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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, the Virginia Tax Bulletin issued 
periodically by the Department of Taxation, and notices of public 
hearings and open meetings of state agencies. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
Proposed regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating 
agency at any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 12 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
23:7 VA.R. 1023-1140 December 11, 2006, refers to Volume 23, Issue 
7, pages 1023 through 1140 of the Virginia Register issued on 
December 11, 2006. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: R. Steven Landes, 
Chairman; John S. Edwards, Vice Chairman; Ryan T. McDougle; 
Robert Hurt; Robert L. Calhoun; Frank S. Ferguson; E.M. Miller, 
Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; James F. Almand; Jane M. Roush. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
June T. Chandler, Assistant Registrar. 



 

PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 
This schedule is available on the Register's Internet home page (http://register.state.va.us). 

Volume 25, Issue 25 Virginia Register of Regulations August 17, 2009 

4356 

PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

August 2009 through June 2010 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

INDEX 3 Volume 25  July 2009 

25:25 July 29, 2009 August 17, 2009 

25:26 August 12, 2009 August 31, 2009 

FINAL INDEX Volume 25  October 2009 

26:1 August 26, 2009 September 14, 2009 

26:2 September 9, 2009 September 28, 2009 

26:3 September 23, 2009 October 12, 2009 

26:4 October 7, 2009 October 26, 2009 

26:5 October 21, 2009 November 9, 2009 

26:6 November 4, 2009 November 23, 2009 

26:7 November 17, 2009 (Tuesday) December 7, 2009 

INDEX 1 Volume 26  January 2010 

26:8 December 2, 2009 December 21, 2009 

26:9 December 15, 2009 (Tuesday) January 4, 2010 

26:10 December 29, 2009 (Tuesday) January 18, 2010 

26:11 January 13, 2010 February 1, 2010 

26:12 January 27, 2010 February 15, 2010 

26:13 February 10, 2010 March 1, 2010 

26:14 February 24, 2010 March 15, 2010 

INDEX 2 Volume 26  April 2010 

26:15 March 10, 2010 March 29, 2010 

26:16 March 24, 2010 April 12, 2010 

26:17 April 7, 2010 April 26, 2010 

26:18 April 21, 2010 May 10, 2010 

26:19 May 5, 2010 May 24, 2010 

26:20 May 19, 2010 June 6, 2010 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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The table printed below lists regulation sections, by Virginia Administrative Code (VAC) title, that have been amended, 
added or repealed in the Virginia Register since the regulations were originally published or last supplemented in VAC (the 
Spring 2009 VAC Supplement includes final regulations published through Virginia Register Volume 25, Issue 12, dated 
February 16, 2009, and fast-track regulations published through Virginia Register Volume 25, Issue 11, dated February 2, 
2009). Emergency regulations, if any, are listed, followed by the designation "emer," and errata pertaining to final regulations 
are listed. Proposed regulations are not listed here. The table lists the sections in numerical order and shows action taken, the 
volume, issue and page number where the section appeared, and the effective date of the section. 

CUMULATIVE TABLE OF VIRGINIA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE SECTIONS ADOPTED, AMENDED, OR REPEALED 

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
Title 2. Agriculture 
2 VAC 5-100-10 through 2VAC5-100-40 Repealed 25:16 VA.R. 2831 5/13/09 
2 VAC 5-320-10 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2565 -- 
2 VAC 5-325-10 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2565 -- 
2 VAC 5-330-30 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2565 -- 
2 VAC 5-330-30 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2710 3/9/09 
2 VAC 5-340-140 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2565 -- 
2 VAC 5-340-170 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2565 -- 
2 VAC 5-350-20 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2565 -- 
2 VAC 5-370-10 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2566 -- 
2 VAC 5-380-10 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2566 -- 
2 VAC 5-390-20 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2566 -- 
2 VAC 5-390-80 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2566 -- 
2 VAC 5-400-10 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2566 -- 
2 VAC 5-440-20 Erratum 25:13 VA.R. 2566 -- 
Title 3. Alcoholic Beverages 
3 VAC 5-50-230 emer Added 25:11 VA.R. 1929 1/13/09-1/12/10 
Title 4. Conservation and Natural Resources 
4 VAC 20-260-30 emer Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3783 6/1/09-6/30/09 
4 VAC 20-260-30 Amended 25:23 VA.R. 4189 7/1/09 
4 VAC 20-270-10 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2591 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-270-30 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2591 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-270-30 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2831 3/26/09 
4 VAC 20-270-40 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2592 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-270-40 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2832 3/26/09 
4 VAC 20-270-40 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3783 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-270-50 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3784 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-270-55 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2592 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-270-55 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2832 3/26/09 
4 VAC 20-270-58 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3784 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-270-60 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2592 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-320-70 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3784 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-395-10 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3289 6/30/09 
4 VAC 20-395-20 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3289 6/30/09 
4 VAC 20-395-30 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3290 6/30/09 
4 VAC 20-395-40 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3290 6/30/09 
4 VAC 20-450-30 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3785 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-490-20 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2593 3/1/09 
4 VAC 20-490-30 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2595 3/1/09 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
4 VAC 20-490-40 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2595 3/1/09 
4 VAC 20-490-41 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2595 3/1/09 
4 VAC 20-530-10 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2596 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-530-20 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2596 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-530-31 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2597 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-530-31 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2833 3/26/09 
4 VAC 20-530-40 emer Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2597 2/26/09-3/28/09 
4 VAC 20-560-40 emer Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3292 5/1/09-5/30/09 
4 VAC 20-620-70 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2597 3/1/09 
4 VAC 20-650-10 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3785 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-650-20 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3786 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-650-30 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3787 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-670-20 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3788 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-670-25 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3788 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-670-30 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3788 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-670-40 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3789 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-700-20 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2598 3/1/09 
4 VAC 20-880-30 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3789 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-950-30 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2833 4/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1040-25 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3789 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1090-30 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3790 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1120-31 Added 25:21 VA.R. 3792 7/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1120-32 Added 25:21 VA.R. 3792 7/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1140-20 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3793 6/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1200-10 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2834 4/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1200-20 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2834 4/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1200-30 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2834 4/1/09 
4 VAC 20-1210-10 emer Added 25:16 VA.R. 2835 3/26/09-4/24/09 
4 VAC 20-1210-10 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3293 4/30/09 
4 VAC 20-1210-20 emer Added 25:16 VA.R. 2835 3/26/09-4/24/09 
4 VAC 20-1210-20 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3293 4/30/09 
4 VAC 20-1210-30 emer Added 25:16 VA.R. 2835 3/26/09-4/24/09 
4 VAC 20-1210-30 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3293 4/30/09 
4 VAC 25-31 (Forms) Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2835 -- 
4 VAC 25-40-25 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3478 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-90 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3478 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-120 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3478 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-130 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3479 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-190 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3479 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-260 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3479 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-350 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3479 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-365 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3479 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-410 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3479 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-720 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3479 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-780 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3479 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-800 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3480 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-810 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3481 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-880 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3481 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-890 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3482 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-893 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3482 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-925 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3482 7/8/09 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
4 VAC 25-40-1095 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3482 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-1600 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3482 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-2790 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3482 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-2800 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3482 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-2980 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3482 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-3050 Repealed 25:20 VA.R. 3482 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-3060 Repealed 25:20 VA.R. 3483 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-3070 Repealed 25:20 VA.R. 3483 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-3080 Repealed 25:20 VA.R. 3483 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-3090 Repealed 25:20 VA.R. 3483 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-3110 Repealed 25:20 VA.R. 3483 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-3120 Repealed 25:20 VA.R. 3483 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-3800 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3483 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-3830 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3483 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-3840 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3483 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-3990 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3484 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-4060 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3484 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-4061 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3484 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-4062 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3484 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-4063 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3484 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-4064 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3484 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-4065 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3484 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-4066 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3484 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-4240 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3485 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-4260 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3485 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-40-4400 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3485 7/8/09 
4 VAC 25-130 (Forms) Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2836 -- 
4 VAC 50-60-10 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2838 7/1/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1100 through 4VAC50-60-1140 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2849-2851 7/1/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1150 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2851 5/13/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1160 through 4 VAC 50-60-1180 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2853-2868 7/1/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1182 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2869 7/1/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1184 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2869 7/1/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1186 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2870 7/1/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1188 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2871 7/1/09 
4 VAC 50-60-1190 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2871 7/1/09 
Title 5. Corporations 
5 VAC 5-20-10 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2601 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-20 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2601 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-80 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2602 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-90 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2602 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-100 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2602 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-120 through 5 VAC 5-20-150 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2603-2604 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-170 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2604 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-180 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2605 3/11/09 
5 VAC 5-20-240 through 5 VAC 5-20-280 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2605-2608 3/11/09 
Title 6. Criminal Justice and Corrections 
6 VAC 15-80-10 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4289 9/3/09 
6 VAC 15-80-211 Added 25:24 VA.R. 4292 9/3/09 
6 VAC 20-20-25 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4027 1/1/10 
6 VAC 20-50-21 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4029 1/1/10 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
Title 8. Education 
8 VAC 20-80-10 through 8 VAC 20-80-190 Repealed 25:21 VA.R. 3849 7/7/09 
8 VAC 20-81-10 through 8 VAC 20-81-340 Added 25:21 VA.R. 3849 7/7/09 
8 VAC 20-81-210 Errata 25:23 VA.R. 4262 -- 
8 VAC 20-131-5 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3850 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-30 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3851 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-50 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3852 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-60 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3857 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-80 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3859 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-100 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3859 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-140 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3860 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-210 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3860 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-270 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3861 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-280 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3862 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-290 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3863 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-300 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3864 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-310 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3866 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-325 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3867 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-131-360 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3867 7/31/09 
8 VAC 20-521-60 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3295 7/15/09 
8 VAC 20-650-30 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3297 7/15/09 
Title 9. Environment 
9 VAC 5-10-20 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2059 4/2/09 
9 VAC 5-20-21 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3298 6/24/09 
9 VAC 5-30-15 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3302 6/24/09 
9 VAC 5-30-80 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3302 6/24/09 
9 VAC 5-80-1170 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3302 6/24/09 
9 VAC 5-80-1615 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3492 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-1625 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3503 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-1695 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3504 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-1915 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3505 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-1925 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3506 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-1935 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3507 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-1945 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3507 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-1955 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3508 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-1965 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3508 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-2010 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3508 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-2020 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3518 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-2140 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3518 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-2195 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3519 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-2200 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3520 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-2210 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3520 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-2220 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3521 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-2230 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3522 7/23/09 
9 VAC 5-80-2240 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3522 7/23/09 
9 VAC 20-80 (Forms) Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3149 -- 
9 VAC 25-32-480 Erratum 25:15 VA.R. 2804 -- 
9 VAC 25-151-10 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3306 6/24/09 
9 VAC 25-151-40 through 9 VAC 25-151-290 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3308-3379 6/24/09 
9 VAC 25-151-310 through 9 VAC 25-151-370 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3379-3385 6/24/09 
9 VAC 25-190-10 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3385 6/24/09 
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9 VAC 25-190-20 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3386 6/24/09 
9 VAC 25-190-50 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3386 6/24/09 
9 VAC 25-190-60 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3387 6/24/09 
9 VAC 25-190-65 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3388 6/24/09 
9 VAC 25-190-70 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3389 6/24/09 
9 VAC 25-260-275 Added 25:23 VA.R. 4190 8/20/09 
9 VAC 25-580 (Forms) Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3154 -- 
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3523 7/8/09 
9 VAC 25-720-60 Erratum 25:19 VA.R. 3464 -- 
9 VAC 25-720-60 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3531 7/8/09 
9 VAC 25-720-90 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3544 7/8/09 
9 VAC 25-720-110 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3546 7/8/09 
9 VAC 25-720-120 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2247 4/2/09 
Title 10. Finance and Financial Institutions 
10 VAC 5-10-10 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4299 7/14/09 
10 VAC 5-160-10 Amended 25:23 VA.R. 4191 7/1/09 
10 VAC 5-160-70 Repealed 25:23 VA.R. 4193 7/1/09 
10 VAC 5-160-80 Repealed 25:23 VA.R. 4193 7/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-60 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2609 3/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-110 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2609 3/1/09 
10 VAC 5-200-130 Added 25:14 VA.R. 2613 3/1/09 
Title 11. Gaming 
11 VAC 10-20-330 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3162 6/1/09 
11 VAC 10-50-30 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3005 5/27/09 
11 VAC 10-70-20 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2712 4/15/09 
11 VAC 10-70-90 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2712 4/15/09 
11 VAC 10-110-90 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3407 6/1/09 
11 VAC 10-120-80 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3006 5/27/09 
11 VAC 10-180-10 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3007 5/27/09 
11 VAC 10-180-35 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3007 5/27/09 
11 VAC 10-180-70 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3008 5/27/09 
11 VAC 10-180-80 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3009 5/27/09 
11 VAC 10-180-110 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3010 5/27/09 
11 VAC 15-22-10 Amended 25:23 VA.R. 4194 8/19/09 
11 VAC 15-22-20 Amended 25:23 VA.R. 4196 8/19/09 
11 VAC 15-22-30 Amended 25:23 VA.R. 4196 8/19/09 
11 VAC 15-22-110 Amended 25:23 VA.R. 4198 8/19/09 
11 VAC 15-31-10 Amended 25:23 VA.R. 4200 8/19/09 
11 VAC 15-31-20 Amended 25:23 VA.R. 4201 8/19/09 
11 VAC 15-31-50 Amended 25:23 VA.R. 4203 8/19/09 
Title 12. Health 
12 VAC 5-67-10 emer Added 25:4 VA.R. 658 11/1/08-10/31/09 
12 VAC 5-67-20 emer Added 25:4 VA.R. 658 11/1/08-10/31/09 
12 VAC 5-67-30 emer Added 25:4 VA.R. 658 11/1/08-10/31/09 
12 VAC 5-195-20 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4063 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-30 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4063 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-70 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4064 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-140 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4065 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-180 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4065 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-190 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4066 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-280 through 12 VAC 5-195-340 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4067-4071 7/6/09 
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12 VAC 5-195-360 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4071 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-370 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4072 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-380 Repealed 25:22 VA.R. 4072 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-390 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4072 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-400 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4073 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-410 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4073 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-420 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4073 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-450 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4073 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-460 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4073 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-480 through 12 VAC 5-195-550 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4074-4076 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-580 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4076 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-590 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4077 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-600 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4079 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-610 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4081 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-630 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4081 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-640 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4081 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-660 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4082 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-195-670 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4083 7/6/09 
12 VAC 5-230-540 Amended 25:13 VA.R. 2316 4/1/09 
12 VAC 5-230-550 Amended 25:13 VA.R. 2317 4/1/09 
12 VAC 5-230-560 Amended 25:13 VA.R. 2317 4/1/09 
12 VAC 5-481-451 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3888 8/6/09 
12 VAC 30-10-150 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2614 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-10-560 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3898 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-10-930 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2615 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-20-90 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2615 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-20-140 Repealed 25:21 VA.R. 3899 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-20-141 Added 25:21 VA.R. 3900 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-20-210 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3571 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-20-500 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2618 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-20-520 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2618 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-30-10 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3577 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-30-20 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3902 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-40-10 Erratum 25:19 VA.R. 3464 -- 
12 VAC 30-40-10 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3574 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-40-105 Added 25:21 VA.R. 3904 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-40-280 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3904 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-40-290 emer Amended 25:1 VA.R. 35 8/27/08-8/26/09 
12 VAC 30-40-290 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3905 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-50-10 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2618 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-50-226 emer Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4085 7/1/09-6/30/10 
12 VAC 30-50-420 emer Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4089 7/1/09-6/30/10 
12 VAC 30-50-430 emer Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4091 7/1/09-6/30/10 
12 VAC 30-60-200 Added 25:21 VA.R. 3907 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-60-500 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3586 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-70-50 emer Amended 25:23 VA.R. 4205 7/2/09-7/1/10 
12 VAC 30-80-20 emer Amended 25:23 VA.R. 4208 7/2/09-7/1/10 
12 VAC 30-80-30 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3909 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-80-40 emer Amended 24:25 VA.R. 3617 8/4/08-8/3/09 
12 VAC 30-80-40 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3408 7/1/09 
12 VAC 30-80-95 Amended 25:12 VA.R. 2251 4/2/09 
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12 VAC 30-80-190 emer Amended 25:1 VA.R. 41 8/27/08-8/26/09 
12 VAC 30-80-200 emer Amended 25:23 VA.R. 4209 7/2/09-7/1/10 
12 VAC 30-110-40 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2619 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-370 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2619 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-380 Repealed 25:14 VA.R. 2619 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-670 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2620 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-680 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2620 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-700 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2620 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-720 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2620 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-741 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2623 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-980 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2623 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-990 Repealed 25:14 VA.R. 2623 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-1000 Repealed 25:14 VA.R. 2623 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-1040 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2623 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-110-1500 Added 25:21 VA.R. 3912 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-120-70 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3599 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-90 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3600 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-140 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2624 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-120-140 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3602 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-140 Errata 25:23 VA.R. 4262 -- 
12 VAC 30-120-211 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3605 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-213 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3608 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-225 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3609 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-229 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3612 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-237 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3613 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-247 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3614 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-700 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3616 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-710 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3619 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-754 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3620 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-758 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3621 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-762 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3622 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-770 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3623 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-900 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3625 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-910 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3410 7/1/09 
12 VAC 30-120-910 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3627 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-920 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3628 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-970 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3630 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-1500 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3632 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-1550 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3634 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-2000 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3636 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-120-2010 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3637 7/9/09 
12 VAC 30-130-260 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2626 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-270 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2626 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-290 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2627 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-370 Repealed 25:14 VA.R. 2628 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-380 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2628 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-410 Repealed 25:14 VA.R. 2628 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-540 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2629 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-750 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3576 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-130-780 Repealed 25:20 VA.R. 3576 7/23/09 
12 VAC 30-130-790 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3576 7/23/09 
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12 VAC 30-130-800 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2630 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-820 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2632 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-890 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2633 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-130-910 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2634 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-141-60 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2635 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-141-120 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2635 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-141-660 emer Amended 25:10 VA.R. 1854 12/22/08-12/21/09 
12 VAC 30-141-660 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2969 5/13/09 
12 VAC 30-141-720 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2635 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-141-740 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3411 7/1/09 
12 VAC 30-141-760 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2635 4/15/09 
12 VAC 30-150-40 Amended 25:14 VA.R. 2636 4/15/09 
12 VAC 35-45-10 through 12 VAC 35-45-210 Repealed 25:21 VA.R. 3912 8/6/09 
12 VAC 35-46-10 through 12 VAC 35-46-1140 Added 25:21 VA.R. 3914-3950 8/6/09 
12 VAC 35-46-480 Erratum 25:24 VA.R. 4354 -- 
12 VAC 35-190-10 Amended 25:23 VA.R. 4211 8/19/09 
12 VAC 35-190-21 Amended 25:23 VA.R. 4212 8/19/09 
12 VAC 35-190-30 Amended 25:23 VA.R. 4212 8/19/09 
12 VAC 35-190-41 Amended 25:23 VA.R. 4212 8/19/09 
12 VAC 35-190-51 Amended 25:23 VA.R. 4213 8/19/09 
Title 13. Housing 
13 VAC 5-63-220 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3013 6/1/09 
13 VAC 5-100-10 Amended 25:13 VA.R. 2363 2/12/09 
13 VAC 5-100-20 Amended 25:13 VA.R. 2364 2/12/09 
13 VAC 10-40-20 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3951 6/5/09 
13 VAC 10-40-40 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3954 6/5/09 
13 VAC 10-40-50 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3954 6/5/09 
13 VAC 10-40-120 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3956 6/5/09 
13 VAC 10-40-130 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3957 6/5/09 
13 VAC 10-40-140 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3960 6/5/09 
13 VAC 10-40-160 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3961 6/5/09 
13 VAC 10-40-170 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3961 6/5/09 
13 VAC 10-40-220 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3961 6/5/09 
13 VAC 10-180-120 Added 25:23 VA.R. 4213 7/1/09 
Title 14. Insurance 
14 VAC 5-43-10 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3413 5/15/09 
14 VAC 5-43-20 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3413 5/15/09 
14 VAC 5-43-30 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3414 5/15/09 
14 VAC 5-170-20 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3186 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-30 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3186 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-50 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3188 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-60 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3188 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-70 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3190 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-75 Added 25:18 VA.R. 3194 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-80 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3196 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-85 Added 25:18 VA.R. 3197 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-150 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3199 5/21/09 
14 VAC 5-170-215 Added 25:18 VA.R. 3237 5/21/09 
Title 16. Labor and Employment 
16 VAC 15-21-30 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639 7/24/09 
16 VAC 25-80-10 Repealed 25:23 VA.R. 4230-4231 8/20/09 
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16 VAC 25-90-1910.9 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.95 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.134 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.156 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.303 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.304 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1001 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1003 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1017 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1018 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1020 Added 25:23 VA.R. 4230-4231 8/20/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1025 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1026 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1027 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1028 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1029 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1030 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1043 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1044 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1045 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1047 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1048 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1050 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1051 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1052 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1915.1001 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-90-1915.1026 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-100-1915.9 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-120-1917.5 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-120-1917.71 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3641 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-130-1918.5 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-130-1918.85 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3641 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-175 Errata 25:22 VA.R. 4172 -- 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.60 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.62 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.761 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.1101 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.1126 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.1127 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.20 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3639-3640 7/15/09 
Title 18. Professional and Occupational Licensing 
18 VAC 5-21-30 emer Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3643 5/14/09-5/13/10 
18 VAC 10-20-683 Erratum 25:15 VA.R. 2804 -- 
18 VAC 25-21-150 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4302 10/1/09 
18 VAC 30-20-160 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3656 7/8/09 
18 VAC 30-20-185 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3656 7/8/09 
18 VAC 48-20-10 through 18 VAC 48-20-800 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3657-3678 7/9/09 
18 VAC 48-50-10 through 18 VAC 48-50-200 emer Added 25:5 VA.R. 1095-1100 11/13/08-11/12/09 
18 VAC 48-60-13 Added 25:15 VA.R. 2769 5/15/09 
18 VAC 48-60-17 Added 25:15 VA.R. 2769 5/15/09 
18 VAC 48-60-20 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2770 5/15/09 
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18 VAC 48-60-60 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2770 5/15/09 
18 VAC 60-20-16 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3015 7/1/09 
18 VAC 60-20-190 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2970 5/13/09 
18 VAC 65-20-10 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3679 7/8/09 
18 VAC 65-20-60 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3016 7/1/09 
18 VAC 65-20-60 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3679 7/8/09 
18 VAC 65-20-435 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3679 7/8/09 
18 VAC 65-20-436 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3680 7/8/09 
18 VAC 65-30-180 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3016 7/1/09 
18 VAC 76-10-10 through 18 VAC 76-10-70 Amended 25:23 VA.R. 4232-4234 7/1/09 
18 VAC 76-10-90 Repealed 25:23 VA.R. 4234 7/1/09 
18 VAC 76-20-60 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2971 5/13/09 
18 VAC 76-20-70 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2971 5/13/09 
18 VAC 76-40-20 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3239 7/1/09 
18 VAC 85-20-21 Amended 25:23 VA.R. 4234 8/19/09 
18 VAC 85-40-25 Amended 25:23 VA.R. 4235 8/19/09 
18 VAC 85-50-21 Added 25:23 VA.R. 4235 8/19/09 
18 VAC 85-80-10 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1104 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-25 Amended 25:23 VA.R. 4235 8/19/09 
18 VAC 85-80-26 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1104 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-40 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1104 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-45 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1105 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-50 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1105 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-61 emer Repealed 25:5 VA.R. 1105 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-65 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1105 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-70 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1105 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-72 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1105 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-73 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1106 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-80 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1106 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-90 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1106 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-100 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1107 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-110 emer Amended 25:5 VA.R. 1107 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-80-111 emer Added 25:5 VA.R. 1108 11/1/08-10/31/09 
18 VAC 85-101-26 Added 25:23 VA.R. 4235 8/19/09 
18 VAC 85-110-36 Added 25:23 VA.R. 4235 8/19/09 
18 VAC 85-120-30 Amended 25:23 VA.R. 4235 8/19/09 
18 VAC 85-130-31 Added 25:23 VA.R. 4235 8/19/09 
18 VAC 90-20-35 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3017 7/1/09 
18 VAC 90-20-36 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3973 7/22/09 
18 VAC 90-20-200 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4101 12/31/09 
18 VAC 90-25-15 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3017 7/1/09 
18 VAC 90-30-100 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3017 7/1/09 
18 VAC 90-50-20 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3017 7/1/09 
18 VAC 90-60-20 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3018 7/1/09 
18 VAC 90-60-90 Amended 25:16 VA.R. 2972 5/13/09 
18 VAC 90-60-91 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2972 5/13/09 
18 VAC 90-60-92 Added 25:16 VA.R. 2973 5/13/09 
18 VAC 95-20-10 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3418 6/24/09 
18 VAC 95-20-70 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3420 7/1/09 
18 VAC 95-20-70 Errata 25:22 VA.R. 4172 -- 
18 VAC 95-20-175 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3419 6/24/09 
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18 VAC 95-20-390 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3419 6/24/09 
18 VAC 95-30-10 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3420 6/24/09 
18 VAC 95-30-30 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3420 7/1/09 
18 VAC 95-30-30 Errata 25:22 VA.R. 4172 -- 
18 VAC 105-20-60 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3240 7/1/09 
18 VAC 110-20 (Forms) Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4335 -- 
18 VAC 110-20-10 emer Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3018 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-10 through 18 VAC 110-20-70 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4303-4309 9/2/09 
18 VAC 110-20-20 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 464 9/23/08-9/22/09 
18 VAC 110-20-21 Added 25:17 VA.R. 3025 7/1/09 
18 VAC 110-20-80 through 18 VAC 110-20-104 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4310-4312 9/2/09 
18 VAC 110-20-106 through 18 VAC 110-20-120 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4312-4314 9/2/09 
18 VAC 110-20-130 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4314 9/2/09 
18 VAC 110-20-140 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4314 9/2/09 
18 VAC 110-20-180 through 18 VAC 110-20-210 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4315-4317 9/2/09 
18 VAC 110-20-240 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4317 9/2/09 
18 VAC 110-20-270 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4318 9/2/09 
18 VAC 110-20-275 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4319 9/2/09 
18 VAC 110-20-280 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4320 9/2/09 
18 VAC 110-20-286 Added 25:24 VA.R. 4320 9/2/09 
18 VAC 110-20-320 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4321 9/2/09 
18 VAC 110-20-340 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4321 9/2/09 
18 VAC 110-20-350 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4321 9/2/09 
18 VAC 110-20-355 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4322 9/2/09 
18 VAC 110-20-391 Added 25:24 VA.R. 4322 9/2/09 
18 VAC 110-20-395 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4322 9/2/09 
18 VAC 110-20-400 emer Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3021 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-410 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4322 9/2/09 
18 VAC 110-20-425 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4323 9/2/09 
18 VAC 110-20-440 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4324 9/2/09 
18 VAC 110-20-450 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4325 9/2/09 
18 VAC 110-20-460 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4325 9/2/09 
18 VAC 110-20-490 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4325 9/2/09 
18 VAC 110-20-500 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4327 9/2/09 
18 VAC 110-20-520 through 18 VAC 110-20-555 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4327-4331 9/2/09 
18 VAC 110-20-535 Added 25:24 VA.R. 4328 9/2/09 
18 VAC 110-20-536 Added 25:24 VA.R. 4328 9/2/09 
18 VAC 110-20-570 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4331 9/2/09 
18 VAC 110-20-580 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4332 9/2/09 
18 VAC 110-20-590 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4332 9/2/09 
18 VAC 110-20-610 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4333 9/2/09 
18 VAC 110-20-620 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4333 9/2/09 
18 VAC 110-20-621 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4333 9/2/09 
18 VAC 110-20-622 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4333 9/2/09 
18 VAC 110-20-680 through 18 VAC 110-20-710 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4333-4335 9/2/09 
18 VAC 110-20-740 emer Added 25:17 VA.R. 3021 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-750 emer Added 25:17 VA.R. 3021 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-760 emer Added 25:17 VA.R. 3021 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-770 emer Added 25:17 VA.R. 3022 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-780 emer Added 25:17 VA.R. 3022 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-20-790 emer Added 25:17 VA.R. 3022 4/10/09-4/9/10 
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18 VAC 110-20-800 emer Added 25:17 VA.R. 3022 4/10/09-4/9/10 
18 VAC 110-50-20 emer Amended 25:3 VA.R. 466 9/23/08-9/22/09 
18 VAC 112-20-25 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3025 7/1/09 
18 VAC 112-20-81 Added 25:18 VA.R. 3240 6/10/09 
18 VAC 112-20-90 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3241 6/10/09 
18 VAC 112-20-130 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3241 6/10/09 
18 VAC 112-20-131 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3241 6/10/09 
18 VAC 112-20-150 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3242 6/10/09 
18 VAC 115-20-45 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3704 7/23/09 
18 VAC 115-20-100 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4103 8/5/09 
18 VAC 115-20-130 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3704 7/23/09 
18 VAC 115-30-110 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4103 8/5/09 
18 VAC 115-40-38 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4103 8/5/09 
18 VAC 115-50 (Forms) Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4338 -- 
18 VAC 115-50-40 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3706 7/23/09 
18 VAC 115-50-40 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4336 9/2/09 
18 VAC 115-50-60 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4336 9/2/09 
18 VAC 115-50-90 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4103 8/5/09 
18 VAC 115-50-110 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3706 7/23/09 
18 VAC 115-60-50 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3708 7/23/09 
18 VAC 115-60-110 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4104 8/5/09 
18 VAC 115-60-130 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3709 7/23/09 
18 VAC 120-40-15 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2774 5/14/09 
18 VAC 120-40-85 Added 25:15 VA.R. 2774 5/14/09 
18 VAC 120-40-240 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2774 5/14/09 
18 VAC 120-40-411.1 Amended 25:15 VA.R. 2775 5/14/09 
18 VAC 125-20 (Forms) Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4339 -- 
18 VAC 125-20-120 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3026 7/1/09 
18 VAC 125-20-121 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4338 9/2/09 
18 VAC 125-20-122 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4339 9/2/09 
18 VAC 125-30-50 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3711 7/8/09 
18 VAC 125-30-80 Amended 25:17 VA.R. 3026 7/1/09 
18 VAC 125-30-80 Amended 25:20 VA.R. 3712 7/8/09 
18 VAC 130-20-30 Erratum 25:15 VA.R. 2804 -- 
18 VAC 140-20-100 Amended 25:18 VA.R. 3247 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-10 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3421 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-74 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3424 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-76 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3424 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-80 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3425 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-82 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3425 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-84 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3426 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-90 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3427 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-94 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3429 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-96 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3430 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-97 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3431 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-98 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3432 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-102 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3433 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-104 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3433 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-106 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3433 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-109 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3434 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-140 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3435 7/1/09 
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18 VAC 160-20-145 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3435 7/1/09 
18 VAC 160-20-150 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3436 7/1/09 
Title 19. Public Safety 
19 VAC 30-200-10 Added 25:12 VA.R. 2272 4/2/09 
Title 20. Public Utilities and Telecommunications 
20 VAC 5-314-10 through 20 VAC 5-314-170 Added 25:20 VA.R. 3716-3758 5/21/09 
Title 21. Securities and Retail Franchising 
21 VAC 5-10-40 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4106 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-20-60 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4106 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-20-70 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4107 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-20-90 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4108 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-20-130 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4108 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-20-135 Added 25:22 VA.R. 4108 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-20-150 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4109 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-20-160 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4109 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-30-80 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4109 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-40-30 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4110 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-45-20 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4111 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-80-10 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4112 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-80-70 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4112 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-80-110 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4113 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-80-130 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4113 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-80-140 Repealed 25:22 VA.R. 4114 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-80-145 Added 25:22 VA.R. 4115 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-80-160 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4119 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-110-10 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4124 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-110-40 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4125 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-110-50 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4125 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-110-55 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4126 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-110-65 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4127 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-110-75 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4128 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-110-80 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4129 7/1/09 
21 VAC 5-110-95 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4130 7/1/09 
Title 22. Social Services 
22 VAC 30-40-10 through 22 VAC 30-40-150 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3973-3984 7/22/09 
22 VAC 30-40-160 Added 25:21 VA.R. 3984 7/22/09 
22 VAC 30-50-10 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4340 9/3/09 
22 VAC 30-50-20 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4340 9/3/09 
22 VAC 30-50-30 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4340 9/3/09 
22 VAC 30-50-50 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4340 9/3/09 
22 VAC 30-50-60 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4341 9/3/09 
22 VAC 30-50-70 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4341 9/3/09 
22 VAC 30-50-80 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4341 9/3/09 
22 VAC 30-50-90 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4341 9/3/09 
22 VAC 30-50-100 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4342 9/3/09 
22 VAC 30-50-110 Amended 25:24 VA.R. 4342 9/3/09 
22 VAC 30-50-120 Added 25:24 VA.R. 4343 9/3/09 
22 VAC 40-35-5 Repealed 25:19 VA.R. 3438 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-35-10 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3438 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-35-20 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3440 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-35-40 Amended 25:23 VA.R. 4236 8/19/09 
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22 VAC 40-35-40 through 22 VAC 40-35-120 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3441-3446 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-35-125 Repealed 25:19 VA.R. 3446 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-35-126 Repealed 25:19 VA.R. 3446 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-35-127 Repealed 25:19 VA.R. 3447 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-35-128 Repealed 25:19 VA.R. 3447 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-35-130 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3447 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-41-10 Amended 25:23 VA.R. 4236 9/1/09 
22 VAC 40-41-20 Amended 25:23 VA.R. 4237 9/1/09 
22 VAC 40-41-40 Amended 25:23 VA.R. 4238 9/1/09 
22 VAC 40-41-50 Amended 25:23 VA.R. 4238 9/1/09 
22 VAC 40-41-55 Amended 25:23 VA.R. 4239 9/1/09 
22 VAC 40-41-60 Amended 25:23 VA.R. 4239 9/1/09 
22 VAC 40-72-10 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3448 8/1/09 
22 VAC 40-72-160 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3453 8/1/09 
22 VAC 40-72-210 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3453 8/1/09 
22 VAC 40-72-660 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3454 8/1/09 
22 VAC 40-72-670 Amended 25:19 VA.R. 3455 8/1/09 
22 VAC 40-170-10 through 22 VAC 40-170-230 Repealed 25:19 VA.R. 3456 7/1/09 
22 VAC 40-211-10 through 22 VAC 40-211-110 Added 25:24 VA.R. 4343-4351 9/2/09 
22 VAC 40-410-10 Repealed 25:23 VA.R. 4239 9/1/09 
22 VAC 40-410-20 Repealed 25:23 VA.R. 4239 9/1/09 
22 VAC 40-411-10 through 22 VAC 40-411-220 Added 25:23 VA.R. 4239-4245 9/1/09 
22 VAC 40-570-10 through 22 VAC 40-570-100 Repealed 25:23 VA.R. 4239 9/1/09 
22 VAC 40-640-10 through 22 VAC 40-640-80 Repealed 25:23 VA.R. 4239 9/1/09 
22 VAC 40-670-10 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3988 8/6/09 
22 VAC 40-670-20 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3988 8/6/09 
22 VAC 40-675-10 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3990 8/6/09 
22 VAC 40-675-60 through 22 VAC 40-675-100 Amended 25:21 VA.R. 3990-3991 8/6/09 
22 VAC 40-740-10 Amended 25:23 VA.R. 4248 9/1/09 
22 VAC 40-740-15 Amended 25:23 VA.R. 4250 9/1/09 
22 VAC 40-740-50 Amended 25:23 VA.R. 4250 9/1/09 
Title 23. Taxation 
23 VAC 10-210-310 Amended 25:22 VA.R. 4155 9/19/09 
Title 24. Transportation and Motor Vehicles 
24 VAC 30-92-10 through 24 VAC 30-92-150 Added 25:15 VA.R. 2777-2801 3/9/09 
24 VAC 30-280-20 through 24 VAC 30-280-70 Repealed 25:19 VA.R. 3456 7/1/09 
24 VAC 30-281-10 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3457 7/1/09 
24 VAC 30-300-10 Repealed 25:19 VA.R. 3457 4/29/09 
24 VAC 30-301-10 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3458 4/29/09 
24 VAC 30-301-20 Added 25:19 VA.R. 3458 4/29/09 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC140-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Social Work. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Carol A. Gauzens. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend qualifications for 
supervisors to require a licensee wishing to provide 
supervision for a resident to complete and keep record of a 
one-time only (or renewable every 10 years, or must be 
renewed if supervisor has been inactive as a supervisor for 
five or more years) 14-contact hour or three credit course in 
supervision. The supervisor shall be responsible for keeping 
on record proof of such course being completed. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reasons for Decision: The board did not elect to 
amend its regulations because the requirement for 14 hours of 
continuing education relating to supervision within a five-
year period is not unreasonable. There are a number of 
professional courses (live and on-line) that would enable a 
licensee to fulfill the required hours as part of the 75 hours of 
continuing education required during a five-year period. 

Agency Contact: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, 
Board of Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4441, FAX (804) 
527-4435, or email evelyn.brown@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-21; Filed July 17, 2009, 2:17 p.m. 

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC140-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Social Work. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Shirley A. Johnson. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend qualifications for 
licensure by allowing a person who holds a degree in a related 
field of study and has been licensed for 10 or more years as a 
licensed social worker in another state to be licensed in 
Virginia. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reasons for Decision: The board decided 
against amending its regulations for licensure and to retain its 

current educational requirements. Since there is variety 
among state licensure requirements and some social workers 
have been "grandfathered" into licensure, it is necessary to 
ensure all licensees in Virginia have substantially equivalent 
education. 

Agency Contact: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, 
Board of Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4441, FAX (804) 
527-4435, or email evelyn.brown@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-23; Filed July 17, 2009, 2:17 p.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 11. GAMING 

VIRGINIA RACING COMMISSION 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Virginia Racing Commission 
intends to consider amending the following regulations: 
11VAC10-60, Regulations Pertaining to Horse Racing 
With Pari-Mutuel Wagering: Participants. The purpose of 
the proposed action is to allow the Virginia Racing 
Commission to collect a higher fee for permits issued to the 
participants of horse racing. The fee schedule has remained 
constant since the first Satellite Wagering Facility began 
operation in 1996. A cost per permit issued analysis was 
performed and it was determined that it costs the Virginia 
Racing Commission $64.31 for each permit that is issued. It 
is the intent of the Virginia Racing Commission to increase 
the amount charged for a permit and at the same time reduce 
the commission's costs so that the end result will be that the 
commission breaks even on the issuance of permits in the 
future. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 59.1-369 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on September 18, 2009. 

Agency Contact: David S. Lermond, Jr., Regulatory 
Coordinator, Virginia Racing Commission, 10700 
Horsemen's Lane, New Kent, VA 23024, telephone (804) 
966-7404, FAX (804) 966-7418, or email 
david.lermond@vrc.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1942; Filed July 28, 2009, 3:38 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 
BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given that the Board of Medicine has 
WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action for 
18VAC85-50, Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Physician Assistants, which was published in 23:20 VA.R. 
3116 June 11, 2007. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 
Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Dr., Suite 300, Richmond, 
VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4621, FAX (804) 527-
4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-237; Filed May 21, 2009, 3:23 p.m.  

BOARD OF NURSING  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  
Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given that the Board of Nursing has 
WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action for 
18VAC90-40, Regulations for Prescriptive Authority for 
Nurse Practitioners, relating to establishing standards for the 
management of chronic pain. The Notice of Intended 
Regulatory Action was published in 23:11 VA.R. 1656 
February 5, 2007. 

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 
Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4515, FAX 
(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-118; Filed May 21, 2009, 3:17 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 
Fisheries is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 
promulgating regulations regarding the management of 
wildlife. The board is required by § 2.2-4031 of the Code of 
Virginia to publish all proposed and final wildlife 
management regulations, including length of seasons and bag 
limits allowed on the wildlife resources within the 
Commonwealth of Virginia. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-20. Definitions and 
Miscellaneous: in General (amending 4VAC15-20-65). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2009.  

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341 or 
email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment makes a title of hunting privilege 
consistent with similar titles by adding the word "and." 
The board did not adopt the proposed special license for 
hunting bear; therefore, the proposed changes related to 
this special license are eliminated. 

4VAC15-20-65. Hunting, trapping, and fishing license and 
permit fees. 

In accordance with the authority of the board under § 29.1-
103 (16) of the Code of Virginia, the following fees are 
established for hunting, trapping, and fishing licenses and 
permits: 

Virginia Resident Licenses to Hunt 

Type license Fee 

Resident License to Hunt, for licensees 16 
years of age or older $17.00 

County or City Resident License to Hunt in 
County or City of Residence Only, for 
licensees 16 years of age or older $10.00 

Resident Senior Citizen Annual License to 
Hunt, for licensees 65 years of age or older $6.00 

Resident Junior License to Hunt, for licensees 
12 through 15 years of age, optional for 
licensees under 12 years of age $7.50 

Resident Youth Combination License to Hunt, 
and to hunt bear, deer, and turkey, to hunt with 
bow and arrow during archery hunting season, 
and to hunt with muzzleloading guns during 
muzzleloading hunting season, for licensees 
under 16 years of age $15.00 

Resident Sportsman License to Hunt and 
Freshwater Fish, and to hunt bear, deer, and 
turkey, to hunt with bow and arrow during 
archery hunting season, to hunt with 
muzzleloading guns during muzzleloading 
hunting season, and to fish in designated 
stocked trout waters (also listed under Virginia 
Resident Licenses to Fish) $102.00 

Resident Junior Lifetime License to Hunt, for 
licensees under 12 years of age at the time of 
purchase $250.00 

Resident Lifetime License to Hunt, for 
licensees at the time of purchase:   

  through 44 years of age $255.00 

  45 through 50 years of age $205.00 

  51 through 55 years of age $155.00 

  56 through 60 years of age $105.00 

  61 through 64 years of age $55.00 

  65 years of age and over $15.00 

Totally and Permanently Disabled Resident 
Special Lifetime License to Hunt $10.00 
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Service-Connected Totally and Permanently 
Disabled Veteran Resident Lifetime License to 
Hunt and Freshwater Fish (also listed under 
Virginia Resident Licenses to Fish) $10.00 

  

Virginia Resident Licenses for Additional Hunting Privileges 

Type license or permit Fee 

Resident [ Bear, ] Deer [ , ] and Turkey 
Hunting License, for licensees 16 years of age 
or older $17.00 

Resident Junior [ Bear, ] Deer [ , ] and Turkey 
Hunting License, for licensees under 16 years 
of age $7.50 

[ Resident Bear Hunting License ] [ $25.00 ] 

Resident Archery License to Hunt with bow 
and arrow during archery hunting season $17.00 

Resident Crossbow License to Hunt with 
crossbow during archery hunting season $17.00 

Resident Muzzleloading License to Hunt 
during muzzleloading hunting season $17.00 

Resident Bonus Deer Permit $17.00 

  

Virginia Nonresident Licenses to Hunt 

Type license Fee 

Nonresident License to Hunt, for licensees 16 
years of age or older $85.00 

Nonresident Three-Day Trip License to Hunt $45.00 

Nonresident Youth License to Hunt, for 
licensees:    

  under 12 years of age $12.00 

  12 through 15 years of age $15.00 

Nonresident Youth Combination License to 
Hunt, and to hunt bear, deer, and turkey, to 
hunt with bow and arrow during archery 
hunting season, and to hunt with 
muzzleloading guns during muzzleloading 
hunting season, for licensees under 16 years of 
age $30.00 

Nonresident Lifetime License to Hunt $505.00 

  

Virginia Nonresident Licenses for Additional Hunting 
Privileges 

Type license or permit Fee 

Nonresident [ Bear, ] Deer [ , ] and Turkey 
Hunting License, for licensees:    

  16 years of age or older $65.00 

  12 through 15 years of age $15.00 

  under 12 years of age $12.00 

[ Nonresident Bear Hunting License ] [ $150.00 ] 

Nonresident Archery License to Hunt with 
bow and arrow during archery hunting season $30.00 

Nonresident Crossbow License to Hunt with 
crossbow during archery hunting season $30.00 

Nonresident Muzzleloading License to Hunt 
during muzzleloading hunting season $30.00 

Nonresident Shooting Preserve License to 
Hunt within the boundaries of a licensed 
shooting preserve $17.00 

Nonresident Bonus Deer Permit $30.00 

  

Miscellaneous Licenses or Permits to Hunt 

Type license or permit Fee 

Waterfowl Hunting Stationary Blind in 
Public Waters License  $22.50 

Waterfowl Hunting Floating Blind in Public 
Waters License $40.00 

Public Access Lands for Sportsmen Permit 
to Hunt, Trap, or Fish on Designated Lands 
(also listed under Miscellaneous Licenses or 
Permits to Fish) $17.00 

  

Virginia Resident and Nonresident Licenses to Trap 

Type license Fee 

Resident License to Trap, for licensees 16 
years of age or older $40.00 

County or City Resident License to Trap in 
County or City of Residence Only $15.00 

Resident Junior License to Trap, for 
licensees under 16 years of age $10.00 

Resident Senior Citizen License to Trap, for 
licensees 65 years of age or older $6.00 
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Resident Senior Citizen Lifetime License to 
Trap, for licensees 65 years of age or older $15.00 

Totally and Permanently Disabled Resident 
Special Lifetime License to Trap $10.00 

Service-Connected Totally and Permanently 
Disabled Veteran Resident Lifetime License 
to Trap $10.00 

Nonresident License to Trap $155.00 

  

Virginia Resident Licenses to Fish 

Type license Fee 

Resident License to Freshwater Fish $17.00 

County or City Resident License to Freshwater 
Fish in County or City of Residence Only $10.00 

Resident License to Freshwater Fish, for 
licensees 65 years of age or older $6.00 

Resident License to Fish in Designated 
Stocked Trout Waters $17.00 

Resident License to Freshwater and Saltwater 
Fish $29.00 

Resident License to Freshwater Fish for Five 
Consecutive Days $10.00 

Resident License to Freshwater and Saltwater 
Fish for Five Consecutive Days $15.00 

Resident Sportsman License to Hunt and 
Freshwater Fish, and to hunt [ bear, ] deer, and 
turkey, to hunt with bow and arrow during 
archery hunting season, to hunt with 
muzzleloading guns during muzzleloading 
hunting season, and to fish in designated 
stocked trout waters (also listed under Virginia 
Resident Licenses to Hunt) $102.00 

Resident Special Lifetime License to 
Freshwater Fish, for licensees at the time of 
purchase:   

  through 44 years of age $255.00 

  45 through 50 years of age $205.00 

  51 through 55 years of age $155.00 

  56 through 60 years of age $105.00 

  61 through 64 years of age $55.00 

  65 years of age and over $15.00 

Resident Special Lifetime License to Fish in 
Designated Stocked Trout Waters, for 
licensees at the time of purchase:   

  through 44 years of age $255.00 

  45 through 50 years of age $205.00 

  51 through 55 years of age $155.00 

  56 through 60 years of age $105.00 

  61 through 64 years of age $55.00 

  65 years of age and over $15.00 

Totally and Permanently Disabled Resident 
Special Lifetime License to Freshwater Fish $10.00 

Service-Connected Totally and Permanently 
Disabled Veteran Resident Lifetime License to 
Hunt and Freshwater Fish (also listed under 
Virginia Resident Licenses to Hunt)  $10.00 

  

Virginia Nonresident Licenses to Fish 

Type license Fee 

Nonresident License to Freshwater Fish $35.00 

Nonresident License to Freshwater Fish in 
Designated Stocked Trout Waters $35.00 

Nonresident License to Freshwater and 
Saltwater Fish $47.00 

Nonresident License to Freshwater Fish for 
Five Consecutive Days $15.00 

Nonresident License to Freshwater and 
Saltwater Fish for Five Consecutive Days $20.00 

Nonresident Special Lifetime License to 
Freshwater Fish $505.00 

Nonresident Special Lifetime License to in 
Fish in Designated Stocked Trout Waters $505.00 

  

Miscellaneous Licenses or Permits to Fish 

Type license or permit Fee 

Permit to Fish for One Day at 
Board-Designated Stocked Trout 
Fishing Areas with Daily Use Fees 

$3.50; 
effective January 1, 
2007: $5.50 

Public Access Lands for Sportsmen 
Permit to Hunt, Trap, or Fish on 
Designated Lands (also listed under 
Miscellaneous Licenses or Permits 
to Hunt) $17.00 

Special Guest Fishing License $55.00 
VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1957; Filed July 31, 2009, 12:38 p.m.  
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Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-40. Game: in General 
(amending 4VAC15-40-60, 4VAC15-40-170, 4VAC15-40-
210; adding 4VAC15-40-195). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2009.  

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341 or 
email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) add crossbow to several provisions 
pertaining to the use or possession of weapons for hunting; 
(ii) replace the word "gun" with the word "firearm"; (iii) 
prohibit possession or transportation of a loaded firearm 
or loaded crossbow in or on any vehicle at any time on 
national forest and department owned lands; (iv) add a 
primer or battery to the definition of a loaded 
muzzleloading firearm; (v) define a loaded crossbow; (vi) 
change the word "leghold" to "foothold" in regard to 
traps; (vii) provide the option of using trap tags with a 
permanent identification number issued by the department 
instead of the trapper’s name and address; (viii) require 
that body-gripping traps that are completely submerged by 
water be visited by the trapper at least once every 72 
hours; and (ix) clarify that foothold traps with teeth on the 
jaws or foothold traps with a jaw spread exceeding 6½ 
inches may not be set on land. The board did not adopt the 
proposed special license for hunting bears, and this new 
section is deleted. 

[ 4VAC15-40-22. Special license for hunting bear. 

There shall be a special license to hunt bears that shall be in 
addition to the state resident license to hunt or state 
nonresident license to hunt. The fee for the special bear 
license shall be $25 for a resident and $150 for a 
nonresident. ] 

4VAC15-40-60. Hunting with dogs or possession of 
weapons in certain locations during closed season. 

A. Department-owned lands west of the Blue Ridge 
Mountains and national forest lands statewide. It shall be 
unlawful to have in possession a bow, crossbow, or a gun 
which any firearm that is not unloaded and cased or 
dismantled on all national forest lands statewide and on 
department-owned lands and on other lands managed by the 
department under cooperative agreement located in counties 
west of the Blue Ridge Mountains except during the period 
when it is lawful to take bear, deer, grouse, pheasant, quail, 
rabbit, raccoon, squirrel, turkey, or waterfowl on these lands. 

B. Department-owned lands east of the Blue Ridge 
Mountains. It shall be unlawful to have in possession a bow, 
crossbow, or gun which any firearm that is not unloaded and 
cased or dismantled on department-owned lands and on other 
lands managed by the department under cooperative 
agreement located in the counties east of the Blue Ridge 
Mountains except during the period when it is lawful to take 
bear, deer, grouse, pheasant, quail, rabbit, raccoon, squirrel, 
turkey, waterfowl or migratory gamebirds on these lands. 

C. Certain counties. Except as otherwise provided in 
4VAC15-40-70, it shall be unlawful to have either a shotgun 
or a rifle in one's possession when accompanied by a dog in 
the daytime in the fields, forests or waters of the counties of 
Augusta, Clarke, Frederick, Page, Shenandoah and Warren, 
and in the counties east of the Blue Ridge Mountains, except 
Patrick, at any time except the periods prescribed by law to 
hunt game birds and animals. 

D. Shooting ranges and authorized activities. The provisions 
of this section shall not prohibit the conduct of any activities 
authorized by the board or the establishment and operation of 
archery and shooting ranges on the lands described in 
subsections A, B and C of this section. The use of firearms, 
crossbows, and bows in such ranges during the closed season 
period will be restricted to the area within the established 
range boundaries. Such weapons shall be required to be 
unloaded and cased or dismantled in all areas other than the 
range boundaries. The use of firearms, crossbows, or bows 
during the closed hunting period in such ranges shall be 
restricted to target shooting only and no birds or animals shall 
be molested. 

E. It shall be unlawful to chase with a dog or train dogs on 
national forest lands or department-owned lands except 
during authorized hunting, chase, or training seasons that 
specifically permit these activities on these lands or during 
raccoon hound field trials on these lands between September 
1 and March 31, both dates inclusive, that are sanctioned by 
bona fide national kennel clubs and authorized by permits 
required and issued by the department and the U.S. Forest 
Service. 

F. It shall be unlawful to possess or transport a any loaded 
gun firearm, or loaded crossbow in or on any vehicle at any 
time on national forest lands or department-owned lands. 

G. The provisions of this section shall not prohibit the 
possession, transport and use of loaded firearms by 
employees of the Department of Game and Inland Fisheries 
while engaged in the performance of their authorized and 
official duties, nor shall it prohibit possession and transport of 
loaded concealed handguns where the individual possesses a 
concealed handgun permit as defined in § 18.2-308 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

H. Meaning of "possession" of bow, crossbow, or firearm 
and definition of "loaded gun. crossbow" and "loaded 
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firearm." For the purpose of this section, the word 
"possession" shall include, but not be limited to, having any 
bow, crossbow, or firearm in or on one's person, vehicle or 
conveyance. For the purpose of this section, a "loaded gun 
firearm" shall be defined as a firearm in which ammunition is 
chambered or loaded in the magazine or clip when such 
magazine or clip is found engaged or partially engaged in a 
firearm. The definition of a loaded muzzleloading gun firearm 
will include a gun which muzzleloading firearm that is 
capped, or has a charged pan, or has a primer or battery 
installed in the firearm. The definition of a "loaded crossbow" 
is a crossbow that is cocked and has either a bolt or arrow 
engaged or partially engaged on the shooting rail or track of 
the crossbow, or with a "trackless crossbow" when the 
crossbow is cocked and a bolt or arrow is nocked. 

4VAC15-40-170. Marking of traps by person setting.  

Any person setting or in possession of a steel leghold 
foothold or body gripping trap or snare shall have it marked 
by means of a nonferrous metal tag bearing his the name and 
address of the trapper or an identification number issued by 
the department. This requirement shall not apply to 
landowners on their own land, nor to a bona fide tenant or 
lessee within the bounds of land rented or leased by him, nor 
to anyone transporting any such trap from its place of 
purchase.  

4VAC15-40-195. Visiting completely submerged, body-
gripping traps. 

Body-gripping traps that are completely submerged by water 
must be visited at least once every 72 hours.  

4VAC15-40-210. Restricted use of certain steel foothold 
traps. 

It shall be unlawful to set above the ground on land any steel 
foothold trap with teeth set upon the jaws or with a maximum 
inside jaw spread exceeding 6-1/2 inches measured 
perpendicular to the hinges. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1958; Filed July 31, 2009, 12:39 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-50. Game: Bear (amending 
4VAC15-50-10, 4VAC15-50-20, 4VAC15-50-70, 4VAC15-
50-71, 4VAC15-50-110, 4VAC15-50-120; adding 4VAC15-
50-21, 4VAC15-50-22). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2009.  

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 W. Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341 or 
email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments adjust the time periods of the bear 
hunting general firearms season, in multiple localities; 
adjust the time periods of the bear hunting muzzleloading 
firearms seasons, in multiple localities; add two weeks to 
the statewide bear archery season so that it is concurrent 
with the early deer archery season; allow for bear hunters 
with a muzzleloading firearms hunting license to possess a 
muzzleloading gun when and where the special archery 
bear season overlaps the early special muzzleloading bear 
season; adjust the bear hunting seasons’ limits on the 
numbers of bear that may be taken, in multiple localities; 
prohibit the use of dogs for bear hunting in certain areas; 
remove the second week from the hound training season in 
certain counties; and define weapons possession. 

Changes from the proposed include that the board had 
proposed to establish a bear hunting license, separating 
the bear hunting privilege off from the existing bear-deer-
turkey hunting license. In 4VAC15-50 this would have 
required two minor wording changes in 4VAC15-50-81; 
the board chose to not establish the proposed license, and 
therefore the language change in 4VAC15-50-81 was not 
needed and was not adopted. 

4VAC15-50-10. Open season; generally. 

Except as otherwise provided by local legislation and with 
the specific exceptions provided in the sections appearing in 
this chapter, it shall be lawful to hunt bear from the fourth 
Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, 
both dates inclusive, except in the counties of Accomack, 
Amelia, Appomattox, Arlington, Brunswick, Buckingham, 
Campbell, Caroline, Charles City, Charlotte, Chesterfield, 
Clarke, Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Essex, Fairfax, Fauquier, 
Fluvanna, Frederick, Gloucester, Goochland, Greensville, 
Halifax, Hanover, Henrico, Isle of Wight, James City, King 
and Queen, King George, King William, Lancaster, Loudoun, 
Louisa, Lunenburg, Mathews, Mecklenburg, Middlesex, New 
Kent, Northampton, Northumberland, Nottoway, Orange, 
Pittsylvania, Powhatan, Prince Edward, Prince George, Prince 
William, Richmond, Southampton, Spotsylvania, Stafford, 
Surry, and Sussex, Westmoreland, and York; and in the cities 
of Hampton, Newport News, and Norfolk.  

4VAC15-50-20. Open season; first Monday in December 
and for 11 consecutive hunting days following in certain 
counties or portions of counties and on the Clinch 
Mountain and Hidden Valley Wildlife Management Areas 
and on Department of Forestry lands in Washington and 
Russell counties.  

It shall be lawful to hunt bear from the first Monday in 
December and for 11 consecutive hunting days following, 
both dates inclusive, on the Clinch Mountain and Hidden 
Valley Wildlife Management Areas, on Department of 
Forestry lands in Washington and Russell counties, and in the 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 25 Virginia Register of Regulations August 17, 2009 

4378 

counties of Buchanan, Campbell (west of Norfolk Southern 
Railroad), Carroll, Dickenson, Floyd, Franklin, Grayson, 
Henry, Lee, Montgomery (south of Interstate 81), Patrick, 
Pittsylvania (west of Norfolk Southern Railroad), Pulaski 
(south of Interstate 81), Roanoke (south of Interstate 81), 
Russell, Scott, Smyth (south of Interstate 81), Tazewell (that 
part north of Route 19 that is west of Route 16), Washington 
(south of Interstate 81 and that part north of Interstate 81 that 
is west of Route 19), Wise, and Wythe (south of Interstate 81)  

4VAC15-50-21. Open season; second Monday in 
December and for five consecutive hunting days following 
in certain counties or portions of counties. 

It shall be lawful to hunt bear from the second Monday in 
December and for five consecutive hunting days following in 
the counties of Amelia, Appomattox, Brunswick, 
Buckingham, Campbell (east of Norfolk Southern Railroad), 
Charlotte, Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Greensville, Halifax, Isle 
of Wight, Lunenburg, Mecklenburg, Nottoway, Pittsylvania 
(east of Norfolk Southern Railroad), Prince Edward, Prince 
George, Southampton, Surry, and Sussex. 

4VAC15-50-22. Open season; Saturday prior to the fourth 
Monday in November through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive, in certain counties or 
portions of counties. 

It shall be lawful to hunt bear from the Saturday prior to the 
fourth Monday in November through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive, in the counties of Alleghany, 
Augusta (west of Interstate 81), Bath, Botetourt (west of 
Interstate 81), Highland, Roanoke (north of Interstate 81), 
Rockbridge (west of Interstate 81), Rockingham (west of 
Interstate 81), and Shenandoah (west of Interstate 81).  

4VAC15-50-70. Bow and arrow hunting. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt bear during the special archery 
season with bow and arrow from the second first Saturday in 
October through the Saturday Friday prior to the second third 
Monday in November, both dates inclusive. 

B. It shall be unlawful to carry firearms while hunting with 
bow and arrow during the special archery seasons, except that 
a muzzleloading gun, as defined in 4VAC15-50-71, may be 
in the possession of a properly licensed muzzleloading gun 
hunter when and where the early special archery bear season 
overlaps the early special muzzleloading bear season. 

C. Arrows used for hunting big game must have a minimum 
width head of 7/8 of an inch and the bow used for such 
hunting must be capable of casting a broadhead arrow a 
minimum of 125 yards. 

D. It shall be unlawful to use dogs when hunting with bow 
and arrow from the second Saturday in October through the 
Saturday prior to the second Monday in November, both 
dates inclusive. 

E. It shall be lawful for persons with permanent physical 
disabilities, who are in full compliance with the requirements 
of 4VAC15-40-20 B, to hunt bear subject to the provisions of 
subsections A through D of this section. For the purpose of 
the application of subsections A through D to this subsection 
the phrase "bow and arrow" includes crossbow. 

4VAC15-50-71. Muzzleloading gun hunting. 

A. It Except as otherwise provided by specific exceptions in 
this chapter, it shall be lawful to hunt bear during the special 
muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns from the 
Tuesday Saturday prior to the third second Monday in 
November and for three consecutive hunting days following, 
through the Friday prior to the third Monday in November, 
both dates inclusive, except in Alleghany, Amherst, Augusta 
(west of Interstate 81 and that part east of Interstate 81 that is 
south of Interstate 64), Bath, Bedford, Bland, Botetourt, 
Buchanan, Campbell (west of Norfolk Southern Railroad), 
Carroll, Craig, Dickenson, Floyd, Franklin, Giles, Grayson, 
Henry, Highland, Lee, Montgomery, Nelson, Patrick, 
Pittsylvania (west of Norfolk Southern Railroad), Pulaski, 
Roanoke, Rockbridge, Rockingham (west of Interstate 81), 
Russell, Scott, Shenandoah (west of Interstate 81), Smyth, 
Tazewell, Washington, Wise and Wythe counties and in the 
cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk and Virginia Beach. 

B. It shall be lawful to hunt bear during the special 
muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns from the 
Saturday prior to the first Monday in November through the 
Friday prior to the third Monday in November, both dates 
inclusive, in the counties (including the cities and towns 
within) of Accomack, Caroline, Charles City, Chesterfield, 
Culpeper, Essex, Fauquier, Fairfax, Fluvanna, Gloucester, 
Goochland, Hanover, Henrico, James City, King George, 
King William, King and Queen, Lancaster, Loudoun, Louisa, 
New Kent, Northampton, Northumberland, Orange, 
Powhatan, Prince William, Richmond, Spotsylvania, Stafford, 
Mathews, Middlesex, Westmoreland, and York and in the 
cities of Hampton, Newport News, Norfolk, and Portsmouth. 

B. C. It shall be unlawful to hunt bear with dogs during any 
special season for hunting with muzzleloading guns. 

C. D. A muzzleloading gun, for the purpose of this section, 
means a single shot weapon, excluding muzzleloading 
pistols, .45 caliber or larger, firing a single projectile or sabot 
(with a .38 caliber or larger projectile) of the same caliber 
loaded from the muzzle of the weapon and propelled by at 
least 50 grains of black powder (or black powder equivalent 
or smokeless powder). 

D. E. It shall be unlawful to have in immediate possession 
any firearm other than a muzzleloading gun while hunting 
with a muzzleloading gun in a special muzzleloading season. 
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4VAC15-50-81. Validating tags and checking bear by 
licensee or permittee.  

A. Any person killing a bear shall, before removing the 
carcass from the place of kill, validate an appropriate tag on 
their special license for hunting bear [ , deer, and turkey ] or 
special permit by completely removing the designated notch 
area from the tag. Place of kill shall be defined as the location 
where the animal is first reduced to possession. It shall be 
unlawful for any person to validate (notch) a bear tag from 
any special license for hunting bear [ , deer, and turkey ] or 
special permit prior to the killing of a bear. A bear tag that is 
mistakenly validated (notched) prior to the killing of a bear 
must be immediately voided by the licensee or permittee by 
writing, in ink, the word "VOID" on the line provided on the 
license tag.  

B. Upon killing a bear and validating (notching) a license 
tag or special permit, as provided above, the licensee shall, 
upon vehicle transport of the carcass or at the conclusion of 
legal hunting hours, whichever occurs first, and without 
unnecessary delay, present the carcass and validated 
(notched) license tag or special permit to an authorized bear 
checking station or to an appropriate representative of the 
department in the county or adjoining county in which the 
bear was killed. Upon presentation of the carcass and 
validated (notched) license tag or special permit to the bear 
checking station, the licensee shall surrender or allow to be 
removed one premolar tooth from the carcass. At such time, 
the person checking the carcass will be given a game check 
card. The successful hunter shall then immediately record the 
game check card number, in ink, on the line provided 
adjacent to the license tag that was validated (notched) in the 
field. The game check card must be kept in possession with 
the carcass until the carcass is processed. If the carcass is left 
unattended, the game check card must be securely attached to 
the carcass.  

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to destroy the identity 
(sex) of any bear killed unless and until the license tag or 
special permit is validated (notched) and checked as required 
by this section. Successful bear hunters are allowed to 
dismember the carcass to pack it out from the place of kill, 
after an appropriate license tag has been validated (notched) 
as required above, as long as the sex of the animal remains 
identifiable and all the parts of the carcass are present when 
the bear is checked at an authorized bear checking station. 
Any bear found in the possession of any person without a 
validated (notched) license tag or documentation that the bear 
has been checked at an authorized bear checking station as 
required by this section shall be forfeited to the 
Commonwealth to be disposed of as provided by law.  

4VAC15-50-110. Use of dogs in hunting bear. 

A. It shall be unlawful to use dogs for the hunting of bear 
during the open season for hunting deer in the counties west 
of the Blue Ridge Mountains and in the counties of Amherst 

(west of U.S. Route 29), Bedford, and Nelson (west of Route 
151); and within the boundaries of the national forests. 

B. It shall be unlawful to use dogs for the hunting of bear 
during the first 12 hunting days of the open season for 
hunting deer in the counties of Greene and Madison. 

C. It shall be unlawful to use dogs for the hunting of bear in 
the counties of Campbell (west of Norfolk Southern 
Railroad), Carroll (east of the New River), Fairfax, Floyd, 
Franklin, Grayson (east of the New River), Henry, Loudoun, 
Montgomery (south of Interstate 81), Patrick, Pittsylvania 
(west of Norfolk Southern Railroad), Pulaski (south of 
Interstate 81), and Roanoke (south of Interstate 81), Wythe 
(southeast of the New River or that part bounded by Route 21 
on the west, Interstate 81 on the north, the county line on the 
east, the New River on the southeast and Cripple Creek on the 
south); in the city of Lynchburg; and on Amelia, Chester F. 
Phelps, G. Richard Thompson, and Pettigrew wildlife 
management areas. 

4VAC15-50-120. Bear hound training season.  

A. Except as otherwise specifically provided in the sections 
appearing in this chapter, it shall be lawful to chase black 
bear with dogs, without capturing or taking, in all counties 
and cities or in the portions in which bear hunting is 
permitted except in the counties of Accomack, Amelia, 
Appomattox, Brunswick, Buckingham, Campbell, Caroline, 
Carroll, Charles City, Charlotte, Chesterfield, Clarke, 
Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Essex, Fairfax, Fauquier, Floyd, 
Fluvanna, Franklin, Frederick, Gloucester, Goochland, 
Grayson, Greensville, Halifax, Hanover, Henrico, Henry, Isle 
of Wight, James City, King & Queen, King George, King 
William, Lancaster, Loudoun, Louisa, Lunenburg, Mathews, 
Mecklenburg, Middlesex, Montgomery (south of Interstate 
81), New Kent, Northampton, Northumberland, Nottoway, 
Orange, Patrick, Pittsylvania, Powhatan, Prince Edward, 
Prince George, Prince William, Pulaski (south of Interstate 
81), Richmond, Roanoke (south of a continuous line formed 
by Route 785, Route 311 and Route 779), Roanoke (south of 
a continuous line formed by Route 785, Route 311 and Route 
779) (south of Interstate 81), Smyth (south of Interstate 81), 
Southampton, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Surry, Sussex, 
Washington (south of Interstate 81), Westmoreland, Wythe 
(south of Interstate 81), and York, and in the cities of 
Hampton, Newport News and Norfolk, from the second 
Saturday in August through the last Saturday in September. It 
shall be unlawful to have in immediate possession a firearm, 
bow or any weapon or device capable of taking a black bear 
while participating in the bear hound training season.  

B. Except as otherwise specifically provided in the sections 
appearing in this chapter, it It shall be lawful to chase black 
bear with dogs, without capturing or taking, in the counties of 
Brunswick, Greensville, Lunenburg, and Mecklenburg from 
the first Monday in December and for 11 five consecutive 
hunting days following, both dates inclusive, except bear dog 
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training will be unlawful on Sunday in these counties during 
this period. It shall be unlawful to have in immediate 
possession a firearm, bow or any weapon or device capable of 
taking a black bear while participating in the bear hound 
training season. 

C. It shall be unlawful to have in possession a firearm, bow, 
crossbow or any weapon capable of taking a black bear while 
participating in the bear hound training season. The meaning 
of "possession" for the purpose of this section shall include, 
but not be limited to, having a firearm, bow, crossbow or any 
weapon capable of taking a black bear in or on one’s person, 
vehicle, or conveyance.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1960; Filed July 31, 2009, 12:39 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-70. Game: Bobcat (amending 
4VAC15-70-50). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341 or 
email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendment exempts licensed taxidermists who ship 
bobcat pelts out of state for tanning purposes or 
individuals who ship bobcat pelts out of state to be tanned 
for personal use from the requirement to affix a 
Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species 
(CITES) tag to the animal pelt. 

4VAC15-70-50. Pelts to be sealed before sale, etc. 

It shall be unlawful to buy, sell, barter, traffic or trade in, 
bargain for, solicit for, purchase, or transport out of the 
Commonwealth, any bobcat pelts until the pelts have been 
sealed by an agent or other individual designated by the 
department. This requirement shall not apply to licensed 
taxidermists who ship bobcat pelts out of state for tanning 
purposes or to individuals who ship bobcat pelts out of state 
to be tanned for personal use. All bobcat pelts or unskinned 
carcasses required to be sealed under the provisions of this 
section must be sealed not later than April 1 of the license 
year in which the animal is taken. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1959; Filed July 31, 2009, 12:40 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-90. Game: Deer (amending 
4VAC15-90-21, 4VAC15-90-70, 4VAC15-90-80, 4VAC15-
90-90, 4VAC15-90-91; adding 4VAC15-90-23). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341 or 
email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments adjust the time periods of the deer 
hunting general firearms season in multiple localities; 
adjust the time periods of the deer hunting muzzleloading 
firearms seasons in multiple localities; allow deer hunters 
with a muzzleloading license to possess a muzzleloading 
gun when and where the early special archery deer season 
overlaps the early special muzzleloading deer season; 
adjust the deer hunting seasons’ limits on the numbers of 
deer that may be taken in multiple localities; adjust the 
deer hunting seasons’ days in multiple localities during 
which deer of either sex may be taken; and establish a 
youth deer hunting day, with certain restrictions, for 
hunters 15 years of age and under. 

Changes from the proposed include (i) removing the 
exception that prohibited the taking of either-sex deer in 
three counties on youth deer hunting day and (ii) allowing 
a muzzleloading gun to be carried while bow-and-arrow 
deer hunting during the overlap of any muzzleloading 
season with any archery season. In addition, the board did 
not adopt proposed amendments liberalizing the taking of 
either-sex deer with bonus deer permits in four counties or 
establishing a bear hunting license, separating the bear 
hunting privilege from the existing bear-deer-turkey 
hunting.  

4VAC15-90-21. Four-week open season; certain cities, 
towns, and counties or parts thereof.  

It shall be lawful to hunt deer on the Saturday prior to the 
third Monday in November and for 24 consecutive hunting 
days following in the counties (including the cities and towns 
within) of Floyd, Franklin, Henry, and Patrick and 
Pittsylvania (west of Norfolk Southern Railroad).  

4VAC15-90-23. Youth deer hunting day. 

It shall be lawful for deer hunters 15 years of age and under, 
when in compliance with all applicable laws and license 
requirements, to hunt deer on the last Saturday in September 
when accompanied and directly supervised by an adult who 
has a valid Virginia hunting license on his person or is 
exempt from purchasing a hunting license except in Fairfax, 
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Loudoun, and Prince William counties. Deer of either-sex 
may be taken on this special youth deer hunting day [ , except 
in Buchanan, Dickenson, and Wise counties where only 
antlered deer may be taken ]. Adult hunters accompanying 
youth deer hunters on this day may not carry or discharge 
weapons. Blaze orange is required for all persons 
[ participating in the hunt hunting any species or any person 
accompanying a hunter ] on this day unless otherwise 
exempted by state law. Deer hunting with dogs is prohibited. 

4VAC15-90-70. Bow and arrow hunting. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the early special 
archery season with bow and arrow from the first Saturday in 
October through the Friday prior to the third Monday in 
November, both dates inclusive, except where there is a 
closed general hunting season on deer. 

B. In addition to the season provided in subsection A of this 
section, it shall be lawful to hunt deer during the late special 
archery season with bow and arrow from the Monday 
following the close of the general firearms season on deer 
through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive, in 
all cities, towns, and counties west of the Blue Ridge 
Mountains (except Clarke County and on non-national forest 
lands in Frederick County) and in the counties (including the 
cities and towns within) of Amherst (west of U.S. Route 29), 
Bedford, Campbell (west of Norfolk Southern Railroad), 
Franklin, Henry, Nelson (west of Route 151), Patrick and 
Pittsylvania (west of Norfolk Southern Railroad) and on the 
Chester F. Phelps Wildlife Management Area and on national 
forest lands in Frederick County and from December 1 
through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive, in 
the cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the Dismal Swamp 
line) and Virginia Beach. 

C. Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the 
special archery seasons as provided in subsections A and B of 
this section (except on PALS (Public Access Lands) in 
Dickenson County where it shall be unlawful to take 
antlerless deer during the special archery seasons provided for 
in subsections A and B of this section). 

D. It shall be unlawful to carry firearms while hunting with 
bow and arrow during the special archery seasons, except that 
a muzzleloading gun, as defined in 4VAC15-90-80, may be 
in the possession of a properly licensed muzzleloading gun 
hunter when and where [ the early a ] special archery deer 
season overlaps [ the early a ] special muzzleloading deer 
season. 

E. Arrows used for hunting big game must have a minimum 
width head of 7/8 of an inch and the bow used for such 
hunting must be capable of casting a broadhead arrow a 
minimum of 125 yards. 

F. It shall be unlawful to use dogs when hunting with bow 
and arrow during any special archery season. 

G. For the purpose of the application of subsections A 
through I to this section, the phrase "bow and arrow" includes 
crossbows. 

H. It shall be lawful to hunt antlerless deer during the special 
urban archery season with bow and arrow from the first 
Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the first 
Saturday in October, both dates inclusive, and from the 
Monday following the first Saturday in January through the 
last Saturday in March, both dates inclusive, within the 
incorporated limits of any city or town in the Commonwealth 
(except in the cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk, and Virginia 
Beach) and the counties of Fairfax and York provided that its 
governing body submits by certified letter to the department 
prior to April 1, its intent to participate in the special urban 
archery season. Any city, town, or county no longer 
participating in this season shall submit by certified letter to 
the department prior to April 1 notice of its intent not to 
participate in the special urban archery season. 

I. It shall be lawful to hunt antlerless deer during the special 
antlerless archery season with bow and arrow from the first 
Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the first 
Saturday in October, both dates inclusive, in Loudoun and 
Prince William counties, except on department-owned lands. 

4VAC15-90-80. Muzzleloading gun hunting. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the early special 
muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns from the 
Saturday prior to the first Monday in November through the 
Friday prior to the third Monday in November, both dates 
inclusive, in all cities, towns, and counties where deer hunting 
with a rifle or muzzleloading gun is permitted, except in the 
cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the Dismal Swamp 
Line) and Virginia Beach.  

B. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the late special 
muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns starting 18 
consecutive hunting days immediately prior to and inclusive 
of the first Saturday in January, in all cities, towns, and 
counties west of the Blue Ridge Mountains (except Clarke 
County and on non-national forest lands in Frederick 
County), and east of the Blue Ridge Mountains in the 
counties (including the cities and towns within) of Amherst 
(west of U.S. Route 29), Bedford, Campbell (west of Norfolk 
Southern Railroad), Franklin, Henry, Nelson (west of Route 
151), Patrick and Pittsylvania (west of Norfolk Southern 
Railroad) and on national forest lands in Frederick County 
and in the cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the Dismal 
Swamp line), and Virginia Beach. 

C. Deer of either sex may be taken during the entire early 
special muzzleloading season in all cities, towns, and counties 
east of the Blue Ridge Mountains (except on national forest 
lands, state forest lands, state park lands except Occoneechee 
State Park, department-owned lands and Philpott Reservoir) 
and on the second Saturday only east of the Blue Ridge 
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Mountains on state forest lands, state park lands except 
Occoneechee State Park, department-owned lands and on 
Philpott Reservoir. Deer of either sex may be taken during the 
entire early special muzzleloading season on Occoneechee 
State Park. Deer of either sex may be taken during the early 
special muzzleloading season only on the second Monday in 
November in all counties west of the Blue Ridge Mountains 
(except Clarke, Buchanan, Dickenson, Floyd, Lee, Russell, 
Scott, Smyth, Tazewell, Washington, Wise, and in Grayson 
Highlands State Park and national forest lands in Grayson 
County, and on private lands in Frederick, Roanoke, and 
Warren counties) and on national forest and department-
owned lands in Roanoke County and on national forest lands 
in Frederick and Warren counties and on national forest lands 
in Amherst, Bedford, and Nelson counties. Additionally, deer 
of either sex may be taken during the entire early special 
muzzleloading season in Clarke and Floyd counties and on 
private lands in Frederick, Roanoke and Warren counties. 
unless otherwise noted below:  

- Deer of either sex may be taken on the second Saturday 
only of the early special muzzleloading season on state 
forest lands, state park lands (except Occoneechee State 
Park), department-owned lands and Philpott Reservoir. 

- Antlered bucks only—no either sex deer hunting days 
during the early special muzzleloading season on national 
forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, and Nelson counties. 

D. Deer of either sex may be taken during the entire late 
special muzzleloading season in the counties (including the 
cities and towns within) of Amherst (west of U.S. Route 29 
except on national forest lands), Bedford (except on national 
forest lands), Campbell (west of Norfolk Southern Railroad), 
Franklin, Henry, Nelson (west of Route 151 except on 
national forest lands), Patrick, and Pittsylvania (west of 
Norfolk Southern Railroad). It shall be lawful to hunt deer of 
either sex during the last six days of the late special 
muzzleloading season in all counties west of the Blue Ridge 
Mountains (except Buchanan, Dickenson, Floyd, in Grayson 
Highlands State Park and national forest lands in Grayson, 
Lee, Russell, Scott, Smyth, Tazewell, Washington, Wise, and 
on private lands in Roanoke and Warren Counties) and on 
national forest and department-owned lands in Roanoke 
County and on national forest lands in Warren County and on 
national forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, Frederick, and 
Nelson counties and in the cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk (east 
of the Dismal Swamp line), and Virginia Beach. Provided 
further it shall be lawful to hunt deer of either sex during the 
last day only of the late special muzzleloading season in the 
counties of Lee, Russell, Scott, Smyth, Tazewell, and 
Washington and in Grayson Highlands State Park and 
national forest lands in Grayson County. Additionally, deer of 
either-sex may be taken during the entire late special 
muzzleloading season in Floyd County and on private lands 
in Roanoke and Warren Counties. on the second Saturday 

only during the early special muzzleloading season west of 
the Blue Ridge Mountains unless otherwise noted below: 

- Deer of either sex may be taken during the entire early 
special muzzleloading season in Clarke and Floyd counties 
and on private lands in Carroll, Frederick, Grayson, 
Montgomery, Roanoke, and Warren counties. 

- Antlered bucks only—no either sex deer hunting days 
during the early special muzzleloading season in 
Buchanan, Dickenson, Lee, Russell, Smyth, Tazewell, 
Washington, and Wise counties and on national forest 
lands in Alleghany, Botetourt, Frederick, Grayson, Page, 
Rockingham, Scott, Shenandoah, Warren, and on national 
forest and department-owned lands in Augusta, Bath, 
Highland, and Rockbridge counties and on Grayson 
Highlands State Park and on private lands west of Routes 
613 and 731 in Rockingham County. 

E. Deer of either sex may be taken during the last six days of 
the late special muzzleloading season unless otherwise listed 
below: 

- Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the 
entire late special muzzleloading season in the counties 
(including the cities and towns within) of Amherst (west of 
U.S. Route 29 except on national forest lands), Bedford 
(except on national forest lands), Campbell (west of 
Norfolk Southern Railroad), Floyd, Franklin, Henry, 
Nelson (west of Route 151, except on national forest 
lands), and Patrick and on private lands in Carroll, 
Grayson, Montgomery, Roanoke and Warren counties. 

- Deer of either sex may be taken the last day only during 
the late special muzzleloading season in Dickenson (north 
of Route 83), Lee, Russell, Scott, Smyth, Tazewell, 
Washington, and Wise counties and on national forest 
lands in Alleghany, Amherst, Bedford, Botetourt, 
Frederick, Grayson, Nelson, Page, Rockingham, 
Shenandoah, and Warren counties, and on national forest 
and department-owned lands in Augusta, Bath, Highland, 
and Rockbridge counties and on private lands west of 
Routes 613 and 731 in Rockingham County and Grayson 
Highlands State Park. 

- Antlered bucks only—no either-sex deer hunting days 
during the late special muzzleloading season in Buchanan 
and Dickenson (south of Route 83). 

E. F. Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the 
special muzzleloading seasons within the incorporated limits 
of any city or town in the Commonwealth that allows deer 
hunting except in the counties of Buchanan, Dickenson, and 
Wise and in the cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk, and Virginia 
Beach. 

F. G. It shall be unlawful to hunt deer with dogs during any 
special season for hunting with muzzleloading guns. 
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G. H. A muzzleloading gun, for the purpose of this section, 
means a single shot weapon, excluding muzzleloading pistols, 
.45 caliber or larger, firing a single projectile or sabot (with 
a .38 caliber or larger projectile) of the same caliber loaded 
from the muzzle of the weapon and propelled by at least 50 
grains of black powder (or black powder equivalent or 
smokeless powder). 

H. I. It shall be unlawful to have in immediate possession 
any firearm other than a muzzleloading gun while hunting 
with a muzzleloading gun in a special muzzleloading season.  

4VAC15-90-90. Bag limit, bonus deer permits and special 
antlerless provision for youth hunters and earn a buck.  

A. The bag limit for deer east of the Blue Ridge Mountains 
(except on national forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, and 
Nelson counties) is two per day, six per license year, three of 
which must be antlerless [ , except that a fourth deer of either 
sex may be taken in Greensville, Southampton, Surry, and 
Sussex counties using a designated tag on the bonus deer 
permit ]. 

B. The bag limit for deer west of the Blue Ridge Mountains 
and on national forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, and Nelson 
counties is one per day, five per license year, three of which 
must be antlerless. Only one antlered buck may be taken 
during the special early muzzleloading season per hunter. 
Only one antlered buck taken in Shenandoah County per 
license year may have less than four antler points one inch or 
longer on one side of the antlers.  

C. Except as noted in subsection E below, anterless 
antlerless deer may be taken only during designated either-
sex deer hunting days during the special archery seasons, 
special muzzleloading seasons, and the general firearms 
season.  

D. Bonus deer permits shall be valid on private land in 
counties and cities where deer hunting is permitted (except 
Buchanan, Dickenson, and Wise counties) during the special 
archery seasons, special muzzleloading seasons, and the 
general firearms season. Bonus deer permits shall be valid on 
public lands, including state parks, state forests, national 
wildlife refuges, military areas, etc., as authorized by the 
managing agency. Unless otherwise posted or authorized in 
writing for wildlife management areas by the department, or 
for national forest lands by the U.S. Forest Service, the use of 
bonus permits is prohibited on department-owned and 
national forest lands. Bonus deer permits shall be valid for 
antlerless deer only [ , except that one designated either-sex 
tag may be used per license year in Greensville, 
Southampton, Surry, and Sussex counties ]. Deer taken on 
bonus permits shall count against the daily bag limit but are 
in addition to the seasonal bag limit. 

E. Deer hunters 15 years of age and under, including those 
exempt from purchasing a hunting license, when in 
compliance with all applicable laws and license requirements, 

may take one antlerless deer per license year on days other 
than designated either-sex deer hunting days during the 
special muzzleloading seasons or the general firearms season 
in all counties that have at least one either-sex deer hunting 
day during the general firearms deer season. 

F. Earn a buck. At least one antlerless deer must be taken on 
private lands in Bedford, Fairfax, Fauquier, Franklin, 
Loudoun, Patrick, Prince William, or Roanoke counties 
before the second antlered deer of the license year may be 
taken on private lands in any of these counties. Furthermore, 
at least two antlerless deer must have been taken on private 
lands in Bedford, Fairfax, Fauquier, Franklin, Loudoun, 
Patrick, or Prince William counties before the third antlered 
deer of the license year may be taken on private lands in any 
of these counties. 

4VAC15-90-91. General firearms season either-sex deer 
hunting days. 

A. During the general firearms deer season, deer of either 
sex may be taken within:  

Accomack County: full season. 

Albemarle County: full season. 

Alleghany County: the second Saturday and the last two 
hunting days.  

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 
hunting day.  

Amelia County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 
six 12 hunting days.  

-Amelia WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 
last six hunting days.  

Amherst County (east of U.S. Route 29): the second, third, 
and fourth Saturdays and the last 24 hunting days.  

Amherst County (west of U.S. Route 29): full season.  

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 
hunting day.  

Appomattox County: the second and third Saturdays and 
the last six 12 hunting days.  

-Appomattox-Buckingham State Forest: the second 
Saturday and third Saturdays.  

-Featherfin WMA: the second, third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last 24 hunting days. 

Arlington County: full season.  

Augusta County: the second Saturday and the last six 
hunting days.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the second 
Saturday and the last hunting day.  
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Bath County: the second Saturday and the last two hunting 
days.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the second 
Saturday and the last hunting day.  

Bedford County: full season.  

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 
hunting day.  

Bland County: the second Saturday and the last six hunting 
days.  

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 
hunting day.  

Botetourt County: full season.  

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 
hunting day.  

Brunswick County: the second and third Saturdays and the 
last six 12 hunting days.  

Buchanan County: antlered bucks only—no either-sex 
days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be 
taken.  

Buckingham County: the second and third Saturdays and 
the last six 12 hunting days.  

-Horsepen Lake WMA: the second and third Saturdays 
and the last six hunting days. 

-Appomattox-Buckingham State Forest: the second 
Saturday and third Saturdays.  

-Featherfin WMA: the second, third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last 24 hunting days. 

Campbell County (east of Norfolk Southern Railroad): the 
second, third, and fourth Saturdays and the last 24 hunting 
days.  

Campbell County (west of Norfolk Southern Railroad): full 
season.  

Caroline County: the second and, third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last six 24 hunting days. 

Carroll County: full season.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the second 
Saturday and the last hunting day.  

Charles City County: the second and third Saturdays and 
the last 12 hunting days full season.  

-Chickahominy WMA: antlered bucks only—no either-
sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may 
be taken.  

Charlotte County: the second and third Saturdays and the 
last six 12 hunting days.  

Chesapeake (City of): the first and second Saturdays 
following October 1st and the last 12 hunting days full 
season. 

Chesterfield County: the second and third Saturdays and 
the last 12 hunting days full season. 

Clarke County: full season.  

Craig County: the second Saturday and the last six hunting 
days full season. 

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 
hunting day.  

Culpeper County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 
and the last 24 hunting days full season. 

-Chester F. Phelps WMA: the second Saturday.  

Cumberland County: the second and third Saturdays and 
the last six 12 hunting days.  

-Cumberland State Forest: the second Saturday and third 
Saturdays. 

Dickenson County: antlered bucks only—no either-sex 
days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be 
taken.  

Dinwiddie County: the second and third Saturdays and the 
last six 12 hunting days.  

Essex County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays and 
the last 24 hunting days full season. 

Fairfax County: full season (restricted to certain parcels of 
land by special permit).  

Fauquier County: full season.  

-G. Richard Thompson WMA: the second Saturday and 
the last hunting day.  

-Chester F. Phelps WMA: the second Saturday.  

Floyd County: full season.  

Fluvanna County: second and third Saturdays and the last 
six 12 hunting days.  

Franklin County: full season.  

-Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six 
hunting days.  

-Turkeycock Mountain WMA: the second Saturday and 
third Saturdays and the last two six hunting days.  

Frederick County: full season  

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 
hunting day.  

Giles County: the second Saturday and the last six hunting 
days full season. 
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-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 
hunting day.  

Gloucester County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 
and the last 24 hunting days full season. 

Goochland County (east of U.S. Route 522): the second, 
third, and fourth Saturdays and the last 24 hunting days.  

Goochland County (west of U.S. Route 522): the second 
and third Saturdays and last six 12 hunting days.  

Grayson County: full season.  

-National forest lands and portions of Grayson Highland 
Highlands State Park open to hunting: the second 
Saturday and the last hunting day.  

Greene County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays and 
the last 24 hunting days full season. 

Greensville County: full season.  

Halifax County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 
and the last 24 hunting days.  

Hanover County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 
and the last 24 hunting days. 

Henrico County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 
and the last 24 hunting days full season. 

Henry County: full season.  

-Fairystone Farms WMA, Fairystone State Park, and 
Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six 
hunting days.  

-Turkeycock Mountain WMA: the second Saturday and 
third Saturdays and the last two six hunting days.  

Highland County: the second Saturday and the last two 
hunting days.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the second 
Saturday and the last hunting day.  

Isle of Wight County: full season.  

-Ragged Island WMA: antlered bucks only—no either-
sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may 
be taken.  

James City County: the second and third Saturdays and last 
12 hunting days full season. 

King and Queen County: the second, third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last 24 hunting days full season. 

King George County: the second and, third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last 12 24 hunting days. 

King William County: the second and, third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last 12 24 hunting days. 

Lancaster County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 
and the last 24 hunting days full season.  

Lee County: the second Saturday and the last two hunting 
days.  

-National forest lands: antlered bucks only—no either-
sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may 
be taken.  

Loudoun County: full season.  

Louisa County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 
six 12 hunting days.  

Lunenburg County: the second and third Saturdays and the 
last six 12 hunting days.  

Madison County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 
and the last 24 hunting days full season. 

-Rapidan WMA: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 
and the last 24 hunting days. 

Mathews County: the second and, third, and fourth 
Saturdays and last 12 24 hunting days. 

Mecklenburg County: the second and third Saturdays and 
the last six 12 hunting days.  

-Dick Cross WMA: the second and third Saturdays and 
the last six hunting days. 

Middlesex County: the second and, third, and fourth 
Saturdays and last 12 24 hunting days.  

Montgomery County: full season.  

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 
hunting day.  

Nelson County (east of Route 151): the second, third, and 
fourth Saturdays and the last 24 hunting days.  

-James River WMA: the second Saturday and the last six 
hunting days.  

Nelson County (west of Route 151): full season.  

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 
hunting day.  

New Kent County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 
and the last 24 hunting days full season. 

Northampton County: full season.  

Northumberland County: the second, third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last 24 hunting days full season. 

Nottoway County: the second and third Saturdays and the 
last six 12 hunting days.  

Orange County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays and 
the last 24 hunting days full season. 
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Page County: the second Saturday and the last two hunting 
days.  

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 
hunting day.  

Patrick County: full season.  

-Fairystone Farms WMA, Fairystone State Park, and 
Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six 
hunting days.  

Pittsylvania County (east of Norfolk Southern Railroad): 
the second, third, and fourth Saturdays and the last 24 
hunting days.  

-White Oak Mountain WMA: the second Saturday and 
the last hunting day.  

Pittsylvania County (west of Norfolk Southern Railroad): 
full season.  

Powhatan County: the second and, third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last 12 24 hunting days. 

-Powhatan WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 
last six hunting days. 

Prince Edward County: the second and third Saturdays and 
the last six 12 hunting days.  

-Briery Creek WMA: the second and third Saturdays and 
the last six hunting days. 

-Featherfin WMA: the second, third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last 24 hunting days. 

-Prince Edward State Forest: the second Saturday and 
third Saturdays.  

Prince George County: the second and, third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last six 24 hunting days. 

Prince William County: full season.  

Pulaski County: the second Saturday and the last six 
hunting days full season. 

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 
hunting day.  

Rappahannock County: the second, third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last 24 hunting days full season. 

Richmond County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 
and the last 24 hunting days full season. 

Roanoke County: full season.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the second 
Saturday and the last hunting day.  

Rockbridge County: the second Saturday and the last two 
hunting days.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the second 
Saturday and the last hunting day.  

Rockingham County: the second Saturday and the last six 
hunting days.  

-National forest lands and private lands west of Routes 
613 and 731: the second Saturday and the last hunting 
day.  

Russell County: the second Saturday and the last two 
hunting days.  

-Clinch Mountain WMA, Hidden Valley WMA, and 
state forest lands: the second Saturday and the Channels 
State Forest: the last hunting day.  

Scott County: the second Saturday and the last six hunting 
days.  

-National forest lands: antlered bucks only—no either-
sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may 
be taken.  

Shenandoah County: full season.  

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 
hunting day.  

Smyth County: the second Saturday and the last two six 
hunting days.  

-National forest lands, Clinch Mountain WMA, and 
Hidden Valley WMA Hungry Mother State Park: the 
second Saturday and the last hunting day.  

Southampton County: full season.  

Spotsylvania County: the second, third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last 24 hunting days.  

Stafford County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 
and the last 24 hunting days.  

Suffolk (City of; east of the Dismal Swamp line): the first 
and second Saturdays following October 1st and the last 12 
hunting days): full season. 

Suffolk (City of; west of the Dismal Swamp line): the 
second, third, and fourth Saturdays and the last 24 hunting 
days.  

Surry County: full season.  

-Carlisle Tract of the Hog Island WMA: antlered bucks 
only—no either-sex days. Only deer with antlers above 
the hairline may be taken.  

Sussex County: full season.  

Tazewell County: the second Saturday and the last two 
hunting days.  
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-National forest lands, Clinch Mountain WMA, and 
Hidden Valley WMA: the second Saturday and the last 
hunting day.  

Virginia Beach (City of): the first and second Saturdays 
following October 1 and the last 12 hunting days full 
season.  

Warren County: full season.  

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 
hunting day.  

Washington County: the second Saturday and the last two 
six hunting days.  

-National forest lands, Clinch Mountain WMA, Hidden 
Valley WMA, and state forest lands: the second Saturday 
and the Channels State Forest: the last hunting day.  

Westmoreland County: the second, third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last 24 hunting days full season. 

Wise County: antlered bucks only—no either-sex days. 
Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be taken.  

Wythe County: the second Saturday and the last six 
hunting days full season. 

-National forest lands and Big Survey WMA: the second 
Saturday and the last hunting day.  

York County: full season.  

B. Except as provided in the subsection A of this section, 
deer of either sex may be taken full season during the general 
firearms deer season within the incorporated limits of any city 
or town, state park, national wildlife refuge, or military 
installation that allows deer hunting.  

4VAC15-90-231. Validating tags and checking deer by 
licensee or permittee. 

A. Any person killing a deer shall, before removing the 
carcass from the place of kill, validate an appropriate tag on 
his special license for hunting [ bear, ] deer [ , ] and turkey, 
bonus deer permit, or special permit by completely removing 
the designated notch area from the tag. Place of kill shall be 
defined as the location where the animal is first reduced to 
possession. It shall be unlawful for any person to validate 
(notch) a deer tag from any special license for hunting 
[ bear, ] deer [ , ] and turkey, bonus deer permit, or special 
permit prior to the killing of a deer. A deer tag that is 
mistakenly validated (notched) prior to the killing of a deer 
must be immediately voided by the licensee or permittee by 
writing, in ink, the word "VOID" on the line provided on the 
license tag.  

B. Upon killing a deer and validating (notching) a license 
tag, bonus deer permit or special permit, as provided above, 
the licensee or permittee shall, upon vehicle transport of the 
carcass or at the conclusion of legal hunting hours, whichever 

occurs first, and without unnecessary delay, present the 
carcass and validated (notched) license tag, bonus deer permit 
or special permit to an authorized checking station or to an 
appropriate representative of the department in the county or 
adjoining county in which the deer was killed or report the 
kill through the department's automated harvest reporting 
system. At such time, the person checking or reporting the 
carcass will be given a game check card furnished by the 
department or a confirmation number from the automated 
reporting system. The successful hunter shall then 
immediately record the game check card number or 
confirmation number, in ink, on the line provided on the tag 
that was validated (notched) in the field. If checked at a big 
game check station, the game check card must be kept in 
possession with the carcass until the carcass is processed. If 
the carcass is left unattended, the game check card must be 
securely attached to the carcass. If the kill is reported using 
the automated harvest reporting system, no check card is 
required as long as the hunter who killed the animal is in 
possession of the carcass. If the automated harvest reported 
carcass is left unattended or transferred to the possession of 
another individual, written documentation including the 
successful hunter's full name, the date the animal was killed, 
and the confirmation number must be created and kept in 
possession with the carcass until the carcass is processed. If 
the carcass is left unattended, this written documentation 
must be securely attached to the carcass.  

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to destroy the identity 
of the sex of any deer killed unless and until the license tag, 
bonus deer permit or special permit is validated (notched) and 
checked as required by this section. Successful deer hunters 
are allowed to dismember the carcass to pack it out from the 
place of kill, after an appropriate license tag has been 
validated (notched) as required above, as long as they do not 
destroy the identity of the sex and all the parts of the carcass 
are present when the deer is checked at a big game check 
station or reported through the automated harvest reporting 
system. Any deer found in the possession of any person 
without a validated (notched) license tag or documentation 
that the deer has been checked (via a big game check station 
or the automated harvest reporting system) as required by this 
section shall be forfeited to the Commonwealth to be 
disposed of as provided by law.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1961; Filed July 31, 2009, 12:40 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-170. Game: Otter (amending 
4VAC15-170-21, 4VAC15-170-30). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad 
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Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341 or 
email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) establish a uniform trapping season 
and bag limit for river otters in all counties west of the 
Blue Ridge Mountains by opening counties that are 
currently closed and (ii) exempt licensed taxidermists 
who ship otter pelts out of state for tanning purposes or 
individuals who ship otter pelts out of state to be tanned 
for personal use from the requirement to affix a CITES 
tag to the animal pelt. 

4VAC15-170-21. Open season for trapping in certain 
counties west of the Blue Ridge Mountains; carcass 
presented to department agent; season bag limit. 

A. It shall be lawful to trap otter in all counties west of the 
Blue Ridge Mountains from December 1 through the last day 
of February, both dates inclusive, in the counties of Augusta, 
Alleghany, Bath, Bland, Botetourt, Carroll, Craig, Floyd, 
Giles, Grayson, Montgomery, Pulaski, Roanoke, Rockbridge, 
and Wythe. 

B. The entire skinned carcass of all otters trapped in 
counties west of the Blue Ridge Mountains must be presented 
to an agent of the department within three days of capture. 

C. The season bag limit for trapping otter shall be two per 
trapper in counties west of the Blue Ridge Mountains where 
otter trapping is permitted. 

4VAC15-170-30. Pelts to be sealed before sale, etc. 

It shall be unlawful to buy, sell, barter, exchange, traffic or 
trade in, bargain for, solicit for, purchase or transport out of 
the Commonwealth, any otter pelts until the pelts have been 
sealed by an agent of the department. This requirement shall 
not apply to licensed taxidermists who ship otter pelts out of 
state for tanning purposes or to individuals who ship otter 
pelts out of state to be tanned for personal use. All otter pelts 
required to be sealed under the provisions of this chapter must 
be sealed not later than April 1 of the license year in which 
the animal is taken. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1962; Filed July 31, 2009, 12:41 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-210. Game: Raccoon 
(amending 4VAC15-210-20). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2009.  

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341 or 
email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) allow raccoon chase, without 
capturing or taking, on national forest and department-
controlled lands in the counties of Bland, Buchanan, 
Craig, Dickenson, Giles, Lee, Montgomery north of I-81, 
Pulaski north of I-81, Russell, Scott, Smyth north of I-81, 
Tazewell, Washington north of I-81, Wise, and Wythe 
north of I-81, from the second Saturday in August 
through the last Saturday in September and (ii) add 
crossbow to the list of weapons and items that one may 
not have in possession during raccoon chase without 
capturing or taking. 

4VAC15-210-20. Open season; counties west of Route 29; 
possession of certain devices unlawful. 

A. It shall be lawful to chase raccoon with dogs, without 
capturing or taking, on private lands in all counties and 
portions of counties west of Route 29 and in the counties of 
Loudoun (west of Route 15); Prince William (west of Route 
15); and on Fairystone Farms, G. Richard Thompson, 
Rapidan, and Turkeycock Wildlife Management Areas from 
August 1 through May 31, both dates inclusive. It shall be 
unlawful to have in possession a firearm, bow, axe, saw, or 
any tree climbing device while hunting during this chase 
season. The meaning of "possession" for the purpose of this 
section shall include, but not be limited to, having these 
devices in or on one's person, vehicle or conveyance while 
engaged in the act of chasing.  

B. It shall be lawful to chase raccoon with dogs, without 
capturing or taking, on national forest and department-
controlled lands in the counties of Bland, Buchanan, Craig, 
Dickenson, Giles, Lee, Montgomery (north of Interstate 81), 
Pulaski (north of Interstate 81), Russell, Scott, Smyth (north 
of Interstate 81), Tazewell, Washington (north of Interstate 
81), Wise, and Wythe (north of Interstate 81) from the second 
Saturday in August through the last Saturday in September. 

C. It shall be unlawful to have in possession a firearm, bow, 
crossbow, axe, saw, or any tree climbing device while 
hunting during this chase season. The meaning of 
"possession" for the purpose of this section shall include, but 
not be limited to, having these devices in or on one's person, 
vehicle, or conveyance while engaged in the act of chasing. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1963; Filed July 31, 2009, 12:42 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-230. Game: Squirrel 
(amending 4VAC15-230-21, 4VAC15-230-60, 4VAC15-
230-61). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2009. 
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Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341 or 
email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) make it lawful during the spring 
squirrel season to hunt squirrel on private lands and on 
the Featherfin, Hardware River, Little North Mountain, 
Merrimac Farms, and Rapidan wildlife management 
areas; (ii) remove the prohibition on using dogs to hunt 
squirrels during the spring season; (iii) allow the hunting 
of fox squirrel in the counties of Albemarle, Bedford, 
Franklin, Greene, Patrick, and Prince William; (iv) add 
private lands and Little North Mountain, Merrimac Farms, 
and Rapidan wildlife management areas to the lands on 
which fox squirrel may be hunted in the spring season; and 
(v) remove the prohibition on using dogs to hunt fox 
squirrels during the spring season. 

4VAC15-230-21. Spring season for gray and red squirrel 
on certain wildlife management areas. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt gray and red squirrels from the 
first Saturday in June through the third Saturday in June, both 
dates inclusive, on private lands and on Amelia Wildlife 
Management Area, Big Survey Wildlife Management Area, 
Briery Creek Wildlife Management Area, Chickahominy 
Wildlife Management Area, Dick Cross Wildlife 
Management Area, Dismal Swamp Wildlife Management 
Area, Fairystone Wildlife Management Area (including 
Fairystone State Park and Philpott Reservoir), Featherfin 
Wildlife Management Area, Goshen Wildlife Management 
Area, Hardware River Wildlife Management Area, Havens 
Wildlife Management Area, Hog Island Wildlife 
Management Area (Carlisle Tract only), Horsepen Wildlife 
Management Area, James River Wildlife Management Area, 
Little North Mountain Wildlife Management Area, Merrimac 
Farms Wildlife Management Area, Pettigrew Wildlife 
Management Area, Phelps Wildlife Management Area, 
Powhatan Wildlife Management Area (including the 
Goochland Tract), Rapidan Wildlife Management Area, 
Thompson Wildlife Management Area, Turkeycock 
Mountain Wildlife Management Area, and White Oak 
Mountain Wildlife Management Area.  

B. It shall be unlawful to hunt gray and red squirrels with 
dogs during the spring squirrel season.  

4VAC15-230-60. Fox squirrel. Open season; first 
Saturday in September through January 31. 

It shall be lawful to hunt fox squirrel from the first Saturday 
in September through January 31, both dates inclusive, in the 
counties of Albemarle, Alleghany, Augusta, Bath, Bedford, 
Bland, Botetourt, Buchanan, Carroll, Clarke, Craig, Culpeper, 
Dickenson, Fauquier, Floyd, Franklin, Frederick, Giles, 
Grayson, Greene, Highland, Lee, Loudoun, Madison, 

Montgomery, Orange, Page, Patrick, Prince William, Pulaski, 
Rappahannock, Roanoke, Rockbridge, Rockingham, Russell, 
Scott, Shenandoah, Smyth, Tazewell, Washington, Warren, 
Wise and Wythe.  

4VAC15-230-61. Spring season for fox squirrel on certain 
wildlife management areas. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt fox squirrels from the first 
Saturday in June through the third Saturday in June, both 
dates inclusive, on private lands in all counties open to fox 
squirrel hunting during the regular squirrel season, and on Big 
Survey Wildlife Management Area, Goshen Wildlife 
Management Area, Havens Wildlife Management Area, Little 
North Mountain Wildlife Management Area, Merrimac Farms 
Wildlife Management Area, Phelps Wildlife Management 
Area, Rapidan Wildlife Management Area, and Thompson 
Wildlife Management Area.  

B. It shall be unlawful to hunt fox squirrels with dogs during 
the spring squirrel season.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1964; Filed July 31, 2009, 12:42 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-240. Game: Turkey 
(amending 4VAC15-240-81, 4VAC15-240-91). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341 or 
email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments require hunters to use the automated 
harvest reporting system to report wild turkeys killed in 
the spring gobbler season, rather than present turkey 
carcasses at game check station; remove references to 
presenting a turkey carcass at an authorized check 
station; and require license exempt hunters to use the 
automated harvest reporting system to report turkeys 
killed in the spring gobbler season.  

The board did not adopt proposed amendments 
pertaining to changes to the fall turkey season and 
special licenses for hunting bear. 

4VAC15-240-10. Open season; generally. 

Except as otherwise specifically provided in the sections 
appearing in this chapter, it shall be lawful to hunt turkeys 
from the Saturday prior to the last Monday in October and for 
[ 11 12 ] consecutive hunting days following; on 
Thanksgiving Day; and on the Monday nearest December 9 
through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive. 
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4VAC15-240-11. Open season; certain counties and areas; 
Saturday prior to the last Monday in October and for [ 11 
12 ] hunting days following, on Thanksgiving Day, and on 
the Monday closest to December 2 through the last 
Saturday in December, both dates inclusive. 

Except as otherwise specifically provided in the sections 
appearing in this chapter, it shall be lawful to hunt turkeys in 
counties, cities and towns east of the Blue Ridge Mountains 
except Amherst (west of U.S. Route 29), Bedford, Campbell 
(west of Norfolk Southern Railroad), Franklin, Henry, Nelson 
(west of Route 151), Patrick and Pittsylvania (west of Norfolk 
Southern Railroad) from the Saturday prior to the last 
Monday in October and for [ 11 12 ] consecutive hunting 
days following, on Thanksgiving Day, and on the Monday 
nearest December 2 through the last Saturday in December, 
both dates inclusive. 

4VAC15-240-20. Open season; certain counties and areas; 
Saturday prior to the last Monday in October and for [ 11 
12 ] hunting days following, and on Thanksgiving Day. 

It shall be lawful to hunt turkeys on the Saturday prior to the 
last Monday in October and for [ 11 12 ] consecutive hunting 
days following, and on Thanksgiving Day in the counties of 
Accomack, Buchanan, Isle of Wight, Northampton, Prince 
George, Southampton, Surry, and Sussex and the City of 
Suffolk. 

4VAC15-240-31. Open season; certain counties and areas; 
Saturday prior to the last Monday in October and for [ 11 
12 ] hunting days following, on Thanksgiving Day, and on 
the Monday closest to December 2 and for 11 hunting 
days following. 

It shall be lawful to hunt turkeys on the Saturday prior to the 
last Monday in October and for [ 11 12 ] consecutive hunting 
days following, on Thanksgiving Day, and on the Monday 
closest to December 2 and for 11 hunting days following in 
the counties of Charles City, Gloucester, James City, King 
George, Lancaster, Mathews, Middlesex, New Kent, 
Northumberland, Richmond, Westmoreland, and York 
(except on Camp Peary). 

4VAC15-240-81. Validating tags and checking turkey by 
licensee. 

A. Any person killing a turkey shall, before removing the 
carcass from the place of kill, validate an appropriate tag on 
his special license for hunting [ bear, ] deer [ , ] and turkey by 
completely removing the designated notch area from the tag. 
Place of kill shall be defined as the location where the animal 
is first reduced to possession. It shall be unlawful for any 
person to validate (notch) a turkey tag from any special 
license for hunting [ bear, ] deer [ , ] and turkey prior to the 
killing of a turkey. A turkey tag that is mistakenly validated 
(notched) prior to the killing of a turkey must be immediately 
voided by the licensee by writing, in ink, the word "VOID" 
on the line provided on the tag. 

B. Upon killing a turkey and validating (notching) a license 
tag, as provided above, the licensee shall, upon vehicle 
transport of the carcass or at the conclusion of legal hunting 
hours, whichever occurs first, and without unnecessary delay, 
present the carcass and validated (notched) license tag to an 
authorized checking station or to an appropriate 
representative of the department in the county or adjoining 
county in which the turkey was killed or report their spring 
kill (as provided by 4VAC15-240-40) through the 
department's automated harvest reporting system. At such 
time, the person checking or reporting the carcass will be 
given a game check card furnished by the department or a 
confirmation number from the automated harvest reporting 
system. The successful hunter shall then immediately record 
the game check card number or confirmation number, in ink, 
on the line provided on the license tag that was validated 
(notched) in the field. If checked at a big game check station, 
the game check card must be kept in possession with the 
carcass until the carcass is processed. If the carcass is left 
unattended, the game check card must be securely attached to 
the carcass. If a spring-season kill is reported using the 
automated harvest reporting system, no check card is required 
as long as the hunter who killed the animal is in possession of 
the carcass. If the automated harvest reported spring carcass 
is left unattended or transferred to the possession of another 
individual, written documentation including the successful 
hunter's full name, the date the animal was killed, and the 
confirmation number must be created and kept in possession 
with the carcass until the carcass is processed. If the carcass is 
left unattended, this written documentation must be securely 
attached to the carcass. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to destroy the identity 
of the sex of any turkey killed unless and until the license tag 
is validated (notched) and checked reported using the 
automated harvest reporting system as required by this 
section. Any turkey found in the possession of any person 
without a validated (notched) license tag or documentation 
that the turkey has been checked (via a big game check 
station or the automated harvest reporting system) reported 
using the automated harvest reporting system as required by 
this section shall be forfeited to the Commonwealth to be 
disposed of as provided by law. 

4VAC15-240-91. Checking turkey by persons exempt 
from license requirement or holding a license 
authorization number. 

A. Upon killing a turkey, any person exempt from the 
license requirement as described in § 29.1-301 of the Code of 
Virginia, or issued a complimentary license as prescribed in 
§ 29.1-339, or the holder of a permanent license issued 
pursuant to § 29.1-301 E, or the holder of a Virginia license 
authorization number issued by a telephone or electronic 
media agent pursuant to § 29.1-327 B shall, upon vehicle 
transport of the carcass or at the conclusion of legal hunting 
hours, whichever comes first, and without unnecessary delay, 
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present the carcass to an authorized checking station or to any 
appropriate representative of the department in the county or 
adjoining county in which the turkey was killed or report their 
spring kill (as provided by 4VAC15-240-40) through the 
department's automated harvest reporting system. At such 
time, the person checking or reporting the carcass shall be 
given a game check card furnished by the department or a 
confirmation number from the automated harvest reporting 
system. If checked at a big game check station, the game 
check card must be kept in possession with the carcass until 
the carcass is processed. If the carcass is left unattended, the 
game check card must be securely attached to the carcass. If a 
spring-season kill is reported using the automated harvest 
reporting system, the successful hunter shall immediately 
create written documentation including the successful hunter's 
full name, the date the animal was killed, and the 
confirmation number. This written documentation must be 
kept in possession with the carcass until the carcass is 
processed. If the automated harvest reported carcass is 
transferred to the possession of another individual, the written 
documentation must be transferred with the carcass to the 
individual and kept in possession with the carcass until the 
carcass is processed. If the carcass is left unattended, this 
written documentation must be securely attached to the 
carcass. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to destroy the identity 
of the sex of any turkey killed until the turkey is checked 
reported using the automated harvest reporting system as 
required by this section. Any turkey that has not been checked 
(via a big game check station or the automated harvest 
reporting system) reported using the automated harvest 
reporting system as required by this section found in the 
possession of any person exempt from license requirements 
or holding a license authorization number shall be forfeited to 
the Commonwealth to be disposed of as provided by law.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1965; Filed July 31, 2009, 12:43 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-270. Game: Firearms 
(amending 4VAC15-270-20, 4VAC15-270-80). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341 or 
email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) remove the City of Suffolk from the 
list of counties and cities where hunting bear and deer 
with rifles is prohibited and (ii) include crows on the list 
of species that may be hunted with unplugged shotguns. 

4VAC15-270-20. Rifles prohibited in hunting bear and 
deer in certain counties and cities. 

Except as otherwise provided in 4VAC15-270-30 of this 
chapter or by local ordinance, it shall be unlawful to use a 
rifle of any caliber for the hunting of bear and deer in the 
counties of Chesterfield, Isle of Wight, New Kent, 
Southampton and Sussex and in the cities City of Chesapeake 
and Suffolk (that portion formerly Nansemond County); 
however, nothing in this section shall prohibit the use of 
muzzleloading guns, as described in 4VAC15-90-80 F, for 
hunting deer during the late special muzzleloading deer 
season in the City of Chesapeake. 

4VAC15-270-80. Shotgun shell capacity for nonmigratory 
game, crows, and migratory game birds. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt nonmigratory game and crows 
with unplugged shotguns. 

B. It shall be unlawful to hunt migratory game birds with a 
shotgun capable of holding more than three shells in the 
magazine and chamber combined, unless otherwise 
authorized by the director and consistent with applicable 
federal regulations. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1966; Filed July 31, 2009, 12:43 p.m.  

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1220. Pertaining to 
Separation Between Nets (adding 4VAC20-1220-10 
through 4VAC20-1220-40). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 28.2-201 and 28.2-210 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Dates: July 29, 2009, through August 28, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This chapter establishes (i) a minimum distance of 300 
yards separating any net and the side or end of any fixed 
fishing device (pound net, fyke net, or staked gill net); (ii) a 
limited process for obtaining a variance to the required 
distance, and (iii) an appeal process available to anyone 
whose request for a variance is denied by the 
commissioner. 
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CHAPTER 1220 
PERTAINING TO SEPARATION BETWEEN NETS 

4VAC20-1220-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this emergency chapter is to (i) establish a 
minimum distance separating any net and the side or end of 
any fixed fishing device; (ii) establish a limited process 
whereby the commissioner may grant a variance to the 
required distance; and (iii) establish an appeal process that 
shall be available to anyone whose request for a variance is 
denied by the commissioner. 

4VAC20-1220-20. Definitions. 

The following words when used in this chapter shall have 
the following meaning unless the context clearly indicates 
otherwise. 

"Fixed fishing device" means a pound net, fyke net, or 
staked gill net. 

4VAC20-1220-30. Required distance between nets. 

It is unlawful to place a net within 300 yards of the side or 
end of any fixed fishing device unless in the same row. 

4VAC20-1220-40. Application and appeals process. 

A. Any person licensed to set a fixed fishing device may 
apply to the commissioner for a variance to the requirement 
established in 4VAC20-1220-30.  Such application shall be 
provided by the fixed fishing device license holder in writing 
to the commissioner. 

B. A variance will be granted if the commissioner 
determines that the setting of a net 300 yards from the fixed 
fishing device will significantly impact the catch of the fixed 
device. 

C. The commissioner will not grant a variance to place any 
net less than 300 yards from a fixed fishing device. 

D. Any applicant denied a variance by the commissioner 
may appeal that denial to the commission.  Such appeal shall 
be made by the fixed fishing device license holder in writing 
and submitted to the commission at least 30 days prior to the 
date of the meeting at which the request will be heard. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-2066; Filed July 29, 2009, 2:26 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

Forms 
NOTICE: The following forms have been filed by the 
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy. The forms are 
available for public inspection at the Department of Mines, 
Minerals and Energy, Washington Building, 1100 Bank 
Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219-3638, at regional 
office of the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, or at 
the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly 
Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219. Copies of the 

forms and the addresses of the regional offices may be 
obtained from David Spears, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, Washington 
Building, 1100 Bank Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219-
3638, telephone (804) 692-3212 or email 
david.spears@dmme.virginia.gov. 

Titles of Regulations: 4VAC25-20. Board of Coal Mining 
Examiners Certification Requirements. 

4VAC25-31. Reclamation Regulations for Mineral 
Mining. 

4VAC25-130. Coal Surface Mining Reclamation 
Regulations. 

4VAC25-150. Virginia Gas and Oil Regulation. 

4VAC25-170. Geothermal Energy Regulations. 
Effective Date: August 17, 2009.  

FORMS (4VAC25-20)  

Application for Certification Examination, DM-BCME-1 
(rev. 6/07) (rev. 5/09).  

Verification of Work Experience, DM-BCME-2 (rev. 
10/05).  

Verification of Training Completed for General Coal Miner 
Certification, DM-BCME-3 (rev. 6/07) (rev. 5/09).  

Application for Recertification: DMLR 
Endorsement/Blaster's Certification, DMLR-BCME-3 (rev. 
6/95).  

Verification for Training Completed for Continuing 
Education, DM-BCME-4 (rev. 10/05).  

Application for DMLR Endorsement: Blaster's Certification 
(Coal Surface Mining Operation), DMLR-BCME-4 (rev. 
6/95).  

Advanced First Aid Practical Stations & CPR (Written & 
Practical), DM-BCME-5 (rev. 10/05).  

FORMS (4VAC25-31)  

Permit/License Application, DMM-101 (rev. 2/06).  

Notice of Application to Mine, DMM-103 (rev. 2/06).  

Statement Listing the Names and Addresses of Adjoining 
Property Owners, DMM-103a (rev. 9/99); included in DMM-
103 Notice of Application to Mine.  

Yearly Progress Report, DMM-105 (rev. 2/06).  

Surety Bond, DMM-107 (rev. 2/06) (rev. 4/09).  

Legend, DMM-109 (rev. 2/06).  

Relinquishment of Mining Permit, DMM-112 (rev. 2/06).  

Request for Amendment, DMM-113 (rev. 2/06).  
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Consolidated Biennial Report of Waivered Counties, Cities, 
and Towns, DMM-116 (rev. 2/06).  

Biennial Waivered Counties, Cities, and Towns, Report of 
Individual Mining Companies, DMM-117 (rev. 2/06).  

Consent for Right of Entry, DMM-120 (rev. 12/99).  

Mineral Mining Annual Tonnage Report, DMM-146 (rev. 
2/06).  

Mineral Mining Annual Report for Contractors, DMM-146c 
(rev. 12/08).  

DMM Application Checklist, DMM-148 (rev. 2/06).  

Request for Release of Mine Map, DMM-155 (rev. 2/06).  

Notice of Operator Intent, DMM-156 (rev. 2/06).  

License Renewal/Transfer Application, DMM-157 (rev. 
2/06).  

Permit Transfer Acceptance, DMM-161 (rev. 2/06).  

Permit Renewal Checklist, DMM-163 (rev. 3/06).  

Certification of No Change, DMM-164 (rev. 3/06).  

Surety Bond Rider, DMM-167 (rev. 2/06).  

General Permit for Sand and Gravel Operations Less Than 
Ten Acres in Size, DMM-168 (eff. 9/03).  

Certificate of Deposit, DMM-169 (eff. 2/06).  

FORMS (4VAC25-130)  

Anniversary Notification Report Form, DMLR-PT-028 (eff. 
11/07) (rev. 3/09). 

Anniversary Notification, DMLR-PT-028b (eff. 11/07). 

Change Order Justification, DMLR-AML-065 (eff. 8/99). 

Ground Water Monitoring Report, DMLR-PT-101 (rev. 
11/99). 

Application for Exemption Determination (Extraction of 
Coal Incidental to the Extraction Of Other Minerals), DMLR-
211 (rev. 4/96) (rev. 3/09). 

Applicant Violator System (AVS) Ownership Control 
Information, DMLR-AML-003 (rev. 1/95). 

Consent for Right of Entry-Exploratory, DMLR-AML-122 
(rev. 3/98). 

Consent for Right of Entry-Construction, DMLR-AML-123 
(rev. 3/98). 

Consent for Right of Entry-Construction Lien Waiver, 
DMLR-AML-174 (rev. 3/91). 

License for Performance-Acid Mine Drainage Investigations 
and Monitoring (Abandoned Mine Land Program), DMLR-
AML-175c (11/96). 

License for Performance-Acid Mine Drainage Reclamation 
and Construction (Abandoned Mine Land Program), DMLR-
AML-176c, (rev. 12/96). 

Consent for Right of Entry-Ingress/Egress, DMLR-AML-
177 (rev. 3/98). 

Application for Recertification: DMLR 
Endorsement/Blaster's Certification, DMLR-BCME-03 (rev. 
5/05) (rev. 3/09). 

Application for DMLR Endorsement: Blaster's Certification 
(Coal Surface Mining Operation), DMLR-BCME-04 (rev. 
5/05) (rev. 3/09). 

Geology and Hydrology Information Part A through E, 
DMLR-CP-186 (rev. 3/86). 

Sediment and Pond Design Data Sheet, DMLR-CP-187 (rev. 
12/85). 

Notice of Temporary Cessation, DMLR-ENF-220 (rev. 
2/96) (rev. 3/09). 

Application for Small Operator's Assistance, DMLR-OA-
106 (rev. 12/85). 

Lands Unsuitable Petition, DMLR-OA-131 (rev. 12/85). 

Application for Permit for Coal Exploration and 
Reclamation Operations (which Remove More Than 250 
Tons) and NPDES, DMLR-PS-062 (rev. 12/85). 

Chapter 19-Statement for Third Party-Certificate of Deposit, 
DMLR-PS-093 (rev. 12/85). 

Cognovit Note, Part I and II, DMLR-PS-095 (rev. 12/85). 

Application-Coal Surface Mining Reclamation Fund, 
DMLR-PS-162 (rev. 7/89). 

Application for Performance Bond Release of Bond-
Estimated Cost, DMLR-PS-212 (rev. 3/88) DMLR-PT-212 
(rev. 3/09) 

Application for Release of Bond-Reclamation Fund, 
DMLR-PS-213 (rev. 3/88). 

Example-Waiver (300 Feet from Dwelling), DMLR-PT-223 
(rev. 2/96). 

Analysis, Premining vs Postmining Productivity 
Comparison (Hayland/Pasture Land Use), DMLR-PT-012 
(eff. 8/03) (rev. 3/09). 

Surety Bond, DMLR-PT-013 (rev. 9/04) (rev. 8/07). 

Surety Bond-Federal Lands, DMLR-PT-013A (rev. 10/95) 
(rev. 3/09). 

Surety Bond Rider, DMLR-PT-013B (rev. 9/04) (rev. 8/07). 

Map Legend, DMLR-PT-017 (rev. 2/05) (rev. 3/09). 

Certificate of Deposit Example, DMLR-PT-026 (rev. 9/04) 
(rev. 8/07). 
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Form Letter From Banks Issuing a CD as Performance Bond 
for Mining on Federal Lands, DMLR-PT-026A (rev. 8/03) 
(rev. 8/07). 

Operator's Seeding Report, DMLR-PT-011 (rev. 3/06) (rev. 
3/09).  

Request for Relinquishment, DMLR-PT-027 (rev. 4/96) 
(rev. 3/09). 

Water Supply Inventory List, DMLR-PT-030 (rev. 4/96) 
(rev. 3/09). 

Application for Permit for Coal Surface Mining and 
Reclamation Operations and National Pollutant Discharge 
Elimination Systems System (NPDES), DMLR-PT-034 (rev. 
2/99). 

Request for DMLR Permit Data, DMLR-PT-034info (eff. 
11/07). 

Certification - Application for Permit: Coal Surface Mining 
and Reclamation Operations, DMLR-PT-034D (rev. 8/07) 
(rev. 3/09). 

Coal Exploration Notice, DMLR-PT-051 (rev. 11/98) (rev. 
3/09). 

Well Construction Data Sheet, DMLR-WCD-034D (rev. 
5/04). 

Sediment Basin Design Data Sheet, DMLR-PT-086 (rev. 
10/95) (rev. 3/09). 

Impoundment Construction and Annual Certification, 
DMLR-PT-092 (rev. 10/95) (rev. 3/09). 

Road Construction Certification, DMLR-PT-098 (rev. 
10/95) (rev. 3/09). 

Ground Water Monitoring Report, DMLR-PT-101 (rev. 
2/95) (rev. 3/09). 

Rainfall Monitoring Report, DMLR-PT-102 (rev. 8/98). 

Pre-Blast Survey, DMLR-PT-104 (rev. 10/95) (rev. 3/09). 

Excess Spoil Fills and Refuse Embankments Construction 
Certification, DMLR-PT-105 (rev. 2/09) (rev. 3/09). 

Stage-Area Storage Computations, DMLR-PT-111 (rev. 
10/95) (rev. 3/09). 

NPDES Discharge Monitoring Report, DMLR-PT-119 (rev. 
2/95) (rev. 3/09). 

Water Monitoring Report-Electronic File/Printout 
Certification, DMLR-PT-119C (rev. 5/95; included in 
DMLR-PT-119) (rev. 3/09). 

Coal Surface Mining Reclamation Fund Application, 
DMLR-PT-162 (rev. 4/96) (rev. 3/09). 

Conditions-Coal Surface Mining Reclamation Fund, 
DMLR-PT-167 (rev. 10/95) (rev. 3/09). 

Coal Surface Mining Reclamation Fund Tax Reporting 
Form, DMLR-PT-178 (rev. 10/95) (rev. 3/09). 

Surface Water Monitoring Report, DMLR-PT-210 (rev. 
8/98) (rev. 3/09). 

Application For Performance Bond Release, DMLR-PT-212 
(rev. 4/96) (rev. 3/09). 

Public Notice: Application for Transfer, Assignment, or Sale 
of Permit Rights under Chapter 19 of Title 45.1 of the Code 
of Virginia, DMLR-PT-219 (8/96) (rev. 3/09). 

Public Notice: Application for Bond Reduction Under 
Chapter 19 of Title 45.1 of the Code of Virginia - Cost 
Estimate, Phase I, DMLR-PT-225 (rev. 4/96) (rev. 3/09). 

Public Notice: Application for Bond Reduction Under 
Chapter 19 of Title 45.1 of the Code of Virginia - Cost 
Estimate, Phase II, DMLR-PT-226 (rev. 4/96) (rev. 3/09). 

Public Notice: Application for Bond Reduction Under 
Chapter 19 of Title 45.1 of the Code of Virginia - Cost 
Estimate, Phase III, DMLR-PT-227 (rev. 4/96) (rev. 3/09). 

Public Notice: Application for Bond Reduction Under 
Chapter 19 of Title 45.1 of the Code of Virginia - Pool 
Bonding, Incremental Bond Reduction, DMLR-PT-228 (rev. 
4/96) (rev. 3/09). 

Public Notice: Application for Bond Reduction Under 
Chapter 19 of Title 45.1 of the Code of Virginia - Pool 
Bonding, Entire Permit Bond Reduction, DMLR-PT-229 
(rev. 9/95). 

Public Notice: Application for Bond Reduction Under 
Chapter 19 of Title 45.1 of the Code of Virginia - Pool 
Bonding, Entire Permit Bond Release, DMLR-PT-230 (rev. 
4/96). 

Verification of Public Display of Application, DMLR-PT-
236 (8/01). 

Affidavit (Permit Application Information: Ownership and 
Control Information and Violation History Information), 
DMLR-PT-240 (rev. 7/07) (rev. 3/09). 

Stream Channel Diversion(s) Certification, DMLR-PT-233 
(rev. 2/96) (rev. 3/09). 

Quarterly Acid-Base Monitoring Report, DMLR-PT-239 
(rev. 6/95) (rev. 3/09). 

Affidavit (No Legal Change in a Company's Identity), 
DMLR-PT-250 (rev. 12/98) (rev. 3/09). 

Blasting Plan Data, DMLR-PT-103 (rev. 4/96). 

Affidavit (Reclamation Fee Payment), DMLR-PT-244 (rev. 
7/07) (rev. 3/09). 

Application-National Pollutant Discharge Elimination 
System (NPDES) Permit-Short Form C, DMLR-PT-128 (rev. 
5/96) (rev. 3/09). 
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National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) 
Short Form C-Instructions Application Instructions, DMLR-
PT-128A (rev. 5/96) (rev. 3/09). 

Impoundment Inspection Report, DMLR-PT-251 (rev. 
12/93) (rev. 3/09). 

Water Sample Tag, DMLR-TS-107 (rev. 3/83). 

Surface Water Baseline Data Summary, DMLR-TS-114 
(rev. 4/82). 

Diversion Design Computation Sheet, DMLR-TS-120 (rev. 
12/85). 

Sediment Channel Design Data Sheet, DMLR-TS-127 (rev. 
12/85). 

Virginia Stream Survey, DMLR-TS-217 (rev. 1/87). 

Line Transect-Forest Land Count, DMLR-PT-224 (rev. 
2/96) (rev. 3/09). 

Applicant Violator System (AVS) Ownership & Control 
Information, DMLR-AML-003 (rev. 4/97). 

Application for Permit Renewal Coal Surface Mining and 
Reclamation Operations, DMLR-PT-034R (eff. 6/97). 

Application for Coal Exploration Permit and National 
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Permit, DMLR-PT-
062 (formerly DMLR-PS-062) (rev. 6/97) (rev. 3/09). 

Conditions-Coal Surface Mining Reclamation Fund, 
DMLR-PT-167 (rev. 10/95). 

Vibration Observations, DMLR-ENF-032V (eff. 9/97). 

Application for Small Operator Assistance, DMLR-PT-106 
(formerly CP-106) (rev. 9/97). 

Application-National Pollutant Discharge Elimination 
System Application Instructions, DMLR-PT-128 (rev. 9/97). 

Blasting Plan Data, DMLR-PT-103 (rev. 10/97). 

Request for Relinquishment, DMLR-PT-027 (rev. 1/98). 

Written Findings, DMLR-PT-237 (rev. 1/98). 

Irrevocable Standby Letter of Credit, DMLR-PT-255 (rev. 
9/04) (rev. 8/07). 

Confirmation of Irrevocable Standby Letter of Credit, 
DMLR-PT-255A (eff. 8/03). 

Affidavit DMLR-AML-312 (eff. 7/98). 

Indemnity Agreement - Self Bond, DMLR-PT-221 (eff. 
12/07). 

Permittee Consent to Service by Electronic Mail, DMLR-
PT-265 (eff. 1/09) (rev. 3/09). 

FORMS (4VAC25-150)  

Registration Form, DGO-GO-A, rev. 1/98 (rev. 6/09).  

Application for a New Permit, Permit Modification, or 
Transfer of Permit Rights, DGO-GO-1 (rev. 11/99) (rev. 
6/09).  

Operator's Surety Bond, DGO-GO-2 (rev. 11/99) (rev. 6/09).  

Operator's Cash Bond, DGO-GO-3 (rev. 11/99) (rev. 6/09).  

Notice of Application for a Permit or Permit Modification, 
DGO-GO-4 (rev. 11/99) (rev. 6/09).  

Persons Receiving Official Notice of Permit Application or 
Permit Modification, DGO-GO-5, rev. 1/98 (rev. 6/09).  

Notice by Publication of an Application for a Permit, DGO-
GO-6, rev. 1/98 (rev. 6/09).  

Well Location Plat, DGO-GO-7, rev. 1/98.  

Information Sheet for Applications to Transfer Permit 
Rights, DGO-GO-8, rev. 1/98 (rev. 6/09).  

Technical Data Sheet for Permit Applications Under § 45.1-
361.29, DGO-GO-9 (Rev. 10/96) (rev. 6/09).  

Technical Data Sheet for Gathering Pipelines and 
Associated Facilities, DGO-GO-10, rev. 1/98 (rev. 6/09).  

Technical Data Sheet for Permit Modification to Plug or 
Replug, DGO-GO-11 (rev. 11/99) (rev. 6/09).  

Operations Plan -- Checklist, DGO-GO-12 (rev. 11/99) (rev. 
6/09).  

Operations Plan -- Checklist, DGO-GO-12A (7/95; included 
in DGO-GO-12).  

Drilling Report, DGO-GO-14, rev. 1/98 (rev. 6/09).  

Completion Report, DGO-GO-15, rev. 1/98 (rev. 6/09).  

Application for Disposal of Pit or Produced Fluids, DGO-
GO-16, rev. 1/98 (rev. 6/09).  

Application to Complete Abandoned Gas or Oil Well as a 
Water Well, DGO-GO-17, rev. 1/98 (rev. 6/09).  

Plugging Affidavit, DGO-GO-18 (rev. 11/99) (rev. 6/09).  

Monthly Gas Production Report, DGO-GO-19 (rev. 11/99) 
(rev. 6/09).  

Monthly Oil Production, DGO-GO-20 (rev. 11/99) (rev. 
6/09).  

Notice of Right to Object, DGO-GO-21 (rev. 11/99) (rev. 
6/09).  

License to Perform -- Plugging of Orphaned Well, DGO-
GO-23 (rev. 11/99) (rev. 6/09).  

License to Perform -- Plugging of Well/Bond Forfeiture, 
DGO-GO-24 (rev. 11/99) (rev. 6/09).  

Affidavit and Release in Support of Surface Owner's 
Application to the Virginia Division of Gas and Oil for Use 
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of an Orphaned Well as a Water Well, DGO-GO-25 (rev. 
11/99) (rev. 6/09).  

FORMS (4VAC25-170)  

Registration Form for Drillers, Owners and Operators of 
Geothermal Wells, DGO-G-01 (rev. 6/89) (rev. 6/09).  

Application for Exploration Permit, DGO-G-02 (rev. 6/89) 
(rev. 6/09).  

Application Appendix for Exploration Permit if the Well 
Work Involves Drilling, Redrilling or Deepening, DGO-G-
02A (rev. 6/89; included in DGO-G-02) (rev. 6/09).  

Geothermal Resource Well Operator's Bond, DGO-G-03 
(rev. 6/89) (rev. 6/09).  

Release of Geothermal Resource Well Operator's Surety 
Bond, DGO-G-03A (rev. 6/09). 

Geothermal Well Plat, DGO-G-04 (rev. 6/89).  

Certification of Location of New Well, DGO-G-04A (rev. 
6/89; included in DGO-G-04) (rev. 6/09).  

Report on Completion of Well Work, DGO-G-05 (rev. 6/89) 
(rev. 6/09).  

Report on of Completion of Work if Drilling, Redrilling or 
Deepening is Involved, DGO-G-05A (rev. 6/89; included in 
DGO-G-5) (rev. 6/09).  

Notice of Intent to Plug or Abandon, and Affidavit, DGO-G-
05B (rev. 6/89; included in DGO-G-5) (rev. 6/09).  

Casing and Tubing Program, DGO-G-05C (rev. 6/89; 
included in DGO-G-5; included in DGO-G-5) (rev. 6/09).  

Driller's Log, DGO-G-05D (rev. 6/89; included in DGO-G-
5) (rev. 6/09).  

Notice of Intent to Proceed, DGO-G-06 (rev. 6/89) (rev. 
6/09).  

Geothermal Resource Production or Injection Report, DGO-
G-07 (rev. 6/89) (rev. 6/09).  

Groundwater Monitoring Report, DGO-G-08 (rev. 6/89) 
(rev. 6/09).  

Geothermal Fluid Monitoring Report, DGO-G-09 (rev. 6/89) 
(rev. 6/09).  

Notification of Chemical Cleaning of a Geothermal Well, 
DGO-G-10 (rev. 6/89) (rev. 6/09).  

Surveyor's Report on Subsidence, DGO-G-11 (rev. 6/89) 
(rev. 6/09).  

Application for Reclassification of a Geothermal Area, 
DGO-G-12 (rev. 6/89) (rev. 6/09).  

Request for Permission to Engage in Sequential Utilization, 
DGO-G-13 (rev. 6/89) (rev. 6/09).  

Application for Exemption from Injection Requirement, 
DGO-G-14 (rev. 6/89) (rev. 6/09).  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1936; Filed July 22, 2009, 9:12 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-70. Regulations Governing 
Pupil Transportation (amending 8VAC20-70-10, 
8VAC20-70-40, 8VAC20-70-100, 8VAC20-70-110, 
8VAC20-70-130, 8VAC20-70-140, 8VAC20-70-150, 
8VAC20-70-160, 8VAC20-70-170, 8VAC20-70-180, 
8VAC20-70-200, 8VAC20-70-220, 8VAC20-70-230, 
8VAC20-70-280, 8VAC20-70-300, 8VAC20-70-350, 
8VAC20-70-360, 8VAC20-70-370, 8VAC20-70-380, 
8VAC20-70-420, 8VAC20-70-430, 8VAC20-70-450, 
8VAC20-70-460, 8VAC20-70-480, 8VAC20-70-490, 
8VAC20-70-510, 8VAC20-70-525; adding 8VAC20-70-31, 
8VAC20-70-271, 8VAC20-70-359, 8VAC20-70-411, 
8VAC20-70-435; repealing 8VAC20-70-310). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16, 22.1-176 and 22.1-177 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

September 24, 2009 - 7 p.m. - Robert E. Lee High 
School, 6540 Franconia Road, Springfield, VA 

September 24, 2009 - 7 p.m. - Glenvar Middle School, 
4555 Malus Drive, Salem, VA  

September 24, 2009 - 7 p.m. - Jolliff Middle School, 
1021 Jolliff Road, Chesapeake, VA 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on October 16, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Dr. Margaret N. Roberts, Office of Policy 
and Communications, Department of Education, P.O. Box 
2120, 101 N. 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 225-2540, FAX (804) 225-2524, or email 
margaret.roberts@doe.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The scope of legal authority is defined by Article VIII, 
§ 4, Constitution of Virginia, which vests in the Board of 
Education the general supervision of the public school 
system. 

Section 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia provides the board 
with general authority to promulgate "such regulations as may 
be necessary to carry out its powers and duties…." 

Section 22.1-176 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the board 
to promulgate regulations relating to fees for school 
transportation. 
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Section 22.1-177 of the Code of Virginia gives the board 
general authority to make regulations relating to the 
construction, design, operation, equipment, and color of 
public school buses and the authority to issue an order 
prohibiting the operation on public streets and highways of 
any public school bus that does not comply with such 
regulations. 

Section 22.1-178 of the Code of Virginia additionally sets 
forth requirements for school bus drivers and authorizes the 
board to furnish forms to school divisions to obtain 
information from applicants for employment as school bus 
drivers as required in statute. 

Purpose: The revised Regulations Governing Pupil 
Transportation to address new state laws passed since 2004, 
as well as new federal requirements. Current state law does 
not require students to ride public school buses. The revision 
of these regulations will help to ensure the safety of children 
riding public school buses. Providing safe, free transportation 
to and from school for children in Virginia will reduce the 
need for parents to transport their children. 

Substance: Substantive changes are made to the existing 
regulations as follows: 

1. Definitions have been updated to conform to those in the 
2005 National School Transportation Specifications and 
Procedures document. 

2. Requirements for school activity buses are clarified. 

3. Language has been included prohibiting driving more than 
13 hours in a 24-hour period per § 46.2-812 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

4. Restrictions on standees on school bus have been changed. 

5. Language has been included for safety instruction of grades 
9 through 12 students who ride school buses. 

6. Language has been included to change the maintenance 
inspection from 30 operating days or every 2,500 miles to 
every 45 calendar days. 

7. Language has been included regarding the operational 
assessments conducted by the Department of Education. 

8. Language has been included to change the review of routes 
from once a year to twice a year. 

9. Language has been included on the use of nonsequential 
lighting system use at railroad crossings. 

10. Language has been included on records retention for pupil 
transportation records. 

11. Language has been included providing further explanation 
of training and including new transportation directors in this 
training. 

12. Language has been included for instructors to meet the 
requirements of a school bus driver and to have at least two 
years of experience. 

13. Language has been included providing further explanation 
of what should be covered in annual in-service training. The 
times for in-service training have been updated. 

14. The pretrip safety inspection requirement has been 
clarified, and updates to the procedure as outlined in the 
Preventive Maintenance Manual have been included. 

15. The requirement to report minor bus crashes by divisions 
has been eliminated. 

Issues: The Regulations Governing Pupil Transportation is 
being revised to improve the safety and efficiency of children 
riding public school buses. 

Section 46.2-812 of the Code of Virginia requires that no 
person shall drive any motor vehicle on the highways of the 
Commonwealth for more than 13 hours in any period of 24 
hours or for a period that when added to the time such person 
may have driven in any other state would make an aggregate 
of more than 13 hours in any 24-hour period. 

Changes to instruction of directors, drivers, and students are 
included. Requiring new transportation directors to attend the 
"Train the Trainer" sessions will provide them a good overall 
view of what is required of bus drivers. Training for students 
in grades 9 through 12 will help ensure that students who may 
not always ride a bus know the rules for riding a bus and also 
know where the emergency exits are located. Topics for 
training and in-service are included to assist the school 
divisions in providing appropriate training in areas of 
concern. 

Requiring instructors to meet the requirements of a school 
bus driver and have at least two years of experience will 
ensure the instructors know what is required of a school bus 
driver. 

The use of the nonsequential lighting system is different from 
the lighting system on older buses, in particular, at railroad 
crossings. This requirement would be covered in training 
sessions each year. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Education (Board) proposes several amendments to 
these regulations including: 1) updating definitions to 
conform to the 2005 National School Transportation 
Specifications and Procedures, 2) adding numerous 
clarifications, 3) no longer permitting school divisions to 
have students standing during school bus rides for the first 30 
instructional days of school, 4) mandating that all high school 
students receive additional training on the rules for motorists 
approaching a stopped school bus and on safe following 
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distances when operating a personal vehicle, 5) amending the  
required minimum frequency of school bus maintenance 
inspections, 6) no longer requiring that bus collisions where 
no one is injured and damage is less than $1,000 be reported 
to the Department of Education (Department), 7) requiring 
that school bus routes, school sites, and safety of pupils at 
designated school bus stops shall be reviewed at least twice 
each year rather than just once, 8) requiring that new 
transportation directors/supervisors employed by school 
divisions shall complete the "Train the Trainer" class 
conducted by the Department, and 9) requiring that school 
bus driver instructors meet the requirements of a school bus 
driver and have at least 2 years experience. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
one or more proposed changes. There is insufficient data to 
accurately compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the 
costs for other changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact 

Under current regulations school divisions can plan to have 
students standing during school bus rides for the first 30 
instructional days of school while routes are adjusted. The 
proposed text indicates the school divisions can no longer 
have overcrowded buses at the beginning of the school year 
as routes are adjusted to match student needs. School staff 
will need to put in greater effort to have routes planned to 
match students' needs prior to the first day of school, and to 
make faster adjustments when overcrowding is encountered 
due to unexpected demand. This may require a small addition 
in staff time, but will likely significantly improve safety for 
those students who no longer will need to stand on moving 
buses. This proposed change will thus likely produce a net 
benefit.  

The Board proposes to require that students in grades 9 
through 12 shall receive additional training on the rules for 
motorists approaching a stopped school bus and on safe 
following distances when operating a personal vehicle. 
According to the Department the additional training could for 
example take place during one school auditorium assembly 
each year. Some extra training on these rules may result in 
modest improvement in road safety. On the other hand it will 
require some additional school time that could be used 
productively in other ways. There is insufficient information 
to determine if the benefit from the potential modest 
improvement in road safety exceeds the opportunity cost of 
school time spent on this instruction rather than on other 
productive activities. 

Under the current regulations all school buses and school 
activity vehicles used to transport public school pupils to and 
from school and school activity events shall be inspected and 
maintained by competent mechanics at least once every 30 
operating days or every 2,500 miles traveled. The Board 
proposes to amend the minimum frequency of inspections and 
maintenance to at least once every 45 calendar days. This will 

not significantly affect most schools, but will affect some 
divisions where some buses run short routes and may take 
considerably longer than 30 operating days or 45 calendar 
days to reach 2,500 miles.  Some extra time by mechanics 
may be needed to comply with the proposed required 
minimum frequency of 45 calendar days; but vehicles do 
deteriorate with time as well as with usage when not 
maintained. Thus, the proposed amendment does likely 
provide benefit in increasing the likelihood that school buses 
remain safe for their passengers. 

School divisions currently must report all crashes to the 
Department through a web based system. The Board proposes 
to no longer require that bus collisions where no one is 
injured and damage is less than $1,000 be reported to the 
Department. According to the Department this will save 
school divisions across the Commonwealth the filing of at 
least 1,000 reports annually. Since filing reports take 
approximately 30 minutes per incident1 this will save school 
divisions cumulatively at least 500 hours of staff time. Since 
the Department does not believe it needs this data, this 
proposal clearly produces net benefit. 

The Board also proposes to require that new transportation 
directors/supervisors employed by school divisions complete 
the "Train the Trainer" class conducted by the Department. 
The intent of this requirement is to ensure that directors 
understand the responsibilities required of school bus drivers, 
and to give them a good overview of the laws and regulations 
governing pupil transportation. The training lasts three to four 
days and is offered about six times during the summer at 
different locations around the Commonwealth and has a $25 
fee. There are approximately ten new transportation 
directors/supervisors each year. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
affect the 132 school divisions in the Commonwealth. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the 
use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
amendments are unlikely to significantly affect small 
businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments are unlikely to 
significantly affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
will not significantly affect real estate development costs. 
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Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 
______________________________ 
1 Time estimate by Department of Education 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The agency agrees with 
the economic impact analysis done by the Department of 
Planning and Budget. The agency will continue to examine 
the economic and administrative impact of the regulations as 
they progress through the Administrative Process Act 
process. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments include (i) updating definitions 
to conform to the 2005 National School Transportation 
Specifications and Procedures; (ii) adding numerous 
clarifications; (iii) prohibiting school divisions from 
having students stand during school bus rides during the 
first 30 instructional days of the school year; (iv) 
mandating that all high school students receive additional 
training on the rules for motorists approaching a stopped 
school bus and on safe following distances when operating 
a personal vehicle; (v) amending the required minimum 
frequency of school bus maintenance inspections; (vi) 
eliminating the requirement that bus collisions be reported 
to the Department of Education when no one is injured and 
damage is less than $1,000; (vii) requiring review of 
school bus routes, school sites, and safety of pupils at 
designated school bus stops at least twice each year rather 
than just once; (viii) requiring new transportation 

directors/supervisors employed by school divisions to 
complete the "Train the Trainer" class conducted by the 
Department of Education; and (ix) requiring school bus 
driver instructors to meet the requirements of a school bus 
driver and have at least two years experience. 

Part I  
Definitions  

8VAC20-70-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Classroom instruction" means training provided by a 
qualified driver instructor through lectures, demonstrations, 
audio-visual presentations, computer-based instruction, 
driving simulation devices, or similar means. Instruction 
occurring outside a classroom is included if it does not 
involve actual operation of a school bus and its components 
by the student. 

"Color-black" means federal standard No. 595, black. 

"Color-yellow" means national school bus yellow SBMTC 
School Bus Manufacturers Technical Council (SBMTC) color 
standard 008.  

"Multifunction School Activity Bus (MFSAB)" or "school 
activity bus" means a school bus whose purposes do not 
include transporting students to and from home or school bus 
stops as defined in 49 CFR 571.3. This subcategory of school 
bus meets all Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards 
(FMVSS) for school buses and meets all regulations for 
school buses, except the traffic control devices, identification, 
color, use of cruise control, and seating requirements. 

"Nonconforming bus" means any vehicle designed to carry 
more than 10 passengers that is used to transport children to 
or from school or school-related activities that does not meet 
the federal standards, 49 CFR Part 571, specific to school 
buses or multifunction school activity buses. These vehicles 
are not approved for transporting students to and from school 
or school-related activities.  

"School bus" means any motor vehicle described in this 
chapter as "Type A1 and A2," "Type B1 and B2," "Type C," 
or "Type D," which is designed and used for the 
transportation of pupils, which is other than a station wagon, 
automobile, truck, or commercial bus that is (i) designed and 
used primarily for the transportation of pupils to and from 
public, private, or religious schools, or for the transportation 
of pupils who are physically handicapped to and from a 
sheltered workshop; (ii) painted yellow with the words 
"School Bus" in black letters of a specified size on the front 
and rear,; and which is (iii) equipped with the required 
warning devices as stated prescribed in § 46.2-100 § 46.2-
1090 of the Code of Virginia. A yellow school bus may have 
a white roof provided such vehicle is painted in accordance 
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with regulations and specifications of the Department of 
Education. 

Note: This definition includes school buses owned and 
operated by school boards, private contractors, local 
governments, and transit systems that are used for the 
transportation of public school pupils.  

"Specially equipped bus" means a school bus designed, 
equipped, or modified to accommodate students with special 
needs.  

"Type A school bus" means a van conversion or bus 
constructed utilizing a cutaway front-section vehicle with a 
left side driver's door. The entrance door is behind the front 
wheels. This definition includes two classifications. Type A1, 
with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) less than or 
equal to 10,000 of 14,500 pounds or less; and Type A2, with 
a GVWR greater than 10,000 14,500 pounds, but less than or 
equal to 21,500 pounds. 

"Type B school bus" means a bus with a body constructed 
utilizing a stripped chassis. The entrance door is behind the 
front wheels. This definition includes two classifications: 
Type B1, with a GVWR less than or equal to of 10,000 
pounds or less; and Type B2, with a GVWR greater than 
10,000 pounds.  

"Type C (Conventional) school bus" means a bus with a 
body constructed utilizing a installed upon a flat-back cowl 
chassis with a hood and front fender assembly fenders. The 
entrance door is behind the front wheels. This definition shall 
include two classifications: Type C1, with a GVWR range of 
17,500 pounds with a design seating capacity range from 16 
to 30 persons; and Type C2 with a GVWR of more than 
21,500 pounds with a design seating capacity for more than 
30 persons. The engine is in front of the windshield and the 
entrance door is behind the front wheels. Both Type C1 and 
Type C2 must be equipped with dual rear tires. 

"Type D school bus" means a bus with a body constructed 
utilizing a stripped chassis. The entrance door is ahead of the 
front wheels. This bus is also known as a rear engine or front 
engine transit style school bus. 

"Vehicle" means any vehicle owned or operated by, or 
owned or operated by any person under contract by, a county, 
city, town, or school board in which any school pupils or 
personnel are transported at public expense from any public 
school. 

8VAC20-70-31. Driving more than 13 hours in a 24-hour 
period prohibited. 

Pursuant to § 46.2-812 of the Code of Virginia, no person 
shall operate any school bus, school activity bus, or school 
activity vehicle for more than 13 hours in any period of 24 
hours or for a period that when added to the time such person 
may have driven any vehicle in any other state would make 
an aggregate of more than 13 hours in any 24-hour period. 

Drivers of other commercial vehicles shall report all hours 
driven prior to operating a school bus, school activity bus, or 
school activity vehicle. 

No owner of any vehicle shall cause or permit a vehicle to 
be driven in violation of this section. 

8VAC20-70-40. Seating. 

The number of pupils who may ride a school bus shall be 
determined by the total number who can be seated on the seat 
cushion facing forward, safely seated within the seating 
compartment, and shall not exceed the manufacturer's 
capacity. During the first 30 instructional days of the school 
year standees may be permitted for short distances in the aisle 
back of the driver's seat. Pupils may not be permitted to stand 
after the first 30 instructional days, except under unforeseen 
temporary emergency conditions and for short distances as 
identified by the local school board. 

8VAC20-70-100. Passenger restraint belts.  

Pupils riding in school buses required by federal law to be 
equipped with passenger restraint belts shall wear them as 
required by state or federal law while the bus is in motion. 
See Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards No. 209 and 
210.  

8VAC20-70-110. Pupil rider transportation safety 
instruction. 

Pupil rider safety transportation instruction shall be included 
in the school curriculum, including demonstration and 
practices of safety procedures. 

1. At the Pre-K-1 grade levels, initial safety training shall 
occur during the first week of school with additional 
training on a periodic basis during the year. Students in 
grades 9 through 12 shall receive additional training on the 
rules for motorists approaching a stopped school bus and 
on safe following distances when operating a personal 
vehicle. 

2. Emergency exit drills shall be practiced by all pupil 
riders at least twice a year, the first occurring during the 
first 30 instructional days and the second in the second 
semester and shall include the school bus driver. Summer 
session evacuation drills should be performed as needed. 

3. A copy of bus rider safety rules shall be sent to parents 
at the beginning of the school year. The information shall 
include a request that parents or their designee accompany 
their young children to and from the bus stop. 

8VAC20-70-130. Maintenance inspection. 

All school buses and, school activity vehicles, and school 
vehicles used to transport public school pupils to and from 
school and school activity events shall be inspected and 
maintained undergo a Level 2 maintenance inspection as 
prescribed in the Preventive Maintenance Manual for Virginia 
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School Buses by competent mechanics immediately before 
being used in the fall for each new school year and a Level 1 
inspection at least once every 30 operating days or every 
2,500 miles traveled 45 calendar days after the start of the 
new school year. The inspections and maintenance shall be 
conducted in accordance with provisions of the "Preventive 
Maintenance Manual for Virginia School Buses, March 2003" 
(November 2008) and recorded on the prescribed inspection 
forms or in a format approved by the Department of 
Education. If the inspection and maintenance are not made in 
a shop operated by the school board or the local governing 
body, the school board shall designate one or more inspection 
centers to make the inspections and require a copy of the 
results of the inspections to be furnished to the division 
superintendent. School division compliance with the 
foregoing maintenance inspection requirement shall be 
subject to verification by the Department of Education. 

Subject to funds being available, the Department of 
Education shall conduct random operational assessments 
during the school year of school divisions' pupil 
transportation operations to ensure statutes, regulations, and 
specifications are being met. The Department of Education 
shall establish procedures for conducting the random 
operational assessments. 

Maintenance and service personnel shall be encouraged to 
attend approved workshops or training institutes and shall 
receive all necessary service and maintenance publications for 
equipment serviced. 

8VAC20-70-140. Crash/incident Crash reporting. 

A report, on forms or in a format furnished by the 
Department of Education, of any crashes or incidents 
involving school buses, pupils, and personnel who ride school 
or activity buses (including injury or death while crossing the 
road, waiting at bus stops, etc.) shall be sent to the Pupil 
Transportation Service, Department of Education by the 
division superintendent or designee at least once a month. 
The report shall give the apparent cause of the crash or 
incident and the extent of injuries to pupils or others. The 
division superintendent or designee shall notify the Pupil 
Transportation Service of any school bus crash or incident 
involving serious injuries, requiring professional medical 
treatment, or death within the next working day from the date 
of the crash or incident. 

A vehicle crash occurs when property damage is $1,000 or 
more or when persons are injured. An incident occurs when 
property damage is $999 or less and there are no injured 
individuals.  

The Department of Education shall publish on its website an 
annual report of the number of crashes involving school 
buses, pupils, and personnel who ride school or activity buses 
(including incidents of injury or death while crossing the 
road, waiting at bus stops, etc.) in each division. 

8VAC20-70-150. Route schedule. 

All school buses in operation shall be scheduled to 
maximize safety and efficiency. The schedule shall show the 
time the bus starts in the morning, the time it leaves each 
point at which pupils are picked up, and the time of arrival at 
school, and the time of drop off at home in the afternoon. One 
copy of such schedule shall be kept in the bus and secured 
when the bus is unattended, and one copy shall be kept in the 
office of the division superintendent or designee. 

8VAC20-70-160. Review of routes. 

School bus routes, school sites, and safety of pupils at 
designated school bus stops shall be reviewed at least once 
twice each year, once each semester. Bus routes shall be 
reviewed for safety hazards, and fuel conservation, and to 
assure maximum the most efficient use of buses. Local school 
administrators shall evaluate the safety of pupils at bus stops 
periodically and shall at the request of the local school board 
report the results annually to the school board. Hazardous or 
unusual situations, to include railway crossings, shall be 
marked on the route sheet and made available to drivers and 
substitutes.  

A written vehicular and pedestrian traffic control plan for 
each existing school site shall be reviewed annually for safety 
hazards. All new school site plans shall include provisions 
that promote vehicular and pedestrian safety.  

8VAC20-70-170. Railway crossings. 

School buses shall stop, as required by law, at railway grade 
crossings. The School buses equipped with a nonsequential 
lighting system must have these lighting systems deactivated 
when approaching a railroad grade crossing and the 4-way 
hazard lights shall be activated when approaching the railway 
grade crossing and shall be deactivated before crossing the 
track. The bus driver shall turn off all noisy equipment, open 
the entrance door of the bus and determine when it is safe for 
the vehicle to cross the railroad tracks. The entrance door 
shall be closed when the bus is in motion. No stop need be 
made at any grade crossing where traffic is directed by a 
police law-enforcement officer or a green traffic-control 
signal as stated in § 46.2-886 of the Code of Virginia.  

8VAC20-70-180. Driver reports Ridership and miles 
report.  

School boards shall require that a report on the number of 
pupils transported and miles traveled be made by all school 
bus drivers to principals or other designated school officials 
submitted to designated school officials.  

8VAC20-70-200. Identification and lights covering.  

The lettered identification and traffic warning lights on the 
front and rear of school buses shall be covered with opaque 
detachable material when they school buses are used for 
purposes other than to transport pupils on regular routes to 
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and from school, or on special trips to participate in contests 
of various kinds, and or for supplementary education 
purposes as required by § 22.1-183 of the Code of Virginia. 
This does not apply when the bus is being used to transport 
elderly or mentally or physically handicapped persons.  

8VAC20-70-220. Passage restriction.  

No object shall be placed on any bus carrying passengers 
that will restrict the access to any exit, restrict the freedom of 
motion of the driver for proper operation of the vehicle, or 
where displacement of such objects may result in personal 
injury to passengers.  

8VAC20-70-230. Required materials.  

All vehicles used primarily to transport students to and from 
school or school-related activities shall carry reflective 
triangles, first aid kit, body fluid clean-up kit and fire 
extinguisher.  

8VAC20-70-271. Records retention. 

School division documents related to pupil transportation 
shall be retained in accordance with local policy and 
guidelines from the Virginia State Library. 

Part III  
Requirements for School Bus Drivers 

8VAC20-70-280. Requirements for school bus drivers 
both for employment and continued employment. 

Sections Section 22.1-178, 46.2-339, and 46.2-340 of the 
Code of Virginia require requires drivers of school and 
activity buses to:  

1. Have a physical examination of a scope prescribed by 
the Board of Education with the advice of the Medical 
Society of Virginia and furnished on a form prescribed by 
the Board of Education showing the results of such 
examination. 

a. No person shall drive a school bus unless that person is 
physically qualified to do so and has submitted a School 
Bus Driver's Application For Physician's Certificate 
signed by the applicant and the doctor or a licensed nurse 
practitioner for the applicable employment period. 

b. The physical form describes the basic physical 
qualifications for school bus drivers; however, the 
examining physician or licensed nurse practitioner shall 
make the final determination of the individual's physical 
capacity to operate a school bus based upon their 
assessment of the individual's overall physical condition. 

2. Furnish a statement or copy of records from the 
Department of Motor Vehicles showing that the person, 
within the preceding five years, has not been convicted of a 
charge of driving under the influence of intoxicating 
liquors or drugs, convicted of a charge of refusing to take a 
blood or breath test, convicted of a felony, or assigned to 

any alcohol safety action program or driver alcohol 
rehabilitation program pursuant to § 18.2-271.1 of the 
Code of Virginia or, within the preceding 12 months, has 
not been convicted of two or more moving traffic 
violations or has not been required to attend a driver 
improvement clinic by the Commissioner of the 
Department of Motor Vehicles pursuant to § 46.2-497 
§ 46.2-498 of the Code of Virginia. 

3. Furnish a statement signed by two reputable persons 
who reside in the school division or in the applicant's 
community that the person is of good moral character. 

4. Exhibit a license showing the person has successfully 
undertaken the examination prescribed by § 46.2-339 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

5. Be at least 18 years old. 

6. Submit to testing for alcohol and controlled substances 
that is in compliance with the Omnibus Transportation 
Employee Testing Act of 1991 (Public Law 102-143, Title 
V) as amended and that is in compliance with 49 CFR 
Parts 40 and 382.  

8VAC20-70-300. Required documents. 

The documents required pursuant to subdivisions 1 and 2 of 
8VAC20-70-280 shall be furnished annually prior to the 
anniversary date of the employment to operate a school bus.  

8VAC20-70-310. Filing. (Repealed.) 

The documents required pursuant to this section shall be 
filed with, and made a part of, the records of the school board 
employing such person as a school bus operator.  

8VAC20-70-350. Training. 

No person shall operate a school or activity bus transporting 
pupils unless the person has:  

1. Received classroom, demonstration, and behind-the-
wheel instruction in accordance with a program developed 
by the Department of Education pursuant to § 22.1-181 of 
the Code of Virginia.  

2. Completed a minimum of 24 classroom hours and 24 
hours of behind-the-wheel training. A minimum of 10 of 
the 24 hours of behind-the-wheel time shall involve the 
operation of a bus with pupils on board while under the 
direct on-board supervision of a designated bus driver 
trainer. Drivers of Type D buses must complete eight 
additional hours of training behind-the-wheel. All drivers 
shall receive training in the operation of a Type D bus and 
transportation of students with special needs. buses 
representative of the type used in the school division in 
which they will be employed and in the transportation of 
students with special needs. Classroom instruction means 
training provided by a qualified driver instructor through 
lectures, demonstrations, audio-visual presentations, 
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computer-based instruction, driving simulation devices, or 
similar means. Instruction occurring outside a classroom is 
included if it does not involve actual operation of a school 
bus and its components by the student. Behind-the-wheel 
training does not include time spent riding in a school bus 
or observing operation of a school bus when the student is 
not in control of the vehicle. 

The superintendent or his designee shall maintain a record 
showing that the applicant has completed the training and 
has been approved to operate a school or activity bus. 

3. New transportation directors/supervisors employed by 
school divisions shall complete the "Train the Trainer" 
class conducted by the Department of Education within a 
year after being employed in this position. 

8VAC20-70-359. Requirements for school bus driver 
instructors. 

Instructors must meet the requirements of a school bus 
driver and have at least two years experience operating a 
Class B type vehicle. 

8VAC20-70-360. In-service training. 

In-service training (at least two hours before opening before 
the opening of schools the school year and at least two hours 
during the second half of the school year) year devoted to 
improving the skills, attitudes, and knowledge, including 
orientation to maximize benefits of using safety programs and 
safety components shall be provided to all school or activity 
bus drivers. In-service training shall include, but is not 
limited to, the following topics: basic motor vehicle laws, 
related administrative codes, pre-trip inspection procedures, 
student discipline and conduct, drug and alcohol testing 
procedures and policies, fuel conservation, safety, emergency 
procedures, student information and confidentiality, and local 
policies and procedures as required by the division's 
transportation department. A copy of the agenda for each in-
service training event shall be on file. 

8VAC20-70-370. Supervision.  

The drivers of school and activity buses shall be under the 
general direction and control of the division superintendent or 
designee, and shall also be accountable to the principal of the 
school to which pupil transportation is provided.  

8VAC20-70-380. Pre-trip safety inspection.  

The Prior to the initial transporting of children each day, the 
drivers of school and activity buses shall perform a daily pre-
trip safety inspection of the vehicle prior to transporting 
children. The items checked and recorded shall be at least 
equal to the pre-trip inspection procedure as prescribed in the 
Preventive Maintenance Manual for Virginia School Buses 
(November 2008) issued by the Department of Education.  

8VAC20-70-411. Driver trainers. 

Driver trainers must meet the requirements of 8VAC20-70-
280 and 8VAC20-70-350 and have at least two years 
experience operating a Class B vehicle. 

8VAC20-70-420. Instructor course certificate. 

Local school bus driver training instructors shall hold a 
certificate for completion of an instructor course conducted or 
approved by the Department of Education and shall attend a 
recertification course every five years. Certification expires at 
the end of calendar year five. 

8VAC20-70-430. Driver data. 

The names and driver license numbers of persons operating 
school and activity buses and other vehicles used to transport 
pupils shall be submitted to the Department of Motor 
Vehicles annually as required by § 46.2-340 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

8VAC20-70-435. Filing. 

The documents required pursuant to 8VAC20-70-280, 
8VAC20-70-350, 8VAC20-70-360, 8VAC20-70-400, and 
8VAC20-70-420 shall be filed with, and made a part of, the 
records of the school board employing such person as a 
school bus operator. 

8VAC20-70-450. Minimum standards specifications.  

Minimum standards specifications are applicable to all 
school buses and school activity vehicles buses, new or used, 
procured by purchase, lease or operational contract from 
another person or entity.  

Part IV  
General Requirements for School Buses in Virginia  

8VAC20-70-460. Specifications.  

It is the intent of the Board of Education to accommodate 
new equipment and technology that will better facilitate the 
safe and efficient transportation of students. When a new 
technology, piece of equipment, or component is desired to be 
applied to the a school bus, it must have the approval of the 
Virginia Department of Education and must meet the 
following criteria:  

1. The technology, equipment, or component shall not 
compromise the effectiveness or integrity of any major 
safety system.  

2. The technology, equipment, or component shall not 
diminish the safety of the interior of the bus.  

3. The technology, equipment, or component shall not 
create additional risk to students who are boarding or 
exiting the bus or are in or near the school bus loading 
zone.  
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4. The technology, equipment, or component shall not 
require undue additional activity or responsibility for the 
driver.  

5. The technology, equipment, or component shall 
generally increase efficiency or safety, or both, of the bus, 
generally provide for a safer or more pleasant experience 
for the occupants and pedestrians in the vicinity of the bus, 
or shall generally assist the driver and make his many tasks 
easier to perform.  

Buses School buses and school activity vehicles buses must 
conform to the specifications relative to construction and 
design effective on the date of procurement. Any variation 
from the specifications, in the form of additional equipment 
or changes in style of equipment, without prior approval of 
the Department of Education, is prohibited. The Department 
of Education shall issue specifications and standards for 
public school buses to reflect desired technology or safety 
improvements for the then current model year.  

8VAC20-70-480. Bus identification.  

All publicly owned, part publicly owned, or contract school 
buses, transporting pupils to and from public school, shall be 
painted a uniform color, national school bus yellow, and shall 
be identified and equipped as outlined in the standards and 
specifications.  

8VAC20-70-490. Purchase.  

The responsibility for purchasing school buses and school 
activity vehicles buses which meet state and federal 
requirements rests with division superintendents and local 
school boards.  

A schedule for the replacement of buses on a continuing 
basis shall be developed and implemented by each school 
division.  

8VAC20-70-510. Vehicles powered by alternative fuels.  

A. The Board of Education will continue to promote the use 
of alternative fuels for school buses. Any vehicle powered by 
alternative fuels will be subject to inspection and approval by 
the Virginia Department of Education.  

B. Local school divisions, in consultation with the 
Department of Education, may purchase and use school buses 
using alternative fuels as covered in § 22.1-177 of the Code 
of Virginia.  

C. Installation of alternative fuel tanks and fuel systems 
shall comply with all applicable Federal Motor Vehicles 
Safety Standards (FMVSS) 301, 49 CFR Part 571, and all 
applicable fire codes.  

D. A sign with black letters on clear or school bus yellow 
background, indicating the type of alternative fuel being used, 
may be placed on the side of the bus near the entrance door. 

No sign shall be more than 4-3/4 inches long or more than 3-
1/4 inches high.  

Part V  
School Activity Vehicles Buses 

8VAC20-70-525. Regulations and standards. 

Activity vehicles A. School activity buses owned or 
operated under contract by or for the school board, which are 
used solely to transport pupils to and from school activity 
events, shall comply with all applicable regulations and 
standards prescribed for school buses except as noted in this 
part.  

1. B. Exceptions, general regulations.  

a. An activity vehicle 1. Pursuant to § 46.2-871 of the 
Code of Virginia, an activity bus transporting school 
pupils shall be operated at a safe, legal speed not in 
excess of 55 miles per hour.  

b. 2. No standees shall be permitted.  

c. The eight-inch school bus lettered identification and 
traffic warning devices shall be removed by the local 
school division as required by §§ 46.2-100 and 46.2-1090 
of the Code of Virginia. The name of the school division 
or individual school shall be placed on both sides of the 
vehicle.  

d. 3. Stops for the purpose of loading or discharging 
pupils on the travel portion of the highway shall not be 
permitted.  

2. Exceptions, minimum standards for school buses in 
Virginia.  

a. School activity vehicles shall not be painted national 
school bus yellow.  

b. Other types of seats and increased spacing may be 
used provided all provisions of FMVSS 222, 49 CFR § 
571.222, are met.  

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (8VAC20-70) 

School Bus Driver's Application for Physician's Certificate 
(rev. 4/08). 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(8VAC20-70)  

Preventive Maintenance Manual for Virginia School Buses, 
March 2003 November 2008, Virginia Department of 
Education. 
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VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1020; Filed July 28, 2009, 1:28 p.m.  

STATE COUNCIL OF HIGHER EDUCATION FOR 
VIRGINIA 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Council of Higher 
Education for Virginia is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 
B 4 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts regulations 
relating to grants of state or federal funds or property. 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC40-150. Virginia Two-Year 
College Transfer Grant Program Regulations (adding 
8VAC40-150-10 through 8VAC40-150-100). 
Statutory Authority: § 23-38.10:9 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 31, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Linda H. Woodley, Regulatory Coordinator, 
State Council of Higher Education for Virginia, James 
Monroe Bldg., 101 North 14th Street, 9th Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-2938, FAX (804) 786-2027, 
or email lindawoodley@schev.edu. 

Summary: 

These regulations are adopted for the implementation and 
administration of a scholarship program for two-year 
college graduates transferring to a Virginia four-year 
college or university. The regulations provide definitions; 
institutional application to participate procedures; 
eligibility criteria for initial, renewal, and summer awards; 
amount and refund of awards; use of funds; and 
responsibilities of the council and participating 
institutions. 

CHAPTER 150 
VIRGINIA TWO-YEAR COLLEGE TRANSFER GRANT 

PROGRAM REGULATIONS 

8VAC40-150-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Academic year" means the enrollment period that normally 
extends from late August to May or early June and that is 
normally comprised of two semesters (fall and spring) or 
three quarters (fall, winter, and spring). 

"Accredited institution" means any institution approved to 
confer degrees pursuant to Chapter 21.1 (§ 23-276.1 et seq.) 
of Title 23 of the Code of Virginia." 

"Approved course of study" means a curriculum of courses 
at the undergraduate level leading to a first bachelor's degree. 
Programs in the 39.xxxx series, as classified in the National 
Center for Education Statistics' Classification of Instructional 

Programs (CIP), provide religious training or theological 
education and are not approved courses of study.  

"Award" means a grant from state funds appropriated for the 
Virginia Two-Year College Transfer Grant Program (CTG).  

"Award year" means the 12-month enrollment period during 
which a college or university holds classes, normally 
comprised of (i) one fall semester, one spring semester, and a 
summer session or (ii) one fall quarter, one winter quarter, 
one spring quarter, and a summer session. For purposes of 
awarding funds for this program, the summer will be treated 
as a trailing term. 

"Cost of attendance" means the sum of tuition, required fees, 
room, board, books and supplies, and other education-related 
expenses as determined by an institution for purposes of 
awarding federal Title IV student financial assistance. 

"Council" means the State Council of Higher Education for 
Virginia or its designated staff. 

"Domiciliary resident of Virginia" means a student who is 
determined by a participating institution to meet the eligibility 
requirements specified by § 23-7.4 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Expected family contribution" or "EFC" means the amount 
a student and the student's family is expected to contribute 
toward the cost of college attendance. The EFC is calculated 
using information provided on the Free Application for 
Federal Student Aid. The institution may exercise 
professional judgment to adjust the student's EFC, as 
permitted under federal law, based on factors that affect the 
family's ability to pay.  

"Financial need" means a maximum expected family 
contribution of $8,000 based on a standard nine-month 
academic year.  

"First-time entering freshman" means a student attending 
any institution for the first time at the undergraduate level. 
Includes students enrolled in the fall term who attended 
college for the first time in the immediate prior summer term. 
Also includes students who entered with advanced standing 
(college credits earned before high school graduation). 

"Free Application for Federal Student Aid" or "FAFSA" 
means the needs analysis form provided by the United States 
Department of Education, which is completed annually by 
students applying for federal Title IV student financial 
assistance and need-based financial aid programs sponsored 
by the Commonwealth of Virginia and that results in the 
calculation of the expected family contribution.  

"Full-time study" means enrollment for at least 12 credit 
hours per semester or its equivalent in quarter hours at the 
undergraduate level. The total hours counted will not include 
courses taken for audit, but may include required 
developmental or remedial courses and other elective courses 



Regulations 

Volume 25, Issue 25 Virginia Register of Regulations August 17, 2009 

4406 

that normally are not counted toward a degree at the 
participating institution.  

"Participating institution of higher education" or 
"participating institution" means a four-year public or private 
nonprofit accredited institution within the Commonwealth of 
Virginia whose primary purpose is to provide undergraduate 
collegiate education and not to provide religious training or 
theological education.  

"Program" means the Virginia Two-Year College Transfer 
Grant.  

"Quarter" means a division of an academic year 
approximately 10 to 11 weeks in length from the first day of 
classes through the last day of exams for the fall, winter, and 
spring enrollment periods. 

"Satisfactory academic progress" means acceptable progress 
towards completion of an approved course of study as defined 
by the institution for the purposes of eligibility under § 668 of 
the Federal Compilation of Student Financial Aid 
Regulations.  

"Semester" means a division of an academic year 
approximately 15 to 16 weeks in length from the first day of 
classes through the last day of exams for the fall and spring 
enrollment periods.  

"Student" means an undergraduate student who is entitled to 
in-state tuition charges pursuant to § 23-7.4 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

"Summer session" means a division of an award year 
consisting of one or more summer sessions normally 
extending from late May to August, exclusive of the 
participating institution's fall, winter, and spring terms. 

"Term" means the fall semester or quarter, winter quarter, 
spring semester or quarter, or summer session. 

8VAC40-150-20. Institutional application to participate. 

In order to participate in the program, institutions not 
previously approved by the council to participate must file a 
formal application with the council no later than January 31 
of the calendar year preceding the calendar year in which fall 
semester or quarter awards would first be available to 
students. Virginia public four-year institutions and accredited 
private institutions participating in the Virginia Tuition 
Assistance Grant Program need not apply. 

Applications shall be addressed to the council and shall 
include: 

1. Estimates of the number of students who would be 
eligible to receive awards under the program in the first 
and second year of participation; 

2. A copy of the Fiscal Operations Report and Application 
to Participate in Federal Student Financial Aid Programs 
(FISAP); and 

3. Certifications from the institution's chief executive 
officer that the institution: 

a. Meets eligibility requirements for participation;  

b. Will furnish whatever data the council may request in 
order to verify its institutional eligibility claims; 

c. Will promptly notify the council within 30 days 
following any change in governance or mission that may 
affect the institution's status as an eligible institution; and 

d. By its governing body, has authorized its adherence to 
the requirements of this chapter, as the same are now 
constituted or hereafter amended, until such time as the 
institution may withdraw from participation in the 
program. 

Applications must be approved and all documents must be 
on file before any funds are disbursed. 

8VAC40-150-30. Eligibility criteria for an initial award. 

In order to receive an award, the student must: 

1. Be a domiciliary resident of Virginia; 

2. Be a first-time entering freshman no earlier than fall 
2007; 

3. Have received an associate's degree at a Virginia two-
year public institution of higher education; 

4. Have a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.0 on 
a 4.0 scale upon completion of the associate's degree 
program; 

5. Have enrolled into a participating institution by the fall 
term following completion of the associate's degree; 

6. Be enrolled for full-time study in an approved course of 
study; 

7. Have applied for financial aid by completing the FAFSA 
by the institution's published deadline; 

8. Demonstrate financial need; and 

9. Have complied with federal selective service registration 
requirements, unless the following apply:  

a. The requirement to register has terminated or become 
inapplicable; and  

b. The student shows by preponderance of the evidence 
that failure to register was not a knowing and willful 
failure to register and that the student complies with 
federal selective service registration requirements prior to 
disbursement of funds.  

8VAC40-150-40. Amount of awards. 

Awards are subject to the following limitations: 

1. Standard awards are set at a maximum of $1,000 per 
award year, which is allocated at $500 per term for up to 
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two terms per award year.  For institutions not on a 
semester-based calendar, council staff will determine an 
equivalent award per term.   

2. An additional $1,000 per year is available to students 
enrolled into an eligible science, teaching, engineering, 
mathematics, or nursing degree (STEMN) program, which 
is allocated at $500 per term for up to two terms per award 
year. For institutions not on a semester-based calendar, 
council staff will determine an equivalent award per term.  

3. If the general appropriation is insufficient to provide a 
full award to all eligible students, then the awards for all 
students shall be reduced proportionately. 

4. Degree programs eligible for the additional amount will 
be identified in the council's guidance document: CTG 
Addendum – Eligible STEMN Degree Programs.  

5. Eligibility for the additional STEMN award must be 
checked prior to each disbursement of funds.  

6. An award received by a student under the program is 
applied to the student's tuition and fees and cannot be 
prorated or reduced by the institution except in cases when 
the award, when combined with all other financial 
assistance (exclusive of the student's EFC), exceeds the 
student's cost of attendance. 

7. CTG recipients must have their state need-based 
financial aid eligibility reduced by the amount of the CTG 
award. For purposes of recalculating eligibility for the 
Commonwealth Award or Virginia Guaranteed Assistance 
Program (VGAP) grant, the student's tuition and fees are 
reduced by the amount of the CTG award. These adjusted 
tuition and fees are then used to recalculate the CTG 
recipient's cost of attendance used to determine the 
student's eligibility for the Commonwealth Award or 
VGAP. In no case should a student's CTG and 
Commonwealth Award combine to exceed tuition and fees 
or the CTG and VGAP combine to exceed tuition, fees, 
and a book allowance.  

8VAC40-150-50. Refund of awards. 

A student who receives an award and who, during a term, 
withdraws from the institution that made the award must 
surrender the balance of the award. The tuition refund policy 
in effect at the institution will determine the amount that must 
be reclaimed by the institution.  

8VAC40-150-60. Summer session awards. 

Institutions may elect to award during trailing summer 
sessions as long as the student does not exceed the maximum 
annual award amount specified in 8VAC40-150-40.  

8VAC40-150-70. Renewability of awards. 

Awards may be renewed for a maximum of two award 
years. Students shall be limited to a total period of no more 

than three award years or 70 attempted credit hours.  Awards 
may be renewed provided that the student continues to be 
enrolled full-time in an approved course of study, maintains 
domicile in Virginia per § 23-7.4 of the Code of Virginia and 
annually:  

1. Applies for financial aid by completing the FAFSA by 
the institution's published deadline; 

2. Demonstrates continued financial need; 

3. Maintains a grade point average of at least 3.0 on a 4.0 
scale; and 

4. Maintains satisfactory academic progress. 

Students transferring from one participating institution to 
another shall be considered renewal students if they received 
an award during the prior year provided they met renewal 
criteria.  

Students who do not initially receive an award may be 
considered for renewal awards provided that they meet initial 
eligibility criteria and continue to meet renewal criteria.  

Once a student loses his classification as CTG-eligible, the 
student cannot reestablish such eligibility.  

8VAC40-150-80. Use of funds. 

A student may receive funds through one institution only. If 
a student is enrolled concurrently at two participating 
institutions and there is a formal consortium agreement in 
place, the student may receive funding based on the combined 
enrollment.  

8VAC40-150-90. Responsibility of the council. 

The council shall collect such student-specific information 
as is necessary for the operation of the program and other 
information deemed necessary by the council.  

8VAC40-150-100. Responsibility of participating 
institutions. 

A.  Virginia public two-year colleges shall verify that the 
student meets the program's academic portion of the initial 
eligibility criteria, which includes: 

1. Initial enrollment as a first-time entering freshman no 
earlier than fall 2007; 

2. Receipt of an associate's degree; and 

3. Cumulative grade point average of at least a 3.0 on a 4.0 
scale upon completion of an associate's degree program. 

B. Participating institutions shall:  

1. Verify students meeting initial and renewal eligibility 
criteria not otherwise verified by the two-year college; 

2. Provide reports by term to the council indicating the 
number of eligible students enrolled; 
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3. Provide annual reports to the council that will include, 
but not be limited to, information describing the students 
served, the awards received, and the number and value of 
awards;  

4. Upon request by a student transferring to another 
participating institution, forward information about the 
student's CTG eligibility;  

5. Establish and maintain financial records that accurately 
reflect all program transactions as they occur. The 
institution shall establish and maintain general ledger 
control accounts and related subsidiary accounts that 
identify each program transaction and separate those 
transactions from all other institutional financial activity; 
and 

6. Ensure that all unused funds are returned to the council 
no later than the end of the fiscal year or 20 working days 
after receiving written request from the council, whichever 
is sooner.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-2031; Filed July 28, 2009, 10:10 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 
NOTICE: The following forms have been filed by the 
Department of Environmental Quality. The forms are 
available for public inspection at the Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, Richmond, 
Virginia, or at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 
23219. Copies of the forms may be obtained from Cindy 
Berndt, Director of Regulatory Affairs, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, (804) 698-4378, or email 
cindy.berndt@deq.virginia.gov. 

Forms 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-32. Virginia Pollution 
Abatement (VPA) Permit Regulation. 
FORMS (9VAC25-32) 

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, General 
Instructions, revised 2008 4/2009.  

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, Form A, 
All Applicants, revised 1/08 4/2009.  

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, Form B, 
Animal Waste, revised 10/95.  

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, Form C, 
Industrial Waste, revised 10/95.  

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, Form D, 
Municipal Effluent and Biosolids, revised 2/08 4/2009. 

Application for a Biosolids Use Permit, 2007. 

Application for Land Application Supervisor Certification, 
(eff. 1/08). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1967; Filed May 5, 2009, 12:29 p.m.  

Forms 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-740. Water Reclamation and 
Reuse Regulation. 
FORMS (9VAC25-740) 

Water Reclamation and Reuse Addendum to an Application 
for a Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Permit 
or a Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit, 9/3/2008 6/1/2009. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-2020; Filed June 9, 2009, 1:16 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 10. FINANCE AND FINANCIAL 
INSTITUTIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 
of the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 10VAC5-161. Mortgage Loan 
Originators (adding 10VAC5-161-10 through 10VAC5-
161-60). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 6.1-431.21 and 12.1-13 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 17, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Nicholas C. Kyrus, Deputy Commissioner, 
State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance, P. O. 
Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9690, 
FAX (804) 371-9416, or email nick.kyrus@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulations implement the provisions of Chapters 273 
and 453 of the 2009 Acts of Assembly relating to licensure 
of individual mortgage loan originators. The regulations 
specify the individuals subject to licensure; prescribe the 
conditions, fees, and procedure for licensing; prescribe the 
conditions, fees, and procedure for annual license 
renewal; establish the amount of surety bond necessary for 
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licensing; and specify the reports and notices required in 
connection with licensing. 

Modifications to the regulations since initial publication of 
the proposed regulations include (i) making amendments 
to 10VAC5-161-20 A 3 to conform to other parts of the 
regulations, (ii) increasing the time period under 10VAC5-
161-60 C within which certain notices must be given, and 
(iii) other clarifying and technical changes. 

AT RICHMOND, JULY 17, 2009 

Ex Parte: In re: Proposed Rules Governing 
Licensing of Mortgage Loan Originators 

CASE NO. BFI-2009-00290 

ORDER ADOPTING A REGULATION 

By Order entered herein on May 6, 2009, the State 
Corporation Commission ("Commission") directed that notice 
be given of proposed adoption of a regulation pursuant to 
§ 6.1-431.20 of the Code of Virginia. Notice of the proposed 
regulation was published in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations on May 25, 2009, and the proposed regulation 
was posted on the Commission's website.  Interested parties 
were afforded the opportunity to file written or electronic 
comments in favor of or against the proposal on or before 
June 22, 2009. The Commissioner of Financial Institutions 
("Commissioner") mailed copies of the aforesaid Order and 
the proposed regulation to all licensees under Chapter 16 of 
Title 6.1 of the Code of Virginia and other interested persons. 
Four written or electronic comments were filed including 
written comments filed by counsel for the Virginia Mortgage 
Lenders Association ("VMLA") and by counsel for the 
Virginia Housing Development Authority ("VHDA"). 

A hearing in this case was convened before the Commission 
in its courtroom at 10:00 a.m. on July 9, 2009. Counsel for 
the Commissioner appeared, presented argument in support of 
the proposed regulation, and presented a revised version of 
the proposed regulation to the Commission which included 
certain revisions suggested by comments filed in the case. 
Counsel for the VMLA appeared and presented argument, 
and a representative of Republic Mortgage Insurance 
Company also commented, in support of written comments 
filed by VMLA. 

THE COMMISSION, having considered the record, the 
proposed regulation with modifications submitted by counsel 
for the Commissioner, and argument and testimony heard in 
the case, concludes that the proposed regulation, with 
modifications, will promote the efficient administration of 
Chapter 16.1 of Title 6.1 of the Code of Virginia and should 
be adopted. The modifications include (1) substitution of new 
subdivision 10 VAC 5-161-20 A 3 for that subsection as 
originally proposed, with conforming changes to other parts 
of the regulation, (2) increasing the time period under 

10 VAC 5-161-60 C within which certain notices must be 
given, and (3) other clarifying and technical changes. 

THEREFORE IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed regulation, as modified, attached hereto is 
adopted effective August 17, 2009. 

(2) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
shall send a copy of this Order, including a copy of the 
attached regulation, to the Virginia Registrar of Regulations 
for publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

(3) This Order and the attached regulation shall be posted on 
the Commission's website at 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(4) This case is dismissed from the Commission's docket of 
active cases. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 
the Commission to the Commissioner of Financial 
Institutions, who shall forthwith mail a copy of this Order and 
the attached regulation to all licensed mortgage lenders and 
brokers and such other interested persons as he may 
designate. 

CHAPTER 161  
MORTGAGE LOAN ORIGINATORS  

10VAC5-161-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Bureau" means the State Corporation Commission's Bureau 
of Financial Institutions. 

"Licensee," "mortgage loan originator," "person," 
"registered mortgage loan originator," "registry," "residential 
mortgage loan," and "unique identifier" shall have the 
meanings ascribed to them in § 6.1-431.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

10VAC5-161-20. Individuals subject to licensure. 

A. [ In order to act as a mortgage loan originator on On ] or 
after July 1, 2010, the following individuals must obtain a 
license: 

1. Individuals acting as mortgage loan originators who are 
employees or exclusive agents of persons licensed under 
Chapter 16 (§ 6.1-408 et seq.) of Title 6.1 of the Code of 
Virginia;  

2. Individuals, other than registered mortgage loan 
originators, acting as mortgage loan originators who are 
employees or exclusive agents of persons exempt from 
licensure under Chapter 16 (§ 6.1-408 et seq.) of Title 6.1 
of the Code of Virginia; and  
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3. Individuals acting as [ independent contractors 
performing residential mortgage loan processing and 
underwriting activities mortgage loan originators who are 
not employees or exclusive agents of either persons 
licensed under Chapter 16 (§ 6.1-408 et seq.) of Title 6.1 of 
the Code of Virginia or exempt from such licensure ].  

B. Individuals who are coemployees of professional 
employer organizations or staffing services shall be deemed 
to be employees of the client company. 

10VAC5-161-30. License application procedure. 

A. Applications for a mortgage loan originator license shall 
be made through the registry in accordance with instructions 
from the registry and the bureau. In connection with such 
applications, the individual seeking a license shall furnish the 
registry all required information concerning his identity, 
personal history and experience, and fingerprints, and shall 
pay or cause to be paid through the registry required registry 
fees and an application fee of $150. 

B. Within five days after [ registration submitting an 
application for a mortgage loan originator license ] with the 
registry, a bond with corporate surety on a commission-
approved form and in an amount conforming to 10VAC5-
161-50 shall be filed with the bureau, together with such 
further information as the bureau may require concerning the 
applicant's qualifications for licensure. In the case of 
individuals described in 10VAC5-161-20 A 1 and 2, the bond 
shall be filed [ (or documentation shall be filed indicating that 
the applicant is covered by a bond previously filed) ] by the 
person for whom the applicant will perform mortgage loan 
origination services. Filing of a bond under this subsection by 
a person licensed under Chapter 16 (§ 6.1-408 et seq.) of Title 
6.1 of the Code of Virginia shall constitute compliance with 
§ 6.1-413 of the Code of Virginia if the bond is in the amount 
required under § 6.1-413 of the Code of Virginia. In the case 
of individuals described in 10VAC5-161-20 A 3, the bond 
shall be filed by the individual applicant. In either case the 
person filing the bond shall, unless such information is 
contained in a prior filing under Chapter 16 of Title 6.1 of the 
Code of Virginia, simultaneously provide information to the 
bureau concerning his or its dollar volume of residential 
mortgage loans originated [ , processed, or underwritten ] 
during the immediately preceding calendar year. 

C. If the bureau requests information to complete a deficient 
application and the information is not received within 60 days 
of the bureau's request, the application shall be deemed 
abandoned unless a request for an extension of time is 
received and approved by the bureau prior to the expiration of 
the 60-day period. 

10VAC5-161-40. Conditions of licensure and renewals. 

A. A mortgage loan originator license will be granted only if 
the individual meets the following conditions: 

1. Application is made in accordance with 10VAC5-161-
30; 

2. The individual has obtained a unique identifier from the 
registry; 

3. [ The individual has never had a mortgage loan 
originator license revoked by any governmental authority;  

3. 4. ] The individual's criminal history record contains no 
disqualifying convictions under § 6.1-431.8 of the Code of 
Virginia; 

[ 4. 5. ] The individual has completed the prelicensing 
education prescribed by § 6.1-431.9 of the Code of 
Virginia [ . ; ] 

[ 5. 6. ] The individual has achieved an acceptable score on 
the qualified written test prescribed by § 6.1-431.10 of the 
Code of Virginia; and 

[ 6. 7. ] The individual possesses the financial 
responsibility, character, and general fitness required for 
licensure [ by § 6.1-431.7 of the Code of Virginia ]. 

B. Licenses shall be subject to renewal each calendar year 
unless granted within 90 days before the end of the preceding 
calendar year. In order to renew a license, a licensee must 
[ apply for renewal renew ] through the registry on or before 
the end of the current license year in accordance with 
instructions from the registry and the bureau. The licensee 
shall furnish the registry and the bureau all required 
information and documentation and shall pay or cause to be 
paid through the registry all required registry fees and a 
license renewal fee of $100. 

C. A mortgage loan originator license will be renewed only 
if the licensee meets the following conditions: 

1. License renewal application is made in accordance with 
subsection B of this section; 

2. The licensee continues to meet the conditions for initial 
licensure; and 

3. The licensee has obtained the continuing education 
prescribed in § 6.1-431.11 of the Code of Virginia. 

D. If a licensee fails to timely meet the conditions specified 
in subsection C of this section, but meets such conditions 
before March 1 of a renewal year and pays a reinstatement fee 
of $30, his license will be reinstated. 

10VAC5-161-50. Surety bond amount. 

The surety bond amount required to be filed and maintained 
by or on behalf of the licensee shall be set and adjusted as 
necessary annually by the bureau in accordance with the 
following scale [ , ] based upon residential mortgage loans 
originated [ , processed or underwritten, as the case may be, ] 
during the preceding calendar year: 
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LOANS BOND AMOUNT 

$0 - $5,000,000 $25,000 

$5,000,001 - $20,000,000 $50,000 

$20,000,001 - $50,000,000 $75,000 

$50,000,001 - $100,000,000 $100,000 

over $100,000,000 $150,000 

10VAC5-161-60. Required reports and notices. 

A. On or before March 1 of each year, each person for 
whom an individual described in 10VAC5-161-20 A 1 or 2 
performs services shall file an annual report with the bureau 
stating the amount of residential mortgage loans made or 
brokered during the preceding calendar year, identifying all 
licensees performing services for that person, and providing 
such additional information as the bureau may require. 
Timely filing of the annual report required by Chapter 16 (§ 
6.1-408 et seq.) of Title 6.1 of the Code of Virginia by a 
person licensed under that chapter shall constitute compliance 
with this subsection by that person if the annual report 
contains the information specified in this subsection. 

B. On or before March 1 of each year, each licensee who is 
an individual described in 10VAC5-161-20 A 3 shall file an 
annual report with the bureau stating the amount of residential 
mortgage loans [ processed or underwritten originated during 
the preceding calendar year ] and providing such additional 
information as the bureau may require. 

C. Each licensee shall give notice to the bureau, either 
directly for a notice under subdivision 1 of this subsection or 
through the registry for other notices required by this section, 
within [ five 15 ] days after the occurrence of any of the 
following events: 

1. Cessation of activities for which a license is required, 
upon receipt of which notice the individual's license will be 
placed in inactive status and the individual shall not engage 
in activities requiring licensure under this chapter until 
such time as the individual meets the description in 
10VAC5-161-20 A 1, 2, or 3 and other provisions of this 
chapter; 

2. Termination of employment or exclusive agency as a 
mortgage loan originator for a person licensed or exempt 
from licensing under Chapter 16 of Title 6.1 of the Code of 
Virginia, upon receipt of which notice the individual's 
license will be placed in inactive status and the individual 
shall not engage in activities requiring licensure under this 
chapter until such time as the individual meets the 
description in 10VAC5-161-20 A 1, 2, or 3 and other 
provisions of this chapter; 

3. Commencement of employment or exclusive agency as 
a mortgage loan originator for a new person licensed or 
exempt from licensing under Chapter 16 of Title 6.1 of the 

Code of Virginia, in which event the new person shall 
comply with the surety bond filing requirements of 
10VAC5-161-30 B and 10VAC5-161-50; or 

4. Surrender of a license, in which case the licensee shall 
mail his license to the bureau immediately upon giving 
notice of surrender of the license. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1904; Filed July 20, 2009, 9:16 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Extension of Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards 
for Establishing Payment Rates; Other Types of Care 
(amending 12VAC30-80-40). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Dates: August 4, 2008, through December 31, 2009. 

The Department of Medical Assistance Services requested an 
extension of the above-referenced emergency regulation, 
relating to maximum acquisition cost reimbursement of 
specialty drugs, pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of 
Virginia. The emergency regulation was published in 24:25 
VA.R. 3617-3619 August 18, 2008 
(http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol24/iss25/v24i25.pdf). 

The Governor approved the department's request to extend 
the expiration date of the emergency regulation until 
December 31, 2009, in accordance with § 2.2-4011 D of the 
Code of Virginia.  

Agency Contact: Keith Hayashi, Project Manager, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
225-2773, or email keith.hayashi@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1319; Filed August 3, 2009, 5:18 p.m.  

Notice of Extension of Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards 
for Establishing Payment Rates; Other Types of Care 
(amending 12VAC30-80-30, 12VAC30-80-190).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Dates: August 27, 2008, through December 31, 
2009. 

The Department of Medical Assistance Services requested an 
extension of the above-referenced emergency regulation, 
relating to recalibration of Resource Based Relative Value 
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System physician rates and implementation of site of service 
differentials, pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia. 
The emergency regulation was published in 25:1 VA.R. 41-
43 September 15, 2008 
(http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol25/iss01/v25i01.pdf). 

The Governor approved the department's request to extend 
the expiration date of the emergency regulation until 
December 31, 2009, in accordance with § 2.2-4011 D of the 
Code of Virginia.  

Agency Contact: William J. Lessard, Project Manager, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
225-4593, FAX (804) 371-8892, or email 
william.lessard@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1331; Filed August 3, 2009, 5:18 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 
exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance 
with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, which 
excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 
requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 
regulations do not differ materially from those required by 
federal law or regulation. The Department of Medical 
Assistance Services will receive, consider, and respond to 
petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-141. Family Access to 
Medical Insurance Security Plan (amending 12VAC30-
141-660). 
Statutory Authority: § 32.1-351 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 16, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
brian.mccormick@dmas.Virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This action implements a mandate in § 403 of the 
Children’s Health Insurance Program Reauthorization Act 
(CHIPRA) of 2009 (P. L. 111-3) that applies certain 
managed care quality safeguards to the federal State 
Children's Health Insurance Program. This action allows 
those children who are assigned to a managed care health 
insurance plan (MCHIP) in an area where there is only 
one contracted MCHIP to request reassignment to the 
traditional fee-for-service delivery and payment system as 
an alternative. 

12VAC30-141-660. Assignment to managed care. 

A. Except for children enrolled in the Virginia Birth-Related 
Neurological Injury Compensation Program established 
pursuant to Chapter 50 (§ 38.2-5000 et seq.) of Title 38.2 of 
the Code of Virginia, all eligible enrollees shall be assigned 
in managed care through the department or the central 
processing unit (CPU) under contract to DMAS. FAMIS 
recipients, during the preassignment period to a PCP or 
MCHIP, shall receive Title XXI benefits via fee-for-service 
utilizing a FAMIS card issued by DMAS. After assignment to 
a PCP or MCHIP, benefits and the delivery of benefits shall 
be administered specific to the type of managed care program 
in which the recipient is enrolled. DMAS shall contract with 
MCHIPs to deliver health care services for infants born to 
mothers enrolled in FAMIS for the month of birth plus two 
additional months regardless of the status of the newborn's 
application for FAMIS. If federal funds are not available for 
those months of coverage, DMAS shall use state funding 
only. 

1. MCHIPs shall be offered to enrollees in certain areas. 

2. In areas with one contracted MCHIP, all enrollees shall 
be assigned to that contracted MCHIP. 

3. In areas with multiple contracted MCHIPs or in PCCM 
areas without contracted MCHIPs, enrollees shall be 
assigned through a random system algorithm; provided 
however, all children within the same family shall be 
assigned to the same MCHIP or primary care provider 
(PCP), as is applicable. 

4. In areas without contracted MCHIPs, enrollees shall be 
assigned to the primary care case management program 
(PCCM) or into the fee-for-service component. All 
children enrolled in the Virginia Birth-Related 
Neurological Injury Compensation Program shall be 
assigned to the fee-for-service component. 

5. Enrolled individuals residing in PCCM areas without 
contracted MCHIPs or in areas with multiple MCHIPs, 
will receive a letter indicating that they may select one of 
the contracted MCHIPs or primary care provider (PCP) in 
the PCCM program, in each case, which serve such area. 
Enrollees who do not select an MCHIP/PCP as described 
above, shall be assigned to an MCHIP/PCP as described in 
subdivision 3 of this section. 

6. Individuals assigned to an MCHIP or a PCCM who lose 
and then regain eligibility for FAMIS within 60 days will 
be re-assigned to their previous MCHIP or PCP. 

B. Following their initial assignment to a MCHIP/PCP, 
those enrollees shall be restricted to that MCHIP/PCP until 
their next annual eligibility redetermination, unless 
appropriately disenrolled by the department. 

1. During the first 90 calendar days of managed care 
assignment, an enrollee may request reassignment for any 
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reason from that MCHIP/PCP to another MCHIP/PCP 
serving that geographic area. Such reassignment shall be 
effective no later than the first day of the second month 
after the month in which the enrollee requests 
reassignment. 

2. Reassignment is available only in areas with the PCCM 
program or where multiple MCHIPs exist. If multiple 
MCHIPs exist, enrollees may only request reassignment to 
another MCHIP serving that geographic area. In PCCM 
areas, an enrollee may only request reassignment to 
another PCP serving that geographic area. In areas with 
only one MCHIP, enrollees may request reassignment to 
fee-for-service.  

3. After the first 90 calendar days of the assignment period, 
the enrollee may only be reassigned from one MCHIP/PCP 
to another MCHIP/PCP or to fee-for-service in areas with 
only one MCHIP upon determination by DMAS that good 
cause exists pursuant to subsection C of this section. 

C. Disenrollment for good cause may be requested at any 
time. 

1. After the first 90 days of assignment in managed care, 
enrollees may request disenrollment from DMAS based on 
good cause. The request must be made in writing to DMAS 
and cite the reasons why the enrollee wishes to be 
reassigned. The department shall establish procedures for 
good cause reassignment through written policy directives.  

2. DMAS shall determine whether good cause exists for 
reassignment. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-2024; Filed July 24, 2009, 10:37 a.m.  

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC35-200. Regulations for Respite 
and Emergency Care Admission to Mental Retardation 
Facilities (amending 12VAC35-200-10, 12VAC35-200-20, 
12VAC35-200-30). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 37.2-203 and 37.2-807 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 16, 2009.  

Agency Contact: Dawn Traver, Office of Mental Retardation 
Services, Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services, P.O. Box 1797, 1220 Bank Street, 
Richmond, VA 23218-1797, telephone (757) 253-4316, FAX 
(757) 253-5440, or email 
dawn.traver@co.dmhmrsas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This action revises the statutory references to reflect the 
recent recodification of Title 37.1 to Title 37.2 of the Code 

of Virginia. Changes are made to definitions of 
"authorized representative," "mental retardation," and 
several other terms for clarity and consistency with the 
Code of Virginia and other regulations of the board. The 
application process and requirements for admissions for 
respite and emergency services are clarified. The 
application materials are revised to require a statement 
from the individual, family member, or authorized 
representative specifically requesting services in the 
facility. 

Since the publication of the proposed regulation some 
language and terminology are revised for clarity, 
consistency with other regulations, and in response to 
public comments.  For example, "case management 
community services board" is replaced with "community 
services board" for clarification in response to comments 
received. The term "intellectual disability" is inserted after 
"mental retardation" to be consistent with common use in 
the field and to respond to public comment.  None of the 
revisions substantively change the process or the 
requirements for respite or emergency care admissions to 
state training centers. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

CHAPTER 200  
REGULATIONS FOR [ RESPITE AND ] EMERGENCY 

[ AND RESPITE ] CARE ADMISSION TO MENTAL 
RETARDATION FACILITIES STATE TRAINING 

CENTERS  

12VAC35-200-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Applicant" means a person for whom respite care or 
emergency care services are sought.  

"Authorized representative" means a person permitted by 
law or regulations to authorize the disclosure of information 
or consent to treatment and services, including medical 
treatment, or for the participation in human research on behalf 
of an individual who lacks the mental capacity to make these 
decisions. 

[ "Case management community services board ] (CSB) 
[ "or "CSB" means a citizens board established pursuant to ] 
§ 37.1-195 [ § 37.2-501 of the Code of Virginia that serves 
the area in which an adult resides or in which a minor's 
parent, guardian or ] legally [ authorized representative 
resides. ] The case management CSB is responsible for case 
management, liaison with the facility when an individual is 
admitted to a state training center, and predischarge planning. 
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If an individual, or the parents, guardian or legally authorized 
representative on behalf of an individual, chooses to reside in 
a different locality after discharge from the facility, the 
community services board serving that locality becomes the 
case management CSB and works with the original case 
management CSB, the individual receiving services and the 
state facility to effect a smooth transition and discharge. [ For 
the purpose of these regulations, CSB also includes a 
behavioral health authority established pursuant to § 37.2-602 
of the Code of Virginia. ]  

"Catastrophe" means an unexpected or imminent change in 
an individual's living situation or environment that poses a 
risk of serious physical or emotional harm to that individual. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the 
Department of [ Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Behavioral Health and Developmental ] 
Services. 

[ "Community services board" or "CSB" means a public 
body established pursuant to § 37.2-501 of the Code of 
Virginia. For the purpose of these regulations, CSB also 
includes a behavioral health authority established pursuant to 
§ 37.2-602 of the Code of Virginia. ] 

"Discharge plan" or "predischarge plan" means a written 
plan prepared by the [ case management ] CSB [ providing 
case management, ] in consultation with the [ state facility 
training center ] pursuant to § 37.1-197.1 [ § 37.2-505 
§§ 37.2-505 and 37.2-837 ] of the Code of Virginia. This plan 
is prepared when the individual is admitted to the [ facility 
training center ] and documents the [ planning for ] services 
[ after to be provided upon ] discharge. 

"Emergency care admission" means the temporary 
[ placement acceptance ] of an individual with mental 
retardation [ in (intellectual disability) into ] a [ facility 
training center ] when immediate care is necessary due to a 
catastrophe and no other community alternatives are 
available. The total number of days that emergency or respite 
care services, or both, are used shall not exceed 21 
consecutive days or 75 days in a calendar year. This 
emergency care is not intended as a means of providing 
evaluation and program development services, nor is it 
intended to be used to obtain treatment of medical or 
behavioral problems. 

[ "Facility" means a state training center for individuals with 
mental retardation under the supervision and management of 
the Commissioner of the Department of Mental Health, 
Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services. ]  

"Guardianship Guardian" means: 

1. For minors -- An an adult who is either appointed by the 
court as a legal guardian of said a minor or exercises the 
rights and responsibilities of legal custody by delegation 

from a biological or adoptive parent upon provisional 
adoption or otherwise by operation of law. 

2. For adults -- a person appointed by the court who is 
responsible for the personal affairs of an incapacitated 
adult under the order of appointment. The responsibilities 
may include making decisions regarding the individual's 
support, care, health, safety, habilitation, education and 
therapeutic treatment. Refer to definition of "incapacitated 
person" at § 37.1-134.6 § 37.2-1000 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

"Individual" means a person for whom respite or emergency 
services are sought. 

"Least Less restrictive setting" means the treatment and 
conditions of treatment that, separately or in combination, are 
service location that is no more intrusive or restrictive of 
freedom than reasonably necessary to achieve a substantial 
therapeutic benefit and protection from harm (to self and 
others) based on an individual's needs. 

"Legally authorized representative" means a person 
permitted by law or regulations to give informed consent for 
disclosure of information and give informed consent to 
treatment including medical treatment on behalf of an 
individual who lacks the mental capacity to make these 
decisions. 

"Mental retardation [ "(intellectual disability)" ] means the 
substantial subaverage general intellectual functioning that 
originates during the developmental period and is associated 
with impairment in adaptive behavior a disability, originating 
before the age of 18 years, characterized concurrently by (i) 
significantly subaverage intellectual functioning as 
demonstrated by performance on a standardized measure of 
intellectual functioning, administered in conformity with 
accepted professional practice, that is at least two standard 
deviations below the mean; and (ii) significant limitations in 
adaptive behavior as expressed in conceptual, social, and 
practical adaptive skills. 

"Respite [ care ]" means the placement of an individual with 
mental retardation in a state facility when placement is solely 
for the purpose of providing [ temporary care and support to 
an individual with mental retardation because of medical or 
other urgent conditions of the ] caretaking [ person providing 
care. ] The total number of days that respite or emergency 
care services, or both, are used is not to exceed 21 
consecutive days or 75 days in a calendar year. Respite care 
services are not intended as a means of providing evaluations 
and program development services, nor are they intended to 
be used to obtain treatment of medical or behavioral problems 
or both. [ care provided to an individual with mental 
retardation (intellectual disability) on a short-term basis 
because of the emergency absence of or need to provide 
routine or periodic relief of the primary caregiver for the 
individual. Services are specifically designed to provide 
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temporary, substitute care for that which is normally provided 
by the primary caregiver. 

"Training center" means a facility operated by the 
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services for the treatment, training, or habilitation of persons 
with mental retardation (intellectual disability). ] 

12VAC35-200-20. Respite [ care ] admission. 

A. Applications for respite [ care ] in [ state facilities 
training centers ] shall be processed through the [ case 
management ] CSB [ providing case management ]. A parent, 
guardian, or legally authorized representative seeking respite 
[ care services ] for an individual with mental retardation 
[ (intellectual disability) ] shall apply first to the CSB that 
serves the area where the applicant individual, or if a minor, 
his parent, or guardian, or legally authorized representative is 
currently residing. If the case management CSB determines 
that respite [ care services ] for the applicant individual [ are 
is ] not available in the community, it shall forward an 
application to the [ facility training center ] serving 
individuals with mental retardation [ (intellectual disability) ] 
from that geographic section of the state in which the 
applicant individual or his parent, or guardian, or legally 
authorized representative is currently residing. 

The application shall include: 

1. An application for services; 

2. A medical history indicating the presence of any current 
medical problems as well as the presence of any known 
communicable disease. In all cases, the application shall 
include any currently prescribed medications as well as any 
known medication allergies; 

3. A social history and current status; 

4. A psychological evaluation that has been performed in 
the past three years unless the facility director or designee 
determines that sufficient information as to the applicant's 
abilities and needs is included in other reports received 
reflects the individual's current functioning; 

5. A current individualized education plan for school aged 
applicants individuals unless the [ facility training center ] 
director or designee determines that sufficient information 
as to the applicant's individual's abilities and needs is 
included in other reports received; 

6. A vocational assessment for adult applicants adults 
unless the [ facility training center ] director or designee 
determines that sufficient information as to the applicant's 
individual's abilities and needs is included in other reports 
received; 

7. A statement from the case management CSB that respite 
[ care services is not available in the community ] for the 
applicant individual [ are not available in the community ]; 
and 

8. A statement from the case management CSB that the 
appropriate arrangements will be are being made to return 
the individual to the CSB within the time frame required 
under this regulation; and 

9. A statement from the individual, a family member, or 
authorized representative specifically requesting services 
in the [ facility training center ]. 

B. Determination of eligibility for respite [ care ] services 
shall be based upon the following criteria: 

1. The applicant individual has a primary diagnosis of 
mental retardation [ (intellectual disability) ] and functions 
on a level that meets the [ facility's training center's ] 
regular admission criteria;  

2. The applicant's individual's needs for care and 
supervision are such that, in the event of a need for 
temporary care, respite [ care services ] would not be 
available in a less restrictive setting; and  

3. The [ facility training center ] has appropriate resources 
to meet the care and supervision needs of the applicant 
individual.  

Within a reasonable time of the receipt of the completed 
application By the end of the next working day following 
receipt of a complete application package, the [ facility 
training center ] director, or his designee, shall provide 
written notice of his decision to the case management CSB. 
This notice shall state the reasons for the decision.  

If it is determined that the applicant individual is not eligible 
for respite [ care ], the person seeking respite [ care services ] 
may ask for reconsideration of the decision by submitting a 
written request for such reconsideration to the commissioner. 
Upon receipt of such request, the commissioner or designee 
shall notify the [ facility training center ] director and the 
[ facility training center ] director shall forward the 
application packet and related information to the 
commissioner or designee within 48 hours. The commissioner 
or designee shall also provide an opportunity for the person 
seeking respite [ care services ] to submit for consideration 
any additional information or reasons as to why the admission 
should be approved. The commissioner shall render a written 
decision on the request for reconsideration within 10 days of 
the receipt of such request and notify all involved parties. The 
commissioner's decision shall be binding. 

C. Respite [ care ] is [ shall be ] provided in [ state facilities 
training centers ] under the following conditions: 

1. The length of the respite [ care ] stay at the [ facility 
training center ] shall not exceed 21 consecutive days or a 
total of 75 days in a calendar year the limits [ defined 
established ] in § 37.2-807 of the Code of Virginia;  

2. Information on file at the facility is current;  
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3. 2. Space and adequate staff coverage are available on a 
[ unit residential living area ] with an appropriate peer 
group for the applicant individual and suitable resources to 
meet his care and supervision needs; and  

4. 3. [ A physical examination performed by the facility's 
health service personnel at the time of the respite care 
admission has determined that the applicant's individual's 
health care needs can be met by the facility's resources 
during the scheduled respite care stay The training center 
has resources to meet the individual's health care needs 
during the scheduled respite stay as determined by a 
physical examination performed by the training center's 
health service personnel at the time of the respite 
admission ]. 

If for any reason a person admitted for respite [ care 
services ] is not discharged at the agreed upon time, the case 
management CSB shall develop a an updated discharge plan 
as provided in §§ 37.1-98 and 37.1-197.1 §§ 37.2-505 and 
37.2-837 of the Code of Virginia. 

Respite care shall not be used as a mechanism to circumvent 
the [ standard voluntary ] admissions procedures as provided 
in § 37.1-65.1 § 37.2-806 of the Code of Virginia. [ No 
person who is admitted to a training center ] in response to 
[ under the provisions of this chapter shall, during the time of 
such respite ] care [ admission, be eligible for admission to 
any training center ] in response to § 37.1-65.1 [ under § 
37.2-806 of the Code of Virginia. ]  

12VAC35-200-30. Emergency care admission. 

A. In the event of a catastrophe change in an individual's 
circumstances necessitating immediate, short-term care for an 
individual with mental retardation [ (intellectual disability) ], 
[ emergency care admission may be requested by ] a parent, 
guardian, or legally authorized representative [ may request 
emergency admission ] by calling the case management CSB 
[ serving the area where the individual, or in the case of a 
minor, his parent or guardian resides ]. [ If Under these 
circumstances if ] the case management CSB determines that 
[ respite ] care services for the applicant individual are not 
available in the community, it may request an emergency 
admission to the [ facility training center ] serving that 
geographic area [ in which the ] applicant [ individual, or in 
case of a minor, his parent, or guardian ], or legally 
authorized representative [ resides ]. 

The case management CSB shall make every effort to obtain 
the same case information required for respite care 
admissions, as described in 12VAC35-200-20 A, before 
[ assuming the training center assumes ] responsibility for the 
care of the individual in need of emergency services. 
However, if the information is not available, this requirement 
may temporarily be waived if, and only if, arrangements have 
been made for receipt of the required information within 48 
hours of the emergency care admission. 

B. Acceptance for emergency care admissions admission 
shall be based upon the following criteria: 

1. A catastrophe change in the individual's circumstances 
has occurred requiring immediate alternate arrangements to 
protect the individual's health and safety;  

2. The individual has a primary diagnosis of mental 
retardation [ (intellectual disability) ] and functions on a 
level that meets the [ facility's training center's ] regular 
admissions criteria;  

3. All other alternate care resources in the community have 
been explored and found to be unavailable;  

4. Space is available on a [ unit residential living area ] 
with appropriate resources to meet the individual's care and 
supervision needs; 

5. The [ facility's training center's ] health services 
personnel have determined that the individual's health care 
needs can be met by the [ facility's training center's ] 
resources; and 

6. The length of the emergency care stay at the [ facility 
will training center shall ] not exceed 21 consecutive days 
or a total of 75 days in a calendar year the limits [ defined 
established ] in § 37.2-807 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. Within 24 hours of receiving a request for emergency 
care admission, the [ facility training center ] director, or his 
designee, [ will shall ] inform the case management CSB 
whether the applicant individual is eligible for emergency 
care admission and whether the [ facility training center ] is 
able to provide emergency care services. 

If the [ facility training center ] is able to provide emergency 
care services, arrangements shall be made to effect the 
admission as soon as possible. 

If the [ facility training center ] is unable to provide 
emergency care services to an eligible applicant individual, 
the [ facility training center ] director or designee shall 
provide written notice of this determination to the case 
management CSB and may offer [ in consultation with 
department staff ] to try to obtain emergency care services 
from another appropriate facility. 

If for any reason a person admitted to a [ facility training 
center ] for emergency care services is not discharged at the 
agreed upon time, the case management CSB shall develop a 
discharge plan as provided in §§ 37.1-98 and 37.1-197.1 
§§ 37.2-505 and 37.2-837 of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-134; Filed July 17, 2009, 3:28 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 15. JUDICIAL 

VIRGINIA STATE BAR 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia State Bar is exempt 
from the Administrative Process Act in accordance with 
§ 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts 
courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and any agency that 
by the Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of 
a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 15VAC5-80. Regulations Under the 
Virginia Consumer Real Estate Settlement Protection Act 
(amending 15VAC5-80-20, 15VAC5-80-30, 15VAC5-80-
40). 
Statutory Authority: § 6.1-2.25 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 31, 2009.  

Agency Contact: Mary Yancey Spencer, Deputy Executive 
Director, Virginia State Bar, 707 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 775-0575 or email 
spencer@vsb.org. 

Summary: 

The amendments delete nonattorney settlement agents from 
those required to register with the Virginia State Bar. This 
conforms the regulations to Chapter 256 of the 2009 Acts 
of Assembly, which shifted the responsibility to register 
nonattorney settlement agents to the appropriate licensing 
agencies.  

15VAC5-80-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise.  

"Attorney" means a person licensed as an attorney under 
Chapter 39 (§ 54.1-3900 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 
Virginia and who is an active member of the Virginia State 
Bar in good standing under the Rules of the Virginia Supreme 
Court.  

"Bar" means the Virginia State Bar.  

"Board" means the Virginia Real Estate Board.  

"CRESPA" means the Virginia Consumer Real Estate 
Settlement Protection Act (§ 6.1-2.19 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia). Unless otherwise defined herein, all terms in these 
regulations shall have the meanings set forth in CRESPA.  

"Disciplinary board" means the Virginia State Bar 
Disciplinary Board.  

"Financial institution" has the meaning set forth in § 6.1-2.1 
of the Code of Virginia.  

"First dollar coverage" means an insurance policy which 
obligates the company issuing the policy to pay covered 
claims in their entirety, up to the policy limits, regardless of 
the presence of a deductible amount to which the company 
may be entitled as a reimbursement from the insured.  

"SCC" means the Virginia State Corporation Commission.  

"These regulations" means 15VAC5-80-10 et seq., 
Regulations under the Virginia Consumer Real Estate 
Settlement Protection Act.  

15VAC5-80-30. Registration; reregistration; required fee. 

Every licensed attorney, title insurance company, title 
insurance agent or real estate broker, as well as every 
financial institution authorized to do business in Virginia 
under any of the provisions of Title 6.1 of the Code of 
Virginia, or under federal law, and every subsidiary or 
affiliate of any such financial institution, now providing or 
offering, or intending to provide or offer, escrow, closing or 
settlement services as a settlement agent with respect to real 
estate transactions in Virginia shall register with the Bar on or 
before September 29, 1997, using the registration form 
available from the Bar for that purpose. Settlement agents 
beginning to provide or offer such services after July 1, 1997, 
shall register with the Bar prior to doing so. The registration 
requirement in this paragraph shall not apply to attorney 
settlement agents unless they provide or offer to provide 
escrow, settlement, and closing services for real estate subject 
to CRESPA, i.e., real estate containing not more than four 
residential dwelling units. Thus, for example, attorneys who 
handle only commercial real estate transactions are not 
subject to these regulations.  

Every settlement agent shall thereafter reregister after notice 
on a schedule established by the Bar, providing updated 
registration information. Every settlement agent shall have a 
continuing duty to advise the Bar of any change in name, 
address, or other pertinent registration data that occurs 
between registrations. 

The fee for each registration and reregistration shall be $35 
for an individual attorney settlement agent and $100 for a 
settlement agent which is a corporation or other legal entity 
authorized to register in that capacity. The Bar reserves the 
right to adjust the fee as necessary within the statutory limit 
of $100. The prescribed fee shall accompany each registration 
or reregistration in the form of a check made payable to the 
Treasurer of Virginia. 

Registration is subject to revocation or suspension if the Bar 
or other appropriate licensing authority finds the settlement 
agent out of compliance with CRESPA or regulations issued 
thereunder. 
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15VAC5-80-40. Unauthorized practice of law guidelines; 
investigation of complaints.  

The Bar will issue guidelines under CRESPA and in 
consultation with the SCC and the board to assist settlement 
agents in avoiding and preventing the unauthorized practice 
of law in connection with the furnishing of escrow, closing, 
or settlement services. In conformity with CRESPA, the rules 
of the Virginia Supreme Court and the Bar's UPL opinions, 
these guidelines will delineate activities which can and cannot 
be carried out by registered nonattorney settlement agents in 
conducting settlements. The guidelines will be revised from 
time to time as necessary.  

A copy of the The guidelines will be available on the Bar’s 
website and provided by the Bar appropriate licensing 
authority to each registered settlement agent at the time of 
initial registration and at each reregistration. The guidelines 
will also be published by the Bar in the Virginia Lawyer 
Register and furnished to the SCC, the board, and all other 
state and federal agencies that regulate financial institutions, 
as well as to members of the general public upon request. The 
guidelines may be photocopied as necessary.  

The Bar will continue to receive and investigate 
unauthorized practice of law complaints in the real estate 
settlement area, as well as in other fields, under its 
unauthorized practice of law rules and procedures.  

If the Bar receives complaints against nonattorney 
settlement agents that do not allege the unauthorized practice 
of law, it will refer the complaints to the appropriate licensing 
authority that has jurisdiction over the subject of the 
complaint. If the complaint involves an attorney settlement 
agent's noncompliance with 15VAC5-80-30, the Bar will 
conduct an informal investigation. If the Bar believes a 
violation has occurred, it will notify the attorney settlement 
agent in writing. If the apparent violation is not rectified 
within 30 days, the Bar will refer the matter to the appropriate 
licensing authority for further enforcement action investigate 
the alleged violations pursuant to 15VAC5-80-50 D. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (15VAC5-80)  

Settlement Agent Official Registration Form for a 
Corporation or Other Legal Entity (eff. 4/97). 

Settlement Agent Official Registration Form for an 
Individual Attorney, Broker or Title Agent (eff. 1/98) (rev. 
7/09). 

Settlement Agent Official Re-Registration Reregistration 
Form for an Individual Attorney, Broker or Title Agent (eff. 
2/98) (rev. 7/09). 

Virginia Attorney Real Estate Settlement Agent Financial 
Responsibility Certification (eff. 2/98) (rev. 5/08). 

Bond for Attorney Settlement Agents (eff. 5/97) Agent - 
Principal as Individual (rev. 7/09). 

Bond for Attorney Settlement Agent - Principal as Law Firm 
(rev. 7/09). 

Settlement Agent Official Renewal Form for Corporation or 
Other Entity.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1635; Filed July 31, 2009, 4:23 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 16VAC25-90. Federal Identical 
General Industry Standards (29 CFR Part 1910) 
(repealing 16VAC25-90-1910.269 (p)(1)(ii)). 

16VAC25-97. Reverse Signal Operation Safety 
Requirements for Motor Vehicles, Machinery and 
Equipment in General Industry and the Construction 
Industry (adding 16VAC25-97-10 through 16VAC25-97-
50). 

16VAC25-175. Federal Identical Construction Industry 
Standards (29 CFR Part 1926) (repealing 16VAC25-175-
1926.601 (b)(4), 16VAC25-175-602 (a)(9)(ii), 16VAC25-
175-1926.952 (a)(3). 
Statutory Authority: § 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 18, 2009.  

Agency Contact: John Crisanti, Planning and Evaluation 
Manager, Department of Labor and Industry, Powers Taylor 
Building, 13 South 13th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-4300, FAX (804) 786-8418, or email 
john.crisanti@doli.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulatory action repeals the back-up alarm 
requirements in the current regulations at 
1910.269(p)(1)(ii), 1926.601(b)(4), 1926.602(a)(9)(ii), and 
1926.952(a)(3) and establishes a new, comprehensive 
regulation, 16VAC25-97. 16VAC25-97 prohibits 
construction and general industry vehicles, machinery, and 
equipment (hereafter referred to as covered vehicles) from 
being operated in reverse unless the vehicle has a reverse 
signal alarm audible above the surrounding noise level, 
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and either the vehicle is backed up only when a designated 
observer or ground guide signals that it is safe to do so or, 
before operating the covered vehicle in reverse, the driver 
visually determines that no employee is in the path of the 
covered vehicle. Work procedures and training 
requirements are provided for designated 
observers/ground guides and drivers/operators of covered 
equipment. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

16VAC25-90-1910.269. Electric power generation, 
transmission, and distribution. 

* * * 

(p) Mechanical equipment – (1) General requirements. 

* * * 

(ii) No vehicular equipment having an obstructed view to 
the rear may be operated on off-highway jobsites where any 
employee is exposed to the hazards created by the moving 
vehicle, unless: 

(A) The vehicle has a reverse signal alarm audible above the 
surrounding noise level, or 

(B) The vehicle is backed up only when a designated 
employee signals that it is safe to do so. 

* * * 

CHAPTER 97  
REVERSE SIGNAL OPERATION SAFETY 

REQUIREMENTS FOR MOTOR VEHICLES, 
MACHINERY AND EQUIPMENT IN GENERAL 

INDUSTRY AND THE CONSTRUCTION INDUSTRY  

16VAC25-97-10. Applicability. 

This chapter shall apply to all general industry and 
construction industry vehicles, machinery or equipment 
capable of [ traveling operating ] in reverse and with an 
obstructed view to the rear (hereafter referred to as "covered 
vehicles"), whether intended for operation in off-road work 
zones or over the road transportation or hauling.  

16VAC25-97-20. Definitions. 

The phrase "obstructed view to the rear" means anything 
that interferes with the overall view of the operator of the 
vehicle to the rear of the vehicle at ground level, and includes, 
but is not limited to, such obstacles as any part of the vehicle 
(e.g., structural members); its load (e.g., gravel, dirt, 
machinery parts); its height relative to ground level viewing; 
damage to windows or side mirrors, etc., used for rearview 
movement of the vehicle; restricted visibility due to weather 

conditions (e.g., heavy fog, heavy snow); or work being done 
after dark without proper lighting. 

16VAC25-97-30. Covered vehicle requirements. 

[ A. ] No employer shall [ use operate ] any covered vehicle 
[ in reverse ] unless: 

1. The covered vehicle has a reverse signal alarm audible 
above the surrounding noise level [ ,; ] and 

2. [ a. ] The covered vehicle is [ backed up operated in 
reverse ] only when a designated observer or ground guide 
signals that it is safe to do so [ ; or  

b. Before operating the covered vehicle in reverse, the 
driver visually determines that no employee is in the path 
of the covered vehicle.  

B. Covered vehicles that were not equipped with a reverse-
signal alarm upon manufacture or were not later retrofitted 
with an alarm are exempt from subdivision A 1 of this 
section. If the manufacturer of the covered vehicle offered the 
employer a reverse signal alarm retrofit package at a 
reasonable and economically feasible cost, and the employer 
did not have the retrofit package installed, this exemption 
does not apply.  

C. Where immediate correction is not feasible, covered 
vehicles equipped with a reverse signal alarm that is not 
operational or is not functioning properly shall be either:  

1. Operated in reverse only when a designated observer or 
ground guide signals that it is safe to do so; or 

2. Removed from service until the reverse signal alarm is 
repaired.  

D. Covered vehicles with operable video or similar 
technological capability used by the driver and capable of 
providing the driver with a full view behind the vehicle are 
exempt from subdivision A 2 a of this section.  

E. To the extent that any federal Department of 
Transportation (DOT) regulation applies to covered vehicles 
conflicts with this chapter, the DOT regulation shall take 
precedence ].  

16VAC25-97-40. Responsibilities while engaged in 
[ signaling reverse signal operation ] activities. 

A. While [ engaged in signaling activities, an employee is 
functioning as ] the designated observer/ground guide 
[ during reverse signaling activities (e.g., collecting tickets 
from drivers, giving verbal instructions to drivers, signaling 
to drivers once reverse operation of the covered vehicle has 
begun), the designated observer/ground guide ] shall: 

[ 1. Have no other assigned duties; 

2. 1. ] Not engage in any [ other ] activities [ unrelated to 
back-up operations ] other than those related to the covered 
vehicle being signaled;  
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[ 3. 2. ] Not use personal cellular phones, personal head 
phones, or similar items that could pose a distraction for 
the designated observer/ground guide;  

[ 4. 3. ] Be provided with and wear during daytime 
operations a safety vest or jacket in orange, yellow, strong 
yellow green, or fluorescent versions of these colors [ , 
reflective warning garments ]; [ and  

5. 4. ] Be provided with and wear during nighttime 
operations a safety vest or jacket with retroreflective 
material in orange, yellow, white, silver, strong yellow 
green, or a fluorescent version of these colors and shall be 
visible at a minimum distance of 1,000 feet [ ;  

5. Not cross behind in close proximity to a covered vehicle 
while it is operating in reverse;  

6. Always maintain visual contact with the driver of the 
covered vehicle while it is operating in reverse; and  

7. Maintain a safe working distance from the covered 
vehicle ].  

B. [ No When using a designated observer/ground guide, 
no ] driver of a covered vehicle shall [ travel operate ] in 
reverse unless they maintain constant visual contact with the 
designated observer/ground guide. If visual contact is lost, the 
driver shall immediately stop the vehicle until visual contact 
is regained and a positive indication is received from the 
designated observer/ground guide to restart [ back-up 
reverse ] operations.  

[ C. Except as provided for in subsections A and B of this 
section, employees shall not enter or cross the path in close 
proximity to a covered vehicle while it is operating in 
reverse. ]  

16VAC25-97-50. Training. 

A. Prior to permitting an employee to engage in any covered 
activity under this chapter, the employer shall ensure that 
each driver of a covered vehicle and each designated 
observer/ground guide is trained in the requirements of this 
chapter. 

B. Refresher training shall be provided by the employer for 
any driver of a covered vehicle or any designated 
observer/ground guide when the driver or designated 
observer/ground guide has: 

1. Been observed to violate the requirements of this 
chapter; 

2. Been involved in an accident or near miss accident; or 

3. Received an evaluation that reveals that the driver or 
designated [ signaler observer/ground guide ] is not 
operating under this chapter in a safe manner.  

[ 16VAC25-97-60. Exemptions. 

A. Covered vehicles with video or similar technological 
capability to provide the driver with a full view behind the 
vehicle are exempt from subdivision 2 of 16VAC25-97-30. 

B. Covered vehicles are exempt from subdivision 2 of 
16VAC25-97-30 if the driver visually determines from 
outside the vehicle that no employees are in the backing zone 
and that it is reasonable to expect that no employees will enter 
the backing zone during reverse operation of the vehicle. 

C. Covered vehicles that were not equipped with a reverse-
signal alarm upon manufacture or were not later retrofitted 
with an alarm are exempt from subdivision 1 of 16VAC25-
97-30. ] 

[ 16VAC25-97-70. Applicability of federal regulations. 

To the extent that any federal Department of Transportation 
(DOT) regulation applies to covered vehicles conflicts with 
this chapter, the DOT regulation shall take precedence. ]  

16VAC25-175-1926.601. Motor vehicles. 

* * * 

(b) General requirements.  

* * * 

(4) No employer shall use any motor vehicle equipment 
having an obstructed view to the rear unless: 

(i) The vehicle has a reverse signal alarm audible above the 
surrounding noise level or: 

(ii) The vehicle is backed up only when an observer signals 
that it is safe to do so. 

* * * 

16VAC25-175-1926.602. Material handling equipment. 

(a) Earthmoving equipment; General.  

* * * 

(9) Audible alarms. 

* * * 

(ii) No employer shall permit earthmoving or compacting 
equipment which has an obstructed view to the rear to be used 
in reverse gear unless the equipment has in operation a 
reverse signal alarm distinguishable from the surrounding 
noise level or an employee signals that it is safe to do so. 

* * * 

16VAC25-175-1926.952. Mechanical equipment. 

(a) General.  

* * * 
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(3) No employer shall use any motor vehicle equipment 
having an obstructed view to the rear unless: 

(i) The vehicle has a reverse signal alarm audible above the 
surrounding noise level or: 

(ii) The vehicle is backed up only when an observer signals 
that it is safe to do so. 

* * * 
VA.R. Doc. No. R06-314; Filed July 29, 2009, 10:31 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Veterinary Medicine 
is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process 
Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of 
Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 
agency discretion is involved. The Board of Veterinary 
Medicine will receive, consider and respond to petitions from 
any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC150-20. Regulations 
Governing the Practice of Veterinary Medicine (amending 
18VAC150-20-30). 
Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 16, 2009.  

Agency Contact: Elizabeth Carter, Executive Director, Board 
of Veterinary Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 662-4426, FAX (804) 
527-4471, or email elizabeth.carter@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

In compliance with Chapter 687 of the 2009 Acts of 
Assembly, the Board of Veterinary Medicine has amended 
its regulations relating to the responsibility of the licensee 
or registrant to provide current addresses. Every licensee 
and registrant is required to provide an address of record 
for use by the board, and is permitted to provide a second 
address to be used as the public address. If a second 
address is not provided, the address of record becomes the 
public address. Regulations are amended to use the 
statutory terminology of address of record and to clarify 
that the regulant has a responsibility to notify the board 
within 30 days if there is a change in the address of record 
or the public address, if different from the address of 
record. 

18VAC150-20-30. Posting of licenses; accuracy of address. 

A. All licenses, registrations and permits issued by the board 
shall be posted in a place conspicuous to the public at the 
establishment where veterinary services are being provided or 
available for inspection at the location where an equine dental 
technician is working. 

B. It shall be the duty and responsibility of each licensee, 
registrant and holder of a registration permit to operate a 
veterinary establishment to keep the board apprised at all 
times of his current address of record and the public address, 
if different from the address of record. All notices required by 
law or by this chapter to be mailed to any veterinarian, 
certified veterinary technician, registered equine dental 
technician or holder of a permit to operate a veterinary 
establishment, shall be validly given when mailed to the 
address of record furnished to the board pursuant to this 
regulation. All address changes shall be furnished to the 
board within 30 days of such change. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-2025; Filed July 29, 2009, 12:06 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 20. PUBLIC UTILITIES AND 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 
of the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-316. Regulations Governing 
Exemptions for Large General Services Customers Under 
§ 56-585.1 A 5 c of the Code of Virginia (adding 20VAC5-
316-10 through 20VAC5-316-40). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 56-585.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 
upon request. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on September 3, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Cody Walker, Assistant Director, State 
Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 371-9611, FAX (804) 371-9350, or 
email cody.walker@scc.virginia.gov. 
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Background:  

The State Corporation Commission has initiated a 
commission rulemaking required by Chapter 824 of the 
2009 Acts of Assembly. Chapter 824 authorizes Virginia's 
electric utilities to seek rate adjustment clause treatment of 
the "projected and actual costs…to design, implement and 
operate energy efficiency programs, including a margin to 
be recovered on operating expenses. . . ." § 56-585.1 A 5 c 
of the Code of Virginia. However, Chapter 824 prohibits 
electric utilities from recovering the costs of these energy 
efficiency programs from any customer that has a 
verifiable history of having used more than 10 megawatts 
of demand from a single meter of delivery. Additionally, 
the legislation prohibits program cost recovery from any 
large general service customer that has, at its own 
expense, implemented energy efficiency programs that 
have produced or will produce measured and verified 
results consistent with industry standards and other 
regulatory criteria stated in § 56-585.1 A 5 c of the Code 
of Virginia. For purposes of this legislation, large general 
service customers are customers that have a verifiable 
history of having used more than 500 kilowatts of demand 
from a single meter of delivery. Chapter 824 further 
directs the commission to promulgate rules and 
regulations not later than November 15, 2009, "to 
accommodate the process under which such large general 
service customers shall file notice for such an exemption, 
and (i) establish the administrative procedures by which 
eligible customers will notify the utility and (ii) define the 
standard criteria that must be satisfied by an applicant in 
order to notify the utility." § 56-585.1 A 5 c of the Code of 
Virginia. The commission's staff has prepared proposed 
rules implementing the exemption process outlined above 
(proposed rules).  

Summary: 

The proposed rules set forth (i) administrative procedures 
for notices of nonparticipation to be provided by large 
general service customers to electric utilities, (ii) standard 
criteria for such notices of nonparticipation, and (iii) 
dispute resolution procedures governing all disputes 
arising out of the exemption process. The proposed rules 
add a new Chapter 316 (20VAC5-316) within Title 20 of 
the Virginia Administrative Code. 

AT RICHMOND, JULY 28, 2009 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 

At the relation of the 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. PUE-2009-00071 

Ex Parte: In the matter of establishing 
rules of the State Corporation Commission 

governing exemptions for Large General Service 
Customers under § 56-585.1 A 5 c of the Code of Virginia 

ORDER FOR NOTICE AND COMMENT 

This Order initiates a rulemaking required by HB 2506 as 
enacted by the 2009 Session of the Virginia General 
Assembly (Chapter 824 of the 2009 Acts of Assembly).  HB 
2506 authorizes Virginia's electric utilities to seek rate 
adjustment clause treatment of the "projected and actual costs 
. . . to design, implement and operate energy efficiency 
programs, including a margin to be recovered on operating 
expenses. . . ."  Va. Code § 56-585.1 A 5 c.  However, the 
legislation prohibits the utilities from recovering the costs of 
these programs from "any customer that has a verifiable 
history of having used more than 10 megawatts of demand 
from a single meter of delivery."  Id.  Further, this 2009 
legislation prohibits program cost recovery from any large 
general service customer that has, at its own expense, 
"implemented energy efficiency programs that have produced 
or will produce measured and verified results consistent with 
industry standards and other regulatory criteria stated in 
[§ 56-585.1 A 5 c of the Code]."  Id.  For purposes of this 
legislation, large general service customers are customers that 
have "a verifiable history of having used more than 
500 kilowatts of demand from a single meter of delivery."  Id. 

HB 2506 also directed the State Corporation Commission 
("the Commission") to promulgate rules and regulations not 
later than November 15, 2009, "to accommodate the process 
under which such large general service customers shall file 
notice for such an exemption, and (i) establish the 
administrative procedures by which eligible customers will 
notify the utility and (ii) define the standard criteria that must 
be satisfied by an applicant in order to notify the utility."  
§ 56-585.1 A 5 c of the Code.  The legislation also specifies 
that a "notice of nonparticipation by a large general service 
customer, to be given by March 1 of a given year, shall be for 
the duration of the service life of the customer's energy 
efficiency program."  Id.  HB 2506 further directs that the 
Commission's implementing regulations will specify the 
timing as to when the utility must accept and act on any such 
notice "taking into consideration the utility's integrated 
resource planning process as well as its administration of 
energy efficiency programs that are approved for cost 
recovery by the Commission."  Id.   

Pertinent to this rulemaking, HB 2506 also provides that the 
Commission "on its own motion may initiate steps necessary 
to verify such non-participants' achievement of energy 
efficiency if the Commission has a body of evidence that the 
non-participant has knowingly misrepresented its energy 
efficiency achievement."  § 56-585.1 A 5 c of the Code.  
Finally, the Virginia General Assembly directs in HB 2506 
that "[I]n all relevant proceedings pursuant to this section, the 
Commission shall take into consideration, the goals of 
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economic development, energy efficiency and environmental 
protection in the Commonwealth."  Id. 

The Commission's Staff ("Staff") has prepared proposed 
rules implementing the exemption process outlined above 
("Proposed Rules").  The Proposed Rules, inter alia, set forth 
(i) administrative procedures for notices of non-participation 
to be provided by large general service customers to electric 
utilities, (ii) standard criteria for such notices of non-
participation, and (iii) dispute resolution procedures 
governing all disputes arising out of the exemption process.1 
The Proposed Rules are appended hereto. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of the 
foregoing, is of the opinion and finds that a rulemaking 
proceeding should be initiated for the purpose of establishing 
rules of the Commission governing exemptions for large 
general service customers under § 56-585.1 A 5 c of the Code 
of Virginia, all as directed by the Virginia General Assembly 
in HB 2506 enacted in its 2009 Session.  Accordingly, we 
will direct that notice of the Proposed Rules be given to the 
public and that interested persons be provided an opportunity 
to file written comments on, propose modifications or 
supplements to, or request a hearing on these Proposed 
Rules.   

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) This matter is docketed and assigned Case No. PUE-
2009-00071. 

(2) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
shall forward a copy of this Order to the Registrar of 
Regulation for publication in the Virginia Register. 

(3) On or before August 14, 2009, the Commission's 
Division of Information Resources shall publish the following 
notice as classified advertising in newspapers of general 
circulation throughout the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

NOTICE TO THE PUBLIC OF A PROCEEDING TO 
ESTABLISH RULES OF THE STATE CORPORATION 

COMMISSION GOVERNING EXEMPTIONS FOR 
LARGE GENERAL SERVICE CUSTOMERS UNDER  

§ 56-585.1 A 5 c OF THE CODE OF VIRGINIA  
CASE NO. PUE-2009-00071 

The State Corporation Commission ("Commission") has 
initiated a proceeding in which it proposes to establish 
Commission rules governing exemptions for large general 
service customers under § 56-585.1 A 5 c of the Code of 
Virginia, all as directed by the Virginia General Assembly 
in HB 2506 enacted in the General Assembly's 
2009 Session. 

HB 2506 authorizes Virginia's electric utilities to seek rate 
recovery from its customers of the projected and actual 
costs to design, implement and operate energy efficiency 
programs, including a margin to be recovered on operating 
expenses. Pertinent to this rulemaking, however, the 

legislation bars utility recovery of these costs from any 
large general service customer that has, at its own expense, 
implemented certain energy efficiency programs. Large 
general service customers are customers that have a 
verifiable history of having used more than 500 kilowatts 
of demand (but less than 10 megawatts) from a single 
meter of delivery. 

The Virginia General Assembly also directed the 
Commission in HB 2506 to promulgate rules and 
regulations not later than November 15, 2009, to 
accommodate the process under which such large general 
service customers may file notice for such an exemption, 
and further to (i) establish the administrative procedures by 
which eligible customers will notify the utility, and 
(ii) define the standard criteria that must be satisfied by an 
applicant in order to notify the utility. 

The Commission's Staff has prepared proposed rules 
implementing the rulemaking directed by HB 2506 
("Proposed Rules"). The Proposed Rules, inter alia, set 
forth (i) administrative procedures for notices of non-
participation to be provided by large general service 
customers to electric utilities, (ii) standard criteria for such 
notices of non-participation, and (iii) dispute resolution 
procedures governing all disputes arising out of the 
exemption process. The Commission has, by Order for 
Notice and Comment, directed that notice of the Proposed 
Rules (appended to that Order) be given to the public and 
that interested persons be provided an opportunity to file 
written comments on, propose modifications or 
supplements to, or request a hearing on these Proposed 
Rules. 

Interested persons are encouraged to obtain copies of this 
Commission Order for Notice and Comment and the 
Proposed Rules.  Copies are available for public inspection 
at the Commission's Document Control Center, Tyler 
Building, First Floor, 1300 East Main Street, Richmond, 
Virginia 23219, Monday through Friday, 8:15 a.m. to 
5:00 p.m. Copies may also be downloaded from the 
Commission's website: http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

On or before September 3, 2009, any interested person 
may comment on, or propose modifications or supplements 
to, or request a hearing on the Proposed Rules by filing an 
original and fifteen (15) copies of such comments with the 
Clerk of the Commission, c/o Document Control Center, 
P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218-2118, making 
reference in such comments to Case No. PUE-2009-00071. 
Any request for hearing shall state with specificity why the 
issues raised in the request for hearing cannot be 
adequately addressed in written comments. If a sufficient 
request for hearing is not received, the Commission may 
consider the matter and enter an order based upon the 
papers filed in this proceeding.  Interested persons desiring 
to submit comments electronically may do so by following 
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the instructions available at the Commission's website:  
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

All filings in this proceeding shall be directed to the Clerk 
of the Commission, c/o Document Control Center, P.O. 
Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218-2118, making 
reference in such comments to Case No. PUE-2009-00071. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

(4) On or before September 3, 2009, any interested person 
may comment on, propose modifications or supplements to, 
or request a hearing on the Proposed Rules by filing an 
original and fifteen (15) copies of such comments with the 
Clerk of the Commission, c/o Document Control Center, P.O. 
Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218-2118, making 
reference in such comments to Case No. PUE-2009-00071. 
Any request for hearing shall state with specificity why the 
issues raised in the request for hearing cannot be adequately 
addressed in written comments. If a sufficient request for 
hearing is not received, the Commission may consider the 
matter and enter an order based upon the papers filed herein. 
Interested persons desiring to submit comments electronically 
may do so by following the instructions available at the 
Commission's website: http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(5) The Commission Staff may file a report with the Clerk 
of the Commission on or before September 24, 2009, 
concerning comments submitted to the Commission by 
interested persons addressing the Proposed Rules. 

(6) This matter is continued for further orders of the 
Commission. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 
the Commission to: Pamela J. Walker, Deputy General 
Counsel, Dominion Virginia Power, Law Department PH-1, 
P.O. Box 26532, Richmond, Virginia 23261-6532; Barry 
Thomas, Director of Regulatory Affairs, America Electric 
Power, Three James Center, Suite 702, 1051 East Cary Street, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219; Kendrick R. Riggs, Esquire, Stoll 
Keenon Ogden PLLC, 2000 PNC Plaza, 500 West Jefferson 
Street, Louisville, Kentucky 40202; Jeffrey P. Trout, Esquire, 
Allegheny Power, 800 Cabin Hill Road, Greensburg, 
Pennsylvania 15601; C. Meade Browder, Jr., Senior Assistant 
Attorney General, Division of Consumer Counsel, Office of 
Attorney General, 900 East Main Street, 2nd Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219; and the Commission's Office of 
General Counsel and Divisions of Economics and Finance 
and Energy Regulation. 

__________________ 
1 The Proposed Rules establish a new Chapter 316 in the Virginia 
Administrative Code, consisting of sections 20 VAC 5-316-10 through 
20 VAC 5-316-40. 

CHAPTER 316 
EXEMPTIONS FOR LARGE GENERAL SERVICES 

CUSTOMERS UNDER § 56-585.1 A 5 c OF THE CODE 
OF VIRGINIA 

20VAC5-316-10. Applicability and scope. 

This chapter is promulgated pursuant to the provisions of 
§ 56-585.1 A 5 c of the Virginia Electric Utility Regulation 
Act, Chapter 23 (§ 56-576 et seq.) of Title 56 of the Code of 
Virginia. This chapter is specifically applicable to the large 
general service customers (customers or customer) of 
Virginia's electric utilities (utilities or utility) subject to the 
provisions of § 56-585.1 A 5 c, if the customers have 
verifiable histories of using more than 500 kilowatts but less 
than 10 megawatts of demand from a single metering point. 
Customers are eligible for an exemption from any rate 
adjustment clause approved for a utility by the State 
Corporation Commission (commission) pursuant to § 56-
585.1 A 5 c of the Code of Virginia, if any customer can 
demonstrate that it has implemented an energy efficiency 
program (program), at the customer's expense, that has 
produced or will produce measured and verified results. 

20VAC5-316-20. Administrative procedures for notice to 
utility. 

A. Any customer seeking to establish its exemption from a 
rate adjustment clause authorized by the commission pursuant 
to § 56-585.1 A 5 c shall provide a notice of nonparticipation 
concerning the rate adjustment clause to its utility on or 
before March 1 of the year in which an exemption is sought. 
The notice of nonparticipation shall be concurrently filed by 
the customer with the commission's Division of Energy 
Regulation. 

B. Upon receipt of the notice of nonparticipation, a utility 
shall, within 60 days thereof, review the same, and shall 
accept or deny the exemption request. In the event the utility 
fails to accept or deny the exemption request within that 60-
day period, the exemption shall be deemed accepted by the 
utility. The utility's acceptance or denial of any exemption 
request shall be concurrently filed by the utility with the 
commission's Division of Energy Regulation. 

20VAC5-316-30. Standard criteria for notice to utility. 

A. Each notice of nonparticipation shall identify the 
customer, the customer's billing address and utility account 
number, and the location of the specific facility and metering 
point for which any such exemption is being sought. 

B. The notice of nonparticipation shall also contain copies of 
all receipts and invoices documenting the customer's 
investment in any program. 

C. The notice of nonparticipation shall describe the energy 
efficiency savings achieved or expected to be achieved from 
its investment in its program and the specific measures 
undertaken to achieve those savings. 
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D. The notice of nonparticipation shall include information 
concerning any anticipated change in operations that may 
affect achieved or expected energy efficiency savings, 
including (i) changes in operating hours or equipment 
efficiency; (ii) any changes required to comply with new or 
existing standards, a partial facility closure, a modification of 
a production shift, or improved quality of maintenance; (iii) 
the life expectancy of the energy efficiency measures 
undertaken; and (iv) ongoing maintenance activities 
necessary to maintain energy efficiency improvements. 

E. To qualify for the exemption, each customer shall 
demonstrate energy efficiency savings equal to or greater than 
the percentage energy efficiency reductions expected to be 
achieved by its utility's energy efficiency programs for which 
the commission has approved a rate adjustment clause 
pursuant to § 56-585.1 A 5 c of the Code of Virginia. 

F. Each notice of nonparticipation shall also include a 
measurement and verification plan conforming to the protocol 
set forth in the definition of "measured and verified" as 
provided in § 56-576 of the Code of Virginia. 

20VAC5-316-40. Dispute resolution. 

A. Customers and utilities shall seek to resolve all disputes 
arising out of the exemption process established under this 
chapter pursuant to the provisions of this section. 

B. In the event of any such dispute, either party shall furnish 
the other a written notice of dispute. The notice shall describe 
in detail the nature of the dispute. The parties shall make 
good faith efforts to resolve the dispute informally within 10 
business days of the receipt of such notice. 

C. If any such dispute has not been resolved within 10 
business days following receipt of the notice, either party may 
seek resolution assistance from the commission's Division of 
Energy Regulation where such matter will be treated as an 
informal complaint under the commission's Rules of Practice 
and Procedure (5VAC5-20). 

Alternatively, the parties may, upon mutual agreement, seek 
resolution through the assistance of a dispute resolution 
service for the purpose of assisting the parties in (i) resolving 
the dispute, or (ii) selecting an appropriate dispute resolution 
method or mechanism (e.g., mediation, settlement judge, 
early neutral evaluation, or technical expert) to assist the 
parties in resolving their dispute. In any such dispute 
resolution proceeding, each party shall conduct all 
negotiations in good faith and shall be responsible for 1/2 of 
any charges for such services. 

D. If any such dispute remains unresolved following the 
parties' good faith exercise of the dispute resolution 
alternatives set forth in this section, either party may file a 
formal complaint with the commission pursuant to the 
commission's Rules of Practice and Procedure. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-2071; Filed July 29, 2009, 10:42 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 21. SECURITIES AND RETAIL 
FRANCHISING 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 
of the powers of a court of record. 

Proposed Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 21VAC5-20. Broker-Dealers, 
Broker-Dealer Agents and Agents of the Issuer (amending 
21VAC5-20-160). 

21VAC5-80. Investment Advisors (amending 21VAC5-80-
200). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 13.1-523 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 
upon request. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on August 31, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Al Hughes, Registration Chief,  State 
Corporation Commission, Securities Division, Tyler 
Building, 9th Floor, P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (804) 371-9415, FAX (804) 371-9911, or email 
al.hughes@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) change the reference of 
21VAC5-80-140 to 21VAC5-80-145 in 21VAC5-80-200 A 
15 and B 15; and (ii) add a two-year expiration period 
from the date of taking the required examination 
referenced in 21VAC5-20-160 B 4 to qualify as a 
registered agent of the issuer. 

AT RICHMOND, JULY 28, 2009 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. SEC-2009-00072 

Ex Parte: In the matter of 
Adopting a Revision to the Rules 
Governing the Virginia Securities Act 
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ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Section 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia provides that the 
State Corporation Commission ("Commission") shall have 
the power to promulgate rules and regulations in the 
enforcement and administration of all laws within its 
jurisdiction.  Section 13.1-523 of the Virginia Securities Act 
("Act"), § 13.1-501 et seq. of the Code of Virginia, provides 
that the Commission may issue any rules and regulations 
necessary or appropriate for the administration and 
enforcement of the Act. 

The rules and regulations issued by the Commission 
pursuant to the Act are set forth in Title 21 of the Virginia 
Administrative Code. A copy also may be found at the 
Commission's website: www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

The Division of Securities and Retail Franchising 
("Division") has submitted to the Commission proposed 
revisions to Chapters 20 and 80 of Title 21 of the Virginia 
Administrative Code entitled "Rules and Forms Governing 
Virginia Securities Act" ("Rules"). 

Proposed amendment to Rule 21 VAC 5-80-200 A 15 and 
B 15 changes the reference of Rule 21 VAC 5-80-140 to Rule 
21 VAC 5-80-145. 

Proposed amendment to Rule 21 VAC 5-20-160 B 4 adds a 
two-year expiration period from the date of taking the 
required examination referenced in the Rule to qualify as a 
registered agent of the issuer. 

The Division has recommended to the Commission that the 
proposed revisions should be considered for adoption with a 
proposed effective date of November 15, 2009. The Division 
also has recommended to the Commission that a hearing 
should be held only if requested by those interested parties 
who specifically indicate that a hearing is necessary and the 
reasons therefore. 

A copy of the proposed revisions may be requested by 
interested parties from the Division by telephone, mail, or 
email request and also can be found at the Division's website:  
www.scc.virginia.gov/srf. Any comments to the proposed 
rules must be received by August 31, 2009. If a hearing is 
requested, it will be scheduled on September 29, 2009. 

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed revisions are appended hereto and made 
a part of the record herein. 

(2) Comments or requests for hearing on the proposed 
revisions must be submitted in writing to Joel H. Peck, 
Clerk of the Commission, c/o Document Control Center, P. 
O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218, on or before 
August 31, 2009. Requests for hearing shall state why a 
hearing is necessary and why the issues cannot be 
adequately addressed in written comments. All 
correspondence shall contain reference to Case No. SEC-

2009-00072. Interested person desiring to submit 
comments electronically may do so by following the 
instructions available at the Commission's website: 
 http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(3) If the Commission grants any request for hearing in 
connection with the proposed amendments to the Rules, it 
will enter a subsequent order scheduling the hearing on 
September 29, 2009, and that order will be posted on the 
Commission's website at http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case 
and on the Division's website at 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/srf.  If no request for hearing 
is received, the Commission may consider the matter and 
enter an order based upon the papers filed herein. 

(4) On or before September 15, 2009, the Division shall 
file a response to any comments that are filed in this 
proceeding and that response will be posted on the 
Commission's website at http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case 
and on the Division's website at 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/srf. 

(5) The proposed revisions shall be posted on the 
Commission's website at http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case 
and on the Division's website at 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/srf. Interested persons may 
also request a copy of the proposed revisions from the 
Division by telephone, mail, or email. 

AN ATTESTED COPY HEREOF, together with a copy of 
the proposed revisions, shall be sent to the Registrar of 
Regulations for publication in the Virginia Register. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent to the 
Division's Director, who shall forthwith provide notice of this 
Order via U.S. mail and email to any interested persons as he 
may designate. 

Part III  
Agents of the Issuer  

21VAC5-20-160. Application for registration as an agent 
of the issuer. 

A. Application for registration as an agent of the issuer shall 
be filed on and in compliance with all requirements and forms 
prescribed by the commission. 

B. An application shall be deemed incomplete for purposes 
of applying for registration as an agent of the issuer unless the 
following executed forms, fee and information are submitted: 

1. Form U-4.  

2. The statutory fee in the amount of $30. The check must 
be made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.  

3. Evidence in the form of a NASD exam report of passing: 
(i) the Uniform Securities Agent State Law Examination, 
Series 63; (ii) the Uniform Combined State Law 
Examination, Series 66, and the General Securities 
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Representative Examination, Series 7; or (iii) a similar 
examination in general use by securities administrators 
which, after reasonable notice and subject to review by the 
commission, the Director of the Division of Securities and 
Retail Franchising designates. 

4. All individuals listed on Part 1 of Form ADV in 
Schedule A as having supervisory or control of the 
investment advisor shall take and pass the examinations as 
required in subdivision 3 of this subsection, and register as 
a representative of the investment advisor. Any individual 
who has been registered in any state jurisdiction as an 
agent within the two-year period immediately preceding 
the date of the filing of an application shall not be required 
to comply with the examination requirements of this 
section. 

5. Any other information the commission may require. 

C. The commission shall either grant or deny each 
application for registration within 30 days after it is filed. 
However, if additional time is needed to obtain or verify 
information regarding the application, the commission may 
extend such period as much as 90 days by giving written 
notice to the applicant. No more than three such extensions 
may be made by the commission on any one application. An 
extension of the initial 30-day period, not to exceed 90 days, 
shall be granted upon written request of the applicant. 

21VAC5-80-200. Dishonest or unethical practices. 

A. An investment advisor or federal covered advisor is a 
fiduciary and has a duty to act primarily for the benefit of his 
clients. While the extent and nature of this duty varies 
according to the nature of the relationship between an 
investment advisor or federal covered advisor and his clients 
and the circumstances of each case, an investment advisor or 
federal covered advisor shall not engage in unethical 
practices, including the following: 

1. Recommending to a client to whom investment 
supervisory, management or consulting services are 
provided the purchase, sale or exchange of any security 
without reasonable grounds to believe that the 
recommendation is suitable for the client on the basis of 
information furnished by the client after reasonable inquiry 
concerning the client's investment objectives, financial 
situation, risk tolerance and needs, and any other 
information known or acquired by the investment advisor 
or federal covered advisor after reasonable examination of 
the client's financial records. 

2. Placing an order to purchase or sell a security for the 
account of a client without written authority to do so. 

3. Placing an order to purchase or sell a security for the 
account of a client upon instruction of a third party without 
first having obtained a written third-party authorization 
from the client. 

4. Exercising any discretionary power in placing an order 
for the purchase or sale of securities for a client without 
obtaining written discretionary authority from the client 
within 10 business days after the date of the first 
transaction placed pursuant to oral discretionary authority, 
unless the discretionary power relates solely to the price at 
which, or the time when, an order involving a definite 
amount of a specified security shall be executed, or both. 

5. Inducing trading in a client's account that is excessive in 
size or frequency in view of the financial resources, 
investment objectives and character of the account. 

6. Borrowing money or securities from a client unless the 
client is a broker-dealer, an affiliate of the investment 
advisor or federal covered advisor, or a financial institution 
engaged in the business of loaning funds or securities. 

7. Loaning money to a client unless the investment advisor 
or federal covered advisor is a financial institution engaged 
in the business of loaning funds or the client is an affiliate 
of the investment advisor or federal covered advisor. 

8. Misrepresenting to any advisory client, or prospective 
advisory client, the qualifications of the investment advisor 
or federal covered advisor, or misrepresenting the nature of 
the advisory services being offered or fees to be charged 
for the services, or omission to state a material fact 
necessary to make the statements made regarding 
qualifications services or fees, in light of the circumstances 
under which they are made, not misleading. 

9. Providing a report or recommendation to any advisory 
client prepared by someone other than the investment 
advisor or federal covered advisor without disclosing that 
fact. This prohibition does not apply to a situation where 
the advisor uses published research reports or statistical 
analyses to render advice or where an advisor orders such a 
report in the normal course of providing service. 

10. Charging a client an unreasonable advisory fee in light 
of the fees charged by other investment advisors or federal 
covered advisors providing essentially the same services. 

11. Failing to disclose to clients in writing before any 
advice is rendered any material conflict of interest relating 
to the investment advisor or federal covered advisor or any 
of his employees which could reasonably be expected to 
impair the rendering of unbiased and objective advice 
including: 

a. Compensation arrangements connected with advisory 
services to clients which are in addition to compensation 
from such clients for such services; or 

b. Charging a client an advisory fee for rendering advice 
when a commission for executing securities transactions 
pursuant to such advice will be received by the advisor or 
his employees. 
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12. Guaranteeing a client that a specific result will be 
achieved as a result of the advice which will be rendered. 

13. Directly or indirectly using any advertisement that does 
any one of the following: 

a. Refers to any testimonial of any kind concerning the 
investment advisor or investment advisor representative 
or concerning any advice, analysis, report, or other 
service rendered by the investment advisor or investment 
advisor representative; 

b. Refers to past specific recommendations of the 
investment advisor or investment advisor representative 
that were or would have been profitable to any person; 
except that an investment advisor or investment advisor 
representative may furnish or offer to furnish a list of all 
recommendations made by the investment advisor or 
investment advisor representative within the immediately 
preceding period of not less than one year if the 
advertisement or list also includes both of the following: 

(1) The name of each security recommended, the date 
and nature of each recommendation, the market price at 
that time, the price at which the recommendation was to 
be acted upon, and the most recently available market 
price of each security; or 

(2) A legend on the first page in prominent print or type 
that states that the reader should not assume that 
recommendations made in the future will be profitable or 
will equal the performance of the securities in the list; 

c. Represents that any graph, chart, formula, or other 
device being offered can be used to determine which 
securities to buy or sell, or when to buy or sell them; or 
which represents, directly or indirectly, that any graph, 
chart, formula, or other device being offered will assist 
any person in making that person's own decisions as to 
which securities to buy or sell, or when to buy or sell 
them, without prominently disclosing in the 
advertisement the limitations thereof and the risks 
associated to its use; 

d. Represents that any report, analysis, or other service 
will be furnished for free or without charge, unless the 
report, analysis, or other service actually is or will be 
furnished entirely free and without any direct or indirect 
condition or obligation; 

e. Represents that the commission has approved any 
advertisement; or 

f. Contains any untrue statement of a material fact, or that 
is otherwise false or misleading.  

For the purposes of this section, the term "advertisement" 
includes any notice, circular, letter, or other written 
communication addressed to more than one person, or any 
notice or other announcement in any electronic or paper 

publication, by radio or television, or by any medium, that 
offers any one of the following: 

(i) Any analysis, report, or publication concerning 
securities; 

(ii) Any analysis, report, or publication that is to be used 
in making any determination as to when to buy or sell 
any security or which security to buy or sell; 

(iii) Any graph, chart, formula, or other device to be used 
in making any determination as to when to buy or sell 
any security, or which security to buy or sell; or 

(iv) Any other investment advisory service with regard to 
securities. 

14. Disclosing the identity, affairs, or investments of any 
client to any third party unless required by law or an order 
of a court or a regulatory agency to do so, or unless 
consented to by the client. 

15. Taking any action, directly or indirectly, with respect to 
those securities or funds in which any client has any 
beneficial interest, where the investment advisor has 
custody or possession of such securities or funds, when the 
investment advisor's action is subject to and does not 
comply with the safekeeping requirements of 21VAC5-80-
140 21VAC5-80-145. 

16. Entering into, extending or renewing any investment 
advisory contract unless the contract is in writing and 
discloses, in substance, the services to be provided, the 
term of the contract, the advisory fee, the formula for 
computing the fee, the amount of prepaid fee to be returned 
in the event of contract termination or nonperformance, 
whether the contract grants discretionary power to the 
investment advisor or federal covered advisor and that no 
assignment of such contract shall be made by the 
investment advisor or federal covered advisor without the 
consent of the other party to the contract. 

17. Failing to clearly and separately disclose to its 
customer, prior to any security transaction, providing 
investment advice for compensation or any materially 
related transaction that the customer's funds or securities 
will be in the custody of an investment advisor or 
contracted custodian in a manner that does not provide 
Securities Investor Protection Corporation protection, or 
equivalent third-party coverage over the customer's assets. 

18. Using a certification or professional designation in 
connection with the provision of advice as to the value of 
or the advisability of investing in, purchasing, or selling 
securities, either directly or indirectly or through 
publications or writings, or by issuing or promulgating 
analyses or reports relating to securities that indicates or 
implies that the user has special certification or training in 
advising or servicing senior citizens or retirees in such a 
way as to mislead any person. 
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a. The use of such certification or professional 
designation includes, but is not limited to, the following:  

(1) Use of a certification or designation by a person who 
has not actually earned or is otherwise ineligible to use 
such certification or designation;  

(2) Use of a nonexistent or self-conferred certification or 
professional designation;  

(3) Use of a certification or professional designation that 
indicates or implies a level of occupational qualifications 
obtained through education, training, or experience that 
the person using the certification or professional 
designation does not have; or  

(4) Use of a certification or professional designation that 
was obtained from a designating or certifying 
organization that:  

(a) Is primarily engaged in the business of instruction in 
sales and/or marketing;  

(b) Does not have reasonable standards or procedures for 
assuring the competency of its designees or certificants;  

(c) Does not have reasonable standards or procedures for 
monitoring and disciplining its designees or certificants 
for improper or unethical conduct; or  

(d) Does not have reasonable continuing education 
requirements for its designees or certificants in order to 
maintain the designation or certificate.  

b. There is a rebuttable presumption that a designating or 
certifying organization is not disqualified solely for 
purposes of subdivision 18 a (4) of this subsection, when 
the organization has been accredited by: 

(1) The American National Standards Institute;  

(2) The National Commission for Certifying Agencies; or  

(3) An organization that is on the United States 
Department of Education's list entitled "Accrediting 
Agencies Recognized for Title IV Purposes" and the 
designation or credential issued therefrom does not 
primarily apply to sales and/or marketing.  

c. In determining whether a combination of words (or an 
acronym standing for a combination of words) 
constitutes a certification or professional designation 
indicating or implying that a person has special 
certification or training in advising or servicing senior 
citizens or retirees, factors to be considered shall include:  

(1) Use of one or more words such as "senior," 
"retirement," "elder," or like words, combined with one 
or more words such as "certified," "chartered," "adviser," 
"specialist," "consultant," "planner," or like words, in the 
name of the certification or professional designation; and  

(2) The manner in which those words are combined.  

d. For purposes of this section, a certification or 
professional designation does not include a job title 
within an organization that is licensed or registered by a 
state or federal financial services regulatory agency, 
when that job title:  

(1) Indicates seniority within the organization; or  

(2) Specifies an individual's area of specialization within 
the organization.  

For purposes of this subdivision d, "financial services 
regulatory agency" includes, but is not limited to, an 
agency that regulates broker-dealers, investment 
advisers, or investment companies as defined under § 3 
(a)(1) of the Investment Company Act of 1940 (15 USC 
§ 80a-3(a)(1)).  

e. Nothing in this regulation shall limit the commission's 
authority to enforce existing provisions of the law. 

B. An investment advisor representative is a fiduciary and 
has a duty to act primarily for the benefit of his clients. While 
the extent and nature of this duty varies according to the 
nature of the relationship between an investment advisor 
representative and his clients and the circumstances of each 
case, an investment advisor representative shall not engage in 
unethical practices, including the following: 

1. Recommending to a client to whom investment 
supervisory, management or consulting services are 
provided the purchase, sale or exchange of any security 
without reasonable grounds to believe that the 
recommendation is suitable for the client on the basis of 
information furnished by the client after reasonable inquiry 
concerning the client's investment objectives, financial 
situation and needs, and any other information known or 
acquired by the investment advisor representative after 
reasonable examination of the client's financial records. 

2. Placing an order to purchase or sell a security for the 
account of a client without written authority to do so. 

3. Placing an order to purchase or sell a security for the 
account of a client upon instruction of a third party without 
first having obtained a written third-party authorization 
from the client. 

4. Exercising any discretionary power in placing an order 
for the purchase or sale of securities for a client without 
obtaining written discretionary authority from the client 
within 10 business days after the date of the first 
transaction placed pursuant to oral discretionary authority, 
unless the discretionary power relates solely to the price at 
which, or the time when, an order involving a definite 
amount of a specified security shall be executed, or both. 

5. Inducing trading in a client's account that is excessive in 
size or frequency in view of the financial resources, 
investment objectives and character of the account. 
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6. Borrowing money or securities from a client unless the 
client is a broker-dealer, an affiliate of the investment 
advisor representative, or a financial institution engaged in 
the business of loaning funds or securities. 

7. Loaning money to a client unless the investment advisor 
representative is engaged in the business of loaning funds 
or the client is an affiliate of the investment advisor 
representative. 

8. Misrepresenting to any advisory client, or prospective 
advisory client, the qualifications of the investment advisor 
representative, or misrepresenting the nature of the 
advisory services being offered or fees to be charged for 
the services, or omission to state a material fact necessary 
to make the statements made regarding qualifications, 
services or fees, in light of the circumstances under which 
they are made, not misleading. 

9. Providing a report or recommendation to any advisory 
client prepared by someone other than the investment 
advisor or federal covered advisor who the investment 
advisor representative is employed by or associated with 
without disclosing that fact. This prohibition does not 
apply to a situation where the investment advisor or federal 
covered advisor uses published research reports or 
statistical analyses to render advice or where an investment 
advisor or federal covered advisor orders such a report in 
the normal course of providing service. 

10. Charging a client an unreasonable advisory fee in light 
of the fees charged by other investment advisor 
representatives providing essentially the same services. 

11. Failing to disclose to clients in writing before any 
advice is rendered any material conflict of interest relating 
to the investment advisor representative which could 
reasonably be expected to impair the rendering of unbiased 
and objective advice including: 

a. Compensation arrangements connected with advisory 
services to clients which are in addition to compensation 
from such clients for such services; or 

b. Charging a client an advisory fee for rendering advice 
when a commission for executing securities transactions 
pursuant to such advice will be received by the 
investment advisor representative. 

12. Guaranteeing a client that a specific result will be 
achieved as a result of the advice which will be rendered. 

13. Publishing, circulating or distributing any 
advertisement that would not be permitted under Rule 
206(4)-1 under the Investment Advisers Act of 1940. 

14. Disclosing the identity, affairs, or investments of any 
client to any third party unless required by law or an order 
of a court or a regulatory agency to do so, or unless 
consented to by the client. 

15. Taking any action, directly or indirectly, with respect to 
those securities or funds in which any client has any 
beneficial interest, where the investment advisor 
representative other than a person associated with a federal 
covered advisor has custody or possession of such 
securities or funds, when the investment advisor 
representative's action is subject to and does not comply 
with the safekeeping requirements of 21VAC5-80-140 
21VAC5-80-145. 

16. Entering into, extending or renewing any investment 
advisory or federal covered advisory contract unless such 
contract is in writing and discloses, in substance, the 
services to be provided, the term of the contract, the 
advisory fee, the formula for computing the fee, the 
amount of prepaid fee to be returned in the event of 
contract termination or nonperformance, whether the 
contract grants discretionary power to the investment 
advisor representative and that no assignment of such 
contract shall be made by the investment advisor 
representative without the consent of the other party to the 
contract. 

17. Failing to clearly and separately disclose to its 
customer, prior to any security transaction, providing 
investment advice for compensation or any materially 
related transaction that the customer's funds or securities 
will be in the custody of an investment advisor or 
contracted custodian in a manner that does not provide 
Securities Investor Protection Corporation protection, or 
equivalent third-party coverage over the customer's assets. 

18. Using a certification or professional designation in 
connection with the provision of advice as to the value of 
or the advisability of investing in, purchasing, or selling 
securities, either directly or indirectly or through 
publications or writings, or by issuing or promulgating 
analyses or reports relating to securities that indicates or 
implies that the user has special certification or training in 
advising or servicing senior citizens or retirees in such a 
way as to mislead any person. 

a. The use of such certification or professional 
designation includes, but is not limited to, the following:  

(1) Use of a certification or designation by a person who 
has not actually earned or is otherwise ineligible to use 
such certification or designation;  

(2) Use of a nonexistent or self-conferred certification or 
professional designation;  

(3) Use of a certification or professional designation that 
indicates or implies a level of occupational qualifications 
obtained through education, training, or experience that 
the person using the certification or professional 
designation does not have; or  
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(4) Use of a certification or professional designation that 
was obtained from a designating or certifying 
organization that:  

(a) Is primarily engaged in the business of instruction in 
sales and or marketing;  

(b) Does not have reasonable standards or procedures for 
assuring the competency of its designees or certificants;  

(c) Does not have reasonable standards or procedures for 
monitoring and disciplining its designees or certificants 
for improper or unethical conduct; or  

(d) Does not have reasonable continuing education 
requirements for its designees or certificants in order to 
maintain the designation or certificate.  

b. There is a rebuttable presumption that a designating or 
certifying organization is not disqualified solely for 
purposes of subdivision 18 a (4) of this subsection, when 
the organization has been accredited by: 

(1) The American National Standards Institute; 

(2) The National Commission for Certifying Agencies; or 

(3) An organization that is on the United States 
Department of Education's list entitled "Accrediting 
Agencies Recognized for Title IV Purposes" and the 
designation or credential issued therefrom does not 
primarily apply to sales and/or marketing. 

c. In determining whether a combination of words (or an 
acronym standing for a combination of words) 
constitutes a certification or professional designation 
indicating or implying that a person has special 
certification or training in advising or servicing senior 
citizens or retirees, factors to be considered shall include:  

(1) Use of one or more words such as "senior," 
"retirement," "elder," or like words, combined with one 
or more words such as "certified," "chartered," "adviser," 
"specialist," "consultant," "planner," or like words, in the 
name of the certification or professional designation; and  

(2) The manner in which those words are combined.  

d. For purposes of this section, a certification or 
professional designation does not include a job title 
within an organization that is licensed or registered by a 
state or federal financial services regulatory agency, 
when that job title:  

(1) Indicates seniority within the organization; or  

(2) Specifies an individual's area of specialization within 
the organization. 

For purposes of this subdivision d, "financial services 
regulatory agency" includes, but is not limited to, an 
agency that regulates broker-dealers, investment 
advisers, or investment companies as defined under 

§ 3(a)(1) of the Investment Company Act of 1940 (15 
USC § 80a-3(a)(1). 

e. Nothing in this regulation shall limit the commission's 
authority to enforce existing provisions of law. 

C. The conduct set forth in subsections A and B of this 
section is not all inclusive. Engaging in other conduct such as 
nondisclosure, incomplete disclosure, or deceptive practices 
may be deemed an unethical business practice except to the 
extent permitted by the National Securities Markets 
Improvement Act of 1996 (Pub. L. No. 104-290 (96)). 

D. The provisions of this section shall apply to federal 
covered advisors to the extent that fraud or deceit is involved, 
or as otherwise permitted by the National Securities Markets 
Improvement Act of 1996 (Pub. L. No. 104-290 (96)). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-2050; Filed July 29, 2009, 10:42 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 21VAC5-120. Virginia Trademark and 
Service Mark Act (amending 21VAC5-120-100). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 59.1-92.19 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be 
scheduled upon request. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on August 31, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Al Hughes, Registration Chief, Securities 
Division, State Corporation Commission, Tyler Building, 9th 
Floor, P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 
371-9415, FAX (804) 371-9911, or email 
al.hughes@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendment modifies the class of services 
with which a mark can actually be used, to include services 
for providing food and drink; medical services; veterinary 
services; hygienic and beauty care services; agricultural, 
horticulture, and forestry services; legal services; security 
services for the protection of property and individuals; and 
personal and social services rendered by others to meet the 
needs of individuals. Additional minor revisions and 
updates are also included. 

AT RICHMOND, JULY 28, 2009 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. SEC-2009-00067 

Ex Parte: In the matter of Adopting 
a Revision to the Rules Governing 
the Trademark and Service Mark Act 
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ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Section 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia provides that the 
State Corporation Commission ("Commission") shall have 
the power to promulgate rules and regulations in the 
enforcement and administration of all laws within its 
jurisdiction. Section 59.1-92.19 of the Virginia Trademark 
and Service Mark Act ("Act"), § 59.1-92.1 et seq. of the Code 
of Virginia provides that the Commission may issue any rules 
and regulations necessary or appropriate for the 
administration and enforcement of the Act. 

The rules and regulations issued by the Commission 
pursuant to the Act are set forth in Title 21 of the Virginia 
Administrative Code. A copy also may be found at the 
Commission's website: www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

The Division of Securities and Retail Franchising 
("Division") has submitted to the Commission proposed 
revisions to Chapter 120 of Title 21 of the Virginia 
Administrative Code entitled "Rules and Forms Governing 
Virginia Trademark and Service Mark Act" ("Rules"). 

Proposed amendment to Rule 21 VAC 5-120-100 modifies 
the class of services with which a mark can actually be used 
to include services for providing food and drink, medical 
services, veterinary services, hygienic and beauty care 
services, agricultural, horticulture and forestry services, legal 
services, security services for the protection of property and 
individuals, and personal and social services rendered by 
others to meet the needs of individuals. 

The Division has recommended to the Commission that the 
proposed revisions should be considered for adoption with a 
proposed effective date of November 15, 2009. The Division 
also has recommended to the Commission that a hearing 
should be held only if requested by those interested parties 
who specifically indicate that a hearing is necessary and the 
reasons therefor.  

A copy of the proposed revisions may be requested by 
interested parties from the Division by telephone, mail, or e-
mail request and also can be found at the Division's website: 
www.scc.virginia.gov/srf. Any comments to the proposed 
rules must be received by August 31, 2009.  If a hearing is 
requested, the hearing must be scheduled on September 29, 
2009. 

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed revisions are appended hereto and made 
a part of the record herein. 

(2) Comments or requests for hearing on the proposed 
revisions must be submitted in writing to Joel H. Peck, 
Clerk of the Commission, c/o Document Control Center, 
P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218, on or before 
August 31, 2009. Requests for hearing shall state why a 
hearing is necessary and why the issues cannot be 
adequately addressed in written comments. All 

correspondence shall contain reference to Case No. SEC-
2009-00067. Interested persons desiring to submit 
comments electronically may do so by following the 
instructions available at the Commission's website: 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(3) If the Commission grants any request for hearing in 
connection with the proposed amendments to the Rules, it 
will enter a subsequent order scheduling the hearing on 
September 29, 2009, and that order will be posted on the 
Commission's website at http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case 
and on the Division's website at 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/srf.  If no request for hearing 
is received, the Commission may consider the matter and 
enter an order based upon the papers filed herein. 

(4) On or before September 15, 2009, the Division shall 
file a response to any comments that are filed in this 
proceeding and that response will be posted on the 
Commission's website at http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case 
and on the Division's website at 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/srf. 

(5) The proposed revisions shall be posted on the 
Commission's website at http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case 
and on the Division's website at 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/srf.  Interested persons may 
also request a copy of the proposed revisions from the 
Division by telephone, mail, or e-mail. 

AN ATTESTED COPY HEREOF, together with a copy of 
the proposed revisions, shall be sent to the Registrar of 
Regulations for publication in the Virginia Register. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent to the 
Division's Director, who shall forthwith provide notice of this 
Order via U.S. mail and e-mail to any interested persons as he 
may designate. 

Part III  
Classification of Goods and Services  

21VAC5-120-100. Classification of goods and services.  

The application for registration or renewal of registration of 
a mark shall identify the class(es) class or classes of goods or 
services with which the mark is actually being used. The 
following classes of goods and services are established for 
convenience of administration of the Act:  

Goods.  

1. Chemicals used in industry, science and photography, as 
well as in agriculture, horticulture and forestry; 
unprocessed artificial resins; unprocessed plastics; 
manures; fire extinguishing compositions; tempering and 
soldering preparations; chemical substances for preserving 
foodstuffs; tanning substances; and adhesives used in 
industry.  
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2. Paints, varnishes, lacquers; preservatives against rust 
and against deterioration of wood; colorants; mordants; 
raw natural resins; and metals in foil and powder form for 
painters, decorators, printers, and artists.  

3. Bleaching preparations and other substances for laundry 
use; cleaning, polishing, scouring and abrasive 
preparations; soaps, ; perfumery, essential oils, cosmetics, 
hair lotions; and dentifrices.  

4. Industrial oils and greases; lubricants; dust absorbing, 
wetting and binding compositions; fuels (including motor 
spirit) and illuminants; and candles, and wicks for lighting.  

5. Pharmaceutical, and veterinary and preparations; 
sanitary preparations for medical purposes; dietetic 
substances adapted for medical use, food for babies; 
plasters, materials for dressings; material for stopping 
teeth, dental wax,; disinfectants; preparations for 
destroying vermin; and fungicides, and herbicides.  

6. Common metals and their alloys; metal building 
materials; transportable buildings of metal; materials of 
metal for railway tracks; nonelectric cables and wires of 
common metal; ironmongery, small items of metal 
hardware; pipes and tubes of metal; safes; goods of 
common metal not included in other classes; and ores.  

7. Machines and machine tools; motors and engines 
(except for land vehicles); machine coupling and 
transmission components (except for land vehicles); 
agricultural implements other than hand operated; and 
incubators for eggs.  

8. Hand tools and implements (hand operated); cutlery; 
side arms; and razors.  

9. Scientific, nautical, surveying, electric, photographic, 
cinematographic, optical, weighing, measuring, signalling, 
checking (supervision), life-saving and teaching apparatus 
and instruments; apparatus and instruments for conducting, 
switching, transforming, accumulating, regulating, or 
controlling electricity; apparatus for recording, 
transmission or reproduction of sound or images; magnetic 
data carriers, recording discs; automatic vending machines 
and mechanisms for coin operated apparatus; cash 
registers, calculating machines, data processing equipment 
and computers; and fire-extinguishing apparatus.  

10. Surgical, medical, dental and veterinary apparatus and 
instruments; artificial limbs, eyes and teeth; orthopedic 
articles; and suture materials.  

11. Apparatus for lighting, heating, steam generating, 
cooking, refrigerating, drying, ventilating, water supply 
and sanitary purposes.  

12. Vehicles; and apparatus for locomotion by land, air, or 
water.  

13. Firearms; ammunition and projectiles; explosives, ; and 
fireworks.  

14. Precious metals and their alloys and goods in precious 
metals or coated therewith in precious metals, not included 
in other classes; jewelry, precious stones; and horological 
and chronometric instruments.  

15. Musical instruments.  

16. Paper, cardboard and goods made from these materials, 
not included in other classes; printed matter; bookbinding 
material; photographs; stationery,; adhesives for stationery 
or household purposes; artists' materials; paint brushes; 
typewriters and office requisites (except furniture); 
instructional and teaching material (except apparatus); 
playing cards plastic materials for packaging (not included 
in other classes); printer's type; and printing blocks.  

17. Rubber, gutta-percha, gum asbestos, mica and goods 
made from these materials and not included in other 
classes; plastics in extruded form for use in manufacture; 
packing, stopping and insulating materials; and flexible 
pipes not of metal.  

18. Leather and imitations of leather, and goods made of 
these materials and not included in other classes; animal 
skins; hides; trunks and travelling bags; umbrellas, parasols 
and walking sticks; and whips, harness and saddlery.  

19. Building materials (nonmetallic); nonmetallic rigid 
pipes for building; asphalt, pitch and bitumen; nonmetallic 
transportable buildings; and monuments, not of metal.  

20. Furniture;, mirrors;, and picture frames; and goods (not 
included in other classes) of wood, cork, reed, cane, 
wicker, horn, bone, ivory, whalebone, shell, amber, 
mother-of-pearl, meerschaum and substitutes for all these 
materials, or of plastics.  

21. Household or kitchen utensils and containers (not of 
precious metal or coated therewith); combs and sponges; 
brushes (except paint brushes); brush-making materials; 
articles for cleaning purposes; steelwool; unworked or 
semiworked glass (except glass used in building); and 
glassware, porcelain and earthenware not included in other 
classes.  

22. Ropes, string, nets, tents, awnings, tarpaulins, sails, 
sacks and bags (not included in other classes); padding and 
stuffing materials (except of rubber or plastics); and raw 
fibrous textile materials.  

23. Yarns and thread threads for textile use.  

24. Textiles and textile goods, not included in other 
classes; and bed and table covers.  

25. Clothing, footwear, and headgear.  

26. Lace and embroidery; ribbons and braid; buttons, 
hooks and eyes, pins and needles; and artificial flowers.  
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27. Carpets, rugs, mats and matting; linoleum and other 
materials for covering existing floors; and wall hangings 
(nontextile).  

28. Games and playthings; gymnastic and sporting articles 
not included in other classes; and decorations for 
Christmas trees.  

29. Meat, fish, poultry and game; meat extracts; preserved, 
dried and cooked fruits and vegetables; jellies, jams, fruit 
sauces compotes; eggs, milk and milk products; and edible 
oils and fats.  

30. Coffee, tea, cocoa, sugar, rice, tapioca, sago, and 
artificial coffee; flour and preparations made from cereals, 
bread, pastry and confectionery; ices; honey; treacle; yeast; 
baking powder; salt; mustard; vinegar; sauces 
(condiments); spices; and ice.  

31. Agricultural, horticultural and forestry products and 
grains not included in other classes; live animals; fresh 
fruits and vegetables; seeds;, natural plants and flowers; 
foodstuffs for animals; and malt.  

32. Beer, mineral and aerated waters and other 
nonalcoholic drinks, fruit drinks and fruit juices; and 
syrups and other preparations for making beverages.  

33. Alcoholic beverages (except beers).  

34. Tobacco, smokers smokers' articles; and matches.  

Services.  

35. Advertising; business management; business 
administration; and office functions.  

36. Insurance, financial affairs; monetary affairs; and real 
estate affairs.  

37. Building construction; repair, and installation services.  

38. Telecommunications.  

39. Transport; packaging and storage of goods; and travel 
arrangement.  

40. Treatment of materials.  

41. Education; providing of: training,; entertainment; and 
sporting and cultural activities.  

42. Providing of food and drink; temporary 
accommodation; medical, hygienic and beauty care; 
veterinary and agricultural services; legal services; 
scientific and industrial research; computer programming; 
services that cannot be placed in other classes Scientific 
and technological services and research and design relating 
thereto; industrial analysis and research services; and 
design and development of computer hardware and 
software.  

43. Services for providing food and drink; and temporary 
accommodations. 

44. Medical services; veterinary services; hygienic and 
beauty care for human beings or animals; and agriculture, 
horticulture, and forestry services. 

45. Legal services; security services for the protection of 
property and individuals; and personal and social services 
rendered by others to meet the needs of individuals.  

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (21VAC5-120) 

Form TM 1, Application for Registration of a Trademark or 
Service Mark (eff. 7/98) 11/09). 

Form TM 2, Application for Renewal of Registration of a 
Trademark or Service Mark (eff. 7/98) 11/09). 

Form TM 3, Certificate of Name Change of an Applicant or 
Registrant (eff. 7/98) 11/09). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-2017; Filed July 29, 2009, 10:42 a.m.  
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GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 83 (2009) 

THE GOVERNOR'S ADVISORY BOARD ON 
NATIONAL AND COMMUNITY SERVICE 

Community and national service are vital to the fabric of 
American democracy. Volunteerism and service are critical 
aspects of our civic life. It is appropriate that the state and 
federal governments work together to develop a focal point 
for these efforts. 

Mindful of the importance of community and national 
service, and by virtue of the authority vested in me as 
Governor under Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and 
under the laws of the Commonwealth, including but not 
limited to § 2.2-134 of the Code of Virginia, and subject 
always to my continuing and ultimate authority and 
responsibility to act in such matters, I hereby establish the 
Governor's Advisory Board on National Service and 
Community Service. 

The Board is classified as a gubernatorial advisory board in 
accordance with § 2.2-2100 of the Code of Virginia. 

The Board shall be established to comply with the provisions 
of the National and Community Services Trust Act of 1993 
and to advise the Governor and Cabinet Secretaries on 
matters related to promotion and development of national 
service in the Commonwealth of Virginia. The Board shall 
have the following specific duties: 

1. To advise the Governor, the Secretaries of Health and 
Human Resources, Education, Natural Resources, the 
Assistant to the Governor for Commonwealth 
Preparedness, the Commissioner of the Department of 
Social Services, and other appropriate officials, on national 
and community service programs in Virginia and on 
fulfilling the responsibilities and duties prescribed by the 
federal Corporation for National Service.  

2. To advise the Governor, the Secretaries of Health and 
Human Resources, Education, Natural Resources, the 
Assistant to the Governor for Commonwealth 
Preparedness, the Commissioner of the Department of 
Social Services, and other appropriate officials, on the 
development, implementation, and evaluation of Virginia's 
Unified State Plan that outlines strategies for supporting 
and expanding national and community service throughout 
the Commonwealth. 

3. To promote the expansion of AmeriCorps programs to 
meet Virginia's most pressing human, educational, 
environmental, and public safety needs.  

4. To work collaboratively with Virginia Corps and the 
Citizen Corps initiative to promote volunteerism and public 
service throughout the Commonwealth. 

5. To collaborate with the Virginia Department of Social 
Services and other public and private entities to recognize 
and call attention to the significant community service 
contributions of Virginia citizens and organizations. 

6. To develop a plan for sustaining and increasing the 
number of Virginia service programs supported by the 
Corporation for National Service. 

7. To promote and coordinate State programs offering 
opportunities for community service within the 
Commonwealth. 

8. To work with the Department of Social Services on 
promoting the involvement of faith based organizations in 
community and national service efforts. 

The Board shall be comprised of no more than twenty voting 
members appointed by the Governor and serving at his 
pleasure. No more than 25 percent of voting members may be 
state employees. 

The Governor may appoint additional persons at his 
discretion as ex-officio non-voting members. The voting 
members of the Board shall elect the Chairman. Board voting 
membership shall include representatives for the categories as 
outlined in federal regulations issued by the Corporation for 
National Service. 

Such staff support as is necessary to support the Board's work 
during the term of its existence shall be furnished by the 
Virginia Department of Social Services, and any other 
executive branch agencies having definitely and closely 
related purposes, as the Governor may designate. An 
estimated 2000 hours of staff time will be required to support 
the work of the Board. 

Funding necessary to support the Board shall be provided 
from federal funds, private contributions, and state funds 
appropriated for the same purposes of the Board, authorized 
by § 2.2-135 of the Code of Virginia. Direct costs for this 
Board are estimated at $20,000. Members of the Board shall 
serve without compensation and shall receive reimbursement 
for expenses incurred in the discharge of their official duties. 

The Board shall meet at least quarterly upon the call of the 
Chairperson. The Board shall make an annual report to the 
Governor and shall issue such other reports and 
recommendations as it deems necessary or as requested by the 
Governor. 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and 
shall remain in force and effect until June 30, 2010, unless 
amended or rescinded by further executive order. 

Given under my hand and under the seal of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia this first day of July 2009. 

/s/ Timothy M. Kaine 
Governor 
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EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 84 (2009) 

CONTINUING CERTAIN DECLARATIONS OF STATE 
OF EMERGENCY 

Pursuant to the authority granted to me as Governor, 
including but not limited to Article V of the Constitution of 
Virginia and § 2.2 of the Code of Virginia, I hereby continue 
the following executive orders I have previously issued until 
June 30, 2010; 

• Executive Order Number Fifty-six, Declaration of a State 
of Emergency for the Entire Commonwealth due to 
Hurricane Isabel, issued on September 16, 2004, as 
continued in Executive Order Number Twenty-six, 
issued on June 23, 2006 and Executive Order Number 
Eighty-eight, issued on June 13, 2005; 

• Executive Order Number Fifty-four, Declaration of a 
State of Emergency to Assist Rockbridge County and the 
Town of Goshen Due to a Critical Water Shortage, issued 
on June 20, 2007, as continued in Executive Order 
Number Seventy-four, issued on July 3, 2008; 

• Executive Order Number Sixty-four, Declaration of State 
of Emergency Arising from Heavy Winds and Severe 
Storms Throughout Virginia, issued on March 5, 2008, as 
continued in Executive Order Number Seventy-four, 
issued on July 3, 2008; 

• Executive Order Number Sixty-five, Declaration on a 
State of Emergency for the Commonwealth of Virginia 
Due to Severe Weather throughout the Commonwealth, 
issued on April 28, 2008; 

• Executive Order Number Seventy-five, Declaration of a 
State of Emergency in Support of the Emergency 
Management Assistance Compact to Respond to the 
Impact of Hurricane Gustav in the Gulf Coast States, 
issued on September 4, 2008; and 

• Executive Order Number Seventy-seven, Declaration of 
a State of Emergency in Support of the Emergency 
Management Assistance Compact to Respond to the 
Impact Of Hurricane Gustav and Hurricane Ike in the 
Gulf Coast States, issued on September 18, 2008. 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and 
shall remain in full force and effect until June 30, 2010, 
unless sooner amended or rescinded by further executive 
order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia this first day of July 2009. 

/s/ Timothy M. Kaine 
Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 85 (2009) 

USE OF THE VIRGINIA WORKFORCE NETWORK 
FOR JOBS RESULTING FROM THE AMERICAN 
RECOVERY AND REINVESTMENT ACT OF 2009 
AND THOSE BEING RECRUITED BY VIRGINIA 

STATE AGENCIES 

It is essential that a statewide system be used to facilitate the 
recruitment of jobs by state agencies and for those direct jobs 
that result from the American Recovery and Reinvestment 
Act of 2009 (ARRA). Direct jobs are those jobs which are 
solely funded by the ARRA or at least fifty percent of the job 
is funded by ARRA project funds. Such a system facilitates 
the creation and identification of a ready workforce that 
fosters Virginia's economic prosperity in an efficient and 
effective manner. 

The ARRA has several purposes including (1) to preserve and 
create jobs and promote economic recovery and (2) to assist 
those most impacted by the recession. Accordingly, it is 
incumbent on state government to connect workers to ARRA 
jobs and to be as efficient, effective and responsive as 
possible in making these connections. 

Since 2006, the Commonwealth has focused resources on 
developing a comprehensive workforce development system 
including the establishment of the Virginia Workforce 
Network - the Commonwealth's transparent and 
comprehensive workforce center system designed to connect 
employers and jobseekers with the resources of the entire 
workforce investment system. Within the Virginia Workforce 
Network is Virginia Workforce Connection (VWC) - the 
official web site for employer vacancy listings. 

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor under 
Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and §§ 2.2-103 and 
2.2-435.7 of the Code of Virginia, and subject to my 
continuing and ultimate authority and responsibility to act in 
such matters, I hereby direct that Virginia Workforce 
Connection (VWC) be used by all state agencies, contractors 
and sub-recipients for the recruitment of direct jobs created 
by ARRA and for those in all state agencies, regardless of 
funding source. For state agency recruitment, vacancies shall 
be posted with the VWC via the State's Recruitment 
Management System. The jobs shall be posted at the 
maximum number of locations within the Virginia Workforce 
Network to ensure multiple access points for the ease of job 
seekers. 

I further assign oversight to the Chief Workforce 
Development Officer or designated senior staff member in 
cooperation with the Workforce Sub Cabinet, to ensure 
implementation. The oversight process will be developed by 
the Workforce Sub Cabinet in cooperation with the Virginia 
Employment Commission (VEC), which is the administrative 
entity for the job exchange system. 
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Background 

The Commonwealth of Virginia will receive a certain amount 
of funds under the ARRA. Some of these funds will be 
provided to non-state entities, individuals and some of these 
funds will be administered directly by state agencies or 
through state agency contractors and sub-recipients. 
Additionally, as a part of management and administration, 
state agencies engage in recruitment to fill job openings and 
state agency operations are supported by public funds. 
Executive Order Number Sixty-One (2008) charges the 
Workforce Sub Cabinet with ensuring Cabinet collaboration 
regarding workforce development as required by state and 
federal statute. One of the duties of the Workforce Sub 
Cabinet is to support the development and implementation of 
a seamless and integrated One Stop workforce service 
delivery system. 

Job Posting Requirements 

1. The VWC shall be used to post all jobs available.  

2. Posting is not required where an employer, contractor or 
subcontractor of an ARRA-funded state contract intends to 
fill the job opening created by ARRA funding with a 
present employee, a laid-off former employee or a job 
candidate from a previous recruitment. 

3. This Executive Order is not intended to prevent 
organizations and companies from also seeking needed 
employees by other means including industry specific 
employment programs. 

4. The provisions of this Executive Order shall not apply to 
contracts advertised prior to the Order's effective date. 

5. This posting requirement does not fulfill any ARRA 
reporting responsibility pertaining to jobs created or 
retained as otherwise required under the ARRA. 

6. The VEC shall ensure that all ARRA jobs are identified 
as such on the VWC. 

7. All state agencies shall post this Executive Order to their 
website and communicate its requirements to contractors 
and sub-recipients. 

8. This Executive Order shall also be posted on the 
Commonwealth official ARRA web site. 

Duties in Carrying Out This Executive Order 

1. The Senior Advisor shall work with the Workforce Sub 
Cabinet in directing a process to inform the general public 
of jobs opportunities funded by ARRA funds. This will be 
done in collaboration with the Virginia - Community 
College System, which is the state grant recipient for the 
Workforce Investment Act (WIA) and the oversight agency 
for the Virginia Workforce Network. 

2. The VEC shall provide the administrative support for the 
process. Instructions have been developed and are attached 

for state agencies, contractors and sub-recipients to follow 
in meeting the centralized job posting requirements of this 
Executive Order. VEC contact information is included in 
the instructions. 

3. This Executive Order is not intended to promote the 
widespread creation of new positions at state agencies for 
the purposes of ARRA implementation. 

4. The VEC in cooperation with the Senior Advisor shall 
report to the Workforce Sub Cabinet on the number of jobs 
listed by state agencies, contractors and sub-recipients that 
were created to support projects funded with ARRA funds.  

5. The Department of General Services, the Virginia 
Information Technologies Agency, and state higher 
education institutions shall include the requirements in this 
Executive Order in the new and existing contracts for 
ARRA procurement actions. These terms and conditions 
apply to non-professional and professional services; 
telecommunications services; non-IT and IT goods and 
services; and to institutions of higher education that have 
procurement authority. 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and 
shall remain in full force and effect until September 30, 2011, 
unless sooner amended or rescinded by further executive 
order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia this 30th day of July 2009. 

/s/ Timothy M. Kaine 
Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 86 (2009) 

CONTINUING THE P-16 EDUCATION COUNCIL 

Importance of the Initiative 

As the Commonwealth moves forward on a wide range of 
education reform initiatives from preschool to graduate 
school, it is more important than ever to coordinate the 
various reform efforts underway across the continuum of 
education.  Students increasingly are moving from one 
educational system to the other, and the need for improved 
transitions between systems is greater than ever. Education is 
a shared responsibility of several citizen boards in the 
Commonwealth, and opportunities exist to collaborate on 
common problems in moving forward on education reform. 

Virginia's reform efforts have been nationally recognized, 
including through the receipt of a National Governors 
Association Honor States Grant, funded by the Gates 
Foundation. As part of the efforts for implementing this grant, 
the Commonwealth will formalize its already strong efforts at 
coordinating education reform across the entire spectrum of 
education through a P-16 Council, to address education 
reform from preschool to graduate school. 
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The Council is created in full recognition of the 
Commonwealth's commitment to creating a seamless 
transition and ensuring effective articulation from preschool 
to graduate school, enabling students to meet high standards, 
preparing faculties to teach to high standards, and continuing 
to improve student achievement. 

The Council 

The Secretary of Education will chair the Council. It will 
consist of 22 members, appointed by the Governor and 
serving at his pleasure. The Council will consist of two 
members of the House of Delegates, two members of the 
Senate of Virginia, the Secretary of Education, the 
Superintendent of Public Instruction, the Director of the State 
Council of Higher Education, the Chancellor of the Virginia 
Community College System, the President of the Board of 
Education, the Chairman of the Virginia Community College 
Board, the Chairman of the State Council of Higher 
Education, a representative of private colleges, a preschool 
education representative, and 9 citizen members. The citizen 
members will include educators, and business and community 
leaders.  The Governor may appoint additional persons to the 
Council at his discretion. 

The Council's responsibilities shall include the following. 

1. Identify opportunities to better coordinate the state's 
education reform efforts from preschool to graduate school. 

2. Work closely with the Start Strong Council and other 
appropriate entities and organizations to ensure that pre-K 
and early childhood initiatives are coordinated with other 
education initiatives. 

3. Identify opportunities to improve longitudinal data 
gathering on student achievement. 

4. Serve as a steering committee for oversight of the state's 
education reform activities as part of the NGA Honor 
States Grant. 

5. Develop approaches to improve transitions among levels 
of education, promote student success, and encourage 
students to continue their education. 

6. Make recommendations on appropriate legislation and 
other initiatives to improve educational coordination and 
achievement. 

7. Make any other recommendations as may seem 
appropriate. 

The Council shall make a report of its activities and 
recommendations annually. The Council shall meet at the call 
of the chairman. 

Commission Staffing and Funding  

Necessary staff support for the Commission's work during its 
existence shall be furnished by the Office of the Governor, 
the Virginia Department of Education, the Virginia 

Community College System, the State Council of Higher 
Education for Virginia, the Department of Social Services, 
and such other agencies and offices as designated by the 
Governor. An estimated 3,000 hours of staff time will be 
required to support the Commission's work. 

Necessary funding to support the Commission and its staff 
shall be provided from federal funds, private contributions, 
and state funds appropriated for the same purposes as the 
Commission, as authorized by § 2.2-135 of the Code of 
Virginia. Estimated direct costs for this Commission are 
$15,000. 

Commission members shall serve without compensation and 
shall receive reimbursement for expenses incurred in the 
discharge of their official duties. 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon signing, and 
shall remain in full force and effect until June 30, 2011, 
unless sooner amended or rescinded by further executive 
order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia, this 30th day of July 2009. 

/s/ Timothy M. Kaine 
Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 87 (2009) 

CONTINUING VIRGINIA'S INTERAGENCY  
ANTI-GANG WORKGROUP 

Importance of the Issue 

Intelligence sources in Virginia indicate an emergence and 
growth of gangs and gang-related violent crimes in small 
cities and communities across the state. Areas once protected 
from the violent crime evident in larger cities have now 
become targets, making it an increasingly significant social 
policy issue. According to the Federal Bureau of 
Investigation, "Gangs are more organized, larger, more 
violent and more widespread than ever before." The Virginia 
Departments of Corrections, Juvenile Justice and State Police 
concur that gang activity in Virginia continues to be a 
significant public safety concern. 

A recurring theme of gangs and gang activity is their 
propensity towards violence. Most are involved in all aspects 
of criminal activity including: drug distribution, murder, 
grand larceny and assault. Gangs and gang activity endanger 
all members of the community intensifying the necessity to 
address this problem. 

It is well recognized that law enforcement alone cannot 
adequately address the problem of youth gangs. Strong anti-
gang education and prevention efforts are essential to 
reducing gang membership. Children who have the active, 
involved support of adults and safe, positive places to be after 
school are less likely to join gangs. 
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Accordingly, it is appropriate that state government marshal 
all appropriate resources to combat this scourge. 

Virginia's Interagency Anti-Gang Workgroup 

While many localities have taken voluntary steps to address 
the gang problem within their communities, additional tools 
and resources are needed. Since its inception in January 2003, 
Virginia's Interagency Anti-Gang Workgroup has witnessed 
successful efforts in coordinating and leveraging resources to 
prevent and reduce gang activity in Virginia. 

By the end of 2008, the Virginia State Police had identified 
9,513 gang members affiliated with approximately 50 
different gangs operating throughout Virginia. Of those, 549 
individuals were arrested for criminal street gang activity, 
including 378 felony arrests and 171 misdemeanor arrests. 
The Department of Corrections created a database which had 
approximately 6,396 inmates identified as gang members 
associated with 341 gangs are present in Virginia's adult 
correctional institutions. The Department of Juvenile Justice's 
Gang Management Unit developed a comprehensive database 
to assist in identification and assessment of gang-involved 
youth. This Gang Management System had 196 identified 
gang members representing 30 gangs in our juvenile 
correctional facilities. 

It is important to continue the collaboration between and 
among relevant state agencies and to foster achievement in 
gang reduction and prevention efforts. Accordingly, based on 
the consultation with and the best professional advice from 
the Secretaries of Education, Health and Human Resources 
and Public Safety and the Superintendent of State Police, I 
hereby continue Virginia's Interagency Anti-Gang 
Workgroup, to promote collaboration among relevant state 
agencies involved in gang reduction and prevention efforts. 

Composition of the Workgroup 

Virginia's Interagency Anti-Gang Workgroup shall operate 
under the direction of the Secretary of Public Safety, in 
coordination with Secretaries of Education and Health and 
Human Resources. Recognizing that anti-gang efforts 
encompass many state agencies, this workgroup shall consist 
of designees from the following agencies: 

•  The Commonwealth's Attorneys' Services Council  

•  The Department of Correctional Education 

•  The Department of Corrections 

•  The Department of Criminal Justice Services 

•  The Department of Education 

•  The Department of Health 

•  The Department of Juvenile Justice 

•  The Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation, 
and Substance Abuse Services 

•  The Department of Social Services 

•  The Department of State Police 

•  The Governor's Office for Substance Abuse Prevention 

•  The Office of the Attorney General 

•  The Office of Commonwealth Preparedness 

In addition, representatives from the Virginia Association of 
Commonwealth's Attorneys, the Richmond Behavioral 
Authority, the Virginia Association of Chiefs of Police, the 
Virginia Sheriffs' Association and Virginia Commonwealth 
University's Center for School-Community Collaboration will 
participate in this workgroup. Additional members may be 
appointed at the Governor's discretion. 

Staff support for the Workgroup will be provided by the 
Office of the Secretary of Public Safety, the Governor's 
Office and such other agencies as may be designated by the 
Governor. All agencies of the Commonwealth will cooperate 
fully with the Workgroup and offer support as requested. 

Duties of the Workgroup 

The specific duties of Virginia's Interagency Anti-Gang 
Workgroup are to: 

•  Cultivate strong collaboration within and among every 
level of government regarding gang prevention strategies in 
Virginia; 

•  Prioritize, coordinate, and leverage Virginia's gang 
prevention resources to improve efficiency; 

•  Encourage and facilitate wider use of model programs 
and best-practice solutions for positive youth development 
throughout the Commonwealth; 

•  Provide training and tools to assist state and local 
prevention professionals, service providers, and the faith 
community in assessing needs, targeting resources, and 
planning services for youth and families; 

•  Disseminate gang-awareness information to citizens of 
the Commonwealth increasing their involvement in making 
local communities safe and fostering local opportunities for 
youth; and, 

•  Report to the Governor yearly by October 30, through the 
Secretary of Public Safety, regarding the Commonwealth's 
progress and achievements statewide in the area of gang 
prevention as well as any recommendations for 
strengthening the Commonwealth's anti-gang activities. 

Effective Date of the Executive Order 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and 
shall remain in full force and effect until June 30, 2010, 
unless amended or rescinded by further Executive Order. 

Given under my hand this 30th day of July 2009. 
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/s/ Timothy M. Kaine 
Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 88 (2009) 

CONTINUING THE VIRGINIA CITIZEN-SOLDIER 
SUPPORT COUNCIL 

Importance of Initiative 

Our Citizen-Soldiers, the members of the Virginia National 
Guard and their families, along with the members of our 
Military Reserves and their families, continually make 
tremendous sacrifices in service to the Commonwealth and 
our great nation. These sacrifices and their service is 
something that should never be taken for granted. It is 
important that our citizen soldiers and their families receive 
fair and continuous services throughout Virginia. 

Since 2003, the Virginia Citizen-Soldier Support Council has 
made great strides in assisting Virginia's military personnel 
and their families. The Council identified issues that 
significantly impacted their lives during deployment, and 
effectively initiated collaboration with the various support 
agencies to provide key services to assist the soldiers and 
their families.  The essential contributions and sacrifices of 
these men and women are enormous and should continue to 
be recognized. 

Virginia Citizen-Soldier Council 

By virtue of the authority vested in me by Article V of the 
Constitution of Virginia and Section 2.2-134 of the Code of 
Virginia, I hereby continue the Virginia Citizen-Soldier 
Support Council. Council members shall be appointed by the 
Governor. Members shall include state legislators, the 
Secretary of Public Safety, the Secretary of Education or 
designee, the Secretary of Health and Human Resources or 
designee, the Assistant to the Governor for Commonwealth 
Preparedness or designee, the Commissioner of Veterans 
Services or his designee, a representative of the Joint 
Leadership Council, representatives from the Virginia 
National Guard and the Virginia Air National Guard, the 
Army Reserve, the Navy Reserve, the Marine Corps Reserve, 
the Air Force Reserve, and the Coast Guard Reserve, local 
government officials, community business leaders, and 
representatives from Military Family Support Groups. 

The Secretary of Public Safety shall serve as the chairman of 
the Council.  The Council shall meet, at a minimum, quarterly 
upon the call of the chairman. 

Members of the Council shall serve without compensation. 
They may receive reimbursement for expenses incurred in the 
discharge of their official duties. 

The Council shall have the following powers and duties: 

1. To increase awareness, involvement, and cooperation of 
the business community of Virginia in support of these 
military personnel and their families. 

2. To increase awareness, involvement and cooperation of 
the state agencies in support of these military personnel and 
their families. 

3. To increase awareness, involvement, and cooperation of 
non-government agencies and organizations in support of 
these military personnel and their families. 

4. To increase awareness, involvement, and cooperation of 
local government in support of these military personnel and 
their families. 

5. To increase awareness, involvement, and cooperation of 
major financial institutions in support of these military 
personnel and their families. 

6. To increase awareness, involvement, and cooperation of 
general and mental health care providers in support of these 
military personnel and their families. 

7. To increase awareness, involvement, and cooperation 
among members of the Virginia State Bar in support of 
these military personnel and their families. 

8. To increase awareness, involvement, and cooperation of 
the Virginia Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve 
(ESGR) Committee in support of these military personnel 
and their families. 

9. To increase awareness, involvement, and cooperation of 
Virginia Chambers of Commerce in support of these 
military personnel and their families. 

Staff support shall be provided by the Secretary of Public 
Safety, the Department of Military Affairs, and such other 
agencies as may be designated by the Governor. 

Effective Date of the Executive Order 

This Executive Order shall become effective upon its signing 
and shall remain in full force and effect until June 30, 2010, 
unless amended or rescinded by further executive order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia this 30th day of July 2009. 

/s/ Timothy M. Kaine 
Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 89 (2009) 

CONTINUING THE PUBLIC SAFETY MEMORIAL 
COMMISSION 

Importance of the Issue 

Every day, brave men and women put on their uniforms and 
dedicate their lives to the protection of life and property 
throughout the Commonwealth. Virginia's Law Enforcement 
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Officers, Firefighters, Corrections Officers, Emergency 
Medical Technicians and Emergency Management personnel 
serve our Commonwealth providing us with safety and 
security, and responding when we are in need. 

Unfortunately, every year we mourn the loss of members of 
the public safety community. A Public Safety Memorial 
would be a meaningful and fitting honor to Virginia's fallen 
heroes giving the friends and family of the men and women 
who have died in the line of duty a place to remember them, 
and to give Virginians a memorial to honor and respect those 
who have made the ultimate sacrifice serving our society. 

The Public Safety Memorial Commission 

Virginia is one of only ten states in the country without a 
state-level memorial honoring public safety personnel who 
have died in the line of duty. Since 2007, the Public Safety 
Memorial Commission has made great strides in studying and 
recommending an appropriate location for the 
Commonwealth to commemorate the courage and sacrifice of 
the members of Virginia's public safety community with a 
memorial. The Commission will select a memorial design 
from six final submissions in September 2009. Accordingly, 
so that it may complete the building of this memorial, I 
hereby continue the Public Safety Memorial Commission, to 
honor these men and women who have died while serving 
Virginia. 

Composition of the Commission 

The Public Safety Memorial Commission shall be chaired by 
the Secretary of Public Safety. Recognizing that these efforts 
will require the work of individuals across a broad spectrum 
of professions and expertise, the Commission shall consist of 
the Secretary of Administration, representatives from state 
agencies, representatives from the General Assembly, and 
members of the public safety community appointed by the 
Governor and serving at his pleasure. Additional members 
may be appointed at the Governor's discretion. 

Members of the Commission shall serve without 
compensation, but they may receive reimbursement for 
expenses incurred in the discharge of their official duties.  

Charge for the Commission 

I hereby direct the Commission to study and recommend to 
the Governor and General Assembly an appropriate memorial 
in Darden Garden (Lat: 37°32'23.76"N, Long: 77°26'1.47"W) 
for the Commonwealth to commemorate the courage and 
sacrifice of Virginia's Public Safety personnel. 

I further direct that all agencies of the Commonwealth 
provide any assistance that may be requested by the 
Commission.  Staff support for the Commission shall be 
provided by the Office of the Secretary of Public Safety, and 
such other agencies as may be designated by the Governor. 

This Executive Order shall become effective upon its signing 
and shall remain in full force and effect until June 30, 2010, 
unless amended or rescinded by further executive order. 

Given under my hand and under the seal of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia this 30th day of July, 2009. 

/s/ Timothy M. Kaine 
Governor 
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Restore Water Quality - Accotink Creek 

Announcement of a total maximum daily load (TMDL) study 
to restore water quality in a portion of Accotink Creek that 
has an aquatic life use impairment. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality (DEQ), the Virginia Department of Conservation and 
Recreation, and the United States Environmental Protection 
Agency (EPA) announce the second technical advisory 
committee (TAC) meeting for the Accotink Creek Benthic 
TMDL study. 

Technical advisory committee meeting: Tuesday, August 18, 
2009, 10 a.m. to noon, Fairfax County Government Center, 
Conference Rooms 2 and 3, 12000 Government Center 
Parkway, Fairfax, VA 22035. 

Meeting description: This is the second TAC meeting for this 
project. The purpose of the TAC will be to provide technical 
input and insight for the project, and to assist with 
stakeholder and public participation. 

Description of study: A portion of Accotink Creek has been 
identified as impaired on the Clean Water Act § 303(d) list 
for not supporting the aquatic life use due to poor health in 
the benthic biological community. Virginia agencies are 
working together with EPA to identify the benthic stressors 
causing the aquatic life use impairment on Accotink Creek. 
The Accotink Creek watershed covers both the City of 
Fairfax and Fairfax County. Below is a description of the 
impaired portion of Accotink Creek that will be addressed in 
this study: 

Stream 
Name 

Watershed 
Location Impairment Area 

(miles) 
Upstream 

Limit 

Down-
stream 
Limit 

Accotink 
Creek 

Fairfax 
County 
Fairfax 

City 

Aquatic 
Life Use 
Benthic 

Macroin-
vertebrates 

7.35 

Confluence 
of Accotink 
Creek with 

Calamo 
Branch 

Start of the 
tidal 

waters of 
Accotink 

Bay 

During the study, DEQ will develop a total maximum daily 
load, or a TMDL, for the impaired watershed. A TMDL is the 
total amount of a pollutant a water body can receive and still 
meet water quality standards. To restore water quality, 
pollutant levels have to be reduced to the TMDL allocated 
amount. 

How to comment: The public comment period on the 
materials presented at the TAC meeting will extend from 
August 18, 2009, to September 17, 2009. DEQ accepts 
written comments by email, fax, or postal mail. Written 
comments should include the name, address, and telephone 
number of the person commenting, and be received by DEQ 
during the comment period. Please send all comments to the 
contact listed below. 

Contact for additional information: Katie Conaway, 
Department of Environmental Quality, 13901 Crown Court, 
Woodbridge, VA 22193, telephone (703) 583-3804, or email 
katie.conaway@deq.virginia.gov. 

Restore Water Quality for Cod, Presley, Hull, 
Rogers, and Bridgeman Creeks, Fountain Cove, 

Cubitt, and Hack Creeks 
Public meeting: September 1, 2009, at the Mid-County 
Rescue, 7990 Northumberland Highway, Heathsville, VA 
22473. An afternoon public meeting will be held from 2 p.m. 
to 4 p.m. and the evening public meeting from 6 p.m. to 
8 p.m. 
Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality and the Department of Conservation and Recreation 
are announcing the completion of a study to restore water 
quality for a shellfish growing area, a public comment 
opportunity, and two public meetings. 
Meeting description: Final public meetings on a study to 
restore water quality for shellfish growing areas along Cod, 
Presley, Hull, Rogers, and Bridgeman Creeks, Fountain Cove, 
Cubitt, and Hack Creeks that are impaired due to bacterial 
violations. 
Description of study: Virginia agencies are working to 
identify sources of the bacterial contamination in the shellfish 
growing waters of these (tidal) creeks including their 
tributaries. These condemnations include a total area of 
approximately 1.18 square miles in Northumberland County. 
These streams are impaired for failure to meet the designated 
use of shellfish consumption because of bacterial water 
quality standard violations. Cubitt Creek also has a 
recreational impairment (swimming) of approximately 0.227 
square miles. The recreational water quality standard is less 
stringent than that of the shellfish standard, therefore it is 
expected that clean-up efforts aimed at restoring the shellfish 
use will also result in attainment of the recreational use. 

Stream County Area (miles²) Impairment 
Cod Creek (left branch) 0.115 

Cod Creek (right branch) 0.079 

Hull Creek (mainstem) 0.044 

Bridgeman Creek 0.045 

Rogers Creek 0.035 

Fountain Cove 0.087 

Presley Creek 0.334 

Hack Creek 0.215 

 
 
 

Shellfish Use 
(Fecal 

Coliform) 
bacteria 

Cubitt Creek 

Northumberland 
 

0.227 

Shellfish Use 
(Fecal 

Coliform) & 
Recreational 

Use 
(Enterococci) 
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The study reports the current status of the creeks via sampling 
performed by the Virginia Department of Health, Division of 
Shellfish Sanitation, shellfish area condemnations and the 
possible sources of bacterial contamination. The study 
recommends total maximum daily loads, or TMDLs, for the 
impaired waters. A TMDL is the total amount of a pollutant a 
water body can contain and still meet water quality standards. 
To restore water quality, bacterial levels have to be reduced to 
the TMDL amount. The draft report for the study is available 
at 
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/TMDLDataSearch/DraftReports.jspx. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax, or postal mail. Written comments should include the 
name, address, and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ during the comment 
period, which will expire on September 30, 2009. DEQ also 
accepts written and oral comments at the public meeting 
announced in this notice. 

Contact for additional information: Margaret Smigo, TMDL 
Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, 
Piedmont Regional Office, 4949A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 
23060, telephone (804) 527-5124, FAX (804)-527-5106, or 
email margaret.smigo@deq.virginia.gov. 

Restore Water Quality - Meherrin River 
Public meetings: Public meetings will be held on Tuesday, 
August 25, 2009, from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. and 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. 
at the Victoria Library located at 1417 7th Street, Victoria, 
VA 23974. A second set of public meetings will be held on 
Thursday, August 27, 2009, from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. and 6 p.m. 
to 8 p.m. at the Brunswick County Library located at 133 W. 
Hicks Street, Lawrenceville, VA 23868. All meetings are 
open to the public. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality (DEQ) and the Department of Conservation and 
Recreation are announcing a study to restore water quality for 
portions of the Meherrin River and its tributaries within 
Lunenburg, Mecklenburg, Charlotte, and Brunswick counties. 
This notice also announces the first public meetings and a 
public comment opportunity. 

Meeting description: Overview of the water quality 
impairments of the recreation/swimming use of portions of 
the Meherrin River and its tributaries that are impaired due to 
bacterial violations and a summary of the research to date. 

Description of study: Virginia agencies are working to 
identify sources of the bacterial contamination for portions of 
the Meherrin River and its tributaries. This impairment spans 
approximately 69.89 miles across Lunenburg and Brunswick 
counties. The watershed that drains these waterways extends 
into both Mecklenburg and Charlotte counties. Portions of 
this river and its tributaries are impaired for failure to meet 

the recreational (swimming) designated use because of 
bacterial water quality standard violations. 
 

Waterbody County 
Impairment 

Length 
(mi) 

Impairment 

Briery Branch Brunswick 3.97 
Genito Creek Brunswick 7.89 
Great Creek 

(Main stem of creek – 
Excluding the Great 

Creek Reservoir) 

Brunswick 24.34 

Meherrin River 
(Taylors Creek to 

Reedy Creek) 
Brunswick 26.14 

North Meherrin River 
(from confluence with 

Couches Creek to 
Reedy Creek) 

Lunenburg 7.55 

Total Impairment Length 69.89 

Recreational/ 
Swimming 
Use due to 
Bacteria 

The study reports the current status of the river and its 
tributaries via sampling performed by the Virginia 
Department of Environmental Quality and the possible 
sources of bacterial contamination. The study recommends 
total maximum daily loads, or TMDLs, for the above 
impairments. A TMDL is the total amount of a pollutant a 
water body can contain and still meet water quality standards. 
To restore water quality, bacterial levels have to be reduced to 
the TMDL amount. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax, or postal mail. Written comments should include the 
name, address, and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ during the comment 
period, which will expire on Friday, September 25, 2009. 
DEQ also accepts written and oral comments at the public 
meeting announced in this notice. 

Contact for additional information: Margaret Smigo, TMDL 
Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, 
Piedmont Regional Office, 4949 A Cox Road, Glen Allen, 
VA 23060, telephone (804) 527-5124, FAX (804)-527-5106, 
or email margaret.smigo@deq.virginia.gov. 

Total Maximum Daily Load Study in the Elizabeth 
River and Several Tributaries 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) 
will host a public meeting on a water quality study for the 
Elizabeth River mainstem, branches and several tributaries, 
on Wednesday, August 28, 2009. 

The meeting will start at 7 p.m. in the Hampton Roads 
Planning District Commission Board Room located at 723 
Woodlake Drive, Chesapeake, VA. The purpose of the study 
will be to identify sources of bacteria in the watershed and to 
determine the reductions in bacteria loadings needed to allow 
various streams in the watershed to meet water quality goals. 
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The affected streams were identified in Virginia's 1998 
303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report and Virginia's 2002 
303(d) Report on Impaired Waters as impaired due to 
violations of Virginia's water quality standards for fecal 
coliform bacteria. These streams are therefore not supporting 
the primary contact recreation (swimmable) designated use. 
The impairments include the Mainstem, Eastern Branch, 
Southern Branch, Western Branch, Lafayette River, Broad 
Creek, Indian River, and Paradise Creek. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 
of the Code of Virginia require DEQ to develop TMDLs for 
pollutants responsible for each impaired water contained in 
Virginia's 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report and 
subsequent water quality assessment reports. 

During the study, DEQ will develop a total maximum daily 
load for the impaired waters. A TMDL is the total amount of 
a pollutant a water body can contain and still meet water 
quality standards. To restore water quality, pollutant levels 
have to be reduced to the TMDL amount. 

The public comment period on materials presented at this 
meeting will extend from August 26, 2009, to September 24, 
2009. For additional information or to submit comments, 
contact Jennifer Howell, Department of Environmental 
Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Blvd, 
Virginia Beach, VA 23462, telephone (757) 518-2111, or 
email jennifer.howell@deq.virginia.gov. 

* Additional information is also available on the DEQ 
website at www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl. 

Total Maximum Daily Load Study in Lawnes Creek, 
Isle of Wight and Surry Counties 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) 
will host a public meeting on a water quality study for 
Lawnes Creek, located in both Isle of Wight and Surry 
Counties, on Tuesday, August 18, 2009. 

The meeting will start at 7 p.m. in the Rushmere Volunteer 
Fire Department located at 5354 Old Stage Hwy. (Rt. 10), 
Smithfield, VA. The purpose of the meeting is to provide 
information and discuss the study with interested local 
community members and local government. 

Lawnes Creek (VAT-G11E-14) was identified in Virginia's 
1998 § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report as impaired for 
not supporting the shellfishing use. The impairment is based 
on the shellfish harvesting condemnation of Growing Area 
60-206 imposed by the Virginia Department of Health-
Division of Shellfish Sanitation. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 
of the Code of Virginia require DEQ to develop TMDLs for 
pollutants responsible for each impaired water contained in 
Virginia's 303(d) TMDL priority list and report and 
subsequent water quality assessment reports. 

During the study, DEQ will develop a total maximum daily 
load for the impaired waters. A TMDL is the total amount of 
a pollutant a water body can contain and still meet water 
quality standards. To restore water quality, pollutant levels 
have to be reduced to the TMDL amount. 

The public comment period on materials presented at this 
meeting will extend from August 18, 2009, to September 16, 
2009. For additional information or to submit comments, 
contact Jennifer Howell, Department of Environmental 
Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Blvd., 
Virginia Beach, VA 23462, telephone (757) 518-2111, or 
email jennifer.howell@deq.virginia.gov. 

* Additional information is also available on the DEQ 
website at www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl. 

Total Maximum Daily Load in Pocomoke 
Sound/Pocomoke River, Accomack County 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) 
will provide a public comment period for a water quality 
study for Pocomoke Sound/Pocomoke River, located in 
Accomack County. A request has been made to modify the 
load allocations (LAs) and waste load allocations (WLAs) for 
the fecal coliform bacteria total maximum daily load (TMDL) 
due to a calculation error during the TMDL development.  
Before EPA can approve the requested modifications, the 
revised LAs and WLAs for the Lower Pocomoke River and 
Pocomoke Sound must be made available for public comment 
and review.  Once the revised LAs and WLAs have been 
public noticed, a formal TMDL modification request can be 
submitted to EPA for review and approval. 

The report and revisions may be accessed on the DEQ 
website at www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl. The TMDL was 
approved by EPA in April 2009. 

Pocomoke Sound (VAT-C09E-10) was identified in 
Virginia's 1998 § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report as 
impaired for not supporting the shellfishing use. The 
impairment is based on the shellfish harvesting condemnation 
of Growing Area 75 imposed by the Virginia Department of 
Health-Division of Shellfish Sanitation. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 
of the Code of Virginia require DEQ to develop TMDLs for 
pollutants responsible for each impaired water contained in 
Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL priority list and report and 
subsequent water quality assessment reports. 

During the study, a total maximum daily load was developed 
for the impaired waters. A TMDL is the total amount of a 
pollutant a water body can contain and still meet water 
quality standards. To restore water quality, pollutant levels 
have to be reduced to the TMDL amount. The Virginia 
Departments of Environmental Quality, Conservation and 
Recreation, and Health are working to identify the sources of 
pollution in the watersheds of these streams. 
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The public comment period will extend from August 18, 
2009, through September 16, 2009. 

For additional information or to submit comments, contact 
Jennifer Howell, Department of Environmental Quality, 
Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Blvd., Virginia 
Beach, VA 23462, telephone (757) 518-2111 or email 
jshowell@deq.virginia.gov. 

Total Maximum Daily Load Studies in Ware Creek, 
Taskinas Creek, and Skimino Creek; New Kent, 

James City, and York Counties 
The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) 
will host a public meeting on water quality studies for Ware 
Creek (New Kent and James City Counties), Taskinas Creek 
(James City County), and Skimino Creek (James City and 
York Counties) on Tuesday, September 1, 2009. 

The meeting will start at 7 p.m. in the James City County 
Library, Cosby Room, 7770 Croaker Road, Williamsburg, 
VA. The purpose of the meeting is to provide information and 
discuss the studies with interested local community members 
and local government. 

Ware Creek (VAT-F26E-19) and Taskinas Creek (VAT-
F26E-18) were identified in Virginia's 1998 § 303(d) TMDL 
priority list and report as impaired for not supporting the 
shellfishing use. The impairments are based on the shellfish 
harvesting condemnation of Growing Area 50-073 imposed 
by the Virginia Department of Health-Division of Shellfish 
Sanitation. Skimino Creek (VAT-F26E-17) was identified in 
Virginia's 1998 303(d) TMDL priority list and report as 
impaired for not supporting the shellfishing use. The 
impairment is based on the shellfish harvesting condemnation 
of Growing Area 50-087 imposed by the Virginia Department 
of Health-Division of Shellfish Sanitation. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 
of the Code of Virginia require DEQ to develop TMDLs for 
pollutants responsible for each impaired water contained in 
Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL priority list and report and 
subsequent water quality assessment reports. 

During the study, DEQ will develop a total maximum daily 
load for the impaired waters. A TMDL is the total amount of 
a pollutant a water body can contain and still meet water 
quality standards. To restore water quality, pollutant levels 
have to be reduced to the TMDL amount. 

The public comment period on materials presented at this 
meeting will extend from September 1, 2009, to September 
30, 2009. For additional information or to submit comments, 
contact Jennifer Howell, Department of Environmental 
Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Blvd., 
Virginia Beach, VA 23462, telephone (757) 518-2111 or 
email jennifer.howell@deq.virginia.gov. 

* Additional information is also available on the DEQ 
website at www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl. 

STATE LOTTERY DEPARTMENT 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the State Lottery 
Department were filed with the Virginia Registrar of 
Regulations on August 5, 2009. The orders may be viewed at 
the State Lottery Department, 900 East Main Street, 
Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, 910 Capitol Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
Virginia. 

Final Rules for Game Operation: 

Director's Order Number Sixty-One (09) 

Virginia Lottery's "$50,000,000 Redskins Mania 
Sweepstakes" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective 
7/31/09) 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Order for Mountain Run Golf, 
Inc., and Mountain Run, LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Mountain Run 
Golf, Inc., and Mountain Run, LLC for alleged violations at 
the Mountain Run golf course (The Federal Club) and 
residential development in Hanover County. The proposed 
consent order describes the alleged violations and requires 
corrective action. A description of the proposed action is 
available at the DEQ office named below or online at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. Allison Dunaway will accept 
comments by email at allison.dunaway@deq.virginia.gov, 
FAX (804) 527-5106 or postal mail at Department of 
Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A 
Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, from August 12, 2009, to 
September 16, 2009. 

Nutrient Waste Load Allocations - Petitions for 
Extension of Deadline 

Notice of action: The State Water Control Board (the board) 
is considering action on petitions to extend the deadline for 
securing a certificate to operate for footnoted nutrient waste 
load allocations in the Water Quality Management Planning 
Regulation. 

Purpose of notice: The board seeks comments through the 
Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) on the petitions 
and the need for and impact of resulting regulatory action to 
extend any deadline. 

Public comment period: July 24, 2009, to August 28, 2009. 

Subject matter and intent of proposal: The 2009 General 
Assembly passed legislation (HB 1074/SB 1022) authorizing 
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the board to adopt certain regulations relating to wastewater 
treatment plants. The board was directed to accept petitions 
through July 10, 2009, for the purpose of conducting an 
expedited rulemaking process involving plants with 
"footnoted" nutrient waste load allocations in the WQMP 
Regulation. The footnotes provide conditional allocations that 
depend on the plant owner securing a Certificate to Operate 
(CTO) by December 31, 2010, for an expanded design flow. 
The petitions must be for the sole purpose of extending the 
deadline to no later than December 31, 2015. Owners 
submitting a petition are still required to comply with their 
nutrient allocations as of January 1, 2011, through the 
Nutrient Credit Exchange Program (§ 62.1-44.19:4 of the 
Code of Virginia) or by other means. The board must approve 
or deny these petitions and adopt any resulting regulation 
amendments within 180 days of the petition deadline. Before 
making a final decision on the petitions, the board shall 
provide an opportunity for public comment. 

DEQ received petitions for seven plants by the deadline: (i) 
Cape Charles; (ii) Culpeper Co. - Mountain Run; (iii) 
Fauquier Co. W&SA - Remington; (iv) Fauquier Co. W&SA 
- Vint Hill; (v) Harrisonburg - Rockingham SA-North River; 
(vi) Onancock; (vii) Shenandoah Co. - North Fork Regional. 
If you wish to view the petitions on line, they are accessible at 
the web link provided below.  

The legislation also exempted the board's adoption of any 
resulting regulation amendments under this rulemaking from 
Article 2 (§ 2.2-4006 of the Code of Virginia) of the 
Administrative Process Act. 

The regulation to be amended is the Water Quality 
Management Planning Regulation (9VAC25-720). 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email 
and postal mail. Comments must include the full name, 
address and telephone number of the person commenting and 
be received by DEQ by 5 p.m. on the last day of the comment 
period. Please include a copy of any supporting documents or 
exhibits, which become part of the public record. 

To review documents: This public notice is available on the 
Town Hall website at www.townhall.virginia.gov, where 
interested persons may also submit electronic comments. The 
legislation and notification letter sent May 8, 2009, to 
affected plant owners and the petitions received by the July 
10, 2009, deadline are available through the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Chesapeake Bay Program webpage at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/bay/multi.html, or by contacting 
the DEQ representative named below. 

Contact: John Kennedy, Department of Environmental 
Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, 
VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4312, FAX (804) 698-4116, 
or email john.kennedy@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 
Mailing Address: Virginia Code Commission, 910 Capitol 
Street, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations 

Agencies are required to use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) when filing regulations for publication in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. The Office of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations implemented a web-based application 
called RIS for filing regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register. The Registrar's office has 
worked closely with the Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) to coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory 
Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one 
another by sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

The Office of the Virginia Register is working toward the 
eventual elimination of the requirement that agencies file 
print copies of regulatory packages. Until that time, agencies 
may file petitions for rulemaking, notices of intended 
regulatory actions and general notices in electronic form only; 
however, until further notice, agencies must continue to file 
print copies of proposed, final, fast-track and emergency 
regulatory packages. 

ERRATA 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-50. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Marriage and Family Therapy. 

Publication: 25:24 VA.R. 4336-4339 August 3, 2009. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

EDITOR'S NOTE: The amendments to 18VAC115-50-40 B 
2 b and the Forms section of 18VAC115-50 as published in 
25:20 VAR. 3701-3706 June 8, 2009, and effective July 23, 
2009, were inadvertently omitted when published in 25:24 
VA.R. 

Page 4336, 18VAC115-50-40, subdivision B 2 b should read 
as follows: 

b. Evidence of post-licensure clinical practice for five of 
the last six years immediately preceding his licensure 
application in Virginia. 

Page 4338, Forms (18VAC115-50), Form MFT-ECP should 
read as follows: 

Verification of Post-Licensure Clinical Practice, 
Endorsement Applicants Only, Form MFT-ECP (rev. 8/09). 
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VA.R. Doc. No. R06-319 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-41. Neighborhood 
Assistance Tax Credit Program. 

Publication: 25:23 VA.R. 4236-4239 July 20, 2009. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 4239, 22VAC40-41-55 A, line 1, strike "58.1-430.24" 
insert "58.1-439.24" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1987 
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