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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, the Virginia Tax Bulletin issued 
periodically by the Department of Taxation, and notices of public 
hearings and open meetings of state agencies. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency's response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor's 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor's objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
Proposed regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating 
agency at any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 12 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
23:7 VA.R. 1023-1140 December 11, 2006, refers to Volume 23, Issue 
7, pages 1023 through 1140 of the Virginia Register issued on 
December 11, 2006. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: R. Steven Landes, 
Chairman; John S. Edwards, Vice Chairman; Ryan T. McDougle; 
Robert Hurt; Robert L. Calhoun; Frank S. Ferguson; E.M. Miller, 
Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; James F. Almand; Jane M. Roush. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
June T. Chandler, Assistant Registrar. 
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

July 2009 through April 2010 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

INDEX 3 Volume 25  July 2009 

25:22 June 17, 2009 July 6, 2009 

25:23 July 1, 2009 July 20, 2009 

25:24 July 15, 2009 August 3, 2009 

25:25 July 29, 2009 August 17, 2009 

25:26 August 12, 2009 August 31, 2009 

FINAL INDEX Volume 25  October 2009 

26:1 August 26, 2009 September 14, 2009 

26:2 September 9, 2009 September 28, 2009 

26:3 September 23, 2009 October 12, 2009 

26:4 October 7, 2009 October 26, 2009 

26:5 October 21, 2009 November 9, 2009 

26:6 November 4, 2009 November 23, 2009 

26:7 November 17, 2009 (Tuesday) December 7, 2009 

INDEX 1 Volume 26  January 2010 

26:8 December 2, 2009 December 21, 2009 

26:9 December 15, 2009 (Tuesday) January 4, 2010 

26:10 December 29, 2009 (Tuesday) January 18, 2010 

26:11 January 13, 2010 February 1, 2010 

26:12 January 27, 2010 February 15, 2010 

26:13 February 10, 2010 March 1, 2010 

26:14 February 24, 2010 March 15, 2010 

INDEX 2 Volume 26  April 2010 

26:15 March 10, 2010 March 29, 2010 

26:16 March 24, 2010 April 12, 2010 

26:17 April 7, 2010 April 26, 2010 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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The table printed below lists regulation sections, by Virginia Administrative Code (VAC) title, that have been amended, 
added or repealed in the Virginia Register since the regulations were originally published or last supplemented in VAC (the 
Fall 2008 VAC Supplement includes final regulations published through Virginia Register Volume 24, Issue 24, dated 
August 4, 2008). Emergency regulations, if any, are listed, followed by the designation "emer," and errata pertaining to final 
regulations are listed. Proposed regulations are not listed here. The table lists the sections in numerical order and shows 
action taken, the volume, issue and page number where the section appeared, and the effective date of the section. 

CUMULATIVE TABLE OF VIRGINIA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE SECTIONS ADOPTED, AMENDED, OR REPEALED 

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
Title 2. Agriculture 
2 VAC 5-100-10 through 2VAC5-100-40 Repealed 25:16 VA.R. 2831 5/13/09 
2 VAC 5-320-10 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2565 -- 
2 VAC 5-325-10 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2565 -- 
2 VAC 5-330-30 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2565 -- 
2 VAC 5-330-30 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2710 3/9/09 
2 VAC 5-340-140 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2565 -- 
2 VAC 5-340-170 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2565 -- 
2 VAC 5-350-20 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2565 -- 
2 VAC 5-370-10 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2566 -- 
2 VAC 5-380-10 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2566 -- 
2 VAC 5-390-20 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2566 -- 
2 VAC 5-390-80 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2566 -- 
2 VAC 5-400-10 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2566 -- 
2 VAC 5-440-20 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2566 -- 
Title 4. Conservation and Natural Resources 
4 VAC 20-260-30 emer Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3783 6/1/09-6/30/09 
4 VAC 20-270-10 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2591 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-270-30 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2591 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-270-30 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2831 3/26/09 
4 VAC 20-270-40 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2592 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-270-40 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2832 3/26/09 
4 VAC 20-270-40 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3783 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-270-50 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3784 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-270-55 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2592 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-270-55 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2832 3/26/09 
4 VAC 20-270-58 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3784 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-270-60 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2592 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-320-70 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3784 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-395-10 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3289 6/30/09 
4 VAC 20-395-20 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3289 6/30/09 
4 VAC 20-395-30 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3290 6/30/09 
4 VAC 20-395-40 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3290 6/30/09 
4 VAC 20-450-30 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3785 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-490-20 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2593 3/1/09 
4 VAC 20-490-30 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2595 3/1/09 
4 VAC 20-490-40 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2595 3/1/09 
4 VAC 20-490-41 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2595 3/1/09 
4 VAC 20-530-10 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2596 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-530-20 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2596 2/26/09-3/28/09 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
4 VAC 20-530-31 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2597 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-530-31 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2833 3/26/09 
4 VAC 20-530-40 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2597 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-560-40 emer Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3292 5/1/09-5/30/09 
4 VAC 20-620-70 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2597 3/1/09 
4 VAC 20-650-10 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3785 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-650-20 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3786 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-650-30 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3787 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-670-20 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3788 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-670-25 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3788 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-670-30 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3788 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-670-40 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3789 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-700-20 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2598 3/1/09 
4 VAC 20-880-30 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3789 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-950-30 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2833 4/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1040-25 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3789 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1090-30 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3790 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1120-31 Added 25:21 VA.R. 3792 7/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1120-32 Added 25:21 VA.R. 3792 7/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1140-20 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3793 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1200-10 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2834 4/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1200-20 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2834 4/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1200-30 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2834 4/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1210-10 emer Added 25:16 VA.R. 2835 3/26/09-4/24/09 
4 VAC 20-1210-10 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3293 4/30/09 
4 VAC 20-1210-20 emer Added 25:16 VA.R. 2835 3/26/09-4/24/09 
4 VAC 20-1210-20 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3293 4/30/09 
4 VAC 20-1210-30 emer Added 25:16 VA.R. 2835 3/26/09-4/24/09 
4 VAC 20-1210-30 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3293 4/30/09 
4 VAC 25-31 (Forms) Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2835 -- 
4 VAC 25-40-25 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3478 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-90 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3478 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-120 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3478 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-130 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3479 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-190 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3479 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-260 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3479 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-350 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3479 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-365 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3479 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-410 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3479 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-720 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3479 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-780 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3479 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-800 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3480 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-810 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3481 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-880 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3481 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-890 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3482 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-893 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3482 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-925 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3482 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-1095 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3482 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-1600 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3482 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-2790 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3482 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-2800 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3482 7/8/09 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
4 VAC 25-40-2980 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3482 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-3050 Repealed 25:20 VA.R. 3482 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-3060 Repealed 25:20 VA.R. 3483 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-3070 Repealed 25:20 VA.R. 3483 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-3080 Repealed 25:20 VA.R. 3483 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-3090 Repealed 25:20 VA.R. 3483 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-3110 Repealed 25:20 VA.R. 3483 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-3120 Repealed 25:20 VA.R. 3483 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-3800 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3483 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-3830 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3483 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-3840 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3483 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-3990 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3484 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-4060 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3484 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-4061 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3484 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-4062 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3484 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-4063 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3484 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-4064 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3484 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-4065 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3484 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-4066 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3484 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-4240 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3485 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-4260 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3485 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-4400 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3485 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-130 (Forms) Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2836 -- 
4 VAC 50-60-10 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2838 7/1/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1100 through 4VAC50-60-1140 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2849-2851 7/1/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1150 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2851 5/13/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1160 through 4 VAC 50-60-1180 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2853-2868 7/1/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1182 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2869 7/1/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1184 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2869 7/1/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1186 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2870 7/1/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1188 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2871 7/1/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1190 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2871 7/1/09 
Title 5. Corporations 
5 VAC 5-20-10 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2601 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-20 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2601 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-80 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2602 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-90 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2602 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-100 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2602 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-120 through 5 VAC 5-20-150 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2603-2604 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-170 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2604 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-180 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2605 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-240 through 5 VAC 5-20-280 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2605-2608 3/11/09 
Title 8. Education 
8 VAC 20-80-10 through 8 VAC 20-80-190 Repealed 25:21 VA.R. 3849 7/7/09 
8 VAC 20-81-10 through 8 VAC 20-81-340 Added 25:21 VA.R. 3849 7/7/09 
8 VAC 20-131-5 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3850 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-30 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3851 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-50 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3852 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-60 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3857 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-80 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3859 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-100 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3859 7/31/09 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
8 VAC 20-131-140 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3860 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-210 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3860 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-270 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3861 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-280 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3862 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-290 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3863 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-300 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3864 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-310 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3866 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-325 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3867 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-360 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3867 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-521-60 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3295 7/15/09 
8 VAC 20-650-30 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3297 7/15/09 
Title 9. Environment 
9 VAC 5-20-21 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3298 6/24/09 
9 VAC 5-30-15 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3302 6/24/09 
9 VAC 5-30-80 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3302 6/24/09 
9 VAC 5-80-1170 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3302 6/24/09 
9 VAC 5-80-1615 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3492 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-1625 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3503 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-1695 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3504 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-1915 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3505 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-1925 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3506 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-1935 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3507 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-1945 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3507 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-1955 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3508 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-1965 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3508 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-2010 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3508 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-2020 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3518 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-2140 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3518 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-2195 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3519 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-2200 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3520 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-2210 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3520 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-2220 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3521 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-2230 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3522 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-2240 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3522 7/23/09 
9 VAC 20-80 (Forms) Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3149 -- 
9 VAC 25-32-480 Erratum 25:15 VA.R. 2804 -- 
9 VAC 25-151-10 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3306 6/24/09 
9 VAC 25-151-40 through 9 VAC 25-151-290 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3308-3379 6/24/09 
9 VAC 25-151-310 through 9 VAC 25-151-370 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3379-3385 6/24/09 
9 VAC 25-190-10 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3385 6/24/09 
9 VAC 25-190-20 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3386 6/24/09 
9 VAC 25-190-50 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3386 6/24/09 
9 VAC 25-190-60 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3387 6/24/09 
9 VAC 25-190-65 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3388 6/24/09 
9 VAC 25-190-70 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3389 6/24/09 
9 VAC 25-580 (Forms) Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3154 -- 
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3523 7/8/09 
9 VAC 25-720-60 Erratum 25:19 VA.R. 3464 -- 
9 VAC 25-720-60 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3531 7/8/09 
9 VAC 25-720-90 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3544 7/8/09 
9 VAC 25-720-110 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3546 7/8/09 
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Title 10. Finance and Financial Institutions 
10 VAC 5-200-60 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2609 3/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-110 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2609 3/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-130 Added 25:14 VA.R. 2613 3/1/09 
Title 11. Gaming 
11 VAC 10-20-330 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3162 6/1/09 
11 VAC 10-50-30 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3005 5/27/09 
11 VAC 10-70-20 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2712 4/15/09 
11 VAC 10-70-90 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2712 4/15/09 
11 VAC 10-110-90 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3407 6/1/09 
11 VAC 10-120-80 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3006 5/27/09 
11 VAC 10-180-10 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3007 5/27/09 
11 VAC 10-180-35 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3007 5/27/09 
11 VAC 10-180-70 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3008 5/27/09 
11 VAC 10-180-80 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3009 5/27/09 
11 VAC 10-180-110 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3010 5/27/09 
Title 12. Health 
12 VAC 5-230-540 Amended 25:13 VA.R. 2316 4/1/09 
12 VAC 5-230-550 Amended 25:13 VA.R. 2317 4/1/09 
12 VAC 5-230-560 Amended 25:13 VA.R. 2317 4/1/09 
12 VAC 5-481-451 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3888 8/6/09 
12 VAC 30-10-150 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2614 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-10-560 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3898 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-10-930 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2615 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-20-90 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2615 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-20-140 Repealed 25:21 VA.R. 3899 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-20-141 Added 25:21 VA.R. 3900 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-20-210 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3571 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-20-500 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2618 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-20-520 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2618 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-30-10 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3577 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-30-20 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3902 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-40-10 Erratum 25:19 VA.R. 3464 -- 
12 VAC 30-40-10 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3574 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-40-105 Added 25:21 VA.R. 3904 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-40-280 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3904 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-40-290 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3905 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-50-10 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2618 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-60-200 Added 25:21 VA.R. 3907 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-60-500 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3586 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-80-30 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3909 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-80-40 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3408 7/1/09 
12 VAC 30-110-40 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2619 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-370 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2619 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-380 Repealed 25:14 VA.R. 2619 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-670 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2620 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-680 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2620 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-700 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2620 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-720 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2620 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-741 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2623 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-980 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2623 4/15/09 
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12 VAC 30-110-990 Repealed 25:14 VA.R. 2623 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-1000 Repealed 25:14 VA.R. 2623 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-1040 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2623 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-1500 Added 25:21 VA.R. 3912 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-120-70 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3599 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-90 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3600 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-140 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2624 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-120-140 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3602 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-211 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3605 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-213 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3608 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-225 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3609 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-229 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3612 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-237 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3613 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-247 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3614 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-700 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3616 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-710 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3619 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-754 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3620 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-758 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3621 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-762 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3622 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-770 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3623 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-900 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3625 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-910 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3410 7/1/09 
12 VAC 30-120-910 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3627 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-920 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3628 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-970 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3630 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-1500 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3632 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-1550 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3634 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-2000 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3636 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-2010 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3637 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-130-260 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2626 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-270 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2626 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-290 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2627 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-370 Repealed 25:14 VA.R. 2628 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-380 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2628 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-410 Repealed 25:14 VA.R. 2628 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-540 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2629 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-750 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3576 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-130-780 Repealed 25:20 VA.R. 3576 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-130-790 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3576 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-130-800 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2630 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-820 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2632 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-890 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2633 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-910 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2634 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-141-60 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2635 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-141-120 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2635 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-141-660 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2969 5/13/09 
12 VAC 30-141-720 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2635 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-141-740 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3411 7/1/09 
12 VAC 30-141-760 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2635 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-150-40 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2636 4/15/09 
12 VAC 35-45-10 through 12 VAC 35-45-210 Repealed 25:21 VA.R. 3912 8/6/09 
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12 VAC 35-46-10 through 12 VAC 35-46-1140 Added 25:21 VA.R. 3914-3950 8/6/09 
Title 13. Housing 
13 VAC 5-63-220 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3013 6/1/09 
13 VAC 5-100-10 Amended 25:13 VA.R. 2363 2/12/09 
13 VAC 5-100-20 Amended 25:13 VA.R. 2364 2/12/09 
13 VAC 10-40-20 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3951 6/5/09 
13 VAC 10-40-40 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3954 6/5/09 
13 VAC 10-40-50 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3954 6/5/09 
13 VAC 10-40-120 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3956 6/5/09 
13 VAC 10-40-130 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3957 6/5/09 
13 VAC 10-40-140 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3960 6/5/09 
13 VAC 10-40-160 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3961 6/5/09 
13 VAC 10-40-170 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3961 6/5/09 
13 VAC 10-40-220 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3961 6/5/09 
Title 14. Insurance 
14 VAC 5-43-10 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3413 5/15/09 
14 VAC 5-43-20 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3413 5/15/09 
14 VAC 5-43-30 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3414 5/15/09 
14 VAC 5-170-20 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3186 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-30 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3186 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-50 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3188 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-60 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3188 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-70 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3190 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-75 Added 25:18 VA.R. 3194 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-80 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3196 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-85 Added 25:18 VA.R. 3197 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-150 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3199 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-215 Added 25:18 VA.R. 3237 5/21/09 
Title 16. Labor and Employment 
16 VAC 15-21-30 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639 7/24/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.9 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.95 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.134 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.156 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.303 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.304 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1001 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1003 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1017 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1018 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1025 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1026 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1027 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1028 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1029 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1030 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1043 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1044 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1045 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1047 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1048 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
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16 VAC 25-90-1910.1050 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1051 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1052 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1915.1001 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1915.1026 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-100-1915.9 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-120-1917.5 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-120-1917.71 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3641 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-130-1918.5 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-130-1918.85 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3641 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.60 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.62 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.761 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.1101 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.1126 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.1127 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.20 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
Title 18. Professional and Occupational Licensing 
18 VAC 5-21-30 emer Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3643 5/14/09-5/13/10 
18 VAC 10-20-683 Erratum 25:15 VA.R. 2804 -- 
18 VAC 30-20-160 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3656 7/8/09 
18 VAC 30-20-185 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3656 7/8/09 
18 VAC 48-20-10 through 18 VAC 48-20-800 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3657-3678 7/9/09 
18 VAC 48-60-13 Added 25:15 VA.R. 2769 5/15/09 
18 VAC 48-60-17 Added 25:15 VA.R. 2769 5/15/09 
18 VAC 48-60-20 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2770 5/15/09 
18 VAC 48-60-60 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2770 5/15/09 
18 VAC 60-20-16 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3015 7/1/09 
18 VAC 60-20-190 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2970 5/13/09 
18 VAC 65-20-10 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3679 7/8/09 
18 VAC 65-20-60 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3016 7/1/09 
18 VAC 65-20-60 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3679 7/8/09 
18 VAC 65-20-435 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3679 7/8/09 
18 VAC 65-20-436 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3680 7/8/09 
18 VAC 65-30-180 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3016 7/1/09 
18 VAC 76-20-60 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2971 5/13/09 
18 VAC 76-20-70 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2971 5/13/09 
18 VAC 76-40-20 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3239 7/1/09 
18 VAC 90-20-35 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3017 7/1/09 
18 VAC 90-20-36 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3973 7/22/09 
18 VAC 90-25-15 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3017 7/1/09 
18 VAC 90-30-100 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3017 7/1/09 
18 VAC 90-50-20 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3017 7/1/09 
18 VAC 90-60-20 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3018 7/1/09 
18 VAC 90-60-90 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2972 5/13/09 
18 VAC 90-60-91 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2972 5/13/09 
18 VAC 90-60-92 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2973 5/13/09 
18 VAC 95-20-10 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3418 6/24/09 
18 VAC 95-20-70 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3420 7/1/09 
18 VAC 95-20-175 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3419 6/24/09 
18 VAC 95-20-390 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3419 6/24/09 
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18 VAC 95-30-10 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3420 6/24/09 
18 VAC 95-30-30 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3420 7/1/09 
18 VAC 105-20-60 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3240 7/1/09 
18 VAC 110-20-10 emer Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3018 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-21 Added 25:17 VA.R. 3025 7/1/09 
18 VAC 110-20-400 emer Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3021 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-740 emer Added 25:17 VA.R. 3021 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-750 emer Added 25:17 VA.R. 3021 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-760 emer Added 25:17 VA.R. 3021 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-770 emer Added 25:17 VA.R. 3022 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-780 emer Added 25:17 VA.R. 3022 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-790 emer Added 25:17 VA.R. 3022 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-800 emer Added 25:17 VA.R. 3022 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 112-20-25 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3025 7/1/09 
18 VAC 112-20-81 Added 25:18 VA.R. 3240 6/10/09 
18 VAC 112-20-90 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3241 6/10/09 
18 VAC 112-20-130 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3241 6/10/09 
18 VAC 112-20-131 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3241 6/10/09 
18 VAC 112-20-150 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3242 6/10/09 
18 VAC 115-20-45 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3704 7/23/09 
18 VAC 115-20-130 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3704 7/23/09 
18 VAC 115-50-40 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3706 7/23/09 
18 VAC 115-50-110 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3706 7/23/09 
18 VAC 115-60-50 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3708 7/23/09 
18 VAC 115-60-130 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3709 7/23/09 
18 VAC 120-40-15 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2774 5/14/09 
18 VAC 120-40-85 Added 25:15 VA.R. 2774 5/14/09 
18 VAC 120-40-240 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2774 5/14/09 
18 VAC 120-40-411.1 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2775 5/14/09 
18 VAC 125-20-120 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3026 7/1/09 
18 VAC 125-30-50 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3711 7/8/09 
18 VAC 125-30-80 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3026 7/1/09 
18 VAC 125-30-80 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3712 7/8/09 
18 VAC 130-20-30 Erratum 25:15 VA.R. 2804 -- 
18 VAC 140-20-100 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3247 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-10 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3421 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-74 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3424 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-76 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3424 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-80 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3425 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-82 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3425 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-84 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3426 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-90 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3427 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-94 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3429 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-96 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3430 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-97 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3431 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-98 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3432 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-102 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3433 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-104 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3433 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-106 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3433 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-109 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3434 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-140 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3435 7/1/09 
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18 VAC 160-20-145 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3435 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-150 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3436 7/1/09 
Title 20. Public Utilities and Telecommunications 
20 VAC 5-314-10 through 20 VAC 5-314-170 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3716-3758 5/21/09 
Title 22. Social Services 
22 VAC 30-40-10 through 22 VAC 30-40-150 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3973-3984 7/22/09 
22 VAC 30-40-160 Added 25:21 VA.R. 3984 7/22/09 
22 VAC 40-35-5 Repealed 25:19 VA.R. 3438 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-35-10 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3438 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-35-20 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3440 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-35-40 through 22 VAC 40-35-120 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3441-3446 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-35-125 Repealed 25:19 VA.R. 3446 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-35-126 Repealed 25:19 VA.R. 3446 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-35-127 Repealed 25:19 VA.R. 3447 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-35-128 Repealed 25:19 VA.R. 3447 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-35-130 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3447 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-72-10 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3448 8/1/09 
22 VAC 40-72-160 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3453 8/1/09 
22 VAC 40-72-210 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3453 8/1/09 
22 VAC 40-72-660 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3454 8/1/09 
22 VAC 40-72-670 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3455 8/1/09 
22 VAC 40-170-10 through 22 VAC 40-170-230 Repealed 25:19 VA.R. 3456 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-670-10 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3988 8/6/09 
22 VAC 40-670-20 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3988 8/6/09 
22 VAC 40-675-10 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3990 8/6/09 
22 VAC 40-675-60 through 22 VAC 40-675-100 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3990-3991 8/6/09 
Title 24. Transportation and Motor Vehicles 
24 VAC 30-92-10 through 24 VAC 30-92-150 Added 25:15 VA.R. 2777-2801 3/9/09 
24 VAC 30-280-20 through 24 VAC 30-280-70 Repealed 25:19 VA.R. 3456 7/1/09 
24 VAC 30-281-10 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3457 7/1/09 
24 VAC 30-300-10 Repealed 25:19 VA.R. 3457 4/29/09 
24 VAC 30-301-10 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3458 4/29/09 
24 VAC 30-301-20 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3458 4/29/09 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Len Futerman. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend regulations for 
anesthesia in dental offices for consistency with guidelines of 
the American Dental Association, as amended in October of 
2007. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reasons for Decision: At the meeting, the board 
concluded that current regulations are adequate to protect the 
public and that any changes to the sedation and anesthesia 
regulations should be addressed in the regulatory review 
process currently underway. The Virginia Association of 
Nurse Anesthetists had commented on the petition and 
suggested that changes in response to the petition would be 
confusing in the current review process. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 
Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 
(804) 367-4688, FAX (804) 527-4434, or email 
elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-12; Filed June 16, 2009, 3:32 p.m. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Agency Decision 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Pharmacy. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Eric D. Hampton. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: Amend regulations pertaining 
to automated devices for dispensing and administration of 
drugs to use the activity reports rather than having a nurse or 
other licensed person sign for the delivery. 

Agency Decision: Request granted. 

Statement of Reasons for Decision: The board will publish a 
Notice of Intended Regulatory Action to receive additional 
comment on the proposal and consider amending its 
regulation. 

Agency Contact: Elizabeth Scott Russell, Executive Director, 
Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 662-9911, FAX (804) 662-9313, or 
email scotti.russell@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-14; Filed June 17, 2009, 11:06 a.m. 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Agency Decision 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC115-20. Regulations 
Governing Licensed Professional Counselors. 

18VAC115-50. Regulations Governing Marriage and 
Family Therapists. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Dr. Roy Woodruff. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend regulations to 
recognize the American Association of Pastoral Counselors as 
a professional organization that can provide education and 
training required to qualify a licensee as a supervisor of 
residents. 

Agency Decision: Request granted. 

Statement of Reasons for Decision: On June 5, 2009, the 
board acted in favor of the petition provided there was no 
negative comment during the comment period that ended on 
June 10. The board decided to promulgate the amendments in 
a fast-track action since there is no controversy expected and 
the changes will provide licensees and supervisors with 
additional options for continuing education and training. 

Agency Contact: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, 
Board of Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4441, FAX (804) 
527-4435, or email evelyn.brown@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-22; Filed June 15, 2009, 2:16 p.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES  

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Department of Mines, Minerals 
and Energy intends to consider amending the following 
regulations: 4VAC25-31, Reclamation Regulations for 
Mineral Mining. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
facilitate the use of electronic permitting and forms, clarify 
reclamation and postmining land use requirements, and 
expand the types of financial instruments that can be used for 
performance bonds. Miscellaneous obsolete items, such as 
addresses that have changed, will be updated. These 
amendments are needed to keep the regulation current, 
accurate, and clear. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 45.1-161.3 and 45.1-180.3 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on August 5, 2009. 

Agency Contact: David Spears, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, 1100 Bank 
Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219-3402, telephone 
(804) 692-3212, FAX (804) 692-3237, TTY (800) 828-1120, 
or email david.spears@dmme.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1913; Filed June 17, 2009, 10:43 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS  

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  
Notice is hereby given that the Criminal Justice Services 
Board has WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory 
Action for 6VAC20-20, Rules Relating to Compulsory 
Minimum Training Standards for Law-Enforcement 
Officers, that was published in 18:1 VA.R. 16 September 24, 
2001.  

Agency Contact: Judith Kirkendall, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Criminal Justice Services, 1100 Bank Street, 
12th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-8003, 
FAX (804) 225-3853, or email 
judith.kirkendall@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R02-1; Filed June 16, 2009, 2:02 p.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Criminal Justice Services Board 
intends to consider amending the following regulations: 
6VAC20-60, Rules Relating to Compulsory Minimum 
Training Standards for Dispatchers. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to transfer approval authority for changes 
to the performance outcome statement of the standard from 
the board to its standing Committee on Training and update 
several on-the-job training performance outcomes based on a 
recent review. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on August 5, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Judith Kirkendall, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Criminal Justice Services, 1100 Bank Street, 
12th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-8003, 
FAX (804) 225-3853, or email 
judith.kirkendall@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1887; Filed June 3, 2009, 2:24 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board 
intends to consider amending the following regulations: 
9VAC25-600, Eastern Virginia Ground Water 
Management Area. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
expand the Eastern Virginia Ground Water Management Area 
to include the remaining portion of Virginia's coastal plain. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-256 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on August 19, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4234, FAX (804) 
698-4346, or email melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1782; Filed June 16, 2009, 3:33 p.m.  
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Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board 
intends to consider amending the following regulations: 
9VAC25-610, Ground Water Withdrawal Regulations. 
The purpose of the proposed action is to address the 
increasing demand on limited groundwater resources, changes 
to the administrative review process, and regulatory changes 
necessitated by new information on the coastal plain aquifer 
system. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-256 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on August 19, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4238, FAX (804) 
698-4346, or email melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1781; Filed June 16, 2009, 3:35 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medical Assistance 
Services intends to consider amending the following 
regulations: 12VAC30-50, Amount, Duration, and Scope of 
Medical and Remedial Care Services. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to provide for new prior authorizations for 
certain community mental health services. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on August 5, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Catherine Hancock, Policy Division, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
225-4272, FAX (804) 786-1650, or email 
catherine.hancock@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1937; Filed June 17, 2009, 11:34 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 23. TAXATION 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given that the Department of Taxation has 
WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action for 
23VAC10-210, Retail Sales and Use Tax, that was published 
in 23:7 VA.R. 1040 December 11, 2006. This action, which 
related to exempt tangible personal property that is purchased 
by churches for use in recording and reproducing religious 
worship services, is withdrawn because the Department of 
Taxation has determined that the changes are appropriate for 
promulgating using the fast-track rulemaking process 
established in § 2.2-4012.1 of the Administrative Process Act. 

Agency Contact: Todd Gathje, Analyst, Department of 
Taxation, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-2301, FAX (804) 371-2355, or email 
todd.gathje@tax.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-48; Filed June 15, 2009, 4:30 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 3. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Regulation  
Titles of Regulations: 3VAC5-20. Advertising (amending 
3VAC5-20-10 through 3VAC5-20-40, 3VAC5-20-60, 
3VAC5-20-90, 3VAC5-20-100; repealing 3VAC5-20-50, 
3VAC5-20-70, 3VAC5-20-80). 

3VAC5-30. Tied-House (amending 3VAC5-30-10, 3VAC5-
30-20, 3VAC5-30-30, 3VAC5-30-60; adding 3VAC5-30-
80). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-111 and 4.1-320 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 24, 2009 - 10 a.m. - Department of Alcoholic 
Beverage Control, 2901 Hermitage Road, Hearing Room, 
Richmond, VA 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on September 4, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Jeffrey L. Painter, Legislative and 
Regulatory Coordinator, Department of Alcoholic Beverage 
Control, P.O. Box 27491, Richmond, VA 23261, telephone 
(804) 213-4621, FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, 
or email jeffrey.painter@abc.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia gives the Alcoholic 
Beverage Control Board general authority to regulate the 
manufacture, distribution, and sale of alcoholic beverages 
within the Commonwealth, including the authority to 
promulgate regulations that it deems necessary to carry out 
the provisions of Title 4.1, in accordance with the 
Administrative Process Act. Section 4.1-320 generally 
prohibits alcoholic beverage advertising in Virginia, except in 
accordance with board regulations. Subdivision B 3 of § 4.1-
111 requires that the board promulgate regulations that 
maintain the reasonable separation of retailer interests from 
those of the manufacturers, bottlers, brokers, importers, and 
wholesalers; prevent undue competitive domination of any 
person by any other person engaged in the manufacture, 
distribution, and sale at retail or wholesale of alcoholic 
beverages in the Commonwealth; and promote reasonable 
accommodation of arm's length business transactions. The 
Code of Virginia mandates that the board promulgate 
regulations, but details are left to the board's discretion. 

Purpose: The purpose of the proposed action is to develop 
amendments that conform the board's advertising and tied-
house regulations to statutory amendments enacted by the 
2007 General Assembly; reorganize the advertising and tied-
house chapters; and eliminate or modernize outdated 
provisions. These amendments will protect the health, safety, 
or welfare of citizens by maintaining reasonable restrictions 
on alcoholic beverage promotion and maintaining a 
reasonable separation between the manufacturing, 
wholesaling, and retail interests to help ensure temperance, 
while allowing industry members additional ability to market 
their products. 

Substance: In 3VAC5-20-10, subsection B, prohibiting 
cooperative advertising, is moved to 3VAC5-30, Tied-House. 
In the same section, subdivision E 2 is amended to delete the 
terms "lewd" and "indecent," and subdivision E 4 is amended 
to eliminate references to curative or therapeutic claims, or 
claims disparaging to a competitor's product. 

3VAC5-20-20 is rewritten to eliminate the distinction 
between permanent and nonpermanent point-of-sale 
materials, and to allow retail establishments to use all but 
illuminated point-of-sale materials inside their 
establishments. Current restrictions on the provision of such 
materials by industry members will be moved to 3VAC5-30, 
Tied-House.  These provisions will be revised to conform to 
recent General Assembly action. 

3VAC5-20-30 is rewritten to eliminate specific language 
restrictions on exterior advertising signs at licensed retail 
establishments.  

In 3VAC5-20-40, restrictions on specific language in 
alcoholic beverage advertising contained in subdivisions A 1, 
A 2, A 3, and B 3 is eliminated, and the limit on the 
percentage of advertising space that may be occupied by the 
identification of the sponsor in moderation messages in 
college student publications currently in subdivision B 5 is 
eliminated. The section is revised to apply to all types of 
alcoholic beverages, and defines the term "electronic media." 

3VAC5-20-50 is repealed. 

Subdivision 2 of 3VAC5-20-60 is amended to allow the 
display of novelty and specialty items on retail premises, and 
to allow such items to be given to patrons during tasting 
events. Subdivision 6 is amended to allow wholesalers to put 
order blanks for novelty and specialty items on packages.  

3VAC5-20-70 and 3VAC5-20-80 are repealed. 
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3VAC5-20-90 is amended to allow coupons to be distributed 
on the Internet, and to allow beer wholesalers to affix 
manufacturers' coupons to the package. 

3VAC5-20-100 is amended to allow sponsorship of public 
events by wholesalers. 

3VAC5-30-10 B 2 is amended to allow wholesalers to affix 
prices to products they have sold to a retailer. 

The last sentence of 3VAC5-30-20 is amended to add farm 
wineries to the exemptions from the provisions of this 
section. 

3VAC5-30-30 B, the definition of "cash," is expanded to 
include payments by credit or debit cards. 

3VAC5-30-60 D, the wholesale value of bottle or can openers 
that may be given by a manufacturer, bottler, or wholesaler to 
a retailer, is increased to $20. 

In 3VAC5-30-60 F, wine glasses upon which advertising 
matter regarding wine may appear are added to the items that 
a manufacturer or wholesaler could sell at reasonable 
wholesale price to banquet licensees. 

A new section 3VAC5-30-80 is also added, moving to this 
chapter current restrictions on the provision of various 
advertising items presently contained in the advertising 
regulation, 3VAC5-20. 

Issues: The regulatory action poses no disadvantages to the 
public or the Commonwealth. The primary advantages to the 
public and the agency are the simplification of alcohol 
advertising and tied house regulations by the more logical 
organization of the provisions and removal of unnecessary or 
outdated regulations. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Board (ABC) proposes to amend 
its regulations governing advertising of alcoholic beverages 
and its tied house regulations. Specifically, ABC proposes to 
repeal or loosen certain restrictions on advertising, move 
other restrictions on advertising from one set of these 
regulations to a more appropriate section in the other and 
update the regulatory definition of advertising to account for 
types of advertising that were not widely used in 1994 when 
these regulations were last fully reviewed. ABC also proposes 
to consolidate rules for advertising of all alcoholic beverages 
into one regulatory section instead of having rules for 
advertising beer, wine and mixed alcoholic beverages 
separated from rules for advertising distilled spirits. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulations prohibit 
advertising that implies the advertised product has medicinal 

properties and advertising that disparages a competitor's 
product. Current regulations also prohibit retailers of 
alcoholic beverages from displaying any permanent 
advertising on their premises and place a host of restrictions 
on the non-permanent advertising displayed. Any advertising 
on canvas, for instance, is currently restricted to banners. Any 
advertising, whatever the material, must currently be only two 
dimensional. Additionally, current regulations restrict certain 
words (Bar Room, Speakeasy, etc.) from being used in 
advertising unless they are part of the advertising entity's 
trade name.  Other words (mixed drinks, Polynesian Drinks, 
etc) are prescribed as the only words that may be used in 
advertising to describe mixed alcoholic beverages. In 
advertising advocating for responsible drinking, the name, 
address and logo of the advertising's sponsor currently may 
not take up more than 10% of the advertising space.  
Wholesalers may not currently affix order forms to their 
products nor may they affix coupons to beer packages.  

All of these restrictions are being eliminated so that licensees 
may advertise in any manner they choose, with one exception, 
so long as it does not violate restrictions in statute or other 
regulations. The one exception is that advertising in retail 
establishments may not be illuminated (neon or other 
lighting). These regulatory changes will allow retail 
establishments, manufacturers, and wholesalers greater 
freedom to advertise in the manner that they believe will most 
benefit them. If additional or different types of advertising are 
more effective, sales for affected retailers, manufacturers and 
wholesalers may increase. If additional revenue exceeds 
additional costs for advertising, these licensees may earn 
additional profits. 

Current regulations allow manufacturers, wholesalers, 
importers or bottlers, or their representatives, to give 
promotional items (like t-shirts) to retailers so long as these 
items' retail value does not exceed $10, only one item per 
retailer and employee is given per visit, these items are not 
displayed in the retail premises and these items are not given 
to customers. 

ABC proposes to ease these restrictions so that they conform 
to § 4.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. Under these proposed 
regulations (and statutory language), manufacturers, 
wholesalers, importers or bottlers, or their representatives, 
may give away promotional items that do not exceed $10 in 
value to each employee present at a retail establishment at the 
time the items are delivered. Additionally, manufacturers, 
wholesalers, importers or bottlers, or their representatives, 
may give away promotional items to customers at product 
tastings held pursuant to Code of Virginia § 4.1-201.1 so long 
as only one items is given to each person also given a tasting 
sample.  Since all entities affected by these rules are already 
subject to the underlying statutory restrictions, no licensee or 
member of the public is likely to incur costs on account of 
these proposed regulatory changes. These entities will benefit, 
however, from the regulations being brought into conformity 
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with statutory provisions since any conflicts in the rules that 
might have been confusing will be eliminated. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. These proposed regulations 
will affect all manufacturers, wholesalers and retailers of 
alcoholic beverages. ABC reports that there are 
approximately 14,000 such businesses in the Commonwealth; 
ABC further reports that more than 95% of these meet the 
definition of a small business. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 
likely have no significant impact on employment in the 
Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. To the 
extent that easing advertising restrictions increases profits for 
affected licensees, the value of their businesses will increase 
on account of this regulatory action. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Small businesses 
in the Commonwealth are unlikely to incur any costs on 
account of this regulatory action. This action will allow 
manufacturers, wholesalers and retailers of alcoholic 
beverages greater flexibility to choose different mediums of 
advertising for their wares.  

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Small businesses in the Commonwealth are 
unlikely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 
action. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB's best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Alcoholic Beverage 
Control Board concurs with the economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary:  

This action proposes several changes to the regulations 
governing the advertising of alcoholic beverages, as well 
as to the tied-house regulations, designed to maintain a 
reasonable separation between manufacturing and 
wholesaling interests and retailers of alcoholic beverages. 
Several outdated advertising regulations will be repealed. 
Others will be modified to conform to statutory changes or 
to modernize them. The two chapters will be reorganized, 
moving some provisions dealing with limitations on the 
provision of advertising materials by manufacturers or 
wholesalers to retailers from the advertising chapter to the 
chapter dealing with tied-house restrictions. 

3VAC5-20-10. Advertising; generally; cooperative 
advertising; federal laws; cider; restrictions. 

A. All alcoholic beverage advertising is permitted in this 
Commonwealth except that which is prohibited or otherwise 
limited or restricted by regulation of the board and such 
advertising shall not be blatant or obtrusive. Any editorial or 
other reading matter in any periodical, publication or 
newspaper for the publication of which no money or other 
valuable consideration is paid or promised, directly or 
indirectly, by or for the benefits of any permittee or licensee 
does not constitute advertising.  

B. There shall be no cooperative advertising as between a 
producer, manufacturer, bottler, importer or wholesaler and a 
retailer of alcoholic beverages, except as may be authorized 
by regulation pursuant to § 4.1-216 of the Code of Virginia. 
The term "cooperative advertising" shall mean the payment or 
credit, directly or indirectly, by any manufacturer, bottler, 
importer or wholesaler whether licensed in this 
Commonwealth or not to a retailer for all or any portion of 
advertising done by the retailer.  

C. B. Advertising of cider, as defined in § 4.1-213 of the 
Code of Virginia, shall conform with to the requirements for 
advertising beer.  

D. C. The board may issue a permit authorizing a variance 
from any of its advertising regulations for good cause shown.  

E. D. No advertising shall contain any statement, symbol, 
depiction or reference that:  
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1. Would tend to induce minors to drink, or would tend to 
induce persons to consume to excess;  

2. Is lewd, obscene or indecent or is suggestive of any 
illegal activity;  

3. Incorporates the use of any present or former athlete or 
athletic team or implies that the product enhances athletic 
prowess; except that, persons granted a license to sell wine 
or beer may display within their licensed premises point-
of-sale advertising materials that incorporate the use of any 
professional athlete or athletic team, provided that such 
advertising materials: (i) otherwise comply with the 
applicable regulations of the Federal Bureau of Alcohol, 
Tobacco and Firearms and (ii) do not depict any athlete 
consuming or about to consume alcohol prior to or while 
engaged in an athletic activity, do not depict an athlete 
consuming alcohol while the athlete is operating or about 
to operate a motor vehicle or other machinery, and do not 
imply that the alcoholic beverage so advertised enhances 
athletic prowess;  

4. Is false or misleading in any material respect, or implies 
that the product has a curative or therapeutic effect, or is 
disparaging of a competitor's product;  

5. Implies or indicates, directly or indirectly, that the 
product is government endorsed by the use of flags, seals 
or other insignia or otherwise;  

6. Makes any reference to the intoxicating effect of any 
alcoholic beverages;  

7. Constitutes or contains a contest or sweepstakes where a 
purchase is required for participation; or  

8. Constitutes or contains an offer to pay or provide 
anything of value conditioned on the purchase of alcoholic 
beverages, except for refund coupons and combination 
packaging for wine. Any such combination packaging shall 
be limited to packaging provided by the manufacturer that 
is designed to be delivered intact to the consumer.  

F. E. The board shall not regulate advertising of 
nonalcoholic beer or nonalcoholic wine so long as (i) a 
reasonable person by common observation would conclude 
that the advertising clearly does not represent any 
advertisement for alcoholic beverages and (ii) the advertising 
prominently states that the product is nonalcoholic.  

3VAC5-20-20. Advertising; interior; retail licensees. 

A. As used in this section, the term "advertising materials" 
means any tangible property of any kind which utilizes words 
or symbols making reference to any brand or manufacturer of 
alcoholic beverages; except when used in the advertisement 
of nonalcoholic beer or nonalcoholic wine in accordance with 
3VAC5-20-10 F E.  

B. The use of advertising materials inside licensed retail 
establishments shall be subject to the following provisions:  

1. B. Retail licensees may use any nonpermanent 
nonilluminated advertising material which is neither designed 
as, nor functions as, permanent point-of-sale advertising 
material including, but not limited to, nonmechanical 
advertising material consisting of printed matter appearing on 
paper, cardboard, canvas or plastic stock; however, canvas 
advertising materials shall be restricted to fabric banners 
containing only two-dimensional display surfaces and plastic 
advertising materials shall be restricted to (i) thin sheets or 
strips containing only two-dimensional display surfaces or (ii) 
any inflatable plastic items not in excess of $5.00 in 
wholesale value. Such advertising materials may be obtained 
by such retailers from any source, including manufacturers, 
bottlers and wholesalers of alcoholic beverages who may sell, 
lend, buy for or give to such retailers such advertising 
materials; provided, however, that nonpermanent advertising 
material referring to any brand or manufacturer of spirits may 
only be provided to mixed beverage licensees and may not be 
provided by beer and wine wholesalers, or their employees, 
unless they hold a spirits solicitor's permit; materials having a 
wholesale value of not more than $250 per item that comply 
with 3VAC5-20-10 inside licensed retail establishments. 

2. Retail on-premises and on-and-off-premises licensees 
may use any mechanical or illuminated devices which are 
designed or manufactured to serve as permanent point-of-
sale advertising. Such advertising devices may be obtained 
and displayed by retailers provided that any such devices 
do not make reference to brands of alcoholic beverages 
offered for sale in such retail establishment or to brands or 
the name of any manufacturer whose alcoholic beverage 
products are offered for sale in such retail establishment 
and, provided further, that such advertising materials are 
not supplied, installed, maintained or otherwise serviced by 
any manufacturers, bottlers or wholesalers of alcoholic 
beverages, and that no such advertising relating to spirits 
shall be authorized in an establishment not licensed to sell 
mixed beverages;  

3. Notwithstanding subdivision B 2, retail licensees may 
display any permanent point-of-sale advertising pertaining 
to nonalcoholic beer or nonalcoholic wine. Any such brand 
of nonalcoholic beer or nonalcoholic wine may be offered 
for sale in the retail establishment. Such permanent point-
of-sale advertising may not be supplied, installed, 
maintained or otherwise serviced by any manufacturer, 
bottler or wholesaler of alcoholic beverages;  

4. Advertising materials described in the following 
categories may be displayed inside a retail establishment 
by a retail licensee provided that any conditions or 
limitations stated in regard to a given category of 
advertising materials are observed:  

a. Advertising materials, including those promoting 
responsible drinking or moderation in drinking, 
consisting of printed matter appearing on paper, 
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cardboard, canvas or plastic stock supplied by any 
manufacturer, bottler or wholesaler of alcoholic 
beverages in accordance with this section provided, 
however, that nonpermanent advertising materials 
referring to any brand or manufacturer of spirits may 
only be provided to mixed beverage licensees and may 
not be provided by beer and wine wholesalers or their 
employees unless they hold a spirits solicitor's permit;  

b. Works of art so long as they are not supplied by 
manufacturers, bottlers or wholesalers of alcoholic 
beverages;  

c. Materials displayed in connection with the sale of 
over-the-counter novelty and specialty items in 
accordance with 3VAC5-20-60;  

d. Materials used in connection with the sponsorship of 
public events shall be limited to sponsorship of 
conservation and environmental programs, professional, 
semiprofessional or amateur athletic and sporting events, 
and events of a charitable or cultural nature by 
distilleries, wineries and breweries, subject to 3VAC5-
20-100 B;  

e. Service items such as placemats, coasters and glasses 
so long as they are not supplied by manufacturers, 
bottlers or wholesalers of alcoholic beverages; however, 
manufacturers, bottlers or wholesalers may supply to 
retailers napkins, placemats and coasters which contain 
(i) a reference to the name of a brand of nonalcoholic 
beer or nonalcoholic wine as permitted under 3VAC5-
20-10 F, or (ii) a message relating solely to and 
promoting moderation and responsible drinking, which 
message may contain the name, logo and address of the 
sponsoring manufacturer, bottler or wholesaler, provided 
such recognition is subordinate to the message, occupies 
no more than 10% of the space, and contains no 
reference to or pictures of the sponsor's brand or brands;  

f. Draft beer and wine knobs, spirits back-bar pedestals, 
bottle or can openers, beer, wine and spirits clip-ons and 
table tents, subject to 3VAC5-30-60;  

g. Beer and wine "neckers," recipe booklets, brochures 
relating to the wine manufacturing process, vineyard 
geography and history of a wine manufacturing area; and 
point-of-sale entry blanks relating to contests and 
sweepstakes may be provided by beer and wine 
wholesalers to retail licensees for use on retail premises, 
if such items are offered to all retail licensees equally, 
and the wholesaler has obtained the consent, which may 
be a continuing consent, of each retailer or his 
representative. Wholesale licensees in the 
Commonwealth may not put entry blanks on the package; 
and  

h. Refund coupons, if they are supplied, displayed and 
used in accordance with 3VAC5-20-90.  

C. No manufacturer, bottler, wholesaler or importer of 
alcoholic beverages, whether licensed in this Commonwealth 
or not, may directly or indirectly sell, rent, lend, buy for, or 
give to any retailer any advertising materials, decorations or 
furnishings under any circumstances otherwise prohibited by 
law, nor may any retailer induce, attempt to induce, or 
consent to any such supplier of alcoholic beverages 
furnishing such retailer any such advertising.  

D. Any advertising materials provided for herein, which 
may have been obtained by any retail licensee from any 
manufacturer, bottler or wholesaler of alcoholic beverages, 
may be installed in the interior of the licensed establishment 
by any such manufacturer, bottler or wholesaler using any 
normal and customary installation materials, provided no 
such materials are installed or displayed in exterior windows 
or within the interior of the retail establishment in such a 
manner that such advertising materials may be viewed from 
the exterior of the retail premises. With the consent of the 
retail licensee, which consent may be a continuing consent, 
wholesalers may mark or affix retail prices on these materials.  

E. Every retail licensee who, pursuant to subdivisions B 2 or 
B 3, obtains any permanent point-of-sale advertising shall 
keep a complete, accurate and separate record of all such 
material obtained. Such records shall show: (i) the name and 
address of the person from whom obtained; (ii) the date 
furnished; (iii) the item furnished; and (iv) the price charged 
therefor. All such records, invoices and accounts shall be kept 
by each such licensee at the place designated in the license for 
a period of two years and shall be available for inspection and 
copying by any member of the board or its special agents 
during reasonable hours.  

3VAC5-20-30. Advertising; exterior; signs; vehicles; 
uniforms. 

Outdoor alcoholic beverage advertising shall comply with 
3VAC5-20-10, be limited to signs and is otherwise 
discretionary, except as follows:  

1. Manufacturers and wholesalers, including wineries and 
farm wineries:  

a. No more than one sign upon the licensed premises, no 
portion of which may be higher than 30 feet above 
ground level on a wholesaler's premises;  

b. No more than two signs, which must be directional in 
nature, not farther than ½ 1/2 mile from the licensed 
establishment limited in dimension to 64 square feet with 
advertising limited to brand names;  

c. If the establishment is a winery also holding a retail 
off-premises winery license or is a farm winery, 
additional directional signs with advertising limited to 
trade names, brand names, the terms "farm winery" or 
"winery," and tour information, may be erected in 
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accordance with state and local rules, regulations and 
ordinances; and  

d. Only on vehicles and uniforms of persons employed 
exclusively in the business of a manufacturer or 
wholesaler, which shall include any antique vehicles 
bearing original or restored alcoholic beverage 
advertising used for promotional purposes. Additionally, 
any person whether licensed in this Commonwealth or 
not, may use and display antique vehicles bearing 
original or restored alcoholic beverage advertising.  

2. Retailers, including mixed beverage licensees, other than 
carriers and clubs:  

a. No more than two signs at the establishment and, in 
the case of establishments at intersections, three signs, 
the advertising on which, including symbols approved by 
the United States Department of Transportation relating 
to alcoholic beverages, shall be limited to 12 inches in 
height or width and not animated and, in the case of signs 
remote from the premises, subordinate to the main theme 
and substantially in conformance with the size and 
content of advertisements of other services offered at the 
establishment; and  

b. Limited only to words and terms appearing on the face 
of the license describing the privileges of the license and, 
where applicable: "Mixed Drinks," "Mixed Beverages," 
"Cocktails," "Exotic Drinks," "Polynesian Drinks," 
"Cocktail Lounge," "Liquor," "Spirits," and not including 
Signs may not include any reference to or depiction of 
"Bar Room," "Saloon," "Speakeasy," "Happy Hour," or 
references or depictions of similar import, nor to prices 
of alcoholic beverages, including references to "special" 
or "reduced" prices or similar terms when used as 
inducements to purchase or consume alcoholic beverages 
Notwithstanding the above, the terms "Bar," "Bar 
Room," "Saloon," and "Speakeasy" may be used in 
combination with other words that connote a restaurant 
as part of the retail licensee's trade name; and  

c. No advertising of alcoholic beverages may be 
displayed in exterior windows or within the interior of 
the retail establishment in such a manner that such 
advertising materials may be viewed from the exterior of 
the retail premises, except on table menus or newspaper 
tear sheets.  

3. Manufacturers, wholesalers and retailers may engage in 
billboard advertising within stadia, coliseums or racetracks 
that are used primarily for professional or semiprofessional 
athletic or sporting events.  

3VAC5-20-40. Advertising; newspaper, magazines, radio, 
television, trade publications, etc print and electronic 
media. 

A. Beer, wine and mixed Alcoholic beverage advertising in 
the print or electronic media is permitted with the following 
exceptions requirements and conditions:  

1. All references to mixed beverages are prohibited except 
the following: "Mixed Drinks," "Mixed Beverages," 
"Exotic Drinks," "Polynesian Drinks," "Cocktails," 
"Cocktail Lounges," "Liquor" and "Spirits";  

2. The following terms or depictions thereof are prohibited 
unless they are used in combination with other words that 
connote a restaurant and they are part of the licensee's 
trade name: "Bar," "Bar Room," "Saloon," "Speakeasy," or 
references or depictions of similar import; and  

3. Any references to "Happy Hour" or similar terms are 
prohibited.  

B. Further requirements and conditions are as follows:  

1. All alcoholic beverage advertising shall include the 
name and address (street address optional) of the 
responsible advertiser;. 

2. Advertising placed by a manufacturer, bottler or 
wholesaler in trade publications of associations of retail 
licensees or college publications shall not constitute 
cooperative advertising;  

3. 2. Advertisements of beer, wine and mixed alcoholic 
beverages are not allowed in college student publications 
unless in reference to a dining establishment, except as 
provided below. A "college student publication" is defined 
as any college or university publication that is prepared, 
edited or published primarily by students at such 
institution, is sanctioned as a curricular or extra-curricular 
activity by such institution and which is distributed or 
intended to be distributed primarily to persons under 21 
years of age.  

Advertising of beer, wine and mixed beverages by a dining 
establishment in college student publications shall not 
contain any reference to particular brands or prices and 
shall be limited only to the use of the following words: 
"A.B.C. on-premises," "beer," "wine," "mixed beverages," 
"cocktails," or any combination of these words; and  

4. 3. Advertisements of beer, wine and mixed alcoholic 
beverages are prohibited in publications not of general 
circulation which are distributed or intended to be 
distributed primarily to persons under 21 years of age, 
except in reference to a dining establishment as provided in 
subdivision 3; notwithstanding the above mentioned 
provisions, all advertisements of beer, wine and mixed 
alcoholic beverages are prohibited in publications 
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distributed or intended to be distributed primarily to a high 
school or younger age level.  

5. 4. Notwithstanding the provisions of this or any other 
regulation of the board pertaining to advertising, a 
manufacturer, bottler or wholesaler of alcoholic beverages 
may place an advertisement in a college student 
publication which is distributed or intended to be 
distributed primarily to persons over 18 and under 21 years 
of age which has a message relating solely to and 
promoting public health, safety and welfare, including, but 
not limited to, moderation and responsible drinking 
messages, anti-drug use messages and driving under the 
influence warnings. Such advertisement may contain the 
name, logo and address of the sponsoring industry 
member, provided such recognition is at the bottom of and 
subordinate to the message, occupies no more than 10% of 
the advertising space, and contains no reference to or 
pictures of the sponsor's brand or brands, mixed drinks, or 
exterior signs product. Any public service advertisement 
involving alcoholic beverages shall contain a statement 
specifying the legal drinking age in the Commonwealth.  

B. As used in the section, "electronic media" shall mean any 
system involving the transfer of signs, signals, writing, 
images, sounds, data, or intelligence of any nature transmitted 
in whole or in part by a wire, radio, television, 
electromagnetic, photo-electronic, or photo-optical system, 
including, but not limited to, radio, television, electronic mail, 
and the Internet. 

3VAC5-20-50. Advertising; newspapers and magazines; 
programs; spirits. (Repealed.) 

A. Except as provided in subsection B, alcoholic beverage 
advertising of products greater than 14% alcohol by 
manufacturers, bottlers, importers or wholesalers via the 
media shall be limited to newspapers and magazines of 
general circulation, or similar publications of general 
circulation, and to printed programs relating to professional, 
semi-professional and amateur athletic and sporting events, 
conservation and environmental programs and for events of a 
charitable or cultural nature, subject to the following 
conditions:  

1. Required statements:  

a. Name and address (street address optional) of the 
responsible advertiser.  

b. Contents of the product advertised in accordance with 
all labeling requirements. If only the class of spirits or 
wine, such as "whiskey" or "chardonnay" is referred to, 
statements as to contents may be omitted.  

c. Any written, printed or graphic advertisement shall be 
in lettering or type size sufficient to be conspicuous and 
readily legible.  

2. Prohibited statement. Any reference to a spirit's price 
that is not the prevailing price at government stores, 
excepting references approved in advance by the board 
relating to temporarily discounted prices.  

3. Further limitation. Spirits may not be advertised in 
college student publications as defined in 3VAC5-20-40 B 
nor in newspapers, programs or other written or pictorial 
matter primarily relating to intercollegiate athletic events.  

B. Electronic advertising of alcoholic beverages containing 
more than 14% alcohol but less than 22% alcohol shall be 
permitted as long as it emphasizes that such alcoholic 
beverages are traditionally served with meals or immediately 
before or following a meal.  

3VAC5-20-60. Advertising; novelties and specialties. 

Distribution of novelty and specialty items, including 
wearing apparel, bearing alcoholic beverage advertising, shall 
be subject to the following limitations and conditions:  

1. Items not in excess of $10 in wholesale value may be 
given away;  

2. Manufacturers, importers, bottlers, brokers, wholesalers 
or their representatives may give licensed retailers items 
not in excess of $10 in wholesale value, limited to one item 
per retailer, and one item per employee, per visit, which 
may not be displayed in quantities equal to the number of 
employees of the retail establishment present at the time 
the items are delivered. Thereafter, such employees may 
wear or display the items on the licensed premises. Neither 
manufacturers, importers, bottlers, brokers, wholesalers or 
their representatives may give such items to patrons on the 
premises of retail licensees; however, manufacturers, 
wholesalers, or their authorized representatives conducting 
tastings pursuant to the provisions of § 4.1-201.1 of the 
Code of Virginia may give no more than one such item to 
each consumer provided a sample of alcoholic beverages 
during the tasting event; and such items bearing 
moderation and responsible drinking messages may be 
displayed by the licensee and his employees on the 
licensed premises and given to patrons on such premises as 
long as any references to any alcoholic beverage 
manufacturer or its brands are subordinate in type size and 
quantity of text to such moderation message;  

3. Items in excess of $10 in wholesale value may be 
donated by distilleries, wineries and breweries only to 
participants or entrants in connection with the sponsorship 
of conservation and environmental programs, professional, 
semi-professional or amateur athletic and sporting events 
subject to the limitations of 3VAC5-20-100, and for events 
of a charitable or cultural nature;  

4. Items may be sold by mail upon request or over-the-
counter at retail establishments customarily engaged in the 
sale of novelties and specialties, provided they are sold at 
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the reasonable open market price in the localities where 
sold; 

5. Wearing apparel shall be in adult sizes; and 

6. Point-of-sale order blanks, relating to novelty and 
specialty items, may be provided by beer and wine 
wholesalers to retail licensees for use on their premises, if 
done for all retail licensees equally and after obtaining the 
consent, which may be a continuing consent, of each 
retailer or his representative. Wholesale licensees in the 
Commonwealth may not put order blanks on the package. 
Wholesalers may not be involved in the redemption 
process.  

3VAC5-20-70. Advertising; fairs and trade shows; 
alcoholic beverage displays. (Repealed.) 

Alcoholic beverage advertising at fairs and trade shows shall 
be limited to booths assigned to manufacturers, bottlers and 
wholesalers and to the following:  

1. Display of alcoholic beverages in closed containers with 
informational signs provided such merchandise is not sold 
or given away except as permitted in 3VAC5-70-100;  

2. Distribution of informational brochures, pamphlets, and 
the like, relating to alcoholic beverages; and  

3. Distribution of novelty and specialty items bearing 
alcoholic beverage advertising not in excess of $5.00 in 
wholesale value.  

3VAC5-20-80. Advertising; film presentations. 
(Repealed.) 

Advertising of alcoholic beverages by means of film 
presentations is restricted to the following:  

1. Presentations made only to bona fide private groups, 
associations or organizations upon request; and  

2. Presentations essentially educational in nature.  

3VAC5-20-90. Advertising; coupons. 

A. "Normal retail price" shall mean the average retail price 
of the brand and size of the product in a given market, and not 
a reduced or discounted price. 

B. Coupons may be advertised in accordance with the 
following conditions and restrictions: 

1. Manufacturers of spirits, wine and beer may use only 
refund, not discount, coupons. The coupons may not 
exceed 50% of the normal retail price and may not be 
honored at a retail outlet but shall be mailed directly to the 
manufacturer or its designated agent. Such agent may not 
be a wholesaler or retailer of alcoholic beverages. Coupons 
are permitted in the print media, the Internet, by direct mail 
to consumers or as part of, or attached to, the package. 
Beer refund coupons may be part of, or attached to, the 
package only if the brewery put them on at the point of 

manufacture; however, beer and wine wholesalers may 
provide coupon pads to retailers for use by retailers on 
their premises, if done for all retail licensees equally and 
after obtaining the consent, which may be a continuing 
consent, of each retailer or his representative. Wholesale 
beer licensees in the Commonwealth may not put them on 
the package. Wholesale wine licensees may attach refund 
coupons to the package and wholesale wine licensees may 
provide coupon pads to retailers for use by retailers on 
their premises, if done for all retail licensees equally and 
after obtaining the consent, which may be a continuing 
consent, for each retailer or his representative. 

2. Manufacturers offering refund coupons on spirits and 
wine sold in state government stores shall notify the board 
at least 45 days in advance of the issuance of the coupons 
of its amount, its expiration date and the area of the 
Commonwealth in which it will be primarily used, if not 
used statewide. 

3. Wholesale licensees are not permitted to offer coupons. 

4. Retail licensees may offer coupons, including their own 
discount or refund coupons, on wine and beer sold for off-
premises consumption only. Retail licensees may offer 
their own coupons in the print media, at the point-of-sale 
or by direct mail to consumers. 

5. No retailer may be paid a fee by manufacturers or 
wholesalers of alcoholic beverages for display or use of 
coupons and the name of the retail establishment may not 
appear on any refund coupons offered by manufacturers. 
No manufacturer or wholesaler may furnish any coupons 
or materials regarding coupons to retailers which are 
customized or designed for discount or refund by the 
retailer. 

6. Retail licensees or employees thereof may not receive 
refunds on coupons obtained from the packages before sale 
at retail.  

7. No coupons may be honored for any individual below 
the legal age for purchase. 

3VAC5-20-100. Advertising; sponsorship of public events; 
restrictions and conditions. 

A. Generally. Alcoholic beverage advertising in connection 
with the sponsorship of public events shall be limited to 
sponsorship of conservation and environmental programs, 
professional, semi-professional, or amateur athletic and 
sporting events and events of a charitable or cultural nature 
by distilleries, wineries, and breweries manufacturers and 
wholesalers.  

B. Restrictions and conditions.  

1. Any sponsorship on a college, high school or younger 
age level is prohibited;  
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2. Cooperative advertising, as defined in 3VAC5-20-10 
3VAC5-30-80, is prohibited;  

3. Awards or contributions of alcoholic beverages are 
prohibited;  

4. Advertising of alcoholic beverages shall conform in size 
and content to the other advertising concerning the event 
and advertising regarding charitable events shall place 
primary emphasis on the charitable fund raising nature of 
the event;  

5. A charitable event is one held for the specific purpose of 
raising funds for a charitable organization which is exempt 
from federal and state taxes;  

6. Advertising in connection with the sponsorship of an 
event may be only in the media, including programs, 
tickets and schedules for the event, on the inside of 
licensed or unlicensed retail establishments and at the site 
of the event;  

7. Advertising materials as defined in 3VAC5-30-60 G, 
table tents as defined in 3VAC5-30-60 H and canisters are 
permitted; and 

8. Prior written notice shall be submitted to the board 
describing the nature of the sponsorship and giving the 
date, time and place of it; and. 

9. Manufacturers may sponsor public events and 
wholesalers may only cosponsor charitable events.  

3VAC5-30-10. Rotation and exchange of stocks of 
retailers by wholesalers; permitted and prohibited acts.  

A. Permitted acts. For the purpose of maintaining the 
freshness of the stock and the integrity of the products sold by 
him, a wine wholesaler may perform, except on Sundays, and 
a beer wholesaler may perform, except on Sundays in 
jurisdictions where local ordinances restrict Sunday sales of 
alcoholic beverages, the following services for a retailer upon 
consent, which may be a continuing consent, of the retailer:  

1. Rotate, repack and rearrange wine or beer in a display 
(shelves, coolers, cold boxes, and the like, and floor 
displays in a sales area);  

2. Restock wine and beer;  

3. Rotate, repack, rearrange and add to his own stocks of 
wine or beer in a storeroom space assigned to him by the 
retailer;  

4. Transfer wine and beer between storerooms, between 
displays, and between storerooms and displays; and  

5. Create or build original displays using wine or beer 
products only.  

B. Prohibited acts. A wholesaler may not:  

1. Alter or disturb in any way the merchandise sold by 
another wholesaler, whether in a display, sales area or 
storeroom except in the following cases:  

a. When the products of one wholesaler have been 
erroneously placed in the area previously assigned by the 
retailer to another wholesaler; or  

b. When a floor display area previously assigned by a 
retailer to one wholesaler has been reassigned by the 
retailer to another wholesaler;  

2. Mark or affix retail prices to products other than those 
sold by the wholesaler to the retailer; or  

3. Sell or offer to sell alcoholic beverages to a retailer with 
the privilege of return, except for ordinary and usual 
commercial reasons as set forth below:  

a. Products defective at the time of delivery may be 
replaced;  

b. Products erroneously delivered may be replaced or 
money refunded;  

c. Products that a manufacturer discontinues nationally 
may be returned and money refunded;  

d. Resalable draft beer may be returned and money 
refunded;  

e. Products in the possession of a retail licensee whose 
license is terminated by operation of law, voluntary 
surrender or order of the board may be returned and 
money refunded upon permit issued by the board;  

f. Products which have been condemned and are not 
permitted to be sold in this Commonwealth may be 
replaced or money refunded upon permit issued by the 
board; or  

g. Wine or beer may be exchanged on an identical 
quantity and brand basis for quality control purposes. 
Any such exchange shall be documented by the word 
"exchange" on the proper invoice.  

3VAC5-30-20. Restrictions upon employment; exceptions.  

No retail licensee shall employ in any capacity in his 
licensed business any person engaged or employed in the 
manufacturing, bottling or wholesaling of alcoholic 
beverages; nor shall any licensed manufacturer, bottler or 
wholesaler employ in any capacity in his licensed business 
any person engaged or employed in the retailing of alcoholic 
beverages.  

This section shall not apply to banquet licensees, farm 
winery licensees, or to off-premises winery licensees.  
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3VAC5-30-30. Certain transactions to be for cash; "cash" 
defined; checks and money orders; electronic fund 
transfers; records and reports by sellers; payments to the 
board.  

A. Sales of wine or beer between wholesale and retail 
licensees of the board shall be for cash paid and collected at 
the time of or prior to delivery, except where payment is to be 
made by electronic fund transfer as hereinafter provided. 
Each invoice covering such a sale or any other sale shall be 
signed by the purchaser at the time of delivery and shall 
specify the manner of payment.  

B. "Cash," as used in this section, shall include (i) legal 
tender of the United States, (ii) a money order issued by a 
duly licensed firm authorized to engage in such business in 
the Commonwealth, (iii) a valid check drawn upon a bank 
account in the name of the licensee or permittee or in the 
trade name of the licensee or permittee making the purchase, 
or (iv) an electronic fund transfer, initiated by a wholesaler 
pursuant to subsection D of this section, from a bank account 
in the name, or trade name, of the retail licensee making a 
purchase from a wholesaler or the board, or (v) a credit or 
debit card issued in the name of the licensee or permittee or in 
the trade name of the licensee or permittee.  

C. If a check, money order or electronic fund transfer is 
used, the following provisions apply:  

1. If only alcoholic beverage merchandise is being sold, the 
amount of the checks, money orders or electronic fund 
transfers shall be no larger than the purchase price of the 
alcoholic beverages; and  

2. If nonalcoholic merchandise is also sold to the retailer, 
the check, money order or electronic fund transfer may be 
in an amount no larger than the total purchase price of the 
alcoholic beverages and nonalcoholic beverage 
merchandise. If a separate invoice is used for the 
nonalcoholic merchandise, a copy of it shall be attached to 
the copies of the alcoholic beverage invoices which are 
retained in the records of the wholesaler and the retailer. If 
a single invoice is used for both the alcoholic beverages 
and nonalcoholic beverage merchandise, the alcoholic 
beverage items shall be separately identified and totaled.  

D. If an electronic fund transfer is used for payment by a 
licensed retailer or a permittee for any purchase from a 
wholesaler or the board, the following provisions shall apply:  

1. Prior to an electronic fund transfer, the retail licensee 
shall enter into a written agreement with the wholesaler 
specifying the terms and conditions for an electronic fund 
transfer in payment for the delivery of wine or beer to that 
retail licensee. The electronic fund transfer shall be 
initiated by the wholesaler no later than one business day 
after delivery and the wholesaler's account shall be 
credited by the retailer's bank no later than the following 
business day. The electronic fund transfer agreement shall 

incorporate the requirements of this subdivision, but this 
subdivision shall not preclude an agreement with more 
restrictive provisions. For purposes of this subdivision, the 
term "business day" shall mean a business day of the 
respective bank;  

2. The wholesaler must generate an invoice covering the 
sale of wine or beer, and shall specify that payment is to be 
made by electronic fund transfer. Each invoice must be 
signed by the purchaser at the time of delivery; and  

3. Nothing in this subsection shall be construed to require 
that any licensee must accept payment by electronic fund 
transfer.  

E. Wholesalers shall maintain on their licensed premises 
records of all invalid checks received from retail licensees for 
the payment of wine or beer, as well as any stop payment 
order, insufficient fund report or any other incomplete 
electronic fund transfer reported by the retailer's bank in 
response to a wholesaler initiated electronic fund transfer 
from the retailer's bank account. Further, wholesalers shall 
report to the board any invalid checks or incomplete 
electronic fund transfer reports received in payment of wine 
or beer when either (i) any such invalid check or incomplete 
electronic fund transfer is not satisfied by the retailer within 
seven days after notice of the invalid check or a report of the 
incomplete electronic fund transfer is received by the 
wholesaler, or (ii) the wholesaler has received, whether 
satisfied or not, either more than one such invalid check from 
any single retail licensee or received more than one 
incomplete electronic fund transfer report from the bank of 
any single retail licensee, or any combination of the two, 
within a period of 180 days. Such reports shall be upon a 
form provided by the board and in accordance with the 
instructions set forth in such form.  

F. Payments to the board for the following items shall be for 
cash, as defined in subsection B:  

1. State license taxes and application fees;  

2. Purchases of alcoholic beverages from the board by 
mixed beverage licensees;  

3. Wine taxes and excise taxes on beer and wine coolers;  

4. Solicitors' permit fees and temporary permit fees;  

5. Registration and certification fees, and the markup or 
profit on cider, collected pursuant to these regulations;  

6. Civil penalties or charges and costs imposed on 
licensees and permittees by the board; and  

7. Forms provided to licensees and permittees at cost by 
the board.  
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3VAC5-30-60. Inducements to retailers; beer and wine 
tapping equipment; bottle or can openers; spirits back-
bar pedestals; banquet licensees; paper, cardboard or 
plastic advertising materials; clip-ons and table tents; 
sanctions and penalties. 

A. Any manufacturer, bottler or wholesaler may sell, rent, 
lend, buy for or give to any retailer, without regard to the 
value thereof, the following:  

1. Draft beer knobs, containing advertising matter which 
shall include the brand name and may further include only 
trademarks, housemarks and slogans and shall not include 
any illuminating devices or be otherwise adorned with 
mechanical devices which are not essential in the 
dispensing of draft beer; and  

2. Tapping equipment, defined as all the parts of the 
mechanical system required for dispensing draft beer in a 
normal manner from the carbon dioxide tank through the 
beer faucet, excluding the following:  

a. The carbonic acid gas in containers, except that such 
gas may be sold only at the reasonable open market price 
in the locality where sold;  

b. Gas pressure gauges (may be sold at cost);  

c. Draft arms or standards;  

d. Draft boxes; and  

e. Refrigeration equipment or components thereof.  

Further, a manufacturer, bottler or wholesaler may sell, rent 
or lend to any retailer, for use only by a purchaser of draft 
beer in kegs or barrels from such retailer, whatever tapping 
equipment may be necessary for the purchaser to extract such 
draft beer from its container.  

B. Any manufacturer, bottler or wholesaler may sell to any 
retailer and install in the retailer's establishment tapping 
accessories such as standards, faucets, rods, vents, taps, tap 
standards, hoses, cold plates, washers, couplings, gas gauges, 
vent tongues, shanks, and check valves, if the tapping 
accessories are sold at a price not less than the cost of the 
industry member who initially purchased them, and if the 
price is collected within 30 days of the date of sale.  

Wine tapping equipment shall not include the following:  

1. Draft wine knobs, which may be given to a retailer;  

2. Carbonic acid gas, nitrogen gas, or compressed air in 
containers, except that such gases may be sold in 
accordance with the reasonable open market prices in the 
locality where sold and if the price is collected within 30 
days of the date of the sales; or  

3. Mechanical refrigeration equipment.  

C. Any beer tapping equipment may be converted for wine 
tapping by the beer wholesaler who originally placed the 

equipment on the premises of the retail licensee, provided that 
such beer wholesaler is also a wine wholesaler licensee. 
Moreover, at the time such equipment is converted for wine 
tapping, it shall be sold, or have previously been sold, to the 
retail licensee at a price not less than the initial purchase price 
paid by such wholesaler.  

D. Any manufacturer, bottler or wholesaler of wine or beer 
may sell or give to any retailer, bottle or can openers upon 
which advertising matter regarding alcoholic beverages may 
appear, provided the wholesale value of any such openers 
given to a retailer by any individual manufacturer, bottler or 
wholesaler does not exceed $10 $20. Openers in excess of 
$10 $20 in wholesale value may be sold, provided the 
reasonable open market price is charged therefor.  

E. Any manufacturer of spirits may sell, lend, buy for or 
give to any retail licensee, without regard to the value thereof, 
back-bar pedestals to be used on the retail premises and upon 
which advertising matter regarding spirits may appear.  

F. Manufacturers or wholesalers of wine or beer may sell at 
the reasonable wholesale price to banquet licensees wine 
glasses or paper or plastic cups upon which advertising matter 
regarding wine or beer may appear.  

G. Manufacturers, bottlers or wholesalers of alcoholic 
beverages may not provide point-of-sale advertising for any 
alcoholic beverage or any nonalcoholic beer or nonalcoholic 
wine to retail licensees except in accordance with 3VAC5-20-
20 3VAC5-30-80. Manufacturers, bottlers and wholesalers 
may provide advertising materials to any retail licensee that 
have been customized for that retail licensee provided that 
such advertising materials must:  

1. Comply with all other applicable regulations of the 
board;  

2. Be for interior use only;  

3. Contain references to the alcoholic beverage products or 
brands offered for sale by the manufacturer, bottler, or 
wholesaler providing such materials and to no other 
products; and  

4. Be made available to all retail licensees.  

H. Any manufacturer, bottler or wholesaler of wine, beer or 
spirits may sell, lend, buy for or give to any retail licensee 
clip-ons and table tents.  

I. Any manufacturer, bottler or wholesaler of alcoholic 
beverages may clean and service, either free or for 
compensation, coils and other like equipment used in 
dispensing wine and beer, and may sell solutions or 
compounds for cleaning wine and beer glasses, provided the 
reasonable open market price is charged.  

J. Any manufacturer, bottler or wholesaler of alcoholic 
beverages licensed in this Commonwealth may sell ice to 
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retail licensees provided the reasonable open market price is 
charged.  

K. Any licensee of the board, including any manufacturer, 
bottler, importer, broker as defined in § 4.1-216 A of the 
Code of Virginia, wholesaler or retailer who violates, 
attempts to violate, solicits any person to violate or consents 
to any violation of this section shall be subject to the 
sanctions and penalties as provided in § 4.1-328 of the Code 
of Virginia.  

3VAC5-30-80. Advertising materials that may be 
provided to retailers by manufacturers, importers, 
bottlers, or wholesalers. 

A. There shall be no cooperative advertising as between a 
producer, manufacturer, bottler, importer, or wholesaler and a 
retailer of alcoholic beverages, except as may be authorized 
by regulation pursuant to § 4.1-216 of the Code of Virginia. 
The term "cooperative advertising" shall mean the payment or 
credit, directly or indirectly, by any manufacturer, bottler, 
importer, or wholesaler whether licensed in this 
Commonwealth or not to a retailer for all or any portion of 
advertising done by the retailer. 

B. Manufacturers, bottlers, and wholesalers of alcoholic 
beverages may sell, lend, buy for, or give to retailers any 
nonilluminated advertising materials made of paper, 
cardboard, canvas, rubber, foam, or plastic, provided the 
advertising materials have a wholesale value of $40 or less 
per item. Advertising material referring to any brand or 
manufacturer of spirits may only be provided to mixed 
beverage licensees and may not be provided by beer and wine 
wholesalers, or their employees, unless they hold a spirits 
solicitor's permit. 

C. Manufacturers, bottlers, or wholesalers may supply to 
retailers napkins, placemats, and coasters that contain (i) a 
reference to the name of a brand of nonalcoholic beer or 
nonalcoholic wine, or (ii) a message relating solely to and 
promoting moderation and responsible drinking, which 
message may contain the name, logo, and address of the 
sponsoring manufacturer, bottler, or wholesaler, provided 
such recognition is subordinate to the message. 

D. Any manufacturer, including any vendor authorized by 
any such manufacturer, whether or not licensed in the 
Commonwealth, may sell service items bearing alcoholic 
brand references to on-premises retail licensees. Such retail 
licensee may display the service items on the premises of his 
licensed establishment. Each such retail licensee purchasing 
such service items shall retain a copy of the evidence of his 
payment to the manufacturer or authorized vendor for a 
period of not less than two years from the date of each sale of 
the service items. As used in this subdivision, "service items" 
means articles of tangible personal property normally used by 
the employees of on-premises licensees to serve alcoholic 

beverages to customers including, but not limited to, glasses, 
napkins, buckets, and coasters. 

E. Beer and wine "neckers," recipe booklets, brochures 
relating to the wine manufacturing process, vineyard 
geography, and history of a wine manufacturing area; and 
point-of-sale entry blanks relating to contests and 
sweepstakes may be provided by beer and wine wholesalers 
to retail licensees for use on retail premises, if such items are 
offered to all retail licensees equally, and the wholesaler has 
obtained the consent, which may be a continuing consent, of 
each retailer or his representative. Wholesale licensees in the 
Commonwealth may not put entry blanks on the package. 
Solicitors holding permits under the provisions of 3VAC5-
60-80 may provide point-of-sale entry blanks relating to 
contests and sweepstakes to mixed beverage licensees for use 
on the premises if such items are offered to all mixed 
beverage licensees equally, and the solicitor has obtained the 
consent, which may be a continuous consent, of each mixed 
beverage licensee or his representative. 

F. Manufacturers, bottlers, or wholesalers may supply 
refund coupons, if they are supplied, displayed, and used in 
accordance with 3VAC5-20-90. 

G. No manufacturer, bottler, wholesaler, or importer of 
alcoholic beverages, whether licensed in this Commonwealth 
or not, may directly or indirectly sell, rent, lend, buy for, or 
give to any retailer any advertising materials, decorations, or 
furnishings under any circumstances otherwise prohibited by 
law, nor may any retailer induce, attempt to induce, or 
consent to any such supplier of alcoholic beverages 
furnishing such retailer any such advertising. 

H. Any advertising materials provided for herein, which 
may have been obtained by any retail licensee from any 
manufacturer, bottler, or wholesaler of alcoholic beverages, 
may be installed in the interior of the licensed establishment 
by any such manufacturer, bottler, or wholesaler using any 
normal and customary installation materials. With the consent 
of the retail licensee, which consent may be a continuing 
consent, wholesalers may mark or affix retail prices on these 
materials. 

I. Every retail licensee who obtains any point-of-sale 
advertising shall keep a complete, accurate, and separate 
record of all such material obtained. Such records shall show 
(i) the name and address of the person from whom obtained; 
(ii) the date furnished; (iii) the item furnished; and (iv) the 
price charged therefore. All such records, invoices and 
accounts shall be kept by each such licensee at the place 
designated in the license for a period of two years and shall 
be available for inspection and copying by any member of the 
board or its special agents during reasonable hours. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-878; Filed June 12, 2009, 3:46 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 6VAC20-20. Rules Relating to 
Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for Law-
Enforcement Officers (amending 6VAC20-20-25). 

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-902 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on August 5, 2009. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2010.  

Agency Contact: Judith Kirkendall, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Criminal Justice Services, 1100 Bank Street, 
12th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-8003, 
FAX (804) 225-3853, or email 
judith.kirkendall@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 
Criminal Justice Services Board to set compulsory minimum 
training standards for law-enforcement officers. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amendment is to enable standing 
review committees to function more smoothly to achieve the 
goals and objectives for which they were created. Currently, 
the ability to change the performance outcome as needed is 
difficult. It is essential to public safety that law-enforcement 
training is consistent and standardized for the entire 
Commonwealth and the need to annually review all parts of 
the training standards and revise and update as necessary is a 
critical component to this training. 

Rationale for Fast-Track Process: Affected and interested 
parties have been notified and no one has voiced any 
objection. 

Substance: The amended regulation transfers approval 
authority from the Criminal Justice Services Board to the 
Committee on Training and is proposed due to the desire to 
have the Committee on Training responsible for changes to 
all parts of the training standards rather than continuing to 
have one item of the standard allocated to the board. Over 10 
years of experience in working in the current manner strongly 
recommends that all parties would be better served by having 
the Committee on Training handle all suggested changes to 
the training standards using the process set up in the rules. 
The language added related to this process clarifies that 
interested parties or members of the community may make 
suggestions for change to the training standards and have 
these reviewed by the Curriculum Review Committee.   

Issues: The advantages to the public and to the 
Commonwealth include a simpler, less costly, and less time-
consuming method for changing the performance outcome 
statement that is part of the training standards.  This enables 
annual updates to be completed more efficiently and provides 
greater clarity to instructors and recruits involved in entry-
level law-enforcement training.  There are no disadvantages. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Criminal Justice Services Board (Board) proposes to amend 
its minimum training standards for law enforcement officers 
to move the responsibility of setting performance outcomes 
from the Board to the standing Committee on Training. The 
Board also proposes to add language that specifies how the 
Committee on Training will handle public suggestions for 
regulatory change. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, the Board has 
approval authority for training categories, setting hours of 
required training and for deciding performance outcomes. 
The Committee on Training currently has approval over 
"training objectives, criteria and lesson plan guides." The 
Board proposes to move authority to set performance 
outcomes to the Committee on Training so that they will be 
responsible for setting and amending all parts of the training 
standards. This change will likely streamline the process of 
considering training standards so that new rules take less time 
to consider.  Regulated entities and other interested 
individuals will likely benefit from the clarity that this change 
brings to the process of setting training standards. 

Although § 2.2-4007 of the Code of Virginia provides for 
members of the general public to propose new regulations or 
changes to existing regulations, these Rules have not had an 
explicit provision for how such comments and suggestions 
should be handled.  The Board proposes to set guidelines to 
specify how the Committee on Training will review such 
suggestions. Under these proposed regulations, the 
Committee will review any suggestions they receive in 
writing at their next regularly scheduled meeting.  If 
suggestions are made at a public hearing, the Committee will 
be able to make a decision as to whether to act on them at that 
time.  The public will likely benefit from this change as it 
clarifies their right to be part of the process of 
writing/amending regulations. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The Department of 
Criminal Justice Services reports that these regulations most 
directly affect law enforcement agencies and entities that 
provide training to law enforcement officers.  There are 
approximately 400 law enforcement agencies and training 
entities in the Commonwealth. 
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Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 
likely have no impact on employment in the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 
regulatory action will likely have no effect on the use or value 
of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Small businesses 
in the Commonwealth are unlikely to incur any costs on 
account of this regulatory action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Small businesses in the Commonwealth are 
unlikely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 
action. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Department of 
Criminal Justice Services concurs with the economic impact 
analysis as reviewed by the Department of Planning and 
Budget. 

Summary:  

The proposed amendments transfer the responsibility of 
setting performance outcomes from the Criminal Justice 
Services Board to the standing Committee on Training. 

6VAC20-20-25. Approval authority.  

A. The Criminal Justice Services Board shall be the 
approval authority for the training categories, and hours and 
performance outcomes of the compulsory minimum training 
standards. Amendments to training categories, and hours and 
performance outcomes shall be made in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 9-6.14:1 et 
seq. (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

B. The Committee on Training of the Criminal Justice 
Services Board shall be the approval authority for the 
performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and 
lesson plan guides which that support the performance 
outcomes. Training Performance outcomes, training 
objectives, criteria, and lesson plan guides supporting the 
compulsory minimum training standards and performance 
outcomes may be added, deleted, or amended by the 
Committee on Training based upon written recommendation 
of a chief of police, sheriff, agency administrator, academy 
director or the, Curriculum Review Committee, an interested 
party, or member of the community. Any suggestions 
received related to performance outcomes, training 
objectives, criteria, and lesson plan guides shall be reviewed 
at the regularly scheduled meeting of the Curriculum Review 
Committee. If comment is received at any public hearing, the 
Committee on Training may make a decision at that time. 
Changes to the hours and training categories will only be 
made in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Process Act.  

C. Prior to approving changes to the performance outcomes, 
training objectives, criteria or lesson plan guides, the 
Committee on Training shall conduct a public hearing. Sixty 
days prior to the public hearing, the proposed changes shall 
be distributed to all affected parties for the opportunity to 
comment. Notice of change of the performance outcomes, 
training objectives, criteria, and lesson plan guides shall be 
filed for publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations 
upon adoption, change, or deletion. The department shall 
notify each certified academy in writing of any new, revised, 
or deleted objectives. Such adoptions, changes, or deletions 
shall become effective 30 days after notice of publication in 
the Virginia Register.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1884; Filed June 10, 2009, 10:06 a.m.  



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 22 Virginia Register of Regulations July 6, 2009 

4028 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 6VAC20-50. Rules Relating to 
Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for Jailors or 
Custodial Officers, Courthouse and Courtroom Security 
Officers and Process Service Officers (amending 6VAC20-
50-21). 

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on August 5, 2009. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2010.  

Agency Contact: Judith Kirkendall, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Criminal Justice Services, 1100 Bank Street, 
12th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-8003, 
FAX (804) 225-3853, or email 
judith.kirkendall@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 
Criminal Justice Services Board to set compulsory minimum 
training standards for jailors, court security officers, and civil 
process service officers. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amendment is to enable standing 
review committees to function more smoothly to achieve the 
goals and objectives for which they were created. Currently, 
the ability to change the performance outcome as needed is 
difficult. It is essential to public safety that jail/court 
security/civil process service training is consistent and 
standardized for the entire Commonwealth and the need to 
annually review all parts of the training standards and revise 
and update as necessary is a critical component to this 
training. 

Rationale for Fast-Track Process: Affected and interested 
parties have been notified and no one has voiced any 
objection. 

Substance: The amended regulation transfers approval 
authority from the Criminal Justice Services Board to the 
Committee on Training and is proposed due to the desire to 
have the Committee on Training responsible for changes to 
all parts of the training standards rather than continuing to 
have one item of the standard allocated to the board. Over 10 
years of experience in working in the current manner has 
shown that all parties would be better served by having the 
Committee on Training handle all suggested changes to the 
training standards using the process set up in the rules. 

Issues: The advantages to the public and to the 
Commonwealth include a simpler, less costly, and less time-
consuming method for changing the performance outcome 
statement that is part of the training standards.  This enables 
annual updates to be completed more efficiently and provides 
greater clarity to instructors and recruits involved in entry-

level jail/court security/civil process service training.  There 
are no disadvantages. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Criminal Justice Services Board (Board) proposes to amend 
its Minimum Training Standards for Jailors, Courthouse and 
Courtroom Security Officers and Civil Process Service 
Officers. Specifically, the Board proposes to move the 
responsibility of setting performance outcomes from the 
Board to the standing Committee on Training. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, the Board has 
approval authority for training categories, setting hours of 
required training and for deciding performance outcomes. 
The Committee on Training currently has approval over 
"training objectives, criteria and lesson plan guides." The 
Board proposes to move authority to set performance 
outcomes to the Committee on Training so that they will be 
responsible for setting and amending all parts of the training 
standards. This change will likely streamline the process of 
considering training standards so that new rules take less time 
to consider. Regulated entities and other interested 
individuals will likely benefit from the clarity that this change 
brings to the process of setting training standards. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The Department of 
Criminal Justice Services reports that these regulations most 
directly affect jailors and security and process service officers 
as well as entities that provide training to them. There are 
approximately 9,700 jailors and security and process service 
officers who will currently be affected.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 
likely have no impact on employment in the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 
regulatory action will likely have no effect on the use or value 
of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Small businesses 
in the Commonwealth are unlikely to incur any costs on 
account of this regulatory action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Small businesses in the Commonwealth are 
unlikely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 
action. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 
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Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB's best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Department of 
Criminal Justice Services concurs with the economic impact 
analysis as reviewed by the Department of Planning and 
Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments transfer the responsibility of 
setting performance outcomes from the Criminal Justice 
Services Board to the standing Committee on Training. 

6VAC20-50-21. Approval authority.  

A. The Criminal Justice Services Board shall be the 
approval authority for the training categories and performance 
outcomes of the compulsory minimum training standards. 
Amendments to the training categories and performance 
outcomes shall be made in accordance with the provisions of 
the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the 
Code of Virginia).  

B. The Committee on Training of the Criminal Justice 
Services Board shall be the approval authority for the 
performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and 
lesson plan guides that support the performance outcomes. 
Training Performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, 
and lesson plan guides supporting the compulsory minimum 
training standards and performance outcomes may be added, 
deleted, or amended by the Committee on Training based 
upon written recommendation of a chief of police, sheriff, 

agency administrator, academy director, Curriculum Review 
Committee, interested party, or member of the community. 
Any suggestions received related to performance outcomes, 
training objectives, criteria, and lesson plan guides shall be 
reviewed at the regularly scheduled meeting of the 
Curriculum Review Committee. If comment is received at 
any public hearing, the Committee on Training may make a 
decision at that time. Changes to the training categories and 
performance outcomes will only be made in accordance with 
the provisions of the Administrative Process Act.  

C. Prior to approving changes to the performance outcomes, 
training objectives, criteria, or lesson plan guides, the 
Committee on Training shall conduct a public hearing. Sixty 
days prior to the public hearing, the proposed changes shall 
be distributed to all affected parties for the opportunity to 
comment. Notice of change of the performance outcomes, 
training objectives, criteria, and lesson plan guides shall be 
filed for publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations 
upon adoption, change, or deletion. The department shall 
notify each certified academy in writing of any new, revised, 
or deleted objectives. Such adoptions, changes, or deletions 
shall become effective 30 days after notice of publication in 
the Virginia Register. Changes to the training categories and 
performance outcomes will only be made in accordance with 
the provisions of the Administrative Process Act.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1886; Filed June 10, 2009, 10:06 a.m.  

STATE BOARD OF JUVENILE JUSTICE 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 6VAC35-150. Standards for 
Nonresidential Services Available to Juvenile and 
Domestic Relations District Courts (amending 6VAC35-
150-10, 6VAC35-150-30, 6VAC35-150-40, 6VAC35-150-
50, 6VAC35-150-60, 6VAC35-150-80, 6VAC35-150-90, 
6VAC35-150-100, 6VAC35-150-110, 6VAC35-150-130, 
6VAC35-150-140, 6VAC35-150-200 through 6VAC35-
150-320, 6VAC35-150-335, 6VAC35-150-340, 6VAC35-
150-350, 6VAC35-150-380 through 6VAC35-150-425, 
6VAC35-150-430, 6VAC35-150-435, 6VAC35-150-450 
through 6VAC35-150-510, 6VAC35-150-530, 6VAC35-
150-540, 6VAC35-150-550, 6VAC35-150-620, 6VAC35-
150-640, 6VAC35-150-670, 6VAC35-150-680, 6VAC35-
150-690; adding 6VAC35-150-62, 6VAC35-150-64, 
6VAC35-150-66, 6VAC35-150-336, 6VAC35-150-355, 
6VAC35-150-365, 6VAC35-150-415, 6VAC35-150-615; 
repealing 6VAC35-150-20, 6VAC35-150-35, 6VAC35-150-
55, 6VAC35-150-70, 6VAC35-150-150, 6VAC35-150-160, 
6VAC35-150-165, 6VAC35-150-175, 6VAC35-150-180, 
6VAC35-150-190, 6VAC35-150-330, 6VAC35-150-370, 
6VAC35-150-427, 6VAC35-150-440, 6VAC35-150-560, 
6VAC35-150-570, 6VAC35-150-590, 6VAC35-150-600, 
6VAC35-150-610, 6VAC35-150-650, 6VAC35-150-660, 
6VAC35-150-700, 6VAC35-150-710, 6VAC35-150-720, 
6VAC35-150-730, 6VAC35-150-740).  
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Statutory Authority: §§ 16.1-233, 16.1-309.9, and 66-10 of 
the Code of Virginia.  

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
September 4, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Janet Van Cuyk, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Juvenile Justice, 700 E. Franklin Street, 4th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4097, 
FAX (804) 371-0773, or email 
janet.vancuyk@djj.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The Board of Juvenile Justice (the board) is entrusted 
with general authority to promulgate regulations by § 66-10 
of the Code of Virginia. Additionally, the board is mandated 
by §§ 16.1-233 and 16.1-309.9 of the Code of Virginia to 
issue regulations pertaining to court service units and other 
nonresidential services.  Section 16.1-233 of the Code of 
Virginia requires the board to regulate court service unit staff, 
including their appointment and function, with the goal of 
establishing, as much as practicable, uniform services for 
juvenile and domestic relations courts throughout the 
Commonwealth.  Moreover, § 16.1-309.9 of the Code of 
Virginia requires the board to regulate the "development, 
implementation, operation and evaluation of the range of 
community-based programs, services and facilities 
authorized" by the Virginia Juvenile Community Crime 
Control Act (VJCCCA).    

Purpose: The Standards for Nonresidential Services Available 
to Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Courts, 6VAC35-
150, establish minimum requirements for the operation of 
state and locally operated court service units and for 
nonresidential programs available to the juvenile and 
domestic relations district courts, including those funded 
through the VJCCCA. The provisions for court service units 
include guidance for processing delinquency petitions at 
intake, making decisions whether to detain alleged delinquent 
juveniles, and supervising probationers and parolees. 
Additionally, the regulation establishes standards for the 
development, implementation, operation, and evaluation of 
the nonresidential community-based programs and services, 
such as those established by the VJCCCA (§ 16.1-309.2 et 
seq. of the Code of Virginia), which provide treatment and 
supervision for juveniles, who are before the court or an 
intake officer, and are designed to divert juveniles from 
becoming further involved with the juvenile justice system. 

The last comprehensive review of the regulation was 
completed in 2002. Since that time, the board has 
promulgated several other regulations as required by law. 
Sections of these regulations guide the operations of court 
service units, which are the primary subject of this regulation. 
Where applicable, those regulations are clearly referenced, 
and the proposed amendments in this regulation will 

streamline the applicability of each provision. Moreover, 
during the periodic review period, the regulation was 
reviewed in light of current statutes, regulations, and 
practices. As a result of this review, it was determined that a 
comprehensive review of and substantive changes to the 
regulation were necessary. The proposed amendments 
incorporate changes recommended by a committee of 
individuals representing state and locally operated court 
service units. The proposed changes enhance the clarity of the 
regulation with the goal of developing provisions that are 
reasonable, prudent, and will not impose an unnecessary 
burden on its regulants or the public. 

Substance: The proposed regulation contains the following 
changes: 

6VAC35-150-10 (Definitions):  the definitions and terms 
have been updated for clarity and consistency with other 
regulations promulgated by the board; 

6VAC35-150-10 and 6VAC35-150-40 (Variances): the term 
"variance" is defined and the section of the board's 
certification regulations related thereto is cross-referenced; 

6VAC35-150-10, 6VAC35-150-130 (Research), and 
6VAC35-150-500 (Juvenile participation in research): the 
term "human research" is defined and the provisions related 
thereto cross-reference the governing statute and regulations, 
which were enacted after the last review of this regulation; 

6VAC35-150-55 (Probation officers' caseload): repealed 
given the broad nature of the existing verbiage ("other 
factors" could include anything) and the reality that court 
service units must comply with any court order for 
supervision;  

6VAC35-150-66 (Procedures for handling funds – formerly 
6VAC35-150-190): amended to govern only those funds over 
which the board has regulatory authority; 

6VAC35-150-70 (Court service unit director and staff): 
repealed as position descriptions, employee work profiles, 
and performance plans are required by the state's Department 
of Human Resources Management.  Additionally, the duties 
of the directors are, in part, governed by statute; 

6VAC35-150-80 (Background checks): amended for 
conformity with the background checks required for 
children's residential programs; 

6VAC35-150-90 (Training): amended to require training as 
required by an employee's job duties and training needs. The 
specific hours of training requirement were removed; 

6VAC35-150-140 (Records management): subsection E was 
stricken as it addresses the contents of files for 
postdispositional residential care, which is not governed by 
this regulation. Please note that 6VAC35-150-310 was 
amended to require certain information in the case record for 
juveniles subject to such placements; 
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6VAC35-150-165 (Custody investigations): repealed as very 
few court service units are required to complete custody 
investigations and, of those who continue to be ordered to 
complete such investigations, the form and content are 
governed by local court requirements, procedures, and 
practices; 

6VAC35-150-200 (Security and safety procedures): amended 
to require training on crisis intervention and prevention 
techniques for the office and the field; 

6VAC35-150-210 (Physical force): amended to clearly detail 
the circumstances under which force may be utilized;  

6VAC35-150-220 (Searches): amended to clarify that such 
searches may include a search of the immediate area 
surrounding the individual;  

6VAC35-150-260 (Transportation of detained juveniles): 
subsection B was stricken as it is governed by the 
transportation guidelines; 

6VAC35-150-270 (Intake duties) and 6VAC35-150-290 
(Intake communication with detention): the references to the 
juvenile tracking system have been removed and replaced 
with references to the applicable electronic data collection 
system; 

6VAC35-150-310 (Postdispositional detention): amended to 
clarify that it applied only to postdispositional placement 
greater than 30 days. It also dictates what information must be 
contained in the case record when a juvenile is subject to such 
placement; 

6VAC35-150-320 (Notice of juvenile's transfer): amended to 
clarify that the court service unit did not have to separately 
notify a juvenile's parents of his transfer when the juvenile's 
parents already had knowledge of the transfer;  

6VAC35-150-335 (Diversion): the limit on the duration of 
diversion was extended from 90 to 120 days (except in cases 
of truancy). After the 120 days, the intake officer is 
prohibited from filing a petition on the acts of offenses 
precipitating the initial referral; 

6VAC35-150-336 (Social histories): incorporates, 
consolidates, and removes specific procedural requirements 
previously contained in 6VAC35-150-150 (Reports for the 
court) and 6VAC35-150-160 (Social history). Many of the 
requirements for such reports to the court, which are 
statutorily provided, were deleted; 

6VAC35-150-350 (Supervision plans for juveniles): parts 
addressing issues when a juvenile is in direct care were 
moved to 6VAC35-150-415 (Supervision of juvenile in direct 
care). Other procedural aspects were stricken; 

6VAC35-150-355 (Supervision of juveniles on electronic 
monitoring): added to require procedures to govern electronic 
monitoring programs (such procedures were required by 
former Part III, Article 4);  

6VAC35-150-365 (Supervision of adult on probation): added 
to address specific supervision issues; 

6VAC35-150-370 (Placements in the community): repealed 
as such contacts would be required by the supervision plan; 

6VAC35-150-390 (Transfer of case supervision): amended to 
clarify when and how case supervision may be transferred; 

6VAC35-150-410 (Commitment information): requires the 
commitment information to precede (rather than precede or 
accompany) the juvenile's arrival at RDC; 

6VAC35-150-415 (Supervision of juvenile in direct care): 
added to address specific supervision issues; 

6VAC35-150-430 (Program requirements): adds to the 
programmatic prerequisites for programs. It also cross-
references the background check requirement for court 
service units (and, thus, 6VAC35-150-440 [Employee and 
volunteer background check] has been deleted). It further 
incorporates the provisions of former 6VAC35-150-590 
(Referrals) and 6VAC35-150-570 (Response to crisis); 

6VAC35-150-435 (Contracted services): amended to clarify 
that contracted services are subject to the same standards as 
programs subject to the regulation;  

6VAC35-150-600 (Surveillance officers) and 6VAC35-150-
610 (Substance abuse and testing services): repealed as they 
are incorporated into the definition of programs or contract 
services (and thus are already governed by the regulation); 

6VAC35-150-615 (Applicability of Part III, Article 2): added 
to clarify to which programs Article 2 is applicable;   

6VAC35-150-620 (Supervision of juveniles): subsection B 
was stricken as some nonresidential programs may provide 
peer mentoring, etc.; and liability requirements would govern 
the remaining parts; 

6VAC35-150-640 (Emergency and fire safety): broadened to 
govern different types of emergencies; 

6VAC35-150-680 (Physical and mechanical restraints and 
chemical agents): expanded to prohibit use of chemical 
agents; and 

Article 4 (Electronic monitoring): this article has been 
stricken given the procedural aspects of the existing 
provisions and the applicability of Part III to any such 
programs. The requirement for procedures is now contained 
in 6VAC35-150-355. 

Many of the sections have been moved and/or grouped 
differently for clustering of related provisions: 

6VAC35-150-62 (Suitable quarters: moved from 6VAC35-
150-175 under Budget and Finance to the part dealing with 
Administration; 
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6VAC35-150-64 (Prohibited financial transactions): moved 
from 6VAC35-150-180 under Budget and Finance to the part 
dealing with Administration; 

6VAC35-150-66 (Procedures for handling funds): moved 
from 6VAC35-150-190 under Budget and Finance to the part 
dealing with Administration; 

6VAC35-150-336 (Social histories): moved from 6VAC35-
150-150 and 6VAC35-150-160 under Administration to 
Probation, Parole, and Other Supervision. 

6VAC35-150-510 C (Case management requirements): 
incorporates former 6VAC35-150-560; and 

6VAC35-150-670 (Juveniles' medical needs): incorporates 
former 6VAC35-150-650 and 6VAC35-150-660. 

Also, unnecessary verbiage has been deleted (i.e.; 6VAC35-
150-20 and 6VAC35-150-30 are recommended for repeal) 
and other technical and stylistic changes were made. 

Issues: This regulation is essential to protect the public safety 
by providing for the supervision of delinquent juveniles. The 
regulation includes standards for both state and locally 
operated court service units, to ensure that "uniform services, 
insofar as is practical, will be available to juvenile and 
domestic relations district courts throughout the 
Commonwealth." (§ 16.1-233 C of the Code of Virginia.) The 
regulation provides guidance for processing alleged 
delinquent juveniles at intake, detaining delinquents, and 
supervising probationers and parolees in the community. 

The regulation further protects the public safety by 
establishing standards for the development, implementation, 
operation, and evaluation of the nonresidential community-
based programs and services such as those established by the 
VJCCCA. Such VJCCCA programs provide supervision and 
services to juveniles who are before the court or before a 
juvenile intake officer, with the goal of preventing those 
juveniles from further penetrating the juvenile justice system. 

Having clear, concise, and consistent requirements across 
localities promotes the health, safety, and welfare of citizens 
by ensuring consistency in services throughout the 
Commonwealth. The proposed amendments would streamline 
the reporting requirements while not affecting (i) the quality 
of services provided by court service units and program or 
services providers or (ii) the ability of the department to 
oversee such functioning. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As 
part of a periodic review, the Board of Juvenile Justice 
(Board) proposes to amend its Standards for Nonresidential 
Services Available to Juvenile and Domestic Relations 
Courts. Specifically, the Board proposes to: 

•   Shorten the regulation title to Standards for Non-
Residential Services, 

•   Update the definition section and add certain terms for 
clarity and consistency, 

•   Rearrange some regulatory sections to improve clarity, 

•   Clarify requirements for volunteers and interns, 

•   Consolidate requirements for reporting to courts and 
remove obsolete statutory requirements, 

•   Clarify when certain procedures should be required for 
handling non-department funds, 

•   Update various cross references,  

•   Amend background check requirements and 

•  Modify continuing education (CE) requirements by 
removing language that requires all employees to 
complete 40 hours of CE annually. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Most of the Board's proposed 
regulatory changes are being made to consolidate and clarify 
what is required of Department of Juvenile Justice (DJJ) 
employees and volunteers who are subject to the Standards 
for Non-Residential Services. The Board proposes, for 
instance, to add definitions for terms that are used in the 
regulatory text but which may have meaning that would not 
be immediately clear. Regulated entities are very unlikely to 
incur any costs on account of these non-substantive proposed 
changes; regulated entities may, however benefit from having 
their rights and responsibilities under these regulations 
spelled out more clearly. 

The Board is also proposing several substantive changes to 
the background check requirements and CE requirements in 
these regulations. 

Currently, all new employees and other personnel (volunteers, 
providers of contractual services, etc.) are required to undergo 
1) criminal history checks through the Virginia Criminal 
Information Network (VCIN) and the National Criminal 
Information Center (NCIC), 2) a Department of Motor 
Vehicles (DMV) check and 3) a fingerprint check through the 
Virginia State Police and the Federal Bureau of Investigation 
(FBI) Employees and volunteers who will have direct contact 
with juveniles must also undergo a child protective services 
registry check. 

The Board proposes to amend these requirements so that 
volunteers and providers of contractual services will only 
have to undergo background/fingerprint checks if they will be 
alone with juveniles while performing their volunteer 
work/contract services.  The Board also proposes to allow 
new employees to start work pending the results of their 
background checks so long as they are supervised when they 
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are working with juveniles until DJJ receives the results of 
the background checks.  

The Board still proposes to require background checks for 
these individuals before they are alone with juveniles so 
juveniles under the care of DJJ will likely be as well protected 
under the proposed regulations as they are under current 
regulations. Eliminating the requirement that all volunteers 
and contractors undergo background checks, however, will 
likely reduce the costs incurred by regulated entities or DJJ 
for these checks. DJJ will also likely benefit from being able 
to allow new employees to start work pending the outcome of 
background checks as this will allow DJJ to fill open 
positions more quickly. 

Current regulations require all full-time employees who 
provide direct services to juveniles and their families to 
complete 40 hours of juvenile justice related CE each year. 
The Board proposes to amend this requirement by removing 
the reference to a specific number of hours required. The 
Board will instead allow DJJ to decide on an employee by 
employee basis how much CE is needed each year. This 
proposed change will allow DJJ to minimize costs associated 
with training (costs for labor to replace the training 
employees, course fees, etc) while still ensuring that 
employees get the training DJJ feels is necessary for them to 
perform their duties well. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. These proposed regulations 
will affect all DJJ employees, volunteers and contractors who 
work with juveniles in a non-residential setting.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 
likely have no impact on employment in the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 
regulatory action will likely have no effect on the use or value 
of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Small businesses 
in the Commonwealth are unlikely to incur any costs on 
account of this regulatory action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Small businesses in the Commonwealth are 
unlikely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 
action. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Department of 
Juvenile Justice concurs with the economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget 
regarding 6VAC35-150. 

Summary: 

This regulation was last reviewed in 2002, and, since then, 
a number of administrative changes have occurred. This 
regulation was reviewed in light of current practices and 
in consultation with representatives of state and locally 
operated court service units. The proposed changes will 
update regulatory provisions in light of best practices and 
with the goal of providing a user-friendly regulatory 
scheme for which the requirements for compliance are 
clearly delineated. 

The proposed changes (i) update the definitions section 
and terms used for clarity and consistency with other 
regulations promulgated by the board; (ii) remove 
unnecessary verbiage; (iii) amend the background check 
section in light of recent statutory changes; (iv) clarify 
requirements for volunteers and interns; (v) streamline 
requirements for all reports to the court; (vi) clarify when 
procedures should be required for handling 
nondepartment funds; (vii) incorporate appropriate cross 
references to statutes, regulations, and guidance 
documents amended, enacted, or promulgated since the 
last review; (viii) formalize the process for obtaining a 
waiver of regulatory provisions; and (ix) amend the duties 
of court service unit staff in light of legislative changes 
since 2002. 
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CHAPTER 150  
STANDARDS FOR NONRESIDENTIAL SERVICES 

AVAILABLE TO JUVENILE AND DOMESTIC 
RELATIONS DISTRICT COURTS  

Part I  
General Provisions  

6VAC35-150-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Adult" means a person 18 years of age or older who is not a 
delinquent child as defined in § 16.1-228 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

"Agency" means any governmental entity of the 
Commonwealth or any unit of local government including 
counties, cities, towns, and regional governments and the 
departments thereof, and including any entity, whether public 
or private, with which any of the foregoing has entered into a 
contractual relationship for the provision of services as 
described in this chapter.  

"Alternative day services" or "structured day treatment" 
means nonresidential programs that provide services, which 
may include counseling, supervision, recreation, 
prevocational services, and education, to juveniles at a central 
facility.  

"Approved procedures" means (i) standard procedures 
issued by the Department of Juvenile Justice, which apply to 
all state-operated court service units and which may be 
voluntarily observed by locally operated court service units; 
or (ii) variants modifications to the standard procedures 
approved by the deputy director of community programs or 
his designee for individual state operated court service units; 
or (iii) procedures for locally operated court service units 
approved in accordance with local policies and reviewed by 
the director or his designee procedures.  

"Behavior management" means the planned and systematic 
use of various techniques selected according to group and 
individual differences of juveniles and designed to teach 
awareness of situationally appropriate behavior, strengthen 
desirable behavior, and reduce or eliminate undesirable 
behavior those principles and methods employed to help a 
juvenile achieve positive behavior and to address and correct 
a juvenile's inappropriate behavior in a constructive and safe 
manner, in accordance with written procedures governing 
program expectations, treatment goals, juvenile and staff 
safety and security, and the juvenile's individual service plan.  

"Board" means the Board of Juvenile Justice.  

"Case record" or "record" means written or electronic 
information regarding one person, an individual and the 

person's individual's family, if applicable, that is maintained 
in accordance with approved procedures.  

"Counseling" means the planned use of interpersonal 
relationships to promote behavioral change or social 
adjustment.  

"Counselor" means an individual who provides counseling.  

"Court service unit," "CSU," or "unit" means a state or 
locally operated court service unit established pursuant to §§ 
16.1-233 and 16.1-235 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Department" means the Department of Juvenile Justice.  

"Direct care" means the time during which a resident, who is 
committed to the department pursuant to §§ 16.1-272, 16.1-
285.1, or subdivision A 14 or A 17 of § 16.1-278.8 of the 
Code of Virginia, is under the supervision of staff in a 
juvenile correctional center or other juvenile residential 
facility operated by or under contract with the department. 

"Diversion" means the provision of counseling, informal 
supervision, programs and, or services, or a combination 
thereof, which is consistent with the protection of the public 
safety, to youth who can be cared for or treated through 
alternatives to the juvenile justice system and the welfare of 
the juvenile as provided for in § 16.1-227 §§ 16.1-227 and 
16.1-260 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Electronic monitoring" means the use of electronic devices, 
including, but not limited to, voice recognition and global 
positioning systems, to verify a person's juvenile's or adult's 
compliance with certain judicial orders or conditions of 
release from incarceration, or as an alternative to detention, or 
as a short-term sanction for noncompliance with rules of 
probation or parole.  

"Human research" means any medical or psychological 
investigation designed to develop or contribute to general 
knowledge by using human subjects who may be exposed to 
possible physical or psychological injury as a consequence of 
participation as subjects and which departs from the 
application of established and accepted methods appropriate 
to meet the subjects' needs as defined by § 32.1-162.16 of the 
Code of Virginia and 6VAC35-170.  

"Individual service plan" means a written plan of action 
developed, updated as needed, and modified at intervals, to 
meet the needs of each a juvenile or an adult. It specifies 
measurable short-term and long-term goals, the methods 
objectives, strategies, and times time frames for reaching the 
goals, and the individuals responsible for carrying out the 
plan.  

"Individual supervision plan" means a written plan 
developed, updated as needed, and modified at intervals to 
meet the needs of a juvenile or adult. It specifies measurable 
short-term and long-term goals, the objectives, strategies, and 
time frames for reaching the goals, and the individuals 
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responsible for carrying out the plan. Individual supervision 
plans are applicable during probation and parole and for 
treatment of a juvenile or an adult and the services for the 
juvenile's family for the time during which a juvenile is 
committed to the department.  

"Intake" means the process for screening complaints and 
requests alleged to be within the jurisdiction of the juvenile 
and domestic relations district court pursuant to § 16.1-260 of 
the Code of Virginia.  

"Intake officer" means the probation officer who is 
authorized to perform the intake function as provided in 
§ 16.1-260 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Intensive supervision" means frequent contacts, strict 
monitoring of behavior, and counseling provided to 
predispositional or postdispositional youth who are at high 
risk of committing new offenses.  

"Juvenile," "youth" or "child" means a person less than 18 
years of age an individual less than 18 years of age, a 
delinquent child, a child in need of supervision, or a child in 
need of services as defined in § 16.1-228 of the Code of 
Virginia. For the purpose of this regulation, "juvenile" 
includes an individual, regardless of age, who is or has been 
before the court, who was under the age of 18 at the time of 
the offense or act, who is under supervision or receiving 
services from a court service unit or a program under contract 
with or monitored by the unit, or who is committed to the 
department. 

"Local plan" means a document or set of documents 
prepared by one or more localities pursuant to § 16.1-309 3 D 
of the Code of Virginia, describing a range of community-
based sanctions and services addressing individual juvenile 
offenders' needs and local juvenile crime trends.  

"Mechanical restraint" means equipment used to physically 
restrain or control a person's behavior, such as handcuffs, 
shackles or straightjackets the use of a mechanical device that 
involuntarily restricts the freedom of movement or voluntary 
functioning of a limb or portion of a person's body as a means 
to control physical activity when the individual being 
restricted does not have the ability to remove the device. 

"Nonresidential services" means community-based services 
that are not part of a residential program, including those 
provided by a residential program to nonresidents.  

"Outreach detention" means intensive supervision, which 
includes frequent contacts, strict monitoring of behavior, and 
case management, if applicable, of youth who might 
otherwise be a juvenile as an alternative to placement in 
secure detention or shelter care.  

"Parole" means supervision of an individual a juvenile 
released from commitment to the department as provided for 
by § 16.1-293 §§ 16.1-285, 16.1-285.1, and 16.1-285.2 of the 
Code of Virginia.  

"Physical restraint" means the application of approved 
techniques by trained program staff to control the actions of 
juveniles by means of physical contact that involves a 
physical intervention or a "hands-on" hold to prevent the 
individual from moving his body when that individual's 
behavior places him or others at imminent risk. 

"Probation" means a court-ordered disposition placing an 
individual placement of a juvenile or an adult under the 
supervision of a probation officer.  

"Program" or "service" means the planned application of 
staff and resources to achieve the stated mission for working 
with juveniles and, if applicable, their families identified in 
Article 12.1 (§ 16.1-309.2 et seq.) of Chapter 11 of Title 16.1 
of the Code of Virginia.  

"Provider" means an agency, organization or association that 
runs a program or service a person, corporation, partnership, 
association, organization, or public agency that is legally 
responsible for compliance with regulatory and statutory 
requirements relating to the provision of services or the 
functioning of a program. 

"Shall" means an obligation to act is imposed.  

"Substance abuse assessment and testing" means a qualified 
professional's assessment and evaluation of the nature of, and 
the factors that contribute to, individual or family problems 
associated with substance abuse, and recommendations for 
treatment and related services.  

"Supervision" means visiting or making other contact with, 
or providing treatment, rehabilitation, or services to a juvenile 
as required by the court or, by an intake officer, or for parole 
purposes.  

"Supervision plan" means a written plan of action, updated 
as needed, to provide supervision and treatment for a specific 
individual. It specifies needs, goals, methods, time frames, 
and who is responsible for each step. A single supervision 
plan may include, as appropriate, specific plans for 
supervision during probation and parole, and for treatment of 
a youth and services for the youth's family during 
commitment.  

"Surveillance officer" means a person, other than a 
probation or parole officer, who makes contact with a 
juvenile under supervision to verify the juvenile's presence at 
work, school, home, etc. A surveillance officer may be an 
employee of a court service unit or other service provider, or 
a properly trained and supervised volunteer.  

"Tamper" means any accidental or purposeful alteration to 
electronic monitoring equipment that interferes with or 
weakens the monitoring system.  

"Time-out" means a systematic behavior management 
technique designed to reduce or eliminate inappropriate 
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behavior by temporarily removing a juvenile from contact 
with people or other reinforcing stimuli.  

"Unit" or "CSU" means court service unit.  

"Variance" means a board action that relieves a program 
from having to meet or develop a plan of action for the 
requirements of a section or subsection of this chapter.  

"Volunteer" or "intern" means any individual or group who 
of their own free will and without any financial gain provides 
goods or services to the program without compensation.  

6VAC35-150-20. Previously adopted regulations 
superseded. (Repealed.)  

These Standards for Nonresidential Services Available to 
Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Courts supersede:  

1. 6VAC35-80-10 et seq., Holdover Standards, issued by 
the Board of Youth and Family Services, September 9, 
1992;  

2. 6VAC35-110-10 et seq., Minimum Standards for Court 
Services in Juvenile and Domestic Relations District 
Courts, issued by the Board of Corrections January 12, 
1983, and adopted by the Board of Youth and Family 
Services July 12, 1990; and  

3. 6VAC35-130-10 et seq., Standards for Outreach 
Detention, adopted by the State Board of Corrections on 
June 9, 1981, revised on March 3, 1983, and adopted by 
the State Board of Youth and Family Services in 1990.  

6VAC35-150-30. Applicability. 

A. Parts I (6VAC35-150-10 et seq.) and II (6VAC35-150-55 
et seq.) of this chapter apply to all court service units CSUs 
for juvenile and domestic relations district courts.  

B. Parts I (6VAC35-150-10 et seq.) and III (6VAC35-150-
425 et seq.) of this chapter apply to nonresidential programs 
and services (i) for which the CSU contracts or (ii) to which 
the CSU refers juveniles who are before the court or before an 
intake officer, including programs and services are included 
in a local "Virginia Juvenile Community Crime Control Act" 
plan. 6VAC35-150-600, 6VAC35-150-610 and Articles 3 
(6VAC35-150-620 et seq.) and 4 (6VAC35-150-700 et seq.) 
of  

C. Part III of this chapter also apply applies to those 
applicable programs and services that are operated by the 
court service unit or contracted with a CSU.  

6VAC35-150-35. Establishment of policy. (Repealed.) 

The standards embodied in this regulation pursuant to § 
16.1-233 C of the Code of Virginia also establish, 
individually and collectively, "programmatic and fiscal 
policies" that the board is directed to develop pursuant to § 
66-10 of the Code of Virginia. Nothing in this regulation shall 
be construed to limit the board's authority to establish 

additional or separate programmatic and fiscal policies for 
court service units or other nonresidential programs in 
accordance with § 66-10 of the Code of Virginia.  

6VAC35-150-40. Outcome-based and performance-based 
standards authorized Variances.  

The board may, in its discretion on a case-by-case basis and 
for a specified time, exempt individual units or programs 
from specific standards set out in this chapter and authorize 
the unit or program to implement on an experimental basis 
one or more substitute standards that measure performance or 
outcomes. A variance may be requested by a program 
administrator or service provider when conditions exist where 
the program or service provider is not able to comply with a 
section or subsection of this chapter. Any such request must 
meet the criteria and comply with the procedural 
requirements provided in 6VAC35-20-92.  

6VAC35-150-50. Licensure by other agencies. 

A current license or certificate issued by the Commonwealth 
shall be accepted as evidence of a program's compliance with 
one or more specific standards of this chapter when the 
requirements for licensure or certification are substantially the 
same as, or exceed, the requirements set out in the standards 
this chapter. 

Part II  
Operating Standards for Court Service Units  

Article 1  
Administration  

6VAC35-150-55. Probation officers' caseload. (Repealed.) 

The caseload for probation officers in the unit shall be 
determined in accordance with approved procedures, taking 
into account the relative weight of cases based on the 
frequency and intensity of contacts indicated by an 
assessment of the juvenile's risk of reoffending, case 
complexity, and other factors.  

Part II  
Operating Standards for Court Service Units  

Article 1  
Administration  

6VAC35-150-60. Organizational structure.  

There shall be a written description and organizational chart 
of the unit showing current lines of authority, responsibility, 
and accountability, including the unit director's reporting 
responsibility.  

6VAC35-150-62. Suitable quarters. 

A. The CSU director annually shall review the unit's needs 
for suitable quarters, utitilies, and furnishings and shall 
request from the appropriate governing body the resources to 
meet these needs. 
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B. Intake, probation, and parole officers shall have access to 
private office space.  

6VAC35-150-64. Prohibited financial transactions. 

The unit shall not collect or disburse support payments, 
fines, restitution, court fees, or court costs.  

6VAC35-150-66. Procedures for handling funds. 

The unit director shall establish written procedures for 
handling any ongoing unit employee fund established and 
maintained by the employees that is derived from employee 
contributions, the operation of vending machines, special 
fundraising projects, or other employee canteen services, that 
utilizes the name of the unit or the department, or that the unit 
approves the obtaining of or obtains a tax identification 
number for such funds. Any such funds are not state funds 
and shall not be commingled in any way with state funds. The 
department's tax identification number shall not be used for 
such funds. 

6VAC35-150-70. Court service unit director and staff. 
(Repealed.) 

A. For every employee and volunteer in the unit there shall 
be a current position description indicating the minimum 
qualifications required and the incumbent's duties and 
responsibilities.  

B. Unless otherwise provided by local or state policy, a 
performance plan and a performance evaluation shall be 
completed annually for each employee in accordance with 
approved procedures.  

C. The Court Service Unit Director shall provide financial, 
managerial and programmatic reports as required by 
department and local policy.  

6VAC35-150-80. Background checks.  

All new unit employees and auxiliary personnel, including 
volunteers, shall undergo a preemployment check of 
references; criminal history checks with the automated 
Virginia Criminal Information Network (VCIN), the National 
Criminal Information Center (NCIC), and the Department of 
Motor Vehicles (DMV); and fingerprint checks by the State 
Police and the FBI; those who have direct contact with youth 
shall also undergo a child protective services registry check.  

A. Except as provided in subsection C of this section, all 
persons who (i) accept a position of employment, (ii) 
volunteer on a regular basis and will be alone with a juvenile 
in the performance of their duties, or (iii) provide contractual 
services directly to a juvenile on a regular basis and will be 
alone with a juvenile in the performance of their duties in a 
CSU, or as required by 6VAC35-150-430 C, shall undergo 
the following background checks to ascertain whether there 
are criminal acts or other circumstances that would be 
detrimental to the safety of juveniles: 

1. A reference check;  

2. A fingerprint check with (i) the Virginia State Police 
(VSP) and (ii) the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI);  

3. A central registry check with Child Protective Services 
(CPS); and  

4. A driving record check, if applicable to the individual's 
job duties.  

B. To minimize vacancy time when the FBI fingerprint 
check has been requested, unit staff may be hired pending the 
results of the FBI fingerprint checks, provided:  

1. All of the other applicable components of subsection A 
of this section have been completed;  

2. The applicant is given written notice that continued 
employment is contingent on the FBI fingerprint check 
results; and  

3. Staff hired under this exception shall not be allowed to 
be alone with juveniles and may work with juveniles only 
when under the direct supervision of staff whose 
background checks have been completed until such time as 
all background checks are completed.  

C. The unit, program, or service provider shall have 
procedures for supervising nonstaff persons who have contact 
with residents.  

D. Subsection A of this section shall apply to programs to 
which the CSU refers juveniles who are before the court or 
before an intake officer, including, but not limited to, 
programs included in a local Virginia Juvenile Community 
Crime Control Act plan.  When an agency or program refers 
juveniles to other service providers, excluding community 
service programs and licensed professionals or programs 
licensed or regulated by other state agencies, the referring 
agency shall require the service provider to document that all 
persons who provide services or supervision through 
substantial one-on-one contact with juveniles have undergone 
a background check as required in subsection A of this 
section. 

6VAC35-150-90. Training.  

A. All employees, and volunteers and interns shall receive 
documented orientation and annual training appropriate to 
their duties and to address any needs identified by the 
individual and the supervisor.  

B. All full-time employees who provide direct services to 
juveniles and their families shall receive 40 hours of juvenile 
justice-related training annually on-going training and 
development appropriate to their duties and to address any 
needs identified by the individual and the supervisor, if 
applicable. 

C. All clerical staff shall receive at least 20 hours of training 
annually to upgrade skills.  
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6VAC35-150-100. Personnel policies and operating 
procedures.  

All staff shall have access to policies and approved 
procedures governing:  

1. Recruitment and selection;  

2. Grievance and appeal;  

3. Confidential individual employee personnel records;  

4. Discipline;  

5. Equal employment opportunity;  

6. Leave and benefits;  

7. Resignations and terminations;  

8. Orientation;  

9. Promotion;  

10. Probationary period; and  

11. Competitive salary.  

6VAC35-150-110. Volunteers.  

A. For every volunteer, the unit shall maintain a current 
description of duties and responsibilities and a list of the 
minimum required qualifications;  

B. Volunteers shall comply with all applicable regulations, 
policies, and approved procedures;  

B. C. One or more designated persons shall coordinate 
volunteer services; and  

C. D. Volunteers shall be registered with the department for 
liability insurance purposes.  

6VAC35-150-130. Research. 

A. Youth Juveniles shall not be used as subjects of human 
research, except when approved procedures permit human 
research as provided in 6VAC35-170 and in accord with 
Chapter 5.1 (§ 32.1-162.16 et seq.) of Title 32.1 of the Code 
of Virginia.  

B. The testing of medicines or drugs for experimentation or 
research is prohibited.  

6VAC35-150-140. Records management.  

A. Case records shall be indexed and kept up to date and 
uniform uniformly in content and arrangement in accordance 
with approved procedures.  

B. Juvenile case Case records shall be kept in a secure 
location accessible only to authorized staff.  

C. All case records shall be maintained and disposed of in 
accordance with The Library of Virginia regulations and 
record retention schedules, and with approved procedures.  

D. Any disclosure or release of information shall be in 
accordance with the Code of Virginia and applicable federal 
statutes and regulations (i.e., 42 CFR Part 2, Confidentiality 
of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Patient Records) and approved 
procedures.  

E. The case records of youth placed in any postdispositional 
residential care shall contain:  

1. Social history;  

2. Order or agreement concerning the placement;  

3. Dates of acceptance and placement;  

4. Reason for placement;  

5. Financial and tuition arrangements, if appropriate; and  

6. Supervision and visitation agreements.  

6VAC35-150-150. Reports for the court. (Repealed.) 

All reports prepared for the court shall be prepared and 
reviewed in accordance with approved procedures and, except 
for transfer reports and addenda to previously submitted 
reports, shall contain the following identifying information:  

1. Full name of subject;  

2. Social Security Number;  

3. Address;  

4. Race;  

5. Date of birth (must be verified);  

6. Sex;  

7. Parents or guardians (for juveniles only);  

8. Author; and  

9. Date of report.  

6VAC35-150-160. Social history. (Repealed.) 

A. A social history shall be prepared for each juvenile 
placed on probation supervision with the court service unit or 
committed to the department within timelines established by 
approved procedures.  

B. A current social history shall be prepared upon written 
request from other units when accompanied by a court order. 
An existing social history that is not more than 12 months old 
may be used provided an addendum is prepared updating all 
changed information.  

C. Social history reports shall be in written form and include 
at least the following information:  

1. Identifying information as listed in 6VAC35-150-150.  

2. Court history -- specific description of past, present and 
pending petitions and dispositions.  
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3. Police or prosecutor's version of the instant offense, 
when available, for all juveniles who are committed to the 
department.  

4. Victim impact information, when ordered by the court.  

5. An accurate and up-to-date offense history.  

6. Previous contacts with the unit, including diversion and 
informal resolution at intake, and known contacts with 
other agencies or treatment services in the community.  

7. Subject: physical description; behavioral description; 
medical, educational, psychological information (as 
applicable); educational and other known handicaps or 
disabilities (if applicable); peer relationships, including 
gang affiliation; response to authority; employment status; 
and whether the subject has a driver's license.  

8. Family: parents/custodians/guardians -- ages, marital 
status, court record, employment status, economic status, 
level of education, health, interpersonal relationships. 
Siblings -- ages, court record, level of education.  

9. Home and neighborhood: Physical description of home 
and neighborhood, family's and officer's view of 
neighborhood impact on subject, and length of residence.  

10. Assessment of the subject's strengths and weaknesses 
and, if applicable, the subject's family.  

11. Recommendations may be included if permitted by the 
court.  

D. Adults' social history reports, if ordered by the court, may 
be in a modified format as provided for in procedures 
approved by the court service unit director after consultation 
with the judge or judges of the court.  

6VAC35-150-165. Custody investigations. (Repealed.) 

If the unit performs custody investigations upon order of the 
court, such investigations shall be completed in conformance 
with "Guidelines for Custody Investigations" (1995) jointly 
promulgated by the State Board of Juvenile Justice and the 
State Board of Social Services.  

Article 2  
Budget and Finance  

6VAC35-150-175. Suitable quarters. (Repealed.) 

A. The CSU director annually shall review the unit's needs 
for suitable quarters, utilities and furnishings and request 
from the appropriate governing body the resources to meet 
these needs.  

B. Intake, probation and parole officers shall have access to 
private office space so equipped that conversations may not 
be overheard from outside the office.  

6VAC35-150-180. Prohibited financial transactions. 
(Repealed.) 

The unit shall not collect or disburse support payments, 
fines, or restitution.  

6VAC35-150-190. Procedures for handling funds. 
(Repealed.) 

The court service unit director shall establish written 
policies, procedures and practice for handling funds within 
the unit. All court service units shall adhere to all 
Commonwealth of Virginia purchasing and fiscal 
requirements when expending state funds.  

Article 3 2 
Security and Safety  

6VAC35-150-200. Security and emergency safety 
procedures.  

In accordance with approved procedures, the unit shall 
implement:  

1. Safety and security precautions for the office 
environment, to include at least fire, bomb threat, hostage 
and medical emergency situations; and  

2. Safety and security precautions for staff making field 
visits to juveniles and their families.  

1. Safety and security precautions for the office 
environment to include at least fire, bomb threat, natural 
disasters, and hostage and medical emergency situations; 

2. Safety and security precautions for staff making field 
visits to juveniles and their families; and 

3. Training on appropriate crisis prevention and 
intervention techniques for the office and the field that 
staff may use to manage behavior that poses a risk to the 
safety of themselves or others. 

6VAC35-150-210. Physical force.  

A. Physical force shall be used only to protect self or others 
as a last resort and shall never be used as punishment or with 
the intent to inflict injury. Staff shall use only the minimum 
force deemed reasonable and necessary to eliminate the 
imminent risk to the safety of themselves or others.  

B. Each use of physical force shall be reported in writing to 
the CSU director, who shall ensure that all reportable 
incidents are further reported in accordance with the 
department's policies procedures for reporting serious 
incidents.  

6VAC35-150-220. Searches of youth.  

Searches of individuals an individual's person and 
immediate area may be conducted only in accordance with 
approved procedures and only by, with all applicable state 
and federal statutes and regulations, and with the Virginia and 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 22 Virginia Register of Regulations July 6, 2009 

4040 

United States constitutions. Only staff who have received 
training approved by the department shall conduct searches.  

6VAC35-150-230. Weapons.  

A. A probation officer may obtain authorization to carry a 
weapon as provided by § 16.1-237 of the Code of Virginia 
only in accordance with approved procedures that require at 
least: (i) firearms safety training, (ii) a psychological or 
mental health assessment, and (iii) approval by the court 
service unit CSU director, and (iv) approval by the unit 
director's supervisor.  

B. All court service unit CSU staff authorized to carry 
weapons shall have received training approved by the 
department regarding and retraining, in accordance with 
approved procedures, which shall include the limited 
circumstances when weapons may be carried and used as 
required by law and liability insurance coverage.  

6VAC35-150-240. Arrest of youth juvenile by staff.  

Probation officers shall exercise their arrest powers only in 
accordance with approved procedures.  

6VAC35-150-250. Absconders.  

Unit staff shall cooperate with department personnel and 
state and local law-enforcement authorities to help locate and 
recover juveniles who fail to report for violate the conditions 
of their probation or parole supervision and upon whom a 
detention order has been issued or who escape or run away 
from a juvenile correctional center, detention home, or other 
juvenile placement.  

6VAC35-150-260. Transportation of detained juveniles. 

A. Detained juveniles shall be transported in accord with 
"Guidelines for Transporting Juveniles in Detention" (June 
13, 1991) (September 2004) issued by the board in accord 
with § 16.1-254 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. When the CSU is responsible for the transportation of 
youth to special placements, staff shall make transportation 
arrangements appropriate to the security risk posed by the 
juvenile.  

C. B. Routine transportation of juveniles in postdispositional 
detention shall be the responsibility of the parents or 
guardians or the program providing service to the juvenile.  

Article 4 3 
Intake  

6VAC35-150-270. Intake duties.  

A. When making an intake determination as provided for by 
the § 16.1-260 of the Code of Virginia, whether in person or 
by telephone or interactive video conferencing, the intake 
officer shall, in accordance with approved procedures:  

1. Explain the steps and options in the intake process to 
each person present, including their constitutional and 
statutory rights as provided for in approved procedures;  

2. Make all required data entries into the department's 
Juvenile Tracking System electronic data collection system 
in accordance with § 16.1-224 of the Code of Virginia and 
approved procedures;  

3. Consult with available parents, guardians, legal 
custodian, or other person standing in loco parentis to 
determine the appropriate placement, unless a court has 
ordered detention; and  

4. Notify the juvenile's parents, guardians, legal custodian, 
or other person standing in loco parentis in cases involving 
the juvenile's detention.  

B. When making a detention decision pursuant to § 16.1-
248.1 of the Code of Virginia and when making 
recommendations to the court at a detention hearing pursuant 
to § 16.1-250 of the Code of Virginia, court service unit CSU 
personnel shall make use of the uniform risk assessment 
instrument and related procedure mandated by Chapter 648 of 
the 2002 Acts of Assembly.  

C. When the chief judge in a jurisdiction requests the 
provision of a replacement intake officer pursuant to § 16.1-
235.1 of the Code of Virginia, the CSU shall enter into a 
written agreement with the requesting court that shall address, 
at a minimum, the scope of the intake duties, the location 
where intake cases will be processed, and the protocol for 
arranging any required face-to-face contact between the 
intake officer and juvenile. 

6VAC35-150-280. Medical and psychiatric emergencies at 
intake. 

If during the intake interview, the intake officer suspects that 
the youth juvenile requires emergency medical or psychiatric 
care, the intake officer shall:  

1. Immediately contact the youth's juvenile's parents or 
legal guardians to advise them of the emergency and any 
responsibilities they may have; and  

2. Before placing a youth juvenile in a more restrictive 
setting, the intake officer shall arrange for the youth 
juvenile to receive the needed emergency care.  

6VAC35-150-290. Intake communication with detention. 

When CSU staff facilitate the placement of a juvenile in 
detention process, they shall: 1. Query the Juvenile Tracking 
System to ascertain all pertinent information on the juvenile 
who is being detained, and complete the Juvenile Alert 
Screen on the Juvenile Tracking System; and 2. Give give 
detention staff, by telephone or, in writing, or by entry into 
the Juvenile Tracking System electronic means, no later than 
the time the juvenile arrives at the detention facility, the 
reason for detention and the instant offenses, and for which 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 22 Virginia Register of Regulations July 6, 2009 

4041 

the juvenile is being detained including any ancillary 
offenses. CSU staff shall also give detention staff the 
following information when available and applicable: medical 
information; parents' or guardians' names, addresses and 
phone numbers; prior record as regards sexual offenses, 
violence against persons, or arson; suicide attempts or self-
injurious behaviors; and gang membership and affiliation; 
and any other information as required by approved procedure.  

Article 5 4 
Out-of-Home Placements  

6VAC35-150-300. Predispostionally placed youth juvenile. 

A. In accordance with approved procedures, a representative 
of the court service unit CSU shall make contact, either face-
to-face or via videoconferencing, with each youth juvenile 
placed in predispositional detention, jail, or shelter care 
pursuant to § 16.1-248.1 of the Code of Virginia, within five 
days of the placement and shall make contact with the youth 
juvenile at least once every 10 days thereafter,. Such contact 
shall be either face-to-face or by telephone or 
videoconferencing and shall include direct communication 
between the CSU staff and the juvenile.  

B. The case of each predispositionally placed youth juvenile 
shall be reviewed at least every 10 days in accordance with 
approved procedures to determine whether there has been a 
material change sufficient to warrant recommending a change 
in placement.  

C. When the unit has placed or is the placing agency and is 
supervising a youth juvenile in a residential facility, 
designated staff of the court service unit CSU shall be 
available to the facility's staff 24 hours a day in case of 
emergency.  

6VAC35-150-310. Postdispositional detention. 

A. When a court orders a juvenile to be detained 
postdispositionally for more than 30 days pursuant to 
subsection B of § 16.1-284.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 
court service unit CSU shall develop a written plan with the 
facility to enable such youth juvenile to take part in one or 
more community treatment programs appropriate for their 
that juvenile's rehabilitation, which may be provided at the 
facility or while the juvenile is on temporary release status, as 
determined by their that juvenile's risk to public safety and 
other relevant factors. The court service unit CSU shall 
provide a copy of the juvenile's social history to the 
postdispositional detention program upon request.  

B. The case record of a juvenile placed in a postdispositional 
detention program pursuant to subsection B of § 16.1-284.4 
of the Code of Virginia shall contain: 

1. Social history; 

2. Court order; 

3. Reason for placement; and 

4. Current supervision plan, if applicable. 

6VAC35-150-320. Notice of youth's juvenile's transfer. 

When court service unit CSU staff have knowledge that a 
youth juvenile has been moved from one residential facility or 
program to another residential facility and do not have 
knowledge that the juvenile's parents or legal guardians have 
been advised of the transfer, they CSU staff shall notify the 
youth's juvenile's parents or legal guardians within 24 hours 
and shall document the notification in the youth's juvenile's 
case record.  

6VAC35-150-330. Removal of youth from home. 
(Repealed.) 

When considering whether to remove a youth from his home 
for any reason other than to detain the youth, the youth's 
parents or guardians, if available, shall be included in making 
that decision.  

Article 6 5 
Probation, Parole, and Other Supervision  

6VAC35-150-335. Informal supervision Diversion. 

A. When unit personnel are supervising a juvenile in the 
absence of a court order, an intake officer proceeds with 
diversion in accordance with subsection B of § 16.1-260 of 
the Code of Virginia, such supervision shall not exceed 90 
120 days. Court service unit personnel shall not supervise any 
person absent a court order except as provided for in 
approved procedures. For a juvenile alleged to be a truant 
pursuant to a complaint filed in accordance with § 22.1-258 
of the Code of Virginia, such supervision shall be limited to 
90 days.  

B. When a new complaint is filed against a juvenile who is 
currently under supervision in accordance with subsection A 
of this section, and the juvenile qualifies for diversion in 
accordance with subsection B of § 16.1-260 of the Code of 
Virginia, then the intake officer may proceed with diversion 
for an additional 120 days from the date of the subsequent 
complaint. 

C. When a case is diverted by referring a juvenile for 
services to another public or private agency, informal 
supervision shall not continue beyond the delivery of such 
services unless approved by the director or designee. 

D. In no case shall a petition be filed by the CSU based on 
acts or offenses in the original complaint after 120 days from 
the date of the initial referral on the original complaint. 

6VAC35-150-336. Social histories. 

A. A social history shall be prepared in accordance with 
approved procedures (i) when ordered by the court, (ii) for 
each juvenile placed on probation supervision with the unit, 
(iii) for each juvenile committed to the department, or (iv) 
upon written request from another unit when accompanied by 
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a court order.  Social history reports shall include the 
following information: 

1. Identifying and demographic information on the 
juvenile; 

2. Current offense and prior court involvement; 

3. Social, medical, psychological, and educational 
information about the juvenile; 

4. Information about the family; and 

5. Dispositional recommendations, if permitted by the 
court. 

B. An existing social history that is less than 12 months old 
may be used provided an addendum is prepared updating all 
changed information. A new social history shall be prepared 
as required in subsection A of this section or when ordered by 
the court if the existing social history is more than 12 months 
old. 

C. Social history reports on adults may be modified as 
provided for in procedures approved by the CSU director 
after consultation with the judge or judges of the court. 

6VAC35-150-340. Beginning supervision.  

Within the timeframes established by approved procedures 
for beginning supervision, a probation or parole officer shall:  

1. See the subject juvenile face-to-face;  

2. Give the subject juvenile the written rules of 
supervision, including any special conditions, and explain 
these to the subject juvenile and, when appropriate, to the 
subject's juvenile's parents or guardians; and  

3. Document these actions in the case record. 

6VAC35-150-350. Supervision plans for juveniles.  

A. To provide for the public safety and address the needs of 
subjects a juvenile and their families that juvenile's family, 
subjects a juvenile shall be supervised according to a written 
individual supervision plan, developed in accordance with 
approved procedures and timeframes, that describes the range 
and nature of field and office contact with the subject 
juvenile, with the parents or guardians of a the juvenile 
subject, and with other agencies or providers providing 
treatment or services.  

B. When the youth resides in or is expected to return to the 
family home, the probation officer shall, in accordance with 
approved procedures, develop and implement a family 
involvement plan.  

C. When the youth is in direct state care, the probation 
officer shall, in accordance with approved procedures and 
6VAC35-150-420, send a report on the family's progress 
toward planned goals to the facility at which the juvenile is 
housed.  

D. At least 60 days prior to a juvenile's anticipated release 
from commitment, a written parole supervision plan shall be 
prepared in accordance with approved procedures.  

E. A supervision plan for parole shall be prepared for all 
judicial review hearings for serious juvenile offenders as 
required by law and in accordance with approved procedures.  

F. If the court has not ordered specific conditions of 
supervision, a supervision plan for an adult probation subject 
shall be prepared within 30 days after disposition, after 
consulting with the adult and, if appropriate, his family.  

G. At least once every 90 days, in B. In accordance with 
approved procedures, each written individual supervision plan 
or family involvement plan shall be (i) reviewed with the 
subject individual or juvenile, the juvenile's family, and (ii) 
reviewed by a supervisor from both a treatment and a case 
management perspective to confirm the appropriateness of the 
plan.  

6VAC35-150-355. Supervision of juvenile on electronic 
monitoring. 

When a unit places a juvenile in an electronic monitoring 
program, use of the program shall be governed by approved 
procedures that shall provide for criteria for placement in the 
program, parental involvement, required contacts, 
consequences for tampering and violating program 
requirements, and time limits.  

6VAC35-150-365. Supervision of adult on probation. 

For an adult convicted of a criminal act for which the 
juvenile court retained jurisdiction pursuant to § 16.1-241 of 
the Code of Virginia and the juvenile court did not order 
specific conditions of supervision, a supervision plan for the 
adult probationer shall be prepared within 30 days of the 
disposition. The adult and that adult's family, if appropriate, 
must be consulted in development of the supervision plan.  

6VAC35-150-370. Placements in the community. 
(Repealed.) 

When the unit (i) is supervising and (ii) has placed a subject 
in a community facility or program, unit staff shall advise the 
facility or program of the subject's service needs and shall 
maintain contact with the subject and the facility or program 
staff in accordance with the supervision plan.  

6VAC35-150-380. Violation of probation or parole.  

When a subject probationer or parolee violates the 
conditions of the individual's probation or parole, unit 
personnel shall take action in accordance with approved 
procedures.  

6VAC35-150-390. Transfer of case supervision to another 
unit. 

A. When a subject's the legal residence of an individual 
under the supervision of a CSU is not within the jurisdiction 
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of the original court service unit CSU, the supervision cases 
of the case may be transferred to another unit providing 
similar services in Virginia in accordance with § 16.1-295 of 
the Code of Virginia and approved procedures.  

B. The director of the department may make provision for 
the transfer of a juvenile placed on probation in this 
Commonwealth to another state to be placed on probation 
under the terms of Article 14 (§ 16.1-323 et seq.) of Chapter 
11 of Title 16.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

6VAC35-150-400. Notice of release from supervision.  

Notice of release from supervision shall be given to subjects 
the individual under the supervision of a CSU and to the 
parents or guardians of juvenile subjects and juveniles. Such 
notification shall be appropriately documented in the case 
record in accordance with approved procedures.  

Article 7 6 
Juvenile in Direct Care  

6VAC35-150-410. Commitment information. 

A. When a youth is transferred into direct state care, the 
following items either accompany or precede the youth to the 
reception and diagnostic center: the order of commitment, 
copies of clinical reports, predisposition studies, record of 
immunizations when available, and any other juvenile is 
committed to the department, the juvenile may not be 
transported to the Reception and Diagnostic Center (RDC) 
until (i) the items and information required by the Code of 
Virginia, department policy, or and approved procedures have 
been received by RDC and (ii) the case is accepted by RDC.  

B. If a juvenile is transferred transported to the department 
directly from the court, in addition to ensuring the immediate 
delivery of the items required in subsection A of this section, 
unit staff shall immediately notify the reception and 
diagnostic center RDC by telephone of the youth's juvenile's 
impending arrival.  

6VAC35-150-415. Supervision of juvenile in direct care. 

A. When a juvenile is placed in direct care, the probation or 
parole officer shall, in accordance with approved procedures, 
do the following:  

1. Develop and implement a family involvement plan. 

2. Send a report on the family's progress toward planned 
goals to the facility at which the juvenile is housed. 

B. Upon written notice of a juvenile's release from an 
indeterminate commitment, a written parole supervision plan 
shall be completed within 30 days of the date of notification. 
A juvenile who has been indeterminately committed shall not 
be accepted for parole supervision without a completed parole 
supervision plan, except as approved by the director of his 
designee. 

C. A supervision plan for parole shall be prepared for all 
judicial review hearings for serious juvenile offenders as 
required by law and in accordance with approved procedures. 

6VAC35-150-420. Contacts during youth's juvenile's 
commitment.  

During the period of a youth's juvenile's commitment, a 
designated staff person shall make contact with the 
committed youth juvenile, the youth's juvenile's parents, 
guardians, or other custodians, and the treatment staff at the 
youth's juvenile's direct care placement as required by 
approved procedures. The procedures shall specify when such 
contact must be in-person face-to-face contact and when 
contacts contacts may be made by video conferencing or by 
telephone.  

Part III 
Standards for Programs and Services  

Article 1  
General Requirements of Programs and Services  

6VAC35-150-425. Applicability.  

The following standards apply A. This part applies to 
programs and services (i) for which the department or CSU 
contracts or (ii) to which the CSU refers juveniles who are 
before the court or before an intake officer, including but not 
limited to programs and services included in a local which 
provides programs and services through a local Virginia 
Juvenile Community Crime Control Act plan pursuant to § 
16.1-309.3 of the Code of Virginia. The standards provisions 
for alternative day treatment and structured day programs, 
electronic monitoring, surveillance officers, and substance 
abuse and testing services in Article 2 (6VAC35-150-615 et 
seq.) of this part also apply to those programs and services 
that are operated by the court service unit a CSU.  

B. Each program or service provider shall be responsible for 
adopting written procedures necessary to implement and for 
compliance with all applicable requirements of 6VAC35-150-
430 through 6VAC35-140-740. 

6VAC35-150-427. Written policies and procedures 
required. (Repealed.) 

Each program shall be responsible for adopting written 
policies and procedures necessary to implement all applicable 
requirements of 6VAC35-150-430 through 6VAC35-140-
740.  

6VAC35-150-430. Written statements required Program 
requirements. 

A. Each nonresidential program or service shall have a 
written statement of its:  

1. Purpose;  

2. Population served; 
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3. Criteria for admission; 

4. Criteria for measuring a juvenile's progress; 

2. 5. Supervision and or treatment objectives, including 
criteria for admission and for measuring a juvenile's 
progress;  

6. Intake and acceptance procedures, including whether a 
social history or diagnostic testing is required;  

3. 7. General rules of juvenile conduct and the behavior 
management system with specific expectations for 
behavior and appropriate incentives and sanctions, which 
shall be made available to juveniles and parents upon 
acceptance into the program;  

4. 8. Criteria and procedures for terminating services, 
including terminations prior to the juvenile's successful 
completion of the program;  

5. 9. Methods and criteria for evaluating program 
effectiveness;  

6. 10. Drug-free workplace policy; and  

7. Policy 11. Procedures regarding contacts with the news 
media.  

B. The department administration shall be notified in writing 
of any plan to change any of the elements listed in subsection 
A of this section.  

C. Each program shall conduct background checks in 
accordance with 6VAC35-150-80, or ensure that such 
background checks are conducted, on all individuals who 
provide services to juveniles under the contract as required by 
subsection A of 6VAC35-150-80; 

D. Those programs providing crisis intervention services, 
including, but not limited to, outreach detention, mental 
health counseling or treatment, and home-based counseling 
services, shall provide for responding 24 hours a day to a 
juvenile's crisis and shall provide notification to all juveniles 
in writing on how to access these services at any time. 

6VAC35-150-435. Contracted services.  

A. When a program contracts for services with public or 
private providers, it shall follow written procedures that 
govern the recruitment, screening and selection of providers.  

B. Contracts with public or private sector service providers 
shall identify the case coordinator.  

C. Designated program staff shall monitor the delivery of 
services under the terms of the contract.  

D. Contracts with public or private service providers shall 
require the provider to:  

1. Develop a plan for the scope of services to the 
individuals served;  

2. Document receipt of the referral, services provided, and 
termination of services;  

3. Make available to the purchasing agency all information 
specified in the contract;  

4. Conduct the records checks required by 6VAC35-150-
440 on all staff who provide services to individuals under 
the contract;  

5. Participate in program evaluation as required by the 
Department of Juvenile Justice; and  

6. Provide appropriate evidence of fiscal accountability and 
responsibility.  

E. The standard of services provided by contractual and 
subcontractual vendors shall not be less than those required 
by this chapter.  

6VAC35-150-440. Employee and volunteer background 
check. (Repealed.) 

A. An agency or program that provides direct services or 
supervision to juveniles shall conduct the following 
background checks on all employees and volunteers who 
provide such direct service or supervision to ascertain 
whether there are criminal acts or other circumstances that 
would be detrimental to the safety of juveniles in the 
program:  

1. A reference check;  

2. A fingerprint check with the Virginia State Police and 
FBI if the State Police determine that the requesting 
agency is a qualified entity, or a criminal history request or 
a noncriminal justice interface with the Virginia State 
Police if the State Police determine that the requesting 
agency is not a qualified entity to receive fingerprint-based 
criminal information;  

3. A central registry check with Child Protective Services; 
and  

4. A driving record check if applicable to the individual's 
job duties.  

The requirements of this subsection do not apply to 
programs that merely supervise juveniles in community 
service, nor to persons licensed by the Commonwealth of 
Virginia who are providing professional services to juveniles 
within the scope of such license.  

B. When an agency or program refers juveniles to other 
service providers, excluding community service programs and 
licensed professionals in private practice, the referring agency 
shall require the service provider to document that all persons 
who provide services or supervision through substantial one-
on-one contact with juveniles have undergone a background 
check as required in subsection A of this section.  
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C. An agency that refers juveniles to a licensed professional 
in private practice shall check with the appropriate licensing 
authority's Internet web page or by other appropriate means to 
ascertain whether there are notations of criminal acts or other 
circumstances that would be detrimental to the safety of 
juveniles.  

6VAC35-150-450. Limitation of contact with juveniles. 

When there are indications that an individual who is 
providing programs or services has a physical, mental or 
emotional condition that might may jeopardize the health or 
safety of the juveniles, the program administrator or 
department personnel may shall immediately require that the 
individual be removed from contact with juveniles until the 
situation is abated or resolved.  

6VAC35-150-460. Personnel qualifications.  

A. Staff and volunteers Program staff shall be qualified and 
trained for the positions and duties have a job description 
stating qualifications and duties for the position to which they 
are assigned.  

B. Staff and volunteers who provide professional services 
shall be appropriately licensed or certified or be supervised by 
an appropriately licensed or certified person as required by 
law applicable statutes and regulations.  

6VAC35-150-470. Medical emergencies.  

The program or service provider shall have written policy, 
procedure and practice procedures to deal with medical 
emergencies that might may occur while a juvenile is in 
attendance at the program.  

6VAC35-150-480. Financial record requirements.  

All programs and services service providers shall:  

1. Manage their finances in accordance with acceptable 
accounting procedures;  

2. Certify that all funds were handled in accord with the 
applicable Virginia Juvenile Community Crime Control 
Act plan, contract, or other agreement; and  

3. Be subject to independent audit or examination by 
department personnel at the department's discretion.  

6VAC35-150-490. Juveniles' rights.  

A. Juveniles shall not be excluded from a program nor be 
denied access to services on the basis of race, ethnicity, 
national origin, color, creed religion, gender sex, physical 
handicap disability, or sexual orientation.  

B. Juveniles shall not be subjected to:  

1. Deprivation of drinking water or food necessary to meet 
daily nutritional needs except as ordered by a licensed 
physician for a legitimate medical purpose and 
documented in the juvenile's record;  

2. Any action which that is humiliating, degrading, or 
abusive;  

3. Corporal punishment;  

4. Unsanitary conditions;  

5. Deprivation of access to toilet facilities; or 

6. Confinement in a room with the door so secured that the 
juvenile cannot open it.  

6VAC35-150-500. Juvenile participation in research.  

A. Medical or pharmaceutical testing for experimentation or 
research is prohibited.  

B. The program or service provider shall have either (i) a 
written policy prohibiting juveniles' participation in research 
or (ii) written policy, procedure and practice ensuring that 
juveniles' participation as subjects in human research shall be 
consistent with Chapter 5.1 (§ 32.1-162.16 et seq.) of Title 
32.1 of the Code of Virginia, with § 16.1-305 of the Code of 
Virginia regarding confidentiality of juvenile records, with 
department policy regarding juveniles' participation in 
research, and with such regulations as may be promulgated by 
the state board regarding human research written procedures 
complying with the applicable research provisions in 
6VAC35-150-130. 

6VAC35-150-510. Case management requirements.  

A. For each juvenile, a separate case record shall be kept up 
to date and in a uniform manner.  

B. The juvenile case record shall always contain:  

1. Identifying Current identifying and demographic 
information on the juvenile;  

2. Court order, placement agreement, or service agreement;  

3. Rules imposed by the judge or the probation or parole 
officer, if applicable; and  

4. Date Dates of acceptance and release.  

C. Programs that provide counseling, treatment, or 
supervision shall: 

1. Develop an individual service plan for each juvenile that 
shall specify the number and nature of contacts between 
the juvenile and staff; 

2. Provide the individual service plan information to the 
supervising probation or parole officer, when applicable; 

3. Document all contacts with the juvenile, the juvenile's 
family, and others involved with the case; and 

4. Provide written progress reports to the referring agency 
at agreed upon intervals. 
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6VAC35-150-530. Incident documentation and reporting.  

When an event or incident occurs which that is required by 
department procedures to be reported, the program or service 
shall document and report the event or incident as required by 
and in accordance with department procedures.  

6VAC35-150-540. Child abuse and neglect.  

Any case of suspected child abuse or neglect shall be 
reported When there is a reason to suspect that a child is an 
abused or neglected child, the program or service provider 
shall report the matter immediately to the local department of 
public welfare or social services as required by § 63.1-248.3 
Article 2 (§ 63.2-1508 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code of 
Virginia and shall be documented in the juvenile's record.  

Article 2  
Specific Requirements for Particular Programs and Services  

6VAC35-150-550. Physical setting.  

A. Each program that provides direct services to juveniles or 
their families within or at the program's office or place of 
operation shall comply with all applicable building, fire, 
sanitation, zoning and other federal, state, and local standards 
and shall have premises liability insurance.  

B. The inside and outside of all buildings shall be kept 
clean, in good repair, and free of rubbish.  

6VAC35-150-560. Individual service or contact plan. 
(Repealed.) 

Programs that provide counseling, treatment or supervision 
shall:  

1. Develop an individual service plan for each juvenile 
which shall specify the number and nature of contacts 
between the juvenile and staff;  

2. Provide the service plan information to the supervising 
probation or parole officer, when applicable, to be included 
in and monitored as part of the supervision plan;  

3. Document all contacts with the juvenile, the juvenile's 
family and others involved with the case; and  

4. Provide written progress reports to the referring agency 
at agreed upon intervals.  

6VAC35-150-570. Response to crises. (Repealed.) 

All programs providing supervision or direct individualized 
services shall provide for response to juveniles' crises 24 
hours a day and shall notify juveniles in writing how to get 
these services.  

6VAC35-150-590. Referrals. (Repealed.) 

Each program and service that accepts referrals shall have a 
written description of:  

1. The population to be served;  

2. Its criteria and requirements for accepting referrals, 
including whether a social history and diagnostic testing is 
required before accepting a youth; and  

3. Intake and acceptance procedures.  

6VAC35-150-600. Surveillance officers. (Repealed.) 

Programs that use staff or volunteer surveillance officers 
shall specify:  

1. The nature and number of the surveillance officer's 
contacts with the youth under supervision;  

2. How and to whom the officer will report such contacts 
and any problems identified.  

6VAC35-150-610. Substance abuse and testing services. 
(Repealed.) 

Programs that provide substance abuse and testing services 
shall have a written description of:  

1. The substance abuse assessment tools or instruments 
used;  

2. The training required of persons who will conduct 
testing and the professional license or certification required 
of staff or contracted providers who will provide treatment 
services; and  

3. How and to whom the results of the assessment and 
evaluation and any recommendations for treatment or other 
services will be reported.  

Article 2  
Alternative Day Treatment and Structured Day Programs 

6VAC35-150-615. Applicability of Part III, Article 2. 

The following provisions apply to alternative day treatment 
and structured day treatment programs, including those 
operated by CSUs. All applicable provisions for the general 
requirements for programs set forth in Article 1 (6VAC35-
150-425 et seq.) of this part also apply to alternative day 
treatment and structured day treatment programs. 

Article 3  
Alternative Day Treatment and Structured Day Programs  

6VAC35-150-620. Supervision of juveniles.  

A. At all times that juveniles are on any premises where 
alternative day treatment or structured day programs are 
provided, there shall be at least one qualified person actively 
supervising who has a current first aid and CPR certification.  

B. Program staff are responsible for managing juveniles' 
behavior, and shall not delegate this responsibility to other 
juveniles except as part of an approved leadership training 
program under the supervision of qualified staff.  
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6VAC35-150-640. Fire Emergency and fire safety.  

A. Each site to which juveniles report shall have a written 
emergency and fire plan safety plans. 

1. In accordance with the emergency plan, the program 
shall implement safety and security procedures, including, 
but not limited to, procedures for responding in cases of a 
fire, bomb threat, hostage and medical emergency 
situations, and natural disaster. 

2. The fire safety plan shall be developed with the 
consultation and approval of the appropriate local fire 
authority and reviewed with the local fire authority at least 
annually and updated if necessary.  

B. At each site to which juveniles report, there shall be at 
least one documented fire drill each month.  

C. Each new staff member shall be trained in fire safety and 
emergency procedures before assuming supervision of 
juveniles.  

6VAC35-150-650. First-aid kits. (Repealed.) 

A well-stocked first-aid kit shall be available at each site to 
which juveniles report and in any vehicle used to transport 
juveniles and shall be readily accessible for minor injuries 
and medical emergencies.  

6VAC35-150-660. Delivery of medication. (Repealed.) 

Written policy, procedure and practice governing the 
delivery of medication shall either (i) prohibit staff from 
delivering medication or (ii) designate staff persons 
authorized to deliver prescribed medication by written 
agreement with a juvenile's parents; and shall either (i) permit 
or (ii) prohibit self-medication by juveniles.  

6VAC35-150-670. Juveniles' medical needs.  

When necessary, A. At the time of referral, the program 
staff shall be notified of request from the referring agency or 
party any information regarding individual juveniles' medical 
needs or restrictions and given specific, if necessary, 
instructions for meeting these needs.  

B. Written procedure governing the delivery of medication 
shall: 

1. Either prohibit staff from delivering medication or 
designate staff persons authorized to deliver prescribed 
medication by written agreement with a juvenile's parents; 
and 

2. Either permit or prohibit self-medication by juveniles. 

C. An up-to-date, well-stocked first-aid kit shall be available 
at each site to which juveniles report and shall be readily 
accessible for minor injuries and medical emergencies. 

6VAC35-150-680. Physical and mechanical restraint 
restraints and chemical agents. 

A. Only staff who have received department-sanctioned 
department-approved training may apply physical restraint, 
and only when a juvenile's uncontrolled behavior could result 
in harm to self or others, or to avoid extreme destruction of 
property, and when less restrictive interventions have failed.  

B. The use of physical restraint shall be only that which is 
minimally necessary to protect the juvenile or others.  

C. Any application of physical restraint shall be fully 
documented in the juvenile's record as to date, time, staff 
involved, circumstances, reasons for use of physical restraint, 
and extent of physical restraint used.  

D. Except in electronic monitoring and outreach detention 
programs serving juveniles who would otherwise be placed in 
secure detention or when a juvenile resists being taken into 
lawful custody, the use of mechanical devices to restrain a 
juvenile's behavior is prohibited.  

E. D. The use of mechanical restraint devices, except in 
outreach detention and electronic monitoring programs, or 
chemical substances agents to restrain a juvenile's behavior is 
prohibited.  

6VAC35-150-690. Procedural requirements for time-out. 

A. A program that uses time-out shall have written policy, 
procedure and practice procedures to provide that juveniles in 
time-out shall:  

1. Be able to communicate with staff;  

2. Have bathroom privileges according to need; and  

3. Be served any meal scheduled during the time-out 
period.  

B. A time-out room shall not be locked nor the door secured 
in any way that will prohibit the juvenile from opening it, 
except if such confinement has been approved by the 
program's regulatory authority.  

C. Time-out shall not be used for periods longer than 30 
consecutive minutes.  

Article 4  
Electronic Monitoring  

6VAC35-150-700. Not an automatic condition of 
supervision. (Repealed.) 

Electronic monitoring shall not be an automatic condition of 
probation, parole or predispositional supervision.  

6VAC35-150-710. Conditions of home and parents. 
(Repealed.) 

A. Juveniles in an electronic monitoring program must 
reside in their own home or a surrogate home.  
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B. Before a juvenile is placed on electronic monitoring, 
parents or guardians must:  

1. Give written consent, unless the electronic monitoring is 
ordered by a court of competent jurisdiction; and  

2. Be fully oriented to the operation of the electronic 
monitoring device and program rules.  

6VAC35-150-720. Required contacts. (Repealed.) 

As often as required by the written supervision or service 
plan, designated staff or volunteers shall:  

1. See each juvenile face-to-face; and  

2. Contact the juvenile's parents or guardians in person or 
by telephone.  

6VAC35-150-730. Tampers and violations. (Repealed.) 

The program shall have written policy, procedure and 
practice for responding to and investigating tampers and 
program violations.  

6VAC35-150-740. Time limits. (Repealed.) 

Written policy, procedure and practice shall establish the 
maximum time a juvenile may be electronically monitored 
but shall not permit electronic monitoring to extend beyond 
45 days unless an individual case, upon review by the 
program administrator, meets specific written criteria 
justifying a longer time period or continued electronic 
monitoring is ordered by a court of competent jurisdiction.  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(6VAC35-150)  

"Guidelines for Transporting Juveniles in Detention," Board 
of Youth and Family Services, June 13, 1991 State Board of 
Juvenile Justice, September 2004. 

"Guidelines for Custody Investigations," Board of Juvenile 
Justice and Board of Social Services, 1995.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1226; Filed June 9, 2009, 9:39 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Due to the length, the following 
regulations filed by the Virginia Waste Management Board 
(9VAC20-80, Solid Waste Management Regulations; 
9VAC20-81, Solid Waste Management Regulations; and 
9VAC20-101, Vegetative Waste Management and Yard 
Waste Composting Regulations) are not being published. 
However, in accordance with § 2.2-4031 of the Code of 
Virginia, the summary is being published in lieu of the full 

text. The regulations are available for public inspection at the 
office of the Registrar of Regulations and at the Virginia 
Waste Management Board (see contact information below) 
and is accessible on the Virginia Register of Regulations 
website at http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol25/Welcome.htm. 

Titles of Regulations: 9VAC20-80. Solid Waste 
Management Regulations (repealing 9VAC20-80-10 
through 9VAC20-80-790). 

9VAC20-81. Solid Waste Management Regulations 
(adding 9VAC20-81-10 through 9VAC20-81-760). 

9VAC20-101. Vegetative Waste Management and Yard 
Waste Composting Regulations (repealing 9VAC20-101-
10 through 9VAC20-101-210). 

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1402 of the Code of Virginia; 42 
USC § 6941 et seq., 40 CFR Part 258. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 3, 2009 - 10 a.m. - Department of Environmental 
Quality, 629 East Main Street, 2nd Floor Conference 
Room, Richmond, VA 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. September 4, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Leslie D. Beckwith, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4123, FAX (804) 
698-4237, or email ldbeckwith@deq.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 10.1-1402 and 10.1-1408.1 of the Code of 
Virginia authorize the board to supervise and control waste 
management activities in the Commonwealth and to 
promulgate regulations necessary to carry out its powers and 
duties. The corresponding federal authority for the criteria for 
municipal solid waste landfills is found at 40 CFR Parts 257 
and 258. The federal authority for municipal solid waste 
landfills is mandatory. The state legal authority for all other 
types of facilities is also mandatory. 

Purpose: The proposed regulation is needed to coordinate 
waste management practices with statute amendments, other 
agencies and other programs, and to address issues and 
questions that have arisen since the regulations were last 
modified. The current solid waste regulation is cumbersome 
as the result of several amendments that were not able to 
address the cohesiveness of the regulation as a whole. This 
amendment is intended to concentrate on clarity, conciseness 
of writing, and efficiency of the entire structure of the 
regulation while retaining compatibility with the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) program approval 
and statutory requirements. The purpose of this amendment is 
to review each section of the regulation for clarity and 
complexity in order to transform it into a standard that is 
easier for the public and regulated community both to read 
and to follow. The goals of this amendment are to improve 
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standards, focus on results-oriented requirements where 
feasible, make the regulations clear and enforceable, and to 
provide less burdensome requirements for those types of 
facilities that divert waste from landfills while still protecting 
the public health, public safety, the environment, and natural 
resources. 

Substance: The agency proposes to incorporate the Vegetative 
Waste and Yard Waste Composting Regulations into the 
Virginia Solid Waste Management Regulations and to 
recodify the Virginia Solid Waste Management Regulations, 
9VAC20-80 into 9VAC20-81. The agency also proposes to 
include the consolidation of related topics; revisions to 
conform to existing statutes; the consolidation of exemptions 
and exclusions into one section; inclusion of the unauthorized 
waste control program in the operation section of each type of 
solid waste facility to eliminate confusion; citation to the 
Federal Solid Waste Regulations where feasible; 
consolidation of details about beneficial use demonstrations; 
consolidation of Sanitary, Industrial, and Construction-
Demolition-Debris (CDD) disposal facility standards; and 
consolidation of Solid Waste Storage and Treatment facility 
standards. New standards for centralized sludge treatment 
facilities are added, permit modifications are streamlined, 
statutory provisions are incorporated where feasible, and a 
preapproved alternate liner has been added to eliminate the 
variance process for those alternate liners routinely approved. 
Also composting permitting requirements are made less 
burdensome to encourage these types of activities. 

Issues: The proposed actions make the regulations easier to 
read and research for both private citizens and businesses. A 
major advantage to the agency and the regulated community 
are the proposed streamlined permitting review procedures 
that will result in improved efficiency of available department 
resources. One potential issue that may arise will include the 
education and training of staff and the regulated community 
to understand the recodification of the current regulation from 
9VAC20-80 to 9VAC20-81. Guidance and reference 
documents are being developed to address this issue. There 
are no potential disadvantages to the public or the 
Commonwealth from adopting the proposed amendments. 

Requirements more restrictive than federal: The RCRA 
Subtitle D program is not a program that is enforced directly 
by SEPA. It includes a basic solid waste management 
program with many state options that are adopted and 
administered by the states. The federal program has not 
developed standards for facilities that are not municipal solid 
waste management facilities; Virginia regulates CDD, 
industrial landfills, incinerators and other solid waste 
facilities. The proposed amendment maintains compatibility 
with EPA program approval for Subtitle D facilities and 
contains requirements for non-Subtitle D facilities, which are 
broader in scope than federal requirements. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Virginia Waste Management Board proposes to 1) no longer 
necessitate a full permit application for changes made to the 
operations manual of a solid waste facility, 2) remove the 
composting facility capacity limit for a full permit and to 
allow them to obtain a permit by rule, 3) to reduce the number 
of permit modifications considered major, 4) to create a new 
facility type for permitting purposes, 5) to remove the Phase I 
groundwater monitoring, 6) to change the adoption of 
alternate concentration limit from a variance procedure to an 
approval procedure, and 7) to format, reorganize, and edit in 
order to improve clarity and streamline the flow of language. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. One of the proposed changes 
will no longer necessitate a full permit application for 
changes made to the operations manual of a solid waste 
facility. Currently, when a facility makes a change to its 
operations manual, it must do that by going through the 
permit process as the operations manual is currently 
considered to be a part of the permit. Under the proposed 
changes, a facility will be able to change their operations 
manual without triggering a permit process. This will save the 
Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) administrative 
resources that would have otherwise been spent on reviewing 
the change. It will also save facility owners the application 
fees, and consultant fees involved in the permit review 
process. In 2008, most of the 15 major amendment 
applications were related to operations manual changes and of 
the 54 minor amendments, 14 were related to operations 
manual revisions. The current major amendment fee is 
$7,050. 

Another proposed change will affect how composting 
facilities are regulated. Currently any composting facility 
with capacity over 700 tons per quarter has to get a full 
permit from DEQ. Under the proposed changes, the cap will 
be removed and these facilities will be allowed to obtain a 
permit by rule as long as they fulfill the necessary criteria. 
This will save facilities the expenses that would have 
otherwise been required to obtain permits. The fee for a 
compost full permit is $12,670 which is considerable higher 
than the $390 permit by rule fee. It takes approximately 18 to 
24 months to obtain a full permit while it takes about 30 days 
to obtain a permit by rule. The application costs could be 
more than $200,000 for a full permit while permit by rule 
application may cost about $50,000 to $100,000. Also, 
removal of the need for a full permit is expected to encourage 
the amount of wastes composted in Virginia.  

Another proposed change will reduce the number of 
modifications considered major from an estimated 30 types to 
13 types. DEQ evaluated what is a major environmental 
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impact and what is not when revising the criteria to categorize 
what would be considered as a major modification. This is 
expected to reduce the number of major modification 
applications and evaluations in a given year and save money 
and resources to both the regulated facilities and DEQ. The 
current major amendment fee is $7,050. 

Another proposed change will create a new facility type for 
permitting purposes. The new type of facilities is Centralized 
Waste Treatment Facilities. Currently some facilities dealing 
with industrial sludge are regulated as materials recovery 
facilities, but the DEQ reports issues for regulating them 
under materials recovery facilities regulations. To address the 
issues a new facility type is proposed with a set of more 
appropriate requirements that would apply to them. 

Another change will remove the Phase I groundwater 
monitoring. Currently, landfills are required to collect 
groundwater samples for monitoring periodically. In phase I, 
a testing for indicators for pollutants is performed. If a limit is 
exceeded in Phase I, Phase II testing is performed where the 
testing is performed to detect specific pollutants themselves 
not the indicators. According to DEQ, the performance of 
Phase I indicators is poor and causing many false positives 
and triggering a Phase II testing. The proposed regulations 
will remove the Phase I testing and require facilities to test for 
the pollutants directly. This is expected to save the costs 
involved in Phase I testing as in almost all cases Phase I 
results lead to Phase II testing. DEQ estimates that only 12 
landfills out of 239 are currently doing only Phase I testing. 
While the testing costs of these 12 facilities will likely 
increase, approximately five of them will be eligible to 
request a reduced constituent list which will somewhat 
mitigate any potential increase in their compliance costs. In 
addition, three of the 12 are in the process of terminating post 
closure care and will likely no longer be monitoring 
groundwater by the time the proposed regulations are 
effective. 

Another proposed regulation will change the adoption of 
alternate concentration limit from a variance procedure to an 
approval procedure. Under the current regulations, alternate 
concentration limits for constituents for which there is no 
federal maximum concentration limit are established through 
a variance procedure. Under the proposed regulations, 
alternate concentration limits will be established through an 
approval process. Also, the proposed regulations will provide 
a preapproved alternate liner system in order to eliminate the 
variance process for those alternate liners which are routinely 
approved. These changes are expected to provide some 
savings in administrative resources to both facility owners 
and DEQ. 

All of the remaining changes are mainly formatting, 
reorganization, and editorial changes and are not expected to 
create any significant economics effect other that providing 
some small savings in term of making it easier to follow and 

understand the regulations and possibly reducing 
communication costs. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulations 
apply to solid waste facilities. Approximately 222 landfills 
are regulated. Of these approximately 130 are municipal or 
county government owned and the rest are owned by private 
corporations. Less than 40 facilities are estimated to be small 
businesses. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 
apply throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulations 
in general are expected to reduce administrative burden on 
regulants as well as on DEQ which may reduce the demand 
for labor. However, the affected entities may use their savings 
in administrative resources and increase their demand for 
labor elsewhere. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed regulations are expected to have a positive impact 
on the asset value of private businesses as they are expected 
to experience a reduction in their administrative compliance 
costs and improve their profits. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
regulations are expected to provide over all cost savings 
rather than increasing costs. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed regulations are not expected to 
have overall adverse impact on small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No significant effect on real 
estate development costs is expected. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 22 Virginia Register of Regulations July 6, 2009 

4051 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The department has 
reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared by the 
Department of Planning and Budget and has no comment. 

Summary: 

This proposed action recodifies the Virginia Solid Waste 
Management Regulations and incorporates the Vegetative 
Waste and Yard Waste Composting Regulations into the 
regulations. The proposed regulations (i) no longer 
necessitate a full permit application for changes made to 
the operations manual of a solid waste facility; (ii) remove 
the composting facility capacity limit for a full permit and 
allow a facility to obtain a permit by rule; (iii) reduce the 
number of permit modifications considered major; (iv) add 
new standards for centralized sludge treatment facilities; 
(v) remove the Phase I groundwater monitoring; (vi) 
change the adoption of alternate concentration limit from 
a variance procedure to an approval procedure; (vii) 
modify language to conform to existing statutes and add 
citations to federal regulations; (viii) add a preapproved 
alternate liner to eliminate the variance process for those 
alternate liners routinely approved; (ix) make composting 
permitting requirements less burdensome; and (x) format, 
reorganize, and edit the regulations to improve clarity and 
streamline the flow of language. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-979; Filed June 2, 2009, 11:25 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 11. GAMING 

CHARITABLE GAMING BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 11VAC15-22. Charitable Gaming 
Rules and Regulations (amending 11VAC15-22-10, 
11VAC15-22-40, 11VAC15-22-50, 11VAC15-22-80). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-2456, 18.2-340.15, and 18.2-
340.19 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on September 4, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Betty Bowman, Director, Division of 
Charitable Gaming, 101 N. 14th Street, 17th Street, James 
Monroe Bldg, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-

3015, FAX (804) 786-1079, or email 
betty.bowman@dcg.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 18.2-340.15 of the Code of Virginia gives the 
Charitable Gaming Board the authority to promulgate 
regulations under which gaming shall be conducted.  Section 
18.2-340.19 of the Code of Virginia describes the regulations 
the board can promulgate. Section 2.2-2456 of the Code of 
Virginia describes the duties of the board, including the 
authority to promulgate regulations. 

Purpose: These changes do not have any adverse impact on 
the health, safety, or welfare to the citizens of Virginia. The 
impact is directly to charitable organizations that have been 
designated by the internal revenue service as 501(c) not-for-
profit entities that manage and report their gaming operations 
to the division. The changes for 2007 are directly related to 
financial reporting and how they report game operations. 

Substance: The Charitable Gaming Board proposes several 
amendments to these regulations to reflect changes to the 
Code of Virginia pursuant to the 2007 Acts of Assembly.  
Additionally, the board proposes to (i) specify that paid 
callers and managers may not play bingo at any session they 
have worked and may not purchase instant bingo, pull-tab, or 
seal card products from organizations they assist on the day 
they have worked or later from any deal they have helped 
sell, (ii) no longer allow organizations to substitute an annual 
financial report for a quarterly report, (iii) cap cumulative late 
fees for report filing at $750, and (iv) add clarifying 
definitions. 

Issues: Changes were due to legislative mandates from the 
2007 Acts of Assembly. The existing regulations are not 
reflective of these actions and no other alternatives were 
considered. It is anticipated that the proposed regulatory 
action will pose no disadvantages to the public or the 
Commonwealth. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Charitable Gaming Board (Board) proposes several 
amendments to these regulations to reflect changes to the 
Code of Virginia pursuant to the 2007 Acts of Assembly.  
Additionally, the board proposes to 1) specify that paid 
callers and managers may not play bingo at any session they 
have worked and may not purchase instant bingo, pull-tab, or 
seal card products from organizations they assist on the day 
they have worked or later from any deal they have helped 
sell, 2) no longer allow organizations to substitute an annual 
financial report for a quarterly report, 3) cap cumulative late 
fees for report filing at $750, and 4) add clarifying 
definitions. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 
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Estimated Economic Impact. The current regulations specify 
that volunteer game workers may not play bingo at any 
session they have worked after the session has started. 
Volunteer game workers may not purchase directly or 
through others instant bingo, pull-tab, or seal card products 
from organizations they assist on the day they have 
volunteered or from any deal they have helped sell, 
whichever is later. 

There have been some reported instances where paid callers 
and managers have played bingo at sessions where they have 
worked.1 According to the Department of Charitable Gaming 
(Department), it was not the intent of the board to ban 
volunteer game workers from playing bingo at sessions where 
they work, but permit paid workers to do so. Having paid 
workers be possible winners does put the fairness of the 
games into question. Therefore the board proposes to specify 
that paid callers and managers may not play bingo at any 
session they have worked and may not purchase instant 
bingo, pull-tab, or seal card products from organizations they 
assist on the day they have worked or later from any deal they 
have helped sell. Specifying this in the regulations will make 
it easier for the board to enforce this prohibition. Thus adding 
this language to these regulations should produce a net 
benefit. 

Under both the current and proposed regulations, 
organizations realizing any gross gaming receipts in any 
calendar quarter are required to file a quarterly report of 
receipts and disbursements on a form prescribed by the 
department.  The current regulations allow the annual 
financial report to substitute for a quarterly report if the 
organization has no further charitable gaming income during 
the remainder of the reporting period and the annual report is 
filed by the due date for the applicable calendar quarter. The 
Board proposes to no longer permit the annual report to 
substitute for a quarterly report. According to the department, 
it is not uncommon for charitable organizations staffed by 
volunteers to lose track of their administrative duties.  The 
department believes that requiring organizations to report 
quarterly without exception will make it less likely that they 
will have to shutdown charitable games due to poor 
management.  The Department estimates that if organizations 
file their quarterly reports through the department website it 
should only take about five minutes of their time, and perhaps 
an hour for those without Internet access. If requiring 
organizations to report quarterly without exception does in 
fact make it less likely that some charitable games will have 
to be shutdown due to poor management, then the proposal 
will likely produce a net benefit since the cost of complying 
is so small. 

Under both the current and proposed regulations, 
organizations failing to file required reports, request an 
extension or make fee payments when due are charged a 
penalty of $25 per day. The current regulations place no limit 
on accumulated fees. The board proposes to no longer add to 

late fees beyond 30 days and $750. The board believes that 
greater penalties do not significantly add to the incentive for 
organizations to submit reports and take away from the 
benefits to the public of these charitable organizations. Thus 
capping late fees late will likely produce a net benefit. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
affect the 560 charitable organizations in the 
Commonwealth.2 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
will not significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments will not significantly affect the use and 
value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
amendments will not significantly affect small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments will not 
significantly affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
will not significantly affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§ 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 
___________________________ 
1 Source: Department of Charitable Gaming 
2 Datum source: Department of Charitable Gaming 
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Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The agency concurs 
with the economic impact analysis submitted by the 
Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary:  

The proposed amendments (i) clarify and add definitions; 
(ii) specify that paid callers and managers may not play 
bingo at any session they have worked and may not 
purchase instant bingo, pull-tab, or seal card products 
from organizations they assist on the day they have worked 
or later from any deal they have helped sell; (iii) no longer 
allow organizations to substitute an annual financial 
report for a quarterly report; and (iv) cap cumulative late 
fees at $750 for late report filing. 

Part I  
Definitions  

11VAC15-22-10. Definitions.  

In addition to the definitions contained in § 18.2-340.16 of 
the Code of Virginia, the words and terms below, when used 
in this chapter, shall have the following meanings unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Bingo caller" means an individual who operates the 
equipment used for the random selection of bingo numbers 
and announces the selected bingo numbers during the bingo 
session. 

"Bingo manager" or "game manager" means an individual 
who is a bona fide member of the organization and has been 
designated by the organization's management as being 
responsible for the operation of a particular session, for 
ensuring the compliance of the specific session with all 
applicable laws and rules and regulations, and who is present 
during the conduct of the designated session. 

"Board" means the Virginia Charitable Gaming Board.  

"Board of directors" means the board of directors, managing 
committee, or other supervisory body of a qualified 
organization.  

"Calendar day" means the period of 24 consecutive hours 
commencing at 12:01 a.m. and concluding at midnight.  

"Calendar week" means the period of seven consecutive 
calendar days commencing at 12:01 a.m. on Sunday and 
ending at midnight the following Saturday.  

"Cash" means United States currency or coinage.  

"Concealed face bingo card" means a nonreusable bingo 
card constructed to conceal the card face. This type of card is 
commonly referred to under trade names such as "Tear-open" 
or "Bonanza Bingo."  

"Conduct" means the actions associated with the provision 
of a gaming operation during and immediately before or after 

the permitted activity, which may include, but not be limited 
to (i) selling bingo cards or packs, electronic devices, instant 
bingo, or pull-tab cards, or raffle tickets; (ii) calling bingo 
games; (iii) distributing prizes; and (iv) any other services 
provided by volunteer workers.  

"DCG number" means a unique identification number issued 
by the department.  

"Daubing" means covering a square containing a number 
called with indelible ink or otherwise concealing the number 
on a card or an electronic facsimile of a card.  

"Deal" means each separate package or series of packages 
consisting of one game of instant bingo, pull-tabs, or seal 
cards with the same serial number.  

"Decision bingo" means a bingo game where the cost to a 
player to play is dependent on the number of balls called and 
the prize payout is in direct relationship to the number of 
participants and the number of balls called, but shall not 
exceed statutory prize limits for a regular bingo game.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Charitable 
Gaming.  

"Director" means the Director of the Virginia Department of 
Charitable Gaming.  

"Discount" means any reduction in cost of admission or 
game packs or any other purchases through use of coupons, 
free packs, or other similar methods.  

"Disinterested player" means a player who is unbiased.  

"Disposable paper card" means a nonreusable, paper bingo 
card manufactured with preprinted numbers.  

"Door prize" means any prize awarded by the random 
drawing or random selection of a name or number based 
solely on attendance at a gaming session.  

"Electronic bingo device" means an electronic device that 
uses proprietary software or hardware, or in conjunction with 
commonly available software and computers, displays 
facsimiles of bingo cards and allows a player to daub such 
cards.  

"Fiscal year" or "annual reporting period" means the 12-
month period beginning January 1 and ending December 31 
of any given year.  

"Flare" means a piece of paper, cardboard, or similar 
material that bears printed information relating to the name of 
the manufacturer or logo, name of the game, card count, cost 
per play, serial number, the number of prizes to be awarded, 
and the specific prize amounts in a deal of instant bingo, pull-
tab, or seal cards.  

"Free space number," "perm number," "center number," 
"card number" or "face number" means the number generally 
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printed in the center space of a bingo card that identifies the 
unique pattern of numbers printed on that card.  

"Game program" means a written list of all games to be 
played including, but not limited to, the sales price of all 
bingo paper and electronic bingo devices, pack configuration, 
prize amounts to be paid during a session for each game, and 
an indication whether prize amounts are fixed or are based on 
attendance.  

"Immediate family" means one's spouse, parent, child, 
sibling, grandchild, grandparent, mother or mother-in-law, 
father-in-law, or stepchild.  

"Interested persons" means the president, an officer, or 
bingo manager of any qualified organization which that is 
exempt or is a permit applicant or holds a permit to conduct 
charitable gaming or the owner, director, officer, or partner of 
an entity engaged in supplying charitable gaming supplies to 
organizations.  

"IRS" means the United States Internal Revenue Service.  

"Lucky Seven" means a bingo game as authorized in § 18.2-
340.33 (9a) (b) of the Code of Virginia.  

"Management" means the provision of oversight of a 
gaming operation, which may include, but is not limited to, 
the responsibilities of applying for and maintaining a permit 
or authorization, compiling, submitting, and maintaining 
required records and financial reports, and ensuring that all 
aspects of the operation are in compliance with all applicable 
statutes and regulations.  

"Manufacturer" means a person who assembles from raw 
materials or subparts a completed piece of bingo or other 
charitable gaming equipment or supplies. "Manufacturer" also 
means a person who modifies, converts, adds, or removes 
parts to or from bingo or other charitable gaming equipment 
or supplies to further their promotion or sale for the conduct 
of charitable gaming.  

"Operation" means the activities associated with production 
of a charitable gaming activity, which may include, but not be 
limited to (i) the direct on-site supervision of the conduct of 
charitable gaming; (ii) coordination of volunteers; and (iii) all 
responsibilities of charitable gaming designated by the 
organization's management.  

"Owner" means any individual with financial interest of 
10% or more in a supplier.  

"Pack" means sheets of bingo paper or electronic facsimiles 
assembled in the order of games to be played. This may 
include specials and jackpots, but shall not include any bingo 
jackpots, winner-take-all, Lucky Seven, or raffle.  

"Prize" means cash, merchandise, certificate, or other item 
of value awarded to a winning player.  

"Progressive seal card" means a seal card game in which a 
prize is carried forward to the next deal if not won when a 
deal is completed.  

"Remuneration" means payment in cash or the provision of 
anything of value for goods provided or services rendered.  

"Seal card" means a board or placard used in conjunction 
with a deal of the same serial number which that contains one 
or more concealed areas that, when removed or opened, 
reveal a predesignated winning number, letter, or symbol 
located on that board or placard.  

"Serial number" means a unique number printed by the 
manufacturer on each bingo card in a set, each instant bingo, 
pull-tab, or seal card in a deal, each electronic bingo device, 
or each door prize ticket.  

"Series number" means the number of unique card faces 
contained in a set of disposable bingo paper cards or bingo 
hard cards. A 9000 series, for example, has 9000 unique 
faces.  

"Session" means a period of time during which one or more 
bingo games are conducted that begins with the selection of 
the first ball for the first game and ends with the selection of 
the last ball for the last game.  

"Treasure chest" means a raffle including a locked treasure 
chest containing a prize that a participant, selected through 
some other authorized charitable game, is afforded the chance 
to select from a series of keys a predetermined key that will 
open the locked treasure chest to win a prize.  

"Use of proceeds" means the use of funds derived by an 
organization from its charitable gaming activities which that 
are disbursed for those lawful religious, charitable, 
community, or educational purposes. This includes expenses 
relating to the acquisition, construction, maintenance, or 
repair of any interest in the real property involved in the 
operation of the organization and used for lawful religious, 
charitable, community, or educational purposes.  

"WINGO" is a variation of a traditional bingo game that 
uses visual devices rather than a verbal caller and is played by 
hearing impaired persons.  

Part III  
Conduct of Games, Rules of Play, Electronic Bingo  

11VAC15-22-40. Conduct of bingo, instant bingo, pull-
tabs, seal cards, and raffles.  

A. Organizations subject to this chapter shall post their 
permit at all times on the premises where charitable gaming is 
conducted.  

B. No individual shall provide any information or engage in 
any conduct that alters or is intended to alter the outcome of 
any charitable game.  
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C. Individuals under 18 years of age may play bingo 
provided such persons are accompanied by a parent or legal 
guardian. It shall be the responsibility of the organization to 
ensure that such individuals are eligible to play. An 
organization's house rules may further limit the play of bingo 
or purchase raffle tickets by minors.  

D. Individuals under the age of 18 may sell raffle tickets for 
a qualified organization raising funds for activities in which 
they are active participants.  

E. No individual under the age of 18 may participate in the 
management or operation of bingo games. Individuals 14 
through 17 years of age may participate in the conduct of a 
bingo game provided the organization permitted for charitable 
gaming obtains and keeps on file written parental consent 
from the parent or legal guardian and verifies the date of birth 
of such youth. An organization's house rules may further limit 
the involvement of minors in the conduct of bingo games.  

F. No qualified organization shall sell any instant bingo, 
pull-tab, or seal card to any individual under 18 years of age. 
No individual under 18 years of age shall play or redeem any 
instant bingo, pull-tab, or seal card.  

G. Immediate family members of bona fide members and 
surviving spouses of deceased bona fide members may 
participate as volunteer game workers.  

H. All volunteer game workers shall have in their possession 
a picture identification, such as a driver's license or other 
government-issued identification, while participating in the 
management, operation, or conduct of a bingo game.  

I. A game manager who is a bona fide member of the 
organization and is designated by the organization's 
management as the person responsible for the operation of the 
bingo game during a particular session shall be present any 
time a bingo game is conducted.  

J. Organizations shall ensure that all charitable gaming 
equipment is in working order before charitable gaming 
activities commence.  

K. Any organization selling bingo, instant bingo, pull-tabs, 
or seal cards shall:  

1. Maintain a supplier's invoice or a legible copy thereof at 
the location where the gaming is taking place and cards are 
sold. The original invoice or legible copy shall be stored in 
the same storage space as the gaming supplies. All gaming 
supplies shall be stored in a secure area that has access 
limited only to bona fide members of the organization; and  

2. Pay for all gaming supplies only by a check drawn on 
the charitable gaming account of the organization.  

A complete inventory of all such gaming supplies shall be 
maintained by the organization on the premises where the 
gaming is being conducted.  

L. A volunteer working a bingo session may receive 
complimentary food and nonalcoholic beverages provided on 
premises, as long as the retail value of such food and 
beverages does not exceed $15 for each session.  

M. Permitted organizations shall not commingle records, 
supplies, or funds from permitted activities with those from 
instant bingo, pull-tabs, or seal cards sold in social quarters in 
accordance with § 18.2-340.26:1 of the Code of Virginia.  

N. Individuals who are not members of an organization or 
are members who do not participate in any charitable gaming 
activities may be paid reasonable fees for preparation of 
quarterly and annual financial reports.  

O. No free packs, free electronic bingo devices, discounts, 
or remuneration in any other form shall be provided directly 
or indirectly to volunteers, members of their family, or 
individuals residing in their household. The reduction of 
tuition, dues, or any fees or payments due as a result of a 
member or shareholder, or anyone in their household, 
working bingo games or raffles is prohibited.  

P. Individuals providing security for an organization's 
charitable gaming activity shall not participate in the 
charitable gaming activity and shall not be compensated with 
charitable gaming supplies or with rentals of electronic bingo 
devices.  

Q. No organization shall award any prize money or any 
merchandise valued in excess of the amounts specified by the 
Code of Virginia.  

R. Multiple bingo sessions shall be permitted in a single 
premises as long as the sessions are distinct from one another 
and are not used to advertise or do not result in the awarding 
of more in prizes than is permitted for a single qualified 
organization. All leases for organizations to conduct 
charitable gaming in a single premises shall be for sessions 
separated by an interval of at least one hour. Bingo sales for 
the subsequent session may take place during the one-hour 
break once the building is cleared of all patrons and workers 
from the previous session.  

S. All bingo and instant bingo, pull-tabs, or seal card sales 
must occur within the time specified on the charitable gaming 
permit.  

T. Instant bingo, pull-tabs, or seal cards shall only be sold in 
conjunction with a regular bingo session, except as provided 
in § 18.2-340.26:2 of the Code of Virginia. 

U. No sales of instant bingo, pull tabs, or seal card sales 
cards sold in conjunction with a regular bingo session shall 
take place more than two hours before or after a session. If 
multiple sessions are held at the same location, no instant 
bingo, pull-tab, or seal card sales shall be conducted during 
the required one hour break between sessions. The 
department may take action if it believes that a regular bingo 
session is not legitimate or is being conducted in a manner 
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such that instant bingo, pull-tabs, or seal cards are not being 
sold in conjunction with a normal, regular bingo session.  

U. V. Only a volunteer game worker of qualified 
organizations may rent, exchange, or otherwise provide 
electronic bingo devices to players.  

V. W. A qualified organization shall conduct only bingo 
games and raffles listed on a game program for that session. 
The program shall list all prize amounts. If the prize amounts 
are determined by attendance or at the end of a game, the 
game program shall list the attendance required for the prize 
amount or disclose that prizes shall be determined at the end 
of a game and the method for determining the prize amount. 
In such case, the organization shall announce the prize 
amount at the end of the game.  

W. X. A qualified organization selling instant bingo, pull-
tabs, or seal cards shall post a flare provided by the 
manufacturer at the location where such cards are sold. All 
such sales and prize payouts shall be in accordance with the 
flare for that deal.  

X. Y. Only qualified organizations, facilities in which 
qualified organizations play bingo and suppliers permitted by 
the department shall advertise a bingo game. Providing 
players with information about bingo games through printed 
advertising is permitted, provided the name of the qualified 
organization shall be in a type size equal to or larger than the 
name of the premises, hall, or the word "bingo." Printed 
advertisements shall identify the use of proceeds percentage 
reported in the past quarter or fiscal year.  

Y. Z. Raffles which that award prizes based on a percentage 
of gross receipts shall use prenumbered tickets.  

Z. AA. The following rules shall apply to instant bingo, 
pull-tab, or seal card dispensing devices:  

1. A dispenser shall only be used at a location and time 
during which a qualified organization holds a permit to 
conduct charitable gaming. Only cards purchased by an 
organization to be used during the organization's charitable 
gaming activity shall be in the dispenser.  

2. Keys to the dispensing area and coin/cash box shall be in 
the possession and control of the game manager or 
designee of the organization's board of directors at all 
times. Keys shall at all times be available at the location 
where the dispensing device is being used.  

3. The game manager or designee shall provide access to a 
department agent for inspection upon request.  

4. Only a volunteer game worker of an organization may 
stock the device, remove cash, or pay winners' prizes.  

AA. BB. Organizations shall only purchase gaming supplies 
from a supplier or manufacturer who has a current permit 
issued by the department.  

BB. CC. An organization shall not alter bingo paper from its 
original form as invoiced from the supplier.  

CC. DD. The total amount of all discounts given by any 
organization during any fiscal year shall not exceed 1.0% of 
the organization's prior year gross receipts.  

11VAC15-22-50. Rules of play. 

A. Each organization shall adopt "house rules" regarding 
conduct of the game. Such rules shall be consistent with the 
provisions of the law and this chapter. "House rules" shall be 
conspicuously posted or, at an organization's option, printed 
on the game program.  

B. All players shall be physically present at the location 
where the balls for a bingo game are drawn to play the game 
or to claim a prize. Seal card prizes that can only be 
determined after a seal is removed or opened must be claimed 
within 30 days of the close of a deal. All other prizes must be 
claimed on the game date.  

C. The following rules of play shall govern the sale of 
instant bingo, pull-tabs, and seal cards:  

1. No cards that have been marked, defaced, altered, 
tampered with, or otherwise constructed in a manner that 
tends to deceive the public or affect the chances of winning 
or losing shall be placed into play.  

2. Winning cards shall have the winning symbol or number 
defaced or punched immediately after redemption by the 
organization's authorized representative.  

3. An organization may commingle unsold instant bingo 
cards and pull-tabs with no more than one additional deal. 
The practice of commingling deals shall be disclosed to the 
public via house rules or in a similar manner. Seal card 
deals shall not be commingled.  

4. If a deal is not played to completion and unsold cards 
remain, the remaining cards shall be sold on the next date 
the same type of ticket is scheduled to be sold. If no future 
date is anticipated, the organization shall, after making 
diligent efforts to sell the entire deal, consider the deal 
closed or completed. The unsold cards shall be retained for 
three years following the close of the fiscal year and shall 
not be opened.  

5. All seal card games purchased shall contain the sign-up 
sheet, seals, and the cards packaged together in each deal.  

6. Progressive seal card prizes not claimed within 30 days 
shall be carried forward to the next progressive game in 
progress and paid to the next progressive game prize 
winner.  

D. Volunteer game workers or paid callers and managers 
may not play bingo at any session they have worked after the 
session has started. Volunteer game workers and paid callers 
and managers may not purchase directly or through others 
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instant bingo, pull-tab, or seal card products from 
organizations they assist on the day they have volunteered or 
worked or from any deal they have helped sell, whichever is 
later.  

E. Electronic bingo.  

1. Electronic bingo devices may be used by bingo players 
in the following manner:  

a. Players must input into the device each number called;  

b. Players must notify the game operator or caller of a 
winning pattern of bingo by a means other than use of the 
electronic device;  

c. Players are limited to playing a maximum of 54 card 
faces per device per game;  

d. Electronic bingo devices shall not be reserved for 
players. Each player shall have an equal opportunity to 
use the available devices on a first-come, first-served 
basis;  

e. Each electronic bingo device shall produce a player 
receipt with the organization name, date, time, location, 
sequential transaction or receipt number, number of 
electronic bingo cards loaded, cost of electronic bingo 
cards loaded, date and time of the transaction, and device 
identification number. Images of cards or faces stored in 
an electronic device must be exact duplicates of the 
printed faces if faces are printed;  

f. Department agents may examine and inspect any 
electronic bingo device and related system. Such 
examination and inspection shall include immediate 
access to the device and unlimited inspection of all parts 
and associated systems and may involve the removal of 
equipment from the game premises for further testing;  

g. All electronic bingo devices must be loaded or enabled 
for play on the premises where the game will be played;  

h. All electronic bingo devices shall be rented or 
otherwise provided to a player only by an organization 
and no part of the proceeds of the rental of such devices 
shall be paid to a landlord, his employee, agent, or 
member of his immediate family; and  

i. If a player's call of a bingo is disputed by another 
player or if a department agent makes a request, one or 
more cards stored on an electronic bingo device shall be 
printed by the organization.  

2. Players may exchange a defective electronic bingo 
device for another device provided a disinterested player 
verifies that the device is not functioning. A disinterested 
player shall also verify that no numbers called for the game 
in progress have been keyed into the replacement device 
prior to the exchange.  

F. The following rules of play shall govern the conduct of 
raffles:  

1. Before a prize drawing, each stub or other detachable 
section of each ticket sold shall be placed into a receptacle 
from which the winning tickets shall be drawn. The 
receptacle shall be designed so that each ticket placed in it 
has an equal chance to be drawn.  

2. All prizes shall be valued at fair market value.  

G. The following rules shall apply to "decision bingo" 
games:  

1. Decision bingo shall be played on bingo cards in the 
conventional manner.  

2. Players shall enter a game by paying a predetermined 
amount for each card face in play.  

3. After the calling of each set of three numbers, players 
wishing to continue playing shall pay an additional 
predetermined fee for each card in play.  

4. The prize amount shall be the total of all fees not to 
exceed $100. Any excess funds shall be retained by the 
organization.  

5. The predetermined amounts in subdivisions 2 and 3 of 
this subsection shall be printed in the game program. The 
prize amount for a game shall be announced before the 
prize is paid to the winner.  

H. The following rules shall apply to "treasure chest" games:  

1. The organization shall list the treasure chest game on the 
bingo game program as a "Treasure Chest Raffle."  

2. The organization shall have house rules posted that 
describe how the game is to be played.  

3. The treasure chest participant shall only be selected 
through some other authorized charitable game at the same 
bingo session.  

4. The organization shall account for all funds as treasure 
chest/raffle sales on the session reconciliation form.  

5. If the player does not open the lock on the treasure chest, 
the game manager or his designee shall proceed to try 
every key until the correct key opens the treasure chest 
lock to show all players that one of the keys will open the 
lock.  

I. The following rules shall apply to "Lucky Seven" games:  

1. General rules.  

a. A "Lucky Seven" bingo card shall have a single face 
where seven numbers shall be chosen.  

b. A "Lucky Seven" sheet shall have multiple faces 
where seven numbers shall be chosen per face.  
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c. A player shall select seven numbers between the 
numbers of 1 and 75.  

d. No duplicate numbers shall be played on a purchased 
face.  

e. If a duplicate number appears on a face, then the card 
shall be void.  

f. "Lucky Seven" shall be played on a bingo card or 
sheet, or electronic facsimile thereof.  

g. "Lucky Seven" bingo paper (i.e., card(s) and sheet(s)) 
shall conform to the construction and randomization 
standards in the Charitable Gaming Supplier Regulations 
(11VAC15-31).  

h. "Lucky Seven" shall be sold separately from the bingo 
card(s) or sheet(s) issued for any other bingo game.  

i. "Lucky Seven" shall not be a part of any pack of any 
kind such as a convenience pack, super pack, etc.  

j. The financial accounting for "Lucky Seven" must 
include separate accounting for the "Lucky Seven" sales 
and prize payouts as well as informational entries for 
each session that records the following for the 
progressive jackpot: beginning balance, additions to the 
progressive jackpot, payouts, and ending balance that is 
to be carried over to the next session.  

k. "Lucky Seven" shall be listed on the game program for 
the session it is played.  

l. "Lucky Seven" game card(s) or sheet(s) pricing shall 
be listed on the game program.  

m. The pricing of "Lucky Seven" bingo card(s) or 
sheet(s) shall be by the number of faces.  

n. The price for a "Lucky Seven" bingo card or sheet face 
shall be the same regardless of the number of faces 
purchased by a player.  

o. No discounts shall be allowed.  

p. "Lucky Seven" paper shall not be given away as a door 
prize.  

q. There shall be no more than one "Lucky Seven" game 
per organization per calendar day.  

r. No volunteer may play "Lucky Seven" at any session 
where he has worked.  

s. The pricing for "Lucky Seven" faces shall remain 
constant from when the progressive jackpot is first 
started until the same jackpot has been won.  

2. Progressive jackpot rules.  

a. "Lucky Seven" shall begin with the calling of 16 
random numbers by the game caller. These numbers will 
determine the winner of the "Lucky Seven" progressive 

jackpot. If the progressive jackpot has not been won 
during the session, then the maximum number of 
numbers called for the following session shall be 
increased by one number. This shall continue until the 
progressive jackpot has been won.  

b. The amount of the progressive jackpot shall be 
announced prior to the game being played at the session. 
Multiple winners shall evenly split the progressive 
jackpot.  

c. The initial progressive jackpot for the "Lucky Seven" 
game shall not exceed $500.  

d. The organization shall take into consideration the 
number of players at its sessions when deciding the 
starting amount for its progressive jackpot.  

e. Any increase in the amount for the "Lucky Seven's" 
progressive jackpot game shall be 50% of the moneys 
received from the sales of "Lucky Seven" bingo card(s) 
or sheet(s) during the previous session for which the 
sales occurred or $100 per session, whichever amount is 
less.  

f. Once the progressive jackpot has reached $5,000, the 
organization shall not add any additional money 
generated from the sales of its "Lucky Seven" bingo 
card(s) or sheet(s) from a session to the jackpot.  

g. The amount of numbers needed to win the "Lucky 
Seven" progressive jackpot and the amount of the jackpot 
shall be posted in a conspicuous place inside the bingo 
hall.  

h. Once the progressive jackpot has been won, the next 
progressive jackpot shall not start in excess of $500.  

3. Regular or special prize rules.  

a. If the progressive jackpot has not been won during the 
session, then the game caller shall continue to call 
numbers at random until there is a verified bingo winner 
of the regular or special prize amount.  

b. The regular or special prize amount shall be 
announced prior to the game being played. Multiple 
winners shall evenly split the regular or special prize.  

c. The regular or special prize amount shall be 50% of 
the moneys received from the sales of "Lucky Seven" 
bingo card(s) or sheet(s) during the current session or 
$100, whichever amount is less.  

d. The regular or special prize amount shall not be 
awarded when the progressive jackpot is won by a 
player.  

J. The following rules shall apply to "WINGO":  

1. "WINGO" shall be played only for the hearing impaired 
players.  
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2. "WINGO" shall utilize a visual device such as an 
oversized deck of cards in place of balls selected from a 
blower.  

3. A caller must be in an area visible to all players and 
shall randomly select cards or other visual devices one at a 
time and display them so that all players can see them.  

4. The organization must have house rules for "WINGO" 
and the rules shall identify how players indicate that they 
have won.  

5. All financial reporting shall be consistent with reporting 
for a traditional bingo game.  

11VAC15-22-80. Financial reporting, penalties, 
inspections and audits. 

A. Each charitable gaming permit holder shall file an annual 
report of receipts and disbursements by March 15 of each 
year on a form prescribed by the department. The annual 
report shall cover the activity for the fiscal year.  

B. The annual report shall be accompanied by the audit and 
administration fee as established by the department for the 
fiscal year unless the fee has been remitted with quarterly 
reports. Volunteer fire departments or rescue squads or 
auxiliary units thereof that have been recognized in 
accordance with § 15.2-955 of the Code of Virginia shall be 
exempt from the payment of audit and administration fees.  

C. Except for volunteer fire departments or rescue squads or 
auxiliary units thereof that have been recognized in 
accordance with § 15.2-955 of the Code of Virginia, an 
organization desiring an extension to file annual reports for 
good cause shall pay the projected audit and administration 
fee by March 15 and request the extension in writing on a 
form prescribed by the department.  

D. Unless exempted by § 18.2-340.23 of the Code of 
Virginia, qualified organizations realizing any gross gaming 
receipts in any calendar quarter shall file a quarterly report of 
receipts and disbursements on a form prescribed by the 
department as follows:  

Quarter Ending Date Due 
March 31 June 1 
June 30 September 1 

September 30 December 1 
December 31 March 1 

Quarterly reports shall be accompanied by the appropriate 
audit and administration fee. Volunteer fire departments or 
rescue squads or auxiliary units thereof that have been 
recognized in accordance with § 15.2-955 of the Code of 
Virginia shall be exempt from the payment of audit and 
administration fees. An annual financial report may substitute 
for a quarterly report if the organization has no further 
charitable gaming income during the remainder of the 
reporting period and the annual report is filed by the due date 
for the applicable calendar quarter. 

E. Organizations failing to file required reports, request an 
extension or make fee payments when due shall be charged a 
penalty of $25 per day from the due date until such time as 
the required report is filed up to a maximum of 30 days and 
$750. The failure to file such reports within 30 days of the 
time such reports are due shall cause the automatic revocation 
of the permit, and no organization shall conduct any bingo 
game or raffle thereafter until the report is filed and a new 
permit is obtained. 

F. Any qualified organization in possession of funds derived 
from charitable gaming (including those who have ceased 
operations), regardless of when such funds may have been 
received or whether it has a valid permit from the department, 
shall file an annual financial report on a form prescribed by 
the department on or before March 15 of each year until such 
funds are depleted. If an organization ceases the conduct of 
charitable gaming, it shall provide the department with the 
name of an individual who shall be responsible for filing 
financial reports. If no such information is provided, the 
president of an organization shall be responsible for filing 
reports until all charitable gaming proceeds are depleted.  

G. If an organization has been identified through inspection, 
audit or other means as having deficiencies in complying with 
statutory or regulatory requirements or having ineffective 
internal controls, the department may impose restrictions or 
additional recordkeeping and financial reporting 
requirements.  

H. Any records deemed necessary to complete an inspection, 
audit or investigation may be removed by the department, its 
employees or agents from the premises of an organization or 
any location where charitable gaming is conducted. The 
department shall provide a written receipt of such records at 
the time of removal.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-960; Filed June 12, 2009, 11:17 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 11VAC15-31. Supplier Regulations 
(amending 11VAC15-31-10). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-2456, 18.2-340.15, 18.2-340.19, 
and 18.2-340.34 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on September 4, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Betty Bowman, Director, Division of 
Charitable Gaming, 101 N. 14th St., 17th Floor, James 
Monroe Building, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
786-3015, FAX (804) 786-1079, or email 
betty.bowman@dcg.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 18.2-340.15 of the Code of Virginia gives the 
Charitable Gaming Board the authority to promulgate 
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regulations under which gaming shall be conducted.  Section 
18.2-340.19 of the Code of Virginia describes the regulations 
the board can promulgate. Section 2.2-2456 of the Code of 
Virginia describes the duties of the board, including the 
authority to promulgate regulations. Section 18.2-340.34 of 
the Code of Virginia gives the board the authority to prescribe 
by regulation reasonable criteria consistent with the 
provisions of this article for the registration of suppliers and 
manufacturers of electronic games of chance systems for 
charitable gaming.  

Purpose: These changes do not have any adverse impact on 
the health, safety or welfare to the citizens of Virginia. The 
impact is directly to charitable organizations that have been 
designated by the Internal Revenue Service as 501(c) not-for-
profit entities that manage and report their gaming operations 
to the division. The changes for 2007 are directly related to 
financial reporting and how they report game operations.  

Substance: The amendments add the definition of "last sale 
game" to provide clarity as to when these types of sales can 
occur. The definition of "pack" was amended to clarify the 
meaning for bingo jackpot. 

Issues: Changes were due to legislative mandates from the 
2007 Acts of Assembly. The existing regulations are not 
reflective of these actions and no other alternatives were 
considered. It is anticipated that the proposed regulatory 
action will pose no disadvantages to the public or the 
Commonwealth. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Chapter 196 of the 2007 Acts of Assembly states that instant 
bingo, pull tabs or seal cards may be sold only upon the 
premises owned or exclusively leased by the organization and 
at such times as the portion of the premises in which the 
instant bingo, pull tabs or seal cards are sold is open only to 
members and their guests. Nothing in this article shall be 
construed to prohibit the conduct of games of chance 
involving the sale of pull tabs or seal cards, commonly known 
as last sale games, conducted in accordance with this section. 

The Charitable Gaming Board (Board) proposes to add a 
definition of "last sale game" to these regulations for 
clarification. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. According to the Department of 
Charitable Gaming there has been some uncertainty over the 
precise meaning of "last sale game."  In order to add clarity 
for the public the Board proposes to add the North American 
Gaming Regulators Association definition of "last sale game" 
to these regulations. Greater clarity will provide a net benefit 
for the public. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 
potentially affects the 560 charitable organizations in the 
Commonwealth.1 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 
does not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 
will not significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendment will not significantly affect the use and 
value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
amendment will not significantly affect small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendment will not 
significantly affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment 
will not significantly affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 

_______________________________ 
1 Datum source: Department of Charitable Gaming 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The agency concurs 
with the economic impact analysis submitted by the 
Department of Planning and Budget. 
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Summary:  

The amendments add the definition of "last sale game" and 
modify the definition of "pack." 

11VAC15-31-10. Definitions. 

In addition to the definitions contained in § 18.2-340.16 of 
the Code of Virginia, the words and terms below when used 
in this chapter shall have the following meanings unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Agent" means any person authorized by a supplier to act 
for or in place of such supplier.  

"Board" means the Virginia Charitable Gaming Board.  

"Cash" means United States currency or coinage.  

"Concealed face bingo card" means a nonreusable bingo 
card constructed to conceal the card face. This type of card is 
commonly referred to under trade names such as "Tear-open" 
or "Bonanza Bingo."  

"Conduct" means the actions associated with the provisions 
of a gaming operation during and immediately before or after 
the permitted activity, which may include, but is not limited 
to (i) selling bingo cards or packs, electronic devices, instant 
bingo or pull-tab cards, or raffle tickets; (ii) calling bingo 
games; (iii) distributing prizes; and (iv) any other services 
provided by volunteer workers.  

"DCG number" means a unique identification number issued 
by the department.  

"Deal" means each separate package or series of packages 
consisting of one game of instant bingo, pull-tabs, or seal 
cards with the same serial number.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Charitable 
Gaming.  

"Designator" means an object used in the number selection 
process, such as a ping-pong ball, upon which bingo letters 
and numbers are imprinted.  

"Director" means the Director of the Virginia Department of 
Charitable Gaming.  

"Disposable paper card" means a nonreusable paper bingo 
card manufactured with preprinted numbers.  

"Electronic bingo device" means an electronic device that 
uses proprietary software or hardware, or is used in 
conjunction with commonly available software and 
computers, to display facsimiles of bingo cards and allows a 
player to daub such cards.  

"Equipment and video systems" includes equipment which 
that facilitates the conduct of charitable gaming such as ball 
blowers, flashboards, electronic verifiers and replacement 
parts for such equipment.  

"Fiscal year" or "annual reporting period" means the 12-
month period beginning January 1 and ending December 31 
of any given year.  

"Flare" means a piece of paper, cardboard or similar 
material which that bears printed information relating to the 
name of the manufacturer or logo, name of the game, card 
count, cost per play, serial number, the number of prizes to be 
awarded, and the specific prize amounts in a deal of instant 
bingo, pull-tabs, or seal cards.  

"Immediate family" means one's spouse, parent, child, 
sibling, grandchild, grandparent, mother or mother-in-law, 
father-in-law, or stepchild.  

"Interested persons" means the owner, director, officer, or 
partner of an entity engaged in supplying charitable gaming 
supplies to organizations.  

"Last sale game" means those pull-tab games where an 
automatic instant prize or a chance at a seal prize is offered 
for the purchaser of the last remaining ticket in the deal, 
§ 18.2-340.26:1 of the Code of Virginia restricts the sale of 
these games to social quarters only, and the invoice must 
clearly state "Last Sale Games for Social Quarters Only." 

"Management" means the provision of oversight of a 
gaming operation, which may include, but is not limited to, 
the responsibilities of applying for and maintaining a permit 
or authorization; compiling, submitting and maintaining 
required records and financial reports; and ensuring that all 
aspects of the operation are in compliance with all applicable 
statutes and regulations.  

"Manufacturer" means a person or entity that assembles 
from raw materials or subparts a completed piece of bingo or 
other charitable gaming equipment or supplies. 
"Manufacturer" also means a person or entity that modifies, 
converts, adds or removes parts to or from bingo or other 
charitable gaming equipment or supplies to further their 
promotion or sale for the conduct of charitable gaming.  

"Operation" means the activities associated with production 
of a charitable gaming activity, which may include, but is not 
limited to (i) the direct on-site supervision of the conduct of 
charitable gaming, (ii) coordination of volunteers, and (iii) all 
responsibilities of charitable gaming designated by the 
organization's management.  

"Owner" means any individual with financial interest of 
10% or more in a supplier.  

"Pack" means sheets of bingo paper or electronic facsimiles 
assembled in the order of games to be played. This may 
include specials and jackpots, but shall not include any bingo 
jackpots, winner-take-all, Lucky Seven, or raffle.  

"Prize" means cash, merchandise, certificate, or other item 
of value awarded to a winning player.  
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"Progressive seal card" means a seal card game in which a 
prize is carried forward to the next deal if not won when a 
deal is completed.  

"Remuneration" means payment in cash or the provision of 
anything of value for goods provided or services rendered.  

"Seal card" means a board or placard used in conjunction 
with a deal of the same serial number which that contains one 
or more concealed areas that, when removed or opened, 
reveal a predesignated winning number, letter, or symbol 
located on that board or placard.  

"Selection device" means a manually or mechanically 
operated device to randomly select bingo numbers.  

"Serial number" means a unique number printed by the 
manufacturer on each bingo card in a set, each instant bingo, 
pull-tabs or seal card in a deal, each electronic bingo device 
or each door prize ticket.  

"Series number" means the number of unique card faces 
contained in a set of disposable bingo paper cards or bingo 
hard cards. A 9000 series, for example, has 9000 unique 
faces.  

"Session" means a period of time during which one or more 
bingo games are conducted that begins with the selection of 
the first ball for the first game and ends with the selection of 
the last ball for the last game.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-961; Filed June 12, 2009, 11:17 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH  

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Health is 
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
pursuant to Item 295 E of Chapter 781 of the 2009 Acts of 
Assembly, which exempts the Special Supplemental Nutrition 
Program for Women, Infants, and Children from the 
requirements of the Administrative Process Act. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-195. Virginia WIC Program 
(amending 12VAC5-195-20, 12VAC5-195-30, 12VAC5-
195-70, 12VAC5-195-140, 12VAC5-195-180, 12VAC5-195-
190, 12VAC5-195-280 through 12VAC5-195-340, 
12VAC5-195-360, 12VAC5-195-370, 12VAC5-195-390, 
12VAC5-195-400, 12VAC5-195-410, 12VAC5-195-420, 
12VAC5-195-450, 12VAC5-195-460, 12VAC5-195-480 
through 12VAC5-195-550, 12VAC5-195-580, 12VAC5-
195-590, 12VAC5-195-600, 12VAC5-195-610, 12VAC5-
195-630, 12VAC5-195-640, 12VAC5-195-660, 12VAC5-
195-670; repealing 12VAC5-195-380). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-12 of the Code of Virginia; 
7 CFR Part 246. 

Effective Date: July 6, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Anne Massey, Policy Analyst, Department 
of Health, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 864-7800 ext. 7797, or email 
anne.massey@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The majority of the amendments made to the Virginia WIC 
Program are made to Part III of the regulations, which 
focuses on vendor requirements. The amendments are the 
result of significant edits to the Vendor Manual for the 
Virginia WIC Program. The amendments expand the 
current regulations and provide added detail to enrollment 
procedures, general requirements and conditions for retail 
authorization and policies regarding conflict of interest, 
solicitation, high-risk designation, and sanctions and 
administrative actions. 

Substantive changes regarding vendor requirements 
include the following: 

1. The ranking criteria for selecting retailers and 
applicants competing for available slots is amended in 
situations when multiple stores have equal rankings and 
there are not enough slots to authorize all stores. Two 
additional criteria for breaking ties when equal ranking 
exists include: (i) having the corporate representative 
decide on which store receives the slot if both stores in a 
tie are owned by the same corporate entity; and (ii) 
offering the slot to the store with the highest food stamp 
sales for the previous six months if both stores are not 
owned by the same corporate entity. The existing criterion 
to give preference to retailers certified by the Department 
of Minority Business Enterprise is eliminated.  

2. Previously authorized stores may be given a one-year 
extension of their authorization if they compete with a 
newly opened, better qualified store for a slot. 

3. The low volume performance standard, which requires 
authorized retail stores to serve at least an average of 60 
unique WIC participants a month, has been eliminated.  

4. Additional detail has been added regarding specific, 
mandatory requirements that stores must meet in order to 
be reimbursed, including entry of mandatory and optional 
food and formula prices and submission of a direct deposit 
form to the state agency.  

5. The informal settlement meetings provision is 
significantly changed to reflect a shift in the purpose of 
informal settlement meetings. Instead of the informal 
settlement meetings being part of the appeals process, the 
state agency will use these meetings as a precursor to 
administrative action to be held before action is taken.  
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Substantive changes regarding participant requirements 
include (i) clarifying that WIC food instruments will be 
mailed for a one-month period unless otherwise approved 
by the state agency; (ii) expanding the justification for 
mailing of WIC food instruments to include "difficulty 
obtaining a complete prescription for special formula as 
approved by a local WIC coordinator"; and (iii) 
conforming to federal regulations by changing the 
timeframe for requesting a fair hearing to within 15 days 
of the written notification date of program denial, 
termination of benefits, or claim against an individual for 
improperly issued benefits. 

12VAC5-195-20. Purpose. 

A. The Virginia WIC Program serves women who are 
breastfeeding, pregnant, or have just given birth; infants less 
than one year old; and children less than five years old. WIC 
participants must be Virginia residents and meet the financial 
and nutritional requirements.  

B. The Virginia WIC Program provides special 
supplemental foods to eligible participants through a retailer 
delivery system (7 CFR 246.12). Food benefits are issued by 
local agencies to eligible participants using food instruments 
(7 CFR 246.10). Participants redeem their food instruments at 
any authorized retailer or entity. The state agency enters into 
an agreement with authorized stores (7 CFR 246.12(h)) 
(7 CFR 246.12). This agreement identifies the obligations, 
rights and responsibilities of both the authorized retail store 
and the state agency. Retailers deposit these food instruments 
into their bank account. The state agency pays authorized 
retailers a reasonable dollar amount for the foods purchased, 
as listed on the deposited food instruments (7 CFR 
246.12(h)(2)(3)) (7 CFR 246.12).  

C. The state agency shall promulgate policies, guidelines, 
manuals and training resources to facilitate operations of the 
Virginia WIC Program in accordance with its contractual 
agreement with Food Nutrition Service (FNS) (7 CFR 246.3); 
the guidelines and instructions issued by FNS in policy 
letters; and management evaluations and audits and the WIC 
Program State Plan of Operations. 

12VAC5-195-30. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative appeal" means the procedure through which 
applicants and/or retail stores may appeal a state agency's 
administrative action, including program disqualification, 
denied authorization and other termination reasons. 

"Annualized income" means income amount covering a 12-
month period used to determine financial eligibility for the 
WIC Program. 

"Applicant" or "retail store applicant" means a sole 
proprietorship, a partnership, cooperative association or a 
corporation that is not currently authorized to accept WIC 
food instruments. 

"Approved food list" means a brochure or method used by 
the WIC Program to communicate to eligible participants, 
retailers, local agencies and other interested parties which 
authorized supplemental foods may be purchased using WIC 
food instruments. The approved food list is a guide and must 
be used with the printed food instrument, which may identify 
specific brands or additional products not stated on the 
approved food list that may be purchased by participants. 

"Authorization" means the process by which the state 
agency assesses, selects and enters into an agreement with 
stores that apply or subsequently reapply to be authorized. 

"Automated clearinghouse" or "ACH credit" or "direct 
deposit" means a method used to reimburse stores for certain 
types of processed food instruments (i.e., "Over FI Max."). A 
credit is made to the store's designated bank account and 
routing number using the automated clearinghouse process. 

"Business economic areas" or "BEAs" mean a categorization 
method established by the United States Department of 
Commerce – Bureau of Economic Analysis and used by the 
state agency to identify geographically similar trade and 
economic communities. Some more populated BEAs are 
further broken down into smaller subsets or peer groupings, 
based upon number of unique participants served by 
authorized stores. 

"Caretaker" means a person designated by a parent or legal 
guardian to certify an infant/child, obtain and redeem food 
instruments and attend nutrition education. A caretaker may 
be any person who has detailed knowledge of the nutritional 
needs and eating habits of the infant/child. A parent or legal 
guardian may designate one caretaker per family ID nmber 
number. 

"Caseload" means the number of WIC participants assigned 
to a local agency by the state agency. 

"Cash value food benefits" means a special food instrument 
that has been issued to eligible participants for a specific 
dollar amount that must be used to purchase fruits and 
vegetables. Unless stated otherwise, all references to food 
instruments include cash value food benefits, as well as food 
and formula food instruments. 

"Enrollment" means the process all applicants and 
authorized stores must complete in order for a store to be 
eligible to accept WIC food instruments. 

"Food instrument type" or "FI type" means a grouping of 
certain foods and formula together that is used for 
reimbursement purposes in a paper-based system. 
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"Image replacement document" or "IRD" means a legal copy 
of a deposited food instrument that is created and transmitted 
by a store's depository bank to the WIC Program's backend 
processor for payment consideration. 

"Informal settlement meeting" means a meeting held with an 
authorized store or applicant representative and the state WIC 
director whose purpose is to review and clarify outstanding 
WIC Program administrative issues. 

"Leave and earnings statement" or "LES" means the 
earnings statement for a member of the uniformed service. 

"Legal guardian" means an individual who has been 
appointed by a court of law or the Department of Social 
Services, or other legal means, to have primary, physical 
custody of a minor. A legal guardian shall be authorized to 
provide eligibility information for an applicant, consent to 
medical treatment of the applicant, and shall be held legally 
bound if sanctions are imposed. 

"Low volume retailer" means authorized stores that service 
on average a fewer number of participants than the 
performance standard, as established by the state agency. 

"Peer group" means a classification of applicants and 
authorized stores into groups based on common 
characteristics or criteria that affect food prices for the 
purpose of applying appropriate competitive price criteria to 
stores at authorization and limiting payments for foods at 
competitive pricing levels. 

"Postpayment review" means an analysis of paid food 
instruments redeemed by authorized retailers in order to 
determine if pricing and redemption discrepancies exist. 
Based upon this analysis, a vendor claim against the retail 
store may be established by the state agency. 

"Prepayment edit" means a price adjustment made to the 
reimbursement level given to retailers. This editing process 
can be either automated or a manual screening of deposited 
food instruments done by an independent banking contractor, 
prior to releasing payment to authorized retail stores. 

"Retailer" means a vendor, retail store, commissary, or 
entity authorized by the Virginia WIC Program to accept 
WIC food instruments for the various types of foods listed on 
food instruments. 

"Retailer agreement" means a written agreement that 
establishes the respective roles and responsibilities of the 
program and authorized retailers in complying with federal 
and state requirements. 

"Sanctions" mean a penalty imposed by the state agency 
upon an authorized retailer for a specific violation outlined in 
the vendor manual or retailer agreement. 

"State agency" means the Division of WIC and Community 
Nutrition Services that has the administrative responsibility 
for managing the Virginia WIC Program. 

"Termination" means the act of ending a retail store's WIC 
Program authorization for administrative reasons that include 
but are not limited to a change of ownership, closed store, 
voluntary withdrawal, and noncompetitive prices. 

"Unique participant" means the number of unduplicated 
individuals who have redeemed one or more food instruments 
at a retail store during a specific period. 

"United States Department of Agriculture" or "USDA" 
means the federal agency that provides funding for the WIC 
Program on behalf of Congress. 

"Vendor claim" means the state agency has determined an 
authorized store committed a violation of the retailer 
agreement that affects the payment status of one or several 
food instruments. The state agency may delay payment or 
establish a claim in the amount of the full purchase price of 
each food instrument that contained the overcharge or other 
error. The state agency will bill and recoup the funds paid 
against these improperly redeemed food instruments. 

"Vendor manual" means a series of written documents that 
communicate administrative policies and procedures for the 
Virginia WIC Program that affect both authorized retailers 
and applicants. The Vendor Manual is part of the WIC 
Program State Plan that must be submitted and approved by 
USDA. 

"Virginia Department of Health" or "VDH" means the state 
agency that oversees the Virginia WIC Program. 

"Waiting list" means a list implemented by the state agency 
when the maximum caseload is reached. 

"Warning" means one or more incidents of noncompliance 
with program requirements were documented. The state 
agency sends a written warning letter to the owner or store 
manager to advise him of any documented violations. A 
warning letter is not sent to the owner or store manager for 
selective documented violations that affect the integrity of the 
investigative process, including but not limited to 
overcharges, fraud, and forgery. 

Part II  
Participant Requirements  

12VAC5-195-70. Eligibility requirements. 

A. Adjunctive financial eligibility requirements. Adjunctive, 
or automatic income eligibility is determined pursuant to 7 
CFR 246.7(d)(2)(vi)(A) 7 CFR 246.7. Documentation is 
required as proof of participation in programs that qualify an 
applicant for adjunctive financial eligibility. The state agency 
also allows the following state-administered programs to be 
used in determining adjunctive income eligibility: 

1. Family Access to Medical Insurance Security Plan 
(FAMIS) and a $2.00 co-pay level; and 

2. FAMIS MOMS program.  
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B. Local agencies shall serve institutionalized applicants if 
they meet all eligibility requirements. 

C. For determining income eligibility, local agency 
personnel shall use the applicant's current or annualized 
income, whichever is the best indication of circumstances. 

D. In determining income eligibility, the state agency 
utilizes all income exclusions listed in 7 CFR 246.7. 

E. Applicants who are not adjunctively financially eligible 
shall have financial eligibility determined using income 
guidelines equaling the income guidelines established under § 
9 of the National School Lunch Act for reduced price school 
meals per 7 CFR 246.7(d)(1) 7 CFR 246.7. 

F. An applicant claiming multiple fetuses shall have the 
stated number used at the time of certification, but is required 
to provide written verification by a physician or nurse 
practitioner working under the supervision of a physician 
within 90 days of certification. 

12VAC5-195-140. Food instruments. 

A. Food instrument issuance. All food instruments shall be 
issued through the automated system after eligibility has been 
documented and only when the participant, parent or legal 
guardian, caretaker, or proxy is physically present at the local 
agency to pick up their food instrument. Failure by the 
participant, parent, legal guardian, caretaker, or proxy to 
attend the initial nutrition education appointment may result 
in reduced WIC benefits for that month. 

B. Lost food instruments. Replacement of lost, valid, not 
redeemed food instruments shall only occur once within the 
entire duration of the participant, parent, caretaker, or legal 
guardian's receipt of WIC services, unless approval is 
obtained from the state agency. Lost food instruments shall 
only be replaced for one of the following situations: 

1. A participant leaving home because of family violence; 

2. A change in full legal custody, including when 
infants/children are removed from home and placed in 
foster care or parental custody is changed; or 

3. An event out of the control of participant, such as a fire 
or natural disaster that is publicly documented. 

C. Stolen food instruments. Food instruments reported as 
stolen shall only be replaced when a police report is provided 
that states that the valid, not redeemed, WIC food instruments 
were the stolen items. Stolen food instruments shall not be 
replaced without a police report, unless costs are associated 
with the police report and a waiver is granted by the state 
agency. Stolen food instruments shall only be replaced once 
within the entire duration of the participant, parent, caretaker, 
or legal guardian's receipt of WIC services, unless approval is 
obtained from the state agency. 

D. Mailing WIC food instruments. Food instruments shall 
only be mailed with prior approval from the competent 
professional authority for individual participants if the 
participant has already received the required secondary 
nutrition education contact or if the participant will be able to 
receive nutrition education at the next visit within the 
certification period. Justification for mailing food instruments 
to individuals, families and groups includes: 

1. Illness or disability as documented by medical records 
and meeting the Americans with Disabilities Act criteria 
(28 CFR Part 35) for physically unable to be present; 

2. Imminent childbirth as documented by medical records; 

3. Distance to travel, especially in rural areas with a 
minimum 60-mile roundtrip travel distance between home 
and the local WIC clinic, as approved by local WIC 
coordinator; 

4. Other travel distance for participants with unique 
transportation challenges; 

5. Computer failure at the local agency site; 

6. Natural disasters; and 

7. Complete systemwide failure of automated system.; and 

8. Difficulty obtaining complete prescription for special 
formula as approved by a local WIC coordinator. 

Food instruments shall only be mailed for a one-month 
period.  Requests beyond the one-month period shall require 
approval by the state agency. 

12VAC5-195-180. Fair hearing. 

A. The Virginia WIC Program is a federally administered 
program. The following fair hearing procedures are a federal 
process with which the state agency must comply. Pursuant to 
7 CFR 246.9(a) 7 CFR 246.9, the state agency shall provide a 
hearing procedure through which any individual may appeal a 
state or local agency action that results in a claim against the 
individual for repayment of the cash value of improperly 
issued benefits or results in the individual's denial of 
participation or disqualification from the program.  

B. The local agency shall inform each individual in writing 
of the right to a fair hearing at the time of a claim against an 
individual for improperly issued benefits or at the time of 
participation denial or of disqualification from the program. 

C. A fair hearing shall be requested within 60 days of the 
written notification date of program denial, termination of 
benefits or claim against an individual for improperly issued 
benefits. The request shall be made in any clear expression to 
present the case to a higher authority. 

D. Participants who appeal the termination of benefits 
within 60 15 days must continue to receive WIC benefits until 
the hearing officer reaches a decision, the participant becomes 
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categorically ineligible, or the certification period expires, 
whichever comes first. 

E. Applicants who are denied WIC benefits at the initial 
certification or because of the expiration of their certification 
may appeal the denial but shall not receive benefits while 
awaiting the hearing decision. 

F. The local agency shall: 

1. Accept a fair hearing request verbally or in writing; 

2. Contact the applicant or participant to schedule a 
preliminary conference within 10 calendar days of the fair 
hearing request; and 

3. Inform the applicant or participant that a fair hearing 
will be conducted if the issue is not resolved at a 
preliminary conference. 

If the issue is resolved at the conference, the applicant or 
participant shall sign a statement indicating that a formal fair 
hearing is no longer requested. If the issue is not resolved at 
the conference, the local agency shall contact the state agency 
to schedule a fair hearing.  

G. A fair hearing will be held within 21 days of the request, 
unless delayed pursuant to subsection I or J, or by mutual 
agreement of the parties. 

H. The state agency shall provide 10 days advanced written 
notice of the date, time and place of the hearing, which shall 
be held in the local agency at which the participant or 
applicant receives WIC Program services. 

I. The participant or applicant must appear at the fair hearing 
in person, but may be accompanied by a representative such 
as a relative, friend, legal counsel, or other spokesperson. The 
applicant or participant must indicate whether or not they will 
be represented by an attorney when the fair hearing request is 
made. The applicant or participant must also provide the state 
agency with copies of any written information to be used 
during the hearing and names of witnesses that will be called 
at least five days prior to the scheduled fair hearing. Failure to 
notify the state agency of these items may result in a 
rescheduled date and time for the fair hearing or the exclusion 
of documents and witnesses from the fair hearing.  

J. The participant or applicant will have one opportunity to 
reschedule the fair hearing's date or time. All requests to 
reschedule the meeting date or time must be submitted in 
writing at least 24 hours before the scheduled meeting date 
unless an emergency occurs, as determined at the discretion 
of the state WIC director or designee. 

K. If the participant or applicant is more than 45 minutes 
late from the agreed upon hearing start time, then this will be 
considered a "no show" unless they can provide 
documentation the state WIC director determines justifies the 
participant's or applicant's tardiness or failure to appear. This 

outcome means that the participant or applicant has forfeited 
his rights to a fair hearing. 

L. Pursuant to 7 CFR 246.9(j) 7 CFR 246.9, the state or 
local agency shall provide the participant, applicant, or 
representative an opportunity to: 

1. Examine, prior to and during the hearing, the documents 
and records presented to support the decision under appeal, 
which will be sent to the applicant or participant 10 days 
prior to the fair hearing; 

2. Be assisted or represented by an attorney or other 
persons; 

3. Bring witnesses; 

4. Advance arguments without undue interference; 

5. Question or refute any testimony or evidence, including 
an opportunity to confront and cross examine adverse 
witnesses; and 

6. Submit evidence to establish all pertinent facts and 
circumstances in the case. 

M. The hearing officer shall hear evidence and testimony 
and reach a decision. The hearing officer shall notify the 
applicant or participant, the state WIC director, and the 
district health director of the decision in writing state WIC 
director shall provide written notification of the hearing 
officer's decision to the applicant or participant and the 
district health director within 45 days of the date of the fair 
hearing request. 

1. Applicants denied benefits may be enrolled upon receipt 
of a favorable decision. 

2. Participants whose benefits were previously denied or 
discontinued may receive or reapply for WIC benefits upon 
receipt of a favorable decision by the hearing officer. 

N. The local agency and state agency shall keep the results 
of the hearing on file for five years. 

12VAC5-195-190. Fair hearing request denial or 
dismissal. 

Per 7 CFR 246.9(f) 7 CFR 246.9, the state and local 
agencies shall not deny or dismiss a request for a hearing 
unless: 

1. The request is not received within the time limit set by 
the state agency; 

2. The request is withdrawn in writing by the appellant or a 
representative of the appellant; 

3. The appellant or representative fails, without good 
cause, to appear at the scheduled hearing; or 

4. The appellant has been denied participation by a 
previous hearing and cannot provide evidence that 
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circumstances relevant to program eligibility have changed 
in such a way as to justify a hearing. 

Part III  
Vendor Requirements  

12VAC5-195-280. Enrollment procedures. 

A. The state agency accepts applications from new store 
applicants year round. 

B. Stores seeking authorization shall sell a range and variety 
of staple foods and WIC-approved formulas at a permanent 
fixed location, as specified in the retailer agreement and 
application package. Only one authorization approval will be 
granted by the state agency to each eligible location selected 
for program authorization. Stand-alone pharmacies and any 
other types of entities that cannot meet all of the general 
requirements outlined in this section will be denied WIC 
Program authorization. 

C. Store applicants shall complete the following 
requirements to become authorized for WIC Program 
participation: 

1. Submit all applications, including pricing updates, using 
an electronic, Internet-based method that has been 
approved by the WIC Program; 

2. Submit prices for all mandatory food and formula items, 
a signed retailer agreement, supplemental informational 
form, direct deposit ACH form, and other required forms 
as deemed necessary to evaluate a retailer's or applicant's 
qualifications; 

3. Pass a competitiveness price assessment completed by 
the WIC Program. The state agency shall determine that 
the prices submitted as part of the new store application 
process are price competitive when compared to other 
stores located in the store's assigned peer group; 

4. Provide documentation to the state agency, upon 
request, that a satisfactory business integrity record exists. 
None of the store's current owners, officers, or managers 
shall have been convicted of or had a civil judgment 
entered against them for conduct demonstrating a lack of 
business integrity, within the past six years; 

5. Pass an unannounced onsite visit to determine if the 
store has the minimum stocking requirement, has available 
for sale the variety and selection of foods as stated on the 
supplemental informational form, and has posted prices 
that are not higher than prices submitted as part of the 
application process. The visit shall also verify that the 
store's hours of operation were accurately reported; 

6. Pass an onsite visit to determine if the type and variety 
of foods sold would qualify the store to earn more than 
50% of its annual sales solely from the WIC Program. If 
the store is likely to be an above 50% vendor, then it shall 
be denied authorization; 

7. Attend a mandatory new store training session 
conducted by either state agency staff or a certified 
corporate trainer within 30 calendar days after the retail 
store passes a stocking and price verification visit. Provide 
documentation to the state agency that this mandatory 
training has been completed. Store applicants shall provide 
to the state agency this documentation within 30 calendar 
days after meeting all other enrollment requirements; 

8. Provide training to store personnel and cashiers on 
proper WIC food instrument handling procedures; and 

9. Return to the state agency all required paperwork within 
14 days after receipt including, but not limited to, a signed 
retailer agreement, if applicable; supplemental 
informational form; direct deposit ACH form; and other 
information deemed necessary to evaluate a retailer's or 
applicant's qualifications; and 

9. 10. Receive from the state agency an authorization 
acknowledgement letter granting WIC Program 
authorization, a Vendor Manual for the Virginia WIC 
Program, a WIC window decal, and an authorization 
stamp. 

D. Newly authorized stores shall begin accepting WIC food 
instruments within 15 calendar days after receiving their 
program authorization stamp and final acknowledgment 
letter. Authorized stores are required to contact the state 
agency in writing if the store will be unable to meet this 
program requirement. Failure to begin accepting WIC food 
instruments within the established time frame may lead to the 
state agency's agency withdrawing its authorization decision. 

E. Store applicants that fail to meet any of the enrollment 
requirements outlined in this section will be denied 
authorization unless inadequate participant access would 
exist. 

12VAC5-195-290. Communications. 

A. Authorized stores shall contact the state agency or their 
assigned agency representative rather than local WIC agency 
staff for all questions related to WIC Program participation 
including, but not limited to, retail store selection and 
authorization requirements and decisions, reimbursement 
questions, participant's food instrument prescriptions, and 
complaints. 

B. Authorized stores shall provide at least 15 calendar days 
written notice if the retailer desires to terminate its 
participation in the WIC Program or when the retailer ceases 
operation, changes ownership, or for any other circumstances 
that impacts service delivery including, but not limited to, 
relocations, renovations, permanent or temporary closures. 

C. The state agency regularly communicates policy and 
procedural changes, training issues, WIC food instrument 
processing tips, cashier reminders and alerts affecting retail 
stores in an informational newsletter. Annually, a newsletter 
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is published and sent to all authorized retail stores to update 
store personnel on major program changes. The program 
posts, if applicable, approved policy changes on its external 
webpage. Authorized stores shall be held accountable for 
complying with all policy changes communicated in writing 
by the state agency. 

D. Written correspondence retained in the state agency's 
centralized files located in Richmond, Virginia, pertaining to, 
but not limited to, a store's authorization status, application 
documentation, or WIC and food stamps compliance history 
is confidential and is protected under federal regulations (7 
CFR 246.26(e)) (7 CFR 246.26). The state agency shall 
maintain stores' compliance history and background 
information for at least a three-year period or the contract 
period, whichever is longer. For civil judgments and food 
stamp administrative documentation issued against a specific 
authorized retailer, the state agency will retain this 
documentation for six years. 

E. In order to utilize the WIC-approved, Internet-based 
application for submission of prices, stores shall give consent 
to be monitored by the state agency to ensure this application 
is being used for its intended purpose. If such monitoring 
reveals possible evidence of unauthorized or criminal activity, 
this evidence may be provided to appropriate authorities for 
disciplinary action and prosecution.  

12VAC5-195-300. General requirements and conditions 
for authorization. 

A. Once enrolled, a store or applicant shall obtain 
authorization to operate as a WIC-authorized store from the 
state agency before accepting or redeeming food instruments. 

B. To obtain authorization and remain authorized, retailers 
shall: 

1. Be food stamp authorized at the time of application or 
reauthorization and remain in good standing; 

2. Be currently WIC-authorized or eligible for 
authorization after meeting a WIC disqualification 
requirement, if applicable; 

3. Be in operation as a business at the time of application 
or within 45 calendar days of application; 

4. Meet all local, state and federal requirements, including 
sanitation and building code regulations; 

5. Be necessary as determined by the state agency to 
ensure adequate participant access; 

6. Submit prices to the WIC Program using an electronic, 
Internet-based method at least twice a year or as requested 
by the state agency; 

7. Remain price competitive when compared to other 
authorized stores that are located in the same peer group; 

8. Maintain a minimum number of unique participants 
served after one year of continuous program authorization; 

9. 8. Meet the mandatory minimum stocking requirement 
at all times and keep such stock in the customer shopping 
area or immediately available onsite; 

10. 9. Be located at the store address indicated in the state 
agency's application or authorization record; this address 
shall be the sole location at which WIC customers 
purchase supplemental foods and formulas; 

11. 10. Be open for business at least 50 hours per week; 

12. 11. Meet all business integrity criteria as defined in 
Policy 14.1, effective August 1, 2003, of the Vendor 
Manual for the Virginia WIC Program 7 CFR 246.12; 

13. 12. Provide supporting documentation to the state 
agency including, but not limited to, annual food sales 
information or tax records that will be used to ensure that 
not more than 50% of the store's total food sales were 
derived from WIC sales; 

14. 13. Comply with all financial and corrective actions 
identified from prior WIC authorization, if applicable; 

15. 14. Purchase contract and special formula from a 
distributor, supplier, wholesaler, or retail store whose name 
is listed by the Virginia WIC Program as approved to sell 
formula; and 

16. 15. Participate in the WIC Program's direct deposit 
(ACH) process used for reimbursement purposes. 

C. Stores shall not offer drive-through window or home 
delivery services for making WIC purchases. The participant 
must take physical possession of purchased food and formula 
items at the time of transaction when the WIC food 
instrument is signed. 

12VAC5-195-310. Above 50% vendor screening. 

A. The state agency shall not authorize any applicant or 
retail store that is likely to derive 50% or more of its annual 
food sales from the sale of supplemental foods to WIC 
participants. Stores already authorized by the program whose 
annual WIC food sales rise to 50% or more of their total food 
sales will have their authorization status terminated. Stores 
must submit documentation that permits the state agency to 
complete its evaluation and identification of above 50% 
vendors. Failure to submit the requested documentation may 
lead to the store's authorization being terminated. 

B. Newly authorized stores with six months of redemption 
history shall have their status reviewed to determine if they 
qualify as an above 50% vendor (7 CFR 246.12(g)(4)(i)(B)) 
(7 CFR 246.12). If the state agency's assessment determines 
the store qualifies as an above 50% vendor, the store's WIC 
Program authorization status shall be terminated.  
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12VAC5-195-320. Retailer agreement. 

A. The retailer agreement does not constitute a license or a 
property right. If an authorized store wishes to continue to be 
authorized beyond the current agreement period, the store 
must reapply for authorization. All stores must be selected 
under the current selection and authorization criteria being 
used by the state agency (7 CFR 246.12(h)(xxi)) (7 CFR 
246.12).  

B. Authorized retail stores and military commissaries shall 
use a single uniform retailer agreement. The maximum 
duration of the retailer agreement shall not exceed three 
years. The duration of the retailer agreement may be for a 
period that is less than three years, depending upon when a 
county or location is selected to undergo the regional 
authorization and selection process. 

C. A fully executed retailer agreement shall be signed by 
both an authorized store representative and state agency 
representative to be enforceable. The state agency shall 
provide the store or designated contact person a copy of its 
signed retailer agreement or authorization acknowledgement 
letter once all selection and authorization requirements have 
been met. 

D. A signed retailer agreement must be on file for any store 
to be paid for a redeemed WIC food instrument. 

E. Revisions, amendments or modifications to the provisions 
of the retailer agreement shall be made in writing. The retailer 
agreement shall be automatically amended upon notice from 
the state agency should federal, state laws, or regulations 
require amendments. 

F. Authorized stores shall keep a copy of the updated 
Vendor Manual, including a copy of the Approved Food list 
and Cashier Training Guide, at the store location authorized 
to accept WIC food instruments. 

G. The state agency reserves the right to extend the current 
retailer agreement up to six months during the reauthorization 
evaluation process. If the state agency uses this option, it shall 
provide written notice to authorized stores affected by this 
administrative decision. 

H. If the state agency takes administrative action against a 
retailer and the retailer appeals, then the state agency shall 
grant an extension of that store's retailer agreement during the 
pendency of the appeal process if the retailer agreement 
would otherwise expire during that time. Once an appeal 
decision has been made, the state agency will proceed with 
either terminating the existing agreement or issuing a new 
agreement. 

12VAC5-195-330. Adequate participant access. 

A. The state agency shall ensure that adequate participant 
access exists so that eligible participants may redeem the food 
instruments issued to them. The state agency uses a retailer 

limiting criteria to determine adequate participant access (7 
CFR 246.12(g)(2)) (7 CFR 246.12). The state agency has the 
sole authority to define adequate participant access criteria. 

B. The number of authorized stores or retailer slots available 
is based on two factors: 

1. Number of WIC participants living in a specific city or 
county in which the retail store is physically located; and 

2. Population density of the community where the store is 
physically located. 

C. Population density is calculated by identifying the 
population that resides in a specific city or county. Population 
density serves as a proxy indicator used by the program to 
project how close together retailers and participants are 
located next to each other. Thus densely populated areas 
where stores are located closer together require fewer stores 
to provide adequate participant access. 

D. In sparsely populated areas, both population and stores 
are dispersed over a wider geographical area that directly 
impacts participant access. More sparsely populated areas 
require more authorized stores to adequately serve eligible 
participants. 

E. Participation is managed and monitored by the WIC 
Program on a monthly basis. For this reason the number of 
available slots for authorized stores may change frequently. 
This change will not impact stores already authorized, but 
may impact a new store applying for authorization in a given 
area. 

F. The number of authorized retailers or retailer slots 
available is calculated by a store to participant ratio, which is 
higher for densely populated communities, and lower for 
sparsely populated counties. Population density data is 
updated annually by the state agency and is obtained from the 
United States Census Bureau. The WIC Program uses a single 
population density indicator to identify which communities 
have the higher retailer to participant ratio. 

G. A specific number of retailer slots will be allocated to 
each city/county. A listing of retailer slots available and 
allocated to each city and county will not be published and 
distributed to authorized stores, since this figure may change 
frequently.  

12VAC5-195-340. Competitive pricing. 

A. Authorized stores and applicants shall submit pricing 
information to the state agency. Item pricing data is obtained 
from authorized stores and applicants from prices that have 
been entered into a WIC-approved Internet-based application. 

B. The state agency collects pricing information for specific 
food items at least twice a year (7 CFR 246.12(g)(4)(ii)(B)) (7 
CFR 246.12). Prices may be collected more frequently from 
authorized stores including, but not limited to, the following 
reasons: 
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1. A store's prices are determined to be noncompetitive; 

2. A store is designated a high risk retailer;  

3. A competitive pricing analysis is needed in order to 
consider an applicant's qualifications;  

4. An administrative review is being conducted as part of a 
compliance investigation, participant access analysis, 
inventory audit, or post payment analysis; or 

5. Other operational considerations that may occur 
including, but not limited to, a change in contract formula 
company, a change in infant food company, food industry 
price fluctuations, manufacturer's price increases for 
"rebateable" selected WIC-approved products, such as 
baby foods, contract formula, and infant cereal. 

C. Stores and applicants must submit the highest shelf price 
for all mandatory foods and formula brands, unless stated 
otherwise, that are available and eligible to be sold to 
participants. For milk items only, stores must submit the price 
for their store brand or least expensive brand available. Prices 
for optional foods approved for purchase submitted via the 
Internet-based application shall be used for calculating 
reimbursement maximums.  Retailers must use the approved 
food list and the minimum stocking requirement to identify 
all eligible brands and foods.  

D. Stores failing to submit their prices within 14 days of the 
stated due date in the Vendor Manual will receive one 
warning letter. After receiving this letter, stores that fail to 
respond within the time period stated in the letter may have 
their WIC Program authorization terminated unless 
inadequate participant access would exist. 

C. E. Applicants whose prices are determined to be 
noncompetitive when compared with other authorized stores 
assigned to the same peer group shall be denied WIC 
Program authorization. These applicants shall not be given a 
second opportunity to resubmit their prices, unless the state 
agency determines that inadequate participant access would 
exist.  

F. Authorized stores whose prices are determined to be 
noncompetitive when compared with other stores assigned to 
the same peer group shall be given one opportunity to 
resubmit their prices. After analyzing the prices submitted 
from this second submission, the state agency shall determine 
if the store qualifies to remain authorized. The state agency 
shall terminate the store's authorization if its prices are 
noncompetitive unless inadequate participant access would 
exist. 

D. G. The state agency uses nine business economic areas 
(BEAs) to initially define peer groups based on location and 
economic variations. For more densely populated BEAs, a 
second criterion used to further define peer groups is the 
number of unique participants served (7 CFR 

246.12(g)(4)(ii)(A)) (7 CFR 246.12). Each authorized store or 
applicant is assigned to a single peer group. 

Business Economic 
Areas (ID) 

(# of Unique 
Participants Served, if 

applicable) 
Peer 

Group  

Cities & Counties 
Located in each 

BEA 

49 10 
Accomack & 
Northampton 
Counties 

66 11 

Cities: Danville, 
Galax City, & 
Martinsville and 
Counties: Carroll, 
Grayson, Henry, 
Patrick & 
Pittsylvania 

71 12 

Cities: Buena Vista, 
Harrisonburg, 
Lexington, Staunton 
& Waynesboro and 
Counties: Augusta, 
Bath, Highland, 
Page, Rockbridge & 
Rockingham 

81 13 

Cities: Bristol & 
Norton and 
Counties: Buchanan, 
Dickerson, Lee, 
Russell, Scott, 
Smyth, Tazewell, 
Washington & Wise 

133 14 Halifax County 

137  
(0 – 100 participants) 15 

137  
(101 – 250 

participants) 
16 

137  
(251 and up 
participants) 

17 

Cities: 
Charlottesville, 
Colonial Heights, 
Emporia, Hopewell, 
Petersburg, & 
Richmond and 
Counties: 
Albemarle, Amelia, 
Brunswick, 
Buckingham, 
Caroline, Charles 
City, Charlotte, 
Chesterfield, 
Cumberland, 
Dinwiddie, Essex, 
Fluvanna, 
Goochland, Greene, 
Greensville, 
Hanover, Henrico, 
King and Queen, 
King William, 
Lancaster, Louisa, 
Lunenburg, 
Mecklenburg, 
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Middlesex, Nelson, 
New Kent, 
Northumberland, 
Nottoway, 
Powhatan, Prince 
Edward, Prince 
George, Richmond 
& Sussex 

138  
(0 – 100 participants) 25 

138  
(101 – 250 

participants) 
26 

138  
(251 and up 
participants) 

27 

Cities: Bedford, 
Clifton Forge, 
Covington, 
Lynchburg, Radford, 
Roanoke & Salem 
and Counties: 
Alleghany, Amherst, 
Appomattox, 
Bedford, Bland, 
Botetourt, Campbell, 
Craig, Floyd, 
Franklin, Giles, 
Montgomery, 
Pulaski, Roanoke & 
Wythe 

173  
(0 – 100 participants) 35 

173  
(101 – 250 

participants) 
36 

173  
(251 and up 
participants) 

37 

Cities: Chesapeake, 
Franklin, Hampton, 
Newport News, 
Norfolk, Poquoson, 
Portsmouth, Suffolk, 
Virginia Beach & 
Williamsburg and 
Counties: 
Gloucester, Isle of 
Wight, James City, 
Mathews, 
Southampton, Surry 
& York 

174  
(0 – 100 participants) 45 

174  
(101 – 250 

participants) 
46 

174  
(251 and up 
participants) 

47 

Cities: Alexandria, 
Fairfax, Falls 
Church, 
Fredericksburg, 
Manassas, Manassas 
Park & Winchester 
and Counties: 
Arlington, Clarke, 
Culpeper, Fairfax, 
Fauquier, Frederick, 
King George, 
Loudoun, Madison, 
Orange, Prince 
William, 
Rappahannock, 
Shenandoah, 
Spotsylvania, 
Stafford, Warren & 
Westmoreland  

E. H. For newly authorized stores the peer group designation 
assigned during the first three months is determined by the 
first criterion only; specifically the store's BEA default 
location. This default location, if applicable, is the peer group 

that services 0-100 unique participants. Authorized stores' 
peer group designation may change, based upon increases or 
decreases in the monthly average number of unique WIC 
participants being served by the store.  

12VAC5-195-360. Selection decisions. 

A. All retailers and applicants will compete equally for 
available slots located within a specific city/county or zip 
code, if applicable. The state agency reviews the 
qualifications of authorized stores and applicants located in a 
specific BEA or city/county within a BEA to make 
authorization selection decisions. Retail stores' and applicants' 
mandatory women and infant food and formula items used for 
pricing analysis purposes must qualify under the price 
competitive category of 40 or higher in order to be selected 
for authorization (7 CFR 246.12(g)(4)) (7 CFR 246.12).  

Low volume retailers will not be considered for 
reauthorization unless slots remain available after all qualified 
applicants and stores are selected for authorization and the 
low volume retailers have a competitive price score of 100. 
Low volume retailers will not be included in the ranking of 
the applicants and stores. 

The state agency shall rank all stores that have a pricing 
point value of 40 or higher in ascending order, or lowest price 
to highest price. The stores that have the lowest total prices 
are considered the best qualified stores. Applicant's and 
store's ranking will be used to select applicants and stores for 
all available slots located within a specific BEA or 
city/county within a BEA. 

B. When multiple stores have equal rankings and there are 
not enough slots to authorize all such stores, rankings will be 
further differentiated based on the following criteria in order 
of their application: 

1. Five bonus points are given for retailers that are certified 
by the Department of Minority Business Enterprise as a 
minority or women-owned business or have met their 
annual federally mandated training requirement by 
completing all modules of an agency-sponsored online (E-
Learning) WIC Program training course. 

2. 1. When equal rankings still occur, stores with the 
lowest prices for selective special formulas that are eligible 
to be sold to WIC participants will be offered any available 
slots. 

3. 2. If rankings continue to be equal, the state agency shall 
offer available slots to the authorized store or applicant 
with the highest number of unique participants who reside 
in the zip code where the store is located. 

4. 3. If rankings continue to be equal, the state agency shall 
offer available slots to the authorized store or applicant 
with the highest square footage, excluding storage space, 
will be used to determine which stores will be offered 
available slots. 
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4. If rankings continue to be equal and the stores or 
applicants are owned by the same corporate entity, then the 
corporate representative will be allowed to decide which 
corporate-sponsored store shall be offered the available 
slot. 

5. If rankings continue to be equal and the stores or 
applicants are not owned by the same corporate entity, then 
the store or applicant that has the highest food stamp sales 
for the previous six months will be offered the available 
slot. 

After selecting all of the best qualified stores and applicants, 
if slots are still available, then low volume retailers whose 
total pricing score is 100 – Best Pricing will be offered any 
available slots.  

C. If a retail store or applicant is not competitively selected 
for program authorization, then the store may apply again no 
sooner than six months after being denied authorization. Any 
exception to the six-month requirement shall be determined at 
the discretion of the state WIC director. 

D. If a newly opened store is considered to be a best 
qualified store and is offered a slot, then the previously 
authorized store in that slot will be offered an extension to its 
retailer agreement to remain authorized for one year from the 
start of the new authorization period. 

D. E. The state agency shall send all authorized stores and 
applicants a written notice pertaining to their selection status. 
All stores and applicants being denied WIC Program 
authorization shall also receive information that explains their 
right to appeal the state agency's administrative decision.  

E. F. The state agency does not maintain an applicant 
waiting list. 

12VAC5-195-370. Authorization exception decisions. 

The state agency may adjust the number of retail stores 
authorized to ensure that adequate participant access exists. 
Only the state agency shall determine what constitutes 
adequate participant access. The state agency may make 
authorization exceptions to ensure that adequate access exists 
based on one or several of the following criteria: 

1. Provide reasonable access; 

2. Provide safe access due to a physical barrier or 
impediment including, but not limited to, a multilane 
highway, river, bridge; physical terrain (i.e., mountains); 

3. Provide a best pricing or highly competitive alternative 
store location to eligible participants to purchase WIC-
approved food, when compared to other available stores 
located within a given city and/or county;  

4. Promote competition in a trade area previously 
identified as not having a price competitive authorized 
retail store location available;  

5. Improve customer service or remove an existing service 
barrier, i.e., language, cultural;  

6. Improve WIC customer access due to the fact that the 
store is within a safe and reasonable walking distance and 
is located in close proximity to one or several low income 
housing units where WIC participants reside; or 

7. Provide supporting documentation that the store's draw 
area is broader than the store's immediate trade area. The 
store's draw area includes cities and counties that cross 
geographical boundaries.; or 

8. Provide supporting documentation that the specific BEA 
or city/county within a BEA in which the store is located is 
experiencing, or based on recognized projected economic 
indicators, is likely to experience disproportionate 
economic hardship. 

12VAC5-195-380. Low volume performance standard. 
(Repealed.) 

A. After six months of continuous authorization, authorized 
retailers shall serve a monthly average of at least 60 unique 
participants. Retail stores that fail to meet this low volume 
performance standard will be notified annually. An 
authorized store that has an average number of unique 
participants served that is lower than the standard will be 
considered a low volume retailer. 

B. Authorized stores that demonstrate a consistent pattern of 
failing to meet the low volume performance standard shall be 
denied WIC Program authorization when their selection status 
is evaluated for future program authorization, unless 
inadequate participant access would exist. Previously 
authorized stores that are not selected due to low volume will 
receive a written letter of this administrative decision, which 
will provide a termination effective date. 

C. Store applicants that were denied WIC Program 
authorization due to being designated a low volume retailer 
from a previous authorization period shall not be approved for 
authorization in a city/county that has slots available unless 
objective data is available that qualifies the store under one of 
the authorization exception criteria.  

12VAC5-195-390. Approved food list. 

A. A copy of the current Virginia WIC Program's Approved 
Food List (effective January 1, 2007) must be stored at each 
cash register where WIC transactions are handled. A copy of 
the Approved Food List approved food list must also be 
stored in the Vendor Manual that shall be kept onsite at the 
authorized store location. 

B. The Approved Food List approved food list is used in 
conjunction with the WIC food instrument to identify foods 
that are eligible for purchase by WIC participants. The food 
instrument may state specific manufacturers or brands that 
must be purchased by program participants that are not 
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covered by the general description used in the Approved Food 
List approved food list. 

12VAC5-195-400. Authorization stamp – assignment and 
usage. 

A. The state agency assigns a unique stamp number to stores 
that are authorized and eligible to receive reimbursement for 
deposited food instruments. The store's authorization number 
is imprinted on a rubber stamp, which shall be used on every 
food instrument deposited by the authorized store location. 
Failure by the retail store to use the issued authorization 
stamp may result in denied payment for redeemed WIC food 
instruments or a store's disqualification if a pattern of 
noncompliance is documented. 

B. Authorized stores must obtain any needed replacement 
stamps from the stamp supplier approved by the state agency. 
The state agency will provide a maximum of three stamps to 
an authorized store per contract period at no charge. Failure to 
purchase an approved stamp from the designated stamp 
supplier may lead to deposited food instruments being 
rejected and returned unpaid by the state agency.  

12VAC5-195-410. Change of ownership. 

A. Authorized retail stores shall provide the state agency 
with advance written notice of at least 15 calendar days prior 
to any change of ownership as outlined in 7 CFR 
246.12(h)(3)(xvii) 7 CFR 246.12. 

B. A change of ownership occurs for reasons including, but 
not limited to, the principal owner or owners, corporate 
officers of the business or corporation have legally or 
permanently changed. 

C. A store's authorization will become null and void upon a 
change of ownership. The rights and obligations established 
under a signed retailer's agreement with the WIC Program 
may not be transferred or assigned by the retail store or 
corporate owner to any other third party. 

D. The new owner or store manager of the 
business/corporation shall apply for WIC Program 
authorization and submit their qualifications and a new 
application for evaluation based on the most current retailer 
selection and authorization criteria. 

E. The state agency shall terminate the authorization status 
of any store that has undergone a change of ownership and 
failed to notify the state agency in accordance with the 
requirements outlined in the signed Retailer Agreement, 
effective July 1, 2008. 

12VAC5-195-420. Change of location. 

A. Authorized WIC retail stores shall provide the state 
agency written notice of a store's relocation plans within 15 
calendar days prior to scheduled move date. Failure to notify 
the state agency in writing of such actions may result in the 
state agency taking administrative action including 

terminating for cause the store's program authorization unless 
inadequate participant access would exist. 

B. Relocation of a retail store is defined as: 

1. The store's physical location changes within the same 
geographical area or county/city and there is no change in 
ownership or pricing structure. The store meets one of the 
following criteria: 

a. New store location is two miles or less from the former 
location; or 

b. Majority of management and store personnel will 
move to the new location. If the new location is greater 
than two miles, the WIC Program will evaluate on a 
case-by-case basis to determine whether the new location 
is an alternative location and qualifies as a relocation 
versus a new store authorization; 

2. The store will be open for business within 15 calendar 
days or less after moving to a different physical location; 
and 

3. The former store location will be permanently closed for 
business. 

C. The state agency shall ensure that the new location still 
meets the selection criteria as outlined in the Retailer 
Selection and Authorization Policy (Policy 14.0 of the 
Virginia WIC Program Retailer Manual, effective April 1, 
2008) 12VAC5-195-340 and 12VAC5-195-360 including 
being price competitive. Failure to meet all selection criteria 
may lead to the store's authorization being terminated, unless 
inadequate participant access exists. Authorized stores that 
meet all selection criteria will be permitted by the state 
agency to continue their authorization without experiencing 
any disruption in their authorization status. The state agency 
must assign a new WIC authorization ID to the new store 
location if a new food stamp ID has been issued to the store. 

12VAC5-195-450. Complaints. 

A. The state agency shall maintain a system of receiving, 
documenting and investigating all complaints submitted by 
retail stores, participants, proxies, caretakers, parents, and the 
general public. From submitted complaints, the state agency 
may sanction or issue a written warning to participants and 
retail stores that abuse or misuse program benefits as outlined 
in the State Plan and Vendor Manual (Attachment to Policy 
15.0, Sanction Classification System - Violation Schedule, 
effective May 26, 2008) (effective August 1, 2008). 

B. The state agency shall forward complaints of both alleged 
discrimination and civil rights violations to the Secretary of 
Agriculture as required by federal regulations. 

12VAC5-195-460. Conflict of interest. 

A. Authorized retail store management shall ensure that no 
conflict of interest exists between any store personnel 
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employed by the retailer and any local, state, or federal WIC 
agency. This includes, but may not be limited to, store 
employees or spouses of store owners who are also 
employees of a local, state, or federal WIC agency. 

B. Retail stores shall identify and report any member of the 
store's ownership, management, or operations staff who are 
directly associated with the WIC Program to the state agency. 
To ensure that all potential conflicts of interest are identified 
and reported, the retail store must complete and submit a 
potential conflict of interest reporting form to the state agency 
upon request or as deemed necessary by the state agency. 
Failure by the store to submit this form in the time frame 
designated by the state agency may result in the store's 
authorization status being terminated unless inadequate 
participant access would exist. 

C. WIC participants, caretakers, or proxies who are 
employed at an authorized retail store may not accept or 
transact food instruments issued to themselves or a member 
of their immediate family as a function of their duties at the 
retail location. Authorized retail store management shall 
ensure all store employees adhere to this integrity 
requirement.  

12VAC5-195-480. Participant confidentiality. 

A. Participant information shall remain confidential to 
ensure compliance with federal regulations and to protect the 
right to privacy of WIC participants (7 CFR 246.26(a)) (7 
CFR 246.26).  

B. Confidentiality requirements apply to information 
provided by a participant and that is based on direct 
observation by store personnel. Confidentiality requirements 
include, but are not limited to:  

1. The prohibition of retailers from collecting personal 
information from WIC participants;  

2. Making personal contacts with WIC participants after 
the WIC transaction has occurred; or 

3. Sharing information on participant identification with 
third parties. Third parties do not include WIC Program 
state, local and federal agency representatives who have a 
legitimate business interest in the services provided to 
participants. 

12VAC5-195-490. Retailer confidentiality. 

A. Background and pricing information collected by the 
state agency related to evaluating the authorization status of a 
store or collected from food instruments redeemed by an 
authorized store is confidential (7 CFR 246.26(e)) (7 CFR 
246.26) and can be released only to: 

1. The store itself; 

2. The parent corporation; or 

3. Other governmental agencies responsible for ensuring 
program integrity, i.e., Food Stamp Program, Office of 
Inspector General, United States Department of 
Agriculture.  

B. In accordance with federal regulations, 7 CFR 246.26, 
confidential vendor information is any information about a 
vendor, whether it is obtained from the vendor or another 
source, that individually identifies the vendor, except for the 
following: store name, physical mailing address, telephone 
number, website, email address, store type, or authorization 
status. All other vendor specific information is restricted from 
disclosure to the public by the state agency. 

B. C. Upon receiving a written request from a store or their 
parent corporation, the state agency shall only release 
background and pricing information that has been provided 
by or pertains to the requestor. Under no circumstances will 
the state agency release confidential information about the 
authorization status or redemption revenue paid to stores 
owned by other corporations. 

C. D. Authorized stores' peer group designation is 
confidential and is restricted from disclosure to persons and 
entities not directly associated with the authorized store 
location. 

D. E. The state agency's inadequate participant access results 
completed for administrative purposes are considered 
confidential and not subject to review by the retail store or its 
agent, since this profile contains information protected by 
WIC Program regulations. Upon request, a copy of this work 
document can be released with any confidential information 
removed. This document in its entirety will be made available 
to appropriate governmental bodies that are responsible to 
ensure that the state agency has fully complied with any 
mandated WIC Program requirements.  

12VAC5-195-500. Sales tax and coupons. 

A. Authorized retail stores shall ensure that no sales tax is 
charged to the WIC Program. Store coupons, manufacturer 
coupons and loyalty card discounts may be used for WIC-
approved purchases. When a WIC participant uses a coupon 
or discount card in conjunction with a food instrument and an 
item is provided free, then sales tax shall be collected directly 
from the participant. 

B. No sales tax can be applied to the printed value of cash 
value food benefits. Any tax associated with the dollar 
amount purchased above the printed value of the cash value 
food benefit must be collected directly from the participant. 

12VAC5-195-510. Solicitation. 

A. Authorized stores shall not: 

1. Initiate behavior that may be deemed aggressive or 
intimidating by a reasonable person in approaching 
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potential WIC participants in order to promote that 
participant's shop at a specific store location; or 

2. Use any state or local agency facilities and property to 
post or distribute materials advertising their store location. 

B. If the state agency documents that an authorized store 
violates either of these prohibitions, then the store's 
authorization may be subject to termination by the program. 

C. Authorized stores shall not use any advertisement 
practices or procedures that may give the public or 
participants the impression that a special or exclusive 
business relationship exists between the state agency and any 
authorized store. 

D. It is the store owner's or designated agent's responsibility 
to ensure all employees understand and adhere to all 
prohibitions and restrictions related to solicitation. 

12VAC5-195-520. Training and education. 

A. Training of applicants or authorized stores may be 
conducted by state agency staff. The state agency may also 
delegate full authority to individuals who have been certified 
as corporate trainers. Certified trainers shall attend at least 
one mandatory training class annually in order to remain 
certified.  

B. The state agency shall provide mandatory annual training 
for previously authorized stores. The annual training 
requirement may be met by:  

1. Submitting a newsletter training acknowledgement 
form;  

2. Successfully completing an agency-sponsored Internet 
training course offered by the WIC Program; or  

3. Attending an instructor-led, interactive training class.  

C. Reauthorization training shall be required for previously 
authorized stores that have been selected under a new contract 
period. 

D. Authorized stores can request remedial training at any 
time by contacting the state agency. 

E. All authorized stores are required to have at least one 
store representative participate in annual training provided by 
either the state agency or a certified corporate trainer (7 CFR 
246.12(h)(xi)) (7 CFR 246.12). 

F. Failure of an authorized store to meet any mandatory 
training requirement shall result in sanctions being imposed 
and the possible termination of the store's program 
authorization, unless inadequate participant access would 
exist. 

12VAC5-195-530. Use of acronym and logo. 

A. Authorized stores shall post a state-issued "WIC 
Accepted Here" window decal in the store's front entrance or 

in a conspicuously visible location that identifies to the 
general public that the store location participates in the WIC 
Program. Authorized stores may use alternative signage if 
approved by the state agency prior to being used. 

B. Retail stores, food manufacturers, distributors and 
suppliers shall receive written approval from the state agency 
prior to producing or distributing window decals, channel 
strips or, shelf talkers, or other promotional items that use 
either the WIC acronym or logo. Stores that elect to use 
point-of-sale channel strips, shelf labels, or other promotional 
materials for a specific food category must ensure that all 
eligible items are consistently promoted as WIC approved. 
Stores are prohibited from promoting a specific 
manufacturer's product over another eligible WIC-approved 
product within the same food category (USDA Memo SFP 
09-020). 

C. Retail stores or applicants shall not use either the 
acronym "WIC," "W.I.C." or the WIC logo, including close 
facsimiles thereof, in total or in part, either in their official 
name in which the store is registered or in the name under 
which it does business, if different (USDA Memo SFP 09-
020). 

D. Retail stores, food manufacturers, distributors and 
suppliers shall not use the WIC acronym or logo in the 
packaging of their products. Retail stores, food 
manufacturers, distributors and suppliers shall receive written 
approval from the state agency before using either the WIC 
acronym or logo for any business or public relations purpose 
(USDA Memo SFP 09-020). 

12VAC5-195-540. Vendor manual for the Virginia WIC 
Program. 

All authorized stores must keep a current copy of the 
Vendor Manual for the Virginia WIC Program, Cashier 
Training Guide, and an Approved Food List at the store 
location authorized to participate in the program. A current 
copy of the Virginia Approved Food List must be kept at each 
cash register used to process WIC transactions. Periodically, 
individual sections of the Vendor Manual may be updated to 
reflect federally mandated regulatory changes and other WIC 
Program requirements. The most current version of the 
Vendor Manual is located on the state agency's website, 
which stores must access to obtain updated copies of 
procedures and forms. 

12VAC5-195-550. High risk stores. 

A. The state agency classifies each authorized store as either 
high risk, probationary, or nonhigh risk. In accordance with 
federal regulations (7 CFR 246.12(j)(3)) (7 CFR 246.12), 
high risk stores have demonstrated from prior authorization 
history a pattern of noncompliance with documented vendor 
management policies or violations documented from covert, 
undercover buys. The state agency may also change a store's 
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designation to high risk based upon noncompliance 
documented from onsite monitoring visits. 

The state agency may select stores for compliance 
monitoring based on statistical trends documented from a 
retail store's redemption pattern. A store's designation being 
changed to high risk will only occur as result of documented 
violations identified from compliance investigations or other 
types of objective monitoring practices used by the state 
agency. Stores shall also be changed to high risk if: 

1. The store has been the subject of a compliance 
investigation by the state agency and has been cited for 
five or more chargeable violations within 12 consecutive 
months; 

2. The store has received a Food Stamp Program civil 
monetary penalty or WIC program civil monetary penalty 
and is being retained in lieu of disqualification; or 

3. The store's authorization status is under consideration 
for possible disqualification during the administrative 
review or appeal process. 

All stores classified as high risk will receive written 
notification from the state WIC Program to advise them of the 
store's status change prior to the change becoming effective. 
Stores shall be designated high risk for a minimum one-year 
period and will have their status periodically evaluated by the 
state agency. 

B. If a retailer is retained in lieu of disqualification or its 
status is changed to high risk, a written assurance letter must 
be submitted to the state agency within 30 calendar days after 
being notified of this requirement. The retailer's assurance 
letter must identify specific steps detailing the actions the 
store will take to improve its performance.  

B. C. Authorized stores designated as high risk will be 
selected for more frequent onsite and covert monitoring 
investigations. 

12VAC5-195-580. Performance and administrative 
monitoring. 

A. All applicants must successfully pass an unannounced 
stocking visit prior to being authorized. Applicants will 
receive a written letter from the state agency advising them 
the store has been selected for further authorization 
consideration. The applicant will receive a copy of the 
minimum stocking requirement and the letter sent to the store 
will identify the consequences associated with failing to meet 
this program standard. 

B. The state agency monitors authorized store's performance 
throughout the contract period in order to ensure the best 
qualified stores are authorized. The type and level of 
monitoring conducted by the state agency depends upon the 
store's authorization status. Stores designated as high volume 
retailers, high risk retailers, and probationary stores are more 

likely to be selected for unannounced monitoring visits by the 
WIC Program. 

C. Authorized stores that fail to consistently meet any of the 
general requirements and conditions for authorization may be 
terminated. Specific areas the state agency monitors include, 
but are not limited to: 

1. Number of unique participants served; 

2. 1. Number of paid and rejected food instruments; 

3. 2. Prices charged for WIC-approved foods and formula; 

4. 3. Level of compliance in following program 
requirements; and  

5. 4. Use of approved wholesalers and suppliers in 
purchasing WIC-approved foods and formulas. 

D. The state agency shall establish and communicate to all 
authorized stores and applicants the minimum stocking 
requirement. 

E. Each federal fiscal year, a sample of authorized stores 
shall be selected for one or more unannounced onsite 
monitoring visits. 

F. State agency personnel may conduct an unannounced 
monitoring visit to ensure that authorized stores or applicants 
meet all program requirements. Authorized stores and 
applicants shall have available onsite the minimum stocking 
requirement at all times as established by the state agency. 
The specific foods, contract formulas and administrative 
procedures associated with meeting this requirement are 
outlined in Policy 10, the Minimum Stocking Requirement, 
effective May 1, 2007, of which is included in the Vendor 
Manual. 

G. Authorized stores with more than one year of continuous 
participation in the program may request in writing to the 
state agency that an exception a waiver be granted for one or 
more items that are part of the minimum stocking 
requirement. The state agency shall provide a written decision 
to the store's exception waiver request within 30 calendar 
days after receipt. The exception waiver to the minimum 
stocking requirement for a required item shall expire upon the 
presentation to the store, on behalf of a participant, of a WIC 
food instrument for the purchase of that required food item. 
The authorized store shall provide the food item within 48 
hours, excluding weekends and holidays, after presentation of 
the WIC food instrument. 

H. The state agency may conduct other types of 
unannounced onsite monitoring visits to a retail store's 
location including, but not limited to, random, price 
verification, high volume, formula audits, and high risk. 

I. During the unannounced onsite monitoring visit, the state 
agency representative may perform, but not be limited, to the 
following: 
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1. Observe and document the level of compliance with 
general program requirements; 

2. Validate if the minimum stocking requirement has been 
met; 

3. Collect and confirm prices submitted by retail stores; 

4. Confirm prices are posted on or in close proximity to 
WIC-approved foods; 

5. Review purchase or invoice records; 

6. Conduct formula inventory analysis; 

7. Educate the retailer about program changes; 

8. Provide educational materials and supplies; and 

9. Provide technical consultation. 

J. During the unannounced onsite monitoring visits, store 
management may receive the following: 

1. Answers to technical or procedural questions; 

2. Updated program information; 

3. Additional training materials and supplies;  

4. Opportunity to correct documented deficiencies, if 
needed; 

5. Opportunity to provide shelf prices of WIC-approved 
items, if applicable; and 

6. Opportunity to confirm results documented by the state 
agency representative during the monitoring visit. 

K. The results from these onsite visits are documented and 
kept on file at the Richmond, Virginia, state agency office. 

L. Each federal fiscal year, a sample of authorized stores 
shall be selected for one or more announced onsite formula 
monitoring visits. The state agency shall ensure that 
authorized stores purchase and sell WIC-approved formulas 
from a legitimate source. The state agency shall ensure that 
authorized stores sell formulas that have been purchased from 
a WIC-approved supplier, distributor, wholesaler, or an 
authorized resource. A listing of WIC-approved suppliers, 
distributors, wholesalers, and authorized resources is located 
on the state agency's website. This outcome is accomplished 
by state agency personnel reviewing formula purchasing 
records and invoices, comparing formula redemption data 
from WIC sales and completing a pre- and postphysical 
inventory of formula available at the store location during a 
specific analysis period. Stores whose purchase records do 
not support the quantity of WIC sales volume for a selective 
formula item based upon redeemed food instruments may be 
issued sanctions, fined, or disqualified from the WIC 
Program. The results from a formula monitoring visit are 
documented and a written assessment is sent to the store once 
the state agency has completed its analysis.  

M. Authorized stores that do not remain price competitive, 
fail to maintain the minimum stocking requirement or fail to 
adhere to the retailer agreement may be fined or have their 
authorization terminated, unless inadequate participant access 
exists. Depending upon the service delivery impact, the state 
agency may waive terminating a store that fails to comply 
with any of these requirements until an alternative store 
located in the same area can be authorized. The state agency 
will evaluate and document the reasons for making any 
authorization exception decisions.  

12VAC5-195-590. Reimbursement and payments. 

A. The state agency shall use a prepayment edit process to 
screen all deposited food instruments. For each processed 
food instrument, the state agency shall either: 

1. Pay as submitted; 

2. Make a price adjustment, if applicable; or  

3. Deny payment of the deposited food instrument. 

B. The state agency's reimbursement responsibilities in 
making payments against deposited and undeposited food 
instruments include, but are not limited to: 

1. Ensuring payments are made to authorized stores that 
have a signed retailer agreement with the Virginia WIC 
Program. Unauthorized stores will not be paid for any 
mistakenly accepted and deposited food instruments; 

2. Ensuring the maximum reimbursement levels used by its 
banking contractor, based upon peer groups, are reasonable 
for the food and formula items prescribed for purchase by 
participants; 

3. Reconsidering for payment WIC food instruments not 
paid or partially paid provided the food instruments are 
submitted to the state agency within 50 calendar days of 
the first date printed on the food instrument; 

4. Making price adjustments to the reimbursement amount 
paid to retail stores in order to ensure individual store's 
reimbursement levels remain eligible for authorization, 
based upon competitive prices charged by similar stores; 

5. Collecting bank account and routing numbers from 
applicants and authorized stores in order to process direct 
deposit payments using an Automated Clearinghouse 
(ACH); 

6. Ensuring prompt ACH credits are made to the retailer's 
bank account when appropriate; 

7. Collecting retailer's prices using an electronic, Internet-
based application; 

8. Identifying retailers whose prices are noncompetitive 
and take administrative actions including possible 
termination of the retailer's authorization;  
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9. Complying with all federal regulations and guidelines 
that require administrative approval by USDA prior to 
making payments, as applicable; 

10. Providing written communications to all authorized 
stores containing the procedures used by the program to 
pay or deny payments for all deposited food instruments; 
and 

11. Recouping overpayments due to banking or procedural 
errors, if applicable, from authorized stores. 

C. Authorized stores must deposit food instruments within 
14 calendar days of the last date printed on the food 
instrument. 

D. Food instruments or image replacement documents 
(IRDs) rejected for payment due to "unreadable vendor 
stamp" or "no vendor stamp" error messages must be 
corrected and redeposited within 30 calendar days of the last 
date printed on the food instrument. 

E. Food instruments or IRDs rejected for payment or 
undeposited FIs that require WIC Program review and 
exception payment consideration must be submitted by the 
authorized store to the state agency within 30 calendar days 
of the last date printed on the food instrument. All food 
instruments or IRDs rejected for payment or undeposited FIs 
require WIC Program review for exception payment 
consideration and must be submitted by the authorized store 
to the state agency. A store must also simultaneously submit a 
written request and justification for payments on undeposited 
or rejected FIs or IRDs. The state agency reserves the right to 
deny a submitted request for payment depending on the 
explanation provided by the store. 

1. Stores must submit their undeposited or rejected FIs or 
IRDs and justifications to the state agency within 30 
calendar days of the last date printed on the food 
instrument. 

2. Undeposited or rejected FIs or IRDs sent to the state 
agency that are greater than 30 calendar days from the last 
date printed on the food instrument may not be eligible for 
payment and may require USDA approval. 

F. A maximum allowable reimbursement amount for each 
peer group and food item combination is established using 
pricing data (7 CFR 246.12(h)(3)(viii)) (7 CFR 246.12). Each 
food item combination is identified by a unique food 
instrument type identifier. More than 4,000 unique food 
combinations exist with different reimbursement maximum 
amounts. Authorized stores that submit prices determined to 
be noncompetitive will not have their prices used when the 
state agency computes the maximum allowable 
reimbursement amount used for making price adjustments. 

G. Stores may only get reimbursed for mandatory and 
optional foods and formula products they have submitted 
prices for prior to redeeming FIs for those products. 

Redeemed FIs may be subject to repayment as a vendor claim 
if they include optional items for which a store has failed to 
submit prices. Stores must ensure that the most current shelf 
prices have been submitted to the WIC Program for all 
mandatory items. Failure to submit prices or providing 
inaccurate prices for any mandatory food items may lead to a 
store's authorization being terminated unless inadequate 
participant access would exist. 

H. Contract and special formulas where pricing information 
is collected via the Internet-based application by the state 
agency are eligible for payment to authorized stores. Prices 
are purposely not collected by the state agency for formulas 
that should not be redeemed at retail stores. Food instruments 
redeemed for these types of special formulas are subject to 
repayment by the store. 

G. I. A maximum reimbursement amount will be established 
for cash value food instruments benefits used by participants 
to purchase fruits and vegetables. The retailer must allow 
participants to spend up to the maximum payable amount 
printed on each of these types of food instruments. If the total 
dollar value being purchased exceeds the cash value, then the 
participant must be allowed to pay up to $.99 per food 
instrument above the printed value. For cash value food 
benefits only, if the total dollar amount being purchased by 
the participant exceeds the printed cash value then the 
participant shall be allowed to pay the amount over the 
printed value. The amount written on the food instrument 
must not exceed the maximum reimbursement amount printed 
on it. 

H. J. The food instrument type/peer group pricing maximum 
amount may be adjusted monthly by the state agency, 
depending upon external factors including, but not limited to, 
wholesale price increases. The reimbursement maximum used 
for the various food instrument types peer group 
combinations are not distributed to authorized stores prior to 
being used by the banking contractor. 

I. K. Food instruments or IRDs that are ineligible for 
payment and are rejected will be returned to the store's 
depository bank by the state agency's banking contractor. 
These returned food instruments will be stamped with a 
descriptive error message. 

J. L. The state agency may make payment exceptions for 
food instruments that would normally be denied payment by 
its banking services contractor. The authorized store shall 
submit all such requests in writing, including a justification, 
within 30 calendar days from the last date printed on the food 
instrument. The state agency will send a payment disposition 
decision to the requestor within 30 calendar days, after 
receipt. 

K. M. The state agency shall use a postpayment review 
process to prospectively evaluate the reimbursement amount 
paid against redeemed food instruments in order to identify 
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excessive or improperly redeemed food instruments in 
accordance with federal regulations (7 CFR 246.12(k)(1)-(3)) 
(7 CFR 246.12). From the postpayment review process, the 
state agency may determine that one or more payments 
already made to a retail store were noncompliant with the 
vendor management policies and procedures (Policy 9.0, 
Reimbursement of Paid and Returned WIC Food Instruments, 
effective May 26, 2008, of the Vendor Manual), including the 
signed retailer agreement ineligible for payment as a result of 
a store failing to submit pricing data for the purchased item or 
items. The state agency reserves the right to bill and recoup 
payments of these ineligible payments, which will be referred 
to as a vendor claim (7 CFR 246.12(h)(3)(ix)) (7 CFR 
246.12). The state agency shall not bill an authorized store if 
the vendor claim amount is less than $10.  

L. N. A retail store that is not authorized to participate in the 
Virginia WIC Program that accepts a food instrument will not 
be reimbursed for any food instruments redeemed by a WIC 
participant. 

O. A store must submit a direct deposit ACH form to the 
state agency that identifies any bank changes to its routing or 
account number. A direct deposit ACH form must be 
submitted at least 14 days prior to the change effective date. 
If the state agency's banking contractor identifies that the 
store's bank account or routing number is not valid, then the 
store will receive one written notice from the state agency. 
Failure by the store to resolve any reported discrepancies 
within 30 days after a written notice has been sent by the state 
agency may lead to the store being ineligible to receive 
payments for rejected FIs. 

P. Retail stores are responsible for all bank handling fees 
and charges associated with doing business with the WIC 
Program. 

12VAC5-195-600. Sanctions and administrative actions. 

A. Each federal fiscal year, the state agency shall conduct 
compliance investigations on a minimum of 5.0% of 
authorized stores (7 CFR 246.12(j)(4)) (7 CFR 246.12), 
including completing investigations of all high risk stores, all 
probationary stores and selective nonhigh risk stores. The 
state agency will conduct at least two compliance buys at 
each store selected for an investigation.  

B. The state agency will provide written notification to the 
authorized store of the investigation results, including the 
store's violation of any statutes or regulations governing its 
participation in the WIC Program unless fraudulent activities, 
such as overcharging the program, have been documented. 
Once an investigation has been closed, stores with 
documented violations will receive a final written report of 
the agency's findings. The final report will identify what 
administrative action will be taken by the state agency against 
the authorized store. 

C. Violations are categorized as either state agency or 
federally mandated. For federally mandated violations, a 
pattern consisting of four documented incidents of the same 
violation must occur during a single investigation. State 
agency violations do not require a pattern of noncompliance 
before administrative action is taken (7 CFR 246.12(l)). 

D. For federally mandated violations that include, but are 
not limited to, fraud, trafficking, sale of alcohol or alcoholic 
beverages or tobacco products, sale of detergent, kitchen 
items, and overcharging the WIC Program, the state agency 
will not provide the store with prior written notice that a 
violation or violations were documented before imposing 
administrative sanctions.  

E. For selective state agency violations that include, but are 
not limited to, forgery or overcharge discrepancies, the state 
agency shall not provide prior written notice that the violation 
has occurred, in order to ensure the integrity of the 
investigative process. 

F. The type of documented violation dictates the 
administrative action taken including, but not limited to: 

1. Provision of a written warning; 

2. Imposition of a technical penalty fine;  

3. Assessment of a civil monetary penalty (CMP) in lieu of 
disqualification; or  

4. Disqualification of an authorized store. 

The total period of disqualification imposed for state agency 
violations identified as part of a single investigation may not 
exceed one year. The state agency reserves the right to waive 
a disqualification requirement if inadequate participant access 
would exist. 
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G. The state agency uses a multitier sanction schedule that consists of: 

Class: Description: Description: Administrative Actions: 

A Technical program 
violations 

Represents procedural and food 
instrument handling errors. 

$100 fine assessed per documented 
incident, as outlined in the 
Sanction/Violation schedule (effective 
March 9, 2009), including repeat incidents 
of the same violation, plus a written 
warning sent to the store. 

B Serious program 
violations 

Represents noncompliance 
errors documented either from 
compliance investigations or 
noncompliance with provisions 
outlined in the retailer 
agreement.  

Eight or more technical program 
violations, as outlined in the 
Sanction/Violation schedule, within a 
consecutive 12-month period of time; or 

One-year disqualification, if a pattern of 
noncompliance is required and met. 
Otherwise, a $100 technical fine per 
incident shall be assessed for all federally 
mandated violations that do not meet the 
pattern threshold requirement., as outlined 
in the Sanction/Violation schedule; or  

One-year disqualification if a pattern of 
noncompliance is not required and the 
violation has been documented as outlined 
in the Sanction/Violation schedule. 

C Critical program 
violations 

Represents mandatory federal 
sanctions that require a pattern 
of noncompliance, i.e., 
overcharging. 

Three Four documented incidents during a 
single investigation as outlined in the 
Sanction/Violation schedule – Three-year 
disqualification.; or 

A $100 technical fine per incident shall be 
assessed for all federally mandated 
violations that do not meet the pattern 
threshold requirement. 

One documented incident as outlined in 
the Sanction/Violation schedule during a 
single investigation if a pattern is not 
required – Three year disqualification. 

D Major program violations 
Represents mandatory federal 
sanctions, i.e., administrative 
finding of trafficking 

Six-year disqualification – only one 
documented incident is required as 
outlined in the Sanction/Violation 
schedule; or 

Permanent disqualification – only one 
documented incident is required, as 
outlined in the Sanction/Violation 
schedule. 

E Warning 

Represents a documented 
violation, but does not warrant 
points being assessed and/or a 
fine being charged. 

Written warning sent to the retail store.  

The date on which violations become effective is determined 
by the documented date on the final compliance investigation 

letter. Class A, B, and E violations have an active life of one 
year, a Class C violation has an active life of three years, and 
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a Class D violation has an active life of six years or 
permanent disqualification.  

H. If a retailer has a pattern of three documented incidents 
within a 12-month period of failure to meet the minimum 
stocking requirement or failure to properly stamp 50 or more 
deposited food instruments, then the store will be disqualified 
for a one-year period unless inadequate participant access 
would exist.  

H. I. All documented overcharges or payments for ineligible 
food items identified during a compliance investigation will 
be considered a vendor claim and be subject to repayment. 

I. J. Copies of any investigative evidence collected by the 
state agency from an open compliance investigation will be 
available to the authorized store, upon request, once the 
investigation has been closed and the store is notified in 
writing of the final compliance investigation results.  

K.  A retailer may apply for WIC authorization after the 
store has met any disqualification period imposed upon it.  
There is no automatic reinstatement of a retailer once the 
disqualification period has been met.   

L.  The state agency shall not issue sanctions solely as a 
result of complaints submitted by participants. 

12VAC5-195-610. Participant access. 

A. Prior to taking disqualification actions against an 
authorized store, the state agency shall complete a participant 
access assessment (7 CFR 246.12(l)(ix)) (7 CFR 246.12). 
This type of assessment is completed for denied 
authorizations if an informal settlement meeting or full 
administrative review is requested by a store applicant. 
Participant convenience is not a valid consideration for the 
state agencies in making any adequate access decisions. 

B. Participant access will be a factor considered by the state 
agency in deciding if a store shall be assessed a civil 
monetary penalty in lieu of disqualification or when a store 
applicant is eligible as an authorization exception. 

C. The state agency shall use the same criteria established 
for making authorization exceptions in deciding if adequate 
participant access exists. 

D. The participant access analysis completed by the state 
agency contains confidential information. A copy of this 
internal work document shall not be given to retail stores or 
their representatives. 

12VAC5-195-630. Retained in lieu of disqualification. 

A. An authorized store with documented administrative 
findings that warrant WIC Program disqualification actions 
may be retained in lieu of disqualification if the state agency 
determines that inadequate participant access would exist. 
The state agency will evaluate the impact on participants and 
the preventive procedures the store intends to take in order to 

decide if the store will be allowed to pay a civil monetary 
penalty fine rather than being disqualified. 

B. The state agency shall notify the authorized store in 
writing if it will be retained in lieu of disqualification and the 
civil monetary penalty fine that has been assessed (7 CFR 
246.12(l)(x)) (7 CFR 246.12). 

C. If a retailer fails to pay a civil monetary penalty that has 
been assessed, then the state agency shall disqualify the 
retailer for a period equal to the sanction for which the civil 
monetary penalty was originally assessed. 

12VAC5-195-640. Civil monetary penalty (CMP) fines. 

A. A civil monetary penalty (CMP) fine may be assessed for 
documented state agency and federally mandated violations 
(7 CFR 246.12(l)(x)) (7 CFR 246.12). 

B. The state agency uses a federally mandated formula to 
calculate both state and federally mandated CMPs that are 
assessed. The maximum civil monetary penalty assessed shall 
comply with federal requirements as outlined in 7 CFR 
246.12(l)(2) 7 CFR 246.12. The state agency is unable to 
make any reductions in the maximum CMP amount due since 
this formula is defined in federal regulations. 

C. The same formula is used to calculate the civil monetary 
penalty fine for stores retained in lieu of disqualification due 
to documented state agency sanctions. The state agency has 
the authority to reduce the fine amount being assessed against 
the store by no more than 50%. The state agency must 
document in its records the specific factors supporting this 
administrative decision. 

D. A CMP shall be paid in full or based upon an agreed 
installment plan. Failure of the authorized store to pay any 
scheduled installments in a timely manner will lead to the 
store's disqualification for the original disqualification period. 

E. Payments shall be made by certified check, cashier check, 
or money order. Payments shall be made out to the Virginia 
WIC Program and mailed to the address identified on the 
penalty fine statement. 

F. The state agency will process all past due obligations for 
any of the following including penalty fines, vendor claims, 
civil monetary penalty fines or overcharges assessed against 
authorized stores in accordance with the Office of the 
Comptroller's Policies and Procedures., Section Number 
205000 (Accounts Receivable), dated June 2004. The state 
agency will also process all past due financial obligations in 
accordance with the Virginia Debt Collection Act (§ 2.2-4800 
et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

G. The state agency shall notify the Food Stamp Program in 
writing within 15 calendar days after assessing a CMP against 
an authorized store being retained in lieu of disqualification. 
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12VAC5-195-660. Informal settlement meetings. 

A. An informal settlement meeting may be requested by an 
authorized store or applicant. Authorized stores may request 
an informal settlement meeting for any adverse action or 
program decision impacting a store. A store applicant may 
request an informal settlement meeting related to a denied 
authorization decision. During this meeting, the state agency 
will be represented by the state WIC director or designee. If 
an authorized store is being considered for possible adverse 
action, including but not limited to authorization denial and 
program disqualification, the state agency shall offer an 
optional informal settlement meeting with store management 
prior to taking administrative action. The state WIC director 
or designee shall be in attendance. The purpose of the 
informal settlement meeting is to: 

1. Identify areas of noncompliance;  

2. Provide a forum for the store to submit information 
about the impact of the adverse action on WIC 
participants; 

3. Review criteria for authorization exception decisions 
pursuant to 12VAC5-195-370; 

4. Review the inadequate participant access results, if 
applicable; 

5. Review the civil monetary penalty fine for stores being 
retained in lieu of disqualification, if applicable; and 

6. Provide information to the store regarding its appeal 
rights, if applicable. 

B. The retail store or applicant has 15 calendar days from 
the date of receipt of the denial notice or adverse action state 
agency correspondence to postmark a written request for an 
informal settlement meeting.  

C. The request for the informal settlement meeting can be 
hand delivered, mailed by US mail, UPS, or FedEx, sent by 
facsimile transmission or sent via email to the vendor 
manager. 

D. Upon receipt of the retail store's or applicant's request for 
an informal settlement meeting, the state agency will confirm 
a date, time, place and method for the informal settlement 
meeting. The meeting may take place either through a face-
to-face meeting or through video conference. Failure to attend 
the scheduled meeting on the agreed upon date and time will 
lead to the retail store forfeiting its rights to any further 
informal settlement meetings.  

E. The retail store or applicant will have one opportunity to 
reschedule the informal settlement meeting time or date 
established with the state agency. All requests to reschedule 
the meeting must be submitted in writing at least 24 hours 
before the scheduled meeting date, unless an emergency 
occurs, as determined at the discretion of the state WIC 
director or designee. 

F. If the retail store representative is more than 45 minutes 
late from the agreed upon meeting start time, then this will be 
considered a "no show" unless he can provide documentation 
that the state WIC director or designee determines justifies his 
tardiness or failure to appear. This outcome means that the 
retail store has forfeited its rights to the informal settlement 
meeting. The state agency will proceed with administrative 
decisions without the input of the retail store should the 
representative either fail to schedule, fail to appear, or fail to 
reschedule the informal settlement meeting.   

G. If an authorized store is being considered for possible 
program disqualification or other adverse actions, the state 
agency shall schedule an optional informal settlement 
meeting with store management prior to taking administrative 
action. The state WIC director or designee shall be in 
attendance. The purpose of the informal settlement meeting is 
to: 

1. Identify areas of noncompliance;  

2. Provide a forum for the store to submit information 
about the impact of the potential disqualification on WIC 
participants; 

3. Review the inadequate participant access results and the 
civil monetary penalty fine for stores being retained in lieu 
of disqualification; and 

4. Provide information to the store regarding its appeal 
rights. 

H. G. Informal settlement meetings are primarily held either 
conducted through face-to-face meetings in Richmond, 
Virginia, or via video conference. A store may request that 
the informal settlement meeting be held using 
videoconferencing technology. This option will be available 
to the store if traveling to Richmond will create an undue 
hardship on the owner or store representative. Undue hardship 
is defined as travel distance greater than a three-hour drive 
one way or any other situation determined at the discretion of 
the state WIC director or designee. The For informal 
settlement meetings that are held via video conference, the 
authorized store or applicant would be required to travel to a 
local agency that has videoconferencing equipment available. 

I. H. After the informal settlement meeting is held and all 
supporting documentation is received by the state agency, the 
state agency shall send within 15 days a written summary of 
the meeting's results to a designated store representative. If 
the resolution offered from the informal settlement meeting is 
unacceptable to the retail store, then the retail store or 
applicant may request a full administrative review in writing. 
This written request must be submitted to the vendor manager 
and postmarked within 15 calendar days from the date of 
receipt of the informal settlement meeting summary. The 
vendor manager will identify if the store's request qualifies 
under federal regulations for a full administrative review. If 
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the store's request is not eligible, then the store will receive a 
written response from the vendor manager of this decision.  

J. An authorized store or applicant may elect not to 
participate in an informal settlement meeting and request a 
full administrative review. This option is available if it 
qualifies under federal regulations (7 CFR 246.18) for a full 
administrative review and is submitted within 15 days after 
receiving an official notice of the adverse actions from the 
state agency.  

12VAC5-195-670. Full administrative review. 

A. Authorized retail stores and applicants shall be offered an 
opportunity to request a full administrative review for only 
the adverse action cited in subsection O of this section.  

B. The retail store or applicant has 15 calendar days from 
the date of receipt of the denial notice, either by letter or an 
electronic format, or disqualification letter to request a full 
administrative review.  

C. The request for the full administrative review can be 
mailed by US mail, sent by facsimile transmission or sent via 
email to the vendor manager. If the request is mailed, it must 
be postmarked within 15 calendar days from the date of 
receipt of letter or electronic notification from the state 
agency, whichever comes first. 

D. The retail store or applicant must indicate whether or not 
he will be represented by an attorney when the full 
administrative review request is made. The retail store or 
applicant must also provide the state agency with copies of 
any written information to be used during the review and 
names of witnesses that will be called at least five days prior 
to the scheduled full administrative review. Failure to notify 
the state agency of these items may result in a rescheduled 
date and time for the full administrative review or the 
exclusion of documents and witnesses from the full 
administrative review. 

E. Upon receipt of the retail store's or applicant's request for 
a full administrative review, the state agency will confirm a 
date, time, and place for the review within 30 days. For 
authorized stores, the review must be scheduled to take place 
within 60 calendar days after the written request is received 
by the state agency unless otherwise agreed to by the parties 
involved. 

F. Failure to attend the scheduled review on the agreed upon 
date and time will lead to the retail store forfeiting its rights to 
any further administrative reviews. 

G. The retail store or applicant will have one opportunity to 
reschedule the full administrative review's date or time. All 
requests to reschedule the review date or time must be 
submitted in writing at least 24 hours before the scheduled 
review date, unless an emergency occurs, as determined at the 
discretion of the state WIC director or designee. Rescheduled 
reviews shall take place within four weeks of the originally 

scheduled date unless the parties mutually agree on a later 
date. 

H. If the retail store representative is more than 45 minutes 
late from the agreed upon review start time, then this will be 
considered a "no show" unless he can provide documentation 
that the WIC director or designee determines justifies his 
tardiness or failure to appear. This outcome means that the 
retail store has forfeited its rights to a full administrative 
review. 

I. A full administrative review is conducted by an 
adjudication officer who is employed by the Virginia 
Department of Health. The adjudication officer shall ensure 
that administrative actions taken by the WIC Program are 
consistently and fairly applied and that those administrative 
actions comply with established policies, procedures and 
federal and state regulations. A representative from the state 
agency will present its case to the adjudication officer and 
retail store or applicant representative. Conversely, the 
storeowner or designated representative, which may include 
legal counsel, will present its case to the adjudication officer.  

J. All full administrative reviews are held in Richmond, 
Virginia. 

K. After a full administrative review is held, the state WIC 
director shall provide written notification of the adjudication 
officer's decision, including the basis for the decision, within 
90 calendar days of the date of receipt of the full 
administrative appeal review request, unless otherwise agreed 
to by the parties involved. This notification will also be sent 
to the appropriate USDA Food and Nutrition Services office. 

L. Authorized retail stores being disqualified may continue 
to deposit WIC food instruments until a decision has been 
rendered from the full administrative review. The adverse 
action effective date shall be postponed by the state agency 
pending the outcome of the review. 

M. In accordance with 7 CFR 246.18(b)(2) 7 CFR 246.18, if 
an authorized store does not request a full administrative 
review, then disqualification becomes effective 15 calendar 
days after the retailer receives the state agency's written 
disqualification letter. 

N. An authorized retailer being retained in lieu of 
disqualification may elect to voluntarily withdraw from the 
WIC Program rather than pay a mandated civil monetary 
penalty fine. If the retailer voluntarily withdraws and does not 
pay a civil monetary penalty fine that previously had been 
imposed by the program, then a disqualification status will be 
documented in the state agency's records. The disqualification 
period may range from one to six years, depending on the 
type of sanctions and violations documented by the state 
agency. 

O. The state agency shall provide a full administrative 
review to retail stores or applicants for the following adverse 
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actions pursuant to 7 CFR 246.18(a)(1)(i) and (ii) 7 CFR 
246.18: 

1. Denial of authorization based on the vendor selection 
criteria for competitive price or for minimum variety and 
quantity of authorized supplemental foods (7 CFR 
246.12(g)(3)(i) and (ii)) or on a determination that the 
vendor is attempting to circumvent a sanction (7 CFR 
246.12(g)(4)) (7 CFR 246.12); 

2. Denial of authorization based upon the vendor selection 
criteria for business integrity or for a current Food Stamp 
Program disqualification or civil money penalty for 
hardship (7 CFR 246.12(g)(3)(iii) and (iv) (7 CFR 246.12);  

3. Denial of authorization based on a state agency 
established vendor selection criteria if the basis of the 
denial is a vendor sanction or a Food Stamp Program 
withdrawal of authorization or disqualification; 

4. Denial of authorization based on the state agency's 
retailer limiting criteria (7 CFR 246.12(g)(2)) (7 CFR 
246.12); 

5. Denial of authorization because a vendor submitted its 
application outside the timeframes during which 
applications are accepted or processed as established by the 
state agency under 7 CFR 246.12(g)(7) (7 CFR 246.12); 

6. Termination of a retailer agreement because of a change 
in ownership or location or cessation of operations (7 CFR 
246.12(h)(3)(xvii)) (7 CFR 246.12); 

7. Termination of a retailer agreement for cause; 

8. Disqualification based on documented WIC Program 
violations;  

9. Disqualification based on a trafficking conviction (7 
CFR 246.12(l)(1)(i)) (7 CFR 246.12); 

10. Disqualification based on the imposition of a Food 
Stamp Program civil montary monetary penalty for 
hardship (7 CFR 246.12(l)(2)(ii)) (7 CFR 246.12);  

11. Disqualification or civil monetary penalty imposed in 
lieu of disqualification based on a mandatory sanction 
imposed by another WIC state agency (7 CFR 
246.12(l)(2)(iii)) (7 CFR 246.12); or 

12. Imposition of a fine or a civil monetary penalty in lieu 
of disqualification.  

P. The state agency shall not provide a full administrative 
review to retail stores that appeal the following actions 
pursuant to 7 CFR 246.18(a)(1)(iii) 7 CFR 246.18: 

1. The validity or appropriateness of the state agency's 
vendor limiting or selection criteria (7 CFR 246.12(g)(2) 
and (3)) (7 CFR 246.12);  

2. The validity or appropriateness of the state agency's 
vendor peer group criteria and the criteria used to identify 

vendors that are above 50% vendors or comparable to 
above 50% vendors; 

3. The validity or appropriateness of the state agency's 
participant access criteria and the state agency's participant 
access determinations; 

4. The state agency's determination whether a vendor had 
an effective policy and program in effect to prevent 
trafficking and that the ownership of the vendor was not 
aware of, did not approve of, and was not involved in the 
conduct of the violation (7 CFR 246.12(l)(1)(i)(B)) (7 CFR 
246.12); 

5. Denial of authorization if the state agency's vendor 
authorization is subject to the procurement procedures 
applicable to the state agency; 

6. The expiration of the retailer's agreement; 

7. Disputes regarding food instrument payments and 
vendor claims other than the opportunity to justify or 
correct a vendor overcharge or other error as permitted by 
7 CFR 246.12(k)(3) (7 CFR 246.12); or 

8. Disqualification of a vendor as a result of 
disqualification from the Food Stamp Program (7 CFR 
246.12(l)(1)(vii)) (7 CFR 246.12).  

Q. A full administrative review request shall not be denied 
or dismissed unless: 

1. The request to the state agency is not postmarked within 
15 calendar days of the applicant or authorized store's 
receipt of the notice of disqualification or adverse action; 

2. The request to the state agency was submitted by an 
individual who does not have the legal or delegated 
authority to represent the owner; 

3. The retailer or authorized representative withdraws the 
request in writing; 

4. The retailer or authorized representative fails without 
good cause to appear at the scheduled review date and 
time; or 

5. The request for a full administrative review is not 
eligible for this consideration based on the specific 
exclusion criteria outlined in subsection P of this section. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(12VAC5-195) 

Virginia WIC Program Retailer Vendor Manual (Vendor 
Manual) for the Virginia WIC Program, August 2008, 
Virginia Department of Health:. 

Policy 9.0, Reimbursement of Paid and Returned WIC 
Food Instruments, effective May 26, 2008. 

Policy 10.0, Minimum Stocking Requirement, effective 
May 1, 2007. 
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Policy 14.0, Retailer Selection and Authorization, effective 
April 1, 2008. 

Policy 14.1, Business Integrity, effective August 1, 2003. 

Attachment to Policy 15.0, Sanction Classification System 
– Violation Schedule, effective May 26, 2008. 

Virginia WIC Program Approved Food List, effective 
January 1, 2007, Virginia Department of Health. 

Retailer Agreement, effective July 1, 2008, Virginia 
Department of Health. 

Volume No. 1 – Policies & Procedures, Function No. 20000 
– General Accounting, Section No. 20500 – Accounts 
Receivable, dated June 2004, Office of the Comptroller, 
Commonwealth of Virginia. 

Virginia WIC Program Sanction Violation Schedule, March 
2009, Virginia Department of Health. 

USDA Memo – SFP 09-020 Clarification on the use of the 
WIC acronym and logo, January 2009, United States 
Department of Agriculture, Food and Nutrition Service. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1771; Filed June 12, 2009, 4:11 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, and 
Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services (amending 
12VAC30-50-226, 12VAC30-50-420, 12VAC30-50-430). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Dates: July 1, 2009, through June 30, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Catherine Hancock, Policy Division, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
225-4272, FAX (804) 786-1650, or email 
catherine.hancock@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Preamble:  

Section 2.2-4011 of the Administrative Process Act states 
that an agency may adopt regulations in an emergency 
situation (i) upon consultation with the Attorney General 
after the agency has submitted a request stating in writing 
the nature of the emergency, and at the sole discretion of 
the Governor; (ii) a situation in which Virginia statutory 
law, the Virginia appropriation act, or federal law or 
federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 
280 days or less from its enactment, and the regulation is 
not exempt under the provisions of § 2.2-4006 A 4; or (iii) 
in a situation in which an agency has an existing 
emergency regulation, additional emergency regulations 
may be issued as needed to address the subject matter of 

the initial emergency regulation provided the amending 
action does not extend the effective date of the original 
action. This suggested emergency regulation meets the 
standard at § 2.2-4011 B as discussed below. 

The agency is proposing this regulatory action to comply 
with Item 306 OO of the 2009 Appropriation Act that gives 
DMAS authority to implement prior authorization for 
community-based mental health services for children and 
adults. In recent years the utilization of certain community-
based mental health services has increased substantially. 
In order to address these expected increases in utilization, 
the General Assembly provided DMAS authority to 
implement prior authorization of these services in order to 
ensure that such services are provided based on Medicaid 
service criteria. 

This action implements new prior authorization for 
community mental health services for children and adults. 
DMAS already has regulations that address prior 
authorization for other services.  Therefore, those aspects 
of the Item 306 OO of the 2009 Appropriation Act are 
already in operation and need not be addressed in this 
action. The particular change implemented is the addition 
of a prior authorization requirement to case management 
services for seriously mentally ill adults and emotionally 
disturbed children (12VAC30-50-420) and for youth at risk 
of serious emotional disturbance (12VAC30-50-430).  In 
addition, DMAS is adding this same requirement to the 
following services detailed in 12VAC30-50-226: Day 
treatment/partial hospitalization services, psychosocial 
rehabilitation, intensive community treatment, and mental 
health support services. 

12VAC30-50-226. Community mental health services. 

A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 
these regulations shall have the following meanings unless 
the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Certified prescreener" means an employee of the local 
community services board or its designee who is skilled in the 
assessment and treatment of mental illness and who has 
completed a certification program approved by DMHMRSAS 
DBHDS.  

"Clinical experience" means practical experience in 
providing direct services to individuals with mental illness or 
mental retardation or the provision of direct geriatric services 
or special education services. Experience may include 
supervised internships, practicums, and field experience.  

"Code" means the Code of Virginia.  

"DBHDS" means the Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services consistent with Chapter 3 (§ 37.2-
300 et seq.) of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia. 
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"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services consistent with Chapter 10 (§ 32.1-323 et seq.) of 
Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"DMHMRSAS" means Department of Mental Health, 
Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services consistent 
with Chapter 1 (§ 37.1-39 et seq.) of Title 37.1 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

"Human services field" means social work, gerontology, 
psychology, psychiatric rehabilitation, special education, 
sociology, counseling, vocational rehabilitation, and human 
services counseling or other degrees deemed equivalent by 
DMAS.  

"Individual" means the patient, client, or recipient of 
services set out herein.  

"Individual service plan" or "ISP" means a comprehensive 
and regularly updated statement specific to the individual 
being treated containing, but not necessarily limited to, his 
treatment or training needs, his goals and measurable 
objectives to meet the identified needs, services to be 
provided with the recommended frequency to accomplish the 
measurable goals and objectives, and estimated timetable for 
achieving the goals and objectives. The provider shall include 
the individual in the development of the ISP. To the extent 
that the individual's condition requires assistance for 
participation, assistance shall be provided. The ISP shall be 
updated as the needs and progress of the individual changes.  

"Licensed Mental Health Professional" or "LMHP" means 
an individual licensed in Virginia as a physician, a clinical 
psychologist, a professional counselor, a clinical social 
worker, or a psychiatric clinical nurse specialist.  

"Qualified mental health professional" or "QMHP" means a 
clinician in the human services field who is trained and 
experienced in providing psychiatric or mental health services 
to individuals who have a psychiatric diagnosis. If the QMHP 
is also one of the defined licensed mental health 
professionals, the QMHP may perform the services 
designated for the Licensed Mental Health Professionals 
unless it is specifically prohibited by their licenses. These 
QMHPs may be either a:  

1. Physician who is a doctor of medicine or osteopathy and 
is licensed in Virginia;  

2. Psychiatrist who is a doctor of medicine or osteopathy, 
specializing in psychiatry and is licensed in Virginia;  

3. Psychologist who has a master's degree in psychology 
from an accredited college or university with at least one 
year of clinical experience;  

4. Social worker who has a master's or bachelor's degree 
from a school of social work accredited or approved by the 
Council on Social Work Education and has at least one 
year of clinical experience;  

5. Registered nurse who is licensed as a registered nurse in 
the Commonwealth and has at least one year of clinical 
experience; or  

6. Mental health worker who has at least:  

a. A bachelor's degree in human services or a related 
field from an accredited college and who has at least one 
year of clinical experience;  

b. Registered Psychiatric Rehabilitation Provider (RPRP) 
registered with the International Association of 
Psychosocial Rehabilitation Services (IAPSRS) as of 
January 1, 2001;  

c. A bachelor's degree from an accredited college in an 
unrelated field with an associate's degree in a human 
services field. The individual must also have three years 
clinical experience;  

d. A bachelor's degree from an accredited college and 
certification by the International Association of 
Psychosocial Rehabilitation Services (IAPSRS) as a 
Certified Psychiatric Rehabilitation Practitioner (CPRP);  

e. A bachelor's degree from an accredited college in an 
unrelated field that includes at least 15 semester credits 
(or equivalent) in a human services field. The individual 
must also have three years clinical experience; or  

f. Four years clinical experience.  

"Qualified paraprofessional in mental health" or "QPPMH" 
means an individual who meets at least one of the following 
criteria:  

1. Registered with the International Association of 
Psychosocial Rehabilitation Services (IAPSRS) as an 
Associate Psychiatric Rehabilitation Provider (APRP), as 
of January 1, 2001;.  

2. Has an associate's degree in one of the following related 
fields (social work, psychology, psychiatric rehabilitation, 
sociology, counseling, vocational rehabilitation, human 
services counseling) and has at least one year of experience 
providing direct services to persons with a diagnosis of 
mental illness;.  

3. An associate's or higher degree, in an unrelated field and 
at least three years experience providing direct services to 
persons with a diagnosis of mental illness, gerontology 
clients, or special education clients. The experience may 
include supervised internships, practicums and field 
experience.  

4. A minimum of 90 hours classroom training in behavioral 
health and 12 weeks of experience under the direct 
personal supervision of a QMHP providing services to 
persons with mental illness and at least one year of clinical 
experience (including the 12 weeks of supervised 
experience).  
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5. College credits (from an accredited college) earned 
toward a bachelor's degree in a human service field that is 
equivalent to an associate's degree and one year's clinical 
experience.  

6. Licensure by the Commonwealth as a practical nurse 
with at least one year of clinical experience.  

B. Mental health services. The following services, with their 
definitions, shall be covered: day treatment/partial 
hospitalization, psychosocial rehabilitation, crisis services, 
intensive community treatment (ICT), and mental health 
supports. Staff travel time shall not be included in billable 
time for reimbursement.  

1. Day treatment/partial hospitalization services shall be 
provided in sessions of two or more consecutive hours per 
day, which may be scheduled multiple times per week, to 
groups of individuals in a nonresidential setting. These 
services, limited annually to 780 units, include the major 
diagnostic, medical, psychiatric, psychosocial and 
psychoeducational treatment modalities designed for 
individuals who require coordinated, intensive, 
comprehensive, and multidisciplinary treatment but who 
do not require inpatient treatment. One unit of service shall 
be defined as a minimum of two but less than four hours on 
a given day. Two units of service shall be defined as at 
least four but less than seven hours in a given day. Three 
units of service shall be defined as seven or more hours in 
a given day. Authorization is required for Medicaid 
reimbursement. 

a. Day treatment/partial hospitalization services shall be 
time limited interventions that are more intensive than 
outpatient services and are required to stabilize an 
individual's psychiatric condition. The services are 
delivered when the individual is at risk of psychiatric 
hospitalization or is transitioning from a psychiatric 
hospitalization to the community.  

b. Individuals qualifying for this service must 
demonstrate a clinical necessity for the service arising 
from mental, behavioral, or emotional illness that results 
in significant functional impairments in major life 
activities. Individuals must meet at least two of the 
following criteria on a continuing or intermittent basis:  

(1) Experience difficulty in establishing or maintaining 
normal interpersonal relationships to such a degree that 
they are at risk of hospitalization or homelessness or 
isolation from social supports;  

(2) Experience difficulty in activities of daily living such 
as maintaining personal hygiene, preparing food and 
maintaining adequate nutrition, or managing finances to 
such a degree that health or safety is jeopardized;  

(3) Exhibit behavior that requires repeated interventions 
or monitoring by the mental health, social services, or 
judicial system; or  

(4) Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that they 
are unable to recognize personal danger or recognize 
significantly inappropriate social behavior.  

c. Individuals shall be discharged from this service when 
they are no longer in an acute psychiatric state and other 
less intensive services may achieve psychiatric 
stabilization.  

d. Admission and services for time periods longer than 
90 calendar days must be authorized based upon a face-
to-face evaluation by a physician, psychiatrist, licensed 
clinical psychologist, licensed professional counselor, 
licensed clinical social worker, or psychiatric clinical 
nurse specialist.  

2. Psychosocial rehabilitation shall be provided at least two 
or more hours per day to groups of individuals in a 
nonresidential setting. These services, limited annually to 
936 units, include assessment, education to teach the 
patient about the diagnosed mental illness and appropriate 
medications to avoid complication and relapse, 
opportunities to learn and use independent living skills and 
to enhance social and interpersonal skills within a 
supportive and normalizing program structure and 
environment. One unit of service is defined as a minimum 
of two but less than four hours on a given day. Two units 
are defined as at least four but less than seven hours in a 
given day. Three units of service shall be defined as seven 
or more hours in a given day. Authorization is required for 
Medicaid reimbursement.   

Individuals qualifying for this service must demonstrate a 
clinical necessity for the service arising from mental, 
behavioral, or emotional illness that results in significant 
functional impairments in major life activities. Services are 
provided to individuals: (i) who without these services 
would be unable to remain in the community or (ii) who 
meet at least two of the following criteria on a continuing 
or intermittent basis:  

a. Experience difficulty in establishing or maintaining 
normal interpersonal relationships to such a degree that 
they are at risk of psychiatric hospitalization, 
homelessness, or isolation from social supports;  

b. Experience difficulty in activities of daily living such 
as maintaining personal hygiene, preparing food and 
maintaining adequate nutrition, or managing finances to 
such a degree that health or safety is jeopardized;  

c. Exhibit such inappropriate behavior that repeated 
interventions by the mental health, social services, or 
judicial system are necessary; or  
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d. Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that they are 
unable to recognize personal danger or significantly 
inappropriate social behavior.  

3. Crisis intervention shall provide immediate mental 
health care, available 24 hours a day, seven days per week, 
to assist individuals who are experiencing acute psychiatric 
dysfunction requiring immediate clinical attention. This 
service's objectives shall be to prevent exacerbation of a 
condition, to prevent injury to the client or others, and to 
provide treatment in the context of the least restrictive 
setting. Crisis intervention activities shall include assessing 
the crisis situation, providing short-term counseling 
designed to stabilize the individual, providing access to 
further immediate assessment and follow-up, and linking 
the individual and family with ongoing care to prevent 
future crises. Crisis intervention services may include 
office visits, home visits, preadmission screenings, 
telephone contacts, and other client-related activities for 
the prevention of institutionalization.  

a. Individuals qualifying for this service must 
demonstrate a clinical necessity for the service arising 
from an acute crisis of a psychiatric nature that puts the 
individual at risk of psychiatric hospitalization. 
Individuals must meet at least two of the following 
criteria at the time of admission to the service:  

(1) Experience difficulty in establishing or maintaining 
normal interpersonal relationships to such a degree that 
they are at risk of psychiatric hospitalization, 
homelessness, or isolation from social supports;  

(2) Experience difficulty in activities of daily living such 
as maintaining personal hygiene, preparing food and 
maintaining adequate nutrition, or managing finances to 
such a degree that health or safety is jeopardized;  

(3) Exhibit such inappropriate behavior that immediate 
interventions by mental health, social services, or the 
judicial system are necessary; or  

(4) Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that they 
are unable to recognize personal danger or significantly 
inappropriate social behavior.  

b. The annual limit for crisis intervention is 720 units per 
year. A unit shall equal 15 minutes.  

4. Intensive community treatment (ICT), initially covered 
for a maximum of 26 weeks based on an initial assessment 
with continuation reauthorized for an additional 26 weeks 
annually based on written assessment and certification of 
need by a qualified mental health provider (QMHP), shall 
be defined as medical psychotherapy, psychiatric 
assessment, medication management, and case 
management activities offered to outpatients outside the 
clinic, hospital, or office setting for individuals who are 
best served in the community. The annual unit limit shall 

be 130 units with a unit equaling one hour. Authorization 
is required for Medicaid reimbursement. To qualify for 
ICT, the individual must meet at least one of the following 
criteria:  

a. The individual must be at high risk for psychiatric 
hospitalization or becoming or remaining homeless due 
to mental illness or require intervention by the mental 
health or criminal justice system due to inappropriate 
social behavior.  

b. The individual has a history (three months or more) of 
a need for intensive mental health treatment or treatment 
for co-occurring serious mental illness and substance use 
disorder and demonstrates a resistance to seek out and 
utilize appropriate treatment options.  

(1) An assessment that documents eligibility and the need 
for this service must be completed prior to the initiation 
of services. This assessment must be maintained in the 
individual's records.  

(2) A service plan must be initiated at the time of 
admission and must be fully developed within 30 days of 
the initiation of services.  

5. Crisis stabilization services for nonhospitalized 
individuals shall provide direct mental health care to 
individuals experiencing an acute psychiatric crisis which 
may jeopardize their current community living situation. 
Authorization may be for up to a 15-day period per crisis 
episode following a documented face-to-face assessment 
by a QMHP which is reviewed and approved by an LMHP 
within 72 hours. The maximum limit on this service is up 
to eight hours (with a unit being one hour) per day up to 60 
days annually. The goals of crisis stabilization programs 
shall be to avert hospitalization or rehospitalization, 
provide normative environments with a high assurance of 
safety and security for crisis intervention, stabilize 
individuals in psychiatric crisis, and mobilize the resources 
of the community support system and family members and 
others for on-going maintenance and rehabilitation. The 
services must be documented in the individual's records as 
having been provided consistent with the ISP in order to 
receive Medicaid reimbursement. The crisis stabilization 
program shall provide to recipients, as appropriate, 
psychiatric assessment including medication evaluation, 
treatment planning, symptom and behavior management, 
and individual and group counseling. This service may be 
provided in any of the following settings, but shall not be 
limited to: (i) the home of a recipient who lives with family 
or other primary caregiver; (ii) the home of a recipient who 
lives independently; or (iii) community-based programs 
licensed by DMHMRSAS DBHDS to provide residential 
services but which are not institutions for mental disease 
(IMDs). This service shall not be reimbursed for (i) 
recipients with medical conditions that require hospital 
care; (ii) recipients with primary diagnosis of substance 
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abuse; or (iii) recipients with psychiatric conditions that 
cannot be managed in the community (i.e., recipients who 
are of imminent danger to themselves or others). Services 
must be documented through daily notes and a daily log of 
times spent in the delivery of services. Individuals 
qualifying for this service must demonstrate a clinical 
necessity for the service arising from an acute crisis of a 
psychiatric nature that puts the individual at risk of 
psychiatric hospitalization. Individuals must meet at least 
two of the following criteria at the time of admission to the 
service:  

a. Experience difficulty in establishing and maintaining 
normal interpersonal relationships to such a degree that 
the individual is at risk of psychiatric hospitalization, 
homelessness, or isolation from social supports;  

b. Experience difficulty in activities of daily living such 
as maintaining personal hygiene, preparing food and 
maintaining adequate nutrition, or managing finances to 
such a degree that health or safety is jeopardized;  

c. Exhibit such inappropriate behavior that immediate 
interventions by the mental health, social services, or 
judicial system are necessary; or  

d. Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that the 
individual is unable to recognize personal danger or 
significantly inappropriate social behavior.  

6. Mental health support services shall be defined as 
training and supports to enable individuals to achieve and 
maintain community stability and independence in the 
most appropriate, least restrictive environment. 
Authorization is required for Medicaid reimbursement. 
These services may be authorized for six consecutive 
months. This program shall provide the following services 
in order to be reimbursed by Medicaid: training in or 
reinforcement of functional skills and appropriate behavior 
related to the individual's health and safety, activities of 
daily living, and use of community resources; assistance 
with medication management; and monitoring health, 
nutrition, and physical condition.  

a. Individuals qualifying for this service must 
demonstrate a clinical necessity for the service arising 
from a condition due to mental, behavioral, or emotional 
illness that results in significant functional impairments 
in major life activities. Services are provided to 
individuals who without these services would be unable 
to remain in the community. The individual must have 
two of the following criteria on a continuing or 
intermittent basis:  

(1) Have difficulty in establishing or maintaining normal 
interpersonal relationships to such a degree that the 
individual is at risk of psychiatric hospitalization or 
homelessness or isolation from social supports;  

(2) Require help in basic living skills such as maintaining 
personal hygiene, preparing food and maintaining 
adequate nutrition or managing finances to such a degree 
that health or safety is jeopardized;  

(3) Exhibit such inappropriate behavior that repeated 
interventions by the mental health, social services, or 
judicial system are necessary; or  

(4) Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that they 
are unable to recognize personal danger or recognize 
significantly inappropriate social behavior.  

b. The individual must demonstrate functional 
impairments in major life activities. This may include 
individuals with a dual diagnosis of either mental illness 
and mental retardation, or mental illness and substance 
abuse disorder.  

c. The yearly limit for mental health support services is 
372 units. One unit is one hour but less than three hours.  

12VAC30-50-420. Case management services for seriously 
mentally ill adults and emotionally disturbed children. 

A. Target Group: The Medicaid eligible individual shall 
meet the DMHMRSAS DBHDS definition for "serious 
mental illness," or "serious emotional disturbance in children 
and adolescents."  

1. An active client for case management shall mean an 
individual for whom there is a plan of care in effect which 
requires regular direct or client-related contacts or 
communication or activity with the client, family, service 
providers, significant others and others including at least 
one face-to-face contact every 90 days. Billing can be 
submitted for an active client only for months in which 
direct or client-related contacts, activity or 
communications occur. Authorization is required for 
Medicaid reimbursement.  

2. There shall be no maximum service limits for case 
management services. Case management shall not be billed 
for individuals who are in institutions for mental disease.  

B. Services will be provided to the entire state.  

C. Comparability of Services: Services are not comparable 
in amount, duration, and scope. Authority of § 1915(g)(1) of 
the Act is invoked to provide services without regard to the 
requirements of § 1902(a)(10)(B) of the Act.  

D. Definition of Services: Mental health services. Case 
management services assist individual children and adults, in 
accessing needed medical, psychiatric, social, educational, 
vocational, and other supports essential to meeting basic 
needs. Services to be provided include:  

1. Assessment and planning services, to include developing 
an Individual Service Plan (does not include performing 
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medical and psychiatric assessment but does include 
referral for such assessment);  

2. Linking the individual to services and supports specified 
in the individualized service plan;  

3. Assisting the individual directly for the purpose of 
locating, developing or obtaining needed services and 
resources;  

4. Coordinating services and service planning with other 
agencies and providers involved with the individual.; 

5. Enhancing community integration by contacting other 
entities to arrange community access and involvement, 
including opportunities to learn community living skills, 
and use vocational, civic, and recreational services;  

6. Making collateral contacts with the individuals' 
significant others to promote implementation of the service 
plan and community adjustment;  

7. Follow-up and monitoring to assess ongoing progress 
and to ensure services are delivered; and  

8. Education and counseling which guides the client and 
develops a supportive relationship that promotes the 
service plan.  

E. Qualifications of Providers:  

1. Services are not comparable in amount, duration, and 
scope. Authority of § 1915(g)(1) of the Act is invoked to 
limit case management providers for individuals with 
mental retardation and individuals with serious/chronic 
mental illness to the Community Services Boards only to 
enable them to provide services to serious/chronically 
mentally ill or mentally retarded individuals without regard 
to the requirements of § 1902(a)(10)(B) of the Act.  

2. To qualify as a provider of services through DMAS for 
rehabilitative mental health case management, the provider 
of the services must meet certain criteria. These criteria 
shall be:  

a. The provider must have the administrative and 
financial management capacity to meet state and federal 
requirements;  

b. The provider must have the ability to document and 
maintain individual case records in accordance with state 
and federal requirements;  

c. The services shall be in accordance with the Virginia 
Comprehensive State Plan for Mental Health, Mental 
Retardation and Substance Abuse Services;  

d. The provider must be licensed as a provider of case 
management services by the DMHMRSAS DBHDS; and  

e. Persons providing case management services must 
have knowledge of:  

(1) Services, systems, and programs available in the 
community including primary health care, support 
services, eligibility criteria and intake processes, generic 
community resources, and mental health, mental 
retardation, and substance abuse treatment programs;  

(2) The nature of serious mental illness, mental 
retardation, and substance abuse depending on the 
population served, including clinical and developmental 
issues;  

(3) Different types of assessments, including functional 
assessments, and their uses in service planning;  

(4) Treatment modalities and intervention techniques, 
such as behavior management, independent living skills 
training, supportive counseling, family education, crisis 
intervention, discharge planning, and service 
coordination;  

(5) The service planning process and major components 
of a service plan;  

(6) The use of medications in the care or treatment of the 
population served; and  

(7) All applicable federal and state laws, state 
regulations, and local ordinances.  

f. Persons providing case management services must 
have skills in:  

(1) Identifying and documenting an individual's needs for 
resources, services, and other supports;  

(2) Using information from assessments, evaluations, 
observation, and interviews to develop individual service 
plans;  

(3) Identifying services and resources within the 
community and established service system to meet the 
individual's needs; and documenting how resources, 
services, and natural supports, such as family, can be 
utilized to achieve an individual's personal 
habilitative/rehabilitative and life goals; and  

(4) Coordinating the provision of services by public and 
private providers.  

g. Persons providing case management services must 
have abilities to:  

(1) Work as team members, maintaining effective inter- 
and intra-agency working relationships;  

(2) Work independently, performing position duties 
under general supervision; and  

(3) Engage and sustain ongoing relationships with 
individuals receiving services.  
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3. Providers may bill Medicaid for mental health case 
management only when the services are provided by 
qualified mental health case managers.  

F. The state assures that the provision of case management 
services will not restrict an individual's free choice of 
providers in violation of § 1902(a)(23) of the Act.  

1. Eligible recipients will have free choice of the providers 
of case management services.  

2. Eligible recipients will have free choice of the providers 
of other medical care under the plan.  

G. Payment for case management services under the plan 
shall not duplicate payments made to public agencies or 
private entities under other program authorities for this same 
purpose.  

H. Case management services may not be billed 
concurrently with intensive community treatment services, 
treatment foster care case management services or intensive 
in-home services for children and adolescents.  

12VAC30-50-430. Case management services for youth at 
risk of serious emotional disturbance.  

A. Target group: Medicaid eligible individuals who meet the 
DMHMRSAS DBHDS definition of youth at risk of serious 
emotional disturbance.  

1. An active client shall mean an individual for whom there 
is a plan of care in effect which requires regular direct or 
client-related contacts or communication or activity with 
the client, family, service providers, significant others and 
others including at least one face-to-face contact every 90-
days. Billing can be submitted for an active client only for 
months in which direct or client-related contacts, activity 
or communications occur. Authorization is required for 
Medicaid reimbursement.  

2. There shall be no maximum service limits for case 
management services. Case management services must not 
be billed for individuals who are in institutions for mental 
disease.  

B. Services will be provided in the entire state.  

C. Comparability of services: Services are not comparable in 
amount, duration, and scope. Authority of § 1915(g)(1) of the 
Act is invoked to provide services without regard to the 
requirements of § 1902(a)(10)(B) of the Act.  

D. Definition of services: Mental health services. Case 
management services assist youth at risk of serious emotional 
disturbance in accessing needed medical, psychiatric, social, 
educational, vocational, and other supports essential to 
meeting basic needs. Services to be provided include:  

1. Assessment and planning services, to include developing 
an Individual Service Plan;  

2. Linking the individual directly to services and supports 
specified in the treatment/services plan;  

3. Assisting the individual directly for the purpose of 
locating, developing or obtaining needed service and 
resources;  

4. Coordinating services and service planning with other 
agencies and providers involved with the individual;  

5. Enhancing community integration by contacting other 
entities to arrange community access and involvement, 
including opportunities to learn community living skills, 
and use vocational, civic, and recreational services;  

6. Making collateral contacts which are nontherapy 
contacts with an individual's significant others to promote 
treatment and/or community adjustment;  

7. Following up and monitoring to assess ongoing progress 
and ensuring services are delivered; and  

8. Education and counseling which guides the client and 
develops a supportive relationship that promotes the 
service plan.  

E. Qualifications of providers.  

1. Services are not comparable in amount, duration, and 
scope. Authority of § 1915(g)(1) of the Act is invoked to 
limit case management providers, to the community 
services boards only, to enable them to provide services to 
serious/chronically mentally ill or mentally retarded 
individuals without regard to the requirements of § 
1902(a)(10)(B) of the Act. To qualify as a provider of case 
management services to youth at risk of serious emotional 
disturbance, the provider of the services must meet the 
following criteria:  

a. The provider must meet state and federal requirements 
regarding its capacity for administrative and financial 
management;  

b. The provider must document and maintain individual 
case records in accordance with state and federal 
requirements;  

c. The provider must provide services in accordance with 
the Virginia Comprehensive State Plan for Mental 
Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse 
Services;  

d. The provider must be licensed as a provider of case 
management services by the DMHMRSAS DBHDS; and  

e. Persons providing case management services must 
have knowledge of:  

(1) Services, systems, and programs available in the 
community including primary health care, support 
services, eligibility criteria and intake processes, generic 
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community resources, and mental health, mental 
retardation, and substance abuse treatment programs;  

(2) The nature of serious mental illness, mental 
retardation and/or substance abuse depending on the 
population served, including clinical and developmental 
issues;  

(3) Different types of assessments, including functional 
assessments, and their uses in service planning;  

(4) Treatment modalities and intervention techniques, 
such as behavior management, independent living skills 
training, supportive counseling, family education, crisis 
intervention, discharge planning, and service 
coordination;  

(5) The service planning process and major components 
of a service plan;  

(6) The use of medications in the care or treatment of the 
population served; and  

(7) All applicable federal and state laws, state 
regulations, and local ordinances.  

f. Persons providing case management services must 
have skills in:  

(1) Identifying and documenting an individual's need for 
resources, services, and other supports;  

(2) Using information from assessments, evaluations, 
observation, and interviews to develop individual service 
plans;  

(3) Identifying services and resources within the 
community and established service system to meet the 
individual's needs; and documenting how resources, 
services, and natural supports, such as family, can be 
utilized to achieve an individual's personal habilitative/ 
rehabilitative and life goals; and  

(4) Coordinating the provision of services by diverse 
public and private providers.  

g. Persons providing case management services must 
have abilities to:  

(1) Work as team members, maintaining effective inter- 
and intra-agency working relationships;  

(2) Work independently performing position duties under 
general supervision; and  

(3) Engage and sustain ongoing relationships with 
individuals receiving services.  

F. Providers may bill Medicaid for mental health case 
management to youth at risk of serious emotional disturbance 
only when the services are provided by qualified mental 
health case managers.  

G. The state assures that the provision of case management 
services will not restrict an individual's free choice of 
providers in violation of § 1902(a)(23) of the Act.  

1. Eligible recipients will have free choice of the providers 
of case management services.  

2. Eligible recipients will have free choice of the providers 
of other medical care under the plan.  

H. Payment for case management services under the plan 
must not duplicate payments made to public agencies or 
private entities under other program authorities for this same 
purpose.  

I. Case management may not be billed concurrently with 
intensive community treatment services, treatment foster care 
case management services, or intensive in-home services for 
children and adolescents.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1937; Filed June 17, 2009, 11:34 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards 
for Establishing Payment Rates; Other Types of Care 
(amending 12VAC30-80-200; adding 12VAC30-80-35). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on September 4, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 E. Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 
Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 
administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance. 
Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 
Director of DMAS to administer and amend the Plan for 
Medical Assistance according to the board's requirements. 
The Medicaid authority as established by § 1902 (a) of the 
Social Security Act (42 USC § 1396a) provides governing 
authority for payments for services. 

Purpose: Ambulatory Surgery Centers. This proposed 
regulation is not essential to protect the health, safety, or 
welfare of citizens. However, it is necessary to have a 
reimbursement methodology for DMAS to pay ambulatory 
surgery centers (ASCs) that furnish services to Medicaid 
recipients. As a result of Medicare modifying its 
reimbursement methodology for ASCs, it no longer produces 
the data that DMAS has relied on for its current methodology. 
In the absence of this data, DMAS can no longer maintain its 
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current methodology and, therefore, must develop a new 
methodology. 

Outpatient Rehabilitation Facility Reimbursement. This 
proposed regulation is also not essential to protect the health, 
safety, or welfare of citizens. This proposed action modifies 
the methodology for reimbursing outpatient rehabilitation 
agencies. This new methodology is similar to the 
methodology used by Medicare and commercial insurers 
including Medicaid MCOs. 

There are no expected environmental benefits from these 
changes. 

Substance: Ambulatory Surgery Centers. Medicaid currently 
reimburses ASCs using the Medicare methodology in effect 
prior to January 1, 2007, by assigning procedure codes to nine 
ASC groups. The rate for each group in the previous ASC 
grouper methodology was intended to compensate the ASC 
for all services performed solely based on the procedure code. 

The new APG methodology defines Ambulatory Patient 
Groups (APGs) as allowed outpatient procedures and 
ancillary services that reflect similar patient characteristics 
and resource utilization performed by ASCs. Each group is 
assigned an APG-relative weight that reflects the relative 
average cost for each APG compared to the relative cost for 
all other APGs. The base rate for ASC visits are determined 
by dividing total reimbursement for ASC services by the total 
number of visits for ASC services. The total allowable 
operating rate per visit is determined by multiplying the base 
rate times the APG relative weight. 

To maintain budget neutral expenditures for ASC services 
and to reduce payment errors, as compared to the current 
Medicare-based methodology, the base rate is to be adjusted 
by a budget neutrality factor (BNF) determined every three 
years. The APG relative weights to be implemented will be 
the weights determined and published periodically by DMAS. 
The weights will be updated at least every three years in 
concert with calculation of the BNF for ASCs. New 
outpatient procedures and new relative weights are to be 
added as necessary between the scheduled weight and rate 
updates. The affected entities will be notified of these 
changes, as they occur, via agency guidance documents. 

Outpatient Rehabilitation Facility Reimbursement. 
12VAC30-80-200 is being amended to implement a 
prospective statewide fee schedule methodology for 
outpatient rehabilitation agencies based on CPT codes. 
Rehabilitation services furnished by community services 
boards and state agencies will continue to be reimbursed on a 
cost basis. The fee schedule will be developed to achieve 
savings totaling $185,900 general fund dollars as required in 
the Governor's budget. 

Issues: Ambulatory Surgery Centers. Implementation of 
APGs will align the DMAS ASC methodology more closely 
with other ambulatory payment methodologies. This change 

will increase the efficiency and effectiveness of payments 
made by DMAS to ASC providers and reduce payment 
errors. 

Outpatient Rehabilitation Facility Reimbursement. Currently, 
the Virginia Administrative Code contains a cost-based 
methodology for computing reimbursement for outpatient 
rehabilitation services that is subject to a ceiling (12VAC30-
80-200). For rehabilitation services, Medicare and most 
commercial insurers use a fee schedule. As a result, outpatient 
rehabilitation agencies bill differently and submit a cost 
report only for Medicaid. Implementation of a fee schedule 
methodology will align the DMAS reimbursement 
methodology for outpatient rehabilitation services more 
closely to the Medicare methodology and other 
reimbursement methodologies used by commercial insurers, 
including Medicaid's enrolled Managed Care Organizations 
(MCOs). Providers will no longer have to submit cost reports 
and DMAS will no longer have to settle the cost reports. 
Discontinuing both of these activities will result in 
administrative savings to both rehab providers and the 
Commonwealth. 

There are no disadvantages to the citizens of the 
Commonwealth for these changes as they are not expected to 
have an impact on the delivery of these services. The 
advantage to the citizens of the Commonwealth is the 
reduction in providers' and agency's costs associated with 
these changes. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Department of Medical Assistance Services proposes to 
amend Medicaid reimbursement methodologies for 
ambulatory surgery centers and outpatient rehabilitation 
facilities. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Department of Medical 
Assistance Services proposes to amend Medicaid 
reimbursement methodologies for ambulatory surgery centers 
and outpatient rehabilitation facilities. 

The need to amend the Medicaid reimbursement methodology 
for Ambulatory Surgery Centers (ASC) is prompted by the 
change in Medicare's reimbursement methodology for the 
same services. Currently, Medicaid reimbursement 
methodology depends on the Medicare ASC procedure codes. 
These codes have no longer been used by Medicare since it 
changed its methodology on January 1, 2007. Since then 
Medicare has been producing the procedure codes for 
Medicaid so it could continue to reimburse these centers until 
it adopts a new methodology. 
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The proposed changes will establish a new ASC 
reimbursement methodology that will no longer depend on 
the old Medicare procedure codes. The proposed 
methodology is similar to the new Medicare methodology in 
that both use Ambulatory Patient Groups (APG) to determine 
reimbursement, but the Medicaid reimbursement 
methodology will no longer depend on the Medicare 
methodology. 

According to Department of Medical Assistance Services 
(DMAS), the new APG methodology defines APGs for 
outpatient procedures and ancillary services that reflect 
similar patient characteristics and resource utilization. Each 
group is assigned an APG relative weight that reflects the 
relative average cost for each APG compared to the relative 
cost for all other APGs. The base rate for ASC visits is 
determined by dividing total reimbursement for ASC services 
by the total number of visits for ASC services.  The total 
allowable operating rate per visit is determined by 
multiplying the base rate times the APG relative weight. 

This methodology change will be accomplished in a budget 
neutral manner. To maintain budget neutrality, the base rate 
will be adjusted by a "budget neutrality factor" that will be 
recalibrated every three years. Also, the weights will be 
updated at least every three years to incorporate any changes 
that may have occurred in relative average costs. 

Since this change will be accomplished in a budget neutral 
manner, there should be no change in the total 
reimbursements for the ASC services. In Fiscal Year 2008, 
Medicaid's total reimbursement for ASCs was about $1.6 
million. However, it is possible for providers to experience a 
slight increase or decrease in their reimbursement amounts as 
a result of the change in methodology. 

In addition, while there is likely to be some administrative 
costs on DMAS to modify its information technology to 
incorporate this methodology, it will be accomplished by the 
use of its current funding. Also, the software that facilitates 
the implementation of new methodology, grouper, is provided 
to DMAS at no charge. Since the claim reporting 
requirements stay the same, little or no administrative costs 
on providers is expected. However, those who may be 
interested in utilizing the grouper for cash flow management 
purposes will likely have to purchase it out of pocket. 

DMAS also proposes to change its reimbursement 
methodology for outpatient rehabilitation facilities.1 
According to DMAS, current Medicaid methodology is more 
than several decades old and is cost based. According to the 
proposed methodology, DMAS will establish prospective fee 
schedules based on CPT codes. The proposed methodology is 
not only superior since its prospective, but also is similar to 
the methodology used by Medicare and commercial insurers 
including Medicaid managed care organizations. 

The fee schedule will be developed to achieve savings of 
$371,800 in total funds as required in the Governor's budget. 
In fiscal year 2008, total reimbursement to outpatient 
rehabilitation facilities were approximately $5.6 million. 
Additionally, approximately $48,500 are expected to be 
realized in administrative cost savings as DMAS will no 
longer be auditing and settling cost reports. Similar to the 
other change in methodology, while there is likely to be some 
administrative costs on DMAS to modify its information 
technology to incorporate this methodology, it will be 
accomplished by the use of its current funding. 

The main economic impact of this particular change on 
providers is the loss of $371,800 at the aggregate and the 
contractionary economic effects associated with reduced 
spending in the Commonwealth. However, this amount may 
not be distributed equally over all the providers. Under the 
proposed methodology, facilities whose costs were higher 
relative to others stand to see a decrease in their 
reimbursements and facilities whose costs were lower relative 
to others stand to see an increase in their reimbursements. 
Since costs are no longer reimbursed, a significant 
improvement in production efficiency is expected throughout 
most if not all facilities. Finally, each of the 100 providers is 
expected to save approximately $2,000 per year since they 
will no longer have to prepare cost reports. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulations 
apply to approximately 80 ambulatory surgery centers and 
100 outpatient rehabilitation facilities. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 
apply throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The reduction in 
reimbursement for outpatient rehab services may decrease 
labor demand for rehab personnel by the providers. Also, no 
longer needing cost reports may reduce labor demand for 
administrative services. However, the net effect on the labor 
demand will depend on what is done with the savings in 
rehabilitation reimbursements and administrative savings. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Reduced 
reimbursement on outpatient rehab services is somewhat 
balanced with the savings in administrative costs. The net 
impact is about $171,000 reduction in lost revenue which 
could reduce the asset value of the facilities through negative 
impact on profitability. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. There is no 
available information to estimate how many of the 86 centers 
and 100 facilities may be considered as a small business. If 
any of them are small businesses however, the costs and other 
effects on them would be similar to those discussed above. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. There is no known alternative that would 
minimize the adverse impact on the providers. 
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Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed regulations are 
not anticipated to have any effect on real estate development 
costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 

_______________________________ 
1 Rehabilitation services furnished by community services boards and state 
agencies will continue to be reimbursed on a cost basis. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The agency concurs 
with the economic impact analysis prepared by the 
Department of Planning and Budget regarding the regulations 
concerning Ambulatory Surgery Center and Outpatient 
Rehabilitation Facility Reimbursement (12VAC30-80-35 and 
12VAC30-80-200). 

Summary:  

The amendments are intended to implement reimbursement 
changes for ambulatory surgery centers. This action will 
also implement reimbursement changes for outpatient 
rehabilitation facilities that are currently reimbursed on a 
cost basis. 

12VAC30-80-35. Fee for service: ambulatory surgery 
centers. 

A. Definitions: The following words and terms when used in 
this part shall have the following meaning unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Ambulatory Patient Group (APG)" means a defined group 
of outpatient procedures, encounters, or ancillary services that 
incorporates International Classification of Disease (ICD) 
diagnosis codes, Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) 
codes, and Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System 
(HCPCS) codes. 

"APG relative weight" means the relative expected average 
costs for each APG divided by the relative expected average 
costs for visits assigned to all APGs. 

B. Effective July 1, 2010, the prospective Ambulatory 
Patient Group (APG)-based payment system described as 
follows shall apply to Ambulatory Surgery Center (ASC) 
services: 

1. The operating payments for ASC visits shall be 
determined on the basis of a base rate per visit times the 
relative weight of the APG to which the visit is assigned. 

2. The APG relative weights shall be the weights 
determined and published periodically by DMAS. The 
weights shall be updated at least every three years. 

3. The base rate shall be adjusted by the budget neutrality 
factor (BNF) to ensure that no increase in expenditures 
occurs as a result of updates to the relative weights. The 
base period used to adjust the base rate shall be a recent 
12-month period prior to the fiscal year that the new base 
rates will be effective. 

4. The operating payment shall represent total allowable 
amount for a visit including ancillary services. 

C. The Ambulatory Patient Group (APG) grouper used in 
the ASC payment system for ASCs shall be determined by 
DMAS. Providers or provider representatives shall be given 
notice prior to implementing a new grouper. 

12VAC30-80-200. Prospective reimbursement for 
rehabilitation agencies. 

A. Effective for dates of service on and after July 1, 2003 
2009, rehabilitation agencies, excluding those operated by 
community services boards and state agencies, shall be 
reimbursed a prospective rate equal to the lesser of the 
agency's cost per visit for each type of rehabilitation service 
(physical therapy, occupational therapy, and speech therapy) 
or a statewide ceiling established for each type of service. The 
prospective ceiling for each type of service shall be equal to 
112% of the median cost per visit, for such services, of 
rehabilitation agencies. The median shall be calculated using 
a base year to be determined by the department fee schedule 
amount or billed charges per procedure. The agency shall 
develop a statewide fee schedule based on CPT codes to 
reimburse providers what the agency estimates they would 
have been paid in FY 2010 minus $371,800. Effective July 1, 
2003, the median calculated and the resulting ceiling shall be 
applicable to all services beginning on and after July 1, 2003, 
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and all services in provider fiscal years beginning in 
SFY2004.  

B. In each provider fiscal year, each provider's prospective 
rate shall be determined based on the cost report from the 
previous year and the ceiling, calculated by DMAS, that is 
applicable to the state fiscal year in which the provider fiscal 
year begins.  

C. B. For providers with fiscal years that do not begin on 
July 1, 2003, 2009, services on or before June 30, 2009, for 
the fiscal year in progress on that date shall be apportioned 
between the time period before and the time period after that 
date based on the number of calendar months before and after 
that date. Costs apportioned before that date shall be settled 
based on allowable costs, and those after shall be settled 
based on the prospective methodology the previous 
prospective rate methodology and the ceilings in effect for 
that fiscal year as of June 30, 2009. Providers may choose not 
to submit a cost report for a partial year. In that case, interim 
payments for services furnished for dates of service prior to 
July 2009 shall be considered final. 

C. Rehabilitation services furnished by community service 
boards or state agencies shall be reimbursed costs based on 
annual cost reporting methodology and procedures. 

D. Beginning with state fiscal years beginning on and or 
after July 1, 2004 2010, the ceiling and the provider specific 
cost per visit rates shall be adjusted annually for inflation, 
from the previous year to the prospective year, using the 
nursing facility inflation factor published for Virginia by 
DRI, applicable to the calendar year in progress at the start of 
the state fiscal year using the Virginia-specific nursing home 
input price index contracted for by the agency. The agency 
shall use the percent moving average for the quarter ending at 
the midpoint of the rate year from the most recently available 
index prior to the beginning of the rate year. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1405; Filed June 17, 2009, 11:35 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 
of the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-290. Rules Establishing 
Standards for Companies Deemed to Be in Hazardous 
Financial Condition (amending 14VAC5-290-10, 

14VAC5-290-20, 14VAC5-290-30, 14VAC5-290-40, 
14VAC5-290-50). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be 
scheduled upon request. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on July 24, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Raquel C. Pino-Moreno, Principal Insurance 
Analyst, Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation Commission, 
1300 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 371-9499, FAX (804) 371-9511, or 
email raquel.pino-moreno@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments incorporate the revisions made 
by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners to 
its Model Regulation to Define Standards and 
Commissioner's Authority for Companies Deemed to be in 
Hazardous Financial Condition, which provides additional 
tools for state insurance departments to utilize in 
identifying and dealing with companies in hazardous 
financial condition, including the authority to issue 
corrective action orders.  

AT RICHMOND, JUNE 16, 2009 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 

At the relation of the 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2009-00124 

Ex Parte: In the matter of 
Adopting Revisions to the Rules 
Establishing Standards for Companies 
Deemed to be in Hazardous 
Financial Condition 

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Section 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia provides that the 
State Corporation Commission ("Commission") shall have 
the power to promulgate rules and regulations in the 
enforcement and administration of all laws within its 
jurisdiction, and § 38.2-223 of the Code of Virginia provides 
that the Commission may issue any rules and regulations 
necessary or appropriate for the administration and 
enforcement of Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

The rules and regulations issued by the Commission 
pursuant to § 38.2-223 of the Code of Virginia are set forth in 
Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code.  A copy may 
also be found at the Commission's website:  
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 
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The Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") has submitted to the 
Commission proposed revisions to the rules set forth in 
Chapter 290 of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code 
entitled "Rules Establishing Standards for Companies 
Deemed to be in Hazardous Financial Condition" which 
amend the rules at 14 VAC 5-290-10 through 14 VAC 5-290-
50 ("Rules"). 

The proposed revisions to the regulations are based on the 
National Association of Insurance Commissioners' adoption 
in September 2008 of revisions to the Model Regulation to 
Define Standards and Commissioner's Authority for 
Companies Deemed to be in Hazardous Financial Condition. 

The Commission is of the opinion that the proposed 
revisions submitted by the Bureau and set out at 14 VAC 5-
290-10 through 14 VAC 5-290-50 should be considered for 
adoption with an effective date of September 15, 2009. 

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed revisions to "Rules Establishing Standards 
for Companies Deemed to be in Hazardous Financial 
Condition," which amend the Rules at 14 VAC 5-290-10 
through 14 VAC 5-290-50, be attached and made a part 
hereof. 

(2) All interested persons who desire to comment in support 
of or in opposition to, or request a hearing to oppose the 
adoption of the proposed revised Rules shall file such 
comments or hearing request on or before July 24, 2009, in 
writing, with Joel H. Peck, Clerk, State Corporation 
Commission, c/o Document Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, 
Richmond, Virginia 23218, and shall refer to Case No. INS-
2009-00124. Interested persons desiring to submit comments 
electronically may do so by following the instructions 
available at the Commission's website: 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(3) If no written request for a hearing on the proposed 
revised Rules is filed on or before July 24, 2009, the 
Commission, upon consideration of any comments submitted 
in support of or in opposition to the proposed revisions to the 
Rules, may adopt the revised Rules as submitted by the 
Bureau. 

(4) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
forthwith shall cause a copy of this Order, together with the 
proposed revisions to the Rules, to be forwarded to the 
Virginia Registrar of Regulations for appropriate publication 
in the Virginia Register of Regulations and shall make 
available this Order and the attached proposed revisions to the 
Rules on the Commission's website, 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(5) AN ATTESTED COPY hereof, together with a copy of 
the proposed revised Rules, shall be sent by the Clerk of the 
Commission to the Bureau, c/o Douglas C. Stolte, Deputy 
Commissioner, who forthwith shall give further notice of the 

proposed adoption of the revised Rules by mailing a copy of 
this Order, together with the proposed revised Rules, to all 
licensed insurers and certain interested parties designated by 
the Bureau. 

(6) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk of the Commission 
an affidavit of compliance with the notice requirements of 
Ordering Paragraph (5) above. 

14VAC5-290-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter (14VAC5-290-10 et seq.) is to 
set forth the standards which that the Commission 
commission may use for identifying insurers found to be in 
such condition as to render the continuance of their business 
hazardous to their policyholders, creditors, or  the general 
public or to holders of their policies or certificates of 
insurance.  

This chapter shall not be interpreted to limit the powers 
granted the Commission commission by any laws or 
provisions of any law of this Commonwealth, nor shall this 
chapter be interpreted to supercede supersede any laws or 
parts of laws of this Commonwealth.  

14VAC5-290-20. Applicability and scope. 

This chapter, 14VAC5-290-10 et seq., shall apply to every 
entity that is licensed, approved, registered, or accredited in 
Virginia under the provisions of Title 38.2 of the Code of 
Virginia, and also subject to solvency regulation in this 
Commonwealth pursuant to the provisions of Title 38.2 of the 
Code of Virginia. All such entities are hereinafter referred to 
as "insurer."  

14VAC5-290-30. Standards. 

The following factors and standards, either singly or a 
combination of two or more, may be considered in 
determining whether an insurer's financial condition, method 
of operation, or manner of doing business in this 
Commonwealth might be deemed to be hazardous to its 
policyholders, creditors, or the general public:  

1. Adverse findings resulting from any financial condition 
or market conduct examination conducted pursuant to 
Article 4 (§ 38.2-1317 et seq.) of Chapter 13 of Title 38.2 
of the Code of Virginia or any inspection authorized by the 
general provisions of § 38.2-200, including inspections of 
financial statements filed pursuant to §§ 38.2-1300, 38.2-
1301, 38.2-1316.2, 38.2-1316.3, 38.2-4811, or 38.2-5103 
of the Code of Virginia, or reported in any examination or 
other information submitted pursuant to § 38.2-5103 of the 
Code of Virginia, or reported in any audit report, and 
actuarial opinions, reports, or summaries submitted 
pursuant to §§ 38.2-1315.1 and 38.2-3127.1 of the Code of 
Virginia;  

2. The National Association of Insurance Commissioners' 
("NAIC") Insurance Regulatory Information System 
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("IRIS") and its related other financial analysis solvency 
tools and reports;  

3. The ratios of commission expenses, general insurance 
expenses, policy benefits and reserve increases as to annual 
premium and net investment income;  

4. 3. The ratio of the annual premium volume to surplus or 
of liabilities to surplus in relation to loss experience and/or 
the kinds of risks insured;  

5. 4. Whether the insurer's asset portfolio when viewed in 
light of current economic conditions and indications of 
financial or operation leverage is of sufficient value, 
liquidity, or diversity to assure the company's ability to 
meet its outstanding obligations as they mature; 

5. Whether the insurer has established reserves and related 
actuarial items that make adequate provision, according to 
presently accepted actuarial standards of practice, for the 
anticipated cash flows required by the contractual 
obligations and related expenses of the insurer, when 
considered in light of the assets held by the insurer with 
respect to such reserves and related actuarial items 
including, but not limited to, the investment earnings on 
such assets, and the considerations anticipated to be 
received and retained under such policies and contracts;  

6. The ability of an assuming reinsurer to perform and 
whether the insurer's reinsurance program provides 
sufficient protection for the insurer's remaining surplus 
after taking into account the insurer's cash flow and the 
classes of business written as well as the financial 
condition of the assuming reinsurer;  

7. Whether the insurer's operating loss in the last 12-month 
period or any shorter period of time, including but not 
limited to net capital gain or loss, change in nonadmitted 
assets, and cash dividends paid to shareholders, is greater 
than 50% of the insurer's remaining surplus as regards 
policyholders in excess of the minimum required; 

8. Whether the insurer's operating loss in the last 12-month 
period or any shorter period of time, excluding net capital 
gains, is greater than 20% of the insurer's remaining 
surplus as regards policyholders in excess of the minimum 
required; 

7. 9. Whether the excess of surplus to policyholders over 
and above an insurer's statutorily required surplus to 
policyholders has decreased by more than 50% in the 
preceding 12 month 12-month period or any shorter period 
of time;  

8. Whether the insurer's current or projected net income is 
adequate to meet the insurer's present or projected 
obligations;  

9. 10. The age and collectibility of receivables;  

10. 11. Whether a reinsurer, obligor, or any affiliate, 
subsidiary or reinsurer entity within the insurer's insurance 
holding company system is insolvent, threatened with 
insolvency, or delinquent in payment of its monetary or 
other obligations, and which may affect the solvency of the 
insurer;  

11. 12. Contingent liabilities, pledges or guaranties which 
that either individually or collectively involve a total 
amount that may affect the solvency of the insurer;  

12. 13. Whether any affiliate of an insurer is delinquent in 
the transmitting to, or payment of, net premiums or other 
amounts due to such insurer;  

13. 14. Whether the management of an insurer, including 
officers, directors, or any other person who directly or 
indirectly controls the operation of such insurer, fails to 
possess and demonstrate the competence, fitness and 
reputation deemed necessary to serve the insurer in such 
position;  

14. 15. Whether the management of an insurer has failed to 
respond to inquiries relative to the condition of the insurer 
or has furnished false and misleading information 
concerning an inquiry;  

16. Whether the insurer has failed to meet financial and 
holding company filing requirements in the absence of a 
reason satisfactory to the commission; 

15. 17. Whether the management of an insurer either has 
filed any false or misleading sworn financial statement, or 
has released any false or misleading financial statement to 
lending institutions or to the general public, or has made a 
false or misleading entry, or has omitted an entry of 
material amount in the books of the insurer;  

16. 18. Whether the insurer has grown so rapidly and to 
such an extent that it lacks adequate financial and 
administrative capacity to meet its obligations in a timely 
manner; or  

17. 19. Whether the company insurer has experienced or 
will experience in the foreseeable future cash flow and/or 
liquidity problems.;  

20. Whether management has established reserves and 
related actuarial values that do not comply with the 
requirements of Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia, related 
rules, regulations, administrative promulgations, and 
statutory accounting standards, or that are not computed in 
accordance with presently accepted actuarial standards 
consistently applied and in accordance with sound actuarial 
principles and standards of practice; 

21. Whether management persistently engages in material 
under reserving that results in adverse development; 

22. Whether transactions among affiliates, subsidiaries, or 
controlling persons for which the insurer receives assets or 
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capital gains, or both, do not provide sufficient value, 
liquidity, or diversity to assure the insurer's ability to meet 
its outstanding obligations as they mature; or  

23. Any other finding determined by the commission to be 
hazardous to the insurer's policyholders, creditors, or the 
general public. 

14VAC5-290-40. Commission's authority.  

A. For purposes of making a determination of an insurer's 
financial condition, the Commission commission may:  

1. Disregard any credit or amount receivable resulting from 
transactions with a reinsurer which that is insolvent, 
impaired, or otherwise subject to a delinquency 
proceeding;  

2. Make appropriate adjustments, including disallowance, 
to asset values attributable to investments in or transactions 
with parents, subsidiaries, or affiliates consistent with the 
NAIC Accounting Practices and Procedures Manual, state 
laws, and regulations;  

3. Refuse to recognize the stated value of accounts 
receivable if the ability to collect receivables is highly 
speculative in view of the age of the account or the 
financial condition of the debtor;  

4. Increase the insurer's liability in an amount equal to any 
contingent liability, pledge, or guarantee not otherwise 
included if there is a substantial risk that the insurer will be 
called upon to meet the obligation undertaken within the 
next 12-month period.  

B. For all entities subject to the provisions of § 38.2-1038 of 
the Code of Virginia, the Commission commission may issue 
an order regarding corrective action when it finds that (i) the 
insurer cannot, or there is a reasonable expectation that the 
insurer will not be able to, meet its obligations to all 
policyholders, or (ii) the insurer's continued operation in this 
Commonwealth is hazardous to policyholders, creditors, and 
the general public in this Commonwealth. Such an order may 
require the insurer, among other things, to undertake one or 
more of the following steps:  

1. Reduce the total amount of present and potential liability 
for policy benefits by reinsurance;  

2. Reduce, suspend, or limit the volume of business being 
accepted or renewed;  

3. Reduce general insurance and commission expenses by 
specified methods;  

4. Increase the insurer's capital and surplus;  

5. Suspend or limit the declaration and payment of 
dividend by an insurer to its stockholders or to its 
policyholders;  

6. File reports in a form acceptable to the Commission 
commission concerning the market value of an insurer's 
assets;  

7. Limit or withdraw from certain investments or 
discontinue certain investment practices to the extent the 
Commission commission deems necessary;  

8. Document the adequacy of premium rates in relation to 
the risks insured;  

9. File or cause to be filed, as evidence of the insurer's 
financial and business standing or solvency, one or more of 
the following reports:  

a. Regular annual statements and interim financial 
reports,  

b. Certified audited financial reports,  

c. Actuarial opinions of reserves, including actuarial 
analyses of the reserves and the assets supporting such 
reserves, and  

d. Any , in addition to regular annual statements, interim 
financial reports on the form adopted by the NAIC or in 
such format as promulgated by the commission or any 
other analyses of the insurer's data necessary to secure 
complete information concerning the condition and 
affairs of the insurer. ; 

10. Correct corporate governance practice deficiencies, and 
adopt and utilize governance practices acceptable to the 
commission; 

11. Provide a business plan to the commission in order to 
continue to transact business in this Commonwealth; or 

12. Notwithstanding any other provision of law limiting 
the frequency or amount of premium rate adjustments, 
adjust rates for any nonlife insurance product written by 
the insurer that the commission considers necessary to 
improve the financial condition of the insurer. 

14VAC5-290-50. Severability.  

If any provision in this chapter, 14VAC5-290-10 et seq., or 
the application thereof to any person or circumstance is held 
for any reason held to be invalid, the remainder of the 
provisions in this chapter, 14VAC5-290-10 et seq., and the 
application of the provision to other persons or circumstances 
shall not be affected thereby.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1946; Filed June 16, 2009, 3:08 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING  

BOARD OF NURSING  

Fast-Track Regulation  
Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Nursing (amending 18VAC90-20-200). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3005 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on August 5, 2009. 

Effective Date: December 31, 2009.  

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 
Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4515, FAX 
(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 
Board of Nursing the authority to promulgate regulations to 
administer the regulatory system. Specific regulatory 
authority for the powers and duties of the Board of Nursing is 
found in § 54.1-3005. 

Purpose: The purpose of the proposed regulatory action is to 
provide an exception to the requirement for 500 clinical hours 
in a registered nurse educational program and 400 hours in a 
licensed practical nurse educational program for nurses who 
are licensed in another state or D.C. and have been engaged in 
clinical practice with an active, unencumbered license for at 
least 960 hours (or approximately six months). Currently, an 
applicant for licensure by endorsement who graduated from a 
nursing program without the required number of clinical 
hours would not qualify for licensure in Virginia. The result 
could be a loss in the number of nurses licensed by 
endorsement, which would have a negative impact on the 
availability of nurses in critical care, long-term care, and 
other health care settings and could exacerbate the workforce 
shortage. By requiring a minimum number of clinical hours 
of practice, there is some assurance that the nurse has 
adequate clinical skills to provide safe care to patients in 
Virginia. 

The board has issued a guidance document that allows 
licensure until December 31, 2009, for applicants who do not 
have sufficient supervised clinical hours, but the board needs 
to have an amendment to regulations in effect by that date to 
be able to license such applicants by endorsement. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The issue of 
licensure for applicants who do not have sufficient clinical 
hours in an educational program has been continually 
discussed since the promulgation of regulations establishing a 

clinical hourly requirement (which became effective April 2, 
2008). The board extended implementation or enforcement of 
that provision for applicants for licensure until December 31, 
2009. The delay will allow students in programs without a 
sufficient number of clinical hours to complete their 
educational programs or to transfer to programs that meet the 
board's requirements. 

However, the board needs to resolve the dilemma of 
insufficient clinical hours for other nurses who are now 
licensed and practicing in another state and may want to come 
to Virginia after the December 31 deadline. The exception 
proposed for 18VAC90-20-200 will resolve the issue for 
anyone who has demonstrated a minimum of clinical skills 
through at least 960 hours of practice. 

Since the action is less restrictive and will allow more nurses 
to qualify for licensure, it is not expected to be controversial. 

Substance: 18VAC90-20-200 is amended to allow the 
licensure of registered nurses and licensed practical nurses 
who graduated from approved nursing education programs 
that did not have the requisite number of clinical hours to be 
licensed in Virginia provided they hold a current, unrestricted 
license in another U.S. jurisdiction and can provide evidence 
of at least 960 hours of clinical practice. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is the continued 
availability of nurses being licensed by endorsement with the 
assurance that they have safely engaged in clinical practice in 
another U.S. jurisdiction. There are no disadvantages. 

The primary advantage to the agency is the partial resolution 
by regulatory action of an issue that has been troublesome for 
one distance learning program, whose students may qualify 
for licensure by endorsement. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Nursing (Board) proposes to amend its Regulations 
Governing the Practice of Nursing to allow nurses who are 
applying for licensure by endorsement to use clinical hours 
accrued after licensure in another U.S. jurisdiction to meet 
Board licensure requirements. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
this proposed change. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, nurses who have 
been licensed by examination in another U.S. jurisdiction 
may apply for licensure by endorsement in Virginia so long 
as they satisfy all requirements for initial licensure set by the 
Board. Currently, candidates for initial licensure by the Board 
must have completed an educational program that includes 
400 hours of clinical experience for practical nurses and 500 
hours of clinical experience for registered nurses. The Board 
proposes to amend the rules to allow individuals who did not 
graduate from a program that included the requisite clinical 
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hours to apply for licensure by endorsement so long as they 
have accrued at least 960 hours of post-licensure clinical 
experience and have an active, unencumbered license in 
another U.S. jurisdiction.  

This change will likely benefit nurses who are licensed in 
other jurisdictions as it will allow a greater number of them to 
qualify for licensure by endorsement in Virginia. If this 
change increases the number of nurses who apply for 
licensure in the Commonwealth, facilities that employ nurses 
and patients may also benefit. Facilities will benefit from 
having a larger pool of nurses from which to hire their 
employees. Patients may benefit if this change eases the 
nursing shortage that likely has had an adverse impact on 
patient care. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The Department of Health 
Professions (DHP) reports that the Board currently licenses 
5,200 registered nurses and 784 licensed practical nurses. 
This change will affect any nurses who currently do not 
qualify for licensure by endorsement but will qualify under 
these proposed regulations. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action may 
increase the number of individuals who are employed as 
nurses in the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 
regulatory action will likely have no substantial effect on the 
use or value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Small businesses 
in the Commonwealth are unlikely to incur any costs on 
account of this regulatory action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Small businesses in the Commonwealth are 
unlikely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 
action. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Board of Nursing 
concurs with the analysis of the Department of Planning and 
Budget on proposed amended regulations for 18VAC90-20, 
Regulations Governing the Practice of Nursing. 

Summary:  

The board has amended regulations for the licensure of 
registered nurses and licensed practical nurses to allow 
applicants who graduated from approved nursing 
education programs that did not have the requisite number 
of clinical hours to be licensed by endorsement provided 
the applicant holds a current, unrestricted license in 
another U.S. jurisdiction and can provide evidence of at 
least 960 hours of clinical practice. 

18VAC90-20-200. Licensure by endorsement. 

A. A graduate of an approved nursing education program 
who has been licensed by examination in another U.S. 
jurisdiction and whose license is in good standing, or is 
eligible for reinstatement, if lapsed, shall be eligible for 
licensure by endorsement in Virginia, provided the applicant 
satisfies the same requirements for registered nurse or 
practical nurse licensure as those seeking initial licensure in 
Virginia. Applicants who have graduated from approved 
nursing education programs that did not require a sufficient 
number of clinical hours, as specified in 18VAC90-20-120, 
may qualify for licensure if they can provide evidence of at 
least 960 hours of clinical practice with an active, 
unencumbered license in another U.S. jurisdiction. 

1. A graduate of a nursing school in Canada where English 
was the primary language shall be eligible for licensure by 
endorsement provided the applicant has passed the 
Canadian Registered Nurses Examination (CRNE) and 
holds an unrestricted license in Canada. 

2. An applicant for licensure by endorsement who has not 
passed NCLEX may only be issued a single state license to 
practice in Virginia. 

B. An applicant for licensure by endorsement who has 
submitted the required application and fee and submitted the 
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required form to the appropriate credentialing agency for 
verification of licensure may practice for 30 days upon receipt 
of an authorization letter from the board. If an applicant has 
not received a Virginia license within 30 days and wishes to 
continue practice, he shall seek an extension of authorization 
to practice by submitting a request and evidence that he has 
requested verification of licensure. 

C. If the application is not completed within one year of the 
initial filing date, the applicant shall submit a new application 
and fee. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (18VAC90-20)  

Application for Licensure by Endorsement -- Registered 
Nurse (rev. 1/08).  

Instructions for Licensure by Endorsement -- Registered 
Nurse (rev. 1/08) 6/09).  

Instructions for Licensure by Endorsement -- Licensed 
Practical Nurse (rev. 1/08) 6/09).  

Application for Licensure by Endorsement -- Licensed 
Practical Nurse (rev. 1/08).  

Instructions for Filing Application for Licensure by 
Examination for Registered Nurses (rev. 7/07).  

Application for Licensure by Examination -- Registered 
Nurse (rev. 7/07).  

Instructions for Filing Application for Licensure by 
Examination for Practical Nurses (rev. 7/07).  

Application for Licensure by Examination -- Licensed 
Practical Nurse (rev. 7/07).  

Instructions for Filing Application for Licensure by Repeat 
Examination for Registered Nurses (rev. 8/08).  

Application for Licensure by Repeat Examination for 
Registered Nurse (rev. 7/07).  

Instructions for Filing Application for Licensure by Repeat 
Examination for Practical Nurses (rev. 8/08).  

Application for Licensure by Repeat Examination for 
Licensed Practical Nurse (rev. 7/07).  

Instructions for Filing Application for Licensure by 
Examination for Licensed Practical Nurses Educated in Other 
Countries (rev. 7/07).  

Application for Licensure by Examination for Licensed 
Practical Nurses Educated in Other Countries (rev. 7/07).  

Instructions for Filing Application for Licensure by 
Examination for Registered Nurses Educated in Other 
Countries (rev. 7/07).  

Application for Licensure by Examination for Registered 
Nurses Educated in Other Countries (rev. 7/07).  

Temporary Exemption to Licensure (rev. 7/07).  

Instructions for Application for Reinstatement -- Registered 
Nurse (rev. 7/07).  

Application for Reinstatement -- Registered Nurse (rev. 
7/07).  

Instructions for Application for Reinstatement -- Licensed 
Practical Nurse (rev. 7/07).  

Application for Reinstatement of License as a Licensed 
Practical Nurse (rev. 7/07).  

Instructions for Application for Reinstatement Following 
Suspension or Revocation -- Registered Nurse (rev. 7/07).  

Application for Reinstatement of License as a Registered 
Nurse Following Suspension or Revocation (rev. 7/07).  

Instructions for Application for Reinstatement Following 
Suspension or Revocation -- Licensed Practical Nurse (rev. 
7/07).  

Application for Reinstatement of License as a Licensed 
Practical Nurse Following Suspension or Revocation (rev. 
7/07).  

License Verification Form (rev. 1/08).  

Application for Registration as a Clinical Nurse Specialist 
(rev. 7/07).  

Procedure for Registration as a Clinical Nurse Specialist 
(rev. 7/07). 

Survey Visit Report (rev. 7/07).  

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (rev. 
7/07).  

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 8/08).  
VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1806; Filed June 17, 2009, 10:50 a.m.  

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Counseling is 
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to 
changes in Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion 
is involved. The Board of Counseling will receive, consider 
and respond to petitions from any interested person at any 
time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 
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Titles of Regulations: 18VAC115-20. Regulations 
Governing the Practice of Professional Counseling 
(amending 18VAC115-20-100). 

18VAC115-30. Regulations Governing the Certification of 
Substance Abuse Counselors and Substance Abuse 
Counseling (amending 18VAC115-30-110). 

18VAC115-40. Regulations Governing the Certification of 
Rehabilitation Providers (amending 18VAC115-40-38). 

18VAC115-50. Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Marriage and Family Therapy (amending 18VAC115-50-
90). 

18VAC115-60. Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioners 
(amending 18VAC115-60-110). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 5, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, 
Board of Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4488, FAX (804) 
527-4435, or email evelyn.brown@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

In compliance with Chapter 687 of the 2009 Acts of 
Assembly, the Board of Counseling has amended its 
regulations relating to the responsibility of the licensee or 
registrant to provide current addresses. Every licensee and 
registrant is required to provide an address of record for 
use by the board, and is permitted to provide a second 
address to be used as the public address. If a second 
address is not provided, the address of record becomes the 
public address. Regulations are amended to use the 
statutory terminology of address of record and to clarify 
that the regulant has a responsibility to notify the board 
within 30 days if there is a change in the address of record 
or the public address, if different from the address of 
record. 

Part IV  
Licensure Renewal; Reinstatement  

18VAC115-20-100. Annual renewal of licensure.  

A. All licensees shall renew licenses on or before June 30 of 
each year.  

B. Beginning with the 2005 renewal, every license holder 
who intends to continue an active practice shall submit to the 
board on or before June 30 of each year:  

1. A completed application for renewal of the license on 
which the licensee attests to compliance with the 
continuing competency requirements prescribed in this 
chapter; and  

2. The renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC115-20-20.  

C. A licensee who wishes to place his license in an inactive 
status may do so upon payment of the inactive renewal fee as 
established in 18VAC115-20-20. No person shall practice 
counseling in Virginia unless he holds a current active 
license. A licensee who has placed himself in inactive status 
may become active by fulfilling the reactivation requirements 
set forth in 18VAC115-20-110 C.  

D. Licensees shall notify the board of a change of in the 
address of record or the public address, if different from the 
address of record within 60 days. Failure to receive a renewal 
notice from the board shall not relieve the license holder from 
the renewal requirement.  

Part IV  
Renewal and Reinstatement  

18VAC115-30-110. Annual renewal of certificate.  

A. Every certificate issued by the board shall expire on June 
30 of each year.  

B. Along with the renewal application, the certified 
substance abuse counselor or certified substance abuse 
counseling assistant shall submit the renewal fee prescribed in 
18VAC115-30-30.  

C. Certified individuals shall notify the board of a change of 
in the address of record or the public address, if different 
from the address of record within 60 days. Failure to receive a 
renewal notice and application forms shall not excuse the 
certified substance abuse counselor from the renewal 
requirement.  

18VAC115-40-38. Change of address.  

A certified rehabilitation provider whose mailing address of 
record or public address, if different from the address of 
record, has changed shall submit the new address in writing 
to the board within 30 days of such change.  

18VAC115-50-90. Annual renewal of license.  

A. All licensees shall renew licenses on or before June 30 of 
each year.  

B. Beginning with the 2005 renewal, all licensees who 
intend to continue an active practice shall submit to the board 
on or before June 30 of each year:  

1. A completed application for renewal of the license on 
which the licensee attests to compliance with the 
continuing competency requirements prescribed in this 
chapter; and  

2. The renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC115-50-20.  

C. A licensee who wishes to place his license in an inactive 
status may do so upon payment of the inactive renewal fee as 
established in 18VAC115-50-20. No person shall practice 
marriage and family therapy in Virginia unless he holds a 
current active license. A licensee who has placed himself in 
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inactive status may become active by fulfilling the 
reactivation requirements set forth in 18VAC115-50-100 C.  

D. Licensees shall notify the board of a change of in the 
address of record or the public address, if different from the 
address of record within 60 days. Failure to receive a renewal 
notice from the board shall not relieve the license holder from 
the renewal requirement.  

Part IV  
Licensure Renewal; Reinstatement  

18VAC115-60-110. Renewal of licensure.  

A. All licensees shall renew licenses on or before June 30 of 
each year.  

B. Beginning with the 2005 renewal, every license holder 
who intends to continue an active practice shall submit to the 
board on or before June 30 of each year:  

1. A completed application for renewal of the license on 
which the licensee attests to compliance with the 
continuing competency requirements prescribed in this 
chapter; and  

2. The renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC115-60-20.  

C. A licensee who wishes to place his license in an inactive 
status may do so upon payment of the inactive renewal fee as 
established in 18VAC115-60-20. No person shall practice 
substance abuse treatment in Virginia unless he holds a 
current active license. A licensee who has placed himself in 
inactive status may become active by fulfilling the 
reactivation requirements set forth in 18VAC115-60-120 C.  

D. Licensees shall notify the board of a change of in the 
address of record or the public address, if different from the 
address of record within 60 days. Failure to receive a renewal 
notice from the board shall not relieve the license holder from 
the renewal requirement.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1976; Filed June 17, 2009, 10:50 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 21. SECURITIES AND RETAIL 
FRANCHISING 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 
of the powers of a court of record. 

Final Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 21VAC5-10. General Administration 
- Securities Act (amending 21VAC5-10-40). 

21VAC5-20. Broker-Dealers, Broker-Dealer Agents and 
Agents of the Issuer (amending 21VAC5-20-60, 21VAC5-
20-70, 21VAC5-20-90, 21VAC5-20-130, 21VAC5-20-150, 
21VAC5-20-160; adding 21VAC5-20-135). 

21VAC5-30. Securities Registration (amending 21VAC5-
30-80). 

21VAC5-40. Exempt Securities (amending 21VAC5-40-
30). 

21VAC5-45. Federal Covered Securities (amending 
21VAC5-45-20). 

21VAC5-80. Investment Advisors (amending 21VAC5-80-
10, 21VAC5-80-70, 21VAC5-80-110, 21VAC5-80-130, 
21VAC5-80-160; adding 21VAC5-80-145; repealing 
21VAC5-80-140). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 13.1-523 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2009.  

Agency Contact: Al Hughes, Registration Chief, State 
Corporation Commission, Securities Division, Tyler 
Building, 9th Floor, P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (804) 371-9415, FAX (804) 371-9912, or email 
al.hughes@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) adopt by reference recent changes to 
certain North American Securities Administrators 
Association, Inc. (NASAA) securities registration 
statements of policy; (ii) adopt by reference the NASAA 
Corporate Securities Definitions statement of policy; (iii) 
make changes to the notice filing requirements for 
offerings conducted pursuant to Rules 505 and 506 of 
Federal Regulation D; (iv) expand the definition of 
National Association of Securities Dealers, Inc. (NASD) to 
reflect its current name; (v) correct language for mergers 
and consolidations; (vi) eliminate the duplicative 
requirement to take the Series 7 exam and allow the Series 
66 exam to qualify an individual as an agent; (vii) require 
individuals whose agent registration has lapsed for more 
than two years to requalify; (viii) provide relief for those 
individuals registered as agents or representatives with an 
entity that ceases to do business by allowing the 
individuals to make a termination request directly to the 
commission; (ix) allow retiring agents to continue to 
receive commissions without registration; (x) require 
additional documents be filed as part of the initial 
investment advisor application process, which will assist 
new investment advisors in setting up required records and 
increase protection for the investing public; (xi) require 
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that all principals of investment advisors meet minimum 
qualification standards; (xii) clarify that all investment 
advisor representatives shall meet minimum standards; 
(xiii) adopt NASAA Custody rule; and (xiv) require 
investment advisors to develop a disaster recovery plan. 

In accordance with public comments, amendments were 
made to the proposed regulation. The conditions of 
continuing commission by retiring agents in 21VAC5-20-
135 are changed from a five-year requirement to a three-
year requirement. The term "or legal beneficiary" is added 
to 21VAC5-80-145 to further clarify the term "beneficial 
owner." Language is added to 21VAC5-80-160 to further 
clarify fiduciary responsibilities. 

AT RICHMOND, JUNE 15, 2009 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. SEC-2009-00022 

Ex Parte: In the matter of 
Adopting a Revision to the Rules 
Governing the Virginia Securities Act 

ORDER ADOPTING AMENDED RULES 

By Order to Take Notice entered on April 7, 2009, all 
interested persons were ordered to take notice that the State 
Corporation Commission ("Commission") would consider the 
adoption of a revision to Chapters 10, 20, 30, 40, 45 and 80 of 
Title 21 of the Virginia Administrative Code ("Regulations") 
entitled "Rules and Forms Governing Virginia Securities 
Act." On April 20, 2009, the Division of Securities and Retail 
Franchising ("Division") mailed the Order to Take Notice of 
proposed amendments to the Regulations to all registrants and 
applicants as of April 9, 2009, and to all interested parties 
pursuant to the Virginia Securities Act, § 13.1-501 et seq. of 
the Code of Virginia. The Order to Take Notice described the 
proposed amendments and afforded interested parties an 
opportunity to file comments and request a hearing by May 
15, 2009, with the Clerk of the Commission ("Clerk").1 The 
Commission also required the proposed amendments to be 
sent to the Registrar of Publications for publication in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. In addition, the Order to 
Take Notice directed the Division to file a response to any 
comments by May 27, 2009, with the Clerk. Comments were 
filed with the Clerk by the Securities Industry and Financial 
Markets Association ("SIFMA") and Shawbrook. The 
Division filed its response to these comments on May 27, 
2009. The Division's response was also posted on the 
Commission's website and the Division's website. No hearing 
was requested. 

SIFMA commented that the proposed revisions to 
conditions numbered 1, 3 and 5 of proposed Rule 21 VAC 5-
20-135 should be modified from a five-year requirement to a 
three-year requirement so as to conform to the U.S. Securities 

and Exchange Commission's ("SEC") position on the matter. 
Additionally, SIFMA commented that conditions numbered 
6, 7 and 9 governing annual certification requirements of 
Rule 21 VAC 5-20-135 appeared duplicative and should be 
modified. As a result of the comment, the Division 
recommended the modification of the conditions numbered 1, 
3 and 5 and the amendment of proposed Rule 21 VAC 5-20-
135 from a five-year requirement to a three-year requirement. 
Additionally, the Division recommended the elimination of 
condition number 6 to Rule 21 VAC 5-20-135.  According to 
the Division, all other proposed revisions to Rule 
21 VAC 5-20-135 should remain unchanged. 

Shawbrook requested modifications to Rule 21 VAC 5-80-
145 and Rule 21 VAC 5-80-160.  Specifically, Shawbrook 
commented that subsection C. 5. a. of Rule 21 VAC 5-80-145 
did not provide an adequate definition of "beneficial owner." 
As a result of the comment, the Division proposed the 
following modification to subsection C. 5. a. of Rule 21 VAC 
5-80-145: 

The beneficial owner of the trust is a parent, a grandparent, a 
spouse, a sibling, a child, or a grandchild, or the legal 
beneficiary of the trustee.  These relationships shall include 
"step" relationships. 

According to the Division, all other modifications to the 
Rule suggested by Shawbrook were not necessary at this 
time, and the proposed revisions to Rule 21 VAC 5-80-145 
should remain unchanged. 

Additionally, Shawbrook commented on Rule 21 VAC 5-
80-160 F. 1 and 3 regarding the continuing obligations of an 
investment advisor's backup disaster plan upon an investment 
advisor's death or from the incapacity of key advisory 
persons.  As a result of the comment, the Division 
recommended additional language to further clarify fiduciary 
responsibilities under Rule 21 VAC 5-80-160 F. 1 and 3. 
According to the Division, all other modifications suggested 
by Shawbrook were not necessary at this time, and the other 
proposed revisions to Rule 21 VAC 5-80-160 should remain 
unchanged. 

The Commission, upon consideration of the proposed 
amendments to the Regulations, as modified in accordance 
with the recommendation of the Division, and the record in 
this case, finds that the proposed amendments to the 
Regulations, as modified, should be adopted. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed amended Regulations, as modified, are 
attached hereto, made a part hereof, and are hereby 
ADOPTED effective July 1, 2009.  Rule 21 VAC 5-80-140 is 
hereby repealed. 

(2) This matter is dismissed from the Commission's docket, 
and the papers herein shall be placed in the file for ended 
causes. 
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AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 
the Commission to: Geoffrey F. Foise, Investments Manager, 
Shawbrook, 812 West Timber Branch Parkway, Alexandria, 
Virginia 22302-3620; Nancy Donohoe Lancia, Managing 
Director of State Government Affairs, SIFMA, 120 
Broadway, 35th Floor, New York, New York 10271-0080; 
and the Commission's Office of General Counsel and the 
Division of Securities and Retail Franchising. 

____________________________________ 
1 The Order to Take Notice mistakenly referenced a different case number 
(SEC-2008-00026) in Ordering Paragraph (2). By Order dated May 5, 2009, 
the Commission corrected Ordering Paragraph (2) of the Order to Take 
Notice to reference Case No. SEC-2009-00022.  The Commission also 
directed the Clerk to file a copy of any correspondence referencing Case No. 
SEC-2008-00026, and filed subsequent to April 7, 2009, with papers in Case 
No. SEC-2009-00022. 

21VAC5-10-40. Definitions. 

As used in this chapter, the following regulations and forms 
pertaining to securities, instructions and orders of the 
commission, the following meanings shall apply: 

"Act" means the Securities Act contained in Chapter 5 
(§ 13.1-501 et seq.) of Title 13.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Applicant" means a person on whose behalf an application 
for registration or a registration statement is filed. 

"Application" means all information required by the forms 
prescribed by the commission as well as any additional 
information required by the commission and any required 
fees. 

"Bank Holding Company Act of 1956" (12 USC § 1841 et 
seq.) means the federal statute of that name as now or 
hereafter amended. 

"Boiler room tactics" mean operations or high pressure 
tactics utilized in connection with the promotion of 
speculative offerings by means of an intensive telephone 
campaign or unsolicited calls to persons not known by or 
having an account with the salesmen or broker-dealer 
represented by him, whereby the prospective purchaser is 
encouraged to make a hasty decision to invest, irrespective of 
his investment needs and objectives. 

"Breakpoint" means the dollar level of investment necessary 
to qualify a purchaser for a discounted sales charge on a 
quantity purchase of open-end management company shares. 

"Commission" means State Corporation Commission. 

"Federal covered advisor" means any person who is 
registered or required to be registered under § 203 of the 
Investment Advisers Act of 1940 as an "investment adviser." 

"Investment Advisers Act of 1940" (15 USC § 80b-1 et seq.) 
means the federal statute of that name as now or hereafter 
amended. 

Notwithstanding the definition in § 13.1-501 of the Act, 
"investment advisor representative" as applied to a federal 
covered advisor only includes an individual who has a "place 
of business" (as that term is defined in rules or regulations 
promulgated by the SEC) in this Commonwealth and who 
either: 

1. Is an "investment advisor representative" as that term is 
defined in rules or regulations promulgated by the SEC; or 

2. a. Is not a "supervised person" as that term is defined in 
the Investment Advisers Act of 1940; and 

b. Solicits, offers or negotiates for the sale of or sells 
investment advisory services on behalf of a federal 
covered advisor. 

"Investment Company Act of 1940" (15 USC § 80a-1 et 
seq.) means the federal statute of that name as now or 
hereafter amended. 

"NASAA" means the North American Securities 
Administrators Association, Inc. 

"NASD" means the National Association of Securities 
Dealers, Inc., or its successor, the Financial Industry 
Regulatory Authority, Inc. (FINRA). 

"Notice" or "notice filing" means, with respect to a federal 
covered advisor or federal covered security, all information 
required by the regulations and forms prescribed by the 
commission and any required fee. 

"Registrant" means an applicant for whom a registration or 
registration statement has been granted or declared effective 
by the commission. 

"SEC" means the United States Securities and Exchange 
Commission. 

"Securities Act of 1933" (15 USC § 77a et seq.) means the 
federal statute of that name as now or hereafter amended. 

"Securities Exchange Act of 1934" (15 USC § 78a et seq.) 
means the federal statute of that name as now or hereafter 
amended. 

21VAC5-20-60. [ Broker-Dealer Broker-dealer ] merger 
or consolidation. 

A. When there is a merger or consolidation of two or more 
registrants, or the reorganization of a registrant, the surviving 
or new corporation entity shall amend or file, as the case may 
be, Form BD (the filing of Form BD requires the payment of 
a $200 fee) and shall file a copy of the following with the 
commission at its Division of Securities and Retail 
Franchising upon its request:  

1. The certificate of merger or consolidation.  

2. The plan of merger or consolidation.  

3. The amended or new charter and by-laws.  
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4. Any document of explanation.  

5. The current financial statements of the surviving or new 
corporation entity and surety bond, if necessary.  

B. Such amendment and/or filing shall be made immediately 
after the merger or consolidation becomes effective, except 
that the required financial statements shall be filed within 30 
calendar days of the effective date of the merger or 
consolidation. The registration of the surviving or new 
corporation entity usually will be granted by the commission 
on the same date that the merger or consolidation becomes 
effective. Each agent of the nonsurviving or new corporation 
entity shall comply with 21VAC5-20-90 before registration 
as an agent with his new employer becomes effective. Every 
other agent of the defunct corporation shall comply with 
21VAC5-20-90 or 21VAC5-20-130, whichever may be 
applicable.  

21VAC5-20-70. Examinations/qualifications. 

A. Broker-dealers registered with the commission that are 
registered pursuant to § 15 of the Securities Exchange Act of 
1934 (15 USC § 78o). 

1. All principals of an applicant for registration as a 
broker-dealer must provide the commission with evidence 
of passing: (i) the Uniform Securities Agent State Law 
Examination, Series 63; (ii) the Uniform Combined State 
Law Examination, Series 66, and the General Securities 
Representative Examination, Series 7; or (iii) a similar 
examination in general use by securities administrators 
which, after reasonable notice and subject to review by the 
commission, the Director of the Division of Securities and 
Retail Franchising designates within the two-year period 
immediately preceding the date of the application. 

2. In lieu of meeting the examination requirement 
described in subdivision 1 of this subsection [ A ], at least 
two principals of an applicant may provide evidence of 
having passed the General Securities Principal 
Qualification Exam (Series 24) or [ , ] in the case of a 
broker-dealer selling investment company securities only, 
at least two principals of an applicant may provide 
evidence of having passed the Investment Company and 
Variable Contracts Products Principal Exam (Series 26) or 
a similar examination in general use by securities 
administrators which, after reasonable notice and subject to 
review by the commission, the Director of the Division of 
Securities and Retail Franchising designates Qualification 
Examination for Principals appropriate to the category of 
registration as specified by the type of business conducted 
by the broker-dealer within the two-year period 
immediately preceding the date of the applications. 

Any individual who has been registered in any state 
jurisdiction as a principal within the two-year period 
immediately preceding the date of the filing of an 

application shall not be required to comply with the 
examination requirements of this section. 

For the purposes of this subsection [ A ], the term 
"principal" means any person associated with a broker-
dealer who is engaged directly (i) in the management, 
direction or supervision on a regular or continuous basis on 
behalf of such broker-dealer of the following activities: 
sales, training, research, investment advice, underwriting, 
private placements, advertising, public relations, trading, 
maintenance of books or records, financial operations; or 
(ii) in the training of persons associated with such broker-
dealer for the management, direction, or supervision on a 
regular or continuous basis of any such activities.  

3. [ Subsection A of this section This subsection ] is 
applicable only to principals of broker-dealers that are, or 
intend to forthwith become, registered pursuant to § 15 of 
the federal Securities Exchange Act of 1934.  

B. Broker-dealers registered with the commission that are 
not registered pursuant to § 15 of the federal Securities 
Exchange Act of 1934.  

1. All principals of an applicant for registration as a 
broker-dealer must provide the commission with evidence 
of passing:  

a. The Uniform Securities Agent State Law Examination, 
Series 63; the Uniform Combined State Law 
Examination, Series 66, and the General Securities 
Representative Examination, Series 7; or a similar 
examination in general use by securities administrators 
which, after reasonable notice and subject to review by 
the commission, the Director of the Division of 
Securities and Retail Franchising designates within the 
two-year period immediately preceding the date of the 
application; and 

b. Any additional securities-related examination that the 
commission deems appropriate in light of the business in 
which the applicant proposes to engage.; and 

c. Any individual who has been registered in any state 
jurisdiction as a principal within the two-year period 
immediately preceding the date of the filing of an 
application shall not be required to comply with the 
examination requirements of this section.  

2. This subsection is applicable only to principals of 
broker-dealers that are not, or do not intend to forthwith 
become, registered pursuant to § 15 of the federal 
Securities Exchange Act of 1934.  
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Part II  
Broker-Dealer Agents  

21VAC5-20-90. Application for registration as a broker-
dealer agent. 

A. Application for registration as an agent of a NASD 
member shall be filed on and in compliance with all 
requirements of the NASAA/NASD Central Registration 
Depository system and in full compliance with the forms and 
regulations prescribed by the commission. The application 
shall include all information required by such forms.  

An application shall be deemed incomplete for purposes of 
applying for registration as a broker-dealer agent unless the 
following executed forms, fee and information are submitted:  

1. Form U-4.  

2. The statutory fee in the amount of $30. The check must 
be made payable to the NASD.  

3. Evidence in the form of a NASD exam report of passing 
within the two-year period immediately preceding the date 
of the application: (i) the Uniform Securities Agent State 
Law Examination, Series 63; (ii) the Uniform Combined 
State Law Examination, Series 66, and the General 
Securities Representative Examination, Series 7; or (iii) a 
similar examination in general use by securities 
administrators which, after reasonable notice and subject to 
review by the commission, the Director of the Division of 
Securities and Retail Franchising designates.  

4. Any other information the commission may require.  

B. Application for registration for all other broker-dealer 
agents shall be filed on and in compliance with all 
requirements and forms prescribed by the commission.  

An application shall be deemed incomplete for purposes of 
applying for registration as a broker-dealer agent unless the 
following executed forms, fee and information are submitted:  

1. Form U-4.  

2. The statutory fee in the amount of $30. The check must 
be made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.  

3. Evidence in the form of a NASD exam report of passing 
within the two-year period immediately preceding the date 
of the application: (i) the Uniform Securities Agent State 
Law Examination, Series 63; (ii) the Uniform Combined 
State Law Examination, Series 66, and the General 
Securities Representative Examination, Series 7; or (iii) a 
similar examination in general use by securities 
administrators which, after reasonable notice and subject to 
review by the commission, the Director of the Division of 
Securities and Retail Franchising designates.  

4. Any other information the commission may require.  

C. The commission shall either grant or deny each 
application for registration within 30 days after it is filed. 
However, if additional time is needed to obtain or verify 
information regarding the application, the commission may 
extend such period as much as 90 days by giving written 
notice to the applicant. No more than three such extensions 
may be made by the commission on any one application. An 
extension of the initial 30-day period, not to exceed 90 days, 
shall be granted upon written request of the applicant.  

21VAC5-20-130. Termination of registration. 

A. When a broker-dealer agent terminates a connection with 
a broker-dealer, or a broker-dealer terminates connection with 
an agent, the broker-dealer shall file notice of such 
termination on Form U-5 within 30 calendar days of the date 
of termination. All filings shall be made with the 
NASAA/NASD Central Registration Depository system for 
agents of NASD member firms or with the commission for all 
other broker-dealer agents. 

B. If an agent learns that the broker-dealer has not filed the 
notice, the agent may file notice with the commission at its 
Division of Securities and Retail Franchising. The 
commission may terminate the agent's registration if the 
commission determines that a broker-dealer (i) is no longer in 
existence, (ii) has ceased conducting securities business, or 
(iii) cannot reasonably be located. 

21VAC5-20-135. Continuing commission by retiring 
agents. 

The payment of compensation to a registered agent after he 
terminates his employment with a registered broker-dealer 
either by retirement, disability, death, or payment to his 
surviving spouse or other beneficiaries, will not be deemed to 
be a violation of commission regulations, provided the 
broker-dealer enters into a bona fide contract with either the 
retiring agent or the surviving spouse or beneficiaries, and the 
following conditions are met. 

1. The retiring agent must have been continuously 
employed by or otherwise associated with the firm for a 
minimum of [ five three ] years, as of the date of his 
retirement.  

2. The sharing of commissions will be limited to 
commissions derived from accounts held for continuing 
customers of the retiring agent regardless of whether 
customer funds or securities are added to the accounts 
during the period after retirement.  

3. The retiring agent must have demonstrated that he 
conducted himself in a manner exhibiting appropriate 
professional conduct. At a minimum, retirees must have 
been subject to no more than a low incidence of 
investment-related customer complaints and arbitrations 
settled or decided for more than $25,000 in the [ five 
three ] years prior to the retirement date.  
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4. If the retiring agent has been subject to such complaints, 
the firm must have determined that the complaints did not 
require disciplinary action or heightened supervision, and 
that the retiree was not at fault for improper sales practices. 

5. The retiring agent must not have been subject to a 
statutory disqualification during the [ five three ] years 
prior to retirement.  

6. The retiring agent must comply, to the extent applicable, 
with federal and state securities statutes and regulations, all 
policies, procedures, and rules of relevant regulatory and 
self-regulatory bodies, and must certify compliance with 
the policy at least annually. 

7. The broker-dealer must establish parameters for a 
reasonable time period, not to exceed five years, following 
retirement and a percentage scale (that is either fixed or 
decreases the percentage the retiring agent receives each 
year) regarding the sharing of commissions by the retiring 
agent and the receiving registered agent.  

8. The retiring agent must certify at least annually to the 
broker-dealer that he has adhered to the requirements and 
conditions of the agreement.  

9. The broker-dealer must contact a representative sample 
of the account holders including a significant set of high 
grossing customer accounts subject to the agreement at 
least annually to confirm that the retiring agent has not 
provided investment advice or solicited trades in securities 
in any way. For example, the broker-dealer may contact 
annually: (i) holders of the top 10 highest grossing client 
accounts for that year [ ; ] and (ii) holders of one-half of 
the next 25% highest grossing client accounts.  

21VAC5-20-150. Examination/qualification. 

A. An individual applying for registration as a broker-dealer 
agent shall be required to show evidence of passing within the 
two-year period immediately preceding the date of the 
application: (i) the Uniform Securities Agent State Law 
Examination, Series 63; (ii) the Uniform Combined State 
Law Examination, Series 66, and the General Securities 
Representative Examination, Series 7; or (iii) a similar 
examination in general use by securities administrators 
which, after reasonable notice and subject to review by the 
commission, the Director of the Division of Securities and 
Retail Franchising designates. 

B. Any individual who has met the qualifications set forth in 
subsection A of this section [ , ] and has been registered in 
any state jurisdiction requiring registration within the two-
year period immediately preceding the date of the filing of an 
application shall not be required to comply with the 
examination requirement set forth in subsection A of this 
section, except that the commission may require additional 
examinations for any individual found to have violated any 
federal or state securities laws.  

Part III  
Agents of the Issuer  

21VAC5-20-160. Application for registration as an agent 
of the issuer. 

A. Application for registration as an agent of the issuer shall 
be filed on and in compliance with all requirements and forms 
prescribed by the commission. 

B. An application shall be deemed incomplete for purposes 
of applying for registration as an agent of the issuer unless the 
following executed forms, fee and information are submitted: 

1. Form U-4.  

2. The statutory fee in the amount of $30. The check must 
be made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.  

3. Completed Agreement for Inspection of Records Form.  

4. 3. Evidence in the form of a NASD exam report of 
passing: (i) the Uniform Securities Agent State Law 
Examination, Series 63; (ii) the Uniform Combined State 
Law Examination, Series 66, and the General Securities 
Representative Examination, Series 7; or (iii) a similar 
examination in general use by securities administrators 
which, after reasonable notice and subject to review by the 
commission, the Director of the Division of Securities and 
Retail Franchising designates. 

4. All individuals listed on Part 1 of Form ADV in 
Schedule A as having supervisory or control of the 
investment advisor shall take and pass the examinations as 
required in subdivision [ B ] 3 of this [ section subsection ], 
and register as a representative of the investment advisor. 

5. Any other information the commission may require. 

C. The commission shall either grant or deny each 
application for registration within 30 days after it is filed. 
However, if additional time is needed to obtain or verify 
information regarding the application, the commission may 
extend such period as much as 90 days by giving written 
notice to the applicant. No more than three such extensions 
may be made by the commission on any one application. An 
extension of the initial 30-day period, not to exceed 90 days, 
shall be granted upon written request of the applicant. 

21VAC5-30-80. Adoption of NASAA statements of policy. 

The commission adopts the following NASAA statements of 
policy that shall apply to the registration of securities in the 
Commonwealth. It will be considered a basis for denial of an 
application if an offering fails to comply with an applicable 
statement of policy. While applications not conforming to a 
statement of policy shall be looked upon with disfavor, where 
good cause is shown, certain provisions may be modified or 
waived by the commission. 

1. Options and Warrants, as amended September 28, 1999 
March 31, 2008. 
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2. Underwriting Expenses, Underwriter's Warrants, Selling 
Expenses and Selling Security Holders, as amended 
September 28, 1999 March 31, 2008. 

3. Real Estate Programs, as amended September 29, 1993 
May 7, 2007. 

4. Oil and Gas Programs, as amended October 24, 1991 
May 7, 2007. 

5. Cattle-Feeding Programs, as adopted September 17, 
1980. 

6. Unsound Financial Condition, as amended September 
28, 1999 March 31, 2008. 

7. Real Estate Investment Trusts, as adopted September 29, 
1993 amended May 7, 2007. 

8. Church Bonds, as adopted April 29, 1981. 

9. Small Company Offering Registrations, as adopted April 
28, 1996. 

10. NASAA Guidelines Regarding Viatical Investment, as 
adopted October 1, 2002. 

11. Corporate Securities Definitions, as amended March 
31, 2008. 

21VAC5-40-30. Uniform limited offering exemption. 

A. Nothing in this exemption is intended to relieve, or 
should be construed as in any way relieving, issuers or 
persons acting on their behalf from providing disclosure to 
prospective investors adequate to satisfy the anti-fraud 
provisions of the Act.  

In view of the objective of this section and the purpose and 
policies underlying the Act, this exemption is not available to 
an issuer with respect to a transaction which, although in 
technical compliance with this section, is part of a plan or 
scheme to evade registration or the conditions or limitations 
explicitly stated in this section.  

Nothing in this section is intended to exempt registered 
broker-dealers or agents from the due diligence standards 
otherwise applicable to such registered persons.  

Nothing in this section is intended to exempt a person from 
the broker-dealer or agent registration requirements of Article 
3 (§ 13.1-504 et seq.) of Chapter 5 of Title 13.1 of the Code 
of Virginia, except in the case of an agent of the issuer who 
receives no sales commission directly or indirectly for 
offering or selling the securities and who is not subject to 
subdivision B 2 of this section.  

B. For the purpose of the limited offering exemption 
referred to in § 13.1-514 B 13 of the Act, the following 
securities are determined to be exempt from the securities 
registration requirements of Article 4 (§ 13.1-507 et seq.) of 
Chapter 5 of Title 13.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

Any securities offered or sold in compliance with the 
Securities Act of 1933, Regulation D (Reg. D), Rules 
230.501-230.503 and 230.505 as made effective in Release 
No. 33-6389 (47 FR 11251), and as amended in Release Nos. 
33-6437 (47 FR 54764), 33-6663 (51 FR 36385), 33-6758 (53 
FR 7866) and 33-6825 (54 FR 11369) and which satisfy the 
following further conditions and limitations:  

1. The issuer and persons acting on its behalf shall have 
reasonable grounds to believe, and after making reasonable 
inquiry shall believe, that all persons who offer or sell 
securities subject to this section are registered in 
accordance with § 13.1-505 of the Act except in the case of 
an agent of the issuer who receives no sales commission 
directly or indirectly for offering or selling the securities 
and who is not subject to subdivision 2 of this subsection.  

2. No exemption under this section shall be available for 
the securities of any issuer if any of the persons described 
in the Securities Act of 1933, Regulation A, Rule 
230.262(a), (b), or (c) (17 CFR 230.262):  

a. Has filed a registration statement which is the subject 
of a currently effective stop order entered pursuant to any 
state's securities law within five years prior to the 
beginning of the offering.  

b. Has been convicted within five years prior to the 
beginning of the offering of a felony or misdemeanor in 
connection with the purchase or sale of a security or a 
felony involving fraud or deceit, including but not 
limited to forgery, embezzlement, obtaining money under 
false pretenses, larceny or conspiracy to defraud.  

c. Is currently subject to a state's administrative order or 
judgment entered by that state's securities administrator 
within five years prior to the beginning of the offering or 
is subject to a state's administrative order or judgment in 
which fraud or deceit, including but not limited to 
making untrue statements of material facts or omitting to 
state material facts, was found and the order or judgment 
was entered within five years prior to the beginning of 
the offering.  

d. Is currently subject to a state's administrative order or 
judgment which prohibits the use of any exemption from 
registration in connection with the purchase or sale of 
securities.  

e. Is currently subject to an order, judgment, or decree of 
a court of competent jurisdiction temporarily or 
preliminarily restraining or enjoining, or is subject to an 
order, judgment or decree of any court of competent 
jurisdiction, entered within five years prior to the 
beginning of the offering, permanently restraining or 
enjoining such person from engaging in or continuing 
any conduct or practice in connection with the purchase 
or sale of any security or involving the making of a false 
filing with a state.  
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f. The prohibitions of subdivisions a, b, c and e of this 
subdivision shall not apply if the party subject to the 
disqualifying order, judgment or decree is duly licensed 
or registered to conduct securities related business in the 
state in which the administrative order, judgment or 
decree was entered against such party.  

g. A disqualification caused by this subsection is 
automatically waived if the state securities administrator 
or agency of the state which created the basis for 
disqualification, or the State Corporation Commission, 
determines upon a showing of good cause that it is not 
necessary under the circumstances that the exemption 
under this section be denied.  

3. The issuer shall file with the commission no later than 
15 days after the first sale in this state from an offering 
being made in reliance upon this exemption:  

a. A notice on Form D (17 CFR 239.500), as filed with 
the SEC.  

b. An undertaking by the issuer to promptly provide, 
upon written request, the information furnished by the 
issuer to offerees.  

c. An executed consent to service of process (Form U2) 
appointing the Clerk of the commission as its agent for 
purpose of service of process, unless a currently effective 
consent to service of process is on file with the 
commission.  

d. b. A filing fee of $250 payable to the Treasurer of 
Virginia.  

4. In sales to nonaccredited investors, the issuer and 
persons acting on its behalf shall have reasonable grounds 
to believe, and after making reasonable inquiry shall 
believe, that the investment is suitable for the purchaser as 
to the purchaser's other security holdings and financial 
situation and needs.  

5. Offers and sales of securities which are exempted by this 
section shall not be combined with offers and sales of 
securities exempted by another regulation or section of the 
Act; however, nothing in this limitation shall act as an 
election. The issuer may claim the availability of another 
applicable exemption should, for any reason, the securities 
or persons fail to comply with the conditions and 
limitations of this exemption.  

6. In any proceeding involving this section, the burden of 
proving the exemption or an exception from a definition or 
condition is upon the person claiming it.  

C. The exemption authorized by this section shall be known 
and may be cited as the "Uniform Limited Offering 
Exemption."  

 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

[ FORMS (21VAC5-40) 

Form D, Notice of Exempt Offering of Securities, U.S. 
Securities and Exchange Commission, SEC1972, (eff. 9/08). ] 

21VAC5-45-20. Offerings conducted pursuant to Rule 506 
of federal Regulation D (17 CFR [ § ] 230.506): Filing 
requirements and issuer-agent exemption. 

A. An issuer offering a security that is a covered security 
under § 18 (b)(4)(D) of the Securities Act of 1933 (15 USC § 
77r(b)(4)(D)) shall file with the commission no later than 15 
days after the first sale of such federal covered security in this 
Commonwealth:  

1. A notice on SEC Form D (17 CFR 239.500), as filed 
with the SEC.  

2. An executed consent to service of process (Form U-2) 
appointing the Clerk of the commission as its agent for 
service of process.  

3. 2. A filing fee of $250 payable to the Treasurer of 
Virginia.  

B. An amendment filing shall contain a copy of the amended 
SEC Form D. No fee is required for an amendment.  

C. For the purpose of this chapter, SEC "Form D" is the 
document, as adopted by the SEC and in effect on September 
1, 1996 15, 2008, entitled "Form D; Notice of Sale of 
Securities pursuant to Regulation D, Section 4(6), and/or 
Uniform Limited Offering Exemption," including Part E and 
the Appendix. "Form D, Notice of Exempt Offering of 
Securities." 

D. Pursuant to § 13.1-514 B 13 of the Act, an agent of an 
issuer who effects transactions in a security exempt from 
registration under the Securities Act of 1933 pursuant to rules 
and regulations promulgated under § 4(2) thereof (15 USC 
§ 77d(2)) is exempt from the agent registration requirements 
of the Act.  

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

[ FORMS (21VAC5-45) 

Form D, Notice of Exempt Offering of Securities, U.S. 
Securities and Exchange Commission, SEC1972, (eff. 9/08). ] 
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Part I  
Investment Advisor Registration, Notice Filing for Federal 

Covered Advisors, Expiration, Renewal, Updates and 
Amendments, Terminations and Merger or Consolidation  

21VAC5-80-10. Application for registration as an 
investment advisor and notice filing as a federal covered 
advisor. 

A. Application for registration as an investment advisor 
shall be filed in compliance with all requirements of the 
Investment Advisor Registration Depository (IARD) system 
and in full compliance with forms and regulations prescribed 
by the commission and shall include all information required 
by such forms. 

B. An application shall be deemed incomplete for purposes 
of applying for registration as an investment advisor unless 
the following executed forms, fee and information are 
submitted:  

1. Form ADV Parts I and II submitted to the IARD system. 

2. The statutory fee in the amount of $200 submitted to the 
IARD system.  

3. A copy of the client agreement.  

4. A copy of the firm's supervisory and procedures manual 
as required by 21VAC5-80-170.  

5. Copies of all advertising materials.  

6. Copies of all [ stationary stationery ] and business cards.  

7. A signed affidavit stating that an investment advisor 
domiciled in Virginia has not conducted investment 
advisory business prior to registration, and for investment 
advisors domiciled outside of Virginia an affidavit stating 
that the advisor has fewer than six clients in any prior 12-
month period.  

8. The following financial statements: 

a. A trial balance of all ledger account; 

b. A statement of all client funds or securities that are not 
segregated; 

c. A computation of the aggregate amount of client 
ledger debit balances; 

d. A statement as to the number of client accounts; 

e. Financial statements prepared in accordance with 
generally accepted accounting principles that shall 
include a balance sheet, income statement, and statement 
of cash flow.  

9. A copy of the firm's disaster recovery plan as required 
by 21VAC5-80-160 F. 

10. At least one qualified individual must have a 
registration pending on the IARD system on behalf of the 
investment advisor prior to the grant of registration.  

3. 11. Any other information the commission may require.  

For purposes of this section, the term "net worth" means an 
excess of assets over liabilities, as determined by generally 
accepted accounting principles, but shall not include as assets: 
prepaid expenses (except as to items properly classified as 
assets under generally accepted accounting principles), 
deferred charges such as deferred income tax charges, 
goodwill, franchise rights, organizational expenses, patents, 
copyrights, marketing rights, unamortized debt discount and 
expense, all other assets of intangible nature, home 
furnishings, automobiles, and any other personal items not 
readily marketable in the case of an individual; advances or 
loans to stockholders and officers in the case of a corporation; 
and advances or loans to partners in the case of a partnership. 

C. The commission shall either grant or deny each 
application for registration within 30 days after it is filed. 
However, if additional time is needed to obtain or verify 
information regarding the application, the commission may 
extend such period as much as 90 days by giving written 
notice to the applicant. No more than three such extensions 
may be made by the commission on any one application. An 
extension of the initial 30-day period, not to exceed 90 days, 
shall be granted upon written request of the applicant.  

D. Every person who transacts business in this 
Commonwealth as a federal covered advisor shall file a notice 
as prescribed in subsection E of this section in compliance 
with all requirements of the Investment Advisor Registration 
Depository (IARD) system.  

E. A notice filing for a federal covered advisor shall be 
deemed incomplete unless the following executed forms, fee 
and information are submitted:  

1. Form ADV.  

2. The statutory fee in the amount of $200 submitted to the 
IARD system.  

Part II  
Investment Advisor Representative Registration, Expiration, 

Updates and Amendments, Termination, and Changing 
Connection from One Investment Advisor to Another  

21VAC5-80-70. Application for registration as an 
investment advisor representative.  

A. Application for registration as an investment advisor 
representative shall be filed in compliance with all 
requirements of the NASAA/NASD Central Registration 
Depository system and in full compliance with forms and 
regulations prescribed by the commission. The application 
shall include all information required by such forms.  
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B. An application shall be deemed incomplete for purposes 
of applying for registration as an investment advisor 
representative unless the following executed forms, fee and 
information are submitted:  

1. Form U-4.  

2. The statutory fee in the amount of $30. The check must 
be made payable to the NASD.  

3. Evidence of passing: (i) the Uniform Investment Adviser 
Law Examination, Series 65; (ii) the Uniform Combined 
State Law Examination, Series 66, and the General 
Securities Representative Examination, Series 7; or (iii) a 
similar examination in general use by securities 
administrators which, after reasonable notice and subject to 
review by the commission, the Director of the Division of 
Securities and Retail Franchising designates.  

4. All individuals listed on Part 1 of Form ADV in 
Schedule A as having supervisory or control of the 
investment advisor shall take and pass the examinations as 
required in subdivision [ B ] 3 of this [ section subsection ], 
and register as a representative of the investment advisor. 

5. Any other information the commission may require.  

C. The commission shall either grant or deny each 
application for registration within 30 days after it is filed. 
However, if additional time is needed to obtain or verify 
information regarding the application, the commission may 
extend such period as much as 90 days by giving written 
notice to the applicant. No more than three such extensions 
may be made by the commission on any one application. An 
extension of the initial 30-day period, not to exceed 90 days, 
shall be granted upon written request of the applicant.  

21VAC5-80-110. Termination of registration. 

A. When an investment advisor representative terminates a 
connection with an investment advisor, or an investment 
advisor terminates connection with an investment advisor 
representative, the investment advisor shall file with the 
NASAA/NASD Central Registration Depository system 
notice of such termination on Form U-5 within 30 calendar 
days of the date of termination. 

B. When an investment advisor representative terminates a 
connection with a federal covered advisor, the federal covered 
advisor shall file with the NASAA/NASD Central 
Registration Depository system notice of such termination on 
Form U-5 within 30 calendar days of the date of termination. 

C. If a representative learns that the investment advisor has 
not filed the notice, the representative may file notice with the 
commission at its Division of Securities and Retail 
Franchising. The commission may terminate the 
representative's registration if the commission determines that 
an investment advisor (i) is no longer in existence, (ii) has 

ceased conducting securities business, or (iii) cannot 
reasonably be located. 

21VAC5-80-130. Examination/qualification. 

A. An individual applying for registration as an investment 
advisor representative shall be required to provide evidence 
of passing within the two-year period immediately preceding 
the date of the application: (i) the Uniform Investment 
Adviser Law Examination, Series 65; (ii) the Uniform 
Combined State Law Examination, Series 66 and the General 
Securities Representative Examination, Series 7; or (iii) a 
similar examination in general use by securities 
administrators which, after reasonable notice and subject to 
review by the commission, the Director of the Division of 
Securities and Retail Franchising designates.  

B. Any individual who is currently has been registered as an 
investment advisor or investment advisor representative in 
any state jurisdiction requiring the registration and 
qualification of investment advisors or investment advisor 
representatives within the two-year period immediately 
preceding the date of the filing of an application shall not be 
required to satisfy the examination requirements for 
continued registration set forth in subsection A of this section, 
except that the commission may require additional 
examinations for any individual found to have violated any 
federal or state securities laws. 

Any individual who has not been registered in any state 
jurisdiction for a period of two years shall be required to 
comply with the examination requirements of this section.  

C. The examination requirements shall not apply to an 
individual who currently holds one of the following 
professional designations:  

1. Certified Financial Planner (CFP) issued by the Certified 
Financial Planner Board of Standards, Inc.;  

2. Chartered Financial Consultant (ChFC) awarded by The 
American College, Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania;  

3. Personal Financial Specialist (PFS) administered by the 
American Institute of Certified Public Accountants;  

4. Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) granted by the 
Association for Investment Management and Research;  

5. Chartered Investment Counselor (CIC) granted by the 
Investment Counsel Association of America; or  

6. Such other professional designation, after reasonable 
notice and subject to review by the commission, as the 
Director of the Division of Securities and Retail 
Franchising designates.  

D. In lieu of meeting the examination requirement described 
in subsection A of this section, an applicant who meets all the 
qualifications set forth below may file with the commission at 
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its Division of Securities and Retail Franchising an executed 
Affidavit for Waiver of Examination (Form S.A.3).  

1. No more than one other individual connected with the 
applicant's investment advisor is utilizing the waiver at the 
time the applicant files Form S.A.3.  

2. The applicant is, and has been for at least the five years 
immediately preceding the date on which the application 
for registration is filed, actively engaged in the investment 
advisory business.  

3. The applicant has been for at least the two years 
immediately preceding the date on which the application is 
filed the president, chief executive officer or chairman of 
the board of directors of an investment advisor organized 
in corporate form or the managing partner, member, trustee 
or similar functionary of an investment advisor organized 
in noncorporate form.  

4. The investment advisor or advisors referred to in 
subdivision 3 of this subsection has been actively engaged 
in the investment advisory business and during the 
applicant's tenure as president, chief executive officer, 
chairman of the board of directors, or managing partner, 
member, trustee or similar functionary had at least $40 
million under management.  

5. The applicant verifies that he has read and is familiar 
with the investment advisor and investment advisor 
representative provisions of the Act and the provisions of 
Parts I through V of this chapter.  

6. The applicant verifies that none of the questions in Item 
22 14 (disciplinary history) on his Form U-4 have been, or 
need be, answered in the affirmative.  

[ Part III  
Investment Advisor, Federal Covered Advisor and 
Investment Advisor Representative Regulations  ] 

21VAC5-80-140. Custody of client funds or securities by 
investment advisors. (Repealed.) 

An investment advisor who takes or has custody of any 
securities or funds of any client must comply with the 
following; provided that an investment advisor having its 
principal place of business outside this Commonwealth and 
registered or licensed, and in compliance with the applicable 
books and records requirements, in the state where its 
principal place of business is located, shall only be required to 
make, keep current, maintain and preserve such of the 
following required books, ledgers and records as are not in 
addition to those required under the laws of the state in which 
it maintains its principal place of business:  

1. An investment advisor with its principal place of 
business located in this Commonwealth shall notify the 
commission that it has or may have custody. Such 
notification may be given on Form ADV.  

2. The securities of each client must be segregated, marked 
to identify the particular client having the beneficial 
interest therein and held in safekeeping in some place 
reasonably free from risk of destruction or other loss.  

3. All client funds must be deposited in one or more bank 
accounts containing only clients' funds, such account or 
accounts must be maintained in the name of the investment 
advisor or agent or trustee for such clients, and the 
investment advisor must maintain a separate record for 
each such account showing the name and address of the 
bank where the account is maintained, the dates and 
amounts of deposits in and withdrawals from the account, 
and the exact amount of each client's beneficial interest in 
the account.  

4. Immediately after accepting custody or possession of 
funds or securities from any client, the investment advisor 
must notify the client in writing of the place where and the 
manner in which the funds and securities will be 
maintained and subsequently, if and when there is a change 
in the place where or the manner in which the funds or 
securities are maintained, the investment advisor must give 
written notice thereof to the client.  

5. At least once every three months, the investment advisor 
must send each client an itemized statement showing the 
funds and securities in the investment advisor's custody at 
the end of such period and all debits, credits and 
transactions in the client's account during such period.  

6. At least once every calendar year, an independent public 
accountant must verify all client funds and securities by 
actual examination at a time chosen by the accountant 
without prior notice to the investment advisor. A certificate 
of such accountant stating that he or she has made an 
examination of such funds and securities, and describing 
the nature and extent of the examination, shall be filed with 
the commission promptly after each such examination.  

7. This section shall not apply to an investment advisor 
also registered as a broker-dealer under § 15 of the 
Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (15 USC § 78o) if the 
broker-dealer is (i) subject to and in compliance with SEC 
Rule 15c3-1 (Net Capital Requirements for Brokers or 
Dealers) (17 CFR 240.15c3-1) under the Securities 
Exchange Act of 1934, or (ii) a member of an exchange 
whose members are exempt from SEC Rule 15c3-1, (17 
CFR 240.15c3-1) under the provisions of paragraph (b)(2) 
thereof, and the broker-dealer is in compliance with all 
regulations and settled practices of the exchange imposing 
requirements with respect to financial responsibility and 
the segregation of funds or securities carried for the 
account of customers.  
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[ Part III  
Investment Advisor, Federal Covered Advisor and 
Investment Advisor Representative Regulations ] 

21VAC5-80-145. Custody requirements for investment 
advisors. 

A. For purposes of this section, the following definitions 
shall apply:  

1. "Custody" means holding directly or indirectly, client 
funds or securities, or having any authority to obtain 
possession of them. 

a. Custody includes:  

(1) Possession of client funds or securities unless 
received inadvertently and returned to the sender 
promptly, but in any case within three business days of 
receiving them;  

(2) Any arrangement (including a general power of 
attorney) under which the investment advisor is 
permitted to withdraw client funds or securities 
maintained with a custodian upon the investment 
advisor's instruction to the custodian; and  

(3) Any capacity (such as general partner of a limited 
partnership, managing member of a limited liability 
company, or a comparable position for another type of 
pooled investment vehicle, or trustee of a trust) that gives 
the investment advisor or the investment advisor's 
supervised person legal ownership of or access to client 
funds or securities.  

b. Receipt of client's securities or checks drawn by 
clients and made payable to unrelated third parties will 
not meet the definition of custody if forwarded to the 
third party within 24 hours of receipt and the advisor 
maintains the following records: 

(1) A ledger or other listing of all securities or funds held 
or obtained, including the following information:  

(a) Issuer;  

(b) Type of security and series;  

(c) Date of issue;  

(d) For debt instruments, the denomination, interest rate 
and maturity date;  

(e) Certificate number, including alphabetical prefix or 
suffix;  

(f) Name in which registered;  

(g) Date given to the advisor;  

(h) Date sent to client or sender;  

(i) Form of delivery to client or sender, or copy of the 
form of delivery to client or sender; and  

(j) Mail confirmation number, if applicable, or 
confirmation by client or sender of the fund's or security's 
return.  

2. "Independent representative" means a person who:  

a. Acts as agent for an advisory client, including in the 
case of a pooled investment vehicle, for limited partners 
of a limited partnership, members of a limited liability 
company, or other beneficial owners of another type of 
pooled investment vehicle and by law or contract is 
obliged to act in the best interest of the advisory client or 
the limited partners, members, or other beneficial 
owners;  

b. Does not control, is not controlled by, and is not under 
common control with the investment advisor; and  

c. Does not have, and has not had within the past two 
years, a material business relationship with the 
investment advisor.  

3. "Qualified custodian" means the following independent 
institutions or entities that are not affiliated with the 
advisor by any direct or indirect common control and have 
not had a material business relationship with the advisor in 
the previous two years:  

a. A bank or savings association that has deposits insured 
by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation under the 
Federal Deposit Insurance Act, 12 USC § 1813;  

b. A registered broker-dealer holding the client assets in 
customer accounts;  

c. A registered futures commission merchant registered 
under § 4f(a) of the Commodity Exchange Act, 7 USC 
§ 6f(a), holding the client assets in customer accounts, 
but only with respect to clients' funds and security 
futures, or other securities incidental to transactions in 
contracts for the purchase or sale of a commodity for 
future delivery and options thereon; and  

d. A foreign financial institution that customarily holds 
financial assets for its customers, provided that the 
foreign financial institution keeps the advisory clients' 
assets in customer accounts segregated from its 
proprietary assets.  

B. Requirements. 

1. If the investment advisor is registered or required to be 
registered, it is unlawful and deemed to be a fraudulent, 
deceptive, or manipulative act, practice, or course of 
business under § 13.1-502 of the Virginia Securities Act 
for the investment advisor to have custody of client funds 
or securities unless:  

a. The investment advisor notifies the commission in 
writing that the investment advisor has or may have 
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custody. Such notification is required on Form ADV 
submitted to the IARD system;  

b. A qualified custodian maintains those funds and 
securities in a separate account for each client under that 
client's name or in accounts that contain only investment 
advisor's clients' funds and securities, under the 
investment advisor's name as agent or trustee for the 
clients; 

c. If the investment advisor opens an account with a 
qualified custodian on his client's behalf, either under the 
client's name or under the investment advisor's name as 
agent, the investment advisor must notify the client in 
writing of the qualified custodian's name, address, and 
the manner in which the funds or securities are 
maintained, promptly when the account is opened and 
following any changes to this information; 

d. At least quarterly, the investment advisor sends an 
account statement to each client for whom the investment 
advisor has custody of funds or securities, identifying the 
amount of funds and of each security of which the 
investment advisor has custody at the end of the period 
and setting forth all transactions during that period; and  

(1) An independent certified public accountant verifies 
all client funds and securities by actual examination at 
least once during each calendar year at a time chosen by 
the accountant without prior notice or announcement to 
the advisor and that is irregular from year to year, and 
files a copy of the auditor's report and financial 
statements with the commission within 30 days after the 
completion of the examination, along with a letter stating 
that it has examined the funds and securities and 
describing the nature and extent of the examination. 

(2) The independent certified public accountant, upon 
finding any material discrepancies during the course of 
the examination, notifies the commission within one 
business day of the finding, by means of a facsimile 
transmission or electronic mail, followed by first class 
mail, directed to the attention of the Division of 
Securities and Retail Franchising. 

(3) If the investment advisor is a general partner of a 
limited partnership (or managing member of a limited 
liability company, or holds a comparable position for 
another type of pooled investment vehicle), the account 
statements required under [ subdivisions c and 
subdivision 1 ] d of this [ subdivision subsection ] must 
be sent to each limited partner (or member or other 
beneficial owner or their independent representative).  

(4) A client may designate an independent representative 
to receive, on his behalf, notices and account statements 
as required under subdivisions [ 3 and 4 1 c and d ] of 
this subsection. 

2. An advisor who has custody as defined in subdivision A 
1 a (2) of this section by having fees directly deducted 
from client accounts shall provide the following 
safeguards:  

a. The investment advisor must have written 
authorization from the client to deduct advisory fees from 
the account held with the qualified custodian. 

b. Each time a fee is directly deducted from a client 
account, the investment advisor must concurrently:  

(1) Send the qualified custodian an invoice of the amount 
of the fee to be deducted from the client's account; and  

(2) Send the client an invoice itemizing the fee. 
Itemization includes the formula used to calculate the 
fee, the amount of assets under management the fee is 
based on, and the time period covered by the fee.  

c. The investment advisor notifies the commission in 
writing that the investment advisor intends to use the 
safeguards provided above. Such notification is required 
to be given on Form ADV.  

d. An investment advisor having custody solely because 
it meets the definition of custody as defined in 
subdivision A 1 of this section and who complies with 
the safekeeping requirements in this subsection will not 
be required to meet the financial requirements for 
custodial advisors as set forth in 21VAC5-80-180 [ and 
subdivisions 1 d (1) and (2) of this subsection ]. 

3. An investment advisor who has custody as defined in 
subdivision A 1 of this section and who does not meet the 
exception provided [ under this subdivision in subdivision 
C ] 3 of this [ subsection section ] must, in addition to the 
safeguards set forth in [ subdivision A 4 subdivisions 1 a 
through d ] of this subsection, also comply with the 
following: 

a. Hire an independent party to review all fees, expenses, 
and capital withdrawals from the pooled accounts. 

b. Send all invoices or receipts to the independent party, 
detailing the amount of the fee, expenses, or capital 
withdrawal and the method of calculation such that the 
independent party can:  

(1) Determine that the payment is in accordance with the 
pooled investment vehicle standards (generally the 
partnership agreement or membership agreement); and  

(2) Forward, to the qualified custodian, approval for 
payment of the invoice with a copy to the investment 
advisor.  

c. For purposes of this section, an independent party 
means a person who:  
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(1) Is engaged by an investment advisor to act as a 
gatekeeper for the payment of fees, expenses, and capital 
withdrawals from the pooled investment;  

(2) Does not control and is not controlled by and is not 
under common control with the investment advisor, 
either directly or indirectly; and  

(3) Does not have, and has not had within the past two 
years, a material business relationship with the 
investment advisor.  

d. The investment advisor notifies the commission in 
writing that the investment advisor intends to use the 
safeguards provided above. Such notification is required 
to be given on Form ADV.  

e. An investment advisor having custody solely because 
it meets the definition of custody as defined in 
subdivision A 1 of this section and who complies with 
the safekeeping requirements in this subsection will not 
be required to meet the financial requirements for 
custodial advisors as set forth in 21VAC5-80-180 [ and 
subdivisions 1 d (1) and (2) of this subsection ]. 

4. When a trust retains an investment advisor, investment 
advisor representative, or employee, director, or owner of 
an investment advisor as trustee, and the investment 
advisor acts as the investment advisor to that trust, the 
investment advisor shall:  

a. Notify the commission in writing that the investment 
advisor intends to use the safeguards provided below. 
Such notification is required to be given on Form ADV 
submitted to the IARD system.  

b. Send to the grantor of the trust, the attorney for the 
trust if it is a testamentary trust, the co-trustee (other than 
the investment advisor; investment advisor 
representative; or employee, director, or owner of the 
investment advisor); or a defined beneficiary of the trust, 
at the same time that it sends any invoice to the qualified 
custodian, an invoice showing the amount of the trustees' 
fee or investment management or advisory fee, the value 
of the assets on which the fees were based, and the 
specific manner in which the fees were calculated.  

c. Enter into a written agreement with a qualified 
custodian that specifies the qualified custodian will not 
deliver trust securities to the investment advisor, any 
investment advisor representative or employee, director, 
or owner of the investment advisor, nor will transmit any 
funds to the investment advisor; any investment advisor 
representative or employee; director or owner of the 
investment advisor, except that the qualified custodian 
may pay trustees' fees to the trustee and investment 
management or advisory fees to investment advisor, 
provided that:  

(1) The grantor of the trust or attorneys for the trust, if it 
is a testamentary trust, the co-trustee (other than the 
investment advisor; investment advisor representative; or 
employee, director, or owner of the investment advisor); 
or a defined beneficiary of the trust has authorized the 
qualified custodian in writing to pay those fees;  

(2) The statements for those fees show the amount of the 
fees for the trustee and, in the case of statements for 
investment management or advisory fees, show the value 
of the trust assets on which the fee is based and the 
manner in which the fee was calculated; and 

(3) The qualified custodian agrees to send to the grantor 
of the trust, the attorneys for a testamentary trust, the co-
trustee (other than the investment advisor; investment 
advisor representative; or employee, director, or owner of 
the investment advisor); or a defined beneficiary of the 
trust, at least quarterly, a statement of all disbursements 
from the account of the trust, including the amount of 
investment management fees paid to the investment 
advisor and the amount of trustees' fees paid to the 
trustee.  

d. Except as otherwise set forth in subdivision [ 3 4 ] d 
(1) of this subsection, the qualified custodian may 
transfer funds or securities, or both, of the trust only upon 
the direction of the trustee (who may be the investment 
advisor; investment advisor representative; or employee, 
director, or owner of the investment advisor), who the 
investment advisor has duly accepted as an authorized 
signatory. The grantor of the trust or attorneys for the 
trust, if it is a testamentary trust, the co-trustee (other 
than the investment advisor; investment advisor 
representative; or employee, director, or owner of the 
investment advisor); or a defined beneficiary of the trust, 
must designate the authorized signatory for management 
of the trust. The direction to transfer funds or securities, 
or both, can only be made to the following:  

(1) To a trust company, bank trust department, or 
brokerage firm independent of the investment advisor for 
the account of the trust to which the assets relate;  

(2) To the named grantors or to the named beneficiaries 
of the trust;  

(3) To a third person independent of the investment 
advisor in payment of the fees or charges of the third 
person including, but not limited to:  

(a) Attorney's, accountant's, or qualified custodian's fees 
for the trust; and 

(b) Taxes, interest, maintenance, or other expenses, if 
there is property other than securities or cash owned by 
the trust;  
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[ (c) (4) ] To third persons independent of the investment 
advisor for any other purpose legitimately associated 
with the management of the trust; or  

[ (d) (5) ] To a broker-dealer in the normal course of 
portfolio purchases and sales, provided that the transfer is 
made on payment against delivery basis or payment 
against trust receipt.  

[ 5. e. ] An investment advisor having custody solely 
because it meets the definition of custody as defined in 
subdivision A 1 of this section and who complies with 
the safekeeping requirements in this subsection, will not 
be required to meet the financial requirements for 
custodial advisors as set forth in 21VAC5-80-180. 

C. Exceptions.  

1. With respect to shares of an open-end company as 
defined in § 5(a)(1) of the Investment Company Act of 
1940, 15 USC § 80a-5(a)(1) (mutual fund), the investment 
advisor may use the mutual fund's transfer agent in lieu of 
a qualified custodian for purposes of complying with 
subsection B of this section. 

2. Certain privately offered securities.  

a. An investment advisor is not required to comply with 
subsection B of this section with respect to securities that 
are:  

(1 ) Acquired from the issuer in a transaction or chain of 
transactions not involving any public offering;  

(2) Uncertificated, and ownership thereof is recorded 
only on books of the issuer or its transfer agent in the 
name of the client; and  

(3) Transferable only with prior consent of the issuer or 
holders of the outstanding securities of the issuer.  

b. Notwithstanding subdivision [ B ] 2 a of this [ section 
subsection ], the provisions of subdivision [ B ] 2 of this 
[ section subsection ] are available with respect to 
securities held for the account of a limited partnership (or 
limited liability company, or other type of pooled 
investment vehicle) only if the limited partnership is 
audited, the audited financial statements are distributed, 
as described in subdivision [ B ] 3 of this [ section 
subsection ] and the investment advisor notifies the 
commission in writing that the investment advisor 
intends to provide audited financial statements, as 
described above. Such notification is required to be given 
on Form ADV.  

3. The investment advisor is not required to comply with 
subdivision B 1 c of this section with respect to the account 
of a limited partnership (or limited liability company, or 
another type of pooled investment vehicle) that is subject 
to audit at least annually and distributes its audited 
financial statements prepared in accordance with generally 

accepted accounting principles to all limited partners (or 
members or other beneficial owners) within 120 days of 
the end of its fiscal year. The investment advisor shall also 
notify the commission in writing that the investment 
advisor intends to employ the use of the audit safeguards 
described above. Such notification is required to be given 
on Form ADV.  

4. The investment advisor is not required to comply with 
this section with respect to the account of an investment 
company registered under the Investment Company Act of 
1940, 15 USC §§ 80a-1 to 80a-64.  

5. The investment advisor is not required to comply with 
safekeeping requirements of subsection B of this section or 
the net worth and bonding requirements of 21VAC5-80-
180 if the investment advisor has custody solely because 
the investment advisor, investment advisor representative 
or employee, director, or owner of the investment advisor 
is a trustee for a beneficial trust, if all of the following 
conditions are met for each trust:  

a. The beneficial owner of the trust is a parent, a 
grandparent, a spouse, a sibling, a child, or a grandchild 
[ , or the legal beneficiary ] of the trustee. These 
relationships shall include "step" relationships.  

b. For each account under subdivision 5 a of this 
subsection the investment advisor complies with the 
following:  

(1) Provide a written statement to each beneficial owner 
of the account setting forth a description of the 
requirements of subsection B of this section and the 
reasons why the investment advisor will not be 
complying with those requirements.  

(2) Obtain from each beneficial owner a signed and dated 
statement acknowledging the receipt of the written 
statement required under subdivision 5 a [ (1) ] of this 
subsection. 

(3) Maintain a copy of both documents described in 
subdivisions [ B 4 c and d 5 a (1) and (2) ] of this 
[ section subsection ] until the account is closed or the 
investment advisor is no longer trustee.  

6. Any investment advisor who intends to have custody of 
client funds or securities but is not able to utilize a 
qualified custodian as defined in subdivision A 3 of this 
section shall first obtain approval from the commission and 
comply with all of the applicable safekeeping provisions 
under subsection B of this section including taking 
responsibility for those provisions that are designated to be 
performed by a qualified custodian.  
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21VAC5-80-160. Recordkeeping requirements for 
investment advisors. 

A. Every investment advisor registered or required to be 
registered under the Act shall make and keep true, accurate 
and current the following books, ledgers and records, except 
an investment advisor having its principal place of business 
outside this Commonwealth and registered or licensed, and in 
compliance with the applicable books and records 
requirements, in the state where its principal place of business 
is located, shall only be required to make, keep current, 
maintain and preserve such of the following required books, 
ledgers and records as are not in addition to those required 
under the laws of the state in which it maintains its principal 
place of business: 

1. A journal or journals, including cash receipts and 
disbursements records, and any other records of original 
entry forming the basis of entries in any ledger. 

2. General and auxiliary ledgers (or other comparable 
records) reflecting asset, liability, reserve, capital, income 
and expense accounts. 

3. A memorandum of each order given by the investment 
advisor for the purchase or sale of any security, of any 
instruction received by the investment advisor from the 
client concerning the purchase, sale, receipt or delivery of 
a particular security, and of any modification or 
cancellation of any such order or instruction. The 
memoranda shall show the terms and conditions of the 
order, instruction, modification or cancellation; shall 
identify the person connected with the investment advisor 
who recommended the transaction to the client and the 
person who placed the order; and shall show the account 
for which entered, the date of entry, and the bank, broker 
or dealer by or through whom executed where appropriate. 
Orders entered pursuant to the exercise of discretionary 
power shall be so designated. 

4. All check books, bank statements, canceled checks and 
cash reconciliations of the investment advisor. 

5. All bills or statements (or copies of), paid or unpaid, 
relating to the business as an investment advisor. 

6. All trial balances, financial statements prepared in 
accordance with generally accepted accounting principles 
which shall include a balance sheet, income statement and 
such other statements as may be required pursuant to 
21VAC5-80-180, and internal audit working papers 
relating to the investment advisor's business as an 
investment advisor. 

7. Originals of all written communications received and 
copies of all written communications sent by the 
investment advisor relating to (i) any recommendation 
made or proposed to be made and any advice given or 
proposed to be given; (ii) any receipt, disbursement or 

delivery of funds or securities; and (iii) the placing or 
execution of any order to purchase or sell any security; 
however, (a) the investment advisor shall not be required to 
keep any unsolicited market letters and other similar 
communications of general public distribution not prepared 
by or for the investment advisor, and (b) if the investment 
advisor sends any notice, circular or other advertisement 
offering any report, analysis, publication or other 
investment advisory service to more than 10 persons, the 
investment advisor shall not be required to keep a record of 
the names and addresses of the persons to whom it was 
sent; except that if the notice, circular or advertisement is 
distributed to persons named on any list, the investment 
advisor shall retain with a copy of the notice, circular or 
advertisement a memorandum describing the list and the 
source thereof. 

8. A list or other record of all accounts which list identifies 
the accounts in which the investment advisor is vested with 
any discretionary power with respect to the funds, 
securities or transactions of any client. 

9. All powers of attorney and other evidences of the 
granting of any discretionary authority by any client to the 
investment advisor, or copies thereof. 

10. All written agreements (or copies thereof) entered into 
by the investment advisor with any client, and all other 
written agreements otherwise related to the investment 
advisor's business as an investment advisor. 

11. A file containing a copy of each notice, circular, 
advertisement, newspaper article, investment letter, 
bulletin, or other communication including by electronic 
media that the investment advisor circulates or distributes, 
directly or indirectly, to two or more persons (other than 
persons connected with the investment advisor), and if the 
notice, circular, advertisement, newspaper article, 
investment letter, bulletin, or other communication 
including by electronic media recommends the purchase or 
sale of a specific security and does not state the reasons for 
the recommendation, a memorandum of the investment 
adviser indicating the reasons for the recommendation. 

12. a. A record of every transaction in a security in which 
the investment advisor or any investment advisory 
representative of the investment advisor has, or by reason 
of any transaction acquires, any direct or indirect beneficial 
ownership, except (i) transactions effected in any account 
over which neither the investment advisor nor any 
investment advisory representative of the investment 
advisor has any direct or indirect influence or control; and 
(ii) transactions in securities which are direct obligations of 
the United States. The record shall state the title and 
amount of the security involved; the date and nature of the 
transaction (i.e., purchase, sale or other acquisition or 
disposition); the price at which it was effected; and the 
name of the broker, dealer or bank with or through whom 
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the transaction was effected. The record may also contain a 
statement declaring that the reporting or recording of any 
such transaction shall not be construed as an admission that 
the investment advisor or investment advisory 
representative has any direct or indirect beneficial 
ownership in the security. A transaction shall be recorded 
not later than 10 days after the end of the calendar quarter 
in which the transaction was effected. 

b. For purposes of this subdivision 12, the following 
definitions will apply. The term "advisory representative" 
means any partner, officer or director of the investment 
advisor; any employee who participates in any way in the 
determination of which recommendations shall be made; 
any employee who, in connection with his duties, obtains 
any information concerning which securities are being 
recommended prior to the effective dissemination of the 
recommendations; and any of the following persons who 
obtain information concerning securities 
recommendations being made by the investment advisor 
prior to the effective dissemination of the 
recommendations: 

(1) Any person in a control relationship to the investment 
adviser; 

(2) Any affiliated person of a controlling person; and 

(3) Any affiliated person of an affiliated person. 

"Control" means the power to exercise a controlling 
influence over the management or policies of a company, 
unless such power is solely the result of an official 
position with the company. Any person who owns 
beneficially, either directly or through one or more 
controlled companies, more than 25% of the ownership 
interest of a company shall be presumed to control the 
company. 

c. An investment advisor shall not be deemed to have 
violated the provisions of this subdivision 12 because of 
his failure to record securities transactions of any 
investment advisor representative if the investment 
advisor establishes that it instituted adequate procedures 
and used reasonable diligence to obtain promptly reports 
of all transactions required to be recorded. 

13. a. Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision 12 of 
this subsection, where the investment advisor is primarily 
engaged in a business or businesses other than advising 
investment advisory clients, a record must be maintained 
of every transaction in a security in which the investment 
advisor or any investment advisory representative of such 
investment advisor has, or by reason of such transaction 
acquires, any direct or indirect beneficial ownership, 
except (i) transactions effected in any account over which 
neither the investment advisor nor any investment advisory 
representative of the investment advisor has any direct or 
indirect influence or control; and (ii) transactions in 

securities which are direct obligations of the United States. 
The record shall state the title and amount of the security 
involved; the date and nature of the transaction (i.e., 
purchase, sale or other acquisition or disposition); the price 
at which it was effected; and the name of the broker, dealer 
or bank with or through whom the transaction was 
effected. The record may also contain a statement 
declaring that the reporting or recording of any such 
transaction shall not be construed as an admission that the 
investment advisor or investment advisory representative 
has any direct or indirect beneficial ownership in the 
security. A transaction shall be recorded not later than 10 
days after the end of the calendar quarter in which the 
transaction was effected. 

b. An investment advisor is "primarily engaged in a 
business or businesses other than advising investment 
advisory clients" when, for each of its most recent three 
fiscal years or for the period of time since organization, 
whichever is less, the investment advisor derived, on an 
unconsolidated basis, more than 50% of (i) its total sales 
and revenues, and (ii) its income (or loss) before income 
taxes and extraordinary items, from such other business 
or businesses. 

c. For purposes of this subdivision 13, the following 
definitions will apply. The term "advisory 
representative," when used in connection with a company 
primarily engaged in a business or businesses other than 
advising investment advisory clients, means any partner, 
officer, director or employee of the investment advisor 
who participates in any way in the determination of 
which recommendation shall be made, or whose 
functions or duties relate to the determination of which 
securities are being recommended prior to the effective 
dissemination of the recommendations; and any of the 
following persons, who obtain information concerning 
securities recommendations being made by the 
investment advisor prior to the effective dissemination of 
the recommendations or of the information concerning 
the recommendations: 

(1) Any person in a control relationship to the investment 
advisor; 

(2) Any affiliated person of a controlling person; and 

(3) Any affiliated person of an affiliated person. 

d. An investment advisor shall not be deemed to have 
violated the provisions of this subdivision 13 because of 
his failure to record securities transactions of any 
investment advisor representative if he establishes that he 
instituted adequate procedures and used reasonable 
diligence to obtain promptly reports of all transactions 
required to be recorded. 

14. A copy of each written statement and each amendment 
or revision, given or sent to any client or prospective client 
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of such investment advisor in accordance with the 
provisions of 21VAC5-80-190 and a record of the dates 
that each written statement, and each amendment or 
revision, was given, or offered to be given, to any client or 
prospective client who subsequently becomes a client. 

15. For each client that was obtained by the advisor by 
means of a solicitor to whom a cash fee was paid by the 
advisor, the following: 

a. Evidence of a written agreement to which the advisor 
is a party related to the payment of such fee; 

b. A signed and dated acknowledgement of receipt from 
the client evidencing the client's receipt of the investment 
advisor's disclosure statement and a written disclosure 
statement of the solicitor; and, 

c. A copy of the solicitor's written disclosure statement. 
The written agreement, acknowledgement and solicitor 
disclosure statement will be considered to be in 
compliance if such documents are in compliance with 
Rule 275.206(4)-3 of the Investment Advisers Act of 
1940. 

For purposes of this regulation, the term "solicitor" means 
any person or entity who, for compensation, acts as an 
agent of an investment advisor in referring potential 
clients. 

16. All accounts, books, internal working papers, and any 
other records or documents that are necessary to form the 
basis for or demonstrate the calculation of the performance 
or rate of return of all managed accounts or securities 
recommendations in any notice, circular, advertisement, 
newspaper article, investment letter, bulletin, or other 
communication including but not limited to electronic 
media that the investment advisor circulates or distributes 
directly or indirectly, to two or more persons (other than 
persons connected with the investment advisor); however, 
with respect to the performance of managed accounts, the 
retention of all account statements, if they reflect all debits, 
credits, and other transactions in a client's account for the 
period of the statement, and all worksheets necessary to 
demonstrate the calculation of the performance or rate of 
return of all managed accounts shall be deemed to satisfy 
the requirements of this subdivision. 

17. A file containing a copy of all written communications 
received or sent regarding any litigation involving the 
investment advisor or any investment advisor 
representative or employee, and regarding any written 
customer or client complaint. 

18. Written information about each investment advisory 
client that is the basis for making any recommendation or 
providing any investment advice to the client. 

19. Written procedures to supervise the activities of 
employees and investment advisor representatives that are 

reasonably designed to achieve compliance with applicable 
securities laws and regulations. 

20. A file containing a copy of each document (other than 
any notices of general dissemination) that was filed with or 
received from any state or federal agency or self regulatory 
organization and that pertains to the registrant or its 
investment advisor representatives, which file should 
contain, but is not limited to, all applications, amendments, 
renewal filings, and correspondence. 

21. Any records documenting dates, locations and findings 
of the investment advisor's annual review of these policies 
and procedures conducted pursuant to subdivision E 2 of 
21VAC5-80-170. 

B. If an investment advisor subject to subsection A of this 
section has custody or possession of securities or funds of any 
client, the records required to be made and kept under 
subsection A of this section shall also include: 

1. A journal or other record showing all purchases, sales, 
receipts and deliveries of securities (including certificate 
numbers) for such accounts and all other debits and credits 
to the accounts. 

2. A separate ledger account for each client showing all 
purchases, sales, receipts and deliveries of securities, the 
date and price of each purchase and sale, and all debits and 
credits. 

3. Copies of confirmations of all transactions effected by or 
for the account of any client. 

4. A record for each security in which any client has a 
position, which record shall show the name of each client 
having any interest in each security, the amount or interest 
of each client, and the location of each security. 

C. Every investment advisor subject to subsection A of this 
section who renders any investment advisory or management 
service to any client shall, with respect to the portfolio being 
supervised or managed and to the extent that the information 
is reasonably available to or obtainable by the investment 
advisor, make and keep true, accurate and current: 

1. Records showing separately for each client the securities 
purchased and sold, and the date, amount and price of each 
purchase and sale. 

2. For each security in which any client has a current 
position, information from which the investment advisor 
can promptly furnish the name of each client and the 
current amount or interest of the client. 

D. Any books or records required by this section may be 
maintained by the investment advisor in such manner that the 
identity of any client to whom the investment advisor renders 
investment advisory services is indicated by numerical or 
alphabetical code or some similar designation. 
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E. Every investment advisor subject to subsection A of this 
section shall preserve the following records in the manner 
prescribed: 

1. All books and records required to be made under the 
provisions of subsection A through subdivision C 1, 
inclusive, of this section, except for books and records 
required to be made under the provisions of subdivisions A 
11 and A 16 of this section, shall be maintained in an 
easily accessible place for a period of not less than five 
years from the end of the fiscal year during which the last 
entry was made on record, the first two years of which 
shall be maintained in the principal office of the 
investment advisor. 

2. Partnership articles and any amendments, articles of 
incorporation, charters, minute books, and stock certificate 
books of the investment advisor and of any predecessor, 
shall be maintained in the principal office of the 
investment advisor and preserved until at least three years 
after termination of the enterprise. 

3. Books and records required to be made under the 
provisions of subdivisions A 11 and A 16 of this section 
shall be maintained in an easily accessible place for a 
period of not less than five years, the first two years of 
which shall be maintained in the principal office of the 
investment advisor, from the end of the fiscal year during 
which the investment advisor last published or otherwise 
disseminated, directly or indirectly, the notice, circular, 
advertisement, newspaper article, investment letter, 
bulletin, or other communication including by electronic 
media. 

4. Books and records required to be made under the 
provisions of subdivisions A 17 through A 20, inclusive, of 
this section shall be maintained and preserved in an easily 
accessible place for a period of not less than five years, 
from the end of the fiscal year during which the last entry 
was made on such record, the first two years in the 
principal office of the investment advisor, or for the time 
period during which the investment advisor was registered 
or required to be registered in the state, if less. 

5. Notwithstanding other record preservation requirements 
of this subsection, the following records or copies shall be 
required to be maintained at the business location of the 
investment advisor from which the customer or client is 
being provided or has been provided with investment 
advisory services: (i) records required to be preserved 
under subdivisions A 3, A 7 through A 10, A 14 and A 15, 
A 17 through A 19, subsections B and C, and (ii) the 
records or copies required under the provision of 
subdivisions A 11 and A 16 of this section which records 
or related records identify the name of the investment 
advisor representative providing investment advice from 
that business location, or which identify the business 
locations' physical address, mailing address, electronic 

mailing address, or telephone number. The records will be 
maintained for the period described in this subsection. 

F. Every investment advisor shall establish and maintain a 
written disaster recovery plan that shall address at a 
minimum: 

1. The identity of individuals that will conduct [ or wind 
down ] business on behalf of the investment advisor in the 
event of death or incapacity of key persons; 

2. Means to provide notification to clients of the 
investment advisor and to those states in which the advisor 
is registered of the death or incapacity of key persons; 

a. Notification shall be provided to the Division of 
Securities and Retail Franchising via the IARD/CRD 
system within 24 hours of the death or incapacity of key 
persons. 

b. Notification shall be given to clients within five 
business days from the death or incapacity of key 
persons. 

3. Means for clients' accounts to continue to be monitored 
until an orderly liquidation, distribution or transfer of the 
clients' portfolio to another advisor can be achieved [ or 
until an actual notice to the client of investment advisor 
death or incapacity and client control of their assets 
occurs ]; 

4. Means for the credit demands of the investment advisor 
to be met; and 

5. Data backups sufficient to allow rapid resumption of the 
investment advisor's activities. 

F. G. An investment advisor subject to subsection A of this 
section, before ceasing to conduct or discontinuing business 
as an investment advisor, shall arrange for and be responsible 
for the preservation of the books and records required to be 
maintained and preserved under this section for the remainder 
of the period specified in this section, and shall notify the 
commission in writing of the exact address where the books 
and records will be maintained during such period. 

G. H. 1. The records required to be maintained pursuant to 
this section may be immediately produced or reproduced by 
photograph on film or, as provided in subdivision 2 of this 
subsection, on magnetic disk, tape or other computer storage 
medium, and be maintained for the required time in that form. 
If records are preserved or reproduced by photographic film 
or computer storage medium, the investment advisor shall: 

a. Arrange the records and index the films or computer 
storage medium so as to permit the immediate location of 
any particular record; 

b. Be ready at all times to promptly provide any facsimile 
enlargement of film or computer printout or copy of the 
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computer storage medium which the commission by its 
examiners or other representatives may request; 

c. Store separately from the original one other copy of 
the film or computer storage medium for the time 
required; 

d. With respect to records stored on computer storage 
medium, maintain procedures for maintenance of, and 
access to, records so as to reasonably safeguard records 
from loss, alteration, or destruction; and 

e. With respect to records stored on photographic film, at 
all times have available, for the commission's 
examination of its records, facilities for immediate, easily 
readable projection of the film and for producing easily 
readable facsimile enlargements. 

2. Pursuant to subdivision 1 of this subsection, an advisor 
may maintain and preserve on computer tape or disk or 
other computer storage medium records which, in the 
ordinary course of the advisor's business, are created by the 
advisor on electronic media or are received by the advisor 
solely on electronic media or by electronic transmission. 

H. I. Any book or record made, kept, maintained, and 
preserved in compliance with SEC Rules 17a-3 (17 CFR 
240.17a-3) and 17a-4 (17 CFR 240.17a-4) under the 
Securities Exchange Act of 1934, which is substantially the 
same as the book, or other record required to be made, kept, 
maintained, and preserved under this section shall be deemed 
to be made, kept, maintained, and preserved in compliance 
with this section. 

I. J. For purposes of this section, "investment supervisory 
services" means the giving of continuous advice as to the 
investment of funds on the basis of the individual needs of 
each client; and "discretionary power" shall not include 
discretion as to the price at which or the time when a 
transaction is or is to be effected if, before the order is given 
by the investment advisor, the client has directed or approved 
the purchase or sale of a definite amount of the particular 
security. 

K. For purposes of this section, "principal place of business" 
and [ "principle "principal ] office" mean the executive office 
of the investment advisor from which the officers, partners, or 
managers of the investment advisor direct, control, and 
coordinate the activities of the investment advisor. 

J. L. Every investment advisor registered or required to be 
registered in this Commonwealth and has its principal place 
of business in a state other than the Commonwealth shall be 
exempt from the requirements of this section to the extent 
provided by the National Securities Markets Improvement 
Act of 1996 (Pub.L. No. 104-290), provided the investment 
advisor is licensed in such state and is in compliance with 
such state's recordkeeping requirements. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1797; Filed June 18, 2009, 9:46 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 21VAC5-110. Retail Franchising Act 
Rules (amending 21VAC5-110-10, 21VAC5-110-40, 
21VAC5-110-50, 21VAC5-110-55, 21VAC5-110-65, 
21VAC5-110-75, 21VAC5-110-80, 21VAC5-110-95). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 13.1-572 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2009.  

Agency Contact: Timothy O'Brien, Chief Examiner, State 
Corporation Commission, Securities Division, Tyler 
Building, 9th Floor, P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (804) 371-9415, FAX (804) 371-9911, or email 
tim.obrien@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) replace references to the "grant" of a 
franchise with "sale" of a franchise, where applicable, due 
to revisions made to the Virginia Retail Franchising Act 
during the 2009 Session of the Virginia General Assembly; 
(ii) delete the definitions of "grant" and "sale"; (iii) delete 
obsolete disclosure requirements relating to the term 
"grant" of a franchise; (iv) add an exemption from 
franchise registration for renewal of an existing franchise; 
and (v) clarify the materials to be filed with franchise 
renewal and amendment applications. 

AT RICHMOND, JUNE 8, 2009 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. SEC-2009-00023 

Ex Parte: In the matter of  
Adopting a Revision to the Rules 
Governing the Virginia Retail Franchising Act 

ORDER ADOPTING AMENDED RULES 

By Order entered on April 7, 2009, all interested persons 
were ordered to take notice that the State Corporation 
Commission ("Commission") would consider the adoption of 
a revision to Chapter 110 of Title 21 of the Virginia 
Administrative Code ("Regulations") entitled "Virginia Retail 
Franchising Act Rules and Forms."  On April 20, 2009, the 
Division of Securities and Retail Franchising ("Division") 
mailed the Order to Take Notice of the proposed amendments 
to the Regulations to all registrants and applicants as of April 
9, 2009, and to all interested parties pursuant to the Virginia 
Retail Franchising Act, § 13.1-557 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia. The Order to Take Notice described the proposed 
amendments and afforded interested parties an opportunity to 
file written comments or requests for hearing by May 15, 
2009. The Order to Take Notice also required the proposed 
amendments to be published in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 
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No comments were filed in this matter.  

The Commission, upon consideration of the proposed 
amendments to the Regulations, the recommendation of the 
Division, and the record in this case, finds that the proposed 
amendments to the Regulations should be adopted. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed Regulations, as modified, are attached 
hereto, made a part hereof, and are hereby ADOPTED 
effective July 1, 2009.   

(2) This matter is dismissed from the Commission's docket, 
and the papers herein shall be placed in the file for ended 
causes. 

AN ATTESTED COPY of this Order shall be sent to each 
of the following by the Division to: the Commission's 
Division of Information Resources; the Commission's Office 
of General Counsel; and such other persons as the Division 
deems appropriate. 

21VAC5-110-10. Definitions. 

"Action" includes complaints, cross claims, counterclaims, 
and third-party complaints in a judicial action or proceeding, 
and their equivalents in an administrative action or 
arbitration. 

"Affiliate" means an entity controlled by, controlling, or 
under common control with, another entity. 

"Commission" means Virginia State Corporation 
Commission. 

"Confidentiality clause" means any contract, order, or 
settlement provision that directly or indirectly restricts a 
current or former franchisee from discussing his personal 
experience as a franchisee in the franchisor's system with any 
prospective franchisee. It does not include clauses that protect 
franchisor's trademarks or other proprietary information. 

"Disclose," "state," "describe," and "list" each mean to 
present all material facts accurately, clearly, concisely, and 
legibly in plain English. 

"Effective date" means the date on which the franchise 
becomes registered under the provisions of § 13.1-561 of the 
Code of Virginia.  

"Effective registration" means authorization to offer and 
grant sell one or more franchises provided that the initial 
contracts or agreements are substantially identical in their 
terms or provisions. Whenever the franchisor offers or grants 
sells more than one franchise and the resulting contracts or 
agreements vary substantially in their terms or provisions, 
separate franchises will be deemed to have been offered or 
granted sold and separate registration will be required. For the 
purpose of this rule, substantial variation in the contract will 
relate without limitation to different products, services, fees 

charged, dues imposed, obligations incurred or investments 
required to be made by contract or agreement.  

"FDD" means Franchise Disclosure Document. 

"Financial performance representation" means any 
representation, including any oral, written, or visual 
representation, to a prospective franchisee, including a 
representation in the general media, that states, expressly or 
by implication, a specific level or range of actual or potential 
sales, income, gross profits, or net profits. The term includes 
a chart, table, or mathematical calculation that shows possible 
results based on a combination of variables. 

"Fiscal year" refers to [ means ] the franchisor's fiscal year. 

"Franchise seller" means a person that offers to grant, grants 
sell, sells, or arranges for the grant or sale of a franchise. It 
includes the franchisor and the franchisor's employees, 
representatives, agents, subfranchisors, and third-party 
brokers who are involved in franchise sales activities. It does 
not include existing franchisees who sell only their own outlet 
and who are otherwise not engaged in franchise sales on 
behalf of the franchisor. 

"Grant" or "sale" of a franchise includes an agreement 
whereby a person obtains a franchise from a franchise seller 
for value by purchase, license, or otherwise. It does not 
include extending or renewing an existing franchise 
agreement where there has been no interruption in the 
franchisee's operation of the business, unless the new 
agreement contains terms and conditions that differ materially 
from the original agreement. 

"Material change" includes a fact, circumstance, or 
condition [ which that ] would have a substantial likelihood of 
influencing a reasonable prospective franchisee in the making 
of a decision relating to the purchase of a franchise.  

"Parent" means an entity that controls another entity directly 
or indirectly through one or more subsidiaries. 

"Person" means any individual, group, association, limited 
or general partnership, corporation, or any other entity. 

"Plain English" means the organization of information and 
language usage understandable by a person unfamiliar with 
the franchise business. It incorporates short sentences, 
definite, concrete, everyday language, active voice, and 
tabular presentation of information where possible. It avoids 
legal jargon, highly technical business terms, and multiple 
negatives. 

"Predecessor" means a person from whom the franchisor 
acquired, directly or indirectly, the major portion of the 
franchisor's assets. 

"Principal business address" means the street address of a 
person's home office in the United States. A principal 
business address cannot be a post office box or private mail 
drop. 
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"Prospective franchisee" means any person (including any 
agent, representative, or employee) who approaches or is 
approached by a franchise seller to discuss the possible 
establishment of a franchise relationship. 

"Signature" means a person's affirmative step to authenticate 
his identity. It includes a person's handwritten signature, as 
well as a person's use of security codes, passwords, electronic 
signatures, and similar devices to authenticate his identity. 

"Trademark" includes trademarks, service marks, names, 
logos, and other commercial symbols. 

"Virginia Retail Franchising Act" means § 13.1-557 et seq. 
of the Code of Virginia.  

21VAC5-110-40. Pre-effective and post-effective 
amendments to the registration. 

A. Upon the occurrence of a material change, the franchisor 
shall amend the effective registration filed at the commission. 
An amendment to an application filed either before or after 
the effective date of registration may include only the pages 
containing the information being amended if pagination is not 
disturbed. The amended pages must be black-lined to show 
all additions, deletions, and other changes from the 
franchisor's previous submission. The franchisor may not use 
margin balloons or color highlights to show changes. 

B. An application to amend a franchise registration is made 
by submitting the following completed forms and other 
material: 

1. Uniform Franchise Registration Application page, Form 
A; 

2. One complete clean copy of the updated amended 
Franchise Disclosure Document pages; 

3. One complete copy of the amended Franchise 
Disclosure Document pages marked in black black-lined to 
show all additions, deletions, and other changes; and 

4. Application fee (payable to the "Treasurer of Virginia"). 
The fee shall accompany all post-effective amendments 
unless submitted in connection with an application for 
renewal. 

C. The certifications made by or on behalf of the franchisor 
in Form A shall extend and apply to all documents and 
materials filed in connection with the amendment application, 
including any documents or materials submitted to the 
commission subsequent to the initial filing that may be 
required to complete the amendment application. 

D. In addition to paper copies of the materials required by 
subsection B of this section, the franchisor may file one copy 
of the complete franchise amendment application, including a 
marked and unmarked copy of the Franchise Disclosure 
Document, on a CD-ROM in PDF format, subject to the 
following conditions: 

1. The transmittal letter submitting the application must 
contain a representation that all of the information 
contained in the electronic file is identical to the paper 
documents; 

2. The electronic version of the Franchise Disclosure 
Document must be text searchable; and 

3. If the commission's review of the application results in 
any revision to the documents, the franchisor must submit 
a revised CD-ROM containing a marked and unmarked 
final copy of the Franchise Disclosure Document, and final 
copies of all other application documents. The revised CD-
ROM must be accompanied by a transmittal letter as 
described in subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

E. An example of Form A is printed at the end of this 
chapter. 

21VAC5-110-50. Expiration; application to renew the 
registration. 

A. A franchise registration expires at midnight on the annual 
date of the registration's effectiveness. An application to 
renew the franchise registration should be filed 30 days prior 
to the expiration date in order to prevent a lapse of 
registration under the Virginia statute.  

B. An application for renewal of a franchise registration is 
made by submitting the following completed forms and other 
material:  

1. Uniform Franchise Registration Application page, Form 
A;  

2. Updated Franchise Disclosure Document;  

3. One complete copy of the amended Franchise 
Disclosure Document pages marked in black black-lined to 
show all additions, deletions, and other changes, using no 
margin balloons or color highlights; and  

4. Application fee (payable to the "Treasurer of Virginia"). 

C. The certifications made by or on behalf of the franchisor 
in Form A shall extend and apply to all documents and 
materials filed in connection with the renewal application, 
including any documents or materials submitted to the 
commission subsequent to the initial filing that may be 
required to complete the renewal application. 

D. In addition to paper copies of the materials required by 
subsection B of this section, the franchisor may file one copy 
of the complete franchise renewal application, including a 
marked and unmarked copy of the Franchise Disclosure 
Document, on a CD-ROM in PDF format, subject to the 
following conditions: 

1. The transmittal letter submitting the application must 
contain a representation that all of the information 
contained in the electronic file is identical to the paper 
documents; 
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2. The electronic version of the Franchise Disclosure 
Document must be text searchable; and 

3. If the commission's review of the application results in 
any revision to the documents, the franchisor must submit 
a revised CD-ROM containing a marked and unmarked 
final copy of the Franchise Disclosure Document, and final 
copies of all other application documents. The revised CD-
ROM must be accompanied by a transmittal letter as 
described in subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

E. An example of Form A is printed at the end of this 
chapter. 

21VAC5-110-55. The Franchise Disclosure Document. 

A. Format. The Franchise Disclosure Document must be 
prepared in accordance with §§ 436.3-436.5 of the Federal 
Trade Commission Franchise Rule (16 CFR 436.3-436.5), 
subject to the modifications set forth in subsections B through 
E and C of this section. 

B. Financial statements. Notwithstanding § 436.5(u)(2) of 
the Federal Trade Commission Franchise Rule (16 CFR 
436.5), a start-up franchisor in its first partial or full fiscal 
year selling franchises shall provide an opening balance sheet 
that has been audited by an independent certified public 
accountant using generally accepted United States auditing 
standards. 

C. State cover page. The Franchise Disclosure Document 
shall include the following state cover page prepared in 
accordance with this subsection, which must immediately 
follow the Federal Trade Commission required cover page: 

1. State the following legend:  

STATE COVER PAGE 

Your state may have a franchise law that requires a 
franchisor to register or file with a state franchise 
administrator before offering or selling in your state. 
REGISTRATION OF A FRANCHISE BY A STATE 
DOES NOT MEAN THAT THE STATE 
RECOMMENDS THE FRANCHISE OR HAS VERIFIED 
THE INFORMATION IN THIS DISCLOSURE 
DOCUMENT. 

Call the state franchise administrator listed in Exhibit __ 
for information about the franchisor or about franchising in 
your state. 

2. State the following: 

MANY FRANCHISE AGREEMENTS DO NOT ALLOW 
YOU TO RENEW UNCONDITIONALLY AFTER THE 
INITIAL TERM EXPIRES. YOU MAY HAVE TO SIGN 
A NEW AGREEMENT WITH DIFFERENT TERMS 
AND CONDITIONS IN ORDER TO CONTINUE TO 
OPERATE YOUR BUSINESS. BEFORE YOU BUY, 
CONSIDER WHAT RIGHTS YOU HAVE TO RENEW 

YOUR FRANCHISE, IF ANY, AND WHAT TERMS 
YOU MIGHT HAVE TO ACCEPT IN ORDER TO 
RENEW. 

3. If any of the following apply, state the following, using 
capital letters as shown: 

Please consider the following RISK FACTORS before you 
buy this franchise: 

THE FRANCHISE AGREEMENT REQUIRES YOU TO 
RESOLVE DISPUTES WITH US BY 
[LITIGATION/ARBITRATION/MEDIATION] ONLY IN 
[STATE]. OUT-OF-STATE 
[LITIGATION/ARBITRATION/MEDIATION] MAY 
FORCE YOU TO ACCEPT A LESS FAVORABLE 
SETTLEMENT FOR DISPUTES. IT MAY ALSO COST 
YOU MORE TO [LITIGATE/ARBITRATE/MEDIATE] 
WITH US IN [STATE] THAN IN YOUR OWN STATE. 

THE FRANCHISE AGREEMENT STATES THAT 
[STATE] LAW GOVERNS THE AGREEMENT, AND 
THIS LAW MAY NOT PROVIDE THE SAME 
PROTECTIONS AND BENEFITS AS LOCAL LAW. 
YOU MAY WANT TO COMPARE THESE LAWS. 

4. In addition to the above, disclose other risk factors 
required by the state administrator. 

5. If one or more risk factors applies, also state: 

THERE MAY BE OTHER RISKS CONCERNING THIS 
FRANCHISE. 

6. If you use the services of a franchise broker or referral 
source, state the following: 

We use the services of one or more FRANCHISE 
BROKERS or referral sources to assist us in selling our 
franchise. A franchise broker or referral source represents 
us, not you. We pay this person a fee for selling our 
franchise or referring you to us. You should be sure to do 
your own investigation of the franchise. 

7. State the following: 

Effective Date: 

a. Leave the effective date blank until notified of 
effectiveness by the state administrator. 

b. If an applicant is using a multistate disclosure 
document, the applicant may list multiple state effective 
dates together on a separate page that is to be inserted 
immediately following the state cover page. 

D. To conform language to the Virginia Retail Franchising 
Act, 21VAC5-110-95 A 5 b adds certain terms to the 
Franchise Disclosure Document cover page statement 
mandated by § 436.3(e)(2) of the Federal Trade Commission 
Franchise Rule. The franchisor may comply with this 
requirement of 21VAC5-110-95 by including the required 
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statement in the text of the Franchise Disclosure Document 
cover page or in an additional cover page attached as part of a 
Virginia addendum to the Franchise Disclosure Document. 

E. To conform language to the Virginia Retail Franchising 
Act, 21VAC5-110-95 B 23 a adds certain terms to the 
Franchise Disclosure Document receipt page statement 
mandated by § 436.5(w)(1) of the Federal Trade Commission 
Franchise Rule. The franchisor may comply with this 
requirement of 21VAC5-110-95 by including the required 
statement in the text of the Franchise Disclosure Document or 
in an additional receipt page attached as part of a Virginia 
addendum to the Franchise Disclosure Document.  

21VAC5-110-65. Escrow and deferral. 

A. Escrow requirement. The commission may require a 
franchisor to escrow franchise fees and other payments made 
by a franchisee to the franchisor until the franchisor's pre-
opening obligations under the franchise agreement have been 
satisfied. The commission may require escrow at any time 
after the submission of a registration or renewal application 
and upon a finding that the grounds enumerated in clause (i) 
of subdivision A 2 of § 13.1-562 of the Act as provided in 
Chapter 668 of the 2007 Acts of Assembly exist. 

B. Depository. Funds subject to an escrow condition shall be 
placed in a separate trust account with a national bank or a 
state chartered bank or trust company transacting business in 
the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

C. Compliance with escrow requirement. The franchisor 
shall file with the commission the following to comply with 
the commission's escrow requirement: 

1. An original, fully executed copy of the Escrow 
Agreement, Form K; 

2. A written consent from the depository agreeing to 
operate the escrow account under this regulation;  

3. The name and address of the depository and the account 
number of the escrow account;  

4. The name, address, telephone number and email address 
of an individual or individuals at the depository who may 
be contacted by the commission regarding the escrow 
account; and  

5. An amended franchise application reflecting, in Item 5 
of the Franchise Disclosure Document or in a Virginia 
Addendum to the Franchise Disclosure Document, that the 
commission has imposed the escrow requirement and the 
material terms of that escrow condition, including the 
name of the depository. 

D. Operation of escrow account. After the commission 
imposes an escrow requirement upon the franchisor, the 
franchisor shall:  

1. Make franchisee checks for franchise fees or other 
payments for the franchisor payable to the depository; and 

2. Deposit with the depository, within two business days of 
the receipt, the funds described in subdivision 1 of this 
subsection. 

Deposits made to the depository shall remain escrowed until 
the commission authorizes the release of the funds. 

E. Release of escrowed funds. 

1. A franchisor may apply to the commission for the 
release of escrowed funds together with any interest 
earned.  

2. A franchisor's application to the commission to 
authorize the release of escrowed funds to the franchisor 
shall be in writing, verified by an authorized officer of the 
franchisor and shall contain:  

a. The franchisor's statement that all proceeds from the 
grant sale of franchises have been placed with the 
depository in accordance with the terms and conditions 
of the escrow requirement;  

b. The depository's statement, signed by an appropriate 
officer, setting forth the aggregate amount of escrowed 
funds deposited with the depository and the franchisor's 
account number with the depository;  

c. A list of the names and addresses of each franchisee 
and the amount held in the escrow account for the 
account of each franchisee;  

d. The amount of funds sought to be released; 

e. A written certification from the franchisee stating the 
amount of funds to be released that acknowledges that 
the franchisor has completely performed its pre-opening 
obligations under the franchise agreement, including 
providing real estate, improvements, equipment, 
inventory, training, or other items as required by the 
franchise agreement; and  

f. Other information the commission may reasonably 
require.  

3. If the commission finds that the franchisor has fulfilled 
its obligations under the franchise agreement for a 
specified franchisee, the commission shall authorize the 
depository to release to the franchisor the amount held in 
escrow for the account of the applicable franchisee. 

F. Removal of escrow requirement. The commission may 
remove the escrow requirement at any time, if:  

1. The franchisor agrees to defer franchise fees and other 
initial payments; or  

2. Based upon new information, the commission finds that 
the escrow requirement is no longer necessary and 
appropriate for the protection of prospective franchisees. 
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G. Deferral of fees in place of escrow requirement. 

1. In lieu of an escrow requirement, the commission may, 
under appropriate circumstances, accept a franchisor's 
agreement to defer franchise fees and other initial 
payments owed by franchisees to the franchisor until the 
franchisor has completed its pre-opening obligations under 
the franchise agreement. 

2. The franchisor's agreement to defer franchise fees shall 
be reflected in Item 5 of the Franchise Disclosure 
Document or in a Virginia Addendum to the Franchise 
Disclosure Document. 

21VAC5-110-75. Exemptions. 

Any offer or grant sale of a franchise in a transaction that 
meets the requirements of this section is exempt from the 
registration requirement of § 13.1-560 of the Act. 

1. Sale or transfer by existing franchisee. The sale or 
transfer of a franchise by a franchisee who is not an 
affiliate of the franchisor for the franchisee's own account 
is exempt if: 

a. The franchisee's entire franchise is sold or transferred 
and the sale or transfer is not effected by or through the 
franchisor.  

b. The sale or transfer is not effected by or through a 
franchisor merely because a franchisor has a right to 
approve or disapprove the sale or transfer or requires 
payment of a reasonable transfer fee. 

2. Renewal or extension of existing franchise.  The offer or 
sale of a franchise involving a renewal or extension of an 
existing franchise where there is no interruption in the 
operation of the franchised business, and there is no 
material change in the franchise relationship, is exempt. 
For purposes of this subdivision, an interruption in the 
franchised business solely for the purpose of renovating or 
relocating that business is not a material change in the 
franchise relationship or an interruption in the operation of 
the franchised business.  

3. Offers and grants sales to existing franchisees. The offer 
or grant sale of an additional franchise to an existing 
franchisee of the franchisor for the franchisee's own 
account is exempt if the franchise being sold is 
substantially the same as the franchise that the franchisee 
has operated for at least two years at the time of the offer 
or grant sale of the franchise, provided the prior sale to the 
franchisee was pursuant to a franchise offering that was 
registered or exempt pursuant to the requirements of the 
Act. 

3. 4. Seasoned franchisor. 

a. The offer or grant sale of a franchise by a franchisor is 
exempt if: 

(1) The franchisor has a net equity, according to its most 
recently audited financial statements, of not less than 
$15,000,000 on a consolidated basis, or $1,000,000 on an 
unaudited basis and is at least 80% owned by a 
corporation or entity that has a net equity, on a 
consolidated basis, according to its most recently audited 
financial statements, of not less than $15,000,000, and 
the 80% owner guarantees the performance of the 
franchisor's obligations; and  

(2) The franchisor or any 80% owner of the franchisor or 
the franchisor's predecessor, or any combination thereof, 
has had at least 25 franchisees conducting the same 
franchise business to be offered or granted sold for the 
entire five-year period immediately preceding the offer 
or grant sale;  

b. The exemption set forth in subdivision 3 4 of this 
section may be claimed only if the franchisor: 

(1) Files a Form H Notice of Claim of Exemption and 
other material as set forth in subdivision 6 7 of this 
section no later than 10 business days before the offer or 
grant sale of any franchise; and 

(2) Submits financial statements demonstrating 
compliance with the conditions set forth in subdivision 3 
4 a (1) of this section. 

c. An initial exemption filing and any renewal filing shall 
expire after a period of one year. The franchisor shall file 
for a renewal by making an exemption filing if it intends 
to offer or grant sell franchises for any additional period 
annually, at least 10 business days before the expiration 
of the previously filed Notice of Claim of Exemption. 

4. 5. Institutional franchisee. 

a. The offer or grant sale of a franchise to a bank, savings 
bank, savings and loan association, trust company, 
insurance company, investment company, or other 
financial institution, or to a broker-dealer is exempt when 
the:  

(1) Purchaser is acting for itself or in a fiduciary 
capacity; and  

(2) Franchise is not being purchased for the purpose of 
resale to an individual not exempt under this regulation.  

b. The exemption set forth in subdivision 4 5 a of this 
section may be claimed only if the franchisor files an 
initial filing Form H, Notice of Claim of Exemption, and 
other material as set forth in subdivision 6 7 a of this 
section, at least 10 business days before each offer or 
grant sale of each franchise.  

5. 6. Disclosure requirements.  

a. If a franchisor relies upon any of the exemptions set 
forth in subdivision 2, 3 or 4 3, 4 or 5 of this section, the 
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franchisor shall provide a disclosure document 
complying with 21VAC5-110-55 and 21VAC5-110-95 
together with all proposed agreements relating to the 
grant sale of the franchise to a prospective franchisee 14 
calendar days before the signing of the agreement or the 
payment of any consideration.  

b. Franchisors filing a claim of exemption under 
subdivisions 3 or 4 or 5 of this section shall include a 
self-addressed stamped envelope by which the 
commission may return to the franchisor a confirmation 
of receipt of the filing and the exemption file number 
assigned. Correspondence shall refer to the assigned file 
number in all subsequent related filings and 
correspondence with the commission. 

6. 7. Filing requirements for exemptions set forth in 
subdivisions 3 and 4 and 5 of this section. 

a. Initial exemption filing. 

(1) The initial exemption period shall expire after a 
period of one year. 

(2) Franchisor files an application for exemption of a 
franchise by filing with the commission no later than 10 
business days before the offer or grant sale of any 
franchise, the following completed forms and other 
material:  

(a) Notice of Claim of Exemption, Form H;  

(b) Uniform Consent to Service of Process, Form C; 

(c) If the applicant is a corporation or partnership, an 
authorizing resolution is required if the application is 
verified by a person other than applicant's officer or 
general partner;  

(d) Franchise Disclosure Document; 

(e) Files an undertaking by which it agrees to supply any 
additional information the commission may reasonably 
request; and 

(f) Application fee of $500 (payable to the Treasurer of 
Virginia). 

b. Amendment to exemption filing. 

(1) Upon the occurrence of a material change, the 
franchisor shall amend the effective exemption filed at 
the commission.  

(2) An application to amend a franchise exemption is 
made by submitting the following completed forms and 
other material: 

(a) Notice of Claim of Exemption, Form H;  

(b) One clean copy of the amended Franchise Disclosure 
Document; and  

(c) Application fee of $100 (payable to the Treasurer of 
Virginia). 

c. Renewal exemption filing. 

(1) A franchise exemption expires at midnight on the 
annual exemption effective date. An application to renew 
the franchise exemption shall be filed 10 days prior to the 
expiration date in order to prevent a lapse of exemption 
under the Act.  

(2) An application for renewal of a franchise exemption 
is made by submitting the following completed forms 
and other material:  

(a) Notice of Claim of Exemption, Form H;  

(b) One clean copy of the Franchise Disclosure 
Document; and  

(c) Application fee of $250 (payable to the Treasurer of 
Virginia). 

21VAC5-110-80. General requirements for preparation of 
disclosure documents; master franchises; electronic 
disclosure. 

A. Disclosure instructions. 

1. Disclose all required information clearly, legibly, and 
concisely in a single document using plain English. 

2. The disclosure for each FDD item shall be separately 
titled and in the required order. Do not repeat the question 
in the FDD. Respond to each question fully. If the 
disclosure is not applicable, respond in the negative, but if 
an answer is required "if applicable," respond only if the 
requested information applies. Do not qualify a response 
with a reference to another document unless permitted by 
the instructions to that Item.  

3. For each Item in the FDD, type the requirement's Arabic 
number and item title. Exhibits should be identified by a 
letter of the alphabet. 

4. The disclosure must be in a form that permits each 
prospective franchisee to store, download, print, or 
otherwise maintain the disclosure document for future 
reference. 

5. Separate documents (for example, a confidential 
operations manual) must not make representations or 
impose terms that contradict or are materially different 
from the disclosure in the FDD. 

6. Use 8-1/2 by 11 inch paper for the FDD and other forms. 
All documents and disclosures must be readable, using not 
less than 11-point type. 

7. Franchisors may prepare multistate disclosure 
documents by including nonpreempted, state-specific 
information in the text of the FDD or in a Virginia 
Addendum attached to the FDD. The Virginia Addendum 
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may be included in an exhibit to the FDD. Any 
amendments to the franchise agreement may be included in 
the Virginia Addendum or in a separate exhibit 
immediately following the franchise agreement. 

8. The two copies of the Item 23 receipt pages should be 
the last two pages of the FDD and should be attached after 
all exhibits. 

9. Before furnishing a FDD, the franchisor must advise the 
prospective franchisee of the formats in which the FDD is 
made available, any prerequisites for obtaining the FDD in 
a particular format, and any conditions necessary for 
reviewing the FDD in a particular format. 

10. Grossly deficient applications may be rejected 
summarily by the commission as incomplete for filing. 

B. Master franchises. 

1. When the applicant is a master franchisor seeking to 
grant sell master franchises (subfranchises), references in 
these regulations to "franchisee" include the master 
franchisee (subfranchisor).  

2. The offer of master franchises (subfranchises) is an offer 
separate from the offer of franchises and usually requires a 
separate registration or exemption. A single application 
may register the grant sale of a single unit and multiunit 
franchises if the FDD is not confusing. 

3. In an offering by a master franchisee (subfranchisor), 
"franchisor" means both the master franchisor and master 
franchisee. 

4. Master franchisees (subfranchisors) must disclose the 
required information about the master franchisor, and to 
the extent applicable, the same information concerning the 
master franchisee. 

C. Electronic disclosure. 

1. A franchisor may deliver a franchise disclosure 
document over the Internet or by other electronic means, or 
in machine-readable media, provided: 

a. The disclosure document is delivered as a single, 
integrated document or file; 

b. The disclosure document has no extraneous content 
beyond what is required or permitted by law or 
regulation, but which may include customary devices for 
manipulating electronic documents in machine-readable 
form and tools or access to tools that may be necessary or 
convenient to enable the recipient to receive and view the 
disclosure document; 

c. The disclosure document has no links to or from 
external documents or content; 

d. The disclosure document is delivered in a form that 
intrinsically enables the recipient to store, retrieve, and 
print the disclosure document; 

e. The disclosure document conforms as to its content 
and format to the requirements of applicable law or 
regulation; 

f. The franchisor can prove that it delivered the 
disclosure document electronically in compliance with 
this subsection, and that it did so at or before the time 
required by applicable law or regulation; and 

g. The franchisor keeps records of its electronic delivery 
of disclosure documents and makes those records 
available on demand by the commission. 

2. For the sole purpose of enhancing the prospective 
franchisee's ability to maneuver through an electronic 
version of a disclosure document, the franchisor may 
include scroll bars, internal links, and search features. All 
other features such as audio, video, animation, pop-up 
screens or links to external information are prohibited. 

3. "Delivery" requires that the disclosure document be 
conveyed to and received by the prospective franchisee, or 
that the storage media in which the disclosure is stored be 
physically delivered to the prospective franchisee in 
accordance with subdivision 1 a of this subsection. 

4. This subsection does not change or waive any other 
requirement of law or regulation concerning registration or 
presale disclosure of franchise offerings. 

D. Other requirements. 

1. If the franchise agreement requires a franchisee to sign a 
release or waiver as a condition of consenting to some 
future action, such as a transfer or assignment of the 
franchise, include a sample copy of the document the 
franchisee will be asked to sign. This requirement does not 
apply to negotiated releases or waivers that a franchisee 
may sign to resolve a dispute with the franchisor. 

2. The commission may modify or waive the provisions of 
this chapter or may require additional documentation or 
information. 

21VAC5-110-95. Requirements for Franchise Disclosure 
Document preparation. 

A. Applications for registration of a franchise, or 
applications for renewal or amendment of an existing 
franchise registration, must comply with the following 
requirements for preparing the contents of a Franchise 
Disclosure Document. Except for financial statement 
requirements for start-up franchise systems, as further 
discussed in Item 21, these requirements are substantively 
equivalent to the requirements adopted under the Federal 
Trade Commission Franchise Rule, 16 CFR 436.3 through 16 
CFR 436.5, effective July 1, 2007. 
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Contents of the Franchise Disclosure Document 

The Cover Page 

Begin the disclosure document with a cover page, in the order 
and form as follows: 

1. The title "FRANCHISE DISCLOSURE 
DOCUMENT" in capital letters and bold type. 

2. The franchisor's name, type of business organization, 
principal business address, telephone number, and, if 
applicable, email address and primary home page address. 

3. A sample of the primary business trademark that the 
franchisee will use in its business. 

4. A brief description of the franchised business. 

5. The following statements: 

a. The total investment necessary to begin operation of a 
[franchise system name] franchise is [the total amount of 
Item 7]. This includes [the total amount in Item 5] that 
must be paid to the franchisor or affiliate. 

b. This disclosure document summarizes certain 
provisions of your franchise agreement and other 
information in plain English. Read this disclosure 
document and all accompanying agreements carefully. 
You must receive this disclosure document at least 14 
calendar days before you sign a binding agreement with, 
or make any payment to, the franchisor or an affiliate in 
connection with the proposed franchise sale or grant. 
[The following sentence in bold type] Note, however, 
that no governmental agency has verified the information 
contained in this document. 

c. The terms of your contract will govern your franchise 
relationship. Don't rely on the disclosure document alone 
to understand your contract. Read all of your contract 
carefully. Show your contract and this disclosure 
document to an advisor, such as a lawyer or an 
accountant. 

d. Buying a franchise is a complex investment. The 
information in this disclosure document can help you 
make up your mind. More information on franchising, 
such as "A Consumer's Guide to Buying a Franchise," 
which can help you understand how to use this disclosure 
document, is available from the Federal Trade 
Commission. You can contact the FTC at 1-877-FTC-
HELP or by writing to the FTC at 600 Pennsylvania 
Avenue, NW, Washington, D.C. 20580. You can also 
visit the FTC's home page at www.ftc.gov for additional 
information. Call your state agency or visit your public 
library for other sources of information on franchising. 

e. There may also be laws on franchising in your state. 
Ask your state agencies about them. 

f. [The issuance date]. 

6. A franchisor may include the following statement 
between the statements set out at subdivisions b and c of 
the cover page: "You may wish to receive your disclosure 
document in another format that is more convenient for 
you. To discuss the availability of disclosures in different 
formats, contact [name or office] at [address] and 
[telephone number]." 

7. Franchisors may include additional disclosures on the 
cover page, on a separate cover page, or addendum to 
comply with state presale disclosure laws. 

The Table of Contents 

Include the following table of contents. State the page where 
each disclosure item begins. List all exhibits by letter, as 
shown in the following example. 

Table of Contents 

1. The Franchisor and any Parents, Predecessors, and 
Affiliates 

2. Business Experience 

3. Litigation 

4. Bankruptcy 

5. Initial Fees 

6. Other Fees 

7. Estimated Initial Investment 

8. Restrictions on Sources of Products and Services 

9. Franchisee's Obligations 

10. Financing 

11. Franchisor's Assistance, Advertising, Computer 
Systems, and Training 

12. Territory 

13. Trademarks 

14. Patents, Copyrights, and Proprietary Information 

15. Obligation to Participate in the Actual Operation of the 
Franchise Business 

16. Restrictions on What the Franchisee May Sell 

17. Renewal, Termination, Transfer, and Dispute 
Resolution 

18. Public Figures 

19. Financial Performance Representations 

20. Outlets and Franchisee Information 

21. Financial Statements 

22. Contracts 
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23. Receipts 

Exhibits 

A. Franchise Agreement 

B. Additional exhibits as applicable  

B. The additional requirements for preparation of the 
Franchise Disclosure Document are contained below:  

1. Item 1: The Franchisor, and any Parents, Predecessors, 
and Affiliates. 

Disclose: 

a. The name and principal business address of the 
franchisor; any parents; and any affiliates that offer 
franchises in any line of business or provide products or 
services to the franchisees of the franchisor. 

b. The name and principal business address of any 
predecessors during the 10-year period immediately 
before the close of the franchisor's most recent fiscal 
year. 

c. The name that the franchisor uses and any names it 
intends to use to conduct business. 

d. The identity and principal business address of the 
franchisor's agent for service of process. 

e. The type of business organization used by the 
franchisor (for example, corporation, partnership) and the 
state in which it was organized. 

f. The following information about the franchisor's 
business and the franchises offered: 

(1) Whether the franchisor operates businesses of the 
type being franchised. 

(2) The franchisor's other business activities. 

(3) The business the franchisee will conduct. 

(4) The general market for the product or service the 
franchisee will offer. In describing the general market, 
consider factors such as whether the market is developed 
or developing, whether the goods will be sold primarily 
to a certain group, and whether sales are seasonal. 

(5) In general terms, any laws or regulations specific to 
the industry in which the franchise business operates. 

(6) A general description of the competition. 

g. The prior business experience of the franchisor; any 
predecessors listed in Item 1 b; and any affiliates that 
offer franchises in any line of business or provide 
products or services to the franchisees of the franchisor, 
including: 

(1) The length of time each has conducted the type of 
business the franchisee will operate. 

(2) The length of time each has offered franchises 
providing the type of business the franchisee will 
operate.  

(3) Whether each has offered franchises in other lines of 
business. If so, include: 

(a) A description of each other line of business. 

(b) The number of franchises sold in each other line of 
business. 

(c) The length of time each has offered franchises in each 
other line of business. 

2. Item 2: Business Experience. 

Disclose by name and position the franchisor's directors, 
trustees, general partners, principal officers, and any other 
individuals who will have management responsibility 
relating to the sale, grant or operation of franchises offered 
by this document. For each person listed in this section, 
state his principal positions and employers during the past 
five years, including each position's starting date, ending 
date, and location. 

3. Item 3: Litigation. 

a. Disclose whether the franchisor; a predecessor; a 
parent or affiliate who induces franchise sales or grants 
by promising to back the franchisor financially or 
otherwise guarantees the franchisor's performance; an 
affiliate who offers franchises under the franchisor's 
principal trademark; and any person identified in Item 2: 

(1) Has pending against that person: 

(a) An administrative, criminal, or material civil action 
alleging a violation of a franchise, antitrust, or securities 
law, or alleging fraud, unfair or deceptive practices, or 
comparable allegations. 

(b) Civil actions, other than ordinary routine litigation 
incidental to the business, which are material in the 
context of the number of franchisees and the size, nature, 
or financial condition of the franchise system or its 
business operations. 

(2) Was a party to any material civil action involving the 
franchise relationship in the last fiscal year. For purposes 
of this item, "franchise relationship" means contractual 
obligations between the franchisor and franchisee 
directly relating to the operation of the franchised 
business (such as royalty payment and training 
obligations). It does not include actions involving 
suppliers or other third parties, or indemnification for tort 
liability. 

(3) Has in the 10-year period immediately before the 
disclosure document's issuance date: 
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(a) Been convicted of or pleaded nolo contendere to a 
felony charge.  

(b) Been held liable in a civil action involving an alleged 
violation of a franchise, antitrust, or securities law, or 
involving allegations of fraud, unfair or deceptive 
practices, or comparable allegations. "Held liable" means 
that, as a result of claims or counterclaims, the person 
must pay money or other consideration, must reduce an 
indebtedness by the amount of an award, cannot enforce 
its rights, or must take action adverse to its interests. 

b. Disclose whether the franchisor; a predecessor; a 
parent or affiliate who guarantees the franchisor's 
performance; an affiliate who has offered, or sold or 
granted franchises in any line of business within the last 
10 years; or any other person identified in Item 2 is 
subject to a currently effective injunctive or restrictive 
order or decree resulting from a pending or concluded 
action brought by a public agency and relating to the 
franchise or to a federal, state, or Canadian franchise, 
securities, antitrust, trade regulation, or trade practice 
law. 

c. For each action identified in subdivision a and b of 
Item 3, state the title, case number or citation, the initial 
filing date, the names of the parties, the forum, and the 
relationship of the opposing party to the franchisor (for 
example, competitor, supplier, lessor, franchisee, former 
franchisee, or class of franchisees). Except as provided in 
subdivision d of Item 3, summarize the legal and factual 
nature of each claim in the action, the relief sought or 
obtained, and any conclusions of law or fact.1 In addition, 
state: 

(1) For pending actions, the status of the action. 

(2) For prior actions, the date when the judgment was 
entered and any damages or settlement terms.2 

(3) For injunctive or restrictive orders, the nature, terms, 
and conditions of the order or decree. 

(4) For convictions or pleas, the crime or violation, the 
date of conviction, and the sentence or penalty imposed. 

d. For any other franchisor-initiated suit identified in 
subdivision a (2) of Item 3, the franchisor may comply 
with the requirements of subdivision c (1) through (4) of 
Item 3 by listing individual suits under one common 
heading that will serve as the case summary (for 
example, "royalty collection suits"). 

4. Item 4: Bankruptcy. 

a. Disclose whether the franchisor; any parent; 
predecessor; affiliate; officer, or general partner of the 
franchisor, or any other individual who will have 
management responsibility relating to the sale, grant or 
operation of franchises offered by this document, has, 

during the 10-year period immediately before the date of 
this disclosure document: 

(1) Filed as debtor (or had filed against it) a petition 
under the United States Bankruptcy Code (Bankruptcy 
Code). 

(2) Obtained a discharge of its debts under the 
Bankruptcy Code. 

(3) Been a principal officer of a company or a general 
partner in a partnership that either filed as a debtor (or 
had filed against it) a petition under the Bankruptcy 
Code, or that obtained a discharge of its debts under the 
Bankruptcy Code while, or within one year after, the 
officer or general partner held the position in the 
company. 

b. For each bankruptcy, state: 

(1) The current name, address, and principal place of 
business of the debtor. 

(2) Whether the debtor is the franchisor. If not, state the 
relationship of the debtor to the franchisor (for example, 
affiliate, officer). 

(3) The date of the original filing and the material facts, 
including the bankruptcy court, and the case name and 
number. If applicable, state the debtor's discharge date, 
including discharges under Chapter 7 and confirmation 
of any plans of reorganization under Chapters 11 and 13 
of the Bankruptcy Code. 

c. Disclose cases, actions, and other proceedings under 
the laws of foreign nations relating to bankruptcy. 

5. Item 5: Initial Fees. 

Disclose the initial fees and any conditions under which 
these fees are refundable. If the initial fees are not uniform, 
disclose the range or formula used to calculate the initial 
fees paid in the fiscal year before the issuance date and the 
factors that determined the amount. For this item, "initial 
fees" means all fees and payments, or commitments to pay, 
for services or goods received from the franchisor or any 
affiliate before the franchisee's business opens, whether 
payable in lump sum or installments. Disclose installment 
payment terms in this section or in Item 10. 

6. Item 6: Other Fees. 

Disclose, in the following tabular form, all other fees that 
the franchisee must pay to the franchisor or its affiliates, or 
that the franchisor or its affiliates impose or collect in 
whole or in part for a third party. State the title "OTHER 
FEES" in capital letters using bold type. Include any 
formula used to compute the fees.3 
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Item 6 Table 

OTHER FEES 

Column 1 Column 2 Column 3 Column 4 

Type of 
fee Amount Due Date Remarks 

        

a. In column 1, list the type of fee (for example, royalties, 
and fees for lease negotiations, construction, remodeling, 
additional training or assistance, advertising, advertising 
cooperatives, purchasing cooperatives, audits, 
accounting, inventory, transfers, and renewals). 

b. In column 2, state the amount of the fee. 

c. In column 3, state the due date for each fee. 

d. In column 4, include remarks, definitions, or caveats 
that elaborate on the information in the table. If remarks 
are long, franchisors may use footnotes instead of the 
remarks column. If applicable, include the following 
information in the remarks column or in a footnote: 

(1) Whether the fees are payable only to the franchisor. 

(2) Whether the fees are imposed and collected by the 
franchisor. 

(3) Whether the fees are nonrefundable or describe the 
circumstances when the fees are refundable. 

(4) Whether the fees are uniformly imposed.  

(5) The voting power of franchisor-owned outlets on any 
fees imposed by cooperatives. If franchisor-owned 
outlets have controlling voting power, disclose the 
maximum and minimum fees that may be imposed. 

7. Item 7: Estimated Initial Investment. 

Disclose, in the following tabular form, the franchisee's 
estimated initial investment. State the title "YOUR 
ESTIMATED INITIAL INVESTMENT" in capital letters 
using bold type. Franchisors may include additional 
expenditure tables to show expenditure variations caused 
by differences such as in site location and premises size. 

Item 7 Table 

YOUR ESTIMATED INITIAL INVESTMENT 

Column 1 Column 
2 

Column 
3 

Column 
4 

Column 
5 

Type of 
expenditure Amount 

Method 
of 

payment 
When 
due 

To 
whom 

payment 
is to be 
made 

Total         

a. In column 1: 

(1) List each type of expense, beginning with pre-
opening expenses. Include the following expenses, if 
applicable. Use footnotes to include remarks, definitions, 
or caveats that elaborate on the information in the table. 

(a) The initial franchise fee. 

(b) Training expenses. 

(c) Real property, whether purchased or leased. 

(d) Equipment, fixtures, other fixed assets, construction, 
remodeling, leasehold improvements, and decorating 
costs, whether purchased or leased. 

(e) Inventory to begin operating. 

(f) Security deposits, utility deposits, business licenses, 
and other prepaid expenses. 

(2) List separately and by name any other specific 
required payments (for example, additional training, 
travel, or advertising expenses) that the franchisee must 
make to begin operations. 

(3) Include a category titled "Additional funds – [initial 
period]" for any other required expenses the franchisee 
will incur before operations begin and during the initial 
period of operations. State the initial period. A 
reasonable initial period is at least three months or a 
reasonable period for the industry. Describe in general 
terms the factors, basis, and experience that the 
franchisor considered or relied upon in formulating the 
amount required for additional funds. 

b. In column 2, state the amount of the payment. If the 
amount is unknown, use a low-high range based on the 
franchisor's current experience. If real property costs 
cannot be estimated in a low-high range, describe the 
approximate size of the property and building and the 
probable location of the building (for example, strip 
shopping center, mall, downtown, rural, or highway). 

c. In column 3, state the method of payment. 

d. In column 4, state the due date. 

e. In column 5, state to whom payment will be made. 

f. Total the initial investment, incorporating ranges of 
fees, if used. 

g. In a footnote, state: 

(1) Whether each payment is nonrefundable, or describe 
the circumstances when each payment is refundable. 

(2) If the franchisor or an affiliate finances part of the 
initial investment, the amount that it will finance, the 
required down payment, the annual interest rate, rate 
factors, and the estimated loan repayments. Franchisors 
may refer to Item 10 for additional details. 
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8. Item 8: Restrictions on Sources of Products and 
Services. 

Disclose the franchisee's obligations to purchase or lease 
goods, services, supplies, fixtures, equipment, inventory, 
computer hardware and software, real estate, or 
comparable items related to establishing or operating the 
franchised business either from the franchisor, its designee, 
or suppliers approved by the franchisor, or under the 
franchisor's specifications. Include obligations to purchase 
imposed by the franchisor's written agreement or by the 
franchisor's practice.4 For each applicable obligation, state: 

a. The good or service required to be purchased or leased. 

b. Whether the franchisor or its affiliates are approved 
suppliers or the only approved suppliers of that good or 
service. 

c. Any supplier in which an officer of the franchisor 
owns an interest. 

d. How the franchisor grants and revokes approval of 
alternative suppliers, including: 

(1) Whether the franchisor's criteria for approving 
suppliers are available to franchisees.  

(2) Whether the franchisor permits franchisees to 
contract with alternative suppliers who meet the 
franchisor's criteria. 

(3) Any fees and procedures to secure approval to 
purchase from alternative suppliers. 

(4) The time period in which the franchisee will be 
notified of approval or disapproval.  

(5) How approvals are revoked. 

e. Whether the franchisor issues specifications and 
standards to franchisees, subfranchisees, or approved 
suppliers. If so, describe how the franchisor issues and 
modifies specifications. 

f. Whether the franchisor or its affiliates will or may 
derive revenue or other material consideration from 
required purchases or leases by franchisees. If so, 
describe the precise basis by which the franchisor or its 
affiliates will or may derive that consideration by stating: 

(1) The franchisor's total revenue.5 

(2) The franchisor's revenues from all required purchases 
and leases of products and services. 

(3) The percentage of the franchisor's total revenues that 
are from required purchases or leases. 

(4) If the franchisor's affiliates also sell or lease products 
or services to franchisees, the affiliates' revenues from 
those sales or leases. 

g. The estimated proportion of these required purchases 
and leases by the franchisee to all purchases and leases 
by the franchisee of goods and services in establishing 
and operating the franchised businesses. 

h. If a designated supplier will make payments to the 
franchisor from franchisee purchases, disclose the basis 
for the payment (for example, specify a percentage or a 
flat amount). For purposes of this disclosure, a 
"payment" includes the sale of similar goods or services 
to the franchisor at a lower price than to franchisees. 

i. The existence of purchasing or distribution 
cooperatives. 

j. Whether the franchisor negotiates purchase 
arrangements with suppliers, including price terms, for 
the benefit of franchisees. 

k. Whether the franchisor provides material benefits (for 
example, renewal or granting additional franchises) to a 
franchisee based on a franchisee's purchase of particular 
products or services or use of particular suppliers. 

9. Item 9: Franchisee's Obligations. 

Disclose, in the following tabular form, a list of the 
franchisee's principal obligations. State the title 
"FRANCHISEE'S OBLIGATIONS" in capital letters using 
bold type. Cross-reference each listed obligation with any 
applicable section of the franchise or other agreement and 
with the relevant disclosure document provision. If a 
particular obligation is not applicable, state "Not 
Applicable." Include additional obligations, as warranted. 

Item 9 Table 

FRANCHISEE'S OBLIGATIONS 

[In bold] This table lists your principal obligations under the 
franchise and other agreements. It will help you find more 
detailed information about your obligations in these 
agreements and in other items of this disclosure document. 

Obligation 
Section in 
agreement 

Disclosure 
document 

item 

a. Site selection and 
acquisition/lease 

    

b. Pre-opening 
purchase/leases 

    

c. Site development and other 
pre-opening requirements 

    

d. Initial and ongoing training     

e. Opening     

f. Fees     

g. Compliance with standards 
and policies/operating manual 
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h. Trademarks and proprietary 
information 

    

i. Restrictions on 
products/services offered 

    

j. Warranty and customer 
service requirements 

    

k. Territorial development 
and sales quotas 

    

l. Ongoing product/service 
purchases 

    

m. Maintenance, appearance, 
and remodeling requirements 

    

n. Insurance     

o. Advertising     

p. Indemnification     

q. Owner's 
participation/management/ 
staffing 

    

r. Records and reports     

s. Inspections and audits     

t. Transfer     

u. Renewal     

v. Posttermination obligations     

w. Noncompetition covenants     

x. Dispute resolution     

y. Other (describe)     

10. Item 10: Financing. 

a. Disclose the terms of each financing arrangement, 
including leases and installment contracts, that the 
franchisor, its agent, or affiliates offer directly or 
indirectly to the franchisee.6 The franchisor may 
summarize the terms of each financing arrangement in 
tabular form, using footnotes to provide additional 
information. For a sample Item 10 table, see Appendix A. 
For each financing arrangement, state: 

(1) What the financing covers (for example, the initial 
franchise fee, site acquisition, construction or 
remodeling, initial or replacement equipment or fixtures, 
opening or ongoing inventory or supplies, or other 
continuing expenses).7 

(2) The identity of each lender providing financing and 
their relationship to the franchisor (for example, 
affiliate). 

(3) The amount of financing offered or, if the amount 
depends on an actual cost that may vary, the percentage 
of the cost that will be financed. 

(4) The rate of interest, plus finance charges, expressed 
on an annual basis. If the rate of interest, plus finance 
charges, expressed on an annual basis, may differ 
depending on when the financing is issued, state what 
that rate was on a specified recent date. 

(5) The number of payments or the period of repayment. 

(6) The nature of any security interest required by the 
lender. 

(7) Whether a person other than the franchisee must 
personally guarantee the debt. 

(8) Whether the debt can be prepaid and the nature of any 
prepayment penalty. 

(9) The franchisee's potential liabilities upon default, 
including any: 

(a) Accelerated obligation to pay the entire amount due; 

(b) Obligations to pay court costs and attorney's fees 
incurred in collecting the debt; 

(c) Termination of the franchise; and  

(d) Liabilities from cross defaults such as those resulting 
directly from nonpayment, or indirectly from the loss of 
business property. 

(10) Other material financing terms. 

b. Disclose whether the loan agreement requires 
franchisees to waive defenses or other legal rights (for 
example, confession of judgment), or bars franchisees 
from asserting a defense against the lender, the lender's 
assignee or the franchisor. If so, describe the relevant 
provisions. 

c. Disclose whether the franchisor's practice or intent is 
to sell, assign, or discount to a third party all or part of 
the financing arrangement. If so, state: 

(1) The assignment terms, including whether the 
franchisor will remain primarily obligated to provide the 
financed goods or services; and 

(2) That the franchisee may lose all its defenses against 
the lender as a result of the sale or assignment. 

d. Disclose whether the franchisor or an affiliate receives 
any consideration for placing financing with the lender. 
If such payments exist: 

(1) Disclose the amount or the method of determining the 
payment; and 

(2) Identify the source of the payment and the 
relationship of the source to the franchisor or its 
affiliates. 

11. Item 11: Franchisor's Assistance, Advertising, 
Computer Systems, and Training. 
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Disclose the franchisor's principal assistance and related 
obligations of both the franchisor and franchisee as 
follows. For each obligation, cite the section number of the 
franchise agreement imposing the obligation. Begin by 
stating the following sentence in bold type: "Except as 
listed below, [the franchisor] is not required to provide you 
with any assistance." 

a. Disclose the franchisor's pre-opening obligations to the 
franchisee, including any assistance in: 

(1) Locating a site and negotiating the purchase or lease 
of the site. If such assistance is provided, state: 

(a) Whether the franchisor generally owns the premises 
and leases it to the franchisee. 

(b) Whether the franchisor selects the site or approves an 
area in which the franchisee selects a site. If so, state 
further whether and how the franchisor must approve a 
franchisee-selected site. 

(c) The factors that the franchisor considers in selecting 
or approving sites (for example, general location and 
neighborhood, traffic patterns, parking, size, physical 
characteristics of existing buildings, and lease terms). 

(d) The time limit for the franchisor to locate or approve 
or disapprove the site and the consequences if the 
franchisor and franchisee cannot agree on a site. 

(2) Conforming the premises to local ordinances and 
building codes and obtaining any required permits. 

(3) Constructing, remodeling, or decorating the premises. 

(4) Hiring and training employees. 

(5) Providing for necessary equipment, signs, fixtures, 
opening inventory, and supplies. If any such assistance is 
provided, state: 

(a) Whether the franchisor provides these items directly 
or only provides the names of approved suppliers. 

(b) Whether the franchisor provides written 
specifications for these items. 

(c) Whether the franchisor delivers or installs these 
items. 

b. Disclose the typical length of time between the earlier 
of the signing of the franchise agreement or the first 
payment of consideration for the franchise and the 
opening of the franchisee's business. Describe the factors 
that may affect the time period, such as ability to obtain a 
lease, financing or building permits, zoning and local 
ordinances, weather conditions, shortages, or delayed 
installation of equipment, fixtures, and signs. 

c. Disclose the franchisor's obligations to the franchisee 
during the operation of the franchise, including any 
assistance in: 

(1) Developing products or services the franchisee will 
offer to its customers. 

(2) Hiring and training employees. 

(3) Improving and developing the franchised business. 

(4) Establishing prices. 

(5) Establishing and using administrative, bookkeeping, 
accounting, and inventory control procedures. 

(6) Resolving operating problems encountered by the 
franchisee. 

d. Describe the advertising program for the franchise 
system, including the following: 

(1) The franchisor's obligation to conduct advertising, 
including: 

(a) The media the franchisor may use. 

(b) Whether media coverage is local, regional, or 
national. 

(c) The source of the advertising (for example, an in-
house advertising department or a national or regional 
advertising agency). 

(d) Whether the franchisor must spend any amount on 
advertising in the area or territory where the franchisee is 
located. 

(2) The circumstances when the franchisor will permit 
franchisees to use their own advertising material. 

(3) Whether there is an advertising council composed of 
franchisees that advises the franchisor on advertising 
policies. If so, disclose: 

(a) How members of the council are selected. 

(b) Whether the council serves in an advisory capacity 
only or has operational or decision-making power.  

(c) Whether the franchisor has the power to form, 
change, or dissolve the advertising council. 

(4) Whether the franchisee must participate in a local or 
regional advertising cooperative. If so, state: 

(a) How the area or membership of the cooperative is 
defined. 

(b) How much the franchisee must contribute to the fund 
and whether other franchisees must contribute a different 
amount or at a different rate. 

(c) Whether the franchisor-owned outlets must contribute 
to the fund and, if so, whether those contributions are on 
the same basis as those for franchisees. 

(d) Who is responsible for administering the cooperative 
(for example, franchisor, franchisees, or advertising 
agency). 
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(e) Whether cooperatives must operate from written 
governing documents and whether the documents are 
available for the franchisee to review. 

(f) Whether cooperatives must prepare annual or periodic 
financial statements and whether the statements are 
available for review by the franchisee. 

(g) Whether the franchisor has the power to require 
cooperatives to be formed, changed, dissolved, or 
merged. 

(5) Whether the franchisee must participate in any other 
advertising fund. If so, state: 

(a) Who contributes to the fund. 

(b) How much the franchisee must contribute to the fund 
and whether other franchisees must contribute a different 
amount or at a different rate. 

(c) Whether the franchisor-owned outlets must contribute 
to the fund and, if so, whether it is on the same basis as 
franchisees. 

(d) Who administers the fund. 

(e) Whether the fund is audited and when it is audited. 

(f) Whether financial statements of the fund are available 
for review by the franchisee.  

(g) How the funds were used in the most recently 
concluded fiscal year, including the percentages spent on 
production, media placement, administrative expenses, 
and a description of any other use.  

(6) If not all advertising funds are spent in the fiscal year 
in which they accrue, how the franchisor uses the 
remaining amount, including whether franchisees receive 
a periodic accounting of how advertising fees are spent. 

(7) The percentage of advertising funds, if any, that the 
franchisor uses principally to solicit new franchise sales 
or grants. 

e. Disclose whether the franchisor requires the franchisee 
to buy or use electronic cash registers or computer 
systems. If so, describe the systems generally in 
nontechnical language, including the types of data to be 
generated or stored in these systems, and state the 
following: 

(1) The cost of purchasing or leasing the systems. 

(2) Any obligation of the franchisor, any affiliate, or third 
party to provide ongoing maintenance, repairs, upgrades, 
or updates. 

(3) Any obligations of the franchisee to upgrade or 
update any system during the term of the franchise, and, 
if so, any contractual limitations on the frequency and 
cost of the obligation. 

(4) The annual cost of any optional or required 
maintenance, updating, upgrading, or support contracts. 

(5) Whether the franchisor will have independent access 
to the information that will be generated or stored in any 
electronic cash register or computer system. If so, 
describe the information that the franchisor may access 
and whether there are any contractual limitations on the 
franchisor's right to access the information. 

f. Disclose the table of contents of the franchisor's 
operating manual provided to franchisees as of the 
franchisor's last fiscal year-end or a more recent date. 
State the number of pages devoted to each subject and 
the total number of pages in the manual as of this date. 
This disclosure may be omitted if the franchisor offers 
the prospective franchisee the opportunity to view the 
manual before buying the franchise. 

g. Disclose the franchisor's training program as of the 
franchisor's last fiscal year-end or a more recent date. 

(1) Describe the training program in the following tabular 
form. Title the table "TRAINING PROGRAM" in capital 
letters and bold type. 

Item 11 Table 

TRAINING PROGRAM 

Column 1 Column 2 Column 3 Column 4 

Subject Hours of 
Classroom 
Training 

Hours of 
On-The-

Job 
Training 

Location 

(a) In column 1, state the subjects taught. 

(b) In column 2, state the hours of classroom training for 
each subject. 

(c) In column 3, state the hours of on-the-job training for 
each subject. 

(d) In column 4, state the location of the training for each 
subject.  

(2) State further: 

(a) How often training classes are held and the nature of 
the location or facility where training is held (for 
example, company, home, office, franchisor-owned 
store). 

(b) The nature of instructional materials and the 
instructor's experience, including the instructor's length 
of experience in the field and with the franchisor. State 
only experience relevant to the subject taught and the 
franchisor's operations. 
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(c) Any charges franchisees must pay for training and 
who must pay travel and living expenses of the training 
program enrollees. 

(d) Who may and who must attend training. State 
whether the franchisee or other persons must complete 
the program to the franchisor's satisfaction. If successful 
completion is required, state how long after signing the 
agreement or before opening the business the training 
must be completed. If training is not mandatory, state the 
percentage of new franchisees that enrolled in the 
training program during the preceding 12 months. 

(e) Whether additional training programs or refresher 
courses are required.  

12. Item 12: Territory. 

Disclose: 

a. Whether the franchise is for a specific location or a 
location to be approved by the franchisor. 

b. Any minimum territory granted to the franchisee (for 
example, a specific radius, a distance sufficient to 
encompass a specified population, or another specific 
designation). 

c. The conditions under which the franchisor will 
approve the relocation of the franchised business or the 
franchisee's establishment of additional franchised 
outlets. 

d. Franchisee options, rights of first refusal, or similar 
rights to acquire additional franchises. 

e. Whether the franchisor grants an exclusive territory. 

(1) If the franchisor does not grant an exclusive territory, 
state: "You will not receive an exclusive territory. You 
may face competition from other franchisees, from 
outlets that we own, or from other channels of 
distribution or competitive brands that we control." 

(2) If the franchisor grants an exclusive territory, 
disclose: 

(a) Whether continuation of territorial exclusivity 
depends on achieving a certain sales volume, market 
penetration, or other contingency, and the circumstances 
when the franchisee's territory may be altered. Describe 
any sales or other conditions. State the franchisor's rights 
if the franchisee fails to meet the requirements. 

(b) Any other circumstances that permit the franchisor to 
modify the franchisee's territorial rights (for example, a 
population increase in the territory giving the franchisor 
the right to grant an additional franchise in the area) and 
the effect of such modifications on the franchisee's rights. 

f. For all territories (exclusive and nonexclusive): 

(1) Any restrictions on the franchisor from soliciting or 
accepting orders from consumers inside the franchisee's 
territory, including: 

(a) Whether the franchisor or an affiliate has used or 
reserves the right to use other channels of distribution 
such as the Internet, catalog sales, telemarketing, or other 
direct marketing sales to make sales within the 
franchisee's territory using the franchisor's principal 
trademarks. 

(b) Whether the franchisor or an affiliate has used or 
reserves the right to use other channels of distribution 
such as the Internet, catalog sales, telemarketing, or other 
direct marketing to make sales within the franchisee's 
territory of products or services under trademarks 
different from the ones the franchisee will use under the 
franchise agreement. 

(c) Any compensation that the franchisor must pay for 
soliciting or accepting orders from inside the franchisee's 
territory. 

(2) Any restrictions on the franchisee from soliciting or 
accepting orders from consumers outside of his territory, 
including whether the franchisee has the right to use 
other channels of distribution such as the Internet, 
catalog sales, telemarketing, or other direct marketing to 
make sales outside of his territory. 

(3) If the franchisor or an affiliate operates, franchises, or 
has plans to operate or franchise a business under a 
different trademark and that business sells or will sell 
goods or services similar to those the franchisee will 
offer, describe: 

(a) The similar goods and services. 

(b) The different trademark. 

(c) Whether outlets will be franchisor-owned or -
operated. 

(d) Whether the franchisor or its franchisees who use the 
different trademark will solicit or accept orders within 
the franchisee's territory. 

(e) The timetable for the plan. 

(f) How the franchisor will resolve conflicts between the 
franchisor and franchisees and between the franchisees of 
each system regarding territory, customers, and 
franchisor support. 

(g) The principal business address of the franchisor's 
similar operating business. If it is the same as the 
franchisor's principal business address stated in Item 1, 
disclose whether the franchisor maintains (or plans to 
maintain) physically separate offices and training 
facilities for the similar competing business. 

13. Item 13: Trademarks. 
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a. Disclose each principal trademark to be licensed to the 
franchisee. For this item, "principal trademark" means 
the primary trademarks, service marks, names, logos, and 
commercial symbols the franchisee will use to identify 
the franchised business. It may not include every 
trademark the franchisor owns. 

b. Disclose whether each principal trademark is 
registered with the United States Patent and Trademark 
Office. If so, state: 

(1) The date and identification number of each trademark 
registration.  

(2) Whether the franchisor has filed all required 
affidavits. 

(3) Whether any registration has been renewed. 

(4) Whether the principal trademarks are registered on 
the Principal or Supplemental Register of the United 
States Patent and Trademark Office. 

c. If the principal trademark is not registered with the 
United States Patent and Trademark Office, state whether 
the franchisor has filed any trademark application, 
including any "intent to use" application or an application 
based on actual use. If so, state the date and identification 
number of the application. 

d. If the trademark is not registered on the Principal 
Register of the United States Patent and Trademark 
Office, state: "We do not have a federal registration for 
our principal trademark. Therefore, our trademark does 
not have many legal benefits and rights as a federally 
registered trademark. If our right to use the trademark is 
challenged, you may have to change to an alternative 
trademark, which may increase your expenses." 

e. Disclose any currently effective material 
determinations of the United States Patent and 
Trademark Office, the Trademark Trial and Appeal 
Board, or any state trademark administrator or court; and 
any pending infringement, opposition, or cancellation 
proceeding. Include infringement, opposition, or 
cancellation proceedings in which the franchisor 
unsuccessfully sought to prevent registration of a 
trademark in order to protect a trademark licensed by the 
franchisor. Describe how the determination affects the 
ownership, use, or licensing of the trademark. 

f. Disclose any pending material federal or state court 
litigation regarding the franchisor's use or ownership 
rights in a trademark. For each pending action, disclose:8 

(1) The forum and case number. 

(2) The nature of claims made opposing the franchisor's 
use of the trademark or by the franchisor opposing 
another person's use of the trademark. 

(3) Any effective court or administrative agency ruling in 
the matter. 

g. Disclose any currently effective agreements that 
significantly limit the franchisor's rights to use or license 
the use of trademarks listed in this section in a manner 
material to the franchise. For each agreement, disclose: 

(1) The manner and extent of the limitation or grant. 

(2) The extent to which the agreement may affect the 
franchisee. 

(3) The agreement's duration. 

(4) The parties to the agreement. 

(5) The circumstances when the agreement may be 
canceled or modified. 

(6) All other material terms. 

h. Disclose: 

(1) Whether the franchisor must protect the franchisee's 
right to use the principal trademarks listed in this section, 
and must protect the franchisee against claims of 
infringement or unfair competition arising out of the 
franchisee's use of the trademarks. 

(2) The franchisee's obligation to notify the franchisor of 
the use of, or claims of rights to, a trademark identical to 
or confusingly similar to a trademark licensed to the 
franchisee. 

(3) Whether the franchise agreement requires the 
franchisor to take affirmative action when notified of 
these uses or claims. 

(4) Whether the franchisor or franchisee has the right to 
control any administrative proceedings or litigation 
involving a trademark licensed by the franchisor to the 
franchisee. 

(5) Whether the franchise agreement requires the 
franchisor to participate in the franchisee's defense and/or 
indemnify the franchisee for expenses or damages if the 
franchisee is a party to an administrative or judicial 
proceeding involving a trademark licensed by the 
franchisor to the franchisee, or if the proceeding is 
resolved unfavorably to the franchisee. 

(6) The franchisee's rights under the franchise agreement 
if the franchisor requires the franchisee to modify or 
discontinue using a trademark. 

i. Disclose whether the franchisor knows of either 
superior prior rights or infringing uses that could 
materially affect the franchisee's use of the principal 
trademarks in the state where the franchised business will 
be located. For each use of a principal trademark that the 
franchisor believes is an infringement that could 
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materially affect the franchisee's use of a trademark, 
disclose: 

(1) The nature of the infringement. 

(2) The locations where the infringement is occurring. 

(3) The length of time of the infringement (to the extent 
known). 

(4) Any action taken or anticipated by the franchisor. 

14. Item 14: Patents, Copyrights, and Proprietary 
Information. 

a. Disclose whether the franchisor owns rights in, or 
licenses to, patents or copyrights that are material to the 
franchise. Also, disclose whether the franchisor has any 
pending patent applications that are material to the 
franchise. If so, state: 

(1) The nature of the patent, patent application, or 
copyright and its relationship to the franchise. 

(2) For each patent: 

(a) The duration of the patent. 

(b) The type of patent (for example, mechanical, process, 
or design).  

(c) The patent number, issuance date, and title. 

(3) For each patent application: 

(a) The type of patent application (for example, 
mechanical, process, or design).  

(b) The serial number, filing date, and title.  

(4) For each copyright:  

(a) The duration of the copyright. 

(b) The registration number and date. 

(c) Whether the franchisor can and intends to renew the 
copyright. 

b. Describe any current material determination of the 
United States Patent and Trademark Office, the United 
States Copyright Office, or a court regarding the patent 
or copyright. Include the forum and matter number. 
Describe how the determination affects the franchised 
business. 

c. State the forum, case number, claims asserted, issues 
involved, and effective determinations for any material 
proceeding pending in the United States Patent and 
Trademark Office or any court.9 

d. If an agreement limits the use of the patent, patent 
application, or copyright, state the parties to and duration 
of the agreement, the extent to which the agreement may 
affect the franchisee, and other material terms of the 
agreement. 

e. Disclose the franchisor's obligation to protect the 
patent, patent application, or copyright; and to defend the 
franchisee against claims arising from the franchisee's 
use of patented or copyrighted items, including: 

(1) Whether the franchisor's obligation is contingent 
upon the franchisee notifying the franchisor of any 
infringement claims or whether the franchisee's 
notification is discretionary. 

(2) Whether the franchise agreement requires the 
franchisor to take affirmative action when notified of 
infringement.  

(3) Who has the right to control any litigation. 

(4) Whether the franchisor must participate in the defense 
of a franchisee or indemnify the franchisee for expenses 
or damages in a proceeding involving a patent, patent 
application, or copyright licensed to the franchisee. 

(5) Whether the franchisor's obligation is contingent 
upon the franchisee modifying or discontinuing the use 
of the subject matter covered by the patent or copyright. 

(6) The franchisee's rights under the franchise agreement 
if the franchisor requires the franchisee to modify or 
discontinue using the subject matter covered by the 
patent or copyright.  

f. If the franchisor knows of any patent or copyright 
infringement that could materially affect the franchisee, 
disclose: 

(1) The nature of the infringement. 

(2) The locations where the infringement is occurring. 

(3) The length of time of the infringement (to the extent 
known). 

(4) Any action taken or anticipated by the franchisor. 

g. If the franchisor claims proprietary rights in other 
confidential information or trade secrets, describe in 
general terms the proprietary information communicated 
to the franchisee and the terms for use by the franchisee. 
The franchisor need only describe the general nature of 
the proprietary information, such as whether a formula or 
recipe is considered to be a trade secret.  

15. Item 15: Obligation to Participate in the Actual 
Operation of the Franchise Business. 

a. Disclose the franchisee's obligation to participate 
personally in the direct operation of the franchisee's 
business and whether the franchisor recommends 
participation. Include obligations arising from any 
written agreement or from the franchisor's practice. 

b. If personal "on-premises" supervision is not required, 
disclose the following: 
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(1) If the franchisee is an individual, whether the 
franchisor recommends on-premises supervision by the 
franchisee.  

(2) Limits on whom the franchisee can hire as an on-
premises supervisor. 

(3) Whether an on-premises supervisor must successfully 
complete the franchisor's training program. 

(4) If the franchisee is a business entity, the amount of 
equity interest, if any, that the on-premises supervisor 
must have in the franchisee's business. 

c. Disclose any restrictions that the franchisee must place 
on its manager (for example, maintain trade secrets, 
covenants not to compete). 

16. Item 16: Restrictions on What the Franchisee May Sell. 

Disclose any franchisor-imposed restrictions or conditions 
on the goods or services that the franchisee may sell or that 
limit access to customers, including: 

a. Any obligation on the franchisee to sell only goods or 
services approved by the franchisor. 

b. Any obligation on the franchisee to sell all goods or 
services authorized by the franchisor. 

c. Whether the franchisor has the right to change the 
types of authorized goods or services and whether there 
are limits on the franchisor's right to make changes. 

17. Item 17: Renewal, Termination, Transfer, and Dispute 
Resolution. 

Disclose, in the following tabular form, a table that cross-
references each enumerated franchise relationship item 
with the applicable provision in the franchise or related 
agreement. Title the table "THE FRANCHISE 
RELATIONSHIP" in capital letters and bold type. 

a. Describe briefly each contractual provision. If a 
particular item is not applicable, state "Not Applicable." 

b. If the agreement is silent about one of the listed 
provisions, but the franchisor unilaterally offers to 
provide certain benefits or protections to franchisees as a 
matter of policy, use a footnote to describe the policy and 
state whether the policy is subject to change.  

c. In the summary column for Item 17 c, state what the 
term "renewal" means for your franchise system, 
including, if applicable, a statement that franchisees may 
be asked to sign a contract with materially different terms 
and conditions than their original contract. 

Item 17 Table 

THE FRANCHISE RELATIONSHIP  

[In bold] This table lists certain important provisions of the 
franchise and related agreements. You should read these 
provisions in the agreements attached to this disclosure 
document. 

Provision 

Section in 
franchise or 

other 
agreement Summary 

a. Length of the franchise 
term 

    

b. Renewal or extension 
of the term 

    

c. Requirements for 
franchisee to renew or 
extend 

    

d. Termination by 
franchisee 

    

e. Termination by 
franchisor without cause 

    

f. Termination by 
franchisor with cause 

    

g. "Cause" defined - 
curable defaults 

    

h. "Cause" defined - 
noncurable defaults 

    

i. Franchisee's 
obligations on 
termination/nonrenewal 

    

j. Assignment of contract 
by franchisor 

    

k. "Transfer" by 
franchisee – defined 

    

l. Franchisor approval of 
transfer by franchisee 

    

m. Conditions for 
franchisor approval of 
transfer 

    

n. Franchisor's right of 
first refusal to acquire 
franchisee's business 

    

o. Franchisor's option to 
purchase franchisee's 
business 
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p. Death or disability of 
franchisee 

    

q. Noncompetition 
covenants during the 
term of the franchise 

    

r. Noncompetition 
covenants after the 
franchise is terminated or 
expires 

    

s. Modification of the 
agreement 

    

t. Integration/merger 
clause 

    

u. Dispute resolution by 
arbitration or mediation 

    

v. Choice of forum     

w. Choice of law     

18. Item 18: Public Figures. 

Disclose: 

a. Any compensation or other benefit given or promised 
to a public figure arising from either the use of the public 
figure in the franchise name or symbol, or the public 
figure's endorsement or recommendation of the franchise 
to prospective franchisees. 

b. The extent to which the public figure is involved in the 
management or control of the franchisor. Describe the 
public figure's position and duties in the franchisor's 
business structure. 

c. The public figure's total investment in the franchisor, 
including the amount the public figure contributed in 
services performed or to be performed. State the type of 
investment (for example, common stock, promissory 
note). 

d. For purposes of this section, a public figure means a 
person whose name or physical appearance is generally 
known to the public in the geographic area where the 
franchise will be located. 

19. Item 19: Financial Performance Representations. 

a. Begin by stating the following: 

The FTC's Franchise Rule permits a franchisor to provide 
information about the actual or potential financial 
performance of its franchised and/or franchisor-owned 
outlets, if there is a reasonable basis for the information, 
and if the information is included in the disclosure 
document. Financial performance information that differs 
from that included in Item 19 may be given only if: (i) a 
franchisor provides the actual records of an existing 

outlet you are considering buying; or (ii) a franchisor 
supplements the information provided in this Item 19, for 
example, by providing information about possible 
performance at a particular location or under particular 
circumstances. 

b. If a franchisor does not provide any financial 
performance representation in Item 19, also state: 

We do not make any representations about a franchisee's 
future financial performance or the past financial 
performance of company-owned or franchised outlets. 
We also do not authorize our employees or 
representatives to make any such representations either 
orally or in writing. If you are purchasing an existing 
outlet, however, we may provide you with the actual 
records of that outlet. If you receive any other financial 
performance information or projections of your future 
income, you should report it to the franchisor's 
management by contacting [name, address, and telephone 
number], the Federal Trade Commission, and the 
appropriate state regulatory agencies. 

c. If the franchisor makes any financial performance 
representation to prospective franchisees, the franchisor 
must have a reasonable basis and written substantiation 
for the representation at the time the representation is 
made and must state the representation in the Item 19 
disclosure. The franchisor must also disclose the 
following: 

(1) Whether the representation is an historic financial 
performance representation about the franchise system's 
existing outlets, or a subset of those outlets, or is a 
forecast of the prospective franchisee's future financial 
performance. 

(2) If the representation relates to past performance of the 
franchise system's existing outlets, the material basis for 
the representation, including: 

(a) Whether the representation relates to the performance 
of all of the franchise system's existing outlets or only to 
a subset of outlets that share a particular set of 
characteristics (for example, geographic location, type of 
location such as free standing vs. shopping center, degree 
of competition, length of time the outlets have operated, 
services or goods sold, services supplied by the 
franchisor, and whether the outlets are franchised or 
franchisor-owned or -operated).  

(b) The dates when the reported level of financial 
performance was achieved. 

(c) The total number of outlets that existed in the relevant 
period and, if different, the number of outlets that had the 
described characteristics.  
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(d) The number of outlets with the described 
characteristics whose actual financial performance data 
were used in arriving at the representation. 

(e) Of those outlets whose data were used in arriving at 
the representation, the number and percent that actually 
attained or surpassed the stated results. 

(f) Characteristics of the included outlets, such as those 
characteristics noted in subdivision c (2)(a) of Item 19, 
that may differ materially from those of the outlet that 
may be offered to a prospective franchisee. 

(3) If the representation is a forecast of future financial 
performance, state the material basis and assumptions on 
which the projection is based. The material assumptions 
underlying a forecast include significant factors upon 
which a franchisee's future results are expected to 
depend. These factors include, for example, economic or 
market conditions that are basic to a franchisee's 
operation, and encompass matters affecting, among other 
things, a franchisee's sales, the cost of goods or services 
sold, and operating expenses. 

(4) A clear and conspicuous admonition that a new 
franchisee's individual financial results may differ from 
the result stated in the financial performance 
representation. 

(5) A statement that written substantiation for the 
financial performance representation will be made 
available to the prospective franchisee upon reasonable 
request. 

d. If a franchisor wishes to disclose only the actual 
operating results for a specific outlet being offered for 
sale, it need not comply with this section, provided the 
information is given only to potential purchasers of that 
outlet. 

e. If a franchisor furnishes financial performance 
information according to this section, the franchisor may 
deliver to a prospective franchisee a supplemental 
financial performance representation about a particular 
location or variation, apart from the disclosure document. 
The supplemental representation must: 

(1) Be in writing.  

(2) Explain the departure from the financial performance 
representation in the disclosure document.  

(3) Be prepared in accordance with the requirements of 
subdivision c (1) through (4) of this item. 

(4) Be furnished to the prospective franchisee. 

20. Item 20: Outlets and Franchisee Information. 

a. Disclose, in the following tabular form, the total 
number of franchised and company-owned outlets for 
each of the franchisor's last three fiscal years. For this 
item, "outlet" includes outlets of a type substantially 
similar to that offered to the prospective franchisee. A 
sample Item 20a table is attached as Appendix B.

 

Table No. 1 

Systemwide Outlet Summary 

For years [--] to [--]  

Column 1 Column 2 Column 3 Column 4 Column 5 

Outlet Type Year 
Outlets at the Start of the 

Year 
Outlets at the End of the 

Year Net Change 

2004       

2005       Franchised 

2006       

2004       

2005       Company-Owned 

2006       

2004       

2005       Total Outlets 

2006       



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 22 Virginia Register of Regulations July 6, 2009 

4145 

(1) In column 1, include three outlet categories titled "franchised," "company-owned," and "total outlets." 

(2) In column 2, state the last three fiscal years. 

(3) In column 3, state the total number of each type of outlet operating at the beginning of each fiscal year. 

(4) In column 4, state the total number of each type of outlet operating at the end of each fiscal year. 

(5) In column 5, state the net change, and indicate whether the change is positive or negative, for each type of outlet during 
each fiscal year. 

b. Disclose, in the following tabular form, the number of franchised and company-owned outlets and changes in the 
number and ownership of outlets located in each state during each of the last three fiscal years. Except as noted, each 
change in ownership shall be reported only once in the following tables. If multiple events occurred in the process of 
transferring ownership of an outlet, report the event that occurred last in time. If a single outlet changed ownership two or 
more times during the same fiscal year, use footnotes to describe the types of changes involved and the order in which the 
changes occurred. 

(1) Disclose, in the following tabular form, the total number of franchised outlets transferred in each state during each of 
the franchisor's last three fiscal years. For this item, "transfer" means the acquisition of a controlling interest in a franchised 
outlet, during its term, by a person other than the franchisor or an affiliate. A sample Item 20 b Table is attached as 
Appendix C. 

Table No. 2 

Transfers of Outlets from Franchisees to New Owners (other than the Franchisor) 

For years [--] to [--] 

Column 1 Column 2 Column 3 

State Year Number of Transfers 

2004   

2005     

2006   

2004   

2005     

2006   

2004   

2005   Total 

2006   

(a) In column 1, list each state with one or more franchised outlets. 

(b) In column 2, state the last three fiscal years. 

(c) In column 3, state the total number of completed transfers in each state during each fiscal year. 

(2) Disclose, in the following tabular form, the status of franchisee-owned outlets located in each state for each of the 
franchisor's last three fiscal years. A sample Item 20 c table is attached as Appendix D. 
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Table No. 3 

Status of Franchised Outlets 

For years [--] to [--] 

Col. 1 Col. 2 Col. 3 Col. 4 Col. 5 Col. 6 Col. 7 Col. 8 Col. 9 

State Year 

Outlets 
at Start 
of Year 

Outlets 
Opened Terminations Nonrenewals 

Reacquired 
by 

Franchisor 

Ceased 
Operations- 

Other 
Reasons 

Outlets 
at End 
of the 
Year 

2004 

2005 

  

2006 

              

2004 

2005 

  

2006 

              

Totals                 

(a) In column 1, list each state with one or more franchised outlets. 

(b) In column 2, state the last three fiscal years. 

(c) In column 3, state the total number of franchised outlets in each state at the start of each fiscal year. 

(d) In column 4, state the total number of franchised outlets opened in each state during each fiscal year. Include both new 
outlets and existing company-owned outlets that a franchisee purchased from the franchisor. (Also report the number of 
existing company-owned outlets that are sold or granted to a franchisee in Column 7 of Table 4). 

(e) In column 5, state the total number of franchised outlets that were terminated in each state during each fiscal year. For 
purposes of this item, "termination" means the franchisor's termination of a franchise agreement prior to the end of its term 
and without providing any consideration to the franchisee (whether by payment or forgiveness or assumption of debt). 

(f) In column 6, state the total number of nonrenewals in each state during each fiscal year. For purposes of this item, 
"nonrenewal" occurs when the franchise agreement for a franchised outlet is not renewed at the end of its term. 

(g) In column 7, state the total number of franchised outlets reacquired by the franchisor in each state during each fiscal 
year. For purposes of this item, a "reacquisition" means the franchisor's acquisition for consideration (whether by payment 
or forgiveness or assumption of debt) of a franchised outlet during its term. (Also report franchised outlets reacquired by 
the franchisor in column 5 of Table 4). 

(h) In column 8, state the total number of outlets in each state not operating as one of the franchisor's outlets at the end of 
each fiscal year for reasons other than termination, nonrenewal, or reacquisition by the franchisor. 

(i) In column 9, state the total number of franchised outlets in each state at the end of the fiscal year. 

(3) Disclose, in the following tabular form, the status of company-owned outlets located in each state for each of the 
franchisor's last three fiscal years. A sample Item 20 d table is attached as Appendix E. 
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Table No. 4 

Status of Company-Owned Outlets 

For years [--] to [--] 

Col. 1 Col. 2 Col. 3 Col. 4 Col. 5 Col. 6 Col. 7 Col. 8 

State Year 

Outlets at 
Start of the 

Year 
Outlets 
Opened 

Outlets 
Reacquired 

From 
Franchisee 

Outlets 
Closed 

Outlets Sold to 
Franchisee 

Outlets at 
End of the 

Year 

2004             

2005             

  

2006             

2004             

2005             

  

2006             

2004             

2005             

Totals 

2006             

(a) In column 1, list each state with one or more company-owned outlets. 

(b) In column 2, state the last three fiscal years. 

(c) In column 3, state the total number of company-owned outlets in each state at the start of the fiscal year. 

(d) In column 4, state the total number of company-owned outlets opened in each state during each fiscal year. 

(e) In column 5, state the total number of franchised outlets reacquired from franchisees in each state during each fiscal 
year. 

(f) In column 6, state the total number of company-owned outlets closed in each state during each fiscal year. Include both 
actual closures and instances when an outlet ceases to operate under the franchisor's trademark. 

(g) In column 7, state the total number of company-owned outlets sold or granted to franchisees in each state during each 
fiscal year. 

(h) In column 8, state the total number of company-owned outlets operating in each state at the end of each fiscal year. 

c. Disclose, in the following tabular form, projected new franchised and company-owned outlets. A sample Item 20 e table 
is attached as Appendix F. 

Table No. 5 

Projected Openings As Of [Last Day of Last Fiscal Year] 

Column 1 Column 2 Column 3 Column 4 

State Franchise Agreements Signed 
But Outlet Not Opened 

Projected New Franchised 
Outlet In The Next Fiscal Year 

Projected New Company-
Owned Outlet In the Next 
Fiscal Year  

Total       

(1) In column 1, list each state where one or more franchised or company-owned outlets are located or are projected to be 
located. 
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(2) In column 2, state the total number franchise agreements that had been signed for new outlets to be located in each state 
as of the end of the previous fiscal year where the outlet had not yet opened. 

(3) In column 3, state the total number of new franchised outlets in each state projected to be opened during the next fiscal 
year. 

(4) In column 4, state the total number of new company-owned outlets in each state that are projected to be opened during 
the next fiscal year. 

d. Disclose the names of all current franchisees and the address and telephone number of each of their outlets. 
Alternatively, disclose this information for all franchised outlets in the state, but if these franchised outlets total fewer than 
100, disclose this information for franchised outlets from contiguous states and then the next closest states until at least 100 
franchised outlets are listed. 

e. Disclose the name, city and state, and current business telephone number, or if unknown, the last known home telephone 
number of every franchisee who had an outlet terminated, canceled, not renewed, or otherwise voluntarily or involuntarily 
ceased to do business under the franchise agreement during the most recently completed fiscal year or who has not 
communicated with the franchisor within 10 weeks of the disclosure document issuance date.10 State in immediate 
conjunction with this information: "If you buy this franchise, your contact information may be disclosed to other buyers 
when you leave the franchise system." 

f. If a franchisor is selling or granting a previously-owned franchised outlet now under its control, disclose the following 
additional information for that outlet for the last five fiscal years. This information may be attached as an addendum to a 
disclosure document, or, if disclosure has already been made, then in a supplement to the previously furnished disclosure 
document. 

(1) The name, city and state, current business telephone number, or if unknown, last known home telephone number of 
each previous owner of the outlet; 

(2) The time period when each previous owner controlled the outlet; 

(3) The reason for each previous change in ownership (for example, termination, nonrenewal, voluntary transfer, ceased 
operations); and 

(4) The time period(s) when the franchisor retained control of the outlet (for example, after termination, nonrenewal, or 
reacquisition). 

g. Disclose whether franchisees signed confidentiality clauses during the last three fiscal years. If so, state the following: 
"In some instances, current and former franchisees sign provisions restricting their ability to speak openly about their 
experience with [name of franchise system]. You may wish to speak with current and former franchisees, but be aware that 
not all such franchisees will be able to communicate with you." Franchisors may also disclose the number and percentage 
of current and former franchisees who during each of the last three fiscal years signed agreements that include 
confidentiality clauses and may disclose the circumstances under which such clauses were signed. 

h. Disclose, to the extent known, the name, address, telephone number, email address, and website address (to the extent 
known) of each trademark-specific franchisee organization associated with the franchise system being offered, if such 
organization: 

(1) Has been created, sponsored, or endorsed by the franchisor. If so, state the relationship between the organization and 
the franchisor (for example, the organization was created by the franchisor, sponsored by the franchisor, or endorsed by the 
franchisor). 

(2) Is incorporated or otherwise organized under state law and asks the franchisor to be included in the franchisor's 
disclosure document during the next fiscal year. Such organizations must renew their request on an annual basis by 
submitting a request no later than 60 days after the close of the franchisor's fiscal year. The franchisor has no obligation to 
verify the organization's continued existence at the end of each fiscal year. Franchisors may also include the following 
statement: "The following independent franchisee organizations have asked to be included in this disclosure document." 

21. Item 21: Financial Statements. 

a. Include the following financial statements prepared according to United States generally accepted accounting principles, 
as revised by any future United States government mandated accounting principles, or as permitted by the Securities and 
Exchange Commission. Except as provided in subdivision b of this item, these financial statements must be audited by an 
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independent certified public accountant using generally accepted United States auditing standards. Present the required 
financial statements in a tabular form that compares at least two fiscal years. 

(1) The franchisor's balance sheet for the previous two fiscal year-ends before the disclosure document issuance date. 

(2) Statements of operations, stockholders equity, and cash flows for each of the franchisor's previous three fiscal years. 

(3) Instead of the financial disclosures required by subdivisions a (1) and (2) of this item, the franchisor may include 
financial statements of any of its affiliates if the affiliate's financial statements satisfy subdivisions a (1) and (2) of this item 
and the affiliate absolutely and unconditionally guarantees to assume the duties and obligations of the franchisor under the 
franchise agreement. The affiliate's guarantee must cover all of the franchisor's obligations to the franchisee, but need not 
extend to third parties. If this alternative is used, attach a copy of the guarantee to the disclosure document. 

(4) When a franchisor owns a direct or beneficial controlling financial interest in a subsidiary, its financial statements 
should reflect the financial condition of the franchisor and its subsidiary. 

(5) Include separate financial statements for the franchisor and any subfranchisor, as well as for any parent that commits to 
perform postsale obligations for the franchisor or guarantees the franchisor's obligations. Attach a copy of any guarantee to 
the disclosure document. 

b. A start-up franchise system may phase-in the use of the financial statements specified in subdivisions a (1) and (2) of 
this item by providing, at a minimum, the following statements at the indicated times: 

  (1) The franchisor's first partial or full fiscal year 
selling or granting franchises.  

An audited opening balance sheet. 

  (2) The franchisor's second fiscal year selling or 
granting franchises. 

Audited balance sheet opinion as of the end of 
the first partial or full fiscal year selling or 
granting franchises.  

  (3) The franchisor's third and subsequent fiscal 
years selling or granting franchises. 

All required financial statements for the 
previous fiscal year, plus any previously 
disclosed audited statements that still must be 
disclosed according to subdivisions a (1) and 
(2) of this item. 

(4) Start-up franchisors may phase-in the disclosure of all financial statements required in subdivisions a (1) and (2) of this 
item, provided the franchisor: 

(a) Prepares audited statements of operations, stockholders equity, and cash flows as soon as practicable. 

(b) Prepares all unaudited statements in a format that conforms as closely as possible to audited statements. 

(c) Includes one or more years of unaudited statements of operations or clearly and conspicuously discloses in this section 
that the franchisor has not been in business for three years or more, and cannot include all financial statements required in 
subdivisions a (1) and (2) of this item. 

22. Item 22: Contracts. 

Attach a copy of all proposed agreements regarding the franchise offering, including the franchise agreement and any lease, 
options, and purchase agreements. 

23. Item 23: Receipts. 

Include two copies of the following detachable acknowledgment of receipt in the following form as the last pages of the 
disclosure document: 

a. State the following: 

Receipt 

This disclosure document summarizes certain provisions of the franchise agreement and other information in plain 
language. Read this disclosure document and all agreements carefully. 
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If [name of franchisor] offers you a franchise, it must provide this disclosure document to you 14 calendar days before you 
sign a binding agreement with, or make a payment to, the franchisor or an affiliate in connection with the proposed 
franchise sale or grant. 

If [name of franchisor] does not deliver this disclosure document on time or if it contains a false or misleading statement, 
or a material omission, a violation of federal law and state law may have occurred and should be reported to the Federal 
Trade Commission, Washington, D.C. 20580 and [state agency]. 

b. Disclose the name, principal business address, and telephone number of each franchise seller offering the franchise. 

c. State the issuance date. 

d. If not disclosed in Item 1, state the name and address of the franchisor's registered agent authorized to receive service of 
process. 

e. State the following: 

I received a disclosure document dated that included the following Exhibits: 

f. List the title(s) of all attached Exhibits. 

g. Provide space for the prospective franchisee's signature and date. 

h. Franchisors may include any specific instructions for returning the receipt (for example, street address, email address, 
facsimile telephone number). 

Appendix A: Sample Item 10 Table 

Summary of Financing Offered 

Item 
Financed 

Source of 
Financing 

Down 
Payment 

Amount 
Financed 

Term 
(Yrs) 

Interest 
Rate 

Monthly 
Payment 

Prepay 
Penalty 

Security 
Required 

Liability 
Upon 

Default 

Loss of 
Legal 

Right on 
Default 

Initial Fee                     

Land/ 
Constr 

                    

Leased 
Space 

                    

Equip. 
Lease 

                    

Equip. 
Purchase 

                    

Opening 
Inventory 

                    

Other 
Financing 

                    

  

Appendix B: Sample Item 20(1) Table – Systemwide Outlet Summary 

Systemwide Outlet Summary 

For years 2004 to 2006 

Column 1 Column 2 Column 3 Column 4 Column 5 

Outlet Type Year 
Outlets at the Start of 

the Year 
Outlets at the End of 

the Year Net Change 

Franchised 2004 859 1,062 +203 
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2005 1,062 1,296 +234 

2006 1,296 2,720 +1,424 

2004 125 145 +20 

2005 145 76 -69 Company Owned 

2006 76 141 +65 

2004 984 1,207 +223 

2005 1,207 1,372 +165 Total Outlets 

2006 1,372 2,861 +1,489 

  

Appendix C: Sample Item 20(2) Table – Transfers of Franchised Outlets 

Transfers of Outlets from Franchisees to New Owners (other than the Franchisor) 

For years 2004 to 2006 

Column 1 Column 2 Column 3 

State Year Number of Transfers 

2004 1 

2005 0 NC 

2006 2 

2004 0 

2005 0 SC 

2006 2 

2004 1 

2005 0 Total 

2006 4 

  

Appendix D: Sample Item 20(3) Table – Status of Franchise Outlets 

Status of Franchise Outlets 

For years 2004 to 2006 

Col. 1 Col. 2 Col. 3 Col. 4 Col. 5 Col. 6 Col. 7 Col. 8 Col. 9 

State Year 

Outlets 
at Start 
of Year 

Outlets 
Opened Terminations 

Non-
Renewals 

Reacquired 
by 

Franchisor 

Ceased 
Operations-

Other 
Reasons 

Outlets 
at End of 
the Year 

2004 10 2 1 0 0 1 10 

2005 11 5 0 1 0 0 15 AL 

2006 15 4 1 0 1 2 15 

2004 20 5 0 0 0 0 25 AZ 

2005 25 4 1 0 0 2 26 
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2006 26 4 0 0 0 0 30 

2004 30 7 1 0 0 1 35 

2005 36 9 1 1 0 2 41 Totals 

2006 41 8 1 0 1 2 45 

  

Appendix E: Sample Item 20(4) Table – Status of Company-Owned Outlets 

Status of Company-Owned Outlets 

For years 2004 to 2006 

Col. 1 Col 2 Col. 3 Col. 4 Col. 5 Col. 6 Col. 7 Col. 8 

State Year 

Outlets at 
Start of the 

Year 
Outlets 
Opened 

Outlets 
Reacquired 

From 
Franchisees 

Outlets 
Closed 

Outlets Sold to 
Franchisees 

Outlets at 
End of the 

Year 

2004 1 0 1 0 0 2 

2005 2 2 0 1 0 3 NY 

2006 3 0 0 3 0 0 

2004 4 0 1 0 0 5 

2005 5 0 0 2 0 3 OR 

2006 3 0 0 0 1 2 

2004 5 0 2 0 0 7 

2005 7 2 0 3 0 6 Totals 

2006 6 0 0 3 1 2 

  

Appendix F: Sample Item 20(5) Table – Projected New Franchised Outlets 

Projected New Franchised Outlets 

As of December 31, 2006 

Column 1 Column 2 Column 3 Column 4 

State 

Franchise Agreements 
Signed But Outlet Not 

Opened 

Projected New 
Franchised Outlet in 
the Next Fiscal Year 

Projected New Company-
Owned Outlets in the Next 

Fiscal Year 

CO 2 3 1 

NM 0 4 2 

Total 2 7 3 

 
1 Franchisors may include a summary opinion of counsel concerning any action if counsel consent to use the summary 
opinion and the full opinion is attached to the disclosure document. 
2 If a settlement agreement must be disclosed in this item, all material settlement terms must be disclosed, whether or not the 
agreement is confidential. However, franchisors need not disclose the terms of confidential settlements entered into before 
commencing franchise sales. 
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3 If fees may increase, disclose the formula that determines the increase or the maximum amount of the increase. For 
example, a percentage of gross sales is acceptable if the franchisor defines the term "gross sales." 
4 Franchisors may include the reason for the requirement. Franchisors need not disclose in this item the purchase or lease of 
goods or services provided as part of the franchise without a separate charge (such as initial training, if the cost is included in 
the franchise fee). Describe such fees in Item 5. Do not disclose fees already described in Item 6. 
5 Take figures from the franchisor's most recent annual audited financial statement required in Item 21. If the entity deriving 
the income is an affiliate, disclose the sources of information used in computing revenues. 
6 Indirect offers of financing include a written arrangement between a franchisor or its affiliate and a lender, for the lender to 
offer financing to a franchisee; an arrangement in which a franchisor or its affiliate receives a benefit from a lender in 
exchange for financing a franchise purchase; and a franchisor's guarantee of a note, lease, or other obligation of the 
franchisee. 
7 Include sample copies of the financing documents as an exhibit to Item 22. Cite the section and name of the document 
containing the financing terms and conditions. 
8 The franchisor may include an attorney's opinion relative to the merits of litigation or of an action if the attorney issuing the 
opinion consents to its use. The text of the disclosure may include a summary of the opinion if the full opinion is attached and 
the attorney issuing the opinion consents to the use of the summary. 
9 If counsel consents, the franchisor may include a counsel's opinion or a summary of the opinion if the full opinion is 
attached. 
10 Franchisors may substitute alternative contact information at the request of the former franchisee, such as a home address, 
post office address, or a personal or business email address. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1785; Filed June 18, 2009, 9:45 a.m.  

 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 23. TAXATION 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 23VAC10-210. Retail Sales and Use 
Tax (amending 23VAC10-210-310). 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on September 4, 2009. 

Effective Date: September 19, 2009.  

Agency Contact: Todd Gathje, Analyst, Department of 
Taxation, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-2301, FAX (804) 371-2355, or email 
todd.gathje@tax.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia provides the 
tax commissioner the power to issue regulations relating to 
the interpretation and enforcement of the laws of this 
Commonwealth governing taxes administered by the 
Department of Taxation.  

Purpose: Churches have the option of using the general 
nonprofit entity sales tax exemption provided for under 
§ 58.1-609.11 of the Code of Virginia or the self-issued 
exemption certificate available only to churches pursuant to 
§ 58.1-609.10 of the Code of Virginia using Form ST-13A, 
Certificate of Exemption. This action amends the regulation 
governing the use of the self-issued exemption certificate 
available only to churches pursuant to § 58.1-609.10 of the 
Code of Virginia using Form ST-13A, Certificate of 
Exemption. This regulatory action is necessary to ensure a 
predictable and adequate revenue stream for the government 
to provide for the health, safety, and welfare of its citizens.  

Chapters 757 and 758 of the 2003 Acts of Assembly created 
§ 58.1-609.11 of the Code of Virginia, which simplified the 
nonprofit exemption process and enabled more charitable 
organizations to take advantage of the exemption, and created 
an administrative process to qualify nonprofit organizations 
for general sales and use tax exemptions. Beginning on July 
1, 2004, nonprofit organizations were permitted to apply 
online for a retail sales and use tax exemption, via Nonprofit 
Online, a quick, efficient and secure way created and 
developed by TAX for organizations to apply for a Virginia 
sales and use tax exemption for the first time or renew their 
exemption certificate (https://www.npo.tax.virginia.gov). 
Under the new law, any organization that is exempt under 
IRC § 501(c)(3) and (4), provided they are organized for 
charitable purchases, is permitted to apply to TAX to obtain 
this exemption if they meet all of the statutory criteria. This 
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exemption provides a broad exemption for nonprofit 
organizations and eliminates the process of seeking an 
exemption through legislature. 

However, many churches continue to use the self-issued 
exemption certificate available only to churches pursuant to 
subdivision 16 of § 58.1-609.10 of the Code of Virginia using 
Form ST-13A, Certificate of Exemption. This exemption was 
originally a narrow exemption, but it has been expanded 
greatly over time. Prior to 2006, the exemption explicitly 
excluded tangible personal property that is used in any form 
for recording and reproducing services from the list of items 
that were covered under the exemption.  Legislation enacted 
by the General Assembly (Chapter 338 of the 2006 Acts of 
Assembly) added tangible personal property used by a church 
for recording and reproducing services to the list of exempt 
items. Legislation enacted by the General Assembly (Chapter 
758 of the 2007 Acts of Assembly) added language that 
exempts property used in caring for or maintaining property 
owned by a church including, but not limited to, mowing 
equipment and building materials installed by a church, and 
for which the church does not contract with a person or entity 
to have installed in a public church building. The purpose of 
this action is to update the regulation relating to churches to 
conform to these statutory changes.  

Rationale for Fast-Track Process: Revising the current 
regulation to include language that reflects current legislation 
is not expected to be controversial. 

Substance: This regulation will be revised to clarify the 
application of the sales and use tax to churches, which are 
permitted to continue to use their self-issued exemption 
certificates, rather than apply for new exemption certificates 
from the Department of Taxation under the new nonprofit 
exemption process, and to include as exempt from the retail 
sales and use tax a church's purchase of tangible personal 
property used in any form for recording and reproducing 
services and caring for or maintaining property owned by a 
church including, but not limited to, mowing equipment and 
building materials installed by a church, and for which the 
church does not contract with a person or entity have installed 
in a public church building. The regulation will also be 
revised to update the list of examples of tangible personal 
property exempt from sales and use tax. 

Issues: The regulatory action poses no disadvantages to the 
public or the Commonwealth. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Department of Taxation (Department) proposes several 
amendments to the Retail Sales and Use Tax regulation 
section (23 VAC 10-210-310) on tax exemptions for 
churches.1 There have been several statutory changes since 
this regulation was last amended. All proposed changes to the 

regulation are either straight from current statutes, repeat 
language already in other regulations, or are merely clarifying 
language and do not change requirements. Proposed changes 
include exempting the following from taxation: 1) items used 
in recording and reproducing religious worship services 
(Chapter 338 of the 2006 Acts of Assembly), and 2) property 
used in caring for or maintaining property owned by the 
church including, but not limited to, mowing equipment and 
building materials installed by a church, and for which the 
church did not contract with a person or entity to have 
installed, in a public church building; and other items of 
tangible personal property used in religious worship services. 
The proposed regulation also delineates the differences 
between tax exemptions for churches and other non-profit 
entities. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The current regulation is 
inconsistent with parts of the Code of the Virginia. When 
statutes and regulations conflict, the statutes prevail. Since all 
proposed changes are either straight from statute, repeat 
language already in other regulations, or are merely clarifying 
language and do not change requirements, the proposed 
amendments do not change any requirements for the public 
and thus do not produce any cost. The proposed amendments 
will be beneficial for the public in that there will be less 
confusion on the ruling law concerning tax exemptions for 
churches due to the removal of inapplicable language and the 
addition of clarifying language. Therefore, the proposed 
amendments create net benefit for the public. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
affect nonprofit religious organizations in Virginia. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal amendments 
do not directly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposal amendments do not directly affect the use and value 
of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
amendments do not affect small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not directly affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
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(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 

_______________________________ 
1 Church is defined as a nonprofit religious organization, regardless of faith, 
that would be considered a church under the standards promulgated by the 
Internal Revenue Service for federal income tax purposes (i) that has been 
specifically recognized by the Internal Revenue Service as being exempt 
from taxation under § 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code or (ii) whose 
real property is exempt from local real property taxation under § 58.1-3606 
of the Code of Virginia. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The agency agrees with 
the Department of Planning and Budget's economic impact 
analysis. 

Summary: 

This regulatory action makes numerous substantive 
amendments relating to churches that reflect legislative 
changes. Changes include amending the regulation with 
respect to the exemption allowed for items used in 
recording and reproducing religious worship services; 
property used in caring for or maintaining property owned 
by the church including, but not limited to, mowing 
equipment and building materials installed by a church 
and for which the church did not contract with a person or 
entity to have installed in a public church building; and 
other items of tangible personal property used in religious 
worship services. This regulation also explains the 
differences between this exemption and the nonprofit entity 
exemption. 

23VAC10-210-310. Churches. 

A. Generally. A nonprofit church is entitled to an exemption 
from the sales and use tax on certain purchases. In order to 
qualify for this exemption, a church must have received 

determination that it is either: (i) exempt from taxation under 
§ 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code; or (ii) exempt from 
local real property taxation under § 58.1-3606 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

The exemption extends only to purchases by a nonprofit 
church of tangible personal property (except that used in 
recording and reproducing religious worship services) for use:  

1. in religious worship services by a congregation or church 
membership while meeting together in a single location, and  

2. in libraries, offices, meeting or counseling rooms or other 
rooms in the public church buildings used in carrying out the 
work of the church and its related ministries, including 
kindergarten, elementary and secondary schools.  

When purchasing an item qualifying for exemption, a 
church must furnish the supplier a properly completed Form 
ST-13A, Certificate of Exemption.  

B. Religious worship service. The term "religious worship 
service" includes regularly scheduled church services as well 
as weddings, bar mitzvahs, bat mitzvahs, baptisms, 
christenings, funerals, and special services conducted during 
religious holidays. The following property used in the 
worship service may be purchased exempt from the tax. This 
list is exemplary and not all inclusive.  

Acolyte robes  

Altar cushions and cloths  

Baptism, marriage, and membership certificates  

Baptismal font  

Bibles and Bible stands  

Bulletins or programs (including paper and ink used to print 
these)  

Candles and candelabra used at the location of the worship 
service  

Choir robes  

Communion supplies and tables  

Flags used at the location of the worship service  

Flowers and plants, live or artificial, and accessories thereto 
used at the  

location of the worship service  

Funeral pall  

Hymnals and hymnal racks  

Light bulbs used at the location of the worship service  

Microphones and public address system used in the worship 
service except  

when incorporated into realty  
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Musical instruments used in the worship service (e.g., organ, 
piano, hand  

bells)  

Name tags for ushers and guests, and attendance records  

Offering envelopes  

Pews, cushions, chairs or other seating systems  

Portable heaters and fans and window air conditioners used 
at the location  

of the worship service  

Prayer books  

Pulpit, lectern, pulpit lamp  

Rosaries, crosses, crucifixes  

Carpeting used at the location of the worship services 
(except glued-down  

carpeting)  

Sheet music  

Systems to assist persons who are hearing-impaired  

Tallithim  

Torahs  

Vestments for ecclesiastical celebrants  

Wafers, bread, wine, grape juice used in communion service  

Yarmulkes  

C. Other exempt purchases. Some examples of property 
which is exempt when used in carrying out the work of the 
church and its related ministries are administrative supplies 
(letterhead, envelopes) and equipment, cleaning supplies and 
equipment, fuel oil, food consumed on the premises and gifts 
for distribution at activities held in the public church 
buildings.  

D. Taxable purchases. The following property is taxable 
because it is not used in rooms in the public church buildings 
used in carrying out the work of the church and its related 
ministries or because it is affixed to or has become a part of 
the real estate. The list is exemplary and not all inclusive.  

Any property used in the parsonage or on church trips, 
retreats, picnics or similar outings outside a church building  

Any property used in maintenance of church grounds, 
including without limitation lawn mowers, grass seed and 
fertilizer  

Tool sheds and picnic shelters  

Baptisteries, stained glass windows, lighting fixtures and 
other property which when installed becomes a part of real 
estate  

Bulletins, programs or newsletters which are printed outside 
the public church building (except those used in the religious 
worship service)  

Construction and building materials  

Gifts for distribution outside the public church buildings (for 
example, food baskets)  

Heating and air conditioning equipment which is a part of 
real estate  

Kitchen equipment which is a part of real estate  

Property used in any manner for recording or reproducing 
religious worship services  

Repair parts, accessories, oil and similar items for use in 
motor vehicles  

If a supplier fails to collect the tax on any taxable purchases, 
the church must report and pay the use tax on Consumer's 
Use Tax Return, Form ST-7.  

In order to qualify for exemption, tangible personal property 
must be purchased by, invoiced to and paid for directly by the 
nonprofit church. Purchases by the minister from his own 
funds, purchases by affiliated religious associations, and 
purchases by church members or others for donation to the 
church are subject to the tax.  

The exemption does not extend to sales by the nonprofit 
church. (See 23VAC10-210-1070 through 23VAC10-210-
1072.)  

23VAC10-210-1070 through 23VAC10-210-1072 and 
23VAC10-210-4020 address purchases for use or 
consumption by nonprofit kindergartens, primary and 
secondary schools.  

A. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this section 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Carrying out the work of the church and its related 
ministries" means engaging in activities that communicate or 
spread the religious teachings and practices of a church. 

"Church" means a nonprofit religious organization, 
regardless of faith, that would be considered a church under 
the standards promulgated by the Internal Revenue Service 
for federal income tax purposes (i) that has been specifically 
recognized by the Internal Revenue Service as being exempt 
from taxation under § 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code 
or (ii) whose real property is exempt from local real property 
taxation under § 58.1-3606 of the Code of Virginia. The term 
"church" includes any departments, regular schools of 
religious education, and other activities of a church that are 
not separate legal or business entities, including 
kindergartens, elementary and secondary schools, preschools, 
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nurseries, and day care centers. The term "church" does not 
include broadcasting television organizations, such as 
evangelical television and radio ministries, missionaries, 
political action committees (PACs), affiliated entities 
separately incorporated from a nonprofit religious 
organization, and camps and conference centers. However, a 
limited exemption is available to camps and conference 
centers as set forth in subsection F of this section. 

"Church department" means any administrative division of a 
church used in carrying out the work and related ministries of 
the church. This term includes, but is not limited to, boards; 
committees; councils; men's, women's or youth ministries; 
and outreach ministries of the church. 

"Public church building" means a building, the primary 
purpose of which is to house the regularly scheduled worship 
services of the church and those adjacent offices and 
buildings at a single location in which activities are conducted 
to carry out the work of the church and its related ministries. 

"Regular school of religious education" means any program 
instituted by a church to provide regularly scheduled classes 
on the teaching of the church and includes, but is not limited 
to, Sunday school, catechism, Hebrew school, vacation Bible 
school, and Bible study classes. 

"Religious worship service" means regularly scheduled 
church services and includes, but is not limited to, weddings, 
bar mitzvahs, bat mitzvahs, baptisms, christenings, funerals, 
and special services conducted during religious holidays, 
when conducted at the public church building. 

B. Overview. This section addresses the sales and use tax 
exemption provided to churches pursuant to § 58.1-609.10 of 
the Code of Virginia using Form ST-13A, Certificate of 
Exemption.  In general, a church is entitled to an exemption 
from the sales and use tax on certain purchases of tangible 
personal property for use in: 

1. Religious worship services by a congregation or church 
membership while meeting together in a single location; 

2. Libraries, offices, meeting or counseling rooms, 
kitchens, or other rooms in the public church buildings 
used in carrying out the work of the church and its related 
ministries, including kindergarten, elementary and 
secondary schools, preschools, nurseries, and day care 
centers; 

3. Recording and reproducing church services; and 

4. Caring for or maintaining property owned by the church. 

Churches also have the option of using the general nonprofit 
entity sales tax exemption provided for under § 58.1-609.11 
of the Code of Virginia. In order to obtain the general 
nonprofit entity exemption, the church must apply to the 
Department of Taxation and receive a Retail Sales and Use 
Tax Certificate of Exemption. This section is applicable only 

to the self-issued exemption for churches pursuant to 
subdivision 16 of § 58.1-609.10 of the Code of Virginia using 
Form ST-13, Certificate of Exemption. It does not apply to 
the general nonprofit entity sales tax exemption provided for 
under § 58.1-609.11 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. Exercising the exemption. In order to qualify for 
exemption, tangible personal property must be purchased by, 
invoiced to, and paid for directly by the church. If a minister, 
church member, or other church worker purchases tangible 
personal property on behalf of the church using his personal 
funds, the purchase is taxable even if reimbursed to the 
person by the church. A personal check is payment made by 
an individual and not by the church. Cash payment provides 
no proof that the church makes direct payment to the dealer of 
the merchandise. If a supplier fails to collect the tax on any 
taxable purchase, the church must report and pay the use tax 
on Form ST-7, Consumer's Use Tax Return. 

When purchasing an item qualifying for exemption, a 
church must furnish to the supplier a properly completed 
Form ST-13A, Certificate of Exemption. This self-issued 
certificate of exemption is limited to tangible personal 
property specified in § 58.1-609.10 of the Code of Virginia. 

D. Exempt purchases.  

1. Purchases for use in religious worship services and in 
public church buildings in carrying out the work of the 
church and its related ministries. The following tangible 
personal property may be purchased exempt from the tax 
when purchased by the church for use in religious worship 
services by a congregation or church membership while 
meeting together in a single location and for use in public 
church buildings in carrying out the work of the church and 
its related ministries. The list is exemplary and not all 
inclusive. 

a. Acolyte robes; 

b. Administrative supplies (letterheads, envelopes, office 
supplies, etc.); 

c. Altar cushions and cloths; 

d. Baptism, marriage, and membership certificates; 

e. Baptismal font; 

f. Baptistries; 

g. Bibles and Bible stands; 

h. Bulletins, programs, newspapers, and newsletters that 
do not contain paid advertising (including paper and ink 
used to print these); 

i. Candles and candelabra; 

j. Choir robes; 

k. Communion supplies and tables; 
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l. Curtains and flags; 

m. Flowers and plants, live or artificial, and accessories 
thereto; 

n. Fuel oil; 

o. Funeral pall; 

p. Gifts, including food, for distribution outside the 
public church building; 

q. Hymnals and hymnal racks; 

r. Kitchen equipment that is not incorporated into realty; 

s. Musical instruments (e.g., organ, piano, hand bells, 
drums, brass instruments, woodwind instruments, etc.); 

t. Name tags for ushers and guests, and attendance 
records; 

u. Offering envelopes; 

v. Office machinery and equipment; 

w. Pews, cushions, chairs, and other seating systems; 

x. Portable heaters, and fans and window air conditioners 
used at the location of the worship service; 

y. Prayer books; 

z. Pulpit, lectern, pulpit lamp; 

aa. Rosaries, crosses, crucifixes; 

bb. Rugs and carpeting not affixed to the realty; 

cc. Sheet music; 

dd. Systems to assist persons who are hearing-impaired 

ee.Tallithim; 

ff. Torahs; 

gg. Vestments for ecclesiastical celebrants; 

hh. Wafers, bread, wine, grape juice used in communion 
service; and 

ii. Yarmulkes.  

2. Purchases for recording and reproducing church 
services. Equipment, tools, supplies, or other tangible 
personal property used in any form of recording or 
reproducing of church services can be purchased exempt of 
the retail sales and use tax. Recording and reproduction 
items shall include, but are not limited to, the following: 

a. Amplifiers, microphones, speakers, and wires; 

b. Audiovisual recording devices; 

c. Tools and testing equipment; 

d. Tape or disk duplicating devices; 

e. Audiovisual cameras; 

f. Television broadcasting cameras; 

g. Radio and television transmitting devices; and 

h. Photographic cameras, film, developing supplies. 

3. Property used in caring for or maintaining property 
owned by the church. 

a. Tangible personal property that is purchased for use in 
caring for or maintaining property owned by the church 
is exempt from the retail sales and use tax. Such property 
shall include, but not be limited to, the following: 

(1) Mowing equipment including but not limited to, lawn 
mowers, baggers, weed-eaters, edgers, and replacement 
parts (lawn mower blades, tires, wheels, lights, spark 
plugs, filters, other mechanical components, etc.); 

(2) Ladders; 

(3) Vacuums; 

(4) Mops; 

(5) Buckets; 

(6) Janitorial supplies; 

(7) Pressure washers; 

(8) Rakes; 

(9) Brooms; 

(10) Cleaning equipment and supplies; 

(11) Light bulbs 

(12) Leaf blowers;  

(13) Tools (hammers, drills, saws, screwdrivers, knives, 
paint brushes, nails, screws, etc.); 

(14) Property used in maintenance of church grounds 
including, but not limited to, grass seed, trees, shrubs, 
and fertilizer; and 

(15) Repair parts, accessories, oil, and similar items for 
use in motor vehicles owned by the church, even if such 
motor vehicles are not used exclusively for church-
related activities. 

b. Certain building materials. Building materials that are 
installed in the public church buildings that are used in 
carrying out the work of the church and its related 
ministries may be purchased by the church exempt of the 
retail sales and use tax, provided such equipment is 
installed by the church and the church does not contract 
with a person or entity to have such property installed. 
Building materials shall include, but not be limited to, the 
following: 

(1) Wood products (lumber, plywood, moldings, etc.); 
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(2) Drywall; 

(3) Flooring (hardwood floors, laminate, vinyl, tile, 
carpet, etc.); 

(4) Paint; 

(5) Kitchen and bathroom sinks; 

(6) Toilets; 

(7) Electrical materials (wires, receptacles, light 
switches, etc.); 

(8) Telephone wires; 

(9) Cable television wires; 

(10) Roofing materials (shingles or other types of 
roofing, gutters, roofing nails, etc.); 

(11) Siding (aluminum, wood, vinyl, stone, brick, stucco, 
etc.); 

(12) Masonry materials (cinderblocks, bricks or stones, 
concrete mix, etc.); 

(13) Insulation; 

(14) Windows; 

(15) Doors, door handles, and door locks; 

(16) Plumbing materials (pipes, septic systems, garbage 
disposals, etc.); and 

(17) Cabinets, counters, and countertops. 

E. Taxable purchases.  

1. Generally. Tangible personal property purchased by a 
church is generally taxable when it is (i) not used in 
religious worship services by a congregation or church 
membership while meeting in a single location; (ii) not 
used in sanctuaries, libraries, offices, meeting or 
counseling rooms, or other rooms in the public church 
buildings used in carrying out the work of the church and 
its related ministries; or (iii) used by separate legal or 
business entities that may be associated with the church.  

2. Construction and building materials furnished to 
contractors. 

a. If building materials, kitchen equipment, heating and 
air conditioning equipment, tool sheds, and picnic 
shelters are furnished by the church to a contractor for 
incorporation in real estate, and the church did not pay 
the tax on the materials, the contractor, as the user and 
consumer of the materials, must pay the use tax directly 
to the department based on the fair market value of the 
materials used, irrespective of whether or not any right, 
title, or interest in the materials become vested in the 
contractor. 

b. A baptistry that will be incorporated into real estate at 
the public church building and used in the religious 
services of a church is exempt from the tax whether 
purchased by the church or the contractor. 

3. Examples of other taxable purchases. Other taxable 
purchases are described in the following list, which is 
exemplary and not all inclusive. 

a. Any property used on church trips, picnics, or similar 
outings outside a public church building; or 

b. Bulletins, programs, newspapers, and newsletters that 
contain paid advertising (including paper and ink used in 
printing). 

F. Camps and conference centers. 

1. Church-related activities. 

a. Purchases. The tax does not apply to purchases of food 
and beverages, disposable serving items (such as paper 
plates, cups, napkins, plastic forks, spoons, and knives), 
cleaning supplies, and teaching materials used and 
consumed in operating camps or conference centers by a 
church or an organization composed of churches that are 
exempt from the sales and use tax and that are used in 
carrying out the work of the church and its related 
ministries. The purchase may be made exempt of the tax 
by the church or the camp or conference center using 
Form ST-13A, Certificate of Exemption. 

Example 1: A church organization that is composed of a 
number of church congregations allows one of its church 
affiliates to hold a youth camp at its conference facilities 
located in Virginia in order to educate the participants in 
the church's religious teachings. The church organization 
purchases food, disposable serving items, and teaching 
materials that will be given to the participants in the 
youth camp. In addition, cleaning supplies are purchased 
for maintaining the facilities. The purchase of food, 
disposable serving items, teaching materials, and 
cleaning supplies provided by the church organization 
would be exempt from the tax. 

b. Sales. 

(1) Rooms, lodgings, and accommodations. When a 
church or organization composed of churches operates a 
camp or conference center and makes separate charges 
for room rentals, lodging, and accommodations, the 
charges are taxable as provided in 23VAC10-210-730. 
The church or organization must register as a dealer, 
collect the tax on the amount of the charge, and remit the 
tax to the department. Tangible personal property used 
and consumed in providing rooms, lodging, and 
accommodations is taxable at the time of purchase. 

(2) Meals. When a church or organization composed of 
churches operates a camp or conference center and sells 
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meals to participants, the sales price of meals are taxable 
as provided in 23VAC10-210-930. The church or 
organization must register as a dealer, collect the tax on 
the amount of the charge, and remit the tax to the 
department. However, the food provided in the meals, as 
well as paper placemats, plastic silverware, and similar 
items furnished with the meals and disposed of after the 
use by only one person, may be purchased exempt of tax 
under a resale exemption certificate. 

(3) Camp fees. When a church or organization composed 
of churches operates a camp and charges the participants 
a camp fee that covers expenses incurred to provide 
meals, lodging, and camp activities, the camp fee is tax 
exempt. Further, the church or organization carrying out 
the work of the ministry may purchase the items 
described in subdivision 1 a of this subsection exempt 
from the tax. 

Example 2: A nonprofit organization composed of 
nonprofit churches operates a retreat facility. The 
churches that comprise this nonprofit organization may 
purchase food items for the consumption of participants 
at the retreat facility exempt from the tax. Any church 
associated with the nonprofit organization may also 
purchase food exempt for resale, but the subsequent sale 
of that food to participants is taxable. A church that is not 
associated with the nonprofit organization and that 
purchases food items for consumption while using the 
retreat facility must pay retail sales and use tax. 

2. Nonchurch-related activities. When food, disposable 
serving items, teaching materials, or cleaning supplies are 
purchased by a church or organization of churches for use 
in camps and conference centers for nonchurch-related 
activities, they are subject to the sales and use tax in the 
same manner of other providers of meals and 
accommodations. Nonchurch-related activities would 
include, but are not limited to, the renting of the facility for 
conferences, retreats, etc., by businesses, business groups, 
governmental organizations, and civic groups. 

G. Donations of tangible personal property to churches. A 
church is exempt from the use tax on donations of tangible 
personal property that it receives from individuals, 
businesses, and other organizations. Persons making such 
donations are liable for the tax not previously paid on the cost 
price of the donated items unless those items are withdrawn 
from inventory, as provided in subdivision 15 of § 58.1-
609.10 of the Code of Virginia or otherwise exempt from the 
tax. 

H. Affiliated organizations. 

1. Generally. Tangible personal property purchased by 
affiliated religious associations or corporations, such as 
political action committees (PACs) and separately 
organized broadcasting ministries, is taxable. 

2. Separate legal and business entities. Kindergartens, 
primary schools, secondary schools, preschools, nurseries, 
day care centers, and similar activities held in the public 
church buildings that carry out the work and ministry of 
the church and that are not separate legal or business 
entities are generally exempt from the tax on the purchases 
of tangible personal property. Tangible personal property 
purchased for an activity that is a separate legal or business 
entity is taxable. Although not all inclusive, the following 
factors considered as a whole are used to determine that an 
activity is a separate legal or business entity from the 
church that would not qualify for the exemption: 

a. The activity is a separate corporation from the church; 

b. The federal identification number of the activity is 
different from the church; 

c. Payroll and other expenses of the activity are paid out 
of separate bank accounts; 

d. Activities are located at a different location from the 
public church building; and 

e. Activities are not subject to the authority or control of 
the church. 

However, preschools, primary schools, and secondary 
schools that are separate legal and business entities from 
the church may qualify for a sales and use tax exemption 
pursuant to § 58.1-609.11 of the Code of Virginia. 

Example 3: As part of its education ministry to inner city 
youth, a church operates a child day care center out of its 
public church buildings. The center's federal identification 
number is the same as the church, pays its expenses out of 
the church's checking account, and functions under the 
authority and control of the church. Tangible personal 
property purchased by the center would qualify for the 
church exemption since the center is not considered a 
separate legal or business entity from the church. 

Example 4: Facts are the same as Example 3, except that 
the center has a separate federal identification number and 
pays is expenses out of a separate checking account. 
Tangible personal property purchased by the center would 
continue to be exempt. 

Example 5: Facts are the same as Example 3, except that 
the center is a separate nonprofit corporation that is still 
affiliated with the church, has a separate federal 
identification number, and pays its expenses out of a 
separate checking account. Even though the center is 
located in the public church building, tangible personal 
property purchased by the center is taxable since the center 
is a separate legal entity from the church. 

Example 6: Facts are the same as Example 3, except that 
the center is located five miles from the public church 
buildings. Tangible personal property purchased by the 
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center would be taxable since the center is not located in 
the public church buildings. 

I. Sales. 

1. Generally. Churches that make retail sales of tangible 
personal property are required to register as dealers, collect 
the tax from customers (who may include church members, 
visitors, or other persons outside the church membership) 
and remit the tax to the department. 

2. Food. If a church makes sales of food for which a profit 
is realized, the church should collect tax from the 
customers and remit the tax to the department. In these 
instances, the church may purchase the food exempt from 
the tax using a resale exemption certificate. For purposes 
of this subdivision only, if the sales price charged for food 
is completely offset by the cost of the food, and the church 
realizes no profit, then the church is not required to charge 
the tax to its customers on the sales price of the food. 
Instead, the church must pay the tax to its vendors on the 
purchase price of the food purchased. As long as the 
church pays tax on the purchase price of the food that it 
sells at cost, the church is not required to register as a 
dealer while conducting this activity or charge tax to 
customers. 

3. Other sales. If a church makes sales of cassette tapes, 
audiovisual tapes, books, photo directories, and jewelry or 
makes sales of tangible personal property in yard sales or 
bazaars, the church should register as a dealer, collect the 
tax from its customers and remit the tax to the department.  

4. Occasional sales. Except as provided in subdivision 2 of 
this subsection of this regulation, the church must collect 
the tax on all sales and remit the amount to the department 
unless the sales meet the criteria for occasional sales as 
provided in subdivision 2 of § 58.1-609.10 of the Code of 
Virginia and 23VAC10-210-1080. Yard sales and bazaars 
qualify as occasional sales under subdivision 2 of § 58.1-
609.10 of the Code of Virginia and 23VAC10-210-1080. 

Example 7: A church holds yard sales to raise money to 
support ministries and other church-related activities. The 
yard sales are held in the church facility or on church 
grounds, and consist of the sales of tangible personal 
property donated by church members. Although numerous 
items of tangible personal property are sold at each yard 
sale, each day's yard sale is considered to be one sale for 
purposes of the occasional sale rule. As long as the church 
does not hold more than three yard sales in a calendar year, 
the church is not required to register as a dealer and collect 
and remit sales tax. 

Example 8: Facts are the same as in Example 7, except that 
the church rents a booth or space for one day from a flea 
market organizer who is registered as a dealer. The primary 
business of the flea market is to rent a booth or space to 
sell tangible personal property. As the church yard sale 

takes place as part of a regular ongoing business (the flea 
market) that takes place more than three times a year, the 
yard sale would not qualify as an occasional sale. The flea 
market organizer is held responsible for the collection of 
sales tax for any property sold using its facilities and must 
collect sales tax from the church based on the sales price of 
property sold or allow the church to collect the tax and 
remit it to the Department of Taxation. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-646; Filed June 11, 2009, 1:43 p.m. 
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GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 82 (2009) 

GREENING OF STATE GOVERNMENT 

Importance of the Initiative 

Virginians are fortunate to inhabit a state with tremendous 
natural beauty and abundant resources that support our 
economy. Virginia state government takes seriously the 
responsibility as set forth in Article XI of the Constitution of 
Virginia to act as a steward of these resources, in order to 
pass them along to future generations undiminished.  The 
Commonwealth's citizens enjoy an unparalleled quality of 
life, and can continue to do so as our population increases and 
our economy expands if we are persistent in exploring ways 
to reduce our collective impact upon the environment. 

Like all large enterprises, the business operations of the 
Commonwealth have a significant environmental impact in 
terms of pollution and natural resource consumption. The 
production, use, and disposal of materials, as well as the 
generation and use of energy can have a significant impact on 
environmental quality and public health. Fortunately, 
opportunities to reduce these impacts are numerous, as are 
opportunities to save money through reducing the energy and 
resources required to govern effectively.  By showing 
leadership in reducing the environmental impact of 
government operations, the Commonwealth can inspire 
measures in the private sector and in the homes of citizens. 

The Commonwealth already has taken a number of steps to 
reduce state government's energy and environmental impact. 
These actions include implementation of Executive Order 48 
addressing energy use in state facilities, Executive Order 35 
and § 2.2-2817.1 of the Code of Virginia addressing 
telecommuting by state employees, and the adoption of 
Environmental Management System standards by a number 
of agencies. This new Executive Order expands these efforts 
so as to promote continual improvement in the 
Commonwealth's sustainability practices. 

There are several ways to encourage sustainability in 
government operations. One way is to urge agencies to 
participate in a friendly competition to implement practices 
and generate ideas to reduce the environmental impact of 
everyday activities. Indeed, Virginia's local governments have 
shown tremendous leadership with this approach through the 
"Go Green Virginia" initiative that was created by the 
Virginia Municipal League and joined by the Virginia 
Association of Counties and the Virginia School Boards 
Association.  In order to accelerate state government 
improvements in the short term, this Executive Order 
establishes a competition inspired by "Go Green Virginia." 
For longer-term goals, this Executive Order employs the 
approach of setting measurable goals in a way that affords 
flexibility in how the goals are met. 

When Virginia has achieved the vision of a truly "green 
government," buildings will be constructed and operated in a 
way that minimizes the need for energy and water.  State 
employees will eliminate unnecessary driving for business 
travel and commuting and will conduct business in a way that 
minimizes the use of disposable materials.  Those disposable 
materials that are used in day-to-day operations will be 
recycled or reused to the maximum extent possible. Care will 
be taken to ensure that energy to power lights, computers, and 
heating and air conditioning systems is not unnecessarily 
being consumed during and outside of business hours. 
Recycled materials, nontoxic products and renewable forms 
of energy will be used as much as possible. 

By the power vested in me by Article V of the Constitution of 
Virginia, and § 2.2-103 of the Code of Virginia, and subject 
always to my continuing and ultimate authority and 
responsibility to act in such matters, I hereby direct the 
Governor's Secretaries and all executive branch agencies and 
institutions to increase the use of sustainability practices, 
many of which will result in long-term reduced costs in state 
government operations. 

Environmental Management Systems and Policies 

No later than July, 1, 2010, every executive branch agency 
and institution shall either have (i) notified the Department of 
Environmental Quality's Office of Pollution Prevention of its 
intent to develop an Environmental Management System 
(EMS) or (ii) adopted and posted on its website a suite of 
policies regarding energy use, water use, waste reduction and 
travel that will reduce the environmental impacts and costs of 
those activities.  Agencies and institutions electing to develop 
an EMS shall achieve E2 or higher certification under the 
Virginia Environmental Excellence program by July 1, 2011.  
Policies adopted in lieu of an EMS shall contain the 
following:  

1. Energy use. At a minimum, the energy use policy shall 
address powering down computers when not in use, turning 
off interior and exterior lights when not needed, and 
reducing the energy consumption of heating and cooling 
systems outside of office hours.  

2. Water use. At a minimum, the water use policy shall 
address eliminating plumbing leaks and (if applicable) 
minimizing use of water for irrigation through reduced 
frequency of watering, timing of watering, and the 
selection of low water-use landscaping such as drought 
resistant grass, plants, shrubs and trees. 

3. Waste reduction. At a minimum, the waste reduction 
policy shall address ways of reducing consumption of 
paper and other office supplies, ways of reducing the use of 
disposable supplies, and recycling of white paper, mixed 
paper, plastic, batteries, printer cartridges and aluminum.  
For any agency that performs maintenance on vehicles, the 
policy shall address recycling of oil and antifreeze. 
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Agencies are encouraged to include provisions regarding 
composting. 

4. Travel. At a minimum, the travel policy shall address: 
carpooling to meetings, use of video conferencing and 
conference calls in lieu of in-person meetings, and 
purchasing of alternative fuels where available. Agencies 
are encouraged to include restrictions on whether the 
agency will pay mileage for single-passenger use of 
personal vehicles for business travel.  

The Department of Environmental Quality shall, upon 
request, provide examples of such policies to any agency. 

Building and Facility Construction and Location 

All executive branch agencies and institutions entering the 
design phase for construction of a new building greater than 
5,000 gross square feet in size, or renovating such a building 
where the cost of renovation exceeds 50 percent of the value 
of the building, shall meet Department of General Services 
(DGS), Division of Engineering and Buildings "Virginia 
Energy Conservation and Environmental Standards" for 
energy performance and water conservation.  In addition, all 
such buildings shall conform to LEED silver or Green Globes 
two-globe standards, unless an exemption from such 
standards is granted by the Director of the DGS upon a 
written finding of special circumstances that make 
construction to the standards impracticable. 

When a Commonwealth agency or institution is to lease space 
or build a new building in a metropolitan area where public 
transportation is available, it shall seek to lease or build 
within a quarter mile of a transit or commuter rail stop. The 
Commonwealth also shall, when leasing and building 
facilities, seek locations that are pedestrian and bicycle 
accessible. The Commonwealth shall encourage the private 
sector to adopt green building standards by striving to lease 
facilities that meet the same standards as those required for 
new state construction as outlined above. The Division of 
Real Estate Services of the Department of General Services 
shall consider these preferences in approving new leases or 
extensions of current leases. 

Procurement Standards 

The Department of General Services and Virginia 
Information Technology Agency shall establish specifications 
for use by state agencies and institutions subject to the 
Virginia Public Procurement Act in the procurement of 
commodities and services. The specifications shall encourage 
agencies to utilize commodities and services that will: (i) 
reduce or eliminate the health and environmental risks from 
the use or release of toxic substances; (ii) minimize risks of 
the discharge of pollutants into the environment; (iii) 
minimize the volume and toxicity of packaging; (iv) 
maximize the use of recycled content and materials composed 
of sustainably managed renewable resources; (v) maximize 
the use of equipment that is durable, and therefore, can be 

used for a long time without having to be replaced; and (vi) 
maximize the use of remanufactured components. 

The Department of General Services also shall include in its 
policies and procedures requirements for the purchase of fuel-
efficient, low-emission state-owned vehicles. In addition, 
DGS shall include in its policies and procedures for leasing 
vehicles requirements that encourage the use of compact, 
fuel-efficient, and low-emission vehicles. 

All agencies and institutions except for public safety agencies 
shall maximize biofuel use in state fleet vehicles. The 
Department of General Services shall make available, at 
selected sites based upon the locations of state-owned flex-
fuel and diesel vehicles, E85 and B2 fuels for agencies. 
Agencies and institutions that independently purchase fuel 
shall use E85 and B2 fuel sites to the maximum extent 
reasonably possible. 

In addition, the following standards shall be observed by all 
executive branch agencies and institutions: 

1. Agencies and institutions shall purchase or lease Energy 
Star-rated appliances and equipment for all classifications 
for which an Energy Star designation is available. 

2. All new copiers, faxes, printers, and other such office 
equipment purchased or leased by agencies and institutions 
that use paper shall be recycled paper-compatible. 
Agencies and institutions shall purchase only recycled 
paper except where equipment limitations or the nature of 
the document preclude the use of recycled paper. 

3. Beginning on July 1, 2010, agencies and institutions 
other than public safety agencies shall procure only diesel 
fuel containing, at a minimum, two percent, by volume, 
biodiesel fuel or green diesel fuel, as defined in § 45.1-394 
of the Code of Virginia.  This requirement shall only apply 
to procurements of diesel fuel for use in on-road internal 
combustion engines and #2 fuel burned in a boiler, furnace, 
or stove for heating, and shall not apply if the cost of such 
procurement exceeds the cost of unblended diesel fuel by 5 
percent or more. 

4. In selecting sites for conferences and other meetings that 
are to be held at places other than state facilities, agencies 
and institutions shall, after complying with procurement 
statutes and regulations, observe the following guidelines. 
For meetings attended by fewer than 50 people, agencies 
and institutions shall strive to use "Virginia Green" 
certified facilities.  For meetings attended by 50 or more 
people, only "Virginia Green" certified facilities shall be 
used unless permission to select a different site has been 
granted by the Chief of Staff. In conducting meetings, 
agencies and institutions shall minimize the use of paper. 
When meals are served, disposable materials should be 
avoided to the greatest extent possible. Disposable 
materials that are used should be biodegradable or 
recyclable. 
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5. No agency or institution shall procure water in individual 
serving-sized containers made of plastic except for use in 
emergencies or for safety and health reasons. 

Energy Efficiency 

All agencies and institutions shall provide adequate 
management support to their energy-savings activities. In 
order to ensure agencies have sufficient expertise in energy 
management, every Agency Energy Manager for an agency or 
institution with energy costs exceeding $1 million annually 
shall be certified as an energy manager by the Association of 
Energy Engineers. 

The requirements of Executive Order 48 that (i) executive 
branch agencies and institutions must reduce the annual cost 
of non-renewable energy purchases by at least 20 percent of 
fiscal year 2006 expenditures by fiscal year 2010, and (ii) any 
agency or institution that can demonstrate to the Senior 
Advisor for Energy Policy that it met the 10 percent energy 
savings goal established for 2006 in Executive Order 54 
(2003) must reduce costs of non-renewable energy purchase 
by an additional 15 percent of fiscal year 2006 expenditures 
by fiscal year 2010, are hereby continued.  In addition, all 
executive branch agencies and institutions shall achieve an 
additional savings of 5 percent of fiscal year 2006 
expenditures by fiscal year 2012. 

Agencies shall report their progress towards the energy-
savings goals to the Director of the Department of Mines, 
Minerals and Energy. Such progress shall be reported to the 
public on the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy's 
website. 

The Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy shall be 
responsible for providing technical assistance to state 
agencies and institutions in achieving energy savings. 
Specifically, the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy 
shall: 

1. Assist state agencies in their efforts to conserve energy 
to the maximum extent feasible;  

2. Assist agencies and institutions with implementation of 
this Executive Order;  

3. In cooperation with the Department of Environmental 
Quality, assist agencies with calculating the extent to which 
their energy savings result in a reduction in greenhouse gas 
emissions; and  

4. Maintain a system to monitor and report on progress 
made by state agencies toward reducing from its 2006 
baseline energy costs and consumption for state-owned 
facilities and provide a report at least annually on its 
website.  

Providing Government Services  

All reports published by executive branch agencies and 
institutions shall be published in electronic form only, unless 

permission to print the report has been granted by the Chief 
of Staff. If printing is necessary, agencies should maximize 
their use of post-consumer recycled paper and 
environmentally friendly inks. 

Executive branch agencies and institutions shall strive to 
increase opportunities for citizens and businesses to engage in 
electronic transactions with the Commonwealth rather than 
having to travel to state offices. 

Commuting to Work 

As an employer, the Commonwealth should make it easy for 
employees to minimize the impacts of commuting on energy 
consumption, traffic congestion and emissions. All agencies 
and institutions shall implement transit and ridesharing 
incentive programs within the parameters of the Department 
of Human Resource Management's guidelines. Agencies shall 
consider encouraging the use of transit by providing transit 
passes for free while charging for parking, such as is currently 
the policy of the Virginia Department of Transportation and 
Virginia Department of Rail and Public Transportation. 

§ 2.2-2817.1 of the Code of Virginia requires each state 
agency to pursue a goal of not less than 20 percent of its 
eligible workforce telecommuting by January 1, 2010.  
Wherever possible, agencies and institutions should use 
telecommuting to the fullest extent to mitigate traffic 
congestion and reduce emissions. 

To encourage employers to fully explore the feasibility of 
telecommuting, I hereby declare Monday, August 3, 2009, a 
"Statewide Telework Day" and request that the directors of 
state agencies and institutions as well as private sector 
employers allow as many citizens as possible to telecommute 
on that day. 

Green Commonwealth Challenge 

Every day we each make choices that result in impacts to the 
environment; opportunities to lessen these impacts abound.  
For instance, we can reduce automobile emissions by holding 
videoconferences or conference calls rather than face-to-face 
meetings and by walking, bicycling, carpooling, or taking 
transit to work.  We can reduce the need for landfills by 
reducing the disposable items we use and recycling the rest. 

I challenge state agencies and employees to use the next few 
months to see how many such deliberate, voluntary actions 
can be achieved.  Agencies that choose to participate in this 
challenge shall report to the Secretary of Natural Resources 
the following metrics for the period of June 15 through 
November 15, 2009: 

• Number of in-person meetings avoided through the use 
of video conferences or conference calls, as well as an 
estimate of the resulting travel miles avoided. 

• Number of trips avoided by agency employees 
carpooling with others. 
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• Number of meetings planned by the agency for which the 
agency facilitated carpooling of attendees (e.g., through 
the use of a survey or other tool to help connect meeting 
attendees). 

• Number of different materials included in the agency's 
recycling program (e.g., white paper, mixed paper, 
plastic bottles, batteries). 

• Number of days each employee telecommuted or 
commuted to work any way other than driving in a car 
alone. 

In addition, participating agencies shall submit to the 
Secretary:  

• Electricity bills for the months of July, August, and 
September of 2008, as well as the months of July, August 
and September 2009. 

The Secretary of Natural Resources shall devise a scoring 
system and provide guidelines to participating agencies.  The 
Secretary shall compile all the reports received by December 
1, 2009, and shall announce the three highest scoring agencies 
by December 15, 2009. 

I invite all state employees to submit suggestions to the 
Employee Suggestion Program website regarding ways that 
state government can reduce environmental impacts of its 
operations.  The employee who submits the idea that is 
determined by Secretaries of Administration and Natural 
Resources and the Chief of Staff to be the best idea will 
receive one day of annual leave.  To be eligible for this extra 
incentive, the suggestions must reference this executive order. 

Senior Advisor for Energy Policy and Energy Policy 
Advisory Council 

The Governor's Energy Policy Advisory Council and the 
position of Senior Advisor to the Governor for Energy Policy 
established in Executive Order 48 are hereby continued.  The 
Senior Advisor serves as the Governor's principal advisor on 
energy-related issues and is directed to coordinate energy 
policy across state agencies and institutions, including 
advising state institutions of higher education on coordinating 
energy research efforts. 

The Senior Advisor shall update the Virginia Energy Plan in 
conjunction with the Division of Energy of the Department of 
Mines, Minerals, and Energy, as provided for in Chapter 2 of 
Title 67 of the Code of Virginia, drawing upon expertise of 
other agencies and institutions and Virginia businesses as 
appropriate. 

The Governor's Energy Policy Advisory Council shall be 
chaired by the Senior Advisor for Energy Policy. The Council 
shall consist of 15 members appointed by the Governor, to 
serve at his pleasure. Appointees shall include representatives 
of Virginia's energy providers and producers, residential, 
commercial and industrial energy consumers, Virginia's 

conservation community, and the Secretaries of Natural 
Resources, Commerce and Trade, and Technology. The 
Advisory Council shall make a report of its activities by 
December 1 of each year. The Advisory Council's 
responsibilities shall include the following: 

1. Review the recommendations set forth in the Virginia 
Energy Plan as well as other relevant reports and studies.  

2. Evaluate strategies for implementing recommendations 
of the Virginia Energy Plan, including prioritization, 
approach, and timeline.  

3. Monitor implementation of the Virginia Energy Plan.  

4. Identify additional energy policy options for the 
Commonwealth to address energy issues. 

5. Make other recommendations as may be appropriate.  

Effective Date of the Order 

This Executive Order rescinds Executive Order Number 
Forty-eight (2007), Energy Efficiency in State Government, 
issued on April 5, 2007. 

This Executive Order shall become effective upon its signing 
and shall remain in full force and effect until July 1, 2013, 
unless amended or rescinded by further executive order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia this 10th day of June, 2009. 

/s/ Timothy M. Kaine 
Governor 
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Bureau of Insurance 
June 15, 2009 

Administrative Letter 2009-06 

To: All Insurers Licensed To Write Accident and Sickness 
Insurance in Virginia and All Health Services Plans 
Licensed In Virginia, and Other Interested Parties  

Re: 2009 House Bill 2024 and Senate Bill 1411 
Virginia Code §§ 38.2-3406.1 and 38.2-3406.2 

The purpose of this Administrative Letter is to provide 
guidance to insurers and health services plans that may be 
interested in developing one or more contracts or plans of 
"basic health insurance coverage" in accordance Virginia 
Code §§ 38.2-3406.1 and 38.2-3406.2, enacted by the 
Virginia General Assembly during its 2009 legislative 
session.  For purposes of this letter, the term "basic health 
insurance coverage" means a group policy or subscription 
contract providing accident and sickness insurance coverage, 
offered or issued by a health insurer or health services plan, to 
small employers. 

The full text of House Bill 2024 and Senate Bill 1411, both of 
which amend the Code of Virginia by adding Virginia Code 
§§ 38.2-3406.1 and 38.2-3406.2, may be obtained at 
http://legis.state.va.us/. Both bills establish additional 
requirements and define terms applicable to the "basic health 
insurance coverage" product that are not addressed in this 
letter. Both bills also amend or reenact other Virginia Code 
sections.  Carriers are therefore strongly advised to review 
both bills in their entirety. 

In accordance with the provisions of §§ 38.2-3406.1 and 
38.2-3406.2, group accident and sickness policies or 
subscription contracts sold or issued by health insurers or 
health services plans to small employers may include "any or 
none" of the state-mandated health benefits, with the 
exception of the following state-mandated benefits, for which 
coverage must be included: 

• § 38.2-3418.1 - coverage for mammograms 

• § 38.2-3418.1:2 - coverage for pap smears 

• § 38.2-3418.7 - coverage for PSA testing 

• § 38.2-3418.7:1 - colorectal cancer screening 

In addition, to the extent that health care services covered by 
these policies or subscription contracts may be legally 
rendered by a health care provider listed in Virginia Code 
§ 38.2-3408, the "basic health insurance coverage" product 
must allow for the reimbursement of such covered services 
when rendered by such a provider. 

In connection with any and all products developed in 
accordance with § 38.2 3406.1, the Bureau of Insurance (the 
Bureau), will expect and require the following: 

• The intended purpose of any and all forms developed 
in accordance with § 38.2 3406.1 must be clearly 
disclosed when the forms are submitted to the Bureau 
for approval. 

• Policy forms, subscription contracts, certificate forms 
or other evidences of coverage furnished to small 
employers and their employees must prominently 
disclose any and all state-mandated health benefits that 
the policies or subscription contracts do not provide. 

• Application and enrollment forms must include the 
following: 

1. A prominent disclosure that the policy or contract 
is not required to provide all state-mandated health 
benefits, along with the specific state-mandated 
health benefits that the policy or subscription 
contract does not provide; and  

2. A clear description of any and all eligibility 
requirements applicable to each employee. 

The bills also direct carriers offering these plans to report 
information identified below to the Bureau, from which 
reports relating to these plans will be made to the Governor 
and the General Assembly on August 1, 2010 and August 1, 
2011.  To that end, carriers are also expected and required to 
maintain any and all records relating to the following. 
Specific instructions for reporting this information will be 
furnished at a later date: 

(1) the number of small employers and the number 
of individuals covered by basic health insurance 
coverage plans; 

(2) the state-mandated health benefits covered under 
each basic health insurance coverage plan issued; 
and  

(3) the premium cost and out-of-pocket expenses for 
each plan. 

Questions regarding this letter may be directed to: Deborah 
Sale, Senior Insurance Market Examiner, Life and Health 
Division, P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 371-9110, FAX (804) 371-9944, or email 
deborah.sale@scc.virginia.gov. 

/s/ Alfred W. Gross 
Commissioner of Insurance 
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* * * * * * * * 

June 12, 2009 

Administrative Letter 2009-07 

To: All Companies Licensed under Chapter 10, 11, 12, 25, 
26, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46 or 61 of Title 38.2 of the 
Code of Virginia 

Re:  Five Year Rotation of Certified Public Accountants 
 Rules Governing Annual Audited Financial Reports  

(Rules Governing Annual Financial Reporting - 
14VAC5-270) 

Withdrawal of Administrative Letter 2000-04 

The provisions of this administrative letter, effective January 
1, 2010, replace the provisions of Administrative Letter 2000-
04.  

The purpose of this letter is to inform insurers and other 
affected parties that, pursuant to 14VAC5-270-80 D, no 
partner or other person responsible for rendering an annual 
audited financial report may act in that capacity for more than 
five consecutive years. This five year rotation requirement 
replaces the current seven year rotation requirement effective 
January 1, 2010. 

An order adopting revisions to the "Rules Governing Annual 
Audited Financial Reports" was entered on January 23, 2008. 
The revisions to the rules will become effective on January 1, 
2010, at which time the rules will be renamed to the "Rules 
Governing Annual Financial Reporting." The revisions to 
subsection 14VAC5-270-80 D changes the seven year CPA 
rotation requirement to a five year rotation requirement for 
audits of the year beginning January 1, 2010, and thereafter. 
Insurers and other affected parties are reminded that any 
partner or other person who has been responsible for 
rendering the annual audited financial report for the period 
ending December 31, 2005, and all subsequent years to date 
shall be disqualified from acting in that or a similar capacity 
for the insurer, or its insurance subsidiaries or affiliates, with 
respect to the audited financial reports filed for the period 
ending December 31, 2010, through December 31, 2014. An 
insurer may request relief from this rotation requirement 
based on the existence of unusual circumstances. The Bureau 
may consider the following factors in determining if relief 
should be granted: 

1. The number of partners, expertise of the partners, or the 
number of insurance clients in the currently registered firm; 

2. The premium volume of the insurer; or 

3. The number of jurisdictions in which the insurer 
transacts business. 

Written requests for relief from this rotation requirement 
should address the factors listed above, and identify also the 
person and, if applicable, the title of the person or persons 
responsible for rendering the annual audited financial reports 

for each of the last five years. A foreign or alien company 
seeking relief shall include with its request a letter from its 
domiciliary regulator specifying the reason relief was granted 
in the domiciliary jurisdiction and, if applicable, explaining 
the conditions of the relief granted. Written requests for relief 
in connection with audited financial reports for years ending 
December 31, 2010, and beyond should be received by the 
Bureau no later than December 1 of the reporting year. 

All companies which are required to file an annual audited 
financial report pursuant to 14VAC5-270-30, including 
foreign and alien insurers, must comply with the requirements 
as set forth in 14VAC5-270-80 D and as restated in this letter. 

Insurers and other affected parties are reminded also that the 
letter required by 14VAC5-270-130 should indicate 
compliance with 14VAC5-270-80 by disclosing the number 
of years the engagement partner (partner responsible for 
rendering an annual audited financial report) has served in 
that capacity with respect to the company. 

Questions from domestic insurers regarding the 
implementation of the contents of this letter should be 
directed to: Gregory T. Chew, Supervisor, Financial Analysis 
Section, Domestic Companies, Financial Regulation Division, 
Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation Commission, P.O. 
Box 1157, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9214, 
or email greg.chew@scc.virginia.gov. 

Questions from health maintenance organizations regarding 
the implementation of the contents of this letter should be 
directed to: Andy R. Delbridge, Supervisor, Company 
Licensing and Regulatory Compliance Section, Financial 
Regulation Division, Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation 
Commission, P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (804) 371-9616, or email 
andy.delbridge@scc.virginia.gov. 

Questions from foreign insurers regarding the implementation 
of the contents of this letter should be directed to: Gregory D. 
Walker, Supervisor, Financial Analysis Section, Non-
Domestic Companies, Financial Regulation Division, Bureau 
of Insurance, State Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 1157, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9604, or email 
greg.walker@scc.virginia.gov. 

/s/ Alfred W. Gross 
Commissioner of Insurance 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
Virginia Department of Environmental Quality  

Notice of Availability of 2008 Fish Tissue Monitoring Data 

Notice of Availability of 2008 Fish Tissue Monitoring 
Data 

Pursuant to § 62.1-44.19:6 A 3 the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality (DEQ) is giving notice that new data 
concerning the presence of toxic contaminants in fish tissue 
are available for calendar year 2008. Fish monitoring in 2008 
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was performed at selected sites in the following river basins 
in Virginia: the York River watershed (Mattaponi River, 
South Anna, North Anna including Lake Anna and Pamunkey 
River drainages), the Chesapeake Bay Small Coastal and 
Atlantic Ocean Small Coastal drainages, and the Potomac 
River and James River watersheds. 

The new data have been posted on the DEQ website at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/fishtissue/fishtissue.html. All 
other data for fish and/or sediments analyzed by DEQ 
between 1993 and 2007 can also be found on this website. 

For additional information contact Gabriel Darkwah at (804) 
698-4127, toll free 1-800-592-5482, or via email 
gabriel.darkwah@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Order - Tascon Group, Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Tascon Group, 
Inc. for alleged violations at the Harvest Glen development in 
Chesterfield County. The proposed consent order describes 
the alleged violations, requires corrective action and contains 
a civil charge. A description of the proposed action is 
available at the DEQ office named below or online at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. Allison Dunaway will accept 
comments by email at acdunaway@deq.virginia.gov, FAX 
(804) 527-5106 or postal mail at Department of 
Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A 
Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, from July 6, 2009, to 
August 6, 2009. 

Development of TMDL Implementation Plan - Upper 
Nansemond River Watershed 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), the 
Department of Conservation and Recreation (DCR), the 
Hampton Roads Planning District Commission, Isle of Wight 
County, and the City of Suffolk invite citizens to a public 
meeting to discuss the development of an implementation 
plan (IP) to address fecal bacteria impairments in the Upper 
Nansemond River Watershed. Water quality monitoring 
indicates that bacteria levels in the Nansemond River violate 
Virginia's water quality standards for shellfishing and primary 
contact recreation. A total maximum daily load (TMDL) 
study for the impairments was approved by EPA in 2006 and 
is available on DEQ's website at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl/apptmdls/jamesrvr/nanshgl.pdf 

The implementation plan will identify ways to meet the 
pollutant reductions outlined in the TMDL study.  

The first public meeting to begin development of the TMDL 
Implementation Plan will be held on Thursday, July 9, 2009, 
at 6:30 p.m., King's Fork Middle School, 350 Kings Fork 
Road, Suffolk, VA 23434. 

The purpose of the meeting is to discuss the proposed 
reductions in bacteria needed in the watershed and to solicit 
public participation for the IP development.  The IPs will 

include the corrective actions needed to reduce bacteria and 
the associated costs, benefits and environmental impacts.  The 
IPs will also provide measurable goals and a timeline of 
expected achievement of water quality objectives.  A fact 
sheet on the development of the IPs is available upon request. 

How to comment: The public comment period on the 
development of the IP will end on August 10, 2009.  Oral 
comments will be accepted and addressed at the public 
meeting. Additional questions or information requests should 
be addressed to Jennifer Howell. Written comments and 
inquires should include the name, address, and telephone 
number of the person submitting the comments and should be 
sent to Jennifer Howell, Department of Environmental 
Quality, 5636 Southern Blvd., Virginia Beach, VA 23462, 
telephone (757) 518-2111, FAX (757) 518-2003, or email 
jshowell@deq.virginia.gov or Jennifer Tribo, Hampton Roads 
Planning District Commission (HRPDC), 723 Woodlake Dr., 
Chesapeake, VA 23320, telephone (757) 366-4344, FAX 
(757) 523-4881, or email jtribo@hrpdc.org. 

Restore Water Quality - Cripple Creek 

Announcement of an effort to restore water quality in Cripple 
Creek located in Wythe County, Virginia. 

Public meeting location: Speedwell Volunteer Fire 
Department in Speedwell, Virginia, on Thursday, July 23, 
2009, from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality and the Department of Conservation and Recreation 
are announcing a study to restore water quality, a public 
comment opportunity, and public meeting. 

Meeting description: Second public meeting on a study to 
restore water quality. 

Description of study: DEQ is working to identify sources of 
bacteria contamination in the waters of Cripple Creek. The 
"impaired" stream segments are estimated to be 
approximately 14.4 miles of Cripple Creek, including the 
lower mainstem from the New River confluence upstream to 
the Dean Branch confluence. It also includes the mainstem 
from the Dry Run confluence downstream to the Francis Mill 
Creek confluence. The last segment extends from the 
headwaters upstream of US Route 21, downstream to the 
confluence of Blue Spring Creek. The stream is impaired for 
failing to meet the recreational use because of fecal coliform 
bacteria violations. 

A TMDL is the total amount of a pollutant a water body can 
contain and still meet water quality standards. The plan will 
identify the sources of bacteria contamination and develop a 
TMDL for bacteria.  To restore water quality, contamination 
levels must be reduced to the TMDL amount. 

How a decision is made: The development of a TMDL 
includes public meetings and a public comment period once 
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the study report is drafted. After public comments have been 
considered and addressed, DEQ will submit the TMDL report 
to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency for approval. 

How to comment:  DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax or postal mail. Written comments should include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ during the comment 
period, July 23, 2009, to August 24, 2009. DEQ also accepts 
written and oral comments at the public meeting announced 
in this notice. 

To review fact sheets: Fact sheets are available on the 
impaired waters from the contacts below or on the DEQ 
website at www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl.  

Contact for additional information: Shelley D. Williams, 
Regional TMDL Coordinator, Department of Environmental 
Quality, Southwest Regional Office, 355 Deadmore Street, 
P.O. Box 1688, Abingdon, VA 24212-1688, telephone (276) 
676-4845, FAX (276) 676-4899, or email 
sdwilliams@deq.virginia.gov. 

Restore Water Quality - Elk Creek 

Announcement of an effort to restore water quality in Elk 
Creek located in Grayson County, Virginia. 

Public meeting location: Elk Creek Rescue Squad Building, 
on Tuesday, July 21, 2009, from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality and the Department of Conservation and Recreation 
are announcing a study to restore water quality, a public 
comment opportunity, and public meeting. 

Meeting description: Second public meeting on a study to 
restore water quality. 

Description of study: DEQ has been working to identify 
sources of bacteria contamination in the waters of Elk Creek.  
The "impaired" stream segments are estimated to be 
approximately 19.64 miles of Elk Creek, including the 
mainstem of Elk Creek from the confluence with New River 
upstream to the Comers Rock Branch confluence. The stream 
is impaired for failing to meet the recreational use because of 
fecal coliform bacteria violations. 

A TMDL is the total amount of a pollutant a water body can 
contain and still meet water quality standards. The plan will 
identify the sources of bacteria contamination and develop a 
TMDL for bacteria.  To restore water quality, contamination 
levels must be reduced to the TMDL amount.  

How a decision is made: The development of a TMDL 
includes public meetings and a public comment period once 
the study report is drafted. After public comments have been 
considered and addressed, DEQ will submit the TMDL report 
to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency for approval. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax or postal mail. Written comments should include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ during the comment 
period, July 21, 2009, to August 21, 2009. DEQ also accepts 
written and oral comments at the public meeting announced 
in this notice. 

To review fact sheets: Fact sheets are available on the 
impaired waters from the contacts below or on the DEQ 
website at www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl.  

Contact for additional information: Shelley D. Williams, 
Regional TMDL Coordinator, Department of Environmental 
Quality, Southwest Regional Office, 355 Deadmore Street, 
P.O. Box 1688, Abingdon, VA 24212-1688. telephone (276) 
676-4845, FAX (276) 676-4899, or email 
sdwilliams@deq.virginia.gov. 

Restore Water Quality - Middle Fork Holston River 

Announcement of an effort to restore water quality in Middle 
Fork Holston River in Smyth and Washington County, 
Virginia. 

Public meeting location: Glade Spring Community Center in 
Glade Spring, Virginia, on Tuesday, July 28, 2009 from 
6 p.m. to 8 p.m. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality and the Department of Conservation and Recreation 
are announcing a study to restore water quality, a public 
comment opportunity, and public meeting. 

Meeting description: Second public meeting on a study to 
restore water quality. 

Description of study: DEQ has been working to identify 
sources of pollutants affecting the aquatic organisms and 
sources of bacteria contamination in the waters of the Middle 
Fork Holston River. The "impaired" stream segments are 
estimated to be approximately 44.4 miles of the Middle Fork 
Holston River.  The stream is impaired for failing to meet the 
aquatic life use (benthic impairment) based on violations of 
the general standard for aquatic organisms and failure to meet 
the recreational use because of fecal coliform bacteria 
violations.  The bacteria impairment extends from the Dutton 
Bridge confluence downstream to the Neff community.  The 
benthic impairment extends from the Rt. 91 bridge 
downstream to the Neff community. 

During the study, the pollutants impairing the aquatic 
community will be identified and total maximum daily loads, 
or TMDLs, developed for the impaired waters. A TMDL is 
the total amount of a pollutant a water body can contain and 
still meet water quality standards. DEQ will also determine 
the sources of bacteria contamination and develop a TMDL 
for bacteria.  To restore water quality, contamination levels 
must be reduced to the TMDL amount. 
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How a decision is made: The development of a TMDL 
includes public meetings and a public comment period once 
the study report is drafted. After public comments have been 
considered and addressed, DEQ will submit the TMDL report 
to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency for approval. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax, or postal mail. Written comments should include the 
name, address, and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ during the comment 
period, July 28, 2009, to August 28, 2009. DEQ also accepts 
written and oral comments at the public meeting announced 
in this notice. 

To review fact sheets: Fact sheets are available on the 
impaired waters from the contacts below or on the DEQ 
website at www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl.  

Contact for additional information: Shelley D. Williams, 
Regional TMDL Coordinator, Department of Environmental 
Quality, Southwest Regional Office, 355 Deadmore Street, 
P.O. Box 1688, Abingdon, VA 24212-1688, telephone (276) 
676-4845, FAX (276) 676-4899, or email 
sdwilliams@deq.virginia.gov. 

Restore Water Quality - Morris Creek 
Public meeting: July 15, 2009, at the Charles City County 
Government and School Board Administration Building 
Auditorium, 10900 Courthouse Road, Charles City, VA 
23030. An afternoon public meeting will be held from 2 p.m. 
to 4 p.m. and the evening public meeting from 6 p.m. to 
8 p.m. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality and the Department of Conservation and Recreation 
are presenting the final draft report of a study to restore water 
quality, a public comment opportunity, and two public 
meetings. 

Meeting description:  Final public meetings on a study to 
restore water quality of the recreation/swimming use of 
Morris Creek, which is impaired due to bacterial violations. 

Description of study: Virginia agencies have been working to 
identify sources of the bacterial contamination in Morris 
Creek. This impairment spans approximately 7.73 stream 
miles in Charles City County.  This stream is impaired for 
failure to meet the recreational (swimming) designated use 
because of bacterial water quality standard violations. 

Stream County 
Impairment 

Length 
(mi) 

Impairment 

Morris Creek Charles 
City 7.73 

Recreational 
(swimming) 

Use 

The study reports the current status of the creek via sampling 
performed by the Virginia Department of Environmental 

Quality and the possible sources of bacterial contamination.  
The study recommends total maximum daily loads, or 
TMDLs, for the impaired creek. A TMDL is the total amount 
of a pollutant a water body can contain and still meet water 
quality standards. To restore water quality, bacterial levels 
have to be reduced to the TMDL amount. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax, or postal mail. Written comments should include the 
name, address, and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ during the comment 
period, which will expire on Thursday, August 13, 2009. 
DEQ also accepts written and oral comments at the public 
meeting announced in this notice. 

Contact for additional information: Margaret Smigo, TMDL 
Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, 
Piedmont Regional Office, 4949A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 
23060, telephone (804) 527-5124, FAX (804) 527-5106, or 
email mjsmigo@deq.virginia.gov. 

Restore Water Quality - Wolf Creek 
Announcement of an effort to restore water quality in Wolf 
Creek located in Washington County, Virginia. 

Public meeting location: Glade Spring Community Center in 
Glade Spring, Virginia, on Tuesday, July 28, 2009, from 
6 p.m. to 8 p.m. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality and the Department of Conservation and Recreation 
are announcing a study to restore water quality, a public 
comment opportunity, and public meeting. 

Meeting description: Second public meeting on a study to 
restore water quality. 

Description of study: DEQ has been working to identify 
sources of pollutants affecting the aquatic organisms and 
sources of bacteria contamination in the waters of Wolf 
Creek. The "impaired" stream segments are estimated to be 
approximately 7.87 miles of Wolf Creek, from the lake 
backwaters upstream to the Town Creek confluence. The 
stream is impaired for failing to meet the aquatic life use 
based on violations of the general standard for aquatic 
organisms and failure to meet the recreational use because of 
fecal coliform bacteria violations. 

During the study, the pollutants impairing the aquatic 
community will be identified and total maximum daily loads, 
or TMDLs, developed for the impaired waters. A TMDL is 
the total amount of a pollutant a water body can contain and 
still meet water quality standards. DEQ will also determine 
the sources of bacteria contamination and develop a TMDL 
for bacteria.  To restore water quality, contamination levels 
must be reduced to the TMDL amount. 

How a decision is made: The development of a TMDL 
includes public meetings and a public comment period once 
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the study report is drafted. After public comments have been 
considered and addressed, DEQ will submit the TMDL report 
to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency for approval. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax or postal mail. Written comments should include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ during the comment 
period, July 28, 2009, to August 28, 2009. DEQ also accepts 
written and oral comments at the public meeting announced 
in this notice. 

To review fact sheets: Fact sheets are available on the 
impaired waters from the contacts below or on the DEQ 
website at www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl. 

Contact for additional information: Shelley D. Williams, 
Regional TMDL Coordinator, Department of Environmental 
Quality, Southwest Regional Office, 355 Deadmore Street, 
P.O. Box 1688, Abingdon, VA 24212-1688, telephone (276) 
676-4845, FAX (276) 676-4899, or email 
sdwilliams@deq.virginia.gov 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY AND 
DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND 

RECREATION 

Total Maximum Daily Load - Middle River 

The Department of Conservation and Recreation (DCR) and 
the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) seek written 
and oral comments from interested persons on the 
development of a total maximum daily load (TMDL) 
implementation plan for Middle River and its tributaries in 
Augusta County.  The Upper Middle River, Lower Middle 
River, Moffett Creek, and Polecat Draft were originally listed 
as impaired in the 1996 303d Report.  All streams were listed 
for violations of the water quality standard for bacteria and 
the Upper Middle River segment and Moffett Creek were 
additionally listed for the general aquatic life (benthic) 
standard.  TMDLs for bacteria were developed to address the 
bacterial impairments in all streams. A TMDL for sediment in 
Upper Middle River and Moffett Creek were developed to 
address the benthic impairments. These TMDLs were 
approved by EPA on August 10, 2004, and are available on 
DEQ's website at 
http://gisweb.deq.virginia.gov/tmdlapp/tmdl_report_search.cfm. 

Section 62.1-44.19:7 C of the Code of Virginia requires the 
development of an implementation plan (IP) for approved 
TMDLs. The IP should provide measurable goals and the date 
of expected achievement of water quality objectives. The IP 
should also include the corrective actions needed and their 
associated costs, benefits, and environmental impacts. 

Public participation is critical to the implementation planning 
process. DCR and DEQ will hold a first public meeting on 
July 16, 2009, at 7 p.m. to inform the public of the IP 

development and to solicit participation.  The meeting will be 
held at the Churchville Fire Hall, 3829 Churchville Avenue, 
Churchville, VA.  Following this first informational meeting, 
DCR and DEQ will hold meetings for interested stakeholders 
to join working groups, which will direct the process and 
provide input to the agencies. 

The public comment period for this first public meeting will 
end on August 17, 2009. Questions or information requests 
should be addressed to Nesha Mizel, Department of 
Conservation and Recreation, telephone (540) 332-9238. 
Written comments should include the name, address, and 
telephone number of the person submitting the comments and 
should be sent to Nesha Mizel, 44 Sangers Lane, Suite 102, 
Staunton, VA 24401, telephone (540) 332-9238, or email 
nesha.mizel@dcr.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF LONG-TERM CARE ADMINISTRATORS 

Notice of Periodic Review 

The Board of Long-Term Care Administrators has submitted 
a notice of periodic review: 

18VAC95-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Nursing Home Administrators 

Comment period begins on May 25, 2009, and ends on June 
24, 2009. 

Review Announcement: The Board of Long-Term Care 
Administrators within the Department of Health Professions 
is preparing to conduct a periodic review of 18VAC95-20, 
Regulations Governing the Practice of Nursing Home 
Administrators. 

The board is receiving comment on whether there is a need 
for amendments for clarification or for consistency with 
changes in practice. 

Regulations are located on the Virginia Administrative Code 
website at http://regulations.legis.virginia.gov. 

Contact for additional information: Elaine J. Yeatts, 
Regulatory Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, 
telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX (804) 527-4434, or email 
elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

STATE LOTTERY DEPARTMENT 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the State Lottery 
Department were filed with the Virginia Registrar of 
Regulations on June 17, 2009. The orders may be viewed at 
the State Lottery Department, 900 East Main Street, 
Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, 910 Capitol Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
Virginia. 
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Final Rules for Game Operation: 

Director's Order Number Forty-Four (09) 

Virginia Lottery's "Corvette® Lovers Summer Fun 
Sweepstakes" (effective 6/17/09) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-One (09) 

Virginia's Instant Lottery Game #1111 "Corvette® Cash" 
(effective 6/17/09) 

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

Notice of Periodic Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 36 (2006), The Virginia 
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy (DMME) is 
conducting a periodic review and invites public comment on 
the following regulation: 

4VAC25-125, Regulations Governing Coal Stockpiles and 
Bulk Storage and Handling Facilities 

The department will consider whether this existing regulation 
is essential to protecting the health, safety and welfare of the 
public. The department welcomes specific comments on the 
performance and effectiveness of this regulation and also 
requests suggestions to improve the content and organization 
of the regulation to make it more understandable and useful. 

The comment period for this review begins on July 6, 2009, 
and ends at 5 p.m. on August 5, 2009. Comments may be 
submitted to David Spears, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, 1100 Bank 
Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219-3402 or email 
david.spears@dmme.virginia.gov. 

Regulations may be viewed online at the Virginia Regulatory 
Town Hall site located at http://www.townhall.virginia.gov or 
the Virginia Administrative Code at 
http://regulations.legis.virginia.gov, or copies will be sent 
upon request. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Mailing Address: Virginia Code Commission, 910 Capitol 
Street, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations 

Agencies are required to use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) when filing regulations for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. The Office of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations implemented a web-based application 
called RIS for filing regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register. The Registrar's office has 
worked closely with the Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) to coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory 
Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one 
another by sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

The Office of the Virginia Register is working toward the 
eventual elimination of the requirement that agencies file 
print copies of regulatory packages. Until that time, agencies 
may file petitions for rulemaking, notices of intended 
regulatory actions and general notices in electronic form only; 
however, until further notice, agencies must continue to file 
print copies of proposed, final, fast-track and emergency 
regulatory packages. 

ERRATA 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 
Title of Regulation: 16VAC25-175. Federal Identical 
Construction Industry Standards. 

Publication:  25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 June 8, 2009. 

Corrections to Final Regulation: 

Page 3640, Titles of Regulations, after "amending" insert 
"16VAC25-175-1926.20,"  

Page 3640, Titles of Regulations, after "16VAC25-175-
1926.1127" strike "; adding 16VAC25-175-1926.20"  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1944 

BOARD OF LONG-TERM CARE ADMINISTRATORS 
Titles of Regulations: 18VAC95-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Nursing Home Administrators. 

18VAC95-30. Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Assisted Living Facility Administrators. 

Publication: 25:19 VA.R. 3420 May 25, 2009. 

Corrections to Final Regulation: 

Page 3420, 18VAC95-20-70 A, line 1, after "changes" strike 
"of" 

Page 3420, 18VAC95-30-30 A, line 1, after "changes" strike 
"of" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1932 
 

 


