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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, the Virginia Tax Bulletin issued 
periodically by the Department of Taxation, and notices of public 
hearings and open meetings of state agencies. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
Proposed regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating 
agency at any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 12 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
23:7 VA.R. 1023-1140 December 11, 2006, refers to Volume 23, Issue 
7, pages 1023 through 1140 of the Virginia Register issued on 
December 11, 2006. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: R. Steven Landes, 
Chairman; John S. Edwards, Vice Chairman; Ryan T. McDougle; 
Robert Hurt; Robert L. Calhoun; Frank S. Ferguson; E.M. Miller, 
Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; James F. Almand; Jane M. Roush. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
June T. Chandler, Assistant Registrar. 
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

November 2009 through August 2010 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

FINAL INDEX Volume 25  October 2009 

26:6 November 4, 2009 November 23, 2009 

26:7 November 17, 2009 (Tuesday) December 7, 2009 

INDEX 1 Volume 26  January 2010 

26:8 December 2, 2009 December 21, 2009 

26:9 December 15, 2009 (Tuesday) January 4, 2010 

26:10 December 29, 2009 (Tuesday) January 18, 2010 

26:11 January 13, 2010 February 1, 2010 

26:12 January 27, 2010 February 15, 2010 

26:13 February 10, 2010 March 1, 2010 

26:14 February 24, 2010 March 15, 2010 

INDEX 2 Volume 26  April 2010 

26:15 March 10, 2010 March 29, 2010 

26:16 March 24, 2010 April 12, 2010 

26:17 April 7, 2010 April 26, 2010 

26:18 April 21, 2010 May 10, 2010 

26:19 May 5, 2010 May 24, 2010 

26:20 May 19, 2010 June 7, 2010 

INDEX 3 Volume 26  July 2010 

26:21 June 2, 2010 June 21, 2010 

26:22 June 16, 2010 July 5, 2010 

26:23 June 30, 2010 July 19, 2010 

26:24 July 14, 2010 August 2, 2010 

26:25 July 28, 2010 August 16, 2010 

26:26 August 11, 2010 August 30, 2010 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-720. Water Quality 
Management Planning Regulation. 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: C. Lee Lintecum, County Administrator. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: Amend the Water Quality 
Management Planning Regulation, 9VAC25-720-120 C, to 
include total nitrogen and total phosphorus waste load 
allocations for Louisa County's Zion Crossroads wastewater 
facility (VPDES Permit No. 0090743). The discharge permit, 
reissued March 28, 2002 (expires March 28, 2007), contains 
flow tiers of 0.10 and 0.70 million gallons per day (MGD). 
The plant currently operates at 0.10 MGD and the county 
plans to expand the design flow to the higher tier. The county 
claims that the expansion to 0.70 MGD will be completed and 
a Certificate to Operate will be issued by the first quarter of 
2009. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reasons for Decision: The petition was denied, 
based on the following: 

1. Louisa County did not pursue the increased WLAs due 
to a plant expansion under the original rulemaking adopted 
by the board in 2005. Further increases should be avoided 
when possible to aid in meeting and maintaining water 
quality standards. In addition, the county has the capability 
to meet its TN WLA by operating available nutrient 
reduction technology (state of the art treatment, TN = 3.0 
mg/l annual average) up to a flow of 0.62 MGD. At a 
design flow of 0.7 MGD, the county would need to acquire 
700 lbs/yr of TN offsets under the Nutrient Credit 
Exchange Program.  The TN offset could also be achieved 
through reclamation/reuse, thus reducing the surface water 
discharge. The TP WLA can be achieved at 0.7 MGD 
design flow through operation at 0.29 mg/l annual average, 
which is possible using available technology. 

2. Louisa County has not provided a reasonable assurance 
that the CTO for the expanded plant will be secured by 
December 31, 2010.  Design documents were not submitted 
by the date shown on the county's revised schedule (due 
three months ago), and the project does not have an 
approved Preliminary Engineering Report (the PER is a 
precursor to design plans and specifications). The Zion 
Crossroads upgrade/expansion project PER was submitted 
September 10, 2007, revised February 26, 2008, 
commented on by DEQ March 27, 2008, and returned to 

the county November 13, 2008. Current review status is 
"inactive." 

As a result of the decision to deny the petition, the regulatory 
action initiated by publication of a NOIRA on February 4, 
2009, is being withdrawn.  

Agency Contact: John M. Kennedy, Chesapeake Bay 
Program Manager, Department of Environmental Quality, 
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
4312, FAX (804) 698-4116, or email 
jmkennedy@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-210; Filed November 4, 2009, 11:21 a.m. 

Agency Decision 
Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-720. Water Quality 
Management Planning Regulation. 
Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia. 
Name of Petitioner: Christopher D. Hively, PE, 
Environmental Services Director. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: Amend the Water Quality 
Management Planning Regulation (9VAC25-720-70 C, 
Rappahannock River Basin), to increase total nitrogen (TN) 
and total phosphorus (TP) waste load allocations (WLAs) for 
the Town of Culpeper wastewater plant (VPDES Permit No. 
0061590).  Current nutrient WLAs are TN = 54,820 lb/yr; TP 
= 4,112 lb/yr, based on a design flow of 4.5 million gallons 
per day (MGD). The town is expanding the plant to 6 MGD 
and installing state-of-the-art nutrient reduction technology. 
Construction is underway, with work expected to be 
completed and the facility certified for operation by 
December 31, 2010. Culpeper requests the WLAs be 
amended to TN = 73,058 lbs/yr (an 18,238 lb/yr increase) and 
TP = 5,479 lbs/yr (a 1,367 lb/yr increase), to reflect the 6 
MGD design flow. 
Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reasons for Decision: The petition was denied 
since the town's request for the increased WLAs due to a 
plant expansion to 6.0 MGD under the original rulemaking in 
2005 was not recommended by the staff, and the board 
adopted conditional WLAs for the town based on a design 
flow of 4.5 MGD. The town has the capability to meet its TN 
WLA by operating the upgraded nutrient reduction 
technology, now being installed, at its design intent up to a 
flow of 6.0 MGD. The TP WLA can be achieved at 6.0 MGD 
design flow through operation at 0.22 mg/l annual average, 
which is possible using available technology. Given Culpeper 
County's 1.5 MGD design flow WLAs, at a minimum, for 
Mountain Run STP and their stated intention to build a 2.5 
MGD plant (P&S approved, Certificate to Construct issued 
but project not yet bid), granting an additional 1.5 MGD 
capacity and associated WLA to the town may be excessive 
for the area and the Rappahannock basin. 
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Further, there appears to be an opportunity for a shared, 
regional approach to address the capacity needs of the town 
and the county for future service areas that has not been fully 
explored. A Memorandum of Understanding has been signed 
and discussions have taken place between the localities on 
this and other issues facing the region, but no final solution 
has been agreed upon yet. Conditions are essentially the same 
as when the board adopted the original "footnoted" WLAs for 
the town based on 4.5 MGD, in terms of justifying additional 
design flow. 

Agency Contact: John M. Kennedy, Chesapeake Bay 
Program Manager, Department of Environmental Quality,  
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
4312, TTY 1-800-592-5482, or email 
jmkennedy@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-30; November 4, 2009, 11:21 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Agency Decision 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC125-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Psychology. 
Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 
Name of Petitioner: Mary E. Olbrisch, Ph.D. 
Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend regulations for a 
residency to allow residents to count the hours of experience 
obtained while securing necessary documentation for the 
application and awaiting board approval. 
Agency Decision: Request denied. 
Statement of Reasons for Decision: The board has initiated 
regulatory action to change the residency requirements in 
order to accept certain pre-internship hours in approved 
educational programs. Additionally, there are already 
procedures in place to compensate for any delays in receiving 
transcripts, and reviews of documentation occur regularly and 
do not require board action at a scheduled meeting. 

Agency Contact: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, 
Board of Psychology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-4488, FAX (804) 527-4435, or 
email evelyn.brown@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-03; Filed October 28, 2009, 10:03 a.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESOURCE 
MANAGEMENT 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Department of Human Resource 
Management intends to consider amending the following 
regulations: 1VAC55-20, Commonwealth of Virginia 
Health Benefits Program. Currently only employees whose 
spouses are recognized as legal in Virginia and incapacitated 
children who are incapable of self support and have reached 
the limiting age are the only adults covered by the plan. The 
intent of this amendment is to assist employees in providing 
health coverage to other adult individuals who reside in their 
home but are not eligible for the Health Benefits Plan for 
State Employees. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 2.2-2818 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 23, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Charles Reed, Associate Director, 
Department of Human Resource Management, 101 North 
14th Street, 13th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-3124, FAX (804) 371-0231, or email 
charles.reed@dhrm.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2223; Filed November 4, 2009, 12:00 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given that the State Water Control Board has 
WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action for 
9VAC25-720, Water Quality Management Planning 
Regulation that was published in 24:11 VA.R. 1341 February 
4, 2008. 

Agency Contact: John M. Kennedy, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4312, FAX (804) 
698-4116, or email jmkennedy@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-210; Filed November 3, 2009, 4:51 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medical Assistance 
Services intends to consider amending the following 
regulations: 12VAC30-50, Amount, Duration, and Scope of 
Medical and Remedial Care and Services; 12VAC30-80, 
Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rate; 
Other Types of Care; and 12VAC30-120, Waivered 
Services. The purpose of the proposed action is to create a 
new recognized class of Part C providers to ensure that those 
providing early intervention services through the Part C 
program bill Medicaid first, if appropriate, before billing the 
Part C program. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 23, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Molly Carpenter, Child and Maternal Health 
Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 
East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
786-1493, FAX (804) 225-3961, or email 
molly.carpenter@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2080; Filed October 29, 2009, 3:05 p.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medical Assistance 
Services intends to consider amending the following 
regulations: 12VAC30-120, Waivered Services. The purpose 
of the proposed action is to conform the MR Waiver 
regulations to the recently federally approved MR Waiver 
Application with updates to nomenclature and procedures. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 23, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Helen Leonard, Long Term Care Division, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2149, 
FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
helen.leonard@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2056; Filed October 29, 2009, 3:06 p.m.  
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DEPARTMENT OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Behavioral 
Health and Developmental Services intends to consider 
promulgating the following regulations: 12VAC35-220, 
Certification Requirements for Early Intervention 
Professionals and Early Intervention Specialists. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to promulgate specific 
requirements for certification of practitioners as early 
intervention professionals and early intervention specialists 
under Virginia's early intervention services system. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 2.2-5304 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 23, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Karen Durst, Department of Behavioral 
Health and Developmental Services, 1220 Bank Street, P.O. 
Box 1797, Richmond, VA 23218-1797, telephone (804) 786-
9844, FAX (804) 371-7959, or email 
karen.durst@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-1928; Filed November 3, 2009, 10:49 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Dentistry intends to 
consider amending the following regulations: 18VAC60-20, 
Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry and 
Dental Hygiene. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
comply with the budget bills of the 2009 Acts of Assembly 
by establishing criteria for the registration and operation of 
portable dental operations or mobile dental clinics. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 23, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4538, FAX (804) 527-
4428, or email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-1945; Filed November 4, 2009, 2:42 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Forms 
NOTICE: The following forms have been filed by the 
Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. 
The forms are available for public inspection at the Virginia 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Division 
of Animal and Food Industry Services, 102 Governor Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, or at the Office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219. Copies of the forms may be 
obtained from Richard D. Saunders, Deputy Director, 
Division of Animal and Food Industry Services, Virginia 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 102 
Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, (804) 692-0601 or 
doug.saunders@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-110. Rules and Regulations 
Pertaining to a Pound or Enclosure to Be Maintained by 
Each County or City. 

Agency Contact: Richard D. Saunders, Deputy Director, 
Division of Animal and Food Industry Services, Virginia 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 102 
Governor Street, Room 321, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 692-0601, or email doug.saunders@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (2VAC5-110)  

Pound and Shelter Inspection Form, VDACS-PS-1 (eff. 
7/07). 

Animal Facility Inspection Form, VDACS AC-10 (eff. 
07/09). 

Animal Facility Inspection Form – Pound Regulations, 
VDACS AC-10-A (eff. 07/09). 

Animal Facility Inspection Form – Animal Care, VDACS 
AC-10-B (eff. 07/09). 

Animal Facility Inspection Form – Operations, VDACS AC-
10-C (eff. 07/09). 
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Forms 
NOTICE: The following forms have been filed by the 
Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. 
The forms are available for public inspection at the Virginia 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Division 
of Animal and Food Industry Services, 102 Governor Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, or at the Office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219. Copies of the forms may be 
obtained from Richard D. Saunders, Deputy Director, 
Division of Animal and Food Industry Services, Virginia 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 102 
Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, (804) 692-0601 or 
doug.saunders@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-150. Rules and Regulations 
Governing the Transportation of Companion Animals. 

Agency Contact: Richard D. Saunders, Deputy Director, 
Division of Animal and Food Industry Services, Virginia 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 102 
Governor Street, Room 321, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 692-0601, or email doug.saunders@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (2VAC5-150)  

Animal Control Vehicle Review, Form VDACS-03132-2.  

Animal Facility Inspection Form, VDACS AC-10 (eff. 
07/09). 

Animal Facility Inspection Form – Animal Transport, 
VDACS AC-10-1 (eff. 07/09). 
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TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND 
RECREATION 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulation filed by 
the Department of Conservation and Recreation is exempt 
from the Administrative Process Act in accordance with 
§ 2.2-4006 A 1 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes 
agency orders or regulations fixing rates or prices. The 
Department of Conservation and Recreation will receive, 
consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person at 
any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC5-36. Standard Fees for Use of 
Department of Conservation and Recreation Facilities, 
Programs, and Services (amending 4VAC5-36-40, 
4VAC5-36-50, 4VAC5-36-60, 4VAC5-36-80, 4VAC5-36-
90, 4VAC5-36-100, 4VAC5-36-110, 4VAC5-36-115, 
4VAC5-36-120, 4VAC5-36-130, 4VAC5-36-140, 4VAC5-
36-150, 4VAC5-36-160, 4VAC5-36-170, 4VAC5-36-190, 
4VAC5-36-200, 4VAC5-36-210). 

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-104 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2010.  

Agency Contact: David C. Dowling, Policy, Planning, and 
Budget Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 
203 Governor Street, Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-2291, FAX (804) 786-6141, or email 
david.dowling@dcr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments include general conditions and criteria 
concerning the establishment, revision, and revocation of 
fees (4VAC5-36-40); parking and launch fees (4VAC5-36-
50); admission fees (4VAC5-36-60); commercial and 
nonprofit user fees (4VAC5-36-80); camping fees; 
(4VAC5-36-90); cabin fees (4VAC5-36-100); picnic shelter 
fees (4VAC5-36-110); horse arena fees (4VAC5-36-115); 
amphitheater and gazebo fees (4VAC5-36-120); boat 
storage fees (4VAC5-36-130); interpretive canoe, boat, 
and paddleboat fees (4VAC5-36-140); interpretive and 
educational tours and program fees (4VAC5-36-150); 
outdoor skill program fees (4VAC5-36-160); hunting fees 
(4VAC5-36-170); environmental education center fees 
(4VAC5-36-190); miscellaneous rental fees (4VAC5-36-
200); and conference center and meeting facility fees 
(4VAC5-36-210). 

Increases to these rates and prices represent (i) changes to 
maintain fair market value, (ii) the addition of new 
facilities and offerings, (iii) updates to ensure consistency 
with the private sector, and (iv) revisions to reflect private 
concessionaires' new seasonal prices. Language has been 
added to 4VAC5-36-40 (General conditions and criteria 
concerning the establishment, revision, and revocation of 
fees) allowing the electronic submission of documents and 
payments where available, including the use of electronic 
mail, the Reservation Center and the ReserveAmerica 
system, completing any forms provided online, or any other 
manner specified by the department.  

4VAC5-36-40. General conditions and criteria concerning 
the establishment, revision, and revocation of fees.  

A. The director may establish, revise, or revoke standard or 
nonstandard fees for facility rentals, programs, festivals, 
special events, concerts, and services as the need arises 
according to reasonable and accepted business practices, 
negotiation with third party providers, and local market 
conditions. Such fees and prices shall be in effect 
immediately upon the reasonable availability of information 
allowing the public to be aware of the most current fee or 
price. The agency shall publish new, revised or revoked 
standard fees in accordance with the Virginia Register Act 
(§ 2.2-4100 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

B. In the event a nonstandard fee becomes a continuing 
offering, the director shall publish the fee in accordance with 
the Virginia Register Act (§ 2.2-4100 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia).  

C. The submission of the required documents and payments 
set out in this chapter may be accomplished where available 
by electronic means, including but not limited to electronic 
mail and the use of the Reservation Center or 
ReserveAmerica system, completing any forms provided 
online, or any other manner specified by the department. 

4VAC5-36-50. Parking and launch fees.  

PARKING FEES (NONTAXABLE)  

  WEEKDAYS WEEKENDS 

Daily Parking for 
Passenger Vehicles: 
Applies to cars, trucks, 
vans (up to 15 
passenger), and 
motorcycles. 

  

  

  All parks unless 
listed below. 

$2.00 $3.00 

  Parks under 
construction and 
having only 
limited facilities 

$2.00 $2.00 
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and services. 

  Fairy Stone, 
Raymond R. 
"Andy" Guest 
Jr. Shenandoah 
River, Smith 
Mountain Lake, 
Claytor Lake, 
Kiptopeke, 
Westmoreland, 
Mason Neck, 
Sky Meadows, 
Chippokes 

$3.00 $4.00 

  Leesylvania, 
First Landing, 
Lake Anna, 
Pocahontas 

$4.00 $5.00 

  York River 
Croaker 
Landing/Pier 
Area (also 
requires boat 
launch fee for 
all vehicles) 

$3.00 $3.00 

Horse Trailer Parking 
Fee (also requires 
vehicle parking fee.) All 
parks unless listed 
below. 

$3.00 per 
trailer 

$3.00 per 
trailer 

  Lake Anna $4.00 per 
trailer 

$4.00 per 
trailer 

  Surcharge for 
additional horse 
in same trailer. 

$2.00 per 
horse 

$2.00 per 
horse 

Other Trailer Parking 
Fee: Applies to other 
trailers not covered by 
camping, horse trailer 
and boat launch fee. 
(Add to daily parking 
fee.) 

$2.00 per 
trailer 

$2.00 per 
trailer 

Daily Bus Parking: All 
Seasons. Applies to 
vehicles with 16 or 
more passenger 
capacity. 

    

  All parks unless 
listed below. 

$10 $10 

  Claytor Lake, 
Hungry Mother, 
Leesylvania, 
Mason Neck, 
New River Trail 

$12 $12 

  First Landing, 
Kiptopeke, Lake 
Anna, 
Pocahontas, 
Westmoreland 

$15 $15 

Natural Area Preserve 
Parking Fees for any 
Vehicle: The 
department may charge 
these fees at any 
Natural Area Preserve. 

$2.00 $2.00 

Boat Launch Fees: 
Required to use park 
boat ramps on bodies of 
water where motorboats 
are permitted. Required 
for all vehicles using 
York River Croaker 
Landing/Pier Area. May 
not apply to small "car-
top" launch facilities 
(facilities at which boats 
may only be launched 
by hand carrying them 
to the water). The fee is 
normally added to the 
parking fee to create a 
combined park/launch 
payment. 

    

Daily Launch Fees: All 
Seasons 

    

  All parks unless 
listed below. 

$3.00 $3.00 

  Claytor Lake $2.00 $2.00 

  First Landing, 
Kiptopeke (with 
Marine Fishing 
License), Lake 
Anna 

$4.00 $4.00 

  Kiptopeke 
(without Marine 
Fishing 
License), 
Leesylvania 

$8.00 $8.00 
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Surcharge for second 
boat on same trailer: jet 
ski 

$2.00 $2.00 

Overnight parking at 
boat launch: where 
available 

$10 $10 

Camper's Boat Launch 
Fee Kiptopeke: Does 
not apply if camper 
parks trailer at 
campsite. 

$3.00 $3.00 

Boat Tournament Fee 
for Fishing 
Tournaments: 
Registration fee is 
based on the number of 
boats registered and is 
nonrefundable 
regardless of number 
that actually 
participates. This fee is 
in addition to the 
applicable daily launch 
fee. 

No charge $2.00 per 
boat 

  

  FEE 

Annual and Lifetime Parking Fees:   

Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus: 
Lifetime admission and parking pass to all 
state parks, plus 10% discount on camping, 
all state park merchandise, equipment rentals, 
and shelter rentals. 

  

  Age up to 40 $303 

  Age 41-45 $273 

  Age 46-50 $242 

  Age 51-55 $212 

  Age 56-61 $182 

Senior Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport 
Plus (Age 62 or older): See Lifetime 
Naturally Yours Passport Plus above. 

$110 

Naturally Yours Passport Plus: 12-month 
from date of purchase admission and parking 
pass to all state parks, plus 10% discount on 
camping, all state park merchandise, 
equipment rentals, and shelter rentals. 

$61 

Naturally Yours Parking Passport: 12-month 
from date of purchase admission and parking 
pass to park of purchase. 

$36 

Senior Naturally Yours Passport Plus: See 
Naturally Yours Passport Plus above. 

$33 

Senior Naturally Yours Parking Passport: See 
Naturally Yours Parking Passport above. 

$22 

Golden Disability Pass: Available to persons 
with disabilities as verified by U.S. Social 
Security Administration's (SSA) "Benefit 
Verification Letter." Pass remains in effect 
unless SSA withdraws eligibility. 

No 
Charge 

Disabled Veterans Passport 

Admission, parking, and launch pass to all 
state parks, plus 50% discount on camping 
fees, swimming fees, shelter rentals, and 
department equipment rentals when provided 
by the department. Where equipment rentals 
are provided by private concessionaires, this 
passport does not apply. 

The passport shall be issued upon request to a 
veteran of the armed forces of the United 
States with a letter from the U.S. Department 
of Veterans Affairs, or from the military 
service that discharged the veteran, certifying 
that such veteran has a service-connected 
disability rating of 100%.  This passport 
coverage shall be valid for as long as that 
determination by the U.S. Department of 
Veterans Affairs remains in effect. 

No 
Charge 

Annual Horse Trailer-Vehicle Pass: 12-
months from date of purchase admission and 
park pass, including horse trailer, good at all 
parks. 

$79 

Annual Horse Trailer-Vehicle Pass: 
Pocahontas and New River Trail Only. Valid 
only in combination with purchase of $30 
horse arena annual pass. 

$70 

Annual Horse Trailer-Vehicle Pass: 
Occoneechee and Staunton River Only 

$50 

Annual and Lifetime Park/Launch Fees:   

Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus for 
Boaters: Lifetime admission, parking, and 
launch pass to all state parks, plus 10% 
discount on camping, all state park 
merchandise, equipment rentals, and shelter 
rentals. 
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  Age up to 40 $606 

  Age 41-45 $545 

  Age 46-50 $485 

  Age 51-55 $424 

  Age 56-61 $364 

Senior Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport 
Plus for Boaters (Age 62 or older): See 
Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus for 
Boaters above. 

$314 

Naturally Yours Passport Plus for Boaters: 
12-month from date of purchase admission, 
parking, and launch pass to all state parks, 
plus 10% discount on camping, all state park 
merchandise, equipment rentals, and shelter 
rentals. 

$152 

Park/Launch Passport:   

  12-month from date of purchase 
admission, parking, and launch pass to 
all state parks including Leesylvania. 

$128 

  12-month from date of purchase 
admission, parking, and launch pass to 
First Landing, Kiptopeke, or Lake Anna. 
Good only at park of purchase. 

$97 

  12-month from date of purchase 
admission, parking, and launch pass to 
park of purchase other than Leesylvania, 
First Landing, Kiptopeke, or Lake Anna. 

$79 

Senior Naturally Yours Passport Plus for 
Boaters: Annual permit for all parks including 
Leesylvania. 

$121 

Senior Park/Launch Passport:   

  12-month from date of purchase 
admission, parking, and launch pass to 
all state parks including Leesylvania. 

$109 

  12-month from date of purchase 
admission, parking, and launch pass to 
First Landing, Kiptopeke, or Lake Anna. 
Good only at park of purchase. 

$79 

  12-month from date of purchase 
admission, parking, and launch pass to 
park of purchase other than Leesylvania, 
First Landing, Kiptopeke, or Lake Anna. 

$66 

Buggs Island Lake Special Annual Pass: 
Good only at Occoneechee and Staunton 
River State Parks. 

$50 

Leesylvania Annual Overnight 
Boating/Parking Pass. 

$67 

Disabled Visitor Annual Boat Launch Pass 
(in addition to disabled tags). 

$44 

Parks and Trails Passport:   

  In conjunction with the purchase of an 
annual parking pass 

$11 

  Without the purchase of an annual 
parking pass 

$17 

  

Special Event Fees: EVENT FEE 

Standard Special Event Parking Fee: 
Applies to all parks and events that 
utilize parking fees unless noted 
below. 

$10 per vehicle 

Community Event Fee: May be used 
by any park as a condition of a 
Special Use Permit for a community 
event provided by a nonprofit group 
or organization or government 
agency or entity. 

$1.00 per vehicle 

James River: James River Raft Race $5.00 per vehicle 

Sky Meadows: Strawberry Festival.   

  Advance payment $15 per vehicle 

  Day of Event $20 per vehicle 

Sky Meadows: Virginia Scottish 
Games 

  

  Vehicle Parking $5.00 per vehicle 

  Per Person Admission $15 per person 
$5.00 per person, 
active military and 
active military 
family members 
$5.00 per child 6-
12 years 
Children under 6 
free 

New River Trail: Wythe County 
Heritage Day. Grayson Highlands 
Fall Festival. Hungry Mother Arts 
and Crafts Festival. 

$6.00 per vehicle 
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Claytor Lake Arts and Crafts 
Festival: Free parking with canned 
food donation on designated day. 

$5.00 per vehicle 
with canned food 
donation on 
designated day 
$9.00 per two-day 
pass 
$12 per three-day 
pass 

$10 per vehicle 

Kiptopeke: Eastern Shore Birding 
Festival. 

Parking Fee 
waived to 
registered festival 
guests; otherwise 
standard fees 
apply 

Smith Mountain Lake: special 
park/launch rate for boaters 
participating in fishing tournaments 
if the tournament sponsor has also 
rented the Tournament Headquarters 
Building. 

$5.00 per vehicle/ 
boat combination 

Standard Special Event Per Person 
Entrance Fee: Applies to all parks 
and events that utilize per person 
admission fees unless noted below. 

$4.00 per adult 
$3.00 per child, 6 
through 12 years 
Children under 6 
free 

Sailor's Creek Battlefield: Battle of 
Sailor's Creek Reenactment. 

$5.00 per person  
Children under 6 
free 
$10 maximum per 
vehicle 
$50 per bus (16 
passenger +) 

Chippokes Plantation Steam and 
Gas Engine Show. 

$5.00 per person  
Children under 12 
free 

Chippokes Plantation Christmas. $5.00 per person 

Chippokes Gospel Explosion $10 per person 
$7.00 for advance 
ticket purchase 
Children under 12 
free 

Chippokes Pork, Peanut & Pine 
Festival 

$5 per person 
Children under 10 
13 free 

Grayson Highlands Wayne C. 
Henderson Music Festival. 

$10 per person 
Children under 12 
free 

York River Estuaries Day. $2.00 (Age 3 
through 12) 
$3.00 (Age 13 and 
over) 

Natural Tunnel Special Event 
Parking Fee. 

$2.00 per person 
$6.00 per vehicle 

Occoneechee Pow Wow $5.00 per person 
(13 years and 
older) 

$3.00 per child, 3 
through 12 years 
$3.00 Seniors (62 
and over) free  
Children under 4 3 
free 

  Occoneechee Pow Wow 
School Groups 

$4.00 per student 
Teachers and 
Chaperones free 

Notes on parking fees:  

1. Weekend rates apply on Memorial Day, Fourth of July, 
and Labor Day holidays.  

2. No parking fee is required for up to two vehicles per 
campsite and per cabin at any state park during the period 
of overnight stay. Vehicles in excess of two shall pay the 
prevailing daily parking fee for each day that the vehicle is 
parked in the park.  

3. Except as otherwise noted, boat launching shall be free 
for up to one boat per vehicle per campsite or cabin.  

4. Parking fees are waived for any vehicle displaying 
disabled license plates or temporary disabled parking 
identification issued by any state or the federal 
government. However, the fee for any additional types of 
trailers, the boat launch fee or the portion of any combined 
parking-launching fee that applies to boat launching shall 
be collected from such vehicles. Additionally, the price for 
annual passes and lifetime passes that include boat 
launching for qualified disabled individuals shall be 
calculated by subtracting the applicable parking pass fee 
from the park/launch pass fee. 

5. Parking fees are waived for any vehicle occupied solely 
by students and/or teachers and/or assisting personnel 
participating in an official activity of a bona fide school, 
home school, or institution of higher learning. Parks may 
require that individuals in vehicles other than those marked 
as a school bus verify their official activity by letter from 
the school or approved field trip form, or in the case of 
home school groups, proof of home school status such as 
current ID card from a state or national home school 
organization (HEAV, HSLDA, etc.) or a copy of the letter 



Regulations 

Volume 26, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 23, 2009 

530 

from the school district that acknowledges "Notice of 
Intent" to home school for that school year.  

6. Parking fees are waived for official vehicles of federal, 
state, and local governments while on official business; 
vehicles making deliveries to the park; contractor and 
business vehicles performing work in the park; and 
emergency vehicles while conducting official business, 
including training.  

7. Parking fees are waived for park employees during time 
of employment, including family and household members 
of staff occupying staff residences, visitors to staff 
residences, and park volunteers entering the park to 
perform volunteer duties.  

8. Parking fees may be waived for vehicles conducting 
research or collecting activities provided such waiver is 
included in the language of the Research and Collection 
Permit as required in 4VAC5-30-50. 

9. The period covered by a daily parking fee shall be 
midnight to midnight. Park guests utilizing overnight 
parking when and where available (e.g., backpackers, 
overnight fishermen, etc.) will be required to pay the 
applicable daily parking fee for each calendar day that their 
vehicle is in the parking lot (partial days included).  

10. Annual permits shall be valid for 12 months from the 
date of purchase, unless otherwise noted.  

11. Parking fees are waived for visitors entering the park 
for the sole purpose of dining at the park restaurant at 
Douthat and Hungry Mother State Parks.  

12. Parking fees are waived at state parks for participants 
in Walk for Parks, Fall River Renaissance, Envirothons, 
March for Parks, Operation Spruce-Up Day, Stewardship 
Virginia, National Trails Day, and other park-sanctioned 
public service events as approved by the director.  

13. Daily parking fees are reduced to $1.00 for vehicles 
occupied by participants in fund-raising events sponsored 
by nonprofit organizations (Walk-A-Thons, etc.) provided 
the sponsor has obtained a special use permit from the park 
that contains provisions for the identification of 
participants in the event.  

14. Parking fees shall be waived for persons using park 
roads to gain legal access to their private residence and 
guests to such residences; and for vehicles passing through, 
but not stopping in, a park on a public roadway.  

15. Revenue collected from special event parking and/or 
admission fees may be divided between the park and the 
event sponsor if so designated and approved in the special 
event permit following a determination made by the 
director that the revenue split is in the benefit of the 
Commonwealth.  

16. Annual Park/Launch pass also covers the park entrance 
or parking fee for horse trailers or other allowable trailers. 
Annual and Lifetime parking-only passes do not include 
trailers.  

17. Parking fees are waived for service vehicles such as 
tow trucks when entering the park to service a visitor 
vehicle.  

18. Parking fees are waived for visitors entering the park to 
attend a performance by a U.S. military band if this is a 
required condition for the band's performance.  

19. Parking fees are included in the rental fees for meeting 
facilities, up to the capacity of the facility and provided 
that this waiver of fee is included in the rental agreement 
for the facility.  

20. Parking fees are waived for a period of up to 15 
minutes for persons entering the park to deposit materials 
in community recycling collection containers.  

21. Parking fees are waived for vehicles occupied entirely 
by persons attending fee interpretive programs.  

22. Annual parking passes that do not include boat launch 
require payment of daily launch fee if launching a boat at 
any park or for all vehicles using Croaker Landing/Pier 
Area at York River State Park.  

23. Annual parking pass holders are not guaranteed the 
parking privileges of the pass should parking places be 
unavailable.  

24. Parking fees are waived at Mason Neck during the 
park's annual Elizabeth Hartwell Eagle Festival. 

25. The payment of a parking fee at one park shall be 
applied to parking at any state park on the same day 
provided that the visitor supplies evidence of the paid 
parking fee. 

4VAC5-36-60. Admission fees.  
ADMISSION FEES (NONTAXABLE)  

  DAILY 
ADMISSION PER 
PERSON 
(Weekdays and 
Weekends unless 
otherwise noted.) 

ANNUAL 
PASS (Good 
for 12 months 
from date of 
purchase.) 

Shot Tower Free NA 

Southwest VA 
Museum 

$1.50 (Groups of 10 
or more any age) 
(Groups of 10 or 
more: age 6 through 
12) 

$3.00 (Groups of 10 
or more: age 13 and 
up) 

$3.00 (age 6 
through 12) per 
year NA 
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$2.00 (Ages 6 
through 12) 

$5.00 (age 13 
and over) per 
year 

$5.00 (age 6 
through 12) per 
year 

$3.00 $4.00 (Age 
13 and up) 

$15 (family: up 
to 2 adults and 
2 children) per 
year 

$10 (age 13 
and over) per 
year 

  

NA $15 (family: up 
to 2 adults and 
2 children) per 
year 

  

Kiptopeke Fishing 
Pier Fishing Fee 

$1.00 (Age 6 
through 12) 
$3.00 (Age 13 and 
over) 

NA 

Kiptopeke Fishing 
Pier Fishing Fee: 
Coupon book good 
for 10 visits 

$20 per 10 Passes NA 

Annual Night 
Fishing: All parks 
where available 
(also requires 
parking fee) 

$15 per person per 
year 

  

Late Night Fishing: 
All parks where 
available (also 
requires parking fee) 

$3.00 per person 
per night 

  

  

  ADMISSION 

Natural Tunnel Chairlift:   

  Children under age 6 Free 

  Round trip per person $3.00 

  One-way per person $2.00 

  Group Rate Round Trip per 
person (10 or more)  $2.00 

  Season Pass $20 

  Daily Pass (Good for unlimited 
trips on date of issue, good for 
one person only) 

$6.00 

Archery Range: All parks where 
available; per person user fee 

$2.00 per day 
(over 15) (over 
12) 
$1.00 per day 
(under 15) (age 3 
through 12) 
$15 per year 
(any age) 

  Bear Creek Lake $5.00 per day 
(over 12) 

$3.00 per day 
(age 3 through 
12) 

$45 per year 
(any age) 

$3.00 per 
person, per day 
group fee 
(minimum of 10 
participants) 

James River: River Raft Race 
Registration $15 per person 

Pocahontas & New River Trail Horse 
Show Admission 

$5.00 per person 
Children 12 & 
under free 

Park Sponsored Special Event Vendor 
Fees. All parks where available unless 
otherwise noted. 

$125 per 
merchandise 
vendor 
$150 per food 
vendor 

Occoneechee Pow Wow $150 per 
merchandise 
vendor 
$175 per food 
vendor 

Mason Neck Harvest Festival Fall 
Special Event. $50 per vendor 

Caledon Art & Wine Festival $50 per artist 
vendor 

$100 per winery 
vendor 
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New River Trail $25 per 
merchandise 
vendor 

$25 per food 
vendor 

Notes on admission/entrance fees:  

1. Fees are waived at Natural Tunnel for use of the chairlift 
on one designated "Customer Appreciation Day" per year.  

2. Museum entrance fees are waived at the Southwest 
Virginia Museum during the "Festival of Trees" event for 
members of groups who submitted trees for the display.  

3. For park museums and historic features that charge an 
entrance fee, visitors participating in the Time Travelers 
program of the Virginia Association of Museums shall be 
charged the existing per person group rate for that facility.  

4VAC5-36-80. Commercial and nonprofit user fees.  

COMMERCIAL AND NONPROFIT ORGANIZATIONAL 
USERS FEES (NONTAXABLE) 

PERMIT TYPE: 
DAILY 

FEE 
ANNUAL 

FEE 

Commercial Parking and State 
Park Use Permit Fees: Required 
for for-profit companies and 
businesses that use the lands 
and/or facilities of a state park to 
deliver services to the public for a 
fee, and when such use is similar 
or the same as the general public 
use, unless permitted by other 
means. May not be used to 
establish exclusive or continuous 
concession-type services. 
Activities of this type include but 
are not limited to canoe, horse, 
bicycle, or hiking trip outfitters 
and rental agencies (if they 
deliver equipment or services on 
park property), caterers, and for-
profit day care centers (note that 
some day care centers are 
government or nonprofit). The 
agency reserves the right to 
withhold this or any other permit 
or license for commercial use of 
parks when such use is deemed to 
be not in keeping with the 
mission or intended purpose of 
the park, conflicts or interferes 
with other use of the park, or 
creates an unreasonable burden 

    

on the management of the park. 
Licensed commercial fishermen 
are not required to pay this fee, 
but are required to pay the 
applicable public user fee for the 
use of state park boat launches. 

  For 1 or 2 passenger 
vehicles (up to 15-
passenger vans) 
(passenger vehicles up to 
15-passenger vans) or one 
bus and one passenger 
vehicle 

$10 NA 

  For 1 to 6 passenger 
vehicles (up to 15-
passenger vans) 
(passenger vehicles up to 
15-passenger vans) or two 
buses and two passenger 
vehicles 

NA $200 

$250 

Commercial 
Parking/Launching/Horse Riding 
Fees: Required for for-profit 
companies and businesses that 
use the lands and/or facilities of a 
state park to deliver services to 
the public for a fee, and when 
such use is similar or the same as 
the general public use, unless 
permitted by other means. May 
not be used to establish exclusive 
or continuous concession-type 
services. 

    

  For 1 or 2 passenger 
vehicles (up to 15-
passenger vans) 
(passenger vehicles up to 
15-passenger vans) and/or 
passenger vehicle with 
trailer combinations; or 
one bus and one 
passenger vehicle and/or 
passenger vehicle with 
trailer combination 

$14 NA 

  For 1 to 6 passenger 
vehicles (up to 15-
passenger vans) 
(passenger vehicles up to 
15-passenger vans) and/or 
passenger vehicle with 
trailer combinations; or 
two buses and two 

NA $250 

$300 
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passenger vehicles and/or 
passenger vehicle with 
trailer combinations 

Nonprofit Organization Parking 
Fees: These fees may be utilized 
only by nonprofit organizations 
engaged in the activities or 
purposes of the organization. 

    

  For 1 or 2 passenger 
vehicles (up to 15-
passenger vans) 
(passenger vehicles up to 
15-passenger vans) or one 
bus and one passenger 
vehicle 

$4.00 $30 

  For 1 to 6 passenger 
vehicles (up to 15-
passenger vans) 
(passenger vehicles up to 
15-passenger vans) or two 
buses and two passenger 
vehicles 

$9.00 $70 

Nonprofit Organization 
Parking/Launching Fees: These 
fees may be utilized only by 
nonprofit organizations engaged 
in the activities or purposes of the 
organization. 

    

  For 1 or 2 passenger 
vehicles (up to 15-
passenger vans) 
(passenger vehicles up to 
15-passenger vans) and/or 
passenger vehicle with 
trailer combinations; or 
one bus and one 
passenger vehicle and/or 
passenger vehicle with 
trailer combination 

$6.00 $65 

  For 1 to 6 passenger 
vehicles (up to 15-
passenger vans) 
(passenger vehicles up to 
15-passenger vans) and/or 
passenger vehicle with 
trailer combinations; or 
two buses and two 
passenger vehicles and/or 
passenger vehicle with 
trailer combinations 

$10 $130 

4VAC5-36-90. Camping fees.  

CAMPING FEES (TAXABLE, Price here does not include 
tax)  

Camping fees include free use of 
dump station and free swimming and 
boat launching for members of the 
camping party during their stay at the 
property, when and where available, 
except that at Kiptopeke State Park 
guest is subject to applicable launch 
fee unless the trailer is returned to the 
campsite immediately after 
launching. The number of campers 
per campsite is limited to six 
individuals except when all campers 
are members of the same household. 

ALL SEASONS 
(Per site fees) 

Standard Sites: No hookup; access to 
bathhouse and restrooms.   

  All parks with standard sites 
unless noted below. 

$16 per night 

  Hungry Mother, Grayson 
Highlands, Staunton River, 
Westmoreland, Occoneechee 
(nonwaterfront), Claytor Lake, 
Raymond R. "Andy" Guest, Jr. 
Shenandoah River, Smith 
Mountain Lake. 

$20 per night 

  Occoneechee Waterfront Sites $23 per night 

  Douthat, Kiptopeke, First 
Landing, Lake Anna. 

$24 per night 

Water and Electric Sites: Access to 
water and electric hookups; access to 
bathhouse and restrooms. 

  

  All parks where available unless 
noted below. 

$22 per night 

  Chippokes Plantation, Claytor 
Lake, Douthat, Fairy Stone, 
Grayson Highlands, Hungry 
Mother, Occoneechee 
(nonwaterfront), Staunton 
River, Westmoreland, 
Pocahontas, Smith Mountain 
Lake, Belle Isle, James River. 

$25 per night 

  Occoneechee Waterfront Sites $28 per night 

  Kiptopeke, First Landing, Lake 
Anna, Shenandoah. 

$30 per night 
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Water, Electric, and Sewage Sites: 
Access to water, electric, and sewage 
hookups; access to bathhouse and 
restrooms. 

  

  Kiptopeke $35 per night 

  Hungry Mother $28 per night 

Primitive Camping Sites: primitive 
restrooms; no showers.   

  All parks where available unless 
noted below. 

$11 per night 

  James River, Sky Meadows. $13 per night 

  Grayson Highlands: Sites with 
electricity (November, March 
and April when bathhouses are 
closed) 

$15 per night 

  Occoneechee (persons renting 
the entire equestrian 
campground will receive a 10% 
discount on the combined price 
for sites and stalls, including 
transaction fees). 

$15 per night 

  New River Trail Primitive 
camping sites at Foster Falls 
and Cliffview 

$15 per night 

  New River Trail Water Trail 
Camping (no potable water) 

$12 per night 

Horse Camping   

  Horse Stall Fee $7.00 per night 
(Outside Stalls) 
$9.00 per night 
(Inside Stall) 

Standard Rates   

Primitive Group Camp Rental 
(camping in special primitive group 
areas) All parks where available. 

  

  Up to 20 campers. $61 for entire 
area per night 

  Up to 30 campers. $91 for entire 
area per night 

  31 or more campers, up to 
maximum capacity of group 
camp area. 

$122 for entire 
area per night 

  Grayson Highlands: Primitive 
camping is available in the stable 
area November, March, and April. 

$15 per site per 
night 

Special Group Camping Areas:   

  Fairy Stone Group Campsites. $20 per site per 
night 

  Twin Lakes, Cedar Crest Group 
Camping Area. 

$210 for entire 
area per night  

  Chippokes Plantation: All 4 
Sites; Group Rate; 24 persons 
maximum. 
Natural Tunnel Group Area. 
Grayson Highlands Group 
Area. 
James River Group Area. 
Shenandoah Group Area. 

$67 per night 
(only available as 
entire group area) 

  Westmoreland Group Area. $122 per night 

  Standard Buddy Sites: All parks 
where available unless noted 
below. 

$78 per night 

  Douthat Buddy Sites. $97 per night 

  James River Equestrian Group 
Area (persons renting the entire 
equestrian campground will 
receive a 10% discount on the 
combined price for sites and 
stalls, including transaction 
fees). 

$91 $216 per 
night 

Camping – Other Fees   

  Camping Site Transaction Fee: 
Applies to each purchase 
transaction of a camping visit to a 
campsite (i.e., one transaction fee 
per camping visit per site no 
matter how many nights). Applies 
to Internet, reservation center, 
and walk up visits.  

$5.00 

  Pet Fees (this fee does not apply 
to service or hearing dogs 
identifiable in accordance with § 
51.5-44 of the Code of Virginia). 

$5.00 per pet per 
night 

  Dump Station Fee: Free to state 
park campers during stay. 

$5.00 per use 

  Camping Reservation 
Cancellation Fee Individual Site. 

$10 per 
reservation 

  Camping Reservation 
Cancellation Fee Group Sites. 

$30 per 
reservation 

  Hiker or noncamper Shower Fee 
at Virginia State Parks. 

$5.00 per person 
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Notes on camping:  

1. Check-out time is 3 p.m. and check-in time is 4 p.m.  

2. Camping Transfer/Cancellation/Early Departure Policy.  

a. Any fees to be refunded are calculated less the 
applicable cancellation fee(s).  

b. Fees paid to the reservation center by credit card will 
be refunded to the original credit card charged.  

c. Fees paid by check or money order to the reservation 
center, or by any method at the park, will be refunded by 
state check.  

d. A customer may move a camping reservation to 
another date or park, referred to as a transfer, through the 
reservation center only, and prior to 4 p.m. on the 
scheduled date of arrival. If the reservation center will 
not be open again prior to the start date of the 
reservation, transferring is not an option. There is no fee 
to transfer.  

e. A camping reservation may be canceled until 4 p.m. on 
the scheduled date of arrival but campers will be charged 
the cancellation fee. This cancellation fee applies to each 
separate reservation made.  

f. Once the 4 p.m. check-in time is reached on the 
scheduled day of arrival, any adjustment to a reservation 
is considered an early departure.  

g. After the check-in time is reached, the first night is 
considered used whether the site is occupied or not.  

h. There is a one-night penalty, deducted from any 
amount available for refund, for early departure.  

3. Campers are allowed two vehicles per campsite per day 
without charge of a parking fee. Additional vehicles, 
beyond two, must pay the prevailing parking fee in effect 
at the park for each day that the vehicle(s) is parked in the 
park. The number of vehicles allowed to park on the 
campsite varies according to site design and size of other 
camping equipment. No vehicles shall park on a campsite 
in other than the designated area for this purpose. Camper 
vehicles that do not fit on the site, whether or not they 
require the special camper vehicle fee, must park in the 
designated overflow parking area.  

4. Each member of the camping party, except in primitive 
group areas, up to the maximum allowable per site, may 
receive an entrance pass to the park's swimming facility on 
the basis of one pass per night of camping. Passes only 
issued during days and seasons of operation of the 
swimming facility and only good during the member's 
registered stay.  

5. Damage to campsites, not considered normal wear and 
tear, will be billed to the person registered for the campsite 
on an itemized cost basis.  

6. At honor collection sites, the stated camping fees on this 
list shall be considered as having tax included. Honor 
collection is defined as the payment of the camping fee on-
site at the park at a nonelectronic collection point at which 
the payment is placed in a box or safe provided for that 
purpose.  

7. Horse stalls may only be rented in conjunction with the 
rental of a campsite in the equestrian campground and a 
person must occupy the campsite. All horses brought to the 
park by overnight guests must be kept in rental stalls 
except in primitive equestrian areas at New River Trail and 
James River State Parks. 

4VAC5-36-100. Cabin fees.  

CABIN RENTALS (TAXABLE, Price here does not 
include tax)  

  BASE RATE VIRGINIA 
RESIDENTS 

PRIME SEASON CABIN AND LODGE RATES 

Cabin/Lodge Type 

Per-
Night 
Renta
l Fee 

Per-
Week 
Rental 

Fee 

Per-
Night 
Renta
l Fee 

Per-
Week 
Rental 

Fee 

 Efficiency $84 $502 $75 $450 

 One Bedroom, 
Standard 

$98 $589 $88 $529 

 One Bedroom, 
Waterfront or Water 
View 

$108 $652 $97 $582 

 One Bedroom, 
Chippokes Plantation

$113 $686 $104 $617 

 Two Bedroom, 
Standard, all parks 
where available 
unless noted below 

$112 $680 $102 $613 

 Two Bedroom, Bear 
Creek Lake, James 
River, Occoneechee, 
Lake Anna, 
Shenandoah 

$118 $713 $106 $643 

 Two Bedroom, 
Waterfront or Water 
View, all parks 
where available 
unless noted below 

$125 $749 $112 $674 
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  Two Bedroom, 
Waterfront or Water 
View, Bear Creek 
Lake, Occoneechee, 
Lake Anna 

$130 $784 $118 $706 

  Two Bedroom, First 
Landing, Chippokes 
Plantation 

$132 $791 $119 $712 

  Three Bedroom, 
Standard, all parks 
where available 
unless noted below 

$129 $771 $116 $692 

  Three Bedroom, 
Chippokes 
Plantation, Bel Air 
Guest House 

$149 $898 $134 $809 

  Three Bedroom, 
Claytor Lake, Bear 
Creek Lake, James 
River, Occoneechee, 
Lake Anna, 
Southwest Virginia 
Museum Poplar Hill 
Cottage, Shenandoah 

$149 $888 $130 $798 

  Hill Lodge (Twin 
Lakes) 

$167 $1,002 $150 $902 

  Fairy Stone Lodge 
(Fairy Stone), Creasy 
Lodge (Douthat), Bel 
Air Mansion (Belle 
Isle) 

$301 $1,802 $270 $1,622

  Douthat Lodge 
(Douthat), Hungry 
Mother Lodge 
(Hungry Mother), 
Potomac River 
Retreat 
(Westmoreland) 

$354 $2,124 $318 $1,913

  6-Bedroom Lodge, 
Kiptopeke, James 
River, Claytor Lake, 
Occoneechee, Bear 
Creek Lake, 
Shenandoah 

$371 $2,226 $334 $2,004

MID-SEASON CABIN AND LODGE RATES 

Cabin/Lodge Type 

Per-
Night 
Renta
l Fee 

Per-
Week 
Rental 

Fee 

Per-
Night 
Renta
l Fee 

Per-
Week 
Rental 

Fee 

 Efficiency $74 $446 $67 $401 

 One Bedroom, 
Standard 

$87 $523 $80 $470 

 One Bedroom, 
Waterfront or Water 
View 

$96 $574 $86 $519 

 One Bedroom, 
Chippokes Plantation

$101 $611 $93 $549 

 Two Bedroom, 
Standard, all parks 
where available 
unless noted below 

$101 $605 $91 $545 

 Two Bedroom, Bear 
Creek Lake, James 
River, Occoneechee, 
Lake Anna, 
Shenandoah 

$105 $634 $96 $570 

 Two Bedroom, 
Waterfront or Water 
View, all parks 
where available 
unless noted below 

$111 $666 $100 $599 

 Two Bedroom, 
Waterfront or Water 
View, Bear Creek 
Lake, Occoneechee, 
Lake Anna  

$117 $697 $104 $627 

 Two Bedroom, First 
Landing, Chippokes 
Plantation 

$117 $704 $106 $634 

 Three Bedroom, 
Standard, all parks 
where available 
unless noted below 

$113 $686 $104 $617 

 Three Bedroom, 
Chippokes 
Plantation, Bel Air 
Guest House 

$133 $799 $119 $720 

 Three Bedroom, 
Claytor Lake, Bear 
Creek Lake, James 
River, Occoneechee, 
Lake Anna, 
Southwest Virginia 
Museum Poplar Hill 
Cottage, Shenandoah 

$133 $790 $116 $710 

 Hill Lodge (Twin 
Lakes) 

$149 $891 $133 $802 
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  Fairy Stone Lodge 
(Fairy Stone), Creasy 
Lodge (Douthat), Bel 
Air Mansion (Belle 
Isle) 

$267 $1,603 $240 $1,442

  Douthat Lodge 
(Douthat), Hungry 
Mother Lodge 
(Hungry Mother), 
Potomac River 
Retreat 
(Westmoreland) 

$315 $1,892 $284 $1,702

  6-Bedroom Lodge, 
Kiptopeke, James 
River, Claytor Lake, 
Occoneechee, Bear 
Creek Lake, 
Shenandoah 

$331 $1,982 $297 $1,783

OFF-SEASON CABIN AND LODGE RATES 

Cabin/Lodge Type 

Per-
Night 
Renta
l Fee 

Per-
Week 
Rental 

Fee 

Per-
Night 
Renta
l Fee 

Per-
Week 
Rental 

Fee 

  Efficiency $62 $372 $57 $335 

  One Bedroom, 
Standard 

$72 $436 $65 $392 

  One Bedroom, 
Waterfront or Water 
View 

$81 $478 $71 $432 

  One Bedroom, 
Chippokes Plantation 

$84 $508 $77 $457 

  Two Bedroom, 
Standard, all parks 
where available 
unless noted below 

$84 $504 $75 $454 

  Two Bedroom, Bear 
Creek Lake, James 
River, Occoneechee, 
Lake Anna, 
Shenandoah 

$88 $528 $79 $475 

  Two Bedroom, 
Waterfront or Water 
View, all parks 
where available 
unless noted below 

$92 $554 $83 $499 

 Two Bedroom, 
Waterfront or Water 
View, Bear Creek 
Lake, Occoneechee, 
Lake Anna 

$97 $581 $87 $522 

 Two Bedroom, First 
Landing, Chippokes 
Plantation 

$98 $585 $88 $527 

 Three Bedroom, 
Standard, all parks 
where available 
unless noted below 

$95 $570 $85 $512 

 Three Bedroom, 
Chippokes 
Plantation, Bel Air 
Guest House 

$110 $664 $99 $597 

 Three Bedroom, 
Claytor Lake, Bear 
Creek Lake, James 
River, Occoneechee, 
Lake Anna, 
Southwest Virginia 
Museum Poplar Hill 
Cottage, Shenandoah 

$110 $657 $96 $591 

 Hill Lodge (Twin 
Lakes) 

$124 $741 $111 $667 

 Fairy Stone Lodge 
(Fairy Stone), Creasy 
Lodge (Douthat), Bel 
Air Mansion (Belle 
Isle) 

$222 $1,332 $201 $1,199

 Douthat Lodge 
(Douthat), Hungry 
Mother Lodge 
(Hungry Mother), 
Potomac River 
Retreat 
(Westmoreland)) 

$263 $1,573 $237 $1,415

 6-Bedroom Lodge, 
Kiptopeke, James 
River, Claytor Lake, 
Occoneechee, Bear 
Creek Lake, 
Shenandoah 

$275 $1,649 $249 $1,483
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CAMPING CABINS, 
CAMPING LODGES, 
YURTS, AND 
TRAVEL TRAILERS 
(camping cabins, 
camping lodges, yurts, 
and travel trailers 
located in campgrounds 
and operated in 
conjunction with the 
campground) 

Per-
Night 
Rental 

Fee 

Per-
Week 
Rental 

Fee 

Per-
Night 
Rental 

Fee 

Per-
Week 
Rental 

Fee 

Camping Cabin rental 
rate: (2-night minimum 
rental required) 

$49 NA $45 NA 

  Yurt rental: Standard 
fee 

$98 $589 $88 $529 

  Travel Trailers: 25-
30' Standard fee 

$98 $589 $88 $529 

  Camping Lodges: 
Standard fee 

$98 $589 $88 $529 

Additional Cabin Fees: 

  Cabin Transaction 
Fee: Applies to each 
purchase transaction 
of a visit to a cabin 
(i.e., one transaction 
fee per cabin visit per 
site no matter how 
many nights). 
Applies to Internet, 
reservation center, 
and walk up visits. 

$5.00 

  Additional Bed 
Rentals $3.00 per rental night 

  Additional linens at 
all parks unless 
otherwise noted. One 
set of linens is 1 
sheet set (1 fitted 
sheet, 1 flat sheet, 
and 1 pillowcase) or 
1 towel set (1 bath 
towel, 1 hand towel, 
and 1 washcloth or 2 
bath towels and 1 
washcloth) 

$2.00 per sheet set 
$2.00 per towel set 

 Cabin Cancellation 
Fee: Applies to all 
lodging in this 
section except as 
described below in 
"Lodge Cancellation 
Fee" 

$20 per cancellation period: See 
notes on Cabin 
Transfer/Cancellation/Early 
Departure Policy. 

 Lodge Cancellation 
Fee: Applies to Fairy 
Stone Lodge, 
Douthat Lodge, 
Hungry Mother 
Lodge, Potomac 
River Retreat, and all 
6-bedroom park 
lodges 

$50 per cancellation period: See 
notes on Cabin 
Transfer/Cancellation/Early 
Departure Policy 

 Pet Fee (this fee does 
not apply to service 
or hearing dogs 
identifiable in 
accordance with § 
51.5-44 of the Code 
of Virginia). 

$10 per pet per night 

Pocahontas Group 
Cabins 

DAY WEEK 

 Algonquian Ecology 
Camp Dining Hall: 8 
a.m. to 10 p.m. for 
day use, 24-hour use 
when rented with 
cabins 

$236 $1,181 

 Swift Creek Dining 
Hall: 8 a.m. to 10 
p.m. for day use, 24-
hour use when rented 
with cabins 

$275 $1,375 

 Dining Hall: fee for 
partial day rental 
when associated with 
full day rental as 
noted above 

$140 NA 

Cabin Units: per unit, 
per night  $112 $560 

 Complete 
Algonquian Ecology 
Camp (4 units: 112 
capacity) with 
Dining Hall 

$460 $2,300 
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  Complete Swift 
Creek Camp (2 units: 
56 capacity) with 
Dining Hall 

$375 $1,875 

Refundable security 
deposit charged for all 
reservations 

$100 per reservation 

Notes on Pocahontas Group Cabins:  

Pocahontas Group Cabins: Reservations of $200 or more 
require a 25% prepayment, due within 14 days of making 
the reservation. Balance of fees is due 60 days prior to the 
reservation start date. Reservations of less than $200 
require payment in full to confirm the reservation, due 
within 14 days of making the reservation. Cancellations 
made 30 days or more prior to the first day of the 
reservation shall receive a refund less a $30 per unit 
cancellation fee. Cancellations made less than 30 days 
prior to the first date of the reservation receive no refund 
unless the units are subsequently rented, in which case the 
refund shall be full price minus $30 per unit.  

Notes on cabins:  

1. Seasonal cabin rates shall be in effect according to the 
following schedule, except for camping cabins, camping 
lodges, yurts, and travel trailers, which operate on the same 
schedule and season as the campground at that particular 
park. In the event that a weekly rental period includes two 
seasonal rates, the higher rate will apply for the entire 
weekly rental period.  

PARK PRIME 
SEASON 

MID-
SEASON 

OFF-
SEASON 

Bear Creek 
Lake  
Belle Isle 
Chippokes 
Plantation 
First Landing 
Kiptopeke  
Lake Anna  
Occoneechee  
Southwest 
Virginia 
Museum 
Staunton River 
Twin Lakes 
Westmoreland 

Friday 
night 
prior to 
Memorial 
Day 
through 
the 
Sunday 
night 
prior to 
Labor 
Day 

April 1 
through 
the 
Thursday 
night prior 
to 
Memorial 
Day, and 
Labor Day 
through 
November 
30 

December 
1 through 
March 31 

Claytor Lake 
Douthat 
Fairy Stone 
Hungry Mother 
James River  
Smith Mountain 
   Lake 
Shenandoah 

Friday 
night 
prior to 
Memorial 
Day 
through 
the 
Sunday 
night 
prior to 
Labor 
Day, and 
October 1 
through 
October 
31 

April 1 
through 
the 
Thursday 
night prior 
to 
Memorial 
Day, and 
Labor Day 
through 
September 
30, and 
November 
1 through 
November 
30 

December 
1 through 
March 31 

2. All dates refer to the night of the stay; checkout time is 
10 a.m. and check-in time is 3 p.m.  

3. The following holiday periods are charged prime season 
weekend rates: the Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, and 
Saturday period that includes Thanksgiving Day; and 
Christmas Eve and Christmas Day; and New Year's Eve 
and New Year's Day.  

4. Cabin guests are allowed two vehicles per cabin per day 
without charge of parking fee. Additional vehicles must 
pay the prevailing parking fee for each day that the vehicle 
is parked in the park. The number of vehicles allowed to 
park at the cabin varies according to site design and other 
factors. All vehicles must park in designated parking areas, 
either at the cabin or in the designated overflow parking 
area.  

5. Lodge guests are allowed six vehicles per lodge per day 
without charge of parking fee. Additional vehicles must 
pay the prevailing vehicle parking fee for each day the 
vehicle is parked in the park. The number of vehicles 
allowed to park at the lodge varies according to site design 
and other factors. All vehicles must park in designated 
parking areas, either at the lodge or in the designated 
overflow parking area.  

6. Damage to cabins, not considered normal wear and tear, 
may be billed to the person registered for the cabin on an 
itemized cost basis.  

7. Each member of the cabin rental party, up to the 
maximum allowable for the rented unit, may receive an 
entrance pass to the park's swimming facility on the basis 
of one pass per night of rental. Passes are only issued 
during days and seasons of operation of the swimming 
facility and are only good during the member's registered 
stay.  

8. Employees of DCR and the members of committees and 
boards of DCR shall receive a discount of 50% on 
applicable cabin rates for any season, when the rental of 
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such cabins is in connection with the official business of 
DCR or its committees or boards.  

Notes on cabin transfer/cancellation/early departure policy:  

1. Any fees to be refunded are calculated less the 
applicable cancellation fees listed below.  

2. Fees paid to the reservation center by credit card will be 
refunded to the original credit card charged.  

3. Fees paid by check or money order to the reservation 
center, or by any method at the park, will be refunded by 
state check.  

4. A customer may move a cabin reservation to another 
date or park, referred to as a transfer, through the 
reservation center only, and prior to 5 p.m. on the Monday 
before the scheduled date of arrival. After 5 p.m. on the 
Monday before the scheduled date of arrival, cancellation 
is the only option (see note 5 below) except that transfers 
to a different cabin for the same rental nights shall be 
allowed, subject to availability, up to the check in time for 
the original reservation. 

5. Once the reservation is paid for, a customer may cancel 
in full with payment of the required cancellation fee if 
there are more than 30 days before the scheduled arrival 
date. As long as the reservation is not during the one-week 
minimum stay requirement period, the length of stay may 
be reduced without a fee as long as there are more than 30 
days before the scheduled arrival. However, the length of 
stay cannot be less than two nights. During the 30 days 
prior to the scheduled arrival date, the cancellation fee is 
charged for each night cancelled or reduced from the stay. 
Once the official check-in time on the scheduled arrival 
date is reached, the cancellation policy is no longer in 
effect and the early departure policy applies.  

6. Once the 3 p.m. check-in time is reached on the 
scheduled day of arrival, any adjustment to a reservation is 
considered an early departure. There is a two night 
minimum charge associated with all cabin stays. Reducing 
the total nights stayed will incur a $20 per night fee. If the 
original reservation was for a week, the weekly discount 
will no longer be valid and the fee will be adjusted to the 
nightly rate before any refunds are calculated.  

4VAC5-36-110. Picnic shelters fees.  

PICNIC SHELTERS (TAXABLE)  

The shelter rental periods shall be from park 
opening until park closing, unless otherwise 
specified. 

DAY 

Standard Small Picnic Shelter Rental Fee: 
Bear Creek Lake, Belle Isle, Caledon, 
Chippokes Plantation, Claytor Lake 
(including gazebo), Douthat, Holliday Lake, 
Hungry Mother (half shelter), Lake Anna, 

$53 

Natural Tunnel, New River Trail, 
Occoneechee, Pocahontas, Smith Mountain 
Lake, Twin Lakes, Westmoreland, York 
River, and all other small park picnic 
shelters. 

Standard Large Picnic Shelter Rental Fee: 
Belle Isle, Chippokes Plantation, Claytor 
Lake, Douthat Fairy Stone, First Landing, 
Grayson Highlands, Hungry Mother (full 
shelter), James River, Kiptopeke, Lake 
Anna, Natural Tunnel, Occoneechee, 
Pocahontas, Shenandoah, Smith Mountain 
Lake (Pavilion), Staunton River, Staunton 
River Battlefield, Twin Lakes, 
Westmoreland, York River, and all other 
large park picnic shelters. 

$84 

Shenandoah Large Group Shelter $95 

Leesylvania Shelter Rental $126 

Leesylvania: Lee's Landing Picnic Area 
Rental 

$58 

Leesylvania: Lee's Landing Picnic Shelter $315 

  With 15 tables and 100 chairs $735 

Mason Neck Picnic Area Rental 

  Without tent shelter $58 

  With tent shelter (seasonably available) $126 

Chippokes Plantation Conference Shelter 
(with kitchen) 

$105 per 
function 

Chippokes Plantation Conference Shelter 
(without kitchen) 

$63 per 
function 

Mini-Shelter: All parks where available 
unless otherwise noted. 

$21 

Event Tent Rental: Full day in-park rental only. Price 
includes set up and take down. 

  Standard fee: All parks where available 
unless otherwise noted. 

$0.38 per 
square foot 

  Chippokes Plantation, Douthat, 
Kiptopeke, Lake Anna, Pocahontas, 
Shenandoah River, Sky Meadows, Smith 
Mountain Lake, York River. 

$0.45 per 
square foot 

  False Cape, First Landing, Leesylvania, 
Mason Neck. 

$0.50 per 
square foot 

  Standard 10' x 10' event tent $25 per day 

  Westmoreland, Caledon Natural Area: 
20' x 40' tent with tables and chairs 

$400 per 
day 
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  White String Lights for Tent $0.80 per 
foot 

  Side Panels for Tent $1.50 per 
foot 

Standard Shelter Cancellation Fee: 
Cancellation fee deducted from refund if 
refund is made more than 14 days prior to 
the reservation date. No refunds if 
cancellation made within 14 days prior to 
date. Shelter reservation may be transferred 
without penalty if the change is made 
through the reservations center prior to 
scheduled use. 

$10 

4VAC5-36-115. Horse arena fees. 

HORSE ARENAS (TAXABLE) 

  HALF-
DAY 

DAY 

Group Rental of Entire 
Horse Arena Facility 

  

  New River Trail 
(includes lights) 

$250 $400 $450 

  Pocahontas (8 a.m. 
until dark, no lights 
available) 

$180 $300 

  WEEKDAYS WEEKENDS 

Individual Horse 
Arena Facility Use 
Daily Pass (does not 
include parking fee) 

  

  New River Trail 
and Pocahontas 

$5.00 per 
person 

$6.00 per 
person 

Individual Horse 
Arena Facility Use 
Annual Pass (does not 
include parking fee) 
New River Trail and 
Pocahontas 

$30 per person 

4VAC5-36-120. Amphitheater and gazebo fees.  

AMPHITHEATERS AND GAZEBOS (TAXABLE, Price 
here does not include tax)  

Amphitheater or Gazebo Rental Fee: The 
amphitheater or gazebo rental periods shall 
be from park opening until park closing 
unless otherwise specified. 

DAY 

  Leesylvania, Fairy Stone, Staunton 
River, Kiptopeke and all other 
amphitheaters and gazebos unless 
noted below. 

$32 

  Hungry Mother, Occoneechee, 
Westmoreland, New River Trail, 
Shenandoah River (overlook). 

$53 

  Smith Mountain Lake, Natural 
Tunnel (gazebo at Cove Ridge), 
James River, First Landing (gazebo 
at Chesapeake Bay Center). 

$74 

  Claytor Lake (gazebo) $84 

  York River and Douthat $105 

  Shenandoah Overlook Rental $16 per 
half-day 

$32 per full 
day 

  Natural Tunnel and First Landing 
Amphitheaters: Private group or 
company rate: 

$315 

  Natural Tunnel and First Landing 
Amphitheaters: Educational group. 

$158 

  Natural Tunnel Amphitheater 
Wedding Package: Three 
consecutive half-day rental periods. 

$420 per 
package 

  First Landing: Courtyard at 
Chesapeake Bay Center; includes 
amphitheater and gazebo. 

$788 

  First Landing: Additional hourly 
charge for hours beyond 10 p.m. for 
gazebo. 

$11 per 
hour 

  First Landing: Additional hourly 
charge for hours beyond 10 p.m. for 
Courtyard. 

$53 per 
hour 

  Fishing Tournament Staging. All 
parks where available. 

$26 

  Pocahontas Amphitheater Area: 
Without Heritage Center. Includes 
Amphitheater, Exhibit Area, 
Restrooms and use of sound system. 

$630 

  Pocahontas Amphitheater Area Plus 
Heritage Center 

$840  

  Parking Attendant (per attendant). $11 per 
hour 
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  Law Enforcement Officer (per 
officer). 

$26 per 
hour 

  Natural Tunnel: Rental of 
Observation Deck at mouth of 
tunnel for dinner parties. Includes 
use of chairlift for transportation of 
guests and supplies and set-up/take-
down of tables and chairs. 

$300 per 4 
hours  

  Natural Tunnel Amphitheater 
Concession Building 

$42 

  Natural Tunnel: Sound System 
Rental 

$32 

Stage Cover Rental:   

  Occoneechee $26 

Standard Amphitheater/Gazebo 
Cancellation Fee: Cancellation fee 
deducted from refund if refund is made 
more than 14 days prior to the reservation 
date. No refunds if cancellation made 
within fourteen days prior to date. 

$11 

  All parks unless listed below. $11 

  Pocahontas Amphitheater or First 
Landing Courtyard 

$105 

4VAC5-36-130. Boat storage fees.  

BOAT STORAGE (TAXABLE, Price here does not include 
tax)  

Boat Storage Fees FEE 

Standard Annual Boat Storage Fee: Bear 
Creek Lake, Douthat, Hungry Mother, 
and all other parks where available unless 
noted below. 

$35 

Leesylvania Boat Storage Fees: Annual 
Fee (Dec. 1 – Nov. 30). Fee prorated for 
partial year on a months-remaining basis. 
Fee includes one park/launch pass per 
storage rental space to coincide with the 
rental period. 

  

  Boat Length Up To 16' $755 

  Boat Length Up To 17' $800 

  Boat Length Up To 18' $850 

  Boat Length Up To 19' $895 

  Boat Length Up To 20' $945 

  Boat Length Up To 21' $990 

  Boat Length Up To 22' $1,035 

  Boat Length Up To 23' $1,085 

  Boat Length Up To 24' $1,155 

  Boat Length Up To 25' $1,210 

Leesylvania Canoe/Kayak Storage: 
Renter must possess an annual parking 
pass 

$10 per 
month 

Staunton River Boat Shed Fees: Does not 
include parking or launching fee, if 
applicable 

  

  Nightly Storage $4.00 

  Monthly Storage $15 

  Six-Month Storage $70 

  One-year boat storage $120 without 
annual 

park/launch 
pass 

$150 with 
Buggs Island 
Special pass 

Claytor Lake: Boat Dock 
Slips: 

FEE PER 
RENTAL 
SEASON 

FEE PER 
RENTAL 
NIGHT 

  7' wide and under $360 $425 $9.00 $10 

  9' wide and under $560 $650 $18 $20 

  14' wide and under $715 $825 $18 $20 

  Extended length 
slips $605 $700   

4VAC5-36-140. Interpretive canoe, boat, and paddleboat 
fees.  

INTERPRETIVE CANOE, BOAT, AND PADDLEBOAT 
PROGRAMS (NONTAXABLE)  

Interpretive Canoe, Boat, and Paddleboat 
Tours: FEE 

Environmental Education Group Canoe 
Tour: Available only to bona fide 
educational groups. Requires previous 
reservation and arrangements. Minimum 4 
10 persons. Mason Neck and all other parks 
where available unless otherwise noted. 

$3.00 per 
person 
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Standard Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for 
Individuals: Applies to canoe, rowboat, or 
paddleboat tours. Child riding as third 
passenger, where allowed, is free. 

  

  Individuals at all parks unless noted 
below. 

$5.00 per 
person 

  Individuals at Leesylvania, York River, 
Pocahontas, Kiptopeke. 

$9.00 per 
person 

  Individuals at Mason Neck. $15 per 
person 

  Individuals at Natural Tunnel. $12 per 
person 

  Individuals at False Cape: Back Bay 
Interpretive Tour. 

$16 per 
person 

  Family Groups at all parks unless noted 
below. Minimum 4 paying customers. 

$4.00 per 
person 

  Family Groups at Leesylvania, 
Pocahontas, York River, Kiptopeke. 
Minimum 4 paying customers. 

$6.00 per 
person 

  Family Groups at Mason Neck. $9.00 per 
person 

  Group rate at Natural Tunnel 
(minimum 8 10 paying customers). 

$10 $12 
per person 

Sunset, Moonlight, Dawn, or Extended 
Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Individuals: 
Applies to canoe, rowboat, or paddleboat 
tours. 

  

  All parks where offered unless noted 
below. 

$6.00 per 
person 

  Sunset, Dawn, Extended Canoe 
Interpretive Tour Fee for Individuals:  

Leesylvania, York River. 

$11 per 
person 

  Sunset, Dawn, Extended Canoe 
Interpretive Tour Fee for Individuals: 

New River Trail, Mason Neck. 

$15 per 
person 

  Extended Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee 
for Individuals: 

Grayson Highlands. 

$25 per 
person 

  Moonlight/Night Canoe Interpretive 
Tour Fee for Individuals:  

Leesylvania, York River. 

$13 per 
person 

  Moonlight/Night Canoe Interpretive 
Tour Fee for Individuals: 

Mason Neck. 

$20 per 
person 

Sunset, Moonlight, Dawn, or Extended 
Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Family 
Groups: Applies to canoe, rowboat, or 
paddleboat tours. Minimum four paying 
customers. 

  

  All parks where offered unless 
otherwise noted. 

$5.00 per 
person 

  Sunset, Dawn, or Extended Canoe 
Interpretive Tour Fee for Family 
Groups:  

Leesylvania, York River. Requires 4 or 
more paying customers. 

$7.00 per 
person 

  Sunset, Dawn, or Extended Canoe 
Interpretive Tour Fee for Family 
Groups:  

New River Trail, Mason Neck. 

$11 per 
person 

  Moonlight/Night Canoe Interpretive 
Tour Fee for Family Groups: 
Leesylvania, York River. Requires 4 or 
more paying customers. 

$8.00 per 
person 

  Extended Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee 
for Family Groups:  

Grayson Highlands. 

$25 per 
person 

  Overnight Canoe Tour: Mason 
Neck/Leesylvania/Widewater (includes 
tents and dinner). 

$145 per 
person 

Bear Creek Lake: Willis River Interpretive 
Canoe Tour 

  

  Short Trip. $8.00 per 
person 

  Long Trip. $10 per 
person 

Natural Tunnel Clinch River:   

  Half-Day Trip Group Rate. Requires 8 
10 or more paying customers. 

$12 per 
person 

  Full-Day Trip. Group Rate. Requires 8 
10 or more paying customers. 

$20 per 
person 

  Half-Day Trip. Individuals. $15 per 
person 

  Full-Day Trip. Individuals. $25 per 
person 
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  Overnight Trip. Individuals. $45 per 
person 

  Short Trip. Clinchport to Copper Creek $7.00 per 
person 

Interpretive Kayak Tour, Solo Kayak: All 
parks where available unless otherwise 
noted. 

$16 per 
person 

Interpretive Kayak Tour, Solo Kayak: 
Westmoreland 

$19 per 
person 

Interpretive Kayak Tour, Tandem Kayak: 
All parks where available unless otherwise 
noted. 

$22 per 
kayak 

Interpretive Kayak Tour, Tandem Kayak: 
Westmoreland 

$25 per 
kayak 

Interpretive Pontoon Boat Tour: All parks 
where available. 

$2.00 
(Age 3 
through 
12) 
$3.00 
(Age 13 
and over) 

Interpretive Tube Tour: all parks where 
available unless otherwise noted. 

$6.00 per 
person 

Lake Excursion and Ecology Tour: All parks 
where available unless otherwise noted 
(limit 6 people per tour) 

$10 per 
person 

  Claytor Lake $10 (Age 
13 and 
over) 
$7.00 
(Age 3 
through 
12) 

  Rental of Entire Boat (Exclusive Use): 
All parks where available 

$60 per 
tour 

Notes on Interpretive Canoe, Boat, and Paddleboat Programs:  

1. Cancellation Policy for group reservations: Guest must 
cancel four days prior to the tour date in order to receive a 
refund. Any guest canceling less than four days before the 
start of the reservation will not be eligible for a refund. A 
one-time $10 cancellation fee will apply per reservation 
regardless of number of boats reserved. In the event of 
inclement weather where the park must cancel, the guest 
will be offered either a complete refund or reservation 
transfer to another date.  

2. Additional costs for supplies and materials may apply. 

4VAC5-36-150. Interpretive and educational tours and 
program fees.  

INTERPRETIVE AND EDUCATIONAL TOURS AND 
PROGRAMS (NONTAXABLE)  

Interpretive and Educational Tours and Programs 

PARK PROGRAM FEE 

Standard Interpretive 
Program: (Fee does not 
apply to informational 
programs such as 
campfire programs or 
roving interpretation). 

$2.00 per 
person 
$6.00 per 
family 

Standard Night Hike or 
Evening Program 

$3.00 per 
person 
$8.00 per 
family 

Standard Workshop 
Fee 

$5.00 per 
child (Age 
12 and 
under) 
$15 per 
adult (Age 
13 and 
over) 

Standard Wagon Ride 
Program 

$3.00 per 
person 
$8.00 per 
family 
$25 
exclusive 
group 

Extended or Special 
Event Wagon Ride 
Program 

$4.00 per 
person 
$10 per 
family 
$75 
exclusive 
group 
booking 

All parks 
unless 
otherwise 
noted: 

Park Outreach 
Program: Price per park 
staff member 
conducting program 

$10 for 
under 2 
hours 
$25 for 2 to 
3 hours 
$50 for 4 
hours plus 
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Standard Junior Ranger 
Program: 4-day 
program. All parks 
unless noted below. 

$10 full 
program 
$3.00 per 
day 

Haunted Hike $1.00 (Age 
3 through 
12) 
$3.00 (Age 
13 and 
over) 

Geo Caching 
Interpretive Program. 

$3.00 per 
person 
$8.00 per 
family 
$25 per 
group 

Nature-Themed 
Birthday Party: 
Includes a nature talk, 
hike, games, songs, and 
time in the Nature 
Center for gifts and 
cakes. At least one staff 
member is present to 
conduct activities. 

$96 per 
hour plus 
materials 
cost for 12 
children 
$8.00 per 
additional 
child 

Standard Orienteering 
Program 

$3.00 per 
person 

$25 per 
group (20 
maximum) 

Standard Women's 
Wellness Weekend 
Program 

$149 per 
person 

Chippokes Photography Class $45 per 
person 

Junior Ranger Program $5.00 per 
person per 
day 

Hayrides $2.00 per 
child 
$3.00 per 
adult 

Adventure Rangers 
Interpretive Program 

$10 per 
person per 
day 

Grayson 
Highlands 

Make a Birdhouse 
Program 

$5.00 per 
person 

Make Your Own 
Hiking Stick Program 

$3.00 per 
person 

2-Day Photography 
Class 

$35 per 
person 

Individual interpretive 
program pass: (Allows 
admission for one 
person to 4 interpretive 
programs valued at 
$3.00 or less) 

$6.00 per 
pass 

Occoneechee, 
Caledon, Sky 
Meadows 

Family interpretive 
program pass: (Allows 
admission for members 
of the same family to 4 
interpretive programs 
valued at $8.00 or less) 

$18 per pass 

Nature Camps $100 per 
child per 
program plus 
materials cost 
$30 per child 
plus materials 
cost for Jr. 
Assistant. 
The Jr. 
Assistant 
helps the 
park staff in 
conducting 
camp 
programs. 

Curious Kids $3.00 per 
program 

Pocahontas 

Nature and Discovery 
Programs (School/Groups 
Outreach) 

$50 per 
program at 
school or 
park 
(maximum 
35 
participants) 

$4.00 per 
child 

$80 
minimum 
$15 
additional if 
program is 
outside of 
Chesterfield 
County 
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Music Program $5.00 per 
person 

A Day in Wildflower 
Woods 

$8.00 per 
person 

Interpretive Program 
Series: 6-program 
series 

$15 per 
person per 
program 
$54 $45 per 
person per 4 
programs 
$72 $60 per 
person per 6 
programs 

Nature and Discovery 
Programs 
(School/Groups 
Outreach) 

$2.00 per 
child 

$50 
minimum 

$15 
additional if 
program is 
outside of 
the 
following 
counties: 
Fauquier, 
Frederick, 
Clark, and 
Loudoun 

Sky Meadows 

House and Grounds 
Tour 

$3.00 per 
person age 
13 and older 

$2.00 per 
child age 6 
through 12 

$8.00 per 
family 

Smith 
Mountain 
Lake 

Nature and Discovery 
Programs 
(School/Groups 
Outreach) 

$10 per 
school visit 

How Our Ancestors 
Lived (9-week 
children's series) 

$10 $5.00 
per person 
for entire 
series 
$2.00 per 
person for 
individual 
program 

Special Themed 
Interpretive Program 

$10 per 
person 

Music or Literary 
Event 

$5.00 per 
person 

Workshop (Adult) $10 per 
person 

Workshop (Children) $5.00 per 
person 

Nature and Discovery 
Programs 
(School/Groups 
Outreach) 

$25 for 
under 2 
hours 

$50 from 2 
hours to 
under 4 
hours 

$75 for 4 or 
more hours 

Guided Tour or 
Activity 

School 
Groups: 
$1.50 per 
person 

Public 
Groups: 
$2.50 per 
person 

Southwest 
Virginia 
Museum 

Step-On Tour Guide 
Service 

$7.00 per 
person 

Caledon Eagle Tours $6.00 per 
person 
$50 Flat 
Rate 
(minimum: 
10; 
maximum: 
20) 

Caledon 

All Group Programs up 
to 2 hours long 

$5.00 per 
person 
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Haunted Hay Ride $12 $5.00 
per person 
(age 7 and 
over) 

Children 
under 7 free 

Caledon Junior Ranger 
Program  

$15 per 
person 

Special Program Bus 
Fee: Programs 
involving 
transportation within 
the natural area. 

$3.00 per 
person 

Workshop (Adult) $15 per 
person 

Workshop (Children) $5.00 per 
person 

Guided Programs $25 per 
program 
(Maximum 
30 
participants) 
$25 facility 
fee (If 
applicable) 

Environmental 
Education (Children's 
Activities) 

$25 per 
program 
(Maximum 
30 
participants) 
$25 facility 
fee (If 
applicable) 

3 or More Activities $15 per 
program 
$25 facility 
fee (If 
applicable) 

Natural 
Tunnel: Cove 
Ridge 

Environmental 
Education (Adult 
Facilitation) 

$15 per 
person 

Field Trips Per program 
charge with 
use of 
center; 
chairlift 
passes, if 
required for 
program, 
included in 
cost 

Hungry 
Mother/ 
Hemlock 
Haven 

Junior Naturalist 
Program 

$4.00 per 
person per 
week 
$12 
unlimited 
participation 
in 
interpretive 
season 

Birding Program 
(Hawk observatory/bird 
banding station) 

$4.00 per 
person 

Kiptopeke 

Birding Program 
(Group Rates) 

$35 
(Corporate) 
$25 
(Nonprofit) 

Guided Adventure 
Programs 

$4.00 per 
person 
$40 per 
group 
(Minimum 
12 persons) 

York River Children's 
Programs 

$2.00 per 
person, 
single 
program 
$10 
unlimited 
participation 
throughout 
Interpretive 
Season 

York River 

"Nature Party": Nature 
Themed Birthday Party 
for Children 

$10 per 
person 

Westmoreland Guided Program Fee $25 per 
person 
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Junior Ranger Program 
(Includes T-Shirt) 

$35 per 
person 

Standard Wagon Ride 
Program 

$50 
Exclusive 
Education 
Group 
Reservation 
Booking 

Ranger Led Programs – 
Groups 

$3.00 per 
person 

Hay Wagon and Hot 
Dog Roast 

$10 per 
person 

Bike Tours - 2 hours $10 per 
person 

Extended Bike Tours - 
4 hours 

$15 per 
person 

Canoe and Bike Tour - 
4 hours 

$20 per 
person 

Halloween Haunted 
House/Hay Wagon 
Ride 

$3.00 (Age 
3 through 
12) 
$5.00 (Age 
13 and 
over) 

Natural 
Tunnel 

Canoe/Hay Wagon 
Ride 

$12 (Age 3 
through 12) 
$15 (Age 13 
and over) 

Mason Neck Junior Ranger Program $50 per 
person 

Field Archaeology 
Workshop 

$25 per 
person 

Holliday Lake 

Junior Ranger Program 
(3 half-day workshop) 
(Ages 6 to 13) 

$25 per 
child 

Wildlife Watch Tour – 
Per Person 

$8.00 per 
person 

False Cape 

Astronomy Program $10 per 
person 

Junior Ranger Program $4.00 per 
session 

Staunton 
River 

Interpretive Craft $2.00 per 
person 

Down A Lazy River 
Guided Canoe Trip 

$6.00 per 
child 
$8.00 per 
adult 

Hayride $1.00 per 
person 

Junior Ranger Program $25 per 
person 

First Landing 

Kritter Kids $25 per 
person 

Bear Creek 
Lake 

Interpretive bike tours 
Junior Ranger Program 

$3.00 per 
person $20 
per person 

Junior Ranger Program $45 $50 per 
person 

Halloween Haunted 
Hike 

$2.00 per 
person 
$6.00 per 
group (4 
person 
maximum) 

Interpretive Programs $2.00 per 
person 

Leesylvania 

Kids Fishing 
Tournament 

$2.00 per 
child 

Pannel Cave Tour $10 per 
person 
$7.00 per 
person 
(Family-
Group; 8-
person 
minimum) 

Bolling Cave Tours $15 per 
person 
$12 per 
person 
(Family-
Group; 8-
person 
minimum) 

Natural 
Tunnel 

Stock Creek Tunnel 
Tour 

$5.00 per 
person 

Westmoreland Orienteering Program $3.00 per 
person 
$25 per 
group (20 
maximum) 
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New River Trail 
Seniors Van Tour Full 
Day 

$25 per 
person 

New River Trail 
Seniors Van Tour Half 
Day 

$15 per 
person 

New River 
Trail 

Bertha Cave Tour $10 per 
person 

James River Haunted Wagon Ride $5.00 per 
person (Age 
7 and over) 
Children 6 
and under 
free 

Triple Treat Program: 
Hayride/Canoe/Campfire 

$10 per 
person 

Junior Ranger 3-day 
program 

$5.00 per 
class 

Belle Isle 

Bike Tour: visitors can 
supply their own bike 
or rent separately 

$2.00 per 
person 

$6.00 per 
family 

Notes on interpretive and educational tours and programs:  

Additional costs for supplies and materials may apply.  

4VAC5-36-160. Outdoor skill program fees.  

OUTDOOR SKILL PROGRAMS (NONTAXABLE)  

Outdoor Skill Programs FEE 

Outdoor Survival 
Skills and 
Backpacking 

$95 per 
person 

Basic Map and 
Compass 

$25 per 
person 

Beginning Rock 
Climbing and 
Backpacking 

$95 per 
person 

Grayson 
Highlands 

Advanced Map and 
Compass Skills 

$25 per 
person 

Photography 
Workshop, with meals 
and lodging 

$325 per 
person 

Westmoreland, 
Douthat, Hungry 
Mother, False 
Cape 

Photography 
Workshop, with 
meals, no lodging 

$295 per 
person 

Photography 
Workshop, no meals, 
no lodging 

$225 per 
person 

Nonparticipant 
Lodging and Food 

$235 per 
person 

Nonparticipant Meals 
only 

$125 per 
person 

Sky Meadows Getting Started in 
Nature Photography 

$60 per 
person 

Lake Anna Prospecting for Gold 
Workshop 

$50 per 
person 

Hungry Mother Mountain Empire Fly 
Fishing School 

$225 per 
person 

Grayson 
Highlands 

Guided Fly Fishing 
Trip: Half-day 
Guided Fly Fishing 
Trip: Full-day 

$50 per 
person 
$75 per 
person 

4VAC5-36-170. Hunting fees.  

HUNTING (NONTAXABLE)  

Hunting: All parks where 
available unless otherwise 
noted. (Does not apply to open 
hunting areas at Fairy Stone, 
Hungry Mother, Grayson 
Highlands, Occoneechee, and 
Pocahontas) FEE 

  Standard Daily Hunting 
Fee for reservation-type 
managed hunts (No 
separate application fee 
required). 

$15 per hunter per day 

  Standard Daily Hunting 
Fee for lottery-type 
managed hunts (Paid in 
addition to any applicable 
application fee). 

$10 per hunter per day 

  Lottery Hunt Application 
Fee 

$5.00 per application 

  Chippokes Plantation: 
Southern Heritage Deer 
Hunt 

$325 per adult, or 
youth 16 through 17 
with a separate stand 
$200 per youth ages 
12 through 17, 
requires shared stand 
with a paying adult 
$50 per nonhunting 
companion 
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  Waterfowl Hunt at Crow's 
Nest Natural Area Preserve 
Permit (maximum of 3 per 
person per season) 

$100 each 

Notes on hunting fees:  

At parks where there is a "standby" process, no additional 
daily fee for that hunting season shall be charged if the 
hunter has already paid at least one previous daily hunting 
fee for that park's hunting season.  

4VAC5-36-190. Environmental education center fees. 

ENVIRONMENTAL EDUCATION SERVICES AND 
FACILITIES FEES  

(TAXABLE unless otherwise noted)  

PARK SERVICE OR FACILITY FEE 

Caledon Rental of Environmental 
Education Center 

$60 per 
day 
$40 per 
half-day 

Claytor 
Lake 

Rental of Discovery Center, 
Small Conference Room 

$15 per 
hour 
$50 per 4 
hours 
$75 per 8 
hours 

First 
Landing 

Chesapeake Bay Center 
Exhibit Area. Fee required 
after 5 p.m. or after regular 
operating hours 

$25 per 
hour  

Wash Woods 
Environmental Education 
Center - Use by educational 
group 

$200 per 
night 
$60 day 
use 

Wash Woods 
Environmental Education 
Center - Use by 
noneducational group 

$300 per 
night 
$100 day 
use 

Deposit to accompany 
reservation application 

$40 

Environmental Education 
Programs (Nontaxable) 

$75 

False Cape 
State Park 

Bus transportation for 
educational group 
(Nontaxable) 

$36 
round 
trip 
$18 one 
way 

Bus transportation for 
noneducational group 
(Nontaxable) 

$48 
round 
trip 
$24 one 
way 

Bus transportation within 
the park (Nontaxable) 

$18 per 
hour 

Beach vehicle transportation 
for educational group (10 
person minimum) 

$100 
round 
trip 

Beach vehicle transportation 
for noneducational group 
(10 person minimum) 

$160 
round 
trip 

Beach vehicle 
transportation, individual 
rate on regularly scheduled 
dates 

$8.00 
round 
trip per 
person 

Transportation, Additional 
Park Vehicle (Nontaxable) 

$36 
round 
trip 

Transportation for 
nonemergency but 
unplanned trips out of park: 

  

Transportation for Camper $18 per 
trip 

Transportation for Camper 
with Canoe or Kayak 

$24 per 
trip 

Kayak/Canoe Trailer 
Transportation for Campers 

$100 per 
trip 

After hours transportation 
surcharge 

$8.00 per 
trip 

Equipment Rental $25 

Hartwell Environmental 
Education Center (Includes 
wet lab and equipment) 

$50 per 
half-day 
$80 per 
full-day 

Mason Neck 

Environmental Education 
Equipment only: Excludes 
center and wet lab – outdoor 
activity only 

$25 per 
half-day 
$40 per 
full-day 

Discovery Room   Leesylvania 

  Teacher-Led Programs 
Up to 4 hours 
(Nontaxable) 

$50 
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  Ranger-Led Programs 
Up to 4 hours 
(Nontaxable) 

$85 

  Menu Programs: 
Picked by instructor – 
led by ranger; 1-hour 
15-minute minimum 
(Nontaxable) 

$30 

  Equipment Rental: For 
use outside of Visitor 
Center; 4 hour 
maximum 

$20 

Note on Environmental Education Center Fees:  

Environmental Education Center Cancellation Policy: For 
day-use E.E.C. cancellation policy, Picnic Shelter 
cancellation policy shall apply. For overnight-use E.E.C. 
cancellation policy, cabin cancellation policy shall apply.  

4VAC5-36-200. Miscellaneous rental fees.  

RENTALS (TAXABLE; Price here does not include tax)  

Bike Rentals (includes helmet) FEE 

  All parks where available 
unless otherwise noted  

$3.00 per hour 
$8.00 per half-day 
$15 per full-day 

  Claytor Lake $4.00 per hour 
$25 per day 

  New River Trail, James 
River, Mason Neck 

$5.00 per hour 
$12 per half-day 
$18 per day 

  First Landing $5.00 per hour 
$16 per day 

Bike Helmet without bike rental $1.00 

Child Cart for bike $5.00 

Boat Rentals   

Standard Paddle Boat Rental:   

  All parks where available 
unless otherwise noted  

$4.00 per half-hour 
$6.00 per hour 

  Fairy Stone, Westmoreland, 
Hungry Mother  

$5.00 per half-hour 
$8.00 per hour 

  Smith Mountain Lake $10 per half-hour 
$15 per one hour 
$80 for 24 hours 
$30 additional for 
each day after first 
day 

Standard Canoe Rental:   

  All parks where available 
unless otherwise noted. 

$8.00 per hour 
$15 per half-day 
$25 per full-day 
$40 for 24 hours 
$100 per week 

  Smith Mountain Lake $8.00 per half-hour 
$12 per one hour 
$60 for 24 hours 
$30 additional for 
each day after first 
day 

  Claytor Lake $10 per hour 
$35 per half-day 
$50 per day 

  Leesylvania, Mason Neck $7.00 per half-hour 
$12 per hour 
$35 per half-day 
$50 per day 
$60 per 24 hours 

  James River $10 per hour (does 
not include shuttle) 
$40 per day (does 
not include shuttle) 
$120 per week (does 
not include shuttle) 
$12 per half hour 
past return time 

Standard Float Trips:   

  Shenandoah River $5.00 per person 

  James River   

    Bent Creek to Canoe 
Landing: 

  

    Canoe $45 Max 3 people 

    Single Kayak $35 per kayak 

    Double Kayak $45 per kayak 

    Canoe Landing to 
Dixon Landing: 

  

    Tubes $10 $12 per tube 

    Group of four or more $8.00 $10 per tube 

    Canoe $15 per canoe 

    Single Kayak $15 per kayak 

    Double Kayak $15 per kayak 
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    Bent Creek to Dixon 
Landing: 

  

    Canoe $50 per canoe 

    Single Kayak $40 per kayak 

    Double Kayak $50 per kayak 

    Shuttle Service Only:   

    Bent Creek Shuttle 
(Scheduled) 

$5.00 per boat 
(canoe/kayak) 
$5.00 per person 

    Bent Creek Shuttle 
(Unscheduled) 

$15 per boat 
(canoe/kayak) 

$15 per person 

    Tubes $5.00 per 
person/Bent Creek 
Shuttle 
$2.00 between 
landings in park 

    Late Rental Fee $12 $15 per half 
hour past return time 

  New River Trail $7.00 per hour 
$20 per half-day 
$30 per day 
$35 per half-day, 
includes canoe 
rental and shuttle 
$50 per full day, 
includes canoe 
rental and shuttle 

  Canoe Rental (includes 
shuttle) 

  

    Trip A: Austinville to 
Foster Falls 

$35 per canoe 

    Trip B: Ivanhoe to 
Austinville 

$45 per canoe 

    Trip C: Ivanhoe to 
Foster Falls 

$50 per canoe 

    Trip D: Foster Falls to 
Route 100 

$45 per canoe 

    Trip E: Route 100 to 
Allisonia 

$50 per canoe 

    Trip F: Foster Falls to 
Allisonia 

$55 per canoe 

  Kayak Rental (includes 
shuttle) 

  

    Trip A: Austinville to 
Foster Falls 

$25 per kayak 

    Trip B: Ivanhoe to 
Austinville 

$35 per kayak 

    Trip C: Ivanhoe to 
Foster Falls 

$40 per kayak 

    Trip D: Foster Falls to 
Route 100 

$35 per kayak 

    Trip E: Route 100 to 
Allisonia 

$40 per kayak 

    Trip F: Foster Falls to 
Allisonia 

$45 per kayak 

Standard Rowboat Rental, without 
motor: 

  

  All parks where available 
unless otherwise noted 

$6.00 per hour 
$12 per half-day 
$22 per full-day 
$36 per 24 hours 
$80 per week 

  Hungry Mother: Rowboats $4.00 per hour 
$15 per day 
$40 per week 

  New River Trail: Rafts and 
flat-bottom boats 

$7.00 per hour 
$20 per half-day 
$30 per day 

Standard Rowboat Rental with 
electric motor and battery: All 
parks where available unless 
otherwise noted 

$10 per hour 
$20 per 4 hours 
$36 per day 
$100 per 4 days 
$150 per week 

Standard Motorboat Rental, 16-
foot console steering, 25-45 
horsepower outboard. All parks 
where available. 

$18 per hour 
$90 per day 

Standard Fishing Boat Rental with 
gasoline motor and one tank of 
fuel: All parks where available. 

$10 per hour (2-hour 
minimum) 
$50 per day 

Pedal Craft Rental: (Hydro-Bike, 
Surf-Bike, etc.) All parks where 
available unless otherwise noted. 

  

  One person. $8.00 per hour 

  Two person. $10 per hour 
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  Smith Mountain Lake: 
Hydro Bike  

$8.00 per half hour 
$12 per hour 
$4.00 additional per 
hour after first hour 
$60 per 24 hours 
$30 additional per 
day after first day 

  Barracuda Boat. All parks 
where available 

$10 per hour 

Solo Kayak Rental:   

  All parks where available 
unless otherwise noted  

$8.00 per hour 
$20 per half-day 
$30 per day 
$40 for 24 hours 
$100 per week 

  Westmoreland $9.00 per hour 
$17 per half-day 
$30 per day 

  Smith Mountain Lake $8.00 per half hour 
$12 per hour 
$60 per 24 hours 
$30 additional per 
day after first day 

  Mason Neck $6.00 per half-hour 
$10 per hour 
$35 per half-day 
$50 per day 
$60 per 24 hours 

  James River $7.00 per hour (does 
not include shuttle) 
$20 per day (does 
not include shuttle) 
$80 per week (does 
not include shuttle) 
$12 per half hour 
past return time 

  Claytor Lake $8.00 per hour 
$25 per half-day 
$40 per day 

Tandem Kayak Rental:   

  All parks where available 
unless otherwise noted. 

$10 per hour 
$20 per half-day 
$30 per full-day 
$45 for 24 hours 
$120 per week 

  Claytor Lake $10 per hour 

$35 per half-day 

$50 per day 

  Westmoreland $12 per hour 
$22 per half-day 
$36 per day 

  Smith Mountain Lake $10 per half-hour 
$15 per hour 
$80 for 24 hours 
$30 additional for 
each day after first 
day 

  James River $10 per hour (does 
not include shuttle) 
$35 per day (does 
not include shuttle) 
$120 per week (does 
not include shuttle) 
$12 per half hour 
past return time 

  Mason Neck $8.00 per half-hour 
$15 per hour 
$45 per 4 hours 
$60 per day 

Smith Mountain Lake: 14-foot 
fishing boat with 5 hp (3 person 
capacity). Rental does not include 
fuel and oil. Damage deposit of 
$200 required. 

$50 for 3 hours 
$10 additional per 
hour after first 3 
hours 
$150 for 24 hours 
$30 additional per 
day after first day 

Claytor Lake: 14-foot Jon boat 
with 8 hp motor. Damage deposit 
of 50% required 

$15 per hour 
$45 per half-day 
$65 per day 

Claytor Lake: 14.5-foot fishing 
boat with 9.9 hp motor. Damage 
deposit of 50% required 

$17 per hour 
$50 per half-day 
$75 per day 

Claytor Lake: 14-foot v-hull boat 
with 25 hp motor. Damage deposit 
of 50% required 

$25 per hour 
$65 per half-day 
$100 per day 

Claytor Lake: 17-foot v-hull with 
140 hp motor. Damage deposit of 
50% required 

$60 per hour 
$135 per half-day 
$210 per day 

Claytor Lake: 21-foot pontoon 
boat with 50 hp motor. Damage 
deposit of 50% required 

$60 per hour 
$135 per half-day 
$210 per day 
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Claytor Lake: 17-foot bowrider 
with 135 hp motor. Damage 
deposit of 50% required 

$40 per hour 
$115 per half day 
$180 per day 

Claytor Lake: 20-foot pontoon 
boat with 90 hp motor. Damage 
deposit of 50% required 

$40 per hour 
$110 per half-day 
$175 per day 

Claytor Lake: 24-foot pontoon 
boat with 75 hp motor. Damage 
deposit of 50% required 

$45 per hour 
$125 per half-day 
$200 per day 

Claytor Lake: 30-foot pontoon 
boat with 115 hp motor. Damage 
deposit of 50% required 

$60 per hour 
$160 per half-day 
$250 per day 

Claytor Lake: 18-foot bowrider 
with 190 hp motor. Damage 
deposit of 50% required 

$45 per hour 
$125 per half-day 
$200 per day 

Claytor Lake: 19-foot bowrider 
with 220 hp motor, Damage 
deposit of 50% required. 

$50 per hour 

$135 per half-day 

$220 per day 

Occoneechee: 17-1/2-foot fishing 
boat. Rental includes 30 gallons of 
fuel. Damage deposit of $200 
required 

$85 per hour 
$20 additional per 
hour after first hour 
$175 per 8 hours 
$875 per 7 day week 

Occoneechee: 20-foot pontoon 
boat with motor (8 person 
capacity) Rental includes 30 
gallons of fuel. Damage deposit of 
$200 required. 

$85 per hour 
$20 additional per 
hour after first hour 
$175 per 8 hours 
$875 per 7 day week 

Occoneechee: 22-foot pontoon 
boat with motor (10 person 
capacity) Rental includes 30 
gallons of fuel. Damage deposit of 
$200 required. 

$95 per hour 
$20 additional per 
hour after first hour 
$185 per 8 hours 
$925 per 7 day week 

Occoneechee: 25-foot pontoon 
boat with motor (14 person 
capacity) Rental includes 30 
gallons of fuel. Damage deposit of 
$200 required. 

$110 per hour 

$25 additional per 
hour after first hour 

$230 per 8 hours 

$1,150 per 7 day 
week 

Smith Mountain Lake: 18-20-foot 
Runabout with 190 hp (8 person 
capacity). Rental does not include 
fuel and oil. Damage deposit of 
$200 required. 

$165 for 3 hours 
$20 additional per 
hour after first 3 
hours 
$255 per 8 hours 
$320 for 24 hours 
$100 additional per 
day after first day 

Claytor Lake: 18-foot pontoon 
boat (7 person capacity) or 21-foot 
pontoon boat (9 person capacity). 
Damage deposit of 50% required  

$35 per hour 
$95 per 4 hours 
$160 per 8 hours 
$192 per 24 hours 
$100 per half-day 
$165 per day 

Claytor Lake: Jet Ski 15.5 hp (for 
use with rental of pontoon boat 
only). 

$125 per half-day 
$200 per day 

Smith Mountain Lake: 24-foot 
pontoon boat with 40 hp (10-12 
person capacity). Damage deposit 
of $200 required. 

$90 for 3 hours 
$20 additional per 
hour after first 3 
hours 
$165 per 8 hours 
$215 for 24 hours 
$80 additional each 
day after first day 

Smith Mountain Lake: Personal 
Watercraft (Waverunner 700). 
Rental does not include fuel and 
oil. Damage deposit of $500 
required. 

$180 for 3 hours 
$20 additional per 
hour after first 3 
hours 
$270 per 8 hours 
$335 for 24 hours 
$130 additional per 
day after first day 

Belle Isle: Motorboat less than 25 
horsepower (3 gallons of fuel 
included, 2 hour minimum) 

$15 per hour 
$60 per half-day 
$100 per day 

Belle Isle: Motorboat 25-49 
horsepower (11 gallons of fuel 
included, 2 hour minimum) 

$22 per hour 
$70 per half-day 
$110 per day 

Standard Damage/Replacement 
Fees: All parks where available 
unless otherwise noted. Not 
required for damage due to normal 
wear and tear. 

  

  Paddle $20 

  Anchor/Rope $40 

  Fuel Tank/Hose $60 



Regulations 

Volume 26, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 23, 2009 

555 

  Fire Extinguisher $25 

  Throw Cushion $10 

  Propeller (small) $100 

  Propeller (large) $135 

  Personal Flotation Device 
(PFD): replacement fee for 
lost/damaged PFD 

$25 each 

Other Rentals:   

Personal Flotation Device (PFD): 
When separate from boat rental. 

$1.00 per day 

Smith Mountain Lake, James 
River: Personal Floatation Device, 
type II. 

$5.00 for first day 
$1.00 additional 
days 

Smith Mountain Lake: Personal 
Floatation Device, type III 

$7.00 for first day 
$2.00 additional 
days 

Canoe/Kayak Paddles: All parks 
where available unless otherwise 
noted. 

$5.00 per day 

New River Trail: Float Tubes $5.00 per hour 
$12 per half-day 
$18 per day 

James River:   

  Cooler Tubes $3.00 per day 

  Seat Backs (kayaks) $3.00 per day 

  Tubes $8.00 per hour (does 
not include shuttle) 
$20 per day (does 
not include shuttle) 
$12 per half hour 
past return time 

Claytor Lake: 2-person tow tube 
and towrope (with rental of boat 
only) 

$20 per 2 hours 
$25 per half-day 
$30 per day 

Claytor Lake: Water skis and 
towrope (with rental of boat only) 

$20 per 2 hours 
$25 per half-day 
$30 per day 

Claytor Lake: Kneeboard and 
towrope (with rental of boat only) 

$15 per 2 hours 
$20 per half-day 
$25 per day 

Smith Mountain Lake: Tow tube; 
Water Skis; Knee Board 

$15 per day with 
boat rental 
$5.00 per additional 
day 
$25 per day without 
boat rental 

Smith Mountain Lake: Wake 
Board 

$25 per day with 
boat rental 
$10 per additional 
day 
$30 per day without 
boat rental 

Mobile Pig Cooker: All parks 
where available unless otherwise 
noted. 

$40 per day 

GPS Units $6.00 per unit per 
half-day 
$10 per unit per day 

Volleyball Net and Ball Rental: 
All parks where available. 

$10 

Binocular Rentals (2 hours): All 
parks where available. 

$2.00 

Beach Floats: All parks where 
available. 

$1.00 per hour 
$3.00 for 4-hours 
$5.00 for full-day 

Surf Lounge Floating Chair 
Rental. All parks where available. 

$2.00 per hour, 
single chair 
$5.00 per half-day, 
single chair 
$7.00 per full day, 
single chair 
$3.00 per hour, 
double chair 
$7.00 per half-day, 
double chair 
$10 per full day, 
double chair 

Body Board: First Landing $6.00 per day 

Beach Umbrella: All parks where 
available unless otherwise noted. 

$3.00 per hour 
$8.00 for 4 hours 
$15 for full-day 

  First Landing $6.00 per day 

  Kiptopeke $5.00 per 4 hours 
$8.00 per 8 hours 

Beach Chair: All parks where 
available 

$5.00 per day 

  First Landing $6.00 per day 
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Fishing Rods: All parks where 
available unless otherwise noted. 

$5.00 per half-day 

  First Landing $6.00 per day 
$3.00 per rod per 
fishing program 

Tents with a group camp 
reservation. All parks where 
available. 

  

  2-person tent  $12 per day 

  3-person tent $20 per day 

  4-person tent $25 per day 

  5-person tent $30 per day 

Coleman Camp Stove Rental, 
includes fuel 

$10 per day 

Tabletop Propane Grill, includes 
fuel 

$15 per day 

Coin-Operated Washing Machine: 
All parks where available unless 
otherwise noted. 

$1.25 per load, tax 
included 

  First Landing $1.50 per load, tax 
included 

Coin Operated Dryer: All parks 
where available unless otherwise 
noted. 

$1.25 per load, tax 
included 

  First Landing $1.50 per load, tax 
included 

6-Foot Table (Includes 6 chairs) 
Additional chairs: All parks where 
available unless otherwise noted. 

$20 per rental period 
$3.00 each per rental 
period 

  Caledon $8.00 per 6' round 
table 

$1.50 per white 
padded seat chair 

Pump Out: All parks where 
available unless otherwise noted. 

$5.00 

Horse Rentals:   

  All parks where available 
unless otherwise noted. 

$20 per one-hour 
ride 
$40 per two-hour 
ride 
$100 per full day 
ride 

  Sky Meadows $30 per one-hour 
ride 
$55 per two-hour 
ride 
$45 per 1.5-hour 
theme ride 
$10 pony rides, 
includes photo 
$250 per week, day 
camp (10% family 
discount) 

Pony Rides: All parks where 
available unless otherwise noted. 

$5.00 per 15 
minutes 

Horseback Riding Lessons: All 
parks where available unless 
otherwise noted. 

$25 per lesson on 
group basis 
$30 per lesson for 
individual 

Horseback Summer Day Camp: 
All parks where available unless 
otherwise noted. 

$180 per person per 
week 

Horseshoe or Croquet Rental for 
Campers. All parks where 
available. 

$1.00 per hour 
$5.00 per day 
$20 deposit 

         
4VAC5-36-210. Conference center and meeting facility 
fees.  

CONFERENCE CENTERS (TAXABLE)  

Prices may be discounted 
and/or waived by the 
director when necessary to 
create competitive bids for 
group sales. FEE 

Hemlock Haven 
Conference Center at 
Hungry Mother 

  

  Main Hall 
(Capacity: 375) 

$263 $275 per day 

  Upper Level 
(Capacity: 50) 

$158 $175 per day 

  Redbud Room: 
(Capacity 35) 

$53 $75 per day 

  Laurel Room 
(Capacity: 20) 

$37 $40 per day 

  Entire Meeting 
Room Complex 

$420 per day 
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  Day Use 
Recreational 
Package (Includes 
all outside 
recreational 
facilities) 

  

    0 – 250 
Persons 

$263 $300 per half-day 
$525 $600 per full-day 

    250 – 500 
Persons 

$394 $425 per half-day 
$788 $850 per full-day 

    500 + persons $525 $575 per half-day 
$1,050 $1,200 per full-day 

Cedar Crest Conference 
Center at Twin Lakes 

  

  Complex: Doswell 
Hall with deck, 
grounds, volleyball, 
horseshoes; 
Kitchen, Latham 
and Hurt Rooms 
NOT included. 

$229 per 4 hours 
$459 per day 
$53 each extra hour 

  Doswell Meeting 
Room: Meeting 
Room Only; no 
kitchen or dining 
room. 

$164 per room per 4 hours 
$328 per room per day 
$37 each extra hour 

  Small breakout 
rooms with main 
room: Latham and 
Hurt. 

$65 per room per 4 hours 
$131 per room per day 
$21 each extra hour 

  Small breakout 
rooms without main 
room. 

$98 per room per 4 hours 
$196 per room per day 
$37 each extra hour 

  Picnic Shelter or 
Gazebo at Cedar 
Crest. 

$68 per 4 hours 
$131 per day 
$11 each extra hour 

  Kitchen rental Only 
available with 
complex rental. 

$105 per event 

  Kitchen Cleaning 
Fee: Deposit. 

$150 per event 

Chippokes Plantation 
Meeting, Conference, and 
Special Use Facilities 

  

  Mansion 
Conference Room. 

$26 per hour 

  Mansion or Historic 
Area Grounds 
(Includes parking 
for party rental). 

$525 per 4 hours 

  Mansion Board 
Room 

$105 per 4 hours 

  Chippokes 
Plantation 
Conference Shelter 
(Available on 
reservation basis 
only). 

$105 per 4 hours 

  Wedding Package 
(includes historic 
area grounds, 
gardens, tent set up 
and take down, 10 
60-inch round 
tables, 10 standard 
size rectangle 
tables, 100 folding 
chairs, Wedding 
Coordinator, 
changing room for 
bride and groom, 
Mansion kitchen 
area, boardroom, no 
fee for wedding 
rehearsal). 

$1,412 per 4 hours 
$2,073 per 8 hours 
$50 nonrefundable reservation 
fee 

Southwest Virginia Museum 
– Victorian Parlor Room 
Rental (Based on 4-hour 
rental) DAY EVENING 

  Option #1: 
Victorian Parlor – 
Basic Room 
Package (Includes 
tables with linen 
and chairs) 

  

    Up to 22 
People (6 
tables – 22 
chairs) 

$31  $57 

    23 Up to 30 
People (8 
tables – 30 
chairs) OR Up 
to 50 people 
(50 chairs and 
head table) 

$42 $68 
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  Option #2: 
Victorian Parlor – 
Executive Room 
Package (Includes 
tables with linen 
and chairs, water 
pitcher with glasses, 
coffeepot with cups 
(coffee not 
included), AV 
equipment, and 
presentation aids) 

  

    Up to 22 
People (6 
tables – 22 
chairs) 

$52 $78 

    23 to 30 
People (8 
tables – 30 
chairs) OR Up 
to 50 people 
(50 chairs and 
head table) 

$68 $94 

  Option #3: 
Additional meeting 
rooms: Victorian 
Parlor must be 
rented in order to 
rent additional 
rooms.  

  

    Hallway 
(downstairs) 
(Includes two 
three existing 
tables with 
linens) 

$11 $11 

    Each 
Additional 
Table with 
Linens 

$11 $11 

    Small Parlor: 
AV room or 
Big Stone Gap 
Photo room 
(Includes 1 
table with 
linens and 6-8 
chairs) 

$31 $31 

    Big Stone Gap 
Development 
Room 
(Includes 1 
table with 
linens and 6-8 
chairs) 

$41 $41 

    Additional 
Hours 

$5.00 $10 
per hour 

$5.00 $10 per 
hour 

    Exceeding 
approved 
hours 

$20 per 
hour 

$20 per hour 

    Wedding 
Portraits 

$52 per 2 
hours 

$78 per 2 hours 

Wilderness Road 
(Mansion and Ground 
Rental) 

  

  Mansion or Lawn: 
separately 

$63 for 4 hours 

  Mansion and Lawn: 
combined 

$105 for 4 hours 

  Additional hours 
beyond scheduled 
operating hours 

$11 per hour 

Cove Ridge Center at Natural 
Tunnel:  

PRIVATE 
FEE 

EDUCATIONAL 
FEE 

  Cove Ridge Center 
Annual Membership: 
Membership entitles 
organization to a 25% 
discount on facility 
rental fees and group 
rates on all 
programming offered 
through the center. 

$1,050 
per year 

$525 per year 

  Day Use: Exclusive 
use of the auditorium, 
meeting room, 
resource library, 
catering kitchen, great 
room with stone 
fireplace and deck for 
two consecutive half-
day rental periods, and 
parking passes. 

$315 $210 

  Overnight Use of one 
dorm: Includes Day 
Use Package plus one 
dorm rooms for one 
night and swimming 
(in season). 

$683 $498 

  Overnight Use of both 
dorms: Includes Day 
Use Package plus two 
dorm rooms for one 
night and swimming 
(in season). 

$892 $656 
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  Wedding Package Day 
Use: Exclusive use of 
the auditorium, 
meeting room, 
resource library, 
catering kitchen, great 
room with stone 
fireplace and deck for 
three consecutive half-
day rental periods, and 
parking passes. 

$525 NA 

  Wedding Package 
Overnight: Includes 
Day Use Package plus 
one dorm for one night 
and swimming (in 
season). 

$919 NA 

  Wedding Package 
Overnight: Includes 
Day Use Package plus 
both dorms for one 
night and swimming 
(in season). 

$1,102 NA 

  Wedding Package with 
Amphitheater: Rental 
of the park 
amphitheater in 
conjunction with any 
of the above wedding 
packages. 

$236 for 
the rental 
period 

NA 

  Removal of furniture 
from great room (only 
available with 
exclusive use of the 
center). 

$42 $42 

  Additional seating on 
deck (only available 
with exclusive use of 
the center). 

$42 $0 

  Auditorium $126 per 
half day 
$231 per 
full day 

$99 per half day 
$183 per full day 

  Classroom – Library 
(half-day) 

$63 $47 

  One dorm: Overnight 
lodging for up to 30, 
includes swimming (in 
season) and parking 
passes. 

$420 per 
night 
April 1-
October 
31 
$378 per 
night 
November 
1-March 
31 

$315 per night 
April 1-October 
31 
$283 per night 
November 1-
March 31 

  Both Dorms: 
Overnight lodging for 
up to 60, includes 
swimming (in season) 
and parking passes. 

$630 per 
night 
April 1-
October 
31 
$567 per 
night 
November 
1-March 
31 

$472 per night 
April 1-October 
31 
$425 per night 
November 1-
March 31 

  Per Person Student 
Rate for Overnight 
Dorm Use 

$13 per 
person 

$13 per person 

  Kitchen Use (when not 
included in package) 

$50 per 
event 

$50 per event 

Heritage Center at 
Pocahontas: All reservations 
require 50% down at time of 
reservation (Nonrefundable 
within 14 days of event) 

PRIVATE 
FEE 

EDUCATIONAL 
FEE 

  Large Room 
(Capacity: seated at 
tables 50; reception 
style 125, auditorium 
80: includes tables, 
chairs, and warming 
kitchen) 

$131 per 
4 hours 
$236 per 
full-day 
$26 each 
extra hour 

$78 per 4 hours 
$141 per full-day 
$15 each extra 
hour 

Westmoreland FEE 

  Tayloe and Helen 
Murphy Hall 
Meeting Facility: 
Includes Main 
Meeting Room, 
Kitchen, and 
Grounds 

$400 $500 (8 a.m. to 10 p.m.) 
$315 $350 additional rental days 
after first day 
$25 $75 per hour for usage 
beyond reservation period 

  Potomac Overlook 
Rental 

$55 per day 

  Breakout Meeting 
Room (May be 
rented separately 
from main meeting 
room only within 45 
days of event. 

$75 (8 a.m. to 10 p.m.) 

  Kitchen Clean Up 
Fee: (Waived if 
renter cleans 
facility) 

$250 per event 

  Wedding Package - 
Includes half-day 
rental for wedding 
rehearsal, and a full-
day rental for 
wedding/reception 

$300 
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  Potomac River 
Retreat: Table and 
Chair Set-up 

$40 

Fairy Stone   

  Fayerdale Hall 
Meeting Facility 
Weekend Rental. 
Includes Friday, 
Saturday, and 
Sunday 

$236 (8 a.m. to 10 p.m.) 

    One Day Rental $236 (8 a.m. to 10 p.m.) 

    Two Consecutive 
Days Rental 

$315 

    Three 
Consecutive 
Days Rental 

$366 

  Wedding Package - 
Includes full-day 
rental for wedding 
rehearsal, and a full-
day rental for 
wedding/reception. 
Fayerdale Hall 
Meeting Facility 
Weekday Rental. 
Includes Monday 
through Thursday 
only. 

$315 

    One Day Rental $75 (8 a.m. to 10 p.m.) 

    Two Consecutive 
Days Rental 

$125 

    Three 
Consecutive 
Days Rental 

$174 

    Four Consecutive 
Days Rental 

$225 

Douthat   

  Restaurant (includes 
table set-up) 

$236 

  Allegheny Room: 
Up to 30 persons. 

$158 per day 

  Wedding Package: 
Conference room 
and amphitheater 
(see "amphitheater 
section") on day of 
wedding, plus an 
extra half-day 
amphitheater for 
rehearsal. 

$289 

First Landing   

  Trail Center 
Conference Room 
(Capacity: 45) 

$42 per half-day 
$63 per full-day 

Lake Anna   

  Visitor Center $32 per half-day 
$53 per full day 

  Concessions 
Building Rental 

$100 per day 

Bear Creek Lake   

  Meeting facility $236 per day 
$25 each extra hour 

  Wedding Package $315 per day 

Claytor Lake   

  Marina Meeting 
Facility: Includes 
facility, chairs, and 
tables. 

$550 per day 
$825 per two days 

  Wedding Package: 
Includes rental of 
facility, chairs, 
tables, gazebo, and 
special use permit 
($10 permit fee is 
waived with 
package).  

$625 per day package 
$995 per two-day package 

Leesylvania 
Wedding/Function 
Package: Includes Rental 
of: Lee's Landing Picnic 
Shelter, 100 Chairs, 15 
Tables, and Parking for up 
to 50 vehicles 

$840 per half-day 
$945 per full-day 

Mason Neck   

  Wedding Package: 
20 foot by 40 foot 
tent, 100 chairs, 
parking for up to 50 
cars  

$788 per event 

  Parking Attendant $53 per 4 hours 

Smith Mountain Lake   

  Meeting room at 
Visitor Center 

$158 per day 

  Exceeding approved 
hours. All parks 
unless otherwise 
noted below. 

$25 per hour 
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Sky Meadows   

  Timberlake House 
Meeting Room 

Capacity 15 people 

$50 per half-day day 8 a.m. to 5 
p.m. 
$75 per day evening beyond 5 
p.m. 

  Timberlake House 
Kitchen (in 
conjunction with rental 
of meeting room) 

$25 per day or part of day 

Equipment and Services 
Associated with Meetings 
and Rentals: 

  

  Microphone/Podium 
Rental 

$15 per day 

  Linen Rentals:   

    Table cloth 
only 
Place settings 

$3.00 per table 
$2.00 each 

  Twin Lakes   

    Overlay $1.25 per table 

    Napkins $0.40 per napkin 

  Fax First 2 pages free 
$2.00 each extra page 

  Copies Single copy free 
$0.15 each extra copy 

  Lost Key Fee $10 

  Easels $5.00 per day 

  Overhead Projector $10 per day 

  TV with VCR $10 

  Second TV $10 

  Overhead Projector 
with Screen 

$10 

  Slide Projector with 
Screen 

$10 

  Flip Chart $10 

Event Clean Up Fees   

  Park labor to clean 
up after special 
events and facility 
rentals if not done in 
accordance with 
rental agreement or 
use permit  

$50 per hour 

Notes on conference and meeting facilities fees:  

Conference and meeting facilities require a 30% 
prepayment due 10 days after making reservation, and 

payment of the full balance prior to or on the first day of 
the reservation. Cancellations made 14 or more days prior 
to the first day of the reservation shall be charged the lesser 
of 10% of the total fee or $100. Cancellations made less 
that 14 days prior to the first date of the reservation shall 
be charged 30% of the total fee.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2196; Filed November 4, 2009, 9:47 a.m.  

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulations filed by 
the Marine Resources Commission are exempt from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
12 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 
required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-20. Pertaining to the 
Licensing of Fixed Fishing Devices (amending 4VAC20-
20-20, 4VAC20-20-30). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 1, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Ave., 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendment requires any fixed fishing device license 
holder fishing in Virginia tidal waters located east of the 
Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel to use a modified leader; 
and makes it the responsibility of the licensee of any fixed 
fishing device to contact the Virginia Marine Police and 
the National Marine Fisheries Service at least 72 hours 
before any modified leader is to be deployed for an 
inspection of the leader design.  

4VAC20-20-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Fixed fishing device" means any fishing device used for the 
purpose of catching fish and requiring the use of more than 
two poles or stakes which have been pushed or pumped into 
the bottom.  

"Fyke net" means a round stationary net distended by a 
series of hoops or frames, covered by web netting or wire 
mesh and having one or more internal funnel-shaped throats 
whose tapered ends are directed away from the mouth of the 
net. The net, leader or runner is held in place by stakes or 
poles which have been pushed or pumped into the bottom and 
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has one or two wings and a leader or runner to help guide the 
fish into the net.  

“Modified leader” means a fixed fishing device leader that is 
affixed to or resting on the sea floor and made of a lower 
portion of mesh and an upper portion of only vertical lines 
such that (i) the mesh size is equal to or less than eight inches 
stretched mesh; (ii) at any particular point along the leader, 
the height of the mesh, from sea floor to the top of the mesh, 
is no more than one-third the depth of the water at mean low 
water directly above that particular point; (iii) the mesh is 
held in place by vertical lines that extend from the top of the 
mesh up to the top of the line, which is a line that forms the 
uppermost part of the fixed fishing device leader; (iv) the 
vertical lines are equal to or greater than 5/16 inch in diameter 
and strung vertically at least every two feet; and (v) the 
vertical lines are hard lay lines with a vertical stiffness 
equivalent to the stiffness of a 5/16 diameter line composed 
of polyester wrapped around a blend of polypropylene and 
polyethylene and containing approximately 42 visible twists 
of strands per foot of line. 

"Officer" means the marine police officer in charge of the 
district within which the fixed fishing device is located.  

"Pound net" means a stationary fishing device supported by 
stakes or poles that have been pushed or pumped into the 
bottom consisting of an enclosure identified as the head or 
pocket with a netting floor, a heart, and a straight wall, leader 
or runner to help guide the fish into the net.  

"Staked gill net" means a fixed fishing device consisting of 
an upright fence of netting fastened to poles or stakes that 
have been pushed or pumped into the bottom.  

4VAC20-20-30. Location and, measurements, and 
modified pound net leader requirements.  

A. A fixed fishing device shall be perpendicular to the 
shoreline insofar as possible.  

B. In determining compliance with the requirements 
prescribing minimum distances between fixed fishing 
devices, measurement shall be made from the center line of 
each device.  

C. An applicant shall state the desired length of the fixed 
fishing device, which shall not exceed the maximum limit 
prescribed by law. Such length shall be stated on any license 
issued by the officer. A licensee may apply for a new license 
to include a greater length provided such additional length 
does not make the device exceed the maximum legal length 
or the legal requirement of a minimum distance between 
successive fishing structures in the same row. In the event a 
licensee fishes a length less than that stated on the license, the 
unfished length shall be subject to the provisions of 4VAC20-
20-50 B of this chapter.  

D. Any fixed fishing device, including but not limited to 
pound net and fyke net gear, licensed and fished in Virginia 

tidal waters located east of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge and 
Tunnel, shall be equipped with a modified leader as defined 
in 4VAC20-20-20. In addition, it shall be the responsibility of 
the licensee of any fixed fishing device licensed in Virginia 
tidal waters located east of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge and 
Tunnel to contact the Virginia Marine Police and the National 
Marine Fisheries Service at least 72 hours before any 
modified leader is to be deployed for an inspection of the 
fixed fishing device's leader design, prior to any initial or 
subsequent deployment of that fixed fishing device within 
any year.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2212; Filed October 30, 2009, 1:56 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-490. Pertaining to Sharks 
(amending 4VAC20-490-20, 4VAC20-490-41; adding 
4VAC20-490-44). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 1, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Ave., 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) define "movable gill net"; (ii) establish 
seasonal at sea processing requirements for smooth 
dogfish; and (iii) establish a limited entry commercial 
fishery for spiny dogfish.  

4VAC20-490-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise. 

"Carcass length" means that length measured in a straight 
line from the anterior edge of the first dorsal fin to the 
posterior end of the shark carcass. 

"COLREGS Line" means the COLREGS Demarcation lines, 
as specified in Coastal Pilot, 35th and 36th editions by 
Lighthouse Press. 

"Commercial shark fishermen" means any commercially 
permitted fisherman who has landed and sold one pound of 
shark or more (excludes spiny dogfish) in that calendar year 
(January 1 through December 31). 

"Commercially permitted nonsandbar large coastal shark 
species" means any of the following species: 

Blacktip, Carcharhinus limbatus 

Bull, Carcharhinus leucas 

Great hammerhead, Sphyrna mokarran 
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Lemon, Negaprion brevirostris 

Nurse, Ginglymostoma cirratum 

Scalloped hammerhead, Sphyrna lewini 

Silky, Carcharhinus falciformis 

Smooth hammerhead, Sphyrna zygaena 

Spinner, Carcharhinus brevipinna  

Tiger, Galeocerdo cuvier 

"Commercially permitted pelagic species" means any of the 
following species: 

Blue, Prionace glauca 

Oceanic whitetip, Carcharhinus longimanus 

Porbeagle, Lamna nasus 

Shortfin mako, Isurus oxyrinchus 

Thresher, Alopias vulpinus 

"Commercially permitted small coastal shark species" 
means any of the following species: 

Atlantic sharpnose, Rhizoprionodon terraenovae 

Blacknose, Carcharhinus acronotus 

Bonnethead, Sphyrna tiburo 

Finetooth, Carcharhinus isodon 

"Commercially prohibited species" means any of the 
following species: 

Atlantic angel, Squatina dumeril 

Basking, Cetorhinus maximus 

Bigeye sand tiger, Odontaspis noronhai 

Bigeye sixgill, Hexanchus nakamurai 

Bigeye thresher, Alopias superciliosus 

Bignose, Carcharhinus altimus 

Caribbean reef, Carcharhinus perezii 

Caribbean sharpnose, Rhizoprionodon porosus 

Dusky, Carcharhinus obscurus 

Galapagos, Carcharhinus galapagensis 

Longfin mako, Isurus paucus 

Narrowtooth, Carcharhinus brachyurus 

Night, Carcharhinus signatus 

Sand tiger, Carcharias taurus 

Sevengill, Heptranchias perlo 

Sixgill, Hexanchus griseus 

Smalltail, Carcharhinus porosus 

Whale, Rhincodon typus 

White, Carcharodon carcharias 

"Control rule" means a time-certain date, past, present or 
future, used to establish participation in a limited entry 
fishery and may or may not include specific past harvest 
amounts. 

"Dressed weight" means the result from processing a fish by 
removal of head, viscera, and fins, but does not include 
removal of the backbone, halving, quartering, or otherwise 
further reducing the carcass. 

"Finning" means removing the fins and returning the 
remainder of the shark to the sea. 

"Fork length" means the straight-line measurement of a fish 
from the tip of the snout to the fork of the tail. The 
measurement is not made along the curve of the body. 

"Movable gill net" means any gill net other than a staked gill 
net. 

"Large mesh gill net" means any gill net having a stretched 
mesh equal to or greater than five inches. 

"Longline" means any fishing gear that is set horizontally, 
either anchored, floating or attached to a vessel, and that 
consists of a mainline or groundline, greater than 1,000 feet in 
length, with multiple leaders (gangions) and hooks, whether 
retrieved by hand or mechanical means. 

"Permitted commercial gear" means rod and reel, handlines, 
shark shortlines, small mesh gill nets, large mesh gill nets, 
pound nets, and weirs. 

"Recreational shore angler" means a person not fishing from 
a vessel nor transported to or from a fishing location by a 
vessel. 

"Recreational vessel angler" means a person fishing from a 
vessel or transported to or from a fishing location by a vessel. 

"Recreationally permitted species" means any of the 
following species:  

Atlantic sharpnose, Rhizoprionodon terraenovae 

Blacknose, Carcharhinus acronotus 

Blacktip, Carcharhinus limbatus 

Blue, Prionace glauca 

Bonnethead, Sphyrna tiburo 

Bull, Carcharhinus leucas 

Finetooth, Carcharhinus isodon 

Great hammerhead, Sphyrna mokarran 

Lemon, Negaprion brevirostris 
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Nurse, Ginglymostoma cirratum 

Oceanic whitetip, Carcharhinus longimanus 

Porbeagle, Lamna nasus 

Scalloped hammerhead, Sphyrna lewini 

Shortfin mako, Isurus oxyrinchus 

Smooth dogfish, Mustelus canis 

Smooth hammerhead, Sphyrna zygaena 

Spinner, Carcharhinus brevipinna  

Thresher, Alopias vulpinus 

Tiger, Galeocerdo cuvier  

"Recreationally prohibited species" means any of the 
following species: 

Atlantic angel, Squatina dumeril 

Basking, Cetorhinus maximus 

Bigeye sand tiger, Odontaspis noronhai 

Bigeye sixgill, Hexanchus nakamurai 

Bigeye thresher, Alopias superciliosus 

Bignose, Carcharhinus altimus 

Caribbean reef, Carcharhinus perezii 

Caribbean sharpnose, Rhizoprionodon porosus 

Dusky, Carcharhinus obscurus 

Galapagos, Carcharhinus galapagensis 

Longfin mako, Isurus paucus 

Narrowtooth, Carcharhinus brachyurus 

Night, Carcharhinus signatus 

Sand tiger, Carcharias taurus 

Sandbar, Carcharhinus plumbeus 

Sevengill, Heptranchias perlo 

Silky, Carcharhinus falciformis 

Sixgill, Hexanchus griseus 

Smalltail, Carcharhinus porosus 

Whale, Rhincodon typus 

White, Carcharodon carcharias 

"Research only species" means any of the following species: 

Sandbar, Carcharhinus plumbeus 

"Shark shortline" means a fish trotline that is set 
horizontally, either anchored, floating or attached to a vessel, 
and that consists of a mainline or groundline, 1,000 feet in 

length or less, with multiple leaders (gangions) and no more 
than 50 corrodible circle hooks, whether retrieved by hand or 
mechanical means. 

"Small mesh gill net" means any gill net having a stretched 
mesh less than five inches. 

"Smooth dogfish" means any shark of the species Mustelus 
canis. 

"Spiny dogfish" means any shark of the species Squalus 
acanthias. 

4VAC20-490-41. Commercial catch limitations.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess on board a 
vessel or to land in Virginia more than 33 commercially 
permitted nonsandbar large coastal sharks in one 24-hour 
period. The person who owns or operates the vessel is 
responsible for compliance with the provisions of this 
subsection. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to fillet a shark, except 
smooth dogfish, at sea, except smooth dogfish as provided in 
subsection C of this section. A licensed commercial 
fisherman may eviscerate and remove the head of any shark, 
but the tail and all fins of any shark, except smooth dogfish as 
provided in subsection C of this section, shall remain 
naturally attached to the carcass through landing. The fins of 
any shark, except smooth dogfish, may be partially cut but 
some portion of the fin shall remain attached, until the shark 
is landed. 

C. From July 1 through the end of February, commercial 
fishermen may process smooth dogfish at sea, except the first 
dorsal fin shall remain attached naturally to the carcass until 
landed. From March 1 through June 30, commercial 
fishermen may completely process smooth dogfish at sea 
prior to landing. 

D. It shall be unlawful to possess, on board a vessel, or to 
land in Virginia any species of shark, after NOAA Fisheries 
has closed the fishery for that species in federal waters. 

D. E. There are no commercial trip limits or possession 
limits for smooth dogfish or sharks on the lists of 
commercially permitted pelagic species or commercially 
permitted small coastal species.  

E. F. Except as described in this section, it shall be unlawful 
for any person to take, harvest, land, or possess, in Virginia, 
any blacktip, bull, great hammerhead, lemon, nurse, scalloped 
hammerhead, silky, smooth hammerhead, spinner or tiger 
shark from May 15 through July 15. These sharks may be 
transported by vessel, in Virginia waters, during the closed 
season provided the sharks were caught in a legal manner 
consistent with federal regulations outside Virginia waters 
and: 

1. The vessel does not engage in fishing, in Virginia 
waters, while possessing the above species; and  
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2. All fishing gear aboard the vessel is stowed and not 
available for immediate use. 

F. G. It shall be unlawful for any person to retain, possess or 
purchase any shark described in the commercially prohibited 
species list. 

G. H. All sharks harvested from state waters or federal 
waters, for commercial purposes, shall be sold to a federally 
permitted shark dealer. 

H. I. The commissioner may grant exemptions from the 
seasonal closure, quota, possession limit, size limit, gear 
restrictions and prohibited species restrictions. Exemptions 
shall only be granted for display or research purposes.  The 
exempted fishermen or owner of the fishing vessel shall 
report the species, weight, location caught and gear used for 
each shark collected for research or display within 30 days. 

4VAC20-490-44. Spiny dogfish limited entry permit and 
permit transfers. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, catch, possess, 
or land any spiny dogfish without first having obtained a 
spiny dogfish limited entry permit from the Marine Resources 
Commission. Such permit shall be completed in full by the 
permittee who shall keep a copy of that permit in his 
possession while fishing for or selling spiny dogfish. Permits 
shall only be issued to Virginia registered commercial 
fishermen meeting either of the following criteria: 

1. Shall have documented on Virginia mandatory harvest 
reporting forms harvest from a legally licensed, movable 
gill net for an average of at least 60 days from 2006 
through 2008, and a minimum harvest of one pound of 
spiny dogfish at any time from 2006 through 2008. 

2. Shall have documented on Virginia mandatory reporting 
forms harvests that total greater than 10,000 pounds of 
spiny dogfish in any one year from 2006 through 2008. 

B. A spiny dogfish limited entry permittee may only transfer 
that permit to another Virginia registered commercial 
fisherman. The transferor and the transferee shall have 
documented any prior fishing activity on Virginia mandatory 
reporting forms and shall not be under any sanction by the 
Marine Resources Commission for noncompliance with the 
regulation. Transfers must be approved by the commissioner, 
or his designee, and are permanent. The permanent transfer 
authorizes the transferee to possess a spiny dogfish limited 
entry permit, and the transferor shall lose his eligibility for 
that spiny dogfish limited entry permit. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2213; Filed October 30, 2009, 2:09 p.m. 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-610. Pertaining to 
Commercial Fishing and Mandatory Harvest Reporting 
(amending 4VAC20-610-30). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 1, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Ave., 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This amendment prohibits harvesters who have had 
violations resulting in the loss of their fishing permit from 
serving as an agent for another harvester.  

4VAC20-610-30. Commercial Fisherman Registration 
License; exceptions and requirements of authorized 
agents. 

A. In accordance with § 28.2-241 C of the Code of Virginia, 
only persons who hold a valid Commercial Fisherman 
Registration License may sell, trade, or barter their harvest, or 
give their harvest to another, in order that it may be sold, 
traded, or bartered. Only these licensees may sell their 
harvests from Virginia tidal waters, regardless of the method 
or manner in which caught. Exceptions to the requirement to 
register as a commercial fisherman for selling harvest are 
authorized for the following persons or firms only: 

1. Persons taking menhaden under the authority of licenses 
issued pursuant to § 28.2-402 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. Persons independently harvesting and selling, trading, or 
bartering no more than three gallons of minnows per day 
who are not part of, hired by, or engaged in a continuing 
business enterprise. 

a. Only minnow pots, a cast net or a minnow seine less 
than 25 feet in length may be used by persons 
independently harvesting minnows. 

b. All other marine species taken during the process of 
harvesting minnows shall be returned to the water 
immediately. 

B. Requirements of authorized agents. 

1. No person whose Commercial Fisherman Registration 
License or, fishing gear license, or fishing permit is 
currently revoked or rescinded by the Marine Resources 
Commission pursuant to § 28.2-232 of the Code of 
Virginia is authorized to possess the registration license 
Commercial Fisherman Registration License, fishing gear 
license, or fishing permit of a any other registered 
commercial fisherman in order to serve as an agent for 
fishing the commercial fisherman's gear and or selling the 
harvest.  

2. No registered commercial fisherman shall use more than 
one person as an agent at any time.  

3. Any person serving as an agent shall possess the 
registration license Commercial Fisherman Registration 
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License and gear license of the commercial fisherman 
while fishing.  

4. When transporting or selling a registered commercial 
fisherman's harvest, the agent shall possess either the 
registration license Commercial Fisherman Registration 
License of that commercial fisherman or a bill of lading 
indicating that fisherman's name, address, Commercial 
Fisherman Registration License number, date and amount 
of product to be sold. 

5. Any person licensed to harvest blue crabs commercially 
shall not be eligible to also serve as an agent. 

6. Any person serving as an agent to harvest blue crabs for 
another licensed fisherman shall be limited to the use of 
only one registered commercial fisherman's crab license; 
however, an agent may fish multiple crab traps licensed 
and owned by the same person. 

7. There shall be no more than one person, per vessel, 
serving as an agent for a commercial crab licensee. 

8. Prior to using an agent in any crab fishery, the licensee 
shall register that person, with the commission, and shall 
receive approval for use of that agent, prior to the 
commencement of any harvesting activity. 

9. Failure to abide by any of the provisions of this section 
shall constitute a violation of this regulation. 

C. In accordance with § 28.2-241 H of the Code of Virginia, 
only persons with a valid Commercial Fisherman Registration 
License may purchase gear licenses. Beginning with licenses 
for the 1993 calendar year and for all years thereafter, gear 
licenses will be sold only upon presentation of evidence of a 
valid Commercial Fisherman Registration License.  

Exceptions to the prerequisite requirement are authorized for 
the following gears only and under the conditions described 
below:  

1. Menhaden purse seine licenses issued pursuant to 
§ 28.2-402 of the Code of Virginia may be purchased 
without holding a Commercial Fisherman Registration 
License.  

2. Commercial gear licenses used for recreational purposes 
and issued pursuant to § 28.2-226.2 of the Code of Virginia 
may be purchased without holding a Commercial 
Fisherman Registration License.  

D. Exceptions to the two-year delay may be granted by the 
commissioner if he finds any of the following:  

1. The applicant for an exception (i) has demonstrated, to 
the satisfaction of the commissioner, that the applicant has 
fished a significant quantity of commercial gear in Virginia 
waters during at least two of the previous five years; and 
(ii) can demonstrate, to the satisfaction of the 
commissioner, that a significant hardship caused by 

unforeseen circumstances beyond the applicant's control 
has prevented the applicant from making timely 
application for registration. The commissioner may require 
the applicant to provide such documentation as he deems 
necessary to verify the existence of hardship.  

2. The applicant is purchasing another commercial 
fisherman's gear, and the seller of the gear holds a 
Commercial Fisherman Registration License and the seller 
surrenders that license to the commission at the time the 
gear is sold.  

3. An immediate member of the applicant's family, who 
holds a current registration, has died or is retiring from the 
commercial fishery and the applicant intends to continue in 
the fishery.  

Any applicant denied an exception may appeal the decision 
to the commission. The applicant shall provide a request to 
appeal to the commission 30 days in advance of the meeting 
at which the commission will hear the request. The 
commission will hear requests at their March, June, 
September, and December meetings.  

Under no circumstances will an exception be granted solely 
on the basis of economic hardship.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2214; Filed October 30, 2009, 2:06 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-950. Pertaining to Black Sea 
Bass (amending 4VAC20-950-48). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 1, 2009.  

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Ave., 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This amendment requires that any hardship exception 
quota granted by the commission prior to October 27, 
2009, shall be converted to a percentage of the directed 
fishery quota based on the year in which that hardship 
exception quota was originally granted.  

4VAC20-950-48. Individual fishery quotas; bycatch limit; 
at sea harvesters; exceptions.  

A. Each person possessing a directed fishery permit shall be 
assigned an individual fishery quota, in pounds, for each 
calendar year. Except as provided in subsection F of this 
section, a person's individual fishery quota shall be equal to 
that person's percentage of the total landings of black sea bass 
in Virginia from July 1, 1997, through December 31, 2001, 
multiplied by the directed commercial fishery black sea bass 
quota for the calendar year. Any directed fishery permittee 
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shall be limited to landings in the amount of his individual 
fishery quota, in pounds, in any calendar year and it shall be 
unlawful for any permittee to exceed his individual fishery 
quota. In addition to the penalties prescribed by law, any 
overages of an individual's fishery quota shall be deducted 
from that permittee's individual fishery quota for the 
following year.  

B. In the determination of a person's percentage of total 
landings, the commission shall use the greater amount of 
landings from either the National Marine Fisheries Service 
Dealer Weigh-out Reports or National Marine Fisheries 
Service Vessel Trip Reports that have been reported and filed 
as of November 26, 2002. If a person's percentage of the total 
landings of black sea bass is determined by using the Vessel 
Trip Reports as the greater amount, then the person shall 
provide documentation to the Marine Resources Commission 
to verify the Vessel Trip Reports as accurate. This 
documentation may include dealer receipts of sales or other 
pertinent documentation, and such documentation shall be 
submitted to the commission by December 1, 2004. In the 
event the commission is not able to verify the full amount of 
the person's Vessel Trip Reports for the qualifying period, the 
commission shall use the greater amount of landings, from 
either the Dealer Weigh-Out Reports or the verified portion of 
the Vessel Trip Reports to establish that person's share of the 
quota.  

C. It shall be unlawful for any person permitted for the 
bycatch fishery to possess aboard a vessel, or to land in 
Virginia, in any one day, more than 200 pounds of black sea 
bass, except that any person permitted in the bycatch fishery 
may possess aboard a vessel, or land in Virginia, more than 
200 pounds of black sea bass, in any one day, provided the 
total weight of black sea bass on board the vessel does not 
exceed 10%, by weight, of the total weight of summer 
flounder, scup, Loligo squid and Atlantic mackerel on board 
the vessel. When it is projected and announced that 75% of 
the bycatch fishery quota has been be taken, it shall be 
unlawful for any person permitted for the bycatch fishery to 
possess aboard a vessel, or to land in Virginia, more than 100 
pounds of black sea bass.  

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to transfer black sea 
bass from one vessel to another while at sea.  

E. The commission sets aside 10,000 pounds of the annual 
commercial fishery black sea bass quota for distribution to all 
qualified applicants granted an exception by the commission 
from the requirements of 4VAC20-950-46 B based upon 
medical conditions, or other hardship, which limited the 
applicant's ability to fish for black sea bass during the 
qualifying period. In granting an exception, the commission 
will give preference to those applicants who can demonstrate 
the greater levels of participation in the black sea bass fishery 
during and after the qualifying period or document an 
apprenticeship or helper status in the black sea bass fishery. 

Any applicant who is granted an exception by the 
commission shall receive a portion of the 10,000 pounds; 
however, no portion shall exceed the lowest individual 
fishery quota, in pounds, at the beginning of the season. 
There shall Any hardship exception quota granted by the 
commission prior to October 27, 2009, shall be converted to a 
percentage of the directed fishery quota based on the year in 
which that hardship exception quota was originally granted. 
The hardship exception quota shall not be no transfer of quota 
received by applicants to the exception process transferred for 
a period of five years after receipt of that quota. Any portion 
of the 10,000 pounds not allotted by the commission to the 
qualified applicants as of November 1 shall be added to the 
annual bycatch quota described in 4VAC20-950-47 B from 
the date the commission granted that hardship exception 
quota. 

F. An individual fishery quota, as described in subsection A 
of this section, shall be equal to an individual's current 
percentage share of the directed fishery quota, as described in 
4VAC20-950-47 A. As of May 1, 2009, should the remaining 
amount of black sea bass bycatch fishery quota exceed 10,000 
pounds, that excess quota shall be allocated to commercial 
black sea bass directed fishery permit holders who have 
landed at least 500 pounds of black sea bass in at least two of 
three years, starting in 2005 and ending in 2007. The basis for 
that allocation shall be the same as used to determine an 
individual directed fishery quota as described in subsection A 
of this section. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2215; Filed October 30, 2009, 2:02 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1190. Pertaining to Gill Net 
Control Date (amending 4VAC20-1190-10; adding 
4VAC20-1190-15, 4VAC20-1190-30, 4VAC20-1190-40, 
4VAC20-1190-50, 4VAC20-1190-60). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 1, 2009.  

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) define "gill net" as all gill nets up to 
600 feet, or all gill nets over 600 feet and up to 1,200 feet, 
except any stake gill net of 1,200 feet in length or under 
with a fixed location, and (ii) require a harvester to have 
either a Class A resident gill net permit, Class A 
nonresident gill net permit, or Class B gill net permit 
before purchasing a gill net license.  
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Sections are added defining qualifications for the Class A 
resident gill net permit, Class A nonresident gill net 
permit, and Class B gill net permit as follows: 

1. A commercial fisherman is considered qualified for the 
Class A resident gill net permit if he is a resident of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia, possesses a valid Virginia 
Commercial Fisherman Registration License, and satisfies 
one of the following conditions: 

a. Possessed a valid Virginia gill net license prior to 
December 31, 2005; 

b. Possessed a valid Virginia gill net license and 
documented on Virginia mandatory reporting forms 
harvest from legally licensed gill nets for at least 100 
days in any one year from 2006 through 2008; 

c. Possessed a valid Virginia gill net license and 
documented on Virginia mandatory reporting forms 
harvest from legally licensed gill nets for at least 60 days 
in any two years from 2006 through 2008. 

2. A commercial fisherman is considered qualified for the 
Class A nonresident gill net permit if he is not a resident of 
the Commonwealth of Virginia, possesses a valid Virginia 
Commercial Fisherman Registration License, and satisfies 
one of the following conditions: 

a. Possessed a valid Virginia gill net license prior to 
December 31, 2005; 

b. Possessed a valid Virginia gill net license and 
documented on Virginia mandatory reporting forms 
harvest from legally licensed gill nets for at least 100 
days in any one year from 2006 through 2008; 

c. Possessed a valid Virginia gill net license and 
documented on Virginia mandatory reporting forms 
harvest from legally licensed gill nets for at least 60 days 
in any two years from 2006 through 2008. 

3. A harvester is considered qualified for the Class B gill 
net permit if he does not satisfy the requirements for a 
Class A resident or Class A nonresident gill net permit. 

CHAPTER 1190 
PERTAINING TO GILL NET CONTROL DATE, LIMITED 

ENTRY AND TRANSFERS 

4VAC20-1190-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to establish a control date for 
conservation and management of the gill net fishery through 
limited entry. 

4VAC20-1190-15. Definitions. 

The following term when used in this chapter shall have the 
following meaning unless the context indicates otherwise:  

"Gill net" means all gill nets up to 600 feet, or all gill nets 
over 600 feet and up to 1,200 feet, except any stake gill net of 
1,200 feet in length or under with a fixed location. 

4VAC20-1190-30. Limited entry and permits. 

A. Either a Class A resident gill net permit, a Class A 
nonresident gill net permit, or a Class B gill net permit shall 
be required for a harvester before purchasing a gill net 
license. 

B. A commercial fisherman is considered qualified for the 
Class A resident gill net permit if he is a resident of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia, possesses a valid Virginia 
Commercial Fisherman Registration License, and satisfies 
one of the following conditions: 

1. Possessed a valid Virginia gill net license prior to 
December 31, 2005; 

2. Possessed a valid Virginia gill net license and 
documented on Virginia mandatory reporting forms 
harvest from legally licensed gill nets for at least 100 days 
in any one year from 2006 through 2008; 

3. Possessed a valid Virginia gill net license and 
documented on Virginia mandatory reporting forms 
harvest from legally licensed gill nets for at least 60 days 
in any two years from 2006 through 2008. 

C. A commercial fisherman is considered qualified for the 
Class A nonresident gill net permit if he is not a resident of 
the Commonwealth of Virginia, possesses a valid Virginia 
Commercial Fisherman Registration License, and satisfies 
one of the following conditions: 

1. Possessed a valid Virginia gill net license prior to 
December 31, 2005; 

2. Possessed a valid Virginia gill net license and 
documented on Virginia mandatory reporting forms 
harvest from legally licensed gill nets for at least 100 days 
in any one year from 2006 through 2008; 

3. Possessed a valid Virginia gill net license and 
documented on Virginia mandatory reporting forms 
harvest from legally licensed gill nets for at least 60 days 
in any two years from 2006 through 2008. 

D. A harvester is considered qualified for the Class B gill 
net permit if he does not satisfy the requirements described in 
subsection B or C of this section. 

4VAC20-1190-40. Permit limitations. 

A. Class A resident gill net permittees or Class A 
nonresident gill net permittees shall be authorized to purchase 
any number of gill net licenses provided the maximum 
footage associated with all purchased gill net licenses does 
not exceed 12,000 feet. 
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B. Class B gill net permittees shall be authorized to purchase 
any number of gill net licenses provided the maximum 
footage associated with all purchased gill net licenses does 
not exceed 6,000 feet.  

C. A person who does not qualify for either a Class A 
resident gill net permit, Class A nonresident gill net permit or 
Class B gill net permit shall not be authorized to purchase any 
gill net license. 

4VAC20-1190-50. Permit transfers. 

A. Class A resident gill net permittees may only transfer that 
permit to another registered commercial fisherman who is a 
resident of the Commonwealth of Virginia. The transferor and 
the transferee shall have documented all prior fishing activity 
on Virginia mandatory reporting forms and shall not be under 
any sanction by the Marine Resources Commission for 
noncompliance with the regulation. Transfers must be 
approved by the commissioner, or his designee, and are 
permanent. The permanent transfer authorizes the transferee 
to possess a Class A resident permit and the transferor shall 
lose his eligibility for that Class A resident gill net permit.  

B. Class A nonresident gill net permittees may only transfer 
that permit to another commercial fisherman who is not a 
resident of the Commonwealth of Virginia. The transferor and 
the transferee shall have documented all prior fishing activity 
on Virginia mandatory reporting forms and shall not be under 
any sanction by the Marine Resources Commission for 
noncompliance with the regulation. Transfers must be 
approved by the commissioner, or his designee, and are 
permanent. The permanent transfer authorizes the transferee 
to possess a Class A nonresident permit and the transferor 
shall lose his eligibility for that Class A nonresident gill net 
permit.  

4VAC20-1190-60. Penalty. 

As set forth in § 28.2-903 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person violating any provision of this chapter shall be guilty 
of a Class 3 misdemeanor, and a second or subsequent 
violation of any provision of this chapter committed by the 
same person within 12 months of a prior violation is a Class 1 
misdemeanor. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2216; Filed October 30, 2009, 3:10 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 
exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance 
with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, which 
excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations provided such 
regulations do not differ materially from those required by 
federal law or regulation. The State Water Control Board will 
receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 
person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-71. Regulations Governing 
the Discharge of Sewage and Other Wastes from Boats 
(amending 9VAC25-71-70). 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.33 of the Code of Virginia; 
33 USC § 1322. 

Effective Date: December 23, 2009.  

Agency Contact: David Lazarus, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4299, FAX (804) 
698-4116, or email david.lazarus@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendment adds a newly designated boating No 
Discharge Zone in the Broad Creek, Fishing Bay, and 
Jackson Creek Watersheds in Middlesex County in order to 
conform to the EPA’s federal designation of those areas as 
No Discharge Zones. 

9VAC25-71-70. Listing of designated no discharge zones 
in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

The following are designated no discharge zones:  

1. Smith Mountain Lake in the counties of Bedford, 
Franklin and Pittsylvania, Virginia, from Smith Mountain 
Dam (Gap of Smith Mountain) upstream to the 795.0 foot 
contour (normal pool elevation) in all tributaries, including 
waters to above the confluence with Back Creek in the 
Roanoke River arm, and to the Brooks Mill Bridge (Route 
834) on the Blackwater River arm.  

2. The Lynnhaven River Watershed in the City of Virginia 
Beach, Virginia, including all contiguous waters south of 
the Lesner Bridge at Lynnhaven Inlet (latitude 
36°54'27.90" N and longitude 76°05'30.90" W) and north 
of the watershed break point at the intersection of West 
Neck Creek and Dam Neck Road (latitude 36°47'17.60" N 
and longitude 76°04'14.62" W).  

3. Broad Creek, Jackson Creek, and Fishing Bay 
Watersheds in lower Middlesex County, Virginia: the 
Broad Creek Watershed No Discharge Zone is defined as 
all contiguous waters south of the line formed between the 
points formed by latitude 37°33'46.3" N and longitude -
76°18'45.9" W and north to latitude 37°33'47.4" N and 
longitude -76°19'24.7" W. The Jackson Creek Watershed 
No Discharge Zone is defined as all contiguous waters 
west of the of the line formed between the points formed 
by latitude 37°32'40" N and longitude -76°19'40.6" W at 
Stove Point Neck and latitude 37°32'46.8" N and longitude 
-76°19'15.6" W at the western point of the entrance to the 
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eastern prong of Jackson Creek. The Fishing Bay 
Watershed No Discharge Zone is defined as all contiguous 
waters north of the line formed between the points formed 
by latitude 37°32'01.9" N and longitude -76°21'43.5" W at 
the southernmost tip of Bland Point and latitude 
37°31'29.4" N and longitude -76°19'53.6" W at the 
southernmost tip of Stove Point. This area includes all of 
Fishing Bay and encompasses Moore Creek and Porpoise 
Cove. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2221; Filed November 4, 2009, 11:21 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulation filed by 
the State Water Control Board is exempt from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
9 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts general permits 
issued by the State Water Control Board pursuant to the State 
Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44.2 et seq.), Chapter 24 (§ 62.1-
242 et seq.), and Chapter 25 (§ 62.1-254 et seq.) of Title 62.1, 
if the board (i) provides a Notice of Intended Regulatory 
Action in conformance with the provisions of § 2.2-4007.01, 
(ii) following the passage of 30 days from the publication of 
the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action forms a technical 
advisory committee composed of relevant stakeholders, 
including potentially affected citizens groups, to assist in the 
development of the general permit, (iii) provides notice and 
receives oral and written comment as provided in § 2.2-
4007.03, and (iv) conducts at least one public hearing on the 
proposed general permit.  

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-630. Virginia Pollution 
Abatement General Permit Regulation for Poultry Waste 
Management (amending 9VAC25-630-10 through 
9VAC25-630-60; adding 9VAC25-630-70, 9VAC25-630-
80).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 62.1-44.15 and 62.1-44.17:1.1 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Betsy Bowles, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4059, FAX (804) 
698-4116, or email bkbowles@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The State Water Control Board is amending the existing 
Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) Permit Regulation for 
Poultry Waste Management in order to establish 
requirements for end-users of poultry waste to ensure that 
poultry waste is being used in a manner in which state 
waters are being protected and nutrients losses are being 
reduced and that these reductions can be measured. The 
amendments include provisions regarding transferred off-
site poultry waste used for land application by another 
entity other than the poultry grower. These provisions will 

establish end-user requirements such as land application 
recordkeeping, poultry waste storage, land application 
timing and rates, and land application buffer requirements. 
These provisions will also include the option of coverage 
under a general permit for a poultry waste end-user or 
poultry waste broker if noncompliance with the 
requirements of the proposed technical regulations found 
in 9VAC25-630-60, 9VAC25-630-70, and 9VAC25-630-80 
is determined.  

Changes made since the proposal include (i) returning the 
threshold that triggers recordkeeping to 10 or more tons 
and (ii) removing certain recordkeeping and annual 
reporting requirements in 9VAC25-630-50, 9VAC25-630-
60, and 9VAC25-630-70.  

Concerns have been expressed by the public, legislature, 
and executive branch that additional safeguards are 
necessary to ensure that poultry waste that leaves the site 
and control of the permitted confined poultry feeding 
operations for land application are managed, applied, and 
stored in a manner that is protective of water quality. 
Currently, the VPA General Permit Regulations for 
Poultry Waste Management (9VAC25-630) require that 
poultry waste applied on lands owned by the permitted 
owner/operator of a confined poultry feeding operation be 
done so in accordance with a nutrient management plan 
written by a planner certified by the Virginia Department 
of Conservation and Recreation (DCR). Permitted 
operations are inspected annually to ensure that poultry 
waste is stored, applied, and otherwise managed according 
to the regulations.  

However, under the current regulations, poultry waste that 
is transferred off-site is only required to be accompanied 
by waste analysis information and a fact sheet (developed 
by DEQ and DCR) that provides the recipient with general 
provisions regarding the storage, management, and 
application of the poultry waste. The end-user must 
acknowledge receipt of the fact sheet by signing a separate 
"Poultry Waste Transfer Records" sheet. Maintenance of 
records, including the date and amount of the transfer, zip 
code of the location receiving the off-site poultry waste, 
and nearest stream or waterbody, is the requirement of the 
owner/operator of the confined poultry feeding operation 
(or third-part broker if one was involved in the 
transaction). Records must be made available to DEQ 
personnel upon inspection of the confined poultry feeding 
operation. For off-site application of poultry waste, the 
present regulation does not require records of (i) the 
amount of waste received by a single farm, (ii) whether or 
not the poultry waste will be applied in accordance with a 
nutrient management plan, (iii) soil test levels on receiving 
fields, (iv) timing of applications, or (v) a description of 
receiving crops. 
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9VAC25-630-10. Definitions. 

The words and terms used in this chapter shall have the 
meanings defined in the State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-
44.2 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and the Permit 
Regulation (9VAC25-32) unless the context clearly indicates 
otherwise, except that for the purposes of this chapter:  

"Agricultural storm water" means storm water that is not the 
sole result of land application of manure, litter or process 
wastewater. Where manure, litter or process wastewater has 
been applied in accordance with a nutrient management plan 
approved by the Virginia Department of Conservation and 
Recreation and in accordance with site-specific nutrient 
management practices that ensure appropriate agricultural 
utilization of the nutrients in the manure, litter or process 
wastewater, a precipitation-related discharge of manure, litter, 
or process wastewater from land areas under the control of an 
animal feeding operation or under the control of a poultry 
waste end-user or poultry waste broker is an agricultural 
storm water discharge. 

"Animal feeding operation" means a lot or facility (other 
than an aquatic animal production facility) where both of the 
following conditions are met: 

1. Animals (other than aquatic animals) have been, are, or 
will be stabled or confined and fed or maintained for a total 
of 45 days or more in any 12-month period; and 

2. Crops, vegetation, forage growth or post-harvest 
residues are not sustained in the normal growing season 
over any portion of the operation of the lot or facility. 

Two or more animal feeding operations under common 
ownership are a single animal feeding operation for the 
purpose of determining the number of animals at an operation 
if they adjoin each other or if they use a common area or 
system for the disposal of wastes. 

"Confined animal feeding operation," for the purposes of 
this regulation, has the same meaning as an "animal feeding 
operation." 

"Confined poultry feeding operation" means any confined 
animal feeding operation with 200 or more animal units of 
poultry. This equates to 20,000 chickens or 11,000 turkeys. 
These numbers are established regardless of animal age or 
sex. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality. 

"Director" means the Director of the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality or his designee. 

"Fact sheet" means the document that details the 
requirements regarding utilization, storage, and management 
of poultry waste by poultry waste end-users and poultry waste 
brokers. The fact sheet is approved by the department, in 

consultation with the Department of Conservation and 
Recreation. 

"Nutrient management plan" or "NMP" means a plan 
developed or approved by the Department of Conservation 
and Recreation that requires proper storage, treatment and 
management of poultry waste, including dry litter, and limits 
accumulation of excess nutrients in soils and leaching or 
discharge of nutrients into state waters.  

"Organic source" means any nutrient source including, but 
not limited to, manures, biosolids, compost, and waste or 
sludges from animals, humans, or industrial processes, but for 
the purposes of this regulation it excludes waste from 
wildlife.  

"Permittee" means the poultry grower whose confined 
poultry feeding operation is, poultry waste end-user, or 
poultry waste broker whose poultry waste management 
activities are covered under the general permit.  

"Poultry grower" or "grower" means any person who owns 
or operates a confined poultry feeding operation.  

"Poultry waste" means dry poultry litter and composted dead 
poultry.  

"Poultry waste broker" or "broker" means a person, other 
than the poultry grower, who possesses more than 10 tons of 
or controls poultry waste in any 365-day period that is not 
generated on an animal feeding operation under their 
operational control and who transfers some or all of the or 
hauls poultry waste to other persons. If the entity is defined as 
a broker they cannot be defined as a hauler for the purposes 
of this regulation.  

"Poultry waste end-user" or "end-user" means any recipient 
of transferred poultry waste who stores or who utilizes the 
waste as fertilizer, fuel, feedstock, livestock feed, or other 
beneficial end use for an operation under his control. 

"Poultry waste hauler" or "hauler" means a person who 
provides transportation of transferred poultry waste from one 
entity to another, and is not otherwise involved in the transfer 
or transaction of the waste, nor responsible for determining 
the recipient of the waste. The responsibility of the 
recordkeeping and reporting remains with the entities to 
which the service was provided: grower, broker, and end-
user. 

"Standard rate" means a land application rate for poultry 
waste approved by the board as specified in this regulation.  

"Vegetated buffer" means a permanent strip of dense 
perennial vegetation established parallel to the contours of 
and perpendicular to the dominant slope of the field for the 
purposes of slowing water runoff, enhancing water 
infiltration, and minimizing the risk of any potential nutrients 
or pollutants from leaving the field and reaching surface 
waters. 
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9VAC25-630-20. Purpose; delegation of authority; 
effective date of permit.  

 A. This general permit regulation governs the management 
of poultry waste at confined poultry feeding operations not 
covered by a Virginia Pollution Discharge Elimination 
System (VPDES) permit and poultry waste utilized or stored 
by poultry waste end-users or poultry waste brokers. It 
establishes requirements for proper nutrient management, 
waste storage, and waste tracking and accounting of poultry 
waste.  

B. The Director of the Department of Environmental 
Quality, or his designee, may perform any act of the board 
provided under this chapter, except as limited by § 62.1-44.14 
of the Code of Virginia.  

C. This general permit will become effective on December 
1, 2000. This general permit will expire 10 years from the 
effective date. 

9VAC25-630-30. Authorization to manage pollutants. 

A. Poultry grower. Any poultry grower governed by this 
general permit is hereby authorized to manage pollutants at 
confined poultry feeding operations provided that the poultry 
grower files the registration statement of 9VAC25-630-40, 
complies with the requirements of 9VAC25-630-50, and 
provided that:  

1. The poultry grower has not been required to obtain a 
Virginia Pollution Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 
permit or an individual permit according to 9VAC25-32-
260 B;  

2. The activities of the confined poultry feeding operation 
shall not contravene the Water Quality Standards, as 
amended and adopted by the board, or any provision of the 
State Water Control Law. There shall be no point source 
discharge of wastewater to surface waters of the state 
except in the case of a storm event greater than the 25-year, 
24-hour storm. Agricultural storm water discharges are 
permitted. Domestic sewage or industrial waste shall not 
be managed under this general permit;  

3. Confined poultry feeding operations that use disposal 
pits for routine disposal of daily mortalities shall not be 
covered under this general permit. The use of a disposal pit 
by a permittee for routine disposal of daily poultry 
mortalities shall be considered a violation of this permit. 
This prohibition shall not apply to the emergency disposal 
of dead poultry done according to regulations adopted 
pursuant to § 3.1-726 § 3.2-6002 or Chapter 14 (§ 10.1-
1400 et seq.) of Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia;  

4. The Department of Conservation and Recreation must 
approve a nutrient management plan for the confined 
poultry feeding operation prior to the submittal of the 
registration statement. The poultry grower shall attach to 
the registration statement a copy of the approved nutrient 

management plan and a copy of the letter from the 
Department of Conservation and Recreation certifying 
approval of the nutrient management plan, and if the plan 
was written after December 31, 2005, that the plan was 
developed by a certified nutrient management planner in 
accordance with § 10.1-104.2 of the Code of Virginia. The 
poultry grower shall implement the approved nutrient 
management plan;  

5. Adjoining property notification.  

a. When a poultry grower files a general permit 
registration statement for a confined poultry feeding 
operation that proposes construction of poultry growing 
houses after December 1, 2000, the poultry grower shall 
also give notice to all owners or residents of property that 
adjoins the property on which the proposed confined 
poultry feeding operation will be located. Such notice 
shall include (i) the types and maximum number of 
poultry which will be maintained at the facility and (ii) 
the address and phone number of the appropriate 
department regional office to which comments relevant 
to the permit may be submitted.  

b. Any person may submit written comments on the 
proposed operation to the department within 30 days of 
the date of the filing of the registration statement. If, on 
the basis of such written comments or his review, the 
director determines that the proposed operation will not 
be capable of complying with the provisions of the 
general permit, the director shall require the owner to 
obtain an individual permit for the operation. Any such 
determination by the director shall be made in writing 
and received by the poultry grower not more than 45 
days after the filing of the registration statement or, if in 
the director's sole discretion additional time is necessary 
to evaluate comments received from the public, not more 
than 60 days after the filing of the registration statement; 
and  

6. Each poultry grower covered by this general permit shall 
complete the a training program offered or approved by the 
Department of Conservation and Recreation department 
within one year of filing the registration statement for 
general permit coverage. All poultry growers shall 
complete a training program at least once every five years.  

B. Poultry waste end-user, poultry waste broker. Any 
poultry waste end-user or poultry waste broker who receives 
transferred poultry waste shall comply with the requirements 
outlined in 9VAC25-630-60, 9VAC25-630-70, and 9VAC25-
630-80 regarding utilization, storage, tracking, and 
accounting of poultry waste in his possession or under his 
control.  

1. Any poultry waste end-user or poultry waste broker who 
does not comply with the requirements of 9VAC25-630-
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60, 9VAC25-630-70, and 9VAC25-630-80 may be 
required to obtain coverage under the general permit.  

2. Any poultry waste end-user or poultry waste broker 
governed by this general permit is hereby authorized to 
manage pollutants relating to the utilization and storage of 
poultry waste provided that the poultry waste end-user or 
poultry waste broker files the registration statement of 
9VAC25-630-40, complies with the requirements of 
9VAC25-630-50, and provided that:  

a. The poultry waste end-user or poultry waste broker has 
not been required to obtain a Virginia Pollution 
Abatement individual permit according to subdivision 2 
b of 9VAC25-32-260;  

b. The activities of the poultry waste end-user or poultry 
waste broker shall not contravene the Water Quality 
Standards, as amended and adopted by the board, or any 
provision of the State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44 et 
seq. of the Code of Virginia). There shall be no point 
source discharge of wastewater to surface waters of the 
state except in the case of a storm event greater than the 
25-year, 24-hour storm. Agricultural storm water 
discharges are permitted. Domestic sewage or industrial 
waste shall not be managed under this general permit;  

c. The Department of Conservation and Recreation must 
approve a nutrient management plan for land application 
sites where poultry waste will be utilized or stored and 
managed by the poultry waste end-user or the poultry 
waste broker prior to the submittal of the registration 
statement. The poultry waste end-user or the poultry 
waste broker shall attach to the registration statement a 
copy of the approved nutrient management plan and a 
copy of the letter from the Department of Conservation 
and Recreation certifying approval of the nutrient 
management plan, and if the plan was written after 
December 31, 2005, that the plan was developed by a 
certified nutrient management planner in accordance with 
§ 10.1-104.2 of the Code of Virginia. The poultry waste 
end-user or the poultry waste broker shall implement the 
approved nutrient management plan; and 

d. Each poultry waste end-user or poultry waste broker 
covered by this general permit shall complete a training 
program offered or approved by the department within 
one year of filing the registration statement for general 
permit coverage. All permitted end-users or permitted 
brokers shall complete a training program at least once 
every five years.  

B. C. Receipt of this general permit does not relieve any 
poultry grower, poultry waste end-user, or poultry waste 
broker of the responsibility to comply with any other 
applicable federal, state or local statute, ordinance or 
regulation.  

9VAC25-630-40. Registration statement. 

A. Poultry growers. In order to be covered under the general 
permit, the poultry grower shall file a complete VPA General 
Permit Registration Statement. The registration statement 
shall contain the following information:  

1. The poultry grower's name, mailing address and 
telephone number;  

2. The location of the confined poultry feeding operation;  

3. The name and telephone number of a contact person or 
operator other than the poultry grower, if necessary;  

4. The best time of day and day of the week to contact the 
poultry grower or contact person;  

5. If the facility has an existing VPA permit, the permit 
number;  

6. The types of poultry and the maximum numbers of each 
type to be grown at the facility at any one time;  

7. Identification of the method of dead bird disposal;  

8. An indication of whether new poultry growing houses 
are under construction or planned for construction;  

9. A copy of the nutrient management plan approved by 
the Department of Conservation and Recreation and a; 

10. A copy of the Department of Conservation and 
Recreation nutrient management plan approval letter 
certifying approval of the plan;  [ ,which that ] also 
certifies that the plan was developed by a certified nutrient 
management planner in accordance with § 10.1-104.2 of 
the Code of Virginia; and  

10. 11. The following certification: "I certify that notice of 
the registration statement for any confined poultry feeding 
operation that proposes construction of poultry growing 
houses after December 1, 2000, has been given to all 
owners or residents of property that adjoins the property on 
which the confined poultry feeding operation will be 
located. This notice included the types and numbers of 
poultry which will be grown at the facility and the address 
and phone number of the appropriate Department of 
Environmental Quality regional office to which comments 
relevant to the permit may be submitted. I certify under 
penalty of law that all the requirements of the board for the 
general permit are being met and that this document and all 
attachments were prepared under my direction or 
supervision in accordance with a system designed to assure 
that qualified personnel properly gather and evaluate the 
information submitted. Based on my inquiry of the person 
or persons who manage the system or those persons 
directly responsible for gathering the information, the 
information submitted is to the best of my knowledge and 
belief true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that there 
are significant penalties for submitting false information, 
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including the possibility of fine and imprisonment for 
knowing violations."  

B. Poultry waste end-users or poultry waste brokers. In 
order to be covered under the general permit, the poultry 
waste end-user or poultry waste broker shall file a complete 
VPA General Permit Registration Statement. The registration 
statement shall contain the following information:  

1. The poultry waste end-user's or poultry waste broker's 
name, mailing address, and telephone number;  

2. The location of the operation where the poultry waste 
will be utilized, stored, or managed;  

3. The best time of day and day of the week to contact the 
poultry waste end-user or poultry waste broker;  

4. If the facility has an existing VPA permit, the permit 
number; 

5. If confined poultry are located at the facility, indicate the 
number of confined poultry; 

6. A copy of the nutrient management plan approved by 
the Department of Conservation and Recreation; 

7. A copy of the Department of Conservation and 
Recreation nutrient management plan approval letter that 
also certifies that the plan was developed by a certified 
nutrient management planner in accordance with § 10.1-
104.2 of the Code of Virginia; and 

8. The following certification: "I certify under penalty of 
law that all the requirements of the board for the general 
permit are being met and that this document and all 
attachments were prepared under my direction or 
supervision in accordance with a system designed to assure 
that qualified personnel properly gather and evaluate the 
information submitted. Based on my inquiry of the person 
or persons who manage the system or those persons 
directly responsible for gathering the information, the 
information submitted is to the best of my knowledge and 
belief true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that there 
are significant penalties for submitting false information, 
including the possibility of fine and imprisonment for 
knowing violations." 

B. C. The registration statement shall be signed in 
accordance with 9VAC25-32-50. 

9VAC25-630-50. Contents of the general permit. 

Any poultry grower, poultry waste end-user, or poultry 
waste broker whose registration statement is accepted by the 
board will receive the following general permit and shall 
comply with the requirements therein and be subject to the 
VPA Permit Regulation, 9VAC25-32.  

General Permit No. VPG2  

Effective Date: December 1, 2000  

Modification Date: January 1, 2006 

[ Modification Date: January 1, 2010 ]  

Expiration Date: November 30, 2010  

GENERAL PERMIT FOR POULTRY WASTE 
MANAGEMENT AT CONFINED POULTRY FEEDING 

OPERATIONS  

AUTHORIZATION TO MANAGE POLLUTANTS UNDER 
THE VIRGINIA POLLUTION ABATEMENT PROGRAM 
AND THE VIRGINIA STATE WATER CONTROL LAW  

In compliance with the provisions of the State Water 
Control Law and State Water Control Board regulations 
adopted pursuant thereto, owners of confined poultry feeding 
operations having 200 or more animal units, poultry waste 
end-users, and poultry waste brokers are authorized to 
manage pollutants within the boundaries of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia, except where board regulations 
or policies prohibit such activities.  

The authorized pollutant management activities shall be in 
accordance with the registration statement and supporting 
documents submitted to the Department of Environmental 
Quality, this cover page, and Part I—Pollutant Management 
and Monitoring Requirements for Confined Poultry Feeding 
Operations and Part II—Conditions Applicable to All VPA 
Permits and Part III—Pollutant Management and Monitoring 
Requirements for Poultry Waste End-Users and Poultry 
Waste Brokers, as set forth herein.  

Part I  

Pollutant Management and Monitoring Requirements for 
Confined Poultry Feeding Operations 

A. Pollutant management authorization and monitoring 
requirements.  

1. During the period beginning with the permittee's 
coverage under this general permit and lasting until the 
permit's expiration date, the permittee is authorized to 
manage pollutants at the location or locations identified in 
the registration statement and the facility's approved 
nutrient management plan.  

2. If poultry waste is land applied, it shall be applied at the 
rates specified in the facility's approved nutrient 
management plan. 

3. Soil at the land application sites shall be monitored as 
specified below. Additional soils monitoring may be 
required in the facility's approved nutrient management 
plan.  
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SOILS MONITORING  

MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 
PARAMETERS LIMITATIONS UNITS 

Frequency Sample Type 

pH NL SU 1/3 years Composite 

Phosphorus NL ppm or lbs/ac 1/3 years Composite 

Potash NL ppm or lbs/ac 1/3 years Composite 

Calcium NL ppm or lbs/ac 1/3 years Composite 

Magnesium NL ppm or lbs/ac 1/3 years Composite 

NL = No limit, this is a monitoring requirement only. 

SU = Standard Units 

4. Poultry waste shall be monitored as specified below. Additional waste monitoring may be required in the facility's 
approved nutrient management plan.  

WASTE MONITORING  

MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 
PARAMETERS LIMITATIONS UNITS 

Frequency Sample Type 

Total Kjeldahl Nitrogen NL * 1/3 years Composite 

Ammonia Nitrogen NL * 1/3 years Composite 

Total Phosphorus NL * 1/3 years Composite 

Total Potassium NL * 1/3 years Composite 

Moisture Content NL % 1/3 years Composite 

NL = No limit, this is a monitoring requirement only. 

*Parameters for waste may be reported as a percent, as lbs/ton or lbs/1000 gallons, or as ppm where appropriate. 

5. Analysis of soil and waste shall be according to methods 
specified in the facility's approved nutrient management 
plan.  

6. All monitoring data required by Part I A shall be 
maintained on site in accordance with Part II B. Reporting 
of results to the department is not required; however, the 
monitoring results shall be made available to department 
personnel upon request.  

B. Other requirements or special conditions.  

1. The confined poultry feeding operation shall be 
designed and operated to (i) prevent point source 
discharges of pollutants to state waters except in the case 
of a storm event greater than the 25-year, 24-hour storm 
and (ii) provide adequate waste storage capacity to 
accommodate periods when the ground is ice covered, 
snow covered or saturated, periods when land application 
of nutrients should not occur due to limited or nonexistent 
crop nutrient uptake, and periods when physical limitations 
prohibit the land application of waste.  

2. Poultry waste shall be stored according to the nutrient 
management plan and in a manner that prevents contact 
with surface water and ground water. Poultry waste that is 
stockpiled outside of the growing house for more than 14 
days shall be kept in a facility that provides adequate 
storage. Adequate storage shall, at a minimum, include the 
following:  

a. Poultry waste shall be covered to protect it from 
precipitation and wind;  

b. Storm water shall not run onto or under the stored 
poultry waste; and  

c. A minimum of two feet separation distance to the 
seasonal high water table or an impermeable barrier shall 
be used under the stored poultry waste. All poultry waste 
storage facilities that use an impermeable barrier shall 
maintain a minimum of one foot separation between the 
seasonal high water table and the impermeable barrier. 
"Seasonal high water table" means that portion of the soil 
profile where a color change has occurred in the soil as a 
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result of saturated soil conditions or where soil 
concretions have formed. Typical colors are gray 
mottlings, solid gray or black. The depth in the soil at 
which these conditions first occur is termed the seasonal 
high water table. Impermeable barriers must be 
constructed of at least 12 inches of compacted clay, at 
least four inches of reinforced concrete, or another 
material of similar structural integrity that has a 
minimum permeability rating of 0.0014 inches per hour 
(1X10-6 centimeters per second).  

3. Poultry waste storage facilities constructed after 
December 1, 2000, shall not be located within a 100-year 
floodplain unless the poultry grower has no land outside 
the floodplain on which to construct the facility and the 
facility is constructed so that the poultry waste is stored 
above the 100-year flood elevation or otherwise protected 
from floodwaters through the construction of berms or 
similar best management flood control structures. New, 
expanded or replacement poultry growing houses that are 
constructed after December 1, 2000, shall not be located 
within a 100-year floodplain unless they are part of an 
existing, ongoing confined poultry feeding operation and 
are constructed so that the poultry and poultry litter are 
housed above the 100-year flood elevation or otherwise 
protected from floodwaters through construction of berms 
or similar best management flood control structures.  

4. Poultry waste may be transferred from a permitted 
poultry grower to another person or broker without the 
requirement for the identification of identifying the fields 
where such waste. will be applied utilized in the facility's 
permitted poultry grower's approved nutrient management 
plan if the following conditions are met:  

a. When a poultry grower transfers to another person 
more than 10 [ five or ] more [ than 10 ] tons of poultry 
waste in any 365-day period, the poultry grower shall 
provide that person a with:  

(1) Grower name, address, and permit number;  

(2) A copy of the most recent nutrient analysis for of the 
poultry waste; and a  

(3) A fact sheet approved by the department, in 
consultation with the Department of Conservation and 
Recreation, that includes appropriate practices for proper 
storage and management of the waste. The person or 
broker receiving the waste shall provide the poultry 
grower:.  

(1) His name and address,  

(2) Written acknowledgement of receipt of the waste,  

(3) The nutrient analysis of the waste, and  

(4) The fact sheet.  

If the person receiving the waste is a poultry waste 
broker, then he shall also certify in writing that he will 
provide a copy of the nutrient analysis and fact sheet to 
each end user to whom he transfers poultry waste.  

b. When a poultry grower transfers to another person 
more than 10 [ five or ] more [ than 10 ] tons of poultry 
waste in any 365-day period, the poultry grower shall 
keep a record of the following:  

(1) The recipient name and address;  

(1) (2) The amount of poultry waste received by the 
person,;  

(2) (3) The date of the transaction,;  

(3) (4) The nutrient analysis of the waste,; and  

(4) The locality in which the recipient intends to utilize 
the waste (i.e. nearest town or city and zip code),  

(5) The name of the stream or waterbody known to the 
recipient that is nearest to the waste utilization site, and  

(6) (5) The signed waste transfer acknowledgement. 
records form acknowledging the receipt of the following:  

(a) The waste;  

(b) The nutrient analysis of the waste; and  

(c) A fact sheet.  

These records shall be maintained on site for three years 
after the transaction and shall be made available to 
department personnel upon request.  

c. Poultry waste generated by this facility shall not be 
applied to fields owned by or under the operational 
control of either the poultry grower or a legal entity in 
which the poultry grower has an ownership interest 
unless the fields are included in the facility's approved 
nutrient management plan.  

c. When a poultry grower transfers to another person 
[ five or ] more [ than 10 ] tons of poultry waste in any 
365-day period, and the recipient of the waste is someone 
other than a broker, the poultry grower shall keep a 
record of the following:  

(1) The locality in which the recipient intends to utilize 
the waste (i.e., nearest town or city and zip code); [ and ]  

(2) The name of the stream or waterbody if known to the 
recipient that is nearest to the waste utilization or storage 
site [ ; and. ]  

[ (3) If the waste is utilized for land application, if known 
indicate the method used to determine the land 
application rates (i.e., phosphorus crop removal, standard 
rate, soil test recommendations, or a nutrient 
management plan). ]  
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d. [ Poultry growers shall submit copies of the records 
required by Part I B 4 a, b, and c to the department 
annually, on a form approved by the department. Records 
for the preceding calendar year shall be submitted to the 
department not later than February 15. ] Poultry growers 
shall maintain the records required by Part I B 4 a, b, and 
c for at least three years after the transaction and shall 
make them available to department personnel upon 
request.  

e. Poultry waste generated by this facility shall not be 
applied to fields owned by or under the operational 
control of either the poultry grower or a legal entity in 
which the poultry grower has an ownership interest 
unless the fields are included in the facility's approved 
nutrient management plan.  

5. Confined poultry feeding operations that use disposal 
pits for routine disposal of daily mortalities shall not be 
covered under this general permit. The use of a disposal pit 
for routine disposal of daily poultry mortalities by a 
permittee shall be considered a violation of this permit. 
This prohibition does not apply to the emergency disposal 
of dead poultry done according to regulations adopted 
pursuant to § 3.1-726 § 3.2-6002 of the Code of Virginia or 
Chapter 14 (§ 10.1-1400 et seq.) of Title 10.1 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

6. The poultry grower shall implement a nutrient 
management plan (NMP) approved by the Department of 
Conservation and Recreation and maintain the plan on site. 
All NMP's written after December 31, 2005, shall be 
developed by a certified nutrient management planner in 
accordance with § 10.1-104.2 of the Code of Virginia. The 
NMP shall be enforceable through this permit. The NMP 
shall contain at a minimum the following information:  

a. Site map indicating the location of the waste storage 
facilities and the fields where waste generated by this 
facility will be applied by the poultry grower. The 
location of fields as identified in Part I subdivision B 4 c 
e shall also be included;  

b. Site evaluation and assessment of soil types and 
potential productivities;  

c. Nutrient management sampling including soil and 
waste monitoring;  

d. Storage and land area requirements for the grower's 
poultry waste management activities;  

e. Calculation of waste application rates; and  

f. Waste application schedules.  

7. When the poultry waste storage facility is no longer 
needed, the permittee shall close it in a manner that: (i) 
minimizes the need for further maintenance and (ii) 
controls, minimizes or eliminates, to the extent necessary 

to protect human health and the environment, the 
postclosure escape of uncontrolled leachate, surface runoff, 
or waste decomposition products to the ground water, 
surface water or the atmosphere. At closure, the permittee 
shall remove all poultry waste residue from the waste 
storage facility. At waste storage facilities without 
permanent covers and impermeable ground barriers, all 
residual poultry waste shall be removed from the surface 
below the stockpile when the poultry waste is taken out of 
storage. Removed waste materials shall be utilized 
according to the NMP.  

8. Nitrogen application rates contained in the NMP shall 
not exceed crop nutrient needs as determined by the 
Department of Conservation and Recreation. The 
application of poultry waste shall be managed to minimize 
runoff, leachate, and volatilization losses, and reduce 
adverse water quality impacts from nitrogen.  

9. For all NMPs developed after October 1, 2001, and on 
or before December 31, 2005, phosphorus application rates 
shall not exceed the greater of crop nutrient needs or crop 
nutrient removal as determined by the Department of 
Conservation and Recreation. For all NMPs developed 
after December 31, 2005, phosphorus application rates 
shall conform solely to the Department of Conservation 
and Recreation's regulatory criteria and standards in effect 
at the time the NMP is written. The application of poultry 
waste shall be managed to minimize runoff and leaching 
and reduce adverse water quality impacts from 
phosphorous.  

10. The timing of land application of poultry waste shall be 
according to the schedule contained in the NMP, except 
that no waste may be applied to ice or snow covered 
ground or to soils that are saturated. Poultry waste may be 
applied to frozen ground within the NMP scheduled times 
only under the following conditions:  

a. Slopes are not greater than 6.0%;  

b. A minimum of a 200-foot vegetative or adequate crop 
residue buffer is maintained between the application area 
and all surface water courses;  

c. Only those soils characterized by USDA as "well 
drained" with good infiltration are used; and  

d. At least 60% uniform cover by vegetation or crop 
residue is present in order to reduce surface runoff and 
the potential for leaching of nutrients to ground water.  

11. Buffer zones at waste application sites shall, at a 
minimum, be maintained as follows:  

a. Distance from occupied dwellings not on the 
permittee's property: 200 feet (unless the occupant of the 
dwelling signs a waiver of the buffer zone);  

b. Distance from water supply wells or springs: 100 feet;  
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c. Distance from surface water courses: 100 feet (without 
a permanent vegetated buffer) or 35 feet (if a permanent 
vegetated buffer exists).  

Other site-specific conservation practices may be 
approved by the department that will provide pollutant 
reductions equivalent or better than the reductions that 
would be achieved by the 100-foot buffer.  

d. Distance from rock outcropping (except limestone): 25 
feet;  

e. Distance from limestone outcroppings: 50 feet; and  

f. Waste shall not be applied in such a manner that it 
would discharge to sinkholes that may exist in the area.  

12. Records The following records shall be maintained to 
demonstrate where and at what rate waste has been 
applied, that the application schedule has been followed, 
and what crops have been planted.:  

a. The identification of the land application field sites 
where the waste is utilized or stored;  

b. The application rate;  

c. The application dates; and  

d. What crops have been planted.  

These records shall be maintained on site for a period of 
three years after recorded application is made and shall be 
made available to department personnel upon request.  

13. Each poultry grower covered by this general permit 
shall complete the a training program offered or approved 
by the Department of Conservation and Recreation 
department within one year of filing the registration 
statement has been submitted for general permit coverage. 
All poultry growers shall complete a training program at 
least once every five years.  

Part II  

Conditions Applicable to all VPA Permits  

A. Monitoring.  

1. Samples and measurements taken as required by this 
permit shall be representative of the monitored activity.  

2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to procedures 
listed under 40 CFR Part 136 unless other procedures have 
been specified in this permit.  

3. The permittee shall periodically calibrate and perform 
maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 
instrumentation at intervals that will ensure accuracy of 
measurements.  

B. Records.  

1. Records of monitoring information shall include:  

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 
measurements;  

b. The name of the individual(s) who performed the 
sampling or measurements;  

c. The date(s) analyses were performed;  

d. The name of the individual(s) who performed the 
analyses;  

e. The analytical techniques or methods used, with 
supporting information such as observations, readings, 
calculations and bench data; and  

f. The results of such analyses.  

2. The permittee shall retain records of all monitoring 
information, including all calibration and maintenance 
records and all original strip chart recordings for 
continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 
reports required by this permit, and records of all data used 
to complete the application for this permit for a period of at 
least three years from the date of the sample, measurement, 
report or application. This period of retention may be 
extended by request of the board at any time.  

C. Reporting monitoring results.  

1. The permittee shall submit the results of the monitoring 
required by this permit not later than the 10th day of the 
month after the monitoring takes place, unless another 
reporting schedule is specified elsewhere in this permit. 
Monitoring results shall be submitted to the department's 
regional office.  

2. Monitoring results shall be reported on forms provided 
or specified by the department.  

3. If the permittee monitors the pollutant management 
activity, at a sampling location specified in this permit, for 
any pollutant more frequently than required by the permit 
using approved analytical methods, the permittee shall 
report the results of this monitoring on the monitoring 
report.  

4. If the permittee monitors the pollutant management 
activity, at a sampling location specified in this permit, for 
any pollutant that is not required to be monitored by the 
permit, and uses approved analytical methods, the 
permittee shall report the results with the monitoring 
report.  

5. Calculations for all limitations that require averaging of 
measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean unless 
otherwise specified in this permit.  

D. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 
to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 
which the board may request to determine whether cause 
exists for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating 
this permit, or to determine compliance with this permit. The 
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permittee shall also furnish to the department, upon request, 
copies of records required to be kept by the permittee. Plans, 
specifications, maps, conceptual reports and other relevant 
information shall be submitted as requested by the board prior 
to commencing construction.  

E. Compliance schedule reports. Reports of compliance or 
noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 
final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of 
this permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days following 
each schedule date.  

F. Unauthorized discharges. Except in compliance with this 
permit, or another permit issued by the board, it shall be 
unlawful for any person to:  

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 
other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; or  

2. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical or biological 
properties of such state waters and make them detrimental 
to the public health, or to animal or aquatic life, or to the 
use of such waters for domestic or industrial consumption, 
or for recreation, or for other uses.  

G. Reports of unauthorized discharges. Any permittee who 
discharges or causes or allows (i) a discharge of sewage, 
industrial waste, other wastes or any noxious or deleterious 
substance into or upon state waters in violation of Part II F or 
(ii) a discharge that may reasonably be expected to enter state 
waters in violation of Part II F shall notify the department of 
the discharge immediately upon discovery of the discharge, 
but in no case later than 24 hours after said discovery. A 
written report of the unauthorized discharge shall be 
submitted to the department within five days of discovery of 
the discharge. The written report shall contain:  

1. A description of the nature and location of the discharge;  

2. The cause of the discharge;  

3. The date on which the discharge occurred;  

4. The length of time that the discharge continued;  

5. The volume of the discharge;  

6. If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected to 
continue;  

7. If the discharge is continuing, what the expected total 
volume of the discharge will be; and  

8. Any steps planned or taken to reduce, eliminate and 
prevent a recurrence of the present discharge or any future 
discharges not authorized by this permit.  

Discharges reportable to the department under the 
immediate reporting requirements of other regulations are 
exempted from this requirement.  

H. Reports of unusual or extraordinary discharges. If any 
unusual or extraordinary discharge including a bypass or 

upset should occur from a treatment works and the discharge 
enters or could be expected to enter state waters, the permittee 
shall promptly notify, in no case later than 24 hours, the 
department by telephone after the discovery of the discharge. 
This notification shall provide all available details of the 
incident, including any adverse affects on aquatic life and the 
known number of fish killed. The permittee shall reduce the 
report to writing and shall submit it to the department within 
five days of discovery of the discharge in accordance with 
Part II I 2. Unusual and extraordinary discharges include but 
are not limited to any discharge resulting from:  

1. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 
indirectly from processing operations;  

2. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment;  

3. Failure or taking out of service some or all of the 
treatment works; and  

4. Flooding or other acts of nature.  

I. Reports of noncompliance. The permittee shall report any 
noncompliance which may adversely affect state waters or 
may endanger public health.  

1. An oral report shall be provided within 24 hours from 
the time the permittee becomes aware of the 
circumstances. The following shall be included as 
information which shall be reported within 24 hours under 
this paragraph:  

a. Any unanticipated bypass; and  

b. Any upset which causes a discharge to surface waters.  

2. A written report shall be submitted within five days and 
shall contain:  

a. A description of the noncompliance and its cause;  

b. The period of noncompliance, including exact dates 
and times, and, if the noncompliance has not been 
corrected, the anticipated time it is expected to continue; 
and  

c. Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and 
prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance.  

The board may waive the written report on a case-by-case 
basis for reports of noncompliance under Part II I if the 
oral report has been received within 24 hours and no 
adverse impact on state waters has been reported.  

3. The permittee shall report all instances of 
noncompliance not reported under Part II I 1 or 2 in 
writing at the time the next monitoring reports are 
submitted. The reports shall contain the information listed 
in Part II I 2.  

NOTE: The immediate (within 24 hours) reports required in 
Parts II F, G and H may be made to the department's regional 
office. For reports outside normal working hours, leave a 
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message and this shall fulfill the immediate reporting 
requirement. For emergencies, the Virginia Department of 
Emergency Services maintains a 24-hour telephone service at 
1-800-468-8892.  

J. Notice of planned changes.  

1. The permittee shall give notice to the department as 
soon as possible of any planned physical alterations or 
additions to the design or operation of the pollutant 
management activity.  

2. The permittee shall give at least 10 days advance notice 
to the department of any planned changes in the permitted 
facility or activity that may result in noncompliance with 
permit requirements.  

K. Signatory requirements.  

1. Applications. All permit applications shall be signed as 
follows:  

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. 
For the purpose of this section, a responsible corporate 
officer means: (i) a president, secretary, treasurer, or 
vice-president of the corporation in charge of a principal 
business function, or any other person who performs 
similar policy- or decision-making functions for the 
corporation or (ii) the manager of one or more 
manufacturing, production, or operating facilities 
employing more than 250 persons or having gross annual 
sales or expenditures exceeding $25 million (in second-
quarter 1980 dollars), if authority to sign documents has 
been assigned or delegated to the manager in accordance 
with corporate procedures;  

b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 
partner or the proprietor, respectively; or  

c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 
agency: by either a principal executive officer or ranking 
elected official. For purposes of this section, a principal 
executive officer of a public agency includes: (i) the 
chief executive officer of the agency, or (ii) a senior 
executive officer having responsibility for the overall 
operations of a principal geographic unit of the agency.  

2. Reports, etc. All reports required by permits, and other 
information requested by the board shall be signed by a 
person described in Part II K 1, or by a duly authorized 
representative of that person. A person is a duly authorized 
representative only if:  

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 
described in Part II K 1;  

b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 
position having responsibility for the overall operation of 
the regulated facility or activity such as the position of 
plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, 
superintendent, or a position of equivalent responsibility. 

A duly authorized representative may thus be either a 
named individual or any individual occupying a named 
position; and  

c. The written authorization is submitted to the 
department.  

3. Changes to authorization. If an authorization under Part 
II K 2 is no longer accurate because a different individual 
or position has responsibility for the overall operation of 
the facility, a new authorization satisfying the requirements 
of Part II K 2 shall be submitted to the department prior to 
or together with any reports, or information to be signed by 
an authorized representative.  

4. Certification. Any person signing a document under Part 
II K 1 or 2 shall make the following certification: "I certify 
under penalty of law that this document and all 
attachments were prepared under my direction or 
supervision in accordance with a system designed to assure 
that qualified personnel properly gather and evaluate the 
information submitted. Based on my inquiry of the person 
or persons who manage the system, or those persons 
directly responsible for gathering the information, the 
information submitted is, to the best of my knowledge and 
belief, true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that there 
are significant penalties for submitting false information, 
including the possibility of fine and imprisonment for 
knowing violations."  

L. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 
conditions of this permit. Any permit noncompliance 
constitutes a violation of the State Water Control Law. Permit 
noncompliance is grounds for enforcement action; for permit 
termination, revocation and reissuance, or modification; or 
denial of a permit renewal application. Compliance with a 
permit during its term constitutes compliance, for purposes of 
enforcement, with the State Water Control Law.  

M. Duty to reapply. If the permittee wishes to continue an 
activity regulated by this permit after the expiration date of 
this permit, the permittee shall apply for and obtain a new 
permit. All permittees with a currently effective permit shall 
submit a new application at least 180 days before the 
expiration date of the existing permit unless permission for a 
later date has been granted by the board. The board shall not 
grant permission for applications to be submitted later than 
the expiration date of the existing permit.  

N. Effect of a permit. This permit does not convey any 
property rights in either real or personal property or any 
exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to 
private property or invasion of personal rights, or any 
infringement of federal, state or local law or regulations.  

O. State law. Nothing in this permit shall be construed to 
preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve 
the permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties 
established pursuant to any other state law or regulation or 
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under authority preserved by § 510 of the federal Clean Water 
Act. Except as provided in permit conditions on bypassing 
(Part II U), and upset (Part II V), nothing in this permit shall 
be construed to relieve the permittee from civil and criminal 
penalties for noncompliance.  

P. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 
permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any 
legal action or relieve the permittee from any responsibilities, 
liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee is or may be 
subject under §§ 62.1-44.34:14 through 62.1-44.34:23 of the 
State Water Control Law.  

Q. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee shall be 
responsible for the proper operation and maintenance of all 
treatment works, systems and controls which are installed or 
used to achieve compliance with the conditions of this permit. 
Proper operation and maintenance includes effective plant 
performance, adequate funding, adequate staffing, and 
adequate laboratory and process controls, including 
appropriate quality assurance procedures.  

R. Disposal of solids or sludges. Solids, sludges or other 
pollutants removed in the course of treatment or management 
of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner so as to prevent 
any pollutant from such materials from entering state waters.  

S. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 
steps to minimize or prevent any pollutant management 
activity in violation of this permit which has a reasonable 
likelihood of adversely affecting human health or the 
environment.  

T. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not 
be a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it 
would have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted 
activity in order to maintain compliance with the conditions 
of this permit.  

U. Bypass.  

1. Prohibition. "Bypass" means intentional diversion of 
waste streams from any portion of a treatment works. A 
bypass of the treatment works is prohibited except as 
provided herein.  

2. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance of 
the need for a bypass, he shall notify the department 
promptly at least 10 days prior to the bypass. After 
considering its adverse effects, the board may approve an 
anticipated bypass if:  

a. The bypass will be unavoidable to prevent loss of 
human life, personal injury, or severe property damage. 
"Severe property damage" means substantial physical 
damage to property, damage to the treatment facilities 
which causes them to become inoperable, or substantial 
and permanent loss of natural resources which can 
reasonably be expected to occur in the absence of a 

bypass. "Severe property damage" does not mean 
economic loss caused by delays in production; and  

b. There are no feasible alternatives to bypass such as the 
use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention of untreated 
waste, or maintenance during normal periods of 
equipment downtime. However, if bypass occurs during 
normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive 
maintenance and in the exercise of reasonable 
engineering judgment the permittee could have installed 
adequate backup equipment to prevent such bypass, this 
exclusion shall not apply as a defense.  

3. Unplanned bypass. If an unplanned bypass occurs, the 
permittee shall notify the department as soon as possible, 
but in no case later than 24 hours, and shall take steps to 
halt the bypass as early as possible. This notification will 
be a condition for defense to an enforcement action that an 
unplanned bypass met the conditions in paragraphs U 2 a 
and b and in light of the information reasonably available 
to the permittee at the time of the bypass.  

V. Upset. A permittee may claim an upset as an affirmative 
defense to an action brought for noncompliance. In any 
enforcement proceedings a permittee shall have the burden of 
proof to establish the occurrence of any upset. In order to 
establish an affirmative defense of upset, the permittee shall 
present properly signed, contemporaneous operating logs or 
other relevant evidence that shows:  

1. That an upset occurred and that the cause can be 
identified;  

2. That the permitted facility was at the time being 
operated efficiently and in compliance with proper 
operation and maintenance procedures;  

3. That the 24-hour reporting requirements to the 
department were met; and  

4. That the permittee took all reasonable steps to minimize 
or correct any adverse impact on state waters resulting 
from noncompliance with the permit.  

W. Inspection and entry. Upon presentation of credentials, 
any duly authorized agent of the board may, at reasonable 
times and under reasonable circumstances:  

1. Enter upon any permittee's property, public or private 
and have access to records required by this permit;  

2. Have access to, inspect and copy any records that must 
be kept as part of permit conditions;  

3. Inspect any facility's equipment (including monitoring 
and control equipment) practices or operations regulated or 
required under the permit; and  

4. Sample or monitor any substances or parameters at any 
locations for the purpose of assuring permit compliance or 
as otherwise authorized by the State Water Control Law.  
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For purposes of this section, the time for inspection shall be 
deemed reasonable during regular business hours, and 
whenever the facility is involved in managing pollutants. 
Nothing contained herein shall make an inspection 
unreasonable during an emergency.  

X. Permit actions. Permits may be modified, revoked and 
reissued, or terminated for cause upon the request of the 
permittee or interested persons, or upon the board's initiative. 
If a permittee files a request for a permit modification, 
revocation, or termination, or files a notification of planned 
changes, or anticipated noncompliance, the permit terms and 
conditions shall remain effective until the request is acted 
upon by the board. This provision shall not be used to extend 
the expiration date of the effective VPA permit.  

Y. Transfer of permits.  

1. Permits are not transferable to any person except after 
notice to the department. The board may require 
modification or revocation and reissuance of the permit to 
change the name of the permittee and to incorporate such 
other requirements as may be necessary. Except as 
provided in Part II Y 2, a permit may be transferred by the 
permittee to a new owner or operator only if the permit has 
been modified to reflect the transfer or has been revoked 
and reissued to the new owner or operator.  

2. As an alternative to transfers under Part II Y 1, this 
permit shall be automatically transferred to a new 
permittee if:  

a. The current permittee notifies the department at least 
30 days in advance of the proposed transfer of the title to 
the facility or property;  

b. The notice includes a written agreement between the 
existing and new permittees containing a specific date for 

transfer of permit responsibility, coverage, and liability 
between them; and  

c. The board does not, within the 30-day time period, 
notify the existing permittee and the proposed new 
permittee of its intent to modify or revoke and reissue the 
permit.  

Z. Severability. The provisions of this permit are severable 
and, if any provision of this permit or the application of any 
provision of this permit to any circumstance is held invalid, 
the application of such provision to other circumstances and 
the remainder of this permit shall not be affected thereby.  

Part III  

Pollutant Management and Monitoring Requirements for 
Poultry Waste End-Users and Poultry Brokers 

A. Pollutant management authorization and monitoring 
requirements.  

1. During the period beginning with the permittee's 
coverage under this general permit and lasting until the 
permit's expiration date, the permittee is authorized to 
manage pollutants at the location or locations identified in 
the registration statement and the permittee's approved 
nutrient management plan.  

2. If poultry waste is land applied on land under the 
permittee’s operational control, it shall be applied at the 
rates specified in the permittee's approved nutrient 
management plan.  

3. Soil at the land application sites shall be monitored as 
specified below. Additional soils monitoring may be 
required in the permittee's approved nutrient management 
plan.  

SOILS MONITORING  

MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 
PARAMETERS LIMITATIONS UNITS 

Frequency Sample Type 

pH NL SU 1/3 years Composite 

Phosphorus NL ppm or lbs/ac 1/3 years Composite 

Potash NL ppm or lbs/ac 1/3 years Composite 

Calcium NL ppm or lbs/ac 1/3 years Composite 

Magnesium NL ppm or lbs/ac 1/3 years Composite 

NL = No limit, this is a monitoring requirement only. 

SU = Standard Units 

4. Poultry waste shall be monitored as specified below. Additional waste monitoring may be required in the permittee's 
approved nutrient management plan.  
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WASTE MONITORING  

MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 
PARAMETERS LIMITATIONS UNITS 

Frequency Sample Type 

Total Kjeldahl Nitrogen NL * 1/3 years Composite 

Ammonia Nitrogen NL * 1/3 years Composite 

Total Phosphorus NL * 1/3 years Composite 

Total Potassium NL * 1/3 years Composite 

Moisture Content NL % 1/3 years Composite 

NL = No limit, this is a monitoring requirement only. 

*Parameters for waste may be reported as a percent, as lbs/ton or lbs/1000 gallons, or as ppm where appropriate. 

5. If waste from two or more poultry waste sources is 
commingled or stored then a sample that best represents 
the waste shall be used to calculate the nutrients available 
in the poultry waste for land application and shall be 
provided to the end-user of the waste.  

6. Analysis of soil and waste shall be according to methods 
specified in the permittee's approved nutrient management 
plan.  

7. All monitoring data required by Part III A shall be 
maintained on site in accordance with Part II B. Reporting 
of results to the department is not required; however, the 
monitoring results shall be made available to department 
personnel upon request.  

B. Other requirements or special conditions.  

1. Poultry waste storage facilities shall be designed and 
operated to (i) prevent point source discharges of pollutants 
to state waters except in the case of a storm event greater 
than the 25-year, 24-hour storm and (ii) provide adequate 
waste storage capacity to accommodate periods when the 
ground is ice covered, snow covered or saturated, periods 
when land application of nutrients should not occur due to 
limited or nonexistent crop nutrient uptake, and periods 
when physical limitations prohibit the land application of 
waste.  

2. Poultry waste shall be stored according to the approved 
nutrient management plan and in a manner that prevents 
contact with surface water and ground water. Poultry waste 
that is stockpiled outside for more than 14 days shall be 
kept in a facility that provides adequate storage. Adequate 
storage shall, at a minimum, include the following:  

a. Poultry waste shall be covered to protect it from 
precipitation and wind;  

b. Storm water shall not run onto or under the stored 
poultry waste; and  

c. A minimum of two feet separation distance to the 
seasonal high water table or an impermeable barrier shall 
be used under the stored poultry waste. All poultry waste 
storage facilities that use an impermeable barrier shall 
maintain a minimum of one foot separation between the 
seasonal high water table and the impermeable barrier. 
"Seasonal high water table" means that portion of the soil 
profile where a color change has occurred in the soil as a 
result of saturated soil conditions or where soil 
concretions have formed. Typical colors are gray 
mottlings, solid gray, or black. The depth in the soil at 
which these conditions first occur is termed the seasonal 
high water table. Impermeable barriers must be 
constructed of at least 12 inches of compacted clay, at 
least four inches of reinforced concrete, or another 
material of similar structural integrity that has a 
minimum permeability rating of 0.0014 inches per hour 
(1X10-6 centimeters per second).  

3. Poultry waste storage facilities constructed after 
December 1, 2000, shall not be located within a 100-year 
floodplain unless there is no land available outside the 
floodplain on which to construct the facility and the facility 
is constructed so that the poultry waste is stored above the 
100-year flood elevation or otherwise protected from 
floodwaters through the construction of berms or similar 
best management flood control structures.  

4. When a poultry waste end-user or poultry waste broker 
receives, possesses, or has control over [ five or ] more 
[ than 10 ] tons of transferred poultry waste in any 365-day 
period, he shall provide the person from whom he received 
the poultry waste with:  

a. The end-user or broker name, address, and permit 
number;  

b. If the recipient of the poultry waste is an end-user, 
then he shall also provide the person from whom he 
received the poultry waste the following information:  
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(1) The locality in which the recipient intends to utilize 
the waste (i.e., nearest town or city and zip code);  

(2) The name of the stream or waterbody if known to the 
recipient that is nearest to the waste utilization or storage 
site;  

c. Written acknowledgement of receipt of:  

(1) The waste;  

(2) The nutrient analysis of the waste; and  

(3) The fact sheet.  

If the person receiving the waste is a poultry waste broker, 
then he shall also certify in writing that he will provide a 
copy of the nutrient analysis and fact sheet to each end user 
to whom he transfers poultry waste.  

5. When a poultry waste broker transfers or hauls poultry 
waste to other persons, he shall provide the person who 
received the poultry waste with:  

a. Broker name, address, and permit number;  

b. The nutrient analysis of the waste; and  

c. A fact sheet.  

6. When a poultry waste end-user or poultry waste broker 
is a recipient of [ five or ] more [ than 10 ] tons of 
transferred poultry waste in any 365-day period, the 
poultry waste end-user or poultry waste broker shall keep a 
record regarding the transferred poultry waste:  

a. The following items shall be recorded regarding the 
source of the transferred poultry waste:  

(1) The source name and address;  

(2) The amount of poultry waste received from the 
source; and  

(3) The date the poultry waste was acquired.  

b. The following items shall be recorded regarding the 
recipient of the transferred poultry waste:  

(1) The recipient name and address;  

(2) The amount of poultry waste received by the person;  

(3) The date of the transaction;  

(4) The nutrient content of the waste;  

(5) The locality in which the recipient intends to utilize 
the waste (i.e., nearest town or city and zip code);  

(6) The name of the stream or waterbody if known to the 
recipient that is nearest to the waste utilization or storage 
site; [ and ]  

[ (7) If the waste is utilized for land application, if known 
indicate the method used to determine the land 
application rates (i.e., phosphorus crop removal, standard 

rate, soil test recommendations, or a nutrient 
management plan); and 

(8) (7) ] The signed waste transfer records form 
acknowledging the receipt of the following:  

(a) The waste;  

(b) The nutrient analysis of the waste; and  

(c) A fact sheet.  

7. [ End-users or brokers shall submit copies of the records 
required by Part III B 6 to the department annually on a 
form approved by the department. Records for the 
preceding calendar year shall be submitted to the 
department not later than February 15. ] End-users or 
brokers shall maintain the records required by Part III B 6 
for at least three years after the transaction and make them 
available to department personnel upon request.  

8. If poultry waste is also generated by this facility it shall 
not be applied to fields owned by or under the operational 
control of either the permittee or a legal entity in which the 
permittee has an ownership interest unless the fields are 
included in the permittee’s approved nutrient management 
plan.  

9. Poultry feeding operations that use disposal pits for 
routine disposal of daily mortalities shall not be covered 
under this general permit. The use of a disposal pit for 
routine disposal of daily poultry mortalities by a permittee 
shall be considered a violation of this permit. This 
prohibition does not apply to the emergency disposal of 
dead poultry done according to regulations adopted 
pursuant to § 3.2-6002 of the Code of Virginia or Chapter 
14 (§ 10.1-1400 et seq.) of Title 10.1 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

10. The permittee shall implement a nutrient management 
plan (NMP) approved by the Department of Conservation 
and Recreation and maintain the plan on site. All NMP's 
written after December 31, 2005, shall be developed by a 
certified nutrient management planner in accordance with 
§ 10.1-104.2 of the Code of Virginia. The NMP shall be 
enforceable through this permit. The NMP shall contain at 
a minimum the following information:  

a. Site map indicating the location of the waste storage 
facilities and the fields where waste will be applied by 
the permittee. The location of fields as identified in Part 
III B 8 shall also be included;  

b. Site evaluation and assessment of soil types and 
potential productivities;  

c. Nutrient management sampling including soil and 
waste monitoring;  

d. Storage and land area requirements for the permittee's 
poultry waste management activities;  
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e. Calculation of waste application rates; and  

f. Waste application schedules.  

11. When the poultry waste storage facility is no longer 
needed, the permittee shall close it in a manner that: (i) 
minimizes the need for further maintenance and (ii) 
controls, minimizes, or eliminates, to the extent necessary 
to protect human health and the environment, the 
postclosure escape of uncontrolled leachate, surface runoff, 
or waste decomposition products to the ground water, 
surface water, or the atmosphere. At closure, the permittee 
shall remove all poultry waste residue from the waste 
storage facility. At waste storage facilities without 
permanent covers and impermeable ground barriers, all 
residual poultry waste shall be removed from the surface 
below the stockpile when the poultry waste is taken out of 
storage. Removed waste materials shall be utilized 
according to the NMP.  

12. Nitrogen application rates contained in the NMP shall 
not exceed crop nutrient needs as determined by the 
Department of Conservation and Recreation. The 
application of poultry waste shall be managed to minimize 
runoff, leachate, and volatilization losses, and reduce 
adverse water quality impacts from nitrogen.  

13. Phosphorus application rates shall conform solely to 
the Department of Conservation and Recreation's 
regulatory criteria and standards in effect at the time the 
NMP is written. The application of poultry waste shall be 
managed to minimize runoff and leaching and reduce 
adverse water quality impacts from phosphorous.  

14. The timing of land application of poultry waste shall be 
according to the schedule contained in the NMP, except 
that no waste may be applied to ice- or snow-covered 
ground or to soils that are saturated. Poultry waste may be 
applied to frozen ground within the NMP scheduled times 
only under the following conditions:  

a. Slopes are not greater than 6.0%;  

b. A minimum of a 200-foot vegetative or adequate crop 
residue buffer is maintained between the application area 
and all surface water courses;  

c. Only those soils characterized by USDA as "well 
drained" with good infiltration are used; and  

d. At least 60% uniform cover by vegetation or crop 
residue is present in order to reduce surface runoff and 
the potential for leaching of nutrients to ground water.  

15. Buffer zones at waste application sites shall, at a 
minimum, be maintained as follows:  

a. Distance from occupied dwellings not on the 
permittee's property: 200 feet (unless the occupant of the 
dwelling signs a waiver of the buffer zone);  

b. Distance from water supply wells or springs: 100 feet;  

c. Distance from surface water courses: 100 feet (without 
a permanent vegetated buffer) or 35 feet (if a permanent 
vegetated buffer exists). Other site-specific conservation 
practices may be approved by the department that will 
provide pollutant reductions equivalent or better than the 
reductions that would be achieved by the 100-foot buffer; 

d. Distance from rock outcropping (except limestone): 25 
feet;  

e. Distance from limestone outcroppings: 50 feet; and  

f. Waste shall not be applied in such a manner that it 
would discharge to sinkholes that may exist in the area.  

16. The following records shall be maintained:  

a. The identification of the land application field sites 
where the waste is utilized or stored;  

b. The application rate;  

c. The application dates; and  

d. What crops have been planted.  

These records shall be maintained on site for a period of 
three years after recorded application is made and shall be 
made available to department personnel upon request.  

17. Each poultry waste end-user or poultry waste broker 
covered by this general permit shall complete a training 
program offered or approved by the department within one 
year of filing the registration statement for general permit 
coverage. All poultry waste end-users or poultry waste 
brokers shall complete a training program at least once 
every five years. 

9VAC25-630-60. Tracking and accounting requirements 
for poultry waste brokers. 

A. Poultry waste brokers shall keep a record of the source of 
the poultry waste in their possession, the amount of poultry 
waste received from the source, and the date the poultry waste 
was acquired register with the department by providing their 
name and address on a form approved by the department prior 
to transferring poultry waste.  

B. When a poultry waste broker transfers to another person 
more than 10 [ five or more than 10 ] tons of poultry waste in 
any 365-day period, the poultry waste broker shall provide to 
the recipient of the waste copies of the most recent nutrient 
analysis for the poultry waste and a fact sheet approved by the 
department that includes appropriate practices for proper 
storage and management of the waste. The person receiving 
the waste shall provide the poultry waste broker his name and 
address and acknowledge in writing receipt of the waste, the 
nutrient analysis and the fact sheet. information regarding the 
transfer of poultry waste to both the source and recipient of 
the waste.  
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1. The broker name and address shall be provided to the 
source of the transferred poultry waste:  

2. The following items shall be provided to the recipient of 
the transferred poultry waste:  

a. The broker name and address;  

b. The most recent nutrient analysis of the poultry waste; 
and  

c. A fact sheet.  

C. When a poultry waste broker transfers to another person 
more than 10 [ five or more than 10 ] tons of poultry waste in 
any 365-day period, the poultry waste broker shall keep a 
record of the amount of poultry waste received by the person, 
the date of the transaction, the nutrient content of the waste, 
the locality in which the recipient intends to utilize the waste 
(i.e., nearest town or city and zip code), the name of the 
stream or waterbody known to the recipient that is nearest to 
the waste utilization site, and the signed waste transfer 
acknowledgement records regarding the transferred poultry 
waste.  

1. The following items shall be recorded regarding the 
source of the transferred poultry waste:  

a. The source name and address;  

b. The amount of the poultry waste received from the 
source; and  

c. The date the poultry waste was acquired.  

2. The following items shall be recorded regarding the 
recipient of the transferred poultry waste:  

a. The recipient name and address;  

b. The amount of poultry waste received by the person;  

c. The date of the transaction;  

d. The nutrient content of the waste; 

e. The locality in which the recipient intends to utilize the 
waste (i.e., nearest town or city and zip code);  

f. The name of the stream of waterbody if known to the 
recipient that is nearest to the waste utilization or storage 
site; [ and ]  

[ g. If the waste is utilized for land application, if known 
indicate the method used to determine the land 
application rates (i.e., phosphorus crop removal, standard 
rate, soil test recommendations, or a nutrient 
management plan); and  

h. g. ] The signed waste transfer records form 
acknowledging the receipt of the following:  

(1) The waste;  

(2) The nutrient analysis of the waste; and  

(3) A fact sheet.  

D. Poultry waste brokers shall submit copies of the records 
required by subsections A and subsection C of this section, 
except the waste transfer acknowledgement, to the 
department annually using a form approved by the 
department. Records for the preceding calendar year shall be 
submitted to the department not later than February 15. 
Poultry waste brokers shall maintain the records required by 
subsections A and subsection C of this section for at least 
three years and make them available to department personnel 
upon request. 

E. If waste from two or more poultry waste sources is 
commingled or stored then a sample that best represents the 
waste shall be used to calculate the nutrients available in the 
poultry waste for land application and shall be provided to the 
end-user of the waste.  

F. If the poultry waste broker land applies the poultry waste 
for the end-user then the broker shall provide the end-user 
with the records regarding land application as required by 
9VAC25-630-70.  

G. Poultry waste brokers shall complete a training program 
offered or approved by the department within one year of 
registering with the department. Poultry waste brokers shall 
complete a training program at least once every five years.  

H. Any duly authorized agent of the board may, at 
reasonable times and under reasonable circumstances, enter 
any establishment or upon any property, public or private, for 
the purpose of obtaining information or conducting surveys or 
investigations necessary in the enforcement of the provisions 
of this regulation. 

9VAC25-630-70. Tracking and accounting requirements 
for poultry waste end-users.  

A. When a poultry waste end-user is the recipient of [ five 
or ] more [ than 10 ] tons of poultry waste in any 365-day 
period, the end-user shall maintain records regarding the 
transfer and land application of poultry waste.  

1. The poultry waste end-user shall provide the permitted 
poultry grower or poultry waste broker with the following 
items:  

a. End-user name and address;  

b. The locality in which the end-user intends to utilize the 
waste (i.e., nearest town or city and zip code);  

c. The name of the stream or waterbody if known to the 
end-user that is nearest to the waste utilization or storage 
site; [ and ]  

[ d. If the waste is utilized for land application, if known 
indicate the method used to determine the land 
application rates (i.e., phosphorus crop removal, standard 
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rate, soil test recommendations, or a nutrient 
management plan); and  

e. d. ] Written acknowledgement of receipt of:  

(1) The waste;  

(2) The nutrient analysis of the waste; and  

(3) A fact sheet.  

2. The poultry waste end-user shall record the following 
items regarding the waste transfer:  

a. The source name, address, and permit number (if 
applicable);  

b. The amount of poultry waste that was received;  

c. The date of the transaction;  

d. The final use of the poultry waste;  

e. The locality in which the waste was utilized (i.e., 
nearest town or city and zip code); and 

f. The name of the stream or waterbody if known to the 
recipient that is nearest to the waste utilization or storage 
site. 

Records regarding poultry waste transfers shall be 
maintained on site for a period of three years after the 
transaction. All records shall be made available to 
department personnel upon request.  

3. If waste is land applied, the poultry waste end-user shall 
keep a record of the following items regarding the land 
application of the waste:  

a. The nutrient analysis of the waste;  

b. Maps indicating the poultry waste land application 
fields and storage sites;  

c. The land application rate;  

d. The land application dates;  

e. What crops were planted;  

f. Soil test results, if obtained;  

g. NMP, if applicable; and  

h. The method used to determine the land application 
rates (i.e., phosphorus crop removal, standard rate, soil 
test recommendations, or a nutrient management plan). 

Records regarding land application of poultry waste shall 
be maintained on site for a period of three years after the 
recorded application is made. All records shall be made 
available to department personnel upon request.  

B. Any duly authorized agent of the board may, at 
reasonable times and under reasonable circumstances, enter 
any establishment or upon any property, public or private, for 
the purpose of obtaining information or conducting surveys or 

investigations necessary in the enforcement of the provisions 
of this regulation. 

9VAC25-630-80. Utilization and storage requirements for 
transferred poultry waste. 

A. Any poultry waste end-user or poultry waste broker who 
receives poultry waste shall comply with the requirements 
outlined in the following sections.  

B. Storage requirements. Any poultry waste end-user or 
poultry waste broker who receives poultry waste shall comply 
with the requirements outlined in this section regarding 
storage of poultry waste in their possession or under their 
control.  

1. Poultry waste shall be stored in a manner that prevents 
contact with surface water and ground water. Poultry waste 
that is stockpiled outside for more than 14 days shall be 
kept in a facility or at a site that provides adequate storage. 
Adequate storage shall, at a minimum, include the 
following:  

a. Poultry waste shall be covered to protect it from 
precipitation and wind;  

b. Storm water shall not run onto or under the stored 
poultry waste;  

c. A minimum of two feet separation distance to the 
seasonal high water table or an impermeable barrier shall 
be used under the stored poultry waste. All poultry waste 
storage facilities that use an impermeable barrier shall 
maintain a minimum of one foot separation between the 
seasonal high water table and the impermeable barrier. 
"Seasonal high water table" means that portion of the soil 
profile where a color change has occurred in the soil as a 
result of saturated soil conditions or where soil 
concretions have formed. Typical colors are gray 
mottlings, solid gray, or black. The depth in the soil at 
which these conditions first occur is termed the seasonal 
high water table. Impermeable barriers shall be 
constructed of at least 12 inches of compacted clay, at 
least four inches of reinforced concrete, or another 
material of similar structural integrity that has a 
minimum permeability rating of 0.0014 inches per hour 
(1X10-6 centimeters per second); and 

d. For poultry waste that is not stored under roof, the 
storage site must be at least 100 feet from any surface 
water, intermittent drainage, wells, sinkholes, rock 
outcrops, and springs.  

2. Poultry waste storage facilities constructed after 
December 1, 2000, shall not be located within a 100-year 
floodplain unless there is no land available outside the 
floodplain on which to construct the facility and the facility 
is constructed so that the poultry waste is stored above the 
100-year flood elevation or otherwise protected from 
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floodwaters through the construction of berms or similar 
best management flood control structures.  

C. Land application requirements. Any poultry waste end-
user or poultry waste broker who (i) receives five or more 
tons of poultry waste in any 365-day period and (ii) land 
applies poultry waste shall follow appropriate land 
application requirements as outlined in this section. The 
application of poultry waste shall be managed to minimize 
adverse water quality impacts.  

1. The maximum application rates can be established by 
the following methods:  

a. Phosphorus crop removal application rates can be used 
when:  

(1) Soil test phosphorus levels do not exceed the values 
listed in the table below:  

Region Soil test P (ppm) 

VPI & SU Soil test 
(Mehlich I) * 

Eastern Shore and Lower 
Coastal Plain 

135 

Middle and Upper Coastal 
Plain and Piedmont 

136 

Ridge and Valley 162 

* If results are from another laboratory the Department of 
Conservation and Recreation approved conversion factors 
must be used.  

(2) The phosphorus crop removal application rates are set 
forth by regulations promulgated by the Department of 
Conservation and Recreation in accordance with § 10.1-
104.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

b. Poultry waste may be applied to any crop at the 
standard rate of 1.5 tons per acre once every three years 
when:  

(1) In the absence of current soil sample analyses and 
recommendations; and  

(2) Nutrients have not been supplied by an organic 
source, other than pastured animals, to the proposed land 
application sites within the previous three years of the 
proposed land application date of poultry waste.  

c. Soil test recommendations can be used when:  

(1) Accompanied by analysis results for soil tests that 
have been obtained from the proposed field or fields in 
the last three years;  

(2) Provided by a laboratory whose procedures and 
recommendations are approved by the Department of 
Conservation and Recreation; and  

(3) Nutrients from the waste application do not exceed 
the nitrogen or phosphorus recommendations for the 
proposed crop or double crops listed on the soil test 
recommendation.  

d. A nutrient management plan developed by a certified 
nutrient management planner in accordance with § 10.1-
104.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

2. The timing of land application of poultry waste shall be 
appropriate for the crop, and in accordance with 
regulations promulgated by the Department of 
Conservation and Recreation in accordance with § 10.1-
104.2 of the Code of Virginia, except that no waste may be 
applied to ice- or snow-covered ground or to soils that are 
saturated. Poultry waste may be applied to frozen ground 
under the following conditions:  

a. Slopes are not greater than 6.0%;  

b. A minimum of a 200-foot vegetative or adequate crop 
residue buffer is maintained between the application area 
and all surface water courses;  

c. Only those soils characterized by USDA as "well 
drained" with good infiltration are used; and  

d. At least 60% uniform cover by vegetation or crop 
residue is present in order to reduce surface runoff and 
the potential for leaching of nutrients to ground water.  

3. Buffer zones at waste application sites shall, at a 
minimum, be maintained as follows:  

a. Distance from occupied dwellings: 200 feet (unless the 
occupant of the dwelling signs a waiver of the buffer 
zone);  

b. Distance from water supply wells or springs: 100 feet; 

c. Distance from surface water courses: 100 feet (without 
a permanent vegetated buffer) or 35 feet (if a permanent 
vegetated buffer exists). Other site-specific conservation 
practices may be approved by the department that will 
provide pollutant reductions equivalent or better than the 
reductions that would be achieved by the 100-foot buffer;  

d. Distance from rock outcropping (except limestone): 25 
feet;  

e. Distance from limestone outcroppings: 50 feet; and  

f. Waste shall not be applied in such a manner that it 
would discharge to sinkholes that may exist in the area.  

D. Poultry waste end-users or poultry waste brokers shall 
maintain the records demonstrating compliance with the 
requirements of [ Part III A through subsections B and ] C for 
at least three years and make them available to department 
personnel upon request. 

E. The activities of the poultry waste end-user or poultry 
waste broker shall not contravene the Water Quality 
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Standards, as amended and adopted by the board, or any 
provision of the State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44 et seq. 
of the Code of Virginia). 

F. Any duly authorized agent of the board may, at 
reasonable times and under reasonable circumstances, enter 
any establishment or upon any property, public or private, for 
the purpose of obtaining information or conducting surveys or 
investigations necessary in the enforcement of the provisions 
of this regulation. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are listed below. Any amended or added forms are 
reflected in the listing and are published following the listing. 

FORMS (9VAC25-630) 

Registration Statement, VPA General Permit for Poultry 
Waste Management for Poultry Growers, RS VPS2 (rev. 
12/1/00) VPG2 (rev. 12/09).  

Registration Statement, VPA General Permit for Poultry 
Waste Management for Poultry Waste End-Users and 
Brokers, RS VPG2 (rev. 12/09).  
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VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1062; Filed November 4, 2009, 11:24 a.m.  
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Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 
claiming an exclusion from the Administrative Process Act in 
accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to 
changes in Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion 
is involved. The State Water Control Board will receive, 
consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person at 
any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-720. Water Quality 
Management Planning Regulation (amending 9VAC25-
720-50, 9VAC25-720-110).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 
33 USC § 1313(e) of the Clean Water Act. 

Effective Date: December 23, 2009.  

Agency Contact: John M. Kennedy, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4312, FAX (804) 
698-4032, or email john.kennedy@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments extend the deadline for securing a 
Certificate to Operate (CTO) for expanded design flow and 
associated nutrient waste load allocations for 
Harrisonburg-Rockingham Regional S.A.-North River 
STP, Fauquier Co. W&SA-Vint Hill STP, and Onancock 
STP from December 31, 2010, to December 31, 2011. 

9VAC25-720-50. Potomac-Shenandoah River Basin. 

A. Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDLs). 

TMDL 
# Stream Name TMDL Title City/County WBID Pollutant WLA Units 

1. Muddy Creek 

Nitrate TMDL 
Development for Muddy 
Creek/Dry River, 
Virginia 

Rockingham B21R Nitrate 49,389.00 LB/YR 

2. Blacks Run 
TMDL Development for 
Blacks Run and Cooks 
Creek 

Rockingham B25R Sediment 32,844.00 LB/YR 

3. Cooks Creek 
TMDL Development for 
Blacks Run and Cooks 
Creek 

Rockingham B25R Sediment 69,301.00 LB/YR 

4. Cooks Creek 
TMDL Development for 
Blacks Run and Cooks 
Creek 

Rockingham B25R Phosphorus 0 LB/YR 

5. Muddy Creek 
TMDL Development for 
Muddy Creek and 
Holmans Creek, Virginia 

Rockingham B22R Sediment 286,939.00 LB/YR 

6. Muddy Creek 
TMDL Development for 
Muddy Creek and 
Holmans Creek, Virginia 

Rockingham B22R Phosphorus 38.00 LB/YR 

7. Holmans 
Creek 

TMDL Development for 
Muddy Creek and 
Holmans Creek, Virginia 

Rockingham/ 
Shenandoah B45R Sediment 78,141.00 LB/YR 

8. Mill Creek 
TMDL Development for 
Mill Creek and Pleasant 
Run 

Rockingham B29R Sediment 276.00 LB/YR 

9. Mill Creek 
TMDL Development for 
Mill Creek and Pleasant 
Run 

Rockingham B29R Phosphorus 138.00 LB/YR 
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10. Pleasant Run 
TMDL Development for 
Mill Creek and Pleasant 
Run 

Rockingham B27R Sediment 0.00 LB/YR 

11. Pleasant Run 
TMDL Development for 
Mill Creek and Pleasant 
Run 

Rockingham B27R Phosphorus 0.00 LB/YR 

12. Linville Creek 

Total Maximum Load 
Development for Linville 
Creek: Bacteria and 
Benthic Impairments 

Rockingham B46R Sediment 5.50 TONS/YR 

13. Quail Run Benthic TMDL for Quail 
Run Rockingham B35R Ammonia 7,185.00 KG/YR 

14. Quail Run Benthic TMDL for Quail 
Run Rockingham B35R Chlorine 27.63 KG/YR 

15. Shenandoah 
River 

Development of 
Shenandoah River PCB 
TMDL (South Fork and 
Main Stem) 

Warren & 
Clarke 

B41R 
B55R 
B57R 
B58R 

PCBs 179.38 G/YR 

16. Shenandoah 
River 

Development of 
Shenandoah River PCB 
TMDL (North Fork) 

Warren & 
Clarke B51R PCBs 0.00 G/YR 

17. Shenandoah 
River 

Development of 
Shenandoah River PCB 
TMDL (Main Stem) 

Warren & 
Clarke WV PCBs 179.38 G/YR 

18. Cockran 
Spring 

Benthic TMDL Reports 
for Six Impaired Stream 
Segments in the 
Potomac-Shenandoah 
and James River Basins  

Augusta B10R Organic 
Solids 1,556.00 LB/YR 

19. Lacey Spring 

Benthic TMDL Reports 
for Six Impaired Stream 
Segments in the 
Potomac-Shenandoah 
and James River Basins  

Rockingham B47R Organic 
Solids 680.00 LB/YR 

20. Orndorff 
Spring 

Benthic TMDL Reports 
for Six Impaired Stream 
Segments in the 
Potomac-Shenandoah 
and James River Basins  

Shenandoah B52R Organic 
Solids 103.00 LB/YR 

21. Toms Brook 
Benthic TMDL for Toms 
Brook in Shenandoah 
County, Virginia  

Shenandoah B50R Sediment 8.1 T/YR 

22. Goose Creek Benthic TMDLs for the 
Goose Creek Watershed 

Loudoun, 
Fauquier A08R Sediment 1,587 T/YR 

23. Little River Benthic TMDLs for the 
Goose Creek Watershed Loudoun A08R Sediment 105 T/YR 
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24. Christians 
Creek 

Fecal Bacteria and 
General Standard Total 
Maximum Daily Load 
Development for 
Impaired Streams in the 
Middle River and Upper 
South River Watersheds, 
Augusta County, VA 

Augusta B14R Sediment 145 T/YR 

25. Moffett Creek 

Fecal Bacteria and 
General Standard Total 
Maximum Daily Load 
Development for 
Impaired Streams in the 
Middle River and Upper 
South River Watersheds, 
Augusta County, VA 

Augusta B13R Sediment 0 T/YR 

26. Upper Middle 
River 

Fecal Bacteria and 
General Standard Total 
Maximum Daily Load 
Development for 
Impaired Streams in the 
Middle River and Upper 
South River Watersheds, 
Augusta County, VA 

Augusta B10R Sediment 1.355 T/YR 

27. Mossy Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load Development for 
Mossy Creek and Long 
Glade Run: Bacteria and 
General Standard 
(Benthic) Impairments 

Rockingham B19R Sediment 0.04 T/YR 

28. Smith Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) 
Development for Smith 
Creek 

Rockingham, 
Shenandoah B47R Sediment 353,867 LB/YR 

29. Abrams Creek 

Opequon Watershed 
TMDLs for Benthic 
Impairments: Abrams 
Creek and Lower 
Opequon Creek, 
Frederick and Clarke 
counties, Virginia 

Frederick B09R Sediment 478 T/YR 

30. 
Lower 
Opequon 
Creek 

Opequon Watershed 
TMDLs for Benthic 
Impairments: Abrams 
Creek and Lower 
Opequon Creek, 
Frederick and Clarke 
counties, Virginia 

Frederick, 
Clarke B09R Sediment 1,039 T/YR 
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31. Mill Creek 

Mill Creek Sediment 
TMDL for a Benthic 
Impairment, Shenandoah 
County, Virginia 

Shenandoah B48R Sediment 0.9 T/YR 

32. South Run 
Benthic TMDL 
Development for South 
Run, Virginia 

Fauquier A19R Phosphorus 0.038 T/YR 

33. Lewis Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load Development for 
Lewis Creek, General 
Standard (Benthic) 

Augusta B12R Sediment 40 T/YR 

34. Lewis Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load Development for 
Lewis Creek, General 
Standard (Benthic) 

Augusta B12R Lead 0 KG/YR 

35. Lewis Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load Development for 
Lewis Creek, General 
Standard (Benthic) 

Augusta B12R PAHs 0 KG/YR 

36. Bull Run 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load Development for 
Lewis Creek, General 
Standard (Benthic) 

Loudoun, 
Fairfax, and 
Prince William 
counties, and 
the Cities of 
Manassas and 
Manassas Park 

A23R-
01 Sediment 5,986.8 T/TR 

37. Popes Head 
Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load Development for 
Lewis Creek, General 
Standard (Benthic) 

Fairfax County 
and Fairfax City 

A23R-
02 Sediment 1,594.2 T/YR 

38. Accotink Bay 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

Fairfax A15R PCBs 0.0992 G/YR 

39. Aquia Creek 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

Stafford A28E PCBs 6.34 G/YR 

40. 
Belmont Bay/ 
Occoquan 
Bay 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

Prince William A25E PCBs 0.409 G/YR 
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41. Chopawamsic 
Creek 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

Prince William A26E PCBs 1.35 G/YR 

42. Coan River 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

Northumberland A34E PCBs 0 G/YR 

43. Dogue Creek 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

Fairfax A14E PCBs 20.2 G/YR 

44. Fourmile Run 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

Arlington A12E PCBs 11 G/YR 

45. Gunston Cove 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

Fairfax A15E PCBs 0.517 G/YR 

46. 
Hooff Run & 
Hunting 
Creek 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

Fairfax A13E PCBs 36.8 G/YR 

47. Little Hunting 
Creek 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

Fairfax A14E PCBs 10.1 G/YR 

48. Monroe Creek 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

Fairfax A31E PCBs .0177 G/YR 

49. Neabsco 
Creek 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

Prince William A25E PCBs 6.63 G/YR 
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50. Occoquan 
River 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

Prince William A25E PCBs 2.86 G/YR 

51. 
Pohick 
Creek/Pohick 
Bay 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

Fairfax A16E PCBs 13.5 G/YR 

52. Potomac 
Creek 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

Stafford A29E PCBs 0.556 G/YR 

53. 

Potomac 
River, 
Fairview 
Beach 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

King George A29E PCBs 0.0183 G/YR 

54. Powells Creek 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

Prince William A26R PCBs 0.0675 G/YR 

55. Quantico 
Creek 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

Prince William A26R PCBs 0.742 G/YR 

56. 
Upper 
Machodoc 
Creek 

PCB Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
in the tidal Potomac and 
Anacostia Rivers and 
their tidal tributaries 

King George A30E PCBs 0.0883 G/YR 

57. Difficult 
Creek 

Benthic TMDL 
Development for 
Difficult Run, Virginia  

Fairfax A11R Sediment 3,663.2 T/YR 

58. Abrams Creek 
Opequon Watershed 
TMDLs for Benthic 
Impairments 

Frederick and 
Clark B09R Sediment 1039 T/YR 

59. Lower 
Opequon 

Opequon Watershed 
TMDLs for Benthic 
Impairments 

Frederick and 
Clark B09R Sediment 1039 T/YR 
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B. Non-TMDL waste load allocations. 

Water 
Body Permit No. Facility Name Outfall 

No. 
Receiving 

Stream 
River 
Mile 

Parameter 
Description WLA Units 

WLA 

VAV-
B02R VA0023281 Monterey STP 001 West Strait 

Creek 3.85 CBOD5 11.4 KG/D 

VAV-
B08R VA0065552 

Opequon Water 
Reclamation 
Facility 

001 Opequon 
Creek 32.66 BOD5, JUN-NOV 207 KG/D 

    
AKA Winchester 
- Frederick 
Regional 

      CBOD5, DEC-
MAY 1514 KG/D 

VAV-
B14R VA0025291 Fishersville 

Regional STP 001 Christians 
Creek 12.36 BOD5 182 KG/D 

VAV-
B23R VA0060640 North River 

WWTF 001 North River 15.01 CBOD5, JAN-
MAY 700 KG/D 

CBOD5, JUN-
DEC 

800 KG/D 

TKN, JUN-DEC 420 KG/D   7.23.04 

AKA 
Harrisonburg - 
Rockingham 
Reg. Sewer Auth. 

      

TKN, JAN-MAY 850 KG/D 

VAV-
B32R VA0002160 

INVISTA - 
Waynesboro 
Formerly Dupont 
- Waynesboro 

001 South River 25.3 BOD5 272 KG/D 

CBOD5 227 KG/D 
VAV-
B32R VA0025151 Waynesboro STP 001 South River 23.54 CBOD5, JUN-

OCT 
113.6 KG/D 

VAV-
B32R VA0028037 Skyline 

Swannanoa STP 001 South River 
UT 2.96 BOD5 8.5 KG/D 

VAV-
B35R VA0024732 

Massanutten 
Public Service 
STP 

001 Quail Run 5.07 BOD5 75.7 KG/D 

BOD5 1570 KG/D 
VAV-
B37R VA0002178 Merck & 

Company 001 
S.F. 
Shenandoah 
River 

88.09 AMMONIA, AS 
N 645.9 KG/D 

VAV-
B49R VA0028380 

Stoney Creek 
Sanitary District 
STP 

001 Stoney Creek 19.87 BOD5, JUN-NOV 29.5 KG/D 

VAV-
B53R VA0020982 Middletown STP 001 Meadow 

Brook 2.19 CBOD5 24.0 KG/D 

VAV-
B58R VA0020532 Berryville STP 001 Shenandoah 

River 24.23 CBOD5 42.6 KG/D 
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C. Nitrogen and phosphorus waste load allocations to restore the Chesapeake Bay and its tidal rivers. The following table 
presents nitrogen and phosphorus waste load allocations for the identified significant dischargers and the total nitrogen and total 
phosphorus waste load allocations for the listed facilities. 

Virginia 
Waterbody 

ID 
Discharger Name VPDES 

Permit No. 

Total Nitrogen (TN) 
Waste Load 

Allocation (lbs/yr) 

Total Phosphorus 
(TP) Waste Load 

Allocation (lbs/yr) 

B37R Coors Brewing Company  VA0073245 54,820 4,112 

B14R Fishersville Regional STP VA0025291 48,729 3,655 

B32R INVISTA - Waynesboro (Outfall 
101) VA0002160 78,941 1,009 

B39R Luray STP VA0062642 19,492 1,462 

B35R Massanutten PSA STP VA0024732 18,273 1,371 

B37R Merck - Stonewall WWTP (Outfall 
101)  VA0002178 14,619 1,096 

B12R Middle River Regional STP VA0064793 82,839 6,213 

B23R North River WWTF (2)  VA0060640 253,391 19,004 

B22R VA Poultry Growers -Hinton VA0002313 27,410 1,371 

B38R Pilgrims Pride - Alma VA0001961 18,273 914 

B31R Stuarts Draft WWTP VA0066877 48,729 3,655 

B32R Waynesboro STP VA0025151 48,729 3,655 

B23R Weyers Cave STP VA0022349 6,091 457 

B58R Berryville STP VA0020532 8,528 640 

B55R Front Royal STP VA0062812 48,729 3,655 

B49R Georges Chicken LLC VA0077402 31,065 1,553 

B48R Mt. Jackson STP (3)  VA0026441 8,528 640 

B45R New Market STP VA0022853 6,091 457 

B45R North Fork (SIL) WWTF VA0090263 23,390 1,754 

B49R Stoney Creek SD STP VA0028380 7,309 548 

B50R North Fork Regional WWTP (1) VA0090328 9,137 685 

B51R Strasburg STP VA0020311 11,939 895 

B50R Woodstock STP VA0026468 24,364 1,827 

A06R Basham Simms WWTF (4)  VA0022802 18,273 1,371 

A09R Broad Run WRF (5)  VA0091383 134,005 3,350 

A08R Leesburg WPCF MD0066184 121,822 9,137 

A06R Round Hill Town WWTF VA0026212 9,137 685 

A25R DSC - Section 1 WWTF (6)  VA0024724 42,029 2,522 

A25R DSC - Section 8 WWTF (7)  VA0024678 42,029 2,522 
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A25E H L Mooney WWTF VA0025101 219,280 13,157 

A22R UOSA - Centreville VA0024988 1,315,682 16,446 

A19R Vint Hill WWTF (8)  VA0020460 8,680 868 

B08R Opequon WRF VA0065552 102,336 7,675 

B08R Parkins Mills STP (9)  VA0075191 60,911 4,568 

A13E Alexandria SA WWTF VA0025160 493,381 29,603 

A12E Arlington County Water PCF VA0025143 365,467 21,928 

A16R Noman M Cole Jr PCF VA0025364 612,158 36,729 

A12R Blue Plains (VA Share) DC0021199 581,458 26,166 

A26R Quantico WWTF VA0028363 20,101 1,206 

A28R Aquia WWTF VA0060968 73,093 4,386 

A31E Colonial Beach STP VA0026409 18,273 1,827 

A30E Dahlgren WWTF VA0026514 9,137 914 

A29E Fairview Beach MD0056464 1,827 183 

A30E US NSWC-Dahlgren WWTF VA0021067 6,578 658 

A31R Purkins Corner STP VA0070106 1,096 110 

  TOTALS:   5,156,169 246,635 

NOTE: (1) Shenandoah Co. - North Fork Regional WWTP waste load allocations (WLAs) based on a design flow capacity of 
0.75 million gallons per day (MGD). If plant is not certified to operate at 0.75 MGD design flow capacity by December 31, 
2010, the WLAs will be deleted and facility removed from Significant Discharger List. 

(2) Harrisonburg-Rockingham Regional S.A.-North River STP: waste load allocations (WLAs) based on a design flow 
capacity of 20.8 million gallons per day (MGD). If plant is not certified to operate at 20.8 MGD design flow capacity by 
December 31, 2010 2011, the WLAs will decrease to TN = 194,916 lbs/yr; TP = 14,619 lbs/yr, based on a design flow 
capacity of 16.0 MGD. 

(3) Mount Jackson STP: waste load allocations (WLAs) based on a design flow capacity of 0.7 million gallons per day 
(MGD). If plant is not certified to operate at 0.7 MGD design flow capacity by December 31, 2010, the WLAs will decrease 
to TN = 7,309 lbs/yr; TP = 548 lbs/yr, based on a design flow capacity of 0.6 MGD. 

(4) Purcellville-Basham Simms STP: waste load allocations (WLAs) based on a design flow capacity of 1.5 million gallons 
per day (MGD). If plant is not certified to operate at 1.5 MGD design flow capacity by December 31, 2010, the WLAs will 
decrease to TN = 12,182 lbs/yr; TP = 914lbs/yr, based on a design flow capacity of 1.0 MGD. 

(5) Loudoun Co. S.A.-Broad Run WRF: waste load allocations (WLAs) based on a design flow capacity of 11.0 million 
gallons per day (MGD). If plant is not certified to operate at 11.0 MGD design flow capacity by December 31, 2010, the 
WLAs will decrease to TN = 121,822 lbs/yr; TP = 3,046 lbs/yr, based on a design flow capacity of 10.0 MGD. 

(6) Dale Service Corp.-Section 1 WWTF: waste load allocations (WLAs) based on a design flow capacity of 4.6 million 
gallons per day (MGD). If plant is not certified to operate at 4.6 MGD design flow capacity by December 31, 2010, the 
WLAs will decrease to TN = 36,547 lbs/yr; TP = 2,193 lbs/yr, based on a design flow capacity of 4.0 MGD. 

(7) Dale Service Corp.-Section 8 WWTF: waste load allocations (WLAs) based on a design flow capacity of 4.6 million 
gallons per day (MGD). If plant is not certified to operate at 4.6 MGD design flow capacity by December 31, 2010, the 
WLAs will decrease to TN = 36,547 lbs/yr; TP = 2,193 lbs/yr, based on a design flow capacity of 4.0 MGD. 
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(8) Fauquier Co. W&SA-Vint Hill STP: waste load allocations (WLAs) based on a design flow capacity of 0.95 million 
gallons per day (MGD). If plant is not certified to operate at 0.95 MGD design flow capacity by December 31, 2010 2011, the 
WLAs will decrease to TN = 5,482 lbs/yr; TP = 548 lbs/yr, based on a design flow capacity of 0.6 MGD. 

(9) Parkins Mill STP: waste load allocations (WLAs) based on a design flow capacity of 5.0 million gallons per day (MGD). 
If plant is not certified to operate at 5.0 MGD design flow capacity by December 31, 2010, the WLAs will decrease to TN = 
36,547 lbs/yr; TP = 2,741 lbs/yr, based on a design flow capacity of 3.0 MGD. 

9VAC25-720-110. Chesapeake Bay -- Small Coastal -- Eastern Shore River Basin.  

A. Total maximum Daily Load (TMDLs).  

TMDL 
# 

Stream 
Name TMDL Title City/County WBID Pollutant WLA Units 

1. Parker 
Creek 

Benthic Total Maximum 
Daily Load (TMDL) 
Development for Parker 
Creek , Virginia 

Accomack D03E Total 
Phosphorus 664.2 Lbs/YR 

B. Stream segment classifications, effluent limitations including water quality based effluent limitations, and waste load 
allocations.  

Small Coastal and Chesapeake Bay-  
TABLE B1—CURRENT STREAM SEGMENT CLASSIFICATION  

Segment No. Name Current State Class 

7-12A Pocomoke Sound EL 

7-12B Messongo Creek EL 

7-12C Beasley Bay EL 

7-12D Chesconessex Creek EL 

7-13 Onancock Creek WQ 

7-14 Pungoteague WQ 

7-12E Nandua Creek EL 

7-15 Occohannock Creek WQ 

7-12F Nassawadox Creek EL 

7-12G Hungars Creek EL 

7-12H Cherrystone Inlet EL 

7-12I South Bay EL 

7-12J Tangier Island _____ 

7-11A Chincoteague EL 

7-11B Hog Bogue EL 

7-11C Metomkim Bay EL 

7-11D Machipongo River EL 

7-11E South Ocean EL 
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Small Coastal and Chesapeake Bay 
TABLE B2 - EASTERN SHORE WASTELOAD ALLOCATIONS 

    INTERIM WASTELOAD 
ALLOCATIONS(1) FINAL WASTELOAD ALLOCATIONS

    (Current Permit Limits) 

NAME 
RECEIVING 
STREAM OR 

ESTUARY 

BOD5 
(lb/d) 

SUSPENDED 
SOLIDS (lb/d) 

OIL & 
GREASE 

(lb/d) 

BOD5 
(lb/d) 

SUSPENDED 
SOLIDS (lb/d) 

OIL & 
GREASE 

(lb/d) 

Commonwealth of 
Va. Rest Area 

Pitts Cr. 4.3 4.3 -- 4.3 4.3 -- 

Edgewood Park Bullbegger Cr. 0.80 0.80 -- 0.80 0.80 -- 

Holly Farms Sandy Bottom 
Cr. 

167(3) 167(3) 10 mg/l Stream survey/model and determination 
of final wasteload allocations planned for 
the summer of 1980. 

Taylor Packing 
Company 

Messongo Cr. 7006(3) 13010(3) -- Stream survey/model was run previously. 
No change in permit anticipated. 

No. Accomack E.S. Messongo Cr. 1.8 1.4 -- 1.8 1.4 -- 

Messick & Wessels 
Nelsonia 

Muddy Cr. 30mg/l(4) 30mg/l(4) -- Interim wasteload allocations may be 
changed based on BAT guidance. 

Whispering Pines 
Motel 

Deep Cr. 4.8 4.8 -- 4.8 4.8 -- 

Town of Onancock Onancock Cr. 21 21 -- 21 21 -- 

Messick & Wessels Onancock Cr. 30mg/l(4) 30mg/l(4) -- Interim wasteload allocations may be 
changed based on guidance. 

So. Accomack E.S. Pungoteague 
Cr. 

1.8 1.4 -- 1.8 1.4 -- 

A & P Exmore Nassawadox 
Cr. 

0.38 0.38 -- 0.38 0.38 -- 

Norstrom Coin 
Laundry 

Nassawadox 
Cr. 

60mg/l(4) 

max. 
60mg/l(4) max. -- Interim wasteload allocation may be 

changed based on BAT guidance. 

NH-Acc. Memorial 
Hospital 

Warehouse Cr. 12.5 12.5 -- 21.5 12.5 -- 

Machipongo E.S. & 
H.H. Jr. High 

Trib. To 
Oresbus Cr. 

5.2 5.2 -- 5.2 5.2 -- 

Town of Cape 
Charles 

Cape Charles 
Harbor 

62.6 62.6 -- 62.6 62.6 -- 

America House Chesapeake 
Bay 

5 5 -- 5 5 -- 

U.S. Coast Guard 
Chesapeake Bay 

Chesapeake 
Bay 

-- -- 10/mgl(5) -- -- 10/mgl(5) 

U.S. Government 
Cape Charles AFB 

Magothy Bay Currently No Discharge 
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Exmore Foods 
(Process Water) 

Trib. To 
Parting Cr. 

200 100 -- Stream survey/model and determination 
of final wasteload allocations planned for 
the summer of 1980. 

Exmore Foods 
(Sanitary) 

Trib. To 
Parting Cr. 

30mg/l(5) 30mg/l(5) -- 30mg/l(5) 30mg/l(5) -- 

Perdue Foods 
(process water) 

Parker Cr. May-Oct
275 367

Nov-Apr.
612 797 

-- -- Interim Permit in process. Stream 
survey/models were run. No substantial 
change in permit anticipated. 

Perdue Foods 
(parking lot) 

Parker Cr. 30mg/l(5) 30mg/l(5) -- 30mg/l(5) 30mg/l(5) -- 

Accomack Nursing 
Home 

Parker Cr. 2.7 2.6 -- 2.7 2.6 -- 

U.S. Gov't NASA 
Wallops Island 

Mosquito Cr. 75 75 -- 75 75 -- 

U.S. Gov't NASA 
Wallops Island 

Cat Cr. 1.25 1.25 -- 1.25 1.25 -- 

F & G Laundromat Chincoteague 
Channel 

10 4.8 -- Interim wasteload allocations may be 
changed based on BAT guidance. 

U.S. Coast Guard Chincoteatue 
Channel 

-- -- 15mg/l 
(max.) 

-- -- 15mg/l 
(max.) 

Virginia- Carolina 
Seafood 

Chincoteague 
Bay 

342 264 5.5 342 264 5.5 

Reginald Stubbs 
Seafood Co. 
(VA0005813) 

Assateague 
Channel 

-- 20 95 -- 20 95 

Reginald Stubbs 
Seafood Co. 
(VA00056421) 

Assateague 
Channel 

-- 20 98 -- 20.4(2) 98 

Shreaves Chincoteague 
Bay 

-- 16(2) 1.4(2) -- 16(2) 1.4(2) 

Chincoteague 
Seafood 

Chincoteague 
Bay 

342 264 5.5 342 264 5.5 

  

TABLE B3 - EXISTING OR POTENTIAL SOURCES OF WATER POLLUTION 

Location 
No. Name Receiving 

Estuary Stream Flow 
(MGD) 

CBOD 
(mgl/#D) 

NBOD 
(mgl/#D) 

Total 
Suspended 

Solids 
(mgl/#D) 

D.O. 
(mgl) 

FC 
(MPN/ 
100ml)

Treatment/ 
Operation 

1 Comm. Va. 
Rest Area 

Pocomoke 
Sound 

Pitts Cr. .003 7/0.18   10/0.3 7.5 1 Extended 
aeration. 
Sec. Holding 
pond, CL2 



Regulations 

Volume 26, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 23, 2009 

604 

2 H.E. Kelley Pocomoke 
Sound 

Pitts Cr.             Currently no 
discharges. 
Out of 
business 

3 Edgewood 
Park 

Pocomoke 
Sound 

Bullbegger 
Creek 

.006(3) 16/0.8(2)   16/0.8(2)     PRI, CL2. 
Holding 
Pond 

4 Holly Farms Pocomoke 
Sound 

Sand Bottom 
Creek 

0.18 6/40   15/100 8.0 100 Aerated 
Lagoons, 
CL2 

5 J.W. Taylor Messongo 
Creek 

Trib. To 
Messongo 

.001 60/50   150/125 8.0   Aerated 
Lagoons 

6 No. Accomack 
E.S. 

Messongo 
Creek 

Trib. To 
Messongo 

.005 22/0.9   30/1.3 9.0   Sec., Septic 
Tank, Sand 
Filter 
Holding 
Pond 

7 Messick & 
Wessells-
Nelsonia 

Beasly Bay Muddy Creek .005 125/5.2   100/4.2     Sec., 
Extended 
Aeration 

8 Willets 
Laundromat 

Beasly Bay Hunting 
Creek 

            Prl., Septic 
Tank 

9 Byrd Food Beasly Bay               No discharge 
industry 

10 Whispering 
Pines Motel 

Beasly Bay Deep Creek .009 25/1.9   30/2.3 6.0   Sec., 
Extended 
Aeration 
Holding 
Pond, CL2 

11 Town of 
Onancock 

Onancock 
Creek 

North Fork .19 2/3.2   3/4.8 7.5 3 Primary, 
Primary 
Settling 
Sludge 
Digestion, 
CL2 

12 Messick & 
Wessels-Onley 

Onancock 
Creek 

Joynes 
Branch 

.005 100/4.2   150/6.3     Sec., 
Extended 
Aeration 

13 So. Accomack 
E.S. 

Pungoteague Trib. To 
Pungoteague 

  24/1.8(2)   19/1.4(2)     Sec., Septic 
Tank, Grease 
Trap, Sand 
Filter, 
Holding 
Pond. No 
discharge in 
4 yrs. 

14 Great Atlantic 
& Pacific Tea 
Company 

Nassawadox Nassawadox .001 140/1.2   150/1.3   6.5 Sec., 
Extended 
Aeration CL2
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15 Norstrom Coin 
Laundry 

Nassawadox Trib. To 
Nassawadox 

.008           Sec., 
Extended 
Aeration, 
permit in 
process 

17 N.H.-Acc. 
Memorial 
Hospital 

Nassawadox Warehouse 
Creek 

.03 25/1.6   35/2.2 6.5 750 Secondary 
Aerated 
Lagoon, CL2 
Holding 
pond Stab-
Lagoon 

18 Machipongo 
E.S. & N.H. Jr. 
High School 

Hungars 
Creek 

Trib. To 
Oresbus 

0.3(1) 30/5.2(2)   30/5.2(2)     Sec., Stab-
Lagoon, 
Holding 
Pond no 
discharge in 
4 yrs. 

19 B & B 
Laundromat 

Cherry Stone 
Inlet 

Old Castle 
Creek 

            Prl. Septic 
Tank 
w/discharger 

20 KMC Foods, 
Inc. 

Cherry Stone 
Inlet 

              No-
Discharge 
industry 

21 Herbert West 
Laundromat 

Cherry Stone 
Inlet 

Kings Creek             Prl. Septic 
Tank 
w/Discharger 

22 Town of Cape 
Charles 

Cape Charles 
Harbor 

Cape Charles 
Harbor 

.165(2) 290/400(3)   139/192(3)     Raw 
Sewage, 
Sewage 
Treatment to 
be completed 
by 1982 

23 American 
House Inn 

Chesapeake 
Bay 

Chesapeake 
Bay 

  30/5(2)   30/5(2)       

24 U.S. Coast 
Guard 

Chesapeake 
Bay 

Chesapeake 
Bay 

.001(2) 30/     5.0(2) 200(2) Bilgewater 

25 U.S. Gov't 
Cape Charles 
AFS 

Magothy Magothy .001(2)       5.0(3)   Sec., CL2, 
Aerated 
Lagoon, 
currently no-
discharge 

27 Exmore Frozen 
Foods 

Machipongo Trib. To 
Parting Cr. 

.56 29/135   18/84 6.5   Grass Bays, 
Screening 

28 Exmore Foods 
(Domestic) 

Machipongo Trib. To 
Parting Cr. 

.02 5/0.8   9/1.5     Septic Tank, 
Sand Filter 

30 Perdue Foods Metomkin 
Bay 

Parker Creek 1.7 11/156   15/213 6.5 150 Sec., Aerated 
Lagoon, 
Holding 
Pond, CL2 

31 Perdue Foods Metomkin 
Bay 

Parker Cr. .01(4)     15/1.3       
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32 Accomack Co. 
Nursing Home 

Metomkin 
Bay 

Parker Cr. 
North Fork 

.011 20/1.8   28/2.6 6.5 100 Sec., 
Extended 
Aeration, 
Holding 
Pond, CL2 

33 U.S. Gov't 
NASA 
(Wallops 
Island) 

Hog Creek Cat Creek .005 30/   30/     Sec., Stab., 
Pond, 
Holding 
Pond, CL2 

34 Robo 
Automatic Car 

Chincoteague 
Channel 

Little 
Simoneaton 

              

35  U.S. Gov't 
NASA 

Chincoteague 
Channel 

Mosquito 
Creek 

.105 10.6/9.3(3) 112/28 2.0/1.8     Sec., 
Trickling 
Filter 

36 Trail's End 
Rec. Vehicle 
Dev. 

Chincoteague 
Channel 

Trib to 
Mosquito Cr. 

            Septic Tank 
and 
Drainfield 

37 Coin-Op 
Laundromat 

Chincoteague 
Channel 

Chincoteague 
Channel 

            No discharge

38 F & G 
Laundromat 

Chincoteague 
Channel 

Chincoteague 
Channel 

.005             

39 U.S. Coast 
Guard 

Chincoteague 
Channel 

Chincoteague 
Channel 

.001(2)     30/0.2(2)   200(2) Discharge-
Bilgewater 

40 Phillip Custis Ramshorn Bay               Spray 
Irrigation, no 
Discharge 

43 Boggs (Melfa) Nickowampus 
Creek 

              Septic tank 
waste 
lagoons, no 
discharge 

44 Blake 
(Greenbush) 

Deep Creek               Septic tank 
waste 
lagoon, no 
discharge 

45 Cherrystone 
Campground 

Kings Creek 
or Cherrystone 
Inlet 

              Stab-
Lagoon, 
Holding 
pond, no 
discharge 

46 Wallops 
Sanitary 
Landfill 

                Solid waste 
disposal site, 
no discharge 

47 Chincoteague 
Dumpsite 

                Solid waste 
disposal site, 
no discharge 

48 Bob Town 
Sanitary 
Landfill 

                Solid waste 
disposal site, 
no discharge 

49 Northampton 
Sanitary 
Landfill 

                Solid waste 
site, no 
discharge 
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52 Dorsey's 
Seafood 
Market 

Chincoteague               Oysters(5) 

1152(2) 

Clams 

68(2) 

Oysters 

54 Va-Carolina 
Seafood 
Company, Inc. 

Hog-Bogue         

7.0(2) 

Scallops 

    Surf Clams, 
Oysters, 
Scallops 

55 Chincoteague 
Island Oyster 
Farm 

Chincoteague                (Oyster-Boat 
Operation 
(grows 
oysters & 
clams from 
larvae)(6) 

  Reginald 
Stubbs Seafood 
Company 

Assateague 
Channel 

  .002(4) 4.2   2.8     Oyster 

58 Shreaves Bros. Chincoteague    .002(4) 2.07   8.0     Oyster 

60 Chincoteague 
Seafood Co. 

Chincoteague   .063(4) 972   79.9     Surf-Clam 

61 Ralph E. 
Watson Oyster 
Co. 

Chincoteague    .003(4) 57   53     Oyster 

62 McCready 
Bros. Inc. 

Chincoteague               Oyster, no 
discharge 

63 Wm. C. 
Bunting 

Chincoteague   .001(4) 12   4.8     Oyster 

64 Carpenters 
Seafood 

Chincoteague   .001(4) 4.1   2.1     Oyster 

64a Burtons 
Seafood, Inc. 

Chincoteague   .006(4) 10.3   .35     Oyster shell 
stock deal no 
discharge 

69 Jones Bros. 
Seafood 

Chincoteague Sheepshead 
Cr. 

            Oyster & 
Clams 

70 W.E. Jones 
Seafood 

Chincoteague Sheepshead 
Creek 

      46.4(2)     Oyster & 
Clams 

71 Conner & 
McGee 
Seafood 

Chincoteague Sheepshead 
Creek 

            Oyster & 
Clams(6) 

72  Hills Oyster 
Farm 

Chincoteague               Oyster & 
Clams(5) 

73 Thomas E. 
Reed Seafood 

Chincoteague Deep Hole 
Creek 

            Oyster & 
Clams(6) 

74 Mears & 
Powell 

Metomkin               Oyster-
Building, 
also used to 
clean fish(5) 
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75 Wachapreague 
Seafood 
Company 

Metomkin Finney Creek .036(4)     144     Sea Clam 

76 George D. 
Spence and 
Son 

Machipongo               Crab 
Shedding(6) 

77 George D. 
Spence and 
Son 

Machipongo               Crab 
Picking, no 
discharge 

78 George T. Bell Machipongo               No 
Discharge, 
Oyster 

79 George D. 
Spence and 
Son 

Machipongo Upshur Bay             Oyster(6) 

80 Peters Seafood Machipongo               Oyster(6) 

81 J.E. Hamblin Machipongo               Oyster, No 
discharge 

83 Nathan Bell 
Seafood 

Machipongo               Clams, 
Hard(5) 

84 John L. 
Marshall 
Seafood 

Machipongo               Clams(5) 

85 American 
Original Foods, 
Inc. 

Machipongo Parting Creek .151(4) 2632   1337       

86 Harvey & 
Robert Bowen 

Machipongo Parting Creek .0006(4) 6.2   1.7     Oyster 

87 H.M. Terry Machipongo Parting Creek .0004(4) 3.3   .62     Oyster 

89 Webb's Island 
Seafood 

South Ocean 
Area 

              Clams(6) 

90 Cliff's Seafood South Ocean 
Area 

Mockhorn 
Bay 

            Oyster & 
Clam(6) 

92 H. Allen Smith South Ocean 
Area 

  .037(4) 213   522     Sea Clam 

204 sea 
clam 

94 C & D 
Seafood, Inc. 

South Ocean 
Area 

Oyster 
Harbor 

.04(4) 427   

34(2) 

oyster 

    Sea Clam, 
Oyster 

95 B.L. Bell & 
Sons 

South Ocean 
Area 

Oyster 
Harbor 

.001(4) 12   .9     Oyster 

98 Lance Fisher 
Seafood Co. 

Pocomoke   .02(4) 38   12.8     Oyster and 
Clam 

99 Fisher & 
Williams/Lester 
Fisher 

Messongo               Building 
used to shed 
soft crabs(5) 
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100 Grady Rhodes 
Seafood 

Messongo               Sold 
business, 
Building 
used to shed 
soft crabs(5) 

101 Bonowell Bros. Messongo Pocomoke 
Sound 

.001(4) 12   2.5     Oyster 

102 John H. Lewis 
& Co. 

Messongo Starling 
Creek 

            Oyster SS 
only, no 
discharge 

103 Eastern Shore 
Seafood 

Beasly               Crab, no 
discharge 

106 Ashton's 
Seafood, Inc. 

Pungoteague               Shell stock 
dealer-no 
discharge 

107 Nandua 
Seafood Co. 

Nandua   .0001(4) .2   .9     Crab 

108 A.M. Acuff Cherrystone               Building 
used for 
storage, no 
discharge 

110 D.L. Edgerton 
Co. 

Cherrystone Mud Creek             Conch. In 
operation. 
Retort drains 
overboard & 
fish wash-
down(6) 

111 & 
112 

Tangier Island 
Seafood, Inc. 

Tangier               Crab(5) 

113 Tangier Chesapeake 
Bay 

              1000 KW 
Power 
Station 

114 Chincoteague Chincoteague 
Channel 

              2100 KW 
Power 
Station 

115 Parksley                 2400 KW 
Power 
Station 

116 Tasley                 1400 KW 
Power 
Station 

117 Bayview                 10,000 KW 
Power 
Station 

118 Cape Charles Cape Charles 
Harbor 

              1200 KW 
Power 
Station 

119 Burdick Well 
& Pump 
Company 

                Holding 
Pond, no 
discharge 
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120 Marshall & 
Son Crab 
Company 

Messongo Cr.               Crab 
Shedding(6) 

  Linton & 
Lewis Crab Co. 

Pocomoke 
Sound 

              Crab 
Shedding(6) 

122 D.L. Edgerton Chincoteague               Fish 
Washdown(6) 

123 Evans Bros. 
Seafood Co. 

Pocomoke 
Sound 

              Crab 
Shedding(6) 

124 Stanley F. 
Linton 

Messongo Starling Cr.             Crab 
Shedding(6) 

.035(4) 349 736-clam 125 H.V. Drewer & 
Son 

Messongo Starling Cr. 

.018(4) 180 

  

198-
oyster 

    Oyster & 
Clam 

126 Chincoteague 
Fish Co., Inc. 

Chincoteague 
Channel 

              Fish 
Washdown(6) 

127 Chincoteague 
Crab Company 

Assateague 
Channel 

    .18(2)   .54(2)     Crab & Crab 
Shedding 

128  Aldon Miles & 
Sons 

Pocomoke 
Sound 

              Crab 
Shedding(6) 

129 Saxis Crab Co. Messongo Starling Cr.             Crab 
Shedding(6) 

  Paul 
Watkinson 
SFD 

Pocomoke 
Sound 

              Crab 
Shedding(6) 

131 Russell Fish 
Co., Inc 

Chincoteague 
Channel 

              Fish(6) 

132 Mason Seafood 
Co. 

Chincoteague 
Channel 

  .002(4) 7.7   13.7     Oysters 

NOTE: (1)Water quality data taken from Discharge Monitoring Reports or special studies unless indicated. 
(2)NPDES Permit limits given since the permit is new and discharge monitoring reports not yet available. 
(3)Data from Accomack-Northampton Co. Water Quality Management Plan. 
(4)Estimated. 
(5)May need a permit--either company has not responded to SWCB letter or operation has just started up. 
(6)No limits -- has an NPDES permit, but is not required to monitor. 

C. Nitrogen and phosphorus waste load allocations to restore the Chesapeake Bay and its tidal rivers. The following table 
presents nitrogen and phosphorus waste load allocations for the identified significant dischargers and the total nitrogen and total 
phosphorus waste load allocations for the listed facilities.  

Virginia 
Waterbody ID Discharger Name VPDES Permit 

No. 

Total Nitrogen 
(TN) Waste Load 
Allocation (lbs/yr) 

Total Phosphorus 
(TP) Waste Load 

Allocation (lbs/yr) 

C16E Cape Charles Town WWTP (1) VA0021288 6,091 457 

C11E Onancock WWTP (2) VA0021253 9,137 685 

C13E Shore Memorial Hospital VA0027537 1,218 91 
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C10E Tangier WWTP VA0067423 1,218 91 

C10R Tyson Foods – Temperanceville VA0004049 22,842 1,142 

  TOTALS:   40,506 2,467 

NOTE: (1) Cape Charles STP: waste load allocations (WLAs) based on a design flow capacity of 0.5 million gallons per day 
(MGD). If plant is not certified to operate at 0.5 MGD design flow capacity by December 31, 2010, the WLAs will decrease 
to TN = 3,046 lbs/yr; TP = 228 lbs/yr, based on a design flow capacity of 0.25 MGD. 

(2) Onancock STP: waste load allocations (WLAs) based on a design flow capacity of 0.75 million gallons per day (MGD). If 
plant is not certified to operate at 0.75 MGD design flow capacity by December 31, 2010 2011, the WLAs will decrease to 
TN = 3,046 lbs/yr; TP = 228 lbs/yr, based on a design flow capacity of 0.25 MGD. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2198; Filed November 4, 2009, 11:23 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Notice of Extension of Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-67. Advance Health Care 
Directive Registry (adding 12VAC5-67-10, 12VAC5-67-
20, 12VAC5-67-30). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2994 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: November 1, 2008, through April 30, 2010. 

The Department of Health has requested an extension of the 
above-referenced emergency regulation, relating to the 
Advance Health Care Directive Registry. The emergency 
regulation was published in 25:4 VA.R. 658 October 27, 2008 
(http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol25/iss04/v25i04.pdf). 

The key provisions of this regulation consist of a description 
of the documents that may be submitted to the Advance 
Health Care Directive Registry, a provision for reasonable 
fees to be charged by a vendor with whom the Department of 
Health may contract for implementing the registry, and 
provisions outlining who may gain access to documents in the 
registry. In order for the department to meet this mandate, it 
accepted unsolicited proposals from vendors under the 
Public-Private Education Facilities and Infrastructure Act of 
2002. During the negotiation process at the conceptual phase, 
it was identified that several amendments needed to be made 
to the enabling (organic) statute. In consultation with the 
patron, it was determined that these amendments could be 
debated in the 2010 Session of the Virginia General 
Assembly. These amendments would include a requirement 
for hospitals to notify citizens of the availability of a 
statewide registry and would also expand the categories of 
providers that can have access to this registry. As these 
amendments would have an impact on the regulation, the 
department requests that the emergency regulations stay in 
place while the enabling statute is being debated. 

In accordance with § 2.2-4011 D of the Code of Virginia, the 
Governor approved the department's request to extend the 
expiration date of the emergency regulation through April 30, 
2010.  

Agency Contact: Kimberly S. Barnes, Policy Analyst, 
Department of Health, 109 Governor St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 864-7661, or email 
kim.barnes@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1382; Filed November 4, 2009, 4:53 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-120. Regulations for Testing 
Children for Elevated Blood-Lead Levels (amending 
12VAC5-120-10, 12VAC5-120-30; adding 12VAC5-120-
35). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-46.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 31, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Nancy Van Voorhis, Director, Lead Safe 
Virginia, Department of Health, 109 Governor St., Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7694, or email 
nancy.vanvoorhis@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments permit the use of the Clinical Laboratory 
Improvement Amendments (CLIA)-waived instruments for 
point-of-care testing to screen for elevated blood-lead 
levels, provided any elevated blood-lead level is followed 
up with a venous blood-lead test performed by a qualified 
laboratory. The amendments also require health care 
providers to make information available on the dangers of 
lead poisoning, along with a list of available resources, to 
parents as part of regular well-check visits for all children 
up to 72 months of age. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  
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Part I  
Definitions and General Information 

12VAC5-120-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Board" means the State Board of Health.  

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Health.  

"Elevated blood-lead level" for children means 10 or more 
micrograms of lead per deciliter of whole blood in a child up 
to and including 72 months of age.  

"Health care provider" means a physician or his designee or 
an official of a local health department.  

"High-risk zip code ZIP Code area" means a zip code ZIP 
Code area listed in guidelines issued by the Virginia 
Department of Health in which 27% or more of the housing 
was built before 1950 or 12% or more of the children have 
elevated blood-lead levels based on current available data.  

"Physician" means a person licensed to practice medicine in 
any of the 50 states or the District of Columbia.  

"Point of care testing" refers to testing by a health care 
provider that has a CLIA Certificate of Waiver. 

"Qualified laboratory" means a laboratory that is certified by 
the Health Care Financing Administration in accordance with 
the Clinical Laboratory Improvement Act (42 CFR Part 430) 
Amendments of 1988 (CLIA) (42 CFR Part 493) and is 
participating in the Centers for Disease Control and 
Prevention's (CDC) Blood Lead Laboratory Proficiency 
Program.  

"μg/dL" means micrograms of lead per deciliter of whole 
blood.  

Part II  
Protocol for Identification of Children with Elevated Blood-

Lead Levels 

12VAC5-120-30. Schedule for testing. 

Virginia health care providers should test all children up to 
and including 72 months of age for elevated blood-lead levels 
according to the following schedule unless they are 
determined under 12VAC5-120-60 to be at low risk for 
elevated blood-lead levels. All blood-lead samples shall be 
analyzed by a qualified laboratory. The use of a CDC-
approved and CLIA-waived instrument for point-of-care 
testing, as a means of administering screening tests for 
elevated blood-lead levels, is exempted from the requirement 
to have all blood-lead samples analyzed by a qualified 
laboratory. However, any elevated blood-lead level found 
through point-of-care testing to be equal to or greater than 10 
μg/dL shall be confirmed by a venous blood-lead test 

performed by a qualified laboratory in accordance with the 
requirements of 12VAC5-120-40. 

1. Children should be tested at ages one and two years.  

2. Children from 36 through 72 months of age should be 
tested if they have never been tested.  

3. Additional testing may be ordered by the health care 
provider.  

4. Children should be tested at the request of a parent or 
guardian due to any suspected exposure.  

12VAC5-120-35. Information about lead poisoning. 

The health care provider shall make available to parents 
information on the dangers of lead poisoning, along with a 
list of available resources, as part of regular well-check visits 
for all children up to 72 months of age. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-917; Filed November 3, 2009, 3:39 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards 
for Establishing Payment Rates; Other Types of Care 
(amending 12VAC30-80-40). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 23, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Keith Hayashi, Department of Medical 
Assistance Services, Health Care Services Division, 
Pharmacy, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 225-2773, FAX (804) 786-1680, or 
email keith.hayashi@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This action creates a method of reimbursement for 
specialty drugs, which are covered by the Virginia 
Medicaid program, based on the Wholesale Acquisition 
Cost of the drug. Specialty drug products are those that 
are used to treat chronic, high-cost, or rare diseases, 
including drugs for the treatment of hepatitis C and 
multiple sclerosis, as well as drugs such as growth 
hormone agents and interferon. These drugs tend to be 
much higher in cost than standard pharmaceutical 
products, can sometimes require special handling 
techniques, and typically also require unique patient 
education and monitoring. This action implements a new 
methodology to help contain the higher costs associated 
with these drugs. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  
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12VAC30-80-40. Fee-for-service providers: pharmacy. 

Payment for pharmacy services shall be the lowest of items 
1 through 5 (except that items 1 and 2 will not apply when 
prescriptions are certified as brand necessary by the 
prescribing physician in accordance with the procedures set 
forth in 42 CFR 447.331 (c) 42 CFR 447.512(c) if the brand 
cost is greater than the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services (CMS) upper limit of VMAC cost) subject to the 
conditions, where applicable, set forth in subdivisions 6 and 7 
of this section:  

1. The upper limit established by the CMS for multiple 
source drugs pursuant to 42 CFR 447.331 42 CFR 447.512 
and 447.332 447.514, as determined by the CMS Upper 
Limit List plus a dispensing fee. If the agency provides 
payment for any drugs on the HCFA Upper Limit List, the 
payment shall be subject to the aggregate upper limit 
payment test.  

2. The methodology used to reimburse for generic drug 
products shall be the higher of either (i) the lowest 
Wholesale Acquisition Cost (WAC) plus 10% or (ii) the 
second lowest WAC plus 6.0%. This methodology shall 
reimburse for products' costs based on a Maximum 
Allowable Cost (VMAC) list to be established by the 
single state agency.  

a. In developing the maximum allowable reimbursement 
rate for generic pharmaceuticals, the department or its 
designated contractor shall: 

(1) Identify three different suppliers, including 
manufacturers that are able to supply pharmaceutical 
products in sufficient quantities. The drugs considered 
must be listed as therapeutically and pharmaceutically 
equivalent in the Food and Drug Administration's most 
recent version of the Approved Drug Products with 
Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (Orange Book). 
Pharmaceutical products that are not available from three 
different suppliers, including manufacturers, shall not be 
subject to the VMAC list. 

(2) Identify that the use of a VMAC rate is lower than the 
Federal Upper Limit (FUL) for the drug. The FUL is a 
known, widely published price provided by CMS; and 

(3) Distribute the list of state VMAC rates to pharmacy 
providers in a timely manner prior to the implementation 
of VMAC rates and subsequent modifications. DMAS 
shall publish on its website, each month, the information 
used to set the Commonwealth's prospective VMAC 
rates, including, but not necessarily limited to: 

(a) The identity of applicable reference products used to 
set the VMAC rates; 

(b) The Generic Code Number (GCN) or National Drug 
Code (NDC), as may be appropriate, of reference 
products; 

(c) The difference by which the VMAC rate exceeds the 
appropriate WAC price; and 

(d) The identity and date of the published compendia 
used to determine reference products and set the VMAC 
rate. The difference by which the VMAC rate exceeds 
the appropriate WAC price shall be at least or equal to 
10% above the lowest-published wholesale acquisition 
cost for products widely available for purchase in the 
Commonwealth and shall be included in national pricing 
compendia. 

b. Development of a VMAC rate that does not have a 
FUL rate shall not result in the use of higher-cost 
innovator brand name or single source drugs in the 
Medicaid program. 

c. DMAS or its designated contractor shall: 

(1) Implement and maintain a procedure to add or 
eliminate products from the list, or modify VMAC rates, 
consistent with changes in the fluctuating marketplace. 
DMAS or its designated contractor will regularly review 
manufacturers' pricing and monitor drug availability in 
the marketplace to determine the inclusion or exclusion 
of drugs on the VMAC list; and 

(2) Provide a pricing dispute resolution procedure to 
allow a dispensing provider to contest a listed VMAC 
rate. DMAS or its designated contractor shall confirm 
receipt of pricing disputes within 24 hours, via telephone 
or facsimile, with the appropriate documentation of 
relevant information, e.g., invoices. Disputes shall be 
resolved within three business days of confirmation. The 
pricing dispute resolution process will include DMAS' or 
the contractor's verification of accurate pricing to ensure 
consistency with marketplace pricing and drug 
availability. Providers will be reimbursed, as appropriate, 
based on findings. Providers shall be required to use this 
dispute resolution process prior to exercising any 
applicable appeal rights. 

3. The provider's usual and customary charge to the public, 
as identified by the claim charge. 

4. The Estimated Acquisition Cost (EAC), which shall be 
based on the published Average Wholesale Price (AWP) 
minus a percentage discount established by the General 
Assembly (as set forth in subdivision [ 8 9 ] of this section) 
or, in the absence thereof, by the following methodology 
set out in subdivisions a through c below of this 
subdivision. 

a. Percentage discount shall be determined by a statewide 
survey of providers' acquisition cost. 

b. The survey shall reflect statistical analysis of actual 
provider purchase invoices. 
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c. The agency will conduct surveys at intervals deemed 
necessary by DMAS. 

5. MAC methodology for specialty drugs. Payment for 
drug products designated by DMAS as specialty drugs 
shall be the lesser of subdivisions 1 through 4 of this 
section or the following method, whichever is least: 

a. The methodology used to reimburse for designated 
specialty drug products shall be the WAC price plus the 
WAC percentage. The WAC percentage is a constant 
percentage identified each year for all GCNs. 

b. Designated specialty drug products are certain 
products used to treat chronic, high-cost, or rare diseases; 
the drugs subject to this pricing methodology and their 
current reimbursement rates are listed on the DMAS 
website at the following internet address: 
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/downloads/pdfs/pharm-
special_mac_list.pdf. 

c. The MAC reimbursement methodology for specialty 
drugs shall be subject to the pricing review and dispute 
resolution procedures described in subdivisions 2 c (1) 
and 2 c (2) of this section. 

5. 6. Payment for pharmacy services will be as described 
above; however, payment for legend drugs will include the 
allowed cost of the drug plus only one dispensing fee per 
month for each specific drug. Exceptions to the monthly 
dispensing fees shall be allowed for drugs determined by 
the department to have unique dispensing requirements. 
The dispensing fee for brand name and generic drugs is 
$3.75.  

6. 7. The Program pays additional reimbursement for unit 
dose dispensing systems of dispensing drugs. DMAS 
defines its unit dose dispensing system coverage consistent 
with that of the Board of Pharmacy of the Department of 
Health Professions (18VAC110-20-420). This service is 
paid only for patients residing in nursing facilities. 
Reimbursements are based on the allowed payments 
described above plus the unit dose per capita fee to be 
calculated by DMAS' fiscal agent based on monthly per 
nursing home resident service per pharmacy provider. Only 
one service fee per month may be paid to the pharmacy for 
each patient receiving unit dose dispensing services. 
Multisource drugs will be reimbursed at the maximum 
allowed drug cost for specific multiple source drugs as 
identified by the state agency or CMS' upper limits as 
applicable. All other drugs will be reimbursed at drug costs 
not to exceed the estimated acquisition cost determined by 
the state agency. The original per capita fee shall be 
determined by a DMAS analysis of costs related to such 
dispensing, and shall be reevaluated at periodic intervals 
for appropriate adjustment. The unit dose dispensing fee is 
$5.00 per recipient per month per pharmacy provider. 

7. 8. Determination of EAC was the result of a report by 
the Office of the Inspector General that focused on 
appropriate Medicaid marketplace pricing of 
pharmaceuticals based on the documented costs to the 
pharmacy. An EAC of AWP minus 10.25% shall become 
effective July 1, 2002. 

The dispensing fee for brand name and generic drugs of 
$3.75 shall remain in effect, creating a payment 
methodology based on the previous algorithm (least of 
subdivisions 1 through 5 of this subsection above) section) 
plus a dispensing fee where applicable. 

8. 9. Home infusion therapy.  

a. The following therapy categories shall have a 
pharmacy service day rate payment allowable: hydration 
therapy, chemotherapy, pain management therapy, drug 
therapy, total parenteral nutrition (TPN). The service day 
rate payment for the pharmacy component shall apply to 
the basic components and services intrinsic to the therapy 
category. Submission of claims for the per diem rate shall 
be accomplished by use of the CMS 1500 claim form.  

b. The cost of the active ingredient or ingredients for 
chemotherapy, pain management and drug therapies shall 
be submitted as a separate claim through the pharmacy 
program, using standard pharmacy format. Payment for 
this component shall be consistent with the current 
reimbursement for pharmacy services. Multiple 
applications of the same therapy shall be reimbursed one 
service day rate for the pharmacy services. Multiple 
applications of different therapies shall be reimbursed at 
100% of standard pharmacy reimbursement for each 
active ingredient.  

9. 10. Supplemental rebate agreement. Based on the 
requirements in § 1927 of the Social Security Act, the 
Commonwealth of Virginia has the following policies for 
the supplemental drug rebate program for Medicaid 
recipients:  

a. The model supplemental rebate agreement between the 
Commonwealth and pharmaceutical manufacturers for 
legend drugs provided to Medicaid recipients, submitted 
to CMS on February 5, 2004, and entitled Virginia 
Supplemental Drug Rebate Agreement Contract A and 
Amendment #2 to Contract A has been authorized by 
CMS.  

b. The model supplemental rebate agreement between the 
Commonwealth and pharmaceutical manufacturers for 
drugs provided to Medicaid recipients, submitted to CMS 
on February 5, 2004, and entitled Virginia Supplemental 
Drug Rebate Agreement Contract B and Amendment #2 
to Contract B has been authorized by CMS.  

c. The model supplemental rebate agreement between the 
Commonwealth and pharmaceutical manufacturers for 
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drugs provided to Medicaid recipients, submitted to CMS 
on February 5, 2004, and entitled Virginia Supplemental 
Drug Rebate Agreement Contract C, and Amendments 
#1 and #2 to Contract C has been authorized by CMS.  

d. Supplemental drug rebates received by the state in 
excess of those required under the national drug rebate 
agreement will be shared with the federal government on 
the same percentage basis as applied under the national 
drug rebate agreement.  

e. Prior authorization requirements found in § 1927(d)(5) 
of the Social Security Act have been met.  

f. Nonpreferred drugs are those that were reviewed by the 
Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee and not included 
on the preferred drug list. Nonpreferred drugs will be 
made available to Medicaid beneficiaries through prior 
authorization.  

g. Payment of supplemental rebates may result in a 
product's inclusion on the PDL.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1319; Filed November 4, 2009, 11:33 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards 
for Establishing Payment Rates; Other Types of Care 
(amending 12VAC30-80-30, 12VAC30-80-190). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 23, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Carla Russell, Health Care Reimbursement 
Manager, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 
East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 225-4586, FAX (804) 371-8892, or email 
carla.russell@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

Item 306 PP of Chapter 879 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly 
directed DMAS to recalibrate its Resource Based Relative 
Value System (RBRVS) physician reimbursement rates by 
implementing a site of service differential payment policy. 

12VAC30-80-30 is amended to remove the long-standing 
payment reduction applied to physician services when 
performed in hospital settings, as compared to physicians’ 
offices. 

12VAC30-80-190 is amended to implement a site of service 
differential for RBRVS physician rates. Payment for 
physician services in some cases will be recalibrated to 
implement different rates for services depending on the site 
of service based on the relative value units (RVUs) for a 
procedure code published by the Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS). For procedures that can be 
performed in either a facility or nonfacility, CMS publishes 
separate RVUs and Medicare rates are based on site of 

service. Different Medicaid rates by site of service will be 
phased in over a four-year period. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

12VAC30-80-30. Fee-for-service providers. 

A. Payment for the following services, except for physician 
services, shall be the lower of the state agency fee schedule 
(12VAC30-80-190 has information about the state agency fee 
schedule) or actual charge (charge to the general public): 

1. Physicians' services (12VAC30-80-160 has 
obstetric/pediatric fees). Payment for physician services 
shall be the lower of the state agency fee schedule or actual 
charge (charge to the general public), except that 
reimbursement rates for designated physician services 
when performed in hospital outpatient settings shall be 
50% of the reimbursement rate established for those 
services when performed in a physician's office. The 
following limitations shall apply to emergency physician 
services. 

a. Definitions. The following words and terms, when 
used in this subdivision 1 shall have the following 
meanings when applied to emergency services unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"All-inclusive" means all emergency service and 
ancillary service charges claimed in association with the 
emergency department visit, with the exception of 
laboratory services. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services consistent with Chapter 10 (§ 32.1-323 et seq.) 
of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Emergency physician services" means services that are 
necessary to prevent the death or serious impairment of 
the health of the recipient. The threat to the life or health 
of the recipient necessitates the use of the most 
accessible hospital available that is equipped to furnish 
the services. 

"Recent injury" means an injury that has occurred less 
than 72 hours prior to the emergency department visit. 

b. Scope. DMAS shall differentiate, as determined by the 
attending physician's diagnosis, the kinds of care 
routinely rendered in emergency departments and 
reimburse physicians for nonemergency care rendered in 
emergency departments at a reduced rate. 

(1) DMAS shall reimburse at a reduced and all-inclusive 
reimbursement rate for all physician services, including 
those obstetric and pediatric procedures contained in 
12VAC30-80-160, rendered in emergency departments 
that DMAS determines are nonemergency care. 
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(2) Services determined by the attending physician to be 
emergencies shall be reimbursed under the existing 
methodologies and at the existing rates. 

(3) Services determined by the attending physician that 
may be emergencies shall be manually reviewed. If such 
services meet certain criteria, they shall be paid under the 
methodology in subdivision 1 b (2) of this subsection. 
Services not meeting certain criteria shall be paid under 
the methodology in subdivision 1 b (1) of this subsection. 
Such criteria shall include, but not be limited to: 

(a) The initial treatment following a recent obvious 
injury. 

(b) Treatment related to an injury sustained more than 72 
hours prior to the visit with the deterioration of the 
symptoms to the point of requiring medical treatment for 
stabilization. 

(c) The initial treatment for medical emergencies 
including indications of severe chest pain, dyspnea, 
gastrointestinal hemorrhage, spontaneous abortion, loss 
of consciousness, status epilepticus, or other conditions 
considered life threatening. 

(d) A visit in which the recipient's condition requires 
immediate hospital admission or the transfer to another 
facility for further treatment or a visit in which the 
recipient dies. 

(e) Services provided for acute vital sign changes as 
specified in the provider manual. 

(f) Services provided for severe pain when combined 
with one or more of the other guidelines. 

(4) Payment shall be determined based on ICD-9-CM 
diagnosis codes and necessary supporting documentation. 

(5) DMAS shall review on an ongoing basis the 
effectiveness of this program in achieving its objectives 
and for its effect on recipients, physicians, and hospitals. 
Program components may be revised subject to achieving 
program intent objectives, the accuracy and effectiveness 
of the ICD-9-CM code designations, and the impact on 
recipients and providers. 

2. Dentists' services. 

3. Mental health services including: (i) community mental 
health services; (ii) services of a licensed clinical 
psychologist; or (iii) mental health services provided by a 
physician. 

a. Services provided by licensed clinical psychologists 
shall be reimbursed at 90% of the reimbursement rate for 
psychiatrists. 

b. Services provided by independently enrolled licensed 
clinical social workers, licensed professional counselors 
or licensed clinical nurse specialists-psychiatric shall be 

reimbursed at 75% of the reimbursement rate for licensed 
clinical psychologists. 

4. Podiatry. 

5. Nurse-midwife services. 

6. Durable medical equipment (DME). 

a. For those items that have a national Healthcare 
Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) code, the 
rate for durable medical equipment shall be set at the 
Durable Medical Equipment Regional Carrier (DMERC) 
reimbursement level. 

b. The rate paid for all items of durable medical 
equipment except nutritional supplements shall be the 
lower of the state agency fee schedule that existed prior 
to July 1, 1996, less 4.5%, or the actual charge. 

c. The rate paid for nutritional supplements shall be the 
lower of the state agency fee schedule or the actual 
charge. 

d. Certain durable medical equipment used for 
intravenous therapy and oxygen therapy shall be bundled 
under specified procedure codes and reimbursed as 
determined by the agency. Certain services/durable 
medical equipment such as service maintenance 
agreements shall be bundled under specified procedure 
codes and reimbursed as determined by the agency. 

(1) Intravenous therapies. The DME for a single therapy, 
administered in one day, shall be reimbursed at the 
established service day rate for the bundled durable 
medical equipment and the standard pharmacy payment, 
consistent with the ingredient cost as described in 
12VAC30-80-40, plus the pharmacy service day and 
dispensing fee. Multiple applications of the same therapy 
shall be included in one service day rate of 
reimbursement. Multiple applications of different 
therapies administered in one day shall be reimbursed for 
the bundled durable medical equipment service day rate 
as follows: the most expensive therapy shall be 
reimbursed at 100% of cost; the second and all 
subsequent most expensive therapies shall be reimbursed 
at 50% of cost. Multiple therapies administered in one 
day shall be reimbursed at the pharmacy service day rate 
plus 100% of every active therapeutic ingredient in the 
compound (at the lowest ingredient cost methodology) 
plus the appropriate pharmacy dispensing fee. 

(2) Respiratory therapies. The DME for oxygen therapy 
shall have supplies or components bundled under a 
service day rate based on oxygen liter flow rate or blood 
gas levels. Equipment associated with respiratory therapy 
may have ancillary components bundled with the main 
component for reimbursement. The reimbursement shall 
be a service day per diem rate for rental of equipment or 
a total amount of purchase for the purchase of equipment. 
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Such respiratory equipment shall include, but not be 
limited to, oxygen tanks and tubing, ventilators, 
noncontinuous ventilators, and suction machines. 
Ventilators, noncontinuous ventilators, and suction 
machines may be purchased based on the individual 
patient's medical necessity and length of need. 

(3) Service maintenance agreements. Provision shall be 
made for a combination of services, routine maintenance, 
and supplies, to be known as agreements, under a single 
reimbursement code only for equipment that is recipient 
owned. Such bundled agreements shall be reimbursed 
either monthly or in units per year based on the 
individual agreement between the DME provider and 
DMAS. Such bundled agreements may apply to, but not 
necessarily be limited to, either respiratory equipment or 
apnea monitors. 

7. Local health services. 

8. Laboratory services (other than inpatient hospital). 

9. Payments to physicians who handle laboratory 
specimens, but do not perform laboratory analysis (limited 
to payment for handling). 

10. X-Ray services. 

11. Optometry services. 

12. Medical supplies and equipment. 

13. Home health services. Effective June 30, 1991, cost 
reimbursement for home health services is eliminated. A 
rate per visit by discipline shall be established as set forth 
by 12VAC30-80-180. 

14. Physical therapy; occupational therapy; and speech, 
hearing, language disorders services when rendered to 
noninstitutionalized recipients. 

15. Clinic services, as defined under 42 CFR 440.90. 

16. Supplemental payments for services provided by Type 
I physicians. 

a. In addition to payments for physician services 
specified elsewhere in this State Plan, DMAS provides 
supplemental payments to Type I physicians for 
furnished services provided on or after July 2, 2002. A 
Type I physician is a member of a practice group 
organized by or under the control of a state academic 
health system or an academic health system that operates 
under a state authority and includes a hospital, who has 
entered into contractual agreements for the assignment of 
payments in accordance with 42 CFR 447.10. 

b. Effective July 2, 2002, the supplemental payment 
amount for Type I physician services shall be the 
difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise 
made for Type I physician services and Medicare rates. 
Effective August 13, 2002, the supplemental payment 

amount for Type I physician services shall be the 
difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise 
made for physician services and 143% of Medicare rates. 
This percentage was determined by dividing the total 
commercial allowed amounts for Type I physicians for at 
least the top five commercial insurers in CY 2004 by 
what Medicare would have allowed. The average 
commercial allowed amount was determined by 
multiplying the relative value units times the conversion 
factor for RBRVS procedures and by multiplying the unit 
cost times anesthesia units for anesthesia procedures for 
each insurer and practice group with Type I physicians 
and summing for all insurers and practice groups. The 
Medicare equivalent amount was determined by 
multiplying the total commercial relative value units for 
Type I physicians times the Medicare conversion factor 
for RBRVS procedures and by multiplying the Medicare 
unit cost times total commercial anesthesia units for 
anesthesia procedures for all Type I physicians and 
summing.  

c. Supplemental payments shall be made quarterly. 

d. Payment will not be made to the extent that this would 
duplicate payments based on physician costs covered by 
the supplemental payments. 

17. Supplemental payments to nonstate government-owned 
or operated clinics.  

a. In addition to payments for clinic services specified 
elsewhere in the regulations, DMAS provides 
supplemental payments to qualifying nonstate 
government-owned or operated clinics for outpatient 
services provided to Medicaid patients on or after July 2, 
2002. Clinic means a facility that is not part of a hospital 
but is organized and operated to provide medical care to 
outpatients. Outpatient services include those furnished 
by or under the direction of a physician, dentist or other 
medical professional acting within the scope of his 
license to an eligible individual. Effective July 1, 2005, a 
qualifying clinic is a clinic operated by a community 
services board. The state share for supplemental clinic 
payments will be funded by general fund appropriations.  

b. The amount of the supplemental payment made to 
each qualifying nonstate government-owned or operated 
clinic is determined by:  

(1) Calculating for each clinic the annual difference 
between the upper payment limit attributed to each clinic 
according to subdivision 17 d and the amount otherwise 
actually paid for the services by the Medicaid program;  

(2) Dividing the difference determined in subdivision 17 
b (1) for each qualifying clinic by the aggregate 
difference for all such qualifying clinics; and  
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(3) Multiplying the proportion determined in subdivision 
(2) of this subdivision 17 b by the aggregate upper 
payment limit amount for all such clinics as determined 
in accordance with 42 CFR 447.321 less all payments 
made to such clinics other than under this section.  

c. Payments for furnished services made under this 
section may be made in one or more installments at such 
times, within the fiscal year or thereafter, as is 
determined by DMAS.  

d. To determine the aggregate upper payment limit 
referred to in subdivision 17 b (3), Medicaid payments to 
nonstate government-owned or operated clinics will be 
divided by the "additional factor" whose calculation is 
described in Attachment 4.19-B, Supplement 4 
(12VAC30-80-190 B 2) in regard to the state agency fee 
schedule for RBRVS. Medicaid payments will be 
estimated using payments for dates of service from the 
prior fiscal year adjusted for expected claim payments. 
Additional adjustments will be made for any program 
changes in Medicare or Medicaid payments. 

18. Reserved. 

19. Personal Assistance Services (PAS) for individuals 
enrolled in the Medicaid Buy-In program described in 
12VAC30-60-200. These services are reimbursed in 
accordance with the state agency fee schedule described in 
12VAC30-80-190. The state agency fee schedule is 
published on the Single State Agency Website.  

B. Hospice services payments must be no lower than the 
amounts using the same methodology used under Part A of 
Title XVIII, and take into account the room and board 
furnished by the facility, equal to at least 95% of the rate that 
would have been paid by the state under the plan for facility 
services in that facility for that individual. Hospice services 
shall be paid according to the location of the service delivery 
and not the location of the agency's home office. 

12VAC30-80-190. State agency fee schedule for RBRVS. 

A. Reimbursement of fee-for-service providers. Effective for 
dates of service on or after July 1, 1995, the Department of 
Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) shall reimburse fee-
for-service providers, with the exception of home health 
services (see 12VAC30-80-180) and durable medical 
equipment services (see 12VAC30-80-30), using a fee 
schedule that is based on a Resource Based Relative Value 
Scale (RBRVS). 

B. Fee schedule. 

1. For those services or procedures which are included in 
the RBRVS published by the Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS) as amended from time to time, 
DMAS' fee schedule shall employ the Relative Value Units 
(RVUs) developed by CMS as periodically updated. 

a. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2008, 
DMAS shall implement site of service differentials and 
employ both nonfacility and facility RVUs. The 
implementation shall be budget neutral using the 
methodology in subdivision 2 of this subsection. 

b. The implementation of site of service shall be 
transitioned over a four-year period. 

(1) Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2008, 
DMAS shall calculate the transitioned facility RVU by 
adding 75% of the difference between the [ facility 
nonfacility ] RVU and [ facility nonfacility ] RVU to the 
facility RVU. 

(2) Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2009, 
DMAS shall calculate the transitioned facility RVU by 
adding 50% of the difference between the [ facility 
nonfacility ] RVU and [ facility nonfacility ] RVU to the 
facility RVU. 

(3) Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2010, 
DMAS shall calculate the transitioned facility RVU by 
adding 25% of the difference between the [ facility 
nonfacility ] RVU and [ facility nonfacility ] RVU to the 
facility RVU. 

(4) Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2011, 
DMAS shall use the unadjusted Medicare facility RVU. 

2. DMAS shall calculate the RBRVS-based fees using 
conversion factors (CFs) published from time to time by 
CMS. DMAS shall adjust CMS' CFs by additional factors 
so that no change in expenditure will result solely from the 
implementation of the RBRVS-based fee schedule. DMAS 
may revise the additional factors when CMS updates its 
RVUs or CFs so that no change in expenditure will result 
solely from such updates. Except for this adjustment, 
DMAS' CFs shall be the same as those published from 
time to time by CMS. The calculation of the additional 
factors shall be based on the assumption that no change in 
services provided will occur as a result of these changes to 
the fee schedule. The determination of the additional 
factors required above shall be accomplished by means of 
the following calculation: 

a. The estimated amount of DMAS expenditures if 
DMAS were to use Medicare's RVUs and CFs without 
modification, is equal to the sum, across all relevant 
procedure codes, of the RVU value published by the 
CMS, multiplied by the applicable conversion factor 
published by the CMS, multiplied by the number of 
occurrences of the procedure code in DMAS patient 
claims in the most recent period of time (at least six 
months). 

b. The estimated amount of DMAS expenditures, if 
DMAS were not to calculate new fees based on the new 
CMS RVUs and CFs, is equal to the sum, across all 
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relevant procedure codes, of the existing DMAS fee 
multiplied by the number of occurrences of the 
procedures code in DMAS patient claims in the period of 
time used in subdivision 2 a of this subsection. 

c. The relevant additional factor is equal to the ratio of 
the expenditure estimate (based on DMAS fees in 
subdivision 2 b of this subsection) to the expenditure 
estimate based on unmodified CMS values in subdivision 
2 a of this subsection. 

d. DMAS shall calculate a separate additional factor for: 

(1) Emergency room services (defined as the American 
Medical Association's (AMA) publication of the Current 
Procedural Terminology (CPT) codes 99281, 99282, 
99283, 99284, and 992851 in effect at the time the 
service is provided);  

(2) Obstetrical/gynecological services (defined as 
maternity care and delivery procedures, female genital 
system procedures, obstetrical/gynecological-related 
radiological procedures, and mammography procedures, 
as defined by the American Medical Association's 
(AMA) publication of the Current Procedural 
Terminology (CPT) manual in effect at the time the 
service is provided); 

(3) Pediatric preventive services (defined as preventive 
E&M procedures, excluding those listed in subdivision 
2 d (1) of this subsection, as defined by the AMA's 
publication of the CPT manual, in effect at the time the 
service is provided, for recipients under age 21); 

(4) Pediatric primary services (defined as evaluation and 
management (E&M) procedures, excluding those listed 
in subdivisions 2 d (1) and 2 d (3) of this subsection, as 
defined by the AMA's publication of the CPT manual, in 
effect at the time the service is provided, for recipients 
under age 21); 

(5) Adult primary and preventive services (defined as 
E&M procedures, excluding those listed in subdivision 2 
d (1) of this subsection, as defined by the AMA's 
publication of the CPT manual, in effect at the time the 
service is provided, for recipients age 21 and over); and 

(6) All other procedures set through the RBRVS process 
combined. 

3. For those services or procedures for which there are no 
established RVUs, DMAS shall approximate a reasonable 
relative value payment level by looking to similar existing 
relative value fees. If DMAS is unable to establish a 
relative value payment level for any service or procedure, 
the fee shall not be based on a RBRVS, but shall instead be 
based on the previous fee-for-service methodology. 

4. Fees shall not vary by geographic locality. 

5. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2007, 
fees for emergency room services (defined in subdivision 2 
d (1) of this subsection) shall be increased by 5.0% relative 
to the fees that would otherwise be in effect.  

C. Effective for dates of service on or after May 1, 2006, 
fees for obstetrical/gynecological services (defined in 
subdivision B 2 d (2) of this section) shall be increased by 
2.5% relative to the fees in effect on July 1, 2005.  

D. Effective for dates of service on or after May 1, 2006, 
fees for pediatric services (defined in subdivisions B 2 d (3) 
and (4) of this section) shall be increased by 5.0% relative to 
the fees in effect on July 1, 2005. Effective for dates of 
service on or after July 1, 2006, fees for pediatric services 
(defined in subdivisions B 2 d (3) and (4) of this section) shall 
be increased by 5.0% relative to the fees in effect on May 1, 
2006. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2007, 
fees for pediatric primary services (defined in subdivision B 2 
d (4) of this section) shall be increased by 10% relative to the 
fees that would otherwise be in effect. 

E. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2007, fees 
for pediatric preventive services (defined in subdivision B 2 d 
(3) of this section) shall be increased by 10% relative to the 
fees that would otherwise be in effect. 

F. Effective for dates of service on or after May 1, 2006, 
fees for adult primary and preventive services (defined in 
subdivision B 2 d (4) of this section) shall be increased by 
5.0% relative to the fees in effect on July 1, 2005. Effective 
for dates of service on or after July 1, 2007, fees for adult 
primary and preventive services (defined in subdivision B 2 d 
(5) of this section) shall be increased by 5.0% relative to the 
fees that would otherwise be in effect. 

G. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2007, 
fees for all other procedures set through the RBRVS process 
combined (defined in subdivision B 2 d (6) of this section) 
shall be increased by 5.0% relative to the fees that would 
otherwise be in effect. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1331; Filed November 4, 2009, 11:32 a.m.  

Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-120. Waivered Services 
(amending 12VAC30-120-211, 12VAC30-120-213, 
12VAC30-120-215, 12VAC30-120-217, 12VAC30-120-219, 
12VAC30-120-221, 12VAC30-120-223, 12VAC30-120-225, 
12VAC30-120-227, 12VAC30-120-229, 12VAC30-120-231, 
12VAC30-120-233, 12VAC30-120-235, 12VAC30-120-237, 
12VAC30-120-241, 12VAC30-120-245, 12VAC30-120-247, 
12VAC30-120-249). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 42 
USC § 1396 et seq. 

Effective Dates: October 29, 2009, through October 28, 2010. 
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Agency Contact: Helen Leonard, Long Term Care Division, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2149, 
FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
helen.leonard@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Preamble:  

Section 2.2-4011 of the Administrative Process Act 
provides that agencies may adopt emergency regulations in 
situations in which Virginia statutory law, the Virginia 
appropriation act, or federal law or regulation requires 
that a regulation shall be effective in 280 days or less from 
its enactment. These changes were mandated by Item 306 
PPP of Chapter 781 of the 2009 Acts of Assembly. 
This emergency is required to comply with the Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services' (CMS) requirements for 
the renewal of the Mental Retardation/Intellectual 
Disability (MR/ID) Waiver (previously referred to as the 
Mental Retardation Waiver). DMAS covers these services 
pursuant to a waiver of certain federal requirements, 
permitted by application to CMS, the federal Medicaid 
authority. CMS approved the request for the renewal 
effective July 1, 2009. These emergency regulations 
support the renewal application; therefore, these 
regulations are critical to successful implementation of the 
waiver upon receipt of CMS' approval for the continuation 
of essential services currently available to Virginians. 

Part IV 
Mental Retardation/Intellectual Disability Waiver 

Article 1 
Definitions and General Requirements 

12VAC30-120-211. Definitions. 

"Activities of daily living" or "ADL" means personal care 
tasks, e.g., bathing, dressing, toileting, transferring, and 
eating/feeding. An individual's degree of independence in 
performing these activities is a part of determining 
appropriate level of care and service needs. 

"Appeal" means the process used to challenge adverse 
actions regarding services, benefits and reimbursement 
provided by Medicaid pursuant to 12VAC30-110 and 
12VAC30-20-500 through 12VAC30-20-560.  

"Assistive technology" or "AT" means specialized medical 
equipment and supplies to include devices, controls, or 
appliances, specified in the consumer service plan Individual 
Support Plan but not available under the State Plan for 
Medical Assistance, which enable individuals to increase 
their abilities to perform activities of daily living, or to 
perceive, control, or communicate with the environment in 
which they live. This service also includes items necessary 
for life support, ancillary supplies and equipment necessary to 
the proper functioning of such items, and durable and 

nondurable medical equipment not available under the 
Medicaid State Plan. 

"Behavioral health authority" or "BHA" means the local 
agency, established by a city or county under Chapter 1 
(§ 37.2-100) of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia that plans, 
provides, and evaluates mental health, mental retardation 
mental retardation/intellectual disability (MR/ID), and 
substance abuse services in the locality that it serves. 

"CMS" means the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services, which is the unit of the federal Department of 
Health and Human Services that administers the Medicare 
and Medicaid programs. 

"Case management" means the assessing and planning of 
services; linking the individual to services and supports 
identified in the consumer service plan Individual Support 
Plan; assisting the individual directly for the purpose of 
locating, developing or obtaining needed services and 
resources; coordinating services and service planning with 
other agencies and providers involved with the individual; 
enhancing community integration; making collateral contacts 
to promote the implementation of the consumer service plan 
Individual Support Plan and community integration; 
monitoring to assess ongoing progress and ensuring services 
are delivered; and education and counseling that guides the 
individual and develops a supportive relationship that 
promotes the consumer service plan Individual Support Plan. 

"Case manager" means the individual on behalf of the 
community services board or behavioral health authority 
possessing a combination of mental retardation MR/ID work 
experience and relevant education that indicates that the 
individual possesses the knowledge, skills and abilities as 
established by the Department of Medical Assistance Services 
in 12VAC30-50-450. 

"Community services board" or "CSB" means the local 
agency, established by a city or county or combination of 
counties or cities under Chapter 5 (§ 37.2-500 et seq.) of Title 
37.2 of the Code of Virginia, that plans, provides, and 
evaluates mental health, mental retardation MR/ID, and 
substance abuse services in the jurisdiction or jurisdictions it 
serves. 

"Companion" means, for the purpose of these regulations, a 
person who provides companion services. 

"Companion services" means nonmedical care, support, and 
socialization, provided to an adult (age 18 and over). The 
provision of companion services does not entail hands-on 
care. It is provided in accordance with a therapeutic goal in 
the consumer service plan Individual Support Plan and is not 
purely diversional in nature. 

"Comprehensive assessment" means the gathering of 
relevant social, psychological, medical and level of care 
information by the case manager and is used as a basis for the 
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development of the consumer service plan Individual Support 
Plan. 

"Consumer-directed model" means services for which the 
individual and the individual's family/caregiver, as 
appropriate, is responsible for hiring, training, supervising, 
and firing of the staff. 

"Consumer-directed (CD) services facilitator" means the 
DMAS-enrolled provider who is responsible for supporting 
the individual and the individual's family/caregiver, as 
appropriate, by ensuring the development and monitoring of 
the Consumer-Directed Services Individual Service Plan for 
Supports, providing employee management training, and 
completing ongoing review activities as required by DMAS 
for consumer-directed CD companion, personal assistance, 
and respite services. 

"Consumer service plan" or "CSP" means documents 
addressing needs in all life areas of individuals who receive 
mental retardation waiver services, and is comprised of 
individual service plans as dictated by the individual's health 
care and support needs. The individual service plans are 
incorporated in the CSP by the case manager. 

"Crisis stabilization" means direct intervention to persons 
with mental retardation MR/ID who are experiencing serious 
psychiatric or behavioral challenges that jeopardize their 
current community living situation, by providing temporary 
intensive services and supports that avert emergency 
psychiatric hospitalization or institutional placement or 
prevent other out-of-home placement. This service shall be 
designed to stabilize the individual and strengthen the current 
living situation so the individual can be supported in the 
community during and beyond the crisis period. 

"DBHDS" means the Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services. Prior to July 1, 2009, this agency 
was known as "DMHMRSAS," or the Department of Mental 
Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services. 

"DBHDS staff" means persons employed by DBHDS. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services. 

"DMAS staff" means persons employed by the Department 
of Medical Assistance Services. 

"DMHMRSAS" means the Department of Mental Health, 
Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services. 

"DMHMRSAS staff" means persons employed by the 
Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services. 

"DRS" means the Department of Rehabilitative Services. 

"DSS" means the Department of Social Services. 

"Day support" means training, assistance, and specialized 
supervision in the acquisition, retention, or improvement of 

self-help, socialization, and adaptive skills, which typically 
take place outside the home in which the individual resides. 
Day support services shall focus on enabling the individual to 
attain or maintain his maximum functional level. 

"Developmental risk" means the presence before, during or 
after an individual's birth of conditions typically identified as 
related to the occurrence of a developmental disability and for 
which no specific developmental disability is identifiable 
through existing diagnostic and evaluative criteria. 

"Direct marketing" means either (i) conducting directly or 
indirectly door-to-door, telephonic or other "cold call" 
marketing of services at residences and provider sites; (ii) 
mailing directly; (iii) paying "finders' fees"; (iv) offering 
financial incentives, rewards, gifts or special opportunities to 
eligible individuals and the individual's family/caregivers, as 
appropriate, as inducements to use the providers' services; (v) 
continuous, periodic marketing activities to the same 
prospective individual and the individual's family/caregiver, 
as appropriate, for example, monthly, quarterly, or annual 
giveaways as inducements to use the providers' services; or 
(vi) engaging in marketing activities that offer potential 
customers rebates or discounts in conjunction with the use of 
the providers' services or other benefits as a means of 
influencing the individual's and the individual's 
family/caregiver's, as appropriate, use of the providers' 
services. 

"Enroll" means that the individual has been determined by 
the case manager to meet the eligibility requirements for the 
MR MR/ID Waiver and DMHMRSAS DBHDS has verified 
the availability of a MR MR/ID Waiver slot for that 
individual, and DSS has determined the individual's Medicaid 
eligibility for home and community-based services. 

"Entrepreneurial model" means a small business employing 
eight or fewer individuals who have disabilities on a shift and 
usually involves interactions with the public and with 
coworkers without disabilities. 

"Environmental modifications" means physical adaptations 
to a house, place of residence, primary vehicle or work site 
(when the work site modification exceeds reasonable 
accommodation requirements of the Americans with 
Disabilities Act) that are necessary to ensure the individual's 
health and safety or enable functioning with greater 
independence when the adaptation is not being used to bring a 
substandard dwelling up to minimum habitation standards 
and is of direct medical or remedial benefit to the individual. 

"EPSDT" means the Early Periodic Screening, Diagnosis 
and Treatment program administered by DMAS for children 
under the age of 21 according to federal guidelines that 
prescribe preventive and treatment services for Medicaid-
eligible children as defined in 12VAC30-50-130. 

"Fiscal agent" means an agency or organization within 
DMAS or contracted by DMAS to handle employment, 
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payroll, and tax responsibilities on behalf of individuals who 
are receiving consumer-directed CD personal assistance, 
respite, and companion services. 

"Health Planning Region" or "HPR" means the federally 
designated geographical area within which health care needs 
assessment and planning takes place, and within which health 
care resource development is reviewed. 

"Health, welfare, and safety standard" means that an 
individual's right to receive a waiver service is dependent on a 
finding that the individual needs the service, based on 
appropriate assessment criteria and a written individual 
service plan Plan for Supports and that services can safely be 
provided in the community. 

"Home and community-based waiver services" or "waiver 
services" means the range of community support services 
approved by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 
(CMS) pursuant to § 1915(c) of the Social Security Act to be 
offered to persons with mental retardation MR/ID and 
children younger than age six who are at developmental risk 
who would otherwise require the level of care provided in an 
Intermediate Care Facility for the Mentally Retarded 
(ICF/MR.) 

"ICF/MR" means a facility or distinct part of a facility 
certified by the Virginia Department of Health, as meeting the 
federal certification regulations for an Intermediate Care 
Facility for the Mentally Retarded and persons with related 
conditions. These facilities must address the total needs of the 
residents, which include physical, intellectual, social, 
emotional, and habilitation, and must provide active 
treatment. 

"Individual" means the person receiving the services or 
evaluations established in these regulations. 

"Individual service plan" or "ISP" means the service plan 
related solely to the specific waiver service. Multiple ISPs 
help to comprise the overall consumer service plan. 

"Individual Support Plan" means supports and actions to be 
taken during the year by each service provider to achieve 
desired outcomes. The Individual Support Plan is developed 
by the individual, and partners chosen by the individual, and 
contains essential information and includes what is important 
to the individual on a day-to-day basis and in the future and 
what is important for the individual to keep healthy and safe 
as reflected in the Plan for Supports. The Individual Support 
Plan is known as the Consumer Service Plan in the Day 
Support Waiver. 

"Instrumental activities of daily living" or "IADLs" means 
tasks such as meal preparation, shopping, housekeeping, 
laundry, and money management. 

"ISAR" means the Individual Service Authorization Request 
and is the DMAS form used by providers to request prior 
authorization for MR MR/ID waiver services. 

"Medicaid Long-Term Care Communication Form" or 
"DMAS-225" means the form used by the long-term care 
provider, including the case manager, to report information 
about changes in an individual's situation, including, but not 
limited to, information on a new address, a different case 
management agency, income, interruption in waiver services 
for more than 30 days, discharge from all waiver services, or 
death. DMAS policy describes specific procedures for the use 
of the DMAS-225.  

"Mental retardation" "Mental retardation/intellectual 
disability" or "MR/ID" means a disability as defined by the 
American Association on Intellectual and Developmental 
Disabilities (AAIDD). "MR" and "ID" are synonymous terms. 

"Participating provider" means an entity that meets the 
standards and requirements set forth by DMAS and 
DMHMRSAS DBHDS, and has a current, signed provider 
participation agreement with DMAS.  

"Pend" means delaying the consideration of an individual's 
request for services until all required information is received 
by DMHMRSAS DBHDS. 

"Person-centered planning" means a process that focuses on 
the needs and preferences of the individual to create an 
Individual Support Plan containing essential information, a 
personal profile, and desired outcomes of the individual to be 
shared with persons and providers involved in the provision 
of services and supports accomplished through provider(s) 
services and Plan for Supports. Person-centered planning is 
the foundation for identifying and providing services and 
supports through the MR/ID Waiver. 

"Personal assistance services" means assistance with 
activities of daily living, instrumental activities of daily 
living, access to the community, self-administration of 
medication, or other medical needs, and the monitoring of 
health status and physical condition. 

"Personal assistant" means a person who provides personal 
assistance services. 

"Personal emergency response system (PERS)" is an 
electronic device that enables certain individuals at high risk 
of institutionalization to secure help in an emergency. PERS 
services are limited to those individuals who live alone or are 
alone for significant parts of the day and who have no regular 
caregiver for extended periods of time, and who would 
otherwise require extensive routine supervision. 

"Plan for Supports" means each service provider's plan for 
supporting the individual in achieving his or her desired 
outcomes and facilitating ongoing health and safety. The Plan 
for Supports is one component of the Individual Support Plan. 
The Plan for Supports is referred to as an Individual Service 
Plan in the Day Support Waiver. 

"Preauthorized" means that an individual service has been 
approved by DMHMRSAS the state-designated agency or its 
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contractor prior to commencement of the service by the 
service provider for initiation and reimbursement of services. 

"Prevocational services" means services aimed at preparing 
an individual for paid or unpaid employment. The services do 
not include activities that are specifically job-task oriented 
but focus on concepts such as accepting supervision, 
attendance, task completion, problem solving and safety. 
Compensation, if provided, is less than 50% of the minimum 
wage.  

"Primary caregiver" means the primary person who 
consistently assumes the role of providing direct care and 
support of the individual to live successfully in the 
community without compensation for providing such care.  

"Qualified mental retardation professional" or "QMRP" for 
the purposes of the MR/ID Waiver means a professional 
possessing: (i) at least one year of documented experience 
working directly with individuals who have mental 
retardation MR/ID or developmental disabilities; (ii) at least a 
bachelor's degree in a human services field including, but not 
limited to, sociology, social work, special education, 
rehabilitation counseling, or psychology, or a bachelor's 
degree in another field in addition to an advanced degree in a 
human services field; and (iii) the required Virginia or 
national license, registration, or certification in accordance 
with his profession, if applicable.  

"Residential support services" means support provided in the 
individual's home by a DMHMRSAS-licensed DBHDS-
licensed residential provider or a DSS-approved provider of 
adult foster care services. This service is one in which 
training, assistance, and supervision is routinely provided to 
enable individuals to maintain or improve their health, to 
develop skills in activities of daily living and safety in the use 
of community resources, to adapt their behavior to 
community and home-like environments, to develop 
relationships, and participate as citizens in the community.  

"Respite services" means services provided to individuals 
who are unable to care for themselves, furnished on a short-
term basis because of the absence or need for relief of those 
unpaid persons normally providing the care.  

"Services facilitation" means a service that assists the 
individual (or the individual’s family or caregiver, as 
appropriate) in arranging for, directing, and managing 
services provided through the consumer-directed model. 

"Services facilitator" means the DMAS-enrolled provider 
who is responsible for supporting the individual and the 
individual's family/caregiver, as appropriate, by ensuring the 
development and monitoring of the Consumer-Directed 
Services Individual Service Plan for Supports, providing 
employee management training, and completing ongoing 
review activities as required by DMAS for services with an 
option of a consumer-directed model. These services include 
companion, personal assistance, and respite services. 

"Skilled nursing services" means services that are ordered 
by a physician and required to prevent institutionalization, 
that are not otherwise available under the State Plan for 
Medical Assistance and that are provided by a licensed 
registered professional nurse, or by a licensed practical nurse 
under the supervision of a licensed registered professional 
nurse, in each case who is licensed to practice in the 
Commonwealth. 

"Slot" means an opening or vacancy of waiver services for 
an individual. 

"State Plan for Medical Assistance" or "Plan" means the 
Commonwealth's legal document approved by CMS 
identifying the covered groups, covered services and their 
limitations, and provider reimbursement methodologies as 
provided for under Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

"Supported employment" means work in settings in which 
persons without disabilities are typically employed. It 
includes training in specific skills related to paid employment 
and the provision of ongoing or intermittent assistance and 
specialized supervision to enable an individual with mental 
retardation MR/ID to maintain paid employment.  

"Support plan" means the report of recommendations 
resulting from a therapeutic consultation.  

"Therapeutic consultation" means activities to assist the 
individual and the individual's family/caregiver, as 
appropriate, staff of residential support, day support, and any 
other providers in implementing an individual service plan a 
Plan for Supports. 

"Transition services" means set-up expenses for individuals 
who are transitioning from an institution or licensed or 
certified provider-operated living arrangement to a living 
arrangement in a private residence where the person is 
directly responsible for his own living expenses. 12VAC30-
120-2010 provides the service description, criteria, service 
units and limitations, and provider requirements for this 
service. 

12VAC30-120-213. General coverage and requirements 
for MR Mental Retardation/Intellectual Disability 
(MR/ID) waiver services. 

A. Waiver service populations. Home and community-based 
waiver services shall be available through a § 1915(c) of the 
Social Security Act waiver for the following individuals who 
have been determined to require the level of care provided in 
an ICF/MR. 

1. Individuals with mental retardation; or 

2. Individuals younger than the age of six who are at 
developmental risk. At the age of six years, these 
individuals must have a diagnosis of mental retardation to 
continue to receive home and community-based waiver 
services specifically under this program. Mental 
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Retardation (MR) MR/ID Waiver recipients individuals 
who attain the age of six years of age, who are determined 
to not have a diagnosis of mental retardation, and who 
meet all IFDDS Individual and Family and Developmental 
Disability Support (IFDDS) Waiver eligibility criteria, 
shall be eligible for transfer to the IFDDS Waiver effective 
up to their seventh birthday. Psychological evaluations (or 
standardized developmental assessment for children under 
six years of age) confirming diagnoses must be completed 
less than one year prior to transferring to the IFDDS 
Waiver. These recipients individuals transferring from the 
MR MR/ID Waiver will automatically be assigned a slot in 
the IFDDS Waiver, subject to the approval of the slot by 
CMS the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 
(CMS). The case manager will submit the current Level of 
Functioning Survey, CSP Individual Support Plan and 
psychological evaluation (or standardized developmental 
assessment for children under six years of age) to DMAS 
for review. Upon determination by DMAS that the 
individual is appropriate for transfer to the IFDDS Waiver, 
the case manager will provide the family with a list of 
IFDDS Waiver case managers. The case manager will 
work with the selected IFDDS Waiver case manager to 
determine an appropriate transfer date and submit a 
DMAS-122 DMAS-225 to the local DSS. The MR MR/ID 
Waiver slot will be held by the CSB until the child has 
successfully transitioned to the IFDDS Waiver. Once the 
child has successfully transitioned, the CSB community 
services board (CSB) will reallocate the slot. 

B. Covered services. 

1. Covered services shall include: residential support 
services, day support, supported employment, personal 
assistance (both consumer-directed and agency-directed), 
respite services (both consumer-directed and agency-
directed), assistive technology, environmental 
modifications, skilled nursing services, therapeutic 
consultation, crisis stabilization, prevocational services, 
personal emergency response systems (PERS), companion 
services (both consumer-directed and agency-directed), 
and transition services. 

2. These services shall be appropriate and necessary to 
maintain the individual in the community. Federal waiver 
requirements provide that the average per capita fiscal year 
expenditures under the waiver must not exceed the average 
per capita expenditures for the level of care provided in an 
ICF/MR Intermediate Care Facility for the Mentally 
Retarded (ICFMR) under the State Plan that would have 
been provided had the waiver not been granted. 

3. Waiver services shall not be furnished to individuals 
who are inpatients of a hospital, nursing facility, ICF/MR, 
or inpatient rehabilitation facility. Individuals with mental 
retardation MR/ID who are inpatients of these facilities 
may receive case management services as described in 

12VAC30-50-450. The case manager may recommend 
waiver services that would promote exiting from the 
institutional placement; however, these services shall not 
be provided until the individual has exited the institution. 

4. Under this § 1915(c) waiver, DMAS waives 
§ 1902(a)(10)(B) of the Social Security Act related to 
comparability. 

C. Requests for increased services. All requests for 
increased waiver services by MR MR/ID Waiver recipients 
will be reviewed under the health, welfare, and safety 
standard. This standard assures that an individual's right to 
receive a waiver service is dependent on a finding that the 
individual needs the service, based on appropriate assessment 
criteria and a written ISP Plan for Supports and that services 
can safely be provided in the community. 

D. Appeals. Individual appeals shall be considered pursuant 
to 12VAC30-110-10 through 12VAC30-110-380. Provider 
appeals shall be considered pursuant to 12VAC30-10-1000 
and 12VAC30-20-500 through 12VAC30-20-560. 

E. Urgent criteria. The CSB/BHA CSB/behavioral health 
authority (BHA) will determine, from among the individuals 
included in the urgent category, who should be served first, 
based on the needs of the individual at the time a slot 
becomes available and not on any predetermined numerical or 
chronological order using the statewide criteria as specified in 
the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services (DBHDS) guidance documents. 

1. The urgent category will be assigned when the 
individual is in need of services because he is determined 
to meet one of the criteria established in subdivision 2 of 
this subsection and services are needed within 30 days. 
Assignment to the urgent category may be requested by the 
individual, his legally responsible relative, or primary 
caregiver. The urgent category may be assigned only when 
the individual, the individual's spouse, or the parent of an 
individual who is a minor child would accept the requested 
service if it were offered. Only after all individuals in the 
Commonwealth who meet the urgent criteria have been 
served can individuals in the nonurgent category be served. 
Individuals in the nonurgent category are those who meet 
the diagnostic and functional criteria for the waiver, 
including the need for services within 30 days, but who do 
not meet the urgent criteria. In the event that a CSB/BHA 
has a vacant slot and does not have an individual who 
meets the urgent criteria, the slot can be held by the 
CSB/BHA for 90 days from the date it is identified as 
vacant, in case someone in an urgent situation is identified. 
If no one meeting the urgent criteria is identified within 90 
days, the slot will be made available for allocation to 
another CSB/BHA in the Health Planning Region (HPR). 
If there is no urgent need at the time that the HPR is to 
make a regional reallocation of a waiver slot, the HPR 
shall notify DMHMRSAS DBHDS. DMHMRSAS 
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DBHDS shall have the authority to reallocate said slot to 
another HPR or CSB/BHA where there is unmet urgent 
need. Said authority must be exercised, if at all, within 30 
days from receiving such notice. 

2. Satisfaction of one or more of the following criteria shall 
indicate that the individual should be placed on the urgent 
need of waiver services list: 

a. Both primary caregivers are 55 years of age or older, 
or if there is one primary caregiver, that primary 
caregiver is 55 years of age or older; 

b. The individual is living with a primary caregiver, who 
is providing the service voluntarily and without pay, and 
the primary caregiver indicates that he can no longer care 
for the individual with mental retardation; 

c. There is a clear risk of abuse, neglect, or exploitation; 

d. A primary caregiver has a chronic or long-term 
physical or psychiatric condition or conditions which 
significantly limits the abilities of the primary caregiver 
or caregivers to care for the individual with mental 
retardation; 

e. Individual is aging out of publicly funded residential 
placement or otherwise becoming homeless (exclusive of 
children who are graduating from high school); or 

f. The individual with mental retardation lives with the 
primary caregiver and there is a risk to the health or 
safety of the individual, primary caregiver, or other 
individual living in the home due to either of the 
following conditions: 

(1) The individual's behavior or behaviors present a risk 
to himself or others which cannot be effectively managed 
by the primary caregiver even with generic or specialized 
support arranged or provided by the CSB/BHA; or 

(2) There are physical care needs (such as lifting or 
bathing) or medical needs that cannot be managed by the 
primary caregiver even with generic or specialized 
supports arranged or provided by the CSB/BHA. 

F. Reevaluation of service need and utilization review. Case 
managers shall complete reviews and updates of the CSP 
Individual Support Plan and level of care as specified in 
12VAC30-120-215 D. Providers shall meet the 
documentation requirements as specified in 12VAC30-120-
217 B. 

12VAC30-120-215. Individual eligibility requirements. 

A. Individuals receiving services under this waiver must 
meet the following requirements. Virginia will apply the 
financial eligibility criteria contained in the State Plan for the 
categorically needy. Virginia has elected to cover the optional 
categorically needy groups under 42 CFR 435.211, 435.217, 
and 435.230. The income level used for 42 CFR 435.211, 

435.217 and 435.230 is 300% of the current Supplemental 
Security Income payment standard for one person.  

1. Under this waiver, the coverage groups authorized under 
§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(VI) of the Social Security Act will be 
considered as if they were institutionalized for the purpose 
of applying institutional deeming rules. All recipients 
individuals under the waiver must meet the financial and 
nonfinancial Medicaid eligibility criteria and meet the 
institutional level of care criteria. The deeming rules are 
applied to waiver eligible individuals as if the individual 
were residing in an institution or would require that level 
of care.  

2. Virginia shall reduce its payment for home and 
community-based waiver services provided to an 
individual who is eligible for Medicaid services under 
42 CFR 435.217 by that amount of the individual's total 
income (including amounts disregarded in determining 
eligibility) that remains after allowable deductions for 
personal maintenance needs, deductions for other 
dependents, and medical needs have been made, according 
to the guidelines in 42 CFR 435.735 and § 1915(c)(3) of 
the Social Security Act as amended by the Consolidated 
Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1986. DMAS will 
reduce its payment for home and community-based waiver 
services by the amount that remains after the deductions 
listed below:  

a. For individuals to whom § 1924(d) applies and for 
whom Virginia waives the requirement for comparability 
pursuant to § 1902(a)(10)(B), deduct the following in the 
respective order:  

(1) The basic maintenance needs for an individual under 
both this waiver and the mental retardation day support 
waiver Day Support Waiver, which is equal to 165% of 
the SSI payment for one person. As of January 1, 2002, 
due to expenses of employment, a working individual 
shall have an additional income allowance. For an 
individual employed 20 hours or more per week, earned 
income shall be disregarded up to a maximum of both 
earned and unearned income up to 300% SSI; for an 
individual employed at least eight but less than 20 hours 
per week, earned income shall be disregarded up to a 
maximum of both earned and unearned income up to 
200% of SSI. If the individual requires a guardian or 
conservator who charges a fee, the fee, not to exceed an 
amount greater than 5.0% of the individual's total 
monthly income, is added to the maintenance needs 
allowance. However, in no case shall the total amount of 
the maintenance needs allowance (basic allowance plus 
earned income allowance plus guardianship fees) for the 
individual exceed 300% of SSI. (The guardianship fee is 
not to exceed 5.0% of the individual's total monthly 
income.)  
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(2) For an individual with only a spouse at home, the 
community spousal income allowance determined in 
accordance with § 1924(d) of the Social Security Act.  

(3) For an individual with a family at home, an additional 
amount for the maintenance needs of the family 
determined in accordance with § 1924(d) of the Social 
Security Act.  

(4) Amounts for incurred expenses for medical or 
remedial care that are not subject to payment by a third 
party including Medicare and other health insurance 
premiums, deductibles, or coinsurance charges and 
necessary medical or remedial care recognized under 
state law but not covered under the plan.  

b. For individuals to whom § 1924(d) does not apply and 
for whom Virginia waives the requirement for 
comparability pursuant to § 1902(a)(10)(B), deduct the 
following in the respective order:  

(1) The basic maintenance needs for an individual under 
both this waiver and the mental retardation day support 
waiver Day Support Waiver, which is equal to 165% of 
the SSI payment for one person. As of January 1, 2002, 
due to expenses of employment, a working individual 
shall have an additional income allowance. For an 
individual employed 20 hours or more per week, earned 
income shall be disregarded up to a maximum of both 
earned and unearned income up to 300% SSI; for an 
individual employed at least eight but less than 20 hours 
per week, earned income shall be disregarded up to a 
maximum of both earned and unearned income up to 
200% of SSI. If the individual requires a guardian or 
conservator who charges a fee, the fee, not to exceed an 
amount greater than 5.0% of the individual's total 
monthly income, is added to the maintenance needs 
allowance. However, in no case shall the total amount of 
the maintenance needs allowance (basic allowance plus 
earned income allowance plus guardianship fees) for the 
individual exceed 300% of SSI. (The guardianship fee is 
not to exceed 5.0% of the individual's total monthly 
income.)  

(2) For an individual with a dependent child or children, 
an additional amount for the maintenance needs of the 
child or children, which shall be equal to the Title XIX 
medically needy income standard based on the number of 
dependent children.  

(3) Amounts for incurred expenses for medical or 
remedial care that are not subject to payment by a third 
party including Medicare and other health insurance 
premiums, deductibles, or coinsurance charges and 
necessary medical or remedial care recognized under 
state law but not covered under the State Medical 
Assistance Plan.  

3. The following four criteria shall apply to all mental 
retardation mental retardation/intellectual disability 
(MR/ID) waiver services:  

a. Individuals qualifying for mental retardation MR/ID 
waiver services must have a demonstrated need for the 
service resulting in significant functional limitations in 
major life activities. The need for the service must arise 
from either (i) an individual having a diagnosed 
condition of mental retardation MR/ID or (ii) a child 
younger than six years of age being at developmental risk 
of significant functional limitations in major life 
activities;  

b. The CSP Individual Support Plan and services that are 
delivered must be consistent with the Medicaid definition 
of each service;  

c. Services must be recommended by the case manager 
based on a current functional assessment using a 
DMHMRSAS approved Department of Behavioral 
Health and Developmental Services (DBHDS)-approved 
assessment instrument, as specified in DBHDS and 
DMAS guidance documents, and a demonstrated need 
for each specific service; and  

d. Individuals qualifying for mental retardation MR/ID 
waiver services must meet the ICF/MR level of care 
criteria.  

B. Assessment and enrollment.  

1. To ensure that Virginia's home and community-based 
waiver programs serve only individuals who would 
otherwise be placed in an ICF/MR, home and community-
based waiver services shall be considered only for 
individuals who are eligible for admission to an ICF/MR 
with a diagnosis of mental retardation MR/ID, or who are 
under six years of age and at developmental risk. For the 
case manager to make a recommendation for waiver 
services, MR MR/ID Waiver services must be determined 
to be an appropriate service alternative to delay or avoid 
placement in an ICF/MR, or promote exiting from either an 
ICF/MR placement or other institutional placement.  

2. The case manager shall recommend the individual for 
home and community-based waiver services after 
completion of a comprehensive assessment of the 
individual's needs and available supports. This assessment 
process for home and community-based waiver services by 
the case manager is mandatory before Medicaid will 
assume payment responsibility of home and community-
based waiver services. The comprehensive assessment 
includes:  

a. Relevant medical information based on a medical 
examination completed no earlier than 12 months prior to 
the initiation of waiver services;  
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b. The case manager's functional assessment that 
demonstrates a need for each specific service. The 
functional assessment must be a DMHMRSAS DBHDS 
approved assessment completed no earlier than 12 
months prior to enrollment;  

c. The level of care required by applying the existing 
DMAS ICF/MR criteria (12VAC30-130-430 et seq.) 
completed no more than six months prior to enrollment. 
The case manager determines whether the individual 
meets the ICF/MR criteria with input from the individual 
and the individual's family/caregiver, as appropriate, and 
service and support providers involved in the individual's 
support in the community; and  

d. A psychological evaluation or standardized 
developmental assessment for children under six years of 
age that reflects the current psychological status 
(diagnosis), current cognitive abilities, and current 
adaptive level of functioning of the individuals.  

3. The case manager shall provide the individual and the 
individual's family/caregiver, as appropriate, with the 
choice of MR MR/ID waiver services or ICF/MR 
placement.  

4. The case manager shall send the appropriate forms to 
DMHMRSAS DBHDS to enroll the individual in the MR 
MR/ID Waiver or, if no slot is available, to place the 
individual on the waiting list. DMHMRSAS DBHDS shall 
only enroll the individual if a slot is available. If no slot is 
available, the individual's name will be placed on either the 
urgent or nonurgent statewide waiting list until such time 
as a slot becomes available. Once notification has been 
received from DMHMRSAS DBHDS that the individual 
has been placed on either the urgent or nonurgent waiting 
list, the case manager must notify the individual in writing 
within 10 business days of his placement on either list, and 
offer appeal rights. The case manager will contact the 
individual and the individual's family/caregiver, as 
appropriate, at least annually to provide the choice between 
institutional placement and waiver services while the 
individual is on the waiting list.  

C. Waiver approval process: authorizing and accessing 
services.  

1. Once the case manager has determined an individual 
meets the functional criteria for mental retardation (MR) 
MR/ID waiver services, has determined that a slot is 
available, and that the individual has chosen MR MR/ID 
waiver services, the case manager shall submit enrollment 
information to DMHMRSAS DBHDS to confirm level of 
care eligibility and the availability of a slot.  

2. Once the individual has been enrolled by DMHMRSAS 
DBHDS, the case manager will submit a DMAS-122 
DMAS-225 along with a written confirmation from 
DMHMRSAS DBHDS of level of care eligibility, to the 

local DSS to determine financial eligibility for the waiver 
program and any patient pay responsibilities. If the 
individual receiving MR/ID Waiver services has a patient 
pay amount, a provider shall use the electronic patient pay 
process that became effective March 1, 2009. Local 
departments of social services (LDSS) will enter data 
regarding an individual's patient pay amount obligation 
into the DMAS electronic reimbursement system at the 
time action is taken on behalf of the individual either as a 
result of an application for long-term care services, 
redetermination of eligibility, or reported change in an 
individual's situation. Procedures for the verification of an 
individual's patient pay obligation are available in the 
appropriate Medicaid provider manual. 

3. After the case manager has received written notification 
of Medicaid eligibility by DSS Department of Social 
Services (DSS) and written confirmation of enrollment 
from DMHMRSAS DBHDS, the case manager shall 
inform the individual and the individual's family/caregiver, 
as appropriate, so that the CSP Individual Support Plan can 
be developed. The individual and the individual's 
family/caregiver, as appropriate, will meet with the case 
manager within 30 calendar days to discuss the individual's 
needs and existing supports, and to develop a CSP 
Individual Support Plan that will establish and document 
the needed services. The case manager shall provide the 
individual and the individual's family/caregiver, as 
appropriate, with choice of needed services available under 
the MR MR/ID Waiver, alternative settings and providers. 
A CSP An Individual Support Plan shall be developed for 
the individual based on the assessment of needs as 
reflected in the level of care and functional assessment 
instruments and the individual's and the individual's 
family/caregiver's, as appropriate, preferences. The CSP 
Individual Support Plan development process identifies the 
services to be rendered to individuals, the frequency of 
services, the type of service provider or providers, and a 
description of the services to be offered.  

4. The individual or case manager shall contact chosen 
service providers so that services can be initiated within 60 
days of receipt of enrollment confirmation from 
DMHMRSAS DBHDS. The service providers in 
conjunction with the individual and the individual's 
family/caregiver, as appropriate, and case manager will 
develop ISPs Plans for Supports for each service. A copy 
of these plans will be submitted to the case manager. The 
case manager will review and ensure the ISP Plan for 
Supports meets the established service criteria for the 
identified needs prior to submitting to DMHMRSAS the 
state-designated agency or its contractor for prior 
authorization. The ISP Plan for Supports from each waiver 
service provider shall be incorporated into the CSP 
Individual Support Plan. Only MR MR/ID Waiver services 
authorized on the CSP Individual Support Plan by 
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DMHMRSAS the state-designated agency or its contractor 
according to DMAS policies may be reimbursed by 
DMAS. The Plan for Supports from each waiver service 
provider shall be incorporated into the Individual Support 
Plan along with the steps for risk mitigation as indicated by 
the risk assessment. 

5. The case manager must submit the results of the 
comprehensive assessment and a recommendation to the 
DMHMRSAS DBHDS staff for final determination of 
ICF/MR level of care and authorization for community-
based services. DMHMRSAS The state-designated agency 
or its contractor shall, within 10 working days of receiving 
all supporting documentation, review and approve, pend 
for more information, or deny the individual service 
requests. DMHMRSAS The state-designated agency or its 
contractor will communicate in writing to the case manager 
whether the recommended services have been approved 
and the amounts and type of services authorized or if any 
have been denied. Medicaid will not pay for any home and 
community-based waiver services delivered prior to the 
authorization date approved by DMHMRSAS the state-
designated agency or its contractor if prior authorization is 
required.  

6. MR MR/ID Waiver services may be recommended by 
the case manager only if:  

a. The individual is Medicaid eligible as determined by 
the local office of the Department of Social Services 
DSS;  

b. The individual has a diagnosis of mental retardation 
MR/ID as defined by the American Association on 
Mental Retardation: Mental Retardation: Definition, 
Classification, and System of Supports, 10th Edition, 
2002 Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities, or is a 
child under the age of six at developmental risk, and 
would in the absence of waiver services, require the level 
of care provided in an ICF/MR the cost of which would 
be reimbursed under the Plan; and  

c. The contents of the individual service plans are 
consistent with the Medicaid definition of each service.  

7. All consumer service plans are subject to approval by 
DMAS. DMAS is the single state agency authority 
responsible for the supervision of the administration of the 
MR MR/ID Waiver.  

8. If services are not initiated by the provider within 60 
days, the case manager must submit written information to 
DMHMRSAS DBHDS requesting more time to initiate 
services. A copy of the request must be provided to the 
individual and the individual's family/caregiver, as 
appropriate. DMHMRSAS DBHDS has the authority to 
approve the request in 30-day extensions, up to a 
maximum of four consecutive extensions, or deny the 
request to retain the waiver slot for that individual. 

DMHMRSAS DBHDS shall provide a written response to 
the case manager indicating denial or approval of the 
extension. DMHMRSAS DBHDS shall submit this 
response within 10 working days of the receipt of the 
request for extension.  

D. Reevaluation of service need.  

1. The consumer service plan (CSP) Individual Support 
Plan.  

a. The CSP Individual Support Plan shall be developed 
annually by the case manager with the individual and the 
individual's family/caregiver, as appropriate, other 
service providers, consultants, and other interested 
parties based on relevant, current assessment data.  

b. The case manager is responsible for continuous 
monitoring of the appropriateness of the individual's 
services and revisions to the CSP Individual Support Plan 
as indicated by the changing needs of the individual. At a 
minimum, the case manager must review the CSP 
Individual Support Plan every three months to determine 
whether service goals and objectives are being met and 
whether any modifications to the CSP Individual Support 
Plan are necessary.  

c. Any modification to the amount or type of services in 
the CSP Individual Support Plan must be preauthorized 
by DMHMRSAS or DMAS the state-designated agency 
or its contractor.  

2. Review of level of care.  

a. The case manager shall complete a reassessment 
annually in coordination with the individual and the 
individual's family/caregiver, as appropriate,, and service 
providers. The reassessment shall include an update of 
the level of care and functional assessment instrument, 
risk assessment, and any other appropriate assessment 
data. If warranted, the case manager shall coordinate a 
medical examination and a psychological evaluation for 
the individual. The CSP Individual Support Plan shall be 
revised as appropriate.  

b. A medical examination must be completed for adults 
based on need identified by the individual and the 
individual's family/caregiver, as appropriate, provider, 
case manager, or DMHMRSAS DBHDS staff. Medical 
examinations and screenings for children must be 
completed according to the recommended frequency and 
periodicity of the EPSDT program.  

c. A new psychological evaluation shall be required 
whenever the individual's functioning has undergone 
significant change and is no longer reflective of the past 
psychological evaluation. A psychological evaluation or 
standardized developmental assessment for children 
under six years of age must reflect the current 
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psychological status (diagnosis), adaptive level of 
functioning, and cognitive abilities.  

3. The case manager will monitor the service providers' 
ISPs Plans for Supports to ensure that all providers are 
working toward the identified goals of the affected 
individuals.  

4. Case managers will be required to conduct monthly 
onsite visits for all MR MR/ID waiver individuals residing 
in DSS-licensed assisted living facilities or approved adult 
foster care placements.  

5. The case manager must obtain an updated DMAS-122 
form from DSS annually DMAS-225, designate a collector 
of patient pay when applicable and forward a copy of the 
updated DMAS-122 DMAS-225 form to all service 
providers and the consumer-directed fiscal agent if 
applicable.  

12VAC30-120-217. General requirements for home and 
community-based participating providers. 

A. Providers approved for participation shall, at a minimum, 
perform the following activities: 

1. Immediately notify DMAS the Department of Medical 
Assistance Services (DMAS) and DMHMRSAS the 
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services (DBHDS), in writing, of any change in the 
information that the provider previously submitted to 
DMAS and DMHMRSAS DBHDS;  

2. Assure freedom of choice to individuals in seeking 
services from any institution, pharmacy, practitioner, or 
other provider qualified to perform the service or services 
required and participating in the Medicaid program at the 
time the service or services were performed;  

3. Assure the individual's freedom to refuse medical care, 
treatment and services;  

4. Accept referrals for services only when staff is available 
to initiate services and perform such services on an 
ongoing basis;  

5. Provide services and supplies to individuals in full 
compliance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 
as amended (42 USC § 2000d et seq.), which prohibits 
discrimination on the grounds of race, color, or national 
origin; the Virginians with Disabilities Act (§ 51.5-1 et 
seq. of the Code of Virginia); § 504 of the Rehabilitation 
Act of 1973, as amended (29 USC§ 794), which prohibits 
discrimination on the basis of a disability; and the 
Americans with Disabilities Act, as amended (42 USC 
§ 12101 et seq.), which provides comprehensive civil 
rights protections to individuals with disabilities in the 
areas of employment, public accommodations, state and 
local government services, and telecommunications;  

6. Provide services and supplies to individuals of the same 
quality and in the same mode of delivery as provided to the 
general public;  

7. Submit charges to DMAS for the provision of services 
and supplies to individuals in amounts not to exceed the 
provider's usual and customary charges to the general 
public and accept as payment in full the amount 
established by DMAS payment methodology from the 
individual's authorization date for the waiver services;  

8. Use program-designated billing forms for submission of 
charges;  

9. Maintain and retain business and professional records 
sufficient to document fully and accurately the nature, 
scope, and details of the services provided;  

a. In general, such records shall be retained for at least 
six years from the last date of service or as provided by 
applicable state or federal laws, whichever period is 
longer. However, if an audit is initiated within the 
required retention period, the records shall be retained 
until the audit is completed and every exception resolved. 
Records of minors shall be kept for at least five years 
after such minor has reached the age of 18 years.  

b. Policies regarding retention of records shall apply even 
if the provider discontinues operation. DMAS shall be 
notified in writing of storage location and procedures for 
obtaining records for review should the need arise. The 
location, agent, or trustee shall be within the 
Commonwealth of Virginia.  

10. Agree to furnish information on request and in the form 
requested to DMAS, DMHMRSAS DBHDS, the Attorney 
General of Virginia or his authorized representatives, 
federal personnel, and the state Medicaid Fraud Control 
Unit. The Commonwealth's right of access to provider 
agencies and records shall survive any termination of the 
provider agreement;  

11. Disclose, as requested by DMAS, all financial, 
beneficial, ownership, equity, surety, or other interests in 
any and all firms, corporations, partnerships, associations, 
business enterprises, joint ventures, agencies, institutions, 
or other legal entities providing any form of health care 
services to recipients of individuals receiving Medicaid;  

12. Pursuant to 42 CFR Part 431, Subpart F, 12VAC30-20-
90, and any other applicable state or federal law, hold 
confidential and use for authorized DMAS or 
DMHMRSAS DBHDS purposes only all medical 
assistance information regarding individuals served. A 
provider shall disclose information in his possession only 
when the information is used in conjunction with a claim 
for health benefits or the data is necessary for the 
functioning of the DMAS in conjunction with the cited 
laws;  
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13. Notify DMAS of change of ownership. When 
ownership of the provider changes, DMAS shall be 
notified at least 15 calendar days before the date of change;  

14. For all facilities covered by § 1616(e) of the Social 
Security Act in which home and community-based waiver 
services will be provided, be in compliance with applicable 
standards that meet the requirements for board and care 
facilities. Health and safety standards shall be monitored 
through the DMHMRSAS' DBHDS' licensure standards or 
through DSS-approved standards for adult foster care 
providers;  

15. Suspected abuse or neglect. Pursuant to §§ 63.2-1509 
and 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia, if a participating 
provider knows or suspects that a home and community-
based waiver service individual is being abused, neglected, 
or exploited, the party having knowledge or suspicion of 
the abuse, neglect, or exploitation shall report this 
immediately from first knowledge to the local DSS adult or 
child protective services worker and to DMHMRSAS 
DBHDS Offices of Licensing and Human Rights as 
applicable; and  

16. Adhere to the provider participation agreement and the 
DMAS provider service manual. In addition to compliance 
with the general conditions and requirements, all providers 
enrolled by DMAS shall adhere to the conditions of 
participation outlined in their individual provider 
participation agreements and in the DMAS provider 
manual.  

B. Documentation requirements.  

1. The case manager must maintain the following 
documentation for utilization review by DMAS for a 
period of not less than six years from each individual's last 
date of service:  

a. The comprehensive assessment and all CSPs 
completed for the individual Individual Support Plans;  

b. All ISPs Plans for Supports from every provider 
rendering waiver services to the individual;  

c. All supporting documentation related to any change in 
the CSP Individual Support Plan;  

d. All related communication with the individual and the 
individual's family/caregiver, as appropriate, consultants, 
providers, DMHMRSAS DBHDS, DMAS, DSS, DRS or 
other related parties; and  

e. An ongoing log that documents all contacts made by 
the case manager related to the individual and the 
individual's family/caregiver, as appropriate.  

2. The service providers must maintain, for a period of not 
less than six years from the individual's last date of service, 
documentation necessary to support services billed. 
Utilization review of individual-specific documentation 

shall be conducted by DMAS staff. This documentation 
shall contain, up to and including the last date of service, 
all of the following:  

a. All assessments and reassessments.  

b. All ISP's Plans for Supports developed for that 
individual and the written reviews.  

c. Documentation of the date services were rendered and 
the amount and type of services rendered.  

d. Appropriate data, contact notes, or progress notes 
reflecting an individual's status and, as appropriate, 
progress or lack of progress toward the goals on the ISP 
Plan for Supports.  

e. Any documentation to support that services provided 
are appropriate and necessary to maintain the individual 
in the home and in the community.  

C. An individual's case manager shall not be the direct staff 
person or the immediate supervisor of a staff person who 
provides MR MR/ID Waiver services for the individual.  

12VAC30-120-219. Participation standards for home and 
community-based waiver services participating providers.  

A. Requests for participation will be screened to determine 
whether the provider applicant meets the basic requirements 
for participation.  

B. For DMAS to approve provider agreements with home 
and community-based waiver providers, the following 
standards shall be met:  

1. For services that have licensure and certification 
requirements, licensure and certification requirements 
pursuant to 42 CFR 441.302;  

2. Disclosure of ownership pursuant to 42 CFR 455.104 
and 455.105; and  

3. The ability to document and maintain individual case 
records in accordance with state and federal requirements.  

C. The case manager must inform the individual of all 
available waiver providers in the community in which he 
desires services and he shall have the option of selecting the 
provider of his choice from among those providers meeting 
the individual's needs.  

D. DMAS shall be responsible for assuring continued 
adherence to provider participation standards. DMAS shall 
conduct ongoing monitoring of compliance with provider 
participation standards and DMAS policies and periodically 
recertify each provider for participation agreement renewal 
with DMAS to provide home and community-based waiver 
services. A provider's noncompliance with DMAS policies 
and procedures, as required in the provider's participation 
agreement, may result in a written request from DMAS for a 
corrective action plan that details the steps the provider must 
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take and the length of time permitted to achieve full 
compliance with the plan to correct the deficiencies that have 
been cited.  

E. A participating provider may voluntarily terminate his 
participation in Medicaid by providing 30 days' written 
notification. DMAS may terminate at will a provider's 
participation agreement on 30 days written notice as specified 
in the DMAS participation agreement. DMAS may also 
immediately terminate a provider's participation agreement if 
the provider is no longer eligible to participate in the 
program. Such action precludes further payment by DMAS 
for services provided to individuals subsequent to the date 
specified in the termination notice.  

F. Provider appeals shall be considered pursuant to 
12VAC30-10-1000 and 12VAC30-20-500 through 
12VAC30-20-560.  

G. Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia mandates that 
"any such Medicaid agreement or contract shall terminate 
upon conviction of the provider of a felony." A provider 
convicted of a felony in Virginia or in any other of the 50 
states or Washington, DC, must, within 30 days, notify the 
Medicaid Program of this conviction and relinquish its 
provider agreement. In addition, termination of a provider 
participation agreement will occur as may be required for 
federal financial participation.  

H. Case manager's responsibility for the Individual 
Information Form (DMAS-122) Medicaid Long-Term Care 
Communication Form (DMAS-225). It shall be the 
responsibility of the case management provider to notify 
DMHMRSAS Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services (DBHDS) and DSS, in writing, 
when any of the following circumstances occur. Furthermore, 
it shall be the responsibility of DMHMRSAS DBHDS to 
update DMAS, as requested, when any of the following 
events occur:  

1. Home and community-based waiver services are 
implemented.  

2. A recipient An individual dies.  

3. A recipient An individual is discharged from all MR 
mental retardation/intellectual disability (MR/ID) waiver 
services.  

4. Any other circumstances (including hospitalization) that 
cause home and community-based waiver services to cease 
or be interrupted for more than 30 days.  

5. A selection by the individual and the individual's 
family/caregiver, as appropriate, of a different community 
services board/behavioral health authority providing case 
management services.  

I. Changes or termination of services. DMHMRSAS 
DBHDS shall authorize changes to an individual's CSP 

Individual Support Plan based on the recommendations of the 
case management provider. Providers of direct service are 
responsible for modifying their ISPs Plans for Supports with 
the involvement of the individual and the individual's 
family/caregiver, as appropriate, and submitting ISPs Plans 
for Supports to the case manager any time there is a change in 
the individual's condition or circumstances which may 
warrant a change in the amount or type of service rendered. 
The case manager will review the need for a change and may 
recommend a change to the ISP Plan for Supports to the 
DMHMRSAS DBHDS staff. DMHMRSAS DBHDS will 
review and approve, deny, or pend for additional information 
the requested change to the individual's ISP Plan for 
Supports, and communicate this to the case manager within 
10 business days of receiving all supporting documentation 
regarding the request for change or in the case of an 
emergency, within three working days of receipt of the 
request for change.  

The individual and the individual's family/caregiver, as 
appropriate, will be notified, in writing, of the right to appeal 
the decision or decisions to reduce, terminate, suspend or 
deny services pursuant to DMAS client appeals regulations, 
Part I (12VAC30-110-10 et seq.) of 12VAC30-110. The case 
manager must submit this notification to the individual in 
writing within 10 business days of the decision. All CSPs 
Individual Support Plan are subject to approval by the 
Medicaid agency.  

1. In a nonemergency situation, the participating provider 
shall give the individual and the individual's 
family/caregiver, as appropriate, and case manager 10 
business days written notification of the provider's intent to 
discontinue services. The notification letter shall provide 
the reasons and the effective date the provider is 
discontinuing services. The effective date shall be at least 
12 days from the date of the notification letter. The 
individual is not eligible for appeal rights in this situation 
and may pursue services from another provider.  

2. In an emergency situation when the health and safety of 
the individual, other individuals in that setting, or provider 
personnel is endangered, the case manager and 
DMHMRSAS DBHDS must be notified prior to 
discontinuing services. The 10 business day written 
notification period shall not be required. If appropriate, the 
local DSS adult protective services or child protective 
services and DMHMRSAS DBHDS Offices of Licensing 
and Human Rights must be notified immediately. 

3. In the case of termination of home and community-
based waiver services by the CSB/BHA, DMHMRSAS 
DBHDS or DMAS staff, individuals shall be notified of 
their appeal rights by the case manager pursuant to Part I 
(12VAC30-110-10 et seq.) of 12VAC30-110. The case 
manager shall have the responsibility to identify those 
individuals who no longer meet the level of care criteria or 
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for whom home and community-based waiver services are 
no longer an appropriate alternative. 

Article 2  
Covered Services and Limitations and Related Provider 

Requirements 

12VAC30-120-221. Assistive technology (AT). 

A. Service description. AT is the specialized medical 
equipment and supplies including those devices, controls, or 
appliances, specified in the consumer service plan Individual 
Support Plan but not available under the State Plan for 
Medical Assistance, which enable individuals to increase 
their abilities to perform activities of daily living, or to 
perceive, control, or communicate with the environment in 
which they live. This service also includes items necessary 
for life support, ancillary supplies, and equipment necessary 
to the proper functioning of such items.  

B. Criteria. In order to qualify for these services, the 
individual must have a demonstrated need for equipment or 
modification for remedial or direct medical benefit primarily 
in the individual's home, vehicle, community activity setting, 
or day program to specifically serve to improve the 
individual's personal functioning. This shall encompass those 
items not otherwise covered under the State Plan for Medical 
Assistance. AT shall be covered in the least expensive, most 
cost-effective manner.  

C. Service units and service limitations. Assistive 
technology is available to individuals who are receiving at 
least one other waiver service and may be provided in a 
residential or nonresidential setting. The combined total of 
assistive technology items and labor related to these items 
may not exceed $5,000 per CSP Individual Support Plan year. 
Costs for assistive technology cannot be carried over from 
year to year and must be preauthorized each CSP Individual 
Support Plan year. AT shall not be approved for purposes of 
convenience of the caregiver or restraint of the individual. An 
independent professional consultation must be obtained from 
staff knowledgeable of that item for each AT request prior to 
approval by DMHMRSAS the state-designated agency or its 
contractor. All AT must be preauthorized by DMHMRSAS 
the state-designated agency or its contractor each CSP 
Individual Support Plan year. Equipment/supplies/technology 
not available as durable medical equipment through the State 
Plan may be purchased and billed as assistive technology as 
long as the request for equipment/supplies/technology is 
documented and justified in the individual's ISP Plan for 
Supports, recommended by the case manager, preauthorized 
by DMHMRSAS the state-designated agency or its 
contractor, and provided in the least expensive, most cost-
effective manner.  

D. Provider requirements. In addition to meeting the general 
conditions and requirements for home and community-based 
participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-120-217 and 

12VAC30-120-219, assistive technology shall be provided by 
a DMAS-enrolled Durable Medical Equipment provider or a 
DMAS-enrolled CSB/BHA with a MR Mental 
Retardation/Intellectual Disability (MR/ID) Waiver provider 
agreement to provide assistive technology. The provider 
documentation requirements are as follows:  

1. The appropriate ISAR Individualized Service 
Authorization Request (ISAR) form, to be completed by 
the case manager, may serve as the ISP Plan for Supports, 
provided it adequately documents the need for the service, 
the process to obtain this service (contacts with potential 
vendors or contractors, or both, of service, costs, etc.), and 
the time frame during which the service is to be provided. 
This includes a separate notation of evaluation or design, 
or both, labor, and supplies or materials, or both. The 
ISP/ISAR Plan for Supports/ISAR must include 
documentation of the reason that a rehabilitation engineer 
is needed, if one is to be involved. A rehabilitation 
engineer may be involved if disability expertise is required 
that a general contractor will not have. The ISAR must be 
submitted to DMHMRSAS the state-designated agency or 
its contractor for authorization to occur;  

2. Written documentation regarding the process and results 
of ensuring that the item is not covered by the State Plan 
for Medical Assistance as durable medical equipment and 
supplies and that it is not available from a DME-provider 
when purchased elsewhere;  

3. Documentation of the recommendation for the item by a 
qualified professional;  

4. Documentation of the date services are rendered and the 
amount of service needed;  

5. Any other relevant information regarding the device or 
modification;  

6. Documentation in the case management record of 
notification by the designated individual or individual's 
representative of satisfactory completion or receipt of the 
service or item; and  

7. Instructions regarding any warranty, repairs, complaints, 
or servicing that may be needed.  

12VAC30-120-223. Companion services. 

A. Service description. Companion services provide 
nonmedical care, socialization, or support to an adult (age 18 
or older). Companions may assist or support the individual 
with such tasks as meal preparation, community access and 
activities, laundry and shopping, but do not perform these 
activities as discrete services. Companions may also perform 
light housekeeping tasks. This service is provided in 
accordance with a therapeutic goal in the CSP Individual 
Support Plan and is not purely diversional in nature. This 
service may be provided either through an agency-directed or 
a consumer-directed model.  
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B. Criteria.  

1. In order to qualify for companion services, the 
individual shall have demonstrated a need for assistance 
with IADLs, light housekeeping, community access, 
reminders for medication self-administration or support to 
assure safety. The provision of companion services does 
not entail hands-on care.  

2. Individuals choosing the consumer-directed option must 
receive support from a CD services facilitator and meet 
requirements for consumer direction as described in 
12VAC30-120-225.  

C. Service units and service limitations.  

1. The unit of service for companion services is one hour 
and the amount that may be included in the ISP Plan for 
Supports shall not exceed eight hours per 24-hour day. 
There is a limit of 8 hours per 24-hour day for companion 
services, either agency or consumer-directed or combined.  

2. A companion shall not be permitted to provide the care 
associated with ventilators, continuous tube feedings, or 
suctioning of airways.  

3. The hours authorized are based on individual need. No 
more than two unrelated individuals who are receiving 
waiver services and live in the same home are permitted to 
share the authorized work hours of the companion.  

D. Provider requirements. In addition to meeting the general 
conditions and requirements for home and community-based 
participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-120-217 and 
12VAC30-120-219, companion service providers must meet 
the following qualifications:  

1. Companion services providers.  

a. Agency-directed model: must be licensed by 
DMHMRSAS- Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services (DBHDS) as a residential 
service provider, supportive in-home residential service 
provider, day support service provider, or respite service 
provider or meet the DMAS criteria to be a personal 
care/respite care provider.  

b. Consumer-directed model: a services facilitator 
meeting the requirements found in 12VAC30-120-225.  

2. Companion qualifications. Companions must meet the 
following requirements:  

a. Be at least 18 years of age;  

b. Be able to read and write English and possess basic 
math skills;  

c. Be capable of following an ISP a Plan for Supports 
with minimal supervision;  

d. Submit to a criminal history record check within 15 
days from the date of employment. The companion will 

not be compensated for services provided to the 
individual if the records check verifies the companion 
has been convicted of crimes described in § 37.2-416 of 
the Code of Virginia;  

e. Possess a valid Social Security number;  

f. Be capable of aiding in instrumental activities of daily 
living; and  

g. Receive an annual tuberculosis (TB) screening.  

3. Companion service providers may not be the individual's 
spouse. Other family members living under the same roof 
as the individual being served may not provide companion 
services unless there is objective written documentation as 
to why there are no other providers available to provide the 
service. Companion services shall not be provided by adult 
foster care providers or any other paid caregivers for an 
individual residing in that home.  

4. Family members who are reimbursed to provide 
companion services must meet the companion 
qualifications.  

5. For the agency-directed model, companions will be 
employees of providers that will have participation 
agreements with DMAS to provide companion services. 
Providers will be required to have a companion services 
supervisor to monitor companion services. The supervisor 
must have a bachelor's degree in a human services field 
and at least one year of experience working in the mental 
retardation mental retardation/intellectual disability 
(MR/ID) field, or be an LPN or an RN with at least one 
year of experience working in the mental retardation 
MR/ID field. An LPN or RN must have a current license or 
certification to practice nursing in the Commonwealth 
within his profession.  

6. The supervisor or services facilitator must conduct an 
initial home visit prior to initiating companion services to 
document the efficacy and appropriateness of services and 
to establish an individual service plan Plan for Supports for 
the individual. The supervisor or services facilitator must 
provide follow-up home visits to monitor the provision of 
services quarterly under the agency-directed model and 
semi-annually (every six months) under the consumer-
directed model or as often as needed.  

7. Required documentation in the individual's record. The 
provider or services facilitator must maintain a record of 
each individual receiving companion services. At a 
minimum these records must contain:  

a. An A copy of the DBHDS-approved assessment and, 
as needed, an initial assessment completed prior to or on 
the date services are initiated and subsequent 
reassessments and changes to the supporting 
documentation;  
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b. An ISP A Plan for Supports containing the following 
elements:  

(1) The individual's strengths, desired outcomes, required 
or desired supports, or both;  

(2) The services to be rendered and the schedule of 
services to accomplish the above outcomes;  

c. Documentation that the ISP Plan for Supports goals, 
objectives, and activities have been reviewed by the 
provider or services facilitator quarterly, annually, and 
more often as needed, modified as appropriate, and 
results of these reviews submitted to the case manager. 
For the annual review and in cases where the ISP Plan 
for Supports is modified, the ISP Plan for Supports must 
be reviewed with the individual and the individual's 
family/caregiver, as appropriate.  

d. All correspondence to the individual and the 
individual's family/caregiver, as appropriate case 
manager, DMAS, and DMHMRSAS DBHDS;  

e. Contacts made with family/caregiver, physicians, 
formal and informal service providers, and all 
professionals concerning the individual;  

f. The companion services supervisor or CD services 
facilitator, as required by 12VAC30-120-225, must 
document in the individual's record in a summary note 
following significant contacts with the companion and 
home visits with the individual that occur at least 
quarterly under the agency-directed model and at least 
semi-annually under the consumer-directed model:  

(1) Whether companion services continue to be 
appropriate;  

(2) Whether the plan is adequate to meet the individual's 
needs or changes are indicated in the plan;  

(3) The individual's satisfaction with the service;  

(4) The presence or absence of the companion during the 
supervisor's visit;  

(5) Any suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation and to 
whom it was reported; and  

(6) Any hospitalization or change in medical condition, 
functioning, or cognitive status.  

g. A copy of the most recently completed DMAS-122 
DMAS-225. The provider or services facilitator must 
clearly document efforts to obtain the completed DMAS-
122 DMAS-225 from the case manager.  

h. Agency-directed provider companion records. In 
addition to the above requirements, the companion record 
for agency-directed providers must contain:  

(1) The specific services delivered to the individual by 
the companion, dated the day of service delivery, and the 
individual's responses;  

(2) The companion's arrival and departure times;  

(3) The companion's weekly comments or observations 
about the individual to include observations of the 
individual's physical and emotional condition, daily 
activities, and responses to services rendered; and  

(4) The companion's and individual's and the individual's 
family/caregiver's, as appropriate, weekly signatures 
recorded on the last day of service delivery for any given 
week to verify that companion services during that week 
have been rendered.  

i. Consumer-directed model companion record. In 
addition to the above requirements outlined in 
subdivisions D 7 a through g of this section, the 
companion record for services facilitators must contain:  

(1) The services facilitator's dated notes documenting any 
contacts with the individual and the individual's 
family/caregiver, as appropriate, and visits to the 
individual's home;  

(2) Documentation of all training provided to the 
companion on behalf of the individual and the 
individual's family/caregiver, as appropriate;  

(3) Documentation of all employee management training 
provided to the individual and the individual's 
family/caregiver, as appropriate, including the 
individual's and the individual's family/caregiver's, as 
appropriate, receipt of training on their responsibility for 
the accuracy of the companion's timesheets; and  

(4) All documents signed by the individual and the 
individual's family/caregiver, as appropriate, that 
acknowledge the responsibilities as the employer.  

12VAC30-120-225. Consumer-directed model of service 
delivery. 

A. Criteria. 

1. The MR Mental Retardation/Intellectual Disability 
(MR/ID) Waiver has three services, companion, personal 
assistance, and respite, that may be provided through a 
consumer-directed model. 

2. Individuals who choose the consumer-directed model 
must have the capability to hire, train, and fire their own 
personal assistant or companion and supervise the 
assistant's or companion's performance. If an individual is 
unable to direct his own care or is under 18 years of age, a 
family/caregiver may serve as the employer on behalf of 
the individual. The case manager shall document in the 
Individual Support Plan the individual's choice for the CD 
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model and whether there is a need for a family/caregiver to 
serve as the employer on behalf of the individual. 

3. The individual, or if the individual is unable, then 
family/caregiver, shall be the employer in this service, and 
therefore shall be responsible for hiring, training, 
supervising, and firing assistants and companions. Specific 
employer duties include checking of references of personal 
assistants/companions, determining that personal 
assistants/companions meet basic qualifications, training 
assistants/companions, supervising the 
assistant's/companion's performance, and submitting 
timesheets to the fiscal agent on a consistent and timely 
basis. The individual and the individual's family/caregiver, 
as appropriate, must have a back-up plan in case the 
assistant/companion does not show up for work as 
expected or terminates employment without prior notice. 

4. Consumer Directed (CD) services facilitation. 

a. Individuals choosing consumer-directed models of 
service delivery must may receive support from a CD 
services facilitator. This is not a separate waiver service, 
but is required used in conjunction with consumer-
directed CD personal assistance, respite, or companion 
services. The CD services facilitator will be responsible 
for assessing the individual's particular needs for a 
requested CD service, assisting in the development of the 
ISP Plan for Supports, providing training to the 
individual and the individual's family/caregiver, as 
appropriate, on his responsibilities as an employer, and 
providing ongoing support of the consumer-directed 
models of services. The CD services facilitator cannot be 
the individual, the individual's case manager, direct 
service provider, spouse, or parent of the individual who 
is a minor child, or a family/caregiver employing the 
assistant/companion. If an individual enrolled in 
consumer-directed services has a lapse in services 
facilitator for more than 90 consecutive days, the case 
manager must notify DMHMRSAS Department of 
Behavioral Health and Developmental Services 
(DBHDS) and the consumer-directed services will be 
discontinued. 

b. If a services facilitator is not selected by the 
individual, the individual or the family/caregiver serving 
as the employer shall perform all of the duties and 
requirements identified for services facilitation, 
including, but not limited to, those identified in this 
subsection and in subsection B of this section. 

5. DMAS shall provide for fiscal agent services for 
consumer-directed personal assistance services, consumer-
directed companion services, and consumer-directed 
respite services. The fiscal agent will be reimbursed by 
DMAS to perform certain tasks as an agent for the 
individual/employer who is receiving consumer-directed 
services. The fiscal agent will handle the responsibilities of 

employment taxes for the individual. The fiscal agent will 
seek and obtain all necessary authorizations and approvals 
of the Internal Revenue Services in order to fulfill all of 
these duties.  

B. Provider qualifications. In addition to meeting the general 
conditions and requirements for home and community-based 
services participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-
120-217 and 12VAC30-120-219, the CD services facilitator 
must meet the following qualifications:  

1. To be enrolled as a Medicaid CD services facilitator and 
maintain provider status, the CD services facilitator shall 
have sufficient resources to perform the required activities. 
In addition, the CD services facilitator must have the 
ability to maintain and retain business and professional 
records sufficient to document fully and accurately the 
nature, scope, and details of the services provided.  

2. It is preferred that the CD services facilitator possess a 
minimum of an undergraduate degree in a human services 
field or be a registered nurse currently licensed to practice 
in the Commonwealth. In addition, it is preferable that the 
CD services facilitator have two years of satisfactory 
experience in a human service field working with persons 
with mental retardation MR/ID. The facilitator must 
possess a combination of work experience and relevant 
education that indicates possession of the following 
knowledge, skills, and abilities. Such knowledge, skills, 
and abilities must be documented on the provider's 
application form, found in supporting documentation, or be 
observed during a job interview. Observations during the 
interview must be documented. The knowledge, skills, and 
abilities include:  

a. Knowledge of:  

(1) Types of functional limitations and health problems 
that may occur in persons with mental retardation 
MR/ID, or persons with other disabilities, as well as 
strategies to reduce limitations and health problems;  

(2) Physical assistance that may be required by people 
with mental retardation MR/ID, such as transferring, 
bathing techniques, bowel and bladder care, and the 
approximate time those activities normally take;  

(3) Equipment and environmental modifications that may 
be required by people with mental retardation MR/ID 
that reduce the need for human help and improve safety;  

(4) Various long-term care program requirements, 
including nursing home and ICF/MR placement criteria, 
Medicaid waiver services, and other federal, state, and 
local resources that provide personal assistance, respite, 
and companion services;  

(5) MR MR/ID waiver requirements, as well as the 
administrative duties for which the services facilitator 
will be responsible;  
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(6) Conducting assessments (including environmental, 
psychosocial, health, and functional factors) and their 
uses in service planning;  

(7) Interviewing techniques;  

(8) The individual's right to make decisions about, direct 
the provisions of, and control his consumer-directed 
personal assistance, companion and respite services, 
including hiring, training, managing, approving time 
sheets, and firing an assistant/companion; 

(9) The principles of human behavior and interpersonal 
relationships; and  

(10) General principles of record documentation.  

b. Skills in:  

(1) Negotiating with individuals and the individual's 
family/caregivers, as appropriate, and service providers;  

(2) Assessing, supporting, observing, recording, and 
reporting behaviors;  

(3) Identifying, developing, or providing services to 
individuals with mental retardation MR/ID; and  

(4) Identifying services within the established services 
system to meet the individual's needs.  

c. Abilities to:  

(1) Report findings of the assessment or onsite visit, 
either in writing or an alternative format for individuals 
who have visual impairments;  

(2) Demonstrate a positive regard for individuals and 
their families;  

(3) Be persistent and remain objective;  

(4) Work independently, performing position duties 
under general supervision;  

(5) Communicate effectively, orally and in writing; and  

(6) Develop a rapport and communicate with persons of 
diverse cultural backgrounds.  

3. If the CD services facilitator is not a RN, the CD 
services facilitator must inform the primary health care 
provider that services are being provided and request 
skilled nursing or other consultation as needed. 

4. Initiation of services and service monitoring.  

a. For consumer-directed services, the CD services 
facilitator must make an initial comprehensive home visit 
to collaborate with the individual and the individual's 
family/caregiver, as appropriate, to identify the needs, 
assist in the development of the ISP Plan for Supports 
with the individual and the individual's family/caregiver, 
as appropriate, and provide employee management 
training. The initial comprehensive home visit is done 

only once upon the individual's entry into the consumer-
directed model of service regardless of the number or 
type of consumer-directed services that an individual 
chooses to receive. If an individual changes CD services 
facilitators, the new CD services facilitator must 
complete a reassessment visit in lieu of a comprehensive 
visit.  

b. After the initial visit, the CD services facilitator will 
continue to monitor the companion, or personal assistant 
ISP Plan for Supports quarterly and on an as-needed 
basis. The CD services facilitator will review the 
utilization of consumer-directed respite services, either 
every six months or upon the use of 300 respite services 
hours, whichever comes first. 

c. A face-to-face meeting with the individual must be 
conducted at least every six months to reassess the 
individual's needs and to ensure appropriateness of any 
CD services received by the individual. 

5. During visits with the individual, the CD services 
facilitator must observe, evaluate, and consult with the 
individual and the individual's family/caregiver, as 
appropriate, and document the adequacy and 
appropriateness of consumer-directed services with regard 
to the individual's current functioning and cognitive status, 
medical needs, and social needs. 

6. The CD services facilitator must be available to the 
individual by telephone. 

7. The CD services facilitator must submit a A criminal 
record check pertaining to the assistant/companion on 
behalf of the individual and shall be requested by the 
program's fiscal agent, who shall report the findings of the 
criminal record check to the individual and the individual's 
family/caregiver, as appropriate, and the program's fiscal 
agent. If the individual is a minor, the assistant/companion 
must also be screened through the DSS Child Protective 
Services Central Registry. Assistants/companions will not 
be reimbursed for services provided to the individual 
effective the date that the criminal record check confirms 
an assistant/companion has been found to have been 
convicted of a crime as described in § 37.2-416 of the 
Code of Virginia or if the assistant/companion has a 
confirmed record on the DSS Child Protective Services 
Central Registry. The criminal record check and DSS 
Child Protective Services Central Registry finding must be 
requested by the CD services facilitator program's fiscal 
agent within 15 calendar days of employment. The services 
facilitator must maintain evidence that a criminal record 
check was obtained and must make such evidence 
available for DMAS review.  

8. The CD services facilitator shall review timesheets 
during the face-to-face visits or more often as needed to 
ensure that the number of ISP-approved hours approved in 
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the Plan for Supports is not exceeded. If discrepancies are 
identified, the CD services facilitator must discuss these 
with the individual to resolve discrepancies and must 
notify the fiscal agent.  

9. The CD services facilitator must maintain a list of 
persons who are available to provide consumer-directed 
personal assistance, consumer-directed companion, or 
consumer-directed respite services. 

10. The CD services facilitator must maintain records of 
each individual as described in 12VAC30-120-217, 
12VAC30-120-223, and 12VAC30-120-233. 

11. Upon the individual's request, the CD services 
facilitator shall provide the individual and the individual's 
family/caregiver, as appropriate, with a list of persons who 
can provide temporary assistance until the 
assistant/companion returns or the individual is able to 
select and hire a new personal assistant/companion. If an 
individual is consistently unable to hire and retain the 
employment of an assistant/companion to provide 
consumer-directed personal assistance, companion, or 
respite services, the CD services facilitator will make 
arrangements with the case manager to have the services 
transferred to an agency-directed services provider or to 
discuss with the individual and the individual's 
family/caregiver, as appropriate, other service options. 

12VAC30-120-227. Crisis stabilization services.  

A. Crisis stabilization services involve direct interventions 
that provide temporary intensive services and support that 
avert emergency psychiatric hospitalization or institutional 
placement of persons with mental retardation Mental 
Retardation/Intellectual Disability (MR/ID) who are 
experiencing serious psychiatric or behavioral problems that 
jeopardize their current community living situation. Crisis 
stabilization services will include, as appropriate, neuro-
psychiatric, psychiatric, psychological, and other functional 
assessments and stabilization techniques, medication 
management and monitoring, behavior assessment and 
positive behavioral support, and intensive service 
coordination with other agencies and providers. This service 
is designed to stabilize the individual and strengthen the 
current living situation, so that the individual remains in the 
community during and beyond the crisis period. These 
services shall be provided to:  

1. Assist with planning and delivery of services and 
supports to enable the individual to remain in the 
community;  

2. Train family/caregivers and service providers in positive 
behavioral supports to maintain the individual in the 
community; and  

3. Provide temporary crisis supervision to ensure the safety 
of the individual and others.  

B. Criteria.  

1. In order to receive crisis stabilization services, the 
individual must meet at least one of the following criteria:  

a. The individual is experiencing a marked reduction in 
psychiatric, adaptive, or behavioral functioning;  

b. The individual is experiencing extreme increase in 
emotional distress;  

c. The individual needs continuous intervention to 
maintain stability; or  

d. The individual is causing harm to self or others.  

2. The individual must be at risk of at least one of the 
following:  

a. Psychiatric hospitalization;  

b. Emergency ICF/MR placement;  

c. Immediate threat of loss of a community service due to 
a severe situational reaction; or  

d. Causing harm to self or others.  

C. Service units and service limitations. Crisis stabilization 
services may only be authorized following a documented 
face-to-face assessment conducted by a qualified mental 
retardation professional (QMRP).  

1. The unit for each component of the service is one hour. 
This service may only be authorized in 15-day increments 
but no more than 60 days in a calendar year may be used. 
The actual service units per episode shall be based on the 
documented clinical needs of the individual being served. 
Extension of services, beyond the 15-day limit per 
authorization, may only be authorized following a 
documented face-to-face reassessment conducted by a 
qualified mental retardation professional QMRP.  

2. Crisis stabilization services may be provided directly in 
the following settings (examples below are not exclusive):  

a. The home of an individual who lives with family, 
friends, or other primary caregiver or caregivers;  

b. The home of an individual who lives independently or 
semi-independently to augment any current services and 
supports;  

c. A community-based residential program to augment 
current services and supports;  

d. A day program or setting to augment current services 
and supports; or  

e. A respite care setting to augment current services and 
supports.  

3. Crisis supervision is an optional component of crisis 
stabilization in which one-to-one supervision of the 
individual in crisis is provided by agency staff in order to 



Regulations 

Volume 26, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 23, 2009 

638 

ensure the safety of the individual and others in the 
environment. Crisis supervision may be provided as a 
component of crisis stabilization only if clinical or 
behavioral interventions allowed under this service are also 
provided during the authorized period. Crisis supervision 
must be provided one-to-one and face-to-face with the 
individual. Crisis supervision, if provided as a part of this 
service, shall be separately billed in hourly service units.  

4. Crisis stabilization services shall not be used for 
continuous long-term care. Room, board, and general 
supervision are not components of this service.  

5. If appropriate, the assessment and any reassessments, 
shall be conducted jointly with a licensed mental health 
professional or other appropriate professional or 
professionals.  

D. Provider requirements. In addition to the general 
conditions and requirements for home and community-based 
participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-120-217 and 
12VAC30-120-219, the following crisis stabilization provider 
qualifications apply:  

1. Crisis stabilization services shall be provided by 
providers licensed by DMHMRSAS Department of 
Behavioral Health and Developmental Services (DBHDS) 
as a provider of outpatient services, residential, or 
supportive in-home residential services, or day support 
services. The provider must employ or utilize qualified 
mental retardation professionals (QMRPs), licensed mental 
health professionals or other qualified personnel competent 
to provide crisis stabilization and related activities to 
individuals with mental retardation MR/ID who are 
experiencing serious psychiatric or behavioral problems. 
The qualified mental retardation professional QMRP shall 
have: (i) at least one year of documented experience 
working directly with individuals who have mental 
retardation MR/ID or developmental disabilities; (ii) at 
least a bachelor's degree in a human services field 
including, but not limited to, sociology, social work, 
special education, rehabilitation counseling, or psychology 
or a bachelor's degree in another field in addition to an 
advanced degree in a human services field; and (iii) the 
required Virginia or national license, registration, or 
certification in accordance with his profession;  

2. To provide the crisis supervision component, providers 
must be licensed by DMHMRSAS DBHDS as providers of 
residential services, supportive in-home residential 
services, or day support services;  

3. Required documentation in the individual's record. The 
provider must maintain a record regarding each individual 
receiving crisis stabilization services. At a minimum, the 
record must contain the following:  

a. Documentation of the face-to-face assessment and any 
reassessments completed by a qualified mental 
retardation professional QMRP;  

b. An ISP A Plan for Supports that contains, at a 
minimum, the following elements:  

(1) The individual's strengths, desired outcomes, required 
or desired supports;  

(2) The individual's goals;  

(3) Services to be rendered and the frequency of services 
to accomplish the above goals and objectives;  

(4) A timetable for the accomplishment of the 
individual's goals and objectives;  

(5) The estimated duration of the individual's needs for 
services; and  

(6) The provider staff responsible for the overall 
coordination and integration of the services specified in 
the ISP Plan for Supports.  

c. An ISP A Plan for Supports must be developed or 
revised and submitted to the case manager for submission 
to DMHMRSAS DBHDS within 72 hours of the 
requested start date for authorization;  

d. Documentation indicating the dates and times of crisis 
stabilization services, the amount and type of service or 
services provided, and specific information regarding the 
individual's response to the services and supports as 
agreed to in the ISP Plan for Supports objectives; and  

e. Documentation of qualifications of providers must be 
maintained for review by DMHMRSAS DBHDS and 
DMAS staff.  

12VAC30-120-229. Day support services. 

A. Service description. Day support services shall include a 
variety of training, assistance, support, and specialized 
supervision for the acquisition, retention, or improvement of 
self-help, socialization, and adaptive skills. These services are 
typically offered in a nonresidential setting that allows peer 
interactions and community and social integration.  

B. Criteria. For day support services, individuals must 
demonstrate the need for functional training, assistance, and 
specialized supervision offered primarily in settings other 
than the individual's own residence that allows an opportunity 
for being productive and contributing members of 
communities.  

C. Types of day support. The amount and type of day 
support included in the individual's service plan is determined 
according to the services required for that individual. There 
are two types of day support: center-based, which is provided 
primarily at one location/building, or noncenter-based, which 
is provided primarily in community settings. Both types of 
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day support may be provided at either intensive or regular 
levels.  

D. Levels of day support. There are two levels of day 
support, intensive and regular. To be authorized at the 
intensive level, the individual must meet at least one of the 
following criteria: (i) requires physical assistance to meet the 
basic personal care needs (toileting, feeding, etc); (ii) has 
extensive disability-related difficulties and requires 
additional, ongoing support to fully participate in 
programming and to accomplish his service goals; or (iii) 
requires extensive constant supervision to reduce or eliminate 
behaviors that preclude full participation in the program. In 
this case, written behavioral objectives are required to address 
behaviors such as, but not limited to, withdrawal, self-injury, 
aggression, or self-stimulation.  

E. Service units and service limitations. Day support 
services are billed according to the DMAS fee schedule. Day 
support cannot be regularly or temporarily provided in an 
individual's home or other residential setting (e.g., due to 
inclement weather or individual illness) without prior written 
approval from DMHMRSAS the state-designated agency or 
its contractor. Noncenter-based day support services must be 
separate and distinguishable from either residential support 
services or personal assistance services. There must be 
separate supporting documentation for each service and each 
must be clearly differentiated in documentation and 
corresponding billing. The supporting documentation must 
provide an estimate of the amount of day support required by 
the individual. Service providers are reimbursed only for the 
amount and level of day support services included in the 
individual's approved ISP Plan for Supports based on the 
setting, intensity, and duration of the service to be delivered. 
This service shall be limited to 780 units, or its equivalent 
under the DMAS fee schedule, per CSP Individual Support 
Plan year. If this service is used in combination with 
prevocational and/or group supported employment services, 
the combined total units for these services cannot exceed 780 
units, or its equivalent under the DMAS fee schedule, per 
CSP Individual Support Plan year. 

F. Provider requirements. In addition to meeting the general 
conditions and requirements for home and community-based 
participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-120-217 and 
12VAC30-120-219, day support providers need to meet 
additional requirements. 

1. The provider of day support services must be licensed 
by DMHMRSAS Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services (DBHDS) as a provider of day 
support services. 

2. In addition to licensing requirements, day support staff 
must also have training in the characteristics of mental 
retardation mental retardation/intellectual disability 
(MR/ID) and appropriate interventions, training strategies, 
and support methods for persons with mental retardation 

MR/ID and functional limitations. All providers of day 
support services must pass an objective, standardized test 
of skills, knowledge, and abilities approved by 
DMHMRSAS DBHDS and administered according to 
DMHMRSAS' DBHDS' defined procedures. 

3. Required documentation in the individual's record. The 
provider must maintain records of each individual 
receiving services. At a minimum, these records must 
contain the following: 

a. A functional completed copy of the DBHDS-approved 
assessment conducted by the provider to evaluate each 
individual in the day support environment and 
community settings. 

b. An ISP A Plan for Supports that contains, at a 
minimum, the following elements: 

(1) The individual's strengths, desired outcomes, required 
or desired supports and training needs;  

(2) The individual's goals and measurable objectives to 
meet the above identified outcomes;  

(3) Services to be rendered and the frequency of services 
to accomplish the above goals and objectives;  

(4) A timetable for the accomplishment of the 
individual's goals and objectives as appropriate;  

(5) The estimated duration of the individual's needs for 
services; and  

(6) The provider staff responsible for the overall 
coordination and integration of the services specified in 
the ISP Plan for Supports.  

c. Documentation confirming the individual's attendance 
and amount of time in services and specific information 
regarding the individual's response to various settings 
and supports as agreed to in the ISP Plan for Supports 
objectives. An attendance log or similar document must 
be maintained that indicates the date, type of services 
rendered, and the number of hours and units, or their 
equivalent under the DMAS fee schedule, provided. 

d. Documentation indicating whether the services were 
center-based or noncenter-based.  

e. Documentation regarding transportation. In instances 
where day support staff are required to ride with the 
individual to and from day support, the day support staff 
time can be billed as day support, provided that the 
billing for this time does not exceed 25% of the total time 
spent in the day support activity for that day. 
Documentation must be maintained to verify that billing 
for day support staff coverage during transportation does 
not exceed 25% of the total time spent in the day support 
for that day.  
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f. If intensive day support services are requested, 
documentation indicating the specific supports and the 
reasons they are needed. For ongoing intensive day 
support services, there must be clear documentation of 
the ongoing needs and associated staff supports. 

g. Documentation indicating that the ISP Plan for 
Supports goals, objectives, and activities have been 
reviewed by the provider quarterly, annually, and more 
often as needed. The results of the review must be 
submitted to the case manager. For the annual review and 
in cases where the ISP Plan for Supports is modified, the 
ISP Plan for Supports must be reviewed with the 
individual and the individual's family/caregiver, as 
appropriate. 

h. Copy of the most recently completed DMAS-122 
DMAS-225 form. The provider must clearly document 
efforts to obtain the completed DMAS-122 DMAS-225 
form from the case manager. 

12VAC30-120-231. Environmental modifications.  

A. Service description. Environmental modifications shall 
be defined as those physical adaptations to the home or 
vehicle, required by the individual's CSP Individual Support 
Plan, that are necessary to ensure the health, welfare, and 
safety of the individual, or which enable the individual to 
function with greater independence and without which the 
individual would require institutionalization. Such 
adaptations may include the installation of ramps and grab-
bars, widening of doorways, modification of bathroom 
facilities, or installation of specialized electric and plumbing 
systems which are necessary to accommodate the medical 
equipment and supplies which are necessary for the welfare 
of the individual. Modifications can be made to an 
automotive vehicle if it is the primary vehicle being used by 
the individual. Modifications may be made to an individual's 
work site when the modification exceeds the reasonable 
accommodation requirements of the Americans with 
Disabilities Act.  

B. Criteria. In order to qualify for these services, the 
individual must have a demonstrated need for equipment or 
modifications of a remedial or medical benefit offered in an 
individual's primary home, primary vehicle used by the 
individual, community activity setting, or day program to 
specifically improve the individual's personal functioning. 
This service shall encompass those items not otherwise 
covered in the State Plan for Medical Assistance or through 
another program.  

C. Service units and service limitations. Environmental 
modifications shall be available to individuals who are 
receiving at least one other waiver service in addition to 
targeted mental retardation mental retardation/intellectual 
disability (MR/ID) case management. A maximum limit of 
$5,000 may be reimbursed per CSP Individual Support Plan 

year. Costs for environmental modifications shall not be 
carried over from CSP Individual Support Plan year to CSP 
Individual Support Plan year and must be prior authorized by 
DMHMRSAS the state-designated agency or its contractor 
for each CSP Individual Support Plan year. Modifications 
may not be used to bring a substandard dwelling up to 
minimum habitation standards. Excluded are those 
adaptations or improvements to the home that are of general 
utility, such as carpeting, roof repairs, central air 
conditioning, etc., and are not of direct medical or remedial 
benefit to the individual. Also excluded are modifications that 
are reasonable accommodation requirements of the 
Americans with Disabilities Act, the Virginians with 
Disabilities Act, and the Rehabilitation Act. Adaptations that 
add to the total square footage of the home shall be excluded 
from this service.  

D. Provider requirements. In addition to meeting the general 
conditions and requirements for home and community-based 
participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-120-217 and 
12VAC30-120-219, environmental modifications must be 
provided in accordance with all applicable federal, state or 
local building codes and laws by contractors of the CSB/BHA 
or providers who have a participation agreement with DMAS 
who shall be reimbursed for the amount charged by said 
contractors. The following are provider documentation 
requirements:  

1. An ISP A Plan for Supports that documents the need for 
the service, the process to obtain the service, and the time 
frame during which the services are to be provided. The 
ISP Plan for Supports must include documentation of the 
reason that a rehabilitation engineer or specialist is needed, 
if one is to be involved;  

2. Documentation of the time frame involved to complete 
the modification and the amount of services and supplies;  

3. Any other relevant information regarding the 
modification;  

4. Documentation of notification by the individual and the 
individual's family/caregiver, as appropriate, of satisfactory 
completion of the service; and  

5. Instructions regarding any warranty, repairs, complaints, 
and servicing that may be needed.  

12VAC30-120-233. Personal assistance and respite 
services.  

A. Service description. Services may be provided either 
through an agency-directed or consumer-directed model.  

1. Personal assistance services are provided to individuals 
in the areas of activities of daily living, instrumental 
activities of daily living, access to the community, 
monitoring of self-administered medications or other 
medical needs, monitoring of health status and physical 
condition, and work-related personal assistance. They may 
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be provided in home and community settings to enable an 
individual to maintain the health status and functional 
skills necessary to live in the community or participate in 
community activities. When specified, such supportive 
services may include assistance with instrumental activities 
of daily living (IADLs). Personal assistance does not 
include either practical or professional nursing services or 
those practices regulated in Chapters 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et 
seq.) and 34 (§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code 
of Virginia, as appropriate. This service does not include 
skilled nursing services with the exception of skilled 
nursing tasks that may be delegated pursuant to 18VAC90-
20-420 through 18VAC90-20-460.  

2. Respite services are supports for that which is normally 
provided by the family or other unpaid primary caregiver 
of an individual. These services are furnished on a short-
term basis because of the absence or need for relief of 
those unpaid caregivers normally providing the care for the 
individuals.  

B. Criteria.  

1. In order to qualify for personal assistance services, the 
individual must demonstrate a need for assistance with 
activities of daily living, community access, self-
administration of medications or other medical needs, or 
monitoring of health status or physical condition.  

2. Respite services may only be offered to individuals who 
have an unpaid primary caregiver who requires temporary 
relief to avoid institutionalization of the individual.  

C. Service units and service limitations.  

1. The unit of service is one hour.  

2. Each individual must have a back-up plan in case the 
personal assistant does not show up for work as expected 
or terminates employment without prior notice.  

3. Personal assistance is not available to individuals: (i) 
who receive congregate residential services or live in 
assisted living facilities; (ii) who would benefit from 
personal assistance training and skill development; or (iii) 
who receive comparable services provided through another 
program or service.  

4. Respite services shall not be provided to relieve group 
home or assisted living facility staff where residential care 
is provided in shifts. Respite services shall not be provided 
by adult foster care providers for an individual residing in 
that home. Training of the individual is not provided with 
respite services.  

5. Respite services shall be limited to a maximum of 720 
hours per calendar year. Individuals who are receiving 
services through both the agency-directed and consumer-
directed model cannot exceed 720 hours per calendar year 
combined.  

6. The hours authorized are based on individual need. No 
more than two unrelated individuals who live in the same 
home are permitted to share the authorized work hours of 
the assistant.  

D. Provider requirements. In addition to meeting the general 
conditions and requirements for home and community-based 
participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-120-217 and 
12VAC30-120-219, personal assistance and respite providers 
must meet additional provider requirements:  

1. Services shall be provided by:  

a. For the agency-directed model, an enrolled DMAS 
personal care/respite care provider or by a 
DMHMRSAS-licensed residential services provider 
licensed by the Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services (DBHDS). In addition, respite 
services may be provided by a DMHMRSAS-licensed 
DBHDS-licensed respite services provider or a DSS-
approved foster care home for children or adult foster 
home provider. All personal assistants must pass an 
objective standardized test of skills, knowledge, and 
abilities approved by DMHMRSAS DBHDS and 
administered according to DMHMRSAS' DBHDS' 
defined procedures.  

b. For consumer-directed model, a services facilitator 
meeting the services shall meet the requirements found in 
12VAC30-120-225.  

2. For DMHMRSAS-licensed DBHDS-licensed residential 
or respite services providers, a residential or respite 
supervisor will provide ongoing supervision of all 
assistants.  

3. For DMAS-enrolled personal care/respite care providers, 
the provider must employ or subcontract with and directly 
supervise a RN or a LPN who will provide ongoing 
supervision of all assistants. The supervising RN or LPN 
must be currently licensed to practice nursing in the 
Commonwealth and have at least two years of related 
clinical nursing experience that may include work in an 
acute care hospital, public health clinic, home health 
agency, ICF/MR or nursing facility. 

4. The supervisor or services facilitator must make a home 
visit to conduct an initial assessment prior to the start of 
services for all individuals requesting personal assistance 
or respite services. The supervisor or services facilitator 
must also perform any subsequent reassessments or 
changes to the supporting documentation.  

5. The supervisor or services facilitator must make 
supervisory home visits as often as needed to ensure both 
quality and appropriateness of services. The minimum 
frequency of these visits is every 30 to 90 days under the 
agency-directed model and semi-annually (every six 
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months) under the consumer-directed model depending on 
the individual's needs.  

a. When respite services are not received on a routine 
basis, but are episodic in nature, the supervisor or 
services facilitator is not required to conduct a 
supervisory visit every 30 to 90 days. Instead, the 
supervisor or services facilitator must conduct the initial 
home visit with the respite assistant immediately 
preceding the start of services and make a second home 
visit within the respite period.  

b. When respite services are routine in nature and offered 
in conjunction with personal assistance, the supervisory 
visit conducted for personal assistance may serve as the 
supervisory visit for respite services. However, the 
supervisor or services facilitator must document 
supervision of respite services separately. For this 
purpose, the same individual record can be used with a 
separate section for respite services documentation.  

6. Based on continuing evaluations of the assistant's 
performance and individual's needs, the supervisor or 
services facilitator shall identify any gaps in the assistant's 
ability to function competently and shall provide training 
as indicated.  

7. Qualification of assistants.  

a. The assistant must:  

(1) Be 18 years of age or older and possess a valid social 
security number;  

(2) Be able to read and write English to the degree 
necessary to perform the tasks expected and possess 
basic math skills; and  

(3) Have the required skills to perform services as 
specified in the individual's ISP Plan for Supports.  

b. Additional requirements for DMAS-enrolled personal 
care/respite care providers.  

(1) Assistants must complete a training curriculum 
consistent with DMAS requirements. Prior to assigning 
an assistant to an individual, the provider must obtain 
documentation that the assistant has satisfactorily 
completed a training program consistent with DMAS 
requirements. DMAS requirements may be met in one of 
three ways:  

(a) Registration as a certified nurse aide;  

(b) Graduation from an approved educational curriculum 
that offers certificates qualifying the student as a nursing 
assistant, geriatric assistance, or home health aide;  

(c) Completion of provider-offered training, which is 
consistent with the basic course outline approved by 
DMAS; and  

(2) Assistants must have a satisfactory work record, as 
evidenced by two references from prior job experiences, 
including no evidence of possible abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation of aged or incapacitated adults or children.  

c. Additional requirements for the consumer-directed 
option. The assistant must:  

(1) Submit to a criminal records check and, if the 
individual is a minor, consent to a search of the DSS 
Child Protective Services Central Registry. The assistant 
will not be compensated for services provided to the 
individual if either of these records checks verifies the 
assistant has been convicted of crimes described in 
§ 37.2-416 of the Code of Virginia or if the assistant has 
a founded complaint confirmed by the DSS Child 
Protective Services Central Registry;  

(2) Be willing to attend training at the individual and the 
individual's family/caregiver, as appropriate, request;  

(3) Understand and agree to comply with the DMAS MR 
mental retardation/intellectual disability (MR/ID) Waiver 
requirements; and  

(4) Receive an annual tuberculosis (TB) screening.  

8. Assistants may not be the parents of individuals who are 
minors, or the individuals' spouses. Payment may not be 
made for services furnished by other family members 
living under the same roof as the individual receiving 
services unless there is objective written documentation as 
to why there are no other providers available to provide the 
service. Family members who are approved to be 
reimbursed for providing this service must meet the 
assistant qualifications.  

9. Provider inability to render services and substitution of 
assistants (agency-directed model).  

a. When an assistant is absent, the provider is responsible 
for ensuring that services continue to be provided to 
individuals. The provider may either provide another 
assistant, obtain a substitute assistant from another 
provider, if the lapse in coverage is to be less than two 
weeks in duration, or transfer the individual's services to 
another provider. The provider that has the authorization 
to provide services to the individual must contact the 
case manager to determine if additional preauthorization 
is necessary.  

b. If no other provider is available who can supply a 
substitute assistant, the provider shall notify the 
individual and the individual's family/caregiver, as 
appropriate, and case manager so that the case manager 
may find another available provider of the individual's 
choice.  
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c. During temporary, short-term lapses in coverage not to 
exceed two weeks in duration, the following procedures 
must apply:  

(1) The preauthorized provider must provide the 
supervision for the substitute assistant;  

(2) The provider of the substitute assistant must send a 
copy of the assistant's daily documentation signed by the 
individual and the individual's family/caregiver, as 
appropriate, on his behalf and the assistant to the 
provider having the authorization; and  

(3) The preauthorized provider must bill DMAS for 
services rendered by the substitute assistant.  

d. If a provider secures a substitute assistant, the provider 
agency is responsible for ensuring that all DMAS 
requirements continue to be met including documentation 
of services rendered by the substitute assistant and 
documentation that the substitute assistant's 
qualifications meet DMAS' requirements. The two 
providers involved are responsible for negotiating the 
financial arrangements of paying the substitute assistant.  

10. Required documentation in the individual's record. The 
provider must maintain records regarding each individual 
receiving services. At a minimum these records must 
contain:  

a. An A copy of the completed DBHDS-approved 
assessment and, as needed, an initial assessment 
completed by the supervisor or services facilitator prior 
to or on the date services are initiated;  

b. An ISP A Plan for Supports, that contains, at a 
minimum, the following elements:  

(1) The individual's strengths, desired outcomes, required 
or desired supports;  

(2) The individual's goals and objectives to meet the 
above identified outcomes;  

(3) Services to be rendered and the frequency of services 
to accomplish the above goals and objectives; and  

(4) For the agency-directed model, the provider staff 
responsible for the overall coordination and integration 
of the services specified in the ISP Plan for Supports.  

c. The ISP Plan for Supports goals, objectives, and 
activities must be reviewed by the supervisor or services 
facilitator quarterly for personal assistance only, 
annually, and more often as needed modified as 
appropriate and results of these reviews submitted to the 
case manager. For the annual review and in cases where 
the ISP Plan for Supports is modified, the ISP Plan for 
Supports must be reviewed with the individual.  

d. Dated notes of any contacts with the assistant, 
individual and the individual's family/caregiver, as 

appropriate, during supervisory or services facilitator 
visits to the individual's home. The written summary of 
the supervision or services facilitation visits must 
include:  

(1) Whether services continue to be appropriate and 
whether the ISP Plan for Supports is adequate to meet the 
need or if changes are indicated in the ISP Plan for 
Supports;  

(2) Any suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation and to 
whom it was reported;  

(3) Any special tasks performed by the assistant and the 
assistant's qualifications to perform these tasks;  

(4) The individual's satisfaction with the service;  

(5) Any hospitalization or change in medical condition or 
functioning status;  

(6) Other services received and their amount; and  

(7) The presence or absence of the assistant in the home 
during the supervisor's visit.  

e. All correspondence to the individual and the 
individual's family/caregiver, as appropriate, case 
manager, DMAS, and DMHMRSAS DBHDS;  

f. Reassessments and any changes to supporting 
documentation made during the provision of services;  

g. Contacts made with the individual, family/caregivers, 
physicians, formal and informal service providers, and all 
professionals concerning the individual;  

h. Copy of the most recently completed DMAS-122 
DMAS-225 form. The provider or services facilitator 
must clearly document efforts to obtain the completed 
DMAS-122 DMAS-225 form from the case manager.  

i. For the agency-directed model, the assistant record 
must contain:  

(1) The specific services delivered to the individual by 
the assistant, dated the day of service delivery, and the 
individual's responses;  

(2) The assistant's arrival and departure times;  

(3) The assistant's weekly comments or observations 
about the individual to include observations of the 
individual's physical and emotional condition, daily 
activities, and responses to services rendered; and  

(4) The assistant's and individual's and the individual's 
family/caregiver's, as appropriate, weekly signatures 
recorded on the last day of service delivery for any given 
week to verify that services during that week have been 
rendered.  

j. For individuals receiving personal assistance and 
respite services in a congregate residential setting, 
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because services that are training in nature are currently 
or no longer appropriate or desired, the record must 
contain:  

(1) The specific services delivered to the individual, 
dated the day services were provided, the number of 
hours as outlined in the ISP Plan for Supports, the 
individual's responses, and observations of the 
individual's physical and emotional condition; and  

(2) At a minimum, monthly verification by the residential 
supervisor of the services and hours and quarterly 
verification as outlined in 12VAC30-120-241.  

k. For the consumer-directed model, the assistant record 
must contain:  

(1) Documentation of all training provided to the 
assistants on behalf of the individual and the individual's 
family/caregiver, as appropriate;  

(2) Documentation of all employee management training 
provided to the individual and the individual's 
family/caregiver, as appropriate, including the individual 
and the individual's family/caregiver, as appropriate, 
receipt of training on their responsibility for the accuracy 
of the assistant's timesheets;  

(3) All documents signed by the individual and the 
individual's family/caregiver, as appropriate, that 
acknowledge the responsibilities as the employer.  

12VAC30-120-235. Personal Emergency Response System 
(PERS).  

A. Service description. PERS is a service which monitors 
individual safety in the home and provides access to 
emergency assistance for medical or environmental 
emergencies through the provision of a two-way voice 
communication system that dials a 24-hour response or 
monitoring center upon activation and via the individual's 
home telephone line. PERS may also include medication 
monitoring devices.  

B. Criteria. PERS can be authorized when there is no one 
else in the home who is competent or continuously available 
to call for help in an emergency.  

C. Service units and service limitations.  

1. A unit of service shall include administrative costs, time, 
labor, and supplies associated with the installation, 
maintenance, monitoring, and adjustments of the PERS. A 
unit of service is the one-month rental price set by DMAS. 
The one-time installation of the unit includes installation, 
account activation, individual and caregiver instruction, 
and removal of PERS equipment.  

2. PERS services must be capable of being activated by a 
remote wireless device and be connected to the individual's 
telephone line. The PERS console unit must provide 

hands-free voice-to-voice communication with the 
response center. The activating device must be waterproof, 
automatically transmit to the response center an activator 
low battery alert signal prior to the battery losing power, 
and be able to be worn by the individual.  

D. Provider requirements. In addition to meeting the general 
conditions and requirements for home and community-based 
participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-120-217 and 
12VAC30-120-219, PERS providers must also meet the 
following qualifications:  

1. A PERS provider is a personal assistance agency, a 
durable medical equipment provider, a hospital, a licensed 
home health provider, or a PERS manufacturer that has the 
ability to provide PERS equipment, direct services (i.e., 
installation, equipment maintenance and service calls), and 
PERS monitoring.  

2. The PERS provider must provide an emergency 
response center with fully trained operators who are 
capable of receiving signals for help from an individual's 
PERS equipment 24-hours a day, 365, or 366, days per 
year as appropriate, of determining whether an emergency 
exists, and of notifying an emergency response 
organization or an emergency responder that the PERS 
individual needs emergency help.  

3. A PERS provider must comply with all applicable 
Virginia statutes, applicable regulations of DMAS, and all 
other governmental agencies having jurisdiction over the 
services to be performed.  

4. The PERS provider has the primary responsibility to 
furnish, install, maintain, test, and service the PERS 
equipment, as required, to keep it fully operational. The 
provider shall replace or repair the PERS device within 24 
hours of the individual's notification of a malfunction of 
the console unit, activating devices, or medication-
monitoring unit while the original equipment is being 
repaired.  

5. The PERS provider must properly install all PERS 
equipment into a PERS individual's functioning telephone 
line and must furnish all supplies necessary to ensure that 
the system is installed and working properly.  

6. The PERS installation includes local seize line circuitry, 
which guarantees that the unit will have priority over the 
telephone connected to the console unit should the phone 
be off the hook or in use when the unit is activated.  

7. A PERS provider must maintain a data record for each 
PERS individual at no additional cost to DMAS. The 
record must document the following:  

a. Delivery date and installation date of the PERS;  

b. Individual or family/caregiver signature verifying 
receipt of PERS device;  
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c. Verification by a test that the PERS device is 
operational, monthly or more frequently as needed;  

d. Updated and current individual responder and contact 
information, as provided by the individual, the 
individual's family/caregiver, or case manager; and  

e. A case log documenting the individual's utilization of 
the system and contacts and communications with the 
individual, family/caregiver, case manager, and 
responders.  

8. The PERS provider must have back-up monitoring 
capacity in case the primary system cannot handle 
incoming emergency signals.  

9. Standards for PERS equipment. All PERS equipment 
must be approved by the Federal Communications 
Commission and meet the Underwriters' Laboratories, Inc. 
(UL) safety standard Number 1635 for Digital Alarm 
Communicator System Units and Number 1637, which is 
the UL safety standard for home health care signaling 
equipment. The UL listing mark on the equipment will be 
accepted as evidence of the equipment's compliance with 
such standard. The PERS device must be automatically 
reset by the response center after each activation, ensuring 
that subsequent signals can be transmitted without 
requiring manual reset by the individual.  

10. A PERS provider must furnish education, data, and 
ongoing assistance to DMAS, DMHMRSAS Department 
of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services 
(DBHDS) and case managers to familiarize staff with the 
service, allow for ongoing evaluation and refinement of the 
program, and must instruct the individual, 
family/caregiver, and responders in the use of the PERS 
service.  

11. The emergency response activator must be activated 
either by breath, by touch, or by some other means, and 
must be usable by individuals who are visually or hearing 
impaired or physically disabled. The emergency response 
communicator must be capable of operating without 
external power during a power failure at the individual's 
home for a minimum period of 24-hours and automatically 
transmit a low battery alert signal to the response center if 
the back-up battery is low. The emergency response 
console unit must also be able to self-disconnect and redial 
the back-up monitoring site without the individual resetting 
the system in the event it cannot get its signal accepted at 
the response center.  

12. Monitoring agencies must be capable of continuously 
monitoring and responding to emergencies under all 
conditions, including power failures and mechanical 
malfunctions. It is the PERS provider's responsibility to 
ensure that the monitoring agency and the agency's 
equipment meets the following requirements. The 
monitoring agency must be capable of simultaneously 

responding to signals for help from multiple individuals' 
PERS equipment. The monitoring agency's equipment 
must include the following:  

a. A primary receiver and a back-up receiver, which must 
be independent and interchangeable;  

b. A back-up information retrieval system;  

c. A clock printer, which must print out the time and date 
of the emergency signal, the PERS individual's 
identification code, and the emergency code that 
indicates whether the signal is active, passive, or a 
responder test;  

d. A back-up power supply;  

e. A separate telephone service;  

f. A toll free number to be used by the PERS equipment 
in order to contact the primary or back-up response 
center; and  

g. A telephone line monitor, which must give visual and 
audible signals when the incoming telephone line is 
disconnected for more than 10 seconds.  

13. The monitoring agency must maintain detailed 
technical and operations manuals that describe PERS 
elements, including the installation, functioning, and 
testing of PERS equipment, emergency response protocols, 
and recordkeeping and reporting procedures.  

14. The PERS provider shall document and furnish within 
30 days of the action taken a written report to the case 
manager for each emergency signal that results in action 
being taken on behalf of the individual. This excludes test 
signals or activations made in error.  

15. The PERS provider is prohibited from performing any 
type of direct marketing activities to Medicaid recipients.  

16. The provider must obtain and keep on file a copy of the 
most recently completed DMAS-122 DMAS-225 form. 
The provider must clearly document efforts to obtain the 
completed DMAS-122 DMAS-225 form from the case 
manager.  

12VAC30-120-237. Prevocational services. 

A. Service description. Prevocational services are services 
aimed at preparing an individual for paid or unpaid 
employment, but are not job-task oriented. Prevocational 
services are provided to individuals who are not expected to 
be able to join the general work force without supports or to 
participate in a transitional sheltered workshop within one 
year of beginning waiver services, (excluding supported 
employment programs). Activities included in this service are 
not primarily directed at teaching specific job skills but at 
underlying habilitative goals such as accepting supervision, 
attendance, task completion, problem solving, and safety. 
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B. Criteria. In order to qualify for prevocational services, the 
individual shall have a demonstrated need for support in skills 
that are aimed toward preparation of paid employment that 
may be offered in a variety of community settings. 

C. Service units and service limitations. Billing is in 
accordance with the DMAS fee schedule. 

1. This service is limited to 780 units, or its equivalent 
under the DMAS fee schedule, per CSP Individual Support 
Plan year. If this service is used in combination with day 
support and /or group-supported employment services, the 
combined total units for these services cannot exceed 780 
units, or its equivalent under the DMAS fee schedule, per 
CSP Individual Support Plan year. 

2. Prevocational services can be provided in center- or 
noncenter-based settings. Center-based means services are 
provided primarily at one location/building and noncenter-
based means services are provided primarily in community 
settings. Both center-based or noncenter-based 
prevocational services may be provided at either regular or 
intensive levels. 

3. Prevocational services can be provided at either a 
regular or intensive level. For prevocational services to be 
authorized at the intensive level, the individual must meet 
at least one of the following criteria: (i) require physical 
assistance to meet the basic personal care needs (toileting, 
feeding, etc); (ii) have extensive disability-related 
difficulties and require additional, ongoing support to fully 
participate in programming and to accomplish service 
goals; or (iii) require extensive constant supervision to 
reduce or eliminate behaviors that preclude full 
participation in the program. In this case, written 
behavioral objectives are required to address behaviors 
such as, but not limited to, withdrawal, self-injury, 
aggression, or self-stimulation. 

4. There must be documentation regarding whether 
prevocational services are available in vocational 
rehabilitation agencies through § 110 of the Rehabilitation 
Act of 1973 or through the Individuals with Disabilities 
Education Act (IDEA). If the individual is not eligible for 
services through the IDEA, documentation is required only 
for lack of DRS Department of Rehabilitation (DRS) 
funding. When services are provided through these 
sources, the ISP Plan for Supports shall not authorize them 
as a waiver expenditure. 

5. Prevocational services can only be provided when the 
individual's compensation is less than 50% of the 
minimum wage. 

D. Provider requirements. In addition to meeting the general 
conditions and requirements for home and community-based 
services participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-
120-217 and 12VAC30-120-219, prevocational providers 
must also meet the following qualifications: 

1. The provider of prevocational services must be a vendor 
of extended employment services, long-term employment 
services, or supported employment services for DRS 
Department of Rehabilitation (DRS), or be licensed by 
DMHMRSAS Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services (DBHDS) as a provider of day 
support services. 

2. Providers must ensure and document that persons 
providing prevocational services have training in the 
characteristics of mental retardation mental 
retardation/intellectual disability (MR/ID) and appropriate 
interventions, training strategies, and support methods for 
persons with mental retardation MR/ID and functional 
limitations. All providers of prevocational services must 
pass an objective, standardized test of skills, knowledge, 
and abilities approved by DMHMRSAS DBHDS and 
administered according to DMHMRSAS DBHDS' defined 
procedures. 

3. Required documentation in the individual's record. The 
provider must maintain a record regarding each individual 
receiving prevocational services. At a minimum, the 
records must contain the following: 

a. A functional completed copy of the DBHDS-approved 
assessment conducted by the provider to evaluate each 
individual in the prevocational environment and 
community settings. 

b. An ISP A Plan for Supports, which contains, at a 
minimum, the following elements: 

(1) The individual's strengths, desired outcomes, required 
or desired supports, and training needs; 

(2) The individual's goals and measurable objectives to 
meet the above identified outcomes; 

(3) Services to be rendered and the frequency of services 
to accomplish the above goals and objectives;  

(4) A timetable for the accomplishment of the 
individual's goals and objectives; 

(5) The estimated duration of the individual's needs for 
services; and 

(6) The provider staff responsible for the overall 
coordination and integration of the services specified in 
the ISP Plan for Supports. 

c. Documentation indicating that the ISP Plan for 
Supports goals, objectives, and activities have been 
reviewed by the provider quarterly, annually, and more 
often as needed, modified as appropriate, and that the 
results of these reviews have been submitted to the case 
manager. For the annual review and in cases where the 
ISP Plan for Supports is modified, the ISP Plan for 
Supports must be reviewed with the individual and the 
individual's family/caregiver, as appropriate. 
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d. Documentation confirming the individual's attendance, 
amount of time spent in services, and type of services 
rendered, and specific information regarding the 
individual's response to various settings and supports as 
agreed to in the ISP Plan for Supports objectives. An 
attendance log or similar document must be maintained 
that indicates the date, type of services rendered, and the 
number of hours and units, or their equivalent under the 
DMAS fee schedule, provided. 

e. Documentation indicating whether the services were 
center-based or noncenter-based. 

f. Documentation regarding transportation. In instances 
where prevocational staff are required to ride with the 
individual to and from prevocational services, the 
prevocational staff time can be billed for prevocational 
services, provided that billing for this time does not 
exceed 25% of the total time spent in prevocational 
services for that day. Documentation must be maintained 
to verify that billing for prevocational staff coverage 
during transportation does not exceed 25% of the total 
time spent in the prevocational services for that day.  

g. If intensive prevocational services are requested, 
documentation indicating the specific supports and the 
reasons they are needed. For ongoing intensive 
prevocational services, there must be clear 
documentation of the ongoing needs and associated staff 
supports.  

h. Documentation indicating whether prevocational 
services are available in vocational rehabilitation 
agencies through § 110 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 
or through the Individuals with Disabilities Education 
Act (IDEA). 

i. A copy of the most recently completed DMAS-122 
DMAS-225. The provider must clearly document efforts 
to obtain the completed DMAS-122 DMAS-225 form 
from the case manager. 

12VAC30-120-241. Residential support services.  

A. Service description. Residential support services consist 
of training, assistance or specialized supervision provided 
primarily in an individual's home or in a licensed or approved 
residence to enable an individual to acquire, retain, or 
improve the self-help, socialization, and adaptive skills 
necessary to reside successfully in home and community-
based settings.  

Service providers shall be reimbursed only for the amount 
and type of residential support services included in the 
individual's approved ISP Plan for Supports. Residential 
support services shall be authorized in the ISP Plan for 
Supports only when the individual requires these services and 
these services exceed the services included in the individual's 
room and board arrangements for individuals residing in 

group homes, or, for other individuals, if these services 
exceed supports provided by the family/caregiver. Services 
will not be routinely reimbursed for a continuous 24-hour 
period.  

B. Criteria.  

1. In order for Medicaid to reimburse for residential 
support services, the individual shall have a demonstrated 
need for supports to be provided by staff who are paid by 
the residential support provider.  

2. In order to qualify for this service in a congregate 
setting, the individual shall have a demonstrated need for 
continuous training, assistance, and supervision for up to 
24 hours per day.  

3. A functional Providers must participate in the 
completion of the Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services (DBHDS)-approved assessment 
must be conducted to evaluate each individual in his home 
environment and community settings.  

4. The residential support ISP A Plan for Supports must 
indicate the necessary amount and type of activities 
required by the individual, the schedule of residential 
support services, and the total number of projected hours 
per week of waiver reimbursed residential support.  

C. Service units and service limitations. Total billing cannot 
exceed the authorized amount in the ISP Plan for Supports. 
The provider must maintain documentation of the date and 
times that services were provided, and specific circumstances 
that prevented provision of all of the scheduled services.  

1. This service must be provided on an individual-specific 
basis according to the ISP Plan for Supports and service 
setting requirements;  

2. Congregate residential support services may not be 
provided to any individual who receives personal 
assistance services under the MR mental 
retardation/intellectual disability (MR/ID) Waiver or other 
residential services that provide a comparable level of care. 
Respite services may be provided in conjunction with in-
home residential support services to unpaid caregivers.  

3. Room, board, and general supervision shall not be 
components of this service;  

4. This service shall not be used solely to provide routine 
or emergency respite for the family/caregiver with whom 
the individual lives; and  

5. Medicaid reimbursement is available only for residential 
support services provided when the individual is present 
and when a qualified provider is providing the services.  

D. Provider requirements.  

1. In addition to meeting the general conditions and 
requirements for home and community-based participating 
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providers as specified in 12VAC30-120-217 and 
12VAC30-120-219, the provider of residential services 
must have the appropriate DMHMRSAS Department of 
Behavioral Health and Developmental Services (DBHDS) 
residential license.  

2. Residential support services may also be provided in 
adult foster care homes approved by local DSS offices 
pursuant to state DSS regulations.  

3. In addition to licensing requirements, persons providing 
residential support services are required to participate in 
training in the characteristics of mental retardation MR/ID 
and appropriate interventions, training strategies, and 
support methods for individuals with mental retardation 
MR/ID and functional limitations. All providers of 
residential support services must pass an objective, 
standardized test of skills, knowledge, and abilities 
approved by DMHMRSAS DBHDS and administered 
according to DMHMRSAS' DBHDS' defined procedures.  

4. Required documentation in the individual's record. The 
provider agency must maintain records of each individual 
receiving residential support services. At a minimum these 
records must contain the following:  

a. A functional completed copy of the DBHDS-approved 
assessment conducted by the provider to evaluate each 
individual in the residential environment and community 
settings.  

b. An ISP Plan for Supports containing the following 
elements:  

(1) The individual's strengths, desired outcomes, required 
or desired supports, or both, and training needs;  

(2) The individual's goals and measurable objectives to 
meet the above identified outcomes;  

(3) The services to be rendered and the schedule of 
services to accomplish the above goals, objectives, and 
desired outcomes;  

(4) A timetable for the accomplishment of the 
individual's goals and objectives;  

(5) The estimated duration of the individual's needs for 
services; and  

(6) The provider staff responsible for the overall 
coordination and integration of the services specified in 
the ISP Plan for Supports.  

c. The ISP Plan for Supports goals, objectives, and 
activities must be reviewed by the provider quarterly, 
annually, and more often as needed, modified as 
appropriate, and results of these reviews submitted to the 
case manager. For the annual review and in cases where 
the ISP Plan for Supports is modified, the ISP Plan for 

Supports must be reviewed with the individual and the 
individual's family/caregiver, as appropriate.  

d. Documentation must confirm attendance, the amount 
of time in services, and provide specific information 
regarding the individual's response to various settings 
and supports as agreed to in the ISP Plan for Supports 
objectives.  

e. A copy of the most recently completed DMAS-122 
DMAS-225. The provider must clearly document efforts 
to obtain the completed DMAS-122 DMAS-225 form 
from the case manager.  

12VAC30-120-245. Skilled nursing services.  

A. Service description. Skilled nursing services shall be 
provided for individuals with serious medical conditions and 
complex health care who do not meet home health criteria 
needs that require specific skilled nursing services that cannot 
be provided by non-nursing personnel. Skilled nursing may 
be provided in the individual's home or other community 
setting on a regularly scheduled or intermittent need basis. It 
may include consultation, nurse delegation as appropriate, 
oversight of direct care staff as appropriate, and training for 
other providers.  

B. Criteria. In order to qualify for these services, the 
individual shall have demonstrated complex health care needs 
that require specific skilled nursing services ordered by a 
physician and that cannot be otherwise accessed under the 
Title XIX State Plan for Medical Assistance. The CSP 
Individual Support Plan must indicate that the service is 
necessary in order to prevent institutionalization and is not 
available under the State Plan for Medical Assistance.  

C. Service units and service limitations. Skilled nursing 
services to be rendered by either registered or licensed 
practical nurses are provided in hourly units. The services 
must be explicitly detailed in an ISP a Plan for Supports and 
must be specifically ordered by a physician as medically 
necessary to prevent institutionalization.  

D. Provider requirements. In addition to meeting the general 
conditions and requirements for home and community-based 
participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-120-217 and 
12VAC30-120-219, participating skilled nursing providers 
must meet the following qualifications:  

1. Skilled nursing services shall be provided by either a 
DMAS-enrolled home care organization provider or home 
health provider, or by a registered nurse licensed by the 
Commonwealth or licensed practical nurse licensed by the 
Commonwealth (under the supervision of a registered 
nurse licensed by the Commonwealth), contracted or 
employed by DMHMRSAS-licensed Department of 
Behavioral Health and Developmental Services-licensed 
day support, respite, or residential providers.  
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2. Skilled nursing services providers may not be the 
parents of individuals who are minors, or the individual's 
spouse. Payment may not be made for services furnished 
by other family members living under the same roof as the 
individual receiving services unless there is objective 
written documentation as to why there are no other 
providers available to provide the care. Family members 
who provide skilled nursing services must meet the skilled 
nursing requirements.  

3. Foster care providers may not be the skilled nursing 
services providers for the same individuals to whom they 
provide foster care.  

4. Required documentation. The provider must maintain a 
record that contains:  

a. An ISP A Plan for Supports that contains, at a 
minimum, the following elements:  

(1) The individual's strengths, desired outcomes, required 
or desired supports;  

(2) The individual's goals;  

(3) Services to be rendered and the frequency of services 
to accomplish the above goals and objectives;  

(4) The estimated duration of the individual's needs for 
services; and  

(5) The provider staff responsible for the overall 
coordination and integration of the services specified in 
the ISP Plan for Supports;  

b. Documentation of any training of family/caregivers or 
staff, or both, to be provided, including the person or 
persons being trained and the content of the training, 
consistent with the Nurse Practice Act;  

c. Documentation of the determination of medical 
necessity by a physician prior to services being rendered;  

d. Documentation of nursing license/qualifications of 
providers;  

e. Documentation indicating the dates and times of 
nursing services and the amount and type of service or 
training provided;  

f. Documentation that the ISP Plan for Supports was 
reviewed by the provider quarterly, annually, and more 
often as needed, modified as appropriate, and results of 
these reviews submitted to the case manager. For the 
annual review and in cases where the ISP Plan for 
Supports is modified, the ISP Plan for Supports must be 
reviewed with the individual. ; 

g. Documentation that the ISP Plan for Supports has been 
reviewed by a physician within 30 days of initiation of 
services, when any changes are made to the ISP, and also 
reviewed and approved annually by a physician; and  

h. A copy of the most recently completed DMAS-122 
DMAS-225. The provider must clearly document efforts 
to obtain the completed DMAS-122 DMAS-225 form 
from the case manager.  

12VAC30-120-247. Supported employment services. 

A. Service description. 

1. Supported employment services are provided in work 
settings where persons without disabilities are employed. It 
is especially designed for individuals with developmental 
disabilities, including individuals with mental retardation 
mental retardation/intellectual disability (MR/ID), who 
face severe impediments to employment due to the nature 
and complexity of their disabilities, irrespective of age or 
vocational potential. 

2. Supported employment services are available to 
individuals for whom competitive employment at or above 
the minimum wage is unlikely without ongoing supports 
and who because of their disability need ongoing support 
to perform in a work setting. 

3. Supported employment can be provided in one of two 
models. Individual supported employment shall be defined 
as intermittent support, usually provided one-on-one by a 
job coach to an individual in a supported employment 
position. Group supported employment shall be defined as 
continuous support provided by staff to eight or fewer 
individuals with disabilities in an enclave, work crew, 
bench work, or entrepreneurial model. The individual's 
assessment and CSP Individual Support Plan must clearly 
reflect the individual's need for training and supports. 

B. Criteria. 

1. Only job development tasks that specifically include the 
individual are allowable job search activities under the MR 
MR/ID waiver supported employment and only after 
determining this service is not available from DRS. 

2. In order to qualify for these services, the individual shall 
have demonstrated that competitive employment at or 
above the minimum wage is unlikely without ongoing 
supports, and that because of his disability, he needs 
ongoing support to perform in a work setting. 

3. A functional Providers must participate in the 
completion of the Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services (DBHDS)-approved assessment 
must be conducted to evaluate the individual in his work 
environment and related community settings. 

4. The ISP Plan for Supports must document the amount of 
supported employment required by the individual. Service 
providers are reimbursed only for the amount and type of 
supported employment included in the individual's ISP 
Plan for Supports based on the intensity and duration of the 
service delivered. 
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C. Service units and service limitations. 

1. Supported employment for individual job placement is 
provided in one hour units. This service is limited to 40 
hours per week. 

2. Group models of supported employment (enclaves, work 
crews, bench work and entrepreneurial model of supported 
employment) will be billed according to the DMAS fee 
schedule. 

This service is limited to 780 units, or its equivalent under 
the DMAS fee schedule, per CSP Individual Support Plan 
year. If this service is used in combination with 
prevocational and day support services, the combined total 
units for these services cannot exceed 780 units, or its 
equivalent under the DMAS fee schedule, per CSP 
Individual Support Plan year. 

3. For the individual job placement model, reimbursement 
of supported employment will be limited to actual 
documented interventions or collateral contacts by the 
provider, not the amount of time the individual is in the 
supported employment situation. 

D. Provider requirements. In addition to meeting the general 
conditions and requirements for home and community-based 
participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-120-217 and 
12VAC30-120-219, supported employment provider 
qualifications include: 

1. Group and agency-directed individual supported 
employment shall be provided only by agencies that are 
DRS vendors of supported employment services; 

2. Required documentation in the individual's record. The 
provider must maintain a record regarding each individual 
receiving supported employment services. At a minimum, 
the records must contain the following:  

a. A functional completed copy of the DBHDS-approved 
assessment conducted by the provider to evaluate each 
individual in the supported employment environment and 
related community settings. 

b. Documentation indicating individual ineligibility for 
supported employment services through DRS or IDEA. If 
the individual is not eligible through IDEA, 
documentation is required only for the lack of DRS 
funding; . 

c. An ISP A Plan for Supports that contains, at a 
minimum, the following elements: 

(1) The individual's strengths, desired outcomes, 
required/desired supports and training needs; 

(2) The individual's goals and, for a training goal, a 
sequence of measurable objectives to meet the above 
identified outcomes; 

(3) Services to be rendered and the frequency of services 
to accomplish the above goals and objectives; 

(4) A timetable for the accomplishment of the 
individual's goals and objectives; 

(5) The estimated duration of the individual's needs for 
services; and 

(6) Provider staff responsible for the overall coordination 
and integration of the services specified in the plan. 

d. The ISP Plan for Supports goals, objectives, and 
activities must be reviewed by the provider quarterly, 
annually, and more often as needed, modified as 
appropriate, and the results of these reviews submitted to 
the case manager. For the annual review and in cases 
where the ISP Plan for Supports is modified, the ISP Plan 
for Supports must be reviewed with the individual and 
the individual's family/caregiver, as appropriate. 

e. In instances where supported employment staff are 
required to ride with the individual to and from supported 
employment activities, the supported employment staff 
time can be billed for supported employment provided 
that the billing for this time does not exceed 25% of the 
total time spent in supported employment for that day. 
Documentation must be maintained to verify that billing 
for supported employment staff coverage during 
transportation does not exceed 25% of the total time 
spent in supported employment for that day. 

f. There must be a copy of the completed DMAS-122 
DMAS-225 in the record. Providers must clearly 
document efforts to obtain the DMAS-122 DMAS-225 
form from the case manager. 

12VAC30-120-249. Therapeutic consultation.  

A. Service description. Therapeutic consultation provides 
expertise, training and technical assistance in any of the 
following specialty areas to assist family members, 
caregivers, and other service providers in supporting the 
individual. The specialty areas are (i) psychology, (ii) 
behavioral consultation, (iii) therapeutic recreation, (iv) 
speech and language pathology, (v) occupational therapy, (vi) 
physical therapy, and (vii) rehabilitation engineering. The 
need for any of these services, is based on the individual's 
CSP Individual Support Plan, and provided to those 
individuals for whom specialized consultation is clinically 
necessary and who have additional challenges restricting their 
ability to function in the community. Therapeutic consultation 
services may be provided in the individual's home, and in 
appropriate community settings and are intended to facilitate 
implementation of the individual's desired outcomes as 
identified in his CSP Individual Support Plan.  

B. Criteria. In order to qualify for these services, the 
individual shall have a demonstrated need for consultation in 
any of these services. Documented need must indicate that the 
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CSP Individual Support Plan cannot be implemented 
effectively and efficiently without such consultation from this 
service.  

1. The individual's therapeutic consultation ISP Plan for 
Supports must clearly reflect the individual's needs, as 
documented in the social assessment information, for 
specialized consultation provided to family/caregivers and 
providers in order to implement the ISP Plan for Supports 
effectively.  

2. Therapeutic consultation services may not include direct 
therapy provided to waiver individuals or monitoring 
activities, and may not duplicate the activities of other 
services that are available to the individual through the 
State Plan for Medical Assistance.  

C. Service units and service limitations. The unit of service 
shall equal one hour. The services must be explicitly detailed 
in the ISP Plan for Supports. Travel time, written preparation, 
and telephone communication are in-kind expenses within 
this service and are not billable as separate items. Therapeutic 
consultation may not be billed solely for purposes of 
monitoring. Only behavioral consultation may be offered in 
the absence of any other waiver service when the consultation 
is determined to be necessary to prevent institutionalization.  

D. Provider requirements. In addition to meeting the general 
conditions and requirements for home and community-based 
participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-120-217 and 
12VAC30-120-219, professionals rendering therapeutic 
consultation services shall meet all applicable state or 
national licensure, endorsement or certification requirements. 
Persons providing rehabilitation consultation shall be 
rehabilitation engineers or certified rehabilitation specialists. 
Behavioral consultation may be performed by professionals 
based on the professionals' work experience, education, and 
demonstrated knowledge, skills, and abilities.  

The following documentation is required for therapeutic 
consultation:  

1. An ISP A Plan for Supports, that contains at a minimum, 
the following elements:  

a. Identifying information: ; 

b. Targeted objectives, time frames, and expected 
outcomes; and  

c. Specific consultation activities.  

2. A written support plan detailing the recommended 
interventions or support strategies for providers and 
family/caregivers to use to better support the individual in 
the service.  

3. Ongoing documentation of consultative services 
rendered in the form of contact-by-contact or monthly 
notes that identify each contact.  

4. If the consultation service extends beyond the one year, 
the ISP Plan for Supports must be reviewed by the provider 
with the individual receiving the services and the case 
manager, and this written review must be submitted to the 
case manager, at least annually, or more as needed. If the 
consultation services extend three months or longer, 
written quarterly reviews are required to be completed by 
the service provider and are to be forwarded to the case 
manager. Any changes to the ISP Plan for Supports must 
be reviewed with the individual and the individual's 
family/caregiver, as appropriate.  

5. A copy of the most recently completed DMAS-122 
DMAS-225. The provider must clearly document efforts to 
obtain a copy of the completed DMAS-122 DMAS-225 
from the case manager.  

6. A final disposition summary that must be forwarded to 
the case manager within 30 days following the end of this 
service.  

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are listed below. Any amended or added forms are 
reflected in the listing and are published following the listing. 

FORMS (12VAC30-120) 

Virginia Uniform Assessment Instrument (UAI) (1994).  

Consent to Exchange Information, DMAS-20 (rev. 4/03).  

Provider Aide/LPN Record Personal/Respite Care, DMAS-
90 (rev. 12/02).  

LPN Skilled Respite Record, DMAS-90A (eff. 7/05).  

Personal Assistant/Companion Timesheet, DMAS-91 (rev. 
8/03).  

Questionnaire to Assess an Applicant's Ability to 
Independently Manage Personal Attendant Services in the 
CD-PAS Waiver or DD Waiver, DMAS-95 Addendum (eff. 
8/00).  

Medicaid Funded Long-Term Care Service Authorization 
Form, DMAS-96 (rev. 10/06).  

Screening Team Plan of Care for Medicaid-Funded Long 
Term Care, DMAS-97 (rev. 12/02).  

Provider Agency Plan of Care, DMAS-97A (rev. 9/02).  

Consumer Directed Services Plan of Care, DMAS-97B (rev. 
1/98).  

Community-Based Care Recipient Assessment Report, 
DMAS-99 (rev. 4/03).  

Consumer-Directed Personal Attendant Services Recipient 
Assessment Report, DMAS-99B (rev. 8/03).  

MI/MR Level I Supplement for EDCD Waiver Applicants, 
DMAS-101A (rev. 10/04).  



Regulations 

Volume 26, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 23, 2009 

652 

Assessment of Active Treatment Needs for Individuals with 
MI, MR, or RC Who Request Services under the Elder or 
Disabled with Consumer-Direction Waivers, DMAS-101B 
(rev. 10/04).  

AIDS Waiver Evaluation Form for Enteral Nutrition, 
DMAS-116 (6/03).  

Patient Information Form, DMAS-122 (rev. 11/07).  

Medicaid LTC Communication Form, DMAS-225. 

Technology Assisted Waiver/EPSDT Nursing Services 
Provider Skills Checklist for Individuals Caring for 
Tracheostomized and/or Ventilator Assisted Children and 
Adults, DMAS-259.  

Home Health Certification and Plan of Care, CMS-485 (rev. 
2/94).  

IFDDS Waiver Level of Care Eligibility Form (eff. 5/07). 
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VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2056; Filed October 29, 2009, 3:06 p.m.  
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Emergency Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, 
and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services 
(adding 12VAC30-50-131). 

12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards for Establishing 
Payment Rates; Other Types of Care (amending 
12VAC30-80-20, 12VAC30-80-200; adding 12VAC30-80-
96). 

12VAC30-120. Waivered Services (amending 12VAC30-
120-360, 12VAC30-120-380; adding 12VAC30-120-396). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Effective Dates: October 29, 2009, through October 28, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Molly Carpenter, Child and Maternal Health 
Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 
East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
786-1493, FAX (804) 225-3961, or email 
molly.carpenter@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 of the Administrative Process Act 
provides that agencies may adopt emergency regulations 
in situations in which Virginia statutory law, the Virginia 
appropriation act, or federal law or regulation requires 
that a regulation shall be effective in 280 days or less from 
its enactment. These changes were mandated by Item 306 
TTT of Chapter 781 of the 2009 Acts of Assembly. 

The planned regulatory action creates a new model for 
Medicaid coverage of Early Intervention services for 
children less than three years of age who are eligible for 
services under Chapter 53 (§ 2.2-5300 et seq.) of Title 2.2 
of the Code of Virginia in accordance with Part C of the 
Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) (20 
USC § 1431 et seq.). This new methodology fulfills the 
General Assembly mandate as follows: first, it establishes 
a framework for ensuring that providers of Early 
Intervention services for Medicaid children through the 
Part C program bill Medicaid first before using state-only 
Part C program funds to comply with the federal Part C 
payor of last resort requirement set out in 34 CFR 
303.527. In order to ensure compliance with federal Part 
C requirements DMAS, through these emergency 
regulations, is establishing a newly recognized provider 
type and specialty to provide services specifically oriented 
to the requirements of individuals eligible for Part C 
services. This specialized provider group will support the 
service delivery system the state adopted to provide Early 
Intervention services -- the Virginia Infant and Toddler 
Connection of Virginia (I&TC). The I&TC is administered 
through local lead agencies. All local efforts are overseen 
by the Department of Behavior Health and Developmental 
Services (DBHDS), which receives Virginia's Part C 

allotment and administers the overall program.  DBHDS 
contracts with local lead agencies to facilitate 
implementation of Early Intervention services statewide. 
The majority of local lead agencies are under the auspices 
of community services boards, along with several 
universities, public health districts, local governments, and 
local education agencies. 

12VAC30-50-131. EPSDT and Early Intervention 
services. 

A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 
these regulations shall have the following meanings unless 
the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"DBHDS" means the Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services, the lead state agency for Early 
Intervention services appointed by the Governor in 
accordance with Chapter 53 (§ 2.2-5300 et seq.) of Title 2.2 
of the Code of Virginia. 

"Early Intervention services" means services provided 
through Part C of the Individuals with Disabilities Education 
Act (20 USC § 1431 et seq.), as amended, and in accordance 
with 42 CFR 440.130(d), which are designed to meet the 
developmental needs of each child and the needs of the 
family related to enhancing the child's development, and are 
provided to children from birth to age three who have (i) a 
25% developmental delay in one or more areas of 
development, (ii) atypical development, or (iii) a diagnosed 
physical or mental condition that has a high probability of 
resulting in a developmental delay. 

"Individualized family service plan" or "IFSP" means a 
comprehensive and regularly updated statement specific to 
the child being treated containing, but not necessarily limited 
to, treatment or training needs, measurable outcomes 
expected to be achieved, services to be provided with the 
recommended frequency to achieve the outcomes, and 
estimated timetable for achieving the outcomes. The IFSP is 
developed by a multidisciplinary team which includes the 
family, under the auspices of the local lead agency. 

"Local lead agency" means an agency under contract with 
the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services to facilitate implementation of a local Early 
Intervention system as described in Chapter 53 (§ 2.2-5300 et 
seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Primary care provider" means a practitioner who provides 
preventive and primary health care and is responsible for 
providing routine Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis 
and Treatment (EPSDT) screening and referral and 
coordination of other medical services needed by the child. 

B. Coverage for Early Intervention services. 

1. Early Intervention services shall be reimbursed for 
individuals younger than 21 years of age who meet criteria 
for Early Intervention services established by DBHDS in 
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accordance with Chapter 53 (§ 2.2-5300 et seq.) of Title 
2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. Early Intervention services shall be recommended by the 
child's primary care provider or other qualified EPSDT 
screening provider as necessary to correct or ameliorate a 
physical or mental condition. 

3. Early Intervention services shall be provided in settings 
that are natural or normal for an infant or toddler without a 
disability, such as the home, unless there is justification for 
an atypical location. 

4. Except for the initial and periodic assessments, Early 
Intervention services shall be described in an IFSP 
developed by the local lead agency and designed to prevent 
or ameliorate developmental delay within the context of 
the Early Intervention services system defined by Chapter 
53 (§ 2.2-5300 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. Medical necessity for Early Intervention shall be defined 
by the IFSP. The IFSP shall describe service needs in 
terms of amount, duration, and scope. The IFSP shall be 
approved by the child's primary care provider. 

6. Covered Early Intervention services include the 
following functions provided with the infant or toddler and 
the child's parent or other authorized caregiver by a 
certified Early Intervention professional: 

a. Assessment, including consultation with the child's 
family and other service providers, to evaluate: 

(1) The child's level of functioning in the following 
developmental areas: cognitive development; physical 
development, including vision and hearing; 
communication development; social or emotional 
development; and adaptive development; 

(2) The family's capacity to meet the developmental 
needs of the child; and 

(3) Services needed to correct or ameliorate 
developmental conditions during the infant and toddler 
years. 

b. Participation in a multidisciplinary team review of 
assessments to develop integrated, measurable outcomes 
for the IFSP. 

c. The planning and design of activities, environments, 
and experiences to promote the normal development of 
an infant or toddler with a disability, consistent with the 
outcomes in the IFSP. 

7. Covered Early Intervention services include the 
following functions when included in the IFSP and 
provided with an infant or toddler with a disability and the 
child's parent or other authorized caregiver by a certified 
Early Intervention professional or by a certified Early 

Intervention specialist under the supervision of a certified 
Early Intervention professional: 

a. Providing families with information and training to 
enhance the development of the child. 

b. Working with the child with a disability to promote 
normal development in one or more developmental 
domains. 

c. Consulting with the child's family and other service 
providers to assess service needs, plan, coordinate, and 
evaluate services to ensure that services reflect the 
unique needs of the child in all developmental domains. 

C. The following functions shall not be covered under this 
section: 

1. Screening to determine if the child is suspected of 
having a disability. Screening is covered as an EPSDT 
service provided by the primary care provider and is not 
covered as an Early Intervention service under this section.  

2. Administration and coordination activities related to the 
development, review, and evaluation of the IFSP and 
procedural safeguards required by Part C of the Individuals 
with Disabilities Education Act (20 USC § 1431 et seq.). 

3. Services other than the initial and periodic assessments 
that are provided but are not documented in the child’s 
IFSP or linked to a service in the IFSP. 

4. Sessions that are conducted for family support, 
education, recreational, or custodial purposes, including 
respite or child care. 

5. Services provided by a relative who is legally 
responsible for the child's care. 

6. Services rendered in a clinic or provider's office without 
justification for the location. 

7. Services provided in the absence of the child and a 
parent or other authorized caregiver identified in the IFSP 
with the exception of multidisciplinary team meetings, 
which need not include the child. 

D. Qualifications of providers: 

1. Individual practitioners of Early Intervention must be 
certified by DBHDS as a qualified Early Intervention 
professional or Early Intervention specialist.  

2. Certified individuals and service agencies or groups who 
employ or contract with certified individuals may enroll 
with DMAS as Early Intervention providers. In accordance 
with 42 CFR 431.51, recipients may obtain Early 
Intervention services from any willing and qualified 
Medicaid provider who participates in this service, or for 
individuals enrolled with a Managed Care Organization 
(MCO), from such providers available in their MCO 
network. 



Regulations 

Volume 26, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 23, 2009 

657 

12VAC30-80-20. Services that are reimbursed on a cost 
basis.  

A. Payments for services listed below shall be on the basis 
of reasonable cost following the standards and principles 
applicable to the Title XVIII Program with the exception 
provided for in subdivision D 2 d. The upper limit for 
reimbursement shall be no higher than payments for Medicare 
patients on a facility by facility basis in accordance with 42 
CFR 447.321 and 42 CFR 447.325. In no instance, however, 
shall charges for beneficiaries of the program be in excess of 
charges for private patients receiving services from the 
provider. The professional component for emergency room 
physicians shall continue to be uncovered as a component of 
the payment to the facility.  

B. Reasonable costs will be determined from the filing of a 
uniform cost report by participating providers. The cost 
reports are due not later than 90 days after the provider's 
fiscal year end. If a complete cost report is not received 
within 90 days after the end of the provider's fiscal year, the 
Program shall take action in accordance with its policies to 
assure that an overpayment is not being made. The cost report 
will be judged complete when DMAS has all of the 
following:  

1. Completed cost reporting form(s) provided by DMAS, 
with signed certification(s);  

2. The provider's trial balance showing adjusting journal 
entries;  

3. The provider's financial statements including, but not 
limited to, a balance sheet, a statement of income and 
expenses, a statement of retained earnings (or fund 
balance), and a statement of changes in financial position;  

4. Schedules that reconcile financial statements and trial 
balance to expenses claimed in the cost report;  

5. Depreciation schedule or summary;  

6. Home office cost report, if applicable; and  

7. Such other analytical information or supporting 
documents requested by DMAS when the cost reporting 
forms are sent to the provider.  

C. Item 398 D of the 1987 Appropriation Act (as amended), 
effective April 8, 1987, eliminated reimbursement of return 
on equity capital to proprietary providers.  

D. The services that are cost reimbursed are:  

1. Inpatient hospital services to persons over 65 years of 
age in tuberculosis and mental disease hospitals.  

2. Outpatient hospital services excluding laboratory.  

a. Definitions. The following words and terms when used 
in this regulation shall have the following meanings 

when applied to emergency services unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise:  

"All-inclusive" means all emergency department and 
ancillary service charges claimed in association with the 
emergency room visit, with the exception of laboratory 
services.  

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services consistent with Chapter 10 (§et seq.) of Title 
32.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Emergency hospital services" means services that are 
necessary to prevent the death or serious impairment of 
the health of the recipient. The threat to the life or health 
of the recipient necessitates the use of the most 
accessible hospital available that is equipped to furnish 
the services.  

"Recent injury" means an injury that has occurred less 
than 72 hours prior to the emergency department visit.  

b. Scope. DMAS shall differentiate, as determined by the 
attending physician's diagnosis, the kinds of care 
routinely rendered in emergency departments and 
reimburse for nonemergency care rendered in emergency 
departments at a reduced rate.  

(1) With the exception of laboratory services, DMAS 
shall reimburse at a reduced and all-inclusive 
reimbursement rate for all services, including those 
obstetric and pediatric procedures contained in 
12VAC30-80-160, rendered in emergency departments 
that DMAS determines were nonemergency care.  

(2) Services determined by the attending physician to be 
emergencies shall be reimbursed under the existing 
methodologies and at the existing rates.  

(3) Services performed by the attending physician that 
may be emergencies shall be manually reviewed. If such 
services meet certain criteria, they shall be paid under the 
methodology for subdivision 2 b (2) of this subsection. 
Services not meeting certain criteria shall be paid under 
the methodology of subdivision 2 b (1) of this subsection. 
Such criteria shall include, but not be limited to:  

(a) The initial treatment following a recent obvious 
injury.  

(b) Treatment related to an injury sustained more than 72 
hours prior to the visit with the deterioration of the 
symptoms to the point of requiring medical treatment for 
stabilization.  

(c) The initial treatment for medical emergencies 
including indications of severe chest pain, dyspnea, 
gastrointestinal hemorrhage, spontaneous abortion, loss 
of consciousness, status epilepticus, or other conditions 
considered life threatening.  
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(d) A visit in which the recipient's condition requires 
immediate hospital admission or the transfer to another 
facility for further treatment or a visit in which the 
recipient dies.  

(e) Services provided for acute vital sign changes as 
specified in the provider manual.  

(f) Services provided for severe pain when combined 
with one or more of the other guidelines.  

(4) Payment shall be determined based on ICD-9-CM 
diagnosis codes and necessary supporting documentation.  

(5) DMAS shall review on an ongoing basis the 
effectiveness of this program in achieving its objectives 
and for its effect on recipients, physicians, and hospitals. 
Program components may be revised subject to achieving 
program intent, the accuracy and effectiveness of the 
ICD-9-CM code designations, and the impact on 
recipients and providers.  

c. Limitation to 80% of allowable cost. Effective for 
services on and after July 1, 2003, reimbursement of 
Type Two hospitals for outpatient services shall be at 
80% of allowable cost, with cost to be determined as 
provided in subsections A, B, and C of this section. For 
hospitals with fiscal years that do not begin on July 1, 
2003, outpatient costs, both operating and capital, for the 
fiscal year in progress on that date shall be apportioned 
between the time period before and the time period after 
that date, based on the number of calendar months in the 
cost reporting period, falling before and after that date. 
Operating costs apportioned before that date shall be 
settled according to the principles in effect before that 
date, and those after at 80% of allowable cost. Capital 
costs apportioned before that date shall be settled 
according to the principles in effect before that date, and 
those after at 80% of allowable cost. Operating and 
capital costs of Type One hospitals shall continue to be 
reimbursed at 94.2% and 90% of cost respectively.  

d. Outpatient reimbursement methodology prior to July 
1, 2003. DMAS shall continue to reimburse for 
outpatient hospital services, with the exception of direct 
graduate medical education for interns and residents, at 
100% of reasonable costs less a 10% reduction for 
allowable capital costs and a 5.8% reduction for 
allowable operating costs. This methodology shall 
continue to be in effect after July 1, 2003, for Type One 
hospitals.  

e. Payment for direct medical education costs of nursing 
schools, paramedical programs and graduate medical 
education for interns and residents.  

(1) Direct medical education costs of nursing schools and 
paramedical programs shall continue to be paid on an 
allowable cost basis.  

(2) Effective with cost reporting periods beginning on or 
after July 1, 2002, direct graduate medical education 
(GME) costs for interns and residents shall be reimbursed 
on a per-resident prospective basis. See 12VAC30-70-
281 for prospective payment methodology for graduate 
medical education for interns and residents.  

3. Rehabilitation agencies operated by community services 
boards. For reimbursement methodology applicable to 
other rehabilitation agencies, see 12VAC30-80-200. 
Reimbursement for physical therapy, occupational therapy, 
and speech-language therapy services shall not be provided 
for any sums that the rehabilitation provider collects, or is 
entitled to collect, from the NF or any other available 
source, and provided further, that this amendment shall in 
no way diminish any obligation of the NF to DMAS to 
provide its residents such services, as set forth in any 
applicable provider agreement.  

4. 3. Comprehensive outpatient rehabilitation facilities.  

5. 4. Rehabilitation hospital outpatient services.  

12VAC30-80-96. Fee-for-service: Early Intervention 
(under EPSDT). 

A. Payment for Early Intervention services pursuant to Part 
C of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) 
of 2004, as set forth in 12VAC30-50-131, for individuals 
younger than 21 years of age shall be the lower of the state 
agency fee schedule or actual charge (charge to the general 
public). All private and governmental fee-for-service 
providers are reimbursed according to the same methodology. 
The agency’s rates were set as of October 1, 2009, and are 
effective for services on or after that date. Rates are published 
on the agency’s website at www.dmas.virginia.gov. 

B. There shall be separate fees for: 

1. Certified Early Intervention professionals who are also 
licensed as either a physical therapist, occupational 
therapist, speech pathologist, or registered nurse and 
certified Early Intervention specialists who are also 
licensed as either a physical therapy assistant or 
occupational therapy assistant; and  

2. All other certified Early Intervention professionals and 
certified Early Intervention specialists. 

C. Provider travel time shall not be included in billable time 
for reimbursement. 

12VAC30-80-200. Prospective reimbursement for 
rehabilitation agencies.  

A. Effective for dates of service on and after July 1, 2003, 
rehabilitation agencies, excluding those operated by 
community services boards, shall be reimbursed a prospective 
rate equal to the lesser of the agency's cost per visit for each 
type of rehabilitation service (physical therapy, occupational 
therapy, and speech therapy) or a statewide ceiling 
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established for each type of service. The prospective ceiling 
for each type of service shall be equal to 112% of the median 
cost per visit, for such services, of rehabilitation agencies. 
The median shall be calculated using a base year to be 
determined by the department. Effective July 1, 2003, the 
median calculated and the resulting ceiling shall be applicable 
to all services beginning on and after July 1, 2003, and all 
services in provider fiscal years beginning in SFY2004.  

B. In each provider fiscal year, each provider's prospective 
rate shall be determined based on the cost report from the 
previous year and the ceiling, calculated by DMAS, that is 
applicable to the state fiscal year in which the provider fiscal 
year begins.  

C. For providers with fiscal years that do not begin on July 
1, 2003, services for the fiscal year in progress on that date 
shall be apportioned between the time period before and the 
time period after that date based on the number of calendar 
months before and after that date. Costs apportioned before 
that date shall be settled based on allowable costs, and those 
after shall be settled based on the prospective methodology.  

D. Beginning with state fiscal years beginning on and after 
July 1, 2004, the ceiling and the provider specific cost per 
visit shall be adjusted for inflation, from the previous year to 
the prospective year, using the nursing facility inflation factor 
published for Virginia by DRI, applicable to the calendar year 
in progress at the start of the state fiscal year.  

Part VI  
Medallion II  

12VAC30-120-360. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 
have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Action" means the denial or limited authorization of a 
requested service, including the type or level of service; the 
reduction, suspension, or termination of a previously 
authorized service; the denial, in whole or in part, of payment 
for a service; the failure to provide services in a timely 
manner, as defined by the state; or the failure of an MCO to 
act within the timeframes provided in 42 CFR 438.408(b).  

"Appeal" means a request for review of an action, as 
"action" is defined in this section.  

"Area of residence" means the recipient's address in the 
Medicaid eligibility file.  

"Capitation payment" means a payment the department 
makes periodically to a contractor on behalf of each recipient 
enrolled under a contract for the provision of medical services 
under the State Plan, regardless of whether the particular 
recipient receives services during the period covered by the 
payment.  

"Client," "clients," "recipient," "enrollee," or "participant" 
means an individual or individuals having current Medicaid 
eligibility who shall be authorized by DMAS to be a member 
or members of Medallion II.  

"Covered services" means Medicaid services as defined in 
the State Plan for Medical Assistance.  

"Disenrollment" means the process of changing enrollment 
from one Medallion II Managed Care Organization (MCO) 
plan to another MCO or to the Primary Care Case 
Management (PCCM) program, if applicable.  

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services.  

"Early Intervention" means EPSDT Early Intervention 
services provided pursuant to Part C of the Individuals with 
Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) of 2004 as set forth in 
12VAC30-50-131. 

"Eligible person" means any person eligible for Virginia 
Medicaid in accordance with the State Plan for Medical 
Assistance under Title XIX of the Social Security Act.  

"Emergency medical condition" means a medical condition 
manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient severity 
(including severe pain) that a prudent layperson, who 
possesses an average knowledge of health and medicine, 
could reasonably expect the absence of immediate medical 
attention to result in the following:  

1. Placing the health of the individual (or, with respect to a 
pregnant woman, the health of the woman or her unborn 
child) in serious jeopardy,  

2. Serious impairment to bodily functions, or  

3. Serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or part.  

"Emergency services" means covered inpatient and 
outpatient services that are furnished by a provider that is 
qualified to furnish these services and that are needed to 
evaluate or stabilize an emergency medical condition.  

"Enrollment broker" means an independent contractor that 
enrolls recipients in the contractor's plan and is responsible 
for the operation and documentation of a toll-free recipient 
service helpline. The responsibilities of the enrollment broker 
include, but shall not be limited to, recipient education and 
MCO enrollment, assistance with and tracking of recipients' 
complaints resolutions, and may include recipient marketing 
and outreach.  

"Exclusion from Medallion II" means the removal of an 
enrollee from the Medallion II program on a temporary or 
permanent basis.  

"External Quality Review Organization" (EQRO) is an 
organization that meets the competence and independence 
requirements set forth in 42 CFR 438.354 and performs 
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external quality reviews, other EQR related activities as set 
forth in 42 CFR 438.358, or both.  

"Foster care" is a program in which a child receives either 
foster care assistance under Title IV-E of the Social Security 
Act or state and local foster care assistance.  

"Grievance" means an expression of dissatisfaction about 
any matter other than an action, as "action" is defined in this 
section.  

"Health care plan" means any arrangement in which any 
managed care organization undertakes to provide, arrange for, 
pay for, or reimburse any part of the cost of any health care 
services.  

"Health care professional" means a provider as defined in 42 
CFR 438.2.  

"Managed care organization" or "MCO" means an entity that 
meets the participation and solvency criteria defined in 42 
CFR Part 438 and has an executed contractual agreement with 
DMAS to provide services covered under the Medallion II 
program. Covered services for Medallion II individuals must 
be as accessible (in terms of timeliness, amount, duration, and 
scope) as compared to other Medicaid recipients served 
within the area.  

"Network" means doctors, hospitals or other health care 
providers who participate or contract with an MCO and, as a 
result, agree to accept a mutually-agreed upon sum or fee 
schedule as payment in full for covered services that are 
rendered to eligible participants.  

"Newborn enrollment period" means the period from the 
child's date of birth plus the next two calendar months.  

"Nonparticipating provider" means a health care entity or 
health care professional not in the contractor's participating 
provider network.  

"Post-stabilization care services" means covered services 
related to an emergency medical condition that are provided 
after an enrollee is stabilized in order to maintain the 
stabilized condition or to improve or resolve the enrollee's 
condition.  

"Potential enrollee" means a Medicaid recipient who is 
subject to mandatory enrollment or may voluntarily elect to 
enroll in a given managed care program, but is not yet an 
enrollee of a specific MCO or PCCM.  

"Primary care case management" or "PCCM" means a 
system under which a primary care case manager contracts 
with the Commonwealth to furnish case management services 
(which include the location, coordination, and monitoring of 
primary health care services) to Medicaid recipients.  

"School health services" means those physical therapy, 
occupational therapy, speech therapy, nursing, psychiatric and 
psychological services rendered to children who qualify for 

these services under the federal Individuals with Disabilities 
Education Act (20 USC § 1471 et seq.) by (i) employees of 
the school divisions or (ii) providers that subcontract with 
school divisions, as described in 12VAC30-50-229.1.  

"Spend-down" means the process of reducing countable 
income by deducting incurred medical expenses for medically 
needy individuals, as determined in the State Plan for Medical 
Assistance.  

12VAC30-120-380. Medallion II MCO responsibilities. 

A. The MCO shall provide, at a minimum, all medically 
necessary covered services provided under the State Plan for 
Medical Assistance and further defined by written DMAS 
regulations, policies and instructions, except as otherwise 
modified or excluded in this part. 

1. Nonemergency services provided by hospital emergency 
departments shall be covered by MCOs in accordance with 
rates negotiated between the MCOs and the emergency 
departments. 

2. Services that shall be provided outside the MCO 
network shall include, but are not limited to, those services 
identified and defined by the contract between DMAS and 
the MCO. Services reimbursed by DMAS include dental 
and orthodontic services for children up to age 21; for all 
others, dental services (as described in 12VAC30-50-190), 
school health services (as defined in 12VAC30-120-360), 
community mental health services (rehabilitative, targeted 
case management and substance abuse services) and long-
term care services provided under the § 1915(c) home-
based and community-based waivers including related 
transportation to such authorized waiver services. 

3. The MCOs shall pay for emergency services and family 
planning services and supplies whether they are provided 
inside or outside the MCO network. 

B. EPSDT services shall be covered by the MCO. These 
services shall include EPSDT Early Intervention services 
provided pursuant to Part C of the Individuals with 
Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) of 2004, as set forth in 
12VAC30-50-131, as identified and defined by the contracts 
between DMAS and the MCOs. The MCO shall have the 
authority to determine the provider of service for EPSDT 
screenings. 

C. The MCOs shall report data to DMAS under the contract 
requirements, which may include data reports, report cards 
for clients, and ad hoc quality studies performed by the MCO 
or third parties. 

D. Documentation requirements. 

1. The MCO shall maintain records as required by federal 
and state law and regulation and by DMAS policy. The 
MCO shall furnish such required information to DMAS, 
the Attorney General of Virginia or his authorized 
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representatives, or the State Medicaid Fraud Control Unit 
on request and in the form requested. 

2. Each MCO shall have written policies regarding enrollee 
rights and shall comply with any applicable federal and 
state laws that pertain to enrollee rights and shall ensure 
that its staff and affiliated providers take those rights into 
account when furnishing services to enrollees in 
accordance with 42 CFR 438.100. 

E. The MCO shall ensure that the health care provided to its 
clients meets all applicable federal and state mandates, 
community standards for quality, and standards developed 
pursuant to the DMAS managed care quality program. 

F. The MCOs shall promptly provide or arrange for the 
provision of all required services as specified in the contract 
between the state and the contractor. Medical evaluations 
shall be available within 48 hours for urgent care and within 
30 calendar days for routine care. On-call clinicians shall be 
available 24 hours per day, seven days per week. 

G. The MCOs must meet standards specified by DMAS for 
sufficiency of provider networks as specified in the contract 
between the state and the contractor. 

H. Each MCO and its subcontractors shall have in place, and 
follow, written policies and procedures for processing 
requests for initial and continuing authorizations of service. 
Each MCO and its subcontractors shall ensure that any 
decision to deny a service authorization request or to 
authorize a service in an amount, duration, or scope that is 
less than requested, be made by a health care professional 
who has appropriate clinical expertise in treating the 
enrollee's condition or disease. Each MCO and its 
subcontractors shall have in effect mechanisms to ensure 
consistent application of review criteria for authorization 
decisions and shall consult with the requesting provider when 
appropriate. 

I. In accordance with 42 CFR 447.50 through 42 CFR 
447.60, MCOs shall not impose any cost sharing obligations 
on enrollees except as set forth in 12VAC30-20-150 and 
12VAC30-20-160. 

J. An MCO may not prohibit, or otherwise restrict, a health 
care professional acting within the lawful scope of practice, 
from advising or advocating on behalf of an enrollee who is 
his patient in accordance with 42 CFR 438.102. 

K. An MCO that would otherwise be required to reimburse 
for or provide coverage of a counseling or referral service is 
not required to do so if the MCO objects to the service on 
moral or religious grounds and furnishes information about 
the service it does not cover in accordance with 42 CFR 
438.102. 

12VAC30-120-396. Payment for Early Intervention. 

Payment for Early Intervention services provided pursuant 
to Part C of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act 
(IDEA) of 2004, as set forth in 12VAC30-50-131, and as 
identified and defined by the contracts between DMAS and 
the MCOs, to an enrollee of an MCO by a nonparticipating 
provider shall be the lesser of the provider's charges or the 
Medicaid fee schedule. This shall be considered payment in 
full to the provider of Early Intervention services. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2080; Filed October 29, 2009, 3:05 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 
exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance 
with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, which 
excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 
requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 
regulations do not differ materially from those required by 
federal law or regulation. The Department of Medical 
Assistance Services will receive, consider, and respond to 
petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-141. Family Access to 
Medical Insurance Security Plan (amending 12VAC30-
141-100, 12VAC30-141-740).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 E. Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Currently, individuals eligible for FAMIS and FAMIS 
MOMS must be either a U.S. citizen, U.S. national, or 
qualified noncitizen. U.S. citizens and nationals may 
establish that they meet this eligibility requirement by 
submitting a written declaration of citizenship or 
nationality as required by § 1137(d) of the Social Security 
Act. Individuals eligible for Medicaid must provide 
documentary evidence of citizenship or nationality and 
documentation of personal identity in addition to the 
written declaration. Currently, documentary evidence is 
not required for eligibility under FAMIS and FAMIS 
MOMS. 

This action implements a mandate in Section 211 of the 
Children's Health Insurance Program Reauthorization Act 
(CHIPRA) of 2009 (P.L. 111-3) that applies the Medicaid 
citizenship verification requirements to the Children's 
Health Insurance Program (CHIP). Upon implementation 
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of this regulation, FAMIS and FAMIS MOMS applicants 
will be required to provide documentary evidence of 
citizenship or nationality and documentation of personal 
identity in order to meet the citizenship eligibility 
requirement unless otherwise exempt. CHIPRA also gives 
an additional option for meeting this requirement through 
an agreement with the Social Security Administration. 

Part III  
Eligibility Determination and Application Requirements  

12VAC30-141-100. Eligibility requirements.  

A. This section shall be used to determine eligibility of 
children for FAMIS.  

B. FAMIS shall be in effect statewide.  

C. Eligible children must:  

1. Be determined ineligible for Medicaid by a local 
department of social services or be screened by the FAMIS 
central processing unit and determined not Medicaid 
likely;  

2. Be under 19 years of age;  

3. Be residents of the Commonwealth;  

4. Be either U.S. citizens, U.S. nationals or qualified 
noncitizens;  

5. Be uninsured, that is, not have comprehensive health 
insurance coverage;  

6. Not be a member of a family eligible for subsidized 
dependent coverage, as defined in 42 CFR 
457.310(c)(1)(ii) under any Virginia state employee health 
insurance plan on the basis of the family member's 
employment with a state agency;  

7. Not be an inpatient in an institution for mental diseases 
(IMD), or an inmate in a public institution that is not a 
medical facility.  

D. Income.  

1. Screening. All child health insurance applications 
received at the FAMIS central processing unit must be 
screened to identify applicants who are potentially eligible 
for Medicaid. Children screened and found potentially 
eligible for Medicaid cannot be enrolled in FAMIS until 
there has been a finding of ineligibility for Medicaid. 
Children who do not appear to be eligible for Medicaid 
shall have their eligibility for FAMIS determined. Children 
determined to be eligible for FAMIS will be enrolled in the 
FAMIS program. Child health insurance applications 
received at a local department of social services shall have 
a full Medicaid eligibility determination completed. 
Children determined to be ineligible for Medicaid due to 
excess income will have their eligibility for FAMIS 
determined. If a child is found to be eligible for FAMIS, 

the local department of social services will enroll the child 
in the FAMIS program.  

2. Standards. Income standards for FAMIS are based on a 
comparison of countable income to 200% of the federal 
poverty level for the family size, as defined in the State 
Plan for Title XXI as approved by the Centers for 
Medicare & Medicaid. Children who have income at or 
below 200% of the federal poverty level, but are ineligible 
for Medicaid due to excess income, will be income eligible 
to participate in FAMIS.  

3. Grandfathered CMSIP children. Children who were 
enrolled in the Children's Medical Security Insurance Plan 
at the time of conversion from CMSIP to FAMIS and 
whose eligibility determination was based on the 
requirements of CMSIP shall continue to have their income 
eligibility determined using the CMSIP income 
methodology. If their income exceeds the FAMIS standard, 
income eligibility will be based on countable income using 
the same income methodologies applied under the Virginia 
State Plan for Medical Assistance for children as set forth 
in 12VAC30-40-90. Income that would be excluded when 
determining Medicaid eligibility will be excluded when 
determining countable income for the former CMSIP 
children. Use of the Medicaid income methodologies shall 
only be applied in determining the financial eligibility of 
former CMSIP children for FAMIS and for only as long as 
the children meet the income eligibility requirements for 
CMSIP. When a former CMSIP child is determined to be 
ineligible for FAMIS, these former CMSIP income 
methodologies shall no longer apply and income eligibility 
will be based on the FAMIS income standards.  

4. Spenddown. Deduction of incurred medical expenses 
from countable income (spenddown) shall not apply in 
FAMIS. If the family income exceeds the income limits 
described in this section, the individual shall be ineligible 
for FAMIS regardless of the amount of any incurred 
medical expenses.  

E. Residency. The requirements for residency, as set forth in 
42 CFR 435.403, will be used when determining whether a 
child is a resident of Virginia for purposes of eligibility for 
FAMIS. A child who is not emancipated and is temporarily 
living away from home is considered living with his parents, 
adult relative caretaker, legal guardian, or person having legal 
custody if the absence is temporary and the child intends to 
return to the home when the purpose of the absence (such as 
education, medical care, rehabilitation, vacation, visit) is 
completed.  

F. U.S. citizen or nationality. Upon signing the declaration 
of citizenship or nationality required by § 1137(d) of the 
Social Security Act, the applicant or recipient is required 
under § 2105(c)(9) to furnish satisfactory documentary 
evidence of U.S. citizenship or nationality and documentation 
of personal identity unless citizenship or nationality has been 
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verified by the Commissioner of Social Security or unless 
otherwise exempt.  

G. Qualified noncitizen. The requirements for qualified 
aliens set out in Public Law 104-193, as amended, and the 
requirements for noncitizens set out in subdivisions 3 b and c 
of 12VAC30-40-10 will be used when determining whether a 
child is a qualified noncitizen for purposes of FAMIS 
eligibility.  

G. H. Coverage under other health plans.  

1. Any child covered under a group health plan or under 
health insurance coverage, as defined in § 2791 of the 
Public Health Services Act (42 USC § 300gg-91(a) and 
(b)(1)), shall not be eligible for FAMIS.  

2. No substitution for private insurance.  

a. Only uninsured children shall be eligible for FAMIS. 
A child is not considered to be insured if the health 
insurance plan covering the child does not have a 
network of providers in the area where the child resides. 
Each application for child health insurance shall include 
an inquiry about health insurance the child currently has 
or had within the past four months. If the child had health 
insurance coverage that was terminated in the past four 
months, inquiry as to why the health insurance was 
terminated is made. Each redetermination of eligibility 
shall also document inquiry about current health 
insurance or health insurance the child had within the 
past four months. If the child has been covered under a 
health insurance plan within four months of application 
for or receipt of FAMIS services, the child will be 
ineligible, unless the child is pregnant at the time of 
application, or, if age 18 or if under the age of 18, the 
child's parent, caretaker relative, guardian, legal 
custodian or authorized representative demonstrates good 
cause for discontinuing the coverage.  

b. Health insurance does not include Medicare, Medicaid, 
FAMIS or insurance for which DMAS paid premiums 
under Title XIX through the Health Insurance Premium 
Payment (HIPP) Program or under Title XXI through the 
SCHIP premium assistance program.  

c. Good cause. A child shall not be ineligible for FAMIS 
if health insurance was discontinued within the four-
month period prior to the month of application if one of 
the following good cause exceptions is met.  

(1) The family member who carried insurance, changed 
jobs, or stopped employment, and no other family 
member's employer contributes to the cost of family 
health insurance coverage.  

(2) The employer stopped contributing to the cost of 
family coverage and no other family member's employer 
contributes to the cost of family health insurance 
coverage.  

(3) The child's coverage was discontinued by an 
insurance company for reasons of uninsurability, e.g., the 
child has used up lifetime benefits or the child's coverage 
was discontinued for reasons unrelated to payment of 
premiums.  

(4) Insurance was discontinued by a family member who 
was paying the full cost of the insurance premium under 
a COBRA policy and no other family member's 
employer contributes to the cost of family health 
insurance coverage.  

(5) Insurance on the child was discontinued by someone 
other than the child (if 18 years of age) or if under age 
18, the child's parent or stepparent living in the home, 
e.g., the insurance was discontinued by the child's absent 
parent, grandparent, aunt, uncle, godmother, etc.  

(6) Insurance on the child was discontinued because the 
cost of the premium exceeded 10% of the family's 
monthly income or exceeded 10% of the family's 
monthly income at the time the insurance was 
discontinued.  

(7) Other good cause reasons may be established by the 
DMAS director.  

H. I. Eligibility of newborns. If a child otherwise eligible for 
FAMIS is born within the three months prior to the month in 
which a signed application is received, the eligibility for 
coverage is effective retroactive to the child's date of birth if 
the child would have met all eligibility criteria during that 
time.  

12VAC30-141-740. Eligibility requirements.  

A. This section shall be used to determine eligibility of 
pregnant women for FAMIS MOMS. 

B. FAMIS MOMS shall be in effect statewide. 

C. Eligible pregnant women must: 

1. Be determined ineligible for Medicaid due to excess 
income by a local department of social services or by 
DMAS eligibility staff co-located at the FAMIS CPU; 

2. Be a pregnant woman at the time of application; 

3. Be a resident of the Commonwealth; 

4. Be either a U.S. citizen, U.S. national or a qualified 
noncitizen; 

5. Be uninsured, that is, not have comprehensive health 
insurance coverage;  

6. Not be a member of a family eligible for subsidized 
dependent coverage, as defined in 42 CFR 
457.310(c)(1)(ii) under any Virginia state employee health 
insurance plan on the basis of the family member's 
employment with a state agency; and 
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7. Not be an inpatient in an institution for mental diseases 
(IMD), or an inmate in a public institution that is not a 
medical facility. 

D. Income. 

1. Screening. All applications for FAMIS MOMS coverage 
received at the FAMIS central processing unit must be 
screened to identify applicants who are potentially eligible 
for Medicaid. Pregnant women screened and found 
potentially eligible for Medicaid cannot be enrolled in 
FAMIS MOMS until there has been a finding of 
ineligibility for Medicaid. Pregnant women who do not 
appear to be eligible for Medicaid due to excess income 
shall have their eligibility for FAMIS MOMS determined 
and, if eligible, will be enrolled in the FAMIS MOMS 
program. Applications for FAMIS MOMS received at a 
local department of social services shall have a full 
Medicaid eligibility determination completed. Pregnant 
women determined to be ineligible for Medicaid due to 
excess income will have their eligibility for FAMIS 
MOMS determined and, if eligible, the local department of 
social services will enroll the pregnant woman in the 
FAMIS MOMS program. 

2. Standards. Income standards for FAMIS MOMS are 
based on a comparison of countable income to 200% of the 
federal poverty level for the family size. Countable income 
and family size are based on the methodology utilized by 
the Medicaid program as defined in 12VAC30-40-100 e. 
Pregnant women who have income at or below 200% of 
the federal poverty level, but are ineligible for Medicaid 
due to excess income, will be income eligible to participate 
in FAMIS MOMS. 

3. Spenddown. Deduction of incurred medical expenses 
from countable income (spenddown) shall not apply in 
FAMIS MOMS. If the family income exceeds the income 
limits described in this section, the individual shall be 
ineligible for FAMIS MOMS regardless of the amount of 
any incurred medical expenses. 

E. Residency. The requirements for residency, as set forth in 
42 CFR 435.403, will be used when determining whether a 
pregnant woman is a resident of Virginia for purposes of 
eligibility for FAMIS MOMS. A child who is not 
emancipated and is temporarily living away from home is 
considered living with her parents, adult relative caretaker, 
legal guardian, or person having legal custody if the absence 
is temporary and the child intends to return to the home when 
the purpose of the absence (such as education, medical care, 
rehabilitation, vacation, visit) is completed. 

F. U.S. citizenship or nationality. Upon signing the 
declaration of citizenship or nationality required by § 1137(d) 
of the Social Security Act, the applicant or recipient is 
required under § 2105(c)(9) to furnish satisfactory 
documentary evidence of U.S. citizenship or nationality and 

documentation of personal identify unless citizenship or 
nationality has been verified by the Commissioner of Social 
Security or unless otherwise exempt. 

G. Qualified noncitizen. The requirements for qualified 
aliens set out in Public Law 104-193, as amended, and the 
requirements for noncitizens set out in subdivisions 3 b and c 
of 12VAC30-40-10 will be used when determining whether a 
pregnant woman is a qualified noncitizen for purposes of 
FAMIS MOMS eligibility. 

G. H. Coverage under other health plans. 

1. Any pregnant woman covered under a group health plan 
or under health insurance coverage, as defined in § 2791 of 
the Public Health Services Act (42 USC § 300gg-91(a) and 
(b)(1)), shall not be eligible for FAMIS MOMS. 

2. No substitution for private insurance. 

a. Only uninsured pregnant women shall be eligible for 
FAMIS MOMS. A pregnant woman is not considered to 
be insured if the health insurance plan covering the 
pregnant woman does not have a network of providers in 
the area where the pregnant woman resides. Each 
application for FAMIS MOMS coverage shall include an 
inquiry about health insurance the pregnant woman has at 
the time of application. 

b. Health insurance does not include Medicare, Medicaid, 
FAMIS or insurance for which DMAS paid premiums 
under Title XIX through the Health Insurance Premium 
Payment (HIPP) Program or under Title XXI through the 
SCHIP premium assistance program. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2135; Filed November 2, 2009, 3:47 p.m.  

BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC35-220. Certification 
Requirements for Early Intervention Professionals and 
Early Intervention Specialists (adding 12VAC35-220-10 
through 12VAC35-220-100). 

Statutory Authority: § 2.2-5304 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: November 3, 2009, through November 2, 
2010. 

Agency Contact: Karen Durst, Department of Behavioral 
Health and Developmental Services, 1220 Bank Street, P.O. 
Box 1797, Richmond, VA 23218-1797, telephone (804) 786-
9844, FAX (804) 371-7959, or email 
karen.durst@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 of the Administrative Process Act 
provides that agencies may adopt emergency regulations 
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in situations in which Virginia statutory law, the Virginia 
appropriation act, or federal law or regulation requires 
that a regulation shall be effective in 280 days or less from 
its enactment. 

These changes were mandated by Item 315 #1c of Chapter 
781 of the 2009 Acts of Assembly to comply with the payor 
of last resort requirements of Part C of the Individuals 
with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) of 2004. The 
emergency regulations provide requirements for the 
certification of early intervention professionals and early 
intervention specialists who may provide early intervention 
services and supports to children and their families under 
the federal Part C program. 

CHAPTER 220 
CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR EARLY 
INTERVENTION PROFESSIONALS AND EARLY 

INTERVENTION SPECIALISTS 

12VAC35-220-10. Authority and applicability. 

A. Pursuant to § 2.2-5304 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Governor has designated the Department of Behavioral 
Health and Developmental Services as the state lead agency 
responsible for implementing the Virginia early intervention 
services system and ensuring compliance with federal 
requirements. These regulations are necessary to ensure the 
competence for early intervention services system 
practitioners under the authority granted to the lead agency. 

B. Individual providers of early intervention services under 
the Medicaid State Plan must be certified by the Department 
of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services as 
qualified early intervention professionals or early intervention 
specialists. These regulations provide certification 
requirements for early intervention professionals and early 
intervention specialists.  

12VAC35-220-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the 
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services. 

"Department" means the Department of Behavioral Health 
and Developmental Services. The Governor has designated 
the department as the state lead agency for Virginia's early 
intervention services system pursuant to § 2.2-5304 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

"Discipline" or "profession" means a specific occupational 
category that may provide early intervention supports and 
services to eligible children under Part C of the Individuals 
with Disabilities Education Act and their families. 

"Early intervention services" means services provided 
through Part C of the Individuals with Disabilities Education 
Act (20 USC § 1431 et seq.), as amended, designed to meet 
the developmental needs of each child and the needs of the 
family related to enhancing the child's development and 
provided to children from birth to age three who have (i) a 
25% developmental delay in one or more areas of 
development, (ii) atypical development, or (iii) a diagnosed 
physical or mental condition that has a high probability of 
resulting in a developmental delay. 

12VAC35-220-30. Certification required for the provision 
of early intervention services. 

A. Individual practitioners of early intervention services, 
with the exception of physicians, audiologists, and registered 
dietitians, shall be certified by the department as early 
intervention professionals or early intervention specialists. 

B. Certified early intervention professionals shall have 
expertise in a discipline trained to enhance the development 
of children with a disability, as evidenced by state licensure, 
state endorsement, or certification by a national professional 
organization. Qualified personnel in the following disciplines 
may seek certification from the department as early 
intervention professionals: 

1. Counselors: 

a. Licensed professional counselors licensed by the 
Virginia Board of Counseling; and 

b. School counselors (Pre K - 12) endorsed by the 
Virginia Board of Education; 

2. Educators: 

a. Educators licensed by the Virginia Board of Education 
with endorsement in Special Education - Early 
Childhood (Birth - 5);  

b. Educators licensed by the Virginia Board of Education 
with endorsement in Early/Primary Education (Pre K - 
3);  

c. Educators licensed by the Virginia Board of Education 
with endorsement in Career and Technical Education - 
Family and Consumer Services; 

d. Educators licensed by the Virginia Board of Education 
with endorsement in Special Education - Hearing 
Impairments (Pre K - 12); 

e. Educators licensed by the Virginia Board of Education 
with endorsement in Special Education - Visual 
Impairments (Pre K - 12); and 

f. Educators with a technical professional license issued 
by the Virginia Board of Education in Career and 
Technical Education - Family and Consumer Sciences; 
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3. Family and consumer science professionals certified 
through the American Association of Family and 
Consumer Sciences (AAFCS). Individuals certified by the 
AAFCS after June 30, 2009, shall meet certification 
requirements in family and consumer sciences-human 
development and family studies; 

4. Marriage and family therapists licensed by the Virginia 
Board of Counseling; 

5. Music therapists certified by the Certification Board for 
Music Therapists (CBMT); 

6. Nurses: 

a. Nurse practitioners licensed by the Virginia Board of 
Nursing; and 

b. Registered nurses licensed by the Virginia Board of 
Nursing; 

7. Occupational therapists licensed by the Virginia Board 
of Medicine; 

8. Orientation and mobility specialists certified by the 
National Blindness Professional Certification Board as a 
National Orientation and Mobility Certificant (NOMC) or 
certified by the Academy for Certification of Vision 
Rehabilitation and Education Professionals (ACVREP) as 
a Certified Orientation and Mobility Specialist (COMS); 

9. Physical therapists licensed by the Virginia Board for 
Physical Therapy; 

10. Psychologists: 

a. Applied psychologists licensed by the Virginia Board 
of Psychology; 

b. Clinical psychologists licensed by the Virginia Board 
of Psychology; and 

c. School psychologists licensed by the Virginia Board of 
Education with an endorsement in school psychology; 

11. Social workers: 

a. Licensed clinical social workers licensed by the 
Virginia Board of Social Work; and  

b. School social workers licensed by the Virginia Board 
of Education with an endorsement as a school social 
worker;  

12. Speech-language pathologists licensed by the Virginia 
Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology; and 

13. Therapeutic recreation specialists certified by the 
National Council on Therapeutic Recreation. 

C. Certified early intervention specialists shall hold a 
minimum of a high school diploma or general equivalency 
diploma. Qualified personnel in the following disciplines may 

seek certification from the department as early intervention 
specialists: 

1. Early intervention assistants whose qualifications have 
been approved by the Department of Behavioral Health 
and Developmental Services;  

2. Licensed social workers licensed by the Virginia Board 
of Social Work; 

3. Nurses: 

a. Certified nurse aides certified by the Virginia Board of 
Nursing; and  

b. Licensed practical nurses licensed by the Virginia 
Board of Nursing; 

4. Occupational therapy assistants licensed by the Virginia 
Board of Medicine; and  

5. Physical therapy assistants licensed by the Virginia 
Board of Physical Therapy. 

D. Certified early intervention professionals and certified 
early intervention specialists shall demonstrate knowledge of 
early intervention principles and practices, including infant 
and toddler development, family-centered practice and 
multidisciplinary team practice, by successful completion of 
the early intervention principles and practices online training 
modules administered by the department. A score of at least 
80% accuracy on each module's competency test shall be 
required for successful completion. 

12VAC35-220-40. Supervision requirements. 

A. Certified early intervention professionals providing 
supervision to other early intervention personnel shall 
complete the supervision training administered by the 
department. A score of at least 80% accuracy on the 
competency test shall be required for successful completion.  

B. Certified early intervention specialists shall work under 
the supervision of a certified early intervention professional 
who has completed the required supervision training. 

12VAC35-220-50. Initial certification and recertification 
processes. 

A. Initial certification. To apply for initial certification as an 
early intervention professional or early intervention specialist, 
practitioners shall:  

1. Obtain the designated early intervention certification 
application package from the department; and  

2. Submit a completed and signed application package to 
the department with: 

a. A signed assurance that the practitioner will comply 
with all federal and state early intervention requirements; 

b. Documentation of the practitioner's professional 
certification, licensing, endorsement, or other 
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qualification for the  practice of his profession in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia; and  

c. Documentation of the practitioner's successful 
completion of the early intervention principles and 
practices training administered by the department. 

B. Three-year recertification. At least 30 days prior to the 
expiration of the practitioner's certification period, certified 
early intervention professionals and certified early 
intervention specialists shall submit an application for 
recertification to the department. This application shall 
include:  

1. Documentation of the practitioner's continuing 
professional certification, licensing, endorsement, or other 
qualification for the practice of his profession in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia, and 

2. Documentation that the practitioner has successfully 
completed at least 30 hours of continuing learning 
activities during the three-year certification period. The 
continuing learning activities shall address one or more of 
the following: (i) evidenced-based practices in early 
intervention services; (ii) changes in federal or state law, 
regulations, or practice requirements; (iii) topics identified 
on a personal development plan; and (iv) training needed 
for new responsibilities relating to early intervention 
services. For each continuing learning activity, 
documentation shall include a description of the activity 
and sponsoring organization, if applicable; the date or 
dates of training; the number of hours; and a copy of a 
certificate or verification of attendance, if applicable. 

12VAC35-220-60. Notice of decision on application for 
certification or recertification. 

The department shall provide written notice of the decision 
on the application for certification or recertification within 30 
days of the receipt of a completed application and required 
documentation. 

12VAC35-220-70. Early intervention practitioner 
database. 

Practitioners meeting the requirements for certification shall 
be included in the Infant and Toddler Connection of Virginia 
practitioner database maintained by the department. 
Practitioners are responsible for notifying the department of 
any change that may affect their certification status or their 
participation in Virginia's early intervention services system.  

12VAC35-220-80. Restoration of expired certifications. 

A. The department shall notify practitioners in writing of the 
date their certification as an early intervention professional or 
early intervention specialist expired and that the practitioner 
has been placed on inactive status in the practitioner database 
maintained by the department. 

B. Practitioners whose certification as early intervention 
professionals or early intervention specialists has expired may 
apply to the department for restoration of their certifications. 

C. The department may restore certification for practitioners 
as early intervention professionals or early intervention 
specialists under the following conditions: 

1. The individual's certification has been lapsed for a 
period of less than one year; and 

2. The certification: 

a. Has lapsed because the practitioner failed to complete 
the three-year recertification requirements and the 
individual provides documentation to the department 
demonstrating (i) he is currently qualified for the practice 
of his discipline or profession in the Commonwealth of 
Virginia, and (ii) he has completed at least 30 hours of 
training addressing one or more of the topics specified in 
12VAC35-220-50 B 2; or  

b. Has lapsed because the practitioner's discipline or 
profession-specific qualification expired and the 
practitioner documents that he now holds a current 
license, certification, endorsement, or other qualification 
for the practice of his discipline or profession in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia. 

D. The department shall provide written notice of the 
decision on reinstatement of the practitioner's certification 
within 30 days of the receipt of a completed request and 
required documentation. 

E. Upon restoration of the practitioner's certification as an 
early intervention professional or early intervention specialist, 
the department shall reinstate the individual's active status in 
the practitioner database maintained by the department. 

12VAC35-220-90. Termination of early intervention 
professional or early intervention specialist certification. 

A. The department shall terminate a practitioner's 
certification as an early intervention professional or early 
intervention specialist under the following circumstances: 

1. The practitioner's discipline-specific license, 
certification, or endorsement has been suspended or 
terminated; 

2. The practitioner, after a year, fails to comply with the 
recertification requirements set forth in these regulations; 
or 

3. The practitioner fails to comply with his signed 
assurance that he will comply with all federal and state 
early intervention requirements.  

B. The department shall notify the practitioner in writing of 
the date of and reason for termination and that the practitioner 
has been removed from the practitioner database maintained 
by the department. 
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12VAC35-220-100. Reconsideration or decision to deny or 
terminate certification. 

A. In the event that the practitioner disagrees with the 
determination to deny or terminate certification, he may 
request reconsideration from the commissioner. The request 
shall be made in writing within 30 days of the date of the 
written notice of denial or termination and may include 
relevant additional information or documentation to support 
the request.  

B. The commissioner shall review the request for 
reconsideration and information presented and issue a 
decision in writing within 30 business days following receipt 
of the request. The decision of the commissioner shall be a 
final case decision that may be appealed under the Virginia 
Administrative Process Act. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-1928; Filed November 3, 2009, 10:49 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 
of the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-290. Rules Establishing 
Standards for Companies Deemed to Be in Hazardous 
Financial Condition (amending 14VAC5-290-10 through 
14VAC5-290-50). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 7, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Raquel C. Pino-Moreno, Principal Insurance 
Analyst, Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation Commission, 
1300 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 371-9499, FAX (804) 371-9511, or 
email raquel.pino-moreno@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments incorporate the revisions made by the 
National Association of Insurance Commissioners to its 
Model Regulation to Define Standards and Commissioner's 
Authority for Companies Deemed to be in Hazardous 
Financial Condition, which provides additional tools for 
state insurance departments to utilize in identifying and 
dealing with companies in hazardous financial condition, 
including the authority to issue corrective action orders. 

AT RICHMOND, OCTOBER 29, 2009 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 

At the relation of the 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2009-00124 

Ex Parte: In the matter of 
Adopting Revisions to the Rules 
Establishing Standards for Companies 
Deemed to be in Hazardous 
Financial Condition 

ORDER ADOPTING RULES 

By Order To Take Notice entered June 16, 2009, all 
interested persons were ordered to take notice that subsequent 
to July 24, 2009, the State Corporation Commission 
("Commission") would consider the entry of an order 
adopting amendments to the regulations entitled Rules 
Establishing Standards for Companies Deemed to be in 
Hazardous Financial Condition ("Rules"), proposed by the 
Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") which amend the Rules at 
14 VAC 5-290-10 through 14 VAC 5-290-50, unless on or 
before July 24, 2009, any person objecting to the adoption of 
the proposed amendments to the Rules filed a request for a 
hearing with the Clerk of the Commission ("Clerk"). 

The Order to Take Notice also required all interested 
persons to file their comments in support of or in opposition 
to the proposed amendments to the Rules on or before 
July 24, 2009. 

No request for a hearing was filed with the Clerk.  By letter 
dated July 24, 2009, the American Council of Life Insurers 
filed comments with the Clerk.  Title Resources Guaranty 
Company filed electronic comments with the Clerk on July 
24, 2009. 

On October 20, 2009, the Bureau filed with the Clerk its 
response to the comments filed in this matter. 

The Bureau does not recommend further changes to the 
proposed amendments to the Rules and further recommends 
that the amendments to the Rules be adopted as proposed. 

THE COMMISSION, having considered the Bureau's 
recommendation, is of the opinion that the attached 
amendments to the Rules should be adopted. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The amendments to the regulations entitled "Rules 
Establishing Standards for Companies Deemed to be in 
Hazardous Financial Condition" at 14 VAC 5-290-10 through 
14 VAC 5-290-50, which are attached hereto and made a part 
hereof, should be, and they are hereby, ADOPTED to be 
effective December 7, 2009. 
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(2) AN ATTESTED COPY hereof, together with a copy of 
the proposed new regulations, shall be sent by the Clerk of 
the Commission to the Bureau in care of Deputy 
Commissioner Douglas C. Stolte, who forthwith shall give 
further notice of the proposed adoption of the new regulations 
by mailing a copy of this Order, together with the proposed 
new regulations, to all licensed insurers and certain interested 
parties designated by the Bureau. 

(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
forthwith shall cause a copy of this Order, together with the 
attached regulations, to be forwarded to the Virginia Registrar 
of Regulations for appropriate publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations. 

(4) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
shall make available this Order and the adopted regulations 
on the Commission's website, 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(5) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk of the Commission 
an affidavit of compliance with the notice requirements of 
Ordering Paragraph (2) above. 

14VAC5-290-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter (14VAC5-290-10 et seq.) is to 
set forth the standards which that the Commission 
commission may use for identifying insurers found to be in 
such condition as to render the continuance of their business 
hazardous to their policyholders, creditors, or the general 
public or to holders of their policies or certificates of 
insurance.  

This chapter shall not be interpreted to limit the powers 
granted the Commission commission by any laws or 
provisions of any law of this Commonwealth, nor shall this 
chapter be interpreted to supercede supersede any laws or 
parts of laws of this Commonwealth.  

14VAC5-290-20. Applicability and scope. 

This chapter, 14VAC5-290-10 et seq., shall apply to every 
entity that is licensed, approved, registered, or accredited in 
Virginia under the provisions of Title 38.2 of the Code of 
Virginia, and also subject to solvency regulation in this 
Commonwealth pursuant to the provisions of Title 38.2 of the 
Code of Virginia. All such entities are hereinafter referred to 
as "insurer."  

14VAC5-290-30. Standards. 

The following factors and standards, either singly or a 
combination of two or more, may be considered in 
determining whether an insurer's financial condition, method 
of operation, or manner of doing business in this 
Commonwealth might be deemed to be hazardous to its 
policyholders, creditors, or the general public:  

1. Adverse findings resulting from any financial condition 
or market conduct examination conducted pursuant to 

Article 4 (§ 38.2-1317 et seq.) of Chapter 13 of Title 38.2 
of the Code of Virginia or any inspection authorized by the 
general provisions of § 38.2-200, including inspections of 
financial statements filed pursuant to §§ 38.2-1300, 38.2-
1301, 38.2-1316.2, 38.2-1316.3, 38.2-4811, or 38.2-5103 
of the Code of Virginia, or reported in any examination or 
other information submitted pursuant to § 38.2-5103 of the 
Code of Virginia, or reported in any audit report, and 
actuarial opinions, reports, or summaries submitted 
pursuant to §§ 38.2-1315.1 and 38.2-3127.1 of the Code of 
Virginia;  

2. The National Association of Insurance Commissioners' 
("NAIC") Insurance Regulatory Information System 
("IRIS") and its related other financial analysis solvency 
tools and reports;  

3. The ratios of commission expenses, general insurance 
expenses, policy benefits and reserve increases as to annual 
premium and net investment income;  

4. 3. The ratio of the annual premium volume to surplus or 
of liabilities to surplus in relation to loss experience and/or 
the kinds of risks insured;  

5. 4. Whether the insurer's asset portfolio when viewed in 
light of current economic conditions and indications of 
financial or operation leverage is of sufficient value, 
liquidity, or diversity to assure the company's ability to 
meet its outstanding obligations as they mature; 

5. Whether the insurer has established reserves and related 
actuarial items that make adequate provision, according to 
presently accepted actuarial standards of practice, for the 
anticipated cash flows required by the contractual 
obligations and related expenses of the insurer, when 
considered in light of the assets held by the insurer with 
respect to such reserves and related actuarial items 
including, but not limited to, the investment earnings on 
such assets, and the considerations anticipated to be 
received and retained under such policies and contracts;  

6. The ability of an assuming reinsurer to perform and 
whether the insurer's reinsurance program provides 
sufficient protection for the insurer's remaining surplus 
after taking into account the insurer's cash flow and the 
classes of business written as well as the financial 
condition of the assuming reinsurer;  

7. Whether the insurer's operating loss in the last 12-month 
period or any shorter period of time, including but not 
limited to net capital gain or loss, change in nonadmitted 
assets, and cash dividends paid to shareholders, is greater 
than 50% of the insurer's remaining surplus as regards 
policyholders in excess of the minimum required; 

8. Whether the insurer's operating loss in the last 12-month 
period or any shorter period of time, excluding net capital 
gains, is greater than 20% of the insurer's remaining 
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surplus as regards policyholders in excess of the minimum 
required; 

7. 9. Whether the excess of surplus to policyholders over 
and above an insurer's statutorily required surplus to 
policyholders has decreased by more than 50% in the 
preceding 12 month 12-month period or any shorter period 
of time;  

8. Whether the insurer's current or projected net income is 
adequate to meet the insurer's present or projected 
obligations;  

9. 10. The age and collectibility of receivables;  

10. 11. Whether a reinsurer, obligor, or any affiliate, 
subsidiary or reinsurer entity within the insurer's insurance 
holding company system is insolvent, threatened with 
insolvency, or delinquent in payment of its monetary or 
other obligations, and which may affect the solvency of the 
insurer;  

11. 12. Contingent liabilities, pledges or guaranties which 
that either individually or collectively involve a total 
amount that may affect the solvency of the insurer;  

12. 13. Whether any affiliate of an insurer is delinquent in 
the transmitting to, or payment of, net premiums or other 
amounts due to such insurer;  

13. 14. Whether the management of an insurer, including 
officers, directors, or any other person who directly or 
indirectly controls the operation of such insurer, fails to 
possess and demonstrate the competence, fitness and 
reputation deemed necessary to serve the insurer in such 
position;  

14. 15. Whether the management of an insurer has failed to 
respond to inquiries relative to the condition of the insurer 
or has furnished false and misleading information 
concerning an inquiry;  

16. Whether the insurer has failed to meet financial and 
holding company filing requirements in the absence of a 
reason satisfactory to the commission; 

15. 17. Whether the management of an insurer either has 
filed any false or misleading sworn financial statement, or 
has released any false or misleading financial statement to 
lending institutions or to the general public, or has made a 
false or misleading entry, or has omitted an entry of 
material amount in the books of the insurer;  

16. 18. Whether the insurer has grown so rapidly and to 
such an extent that it lacks adequate financial and 
administrative capacity to meet its obligations in a timely 
manner; or  

17. 19. Whether the company insurer has experienced or 
will experience in the foreseeable future cash flow and/or 
liquidity problems.;  

20. Whether management has established reserves and 
related actuarial values that do not comply with the 
requirements of Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia, related 
rules, regulations, administrative promulgations, and 
statutory accounting standards, or that are not computed in 
accordance with presently accepted actuarial standards 
consistently applied and in accordance with sound actuarial 
principles and standards of practice; 

21. Whether management persistently engages in material 
under reserving that results in adverse development; 

22. Whether transactions among affiliates, subsidiaries, or 
controlling persons for which the insurer receives assets or 
capital gains, or both, do not provide sufficient value, 
liquidity, or diversity to assure the insurer's ability to meet 
its outstanding obligations as they mature; or  

23. Any other finding determined by the commission to be 
hazardous to the insurer's policyholders, creditors, or the 
general public. 

14VAC5-290-40. Commission's authority.  

A. For purposes of making a determination of an insurer's 
financial condition, the Commission commission may:  

1. Disregard any credit or amount receivable resulting from 
transactions with a reinsurer which that is insolvent, 
impaired, or otherwise subject to a delinquency 
proceeding;  

2. Make appropriate adjustments, including disallowance, 
to asset values attributable to investments in or transactions 
with parents, subsidiaries, or affiliates consistent with the 
NAIC Accounting Practices and Procedures Manual, state 
laws, and regulations;  

3. Refuse to recognize the stated value of accounts 
receivable if the ability to collect receivables is highly 
speculative in view of the age of the account or the 
financial condition of the debtor;  

4. Increase the insurer's liability in an amount equal to any 
contingent liability, pledge, or guarantee not otherwise 
included if there is a substantial risk that the insurer will be 
called upon to meet the obligation undertaken within the 
next 12-month period.  

B. For all entities subject to the provisions of § 38.2-1038 of 
the Code of Virginia, the Commission commission may issue 
an order regarding corrective action when it finds that (i) the 
insurer cannot, or there is a reasonable expectation that the 
insurer will not be able to, meet its obligations to all 
policyholders, or (ii) the insurer's continued operation in this 
Commonwealth is hazardous to policyholders, creditors, and 
the general public in this Commonwealth. Such an order may 
require the insurer, among other things, to undertake one or 
more of the following steps:  
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1. Reduce the total amount of present and potential liability 
for policy benefits by reinsurance;  

2. Reduce, suspend, or limit the volume of business being 
accepted or renewed;  

3. Reduce general insurance and commission expenses by 
specified methods;  

4. Increase the insurer's capital and surplus;  

5. Suspend or limit the declaration and payment of 
dividend by an insurer to its stockholders or to its 
policyholders;  

6. File reports in a form acceptable to the Commission 
commission concerning the market value of an insurer's 
assets;  

7. Limit or withdraw from certain investments or 
discontinue certain investment practices to the extent the 
Commission commission deems necessary;  

8. Document the adequacy of premium rates in relation to 
the risks insured;  

9. File or cause to be filed, as evidence of the insurer's 
financial and business standing or solvency, one or more of 
the following reports:  

a. Regular annual statements and interim financial 
reports,  

b. Certified audited financial reports,  

c. Actuarial opinions of reserves, including actuarial 
analyses of the reserves and the assets supporting such 
reserves, and  

d. Any , in addition to regular annual statements, interim 
financial reports on the form adopted by the NAIC or in 
such format as promulgated by the commission or any 
other analyses of the insurer's data necessary to secure 
complete information concerning the condition and 
affairs of the insurer. ; 

10. Correct corporate governance practice deficiencies, and 
adopt and utilize governance practices acceptable to the 
commission; 

11. Provide a business plan to the commission in order to 
continue to transact business in this Commonwealth; or 

12. Notwithstanding any other provision of law limiting 
the frequency or amount of premium rate adjustments, 
adjust rates for any nonlife insurance product written by 
the insurer that the commission considers necessary to 
improve the financial condition of the insurer. 

14VAC5-290-50. Severability.  

If any provision in this chapter, 14VAC5-290-10 et seq., or 
the application thereof to any person or circumstance is held 
for any reason held to be invalid, the remainder of the 

provisions in this chapter, 14VAC5-290-10 et seq., and the 
application of the provision to other persons or circumstances 
shall not be affected thereby.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1946; Filed November 2, 2009, 1:05 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

COMMON INTEREST COMMUNITY BOARD 

Notice of Extension of Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC48-50. Common Interest 
Community Manager Regulations (adding 18VAC48-50-
10 through 18VAC48-50-200). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2349 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: November 13, 2008, through May 12, 2010. 

The Common Interest Community Board has requested an 
extension of the above-referenced emergency regulation. The 
emergency regulation was published in 25:5 VA.R. 1095-
1100 November 10, 2008 
(http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol25/iss05/v25i05.pdf). 

In accordance with § 2.2-4011 D of the Code of Virginia, the 
Governor approved the department's request to extend the 
expiration date of the emergency regulation through May 12, 
2010.  

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 
Common Interest Community Board, Department of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland 
Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-
8510, FAX (804) 527-4298, or email cic@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1641; Filed November 11, 2009, 10:42 a.m.  

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene (amending 
18VAC60-20-10, 18VAC60-20-30; adding 18VAC60-20-
332, 18VAC60-20-342, 18VAC60-20-352). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: January 8, 2010, through January 7, 2011. 

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4538, FAX (804) 527-
4428, or email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 
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Preamble: 

Chapter 781 of the 2009 Acts of the Assembly requires the 
Board of Dentistry to revise its regulations to provide for 
registration of mobile dental clinics and portable dental 
operations. The legislation further requires that the board 
promulgate regulations to implement the provisions of the 
act to be effective within 280 days of its enactment. 
Therefore, there is an "emergency situation" as defined in 
§ 2.2-4011 of the Administrative Process Act. 

To protect the health and safety of persons served in 
mobile dental clinics, amendments to 18VAC60-20 require 
registration to include information about where and when 
the practices will be operating and which practitioners will 
be providing care. The clinics must also certify to 
agreements for follow-up care, emergency contact 
arrangements, access to all essential equipment and 
conformity to laws and regulations. There must be written 
consent to dental care in a mobile clinic, and patients must 
be provided with an information sheet that details who 
provided treatment, a description of the treatment and any 
additional dental needs, a recommendation or referral for 
follow-up care, and emergency contact information. Such 
requirements are necessary to ensure that patients (often 
school children) are not left with unresolved dental 
problems or with little or no information about what was 
done during a visit by a mobile clinic. Finally, regulations 
stipulate that the same rules and standards of care apply 
for practice in a mobile clinic as in a fixed facility. 

The amendments establish (i) definitions for "mobile dental 
clinic" and "portable dental operation"; (ii) requirements 
for registration including fees; and information on 
locations, dates, and practitioners providing services; 
certifications of agreements for follow-up care and access 
to emergency care; certification of availability of certain 
equipment and resources; and conformity to operational 
and permitting standards; (iii) requirements for operation 
of the clinic, including posting of licenses, written consent 
for treatment, information on treatment and needed follow-
up for patients, and maintenance of patient records; and 
(iv) exemptions from the requirements for registration for 
governmental agencies and periodic volunteer clinics 
providing free care. 

Part I  
General Provisions  

18VAC60-20-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"ADA" means the American Dental Association.  

"Advertising" means a representation or other notice given 
to the public or members thereof, directly or indirectly, by a 

dentist on behalf of himself, his facility, his partner or 
associate, or any dentist affiliated with the dentist or his 
facility by any means or method for the purpose of inducing 
purchase, sale or use of dental methods, services, treatments, 
operations, procedures or products, or to promote continued 
or increased use of such dental methods, treatments, 
operations, procedures or products.  

"Analgesia" means the diminution or elimination of pain in 
the conscious patient.  

"Anxiolysis" means the diminution or elimination of anxiety 
through the use of pharmacological agents in a dosage that 
does not cause depression of consciousness.  

"Conscious sedation" means a minimally depressed level of 
consciousness that retains the patient's ability to 
independently and continuously maintain an airway and 
respond appropriately to physical stimulation and verbal 
commands, produced by pharmacological or 
nonpharmacological methods, including inhalation, 
parenteral, transdermal or enteral, or a combination thereof.  

"Deep sedation/general anesthesia" means an induced state 
of depressed consciousness or unconsciousness accompanied 
by a complete or partial loss of protective reflexes, including 
the inability to continually maintain an airway independently 
and/or respond purposefully to physical stimulation or verbal 
command and is produced by a pharmacological or 
nonpharmacological method or a combination thereof.  

"Dental assistant" means any unlicensed person under the 
supervision of a dentist who renders assistance for services 
provided to the patient as authorized under this chapter but 
shall not include an individual serving in purely a secretarial 
or clerical capacity.  

"Direction" means the dentist examines the patient and is 
present for observation, advice, and control over the 
performance of dental services.  

"Enteral" is any technique of administration in which the 
agent is absorbed through the gastrointestinal tract or oral 
mucosa (i.e., oral, rectal, sublingual).  

"General supervision" means that the dentist has examined 
the patient and issued a written order for the specific, 
authorized services to be provided by a dental hygienist when 
the dentist is not present in the facility while the services are 
being provided.  

"Inhalation" is a technique of administration in which a 
gaseous or volatile agent, including nitrous oxide, is 
introduced into the pulmonary tree and whose primary effect 
is due to absorption through the pulmonary bed.  

"Inhalation analgesia" means the inhalation of nitrous oxide 
and oxygen to produce a state of reduced sensibility to pain 
without the loss of consciousness.  
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"Local anesthesia" means the loss of sensation or pain in the 
oral cavity or the maxillofacial or adjacent and associated 
structures generally produced by a topically applied or 
injected agent without depressing the level of consciousness.  

"Mobile dental facility" means a self-contained unit in 
which dentistry is practiced that is not confined to a single 
building and can be transported from one location to another. 

"Parenteral" means a technique of administration in which 
the drug bypasses the gastrointestinal tract (i.e., 
intramuscular, intravenous, intranasal, submucosal, 
subcutaneous, or intraocular).  

"Portable dental operation" means a nonfacility in which 
dental equipment used in the practice of dentistry is 
transported to and utilized on a temporary basis at an out-of-
office location, including patient's homes, schools, nursing 
homes or other institutions. 

"Radiographs" means intraoral and extraoral x-rays of hard 
and soft tissues to be used for purposes of diagnosis.  

18VAC60-20-30. Other fees. 

A. Dental licensure application fees. The application fee for 
a dental license by examination, a license to teach dentistry, a 
full-time faculty license, or a temporary permit as a dentist 
shall be $400. The application fee for dental license by 
credentials shall be $500. 

B. Dental hygiene licensure application fees. The 
application fee for a dental hygiene license by examination, a 
license to teach dental hygiene, or a temporary permit as a 
dental hygienist shall be $175. The application fee for dental 
hygienist license by endorsement shall be $275. 

C. Duplicate wall certificate. Licensees desiring a duplicate 
wall certificate shall submit a request in writing stating the 
necessity for such duplicate wall certificate, accompanied by 
a fee of $60. 

D. Duplicate license. Licensees desiring a duplicate license 
shall submit a request in writing stating the necessity for such 
duplicate license, accompanied by a fee of $20. If a licensee 
maintains more than one office, a notarized photocopy of a 
license may be used. 

E. Licensure certification. Licensees requesting endorsement 
or certification by this board shall pay a fee of $35 for each 
endorsement or certification. 

F. Restricted license. Restricted license issued in accordance 
with § 54.1-2714 of the Code of Virginia shall be at a fee of 
$285. 

G. Restricted volunteer license. The application fee for 
licensure as a restricted volunteer dentist or dental hygienist 
issued in accordance with § 54.1-2712.1 or § 54.1-2726.1 of 
the Code of Virginia shall be $25. 

H. Returned check. The fee for a returned check shall be 
$35. 

I. Inspection fee. The fee for an inspection of a dental office 
shall be $350. 

J. Mobile dental clinic or portable dental operation. The 
application fee for registration of a mobile dental clinic or 
portable dental operation shall be $250. The annual renewal 
fee shall be $150. 

Part VIII 
Mobile Dental Clinics and Portable Dental Operations 

18VAC60-20-332. Registration of a mobile dental clinic or 
portable dental operation. 

A. An applicant for registration of a mobile dental facility or 
portable dental operation shall provide: 

1. The name and address of the owner of the facility or 
operation and an official address of record for the facility 
or operation, which shall not be a post office address. 
Notice shall be given to the board within 30 days if there is 
a change in the ownership or the address of record for a 
mobile dental facility or portable dental operation; 

2. The name, address and license number of each dentist 
and dental hygienist or the name, address and registration 
number of each dental assistant II who will provide dental 
services in the facility or operation. The identity and 
license or registration number of any additional dentists, 
dental hygienists or dental assistants II providing dental 
services in a mobile dental facility or portable dental 
operation shall be provided to the board at least 10 days 
prior to the provision of such services; 

3. The address or location of each place where the mobile 
dental facility or portable dental operation will provide 
dental services and the dates on which such services will 
be provided. Any additional locations or dates for the 
provision of dental services in a mobile dental facility or 
portable dental operation shall be provided to the board at 
least 10 days prior to the provision of such services. 

B. An application for registration of a mobile dental facility 
or portable dental operation shall include: 

1. Certification that there is a written agreement for follow-
up care for patients to include identification of and 
arrangements for treatment in a dental office which is 
permanently established within a reasonable geographic 
area; 

2. Certification that the facility or operation has access to 
communication facilities that enable the dental personnel 
to contact assistance in the event of a medical or dental 
emergency;  



Regulations 

Volume 26, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 23, 2009 

674 

3. Certification that the facility has a water supply and all 
equipment necessary to provide the dental services to be 
rendered therein; 

4. Certification that the facility or operation conforms to all 
applicable federal, state and local laws, regulations and 
ordinances dealing with radiographic equipment, 
sanitation, zoning, flammability and construction 
standards; and 

5. Certification that the applicant possesses all applicable 
city or county licenses or permits to operate the facility or 
operation. 

C. Registration may be denied or revoked for a violation of 
provisions of § 54.1-2706 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC60-20-342. Requirements for a mobile dental clinic 
or portable dental operation. 

A. The registration of the facility or operation and copies of 
the licenses of the dentists and dental hygienists or 
registrations of the dental assistants II shall be displayed in 
plain view of patients.  

B. Prior to treatment, the facility or operation shall obtain 
written consent from the patient or if the patient is a minor or 
incapable of consent, his parent, guardian or authorized 
representative. 

C. Each patient shall be provided with an information sheet 
or if the patient, his parent, guardian or authorized agent has 
given written consent to an institution or school to have 
access to the patient's dental health record, the institution may 
be provided a copy of the information. At a minimum, the 
information sheet shall include: 

1. Patient name, date of service and location where 
treatment was provided; 

2. Name of dentist or dental hygienist who provided 
services;  

3. Description of the treatment rendered and tooth 
numbers, when appropriate; 

4. Billed service codes and fees associated with treatment; 

5. Description of any additional dental needs observed or 
diagnosed; 

6. Referral or recommendation to another dentist if the 
facility or operation is unable to provide follow-up 
treatment; and  

7. Emergency contact information. 

D. Patient records shall be maintained, as required by 
18VAC60-20-15, in a secure manner within the facility or at 
the address of record listed on the registration application. 
Records shall be made available upon request by the patient, 
his parent guardian or authorized representative and shall be 
available to the board for inspection and copying. 

E. The practice of dentistry and dental hygiene in a mobile 
dental clinic or portable dental operation shall be in 
accordance with the laws and regulations governing such 
practice. 

18VAC60-20-352. Exemptions from requirement for 
registration. 

The following shall be exempt from requirements for 
registration as a mobile dental clinic or portable dental 
operation: 

1. All federal, state or local governmental agencies; and 

2. Dental treatment which is provided without charge to 
patients or to any third party payer and which is not 
provided on a regular basis (recurring at fixed or uniform 
intervals). 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are listed below. Any amended or added forms are 
reflected in the listing and are published following the listing. 

FORMS (18VAC60-20)  

Application Requirements for Dentists (rev. 8/08).  

Application for License to Practice Dentistry (rev. 8/08).  

Application Requirements for Restricted Dental Volunteer 
License/Restricted Dental Hygiene License (rev. 8/08). 

Application for Restricted Volunteer License to Practice 
Dentistry or Dental Hygiene (rev. 8/08).  

Requirements and Instructions for a Temporary Resident's 
License to Persons Enrolled in Advanced Dental Education 
Programs (rev. 5/08).  

Application for Temporary Resident's License (rev. 5/08).  

Form A, Certification of Dental School for Temporary 
Resident's License (rev. 5/08).  

Form B, Temporary Resident's License (Certification from 
Dean of Dental School or Director of Accredited Graduate 
Program) (rev. 5/08).  

Form C, Temporary Resident's License (Certification of 
Dental Licensure) (rev. 5/08).  

Form D, Temporary Resident's License (Chronology) (rev. 
5/08).  

Form A, Certification of Dental/Dental Hygiene School 
(rev. 8/08).  

Form AA, Sponsor Certification for Dental/Dental Hygiene 
Volunteer License (rev. 8/08).  

Form B, Chronology (rev. 8/08).  

Form C, Certification of Dental/Dental Hygiene Boards 
(rev. 8/08).  
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Application Requirements for Dental Hygienists (rev. 1/08).  

Application for Licensure to Practice Dental Hygiene (rev. 
1/08).  

Instructions for Reinstatement of License (rev. 4/08).  

Reinstatement Application for Dental/Dental Hygiene 
Licensure (rev. 4/08).  

Instructions for Application for Reactivation of License (rev. 
8/08).  

Application for Reactivation of License (rev. 8/08).  

Application for Certification to Perform Cosmetic 
Procedures (rev. 8/08).  

Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeon Registration of Practice 
(rev. 8/08).  

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (rev. 
8/08).  

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 8/08).  

Application for Registration of a Mobile Dental Facility or 
Portable Dental Operation (eff. 1/10). 
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VA.R. Doc. No. R10-1945; Filed November 4, 2009, 2:42 p.m.  
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BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-10, 
18VAC110-20-400; adding 18VAC110-20-740 through 
18VAC110-20-800). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

December 16, 2009 - 9 a.m. - Department of Health 
Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd 
Floor, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: January 22, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Elizabeth Scott Russell, RPh, Executive 
Director, Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, 
FAX (804) 527-4472, or email 
scotti.russell@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 
Board of Pharmacy the authority to promulgate regulations to 
administer the regulatory system. Section 54.1-3411.1 of the 
Code of Virginia provides the board with authority to 
promulgate regulations to establish a drug donation program. 

Purpose: The purpose of the regulatory action is to comply 
with a state legislative mandate to promulgate regulations for 
the establishment of a Prescription Drug Donation Program. 
Requirements for eligible drugs must comply with Virginia 
law and the federal Drug Enforcement Administration, so the 
applicability of the program is inherently limited. Given that 
limitation, the board has proposed a program that allows for 
participation without unnecessary expense or burdensome 
reporting. At the same time, there must be safeguards for the 
security and efficacy of the drugs that will be redispensed to a 
patient of a free clinic. 

The need for a drug donation program has been recognized in 
other states where such programs are being introduced. For 
example, Iowa reports that for the time period from March 
2007 through December 2007, the drug donation repository 
received almost 319,000 dosage units worth an estimated 
$150,000 to program participants who might otherwise not be 
able to get needed medication.  The challenge is to balance 
the desire to make unused drugs available with the necessity 
for safety and the limitations on the types of drugs eligible for 
donation. 

As stated above, state and federal law currently limits 
donation of Schedule II through V drugs; only Schedule VI 
drugs where official compendium storage requirements are 
assured and the drugs are in manufacturers' original sealed 
containers or in sealed individual dose or unit dose packaging 
that meets official compendium class A or B container 
requirements are eligible. Additionally, drugs that are 

restricted in distribution, have an expiration date of less than 
90 days from donation, or may be considered hazardous 
cannot be donated and redispensed. 

It is the responsibility of the pharmacist or pharmacy 
technician at the donation site to screen drugs for eligibility 
and to obtain a donor form with contact information and other 
assurances of proper storage and voluntary donation. The 
donated drug is thereby tracked from donation to transfer to 
redispensing in order to have a record that ensures 
compliance with requirements for the program and provides 
vital information in case of a drug recall or other subsequent 
issue. While there is some risk with a system in which 
consumers donate drugs that have been in their possession for 
redispensing to other patients, the board has included all 
safeguards necessary to ensure that the risk is minimal. 
Procedures for collecting donated drugs, storage of such 
drugs, maintenance of records, destruction of any unused 
drugs and redispensing to patients with valid prescriptions are 
intended to protect public health and safety within the 
parameters of a donation program that can be implemented 
for the public welfare. 

Substance: Regulations promulgated pursuant to the 
legislative mandate set forth requirements for pharmacies that 
want to register as a drug donation site; criteria for drugs 
eligible for donation; procedures for collecting donated drugs, 
including specification of information on a donor form for 
each drug donated; procedures for transferring and 
redispensing donated drugs; procedures for disposing of any 
unused donated drugs; and recordkeeping requirements 
associated with the program. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the establishment of a drug 
donation program is the possibility of an increase in the 
amount of donated drugs available to persons who utilize free 
clinics for health care. Additionally, drugs that are donated do 
not create disposal issues for the water supply or landfills. 
There are no disadvantages since the criteria for drugs that 
may be donated to the program are designed to limit the 
possibility of contamination or adulteration and limit the 
category to drugs that have no potential for abuse. There are 
no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 
Commonwealth. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Pursuant to Chapter 429 (HB85) of the 2008 Acts of the 
Assembly, the Board of Pharmacy proposes to establish a 
prescription drug donation program. The proposed program 
has been in effect since April 10, 2009, under emergency 
regulations. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 
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Estimated Economic Impact. Pursuant to Chapter 429 (HB85) 
of the 2008 Acts of the Assembly, the Board of Pharmacy 
proposes to establish a prescription drug donation program. 
The program allows participating pharmacies to accept 
previously dispensed unused drugs that meet certain criteria 
and transfer them to free clinics for re-dispensing. Due to 
restrictions imposed by the Federal Drug Enforcement 
Administration, only Schedule VI drugs are eligible for the 
program. 

Participating pharmacies are expected to incur some 
additional costs associated with screening drugs for 
eligibility, recordkeeping, storage, and possibly transfer to 
free clinics. However, participation is completely voluntary. 
Thus, we can reliably infer that the benefits to participating 
pharmacies should exceed the costs of participation. 

Also, the program is expected generate some savings to free 
clinics in terms of the free drugs donated which can be re-
dispensed and benefit the individuals who are receiving 
services. There is no readily available estimate for the 
magnitude of the drugs that may be donated. However, the 
participation may be somewhat limited. Since April 2009, no 
pharmacies in Virginia have applied to participate in the 
program. Moreover, about 319,000 dosage units worth 
approximately $150,000 were received through a similar 
program in Iowa between March 2007 and December 2007. 

Two of the potential costs include health risks to the 
consumers and the board's administrative costs involved in 
monitoring the program. According to the Department of 
Health Professions, the board included all safeguards 
necessary to ensure that the risk is minimal. Also, the 
department does not expect any significant costs to administer 
this program which is expected to have a limited 
participation. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. There are 1,647 pharmacies 
and 18 free clinics that could participate in the proposed 
program. Participation is completely voluntary and is 
expected to be limited. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 
apply throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. No significant impact is 
expected on employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No 
significant impact is expected on the use and value of private 
property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No significant 
costs and other effects are expected on small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. No adverse impact is expected on small 
businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No adverse impact is 
expected on real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Board of Pharmacy 
concurs with the economic impact analysis of the Department 
of Planning and Budget on proposed regulations for the drug 
donation program. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 429 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly, the 
Board of Pharmacy proposes to establish a prescription 
drug donation program. The proposed regulations set forth 
requirements for pharmacies to register as a drug 
donation site; criteria for drugs eligible for donation; 
procedures for collecting donated drugs, including 
specification of information on a donor form for each drug 
donated; procedures for transferring and redispensing 
donated drugs; procedures for disposing of any unused 
donated drugs; and recordkeeping requirements 
associated with the program. 

Part I  
General Provisions  

18VAC110-20-10. Definitions.  

In addition to words and terms defined in §§ 54.1-3300 and 
54.1-3401 of the Code of Virginia, the following words and 
terms when used in this chapter shall have the following 
meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:  
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"ACPE" means the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy 
Education.  

"Acquisition" of an existing entity permitted, registered or 
licensed by the board means (i) the purchase or transfer of all 
or substantially all of the assets of the entity or of any 
corporation that owns or controls the entity; (ii) the creation 
of a partnership by a sole proprietor or change in partnership 
composition; (iii) the acquiring of 50% or more of the 
outstanding shares of voting stock of a corporation owning 
the entity or of the parent corporation of a wholly owned 
subsidiary owning the entity, except that this shall not apply 
to any corporation the voting stock of which is actively traded 
on any securities exchange or in any over-the-counter market; 
or (iv) the merger of a corporation owning the entity, or of the 
parent corporation of a wholly owned subsidiary owning the 
entity, with another business or corporation.  

"Alternate delivery site" means a location authorized in 
18VAC110-20-275 to receive dispensed prescriptions on 
behalf of and for further delivery or administration to a 
patient. 

"Beyond-use date" means the date beyond which the 
integrity of a compounded, repackaged, or dispensed drug can 
no longer be assured and as such is deemed to be adulterated 
or misbranded as defined in §§ 54.1-3461 and 54.1-3462 of 
the Code of Virginia.  

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Pharmacy.  

"CE" means continuing education as required for renewal of 
licensure by the Board of Pharmacy.  

"CEU" means a continuing education unit awarded for credit 
as the equivalent of 10 contact hours.  

"Chart order" means a lawful order for a drug or device 
entered on the chart or in a medical record of a patient by a 
prescriber or his designated agent. 

"Compliance packaging" means packaging for dispensed 
drugs which is comprised of a series of containers for solid 
oral dosage forms and which is designed to assist the user in 
administering or self-administering the drugs in accordance 
with directions for use.  

"Contact hour" means the amount of credit awarded for 60 
minutes of participation in and successful completion of a 
continuing education program.  

"Correctional facility" means any prison, penitentiary, penal 
facility, jail, detention unit, or other facility in which persons 
are incarcerated by government officials. 

"DEA" means the United States Drug Enforcement 
Administration.  

"Drug donation site" means a permitted pharmacy that 
specifically registers with the board for the purpose of 

receiving or redispensing eligible donated prescription drugs 
pursuant to § 54.1-3411.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Electronic transmission prescription" means any 
prescription, other than an oral or written prescription or a 
prescription transmitted by facsimile machine, that is 
electronically transmitted from a practitioner authorized to 
prescribe directly to a pharmacy without interception or 
intervention from a third party, or from one pharmacy to 
another pharmacy.  

"Expiration date" means that date placed on a drug package 
by the manufacturer or repacker beyond which the product 
may not be dispensed or used.  

"Facsimile (FAX) prescription" means a written prescription 
or order which is transmitted by an electronic device over 
telephone lines which sends the exact image to the receiver 
(pharmacy) in a hard copy form.  

"FDA" means the United States Food and Drug 
Administration.  

"Floor stock" means a supply of drugs that have been 
distributed for the purpose of general administration by a 
prescriber or other authorized person pursuant to a valid order 
of a prescriber.  

"Foreign school of pharmacy" means a school outside the 
United States and its territories offering a course of study in 
basic sciences, pharmacology, and pharmacy of at least four 
years in duration resulting in a degree that qualifies a person 
to practice pharmacy in that country. 

"Forgery" means a prescription that was falsely created, 
falsely signed, or altered. 

"FPGEC certificate" means the certificate given by the 
Foreign Pharmacy Equivalency Committee of NABP that 
certifies that the holder of such certificate has passed the 
Foreign Pharmacy Equivalency Examination and a credential 
review of foreign training to establish educational 
equivalency to board approved schools of pharmacy, and has 
passed approved examinations establishing proficiency in 
English.  

"Generic drug name" means the nonproprietary name listed 
in the United States Pharmacopeia-National Formulary (USP-
NF) or in the USAN and the USP Dictionary of Drug Names.  

"Hospital" or "nursing home" means those facilities as 
defined in Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia or as defined in 
regulations by the Virginia Department of Health.  

"Inactive license" means a license which is registered with 
the Commonwealth but does not entitle the licensee to 
practice, the holder of which is not required to submit 
documentation of CE necessary to hold an active license.  
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"Long-term care facility" means a nursing home, retirement 
care, mental care or other facility or institution which 
provides extended health care to resident patients.  

"NABP" means the National Association of Boards of 
Pharmacy. 

"Nuclear pharmacy" means a pharmacy providing 
radiopharmaceutical services.  

"On duty" means that a pharmacist is on the premises at the 
address of the permitted pharmacy and is available as needed.  

"Permitted physician" means a physician who is licensed 
pursuant to § 54.1-3304 of the Code of Virginia to dispense 
drugs to persons to whom or for whom pharmacy services are 
not reasonably available.  

"Perpetual inventory" means an ongoing system for 
recording quantities of drugs received, dispensed or otherwise 
distributed by a pharmacy. 

"Personal supervision" means the pharmacist must be 
physically present and render direct, personal control over the 
entire service being rendered or act being performed. Neither 
prior nor future instructions shall be sufficient nor, shall 
supervision rendered by telephone, written instructions, or by 
any mechanical or electronic methods be sufficient.  

"Pharmacy closing" means that the permitted pharmacy 
ceases pharmacy services or fails to provide for continuity of 
pharmacy services or lawful access to patient prescription 
records or other required patient records for the purpose of 
continued pharmacy services to patients.  

"Pharmacy technician trainee" means a person who is 
currently enrolled in an approved pharmacy technician 
training program and is performing duties restricted to 
pharmacy technicians for the purpose of obtaining practical 
experience in accordance with § 54.1-3321 D of the Code of 
Virginia. 

"PIC" means the pharmacist-in-charge of a permitted 
pharmacy.  

"Practice location" means any location in which a prescriber 
evaluates or treats a patient.  

"Prescription department" means any contiguous or 
noncontiguous areas used for the compounding, dispensing 
and storage of all Schedule II through VI drugs and devices 
and any Schedule I investigational drugs.  

"PTCB" means the Pharmacy Technician Certification 
Board, co-founded by the American Pharmaceutical 
Association and the American Society of Health System 
Pharmacists, as the national organization for voluntary 
examination and certification of pharmacy technicians.  

"Quality assurance plan" means a plan approved by the 
board for ongoing monitoring, measuring, evaluating, and, if 

necessary, improving the performance of a pharmacy function 
or system.  

"Radiopharmaceutical" means any drug that exhibits 
spontaneous disintegration of unstable nuclei with the 
emission of nuclear particles or photons and includes any 
nonradioactive reagent kit or radionuclide generator that is 
intended to be used in the preparation of any such substance, 
but does not include drugs such as carbon-containing 
compounds or potassium-containing salts that include trace 
quantities of naturally occurring radionuclides. The term also 
includes any biological product that is labeled with a 
radionuclide or intended solely to be labeled with a 
radionuclide.  

"Repackaged drug" means any drug removed from the 
manufacturer's original package and placed in different 
packaging.  

"Robotic pharmacy system" means a mechanical system 
controlled by a computer that performs operations or 
activities relative to the storage, packaging, labeling, 
dispensing, or distribution of medications, and collects, 
controls, and maintains all transaction information.  

"Safety closure container" means a container which meets 
the requirements of the federal Poison Prevention Packaging 
Act of 1970 (15 USC §§ 1471-1476), i.e., in testing such 
containers, that 85% of a test group of 200 children of ages 
41-52 months are unable to open the container in a five-
minute period and that 80% fail in another five minutes after 
a demonstration of how to open it and that 90% of a test 
group of 100 adults must be able to open and close the 
container.  

"Satellite pharmacy" means a pharmacy which is 
noncontiguous to the centrally permitted pharmacy of a 
hospital but at the location designated on the pharmacy 
permit.  

"Special packaging" means packaging that is designed or 
constructed to be significantly difficult for children under five 
years of age to open to obtain a toxic or harmful amount of 
the drug contained therein within a reasonable time and not 
difficult for normal adults to use properly, but does not mean 
packaging which all such children cannot open or obtain a 
toxic or harmful amount within a reasonable time.  

"Special use permit" means a permit issued to conduct a 
pharmacy of a special scope of service that varies in any way 
from the provisions of any board regulation.  

"Storage temperature" means those specific directions stated 
in some monographs with respect to the temperatures at 
which pharmaceutical articles shall be stored, where it is 
considered that storage at a lower or higher temperature may 
produce undesirable results. The conditions are defined by the 
following terms:  
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1. "Cold" means any temperature not exceeding 8°C 
(46°F). A refrigerator is a cold place in which temperature 
is maintained thermostatically between 2° and 8°C (36° 
and 46°F). A freezer is a cold place in which the 
temperature is maintained thermostatically between -20° 
and -10°C (-4° and 14°F).  

2. "Room temperature" means the temperature prevailing 
in a working area.  

3. "Controlled room temperature" means a temperature 
maintained thermostatically that encompasses the usual 
and customary working environment of 20° to 25°C (68° 
to 77°F); that results in a mean kinetic temperature 
calculated to be not more than 25°C; and that allows for 
excursions between 15° and 30°C (59° and 86°F) that are 
experienced in pharmacies, hospitals, and warehouses.  

4. "Warm" means any temperature between 30° and 40°C 
(86° and 104°F).  

5. "Excessive heat" means any temperature above 40°C 
(104°F).  

6. "Protection from freezing" means where, in addition to 
the risk of breakage of the container, freezing subjects a 
product to loss of strength or potency, or to the destructive 
alteration of its characteristics, the container label bears an 
appropriate instruction to protect the product from 
freezing.  

7. "Cool" means any temperature between 8° and 15°C 
(46° and 59°F).  

"Terminally ill" means a patient with a terminal condition as 
defined in § 54.1-2982 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Unit dose container" means a container that is a single-unit 
container, as defined in United States Pharmacopeia-National 
Formulary, for articles intended for administration by other 
than the parenteral route as a single dose, direct from the 
container.  

"Unit dose package" means a container that contains a 
particular dose ordered for a patient.  

"Unit dose system" means a system in which multiple drugs 
in unit dose packaging are dispensed in a single container, 
such as a medication drawer or bin, labeled only with patient 
name and location. Directions for administration are not 
provided by the pharmacy on the drug packaging or container 
but are obtained by the person administering directly from a 
prescriber's order or medication administration record.  

"USP-NF" means the United States Pharmacopeia-National 
Formulary.  

"Well-closed container" means a container that protects the 
contents from extraneous solids and from loss of the drug 
under the ordinary or customary conditions of handling, 
shipment, storage, and distribution.  

18VAC110-20-400. Returning of drugs and devices. 

A. Drugs may be accepted for return or exchange by any 
pharmacist or pharmacy for resale in accordance with the 
provisions of § 54.1-3411.1 of the Code of Virginia. Devices 
may be accepted for return or exchange provided the device is 
in the manufacturer's original sealed packaging.  

B. Any pharmacy accepting drugs returned from nursing 
homes for the purpose of redispensing to the indigent free of 
charge shall maintain a copy of a written agreement with the 
nursing home in accordance with § 54.1-3411.1 B of the 
Code of Virginia and a current policy and procedure manual 
describing the following:  

1. Method of delivery from the nursing home to the 
pharmacy and of tracking of all prescription medications;  

2. Procedure for determining the suitability and integrity of 
drugs for redispensing to include assurance that the drugs 
have been stored according to official compendial 
standards; and  

3. Procedure for assigning a beyond-use date on 
redispensed drugs.  

18VAC110-20-740. Drug donation sites. 

Any pharmacy with a current active pharmacy permit may 
apply on a form provided by the board for registration as a 
drug donation site. A registered drug donation site may 
receive eligible donated drugs, transfer such donated drugs to 
another registered drug donation site, or redispense the 
donated drugs in accordance with § 54.1-3411.1 of the Code 
of Virginia to patients of clinics organized in whole or in part 
for the delivery of health care services to the indigent. Drugs 
collected under the drug donation program may not be 
dispensed to any other patient, sold, or otherwise distributed 
except as authorized in 18VAC110-20-770 or 18VAC110-20-
790. 

18VAC110-20-750. Eligible drugs. 

A. Drugs may be accepted by a registered drug donation site 
only if the following criteria are met: 

1. Official compendium storage requirements are assured 
and the drugs are in manufacturers' original sealed 
containers or in sealed individual dose or unit dose 
packaging that meets official compendium Class A or B 
container requirements, or better, as set forth in § 54.1-
3411.1 A 2 of the Code of Virginia; 

2. The drugs bear an expiration date that is not less than 90 
days from the date the drug is donated; and 

3. The drugs have not been adulterated or misbranded. 

B. The following drugs shall not be accepted by a drug 
donation site: 
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1. Schedule II-V controlled substances or any other drug if 
such return is inconsistent with federal law; 

2. Drugs determined to be hazardous for donation based on 
(i) the pharmacist's professional judgment, experience or 
knowledge, or (ii) available reference materials; 

3. Drugs that may only be dispensed to a patient registered 
with the drug manufacturer under a restricted distribution 
system; and 

4. Drugs that have been previously compounded.  

18VAC110-20-760. Procedures for collecting eligible 
donated drugs. 

A. A pharmacist or a pharmacy technician under the 
personal supervision of a pharmacist shall receive and 
conduct the initial screening for eligibility of donated drugs. 

B. At the time of accepting donated drugs, the drug donation 
site shall ensure that a donor form is completed. The drug 
donation site shall give a copy of the donor form to the person 
donating the drug at the time of the donation and shall 
maintain the original donor form. A donor form is not 
required for drugs donated by a patient residing in a long-
term care facility or other facility where drugs are 
administered to that patient if the drugs are donated directly 
to the provider pharmacy for that facility and such provider 
pharmacy is registered as a drug donation site. 

C. A donor form shall include the following information: 

1. A statement that the donor is the patient or patient's 
agent for whom the prescription drug was dispensed; 

2. A statement that the donor intends to voluntarily donate 
the prescription drug for redispensing; 

3. A statement attesting that the drugs have been properly 
stored at all times while in the possession of the patient 
according to official compendium storage requirements; 

4. Contact information for the patient or patient's agent; 

5. The date of donation; 

6. A listing of the donated drugs to include name, strength, 
and quantity; 

7. A statement that private health information will be 
protected; 

8. The signature of the patient or patient's agent; and 

9. The initials of the receiving pharmacist, or the initials of 
the receiving pharmacy technician and supervising 
pharmacist. 

D. Donated prescription drugs shall be stored within the 
prescription department, separate from other drug inventory. 

E. Prior to transferring any donated drugs or redispensing 
donated drugs, a pharmacist shall perform a final review of 

any donated drug for eligibility and shall ensure that all the 
donor's patient specific information has been removed from 
previous labeling or rendered unreadable. 

F. A drug donation site may not charge a fee for collecting 
donated drugs. 

18VAC110-20-770. Procedure for transferring donated 
prescription drugs. 

A. A drug donation site may transfer eligible donated 
prescription drugs to another drug donation site for the 
purpose of redispensing. 

B. The transferring drug donation site shall provide a 
transfer record to the receiving drug donation site that 
includes the following: 

1. The names and addresses of the transferring site and the 
receiving site;  

2. The name, strength, and quantity of each donated drug 
being transferred; and 

3. The date of transfer.  

C. The original transfer record shall be maintained by the 
transferring drug donation site.  

D. A copy of the transfer record shall be provided to the 
receiving drug donation site, the date of receipt shall be 
recorded on the copy, and it shall be maintained by the 
receiving drug donation site.  

18VAC110-20-780. Procedure for dispensing donated 
prescription drugs. 

A. A drug donation site redispensing donated prescription 
drugs shall comply with applicable federal and state laws and 
regulations for dispensing prescription drugs. 

B. The pharmacy redispensing donated drugs shall not 
charge for cost of donated drugs, but may charge a dispensing 
or administrative fee for each such drug redispensed, 
consistent with the provisions of subdivision 10 of § 54.1-
3301 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. Recipients of a redispensed donated drug shall sign a 
form prior to receiving the drug that includes a statement that 
the recipient understands that the drug received has been 
donated for the purpose of redispensing pursuant to § 54.1-
3411.1 of the Code of Virginia. The drug donation site shall 
maintain this form. 

D. A drug donation site is under no obligation to obtain a 
prescription drug that is not in inventory at the time of a 
request for such drug. 
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18VAC110-20-790. Procedures for disposing of donated 
prescription drugs. 

A. A drug donation site in possession of donated 
prescription drugs ineligible for redispensing shall dispose of 
such drugs in compliance with 18VAC110-20-210. 

B. A drug donation site shall maintain records of disposal or 
transfer for disposal of donated prescription drugs separately 
from other pharmacy disposal records.  

18VAC110-20-800. Records. 

A. All records required for drug donation programs shall be 
maintained chronologically for two years. 

B. Records and prescriptions related to donated drugs shall 
be maintained separately from other pharmacy records. 

C. Storage of records. 

1. Transfer, dispensing, and disposal records may be stored 
in an electronic database or record. 

2. Prescriptions and signed forms, as well as any other 
records, may be stored as an electronic image that provides 
an exact, clearly legible image of the document. 

3. Records may be stored in secured storage, either on or 
offsite. 

D. All records in offsite storage or database shall be 
retrieved and made available for inspection or audit within 48 
hours of a request by the board or an authorized agent.  

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are listed below. Any amended or added forms are 
reflected in the listing and are published following the listing. 

FORMS (18VAC110-20)  

Application for Registration as a Pharmacy Intern (rev. 
8/07).  

Affidavit of Practical Experience, Pharmacy Intern (rev. 
8/07).  

Application for Licensure as a Pharmacist by Examination 
(rev. 8/07).  

Instructions for Reinstating or Reactivating a Pharmacist 
License (rev. 11/07). 

Application to Reinstate or Reactivate a Pharmacist License 
(rev. 11/07).  

Application for Approval of a Continuing Education 
Program (rev. 8/07).  

Application for Approval of ACPE Pharmacy School 
Course(s) for Continuing Education Credit (rev. 4/09).  

Application for License to Dispense Drugs (permitted 
physician) (rev. 8/07).  

Application for a Pharmacy Permit (rev. 3/09).  

Application for a Nonresident Pharmacy Registration (rev. 
7/08).  

Application for a Permit as a Medical Equipment Supplier 
(rev. 3/09).  

Application for a Controlled Substances Registration 
Certificate (rev. 4/09).  

Application for Registration as a Pharmacy Intern for 
Graduates of a Foreign College of Pharmacy (rev. 8/07).  

Closing of a Pharmacy (rev. 8/07).  

Application for Approval of a Robotic Pharmacy System 
(rev. 8/07).  

Inspection Required for Approval of a Robotic Pharmacy 
System (rev. 8/07).  

Application for Approval of an Innovative (Pilot) Program 
(rev. 8/07).  

Pharmacy Technician Registration Instructions and 
Application (rev. 3/09).  

Instructions for Reinstating a Pharmacy Technician 
Registration (rev. 11/07). 

Application to Reinstate a Pharmacy Technician 
Registration (rev. 11/07). 

Application for Approval of a Pharmacy Technician 
Training Program (rev. 8/07).  

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (rev. 
8/07).  

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 8/07).  

Preceptor Verification Form (rev. 8/07). 

Application for Reinstatement of Registration as a Pharmacy 
Intern (eff. 9/07). 

Affidavit for Limited-Use Pharmacy Technician (rev. 8/07). 

Limited-Use Pharmacy Technician Registration Instructions 
and Application (rev. 7/08). 

Application for Registration as a Pharmacy Technician (eff. 
3/09). 

Registration for a Pharmacy to be a Collection Site for 
Donated Drugs (eff. 4/09). 
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Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-550). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: December 23, 2009. 

Effective Date: January 7, 2010.  

Agency Contact: Elizabeth Scott Russell, RPh, Executive 
Director, Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, 
FAX (804) 527-4472, or email 
scotti.russell@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia establishes 
the general powers and duties of health regulatory boards, 
including the Board of Pharmacy, and the board's 
responsibility to promulgate regulations. The specific 
authority to control prescription drugs in the Commonwealth 
is found in Chapters 33 (§ 54.1-3300 et seq.) and 34 (§ 54.1-
3400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is to address 
a public health need in many nursing homes that have become 
"sub-acute hospitals." Nursing homes are seeing an increased 
number of acute patients with many health complications. 
Many are admitted postsurgically after an orthopedic 
procedure (hip replacement, etc.), and the adequate and 
timely administration of pain medication is critical to their 
well-being and recovery. Patients who have their pain 
controlled have fewer complications and heal faster. Patients 
may be admitted when the pharmacy is not open, and it may 
take many hours for the prescriber's order to be filled by the 
provider pharmacy and delivered to the facility for 
administration. In the best of circumstances, there is a gap of 
time between the patient's arrival at the nursing home and the 
delivery of prescription pain medication from the provider 
pharmacy. By amending the current regulation, the board has 
addressed this issue in a manner that is responsive to patient 
health needs but also retains safeguards against diversion and 
medication error. Only persons licensed to administer, 
dispense, or prescribe may access a stat-drug box, and a valid 
prescription or order from a prescriber must be received prior 
to removal of any drug from the stat-drug box. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The amendment is 
being sought by a coalition of nursing homes, provider 
pharmacies, and professional associations serving the long-
term care industry. There is a sense of urgency about the need 
for the amendment to alleviate pain and enhance patient 
comfort and recovery, and there is consensus about the 
language being proposed. No opposition is expected. 

Substance: The substantive provision is deletion of the 
prohibition against the stat-drug box in a long-term care 
facility containing Schedule II drugs. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is that the 
inclusion of Schedule II drugs in a stat-drug box in a long-
term care facility will allow facilities and physicians to ensure 
their patients receive pain medications appropriately and 
expeditiously. There are no disadvantages to the public. Any 
concern about diversion is addressed by the security measures 
and accountability required, and only licensed nurses, 
pharmacists, or prescribers can access drugs in a stat-drug 
box. There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency 
or the Commonwealth. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Pharmacy (Board) proposes to allow long term care 
facilities to keep a stock of Schedule II drugs so that new 
patients can receive prescribed pain medication in a timely 
manner. The Board also proposes to allow long term care 
facilities to stock greater quantities of Schedule III through V 
drugs so that they are on hand to be used as prescribed for 
patients. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulations allow long 
term care facilities to keep up to five doses of each 
therapeutic class of Schedule III through V drugs in a locked 
stat-drug box. These drugs are there for patients who might 
suffer harm if the taking of prescribed medication is delayed 
because provider pharmacies need time to fill and deliver 
prescriptions. 

The Board proposes to increase the number of medication 
doses that can be kept in the stat-drug box, to 20 solid dosage 
units per schedule, and to allow Schedule II drugs to be kept 
in the stat-drug box. No entities are likely to incur any costs 
on account of these regulatory changes as they do not 
mandate any change in current practice. Patients in long term 
care facilities are likely to benefit from these changes in 
several ways. First, increasing the number of doses of any 
given medication that can be kept in a stat-drug box will 
allow more patients to be given prescribed drugs in a time 
frame that is therapeutically indicated. Second, patients who 
are in need of Schedule II medications (mainly for treatment 
of pain) will be able to receive those medications from the 
stat-drug box rather than waiting in pain for their 
prescriptions to be filled and delivered. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The Department of Health 
Professions (DHP) reports that all long term care facilities 
with nursing staff licensed to dispense prescribed 
medications, as well as patients to whom medication will be 
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dispensed, are affected by these proposed regulations. The 
Department of Health currently licenses 276 such facilities. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 
likely have no impact on employment in the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 
regulatory action will likely have no effect on the use or value 
of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Small businesses 
in the Commonwealth are unlikely to incur any costs on 
account of this regulatory action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Small businesses in the Commonwealth are 
unlikely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 
action. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Board of Pharmacy 
concurs with the economic impact analysis of the Department 
of Planning and Budget on fast-track amendments to 
regulations for the stat-drug boxes in long-term care facilities. 

Summary: 

The amendments allow a stat-drug box in a long-term care 
facility to contain doses of Schedule II drugs for the relief 
of acute pain and offer more flexibility in the drugs that 
are maintained in a stat-drug box, depending on the needs 
of patients in the facility. 

18VAC110-20-550. Stat-drug box. 

An additional drug box called a stat-drug box may be 
prepared by a pharmacy to provide for initiating therapy prior 
to the receipt of ordered drugs from the pharmacy. Access to 
the stat-drug box is restricted to a licensed nurse, pharmacist, 
or prescriber and only these licensed individuals may 
administer a drug taken from the stat-drug box. Additionally, 
a valid prescription or lawful order of a prescriber must exist 
prior to the removal of any drug from the stat-drug box. A 
stat-drug box shall be subject to the following conditions:  

1. The box is sealed in such a manner that will preclude the 
loss of drugs.  

a. The dispensing pharmacy must have a method of 
sealing such boxes so that once the seal is broken, it 
cannot be reasonably resealed without the breach being 
detected.  

b. If a seal is used, it shall have a unique numeric or 
alphanumeric identifier to preclude replication or 
resealing, or both. The pharmacy shall maintain a record 
of the seal identifiers when placed on a box and maintain 
the record until such time as the seal is replaced.  

c. In lieu of seals, a box with a built-in mechanism 
preventing resealing or relocking once opened except by 
the provider pharmacy is also acceptable.  

2. The box shall have a form to be filled out upon opening 
the box and removing contents to write the name of the 
person opening the box, the date, the time, and the name 
and quantity of item(s) removed. When the stat-drug box 
has been opened, it is returned to the pharmacy.  

3. There shall be a listing of the contents of the box 
maintained in the pharmacy and also attached to the box in 
the facility. This same listing shall become a part of the 
policy and procedure manual of the facility served by the 
pharmacy.  

4. The drug listing on the box shall bear an expiration date 
for the box. The expiration date shall be the day on which 
the first drug in the box will expire.  

5. The contents of the box shall be limited to those drugs in 
which a delay in initiating therapy may result in harm to 
the patient.  

a. The listing of drugs contained in the stat-drug box 
shall be determined by the provider pharmacist in 
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consultation with the medical and nursing staff of the 
long-term care facility.  

b. The stat-drug box shall contain no Schedule II drugs.  

c. b. The stat-drug box shall contain no more than one 20 
solid dosage units per schedule of Schedule III II through 
V drug in each therapeutic class and no more than five 
doses of each drugs except that one unit of liquid, not to 
exceed 30 ml, may be substituted for a solid dosage unit. 
If the unit of a liquid that may contain more than one 
dose is removed from the stat-drug box pursuant to a 
patient order, the remainder shall be stored with that 
patient's other drugs, may be used for subsequent doses 
administered to that patient, and shall not be 
administered to any other patient. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2134; Filed November 4, 2009, 2:42 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 18VAC110-20. Regulations 
Governing the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 
18VAC110-20-20). 

18VAC110-50. Regulations Governing Wholesale 
Distributors, Manufacturers, and Warehousers 
(amending 18VAC110-50-20). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 23, 2009.  

Agency Contact: Elizabeth Scott Russell, RPh, Executive 
Director, Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, 
FAX (804) 527-4472, or email 
scotti.russell@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments change the annual renewal dates for 
pharmacies and other types of licenses and permits other 
than pharmacists and technicians to February 28 or April 
30. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

18VAC110-20-20. Fees. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 
not be refundable. 

B. Unless otherwise provided, any fees for taking required 
examinations shall be paid directly to the examination service 
as specified by the board. 

C. Initial application fees.  

  1. Pharmacist license $180 

  2. Pharmacy intern registration $15 

  3. Pharmacy technician registration $25 

 4. Pharmacy permit $270 

 5. Permitted physician licensed to dispense 
drugs 

$270 

 6. Medical equipment supplier permit $180 

 7. Humane society permit $20 

 8. Nonresident pharmacy $270 

 9. Controlled substances registrations  $90 

 10. Innovative program approval. 

If the board determines that a technical 
consultant is required in order to make a 
decision on approval, any consultant fee, not 
to exceed the actual cost, shall also be paid 
by the applicant in addition to the 
application fee. 

$250 

 11. Approval of a pharmacy technician 
training program 

$150 

 12. Approval of a continuing education 
program 

$100 

D. Annual renewal fees.  

 1. Pharmacist active license – due December 
31 

$90 

 2. Pharmacist inactive license – due 
December 31 

$45 

 3. Pharmacy technician registration – due 
December 31 

$25 

 4. Pharmacy permit – due April 30 $270 

 5. Physician permit to practice pharmacy – 
due February 28 

$270 

 6. Medical equipment supplier permit – due 
February 28 

$180 

 7. Humane society permit – due February 28 $20 

 8. Nonresident pharmacy – due April 30 $270 

 9. Controlled substances registrations – due 
February 28 

$90 

 10. Innovative program continued approval 
based on board order not to exceed $200 per 
approval period. 

  

 11. Approval of a pharmacy technician 
training program 

$75 
every 

two 
years 

E. Late fees. The following late fees shall be paid in addition 
to the current renewal fee to renew an expired license within 
one year of the expiration date or within two years in the case 
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of a pharmacy technician training program. In addition, 
engaging in activities requiring a license, permit, or 
registration after the expiration date of such license, permit, 
or registration shall be grounds for disciplinary action by the 
board.  

  1. Pharmacist license $30 

  2. Pharmacist inactive license $15 

  3. Pharmacy technician registration $10 

  4. Pharmacy permit $90 

  5. Physician permit to practice pharmacy $90 

  6. Medical equipment supplier permit $60 

  7. Humane society permit $5 

  8. Nonresident pharmacy $90 

  9. Controlled substances registrations $30 

  10. Approval of a pharmacy technician 
training program 

$15 

F. Reinstatement fees. Any person or entity attempting to 
renew a license, permit, or registration more than one year 
after the expiration date, or more than two years after the 
expiration date in the case of a pharmacy technician training 
program, shall submit an application for reinstatement with 
any required fees. Reinstatement is at the discretion of the 
board and, except for reinstatement following license 
revocation or suspension, may be granted by the executive 
director of the board upon completion of an application and 
payment of any required fees.  

  1. Pharmacist license $210 

  2. Pharmacist license after revocation or 
suspension 

$500 

  3. Pharmacy technician registration $35 

  4. Pharmacy technician registration after 
revocation or suspension 

$125 

  5. Facilities or entities that cease operation 
and wish to resume shall not be eligible for 
reinstatement but shall apply for a new 
permit or registration. Facilities or entities 
that failed to renew and continued to operate 
for more than one renewal cycle shall pay 
the current and all back renewal fees for the 
years in which they were operating plus the 
following reinstatement fees: 

  

    a. Pharmacy permit $240 

    b. Physician permit to practice pharmacy $240 

    c. Medical equipment supplier permit $210 

    d. Humane society permit $30 

   e. Nonresident pharmacy $115 

   f. Controlled substances registration $180 

   g. Approval of a pharmacy technician 
training program 

$75 

G. Application for change or inspection fees for facilities or 
other entities.  

  1. Change of pharmacist-in-charge $50 

  2. Change of ownership for any facility $50 

  3. Inspection for remodeling or change of 
location for any facility 

150 

  4. Reinspection of any facility $150 

  5. Board-required inspection for a robotic 
pharmacy system 

$150 

  6. Board-required inspection of an 
innovative program location 

$150 

  7. Change of pharmacist responsible for an 
approved innovative program 

$25 

H. Miscellaneous fees.  

  1. Duplicate wall certificate $25 

  2. Returned check $35 

I. For the annual renewal due on the stated dates, the 
following fees shall be imposed for a license, permit or 
registration:  

  1. Pharmacist active license – December 
31, 2009 

$50 

  2. Pharmacist inactive license – December 
31, 2009 

$25 

  3. Pharmacy technician registration – 
December 31, 2009 

$15 

  4. Pharmacy permit – April 30, 2010 $210 

  5. Physician permit to practice pharmacy – 
February 28, 2010 

$210 

  6. Medical equipment supplier permit – 
February 28, 2010 

$140 

  7. Humane society permit – February 28, 
2010 

$20 

  8. Nonresident pharmacy – April 30, 2010 $210 

  9. Controlled substances registrations – 
February 28, 2010 

$50 

18VAC110-50-20. Fees.  

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 
not be refundable.  
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B. Initial application fees.  

  1. Nonrestricted manufacturer permit $270 

  2. Restricted manufacturer permit $180 

  3. Wholesale distributor license $270 

  4. Warehouser permit $270 

  5. Nonresident wholesale distributor $270 

  6. Controlled substances registration $90 

C. Annual renewal fees shall be due on February 28 of each 
year.  

  1. Nonrestricted manufacturer permit $270 

  2. Restricted manufacturer permit $180 

  3. Wholesale distributor license $270 

  4. Warehouser permit $270 

  5. Nonresident wholesale distributor $270 

  6. Controlled substances registration $90 

D. Late fees. The following late fees shall be paid in 
addition to the current renewal fee to renew an expired 
license within one year of the expiration date. In addition, 
engaging in activities requiring a license, permit, or 
registration after the expiration date of such license, permit, 
or registration shall be grounds for disciplinary action by the 
board.  

  1. Nonrestricted manufacturer permit $90 

  2. Restricted manufacturer permit $60 

  3. Wholesale distributor license $90 

  4. Warehouser permit $90 

  5. Nonresident wholesale distributor $90 

  6. Controlled substances registration $30 

E. Reinstatement fees.  

1. Any entity attempting to renew a license, permit, or 
registration more than one year after the expiration date 
shall submit an application for reinstatement with any 
required fees. Reinstatement is at the discretion of the 
board and, except for reinstatement following license 
revocation or suspension, may be granted by the executive 
director of the board upon completion of an application 
and payment of any required fees.  

2. Engaging in activities requiring a license, permit, or 
registration after the expiration date of such license, 
permit, or registration shall be grounds for disciplinary 
action by the board. Facilities or entities that cease 
operation and wish to resume shall not be eligible for 
reinstatement, but shall apply for a new permit or 
registration.  

3. Facilities or entities that failed to renew and continued to 
operate for more than one renewal cycle shall pay the 
current and all back renewal fees for the years in which 
they were operating plus the following reinstatement fees:  

  a. Nonrestricted manufacturer 
permit 

$240 

  b. Restricted manufacturer permit $210 

  c. Wholesale distributor license $240 

  d. Warehouser permit $240 

  e. Nonresident wholesale distributor $240 

  f. Controlled substances registration $180 

F. Application for change or inspection fees.  

  1. Reinspection fee $150 

  2. Inspection fee for change of location, 
structural changes, or security system 
changes 

$150 

  3. Change of ownership fee $50 

  4. Change of responsible party $50 

G. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  

H. For the annual renewal due on February 28, 2010, the 
following fees shall be imposed for a license or permit:  

  1. Nonrestricted manufacturer permit $210 

  2. Restricted manufacturer permit $140 

  3. Wholesale distributor license $210 

  4. Warehouser permit $210 

  5. Nonresident wholesale distributor $210 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (18VAC110-50) 

Application for a Permit as a Restricted Manufacturer (rev. 
8/07) 3/09). 

Application for a Permit as a Nonrestricted Manufacturer 
(rev. 8/07) 3/09). 

Application for a Permit as a Warehouser (rev. 8/07) 3/09). 

Application for a License as a Wholesale Distributor (rev. 
8/07) 3/09). 

Application for a Nonresident Wholesale Distributor 
Registration (rev. 8/07) 9/08). 
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Application for a License as a Wholesale Distributor -- 
Limited Use for Distribution of Medical Gases Only (rev. 
8/07) 3/09). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1311; Filed November 4, 2009, 2:40 p.m.  

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC140-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Social Work (amending 18VAC140-20-10, 
18VAC140-20-50, 18VAC140-20-60, 18VAC140-20-70, 
18VAC140-20-105).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: December 23, 2009. 

Effective Date: January 7, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, 
Board of Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4488, FAX 
(804) 527-4435, or email evelyn.brown@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 
authority of Chapter 24 (§ 54.1-2400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 
the Code of Virginia. Section 54.1-2400 provides the Board 
of Social Work the authority to promulgate regulations to 
administer the regulatory system. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is clarity and 
flexibility so applicants, supervisees, and licensees will be 
better able to comply with requirements. Allowing more 
flexibility in face-to-face supervision requirements may 
enable a few persons to complete supervision requirements 
more quickly and obtain a license to provide social work 
services. Allowing more flexibility in continuing education 
requirements will give licensees more options and 
opportunities to obtain required hours and courses. Changes 
that allow social workers more time to focus on providing 
service to clients are beneficial to public health, safety, and 
welfare. The amendment to specifically prohibit a supervisee 
(not yet licensed) from representing himself as an 
independent practitioner protects persons who may be 
receiving services from such a person. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The proposed 
amendments are intended to clarify regulations that have been 
problematic for licensees and applicants; they address 
questions that have arisen for which the regulations did not 
clearly state board policy. Additionally, amendments make 
supervision requirements consistent and more flexible. 
Accordingly, the board does not expect the regulatory 
changes to be controversial. 

Substance: The amended regulations clarify regulations 
pertaining to practice as a candidate for licensure under 

supervision to eliminate confusing language about full-time 
and part-time and to allow more flexibility in obtaining hours 
of face-to-face supervision. An amendment specifies that a 
supervisee may not directly bill for services or represent 
himself as an independent practitioner. An amendment 
specifies that a candidate must reapply for approval if he has 
not passed the required examination within two years. 
Finally, amendments to continuing education requirements 
specify and clarify the subject matter for approved continuing 
education must pertain to the practice of social work or 
another behavioral health field, including the two hours of 
ethics or laws on practice. Amendments require that a request 
for an exemption must be made prior to the renewal date and 
allow membership on a social work board to count as two 
hours of Category II continuing education. 

Issues: The primary advantage to persons seeking licensure is 
more clarity in regulation to address questions and situations 
that have been problematic. Additionally, more flexibility in 
the regulation for face-to-face supervision will make the 
requirement more reasonable to meet. Amendments to the 
regulation for two hours of ethics and laws will expand the 
availability of courses and activities that may be used to meet 
the continuing education requirements. The restriction on 
supervisees holding themselves out as independent 
practitioners further protects the public. There are no 
disadvantages to the public. 

The primary advantage to the agency is the resolution of 
issues and questions that have taken staff and board time to 
address. Clarity and flexibility in the continuing education 
requirements and in the supervision requirements may result 
in fewer hours and meetings for board committees to address 
nonroutine applications or noncompliance in a continuing 
education audit. There are no disadvantages to the agency or 
the Commonwealth. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Social Work (Board) proposes to: 1) allow more 
flexibility for licensure candidates in obtaining face-to-face 
supervision, 2) specify that a candidate must reapply for 
approval if he has not passed the required examination within 
two years, 3) clarify that supervisees may not directly bill for 
services rendered or in any way represent themselves as 
independent, autonomous practitioners or licensed clinical 
social workers, 4) allow more flexibility for licensees to meet 
continuing education requirements, and 5) specify that a 
request for an exemption from continuing education 
compliance must be made prior to the license renewal date.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Under both the current and 
proposed regulations applicants for the clinical social worker 
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license must complete a minimum of 3,000 hours of 
supervised post-master's degree experience in the delivery of 
clinical social work services, with at least 100 of those hours 
being face-to-face supervision. The current regulations 
require that there be at least one hour of face-to-face 
supervision every week. The proposed regulations require 
that there be a minimum of one hour and a maximum of four 
hours of face-to-face supervision per 40 hours of work 
experience. This will enable greater flexibility for licensure 
candidates in obtaining face-to-face supervision in that the 40 
hours allows for breaks due to illness or vacation. The 
increased flexibility should not detract from assurance of 
supervised work. 

Currently, regulations require that a candidate take an 
examination within 2 years; but this could allow someone to 
remain an active applicant indefinitely and require the board 
to maintain the application file if he attempts passage of the 
examination once every two years. According to the 
Department of Health Professions (Department), a candidate 
who has not passed an examination within two years is 
unlikely to ever pass unless he obtains some additional 
education and/or experience to make up deficiencies in 
knowledge and/or skills. Under the proposed language a 
candidate can still take an examination once every 90 days; so 
within a two-year period, he can attempt the exam 8 times.  

The Board proposes to specify that continuing education 
courses used to satisfy the licensure renewal requirement be 
directly related to the practice of social work or another 
behavioral health field. Also, the Board proposes to allow 
additionally flexibility in obtaining ethics training.  The 
proposed amendments will allow for more flexibility in 
meeting the continuing education requirements by generally 
allowing courses related to any behavioral health field and by 
allowing the two hours to pertain to ethics or standards of 
practice for the behavioral health professions. 

The current regulations allow up to 2 hours of continuing 
education credit for serving as an officer or committee 
member of a national professional social work association. 
The Board proposes to grant the same two credit hours for 
membership on a state social work licensing board, which 
according to the Department is an activity more likely to 
educate one in the laws and standards of the profession. Thus 
this proposed change will produce a net benefit. 

Lastly, the Board proposes to specify that a request for an 
exemption from continuing education compliance must be 
made prior to the renewal date. The requirement is necessary 
to ensure the circumstances are legitimate and not used as an 
excuse to avoid compliance with an audit of continuing 
education two years after a renewal date. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
potentially affect the 4855 licensed clinical social workers 
and 302 licensed social workers in Virginia, candidates for 
licensure, firms and government agencies that employ 

licensed clinical social workers and licensed social workers, 
and providers of continuing education. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal amendments 
are not expected to significantly affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposals to allow more flexibility for licensees to meet 
continuing education requirements and for license candidates 
to obtain face-to-face supervision may allow staff of some 
firms to use their time more efficiently.  

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposals to 
allow more flexibility for licensees to meet continuing 
education requirements and for license candidates to obtain 
face-to-face supervision may allow staff of some small firms 
to use their time more efficiently. This may moderately 
reduce costs. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments are not expected 
to adversely affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect real estate development 
costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, Section 
2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Board of Social 
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Work concurs with the analysis of the Department of 
Planning and Budget on proposed amended regulations for 
18VAC140-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of Social 
Work, relating to supervision, examination and continuing 
education. 

Summary:  

The proposed amendments (i) allow more flexibility for 
licensure candidates in obtaining hours of face-to-face 
supervision; (ii) specify that a candidate must reapply for 
approval if he has not passed the required examination 
within two years; (iii) clarify that supervisees may not 
directly bill for services rendered or in any way represent 
themselves as independent, autonomous practitioners, or 
licensed clinical social workers; (iv) allow more flexibility 
for licensees to meet continuing education requirements; 
and (v) specify that a request for an exemption from 
continuing education compliance must be made prior to 
the license renewal date. 

Part I  
General Provisions  

18VAC140-20-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-3700 of 
the Code of Virginia: 

Board 

Casework 

Casework management and supportive services 

Clinical social worker 

Practice of social work 

Social worker 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Accredited school of social work" means a school of social 
work accredited by the Council on Social Work Education. 

"Clinical course of study" means graduate course work 
which includes specialized advanced courses in human 
behavior and social environment, social policy, research, 
clinical practice with individuals, families, groups and a 
clinical practicum which focuses on diagnostic, prevention 
and treatment services. 

"Clinical social work services" include the application of 
social work principles and methods in performing 
assessments and diagnoses based on a recognized manual of 
mental and emotional disorders or recognized system of 
problem definition, preventive and early intervention services 
and treatment services, including but not limited to 
psychotherapy and counseling for mental disorders, substance 

abuse, marriage and family dysfunction, and problems caused 
by social and psychological stress or health impairment. 

"Exempt practice" is that which meets the conditions of 
exemption from the requirements of licensure as defined in 
§ 54.1-3701 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Face-to-face supervision" means the physical presence of 
the individuals involved in the supervisory relationship 
during either individual or group supervision. 

"Nonexempt practice" is that which does not meet the 
conditions of exemption from the requirements of licensure as 
defined in § 54.1-3701 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Supervisee" means an individual who has submitted a 
supervisory contract and has received board approval to 
provide clinical services in social work under supervision. 

"Supervision" means a professional relationship between a 
supervisor and supervisee in which the supervisor directs, 
monitors and evaluates the supervisee's social work practice 
while promoting development of the supervisee's knowledge, 
skills and abilities to provide social work services in an 
ethical and competent manner. 

18VAC140-20-50. Education and experience requirements 
for licensed clinical social worker. 

A. Education. The applicant shall hold a minimum of a 
master's degree from an accredited school of social work. 
Graduates of foreign institutions shall establish the 
equivalency of their education to this requirement through the 
Foreign Equivalency Determination Service of the Council of 
Social Work Education. 

1. The degree program shall have included a graduate 
clinical course of study; or 

2. The applicant shall provide documentation of having 
completed specialized experience, course work or training 
acceptable to the board as equivalent to a clinical course of 
study. 

B. Supervised experience. Supervised experience in all 
settings obtained in Virginia without prior written board 
approval will not be accepted toward licensure. Supervision 
begun before November 26, 2008, that met the requirements 
of this section in effect prior to that date will be accepted until 
November 26, 2012. 

1. Registration. An individual who proposes to obtain 
supervised post-master's degree experience in Virginia 
shall, prior to the onset of such supervision: 

a. Register on a form provided by the board and 
completed by the supervisor and the supervised 
individual; and  

b. Pay the registration of supervision fee set forth in 
18VAC140-20-30. 
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2. Hours. The applicant shall have completed a minimum 
of 3,000 hours of supervised post-master's degree 
experience in the delivery of clinical social work services. 
A minimum of one hour and a maximum of four hours of 
face-to-face supervision shall be provided each week per 
40 hours of work experience for a total of at least 100 
hours.  

No more than 50 of the 100 hours may be obtained in 
group supervision, nor shall there be more than six persons 
being supervised in a group unless approved in advance by 
the board. The board may consider alternatives to face-to-
face supervision if the applicant can demonstrate an undue 
burden due to hardship, disability or geography. 

a. Experience shall be acquired in no less than two nor 
more than four years. 

b. Supervisees shall average no less than 15 hours per 
week in face-to-face client contact for a minimum of 
1,380 hours. The remaining hours may be spent in 
ancillary duties and activities supporting the delivery of 
clinical services. 

3. An individual who does not complete the supervision 
requirement after four years of supervised experience shall 
submit evidence to the board showing why the training 
should be allowed to continue. 

C. Requirements for supervisors. 

1. The supervisor shall hold an active, unrestricted license 
as a licensed clinical social worker in the jurisdiction in 
which the clinical services are being rendered with at least 
three years of postlicensure clinical social work 
experience. The board may consider supervisors with 
commensurate qualifications if the applicant can 
demonstrate an undue burden due to geography or 
disability. 

2. The supervisor shall have received professional training 
in supervision, consisting of a three credit-hour graduate 
course in supervision or at least 14 hours of continuing 
education offered by a provider approved under 
18VAC140-20-105. The graduate course or hours of 
continuing education in supervision shall be obtained by a 
supervisor within five years immediately preceding 
registration of supervision. 

3. The supervisor shall not provide supervision for a 
member of his immediate family or provide supervision for 
anyone with whom he has a dual relationship. 

D. Responsibilities of supervisors. The supervisor shall: 

1. Be responsible for the social work activities of the 
supervisee as set forth in this subsection once the 
supervisory arrangement is accepted; 

2. Review and approve the diagnostic assessment and 
treatment plan of a representative sample of the clients 

assigned to the applicant during the course of supervision. 
The sample should be representative of the variables of 
gender, age, diagnosis, length of treatment and treatment 
method within the client population seen by the applicant. 
It is the applicant's responsibility to assure the 
representativeness of the sample that is presented to the 
supervisor; 

3. Provide supervision only for those social work activities 
for which the supervisor has determined the applicant is 
competent to provide to clients; 

4. Provide supervision only for those activities for which 
the supervisor is qualified by education, training and 
experience;  

5. Evaluate the supervisee's knowledge and document 
minimal competencies in the areas of an identified theory 
base, application of a differential diagnosis, establishing 
and monitoring a treatment plan, development and 
appropriate use of the professional relationship, assessing 
the client for risk of imminent danger, and implementing a 
professional and ethical relationship with clients; 

6. Be available to the applicant on a regularly scheduled 
basis for supervision; and 

7. Maintain documentation, for five years postsupervision, 
of which clients were the subject of supervision. 

E. Supervisees may not directly bill for services rendered or 
in any way represent themselves as independent, autonomous 
practitioners, or licensed clinical social workers. During the 
supervised experience, supervisees shall use their names and 
the initials of their degree, and the title "Supervisee in Social 
Work" in all written communications. Clients shall be 
informed in writing of the supervisee's status and the 
supervisor's name, professional address, and phone number. 

18VAC140-20-60. Education and experience requirements 
for licensed social worker. 

A. Education. The applicant shall hold a bachelor's or a 
master's degree from an accredited school of social work. 
Graduates of foreign institutions must establish the 
equivalency of their education to this requirement through the 
Foreign Equivalency Determination Service of the Council on 
Social Work Education. 

B. Master's degree applicant. An applicant who holds a 
master's degree may apply for licensure as a licensed social 
worker without documentation of supervised experience. 

C. Bachelor's degree applicant. Supervised experience in all 
settings obtained in Virginia without prior written board 
approval will not be accepted toward licensure. Supervision 
begun before November 26, 2008, that met the requirements 
of this section in effect prior to that date will be accepted until 
November 26, 2012. 
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1. Hours. Bachelor's degree applicants shall have 
completed a minimum of 3,000 hours of full-time 
supervised post-bachelor's degree experience or the 
equivalent in part-time experience in casework 
management and supportive services under supervision 
satisfactory to the board. A minimum of one hour and a 
maximum of four hours of face-to-face supervision shall be 
provided each week for the period of supervision per 40 
hours of work experience for a total of at least 100 hours.  

2. Experience shall be acquired in no less than two nor 
more than four years from the beginning of the supervised 
experience. 

D. Requirements for supervisors. 

1. The supervisor providing supervision shall hold an 
active, unrestricted license as a licensed social worker with 
a master's degree, or a licensed social worker with a 
bachelor's degree and at least three years of postlicensure 
social work experience or a licensed clinical social worker 
in the jurisdiction in which the social work services are 
being rendered. If this requirement places an undue burden 
on the applicant due to geography or disability, the board 
may consider individuals with comparable qualifications. 

2. The supervisor shall: 

a. Be responsible for the social work practice of the 
prospective applicant once the supervisory arrangement 
is accepted by the board; 

b. Review and approve the assessment and service plan 
of a representative sample of cases assigned to the 
applicant during the course of supervision. The sample 
should be representative of the variables of gender, age, 
assessment, length of service and casework method 
within the client population seen by the applicant. It is 
the applicant's responsibility to assure the 
representativeness of the sample that is presented to the 
supervisor. The supervisor shall be available to the 
applicant on a regularly scheduled basis for supervision. 
The supervisor will maintain documentation, for five 
years post supervision, of which clients were the subject 
of supervision;  

c. Provide supervision only for those casework 
management and support services activities for which the 
supervisor has determined the applicant is competent to 
provide to clients;  

d. Provide supervision only for those activities for which 
the supervisor is qualified; and  

e. Evaluate the supervisee in the areas of professional 
ethics and professional competency. 

3. Supervision between members of the immediate family 
(to include spouses, parents, and siblings) will not be 
approved.  

Part III  
Examinations  

18VAC140-20-70. Examination requirement. 

A. An applicant for licensure by the board as a social worker 
or clinical social worker shall pass a written examination 
prescribed by the board. 

B. The board shall establish passing scores on the written 
examination. 

C. A candidate approved by the board to sit for an 
examination shall take that examination within two years of 
the date of the initial board approval. If the candidate has not 
taken passed the examination by the end of the two-year 
period here prescribed, the applicant shall reapply according 
to the requirements of the regulations in effect at that time. 

18VAC140-20-105. Continued competency requirements 
for renewal of an active license.  

A. Licensed clinical social workers shall be required to have 
completed a minimum of 30 contact hours of continuing 
education and licensed social workers shall be required to 
have completed a minimum of 15 contact hours of continuing 
education for each biennial licensure renewal. Courses or 
activities shall be directly related to the practice of social 
work or another behavioral health field. A minimum of two 
of those hours must pertain to ethics or the standards of 
practice and for the behavioral health professions or to laws 
governing the profession practice of social work in Virginia, 
or the Code of Ethics of one of the social work professional 
associations listed under subdivision B 1 d. 

1. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up 
to one year for the completion of continuing education 
requirements upon written request from the licensee prior 
to the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the 
licensee of the continuing education requirement. 

2. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 
continuing education requirements due to circumstances 
beyond the control of the licensee such as temporary 
disability, mandatory military service, or officially 
declared disasters upon written request from the licensee 
prior to the renewal date. 

B. Hours may be obtained from a combination of board-
approved activities in the following two categories:  

1. Category I. Formally Organized Learning Activities. A 
minimum of 20 hours for licensed clinical social workers 
or 10 hours for licensed social workers shall be 
documented in this category, which shall include one or 
more of the following: 

a. Regionally accredited university or college academic 
courses in a behavioral health discipline. A maximum of 
15 hours will be accepted for each academic course. 
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b. Continuing education programs offered by universities 
or colleges accredited by the Council on Social Work 
Education. 

c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the 
behavioral health field offered by federal, state or local 
social service agencies, public school systems or licensed 
health facilities and licensed hospitals. 

d. Workshops, seminars, conferences or courses in the 
behavioral health field offered by an individual or 
organization that has been certified or approved by one 
of the following: 

(1) The Child Welfare League of America and its state 
and local affiliates. 

(2) The National Association of Social Workers and its 
state and local affiliates. 

(3) The Association of Black Social Workers and its state 
and local affiliates. 

(4) The Family Service Association of America and its 
state and local affiliates. 

(5) The Clinical Social Work Federation Association and 
its state and local affiliates. 

(6) Individuals or organizations who have been approved 
as continuing education sponsors by the The Association 
of Social Work Boards or any state social work board. 

(7) Any state social work board. 

2. Category II. Individual Professional Activities. A 
maximum of 10 of the required 30 hours for licensed 
clinical social workers or a maximum of five of the 
required 15 hours for licensed social workers may be 
earned in this category, which shall include one or more of 
the following: 

a. Participation in an Association of Social Work Boards 
item writing workshop. (Activity will count for a 
maximum of two hours.)  

b. Publication of a professional social work-related book 
or initial preparation/presentation of a social work-related 
course. (Activity will count for a maximum of 10 hours.) 

c. Publication of a professional social work-related article 
or chapter of a book, or initial preparation/presentation of 
a social work-related in-service training, seminar or 
workshop. (Activity will count for a maximum of five 
hours.) 

d. Provision of a continuing education program 
sponsored or approved by an organization listed under 
Category I. (Activity will count for a maximum of two 
hours and will only be accepted one time for any specific 
program.) 

e. Field instruction of graduate students in a Council on 
Social Work Education-accredited school. (Activity will 
count for a maximum of two hours.) 

f. Serving as an officer or committee member of one of 
the national professional social work associations listed 
under subdivision B 1 d of this section or as a member of 
a state social work licensing board. (Activity will count 
for a maximum of two hours.) 

g. Attendance at formal staffings at federal, state or local 
social service agencies, public school systems or licensed 
health facilities and licensed hospitals. (Activity will 
count for a maximum of five hours.) 

h. Independent Individual or group study including 
listening to audio tapes, viewing video tapes, reading, 
professional books or articles. (Activity will count for a 
maximum of five hours.) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2039; Filed November 4, 2009, 2:41 p.m.  

BOARD FOR WATERWORKS AND WASTEWATER 
WORKS OPERATORS AND ONSITE SEWAGE 

SYSTEM PROFESSIONALS 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC160-20. Board for Waterworks 
and Wastewater Works Operators Regulations (amending 
18VAC160-20-10 through 18VAC160-20-150; repealing 
18VAC160-20-85). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2301 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2010.  

Agency Contact: David E. Dick, Executive Director, Board 
for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite 
Sewage System Professionals, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX 
(804) 527-4297, or email waterwasteoper@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) add continuing professional education 
(CPE) as a requirement for wastewater works operator 
license renewal; (ii) specify that safety subjects may not 
count for more than one-half of the CPE requirement for 
both waterworks operator licenses and wastewater works 
operator licenses; (iii) allow the development and teaching 
of CPE courses to apply toward CPE credit; (iv) clarify the 
scope of the board's disciplinary authority over fraudulent 
attempts to obtain or renew a license; (v) delineate the 
types of waterworks and wastewater works facilities that 
may be operated by a Class 1 license holder; (vi) add 
distance learning to the definition of "structured training 
activity"; (vii) repeal the restricted Class VI waterworks 
license provisions; and (viii) make other changes for 
consistency and clarification purposes. 
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Changes since the proposed stage: (i) amend definitions to 
allow licensed operators to complete mandatory 
continuing education through distance learning, (ii) add a 
definition of "training credit or education credit" to 
prevent applicants from using classes completed toward a 
degree as an experience exemption for a license (because 
the degree was already taken into account under entry 
requirements), and (iii) clarify that continuing education 
requirements for wastewater works operators begin at the 
start of the next licensing cycle, which begins on March 1, 
2010. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part I  
Definitions 

18VAC160-20-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Alternative onsite sewage system" means a treatment works 
that is not a conventional onsite sewage system and does not 
result in a point source discharge. 

"Alternative onsite sewage system installer" means an 
individual licensed by the board to construct, install, and 
repair conventional and alternative onsite sewage systems. 

"Alternative onsite sewage system operator" means an 
individual licensed by the board to operate and maintain 
conventional and alternative onsite sewage systems. 

"Alternative onsite soil evaluator" means an individual 
licensed by the board to evaluate soils and soil properties in 
relationship to the effect of these properties on the use and 
management of these soils as the locations for conventional 
and alternative onsite sewage systems, to certify in 
accordance with applicable state regulations and local 
ordinances that sites are suitable for conventional and 
alternative onsite sewage systems, and to design conventional 
and alternative onsite sewage systems suitable for the soils. 

"Authorized onsite soil evaluator" or "AOSE" means an 
individual holding an authorized onsite soil evaluator 
certification issued by the Virginia Department of Health that 
was valid on June 30, 2009. 

"Board" means the Board for Waterworks and Wastewater 
Works Operators and Onsite Sewage System Professionals or 
any successor agency. 

"Category" means waterworks operator, wastewater works 
operator, onsite soil evaluator, onsite sewage system installer, 
and onsite sewage system operator. 

"Classification" means the divisions of within each category 
of waterworks and wastewater works operators' licenses into 
classes where Class "I" "1" represents the highest 
classification. 

"Classified facility" means a waterworks that has been 
granted a classification by the Virginia Department of Health 
or a wastewater works that has been granted a classification 
by the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality. 

"Contact hour" means 50 minutes of participation in a 
structured training activity. 

"Continuing Professional Education (CPE)" means 
participation in a structured training activity that enables a 
licensee to maintain and increase the competence required to 
assure the public's protection. 

"Conventional onsite sewage system" means a treatment 
works consisting of one or more septic tanks with gravity, 
pumped, or siphoned conveyance to a gravity distributed 
subsurface drain field. 

"Conventional onsite sewage system installer" means an 
individual licensed to construct, install, and repair 
conventional onsite sewage systems. 

"Conventional onsite sewage system operator" means an 
individual licensed by the board to operate and maintain a 
conventional onsite sewage system. 

"Conventional onsite soil evaluator" means an individual 
licensed by the board to evaluate soils and soil properties in 
relationship to the effects of these properties on the use and 
management of these soils as the locations for conventional 
and alternative onsite sewage systems, to certify in 
accordance with applicable state regulations and local 
ordinances that sites are suitable for conventional and 
alternative onsite sewage systems, and to design conventional 
onsite sewage systems suitable for the soils. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation. 

"Direct supervision" means being responsible for the 
compliance with this chapter by any unlicensed individual 
who, for the purpose of obtaining the necessary competence 
to qualify for licensure, is engaged in activities requiring an 
operator, installer, or evaluator license. 

"Direct supervisor" means a licensed operator, installer, or 
evaluator who undertakes the supervision of an unlicensed 
individual engaged in activities requiring a license for the 
purpose of obtaining the competence necessary to qualify for 
licensure and who shall be responsible for the unlicensed 
individual's full compliance with this chapter. 

[ "Distance learning" means participation in a training 
activity, with or without interaction with an instructor, that 
utilizes DVD's, videos, or other audio/visual materials, or is 
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computer-based. Documentation of distance learning must 
meet the requirements of 18VAC160-20-109 D. ] 

"Experience" means time spent learning how to physically 
and theoretically operate the waterworks, wastewater works, 
or onsite sewage system as an operator-in-training or time 
spent operating a waterworks or wastewater works for which 
the operator is currently licensed for the purpose of obtaining 
the necessary competence to qualify for a specific license. 
Experience also means the time spent under the direct 
supervision of an authorized onsite soil evaluator, onsite soil 
evaluator licensee, onsite sewage system installer licensee or 
onsite site sewage system operator licensee for the purpose of 
obtaining the necessary competence to qualify for a specific 
license. 

"Interim license" means a method of regulation whereby the 
board authorizes an unlicensed individual to engage in 
activities requiring a specific license provided for in this 
chapter for a limited time to obtain the necessary competence 
to qualify for that specific license. 

"Interim licensee" means an individual holding a valid 
interim license. 

"Licensed operator" means an operator with a license in the 
category of onsite sewage systems operator, waterworks 
operator, or wastewater works operator. For waterworks 
operators and wastewater works operators, the license 
classification must be equal to or higher than the 
classification of the waterworks or wastewater works being 
operated. 

"Licensee" means an individual holding a valid license 
issued by the board.  

"Licensure" means a method of regulation whereby the 
Commonwealth, through the issuance of a license, authorizes 
a person possessing the character and minimum skills to 
engage in the practice of a profession or occupation that is 
unlawful to practice without a license.  

"Maintenance" or "maintain" means performing adjustments 
to equipment and controls and in-kind replacement of normal 
wear and tear parts such as light bulbs, fuses, filters, pumps, 
motors, or other like components. Maintenance includes 
pumping the tanks or cleaning the building sewer on a 
periodic basis. Maintenance shall not include replacement of 
tanks, drain field piping, distribution boxes, or work requiring 
a construction permit and a licensed onsite sewage system 
installer. 

"Nonclassified facility" means a facility located in Virginia 
that has not been classified by the Virginia Department of 
Health or a facility that has not been classified by the Virginia 
Department of Environmental Quality.  

"Onsite sewage system" means a conventional onsite sewage 
system or an alternative onsite sewage system. 

"Operate" means any act of an individual that may impact 
on the finished water quality at a waterworks, the plant 
effluent at a wastewater works, or the effluent at an onsite 
sewage system. 

"Operating staff" means individuals employed or appointed 
by an owner to work at a waterworks or wastewater works.  

"Operator" means any individual employed or appointed by 
any owner, and who is designated by such owner to be the 
person in responsible charge, such as a supervisor, a shift 
operator, or a substitute in charge, and whose duties include 
testing or evaluation to control waterworks, wastewater works 
operations, or to operate onsite sewage systems. Not included 
in this definition are superintendents or directors of public 
works, city engineers, or other municipal or industrial 
officials whose duties do not include the actual operation or 
direct supervision of waterworks or wastewater works. 

"Operator-in-training" means an individual employed by an 
owner to work under the direct supervision and direction of 
an operator holding a valid license in the proper category and 
classification for the purpose of gaining experience and 
knowledge in the duties and responsibilities of an operator of 
a waterworks, wastewater works, or onsite sewage system. 
An operator-in-training is not an operator. 

"Owner" means the Commonwealth of Virginia, or any 
political subdivision thereof, any public or private institution, 
corporation, association, or any other entity organized or 
existing under the laws of this Commonwealth or of any other 
state or nation, or any person or group of persons acting 
individually or as a group, who own, propose to own, 
manage, or maintain waterworks, wastewater works, or onsite 
sewage systems. 

"Provisional licensee" means an individual holding a valid 
provisional license issued by the board. 

"Provisional licensure" or "provisional license" means a 
method of regulation whereby the Commonwealth recognizes 
an individual as having met specific standards but who is not 
authorized to operate a classified facility until he has met the 
remaining requirements for licensure and has been issued a 
license. 

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license 
for another period of time. 

"Responsible charge" means the designation by the owner of 
any individual to have the duty and the authority to operate a 
waterworks, wastewater works, or onsite sewage system. 

"Sewage" means water-carried and nonwater-carried human 
excrement, kitchen, laundry, shower, bath or lavatory wastes 
separately or together with such underground, surface, storm 
or other water and liquid industrial wastes as may be present 
from residences, buildings, vehicles, industrial establishments 
or other places. 
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"Sewage handler" means any person who removes or 
contracts to remove and transports by vehicle the contents of 
any septic tank, sewage treatment plant, privy, holding tank, 
portable toilet, or other treatment or holding device, or any 
sewage, septage or sewage sludges and who is permitted 
under the Sewage Handling and Disposal Regulations 
(12VAC5-610) or successor regulation. 

"Sewerage system" means pipelines or conduits, pumping 
stations and force mains, and all other construction, devices 
and appliances appurtenant thereto, used for the collection 
and conveyance of sewage to a treatment works or point of 
ultimate disposal, as defined in the Sewage Handling and 
Disposal Regulations (12VAC5-610). 

"Structured training activity" means a formal educational 
process designed to permit a participant to learn a given 
subject or subjects through interaction with an instructor in a 
course, seminar, conference, [ distance learning, ] or other 
performance-oriented format [ , or distance learning ]. 

[ "Training credit or education credit" means a unit of board-
approved training or formal education completed by an 
individual that may be used to substitute for experience when 
applying for a license. Formal education used to meet a 
specific education requirement for license entry cannot also 
be used as a training credit for experience substitution. ] 

"Transportation" means the vehicular conveyance of 
sewage, as defined in § 32.1-163 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Treatment works" means any device or system used in the 
storage, treatment, disposal or reclamation of sewage or 
combinations of sewage and industrial wastes including, but 
not limited to, pumping, power and other equipment and 
appurtenances, septic tanks and any works, including land, 
that are or will be (i) an integral part of the treatment process 
or (ii) used for ultimate disposal of residues or effluent 
resulting from such treatment. 

"VDH" means Virginia Department of Health. 

"Wastewater works" means a system of (i) sewerage 
systems or sewage treatment works serving more than 400 
persons, as set forth in § 62.1-44.18 of the Code of Virginia; 
(ii) sewerage systems or sewage treatment works serving 
fewer than 400 persons, as set forth in § 62.1-44.18 of the 
Code of Virginia, if so certified by the State Water Control 
Board; and (iii) facilities for discharge into state waters of 
industrial wastes or other wastes, if certified by the State 
Water Control Board.  

"Wastewater works operator" means any individual 
employed or appointed by any owner, who is designated by 
such owner to be the person in responsible charge, such as a 
supervisor, a shift operator, or a substitute in charge, and 
whose duties include testing or evaluation to control 
wastewater works operations. Superintendents or directors of 
public works, city engineers, or other municipal or industrial 

officials whose duties do not include the actual operation or 
direct supervision of wastewater works are not included in 
this definition. 

"Waterworks" means a system that serves piped water for 
drinking or domestic use to (i) at least 15 connections or (ii) 
at least 25 of the same individuals for more than six months 
out of the year. The term waterworks shall include all 
structures, equipment, and appurtenances used in the storage, 
collection, purification, treatment and distribution of pure 
water, except the piping and fixtures inside the building 
where such water is delivered.  

"Waterworks operator" means any individual employed or 
appointed by any owner, who is designated by such owner to 
be the person in responsible charge, such as a supervisor, a 
shift operator, or a substitute in charge, and whose duties 
include testing or evaluation to control waterworks 
operations. Superintendents or directors of public works, city 
engineers, or other municipal or industrial officials whose 
duties do not include the actual operation or direct 
supervision of waterworks are not included in this definition. 

18VAC160-20-85. Restricted License of Class VI 
Waterworks. (Repealed.) 

A. The board shall issue a restricted license to operate a 
Class VI waterworks to the Class VI waterworks owner or the 
Class VI waterworks owner's designee upon application for 
such restricted license by the waterworks owner or his 
designee and provided said application is received by 
February 15, 2003. Waterworks owners or their designees 
who fail to apply by February 15, 2003, must apply for a 
license pursuant to 18VAC160-20-90. A restricted license 
shall be limited to one license per Class VI waterworks 
facility. The restricted license is site specific and 
nontransferable. The restricted license expires three years 
from the date of issuance and is not subject to renewal.  

B. Each applicant for a restricted license to operate a Class 
VI waterworks shall apply on the application form provided 
by the board which establishes that the applicant:  

1. Is at least 18 years of age;  

2. Has a high school diploma or G.E.D. and six months 
experience, or has no high school diploma or G.E.D. and 
has 12 months experience;  

3. Is the current operator of a specific Class VI system and 
does not hold a waterworks license issued by the board; 
and  

4. Understands that the restricted Class VI license that may 
be issued becomes invalid if he leaves the facility for 
which the license is sought or is issued a waterworks 
operator license in any other class.  
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18VAC160-20-90. Qualifications for licensure of 
waterworks operators and wastewater works operators. 

A. Waterworks operator and wastewater works operator 
licensure is based upon having applicable experience and 
demonstrating minimum required knowledge, skills, and 
abilities through an examination. Education, training, and 
experience in the other category may be substituted for the 
required experience as specified in this section.  

B. Experience. For purposes of this section, experience 
requirements are expressed in terms of calendar periods of 
full-time employment as an operator or as an operator-in-
training at a waterworks or wastewater works in the same 
category as the license being applied for. All experience 
claimed on the application for licensure must be certified by 
the individual's immediate supervisor.  

1. A year of full-time employment is defined as a 
minimum of 1,760 hours during a 12-month period or a 
minimum of 220 workdays in a 12-month period. A 
workday is defined as attendance at a waterworks or 
wastewater works to the extent required for proper 
operation. More than 1,760 hours or 220 work days during 
a 12-month period will not be considered as more than one 
year of full-time employment. 

2. Experience gained as an operator-in-training must be 
obtained under the direct supervision of an operator 
holding a valid license of the same category and of a 
classification equal to or higher than the classification of 
the waterworks or wastewater works at which the 
experience is gained. The supervising operator direct 
supervisor shall certify the experience on the application 
form as accurate and relevant to the classification and 
category of license for which the application is being 
submitted. In the event that a licensed operator is not 
available to certify the experience on the application, the 
experience may be certified by a representative of the 
facility owner, as defined in 18VAC160-20-10, with first-
hand knowledge of the applicant's experience. 

3. Partial credit may be given for actual hours of work or 
workdays experience if the applicant works as an operator 
or as an operator-in-training less than full time.  

4. Experience solely limited to the operation and 
maintenance of wastewater collection systems and water 
distribution systems, laboratory work, plant maintenance, 
and other nonoperating duties shall not be counted as 
experience as an operator or as an operator-in-training.  

5. Experience limited to water distribution system 
operation and maintenance shall be considered only when 
applying for a Class V 5 or Class VI 6 waterworks operator 
license.  

C. Specific requirements for licenses.  

1. Specific requirements for a Class VI 6 license. 
Applicants for licensure as a Class VI 6 waterworks 
operator shall meet one of the following requirements and 
pass a board-approved Class 6 examination:  

a. Have (i) a high school diploma or GED and (ii) at least 
six months of experience as an operator-in-training in a 
Class VI 6, Class V 5, Class IV 4, Class III 3, Class II 2, 
or Class I 1 waterworks; or  

b. Have (i) no high school diploma and (ii) at least one 
year of experience as an operator-in-training in a Class 
VI 6, Class V 5, Class IV 4, Class III 3, Class II 2, or 
Class I 1 waterworks.  

2. Specific requirements for a Class V 5 license. 
Applicants for licensure as a Class V 5 waterworks 
operator shall meet one of the following requirements and 
pass a board-approved Class 5 examination:  

a. Have (i) a high school diploma or GED and (ii) at least 
six months of experience as an operator-in-training in a 
Class V 5, Class IV 4, Class III 3, Class II 2, or Class I 1 
waterworks; or  

b. Have (i) no high school diploma and (ii) at least one 
year of experience as an operator-in-training in a Class V 
5, Class IV 4, Class III 3, Class II 2, or Class I 1 
waterworks.  

3. Specific requirements for a Class IV 4 license. 
Applicants for licensure as either a Class IV 4 waterworks 
or wastewater works operator shall meet one of the 
following requirements and pass a the appropriate board-
approved Class 4 examination:  

a. Have (i) a high school diploma or GED and (ii) at least 
six months of experience as an operator-in-training in a 
Class IV 4, Class III 3, Class II 2, or Class I 1 
waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate); or  

b. Have (i) no high school diploma and (ii) at least one 
year of experience as an operator-in-training in a Class 
IV 4, Class III 3, Class II 2, or Class I 1 waterworks or 
wastewater works (as appropriate).  

Experience obtained as a licensed alternative onsite 
sewage system operator may substitute for the 
wastewater works operator-in-training experience 
requirements established under [ subparts subdivisions ] 
a and b of this subdivision. 

4. Specific requirements for a Class III 3 license. 
Applicants for licensure as either a Class III 3 waterworks 
or wastewater works operator shall meet one of the 
following requirements and pass a the appropriate board-
approved Class 3 examination:  

a. Have (i) a bachelor's or master's degree with a major in 
engineering or, engineering technology, or in a related 
physical, biological, environmental, or chemical science; 
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and (ii) at least one year of experience as an operator-in-
training in a Class IV 4, Class III 3, Class II 2, or Class I 
1 waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate); 

b. Have (i) a bachelor's degree in engineering or 
engineering technology, or in physical, biological or 
chemical science; (ii) a Class IV license; and (iii) a total 
of at least one year of experience as an operator or 
operator-in-training in a Class IV waterworks or 
wastewater works (as appropriate) or as an operator-in-
training in a Class III, Class II, or Class I waterworks or 
wastewater works (as appropriate);  

c. b. Have (i) a high school diploma or GED and (ii) at 
least two years of experience as an operator-in-training in 
a Class IV 4, Class III 3, Class II 2, or Class I 1 
waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate); or  

d. Have (i) a high school diploma or GED, (ii) a Class IV 
license, and (iii) a total of at least two years of experience 
as an operator or operator-in-training in a Class IV 
waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate) or as an 
operator-in-training in a Class III, Class II, or Class I 
waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate); or  

e. c. Have (i) no high school diploma, (ii) a Class IV 4 
license, and (iii) a total of at least four years of 
experience as an operator or operator-in-training in a 
Class IV 4 waterworks or wastewater works (as 
appropriate) or as an operator-in-training in a Class III 3, 
Class II 2, or Class I 1 waterworks or wastewater works 
(as appropriate).  

5. Specific requirements for a Class II 2 license. Applicants 
for licensure as either a Class II 2 waterworks or 
wastewater works operator shall meet one of the following 
requirements and pass a the appropriate board-approved 
Class 2 examination:  

a. Have (i) a bachelor's or master's degree with a major in 
engineering or, engineering technology, or in a related 
physical, biological, environmental, or chemical science; 
and (ii) a total of at least 1-1/2 years 18 months of 
experience, of which at least six nine months without 
substitutions shall be as an operator-in-training in a Class 
III 3, Class II 2 or Class I 1 waterworks or wastewater 
works (as appropriate);  

b. Have (i) a bachelor's degree in engineering or 
engineering technology, or in physical, biological or 
chemical science; (ii) a Class IV license; and (iii) a total 
of at least 1-1/2 years of experience, of which at least six 
months without substitutions shall be as an operator-in-
training in a Class III, Class II or Class I waterworks or 
wastewater works (as appropriate);  

c. Have (i) a bachelor's degree in engineering or 
engineering technology, or in physical, biological or 
chemical science; (ii) a Class III license; and (iii) a total 

of at least 1-1/2 years of experience, of which at least six 
months, without substitutions shall be as an operator or 
operator-in-training in a Class III waterworks or 
wastewater works (as appropriate) or as an operator-in-
training in a Class II or Class I waterworks or wastewater 
works (as appropriate);  

d. b. Have (i) a high school diploma or GED, (ii) a Class 
III 3 license, and (iii) a total of at least four three years of 
experience of which at least two years 18 months without 
substitutions shall be as an operator or operator-in-
training in a Class III 3 waterworks or wastewater works 
(as appropriate) or as an operator-in-training in a Class II 
2 or Class I 1 waterworks or wastewater works (as 
appropriate); or  

e. c. Have (i) no high school diploma, (ii) a Class III 3 
license, and (iii) a total of at least seven six years of 
experience of which at least three years without 
substitutions shall be as an operator or operator-in-
training in a Class III 3 waterworks or wastewater works 
(as appropriate) or as an operator-in-training in a Class II 
2 or Class I 1 waterworks or wastewater works (as 
appropriate).  

6. Specific requirements for a Class I 1 license. Applicants 
for licensure as either a Class I 1 waterworks or wastewater 
works operator shall meet one of the following 
requirements and pass a the appropriate board-approved 
Class 1 examination:  

a. Have (i) a bachelor's or master's degree with a major in 
engineering or engineering technology, or in a related 
physical, biological, environmental, or chemical science; 
(ii) a Class II 2 license; and (iii) a total of at least 2-1/2 
years of experience, of which at least one year 15 months 
without substitutions shall be as an operator or operator-
in-training in a Class II 2 waterworks or wastewater 
works (as appropriate) or as an operator-in-training in a 
Class I 1 waterworks or wastewater works (as 
appropriate);  

b. Have (i) a high school diploma or GED, (ii) a Class II 
2 license and (iii) a total of at least six five years of 
experience of which at least two years 30 months without 
substitutions shall be as an operator or operator-in-
training in a Class II 2 waterworks or wastewater works 
(as appropriate) or as an operator-in-training in a Class I 
1 waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate); or  

c. Have (i) no high school diploma, (ii) a Class II 2 
license, and (iii) a total of at least 10 years of experience 
of which at least three five years without substitutions 
shall be as an operator or operator-in-training in a Class 
II 2 waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate) or 
as an operator-in-training in a Class I 1 waterworks or 
wastewater works (as appropriate). 
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D. Substitutions for required experience. For the purpose of 
meeting the experience requirements for Class III 3, Class II 
2, and Class I 1 licenses, experience in the other category, 
relevant training in waterworks and wastewater works 
operation, and formal education may be substituted for actual 
hands-on experience in the category being applied for.  

1. Category experience substitution. One half of the actual 
experience gained in the other category may be substituted 
for required experience in the category of the license being 
applied for.  

2. Education substitution. Education may be substituted for 
part of the required experience in the category of the 
license being applied for, subject to the following 
limitations:  

a. Education used to meet the educational requirements 
for any class of license may not be substituted for 
experience.  

b. Formal education courses at a post-secondary level in 
a related physical, biological or, environmental, or 
chemical science; engineering or engineering technology; 
waterworks or wastewater works operation; or public 
health may be substituted for part of the required 
experience. 

(1) All education substituted for experience must be 
relevant to the category and classification of the license 
being applied for.  

(2) Education may be substituted for experience at a rate 
of up to one month experience for each semester hour of 
college credit approved by the board. One quarter hour of 
college credit will be considered equal to two thirds of a 
semester hour. 

(3) Substitution of formal education experience will be 
approved by the board only for applicants who submit a 
transcript from the institution where the course was 
taken.  

c. Training substitution. Waterworks or wastewater 
works operator training courses, seminars, workshops, or 
similar training, specifically approved by the board, may 
be substituted for part of the required experience.  

(1) All training substituted for experience must be 
relevant to the category and classification of the license 
being applied for. 

(2) Training may be substituted for experience at a rate of 
one month experience for each training credit approved 
by the board. Up to one training credit is awarded for 
each 10 hours of classroom contact time or for each 20 
hours of laboratory exercise and field trip contact time. 
No credit towards training credits is granted for breaks, 
meals, receptions, and time other than classroom, 
laboratory and field trip contact time.  

(3) All courses used for substitution must be approved by 
utilizing the criteria set forth in Part VI (18VAC160-20-
150) of this chapter.  

(4) Substitution of training for experience will be 
approved by the board only for applicants who submit a 
copy of an appropriate certificate identifying the subject 
matter of the course and the training credit value, and 
signed by a representative of the organization sponsoring 
the training.  

3. Limitations on substitution.  

a. Under no circumstances shall category experience, 
education, and training substitutions exceed 50% of the 
total experience required under this subsection B of this 
section.  

b. No category experience, education, or training 
substitutions are permitted for the experience required to 
obtain a Class VI 6, Class V 5 or a Class IV 4 license as 
specified in subsection C of this section. 

18VAC160-20-95. Provisional licensure – nonclassified 
facility operation experience only. 

A. Each person desiring provisional licensure shall make 
application in accordance with 18VAC160-20-76 and shall 
meet all of the requirements of 18VAC160-20-90 except that 
the experience requirement may be met through experience 
gained as an operator of a nonclassified facility provided that:  

1. The experience is obtained at a nonclassified facility that 
is comparable in size and in the treatment processes used to 
those facilities described in 18VAC160-20-120 in the case 
of waterworks or to those facilities described in 
18VAC160-20-130 in the case of wastewater works. 

2. The experience is obtained while performing actual 
nonclassified facility operation duties that provide 
experience comparable to that obtained at a classified 
facility. Experience limited solely to the operation and 
maintenance of wastewater collection systems and water 
distribution systems, laboratory work, plant maintenance 
and other nonoperating duties shall not be counted as 
qualifying experience. Except that experience limited to 
water distribution system operation and maintenance at a 
nonclassified facility that is comparable to a facility 
classified as a Class V or Class VI waterworks may be 
counted for a provisional Class V or Class VI license for 
Class 1, Class 2, Class 3, or Class 4 provisional licenses 
but may be counted for a provisional Class 5 or Class 6 
license. 

B. Each applicant meeting the requirements of subsection A 
of this section shall be eligible to sit for the operator 
examination for the category and class of operator license that 
is comparable to the nonclassified facility where the 
experience was obtained. The provisional license shall not be 
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issued until all applicable requirements have been met and 
satisfactorily verified. 

C. Each individual holding provisional licensure may apply 
for licensure by submitting evidence of having met 50% of 
the experience required by 18VAC160-20-90. 

Part III  
Renewal  

18VAC160-20-106. Renewal. 

A. Licenses and provisional licenses for waterworks 
operators shall expire on the last day of February of each odd-
numbered year. Licenses and provisional licenses for 
wastewater works operators shall expire on the last day of 
February of each even-numbered year. Licenses for onsite 
soil evaluators, onsite sewage system installers, and onsite 
sewage system operators shall expire 24 months from the last 
day of the month wherein issued. Interim licenses shall expire 
48 months from the last day of the month wherein issued. 

B. Interim licenses shall not be renewed. 

C. The Department of Professional and Occupational 
Regulation shall mail a renewal notice to the licensee and the 
provisional licensee outlining the procedures for renewal. 
Renewal notices shall be mailed to the licensee and to the 
provisional licensee at the last known address of record. 
Failure to receive written notice shall not relieve the licensee 
or the provisional licensee of the obligation to renew and pay 
the required fee outlined in 18VAC160-20-102. 

D. Each licensee and provisional licensee applying for 
renewal shall return the renewal notice and fee prior to the 
expiration date shown on the license. If the licensee or 
provisional licensee fails to receive the renewal notice, a copy 
of the expired license or provisional license may be submitted 
in place of the renewal notice along with the required fee. 

E. By submitting the renewal fee, an applicant for license 
renewal is certifying his continued compliance with this 
chapter and compliance with the continuing professional 
education requirements of this chapter. 

F. The date on which the renewal fee and any required forms 
are actually received by the board or its agent shall determine 
whether an additional fee is due. 

G. If the requirements of subsection D of this section are 
met more than 30 days but less than 12 months after the 
expiration date on the license or provisional license, a late 
penalty fee shall be required as established in 18VAC160-20-
102. The date on which the renewal application, any required 
documentation and the required fees are actually received by 
the board or its agent shall determine whether the licensee or 
provisional licensee is eligible for renewal and whether an 
additional fee is due. 

H. Any individual who fails to renew his license or 
provisional license within 12 months after the expiration date 

printed on the license or the provisional license, as 
appropriate, shall apply for a new license by examination or 
for a new provisional license in accordance with Part II 
(18VAC160-20-74 et seq.) of this chapter. Such individual 
shall be deemed to be eligible to sit for the examination for 
the same category and class of license as the expired license 
or provisional license. 

I. The board may deny renewal of a license or provisional 
license for the same reasons as it may refuse initial licensure 
or provisional licensure or discipline a licensee or provisional 
licensee. 

18VAC160-20-109. Continuing professional education 
(CPE).  

A. Each licensee, provisional licensee, and interim licensee 
shall have completed the following number of CPE contact 
hours during each renewal cycle:  

1. Class I 1, II 2, and III 3 waterworks and wastewater 
works operators shall obtain a minimum of 20 contact 
hours.  

2. Class IV 4 waterworks and wastewater works operators 
shall obtain a minimum of 16 contact hours.  

3. Class V 5 waterworks operators shall obtain a minimum 
of eight contact hours.  

4. Class VI 6 waterworks operators shall obtain a minimum 
of four contact hours.  

5. Conventional onsite soil evaluators, conventional onsite 
sewage system installers, and conventional onsite sewage 
system operators shall obtain a minimum of 10 contact 
hours. 

6. Alternative onsite soil evaluators, alternative onsite 
sewage system installers, and alternative onsite sewage 
system operators shall obtain a minimum of 20 contact 
hours. 

7. All interim licensees shall obtain a minimum of 10 
contact hours during the first 24 months that the interim 
license is valid and shall obtain a minimum of 10 contact 
hours during the second 24 months that the interim license 
is valid. 

CPE provisions do not apply for the renewal of waterworks 
operator licenses or provisional licenses that were held for 
less than two years on the date of expiration. [ CPE shall be 
required for all wastewater works licenses for the license 
period beginning March 1, 2010, and each license period 
thereafter. ] 

B. The subject matter addressed during CPE contact hours 
shall be limited to the content areas covered by the board's 
examination appropriate to the license for which renewal is 
sought. Safety subjects shall not count for more than one-half 
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of the total CPE required content hours for waterworks 
operators and for wastewater works operators. 

C. Any course approved by the board for substitution as 
training credits or formal education semester hours, as 
provided for in 18VAC160-20-150, shall also be acceptable 
on an hour-for-hour basis for CPE contact hours. One 
semester hour of college credit shall equal 15 CPE contact 
hours, and one quarter hour of college credit shall equal 10 
CPE credit hours.  

D. The following evidence shall be maintained to document 
completion of the hours of CPE specified in subsection A of 
this section:  

1. Evidence of completion of a structured training activity 
which shall consist of the name, address and telephone 
number of the sponsor;  

2. The dates the applicant participated in the training;  

3. Descriptive material of the subject matter presented; and  

4. A statement from the sponsor verifying the number of 
hours completed.  

E. Each licensee and provisional licensee shall maintain 
evidence of the satisfactory completion of CPE for a period of 
at least one year two years following the end of the license 
renewal cycle for which the CPE was taken. Such 
documentation shall be in the form required by subsection D 
of this section and shall be provided to the board or its duly 
authorized agents upon request.  

F. The licensee or provisional licensee shall not receive CPE 
credit for the same training course or structured training 
activity more than once during a single license renewal cycle 
to meet the CPE requirement unless the same training course 
or structured training activity is an annual requirement 
established by Virginia or federal regulations. 

G. The licensee or provisional licensee may receive CPE 
credit for a training course or structured training activity 
which has been mandated by Virginia or federal regulation 
towards fulfilling the CPE requirement.  

H. CPE instructors who hold a license issued by the board 
may receive CPE credit for the time spent actually instructing 
subject matter that is pertinent to their license.  CPE credit 
shall not be allowed for instructing the same subject matter 
more than once during a single renewal cycle. 

I. CPE instructors who hold a license issued by the board 
may be granted two additional hours of CPE credit for the 
initial development of or the substantial updating of a CPE 
activity that is pertinent to the license held for each hour spent 
delivering the initial presentation.  CPE credit for the initial 
development or the substantial updating of a specific CPE 
activity shall be granted no more than once during a single 
renewal cycle. 

H. J. The licensee or provisional licensee may petition the 
board for additional time to meet the CPE requirement. 
However, CPE hours earned during a license renewal cycle to 
satisfy the CPE requirement of the preceding license renewal 
cycle shall be valid only for that preceding license renewal 
cycle.  

Part IV  
Classification Requirements  

18VAC160-20-120. Waterworks.  

A. A Class VI 6 waterworks licensee may operate any 
waterworks as follows:  

1. A waterworks providing no treatment and serving fewer 
than 400 persons; or  

2. A waterworks classified by the Virginia Department of 
Health as a Class VI 6 waterworks.  

B. A Class V 5 waterworks licensee may operate any 
waterworks as follows:  

1. A waterworks serving 400 or more persons which (i) 
provides no treatment or (ii) employs hypochlorination for 
disinfection; or  

2. A waterworks classified by the Virginia Department of 
Health as either a Class V 5 or Class VI 6 waterworks.  

C. A Class IV 4 waterworks licensee may operate any 
waterworks as follows:  

1. A waterworks serving fewer than 5,000 persons or 
having a design hydraulic capacity of less than 0.5 MGD, 
employing one or more of the following (i) disinfection 
other than with hypochlorination, (ii) corrosion control, 
(iii) iron and manganese removal, (iv) ion exchange, (v) 
membrane technology without pretreatment, (vi) slow sand 
filtration, (vii) aeration, (viii) rechlorination other than 
with hypochlorination, or (ix) activated carbon contactors; 
or  

2. A waterworks classified by the Virginia Department of 
Health as either a Class IV, V, or VI 4, 5, or 6 waterworks.  

D. A Class III 3 waterworks licensee may operate any 
waterworks as follows:  

1. A waterworks serving fewer than 5,000 persons or 
having a design capacity less than 0.5 MGD, employing 
chemical coagulation or lime softening in combination 
with one or more of the following (i) sedimentation, (ii) 
rapid sand filtration with a filtration rate of 2 gpm/square 
foot or less, (iii) fluoridation, (iv) disinfection, (v) aeration, 
(vi) corrosion control, or (vii) membrane technologies;  

2. A waterworks serving 5,000 or more persons or having a 
design hydraulic capacity of 0.5 MGD, employing one or 
more of the following; (i) disinfection other than with 
hypochlorination, (ii) corrosion control, (iii) iron and 
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manganese removal, (iv) ion exchange, (v) membrane 
technology without pretreatment, (vi) slow sand filtration, 
(vii) aeration, (viii) rechlorination other than with 
hypochlorination, or (ix) activated carbon contactors;  

3. A waterworks employing (i) membrane technology 
requiring pretreatment consisting of pH adjustment; or (ii) 
diatomaceous earth filtration, coupled with aeration, 
corrosion control, disinfection, or fluoridation;  

4. A waterworks employing fluoridation which is not under 
a higher classification; or  

5. A waterworks classified by the Virginia Department of 
Health as either a Class III, IV, V or VI 3, 4, 5, or 6 
waterworks.  

E. A Class II 2 waterworks licensee may operate any 
waterworks as follows:  

1. A waterworks serving 5,000 or more persons but fewer 
than 50,000 persons or having a design hydraulic capacity 
of 0.5 MGD or more but less than 5.0 MGD employing 
chemical coagulation or lime softening in combination 
with one or more of the following; (i) sedimentation, (ii) 
rapid sand filtration, (iii) fluoridation, (iv) disinfection, (v) 
aeration, (vi) corrosion control, or (vii) membrane 
technologies;  

2. A waterworks serving fewer than 50,000 persons or 
having a design hydraulic capacity of less than 5.0 MGD 
which employs chemical coagulation or lime softening 
coupled with multimedia granular filtration or granular 
filtration at rates above 2.0 gpm/square foot (high rate 
filtration) in combination with one or more of the 
following: (i) sedimentation, (ii) fluoridation, (iii) 
disinfection, (iv) aeration, or (v) corrosion control;  

3. A waterworks employing biological activated carbon 
contactors or membrane technology requiring pretreatment 
other than pH adjustment; or  

4. A waterworks classified by the Virginia Department of 
Health as either a Class II, III, IV, V or VI 2, 3, 4, 5, or 6 
waterworks.  

F. A Class I 1 waterworks licensee may operate any 
waterworks. any waterworks as follows: 

1. A waterworks serving 50,000 or more persons or having 
a design hydraulic capacity of 5.0 MGD or more 
employing chemical coagulation or lime softening in 
combination with one or more of the following: (i) 
sedimentation, (ii) rapid sand filtration, (iii) fluoridation, 
(iv) disinfection, (v) aeration, (vi) corrosion control, or 
(vii) membrane technologies; 

2. A waterworks serving 50,000 or more persons or having 
a design hydraulic capacity of 5.0 MGD or more that 
employs chemical coagulation or lime softening coupled 
with multimedia granular filtration or granular filtration at 

rates above 2.0 gpm/square foot (high rate filtration) in 
combination with one or more of the following: (i) 
sedimentation, (ii) fluoridation, (iii) disinfection, (iv) 
aeration, or (v) corrosion control; 

3. A waterworks employing biological activated carbon 
contactors or membrane technology requiring pretreatment 
other than pH adjustment; or 

4. A waterworks classified by the Virginia Department of 
Health as a Class 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, or 6 waterworks. 

G. The term membrane technologies includes (i) electrical 
dialysis electrodialysis reversal, (ii) reverse osmosis, (iii) ultra 
filtration ultrafiltration, (iv) micro filtration microfiltration, 
and (v) nano filtration nanofiltration. 

18VAC160-20-130. Wastewater works. 

A. A Class IV 4 wastewater works licensee may operate any 
wastewater works as follows: 

1. A wastewater works employing natural treatment 
methods (i.e., those not utilizing aerated or mixed flows 
and not using electrical or outside energy sources to 
accomplish treatment) with a design hydraulic capacity 
greater than 0.4 0.04 MGD but equal to or less than 1.0 
MGD; or 

2. A wastewater works classified by the Virginia 
Department of Health or the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality as a Class IV 4 wastewater works. 

B. A Class III 3 wastewater works licensee may operate any 
wastewater works as follows: 

1. A wastewater works using biological treatment methods 
consisting of but not limited to (i) suspended growth 
reactors, (ii) aerated lagoons, (iii) constructed wetlands, 
(iv) biological filters or other attached growth contactors, 
(v) processes utilizing biological nutrient control, or (vi) 
processes utilizing land application having a design 
hydraulic capacity greater than 0.04 MGD, but equal to or 
less than 0.5 MGD; 

2. A wastewater works using advanced waste treatment 
methods consisting of but not limited to (i) ammonia 
stripping, (ii) breakpoint chlorination, (iii) carbon 
adsorption, (iv) chemical coagulation, (v) flocculation, (vi) 
precipitation, (vii) filtration, or (viii) demineralization (ion 
exchange, reverse osmosis or electrodialysis) having a 
design hydraulic capacity greater than 0.04 MGD, but 
equal to or less than 0.5 MGD;  

3. A wastewater works using combinations of biological 
and advanced waste treatment methods having a design 
hydraulic capacity greater than 0.04 MGD, but equal to or 
less than 0.1 MGD;  

4. A wastewater works using natural treatment methods 
(i.e., those not using aerated or mixed flows and not using 
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electrical or outside energy sources to accomplish 
treatment) with a design hydraulic capacity greater than 1.0 
MGD; or  

5. A wastewater works classified by the Virginia 
Department of Health or the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality as either a Class III or IV 3 or 4 
wastewater works.  

C. A Class II 2 wastewater works licensee may operate any 
wastewater works as follows:  

1. A wastewater works using biological treatment methods 
consisting of but not limited to (i) suspended growth 
reactors, (ii) aerated lagoons, (iii) constructed wetlands, 
(iv) biological filters or other attached growth contactors, 
(v) processes utilizing biological nutrient control, or (vi) 
processes utilizing land application having a design 
hydraulic capacity greater than 0.5 MGD, but equal to or 
less than 5.0 MGD;  

2. A wastewater works using advanced waste treatment 
methods consisting of but not limited to (i) ammonia 
stripping, (ii) breakpoint chlorination, (iii) carbon 
adsorption, (iv) chemical coagulation, (v) flocculation, (vi) 
precipitation, (vii) filtration, or (viii) demineralization (ion 
exchange, reverse osmosis or electrodialysis) having a 
design hydraulic capacity greater than 0.5 MGD, but equal 
to or less than 5.0 MGD;  

3. A wastewater works using combinations of biological 
and advanced waste treatment methods, having a design 
hydraulic capacity greater than 0.1 MGD, but equal to or 
less than 2.5 MGD; or 

4. A wastewater works classified by the Virginia 
Department of Health or the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality as either a Class II, III or IV 2, 3, or 
4 wastewater works.  

D. A Class I 1 wastewater works licensee may operate any 
wastewater works. as follows: 

1. A wastewater works using biological treatment methods 
consisting of, but not limited to (i) suspended growth 
reactors, (ii) aerated lagoons, (iii) constructed wetlands, 
(iv) biological filters or other attached growth contactors, 
(v) processes utilizing biological nutrient control, or (vi) 
processes utilizing land application having a design 
hydraulic capacity greater than 5.0 MGD; 

2. A wastewater works using advanced waste treatment 
methods consisting of, but not limited to (i) ammonia 
stripping, (ii) breakpoint chlorination, (iii) carbon 
adsorption, (iv) chemical coagulation, (v) flocculation, (vi) 
precipitation, (vii) filtration, or (viii) demineralization (ion 
exchange, reverse osmosis or electrodialysis) having a 
design hydraulic capacity greater than 5.0 MGD; 

3. A wastewater works using combinations of biological 
and advanced waste treatment methods, having a design 
hydraulic capacity greater than 2.5 MGD; or 

4. A wastewater works classified by the Virginia 
Department of Health or the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality as a Class 1, 2, 3, or 4 wastewater 
works. 

Part V  
Standards of Practice  

18VAC160-20-140. Discipline. 

The board has the power to discipline and fine any licensee, 
interim licensee, or provisional licensee and to suspend or 
revoke or refuse to renew or reinstate any license, interim 
license, or provisional license as well as the power to deny 
any application for a license, interim license, or provisional 
license under the provisions of Chapter 23 (§ 54.1-2300 et 
seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and this chapter for 
any of the following:  

1. Obtaining or, renewing, or attempting to obtain or renew 
a license, interim license, or provisional license through 
fraudulent means or misrepresentation;  

2. Having been convicted or found guilty by a court in any 
jurisdiction of any felony or of any misdemeanor involving 
lying, cheating or stealing; or for activities related to the 
performance of the licensee's or interim licensee's duties, 
there being no appeal pending therefrom or the time for 
appeal having lapsed. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be 
considered a conviction for purposes of this subdivision. A 
certified copy of a final order, decree or case decision by a 
court or regulatory agency with the lawful authority to 
issue such order, decree or case decision shall be prima 
facie evidence of such conviction or discipline. The record 
of conviction certified or authenticated in such form as to 
be admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction 
where convicted shall be admissible as prima facie 
evidence of such guilt;  

3. Not demonstrating reasonable care, judgment, or 
application of the required knowledge, skill and ability in 
the performance of the licensee's or interim licensee's 
duties;  

4. Violating or inducing another person to violate any 
provisions of Chapter 1, 2, 3 or 23 of Title 54.1 of the 
Code of Virginia, the provisions of any other relevant 
Virginia or federal regulation, or of any provision of this 
chapter;  

5. Having been found guilty by the board, an 
administrative body or by a court of any activity related to 
the performance of the licensee's or interim licensee's 
duties that resulted in the harm or the threat of harm to 
human health or the environment;  
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6. Failing to inform the board in writing within 30 days of 
pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being convicted or 
found guilty, regardless of adjudication, of any felony 
which resulted in the harm or the threat of harm to human 
health or the environment. Failing to inform the board in 
writing within 30 days of pleading guilty or nolo 
contendere or being convicted of or found guilty, 
regardless of adjudication, of any felony or of any 
misdemeanor related to the performance of the licensee's 
or interim licensee's duties or involving lying, cheating or 
stealing; 

7. Negligence, or a continued pattern of incompetence, in 
the practice of a licensee or interim licensee; or 

8. Having undertaken to perform or performed a 
professional assignment that the licensee or interim 
licensee is not qualified to perform by education, 
experience, or both. 

Part VI  
Approval of Training  

18VAC160-20-150. Approval of training. 

A. Training courses may be substituted for some of the 
experience required for Waterworks and Wastewater Works 
Class III 3, Class II 2 and Class I 1 licenses and for onsite soil 
evaluators, onsite sewage system installers, and onsite sewage 
system operators subject to the limitations in this section. 
Training courses that may be substituted for required 
experience must be approved by the board except those 
provided by federal or state agencies, institutions, schools and 
universities approved by the State Council of Higher 
Education for Virginia, for which continuing education units 
are awarded. Training courses requiring board approval shall 
be approved by the board prior to commencing in accordance 
with the following:  

B. Training courses for which experience credit may be 
granted must be conducted in general conformance with the 
guidelines of the International Association for Continuing 
Education and Training (Association). The board reserves the 
right to waive any of the requirements of the association's 
guidelines on a case-by-case basis. Only classroom, 
laboratory and field trip contact time will be used to compute 
training credits. No credit will be given for breaks, meals, or 
receptions.  

1. Organization. The board will only approve training 
offered by a sponsor who is an identifiable organization 
with a mission statement outlining its functions, structure, 
process and philosophy, and that has a staff of one or more 
persons with the authority to administer and coordinate a 
training credit (TC) program.  

2. TC records. The board will only approve training 
offered by a sponsor who maintains TC records for all 

participants for a minimum of seven years, and who has a 
written policy on retention and release of TC records.  

3. Instructors. The board will only approve training 
conducted by personnel who have demonstrated 
competence in the subject being taught, an understanding 
of the learning objective, a knowledge of the learning 
process to be used, and a proven ability to communicate.  

4. Objectives. The board will only approve courses that 
have a series of stated objectives that are pertinent to the 
tasks performed by a licensee. The training course content 
must be consistent with those objectives.  

5. Course completion requirements. For successful 
completion of a training course, participants must attend 
90% or more of the class contact time and must 
demonstrate their learning through written examinations, 
completion of a project, oral examination, or other similar 
assessment technique.  

C. The board shall consider the following information, to be 
submitted by the course sponsor or instructor on forms 
provided by the board, at least 45 days prior to the scheduled 
training course:  

1. Course information.  

a. Course title;  

b. Planned audience;  

c. Name of sponsor;  

d. Name, address, phone number of contact person;  

e. Scheduled presentation dates;  

f. Detailed course schedule, hour-by-hour;  

g. List of planned breaks;  

h. Scheduled presentation location; and  

i. Relevancy of course to the category of licensure.  

2. Instructor qualifications.  

a. Name of instructor;  

b. Title, employer; and  

c. Summary of qualifications to teach this course.  

3. Training materials.  

a. Course objectives. A listing of the course objectives 
stated in terms of the skills, knowledge, or attitude the 
participant will be able to demonstrate as a result of the 
training.  

b. Course outline. A detailed outline showing the planned 
activities that will occur during the training course, 
including major topics, planned presentation sequence, 
laboratory and field activities, audio-visual presentation, 
and other major activities.  
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c. Course reference materials. A list of the name, 
publisher and publication date for commercially available 
publications. For reference materials developed by the 
course sponsor or available exclusively through the 
course, a copy of the reference.  

d. Audio-visual support materials. A listing of any 
commercially available audio-visual support material that 
will be used in the program. A brief description of any 
sponsor or instructor generated audio-visual material that 
will be used.  

e. Handouts. Identification of all commercially available 
handout materials that will be used; as well as copies of 
all other planned handouts.  

4. Determination of successful completion. A description 
of the means that will be used to assess the learning of each 
participant to determine successful completion of the 
training program, such as examinations, projects, personal 
evaluations by the instructor, or other recognized 
evaluation techniques.  

D. Recurring training programs. If there are plans to present 
the same course of instruction routinely at multiple locations 
with only minor modifications and changes, the board may 
approve the overall program rather than individual 
presentations if so requested by the sponsor.  

1. The board shall consider all of the information listed 
above except those items related to specific offerings of the 
course.  

2. Board approval may be granted for a specific period of 
time or for an indefinite period.  

3. Board approval will apply only to those specific 
offerings certified by the sponsoring organization as 
having been conducted by instructors meeting the 
established criteria and in accordance with the board-
approved course outlines and objectives.  

4. To maintain approval of the program, changes made to 
the program since its approval must be submitted.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-792; Filed October 27, 2009, 12:25 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 21. SECURITIES AND RETAIL 
FRANCHISING 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 

any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 
of the powers of a court of record. 

Titles of Regulations: 21VAC5-20. Broker-Dealers, 
Broker-Dealer Agents and Agents of the Issuer (amending 
21VAC5-20-160). 

21VAC5-80. Investment Advisors (amending 21VAC5-80-
200).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 13.1-523 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 15, 2009.  

Agency Contact: Al Hughes, Registration Chief, State 
Corporation Commission, Securities Division, Tyler 
Building, 9th Floor, P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (804) 371-9415, FAX (804) 371-9911, or email 
al.hughes@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) change the reference of 21VAC5-80-
140 to 21VAC5-80-145 in 21VAC5-80-200 A 15 and B 15; 
and (ii) add a two-year expiration period from the date of 
taking the required examination referenced in 21VAC5-20-
160 B 4 to qualify as a registered agent of the issuer. The 
adopted regulations had no changes from the proposed 
version. 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. SEC-2009-00072 

Ex Parte: In the matter of 
Adopting a Revision to the Rules 
Governing the Virginia Securities Act 

ORDER ADOPTING AMENDED RULES 

By Order to Take Notice ("Order") entered on July 28, 2009, 
all interested persons were ordered to take notice that the 
State Corporation Commission ("Commission") would 
consider the adoption of a revision to Chapters 20 and 80 of 
Title 21 of the Virginia Administrative Code ("Regulations") 
entitled "Rules and Forms Governing Virginia Securities 
Act."  On August 5, 2009, the Division of Securities and 
Retail Franchising ("Division") mailed the Order to all 
registrants and applicants as of July 30, 2009.  The Order 
described the proposed amendments and afforded interested 
parties an opportunity to file written comments or requests for 
hearing by August 31, 2009, with the Clerk of the 
Commission ("Clerk").  The Order also directed the Division 
to file a response to any comments by September 15, 2009, 
with the Clerk. 

No comments were filed in this matter.  

The Commission, upon consideration of the proposed 
amendments to the Regulations, the recommendation of the 
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Division, and the record in this case, finds that the proposed 
amendments to the Regulations should be adopted. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1)  The proposed Regulations are attached hereto, made a 
part hereof, and are hereby ADOPTED effective November 
15, 2009. 

(2)  This matter is dismissed from the Commission's docket, 
and the papers herein shall be placed in the file for ended 
causes. 

AN ATTESTED COPY of this Order shall be sent to each 
of the following by the Division to:  the Commission's 
Division of Information Resources and the Office of General 
Counsel; and such other persons as the Division deems 
appropriate. 

Part III  
Agents of the Issuer  

21VAC5-20-160. Application for registration as an agent 
of the issuer. 

A. Application for registration as an agent of the issuer shall 
be filed on and in compliance with all requirements and forms 
prescribed by the commission. 

B. An application shall be deemed incomplete for purposes 
of applying for registration as an agent of the issuer unless the 
following executed forms, fee and information are submitted: 

1. Form U-4.  

2. The statutory fee in the amount of $30. The check must 
be made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.  

3. Evidence in the form of a NASD exam report of passing: 
(i) the Uniform Securities Agent State Law Examination, 
Series 63; (ii) the Uniform Combined State Law 
Examination, Series 66, and the General Securities 
Representative Examination, Series 7; or (iii) a similar 
examination in general use by securities administrators 
which, after reasonable notice and subject to review by the 
commission, the Director of the Division of Securities and 
Retail Franchising designates. 

4. All individuals listed on Part 1 of Form ADV in 
Schedule A as having supervisory or control of the 
investment advisor shall take and pass the examinations as 
required in subdivision 3 of this subsection, and register as 
a representative of the investment advisor. Any individual 
who has been registered in any state jurisdiction as an 
agent within the two-year period immediately preceding 
the date of the filing of an application shall not be required 
to comply with the examination requirements of this 
section. 

5. Any other information the commission may require. 

C. The commission shall either grant or deny each 
application for registration within 30 days after it is filed. 
However, if additional time is needed to obtain or verify 
information regarding the application, the commission may 
extend such period as much as 90 days by giving written 
notice to the applicant. No more than three such extensions 
may be made by the commission on any one application. An 
extension of the initial 30-day period, not to exceed 90 days, 
shall be granted upon written request of the applicant. 

21VAC5-80-200. Dishonest or unethical practices. 

A. An investment advisor or federal covered advisor is a 
fiduciary and has a duty to act primarily for the benefit of his 
clients. While the extent and nature of this duty varies 
according to the nature of the relationship between an 
investment advisor or federal covered advisor and his clients 
and the circumstances of each case, an investment advisor or 
federal covered advisor shall not engage in unethical 
practices, including the following: 

1. Recommending to a client to whom investment 
supervisory, management or consulting services are 
provided the purchase, sale or exchange of any security 
without reasonable grounds to believe that the 
recommendation is suitable for the client on the basis of 
information furnished by the client after reasonable inquiry 
concerning the client's investment objectives, financial 
situation, risk tolerance and needs, and any other 
information known or acquired by the investment advisor 
or federal covered advisor after reasonable examination of 
the client's financial records. 

2. Placing an order to purchase or sell a security for the 
account of a client without written authority to do so. 

3. Placing an order to purchase or sell a security for the 
account of a client upon instruction of a third party without 
first having obtained a written third-party authorization 
from the client. 

4. Exercising any discretionary power in placing an order 
for the purchase or sale of securities for a client without 
obtaining written discretionary authority from the client 
within 10 business days after the date of the first 
transaction placed pursuant to oral discretionary authority, 
unless the discretionary power relates solely to the price at 
which, or the time when, an order involving a definite 
amount of a specified security shall be executed, or both. 

5. Inducing trading in a client's account that is excessive in 
size or frequency in view of the financial resources, 
investment objectives and character of the account. 

6. Borrowing money or securities from a client unless the 
client is a broker-dealer, an affiliate of the investment 
advisor or federal covered advisor, or a financial institution 
engaged in the business of loaning funds or securities. 
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7. Loaning money to a client unless the investment advisor 
or federal covered advisor is a financial institution engaged 
in the business of loaning funds or the client is an affiliate 
of the investment advisor or federal covered advisor. 

8. Misrepresenting to any advisory client, or prospective 
advisory client, the qualifications of the investment advisor 
or federal covered advisor, or misrepresenting the nature of 
the advisory services being offered or fees to be charged 
for the services, or omission to state a material fact 
necessary to make the statements made regarding 
qualifications services or fees, in light of the circumstances 
under which they are made, not misleading. 

9. Providing a report or recommendation to any advisory 
client prepared by someone other than the investment 
advisor or federal covered advisor without disclosing that 
fact. This prohibition does not apply to a situation where 
the advisor uses published research reports or statistical 
analyses to render advice or where an advisor orders such a 
report in the normal course of providing service. 

10. Charging a client an unreasonable advisory fee in light 
of the fees charged by other investment advisors or federal 
covered advisors providing essentially the same services. 

11. Failing to disclose to clients in writing before any 
advice is rendered any material conflict of interest relating 
to the investment advisor or federal covered advisor or any 
of his employees which could reasonably be expected to 
impair the rendering of unbiased and objective advice 
including: 

a. Compensation arrangements connected with advisory 
services to clients which are in addition to compensation 
from such clients for such services; or 

b. Charging a client an advisory fee for rendering advice 
when a commission for executing securities transactions 
pursuant to such advice will be received by the advisor or 
his employees. 

12. Guaranteeing a client that a specific result will be 
achieved as a result of the advice which will be rendered. 

13. Directly or indirectly using any advertisement that does 
any one of the following: 

a. Refers to any testimonial of any kind concerning the 
investment advisor or investment advisor representative 
or concerning any advice, analysis, report, or other 
service rendered by the investment advisor or investment 
advisor representative; 

b. Refers to past specific recommendations of the 
investment advisor or investment advisor representative 
that were or would have been profitable to any person; 
except that an investment advisor or investment advisor 
representative may furnish or offer to furnish a list of all 
recommendations made by the investment advisor or 

investment advisor representative within the immediately 
preceding period of not less than one year if the 
advertisement or list also includes both of the following: 

(1) The name of each security recommended, the date 
and nature of each recommendation, the market price at 
that time, the price at which the recommendation was to 
be acted upon, and the most recently available market 
price of each security; or 

(2) A legend on the first page in prominent print or type 
that states that the reader should not assume that 
recommendations made in the future will be profitable or 
will equal the performance of the securities in the list; 

c. Represents that any graph, chart, formula, or other 
device being offered can be used to determine which 
securities to buy or sell, or when to buy or sell them; or 
which represents, directly or indirectly, that any graph, 
chart, formula, or other device being offered will assist 
any person in making that person's own decisions as to 
which securities to buy or sell, or when to buy or sell 
them, without prominently disclosing in the 
advertisement the limitations thereof and the risks 
associated to its use; 

d. Represents that any report, analysis, or other service 
will be furnished for free or without charge, unless the 
report, analysis, or other service actually is or will be 
furnished entirely free and without any direct or indirect 
condition or obligation; 

e. Represents that the commission has approved any 
advertisement; or 

f. Contains any untrue statement of a material fact, or that 
is otherwise false or misleading.  

For the purposes of this section, the term "advertisement" 
includes any notice, circular, letter, or other written 
communication addressed to more than one person, or any 
notice or other announcement in any electronic or paper 
publication, by radio or television, or by any medium, that 
offers any one of the following: 

(i) Any analysis, report, or publication concerning 
securities; 

(ii) Any analysis, report, or publication that is to be used 
in making any determination as to when to buy or sell 
any security or which security to buy or sell; 

(iii) Any graph, chart, formula, or other device to be used 
in making any determination as to when to buy or sell 
any security, or which security to buy or sell; or 

(iv) Any other investment advisory service with regard to 
securities. 

14. Disclosing the identity, affairs, or investments of any 
client to any third party unless required by law or an order 
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of a court or a regulatory agency to do so, or unless 
consented to by the client. 

15. Taking any action, directly or indirectly, with respect to 
those securities or funds in which any client has any 
beneficial interest, where the investment advisor has 
custody or possession of such securities or funds, when the 
investment advisor's action is subject to and does not 
comply with the safekeeping requirements of 21VAC5-80-
140 21VAC5-80-145. 

16. Entering into, extending or renewing any investment 
advisory contract unless the contract is in writing and 
discloses, in substance, the services to be provided, the 
term of the contract, the advisory fee, the formula for 
computing the fee, the amount of prepaid fee to be returned 
in the event of contract termination or nonperformance, 
whether the contract grants discretionary power to the 
investment advisor or federal covered advisor and that no 
assignment of such contract shall be made by the 
investment advisor or federal covered advisor without the 
consent of the other party to the contract. 

17. Failing to clearly and separately disclose to its 
customer, prior to any security transaction, providing 
investment advice for compensation or any materially 
related transaction that the customer's funds or securities 
will be in the custody of an investment advisor or 
contracted custodian in a manner that does not provide 
Securities Investor Protection Corporation protection, or 
equivalent third-party coverage over the customer's assets. 

18. Using a certification or professional designation in 
connection with the provision of advice as to the value of 
or the advisability of investing in, purchasing, or selling 
securities, either directly or indirectly or through 
publications or writings, or by issuing or promulgating 
analyses or reports relating to securities that indicates or 
implies that the user has special certification or training in 
advising or servicing senior citizens or retirees in such a 
way as to mislead any person. 

a. The use of such certification or professional 
designation includes, but is not limited to, the following:  

(1) Use of a certification or designation by a person who 
has not actually earned or is otherwise ineligible to use 
such certification or designation;  

(2) Use of a nonexistent or self-conferred certification or 
professional designation;  

(3) Use of a certification or professional designation that 
indicates or implies a level of occupational qualifications 
obtained through education, training, or experience that 
the person using the certification or professional 
designation does not have; or  

(4) Use of a certification or professional designation that 
was obtained from a designating or certifying 
organization that:  

(a) Is primarily engaged in the business of instruction in 
sales and/or marketing;  

(b) Does not have reasonable standards or procedures for 
assuring the competency of its designees or certificants;  

(c) Does not have reasonable standards or procedures for 
monitoring and disciplining its designees or certificants 
for improper or unethical conduct; or  

(d) Does not have reasonable continuing education 
requirements for its designees or certificants in order to 
maintain the designation or certificate.  

b. There is a rebuttable presumption that a designating or 
certifying organization is not disqualified solely for 
purposes of subdivision 18 a (4) of this subsection, when 
the organization has been accredited by: 

(1) The American National Standards Institute;  

(2) The National Commission for Certifying Agencies; or  

(3) An organization that is on the United States 
Department of Education's list entitled "Accrediting 
Agencies Recognized for Title IV Purposes" and the 
designation or credential issued therefrom does not 
primarily apply to sales and/or marketing.  

c. In determining whether a combination of words (or an 
acronym standing for a combination of words) 
constitutes a certification or professional designation 
indicating or implying that a person has special 
certification or training in advising or servicing senior 
citizens or retirees, factors to be considered shall include:  

(1) Use of one or more words such as "senior," 
"retirement," "elder," or like words, combined with one 
or more words such as "certified," "chartered," "adviser," 
"specialist," "consultant," "planner," or like words, in the 
name of the certification or professional designation; and  

(2) The manner in which those words are combined.  

d. For purposes of this section, a certification or 
professional designation does not include a job title 
within an organization that is licensed or registered by a 
state or federal financial services regulatory agency, 
when that job title:  

(1) Indicates seniority within the organization; or  

(2) Specifies an individual's area of specialization within 
the organization.  

For purposes of this subdivision d, "financial services 
regulatory agency" includes, but is not limited to, an 
agency that regulates broker-dealers, investment 
advisers, or investment companies as defined under 
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§ 3 (a)(1) of the Investment Company Act of 1940 
(15 USC § 80a-3(a)(1)).  

e. Nothing in this regulation shall limit the commission's 
authority to enforce existing provisions of the law. 

B. An investment advisor representative is a fiduciary and 
has a duty to act primarily for the benefit of his clients. While 
the extent and nature of this duty varies according to the 
nature of the relationship between an investment advisor 
representative and his clients and the circumstances of each 
case, an investment advisor representative shall not engage in 
unethical practices, including the following: 

1. Recommending to a client to whom investment 
supervisory, management or consulting services are 
provided the purchase, sale or exchange of any security 
without reasonable grounds to believe that the 
recommendation is suitable for the client on the basis of 
information furnished by the client after reasonable inquiry 
concerning the client's investment objectives, financial 
situation and needs, and any other information known or 
acquired by the investment advisor representative after 
reasonable examination of the client's financial records. 

2. Placing an order to purchase or sell a security for the 
account of a client without written authority to do so. 

3. Placing an order to purchase or sell a security for the 
account of a client upon instruction of a third party without 
first having obtained a written third-party authorization 
from the client. 

4. Exercising any discretionary power in placing an order 
for the purchase or sale of securities for a client without 
obtaining written discretionary authority from the client 
within 10 business days after the date of the first 
transaction placed pursuant to oral discretionary authority, 
unless the discretionary power relates solely to the price at 
which, or the time when, an order involving a definite 
amount of a specified security shall be executed, or both. 

5. Inducing trading in a client's account that is excessive in 
size or frequency in view of the financial resources, 
investment objectives and character of the account. 

6. Borrowing money or securities from a client unless the 
client is a broker-dealer, an affiliate of the investment 
advisor representative, or a financial institution engaged in 
the business of loaning funds or securities. 

7. Loaning money to a client unless the investment advisor 
representative is engaged in the business of loaning funds 
or the client is an affiliate of the investment advisor 
representative. 

8. Misrepresenting to any advisory client, or prospective 
advisory client, the qualifications of the investment advisor 
representative, or misrepresenting the nature of the 
advisory services being offered or fees to be charged for 

the services, or omission to state a material fact necessary 
to make the statements made regarding qualifications, 
services or fees, in light of the circumstances under which 
they are made, not misleading. 

9. Providing a report or recommendation to any advisory 
client prepared by someone other than the investment 
advisor or federal covered advisor who the investment 
advisor representative is employed by or associated with 
without disclosing that fact. This prohibition does not 
apply to a situation where the investment advisor or federal 
covered advisor uses published research reports or 
statistical analyses to render advice or where an investment 
advisor or federal covered advisor orders such a report in 
the normal course of providing service. 

10. Charging a client an unreasonable advisory fee in light 
of the fees charged by other investment advisor 
representatives providing essentially the same services. 

11. Failing to disclose to clients in writing before any 
advice is rendered any material conflict of interest relating 
to the investment advisor representative which could 
reasonably be expected to impair the rendering of unbiased 
and objective advice including: 

a. Compensation arrangements connected with advisory 
services to clients which are in addition to compensation 
from such clients for such services; or 

b. Charging a client an advisory fee for rendering advice 
when a commission for executing securities transactions 
pursuant to such advice will be received by the 
investment advisor representative. 

12. Guaranteeing a client that a specific result will be 
achieved as a result of the advice which will be rendered. 

13. Publishing, circulating or distributing any 
advertisement that would not be permitted under Rule 
206(4)-1 under the Investment Advisers Act of 1940. 

14. Disclosing the identity, affairs, or investments of any 
client to any third party unless required by law or an order 
of a court or a regulatory agency to do so, or unless 
consented to by the client. 

15. Taking any action, directly or indirectly, with respect to 
those securities or funds in which any client has any 
beneficial interest, where the investment advisor 
representative other than a person associated with a federal 
covered advisor has custody or possession of such 
securities or funds, when the investment advisor 
representative's action is subject to and does not comply 
with the safekeeping requirements of 21VAC5-80-140 
21VAC5-80-145. 

16. Entering into, extending or renewing any investment 
advisory or federal covered advisory contract unless such 
contract is in writing and discloses, in substance, the 
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services to be provided, the term of the contract, the 
advisory fee, the formula for computing the fee, the 
amount of prepaid fee to be returned in the event of 
contract termination or nonperformance, whether the 
contract grants discretionary power to the investment 
advisor representative and that no assignment of such 
contract shall be made by the investment advisor 
representative without the consent of the other party to the 
contract. 

17. Failing to clearly and separately disclose to its 
customer, prior to any security transaction, providing 
investment advice for compensation or any materially 
related transaction that the customer's funds or securities 
will be in the custody of an investment advisor or 
contracted custodian in a manner that does not provide 
Securities Investor Protection Corporation protection, or 
equivalent third-party coverage over the customer's assets. 

18. Using a certification or professional designation in 
connection with the provision of advice as to the value of 
or the advisability of investing in, purchasing, or selling 
securities, either directly or indirectly or through 
publications or writings, or by issuing or promulgating 
analyses or reports relating to securities that indicates or 
implies that the user has special certification or training in 
advising or servicing senior citizens or retirees in such a 
way as to mislead any person. 

a. The use of such certification or professional 
designation includes, but is not limited to, the following:  

(1) Use of a certification or designation by a person who 
has not actually earned or is otherwise ineligible to use 
such certification or designation;  

(2) Use of a nonexistent or self-conferred certification or 
professional designation;  

(3) Use of a certification or professional designation that 
indicates or implies a level of occupational qualifications 
obtained through education, training, or experience that 
the person using the certification or professional 
designation does not have; or  

(4) Use of a certification or professional designation that 
was obtained from a designating or certifying 
organization that:  

(a) Is primarily engaged in the business of instruction in 
sales and or marketing;  

(b) Does not have reasonable standards or procedures for 
assuring the competency of its designees or certificants;  

(c) Does not have reasonable standards or procedures for 
monitoring and disciplining its designees or certificants 
for improper or unethical conduct; or  

(d) Does not have reasonable continuing education 
requirements for its designees or certificants in order to 
maintain the designation or certificate.  

b. There is a rebuttable presumption that a designating or 
certifying organization is not disqualified solely for 
purposes of subdivision 18 a (4) of this subsection, when 
the organization has been accredited by: 

(1) The American National Standards Institute; 

(2) The National Commission for Certifying Agencies; or 

(3) An organization that is on the United States 
Department of Education's list entitled "Accrediting 
Agencies Recognized for Title IV Purposes" and the 
designation or credential issued therefrom does not 
primarily apply to sales and/or marketing. 

c. In determining whether a combination of words (or an 
acronym standing for a combination of words) 
constitutes a certification or professional designation 
indicating or implying that a person has special 
certification or training in advising or servicing senior 
citizens or retirees, factors to be considered shall include:  

(1) Use of one or more words such as "senior," 
"retirement," "elder," or like words, combined with one 
or more words such as "certified," "chartered," "adviser," 
"specialist," "consultant," "planner," or like words, in the 
name of the certification or professional designation; and  

(2) The manner in which those words are combined.  

d. For purposes of this section, a certification or 
professional designation does not include a job title 
within an organization that is licensed or registered by a 
state or federal financial services regulatory agency, 
when that job title:  

(1) Indicates seniority within the organization; or  

(2) Specifies an individual's area of specialization within 
the organization. 

For purposes of this subdivision d, "financial services 
regulatory agency" includes, but is not limited to, an 
agency that regulates broker-dealers, investment 
advisers, or investment companies as defined under 
§ 3(a)(1) of the Investment Company Act of 1940 (15 
USC § 80a-3(a)(1). 

e. Nothing in this regulation shall limit the commission's 
authority to enforce existing provisions of law. 

C. The conduct set forth in subsections A and B of this 
section is not all inclusive. Engaging in other conduct such as 
nondisclosure, incomplete disclosure, or deceptive practices 
may be deemed an unethical business practice except to the 
extent permitted by the National Securities Markets 
Improvement Act of 1996 (Pub. L. No. 104-290 (96)). 
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D. The provisions of this section shall apply to federal 
covered advisors to the extent that fraud or deceit is involved, 
or as otherwise permitted by the National Securities Markets 
Improvement Act of 1996 (Pub. L. No. 104-290 (96)). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-2050; Filed October 28, 2009, 10:12 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 
of the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 21VAC5-120. Virginia Trademark and 
Service Mark Act (amending 21VAC5-120-100). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 59.1-92.19 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 15, 2009. 

Agency Contact: Al Hughes, Registration Chief, Securities 
Division, State Corporation Commission, Tyler Building, 9th 
Floor, P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 
371-9415, FAX (804) 371-9911, or email 
al.hughes@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment modifies the class of services with which a 
mark can actually be used to include services for providing 
food and drink; medical services; veterinary services; 
hygienic and beauty care services; agricultural, 
horticulture, and forestry services; legal services; security 
services for the protection of property and individuals; and 
personal and social services rendered by others to meet the 
needs of individuals. Additional minor revisions and 
updates are also included. The adopted regulation has no 
change from the proposed. 

AT RICHMOND, OCTOBER 26, 2009 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2009-00067 

Ex Parte: In the matter of 
Adopting a Revision to the Rules  
Governing the Trademark and Service Mark Act 

ORDER ADOPTING AMENDED RULES 

By Order to Take Notice ("Order") entered on July 28, 2009, 
all interested persons were ordered to take notice that the 
State Corporation Commission ("Commission") would 
consider the adoption of a revision to Chapter 120 of Title 21 
of the Virginia Administrative Code entitled "Rules and 
Forms Governing Virginia Trademark and Service Mark Act" 

("Rules"). On July 31, 2009, the Division of Securities and 
Retail Franchising ("Division") mailed the Order to all 
registrants and applicants as of July 29, 2009, and to all 
interested parties. The Order described the proposed 
amendments and afforded interested parties an opportunity to 
file written comments or requests for hearing by August 31, 
2009, with the Clerk of the Commission ("Clerk"). The Order 
also directed the Division to file a response to any comments 
by September 15, 2009, with the Clerk. 

No comments were filed in this matter.  

The Commission, upon consideration of the proposed 
amendments to the Regulations, the recommendation of the 
Division, and the record in this case, finds that the proposed 
amendments to the Regulations should be adopted.   

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed Regulations are attached hereto, made a 
part hereof, and are hereby ADOPTED effective November 
15, 2009. 

(2) This matter is dismissed from the Commission's docket, 
and the papers herein shall be placed in the file for ended 
causes. 

AN ATTESTED COPY of this Order shall be sent to each 
of the following by the Division to: the Commission's 
Division of Information Resources and the Office of General 
Counsel; and such other persons as the Division deems 
appropriate. 

Part III  
Classification of Goods and Services  

21VAC5-120-100. Classification of goods and services.  

The application for registration or renewal of registration of 
a mark shall identify the class(es) class or classes of goods or 
services with which the mark is actually being used. The 
following classes of goods and services are established for 
convenience of administration of the Act:  

Goods.  

1. Chemicals used in industry, science and photography, as 
well as in agriculture, horticulture and forestry; 
unprocessed artificial resins; unprocessed plastics; 
manures; fire extinguishing compositions; tempering and 
soldering preparations; chemical substances for preserving 
foodstuffs; tanning substances; and adhesives used in 
industry.  

2. Paints, varnishes, lacquers; preservatives against rust 
and against deterioration of wood; colorants; mordants; 
raw natural resins; and metals in foil and powder form for 
painters, decorators, printers, and artists.  

3. Bleaching preparations and other substances for laundry 
use; cleaning, polishing, scouring and abrasive 
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preparations; soaps, ; perfumery, essential oils, cosmetics, 
hair lotions; and dentifrices.  

4. Industrial oils and greases; lubricants; dust absorbing, 
wetting and binding compositions; fuels (including motor 
spirit) and illuminants; and candles, and wicks for lighting.  

5. Pharmaceutical, and veterinary and preparations; 
sanitary preparations for medical purposes; dietetic 
substances adapted for medical use, food for babies; 
plasters, materials for dressings; material for stopping 
teeth, dental wax,; disinfectants; preparations for 
destroying vermin; and fungicides, and herbicides.  

6. Common metals and their alloys; metal building 
materials; transportable buildings of metal; materials of 
metal for railway tracks; nonelectric cables and wires of 
common metal; ironmongery, small items of metal 
hardware; pipes and tubes of metal; safes; goods of 
common metal not included in other classes; and ores.  

7. Machines and machine tools; motors and engines 
(except for land vehicles); machine coupling and 
transmission components (except for land vehicles); 
agricultural implements other than hand operated; and 
incubators for eggs.  

8. Hand tools and implements (hand operated); cutlery; 
side arms; and razors.  

9. Scientific, nautical, surveying, electric, photographic, 
cinematographic, optical, weighing, measuring, signalling, 
checking (supervision), life-saving and teaching apparatus 
and instruments; apparatus and instruments for conducting, 
switching, transforming, accumulating, regulating, or 
controlling electricity; apparatus for recording, 
transmission or reproduction of sound or images; magnetic 
data carriers, recording discs; automatic vending machines 
and mechanisms for coin operated apparatus; cash 
registers, calculating machines, data processing equipment 
and computers; and fire-extinguishing apparatus.  

10. Surgical, medical, dental and veterinary apparatus and 
instruments; artificial limbs, eyes and teeth; orthopedic 
articles; and suture materials.  

11. Apparatus for lighting, heating, steam generating, 
cooking, refrigerating, drying, ventilating, water supply 
and sanitary purposes.  

12. Vehicles; and apparatus for locomotion by land, air, or 
water.  

13. Firearms; ammunition and projectiles; explosives, ; and 
fireworks.  

14. Precious metals and their alloys and goods in precious 
metals or coated therewith in precious metals, not included 
in other classes; jewelry, precious stones; and horological 
and chronometric instruments.  

15. Musical instruments.  

16. Paper, cardboard and goods made from these materials, 
not included in other classes; printed matter; bookbinding 
material; photographs; stationery,; adhesives for stationery 
or household purposes; artists' materials; paint brushes; 
typewriters and office requisites (except furniture); 
instructional and teaching material (except apparatus); 
playing cards plastic materials for packaging (not included 
in other classes); printer's type; and printing blocks.  

17. Rubber, gutta-percha, gum asbestos, mica and goods 
made from these materials and not included in other 
classes; plastics in extruded form for use in manufacture; 
packing, stopping and insulating materials; and flexible 
pipes not of metal.  

18. Leather and imitations of leather, and goods made of 
these materials and not included in other classes; animal 
skins; hides; trunks and travelling bags; umbrellas, parasols 
and walking sticks; and whips, harness and saddlery.  

19. Building materials (nonmetallic); nonmetallic rigid 
pipes for building; asphalt, pitch and bitumen; nonmetallic 
transportable buildings; and monuments, not of metal.  

20. Furniture;, mirrors;, and picture frames; and goods (not 
included in other classes) of wood, cork, reed, cane, 
wicker, horn, bone, ivory, whalebone, shell, amber, 
mother-of-pearl, meerschaum and substitutes for all these 
materials, or of plastics.  

21. Household or kitchen utensils and containers (not of 
precious metal or coated therewith); combs and sponges; 
brushes (except paint brushes); brush-making materials; 
articles for cleaning purposes; steelwool; unworked or 
semiworked glass (except glass used in building); and 
glassware, porcelain and earthenware not included in other 
classes.  

22. Ropes, string, nets, tents, awnings, tarpaulins, sails, 
sacks and bags (not included in other classes); padding and 
stuffing materials (except of rubber or plastics); and raw 
fibrous textile materials.  

23. Yarns and thread threads for textile use.  

24. Textiles and textile goods, not included in other 
classes; and bed and table covers.  

25. Clothing, footwear, and headgear.  

26. Lace and embroidery; ribbons and braid; buttons, 
hooks and eyes, pins and needles; and artificial flowers.  

27. Carpets, rugs, mats and matting; linoleum and other 
materials for covering existing floors; and wall hangings 
(nontextile).  

28. Games and playthings; gymnastic and sporting articles 
not included in other classes; and decorations for 
Christmas trees.  
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29. Meat, fish, poultry and game; meat extracts; preserved, 
dried and cooked fruits and vegetables; jellies, jams, fruit 
sauces compotes; eggs, milk and milk products; and edible 
oils and fats.  

30. Coffee, tea, cocoa, sugar, rice, tapioca, sago, and 
artificial coffee; flour and preparations made from cereals, 
bread, pastry and confectionery; ices; honey; treacle; yeast; 
baking powder; salt; mustard; vinegar; sauces 
(condiments); spices; and ice.  

31. Agricultural, horticultural and forestry products and 
grains not included in other classes; live animals; fresh 
fruits and vegetables; seeds;, natural plants and flowers; 
foodstuffs for animals; and malt.  

32. Beer, mineral and aerated waters and other 
nonalcoholic drinks, fruit drinks and fruit juices; and 
syrups and other preparations for making beverages.  

33. Alcoholic beverages (except beers).  

34. Tobacco, smokers smokers' articles; and matches.  

Services.  

35. Advertising; business management; business 
administration; and office functions.  

36. Insurance, financial affairs; monetary affairs; and real 
estate affairs.  

37. Building construction; repair, and installation services.  

38. Telecommunications.  

39. Transport; packaging and storage of goods; and travel 
arrangement.  

40. Treatment of materials.  

41. Education; providing of: training,; entertainment; and 
sporting and cultural activities.  

42. Providing of food and drink; temporary 
accommodation; medical, hygienic and beauty care; 
veterinary and agricultural services; legal services; 
scientific and industrial research; computer programming; 
services that cannot be placed in other classes Scientific 
and technological services and research and design relating 
thereto; industrial analysis and research services; and 
design and development of computer hardware and 
software.  

43. Services for providing food and drink; and temporary 
accommodations. 

44. Medical services; veterinary services; hygienic and 
beauty care for human beings or animals; and agriculture, 
horticulture, and forestry services. 

45. Legal services; security services for the protection of 
property and individuals; and personal and social services 
rendered by others to meet the needs of individuals.  

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (21VAC5-120) 

Form TM 1, Application for Registration of a Trademark or 
Service Mark (eff. 7/98) 11/09). 

Form TM 2, Application for Renewal of Registration of a 
Trademark or Service Mark (eff. 7/98) 11/09). 

Form TM 3, Certificate of Name Change of an Applicant or 
Registrant (eff. 7/98) 11/09). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-2017; Filed October 28, 2009, 10:12 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 22VAC40-200. Foster Care - Guiding 
Principles (repealing 22VAC40-200-10, 22VAC40-200-20). 

22VAC40-201. Permanency Services - Prevention, Foster 
Care, Adoption and Independent Living (adding 
22VAC40-201-10 through 22VAC40-201-200). 

22VAC40-210. Foster Care - Assessing the Client's 
Service Needs (repealing 22VAC40-210-10 through 
22VAC40-210-40). 

22VAC40-240. Nonagency Placement for Adoption - 
Consent (repealing 22VAC40-240-10, 22VAC40-240-20, 
22VAC40-240-30). 

22VAC40-250. Agency Placement Adoptions - AREVA 
(repealing 22VAC40-250-10, 22VAC40-250-20). 

22VAC40-260. Agency Placement Adoptions - Subsidy 
(repealing 22VAC40-260-10, 22VAC40-260-20). 

22VAC40-280. Nonagency Placements for Adoption - 
Adoptive Home Study (repealing 22VAC40-280-10, 
22VAC40-280-20). 

22VAC40-800. Family Based Social Services (repealing 
22VAC40-800-10 through 22VAC40-800-170). 

22VAC40-810. Fees for Court Services Provided by Local 
Departments of Social Services (repealing 22VAC40-810-
10 through 22VAC40-810-50). 

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia. 
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Public Hearing Information: 

December 15, 2009 - 6 p.m. - Twin Hickory Area 
Library, 5001 Twin Hickory Road, Glen Allen, VA 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
January 22, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Phyl Parrish, Policy Team Leader, 
Department of Social Services, Division of Family Services, 
801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
726-7926, FAX (804) 726-7895, TTY 1-800-828-1120, or 
email phyl.parrish@dss.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The legal basis for this action is §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-
319 of the Code of Virginia. Section 63.2-217 authorizes the 
State Board of Social Services (board) to adopt regulations as 
may be necessary to carry out the mandated purposes of the 
Department of Social Services (DSS). Section 63.2-319 
directs local departments of social services (LDSS) to provide 
child welfare services. This regulatory action will provide a 
comprehensive structure for the provision of these services. 

Purpose: This joint action repeals eight regulations and 
replaces them with one comprehensive new permanency 
services regulation that will encompass the full range of 
services for providing a child with a safe and secure living 
situation that supports family connections. Currently, 
regulations addressing permanency services for children are 
contained in eight different regulations that were promulgated 
at different times. Combining these regulations into one 
comprehensive regulation will ensure consistency in 
definitions and language and limit the number of regulations 
individuals must use when addressing issues related to 
permanency services for children. Avoiding confusion related 
to the rules that apply to children and families in the child 
welfare system is essential to protect the health, safety, and 
welfare of these children. This regulation is integral to 
Virginia's compliance with federal child and family services 
program goals. 

Substance: One of the first sections of this regulation 
addresses the importance of providing services to prevent a 
child from having to enter the foster care system. It also 
emphasizes inclusion of the child, birth parents, and 
significant individuals in the child's life in the decision 
making process by including them in the initial assessment 
and development of goals and service plan. 

The regulation requires a concurrent planning process to help 
ensure timely permanence for a child if an initial goal, such as 
return home, cannot be achieved. The regulation requires a 
reassessment of the child and the effectiveness of services 
provided to him and his birth parents or prior custodian in 
three months if the child's goal is to return home. This 
timeframe is a change from current practice, which is a 
reassessment of children in foster care every six months. 

The regulation includes language requiring monthly visits to 
children in foster care at least once each calendar month, 
reflecting a current federal mandate. The regulation requires 
initial and annual in-service training for foster care and 
adoption workers and supervisors. DSS has offered training 
for foster care service workers for over 10 years through 
contracts with Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU) 
and through other venues. Training has been mandated for 
child protective services workers, but it has not been 
mandated for foster care and adoptive workers until now. 

Issues: The primary advantages of this regulation include: (i) 
it attempts to keep children from entering the foster care 
system and supports returning them to their homes or finding 
another permanent home for them as quickly and safely as 
possible; (ii) it supports best practices that address children's 
health, safety, and need for family connections while they are 
in foster care; and (iii) it supports a well trained workforce. 

Combining the eight existing regulations into one 
comprehensive regulation will ensure consistency in 
definitions and language and will limit the number of 
regulations individuals must use when addressing issues 
related to permanency services for children. Avoiding 
confusion related to the rules that apply to children and 
families in the child welfare system is essential to protect the 
health, safety, and welfare of these children. This regulation 
is integral to Virginia's compliance with federal child and 
family services program goals. 

There are no disadvantages to the public posed by this 
regulation. Of concern to the LDSS are (i) the costs 
associated with visiting children monthly; (ii) increasing the 
number of individuals participating in the planning process; 
and (iii) increasing the number of reassessments for some 
children. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Regulation. The State Board of 
Social Services (Board) proposes to repeal eight regulations 
which now govern parts of the adoption process as well the 
disposition of children in foster care and children who are at 
risk of becoming part of the foster care system. One 
comprehensive regulation that mandates the shape and scope 
of permanency services in Virginia will replace those seven 
that are to be repealed.  

The Board proposes to require that: 

1. Local Departments of Social Services (LDSS) have a 
plan for visitation between foster children and their 
parents and siblings unless such visitation is not in the 
best interests of the child, 

2. The case of each child in foster care be subject to 
judicial review at set intervals, 
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3. LDSS include all affected parties in the service 
planning process and notify these parties of all judicial 
and administrative hearings so that they may participate 
if they wish,1  

4. LDSS have monthly face-to-face contact with children 
in foster care,  

5. LDSS have face-to-face contact with the parents or 
prior guardians to whom children in the foster care 
system are expected to be returned, 

6. LDSS have contact with all foster care providers as 
specified (quarterly visits are currently specified) in the 
State Department of Social Services' (DSS) Resource, 
Foster and Adoptive Family Home Approval Standards 
(22 VAC 40-211), 

7. New social workers and supervisory staff participate in 
initial training and ongoing yearly training and 

8. Only children 14 years or older be considered eligible 
for permanent foster care. 

The Board also proposes to prohibit local social services 
personnel from serving as foster, adoptive or resource parents 
for children in the custody of the locality they work for even 
if the child and the local worker are relatives. 

In addition to bringing Virginia into greater compliance with 
the requirements of Title IV-E and the Adoption and Safe 
families Act (ASFA), the proposed regulation contains 
requirements that are already DSS policy (DSS Foster Care 
Policy Manual Volume VII, Section III, Chapter B), but 
which has not yet been put into regulatory code. These 
portions of the proposed regulation do not represent a change 
in DSS practices. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits exceed the costs for one 
proposed regulatory change. The costs likely exceed the 
benefits for two proposed regulatory changes. There is 
insufficient data to decide whether benefits exceed costs for 
all other proposed changes. Detailed analysis can be found in 
the next section. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Most of the provisions of 
22 VAC 40-201 do not represent a substantive change in how 
the foster care system in Virginia operates. As noted above, 
much of the proposed regulation is a restatement of current 
DSS policy. There are however substantial costs, mostly labor 
costs, attached to the proposed regulation provisions that 
concern visitation between foster children and family 
members from whom they have been separated, between 
these children and their case social workers, and between 
social workers and parents to whom children in foster care 
will be returned. There will also be costs associated with 
social worker and supervisor training. 

Current regulation contains no specific language obligating 
DSS to maintain ties between foster care children and their 

siblings and parents or former guardians; at this point, various 
localities have different policies for, and place varying 
importance on, this type of visitation. In 2003, the US 
Department of Health and Human Services Children's Bureau 
(HHS) conducted a review of child and family services in 
Virginia. Visitation between foster children and their families 
is one of the areas in which Virginia's foster care system "did 
not achieve substantial conformity" with the ASFA mandates. 
In order to avoid threatened monetary penalties, DSS must 
now bring regulation and practice into compliance with 
ASFA, which requires that states facilitate this visitation so 
that families can be more easily reunited at the end of the 
foster care process. 

DSS estimates that implementation of this portion of the 
proposed regulation will require that LDSS hire the 
equivalent of 27.8 full time social workers ($59,778 per 
worker per year2) in order to implement visitation with 
parents to whom foster children will likely be returned. This 
change will likely yield benefits for children in foster care as 
this visitation will allow LDSS to communicate goals for this 
parents and assess how well they are meeting those goals. 
This will likely allow reunification plans to move forward 
more quickly.  

Additionally, DSS estimates that approximately 65 full time 
social workers are needed to implement mandated monthly 
face-to-face visitation between social workers and children in 
foster care placement. This change in policy is identical to, 
and mandated by, HHS policy. DSS and HHS believe that 
many situations, like poor placement fit, that might prove 
harmful to foster children can be caught and fixed more 
quickly if social workers have face-to-face contact more 
frequently. Although this portion of the proposed regulation 
represents a large shift in DSS policy since currently only 
quarterly visits are required, many LDSS have moved toward 
monthly visits already in anticipation of this change. 

DSS does not currently have funding to cover the increased 
visitation mandated by the proposed regulation and, so, would 
have to meet new regulatory requirements using their current 
staff. This provision, if promulgated without funding, may 
have a negative effect on social worker retention rates which 
will, in turn, have a negative economic impact on the 
Commonwealth as additional funds will be needed for 
recruiting and hiring replacement workers. 

Although DSS anticipates that they already have the 
resources (training materials, staff to conduct training, etc.) to 
cover new worker and annual in-service training that will be 
required by these proposed regulations, there is a cost in 
using these resources for this purpose rather than using them 
toward some other end. DSS reports that this newly required 
training will bring regulation and practice in this area into 
conformity with Federal standards in order to avoid 
substantial monetary penalties. While the costs (mainly 
opportunity costs for resources used) of this training are in 
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practical terms, unavoidable, they are mitigated, and likely 
outweighed, by expected decreases in staff turnover. Social 
workers who are trained before they are assigned cases, and 
who receive ongoing training, are less likely to become 
frustrated because they are unprepared to handle the stress of 
their job. They may, as a consequence, stay in their position 
longer. If this is the case, DSS will realize savings in the 
search and hiring costs for new employees. In addition, this 
portion of the proposed regulation will have non-monetary 
benefits in that well trained social workers are more likely to 
make good decisions for the children who they are evaluating 
or who are already in the care of DSS. 

In order to facilitate the training and visitation mandated by 
the proposed regulation, LDSS will need to hire the 
equivalent of 15.5 full time supervisors ($70,919 per 
supervisor per year) to maintain a supervisor to social worker 
ratio of 1 to 6. In addition, LDSS will need to hire the 
equivalent of 6.6 full time case aides ($51,672 per aide per 
year) to maintain an aide to social worker ratio of 1 to 14.  

DSS estimates that the full (financial) cost for implementing 
the proposed regulation as it is now written is $8,198,379 for 
FY 2010. Of this total, localities will be responsible for 
$1,270,749; the Commonwealth's portion will be $5,738,865 
and federal funds will cover $1,188,765. For FY 2011, DSS 
reports that these proposed regulations will cost $7,526,156: 
$1,166,554 in local funding, $5,268,309 in state funding and 
$1,091,293 in federal funding. 

Other explicit costs generated by implementation of the 
proposed regulation, cost for printing training materials and 
any cost attached to gathering specific documentation that 
must be presented in removal hearings are two examples, are 
estimated by DSS to be minimal and already covered by pre-
existing budgetary allowances. These represent costs to 
opportunity in that funds used for these things cannot be used 
for something else, but DSS does not require an increase in 
their budget to cover them. 

In addition to the changes in these proposed regulations that 
have financial costs attached to them, the Board is proposing 
several changes to policy that will likely adversely impact 
some of the children to whom the changes will apply. Current 
DSS policy allows children 12 years old and older to have a 
permanency goal of permanent foster care. The Board 
proposes to change this requirement, so that only children 14 
years old or older will be placed in permanent foster care, and 
to move this requirement from DSS policy, where it served as 
guidance for LDSS, to Administrative Code. DSS reports that 
this language is being proposed as part of these replacement 
regulations to ensure that every child that can be reunified 
with his or her family, or adopted, has that happen. Having 
this rule as part of a law that must be implemented, however, 
will likely adversely affect the chance that sibling groups, that 
may be as difficult as teenagers to find an adoptive home for, 
would be able to stay together. While the goal of adoption for 

every eligible child is an admirable one, siblings groups may 
not have their lives improved by being separated because 
adoption is viewed as always preferable to permanent foster 
care. Outcomes for children in this situation would likely be 
improved if this language remains in guidance but does not 
become a hard and fast rule in the Administrative Code. 

The Board also proposes to add language to these regulations 
that prohibits LDSS personnel from serving as foster, 
adoptive or resource parent for any child, even a relative, in 
the custody of the locality for whom they work. If child 
relative is brought into foster care, LDSS personnel may be 
certified as a foster, resource or adoptive parent in a locality 
other than the one he or she works for or the custody of the 
child can be transferred to another locality and that locality 
can consider placing the child with the relative who works for 
some other LDSS. DSS reports that this rule is not a change 
in policy and is being promulgated to foreswear the 
possibility that individuals who work for LDSS would use 
their influence or special knowledge to improperly influence 
the placement of children or the dispersal of reimbursement 
funds. DSS also reports that this rule is required by the State 
and Local Government Conflicts of Interest Act (§ 2.2-3109). 
While this is likely a sensible rule when dealing with most 
children, children who have a relative who works for a LDSS 
may be harmed by it. Affected children who might benefit 
from being placed in a home with a relative whom they know 
and love will likely have that placement delayed or denied by 
this rule. Outcomes for children in this situation would likely 
be improved if an exception to this rule that allowed easier 
qualification for relative care were carved out in both 
administrative code and statute. 

Other costs that may be attached to the proposed regulation 
are harder to judge. For instance, the provision that requires 
that social workers meet with the parents of children in foster 
care may be problematic since DSS can dictate practice for 
LDSS staff but cannot force unwilling parents to meet if that 
is not their inclination. The cost of this item in man hours 
could easily add up very quickly as LDSS staff may find that 
they are spending a good deal more time than anticipated 
trying to get parents to comply. This may serve as a source of 
frustration to social workers and may be a factor that 
increases DSS staff turnover. Additionally, DSS was subject 
to an audit of their compliance with ASFA. Many of the 
requirements of the proposed regulation are aimed at fixing 
the deficiencies that HHS found with Virginia's child and 
family services. Although there has been no exact dollar 
amount yet attached to non-compliance, Virginia will be 
subject to monetary penalties if they do not improve 
performance in implementing ASFA mandates. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulations 
will affect 169 private placement agencies and child 
residential institutions, as well as the slightly fewer than 
7,000 children in foster care in Virginia. 
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Localities Particularly Affected. All 120 local Departments of 
Social Services will be affected by these new regulations. 

Projected Impact on Employment. At least 93 new social 
workers may be hired to meet the visitation and training 
requirements of the proposed regulations. Additionally, 
approximately 22 new support and supervisory positions may 
be created.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The use and 
value of private property should not be affected by the 
proposed regulations. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Only public 
agencies and non-profit private placing agencies are likely to 
be affected by the proposed regulations. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Only public agencies and non-profit private 
placing agencies are likely to be affected by the proposed 
regulations. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21 
(02). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 

_______________________________ 
1 Affected parties include parents or prior guardians, foster parents and, when 
appropriate, children who are the subject of the service plan. 
2 This figure includes salary, retirement benefits, FICA, insurance, travel 
expenses, supplies, telephone costs, equipment costs and the one time 
expenses associated with setting up an office. The same expenses are 

included in the per year cost for each new case aide and supervisor. Other 
accounting methods which recognize, for instance, that office space can be 
shared would likely yield lower per-worker costs. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Department of 
Social Services concurs with the economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

This joint action repeals eight regulations and replaces 
them with one comprehensive new Permanency Services 
regulation that will encompass the full range of services 
for providing a child with a safe home with his family or in 
the most family-like setting possible while maintaining 
family connections. The regulation incorporates provisions 
including: (i) how local departments of social services 
(LDSS) address the provision of services to prevent 
children from coming into foster care; (ii) the process for 
assessing children entering foster care, establishing goals 
for those children, engaging in concurrent planning, and 
ensuring children are in the most appropriate and least 
restrictive placement; (iii) development of service plans, 
service delivery, court hearings and case reviews; (iv) 
provision of independent living services, and closing of 
foster care cases; and (v) adoption processes, adoption 
assistance and the putative father registry. In addition, the 
regulation requires LDSS workers and supervisors to 
attend training in accordance with Department of Social 
Services (DSS) guidance. 

CHAPTER 201  
PERMANENCY SERVICES - PREVENTION, FOSTER 

CARE, ADOPTION AND INDEPENDENT LIVING  

22VAC40-201-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this regulation 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Adoption" means a legal process that entitles the person 
being adopted to all of the rights and privileges, and subjects 
the person to all of the obligations of a birth child. 

"Adoption assistance" means a money payment or services 
provided to adoptive parents on behalf of a child with special 
needs.  

"Adoption assistance agreement" means a written agreement 
between the child-placing agency and the adoptive parents of 
a child with special needs to provide for the unmet financial 
and service needs of the child. An adoption assistance 
agreement may be for a federal, state, or conditional subsidy.  

"Adoption Progress Report" means a report filed with the 
juvenile court on the progress being made to place the child in 
an adoptive home. Section 16.1-283 of the Code of Virginia 
requires that an Adoption Progress Report be submitted to the 
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juvenile court every six months following termination of 
parental rights until the adoption is final. 

"Adoption search" means interviews and written or 
telephone inquiries made by a local department to locate and 
advise the biological parents or siblings of an adult adoptee's 
request, by Application for Disclosure or petition to the court, 
for identifying information from a closed adoption record. 

"Adoptive home" means any family home selected and 
approved by a parent, local board or a licensed child-placing 
agency for the placement of a child with the intent of 
adoption.  

"Adoptive home study" means an assessment of a family 
completed by a child-placing agency to determine the family's 
suitability for adoption. The adoptive home study is included 
in the dual approval process. 

"Adoptive parent" means any provider selected and 
approved by a parent or a child-placing agency for the 
placement of a child with the intent of adoption. 

"Adoptive placement" means arranging for the care of a 
child who is in the custody of a child-placing agency in an 
approved home for the purpose of adoption.  

"Adult adoption" means the adoption of any person 18 years 
of age or older, carried out in accordance with § 63.2-1243 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency placement adoption" means an adoption in which a 
child is placed in an adoptive home by a child-placing agency 
that has custody of the child.  

"AREVA" means the Adoption Resource Exchange of 
Virginia that maintains a registry and photo-listing of children 
waiting for adoption and families seeking to adopt.  

"Assessment" means an evaluation of the situation of the 
child and family to identify strengths and services needed. 

"Birth family" means the child's biological family.  

"Birth parent" means the child's biological parent and for 
purposes of adoptive placement means a parent by previous 
adoption.  

"Birth sibling" means the child's biological sibling. 

"Board" means the State Board of Social Services.  

"Child" means any natural person under 18 years of age.  

"Child-placing agency" means any person who places 
children in foster homes, adoptive homes, or independent 
living arrangements pursuant to § 63.2-1819 of the Code of 
Virginia or a local board that places children in foster homes 
or adoptive homes pursuant to §§ 63.2-900, 63.2-903, and 
63.2-1221 of the Code of Virginia. Officers, employees, or 
agents of the Commonwealth, or any locality acting within 
the scope of their authority as such, who serve as or maintain 
a child-placing agency, shall not be required to be licensed. 

"Child with special needs" as it relates to the adoption 
process means any child in the care and responsibility of a 
child-placing agency who:  

1. Is legally free for adoption as evidenced by termination 
of parental rights. 

2. Has one or more of the following individual 
characteristics that make the child hard to place:  

a. A physical, mental, or emotional condition existing 
prior to adoption in accordance with guidance developed 
by the department;  

b. A hereditary tendency, congenital problem, or birth 
injury leading to risk of future disability; 

c. A physician's or his designee's documentation of 
prenatal exposure to drugs or alcohol;  

d. Is five years of age or older; 

e. Has a minority racial or ethnic background; 

f. Is a member of a sibling group who is being placed 
with the same family at the same time;  

g. Has significant emotional ties with the foster parents 
with whom the child has resided for at least 12 months, 
when the adoption by the foster parent is in the best 
interest of the child; or 

h. Has experienced a previous adoption disruption or 
dissolution or multiple disruptions of placements while in 
the custody of a child-placing agency. 

3. Has had reasonable but unsuccessful efforts made to be 
placed without adoption assistance.  

4. Had one or more of the conditions stated in subdivision 
2 a, b, or c of this definition at the time of adoption, but the 
condition was not diagnosed until after the entry of the 
final order of adoption and no more than a year has elapsed 
from the date of diagnoses. 

"Close relative" means a grandparent, great-grandparent, 
adult nephew or niece, adult brother or sister, adult uncle or 
aunt, or adult great uncle or great aunt.  

"Commissioner" means the commissioner of the department, 
his designee, or his authorized representative. 

"Community Policy and Management Team (CPMT)" 
means a team appointed by the local governing body to 
receive funds pursuant to Chapter 52 (§ 2.2-5200 et seq.) of 
Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. The powers and duties of 
the CPMT are set out in § 2.2-5206 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Comprehensive Services Act for At-Risk Youth and 
Families (CSA)" means a collaborative system of services 
and funding that is child centered, family focused, and 
community based when addressing the strengths and needs of 
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troubled and at-risk youth and their families in the 
Commonwealth. 

"Concurrent permanency planning" means a sequential, 
structured approach to case management which requires 
working towards a permanency goal (usually reunification) 
while at the same time establishing and working towards an 
alternative permanency plan. 

"Custody investigation" means a method to gather 
information related to the parents and a child whose custody, 
visitation, or support is in controversy or requires 
determination. 

"Department" means the State Department of Social 
Services.  

"Dual approval process" means a process that includes a 
home study, mutual selection, interviews, training, and 
background checks to be completed on all applicants being 
considered for approval as a resource, foster or adoptive 
family home provider.  

"Family Assessment and Planning Team (FAPT)" means the 
local team created by the CPMT (i) to assess the strengths 
and needs of troubled youths and families who are approved 
for referral to the team and (ii) to identify and determine the 
complement of services required to meet their unique needs. 
The powers and duties of the FAPT are set out in § 2.2-5208 
of the Code of Virginia. 

"Foster care" means 24-hour substitute care for children 
placed away from their parents or guardians and for whom 
the local board has placement and care responsibility. 
Placements may be made in foster family homes, foster 
homes of relatives, group homes, emergency shelters, 
residential facilities, child care institutions, and pre-adoptive 
homes. Foster care also includes children under the placement 
and care of the local board who have not been removed from 
their home.  

"Foster care maintenance payments" means payments to 
cover federally allowable expenses made on behalf of a child 
in foster care including the cost of food, clothing, shelter, 
daily supervision, and other allowable expenses in accordance 
with guidance developed by the department.  

"Foster care placement" means placement of a child through 
(i) an agreement between the parents or guardians and the 
local board or the public agency designated by the CPMT 
where legal custody remains with the parents or guardians, or 
(ii) an entrustment or commitment of the child to the local 
board or licensed child-placing agency. 

"Foster care prevention" means the provision of services to a 
child and family to prevent the need for foster care placement. 

"Foster care services" means the provision of a full range of 
prevention, placement, treatment, and community services, 

including but not limited to independent living services, as set 
forth in § 63.2-905 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Foster child" means a child for whom the local board has 
assumed placement and care responsibilities through a non-
custodial foster care agreement, entrustment, or court 
commitment before 18 years of age.  

"Foster family placement" means placement of a child with 
a family who has been approved by a child-placing agency to 
provide substitute care for children until a permanent 
placement can be achieved.  

"Foster home" means the place of residence of any natural 
person in which any child, other than a child by birth or 
adoption of such person, resides as a member of the 
household.  

"Foster parent" means an approved provider who gives 24-
hour substitute family care, room and board, and services for 
children or youth committed or entrusted to a child-placing 
agency. 

"Independent living arrangement" means placement of a 
child at least 16 years of age who is in the custody of a local 
board or licensed child-placing agency and has been placed 
by the local board or licensed child-placing agency in a living 
arrangement in which he does not have daily substitute 
parental supervision.  

"Independent living services" means services and activities 
provided to a child in foster care 14 years of age or older who 
was committed or entrusted to a local board of social services, 
child welfare agency, or private child-placing agency. 
Independent living services may also mean services and 
activities provided to a person who was in foster care on his 
18th birthday and has not yet reached the age of 21 years. 
Such services shall include counseling, education, housing, 
employment, and money management skills development, 
access to essential documents, and other appropriate services 
to help children or persons prepare for self-sufficiency.  

"Individual Family Service Plan (IFSP)" means the plan for 
services developed by the FAPT in accordance with § 2.2-
5208 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Intercountry placement" means the arrangement for the 
care of a child in an adoptive home or foster care placement 
into or out of the Commonwealth by a licensed child-placing 
agency, court, or other entity authorized to make such 
placements in accordance with the laws of the foreign country 
under which it operates.  

"Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children (ICPC)" 
means a uniform law that has been enacted by all 50 states, 
the District of Columbia, and the U.S. Virgin Islands which 
establishes orderly procedures for the interstate placement of 
children and sets responsibility for those involved in placing 
those children.  
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"Interstate placement" means the arrangement for the care of 
a child in an adoptive home, foster care placement, or in the 
home of the child's parent or with a relative or nonagency 
guardian, into or out of the Commonwealth, by a child-
placing agency or court when the full legal right of the child's 
parent or nonagency guardian to plan for the child has been 
voluntarily terminated or limited or severed by the action of 
any court.  

"Investigation" means the process by which the local 
department obtains information required by § 63.2-1208 of 
the Code of Virginia about the placement and the suitability 
of the adoption. The findings of the investigation are 
compiled into a written report for the circuit court containing 
a recommendation on the action to be taken by the court. 

"Local department" means the local department of social 
services of any county or city in the Commonwealth. 

"Nonagency placement adoption" means an adoption in 
which the child is not in the custody of a child-placing agency 
and is placed in the adoptive home directly by the birth parent 
or legal guardian.  

"Noncustodial foster care agreement" means an agreement 
that the local department enters into with the parent or 
guardian of a child to place the child in foster care when the 
parent or guardian retains custody of the child. The agreement 
specifies the conditions for placement and care of the child. 

"Nonrecurring expenses" means expenses of adoptive 
parents directly related to the adoption of a child with special 
needs including, but not limited to, attorney fees directly 
related to the finalization of the adoption; transportation; 
court costs; and reasonable and necessary fees of child-
placing agencies.  

"Parental placement" means locating or effecting the 
placement of a child or the placing of a child in a family 
home by the child's parent or legal guardian for the purpose 
of foster care or adoption.  

"Permanency" means establishing family connections and 
placement options for a child to provide a lifetime of 
commitment, continuity of care, a sense of belonging, and a 
legal and social status that go beyond a child's temporary 
foster care placements. 

"Permanency planning" means a social work practice 
philosophy that promotes establishing a permanent living 
situation for every child with an adult with whom the child 
has a continuous, reciprocal relationship within a minimum 
amount of time after the child enters the foster care system. 

"Permanency planning indicator (PPI)" means a tool used in 
concurrent permanency planning to assess the likelihood of 
reunification. This tool assists the worker in determining if a 
child should be placed with a resource family and if a 
concurrent goal should be established. 

"Prior custodian" means the person who had custody of the 
child and with whom the child resided, other than the birth 
parent, before custody was transferred to or placement made 
with the child-placing agency when that person had custody 
of the child. 

"Reassessment" means a subsequent review of the child's, 
birth parent's or prior custodian's, and resource parent's 
circumstances for the purpose of identifying needed services.  

"Residential placement" means a placement in a licensed 
publicly or privately owned facility, other than a private 
family home, where 24-hour care is provided to children 
separated from their families. A residential placement 
includes children's residential facilities as defined in § 63.2-
100 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Resource parent" means a provider who has completed the 
dual approval process and has been approved as both a foster 
and adoptive family home provider. 

"Reunification" means the return of the child to his home 
after removal for reasons of child abuse and neglect, 
abandonment, child in need of services, parental request for 
relief of custody, noncustodial agreement, entrustment, or any 
other court-ordered removal. 

"Service plan" means a written document that describes the 
programs, care, services, and other support which will be 
offered to the child and his parents and other prior custodians 
pursuant to § 16.1-281 of the Code of Virginia, 

"Service worker" means a worker responsible for case 
management or service coordination for prevention, foster 
care, or adoption cases. 

"Special service payments" means payments for services 
provided to help meet the adoptive or foster child's physical, 
mental, emotional, or dental needs.  

"SSI" means Supplemental Security Income.  

"State pool fund" means the pooled state and local funds 
administered by CSA and used to pay for services authorized 
by the CPMT. 

"Step-parent adoption" means the adoption of a child by a 
spouse; or the adoption of a child by a former spouse of the 
birth or adoptive parent in accordance with § 63.2-1201.1 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

"Title IV-E" means the title of the Social Security Act that 
authorizes federal funds for foster care and adoption 
assistance. 

"Visitation and report" means the visitation conducted 
pursuant to § 63.2-1212 of the Code of Virginia subsequent to 
the entry of an interlocutory order of adoption and the written 
report compiling the findings of the visitation which is filed 
in the circuit court. 
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"Wrap around services" means an individually designed set 
of services and supports provided to a child and his family 
that includes treatment services, personal support services or 
any other supports necessary to achieve the desired outcome. 
Wrap around services are developed through a team 
approach. 

"Youth" means any child in foster care between 16 and 18 
years of age or any person 18 to 21 years of age transitioning 
out of foster care and receiving independent living services 
pursuant to § 63.2-905.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

22VAC40-201-20. Foster care prevention services. 

A. The local department shall first make reasonable efforts 
to keep the child in his home. 

B. The local department shall work with the birth parents or 
custodians to locate and assess relatives or other alternative 
caregivers to support the child remaining in his home or as 
placement options if the child cannot safely remain in his 
home.  

C. Services, pursuant to § 63.2-905 of the Code of Virginia, 
shall be available to birth parents or custodians to prevent the 
need for foster care placement to the extent that a child and 
birth parents or custodians meet all eligibility requirements.  

D. Any services available to a child in foster care shall also 
be available to a child and his birth parents or custodians to 
prevent foster care placement and shall be based on an 
assessment of the child's and birth parents' or custodians' 
needs.  

E. Any service shall be provided to prevent foster care 
placement or to stabilize the family situation provided the 
need for the service is documented in the local department's 
service plan or in the IFSP used in conjunction with CSA. 

F. Children at imminent risk of entry into foster care shall be 
evaluated by the local department as reasonable candidates 
for foster care based on federal and state guidelines.  

G. The local department shall consider a wrap around plan 
of care prior to removing a child from his home and 
document support and services considered and the reasons 
such support and services were not sufficient to maintain the 
child in his home. 

22VAC40-201-30. Entering foster care. 

A. A child enters foster care through a court commitment, 
entrustment agreement, or non-custodial foster care 
agreement. 

B. The entrustment agreement shall specify the rights and 
obligations of the child, the birth parent or custodian, and the 
child-placing agency. Entrustments shall not be used for 
educational purposes, to make the child eligible for Medicaid, 
or to obtain mental health treatment.  

1. Temporary entrustment agreements may be revoked by 
the birth parent or custodian or child-placing agency prior 
to the court's approval of the agreement. 

2. Permanent entrustment agreements shall only be entered 
into when the birth parent and the child-placing agency, 
after counseling about alternatives to permanent 
relinquishment, agree that voluntary relinquishment of 
parental rights and placement of the child for adoption are 
in the child's best interests. When a child-placing agency 
enters into a permanent entrustment agreement, the child-
placing agency shall make diligent efforts to ensure the 
timely finalization of the adoption. 

C. A child may be placed in foster care by a birth parent or 
custodian entering into a noncustodial foster care agreement 
with the local department where the birth parent or custodian 
retains legal custody and the local department assumes 
placement and care of the child. 

1. A noncustodial foster care agreement shall be signed by 
the local department and the birth parent or custodian and 
shall address the conditions for care and control of the 
child; and the rights and obligations of the child, birth 
parent or custodian, and the local department. Local 
departments shall enter into a noncustodial foster care 
agreement at the request of the birth parent or custodian 
when such an agreement is in the best interest of the child. 
When a noncustodial foster care agreement is executed, the 
permanency goal shall be reunification and continuation of 
the agreement is subject to the cooperation of the birth 
parent or custodian and child.  

2. The plan for foster care placement through a 
noncustodial foster care agreement shall be submitted to 
the court for approval within 60 days of the child's entry 
into foster care. 

3. When a child is placed in foster care through a 
noncustodial foster care agreement, all foster care 
requirements shall be met.  

22VAC40-201-40. Foster care placements. 

A. The local department shall ensure a child in foster care is 
placed in a licensed or approved home or facility that 
complies with all federal and state requirements for safety. 
Placements shall be made subject to the requirements of 
§ 63.2-901.1 of the Code of Virginia. The following 
requirements shall be met when placing a child in a licensed 
or approved home or facility: 

1. The local department shall make diligent efforts to 
locate and assess relatives as a foster home placement for 
the child, including in emergency situations.  

2. The local department shall place the child in the least 
restrictive, most family like setting consistent with the best 
interests and needs of the child. 
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3. The local department shall attempt to place the child in 
as close proximity as possible to the birth parent's or prior 
custodian's home to facilitate visitation and provide 
continuity of connections for the child. 

4. The local department shall make diligent efforts to place 
the child with siblings. 

5. The local department shall, when appropriate, consider 
placement with a resource parent so that if reunification 
fails, the placement is the best available placement to 
provide permanency for the child. 

6. The local department shall not delay or deny placement 
of a child into a foster family placement on the basis of 
race, color, or national origin of the foster or resource 
parent or child.  

7. When a child being placed in foster care is of native 
American heritage and is a member of a nationally 
recognized tribe, the local department shall follow all 
federal laws, regulations, and polices regarding the referral 
of a child of native American heritage. The local 
department shall contact the Virginia Council on Indians 
and consider tribal culture and connections in the 
placement and care of a child of Virginia Indian heritage. 

B. A service worker shall make a preplacement visit to any 
out-of-home placement to observe the environment where the 
child will be living and ensure that the placement is safe and 
capable of meeting the needs of the child. The preplacement 
visit shall precede the placement date except in cases of 
emergency. In cases of emergency, the visit shall occur on the 
same day as the placement.  

C. Foster, adoptive, or resource family homes shall meet 
standards established by the Board and shall be approved by 
child-placing agencies. Group homes and residential facilities 
shall be licensed by the appropriate licensing agency. Local 
departments shall verify the licensure status of the facility 
prior to placement of the child.  

D. Local departments shall receive approval from the 
department's office of the ICPC prior to placing a child out of 
state. 

E. When a child is to be placed in a home in another local 
department's jurisdiction within Virginia, the local 
department intending to place the child shall notify the local 
department that approved the home that the home is being 
considered for the child's placement. The local department 
shall also verify that the home is still approved and shall 
consult with the approving local department about placement 
of the child.  

F. When a foster, adoptive, or resource family is moving 
from one jurisdiction to another, the local department holding 
custody shall notify the local department in the jurisdiction to 
which the foster, adoptive, or resource family is moving. 

G. When a child moves with a foster, adoptive, or resource 
family from one jurisdiction to another in Virginia, the local 
department holding custody shall continue supervision of the 
child unless supervision is transferred to the other local 
department. 

H. A local department may petition the court to transfer 
custody of a child to another local department when the birth 
parent or prior custodian has moved to that locality.  

I. In planned placement changes or relocation of foster 
parents, birth parents with residual parental rights or prior 
custodians and all other relevant parties shall be notified that 
a placement change or move is being considered if such 
notification is in the best interest of the child. The birth parent 
or prior custodian shall be involved in the decision-making 
process regarding the placement change prior to a final 
decision being made.  

1. The service worker shall consider the child's best 
interest and safety needs when involving the birth parent or 
prior custodian and all other relevant parties in the 
decision-making process regarding placement change or 
notification of the new placement.  

2. In the case of an emergency placement change, the birth 
parent with residual parental rights or prior custodian and 
all other relevant parties shall be notified immediately of 
the placement change. The child-placing agency shall 
inform the birth parent or prior custodian why the 
placement change occurred and why the birth parent or 
prior custodian and all other relevant parties could not be 
involved in the decision-making process.  

22VAC40-201-50. Initial foster care placement activities. 

A. Information on every child in foster care shall be entered 
into the department's automated child welfare system in 
accordance with guidance in the initial placement activities 
section of the Foster Care Manual, August 2009.  

B. The local department shall refer the child for all financial 
benefits to which the child may be eligible, including but not 
limited to Child Support, Title IV-E, SSI, other governmental 
benefits, and private resources. 

C. The service worker shall ensure that the child receives a 
medical examination no later than 30 days after initial 
placement. The child shall be provided a medical evaluation 
within 72 hours of initial placement if conditions indicate 
such an evaluation is necessary. 

D. The service worker shall enroll the child in school as 
soon as possible but no more than 72 hours after placement.  

1. The child's desire to remain in his previous school 
setting shall be considered in making the decision about 
which school the child shall attend. Local departments 
shall allow a child to remain in his previous school 
placement when it is in the best interest of the child. 
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2. The service worker, in cooperation with the birth parents 
or prior custodians, foster care providers, and other 
involved adults, shall coordinate the school placement.  

22VAC40-201-60. Assessment. 

A. Assessments shall be conducted in a manner that 
respectfully involves children and birth parents or prior 
custodians to give them a say in what happens to them. 
Decision making shall include input from children, youth, 
birth parents or prior custodians, and other interested 
individuals. 

B. The initial foster care assessment shall result in the 
selection of a specific permanency goal. In accordance with 
guidance in the assessment section of the Foster Care Manual, 
August 2009, the local department shall complete the PPI 
during the initial foster care assessment to assist in 
determining if a concurrent goal should be selected. 

C. The initial foster care assessment shall be completed 
within time frames developed by the department but shall not 
exceed 30 calendar days after acceptance of the child in a 
foster care placement. 

1. When a child has been removed from his home as a 
result of abuse or neglect, the initial foster care assessment 
shall include a summary of the Child Protective Services' 
safety and risk assessments.  

2. The history and circumstances of the child, the birth 
parents or prior custodians, or other interested individuals 
shall be assessed at the time of the initial foster care 
assessment to determine their service needs. The initial 
foster care assessment shall: 

a. Include a comprehensive social history; 

b Utilize assessment tools designated by the department;  

c. Be entered into the department's automated child 
welfare system; and 

d. Include a description of how the child, youth, birth 
parents or prior custodians, and other interested 
individuals were involved in the decision making 
process. 

D. The service worker shall refer the child; birth parents or 
prior custodians; and foster, adoptive or resource parents for 
appropriate services identified through the assessment. The 
assessment shall include an assessment of financial resources.  

E. Reassessments of response of the child; birth parents or 
prior custodians; and foster, adoptive, or resource parents' to 
the provided services and the need for additional services 
shall occur at least every three months as long as the goal is to 
return home. Reassessments shall occur at least every six 
months after placement for as long as the child remains in 
foster care. The reassessments shall be completed in 

accordance with guidance in the assessment section of the 
Foster Care Manual, August 2009. 

22VAC40-201-70. Foster care goals. 

A. Foster care goals are established in order to assure 
permanency planning for the child. The establishment of 
lower ranking goals must include documentation as to why all 
higher ranking goals were not selected. Foster care goals, in 
order of priority, are: 

1. Return custody to parent or prior custodian. 

2. Transfer of custody of the child to a relative other than 
his prior family. 

3. Adoption. 

4. Permanent foster care. 

5. Independent living. 

6. Another planned permanent living arrangement. 

B. When the permanency goal is changed to adoption, the 
local department shall file petitions with the court 30 days 
prior to the hearing to:  

1. Approve the foster care service plan seeking to change 
the permanency goal to adoption; and  

2. Terminate parental rights.  

C. The goal of permanent foster care shall only be 
considered for children age 14 and older in accordance with 
guidance in the section on choosing a goal in the Foster Care 
Manual, August 2009.  

D. When the goal for the youth is to transition to 
independent living, the local department shall provide 
services pursuant to guidance in the section on choosing a 
goal in the Foster Care Manual, August 2009.  

E. The goal of another planned permanent living 
arrangement may be chosen when the court has found that 
none of the alternative permanency goals are appropriate and 
the court has found the child to: 

1. Have a severe and chronic emotional, physical, or 
neurological disabling condition; and 

2. Require long-term residential care for the condition. 

F. These permanency goals shall be considered and 
addressed from the beginning of placement and continuously 
evaluated. Although one goal may appear to be the primary 
goal, other goals shall be continuously explored and planned 
for as appropriate. 

22VAC40-201-80. Service plans. 

A. Every child in foster care shall have a current service 
plan. The service plan shall specify the assessed permanency 
goal and when appropriate the concurrent permanency goal, 
and shall meet all requirements set forth in federal or state 
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law. The development of the service plan shall occur through 
shared decision-making between the local department; the 
child; the birth parents or prior custodians; the foster, 
adoptive, or resource parents; and any other interested 
individuals. All of these partners shall be involved in sharing 
information for the purposes of well-informed decisions and 
planning for the child with a focus on safety and permanence.  

B. A service plan shall be written after the completion of a 
thorough assessment. Service plans shall directly reference 
how the strengths identified in the foster care assessment will 
support the plan and the needs to be met to achieve the 
permanency goal, including the identified concurrent 
permanency goal, in a timely manner. 

C. A plan for visitation with the birth parents or prior 
custodians, siblings, grandparents, or other interested 
individuals for all children in foster care shall be developed 
and presented to the court as part of the service plan. A plan 
shall not be required if such visitation is not in the best 
interest of the child.  

22VAC40-201-90. Service delivery. 

A. Permanency planning services to children and birth 
parents or prior custodians shall be delivered as part of a total 
system with cooperation, coordination, and collaboration 
occurring among children and youth, birth parents or prior 
custodians, service providers, the legal community and other 
interested individuals.  

B. Permanency planning for children and birth parents or 
prior custodians shall be an inclusive process providing 
timely notifications and full disclosure to the birth parents or 
prior custodians of the establishment of a concurrent 
permanency goal when indicated and the implications of 
concurrent permanency planning for the child and birth 
parents or prior custodians. Child-placing agencies shall also 
make timely notifications concerning placement changes, 
hearings and meetings regarding the child, assessments of 
needs and case progress, and responsiveness to the requests of 
the child and birth parents or prior custodians. 

C. Services to children and birth parents or prior custodians 
shall continue until an assessment indicates the services are 
no longer necessary. Services to achieve concurrent 
permanency goals shall be provided to support achievement 
of both permanency goals. 

D. In order to meet the child's permanency goals, services 
may be provided to extended family or other interested 
individuals and may continue until an assessment indicates 
the services are no longer necessary. 

E. All children in foster care shall have a face-to-face 
contact with an approved case worker at least once per 
calendar month regardless of the child's permanency goal or 
placement and in accordance with guidance in the service 
delivery section of the Foster Care Manual, August 2009, and 

Chapter C of the Adoption Manual, October 2009. The 
majority of each child's visits shall be in his place of 
residency. 

1. The purpose of the visits shall be to assess the child's 
progress, needs, adjustment to placement, and other 
significant information related to the health, safety, and 
well-being of the child.  

2. The visits shall be made by individuals who meet the 
department's requirements consistent with 42 USC 
§ 622(b).  

F. Supportive services to foster, adoptive, and resource 
parents shall be provided. 

1. The local department shall enter into a placement 
agreement developed by the department with the foster, 
adoptive, or resource parents. The placement agreement 
shall include, at a minimum, a code of ethics and mutual 
responsibilities for all parties to the agreement as required 
by § 63.2- 900 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. Foster, adoptive, and resource parents who have children 
placed with them shall be contacted by a service worker as 
often as needed in accordance with 22VAC211-100 to 
assess service needs and progress.  

3. Foster, adoptive, and resource parents shall be given full 
factual information about the child, including but not 
limited to, circumstances that led to the child's removal, 
and complete educational, medical and behavioral 
information. All information shall be kept confidential.  

4. Foster, adoptive, and resource parents shall be given 
appropriate sections of the foster care service plan.  

5. If needed, services to stabilize the placement shall be 
provided.  

6. Respite care for foster, adoptive, and resource parents 
may be provided on an emergency or planned basis in 
accordance with criteria developed by the department.  

7. The department shall make a contingency fund available 
to provide reimbursement to local departments' foster and 
resource parents for damages pursuant to § 63.2-911 of the 
Code of Virginia and according to guidance in the Foster 
Care Manual (section 12.16 of the Contingency Fund 
Policy) March 2007. Provision of reimbursement is 
contingent upon the availability of funds.  

22VAC40-201-100. Providing independent living services. 

A. Independent living services shall be identified by the 
youth; foster, adoptive or resource family; local department; 
service providers; legal community; and other interested 
individuals and shall be included in the service plan. Input 
from the youth in assembling the team and developing the 
services is required.  
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B. Independent living services may be provided to all youth 
ages 14 to 18 and may be provided until the youth reaches 
age 21. 

C. The child-placing agency may offer a program of 
independent living services that meets the youth's needs such 
as education, vocational training, employment, mental and 
physical health services, transportation, housing, financial 
support, daily living skills, counseling, and development of 
permanent connections with adults.  

D. Child-placing agencies shall assess the youth's 
independent living skills and needs in accordance with 
guidance in the service delivery section of the Foster Care 
Manual, August 2009, and incorporate the assessment results 
into the youth's service plan.  

E. A youth placed in foster care before the age of 18 may 
continue to receive independent living services from the 
child-placing agency between the ages of 18 and 21 if: 

1. The youth is making progress in an educational or 
vocational program, has employment, or is in a treatment 
or training program; and 

2. The youth agrees to participate with the local department 
in (i) developing a service agreement and (ii) signing the 
service agreement. The service agreement shall require, at 
a minimum, that the youth's living arrangement shall be 
approved by the local department and that the youth shall 
cooperate with all services; or 

3. The youth is in permanent foster care and is making 
progress in an educational or vocational program, has 
employment, or is in a treatment or training program.  

F. A youth age 16 and older is eligible to live in an 
independent living arrangement provided the child-placing 
agency utilizes the independent living arrangement placement 
criteria developed by the department to determine that such 
an arrangement is in the youth's best interest. An eligible 
youth may receive an independent living stipend to assist him 
with the costs of maintenance. The eligibility criteria for 
receiving an independent living stipend will be developed by 
the department. 

G. Any person who was committed or entrusted to a child-
placing agency and chooses to discontinue receiving 
independent living services after age 18 but prior to his 21st 
birthday may request a resumption of independent living 
services within 60 days of discontinuing these services. The 
child-placing agency shall restore independent living services 
in accordance with § 63.2-905.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

H. Child-placing agencies shall assist eligible youth in 
applying for educational and vocational financial assistance. 
Educational and vocational specific funding sources shall be 
used prior to using other sources. 

I. Every six months a supervisory review of service plans for 
youth receiving independent living services after age 18 shall 
be conducted to assure the effectiveness of service provision.  

22VAC40-201-110. Court hearings and case reviews. 

A. For all court hearings, local departments shall:  

1. File petitions in accordance with the requirements for 
the type of hearing.  

2. Obtain and consider the child's input as to who should 
be included in the court hearing. If persons identified by 
the child will not be included in the court hearing, the 
child-placing agency shall explain the reasons to the child 
for such a decision consistent with the child's 
developmental and psychological status. 

3. Inform the court of reasonable efforts made to achieve 
concurrent permanency goals in those cases where a 
concurrent goal has been identified. 

B. An administrative panel review shall be held six months 
after a permanency planning hearing when the goals of 
adoption, permanent foster care, or independent living have 
been approved by the court unless the court requires more 
frequent hearings. The child will continue to have 
Administrative Panel Reviews or review hearings every six 
months until a final order of adoption is issued or the child 
reaches age 18. 

C. The local department shall invite the child; the birth 
parents or prior custodians when appropriate; the child's 
foster, adoptive, or resource parents; placement providers; 
guardian ad litem; court appointed special advocate (CASA); 
and other interested individuals to participate in the 
administrative panel reviews. 

D. The local department shall consider all recommendations 
made during the administrative panel review in planning 
services for the child and birth parents or prior custodians and 
document the recommendations on the department approved 
form. All interested individuals, including those not in 
attendance, shall be given a copy of the results of the 
administrative panel review as documented on the department 
approved form. 

E. A supervisory review is required every six months for 
youth ages 18 to 21.  

F. When a case is on appeal for termination of parental 
rights, the juvenile and domestic relations district court 
retains jurisdiction on all matters not on appeal. The circuit 
court appeal hearing may substitute for a review hearing if the 
circuit court addresses the future status of the child.  

22VAC40-201-120. Funding. 

A. The local department is responsible for establishing a 
foster child's eligibility for federal, state, or other funding 
sources and making required payments from such sources. 
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State pool funds shall be used for a child's maintenance and 
service needs when other funding sources are not available. 

B. The assessment and provision of services to the child and 
birth parents or prior custodians shall be made without regard 
to the funding source.  

C. Local departments shall reimburse foster or resource 
parents for expenses paid by them on behalf of the foster 
child when the expenses are preauthorized or for expenses 
paid without preauthorization when the local department 
deems the expenses are appropriate. 

D. The child's eligibility for Title IV-E funding shall be 
redetermined annually or upon a change in situation and in 
accordance with federal Title IV-E eligibility requirements, 
the Title IV-E Eligibility Manual, October 2005 , and Chapter 
C of the Adoption Manual, October 2009. 

E. The service worker is responsible for providing the 
eligibility worker information required for the annual 
redetermination of Medicaid eligibility and information 
related to changes in the child's situation.  

22VAC40-201-130. Closing the foster care case. 

A. Foster care cases are closed or transferred to another 
service category under the following circumstances: 

1. When the foster care child turns 18 years of age;  

2. When the court releases the child from the local 
department's custody prior to the age of 18; or 

3. When a voluntary placement agreement has expired, 
been revoked, or been terminated by the court.  

B. When the foster care case is closed for services, the case 
record shall be maintained according to the record retention 
schedules of the Library of Virginia.  

C. Any foster care youth who has reached age 18 has the 
right to request information from his records in accordance 
with state law. 

22VAC40-201-140. Other foster care requirements. 

A. The director of a local department may grant approval for 
a child to travel out-of-state and out-of-country. The approval 
must be in writing and maintained in the child's file. 

B. Pursuant to § 63.2-908 of the Code of Virginia, a foster 
or resource parent may consent to a marriage or entry into the 
military if the child has been placed with him through a 
permanent foster care agreement which has been approved by 
the court. 

C. An employee of a local department, including a relative, 
cannot serve as a foster, adoptive, or resource parent for a 
child in the custody of that local department. The employee 
can be a foster, adoptive, or resource parent for another local 
department or licensed child-placing agency or the child's 
custody may be transferred to another local department. 

D. The child of a foster child remains the responsibility of 
his parent, unless custody has been removed by the court.  

1. The child is not subject to requirements for service 
plans, reviews, or hearings. However, the needs and safety 
of the child shall be considered and documented in the 
service plan for the foster child (parent).  

2. The child is eligible for maintenance payments, services, 
Medicaid, and child support services based on federal law 
and in accordance with guidance in the Foster Care 
Manual, August 2009, and the Adoption Manual, October 
2009.  

E. When a child in foster care is committed to the 
Department of Juvenile Justice (DJJ), the local department no 
longer has custody or placement and care responsibility for 
the child. As long as the discharge or release plan for the 
child is to return to the local department prior to reaching age 
18, the local department shall maintain a connection with the 
child in accordance with guidance developed by the 
department.  

22VAC40-201-150. Adoption Resource Exchange of 
Virginia. 

A. The purpose of AREVA is to increase opportunities for 
children to be adopted by providing services to child-placing 
agencies having custody of these children. The services 
provided by AREVA include, but are not limited to: 

1. Maintaining a registry of children awaiting adoption and 
a registry of approved parents waiting to adopt; 

2. Preparing and distributing a photo-listing of children 
with special needs awaiting adoption and a photo-listing of 
parents awaiting placement of a child with special needs;  

3. Providing information and referral services for children 
who have special needs to link child-placing agencies with 
other adoption resources;  

4. Providing on-going adoptive parent recruitment efforts 
for waiting children;  

5. Providing consultation and technical assistance to child-
placing agencies in finding adoptive parents for waiting 
children; and  

6. Monitoring local department's compliance with legal 
requirements, guidance, and policy on registering children 
and parents.  

B. Child-placing agencies shall comply with all of the 
AREVA requirements according to guidance in Chapter C of 
the Adoption Manual, October 2009.  

22VAC40-201-160. Adoption assistance. 

A. An adoption assistance agreement shall be executed by 
the child-placing agency for a child who has been determined 
eligible for adoption assistance. Local departments shall use 
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the adoption assistance agreement form developed by the 
department.  

B. For a child to be eligible for adoption assistance he must 
have been determined to be a child with special needs as 
defined in 22VAC40-201-10 and meet the following criteria: 

1. Be under 18 years of age;  

2. Be in the placement and care of a child-placing agency 
at the time the petition for adoption is filed; and  

3. Be placed by a child-placing agency with the 
prospective adoptive parents for the purpose of adoption, 
except for those situations in which the child has resided 
for 18 months with the foster or resource parents who file a 
petition for adoption under § 63.2-1229 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

C. The types of adoption assistance for which a child may be 
eligible are:  

1. Title IV-E adoption assistance if the child meets federal 
eligibility requirements.  

2. State adoption assistance when the child's foster care 
expenses were paid from state pool funds.  

3. Conditional adoption assistance when payments and 
services are not needed at the time of placement into an 
adoptive home but may be needed later and the child's 
foster care expenses were paid from state pool funds. 
Conditional adoption assistance allows the adoptive 
parents to apply for state adoption assistance after the final 
order of adoption. Conditional adoption assistance shall not 
require annual certification.  

D. Adoption assistance payments shall be negotiated with 
the adoptive parents taking into consideration the needs of the 
child and the circumstances of the family. In considering the 
family's circumstances, income shall not be the sole factor. 
Family and community resources shall be explored to help 
defray the costs of adoption assistance.  

E. Three types of payments shall be made on behalf of a 
child who is eligible for adoption assistance.  

1. Adoptive parent shall be reimbursed, upon request, for 
the nonrecurring expenses of adopting a child with special 
needs. 

a. The total amount of reimbursement is based on actual 
costs and shall not exceed $2,000 per child per 
placement. 

b. Payment of nonrecurring expenses may begin as soon 
as the child is placed in the adoptive home and the 
adoption assistance agreement has been signed.  

c. Nonrecurring expenses include:  

(1) Attorney fees directly related to the finalization of the 
adoption; 

(2) Transportation and other expenses incurred by 
adoptive parents related to the placement of the child. 
Expenses may be paid for more than one visit;  

(3) Court costs related to filing an adoption petition; and  

(4) Reasonable and necessary fees of adoption child-
placing agencies.  

2. A maintenance payment shall be approved for a child 
who is eligible for adoption assistance, except those for 
whom a conditional adoption assistance will be provided, 
unless the adoptive parent indicates or it is determined 
through negotiation that the payment is not needed. The 
amount of maintenance payments made shall not exceed 
the maximum foster care board rate as established by the 
appropriation act.  

a. The amount of the payment shall be negotiated with 
the adoptive parents taking into consideration the needs 
of the child and circumstances of the adoptive parents.  

b. The basic board rate included as a component of the 
maintenance payments shall not be reduced below the 
amount specified in the initial adoption assistance 
agreement without the concurrence of the adoptive 
parents or a reduction mandated by the appropriation act.  

c. Increases in the amount of the maintenance payment 
shall be made when the child is receiving the maximum 
allowable foster care board rate and:  

(1) The child reaches a higher age grouping, as specified 
in guidance for foster care board rates; or 

(2) Statewide increases are approved for foster care board 
rates.  

3. A special service payment is used to help meet the 
child's physical, mental, emotional, or nonroutine dental 
needs. The special service payment shall be directly related 
to the child's special needs or day care. Special service 
payments shall be time limited based on the needs of the 
child. 

a. Types of expenses that are appropriate to be paid are 
included in Chapter C of the Adoption Manual, October 
2009. 

b. A special service payment may be used for a child 
eligible for Medicaid to supplement expenses not 
covered by Medicaid.  

c. Payments for special services are negotiated with the 
adoptive parents taking into consideration:  

(1) The special needs of the child;  

(2) Alternative resources available to fully or partially 
defray the cost of meeting the child's special needs; and  



Regulations 

Volume 26, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 23, 2009 

731 

(3) The circumstances of the adoptive family. In 
considering the family's circumstances, income shall not 
be the sole factor.  

d. The rate of payment shall not exceed the prevailing 
community rate.  

e. The special services adoption assistance agreement 
shall be separate and distinct from the adoption 
assistance agreement for maintenance payments and 
nonrecurring expenses. 

F. When a child is determined eligible for adoption 
assistance prior to the adoption being finalized, the adoption 
assistance agreement:  

1. Shall be executed within 90 days of receipt of the 
application for adoption assistance;  

2. Shall be signed before entry of the final order of 
adoption;  

3. Shall specify the amount of payment and the services to 
be provided, including Medicaid; and 

4. Shall remain in effect regardless of the state to which the 
adoptive parents may relocate.  

G. Procedures for the child whose eligibility for adoption 
assistance is established after finalization shall be the same as 
for the child whose eligibility is established before 
finalization except the application shall be submitted within 
one year of diagnosis of the condition that establishes the 
child as a child with special needs. Application for adoption 
assistance after finalization shall be for state adoption 
assistance. 

H. The adoptive parents shall annually submit an adoption 
assistance affidavit to the local department in accordance with 
guidance in Chapter C of the Adoption Manual, October 
2009.  

I. The local department is responsible for: 

1. Payments and services identified in the adoption 
assistance agreement, regardless of where the family 
resides; and 

2. Notifying adoptive parents who are receiving adoption 
assistance that the annual affidavit is due.  

J. Adoption assistance shall be terminated when the child 
reaches the age of 18 unless the child has a physical or mental 
disability or an educational delay resulting from the child's 
disability which warrants continuation of the adoption 
assistance. If a child has one of these conditions, the adoption 
assistance may continue until the child reaches the age of 21.  

K. Adoption assistance shall not be terminated before the 
child's 18th birthday without the consent of the adoptive 
parents unless:  

1. The child is no longer receiving financial support from 
the adoptive parents; or  

2. The adoptive parents are no longer legally responsible 
for the child.  

L. Child-placing agencies are responsible for informing 
adoptive parents in writing that they have the right to appeal 
decisions relating to the child's eligibility for adoption 
assistance and decisions relating to payments and services to 
be provided within 30 days of receiving written notice of such 
decisions. Applicants for adoption assistance shall have the 
right to appeal adoption assistance decisions related to: 

1. Failure of the child-placing agency to provide full 
factual information known by the child-placing agency 
regarding the child prior to adoption finalization;  

2. Failure of the child-placing agency to inform the 
adoptive parents of the child's eligibility for adoption 
assistance; and 

3. Decisions made by the child-placing agency related to 
the child's eligibility for adoption assistance, adoption 
assistance payments, services, and changing or terminating 
adoption assistance.  

22VAC40-201-170. Child placing agency's responsibilities 
for consent in non-agency adoptive placements. 

A. At the request of the juvenile court, the child-placing 
agency shall: 

1. Conduct a home study of the perspective adoptive home 
that shall include the elements in § 63.2-1231 of the Code 
of Virginia and guidance in Chapter D of the Adoption 
Manual, October 2009; and  

2. Provide the court with a written report of the home 
study.  

B. The child-placing agency shall make a recommendation 
to the court regarding the suitability of the individual to 
adopt.  

C. If the child-placing agency suspects an exchange of 
property, money, services, or any other thing of value has 
occurred in violation of law in the placement or adoption of 
the child, it shall report such findings to the commissioner for 
investigation. The following exceptions apply:  

1. Reasonable and customary services provided by a 
licensed or duly authorized child-placing agency, and fees 
paid for such services;  

2. Payment or reimbursement for medical expenses directly 
related to the birth mother's pregnancy and hospitalization 
for the birth of the child who is the subject of the adoption 
proceedings and for expenses incurred for medical care for 
the child;  
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3. Payment or reimbursement to birth parents for 
transportation necessary to execute consent to the 
adoption;  

4. Usual and customary fees for legal services in adoption 
proceedings; and  

5. Payment or reimbursement of reasonable expenses 
incurred by the adoptive parents for transportation in inter-
country placements and as necessary for compliance with 
state and federal law in such placements.  

22VAC40-201-180. Fees for court services. 

The local department shall charge fees for the following 
court ordered services: (i) custody investigations; (ii) 
adoption searches; (iii) nonagency placement adoptions, 
investigation and reports; and (iv) visitation and reports. The 
process for determining and collecting such fees shall be in 
accordance with guidance developed by the department. 

22VAC40-201-190. Virginia Putative Father Registry. 

A. The department shall establish and maintain a putative 
father registry which is a confidential database. 

B. A search of the Virginia Putative Father Registry shall be 
conducted for all adoptions except when the child has been 
adopted according to the laws of a foreign country or when 
the child was placed in Virginia from a foreign country for 
the purpose of adoption in accordance with § 63.2-1104 of the 
Code of Virginia.  

C. Any petitioner who files a petition for termination of 
parental rights or for an adoption proceeding shall request a 
search of the Virginia Putative Father Registry. The 
certificate of search and finding must be filed with the court 
before an adoption or termination of parental rights 
proceeding can be concluded.  

22VAC40-201-200. Training. 

A. Local department foster care and adoption workers and 
supervisory staff shall attend and complete initial in-service 
training in accordance with guidance in the Foster Care 
Manual, August 2009, and Chapter C of the Adoption 
Manual, October 2009. 

B. Local department foster care and adoption workers and 
supervisory staff shall complete an individual training needs 
assessment using a method developed by the department. 

C. Local department foster care and adoption workers and 
supervisory staff shall attend and complete annual in-service 
training in accordance with guidance developed by the 
department. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

Foster Care Manual, August 2009, Department of Social 
Services (http://www.dss.virginia.gov/family/fc/manual.cgi).  

Foster Care Manual, Volume VII, Section III, Chapter B, 
March 2007, Department of Social Services 
(http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/fc/files/procedures/
general/contingency_fund_policy.pdf). 

Title IV-E Eligibility Manual, October 2005, Department of 
Social Services (http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/ 
dfs/permanency/iv_e/eligibility/manual.cgi). 

Adoption Manual, October 2009, Department of Social 
Services (http://www.dss.virginia.gov/family/ap/manual.cgi). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1019; Filed November 2, 2009, 2:27 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-880. Child Support 
Enforcement Program (adding 22VAC40-880-405). 

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: December 23, 2009. 

Effective Date: January 7, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Alice Burlinson, Regional Senior Assistant 
Attorney General, Department of Social Services, 4504 
Starkey Road, Suite 103, Roanoke, VA 24018, telephone 
(540) 776-2778, FAX (540) 857-7841, TTY 1-800-828-1120, 
or email alice.burlinson@dss.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia states that the 
State Board of Social Services shall adopt regulations, not in 
conflict with Title 63.2, as may be necessary or desirable to 
carry out the purpose of Title 63.2. 

Purpose: This regulatory action creates a new regulation 
entitled "Passport Denial Program" to comply with federal 
law (42 USC § 654), which requires states to develop a 
procedure for certifying to the federal Office of Child Support 
Enforcement noncustodial parents who are eligible for the 
Passport Denial Program as described in 42 USC § 652(k). 
The regulation is necessary because the Code of Virginia 
contains no description of the program and consequently 
offers the noncustodial parent no information on the release 
from the program or the appeal process. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The Department of 
Social Services (DSS) does not believe that the proposed 
regulation will be controversial. DSS currently has the 
authority to place noncustodial parents in the Passport Denial 
Program and the authority, by federal regulation, to set the 
standards for release from the program. The new regulation 
will outline the provisions of the Passport Denial Program in 
Virginia, including how a noncustodial parent is released 
from the program and the appeal process, neither of which is 
currently provided for in statute or regulation. 

Substance: This regulatory action creates a new regulation 
entitled "Passport Denial Program" to comply with federal 
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law (42 USC § 654), which requires states to develop a 
procedure for certifying to the federal Office of Child Support 
Enforcement noncustodial parents who are eligible for the 
Passport Denial Program as described in 42 USC § 652(k). 
The new regulation outlines the provisions of the Passport 
Denial Program in Virginia, including how a noncustodial 
parent is released from the program and the appeal process, 
neither of which is currently provided for in Code or 
regulation. 

Issues: There are numerous advantages to this regulatory 
action. The new regulatory section will (i) establish the 
provisions of the Passport Denial Program in Virginia; (ii) 
describe how a noncustodial parent will be released from the 
program and the program’s appeal process; and (iii) create 
statewide consistency in how the Passport Denial Program is 
administered in Virginia.  DSS is aware of no disadvantage to 
this regulatory action. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Passport Denial Program for the denial, revocation, or 
limitation of non-custodial parents' passports where child 
support arrearages exceed the federally mandated threshold 
was first implemented in Virginia in 1997. Federal law 42 
USC 654 requires states to develop a procedure certifying to 
the federal Office of Child Support Enforcement which non-
custodial parents are eligible for the Passport Denial Program 
as described in 42 USC 652(k). In order to comply with the 
federal law, the State Board of Social Services proposes to 
promulgate a new regulation section to outline the provisions 
of the Passport Denial Program for Virginia's Department of 
Social Services, Division of Child Support Enforcement. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. According to the Department of 
Social Services, the proposal to delineate the provisions of the 
Passport Denial Program for Virginia's Division of Child 
Support Enforcement in regulation does not change any 
requirements or procedures in practice.  Thus the proposal 
will have no impact other than the beneficial effect of helping 
inform the public of procedures such as how a non-custodial 
parent is released from the program and the appeal process, 
neither of which are currently specified in Code or regulation. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The Passport Denial 
Program affects non-custodial parents who have a need to 
travel outside the country and owe $2,500 or more in child 
support arrearage, as well as the recipients of child support.  
The Department of Social Services, Division of Child 
Support Enforcement has averaged between 70 to 100 child 
support collections per year from passport denial. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the 
use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
amendments are unlikely to significantly affect small 
businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments are unlikely to 
significantly affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect real estate development 
costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Department of 
Social Services concurs with the economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget.  

Summary:  

The Passport Denial Program for the denial, revocation, 
or limitation of noncustodial parents' passports where 
child support arrearages exceed the federally mandated 
threshold was first implemented in Virginia in 1997. 
Federal law (42 USC § 654) requires states to develop a 
procedure certifying to the federal Office of Child Support 
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Enforcement which noncustodial parents are eligible for 
the Passport Denial Program as described in 42 USC 
§ 652(k). In order to comply with the federal law, the State 
Board of Social Services proposes to promulgate a new 
regulation section to outline the provisions of the Passport 
Denial Program for Virginia's Department of Social 
Services, Division of Child Support Enforcement. 

The regulation describes the program, a noncustodial 
parent's release from the program, and the appeal process. 
The regulation requires the Division of Child Support 
Enforcement to certify to the United States Department of 
State, through the federal Office of Child Support 
Enforcement, all individuals who meet the federal 
threshold for passport denial. 

22VAC40-880-405. Passport denial program. 

A. The department shall participate in the Passport Denial 
Program for the denial, revocation, or limitation of 
noncustodial parents' passports where child support 
arrearages exceed the federally mandated threshold. 

B. The department shall certify the arrearages to the federal 
Office of Child Support Enforcement, which will then (i) 
send notice of the certification on behalf of the department to 
the individual and (ii) certify the arrearage to the Department 
of State pursuant to the Passport Denial Program. 

C. An individual has the right to appeal per the notice to a 
Department of Social Services' hearing officer. The only 
issues reviewable on appeal are (i) whether the arrears met 
the threshold at the time of certification, or (ii) mistaken 
identity. The decision of the hearing officer is final with no 
further appeal. The issues in subsections D and E are not 
reviewable by the hearing officer. 

D. An individual's child support arrearages shall be paid in 
full before the department notifies the federal Office of Child 
Support Enforcement that the individual is eligible to receive 
a passport. 

E. Exceptions to paying all arrearages prior to release of a 
passport may be granted by the IV-D agency director upon 
written request documenting compelling evidence of a life-or-
death situation of an immediate family member. Such 
decision whether to grant an exception shall be in the sole 
discretion of the IV-D agency director. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2057; Filed November 2, 2009, 2:25 p.m.  
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Notice of Public Hearing on Beach Vitex Temporary 
Quarantine 

Pursuant to § 3.2-703 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services has 
issued a temporary (90-day) quarantine relating to Beach 
Vitex (Vitex rotundifolia). A copy of the temporary 
quarantine is printed below. If it appears that a quarantine for 
more than 90 days will be necessary. Section 3.2-703 
provides that the Board of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services shall hold a public hearing on extending the 
commissioner's temporary quarantine. The Board of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services will hold such a public 
hearing at 10 a.m., December 3, 2009, at the Oliver Hill 
Building, 102 Governor Street, Room 220, Richmond, 
Virginia 23219. 

For further information, please contact Larry Nichols, 
Program Manager, Office of Plant and Pest Services, 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 102 
Governor Street, Room LL55, Richmond, Virginia 23219; 
(804) 786-3515; hearing impaired (800) 828-1120; FAX 
(804) 371-7793; or larry.nichols@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Beach Vitex Temporary Quarantine for Enforcement 
of the Virginia Pest Law 

Statutory authority: § 3.2-703 of the Code of Virginia. 

§ 10. Declaration of quarantine 

A quarantine is hereby established to restrict the movement of 
the invasive plant Beach Vitex and articles capable of 
transporting life stages of Beach Vitex unless such articles 
comply with the conditions specified herein.   

§ 20. Purpose of quarantine 

Beach Vitex, a deciduous, woody vine native to the Pacific 
Rim, grows rapidly along dunes and shorelines causing 
damage to these areas by crowding out native plants and 
threatening the habitats of various animals, including the 
endangered loggerhead sea turtle. Although Beach Vitex has 
been planted in efforts to stabilize dunes, it is less effective 
than native grasses in controlling dune erosion. Beach Vitex 
has been detected in several coastal sites in the 
Commonwealth and it has the potential to spread to other 
areas through the artificial movement of Beach Vitex by 
individuals, or through the natural movement of Beach Vitex 
parts such as seeds and stems that could be carried by water 
currents to uninfested coastal areas. The purpose of this 
quarantine is to help prevent the spread of Beach Vitex by 
prohibiting its artificial movement and the movement of those 
articles that are capable of transporting it. 

§ 30. Definitions 

The following words and terms shall have the following 
meaning unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services. 

"Certificate" means a document issued by an inspector or 
person operating in accordance with a compliance agreement 
to allow the movement of regulated articles to any 
destination. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Virginia 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. 

"Compliance agreement" means a written agreement between 
a person engaged in handling, receiving or moving regulated 
articles and the Virginia Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services, or the United States Department of 
Agriculture, or both, wherein the former agrees to fulfill the 
requirements of the compliance agreement and comply with 
the provisions of this regulation.  

"Beach Vitex" means the live plant, in any life stage, known 
as Beach Vitex, Vitex rotundifolia. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services. 

"Infested (infestation)" means the presence of the Beach 
Vitex or the existence of circumstances that make it 
reasonable to believe that life stages of the Beach Vitex are 
present. 

"Inspector" means an employee of the Virginia Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services or other person 
authorized by the Commissioner of the Virginia Department 
of Agriculture and Consumer Services to enforce the 
provisions of this quarantine or regulation. 

"Limited permit" means a document issued by an inspector to 
allow the movement of regulated articles to a specific 
destination. 

"Moved (move, movement)" means shipped, offered for 
shipment, received for transportation, transported, carried, or 
allowed to be moved, shipped, transported, or carried. 

"Person" means the term as defined in § 1-230 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

"Regulated area" means the locality or area listed in Section 
50 of this quarantine. 

"Virginia Pest Law" means the statute set forth in § 3.2-700 et 
seq. of the Code of Virginia. 

§ 40. Regulated articles 

The following articles are regulated under the provisions of 
this quarantine and shall not be moved into, within, or out of 
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any regulated area in Virginia, except in compliance with the 
conditions prescribed in this quarantine: 

1. Beach Vitex, in any life stage, including roots, stems and 
seeds. 

2. Any article known to be infested with Beach Vitex, such 
as sand, soil or mulch containing Beach Vitex in any life 
stage. 

3. Any other article or means of conveyance when it is 
determined by an inspector that it presents a risk of spread 
of Beach Vitex. 

§ 50. Regulated areas 

The following areas in Virginia are quarantined for Beach 
Vitex: 

1. The entire counties of:  
Accomack 
Northampton  

2. The entire cities of: 
Norfolk 
Virginia Beach 

§ 60. Conditions governing the intrastate movement of 
regulated articles 

A. Movement Within Regulated Area – Movement of a 
regulated article solely within the quarantined area is 
prohibited unless accompanied by a valid certificate or 
limited permit.  

B. Movement From Regulated Area Into Non-Regulated Area 
– Movement of a regulated article that originates inside of the 
quarantined area to an area outside of the quarantined area is 
prohibited unless accompanied by a valid certificate or 
limited permit. 

C. Movement From Non-Regulated Area Into Regulated Area 
– Movement of a regulated article that originates outside of 
the quarantined area to an area inside of the quarantined area 
is prohibited. 

D. Movement Outside of the Regulated Area – Movement of 
a regulated article solely outside of the quarantined area is not 
restricted. 

§ 70. Issuance and cancellation of certificates and limited 
permits 

A. Certificates and limited permits may be issued by an 
inspector for the movement of regulated articles into, within, 
or out of any regulated area, to any destination within 
Virginia when the regulated articles meet the following three 
conditions: 

1. a. The regulated articles are to be moved intrastate to a 
specified destination under conditions which specify the 
limited handling, utilization, processing or treatment of the 
articles, when the inspector determines that such movement 
will not result in the spread of Beach Vitex because the life 

stage of the plant will be destroyed by such specified 
handling, utilization, processing or treatment; or 
b. The regulated articles are to be moved by a state or 
federal agency, or person authorized by the Department, for 
experimental or scientific purposes;  
2. The regulated articles are to be moved in compliance 
with any additional conditions deemed necessary under the 
Virginia Pest Law to prevent the spread of Beach Vitex;  
3. The regulated articles are eligible for unrestricted 
movement under all other domestic plant quarantines and 
regulations applicable to the regulated articles. 

B. Any certificate or limited permit that has been issued or 
authorized may be withdrawn by the inspector orally or in 
writing if the inspector determines that the holder of the 
certificate or limited permit has not complied with all 
conditions for the use of the certificate or limited permit, or 
with any applicable compliance agreement. If the withdrawal 
is oral, the withdrawal and the reasons for the withdrawal 
shall be confirmed in writing and communicated to the 
certificate or limited permit holder as promptly as 
circumstances allow.  

§ 80. Assembly and inspection of regulated articles 

A. Any person who desires to move a regulated article into, 
within, or out of any regulated area shall apply for a limited 
permit as far in advance as practical but no less than five (5) 
business days before the regulated articles are to be moved.  

B. The regulated article must be assembled at the place and in 
the manner the inspector designates as necessary to facilitate 
inspection and shall be safeguarded from infestation. 

§ 90. Attachment and disposition of certificates and 
limited permits 

A. A certificate or limited permit required for the movement 
of a regulated article into, within, or out of any regulated area 
must be attached at all times during the intrastate movement 
to the outside of the container which contains the regulated 
article or to the regulated article itself. The requirements of 
this section may also be met by attaching the certificate or 
limited permit to the consignee's copy of the waybill, 
provided the regulated article is sufficiently described on the 
certificate or limited permit and on the waybill to facilitate 
the identification of the regulated article. 

B. The certificate or limited permit for the intrastate 
movement of a regulated article must be furnished by the 
carrier to the consignee at the destination of the regulated 
article. A copy of the certificate or the limited permit must be 
retained by the sender of the regulated article at the place of 
shipment. 
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§ 100. Inspection and disposal of regulated articles and 
pests 

Upon presentation of official credentials, an inspector is 
authorized to stop and inspect, and to seize, destroy, or 
otherwise dispose of, or require disposal of, regulated articles 
as provided in the Virginia Pest Law.  

§ 110. Non-liability of the department 

The Department shall not be liable for any costs incurred by 
third parties, whose costs result from, or are incidental to, 
inspections required under the provisions of the quarantine. 

This Temporary Quarantine becomes effective on October 26, 
2009, and shall continue for a period not to exceed 90 days. 

Issued on October 19, 2009, in Richmond, Virginia. 

/s/ Todd P. Haymore 
Commissioner 

Agricultural Stewardship Act Guidelines 

(Draft Revision) 

Section 3.2-408 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 
Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services to alter 
the Virginia Agricultural Stewardship Act Guidelines 
periodically after proposed changes have been published in 
The Virginia Register of Regulations and a public comment 
period has been provided. The revised guidelines are printed 
below.  

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on January 8, 
2010, to Roy E. Seward, Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services, Oliver Hill Building, Room 214, 102 
Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, or by email to 
roy.seward@vdacs.virginia.gov.  

NATURE OF GUIDELINES 

The Agricultural Stewardship Act1 ("ASA or Act") requires 
that the Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services 
("Commissioner") develop guidelines to assist in the 
implementation of the ASA. These guidelines are not 
regulations and no one is required to abide by them. In fact, 
there are no regulations concerning the ASA. The only 
document that anyone must abide by is the ASA itself. 

These guidelines set out procedures for implementing the 
ASA.  As they are not regulations, they do not have the force 
of law.  Matters addressed in these guidelines that are not 
required by statute may be waived or changed at the 
discretion of the Commissioner. In the event of any conflict 
between the guidelines and the ASA, the ASA will prevail. 
The Commissioner expects that these guidelines will be 
reviewed periodically to determine whether changes are 
needed. 

The Commissioner welcomes your questions and requests for 
information about the ASA Program. All correspondence 
regarding the ASA guidelines can be directed to the address 
listed below or you can contact the ASA Program at (804) 
786-3538. 

Commissioner 
Agricultural Stewardship Program 
Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 
P.O. Box 1163 
Richmond, Virginia 23218 

BACKGROUND ON THE AGRICULTURAL 
STEWARDSHIP ACT 

In response to increased public concerns for a clean 
environment, Virginia's agricultural leadership sought a way 
of dealing with agricultural water pollution that was different 
from the approaches used with other industries, such as 
manufacturers. Most manufacturing plants must obtain 
permits and follow strict rules of operation. The agricultural 
community wanted a different approach that did not rely on 
permits and strict operating rules, but took into account the 
wide variety of farming practices used in Virginia. 

The ASA offers a positive approach to addressing pollution 
involving agricultural operations. It provides procedures by 
which individual agricultural producers can be alerted to 
areas of their operations that may be causing water pollution. 
Rather than developing regulations with strict rules governing 
every type of farming practice, the ASA looks at each farm 
individually. 

BRIEF SUMMARY 

AGRICULTURAL STEWARDSHIP ACT (ASA) 

The procedures created by the ASA begin with a complaint 
made to the Commissioner of the Virginia Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS). The 
Commissioner must accept complaints alleging that a specific 
agricultural activity is causing or will cause water pollution.  
However, not all complaints have to be investigated as will be 
discussed below. After the Commissioner receives a 
complaint and the complaint is one that must be investigated, 
he will ask the local soil and water conservation district 
("District" or "local district") whether it wishes to investigate 
the complaint. If the District does not wish to investigate the 
complaint, the Commissioner will conduct his own 
investigation. (A copy of the ASA is in Appendix A.) 

The purpose of the investigation is to determine whether the 
agricultural activity (that was the subject of the complaint) is 
causing or will cause water pollution. If not, the 
Commissioner will dismiss the complaint. 

If the agricultural activity is causing or will cause water 
pollution, the ASA gives the owner or operator an 
opportunity to correct the problem. The owner or operator 
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will be asked to develop a plan containing "stewardship 
measures" (often referred to as "best management practices") 
to prevent the water pollution. The owner or operator then 
develops the plan, and once the plan is developed, the District 
reviews it and makes recommendations to the Commissioner. 
If the Commissioner approves the plan, he will then ask the 
owner or operator to implement the plan within specified 
periods of time. 

If the owner or operator fails to implement stewardship 
measures after a plan is approved, enforcement action under 
the ASA will be taken against the owner or operator.  

In some cases, the ASA investigation will not produce 
sufficient evidence to support the conclusion that the 
agricultural activity in question is causing or will cause 
pollution. In those cases, the investigator will offer 
suggestions on how the owner or operator might improve his 
practices to prevent complaints in the future.  The purpose of 
the ASA is to solve problems by working one-on-one with the 
farmers.  

SECTION A - WHAT THE ACT COVERS 

1. Activities Covered by the ASA 

The ASA applies to agricultural activities that are causing or 
will cause water pollution by sedimentation, nutrients or 
toxins. The only exception is when the agricultural activity in 
question is already permitted by the State Water Control 
Board (through the Department of Environmental Quality). 
The permits are usually: a Virginia Pollution Abatement 
("VPA") permit (general or individual) for the storage and 
land application of animal waste; a Virginia Pollution 
Discharge Elimination System ("VPDES") permit for certain 
aquaculture facilities or for mixed production and processing 
operations; or a permit issued by the Commonwealth of 
Virginia for the land application of sewage sludge. 

The ASA does not apply to forestry activities, odor concerns, 
or landfills.  In terms of waste problems, the ASA would only 
apply to farm dumps where agricultural products or animal 
carcasses are disposed of and that have clear water quality 
impacts.  Finally, the ASA does not apply to air pollution, or 
to water pollution caused by non-agricultural activities. 

The Commissioner's staff will use Form 1 to determine 
whether or not the complaint can be investigated under the 
ASA.  (A copy of Form 1 is in Appendix E.) 

2. Definitions of Sedimentation, Nutrients and Toxins 

Sedimentation is soil material, either mineral or organic 
matter, that has been transported from its original site by air, 
water, or ice and has been deposited in another location.  The 
primary focus under the ASA will be on erosion of soil and 
its deposition in surface water. 

Nutrients are dry or liquid materials that provide elements, 
such as nitrogen, phosphorus, and potassium that can nourish 

plants.  Commercial fertilizers and animal manure are the two 
primary sources used to supply nutrients to plants in 
agricultural operations and will be the focal point of the ASA. 

For the purposes of these guidelines, a toxin is any substance 
or mixture of substances intended to be used to prevent, 
destroy, repel or mitigate agricultural pests, or to be used as a 
plant regulator, defoliant or desiccant, commonly called 
pesticides.  In addition, oil, gasoline, diesel fuel and other 
petroleum products are potentially toxic materials that are 
usually employed in farming operations. 

Soil, nutrients, pesticides, oil, gasoline, and other petroleum 
products are good and useful when they are kept in their 
proper places.  It is only when any of this material reaches a 
stream, river, well, lake or other water body that they become 
a problem. 

3. What the Act Means by "Pollution" 

The ASA defines pollution as "any alteration of the physical, 
chemical or biological properties of any state waters resulting 
from sedimentation, nutrients, or toxins." (Section 3.2-400 of 
the ASA.) When sediments, nutrients, or toxins enter the 
water from an agricultural activity, they constitute pollution 
under the ASA. 

However, even if pollution is occurring, the ASA gives the 
Commissioner the power to dismiss a case if the 
Commissioner determines that: 

" . . the pollution is a direct result of unusual weather 
events or other exceptional circumstances which could not 
have been reasonably anticipated, or determines that the 
pollution is not a threat to human health, animal health, or 
aquatic life, water quality or recreational or other 
beneficial uses . . ."  (From Section 3.2-402 C of the ASA.) 

There are two key questions for determining whether 
pollution is occurring or will occur.  

1. Are there any barriers to prevent the sediment, nutrients, or 
pesticides from reaching the water? 

2. Is the owner or operator using any practices designed to 
prevent the pollutant from reaching the water? 

SECTION B - HOW INVESTIGATIONS ARE 
CONDUCTED 

1. Decision to Investigate 

The ASA is "complaint-driven."  There can be no 
investigation of any farm activity unless the Commissioner 
receives a complaint.  If the person making the complaint 
gives his name and no valid exception to investigation is 
identified in the preliminary review, the ASA requires that the 
Commissioner or the local District investigate the validity of 
the complaint.  If the local District agrees to perform the 
District investigation, the Commissioner will ask the District 
to complete the investigation and provide evidence from its 
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investigation within twenty-one days of the date the 
complaint was received by the Commissioner.  The ASA 
gives the Commissioner the choice of whether or not to 
investigate a complaint that was made anonymously with the 
investigation conducted by the local District, if it wishes, or 
by himself.  After the district and/or the Commissioner's staff 
submit the evidence to the Commissioner, the Commissioner 
will make the final determination on the complaint's validity. 

The procedures described in the Guidelines are applicable to 
nonemergency situations. If the Commissioner is made aware 
of an emergency situation, special procedures may used, to 
the extent authorized by law, in order to protect the 
environment and the public. 

2. Handling of Complaints 

Complaints are accepted by either verbal or written statement. 
However, when a complainant does not wish to reveal his or 
her name and address, the Commissioner has discretion 
whether or not to investigate the alleged concern. In addition, 
if complaints are unclear and not site specific, the 
Commissioner may decide not to investigate them.  

3. Who Investigates 

With the exception of the anonymous complaint, the District 
decides who investigates a complaint. Upon receiving a 
complaint, the Commissioner must notify the District and 
give it the option to investigate the complaint. Form 2 shows 
the standard manner of notification to a District and requests 
the District's assistance.  (A copy of Form 2 is in Appendix 
E.) 

The District has five days to tell the Commissioner whether 
or not it will investigate the complaint. A District may decide 
to assist in a joint investigation. This type of investigation 
would include both District and VDACS staff with the 
VDACS investigator having the lead role. When the District 
chooses to conduct the investigation on its own, it may 
indicate in writing or orally its decision to the Commissioner 
or his staff.  Form 3 is designed to provide a District with 
sample language that it may use in responding to the 
Commissioner's requests to investigate. (A copy of Form 3 is 
in Appendix E.) 

A District may choose not to perform any investigations.  
Once a District has informed the Commissioner that it does 
not intend to perform ASA investigations, the District does 
not have to respond in the future to the Commissioner's 
notification that there is an ASA complaint involving an 
agricultural activity within its boundaries.  As a courtesy, the 
Commissioner will continue to inform each District of such 
complaints. 

4. Time Limitations on Investigations 

The ASA requires that, for complaints investigated by a local 
District, the investigation must be completed within twenty-

one days of the Commissioner's receipt of the complaint. The 
ASA does not specify a length of time in which the 
Commissioner or his staff must complete the investigation; 
however, it is the Commissioner's policy that investigations 
his staff or he conducts are completed within that time period 
where possible. If the District conducts the investigation, the 
District will send its finding to the Commissioner so that he 
can determine whether a plan is necessary. The 
Commissioner is responsible for reporting his decision to the 
owner or operator. 

5. Notice to Owner or Operator of Investigation 

It is the policy of the Commissioner that his staff or the 
District, when it conducts the investigation, will give the 
owner or operator notice that the Commissioner has received 
a complaint, of the owner's or operator's agricultural activity 
which must be investigated. However, the Commissioner, in 
his discretion, may waive this policy.  To document the notice 
and the investigation arrangements, the investigator (District 
or VDACS) will follow-up with a letter to the owner or 
operator. Form 5 shows the standard manner of a written 
notification for informing the owner or operator about a 
complaint. (A copy of Form 5 is in Appendix E.)  

In those instances in which a District may not wish to give 
notice to the owner or operator about the complaint after they 
have agreed to investigate, VDACS will assist in delivering 
the initial notice of the investigation.  VDACS will explain 
that a complaint has been received, that an investigation is 
necessary, and that someone from the District will contact the 
owner or operator to arrange a time to conduct a site 
investigation. Form 4 provides a place to document any 
telephone calls regarding this notice and other case activities. 
(A copy of Form 4 is in Appendix E.)  

Regardless of who makes the initial contact, it is the policy of 
the Commissioner that the person who sends the written 
notice of the investigation to the owner or operator also send 
appropriate written information regarding the ASA. This 
policy may change at the discretion of the Commissioner. 
(VDACS will provide this information to the Districts if 
requested.) This information may provide the owner or 
operator an opportunity to learn more about the ASA, its 
procedures, and what the owner or operator can expect 
regarding resolution of the complaint. 

6. Notice of Findings from Investigation 

The Commissioner will notify the owner or operator of his 
decision as to whether a plan is necessary. When a District 
performs an investigation, it shall provide its findings to the 
Commissioner so that he can make this decision. This 
includes all materials produced and collected during the 
investigation period. Form 9 was created to record this type 
of information. The Commissioner's notice to the owner or 
operator will either dismiss the complaint or inform the 
owner or operator that he needs to submit a plan to the 
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Commissioner describing conservation measures needed to 
correct the pollution problem. This plan is due 60 days after 
the owner or operator receives a written notice informing him 
that a plan is necessary. Form 6 is the standard manner of 
written notification to inform the owner or operator that a 
plan is needed to correct the water pollution problem.  
Information regarding planning and implementation will be 
sent with this notification to assist the owner or operator. The 
owner/operator may seek assistance in developing a plan.  
(See Section F of these Guidelines). The Commissioner may 
consider a corrective order if a plan is not submitted within 60 
days.  (A copy of Forms 6 and 9 are in Appendix E.) 

The owner or operator must begin implementing his plan 
within six months of receiving notice that a plan is necessary. 
Then, the owner or operator must complete implementation of 
his plan within a period specified by the Commissioner not to 
exceed 18 months of receiving the notice.  The owner or 
operator can receive an extension in some cases, as described 
in Section 7 below.  

Upon approving the owner or operator's plan, the 
Commissioner will inform the owner or operator and the 
complainant. The District will be copied on this 
correspondence. 

7. Extensions of Deadlines 

Sometimes an owner or operator may need more time to 
complete implementation of his plan because of 
circumstances beyond his control.  The ASA provides that the 
Commissioner may grant an extension of up to six months 
(180 days) if a hardship exists and if the owner or operator 
has made a request for an extension at least 60 days prior to 
the date he was supposed to have completed implementing 
his plan.  The Commissioner will determine that a situation 
constitutes a hardship if it was caused by circumstances 
beyond the owner's or operator's control, and if the owner or 
operator has been making a good faith effort to implement his 
plan. Hardship can include financial problems. In his 
response the Commissioner will explain to the requestor of an 
extension the basis for his choosing to approve or reject such 
a request. 

8. Notification of Landowner, if Different from Operator 

The Commissioner will make a good faith effort to notify the 
landowner as well as the operator when the Commissioner 
determines that the complaint involves an agricultural activity 
on land that the operator rents from someone else or when the 
operator manages the agricultural activity for the owner of the 
land. If the investigation shows that no pollution problem 
exists, or if the problem is easily corrected by the operator's 
change in field management, the Commissioner may 
determine that notification of the landowner is unnecessary. If 
the problem involves an old feature (e.g., an old gully) that 
was created before the present operator began renting the 
land, or if correcting the problem requires construction, the 

Commissioner may determine that the landowner needs to be 
notified. 

9. Right of Entry 

It is the Commissioner's policy that entry onto the land to 
conduct an investigation will be made with the consent of the 
owner or operator.  However, it should be noted that the ASA 
gives the Commissioner, his designee, or a District the right 
to enter the land to determine whether or not the complaint is 
valid.  In addition, the Commissioner, his designee, or the 
District may enter the same land to check implementation of 
stewardship measures specified in a corrective order and 
maintenance of stewardship measures. This entry onto private 
property must be handled in accordance with constitutional 
requirements. 

It is the Commissioner's policy that if a complaint alleges 
water pollution created by erosion coming from a specific 
field on the farm, then the ASA investigator will not enter 
other fields.  If the complaint is made more broadly to say 
that erosion is coming from the farm as a whole into X 
stream, then the investigation will cover all of the farm that 
drains into X stream.  If the complaint is made even more 
broadly to say that erosion is coming from the farm as a 
whole without naming the water body, then the investigation 
will cover the whole farm. 

With the owner's or operator's consent, the ASA investigator 
may enter fields not covered by the complaint, examine or do 
other things that are relative to the investigation. 

It is the policy of the Commissioner that the owner or 
operator of a farm that is subject of a complaint will be given 
notice of intended entry to investigate the complaint. A phone 
call or statement to the owner or operator is sufficient. After a 
call, written notice to the owner or operator will confirm the 
investigator's oral statements.  Form 5 shows the standard 
manner of written notification to the owner or operator before 
entering land that is the subject of a complaint.  (A copy of 
Form 5 is in Appendix E.) 

If an owner or operator denies the Commissioner's 
representative entry onto the land or later withdraws his or 
her consent regarding entry, the investigator will leave the 
property immediately and report this to the Commissioner as 
soon as possible.  The ASA authorizes the Commissioner to 
obtain a court order allowing entry.  

10. Purpose and Scope of Investigation 

The principal purpose of the investigation is to determine if 
there is substantial evidence that the agricultural activity in 
question is causing or will cause water pollution from 
sedimentation, nutrients or toxins, as alleged in the complaint.  
When performing an investigation, information to answer this 
question can be recorded on Form 9.  (A copy of Form 9 is in 
Appendix E.) 
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It is the Commissioner's policy that activities that are causing 
or will cause pollution that were not the subject of the 
complaint should be pointed out to the owner or operator as 
areas that should be voluntarily addressed, even though these 
areas are not covered by the ASA complaint. It is also the 
Commissioner's policy that the ASA's jurisdiction is 
"complaint-driven" and limited to the terms of the complaint. 

11. Evidence 

The ASA requires that there be "substantial evidence" that the 
agricultural activity is causing or will cause water pollution.   

12. Sample Collection Techniques 

To maintain uniformity in the state's system of collecting 
water samples, VDACS will use the procedures developed by 
the State Water Control Board (SWCB), as set forth in the 
applicable sections of VWCB's "Water Quality Assessment 
Operating Procedures Manual". 

Due to the complexity and cost of water and fecal sampling 
and analysis, samples should be taken only when they are 
absolutely necessary to prove a case.  When an investigator 
can see that pollutants are entering or will enter the water 
body in question, he will not need to take samples because the 
case can be proven through photographs, maps, eye-witness 
testimony, and other general evidence. The experience of 
other states that have programs similar to the ASA suggests 
that sampling is only necessary in a few cases. For scientific 
analysis of any water or other evidence, the District 
investigator should contact a VDACS Agricultural 
Stewardship Coordinator for specific instructions. VDACS 
will pay for the scientific analysis of any water or other 
evidence collected by the District during the investigation 
period. 

SECTION C - CONFIDENTIALITY OF 
INFORMATION 

The law requires the Commissioner of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services to hold records of active investigations in 
confidence. These records of active investigations include 
those records of active investigations created or held by the 
Districts pursuant to the Agricultural Stewardship Act. The 
owner or operator may review whatever notes and records the 
investigator has made after an ASA investigation is 
concluded. An investigation is concluded when the 
Commissioner has decided whether an agricultural activity is 
creating or will create pollution that requires an agricultural 
stewardship plan. 

A District could receive a request under the Virginia Freedom 
of Information Act ("FOIA") (Chapter 37 (Sections 2.2-3700 
et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia) to disclose 
records regarding an active investigation. Any request made 
to the District for records of active investigations under the 
Agricultural Stewardship Act should be referred immediately 
to the attorney who represents the District. 

SECTION D - SUBSEQUENT VISITS TO FARM TO 
CHECK IMPLEMENTATION 

In most cases, after the site investigation has been completed, 
no further on-site reviews are necessary once the 
Commissioner has sent a notice advising that a stewardship 
plan will be required. However, subsequent on-site reviews 
are necessary when an ASA plan is required. The purpose of 
the subsequent on-site review is to determine whether the 
owner or operator is implementing his ASA plan in 
accordance with his implementation schedule. 

Subsequent on-site reviews have enforcement implications, 
which are the Commissioner's responsibility; so, Districts 
should not undertake subsequent visits without VDACS' 
express agreement.  (This need for agreement from the 
Commissioner does not apply to a District's best management 
practices "spot-check" to determine compliance with a 
District cost-share agreement, even for a practice installed to 
meet ASA requirements.) 

SECTION E - APPEALS AND FACT FINDING 
CONFERENCES 

If an owner or operator who has been issued a notice under 
the Act fails to submit an agricultural stewardship plan, begin 
actively implementing the plan, complete implementation of 
the plan, or maintain the stewardship measures, the 
Commissioner shall issue a corrective order to such owner or 
operator.  The order shall require that such activity be 
accomplished within a stated period of time. 

The Commissioner shall issue a corrective order only after an 
informal fact-finding conference. Informal fact-finding 
conferences are used to determine the factual basis for the 
Commissioner's decisions under the Agricultural Stewardship 
Act. 

ASA gives "persons aggrieved" the right to appeal decisions 
of the Commissioner to the Virginia Soil and Water 
Conservation Board. 

If the owner or operator fails to implement the corrective 
order, the Commissioner may seek a court order from the 
appropriate Circuit Court requiring the owner or operator to 
implement a plan developed by VDACS, or authorizing 
VDACS to enter the property to take action necessary to 
implement the plan itself.  This will result in the owner or 
operator losing the ability to choose the best plan. 

SECTION F - SOURCES OF ASSISTANCE FOR 
OWNER OR OPERATORS 

There are several sources of assistance available to owners or 
operators to address pollution problems and to develop 
stewardship measures and plans.  Areas of assistance and 
possible sources are listed below: 

1. Technical Assistance 
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Planning and, if necessary, engineering assistance is often 
available through: 

- Local Soil and Water Conservation District 

- Department of Conservation and Recreation 

- U. S. Department of Agriculture, Natural Resources 
Conservation Service 

- Virginia Cooperative Extension 

- Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services 

- Private businesses 

- Consultants 

2. Cost-Sharing 

Cost-Share assistance that may be available to implement 
plans is offered by: 

- Local Soil and Water Conservation District 

- U. S. Department of Agriculture, Farm Service Agency 

- U. S. Department of Agriculture, Natural Resources 
Conservation Service 

- Virginia Department of Environmental Quality 

3. Financial Planning 

Financial planning is always a consideration when making 
decisions that affect a farming operation. These organizations 
can be of assistance to the farmer in his financial planning: 

- Virginia Cooperative Extension (e.g., Farm 
Management Agents) 

- Private financial institutions (e.g., commercial banks, 
agricultural financing organizations) 

SECTION G - DEVELOPING PLAN THAT COMPLIES 
WITH ASA 

The plan must include the following minimum requirements 
under the ASA: 

- Stewardship measures needed to prevent the pollution, 
and 

- Implementation schedule. 

The plan should also include: 

- A map showing area of concern and affected water 
feature- Statement of pollution problem 

- Signature page for the owner or operator, local district 
director and Commissioner 

The owner or operator will have received a letter from the 
Commissioner notifying the owner or operator of the results 
of the investigation.  This letter specifies the components of 

the agricultural activity that are causing or will cause water 
pollution. (A copy of this letter is in Appendix E, labeled as 
Form 6.) All of these components must be addressed in the 
plan. 

If necessary, simple plans can be converted into more 
sophisticated formats after this deadline has been met.  
Planners should be sensitive to the fact that the owner or 
operator has a second deadline to meet: the owner or operator 
must begin implementing the plan within six months of 
receiving the official notice that the plan has been approved.  
Form 10 provides an example format of an ASA plan. (A 
copy of Form 10 is in Appendix E.) 

Amendments to plans are acceptable as long as the 
amendments prevent or eliminate the pollution.  Amendments 
must be reviewed by VDACS before the plan completion 
date. An amendment that necessitates an extension of time 
will not be denied simply because the time of completion will 
be delayed; however, the Commissioner may consider 
whether the additional time is needed because of the actual 
change in plans or because of any lack of due diligence by the 
owner or operator. 

To make the planning process most effective, owners or 
operators should be given options for solving their pollution 
problem whenever possible.  In terms of appropriate options, 
the ASA defines stewardship measures as "the best available 
nonpoint source control methods, technologies, processes, 
siting criteria, operating methods or other alternatives."  
There are often a variety of best management practices that 
can be employed to solve a single pollution problem. Thus, 
the planner will often have a wide variety of options from 
structural practices to changes in operating methods that can 
be offered to the owner or operator as solutions to the 
pollution problem. These options need not be the most 
expensive or employ the most sophisticated technology; they 
only need to prevent the pollution in question within the 
timeframe of the plan to be the "best". A plan that merely 
substitutes one form of pollution for another, however, is not 
acceptable. 

SECTION H - VIOLATIONS AND PENALTIES 

Under the ASA, the Commissioner issues a corrective order 
when the owner or operator fails to comply with the ASA 
{Section 3.2-403}. Further, if the owner or operator fails to 
allow the Commissioner or the investigator entry onto the 
property to investigate, implement stewardship measures, or 
ensure stewardship measures are being maintained, the 
Commissioner may seek a court order from the appropriate 
circuit court authorizing such entry onto the property. 

A person who is subject to a corrective order issued by the 
Commissioner has the right to go to the Soil and Water 
Conservation Board to appeal that corrective order. Further, 
that person has the right to appeal the decision of the Board to 
the appropriate circuit court. 
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If an owner or operator fails to comply with the ASA, he or 
she may be subject to civil penalties and orders issued by the 
Commissioner {Section 3.2-406}. The ASA does not create 
any crime -- only civil violations. (See Appendix B, Civil 
Penalty Matrix for the Agricultural Stewardship Act 
Program.) 

SECTION I - INTERGOVERNMENTAL 
COOPERATION 

The ASA requires that agricultural activities that are causing 
or will cause water pollution be corrected.  It is very 
important that agencies of local, state and federal government 
work together in a cooperative effort using a common-sense 
approach to assist owners or operators in effectively 
correcting these problems. Some of the agencies, besides the 
local Soil and Water Conservation Districts and Soil and 
Water Conservation District Board, that work in cooperation 
with the Commissioner and VDACS on water quality issues 
include the Department of Environmental Quality, the 
Department of Conservation and Recreation, the Natural 
Resources Conservation Service of the United States 
Department of Agriculture,  and Virginia Cooperative 
Extension. 

Section 3.2-409 of the ASA makes it clear that any local 
government may, subject to certain conditions, adopt an 
ordinance establishing a process for filing complaints, 
investigating them, and creating agricultural stewardship 
plans where necessary to correct pollution problems. 

Likewise, Section 3.2-410 seeks to address potential conflicts 
with Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act (Bay Act) regulations.  
This section states that nothing in the ASA shall be 
interpreted to duplicate the agricultural requirements in the 
regulations adopted pursuant to the Bay Act. 

VDACS serves as the primary coordinating agency for 
administering the ASA. VDACS' ASA staff assists the 
Commissioner with investigations and enforcement, and with 
communicating the results of the investigations with 
complainants. In addition to developing these guidelines, 
VDACS initiates the reporting and assessment processes 
annually. The purposes of the annual reporting and 
assessment process is to identify trends and needs and to seek 
means of addressing any problems that develop in the system 
of administering the ASA. 

In some cases, VDACS provides technical and planning 
assistance to owners or operators in the wake of a complaint.  
VDACS' other main role is to coordinate the administration 
of the ASA with the Districts and other partners. VDACS' 
main goal in administering the ASA is to institute a "farmer-
friendly" set of mechanisms by which owners or operators 
can address water pollution problems on a case-by-case basis, 
without the necessity of further overall regulation. 

APPENDIX A 

Agricultural Stewardship Act  

Code of Virginia ("Agricultural Stewardship Act") 

§ 3.2-400. Definitions.  

As used in this chapter, unless the context requires a different 
meaning:  

"Agricultural activity" means any activity used in the 
production of food and fiber, including farming, feedlots, 
grazing livestock, poultry raising, dairy farming, and 
aquaculture activities.  

"Agricultural stewardship plan" or "plan" means a site-
specific plan for an agricultural activity to manage, through 
use of stewardship measures, one or more of the following: 
soil, water, plants, plant nutrients, pest controls, wastes, and 
animals.  

"Board" means the Soil and Water Conservation Board.  

"Complaint" means an allegation made by any person to the 
Commissioner that an owner's or operator's agricultural 
activity is creating or, if not changed, will create pollution 
and that states the location and nature of such agricultural 
activity.  

"District" or "soil and water conservation district" means a 
political subdivision of the Commonwealth organized in 
accordance with the provisions of Chapter 5 (§ 10.1-500 et 
seq.) of Title 10.1.  

"Informal fact-finding conference" means an informal fact-
finding conference conducted in accordance with § 2.2-4019.  

"Operator" means any person who exercises managerial 
control over any agricultural activity.  

"Owner" means any person who owns land where an 
agricultural activity occurs.  

"Pollution" means any alteration of the physical, chemical, or 
biological properties of any state waters resulting from 
sedimentation, nutrients, or toxins.  

"State waters" means all water, on the surface or in the 
ground, wholly or partially within or bordering the 
Commonwealth or within its jurisdiction.  

"Stewardship measures" or "measures" means measures for 
controlling the addition of pollutants from existing and new 
categories and classes of nonpoint sources of pollution that 
reflect the pollutant reduction achievable through the 
application of the best available nonpoint pollution control 
methods, technologies, processes, siting criteria, operating 
methods, or other alternatives.  

"Stewardship measures" or "measures" includes: (i) 
agricultural water quality protection management measures 
described in the Virginia Agricultural Best Management 
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Practices Manual; and (ii) agricultural water quality 
protection management measures contained in the U.S. 
Department of Agriculture's Natural Resources Conservation 
Service Field Office Technical Guide.  

(1996, c. 773, § 10.1-559.1; 2000, c. 973; 2008, c. 860.)  

§ 3.2-401. Exclusions from chapter.  

This chapter shall not apply to any agricultural activity to 
which: (i) Article 12 (§ 10.1-1181.1 et seq.) of Chapter 11 of 
Title 10.1; or (ii) a permit issued by the State Water Control 
Board, applies.  

(1996, c. 773, § 10.1-559.2; 2008, c. 860.)  

§ 3.2-402. Complaint; investigation; agricultural stewardship 
plan.  

A. After April 1, 1997, upon receiving a complaint, unless the 
complaint was made anonymously, the Commissioner shall 
request that the directors of the district where the land lies 
determine the validity of the information within 21 days. The 
Commissioner may investigate or ask the directors of the 
district to investigate an anonymous complaint.  

B. The district chairman may, on behalf of the district, act 
upon or reject the Commissioner's request. If the district 
declines to act, it shall within five days so advise the 
Commissioner, who shall determine the validity of the 
complaint.  

C. If, after investigating a complaint, the Commissioner 
determines that substantial evidence exists to prove that an 
agricultural activity is creating or will create pollution, the 
Commissioner shall notify the owner or operator by 
registered mail, return receipt requested. If, after 
investigation, the Commissioner determines that the pollution 
is a direct result of unusual weather events or other 
exceptional circumstances that could not have been 
reasonably anticipated, or determines that the pollution is not 
a threat to human health, animal health, or aquatic life, water 
quality or recreational or other beneficial uses, the 
Commissioner may forego any additional action. Copies of 
the notice shall be sent to the district where the agricultural 
activity is located. The notice shall state that, within 60 days 
of the receipt of the notice, the owner or operator shall submit 
to the Commissioner and district an agricultural stewardship 
plan that includes stewardship measures needed to prevent or 
cease the pollution. The district shall review the plan and, if 
the plan includes such measures, the Commissioner shall 
approve the plan within 30 days after he receives it. Upon 
approving the owner's or operator's plan, the Commissioner 
shall inform the owner or operator and the complainant that a 
plan has been approved. The owner or operator shall begin 
implementing the approved agricultural stewardship plan 
within six months of the date that the owner or operator 
received the notice that the agricultural activity is creating or 
will create pollution.  

D. The plan shall include an implementation schedule, and 
implementation of the plan shall be completed within a period 
specified by the Commissioner, based upon the seasons and 
other temporal considerations so that the period is that during 
which the possibility of success in establishment or 
construction of the measures required in the plan is the 
greatest, which shall not exceed 18 months from receipt of 
notice. The Commissioner may grant an extension of up to 
180 days if: (i) a hardship exists; and (ii) the request for an 
extension was made not later than 60 days before the 
scheduled completion date. The Commissioner shall, within 
30 days of receiving the request, inform the owner or operator 
whether or not an extension has been granted.  

E. After implementing the approved plan according to the 
provisions of this chapter, the owner or operator shall 
maintain the stewardship measures established pursuant to the 
plan. The owner or operator may change the agricultural 
activity so long as the Commissioner is notified.  

F. If the Commissioner determines that substantial evidence 
does not exist to prove that an agricultural activity is creating 
or will create pollution or that any pollution was caused by 
unusual weather events or other exceptional circumstances or 
that the pollution is not a threat to human health, animal 
health, or aquatic life or recreational or other beneficial uses, 
he shall inform the complainant and the owner or operator of 
his determination. Upon approving the owner's or operator's 
agricultural stewardship plan, the Commissioner shall inform 
the owner or operator and the complainant that a plan has 
been approved.  

(1996, c. 773, § 10.1-559.3; 2000, c. 973; 2008, c. 860.)  

§ 3.2-403. Issuance of corrective orders.  

A. If any owner or operator who has been issued a notice 
under § 3.2-402 fails to submit an agricultural stewardship 
plan, begin actively implementing the plan, complete 
implementation of the plan, or maintain the stewardship 
measures as provided in § 3.2-402, the Commissioner shall 
issue a corrective order to such owner or operator. The order 
shall require that such activity be accomplished within a 
stated period of time. 

B. A corrective order issued pursuant to subsection A shall be 
issued only after an informal fact-finding conference, with 
reasonable notice being given to the owner or operator, or 
both, of the time, place, and purpose thereof, and shall 
become effective not less than five days after date of delivery 
to the last known address as provided in subsection C. The 
corrective order shall be suspended pending appeal by the 
recipient made within five days after delivery of such order to 
the last known address of the owner or operator.  

C. The Commissioner shall mail a copy of the corrective 
order by certified mail, return receipt requested, sent to the 
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last known address of the owner or operator, or by personal 
delivery by an agent of the Commonwealth.  

D. Notwithstanding other provisions of this chapter, if the 
Commissioner determines that a recurring polluting condition 
that is the subject of an approved plan is occurring or that an 
emergency condition exists due to runoff from an agricultural 
activity that is causing or is likely to cause an imminent or 
substantial danger to: (i) the public health, safety, or welfare 
or to the health of animals, fish, or aquatic life; (ii) a public 
water supply; or (iii) recreational, commercial, industrial, 
agricultural, or other beneficial uses, the Commissioner may 
issue, without advance notice, informal fact-finding 
conference, or hearing, an emergency corrective order. Such 
order may direct the owner or operator of the agricultural 
activity, or both, to cease immediately all or part of the 
agricultural activity and to implement specified stewardship 
measures or any necessary emergency measures within a 
stated period of time. Following the issuance of an emergency 
corrective order, the Commissioner shall provide the 
opportunity for a hearing or an informal fact-finding 
conference, after reasonable notice as to the time and place 
thereof, to the owner or operator, for the purpose of affirming, 
modifying, amending, or canceling the emergency corrective 
order.  

E. The Commissioner shall not issue a corrective order to any 
land owner or operator if the person is:  

1. Actively implementing the agricultural stewardship plan 
that has been reviewed by the district where the agricultural 
activity is located and approved by the Commissioner, or  

2. Actively implementing stewardship measures that have 
failed to prevent pollution, if the Commissioner determines 
that the pollution is a direct result of unusual weather events 
or other exceptional circumstances that could not have been 
reasonably anticipated.  

(1996, c. 773, § 10.1-559.4; 2000, c. 973; 2008, c. 860.)  

§ 3.2-404. Right of entry; court enforcement.  

A. The district or the Commissioner may enter land that is the 
subject of a complaint, after notice to the owner or operator, 
to determine whether the agricultural activity is causing or 
will cause pollution of state waters.  

B. Upon failure of any owner or operator to allow the 
Commissioner entry in accordance with subsection A, to 
implement stewardship measures in the time specified in a 
corrective order, or to maintain stewardship measures in 
accordance with subsection E of § 3.2-402, the Commissioner 
may present to the circuit court of the county or city where 
the land is located, a petition asking the court to require the 
owner or operator to allow the Commissioner entry or to 
carry out such measures within a specified time. If the owner 
or operator fails to implement the stewardship measures 
specified in the court order, the Commissioner may enter the 

land involved and implement the measures. The 
Commissioner may recover the costs of implementing the 
stewardship measures from the owner or operator.  

(1996, c. 773, § 10.1-559.5; 2000, c. 973; 2008, c. 860.)  

§ 3.2-405. Appeal.  

Decisions of the Commissioner may be appealed by persons 
aggrieved to the Board and thereafter to the circuit court in 
accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 
et seq.). The imposition of any civil penalty shall be 
suspended pending such appeals.  

(1996, c. 773, § 10.1-559.6; 2008, c. 860.)  

§ 3.2-406. Penalties; injunctions; enforcement actions.  

A. Any person violating § 3.2-403 or 3.2-404 shall be subject 
to a civil penalty not to exceed $5,000 for every violation 
assessed by the Commissioner or Board. Each day the 
violation continues is a separate offense. Payments to satisfy 
such penalties shall be deposited in a nonreverting, special 
fund to be used by the Department of Conservation and 
Recreation to provide financial assistance to persons 
implementing measures specified in the Virginia Agricultural 
Best Management Practices Manual. No person who has been 
assessed a civil penalty under this section shall be eligible for 
such financial assistance until the violation has been corrected 
and the penalty paid.  

B. In determining the amount of any penalty, factors to be 
considered shall include the willfulness of the violation, any 
history of noncompliance, the actions of the owner or 
operator in notifying, containing and cleaning up any 
discharge, the damage or injury to state waters or the 
impairment of its uses, and the nature and degree of injury to 
or interference with general health, welfare and property.  

C. The Attorney General shall, upon request, bring an action 
for an injunction or other appropriate legal action on behalf of 
the Commissioner or Board to enforce the provisions of this 
chapter.  

(1996, c. 773, § 10.1-559.7; 2008, c. 860.)  

§ 3.2-407. Liens.  

If a person who is required to pay a civil penalty under this 
chapter fails to do so, the Commissioner may transmit a true 
copy of the order assessing such penalty to the clerk of the 
circuit court of any county or city wherein it is ascertained 
that the person owing such penalty has any estate; and the 
clerk to whom such copy is transmitted shall record it, as a 
judgment is required by law to be recorded, and shall index it 
in the name of the Commonwealth as well as in the name of 
the person owing the civil penalty, and thereupon there shall 
be a lien in favor of the Commonwealth on the property 
within such locality of the person owing the civil penalty in 
the amount of the civil penalty. The Commissioner and Board 
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may collect civil penalties that are owed in the same manner 
as provided by law in respect to judgment of a circuit court.  

(1996, c. 773, § 10.1-559.8; 2008, c. 860.)  

§ 3.2-408. Guidelines to be published by Commissioner; 
report.  

A. In consultation with the districts, the Department of 
Conservation and Recreation, and interested persons, the 
Commissioner shall develop guidelines for the 
implementation of this chapter. These guidelines shall 
address, among other things, the conduct of investigations, 
sources of assistance for owners and operators, and 
intergovernmental cooperation. Within 90 days of the 
effective date of this section, the Commissioner shall submit 
the proposed guidelines to the Registrar of Regulations for 
publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. At least 
30 days shall be provided for public comment after the 
publication of the proposed guidelines. After the close of the 
public comment period, the Commissioner shall consider the 
comments that he has received and may incorporate any 
changes into the guidelines that he deems appropriate. He 
shall develop a written summary and analysis of the 
comments, which shall be made available to the public upon 
request. Thereafter, the Commissioner shall submit final 
guidelines for publication in the Register. The guidelines 
shall become effective on April 1, 1997. The Commissioner 
may alter the guidelines periodically after his proposed 
changes have been published in the Register and a public 
comment period has been provided.  

B. The Commissioner shall compile a report by August 31 
annually listing the number of complaints received, the nature 
of each complaint, the actions taken in resolution of each 
complaint, and any penalties that may have been assessed. 
The Commissioner shall have the discretion to exclude and 
keep confidential specific information regarding ongoing 
investigations. The Commissioner shall: (i) provide the report 
to the Board, the Department of Conservation and Recreation, 
and to every district; (ii) publish notice in the Virginia 
Register that the report is available; and (iii) make the report 
available to the public upon request.  

(1996, c. 773, § 10.1-559.9; 2008, c. 860.)  

§ 3.2-409.  Ordinances.  

A. Any locality may adopt an ordinance creating a complaint, 
investigation, and agricultural stewardship plan development 
program. Ordinances adopted hereunder may contain only 
provisions that parallel §§ 3.2-401 and 3.2-402. No such 
ordinance shall provide for the imposition of civil or criminal 
sanctions against an operator or owner who fails to 
implement a plan. If an owner or operator fails to implement 
a plan, the local governing body shall submit a complaint to 
the Commissioner as provided in § 3.2-402. 

B. This section shall not apply to any ordinance: (i) in 
existence on July 1, 1996; or (ii) adopted pursuant to the 
Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act (§ 10.1-2100 et seq.).  

(1996, c. 773, § 10.1-559.10; 2008, c. 860.)  

§ 3.2-410. Construction of chapter.  

Nothing in this chapter shall be construed as duplicative of 
regulations governing agricultural practices under the 
Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act.  

(1996, c. 773, § 10.1-559.11; 2008, c. 860.)  

APPENDIX B 

Civil Penalties Matrix for the Agricultural Stewardship 
Act Program   

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Civil Penalties Matrix for the Agricultural Stewardship Act 
Program (Authority: Section 3.2-406 of the Code of Virginia) 

VIOLATION 

"Any person violating Section 3.2-403 or Section 3.2-404 
shall be subject to a civil penalty not to exceed $5,000 for 
every violation assessed by the Commissioner of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services. Each day the violation continues 
shall constitute a separate offense." (Section 3.2-406(A) of 
the Code of Virginia) 

The following are violations of Section 3.2-403 of the Code 
of Virginia: 

1. The owner or operator fails to submit an Agricultural 
Stewardship Plan after the Commissioner has issued a 
Corrective Order (Authority: Section 3.2-403(A) of the 
Code of Virginia); 

(Base civil penalty-$200) 

2. The owner or operator fails to begin actively 
implementing an Agricultural Stewardship Plan after the 
Commissioner has issued a Corrective Order (Authority: 
Section 3.2-403(A) of the Code of Virginia); 

(Base civil penalty-$500) 

3. The owner or operator fails to complete the 
implementation of an Agricultural Stewardship Plan after 
the Commissioner has issued a Corrective Order 
(Authority: Section 3.2-403(A) of the Code of Virginia); 

(Base civil penalty-$500) 

4. The owner or operator fails to maintain the required 
stewardship measures after the Commissioner has issued a 
Corrective Order (Authority: Section 3.2-403(A) of the 
Code of Virginia); and 
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(Base civil penalty-$250)  

5. The owner or operator fails to comply with an 
Emergency Corrective Order (Authority: Section 3.2-
403(D) of the Code of Virginia). 

(Base civil penalty-$500) 

The following are violations of Section 3.2-404 of the Code 
of Virginia: 

The owner or operator denies the Commissioner or his 
designee the right of entry (Authority: Section 3.2-
404(A) of the Code of Virginia). 

(Base civil penalty-$500) 

The following factors shall be considered in determining 
the amount of any civil penalty: 

1. If there is willfulness of violation, add $500 to the base 
civil penalty; 

2. If there is history of noncompliance with Agricultural 
Stewardship Act, add $1000 to the base civil penalty; 

3. If there is failure of owner in notifying, containing and 
cleaning up any discharge, add $1000 to the base civil 
penalty; 

4. If there is damage or injury to state waters or the 
impairment of its uses, add $1500 to the base civil penalty; 
and  

5. When the injury is of such a nature and degree as to 
interfere with general health, welfare and property, add 
$1500 to the base civil penalty. 

6. As stated in Section 3.2-406, the maximum civil penalty 
the Commissioner may assess per violation is $5,000. 

7. If any combination of applicable penalties under this 
matrix exceeds $5,000 for a single violation, $5,000 is the 
maximum amount that will be assessed for that violation. 

APPENDIX C 

Steps In Addressing Agricultural Stewardship Act 
Complaints 

STEPS IN ADDRESSING AN ASA COMPLAINT 

1. Commissioner's Office receives complaint: 

 Commissioner's Office reviews complaint and 
determines if the ASA has jurisdiction. 

• If not under ASA's jurisdiction, Commissioner 
dismisses complaint. 

• If under the ASA's jurisdiction, Commissioner 
determines whether investigation is necessary. 

2. Commissioner's Office determines whether the 
investigation is necessary: 

 In cases with non-anonymous complaints, an 
investigation is required. 

 In cases with anonymous complaints, the 
Commissioner has the option to investigate. 

3. If investigation is needed: 

 Commissioner's Office contacts local Soil and Water 
Conservation District and informs it of the 
complaint. 

 District has five days to notify the Commissioner's 
Office whether or not it will investigate. 

4. Contact the owner/operator to inform him or her of 
complaint and the need to investigate, followed by a letter. 

 If farmer denies request to enter land, the 
Commissioner may seek a court order. 

5. Investigate complaint and report findings to 
Commissioner's Office within 21 days of receiving 
complaint. 

6. Commissioner's Office reviews investigation report 
and, if needed, gathers more information.  
Commissioner's Office then makes decision as to whether 
complaint is founded, then contacts farmer with findings 
(via registered mail, return receipt requested) and the 
District within 30 days of receiving investigation report. 

 If complaint is unfounded 

• Action on complaint complete 

• Complainant contacted and informed on reasons 
why complaint was unfounded. 

 If complaint is founded – Finding is reviewed and 
discussed with farmer 

• Farmer accepts decision, or 

• Farmer appeals decision to the Virginia Soil and 
Water Conservation Board 

• Farmer may appeal Board's decision to local 
Circuit Court  

7. Farmer develops plan to address pollution and sends 
copy to the Commissioner's Office and District within 60 
days after receiving notice of investigation findings and of 
the need to develop a plan. 

 If farmer fails to develop own plan, Commissioner 
may seek court order requiring farmer to implement 
plan developed by VDACS. 

8. District reviews plan and sends its recommendations to 
the Commissioner's Office. 

9. Commissioner's Office reviews plan; District 
recommendations and notifies farmer. 
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 Plan approved, and/or amended with conditions 

 Plan rejected 

• Farmer develops new plan and repeats submittal 
process, or 

• Farmer appeals through the process described in 
item 6. 

10. Commissioner's Office contacts complainant, informs 
him or her of action taken, and plan implementation 
completion date. 

11. Six months after farmer is notified that plan is 
necessary, Commissioner's Office will check to ensure 
that farmer has begun implementing plan. 

 Implementation has begun, or 

 Implementation has not begun 

• Commissioner institutes an informal fact-finding 
conference with the owner / operator 

• ASA requires Commissioner to issue a corrective 
order (via certified mail, return receipt requested) to 
farmer at this point 

• Owner/operator may appeal though same process 
as described in item 6. 

12. By the completion date, a site review will be conducted 
to ensure complete plan implementation. 

 Once plan is implemented, farmer is required to 
maintain 

 Hardship cases can receive a 180-day extension if 
farmer's request is received 60 days prior to 
completion date and is approved by the 
Commissioner's Office. 

 Farmer can appeal through the same process 
described above in item 6. 

APPENDIX D 

Steps to Consider During An Agricultural Stewardship 
Act Investigation 

When beginning an investigation, it is likely to help if you 
keep several key questions in the back of your mind. These 
questions are: 

1. What pollutant (sediment, nutrient, pesticide or 
petroleum product) was the subject of the complaint? 

2. What water body (stream, river, well, etc.) was the 
subject of the complaint? 

3. Is there a physical barrier (e.g., buffer, berm, slope, etc.) 
that would help prevent the pollutant in question (soil, 

nutrients, pesticides or petroleum products) from reaching 
the stream, river or well? 

4. Is the farmer using any BMPs that are designed to help 
prevent the pollutant in question from reaching the stream, 
river or well? 

With these questions in mind, begin to assess the physical 
layout and the farmer's operation of the field, feedlot or 
pasture that is the subject of your investigation.  Some things 
to assess are as follows (Use the ones that would be 
applicable to the pollutant that was the subject of the 
complaint): 

 Is there evidence of erosion? 

 What sources of nutrients are used or produced in 
the operation? 

 What types of pesticides and petroleum products 
are used in the operation? 

 If pesticides are used, are they water-soluble, 
evaporative or do they tend to bind to soil? 

 What are the characteristics of the topography in 
relation to the water body? 

 Slope 

 Sink holes 

 Soil Types 

 Etc. 

 Is there a buffer or other barrier between the site 
where the problem is alleged to be occurring and 
the water body? 

 If there is a buffer, what are the characteristics for 
the buffer? 

 Mixed vegetation (trees and shrubs, etc.) 

 Grass 

 Etc. 

 What condition is the buffer in? 

 Well vegetated 

 Killed areas 

 Eroded 

 Etc. 

 Does the farmer use nutrient management 
practices, and if so what are they? 

 Are stream banks eroded, and if so, what was the 
cause? 

 Natural causes 
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 Livestock 

 Etc. 

 Are BMPs used on the land, such as residue 
management, conservation tillage, sod waterways, 
animal waste system, hardened access, etc.? 

 Are BMPs well maintained? 

 Is sod waterway or filter strip being filled 
with sediment? 

 Is animal waste storage facility emptied on 
schedule? 

 Etc. 

This is not an all-inclusive list because there may be other 
site-specific and complaint-specific circumstances that you'll 
want to consider, but this gives you an idea of what to assess. 

Taking what you've learned about this operation in your 
assessment, begin to answer the following questions: 

 Can the alleged pollution even be a product of this 
farming operation? 

 Is there a route from the field, feedlot or pasture that 
the pollutants would travel easily (e.g., unobstructed 
by a physical barrier) to the water body? 

 Given the management of the field, feedlot or 
pasture and other factors, how large is the level of 
pollution that could be occurring (e.g., large, 
medium, minimal, none)? 

 If there is a pollution occurring, could the pollution 
in question be occurring from natural causes (e.g., 
natural stream bank erosion)? 

 If there is pollution occurring, was it caused by 
circumstances beyond the farmer's control? 

Using your answers to these questions, you can begin to write 
up your investigation report and formulate your opinion 
regarding this case.  If you have questions during this process, 
please contact one of the Agricultural Stewardship 
Coordinators at (804) 786-3538. 

APPENDIX E 

Forms for the Agricultural Stewardship Act Program 

 

Today's Date ___________________     Complaint No. _____________ 

 

 

FORM 1 

COMPLAINT TRACKING FORM 

AGRICULTURAL STEWARDSHIP ACT 

 

Name of person receiving complaint:  __________________________________ 

 

1. Was the complaint made anonymously? � Yes   � No                 
If "Yes," what reason (if any) did complainant give for not wanting to give 

(his/her) name? 

___________________________________________________________ 

 

___________________________________________________________ 

 

___________________________________________________________ 

 

Note:  If complainant would not give his/her name, Commissioner must make decision regarding whether or 
not to investigate. 
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If "No," complainant's name and mailing address and phone number are: 

___________________________________________________________ 

 

___________________________________________________________ 

 

___________________________________________________________ 

 

 

2. Does this complaint concern an agricultural activity? � Yes   � No      

If "Yes," go to question 3.  If "No," inform complainant that we have no jurisdiction over non-agricultural 
activities. 

3. What was the agricultural activity?  Circle:  Beef     Dairy    Poultry    Hogs                         

         

  Horses    Cropland 

 list additional activities:___________________ 

 

4. Is the agricultural activity is causing; or, will the agricultural activity cause water pollution? 

 

� Yes   � No   �  Uncertain  
 
If "Yes," go to question 5.  If "No," inform complainant that we have jurisdiction only over complaints 

concerning water pollution. 
 

5. What is the nature of the alleged water pollution?  
________________________________________________________________ 

 

________________________________________________________________ 

   

6. What Is the cause of this alleged water pollution?   Circle:   sedimentation  

nutrient enrichment     toxins 

 list additional causes:___________________ 

 If additional causes are given then dismiss complaint and inform complainant that we have jurisdiction only over 
complaints alleging water pollution caused by sedimentation nutrient enrichment and toxins coming from agricultural 
activities. 

7. Is this specific agricultural activity covered by a government permit (e.g, VPA, VPDES, etc.)? 

� Yes   � No   �  Uncertain  

If "No" OR "Uncertain" go to question 8.  If "Yes," inform complainant that we have no jurisdiction over 
complaints concerning water pollution from activities that are covered by a government permit . 

8. Name and address of owner or operator whose operation is subject of complaint:   

________________________________________________________________ 

________________________________________________________________ 

________________________________________________________________ 
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Phone Number(s): _________________________________________________ 

9. County Name: _________________________________________________________ 

10. Directions to complaint site: ______________________________________________ 

________________________________________________________________ 

________________________________________________________________ 

 

11. Name of the local soil and water conservation district in which this agricultural activity is located: 

_______________________________________________________________ 

(VDACS Letterhead) 
FORM 2 

[NOTIFICATION TO DISTRICT OF COMPLAINT 

AND REQUEST TO INVESTIGATE]  

  

TO: Directors, [list district name] Soil & Water Conservation District 

 

FROM:                       Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

 

THROUGH:            [Coordinator's name] 

Agricultural Stewardship Coordinator 

DATE:           [current date] 

RE: Water Pollution Complaint from Agricultural Activity in Your District  

 (Complaint No.  [number] ) 

We have received a complaint alleging that an agricultural activity in your District is causing or will cause water pollution.  That 
agricultural activity is described in greater detail on the attached Complaint Tracking Form.  Pursuant to Section 3.2-402 of the 
Code of Virginia, I hereby request that you determine the validity of the information in the complaint. 

According to Section 3.2-402, you must advise me by the end of the fifth (5th) calendar day following the day on which you 
receive this request of your decision regarding whether or not you wish to determine the validity of the information in this 
complaint.  (Our standard response form #3 can be used.) 

The Agricultural Stewardship Act gives the District] only 21 days to complete investigations to determine the validity of 
complaints, so if you choose to investigate to determine the validity of the information in the complaint, I will need to receive your 
decision by the date of [five days from current date].  If you choose to investigate, the standard investigation form #9 can be 
used. 

Thank you for your consideration of this request.  If you have any questions, please feel free to call me at 804/786-3501 or my 
staff at 804/786-3538. 
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[District letterhead] 

 

FORM 3 

[DISTRICT'S DECISION REGARDING 

REQUEST TO INVESTIGATE VALIDITY OF COMPLAINT] 

 

TO:                              Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

 

FROM: [district name] 

Soil & Water Conservation District 

DATE:                       [current date] 

 

RE: Water Pollution Complaint from Agricultural Activity in Our District   

 (Complaint No.  [number]  ) 

 

We have received your request regarding a complaint alleging that an agricultural activity in our District is causing or will cause 
water pollution by sedimentation, nutrient enrichment or toxins.  That agricultural activity is described in greater detail on the 
attached copy of the first page of the corresponding Complaint Tracking Form.  Pursuant to Section 3.2-402 of the Code of 
Virginia, I hereby notify you that this Soil & Water Conservation District [insert the words will investigate, will not investigate or 
will assistance in a joint investigation with the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services]  to determine the 
validity of the information in that complaint. 

 

 

Copy: Agricultural Stewardship Coordinator 
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Case # ___________________ 

 

FORM 4 

SITE VISITS AND PHONE CALLS 

Follow-up Notes 

DATE 

 

TYPE OF ACTIVITY 
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(VDACS Letterhead) 

FORM 5 

                    [Letter to notify the owner or operator about the complaint] 

[current date] 

[name and address of owner or operator] 

 

 Re: Water Pollution Complaint from  

Agricultural Activities (Complaint   [number]) 

Dear [last name]: 

This letter is to notify you that on [date] the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS) received a 
complaint alleging that an agricultural activity involving a [describe activity and location] is causing water pollution.  This 
complaint falls under the jurisdiction of the Agricultural Stewardship Act (Act) and needs to be investigated within 21 days.  
During our phone conversation today, you indicated that you would be available to meet with me on [date and time].  At that time 
I will investigate the alleged water pollution concern. 

During this investigation, evidence will be collected to determine if your [activity description] is allowing [describe type of 
pollution] to enter state waters.  If the Commissioner of Agriculture determines that a sufficient amount of evidence is present to 
cause a threat to human health, animal health, aquatic life, water quality or recreational uses, a plan to correct the water 
pollution would be required.  Then, you would be required to begin implementing this plan within six months.  Once the 
stewardship measures within the plan are completed, the Commissioner of Agriculture will send a letter to document that you 
have completed your obligations under the Act. 

I have enclosed additional information regarding the Agricultural Stewardship Act requirements for your review.  If you have any 
questions, I can be reached at my office by calling [list phone number]. 
  Sincerely, 

 

 

  Agricultural Stewardship Coordinator 

 

Copy: [local soil and water conservation district ] 
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(VDACS Letterhead) 

FORM 6 

[Notification to owner or operator of investigation findings] 

[current date] 

[name and address of owner or operator] 

Re: Notification to owner or operator pursuant to the Agricultural 
Stewardship Act regarding the complaint involving [farming 
activity] (COMPLAINT [number]) 

Dear [last name]: 

After I received a complaint alleging that an agricultural activity on your farm is causing or will cause water pollution by [list 
type(s)of pollution], an investigation was performed on [date] by [list investigator(s) and agency name(s)]. 

The findings from this investigation are as follows: 
♦ [describe the location and specific agricultural activity that is or will cases water pollution] 

Several factors that contribute to this problem are: 
♦ [describe factors that contribute to the specific agricultural activity] 

In conclusion, this agricultural activity was found to be one that is causing and will cause water pollution and measures must be 
taken to correct the water pollution problem according to the Agricultural Stewardship Act.  You need to submit an Agriculture 
Stewardship Plan that addresses the water pollution problem within 60 days of receiving this notice [approximately 
date] to the Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services and a copy to the [local Soil and Water Conservation 
District].  A list of possible sources of assistance and the requirements for this plan are attached. 

Best Management Practices that will correct the water pollution problem 
♦ An implementation schedule to begin within six months of receiving this notice [approximate date]. 
♦ Complete implementation within twelve months of receiving this notice [approximate date]. 

Possible assistance in plan development and cost-share 

 
♦ [Local Soil and Water Conservation District and phone number]  

 
♦ [Local USDA Natural Resources Conservation Services and phone number]  

 
♦ [Local County Cooperative Extension and phone number]  

 
♦ Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

[Agricultural Stewardship Coordinator and phone number]   

 
♦ Private consultants in your area 

[include information about the appeal process] If you have questions, please contact [name of the Agricultural Stewardship 
Coordinator and phone number] .  

 

  Sincerely, 

 

 

  Commissioner 

 

Copy:  [Local Soil and Water Conservation District] 
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(VDACS Letterhead) 

FORM 7 

[Notification to owner or operator of Agricultural Stewardship Plan status] 

  

[current date] 

[name and address of  owner or operator] 

 

Re: Notification to owner or operator  

pursuant to the Agricultural Stewardship Act regarding the 
approval of a Agricultural Stewardship Plan involving [farming 
activity]  

(Complaint [number]) 

 

Dear [last name]: 

 

This letter is to notify you that I have approved your Agricultural Stewardship Plan [indicate who developed the plan and list any 
conditions that may go with the approval]. Please be mindful of the implementation schedule to ensure that all dates are met.  In 
your case, the Agriculture Stewardship Act (ASA) requires you to begin correcting the identified water pollution problem before 
[date]. 

 

[Explain any specific conditions about the plan or the use of state or federal assistance]. The best management practices 
identified in your Agricultural Stewardship Plan to address [specific agricultural activity] are needed to prevent the water pollution 
identified in my letter dated [Form 6 date].  If you have any questions, please call my office at [phone number].     

   

Thank you for cooperating with the Agricultural Stewardship Program. Through cooperation from producers like you, agriculture 
can address water pollution problems without the need for more stringent legislation and regulations. 

 

 

Copy: [Local Soil and Water Conservation District] 
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(VDACS Letterhead) 

FORM 8 

[Response to complainant regarding status of their complaint] 

 

[current date] 

[name and address of  complainant ] 

 

Re: Status of [name of farmer or operation]  

complaint pursuant to the Agricultural  

Stewardship Act (Complaint [number]) 

 

Dear [last name]: 

  

An investigation was conducted after receiving your complaint alleging that an agricultural activity on [name of farmer or 
operation] is causing or will cause water pollution by [list the type(s) of pollution], an investigation was performed on [date] by [list 
investigator(s) and agency name(s)].    

  

[Explain the findings during the investigation and the Commissioner's decision].   

 

[Describe the obligations of the owner or operator as it relates to the Agricultural Stewardship Act].    

 

Thank you for making us aware of this situation and for being patient as we address water pollution problems caused by 
agricultural activities. 

 

 
 
Copy:  [Local Soil and Water Conservation District] 
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Today's date__________________    Complaint Number _______________ 

FORM 9 

COMPLAINT INVESTIGATION FOR AGRICULTURAL STEWARDSHIP ACT 

Investigator(s) Name/Agency: ___________________________________________________ 

List of all present during investigation: _____________________________________________ 

Date of complaint and description: ________________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________________________ 

Did you find that the complained-of agricultural activity is subject to a VPA or VPDES permit? 

 � Yes    � No 

If yes, stop here and return this form to the Commissioner's Office. 

Description of the site during the investigation. (Attach additional sheets if necessary):  

____________________________________________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________________________ 

In your opinion, does the evidence support the claim that this agricultural activity is causing or will cause water 
pollution?   � Yes   � No     

If no, please list reasons for your conclusion.  (Use additional sheets, if necessary.):__________ 

____________________________________________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________________________ 

Stop here and return this form to the Commissioner's Office or continue. 

If yes, list all evidence that was collected on site and other supporting data (e.g., pictures, water samples, aerial 
photographs with stream, topographical maps and technical drawings of the problem areas). 
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FORM 10 

[Farm or operation name and address] 

Agricultural Stewardship Plan 

[date] 

 

Objective: [state the objective of the plan]  

Statement of water pollution problem:[describe each activity or structure that was identified in Form 6 as causing, or that will 
cause, water pollution.  Then describe each solution to correct the water pollution problem.] 

Implementation schedule:   

As directed by the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, the implementation of these corrective 
conservation measures will begin prior to [use date found on Form 6 under plan requirements].    

[list each solution and indicate implementation dates] 

Solution(s)       
 Implementation Date(s) 

___________________________________________  _____________________ 

___________________________________________  _____________________ 

___________________________________________  _____________________ 

___________________________________________  _____________________ 

 

ATTACHMENTS 

 
• [Use aerial photographs from USDA Farm Service Agency] 

 
• [Use a technical drawing to indicated the affected water feature, problem area, and the corrective conservation measures.]  

  
SIGNATURES:    

 

Owner or Operator ___________________________________  Date ______________ 

 

Soil and Water Conservation 

District Representative __________________________________Date _____________  

 

Commissioner of Agricultural  

and Consumer Services  _________________________________Date ____________ 

 

[This planning form is only a guide.  Other types of plans are acceptable providing the plan meets Agricultural Stewardship Act 
requirements.] 
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INVESTIGATION TRACKING CALENDAR 
REGARDING THE AGRICULTURAL STEWARDSHIP ACT 

Complaint No.  _________________ 

Completion Date Required Completion 
Date 

STEPS IN ADDRESSING COMPLAINTS 

  1. Commissioner's office receives complaint (use Form 1) 

  2. Letter from Commissioner's office to inform District of
      complaint (use Form 2) 

  3. District sends response back within five days to Commissioner
    to inform if they will investigate the complaint (use Form 3) 

  4. Phone calls to owner/operator to inform them of the complaint
     and inform of intent to investigate (use Form 4) 

  5.   Letter sent to owner/operator to follow-up on phone call as
       well as provide information on the Act (use  Form 5) 

  6.    Investigate and report to Commissioner within 21 days (use
        Form 9) 

  7.   Commissioner's decision to owner/operator (via certified
         mail) and District  within 30 days (use Form 6) 

   8. Agricultural Stewardship Plan to Commissioner's Office
      within 60 days (can use Form 10) 

  9.    Agricultural Stewardship Plan reviewed by SWCD 

  10.    Agricultural Stewardship approval letter to owner/operator
          within 30 days (use Form 7) 

  11.    Letter to Complainant informing them of complaint status
          (use Form 8) 

  12.    Implementation of plan (begin within six months)     � yes � no 

          Site visit after six months to insure compliance 

          If not implementing, Commissioner sends a corrective
          action by certified mail 

  13.    Implementation completion not to exceed 18 months. 

           Hardship cases can be extended by Commissioner for 180   

           days only if  request is received 60 days before the final   

           implementation or after a natural disaster occurs. 

          Request received:                       __________________ 

          Granted date:                              __________________ 

          New Implementation Completion Date: _____________ 

  14.    Plan implementation complete 

  15.    Site inspection review 
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STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

AT RICHMOND, NOVEMBER 3, 2009 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

 CASE NO. PUE-2009-00117 

Ex Parte: In the matter of considering 
§ 532 (b) of the Energy Independence 
and Security Act of 2007 

ORDER ESTABLISHING PROCEEDING 

Section 303 (a) of the Public Utility Regulatory Policies Act 
of 1978 ("PURPA")1 requires each state regulatory authority, 
with respect to each gas utility for which it has ratemaking 
authority, to consider certain federal standards established by 
PURPA. Each such state regulatory authority is required to 
determine whether it is appropriate, to the extent consistent 
with otherwise applicable state law, to adopt these standards.2 
The State Corporation Commission ("Commission") has 
conducted various proceedings concerning energy standards 
since PURPA's adoption in 1978.3 

On December 19, 2007, President George W. Bush signed the 
Energy Independence and Security Act of 20074 ("Energy 
Independence and Security Act" or "Act") into law. The 
stated purposes of this Act include moving the United States 
toward greater energy independence; increasing the 
production of clean renewable fuels; promoting research on 
the capture and storage of greenhouse gases; increasing 
energy efficiency in buildings, vehicles, and other products; 
improving the energy performance of the federal government; 
and protecting consumers. 

Section 532 (b) of the Energy Independence and Security Act 
amends § 303(b) of PURPA5 by adding the following 
standards for consideration:  

(5) Energy efficiency  

Each natural gas utility shall—  

(A) integrate energy efficiency resources into the plans and 
planning processes of the natural gas utility; and  

(B) adopt policies that establish energy efficiency as a 
priority resource in the plans and planning processes of the 
natural gas utility.  

(6) Rate design modifications to promote energy efficiency 
investments  

(A) In general  

The rates allowed to be charged by a natural gas utility 
shall align utility incentives with the deployment of cost-
effective energy efficiency.  

(B) Policy options  

In complying with subparagraph (A), each State regulatory 
authority and each nonregulated utility shall consider—  

(i) separating fixed-cost revenue recovery from the volume 
of transportation or sales service provided to the customer;  

(ii) providing to utilities incentives for the successful 
management of energy efficiency programs, such as 
allowing utilities to retain a portion of the cost-reducing 
benefits accruing from the programs;  

(iii) promoting the impact on adoption of energy efficiency 
as 1 of the goals of retail rate design, recognizing that 
energy efficiency must be balanced with other objectives; 
and  

(iv) adopting rate designs that encourage energy efficiency 
for each customer class.  

For purposes of applying the provisions of this subtitle to 
this paragraph, any reference in this subtitle to the date of 
enactment of this Act [November 9, 1978], shall be treated 
as a reference to the date of enactment of this paragraph 
[December 19, 2007].  

Section 532 (c) of the Energy Independence and Security Act 
also amends § 303 (a) of PURPA by adding the following 
conforming amendment: "Section 303 (a) of the Public Utility 
Regulatory Policies Act of 1978 (15 U.S.C. 3203(a)) is 
amended by striking 'and (4)' inserting '(4), (5), and (6)'." 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of the 
matter, is of the opinion and finds that, notwithstanding the 
Commission's reservations as to its legal propriety,6 a 
proceeding will be established to consider for implementation 
in the Commonwealth the two federal standards enumerated 
in Section 532 (b) of the Energy Independence and Security 
Act.  This action shall not constitute a waiver of any right of 
the Commission or the Commonwealth of Virginia, including 
hereafter any right to claim immunity or to challenge or 
object to any actions that may be taken by any person, federal 
authority, or other entity in relation to the Energy 
Independence and Security Act.  

The Commission will direct that notice be given to the public 
and that interested persons have an opportunity to comment 
on the issues raised herein. The Staff has developed lists of 
individuals, organizations, and companies that may be 
interested in this proceeding. We will direct the Staff to 
provide copies of this Order Establishing Proceeding by 
electronic transmission, or when electronic transmission is 
not possible, by mail, to individuals, organizations, and 
companies on these lists.  We will also direct that a copy of 
this Order Establishing Proceeding be forwarded to the 
Virginia Register for publication. 

Therefore, the Commission invites interested persons to 
comment on any of the following issues: (1) whether the 
Commission has the authority to consider these two federal 
standards; (2) whether the implementation of such standards 
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would be consistent with otherwise applicable Virginia law; 
(3) whether any Virginia laws presently address the issues 
presented in these two federal standards; (4) whether the 
energy efficiency requirements set forth in § 532 (b) (5) of the 
Energy Independence and Security Act should be adopted by 
this Commission; and (5) whether the rate design 
modifications to promote energy efficiency investments set 
forth in § 532 (b) (6) of the Energy Independence and 
Security Act should be adopted by this Commission.  If an 
interested person advocates implementing either of the 
standards listed in § 532 (b) of the Energy Independence and 
Security Act, such person should describe in their comments 
how such standards would best be implemented.   

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) This case is docketed and assigned Case No. PUE-
2009-00117. 

(2) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
shall forward a copy of this Order to the Registrar of 
Regulation for publication in the Virginia Register. 

(3) Within five business days of the filing of this Order 
with the Clerk of the Commission, the Staff shall transmit 
electronically or mail copies of this Order to interested 
persons and organizations as discussed in this Order. 

(4) On or before November 20, 2009, the Staff shall file 
with the Clerk of the Commission a certificate of the 
transmission or mailing required by Ordering Paragraph (3) 
and include a list of the names and addresses of persons to 
whom the Order was transmitted or mailed.  

(5) On or before December 2, 2009, any interested person 
may file an original and fifteen (15) copies of comments 
with Joel H. Peck, Clerk, State Corporation Commission, 
c/o Document Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, 
Virginia 23218. Comments shall refer to Case No. PUE-
2009-00117 and address the specific issues raised in this 
Order. Interested persons desiring to submit comments 
electronically may do so by following the instructions 
available at the Commission's website: 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(6) On or before December 8, 2009, the Staff may file 
comments with the Commission presenting its findings and 
recommendations, or responding to any comments filed by 
interested persons in this matter. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 
the Commission to: C. Meade Browder, Jr., Senior Assistant 
Attorney General, Division of Consumer Counsel, Office of 
Attorney General, 900 East Main Street, 2nd Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219; the natural gas public utilities 
subject to the Commission's jurisdiction set forth in Appendix 
A to this Order; and the Commission's Divisions of 
Economics and Finance and Energy Regulation. 

_____________________________ 

1 15 U.S.C.S. § 3203 (a) (2006). 
2 Id. 
3 Such proceedings include, for example: Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. 
State Corporation Commission, Ex Parte, In re: Consideration of standards 
for integrated resource planning and investments in conservation and demand 
management for natural gas utilities, Case No. PUE-1994-00030 (Final 
Order) (Oct. 14, 1994). 
4 Pub. L. 110-140, 121 Stat. 1492. 
5 15 U.S.C.S. § 3203 (b) (2006). 
6 The Commission notes that developments in the law subsequent to the 
original adoption of PURPA raise doubt about the constitutionality of the co-
opting of state regulatory agencies to implement a federal regulatory scheme.  
See, e.g., New York v. United States, 505 U.S. 144 (1992); Printz v. United 
States, 521 U.S. 898 (1997). 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Notice to Restore Water Quality for Portions of 
Assamoosick Swamp 

Public meetings: Public meetings will be held on Wednesday, 
December 2, 2009, from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. and 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. 
at the Newsome Human Services Building located at 20103 
Princeton Road, Sussex, VA 23884. Both meetings are open 
to the public. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality and the Department of Conservation and Recreation 
are announcing a study to restore water quality for portions of 
Assamoosick Swamp, unnamed tributary to Assamoosick 
Swamp, Seacorrie and unnamed tributary to Seacorrie 
Swamp, Black Swamp, and German Swamp located within 
Sussex and Southampton counties. This notice also 
announces the first public meetings and a public comment 
opportunity. 

Meeting description: Overview and summary of the research 
to date of the water quality impairments of the 
recreation/swimming use for portions of Assamoosick 
Swamp and tributaries (mentioned above), which are 
impaired due to bacterial violations. 

Description of study: Virginia agencies are working to 
identify sources of the bacterial contamination for portions of 
the Assamoosick Swamp and its tributaries. This impairment 
spans approximately 34 miles. These waterways are impaired 
for failure to meet the recreational (swimming) designated 
use due to exceedances of the bacterial water quality 
standard. 

Waterbody Location 
Impaired 
Length 

(mi) 
Impairment 

Assamoosick 
Swamp 

Sussex, 
Southampton 15.76 

Tributary to 
Assamoosick 

Swamp 
Southampton 2.06 

Seacorrie 
Swamp Sussex 6.91 

Recreational 
Use 

(Swimming) 
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Tributary to 
Seacorrie 
Swamp 

Sussex 1.46 

German Swamp Sussex 3.65 
Black Swamp Sussex 3.76 

Total Impaired Length 33.60 

The study reports on the current status of the Assamoosick 
Swamp and its tributaries via sampling performed by the 
Virginia Department of Environmental Quality and the 
possible sources of bacterial contamination. The study 
recommends total maximum daily loads (TMDLs) for the 
above impairments. A TMDL is the total amount of a 
pollutant a water body can contain and still meet water 
quality standards. To restore water quality, bacteria levels 
have to be reduced to the TMDL amount. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax, or postal mail. Written comments should include the 
name, address, and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ during the comment 
period, which expires December 31, 2009. DEQ also accepts 
written and oral comments at the public meeting announced 
in this notice. 

Contact for additional information: Margaret Smigo, TMDL 
Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, 
Piedmont Regional Office, 4949A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 
23060, telephone (804) 527-5124, FAX (804)-527-5106, or 
email margaret.smigo@deq.virginia.gov. 

Total Maximum Daily Load for Beaver Creek 

Virginia's Region 2000 Local Government Council and the 
Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) will 
host a public meeting on Thursday, December 3, 2009, in 
Rustburg, Virginia, to provide information and hear public 
comment on a water quality study for a portion of Beaver 
Creek and it tributaries, which drain from portions of 
Campbell County. 

Thursday, December 3, 2009, a public meeting will be held at 
6 p.m. in the Agricultural Building, 163 Kabler Lane, 
Rustburg, Virginia. Kabler Lane is located just off of Route 
24/Village Highway across from the Campbell County 
Administrative Offices. 

Virginia agencies are working to identify sources of bacteria 
contamination in a portion of Beaver Creek within the James 
River Watershed in Central Virginia. This stream is listed on 
the federal § 303 D list of impaired waters and has been 
targeted for the development of a total maximum daily load 
(TMDL) study. A TMDL is the total amount of a pollutant a 
water body can contain and still meet water quality standards. 
To restore water quality, contamination levels for a specified 
pollutant have to be reduced to the TMDL amount. 

The December 3 meeting will be the first of two public 
meetings that will be held during the TMDL study. At this 
first pubic meeting, the public will be provided an overview 
of (i) what a TMLD is and how a TMDL is developed, (ii) 
initial data about the streams and surrounding watershed, (iii) 
how the public can provide comment and input to the study 
over the coming year. In addition, the pubic will be given an 
overview of how the TMDL development is used within the 
state. 

The public comment period on the materials presented at the 
public meeting will extend from December 3, 2009, until 
11:59 p.m. on January 4, 2010.  Comments may be submitted 
via email, fax, or postal mail. Written comments should 
include the name, address, and telephone number of the 
person commenting, and be received during the comment 
period. Please send all comments to the contact listed below. 

For more information, please contact Kelly Hitchcock, Senior 
Planner, Virginia's Region 2000 Local Government Council 
at (434) 845-5678 ext 218 or at khitchcock@region2000.org. 

Restore Water Quality for Portions of the 
Blackwater River 

Public meetings: Public meetings will be held on Thursday, 
December 3, 2009, from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. and 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. 
at the Disputanta Community Center located at 10010-B 
County Drive, Disputanta, VA 23974. Both meetings are 
open to the public. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality and the Department of Conservation and Recreation 
are announcing a study to restore water quality for portions of 
the Blackwater River, Blackwater Swamp, tributary to 
Coppahaunk Swamp, Warwick Swamp, Second Swamp, and 
Otterdam Swamp within the City of Petersburg, and Prince 
George, Dinwiddie, Surry, and Sussex counties.  This notice 
also announces the first public meetings and a public 
comment opportunity. 

Meeting description: Overview and summary of the research 
to date of the water quality impairments of the 
recreation/swimming use for portions of the Blackwater River 
and tributaries (mentioned above), which are impaired due to 
bacterial violations. 

Description of study: Virginia agencies are working to 
identify sources of the bacterial contamination for portions of 
the Blackwater River and its tributaries. This impairement 
spans approximately 82 miles.  These waterways are impaired 
for failure to meet the recreational (swimming) designated 
use due to exceedances of the bacterial water quality 
standard. 
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Waterbody Location 
Impaired 
Length 

(mi) 
Impairment 

Blackwater 
Swamp 

Petersburg, 
Prince 

George, 
Surry, 
Sussex 

22.53 

Blackwater River Sussex, 
Surry 24.59 

Warwick Swamp 
Dinnwidde, 

Prince 
George 

12.89 

Second Swamp 
Petersburg, 

Prince 
George 

15.24 

Otterdam Swamp Surry 5.57 
Tributary to 
Coppahaunk 

Swamp 
Sussex 0.89 

Total Impairment Length 81.71 

Recreational 
Use 

(Swimming) 

The study reports on the current status of the river and its 
tributaries via sampling performed by the Virginia 
Department of Environmental Quality and the possible 
sources of bacterial contamination. The study recommends 
total maximum daily loads (TMDLs) for the above 
impairments. A TMDL is the total amount of a pollutant a 
water body can contain and still meet water quality standards. 
To restore water quality, bacteria levels have to be reduced to 
the TMDL amount. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax, or postal mail.  Written comments should include the 
name, address, and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ during the comment 
period, which expires January 1, 2010. DEQ also accepts 
written and oral comments at the public meeting announced 
in this notice. 

Contact for additional information: Margaret Smigo, TMDL 
Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, 
Piedmont Regional Office, 4949A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 
23060, telephone (804) 527-5124, FAX (804)-527-5106, or 
email margaret.smigo@deq.virginia.gov. 

Notice of Revised Water Quality Restoration Study: 
James River – City of Richmond, Tributaries in 

Richmond City, Chesterfield, Henrico, and 
Powhatan Counties, Virginia 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality is announcing a comment period for the revised final 
draft document as a result of requests by the public. As of this 
notice, November 23, 2009, DEQ will accept public 

comments on the revised draft document for 30 days that will 
expire on December 22, 2009. 

Description of study: Virginia agencies have been working to 
identify sources of the bacterial contamination in the waters 
of the James River and it's tributaries in the following 
jurisdictions: 

Stream County/City Length 
(mi.) 

Impairment 

Bernards 
Creek 

Chesterfield, 
Powhatan 

6.97 

Powhite 
Creek 

Chesterfield, 
Richmond City 

8.12 

Reedy 
Creek 

Richmond City 3.68 

James River Richmond City 2.99 
Gillies 
Creek 

Richmond City, 
Henrico 

5.79 

Almond 
Creek 

Henrico 2.26 

Goode 
Creek 

Richmond City 1.23 

Falling 
Creek 

Chesterfield 3.81 

No Name 
Creek 

Chesterfield 1.83 

James River 

Chesterfield, 
Henrico, 
Richmond City 

10.84 

Recreation 
Use 

(Swimming) 
due to 

Bacteria 

These streams are impaired due to bacterial standard 
violations and failure to meet the primary contact 
(recreational) designated use. The study describes the sources 
of bacterial contamination and recommends total maximum 
daily loads (TMDLs) for these impaired waters. A TMDL is 
the total amount of a pollutant a water body can contain and 
still meet water quality standards. To restore water quality, 
bacterial levels have to be reduced to meet Virginia's bacterial 
water quality standards. Please visit: 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl/mtgppt.html to review the 
March 10, 2009, final public meetings presentations. The 
revised draft TMDL report is available for review at 
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/TMDLDataSearch/DraftReports.jspx 

Also at this site is a "Revision Summary" document, provided 
to indicate the tables, graphs, and sections that have 
undergone significant change from the original version of the 
report.  Due to the revision and requests made during the 
most recent public comment period that ended April 10, 
2009, DEQ is holding this additional public comment 
opportunity for 30 days for the revised draft report. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax or postal mail. Written comments should include the 
name, address, and telephone number of the person 
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commenting and be received by DEQ during the comment 
period, which will end on December 22, 2009. 

Contact for additional information: Margaret Smigo, TMDL 
Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, 
Piedmont Regional Office, 4949A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 
23060, telephone (804) 527-5124, FAX (804) 527-5106, or 
email margaret.smigo@deq.virginia.gov. 

Restore Water Quality for Meherrin River 
Public meeting: December 9, 2009, at the Southside Virginia 
Community College, Workforce Development Center, Room 
108, at the corner of US Rt.1 and Rt.46, 109 Campus Drive, 
Alberta, VA 23821. An afternoon public meeting will be held 
from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality and the Department of Conservation and Recreation 
are presenting the final draft report of a study to restore water 
quality, a public comment opportunity, and a public meeting. 

Meeting description: Final public meeting on a study to 
restore water quality of the recreation/swimming use of 
portions of the Meherrin River and its tributaries to include 
Briery Branch, Genito Creek, and Great Creek that are 
impaired for the recreational use (swimming) due to 
exceedances of the bacteria water quality standard. 

Description of study: Virginia agencies have been working to 
identify sources of the bacterial contamination in portions of 
the Meherrin River and its tributaries. The bacterial 
impairements span a total of approximately 70 miles. 

Stream County Impairment 
Length (mi) Impairment 

North Meherrin 
River Lunenburg 7.55 

Meherrin River Brunswick 26.14 

Briery Branch Brunswick 3.97 
Gentio Creek Brunswick 7.89 

Great Creek Brunswick 24.34 

Total Impaired Length 69.89 

Recreational 
(swimming) 

Use 

The study reports the current status of these waterways via 
sampling performed by the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality and the possible sources of bacterial 
contamination. The study recommends total maximum daily 
loads (TMDLs) for the impaired river and creek segments. A 
TMDL is the total amount of a pollutant a water body can 
contain and still meet water quality standards. To restore 
water quality, bacterial levels have to be reduced to the 
TMDL amount.  

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax, or postal mail. Written comments should include the 
name, address, and telephone number of the person 

commenting and be received by DEQ during the comment 
period, which will expire on January 7, 2010. DEQ also 
accepts written and oral comments at the public meeting 
announced in this notice. 

Contact for additional information: Margaret Smigo, TMDL 
Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, 
Piedmont Regional Office, 4949A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 
23060, telephone (804) 527-5124, FAX (804)-527-5106, or 
email margaret.smigo@deq.virginia.gov. 

Total Maximum Daily Load for Implementation Plan 
for Middle River 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) and the 
Department of Conservation and Recreation (DCR) seek 
written and oral comments from interested persons on the 
development of a Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) 
Implementation Plan for Middle River and its tributaries in 
Augusta County. The Upper Middle River, Lower Middle 
River, Moffett Creek, and Polecat Draft were originally listed 
as impaired in the 1996 § 303d report. All streams were listed 
for violations of the water quality standard for bacteria and 
the Upper Middle River segment and Moffett Creek were 
additionally listed for the general aquatic life (benthic) 
standard.  TMDLs for bacteria were developed to address the 
bacterial impairments in all streams. A TMDL for sediment in 
Upper Middle River and Moffett Creek were developed to 
address the benthic impairments. These TMDLs were 
approved by EPA on August 10, 2004, and are available on 
DEQ's website at 
http://gisweb.deq.virginia.gov/tmdlapp/tmdl_report_search.cfm. 

Section 62.1-44.19:7 C of the Code of Virginia requires the 
development of an implementation plan (IP) for approved 
TMDLs. The IP should provide measurable goals and the date 
of expected achievement of water quality objectives.  The IP 
should also include the corrective actions needed and their 
associated costs, benefits, and environmental impacts. 

DEQ and DCR will hold a final public meeting on Thursday, 
December 10, 2009, at 7 p.m. to inform the public of the IP 
development and to solicit comments on the draft document.  
The meeting will be held in the Board Room of the Augusta 
County Government Center in Verona. 

The draft implementation plan will be available for review on 
the web no later than December 10, 2009, at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl/iprpts.html. The public 
comment period for this final public meeting will end on 
Monday, January 11, 2010. Questions or information requests 
should be addressed to Nesha McRae, DCR. Written 
comments should include the name, address, and telephone 
number of the person submitting the comments and should be 
sent to Nesha McRae, Department of Conservation and 
Recreation, 44 Sangers Lane, Suite 102, Staunton, VA 24401, 
telephone (540) 332-9238, or email 
nesha.mcrae@dcr.virginia.gov. 
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STATE LOTTERY DEPARTMENT 

Director's Orders 
The following Director's Orders of the State Lottery 
Department were filed with the Virginia Registrar of 
Regulations on November 2, 2009. The orders may be viewed 
at the State Lottery Department, 900 East Main Street, 
Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, 910 Capitol Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
Virginia. 

Final Rules for Game Operation: 

Director's Order Number Seventy-Seven (09) 

Virginia's Twenty-Second On-Line Game "Virginia's New 
Year Millionaire Raffle" (effective 10/30/09) 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

The Virginia State Plan for Family Medical Insurance 
Security (FAMIS) 

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 
(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to 
amend the Virginia State Plan for Family Medical Insurance 
Security (FAMIS), specifically, the FAMIS MOMS program 
and the FAMIS Select program. The department intends to 
implement a number of changes for these programs as 
directed by the federal authority of the Centers for Medicare 
and Medicaid Services (CMS). CMS oversees state Children's 
Health Insurance Program (CHIP) as established by § 2101 of 
the Social Security Act 42 USC § 1397aa. DMAS is renewing 
the federal waivers for these programs and anticipates 
changes based upon input from CMS. The FAMIS MOMS 
and FAMIS Select programs are authorized by CMS under a 
§ 1115(a) demonstration waiver that expires June 30, 2010. 
DMAS may request continuation and expansion of the 
demonstration beyond this date. One requirement for 
continuation is to obtain input from all interested parties 
regarding the possibility of continuation of the demonstration 
program. CMS is expected to require some changes as a 
condition of continuation of the waiver. 

FAMIS Select is an optional program available to children 
determined eligible for Family Access to Medical Insurance 
Security (FAMIS), whereby the Department of Medical 
Assistance Services (DMAS) provides premium assistance to 
the family to cover the child through a private or employer-
sponsored health plan instead of directly through the FAMIS 
program. No changes to this program are anticipated. Wrap-
around coverage will continue to be provided for 
immunizations only. 

FAMIS MOMS provides health care coverage for pregnant 
women without creditable insurance coverage in families with 
income above the Medicaid limit of 133% of the federal 

poverty level (FPL) up to and including 200% FPL. DMAS 
anticipates no change in the following policies: 

•  FAMIS MOMS will continue to provide coverage with 
federal reimbursement at the Title XXI rate for pregnant 
women without creditable insurance coverage in families 
with income above the Medicaid limit of 133% FPL up to 
and including 200% FPL. 

• FAMIS MOMS will continue to use Medicaid 
methodology for determining income eligibility. 

•  FAMIS MOMS will continue to provide benefits that are 
identical to benefits provided to pregnant women under the 
Medicaid state plan. 

DMAS anticipates the following changes to the FAMIS 
MOMS program: 

•  Applicants will be required to provide documentation of 
citizenship and identity. DMAS plans to implement this 
requirement through a separate regulatory action effective 
January 1, 2010, as mandated in Section 211 of the 
Children's Health Insurance Program Reauthorization Act 
(CHIPRA) of 2009 (Public Law 111-3). 

•  Applicants will be required to provide their Social 
Security number in order to facilitate compliance with the 
new requirement to document citizenship. 

•  Infants born to FAMIS MOMS will be deemed eligible 
for FAMIS coverage for the first year of life. 

This notice is intended to satisfy the State Notice Procedures 
set forth in Vol. 59, No. 186 of the Federal Register 
(September 27, 1994). A copy of this notice is available for 
public review from Molly Carpenter at Department of 
Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1493, FAX (804) 
225-3961, email molly.carpenter@dmas.virginia.gov and this 
notice is available for public review on the Regulatory Town 
Hall (www.townhall.com). Comments or inquiries may be 
submitted in writing within 30 days of this notice publication 
to Ms. Carpenter and such comments are available for review 
at the same address. 

Contact Information: Molly Carpenter, Maternal and Child 
Health Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
600 East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-1493, FAX (804) 225-3961. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Mailing Address: Virginia Code Commission, 910 Capitol 
Street, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219. 
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Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 
Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed 

Beginning with Volume 26, Issue 1 of the Virginia Register 
of Regulations dated September 14, 2009, the Cumulative 
Table of Virginia Administrative Code Sections Adopted, 
Amended, or Repealed will no longer be published in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. The cumulative table may 
be accessed on the Virginia Register Online webpage at 
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/cumultab.htm. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations 

Agencies are required to use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) when filing regulations for publication in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. The Office of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations implemented a web-based application 
called RIS for filing regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register. The Registrar's office has 
worked closely with the Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) to coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory 
Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one 
another by sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

The Office of the Virginia Register is working toward the 
eventual elimination of the requirement that agencies file 
print copies of regulatory packages. Until that time, agencies 
may file petitions for rulemaking, notices of intended 
regulatory actions and general notices in electronic form only; 
however, until further notice, agencies must continue to file 
print copies of proposed, final, fast-track and emergency 
regulatory packages. 

ERRATA 

VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC30-73. Access Management 
Regulations: Minor Arterials, Collectors, and Local Streets. 

Publication: 26:1 VA.R. 105-116 September 14, 2009. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Statutory Authority: change to § 33.1-198.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Agency Contact: change telephone number for Paul 
Grasewicz to (804) 786-0628 

VA.R. Doc. R09-1410 
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