designed to prevent contact 
with the lip-contact surface of glasses or cups that are 
refilled. 

5. Dispensing equipment in which potentially hazardous 
food (time/temperature control for safety food) in 
homogenous liquid form is maintained outside of the 
temperature control requirements as specified in 2VAC5-
585-820 C shall: 

a. Be specifically designed and equipped to maintain the 
commercial sterility of aseptically packaged food in a 
homogenous liquid form for a specified duration from the 
time of opening the packaging within the equipment; and 

b. Conform to the requirements for this equipment as 
specified in NSF/ANSI 18-2006 Manual Food and 
Beverage Dispensing Equipment. 

2VAC5-585-1260. Beverage tubing, separation. 

Beverage Except for cold plates that are constructed 
integrally with an ice storage bin, beverage tubing and cold-
plate beverage cooling devices may not be installed in contact 
with stored ice. This section does not apply to cold plates that 
are constructed integrally with an ice storage bin. 
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2VAC5-585-1310. Vending machines, automatic shutoff.* 

A. A machine vending potentially hazardous food 
(time/temperature control for safety food) shall have an 
automatic control that prevents the machine from vending 
food: 

1. If there is a power failure, mechanical failure, or other 
condition that results in an internal machine temperature 
that cannot maintain food temperatures as specified under 
Part III (2VAC5-585-260 et seq.) of this chapter; and 

2. If a condition specified under subdivision 1 of this 
subsection occurs, until the machine is serviced and 
restocked with food that has been maintained at 
temperatures specified under Part III. 

B. When the automatic shutoff within a machine vending 
potentially hazardous food (time/temperature control for 
safety food) is activated: 

1. In a refrigerated vending machine, the ambient 
temperature may not exceed 41°F (5°C) or 45°F (7°C) as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-820 A 2 for more than 30 
minutes immediately after the machine is filled, serviced, 
or restocked; or 

2. In a hot holding vending machine, the ambient 
temperature may not be less than 135°F (57°C) for more 
than 120 minutes immediately after the machine is filled, 
serviced, or restocked. 

2VAC5-585-1420. Case lot handling equipment 
apparatuses, movability. 

Equipment Apparatuses, such as dollies, pallets, racks, and 
skids used to store and transport large quantities of packaged 
foods received from a supplier in a cased or overwrapped lot, 
shall be designed to be moved by hand or by conveniently 
available equipment such as hand trucks and forklifts. 

2VAC5-585-1440. Food equipment, certification and 
classification. (Repealed.) 

Food equipment that is certified or classified for sanitation 
by an American National Standards Institute (ANSI)-
accredited certification program will be deemed to comply 
with Articles 1 (2VAC5-585-960 et seq.) and 2 (2VAC5-585-
1080 et seq.) of this part. 

2VAC5-585-1550. Fixed equipment, spacing or sealing. 

A. Equipment that is fixed because it is not easily movable 
shall be installed so that it is: 

1. Spaced to allow access for cleaning along the sides, 
behind, and above the equipment; 

2. Spaced from adjoining equipment, walls, and ceilings a 
distance of not more than 1/32 inch or one millimeter; or 

3. Sealed to adjoining equipment or walls, if the equipment 
is exposed to spillage or seepage. 

B. Table-mounted Counter-mounted equipment that is not 
easily movable shall be installed to allow cleaning of the 
equipment and areas underneath and around the equipment by 
being: 

1. Sealed to the table; or 

2. Elevated on legs as specified under 2VAC5-585-1560 D. 

2VAC5-585-1560. Fixed equipment, elevation or sealing. 

A. Except as specified in subsection subsections B and C of 
this section, floor-mounted equipment that is not easily 
movable shall be sealed to the floor or elevated on legs that 
provide at least a six-inch (15-centimeter) clearance between 
the floor and the equipment. 

B. If no part of the floor under the floor-mounted equipment 
is more than six inches (15 centimeters) from the point of 
cleaning access, the clearance space may be only four inches 
(10 centimeters). 

C. This section does not apply to display shelving units, 
display refrigeration units, and display freezer units located in 
the consumer shopping areas of a retail food store, if the floor 
under the units is maintained clean. 

D. Except as specified in subsection E of this section, table-
mounted counter-mounted equipment that is not easily 
movable shall be elevated on legs that provide at least a four-
inch (10-centimeter) clearance between the table and the 
equipment. 

E. The clearance space between the table and table-mounted 
counter-mounted equipment may be: 

1. Three inches (7.5 centimeters) if the horizontal distance 
of the table top under the equipment is no more than 20 
inches (50 centimeters) from the point of access for 
cleaning; or 

2. Two inches (5 centimeters) if the horizontal distance of 
the table top under the equipment is no more than three 
inches (7.5 centimeters) from the point of access for 
cleaning. 

2VAC5-585-1690. Mechanical warewashing equipment, 
sanitization pressure. 

The flow pressure of the fresh hot water sanitizing rinse in a 
warewashing machine may not be less than 15 pounds per 
square inch (100 kilopascals) or more than 25 pounds per 
square inch (170 kilopascals) as measured in the water line 
immediately downstream or upstream from the fresh hot 
water sanitizing rinse control valve, as measured in the water 
line immediately downstream or upstream from the fresh hot 
water sanitizing rinse control valve, shall be within the range 
specified on the machine manufacturer's data plate and may 
not be less than five pounds per square inch (35 kilopascals) 
or more than 30 pounds per square inch (200 kilopascals). 
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Article 7  
Sanitization of Equipment and Utensils  

2VAC5-585-1880. Food-contact surfaces and utensils. 
(Repealed.) 

Equipment food-contact surfaces and utensils shall be 
sanitized. 

2VAC5-585-1980. Food-contact surfaces. 

Lubricants as specified in 2VAC5-585-3420 shall be applied 
to food-contact surfaces that require lubrication in a manner 
that does not contaminate food-contact surfaces. 

2VAC5-585-2040. Preset tableware. 

If tableware is preset: 

1. It shall be protected from contamination by being 
wrapped, covered, or inverted; 

2. Exposed, unused settings shall be removed when a 
consumer is seated; or 

3. Exposed, unused settings shall be cleaned and sanitized 
before further use if the settings are not removed when a 
consumer is seated. 

A. Tableware that is preset shall be protected from 
contamination by being wrapped, covered, or inverted. 

B. When tableware is preset, exposed, unused settings shall 
be: 

1. Removed when a consumer is seated; or 

2. Cleaned and sanitized before further use if the settings 
are not removed when a consumer is seated. 

2VAC5-585-2190. Handwashing facility, installation sink, 
water temperature, and flow. 

A. A handwashing lavatory sink shall be equipped to 
provide water at a temperature of at least 100°F (38°C) 
through a mixing valve or combination faucet. 

B. A steam mixing valve may not be used at a handwashing 
lavatory sink. 

C. A self-closing, slow-closing, or metering faucet shall 
provide a flow of water for at least 15 seconds without the 
need to reactivate the faucet. 

2VAC5-585-2230. Handwashing facilities sinks, numbers 
and capacities.* 

A. Except as specified in subsections B and C of this 
section, at least one handwashing lavatory sink, or the 
number of handwashing lavatories sinks necessary for their 
convenient use by employees in areas specified under 
2VAC5-585-2280, and not fewer than the number of 
handwashing lavatories sinks required by law shall be 
provided. 

B. If approved and capable of removing the types of soils 
encountered in the food operations involved, automatic 
handwashing facilities may be substituted for handwashing 
lavatories sinks in a food establishment that has at least one 
handwashing lavatory sink. 

C. If approved, when food exposure is limited and 
handwashing lavatories sinks are not conveniently available, 
such as in some mobile or temporary food establishments or 
at some vending machine locations, employees may use 
chemically-treated towelettes for handwashing. 

2VAC5-585-2280. Handwashing facilities sinks, 
locations.* 

A handwashing facility sink shall be located: 

1. To be readily accessible for use by employees in food 
preparation, food dispensing, and warewashing areas; and 

2. In, or immediately adjacent to, toilet rooms. 

2VAC5-585-2310. Using a handwashing facility sink. 

A. A handwashing facility sink shall be maintained so that it 
is accessible at all times for employee use. 

B. A handwashing facility sink may not be used for 
purposes other than handwashing. 

C. An automatic handwashing facility sink shall be used in 
accordance with manufacturer's instructions. 

2VAC5-585-2510. Establishment drainage system. 
(Repealed.) 

Food establishment drainage systems, including grease 
traps, that convey sewage shall be designed and installed as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-2180 A. 

2VAC5-585-2520. Backflow prevention.* 

A. Except as specified in subsections B and, C, and D of this 
section, a direct connection may not exist between the sewage 
system and a drain originating from equipment in which food, 
portable equipment, or utensils are placed. 

B. Subsection A of this section does not apply to floor drains 
that originate in refrigerated spaces that are constructed as an 
integral part of the building. 

B. C. If allowed by law, a warewashing machine may have a 
direct connection between its waste outlet and a floor drain 
when the machine is located within five feet (1.5 m) (1.5 
meters) of a trapped floor drain and the machine outlet is 
connected to the inlet side of a properly vented floor drain 
trap. 

C. D. If allowed by law, a warewashing or culinary sink may 
have a direct connection. 
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Article 5  
Refuse, Recyclables, and Returnables  

2VAC5-585-2590. Indoor storage area. (Repealed.) 

If located within the food establishment, a storage area for 
refuse, recyclables, and returnables shall meet the 
requirements specified under 2VAC5-585-2790, 2VAC5-
585-2810 through 2VAC5-585-2880, 2VAC5-585-2930, and 
2VAC5-585-2940. 

2VAC5-585-2630. Receptacles in vending machines. 

A Except for a receptacle for a beverage bottle crown 
closures, a refuse receptacle may not be located within a 
vending machine, except that a receptacle for beverage bottle 
crown closures may be located within a vending machine. 

Part VI  
Physical Facilities  

Article 1  
Materials for Construction and Repair  

2VAC5-585-2790. Indoor areas; surface characteristics. 

A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, 
materials for indoor floor, wall, and ceiling surfaces under 
conditions of normal use shall be: 

1. Smooth, durable, and easily cleanable for areas where 
food establishment operations are conducted; 

2. Closely woven and easily cleanable carpet for carpeted 
areas; and 

3. Nonabsorbent for areas subject to moisture such as food 
preparation areas, walk-in refrigerators, warewashing 
areas, toilet rooms, mobile food establishment servicing 
areas, and areas subject to flushing or spray cleaning 
methods. 

B. In a temporary food establishment: 

1. A floor may be concrete, if graded to drain, machine-
laid asphalt, or dirt or gravel if it is covered with mats, 
removable platforms, duckboards, or other suitable 
approved materials that are effectively treated to control 
dust and mud; and 

2. Walls and ceilings may be constructed of a material that 
protects the interior from the weather and windblown dust 
and debris. 

Article 2  
Design, Construction, and Installation  

2VAC5-585-2810. Floors, walls, and ceilings - cleanability. 

Except as specified under 2VAC5-585-2840, the floors, 
floor coverings, walls, wall coverings, and ceilings shall be 
designed, constructed, and installed so they are smooth and 
easily cleanable, except that and except for antislip floor 
coverings or applications that may be used for safety reasons, 

floors, floor coverings, walls, wall coverings, and ceilings 
shall be designed, constructed, and installed so they are 
smooth and easily cleanable. 

2VAC5-585-2920. Toilet rooms, enclosed. 

A toilet room located on the premises shall be completely 
enclosed and provided with a tight-fitting and self-closing 
door except that this requirement does not apply to a toilet 
room that is located outside a food establishment and does not 
open directly into the food establishment such as a toilet room 
that is provided by the management of a shopping mall. 

Except where a toilet room is located outside a food 
establishment and does not open directly into the food 
establishment such as a toilet room that is provided by the 
management of a shopping mall, a toilet room located on the 
premises shall be completely enclosed and provided with a 
tight-fitting and self-closing door. 

2VAC5-585-2950. Outdoor food vending areas, overhead 
protection. 

If located outside, a machine used to vend food shall be 
provided with overhead protection except that machines 
vending canned beverages need not meet this requirement. 

Except for machines that vend canned beverages, if located 
outside, a machine used to vend food shall be provided with 
overhead protection. 

2VAC5-585-2960. Outdoor servicing areas, overhead 
protection. 

Servicing areas shall be provided with overhead protection 
except that areas used only for the loading of water or the 
discharge of sewage and other liquid waste, through the use 
of a closed system of hoses, need not be provided with 
overhead protection. 

Except for areas used only for the loading of water or the 
discharge of sewage or other liquid waste, through the use of 
a closed system of hoses, servicing areas shall be provided 
with overhead protection. 

Article 3  
Numbers and Capacities  

2VAC5-585-3010. Handwashing lavatories, minimum 
number. (Repealed.) 

Handwashing lavatories shall be provided as specified under 
2VAC5-585-2230. 

2VAC5-585-3020. Handwashing cleanser, availability. 

Each handwashing lavatory sink or group of two adjacent 
lavatories handwashing sinks shall be provided with a supply 
of hand cleaning liquid, powder, or bar soap. 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 18 Virginia Register of Regulations May 11, 2009 

3146 

2VAC5-585-3030. Hand drying provision. 

Each handwashing lavatory sink or group of adjacent 
lavatories handwashing sinks shall be provided with: 

1. Individual, disposable towels; 

2. A continuous towel system that supplies the user with a 
clean towel; or 

3. A heated-air hand drying device. 

2VAC5-585-3040. Handwashing aids and devices, use 
restrictions. 

A sink used for food preparation or utensil washing may not 
be provided with the handwashing aids and devices required 
for a handwashing lavatory sink as specified under 2VAC5-
585-3020 and 2VAC5-585-3030 and 2VAC5-585-2650 C. 

2VAC5-585-3045. Handwashing signage. 

A sign or poster that notifies food employees to wash their 
hands shall be provided at all handwashing lavatories sinks 
used by food employees and shall be clearly visible to food 
employees. 

2VAC5-585-3050. Disposable towels, waste receptacle. 
(Repealed.) 

A handwashing lavatory or group of adjacent lavatories that 
is provided with disposable towels shall be provided with a 
waste receptacle as specified under 2VAC5-585-2650 C. 

2VAC5-585-3060. Toilets and urinals, minimum number. 
(Repealed.) 

Toilets and urinals shall be provided as specified under 
2VAC5-585-2240. 

2VAC5-585-3080. Lighting, intensity. 

The light intensity shall be: 

1. At least 10 foot candles (110 lux) (108 lux) at a distance 
of 30 inches (75 cm) above the floor, in walk-in 
refrigeration units and dry food storage areas and in other 
areas and rooms during periods of cleaning; 

2. At least 20 foot candles (220 lux) (215 lux): 

a. At a surface where food is provided for consumer self-
service such as buffets and salad bars or where fresh 
produce or packaged foods are sold or offered for 
consumption; 

b. Inside equipment such as reach-in and under-counter 
refrigerators; 

c. At a distance of 30 inches (75 cm) above the floor in 
areas used for handwashing, warewashing, and 
equipment and utensil storage, and in toilet rooms; and 

3. At least 50 foot candles (540 lux) at a surface where a 
food employee is working with food or working with 

utensils or equipment such as knives, slicers, grinders, or 
saws where employee safety is a factor. 

2VAC5-585-3110. Service sinks, availability. (Repealed.) 

A service sink or curbed cleaning facility shall be provided 
as specified under 2VAC5-585-2250. 

Article 4  
Location and Placement  

2VAC5-585-3120. Handwashing lavatories, conveniently 
located. (Repealed.) 

Handwashing lavatories shall be conveniently located as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-2280. 

2VAC5-585-3160. Refuse, recyclables, and returnables - 
receptacles, waste handling units, and designated storage 
areas. (Repealed.) 

Units, receptacles, and areas designated for storage of refuse 
and recyclable and returnable containers shall be located as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-2680. 

2VAC5-585-3180. Cleaning, frequency and restrictions. 

A. The physical facilities shall be cleaned as often as 
necessary to keep them clean. 

B. Cleaning Except for cleaning that is necessary due to a 
spill or other accident, cleaning shall be done during periods 
when the least amount of food is exposed such as after 
closing. This requirement does not apply to cleaning that is 
necessary due to a spill or other accident. 

2VAC5-585-3240. Maintaining and using handwashing 
lavatories. Cleaning of plumbing fixtures. 

Handwashing lavatories shall be kept Plumbing fixtures 
such as handwashing sinks, toilets, and urinals shall be 
cleaned as often as necessary to keep them clean, and 
maintained and used as specified under 2VAC5-585-2310.  

2VAC5-585-3360. Conditions of use.* 

A. Poisonous or toxic materials shall be: 

1. Used according to: 

a. Law and this chapter; 

b. Manufacturer's use directions included in labeling, 
and, for a pesticide, manufacturer's label instructions that 
state that use is allowed in a food establishment; 

c. The conditions of certification, if certification is 
required, for use of the pest control materials; and 

d. Additional conditions that may be established by the 
department; and 

2. Applied so that: 

a. A hazard to employees or other persons is not 
constituted; and 
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b. Contamination including toxic residues due to drip, 
drain, fog, splash or spray on food, equipment, utensils, 
linens, and single-service and single-use articles is 
prevented, and for a restricted-use pesticide, this is 
achieved by: 

(1) Removing the items; 

(2) Covering the items with impermeable covers; or 

(3) Taking other appropriate preventive actions; and 

(4) Cleaning and sanitizing equipment and utensils after 
the application. 

B. A restricted use pesticide shall be applied only by an 
applicator certified as defined in §§ 3.1-249.51, 3.1-249.52, 
and 3.1-249.53 E 3.2-3929, 3.2-3930, and 3.2-3931 of the 
Code of Virginia (Virginia Pesticide Control Act) or a person 
under the direct supervision of a certified applicator. 

2VAC5-585-3460. Medicines - restriction and storage.* 

A. Only Except for medicines that are stored or displayed 
for retail sale, only those medicines that are necessary for the 
health of employees shall be allowed in a food establishment. 
This section does not apply to medicines that are stored or 
displayed for retail sale. 

B. Medicines that are in a food establishment for the 
employees' use shall be labeled as specified under 2VAC5-
585-3320 and located to prevent the contamination of food, 
equipment, utensils, linens, and single-service and single-use 
articles. 

2VAC5-585-3860. Documenting information and 
observations. 

The authorized representative of the commissioner shall 
document on an inspection report form: 

1. Administrative information about the food 
establishment's legal identity, street and mailing addresses, 
type of establishment and operation, inspection date, and 
other information such as type of water supply and sewage 
disposal, and personnel certificates that may be required; 
and 

2. Specific factual observations of violative conditions or 
other deviations from this chapter that require correction 
by the establishment operator including: 

a. Failure of the person in charge to demonstrate the 
knowledge of foodborne illness prevention, application 
of HACCP principles, and the requirements of this 
chapter specified under 2VAC5-585-60; 

b. Failure of food employees and the person in charge to 
demonstrate their knowledge of their responsibility to 
report a disease or medical condition as specified under 
2VAC5-585-110 and 2VAC5-585-120 2VAC5-585-80 B 
and D; 

c. Nonconformance with critical items of this chapter; 

d. Failure of the appropriate food employees to 
demonstrate their knowledge of, and ability to perform in 
accordance with, the procedural, monitoring, verification, 
and corrective action practices required by the 
department as specified under 2VAC5-585-60; 

e. Failure of the person in charge to provide records 
required by the department for determining conformance 
with a HACCP plan as specified under subdivision 4 f of 
2VAC5-585-3630; and 

f. Nonconformance with critical limits of a HACCP plan. 

Article 5  
Prevention of Foodborne Disease Transmission by 

Employees  

2VAC5-585-4040. Investigation and control, obtaining 
information: personal history of illness, medical 
examination, and specimen analysis. 

The department shall act when it has reasonable cause to 
believe that a food employee or conditional employee has 
possibly transmitted disease; may be infected with a disease 
in a communicable form that is transmissible through food; 
may be a carrier of infectious agents that cause a disease that 
is transmissible through food; or is affected with a boil, an 
infected wound, or acute respiratory infection, by: 

1. Securing a confidential medical history of the employee 
suspected of transmitting disease or making other 
investigations as deemed appropriate; and 

2. Requiring appropriate medical examinations, including 
collection of specimens for laboratory analysis, of a 
suspected employee and other employees. 

2VAC5-585-4050. Restriction or exclusion of food 
employee. 

Based on the findings of an investigation related to a food 
employee or conditional employee who is suspected of being 
infected or diseased, the department may request that the 
suspected food employee, or conditional employee, or 
operator institute one of the following control measures: 

1. Restricting the food employee or conditional employee; 
or 

2. Excluding the food employee or conditional employee. 

2VAC5-585-4070. Release of food employee from 
restriction or exclusion. 

The department shall release a food employee or conditional 
employee from restriction or exclusion according to law and 
the following conditions: conditions specified under 2VAC5-
585-100. 

1. A food employee who was infected with Salmonella 
typhi if the food employee's stools are negative for S. typhi 
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based on testing of at least three consecutive stool 
specimen cultures that are taken: 

a. Not earlier than one month after onset; 

b. At least 48 hours after discontinuance of antibiotics; 
and 

c. At least 24 hours apart; and 

2. If one of the cultures taken as specified in subdivision 1 
of this section is positive, repeat cultures are taken at 
intervals of one month until at least three consecutive 
negative stool specimen cultures are obtained. 

3. A food employee who was infected with Shigella spp. or 
Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli if the employee's 
stools are negative for Shigella spp. or Shiga toxin-
producing Escherichia coli based on testing of two 
consecutive stool specimen cultures that are taken: 

a. Not earlier than 48 hours after discontinuance of 
antibiotics; and 

b. At least 24 hours apart. 

4. A food employee who was infected with hepatitis A 
virus if: 

a. Symptoms cease; or 

b. At least two blood tests show falling liver enzymes. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(2VAC5-585) 

Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence 
Evaluations (updated daily), 25th Edition, available from the 
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Food and 
Drug Administration, Center for Drug Evaluation and 
Research, Office of Pharmaceutical Science, Office of 
Generic Drugs at http://www.fda.gov/cder/ob/default.htm. 

7 CFR Parts 56 and 59, January 2006, published by the U.S. 
Government Printing Office, 732 North Capitol St., NW, 
Washington, DC 20401. 

9 CFR Parts 301, 308, 317, 319, 352, 354, 362, 381, 424, 
and 590, January 2006, published by the U.S. Government 
Printing Office, 732 North Capitol St., NW, Washington, DC 
20401. 

21 CFR Parts 70, 101, 113, 114, 120, 129 - 186, 21 CFR 
1030.10, and 1240.60(d), April 2006, published by the U.S. 
Government Printing Office, 732 North Capitol St., NW, 
Washington, DC 20401. 

40 CFR Parts 141, 152 and 40 CFR 180.940, and 185 and 40 
CFR, July 2005, published by the U.S. Government Printing 
Office, 732 North Capitol St., NW, Washington, DC 20401. 

50 CFR Part 17, October 2005, published by the U.S. 
Government Printing Office, 732 North Capitol St., NW, 
Washington, DC 20401. 

Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act, as amended through 
December 31, 2004, 21 USC §§ 321, 342, 343, 348 and 376, 
published by the U.S. Government Printing Office, 732 North 
Capitol St., NW, Washington, DC 20401. 

Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 2003 Revision, 
published by the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services, Public Health Service, Food and Drug 
Administration, Milk Safety Branch (HFS-626), 5100 Paint 
Branch Parkway, College Park, MD 20740-3835. 

Grade "A" Condensed and Dry Milk Ordinance, 1995 
Revision, published by the U.S. Department of Health and 
Human Services, Public Health Service, Food and Drug 
Administration, Milk Safety Branch (HFS-626), 5100 Paint 
Branch Parkway, College Park, MD 20740-3835. 

Interstate Certified Shellfish Shippers List, (updated 
monthly), published by the U.S. Department of Health and 
Human Services, Public Health Service, Food and Drug 
Administration, Office of Seafood (HFS-417), 5100 Paint 
Branch Parkway, College Park, MD 20740-3835. 

National Shellfish Sanitation Program Manual of 
Operations, 1995 Revision, published by the U.S. Department 
of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Food 
and Drug Administration, Office of Seafood (HFS-417), 5100 
Paint Branch Parkway, College Park, MD 20740-3835. 

Virginia Waterworks Regulations, 12VAC5-590, May 2006, 
Virginia Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219. 

Virginia Statewide Building Code, 13VAC5-63, November 
2005, Virginia Department of Housing and Community 
Development, 501 North 2nd Street, Richmond, VA 23219. 

National Shellfish Sanitation Program Guide for the Control 
of Molluscan Shellfish (2007), published by the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health 
Service, Food and Drug Administration, Office of Seafood 
(HFS-417), 5100 Paint Branch Parkway, College Park, MD 
20740-3835. 

NSF/ANSI 18-2006 Manual Food and Beverage Dispensing 
Equipment, American National Standard, published by NSF 
International, 789 North Dixboro Road, P.O. Box 130140, 
Ann Arbor, Michigan 48113-0140. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1653; Filed April 17, 2009, 11:09 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Forms 

NOTICE: The following forms have been filed by the 
Virginia Waste Management Board. The forms are available 
for public inspection at the Department of Environmental 
Quality, 629 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23218, or at 
the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly 
Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. Copies of 
the forms may be obtained from Cindy Berndt, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone 804-698-4378. 
Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-80. Solid Waste Management 
Regulations.  

FORMS (9VAC20-80)  

Open Dump Evaluation Criteria Part I-Flood Plains, DWM 
Form SW-4-1.  

Open Dump Evaluation Criteria Part II-Surface Water, 
DWM Form SW-4-2.  

Open Dump Evaluation Criteria Part III-Groundwater, 
DWM Form SW-4-3.  

Open Dump Evaluation Criteria Part IV-Disease Vectors, 
DWM Form SW-4-4.  

Open Dump Evaluation Criteria Part V-Open Burning, 
DWM Form SW-4-5.  

Open Dump Evaluation Criteria Part VI-Safety: Landfill 
Gas, DWM Form SW-4-6.  

Open Dump Evaluation Criteria Part VII-Safety: Fires, 
DWM Form SW-4-7.  

Open Dump Evaluation Criteria Part VIII-Safety: Bird 
Hazard, DWM Form SW-4-8.  

Solid Waste Management Facility Permit Applicant's 
Disclosure Form, DWM Form DISC-01.  

Solid Waste Management Facility Permit Applicant's 
Disclosure Form-Key Personnel, DWM Form DISC-02.  

Request for Local Government Certification, DWM Form 
SW-11-1.  

Solid Waste Part A Permit Application, DWM From Form 
SW-7-3 (rev. 4/09). 

Solid Waste Information and Assessment Program-
Reporting Table, DEQ Form 50-25 (rev. 2/05)  



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 18 Virginia Register of Regulations May 11, 2009 

3150 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 18 Virginia Register of Regulations May 11, 2009 

3151 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 18 Virginia Register of Regulations May 11, 2009 

3152 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 18 Virginia Register of Regulations May 11, 2009 

3153 

 
VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1916; Filed April 16, 2009, 12:00 p.m.  
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STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Forms 
NOTICE: The following forms have been filed by the State 
Water Control Board. The forms are available for public 
inspection at the Department of Environmental Quality, 629 
East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23218, or at the Office of 
the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 
2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. Copies of the forms 
may be obtained from Cindy Berndt, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone 804-698-4378. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-580. Underground Storage 
Tanks: Technical Standards and Corrective Action 
Requirements.  

FORMS (9VAC25-580)  

Notification for Underground Storage Tanks (USTs), 
Virginia DEQ Water Form 7530-1 (eff. 7/94) 7530-2 (rev. 01-
03).  

Notification Form, EPA Form (50FR 46602).  
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VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1915; Filed April 16, 2009, 11:50 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 10. FINANCE AND FINANCIAL 
INSTITUTIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 
of the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 10VAC5-10. Delegation of Certain 
Authority to the Commissioner of the Bureau of Financial 
Institutions (amending 10VAC5-10-10).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 12.1-16 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be 
scheduled upon request. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on June 15, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Nicholas C. Kyrus, Deputy Commissioner, 
Bureau of Financial Institutions, P.O. Box 640, Richmond, 
VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9657, FAX (804) 371-9416, 
or email nick.kyrus@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments delegate additional authority 
to the Commissioner of Financial Institutions to grant or 
deny mortgage loan originator licenses and set the 
amount of surety bonds required for such licensure. 

AT RICHMOND, APRIL 8, 2009 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. BFI-2009-00081 

Ex Parte: In re: Powers delegated 
to the Commissioner of Financial 
Institutions 

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

WHEREAS § 12.1-16 of the Code of Virginia provides, 
among other things, for delegation by the State Corporation 
Commission ("Commission") to the Commissioner of 
Financial Institutions ("Commissioner") of its duties under 
certain laws; and 

WHEREAS the Commission has previously delegated 
various powers and duties to the Commissioner pursuant to 
this statute, which delegations currently appear in the Virginia 
Administrative Code at 10 VAC 5-10-10; and  

WHEREAS the Commission now proposes to delegate 
certain additional authority to the Commissioner in order to 
promote the efficient administration of Title 6.1 of the Code 
of Virginia; 

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed amended regulation entitled "Powers 
Delegated to Commissioner of Financial Institutions" is 
appended hereto and made part of the record herein. 

(2) On or before June 15, 2009, any person desiring to 
comment on the proposed amended regulation shall file 
written comments containing a reference to Case No. 
BFI-2009-00081 with the Clerk of the Commission, c/o 
Document Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, 
Virginia 23218. Interested persons desiring to submit 
comments electronically may do so by following the 
instructions at the Commission's website: 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(3) The proposed amended regulation shall be posted on 
the Commission's website at 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(4) AN ATTESTED COPY hereof, together with a copy of 
the proposed amended regulation, shall be sent to the 
Registrar of Regulations for publication in the Virginia 
Register. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 
the Commission to the Commissioner of Financial 
Institutions. 

10VAC5-10-10. Powers delegated to Commissioner of 
Financial Institutions. 

A. The State Corporation Commission has delegated to the 
Commissioner of Financial Institutions the authority to 
exercise its powers and to act for it in the following matters:  

1. To grant or deny petitions relating to service by an 
individual as a director of more than one financial 
institution. (§ 6.1-2.7 of the Code of Virginia.)  

2. To grant a certificate of authority to a bank formed for 
the purpose of its being acquired under the provisions of 
Chapter 14 (§ 6.1-390 et seq.) of Title 6.1 of the Code of 
Virginia, or for the purpose of facilitating the consolidation 
of banks or the acquisition by merger of a bank pursuant to 
any provision of Title 6.1 of the Code of Virginia. (§§ 6.1-
13 and 6.1-43 of the Code of Virginia.)  

3. To grant or deny authority to a bank, or to a trust 
subsidiary, to engage in the trust business or exercise trust 
powers. (§§ 6.1-16 and 6.1-32.5 of the Code of Virginia.)  

4. To approve an office of a trust subsidiary; to authorize a 
trust company to establish an additional office; to authorize 
a state bank or trust company to establish or acquire a trust 
office in another state; and to deny an application by a state 
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bank to establish a branch or relocate an authorized office 
in Virginia. (§§ 6.1-32.6, 6.1-32.21, 6.1-32.33 and 6.1-39.3 
of the Code of Virginia.) To approve the establishment, 
acquisition, maintenance, and operation of branches of 
state banks in states other than Virginia. (§§ 6.1-44.3 and 
6.1-44.17 of the Code of Virginia.)  

5. To permit a state bank to operate or advertise a branch 
office under a name that is not identical to the bank's own 
name. (§ 6.1-41 of the Code of Virginia.)  

6. To object to an application or notice by an out-of-state 
trust institution or an out-of-state bank to establish or 
acquire a trust office or branch in Virginia, upon finding 
that the filing requirements and the conditions for approval 
prescribed by law are not fulfilled. (§§ 6.1-32.38 and 6.1-
32.39; 6.1-44.6 and 6.1-44.7; 6.1-44.19 and 6.1-44.20 of 
the Code of Virginia.)  

7. To grant approval for directors' meetings of a bank or 
trust company to be held less frequently than monthly. 
(§ 6.1-52 of the Code of Virginia; 10VAC5-22-20.)  

8. To grant approval for the investing of more than 50% of 
the aggregate amount of a bank's capital stock, surplus, and 
undivided profits in its bank building and premises; and to 
permit the payment of dividends while such investment 
exceeds 50% of capital, surplus, and undivided profits. 
(§ 6.1-57 of the Code of Virginia.)  

9. To consent to a bank's investment in more than one 
service corporation. (§ 6.1-58 of the Code of Virginia.)  

10. To give permission for the aggregate investment of 
more than 50% of a bank's capital stock and permanent 
surplus in the stock, securities, or obligations of controlled-
subsidiary and bank service corporations. (§ 6.1-58.1 of the 
Code of Virginia.)  

11. To give written consent and approval for a bank to hold 
the possession of certain real estate for a longer period than 
10 years. (Subdivision 4 of § 6.1-59 of the Code of 
Virginia.)  

12. To approve the issuance by a bank of capital notes and 
debentures, so that such notes and debentures may qualify 
as surplus for the purpose of calculating the legal lending 
limit of a bank. (§ 6.1-61 of the Code of Virginia.)  

13. To give written approval in advance for a bank or trust 
company to pledge its assets as security for certain 
temporary purposes. (§ 6.1-80 of the Code of Virginia.)  

14. To require any bank to prepare and submit such reports 
and material as he may deem necessary to protect and 
promote the public interest. (§ 6.1-93 of the Code of 
Virginia.)  

15. To approve the issuance of stock in a savings 
institution in exchange for property or services valued at an 
amount not less than the aggregate value of the shares 

issued. (§§ 6.1-194.11 and 6.1-194.113 of the Code of 
Virginia.)  

16. To reduce temporarily the reserve requirements for a 
savings institution upon a finding that such reduction is in 
the best interest of the institution and its members. (§ 6.1-
194.23 of the Code of Virginia.)  

17. To grant a certificate of authority to a savings 
institution formed solely for the purpose of facilitating the 
merger or acquisition of savings institutions pursuant to 
any provision of Title 6.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

18. To grant or deny authority to a state association, a state 
savings bank or a foreign savings institution to establish a 
branch office, or other office or facility where deposits are 
accepted (§§ 6.1-194.26 and 6.1-194.119 of the Code of 
Virginia), or to change the location of a main or branch 
office. (§§ 6.1-194.28 and 6.1-194.121 of the Code of 
Virginia.)  

19. To cause a special examination of a savings institution 
to be made. (§ 6.1-194.84:1 of the Code of Virginia.)  

20. To grant or deny authority to a savings institution to 
exercise fiduciary powers. (§§ 6.1-195.77 et seq. and 6.1-
194.138 of the Code of Virginia.)  

21. To grant or deny approval to a credit union to maintain 
a service facility or office (other than a main office). 
(§ 6.1-225.20 of the Code of Virginia.)  

22. To make such findings as are required by §§ 6.1-
225.23 and 6.1-225.23:1 of the Code of Virginia relating to 
fields of membership of credit unions and the expansion of 
such fields of membership.  

23. To approve the investment of credit union funds in 
certain stock, securities and other obligations. (Subdivision 
8 of § 6.1-25.57 6.1-225.57 of the Code of Virginia.)  

24. To grant or deny authority to an industrial loan 
association to relocate its office. (§ 6.1-233 of the Code of 
Virginia.)  

25. To grant or deny licenses pursuant to Chapter 6 (§ 6.1-
244 et seq.) of Title 6.1 of the Code of Virginia. (§ 6.1-
256.1 of the Code of Virginia.)  

26. To grant or deny licenses to engage in the business of 
selling money orders or the business of money 
transmission, or both, and approve or disapprove 
acquisitions of ownership interests in licensees. (§§ 6.1-
371 and 6.1-378.2 of the Code of Virginia.)  

27. To grant or deny licenses to operate non-profit debt 
credit counseling agencies. (§ 6.1-363.1 (§ 6.1-363.7 of the 
Code of Virginia.)  

28. To grant or deny licenses to engage in business as a 
mortgage lender and/or mortgage broker, and prescribe 
conditions under which exclusive agents of licensees may 
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act as mortgage brokers without a license and approve or 
disapprove individuals as qualified exclusive agents of 
licensees. (§§ 6.1-410 and 6.1-415 of the Code of 
Virginia.)  

29. To grant or deny permission to a mortgage lender or 
mortgage broker licensee to relocate an office or open an 
additional office and approve or disapprove acquisitions of 
ownership interests in licensees. (§§ 6.1-416 and 6.1-416.1 
of the Code of Virginia.)  

30. To grant or deny licenses to engage in business as a 
mortgage loan originator, and set the amount of surety 
bond required for such licensure. (§§ 6.1-431.4 and 6.1-
431.7 of the Code of Virginia.) 

31. To enter into cooperative agreements with appropriate 
regulatory authorities for the examination of out-of-state 
bank holding companies and their subsidiaries and out-of-
state savings institution holding companies and their 
subsidiaries and for the accomplishment of other duties 
imposed on the commission by Article 11 (§ 6.1-194.96 et 
seq.) of Chapter 3.01 and by Chapter 15 (§ 6.1-398 et seq.) 
of Title 6.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

31. 32. To prescribe the form and content of all 
applications, documents, undertakings, papers, and 
information required to be submitted to the commission 
under Title 6.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

32. 33. To make all investigations and examinations, give 
all notices, and shorten, waive, or extend any time period 
within which any action of the commission must or may be 
taken or performed under Title 6.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. In the performance of the duties hereby delegated to him, 
the commissioner shall have the power and authority to make 
all findings and determinations permitted or required by law. 

C. The foregoing delegations of authority shall be effective 
until revoked by order of the commission. All actions taken 
by the Commissioner of Financial Institutions pursuant to the 
authority granted here are subject to review by the 
commission in accordance with the Rules of Practice and 
Procedure of the State Corporation Commission. Each 
delegation set forth in a numbered subdivision of subsection 
A of this section shall be severable from all others.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1875; Filed April 15, 2009, 10:23 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 
of the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 10VAC5-110. Credit Counseling 
(adding 10VAC5-110-30). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 6.1-363.15 and 12.1-13 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be 
scheduled upon request. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on May 20, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Gerald Fallen, Deputy Commissioner, 
Bureau of Financial Institutions, State Corporation 
Commission, P.O. Box 640, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 371-9699, FAX (804) 371-9416, or email 
gerald.fallen@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments prescribe the annual fees to 
be paid by credit counseling agencies licensed under 
Chapter 10.2 (§ 6.1-363.2 et seq.) of Title 6.1 of the Code 
of Virginia. The fees defray the costs of examination, 
supervision, and regulation of licensees by the Bureau of 
Financial Institutions. 

AT RICHMOND, APRIL 17, 2009 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. BFI-2009-00276 

Ex Parte: In re: annual fees for 
licensed credit counseling agencies  

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Section 6.1-363.14 of the Credit Counseling Act, § 6.1-
363.2 et seq. of the Code of Virginia, requires licensed credit 
counseling agencies to pay an annual fee calculated in 
accordance with a schedule set by the State Corporation 
Commission ("Commission"). 

The Commission, based upon information supplied by the 
Staff of the Bureau of Financial Institutions, now proposes to 
promulgate a regulation setting a schedule of annual fees that 
will promote the efficient and effective examination, 
supervision, and regulation of licensed credit counseling 
agencies. 

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed regulation, entitled "Schedule of Annual 
Fees for the Examination, Supervision, and Regulation of 
Credit Counseling Agencies," is appended hereto and made 
a part of the record herein. 

(2) Comments or requests for a hearing on the proposed 
regulation must be submitted in writing to Joel H. Peck, 
Clerk, State Corporation Commission, c/o Document 
Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 
23218, on or before May 20, 2009.  Requests for hearing 
shall state why a hearing is necessary and why the issues 
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cannot be adequately addressed in written comments.  All 
correspondence shall contain a reference to Case No. BFI-
2009-00276. 

Interested persons desiring to submit comments or request 
a hearing electronically may do so by following the 
instructions available at the Commission's website:  
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(3) The proposed regulation shall be posted on the 
Commission's website at http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(4) AN ATTESTED COPY hereof, including a copy of the 
proposed regulation, shall be sent by the Commission's 
Division of Information Resources to the Virginia 
Registrar of Regulations for publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent to the 
Commissioner of Financial Institutions, who shall forthwith 
mail a copy of this Order, including a copy of the proposed 
regulation, to all licensed credit counseling agencies and such 
other interested parties as he may designate. 

10VAC5-110-30. Schedule of annual fees for the 
examination, supervision, and regulation of credit 
counseling agencies. 

Pursuant to § 6.1-363.14 of the Code of Virginia, the 
commission sets the following schedule of annual fees to be 
paid by persons licensed under Chapter 10.2 (§ 6.1-363.2 et 
seq.) of Title 6.1 of the Code of Virginia. The fees are to 
defray the costs of examination, supervision, and regulation 
of licensees by the Bureau of Financial Institutions. 

SCHEDULE 

The annual fee shall be $500 plus the following additional 
amount based on the total number of debt management plans 
maintained in Virginia as of December 31 of the calendar 
year preceding the year of assessment: 

Total Number of Debt 
Management Plans Amount 

Less than 501 $5.00 per debt management plan 

501 to 1,000 $4.00 per debt management plan 

1,001 to 2,000 $3.00 per debt management plan 

2,001 to 3,000 $2.50 per debt management plan 

Over 3,000 $2.00 per debt management plan 

The fee assessed using the above schedule shall be rounded 
down to the nearest whole dollar. 

Fees shall be assessed on or before June 1 for the current 
calendar year. The fee shall be paid on or before July 1. 

The annual report, due March 25 each year, of each licensee 
provides the basis for its assessment. In cases where a license 

has been granted between January 1 and March 25 of the year 
of assessment, the licensee’s annual fee shall be $250. 

Fees prescribed and assessed by this schedule are apart 
from, and do not include, the reimbursement for expenses 
permitted by subsection B of § 6.1-363.14 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1919; Filed April 21, 2009, 1:41 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 11. GAMING 

VIRGINIA RACING COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Racing Commission 
is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process 
Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 B 22 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts agency action relating to the types of pari-
mutuel wagering pools available for live or simulcast horse 
racing.  

Title of Regulation: 11VAC10-20. Regulations Pertaining 
to Horse Racing with Pari-Mutuel Wagering (amending 
11VAC10-20-330). 

Statutory Authority: § 59.1-369 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 1, 2009. 

Agency Contact: David S. Lermond, Jr., Regulatory 
Coordinator, Virginia Racing Commission, 10700 
Horsemen's Lane, New Kent, VA 23024, telephone (804) 
966-7404, FAX (804) 966-7418, or email 
david.lermond@vrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment lifts the restriction on trifecta wagering 
being offered on races in which horses with common ties 
have been uncoupled for wagering purposes. The 
amendment will make the regulations in Virginia more 
consistent with those of other jurisdictions in the Mid-
Atlantic region. 

11VAC10-20-330. Multiple wagering.  

A. Generally. Daily double, quinella, exacta, trifecta, 
quinella double, pick (n), twin trifecta, and superfecta pari-
mutuel wagering pools shall be considered "multiple 
wagering." In any race or races, the daily double, quinella, 
exacta, trifecta, quinella double, pick (n), twin trifecta, and 
superfecta pools are treated separately and the distribution of 
the pools are calculated independently of each other. The "net 
pool" to be distributed shall be all sums wagered in the pool, 
less retainage and breakage, as defined elsewhere. 
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B. Daily double pools. The daily double wager is the 
purchase of a pari-mutuel ticket to select the two horses that 
will finish first in the two races specified as the daily double. 
If either of the selections fails to win, the pari-mutuel ticket is 
void, except as otherwise provided. The amount wagered on 
the winning combination, the horse or wagering interest 
which finishes first in the first race coupled with the horse or 
wagering interest finishing first in the second race of the daily 
double, is deducted from the net pool to determine the profit. 
The profit is divided by the amount wagered on the winning 
combination, the quotient being the profit per dollar wagered 
on the winning daily double. The return to the holder includes 
the amount wagered and the profit. In addition, the following 
provisions apply to daily double pools: 

1. If there is a dead heat for first including two different 
wagering interests in one of the two daily double races, the 
daily double pool is distributed as if it were a place pool, 
with one-half of the net pool allocated to wagers 
combining the single winner of one daily double race and 
one of the wagering interests involved in the dead heat in 
the other daily double race, and with the other one-half of 
the net pool allocated to the wagers combining the single 
winner of one daily double race and the other wagering 
interest involved in the dead heat in the other daily double 
race. 

2. If there are dead heats for first involving different 
wagering interests in each of the daily double races which 
result in winning combinations, the net pool shall be 
allocated equally to the winning combinations after first 
deducting from the net pool the amount wagered on all 
winning combinations for proportionate allocation to the 
winning daily double combinations. 

3. If no daily double ticket is sold combining the horse or 
wagering interest which finishes first in one of the daily 
double races, the daily double pool is distributed as if it 
were a win pool, with the net pool allocated to wagering 
combinations which include the horse or wagering interest 
which finished first in one of the daily double races. 

4. If no daily double ticket is sold combining the horses or 
wagering interests which finish first in both the first and 
second race of the daily double, then the winning 
combinations for distribution of the daily double profit 
shall be that combining the horses or wagering interests 
which finished second in each of the daily double races. 

5. If, after daily double wagering has begun, a horse not 
coupled with another as a wagering interest in the first race 
of the daily double is excused by the stewards or is 
prevented from obtaining a fair start, then daily double 
wagers combining the horse shall be deducted from the 
daily double pool and shall be promptly refunded. 

6. If, after the first race of the daily double has been run, a 
horse not coupled with another as a wagering interest in the 

second race of the daily double is excused by the stewards 
or prevented from obtaining a fair start, then daily double 
wagers combining the winner of the first daily double race 
with the horse, which was excused or was prevented from 
obtaining a fair start, shall be allocated a consolation daily 
double. 

7. Consolation daily double payoffs shall be determined by 
dividing the net daily double pool by the amount wagered 
combining the winner of the first daily double race with 
every horse or wagering interest scheduled to start in the 
second daily double race, the quotient being the 
consolation payoff per dollar wagered combining the 
winner of the first daily double race with the horse 
prevented from racing in the second daily double race. The 
return to the holder includes the amount wagered and the 
profit. The consolation payoff shall be deducted from the 
net daily double pool before calculation and allocation of 
wagers on the winning daily double combination. 

8. If for any reason the first race of the daily double is 
cancelled and declared "no contest" a full and complete 
refund shall be promptly made of the daily double pool. 

9. If for any reason the second race of the daily double is 
cancelled and declared "no contest," the net daily double 
pool shall be paid to the holders of daily double tickets 
which include the winner of the first race. If no such ticket 
is sold, then the net daily double pool shall be paid to the 
holders of daily double tickets which include the second 
place horse. If no daily double tickets were sold on the 
second place horse, then the licensee shall make a prompt 
refund. 

C. Quinella pools. The quinella wager is the purchase of a 
pari-mutuel ticket to select the first two horses to finish in the 
race. The order in which the horses finish is immaterial. The 
amount wagered on the winning combination, the first two 
finishers irrespective of which horse finishes first and which 
horse finishes second, is deducted from the net pool to 
determine the profit. The net pool is divided by the amount 
wagered on the winning combination. The return to the holder 
includes the amount wagered and the profit. In addition, the 
following provisions apply to the quinella pools: 

1. If there is a dead heat for first between horses including 
two different wagering interests, the net quinella pool is 
distributed as if no dead heat occurred. If there is a dead 
heat among horses involving three different wagering 
interests, the net quinella pool is distributed as if it were a 
show pool and the pool is allocated to wagers combining 
any of the three horses finishing in the dead heat for first. 

2. If there is a dead heat for second between horses 
including two different wagering interests, the net quinella 
pool is distributed as if it were a place pool and it is 
allocated to wagers combining the first finisher with either 
horse finishing in a dead heat for second. If the dead heat is 
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among horses involving three different wagering interests, 
the net quinella pool is distributed as if it were a show pool 
and it is allocated to wagers combining the first horse with 
each of the three horses finishing in a dead heat for second. 

3. If horses representing a single wagering interest finish 
first and second, the net quinella pool shall be allocated to 
wagers combining the single wagering interest with the 
horse or wagering interest with the horses or wagering 
interest which finishes third. 

4. If no quinella ticket is sold combining the first finisher 
with one of the horses finishing in a dead heat for second, 
then the net quinella pool is allocated to wagers combining 
the first finisher with the other horse finishing in a dead 
heat for second. 

5. If no quinella ticket is sold combining the first finisher 
with either of the horses finishing in a dead heat for 
second, then the net quinella pool is allocated to wagers 
combining the two horses which finished in the dead heat 
for second. 

6. If no quinella ticket is sold combining the first finisher 
with either of the horses finishing in a dead heat for 
second, or combining the two horses which finished in a 
dead heat for second, the net quinella pool is distributed as 
if it were a show pool and it is allocated to wagers 
combining any of the first three finishers with any other 
horses. 

7. If no quinella ticket is sold combining the first two 
finishers, then the net quinella pool shall be distributed as 
if it were a place pool and it is allocated to wagers 
combining the first finisher with any other horses and to 
wagers combining the second finisher with any other 
horse. 

8. If no quinella ticket is sold combining horses or 
wagering interests as would require distribution, a full and 
complete refund shall be made of the entire quinella pool. 

9. If a horse is excused by the stewards, no further quinella 
tickets shall be issued designating that horse, and all 
quinella tickets previously issued designating that horse 
shall be refunded and deducted from the gross pool. 

D. Exacta pools. The exacta wager is the purchase of a pari-
mutuel ticket to select the two horses that will finish first and 
second in a race. Payment of the ticket shall be made only to 
the purchaser who has selected the same order of finish as 
officially posted. The amount wagered on the winning 
combination, the horse finishing first and the horse finishing 
second, in exact order, is the amount to be deducted from the 
net exacta pool to determine the profit. The profit is divided 
by the amount wagered on the winning combination, the 
quotient being the profit per dollar wagered on the winning 
exacta combination. The return to the holder includes the 

amount wagered and the profit. In addition, the following 
provisions apply to the exacta pool: 

1. If no ticket is sold on the winning combination of an 
exacta pool, the net exacta pool shall be distributed equally 
between holders of tickets selecting the winning horse to 
finish first and holders of tickets selecting the second place 
horse to finish second. 

2. If there is a dead heat between two horses for first place, 
the net exacta pool shall be calculated and distributed as a 
place pool, one-half of the net exacta pool being distributed 
to holders of tickets selecting each of the horses in the dead 
heat to finish first with the other horse to finish second. 

In case of a dead heat between two horses for second place, 
the net exacta pool shall be calculated as a place pool, one-
half of the net exacta pool being distributed to holders of 
tickets selecting the horse to finish first and one horse in 
the dead heat, and the other one-half being distributed to 
holders selecting the horse to finish first and the other 
horse in the dead heat. 

3. If there is a dead heat for second place and if no ticket is 
sold on one of the two winning combinations, the entire net 
exacta pool shall be calculated as a win pool and 
distributed to holders of the other winning combination. If 
no tickets combine the winning horse with either of the 
place horses in the dead heat, the net exacta pool shall be 
calculated and distributed as a place pool to holders of 
tickets representing any interest in the net pool. 

4. If an entry finishes first and second, or mutuel field 
horses finish first and second, the net pool shall be 
distributed to holders of tickets selecting the entry to win 
combined with the horses having finished third. 

5. If no ticket is sold that would require distribution of an 
exacta pool, the licensee shall make a complete and full 
refund of the exacta pool. 

6. If a horse is excused by the stewards, no further exacta 
tickets shall be issued designating that horse, and all exacta 
tickets previously issued designating that horse shall be 
refunded and deducted from the gross pool. 

E. Trifecta pools. The trifecta wager is purchase of a pari-
mutuel ticket to select the three horses that will finish first, 
second, and third in a race. Payment of the ticket shall be 
made only to the holder who has selected the same order of 
finish as officially posted. The amount wagered on the 
winning combination, the horse finishing first, the horse 
finishing second, and the horse finishing third, in exact order, 
is deducted from the pool to determine the profit. The profit is 
divided by the amount wagered on the winning combination, 
the quotient being the profit per dollar wagered on the 
winning combination. The return to the holder includes the 
amount wagered and the profit. 
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1. If no ticket is sold on the winning combination, the net 
trifecta pool shall be distributed equally among holders of 
tickets designating the first two horses in order. 

2. If no ticket is sold designating, in order, the first two 
horses, the net trifecta pool shall be distributed equally 
among holders of tickets designating the horse to finish 
first. 

3. If no ticket is sold designating the first horse to win, the 
net trifecta pool shall be distributed equally among holders 
of tickets designating the second and third horses in order. 
If no such ticket is sold, then the licensee shall make a 
prompt refund. 

4. If less than three horses finish, the payout shall be made 
on tickets selecting the actual finishing horses, in order, 
ignoring the balance of the selection. 

5. If there is a dead heat, all trifecta tickets selecting the 
correct order of finish, counting a horse in a dead heat as 
finishing in either position involved in the dead heat, shall 
be winning tickets. The net trifecta pool shall be calculated 
as a place pool. 

6. The uncoupling for wagering purposes of horses having 
common ties is prohibited in races upon which trifecta 
wagering is conducted except for stakes, futurities, and 
other special events. 

7. 6. If a horse is excused by the stewards, no further 
trifecta tickets shall be issued designating that horse, and 
all trifecta tickets previously issued designating the horse 
shall be refunded and deducted from the gross pool. 

F. Quinella double pools. The quinella double requires 
selection of the first two finishers, irrespective of order, in 
each of two specified races. 

1. The net quinella double pool shall be distributed to 
winning wagers in the following precedence, based upon 
the official order of finish: 

a. If a coupled entry or mutuel field finishes as the first 
two contestants in either race, as a single price pool to 
those selecting the coupled entry or mutuel field 
combined with the next separate wagering interest in the 
official order of finish for that race, as well as the first 
two finishers in the alternate quinella double race; 
otherwise 

b. As a single price pool to those who selected the first 
two finishers in each of the two quinella double races; 
but if there are no such wagers, then 

c. As a profit split to those who selected the first two 
finishers in either of the two quinella double races; but if 
there are no such wagers on one of those races, then 

d. As a single price pool to those who selected the first 
two finishers in the one covered quinella double race; but 
if there were no such wagers, then 

e. The entire pool shall be refunded on quinella double 
wagers for those races. 

2. If there is a dead heat for first in either of the two 
quinella double races involving: 

a. Horses representing the same wagering interest, the 
quinella double pool shall be distributed to those 
selecting the coupled entry or mutuel field combined 
with the next separate wagering interest in the official 
order of finish for that race. 

b. Horses representing two wagering interests, the 
quinella double pool shall be distributed as if no dead 
heat occurred. 

c. Horses representing three or more wagering interests, 
the quinella double pool shall be distributed as a profit 
split. 

3. If there is a dead heat for second in either of the quinella 
double races involving horses representing the same 
wagering interest, the quinella double pool shall be 
distributed as if no dead heat occurred. 

4. If there is a dead heat for second in either of the quinella 
double races involving horses representing two or more 
wagering interests, the quinella double pool shall be 
distributed as profit split. 

5. Should a wagering interest in the first half of the 
quinella double be scratched prior to the first quinella pool 
race being declared official, all money wagered on 
combinations including the scratched wagering interest 
shall be deducted from the quinella double pool and 
refunded. 

6. Should a wagering interest in the second half of the 
quinella double be scratched prior to the close of wagering 
on the first quinella double contest, all money wagered on 
combinations including the scratched wagering interest 
shall be deducted from the quinella double pool and 
refunded. 

7. Should a wagering interest in the second half of the 
quinella double be scratched after the close of wagering on 
the first quinella double race, all wagers combining the 
winning combination in the first race with a combination 
including the scratched wagering interest in the second 
race shall be allocated a consolation payout. In calculating 
the consolation payout, the net quinella double pool shall 
be divided by the total amount wagered on the winning 
combination in the first race and an unbroken consolation 
price obtained. The unbroken consolation price is 
multiplied by the dollar value of wagers on the winning 
combination in the first race combined with a combination 
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including the scratched wagering interest in the second 
race to obtain the consolation payout. Breakage is not 
declared in this calculation. The consolation payout is 
deducted from the net quinella double pool before 
calculation and distribution of the winning quinella double 
payout. In the event of a dead heat involving separate 
wagering interests, the net quinella double pool shall be 
distributed as a profit split. 

8. If either of the quinella double races is cancelled prior to 
the first quinella double race or the first quinella double 
race is declared "no contest," the entire quinella double 
pool shall be refunded on quinella double wagers for those 
races. 

9. If the second quinella double race is cancelled or 
declared "no contest" after the conclusion of the first 
quinella double race, the net quinella double pool shall be 
distributed as a single price pool to wagers selecting the 
winning combination in the first quinella double race. If 
there are no wagers selecting the winning combination in 
the first quinella double race, the entire quinella double 
pool shall be refunded on quinella double wagers for those 
races. 

G. Pick (n) pools. The pick (n) pool requires selection of the 
first-place finisher in each of a designated number of races. 
The licensee must obtain approval from the commission or its 
executive secretary concerning the scheduling of pick (n) 
contests, the designation of one of the methods prescribed in 
subdivision 1 of this subsection and the amount of any cap to 
be set on the carryover. Any changes to the approved pick (n) 
format require prior approval from the commission or its 
executive secretary. 

1. The pick (n) pool shall be apportioned under one of the 
following methods: 

a. Method 1, pick (n) with carryover. The net pick (n) 
pool and carryover, if any, shall be distributed as a single 
price pool to those who selected the first-place finisher in 
each of the pick (n) races, based upon the official order 
of finish. If there are no such wagers, then a designated 
percentage of the net pool shall be distributed as a single 
price pool to those who selected the first-place finisher in 
the greatest number of pick (n) races; and the remainder 
shall be added to the carryover. 

b. Method 2, pick (n) with minor pool and carryover. The 
major share of the net pick (n) pool and carryover, if any, 
shall be distributed to those who selected the first-place 
finisher in each of the pick (n) races, based upon the 
official order of finish. The minor share of the net pick 
(n) pool shall be distributed to those who selected the 
first-place finisher in the second greatest number of pick 
(n) races, based upon the official order of finish. If there 
are no wagers selecting the first-place finisher of all pick 
(n) contests, the minor share of the pick (n) pool shall be 

distributed as a single price pool to those who selected 
the first-place finisher in the greatest number of pick (n) 
races; and the major share shall be added to the 
carryover. 

c. Method 3, pick (n) with no minor pool and no 
carryover. The net pick (n) pool shall be distributed as a 
single price pool to those who selected the first-place 
finisher in the greatest number of pick (n) races, based 
upon the official order of finish. If there are no winning 
wagers, the pool is refunded. 

d. Method 4, pick (n) with minor pool and no carryover. 
The major share of the net pick (n) pool shall be 
distributed to those who selected the first place finisher 
in the greatest number of pick (n) races, based upon the 
official order of finish. The minor share of the net pick 
(n) pool shall be distributed to those who selected the 
first-place finisher in the second greatest number of pick 
(n) races, based upon the official order of finish. If there 
are no wagers selecting the first-place finisher in a 
second greatest number of pick (n) races, the minor share 
of the net pick (n) pool shall be combined with the major 
share for distribution as a single price pool to those who 
selected the first-place finisher in the greatest number of 
pick (n) races. If the greatest number of first-place 
finishers selected is one, the major and minor shares are 
combined for distribution as a single price pool. If there 
are no winning wagers, the pool is refunded. 

e. Method 5, pick (n) with minor pool and no carryover. 
The major share of net pick (n) pool shall be distributed 
to those who selected the first-place finisher in each of 
the pick (n) races, based on the official order of finish. 
The minor share of the net pick (n) pool shall be 
distributed to those who selected the first-place finisher 
in the second greatest number of pick (n) races, based 
upon the official order of finish. If there are no wagers 
selecting the first-place finisher in all pick (n) races, the 
entire net pick (n) pool shall be distributed as a single 
price pool to those who selected the first-place finisher in 
the greatest number of pick (n) races. If there are no 
wagers selecting the first-place finisher in a second 
greatest number of pick (n) races, the minor share of the 
pick (n) pool shall be combined with the major share for 
distribution as a single price pool to those who selected 
the first-place finisher in each of the pick (n) races. If 
there are no winning wagers, the pool is refunded. 

f. Method 6, pick (n) with minor pool, jackpot, major 
carryover and jackpot carryover. Predetermined 
percentages of the net pick (n) pool shall be set aside as a 
major pool, minor pool, and jackpot pool. The major 
share of the net pick (n) pool and the major carryover, if 
any, shall be distributed to those who selected the first-
place finisher of each of the pick (n) races, based on the 
official order of finish. If there are no tickets selecting 
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the first-place finisher in each of the pick (n) races, the 
major net pool shall be added to the major carryover. If 
there is only one single ticket selecting the first-place 
finisher of each of the pick (n) races, based on the official 
order of finish, the jackpot share of the net pick (n) pool 
and the jackpot carryover, if any, shall be distributed to 
the holder of that single ticket, along with the major net 
pool and the major carryover, if any. If more than one 
ticket selects the first-place finisher of each of the pick 
(n) races, the jackpot net pool shall be added to the 
jackpot carryover. The minor share of the net pick (n) 
pool shall be distributed to those who selected the first-
place finisher of the second greatest number of pick (n) 
races, based on the official order of finish. If there are no 
wagers selecting the first-place finisher of all pick (n) 
races, the minor net pool of the pick (n) pool shall be 
distributed as a single price pool to those who selected 
the first-place finisher of the greatest number of pick (n) 
races. 

2. If there is a dead heat for first in any of the pick (n) races 
involving: 

a. Horses representing the same wagering interest, the 
pick (n) pool shall be distributed as if no dead heat 
occurred. 

b. Horses representing two or more wagering interests, 
the pick (n) pool shall be distributed as a single price 
pool with each winning wager receiving an equal share 
of the profit. 

3. Should a wagering interest in any of the pick (n) races 
be scratched, the actual favorite, as evidenced by total 
amounts wagered in the win pool at the host track for the 
race at the close of wagering on that race, shall be 
substituted for the scratched wagering interest for all 
purposes, including pool calculations. In the event that the 
win pool total for two or more favorites is identical, the 
substitute selection shall be the wagering interest with the 
lowest program number. The totalizator shall produce 
reports showing each of the wagering combinations with 
substituted wagering interests which became winners as a 
result of the substitution, in addition to the normal winning 
combination. When the condition of the racecourse 
warrants a change of racing surface in any of the legs of a 
pick (n) with four or more races included, and such change 
has not been known to the public prior to the close of 
wagering for the pick (n) pool, the stewards shall declare 
the changed leg(s) an "all win" race(s) for pick (n) 
wagering purposes only. An "all win" race(s) will assign 
the winner of that race(s) to each pick (n) ticket holder as 
their selection for that race. 

4. The pick (n) pool shall be cancelled and pick (n) wagers 
for the individual performance shall be refunded if: 

a. At least two races included as part of a pick three are 
cancelled or declared "no contest." 

b. At least three races included as part of a pick four, pick 
five or pick six are cancelled or declared "no contest." 

c. At least four races included as part of a pick seven, 
pick eight or pick nine are cancelled or declared "no 
contest." 

d. At least five races included as part of a pick 10 are 
cancelled or declared "no contest." 

5. If at least one race included as part of a pick (n) is 
cancelled or declared "no contest," but not more than the 
number specified in subdivision 4 of this subsection, the 
net pool shall be distributed as a single price pool to those 
whose selection finished first in the greatest number of 
pick (n) races for that program. The distribution shall 
include the portion ordinarily retained for the pick (n) 
carryover but not the carryover from previous 
performances. 

6. The pick (n) carryover may be capped at a designated 
level approved by the commission so that if, at the close of 
any program, the amount in the pick (n) carryover equals 
or exceeds the designated cap, the pick (n) carryover will 
be frozen until it is won or distributed under other 
provisions of this chapter. After the pick (n) carryover is 
frozen, 100% of the net pool, part of which ordinarily 
would be added to the pick (n) carryover, shall be 
distributed to those whose selection finished first in the 
greatest number of pick (n) races for that program. 

7. A licensee may request permission from the commission 
to distribute the pick (n) carryover on a specific program. 
The request must contain justification for the distribution, 
an explanation of the benefit to be derived and the intended 
date and program for the distribution. 

8. Should the pick (n) carryover be designated for 
distribution on a specified date and performance in which 
there are no wagers selecting the first-place finisher in each 
of the pick (n) races, the entire pool shall be distributed as 
a single price pool to those whose selection finished first in 
the greatest number of pick (n) races. The pick (n) 
carryover shall be designated for distribution on a specified 
date and program only under the following circumstances: 

a. Upon approval from the commission as provided in 
subdivision 7 of this subsection; 

b. Upon approval from the commission when there is a 
change in the carryover cap, a change from one type of 
pick (n) wagering to another, or when the pick (n) is 
discontinued; 

c. On the closing program of a race meeting. 

9. If, for any reason, the pick (n) carryover must be held to 
the corresponding pick (n) pool to a subsequent race 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 18 Virginia Register of Regulations May 11, 2009 

3168 

meeting, the carryover shall be deposited in an interest-
bearing account approved by the commission. The pick (n) 
carryover plus accrued interest shall then be added to the 
net pick (n) pool on a date and program of the race meeting 
designated by the commission. 

10. With the approval of the commission, a licensee may 
contribute to the pick (n) carryover a sum of money up to 
the amount of any designated cap. 

11. Providing information to any person regarding the 
covered combinations, amounts wagered on specific 
combinations, number of tickets sold or number of live 
tickets remaining is strictly prohibited. This chapter shall 
not prohibit necessary communication between totalizator 
and mutuel employees for processing of pool data. 

12. The licensee may suspend previously approved pick (n) 
wagering with the approval of the commission. Any 
carryover shall be held until the suspended pick (n) 
wagering is reinstated. The licensee may request approval 
of a pick (n) wager or separate wagering pool for specific 
programs. 

H. Superfecta pools. The superfecta pool requires selection 
of the first four finishers, in their exact order, for a single 
race. 

1. The net superfecta pool shall be distributed to winning 
wagers in the following precedence based upon the official 
order of finish: 

a. As a single price pool to those whose combination 
finished in correct sequence as the first four wagering 
interests; but if there are no such wagers, then 

b. As a single price pool to those whose combination 
included, in correct sequence, the first three wagering 
interests; but if there are no such wagers, then 

c. As a single price pool to those whose combination 
included, in correct sequence, the first two wagering 
interests; but if there are no such wagers, then 

d. As a single price pool to those whose combination 
correctly selected the first-place wagering interest only; 
but if there are no such wagers, then 

e. The entire pool shall be refunded on superfecta wagers 
for that race. 

2. If less than four wagering interests finish and the race is 
declared official, payouts will be made based upon the 
order of finish of those wagering interests completing the 
race. The balance of any selection beyond the number of 
wagering interests completing the race shall be ignored. 

3. If there is a dead heat for first involving: 

a. Horses representing four or more wagering interests, 
all of the wagering combinations selecting four wagering 
interests which correspond with any of the wagering 

interests involved in the dead heat shall share in a profit 
split. 

b. Horses representing three wagering interests, all of the 
wagering combinations selecting the three dead-heated 
wagering interests, irrespective of order, along with the 
fourth-place wagering interest shall share in a profit split. 

c. Horses representing two wagering interests, both of the 
wagering combinations selecting the two dead-heated 
wagering interests, irrespective of order, along with the 
third and fourth-place wagering interests shall share in a 
profit split. 

4. If there is a dead heat for second involving: 

a. Horses representing three or more wagering interests, 
all of the wagering combinations correctly selecting the 
winner combined with any of the three wagering interests 
involved in the dead heat for second shall share in a 
profit split. 

b. Horses representing two wagering interests, all of the 
wagering combinations correctly selecting the winner, 
the two dead-heated wagering interests, irrespective of 
order, and the fourth-place wagering interest shall share 
in a profit split. 

5. If there is a dead heat for third, all wagering 
combinations correctly selecting the first two finishers, in 
correct sequence, along with any two of the wagering 
interests involved in the dead heat for fourth shall share in 
a profit split. 

6. If there is a dead heat for fourth, all wagering 
combinations correctly selecting the first three finishers, in 
correct sequence, along with any of the wagering interests 
involved in the dead heat for fourth shall share in a profit 
split. 

I. Twin trifecta pools. The twin trifecta pool requires 
selection of the first three finishers in their exact order, in 
each of two designated races. Each winning ticket for the first 
twin trifecta race must be exchanged for a free ticket on the 
second twin trifecta race in order to remain eligible for the 
second-half twin trifecta pool. The tickets may be exchanged 
only at attended windows prior to the second twin trifecta 
race. Winning first-half twin trifecta wagers will receive both 
an exchange and a monetary payout. Both of the designated 
twin trifecta races shall be included in only one twin trifecta 
pool. 

1. After wagering closes for the first-half of the twin 
trifecta and retainage has been deducted from the pool, the 
net pool shall then be divided into separate pools: the first-
half twin trifecta pool and the second-half twin trifecta 
pool. 
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2. In the first twin trifecta race only, winning wagers shall 
be determined using the following precedence, based upon 
the official order of finish for the first twin trifecta race: 

a. As a single price pool to those whose combination 
finished in correct sequence as the first three wagering 
interests; but if there is no winning wager, then 

b. As a single price pool to those whose combination 
included, in correct sequence, the first two wagering 
interests; but if there is no winning wager, then 

c. As a single price pool to those whose combination 
correctly selected the first-place wagering interest only; 
but if there is no winning wager, then 

d. The entire twin trifecta pool shall be refunded to twin 
trifecta wagers for that race and the second-half race 
shall be cancelled. 

3. If no first-half twin trifecta ticket selects the first three 
finishers of that race in exact order, winning ticket holders 
shall not receive any exchange tickets for the second-half 
twin trifecta pool. In this case, the second-half twin trifecta 
pool shall be retained and added to any existing twin 
trifecta carryover pool. 

4. Winning tickets from the first-half of the twin trifecta 
shall be exchanged for tickets selecting the first three 
finishers of the second-half of the twin trifecta. The 
second-half twin trifecta pool shall be distributed to 
winning wagers in the following precedence, based upon 
the official order of finish for the second twin trifecta race: 

a. As a single price pool, including any existing 
carryover moneys, to those whose combination finished 
in correct sequence as the first three wagering interests; 
but if there are no winning tickets, then 

b. The entire second-half twin trifecta pool for that race 
shall be added to any existing carryover moneys and 
retained for the corresponding second-half twin trifecta 
pool of the next consecutive program. 

5. If a winning first-half twin trifecta ticket is not presented 
for cashing and exchange prior to the second-half twin 
trifecta race, the ticket holder may still collect the 
monetary value associated with the first-half twin trifecta 
pool but forfeits all rights to any distribution of the second-
half twin trifecta pool. 

6. Should a wagering interest in the first-half of the twin 
trifecta be scratched, those twin trifecta wagers including 
the scratched wagering shall be refunded. 

7. Should a wagering interest in the second-half of the twin 
trifecta be scratched, announcement concerning the scratch 
shall be made and a reasonable amount of time shall be 
provided for exchange of tickets that include the scratched 
wagering interest. If tickets have not been exchanged prior 
to the close of wagering of the second twin trifecta race, 

the ticket holder forfeits all rights to the second-half twin 
trifecta pool. However, if the scratch in the second-half of 
the twin trifecta occurs five minutes or less prior to post 
time, then the licensee shall have discretion to cancel all 
twin trifecta wagers and make a prompt refund. 

8. If, due to a late scratch, the number of wagering interests 
in the second-half of the twin trifecta is reduced to fewer 
than the minimum, all exchange tickets and outstanding 
first-half winning tickets shall be entitled to the second-
half twin trifecta pool for that contest as a single price 
pool, but not the twin trifecta carryover. 

9. If there is a dead heat or multiple dead heats in either the 
first or second-half of the twin trifecta, all twin trifecta 
wagers selecting the correct order of finish, counting a 
wagering interest involved in a dead heat as finishing in 
any dead-heated position, shall be a winner. In the case of 
a dead heat occurring in: 

a. The first-half of the twin trifecta, the payout shall be 
calculated as a profit split; and 

b. The second-half of the twin trifecta, the payout shall 
be calculated as a single price pool. 

10. If either of the twin trifecta races are cancelled prior to 
the first twin trifecta race or the first twin trifecta race is 
declared "no contest," the entire twin trifecta pool shall be 
refunded in twin trifecta wagers for that race and the 
second-half shall be cancelled. 

11. If the second-half twin trifecta race is cancelled or 
declared "no contest," all exchange tickets and outstanding 
first-half winning twin trifecta tickets shall be entitled to 
the net twin trifecta pool for that race as a single price 
pool, but not twin trifecta carryover. If there are no such 
tickets, the net twin trifecta pool shall be distributed as 
described in subdivision 3 of this subsection. 

12. The twin trifecta carryover may be capped at a 
designated level approved by the commission so that if, at 
the close of any program, the amount in the twin trifecta 
carryover equals or exceeds the designated cap, the twin 
trifecta carryover will be frozen until it is won or 
distributed under other provisions of this chapter. After the 
twin trifecta carryover is frozen, 100% of the net twin 
trifecta pool for each individual race shall be distributed to 
winners of the first-half of the twin trifecta pool. 

13. A written request for permission to distribute the twin 
trifecta carryover on a specific program may be submitted 
to the commission. The request must contain justification 
for the distribution, an explanation of the benefit to be 
derived and the intended date and program for the 
distribution. 

14. Should the twin trifecta carryover be designated for 
distribution on a specified date and program, the following 
precedence will be followed in determining winning tickets 
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for the second-half of the twin trifecta after completion of 
the first-half of the twin trifecta: 

a. As a single price pool to those whose combination 
finished in correct sequence as the first three wagering 
interests; but if there are no such wagers, then 

b. As a single price pool to those whose combination 
included, in correct sequence, the first two wagering 
interests; but if there are no such wagers, then 

c. As a single price pool to those whose combination 
correctly selected the first-place wagering interest only; 
but if there are no such wagers, then 

d. As a single price pool to holders of valid exchange 
tickets. 

e. As a single price pool to holders of outstanding first-
half winning tickets. 

15. During a program designated by the commission to 
distribute the twin trifecta carryover, exchange tickets will 
be issued for those combinations selecting the greatest 
number of wagering interests in their correct order of finish 
for the first-half of the twin trifecta. If there are no wagers 
correctly selecting the first, second or third-place finishers, 
in their exact order, then exchange tickets shall be issued 
for combinations correctly selecting the first and second-
place wagering interests. If there are no wagers correctly 
selecting the first and second place finishers, in their exact 
order, then exchange tickets shall be issued for 
combinations correctly selecting the first-place wagering 
interest only. If there are no wagers selecting the first-place 
wagering interest only in the first-half of the twin trifecta, 
all first-half tickets will become winners and will receive 
100% of that day's net twin trifecta pool and any existing 
twin trifecta carryover. 

16. The twin trifecta carryover shall be designated for 
distribution on a specified date and program only under the 
following circumstances: 

a. Upon written approval from the commission as 
provided in subdivision 14 of this subsection. 

b. Upon written approval from the commission when 
there is a change in the carryover cap or when the twin 
trifecta is discontinued. 

c. On the closing program of the race meeting. 

17. If, for any reason, the twin trifecta carryover must be 
held over to the corresponding twin trifecta pool of a 
subsequent meet, the carryover shall be deposited in an 
interest-bearing account approved by the commission. The 
twin trifecta carryover plus accrued interest shall then be 
added to the second-half twin trifecta pool of the following 
meet on a date and program so designated by the 
commission. 

18. Providing information to any person regarding covered 
combinations, amounts wagered on specific combinations, 
number of tickets sold or number of valid exchange tickets 
is prohibited. This shall not prohibit necessary 
communication between totalizator and pari-mutuel 
department employees for processing of pool data. 

19. The licensee must obtain written approval from the 
commission concerning the scheduling of twin trifecta 
contests, the percentages of the net pool added to the first-
half pool and second-half pool, and the amount of any cap 
to be set on the carryover. Any changes to the approved 
twin trifecta format require prior approval from the 
commission.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1931; Filed April 22, 2009, 11:31 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Racing Commission 
is exempt from the Administrative Process Act pursuant to 
subdivision A 18 of § 2.2-4002 of the Code of Virginia (i) 
when acting by and through its duly appointed stewards or in 
matters related to any specific race meeting or (ii) in 
promulgating technical rules regulating actual live horse 
racing at race meetings licensed by the commission. 

Title of Regulation: 11VAC10-110. Entries (amending 
11VAC10-110-90).  

Statutory Authority: § 59.1-369 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Agency Contact: David S. Lermond, Jr., Regulatory 
Coordinator, Virginia Racing Commission, 10700 
Horsemen's Lane, New Kent, VA 23024, telephone (804) 
966-7404, FAX (804) 966-7418, or email 
david.lermond@vrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed admendments lift the requirement that 
horses with common ties through ownership must be 
coupled in thoroughbred stakes races with purse 
amounts of $50,000 or higher. These amendments will 
make the regulations in Virginia more consistent with 
those of other jurisdictions in the Mid-Atlantic region. 

11VAC10-110-90. Coupling. 

All horses entered in the same race and owned wholly or 
partially by the same owner or spouse or other common 
ownership ties shall be joined as a mutuel entry and shall 
constitute a single wagering interest, except as provided for in 
subdivision 7 of this section. No trainer shall enter more than 
two horses in a an overnight race except in split races. No 
trainer of any horse shall have any ownership interest or lease 
interest in any other horse in the same race unless such horses 
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are coupled as a single wagering interest. The following 
provisions shall apply to mutuel entries: 

1. The racing secretary shall be responsible for coupling 
entries for wagering purposes; 

2. No more than two horses having common ties through 
ownership, which would result in a mutuel entry and a 
single wagering interest, may be entered in an overnight 
race; 

3. When two horses having common ties through 
ownership are entered in an overnight race, preference 
shall be given to the horse with the earliest preference date 
or the most stars; 

4. Two horses having common ties through ownership 
shall not start as a mutuel entry in an overnight race to the 
exclusion of another horse nor shall a trainer be permitted 
to run two horses in a race to the exclusion of another 
horse; 

5. The racing secretary shall be responsible for assigning 
horses to the mutuel field when the number of wagering 
interests exceeds the numbering capacity of the totalizator 
system infield tote board; and 

6. The uncoupling of two horses having common ties 
through training is subject to the approval of the trainer. In 
an overnight race, the racing secretary may uncouple 
entries having common ties through training; and 

7. In any thoroughbred stakes race with added or 
guaranteed money of $50,000 or more, the racing secretary 
may uncouple mutuel entries of horses sharing common 
ties through training or ownership or both. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1929; Filed April 22, 2009, 11:32 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 13. HOUSING 

VIRGINIA HOUSING DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 

Proposed Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Housing 
Development Authority is exempt from the Administrative 
Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) 
pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 4; however, under the provisions of 
§ 2.2-4031, it is required to publish all proposed and final 
regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC10-40. Rules and Regulations 
for Single Family Mortgage Loans to Persons and 
Families of Low and Moderate Income (amending 
13VAC10-40-20, 13VAC10-40-40, 13VAC10-40-50, 
13VAC10-40-120, 13VAC10-40-130, 13VAC10-40-140, 
13VAC10-40-160, 13VAC10-40-170, 13VAC10-40-220). 

Statutory Authority: § 36-55.30.3 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

May 19, 2009 - 10 a.m. - Virginia Housing Development 
Authority, 601 S. Belvidere Street, Richmond, VA 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on May 18, 2009. 

Agency Contact: J. Judson McKellar, Jr., General Counsel, 
Virginia Housing Development Authority, 601 S. Belvidere 
Street, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 343-5540 or 
email judson.mckellar@vhda.com. 

Summary: 

To address potential sale of single family mortgage loans to 
investors, the amended regulations provide that:  

1. The authority may apply the tax exempt financing 
requirements and restrictions (e.g. first-time homebuyer 
restrictions, maximum incomes and maximum sales 
price) to mortgage loans that are not financed with tax 
exempt bonds;  

2. Investor underwriting guidelines that are more 
stringent than authority guidelines will apply to loans 
investors will purchase; and  

3. The reservation period (currently 60 days) may be 
shortened to meet investor loan delivery deadlines.  

The following amendments are proposed to the FHA Plus 
program:  

1. The authority's FHA Plus second loan may be 
combined with an FHA first mortgage loan financed by a 
lender other than VHDA;  

2. Flexibility is provided to lower the maximum amount 
of the FHA Plus second loan below the standard 5.0% of 
the lesser of appraised value or sales price;  

3. If the authority is not making the FHA first mortgage 
loan, the authority may require that the FHA Plus first 
loan meet the authority's underwriting guidelines;  

4. Flexibility is provided to impose more stringent 
underwriting criteria on the FHA Plus second loan than 
are applicable to the FHA Plus first loan;  

5. The authority may charge an origination fee and/or a 
discount point on the FHA plus loan in an amount 
determined by the executive director to be necessary to 
compensate the authority for originating, processing, and 
closing the FHA plus loan, if the first deed of trust is to 
be financed by another lender;  

6. The sum of all liens may not exceed 100% the cost to 
acquire the property (the cost to acquire the property is 
the sales price plus allowable borrower paid closing 
costs, discount points, and prepaid expenses); and  
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7. The FHA insured first mortgage when combined with 
the FHA plus second mortgage and any other liens may 
not result in cash back to the borrower.  

In underwriting FHA, VA, and RD loans, the authority may 
impose its more stringent borrower's employment, income, 
and credit requirement on loans that otherwise would be 
subject only to the applicable insurer or guarantor's 
requirements.  

In order to address investor requirements, the regulations are 
amended to provide that the authority's single family 
mortgage loans are assumable only if permitted by the 
authority. For example, Fannie Mae guidelines do not permit 
loans to be assumed. An exception is provided for loans (such 
as FHA loans) that are assumable in accordance with insurer 
or guarantor guidelines or applicable law.  

The authority may require that the company issuing private 
mortgage insurance insuring an authority mortgage loan have 
a Moody's Investors Service Insurance Financial Strength 
rating not lower than Aa3 or a Standard & Poor's Ratings 
Services Financial Strength rating not lower than AA-. 

The authority may impose a minimum credit score 
requirement for borrowers if the authority determines that 
such a requirement is standard and customary in the single 
family mortgage loan industry and is necessary to protect the 
authority's financial interests. 

13VAC10-40-20. Origination and servicing of mortgage 
loans. 

A. The originating of mortgage loans and the processing of 
applications for the making or financing thereof in 
accordance herewith shall, except as noted in subsection G of 
this section, be performed through commercial banks, savings 
and loan associations, private mortgage bankers, 
redevelopment and housing authorities, and agencies of local 
government approved as originating agents ("originating 
agents") of the authority. The servicing of mortgage loans 
shall, except as noted in subsection H of this section, be 
performed through commercial banks, savings and loan 
associations and private mortgage bankers approved as 
servicing agents ("servicing agents") of the authority.  

To be initially approved as an originating agent or as a 
servicing agent and to continue to be so approved, the 
applicant must meet the following qualifications:  

1. Be authorized to do business in the Commonwealth of 
Virginia and be licensed as a mortgage lender or broker, as 
applicable, under the Virginia Mortgage Lender and 
Broker Act as set forth in Chapter 16 (§ 6.1-408 et seq.) of 
Title 6.1 of the Code of Virginia (including nonprofit 
corporations that may be exempt from licensing when 
making mortgage loans on their own behalf under 
subdivision 4 of § 6.1-411 of the Code of Virginia); 

provided, however, that such licensing requirement shall 
not apply to persons exempt from licensure under: 

a. Subdivision 2 of § 6.1-411 of the Code of Virginia 
(any person subject to the general supervision of or 
subject to examination by the Commissioner of the 
Bureau of Financial Institutions of the Virginia State 
Corporation Commission);  

b. Subdivision 3 of § 6.1-411 of the Code of Virginia 
(any lender authorized to engage in business as a bank, 
savings institution or credit union under the laws of the 
United States, any state or territory of the United States, 
or the District of Columbia, and subsidiaries and 
affiliates of such entities, which lender, subsidiary or 
affiliate is subject to the general supervision or regulation 
of or subject to audit or examination by a regulatory body 
or agency of the United States, any state or territory of 
the United States, or the District of Columbia); or 

c. Subdivision 5 of § 6.1-411 of the Code of Virginia 
(agencies of the federal government, or any state or 
municipal government, or any quasi-governmental 
agency making or brokering mortgage loans under the 
specific authority of the laws of any state or the United 
States). 

2. Have a net worth equal to or in excess of $500,000 or 
such other amount as the executive director shall from time 
to time deem appropriate, except that this qualification 
requirement shall not apply to redevelopment and housing 
authorities and agencies of local government;  

3. Have a staff with demonstrated ability and experience in 
mortgage loan origination, underwriting, processing and 
closing (in the case of an originating agent applicant) or 
servicing (in the case of a servicing agent applicant);  

4. To be approved as an originating agent, have a physical 
office located in Virginia that is open to the general public 
during commercially reasonable business hours, staffed 
with individuals qualified to take mortgage loan 
applications, and to which the general public may 
physically go to make an application for a mortgage loan; 

5. To be approved as an originating agent, be eligible to, 
and have a staff qualified to (as set forth in subdivision 3 of 
this subsection), originate mortgage loans under all of the 
authority's single-family mortgage loan programs (not 
including the Rural Development loan program); 

6. Have a fidelity bond and mortgage errors and omissions 
coverage in an amount at least equal to $500,000 and 
provide the authority a certificate from the insurance 
carrier naming the authority as a party in interest to the 
bond, or the policies or bonds shall name the authority as 
one of the parties insured. The policy's deductible clause 
may be for any amount up to the greater of $100,000 or 
5.0% of the face amount of the policy; 
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7. Have a past history of satisfactory performance in the 
authority's and other mortgage lenders', insurers', 
guarantors' and investors' mortgage programs that, in the 
determination of the executive director, demonstrates that 
the applicant will be capable of meeting its obligations 
under the authority's programs, and provided further that, 
any applicant that has been previously terminated as an 
originating by the Authority shall not be eligible to reapply 
for 24 months after the effective date of such termination; 
and 

8. Meet such other qualifications as the executive director 
shall deem to be related to the performance of its duties 
and responsibilities. 

Notwithstanding the foregoing, any applicant that has been 
approved and has entered into a servicing or origination 
agreement as of November 13, 2007, but that does not meet 
the above requirements, shall have until March 31, 2009, to 
comply with such requirements. 

Notwithstanding the foregoing, in the event that the 
executive director determines that it is reasonable or 
necessary (after taking into consideration the number of 
existing origination and servicing agents, the current and 
expected level of loan production and demand for mortgage 
loans, and the current and expected resources available to the 
authority to make mortgage loans) to cease approving 
additional originating and servicing agents, the authority may 
at any time decline to accept further applications and to 
approve applications previously submitted. 

Each originating agent approved by the authority shall enter 
into an originating agreement ("originating agreement"), with 
the authority containing such terms and conditions as the 
executive director shall require with respect to the origination 
and processing of mortgage loans hereunder. Each servicing 
agent approved by the authority shall enter into a servicing 
agreement with the authority containing such terms and 
conditions as the executive director shall require with respect 
to the servicing of mortgage loans.  

An applicant may be approved as both an originating agent 
and a servicing agent ("originating and servicing agent"). 
Each originating and servicing agent shall enter into both an 
originating agreement and a servicing agreement.  

Once such agreements are executed, continued participation 
in the authority's programs shall be subject to the terms and 
conditions in such agreements. 

For the purposes of this chapter, the term "originating agent" 
shall hereinafter be deemed to include the term "originating 
and servicing agent," unless otherwise noted or the context 
indicates otherwise. The term "servicing agent" shall continue 
to mean an agent authorized only to service mortgage loans.  

Originating agents and servicing agents shall maintain 
adequate books and records with respect to mortgage loans 

which they originate and process or service, as applicable, 
shall permit the authority to examine such books and records, 
and shall submit to the authority such reports (including 
annual financial statements) and information as the authority 
may require. The fees payable to the originating agents and 
servicing agents for originating and processing or for 
servicing mortgage loans hereunder shall be established from 
time to time by the executive director and shall be set forth in 
the originating agreements and servicing agreements 
applicable to such originating agents and servicing agents.  

B. The executive director shall allocate funds for the making 
or financing of mortgage loans hereunder in such manner, to 
such persons and entities, in such amounts, for such period, 
and subject to such terms and conditions as he shall deem 
appropriate to best accomplish the purposes and goals of the 
authority. Without limiting the foregoing, the executive 
director may allocate funds (i) to mortgage loan applicants on 
a first-come, first-serve or other basis, (ii) to originating 
agents and state and local government agencies and 
instrumentalities for the origination of mortgage loans to 
qualified applicants and/or (iii) to builders for the permanent 
financing of residences constructed or rehabilitated or to be 
constructed or rehabilitated by them and to be sold to 
qualified applicants. In determining how to so allocate the 
funds, the executive director may consider such factors as he 
deems relevant, including any of the following:  

1. The need for the expeditious commitment and 
disbursement of such funds for mortgage loans;  

2. The need and demand for the financing of mortgage 
loans with such funds in the various geographical areas of 
the Commonwealth;  

3. The cost and difficulty of administration of the 
allocation of funds;  

4. The capability, history and experience of any originating 
agents, state and local governmental agencies and 
instrumentalities, builders, or other persons and entities 
(other than mortgage loan applicants) who are to receive an 
allocation; and  

5. Housing conditions in the Commonwealth.  

In the event that the executive director shall determine to 
make allocations of funds to builders as described above, the 
following requirements must be satisfied by each such 
builder:  

1. The builder must have a valid contractor's license in the 
Commonwealth;  

2. The builder must have at least three years' experience of 
a scope and nature similar to the proposed construction or 
rehabilitation; and  
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3. The builder must submit to the authority plans and 
specifications for the proposed construction or 
rehabilitation which are acceptable to the authority.  

The executive director may from time to time take such 
action as he may deem necessary or proper in order to solicit 
applications for allocation of funds hereunder. Such actions 
may include advertising in newspapers and other media, 
mailing of information to prospective applicants and other 
members of the public, and any other methods of public 
announcement which the executive director may select as 
appropriate under the circumstances. The executive director 
may impose requirements, limitations and conditions with 
respect to the submission of applications as he shall consider 
necessary or appropriate. The executive director may cause 
market studies and other research and analyses to be 
performed in order to determine the manner and conditions 
under which funds of the authority are to be allocated and 
such other matters as he shall deem appropriate relating 
thereto. The authority may also consider and approve 
applications for allocations of funds submitted from time to 
time to the authority without any solicitation therefor on the 
part of the authority.  

C. This chapter constitutes a portion of the originating guide 
of the authority. The processing originating guide and all 
exhibits and other documents referenced herein are not 
included in, and shall not be deemed to be a part of this 
chapter. The executive director is authorized to prepare and 
from time to time revise a processing an originating guide and 
a servicing guide which shall set forth the accounting and 
other procedures to be followed by all originating agents and 
servicing agents responsible for the origination, closing and 
servicing of mortgage loans under the applicable originating 
agreements and servicing agreements. Copies of the 
processing originating guide and the servicing guide shall be 
available upon request. The executive director shall be 
responsible for the implementation and interpretation of the 
provisions of the originating guide (including the processing 
originating guide) and the servicing guide.  

D. The authority may from time to time (i) make mortgage 
loans directly to mortgagors with the assistance and services 
of its originating agents and (ii) agree to purchase individual 
mortgage loans from its originating agents or servicing agents 
upon the consummation of the closing thereof. The review 
and processing of applications for such mortgage loans, the 
issuance of mortgage loan commitments therefor, the closing 
and servicing (and, if applicable, the purchase) of such 
mortgage loans, and the terms and conditions relating to such 
mortgage loans shall be governed by and shall comply with 
the provisions of the applicable originating agreement or 
servicing agreement, the originating guide, the servicing 
guide, the Act and this chapter.  

If the applicant and the application for a mortgage loan meet 
the requirements of the Act and this chapter, the executive 

director may issue on behalf of the authority a mortgage loan 
commitment to the applicant for the financing of the single 
family dwelling unit. Such mortgage loan commitment shall 
be issued only upon the determination of the authority that 
such a mortgage loan is not otherwise available from private 
lenders upon reasonably equivalent terms and conditions, and 
such determination shall be set forth in the mortgage loan 
commitment. The original principal amount and term of such 
mortgage loan, the amortization period, the terms and 
conditions relating to the prepayment thereof, and such other 
terms, conditions and requirements as the executive director 
deems necessary or appropriate shall be set forth or 
incorporated in the mortgage loan commitment issued on 
behalf of the authority with respect to such mortgage loan.  

E. The authority may purchase from time to time existing 
mortgage loans with funds held or received in connection 
with bonds issued by the authority prior to January 1, 1981, 
or with other funds legally available therefor. With respect to 
any such purchase, the executive director may request and 
solicit bids or proposals from the authority's originating 
agents and servicing agents for the sale and purchase of such 
mortgage loans, in such manner, within such time period and 
subject to such terms and conditions as he shall deem 
appropriate under the circumstances. The sales prices of the 
single family housing units financed by such mortgage loans, 
the gross family incomes of the mortgagors thereof, and the 
original principal amounts of such mortgage loans shall not 
exceed such limits as the executive director shall establish, 
subject to approval or ratification by resolution of the board. 
The executive director may take such action as he deems 
necessary or appropriate to solicit offers to sell mortgage 
loans, including mailing of the request to originating agents 
and servicing agents, advertising in newspapers or other 
publications and any other method of public announcement 
which he may select as appropriate under the circumstances. 
After review and evaluation by the executive director of the 
bids or proposals, he shall select those bids or proposals that 
offer the highest yield to the authority on the mortgage loans 
(subject to any limitations imposed by law on the authority) 
and that best conform to the terms and conditions established 
by him with respect to the bids or proposals. Upon selection 
of such bids or proposals, the executive director shall issue 
commitments to the selected originating agents and servicing 
agents to purchase the mortgage loans, subject to such terms 
and conditions as he shall deem necessary or appropriate. 
Upon satisfaction of the terms of the commitments, the 
executive director shall execute such agreements and 
documents and take such other action as may be necessary or 
appropriate in order to consummate the purchase and sale of 
the mortgage loans. The mortgage loans so purchased shall be 
serviced in accordance with the applicable originating 
agreement or servicing agreement and the servicing guide. 
Such mortgage loans and the purchase thereof shall in all 
respects comply with the Act and the authority's rules and 
regulations.  
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F. The executive director may, in his discretion, delegate to 
one or more originating agents all or some of the 
responsibility for underwriting, issuing commitments for 
mortgage loans and disbursing the proceeds hereof without 
prior review and approval by the authority. The executive 
director may delegate to one or more servicing agents all or 
some of the responsibility for underwriting and issuing 
commitments for the assumption of existing authority 
mortgage loans without prior review and approval by the 
authority. If the executive director determines to make any 
such delegation, he shall establish criteria under which 
originating agents may qualify for such delegation. If such 
delegation has been made, the originating agents shall submit 
all required documentation to the authority at such time as the 
authority may require. If the executive director determines 
that a mortgage loan does not comply with any requirement 
under the originating guide, the applicable originating 
agreement, the Act or this chapter for which the originating 
agent was delegated responsibility, he may require the 
originating agents to purchase such mortgage loan, subject to 
such terms and conditions as he may prescribe.  

G. The authority may utilize financial institutions, mortgage 
brokers and other private firms and individuals and 
governmental entities ("field originators") approved by the 
authority for the purpose of receiving applications for 
mortgage loans. To be approved as a field originator, the 
applicant must meet the following qualifications:  

1. Be authorized to do business in the Commonwealth of 
Virginia;  

2. Have made any necessary filings or registrations and 
have received any and all necessary approvals or licenses 
in order to receive applications for mortgage loans in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia;  

3. Have the demonstrated ability and experience in the 
receipt and processing of mortgage loan applications; and  

4. Have such other qualifications as the executive director 
shall deem to be related to the performance of its duties 
and responsibilities.  

Each field originator approved by the authority shall enter 
into such agreement as the executive director shall require 
with respect to the receipt of applications for mortgage loans. 
Field originators shall perform such of the duties and 
responsibilities of originating agents under this chapter as the 
authority may require in such agreement.  

Field originators shall maintain adequate books and records 
with respect to mortgage loans for which they accept 
applications, shall permit the authority to examine such books 
and records, and shall submit to the authority such reports and 
information as the authority may require. The fees to the field 
originators for accepting applications shall be payable in such 
amount and at such time as the executive director shall 
determine.  

In the case of mortgage loans for which applications are 
received by field originators, the authority may process and 
originate the mortgage loans; accordingly, unless otherwise 
expressly provided, the provisions of this chapter requiring 
the performance of any action by originating agents shall not 
be applicable to the origination and processing by the 
authority of such mortgage loans, and any or all of such 
actions may be performed by the authority on its own behalf.  

H. The authority may service mortgage loans for which the 
applications were received by field originators or any 
mortgage loan which, in the determination of the authority, 
originating agents and servicing agents will not service on 
terms and conditions acceptable to the authority or for which 
the originating agent or servicing agent has agreed to 
terminate the servicing thereof.  

13VAC10-40-40. Compliance with certain requirements of 
the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended ("the tax 
code"). 

The tax code imposes certain requirements and restrictions 
on the eligibility of mortgagors and residences for financing 
with the proceeds of tax-exempt bonds (as well as 
requirements and restrictions on the assumption of mortgage 
loans so financed). In order to comply with these federal 
requirements and restrictions, the authority has established 
certain procedures which must be performed by the 
originating agent in order to determine such eligibility. The 
eligibility requirements for the borrower or the borrowers and 
the dwelling are described below as well as the procedures to 
be performed. The originating agent will perform these 
procedures and evaluate a borrower's or borrowers' eligibility 
prior to the authority's approval of each loan. No loan will be 
approved by the authority unless all of the federal eligibility 
requirements are met as well as the usual requirements of the 
authority set forth in other parts of this originating guide.  

The executive director may apply some or all of the above-
referenced tax exempt bond requirements and restrictions to 
authority mortgage loans that are not funded with tax exempt 
bonds if the executive director determines that such 
requirement and restrictions are necessary to enable the 
authority to effectively and efficiently allocate its current and 
anticipated financial resources so as to best meet the current 
and future housing needs of the citizens throughout the 
Commonwealth. 

13VAC10-40-50. Eligible borrowers.  

A. In order to be considered eligible for an authority 
mortgage loan, an applicant must, among other things, meet 
all of the following federal criteria:  

1. Each applicant must not have had a present ownership 
interest in his principal residence within the three years 
preceding the date of execution of the mortgage loan 
documents (see subsection B of this section);  
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2. Each applicant must agree to occupy and use the 
residential property to be purchased as his permanent, 
principal residence within 60 days (90 days in the case of a 
rehabilitation loan as described in 13VAC10-40-200) after 
the date of the closing of the mortgage loan (see subsection 
C of this section);  

3. Each applicant must not use the proceeds of the 
mortgage loan to acquire or replace an existing mortgage 
or debt, except in the case of certain types of temporary 
financing (see subsection D of this section);  

4. Each applicant must have contracted to purchase an 
eligible dwelling (see 13VAC10-40-60, Eligible 
dwellings);  

5. Each applicant must execute an affidavit of borrower 
(Exhibit E) at the time of loan application;  

6. The applicant or applicants must not receive income in 
an amount in excess of the applicable federal income limit 
imposed by the tax code (see 13VAC10-40-100, Maximum 
gross income);  

7. Each applicant must agree not to sell, lease or otherwise 
transfer an interest in the residence or permit the 
assumption of his mortgage loan unless certain 
requirements are met (see 13VAC10-40-140, Loan 
assumptions); and  

8. Each applicant must be over the age of 18 years or have 
been declared emancipated by order or decree of a court 
having jurisdiction.  

B. An eligible borrower does not include any borrower who, 
at any time during the three years preceding the date of 
execution of the mortgage loan documents, had a "present 
ownership interest" (as hereinafter defined) in his principal 
residence. Each borrower must certify on the affidavit of 
borrower that at no time during the three years preceding the 
execution of the mortgage loan documents has he had a 
present ownership interest in his principal residence. This 
requirement does not apply to residences located in "targeted 
areas" (see 13VAC10-40-70, Targeted areas); however, even 
if the residence is located in a "targeted area," the tax returns 
for the most recent taxable year (or the letter described in 
subdivision 3 below) must be obtained for the purpose of 
determining compliance with other requirements.  

1. "Present ownership interest" includes:  

a. A fee simple interest,  

b. A joint tenancy, a tenancy in common, or a tenancy by 
the entirety,  

c. The interest of a tenant shareholder in a cooperative,  

d. A life estate,  

e. A land contract, under which possession and the 
benefits and burdens of ownership are transferred 

although legal title is not transferred until some later 
time, and  

f. An interest held in trust for the eligible borrower 
(whether or not created by the eligible borrower) that 
would constitute a present ownership interest if held 
directly by the eligible borrower.  

Interests which do not constitute a present ownership 
interest include:  

a. A remainder interest,  

b. An ordinary lease with or without an option to 
purchase,  

c. A mere expectancy to inherit an interest in a principal 
residence,  

d. The interest that a purchaser of a residence acquires on 
the execution of an accepted offer to purchase real estate, 
and  

e. An interest in other than a principal residence during 
the previous three years.  

2. This requirement applies to any person who will execute 
the mortgage document or note and will have a present 
ownership interest (as defined above) in the eligible 
dwelling.  

3. To verify that each eligible borrower meets the three-
year requirement, the originating agent must obtain copies 
of signed federal income tax returns filed by the eligible 
borrower for the three tax years immediately preceding 
execution of the mortgage documents (or certified copies 
of the returns) or a copy of a letter from the Internal 
Revenue Service stating that its Form 1040A or 1040EZ 
was filed by the eligible borrower for any of the three most 
recent tax years for which copies of such returns are not 
obtained. If the eligible borrower was not required by law 
to file a federal income tax return for any of these three 
years and did not so file, and so states on the borrower 
affidavit, the requirement to obtain a copy of the federal 
income tax return or letter from the Internal Revenue 
Service for such year or years is waived.  

The originating agent shall examine the tax returns 
particularly for any evidence that an eligible borrower may 
have claimed deductions for property taxes or for interest 
on indebtedness with respect to real property constituting 
his principal residence.  

4. The originating agent must, with due diligence, verify 
the representations in the affidavit of borrower (Exhibit E) 
regarding each eligible borrower's prior residency by 
reviewing any information including the credit report and 
the tax returns furnished by each eligible borrower for 
consistency, and make a determination that on the basis of 
its review each borrower has not had present ownership 
interest in a principal residence at any time during the 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 18 Virginia Register of Regulations May 11, 2009 

3177 

three-year period prior to the anticipated date of the loan 
closing.  

C. Each eligible borrower must intend at the time of closing 
to occupy the eligible dwelling as a principal residence within 
60 days (90 days in the case of a purchase and rehabilitation 
loan) after the closing of the mortgage loan. Unless the 
residence can reasonably be expected to become the principal 
residence of each eligible borrower within 60 days (90 days 
in the case of a purchase and rehabilitation loan) of the 
mortgage loan closing date, the residence will not be 
considered an eligible dwelling and may not be financed with 
a mortgage loan from the authority. Each eligible borrower 
must covenant to intend to occupy the eligible dwelling as a 
principal residence within 60 days (90 days in the case of a 
purchase and rehabilitation loan) after the closing of the 
mortgage loan on the affidavit of borrower (to be updated by 
at the verification and update of information form) closing of 
the mortgage loan) and as part of the attachment to the deed 
of trust.  

1. A principal residence does not include any residence 
which can reasonably be expected to be used: (i) primarily 
in a trade or business, (ii) as an investment property, or (iii) 
as a recreational or second home. A residence may not be 
used in a manner which would permit any portion of the 
costs of the eligible dwelling to be deducted as a trade or 
business expense for federal income tax purposes or under 
circumstances where more than 15% of the total living area 
is to be used primarily in a trade or business.  

2. The land financed by the mortgage loan may not 
provide, other than incidentally, a source of income to an 
eligible borrower. Each eligible borrower must indicate on 
the affidavit of borrower that, among other things:  

a. No portion of the land financed by the mortgage loan 
provides a source of income (other than incidental 
income);  

b. He does not intend to farm any portion (other than as a 
garden for personal use) of the land financed by the 
mortgage loan; and  

c. He does not intend to subdivide the property.  

3. Only such land as is reasonably necessary to maintain 
the basic liveability of the residence may be financed by a 
mortgage loan. The financed land must not exceed the 
customary or usual lot in the area. Generally, the financed 
land will not be permitted to exceed two acres, even in 
rural areas. However, exceptions may be made to permit 
lots larger than two acres, but in no event in excess of five 
acres: (i) if the land is owned free and clear and is not 
being financed by the loan, the lot may be as large as five 
acres, (ii) if difficulty is encountered locating a well or 
septic field, the lot may include the additional acreage 
needed, (iii) local city and county ordinances which require 
more acreage will be taken into consideration, or (iv) if the 

lot size is determined by the authority, based upon 
objective information provided by the borrower, to be 
usual and customary in the area for comparably priced 
homes.  

4. The affidavit of borrower (Exhibit E) must be reviewed 
by the originating agent for consistency with each eligible 
borrower's federal income tax returns and the credit report, 
and the originating agent must, based on such review, 
make a determination that each borrower has not used any 
previous residence or any portion thereof primarily in any 
trade or business.  

5. The originating agent shall establish procedures to (i) 
review correspondence, checks and other documents 
received from the borrower or borrowers during the 120-
day period following the loan closing for the purpose of 
ascertaining that the address of the residence and the 
address of the borrower or borrowers are the same and (ii) 
notify the authority if such addresses are not the same. 
Subject to the authority's approval, the originating agent 
may establish different procedures to verify compliance 
with this requirement.  

D. Mortgage loans may be made only to an eligible 
borrower who did not have a mortgage (whether or not paid 
off) on the eligible dwelling at any time prior to the execution 
of the mortgage. Mortgage loan proceeds may not be used to 
acquire or replace an existing mortgage or debt for which an 
eligible borrower is liable or which was incurred on behalf of 
an eligible borrower, except in the case of construction period 
loans, bridge loans or similar temporary financing which has 
a term of 24 months or less.  

1. For purposes of applying the new mortgage requirement, 
a mortgage includes deeds of trust, conditional sales 
contracts (i.e. generally a sales contract pursuant to which 
regular installments are paid and are applied to the sales 
price), pledges, agreements to hold title in escrow, a lease 
with an option to purchase which is treated as an 
installment sale for federal income tax purposes and any 
other form of owner-financing. Conditional land sale 
contracts shall be considered as existing loans or 
mortgages for purposes of this requirement.  

2. In the case of a mortgage loan (having a term of 24 
months or less) made to refinance a loan for the 
construction of an eligible dwelling, the authority shall not 
make such mortgage loan until it has determined that such 
construction has been satisfactorily completed.  

3. Prior to closing the mortgage loan, the originating agent 
must examine the affidavit of borrower (Exhibit E), the 
affidavit of seller (Exhibit F), and related submissions, 
including (i) each eligible borrower's federal income tax 
returns for the preceding three years, and (ii) credit report, 
in order to determine whether the eligible borrower will 
meet the new mortgage requirements. Based upon such 
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review, the originating agent shall make a determination 
that the proceeds of the mortgage loan will not be used to 
repay or refinance an existing mortgage debt of any 
borrower and that each borrower did not have a mortgage 
loan on the eligible dwelling prior to the date hereof, 
except for permissible temporary financing described 
above. 

E. Any eligible borrower may not have more than one 
outstanding authority first mortgage loan. 

13VAC10-40-120. Mortgage insurance requirements. 

Unless the loan is an FHA, VA or Rural Development loan, 
the borrower or borrowers are required to purchase at time of 
loan closing full private mortgage insurance (in an amount 
equal to the percentage of the loan that exceeds 80% of the 
lesser or sales price or appraised value of the property or such 
higher percentage as the executive director may determine is 
necessary to protect the authority's financial interests) on each 
loan the amount of which exceeds 80% of the lesser of sales 
price or appraised value of the property to be financed. Such 
insurance shall be issued by a company acceptable to the 
authority. The originating agent is required to escrow for 
annual payment of mortgage insurance, unless an alternative 
payment plan is approved by the authority. If the authority 
requires FHA, VA or Rural Development insurance or 
guarantee, the loan will either, at the election of the authority, 
(a) be closed in the authority's name in accordance with the 
procedures and requirements herein or (b) be closed in the 
originating agent's name and purchased by the authority once 
the FHA Certificate of Insurance, VA Guaranty or Rural 
Development Guarantee has been obtained or subject to the 
condition that such FHA Certificate of Insurance, VA 
Guaranty or Rural Development Guarantee be obtained. In 
the event that the authority purchases an FHA, VA or Rural 
Development loan, the originating agent must enter into a 
purchase and sale agreement on such form as shall be 
provided by the authority. For assumptions of conventional 
loans (i.e., loans other than FHA, VA or Rural Development 
loans), full private mortgage insurance as described above is 
required unless waived by the authority. 

The executive director may waive the requirements for 
private mortgage insurance in the preceding paragraph for a 
loan having a principal amount in excess of 80% of the lesser 
of sales price or appraised value of the property to be 
financed if the applicant satisfies the criteria set forth in 
subdivisions 11 through 17 of 13VAC10-40-230 or if the 
executive director otherwise determines that the financial 
integrity of the program is protected by the financial strength 
of the applicant or applicants or the terms of the financing.  

If the executive director determines it to be necessary to 
protect the authority's financial interests, the executive 
director may require that the company issuing such private 
mortgage insurance have a Moody's Investors Service 
Insurance Financial Strength rating not lower than Aa3 or a 

Standard & Poor's Ratings Services Financial Strength rating 
not lower than AA-. 

13VAC10-40-130. Underwriting. 

A. In general, to be eligible for authority financing, an 
applicant or applicants must satisfy the following 
underwriting criteria which demonstrate the willingness and 
ability to repay the mortgage debt and adequately maintain 
the financed property. 

1. The applicant or applicants must document the receipt of 
a stable current income which indicates that the applicant 
or applicants will receive future income which is sufficient 
to enable the timely repayment of the mortgage loan as 
well as other existing obligations and living expenses. 

2. The applicant or, in the case of multiple applicants, the 
applicants individually and collectively must possess a 
credit history which reflects the ability to successfully meet 
financial obligations and a willingness to repay obligations 
in accordance with established credit repayment terms. 

3. An applicant having a foreclosure instituted by the 
authority on his property financed by an authority 
mortgage loan will not be eligible for a mortgage loan 
hereunder. The authority will consider previous 
foreclosures (other than on authority financed loans) on an 
exception basis based upon circumstances surrounding the 
cause of the foreclosure, length of time since the 
foreclosure, the applicant's subsequent credit history and 
overall financial stability. Under no circumstances will an 
applicant be considered for an authority loan within three 
years from the date of the foreclosure. The authority has 
complete discretion to decline to finance a loan when a 
previous foreclosure is involved. 

4. The applicant or applicants must document that 
sufficient funds will be available for required down 
payment and closing costs. 

a. The terms and sources of any loan to be used as a 
source for down payment or closing costs must be 
reviewed and approved in advance of loan approval by 
the authority. 

b. Sweat equity, the imputed value of services performed 
by an eligible borrower or members of his family 
(brothers and sisters, spouse, ancestors and lineal 
descendants) in constructing or completing the residence, 
generally is not an acceptable source of funds for down 
payment and closing costs. Any sweat equity allowance 
must be approved by the authority prior to loan approval. 

5. Proposed monthly housing expenses compared to 
current monthly housing expenses will be reviewed. If 
there is a substantial increase in such expenses, the 
applicant or applicants must demonstrate his ability to pay 
the additional expenses. 
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6. All applicants are encouraged to attend a home 
ownership educational program to be better prepared to 
deal with the home buying process and the responsibilities 
related to homeownership. The authority may require all 
applicants applying for certain authority loan programs to 
complete an authority approved homeownership education 
program prior to loan approval. 

B. In addition to the requirements set forth in subsection A 
of this section, the following requirements must be met in 
order to satisfy the authority's underwriting requirements for 
conventional loans. However, additional or more stringent 
requirements may be imposed (i) by private mortgage 
insurance companies with respect to those loans on which 
private mortgage insurance is required or; (ii) on loans as 
described in the last paragraph of 13VAC10-40-120; or (iii) 
on loans that may be sold by the authority to an investor 
(including, without limitation, Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac, and 
Ginnie Mae) in which case such additional or more stringent 
requirements of the investor will apply. 

1. The following rules apply to the authority's employment 
and income requirement.  

a. Employment for the preceding two-year period must 
be documented. Education or training for employment 
during this two-year period shall be considered in 
satisfaction of this requirement if such education or 
training is related to an applicant's current line of work 
and adequate future income can be anticipated because 
such education and training will expand the applicant's 
job opportunities. The applicant must be employed a 
minimum of six months with present employer. An 
exception to the six-month requirement can be granted by 
the authority if it can be determined that the type of work 
is similar to previous employment and previous 
employment was of a stable nature.  

b. Note: Under the tax code, the residence may not be 
expected to be used in trade or business. (See 13VAC10-
40-50 C.) Any self-employed applicant must have a 
minimum of two years of self-employment with the same 
company and in the same line of work. In addition, the 
following information is required at the time of 
application:  

(1) Federal income tax returns for the two most recent tax 
years.  

(2) Balance sheets and profit and loss statements 
prepared by an independent public accountant.  

In determining the income for a self-employed applicant, 
income will be averaged for the two-year period.  

c. The following rules apply to income derived from 
sources other than primary employment.  

(1) When considering alimony and child support. A copy 
of the legal document and sufficient proof must be 

submitted to the authority verifying that alimony and 
child support are court ordered and are being received. 
Child support payments for children 15 years or older are 
not accepted as income in qualifying an applicant or 
applicants for a loan.  

(2) When considering social security and other retirement 
benefits. Social Security Form No. SSA 2458 must be 
submitted to verify that applicant is receiving social 
security benefits. Retirement benefits must be verified by 
receipt or retirement schedules. VA disability benefits 
must be verified by the VA. Educational benefits and 
social security benefits for dependents 15 years or older 
are not accepted as income in qualifying an applicant or 
applicants for a loan. 

(3) All part-time employment must be continuous for a 
minimum of 24 months, except that the authority may 
consider part-time employment that is continuous for 
more than 12 months but less than 24 months if such 
part-time employment is of a stable nature and is likely to 
continue after closing of the mortgage loan.  

(4) Overtime earnings must be guaranteed by the 
employer or verified for a minimum of two years. Bonus 
and commissions must be reasonably predictable and 
stable and the applicant's employer must submit evidence 
that they have been paid on a regular basis and can be 
expected to be paid in the future.  

2. The following rules apply to each applicant's credit:  

a. The authority requires that an applicant's previous 
credit experience be satisfactory. Poor credit references 
without an acceptable explanation will cause a loan to be 
rejected. Satisfactory credit references and history are 
considered to be important requirements in order to 
obtain an authority loan. The executive director may 
impose a minimum credit score requirement if the 
executive director determines that such a requirement is 
standard and customary in the single family mortgage 
loan industry and is necessary to protect the authority's 
financial interests. 

b. An applicant will not be considered for a loan if the 
applicant has been adjudged bankrupt within the past two 
years. If longer than two years, the applicant must submit 
a written explanation giving details surrounding the 
bankruptcy. The authority has complete discretion to 
decline a loan when a bankruptcy is involved.  

c. An applicant is required to submit a written 
explanation for all judgments and collections. In most 
cases, judgments and collections must be paid before an 
applicant will be considered for an authority loan.  

3. The authority reserves the right to obtain an independent 
appraisal in order to establish the fair market value of the 
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property and to determine whether the dwelling is eligible 
for the mortgage loan requested.  

4. The applicant or applicants satisfy the authority's 
minimum income requirement for financing if the monthly 
principal and interest (at the rate determined by the 
authority), tax, insurance ("PITI") and other additional 
monthly fees such as condominium association fees 
(excluding unit utility charges), townhouse assessments, 
etc. do not exceed 32% of monthly gross income and if the 
monthly PITI plus outstanding monthly debt payments 
with more than 10 months duration (and payments on debts 
lasting less than 10 months, if making such payments will 
adversely affect the applicant's or applicants' ability to 
make mortgage loan payments in the months following 
loan closing) do not exceed 40% of monthly gross income 
(see Exhibit B). However, with respect to those mortgage 
loans on which private mortgage insurance is required, the 
private mortgage insurance company may impose more 
stringent requirements. If either of the percentages set forth 
are exceeded, compensating factors may be used by the 
authority, in its sole discretion, to approve the mortgage 
loan. 

5. Funds necessary to pay the downpayment and closing 
costs must be deposited at the time of loan application. The 
authority does not permit an applicant to borrow funds for 
this purpose unless approved in advance by the authority. 
If the funds are being held in an escrow account by the real 
estate broker, builder or closing attorney, the source of the 
funds must be verified. A verification of deposit from the 
parties other than financial institutions authorized to handle 
deposited funds is not acceptable. 

6. The applicant may receive a gift from only a relative, 
employer or nonprofit entity not involved in the transfer or 
financing of the property. The individual(s) making the gift 
must provide a letter to the authority confirming that the 
transfer of funds is a gift with no obligation on the part of 
an applicant to repay the funds at any time. The party 
making the gift must submit proof that the funds are 
available. The executive director may approve gifts from 
other sources provided the executive director determines 
that such transfer of funds to the applicant is not subject to 
repayment by the applicant and is not made in 
consideration of any past or future obligation of the 
applicant or in consideration of any terms of the property 
transfer or mortgage loan transaction. 

7. Seller contributions for settlement or financing costs 
(including closing costs, discount points and upfront 
mortgage insurance premiums) may not exceed the lesser 
of 6.0% of the sales price or the amount permitted by the 
applicable mortgage insurer guidelines.  

C. The following rules are applicable to FHA loans only.  

1. The authority will normally accept FHA underwriting 
requirements and property standards for FHA loans. 
However, the applicant or applicants must satisfy the 
underwriting criteria set forth in subsection A of this 
section and most of the authority's basic eligibility 
requirements including those described in 13VAC10-40-30 
through 13VAC10-40-100 hereof remain in effect due to 
treasury restrictions or authority policy. In addition, the 
executive director may impose one or more of the 
requirements of subsection B of this section to FHA loans 
on the same or less stringent basis as they apply to the 
authority's conventional loans if the executive director 
determines that such requirements are necessary to protect 
its financial interests.  

2. The applicant's or applicants' mortgage insurance 
premium fee may be included in the FHA acquisition cost 
and may be financed provided that the final loan amount 
does not exceed the authority's maximum allowable sales 
price. In addition, in the case of a condominium, such fee 
may not be paid in full in advance but instead is payable in 
annual installments.  

3. The FHA allowable closing fees may be included in the 
FHA acquisition cost and may be financed provided the 
final loan amount does not exceed the authority's 
maximum allowable sales price.  

4. FHA appraisals are acceptable. VA certificates of 
reasonable value (CRV's) are acceptable if acceptable to 
FHA.  

D. The following rules are applicable to VA loans only.  

1. The authority will normally accept VA underwriting 
requirements and property guidelines for VA loans. 
However, the applicant or applicants must satisfy the 
underwriting criteria set forth in subsection A of this 
section and most of the authority's basic eligibility 
requirements (including those described in 13VAC10-40-
30 through 13VAC10-40-100) remain in effect due to 
treasury restrictions or authority policy. In addition, the 
executive director may impose one or more of the 
requirements of subsection B of this section to VA loans 
on the same or less stringent basis as they apply to the 
authority's conventional loans if the executive director 
determines that such requirements are necessary to protect 
its financial interests.  

2. The funding fee can be included in loan amount 
provided the final loan amount does not exceed the 
authority's maximum allowable sales price.  

3. VA certificates of reasonable value (CRV's) are 
acceptable in lieu of an appraisal.  

E. The following rules are applicable to Rural Development 
loans only.  
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1. The authority will normally accept Rural Development 
underwriting requirements and property standards for 
Rural Development loans. However, the applicant or 
applicants must satisfy the underwriting criteria set forth in 
subsection A of this section and most of the authority's 
basic eligibility requirements including those described in 
13VAC10-40-30 through 13VAC10-40-100 remain in 
effect due to treasury restrictions or authority policy. In 
addition, the executive director may impose one or more of 
the requirements of subsection B of this section to Rural 
Development loans on the same or less stringent basis as 
they apply to the authority's conventional loans if the 
executive director determines that such requirements are 
necessary to protect its financial interests.  

2. The Rural Development guarantee fee can be included in 
loan amount provided the final loan amount does not 
exceed the authority's maximum allowable sales price.  

F. With respect to FHA, VA, RD and conventional loans, 
the authority permits the deposit of a sum of money (the 
"buydown funds") by a party (the "provider") with an escrow 
agent, a portion of which funds are to be paid to the authority 
each month in order to reduce the amount of the borrower's or 
borrowers' monthly payment during a certain period of time. 
Such arrangement is governed by an escrow agreement for 
buydown mortgage loans (see Exhibit V) executed at closing 
(see 13VAC10-40-180 for additional information). The 
escrow agent will be required to sign a certification (Exhibit 
X) in order to satisfy certain insurer or guarantor 
requirements. For the purposes of underwriting buydown 
mortgage loans, the reduced monthly payment amount may 
be taken into account based on insurer or guarantor guidelines 
then in effect (see also subsection C, D or E of this section, as 
applicable).  

G. Unlike the program described in subsection E of this 
section which permits a direct buydown of the borrower's or 
borrowers' monthly payment, the authority also from time to 
time permits the buydown of the interest rate on a 
conventional, FHA or VA mortgage loan for a specified 
period of time.  

13VAC10-40-140. Loan assumptions. 

A. VHDA currently permits may from time to time, in its 
discretion, permit assumptions of all or some of its single 
family mortgage loans provided that certain, subject to 
satisfaction of the applicable requirements in this section; 
provided, however, that assumptions shall be permitted when 
required by the mortgage insurer or guarantor rules or 
applicable law if the applicable requirements in this section 
are met. For all loans closed prior to January 1, 1991, except 
FHA loans which were closed during calendar year 1990, the 
maximum gross income for the person or persons assuming a 
loan shall be 100% of the applicable median family income. 
For such FHA loans closed during 1990, if assumed by a 
household of three or more persons, the maximum gross 

income shall be 115% of the applicable median family 
income (140% for a residence in a targeted area) and if 
assumed by a household of fewer than three persons, the 
maximum gross income shall be 100% of the applicable 
median family income (120% for a residence in a targeted 
area). For all loans closed after January 1, 1991, the 
maximum gross income for the person or persons assuming 
loans shall be the highest percentage, as then in effect under 
13VAC10-40-100 A, of applicable median family income for 
the number or persons to occupy the dwelling upon 
assumption of the mortgage loan, unless otherwise provided 
in the deed of trust. The requirements for each of the two 
different categories of mortgage loans listed below (and the 
subcategories within each) are as follows:  

1. The following rules apply to assumptions of 
conventional loans, if permitted by the authority.  

a. For assumptions of conventional loans financed by the 
proceeds of bonds issued on or after December 17, 1981, 
the requirements of the following sections hereof must be 
met:  

(1) Maximum gross income requirement in 13VAC10-
40-140 A  

(2) 13VAC10-40-50 C (Principal residence requirement)  

(3) 13VAC10-40-130 (Authority underwriting 
requirements)  

(4) 13VAC10-40-50 B (Three-year requirement)  

(5) 13VAC10-40-60 B (Acquisition cost requirements)  

(6) 13VAC10-40-120 (Mortgage insurance 
requirements).  

b. For assumptions of conventional loans financed by the 
proceeds of bonds issued prior to December 17, 1981, the 
requirements of the following sections hereof must be 
met:  

(1) Maximum gross income requirement in 13VAC10-
40-140 A  

(2) 13VAC10-40-50 C (Principal residence 
requirements)  

(3) 13VAC10-40-130 (Authority underwriting 
requirements)  

(4) 13VAC10-40-120 (Mortgage insurance 
requirements).  

2. The following rules apply to assumptions of FHA, VA 
or Rural Development loans, if permitted by the authority.  

a. For assumptions of FHA, VA or Rural Development 
loans financed by the proceeds of bonds issued on or 
after December 17, 1981, the following conditions, if 
applicable, must be met:  
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(1) Maximum gross income requirement in this 
13VAC10-40-140 A  

(2) 13VAC10-40-50 C (Principal residence requirement)  

(3) 13VAC10-40-50 B (Three-year requirement)  

(4) 13VAC10-40-60 B (Acquisition cost requirements).  

In addition, all applicable FHA, VA or Rural 
Development underwriting requirements, if any, must be 
met.  

b. For assumptions of FHA, VA or Rural Development 
loans financed by the proceeds of bonds issued prior to 
December 17, 1981, only the applicable FHA, VA or 
Rural Development underwriting requirements, if any, 
must be met.  

B. Upon receipt from an originating agent or servicing agent 
of an application package for If the authority will permit an 
assumption, the authority will determine whether or not the 
applicable requirements referenced above for assumption of 
the loan have been met and will advise the originating agent 
or servicing agent of such determination in writing. The 
authority will further advise the originating agent or servicing 
agent of all other requirements necessary to complete the 
assumption process. Such requirements may include but are 
not limited to the submission of satisfactory evidence of 
hazard insurance coverage on the property, approval of the 
deed of assumption, satisfactory evidence of mortgage 
insurance or mortgage guaranty including, if applicable, pool 
insurance, submission of an escrow transfer letter and 
execution of a Recapture Requirement Notice (VHDA Doc. 
R-1).  

13VAC10-40-160. Reservations/fees.  

A. The authority currently reserves funds for each mortgage 
loan on a first come, first serve basis. Reservations are made 
by specific originating agents or field originators with respect 
to specific applicants and properties. No substitutions are 
permitted. Similarly, locked-in interest rates are also 
nontransferable. However, if the applicant can document 
circumstances beyond the applicant's control constituting 
good cause, the executive director may permit such 
substitution and transfer. Funds will not be reserved longer 
than 60 days unless the originating agent requests and 
receives an additional one-time extension prior to the 60-day 
deadline; provided, however, the foregoing time periods may 
be shortened by the executive director as he deems necessary 
if the mortgage loan is to be sold by the authority to an 
investor (including, without limitation, Fannie Mae, Freddie 
Mac, and Ginnie Mae). Locked-in interest rates on all loans, 
including those on which there may be a VA Guaranty, 
cannot be reduced under any circumstances.  

B. The applicant or applicants, including an applicant or 
applicants for a loan to be guaranteed by VA, may request a 
second reservation if the first has expired or has been 

cancelled. If the second reservation is made within 12 months 
of the date of the original reservation, the interest rate will be 
the greater of (i) the locked-in rate or (ii) the current rate 
offered by the authority at the time of the second reservation. 
However, if the applicant can document circumstances 
beyond the applicant's control constituting good cause, the 
executive director may waive the requirement in the 
preceding sentence.  

C. The originating agent or field originator shall collect a 
nonrefundable reservation fee in such amount and according 
to such procedures as the authority may require from time to 
time. Under no circumstances is this fee refundable. A second 
reservation fee must be collected for a second reservation. No 
substitutions of applicants or properties are permitted.  

D. The following other fees shall be collected.  

1. In connection with the origination and closing of the 
loan, the originating agent shall collect at closing or, at the 
authority's option, simultaneously with the acceptance of 
the authority's commitment, an amount equal to 1.0% of 
the loan amount (please note that for FHA loans the loan 
amount for the purpose of this computation is the base loan 
amount only); provided, however, that the executive 
director may require the payment of an additional fee not 
in excess of 1.0% of the loan amount in the case of a step 
loan (i.e., a loan on which the initial interest rate is to be 
increased to a new interest rate after a fixed period of 
time). If the loan does not close, then the origination fee 
shall be waived.  

2. The originating agent shall collect at the time of closing 
an amount equal to 1.0% of the loan amount.  

If the executive director determines that the financial 
integrity of the program is protected by an adjustment to the 
rate of interest charged to the applicant or applicants or 
otherwise, the authority may provide the applicant or 
applicants with the option of an alternative fee requirement.  

13VAC10-40-170. Commitment (Exhibit J). 

A. Upon approval of the applicant or applicants, the 
authority will send a mortgage loan commitment to the 
borrower or borrowers in care of the originating agent. The 
originating agent shall ask the borrower or borrowers to 
indicate acceptance of the mortgage loan commitment by 
signing and returning it to the originating agent prior to 
settlement. 

A commitment must be issued in writing by an authorized 
officer of the authority and signed by the applicant or 
applicants before a loan may be closed. The term of a 
commitment may be extended in certain cases upon written 
request by the applicant or applicants and approved by the 
authority. If an additional commitment is issued to an 
applicant or applicants, the interest rate may be higher than 
the rate offered in the original commitment and additional 
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fees may be charged. Such new rate and the availability of 
funds therefor shall in all cases be determined by the 
authority in its discretion. 

B. If the application fails to meet any of the standards, 
criteria and requirements herein, a loan rejection letter will be 
issued by the authority (see Exhibit L). In order to have the 
application reconsidered, the applicant or applicants must 
resubmit the application within 30 days after loan rejection. If 
the application is so resubmitted, the credit documentation 
cannot be more than 90 days old and the appraisal not more 
than six months old. 

13VAC10-40-220. FHA plus program.  

A. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary herein, the 
authority may make loans secured by second deed of trust 
liens ("second loans") to provide downpayment and closing 
cost assistance to an eligible borrower or borrowers who are 
obtaining FHA loans secured by first deed of trust liens. Such 
first deed of trust liens must be financed by the authority; 
provided that the authority may, in its discretion, permit such 
first deeds of trust to be financed by other lenders, subject to 
such terms and conditions as the executive director shall 
determine to be necessary to protect the financial integrity of 
the FHA plus program. Second loans shall not be available to 
a borrower or borrowers if the FHA loan is being made under 
the FHA buydown program or is subject to a step adjustment 
in the interest rate thereon or is subject to a reduced interest 
rate due to the financial support of the authority.  

B. The second loans shall not be insured by mortgage 
insurance; accordingly, the requirements of 13VAC10-40-120 
regarding mortgage insurance shall not be applicable to the 
second loan.  

C. The requirements of 13VAC10-40-110 regarding 
calculation of maximum loan amount shall not be applicable 
to the second loan. In order to be eligible for a second loan, 
the borrower or borrowers must obtain an FHA loan for the 
maximum loan amount permitted by FHA. The principal 
amount of the second loan shall not exceed 5.0% of the lesser 
of the sales price or appraised value, or such lesser percentage 
as may be determined by the executive director to protect the 
financial integrity of the FHA plus program.  

In no event shall the combined FHA loan and the second 
loan amount exceed (i) the sum of the lesser of the sales price 
or appraised value plus closing costs and fees to be paid by 
borrower or (ii) the authority's maximum allowable sales 
price. The sum of all liens may not exceed 100% of the cost 
to acquire the property. The cost to acquire the property is the 
sales price plus allowable borrower paid closing costs, 
discount points and prepaid expenses.  

Verified liquid funds (funds other than gifts, loans or 
retirement accounts) in an amount not less than 1.0% of the 
sales price must be: (i) contributed by the borrower or 
borrowers towards closing costs or prepaid items; (ii) retained 

by the borrower or borrowers as cash reserves after closing; 
or (iii) contributed and retained by the borrower or borrowers 
for the purposes of clauses (i) and (ii), respectively. At the 
closing, the borrower or borrowers may not receive any loan 
proceeds in excess of the amount of funds paid by the 
borrower or borrowers prior to closing. The FHA-insured first 
mortgage when combined with the FHA plus second 
mortgage and any other liens may not result in cash back to 
the borrower. 

D. If the authority is not making the FHA loan secured by 
the first deed of trust lien, the authority may require that, as a 
condition of financing the FHA plus loan, the FHA loan 
secured by the first deed of trust lien meet the authority’s 
requirements applicable to FHA loans. With respect to 
underwriting, no additional more stringent requirements or 
criteria other than those applicable to the FHA loan shall may 
be imposed on the second loan if the executive director 
determines such more stringent requirements or criteria are 
necessary to protect the financial integrity of the FHA plus 
program.  

E. The second mortgage loan shall be assumable on the 
same terms and conditions as the FHA loan.  

F. No origination fee or discount point shall be collected on 
the second loan; provided, however, that the authority may 
charge an origination fee and/or a discount point in an amount 
determined by the executive director to be necessary to 
compensate the authority for originating, processing, and 
closing the FHA plus loan, if the first deed of trust is to be 
financed by another lender.  

G. Upon approval of the applicant or applicants, the 
authority will issue a mortgage loan commitment pursuant to 
13VAC10-40-170. The mortgage loan commitment will 
include the terms and conditions of the FHA loan and the 
second loan and an addendum setting will set forth additional 
terms and conditions applicable to the second loan. Also 
enclosed in the commitment package will be other documents 
necessary to close the second loan.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1911; Filed April 21, 2009, 12:20 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 13VAC10-180. Rules and Regulations 
for Allocation of Low-Income Housing Tax Credits 
(adding 13VAC10-180-120). 

Statutory Authority: § 36-55.30:3 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

May 26, 2009 - 10 a.m. - Virginia Housing Development 
Authority, 601 S. Belvidere Street, Richmond, VA 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on May 26, 2009. 

Agency Contact: J. Judson McKellar, Jr., General Counsel, 
Virginia Housing Development Authority, 601 S. Belvidere 
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Street, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 343-5540, 
FAX (804) 783-6701, or email judson.mckellar@vhda.com. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments to the authority's rules and 
regulations for the allocation of low-income housing tax 
credits will add a new section to the regulations that will 
govern the award of funds made available to the 
authority pursuant to the American Recovery and 
Investment Act of 2009, PL-155, to low-income housing 
tax credit developments. The American Recovery and 
Reinvestment Act of 2009 (i) includes funds to be 
allocated to the authority from the U.S. Department of 
Housing and Urban Development under a program 
called the tax credit assistance program to facilitate the 
production of developments awarded low-income 
housing tax credits in federal fiscal years 2007, 2008 and 
2009 and (ii) permits the authority to monetize credits by 
exchanging eligible credits for cash grants, which can be 
used by the authority to finance the construction or 
acquisition and rehabilitation of qualified low-income 
buildings. 

13VAC10-180-120. Application for Tax Credit Assistance 
Funds and Credit Exchange Funds. 

The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 
(Recovery Act), PL 111-5 (i) includes funds to be allocated to 
housing credit agencies from HUD under a program called 
the tax credit assistance program (TCAP) to facilitate the 
production of developments awarded low-income housing tax 
credits in fiscal years 2007, 2008, and 2009, and (ii) permits 
the authority to monetize credits by exchanging eligible 
credits for cash grants, which can be used by the authority to 
finance the construction or acquisition and rehabilitation of 
qualified low-income buildings. 

Application for TCAP funds and credit exchange funds shall 
be filed with the authority on such form or forms as the 
executive director may from time to time prescribe or 
approve, together with such documents and additional 
information as may be requested by the authority in order to 
comply with the Recovery Act, the IRC, and this chapter and 
to make an award of TCAP funds or credit exchange funds in 
accordance with this chapter. The executive director may 
establish criteria and assumptions to be used by the applicant 
in the calculation of the amounts of tax credits, TCAP funds, 
and credit exchange funds in the application; and any such 
criteria and assumptions may be indicated on the application 
form or instructions made available by the authority to 
applicants. Each applicant for TCAP funds and credit 
exchange funds shall commit in the application to comply 
with all federal requirements applicable to such funds. 

The executive director may divide the amount of TCAP 
funds into separate pools and each separate pool may be 
further divided into separate tiers. The division of such pools 

and tiers may be based upon one or more of the following 
factors: geographical areas of the state; types or 
characteristics of housing, construction, financing, owners, 
occupants, or source of credits; or any other factors deemed 
appropriate to best meet the housing needs of the 
Commonwealth. Proposed developments to be financed by 
certain tax-exempt bonds and eligible to receive credits 
pursuant to 13VAC10-180-100 that apply for TCAP funds 
will be scored and ranked pursuant to the requirements of 
13VAC10-180-60 with all other applications applying for 
TCAP funds and credits. Such developments may be placed 
in pools with other applicants for TCAP funds or may be put 
in their own separate pool as the executive director deems 
appropriate. 

For each application that may receive an award of tax credits 
and either TCAP funds or credit exchange funds or both, the 
executive director shall determine the amount, as of the date 
of the deadline for submission of applications for such funds, 
to be necessary for the financial feasibility of the 
development and its viability as a qualified low-income 
development throughout the credit period under the IRC. The 
executive director may substitute TCAP funds for some or all 
of the credit exchange funds in the application or credit 
exchange funds for some or all of the TCAP funds requested 
in the application in such amounts as determined by the 
executive director to maximize the number of developments 
or units that are expected to benefit from the equity provided 
by tax credit investors. Any TCAP funds and credit exchange 
funds awarded to a proposed development shall be in the 
form of a grant or, if requested by the borrower, a loan.  Such 
grant or loan shall (i) be subordinate to all other unrelated 
third-party financing for the construction or acquisition and 
rehabilitation of the development; (ii) be secured by a deed of 
trust for the full amount of the grant or loan during the 
compliance period; and (iii) provided no conditions exist that 
would result in default under the deed of trust, be forgiven by 
the authority in part each year on a pro rata basis based upon 
the length of the extended use period. 

Any tax credit developments that have received a 
reservation of tax credits pursuant to 13VAC10-180-60 in 
calendar years 2007 and 2008 may request the authority to 
exchange their tax credit allocation for credit exchange funds 
in an amount not to exceed the lesser of (i) $.85 per $1.00 of 
credit exchanged or (ii) the tax credit equity amount shown in 
their allocation application. 

The executive director may place conditions and limitations 
on the availability and use of the grant or loan deemed 
necessary to comply with the provisions of the Recovery Act 
and the IRC. The executive director may also prescribe such 
deadlines for accomplishing certain milestones established by 
the executive director in the acquisition, construction or 
rehabilitation of the developments deemed necessary or 
desirable to ensure full use of TCAP funds and credit 
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exchange funds within the timeframes established by the 
Recovery Act. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1920; Filed April 20, 2009, 2:38 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 
of the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-170. Rules Governing 
Minimum Standards for Medicare Supplement Policies 
(amending 14VAC5-170-20, 14VAC5-170-30, 14VAC5-
170-50, 14VAC5-170-60, 14VAC5-170-70, 14VAC5-170-
80, 14VAC5-170-150; adding 14VAC5-170-75, 14VAC5-
170-85, 14VAC5-170-215). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 21, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Althelia Battle, Principal Insurance Market 
Examiner, State Corporation Commission, Bureau of 
Insurance, 1300 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, 
VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9154, FAX (804) 371-9944, 
or email al.battle@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The purpose of the amendments is to incorporate related 
provisions of the federal Medicare Improvements for 
Patients and Providers Act of 2008 (MIPAA) and the 
Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act of 2008 
(GINA). Amendments, including the addition of three new 
sections to accommodate these federal laws are necessary 
to maintain certification of Virginia's state regulatory 
programs. Amendments were also made to reflect the 2009 
deductible and copayment amounts under Medicare. 
Technical amendments were made to the proposed 
regulations in sections 14VAC5-170-30, 14VAC5-170-70, 
14VAC5-170-75, 14VAC5-170-80, 14VAC5-170-85 and 
14VAC5-170-150 to include language that references 
policies "with an effective date for coverage on or after 
June 1, 2010." The purpose of these technical amendments 
is to clarify that issuers can sell policies to seniors with the 
new benefit packages prior to June 1, 2010, providing that 
those policies have an effective date on or after June 1, 
2010. Amendments were also made in 14VAC5-170-70 and 

14VAC5-170-150 to correct cross-references and to clarify 
plan applicability dates.  

AT RICHMOND, APRIL 21, 2009 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 

At the relation of the 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2009-00034 

Ex Parte: In the matter of adopting Revisions 
to the Rules Governing Minimum Standards 
for Medicare Supplement Policies 

ORDER ADOPTING REVISIONS TO RULES 

By Order entered herein March 10, 2009, all interested 
persons were ordered to take notice that subsequent to April 
15, 2009, the State Corporation Commission ("Commission") 
would consider the entry of an order adopting revisions 
proposed by the Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") to the 
Commission's Rules Governing Minimum Standards for 
Medicare Supplement Policies ("Rules"), set forth in Chapter 
170 of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code, unless 
on or before April 15, 2009, any person objecting to the 
adoption of the proposed revisions filed a request for hearing 
with the Clerk of the Commission (the "Clerk"). 

The Order to Take Notice also required all interested 
persons to file their comments in support of or in opposition 
to the proposed revisions on or before April 15, 2009. 

No request for hearing was filed with the Clerk.  Comments 
were filed on April 16, 2009, by America's Health Insurance 
Plans.  These comments were not timely filed.  Nonetheless, 
the Bureau considered these comments and filed Statements 
of Position on April 20, 2009, in response.  The Bureau 
recommends that the proposed Rules be amended at 14 VAC 
5-170-70 and 14 VAC 5-170-150 in response to these 
comments.  

The Bureau also received some technical amendments from 
the National Association of Insurance Commissioners 
("NAIC") which were incorporated into the NAIC Model 
Act.  The NAIC recommended that these same technical 
amendments be incorporated into each state's regulations.  
The Bureau therefore recommends that the proposed Rules be 
amended at 14 VAC 5-170-30, 14 VAC 5-170-70, 14 VAC 5-
170-75, 14 VAC 5-170-80, 14 VAC 5-170-85 and 14 VAC 5-
170-150 to include language that references policies "with an 
effective date for coverage on or after June 1, 2010."  The 
purpose of these technical amendments is to clarify that 
issuers can sell policies to seniors with the new benefit 
packages prior to June 1, 2010, provided that those policies 
have an effective date on or after June 1, 2010.  

The revisions to the Rules are necessary as a result of the 
passage of the federal Medicare Improvements for Patients 
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and Providers Act of 2008 and the Genetic Information 
Nondiscrimination Act of 2008.  Revisions to accommodate 
these federal laws are necessary to maintain certification of 
Virginia's state regulatory programs.  

THE COMMISSION, having considered the proposed 
revisions, filed comments, the Bureau's Statements of 
Position, and the Bureau's recommendation for additional 
amendments, is of the opinion that the attached revisions to 
the Rules should be adopted.   

THEREFORE IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1)  The revisions to Chapter 170 of Title 14 of the Virginia 
Administrative Code entitled "Rules Governing Minimum 
Standards for Medicare Supplement Policies," amended at 
14 VAC 5-170-20, 14 VAC 5-170-30, 14 VAC 5-170-50 
through 14 VAC 170-80, and 14 VAC 5-170-150, and add 
new sections at 14 VAC 5-170-75, 14 VAC 5-170-85 and 
14 VAC 5-170-215, which are attached hereto and made a 
part hereof, should be, and they are hereby, ADOPTED to be 
effective May 21, 2009. 

(2)  AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the 
Clerk of the Commission to Jacqueline K. Cunningham, 
Deputy Commissioner, Bureau of Insurance, State 
Corporation Commission, who forthwith shall give further 
notice of the adoption of the revisions to the Rules by mailing 
a copy of this Order, including a clean copy of the attached 
final revised Rules, to all insurers licensed by the 
Commission to write accident and sickness insurance in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia, and certain interested parties 
designated by the Bureau of Insurance. 

(3)  The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
forthwith shall cause a copy of this Order, including a copy of 
the attached revised Rules, to be forwarded to the Virginia 
Registrar of Regulations for appropriate publication in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. 

(4)  The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
shall make available this Order and the attached revisions to 
the Rules available on the Commission's website, 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(5)  The Bureau of Insurance shall file with the Clerk of the 
Commission an affidavit of compliance with the notice 
requirements in paragraph (2) of this Order. 

14VAC5-170-20. Applicability and scope.  

A. Except as otherwise specifically provided in 14VAC5-
170-60, 14VAC5-170-110, 14VAC5-170-120, 14VAC5-170-
150 and 14VAC5-170-200, this chapter shall apply to:  

1. All Medicare supplement policies delivered or issued for 
delivery in this Commonwealth on or after January 1, 2006 
May 21, 2009; and  

2. All certificates issued under group Medicare supplement 
policies for which certificates have been delivered or 
issued for delivery in this Commonwealth.  

B. This chapter shall not apply to a policy or contract of one 
or more employers or labor organizations, or of the trustees of 
a fund established by one or more employers or labor 
organizations, or combination thereof, for employees or 
former employees, or a combination thereof, or for members 
or former members, or a combination thereof, of the labor 
organizations.  

14VAC5-170-30. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"1990 standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan," 
"1990 standardized benefit plan" or "1990 plan" means a 
group or individual policy of Medicare supplement insurance 
issued on or after July 30, 1992, and [ with an effective date 
for coverage ] prior to June 1, 2010, and includes Medicare 
supplement insurance policies and certificates renewed on or 
after that date that are not replaced by the issuer at the request 
of the insured. 

"2010 standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan," 
"2010 standardized benefit plan" or "2010 plan" means a 
group or individual policy of Medicare supplement insurance 
issued [ with an effective date for coverage ] on or after June 
1, 2010.  

"Applicant" means:  

1. In the case of an individual Medicare supplement policy, 
the person who seeks to contract for insurance benefits; 
and  

2. In the case of a group Medicare supplement policy, the 
proposed certificateholder.  

"Attained age rating" means a premium structure under 
which premiums are based on the covered individual's age at 
the time of application of the policy or certificate, and for 
which premiums increase based on the covered individual's 
increase in age during the life of the policy or certificate.  

"Bankruptcy" means when a Medicare Advantage 
organization that is not an issuer has filed, or has had filed 
against it, a petition for declaration of bankruptcy and has 
ceased doing business in this Commonwealth.  

"Certificate" means any certificate delivered or issued for 
delivery in this Commonwealth under a group Medicare 
supplement policy.  

"Certificate form" means the form on which the certificate is 
delivered or issued for delivery by the issuer.  
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"Community rating" means a premium structure under 
which premium rates are the same for all covered individuals 
of all ages in a given area.  

"Continuous period of creditable coverage" means the 
period during which an individual was covered by creditable 
coverage, if during the period of the coverage the individual 
did not have a break in coverage greater than 63 days.  

"Creditable coverage" means, with respect to an individual, 
coverage of the individual provided under any of the 
following:  

1. A group health plan;  

2. Health insurance coverage;  

3. Part A or Part B of Title XVIII of the Social Security 
Act of 1935 (Medicare) (42 USC § 1395 et seq.);  

4. Title XIX of the Social Security Act of 1935 (Medicaid) 
(42 USC § 1396 et seq.), other than coverage consisting 
solely of benefits under § 1928;  

5. Chapter 55 of Title 10 of the United States Code 
(CHAMPUS) (10 USC§§ 1071-1107);  

6. A medical care program of the Indian Health Service or 
of a tribal organization;  

7. A state health benefits risk pool;  

8. A health plan offered under the Federal Employees 
Health Benefits Act of 1959 (5 USC §§ 8901-8914);  

9. A public health plan as defined in federal regulation; and  

10. A health benefit plan under § 5(e) of the Peace Corps 
Act of 1961 (22 USC § 2504(e)).  

"Creditable coverage" shall not include one or more, or any 
combination of, the following:  

1. Coverage only for accident or disability income 
insurance, or any combination thereof;  

2. Coverage issued as a supplement to liability insurance;  

3. Liability insurance, including general liability insurance 
and automobile liability insurance;  

4. Workers' compensation or similar insurance;  

5. Automobile medical expense insurance;  

6. Credit-only insurance;  

7. Coverage for on-site medical clinics; and  

8. Other similar insurance coverage, specified in federal 
regulations, under which benefits for medical care are 
secondary or incidental to other insurance benefits.  

"Creditable coverage" shall not include the following 
benefits if they are provided under a separate policy, 

certificate or contract of insurance or are otherwise not an 
integral part of the plan:  

1. Limited scope dental or vision benefits;  

2. Benefits for long-term care, nursing home care, home 
health care, community-based care or any combination 
thereof; and  

3. Such other similar, limited benefits as are specified in 
federal regulations.  

"Creditable coverage" shall not include the following 
benefits if offered as independent, noncoordinated benefits:  

1. Coverage only for a specified disease or illness; and  

2. Hospital indemnity or other fixed indemnity insurance.  

"Creditable coverage" shall not include the following if it is 
offered as a separate policy, certificate or contract of 
insurance:  

1. Medicare supplement health insurance as defined under 
§ 1882(g)(1) of the Social Security Act of 1935 (42 USC 
§ 1395ss);  

2. Coverage supplemental to the coverage provided under 
Chapter 55 of Title 10 of the United States Code (10 USC 
§§ 1071-1107); and  

3. Similar supplemental coverage provided to coverage 
under a group health plan.  

"Employee welfare benefit plan" means a plan, fund or 
program of employee benefits as defined in the Employee 
Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (29 USC § 1002).  

"Insolvency" means when an issuer, duly licensed to transact 
an insurance business in this Commonwealth in accordance 
with the provisions of Chapter 10, 41, 42 or 43, respectively, 
of Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia, is determined to be 
insolvent and placed under a final order of liquidation by a 
court of competent jurisdiction.  

"Issue age rating" means a premium structure based upon 
the covered individual's age at the time of purchase of the 
policy or certificate. Under an issue age rating structure, 
premiums do not increase due to the covered individual's 
increase in age during the life of the policy or certificate.  

"Issuer" includes insurance companies, fraternal benefit 
societies, corporations licensed pursuant to Chapter 42 of 
Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia to offer health services 
plans, health maintenance organizations, and any other entity 
delivering or issuing for delivery in this Commonwealth 
Medicare supplement policies or certificates.  

"Medicare" means the "Health Insurance for the Aged Act," 
Title XVIII of the Social Security Act (42 USC § 1395 et 
seq.), as then constituted or later amended.  
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"Medicare Advantage plan" means a plan of coverage for 
health benefits under Medicare Part C as defined in § 1859 
(42 USC § 1395w-28(b)(1) of the Social Security Act, and 
includes:  

1. Coordinated care plans which provide health care 
services, including but not limited to health maintenance 
organization plans (with or without a point-of-service 
option), plans offered by provider-sponsored organizations, 
and preferred provider organization plans;  

2. Medical savings account plans coupled with a 
contribution into a Medicare Advantage medical savings 
account; and  

3. Medicare Advantage private fee-for-service plans.  

"Medicare supplement policy" means a group or individual 
policy of accident and sickness insurance or a subscriber 
contract of health service plans or health maintenance 
organizations, other than a policy issued pursuant to a 
contract under § 1876 of the federal Social Security Act of 
1935 (42 USC § 1395 et seq.) or an issued policy under a 
demonstration project specified in 42 USC § 1395ss(g)(1), 
which is advertised, marketed or designed primarily as a 
supplement to reimbursements under Medicare for the 
hospital, medical or surgical expenses of persons eligible for 
Medicare. "Medicare supplement policy" does not include 
Medicare Advantage plans established under Medicare Part 
C, Outpatient Prescription Drug plans established under 
Medicare Part D, or any Health Care Prepayment Plan that 
provides benefits pursuant to an agreement under 
§ 1833(a)(1)(A) of the Social Security Act.  

"Policy form" means the form on which the policy is 
delivered or issued for delivery by the issuer.  

"Prestandardized Medicare supplement benefit plan," 
"prestandardized benefit plan" or "prestandardized plan" 
means a group or individual policy of Medicare supplement 
insurance issued prior to July 30, 1992. 

"Secretary" means the Secretary of the United States 
Department of Health and Human Services.  

14VAC5-170-50. Policy provisions.  

A. Except for permitted preexisting condition clauses as 
described in 14VAC5-170-60 B 1 and , 14VAC5-170-70 B 1 
and 14VAC5-170-75 B 1, no policy or certificate may be 
advertised, solicited or issued for delivery in this 
Commonwealth as a Medicare supplement policy if the policy 
or certificate contains limitations or exclusions on coverage 
that are more restrictive than those of Medicare.  

B. No Medicare supplement policy or certificate may use 
waivers to exclude, limit or reduce coverage or benefits for 
specifically named or described preexisting diseases or 
physical conditions.  

C. No Medicare supplement policy or certificate in force in 
this Commonwealth shall contain benefits which duplicate 
benefits provided by Medicare.  

D. 1. Subject to 14VAC5-170-60 B 4, 5 and 7 and 14VAC5-
170-70 B 4 and 5, a Medicare supplement policy with 
benefits for outpatient prescription drugs in existence prior to 
January 1, 2006, shall be renewed for current policyholders 
who do not enroll in Part D at the option of the policyholder.  

2. A Medicare supplement policy with benefits for 
outpatient prescription drugs shall not be issued after 
December 31, 2005.  

3. After December 31, 2005, a Medicare supplement policy 
with benefits for outpatient prescription drugs shall not be 
renewed after the policyholder enrolls in Medicare Part D 
unless:  

a. The policy is modified to eliminate outpatient 
prescription coverage for expenses of outpatient 
prescription drugs incurred after the effective date of 
individual's coverage under a Part D plan; and  

b. Premiums are adjusted to reflect the elimination of 
outpatient prescription drug coverage at the time of 
Medicare Part D enrollment, accounting for any claims 
paid, if applicable.  

14VAC5-170-60. Minimum benefit standards for 
prestandardized Medicare supplement benefits plan 
policies or certificates issued for delivery prior to July 30, 
1992.  

A. No policy or certificate may be advertised, solicited or 
issued for delivery in this Commonwealth as a Medicare 
supplement policy or certificate unless it meets or exceeds the 
following minimum standards. These are minimum standards 
and do not preclude the inclusion of other provisions or 
benefits which are not inconsistent with these standards.  

B. The following standards apply to Medicare supplement 
policies and certificates and are in addition to all other 
requirements of this chapter.  

1. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall not 
exclude or limit benefits for a loss incurred more than six 
months from the effective date of coverage because it 
involved a preexisting condition. The policy or certificate 
shall not define a preexisting condition more restrictively 
than a condition for which medical advice was given or 
treatment was recommended by or received from a 
physician within six months before the effective date of 
coverage.  

2. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall not 
indemnify against losses resulting from sickness on a 
different basis than losses resulting from accidents.  

3. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall 
provide that benefits designed to cover cost sharing 
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amounts under Medicare will be changed automatically to 
coincide with any changes in the applicable Medicare 
deductible amount and copayment percentage factors , 
copayment or coinsurance amounts. Premiums may be 
modified to correspond with such changes.  

4. A "noncancellable," "guaranteed renewable," or 
"noncancellable and guaranteed renewable" Medicare 
supplement policy shall not:  

a. Provide for termination of coverage of a spouse solely 
because of the occurrence of an event specified for 
termination of coverage of the insured, other than the 
nonpayment of premium; or  

b. Be cancelled or nonrenewed by the issuer solely on the 
grounds of deterioration of health.  

5. a. Except as authorized by the State Corporation 
Commission, an issuer shall neither cancel nor nonrenew a 
Medicare supplement policy or certificate for any reason 
other than nonpayment of premium or material 
misrepresentation.  

b. If a group Medicare supplement insurance policy is 
terminated by the group policyholder and not replaced as 
provided in subdivision 5 d of this subsection, the issuer 
shall offer certificateholders an individual Medicare 
supplement policy. The issuer shall offer the 
certificateholder at least the following choices:  

(1) An individual Medicare supplement policy currently 
offered by the issuer having comparable benefits to those 
contained in the terminated group Medicare supplement 
policy; and  

(2) An individual Medicare supplement policy which 
provides only such benefits as are required to meet the 
minimum standards as defined in subsection C of this 
section 14VAC5-170-75 C.  

c. If membership in a group is terminated, the issuer 
shall:  

(1) Offer the certificateholder the conversion 
opportunities described in subdivision 5 b of this 
subsection; or  

(2) At the option of the group policyholder, offer the 
certificateholder continuation of coverage under the 
group policy.  

d. If a group Medicare supplement policy is replaced by 
another group Medicare supplement policy purchased by 
the same policyholder, the issuer of the replacement 
policy shall offer coverage to all persons covered under 
the old group policy on its date of termination. Coverage 
under the new group policy shall not result in any 
exclusion for preexisting conditions that would have 
been covered under the group policy being replaced.  

6. Termination of a Medicare supplement policy or 
certificate shall be without prejudice to any continuous loss 
which commenced while the policy was in force, but the 
extension of benefits beyond the period during which the 
policy was in force may be predicated upon the continuous 
total disability of the insured, limited to the duration of the 
policy benefit period, if any, or to payment of the 
maximum benefits. Receipt of Medicare Part D benefits 
will not be considered in determining a continuous loss.  

7. If a Medicare supplement policy is modified to eliminate 
an outpatient prescription drug benefit as a result of 
requirements imposed by the Medicare Prescription Drug, 
Improvement, and Modernization Act of 2003 (42 USC 
§ 1395w-101), the modified policy shall be deemed to 
satisfy the guaranteed renewal requirements of this 
subsection.  

C. Minimum benefit standards.  

1. Coverage of Part A Medicare eligible expenses for 
hospitalization to the extent not covered by Medicare from 
the 61st day through the 90th day in any Medicare benefit 
period;  

2. Coverage for either all or none of the Medicare Part A 
inpatient hospital deductible amount;  

3. Coverage of Part A Medicare eligible expenses incurred 
as daily hospital charges during use of Medicare's lifetime 
hospital inpatient reserve days;  

4. Upon exhaustion of all Medicare hospital inpatient 
coverage including the lifetime reserve days, coverage of 
90% of all Medicare Part A eligible expenses for 
hospitalization not covered by Medicare subject to a 
lifetime maximum benefit of an additional 365 days;  

5. Coverage under Medicare Part A for the reasonable cost 
of the first three pints of blood (or equivalent quantities of 
packed red blood cells, as defined under federal 
regulations) unless replaced in accordance with federal 
regulations or already paid for under Part B;  

6. Coverage for the coinsurance amount, or in the case of 
hospital outpatient department services paid under a 
prospective payment system, the copayment amount of 
Medicare eligible expenses under Part B regardless of 
hospital confinement, subject to a maximum calendar year 
out-of-pocket amount equal to the Medicare Part B 
deductible $100;  

7. Effective January 1, 1990, coverage under Medicare Part 
B for the reasonable cost of the first three pints of blood (or 
equivalent quantities of packed red blood cells, as defined 
under federal regulations), unless replaced in accordance 
with federal regulations or already paid for under Part A, 
subject to the Medicare deductible amount.  
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14VAC5-170-70. Benefit standards for 1990 Medicare 
supplement policies or certificates issued or delivered on 
or after July 30, 1992, and prior to June 1, 2010. 

A. The following standards are applicable to all Medicare 
supplement benefit plan policies or certificates delivered or 
issued for delivery in this Commonwealth on or after July 30, 
1992, and [ with an effective date for coverage ] prior to June 
1, 2010. No policy or certificate may be advertised, solicited, 
delivered or issued for delivery in this Commonwealth as a 
Medicare supplement policy or certificate unless it complies 
with these benefit standards. 

B. The following standards apply to Medicare supplement 
policies and certificates and are in addition to all other 
requirements of this chapter. 

1. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall not 
exclude or limit benefits for a loss incurred more than six 
months from the effective date of coverage because it 
involved a preexisting condition. The policy or certificate 
may not define a preexisting condition more restrictively 
than a condition for which medical advice was given or 
treatment was recommended by or received from a 
physician within six months before the effective date of 
coverage. 

2. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall not 
indemnify against losses resulting from sickness on a 
different basis than losses resulting from accidents. 

3. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall 
provide that benefits designed to cover cost sharing 
amounts under Medicare will be changed automatically to 
coincide with any changes in the applicable Medicare 
deductible amount and copayment percentage factors , 
copayment or coinsurance amounts. Premiums may be 
modified to correspond with such changes provided that 
loss ratios are being met. 

4. No Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall 
provide for termination of coverage of a spouse solely 
because of the occurrence of an event specified for 
termination of coverage of the insured, other than the 
nonpayment of premium. 

5. Each Medicare supplement policy shall be guaranteed 
renewable. 

a. The issuer shall not cancel or nonrenew the policy 
solely on the ground of health status of the individual. 

b. The issuer shall not cancel or nonrenew the policy for 
any reason other than nonpayment of premium or 
material misrepresentation. 

c. If the Medicare supplement policy is terminated by the 
group policyholder and is not replaced as provided under 
subdivision 5 e of this subsection, the issuer shall offer 

certificateholders an individual Medicare supplement 
policy which (at the option of the certificateholder): 

(1) Provides for continuation of the benefits contained in 
the group policy; or 

(2) Provides for benefits that otherwise meet the 
requirements of this subsection. 

d. If an individual is a certificateholder in a group 
Medicare supplement policy and the individual 
terminates membership in the group, the issuer shall: 

(1) Offer the certificateholder the conversion opportunity 
described in subdivision 5 c of this subsection; or 

(2) At the option of the group policyholder, offer the 
certificateholder continuation of coverage under the 
group policy. 

e. If a group Medicare supplement policy is replaced by 
another group Medicare supplement policy purchased by 
the same policyholder, the issuer of the replacement 
policy shall offer coverage to all persons covered under 
the old group policy on its date of termination. Coverage 
under the new policy shall not result in any exclusion for 
preexisting conditions that would have been covered 
under the group policy being replaced. 

f. If a Medicare supplement policy is modified to 
eliminate an outpatient prescription drug benefit as a 
result of requirements imposed by the Medicare 
Prescription Drug, Improvement, and Modernization Act 
of 2003 (42 USC § 1395w-101), the modified policy 
shall be deemed to satisfy the guaranteed renewal 
requirements of this subdivision 5. 

6. Termination of a Medicare supplement policy or 
certificate shall be without prejudice to any continuous loss 
which commenced while the policy was in force, but the 
extension of benefits beyond the period during which the 
policy was in force may be conditioned upon the 
continuous total disability of the insured, limited to the 
duration of the policy benefit period, if any, or payment of 
the maximum benefits. Receipt of Medicare Part D 
benefits will not be considered in determining a continuous 
loss. 

7. a. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall 
provide that benefits and premiums under the policy or 
certificate shall be suspended at the request of the 
policyholder or certificateholder for the period (not to 
exceed 24 months) in which the policyholder or 
certificateholder has applied for and is determined to be 
entitled to medical assistance under Title XIX of the Social 
Security Act of 1935 (42 USC § 1396 et seq.), but only if 
the policyholder or certificateholder notifies the issuer of 
such policy or certificate within 90 days after the date the 
individual becomes entitled to such assistance. 
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b. If suspension occurs and if the policyholder or 
certificateholder loses entitlement to medical assistance, 
the policy or certificate shall be automatically reinstituted 
(effective as of the date of termination of such 
entitlement) if the policyholder or certificateholder 
provides notice of loss of entitlement within 90 days after 
the date of loss and pays the premium attributable to the 
period. 

c. Each Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall 
provide that benefits and premiums under the policy shall 
be suspended (for any period that may be provided by 
federal regulation) at the request of the policyholder if 
the policyholder or certificateholder is entitled to benefits 
under § 226 (b) of the Social Security Act (42 USC 
§ 426) and is covered under a group health plan (as 
defined in § 1862(b)(1)(A)(v) of the Social Security Act 
(42 USC § 1395y)). If suspension occurs and if the 
policyholder or certificateholder loses coverage under the 
group health plan, the policy shall be automatically 
reinstituted (effective as of the date of loss of coverage) 
if the policyholder or certificateholder provides notice of 
loss of coverage within 90 days after the date of the loss. 

d. Reinstitution of coverages as described in subdivisions 
7 b and c of this subsection: 

(1) Shall not provide for any waiting period with respect 
to treatment of preexisting conditions; 

(2) Shall provide for reinstituted coverage that is 
substantially equivalent to coverage in effect before the 
date of such suspension. If the suspended Medicare 
supplement policy provided coverage for outpatient 
prescription drugs, reinstitution of the policy for 
Medicare Part D enrollees shall be without coverage for 
outpatient prescription drugs and shall otherwise provide 
substantially equivalent coverage to the coverage in 
effect before the date of suspension; and  

(3) Shall provide for classification of premiums on terms 
at least as favorable to the policyholder or 
certificateholder as the premium classification terms that 
would have applied to the policyholder or 
certificateholder had the coverage not been suspended. 

8. If an issuer makes a written offer to the Medicare 
supplement policyholders or certificateholders of one or 
more of its plans, to exchange during a specified period 
from his 1990 standardized plan (as described 
in [ 14VAC5-170-70 14VAC5-170-80 ] ) to a 2010 
standardized plan (as described in [ 14VAC5-170-75 
14VAC5-170-85 ] ), the offer and subsequent exchange 
shall comply with the following requirements: 

a. An issuer need not provide justification to the 
commission if the insured replaces a 1990 standardized 
policy or certificate with an issue age rated 2010 
standardized policy or certificate at the insured's original 

issue age and duration. If an insured's policy or 
certificate to be replaced is priced on an issue age rate 
schedule at the time of such offer, the rate charged to the 
insured for the new exchanged policy shall recognize the 
policy reserve buildup, due to the prefunding inherent in 
the use of an issue age rate basis, for the benefit of the 
insured. The method proposed to be used by an issuer 
shall be filed with the commission in accordance with § 
38.2-316 of the Code of Virginia. 

b. The rating class of the new policy or certificate shall 
be the class closest to the insured's class of the replaced 
coverage. 

c. An issuer may not apply new preexisting condition 
limitations or a new incontestability period to the new 
policy for those benefits contained in the exchanged 1990 
standardized policy or certificate of the insured, but may 
apply preexisting condition limitations of no more than 
six months to any added benefits contained in the new 
2010 standardized policy or certificate not contained in 
the exchanged policy. 

d. The new policy or certificate shall be offered to all 
policyholders or certificateholders within a given plan, 
except where the offer of issue would be in violation of 
state or federal law. 

C. Standards for basic (core) benefits common to benefit 
plans A through J. Every issuer shall make available a policy 
or certificate including only the following basic core package 
of benefits to each prospective insured. An issuer may make 
available to prospective insureds any of the other Medicare 
Supplement Insurance Benefit Plans in addition to the basic 
core package, but not in lieu of it.  

1. Coverage of Part A Medicare Eligible Expenses for 
hospitalization to the extent not covered by Medicare from 
the 61st day through the 90th day in any Medicare benefit 
period;  

2. Coverage of Part A Medicare Eligible Expenses incurred 
for hospitalization to the extent not covered by Medicare 
for each Medicare lifetime inpatient reserve day used;  

3. Upon exhaustion of the Medicare hospital inpatient 
coverage including the lifetime reserve days, coverage of 
100% of the Medicare Part A eligible expenses for 
hospitalization paid at the applicable prospective payment 
system (PPS) rate, or other appropriate Medicare standard 
of payment, subject to a lifetime maximum benefit of an 
additional 365 days;  

4. Coverage under Medicare Parts A and B for the 
reasonable cost of the first three pints of blood (or 
equivalent quantities of packed red blood cells, as defined 
under federal regulations) unless replaced in accordance 
with federal regulations;  
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5. Coverage for the coinsurance amount, or in the case of 
hospital outpatient department services paid under a 
prospective payment system, the copayment amount of 
Medicare Eligible Expenses under Part B regardless of 
hospital confinement, subject to the Medicare Part B 
deductible.  

D. Standards for additional benefits. The following 
additional benefits shall be included in Medicare Supplement 
Benefit Plans "B" through "J" only as provided by 14VAC5-
170-80.  

1. Medicare Part A deductible. Coverage for all of the 
Medicare Part A inpatient hospital deductible amount per 
benefit period.  

2. Skilled nursing facility care. Coverage for the actual 
billed charges up to the coinsurance amount from the 21st 
day through the 100th day in a Medicare benefit period for 
posthospital skilled nursing facility care eligible under 
Medicare Part A.  

3. Medicare Part B deductible. Coverage for all of the 
Medicare Part B deductible amount per calendar year 
regardless of hospital confinement.  

4. Eighty percent of the Medicare Part B excess charges. 
Coverage for 80% of the difference between the actual 
Medicare Part B charge as billed, not to exceed any charge 
limitation established by the Medicare program or state 
law, and the Medicare-approved Part B charge.  

5. One hundred percent of the Medicare Part B excess 
charges. Coverage for all of the difference between the 
actual Medicare Part B charge as billed, not to exceed any 
charge limitation established by the Medicare program or 
state law, and the Medicare-approved Part B charge.  

6. Basic outpatient prescription drug benefit. Coverage for 
50% of outpatient prescription drug charges, after a $250 
calendar year deductible, to a maximum of $1,250 in 
benefits received by the insured per calendar year, to the 
extent not covered by Medicare. The basic outpatient 
prescription drug benefit may be included for sale or 
issuance in a Medicare supplement policy until January 1, 
2006.  

7. Extended outpatient prescription drug benefit. Coverage 
for 50% of outpatient prescription drug charges, after a 
$250 calendar year deductible to a maximum of $3,000 in 
benefits received by the insured per calendar year, to the 
extent not covered by Medicare. The extended outpatient 
prescription drug benefit may be included for sale or 
issuance in a Medicare supplement policy until January 1, 
2006.  

8. Medically necessary emergency care in a foreign 
country. Coverage to the extent not covered by Medicare 
for 80% of the billed charges for Medicare-eligible 
expenses for medically necessary emergency hospital, 

physician and medical care received in a foreign country, 
which care would have been covered by Medicare if 
provided in the United States and which care began during 
the first 60 consecutive days of each trip outside the United 
States, subject to a calendar year deductible of $250, and a 
lifetime maximum benefit of $50,000. For purposes of this 
benefit, "emergency care" shall mean care needed 
immediately because of an injury or an illness of sudden 
and unexpected onset.  

9. Preventive medical care benefit. Coverage for the 
following preventive health services not covered by 
Medicare:  

a. An annual clinical preventive medical history and 
physical examination that may include tests and services 
from subdivision 9 b of this subsection and patient 
education to address preventive health care measures.  

b. Preventive screening tests or preventive services, the 
selection and frequency of which is determined to be 
medically appropriate by the attending physician.  

Reimbursement shall be for the actual charges up to 100% 
of the Medicare-approved amount for each service, as if 
Medicare were to cover the service as identified in 
American Medical Association Current Procedural 
Terminology (AMA CPT) codes, to a maximum of $120 
annually under this benefit. This benefit shall not include 
payment for any procedure covered by Medicare.  

10. At-home recovery benefit. Coverage for services to 
provide short term, at-home assistance with activities of 
daily living for those recovering from an illness, injury or 
surgery.  

a. For purposes of this benefit, the following definitions 
shall apply:  

"Activities of daily living" include, but are not limited to, 
bathing, dressing, personal hygiene, transferring, eating, 
ambulating, assistance with drugs that are normally self-
administered, and changing bandages or other dressings.  

"Care provider" means a duly qualified or licensed home 
health aide or homemaker, personal care aide or nurse 
provided through a licensed home health care agency or 
referred by a licensed referral agency or licensed nurses 
registry.  

"Home" shall mean any place used by the insured as a 
place of residence, provided that such place would 
qualify as a residence for home health care services 
covered by Medicare. A hospital or skilled nursing 
facility shall not be considered the insured's place of 
residence.  

"At-home recovery visit" means the period of a visit 
required to provide at home recovery care, without limit 
on the duration of the visit, except each consecutive four 
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hours in a 24-hour period of services provided by a care 
provider is one visit.  

b. Coverage requirements and limitations:  

(1) At-home recovery services provided must be 
primarily services which assist in activities of daily 
living.  

(2) The insured's attending physician must certify that the 
specific type and frequency of at-home recovery services 
are necessary because of a condition for which a home 
care plan of treatment was approved by Medicare; and  

(3) Coverage is limited to:  

(a) No more than the number and type of at-home 
recovery visits certified as necessary by the insured's 
attending physician. The total number of at-home 
recovery visits shall not exceed the number of Medicare 
approved home health care visits under a Medicare 
approved home care plan of treatment;  

(b) The actual charges for each visit up to a maximum 
reimbursement of $40 per visit;  

(c) One thousand six hundred dollars per calendar year;  

(d) Seven visits in any one week;  

(e) Care furnished on a visiting basis in the insured's 
home;  

(f) Services provided by a care provider as defined in this 
section;  

(g) At-home recovery visits while the insured is covered 
under the policy or certificate and not otherwise 
excluded;  

(h) At-home recovery visits received during the period 
the insured is receiving Medicare approved home care 
services or no more than eight weeks after the service 
date of the last Medicare approved home health care 
visit.  

c. Coverage is excluded for:  

(1) Home care visits paid for by Medicare or other 
government programs; and  

(2) Care provided by family members, unpaid volunteers 
or providers who are not care providers.  

E. Standards for Plans K and L.  

1. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "K" 
shall consist of the following:  

a. Coverage of 100% of the Part A hospital coinsurance 
amount for each day used from the 61st through the 90th 
day in any Medicare benefit period;  

b. Coverage of 100% of the Part A hospital coinsurance 
amount for each Medicare lifetime inpatient reserve day 

used from the 91st through the 150th day in any 
Medicare benefit period;  

c. Upon exhaustion of the Medicare hospital inpatient 
coverage, including the lifetime reserve days, coverage 
of 100% of the Medicare Part A eligible expenses for 
hospitalization paid at the applicable prospective 
payment system (PPS) rate, or other appropriate 
Medicare standard of payment, subject to lifetime 
maximum benefit of an additional 365 days;  

d. Medicare Part A deductible: Coverage for 50% of the 
Medicare Part A inpatient hospital deductible amount per 
benefit period until the out-of-pocket limitation is met as 
described in subdivision 1 j of this subsection;  

e. Skilled nursing facility care: Coverage for 50% of the 
coinsurance amount for each day used from the 21st day 
through the 100th day in a Medicare benefit period for 
post hospital skilled nursing facility care eligible under 
Medicare Part A until the out-of-pocket limitation is met 
as described in subdivision 1 j of this subsection;  

f. Hospice care: Coverage for 50% of cost sharing for all 
Part A Medicare eligible expenses and respite care until 
the out-of-pocket limitation is met as described in 
subdivision 1 j of this subsection;  

g. Coverage for 50%, under Medicare Part A or B, of the 
reasonable cost of the first three pints of blood (or 
equivalent quantities of packed red blood cells, as 
defined under federal regulations) unless replaced in 
accordance with federal regulations until the out-of-
pocket limitation is met as described in subdivision 1 j of 
this subsection;  

h. Except for coverage provided in subdivision 1 j of this 
subsection, coverage for 50% of the cost sharing 
otherwise applicable under Medicare Part B after the 
policyholder pays the Part B deductible until the out-of-
pocket limitation is met as described in subdivision 1 j of 
this subsection;  

i. Coverage of 100% of the cost sharing for Medicare 
Part B preventive services after the policyholder pays the 
Part B deductible; and  

j. Coverage of 100% of all cost sharing under Medicare 
Parts A and B for the balance of the calendar year after 
the individual has reached the out-of-pocket limitation on 
annual expenditures under Medicare Parts A and B of 
$4,000 in 2006, indexed each year by the appropriate 
inflation adjustment specified by the Secretary of the 
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.  

2. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "L" 
shall consist of the following:  

a. The benefits described in subdivisions 1 a, b, c and i of 
this subsection;  
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b. The benefit described in subdivisions 1 d, e, f, g and h 
of this subsection, but substituting 75% for 50%; and  

c. The benefit described in subdivision 1 j of this 
subsection, but substituting $2,000 for $4,000 indexed 
each year by the appropriate inflation adjustment 
specified by the Secretary of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services.  

14VAC5-170-75. Benefit standards for 2010 Medicare 
supplement policies delivered on or after June 1, 2010. 

A. The following standards are applicable to all Medicare 
supplement benefit plan policies or certificates delivered or 
issued for delivery in this Commonwealth [ with an effective 
date for coverage ] on or after June 1, 2010. No policy or 
certificate may be advertised, solicited, delivered, or issued 
for delivery in this Commonwealth as a Medicare supplement 
policy or certificate unless it complies with these benefit 
standards. No issuer may offer any 1990 standardized 
Medicare supplement benefit plan for sale on or after June 1, 
2010. Benefit standards applicable to Medicare supplement 
policies and certificates issued [ before with an effective date 
for coverage prior to ] June 1, 2010, remain subject to the 
requirements of 14VAC5-170-70. 

B. The following standards apply to Medicare supplement 
policies and certificates and are in addition to all other 
requirements of this chapter. 

1. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall not 
exclude or limit benefits for losses incurred more than six 
months from the effective date of coverage because it 
involved a preexisting condition. The policy or certificate 
may not define a preexisting condition more restrictively 
than a condition for which medical advice was given or 
treatment was recommended by or received from a 
physician within six months before the effective date of 
coverage. 

2. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall not 
indemnify against losses resulting from sickness on a 
different basis than losses resulting from accidents. 

3. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall 
provide that benefits designed to cover cost-sharing 
amounts under Medicare will be changed automatically to 
coincide with any changes in the applicable Medicare 
deductible, copayment or coinsurance amounts. Premiums 
may be modified to correspond with such changes. 

4. No Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall 
provide for termination of coverage of a spouse solely 
because of the occurrence of an event specified for 
termination of coverage of the insured, other than the 
nonpayment of premium. 

5. Each Medicare supplement policy shall be guaranteed 
renewable. 

a. The issuer shall not cancel or nonrenew the policy 
solely on the ground of health status of the individual. 

b. The issuer shall not cancel or nonrenew the policy for 
any reason other than nonpayment of premium or 
material misrepresentation. 

c. If the Medicare supplement policy is terminated by the 
group policyholder and is not replaced as provided in 
subdivision 5 e of this subsection, the issuer shall offer 
certificateholders an individual Medicare supplement 
policy which, at the option of the certificateholder: 

(1) Provides for continuation of the benefits contained in 
the group policy; or 

(2) Provides for benefits that otherwise meet the 
requirements of this subsection. 

d. If an individual is a certificateholder in a group 
Medicare supplement policy and the individual 
terminates membership in the group, the issuer shall: 

(1) Offer the certificateholder the conversion opportunity 
described in subdivision 5 c of this subsection; or 

(2) At the option of the group policyholder, offer the 
certificateholder continuation of coverage under the 
group policy. 

e. If a group Medicare supplement policy is replaced by 
another group Medicare supplement policy purchased by 
the same policyholder, the issuer of the replacement 
policy shall offer coverage to all persons covered under 
the old group policy on its date of termination. Coverage 
under the new policy shall not result in any exclusion for 
preexisting conditions that would have been covered 
under the group policy being replaced. 

6. Termination of a Medicare supplement policy or 
certificate shall be without prejudice to any continuous loss 
that commenced while the policy was in force, but the 
extension of benefits beyond the period during which the 
policy was in force may be conditioned upon the 
continuous total disability of the insured, limited to the 
duration of the policy benefit period if any, or payment of 
the maximum benefits. Receipt of Medicare Part D 
benefits will not be considered in determining a continuous 
loss. 

7. a. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall 
provide that benefits and premiums under the policy or 
certificate shall be suspended at the request of the 
policyholder or certificateholder for the period not to 
exceed 24 months in which the policyholder or 
certificateholder has applied for and is determined to be 
entitled to medical assistance under Title XIX of the Social 
Security Act, but only if the policyholder or 
certificateholder notifies the issuer of the policy or 
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certificate within 90 days after the date the individual 
becomes entitled to assistance.  

b. If suspension occurs and if the policyholder or 
certificateholder loses entitlement to medical assistance, 
the policy or certificate shall be automatically reinstituted 
(effective as of the date of termination of entitlement) as 
of the termination of entitlement if the policyholder or 
certificateholder provides notice of loss of entitlement 
within 90 days after the date of loss and pays the 
premium attributable to the period, effective as of the 
date of termination of entitlement. 

c. Each Medicare supplement policy shall provide that 
benefits and premiums under the policy shall be 
suspended (for any period that may be provided by 
federal regulation) at the request of the policyholder if 
the policyholder is entitled to benefits under § 226 (b) of 
the Social Security Act and is covered under a group 
health plan as defined in § 1862 (b)(1)(A)(v) of the 
Social Security Act. If suspension occurs and if the 
policyholder or certificateholder loses coverage under the 
group health plan, the policy shall be automatically 
reinstituted (effective as of the date of loss of coverage) 
if the policyholder provides notice of loss of coverage 
within 90 days after the date of the loss and pays the 
premium attributable to the period, effective as of the 
date of termination of enrollment in the group health 
plan. 

d. Reinstitution of coverages as described in subdivisions 
7 b and c of this subsection: 

(1) Shall not provide for any waiting period with respect 
to treatment of preexisting conditions; 

(2) Shall provide for resumption of coverage that is 
substantially equivalent to coverage in effect before the 
date of suspension; and 

(3) Shall provide for classification of premiums on terms 
at least as favorable to the policyholder or 
certificateholder as the premium classification terms that 
would have been applied to the policyholder or 
certificateholder had the coverage not been suspended. 

C. Standards for basic (core) benefits common to Medicare 
supplement insurance benefit plans A, B, C, D, F, F with 
High Deductible, G, M and N. Every issuer of Medicare 
supplement insurance benefit plans shall make available a 
policy or certificate including only the following basic "core" 
package of benefits to each prospective insured. An issuer 
may make available to prospective insureds any of the other 
Medicare supplement insurance benefit plans in addition to 
the basic core package, but not in lieu of it. 

1. Coverage of Part A Medicare eligible expenses for 
hospitalization to the extent not covered by Medicare from 

the 61st day through the 90th day in any Medicare benefit 
period; 

2. Coverage of Part A Medicare eligible expenses incurred 
for hospitalization to the extent not covered by Medicare 
for each Medicare lifetime inpatient reserve day used; 

3. Upon exhaustion of the Medicare hospital inpatient 
coverage, including the lifetime reserve days, coverage of 
100% of the Medicare Part A eligible expenses for 
hospitalization paid at the applicable prospective payment 
system (PPS) rate, or other appropriate Medicare standard 
of payment, subject to a lifetime maximum benefit of an 
additional 365 days. The provider shall accept the issuer’s 
payment as payment in full and may not bill the insured for 
any balance; 

4. Coverage under Medicare Parts A and B for the 
reasonable cost of the first three pints of blood (or 
equivalent quantities of packed red blood cells, as defined 
under federal regulations) unless replaced in accordance 
with federal regulations; 

5. Coverage for the coinsurance amount, or in the case of 
hospital outpatient department services paid under a 
prospective payment system, the copayment amount, of 
Medicare eligible expenses under Part B regardless of 
hospital confinement, subject to the Medicare Part B 
deductible; and 

6. Coverage of cost sharing for all Part A Medicare eligible 
hospice care and respite care expenses. 

D. Standards for additional benefits. The following 
additional benefits shall be included in Medicare supplement 
benefit Plans B, C, D, F, F with High Deductible, G, M, and 
N as provided by 14VAC5-170-85. 

1. Medicare Part A deductible: Coverage for 100% of the 
Medicare Part A inpatient hospital deductible amount per 
benefit period. 

2. Medicare Part A deductible: Coverage for 50% of the 
Medicare Part A inpatient hospital deductible amount per 
benefit period. 

3. Skilled nursing facility care: Coverage for the actual 
billed charges up to the coinsurance amount from the 21st 
day through the 100th day in a Medicare benefit period for 
posthospital skilled nursing facility care eligible under 
Medicare Part A. 

4. Medicare Part B deductible: Coverage for 100% of the 
Medicare Part B deductible amount per calendar year 
regardless of hospital confinement. 

5. 100% of the Medicare Part B excess charges: Coverage 
for all of the difference between the actual Medicare Part B 
charges as billed, not to exceed any charge limitation 
established by the Medicare program or state law, and the 
Medicare-approved Part B charge. 
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6. Medically necessary emergency care in a foreign 
country: Coverage to the extent not covered by Medicare 
for 80% of the billed charges for Medicare-eligible 
expenses for medically necessary emergency hospital, 
physician and medical care received in a foreign country, 
which care would have been covered by Medicare if 
provided in the United States and which care began during 
the first 60 consecutive days of each trip outside the United 
States, subject to a calendar year deductible of $250, and a 
lifetime maximum benefit of $50,000. For purposes of this 
benefit, "emergency care" shall mean care needed 
immediately because of an injury or an illness of sudden 
and unexpected onset. 

14VAC5-170-80. Standard Medicare supplement benefit 
plans for 1990 Medicare supplement policies delivered on 
or after July 30, 1992, and prior to June 1, 2010. 

A. The following standard Medicare supplement benefit 
plans are applicable to all Medicare supplement benefit plan 
policies or certificates delivered or issued for delivery in this 
Commonwealth on or after July 30, 1992, and [ with an 
effective date for coverage ] prior to June 1, 2010. An issuer 
shall make available to each prospective policyholder and 
certificateholder a policy form or certificate form containing 
only the basic core benefits, as defined in 14VAC5-170-70 C.  

B. No groups, packages or combinations of Medicare 
supplement benefits other than those listed in this section 
shall be offered for sale in this Commonwealth, except as 
may be permitted in subsection G of this section and 
14VAC5-170-90.  

C. Benefit plans shall be uniform in structure, language, 
designation, and format to the standard benefit plans "A" 
through "L" listed in this subsection and conform to the 
definitions in 14VAC5-170-30. Each benefit shall be 
structured in accordance with the format provided in 
14VAC5-170-70 C, D, or E and list the benefits in the order 
shown in this subsection. For purposes of this section, 
"structure, language, and format" means style, arrangement 
and overall content of a benefit.  

D. An issuer may use, in addition to the benefit plan 
designations required in subsection C, other designations to 
the extent permitted by law.  

E. Make-up of benefit plans:  

1. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "A" 
shall be limited to the basic (core) benefits common to all 
benefit plans, as defined in 14VAC5-170-70 C.  

2. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "B" 
shall include only the following: The core benefits as 
defined in 14VAC5-170-70 C, plus the Medicare Part A 
deductible as defined in 14VAC5-170-70 D 1.  

3. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "C" 
shall include only the following: The core benefits as 

defined in 14VAC5-170-70 C, plus the Medicare Part A 
deductible, skilled nursing facility care, Medicare Part B 
deductible, and medically necessary emergency care in a 
foreign country as defined in 14VAC5-170-70 D 1, 2, 3, 
and 8 respectively.  

4. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "D" 
shall include only the following: The core benefits as 
defined in 14VAC5-170-70 C, plus the Medicare Part A 
deductible, skilled nursing facility care, medically 
necessary emergency care in a foreign country, and the at-
home recovery benefit as defined in 14VAC5-170-70 D 1, 
2, 8, and 10 respectively.  

5. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "E" 
shall include only the following: The core benefits as 
defined in 14VAC5-170-70 C, plus the Medicare Part A 
deductible, skilled nursing facility care, medically 
necessary emergency care in a foreign country, and 
preventive medical care as defined in 14VAC5-170-70 D 
1, 2, 8, and 9 respectively. 

6. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "F" 
shall include only the following: The core benefits as 
defined in 14VAC5-170-70 C, plus the Medicare Part A 
deductible, the skilled nursing facility care, the Part B 
deductible, 100% of the Medicare Part B excess charges, 
and medically necessary emergency care in a foreign 
country as defined in 14VAC5-170-70 D 1, 2, 3, 5, and 8 
respectively. 

7. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit high 
deductible plan "F" shall include only the following: 100% 
of covered expenses following the payment of the annual 
high deductible plan "F" deductible. The covered expenses 
include the core benefits as defined in 14VAC5-170-70 C, 
plus the Medicare Part A deductible, skilled nursing 
facility care, the Medicare Part B deductible, 100% of the 
Medicare Part B excess charges, and medically necessary 
emergency care in a foreign country as defined in 
14VAC5-170-70 D 1, 2, 3, 5, and 8 respectively. The 
annual high deductible plan "F" deductible shall consist of 
out-of-pocket expenses, other than premiums, for services 
covered by the Medicare supplement plan "F" policy and 
shall be in addition to any other specific benefit 
deductibles. The calendar year deductible shall be $1,500 
for 1998 and 1999. It shall be adjusted annually thereafter 
by the Secretary to reflect the change in the Consumer 
Price Index for all urban consumers for the 12-month 
period ending on August 31st of the preceding year and 
rounded to the nearest multiple of $10. 

8. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "G" 
shall include only the following: The core benefits as 
defined in 14VAC5-170-70 C, plus the Medicare Part A 
deductible, skilled nursing facility care, 80% of the 
Medicare Part B excess charges, medically necessary 
emergency care in a foreign country, and the at-home 
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recovery benefit as defined in 14VAC5-170-70 D 1, 2, 4, 
8, and 10 respectively. 

9. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "H" 
shall include only the following: The core benefits as 
defined in 14VAC5-170-70 C, plus the Medicare Part A 
deductible, skilled nursing facility care, basic prescription 
drug benefit and medically necessary emergency care in a 
foreign country as defined in 14VAC5-170-70 D 1, 2, 6, 
and 8 respectively. The basic prescription drug benefit 
shall not be included in a Medicare supplement policy sold 
after December 31, 2005. 

10. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "I" 
shall include only the following: The core benefits as 
defined in 14VAC5-170-70 C, plus the Medicare Part A 
deductible, skilled nursing facility care, 100% of the 
Medicare Part B excess charges, basic prescription drug 
benefit, medically necessary emergency care in a foreign 
country, and at-home recovery benefit as defined in 
14VAC5-170-70 D 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, and 10 respectively. The 
basic prescription drug benefit shall not be included in a 
Medicare supplement policy sold after December 31, 2005. 

11. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "J" 
shall include only the following: The core benefits as 
defined in 14VAC5-170-70 C, plus the Medicare Part A 
deductible, skilled nursing facility care, Medicare Part B 
deductible, 100% of the Medicare Part B excess charges, 
extended prescription drug benefit, medically necessary 
emergency care in a foreign country, preventive medical 
care, and at-home recovery benefit as defined in 14VAC5-
170-70 D 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 8, 9, and 10 respectively. The 
extended prescription drug benefit shall not be included in 
a Medicare supplement policy sold after December 31, 
2005. 

12. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit high 
deductible plan "J" shall include only the following: 100% 
of covered expenses following the payment of the annual 
high deductible plan "J" deductible. The covered expenses 
include the core benefits as defined in 14VAC5-170-70 C, 
plus the Medicare Part A deductible, skilled nursing 
facility care, Medicare Part B deductible, 100% of the 
Medicare Part B excess charges, extended outpatient 
prescription drug benefit, medically necessary emergency 
care in a foreign country, preventive medical care benefit, 
and at-home recovery benefit as defined in 14VAC5-170-
70 D 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 8, 9, and 10 respectively. The annual 
high deductible plan "J" deductible shall consist of out-of-
pocket expenses, other than premiums, for services 
covered by the Medicare supplement plan "J" policy and 
shall be in addition to any other specific benefit 
deductibles. The calendar year deductible shall be $1,500 
for 1998 and 1999. It shall be adjusted annually thereafter 
by the Secretary to reflect the change in the Consumer 
Price Index for all urban consumers for the 12-month 

period ending on August 31st of the preceding year and 
rounded to the nearest multiple of $10. The extended 
outpatient prescription drug benefit shall not be included in 
a Medicare supplement policy sold after December 31, 
2005.  

F. Make-up of two Medicare supplement plans mandated by 
the Medicare Prescription Drug, Improvement, and 
Modernization Act of 2003 (42 USC § 1395w-101): 

1. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "K" 
shall consist of only those benefits described in 14VAC5-
170-70 E 1. 

2. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "L" 
shall consist of only those benefits described in 14VAC5-
170-70 E 2. 

G. New or innovative benefits. An issuer may, with the prior 
approval of the State Corporation Commission, offer policies 
or certificates with new or innovative benefits in addition to 
the benefits provided in a policy or certificate that otherwise 
complies with the applicable standards. The new or 
innovative benefits may include benefits that are appropriate 
to Medicare supplement insurance, new or innovative, not 
otherwise available, cost-effective, and offered in a manner 
that is consistent with the goal of simplification of Medicare 
supplement policies. After December 31, 2005, the innovative 
benefit shall not include an outpatient prescription drug 
benefit.  

14VAC5-170-85. Standard plans for 2010 standardized 
Medicare supplement policies delivered on or after June 
1, 2010. 

A. The following standard plans are applicable to all 
Medicare supplement benefit plan policies or certificates 
delivered or issued for delivery in this Commonwealth [ with 
an effective date for coverage ] on or after June 1, 2010. No 
policy or certificate may be advertised, solicited, delivered or 
issued for delivery in this Commonwealth as a Medicare 
supplement policy or certificate unless it complies with these 
benefit plan standards. Benefit plan standards applicable to 
Medicare supplement policies and certificates issued [ with an 
effective date for coverage ] before June 1, 2010, remain 
subject to the requirements of 14VAC5-170-80. 

B. 1. An issuer shall make available to each prospective 
policyholder and certificateholder a policy form or certificate 
form containing only the basic (core) benefits, as defined in 
14VAC5-170-75 C. 

2. If an issuer makes available any of the additional 
benefits described in 14VAC5-170-75 D, or offers 
standardized benefit Plans K or L (as described in 
subdivisions F 8 and 9 of this section), then the issuer shall 
make available to each prospective policyholder and 
certificateholder, in addition to a policy form or certificate 
form with only the basic (core) benefits as described in 
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subdivision 1 of this subsection, a policy form or certificate 
form containing either standardized benefit Plan C (as 
described in subdivision F 3 of this section) or 
standardized benefit Plan F (as described in subdivision F 
5 of this section). 

C. No groups, packages or combinations of Medicare 
supplement benefits other than those listed in this section 
shall be offered for sale in this Commonwealth, except as 
may be permitted in subsection G of this section and 
14VAC5-170-90. 

D. Benefit plans shall be uniform in structure, language, 
designation and format to the standard benefit plans listed in 
this subsection and conform to the definitions in 14VAC5-
170-30. Each benefit shall be structured in accordance with 
the format provided in 14VAC5-170-75 C and D; or, in the 
case of plans K or L, in subdivision F 8 or 9 of this section 
and list the benefits in the order shown. For purposes of this 
section, the term "structure, language, and format" means 
style, arrangement and overall content of a benefit. 

E. In addition to the benefit plan designations required in 
subsection D of this section, an issuer may use other 
designations to the extent permitted by law. 

F. Make-up of 2010 standardized benefit plans: 

1. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan A shall 
include only the basic (core) benefits as defined in 
14VAC5-170-75 C. 

2. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan B shall 
include only the basic (core) benefit as defined in 
14VAC5-170-75 C, plus 100% of the Medicare Part A 
deductible as defined in 14VAC5-170-75 D 1. 

3. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan C shall 
include only the basic (core) benefit as defined in 
14VAC5-170-75 C, plus 100% of the Medicare Part A 
deductible, skilled nursing facility care, 100% of the 
Medicare Part B deductible, and medically necessary 
emergency care in a foreign country as defined in 
14VAC5-170-75 D 1, 3, 4 and 6, respectively. 

4. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan D shall 
include only the basic (core) benefit as defined in 
14VAC5-170-75 C, plus 100% of the Medicare Part A 
deductible, skilled nursing facility care, and medically 
necessary emergency care in an foreign country as defined 
in 14VAC5-170-75 D 1, 3 and 6, respectively. 

5. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan F shall 
include only the basic (core) benefit as defined in 
14VAC5-170-75 C, plus 100% of the Medicare Part A 
deductible, skilled nursing facility care, 100% of the 
Medicare Part B deductible, 100% of the Medicare Part B 
excess charges, and medically necessary emergency care in 
a foreign country as defined in 14VAC5-170-75 D 1, 3, 4, 
5 and 6, respectively. 

6. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan F With 
High Deductible shall include only 100% of covered 
expenses following the payment of the annual deductible 
as defined in subdivision 6 b of this subsection.  

a. The basic (core) benefit as defined in 14VAC5-170-75 
C, plus 100% of the Medicare Part A deductible, skilled 
nursing facility care, 100% of the Medicare Part B 
deductible, 100% of the Medicare Part B excess charges, 
and medically necessary emergency care in a foreign 
country as defined in 14VAC5-170-75 D 1, 3, 4, 5 and 6, 
respectively.  

b. The annual deductible in Plan F With High Deductible 
shall consist of out-of-pocket expenses, other than 
premiums, for services covered by Plan F, and shall be in 
addition to any other specific benefit deductibles. The 
basis for the deductible shall be $1,500 and shall be 
adjusted annually from 1999 by the Secretary of the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services to reflect the 
change in the Consumer Price Index for all urban 
consumers for the 12-month period ending with August 
of the preceding year, and rounded to the nearest multiple 
of $10. 

7. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan G shall 
include only the basic (core) benefit as defined in 
14VAC5-170-75 C, plus 100% of the Medicare Part A 
deductible, skilled nursing facility care, 100% of the 
Medicare Part B excess charges, and medically necessary 
emergency care in a foreign country as defined in 
14VAC5-170-75 D 1, 3, 5 and 6, respectively. 

8. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan K is 
mandated by the Medicare Prescription Drug, 
Improvement and Modernization Act of 2003, and shall 
include only the following:  

a. Part A hospital coinsurance 61st through 90th days: 
Coverage of 100% of the Part A hospital coinsurance 
amount for each day used from the 61st through the 90th 
day in any Medicare benefit period; 

b. Part A hospital coinsurance, 91st through 150th days: 
Coverage of 100% of the Part A hospital coinsurance 
amount for each Medicare lifetime inpatient reserve day 
used from the 91st through the 150th day in any 
Medicare benefit period; 

c. Part A hospitalization after 150 days: Upon exhaustion 
of the Medicare hospital inpatient coverage, including the 
lifetime reserve days, coverage of 100% of the Medicare 
Part A eligible expenses for hospitalization paid at the 
applicable prospective payment system (PPS) rate, or 
other appropriate Medicare standard of payment, subject 
to a lifetime maximum benefit of an additional 365 days. 
The provider shall accept the issuer’s payment as 
payment in full and may not bill the insured for any 
balance; 
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d. Medicare Part A deductible: Coverage for 50% of the 
Medicare Part A inpatient hospital deductible amount per 
benefit period until the out-of-pocket limitation is met as 
described in subdivision j of this subsection; 

e. Skilled nursing facility care: Coverage for 50% of the 
coinsurance amount for each day used from the 21st day 
through the 100th day in a Medicare benefit period for 
posthospital skilled nursing facility care eligible under 
Medicare Part A until the out-of-pocket limitation is met 
as described in subdivision 8 j of this subsection; 

f. Hospice care: Coverage for 50% of cost sharing for all 
Part A Medicare eligible expenses and respite care until 
the out-of-pocket limitation is met as described in 
subdivision 8 j of this subsection; 

g. Blood: Coverage for 50%, under Medicare Part A or 
B, of the reasonable cost of the first three pints of blood 
(or equivalent quantities of packed red blood cells, as 
defined under federal regulations) unless replaced in 
accordance with federal regulations until the out-of-
pocket limitation is met as described in subdivision 8 j of 
this subsection; 

h. Part B cost sharing: Except for coverage provided in 
subdivision 8 i of this subsection, coverage for 50% of 
the cost sharing otherwise applicable under Medicare 
Part B after the policyholder pays the Part B deductible 
until the out-of-pocket limitation is met as described in 
subdivision 8 j of this subsection;  

i. Part B preventive services: Coverage of 100% of the 
cost sharing for Medicare Part B preventive services after 
the policyholder pays the Part B deductible; and 

j. Cost sharing after out-of-pocket limits: Coverage of 
100% of all cost sharing under Medicare Parts A and B 
for the balance of the calendar year after the individual 
has reached the out-of-pocket limitation on annual 
expenditures under Medicare Parts A and B of $4,000 in 
2006, indexed each year by the appropriate inflation 
adjustment specified by the Secretary of the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services. 

9. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan L is 
mandated by the Medicare Prescription Drug, 
Improvement and Modernization Act of 2003, and shall 
include only the following: 

a. The benefits described in subdivisions 8 a, b, c and i of 
this subsection; 

b. The benefit described in subdivisions 8 d, e, f, g and h 
of this subsection, but substituting 75% for 50%; and 

c. The benefit described in subdivision 8 j of this 
subsection, but substituting $2,000 for $4,000. 

10. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan M 
shall include only the basic (core) benefit as defined in 

14VAC5-170-75 C, plus 50% of the Medicare Part A 
deductible, skilled nursing facility care, and medically 
necessary emergency care in a foreign country as defined 
in 14VAC5-170-75 D 2, 3 and 6, respectively. 

11. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan N shall 
include only the basic (core) benefit as defined in 
14VAC5-170-75 C, plus 100% of the Medicare Part A 
deductible, skilled nursing facility care, and medically 
necessary emergency care in a foreign country as defined 
in 14VAC5-170-75 D 1, 3 and 6, respectively, with 
copayments in the following amounts:  

a. The lesser of $20 or the Medicare Part B coinsurance 
or copayment for each covered health care provider 
office visit (including visits to medical specialists); and  

b. The lesser of $50 or the Medicare Part B coinsurance 
or copayment for each covered emergency room visit; 
however, this copayment shall be waived if the insured is 
admitted to any hospital and the emergency visit is 
subsequently covered as a Medicare Part A expense.  

G. New or innovative benefits. An issuer may, with the prior 
approval of the commission, offer policies or certificates with 
new or innovative benefits, in addition to the standardized 
benefits provided in a policy or certificate that otherwise 
complies with the applicable standards. The new or 
innovative benefits shall include only benefits that are 
appropriate to Medicare supplement insurance, are new or 
innovative, are not otherwise available, and are cost-effective. 
Approval of new or innovative benefits must not adversely 
impact the goal of Medicare supplement simplification. New 
or innovative benefits shall not include an outpatient 
prescription drug benefit. New or innovative benefits shall 
not be used to change or reduce benefits, including a change 
of any cost-sharing provision, in any standardized plan. 

14VAC5-170-150. Required disclosure provisions. 

A. General rules.  

1. Medicare supplement policies and certificates shall 
include a renewal or continuation provision. The language 
or specifications of such provision shall be consistent with 
the type of contract issued. The provision shall be 
appropriately captioned, shall appear on the first page of 
the policy, and shall include any reservation by the issuer 
of the right to change premiums and any automatic renewal 
premium increases based on the policyholder's age. 
Medicare supplement policies or certificates which are 
attained age rated shall include a clear and prominent 
statement, in at least 14 point type, disclosing that 
premiums will increase due to changes in age and the 
frequency under which such changes will occur.  

2. Except for riders or endorsements by which the issuer 
effectuates a request made in writing by the insured, 
exercises a specifically reserved right under a Medicare 
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supplement policy, or is required to reduce or eliminate 
benefits to avoid duplication of Medicare benefits, all 
riders or endorsements added to a Medicare supplement 
policy after date of issue or at reinstatement or renewal 
which reduce or eliminate benefits or coverage in the 
policy shall require a signed acceptance by the insured. 
After the date of policy or certificate issue, any rider or 
endorsement which increases benefits or coverage with a 
concomitant increase in premium during the policy term 
shall be agreed to in writing signed by the insured, unless 
the benefits are required by the minimum standards for 
Medicare supplement policies, or if the increased benefits 
or coverage is required by law. Where a separate additional 
premium is charged for benefits provided in connection 
with riders or endorsements, the premium charge shall be 
set forth in the policy.  

3. Medicare supplement policies or certificates shall not 
provide for the payment of benefits based on standards 
described as "usual and customary," "reasonable and 
customary" or words of similar import. 

4. If a Medicare supplement policy or certificate contains 
any limitations with respect to preexisting conditions, such 
limitations shall appear as a separate paragraph of the 
policy and be labeled as "Preexisting Condition 
Limitations."  

5. Medicare supplement policies and certificates shall have 
a notice prominently printed on the first page of the policy 
or certificate or attached thereto stating in substance that 
the policyholder or certificateholder shall have the right to 
return the policy or certificate within 30 days of its 
delivery and to have all premiums made for the policy 
refunded if, after examination of the policy or certificate, 
the insured person is not satisfied for any reason.  

6. Issuers of accident and sickness policies or certificates 
which provide hospital or medical expense coverage on an 
expense incurred or indemnity basis to a person or persons 
eligible for Medicare shall provide to those applicants a 
Guide to Health Insurance for People with Medicare in the 
form developed jointly by the National Association of 
Insurance Commissioners and the Centers for Medicare 
and Medicaid Services and in a type size no smaller than 
12 point type. Delivery of the guide shall be made whether 
or not such policies or certificates are advertised, solicited 
or issued as Medicare supplement policies or certificates as 
defined in this chapter. Except in the case of direct 
response issuers, delivery of the guide shall be made to the 
applicant at the time of application and acknowledgement 
of receipt of the guide shall be obtained by the issuer. 
Direct response issuers shall deliver the guide to the 
applicant upon request but not later than at the time the 
policy is delivered.  

For the purposes of this section, "form" means the language, 
format, type size, type proportional spacing, bold character, 
and line spacing.  

B. Notice requirements.  

1. As soon as practicable, but no later than 30 days prior to 
the annual effective date of any Medicare benefit changes, 
an issuer shall notify its policyholders and 
certificateholders of modifications it has made to Medicare 
supplement insurance policies or certificates in a format 
acceptable to the State Corporation Commission. The 
notice shall:  

a. Include a description of revisions to the Medicare 
program and a description of each modification made to 
the coverage provided under the Medicare supplement 
policy or certificate; and  

b. Inform each policyholder or certificateholder as to 
when any premium adjustment is to be made due to 
changes in Medicare.  

2. The notice of benefit modifications and any premium 
adjustments shall be in outline form and in clear and 
simple terms so as to facilitate comprehension.  

3. Such notices shall not contain or be accompanied by any 
solicitation.  

C. Issuers shall comply with any notice requirements of the 
Medicare Prescription Drug, Improvement, and 
Modernization Act of 2003 (42 USC § 1395w-101).  

D. Outline of coverage requirements for Medicare 
Supplement Policies. 

1. Issuers shall provide an outline of coverage to all 
applicants at the time the application is presented to the 
prospective applicant and, except for direct response 
policies, shall obtain an acknowledgement of receipt of the 
outline from the applicant; and  

2. If an outline of coverage is provided at the time of 
application and the Medicare supplement policy or 
certificate is issued on a basis which would require 
revision of the outline, a substitute outline of coverage 
properly describing the policy or certificate shall 
accompany such policy or certificate when it is delivered 
and contain the following statement, in no less than 12 
point type, immediately above the company name:  

"NOTICE: Read this outline of coverage carefully. It is 
not identical to the outline of coverage provided upon 
application and the coverage originally applied for has 
not been issued."  

3. The outline of coverage provided to applicants pursuant 
to this section consists of four parts: a cover page, 
premium information, disclosure pages, and charts 
displaying the features of each benefit plan offered by the 
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issuer. The outline of coverage shall be in the language and 
format prescribed below in no less than 12 point type. All 
plans A through L shall be shown on the cover page, and 
the plan(s) that are offered by the issuer shall be 
prominently identified. Premium information for plans that 
are offered shall be shown on the cover page or 
immediately following the cover page and shall be 
prominently displayed. The premium and mode shall be 

stated for all plans that are offered to the prospective 
applicant. All possible premiums for the prospective 
applicant shall be illustrated.  

4. The following items shall be included in the outline of 
coverage in the order prescribed in the following table.  

Rev. 8/05  

[COMPANY NAME]  

Outline of Medicare Supplement Coverage-Cover Page: 1 of 2 Benefit Plan(s) _________ [insert letter(s) of plan(s) being 
offered]  

*These charts show the benefits included in each of the Standard Medicare Supplemental plans. Every company must make 
available Plan "A." Some plans may not be available in your state.  

See outlines of coverages section for details about all plans.  

Basic Benefits: For Plans A—J.  

Hospitalization: Part A coinsurance plus coverage for 365 additional days after Medicare benefits end.  

Medical Expenses: Part B coinsurance (generally 20% of Medicare-approved expenses) or copayments for hospital outpatient 
services.  

Blood: First three pints of blood each year.  
A B C D E F F* G H I J J* 

Basic 
Benefit 

Basic 
Benefit Basic Benefit Basic Benefit Basic Benefit Basic Benefit Basic 

Benefit 
Basic 

Benefit 
Basic 

Benefit 
Basic 

Benefit 

    

Skilled 
Nursing 
Facility 

Coinsurance 

Skilled 
Nursing 
Facility 

Coinsurance 

Skilled 
Nursing 
Facility 

Coinsurance 

Skilled 
Nursing 
Facility 

Coinsurance 

Skilled 
Nursing 
Facility 

Coinsurance 

Skilled 
Nursing 
Facility 

Coinsurance 

Skilled 
Nursing 
Facility 

Coinsurance 

Skilled 
Nursing 
Facility 

Coinsurance 

  Part A 
Deductible 

Part A 
Deductible 

Part A 
Deductible 

Part A 
Deductible 

Part A 
Deductible 

Part A 
Deductible 

Part A 
Deductible 

Part A 
Deductible 

Part A 
Deductible 

    Part B 
Deductible     Part B 

Deductible       Part B 
Deductible 

          
Part B 
Excess 
(100%) 

Part B 
Excess 
(80%) 

  
Part B 
Excess 
(100%) 

Part B 
Excess 
(100%) 

    
Foreign 
Travel 

Emergency 

Foreign 
Travel 

Emergency 

Foreign 
Travel 

Emergency 

Foreign 
Travel 

Emergency 

Foreign 
Travel 

Emergency 

Foreign 
Travel 

Emergency 

Foreign 
Travel 

Emergency 

Foreign 
Travel 

Emergency 

      At-Home 
Recovery     At-Home 

Recovery   At-Home 
Recovery 

At-Home 
Recovery 

        

Preventive 
Care not 

covered by 
Medicare 

        

Preventive 
Care not 

covered by 
Medicare 

*Plans F and J also have an option called a high deductible Plan F and a high deductible Plan J. These high deductible plans pay the same 
benefits as Plans F and J after one has paid a calendar year $1,730 deductible. Benefits from high deductible Plans F and J will not begin 
until out-of-pocket expenses exceed $1,730. Out-of-pocket expenses for this deductible are expenses that would ordinarily be paid by the 
policy. These expenses include the Medicare deductibles for Part A and Part B, but do not include the plan’s separate foreign travel 
emergency deductible. 
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[COMPANY NAME]  
Outline of Medicare Supplement Coverage-Cover Page 2  

Basic Benefits for Plans K and L include similar services as plans A-J, but cost-sharing for the basic benefits is at different 
levels.  

J K** L** 

Basic Benefits 

100% of Part A Hospitalization Coinsurance 
plus coverage for 365 days after Medicare 
benefits end 

50% Hospice cost-sharing 

50% of Medicare-eligible expenses for the 
first three pints of blood 

50% Part B Coinsurance, except 100% 
Coinsurance for Part B Preventive Services 

100% of Part A Hospitalization Coinsurance 
plus coverage for 365 days after Medicare 
benefits end 

75% Hospice cost-sharing 

75% of Medicare-eligible expenses for the 
first three pints of blood 

75% Part B Coinsurance, except 100% 
Coinsurance for Part B Preventive Services 

Skilled Nursing Facility 
Coinsurance 50% Skilled Nursing Facility Coinsurance 75% Skilled Nursing Facility Coinsurance 

Part A Deductible 50% Part A Deductible 75% Part A Deductible 

Part B Deductible     

Part B Excess (100%)     

Foreign Travel Emergency     

At-Home Recovery     

Preventive Care NOT 
covered by Medicare     

  $4,000 Out of Pocket Annual Limit*** $2,000 Out of Pocket Annual Limit*** 

**Plans K and L provide for different cost-sharing for items and services than Plans A – J. 

Once you reach the annual limit, the plan pays 100% of the Medicare copayments, coinsurance, and deductibles for the rest of 
the calendar year. The out-of-pocket annual limit does NOT include charges from your provider that exceed Medicare-
approved amounts, called "Excess Charges." You will be responsible for paying excess charges. 

***The out-of-pocket annual limit will increase each year for inflation. 

See Outlines of Coverage for details and exceptions. 

Benefit Chart of Medicare Supplement Plans Sold [ with Effective Dates ] on or after June 1, 2010  

This chart shows the benefits included in each of the standard Medicare supplement plans. Every company must make Plan A 
available.  

Some plans may not be available in your state. 

Plans E, H, I and J are no longer available for sale after June 1, 2010. [ [This sentence shall not appear after June 1, 2011.] ]  

Basic benefits: 

Hospitalization – Part A coinsurance plus coverage for 365 additional days after Medicare benefits end. 

Medical expenses – Part B coinsurance (generally 20% of Medicare-approved expenses) or copayments for hospital 
outpatient services. Plans K, L and N require insureds to pay a portion of Part B coinsurance or copayments. 

Blood – First three pints of blood each year. 

Hospice – Part A coinsurance. 
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A B C D F F* G K L M N 

Basic,  
including 
100% Part B 
coinsurance 

Basic, 
including 
100% Part B 
coinsurance 

Basic, 
including 
100% Part B 
coinsurance 

Basic, 
including 
100% Part B 
coinsurance 

Basic, 
including 
100% Part B 
coinsurance* 

Basic, 
including 
100% Part B 
coinsurance 

Hospitalization 
and preventive 
care paid at 
100%; other 
basic benefits 
paid at 50% 

Hospitalization 
and preventive 
care paid at 
100%; other 
basic benefits 
paid at 75% 

Basic,  
including 
100% Part B 
coinsurance 

Basic, 
including 
100% Part B 
coinsurance, 
except up to 
$20 
copayment 
for office 
visit, and up 
to $50 
copayment 
for ER 

    Skilled 
nursing 
facility 
coinsurance 

Skilled 
nursing 
facility 
coinsurance 

Skilled 
nursing 
facility 
coinsurance 

Skilled 
nursing 
facility 
coinsurance 

50% skilled 
nursing facility 
coinsurance 

75% skilled 
nursing facility 
coinsurance 

Skilled 
nursing 
facility 
coinsurance 

Skilled 
nursing 
facility 
coinsurance 

  Part A 
deductible 

Part A 
deductible 

Part A 
deductible 

Part A 
deductible 

Part A 
deductible 

50% Part A 
deductible 

75% Part A 
deductible 

50% Part A 
deductible 

Part A 
deductible 

    Part B 
deductible 

  Part B 
deductible 

          

        Part B excess 
(100%) 

Part B 
excess 
(100%) 

        

    Foreign 
travel 
emergency 

Foreign 
travel 
emergency 

Foreign 
travel 
emergency 

Foreign 
travel 
emergency 

    Foreign 
travel 
emergency 

Foreign 
travel 
emergency 

            Out-of-pocket 
limit $4,620; 
paid at 100% 
after limit 
reached 

Out-of-pocket 
limit $2,310; 
paid at 100% 
after limit 
reached 

    

*Plan F also has an option called a high deductible Plan F. This high deductible plan pays the same benefits as Plan F after one has paid a 
calendar year $2,000 deductible. Benefits from high deductible Plan F will not begin until out-of-pocket expenses exceed $2,000. Out-of-
pocket expenses for this deductible are expenses that would ordinarily be paid by the policy. These expenses include the Medicare 
deductibles for Part A and Part B, but do not include the plan's separate foreign travel emergency deductible.  

PREMIUM INFORMATION  

Boldface Type  

We [insert issuer's name] can only raise your premium if we raise the premium for all policies like yours in this 
Commonwealth. [If the premium is based on attained age of the insured, include the following information:  

1. When premiums will change;  

2. The current premium for all ages;  

3. A statement that premiums for other Medicare Supplement policies that are issue age or community rated do not increase 
due to changes in your age; and  

4. A statement that while the cost of this policy at the covered individual's present age may be lower than the cost of a 
Medicare supplement policy that is based on issue age or community rated, it is important to compare the potential cost of 
these policies over the life of the policy.]  

DISCLOSURES  

Boldface Type  

Use this outline to compare benefits and premiums among policies. 
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This outline shows benefits and premiums of policies sold for effective dates on or after June 1, 2010. Policies sold for 
effective dates prior to June 1, 2010, have different benefits and premiums. Plans E, H, I and J are no longer available for sale 
after June 1, 2010. [ [This paragraph shall not appear after June 1, 2011.] ]  

READ YOUR POLICY VERY CAREFULLY  

Boldface Type  

This is only an outline describing your policy's most important features. The policy is your insurance contract. You must read 
the policy itself to understand all of the rights and duties of both you and your insurance company.  

RIGHT TO RETURN POLICY  

Boldface Type  

If you find that you are not satisfied with your policy, you may return it to [insert issuer's address]. If you send the policy back 
to us within 30 days after you receive it, we will treat the policy as if it had never been issued and return all of your payments.  

POLICY REPLACEMENT  

Boldface Type  

If you are replacing another health insurance policy, do NOT cancel it until you have actually received your new policy and 
are sure you want to keep it.  

NOTICE  

Boldface Type  

This policy may not fully cover all of your medical costs.  

[for agents:]  

Neither [insert company's name] nor its agents are connected with Medicare.  

[for direct response:]  

[insert company's name] is not connected with Medicare.  

This outline of coverage does not give all the details of Medicare coverage. Contact your local Social Security Office or 
consult "Medicare & You" for more details.  

COMPLETE ANSWERS ARE VERY IMPORTANT  

Boldface Type  

When you fill out the application for the new policy, be sure to answer truthfully and completely all questions about your 
medical and health history. The company may cancel your policy and refuse to pay any claims if you leave out or falsify 
important medical information. [If the policy or certificate is guaranteed issue, this paragraph need not appear.]  

Review the application carefully before you sign it. Be certain that all information has been properly recorded.  

[Include for each plan prominently identified in the cover page, a chart showing the services, Medicare payments, plan 
payments and insured payments for each plan, using the same language, in the same order, using uniform layout and format as 
shown in the charts below. No more than four plans may be shown on one chart. For purposes of illustration, charts for each 
plan are included in this regulation. An issuer may use additional benefit plan designations on these charts pursuant to 
14VAC5-170-80 14VAC5-170-85.]  

[Include an explanation of any innovative benefits on the cover page and in the chart, in a manner approved by the State 
Corporation Commission.]  

Rev. 8/05  
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PLAN A  
MEDICARE (PART A) - HOSPITAL SERVICES - PER BENEFIT PERIOD  

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of 
the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row. 

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

HOSPITALIZATION* 

Semiprivate room and board, general 
nursing and miscellaneous services and 
supplies 

      

First 60 days All but $912 $1,068 $0 $912 $1,068 (Part 
A Deductible) 

61st thru 90th day All but $228 $267 a day $228 $267 a day $0 

91st day and after:       

  While using 60 lifetime reserve days All but $456 $534 a day $456 $534 a day $0 

  Once lifetime reserve days are used:       

  Additional 365 days $0 100% of Medicare 
Eligible Expenses 

$0** 

  Beyond the Additional 365 days $0 $0 All Costs 

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY 
CARE* 

You must meet Medicare's requirements, 
including having been in a hospital for at 
least 3 days and entered a Medicare-
approved facility within 30 days after 
leaving the hospital 

      

First 20 days All approved amounts $0 $0 

21st thru 100th day All but $114 $133.50 a 
day 

$0 Up to $114 
$133.50 a day 

101st day and after $0 $0 All Costs 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 3 pints $0 

Additional amounts 100% $0 $0 

HOSPICE CARE       

Available as long as your doctor certifies 
you are terminally ill and you elect to 
receive these services You must meet 
Medicare's requirements, including a 
doctor's certification of terminal illness. 

All but very limited 
copayment/coinsurance 
for outpatient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

$0 Medicare 
copayment/coinsurance 

Balance $0 

**NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever 
amount Medicare would have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "core benefits." During this time the hospital 
is prohibited from billing you for the balance based on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 
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PLAN A 
MEDICARE (PART B) - MEDICAL SERVICES - PER CALENDAR YEAR 

*Once you have been billed $110 $135 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an 
asterisk), your Part B Deductible deductible will have been met for the calendar year. 

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

MEDICAL EXPENSES - IN OR OUT OF 
THE HOSPITAL AND OUTPATIENT 
HOSPITAL TREATMENT, such as 
physician's services, inpatient and outpatient 
medical and surgical services and supplies, 
physical and speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical equipment 

      

First $110 $135 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts* 

$0 $0 $110 $135 (Part B 
deductible) 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved Amounts Generally 80% Generally 20% $0 

PART B EXCESS CHARGES       

(Above Medicare-Approved Amounts) $0 $0 All Costs 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 All Costs $0 

Next $110 $135 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts* 

$0 $0 $110 $135 (Part B 
Deductible) 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved Amounts 80% 20% $0 

CLINICAL LABORATORY SERVICES       

TESTS FOR DIAGNOSTIC SERVICES 100% $0 $0 

PARTS A & B 

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

HOME HEALTH CARE  
MEDICARE-APPROVED SERVICES 

      

Medically necessary skilled care services and 
medical supplies 

100% $0 $0 

Durable medical equipment       

  First $110 $135 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts* 

$0 $0 $110 $135 (Part B 
Deductible) 

  Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 20% $0 

Rev. 8/05  
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PLAN B  
MEDICARE (PART A)—HOSPITAL SERVICES—PER BENEFIT PERIOD  

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of 
the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

HOSPITALIZATION* 

Semiprivate room and board, general 
nursing and miscellaneous services and 
supplies 

      

First 60 days All but $912 $1,068 $912 $1,068 (Part A 
Deductible) 

$0 

61st thru 90th day All but $228 $267 a day $228 $267 a day $0 

91st day and after:       

  While using 60 lifetime reserve days All but $456 $534 a day $456 $534 a day $0 

  Once lifetime reserve days are used:       

  Additional 365 days $0 100% of Medicare 
Eligible Expenses 

$0** 

  Beyond the Additional 365 days $0 $0 All Costs 

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY 
CARE* 

You must meet Medicare's requirements, 
including having been in a hospital for at 
least 3 days and entered a Medicare-
approved facility within 30 days after 
leaving the hospital 

      

First 20 days All approved amounts $0 $0 

21st thru 100th day All but $114 $133.50 a 
day 

$0 Up to $114 
$133.50 a day 

101st day and after $0 $0 All Costs 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 3 pints $0 

Additional amounts 100% $0 $0 

HOSPICE CARE       

Available as long as your doctor certifies 
you are terminally ill and you elect to 
receive these services You must meet 
Medicare's requirements, including a 
doctor's certification of terminal illness. 

All but very limited 
copayment/coinsurance for 
outpatient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

$0 Medicare 
copayment/coinsurance  

Balance $0 

**NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever 
amount Medicare would have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "core benefits." During this time the hospital 
is prohibited from billing you for the balance based on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 
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PLAN B  
MEDICARE (PART B)—MEDICAL SERVICES—PER CALENDAR YEAR  

*Once you have been billed $110 $135 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an 
asterisk), your Part B deductible will have been met for the calendar year.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

MEDICAL EXPENSES - IN OR OUT OF 
THE HOSPITAL AND OUTPATIENT 
HOSPITAL TREATMENT, such as 
physician's services, inpatient and outpatient 
medical and surgical services and supplies, 
physical and speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical equipment  

      

First $110 $135 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts*  

$0 $0 $110 $135 (Part B 
Deductible) 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved Amounts Generally 80% Generally 20% $0 

PART B EXCESS CHARGES        

(Above Medicare-Approved Amounts) $0 $0 All Costs 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 All Costs $0 

Next $110 $135 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts* 

$0 $0 $110 $135 (Part B 
Deductible) 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved Amounts 80% 20% $0 

CLINICAL LABORATORY SERVICES 
-  

      

TESTS FOR DIAGNOSTIC SERVICES 100% $0 $0 

PARTS A & B  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

HOME HEALTH CARE  
MEDICARE-APPROVED SERVICES  

      

Medically necessary skilled care services and 
medical supplies 

100% $0 $0 

Durable medical equipment       

  First $110 $135 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts*  

$0 $0 $110 $135 (Part B 
Deductible) 

  Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 20% $0 

Rev. 8/05  
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PLAN C  
MEDICARE (PART A)—HOSPITAL SERVICES—PER BENEFIT PERIOD  

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of 
the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

HOSPITALIZATION* 

Semiprivate room and board, general 
nursing and miscellaneous services and 
supplies 

      

First 60 days All but $912 $1,068 $912 $,1068 (Part A 
Deductible) 

$0 

61st thru 90th day All but $228 $267 a day $228 $267 a day $0 

91st day and after:       

  While using 60 lifetime reserve days All but $456 $534 a day $456 $534 a day $0 

  Once lifetime reserve days are used:       

  Additional 365 days $0 100% of Medicare 
eligible expenses 

$0** 

  Beyond the additional 365 days $0 $0 All Costs 

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY 
CARE* 

You must meet Medicare's requirements, 
including having been in a hospital for at 
least 3 days and entered a Medicare-
approved facility within 30 days after 
leaving the hospital 

      

First 20 days All approved amounts $0 $0 

21st thru 100th day All but $114 $133.50 a 
day 

Up to $114 $133.50 a day $0 

101st day and after $0 $0 All Costs 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 3 pints $0 

Additional amounts 100% $0 $0 

HOSPICE CARE       

Available as long as your doctor certifies 
you are terminally ill and you elect to 
receive these services You must meet 
Medicare's requirements, including a 
doctor's certification of terminal illness. 

All but very limited 
copayment/coinsurance for 
outpatient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

$0 Medicare 
copayment/coinsurance 

Balance $0 

**NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever 
amount Medicare would have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "core benefits." During this time the hospital 
is prohibited from billing you for the balance based on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 
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PLAN C  
MEDICARE (PART B)—MEDICAL SERVICES—PER CALENDAR YEAR  

*Once you have been billed $110 $135 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an 
asterisk), your Part B Deductible deductible will have been met for the calendar year.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

MEDICAL EXPENSES - IN OR OUT OF 
THE HOSPITAL AND OUTPATIENT 
HOSPITAL TREATMENT, such as 
physician's services, inpatient and outpatient 
medical and surgical services and supplies, 
physical and speech therapy, diagnostic tests, 
durable medical equipment 

      

First $110 $135 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts*  

$0 $110 $135 (Part B 
Deductible) 

$0 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved Amounts Generally 80% Generally 20% $0 

PART B EXCESS CHARGES        

(Above Medicare-Approved Amounts) $0 $0 All Costs 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 All Costs $0 

Next $110 $135 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts* 

$0 $110 $135 (Part B 
Deductible) 

$0 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved Amounts 80% 20% $0 

CLINICAL LABORATORY SERVICES -        

TESTS FOR DIAGNOSTIC SERVICES 100% $0 $0 

PARTS A & B  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

HOME HEALTH CARE  
MEDICARE-APPROVED SERVICES  

      

Medically necessary skilled care services and 
medical supplies 

100% $0 $0 

Durable medical equipment       

  First $110 $135 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts*  

$0 $110 $135 (Part B 
Deductible) 

$0 

  Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 20% $0 

OTHER BENEFITS—NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE  

FOREIGN TRAVEL -  
NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE  

      

Medically necessary emergency care services 
beginning during the first 60 days of each trip 
outside the USA 

      

  First $250 each calendar year $0 $0 $250 
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  Remainder of Charges $0 80% to a lifetime 
maximum benefit of 
$50,000 

20% and amounts 
over the $50,000 
lifetime maximum 

Rev. 8/05  

PLAN D  
MEDICARE (PART A)—HOSPITAL SERVICES—PER BENEFIT PERIOD  

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of 
the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

HOSPITALIZATION* 

Semiprivate room and board, general 
nursing and miscellaneous services and 
supplies 

      

First 60 days All but $912 $1,068 $912 $1,068 (Part A 
Deductible) 

$0 

61st thru 90th day All but $228 $267 a day $228 $267 a day $0 

91st day and after:       

  While using 60 lifetime reserve days All but $456 $534 a day $456 $534 a day $0 

  Once lifetime reserve days are used:       

  Additional 365 days $0 100% of Medicare 
Eligible Expenses 

$0** 

  Beyond the Additional 365 days $0 $0 All Costs 

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY 
CARE* 

You must meet Medicare's requirements, 
including having been in a hospital for at 
least 3 days and entered a Medicare-
approved facility within 30 days after 
leaving the hospital 

      

First 20 days All approved amounts $0 $0 

21st thru 100th day All but $114 $133.50 a 
day 

Up to $114 $133.50 a day $0 

101st day and after $0 $0 All Costs 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 3 pints $0 

Additional amounts 100% $0 $0 

HOSPICE CARE       

Available as long as your doctor certifies 
you are terminally ill and you elect to 
receive these services You must meet 
Medicare's requirements, including a 
doctor's certification of terminal illness. 

All but very limited 
copayment/coinsurance for 
outpatient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

$0 Medicare 
copayment/coinsurance 

Balance $0 
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**NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever 
amount Medicare would have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "core benefits." During this time the hospital 
is prohibited from billing you for the balance based on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 

PLAN D  
MEDICARE (PART B)—MEDICAL SERVICES—PER CALENDAR YEAR  

*Once you have been billed $110 $135 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an 
asterisk), your Part B Deductible will have been met for the calendar year.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

MEDICAL EXPENSES - IN OR OUT OF 
THE HOSPITAL AND OUTPATIENT 
HOSPITAL TREATMENT, such as 
physician's services, inpatient and 
outpatient medical and surgical services 
and supplies, physical and speech therapy, 
diagnostic tests, durable medical equipment 

      

First $110 $135 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts*  

$0 $0 $110 $135 (Part B 
Deductible) 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

Generally 80% Generally 20% $0 

PART B EXCESS CHARGES        

(Above Medicare-Approved Amounts) $0 $0 All Costs 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 All Costs $0 

Next $110 $135 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts* 

$0 $0 $110 $135 (Part B 
Deductible) 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 20% $0 

CLINICAL LABORATORY 
SERVICES -  

      

TESTS FOR DIAGNOSTIC SERVICES 100% $0 $0 

PARTS A & B  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

HOME HEALTH CARE  
MEDICARE-APPROVED SERVICES  

      

Medically necessary skilled care services and 
medical supplies 

100% $0 $0 

Durable medical equipment       

  First $110 $135 of Medicare-
Approved Amounts*  

$0 $0 $110 $135 (Part B 
Deductible) 

  Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 20% $0 

AT-HOME RECOVERY SERVICES - NOT 
COVERED BY MEDICARE 
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Home care certified by your doctor, for 
personal care during recovery from an injury 
or sickness for which Medicare-approved a 
Home Care Treatment Plan  

      

Benefit for each visit $0 Actual charges to $40 
a visit 

Balance 

Number of visits covered (must be received 
within 8 weeks of last Medicare-Approved 
visit) 

$0 Up to the number of 
Medicare-approved 
visits not to exceed 7 
each week 

  

Calendar year maximum $0 $1,600   

OTHER BENEFITS—NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE  

FOREIGN TRAVEL -  
NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE  

      

Medically necessary emergency care services 
beginning during the first 60 days of each trip 
outside the USA 

      

  First $250 each calendar year $0 $0 $250 

  Remainder of Charges $0 80% to a lifetime 
maximum benefit of 
$50,000 

20% and amounts 
over the $50,000 
lifetime maximum 

Rev. 8/05  

PLAN E  
MEDICARE (PART A)—HOSPITAL SERVICES—PER BENEFIT PERIOD  

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of 
the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

HOSPITALIZATION* 

Semiprivate room and board, general nursing 
and miscellaneous services and supplies 

      

First 60 days All but $912 $912 (Part A 
Deductible) 

$0 

61st thru 90th day All but $228 a day $228 a day $0 

91st day and after:       

  While using 60 lifetime reserve days All but $456 a day $456 a day $0 

  Once lifetime reserve days are used:       

  Additional 365 days $0 100% of Medicare 
eligible expenses 

$0 

  Beyond the additional 365 days $0 $0 All costs 

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY CARE* 

You must meet Medicare's requirements, 
including having been in a hospital for at least 
3 days and entered a Medicare-approved 
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facility within 30 days after leaving the hospital 

First 20 days All approved amounts $0 $0 

21st thru 100th day All but $114 a day Up to $114 a day $0 

101st day and after $0 $0 All costs 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 3 pints $0 

Additional amounts 100% $0 $0 

HOSPICE CARE       

Available as long as your doctor certifies you 
are terminally ill and you elect to receive these 
services 

All but very limited 
coinsurance for 
outpatient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

$0 Balance 

PLAN E  
MEDICARE (PART B)—MEDICAL SERVICES—PER CALENDAR YEAR  

*Once you have been billed $110 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), 
your Part B Deductible will have been met for the calendar year.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

MEDICAL EXPENSES - IN OR OUT OF 
THE HOSPITAL AND OUTPATIENT 
HOSPITAL TREATMENT, such as 
physician's services, inpatient and 
outpatient medical and surgical services 
and supplies, physical and speech therapy, 
diagnostic tests, durable medical equipment 

      

First $110 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts*  

$0 $0 $110 (Part B 
Deductible) 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

Generally 80% Generally 20% $0 

PART B EXCESS CHARGES        

(Above Medicare-Approved Amounts) $0 $0 All costs 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 All costs $0 

Next $110 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts* 

$0 $0 $110 (Part B 
Deductible) 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 20% $0 

CLINICAL LABORATORY 
SERVICES -  

      

TESTS FOR DIAGNOSTIC SERVICES 100% $0 $0 
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PARTS A & B  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

HOME HEALTH CARE  
MEDICARE-APPROVED SERVICES  

      

Medically necessary skilled care services and 
medical supplies 

100% $0 $0 

Durable medical equipment       

  First $110 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts*  

$0 $0 $110 (Part B 
Deductible) 

  Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 20% $0 

Rev. 8/05  

PLAN E  
OTHER BENEFITS—NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE  

FOREIGN TRAVEL -  
NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE  

      

Medically necessary emergency care services 
beginning during the first 60 days of each trip 
outside the USA 

      

  First $250 each calendar year $0 $0 $250 

  Remainder of Charges $0 80% to a lifetime 
maximum benefit of 
$50,000 

20% and amounts 
over the $50,000 
lifetime maximum 

***PREVENTIVE MEDICAL CARE 
BENEFIT -  
NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE 

      

Some annual physical and preventive tests and 
services administered or ordered by your doctor 
when not covered by Medicare 

      

  First $120 each calendar year $0 $120 $0 

  Additional charges $0 $0 All costs 

***Medicare benefits are subject to change. Please consult the latest Guide to Health Insurance for People with Medicare.  

Rev. 8/05  

PLAN F or HIGH DEDUCTIBLE PLAN F  
MEDICARE (PART A)—HOSPITAL SERVICES—PER BENEFIT PERIOD  

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of 
the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row.  

**This high deductible plan pays the same benefits as Plan F after one has paid a calendar year $1730 $2,000 deductible. 
Benefits from the high deductible Plan F will not begin until out-of-pocket expenses are $1730 $2,000. Out-of-pocket expenses 
for this deductible are expenses that would ordinarily be paid by the policy. This includes the Medicare deductibles for Part A 
and Part B, but does not include the plan's separate foreign travel emergency deductible.  
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SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS 
AFTER YOU PAY $1730 
$2,000 DEDUCTIBLE,** 

PLAN PAYS 

IN ADDITION TO 
$1730 $2,000 

DEDUCTIBLE,** 
YOU PAY 

HOSPITALIZATION* 

Semiprivate room and board, general 
nursing and miscellaneous services and 
supplies 

      

First 60 days All but $912 $1,068 $912 $1,068 (Part A 
Deductible) 

$0 

61st thru 90th day All but $228 $267 a day $228 $267 a day $0 

91st day and after:       

  While using 60 lifetime reserve 
days 

All but $456 $534 a day $456 $534 a day $0 

Once lifetime reserve days are used:       

  Additional 365 days $0 100% of Medicare Eligible 
Expenses 

$0** 

  Beyond the Additional 365 days $0 $0 All Costs 

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY 
CARE* 

You must meet Medicare's 
requirements, including having been in 
a hospital for at least 3 days and 
entered a Medicare-approved facility 
within 30 days after leaving the 
hospital 

      

First 20 days All approved amounts $0 $0 

21st thru 100th day All but $114 $133.50 a 
day 

Up to $114 $133.50 a day $0 

101st day and after $0 $0 All Costs 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 3 pints $0 

Additional amounts 100% $0 $0 

HOSPICE CARE       

Available as long as your doctor 
certifies you are terminally ill and you 
elect to receive these services You 
must meet Medicare's requirements, 
including a doctor's certification of 
terminal illness. 

All but very limited 
copayment/coinsurance 
for outpatient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

$0 Medicare 
copayment/coinsurance 

Balance $0 

**NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever 
amount Medicare would have paid up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "core benefits." During this time the hospital is 
prohibited from billing you for the balance based on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 
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PLAN F or HIGH DEDUCTIBLE PLAN F  
MEDICARE (PART B) - MEDICAL SERVICES - PER CALENDAR YEAR  

*Once you have been billed $110 $135 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an 
asterisk), your Part B deductible will have been met for the calendar year.  

**This high deductible plan pays the same benefits as Plan F after one has paid a calendar year $1730 $2,000 deductible. 
Benefits from the high deductible plan F will not begin until out-of-pocket expenses are $1730 $2,000. Out-of-pocket expenses 
for this deductible are expenses that would ordinarily be paid by the policy. This includes the Medicare deductibles for Part A 
and Part B, but does not include the plan's separate foreign travel emergency deductible.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS 

AFTER YOU PAY 
$1730 $2,000 

DEDUCTIBLE,** 
PLAN PAYS 

IN ADDITION TO 
$1730 $2,000 

DEDUCTIBLE,** 
YOU PAY 

MEDICAL EXPENSES - IN OR OUT 
OF THE HOSPITAL AND 
OUTPATIENT HOSPITAL 
TREATMENT, such as physician's 
services, inpatient and outpatient medical 
and surgical services and supplies, 
physical and speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical equipment 

      

First $110 $135 of Medicare-Approved 
amounts*  

$0 $110 $135 (Part B 
Deductible) 

$0 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
amounts 

Generally 80% Generally 20% $0 

PART B EXCESS CHARGES        

(Above Medicare Approved Amounts) $0 100% $0 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 All Costs $0 

Next $110 $135 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts* 

$0 $110 $135 (Part B 
Deductible) 

$0 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 20% $0 

CLINICAL LABORATORY 
SERVICES -  

      

TESTS FOR DIAGNOSTIC SERVICES 100% $0 $0 

PARTS A & B  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS 

AFTER YOU PAY 
$2,000 

DEDUCTIBLE,** 
PLAN PAYS 

IN ADDITON TO 
$2,000 

DEDUCTIBLE,** 
YOU PAY 

HOME HEALTH CARE  
MEDICARE-APPROVED SERVICES  

      

Medically necessary skilled care services 
and medical supplies 

100% $0 $0 

Durable medical equipment       
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  First $110 $135 of Medicare-
Approved Amounts*  

$0 $110 $135 (Part B 
Deductible) 

$0 

  Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 20% $0 

OTHER BENEFITS - NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE  

FOREIGN TRAVEL -  
NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE  

      

Medically necessary emergency care services 
beginning during the first 60 days of each trip 
outside the USA 

      

  First $250 each calendar year $0 $0 $250 

  Remainder of charges $0 80% to a lifetime 
maximum benefit of 
$50,000 

20% and amounts 
over the $50,000 
lifetime maximum 

Rev. 8/05  

PLAN G  
MEDICARE (PART A)—HOSPITAL SERVICES—PER BENEFIT PERIOD  

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of 
the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

HOSPITALIZATION* 

Semiprivate room and board, general 
nursing and miscellaneous services and 
supplies 

      

First 60 days All but $912 $1,068 $912 $1,068 (Part A 
Deductible) 

$0 

61st thru 90th day All but $228 $267 a day $228 $267 a day $0 

91st day and after:       

  While using 60 lifetime reserve days All but $456 $534 a day $456 $534 a day $0 

  Once lifetime reserve days are used:       

  Additional 365 days $0 100% of Medicare 
Eligible Expenses 

$0** 

  Beyond the Additional 365 days $0 $0 All costs 

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY 
CARE* 

You must meet Medicare's requirements, 
including having been in a hospital for at 
least 3 days and entered a Medicare-
approved facility within 30 days after 
leaving the hospital 

      

First 20 days All approved amounts $0 $0 

21st thru 100th day All but $114 $133.50 a 
day 

Up to $114 $133.50 a day $0 
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101st day and after $0 $0 All Costs 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 3 pints $0 

Additional amounts 100% $0 $0 

HOSPICE CARE       

Available as long as your doctor certifies 
you are terminally ill and you elect to 
receive these services You must meet 
Medicare's requirements, including a 
doctor's certification of terminal illness. 

All but very limited 
copayment/coinsurance for 
outpatient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

$0 Medicare 
copayment/coinsurance 

Balance $0 

**NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever 
amount Medicare would have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "core benefits." During this time the hospital 
is prohibited from billing you for the balance based on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 

PLAN G  
MEDICARE (PART B)—MEDICAL SERVICES—PER CALENDAR YEAR  

*Once you have been billed $110 $135 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an 
asterisk), your Part B deductible will have been met for the calendar year.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

MEDICAL EXPENSES - IN OR OUT 
OF THE HOSPITAL AND 
OUTPATIENT HOSPITAL 
TREATMENT, such as physician's 
services, inpatient and outpatient medical 
and surgical services and supplies, 
physical and speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical equipment 

      

First $110 $135 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts*  

$0 $0 $110 $135 (Part B 
Deductible) 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

Generally 80% Generally 20% $0 

PART B EXCESS CHARGES        

(Above Medicare-Approved Amounts) $0 80% 100% 20% $0 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 All costs $0 

Next $110 $135 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts* 

$0 $0 $110 $135 (Part B 
Deductible) 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 20% $0 

CLINICAL LABORATORY 
SERVICES -  

      

TESTS FOR DIAGNOSTIC SERVICES 100% $0 $0 
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PARTS A & B  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

HOME HEALTH CARE  
MEDICARE-APPROVED SERVICES  

      

Medically necessary skilled care services 
and medical supplies 

100% $0 $0 

Durable medical equipment       

  First $110 $135 of Medicare-
Approved Amounts*  

$0 $0 $110 $135 (Part B 
deductible) 

  Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 20% $0 

AT-HOME RECOVERY SERVICES - 
NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE 

      

Home care certified by your doctor, for 
personal care during recovery from an 
injury or sickness for which Medicare-
approved a Home Care Treatment Plan  

      

Benefit for each visit $0 Actual charges to 
$40 a visit 

Balance 

Number of visits covered (must be received 
within 8 weeks of last Medicare-approved 
visit) 

$0 Up to the number of 
Medicare-approved 
visits not to exceed 7 
each week 

  

Calendar year maximum $0 $1,600   

OTHER BENEFITS—NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE  

FOREIGN TRAVEL -  
NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE  

      

Medically necessary emergency care services 
beginning during the first 60 days of each trip 
outside the USA 

      

  First $250 each calendar year $0 $0 $250 

  Remainder of Charges $0 80% to a lifetime 
maximum benefit of 
$50,000 

20% and amounts over 
the $50,000 lifetime 
maximum 

Rev. 8/05  

PLAN H  
MEDICARE (PART A) - HOSPITAL SERVICES - PER BENEFIT PERIOD  

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of 
the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

HOSPITALIZATION* 

Semiprivate room and board, general nursing 
and miscellaneous services and supplies 
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First 60 days All but $912 $912 (Part A 
Deductible) 

$0 

61st thru 90th day All but $228 a day $228 a day $0 

91st day and after:       

  While using 60 lifetime reserve days All but $456 a day $456 a day $0 

  Once lifetime reserve days are used:       

  Additional 365 days $0 100% of Medicare 
Eligible Expenses 

$0 

  Beyond the additional 365 days $0 $0 All Costs 

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY CARE* 

You must meet Medicare's requirements, 
including having been in a hospital for at least 
3 days and entered a Medicare-approved 
facility within 30 days after leaving the 
hospital 

      

First 20 days All approved amounts $0 $0 

21st thru 100th day All but $114 a day Up to $114 a day $0 

101st day and after $0 $0 All Costs 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 3 pints $0 

Additional amounts 100% $0 $0 

HOSPICE CARE       

Available as long as your doctor certifies you 
are terminally ill and you elect to receive 
these services 

All but very limited 
coinsurance for 
outpatient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

$0 Balance 

PLAN H  
MEDICARE (PART B)—MEDICAL SERVICES—PER CALENDAR YEAR  

*Once you have been billed $110 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), 
your Part B Deductible will have been met for the calendar year.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

MEDICAL EXPENSES - IN OR OUT 
OF THE HOSPITAL AND 
OUTPATIENT HOSPITAL 
TREATMENT, such as physician's 
services, inpatient and outpatient medical 
and surgical services and supplies, 
physical and speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical equipment 

      

First $110 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts*  

$0 $0 $110 (Part B 
Deductible) 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

Generally 80% Generally 20% $0 
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PART B EXCESS CHARGES        

(Above Medicare-Approved Amounts) $0 0% All Costs 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 All Costs $0 

Next $110 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts* 

$0 $0 $110 (Part B 
Deductible) 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 20% $0 

CLINICAL LABORATORY 
SERVICES -  

      

TESTS FOR DIAGNOSTIC SERVICES 100% $0 $0 

PARTS A & B  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

HOME HEALTH CARE  
MEDICARE-APPROVED SERVICES  

      

Medically necessary skilled care services 
and medical supplies 

100% $0 $0 

Durable medical equipment       

  First $110 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts*  

$0 $0 $110 (Part B 
Deductible) 

  Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 20% $0 

OTHER BENEFITS—NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE  

FOREIGN TRAVEL -  
NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE  

      

Medically necessary emergency care services 
beginning during the first 60 days of each trip 
outside the USA 

      

  First $250 each calendar year $0 $0 $250 

  Remainder of charges $0 80% to a lifetime 
maximum benefit of 
$50,000 

20% and amounts over 
the $50,000 lifetime 
maximum 

Rev. 8/05  
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PLAN I  
MEDICARE (PART A)—HOSPITAL SERVICES—PER BENEFIT PERIOD  

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of 
the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

HOSPITALIZATION* 

Semiprivate room and board, general nursing 
and miscellaneous services and supplies 

      

First 60 days All but $912 $912 (Part A 
Deductible) 

$0 

61st thru 90th day All but $228 a day $228 a day $0 

91st day and after:       

  While using 60 lifetime reserve days All but $456 a day $456 a day $0 

  Once lifetime reserve days are used:       

  Additional 365 days $0 100% of Medicare 
Eligible Expenses 

$0 

  Beyond the additional 365 days $0 $0 All Costs 

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY CARE* 

You must meet Medicare's requirements, 
including having been in a hospital for at least 
3 days and entered a Medicare-approved 
facility within 30 days after leaving the 
hospital 

      

First 20 days All approved amounts $0 $0 

21st thru 100th day All but $114 a day Up to $114 a day $0 

101st day and after $0 $0 All Costs 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 3 pints $0 

Additional amounts 100% $0 $0 

HOSPICE CARE       

Available as long as your doctor certifies you 
are terminally ill and you elect to receive 
these services 

All but very limited 
coinsurance for 
outpatient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

$0 Balance 

PLAN I  
MEDICARE (PART B)—MEDICAL SERVICES—PER CALENDAR YEAR  

*Once you have been billed $110 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), 
your Part B Deductible will have been met for the calendar year.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

MEDICAL EXPENSES - IN OR OUT 
OF THE HOSPITAL AND 
OUTPATIENT HOSPITAL 
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TREATMENT, such as physician's 
services, inpatient and outpatient medical 
and surgical services and supplies, 
physical and speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical equipment 

First $110 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts*  

$0 $0 $110 (Part B 
Deductible) 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

Generally 80% Generally 20% $0 

PART B EXCESS CHARGES        

(Above Medicare-Approved Amounts) $0 100% $0 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 All Costs $0 

Next $110 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts* 

$0 $0 $110 (Part B 
Deductible) 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 20% $0 

CLINICAL LABORATORY 
SERVICES -  

      

TESTS FOR DIAGNOSTIC SERVICES 100% $0 $0 

PARTS A & B  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

HOME HEALTH CARE  
MEDICARE-APPROVED SERVICES  

      

Medically necessary skilled care services 
and medical supplies 

100% $0 $0 

Durable medical equipment       

  First $110 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts*  

$0 $0 $110 (Part B 
Deductible) 

  Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 20% $0 

AT-HOME RECOVERY SERVICES - 
NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE 

      

Home care certified by your doctor, for 
personal care during recovery from an 
injury or sickness for which Medicare-
approved a Home Care Treatment Plan  

      

Benefit for each visit $0 Actual charges to 
$40 a visit 

Balance 

Number of visits covered (must be received 
within 8 weeks of last Medicare-Approved 
visit) 

$0 Up to the number of 
Medicare-Approved 
visits not to exceed 7 
each week 

  



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 18 Virginia Register of Regulations May 11, 2009 

3225 

Calendar year maximum $0 $1,600   

OTHER BENEFITS—NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE  

FOREIGN TRAVEL -  
NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE  

      

Medically necessary emergency care services 
beginning during the first 60 days of each trip 
outside the USA 

      

  First $250 each calendar year $0 $0 $250 

  Remainder of charges $0 80% to a lifetime 
maximum benefit of 
$50,000 

20% and amounts over 
the $50,000 lifetime 
maximum 

Rev. 8/05  

PLAN J or HIGH DEDUCTIBLE PLAN J  
MEDICARE (PART A) - HOSPITAL SERVICES - PER BENEFIT PERIOD  

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of 
the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row.  

**This high deductible plan pays the same benefits as Plan J after one has paid a calendar year $1730 deductible. Benefits 
from high deductible plan J will not begin until out-of-pocket expenses are $1730. Out-of-pocket expenses for this deductible 
are expenses that would ordinarily be paid by the policy. This includes the Medicare deductibles for Part A and Part B, but does 
not include the plan's separate foreign travel emergency deductible.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

HOSPITALIZATION* 

Semiprivate room and board, general nursing 
and miscellaneous services and supplies 

      

First 60 days All but $912 $912 (Part A 
deductible) 

$0 

61st thru 90th day All but $228 a day $228 a day $0 

91st day and after:       

  While using 60 lifetime reserve days All but $456 a day $456 a day $0 

  Once lifetime reserve days are used:       

  Additional 365 days $0 100% of Medicare 
Eligible Expenses 

$0 

  Beyond the Additional 365 days $0 $0 All Costs 

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY CARE* 

You must meet Medicare's requirements, 
including having been in a hospital for at least 
3 days and entered a Medicare-approved 
facility within 30 days after leaving the 
hospital 

      

First 20 days All approved amounts $0 $0 

21st thru 100th day All but $114 a day Up to $114 a day $0 

101st day and after $0 $0 All Costs 
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BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 3 pints $0 

Additional amounts 100% $0 $0 

HOSPICE CARE       

Available as long as your doctor certifies you 
are terminally ill and you elect to receive these 
services 

All but very limited 
coinsurance for 
outpatient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

$0 Balance 

Rev. 8/05  

PLAN J or HIGH DEDUCTIBLE PLAN J  
MEDICARE (PART B)—MEDICAL SERVICES—PER CALENDAR YEAR  

*Once you have been billed $110 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), 
your Part B Deductible will have been met for the calendar year.  

**This high deductible plan pays the same benefits as Plan J after one has paid a calendar year $1730 deductible. Benefits 
from high deductible plan J will not begin until out-of-pocket expenses are $1730. Out-of-pocket expenses for this deductible 
are expenses that would ordinarily be paid by the policy. This includes the Medicare deductibles for Part A and Part B, but does 
not include the plan's separate foreign travel emergency deductible.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS 

AFTER YOU PAY 
$1730 

DEDUCTIBLE,** 
PLAN PAYS 

IN ADDITION TO $1730 
DEDUCTIBLE,** YOU 

PAY 

MEDICAL EXPENSES - IN OR 
OUT OF THE HOSPITAL AND 
OUTPATIENT HOSPITAL 
TREATMENT, such as physician's 
services, inpatient and outpatient 
medical and surgical services and 
supplies, physical and speech therapy, 
diagnostic tests, durable medical 
equipment 

      

First $110 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts*  

$0 $110 (Part B 
deductible) 

$0 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

Generally 80% Generally 20% $0 

PART B EXCESS CHARGES        

(Above Medicare-Approved Amounts) $0 100% $0 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 All Costs $0 

Next $110 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts* 

$0 $110 (Part B 
deductible) 

$0 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 20% $0 

CLINICAL LABORATORY 
SERVICES -  
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TESTS FOR DIAGNOSTIC 
SERVICES 

100% $0 $0 

PARTS A & B  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

HOME HEALTH CARE  
MEDICARE-APPROVED SERVICES  

      

Medically necessary skilled care services 
and medical supplies 

100% $0 $0 

Durable medical equipment       

  First $110 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts*  

$0 $110 (Part B 
Deductible) 

$0 

  Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 20% $0 

AT-HOME RECOVERY SERVICES - 
NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE 

      

Home care certified by your doctor, for 
personal care during recovery from an injury 
or sickness for which Medicare-approved a 
Home Care Treatment Plan  

      

Benefit for each visit $0 Actual charges to $40 
a visit 

Balance 

Number of visits covered (must be received 
within 8 weeks of last Medicare-Approved 
visit) 

$0 Up to the number of 
Medicare-Approved 
visits not to exceed 7 
each week 

  

Calendar year maximum $0 $1,600   

PLAN J or HIGH DEDUCTIBLE PLAN J  
OTHER BENEFITS—NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS 

AFTER YOU PAY 
$1730 

DEDUCTIBLE,** 
PLAN PAYS 

IN ADDITION TO 
$1730 DEDUCTIBLE,** 

YOU PAY 

FOREIGN TRAVEL -  
NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE  

      

Medically necessary emergency care 
services beginning during the first 60 
days of each trip outside the USA 

      

  First $250 each calendar year $0 $0 $250 

  Remainder of Charges $0 80% to a lifetime 
maximum benefit of 
$50,000 

20% and amounts over 
the $50,000 lifetime 
maximum 

***PREVENTIVE MEDICAL CARE 
BENEFIT -  
NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE 
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Some annual physical and preventive 
tests and services administered or 
ordered by your doctor when not covered 
by Medicare 

      

  First $120 each calendar year $0 $120 $0 

  Additional charges $0 $0 All costs 

***Medicare benefits are subject to change. Please consult the latest Guide to Health Insurance for People with Medicare.  

Eff. 8/05  

PLAN K  

*You will pay half the cost-sharing of some covered services until you reach the annual out-of-pocket limit of $4000 $4,620 
each calendar year. The amounts that count toward your annual limit are noted with diamonds (♦) in the chart below. Once you 
reach the annual limit, the plan pays 100% of your Medicare copayment and coinsurance for the rest of the calendar year. 
However, this limit does NOT include charges from your provider that exceed Medicare-approved amounts (these are called 
"Excess Charges") and you will be responsible for paying this difference in the amount charged by your provider and the 
amount paid by Medicare for the item or service.  

MEDICARE (PART A)—HOSPITAL SERVICES—PER BENEFIT PERIOD  

**A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of 
the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY* 

HOSPITALIZATION** 

Semiprivate room and board, general 
nursing and miscellaneous services 
and supplies 

      

First 60 days All but $912 $1,068 $456 $534 (50% of Part 
A deductible) 

$456 $534 (50% of Part 
A deductible)♦ 

61st thru 90th day All but $228 $267 a day $228 $267 a day $0 

91st day and after:       

  While using 60 lifetime reserve 
days 

All but $456 $534 a day $456 $534 a day $0 

  Once lifetime reserve days are 
used: 

      

  Additional 365 days $0 100% of Medicare 
eligible expenses 

$0*** 

  Beyond the additional 365 days $0 $0 All costs 

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY 
CARE** 

You must meet Medicare's 
requirements, including having been 
in a hospital for at least 3 days and 
entered a Medicare-approved facility 
within 30 days after leaving the 
hospital 

      

First 20 days All approved amounts $0 $0 
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21st thru 100th day All but $114 $133.50 a 
day 

Up to $57 $66.75 a day Up to $57 $66.75 a day♦ 

101st day and after $0 $0 All costs 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 50% 50%♦ 

Additional amounts 100% $0 $0 

HOSPICE CARE       

Available as long as your doctor 
certifies you are terminally ill and 
you elect to receive these services 
You must meet Medicare's 
requirements, including a doctor's 
certification of terminal illness.  

Generally, most 
Medicare-eligible 
expenses for out-patient 
drugs and inpatient 
respite care All but very 
limited 
copayment/coinsurance 
for outpatient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

50% of 
copayment/coinsurance 
or copayments 

50% of Medicare 
copayment/coinsurance 
or copayments♦ 

***NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay 
whatever the amount Medicare would have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "core benefits." During this 
time the hospital is prohibited from billing you for the balance based on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare 
would have paid. 

PLAN K  
MEDICARE (PART B)—MEDICAL SERVICES—PER CALENDAR YEAR  

****Once you have been billed $110 $135 of Medicare-approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an 
asterisk), your Part B deductible will have been met for the calendar year.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY* 

MEDICAL EXPENSES - IN OR OUT 
OF THE HOSPITAL AND 
OUTPATIENT HOSPITAL 
TREATMENT, such as physician's 
services, inpatient and outpatient medical 
and surgical services and supplies, 
physical and speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical equipment 

      

First $110 $135 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts****  

$0 $0 $110 $135 (Part B 
deductible)****♦  

Preventive Benefits for Medicare 
covered services 

Generally 75% or more 
of Medicare-approved 
amounts 

Remainder of 
Medicare-approved 
amounts 

All costs above Medicare-
approved amounts 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

Generally 80% Generally 10% Generally 10%♦ 

PART B EXCESS CHARGES        

(Above Medicare-Approved Amounts) $0 $0 All costs (and they do not 
count toward annual out-
of-pocket limit of 
$4000)* $4620)* 

BLOOD       
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First 3 pints $0 50% 50%♦ 

Next $110 $135 of Medicare Approved 
Amounts**** 

$0 $0 $110 $135 (Part B 
deductible)****♦ 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

Generally 80% Generally 10% Generally 10%♦ 

CLINICAL LABORATORY 
SERVICES -  

      

TESTS FOR DIAGNOSTIC SERVICES 100% $0 $0 

*This plan limits your annual out-of-pocket payments for Medicare-approved amounts to $4000 $4,620 per year. However, 
this limit does NOT include charges from your provider that exceed Medicare-approved amounts (these are called "Excess 
Charges") and you will be responsible for paying this difference in the amount charged by your provider and the amount paid 
by Medicare for the item or service.  

PARTS A & B  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY* 

HOME HEALTH CARE  
MEDICARE-APPROVED SERVICES  

      

Medically necessary skilled care services and 
medical supplies 

100% $0 $0 

Durable medical equipment       

  First $110 $135 of Medicare-
Approved Amounts*****  

$0 $0 $110 $135 (Part B 
deductible)♦ 

  Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 10% 10%♦ 

*****Medicare benefits are subject to change. Please consult the latest Guide to Health Insurance for People with Medicare.  

Eff. 8/05  

PLAN L  

*You will pay one-fourth of the cost-sharing of some covered services until you reach the annual out-of-pocket limit of $2000 
$2,310 each calendar year. The amounts that count toward your annual limit are noted with diamonds (♦) in the chart below. 
Once you reach the annual limit, the plan pays 100% of your Medicare copayment and coinsurance for the rest of the calendar 
year. However, this limit does NOT include charges from your provider that exceed Medicare-approved amounts (these are 
called "Excess Charges") and you will be responsible for paying this difference in the amount charged by your provider and the 
amount paid by Medicare for the item or service.  

MEDICARE (PART A)—HOSPITAL SERVICES—PER BENEFIT PERIOD  

**A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of 
the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY* 

HOSPITALIZATION** 

Semiprivate room and board, general 
nursing and miscellaneous services 
and supplies 

      

First 60 days All but $912 $1,068 $684 $808.50 (75% of 
Part A deductible) 

$228 $267 (25% of Part 
A deductible)♦ 

61st thru 90th day All but $228 $267 a day $228 $267 a day $0 
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91st day and after:       

  While using 60 lifetime reserve 
days 

All but $456 $534 a day $456 $534 a day $0 

  Once lifetime reserve days are 
used: 

      

  Additional 365 days $0 100% of Medicare 
eligible expenses 

$0*** 

  Beyond the additional 365 days $0 $0 All costs 

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY 
CARE** 

You must meet Medicare's 
requirements, including having been 
in a hospital for at least 3 days and 
entered a Medicare-approved facility 
within 30 days after leaving the 
hospital 

      

First 20 days All approved amounts $0 $0 

21st thru 100th day All but $114 $133.50 a 
day 

Up to $85.50 $100.13 a 
day 

Up to $28.50 $33.38 a 
day♦ 

101st day and after $0 $0 All costs 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 75% 25%♦ 

Additional amounts 100% $0 $0 

HOSPICE CARE       

Available as long as your doctor 
certifies you are terminally ill and 
you elect to receive these services 
You must meet Medicare's 
requirements, including a doctor's 
certification of terminal illness. 

Generally, most 
Medicare eligible 
expenses for out-patient 
drugs and inpatient 
respite care All but very 
limited 
copayment/coinsurance 
for outpatient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

75% of 
copayment/coinsurance 
or copayments 

25% of 
copayment/coinsurance 
or copayments♦ 

***NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay 
whatever amount Medicare would have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "core benefits." During this time 
the hospital is prohibited from billing you for the balance based on any difference between its billed charge and the amount Medicare would 
have paid. 

PLAN L  
MEDICARE (PART B)—MEDICAL SERVICES—PER CALENDAR YEAR  

****Once you have been billed $110 $135 of Medicare-approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an 
asterisk), your Part B deductible will have been met for the calendar year.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY* 

MEDICAL EXPENSES - IN OR OUT 
OF THE HOSPITAL AND 
OUTPATIENT HOSPITAL 
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TREATMENT, such as physician's 
services, inpatient and outpatient medical 
and surgical services and supplies, 
physical and speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical equipment 

First $110 $135 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts**** 

$0 $0 $110 $135 (Part B 
deductible)****♦  

Preventive Benefits for Medicare 
covered services 

Generally 75% or more 
of Medicare-approved 
amounts 

Remainder of 
Medicare-approved 
amounts 

All costs above Medicare-
approved amounts 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

Generally 80% Generally 15% Generally 5%♦ 

PART B EXCESS CHARGES        

(Above Medicare-Approved Amounts) $0 $0 All costs (and they do not 
count toward annual out-
of-pocket limit of 
$2000)* $2,310)* 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 75% 25%♦ 

Next $110 $135 of Medicare Approved 
Amounts**** 

$0 $0 $110 $135 (Part B 
deductible)♦ 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

Generally 80% Generally 15% Generally 5%♦ 

CLINICAL LABORATORY 
SERVICES -  

      

TESTS FOR DIAGNOSTIC SERVICES 100% $0 $0 

*This plan limits your annual out-of-pocket payments for Medicare-approved amounts to $2000 $2,310 per year. However, this limit does 
NOT include charges from your provider that exceed Medicare-approved amounts (these are called "Excess Charges") and you will be 
responsible for paying this difference in the amount charged by your provider and the amount paid by Medicare for the item or service.  

PARTS A & B  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY* 

HOME HEALTH CARE  
MEDICARE-APPROVED SERVICES  

      

Medically necessary skilled care services and 
medical supplies 

100% $0 $0 

Durable medical equipment       

  First $110 $135 of Medicare-
Approved Amounts***** 

$0 $0 $110 $135 (Part B 
deductible)♦ 

  Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 15% 5%♦ 

*****Medicare benefits are subject to change. Please consult the latest Guide to Health Insurance for People with Medicare.  
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PLAN M  
MEDICARE (PART A)—HOSPITAL SERVICES—PER BENEFIT PERIOD  

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of 
the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

HOSPITALIZATION* 

Semiprivate room and board, general 
nursing and miscellaneous services and 
supplies 

      

First 60 days All but $1,068 $534 (50% of Part A 
deductible) 

$534 (50% of Part 
A deductible) 

61st thru 90th day All but $267 a day $267 a day $0 

91st day and after:       

  While using 60 lifetime reserve days All but $534 a day $534 a day $0 

  Once lifetime reserve days are used:       

  Additional 365 days $0 100% of Medicare 
eligible expenses 

$0** 

  Beyond the additional 365 days $0 $0 All costs 

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY 
CARE* 

You must meet Medicare's requirements, 
including having been in a hospital for at 
least 3 days and entered a Medicare-
approved facility within 30 days after 
leaving the hospital 

      

First 20 days All approved amounts $0 $0 

21st thru 100th day All but $133.50 a day Up to $133.50 a day $0 

101st day and after $0 $0 All costs 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 3 pints $0 

Additional amounts 100% $0 $0 

HOSPICE CARE       

You must meet Medicare's requirements, 
including a doctor's certification of 
terminal illness. 

All but very limited 
copayment/coinsurance 
for outpatient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

Medicare 
copayment/coinsurance  

$0 

**NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever 
amount Medicare would have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "core benefits." During this time the hospital 
is prohibited from billing you for the balance based on any difference between its billed charge and the amount Medicare would have paid. 

PLAN M 
MEDICARE (PART B)—MEDICAL SERVICES—PER CALENDAR YEAR  

*Once you have been billed $135 of Medicare-approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your 
Part B deductible will have been met for the calendar year.  
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SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

MEDICAL EXPENSES - IN OR OUT 
OF THE HOSPITAL AND 
OUTPATIENT HOSPITAL 
TREATMENT, such as physician's 
services, inpatient and outpatient medical 
and surgical services and supplies, 
physical and speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical equipment 

      

First $135 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts* 

$0 $0 $135 (Part B 
deductible)  

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

Generally 80% Generally 20% $0 

PART B EXCESS CHARGES        

(Above Medicare-Approved Amounts) $0 $0 All costs  

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 All costs $0 

Next $135 of Medicare Approved 
Amounts* 

$0 $0 $135 (Part B 
deductible) 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 20% $0 

CLINICAL LABORATORY 
SERVICES -  

      

TESTS FOR DIAGNOSTIC SERVICES 100% $0 $0 

PARTS A & B  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

HOME HEALTH CARE  
MEDICARE-APPROVED SERVICES  

      

Medically necessary skilled care services 
and medical supplies 

100% $0 $0 

Durable medical equipment       

  First $135 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts* 

$0 $0 $135 (Part B 
deductible) 

  Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 20% $0 

OTHER BENEFITS—NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

FOREIGN TRAVEL -  
NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE  

      

Medically necessary emergency care 
services beginning during the first 60 days 
of each trip outside the USA 

      

  First $250 each calendar year $0 $0 $250 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 18 Virginia Register of Regulations May 11, 2009 

3235 

  Remainder of Charges $0 80% to a lifetime 
maximum benefit of 
$50,000 

20% and amounts over 
the $50,000 lifetime 
maximum 

PLAN N 
MEDICARE (PART A)—HOSPITAL SERVICES—PER BENEFIT PERIOD  

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of 
the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

HOSPITALIZATION* 

Semiprivate room and board, general 
nursing and miscellaneous services and 
supplies 

      

First 60 days All but $1,068 $1,068 (Part A 
deductible) 

$0 

61st thru 90th day All but $267 a day $267 a day $0 

91st day and after:       

  While using 60 lifetime reserve days All but $534 a day $534 a day $0 

  Once lifetime reserve days are used:       

  Additional 365 days $0 100% of Medicare 
eligible expenses 

$0** 

  Beyond the additional 365 days $0 $0 All costs 

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY 
CARE* 

You must meet Medicare's requirements, 
including having been in a hospital for at 
least 3 days and entered a Medicare-
approved facility within 30 days after 
leaving the hospital 

      

First 20 days All approved amounts $0 $0 

21st thru 100th day All but $133.50 a day Up to $133.50 a day $0 

101st day and after $0 $0 All costs 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 3 pints $0 

Additional amounts 100% $0 $0 

HOSPICE CARE       

You must meet Medicare's requirements, 
including a doctor's certification of 
terminal illness. 

All but very limited 
copayment/coinsurance for 
outpatient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

Medicare 
copayment/coinsurance  

$0 

**NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever 
amount Medicare would have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "core benefits." During this time the hospital 
is prohibited from billing you for the balance based on any difference between its billed charge and the amount Medicare would have paid. 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 18 Virginia Register of Regulations May 11, 2009 

3236 

PLAN N  
MEDICARE (PART B)—MEDICAL SERVICES—PER CALENDAR YEAR  

*Once you have been billed $135 of Medicare-approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your 
Part B deductible will have been met for the calendar year.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

MEDICAL EXPENSES - IN OR OUT 
OF THE HOSPITAL AND 
OUTPATIENT HOSPITAL 
TREATMENT, such as physician's 
services, inpatient and outpatient medical 
and surgical services and supplies, 
physical and speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical equipment 

      

First $135 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts* 

$0 $0 $135 (Part B 
deductible)  

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

Generally 80% Balance, other than 
up to $20 per office 
visit and up to $50 
per emergency room 
visit. The copayment 
of up to $50 is 
waived if the insured 
is admitted to any 
hospital and the 
emergency visit is 
covered as a 
Medicare Part A 
expense. 

Up to$20 per office 
visit and up to $50 per 
emergency visit. The 
copayment of up to $50 
is waived if the insured 
is admitted to any 
hospital and the 
emergency room visit is 
covered as a Medicare 
Part A expense. 

PART B EXCESS CHARGES        

(Above Medicare-Approved Amounts) $0 $0 All costs  

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 All costs $0 

Next $135 of Medicare Approved 
Amounts* 

$0 $0 $135 (Part B 
deductible) 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 20% $0 

CLINICAL LABORATORY 
SERVICES -  

      

TESTS FOR DIAGNOSTIC SERVICES 100% $0 $0 

PARTS A & B  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

HOME HEALTH CARE  
MEDICARE-APPROVED SERVICES  

      

Medically necessary skilled care services 
and medical supplies 

100% $0 $0 

Durable medical equipment       
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  First $135 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts* 

$0 $0 $135 (Part B 
deductible) 

  Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 20% $0 

OTHER BENEFITS—NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

FOREIGN TRAVEL -  
NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE  

      

Medically necessary emergency care 
services beginning during the first 60 days 
of each trip outside the USA 

      

  First $250 each calendar year $0 $0 $250 

  Remainder of Charges $0 80% to a lifetime 
maximum benefit of 
$50,000 

20% and amounts over 
the $50,000 lifetime 
maximum 

E. Notice regarding policies or certificates which are not 
Medicare supplement policies.  

1. Any accident and sickness insurance policy or certificate 
issued for delivery in this Commonwealth to persons 
eligible for Medicare, other than a Medicare supplement 
policy, a policy issued pursuant to a contract under § 1876 
of the federal Social Security Act (42 USC § 1395 et seq.), 
a disability income policy, or other policy identified in 
14VAC5-170-20 B, shall notify insureds under the policy 
that the policy is not a Medicare supplement policy or 
certificate. The notice shall either be printed or attached to 
the first page of the outline of coverage delivered to 
insureds under the policy, or if no outline of coverage is 
delivered, to the first page of the policy, or certificate 
delivered to insureds. The notice shall be in no less than 12 
point type and shall contain the following language:  

"THIS [POLICY OR CERTIFICATE] IS NOT A 
MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT [POLICY OR 
CONTRACT]. If you are eligible for Medicare, review 
the Guide to Health Insurance for People with Medicare 
available from the company."  

2. Applications provided to persons eligible for Medicare 
for the health insurance policies or certificates described in 
subdivision 1 of this subsection shall disclose, using the 
applicable statement in Appendix C, the extent to which 
the policy duplicates Medicare. The disclosure statement 
shall be provided as a part of, or together with, the 
application for the policy or certificate.  

F. Notice requirements for attained age rated Medicare 
supplement policies or certificates. Issuers of Medicare 
supplement policies or certificates which use attained age 
rating shall provide a notice to all prospective applicants at 
the time the application is presented, and except for direct 
response policies or certificates, shall obtain an 

acknowledgement of receipt of the notice from the applicant. 
The notice shall be in no less than 12 point type and shall 
contain the information included in Appendix D. The notice 
shall be provided as part of, or together with, the application 
for the policy or certificate.  

14VAC5-170-215. Prohibition against use of genetic 
information and requests for genetic testing. 

A. An issuer of a Medicare supplement policy or certificate: 

1. Shall not deny or condition the issuance or effectiveness 
of the policy or certificate (including the imposition of any 
exclusion of benefits under the policy based on a 
preexisting condition) on the basis of the genetic 
information with respect to such individual; and  

2. Shall not discriminate in the pricing of the policy or 
certificate (including the adjustment of premium rates) of 
an individual on the basis of the genetic information with 
respect to such individual.  

B. Nothing in subsection A of this section shall be construed 
to limit the ability of an issuer, to the extent otherwise 
permitted by law, from: 

1. Denying or conditioning the issuance or effectiveness of 
the policy or certificate or increasing the premium for a 
group based on the manifestation of a disease or disorder 
of an insured or applicant; or  

2. Increasing the premium for any policy issued to an 
individual based on the manifestation of a disease or 
disorder of an individual who is covered under the policy 
(in such case, the manifestation of a disease or disorder in 
one individual cannot also be used as genetic information 
about other group members and to further increase the 
premium for the group). 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 18 Virginia Register of Regulations May 11, 2009 

3238 

C. An issuer of a Medicare supplement policy or certificate 
shall not request or require an individual or a family member 
of such individual to undergo a genetic test.  

D. Subsection C of this section shall not be construed to 
preclude an issuer of a Medicare supplement policy or 
certificate from obtaining and using the results of a genetic 
test in making a determination regarding payment (as defined 
for the purposes of applying the regulations promulgated 
under Part C of Title XI and § 264 of the Health Insurance 
Portability and Accountability Act of 1996) and consistent 
with subsection A of this section. 

E. For purposes of carrying out subsection D of this section, 
an issuer of a Medicare supplement policy or certificate may 
request only the minimum amount of information necessary 
to accomplish the intended purpose.  

F. Notwithstanding subsection C of this section, an issuer of 
a Medicare supplement policy may request, but not require, 
that an individual or a family member of such individual 
undergo a genetic test if each of the following conditions is 
met:  

1. The request is made pursuant to research that complies 
with 45 CFR Part 46, and any applicable state or local law 
or regulations for the protection of human subjects in 
research. 

2. The issuer clearly indicates to each individual, or in the 
case of a minor child, to the legal guardian of such child, to 
whom the request is made that: 

a. Compliance with the request is voluntary; and 

b. Noncompliance will have no effect on enrollment 
status or premium or contribution amounts.  

3. No genetic information collected or acquired under this 
subsection shall be used for underwriting, determination of 
eligibility to enroll or maintain enrollment status, premium 
rates, or the issuance, renewal, or replacement of a policy 
or certificate.  

4. The issuer notifies the U.S. Secretary of Health and 
Human Services in writing that the issuer is conducting 
activities pursuant to the exception provided for under this 
subsection, including a description of the activities 
conducted.  

5. The issuer complies with such other conditions as the 
U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services may by 
regulation require for activities conducted under this 
subsection.  

G. An issuer of a Medicare supplement policy or certificate 
shall not request, require, or purchase genetic information for 
underwriting purposes.  

H. An issuer of a Medicare supplement policy or certificate 
shall not request, require, or purchase genetic information 

with respect to any individual prior to such individual’s 
enrollment under the policy in connection with such 
enrollment.  

I. If an issuer of a Medicare supplement policy or certificate 
obtains genetic information incidental to the requesting, 
requiring, or purchasing of other information concerning any 
individual, such request, requirement, or purchase shall not be 
considered a violation of subsection H of this section if such 
request, requirement, or purchase is not in violation of 
subsection G of this section. 

J. For the purposes of this section only:  

1. "Issuer of a Medicare supplement policy or certificate" 
includes third-party administrator, or other person acting 
for or on behalf of such issuer.  

2. "Family member" means, with respect to an individual, 
any other individual who is a first-degree, second-degree, 
third-degree, or fourth-degree relative of such individual.  

3. "Genetic information" means, with respect to any 
individual, information about such individual’s genetic 
tests, the genetic tests of family members of such 
individual, and the manifestation of a disease or disorder in 
family members of such individual. Such term includes, 
with respect to any individual, any request for, or receipt 
of, genetic services, or participation in clinical research 
which includes genetic services, by such individual or any 
family member of such individual. Any reference to 
genetic information concerning an individual or family 
member of an individual who is a pregnant woman, 
includes genetic information of any fetus carried by a 
pregnant woman, or with respect to an individual or family 
member utilizing reproductive technology, includes genetic 
information of any embryo legally held by an individual or 
family member. The term "genetic information" does not 
include information about the sex or age of any individual.  

4. "Genetic services" means a genetic test, genetic 
counseling (including obtaining, interpreting, or assessing 
genetic information), or genetic education.  

5. "Genetic test" means an analysis of human DNA, RNA, 
chromosomes, proteins, or metabolites, that detect 
genotypes, mutations, or chromosomal changes. The term 
"genetic test" does not mean an analysis of proteins or 
metabolites that does not detect genotypes, mutations, or 
chromosomal changes; or an analysis of proteins or 
metabolites that is directly related to a manifested disease, 
disorder, or pathological condition that could reasonably be 
detected by a health care professional with appropriate 
training and expertise in the field of medicine involved.  

6. "Underwriting purposes" means: 

a. Rules for, or determination of, eligibility (including 
enrollment and continued eligibility) for benefits under 
the policy;  
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b. The computation of premium or contribution amounts 
under the policy;  

c. The application of any preexisting condition exclusion 
under the policy; and 

d. Other activities related to the creation, renewal, or 
replacement of a contract of health insurance or health 
benefits.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1737; Filed April 22, 2009, 11:43 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Health 
Professions is claiming an exclusion from the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 
of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 
agency discretion is involved. The Department of Health 
Professions will receive, consider and respond to petitions by 
any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC76-40. Regulations Governing 
Emergency Contact Information (amending 18VAC76-40-
20). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2506.1 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Senior Policy Analyst, 
Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-
4688, FAX (804) 527-4475, or email 
elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The current regulation states that emergency contact 
information provided by a health care professional is used 
only in the event of a public health emergency or for the 
purpose of disseminating notification of a public health 
emergency. The amendment extends the use of such 
information for the dissemination of public health 
information or for providing information related to serving 
during a public health emergency. 

18VAC76-40-20. Emergency contact information. 

A. Upon a request from the department, a person or entity 
listed in 18VAC76-40-10 shall be required to report the 

following information for contact in the event of a public 
health emergency or for dissemination of public health 
information:  

1. A telephone number at which he may be contacted 
during weekday business hours (8 a.m. to 5 p.m.);  

2. A telephone number at which he may be contacted 
during nonbusiness hours (5 p.m. to 8 a.m. weekdays and 
on weekends or holidays);  

3. A fax number at which he may be sent information 
concerning the emergency; and  

4. An e-mail address at which he may be sent information 
concerning the emergency.  

B. A person or entity shall only be required to report those 
fax numbers or e-mail addresses to which he has direct 
access.  

C. Information collected for the purpose of disseminating 
notification of a public health emergency or public health 
information or providing information related to serving 
during a public health emergency shall not be published or 
made available for any other purpose.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1863; Filed April 22, 2009, 10:17 a.m.  

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Optometry is 
claiming an exclusion from the Administrative Process Act in 
accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to 
changes in Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion 
is involved. The Board of Optometry will receive, consider 
and respond to petitions by any interested person at any time 
with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC105-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Optometry (amending 18VAC105-20-60). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Elizabeth A. Carter, Ph.D., Executive 
Director, Board of Optometry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4426, FAX 
(804) 527-4466, or email elizabeth.carter@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

In compliance with Chapter 687 of the 2009 Acts of 
Assembly, the Board of Optometry has amended its 
regulations relating to the responsibility of the licensee or 
registrant to provide current addresses. Every licensee and 
registrant is required to provide an address of record for 
use by the board, and is permitted to provide a second 
address to be used as the public address. If a second 
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address is not provided, the address of record becomes the 
public address. Regulations are amended to use the 
statutory terminology of address of record and to clarify 
that the regulant has a responsibility to notify the board 
within 30 days if there is a change in the address of record 
or the public address, if different from the address of 
record. 

18VAC105-20-60. Renewal of licensure; reinstatement; 
renewal fees.  

A. Every person authorized by the board to practice 
optometry shall, on or before December 31 of every year, 
submit a completed renewal application and pay the 
prescribed annual licensure fee.  

B. It shall be the duty and responsibility of each licensee to 
assure that the board has the licensee's current address of 
record and the public address, if different from the address of 
record. All changes of mailing address or name shall be 
furnished to the board within 30 days after the change occurs. 
All notices required by law or by these rules and regulations 
are to be deemed to be validly tendered when mailed to the 
address of record given and shall not relieve the licensee of 
the obligation to comply.  

C. The license of every person who does not return the 
completed form and fee by December 31 of each year may be 
renewed for up to one year by paying the prescribed renewal 
fee and late fee, provided the requirements of 18VAC105-20-
70 have been met. After December 31, a license that has not 
been renewed is lapsed. Practicing optometry in Virginia with 
a lapsed license may subject the licensee to disciplinary 
action and additional fines by the board.  

D. An optometrist whose license has been lapsed for more 
than one year and who wishes to resume practice in Virginia 
shall apply for reinstatement. The executive director may 
grant reinstatement provided that:  

1. The applicant can demonstrate continuing competence;  

2. The applicant has satisfied current requirements for 
continuing education for the period in which the license 
has been lapsed, not to exceed two years; and  

3. The applicant has paid the prescribed reinstatement 
application fee.  

E. The board may require an applicant who has allowed his 
license to expire and who cannot demonstrate continuing 
competency to pass all or parts of the board-approved 
examinations.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1862; Filed April 22, 2009, 10:17 a.m.  

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC112-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Physical Therapy (amending 18VAC112-

20-90, 18VAC112-20-130, 18VAC112-20-131, 18VAC112-
20-150; adding 18VAC112-20-81).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3482.1 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 10, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Lisa R. Hahn, Executive Director, Board of 
Physical Therapy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4424, FAX (804) 
527-4413, or email lisa.hahn@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) establish the qualifications and 
application requirements for certification in direct access; 
(ii) set out the responsibility for the physical therapist to 
obtain the medical release and patient consent required by 
the statute; (iii) establish a biennial renewal of 
certification with continuing education hours; and (iv) 
establish the fees for direct access certification. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

18VAC112-20-81. Requirements for direct access 
certification. 

A. An applicant for certification to provide services to 
patients without a referral as specified in § 54.1-3482.1 of the 
Code of Virginia shall hold an active, unrestricted license as a 
physical therapist in Virginia and shall submit evidence 
satisfactory to the board that he has one of the following 
qualifications: 

1. Completion of a doctor of physical therapy program 
approved by the American Physical Therapy Association; 

2. Completion of a transitional program in physical therapy 
as recognized by the board; or 

3. At least three years of postlicensure, active practice with 
evidence of 15 contact hours of continuing education in 
medical screening or differential diagnosis, including 
passage of a postcourse examination. The required 
continuing education shall be offered by a provider or 
sponsor listed as approved by the board in 18VAC112-20-
131 and may be face-to-face or online education courses. 

B. In addition to the evidence of qualification for 
certification required in subsection A of this section, an 
applicant seeking direct access certification shall submit to 
the board: 

1. A completed application as provided by the board; 

2. Any additional documentation as may be required by the 
board to determine eligibility of the applicant; and 

3. The application fee as specified in 18VAC112-20-150. 
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18VAC112-20-90. General responsibilities. 

A. The physical therapist shall be responsible for managing 
all aspects of the physical therapy care of each patient and 
shall provide: 

1. The initial evaluation for each patient and its 
documentation in the patient record; and 

2. Periodic evaluations prior to patient discharge, including 
documentation of the patient's response to therapeutic 
intervention. 

B. The physical therapist shall communicate the overall plan 
of care to the patient or his legally authorized representative 
and shall also communicate with a referring doctor of 
medicine, osteopathy, chiropractic, podiatry, or dental 
surgery, nurse practitioner or physician assistant to the extent 
required by § 54.1-3482 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. A physical therapist assistant may assist the physical 
therapist in performing selected components of physical 
therapy intervention to include treatment, measurement and 
data collection, but not to include the performance of an 
evaluation as defined in 18VAC112-20-10. 

D. A physical therapist assistant's visits to a patient may be 
made under general supervision. 

E. A physical therapist providing services with a direct 
access certification as specified in § 54.1-3482 of the Code of 
Virginia shall utilize the Direct Access Patient Attestation and 
Medical Release Form prescribed by the board or otherwise 
include in the patient record the information, attestation and 
written consent required by subsection B of § 54.1-3482 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC112-20-130. Biennial renewal of license and 
certification. 

A. A physical therapist and physical therapist assistant who 
intends to continue practice shall renew his license biennially 
by December 31 in each even-numbered year and pay to the 
board the renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC112-20-150. 

B. A licensee whose licensure has not been renewed by the 
first day of the month following the month in which renewal 
is required shall pay a late fee as prescribed in 18VAC112-
20-150. 

C. In order to renew an active license, a licensee shall be 
required to: 

1. Complete a minimum of 160 hours of active practice in 
the preceding two years; and 

2. Comply with continuing competency requirements set 
forth in 18VAC112-20-131. 

D. In order to renew a direct access certification, a licensee 
shall be required to: 

1. Hold an active, unrestricted license as a physical 
therapist; and 

2. Comply with continuing education requirements set 
forth in 18VAC112-20-131 I. 

18VAC112-20-131. Continued competency requirements 
for renewal of an active license. 

A. In order to renew an active license biennially after 
December 31, 2003, a physical therapist or a physical 
therapist assistant shall complete at least 30 contact hours of 
continuing learning activities within the two years 
immediately preceding renewal. In choosing continuing 
learning activities or courses, the licensee shall consider the 
following: (i) the need to promote ethical practice, (ii) an 
appropriate standard of care, (iii) patient safety, (iv) 
application of new medical technology, (v) appropriate 
communication with patients, and (vi) knowledge of the 
changing health care system. 

B. To document the required hours, the licensee shall 
maintain the Continued Competency Activity and Assessment 
Form that is provided by the board and that shall indicate 
completion of the following: 

1. A minimum of 15 of the contact hours required for 
physical therapists and 10 of the contact hours required for 
physical therapist assistants shall be in Type 1 face-to-face 
courses. For the purpose of this section, "course" means an 
organized program of study, classroom experience or 
similar educational experience that is directly related to the 
clinical practice of physical therapy and approved or 
provided by one of the following organizations or any of 
its components: 

a. The Virginia Physical Therapy Association; 

b. The American Physical Therapy Association; 

c. Local, state or federal government agencies; 

d. Regionally accredited colleges and universities; 

e. Health care organizations accredited by the Joint 
Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 
Organizations (JCAHO); 

f. The American Medical Association - Category I 
Continuing Medical Education course; and  

g. The National Athletic Trainers Association. 

2. No more than 15 of the contact hours required for 
physical therapists and 20 of the contact hours required for 
physical therapist assistants may be Type 2 activities or 
courses, which may or may not be offered by an approved 
organization but which shall be related to the clinical 
practice of physical therapy. Type 2 activities may include 
but not be limited to consultation with colleagues, 
independent study, and research or writing on subjects 
related to practice. 
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3. Documentation of specialty certification by the 
American Physical Therapy Association may be provided 
as evidence of completion of continuing competency 
requirements for the biennium in which initial certification 
or recertification occurs. 

C. A licensee shall be exempt from the continuing 
competency requirements for the first biennial renewal 
following the date of initial licensure in Virginia. 

D. The licensee shall retain his records on the completed 
form with all supporting documentation for a period of four 
years following the renewal of an active license. 

E. The licensees selected in a random audit conducted by the 
board shall provide the completed Continued Competency 
Activity and Assessment Form and all supporting 
documentation within 30 days of receiving notification of the 
audit. 

F. Failure to comply with these requirements may subject 
the licensee to disciplinary action by the board. 

G. The board may grant an extension of the deadline for 
continuing competency requirements for up to one year for 
good cause shown upon a written request from the licensee 
prior to the renewal date. 

H. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 
requirements for circumstances beyond the control of the 
licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military 
service, or officially declared disasters. 

I. Physical therapists holding certification to provide direct 
access without a referral shall include four contact hours as 
part of the required 30 contact hours of continuing education 
in courses related to clinical practice in a direct access setting. 

18VAC112-20-150. Fees. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 
not be refundable. 

B. Licensure by examination. 

1. The application fee shall be $140 for a physical therapist 
and $100 for a physical therapist assistant. 

2. The fees for taking all required examinations shall be 
paid directly to the examination services. 

C. Licensure by endorsement. The fee for licensure by 
endorsement shall be $140 for a physical therapist and $100 
for a physical therapist assistant. 

D. Licensure renewal and reinstatement. 

1. The fee for active license renewal for a physical 
therapist shall be $135 and for a physical therapist assistant 
shall be $70 and shall be due by December 31 in each 
even-numbered year. From January 1, 2006, through 
December 31, 2006, the fee for active license renewal fee 

shall be $60 for a physical therapist and $30 for a physical 
therapist assistant. 

2. A fee of $25 for a physical therapist assistant and $50 
for a physical therapist for processing a late renewal within 
one renewal cycle shall be paid in addition to the renewal 
fee. 

3. The fee for reinstatement of a license that has expired 
for two or more years shall be $180 for a physical therapist 
and $120 for a physical therapist assistant and shall be 
submitted with an application for licensure reinstatement. 

E. Other fees. 

1. The fee for an application for reinstatement of a license 
that has been revoked shall be $1,000. 

2. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5, and the fee 
for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15. 

3. The fee for a returned check shall be $35. 

4. The fee for a letter of good standing/verification to 
another jurisdiction shall be $10. 

F. Direct access certification fees. 

1. The application fee shall be $75 for a physical therapist 
to obtain certification to provide services without a 
referral. 

2. The fee for renewal on a direct access certification shall 
be $35 and shall be due by December 31 in each even-
numbered year. 

3. A fee of $15 for processing a late renewal of 
certification within one renewal cycle shall be paid in 
addition to the renewal fee. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are listed below. Any amended or added forms are 
reflected in the listing and are published following the listing. 

FORMS (18VAC112-20) 

Application for Licensure by Examination to Practice as a 
Physical Therapist/Physical Therapist Assistant (rev. 9/07).  

Application for Licensure by Endorsement to Practice 
Physical Therapy as a Physical Therapist/Physical Therapist 
Assistant (rev. 12/07). 

Application for Reinstatement of Licensure to Practice 
Physical Therapy as a Physical Therapist/Physical Therapist 
Assistant (rev. 8/07).  

Instructions for Licensure by Endorsement to Practice as a 
Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant (Graduate 
of an American/Approved Program) (rev. 11/07).  

Instructions for Licensure by Endorsement to Practice as a 
Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant (Graduate 
of a Non-American/Nonapproved Program) (rev. 11/07).  
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Instructions for Licensure by Examination to Practice as a 
Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant (Graduate 
of an American/Approved Program) (rev. 8/07).  

Instructions for Licensure by Examination to Practice as a 
Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant (Graduate 
of a Non-American/Nonapproved Program) (rev. 8/07).  

Instructions - Reinstatement of Licensure to Practice as a 
Physical Therapist/Physical Therapist Assistant (rev. 4/08).  

Traineeship Application, Statement of Authorization (rev. 
8/07).  

Traineeship Application, Statement of Authorization (1,000-
hour traineeship) (rev. 8/07).  

Traineeship Application, Statement of Authorization, 
Relicensure (480-hour traineeship) (rev. 12/07).  

Form #L, Certificate of Physical Therapy Education (rev. 
7/08).  

Continued Competency and Assessment Form (rev. 7/08).  

480 Traineeship Completion Form (rev. 12/07). 

Instructions – Direct Access Certification (rev. [ 4/08) 
4/09) ]. 

Application for Direct Access Certification (rev. [ 4/08) 
4/09) ]. 

Patient Attestation Form (rev. 7/07).  
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VA.R. Doc. No. R08-857; Filed April 10, 2009, 8:55 a.m.  
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BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Social Work is 
claiming an exclusion from the Administrative Process Act in 
accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to 
changes in Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion 
is involved. The Board of Social Work will receive, consider 
and respond to petitions by any interested person at any time 
with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC140-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Social Work (amending 18VAC140-20-
100). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, 
Board of Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4488, FAX 
(804) 527-4435, or email evelyn.brown@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

In compliance with Chapter 687 of the 2009 Acts of 
Assembly, the Board of Social Work has amended its 
regulations relating to the responsibility of the licensee or 
registrant to provide current addresses. Every licensee and 
registrant is required to provide an address of record for 
use by the board, and is permitted to provide a second 
address to be used as the public address. If a second 
address is not provided, the address of record becomes the 
public address. Regulations are amended to use the 
statutory terminology of address of record and to clarify 
that the regulant has a responsibility to notify the board 
within 30 days if there is a change in the address of record 
or the public address, if different from the address of 
record. 

18VAC140-20-100. Licensure renewal. 

A. All licensees shall renew their licenses on or before June 
30 of each odd-numbered year and pay the renewal fee 
prescribed by the board.  

B. Beginning with the 2003 renewal, licensees who wish to 
maintain an active license shall pay the appropriate fee and 
document on the renewal form compliance with the continued 
competency requirements prescribed in 18VAC140-20-105. 
Newly licensed individuals are not required to document 
continuing education on the first renewal date following 
initial licensure.  

C. A licensee who wishes to place his license in inactive 
status may do so upon payment of a fee equal to one-half of 
the biennial license renewal fee as indicated on the renewal 
form. No person shall practice social work or clinical social 

work in Virginia unless he holds a current active license. A 
licensee who has placed himself in inactive status may 
become active by fulfilling the reactivation requirements set 
forth in 18VAC140-20-110.  

D. Failure to receive a renewal notice from the board shall 
not relieve the licensee from the renewal requirement Each 
licensee shall furnish the board his current address of record. 
All notices required by law or by this chapter to be mailed by 
the board to any such licensee shall be validly given when 
mailed to the latest address of record given by the licensee. 
Any change in the address of record or the public address, if 
different from the address of record, shall be furnished to the 
board within 30 days of such change.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1927; Filed April 22, 2009, 10:17 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

COMMISSION ON THE VIRGINIA ALCOHOL SAFETY 
ACTION PROGRAM 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 24VAC35-60. Ignition Interlock 
Program Regulations (adding 24VAC35-60-10 through 
24VAC35-60-110). 

Statutory Authority: § 18.2-270.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

May 13, 2009 - 10 a.m. - General Assembly Building, 
910 Capitol Street, 3rd Floor East Conference Room, 
Richmond, VA 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
July 10, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Richard L. Foy, Technical Instructor, 
Commission on the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program, 
701 East Franklin Street, Suite 1110, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-5895, FAX (804) 786-6286, or email 
rfoy.vasap@state.va.us. 

Basis: Section 18.2-271.2 of the Code of Virginia establishes 
the Commission on Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program 
(VASAP) in the legislative branch of state government. 
Section 18.2-270.2 A directs the Executive Director of the 
Commission on VASAP or his designee to certify ignition 
interlock systems in the Commonwealth and to adopt 
regulations and forms for the installation, maintenance and 
certification of such ignition interlock systems. 

Purpose: Presently, there are no existing ignition interlock 
regulations. These new regulations are required by § 18.2-
270.2 of the Code of Virginia. Section 18.2-271.1 of the Code 
of Virginia requires persons convicted of a first offense DUI 
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(who had a blood alcohol concentration of 0.15 or above), 
and persons convicted of a second or subsequent DUI, to have 
an ignition interlock device installed on their vehicle(s) as a 
condition of issuance of a restricted driver’s license. Ignition 
interlocks prevent drivers from starting their vehicles if they 
have been drinking. This protects the safety of the offender, 
his family, and the public. Interlocks also serve a 
probationary function by recording on the unit’s data chip the 
driving activities of probationers. This regulation is designed 
to ensure that the interlock devices installed in Virginia are 
reliable, accurate, and properly installed. Furthermore, it 
ensures that interlock service centers are easily accessible to 
all Virginia citizens and that quality service is provided in a 
timely manner. 

Substance: The new regulations will provide information 
regarding the certification of ignition interlock devices and 
ignition interlock service providers in Virginia. Procedures 
for the installation, maintenance, and removal of ignition 
interlock devices will be outlined as well as requirements for 
reporting and recordkeeping. 

Issues: These regulations provide detailed information and 
outline performance standards for the Commonwealth’s 
ignition interlock program. Information about what interlock 
companies need to do to conduct business is included so that 
multiple vendors can potentially operate in the state, thereby 
giving customers more options. The regulations further 
ensure that both the public and ignition interlock service 
providers are aware of the commission’s performance 
expectations and the potential consequences of 
noncompliance. The regulations provide a mechanism for the 
government to award contracts to qualifying companies and 
to cancel contracts with companies that do not meet minimum 
standards. These provisions should result in better service 
provision to the citizens of the Commonwealth.  No apparent 
disadvantages to the public or the government are noted; 
however, provisions in the regulations that prohibit interlock 
companies from subcontracting installations might bar some 
interested businesses in Virginia from doing contract work for 
interlock vendors. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Commission on Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program 
proposes to establish regulations for the ignition interlock 
program that has been operating since 1994. While most of 
the proposed rules have already been followed in practice, a 
number of new fees are proposed. 

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient data to accurately 
compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the costs. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Code of Virginia1 requires 
persons with certain DUI convictions to have installed an 
ignition interlock device on their vehicles as a condition of 

restricted driving privileges. Installation, maintenance, and 
certification of ignition interlock systems have been 
administered without regulations since 1994 based on the 
language in the Code of Virginia, interlock RFP and vendor 
contract. The proposed regulations will establish rules 
addressing the ignition interlock program. 

According to the Commission on Virginia Alcohol Safety 
Action Program (VASAP) the proposed regulations, for the 
most part, have already been followed in practice. The parts 
of the proposed regulations that address policy and 
procedures already in effect are not expected to create any 
immediate economic impact as they have been already in 
place since 1994. Probably the main economic effect of these 
changes will be the ease of access to and improved clarity of 
the policies and procedures regarding ignition interlock 
program. Among others, the proposed regulations address 
issues such as approval, cancellation, suspension, and 
revocation of manufacturers, services providers, and ignition 
interlock devices; device specifications; device installation 
procedures; calibration an monitoring visits; device removal; 
maintenance of records and reporting by service providers. 

VASAP indicates that the main change included in the 
regulations is the establishment of numerous fees. The 
proposed fees are a $250 application fee, a contract review 
fee, a service center fee, a fee for VASAP, and a fee for local 
serving ASAP.2 With the exception of the application fee, the 
amounts of fees are not specified in the proposed regulations. 

The $250 application fee will be collected from vendors 
wishing to conduct business in Virginia to cover the costs of 
processing required paperwork, evaluating potential vendors, 
and contracting. The total revenues generated by this fee will 
depend on the number of vendor applications which is not 
expected to be many. 

Even though the amount of the contract review fee is not 
specified in the regulations, VASAP is planning to collect 
$250 annually from vendors to cover the costs of overseeing 
them to ensure their compliance with the state law, agency 
regulations, and their contract. Similarly, the total revenues 
from this fee will depend on the number of vendors doing 
business in Virginia which is not expected to be many.  

The planned amount of the service center fee is $75 annually 
per facility to cover the costs of yearly compliance audits and 
site visits. This fee will be paid by the vendor. There were a 
total of 23 service facilities in 2008 which implies that $1,725 
would have been collected from the vendor. 

The proposed changes also establish a fee for VASAP on 
each offender. The planned fee for VASAP is $10 per month 
per offender with an ignition interlock device installed until 
the device is removed. Last year there were 4,137 devices 
installed in Virginia which would result in approximately 
$496,440 in annual revenues (assuming no devices were 
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uninstalled and all were installed at the beginning of the 
year). 

Finally, proposed changes establish a monthly fee for local 
ASAP on each offender. In practice, a $5 fee has been sent to 
local ASAP to cover their administrative costs for this 
program. Although not specified in the regulations, VASAP 
plans to increase this fee from $5 per month to $10 per month 
per offender with an ignition interlock device installed until 
the device is removed. This fee would generate the same 
amount of revenues as the previous fee discussed. 

In general, collecting revenues from the entities who are 
responsible for generating costs would prevent economic 
externalities and help support the free market dynamics 
working toward an efficient allocation of economic resources. 
However, the proposed regulations with the exception of one 
fee do not specify the amount of fees that will eventually be 
imposed. Thus, there is not enough information on whether 
the fees imposed in practice will be commensurate with the 
costs they intended to cover and be economically beneficial. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulations 
apply to ignition interlock manufacturers, vendors, service 
providers, and offenders with an ignition interlock installed 
on their vehicles. In 2008, there were 4,137 devices installed 
in Virginia by one vendor with 23 facilities. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 
apply throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. Since most of the 
regulations proposed have already been in effect in practice, 
no significant economic effect is expected upon promulgation 
of these already enforced provisions. The proposed 
establishment of fees, on the other hand, could have an 
impact on the demand for labor through changing compliance 
costs and new revenues. However, the proposed regulations 
do not specify the amount of fees. Also, who will eventually 
end up paying the proposed fees cannot be determined from 
the limited information available. It may or may not be 
possible for service providers to pass on the fees to the 
offenders, or the vendor depending on the specifics of the 
contractual arrangements or other market factors. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. While the 
ignition interlock program has a direct effect on the use and 
value of vehicles, the main change in the proposed 
regulations is the establishment of authority to impose fees 
which are not believed to have a direct effect on the use and 
value of private property. The additional fees imposed may 
affect the asset value of the service centers or the vendor 
depending on who will eventually absorb the additional fees. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
regulations are not believed to have an effect on small 
businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed regulations are not believed to 
have an effect on small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed regulations are 
not believed to have an effect on real estate development 
costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

______________________ 
1 Section 18.2-271.1 
2 The proposed regulations do not address the installation and monthly 
monitoring fee that will be paid by the offender to the service provider. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Commission on 
VASAP concurs with the economic impact analysis. With 
regard to the section entitled "Projected Impact on 
Employment," it is not the desire of the commission to 
publish associated fee schedules in the regulations, and in the 
alternative, to address fees contractually with participating 
vendors. This will permit the commission to be more 
responsive to changing market conditions without requiring 
the frequent issuance of new regulations when a change in 
fees is warranted. The portion of fees required to be submitted 
to the Commission on VASAP and the local ASAPs will be 
made by the vendor. 

Summary: 

The proposed regulation provides information regarding 
the certification of service providers and ignition interlock 
devices in Virginia. Procedures for the installation, 
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maintenance, and removal of ignition interlock devices are 
outlined as well as requirements for reporting and 
recordkeeping. 

CHAPTER 60  
IGNITION INTERLOCK PROGRAM REGULATIONS  

24VAC35-60-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of these regulations is to establish a set of 
standards for the Commonwealth of Virginia's ignition 
interlock program. Authority to issue these regulations is 
granted to the Executive Director of the Commission on 
Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP) or 
authorized designee by § 18.2-270.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

24VAC35-60-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Alcohol" means ethyl alcohol, also called ethanol 
(C2H5OH). 

"BAC" or "blood alcohol concentration" means the amount 
of alcohol in an offender's blood or breath as determined by 
chemical analysis, which shall be measured by the number of 
grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood, or 210 liters of 
breath. 

"Breath test" means an analysis of the breath alcohol 
concentration of a deep lung breath sample. 

"Calibration" means the process that ensures an accurate 
alcohol concentration reading is being obtained on the 
ignition interlock device. 

"Commission" means the Commission on Virginia Alcohol 
Safety Action Program (VASAP). 

"Deep lung breath sample," also known as "alveolar breath 
sample," means an air sample that is the last portion of a 
prolonged, uninterrupted exhalation and that gives a 
quantitative measurement of alcohol concentration from 
which breath alcohol concentrations can be determined. 
"Alveolar" refers to the aveoli, which are the smallest air 
passages in the lungs, surrounded by capillary blood vessels 
and through which an interchange of gases occurs during 
respiration. 

"Device" means a breath alcohol ignition interlock device. 

"Device certification" means the testing and approval 
process required by the Commission on Virginia Alcohol 
Safety Action Program (VASAP). 

"DMV" means the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. 

"Fail point" means the point at which the breath alcohol 
level of 0.02% is met. 

"Free restart" means the ability to start the engine again 
within a preset period of time without completion of another 
breath test, when the condition exists where a breath test is 
successfully completed and the motor vehicle is started, but 
then the engine stops for any reason (including stalling). 

"Ignition interlock system" means a device that (i) connects 
a motor vehicle ignition system to an analyzer that measures 
an offender's blood alcohol concentration; (ii) prevents a 
motor vehicle ignition from starting if the offender's blood 
alcohol concentration is at or above the fail point; and (iii) is 
equipped with the ability to perform a rolling retest and to 
electronically log the blood alcohol concentration during 
ignition, attempted ignition, and rolling retest. 

"Interlock event" means vehicle operator activity that is 
recorded by the ignition interlock to include, but not limited 
to, vehicle starts and attempted starts, rolling retests, breath 
tests, lockouts, ignition shutoffs, power outages, and interlock 
tampering. 

"Licensing" means the process of determining that a service 
center meets the requirements set by the Commission on 
VASAP. 

"Lockout" means the ability of the ignition interlock device 
to prevent a motor vehicle's engine from starting. 

"Manufacturer" means the actual maker of the ignition 
interlock device who assembles the product and distributes it 
to service providers. 

"Motor vehicle" means every vehicle as defined in § 46.2-
100 of the Code of Virginia, that is self-propelled, or 
designed for self-propulsion, to exclude bicycles, electric 
power-assisted mobility devices, electric powered-assisted 
bicycles, and mopeds. 

"Offender" means the individual required by the court or the 
Department of Motor Vehicles to drive only motor vehicles 
that have certified ignition interlock devices installed.  

"Permanent lockout" means a feature of the ignition 
interlock device in which a motor vehicle will not start until 
the ignition interlock device is reset by a service provider. 

"Retest" means an additional opportunity to provide a deep 
lung breath sample below the alcohol fail point. 

"Rolling retest" means a test of the offender's blood alcohol 
concentration required at random intervals during operation 
of the motor vehicle, which triggers the sounding of the horn 
and flashing of lights if (i) the test indicates that the offender 
has a blood alcohol concentration that is at or above the fail 
point or (ii) the offender fails to take the test. 

"Service center" means the physical location where the 
service provider installs, calibrates, and removes the ignition 
interlock device on the offender's vehicle. 
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"Service provider" means the authorized supplier and 
installer of the approved ignition interlock devices.  In some 
cases, the service provider may also be a manufacturer of an 
ignition interlock device. 

"Tampering" means an unlawful act or attempt to disable or 
circumvent the legal operation of the ignition interlock device 
to include providing samples other than the natural breath of 
the offender, starting the motor vehicle without using the 
ignition switch, any other act intended to start the motor 
vehicle without first taking and passing a breath test, or 
physically tampering with the device to disable or otherwise 
disconnect the device from its power source. 

"Temporary lockout" means a feature of the ignition 
interlock device that will not allow the motor vehicle to start 
for a preset time period after a breath test result indicates a 
BAC at or above the fail point. 

"Vendor certification" means the process of determining that 
a vendor has been approved to provide services in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Violation" means an event, such as a breath test indicating 
a BAC at or above the fail point upon initial startup, a refusal 
to provide a rolling retest deep lung breath sample, a rolling 
retest with a BAC at or above the fail point, or tampering, 
which breaches the guidelines for use of the interlock device. 

"Violation reset" means a feature of the ignition interlock 
device in which a service reminder is activated due to a 
violation. 

24VAC35-60-30. When ignition interlock devices are 
required. 

Ignition interlock devices are required:  

1. When ordered by a court of proper jurisdiction pursuant 
to § 18.2-270.1 of the Code of Virginia; or 

2. When administratively enforced by DMV pursuant to § 
46.2-391.01 of the Code of Virginia. 

24VAC35-60-40. Approval of manufacturers and service 
providers. 

A. The commission shall issue a request for proposals 
(RFPs) in compliance with the state procurement procedures 
to contract with ignition interlock service providers for the 
services and commodities required for the implementation 
and maintenance of the Commonwealth's ignition interlock 
program. Contracts will be for three years with an optional 
two-year renewal. 

B. Integrity of the Ignition Interlock Program shall be 
upheld by restricting the delivery of interlock client service to 
the actual provider of the product (authorized service 
provider), thereby effectively preventing the extension of 
subcontracts to other persons or businesses who lack long-
term investment, long-term experience, or in-depth 

knowledge of product and service, potentially resulting in a 
higher likelihood of neglect of duty or illegal exchange of 
funds. Denial of subcontracting of the interlock service to the 
consumer is an integral part of protecting the chain of 
evidence for court testimony and evidentiary procedures. 

C. Each service provider seeking to contract with the 
commission shall submit: 

1. Evidence of a strong background in the development and 
maintenance of a statewide ignition interlock service 
program and evidence of operational programs in other 
states. The service provider must be dedicated to the 
installation and maintenance of ignition interlock devices 
and must supply and train staff and service center 
supervisors to assure good customer service and 
compliance with all contract requirements. Any personnel 
hired to install, calibrate, or inspect ignition interlock 
devices may not have ever been convicted of a felony or a 
crime substantially related to the qualifications, functions, 
and duties associated with the installation and inspection of 
the devices, or within a five-year period prior to hiring 
been convicted of a misdemeanor potentially punishable by 
confinement. The service provider must be able to ensure 
that technicians are trained and available to testify in court 
if required for noncompliance hearings. 

2. A description of the service provider's present or 
planned provisions for distribution of the device in 
Virginia including all locations in the state where the 
device may be installed, serviced, repaired, calibrated, 
inspected, and monitored. Each facility shall be approved 
by the Commission on VASAP prior to its use and meet 
the following criteria: 

a. Must pay an annual review fee to the Commission on 
VASAP. 

b. Must comply with all local business license and zoning 
regulations, and with all federal, state, and local health, 
fire, and building code requirements. 

c. Must meet the offender's physical needs for access. 

d. Must maintain offender records in a manner that 
complies with federal confidentiality guidelines. 

In addition, all services must be available statewide within 
a 50-mile drive to the home location of all residents of the 
Commonwealth. 

3. Documentation of insurance covering product liability, 
including coverage in Virginia, with a minimum policy 
limit of $1 million per occurrence, and $3 million 
aggregate total. The service provider shall provide a signed 
statement from the manufacturer holding harmless the 
Commonwealth of Virginia, the commission, and its 
members, employees, and agents from all claims, demands, 
and actions, as a result of damage or injury to persons or 
property that may arise, directly or indirectly, out of any 
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act or omission by the manufacturer or their service 
provider relating to the installation, service, repair, use, 
and/or removal of an ignition interlock device. 

4. Documentation that the service provider will provide a 
full-time state ignition interlock coordinator who will work 
exclusively with the Virginia interlock program and reside 
in the Richmond, Virginia area. Among other duties, the 
coordinator will be expected to (i) respond promptly to any 
problems in the field, (ii) testify in court upon request, and 
(iii) assist and provide training to VASAP staff. 

D. Provided that all vendor and device certification 
requirements are met, the commission shall contract with 
those manufacturers or service providers, and may approve 
multiple makes and models of ignition interlock devices for 
use in the Commonwealth. 

24VAC35-60-50. Fees. 

A. All potential service providers desiring to conduct 
business in the Commonwealth of Virginia’s ignition 
interlock program shall submit a $250 nonrefundable 
application fee. 

B. The Commission on VASAP will establish by contract 
the following additional fees to be paid by the service 
provider: 

1. Annual contract review fee to the Commission on 
VASAP. 

2. Annual review fee for each service center to the 
Commission on VASAP. 

3. Monthly fee to the Commission on VASAP for each 
offender with an ignition interlock installed until the device 
is removed. 

4. Monthly fee to the local servicing ASAP for each 
offender with an ignition interlock device installed until the 
device is removed. 

C. All service providers shall create and maintain an 
indigency fund for offenders who are eligible for a reduction 
in fees based upon a declaration of indigency by the court and 
approval by the commission. 

24VAC35-60-60. Cancellation, suspension, and revocation 
of manufacturers, service providers, and ignition 
interlock devices. 

A. The commission may cancel, suspend, or revoke 
certification of an ignition interlock device and/or its 
manufacturer and service provider for the following reasons: 

1. When there is a voluntary request by a manufacturer to 
cancel certification of a device. 

2. When a device is discontinued by the manufacturer. 

3. When the manufacturer's liability insurance is 
terminated or cancelled. 

4. When the manufacturer or service provider attempts to 
conceal its true ownership. 

5. When materially false or inaccurate information is 
provided relating to a device's performance standards. 

6. When there are defects in design, materials, or 
workmanship causing repeated failures of a device. 

7. When the manufacturer or service provider knowingly 
permits nonqualified service technicians to perform work. 

8. When a manufacturer or service provider assists users 
with circumventing or tampering with a device. 

9. When service or the submission of required reports is 
not provided in a timely manner. 

10. When required fees are not paid to the commission or 
local programs. 

11. When there is a pattern of substandard customer 
service. 

12. When the manufacturer or service provider interferes 
with or obstructs a site review or investigation by the 
commission. 

13. When there are any other violations of the provisions 
contained in the Code of Virginia, commission regulations, 
or the ignition interlock contract. 

14. When a manufacturer or service provider solicits the 
employment of another manufacturer's or service 
provider's technician, facility manager, or state ignition 
interlock coordinator. 

15. When a manufacturer or service provider solicits 
business outside of the VASAP, or otherwise solicits 
individual ASAP branches through operational incentives, 
gratuities, or any other personal incentives. 

16. When a manufacturer or service provider solicits 
business via direct influence or marketing to judicial, court, 
or DMV personnel. 

B. If such cancellation, suspension, or revocation occurs, the 
manufacturer or service provider may request (within 15 days 
of notification) a hearing with the commission to contest the 
decision. Should the cancellation, suspension, or revocation 
be upheld, the manufacturer or service provider shall remain 
responsible for removal of all devices from customers' motor 
vehicles, and will bear the costs associated with the required 
removal and installation of a new approved device. 

24VAC35-60-70. Ignition interlock device specifications. 

A. All ignition interlock devices used pursuant to §§ 18.2-
270.1 and 46.2-391.01 of the Code of Virginia must be 
approved by the commission. The commission shall maintain 
a list of approved ignition interlock devices. 
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B. Each service provider seeking to contract with the 
commission shall submit: 

1. The name and address of the ignition interlock device 
manufacturer. 

2. The name and model number of the ignition interlock 
device. 

3. A detailed description of the device including drawings, 
schematics, wiring protocols, and instructions for its 
installation and operation. 

C. The manufacturer or service provider shall provide to the 
commission, for distribution to the local ASAPs, literature 
promoting its device. 

D. The manufacturer or service provider shall provide 
certification from an independent laboratory that its ignition 
interlock device has been tested in accordance with the latest 
model specifications published in the Federal Register by the 
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, and that the 
ignition interlock device meets or exceeds those 
specifications. Included with the certification report should be 
the name and location of the testing laboratory, the address 
and phone number of the testing laboratory, a description of 
the tests performed, copies of the data and results of the 
testing procedures, and the names and qualifications of the 
individuals performing the tests. 

E. If a device is submitted for approval by a service provider 
other than the manufacturer, the submitting party shall submit 
a notarized affidavit from the manufacturer of the device 
certifying that the submitting party is an authorized 
manufacturer's representative. 

F. All ignition interlock devices will be required to meet the 
model specifications for Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock 
Devices (BAIID) as set forth in the most recent model 
specifications published in the Federal Register by the 
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). 
At a minimum, the following specifications will be met: 

1. The ignition interlock device shall work accurately and 
reliably in an unsupervised environment, at minimal 
inconvenience to others, and without impeding the safe 
operation of the motor vehicle. 

2. The ignition interlock device shall be able to analyze a 
specimen of alveolar breath for alcohol concentration, 
correlate accurately with established measures of blood 
alcohol concentration, and be calibrated according to the 
manufacturer's specifications. 

3. The ignition interlock device shall be alcohol specific, 
using an electrochemical fuel cell that reacts to and 
measures ethanol, minimizing positive results from any 
other substance.  

4. The ignition interlock device shall indicate when a 
sufficient sample of breath has been collected and shall 
indicate this by audible or visual means. 

5. The ignition interlock device shall detect and record a 
BAC that is at or above the fail point for each ignition, 
attempted ignition, and rolling retest. 

6. The results of the test shall be noted through the use of 
green, yellow, and red signals or similar pass/fail 
indicators. No digital blood alcohol concentration shall be 
indicated to the offender. 

7. The ignition interlock device shall lock out an offender 
when a BAC at or above the fail point is detected. 

8. The ignition interlock device shall have the ability to 
prevent the normal operation of the motor vehicle by an 
offender who fails to retest. 

9. The ignition interlock device shall have the ability to 
perform a permanent lockout if the offender fails to appear 
for a scheduled monitoring appointment after the 
applicable five-day grace period. 

10. The ignition interlock device shall automatically purge 
alcohol before allowing subsequent analyses. 

11. The ignition interlock device shall issue a warning of 
an impending lockout. 

12. The ignition interlock device shall be capable of 
random retesting and timed retesting. 

13. The ignition interlock device shall warn the offender of 
upcoming service appointments for three days prior to the 
appointment. Should the offender fail to appear, the device 
shall lock out on the fifth day after the scheduled 
appointment, and the motor vehicle shall not be operable 
until the service provider has reset the device. 

14. The internal memory of the ignition interlock device 
shall be capable of recording and storing a minimum of 
500 interlock events and shall enter a service reminder if 
the memory reaches 90% of capacity. 

15. The ignition interlock device shall be designed and 
installed in such manner as to minimize opportunities to be 
tampered with, altered, bypassed, or circumvented. The 
ignition interlock device shall not spontaneously bypass 
the ignition system nor shall it be able to be made 
operational by any mechanical means of providing air to 
simulate alveolar breath. Any bogus breath anti-
circumvention features used to pass laboratory testing of 
the ignition interlock device shall be turned on. 

16. The ignition interlock device shall be capable of 
recording and providing evidence of any actual or 
attempted tampering, alteration, bypass, or circumvention. 

17. The ignition interlock device must operate at 
temperatures between -20 and 70 degrees Celsius. 
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18. The ignition interlock device shall operate up to 
altitudes of 2.5 km above sea level. 

19. The readings of the ignition interlock device shall not 
be affected by humidity, dust, electromagnetic 
interference, smoke, exhaust fumes, food substance, or 
normal automobile vibration. 

20. The operation of the ignition interlock device shall not 
be affected by normal fluctuations of power source 
voltage. 

G. All ignition interlock devices that have been approved by 
the commission shall have affixed a warning label with the 
following language: "Any person tampering with or 
attempting to circumvent this ignition interlock system shall 
be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor and, upon conviction, be 
subject to a fine or incarceration or both." The cost and 
supply of the warning labels to be affixed to the ignition 
interlock devices shall be borne by the manufacturer or 
service provider. The manufacturer or service provider shall 
submit to the commission a prototype of the warning label for 
approval. 

H. For initial startup of the motor vehicle: 

1. The ignition interlock device shall enable the ignition 
relay after the successful completion of a breath alcohol 
test.  

2. The device shall allow two minutes to elapse between 
the time the ignition is enabled and the start of the motor 
vehicle. 

3. The ignition interlock device shall allow the motor 
vehicle to be restarted within two minutes of the engine 
being stopped without requiring an additional test. 

4. If the initial test results in a lockout due to the offender's 
BAC level, the ignition interlock device shall not allow an 
additional attempt for five minutes. 

5. If the offender's BAC is at or above the fail point on the 
second retest, the machine shall lock out for an additional 
15 minutes and shall do so thereafter for each failed retest. 
A violation reset message shall instruct the offender to 
return the ignition interlock device to the service provider 
for servicing within five days. 

6. If the ignition interlock device is not reset within five 
days, a permanent lockout will occur. 

I. A rolling retest feature is required for all ignition interlock 
devices. 

1. An ignition interlock device shall require a rolling retest 
within the first 10 to 20 minutes after the start of the motor 
vehicle and randomly thereafter at least once every 20 to 
40 minutes as long as the motor vehicle is in operation.  

2. The ignition interlock device shall produce a visual and 
audible signal of the need to produce a breath sample for 

the rolling retest. The offender shall have six minutes in 
which to provide the required rolling retest breath sample. 

3. A free restart shall not apply if the ignition interlock 
device was awaiting a rolling retest that was not delivered. 

4. Any deep lung breath sample at or above the fail point 
or any failure to provide a rolling retest deep lung breath 
sample within the required time, shall activate the motor 
vehicle's horn and cause the motor vehicle's headlights, 
parking lights, or emergency lights to flash until the engine 
is shut off by the offender. 

5. Once the vehicle has been turned off, all prestart 
requirements shall become applicable. 

6. The violations reset message shall instruct the offender 
to return the ignition interlock device to the service 
provider for servicing within five days. 

7. If the ignition interlock device is not reset within five 
days, a permanent lockout will occur. 

J. Additional technical specifications for the operation and 
installation of the ignition interlock device may be described 
in the contract between the commission and the service 
provider. 

24VAC35-60-80. Ignition interlock device installation. 

A. No offender who has a case pending in the court system 
shall have an interlock installed in Virginia unless enrolled in, 
and monitored by, the ASAP program in the area where the 
case originated. This enables VASAP to maintain consistency 
in policy and use of ignition interlock devices in the 
Commonwealth, and allows for a consistent pattern of 
instruction to the service provider. 

B. The ignition interlock device must be installed by a 
manufacturer or authorized service provider within 30 days of 
the date of the court order; if not, the service provider will 
notify the ASAP. 

C. All agreements between the service provider and the 
offender shall be in the form of a contract and be signed by 
the service provider and the offender. Copies of the written 
contract shall be retained by the service provider with a copy 
given to the offender and the local ASAP office. 

D. Prior to installation of the ignition interlock device, 
offenders must provide to the service provider: 

1. Photo identification. 

2. The name and policy number of their automobile 
insurance. 

3. The vehicle identification number (VIN) of all motor 
vehicles owned or routinely driven by the offender, and a 
statement disclosing the names of all other operators of the 
motor vehicles owned or driven by the offender. 
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4. A notarized affidavit from the registered owner of the 
vehicle granting permission to install the device if the car 
is not registered to the offender. 

5. Written authorization from the commission if the air 
volume requirement, blow pressure, or anti-circumvention 
features of the ignition interlock device are to be lowered 
or disabled in order to compensate for an offender's 
diminished lung capacity. 

E. Under no circumstances shall an offender be permitted to 
observe the installation of the device. 

F. The service provider must inspect all motor vehicles prior 
to installation of the device to ensure that they are in 
acceptable mechanical and electrical condition. Under no 
circumstances shall staff of the authorized service provider 
install any device until, and unless, the motor vehicle is 
approved following the inspection. 

G. Each installation shall include all of the tamper-resistant 
features required by the service provider such as unique seals, 
epoxies, or resins at all openings and exposed electrical 
connections. 

H. An oral, written, or video orientation to the ignition 
interlock device will be developed and delivered by the 
service provider to the offender and other persons who may 
drive the motor vehicle, including information on the use and 
maintenance of the device as well as all service center 
locations, and procedures for regular and emergency 
servicing. A demonstration interlock will be available at each 
installation site for use in the training of customers. 

I. If, during the installation, the offender fails to pass the 
initial breath test, the installation will be halted and the ASAP 
notified. 

J. The manufacturer and/or service provider must maintain a 
toll-free 24-hour emergency phone service that may be used 
to request assistance in the event of failure of the ignition 
interlock device or motor vehicle problems related to 
operation of the ignition interlock device. The assistance 
provided by the authorized service provider shall include 
technical information and aid in obtaining towing or roadside 
service. The expense of towing and roadside service shall be 
borne by the offender unless it is determined by the service 
center technician that the ignition interlock device failed 
through no fault of the offender, in which case the 
manufacturer or service provider will be responsible for 
applicable expenses. The ignition interlock device shall be 
made functional within 48 hours of the call for assistance or 
the ignition interlock device shall be replaced. 

K. At the time of device installation, a service provider may 
charge an installation fee. The maximum permissible cost for 
installation shall be set by the Commission on VASAP 
through contract, and service providers will not be permitted 
to exceed the maximum fee established by the commission. A 

portion of these fees shall include costs for offender 
indigency funds.  In addition to the maximum fee permitted, 
service providers may collect applicable taxes and charge for 
optional insurance to cover device theft or damage. No 
installation fees shall be collected from the user until such 
services have been provided. 

L. The manufacturer or service provider must provide 
indigent service to those offenders who are eligible for a 
reduction in fees based upon a declaration of indigence by the 
court and approval by the commission. 

M. No later than the first service appointment, the offender 
must provide to the service provider a statement from every 
licensed driver who will be driving the offender's motor 
vehicle acknowledging their understanding of the 
requirements of the use of the ignition interlock device. 

24VAC35-60-90. Calibration and monitoring visit. 

A. The offender must present photo identification to the 
service provider for all required services. 

B. The service provider must: 

1. Provide service/monitoring of the ignition interlock 
device every 30 days; the offender will be given a five-day 
grace period to have the device inspected. 

2. Calibrate the ignition interlock device at each service 
appointment using a dry gas reference sample. 

3. Retrieve data from the ignition interlock device data log 
for the previous period and electronically submit it to the 
local ASAP within 24 hours of calibration. 

4. Record the odometer reading of the motor vehicle in 
which the ignition interlock device is installed. 

5. Check the ignition interlock device and wiring for signs 
of circumvention or tampering, and electronically report to 
the local ASAP any violation within 24 hours of servicing. 

6. Collect the monthly monitoring fee from the offender. 

C. All malfunctions of the ignition interlock device will be 
repaired or the ignition interlock device replaced by the 
service provider within 48 hours at no additional expense to 
the offender. If it is shown that the malfunction is due to 
mistreatment by the offender, and the offender has not 
purchased optional insurance, then the offender will be 
responsible for applicable repair fees. 

D. A certified technician shall be available at the service 
center during specified hours to answer questions and to deal 
with any mechanical concerns that may arise with a motor 
vehicle as a result of the ignition interlock device. 

E. The ignition interlock device shall record, at a minimum, 
the following data: 

1. The time and date of each failed breath test; 
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2. The time and date of each passed breath test; 

3. The breath alcohol level of each test; and 

4. The time and date of any attempt to tamper or 
circumvent the ignition interlock device. 

F. At the time of device calibration, a service provider may 
charge a monthly monitoring fee. The maximum permissible 
cost for monitoring and calibration shall be set by the 
Commission on VASAP through contract, and service 
providers shall not be permitted to exceed the maximum fee 
established by the commission. A portion of these fees shall 
include costs for VASAP administrative support and offender 
indigency funds. In addition to the maximum fee permitted, 
service providers may collect applicable taxes and charge for 
optional insurance to cover device theft or damage. Fees for 
the first monthly monitoring and calibration visit will be 
collected from the user in advance at the time of installation 
and monthly thereafter as such services are rendered. 

24VAC35-60-100. Ignition interlock device removal. 

A. Prior to removal of the ignition interlock device, the 
service provider must receive written authorization from the 
ASAP. 

B. Offenders may not have their ignition interlock device 
removed or replaced by another manufacturer without written 
authorization from the ASAP. 

C. If, at the time of removal, the service provider notices any 
failed tests that have not been backed up by a successful test 
within 10-15 minutes of the original test, the ASAP will be 
notified for approval before the removal is made. 

D. Once the interlock has been removed, the service 
provider will send an authorized removal report to the ASAP 
via fax, email, or online database, documenting that the 
ignition interlock device has been removed and that all fees 
have been paid. Once verification of an authorized removal 
has been received by the ASAP, DMV will be notified that 
the offender has successfully completed the interlock 
requirements. 

E. Whenever an ignition interlock device is removed, all 
components of the motor vehicle altered by the installation or 
servicing of the ignition interlock device must be restored to 
their original, preinstallation condition and removed in such a 
manner as not to impair the safe operation of the vehicle. All 
severed wires must be permanently reconnected (soldered) 
and insulated with heat shrink tubing or its equivalent. 

F. No fee shall be charged to the offender for removal of the 
ignition interlock device. 

24VAC35-60-110. Records and reporting. 

A. The service provider shall be subject to announced or 
unannounced site reviews for the purpose of inspecting the 
facilities and offender records. Access to all service provider 

locations, records, and financial information shall be provided 
to any member of the commission staff for the purpose of 
verifying compliance with state law, commission regulations, 
and the service provider agreement.  

B. In accordance with federal confidentiality guidelines, all 
personal and medical information provided to the service 
provider regarding offenders shall be kept confidential, 
maintained in individual offender files and secured within a 
lockable filing cabinet at the offender’s service center. This 
filing cabinet shall remain locked during any period that the 
service center is unattended by a service provider employee. 

C. Within 24 hours of installing an interlock, the service 
provider will provide the ASAP with an installation report 
that includes: 

1. The name, address, and telephone number of the 
offender; 

2. The owner, make, model, year, vehicle identification 
number, license plate number, and registration information 
of the motor vehicle; and 

3. The serial number of the ignition interlock device 
installed.  

D. Within 24 hours after performing a 
monitoring/calibration check, the service provider shall 
submit to the local ASAP all data generated to include: 

1. Name of the offender whose device was monitored. 

2. Name, address, and telephone number of the monitoring 
official. 

3. Date of monitoring/calibration. 

4. Motor vehicle make, model, year, identification number, 
and odometer. 

5. Number of miles driven during the monitoring period. 

6. Make, model, and serial number of the ignition interlock 
device. 

7. Any change out of the device (handset and/or control 
box) and reason for the change out. 

8. Any data indicating that the offender has attempted to 
start or drive the motor vehicle with a positive BAC at or 
above the fail point. 

9. Any attempts to alter, tamper, circumvent, bypass, or 
otherwise remove the device. 

10. Any noncompliance with conditions of the ASAP or 
interlock program. 

11. Any offender concerns. 

12. All charges incurred for the monitoring visit. 

13. Date of next scheduled monitoring visit. 
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E. In addition, the service provider must have available 
monthly reports detailing: 

1. All installations during the period covered. 

2. All calibrations performed during the period, by date 
and offender name, detailing any unit replacements made 
during the monitoring period. 

3. All datalogger information from each ignition interlock 
device. 

4. Any evidence of misuse, abuse, or attempts to tamper 
with the ignition interlock device. 

5. Any device failure due to material defect or improper 
installation. 

6. A summary of all complaints received and corrective 
action taken. 

F. The service provider shall be responsible for purchasing 
and providing necessary computer hardware and software to 
convey all data and information requested by the commission 
if such equipment is not already present at the commission 
office or local ASAP. 

G. Reports shall be submitted to the local ASAP in the 
format specified by the Commission on VASAP. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1589; Filed April 17, 2009, 12:39 p.m.  
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Proposed Consent Order - City of Harrisonburg 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the City of 
Harrisonburg for alleged violations in Rockingham County. A 
proposed consent order describes a settlement to resolve 
alleged unauthorized discharges to Seiberts Run/Blacks Run. 
A description of the proposed action is available at the DEQ 
office named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. 
Steven W. Hetrick will accept comments by email 
swhetrick@deq.virginia.gov, FAX (540) 574-7878 or postal 
mail Department of Environmental Quality, Valley Regional 
Office, P.O. Box 3000, 4411 Early Road, Harrisonburg, VA 
22801, from May 11, 2009, to June 10, 2009. 

Proposed Consent Order - Paul Decorative 
Products, Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Paul Decorative 
Products, Inc., for alleged violations at the Paul Decorative 
Products Facility located in Louisa County, Virginia. The 
consent order describes a settlement to resolve hazardous 
waste violations. A description of the proposed action is 
available at the DEQ office named below or online at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. Stephanie Bellotti will accept 
comments by email, sabellotti@deq.virginia.gov, FAX (703) 
583-3821, or postal mail, Department of Environmental 
Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, 
Woodbridge, VA 22193, from May 12, 2009, through June 
11, 2009. 

Study to Restore Water Quality of the 
Recreation/Swimming Use of Morris Creek 

Public meeting: May 20, 2009 at the Charles City County 
Government and School Board Administration Building 
Auditorium, 10900 Courthouse Road, Charles City, VA 
23030. An afternoon public meeting will be held from 2 p.m. 
to 4 p.m. and the evening public meeting from 6 p.m. to 
8 p.m. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality and the Department of Conservation and Recreation 
are announcing a study to restore water quality for an 
impaired creek in the area, a public comment opportunity, and 
two public meetings. 

Meeting description: First public meetings on a study to 
restore water quality of the recreation/swimming use of 
Morris Creek, which is impaired due to bacterial violations. 

Description of study: Virginia agencies are working to 
identify sources of the bacterial contamination in Morris 
Creek. This impairement spans approximately 7.73 stream 
miles in Charles City County.  This stream is impaired for 
failure to meet the recreational (swimming) designated use 
because of bacterial water quality standard violations. 

Stream County Impairment 
Length (mi) Impairment 

Morris 
Creek 

Charles 
City 7.73 

Recreational 
(swimming) 

Use 

The study reports the current status of the Creek via sampling 
performed by the Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality and the possible sources of bacterial contamination. 
The study recommends total maximum daily loads, or 
TMDLs, for the impaired Creek. A TMDL is the total amount 
of a pollutant a water body can contain and still meet water 
quality standards. To restore water quality, bacterial levels 
have to be reduced to the TMDL amount. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax, or postal mail. Written comments should include the 
name, address, and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ during the comment 
period, which will expire on Thursday, June 18, 2009. DEQ 
also accepts written and oral comments at the public meeting 
announced in this notice. 

Contact for additional information: Margaret Smigo, TMDL 
Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, 
Piedmont Regional Office, 4949A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 
23060, telephone (804) 527-5124, FAX (804)-527-5106, or 
email mjsmigo@deq.virginia.gov. 

Total Maximum Daily Load - South Fork 
Shenandoah River 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) and the 
Department of Conservation and Recreation (DCR) seek 
written and oral comments from interested persons on the 
development of total maximum daily loads (TMDLs) for the 
South Fork Shenandoah River in Rockingham and Page 
Counties.  The South Fork Shenandoah River was listed on 
the 1998 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report as impaired 
due to violations of the state’s water quality standard for 
bacteria and violations of the state’s general (benthic) 
standard for aquatic life.  The benthic and bacteria 
impairments on the South Fork Shenandoah extend for 59 
miles from the confluence of the North and South Rivers 
downstream to Hawksbill Creek. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 
of the Code of Virginia require DEQ to develop TMDLs for 
pollutants responsible for each impaired water contained in 
Virginia’s 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report.  DEQ has 
developed a bacteria TMDL to address the recreational use 
impairment and is seeking comment on that draft.  The draft 
report will be available for review and download from the 
DEQ website at: 
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/TMDLDataSearch/DraftReport
s.jspx beginning on or before May 18, 2009. 
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To address the aquatic life use impairment, DEQ conducted a 
stressor analysis, which identified sediment and phosphorus 
as the most probable stressors.  Watershed modeling 
demonstrated that implementation of previously-developed 
upstream TMDLs for sediment and phosphorus would allow 
downstream water quality standards to be met without the 
development of a TMDL specific to the South Fork 
Shenandoah River mainstem. Based on these conclusions, a 
benthic TMDL was not developed for the South Fork 
Shenandoah River mainstem.  In the 2010 305(b) and 303(d) 
Water Quality Assessment Integrated Report, DEQ intends to 
recategorize the South Fork Shenandoah River benthic 
impairment from EPA category 5A – an impaired water 
requiring a TMDL to EPA category 4A – an impaired water 
not requiring a TMDL, because a TMDL is already in place.  
DEQ is seeking comment on this action and the stressor 
analysis report.  

The final public meeting on the development of this TMDL 
will be held on Monday, May 18, 2009, 7 p.m. at the Town of 
Shenandoah Community Center, 305 Second Street, 
Shenandoah, VA. 

The public comment period for this meeting and the draft 
TMDL will end on June 18, 2009. Written comments should 
include the name, address, and telephone number of the 
person submitting the comments and should be sent to Robert 
Brent, Department of Environmental Quality, 4411 Early 
Road, P.O. Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, telephone 
(540) 574-7848, FAX (540) 574-7878, or email 
rnbrent@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY AND 
DEPARTMENT OF MINES MINERALS AND ENERGY 

Environmental Cleanup Plan 

Purpose of notice: The Department of Environmental Quality 
(DEQ) and the Department of Mines Minerals and Energy 
announce a public meeting to present a draft water quality 
cleanup plan (implementation plan) for Straight Creek and 
tributaries; Stone Creek, Ely Creek, Puckett Creek, Lick 
Branch, Baileys Trace, and Gin Creek in Lee County.  The 
agencies invite public participation and comments for the 
purpose of reducing pollutants to Straight Creeks. 

Public comment period: May 26, 2009, to June 26, 2009. 

Public meeting: St. Charles Elementary School, which is 
located on Route 352 at St. Charles, Virginia, on May 26, 
2009, from 6:30 p.m. to 8 p.m. 

Meeting description: This is the third public meeting on 
development of a watershed cleanup plan (Implementation 
Plan). 

Description of cleanup plan: DEQ has developed a total 
maximum daily load study, or a TMDL, for Straight Creek 
and its tributaries in Lee County, Virginia. A TMDL is the 

total amount of a pollutant a stream can contain and still meet 
water quality standards. The stream has bacteria 
contamination that threatens human health and other 
contaminates that have harmed the aquatic life in the stream. 
To restore water quality, contamination levels need to be 
reduced to the recommended TMDL amounts. The cleanup 
plan will define ways to reduce contamination. The draft 
water quality cleanup plan can be found at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl/iprpts.html. 

The Straight Creek "impaired" stream segment includes about 
38 miles of streams in the watershed. The entire length of 
Straight Creek from its headwaters to its confluence with 
North Fork Powell River is included. Stone Creek follows 
Route 421 west towards the Kentucky/Virginia state line. The 
TMDL study identifies sediment and conductivity/total 
dissolved solids as the stressors for aquatic life problems. The 
draft study proposes reductions in sedimentation, 
conductivity/total dissolved solids and bacteria so that the 
stream can meet the water quality standards. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax or postal mail. Written comments should include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ during the comment 
period. DEQ also accepts written and oral comments at the 
public meeting announced in this notice. Additionally, 
information on implementation plans and how they are 
developed is available at the DEQ website. 

Contact for additional information: Shelley D. Williams, 
Virginia Department of Environmental Quality, Southwest 
Regional Office, P.O. Box 1688, Abingdon, VA 24212-1688, 
telephone (276) 676-4845, FAX (276) 676-4899, or email 
sdwilliams@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Special Order - Hopson, LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Hopson, LLC 
alleged violations in Powhatan County, Virginia. The State 
Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent special order 
to Hopson, LLC to address noncompliance with state laws 
and the VWP regulations. A description of the proposed 
action is available at the DEQ office named below or online 
at www.deq.virginia.gov. Cynthia Akers will accept 
comments by email ecakers@deq.virginia.gov, FAX (804) 
527-5106 or postal mail Department of Environmental 
Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen 
Allen, VA 23060, from May 11, 2009, to June 12, 2009. 

Proposed Consent Order - LSF5 Cavalier 
Investments, LLC 

Purpose of notice: To invite citizens to comment on a 
proposed consent order for a facility. 
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Public comment period: May 11, 2009, to June 11, 2009. 

Consent order description: The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to LSF5 Cavalier 
Investments, LLC., to address alleged violations of the 
regulations. The location of the UST facility where the 
alleged violations occurred is in Charlottesville, Virginia. The 
consent order describes a settlement to resolve these 
violations. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax or postal mail. All comments must include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ within the comment 
period. The public may review the proposed consent order at 
the DEQ office named below or on the DEQ website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests and 
additional information: David C. Robinett, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Valley Regional Office, Post Office 
Box 3000, 4411 Early Road, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-9519, 
telephone (540) 574-7862, FAX (540) 574-7878, or email 
dcrobinett@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Order - Sunoco, Inc. 
Purpose of notice: To invite citizens to comment on a 
proposed consent order for a facility. 

Public comment period: May 11, 2009, to June 11, 2009. 

Consent order description: The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to Sunoco Inc. to address 
alleged violations of the regulations. The location of the UST 
facility where the alleged violations occurred is in 
Rockbridge County, Virginia. The consent order describes a 
settlement to resolve these violations. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax or postal mail. All comments must include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ within the comment 
period. The public may review the proposed consent order at 
the DEQ office named below or on the DEQ website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests and 
additional information: David C. Robinett, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Valley Regional Office, Post Office 
Box 3000, 4411 Early Road, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-9519, 
telephone (540) 574-7862, FAX (540) 574-7878, or email 
dcrobinett@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 
Mailing Address: Virginia Code Commission, 910 Capitol 
Street, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations 

Agencies are required to use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) when filing regulations for publication in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. The Office of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations implemented a web-based application 
called RIS for filing regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register. The Registrar's office has 
worked closely with the Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) to coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory 
Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one 
another by sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

The Office of the Virginia Register is working toward the 
eventual elimination of the requirement that agencies file 
print copies of regulatory packages. Until that time, agencies 
may file petitions for rulemaking, notices of intended 
regulatory actions and general notices in electronic form only; 
however, until further notice, agencies must continue to file 
print copies of proposed, final, fast-track and emergency 
regulatory packages. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 




