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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, the Virginia Tax Bulletin issued 
periodically by the Department of Taxation, and notices of public 
hearings and open meetings of state agencies. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency's response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor's 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor's objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
Proposed regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating 
agency at any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 12 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
23:7 VA.R. 1023-1140 December 11, 2006, refers to Volume 23, Issue 
7, pages 1023 through 1140 of the Virginia Register issued on 
December 11, 2006. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: R. Steven Landes, 
Chairman; John S. Edwards, Vice Chairman; Ryan T. McDougle; 
Robert Hurt; Robert L. Calhoun; Frank S. Ferguson; E.M. Miller, 
Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; James F. Almand; Jane M. Roush. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
June T. Chandler, Assistant Registrar. 
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

July 2009 through April 2010 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

INDEX 3 Volume 25  July 2009 

25:23 July 1, 2009 July 20, 2009 

25:24 July 15, 2009 August 3, 2009 

25:25 July 29, 2009 August 17, 2009 

25:26 August 12, 2009 August 31, 2009 

FINAL INDEX Volume 25  October 2009 

26:1 August 26, 2009 September 14, 2009 

26:2 September 9, 2009 September 28, 2009 

26:3 September 23, 2009 October 12, 2009 

26:4 October 7, 2009 October 26, 2009 

26:5 October 21, 2009 November 9, 2009 

26:6 November 4, 2009 November 23, 2009 

26:7 November 17, 2009 (Tuesday) December 7, 2009 

INDEX 1 Volume 26  January 2010 

26:8 December 2, 2009 December 21, 2009 

26:9 December 15, 2009 (Tuesday) January 4, 2010 

26:10 December 29, 2009 (Tuesday) January 18, 2010 

26:11 January 13, 2010 February 1, 2010 

26:12 January 27, 2010 February 15, 2010 

26:13 February 10, 2010 March 1, 2010 

26:14 February 24, 2010 March 15, 2010 

INDEX 2 Volume 26  April 2010 

26:15 March 10, 2010 March 29, 2010 

26:16 March 24, 2010 April 12, 2010 

26:17 April 7, 2010 April 26, 2010 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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The table printed below lists regulation sections, by Virginia Administrative Code (VAC) title, that have been amended, 
added or repealed in the Virginia Register since the regulations were originally published or last supplemented in VAC (the 
Spring 2009 VAC Supplement includes final regulations published through Virginia Register Volume 25, Issue 12, dated 
February 16, 2009, and fast-track regulations published through Virginia Register Volume 25, Issue 11, dated February 2, 
2009). Emergency regulations, if any, are listed, followed by the designation "emer," and errata pertaining to final regulations 
are listed. Proposed regulations are not listed here. The table lists the sections in numerical order and shows action taken, the 
volume, issue and page number where the section appeared, and the effective date of the section. 

CUMULATIVE TABLE OF VIRGINIA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE SECTIONS ADOPTED, AMENDED, OR REPEALED 

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
Title 2. Agriculture 
2 VAC 5-100-10 through 2VAC5-100-40 Repealed 25:16 VA.R. 2831 5/13/09 
2 VAC 5-320-10 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2565 -- 
2 VAC 5-325-10 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2565 -- 
2 VAC 5-330-30 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2565 -- 
2 VAC 5-330-30 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2710 3/9/09 
2 VAC 5-340-140 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2565 -- 
2 VAC 5-340-170 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2565 -- 
2 VAC 5-350-20 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2565 -- 
2 VAC 5-370-10 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2566 -- 
2 VAC 5-380-10 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2566 -- 
2 VAC 5-390-20 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2566 -- 
2 VAC 5-390-80 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2566 -- 
2 VAC 5-400-10 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2566 -- 
2 VAC 5-440-20 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2566 -- 
Title 4. Conservation and Natural Resources 
4 VAC 20-260-30 emer Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3783 6/1/09-6/30/09 
4 VAC 20-270-10 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2591 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-270-30 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2591 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-270-30 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2831 3/26/09 
4 VAC 20-270-40 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2592 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-270-40 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2832 3/26/09 
4 VAC 20-270-40 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3783 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-270-50 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3784 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-270-55 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2592 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-270-55 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2832 3/26/09 
4 VAC 20-270-58 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3784 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-270-60 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2592 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-320-70 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3784 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-395-10 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3289 6/30/09 
4 VAC 20-395-20 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3289 6/30/09 
4 VAC 20-395-30 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3290 6/30/09 
4 VAC 20-395-40 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3290 6/30/09 
4 VAC 20-450-30 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3785 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-490-20 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2593 3/1/09 
4 VAC 20-490-30 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2595 3/1/09 
4 VAC 20-490-40 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2595 3/1/09 
4 VAC 20-490-41 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2595 3/1/09 
4 VAC 20-530-10 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2596 2/26/09-3/28/09 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
4 VAC 20-530-20 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2596 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-530-31 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2597 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-530-31 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2833 3/26/09 
4 VAC 20-530-40 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2597 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-560-40 emer Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3292 5/1/09-5/30/09 
4 VAC 20-620-70 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2597 3/1/09 
4 VAC 20-650-10 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3785 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-650-20 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3786 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-650-30 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3787 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-670-20 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3788 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-670-25 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3788 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-670-30 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3788 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-670-40 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3789 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-700-20 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2598 3/1/09 
4 VAC 20-880-30 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3789 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-950-30 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2833 4/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1040-25 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3789 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1090-30 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3790 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1120-31 Added 25:21 VA.R. 3792 7/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1120-32 Added 25:21 VA.R. 3792 7/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1140-20 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3793 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1200-10 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2834 4/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1200-20 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2834 4/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1200-30 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2834 4/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1210-10 emer Added 25:16 VA.R. 2835 3/26/09-4/24/09 
4 VAC 20-1210-10 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3293 4/30/09 
4 VAC 20-1210-20 emer Added 25:16 VA.R. 2835 3/26/09-4/24/09 
4 VAC 20-1210-20 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3293 4/30/09 
4 VAC 20-1210-30 emer Added 25:16 VA.R. 2835 3/26/09-4/24/09 
4 VAC 20-1210-30 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3293 4/30/09 
4 VAC 25-31 (Forms) Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2835 -- 
4 VAC 25-40-25 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3478 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-90 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3478 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-120 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3478 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-130 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3479 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-190 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3479 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-260 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3479 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-350 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3479 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-365 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3479 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-410 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3479 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-720 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3479 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-780 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3479 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-800 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3480 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-810 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3481 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-880 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3481 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-890 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3482 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-893 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3482 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-925 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3482 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-1095 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3482 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-1600 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3482 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-2790 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3482 7/8/09 



Cumulative Table of VAC Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed 

Volume 25, Issue 23 Virginia Register of Regulations July 20, 2009 

4177 

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
4 VAC 25-40-2800 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3482 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-2980 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3482 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-3050 Repealed 25:20 VA.R. 3482 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-3060 Repealed 25:20 VA.R. 3483 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-3070 Repealed 25:20 VA.R. 3483 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-3080 Repealed 25:20 VA.R. 3483 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-3090 Repealed 25:20 VA.R. 3483 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-3110 Repealed 25:20 VA.R. 3483 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-3120 Repealed 25:20 VA.R. 3483 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-3800 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3483 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-3830 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3483 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-3840 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3483 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-3990 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3484 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-4060 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3484 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-4061 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3484 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-4062 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3484 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-4063 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3484 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-4064 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3484 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-4065 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3484 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-4066 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3484 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-4240 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3485 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-4260 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3485 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-4400 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3485 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-130 (Forms) Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2836 -- 
4 VAC 50-60-10 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2838 7/1/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1100 through 4VAC50-60-1140 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2849-2851 7/1/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1150 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2851 5/13/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1160 through 4 VAC 50-60-1180 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2853-2868 7/1/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1182 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2869 7/1/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1184 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2869 7/1/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1186 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2870 7/1/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1188 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2871 7/1/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1190 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2871 7/1/09 
Title 5. Corporations 
5 VAC 5-20-10 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2601 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-20 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2601 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-80 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2602 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-90 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2602 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-100 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2602 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-120 through 5 VAC 5-20-150 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2603-2604 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-170 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2604 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-180 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2605 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-240 through 5 VAC 5-20-280 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2605-2608 3/11/09 
Title 6. Criminal Justice and Corrections 
6 VAC 20-20-25 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4027 1/1/10 
6 VAC 20-50-21 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4029 1/1/10 
Title 8. Education 
8 VAC 20-80-10 through 8 VAC 20-80-190 Repealed 25:21 VA.R. 3849 7/7/09 
8 VAC 20-81-10 through 8 VAC 20-81-340 Added 25:21 VA.R. 3849 7/7/09 
8 VAC 20-131-5 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3850 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-30 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3851 7/31/09 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
8 VAC 20-131-50 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3852 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-60 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3857 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-80 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3859 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-100 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3859 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-140 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3860 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-210 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3860 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-270 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3861 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-280 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3862 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-290 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3863 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-300 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3864 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-310 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3866 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-325 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3867 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-360 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3867 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-521-60 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3295 7/15/09 
8 VAC 20-650-30 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3297 7/15/09 
Title 9. Environment 
9 VAC 5-10-20 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2059 4/2/09 
9 VAC 5-20-21 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3298 6/24/09 
9 VAC 5-30-15 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3302 6/24/09 
9 VAC 5-30-80 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3302 6/24/09 
9 VAC 5-80-1170 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3302 6/24/09 
9 VAC 5-80-1615 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3492 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-1625 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3503 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-1695 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3504 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-1915 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3505 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-1925 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3506 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-1935 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3507 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-1945 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3507 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-1955 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3508 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-1965 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3508 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-2010 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3508 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-2020 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3518 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-2140 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3518 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-2195 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3519 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-2200 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3520 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-2210 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3520 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-2220 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3521 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-2230 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3522 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-2240 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3522 7/23/09 
9 VAC 20-80 (Forms) Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3149 -- 
9 VAC 25-32-480 Erratum 25:15 VA.R. 2804 -- 
9 VAC 25-151-10 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3306 6/24/09 
9 VAC 25-151-40 through 9 VAC 25-151-290 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3308-3379 6/24/09 
9 VAC 25-151-310 through 9 VAC 25-151-370 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3379-3385 6/24/09 
9 VAC 25-190-10 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3385 6/24/09 
9 VAC 25-190-20 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3386 6/24/09 
9 VAC 25-190-50 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3386 6/24/09 
9 VAC 25-190-60 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3387 6/24/09 
9 VAC 25-190-65 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3388 6/24/09 
9 VAC 25-190-70 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3389 6/24/09 
9 VAC 25-580 (Forms) Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3154 -- 
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9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3523 7/8/09 
9 VAC 25-720-60 Erratum 25:19 VA.R. 3464 -- 
9 VAC 25-720-60 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3531 7/8/09 
9 VAC 25-720-90 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3544 7/8/09 
9 VAC 25-720-110 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3546 7/8/09 
9 VAC 25-720-120 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2247 4/2/09 
Title 10. Finance and Financial Institutions 
10 VAC 5-200-60 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2609 3/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-110 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2609 3/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-130 Added 25:14 VA.R. 2613 3/1/09 
Title 11. Gaming 
11 VAC 10-20-330 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3162 6/1/09 
11 VAC 10-50-30 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3005 5/27/09 
11 VAC 10-70-20 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2712 4/15/09 
11 VAC 10-70-90 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2712 4/15/09 
11 VAC 10-110-90 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3407 6/1/09 
11 VAC 10-120-80 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3006 5/27/09 
11 VAC 10-180-10 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3007 5/27/09 
11 VAC 10-180-35 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3007 5/27/09 
11 VAC 10-180-70 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3008 5/27/09 
11 VAC 10-180-80 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3009 5/27/09 
11 VAC 10-180-110 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3010 5/27/09 
Title 12. Health 
12 VAC 5-195-20 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4063 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-30 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4063 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-70 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4064 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-140 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4065 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-180 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4065 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-190 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4066 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-280 through 12 VAC 5-195-340 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4067-4071 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-360 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4071 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-370 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4072 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-380 Repealed 25:22 VA.R. 4072 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-390 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4072 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-400 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4073 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-410 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4073 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-420 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4073 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-450 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4073 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-460 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4073 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-480 through 12 VAC 5-195-550 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4074-4076 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-580 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4076 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-590 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4077 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-600 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4079 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-610 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4081 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-630 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4081 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-640 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4081 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-660 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4082 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-670 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4083 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-230-540 Amended 25:13 VA.R. 2316 4/1/09 
12 VAC 5-230-550 Amended 25:13 VA.R. 2317 4/1/09 
12 VAC 5-230-560 Amended 25:13 VA.R. 2317 4/1/09 
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12 VAC 5-481-451 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3888 8/6/09 
12 VAC 30-10-150 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2614 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-10-560 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3898 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-10-930 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2615 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-20-90 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2615 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-20-140 Repealed 25:21 VA.R. 3899 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-20-141 Added 25:21 VA.R. 3900 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-20-210 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3571 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-20-500 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2618 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-20-520 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2618 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-30-10 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3577 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-30-20 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3902 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-40-10 Erratum 25:19 VA.R. 3464 -- 
12 VAC 30-40-10 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3574 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-40-105 Added 25:21 VA.R. 3904 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-40-280 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3904 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-40-290 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3905 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-50-10 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2618 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-50-226 emer Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4085 7/1/09-6/30/10 
12 VAC 30-50-420 emer Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4089 7/1/09-6/30/10 
12 VAC 30-50-430 emer Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4091 7/1/09-6/30/10 
12 VAC 30-60-200 Added 25:21 VA.R. 3907 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-60-500 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3586 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-80-30 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3909 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-80-40 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3408 7/1/09 
12 VAC 30-80-95 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2251 4/2/09 
12 VAC 30-110-40 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2619 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-370 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2619 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-380 Repealed 25:14 VA.R. 2619 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-670 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2620 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-680 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2620 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-700 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2620 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-720 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2620 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-741 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2623 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-980 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2623 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-990 Repealed 25:14 VA.R. 2623 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-1000 Repealed 25:14 VA.R. 2623 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-1040 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2623 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-1500 Added 25:21 VA.R. 3912 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-120-70 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3599 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-90 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3600 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-140 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2624 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-120-140 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3602 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-211 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3605 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-213 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3608 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-225 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3609 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-229 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3612 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-237 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3613 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-247 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3614 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-700 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3616 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-710 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3619 7/9/09 
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12 VAC 30-120-754 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3620 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-758 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3621 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-762 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3622 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-770 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3623 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-900 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3625 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-910 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3410 7/1/09 
12 VAC 30-120-910 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3627 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-920 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3628 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-970 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3630 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-1500 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3632 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-1550 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3634 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-2000 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3636 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-2010 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3637 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-130-260 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2626 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-270 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2626 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-290 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2627 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-370 Repealed 25:14 VA.R. 2628 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-380 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2628 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-410 Repealed 25:14 VA.R. 2628 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-540 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2629 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-750 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3576 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-130-780 Repealed 25:20 VA.R. 3576 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-130-790 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3576 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-130-800 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2630 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-820 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2632 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-890 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2633 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-910 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2634 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-141-60 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2635 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-141-120 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2635 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-141-660 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2969 5/13/09 
12 VAC 30-141-720 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2635 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-141-740 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3411 7/1/09 
12 VAC 30-141-760 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2635 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-150-40 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2636 4/15/09 
12 VAC 35-45-10 through 12 VAC 35-45-210 Repealed 25:21 VA.R. 3912 8/6/09 
12 VAC 35-46-10 through 12 VAC 35-46-1140 Added 25:21 VA.R. 3914-3950 8/6/09 
Title 13. Housing 
13 VAC 5-63-220 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3013 6/1/09 
13 VAC 5-100-10 Amended 25:13 VA.R. 2363 2/12/09 
13 VAC 5-100-20 Amended 25:13 VA.R. 2364 2/12/09 
13 VAC 10-40-20 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3951 6/5/09 
13 VAC 10-40-40 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3954 6/5/09 
13 VAC 10-40-50 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3954 6/5/09 
13 VAC 10-40-120 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3956 6/5/09 
13 VAC 10-40-130 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3957 6/5/09 
13 VAC 10-40-140 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3960 6/5/09 
13 VAC 10-40-160 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3961 6/5/09 
13 VAC 10-40-170 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3961 6/5/09 
13 VAC 10-40-220 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3961 6/5/09 
Title 14. Insurance 
14 VAC 5-43-10 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3413 5/15/09 
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14 VAC 5-43-20 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3413 5/15/09 
14 VAC 5-43-30 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3414 5/15/09 
14 VAC 5-170-20 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3186 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-30 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3186 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-50 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3188 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-60 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3188 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-70 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3190 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-75 Added 25:18 VA.R. 3194 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-80 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3196 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-85 Added 25:18 VA.R. 3197 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-150 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3199 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-215 Added 25:18 VA.R. 3237 5/21/09 
Title 16. Labor and Employment 
16 VAC 15-21-30 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639 7/24/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.9 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.95 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.134 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.156 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.303 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.304 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1001 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1003 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1017 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1018 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1025 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1026 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1027 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1028 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1029 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1030 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1043 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1044 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1045 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1047 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1048 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1050 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1051 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1052 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1915.1001 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1915.1026 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-100-1915.9 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-120-1917.5 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-120-1917.71 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3641 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-130-1918.5 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-130-1918.85 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3641 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-175 Errata 25:22 VA.R. 4172 -- 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.60 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.62 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.761 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.1101 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.1126 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
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16 VAC 25-175-1926.1127 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.20 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
Title 18. Professional and Occupational Licensing 
18 VAC 5-21-30 emer Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3643 5/14/09-5/13/10 
18 VAC 10-20-683 Erratum 25:15 VA.R. 2804 -- 
18 VAC 30-20-160 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3656 7/8/09 
18 VAC 30-20-185 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3656 7/8/09 
18 VAC 48-20-10 through 18 VAC 48-20-800 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3657-3678 7/9/09 
18 VAC 48-60-13 Added 25:15 VA.R. 2769 5/15/09 
18 VAC 48-60-17 Added 25:15 VA.R. 2769 5/15/09 
18 VAC 48-60-20 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2770 5/15/09 
18 VAC 48-60-60 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2770 5/15/09 
18 VAC 60-20-16 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3015 7/1/09 
18 VAC 60-20-190 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2970 5/13/09 
18 VAC 65-20-10 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3679 7/8/09 
18 VAC 65-20-60 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3016 7/1/09 
18 VAC 65-20-60 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3679 7/8/09 
18 VAC 65-20-435 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3679 7/8/09 
18 VAC 65-20-436 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3680 7/8/09 
18 VAC 65-30-180 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3016 7/1/09 
18 VAC 76-20-60 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2971 5/13/09 
18 VAC 76-20-70 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2971 5/13/09 
18 VAC 76-40-20 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3239 7/1/09 
18 VAC 90-20-35 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3017 7/1/09 
18 VAC 90-20-36 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3973 7/22/09 
18 VAC 90-20-200 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4101 12/31/09 
18 VAC 90-25-15 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3017 7/1/09 
18 VAC 90-30-100 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3017 7/1/09 
18 VAC 90-50-20 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3017 7/1/09 
18 VAC 90-60-20 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3018 7/1/09 
18 VAC 90-60-90 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2972 5/13/09 
18 VAC 90-60-91 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2972 5/13/09 
18 VAC 90-60-92 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2973 5/13/09 
18 VAC 95-20-10 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3418 6/24/09 
18 VAC 95-20-70 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3420 7/1/09 
18 VAC 95-20-70 Errata 25:22 VA.R. 4172 -- 
18 VAC 95-20-175 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3419 6/24/09 
18 VAC 95-20-390 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3419 6/24/09 
18 VAC 95-30-10 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3420 6/24/09 
18 VAC 95-30-30 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3420 7/1/09 
18 VAC 95-30-30 Errata 25:22 VA.R. 4172 -- 
18 VAC 105-20-60 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3240 7/1/09 
18 VAC 110-20-10 emer Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3018 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-21 Added 25:17 VA.R. 3025 7/1/09 
18 VAC 110-20-400 emer Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3021 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-740 emer Added 25:17 VA.R. 3021 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-750 emer Added 25:17 VA.R. 3021 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-760 emer Added 25:17 VA.R. 3021 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-770 emer Added 25:17 VA.R. 3022 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-780 emer Added 25:17 VA.R. 3022 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-790 emer Added 25:17 VA.R. 3022 4/10/09-4/9/10 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
18 VAC 110-20-800 emer Added 25:17 VA.R. 3022 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 112-20-25 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3025 7/1/09 
18 VAC 112-20-81 Added 25:18 VA.R. 3240 6/10/09 
18 VAC 112-20-90 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3241 6/10/09 
18 VAC 112-20-130 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3241 6/10/09 
18 VAC 112-20-131 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3241 6/10/09 
18 VAC 112-20-150 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3242 6/10/09 
18 VAC 115-20-45 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3704 7/23/09 
18 VAC 115-20-100 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4103 8/5/09 
18 VAC 115-20-130 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3704 7/23/09 
18 VAC 115-30-110 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4103 8/5/09 
18 VAC 115-40-38 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4103 8/5/09 
18 VAC 115-50-40 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3706 7/23/09 
18 VAC 115-50-90 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4103 8/5/09 
18 VAC 115-50-110 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3706 7/23/09 
18 VAC 115-60-50 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3708 7/23/09 
18 VAC 115-60-110 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4104 8/5/09 
18 VAC 115-60-130 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3709 7/23/09 
18 VAC 120-40-15 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2774 5/14/09 
18 VAC 120-40-85 Added 25:15 VA.R. 2774 5/14/09 
18 VAC 120-40-240 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2774 5/14/09 
18 VAC 120-40-411.1 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2775 5/14/09 
18 VAC 125-20-120 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3026 7/1/09 
18 VAC 125-30-50 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3711 7/8/09 
18 VAC 125-30-80 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3026 7/1/09 
18 VAC 125-30-80 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3712 7/8/09 
18 VAC 130-20-30 Erratum 25:15 VA.R. 2804 -- 
18 VAC 140-20-100 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3247 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-10 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3421 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-74 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3424 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-76 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3424 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-80 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3425 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-82 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3425 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-84 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3426 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-90 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3427 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-94 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3429 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-96 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3430 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-97 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3431 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-98 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3432 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-102 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3433 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-104 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3433 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-106 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3433 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-109 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3434 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-140 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3435 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-145 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3435 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-150 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3436 7/1/09 
Title 19. Public Safety 
19 VAC 30-200-10 Added 25:12 VA.R. 2272 4/2/09 
Title 20. Public Utilities and Telecommunications 
20 VAC 5-314-10 through 20 VAC 5-314-170 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3716-3758 5/21/09 
Title 21. Securities and Retail Franchising 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
21 VAC 5-10-40 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4106 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-20-60 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4106 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-20-70 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4107 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-20-90 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4108 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-20-130 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4108 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-20-135 Added 25:22 VA.R. 4108 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-20-150 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4109 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-20-160 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4109 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-30-80 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4109 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-40-30 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4110 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-45-20 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4111 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-80-10 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4112 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-80-70 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4112 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-80-110 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4113 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-80-130 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4113 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-80-140 Repealed 25:22 VA.R. 4114 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-80-145 Added 25:22 VA.R. 4115 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-80-160 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4119 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-110-10 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4124 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-110-40 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4125 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-110-50 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4125 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-110-55 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4126 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-110-65 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4127 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-110-75 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4128 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-110-80 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4129 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-110-95 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4130 7/1/09 
Title 22. Social Services 
22 VAC 30-40-10 through 22 VAC 30-40-150 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3973-3984 7/22/09 
22 VAC 30-40-160 Added 25:21 VA.R. 3984 7/22/09 
22 VAC 40-35-5 Repealed 25:19 VA.R. 3438 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-35-10 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3438 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-35-20 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3440 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-35-40 through 22 VAC 40-35-120 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3441-3446 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-35-125 Repealed 25:19 VA.R. 3446 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-35-126 Repealed 25:19 VA.R. 3446 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-35-127 Repealed 25:19 VA.R. 3447 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-35-128 Repealed 25:19 VA.R. 3447 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-35-130 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3447 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-72-10 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3448 8/1/09 
22 VAC 40-72-160 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3453 8/1/09 
22 VAC 40-72-210 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3453 8/1/09 
22 VAC 40-72-660 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3454 8/1/09 
22 VAC 40-72-670 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3455 8/1/09 
22 VAC 40-170-10 through 22 VAC 40-170-230 Repealed 25:19 VA.R. 3456 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-670-10 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3988 8/6/09 
22 VAC 40-670-20 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3988 8/6/09 
22 VAC 40-675-10 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3990 8/6/09 
22 VAC 40-675-60 through 22 VAC 40-675-100 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3990-3991 8/6/09 
Title 23. Taxation 
23 VAC 10-210-310 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4155 9/19/09 
Title 24. Transportation and Motor Vehicles 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
24 VAC 30-92-10 through 24 VAC 30-92-150 Added 25:15 VA.R. 2777-2801 3/9/09 
24 VAC 30-280-20 through 24 VAC 30-280-70 Repealed 25:19 VA.R. 3456 7/1/09 
24 VAC 30-281-10 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3457 7/1/09 
24 VAC 30-300-10 Repealed 25:19 VA.R. 3457 4/29/09 
24 VAC 30-301-10 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3458 4/29/09 
24 VAC 30-301-20 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3458 4/29/09 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, 
and Chiropractic. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Ana Colon. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: Amend 18VAC85-20-235, 
which requires an applicant to pass Parts 1, 2, and 3 of the 
United States Medical Licensing Examination® (USMLE) 
within 10 years or to hold board certification. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reasons for Decision: The board affirmed its 
decision that 10 years was an adequate time period for 
completion of all parts of the United States Medical 
Licensing Examination® (USMLE) and noted that allowance 
of more time would be contrary to national trends towards 
greater evidence of competency. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 
Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4621, FAX 
(804) 527-4426, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-25; Filed June 25, 2009, 3:34 p.m. 

Initial Agency Notice 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, 
and Chiropractic. 
Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 
Name of Petitioner: Dag A. Gollopp. 
Nature of Petitioner's Request: Amend 18VAC85-20-140 of 
the regulation that requires an applicant to pass Parts 1, 2 and 
3 of the United States Medical Licensing Examination® 
(USMLE) within 10 years or to hold board certification. 
Agency Decision: Request denied. 
Statement of Reasons for Decision: The board affirmed its 
decision that 10 years was an adequate time period for 
completion of all parts of the United States Medical 
Licensing Examination® (USMLE) and noted that allowance 
of more time would be contrary to national trends towards 
greater evidence of competency. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 
Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4621, FAX 
(804) 527-4426, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-13; Filed June 25, 2009, 3:34 p.m. 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-50. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Physician Assistants. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Ernestine Wagner. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: Amend regulations for 
physician assistants to remove the requirement for a 
supervising physician to see a patient at every fourth visit or 
on the second visit if not significantly improved. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reasons for Decision: Based on a request for 
withdrawal of the request from the petitioner and from the 
Virginia Academy of Physician Assistants, the board voted to 
deny the petition. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 
Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4621, FAX 
(804) 527-4426, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-26; Filed June 25, 2009, 3:34 p.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE COUNCIL OF HIGHER EDUCATION FOR 
VIRGINIA 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Council of Higher 
Education for Virginia intends to consider amending the 
following regulations: 8VAC40-31, Regulations Governing 
Certification of Certain Institutions to Confer Degrees, 
Diplomas and Certificates. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to revise and enhance the regulations governing 
certified postsecondary institutions operating in Virginia. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 23-276.3 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on August 19, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Linda H. Woodley, Director, Private and 
Out-of-State Postsecondary Education, State Council of 
Higher Education for Virginia, 101 N. 14th Street, 9th Floor, 
James Monroe Building, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 371-2938, FAX (804) 225-2604, or email 
lindawoodley@schev.edu. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1980; Filed June 29, 2009, 9:47 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT  

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board 
intends to consider amending the following regulations: 
9VAC25-720, Water Quality Management Planning 
Regulation. The purpose of the proposed action is to identify 
unused nutrient waste load allocations assigned to dischargers 
within the Shenandoah-Potomac River Basin. These 
allocations may then be transferred to offset additional 
allocations assigned to certain other dischargers who the State 
Water Control Board determines did not receive an equitable 
share of the total basin allocation, thereby maintaining the 
basin point source allocation cap and protecting water quality. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia and 
33 USC § 1313(e) of the Clean Water Act. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on August 19, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Alan E. Pollock, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4002, FAX (804) 
698-4116, or email alan.pollock@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1981; Filed June 30, 2009, 1:05 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medical Assistance 
Services intends to consider amending the following 
regulations: 12VAC30-70, Methods and Standards for 
Establishing Payment Rates; Inpatient Hospital Care, and 
12VAC30-80, Methods and Standards for Establishing 
Payment Rates; Other Types of Care. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to reduce Medicaid costs associated with 
long stay hospitals and r§ehabilitation agencies as required by 
Items 306 BB and 306 XX of the 2009 Acts of Assembly. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
Items 306 BB and 306 XX of Chapter 781 of the 2009 Acts 
of Assembly. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 §p.m. on August 19, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Carla Russell, Provider Reimbursement 
Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 
East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 225-4586, FAX (805) 786-1680, or email 
carla.russell@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1968; Filed July 2, 2009, 11:11 a.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulation filed by 
the Marine Resources Commission is exempt from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
12 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 
required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-260. Pertaining to 
Designation of Seed Areas and Clean Cull Areas 
(amending 4VAC20-260-30). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment establishes that oysters raised in caged 
aquaculture by licensed aquaculture facilities on the 
seaside of Eastern Shore seed areas shall be exempt from 
the requirement to be at least three inches in shell length.  

4VAC20-260-30. Minimum cull size. 

In order to encourage a continued supply of marketable 
oysters, minimum size limits are hereby established. 
Undersized oysters or shells shall be returned immediately to 
their natural beds, rocks, or shoals where taken. When small 
oysters are adhering so closely to the shell of the marketable 
oyster as to render removal impossible without destroying the 
young oyster, then it shall not be necessary to remove it. 
Allowances for undersized oysters and shells incidentally 
retained during culling are found in 4VAC20-260-40. 

1. Oysters taken from clean cull areas shall not have shells 
less than three inches in length. 

2. In the James River seed areas, there shall be no size limit 
on oysters harvested for replanting as seed oysters and seed 
oysters shall not be marketed for direct consumption. 

3. In the James River seed areas, the shells of oysters 
harvested for direct consumption shall not be less than 
three inches in length. 

4. On the seaside of the Eastern Shore seed area, the shells 
of oysters marketed for direct consumption shall not be 
less than three inches in length. The provisions of this 
subdivision shall not apply to oysters raised in aquaculture 
cages by licensed aquaculture facilities. 

5. In the Rappahannock River, the shells of oysters 
harvested for direct consumption, from the areas known as 
Russ' Rock and Carter's Rock, shall not be less than 2-1/2 
inches in length. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-2027; Filed June 25, 2009, 10:05 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-260. Water Quality 
Standards (adding 9VAC25-260-275). 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 33 
USC § 1251 et seq.; 40 CFR Part 131. 

Effective Date: August 20, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Elleanore M. Daub, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4111, FAX (804) 
698-4116, or email emdaub@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments add a new section, 9VAC25-260-275, that 
is initiated when applications for new or expanded VPDES 
discharges to Eastern Shore waters are not denied 
pursuant to 9VAC25-260-270. If these discharges result in 
shellfish condemnations, then the applicant must analyze 
whether wastewater management alternatives other than a 
discharge would be feasible, produce less of an 
environmental impact, and not result in significant social 
and economic impacts to beneficial uses and to the locality 
and its citizens. If the analysis demonstrates that an 
alternative meets these criteria, then that alternative must 
be pursued for approval prior to the board taking action 
on the discharge alternative. In addition, the Guide for the 
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Control of Molluscan Shellfish is updated to the 2007 
edition. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

9VAC25-260-275. Protection of Eastern Shore tidal 
waters for clams and oysters. 

A. This section applies to applications for individual 
Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 
permits authorizing new or expanded discharges to or 
otherwise affecting Eastern Shore tidal waters, which include 
all tidal rivers and creeks on the Eastern Shore (Accomack 
and Northampton counties) including the tidal waters within 
the barrier islands on the eastern seaside of the Eastern Shore 
(does not include Atlantic Ocean waters) and all tidal rivers 
and creeks on the western bayside and including the 
Chesapeake Bay to a point one mile offshore from any point 
of land on the Eastern Shore. 

B. When such application proposes a new or expanded 
discharge that would not be denied pursuant to 9VAC25-260-
270 but would result in shellfish water condemnation, then 
the application shall be amended to contain an analysis of 
wastewater management alternatives to the proposed 
discharge. An application shall be deemed incomplete until 
this analysis is provided to the department. 

C. For purposes of this part, condemnation shall mean a 
reclassification of shellfish waters by the state Department of 
Health to prohibited or restricted (as defined by the U.S. Food 
and Drug Administration, National Shellfish Sanitation 
Program, Guide for the Control of Molluscan Shellfish, 
[ 2005 2007 ], Section II, Model Ordinance, Definitions, and 
Chapter 4, Classification of Shellfish Growing Areas) thereby 
signifying that shellfish from such waters are unfit for market. 

D. The alternatives analysis shall first identify and describe 
the technical feasibility of each wastewater management 
alternative to the proposed new or expanded discharge. If the 
analysis demonstrates that any of the identified alternatives 
are technically feasible, then the analysis shall further 
describe the environmental, social and economic impacts and 
opportunities to mitigate any adverse impacts for those 
alternatives. 

E. If the alternatives analysis demonstrates that the proposed 
new or expanded discharge is the only technically feasible 
alternative or produces the least environmental impact of all 
the technically feasible alternatives, the application will be 
processed in accordance with 9VAC25-31 (VPDES Permit 
Regulation). If the analysis demonstrates that a technically 
feasible alternative produces less of an environmental impact 
than that associated with the proposed new or expanded 
discharge but results in significant adverse social and 
economic impacts to beneficial uses and to the locality and its 

citizens, the application shall be processed in accordance with 
9VAC25-31. If the analysis demonstrates that a technically 
feasible alternative produces less of an environmental impact 
than that associated with the proposed new or expanded 
discharge and does not result in significant adverse social and 
economic impacts to beneficial uses and to the locality and its 
citizens, then processing of the VPDES application shall be 
suspended while the applicant makes a good faith effort to 
obtain approval from the appropriate regulatory authorities 
for the alternative. Processing of the application shall be 
resumed only if the alternative form of wastewater 
management is disapproved by the appropriate regulatory 
authorities. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(9VAC25-260)  

Chesapeake Bay Program Analytical Segmentation Scheme 
-- Revisions, Decisions and Rationales 1983-2003, EPA 
CBP/TRS 268/04, October 2004.  

Ambient Water Quality Criteria for Dissolved Oxygen, 
Water Clarity and Chlorophyll a for the Chesapeake Bay and 
Its Tidal Tributaries, EPA 903-R-03-002, April 2003 and 
2004 Addendum, October 2004.  

Technical Support Document for Identification of 
Chesapeake Bay Designated Uses and Attainability, EPA 
903-R-03-004, October 2003 and 2004 Addendum, October 
2004.  

Guide for the Control of Molluscan Shellfish, [ 2005 2007 ] 
(Section II. Model Ordinance [ , Definitions, ] and Chapter 4 
[ . , ] Classification of Shellfish Growing Areas), U.S. Food 
and Drug Administration, National Shellfish Sanitation 
Program.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-783; Filed June 30, 2009, 2:22 p.m.  

Notice of Change in Public Hearing Date and Time 
Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-630. Virginia Pollution 
Abatement General Permit Regulation for Poultry Waste 
Management (amending 9VAC25-630-10, 9VAC25-630-
20, 9VAC25-630-30, 9VAC25-630-40, 9VAC25-630-50, 
9VAC25-630-60; adding 9VAC25-630-70, 9VAC25-630-
80).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 62.1-44.15 and 62.1-44.17:1.1 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Notice of Public Hearing Date and Time Change: The State 
Water Control Board announced public hearings and a public 
comment period on proposed amendments to 9 VAC 25-630 
in the Virginia Register of Regulations in Volume 25, Issue 
21, page 3867. There has been a change in the date and time 
of the public hearing in Onley, Virginia. The public hearing is 
now scheduled for 7:30 p.m. on August 4, 2009, at Nandua 
High School, Auditorium, 26350 Lankford Highway in 
Onley, VA. An informational briefing will be held one hour 
prior to the public hearing. 
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Agency Contact: Betsy Bowles, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Land Application 
Programs, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, 
VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4059, FAX (804) 698-4116, 
or email betsy.bowles@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1062; Filed July 1, 2009, 2:53 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 10. FINANCE AND FINANCIAL 
INSTITUTIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 
of the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 10VAC5-160. Rules Governing 
Mortgage Lenders and Brokers (amending 10VAC5-160-
10; repealing 10VAC5-160-70, 10VAC5-160-80). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 6.1-421 and 12.1-13 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Susan Hancock, Bureau of Financial 
Institutions, State Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 1197, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9657, FAX (804) 
371-9240, or email susan.hancock@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments repeal regulations requiring initial and 
continuing education of certain employees of licensees 
under Chapter 16 (§ 6.1-408 et seq.) of Title 6.1 of the 
Code of Virginia and eliminate a prohibition of 
employment by such licensees of certain individuals having 
criminal convictions, both in accordance with Chapter 452 
of the 2009 Acts of Assembly. There are no changes from 
the proposed version of the regulation. 

AT RICHMOND, JUNE 30, 2009 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel.  

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. BFI-2009-00085 

In re: Proposed Amendments to Rules 
Governing Mortgage Lenders and Brokers 

ORDER ADOPTING AMENDED REGULATIONS 

By Order entered in this case on May 5, 2009, the State 
Corporation Commission ("Commission") directed that notice 
be given of its proposal, acting pursuant to § 6.1-421 of the 
Code of Virginia, to amend its Rules Governing Mortgage 
Lenders and Brokers based upon certain provisions of 
Chapter 452 enacted in the 2009 session of the Virginia 
General Assembly.  Notice of the proposed amendments was 
published in the Virginia Register of Regulations on May 25, 
2009, posted on the Commission's website, and sent by the 
Commissioner of Financial Institutions to all licensed 
mortgage lenders and brokers and other interested persons. 
Licensees and other interested persons were afforded the 
opportunity to file written comments or request a hearing on 
or before June 15, 2009. 

The Commission received one comment from a licensee 
which was responded to appropriately by the Commission's 
Staff. The Commission did not receive any request for a 
hearing. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered the record 
and the proposed amendments, concludes that the 
amendments should be adopted as proposed. 

THEREFORE IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed amended regulations, which are attached 
hereto and made a part hereof, are adopted effective July 1, 
2009. 

(2) This Order and the attached regulations shall be posted 
on the Commission's website at 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
shall send a copy of this Order, including a copy of the 
attached regulations, to the Virginia Registrar of 
Regulations for publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 

(4) This case is dismissed from the Commission's docket of 
active cases. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 
the Commission to the Commissioner of Financial 
Institutions, who shall forthwith mail a copy of this Order and 
the attached regulations to all licensed mortgage lenders and 
brokers and such other interested persons as he may 
designate. 

10VAC5-160-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Advertisement" means a commercial message in any 
medium that promotes, directly or indirectly, a mortgage loan. 
The term includes a communication sent to a consumer as 
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part of a solicitation of business, but excludes messages on 
promotional items such as pens, pencils, notepads, hats, 
calendars, etc., as well as rate sheets or other information 
distributed or made available solely to other businesses. 

"Affiliate" for purposes of subdivision 3 of § 6.1-411 of the 
Code of Virginia means an entity of which 25% or more of 
the voting shares or ownership interest is held, directly or 
indirectly, by a company that also owns a bank, savings 
institution, or credit union. 

"Commission" and "commissioner" shall have the meanings 
ascribed to them in § 6.1-409 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Commitment" means a written offer to make a mortgage 
loan signed by a person authorized to sign such offers on 
behalf of a mortgage lender. 

"Commitment agreement" means a commitment accepted by 
an applicant for a mortgage loan, as evidenced by the 
applicant's signature thereon. 

"Commitment fee" means any fee or charge accepted by a 
mortgage lender, or by a mortgage broker for transmittal to a 
mortgage lender, as consideration for binding the mortgage 
lender to make a mortgage loan in accordance with the terms 
of a commitment or as a requirement for acceptance by the 
applicant of a commitment, but the term does not include fees 
paid to third persons or interest. 

"Covered employee" means an employee involved in 
originating, marketing, underwriting, closing, or performing 
compliance or quality control functions in connection with 
Virginia mortgage loan transactions. 

"Customer" means an individual seeking a mortgage loan 
from, or with the assistance of, a licensee. 

"Dwelling" means one- to four-family residential property 
located in the Commonwealth. 

"Fees paid to third persons" means the bona fide fees or 
charges paid by the applicant for a mortgage loan to third 
persons other than the mortgage lender or mortgage broker, or 
paid by the applicant to, or retained by, the mortgage lender 
or mortgage broker for transmittal to such third persons in 
connection with the mortgage loan, including, but not limited 
to, recording taxes and fees, reconveyance or releasing fees, 
appraisal fees, credit report fees, attorney fees, fees for title 
reports and title searches, title insurance premiums, surveys 
and similar charges. 

"Licensee" means a person licensed under Chapter 16 (§ 
6.1-408 et seq.) of Title 6.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Lock-in agreement" means a written agreement between a 
mortgage lender, or a mortgage broker acting on behalf of a 
mortgage lender, and an applicant for a mortgage loan that 
establishes and sets an interest rate and the points to be 
charged in connection with a mortgage loan that is closed 
within the time period specified in the agreement. A lock-in 

agreement can be entered into before mortgage loan approval, 
subject to the mortgage loan being approved and closed, or 
after such approval. A commitment agreement that 
establishes and sets an interest rate and the points to be 
charged in connection with a mortgage loan that is closed 
within the time period specified in the agreement is also a 
lock-in agreement. The interest rate that is established and set 
by the agreement may be either a fixed rate or an adjustable 
rate. 

"Lock-in fee" means any fee or charge accepted by a 
mortgage lender, or by a mortgage broker for transmittal to a 
mortgage lender, as consideration for making a lock-in 
agreement, but the term does not include fees paid to third 
persons or interest. 

"Mortgage lender," "mortgage broker," and "mortgage loan" 
shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 6.1-409 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

"Personal, family or household purposes" for purposes of 
§ 6.1-409 of the Code of Virginia means that the individual 
obtaining the loan intends to use the proceeds to build or 
purchase a dwelling that will be occupied by such individual 
or another individual as their temporary or permanent 
residence. The term includes a loan used to build or purchase 
a dwelling that will be (i) improved or rehabilitated by or on 
behalf of the purchaser for subsequent sale to one or more 
other individuals who will reside in the dwelling on a 
temporary or permanent basis, or (ii) leased by the purchaser 
to one or more other individuals who will reside in the 
dwelling on a temporary or permanent basis. 

"Personal identifying or financial information" means the 
name, social security number, driver license number, home 
address, telephone number, date of birth, place of birth, race 
or ethnic origin of a customer together with any information 
about the customer's account numbers, assets, liabilities, 
sources of income or credit worthiness. 

"Points" means any fee or charge retained or received by a 
mortgage lender or mortgage broker stated or calculated as a 
percentage or fraction of the principal amount of the loan, 
other than or in addition to fees paid to third persons or 
interest. 

"Reasonable period of time" means that period of time, 
determined by a mortgage lender in good faith on the basis of 
its most recent relevant experience and other facts and 
circumstances known to it, within which the mortgage loan 
will be closed. 

"Senior officer" for purposes of §§ 6.1-414, 6.1-415, 6.1-416 
and 6.1-416.1 of the Code of Virginia means an individual 
who has significant management responsibility within an 
organization or otherwise has the authority to influence or 
control the conduct of the organization's affairs, including but 
not limited to its compliance with applicable laws and 
regulations. 
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"Subsidiary" for purposes of subdivision 3 of § 6.1-411 of 
the Code of Virginia means an entity of which 25% or more 
of the voting shares or ownership interest is held, directly or 
indirectly, by a bank, savings institution, or credit union. 

10VAC5-160-70. Employee criminal record 
investigations; exemption. (Repealed.) 

A. A licensee shall not, on or after July 1, 2008, hire any 
individual for a position of employment who may have access 
to personal identifying or financial information relating to any 
customer, without first obtaining a criminal history record 
from the Central Criminal Records Exchange that shows that 
the prospective employee has not been convicted in any court 
of any felony, or any misdemeanor involving fraud, 
misrepresentation or deceit, under the laws of any state or the 
United States. If the criminal history record reveals that an 
individual has been convicted as described, a licensee shall 
not hire the individual without obtaining prior approval from 
the commission, as specified in subsection C of this section. 
A licensee shall be subject to a separate penalty under § 6.1-
428 of the Code of Virginia for each individual hired without 
obtaining the criminal history record required by this section. 

B. Licensees shall make criminal history records obtained 
under subsection A of this section and employment history 
information available for review by commission staff. 

C. If a licensee wishes to hire an individual notwithstanding 
the prohibition in subsection A of this section, the licensee 
shall file a petition seeking an exemption in accordance with 
5VAC5-20-100 C of the commission's Rules of Practice and 
Procedure. The petition shall be accompanied by a copy of 
the individual's criminal history record, which shall be kept 
under seal in the Office of the Clerk. 

D. When deciding whether or not to grant a petition filed in 
accordance with subsection C of this section, the commission 
shall consider the following factors: 

1. The number and classification of offenses committed by 
the individual; 

2. The potential and actual penalties imposed for the 
offenses committed; 

3. The dates of the offenses or convictions; 

4. The extent to which the nature of the offenses 
committed relate to the prospective employee's job duties; 
and 

5. Such other factors and evidence as the commission 
deems pertinent. 

E. The petitioning licensee shall bear the burden of proof 
that an exemption from the employment prohibition under 
subsection A of this section should be granted. 

10VAC5-160-80. Required employee training; exemption; 
penalty. (Repealed.) 

A. Licensees shall be responsible for providing initial 
education, and continuing education on at least an annual 
basis, for all their covered employees with respect to all laws 
and regulations applicable to the licensees' business. 
Applicable laws and regulations include, but are not limited 
to, the Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act (12 USC 
§ 2601 et seq.), Truth in Lending Act (15 USC § 1601 et 
seq.), Equal Credit Opportunity Act (15 USC § 1691 et seq.) 
and Fair Credit Reporting Act (15 USC § 1681 et seq.), 
federal and Virginia privacy protection laws, federal and 
Virginia laws relating to mortgage fraud, the Virginia 
Mortgage Lender and Broker Act (§ 6.1-408 et seq. of the 
Code of Virginia) and all other Virginia laws applicable to the 
licensees' business, and all regulations adopted under the 
foregoing laws. 

B. Initial education shall consist of at least 12 hours relating 
to applicable federal laws and regulations, at least four hours 
relating to applicable Virginia laws and regulations, and 
additionally at least two hours relating to mortgage fraud 
prevention, including penalties for participating in mortgage 
fraud. Initial education shall be provided to individuals who 
are covered employees as of July 1, 2008, on or before May 
1, 2009, and to individuals who become covered employees 
after July 1, 2008, within 90 days of their hire date. 
Continuing education shall be conducted on an annual basis 
and shall consist of at least four hours related to applicable 
federal laws and regulations, at least two hours related to 
applicable Virginia laws and regulations, and additionally at 
least one hour relating to mortgage fraud prevention, 
including penalties for participating in mortgage fraud. 

C. A licensee that hires a covered employee who has 
received the initial education required under subsection B of 
this section while previously employed by another licensee 
shall not be required to provide the covered employee with 
initial education if the receipt of such education is adequately 
documented. Required annual education, if completed and so 
documented, likewise shall be credited with respect to the 
covered employee. 

D. If prior to July 1, 2008, a covered employee has 
successfully obtained a mortgage certificate, designation or 
accreditation, the licensee may seek from the Commissioner 
of Financial Institutions an exemption, in whole or in part, 
from the initial education requirements for such covered 
employee. An exemption request shall be made in writing and 
shall include documentation of the certification, designation 
or accreditation and a description, including the name and 
number of hours for each course taken to fulfill the 
requirements of the certification, designation or accreditation. 

E. Licensees shall maintain a training manual and 
documentation available for commission staff's review 
demonstrating successful completion of the education 
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required under this section, including names of education 
providers, names and descriptions of educational courses, and 
dates of attendance and numbers of hours completed by each 
covered employee, and shall provide any additional 
information relating to such education that the commissioner 
may require. Mere training in the sale or marketing of 
mortgage loans shall not count towards required education. 
Education relating to applicable federal laws and regulations, 
as identified in subsection A of this section, received pursuant 
to like educational requirements imposed by other states may 
be used to fulfill educational requirements imposed under this 
section relating to applicable federal laws and regulations. 

F. A licensee shall be subject to a separate penalty under 
§ 6.1-428 of the Code of Virginia for each covered employee 
not provided with the education required by this section. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1880; Filed June 30, 2009, 4:33 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 11. GAMING 

CHARITABLE GAMING BOARD 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Charitable Gaming Board is 
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to 
changes in Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion 
is involved. The Charitable Gaming Board will receive, 
consider, and respond to petitions from any interested person 
at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 11VAC15-22. Charitable Gaming 
Rules and Regulations (amending 11VAC15-22-10, 
11VAC15-22-20, 11VAC15-22-30, 11VAC15-22-110). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-2456, 18.2-340.15, and 18.2-
340.19 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 19, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Betty Bowman, Division Director, 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Division 
of Charitable Gaming, 101 N. 14th St., 17th Floor, James 
Monroe Building, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
786-3015, FAX (804) 786-1079, or email 
betty.bowman@dcg.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This action implements the provisions of (i) Chapters 387 
and 689 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly that abolished the 
Department of Charitable Gaming and placed regulation 
of charitable gaming under the Department of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services, and (ii) Chapter 121 of the 2009 
Acts of Assembly by raising the permit exemption threshold 

from $25,000 to $40,000 for all organizations authorized 
to conduct charitable gaming. 

Part I  
Definitions  

11VAC15-22-10. Definitions.  

In addition to the definitions contained in § 18.2-340.16 of 
the Code of Virginia, the words and terms below, when used 
in this chapter, shall have the following meanings unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Board" means the Virginia Charitable Gaming Board.  

"Board of directors" means the board of directors, managing 
committee or other supervisory body of a qualified 
organization.  

"Calendar day" means the period of 24 consecutive hours 
commencing at 12:01 a.m. and concluding at midnight.  

"Calendar week" means the period of seven consecutive 
calendar days commencing at 12:01 a.m. on Sunday and 
ending at midnight the following Saturday.  

"Cash" means United States currency or coinage.  

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Virginia 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. 

"Concealed face bingo card" means a nonreusable bingo 
card constructed to conceal the card face. This type of card is 
commonly referred to under trade names such as "Tear-open" 
or "Bonanza Bingo."  

"Conduct" means the actions associated with the provision 
of a gaming operation during and immediately before or after 
the permitted activity, which may include, but not be limited 
to (i) selling bingo cards or packs, electronic devices, instant 
bingo or pull-tab cards, or raffle tickets; (ii) calling bingo 
games; (iii) distributing prizes; and (iv) any other services 
provided by volunteer workers.  

"DCG number" means a unique identification number issued 
by the department.  

"Daubing" means covering a square containing a number 
called with indelible ink or otherwise concealing the number 
on a card or an electronic facsimile of a card.  

"Deal" means each separate package or series of packages 
consisting of one game of instant bingo, pull-tabs or seal 
cards with the same serial number.  

"Decision bingo" means a bingo game where the cost to a 
player to play is dependent on the number of balls called and 
the prize payout is in direct relationship to the number of 
participants and the number of balls called, but shall not 
exceed statutory prize limits for a regular bingo game.  
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"Department" means the Virginia Department of Charitable 
Gaming Agriculture and Consumer Services, Division of 
Charitable Gaming.  

"Director" means the Director of the Virginia Department of 
Charitable Gaming.  

"Discount" means any reduction in cost of admission or 
game packs or any other purchases through use of coupons, 
free packs or other similar methods.  

"Disinterested player" means a player who is unbiased.  

"Disposable paper card" means a nonreusable, paper bingo 
card manufactured with preprinted numbers.  

"Door prize" means any prize awarded by the random 
drawing or random selection of a name or number based 
solely on attendance at a gaming session.  

"Electronic bingo device" means an electronic device that 
uses proprietary software or hardware, or in conjunction with 
commonly available software and computers, displays 
facsimiles of bingo cards and allows a player to daub such 
cards.  

"Fiscal year" or "annual reporting period" means the 12-
month period beginning January 1 and ending December 31 
of any given year.  

"Flare" means a piece of paper, cardboard or similar 
material that bears printed information relating to the name of 
the manufacturer or logo, name of the game, card count, cost 
per play, serial number, the number of prizes to be awarded 
and the specific prize amounts in a deal of instant bingo, pull-
tab or seal cards.  

"Free space number," "perm number," "center number," 
"card number" or "face number" means the number generally 
printed in the center space of a bingo card that identifies the 
unique pattern of numbers printed on that card.  

"Game program" means a written list of all games to be 
played including, but not limited to, the sales price of all 
bingo paper and electronic bingo devices, pack configuration, 
prize amounts to be paid during a session for each game, and 
an indication whether prize amounts are fixed or are based on 
attendance.  

"Immediate family" means one's spouse, parent, child, 
sibling, grandchild, grandparent, mother or father-in-law or 
stepchild.  

"Interested persons" means the president, an officer or bingo 
manager of any qualified organization which is exempt or is a 
permit applicant or holds a permit to conduct charitable 
gaming or the owner, director, officer or partner of an entity 
engaged in supplying charitable gaming supplies to 
organizations.  

"IRS" means the United States Internal Revenue Service.  

"Lucky Seven" means a bingo game as authorized in § 18.2-
340.33 (9a) (b) of the Code of Virginia.  

"Management" means the provision of oversight of a 
gaming operation, which may include, but is not limited to, 
the responsibilities of applying for and maintaining a permit 
or authorization, compiling, submitting and maintaining 
required records and financial reports, and ensuring that all 
aspects of the operation are in compliance with all applicable 
statutes and regulations.  

"Manufacturer" means a person who assembles from raw 
materials or subparts a completed piece of bingo or other 
charitable gaming equipment or supplies. "Manufacturer" also 
means a person who modifies, converts, adds or removes 
parts to or from bingo or other charitable gaming equipment 
or supplies to further their promotion or sale for the conduct 
of charitable gaming.  

"Operation" means the activities associated with production 
of a charitable gaming activity, which may include, but not be 
limited to (i) the direct on-site supervision of the conduct of 
charitable gaming; (ii) coordination of volunteers; and (iii) all 
responsibilities of charitable gaming designated by the 
organization's management.  

"Owner" means any individual with financial interest of 
10% or more in a supplier.  

"Pack" means sheets of bingo paper or electronic facsimiles 
assembled in the order of games to be played. This may 
include specials and jackpots, but shall not include any 
winner-take-all, Lucky Seven or raffle.  

"Prize" means cash, merchandise, certificate or other item of 
value awarded to a winning player.  

"Progressive seal card" means a seal card game in which a 
prize is carried forward to the next deal if not won when a 
deal is completed.  

"Remuneration" means payment in cash or the provision of 
anything of value for goods provided or services rendered.  

"Seal card" means a board or placard used in conjunction 
with a deal of the same serial number which contains one or 
more concealed areas that, when removed or opened, reveal a 
predesignated winning number, letter or symbol located on 
that board or placard.  

"Serial number" means a unique number printed by the 
manufacturer on each bingo card in a set, each instant bingo, 
pull-tab, or seal card in a deal, each electronic bingo device, 
or each door prize ticket.  

"Series number" means the number of unique card faces 
contained in a set of disposable bingo paper cards or bingo 
hard cards. A 9000 series, for example, has 9000 unique 
faces.  
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"Session" means a period of time during which one or more 
bingo games are conducted that begins with the selection of 
the first ball for the first game and ends with the selection of 
the last ball for the last game.  

"Treasure chest" means a raffle including a locked treasure 
chest containing a prize that a participant, selected through 
some other authorized charitable game, is afforded the chance 
to select from a series of keys a predetermined key that will 
open the locked treasure chest to win a prize.  

"Use of proceeds" means the use of funds derived by an 
organization from its charitable gaming activities which are 
disbursed for those lawful religious, charitable, community or 
educational purposes. This includes expenses relating to the 
acquisition, construction, maintenance or repair of any 
interest in the real property involved in the operation of the 
organization and used for lawful religious, charitable, 
community or educational purposes.  

"WINGO" is a variation of a traditional bingo game that 
uses visual devices rather than a verbal caller and is played by 
hearing impaired persons.  

Part II  
Permits  

11VAC15-22-20. Eligibility for permit to conduct 
charitable gaming; when valid; permit requirements. 

A. The conduct of charitable gaming is a privilege that may 
be granted or denied by the department. Except as provided in 
§ 18.2-340.23 of the Code of Virginia, every eligible 
organization and volunteer fire department and rescue squad 
with anticipated gross gaming receipts that exceed $25,000 
$40,000 in any 12-month period shall obtain a permit from 
the department prior to the commencement of charitable 
gaming activities. To be eligible for a permit an organization 
must meet all of the requirements of § 18.2-340.24 of the 
Code of Virginia.  

B. Pursuant to § 18.2-340.24 B of the Code of Virginia, the 
department shall review a tax exempt request submitted to the 
IRS for a tax exempt status determination and may issue an 
interim certification of tax-exempt status solely for the 
purpose of charitable gaming, conditioned upon a 
determination by the IRS. A nonrefundable fee of $500 
payable to the Treasurer of Virginia shall be charged for this 
review.  

C. A permit shall be valid only for activities, locations, days, 
dates and times as listed on the permit.  

D. In accordance with § 18.2-340.19 A 1 of the Code of 
Virginia, as a condition of receiving a permit, a minimum of 
10% of charitable gaming gross receipts shall be used for (i) 
those lawful religious, charitable, community or educational 
purposes for which the organization is specifically chartered 
or organized or (ii) those expenses relating to the acquisition, 
construction, maintenance or repair of any interest in real 

property involved in the operation of the organization and 
used for lawful religious, charitable, community or 
educational purposes:  

E. If an organization fails to meet the minimum use of 
proceeds requirement, its permit may be suspended or 
revoked. However, the department shall not suspend or 
revoke the permit of any organization solely because of its 
failure to meet the required percentage without having first 
provided the organization with an opportunity to implement a 
corrective action plan. In such a case, the organization shall 
be afforded the opportunity to enter into a consent order with 
the department specifying the proposed corrective action and 
the timeframe to accomplish the plan.  

F. An organization may request a temporary reduction in the 
predetermined percentage specified in subsection D of this 
section from the department. In reviewing such a request, the 
department shall consider such factors appropriate to and 
consistent with the purpose of charitable gaming, which may 
include, but not be limited to (i) the organization's overall 
financial condition; (ii) the length of time the organization has 
been involved in charitable gaming; (iii) the extent of the 
deficiency; and (iv) the progress that the organization has 
made in attaining the minimum percentage in accordance 
with a corrective action plan pursuant to subsection E of this 
section.  

G. An organization whose permit is revoked for failure to 
comply with provisions set forth in subsection D of this 
section shall be eligible to reapply for a permit at the end of 
one year from the date of revocation. The department, at its 
discretion, may issue the permit if it is satisfied that the 
organization has made substantial changes to its management, 
operations or both.  

11VAC15-22-30. Permit application process. 

A. Organizations anticipating gross gaming receipts that 
exceed $25,000 $40,000 shall complete a department-
prescribed application to request issuance or renewal of an 
annual permit to conduct charitable gaming. The application 
shall be accompanied by a nonrefundable fee payable to the 
Treasurer of Virginia in the amount of $200. Volunteer fire 
departments or rescue squads or auxiliary units thereof that 
have been recognized in accordance with § 15.2-955 of the 
Code of Virginia shall be exempt from the payment of 
applications fees.  

B. The department may initiate action against any 
organization exempt from permit requirements when it 
reasonably believes the organization is not in compliance 
with the provisions of charitable gaming laws or applicable 
regulations, or both, of the board.  

C. Permit holders requiring a special permit pursuant to 
§ 18.2-340.27 E of the Code of Virginia shall convey their 
request on a form prescribed by the department. There shall 
be a $50 fee for special permits. Volunteer fire departments or 
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rescue squads or auxiliary units thereof that have been 
recognized in accordance with § 15.2-955 of the Code of 
Virginia shall be exempt from the payment of applications 
fees.  

D. Permits shall be valid for a period of one year from the 
date of issuance or for a period specified on the permit. The 
department may issue permits for periods of less than one 
year.  

E. Permits shall be granted only after a background 
investigation of an organization or interested persons, or both, 
to ensure public safety and welfare as required by § 18.2-
340.25 of the Code of Virginia. Investigations shall consider 
the nature, the age and severity and the potential harm to 
public safety and welfare of any criminal offenses. The 
investigation may include, but shall not be limited to, the 
following:  

1. A search of Virginia criminal history records for the 
chief executive officer and chief financial officer of the 
organization. Information and authorization to conduct 
these records checks shall be provided in the permit 
application. In addition, the department shall require that 
the organization provides assurances that all other 
members involved in the management, operation, or 
conduct of charitable gaming meet the requirements of 
subdivision 13 of § 18.2-340.33 of the Code of Virginia. 
Applications may be denied if:  

a. Any person participating in the management of any 
charitable gaming has ever been:  

(1) Convicted of a felony; or  

(2) Convicted of any misdemeanor involving fraud, theft, 
or financial crimes within the preceding five years.  

b. Any person participating in the conduct of charitable 
gaming has been:  

(1) Convicted of any felony in the preceding 10 years, or  

(2) Convicted of any misdemeanor involving fraud, theft 
or financial crimes within the preceding five years.  

2. An inquiry as to whether the organization has been 
granted tax-exempt status pursuant to § 501 (c) by the 
Internal Revenue Service and is in compliance with IRS 
annual filing requirements;  

3. An inquiry as to whether the organization has entered 
into any contract with, or has otherwise employed for 
compensation, any persons for the purpose of organizing or 
managing, operating or conducting any charitable gaming 
activity;  

4. Inquiries into the finances and activities of an 
organization and the sources and uses of funds; and  

5. Inquiries into the level of community or financial 
support to the organization and the level of community 

involvement in the membership and management of the 
organization.  

F. The permit application for an organization that has not 
previously held a permit shall include:  

1. A list of members participating in the management or 
operation of charitable gaming. For any organization that is 
not composed of members, a person who is not a bona fide 
member may volunteer in the conduct of a charitable game 
as long as that person is directly supervised by a bona fide 
official member of the organization;  

2. A copy of the articles of incorporation, bylaws, charter, 
constitution or other appropriate organizing document;  

3. A copy of the determination letter issued by the IRS 
under § 501(c) of the Internal Revenue Code, if 
appropriate, or a letter from the national office of an 
organization indicating the applicant organization is in 
good standing and is currently covered by a group 
exemption ruling. A letter of good standing is not required 
if the applicable national or state office has furnished the 
department with a listing of member organizations in good 
standing in the Commonwealth as of January 1 of each 
year and has agreed to promptly provide the department 
any changes to the listing as they occur;  

4. A copy of the organization's most recent annual 
financial statement and balance sheet, or most recent Form 
990 that has been filed with the IRS;  

5. A copy of the written lease or proposed written lease 
agreement and all other agreements if the organization 
rents or intends to rent a facility where bingo is or will be 
conducted. Information on the lease shall include name, 
address, phone number of the landlord, square footage and 
maximum occupancy of the building and the rental amount 
per session; and  

6. An authorization by an officer or other appropriate 
official of an organization to permit the department to 
determine whether the organization has been investigated 
or examined by the Internal Revenue Service in connection 
with charitable gaming activities during the previous three 
years.  

G. Copies of minutes of meetings of an organization and any 
contracts with landlords or suppliers to which the 
organization is, or may be a party, may be requested by the 
department prior to rendering a permitting decision.  

H. Organizations applying to renew a permit previously 
issued by the department shall submit articles of 
incorporation, bylaws, charter, constitution or other 
organizing document and IRS determination letter only if 
there are any amendments or changes to these documents that 
are directly related to the management, operation or conduct 
of charitable gaming.  
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I. Organizations may request permits to conduct joint bingo 
games as provided in § 18.2-340.29 of the Code of Virginia:  

1. In the case of a joint game, all the organizations shall 
file a permit application.  

2. The nonrefundable permit fee for joint games shall be a 
total of $200. Volunteer fire departments or rescue squads 
or auxiliary units thereof that have been recognized in 
accordance with § 15.2-955 of the Code of Virginia shall 
be exempt from the payment of applications fees.  

3. A single permit shall be issued in the names of all the 
organizations conducting a joint game. All restrictions and 
prohibitions applying to single organizations shall apply to 
qualified organizations jointly conducting bingo games 
pursuant to § 18.2-340.29 of the Code of Virginia.  

4. No charitable gaming shall be conducted prior to the 
issuance of a joint permit.  

5. Applications for joint games shall include an 
explanation of the division of manpower, costs and 
proceeds for the joint game.  

J. An organization wishing to change dates, times or 
locations of its charitable gaming shall request a change in the 
permit. Change requests shall be made in writing on a form 
prescribed by the department at least 30 days in advance of 
the proposed effective date.  

K. Changes in dates, times or locations due to inclement 
weather, disasters, or other circumstances outside the 
organization's control may be made without a change in the 
permit. The organization shall request such a change on a 
form prescribed by the department as soon as the necessity 
for the change is known.  

L. A nonrefundable fee of $50, payable to the Treasurer of 
Virginia, shall be submitted with a request for a permit 
change. The fee shall not be charged for changes as described 
in subsection K of this section. Volunteer fire departments or 
rescue squads or auxiliary units thereof that have been 
recognized in accordance with § 15.2-955 of the Code of 
Virginia shall be exempt from the fee for a permit change.  

M. An organization may sell raffle tickets for a drawing to 
be held outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia in the 
United States provided:  

1. The raffle is conducted by the organization in 
conjunction with a meeting outside the Commonwealth of 
Virginia or with another organization which is licensed to 
conduct raffles outside the Commonwealth of Virginia;  

2. The raffle is conducted in accordance with these 
regulations and the laws and regulations of the state where 
the drawing is to be held; and  

3. The portion of the proceeds derived from the sale of 
raffle tickets in the Commonwealth is reported to the 
department.  

N. Any permitted organization that ceases to conduct 
charitable gaming shall immediately notify the department in 
writing, return its permit to the department, and provide the 
department a report as to the disposition of all unused gaming 
supplies.  

Part VI  
Fact-Finding Conferences and Hearings  

11VAC15-22-110. Procedural rules for the conduct of 
fact-finding conferences and hearings.  

A. Fact-finding conference; notification, appearance, 
conduct.  

1. Unless automatic revocation or immediate suspension is 
required by law, no permit to conduct charitable gaming 
shall be denied, suspended or revoked except upon notice 
stating the proposed basis for such action and the time and 
place for a fact-finding conference, as set forth in § 2.2-
4019 of the Administrative Process Act.  

2. If a basis exists for a refusal to renew a suspension or a 
revocation of a permit, the department shall notify, by 
certified mail or by hand delivery, the interested persons at 
the address of record maintained by the department.  

3. Notification shall include the basis for the proposed 
action and afford interested persons the opportunity to 
present written and oral information to the department that 
may have a bearing on the proposed action at a fact-finding 
conference. If there is no withdrawal, a fact-finding 
conference shall be scheduled at the earliest mutually 
agreeable date, but no later than 60 days from the date of 
the notification. Organizations or suppliers who wish to 
waive their right to a conference shall notify the 
department at least 14 days before the scheduled 
conference.  

4. If after consideration of evidence presented during an 
informal fact-finding conference, a basis for action still 
exists, the interested persons shall be notified in writing 
within 60 days of the fact-finding conference, via certified 
or hand-delivered mail, of the decision and the right to a 
formal hearing. Parties to the conference may agree to 
extend the report deadline if more time is needed to 
consider relevant evidence.  

B. Hearing; notification, appearance, conduct.  

1. If, after a fact-finding conference, a sufficient basis still 
exists to deny, suspend or revoke a permit, interested 
persons shall be notified by certified mail or hand delivery 
of the proposed action and of the opportunity for a hearing 
on the proposed action. If an organization desires to 
request a hearing, it shall notify the department within 14 
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days of receipt of a report on the conference. Parties may 
enter into a consent agreement to settle the issues at any 
time prior to, or subsequent to, an informal fact-finding 
conference.  

2. If an interested party or representative fails to appear at a 
hearing, the hearing officer may proceed in his absence and 
make a recommendation.  

3. Oral and written arguments may be submitted to and 
limited by the hearing officer. Oral arguments shall be 
recorded in an appropriate manner.  

C. Hearing location. Hearings before a hearing officer shall 
be held, insofar as practicable, in the county or city in which 
the organization is located. If the parties agree, hearing 
officers may conduct hearings at locations convenient to the 
greatest number of persons or by telephone conference, video 
conference or similar technology, in order to expedite the 
hearing process.  

D. Hearing decisions.  

1. Recommendations of the hearing officer shall be a part 
of the record and shall include a written statement of the 
hearing officer's findings of fact and recommendations as 
well as the reasons or basis for the recommendations. 
Recommendations shall be based upon all the material 
issues of fact, law or discretion presented on the record.  

2. The department shall review the recommendation of the 
hearing officer and render a decision on the 
recommendation within 30 days of receipt. The decision 
shall cite the appropriate rule, relief or denial thereof as to 
each issue.  

E. Agency representation. The director's commissioner's 
designee may represent the department in an informal 
conference or at a hearing.  

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (11VAC15-22)   

Annual Financial Report for Fiscal October 1 - September 
30, DCG Form 101, rev. 9/24/04. Annual Financial Report, 
Form 101 (rev. 01/09). 

2004 Exempt Organization Resolution, DCG Form 101-E, 
rev. 9/24/04.  

Quarterly Financial Report, DCG Form 102, rev. 1/1/04 
(rev. 01/09).  

Quarterly Supplemental, DCG Form 102-A, rev. 1/1/04. 

Bingo Session Reconciliation Summary, DCG Form 103, 
rev. 7/1/04 (rev. 07/08).  

Bingo Admission Sales, DCG Form 104-A, rev. 7/1/04. 
Admission Sales Reconciliation Form – Paper, Form 104-A 
(rev. 07/08). 

Floor Sales Reconciliation Form - Paper, DCG Form 104-B, 
rev. 7/1/04 (rev. 07/08).  

Decision Bingo Reconciliation Form, DCG Form 104-C, 
rev. 7/1/03 (rev. 07/08).  

Raffle or Treasure Chest Sales - (Bingo), DCG Form 104-D, 
rev. 7/1/03. Raffle/Treasure Chest Sales Reconciliation Form 
– Bingo Session, Form 104-D (rev. 07/08). 

Instant Bingo/Seal Card Cards/Pull-Tabs Reconciliation 
Form, DCG Form 105, rev. 9/1/04 (rev. 07/08).  

Instant Bingo/Seal Card Cards/Pull-Tabs Reconciliation 
Continuation Sheet Form, DCG Form 105-A, rev. 9/1/04 (rev. 
07/08).  

Storeroom Issue Sheet - Session, DCG Form 106, rev. 
7/1/03. Storeroom Inventory Issue Form – Paper, Form 106-A 
(rev. 07/08). 

Storeroom Inventory Issue Form – Instant Bingo/Seal 
Cards/Pull-Tabs, Form 106-B (rev. 07/08). 

List of Volunteer Workers, DCG Form 107, rev. 7/1/03 (rev. 
07/08).  

Prize Payout Receipts, DCG Form 108, rev. 7/1/03. Prize 
Receipt, Form 108 (rev. 07/08). 

Storeroom Inventory Form - Paper, DCG Form 109-A, rev. 
7/1/03 (rev. 07/08).  

Storeroom Inventory - Instants, DCG Form 109-B, rev. 
7/1/03. Storeroom Inventory – Instant Bingo/Seal Cards/Pull-
Tabs, Form 109-B (rev. 07/08). 

Raffle Sales (Non-Bingo), DCG Form 110, rev. 7/1/03 (rev. 
07/08).  

Request for Extension for Filing the Annual Financial 
Report, DCG Form 117, rev. 9/24/04.  

Bingo/Raffle Application - New Applicants Only, DCG 
Form 201(a), rev. 7/1/03. Charitable Gaming Permit 
Application – New Applicants Only, Form 201-N (rev. 
07/08). 

Bingo/Raffle Application - Renewal Applicants Only, DCG 
Form 201, rev. 8/8/03. Charitable Gaming Permit Application 
– Renewal Applicants Only, Form 201-R (rev. 07/08). 

Bingo/Raffle Renewal Application - Fraternal Order of Elks, 
DCG Form 201 (Elks), rev. 7/1/03.  

Exempt Organization - Notification New, DCG Form 202, 
rev. 7/1/03.  
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Exempt Organization - Notification Renewal, DCG Form 
202(a), rev. 3/1/05.  

Tax Information Disclosure Authorization, rev. 11/30/04 
(rev. 07/08).  

Permit Amendment, rev. 8/1/03 (rev. 07/08).  

Gaming Personnel Information Update, rev. 7/1/03 (rev. 
07/08).  

Report of Game Termination, rev. 8/8/03 (rev. 07/08).  

Charitable Gaming Bingo Caller Certificate of Registration 
Application, Form 401 (rev. 07/08). 

Charitable Gaming Bingo Manager Certificate of 
Registration Application, Form 402 (rev. 07/08). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-2007; Filed July 1, 2009, 9:59 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 11VAC15-31. Supplier Regulations 
(amending 11VAC15-31-10, 11VAC15-31-20, 11VAC15-
31-50). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-2456, 18.2-340.15, 18.2-340.19, 
and 18.2-340.34 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 19, 2009.  

Agency Contact: Betty Bowman, Division Director, 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Division 
of Charitable Gaming, 101 N. 14th St., 17th Floor, James 
Monroe Building, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
786-3015, FAX (804) 786-1079, or email 
betty.bowman@dcg.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This action implements the provisions of (i) Chapters 387 
and 689 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly that abolished the 
Department of Charitable Gaming and placed regulation 
of charitable gaming under the Department of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services, and (ii) Chapter 121 of the 2009 
Acts of Assembly by raising the permit exemption threshold 
from $25,000 to $40,000 for all organizations authorized 
to conduct charitable gaming. 

11VAC15-31-10. Definitions. 

In addition to the definitions contained in § 18.2-340.16 of 
the Code of Virginia, the words and terms below when used 
in this chapter shall have the following meanings unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Agent" means any person authorized by a supplier to act 
for or in place of such supplier.  

"Board" means the Virginia Charitable Gaming Board.  

"Cash" means United States currency or coinage.  

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Virginia 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. 

"Concealed face bingo card" means a nonreusable bingo 
card constructed to conceal the card face. This type of card is 
commonly referred to under trade names such as "Tear-open" 
or "Bonanza Bingo."  

"Conduct" means the actions associated with the provisions 
of a gaming operation during and immediately before or after 
the permitted activity, which may include, but is not limited 
to (i) selling bingo cards or packs, electronic devices, instant 
bingo or pull-tab cards, or raffle tickets; (ii) calling bingo 
games; (iii) distributing prizes; and (iv) any other services 
provided by volunteer workers.  

"DCG number" means a unique identification number issued 
by the department.  

"Deal" means each separate package or series of packages 
consisting of one game of instant bingo, pull-tabs, or seal 
cards with the same serial number.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Charitable 
Gaming Agriculture and Consumer Services, Division of 
Charitable Gaming.  

"Designator" means an object used in the number selection 
process, such as a ping-pong ball, upon which bingo letters 
and numbers are imprinted.  

"Director" means the Director of the Virginia Department of 
Charitable Gaming.  

"Disposable paper card" means a nonreusable paper bingo 
card manufactured with preprinted numbers.  

"Electronic bingo device" means an electronic device that 
uses proprietary software or hardware, or is used in 
conjunction with commonly available software and 
computers, to display facsimiles of bingo cards and allows a 
player to daub such cards.  

"Equipment and video systems" includes equipment which 
facilitates the conduct of charitable gaming such as ball 
blowers, flashboards, electronic verifiers and replacement 
parts for such equipment.  

"Fiscal year" or "annual reporting period" means the 12-
month period beginning January 1 and ending December 31 
of any given year.  

"Flare" means a piece of paper, cardboard or similar 
material which bears printed information relating to the name 
of the manufacturer or logo, name of the game, card count, 
cost per play, serial number, the number of prizes to be 
awarded and the specific prize amounts in a deal of instant 
bingo, pull-tabs, or seal cards.  

"Immediate family" means one's spouse, parent, child, 
sibling, grandchild, grandparent, mother or father-in-law or 
stepchild.  
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"Interested persons" means the owner, director, officer or 
partner of an entity engaged in supplying charitable gaming 
supplies to organizations.  

"Management" means the provision of oversight of a 
gaming operation, which may include, but is not limited to, 
the responsibilities of applying for and maintaining a permit 
or authorization; compiling, submitting and maintaining 
required records and financial reports; and ensuring that all 
aspects of the operation are in compliance with all applicable 
statutes and regulations.  

"Manufacturer" means a person or entity that assembles 
from raw materials or subparts a completed piece of bingo or 
other charitable gaming equipment or supplies. 
"Manufacturer" also means a person or entity that modifies, 
converts, adds or removes parts to or from bingo or other 
charitable gaming equipment or supplies to further their 
promotion or sale for the conduct of charitable gaming.  

"Operation" means the activities associated with production 
of a charitable gaming activity, which may include, but is not 
limited to (i) the direct on-site supervision of the conduct of 
charitable gaming, (ii) coordination of volunteers, and (iii) all 
responsibilities of charitable gaming designated by the 
organization's management.  

"Owner" means any individual with financial interest of 
10% or more in a supplier.  

"Pack" means sheets of bingo paper or electronic facsimiles 
assembled in the order of games to be played. This may 
include specials and jackpots but shall not include any 
winner-take-all, Lucky Seven or raffle.  

"Prize" means cash, merchandise, certificate or other item of 
value awarded to a winning player.  

"Progressive seal card" means a seal card game in which a 
prize is carried forward to the next deal if not won when a 
deal is completed.  

"Remuneration" means payment in cash or the provision of 
anything of value for goods provided or services rendered.  

"Seal card" means a board or placard used in conjunction 
with a deal of the same serial number which contains one or 
more concealed areas that, when removed or opened, reveal a 
predesignated winning number, letter or symbol located on 
that board or placard.  

"Selection device" means a manually or mechanically 
operated device to randomly select bingo numbers.  

"Serial number" means a unique number printed by the 
manufacturer on each bingo card in a set, each instant bingo, 
pull-tabs or seal card in a deal, each electronic bingo device 
or each door prize ticket.  

"Series number" means the number of unique card faces 
contained in a set of disposable bingo paper cards or bingo 

hard cards. A 9000 series, for example, has 9000 unique 
faces.  

"Session" means a period of time during which one or more 
bingo games are conducted that begins with the selection of 
the first ball for the first game and ends with the selection of 
the last ball for the last game.  

11VAC15-31-20. Suppliers of charitable gaming supplies: 
application, qualifications, suspension, revocation or 
refusal to renew permit, maintenance, and production of 
records.  

A. Prior to providing any charitable gaming supplies, a 
supplier shall submit an application on a form prescribed by 
the department and receive a permit. A $1,000 application fee 
payable to the Treasurer of Virginia is required. In addition, a 
supplier must be authorized to conduct business in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia, which may include, but not be 
limited to, registration with the State Corporation 
Commission, the Department of Taxation, and the Virginia 
Employment Commission. The actual cost of background 
investigations for a permit may be billed by the department to 
an applicant. The department shall act on an application 
within 90 days of the date of the application.  

B. The department may refuse to issue a permit or may 
suspend or revoke a permit if an officer, director, employee, 
agent or owner:  

1. Is operating without a valid license, permit or certificate 
as a supplier or manufacturer in any state in the United 
States;  

2. Fails or refuses to recall a product as directed by the 
department;  

3. Conducts business with unauthorized entities or is not 
authorized to conduct business in the Commonwealth of 
Virginia;  

4. Has been convicted of or pleaded nolo contendere to any 
crime as specified by § 18.2-340.34 B of the Code of 
Virginia; has had any license, permit certificate or other 
authority related to activities defined as charitable gaming 
in the Commonwealth suspended or revoked in the 
Commonwealth or in any other jurisdiction; has failed to 
file or has been delinquent in excess of one year in the 
filing of any tax returns or the payment of any taxes due 
the Commonwealth; or has failed to establish a registered 
office or registered agent in the Commonwealth if so 
required by § 13.1-634 or 13.1-763 of the Code of 
Virginia. As this provision relates to employees or agents, 
it shall only apply to individuals involved in sales to or 
solicitations of customers in the Commonwealth of 
Virginia;  

5. Fails to notify the department within 20 days of the 
occurrence, knowledge, or receipt of the filing of any 
administrative or legal action relating to charitable gaming 
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or the distribution of charitable gaming supplies involving 
or concerning the supplier, any officers or directors, 
employees, agent, or owner during the term of its permit;  

6. Fails to provide to the department upon request a current 
Letter for Company Registration on file with the U.S. 
Department of Justice—Gambling Devices Registration 
Unit, if required in accordance with The Gambling Devices 
Act of 1962, 15 USC §§ 1171-1178, for any device that it 
sells, distributes, services or maintains in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia; or  

7. Has been engaged in conduct that would compromise 
the department's objective of maintaining the highest level 
of integrity in charitable gaming.  

C. A supplier shall not sell, offer to sell or otherwise provide 
charitable gaming supplies for use by anyone in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia other than to an organization with 
a permit from the department or another permitted supplier. 
However, a supplier may:  

1. Sell charitable gaming supplies to an organization that 
expects to gross $25,000 $40,000 or less in any 12-month 
period, providing that the amount of such purchase would 
not be reasonably expected to produce more than $25,000 
$40,000 in gross sales. For each such organization, the 
supplier shall maintain the name, address and telephone 
number. The supplier shall also obtain a written and signed 
statement from an officer or game manager of such 
organization confirming that gross receipts are expected to 
be $25,000 $40,000 or less. Such statement shall be dated 
and kept on file for three years from the end of a fiscal 
year.  

2. Sell bingo cards and paper to persons or entities other 
than qualified organizations provided such supplies shall 
not be sold or otherwise provided for use in charitable 
gaming activities regulated by the department or in 
unlawful gambling activities. For each such sale, the 
supplier shall maintain the name, address and telephone 
number of the purchaser. The supplier shall also obtain a 
written statement from the purchaser verifying that such 
supplies will not be used in charitable gaming or any 
unlawful gambling activity. Such statement shall be dated 
and kept on file for three years from the end of a fiscal 
year. Payment for such sales in excess of $50 shall be 
accepted in the form of a check.  

3. Sell pull-tabs and seal cards to organizations for use 
only upon the premises owned or exclusively leased by the 
organization and at such times as the portion of the 
premises in which the pull-tabs or seal cards are sold is 
open only to members and their guests as authorized by § 
18.2-340.26:1 of the Code of Virginia. Each such sale shall 
be accounted for separately and the accompanying invoice 
shall be clearly marked: "For Use in Social Quarters Only."  

All such sales shall be documented pursuant to subsection H 
of this section and reported to the department pursuant to 
subsection J of this section. This provision shall not apply to 
the sale to landlords of equipment and video systems as 
defined in this chapter. Equipment and video systems shall 
not include dispensing devices and electronic bingo devices.  

D. A supplier shall not sell, offer to sell or otherwise provide 
charitable gaming supplies to any individual or organization 
in the Commonwealth of Virginia unless the charitable 
gaming supplies are purchased or obtained from a 
manufacturer or another permitted supplier. Suppliers may 
take back for credit and resell supplies received from an 
organization with a permit that has ceased charitable gaming 
or is returning supplies not needed.  

E. No supplier, supplier's agent, or employee may be 
involved in the management, operation or conduct of 
charitable gaming in the Commonwealth of Virginia. No 
member of a supplier's immediate family or person residing 
in the same household as a supplier may be involved in the 
management, operation or conduct of charitable gaming of 
any customer of the supplier in the Commonwealth of 
Virginia. No supplier, supplier's agent or employee may 
participate in any charitable gaming of any customer of the 
supplier in the Commonwealth of Virginia. For the purposes 
of this regulation, servicing of electronic devices shall not be 
considered conduct or participation.  

F. The department shall conduct a background investigation 
prior to the issuance of a permit to any supplier. The 
investigation may include, but shall not be limited to, the 
following:  

1. A search of the Virginia Central Criminal Records 
Exchange (CCRE) on all officers, directors and owners; 
and  

2. Verification of current compliance with Commonwealth 
of Virginia state tax laws.  

If the officers, directors or owners are domiciled outside of 
the Commonwealth of Virginia, or have resided in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia for fewer than five years, a 
criminal history search conducted by the appropriate authority 
in any state in which they have resided during the previous 
five years shall be provided by the applicant.  

G. Appropriate information and authorizations shall be 
provided to the department to verify information cited in 
subsection F of this section.  

H. Suppliers shall document each sale or rental of charitable 
gaming supplies to an organization in the Commonwealth of 
Virginia on an invoice which reflects the following:  

1. Name, address, and DCG number of the organization;  

2. Date of sale or rental and location where bingo supplies 
are shipped if different from the billing address;  
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3. Name, form number and serial number of each deal of 
instant bingo, pull-tabs, seal cards or bundles, and the 
number of cards in each deal;  

4. Quantity of deals sold, the cost per deal, the selling price 
per card, the cash take-in per deal and the cash payout per 
deal;  

5. Serial number of the top sheet in each pack of disposable 
bingo paper, the number of sheets in each pack or pad, the 
cut and color and the number of packs or pads sold;  

6. Serial number for each series of uncollated bingo paper 
and the number of sheets sold;  

7. Detailed information concerning the type, quantity and 
individual price of any other charitable gaming supplies or 
related items including, but not limited to, concealed face 
bingo cards, hard cards, markers or daubers and refills, or 
any other merchandise. For concealed face bingo cards, the 
number of sets, price per set and the serial number of each 
set shall be included; and  

8. Any type of equipment, device or product manufactured 
for or intended to be used in the conduct of charitable 
games including, but not limited to, designators, designator 
receptacles, number display boards, selection devices, 
dispensing machines and verification devices.  

I. Suppliers shall ensure that two copies of the detailed 
invoice are provided to the customer for each sale of 
charitable gaming supplies.  

J. Each supplier shall provide a report to the department by 
March 1 of each year on sales of charitable gaming supplies 
for the fiscal year ending December 31 of the previous year to 
each organization in the Commonwealth of Virginia. This 
report shall be provided to the department on computer disk 
or other department-approved media. The report shall include 
the name and address of each organization and the following 
information for each sale or transaction:  

1. Bingo paper sales including purchase price, description 
of paper to include number of sheets in pack and number 
of faces on sheet, quantity of single sheets or packs 
shipped;  

2. Deals of instant bingo, pull-tabs, seal cards, or any other 
raffle sales including purchase price, deal name, deal form 
number, number of tickets in deal, ticket price, cash take-in 
per deal, cash payout per deal, and number of deals;  

3. Electronic bingo device sales including purchase or 
rental price and number of units; and  

4. Sales of miscellaneous items such as daubers, markers, 
and other merchandise including purchase price, 
description of product, and number of units.  

K. The department shall set manufacturing and testing 
criteria for all electronic bingo devices and other equipment 

used in the conduct of charitable gaming. An electronic bingo 
device shall not be sold, leased or otherwise furnished to any 
person in the Commonwealth of Virginia for use in the 
conduct of charitable gaming until an identical sample device 
containing identical proprietary software has been approved 
by a testing facility that has been formally recognized by the 
department as a testing facility that upholds the standards of 
integrity established by the department. The testing facility 
must certify that the device conforms, at a minimum, to the 
restrictions and conditions set forth in these regulations. Once 
the testing facility reports the test results to the department, 
the department will either approve or disapprove the 
submission and inform the manufacturer of the results within 
10 business days. If any such equipment does not meet the 
department's criteria, it shall be recalled and shall not be 
distributed in the Commonwealth of Virginia. The cost of 
testing shall be borne by the manufacturer of such equipment.  

L. Department employees shall have the right to inspect all 
electronic and mechanical equipment used in the conduct of 
charitable gaming.  

M. Suppliers, their agents and employees, members of the 
supplier's immediate family or persons residing in their 
household shall not make any loan directly or indirectly to 
any organization or officer, director, game manager or entity 
involved in the management, operation or conduct of 
charitable gaming of a supplier's customer located in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia.  

N. No supplier, supplier's agent or employee shall directly or 
indirectly provide a rebate, discount or refund to any person 
other than an organization which purchases supplies or leases 
or purchases equipment from the supplier. All such 
transactions shall be recorded on the supplier's account books.  

O. A supplier shall not rent, sell or otherwise provide 
electronic bingo devices unless he possesses a valid permit in 
the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

P. A written agreement specifying the terms of lease or 
rental shall be required for any electronic bingo devices 
provided to an organization.  

11VAC15-31-50. Procedural rules for the conduct of fact-
finding conferences and hearings.  

A. Fact-finding conference; notification, appearance, 
conduct.  

1. Unless automatic revocation or immediate suspension is 
required by law, no permit to sell charitable gaming 
supplies shall be denied, suspended or revoked except 
upon notice stating the basis for such proposed action and 
the time and place for a fact-finding conference, as set 
forth in § 2.2-4019 of the Administrative Process Act.  

2. If a basis exists for a refusal to renew, suspend or revoke 
a permit, the department shall notify, by certified mail or 
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by hand delivery, the interested persons at the address of 
record maintained by the department.  

3. Notification shall include the basis for the proposed 
action and afford interested persons the opportunity to 
present written and oral information to the department 
which may have a bearing on the proposed action at a fact-
finding conference. If there is no withdrawal, a fact-finding 
conference shall be scheduled at the earliest mutually 
agreeable date, but no later than 60 days from the date of 
the notification. Organizations or suppliers who wish to 
waive their right to a conference shall notify the 
department at least 14 days before the scheduled 
conference.  

4. If, after consideration of evidence presented during an 
informal fact-finding conference, a basis for action still 
exists, the interested persons shall be notified in writing 
within 60 days of the fact-finding conference, via certified 
or hand-delivered mail, of the decision and the right to a 
formal hearing. Parties to the conference may agree to 
extend the report deadline if more time is needed to 
consider relevant evidence.  

B. Hearing; notification, appearance, conduct.  

1. If, after a fact-finding conference, a sufficient basis still 
exists to deny, suspend or revoke a permit, interested 
persons shall be notified by certified or hand-delivered 
mail of the proposed action and of the opportunity for a 
hearing on the proposed action. If a supplier desires to 
request a hearing, it shall notify the department within 14 
days of receipt of a report on the conference. Parties may 
enter into a consent agreement to settle the issues at any 
time prior to or subsequent to an informal fact-finding 
conference.  

2. If an interested party or representative fails to appear at a 
hearing, the hearing officer may proceed in his absence and 
make a recommendation.  

3. Oral and written arguments may be submitted to and 
limited by the hearing officer. Oral arguments shall be 
recorded in an appropriate manner.  

C. Hearing location. Hearings before a hearing officer shall 
be held, insofar as practicable, in the county or city in which 
the supplier is located. If the parties agree, hearing officers 
may conduct hearings at locations convenient to the greatest 
number of persons or by telephone conference, video 
conference or similar technology, in order to expedite the 
hearing process.  

D. Hearing decisions.  

1. Recommendations of the hearing officer shall be a part 
of the record and shall include a written statement of the 
hearing officer's findings of fact and recommendations as 
well as the reasons or bases for the recommendations. 

Recommendations shall be based upon all the material 
issues of fact, law or discretion presented on the record.  

2. The department shall review the recommendation of the 
hearing officer and render a decision on the 
recommendation within 30 days of receipt. The decision 
shall cite the appropriate rule, relief or denial thereof as to 
each issue.  

E. Agency representation. The director's commissioner's 
designee may represent the department in an informal 
conference or at a hearing.  

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (11VAC15-31) 

Charitable Gaming Supplier Registration Certificate Permit 
Application, DCG Form 301, rev. 7/03 (rev. 07/08).  

Annual Supplier Sales and Transaction Report, DCG Form 
302, rev. 10/04 (rev. 07/08).  

Certification of Non-Permit Holder, DCG Form 303, rev. 
1/05 (rev. 07/08).  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-2008; Filed July 1, 2009, 9:55 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Emergency Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-70. Methods and 
Standards for Establishing Payment Rates - Inpatient 
Hospital Services (amending 12VAC30-70-50). 

12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards for Establishing 
Payment Rates; Other Types of Care (amending 
12VAC30-80-20, 12VAC30-80-200). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
Items 306 BB and 306 XX of Chapter 781 of the 2009 Acts 
of Assembly. 

Effective Dates: July 2, 2009, through July 1, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Carla Russell, Provider Reimbursement 
Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 
East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 225-4586, FAX (805) 786-1680, or email 
carla.russell@dmas.virginia.gov. 
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Preamble: 

The Administrative Process Act states that an agency may 
adopt regulations in an emergency situation: (i) upon 
consultation with the Attorney General after the agency 
has submitted a request stating in writing the nature of the 
emergency, and at the sole discretion of the Governor; (ii) 
a situation in which Virginia statutory law, the Virginia 
appropriation act, or federal law or federal regulation 
requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or less 
from its enactment, and the regulation is not exempt under 
the provisions of subdivision A 4 of § 2.2-4006; or (iii) in a 
situation in which an agency has an existing emergency 
regulation, additional emergency regulations may be 
issued as needed to address the subject matter of the initial 
emergency regulation provided the amending action does 
not extend the effective date of the original action. This 
suggested emergency regulation meets the 280-day 
standard as discussed below. 

These changes were mandated by Items 306 BB and 306 
XX of Chapter 781 of the 2009 Acts of Assembly. The need 
for this regulatory action arises out of the requirement that 
DMAS fulfill these legislative mandates. 

Outpatient Rehabilitation Agency Reimbursement. 
Currently, the Virginia Administrative Code contains a 
cost-based methodology for computing reimbursement for 
outpatient rehabilitation services that is subject to a 
ceiling (12VAC30-80-200). For rehabilitation services, 
Medicare and most commercial insurers use a fee 
schedule. As a result, outpatient rehabilitation agencies 
bill differently and submit a cost report only for Medicaid. 
Implementation of a fee schedule methodology will align 
the DMAS reimbursement methodology for outpatient 
rehabilitation services more closely to the Medicare 
methodology and other reimbursement methodologies used 
by commercial insurers, including Medicaid's enrolled 
Managed Care Organizations (MCOs). Providers will no 
longer have to submit cost reports and DMAS will no 
longer have to settle the cost reports. Discontinuing both 
of these activities will result in administrative savings to 
both rehab providers and the Commonwealth. This action 
will also change Comprehensive Outpatient Rehabilitation 
Facilities (CORFs) from a cost-based methodology to the 
new fee schedule methodology; CORFs are being removed 
from the list of providers who are reimbursed on a cost 
basis in 12VAC30-80-20. 

This new methodology shall implement a prospective 
statewide fee schedule methodology for outpatient 
rehabilitation agencies based on CPT codes. 
Rehabilitation services furnished by community services 
boards and state agencies will continue to be reimbursed 
on a cost basis. The fee schedule will be developed to 
achieve savings totaling $185,900 general fund dollars as 

required in Chapter 781, Item 306 XX of the 2009 
Appropriation Act. 

Note: DMAS has been in the process of implementing the 
Outpatient Rehabilitation Agency Reimbursement changes 
through a nonemergency regulatory process initiated in 
2008. DMAS published a NOIRA (TH 2690/4671) on 
September 24, 2008 (VA.R. 25:3) and has a proposed 
regulation (TH 2690/4933) currently in the regulatory 
process addressing this element of this Emergency/NOIRA 
package. Because the 2009 budget required DMAS to 
implement the Outpatient Rehabilitation Agency 
Reimbursement changes prior to its originally scheduled 
implementation date, the agency included Outpatient 
Rehabilitation Agency Reimbursement in this 
Emergency/NOIRA package. The agency will rely upon the 
previously initiated full regulatory process to make final 
the changes regarding Outpatient Rehabilitation Agency 
Reimbursement, and will move the Long-Stay Hospital 
Reimbursement portion of this package forward in a 
separate proposed and final regulation process. 

Long-Stay Hospital Reimbursement. Long-stay hospitals 
currently are reimbursed based on the methodology in 
effect for all hospitals prior to the implementation of the 
prospective reimbursement methodology based on 
diagnosis-related-groups effective July 1, 1996. Several 
aspects of the methodology are no longer appropriate, but 
have never been changed since there are only a few 
hospitals (two currently) being reimbursed using this 
methodology. The changes to the old methodology include 
the reduction of the "incentive plan," the elimination of an 
additional 2.0% annually added to the "escalator," and 
modification of the Disproportionate Share Hospital 
(DSH) utilization threshold percentage. 

The incentive plan currently pays a hospital up to 25% of 
the difference between the ceiling and its cost per day. As a 
result of the incentive plan, hospitals can be reimbursed 
more than their costs. The regulatory change reduces the 
maximum incentive plan to up to 10.5% of the difference 
between the ceiling and its cost per day. The escalator, 
which is currently inflation plus 2.0%, is used to increase 
the ceilings and the operating cost per day. The regulation 
will change the escalator to just inflation. Currently, DSH 
is calculated by multiplying the difference between the 
Medicaid utilization percentage and the Medicaid 
utilization threshold of 8.0% times the prospective cost per 
day. The regulation will increase the utilization threshold 
from 8.0% to 10.5%. The regulatory changes are projected 
to save $1.98 million in FY10. 

12VAC30-70-50. Hospital reimbursement system.  

The reimbursement system for hospitals includes the 
following components:  
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A. Hospitals were grouped by classes according to number 
of beds and urban versus rural. (Three groupings for rural - 0 
to 100 beds, 101 to 170 beds, and over 170 beds; four 
groupings for urban - 0 to 100, 101 to 400, 401 to 600, and 
over 600 beds.) Groupings are similar to those used by the 
Health Care Financing Administration (HCFA) in 
determining routine cost limitations.  

B. Prospective reimbursement ceilings on allowable 
operating costs were established as of July 1, 1982, for each 
grouping. Hospitals with a fiscal year end after June 30, 1982, 
were subject to the new reimbursement ceilings.  

The calculation of the initial group ceilings as of July 1, 
1982, was based on available, allowable cost data for 
hospitals in calendar year 1981. Individual hospital operating 
costs were advanced by a reimbursement escalator from the 
hospital's year end to July 1, 1982. After this advancement, 
the operating costs were standardized using SMSA wage 
indices, and a median was determined for each group. These 
medians were readjusted by the wage index to set an actual 
cost ceiling for each SMSA. Therefore, each hospital 
grouping has a series of ceilings representing one of each 
SMSA area. The wage index is based on those used by HCFA 
in computing its Market Basket Index for routine cost 
limitations.  

Effective July 1, 1986, and until June 30, 1988, providers 
subject to the prospective payment system of reimbursement 
had their prospective operating cost rate and prospective 
operating cost ceiling computed using a new methodology. 
This method uses an allowance for inflation based on the 
percent of change in the quarterly average of the Medical 
Care Index of the Chase Econometrics - Standard Forecast 
determined in the quarter in which the provider's new fiscal 
year began.  

The prospective operating cost rate is based on the 
provider's allowable cost from the most recent filed cost 
report, plus the inflation percentage add-on.  

The prospective operating cost ceiling is determined by 
using the base that was in effect for the provider's fiscal year 
that began between July 1, 1985, and June 1, 1986. The 
allowance for inflation percent of change for the quarter in 
which the provider's new fiscal year began is added to this 
base to determine the new operating cost ceiling. This new 
ceiling was effective for all providers on July 1, 1986. For 
subsequent cost reporting periods beginning on or after July 
1, 1986, the last prospective operating rate ceiling determined 
under this new methodology will become the base for 
computing the next prospective year ceiling.  

Effective on and after July 1, 1988, and until June 30, 1989, 
for providers subject to the prospective payment system, the 
allowance for inflation shall be based on the percent of 
change in the moving average of the Data Resources, 
Incorporated Health Care Cost HCFA-Type Hospital Market 

Basket determined in the quarter in which the provider's new 
fiscal year begins. Such providers shall have their prospective 
operating cost rate and prospective operating cost ceiling 
established in accordance with the methodology which 
became effective July 1, 1986. Rates and ceilings in effect 
July 1, 1988, for all such hospitals shall be adjusted to reflect 
this change.  

Effective on or after July 1, 1989, for providers subject to 
the prospective payment system, the allowance for inflation 
shall be based on the percent of change in the moving average 
of the Health Care Cost HCFA-Type Hospital Market Basket, 
adjusted for Virginia, as developed by Data Resources, 
Incorporated, determined in the quarter in which the 
provider's new fiscal year begins. Such providers shall have 
their prospective operating cost rate and prospective operating 
cost ceiling established in accordance with the methodology 
which became effective July 1, 1986. Rates and ceilings in 
effect July 1, 1989, for all such hospitals shall be adjusted to 
reflect this change.  

Effective on and after July 1, 1992, for providers subject to 
the prospective payment system, the allowance for inflation, 
as described above, which became effective on July 1, 1989, 
shall be converted to an escalation factor by adding two 
percentage points, (200 basis points) to the then current 
allowance for inflation. Effective July 1, 2009, the additional 
two percentage points shall no longer be included in the 
escalation factor. The escalation factor shall be applied in 
accordance with the inpatient hospital reimbursement 
methodology in effect on June 30, 1992. On July 1, 1992, the 
conversion to the new escalation factor shall be accomplished 
by a transition methodology which, for non-June 30 year end 
hospitals, applies the escalation factor to escalate their 
payment rates for the months between July 1, 1992, and their 
next fiscal year ending on or before May 31, 1993.  

The new method will still require comparison of the 
prospective operating cost rate to the prospective operating 
ceiling. The provider is allowed the lower of the two amounts 
subject to the lower of cost or charges principles.  

C. Subsequent to June 30, 1992, the group ceilings shall not 
be recalculated on allowable costs, but shall be updated by the 
escalator factor.  

D. Prospective rates for each hospital shall be based upon 
the hospital's allowable costs plus the escalator factor, or the 
appropriate ceilings, or charges; whichever is lower. Except 
to eliminate costs that are found to be unallowable, no 
retrospective adjustment shall be made to prospective rates.  

Depreciation, capital interest, and education costs approved 
pursuant to PRM-15 (§ 400), shall be considered as pass 
throughs and not part of the calculation.  

E. An incentive plan should be established whereby a 
hospital will be paid on a sliding scale, percentage for 
percentage, up to 25% 10.5% of the difference between 
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allowable operating costs and the appropriate per diem group 
ceiling when the operating costs are below the ceilings. The 
incentive should be calculated based on the annual cost 
report.  

The table below presents three examples under the new 
plan:  

Group 
Ceiling 

Hospital's 
Allowable 
Cost Per 

Day 

$ Difference 
% or Ceiling $ 

Sliding 
Scale 

Incentive % 
of 

Difference 

$230.00 $230.00 -0- -0- -0- -0- 

230.00 207.00 23.00 10% 2.30 10% 

230.00 172.00 57.50 25% 14.38 25% 

230.00 143.00 76.00 33% 19.00 25% 

F. There will be special consideration for exception to the 
median operating cost limits in those instances where 
extensive neonatal care is provided.  

G. Disproportionate share hospitals defined.  

The following criteria shall be met before a hospital is 
determined to be eligible for a disproportionate share 
payment adjustment.  

1. Criteria.  

a. A Medicaid inpatient utilization rate in excess of 8% 
10.5% for hospitals receiving Medicaid payments in the 
Commonwealth, or a low-income patient utilization rate 
exceeding 25% (as defined in the Omnibus Budget 
Reconciliation Act of 1987 and as amended by the 
Medicare Catastrophic Coverage Act of 1988); and  

b. At least two obstetricians with staff privileges at the 
hospital who have agreed to provide obstetric services to 
individuals entitled to such services under a State 
Medicaid plan. In the case of a hospital located in a rural 
area (that is, an area outside of a Metropolitan Statistical 
Area, as defined by the Executive Office of Management 
and Budget), the term "obstetrician" includes any 
physician with staff privileges at the hospital to perform 
nonemergency obstetric procedures.  

c. Subdivision 1 b of this subsection does not apply to a 
hospital:  

(1) At which the inpatients are predominantly individuals 
under 18 years of age; or  

(2) Which does not offer nonemergency obstetric 
services as of December 21, 1987.  

2. Payment adjustment.  

a. Hospitals which have a disproportionately higher level 
of Medicaid patients shall be allowed a disproportionate 
share payment adjustment based on the type of hospital 
and on the individual hospital's Medicaid utilization. 
There shall be two types of hospitals: (i) Type One, 

consisting of state-owned teaching hospitals, and (ii) 
Type Two, consisting of all other hospitals. The 
Medicaid utilization shall be determined by dividing the 
number of utilization Medicaid inpatient days by the total 
number of inpatient days. Each hospital with a Medicaid 
utilization of over 8.0% 10.5% shall receive a 
disproportionate share payment adjustment.  

b. For Type One hospitals, the disproportionate share 
payment adjustment shall be equal to the product of (i) 
the hospital's Medicaid utilization in excess of 8.0% 
10.5%, times 11, times (ii) the lower of the prospective 
operating cost rate or ceiling. For Type Two hospitals, 
the disproportionate share payment adjustment shall be 
equal to the product of (i) the hospital's Medicaid 
utilization in excess of 8.0% 10.5% times (ii) the lower 
of the prospective operating cost rate or ceiling.  

c. No payments made under subdivision 1 or 2 of this 
subsection shall exceed any applicable limitations upon 
such payments established by federal law or regulations.  

H. Outlier adjustments.  

1. DMAS shall pay to all enrolled hospitals an outlier 
adjustment in payment amounts for medically necessary 
inpatient hospital services provided on or after July 1, 
1991, involving exceptionally high costs for individuals 
under one year of age.  

2. DMAS shall pay to disproportionate share hospitals (as 
defined in paragraph G above) an outlier adjustment in 
payment amounts for medically necessary inpatient 
hospital services provided on or after July 1, 1991, 
involving exceptionally high costs for individuals under six 
years of age.  

3. The outlier adjustment calculation.  

a. Each eligible hospital which desires to be considered 
for the adjustment shall submit a log which contains the 
information necessary to compute the mean of its 
Medicaid per diem operating cost of treating individuals 
identified in subdivision H 1 or 2 above. This log shall 
contain all Medicaid claims for such individuals, 
including, but not limited to: (i) the patient's name and 
Medicaid identification number; (ii) dates of service; (iii) 
the remittance date paid; (iv) the number of covered 
days; and (v) total charges for the length of stay. Each 
hospital shall then calculate the per diem operating cost 
(which excludes capital and education) of treating such 
patients by multiplying the charge for each patient by the 
Medicaid operating cost-to-charge ratio determined from 
its annual cost report.  

b. Each eligible hospital shall calculate the mean of its 
Medicaid per diem operating cost of treating individuals 
identified in subdivision H 1 or 2 above. Any hospital 
which qualifies for the extensive neonatal care provision 
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(as governed by paragraph F, above) shall calculate a 
separate mean for the cost of providing extensive 
neonatal care to individuals identified in subdivision H 1 
or 2 above.  

c. Each eligible hospital shall calculate its threshold for 
payment of the adjustment, at a level equal to two and 
one-half standard deviations above the mean or means 
calculated in subdivision H 3 (ii) above.  

d. DMAS shall pay as an outlier adjustment to each 
eligible hospital all per diem operating costs which 
exceed the applicable threshold or thresholds for that 
hospital.  

4. Pursuant to 12VAC30-50-100, there is no limit on 
length of time for medically necessary stays for individuals 
under six years of age. This section provides that consistent 
with 42 CFR 441.57, payment of medical assistance 
services shall be made on behalf of individuals under 21 
years of age, who are Medicaid eligible, for medically 
necessary stays in acute care facilities in excess of 21 days 
per admission when such services are rendered for the 
purpose of diagnosis and treatment of health conditions 
identified through a physical examination. Medical 
documentation justifying admission and the continued 
length of stay must be attached to or written on the invoice 
for review by medical staff to determine medical necessity. 
Medically unjustified days in such admissions will be 
denied.  

12VAC30-80-20. Services that are reimbursed on a cost 
basis.  

A. Payments for services listed below shall be on the basis 
of reasonable cost following the standards and principles 
applicable to the Title XVIII Program with the exception 
provided for in subdivision D 2 d. The upper limit for 
reimbursement shall be no higher than payments for Medicare 
patients on a facility by facility basis in accordance with 42 
CFR 447.321 and 42 CFR 447.325. In no instance, however, 
shall charges for beneficiaries of the program be in excess of 
charges for private patients receiving services from the 
provider. The professional component for emergency room 
physicians shall continue to be uncovered as a component of 
the payment to the facility.  

B. Reasonable costs will be determined from the filing of a 
uniform cost report by participating providers. The cost 
reports are due not later than 90 days after the provider's 
fiscal year end. If a complete cost report is not received 
within 90 days after the end of the provider's fiscal year, the 
Program shall take action in accordance with its policies to 
assure that an overpayment is not being made. The cost report 
will be judged complete when DMAS has all of the 
following:  

1. Completed cost reporting form(s) provided by DMAS, 
with signed certification(s);  

2. The provider's trial balance showing adjusting journal 
entries;  

3. The provider's financial statements including, but not 
limited to, a balance sheet, a statement of income and 
expenses, a statement of retained earnings (or fund 
balance), and a statement of changes in financial position;  

4. Schedules that reconcile financial statements and trial 
balance to expenses claimed in the cost report;  

5. Depreciation schedule or summary;  

6. Home office cost report, if applicable; and  

7. Such other analytical information or supporting 
documents requested by DMAS when the cost reporting 
forms are sent to the provider.  

C. Item 398 D of the 1987 Appropriation Act (as amended), 
effective April 8, 1987, eliminated reimbursement of return 
on equity capital to proprietary providers.  

D. The services that are cost reimbursed are:  

1. Inpatient hospital services to persons over 65 years of 
age in tuberculosis and mental disease hospitals.  

2. Outpatient hospital services excluding laboratory.  

a. Definitions. The following words and terms when used 
in this regulation shall have the following meanings 
when applied to emergency services unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise:  

"All-inclusive" means all emergency department and 
ancillary service charges claimed in association with the 
emergency room visit, with the exception of laboratory 
services.  

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services consistent with Chapter 10 (§et seq.) of Title 
32.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Emergency hospital services" means services that are 
necessary to prevent the death or serious impairment of 
the health of the recipient. The threat to the life or health 
of the recipient necessitates the use of the most 
accessible hospital available that is equipped to furnish 
the services.  

"Recent injury" means an injury that has occurred less 
than 72 hours prior to the emergency department visit.  

b. Scope. DMAS shall differentiate, as determined by the 
attending physician's diagnosis, the kinds of care 
routinely rendered in emergency departments and 
reimburse for nonemergency care rendered in emergency 
departments at a reduced rate.  

(1) With the exception of laboratory services, DMAS 
shall reimburse at a reduced and all-inclusive 
reimbursement rate for all services, including those 
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obstetric and pediatric procedures contained in 
12VAC30-80-160, rendered in emergency departments 
that DMAS determines were nonemergency care.  

(2) Services determined by the attending physician to be 
emergencies shall be reimbursed under the existing 
methodologies and at the existing rates.  

(3) Services performed by the attending physician that 
may be emergencies shall be manually reviewed. If such 
services meet certain criteria, they shall be paid under the 
methodology for subdivision 2 b (2) of this subsection. 
Services not meeting certain criteria shall be paid under 
the methodology of subdivision 2 b (1) of this subsection. 
Such criteria shall include, but not be limited to:  

(a) The initial treatment following a recent obvious 
injury.  

(b) Treatment related to an injury sustained more than 72 
hours prior to the visit with the deterioration of the 
symptoms to the point of requiring medical treatment for 
stabilization.  

(c) The initial treatment for medical emergencies 
including indications of severe chest pain, dyspnea, 
gastrointestinal hemorrhage, spontaneous abortion, loss 
of consciousness, status epilepticus, or other conditions 
considered life threatening.  

(d) A visit in which the recipient's condition requires 
immediate hospital admission or the transfer to another 
facility for further treatment or a visit in which the 
recipient dies.  

(e) Services provided for acute vital sign changes as 
specified in the provider manual.  

(f) Services provided for severe pain when combined 
with one or more of the other guidelines.  

(4) Payment shall be determined based on ICD-9-CM 
diagnosis codes and necessary supporting documentation.  

(5) DMAS shall review on an ongoing basis the 
effectiveness of this program in achieving its objectives 
and for its effect on recipients, physicians, and hospitals. 
Program components may be revised subject to achieving 
program intent, the accuracy and effectiveness of the 
ICD-9-CM code designations, and the impact on 
recipients and providers.  

c. Limitation to 80% of allowable cost. Effective for 
services on and after July 1, 2003, reimbursement of 
Type Two hospitals for outpatient services shall be at 
80% of allowable cost, with cost to be determined as 
provided in subsections A, B, and C of this section. For 
hospitals with fiscal years that do not begin on July 1, 
2003, outpatient costs, both operating and capital, for the 
fiscal year in progress on that date shall be apportioned 
between the time period before and the time period after 

that date, based on the number of calendar months in the 
cost reporting period, falling before and after that date. 
Operating costs apportioned before that date shall be 
settled according to the principles in effect before that 
date, and those after at 80% of allowable cost. Capital 
costs apportioned before that date shall be settled 
according to the principles in effect before that date, and 
those after at 80% of allowable cost. Operating and 
capital costs of Type One hospitals shall continue to be 
reimbursed at 94.2% and 90% of cost respectively.  

d. Outpatient reimbursement methodology prior to July 
1, 2003. DMAS shall continue to reimburse for 
outpatient hospital services, with the exception of direct 
graduate medical education for interns and residents, at 
100% of reasonable costs less a 10% reduction for 
allowable capital costs and a 5.8% reduction for 
allowable operating costs. This methodology shall 
continue to be in effect after July 1, 2003, for Type One 
hospitals.  

e. Payment for direct medical education costs of nursing 
schools, paramedical programs and graduate medical 
education for interns and residents.  

(1) Direct medical education costs of nursing schools and 
paramedical programs shall continue to be paid on an 
allowable cost basis.  

(2) Effective with cost reporting periods beginning on or 
after July 1, 2002, direct graduate medical education 
(GME) costs for interns and residents shall be reimbursed 
on a per-resident prospective basis. See 12VAC30-70-
281 for prospective payment methodology for graduate 
medical education for interns and residents.  

3. Rehabilitation agencies operated by community services 
boards. For reimbursement methodology applicable to 
other rehabilitation agencies, see 12VAC30-80-200. 
Reimbursement for physical therapy, occupational therapy, 
and speech-language therapy services shall not be provided 
for any sums that the rehabilitation provider collects, or is 
entitled to collect, from the NF or any other available 
source, and provided further, that this amendment shall in 
no way diminish any obligation of the NF to DMAS to 
provide its residents such services, as set forth in any 
applicable provider agreement.  

4. Comprehensive outpatient rehabilitation facilities.  

5. 4. Rehabilitation hospital outpatient services.  

12VAC30-80-200. Prospective reimbursement for 
rehabilitation agencies. 

A. Effective for dates of service on and after July 1, 2003 
2009, rehabilitation agencies, including comprehensive 
outpatient rehabilitation facilities and excluding those 
operated by community services boards and state agencies, 
shall be reimbursed a prospective rate equal to the lesser of 
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the agency's cost per visit for each type of rehabilitation 
service (physical therapy, occupational therapy, and speech 
therapy) or a statewide ceiling established for each type of 
service. The prospective ceiling for each type of service shall 
be equal to 112% of the median cost per visit, for such 
services, of rehabilitation agencies. The median shall be 
calculated using a base year to be determined by the 
department fee schedule amount or billed charges per 
procedure. The agency shall develop a statewide fee schedule 
based on CPT codes to reimburse providers what the agency 
estimates they would have been paid in FY 2010 minus 
$371,800. Effective July 1, 2003, the median calculated and 
the resulting ceiling shall be applicable to all services 
beginning on and after July 1, 2003, and all services in 
provider fiscal years beginning in SFY2004.  

B. In each provider fiscal year, each provider's prospective 
rate shall be determined based on the cost report from the 
previous year and the ceiling, calculated by DMAS, that is 
applicable to the state fiscal year in which the provider fiscal 
year begins.  

C. For providers with B. Payments for the fiscal years year 
ending or that do not begin on July 1, 2003, services for the 
fiscal year in progress on that date June 30, 2009, shall be 
apportioned between the time period before and the time 
period after that date based on the number of calendar months 
before and after that date. Costs apportioned before that date 
shall be settled based on allowable costs, and those after shall 
be settled based on the prospective methodology the previous 
prospective rate methodology and the ceilings in effect for 
that fiscal year as of June 30, 2009. 

C. Rehabilitation services furnished by community service 
boards or state agencies shall be reimbursed costs based on 
annual cost reporting methodology and procedures. 

D. Beginning with state fiscal years beginning on and after 
July 1, 2004 2009, rates the ceiling and the provider specific 
cost per visit shall be adjusted for inflation, from the previous 
year to the prospective year, using the nursing facility 
inflation factor published for Virginia by DRI, applicable to 
the calendar year in progress at the start of the state fiscal 
year using the Virginia-specific nursing home input price 
index contracted for by the agency. The agency shall use the 
percent moving average for the quarter ending at the midpoint 
of the rate year from the most recently available index prior to 
the beginning of the rate year. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1968; Filed July 2, 2009, 11:11 a.m.  

 

DEPARTMENT OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC35-190. Regulations 
Establishing Procedures for Voluntarily Admitting 
Persons Who Are Mentally Retarded to State Mental 
Retardation Facilities (amending 12VAC35-190-10, 
12VAC35-190-21, 12VAC35-190-30, 12VAC35-190-41, 
12VAC35-190-51). 

Statutory Authority: § 37.2-203 and 37.2-806 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 19, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Dawn Traver, Office of Developmental 
Services, Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services, P.O. Box 1797, 1220 Bank Street, 
Richmond, VA 23218-1797, telephone (757) 253-4316, FAX 
(757) 253-5440, or email 
dawn.traver@co.dmhmrsas.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

This action revises the statutory references to reflect the 
recent recodification of Title 37.1 to Title 37.2 of the Code 
of Virginia. Changes are made to definitions of 
"authorized representative," "case management community 
services board," "mental retardation" and several other 
terms for clarity and consistency with the Code of Virginia 
and other regulations of the board. The application 
process and requirements are revised to require that the 
diagnosis of mental retardation be made by a "licensed 
professional," which is defined in the regulations. The 
required timeframe for a decision on a request for 
admission is reduced from 30 to 10 working days from the 
date of receipt of the completed application package. 

Since publication of the proposed regulation some 
language and terminology is revised for clarity, 
consistency with the board's other regulations. For 
example, "case management community services board" is 
replaced with "community services board." The term 
"intellectual disability" is inserted in parenthesis after 
"mental retardation" to be consistent with recent changes 
to the other regulations of the board. The name 
Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services is replaced with the new name, 
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services consistent with legislation passed in the 2009 
Session of the General Assembly. None of these revisions 
substantively change the process or the requirements for 
admissions to state training centers. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  
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CHAPTER 190  
REGULATIONS ESTABLISHING PROCEDURES FOR 
VOLUNTARILY ADMITTING PERSONS WHO ARE 

MENTALLY RETARDED VOLUNTARY ADMISSIONS 
TO STATE MENTAL RETARDATION FACILITIES 

TRAINING CENTERS 

12VAC35-190-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Admission" means [ placement acceptance ] of an 
individual in a residential facility for individuals with mental 
retardation as defined in this chapter so that the facility 
becomes the individual's primary locus of care, treatment, and 
training center. 

"Authorized representative" means a person permitted by 
law or regulation to authorize the disclosure of information 
[ and or ] consent to treatment and services, including medical 
treatment, or the participation in human research on behalf of 
an individual who lacks the mental capacity to make these 
decisions. 

[ "Case management community services board ] (CSB) [ " 
or "CSB" means ] a citizens board [ the public body 
established pursuant to ] § 37.1-195 [ § 37.2-501 of the Code 
of Virginia that serves the area in which an adult resides or in 
which a minor's parent, or guardian ] or legally authorized 
representative [ resides. ] The case management CSB is 
responsible for case management, liaison with the facility 
when an individual is admitted to a state training center, and 
predischarge planning. If an individual, or the parents, 
guardian or legally authorized representative on behalf of an 
individual, chooses to reside in a different locality after the 
individual's discharge from the facility, the community 
services board serving that locality becomes the case 
management CSB and works with the original case 
management CSB, the individual receiving services and the 
state facility to effect a smooth transition and discharge. [ For 
the purpose of these regulations, CSB also includes a 
behavioral health authority established pursuant to § 37.2-602 
of the Code of Virginia. ]  

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the 
Department of [ Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Behavioral Health and Developmental ] 
Services. 

[ "Community services board" or "CSB" means the public 
body established pursuant to § 37.2-501 of the Code of 
Virginia. For the purpose of these regulations, CSB also 
includes a behavioral health authority established pursuant to 
§ 37.2-602 of the Code of Virginia. ]  

"Discharge plan" or "predischarge plan" means a written 
plan prepared by the [ case management ] CSB [ providing 

case management ] in consultation with the state facility 
training center pursuant to § 37.1-197.1 [ § §§ 37.2-505 and 
37.2-837 ] of the Code of Virginia. This plan is prepared 
when the individual is admitted to the facility training center 
and documents the [ planning for ] services [ after to be 
provided upon ] discharge. 

"Facility" means a state training center for individuals with 
mental retardation under the supervision and management of 
the Commissioner of the Department of Mental Health, 
Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services.  

"Guardian" means:  

For Minors -- An an adult who is either appointed by the 
court as a legal guardian of said a minor or exercises the 
rights and responsibilities of legal custody by delegation 
from a biological or adoptive parent, upon provisional 
adoption or otherwise by operation of law.  

For Adults -- a person appointed by the court who is 
responsible for the personal affairs of an incapacitated 
adult under the order of appointment. The responsibilities 
may include making decisions regarding the individual's 
support, care, health, safety, habilitation, education and 
therapeutic treatment. Refer to definition of "incapacitated 
person" at § 37.1-134.6 § 37.2-1000 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

"Legally authorized representative" means a person 
permitted by law or regulations to give informed consent for 
disclosure of information and give informed consent to 
treatment, including medical treatment and participation in 
human research on behalf of an individual who lacks the 
mental capacity to make these decisions.  

"Licensed professional" means a licensed psychologist, 
licensed professional counselor, or other individual who holds 
a valid professional license and has appropriate training in 
intellectual testing. 

"Mental retardation" [ ("intellectual disability") ] means 
substantial subaverage general intellectual functioning which 
originates during the developmental period and is associated 
with impairment in adaptive behavior. a disability originating 
before the age of 18 years, characterized concurrently by (i) 
significantly subaverage intellectual functioning as 
demonstrated by performance on a standardized measure of 
intellectual functioning, administered in conformity with 
accepted professional practice, that is at least two standard 
deviations below the mean; and (ii) significant limitations in 
adaptive behavior as expressed in conceptual, social, and 
practical adaptive skills. 

[ "Training center" means a facility operated by the 
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services for the treatment, training, or habilitation of persons 
with mental retardation (intellectual disability). ]  



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 23 Virginia Register of Regulations July 20, 2009 

4212 

12VAC35-190-21. Application for admission process.  

A. Requests for admission to a facility training center shall 
be processed through the [ case management ] CSB. A parent, 
guardian, or legally authorized representative seeking 
admission to a facility training center for an individual with 
mental retardation [ (intellectual disability) ] shall apply first 
to the CSB that serves the area where the applicant individual, 
or if a minor, his parent, or guardian, or legally authorized 
representative is currently residing.  

B. If the [ case management ] CSB determines that the 
services for the individual are not available in the community 
or the individual chooses to obtain services in the state 
facility training center, the CSB shall forward a prescreening 
preadmission screening report, pursuant to § 37.1-65.1 B 
§ 37.2-806 B of the Code of Virginia, to the facility training 
center serving individuals with mental retardation 
[ (intellectual disability) ] from that geographic section of the 
state in which the applicant individual or, if a minor, his 
parent, or guardian, or legally authorized representative is 
currently residing.  

C. The prescreening preadmission screening report shall 
include at a minimum:  

1. An application for services;  

2. A medical history indicating the presence of any current 
medical problems as well as the presence of any known 
communicable disease. In all cases, the application shall 
include any currently prescribed medications as well as any 
known medication allergies;  

3. A social history and current status housing or living 
arrangements; and 

4. A psychological evaluation that has been performed in 
the past three years unless the facility director or designee 
determines that sufficient information as to the applicant's 
abilities and needs is included in other reports received; 
reflects the individual's current functioning.  

D. The preadmission screening report shall also include the 
following, as appropriate:  

5. 1. A current individualized education plan for school-
aged applicants unless the facility director or designee 
determines that sufficient information as to the applicant's 
abilities and needs is included in other reports received; 
individuals. 

6. 2. A vocational assessment for adult applicants unless 
the facility director or designee determines that sufficient 
information as to the applicant's abilities and needs is 
included in other reports received; and adults.  

7. 3. A completed discharge plan outlining the services to 
be provided upon discharge and anticipated date of 
discharge.  

[ 4. A statement from the individual, family member, or 
authorized representative requesting services in the training 
center. ]  

12VAC35-190-30. Determination of suitability Criteria for 
admission. 

A. Within 30 working days from the receipt of the 
completed prescreening report, the director of the facility, or 
his designee, shall notify the case management CSB in 
writing of the determination on the admission request.  

B. Determination of suitability A. Upon the receipt of a 
completed preadmission screening report, the director of the 
training center or designee shall determine eligibility for 
admission by the director shall be based upon the following 
criteria and shall be so stated in his written decision:  

1. The individual has a primary diagnosis of mental 
retardation [ (intellectual disability) ];  

2. The diagnosis of mental retardation has been made by an 
interdisciplinary team of qualified mental retardation 
professionals upon review of the completed prescreening 
report a licensed professional; and  

3. The facility training center has available space, training, 
treatment, and habilitation services appropriate and service 
capacity to meet the needs of the individual.  

B. If the director finds that admission is not appropriate, he 
shall state the reasons in a written decision and may 
recommend an alternative location for needed services. 

C. If the director finds that the applicant is not suitable for 
admission to the facility, he shall state the reasons for his 
decision and may recommend alternative locations for needed 
services. Within 10 working days from the receipt of the 
completed preadmission screening report, the director of the 
training center or designee shall provide the written decision 
on the admission request to the [ case management ] CSB. 

12VAC35-190-41. Requests for reconsideration of the 
director's determination. 

In the event that (i) the [ case management ] CSB making 
the request for admission, or (ii) a person seeking admission 
to a facility, the parent, guardian, or authorized representative 
applying on behalf of an individual disagrees with the 
determination of the director, the CSB, or person seeking 
admission, or both [ they either party ] may request a 
reconsideration of the determination by submitting a request 
in writing to the commissioner within 10 working days of 
receiving such determination. Upon receipt of a request for 
reconsideration, the commissioner shall notify the facility 
training center director and the facility training center director 
shall forward the prescreening preadmission screening report 
package and related information to the commissioner within 
48 hours. The commissioner shall also provide an opportunity 
for the person individual requesting reconsideration to submit 
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for review any additional information or reasons why the 
admission should be approved. The commissioner shall 
render a written decision on the request for reconsideration 
within 30 calendar days of the receipt of the request and 
notify all involved parties. The commissioner's decision shall 
be binding. 

12VAC35-190-51. Procedure for admission Judicial 
certification.  

Upon receipt of written notification from the facility training 
center director that an individual is suitable eligible for 
admission, the [ case management ] CSB will shall inform the 
individual or and the individual's parent, guardian, or legally 
authorized representative of this decision and assist the 
parent, guardian, or legally authorized representative in 
initiating a judicial proceeding pursuant to § 37.1-65.1 § 37.2-
806 of the Code of Virginia. When the judge has certified that 
the individual is eligible for admission to a facility training 
center in accordance with subsection C3 of § 37.1-65.1 
§ 37.2-806 F of the Code of Virginia, a date for admission to 
the facility will training center shall be established.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-261; Filed July 1, 2009, 10:28 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 13. HOUSING 

VIRGINIA HOUSING DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Housing 
Development Authority is exempt from the Administrative 
Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) 
pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 4; however, under the provisions of 
§ 2.2-4031, it is required to publish all proposed and final 
regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC10-180. Rules and Regulations 
for Allocation of Low-Income Housing Tax Credits 
(adding 13VAC10-180-120). 

Statutory Authority: § 36-55.30:3 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2009.  

Agency Contact: J. Judson McKellar, Jr., General Counsel, 
Virginia Housing Development Authority, 601 S. Belvidere 
Street, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 343-5540, 
FAX (804) 783-6701, or email judson.mckellar@vhda.com. 

Summary: 

The amendments to the authority's rules and regulations 
for the allocation of low-income housing tax credits adds a 
new section to the regulations that governs the award of 
funds made available to the authority pursuant to the 
American Recovery and Investment Act of 2009, PL-155, to 
low-income housing tax credit developments. The 

American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (i) 
includes funds to be allocated to the authority from the 
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development 
under a program called the tax credit assistance program 
to facilitate the production of developments awarded low-
income housing tax credits in federal fiscal years 2007, 
2008 and 2009 and (ii) permits the authority to monetize 
credits by exchanging eligible credits for cash grants, 
which can be used by the authority to finance the 
construction or acquisition and rehabilitation of qualified 
low-income buildings. 

13VAC10-180-120. Application for Tax Credit Assistance 
Funds and Credit Exchange Funds. 

The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 
(Recovery Act), PL 111-5 (i) includes funds to be allocated to 
housing credit agencies from HUD under a program called 
the tax credit assistance program (TCAP) to facilitate the 
production of developments awarded low-income housing tax 
credits in fiscal years 2007, 2008, and 2009, and (ii) permits 
the authority to monetize credits by exchanging eligible 
credits for cash grants, which can be used by the authority to 
finance the construction or acquisition and rehabilitation of 
qualified low-income buildings. 

Application for TCAP funds and credit exchange funds shall 
be filed with the authority on such form or forms as the 
executive director may from time to time prescribe or 
approve, together with such documents and additional 
information as may be requested by the authority in order to 
comply with the Recovery Act, the IRC, and this chapter and 
to make an award of TCAP funds or credit exchange funds in 
accordance with this chapter. The executive director may 
establish criteria and assumptions to be used by the applicant 
in the calculation of the amounts of tax credits, TCAP funds, 
and credit exchange funds in the application; and any such 
criteria and assumptions may be indicated on the application 
form or instructions made available by the authority to 
applicants. Each applicant for TCAP funds and credit 
exchange funds shall commit in the application to comply 
with all federal requirements applicable to such funds. 

The executive director may divide the amount of TCAP 
funds into separate pools and each separate pool may be 
further divided into separate tiers. The division of such pools 
and tiers may be based upon one or more of the following 
factors: geographical areas of the state; types or 
characteristics of housing, construction, financing, owners, 
occupants, or source of credits; or any other factors deemed 
appropriate to best meet the housing needs of the 
Commonwealth. Proposed developments to be financed by 
certain tax-exempt bonds and eligible to receive credits 
pursuant to 13VAC10-180-100 that apply for TCAP funds 
will be scored and ranked pursuant to the requirements of 
13VAC10-180-60 with all other applications applying for 
TCAP funds and credits. Such developments may be placed 
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in pools with other applicants for TCAP funds or may be put 
in their own separate pool as the executive director deems 
appropriate. 

For each application that may receive an award of tax credits 
and either TCAP funds or credit exchange funds or both, the 
executive director shall determine the amount, as of the date 
of the deadline for submission of applications for such funds, 
to be necessary for the financial feasibility of the 
development and its viability as a qualified low-income 
development throughout the credit period under the IRC. The 
executive director may substitute TCAP funds for some or all 
of the credit exchange funds in the application or credit 
exchange funds for some or all of the TCAP funds requested 
in the application in such amounts as determined by the 
executive director to maximize the number of developments 
or units that are expected to benefit from the equity provided 
by tax credit investors. Any TCAP funds and credit exchange 
funds awarded to a proposed development shall be in the 
form of a grant or, if requested by the borrower, a loan. Such 
grant or loan shall (i) be subordinate to all other unrelated 
third-party financing for the construction or acquisition and 
rehabilitation of the development; (ii) be secured by a deed of 
trust for the full amount of the grant or loan during the 
compliance period; and (iii) provided no conditions exist that 
would result in default under the deed of trust, be forgiven by 
the authority in part each year on a pro rata basis based upon 
the length of the extended use period. 

Any tax credit developments that have received a 
reservation of tax credits pursuant to 13VAC10-180-60 in 
calendar years 2007 and 2008 may request the authority to 
exchange their tax credit allocation for credit exchange funds 
in an amount not to exceed the lesser of (i) $.85 per $1.00 of 
credit exchanged or (ii) the tax credit equity amount shown in 
their allocation application. 

The executive director may place conditions and limitations 
on the availability and use of the grant or loan deemed 
necessary to comply with the provisions of the Recovery Act 
and the IRC. The executive director may also prescribe such 
deadlines for accomplishing certain milestones established by 
the executive director in the acquisition, construction or 
rehabilitation of the developments deemed necessary or 
desirable to ensure full use of TCAP funds and credit 
exchange funds within the timeframes established by the 
Recovery Act. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1920; Filed July 1, 2009, 9:57 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 
of the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-260. Rules Governing 
Insurance Holding Companies (amending 14VAC5-260-
40, 14VAC5-260-60, 14VAC5-260-70, 14VAC5-260-90). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 
upon request. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on August 14, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Raquel C. Pino-Moreno, Principal Insurance 
Analyst, Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation Commission, 
1300 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 371-9499, FAX (804) 371-9511, or 
email raquel.pino-moreno@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The purpose of the proposed revisions to the rules and 
forms is to amend the language regarding declaration of 
dividends and disclaimer of affiliation. Additionally, a 
reference to electronic filing and clarification that 
dividends and distributions are to be paid out of earned 
surplus unless the commission approves otherwise, has 
been added. These proposed revisions are necessary as a 
result of the passage of Senate Bill 1352 (Chapter 717 of 
the 2009 Acts of Assembly), which amended § 38.2-1329 
of the Code of Virginia. 

AT RICHMOND, JUNE 25, 2009 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 

At the relation of the 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2009-00146 

Ex Parte: In the matter of 
Adopting Revisions to the Rules 
Governing Insurance Holding 
Companies 
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ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Section 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia provides that the 
State Corporation Commission ("Commission") shall have 
the power to promulgate rules and regulations in the 
enforcement and administration of all laws within its 
jurisdiction, and § 38.2-223 of the Code of Virginia provides 
that the Commission may issue any rules and regulations 
necessary or appropriate for the administration and 
enforcement of Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

The rules and regulations issued by the Commission 
pursuant to § 38.2-223 of the Code of Virginia are set forth in 
Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code. A copy may 
also be found at the Commission's website: 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

The Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") has submitted to the 
Commission proposed revisions to rules set forth in Chapter 
260 of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code entitled 
"Rules Governing Insurance Holding Companies" ("Rules") 
which amend the Rules at 14 VAC 5-260-40, 14 VAC 5-260-
60, 14 VAC 5-260-70, and 14 VAC 5-260-90. 

The proposed revisions to the Rules are necessary due to the 
passage of Senate Bill 1352 during the 2009 General 
Assembly session, which amends § 38.2-1329 of the Code of 
Virginia, effective July 1, 2009. 

The Commission is of the opinion that the proposed 
revisions submitted by the Bureau and set out in the Rules at 
14 VAC 5-260-40, 14 VAC 5-260-60, 14 VAC 5-260-70, and 
14 VAC 5-260-90 should be considered for adoption with a 
proposed effective date of September 30, 2009. 

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed revisions to "Rules Governing Insurance 
Holding Companies" which amend the Rules at 14 VAC 5-
260-40, 14 VAC 5-260-60, 14 VAC 5-260-70, and 
14 VAC 5-260-90, be attached hereto and made a part hereof. 

(2) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
forthwith shall cause a copy of this Order, together with the 
proposed revisions to the Rules, to be forwarded to the 
Virginia Registrar of Regulations for appropriate publication 
in the Virginia Register of Regulations and shall make 
available this Order and the attached proposed revisions to the 
Rules on the Commission's website, 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(3) All interested persons who desire to comment in support 
of or in opposition to, or request a hearing to oppose the 
adoption of the proposed revised Rules shall file such 
comments or hearing request on or before August 14, 2009, in 
writing, with Joel H. Peck, Clerk, State Corporation 
Commission, c/o Document Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, 
Richmond, Virginia 23218, and shall refer to Case No. INS-
2009-00146. Interested persons desiring to submit comments 
electronically may do so by following the instructions 

available at the Commission's website: 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(4) If no written request for a hearing on the proposed 
revised Rules is filed on or before August 14, 2009, the 
Commission, upon consideration of any comments submitted 
in support of or in opposition to the proposed revisions to the 
Rules, may adopt the revised Rules as submitted by the 
Bureau. 

(5) AN ATTESTED COPY hereof, together with a copy of 
the proposed revised Rules, shall be sent by the Clerk of the 
Commission to the Bureau of Insurance in care of Deputy 
Commissioner Douglas C. Stolte, who forthwith shall give 
further notice of the proposed adoption of the revised Rules 
by mailing a copy of this Order, together with the proposed 
revised Rules, to all licensed insurers, burial societies, 
fraternal benefit societies, health maintenance organizations, 
and certain interested parties designated by the Bureau. 

(6) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk of the Commission 
an affidavit of compliance with the notice requirements of 
Ordering Paragraph (5) above. 

14VAC5-260-40. Acquisition of control; approval of 
applications.  

A. A person filing an application or statement pursuant to 
§ 38.2-1323 A, or any related provision of §§ 38.2-1324 
through 38.2-1328, of the Act shall furnish the required 
information designated on Form A of this chapter.  

1. Where applicable and required by Form A, Form E shall 
also be filed.  

2. Whenever an application includes information in the 
format required by Form E, the commission may require an 
opinion of an economist as to the competitive impact of the 
proposed acquisition.  

B. When the person being acquired controls a domestic 
insurer, the person shall, for purposes of completing a Form 
A application, be deemed to be a "domestic insurer."  

1. The name of the domestic subsidiary insurer should be 
indicated on the cover page as follows:  

"ABC Insurance Company, a subsidiary of XYZ Holding 
Company"; and  

2. References to "the insurer" contained in Form A shall 
refer to both the domestic subsidiary insurer and the person 
being acquired.  

C. The applicant shall promptly advise the commission of 
any changes in the information so furnished on Form A, or 
any attachments thereto, arising subsequent to the date upon 
which the information was furnished, but prior to the 
commission's disposition of the application and 
consummation of the acquisition of control.  
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1. Within two business days after the person filing the 
application learns of the change, an amendment setting 
forth the change, together with copies of all documents and 
other material relevant to the change, shall be filed with the 
commission. The filing shall be made with the clerk of the 
commission. Except where the applicant is also the insurer, 
the applicant shall show on each such filing that a copy has 
also been sent to the insurer.  

2. A failure to file complete and accurate information as 
required by this chapter is grounds for a denial by the 
commission pursuant to § 38.2-1326.  

3. As used in this section and for purposes of all Form A 
filings, "material change" includes any change in the 
identity of executive officers or any party to a merger or a 
liquidating transaction.  

D. Where "control" is derived from a management 
agreement, including any other agreement between a 
domestic insurer and another person other than a contract for 
goods or nonmanagement services, any termination of the 
agreement or any substitution of persons under the agreement 
shall be deemed a change of control requiring notice and 
application to the commission pursuant to § 38.2-1323 of the 
Act.  

E. A person seeking to merge with or acquire a domestic 
insurer may apply to the commission for an order exempting 
the person from the provisions of §§ 38.2-1323 through 38.2-
1327 if the merger or acquisition meets the standards for 
exemption provided in § 38.2-1328.  

1. The application shall be in writing and shall be filed 
with the clerk of the commission. Filing instructions are 
the same as for a Form A filing. See Section III of the 
Form A Instructions for information regarding number of 
copies and, signature requirements and electronic filing. 
The applicant shall identify the parties to the merger or 
acquisition and shall state (i) the purpose of the merger or 
acquisition, (ii) the method of merger or acquisition, and 
(iii) why the person believes the exemption criteria of 
§ 38.2-1328 will be met.  

2. Within 30 days after the application for exemption is 
filed with the clerk of the commission, the commission 
shall enter an order granting the exemption or giving notice 
of a hearing to determine the merits of the application.  

F. Any hearing held to consider an application filed pursuant 
to the provisions of this section and § 38.2-1323 of the Act 
shall be held pursuant to § 38.2-1326 and shall begin, unless 
waived by the insurer, within 40 days of the date the 
application is filed with the commission. An application shall 
be deemed filed upon receipt by the commission of all 
material required by this section or § 38.2-1324 of the Act.  

14VAC5-260-60. Annual registration of insurers; 
registration statement filings and amendments.  

A. An insurer required to file a registration statement 
pursuant to § 38.2-1329 of the Act shall furnish the required 
information in the format designated on Form B of this 
chapter.  

1. The initial registration statement shall be filed with the 
commission within 15 days after the insurer becomes 
subject to registration under § 38.2-1329 of the Act.  

2. Annually thereafter by April 30 of each year, for the 
previous calendar year, the registrant shall file a 
completely restated up-to-date registration statement in the 
format designated on Form B, with amendments 
consolidated therein. Each registration statement shall 
contain a summary outlining all items in the current 
registration statement representing changes from the prior 
registration statement. The summary shall be prepared in 
the format designated on Form C, as specified in the 
instructions of that form, which is a part of this chapter.  

B. An insurer shall file a copy of its most current registration 
statement and the Form C filing, also known as a Summary of 
Registration Filing, in each state in which the insurer is 
authorized to do business, if requested by the insurance 
commissioner of that state.  

C. Amendments to Form B.  

1. An amendment to Form B shall be filed under the 
following conditions:  

a. Within 15 days after the end of any month in which 
there is a material change to the information provided in 
the annual registration statement;  

b. Within 15 days after the end of any month in which 
the registrant or insurer learns there is a change in control 
of the registrant, in which case all of Form B and Form C 
shall be made current;  

c. Within 15 days after the end of any month in which the 
registrant or insurer learns there is a material change in 
information given in Item 5 of Form B;  

d. Within 30 days after the investment in any one 
corporation, if the total investment in that corporation, by 
the insurance holding company system, exceeds 10% of 
that corporation's voting securities;  

e. Within 15 days after the end of any month in which 
there is a material change in any portion of the 
information given in Item 6 of Form B;  

f. Within 15 days after the end of any month in which 
there is a change of the chief executive officer, president, 
or more than 1/3 of the directors reported in Item 4 of 
Form B;  
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g. Within five business days following the declaration of 
any dividend or other distribution to an insurer's 
shareholder, and at least 30 days prior to payment 
thereof; and  

h. Within 120 days after the end of each fiscal year of the 
ultimate controlling person of the insurance holding 
company system.  

2. Amendments shall be filed in the Form B format. 
Subject to the provisions of subdivision A 2 of this section, 
only those items which are being amended need be 
reported. Each amendment shall include at the top of the 
cover page "Amendment No. (insert number) to Registrant 
Statement, brought current from (insert year)" and shall 
indicate as its "Date," the date of the change and not the 
date of the original filings. Filings made in the format of 
Forms A, D, E, or F may be deemed amendments filed in 
the Form B format when accompanied by certification 
under oath or affirmation that the transaction reported on 
Form A, D, E, or F has been consummated. If the 
commission's approval of the transaction is required by the 
Act, the certification shall state also that consummation 
was pursuant to terms and agreements approved by the 
commission.  

3. As used in this section, "material transaction" has the 
meaning set forth in § 38.2-1322 of the Act except that, 
unless the commission by rule, order or regulation 
prescribes otherwise, no sale, purchase, exchange, loan, or 
extension of credit or investment shall be considered 
"material" unless it involves at least 0.5% of an insurer's 
admitted assets or 5.0% of the insurer's surplus to 
policyholders, as of the immediately preceding December 
31. Any sale or other transaction which is one of a series of 
transactions occurring within a 12-month period that are 
sufficiently similar in nature as to be reasonably construed 
as a single transaction and that in the aggregate exceed the 
minimum limits herein provided shall be deemed a 
material transaction.  

D. Exemptions and alternative and consolidated 
registrations.  

1. Any insurer which is authorized to do business in this 
Commonwealth may file a registration statement on behalf 
of any affiliated insurer or insurers which are required to 
register under § 38.2-1329 of the Act. A registration 
statement may include information not required by the Act 
regarding any insurer in the insurance holding company 
system even if the insurer is not authorized to do business 
in this Commonwealth. In lieu of filing a registration 
statement on Form B, the authorized insurer may file a 
copy of the registration statement or similar report which it 
is required to file in its state of domicile, provided:  

a. The statement or report contains substantially similar 
information required to be furnished on Form B; and  

b. The filing insurer is the principal insurance company 
in the insurance holding company system.  

2. The question of whether the filing insurer is the 
principal insurance company in the insurance holding 
company system is a question of fact and an insurer filing a 
registration statement or report in lieu of Form B on behalf 
of an affiliated insurer, shall set forth a brief statement of 
facts which will substantiate the filing insurer's claim that 
it, in fact, is the principal insurer in the insurance holding 
company system.  

3. With the prior approval of the commission, an insurer 
not licensed to transact the business of insurance in this 
Commonwealth may follow any of the procedures which 
could be done by an authorized insurer under subdivision 1 
of this subsection.  

4. Any insurer may take advantage of the provisions of 
§ 38.2-1329 G or § 38.2-1329 H of the Act without 
obtaining the prior approval of the commission. The 
commission, however, reserves the right to require 
individual filings if it deems the filings necessary in the 
interest of clarity, ease of administration or the public 
good.  

5. The state of entry of an alien insurer shall be deemed to 
be its state of domicile for the purpose of this chapter.  

6. Any foreign insurer subject to disclosure requirements 
and standards adopted by statute or regulation in the 
jurisdiction of its domicile that are substantially similar to 
those contained in § 38.2-1329 of the Act, shall be 
exempted and excepted from registration in this 
Commonwealth pursuant to this section and § 38.2-1329 A 
of the Act; however, if requested by the commission, the 
insurer shall furnish to the commission a copy of the 
registration statement or other information filed with its 
state of domicile. The information shall be filed with the 
commission within 15 days after the commission makes its 
request.  

7. Any insurer not otherwise exempt or excepted from 
§ 38.2-1329 of the Code of Virginia may apply for an 
exemption from the requirements of this section § 38.2-
1329 of the Code of Virginia by submitting a statement to 
the commission setting forth its reasons for being exempt.  

14VAC5-260-70. Disclaimers and termination of 
registration.  

A. A disclaimer of affiliation or a request for termination of 
registration claiming that a person does not, or will not upon 
the taking of some proposed action, control any other person 
(hereinafter referred to as the "subject") shall contain the 
following information:  

1. The number of authorized, issued and outstanding voting 
securities of the subject;  
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2. With respect to the person whose control is denied and 
all affiliates of such person, the number and percentage of 
shares of the subject's voting securities which are held of 
record or known to be beneficially owned, and the number 
of such shares concerning which there is a right to acquire, 
directly or indirectly; and also information as to all 
transactions in any securities of the subject which were 
effected during the past six months by such persons;  

3. All material relationships and bases for affiliation, 
including a description of all contracts and agreements, 
between the subject and the person whose control is denied 
and all affiliates of such person; and  

4. A statement explaining why such person should not be 
considered to control the subject.  

B. A request for termination of registration under § 38.2-
1329 of the Act for lack of affiliation shall be deemed to have 
been granted unless the commission, within 30 days after 
receipt of the request and any additional information required 
by the commission, notifies the registrant otherwise. 
Thereafter, the subject shall be relieved of any registering or 
reporting requirements under § 38.2-1329 of the Act that may 
arise out of the subject's relationship with the person, unless 
and until the commission disallows the disclaimer.  

1. The commission shall disallow the disclaimer only after 
giving all interested parties notice and opportunity to be 
heard.  

2. Any disallowance shall be supported by specific 
findings of fact.  

14VAC5-260-90. Dividends and other distributions.  

A. Each registered insurer shall report to the commission as 
required under § 38.2-1329 of the Act, all dividends and other 
distributions to shareholders within five business days 
following declaration and at least 30 days prior to payment. 
An insurer shall not pay a dividend or other distribution until 
30 days after the commission has received written notice of 
the declaration thereof and has not within such period 
disapproved such payment. The commission may approve the 
payment of such dividend or other distribution prior to the 30 
days. Such dividends and other distributions are to be paid 
out of earned surplus unless the commission has provided 
prior written approval for such dividends or other 
distributions to be paid from another source. Except as 
provided in subsection B of this section, the report shall be 
filed in the format prescribed by Form F and shall include at 
least the following:  

1. A statement stating whether the dividend or distribution 
is extraordinary. If the dividend or distribution is 
extraordinary, the insurer also shall state the date of 
approval, if any, obtained pursuant to § 38.2-1330.1 A of 
the Act, or the earliest date on which approval may be 
deemed;  

2. Earned surplus as of the immediately preceding 
December 31;  

3. The amount of the proposed dividend;  

4. The date of declaration, date of record and date 
established for payment of the dividend;  

5. A statement as to whether the dividend is to be in cash 
or other property and, if in property, a description thereof, 
its cost, and its fair market value together with an 
explanation of the basis for valuation;  

6. The amounts, dates and form of payment of all 
dividends or distributions (including regular dividends but 
excluding distributions of the insurer's own securities) paid 
within the period of 12 consecutive months ending on the 
date fixed for payment of the proposed dividend for which 
approval is sought and commencing on the day after the 
same day of the same month in the last preceding year;  

7. A brief statement as to the effect of the proposed 
dividend upon the insurer's surplus and the reasonableness 
of surplus in relation to the insurer's outstanding liabilities 
and the adequacy of surplus relative to the insurer's 
financial needs; and  

8. A statement identifying any and all revaluations of 
assets.  

B. If payment of an extraordinary dividend or distribution 
has been approved prior to its declaration, the insurer may 
comply with the requirements of § 38.2-1329 E of the Act by 
filing written confirmation under oath or affirmation that the 
extraordinary dividend or distribution, as approved by the 
commission, has been declared. Confirmation shall be filed 
within five business days following declaration.  

C. An insurer may obtain prior approval of an extraordinary 
dividend or distribution, as required by § 38.2-1330.1 A of 
the Act, by filing a request for approval with the commission. 
The request for approval shall be filed in the format 
prescribed by Form F and shall include at least the following:  

1. All the information required in subsection A of this 
section;  

2. Statements of financial condition and earnings for the 
period intervening from the last annual statement filed with 
the commission and the end of the month preceding the 
month in which the request for dividend approval is 
submitted; and, if the date of payment or distribution is 
more than 60 days removed from the date of the most 
current financial statement submitted by the insurer, the 
insurer shall include also a pro forma statement as of the 
day after the distribution or payment of the dividend 
showing its effect and other known and reasonably 
projected adjustments to the financial condition and 
earnings of the insurer; and  
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3. A copy of the calculations determining that the proposed 
dividend is extraordinary. The work paper shall include the 
following information:  

a. The amounts, dates and form of payment of all 
dividends or distributions (including regular dividends 
but excluding distributions of the insurer's own 
securities) paid within the period of 12 consecutive 
months ending on the date fixed for payment of the 
proposed dividend for which approval is sought, and 
commencing on the day after the same day of the same 
month in the last preceding year;  

b. Surplus as regards to policyholders (total capital and 
surplus) as of the immediately preceding December 31;  

c. If the insurer is a life insurer, the net gain from 
operations for the 12-month period ending the 
immediately preceding December 31; and  

d. If the insurer is not a life insurer, the net income less 
realized capital gains for the 12-month period ending the 
immediately preceding December 31, but shall not 
include pro rata distributions of any class of the insurer's 
own securities.  

4. Statements on each factor set forth in § 38.2-1330 B of 
the Act must be submitted in support of the request for 
approval of an extraordinary dividend or distribution, 
although these factors are not intended to be an exhaustive 
list. In determining the adequacy and reasonableness of an 
insurer's surplus no single factor is controlling. The 
commission, instead, will consider the net effect of all of 
these factors plus other factors bearing on the financial 
condition of the insurer. In comparing the surplus 
maintained by other insurers, the commission will consider 
the extent to which each of these factors varies from 
company to company and in determining the quality and 
liquidity of investments in subsidiaries, the commission 
will consider the individual subsidiary and may discount or 
disallow its valuation to the extent that the individual 
investments so warrant.  

5. In addition, in order to determine the possibility of any 
financial effect on the insurer, the commission may request 
the means of funding and the purpose of the extraordinary 
dividend or distribution.  

D. No declaration of an extraordinary dividend or 
distribution shall confer any rights on shareholders without 
the prior approval thereof pursuant to § 38.2-1330.1 C of the 
Act. However, an insurer may declare an extraordinary 
dividend or distribution which is conditioned upon the 
commission's approval, and the declaration shall confer no 
rights upon shareholders until (i) the commission has 
approved the payment of the dividend or distribution or (ii) 
the commission has not disapproved the payment within the 
30-day period provided by § 38.2-1330.1 A of the Act.  

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (14VAC5-260) 

Form A, Instructions for Application for Approval of 
Acquisition of Control of or Merger with a Domestic Insurer 
Pursuant to § 38.2-1323 of the Code of Virginia (rev. 7/06) 
9/09). 

Form B, Instructions for Insurance Holding Company 
System Annual Registration Statement Pursuant to § 38.2-
1329 of the Code of Virginia (rev. 7/06) 9/09).  

Form C, Instructions for Summary of Registration Statement 
Pursuant to § 38.2-1329 of the Code of Virginia (rev. 7/06).  

Form D, Instructions for Prior Notice and Application for 
Approval of Certain Transactions Pursuant to § 38.2-1331 of 
the Code of Virginia (rev. 7/06).  

Form E, Instructions for an Acquisition Statement Reporting 
Competitive Impact Data Pursuant to § 38.2-1323 of the Code 
of Virginia (rev. 7/06).  

Form F, Instructions for Notice of Dividends and 
Distributions to Shareholders Pursuant to §§ 38.2-1329 E and 
38.2-1330.1 of the Code of Virginia (rev. 7/06) 9/09). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-2019; Filed June 26, 2009, 8:52 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 15. JUDICIAL 

VIRGINIA STATE BAR 

Proposed Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia State Bar is exempt 
from the Administrative Process Act in accordance with 
§ 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts 
courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and any agency that 
by the Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of 
a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 15VAC5-80. Regulations Under the 
Virginia Consumer Real Estate Settlement Protection Act 
(amending 15VAC5-80-20, 15VAC5-80-30, 15VAC5-80-
40). 

Statutory Authority: § 6.1-2.25 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Agency Contact: Mary Yancey Spencer, Deputy Executive 
Director, Virginia State Bar, 707 E. Main Street, Richmond, 
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VA 23219, telephone (804) 775-0575 or email 
spencer@vsb.org. 

Summary: 

The amendments delete nonattorney settlement agents from 
those required to register with the Virginia State Bar. This 
conforms the regulations to Chapter 256 of the 2009 Acts 
of Assembly, which shifted the responsibility to register 
nonattorney settlement agents to the appropriate licensing 
agencies.  

15VAC5-80-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise.  

"Attorney" means a person licensed as an attorney under 
Chapter 39 (§ 54.1-3900 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 
Virginia and who is an active member of the Virginia State 
Bar in good standing under the Rules of the Virginia Supreme 
Court.  

"Bar" means the Virginia State Bar.  

"Board" means the Virginia Real Estate Board.  

"CRESPA" means the Virginia Consumer Real Estate 
Settlement Protection Act (§ 6.1-2.19 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia). Unless otherwise defined herein, all terms in these 
regulations shall have the meanings set forth in CRESPA. 

"Disciplinary board" means the Virginia State Bar 
Disciplinary Board.  

"Financial institution" has the meaning set forth in § 6.1-2.1 
of the Code of Virginia.  

"First dollar coverage" means an insurance policy which 
obligates the company issuing the policy to pay covered 
claims in their entirety, up to the policy limits, regardless of 
the presence of a deductible amount to which the company 
may be entitled as a reimbursement from the insured.  

"SCC" means the Virginia State Corporation Commission.  

"These regulations" means 15VAC5-80-10 et seq., 
Regulations under the Virginia Consumer Real Estate 
Settlement Protection Act.  

15VAC5-80-30. Registration; reregistration; required fee. 

Every licensed attorney, title insurance company, title 
insurance agent or real estate broker, as well as every 
financial institution authorized to do business in Virginia 
under any of the provisions of Title 6.1 of the Code of 
Virginia, or under federal law, and every subsidiary or 
affiliate of any such financial institution, now providing or 
offering, or intending to provide or offer, escrow, closing or 
settlement services as a settlement agent with respect to real 
estate transactions in Virginia shall register with the Bar on or 
before September 29, 1997, using the registration form 

available from the Bar for that purpose. Settlement agents 
beginning to provide or offer such services after July 1, 1997, 
shall register with the Bar prior to doing so. The registration 
requirement in this paragraph shall not apply to attorney 
settlement agents unless they provide or offer to provide 
escrow, settlement, and closing services for real estate subject 
to CRESPA, i.e., real estate containing not more than four 
residential dwelling units. Thus, for example, attorneys who 
handle only commercial real estate transactions are not 
subject to these regulations.  

Every settlement agent shall thereafter reregister after notice 
on a schedule established by the Bar, providing updated 
registration information. Every settlement agent shall have a 
continuing duty to advise the Bar of any change in name, 
address, or other pertinent registration data that occurs 
between registrations. 

The fee for each registration and reregistration shall be $35 
for an individual attorney settlement agent and $100 for a 
settlement agent which is a corporation or other legal entity 
authorized to register in that capacity. The Bar reserves the 
right to adjust the fee as necessary within the statutory limit 
of $100. The prescribed fee shall accompany each registration 
or reregistration in the form of a check made payable to the 
Treasurer of Virginia. 

Registration is subject to revocation or suspension if the Bar 
or other appropriate licensing authority finds the settlement 
agent out of compliance with CRESPA or regulations issued 
thereunder. 

15VAC5-80-40. Unauthorized practice of law guidelines; 
investigation of complaints. 

The Bar will issue guidelines under CRESPA and in 
consultation with the SCC and the board to assist settlement 
agents in avoiding and preventing the unauthorized practice 
of law in connection with the furnishing of escrow, closing, 
or settlement services. In conformity with CRESPA, the rules 
of the Virginia Supreme Court and the Bar's UPL opinions, 
these guidelines will delineate activities which can and cannot 
be carried out by registered nonattorney settlement agents in 
conducting settlements. The guidelines will be revised from 
time to time as necessary.  

A copy of the The guidelines will be available on the Bar's 
website and provided by the Bar appropriate licensing 
authority to each registered settlement agent at the time of 
initial registration and at each reregistration. The guidelines 
will also be published by the Bar in the Virginia Lawyer 
Register and furnished to the SCC, the board, and all other 
state and federal agencies that regulate financial institutions, 
as well as to members of the general public upon request. The 
guidelines may be photocopied as necessary.  

The Bar will continue to receive and investigate 
unauthorized practice of law complaints in the real estate 
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settlement area, as well as in other fields, under its 
unauthorized practice of law rules and procedures.  

If the Bar receives complaints against nonattorney 
settlement agents that do not allege the unauthorized practice 
of law, it will refer the complaints to the appropriate licensing 
authority that has jurisdiction over the subject of the 
complaint. If the complaint involves an attorney settlement 
agent's noncompliance with 15VAC5-80-30, the Bar will 
conduct an informal investigation. If the Bar believes a 
violation has occurred, it will notify the attorney settlement 
agent in writing. If the apparent violation is not rectified 
within 30 days, the Bar will refer the matter to the appropriate 
licensing authority for further enforcement action investigate 
the alleged violations pursuant to 15VAC5-80-50 D. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (15VAC5-80) 

Settlement Agent Official Registration Form for a 
Corporation or Other Legal Entity (eff. 4/97). 

Settlement Agent Official Registration Form for an 
Individual Attorney, Broker or Title Agent (eff. 1/98) (rev. 
7/09). 

Settlement Agent Official Re-Registration Reregistration 
Form for an Individual Attorney, Broker or Title Agent (eff. 
2/98) (rev. 7/09). 

Virginia Attorney Real Estate Settlement Agent Financial 
Responsibility Certification (eff. 2/98) (rev. 5/08). 

Bond for Attorney Settlement Agents (eff. 5/97) Agent - 
Principal as Individual (rev. 7/09). 

Bond for Attorney Settlement Agent - Principal as Law Firm 
(rev. 7/09). 

Settlement Agent Official Renewal Form for Corporation or 
Other Entity.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1635; Filed June 30, 2009, 3:43 p.m.  

Withdrawal of Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 15VAC5-80. Regulations Under the 
Virginia Consumer Real Estate Settlement Protection Act 
(amending 15VAC5-80-40, 15VAC5-80-50). 

Statutory Authority: § 6.1-2.25 of the Code of Virginia. 

The Virginia State Bar has withdrawn the proposed 
amendments to 15VAC5-80, Regulations Under the Virginia 
Consumer Real Estate Protection Act, which were published 
25:4 VA.R. 669-672 October 27, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Mary Yancey Spencer, Deputy Executive 
Director, Virginia State Bar, 707 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 775-0575 or email 
spencer@vsb.org. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1636; Filed June 30, 2009, 4:39 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 16VAC25-50. Boiler and Pressure 
Vessel Regulations (amending 16VAC25-50-150, 
16VAC25-50-360, 16VAC25-50-380, 16VAC25-50-430, 
16VAC25-50-480). 

Statutory Authority: § 40.1-51.6 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on September 18, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Ed Hilton, Director, Boiler Safety 
Compliance, Department of Labor and Industry, Powers-
Taylor Building, 13 South Thirteenth Street, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 786-2389, FAX (804) 371-2324, TTY 
(804) 785-2376, or email ed.hilton@doli.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The Safety and Health Codes Board is authorized by 
§ 40.1-51.6 of the Code of Virginia to "...formulate 
definitions, rules, regulations and standards which shall be 
designed for the protection of human life and property from 
the unsafe or dangerous construction, installation, inspection, 
operation, maintenance and repair of boilers and pressure 
vessels in this Commonwealth." 

Purpose: The purpose of the proposed regulatory action is to 
conform to the most current editions of American Society of 
Engineers (ASME), National Board of Boiler and Vessel 
Inspectors, American Society of Mechanical Engineers 
(ASME), and American Petroleum Institute safety and 
inspection codes, as well as make in-house administrative fee 
adjustments to cover increased costs of doing business. With 
respect to employees, the proposed regulation will provide 
both increased protection of human life (both employee safety 
and public safety) as well as property from the unsafe or 
dangerous construction, installation, inspection, operation, 
and repair of boilers and pressure vessels in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia. The proposed regulations create 
no disadvantages to employees. 

Substance: The proposal addresses the following 
amendments: 
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1. In 16VAC25-50-150 A, add a fee of $10 for the reprinting 
of certificate to cover direct administrative costs, i.e., 
printing, mailing, and employee's work-related time. 

2. In 16VAC25-50-150 D, Inspection Certificate and 
Inspection Fees, revise fees from "$800" to "$1,000" to 
reflect cost-of-living adjustment. 

3. In 16VAC25-50-360 C 5 a, the factors of safety are 
modified for vessels and a dual standard is established. For 
vessels built prior to January 1, 1999, the factor of safety 
remains 4.5. Vessels built on or after this date would have a 
lower factor of safety of 4.0. This revision is necessary to 
conform to current International Boiler and Pressure Vessel 
Code. 

4. In 16VAC25-50-380 B 3, factors of safety are modified for 
vessels and a dual standard is established. For vessels built 
prior to January 1, 1999, the factor of safety remains 4.0. 
Vessels built on or after this date have a lower factor of safety 
of 3.5. This revision is necessary to conform to current 
International Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code. 

5. In 16VAC25-50-430 A, change "1.5" to "1.25" for the 
maximum allowable working pressure for a hydrostatic 
pressure test when applied to boilers or pressure vessels. The 
revision is necessary to conform to current International 
Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code. 

6. Delete last two sentences of 16VAC25-50-480 D, which 
reads as follows: "A seal weld is a tube-to-tubesheet weld 
used to supplement an expanded tube joint to ensure leak 
tightness. Seal welds on carbon steel (P-1) tube joints made 
by qualified welders will not require an inspection nor a Form 
R-1." 

7. Delete the term “welded” from Form R-1, Report of 
Repairs, to conform to current forms. 

8. Incorporation by reference of the most recent edition 
(2006) of B31.1, ASME Code for Pressure Piping, American 
National Standards Institute. 

9. Incorporation by reference of the most recent edition 
(2006) of API510 as listed in the National Board Inspection 
Code. 

10. Incorporation by reference of the most recent edition 
(2006) of CSD-1 and related section on maintenance that 
includes revised inspector's checklist. 

11. Incorporation by reference of the most recent edition 
(2007) of the National Board Inspection Code (NBIC). 

12. Incorporation by reference of the most recent edition 
(2007) of the International Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, 
including sections XII and VIII, Div 2. 

Issues: The primary advantages and disadvantages to the 
public associated with this proposed regulatory action are as 
follows: there will be a $200 increase in cost to the "R" 

Stamp holders in the Commonwealth who request a review of 
a manufacturer's or repair organization's facility. The $200 
increase, which will occur once in a three-year period 
(reviews are performed every three years), will increase the 
total cost of the review from $800 to $1,000. The last time the 
review fee was increased to address the additional costs of 
doing business was in the 1999 Edition of the Boiler Pressure 
Vessel Rules and Regulations. A review performed by the 
National Board would cost $3,000. 

The department does not perform a large number of 
inspections annually, and generally only when requested by 
the owner. The increase in fees will affect a number of the 
approximately 50 "R" Stamp holders in the Commonwealth 
that have their reviews performed by the department. During 
calendar year 2006, the department performed 15 such 
inspections and in calendar year 2007, the department 
performed 14 such inspections. For the current year, 13 
inspections have been performed so far with an additional two 
anticipated by the end of the year for a total of 15. 

While the department presently does not charge for a 
duplicate Certificate of Inspection, a $10 fee represents the 
cost to the department of generating a duplicate certificate. 
This fee includes printing, mailing, and employee's work-
related time. The fees that the department charges are based 
upon state law, which requires that the Boiler Safety 
Compliance Program of the Department of Labor and 
Industry recoup no more than the department's actual costs. 

The nonfee related changes are deemed necessary to update 
the proposed regulations to the current editions of ASME and 
National Board safety and inspection codes, which are 
incorporated by reference into the Commonwealth's Boiler 
and Pressure Vessel Rules and Regulations. 

The department anticipates no additional fiscal impact beyond 
the cost to promulgate the revisions to the regulation. All 
revenue from boiler fees is deposited directly into the state 
general fund. None of the funding stays with the department. 

There are no disadvantages to the public or to the 
Commonwealth. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Safety and Health Codes Board (Board) proposes to: 1) 
update the current regulation for consistency with national 
and international standards, 2) add a fee of $10.00 for the 
reprinting of inspection certificates, and 3) increase the boiler 
inspection fee from $800 to $1000.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. As a result of a periodic review 
published November 12, 2007, the Board is proposing to 
amend the current regulation to update certain provisions, 
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establish a new fee, and increase the inspection fee. The 
proposed regulation would incorporate the current standards 
established in recent editions of national and international 
codes. The Board states that an increase in fees is necessary 
because costs have increased. The Board is required to match 
fees to actual costs of operation. Travel expenses have driven 
up the cost of inspections and fees have not been increased 
since 1999. The Board proposes to increase the inspection fee 
from $800 to $1000 to reflect a cost of living adjustment. 
Since the Consumer Price Index has increased by 29 percent 
over the last ten years,1 the proposed 25 percent increase in 
the fee is reasonable. 

While the Department of Labor and Industry (Department) 
presently does not charge for a duplicate Certificate of 
Inspection, a $10.00 fee represents the cost to the Department 
of generating a duplicate certificate. This fee includes 
printing, mailing and employee's work-related time. The fees 
that the Department charges are based upon state law which 
requires that the Boiler Safety Compliance Program of the 
Department recoup no more than the Department's actual 
costs. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
affect the approximately 50 "R" Stamp (boiler) holders in the 
Commonwealth that have their reviews performed by the 
Department. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposals do not 
significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The use of 
value of private property will not be significantly affected. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
increases very moderately increase costs for "R" Stamp 
holders. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments do not 
significantly adversely affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect real estate development 
costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 

_____________________________ 
1 CPI-U in January 1999: 164.3; CPI-U in January 2009: 211.143 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Department of Labor and Industry has no additional comment 
in response to the economic impact analysis of the Virginia 
Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) update the current 
regulation for consistency with national and international 
standards; (ii) add a fee of $10 for the reprinting of 
inspection certificates; and (iii) increase the boiler 
inspection fee from $800 to $1,000. 

16VAC25-50-150. Inspection certificate and inspection 
fees.  

A. Upon the inspection and determination that a boiler or 
pressure vessel is suitable and conforms to this chapter, the 
owner or user shall remit the payment for an inspection 
certificate in one of the following forms and amounts for each 
item required to be inspected under the Act.  

1. Payment of $20 may be sent from the owner or user to 
the chief inspector by check, credit card or money order. 
Payment of inspection certificate fees should be made 
payable to the Treasurer of Virginia; or  

2. Payment may be presented to a special inspector, where 
the inspector is authorized to collect and forward such fees 
on the department's behalf. The commissioner may 
authorize special inspectors to collect and forward to the 
chief inspector $16 for each inspection certificate. Pursuant 
to § 40.1-51.10:1 of the Code of Virginia, special 
inspectors may charge owners or users a fee not exceeding 
$4.00 for collecting and forwarding inspection certificate 
fees.  

An inspection certificate will not be issued to the owner or 
user until payment is received by either the department or, if 
previously authorized, by a special inspector. A fee of $10 
will be charged for each reprint of an inspection certificate. 
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B. The chief inspector may extend an inspection certificate 
for up to three additional months beyond a two month grace 
period following the expiration of a certificate. Such 
extension is subject to a satisfactory external inspection of the 
boiler or pressure vessel and receipt of a fee of $20 for each 
month of extension.  

C. When the chief inspector determines that no contract fee 
inspectors are available to inspect a regulated uninsured 
boiler or pressure vessel in a timely manner, a commonwealth 
inspector may be directed to conduct a certification 
inspection. Contract fee inspection service shall be 
determined unavailable where (i) at least two contract fee 
inspectors contacted will not agree to provide inspection 
services to the owner or user within at least 21 days from the 
request and (ii) the owner's or user's inspection certificate will 
expire within that same period.  

The following rates per inspected object, in addition to 
inspection certificate fees, shall apply for certification 
inspections conducted by a commonwealth inspector:  

  1. Power boilers and high pressure, 
high temperature water boilers 

$135 

  2. Heating boilers $70 

  3. Pressure vessels $50 

D. The review of a manufacturer's or repair organization's 
facility for the purpose of national accreditation will be 
performed by the chief inspector or his qualified designee for 
an additional fee of $800 $1,000 per review or survey.  

E. The owner or user who causes a boiler or pressure vessel 
to be operated without a valid certificate shall be subject to 
the penalty as provided for in § 40.1-51.12 of the Act.  

F. Inspection certificates are not required for unfired 
pressure vessels inspected by an authorized owner-user 
inspection agency. However, the agency shall keep on file in 
its office in the establishment where the equipment is located 
a true record or copy of the report of the latest of each 
inspection signed by the inspector who made the inspection.  

Part III  
Existing Installations  

16VAC25-50-360. Power and high-pressure, high-
temperature water boilers.  

A. Age limit of existing boilers.  

1. The age limit of any boiler of nonstandard construction, 
installed before July 1, 1974, other than one having a 
riveted, longitudinal lap joint, shall be 30 years; however, 
any boiler passing a thorough internal and external 
inspection, and not displaying any leakage or distress 
under a hydrostatic pressure test of 1-1/2 times the 
allowable working pressure held for at least 30 minutes, 
may be continued in operation without reduction in 

working pressure. The age limit of any boiler having 
riveted, longitudinal, lap joints and operating at a pressure 
in excess of 50 psig shall be 20 years. This type of boiler, 
when removed from an existing setting, shall not be 
reinstalled for a pressure in excess of 15 psig. A reasonable 
time for replacement, not to exceed one year, may be given 
at the discretion of the chief inspector.  

2. The shell or drum of a boiler in which a typical lap seam 
crack is discovered along a longitudinal riveted joint for 
either butt or lap joints shall be permanently removed from 
service.  

3. The age limit of boilers of standard construction, 
installed before July 1, 1974, shall be determined from the 
results of a thorough internal and external inspection by an 
authorized inspector and the application of an appropriate 
pressure test. Hydrostatic test pressure shall be 1-1/2 times 
the allowable working pressure and maintained for 30 
minutes. The boiler may be continued in service at the 
same working pressure provided there is no evidence of 
leakage or distress under these test conditions.  

4. The minimum temperature of the water used for the 
hydrostatic test of low-pressure boilers and pressure 
vessels shall be 60°F. The minimum temperature of the 
water used for the hydrostatic test of power boilers shall be 
70°F or ambient whichever is greater.  

B. The maximum allowable working pressure for standard 
boilers shall be determined in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of the edition of the ASME Code under which they 
were constructed and stamped.  

C. 1. The maximum allowable working pressure on the shell 
of a nonstandard boiler shall be determined by the strength of 
the weakest section of the structure, computed from the 
thickness of the plate, the tensile strength of the plate, the 
efficiency of the longitudinal joint or tube ligaments, the 
inside diameter of the weakest course and the factor of safety 
allowed by this chapter.  

  TStE 

  RFS 
= Maximum allowable working 

pressure, psi 

where:  

TS = ultimate tensile strength of shell plates, psi  

t = minimum thickness of shell plate, in weakest course, 
inches  

E = efficiency of longitudinal joint:  

For tube ligaments, E shall be determined by the rules in 
Section I of the ASME Code for Power Boilers. For 
riveted joints, E shall be determined by the rules in the 
applicable edition of the ASME Code. For seamless 
construction, E shall be considered 100%.  
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R = inside radius of the weakest course of the shell, in 
inches  

FS = factor of safety permitted.  

2. Tensile strength. When the tensile strength of steel or 
wrought iron shell plates is not known, it shall be taken as 
55,000 psi.  

3. Crushing strength of mild steel. The resistance to 
crushing of mild steel shall be taken at 95,000 psi of cross-
sectional area.  

4. Strength of rivets in shear. When computing the ultimate 
strength of rivets in shear, the following values, in pounds 
per square inch, of the cross-sectional area of the rivet 
shank shall be used.  

    PSI 

  Iron rivets in single shear 38,000 
  iron rivets in double shear 76,000 
  Steel rivets in single shear 44,000 
  Steel rivets in double shear 88,000 

When the diameter of the rivet holes in the longitudinal 
joints of a boiler is not known, the diameter and cross-
sectional area of rivets, after driving, may be selected from 
Table 1, or as ascertained by cutting out one rivet in the 
body of the joint.  

  TABLE 1  
SIZES OF RIVETS BASED ON PLATE 

THICKNESS  
(in inches)  

  Plate of Thickness Rivet Diameter after 
Driving  

  1/4 11/16  

  9/32 11/16  

  5/16 3/4  

  11/32 3/4  

  3/8 13/16  

  13/32 13/16  

  7/16 15/16  

  15/32 15/16  

  1/2 15/16  

  9/16 1-1/16  

  5/8 1-1/16  

5. Factors of safety. The following factors of safety shall 
be increased by the inspector if the condition and safety of 
the boiler demand it:  

a. The lowest factor of safety permissible on existing 
installations shall be 4.5 for vessels built prior to January 
1, 1999. For vessels built on or after January 1, 1999, the 
factor of safety may be 4.0. Horizontal-return-tubular 
boilers having continuous longitudinal lap seams more 
than 12 feet in length, shall have a factor of safety of 
eight. When this type of boiler is removed from its 
existing setting, it shall not be reinstalled for pressures in 
excess of 15 psig.  

b. Reinstalled or secondhand boilers shall have a 
minimum factor of safety of six when the longitudinal 
seams are of lap-riveted construction, and a minimum 
factor of safety of five when the longitudinal seams are 
of butt-strap and double-strap construction.  

D. Cast-iron headers and mud drums. The maximum 
allowable working pressure on a water tube boiler, the tubes 
of which are secured to cast iron or malleable-iron headers, or 
which have cast iron mud drums, shall not exceed 160 psig.  

E. Pressure on cast iron boilers. The maximum allowable 
working pressure for any cast iron boiler, except hot water 
boilers, shall be 15 psig.  

F. Safety valves.  

1. The use of weighted-lever safety valves, or safety valves 
having either the seat or disk of cast iron, shall be 
prohibited. Valves of this type shall be replaced by direct, 
spring-loaded, pop-type valves that conform to the 
requirements of the ASME Code, Section I.  

2. Each boiler shall have at least one safety valve and, if it 
has more than 500 square feet of water-heating surface or 
an electric power input of more than 500 kilowatts, it shall 
have two or more safety valves. 

3. The valve or valves shall be connected to the boiler, 
independent of any other steam connection, and attached as 
close as possible to the boiler without unnecessary 
intervening pipe or fittings. Where alteration is required to 
conform to this requirement, the chief inspector shall allow 
the owner or user reasonable time in which to complete the 
work. 

4. No valves of any description shall be placed between the 
safety valve and the boiler nor on the escape pipe, if used, 
between the safety valve and the atmosphere, except as 
provided by applicable sections of the ASME Code. When 
an escape pipe is used, it shall be at least full size of the 
safety-valve discharge and fitted with an open drain to 
prevent water lodging in the upper part of the safety valve 
or escape pipe. When an elbow is placed on a safety valve 
escape pipe, it shall be located close to the safety-valve 
outlet or the escape pipe shall be anchored and supported 
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securely. All safety valve discharges shall be located or 
piped as not to endanger persons working in the area.  

5. The safety-valve capacity of each boiler shall be so that 
the safety valve or valves will discharge all the steam that 
can be generated by the boiler without allowing the 
pressure to rise more than 6.0% above the highest pressure 
to which any valve is set, and in no case to more than 6.0% 
above the maximum allowable working pressure.  

6. One or more safety valves on every boiler shall be set at 
or below the maximum allowable working pressure. The 
remaining valves may be set within a range of 3.0% above 
the maximum allowable working pressure, but the range of 
setting of all the safety valves on a boiler shall not exceed 
10% of the highest pressure to which any valve is set.  

7. When two or more boilers, operating at different 
pressures and safety valve settings, are interconnected, the 
lower pressure boilers or interconnected piping shall be 
equipped with safety valves of sufficient capacity to 
prevent overpressure, considering the maximum generating 
capacity of all boilers.  

8. In those cases where the boiler is supplied with 
feedwater directly from water mains without the use of 
feeding apparatus (not to include return traps), no safety 
valve shall be set at a pressure higher than 94% of the 
lowest pressure obtained in the supply main feeding the 
boiler.  

9. The relieving capacity of the safety valves on any boiler 
shall be checked by one of the three following methods 
and, if found to be insufficient, additional valves shall be 
provided:  

a. By making an accumulation test, which consists of 
shutting off all other steam-discharge outlets from the 
boiler and forcing the fires to the maximum. The safety-
valve capacity shall be sufficient to prevent a rise of 
pressure in excess of 6.0% of the maximum allowable 
working pressure. This method shall not be used on a 
boiler with a superheater or reheater.  

b. By measuring the maximum amount of fuel that can be 
burned and computing the corresponding evaporative 
capacity (steam-generating capacity) upon the basis of 
the heating value of this fuel. These computations shall 
be made as outlined in the appendix of the ASME Code, 
Section I;. 

c. By measuring the maximum amount of feedwater that 
can be evaporated.  

When either of the methods (b or c) outlined in this 
subdivision is employed, the sum of the safety-valve 
capacities shall be equal to or greater than the maximum 
evaporative capacity (maximum steam-generating 
capacity) of the boiler.  

10. The relieving capacity of safety valves for forced-flow 
steam generators shall be in accordance with the 
requirements of Section I of the ASME Boiler Code.  

11. Safety valves and safety relief valves requiring repair 
shall be replaced with a new valve or repaired by the 
original manufacturer, its authorized representative or the 
holder of a "VR" Stamp.  

G. Boiler feeding.  

1. Each boiler shall have a feed supply which will permit it 
to be fed at any time while under pressure.  

2. A boiler having more than 500 square feet of water-
heating surface shall have at least two means of feeding, 
one of which shall be an approved feed pump or injector. A 
source of feed directly from water mains at a pressure 
6.0% greater than the set pressure of the safety valve with 
the highest setting may be considered one of the means. As 
provided in the ASME Power Boiler Code, Section I, 
boilers fired by gaseous, liquid or solid fuel in suspension 
may be equipped with a single means of feeding water 
provided means are furnished for the immediate shutoff of 
heat input if the water feed is interrupted.  

3. The feedwater shall be introduced into the boiler in a 
manner so that it will not be discharged close to riveted 
joints of shell or furnace sheets, or directly against surfaces 
exposed to products of combustion, or to direct radiation 
from the fire.  

4. The feed piping to the boiler shall be provided with a 
check valve near the boiler and a valve or cock between 
the check valve and the boiler. When two or more boilers 
are fed from a common source, there shall also be a valve 
on the branch to each boiler between the check valve and 
source of supply. Whenever a globe valve is used on feed 
piping, the inlet shall be under the disk of the valve.  

5. In all cases where returns are fed back to the boiler by 
gravity, there shall be a check valve and stop valve in each 
return line, the stop valve to be placed between the boiler 
and the check valve, and both shall be located as close to 
the boiler as is practicable. No stop valves shall be placed 
in the supply and return pipe connections of a single boiler 
installation.  

6. Where deaerating heaters are not employed, the 
temperature of the feedwater shall not be less than 120°F 
to avoid the possibility of setting up localized stress. 
Where deaerating heaters are employed, the minimum 
feedwater temperature shall not be less than 215°F so that 
dissolved gases may be thoroughly released.  

H. Water level indicators.  

1. Each boiler shall have at least one water gauge glass 
installed and located so that the lowest visible part of the 
water glass shall be at least two inches above the lowest 
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permissible water level, at which level there will be no 
danger of overheating any part of the boiler when in 
operation at that level; except as provided by the ASME 
Code.  

2. No outlet connections (except for damper regulator, 
feedwater regulator, low-water fuel cutout, drain, steam 
gauges, or such apparatus that does not permit the escape 
of an appreciable amount of steam or water from it) shall 
be placed on the piping that connects the water column to 
the boiler. The water column shall be provided with a 
valved drain of at least 3/4 inch pipe size; the drain is to be 
piped to a safe location.  

3. When the direct reading of gauge glass water level is not 
readily visible to the operator in his working area 
dependable indirect indications shall be provided utilizing 
remote level indicators or equipment to transmit the gauge 
glass image. When remote level indication is provided for 
the operator instead of the gauge glass, the minimum level 
reference shall be clearly marked.  

I. Steam gauges.  

1. Each steam boiler shall have a steam gauge, with dial 
range not less than 1-1/2 times the maximum allowable 
working pressure, connected to the steam space or to the 
steam connection to the water column. The steam gauge 
shall be connected to a siphon or equivalent device of 
sufficient capacity to keep the gauge tube filled with water 
and arranged so that the gauge cannot be shut off from the 
boiler except by a cock with a tee or lever handle placed in 
the pipe near the gauge. The handle of the cock shall be 
parallel to the pipe in which it is located when the cock is 
open.  

2. When a steam gauge connection longer than eight feet 
becomes necessary, a shutoff valve may be used near the 
boiler provided the valve is of the outside-screw-and-yoke 
type and is locked open. The line shall be of ample size 
with provision for free blowing.  

3. Each boiler shall be provided with a test gauge 
connection and suitable valving for the exclusive purpose 
of attaching a test gauge so that the accuracy of the boiler 
steam gauge may be ascertained while the boiler is in 
operation.  

J. Stop valves.  

1. Except for a single-boiler, prime-mover installation, 
each steam outlet from a boiler (except safety valve and 
water column connections) shall be fitted with a stop valve 
located as close as practicable to the boiler.  

2. In a single-boiler, prime-mover installation the steam 
stop valve may be omitted provided the prime-mover 
throttle valve is equipped with an indicator to show 
whether the valve is open or closed and is designed to 

withstand the required hydrostatic pressure test of the 
boiler.  

3. When a stop valve is so located that water can 
accumulate, ample drains shall be provided. The drainage 
shall be piped to a safe location and shall not be discharged 
on the top of the boiler or its setting.  

4. When boilers provided with manholes are connected to a 
common steam main, the steam connection from each 
boiler shall be fitted with two stop valves having an ample 
free-blow drain between them. The discharge of the drain 
shall be visible to the operator and shall be piped clear of 
the boiler setting. The stop valves shall consist preferably 
of one automatic nonreturn valve (set next to the boiler) 
and a second valve of the outside-screw-and-yoke type.  

K. Blowoff connection.  

1. The construction of the setting around each blowoff pipe 
shall permit free expansion and contraction. Careful 
attention shall be given to the problem of sealing these 
setting openings without restricting the movement of the 
blowoff piping.  

2. All blowoff piping, when exposed to furnace heat, shall 
be protected by firebrick or other heat-resisting material 
constructed so that the piping may be inspected.  

3. Each boiler shall have a blowoff pipe, fitted with a valve 
or cock, in direct connection with the lowest water space. 
Cocks shall be of the gland or guard type and suitable for 
the pressure allowed. The use of globe valves shall not be 
permitted. Where the maximum allowable working 
pressure exceeds 100 psig, each blowoff pipe shall be 
provided with two valves or a valve and cock; however 
only one valve need be provided for forced-flow steam 
generators with no fixed steam and waterline; high-
temperature water boilers and those used for traction or 
portable purposes with less than 100 gallons normal water 
content.  

4. Blowoff piping shall comply with the requirements of 
the ASME Code, Section I, and ANSI B31.1, from the 
boiler to the valve or valves, and shall be run full size 
without use of reducers or bushings. All piping shall be 
steel. Galvanized steel pipe and fittings shall not be used 
for blowoff piping.  

5. All fittings between the boiler and blowoff valve shall 
be of steel. In case of renewal of blowoff pipe or fittings, 
they shall be installed in accordance with this chapter for 
new installations.  

L. Repairs and renewals of boiler fittings and appliances. 
Whenever repairs are made to fittings or appliances or it 
becomes necessary to replace them, such repairs or 
replacements shall comply with the requirements for new 
installations.  



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 23 Virginia Register of Regulations July 20, 2009 

4228 

M. Each automatically fired steam boiler or system of 
commonly connected steam boilers shall have at least one 
steam pressure control device that will shut off the fuel 
supply to each boiler or system of commonly connected 
boilers when the steam pressure reaches a preset maximum 
operating pressure. In addition, each individual automatically 
fired steam boiler shall have a high steam pressure limit 
control that will prevent generation of steam pressure in 
excess of the maximum allowable working pressure.  

N. Conditions not covered by this chapter. All cases not 
specifically covered by this chapter shall be treated as new 
installations pursuant to 16VAC25-50-280 or may be referred 
to the chief inspector for instructions concerning the 
requirements.  

16VAC25-50-380. Pressure vessels.  

A. Maximum allowable working pressure for standard 
pressure vessels. The maximum allowable working pressure 
for standard pressure vessels shall be determined in 
accordance with the applicable provisions of the edition of the 
ASME or API-ASME code under which they were 
constructed and stamped. The maximum allowable working 
pressure shall not be increased to a greater pressure than 
shown on the manufacturers nameplate stamping and data 
report.  

B. Maximum allowable working pressure for nonstandard 
pressure vessels. 

1. For internal pressure. The maximum allowable working 
pressure on the shell of a nonstandard pressure vessel shall 
be determined by the strength of the weakest course 
computed from the thickness of the plate, the tensile 
strength of the plate, the efficiency of the longitudinal 
joint, the inside diameter of the weakest course and the 
factor set by this chapter.  

  TStE 

  RFS 
= maximum allowable working 

pressure, psi  

where:  

TS = ultimate tensile strength of shell plate, psi. When 
the tensile strength of the steel plate is not known, it shall 
be taken as 55,000 psi for temperatures not exceeding 
700°F.  

t = minimum thickness of shell plate of weakest course, 
inches,  

E = efficiency of longitudinal joint depending upon 
construction. Use the following values:  

For riveted joints -- calculated riveted efficiency;  

For fusion-welded joints:  

 

  Single lap weld 40% 

  Double lap weld 50% 

  Single butt weld 60% 

  Double butt weld 70% 

  Forge weld 70% 

  Brazed steel 80% 

R = inside radius of weakest course of shell, inches, 
provided the thickness does not exceed 10% of the 
radius. If the thickness is over 10% of the radius, the 
outer radius shall be used.  

FS = factor of safety allowed by this chapter.  

2. For external pressure. The maximum allowable working 
pressure for cylindrical nonstandard pressure vessels 
subjected to external or collapsing pressure shall be 
determined by the rules in Section VIII, Division 1, of the 
ASME Code.  

3. Factors of safety. The minimum factor of safety shall in 
no case be less than four 3.5 for existing installations 
vessels built on or after January 1, 1999.  For vessels built 
prior to January 1, 1999, the minimum factor of safety 
shall in no case be less than 4.0. The factor of safety may 
be increased when deemed necessary by the inspector to 
insure the operation of the vessel within safe limits. The 
condition of the vessel and the particular service of which 
it is subject will be the determining factors.  

4. The maximum allowable working pressure permitted for 
formed heads under pressure shall be determined by using 
the appropriate formulas from Section VIII, Division 1, 
ASME Code and the tensile strength and factors of safety 
given in subdivisions 1 and 3 of this subsection.  

C. Inspection of inaccessible parts. Where in the opinion of 
the inspector, as the result of conditions disclosed at the time 
of inspection, it is advisable to remove the interior or exterior 
lining, covering, or brickwork to expose certain parts of the 
vessel not normally visible, the owner or user shall remove 
the materials to permit proper inspection and to establish 
construction details. Metal thickness shall be determined 
utilizing appropriate equipment including drilling if 
necessary.  

D. Pressure relief devices. Pressure relief devices for each 
pressure vessel installation, not exempt by the Act, shall 
comply with the requirements of ASME Pressure Vessel 
Code, Section VIII.  

E. Safety appliances.  

1. Each pressure vessel shall be protected by safety and 
relief valves and indicating and controlling devices which 
will insure its safe operation. These valves and devices 
shall be constructed, located and installed so that they 
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cannot readily be rendered inoperative. The relieving 
capacity of the safety valves shall prevent a rise of pressure 
in the vessel of more than 10% above the maximum 
allowable working pressure, taking into account the effect 
of static head. Safety valve discharges shall be located or 
piped so as not to endanger persons working in the area.  

2. Safety valves and safety relief valves requiring repair 
shall be replaced with a new valve or repairs shall be 
performed by the original manufacturer, its authorized 
representative, or the holder of a "VR" stamp.  

F. Repairs and renewals of fittings and appliances. 
Whenever repairs are made to fittings or appliances, or it 
becomes necessary to replace them, the repairs or 
replacements shall comply with requirements for new 
installations.  

G. Conditions not covered by this chapter. All cases not 
specifically covered by this chapter shall be treated as new 
installations or may be referred to the chief inspector for 
instructions concerning the requirements.  

16VAC25-50-430. Hydrostatic pressure tests.  

A. A hydrostatic pressure test, when applied to boilers or 
pressure vessels, shall not exceed 1½ 1.25 times the 
maximum allowable working pressure, except as provided by 
the ASME Code. The pressure shall be under proper control 
so that in no case shall the required test pressure be exceeded 
by more than 2.0%.  

B. See 16VAC25-50-360 A 4 for temperature limitations on 
particular power boiler installations.  

C. When a hydrostatic test is to be applied to existing 
installations, the pressure shall be as follows:  

1. For all cases involving the question of tightness, the 
pressure shall be equal to the working pressure.  

2. For all cases involving the question of safety, the test 
pressure shall be equal to 1½ not exceed 1.25 times the 
maximum allowable working pressure for temperature. 
During such test the safety valve or valves shall be 
removed or each valve disk shall be held to its seat by 
means of a testing clamp and not by screwing down the 
compression screw upon the spring.  

16VAC25-50-480. Repairs and alterations.  

A. Prior to any repair, the owner or user shall notify a 
special inspector with the appropriate endorsement for 
direction or advice, or both, regarding the method and extent 
of repair.  

B. Repairs to boilers and pressure vessels shall be done in 
accordance with the National Board Inspection Code by 
holders of an "R" Certificate of Authorization. The completed 
repairs shall be reviewed by and found acceptable to the 

inspector or the same inspection agency who authorized the 
repair.  

C. Alterations to boilers and pressure vessels shall be 
performed by an organization holding an appropriate ASME 
or "R" Certificate of Authorization and shall be in accordance 
with the National Board Inspection Code.  

D. All repairs and alterations, except seal welds as defined 
in this subsection, shall be reported on the applicable Report 
of Welded Repair or Alteration form. The completed form 
including proper certification shall be forwarded to the chief 
inspector by the organization performing the repair or 
alteration. A seal weld is a tube-to-tubesheet weld used to 
supplement an expanded tube joint to ensure leak tightness. 
Seal welds on carbon steel (P-1) tube joints made by qualified 
welders will not require an inspection nor a Form R-1.  

E. The completed forms for routine repairs, as the term is 
defined in the National Board Inspection Code, need not be 
forwarded to the chief inspector.  

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (16VAC25-50)  

R 1 Form, Report of Welded ________ Repair or 
__________ Alteration, CVR1 Rev 1.0. 

Form R-1, Report of Welded Repair, National Board 
Inspection Code (eff. 1/1/99) , NB-66, Rev. 11. 

Form R-2, Report of Alteration, National Board Inspection 
Code (eff. 1/1/99). 

Form R-3, Report of Parts Fabricated By Welding, National 
Board Inspection Code (eff. 1/1/99). 

Form R-4, Report Supplementary Sheet, National Board 
Inspection Code (eff. 1/1/99). 

BPV-5, Boiler or Pressure Vessel Data Report- First Internal 
Inspection (eff. 1/1/99). 

BPV-6, Boiler - Fired Pressure Vessel - Report of Inspection 
(eff. 1/1/99). 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(16VAC25-50)  

2001 2007 Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, ASME Code, 
American Society of Mechanical Engineers.  

National Board Bylaws, National Board of Boiler and 
Pressure Vessel Inspectors, August 8, 1996.  

ANSI/NB 23, 2001 2007 National Board Inspection Code, 
National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors.  
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ASME B31.1, ASME Code for Pressure Piping, American 
National Standards Institute, 1998 2006.  

NFPA 85 Boiler and Combustion Systems Hazards, 2001 
Edition, National Fire Protection Association.  

Part CG (General), Part CW (Steam and Waterside Control) 
and Part CF (Combustion Side Control) Flame Safeguard of 
ANSI/ASME CSD-1, Controls and Safety Devices for 
Automatically Fired Boilers, 1998 2006, American Society of 
Mechanical Engineers.  

"Boiler Blowoff Equipment," National Board of Boiler and 
Pressure Vessel Inspectors, Rules and Recommendations for 
the Design and Construction of Boiler Blowoff Systems, 
1991.  

API510, Pressure Vessel Inspection Code, Maintenance 
Inspection, Rating, Repair and Alteration, Sixth Edition, June 
1989 Ninth Edition, June 2006, American Petroleum Institute.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1235; Filed June 24, 2009, 10:39 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulation is exempt 
from the Administrative Process Act in accordance with 
§ 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, which excludes 
regulations that are necessary to meet the requirements of 
federal law or regulations, provided such regulations do not 
differ materially from those required by federal law or 
regulation. The Safety and Health Codes Board will receive, 
consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person at 
any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 16VAC25-90. Federal Identical 
General Industry Standards (adding 16VAC25-90-
1910.1020). 

16VAC25-80. Access to Employee Exposure and Medical 
Records (repealing 16VAC25-80-10). 

Statutory Authority: § 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia; 
Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 (P.L. 91-596). 

Effective Date: August 20, 2009.  

Agency Contact: John J. Crisanti, Planning and Evaluation 
Manager, Department of Labor and Industry, Powers-Taylor 
Building, 13 South Thirteenth Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-4300, FAX (804) 786-8418, TTY (804) 
786-2376, or email john.crisanti@doli.virginia.gov. 

Background: In 1990, when the Safety and Health Codes 
Board initially considered adoption of this OSHA identical 
change, it was reticent to adopt the revised standard for the 
following reasons:  the federal revision no longer required 
first aid records to be retained by the employer; the retention 
of all records versus just those records specific to establishing 
baseline levels or detecting occupational illness; and that only 
chest x-rays were to be kept in original form and no records 

would be required to be kept of employees of less than one 
year's duration. 

The advances of medical technology and digital records 
retention over the last 18 years have rendered many of the 
implicit record storage concerns moot. There is also the 
substantial experience of federal OSHA in those states of 
direct federal enforcement of 29 CFR 1910.1020 to show that 
the effects of these 1990 changes have not been problematic. 

Federal OSHA also noted in its initial regulatory preamble to 
this change that it "...deemed it necessary to modify the 
regulation so as to strike a better balance between providing 
employees with information necessary to maintain the 
benefits established by the regulation and at the same time 
protect legitimate trade secrets." [53 FR 38158]  

Department staff noted the numerous additional requirements 
in the current federal standard when staff prepared a side-by-
side comparison of the text of both the Virginia unique 
standard and that of the federal standard. The side-by-side 
comparison of the two standards highlighted federal OSHA's 
significant effort to solve the regulatory dilemma caused by 
seeking to accommodate the competing interests between the 
need for chemical identity disclosure for medical treatment of 
a patient's health problems, which may be a result of chemical 
exposure, and significantly stronger trade secret protection for 
the employer that, once lost, cannot be fully recaptured. 

Under this regulatory review opportunity, the board approved 
the department's recommendation to repeal this state unique 
regulation that the department determined does not meet the 
"as effective as" requirement under the State Plan Agreement 
with federal OSHA, and to adopt the current OSHA standard 
at 29 CFR 1910.1020. This action adopting the current 
federal regulation has the added benefit of providing greater 
regulatory consistency of occupational safety and health 
standards with adjacent jurisdictions for those employers who 
work across state lines. 

Summary: 

This action repeals the Virginia unique regulation for 
Access to Employee Exposure and Medical Records, 
16VAC25-80-10, and adopts the federal identical final 
rule, 29 CFR 1910.1020, as 16VAC25-90-1910.1020. 

Note on Incorporation by Reference: Pursuant to § 2.2-4103 
of the Code of Virginia, 29 CFR 1910.1020, Access to 
Employee Exposure and Medical Records, is declared a 
document generally available to the public and appropriate 
for incorporation by reference. For this reason the document 
will not be printed in the Virginia Register of Regulations. A 
copy of the document is available for inspection at the 
Department of Labor and Industry, 13 South Thirteenth 
Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, and in the office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 9th 
and Broad Streets, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 
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Statement of Final Agency Action: On April 16, 2009, the 
Safety and Health Codes Board approved the adoption of 
federal OSHA's final rule for Access to Employee Exposure 
and Medical Records, 29 CFR 1910.1020 and repealed its 
Virginia unique version of the regulation, Access to 
Employee Exposure and Medical Records, 16VAC25-80-10.  

Federal Terms and State Equivalents: When the regulations, 
as set forth in the final rule for Access to Employee Exposure 
and Medical Records, 29 CFR 1910.1020, are applied to the 
Commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry or to 
Virginia employers, the following federal terms shall be 
considered to read as follows: 

Federal Terms VOSH Equivalent 

29 CFR VOSH Standard 

Assistant 
Secretary 

Commissioner of Labor and 
Industry 

Agency Department 
VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1951; Filed June 24, 2009, 10:39 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

COMMON INTEREST COMMUNITY BOARD 

Notice of Repeal of Emergency Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The emergency regulation 
referenced in Governor Kaine's memorandum below was 
published in 25:5 VA.R. 1073-1094 November 10, 2008. The 
referenced final exempt action was published in 25:20 VA.R. 
3657-3678 June 8, 2009. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC48-20. Condominium 
Regulations (adding 18VAC48-20-10, 18VAC48-20-20, 
18VAC48-20-30, 18VAC48-20-40, 18VAC48-20-50, 
18VAC48-20-60, 18VAC48-20-70, 18VAC48-20-80, 
18VAC48-20-90, 18VAC48-20-100, 18VAC48-20-110, 
18VAC48-20-120, 18VAC48-20-130, 18VAC48-20-140, 
18VAC48-20-150, 18VAC48-20-160, 18VAC48-20-170, 
18VAC48-20-180, 18VAC48-20-190, 18VAC48-20-200, 
18VAC48-20-210, 18VAC48-20-220, 18VAC48-20-230, 
18VAC48-20-240, 18VAC48-20-250, 18VAC48-20-260, 
18VAC48-20-270, 18VAC48-20-280, 18VAC48-20-290, 
18VAC48-20-300, 18VAC48-20-310, 18VAC48-20-320, 
18VAC48-20-330, 18VAC48-20-340, 18VAC48-20-350, 
18VAC48-20-360, 18VAC48-20-370, 18VAC48-20-380, 
18VAC48-20-390, 18VAC48-20-400, 18VAC48-20-410, 
18VAC48-20-420, 18VAC48-20-430, 18VAC48-20-440, 
18VAC48-20-450, 18VAC48-20-460, 18VAC48-20-470, 
18VAC48-20-480, 18VAC48-20-490, 18VAC48-20-500, 
18VAC48-20-510, 18VAC48-20-520, 18VAC48-20-530, 

18VAC48-20-540, 18VAC48-20-550, 18VAC48-20-560, 
18VAC48-20-570, 18VAC48-20-580, 18VAC48-20-590, 
18VAC48-20-600, 18VAC48-20-610, 18VAC48-20-620, 
18VAC48-20-630, 18VAC48-20-640, 18VAC48-20-650, 
18VAC48-20-660, 18VAC48-20-670, 18VAC48-20-680, 
18VAC48-20-690, 18VAC48-20-700, 18VAC48-20-710, 
18VAC48-20-720, 18VAC48-20-730). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2349 of the Code of Virginia. 

Notice of Repeal of/Change in Expiration Date of Emergency 
Regulation transferring Condominium Regulations from the 
Real Estate Board to the Common Interest Community Board 
(18VAC48-20): 

Effective July 9, 2009, I hereby repeal the above-styled 
emergency regulation promulgated by the Common Interest 
Community Board of the Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation through the Secretary of Commerce 
and Trade. I authorized this emergency regulation on October 
17, 2008; it became effective on November 13, 2008, and is 
scheduled to expire on November 12, 2009. 

Subsequent to the promulgation of this emergency regulation, 
Chapter 557, 2009 Acts of Assembly, was enacted which 
allowed the Common Interest Community Board to 
promulgate the Condominium Regulations as an exempt 
action. On April 28, 2009, the Common Interest Community 
Board authorized an exempt action to transfer the 
Condominium Regulations from the Real Estate Board to the 
Common Interest Community Board. This final exempt 
action is scheduled to become effective on July 9, 2009. 

Accordingly, after July 8, 2009, there is no further need for 
the above-styled emergency regulation. 

I am therefore directing the Secretary of Commerce and 
Trade and the Director of the Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation to reschedule this emergency 
regulation to expire on July 9, 2009, in light of the fact that 
on July 9, 2009, the final exempt regulation permanently 
transferring the Condominium Regulations to the Common 
Interest Community Board will take effect. 
/s/ Timothy M. Kaine 
Governor 
Commonwealth of Virginia 
Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 
Common Interest Community Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-0362, 
FAX (804) 367-4297, or email cic@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1567; Filed June 26, 2009, 1:52 p.m.  
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulation filed by 
the Department of Health Professions is exempt from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 B 
18 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts regulations for the 
implementation of the Health Practitioners' Monitoring 
Program, Chapter 25.1 (§ 54.1-2515 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC76-10. Regulations Governing 
the Health Practitioners' Intervention Program for the 
Department of Health Professions (amending 18VAC76-
10-10 through 18VAC76-10-70; repealing 18VAC76-10-
90). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2516 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2009.  

Agency Contact: Peggy Wood, Program Coordinator, 
Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-
4418, FAX (804) 527-4475, or email 
peggy.wood@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Consistent with Chapter 472 of the 2009 Acts of Assembly, 
in part, the title of the regulation is changed from Health 
Practitioners' Intervention Program to the Health 
Practitioners' Monitoring Program to more accurately 
reflect the intent and scope of the program. Other 
amendments include: 

1. Changes in the organization of the committee to delete 
outdated language and allow more flexibility in scheduling 
meetings as necessary;  

2. Changes in eligibility requirements to stipulate that a 
person must hold a current, active Virginia license, 
certification, registration, or multistate licensure privilege 
or be an applicant in order to focus program services on 
licensees who are or will be practicing in Virginia. The 
intent of the program is to monitor impaired practitioners 
to ensure that they are safe to engage in practice in 
Virginia. If a person does not hold a license (suspended, 
revoked, or lapsed), or if he is not currently practicing in 
Virginia, he will not be eligible for the program;  

3. Changes to allow the committee to designate staff to 
perform some of its functions in order to expedite decisions 
and actions, so the duties of the committee can be more 
policy oriented and less involved in routine operations of 
the program; and  

4. Changes to amend terminology that is outdated or 
inconsistent with the amended name of the program. 

CHAPTER 10  
REGULATIONS GOVERNING THE HEALTH 

PRACTITIONERS' INTERVENTION MONITORING 
PROGRAM FOR THE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

PROFESSIONS  

18VAC76-10-10. Definitions.  

The words and terms used in this chapter shall have the 
definitions ascribed to them in § 54.1-2515 of the Code of 
Virginia or shall have the following meanings, unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Committee" means the Intervention Health Practitioners' 
Monitoring Program Committee as defined in § 54.1-2515 of 
the Code of Virginia.  

"Contractor" means an entity with whom the director has 
contracted for implementation and operation of intervention 
monitoring services.  

"Director" means the Director of the Department of Health 
Professions.  

"Program" means the Health Practitioners' Intervention 
Monitoring Program for the Virginia Department of Health 
Professions.  

"Regulated" means a person who is or was licensed, 
certified, or registered or an applicant who is otherwise fully 
eligible for licensure, certification, or registration by a health 
regulatory board within the Virginia Department of Health 
Professions.  

18VAC76-10-20. Organization of committee.  

A. Except for the initial appointments, members Members 
shall be appointed for a term of four years and shall be 
eligible for reappointment for one additional four-year term. 
A member who is appointed to fill a vacancy for the 
remainder of an unexpired term shall be eligible for two full 
four-year terms. Terms of appointment shall begin on July 1 
of each calendar year.  

B. The initial appointees to the committee shall begin their 
terms on July 1, 1997, and shall be appointed as follows:  

1. Two members shall serve for a term of one year, two 
members shall serve for a term of two years, and two 
members shall serve for a term of three years. All of the 
above shall be eligible for reappointment to two four-year 
terms.  

2. One member shall serve for a term of four years and 
shall be eligible for reappointment to one four-year term.  

C. B. Members of the committee shall not be current 
members of a health regulatory board within the department.  

D. The committee shall elect a chairman and vice chairman 
for a one-year term ending June 30 of each calendar year.  
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E. C. The committee shall meet not less than once every two 
months and shall conduct all business according to Robert's 
Rules of Order schedule meetings as necessary to conduct its 
business. Four members shall constitute a quorum. The 
committee may adopt bylaws to govern its operations as it 
deems necessary to conduct its business and as consistent 
with law and regulations.  

F. D. Except in the event of an emergency, any member who 
is unable to attend a scheduled meeting shall give notice to 
the program coordinator as soon as practical but no later than 
48 hours prior to that scheduled meeting.  

G. E. The director shall have the authority to remove a 
member and shall report such removal to the Board of Health 
Professions at its next scheduled meeting. Failure of any 
member to attend two successive meetings without reasonable 
excuse or failure to give notice as required in subsection F D 
of this section shall constitute grounds for removal.  

H. F. By December 31 of each calendar year, each health 
regulatory board within the department shall designate, in 
accordance with § 54.1-2400 (8) of the Code of Virginia, a 
liaison to the committee for a term of one year. Likewise, 
each board shall select an alternate to serve in the absence of 
the liaison.  

18VAC76-10-30. Eligibility.  

A. Any In order to become eligible for the program and to 
maintain eligibility, an impaired practitioner regulated by the 
department shall be eligible for the program shall hold a 
current, active license, certification, a registration issued by a 
health regulatory board in Virginia or a multistate licensure 
privilege, with the exception that an applicant for initial 
licensure, certification, or registration or for reinstatement 
shall be eligible for participation for up to one year from the 
date of receipt of the application by a health regulatory board. 

B. Individuals who are practicing exclusively outside of 
Virginia shall not participate in the program, except as may 
be required by specific board order or by permission between 
party states pursuant to the Nurse Licensure Compact (Article 
6 (§ 54.1-3030 et seq.) of Chapter 30 of Title 54.1 of the 
Code of Virginia). 

C. A practitioner who has been previously terminated for 
noncompliance from this or any other state-sponsored 
intervention monitoring program may be considered eligible 
at the discretion of the contractor committee or its designee. 

B. D. For the purposes of eligibility for the program, 
impairment shall not include kleptomania, pyromania, 
transvestism, transsexualism, pedophilia, exhibitionism, 
voyeurism, gender identity disorders not resulting from 
physical impairments, sexual behavioral disorders, 
homosexuality and bisexuality.  

C. In order to become eligible for participation in the 
program, the E. The practitioner shall sign a participation 

contract with the committee. Failure to adhere to the terms of 
the contract may subject the practitioner to termination from 
the program.  

D. Unless otherwise ordered by a regulatory board, a 
practitioner shall maintain a current license, certificate, or 
registration to remain eligible for participation in the 
program.  

18VAC76-10-40. Eligibility for stayed disciplinary action.  

A. The committee or its designee shall consult with the 
board liaison for the purpose of determining whether 
disciplinary action should shall be stayed. If it is determined 
that an applicant for the program is not eligible for a stay and 
evidence of a violation has been reported to the committee, 
the committee shall make a report of the violation to the 
Enforcement Division of the department. If found ineligible 
for stayed disciplinary action, the practitioner may remain 
eligible for participation in the program.  

B. Prior to making a decision on stayed disciplinary action, 
the committee or its designee shall review any applicable 
notices or orders and shall consult with the Enforcement 
Division of the department on any pending investigations.  

C. Disciplinary action may be initiated by the appropriate 
health regulatory board upon receipt of investigative 
information leading to a determination of probable cause that 
impairment constitutes a danger to patients or clients or upon 
a determination that the committee decision for stayed 
disciplinary action is not consistent with provisions for a stay 
pursuant to § 54.1-2516 C of the Code of Virginia.  

18VAC76-10-50. Participation contract.  

A. The participation contract between the committee and the 
practitioner shall include at least the following elements:  

1. The treatment monitoring plan to be followed by the 
practitioner;  

2. Any provisions for withdrawal from practice or 
limitations on the scope of practice;  

3. Consequences of failure to comply with the treatment 
plan terms of the participation contract;  

4. Any releases for seeking information or records related 
to the impairment from family, peers, medical personnel or 
employers;  

5. A brief written history of the nature of the impairment; 
and  

6. Any other terms or requirements as may be deemed 
necessary by the committee.  

B. The participation contract shall specify that costs 
accruing to the individual practitioner, including but not 
limited to treatment and body fluid screens, shall not be the 
responsibility of the program.  
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18VAC76-10-60. Recovery contract.  

The recovery contract between the committee and the 
practitioner may shall include but not be limited to the 
following:  

1. Length of contract;  

2. Type, frequency, and conditions of drug screens;  

3. Type and frequency of self-help meetings;  

4. Stipulations for self-reporting;  

5. Quarterly reports from employers, peers, or peer 
assistance programs;  

6. Conditions and terms for completion and release from 
the program; and  

7. Any other terms or requirements as may be deemed 
necessary by the committee.  

18VAC76-10-70. Procedures for consultation with liaisons 
of health regulatory boards.  

A. The committee or its designee shall consult with the 
liaison of the relevant health regulatory board prior to making 
a determination on stayed disciplinary action; such 
consultation may include the following:  

1. Eligibility of a practitioner for stayed disciplinary 
action;  

2. The implications of the impairment on practice in the 
profession;  

3. The circumstances of the impairment related to a 
possible violation of laws or regulation; or  

4. Any other issues related to disciplinary action or the 
eligibility, treatment and recovery of a practitioner.  

B. In its consultation with the board liaison, the committee 
shall not disclose the name of the practitioner.  

18VAC76-10-90. Procedures for communication. 
(Repealed.) 

Except as provided for in § 54.1-2518 of the Code of 
Virginia, no communication with an applicant or a participant 
in the program shall be initiated except through the contractor 
or through the committee.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1878; Filed July 1, 2009, 12:53 p.m.  

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Medicine has 
claimed an exemption from the Administrative Process Act in 
accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to 
changes in Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act 
where no agency discretion is involved. The Board of 

Medicine will receive, consider and respond to petitions by 
any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC85-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, 
and Chiropractic (amending 18VAC85-20-21). 

18VAC85-40. Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Respiratory Care Practitioners (amending 18VAC85-40-
25). 

18VAC85-50. Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Physician Assistants (adding 18VAC85-50-21). 

18VAC85-80. Regulations Governing the Licensure of 
Occupational Therapists (amending 18VAC85-80-25). 

18VAC85-101. Regulations Governing the Licensure of 
Radiologic Technologists and Radiologic Technologists-
Limited (adding 18VAC85-101-26). 

18VAC85-110. Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Licensed Acupuncturists (adding 18VAC85-110-36). 

18VAC85-120. Regulations Governing the Licensure of 
Athletic Trainers (amending 18VAC85-120-30). 

18VAC85-130. Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Licensed Midwives (adding 18VAC85-130-31). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 19, 2009.  

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 
Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4621, FAX 
(804) 527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

In compliance with Chapter 687 of the 2009 Acts of 
Assembly, the Board of Medicine has amended its 
regulations relating to the responsibility of the licensee or 
registrant to provide current addresses. Every licensee and 
registrant is required to provide an address of record for 
use by the board, and is permitted to provide a second 
address to be used as the public address. If a second 
address is not provided, the address of record becomes the 
public address. Regulations are amended to use the 
statutory terminology of address of record and to clarify 
that the regulant has a responsibility to notify the board 
within 30 days if there is a change in the address of record 
or the public address, if different from the address of 
record. 

18VAC85-20-21. Current addresses.  

Each licensee shall furnish the board his current address of 
record. All notices required by law or by this chapter to be 
mailed by the board to any such licensee shall be validly 
given when mailed to the latest address of record given by the 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 23 Virginia Register of Regulations July 20, 2009 

4235 

licensee. Any change of in the address of record or the public 
address, if different from the address of record, shall be 
furnished to the board within 30 days of such change.  

18VAC85-40-25. Current name and address.  

Each licensee shall furnish the board his current name and 
address of record. All notices required by law or by this 
chapter to be given by the board to any such licensee shall be 
validly given when mailed to the latest address of record 
provided or served to the licensee. Any change of name or 
change in the address of record or public address, if different 
from the address of record, shall be furnished to the board 
within 30 days of such change.  

18VAC85-50-21. Current name and address. 

Each licensee shall furnish the board his current name and 
address of record. All notices required by law or by this 
chapter given by the board to any such licensee shall be 
validly given when mailed to the latest address of record 
provided or served to the licensee. Any change of name or 
address of record or the public address, if different from the 
address of record, shall be furnished to the board within 30 
days of such change.  

18VAC85-80-25. Current name and address.  

Each licensee shall furnish the board his current name and 
address of record. All notices required by law or by this 
chapter given by the board to any such licensee shall be 
validly given when mailed to the latest address of record 
provided or served to the licensee. Any change of name or 
address of record or the public address, if different from the 
address of record, shall be furnished to the board within 30 
days of such change.  

18VAC85-101-26. Current name and address. 

Each licensee shall furnish the board his current name and 
address of record. All notices required by law or by this 
chapter given by the board to any such licensee shall be 
validly given when mailed to the latest address of record 
provided or served to the licensee. Any change of name or 
address of record or the public address, if different from the 
address of record, shall be furnished to the board within 30 
days of such change.  

18VAC85-110-36. Current name and address. 

Each licensee shall furnish the board his current name and 
address of record. All notices required by law or by this 
chapter given by the board to any such licensee shall be 
validly given when mailed to the latest address of record 
provided or served to the licensee. Any change of name or 
address of record or the public address, if different from the 
address of record, shall be furnished to the board within 30 
days of such change.  

18VAC85-120-30. Current name and address.  

Each licensee shall furnish the board his current name and 
address of record. All notices required by law or by these 
regulations to be mailed by the board to any such licensee 
shall be validly given when mailed to the latest address of 
record given to the board. Any change of name or address of 
record or the public address, if different from the address of 
record, shall be furnished to the board within 30 days of such 
change.  

18VAC85-130-31. Current name and address. 

Each licensee shall furnish the board his current name and 
address of record. All notices required by law or by this 
chapter given by the board to any such licensee shall be 
validly given when mailed to the latest address of record 
provided or served to the licensee. Any change of name or 
address of record or the public address, if different from the 
address of record, shall be furnished to the board within 30 
days of such change.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1848; Filed July 1, 2009, 12:53 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Social Services 
is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process 
Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of 
Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 
agency discretion is involved. The State Board of Social 
Services will receive, consider and respond to petitions by 
any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-35. Virginia Independence 
Program (amending 22VAC40-35-40). 

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 19, 2009.  

Agency Contact: Mark L. Golden, TANF Program Manager, 
Department of Social Services, 7 North Eighth Street, Room 
5214, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7385, FAX 
(804) 726-7356, or email mark.golden@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

To conform to Chapters 61 and 547 of the 2009 Acts of 
Assembly, the amendment amends the time frames during 
which needy households can receive diversionary cash 
assistance, a one-time lump sum assistance payment 
intended to divert the family from long-term welfare. 
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Rather than being restricted to receipt of diversionary cash 
assistance once every 60 months, the law was amended to 
allow receipt of diversionary cash assistance up to once 
every 12 months. 

22VAC40-35-40. Diversionary assistance program 
eligibility criteria.  

A. An assistance unit shall be eligible to receive 
diversionary cash assistance if:  

1. Verification is provided to the local department of social 
services that the assistance unit has a temporary loss of 
income or delay in starting to receive income resulting in 
an emergency;  

2. The assistance unit meets AFDC requirements specified 
in § 63.2-617 of the Code of Virginia; and  

3. The local department of social services determines that 
diversionary assistance will resolve the emergency.  

B. The amount of assistance provided shall be up to the 
maximum TANF amount for 120 days that the family would 
otherwise be eligible to receive. The amount of the payment 
is based on immediate needs of the applicant. Local agencies 
shall strive to provide the most cost-effective solution to the 
one-time emergency.  

C. If an assistance unit receives a diversionary assistance 
payment, all assistance unit members shall be ineligible for 
TANF for 1.33 times the number of days for which assistance 
is granted, beginning with the date that the diversionary 
assistance is issued.  

D. An assistance unit shall be eligible to receive 
diversionary assistance once in a 60-month 12-month period.  

E. Receipt of diversionary assistance is voluntary.  

F. Local social services agencies shall determine eligibility 
for diversionary assistance within five working days of the 
receipt of the final verification that substantiates eligibility, or 
within 30 days of the date of the receipt of the signed 
application, whichever occurs first.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1970; Filed June 26, 2009, 1:16 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Social Services 
is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process 
Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of 
Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 
agency discretion is involved. The State Board of Social 
Services will receive, consider and respond to petitions by 
any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-41. Neighborhood 
Assistance Tax Credit Program (amending 22VAC40-41-

10, 22VAC40-41-20, 22VAC40-41-40, 22VAC40-41-50, 
22VAC40-41-55, 22VAC40-41-60). 

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 1, 2009. 

Agency Contact: J. Mark Grigsby, Director, Office of 
Community Services, Department of Social Services, 7 North 
Eighth Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-
7922, FAX (804) 726-7946, or email 
james.grigsby@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulatory action implements Chapters 463 and 585 
of the 2008 Acts of Assembly and Chapters 10 and 851 of 
the 2009 Acts of Assembly. The proposed amendments (i) 
update obsolete Code of Virginia citations that resulted 
from the Neighborhood Assistance Program statutes being 
moved from Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia, pertaining 
to Welfare (Social Services), to Title 58.1, pertaining to 
Taxation; (ii) change a number of definitions to reflect 
statutory changes; and (iii) reflect that an organization 
providing educational services applies to the 
Superintendent of Public Instruction, not to the 
Commissioner of the Department of Social Services. 

22VAC40-41-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Approved organization" means a neighborhood 
organization that has been found eligible to participate in the 
Neighborhood Assistance Program. 

"Audit" means any audit required under the federal Office of 
Management and Budget's Circular A-133, or, if a 
neighborhood organization is not required to file an audit 
under Circular A-133, a detailed financial statement prepared 
by an outside independent certified public accountant. 

"Business firm" means any corporation, partnership, electing 
small business (Subchapter S) corporation, limited liability 
company, or sole proprietorship authorized to do business in 
this Commonwealth subject to tax imposed by Articles 2 
(§ 58.1-320 et seq.) and 10 (§ 58.1-400 et seq.) of Chapter 3, 
Chapter 12 (§ 58.1-1200 et seq.), Article 1 (§ 58.1-2500 et 
seq.) of Chapter 25, or Article 2 (§ 58.1-2620 et seq.) of 
Chapter 26 of Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the 
Department of Social Services, his designee or authorized 
representative. 

"Community services" means any type of counseling and 
advice, emergency assistance, medical care, provision of 
basic necessities, or services designed to minimize the effects 
of poverty, furnished primarily to impoverished people. 
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"Contracting services" means the provision, by a business 
firm licensed by the Commonwealth of Virginia as a 
contractor under Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) of Title 
54.1 of the Code of Virginia, of labor or technical advice to 
aid in the development, construction, renovation, or repair of 
(i) homes of impoverished people or (ii) buildings used by 
neighborhood organizations. 

"Education" means any type of scholastic instruction or 
scholarship scholastic assistance to an individual who is 
impoverished. 

"Housing assistance" means furnishing financial assistance, 
labor, material, or technical advice to aid the physical 
improvement of the homes of impoverished people. 

"Impoverished people" means, for neighborhood 
organizations not providing education services, people in 
Virginia with incomes at or below 150% of the poverty 
guidelines as defined by the United States Office of 
Management and Budget as published in the Federal Register 
(62 FR 10856), and as updated and republished annually in 
the Federal Register updated periodically in the Federal 
Register by the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services under the authority of 42 USC § 9902(2). 

"Job training" means any type of instruction to an individual 
who is impoverished that enables him to acquire vocational 
skills so that he can become employable or able to seek a 
higher grade of employment. 

"Neighborhood assistance" means providing community 
services, education, housing assistance, or job training. 

"Neighborhood organization" means any local, regional or 
statewide organization whose primary function is providing 
neighborhood assistance for impoverished people, and 
holding a ruling from the Internal Revenue Service of the 
United States Department of the Treasury that the 
organization is exempt from income taxation under the 
provisions of § 501(c)(3) or § 501(c)(4) of the Internal 
Revenue Code of 1986, as amended from time to time, or any 
organization defined as a community action agency in the 
Economic Opportunity Act of 1964 (42 USC § 2701 et seq.), 
or any housing authority as defined in § 36-3 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

"Professional services" means any type of personal service 
to the public which requires as a condition precedent to the 
rendering of such service the obtaining of a license or other 
legal authorization and shall include, but not be limited to, the 
personal services rendered by medical doctors, dentists, 
architects, professional engineers, certified public accountants 
and, attorneys-at-law, and veterinarians. 

"Scholastic assistance" means (i) counseling or supportive 
services to elementary school, middle school, secondary 
school, or postsecondary school students or their parents in 
developing a postsecondary academic or vocational education 

plan, including college financial options for such students or 
their parents, or (ii) scholarships. 

22VAC40-41-20. Purpose; procedure for becoming an 
approved organization; eligibility criteria; termination of 
approved organization; appeal procedure. 

A. The purpose of the Neighborhood Assistance Program is 
to encourage business firms and individuals to make 
donations to neighborhood organizations for the benefit of 
impoverished people. 

B. Neighborhood organizations wishing that do not provide 
education services and that wish to become an approved 
organization must submit an application and provide the 
following information to the commissioner: Neighborhood 
organizations that provide education services must submit an 
application to the Superintendent of Public Instruction. The 
application submitted to the Superintendent of Public 
Instruction must comply with regulations or guidelines 
adopted by the Board of Education. The application 
submitted to the commissioner must contain the following 
information: 

1. A description of their eligibility as a neighborhood 
organization, the programs being conducted, the 
impoverished people assisted, the estimated amount that 
will be donated to the programs, and plans for 
implementing the programs. 

2. Proof of the neighborhood organization's current 
exemption from income taxation under the provisions of 
§ 501(c)(3) or § 501(c)(4) of the Internal Revenue Code, or 
the organization's eligibility as a community action agency 
as defined in the Economic Opportunity Act of 1964 
(42 USC § 2701 et seq.) or housing authority as defined in 
§ 36-3 of the Code of Virginia. 

3. A copy of the neighborhood organization's current audit, 
a copy of the organization's current federal form 990, a 
current brochure describing the organization's programs, 
and a copy of the annual report filed with the Department 
of Agriculture and Consumer Services' Division of 
Consumer Protection. 

4. A statement of objective and measurable outcomes that 
are expected to occur and the method the organization will 
use to evaluate the program's effectiveness. 

C. To be eligible for participation in the Neighborhood 
Assistance Program, the applicant must meet the following 
criteria: 

1. Applicants must have been in operation as a viable 
entity, providing neighborhood assistance for impoverished 
people, for at least 12 months. 

2. Applicants must be able to demonstrate that at least 50% 
of the total people served and at least 50% of the total 
expenditures were for impoverished people.  
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3. Applicant's audit must not contain any significant 
findings or areas of concern for the ongoing operation of 
the neighborhood organization. 

4. Applicants must demonstrate that at least 75% of total 
revenue received is expended to support their ongoing 
programs each year. 

D. The application period will start no later than March 15 
of each year. All applications must be received by the 
Department of Social Services no later than the first business 
day of May. 

E. Those applicants submitting all required information and 
reports and meeting the eligibility criteria described in this 
section will be determined an approved organization. The 
program year will run from July 1 through June 30 of the 
following year. 

F. The commissioner may terminate an approved 
organization's eligibility based on a finding of program abuse 
involving illegal activities or fraudulent reporting on 
contributions. 

G. Any neighborhood organization that disagrees with the 
disposition of its application, or its termination as an 
approved organization, may appeal to the commissioner in 
writing for a reconsideration. Such requests must be made 
within 30 days of the denial or termination. The 
commissioner will act on the request and render a final 
decision within 30 days of the request for reconsideration. 

22VAC40-41-40. Value of donations. 

A. The approved organization is responsible for maintaining 
documentation as required by the Department of Social 
Services to verify the date and value of all donations. 

B. The value of donations of cash, including stocks, real 
estate, and merchandise to be used by the approved 
organization is the value determined for federal tax purposes 
using IRS regulations (26 CFR 1 et seq., and as amended). 

C. The value of merchandise, other than a motor vehicle, 
donated to be sold, auctioned or raffled is the lesser of the 
value determined for federal tax purposes using IRS 
regulations or the actual proceeds received by the approved 
organization. 

D. The value of a motor vehicle donated to be sold, 
auctioned, or raffled is the value determined for federal tax 
purposes using IRS regulations. 

D. E. The value assigned for donated rent/lease of the 
approved organization's facility must be reasonable and 
cannot exceed the prevailing square footage rental charge for 
comparable property. 

E. F. The value of professional and contracting services is 
determined as follows: 

1. When a business donates professional or contracting 
services provided by employees, the value of the donation 
shall be equal to the salary that such employee was actually 
paid for the period of time that such employee rendered 
professional or contracting services to the approved 
organization. Operating overhead and benefit costs are not 
included in determining the value. 

2. When a sole proprietor, partner in a partnership, or 
member of a limited liability company renders professional 
or contracting services to an approved organization, the 
value of the professional or contracting services shall not 
exceed the lesser of the reasonable cost for similar services 
from other providers or the maximum amount set forth in 
§§ 63.2-2004 58.1-439.22 and 63.2-2005 58.1-439.23 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

22VAC40-41-50. Donations by businesses and health care 
professionals.  

A. As provided by § 63.2-2003 58.1-439.21 of the Code of 
Virginia, a business firm shall be eligible for a tax credit 
based on the value of the money, property, professional 
services, and contracting services donated by the business 
firm during its taxable year to an approved organization. 

B. No tax credit shall be granted to any business firm for 
donations to an approved organization providing job training 
or education for individuals employed by the business firm. 

C. Health care professionals that meet certain conditions, as 
specified in § 63.2-2004 C 58.1-439.22 C of the Code of 
Virginia, shall be eligible for a tax credit based on the time 
spent in providing health care services for such clinic. 

D. All donations must be made directly to the approved 
organization without any conditions or expectation of 
monetary benefit. Discounted donations and bargain sales are 
not allowable donations for the Neighborhood Assistance 
Program. 

E. Granting of tax credits shall conform to the minimum and 
maximum amounts prescribed in § 63.2-2003 58.1-439.21 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

F. Credits granted to a partnership, electing small business 
(Subchapter S) corporation, or limited liability company shall 
be allocated to their individual partners, shareholders, or 
members, respectively, in proportion to their ownership or 
interest in such business entities. 

G. The approved organization and donor shall complete a 
certification on a form prescribed by the Department of Social 
Services. The certification shall identify the date, type, and 
value of the donation. 

H. All certifications must be submitted to the Department of 
Social Services within four years of the date of donation. 
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I. Upon receipt and approval of the certification, the 
commissioner shall issue a tax credit certificate to the 
business. 

22VAC40-41-55. Donations by individuals. 

A. As provided in § 63.2-2006 58.1-430.24 of the Code of 
Virginia, an individual shall be eligible for a tax credit for a 
cash donation to an approved organization. 

B. Such donations are subject to the minimum and 
maximum amounts and other provisions set forth in § 63.2-
2006 58.1-439.24 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. The approved organization and the individual shall 
complete a certification on a form prescribed by the 
Department of Social Services. The certification shall identify 
the date and amount of the donation. 

D. All certifications must be submitted to the Department of 
Social Services within four years of the date of donation. 

E. Upon receipt and approval of the certification, the 
commissioner shall issue a tax credit certificate to the 
individual. 

22VAC40-41-60. Determining date of donation.  

A. The date of donation for cash, including stocks, real 
estate, and merchandise to be used by the approved 
organization, is the date used for federal tax purposes 
according to IRS regulations. 

B. The date of the donation for merchandise donated to be 
sold, auctioned, or raffled is the date the proceeds were 
received by the approved organization. 

C. The date of donation for professional services is the date 
the service is completed. 

D. The date of donation for donated rent/lease is the 
effective date of the lease. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1987; Filed June 26, 2009, 1:20 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 22VAC40-410. Entitlement Date in 
the General Relief Program (repealing 22VAC40-410-10, 
22VAC40-410-20). 

22VAC40-411. General Relief Program (adding 
22VAC40-411-10 through 22VAC40-411-220). 

22VAC40-570. General Relief (GR) Program - Locality 
Options (repealing 22VAC40-570-10 through 22VAC40-
570-100). 

22VAC40-640. General Relief Program - Deeming Income 
From Alien Sponsors (repealing 22VAC40-640-10 
through 22VAC40-640-80). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-802 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 1, 2009.  

Agency Contact: Mark Golden, General Relief Program 
Manager, Department of Social Services, 7 North Eighth 
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7385, 
FAX (804) 726-7357, or email 
mark.golden@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The General Relief Program provides assistance to 
individuals who are not eligible for other forms of 
assistance and is an optional program at the local level. 
The regulation defines the different types of assistance 
available, how income and resources are evaluated for 
aliens, how recipients can receive assistance through the 
disability advocacy project, and establishes the date for 
which eligibility for general relief begins. This action 
combines the provisions of four existing regulations into 
one comprehensive set of rules for the General Relief 
Program. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

CHAPTER 411  
GENERAL RELIEF PROGRAM  

22VAC40-411-10. Definitions. 

The following words or terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Advocacy services" means legal services to help establish 
eligibility for federal disability benefits. 

"Affidavit of support" or "Form I-134" means a statement of 
a sponsor's income, resources, and willingness to support. 
Form I-134 or similar form is filed with the Citizenship and 
Immigrant Services (USCIS) by a United States resident who 
sponsors an alien seeking admission to the United States as a 
permanent resident. The affidavit is made for the purpose of 
assuring the United States government that the sponsored 
alien will not become a public charge in the United States. 

"Agency" means the local department of social services. 

"Agency action" or "action" means action taken by the 
superintendents or directors or local board certifying the 
individual or family is eligible for maintenance or emergency 
assistance. 

"Agency contract" means the local department of social 
services has an agreement with a pharmacy to provide 
prescription drugs for recipients of General Relief. 

"Appeal process" means a review of the decision on the 
disability claim that can involve four steps: reconsideration, 
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hearing before an administrative law judge, review by 
Appeals Council, and hearing in a federal court. 

"Assistance for unattached children" means a component of 
the General Relief Program that can provide assistance to 
children who would be eligible for Temporary Assistance for 
Needy Families (TANF) if the relationship requirement were 
met.  

"Assistance for unemployable individuals" means a 
component of the General Relief Program that can provide 
assistance to individuals who are unable to work because of 
physical or mental disability, age or lack of training, illness in 
the family, or home responsibilities.  

"Assistance for unemployed employable individuals" means 
a component of the General Relief Program that can provide 
assistance to individuals who are not working but are able to 
work.  

"Assistance unit" means the individual or group of 
individuals whose needs, income, and resources are 
considered in determining eligibility for a component. 

"Bar association" means a professional association for 
attorneys.  

"Clothing assistance" means a component of the General 
Relief Program that can be used to purchase clothing for 
individuals who have an emergency need.  

"Component" means a specific type of assistance provided 
under the General Relief Program.  

"Disability" means a physical or mental condition rendering 
a person unable to perform any meaningful work and this 
condition is expected to last at least 12 months or result in 
death. 

"Disability Determination Services" means a program 
administered by the Virginia Department of Rehabilitative 
Services that makes decisions on disability claims for the 
Social Security Administration.  

"Disability insurance benefits" means Title II of the Social 
Security Act that provides benefits to disabled persons who 
have worked for a substantial period in employment covered 
by Social Security.  

"Entitlement date or entitlement" means the date eligibility 
begins. 

"Emergency medical assistance" means a component of the 
General Relief Program that can be used to purchase medical 
assistance for individuals who have an emergency need.  

"Equal Access to Justice Act" means an act that allows a 
federal court to grant an attorney a fee for proceedings before 
an administrative agency.  

"Food credit authorization assistance" means a component 
of the General Relief Program that can be used to purchase 
food for individuals who have an emergency need.  

"Federal disability benefits" means disability insurance 
benefits or Supplemental Security Income.  

"Foster child" means a child who is entrusted or committed 
to a state mandated service and the child is identified as "at 
risk" or "in crisis." 

"General Relief Plan" means the document completed by a 
local department of social services to identify the components 
included in the General Relief Program for the locality.  

"General Relief Program (GR)" means an optional program 
funded by state (62.5%) and local funds (37.5%) with the 
primary purpose of assisting individuals who do not qualify 
for aid in a federal category. The program is supervised by 
the State Department of Social Services and administered by 
local agencies. Each agency chooses the components and 
subcomponents to be included in its General Relief Program.  

"Hearing before an administrative law judge" means the first 
level formal fair hearing of decisions of the Social Security 
Administration to deny federal disability benefits. The 
hearing is conducted by an attorney who is an official of the 
Social Security Administration. 

"Interim assistance" means a component of the General 
Relief Program that can provide assistance to individuals who 
have applied for Supplemental Security Income (SSI), who 
must apply for SSI, or are appealing an SSI decision. 
Individuals receiving interim assistance must sign an 
authorization allowing the Social Security Administration to 
send their initial retroactive Supplemental Security Income 
benefits to the local agency, which then reimburses its general 
relief budget for the amount of financial assistance given the 
individuals while their Supplemental Security Income 
benefits were pending approval.  

"Legal aid attorney" means an attorney who provides legal 
services at no cost to people within certain income guidelines.  

[ "Maintenance payments" or "maintenance" means ongoing 
financial assistance from the general relief program. ]  

"Maximum for the locality" means the amount of 
reimbursable assistance applicable to some components based 
on the agency group. Agencies are placed in one of three 
groups based on shelter expenses in the area.  

[ "Maintenance payments" or "maintenance" means ongoing 
financial assistance from the general relief program. ]  

"Monthly maximum" means the dollar amount of assistance 
specified in the General Relief Plan for some components.  

"Ongoing medical assistance" means a component of the 
General Relief Program that can be used to provide 
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individuals continuing medical assistance. The component is 
composed of 10 subcomponents including prescription drugs.  

"Permanent resident status" means having been lawfully 
accorded the privilege of residing permanently in the United 
States as an immigrant. 

"Private attorney" means an attorney engaged in the private 
practice of law for which a fee is charged.  

"Provider" means an attorney, or an individual working 
under the supervision of an attorney legally allowed to do so, 
who provides assistance in establishing an individual's 
eligibility for federal disability benefits. 

"Recipient" means an individual who is receiving interim 
assistance. 

"Reconsideration" means a review of the disability claim by 
the Disability Determination Services.  

[ "Recoupment" means the amount reimbursed to the 
general relief or state and local foster care funds from an 
individual's retroactive Supplemental Security Income 
benefits for assistance to that individual while approval for 
federal disability benefits was pending approval.  ]  

"Reimbursable" means the amount an assistance unit can 
receive per month for which the state/local match is available.  

"Rent/house payments" means a subcomponent of the 
shelter assistance component that can be used to pay housing 
expenses. 

[ "Recoupment" means the amount reimbursed to the 
general relief or state and local foster care funds from an 
individual's retroactive Supplemental Security Income 
benefits for assistance to that individual while approval for 
federal disability benefits was pending approval. ]  

"Review by the Appeals Council" means a review of the 
decisions of the administrative law judge by a review unit of 
the Social Security Administration. The Appeals Council 
either decides the case or issues an order returning it to an 
administrative law judge for further review.  

"Shelter assistance" means a component of the General 
Relief Program that can be used to provide for the shelter 
needs of individuals. The component's two subcomponents 
are rent/house payments and utility payments.  

"Sponsor" means a person, or any public or private agency 
or organization, that executed an affidavit of support or 
similar agreement on behalf of an alien as a condition of the 
alien's entry into the United States as a permanent resident.  

"Sponsored alien" means an immigrant who due to the 
likelihood of his becoming a public charge would have been 
excluded from lawful admission into the United States. As a 
condition of this immigrant's admission, a person or public or 
private agency or organization executed an affidavit of 
support or similar agreement guaranteeing the federal, state, 

and local governments that the immigrant would not become 
a public charge.  

"Standard of assistance" means the amount of reimbursable 
assistance based on the size of the assistance unit and the 
local department of social services group. Local agencies are 
placed in one of three groups based on shelter expenses in the 
area.  

"Standard of assistance at 90% of need" means the amount 
of reimbursable assistance applicable to some components 
based on the size of the assistance unit and the agency group. 
Agencies are placed in one of three groups based on shelter 
expenses in the area.  

"Subcomponent" means a part of a component.  

"Supplemental Security Income" means Title XVI of the 
Social Security Act that provides benefits to a disabled person 
based on financial need.  

"Temporary Assistance for Needy Families" (TANF) means 
the federal program administered by the Virginia Department 
of Social Services that provides assistance for families with 
children.  

"United States Citizenship and Immigration Services 
(USCIS)" is a branch of the United States Department of 
Homeland Security delegated authority to enforce the 
Immigration and Nationality Act and all other laws relating to 
the immigration and naturalization of aliens.  

"Utility payments" means a subcomponent of the shelter 
assistance component that can be used to pay for items, such 
as electricity, oil, water, and natural gas.  

22VAC40-411-20. General Relief Plan. 

The General Relief Program is an optional program 
designed to provide assistance, either maintenance or 
emergency, that cannot be provided through other means.  
Local departments of social services that operate a General 
Relief Program may offer one or more components. Each 
local department of social services must submit a plan to the 
Virginia Department of Social Services indicating which 
components are operated. 

22VAC40-411-30. Assistance for unemployed employable 
individuals. 

An agency electing to provide this component will specify 
in its General Relief Plan the types of assistance units served. 
The choices are:  

1. Parents and their minor children;  

2. A parent and minor children;  

3. A married couple with no children;  

4. One individual; or  

5. An unmarried pregnant woman.  
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22VAC40-411-40. Assistance for unemployable 
individuals. 

An agency electing to provide this component will specify 
in its General Relief Plan the amount of assistance that can be 
received by an assistance unit in 12 consecutive months. The 
choices are:  

1. The standard of assistance at 90% of need times three;  

2. The standard of assistance at 90% of need times six;  

3. The standard of assistance at 90% of need times nine; or  

4. The standard of assistance at 90% of need times 12 or 
the maximum for the locality times 12.  

22VAC40-411-50. Ongoing medical assistance. 

A. An agency electing to provide this component will 
specify in its General Relief Plan the amount of assistance 
that can be received by an assistance unit in 12 consecutive 
months. The choices are:  

1. Three times the monthly maximum;  

2. Six times the monthly maximum;  

3. Nine times the monthly maximum; or  

4. Twelve times the monthly maximum.  

B. An agency electing to provide for the purchase of 
prescription drugs will specify in its General Relief Plan 
whether recipients are required to obtain drugs at a pharmacy 
with an agency contract. The choices are:  

1. Recipients are not required to buy prescription drugs 
from a contracted pharmacy; or  

2. Recipients are required to buy prescription drugs from a 
contracted pharmacy. 

22VAC40-411-60. Interim assistance. 

An agency that elects to provide this component but does 
not elect to provide assistance for unemployable individuals 
will specify in its General Relief Plan whether interim 
assistance will be restricted to assistance units with an 
individual with a disability that will last 12 months, has lasted 
12 months, or will result in death. The choices are:  

1. Assistance will not be restricted; or  

2. Assistance will be restricted.  

22VAC40-411-70. Assistance for unattached children. 

An agency electing to provide this component will specify 
in its General Relief Plan the amount of assistance that can be 
received by an assistance unit in 12 consecutive months. The 
choices are:  

1. The standard of assistance at 90% of need times three;  

2. The standard of assistance at 90% of need times six;  

3. The standard of assistance at 90% of need times nine; or  

4. The standard of assistance at 90% of need times 12 or 
the maximum for the locality times 12.  

22VAC40-411-80. Food credit authorization assistance. 

An agency electing to provide this component will specify 
in its General Relief Plan the maximum number of months 
that assistance can be received by an assistance unit. The 
choices are:  

1. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to six 
months out of six consecutive months; or  

2. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to 12 
months out of 12 consecutive months.  

22VAC40-411-90. Shelter assistance. 

A. An agency electing to provide this component will 
specify in its General Relief Plan the maximum number of 
months that assistance can be received by an assistance unit. 
The choices are:  

1. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to six 
months out of six consecutive months; or  

2. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to 12 
months out of 12 consecutive months.  

B. An agency electing to provide rent/house payments will 
specify in its General Relief Plan the maximum number of 
months that assistance can be received by an assistance unit. 
The choices are:  

1. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to six 
months out of six consecutive months; or  

2. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to 12 
months out of 12 consecutive months.  

C. An agency electing to provide utility payments will 
specify in its General Relief Plan the maximum number of 
months that assistance can be received by an assistance unit. 
The choices are:  

1. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to six 
months out of six consecutive months; or  

2. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to 12 
months out of 12 consecutive months.  

22VAC40-411-100. Emergency medical assistance. 

A. An agency electing to provide this component will 
specify in its General Relief Plan the maximum number of 
months that assistance can be received by an assistance unit. 
The choices are:  

1. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to six 
months out of six consecutive months; or  

2. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to 12 
months out of 12 consecutive months.  
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B. An agency electing to provide prescription drugs will 
specify in its General Relief Plan whether recipients are 
required to obtain drugs at a pharmacy with an agency 
contract. The choices are:  

1. Recipients are not required to buy prescription drugs 
from a contracted pharmacy; or  

2. Recipients are required to buy prescription drugs from a 
contracted pharmacy.  

22VAC40-411-110. Clothing assistance. 

An agency electing to provide this component will specify 
in its General Relief Plan the maximum number of months 
that assistance can be received by an assistance unit. The 
choices are:  

1. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to six 
months out of six consecutive months; or  

2. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to 12 
months.  

22VAC40-411-120. Entitlement date. 

When an individual or family has been found by agency 
action to be eligible, entitlement shall begin no later than the 
first day of the month following the month of application 
provided the individual or family meets all eligibility 
conditions at that time. In the following situations, the date of 
entitlement shall be the first of the month in which the 
application was made:  

1. Action is taken during the month of application.  

2. Action is taken in a month later than the month of 
application:  

a. For reasons beyond the control of the applicant as 
determined by the agency; and  

b. The applicant received general relief maintenance 
from another locality in Virginia for the month prior to 
the month of application.  

22VAC40-411-130. Disability advocacy referral. 

The agency electing to provide disability advocacy services 
will identify recipients of the interim assistance component of 
general relief who have received written notification from the 
Social Security Administration that their disability claims at 
the application or reconsideration level have been denied. 
Within five working days after the identification, the agency 
will send letters to the interim assistance recipients explaining 
advocacy services, offering to refer them to advocacy 
providers for legal representation during the appeal process, 
providing information on how the appeal would affect their 
general relief benefits, and advising them that they have five 
days from the receipt of this letter to contact the agency 
requesting advocacy services.  

If the interim assistance recipient chooses to participate in 
the Disability Advocacy Project, he will be allowed to select a 
provider from a list of qualified advocacy providers with 
whom the agency has contracts or be allowed to select 
another provider if that provider meets the qualifications and 
agrees to enter into a contract with the agency.  

The agency will have the interim assistance recipient sign a 
Confidentiality Form (VDSS Form [ 032-01-040/2) 032-01-
0040-03-eng) ] giving the agency permission to refer the 
recipient to the selected provider.  

Within five working days after the selection, a referral letter 
will be sent by the agency to the selected advocacy provider.  

22VAC40-411-140. Duties of the disability advocacy 
provider. 

Advocacy providers will perform the following services:  

1. Within five working days of receipt of a referral letter 
from the agency, send a letter to the interim assistance 
recipient or the child's representative, acknowledging the 
referral and instructing the recipient or child's 
representative to protect the filing date by filing a Request 
for Reconsideration or Request for a Hearing with the 
Social Security Administration within 60 days of the date 
of his denial notice.  

2. Contact the interim assistance recipient or child's 
representative by mail and telephone, if necessary, to 
schedule an appointment for an interview. If the provider 
cannot contact the recipient or the recipient does not keep 
the appointment, the provider will promptly notify the 
agency.  

3. During the interview with the interim assistance 
recipient or child's representative, provide legal advice and 
counsel regarding federal disability benefits and the appeal 
process. The provider will assess the potential eligibility of 
the recipient or child for federal disability benefits. The 
decision whether to proceed or not proceed in the appeal 
process must be made by the recipient or the child's 
representative after receiving legal advice from the 
provider. The recipient or the child's representative must 
request the services of the advocacy provider by signing 
the Social Security Form SSA-1696-U4 under the 
Appointment of Representative section.  

4. Within 15 working days of the initial interview with the 
recipient or child's representative, send a notification letter 
to the recipient or child's representative with a copy to the 
agency stating whether or not the provider will accept this 
case for legal representation.  

5. If the provider agrees to provide advocacy services, sign 
Social Security Form SSA-1696-U4 under the Acceptance 
of Appointment and Waiver of Fee sections. Copies of the 
form will be sent within five working days to the Social 
Security Administration and to the agency.  
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6. Assist in the completion and timely filing of any 
necessary Social Security forms requesting a 
reconsideration, hearing, or review of the hearing decision.  

7. Assist in obtaining and using medical, social, vocational 
evidence, or expert testimony that may substantiate the 
presence and severity of the disability.  

8. Assist the recipient in making and keeping appointments 
for examinations.  

9. Prepare for and adequately represent the recipient or 
child at interviews, hearings, or appeals related to 
application for Supplemental Security Income.  

10. Notify the recipient or the child's representative of any 
denial and the right to appeal to the next level in the appeal 
process.  

11. Notify the agency of any denial and the recipient's or 
child's representative's decision to proceed or not proceed 
to the next level in the appeal process.  

12. Notify the recipient, the child's representative, and the 
agency when advocacy services have ended.  

22VAC40-411-150. Disability advocacy contracts. 

Agencies shall contract with licensed legal aid or private 
attorneys or advocates working under the supervision of an 
attorney who may lawfully do so to provide legal 
representation in the appeal process. The providers must have 
previously provided successful representation to disability 
claimants during the reconsideration, administrative law 
judge hearing, Appeals Council, or federal district court 
levels of the federal disability adjudication process.  

Qualified attorneys will be recruited by agencies giving 
written notice to their local legal aid and bar associations that 
contracts for legal representation of interim assistance 
recipients and foster children in the federal disability benefits 
appeal process will be available.  

22VAC40-411-160. Disability advocacy disbursement. 

To receive payment, the advocacy provider must submit a 
petition and copy of the favorable Social Security 
Administration decision to the agency within 60 days of such 
a decision. Disbursement for legal representation will be 
made by the agency within 20 working days after the agency 
receives the initial Supplemental Security Income payment 
due the recipient or child.  

No disbursement will be made unless the following have 
occurred:  

1. The agency referred the recipient or child's 
representative for legal representation;  

2. The recipient or child's representative requested the legal 
representation by signing the Appointment of 

Representative section of Social Security Form SSA-1696-
U4;  

3. The advocacy provider signed the Acceptance of 
Appointment and Waiver of Fee sections of Social Security 
Form SSA-1696-U4; and  

4. The agency received the initial Supplemental Security 
Income payment for the recipient or child.  

No disbursement will be made for legal services given 
before the date of the agency's referral letter. Providers shall 
not require from the recipient or child's representative 
prepayment of any fees, costs, or disbursement.  

The disbursement made by the agency will represent 
payment in full for all legal services to the recipient or child 
in this process with no further obligation on the part of the 
state or local department of social services, the recipient, nor 
the child's representative.  

Neither the recipient, the child's representative, the State 
Department of Social Services, nor local agency shall be 
obligated to pay any additional fees, costs, or disbursement 
related to the provision of legal services in the appeal process 
including, but not limited to, payment for medical, 
psychological, or vocational consultations obtained to 
substantiate the disability claim. Under most circumstances, if 
preapproved by Disability Determination Services, the Social 
Security Administration will cover the cost of these 
consultations.  

Contracting attorneys will agree to waive their right to legal 
fees paid by the Social Security Administration from the 
initial check for retroactive disability insurance benefits due 
the recipient or child should he be found eligible for both 
disability insurance benefits and Supplemental Security 
Income. An award for attorney's fees under the Equal Access 
to Justice Act will not be required to be waived.  

The provider's fee will be paid entirely from the recoupment 
from the initial Supplemental Security Income payment for 
state and local financial assistance given the recipient or child 
while the Supplemental Security Income application was 
pending approval. The fee per favorable decision at the 
reconsideration level will be $300; at the hearing before an 
administrative law judge, $600; and at the Appeals Council or 
federal district court, $750. The fee may in no event exceed 
the recoupment for the state and local assistance paid.  

22VAC40-411-170. Alien three-year limit. 

For a period of three years from the month the United States 
Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) grants the 
alien permanent resident status, the income and resources of 
the sponsor and the sponsor's spouse if they are living 
together shall be considered to be the unearned income of the 
alien.  
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The spouse's income and resources will be counted even if 
the sponsor and spouse married after the agreement to 
sponsor was signed.  

22VAC40-411-180. Alien program ineligibility. 

Any alien sponsored by a public or private agency or 
organization shall be ineligible for general relief for a period 
of three years following entry unless the sponsored alien can 
provide documentation that the sponsor no longer exists or is 
unable to meet the alien's needs.  

If a sponsored alien has been found ineligible for Temporary 
Assistance for Needy Families or Supplemental Security 
Income due to sponsorship, eligibility for general relief does 
not exist.  

22VAC40-411-190. Responsibility of alien. 

A sponsored alien is responsible for obtaining the 
cooperation of his sponsor and supplying the local department 
of social services with any information and documentation 
necessary to determine the alien's eligibility for general relief 
benefits.  

22VAC40-411-200. Income of sponsor deemed to a 
sponsored alien. 

The gross amount (with certain deductions) of earned and 
unearned income of the sponsor and the sponsor's spouse if 
living together shall be considered available as unearned 
income available to the alien or aliens being sponsored. Items 
that will be deducted from the sponsor's income are:  

1. 20% of net earned income not exceeding $175;  

2. The standard of assistance (at 100% of need) for the 
sponsor and those individuals living in the household who 
the sponsor claims as dependents on his federal income tax 
statement excluding any members of the assistance unit;  

3. Any amounts paid by the sponsor or the sponsor's 
spouse to individuals not living in the household who are 
claimed by him as dependents on his federal income tax 
statement; and  

4. Any payments of alimony or child support for 
individuals not living in the household.  

22VAC40-411-210. Resources of sponsor deemed to a 
sponsored alien. 

The resources of the sponsor and the sponsor's spouse 
determined to be available to the alien shall be the total 
amount of their nonexempt resources reduced by $1,500.  

22VAC40-411-220. Exception of deeming. 

The deeming of a sponsor's income and resources is not 
applicable to any alien who:  

1. Entered the United States as a refugee, parolee, or 
political asylee;  

2. Is a Cuban or Haitian entrant;  

3. Is sponsored by a person receiving Temporary 
Assistance for Needy Families, Supplemental Security 
Income, or general relief;  

4. Is an Amerasian from Vietnam; or  

5. Is the spouse of the sponsor.  

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are listed below. Any amended or added forms are 
reflected in the listing and are published following the listing. 

FORMS (22VAC40-411) 

Confidentiality Form, 032-01-0040-03-eng (eff. 9/04).  
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Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Social Services 
is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process 
Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of 
Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 
agency discretion is involved. The State Board of Social 
Services will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by 
any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-740. Adult Protective 
Services (amending 22VAC40-740-10, 22VAC40-740-15, 
22VAC40-740-50). 

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 and Article 2 (§ 63.2-1603 et 
seq.) of Chapter 16 of Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 1, 2009.  

Agency Contact: Paige McCleary, Program Consultant, 
Department of Social Services, Adult Protective Services, 7 
North Eighth Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
726-7536, FAX (804) 726-7895, or email 
paige.mccleary@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments to this chapter comport with legislative 
changes from the 2009 Session of the General Assembly.  
Changes include (i) amending the definition of "neglect" to 
include a religious nonmedical treatment exemption 
(Chapter 705 of the 2009 Acts of Assembly); (ii) changing 
the description of mandated reporting requirements for 
emergency medical services personnel to allow for direct 
reporting to the attending physician at the hospital to 
which an adult is transported (Chapter 538 of the 2009 
Acts of Assembly); and (iii) changing the name of the 
Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services to the Department of Behavioral 
Health and Developmental Services (Chapter 840 of the 
2009 Acts of Assembly). 

22VAC40-740-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Abuse" means the willful infliction of physical pain, injury 
or mental anguish or unreasonable confinement.  

"Adult" means any person in the Commonwealth who is 
abused, neglected, or exploited, or is at risk of being abused, 
neglected, or exploited; and is 18 years of age or older and 
incapacitated, or is 60 years of age and older.  

"Adult protective services" means the receipt, investigation 
and disposition of complaints and reports of adult abuse, 
neglect, and exploitation of adults 18 years of age and over 

who are incapacitated and adults 60 years of age and over by 
the local department of social services. Adult protective 
services also include the provision of casework and care 
management by the local department in order to stabilize the 
situation or to prevent further abuse, neglect, and exploitation 
of an adult at risk of abuse, neglect and exploitation. If 
appropriate and available, adult protective services may 
include the direct provision of services by the local 
department or arranging for home-based care, transportation, 
adult day services, meal service, legal proceedings, 
alternative placements and other activities to protect the adult 
and restore self-sufficiency to the extent possible.  

"Collateral" means a person whose personal or professional 
knowledge may help confirm or rebut the allegations of adult 
abuse, neglect or exploitation or whose involvement may help 
ensure the safety of the adult.  

"Conservator" means a person appointed by the court who is 
responsible for managing the estate and financial affairs of an 
incapacitated person, and where the context plainly indicates, 
includes a "limited conservator" or a "temporary 
conservator."  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 
Services.  

"Director" means the director or his delegated representative 
of the department of social services of the city or county in 
which the adult resides or is found.  

"Disposition" means the determination of whether or not 
adult abuse, neglect or exploitation has occurred.  

"Documentation" means information and materials, written 
or otherwise, concerning allegations, facts and evidence.  

"Exploitation" means the illegal use of an incapacitated 
adult or his resources for another's profit or advantage. This 
includes acquiring an adult's resources through the use of the 
adult's mental or physical incapacity, the disposition of the 
incapacitated adult's property by a second party to the 
advantage of the second party and to the detriment of the 
incapacitated adult, misuse of funds, acquiring an advantage 
through threats to withhold needed support or care unless 
certain conditions are met, or persuading an incapacitated 
adult to perform services including sexual acts to which the 
adult lacks the capacity to consent.  

"Guardian" means a person who has been legally invested 
with the authority and charged with the duty of taking care of 
the person and managing his property and protecting the 
rights of the person who has been declared by the circuit court 
to be incapacitated and incapable of administering his own 
affairs. The powers and duties of the guardian are defined by 
the court and are limited to matters within the areas where the 
person in need of a guardian has been determined to be 
incapacitated.  
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"Guardian ad litem" means an attorney appointed by the 
court to represent the interest of the adult for whom a 
guardian or conservator is requested. On the hearing of the 
petition for appointment of a guardian or conservator, the 
guardian ad litem advocates for the adult who is the subject of 
the hearing, and his duties are usually concluded when the 
case is decided.  

"Incapacitated person" means any adult who is impaired by 
reason of mental illness, mental retardation, physical illness 
or disability, advanced age or other causes to the extent that 
the adult lacks sufficient understanding or capacity to make, 
communicate or carry out reasonable decisions concerning his 
or her well-being. This definition is for the purpose of 
establishing an adult's eligibility for adult protective services 
and such adult may or may not have been found incapacitated 
through court procedures.  

"Involuntary protective services" means those services 
authorized by the court for an adult who has been determined 
to need protective services and who has been adjudicated 
incapacitated and lacking the capacity to consent to receive 
the needed protective services.  

"Lacks capacity to consent" means a preliminary judgment 
of a local department of social services social worker that an 
adult is unable to consent to receive needed services for 
reasons that relate to emotional or psychiatric problems, 
mental retardation, developmental delay, or other reasons 
which impair the adult's ability to recognize a substantial risk 
of death or immediate and serious harm to himself. The lack 
of capacity to consent may be either permanent or temporary. 
The worker must make a preliminary judgment that the adult 
lacks capacity to consent before petitioning the court for 
authorization to provide protective services on an emergency 
basis pursuant to § 63.2-1609 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Legally incapacitated" means that the person has been 
adjudicated incapacitated by a circuit court because of a 
mental or physical condition which renders him, either 
wholly or partially, incapable of taking care of himself or his 
estate.  

"Legally incompetent" means a person who has been 
adjudicated incompetent by a circuit court because of a 
mental condition which renders him incapable of taking care 
of his person or managing his estate.  

"Legitimate interest" means a lawful, demonstrated privilege 
to access the information as defined in § 63.2-104 of the Code 
of Virginia.  

"Local department" means any local department of social 
services in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

"Mandated reporters" means those persons who are required 
to report pursuant to § 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia 
when such persons have reason to suspect that an adult is 

abused, neglected, or exploited or is at risk of adult abuse, 
neglect, or exploitation.  

"Mental anguish" means a state of emotional pain or distress 
resulting from activity (verbal or behavioral) of a perpetrator. 
The intent of the activity is to threaten or intimidate, cause 
sorrow or fear, humiliate, change behavior or ridicule. There 
must be evidence that it is the perpetrator's activity that has 
caused the adult's feelings of pain or distress.  

"Neglect" means that an adult is living under such 
circumstances that he is not able to provide for himself or is 
not being provided such services as are necessary to maintain 
his physical and mental health and that the failure to receive 
such necessary services impairs or threatens to impair his 
well-being. However, no adult shall be considered neglected 
solely on the basis that such adult is receiving religious 
nonmedical treatment or religious nonmedical nursing care in 
lieu of medical care, provided that such treatment or care is 
performed in good faith and in accordance with the religious 
practices of the adult and there is written or oral expression of 
consent by that adult. Neglect includes the failure of a 
caregiver or another responsible person to provide for basic 
needs to maintain the adult's physical and mental health and 
well-being, and it includes the adult's neglect of self. Neglect 
includes, but is not limited to:  

1. The lack of clothing considered necessary to protect a 
person's health;  

2. The lack of food necessary to prevent physical injury or 
to maintain life, including failure to receive appropriate 
food for adults with conditions requiring special diets;  

3. Shelter that is not structurally safe; has rodents or other 
infestations which may result in serious health problems; 
or does not have a safe and accessible water supply, safe 
heat source or sewage disposal. Adequate shelter for an 
adult will depend on the impairments of an adult; however, 
the adult must be protected from the elements that would 
seriously endanger his health (e.g., rain, cold or heat) and 
could result in serious illness or debilitating conditions;  

4. Inadequate supervision by a caregiver (paid or unpaid) 
who has been designated to provide the supervision 
necessary to protect the safety and well-being of an adult in 
his care;  

5. The failure of persons who are responsible for 
caregiving to seek needed medical care or to follow 
medically prescribed treatment for an adult, or the adult 
has failed to obtain such care for himself. The needed 
medical care is believed to be of such a nature as to result 
in physical and/or mental injury or illness if it is not 
provided;  

6. Medical neglect includes, but is not limited to, the 
withholding of medication or aids needed by the adult such 
as dentures, eye glasses, hearing aids, walker, etc. It also 
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includes the unauthorized administration of prescription 
drugs, over- or under-medicating, and the administration of 
drugs for other than bona fide medical reasons, as 
determined by a licensed health care professional; and  

7. Self-neglect by an adult who is not meeting his own 
basic needs due to mental and/or physical impairments. 
Basic needs refer to such things as food, clothing, shelter, 
health or medical care.  

"Notification" means informing designated and appropriate 
individuals of the local department's action and the 
individual's rights.  

"Preponderance of evidence" means the evidence as a whole 
shows that the facts are more probable and credible than not. 
It is evidence that is of greater weight or more convincing 
than the evidence offered in opposition.  

"Report" means an allegation by any person that an adult is 
in need of protective services. The term "report" shall refer to 
both reports and complaints of abuse, neglect, and 
exploitation of adults. The report may be made orally or in 
writing to the local department or by calling the Adult 
Protective Services Hotline.  

"Service plan" means a plan of action to address the service 
needs of an adult in order to protect the adult, to prevent 
future abuse, neglect or exploitation, and to preserve the 
autonomy of the adult whenever possible.  

"Unreasonable confinement" means the use of restraints 
(physical or chemical), isolation, or any other means of 
confinement without medical orders, when there is no 
emergency and for reasons other than the adult's safety or 
well-being or the safety of others.  

"Valid report" means the local department of social services 
has evaluated the information and allegations of the report 
and determined that the local department shall conduct an 
investigation because all of the following elements are 
present:  

1. The alleged victim adult is 60 years of age or older or is 
18 years of age or older and is incapacitated;  

2. There is a specific adult with enough identifying 
information to locate the adult;  

3. Circumstances allege abuse, neglect or exploitation or 
risk of abuse, neglect or exploitation; and  

4. The local department receiving the report is a local 
department of jurisdiction as described in 22VAC40-740-
21.  

"Voluntary protective services" means those services 
provided to an adult who, after investigation by a local 
department, is determined to be in need of protective services 
and consents to receiving the services so as to prevent further 

abuse, neglect, and exploitation of an adult at risk of abuse, 
neglect and exploitation.  

22VAC40-740-15. Mandated reporters.  

Reports shall be made forthwith by the following persons 
acting in their professional capacity upon their suspicion that 
adult abuse, neglect or exploitation has occurred:  

1. Any person licensed, certified, or registered by health 
regulatory boards listed in § 54.1-2503 of the Code of 
Virginia, with the exception of persons licensed by the 
Board of Veterinary Medicine;  

2. Any mental health services provider as defined in 
§ 54.1-2400.1 of the Code of Virginia;  

3. Any emergency medical services personnel certified by 
the Board of Health pursuant to § 32.1-111.5 of the Code 
of Virginia, unless such personnel immediately reports the 
suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation directly to the 
attending physician at the hospital to which the adult is 
transported, who shall make such report forthwith;  

4. Any guardian or conservator of an adult;  

5. Any person employed by or contracted with a public or 
private agency or facility and working with adults in an 
administrative, supportive or direct care capacity;  

6. Any person providing full, intermittent or occasional 
care to an adult for compensation including, but not limited 
to, companion, chore, homemaker, and personal care 
workers;  

7. Any law-enforcement officer; and  

8. Medical facilities inspectors of the Department of 
Health. However, medical facilities inspectors are exempt 
from reporting suspected abuse immediately while 
conducting federal inspection surveys in accordance with 
Title XVIII (§ 1846) and Title XIX of the Social Security 
Act, as amended, of certified nursing facilities as defined 
in § 32.1-123 of the Code of Virginia. Findings of adult 
abuse, neglect or exploitation by a medical facilities 
inspector shall be made known to adult protective services 
after the exit conference at the facility so that the local 
department can provide follow up to facility residents who 
may be at risk of further abuse, neglect or exploitation.  

22VAC40-740-50. Disclosure of adult protective services 
information.  

A. This chapter describes the protection of confidential 
information including a description of when such information 
must be disclosed, when such disclosure of the information is 
at the discretion of the local department, what information 
may be disclosed, and the procedure for disclosing the 
information.  
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B. Department staff having legitimate interest shall have 
regular access to adult protective services records maintained 
by the local department.  

C. The following agencies have licensing, regulatory and 
legal authority for administrative action or criminal 
investigations, and they have a legitimate interest in 
confidential information when such information is relevant 
and reasonably necessary for the fulfillment of their licensing, 
regulatory and legal responsibilities:  

1. Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services;  

2. Virginia Office for Protection and Advocacy;  

3. Office of the Attorney General, including the Medicaid 
Fraud Control Program;  

4. Department for the Aging;  

5. Department of Health, including the Center for Quality 
Health Care Services and Consumer Protection and the 
Office of the Chief Medical Examiner;  

6. Department of Medical Assistance Services;  

7. Department of Health Professions;  

8. Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired;  

9. Department of Social Services, including the Division of 
Licensing Programs;  

10. The Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman 
and local ombudsman;  

11. Law-enforcement agencies;  

12. Medical examiners;  

13. Adult fatality review teams;  

14. Prosecutors; and  

15. Any other entity deemed appropriate by the 
commissioner or local department director that 
demonstrates a legitimate interest.  

D. The local department shall disclose all relevant 
information to representatives of the agencies identified in 
subsection C of this section except the identity of the person 
who reported the abuse, neglect or exploitation unless the 
reporter authorizes the disclosure of his identity or the 
disclosure is ordered by the court.  

E. The local department shall refer any appropriate matter 
and all relevant documentation to the appropriate licensing, 
regulatory or legal authority for administrative action or 
criminal investigation.  

F. Local departments may release information to the 
following persons when the local department has determined 
the person making the request has legitimate interest in 

accordance with § 63.2-104 of the Code of Virginia and the 
release of information is in the best interest of the adult:  

1. Representatives of public and private agencies including 
community services boards, area agencies on aging and 
local health departments requesting disclosure when the 
agency has legitimate interest;  

2. A physician who is treating an adult whom he 
reasonably suspects is abused, neglected or exploited;  

3. The adult's legally appointed guardian or conservator;  

4. A guardian ad litem who has been appointed for an adult 
who is the subject of an adult protective services report;  

5. A family member who is responsible for the welfare of 
an adult who is the subject of an adult protective services 
report;  

6. An attorney representing a local department in an adult 
protective services case;  

7. The Social Security Administration; or  

8. Any other entity that demonstrates to the commissioner 
or local department director that legitimate interest is 
evident.  

G. Local departments are required to disclose information 
under the following circumstances:  

1. When disclosure is ordered by a court;  

2. When a person has made an adult protective services 
report and an investigation has been completed; or  

3. When a request for access to information is made 
pursuant to the Government Data Collection and 
Dissemination Practices Act (§ 2.2-3800 et seq. of the 
Code of Virginia).  

H. Any or all of the following specific information may be 
disclosed at the discretion of the local department to agencies 
or persons specified in subsection F of this section:  

1. Name, address, age, race, and gender of the adult who is 
the subject of the request for information;  

2. Name, address, age, race, and gender of the person who 
is alleged to have perpetrated the abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation;  

3. Description of the incident or incidents of abuse, 
neglect, or exploitation;  

4. Description of medical problems to the extent known;  

5. Disposition of the adult protective services report; and  

6. The protective service needs of the adult.  

I. The identity of the person who reported the suspected 
abuse, neglect or exploitation shall be held confidential unless 
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the reporter authorizes the disclosure of his identity or 
disclosure is ordered by the court.  

J. Agencies or persons who receive confidential information 
pursuant to subsection G of this section shall provide the 
following assurances to the local department:  

1. The purpose for which information is requested is 
related to the protective services goal in the service plan 
for the adult;  

2. The information will be used only for the purpose for 
which it is made available; and  

3. The information will be held confidential by the 
department or individual receiving the information except 
to the extent that disclosure is required by law.  

K. Methods of obtaining assurances. Any one of the 
following methods may be used to obtain assurances required 
in subsection J of this section:  

1. Agreements between local departments and other 
community service agencies that provide blanket 
assurances required in subsection J of this section for all 
adult protective services cases; or  

2. State-level agreements that provide blanket assurances 
required in subsection C of this section for all adult 
protective services cases.  

L. Notification that information has been disclosed. When 
information has been disclosed pursuant to this chapter, 
notice of the disclosure shall be given to the adult who is the 
subject of the information or to his legally appointed 
guardian. If the adult has given permission to release the 
information, further notification shall not be required.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1995; Filed June 26, 2009, 1:19 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 23. TAXATION 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 23VAC10-210. Retail Sales and Use 
Tax (amending 23VAC10-210-1020). 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 20, 2009 - 10 a.m., 2220 West Broad Street, 
Multipurpose Room, Rear Entrance, Richmond, VA 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p. m. on September 18, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Bland Sutton, Analyst, Department of 
Taxation, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-2332, FAX (804) 371-2355, or email 
bland.sutton@tax.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia provides that 
the "Tax Commissioner shall have the power to issue 
regulations relating to the interpretation and enforcement of 
the laws of this Commonwealth governing taxes administered 
by the Department." The authority for the current regulatory 
action is discretionary. 

Purpose: As a result of legislation passed by the 2005 General 
Assembly, the law with respect to the application of the sales 
and use tax to automotive refinishers and repairers was 
altered. A legislative change in the definition of "retail sale" 
and "sale at retail" provided automotive refinishers and 
repairers the option of continuing to operate as service 
providers, or to treat themselves as retailers with respect to 
tangible personal property that becomes permanently attached 
to the motor vehicle during the repair process. The purpose of 
this action is to amend it to reflect this legislative change and 
to provide guidance to the automotive refinishing industry as 
to their options with respect to applying the sales and use tax. 

This regulatory action is necessary to ensure a predictable and 
adequate revenue stream for the government to provide for 
the health, safety, and welfare of its citizens. 

Substance: The 2005 General Assembly amended the 
definition of "retail sale" and "sale at retail" to include 
separately stated charges for materials used in automotive 
refinishing and repair when such materials become 
permanently attached to the vehicle being refinished or 
repaired. This change in the definition of "retail sale" and 
"sale at retail" is a departure from longstanding policy that 
treats automotive refinishers and painters as service providers 
and the taxable user and consumer of tangible personal 
property used in providing their service. 

Prior to the law change, automotive refinishers and painters 
are treated as service providers and are the taxable user and 
consumer of all tangible personal property, i.e., primer, paint, 
sealant, etc., consumed by them in restoring motor vehicles. 
The wording of this legislative change allows automotive 
refinishers and repairers the option of continuing to operate as 
service providers or to be treated as retailers by separately 
stating their charges for materials. This regulation section is 
being amended to reflect this legislative change, provide 
guidance to the industry, and to also alleviate any confusion 
that may result from the differing tax application within the 
same industry. 

Issues: The primary advantages to this regulatory action are to 
provide guidance to the automotive refinishing industry and 
the general public as to the tax application to the automotive 
refinishing and repair industry as a result of the 2005 
legislative change to the definition of "retail sale" and "sale at 
retail." This guidance will ensure compliance with the 
department's policies with regard to automotive refinishers 
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and painters and ensure that these policies are universally 
applied by the department's audit staff. 

The regulatory action poses no disadvantages to the public or 
the Commonwealth. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
2005 General Assembly enacted House Bill 2762 (2005 Acts 
of Assembly, Chapter 121) amending the definition of "retail 
sale" and "sale at retail" set forth in Code of Virginia Section 
§ 58.1-602 to include separately stated charges for materials 
used in automotive refinishing and repair when such materials 
become permanently attached to the vehicle being refinished 
or repaired. This change in the definition of "retail sale" and 
"sale at retail" is a departure from the Department of 
Taxation's (Department) longstanding policy that treats 
automotive refinishers and painters as service providers and 
the taxable user and consumer of tangible personal property 
used in providing their service. This legislative change allows 
automotive refinishers and repairers the option of continuing 
to operate as service providers or to be treated as retailers by 
separately stating their charges for materials. The Department 
proposes to amend these regulations to reflect the statutory 
change and to add some clarifying language. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. As a service firm, automotive 
refinishers and repairers pay sales tax on the paint they buy. 
As stated above, legislation passed in 2005 has permitted 
refinishers and repairers the option to be treated as retailers of 
the paint they apply to vehicles; and thus they become exempt 
from paying tax on the paint they buy, but instead collect 
sales tax from their customers on the paint use in refinishing 
and/or repairing of the customer's vehicle. The Department 
does not know how many of the 793 automotive body, paint, 
and interior repair and maintenance firms1 have utilized the 
option of being treated as a retailer for the paint they apply to 
automobiles. The proposal to amend these regulations to 
reflect Chapter 121 of the 2005 Acts of Assembly will not 
likely have a significant effect since adding the language in 
no way alters options and/or requirements for firms, their 
clients, or anyone else. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The statutory changes 
affected the 793 automotive body, paint, and interior repair 
and maintenance firms in Virginia. The proposed 
amendments to these regulations do not significantly affect 
businesses and other entities since the proposed amendments 
only reflect the statutory changes which are already in effect 
and clarifications.  

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. Since the proposed 
amendments only reflect statutory changes and clarifications 
and do not change requirements for the public, there is no 
significant effect on employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Since the 
proposed amendments only reflect statutory changes and 
clarifications and do not change requirements for the public, 
there is no significant effect on the use and value of private 
property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Since the 
proposed amendments only reflect statutory changes and 
clarifications and do not change requirements for the public, 
there is no significant effect on small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Since the proposed amendments only reflect 
statutory changes and clarifications and do not change 
requirements for the public, there is no significant effect on 
small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not significantly affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 

_______________________________ 
1 Data source: Virginia Employment Commission Quarterly Census of 
Employment and Wages (Quarter 4, 2007) 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
agency agrees with the Department of Planning and Budget's 
Economic Impact Analysis. 
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Summary: 

Chapter 121 of the 2005 Acts of Assembly amended the 
definition of “retail sale” and “sale at retail” set forth in 
§ 58.1-602 of the Code of Virginia to include separately 
stated charges for materials used in automotive refinishing 
and repair when such materials become permanently 
attached to the vehicle being refinished or repaired.  This 
change in the definition of “retail sale” and “sale at 
retail” is a departure from the department's longstanding 
policy that treats automotive refinishers and painters as 
service providers and the taxable user and consumer of 
tangible personal property used in providing their service.  
The proposed amendments allow automotive refinishers 
and repairers the option of continuing to operate as 
service providers or to be treated as retailers by separately 
stating their charges for materials.    

23VAC10-210-1020. Motor vehicle refinishers, painters 
and car washers. 

A. Generally. Motor vehicle refinishers and, painters, and 
washers are generally engaged primarily in rendering 
personal services, and their gross receipts are not subject to 
the tax. However, they As personal service providers, motor 
vehicle refinishers, painters, and washers are the users and 
consumers of the materials used in their business and are 
required to pay tax on their purchases. When motor vehicle 
refinishers and, painters, and washers go beyond the rendition 
of services and sell tangible personal property such as 
accessories, parts, seatcovers, paint, etc., they are required to 
register and collect and pay remit the tax on those retail sales. 
This section also applies to car washers. 

B. Optional tax treatment for motor vehicle refinishers and 
painters. Effective July 1, 2005, the definition of "retail sale" 
and "sale at retail" was amended to include separately stated 
charges made for automotive refinish repair materials that are 
permanently applied to or affixed to a motor vehicle during 
its repair. This definitional change affords motor vehicle 
refinishers and painters the option of either continuing to be 
treated as a personal service provider with respect to paint, 
clearcoat, sealants, and other similar items that become a 
component part of a motor vehicle during the refinishing or 
repair of the motor vehicle, or to be treated as a retailer with 
respect to such items. The election to be treated as a retailer is 
solely at the discretion of the motor vehicle refinisher or 
painter. 

C. Motor vehicle refinishers and painters electing to operate 
as a retailer. A motor vehicle refinisher or painter electing to 
operate as a retailer is required to register with the 
Department of Taxation as a licensed dealer and collect and 
remit to the Department of Taxation the retail sales tax on all 
sales of tangible personal property made, including separately 
stated charges for automotive refinish repair materials. As a 
licensed dealer, a motor vehicle refinisher or painter may 
purchase all tangible personal property that becomes a 

component part of a motor vehicle during the refinishing, 
painting, or repair of the motor vehicle exempt of the tax for 
resale. Once a motor vehicle refinisher or painter elects to 
treat himself as a retailer, such election and tax application 
must be uniformly applied to all motor vehicle refinishing 
and repair work performed by such dealer. 

D. Consumables and equipment. Regardless of whether the 
optional tax treatment is elected or not, motor vehicle 
refinishers, painters, and washers are liable for the tax on 
purchases of all tangible personal property used or consumed 
in the performance of their work, and that does not transfer to 
the customer. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-250; Filed June 25, 2009, 10:20 a.m.  
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Notice of Public Hearing on Imported Fire Ant 
Quarantine 

Pursuant to § 3.2-703 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services has 
issued a temporary (90-day) quarantine relating to the 
imported fire ant (Solenopsis invicta Buren, Solenopsis 
richteri Forel,  and hybrids of these species). A copy of the 
temporary quarantine is printed below. If it appears that a 
quarantine for more than 90 days will be necessary, § 3.2-703 
provides that the Board of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services shall hold a public hearing on extending the 
commissioner's temporary quarantine. The Board of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services will hold such a public 
hearing at 2 p.m., August 4, 2009, at the Beale Memorial 
Baptist Church, 202 Church Lane, Tappahannock, Virginia 
22560. 

For further information, please contact Larry Nichols, 
Program Manager, Office of Plant and Pest Services, 102 
Governor Street, Room LL55, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-3515, hearing impaired (800) 828-1120, 
FAX (804) 371-7793, or email at 
larry.nichols@vdacs.virginia.gov.  

Virginia Imported Fire Ant Temporary Quarantine for 
Enforcement of the Virginia Pest Law 

Statutory authority: § 3.2-703 of the Code of Virginia 

§ 10. Declaration of quarantine. 

A quarantine is hereby established to restrict the movement of 
certain articles capable of transporting imported fire ant into 
unregulated areas of the state, unless such articles comply 
with the conditions specified herein. 

§ 20. Purpose of quarantine. 

The imported fire ant is an introduced species that is 
notorious for its aggressive behavior, ferocious sting, and the 
damage it causes to several agricultural commodities.  The 
imported fire ant has become established in portions of the 
Commonwealth, and has the potential to spread to uninfested 
areas by natural means or through the movement of infested 
articles. The purpose of this quarantine is to prevent the 
artificial spread of the imported fire ant to uninfested areas of 
the state by regulating the movement of those articles that 
pose a significant threat of transporting the imported fire ant. 

§ 30. Definitions. 

The following words and terms shall have the following 
meaning unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services. 

"Certificate" means a document issued by an inspector or 
person operating in accordance with a compliance agreement 
to allow the movement of regulated articles to any 
destination. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Virginia 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. 

"Compliance agreement" means a written agreement between 
a person engaged in growing, handling, receiving, or moving 
regulated articles and the Virginia Department of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services, the United States Department of 
Agriculture, or both, wherein the former agrees to comply 
with the requirements of the compliance agreement and 
comply with the provisions of this regulation.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services. 

"Imported fire ant" means the live insect, in any life stage, 
known as the imported fire ant, Solenopsis invicta Buren 
(commonly known as Red Imported Fire Ant) and Solenopsis 
richteri Forel (commonly known as Black Imported Fire Ant), 
and hybrids of these species. 

"Infestation" means the presence of the imported fire ant or 
the existence of circumstances that make it reasonable to 
believe that the imported fire ant is present. 

"Inspector" means an employee of the Virginia Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services or other person 
authorized by the Commissioner of the Virginia Department 
of Agriculture and Consumer Services to enforce the 
provisions of this quarantine or regulation.  

"Limited permit (permit)" means a document issued by an 
inspector to allow the movement of regulated articles to a 
specific destination. 

"Moved (move, movement)" means shipped, offered for 
shipment, received for transportation, transported, carried, or 
allowed to be moved, shipped, transported, or carried. 

"Noncompacted soil" means soil that can be removed from an 
article by brisk brushing or washing. 

"Person" means the term as defined in § 1-230 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

"Regulated area" means the locality or area listed in § 50 of 
this quarantine. 

"Soil-moving equipment" means any equipment used for 
moving or transporting soil, including, but not limited to, 
bulldozers, backhoes, dump trucks, or road scrapers. 

"Virginia Pest Law" means the statute set forth in § 3.2-700 et 
seq. of the Code of Virginia. 
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§ 40. Regulated articles. 

The following articles are regulated under the provisions of 
this quarantine, and shall not be moved out of any regulated 
area in Virginia, except in compliance with the conditions 
prescribed in this quarantine: 

(1) Any life stage of imported fire ant. 

(2) Soil, except potting soil that is shipped in original 
containers after commercial preparation, and soil samples 
shipped to approved laboratories.  

(3) Plants with roots with soil attached, or roots and 
rhizomes of plants with soil attached, except plants 
maintained indoors in a home or office environment and 
not for sale. 

(4) Grass sod. 

(5) Used soil-moving equipment, unless free of all 
noncompacted soil. 

(6) Used farm equipment, unless free of all noncompacted 
soil. 

(7) Hay and straw, including pine straw, that has been 
stored in direct contact with the ground. 

(8) Honey bee hives that have been in direct contact with 
the ground, including hive stands containing soil. 

(9)  Logs, pulpwood, and stump wood with soil attached. 

(10) Any other article or means of conveyance, when it is 
determined by an inspector that it presents a risk of spread 
of the imported fire ant. 

§ 50. Regulated areas. 

The following areas in Virginia are quarantined for imported 
fire ant: 

The entire counties of: 

James City 
York 

The entire cities of:  

Chesapeake 
Hampton 
Newport News  
Norfolk 
Poquoson 
Portsmouth 
Suffolk 
Virginia Beach 
Williamsburg 

 

 

§ 60. Conditions governing the intrastate movement of 
regulated articles. 

A. Movement Within Regulated Areas – Movement of a 
regulated article solely within the quarantined area is allowed 
without restriction. 

B. Movement From Quarantined Areas To Nonquarantined 
Areas - Movement of a regulated article that originates from 
within the quarantined area to an area outside of the 
quarantined area is allowed only if the regulated article is 
accompanied by a certificate or limited permit issued in 
accordance with § 70 of this quarantine and attached in 
accordance with § 100 of this quarantine. 

C. Movement From Noregulated Area through Regulated 
Area – Regulated articles that originate outside of the 
quarantined area may move through the quarantined area 
under the following conditions: 

(1) With a certificate or limited permit issued in accordance 
with § 70 of this quarantine and attached in accordance 
with § 100 of this quarantine, or 

(2) Without a certificate or limited permit if: 

(a) Accompanied by a waybill that indicates the point 
of origin of the regulated article; and 

(b) The regulated article is moved directly through the 
regulated area without stopping, except for refueling or 
due to traffic conditions; or has been stored, packed, or 
handled at locations approved by an inspector as not 
posing a risk of infestation by the imported fire ant; 
and  

(c) The regulated article has not been combined or 
commingled with other articles so as to lose its 
individual identity. 

D. Movement From Quarantined Area through 
Nonquarantined Area – Regulated articles that originate from 
within the quarantine may travel through the nonquarantined 
area to a destination that is quarantined, under the following 
conditions: 

(1) With a certificate or limited permit issued in accordance 
with § 70 of this quarantine and attached in accordance 
with § 100 of this quarantine, or 

(2) Without a certificate or limited permit if: 

(a) Accompanied by a waybill that indicates the point 
of origin of the regulated article; and 

(b) The regulated article is moved directly through the 
nonregulated area without stopping  except for 
refueling or due to traffic conditions;  or has been 
stored, packed, or handled at locations approved by an 
inspector as not posing a risk of infestation by the 
imported fire ant; and  
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(c) The regulated article has not been combined or 
commingled with other articles so as to lose its 
individual identity. 

§ 70. Issuance and cancellation of certificates and limited 
permits. 

A. Certificates and limited permits may be issued by an 
inspector for the movement of regulated articles to any 
destination within Virginia when: 

(1) The regulated articles have been examined by the 
inspector and found to be apparently free of the imported 
fire ant;  

(2) The regulated articles have been grown, produced, 
manufactured, stored, or handled in such a manner that, in 
the judgment of the inspector, would prevent an infestation 
or destroy all life stages of imported fire ant;  

(3) The regulated articles are to be moved in compliance 
with any additional conditions deemed necessary under the 
Virginia Pest Law to prevent the spread of the imported fire 
ant; and 

(4) The regulated articles are eligible for unrestricted 
movement under all other domestic plant quarantines and 
regulations applicable to the regulated articles. 

B. Certificates may be issued by any person operating under a 
compliance agreement for the movement of regulated articles 
to any destination within Virginia when: 

(1) The regulated articles have been examined by any 
person operating under a compliance agreement and found 
to be apparently free of the imported fire ant;  

(2) The regulated articles have been grown, produced, 
manufactured, stored, or handled in such a manner, and 
following all requirements of the compliance agreement, 
that would prevent an infestation or destroy all life stages 
of imported fire ant;  

(3) The regulated articles are to be moved in compliance 
with any additional conditions deemed necessary under the 
Virginia Pest Law to prevent the spread of the imported fire 
ant; and 

(4) The regulated articles are eligible for unrestricted 
movement under all other domestic plant quarantines and 
regulations applicable to the regulated articles. 

C. Any certificate or limited permit that has been issued or 
authorized may be withdrawn by the inspector orally or in 
writing if the inspector determines that the holder of the 
certificate or limited permit has not complied with all 
conditions for the use of the certificate or limited permit or 
with any applicable compliance agreement. If the withdrawal 
is oral, the withdrawal and the reasons for the withdrawal 
shall be confirmed in writing and communicated to the 

certificate or limited permit holder as promptly as 
circumstances allow.  

§ 80. Compliance agreements and cancellation. 

A. Any person engaged in growing, handling, or moving 
regulated articles may enter into a compliance agreement 
when an inspector determines that the person understands that 
person's requirements and obligations under this quarantine. 
The agreement shall stipulate safeguards that must be 
maintained against the establishment and spread of imported 
fire ants, and the conditions governing the movement of 
regulated articles. 

B. Any compliance agreement may be canceled orally or in 
writing by an inspector whenever the inspector finds that the 
person who has entered into the compliance agreement has 
failed to comply with this quarantine. If the cancellation is 
oral, the cancellation and the reasons for the cancellation shall 
be confirmed in writing and communicated to the person who 
entered into such compliance agreement as promptly as 
circumstances allow.  

§ 90. Assembly and inspection of regulated articles. 

A. Any person other than a person authorized to issue 
certificates under § 70 who desires to move a regulated article 
intrastate and is seeking a certificate or limited permit shall 
apply for inspection of the regulated article as far in advance 
as practical but no less than five business days before the 
regulated articles are to be moved.  

B. The regulated article must be assembled at the place and in 
the manner the inspector designates as necessary to facilitate 
inspection and shall be safeguarded from infestation. 

§ 100. Attachment and disposition of certificates and 
limited permits. 

A. A certificate or limited permit required for the intrastate 
movement of a regulated article must be attached at all times 
during the intrastate movement to the outside of the container 
that contains the regulated article or to the regulated article 
itself. The requirements of this section may also be met by 
attaching the certificate or limited permit to the consignee's 
copy of the waybill, provided the regulated article is 
sufficiently described on the certificate or limited permit and 
on the waybill to facilitate the identification of the regulated 
article. 

B. The certificate or limited permit for the intrastate 
movement of a regulated article must be furnished by the 
carrier to the consignee at the destination of the regulated 
article. A copy of the certificate or the limited permit must be 
retained by the sender of the regulated article at the place of 
shipment. 
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§ 110. Inspection and disposal of regulated articles and 
pests. 

Upon presentation of official credentials, an inspector is 
authorized to stop and inspect, and to seize, destroy, or 
otherwise dispose of, or require disposal of regulated articles 
as provided in the Virginia Pest Law. 

§ 120. Nonliability of the department. 

The department shall not be liable for any costs incurred by 
third parties, which costs result from or are incidental to 
inspections required under the provisions of the quarantine. 

This temporary quarantine becomes effective on June 24, 
2009, and shall continue for a period not to exceed 90 days. 

Issued on June 24, 2009, in Richmond, Virginia 

/s/ Todd P. Haymore 
Commissioner 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Total Maximum Daily Load Studies in the Tidewater 
Regional Area 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality will host 
a public meeting on water quality studies for several water 
bodies that are impaired due to not meeting dissolved oxygen 
water quality standards. 

The meeting will be held on Tuesday, July 28, 2009, and will 
start at 6:30 p.m. at the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office located at 
5636 Southern Blvd., Virginia Beach.  The purpose of the 
meeting is to provide information and discuss the studies with 
interested local community members and local government. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 
of the Code of Virginia, require DEQ to develop TMDLs for 
pollutants responsible for each impaired water contained in 
Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report and 
subsequent water quality assessment reports.  

During the study, DEQ will develop a total maximum daily 
load for the impaired waters.  A TMDL is the total amount of 
a pollutant a water body can contain and still meet water 
quality standards.  To restore water quality, pollutant levels 
have to be reduced to the TMDL amount. 

The waters listed below were identified in Virginia's 1998 
§ 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report as impaired for not 
supporting the aquatic life use.  The impairments are based on 
water quality monitoring data reports of sufficient 
exceedances of Virginia's water quality standard for dissolved 
oxygen. 

 

Albemarle Canal (VAT-K41R_AAC01A06) 
North Landing River-
middle 

(VAT-K41R_NLR02A06) 

West Neck Creek-middle (VAT-K41R_WNC01A00) 
Milldam Creek-lower (VAT-K41R_MLD02A06) 
Nawney Creek-upper (VAT-K42E_NWN01A00)  
Nawney Creek-lower (VAT-K42E_NWN02A00) 

Several impaired segments were identified as needing an 
assessment to determine if natural conditions are the cause of 
the low dissolved oxygen (DO) values. If it is determined that 
anthropogenic causes contribute to the impairments, a TMDL 
will be developed for each waterbody listed below: 

Tarrara Creek (VAT-K13R_TRR01A00) 
Mill Swamp (VAT-K34R_MSW01A00) 
Rattlesnake Swamp (VAT-K34R_RKN01A02) 
Seacock Swamp-upper (VAT-K35R_SCK01A00) 
Blackwater River-middle 
K36 

(VAT-K36R_BLW02A08) 

Blackwater River-middle 
K36 

(VAT-K36R_BLW03A08) 

Blackwater River-lower 
middle K36 

(VAT-K36R_BLW04A08) 

Blackwater River-lower 
K36 

(VAT-K36R_BLW05A08) 

Blackwater River mouth 
K36 

(VAT-K36R_BLW06A08) 

Blackwater River-upper 
K33 

(VAT-K33R_BLW01A00) 

Blackwater River-lower 
K33 

(VAT-K33R_BLW02A04) 

Blackwater River-lower 
K33 

(VAT-K33R_BLW03A08) 

The public comment period on materials presented at this 
meeting will extend from July 28, 2009, to August 26, 2009. 
For additional information or to submit comments, contact 
Jennifer Howell, in the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 
Southern Blvd, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, telephone (757) 
518-2111, or email jshowell@deq.virginia.gov. 

* Additional information is also available on the DEQ 
website at www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl. 

Study to Restore Water Quality in the Upper 
Roanoke River Watershed and Lower Roanoke 

(Staunton) River Watershed 
Public meetings (Please attend the meeting that is most 
convenient for you):  

Roanoke (Upper Roanoke River watershed) – Virginia 
Department of Environmental Quality's Roanoke Office 
conference room located at 3019 Peters Creek Road on 
Wednesday, July 29, 2009, from 7 p.m. to 9 p.m. Directions: 
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From Route 581, take the exit 2S, Peters Creek Road. After 
the second stop light, turn left into Brammer Village just past 
the Subway Restaurant. Proceed up the hill and turn right 
after the second set of brown buildings. Look for the DEQ 
sign. 

Brookneal (Lower Roanoke/Staunton River watershed) - 
Brookneal Elementary School gymnasium located at 1330 
Charlotte Street on Thursday, July 30, 2009, from 7 p.m. to 
9 p.m. Directions: From Route 501, turn onto Charlotte Street 
in Brookneal. School will be on right.  Doors to the 
gymnasium are located at the far right end of the school. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality announces a public meeting to discuss a study to 
restore water quality in the Roanoke (Staunton) River 
watershed and tributaries.  

Description of study: Virginia agencies are working with the 
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to identify sources 
of polychlorinated biphenyl (PCB) found in fish tissue in the 
Upper Roanoke River watershed and Lower Roanoke 
(Staunton) River watershed. The Virginia Department of 
Health (VDH) issued fish consumption advisories based on 
elevated PCB levels in fish tissue. Therefore, the river is not 
supporting the Fish Consumption Designated Use. 

The following is a list of the "impaired" waters in the Upper 
Roanoke River watershed and the length of the impaired 
segment: Roanoke River, 28.6 miles; Tinker Creek, 5.33 
miles; Peters Creek, 2.52 miles. These impairments are 
located in Montgomery County, Roanoke County, Salem 
City, Roanoke City, and/or Bedford County. These 
impairments will be discussed at the meeting in Roanoke on 
Wednesday, July 29, 2009. 

The following is a list of the impaired waters in the Lower 
Roanoke/Staunton River watershed and the length of the 
impaired segment: Roanoke (Staunton) River, 88.4 miles; 
Little Otter River, 14.36 miles; Cub Creek, 14.25 miles. 
These impairments are located in Bedford County, Campbell 
County, Charlotte County, Halifax County, and/or 
Pittsylvania County.  These impairments will be discussed at 
the meeting in Brookneal on Thursday, July 30, 2009. 

During the study, EPA and the state agencies developed a 
total maximum daily load (TMDL) for the impaired waters. A 
TMDL is the total amount of a pollutant a water body can 
contain and still meet water quality standards. To restore 
water quality, contamination levels have to be reduced to the 
TMDL amount.  

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax, or postal mail. Written comments should include the 
name, address, and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by Thursday, August 27, 2009. 
DEQ also accepts written and oral comments at the public 
meeting announced in this notice. 

Contacts for additional information: Mary Dail, Virginia 
Department of Environmental Quality, Roanoke Office, 3019 
Peters Creek Road, Roanoke, VA 24019, telephone (540) 
562-6715, FAX (540) 562-6725, or email 
mary.dail@deq.virginia.gov, www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl 

Amanda Gray, Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality, Lynchburg Office, 7705 Timberlake Road, 
Lynchburg, VA 24502, telephone (434) 582-6227, FAX (434) 
582-5125, or email amanda.gray@deq.virginia.gov, 
www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl. 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

Drinking Water State Revolving Fund Program 
Intended Use Plan for FY 2009 

The Virginia Department of Health (VDH) received 
numerous loan requests and set-aside suggestions following 
our announcement in January 2008 of funds available from 
the Drinking Water State Revolving Fund Program. Through 
the Safe Drinking Water Act, Congress authorizes 
capitalization grants to the states but authorization has not 
been finalized. 

The VDH's Office of Drinking Water (ODW) has prepared a 
draft intended use plan (IUP) using information submitted via 
the loan requests and set-aside suggestions.  This IUP is for 
your review and comment. The document dated January 7, 
2008, and entitled "Virginia Drinking Water State Revolving 
Fund Program – Program Design Manual" is a part of the 
intended use plan.  This document was mailed in our January 
announcement. The draft IUP is available on our website at 
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinkingwater/financial. 

As previously announced, the VDH will hold a public 
meeting.  The meeting will be on Wednesday, August 12, 
2009, from 8:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m., at the Office of Drinking 
Water East Central Field Office, 300 Turner Road, 
Richmond, VA 23225. In addition, comments from the public 
must be postmarked by Friday, August 21, 2009. 

If you plan to attend, please contact Theresa Hewlett at (804) 
864-7501 by the close of business on Monday, August 10, 
2009, so that the meeting can be properly planned. 

Please direct your requests for information and forward 
written comments to: Steven D. Pellei, P. E., Virginia 
Department of Health, Division for Construction Assistance, 
Planning, and Policy, Office of Drinking Water, James 
Madison Building, Room 622, 109 Governor Street, 
Richmond VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7489, FAX (804) 
864-7521. 
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STATE LOTTERY DEPARTMENT 

Director's Orders 
The following Director's Orders of the State Lottery 
Department were filed with the Virginia Registrar of 
Regulations on June 29, 2009, and June 30, 2009. The orders 
may be viewed at the State Lottery Department, 900 East 
Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, 910 Capitol Street, 2nd Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia. 

Final Rules for Game Operation: 

Director's Order Number Forty-Six (09) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1127; "Right On The Money" 
(effective 6/28/09) 

Director's Order Number Forty-Seven (09) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1144; "$50,000 Redskins 
Mania" (effective 6/28/09) 

Director's Order Number Forty-Eight (09) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1148; "Spades" (effective 
6/28/09) 

Director's Order Number Forty-Nine (09) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1150; "Ace In The Hole" 
(effective 6/28/09) 

Director's Order Number Fifty (09) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1155; "Classic Poker" 
(effective 6/28/09) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Two (09) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1132; "High Card" (effective 
6/28/09) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Three (09) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1131; "Molten Money" 
(effective 6/28/09) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Four (09) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1140; "Mega MoneyTM" 
(effective 6/28/09) 

Director's Order Number Forty-Five (09) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1108; "Bonus Word 
Crossword" (effective 6/28/09) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Five (09) 

Virginia Lottery's "Summer Subscription Sweepstakes" 
(effective 6/29/09) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Six (09) 

Virginia LotteryRetailer Incentive Program "Hail to the 
Redskins" (effective 6/29/09) 

* * * * * * * * 

The following Director's Orders of the State Lottery 
Department was filed with the Virginia Registrar of 
Regulations on June 29, 2009. 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Seven (09) 
Certain Virginia Instant Game Lotteries; End of Games. 

In accordance with the authority granted by §§ 2.2-4002 B 15 
and 58.1-4006 A of the Code of Virginia, I hereby give notice 
that the following Virginia Lottery instant games will 
officially end at midnight on July 3, 2009. Game 1106 will be 
closing in preparation for the new $3 game: 

Game 820 Lightning 7's 
Game 1036 Money Maker 
Game 1037 Bingo Night 
Game 1087 $250K High Roller 
Game 1106 Crossword 

The last day for lottery retailers to return for credit unsold 
tickets from any of these games will be August 7, 2009. The 
last day to redeem winning tickets for any of these games will 
be December 30, 2009, 180 days from the declared official 
end of the game. Claims for winning tickets from any of these 
games will not be accepted after that date.  Claims that are 
mailed and received in an envelope bearing a postmark of the 
United States Postal Service or another sovereign nation of 
December 30, 2009, or earlier, will be deemed to have been 
received on time.  This notice amplifies and conforms to the 
duly adopted State Lottery Board regulations for the conduct 
of lottery games. 

This order is available for inspection and copying during 
normal business hours at the Virginia Lottery headquarters, 
900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia; and at any 
Virginia Lottery regional office. A copy may be requested by 
mail by writing to Director's Office, Virginia Lottery, 900 
East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

This Director's Order becomes effective on the date of its 
signing and shall remain in full force and effect unless 
amended or rescinded by further Director's Order. 

/s/ Paula I. Otto 
Executive Director 
June 29, 2009 
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DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

Notice of Periodic Review 
Pursuant to Executive Order 36 (2006), the Department of 
Mines, Minerals and Energy (DMME) is conducting a 
periodic review and invites public comment on the following 
regulation: 

4VAC25-140, Coal Surface Mining Regulations 

The department will consider whether this existing regulation 
is essential to protecting the health, safety, and welfare of the 
public. The department welcomes specific comments on the 
performance and effectiveness of this regulation and also 
requests suggestions to improve the content and organization 
of the regulation to make it more understandable and useful. 

The comment period for this review begins on July 20, 2009, 
and ends at 5 p.m. on August 19, 2009.  Comments may be 
submitted to Tabitha Hibbitts Peace, Policy Analyst, 
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, Division of 
Administration, P.O Drawer 900, Big Stone Gap, VA 24219-
0900 or email tabitha.peace@dmme.virginia.gov. 

Regulations may be viewed online at the Virginia Regulatory 
Town Hall website located at 
http://www.townhall.state.va.us, or copies will be sent upon 
request. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Special Order - Highlands Petroleum Oil 
Corp. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Highlands 
Petroleum Oil Corp. for alleged violations in Smyth County, 
Virginia. The special order by consent will resolve the 
unauthorized discharge of petroleum product to Watson Gap 
Branch and North Fork Holston River. A description of the 
proposed action is available at the DEQ office named below 
or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Dallas R. Sizemore will 
accept comments by email at 
dallas.sizemore@deq.virginia.gov, FAX (276) 676-4899, or 
postal mail Department of Environmental Quality, Southwest 
Regional Office, P.O. Box 1688, 355 Deadmore Street, 
Abingdon, VA 24212, from July 20, 2009, to August 19, 
2009. 

Proposed Consent Order - Standex Engraving, LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Standex 
Engraving, LLC, to resolve stormwater contamination issues 
at its facility in Henrico County. The proposed consent order 
describes the situation and requires corrective action. A 
description of the proposed action is available at the DEQ 
office named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. 
Allison Dunaway will accept comments by email at 
acdunaway@deq.virginia.gov, FAX (804) 527-5106, or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 
Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, 
VA 23060, from July 20, 2009, to August 21, 2009. 

Notice of Change of Public Hearing Date and Time 

The State Water Control Board announced public hearings 
and a public comment period on proposed amendments to 
9VAC25-630 in the Virginia Register of Regulations in 
Volume 25, Issue 21, page 3867.  There has been a change in 
the date and time of the public hearing in Onley, Virginia. 
The public hearing is now scheduled for 7:30 p.m. on August 
4, 2009, at Nandua High School, Auditorium, 26350 
Lankford Highway, Onley, VA. An informational briefing 
will be held one hour prior to the public hearing. 

For additional information or questions contact Betsy Bowles, 
Department of Environmental Quality, Office of Land 
Application Programs, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (804) 698-4059, FAX (804) 698-4116, or email 
betsy.bowles@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Mailing Address: Virginia Code Commission, 910 Capitol 
Street, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations 

Agencies are required to use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) when filing regulations for publication in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. The Office of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations implemented a web-based application 
called RIS for filing regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register. The Registrar's office has 
worked closely with the Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) to coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory 
Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one 
another by sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

The Office of the Virginia Register is working toward the 
eventual elimination of the requirement that agencies file 
print copies of regulatory packages. Until that time, agencies 
may file petitions for rulemaking, notices of intended 
regulatory actions and general notices in electronic form only; 
however, until further notice, agencies must continue to file 
print copies of proposed, final, fast-track and emergency 
regulatory packages. 
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ERRATA 
STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Titles of Regulations: 8VAC20-80. Regulations Governing 
Special Education Programs for Children with Disabilities 
in Virginia (repealing 8VAC20-80-10 through 8VAC20-
80-190). 

8VAC20-81. Regulations Governing Special Education 
Programs for Children with Disabilities in Virginia 
(adding 8VAC20-81-10 through 8VAC20-81-340). 

Publication: 25:16 VA.R. 2872-2968 April 13, 2009. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 2944, 8VAC20-81-210 D 2 b, line 3, strike "the 
effective date of this regulation" and insert "July 7, 2009," 

Page 2944, 8VAC20-81-210 D 3 b, lines 3 and 4, strike 
"the effective date of these regulations" and insert "July 7, 
2009" 

Publication: 25:21 VA.R. 3849 June 22, 2009. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Change first paragraph of Summary to read: 

Summary: 

This action represents the Board of Education's readoption 
of the final regulations on May 28, 2009, with no changes 
from its adoption at the September 28, 2008, Board of 
Education meeting. Refer to 25:16 VA.R. 2872-2968 April 
13, 2009, for the full text of the final regulations that 
becomes effective on July 7, 2009, with the effective date 
set into text at 8VAC20-81-210 D 2 b and 3 b as follows:  

Page 2944, 8VAC20-81-210 D 2 b, line 3, strike "the 
effective date of this regulation" and insert "July 7, 2009," 

Page 2944, 8VAC20-81-210 D 3 b, lines 3 and 4, strike 
"the effective date of these regulations" and insert "July 7, 
2009" 

VA.R. Doc No. R07-95 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Title of Regulation:  12VAC30-120. Waiver Services. 

Publication:  25:20 VA.R. 3599-3638 June 8, 2009. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 3604, 12VAC30-120-140, column 1, definition of 
"Personal services" or "PAS," line 1, after "Personal" insert 
"assistance" 

Pages 3603-3604, change alphabetical order of definitions 
to the following: 

Participating provider 

Personal assistance services 

Personal assistant 

Personal care agency 

Personal care services 

Personal emergency response systems 

Plan of care 
VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1107  

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC25-90-1910. Federal Identical 
General Industry Standards (29 CFR Part 1910).  

Publication: 22:23 VA.R. 3396 July 24, 2006 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 3396, Column 1, Titles of Regulations, line 7, delete 
16VAC25-90-1910.1020. The Virginia Register 
erroneously reflected this section as being amended; 
however, it was not adopted by the Safety and Health 
Codes Board. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R06-273 

 


