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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, the Virginia Tax Bulletin issued 
periodically by the Department of Taxation, and notices of public 
hearings and open meetings of state agencies. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
Proposed regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating 
agency at any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 12 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
23:7 VA.R. 1023-1140 December 11, 2006, refers to Volume 23, Issue 
7, pages 1023 through 1140 of the Virginia Register issued on 
December 11, 2006. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: R. Steven Landes, 
Chairman; John S. Edwards, Vice Chairman; Ryan T. McDougle; 
William R. Janis; Robert L. Calhoun; Frank S. Ferguson; E.M. 
Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; James F. Almand; Jane M. 
Roush. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
June T. Chandler, Assistant Registrar. 
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

February 2010 through November 2010 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

INDEX 1 Volume 26  January 2010 

26:11 January 13, 2010 February 1, 2010 

26:12 January 27, 2010 February 15, 2010 

26:13 February 10, 2010 March 1, 2010 

26:14 February 24, 2010 March 15, 2010 

INDEX 2 Volume 26  April 2010 

26:15 March 10, 2010 March 29, 2010 

26:16 March 24, 2010 April 12, 2010 

26:17 April 7, 2010 April 26, 2010 

26:18 April 21, 2010 May 10, 2010 

26:19 May 5, 2010 May 24, 2010 

26:20 May 19, 2010 June 7, 2010 

INDEX 3 Volume 26  July 2010 

26:21 June 2, 2010 June 21, 2010 

26:22 June 16, 2010 July 5, 2010 

26:23 June 30, 2010 July 19, 2010 

26:24 July 14, 2010 August 2, 2010 

26:25 July 28, 2010 August 16, 2010 

26:26 August 11, 2010 August 30, 2010 

FINAL INDEX Volume 26  October 2010 

27:1 August 25, 2010 September 13, 2010 

27:2 September 8, 2010 September 27, 2010 

27:3 September 22, 2010 October 11, 2010 

27:4 October 6, 2010 October 25, 2010 

27:5 October 20, 2010 November 8, 2010 

27:6 November 3, 2010 November 22, 2010 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-490. Radiation Protection 
Regulations: Fee Schedule. 
Statutory Authority: § 32.1-229 of the Code of Virginia. 
Name of Petitioner: Harvey V. Lankford, M.D. 
Nature of Petitioner's Request: Request for Reducing 
Radiological Materials Licensing Fee. The petitioner requests 
that the recently adopted radiological materials fee schedules 
be reexamined and revised so as not to exceed comparable 
federal Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) fees, and that 
they be consistent with what the petitioner believes the board 
represented in regulatory promulgation documents 
(culminating in the March 2009 final regulations) to the effect 
that licensees' fees would be "significantly reduced in most 
cases" and would therefore be less than those imposed by the 
NRC. 
Agency Decision: Request granted. 

Statement of Reasons for Decision: Desire to ensure that fees 
are appropriately structured to ensure the equitable treatment 
of small businesses. 

Agency Contact: Leslie Foldesi, M.S., C.H.P., Director, 
Division of Radiological Health, Department of Health, 109 
Governor Street, Room 730, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 864-8151, FAX (804) 864-8155, or email 
les.foldesi@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-01; Filed January 6, 2010, 2:12 p.m. 

 



NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 
 

Volume 26, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations February 1, 2010 

1456 

NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Air Pollution Control 
Board intends to consider promulgating the following 
regulations: 9VAC5-530, Peak Shave Generator General 
Permit (Rev. Dg). The purpose of the proposed action is to 
develop a general permit with terms and conditions as may be 
necessary to form the legally enforceable basis for the 
implementation of all regulatory and statutory requirements 
applicable to new and existing minor source emissions units 
that participate in a voluntary demand response program (i.e., 
load curtailment, demand response, peak shaving or like 
program) as defined in § 10.1-1307.02 B 4 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 18, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Mary E. Major, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 
698-4510, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2295; Filed January 13, 2010, 11:52 a.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Air Pollution Control 
Board intends to consider promulgating the following 
regulations: 9VAC5-540, Emergency Energy Generator 
General Permit (Rev. Eg). The purpose of the proposed 
action is to develop a general permit with terms and 
conditions as may be necessary to form the legally 
enforceable basis for the implementation of all regulatory and 
statutory requirements applicable to new emissions units that 
meet the requirements of an emergency energy generation 
source as defined in § 10.1-1307.02 of the Code of Virginia. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 18, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Mary E. Major, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 
698-4510, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2296; Filed January 13, 2010, 11:56 a.m.  

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board 
intends to consider amending the following regulations: 
9VAC25-191, Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 
System (VPDES) General Permit for Concentrated 
Animal Feeding Operations. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to amend and reissue the existing general permit that 
governs the authorization to manage pollutants from 
concentrated animal feeding operations (CAFOs), as the 
current general permit expires on December 31, 2010. This 
action includes amending the general permit regulation to 
reflect changes made to the federal CAFO program in 40 
CFR Parts 9, 122, and 412 as published in the Federal 
Register Volume 73, No. 225, dated November 20, 2008, and 
adopted by the State Water Control Board on December 14, 
2009. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 62.1-44.15 and 62.1-44.17:1 of the 
Code of Virginia; 40 CFR Parts 9, 122, 123, and 412. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 3, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Betsy Bowles, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4059, FAX (804) 
698-4116, or email betsy.bowles@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2297; Filed January 13, 2010, 11:59 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given that the Department of Professional 
and Occupational Regulation has WITHDRAWN the Notice 
of Intended Regulatory Action for 18VAC120-30, 
Regulations Governing Polygraph Examiners, that was 
published in 25:9 VA.R. 1678 January 5, 2009.  

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, 
Polygraph Examiners Advisory Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-6166, 
FAX (804) 527-4401, or email polygraph@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1751; Filed January 15, 2010, 12:17 p.m.  
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Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation intends to consider amending the 
following regulations: 18VAC120-30, Regulations 
Governing Polygraph Examiners. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to conduct a review and, where necessary, 
amend the regulations to reflect statutory changes, industry 
changes (especially those that involve technological advances 
in equipment and training), and changes suggested by its 
regulants and members of the public during the Polygraph 
Examiners Advisory Board's normal course of operations. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-1802 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 3, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, 
Polygraph Examiners Advisory Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-6166, 
FAX (804) 527-4401, or email polygraph@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2217; Filed January 13, 2010, 10:29 a.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESOURCE 
MANAGEMENT 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 1VAC55-20. Commonwealth of 
Virginia Health Benefits Program (amending 1VAC55-20-
160, 1VAC55-20-320, 1VAC55-20-350). 

Statutory Authority: § 2.2-2818 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 2, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Charles Reed, Associate Director, 
Department of Human Resource Management, 101 N. 
Fourteenth St., 13th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-3124, FAX (804) 371-0231, or email 
charles.reed@dhrm.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 2.2-2818 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 
the Department of Human Resource Management (DHRM) to 
establish a plan for providing health benefits to state 
employees and their dependents. 

Purpose: The intent of this amendment is to assist employees 
in providing health coverage to Other Qualified Adults 
(OQAs) who reside in their home but are not eligible for the 
Health Benefits Plan for State Employees. These regulations 
would allow an employee to cover up to one OQA. If the 
employee covers a spouse, then the employee has met the 
adult maximum allowed by these regulations and cannot 
cover any other adults. Additionally, children of such adults 
may be covered if they meet the criteria listed under stepchild 
found in 1VAC55-20-320. 

Employees are seeing an increasing burden to provide for the 
health coverage of other adult individuals residing in their 
home, and the dependents of those other adults who otherwise 
meet eligibility requirements, but are not covered by the 
Health Benefits Plan for State Employees. 

Substance: Currently only classified employees, their spouses 
and their dependent children have access to coverage through 
the Health Benefits Plan for State Employees. The intent of 
this amendment is to assist employees in providing health 
coverage to other adults who reside in their home but are not 
eligible for the Health Benefits Plan for State Employees. The 
amendments to these regulations allow only one adult per 
dependent unit. Thus, if the employee covers a spouse, then 

the employee has met the adult maximum allowed by these 
regulations and cannot cover any other adults. 

The OQA at the time of proposed enrollment must be at least 
19 years of age and must have shared primary residency with 
the employee for the previous 12 continuous months. If the 
12-month residency requirement is broken, then a new 12-
month continuous residency requirement must be established. 
Renters, boarders, tenants, and employees of anyone who 
lives in the household are not eligible regardless of residency 
status. 

Employees will be required to complete an affidavit 
confirming eligibility of the OQA. 

Furthermore, unmarried children of an OQA living with the 
employee in a parent-child relationship will be considered 
eligible dependents as defined by this amendment. However, 
these children may not be covered as a dependent unless their 
principal place of residence is with the employee, and the 
child is a member of the employee's household. The child 
must receive over one-half of his support from the employee 
or OQA. Also, if the biological parents are divorced, the 
support test is met if a natural or adopted child receives over 
one-half of his support from either parent or the OQA or in 
any combination of parents and OQA. 

Issues: There should be no advantages or disadvantages 
imposed on the public by these amendments. 

The primary advantages for the Commonwealth are to (i) 
assist state agencies and institutions of higher learning in the 
recruitment of more qualified candidates for employment and 
(ii) ease the burden on employees who are required to provide 
for the health coverage of other adult individuals residing in 
their home. 

The primary disadvantage to these amendments is that 
including Other Qualified Adults might have an adverse 
experience impact on the plan, resulting in higher cost to 
employees and their agencies. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Department of Human Resource Management (Department) 
proposes to amend the Commonwealth of Virginia Health 
Benefits Program to allow employees to enroll up to one 
Other Qualified Adult (OQA) to receive health benefits. The 
proposed language specifies that "All costs associated with 
insuring the Other Qualified Adults, and the eligible children 
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of the Other Qualified Adults, are to be borne by the 
employee." 

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient data to accurately 
compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the costs.  
Detailed analysis of the benefits and costs can be found in the 
next section. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  

Under the proposed regulations, 

"A state employee who does not already enroll a spouse 
in the health program may enroll one (Other Qualifying 
Adult) OQA for benefit coverage if the OQA at the time 
of proposed enrollment the OQA is at least 19 years of 
age and has shared primary residence with the employee 
for the previous 12 continuous months. If the 12 month 
residency requirement is broken, then a new 12 month 
continuous residency requirement must be established." 

Further, unmarried children of an OQA living with the 
employee in a parent-child relationship may be covered as 
well under certain conditions. Unlike the spouse and children 
of the employee, "All costs associated with insuring the Other 
Qualified Adults, and the eligible children of the Other 
Qualified Adults, are to be borne by the employee." 

The current and proposed regulations authorize separate pools 
for establishing contribution rates and for accounting for 
claims and contributions for state employees and participating 
local employers. The pools are based on "geographic and 
demographic characteristics and employment relationships."  
The current regulations specify that such pools may include 
but shall not be limited to: 

1. Active state employees, including retirees under age 
65 and not eligible for Medicare; 

2. Active local employees (excluding separately rated 
employees of public school systems); 

3. Active employees of public school systems; 

4. Retired state employees over age 65 and retired state 
employees eligible for Medicare; 

5. Retired local employees (excluding separately rated 
employees of public school systems); 

6. Retired employees of public school systems; and 

7. Active employees whose employer does not sponsor a 
health insurance plan. 

The Department proposes to add an eighth pool to the list, 
"Other Qualified Adults and their children who do not also 
qualify as children of the employee." 

Since all costs associated with insuring OQAs and their 
children who do not also qualify as children of the employee 
are to be paid by the employee, the contribution rates for 
insuring these individuals is likely to be much higher than for 

spouses and children of the employee. For example, the 
current monthly premium for an employee with spouse's 
COVA Care (with basic dental) Plus One plan is $101. 
Adding in the state's contribution the monthly cost is $898.1 
The actual monthly cost charged to the employee for the 
COVA Care (with basic dental) Plus One when the one is an 
OQA would be higher than $898 since all costs are to be 
borne by the employee and the Department has additional 
implementation and on-going costs. 

The Department estimates the initial implementation costs 
would be $150,000 ($50,000 for systems and payroll changes, 
$50,000 for actuarial services, $50,000 for communications) 
and well in excess of $90,000 annually ($50,000 for systems 
and payroll changes, $30,000 for actuarial services, $10,000 
for communications, and an undetermined amount for FICA 
tax for the after tax premium). These costs would be 
distributed to the employees who are enrolling in a plan that 
covers an OQA with or without eligible children. 

Since the monthly cost will be quite high, there may not be 
many employees who elect to pay for insurance covering an 
OQA. The OQA may be better served through self insurance 
or other available insurance. Premiums at least nine times as 
high as the premiums for the existing employee plus one 
would likely only be appealing to OQAs with very high pre-
existing medical costs.  If only employees with an associated 
OQA with very high pre-existing medical costs enroll, the 
monthly costs per participant will be much higher in order for 
the insurance to be viable. There is the potential that in order 
for all costs associated with insuring the OQAs, and the 
eligible children of the OQAs, to be borne by the employee, 
the individual premium would be so high that no one would 
elect to enroll.  If this were to happen, the Commonwealth 
would be left with implementation costs uncovered by 
employee contributions. In this case, the costs of the proposed 
amendments would exceed the benefits.  If there are 
individuals who choose to enroll despite the rather high 
premiums, then the benefits can be said to exceed the costs 
since all of the Commonwealth's costs would be covered and 
some individuals will have gained health insurance that they 
and their associated employee found to be a better option than 
self insuring or other available insurance.  In other words 
some individuals would be better off while no individuals or 
entities would be worse off. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
potentially affect employees of the Commonwealth, 
employees of municipalities and school boards enrolled in the 
Local Choice Program, and health insurance firms. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 
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Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the 
use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
amendments are unlikely to significantly affect small 
businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments are unlikely to 
significantly affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect real estate development 
costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 107 
(09). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 

_____________________ 
1 Source: Department of Human Resource Management 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Department of 
Human Resource Management concurs with the economic 
impact analysis submitted by the Department of Planning and 
Budget. 

Summary: 

Currently, only classified employees, their spouses and 
dependent children have access to coverage through the 
Health Benefits Plan for State Employees. The intent of this 
amendment is to assist employees in providing health 
coverage to other adult individuals who reside in their 

home, but are not eligible for the Health Benefits Plan for 
State Employees. The amendments to these regulations 
allow only one adult per dependent unit. Thus, if the 
employee covers a spouse, the adult maximum allowed by 
these regulations has been met, and the employee cannot 
cover any other adults. 

Furthermore, unmarried children of an Other Qualified 
Adult (OQA) living with the employee in a parent-child 
relationship will be considered an eligible dependent as 
defined by this amendment. However, these children may 
not be covered as a dependent unless their principal place 
of residence is with the employee, and the child is a 
member of the employee's household. The child must 
receive over one-half of his support from the employee. 

The amendments provide that costs associated with 
insuring OQAs are to be borne by the employee. 

1VAC55-20-160. Establishing contribution rates and 
accounting for contributions and claims. 

A. The department shall establish one or more pools for 
establishing contribution rates and for accounting for claims 
and contributions for state employees and participating local 
employers. The plan for local employers shall be rated 
separately from the plan established for state employees. 
There are hereby authorized pools based on geographic and 
demographic characteristics and employment relationships. 
Such pools may include but shall not be limited to:  

1. Active state employees, including retirees under age 65 
and not eligible for Medicare;  

2. Active local employees (excluding separately rated 
employees of public school systems);  

3. Active employees of public school systems;  

4. Retired state employees over age 65 and retired state 
employees eligible for Medicare;  

5. Retired local employees (excluding separately rated 
employees of public school systems);  

6. Retired employees of public school systems; and  

7. Active employees whose employer does not sponsor a 
health insurance plan. ; and 

8. Other Qualified Adults and their children who do not 
also qualify as children of the employee. 

Participating employers shall make applicable contributions 
to the employee health insurance fund.  

B. Such contributions may take into account the 
characteristics of the group, such as the demographics of 
employees, inclusive of age, sex and dependent status of the 
employees of an employer; the geographic location of the 
employer or employees; claims experience of the employer; 
and the pool of the employers (for example, see subdivisions 
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1 through 6 of 1VAC55-20-160 A). Additionally, any such 
contributions may further be determined by spreading large 
losses, as determined by the department, across pools. 
Further, the department reserves the right to recognize, in its 
sole discretion, the claims experience of groups of sufficient 
size, regardless of their pool, where future claim levels can be 
predicted with an acceptable degree of credibility. The 
application of this rule by the department shall be exercised in 
a uniform and consistent manner.  

C. The contribution rate in the aggregate will be composed 
of two factors; first, the current contribution and second, the 
amortization of experience adjustments. The current 
contributions will reflect the anticipated incurred claims and 
administrative expenses for the period; an experience 
adjustment will reflect gains and losses determined in 
accordance with an actuarial estimate. An experience 
adjustment will be part of the contributions for the succeeding 
year; however, the department may authorize the amortization 
of the experience adjustment for a period not to exceed three 
years.  

D. The department will notify a terminating local employer 
of any adverse experience adjustment within six-calendar 
months of the time the local employer terminates 
participation in the program. Further the department reserves 
the right to modify the amount of the experience adjustment 
applicable to a terminating local employer for a period not to 
exceed 12 months from the end of the plan year in which such 
termination occurred. The experience adjustment shall be 
payable by the local employer in 12 equal monthly 
installments beginning 30 days after the date of notification 
by the department. In the event that a terminating local 
employer requests in writing an extension beyond a period of 
12 months, the department may approve an extension up to 
36 months provided the local employer agrees to pay interest 
at the statutory rate on any extended payments.  

E. All costs associated with insuring the Other Qualified 
Adults, and the eligible children of the Other Qualified 
Adults, are to be borne by the employee. 

Part IV  
Employee Participation  

1VAC55-20-320. Eligible employees. 

A. State employees.  

1. Full-time salaried, classified employees and faculty as 
defined in 1VAC55-20-20 are eligible for membership in 
the health benefits program. A full-time salaried employee 
is one who is scheduled to work at least 32 hours per week 
or carries a faculty teaching load considered to be full time 
at his institution.  

2. Certain full-time employees in auxiliary enterprises 
(such as food services, bookstores, laundry services, etc.) 
at the University of Virginia, Virginia Military Institute 

and the College of William and Mary as well as other state 
institutions of higher learning are also considered state 
employees even though they do not receive a salaried state 
paycheck. The Athletic Department of Virginia 
Polytechnic Institute and State University is an example of 
a local auxiliary whose members are eligible for the 
program.  

3. Certain full-time employees of the Medical College of 
Virginia Hospital Authority are eligible for the program as 
long as they are on the authority's payroll and were 
enrolled in the program on November 1, 1996. They may 
have payroll deductions for health benefits premiums even 
if they rotate to the Veterans' Administration Hospital or 
other acute care facility.  

4. Other employees identified in the Code of Virginia as 
eligible for the program.  

5. Classified positions include employees who are fully 
covered by the Virginia Personnel Act, employees 
excluded from the Virginia Personnel Act by subdivision 
16 of § 2.2-2905 of the Code of Virginia, and employees 
on a restricted appointment. A restricted appointment is a 
classified appointment to a position that is funded at least 
10% from gifts, grants, donations, or other sources that are 
not identifiable as continuing in nature. An employee on a 
restricted appointment must receive a state paycheck in 
order to be eligible.  

B. Local employees.  

1. Full-time employees of participating local employers are 
eligible to participate in the program. A full-time employee 
is one who meets the definition set forth by the local 
employer in the employer application.  

2. Part-time employees of local employers may participate 
in the plan if the local employer elects and the election 
does not discriminate among part-time employees. In order 
for the local employer to cover part-time employees, the 
local employer must provide to the department a definition 
of what constitutes a part-time employee.  

The department reserves the right to establish a separate 
plan for part-time employees.  

C. Unavailability of employer-sponsored coverage.  

1. Employees, officers, and teachers without access to 
employer-sponsored health care coverage may participate 
in the plan. The employers of such employees, officers, 
and teachers must apply for participation and certify that 
other employer-sponsored health care coverage is not 
available. The employers shall collect contributions from 
such individuals and timely remit them to the department 
or its designee, act as a channel of communication with the 
covered employee and otherwise assist the department as 
may be necessary. The employer shall act as fiduciary with 
respect to such contributions and shall be responsible for 
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any interest or other charges imposed by the department in 
accordance with these regulations.  

2. Local employees living outside the service area of the 
plan offered by their local employer shall not be 
considered as local employees whose local employers do 
not offer a health benefits plan. For example, a local 
employee who lives in North Carolina and works in 
Virginia may live outside the service area of the HMO 
offered by his employer; however, he may not join the 
program individually.  

3. Employer sponsorship of a health benefits plan will be 
broadly construed. For example, an employer will be 
deemed to sponsor health care coverage for purposes of 
this section and 1VAC55-20-260 if it utilizes § 125 of the 
Internal Revenue Code or any similar provision to allow 
employees, officers, or teachers to contribute their portion 
of the health care contribution on a pretax basis.  

4. Individual employees and dependents who are eligible to 
join the program under the provisions of this subsection 
must meet all of the eligibility requirements pertaining to 
state employees except the identity of the employer.  

D. Retirees.  

1. Retirees are not eligible to enroll in the state retiree 
health benefits group outside of the opportunities provided 
in this section.  

2. Retirees are eligible for membership in the state retiree 
group if a completed enrollment form is received within 31 
days of separation for retirement. Retirees who remain in 
the health benefits group through a spouse's state employee 
membership may enroll in the retiree group at one of three 
later times: (i) future open enrollment, (ii) within 31 days 
of a qualifying mid-year event, or (iii) within 31 days of 
being removed from the active state employee spouse's 
membership.  

3. Membership in the retiree group may be provided to an 
employee's spouse or dependents who were covered in the 
active employee group at the time of the employee's death 
in service.  

4. Retirees who have attained the age of 65 or are 
otherwise covered or eligible for Medicare may enroll in 
certain plans as determined by the department provided 
that they apply for such coverage within 31 days of their 
separation from active service for retirement. Medicare 
will be the primary payor and the program shall serve as a 
supplement to Medicare's coverage.  

5. Retirees who are ineligible for Medicare must apply for 
coverage within 31 days of their separation from active 
service for retirement. In order to receive coverage, the 
individual must meet the retirement requirements of his 
employer and receive an immediate annuity.  

6. Local employers may offer retiree coverage at their 
option.  

E. Dependents.  

1. The following family individual members may be 
covered if the employee elects:  

a. The employee's spouse. The marriage must be 
recognized as legal in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

b. Other Qualifying Adults (OQA). A state employee 
who does not already enroll a spouse in the health 
program may enroll one OQA for benefit coverage if the 
OQA at the time of proposed enrollment the OQA is at 
least 19 years of age and has shared primary residence 
with the employee for the previous 12 continuous 
months. If the 12-month residency requirement is broken, 
then a new 12-month continuous residency requirement 
must be established. 

Employees will be required to complete an annual 
affidavit confirming eligibility of the OQA and to submit 
appropriate documentation. 

b. c. Children. Under the health benefits program, the 
following eligible children may be covered to the end of 
the year in which they turn age 23 regardless of student 
status (age requirement is waived for adult incapacitated 
children), if the child lives at home or is away at school, 
is not married and receives over one-half of his support 
from the employee, spouse or OQA.  

(1) Natural and adopted children. In the case of natural or 
adopted children, living at home may mean living with 
the other parent if the employee is divorced.  

Also, if the biological parents are divorced, the support 
test is met if a natural or adopted child receives over one-
half of his support from either parent or a combination of 
support from both parents. However, in order for the 
noncustodial parent to cover the child, the noncustodial 
parent must be entitled to claim the child as a dependent 
on his federal income tax return, or the custodial parent 
must sign a written declaration that he will not claim the 
child as a dependent on his federal income tax return 
OQA, or in any combination of parents and OQA.  

(2) Stepchildren. Unmarried stepchildren living with the 
employee in a parent-child relationship. However, 
stepchildren may not be covered as a dependent unless 
their principal place of residence is with the employee 
and the child is a member of the employee's household. 
A stepchild must receive over one-half of his support 
from the employee.  

(3) Unmarried children of an OQA living with the 
employee in a parent-child relationship. However, these 
children may not be covered as a dependent unless their 
principal place of residence is with the employee and the 
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child is a member of the employee's household. The child 
must receive over one-half of his support from the 
employee or OQA. 

(3) (4) Incapacitated children. Adult children who are 
incapacitated due to a physical or mental health 
condition, as long as the child was covered by the plan 
and the incapacitation existed prior to the termination of 
coverage due to the child attaining the limiting age. The 
employee must make written application, along with 
proof of incapacitation, prior to the child reaching the 
limiting age. Such extension of coverage must be 
approved by the plan and is subject to periodic review. 
Should the plan find that the child no longer meets the 
criteria for coverage as an incapacitated child, the child's 
coverage will be terminated at the end of the month 
following notification from the plan to the enrollee. 
Eligibility rules require that the incapacitated dependent 
live at home, is not married, and receives over one-half 
of his support from the employee or OQA. 

Adult incapacitated children of new employees may also 
be covered, provided that:  

(a) The enrollment form is submitted within 31 days of 
hire;  

(b) The child has been covered continuously by group 
employer coverage since the disability first occurred; and  

(c) The disability commenced prior to the child attaining 
the limiting age of the plan.  

The enrollment form must be accompanied by a letter 
from a physician explaining the nature of the 
incapacitation, date of onset and certifying that the 
dependent is not capable of self-support. This extension 
of coverage must be approved by the plan in which the 
employee is enrolled.  

(4) (5) Other children. A child in which a court has 
ordered the employee to assume sole permanent custody. 
The principal place of residence must be with the 
employee, and the child must a member of the 
employee's household.  

Additionally, if the employee or spouse or OQA shares 
custody with the minor child who is the parent of the 
"other child," then the other child may be covered. The 
other child, the parent of the other child, and the spouse 
or OQA who has custody must be living in the same 
household as the employee.  

When a child loses eligibility, coverage terminates at the 
end of the month in which the event that causes the loss 
of eligibility occurs.  

There are certain categories of persons who may not be 
covered as dependents under the program. These include 
dependent siblings, grandchildren, nieces, and nephews 

except where the criteria for "other children" are satisfied. 
Parents, grandparents, aunts and uncles are not eligible for 
coverage regardless of dependency status.  

Renters, boarders, tenants, and employees of anyone who 
lives in the household are not eligible regardless of residency 
status. 

1VAC55-20-350. Membership. 

A. Type of membership. Participants have a choice of three 
six types of membership under the program:  

1. Single (employee only). If a participant chooses 
employee only membership, the health benefits program 
does not cover the employee's dependents (spouse, OQA, 
or children). A woman with single membership under the 
program does have maternity coverage. However, the 
newborn child is covered only for routine hospital nursery 
care, unless the mother changes to dual or family 
membership within 31 days of the date of birth.  

2. Single Plus (employee and Other Qualifying Adult). 

3. Dual (employee and one eligible dependent).  

4. Dual Plus (employee and one eligible dependent child 
and Other Qualifying Adult). 

3. 5. Family membership (employee and two or more 
eligible dependents).  

6. Family Plus (employee and two or more eligible 
dependents and Other Qualifying Adult). 

B. Changing type of membership.  

1. Employees may change membership subject to 
1VAC55-20-370.  

a. During open enrollment.  

b. Within 31 days of a qualifying mid-year event. Any 
such change in membership must be on account of and 
consistent with the event.  

c. Within 31 days of a cost and coverage change, as 
acknowledged by the department.  

2. All changes in membership must be made on a 
prospective basis except for the birth, adoption or 
placement for adoption of a child.  

3. If the change is from single to dual or family 
membership or vice versa because of a qualifying mid-year 
event, the employee must certify in the enrollment action 
the type of event and the date of the event.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2223; Filed January 13, 2010, 8:37 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

STATE MILK COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Milk Commission is 
claiming an exemption from Article 2 (§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of 
the Administrative Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4007.2 of 
the Code of Virginia. Section 2.2-4007.2 provides that if an 
agency chooses to amend a regulation to provide the 
alternative of submitting required documents or payments by 
electronic means, such action shall be exempt from the 
operation of Article 2 provided the amended regulation is (i) 
adopted by December 31, 2010, and (ii) consistent with 
federal and state law and regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC15-20. Regulations for the 
Control and Supervision of Virginia's Milk Industry 
(amending 2VAC15-20-90). 

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-3204 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 9, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Rodney L. Phillips, Administrator, 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Oliver 
Hill Building, 102 Governor Street, Room 205, Richmond, 
VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-2013, FAX (804) 786-3779, 
or email rodney.phillips@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This amendment permits the filing of documents required 
by the regulation in an electronic format specified by the 
Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services.  

2VAC15-20-90. Records and reports.  

A. Each distributor shall accurately prepare and maintain all 
records necessary to enable the agency or its representative to 
determine:  

1. The amount, source, grade, butterfat test and price paid 
for all milk and cream received from all sources. These 
records must show daily transactions, summarized into 
monthly totals.  

2. The use or disposition of all milk and cream received 
from all sources. These records must show retail, 
wholesale and other sales by units and the value received 
for each group of units shown as daily transactions, 
summarized into monthly totals.  

3. The butterfat tests of each producer's milk made 
according to this chapter, the date such tests were made 
and the butterfat test of each commodity sold.  

B. Not later than the seventh day of each month all 
licensees, except retail distributors, shall furnish the agency 
with information which specifies all receipts and utilization of 

milk, along with other information as may be required by the 
agency. This information may be filed with the agency in any 
of the following approved formats:  

1. Agency forms;  

2. Federal reports;  

3. Licensee generated printouts or reports; and or 

4. Computer media (only if the data furnished is 
compatible with agency hardware and software 
configurations) An electronic format specified by the 
Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services (VDACS), including, but not limited to, electronic 
mail or by completing any forms provided online by 
VDACS. 

Additionally, this information must be transmitted to the 
agency in an agency approved manner in order to meet 
established deadlines. This information must be compiled 
from records of a permanent nature and these records shall be 
subject to audit and inspection by any authorized 
representative of the approving authority. Not later than the 
12th day of each month the agency shall inform each 
processing general distributor of the classified sales allocated 
to each producer or cooperative association for the previous 
month.  

C. Each processing general distributor, producer general 
distributor and distributor shall document in detail each 
wholesale transaction either in written or electronic form. 
This documentation shall be maintained for at least six 
calendar months, or until audited, and be subject to inspection 
by any authorized representative of the agency.  

D. All books and records, defined under Chapter 32 (§ 3.2-
3200 et seq.) of Title 3.2 of the Code of Virginia, of all 
licensed distributors, except retail, producers and cooperative 
associations of producers shall be subject to audit by any 
authorized representative of the agency.  

E. Information relating to individual distributors, producers 
or cooperative associations of producers shall be confidential.  

F. Cooperative associations shall file with the agency a 
monthly statement. This statement, to be filed not later than 
the eighth of the subsequent month, shall list the name, base 
allotment, and production of each of the cooperative 
associations associations' baseholding producer members.  

G. Cooperative associations shall file with the agency by the 
seventh of the month a statement which indicates total daily 
deliveries by day made to licensed processing general 
distributors for deliveries made in the preceding month.  

H. Cooperative associations shall furnish the agency not 
later than the last day of each month a copy of all billings for 
milk deliveries to licensed processing general distributors 
made in the prior month.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2051; Filed January 5, 2010, 3:46 p.m.  
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TITLE 3. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 3VAC5-20. Advertising (amending 
3VAC5-20-10, 3VAC5-20-20, 3VAC5-20-30, 3VAC5-20-
40, 3VAC5-20-60, 3VAC5-20-90, 3VAC5-20-100; 
repealing 3VAC5-20-50, 3VAC5-20-70, 3VAC5-20-80). 

3VAC5-30. Tied-House (amending 3VAC5-30-10, 3VAC5-
30-20, 3VAC5-30-60; adding 3VAC5-30-80). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-111 and 4.1-320 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 5, 2010.  

Agency Contact: Jeffrey L. Painter, Legislative and 
Regulatory Coordinator, Department of Alcoholic Beverage 
Control, P.O. Box 27491, Richmond, VA 23261, telephone 
(804) 213-4621, FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, 
or email jeffrey.painter@abc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This action amends the regulations governing the 
advertising of alcoholic beverages and the tied-house 
regulations to maintain a reasonable separation between 
manufacturing and wholesaling interests and retailers of 
alcoholic beverages. Several outdated advertising 
regulations are repealed and others are amended to 
conform to statutory changes or modernize them. Both 
3VAC5-20 and 3VAC5-30 are reorganized and certain 
provisions dealing with limitations on the provision of 
advertising materials by manufacturers or wholesalers to 
retailers are now in 3VAC5-30 dealing with tied-house 
restrictions. 

Since the proposed stage, the proposed amendments to 
3VAC5-20-100 and 3VAC5-30-30 have been withdrawn. 
Textual changes made to the regulations are as follows: 

1. At the proposed stage, 3VAC5-20-20 prohibited retail 
licensees from using illuminated advertising materials 
within their establishments. The final version contains an 
exemption for back bar pedestals upon which spirits 
advertising appears. 

2. 3VAC5-20-30, as proposed, prohibited any advertising 
of "Happy Hour" promotions on exterior signs at retail 
premises. The final version authorizes restaurants to post 
one two-dimensional sign, not to exceed 17" by 22", 
containing the terms "Happy Hour" or "Drink Specials" 
and the hours during which reduced drink prices are 
charged.  

3. The proposed amendments to 3VAC5-20-60 would have 
allowed manufacturers, wholesalers, or their authorized 
representatives conducting consumer tasting events to give 
novelty and specialty advertising items to each consumer 
participating in the tasting. The final version eliminates the 
ability of wholesalers to provide such items to consumers 
at tastings.  

4. The proposed version of 3VAC5-20-90 allowed coupons 
for alcoholic beverages to be distributed over the internet. 
The final version adds electronic mail as an authorized 
means of coupon distribution.  

5. The proposed version of 3VAC5-30-60 would have 
allowed manufacturers or wholesalers of wine or beer to 
sell logoed wine glasses to banquet licensees. The revised 
final section would extend the privilege to allow all 
alcoholic beverage manufacturers, their authorized 
vendors, or wholesalers to sell glasses upon which 
advertising material may appear to banquet licensees. 

6. The proposed version of 3VAC5-30-80 B provided that 
"manufacturers, bottlers, and wholesalers of alcoholic 
beverages" may provide certain advertising materials to 
retailers. The final version adds "authorized vendors" of 
manufacturers to the list of authorized providers.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

3VAC5-20-10. Advertising; generally; cooperative 
advertising; federal laws; cider; restrictions. 

A. All alcoholic beverage advertising is permitted in this 
Commonwealth except that which is prohibited or otherwise 
limited or restricted by regulation of the board and such 
advertising shall not be blatant or obtrusive. Any editorial or 
other reading matter in any periodical, publication or 
newspaper for the publication of which no money or other 
valuable consideration is paid or promised, directly or 
indirectly, by or for the benefits of any permittee or licensee 
does not constitute advertising.  

B. There shall be no cooperative advertising as between a 
producer, manufacturer, bottler, importer or wholesaler and a 
retailer of alcoholic beverages, except as may be authorized 
by regulation pursuant to § 4.1-216 of the Code of Virginia. 
The term "cooperative advertising" shall mean the payment or 
credit, directly or indirectly, by any manufacturer, bottler, 
importer or wholesaler whether licensed in this 
Commonwealth or not to a retailer for all or any portion of 
advertising done by the retailer.  

C. B. Advertising of cider, as defined in § 4.1-213 of the 
Code of Virginia, shall conform with to the requirements for 
advertising beer.  
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D. C. The board may issue a permit authorizing a variance 
from any of its advertising regulations for good cause shown.  

E. D. No advertising shall contain any statement, symbol, 
depiction or reference that:  

1. Would tend to induce minors to drink, or would tend to 
induce persons to consume to excess;  

2. Is lewd, obscene or indecent or is suggestive of any 
illegal activity;  

3. Incorporates the use of any present or former athlete or 
athletic team or implies that the product enhances athletic 
prowess; except that, persons granted a license to sell wine 
or beer may display within their licensed premises point-
of-sale advertising materials that incorporate the use of any 
professional athlete or athletic team, provided that such 
advertising materials: (i) otherwise comply with the 
applicable regulations of the Federal Bureau of Alcohol, 
Tobacco and Firearms and (ii) do not depict any athlete 
consuming or about to consume alcohol prior to or while 
engaged in an athletic activity, do not depict an athlete 
consuming alcohol while the athlete is operating or about 
to operate a motor vehicle or other machinery, and do not 
imply that the alcoholic beverage so advertised enhances 
athletic prowess;  

4. Is false or misleading in any material respect, or implies 
that the product has a curative or therapeutic effect, or is 
disparaging of a competitor's product;  

5. Implies or indicates, directly or indirectly, that the 
product is government endorsed by the use of flags, seals 
or other insignia or otherwise;  

6. Makes any reference to the intoxicating effect of any 
alcoholic beverages;  

7. Constitutes or contains a contest or sweepstakes where a 
purchase is required for participation; or  

8. Constitutes or contains an offer to pay or provide 
anything of value conditioned on the purchase of alcoholic 
beverages, except for refund coupons and combination 
packaging for wine. Any such combination packaging shall 
be limited to packaging provided by the manufacturer that 
is designed to be delivered intact to the consumer.  

F. E. The board shall not regulate advertising of 
nonalcoholic beer or nonalcoholic wine so long as (i) a 
reasonable person by common observation would conclude 
that the advertising clearly does not represent any 
advertisement for alcoholic beverages and (ii) the advertising 
prominently states that the product is nonalcoholic.  

3VAC5-20-20. Advertising; interior; retail licensees. 

A. As used in this section, the term "advertising materials" 
means any tangible property of any kind which utilizes words 
or symbols making reference to any brand or manufacturer of 

alcoholic beverages; except when used in the advertisement 
of nonalcoholic beer or nonalcoholic wine in accordance with 
3VAC5-20-10 F E.  

B. The use of advertising materials inside licensed retail 
establishments shall be subject to the following provisions:  

1. B. Retail licensees may use any nonpermanent 
[ nonilluminated ] advertising material which is neither 
designed as, nor functions as, permanent point-of-sale 
advertising material including, but not limited to, 
nonmechanical advertising material consisting of printed 
matter appearing on paper, cardboard, canvas or plastic stock; 
however, canvas advertising materials shall be restricted to 
fabric banners containing only two-dimensional display 
surfaces and plastic advertising materials shall be restricted to 
(i) thin sheets or strips containing only two-dimensional 
display surfaces or (ii) any inflatable plastic items not in 
excess of $5.00 in wholesale value. Such advertising 
materials may be obtained by such retailers from any source, 
including manufacturers, bottlers and wholesalers of alcoholic 
beverages who may sell, lend, buy for or give to such retailers 
such advertising materials; provided, however, that 
nonpermanent advertising material referring to any brand or 
manufacturer of spirits may only be provided to mixed 
beverage licensees and may not be provided by beer and wine 
wholesalers, or their employees, unless they hold a spirits 
solicitor's permit; materials having a wholesale value of not 
more than $250 per item that comply with 3VAC5-20-10 
inside licensed retail establishments. [ Advertising materials 
may not be illuminated, except for back bar pedestals upon 
which advertising matter regarding spirits may appear. ]  

2. Retail on-premises and on-and-off-premises licensees 
may use any mechanical or illuminated devices which are 
designed or manufactured to serve as permanent point-of-
sale advertising. Such advertising devices may be obtained 
and displayed by retailers provided that any such devices 
do not make reference to brands of alcoholic beverages 
offered for sale in such retail establishment or to brands or 
the name of any manufacturer whose alcoholic beverage 
products are offered for sale in such retail establishment 
and, provided further, that such advertising materials are 
not supplied, installed, maintained or otherwise serviced by 
any manufacturers, bottlers or wholesalers of alcoholic 
beverages, and that no such advertising relating to spirits 
shall be authorized in an establishment not licensed to sell 
mixed beverages;  

3. Notwithstanding subdivision B 2, retail licensees may 
display any permanent point-of-sale advertising pertaining 
to nonalcoholic beer or nonalcoholic wine. Any such brand 
of nonalcoholic beer or nonalcoholic wine may be offered 
for sale in the retail establishment. Such permanent point-
of-sale advertising may not be supplied, installed, 
maintained or otherwise serviced by any manufacturer, 
bottler or wholesaler of alcoholic beverages;  
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4. Advertising materials described in the following 
categories may be displayed inside a retail establishment 
by a retail licensee provided that any conditions or 
limitations stated in regard to a given category of 
advertising materials are observed:  

a. Advertising materials, including those promoting 
responsible drinking or moderation in drinking, 
consisting of printed matter appearing on paper, 
cardboard, canvas or plastic stock supplied by any 
manufacturer, bottler or wholesaler of alcoholic 
beverages in accordance with this section provided, 
however, that nonpermanent advertising materials 
referring to any brand or manufacturer of spirits may 
only be provided to mixed beverage licensees and may 
not be provided by beer and wine wholesalers or their 
employees unless they hold a spirits solicitor's permit;  

b. Works of art so long as they are not supplied by 
manufacturers, bottlers or wholesalers of alcoholic 
beverages;  

c. Materials displayed in connection with the sale of 
over-the-counter novelty and specialty items in 
accordance with 3VAC5-20-60;  

d. Materials used in connection with the sponsorship of 
public events shall be limited to sponsorship of 
conservation and environmental programs, professional, 
semiprofessional or amateur athletic and sporting events, 
and events of a charitable or cultural nature by 
distilleries, wineries and breweries, subject to 3VAC5-
20-100 B;  

e. Service items such as placemats, coasters and glasses 
so long as they are not supplied by manufacturers, 
bottlers or wholesalers of alcoholic beverages; however, 
manufacturers, bottlers or wholesalers may supply to 
retailers napkins, placemats and coasters which contain 
(i) a reference to the name of a brand of nonalcoholic 
beer or nonalcoholic wine as permitted under 3VAC5-
20-10 F, or (ii) a message relating solely to and 
promoting moderation and responsible drinking, which 
message may contain the name, logo and address of the 
sponsoring manufacturer, bottler or wholesaler, provided 
such recognition is subordinate to the message, occupies 
no more than 10% of the space, and contains no 
reference to or pictures of the sponsor's brand or brands;  

f. Draft beer and wine knobs, spirits back-bar pedestals, 
bottle or can openers, beer, wine and spirits clip-ons and 
table tents, subject to 3VAC5-30-60;  

g. Beer and wine "neckers," recipe booklets, brochures 
relating to the wine manufacturing process, vineyard 
geography and history of a wine manufacturing area; and 
point-of-sale entry blanks relating to contests and 
sweepstakes may be provided by beer and wine 
wholesalers to retail licensees for use on retail premises, 

if such items are offered to all retail licensees equally, 
and the wholesaler has obtained the consent, which may 
be a continuing consent, of each retailer or his 
representative. Wholesale licensees in the 
Commonwealth may not put entry blanks on the package; 
and  

h. Refund coupons, if they are supplied, displayed and 
used in accordance with 3VAC5-20-90.  

C. No manufacturer, bottler, wholesaler or importer of 
alcoholic beverages, whether licensed in this Commonwealth 
or not, may directly or indirectly sell, rent, lend, buy for, or 
give to any retailer any advertising materials, decorations or 
furnishings under any circumstances otherwise prohibited by 
law, nor may any retailer induce, attempt to induce, or 
consent to any such supplier of alcoholic beverages 
furnishing such retailer any such advertising.  

D. Any advertising materials provided for herein, which 
may have been obtained by any retail licensee from any 
manufacturer, bottler or wholesaler of alcoholic beverages, 
may be installed in the interior of the licensed establishment 
by any such manufacturer, bottler or wholesaler using any 
normal and customary installation materials, provided no 
such materials are installed or displayed in exterior windows 
or within the interior of the retail establishment in such a 
manner that such advertising materials may be viewed from 
the exterior of the retail premises. With the consent of the 
retail licensee, which consent may be a continuing consent, 
wholesalers may mark or affix retail prices on these materials.  

E. Every retail licensee who, pursuant to subdivisions B 2 or 
B 3, obtains any permanent point-of-sale advertising shall 
keep a complete, accurate and separate record of all such 
material obtained. Such records shall show: (i) the name and 
address of the person from whom obtained; (ii) the date 
furnished; (iii) the item furnished; and (iv) the price charged 
therefor. All such records, invoices and accounts shall be kept 
by each such licensee at the place designated in the license for 
a period of two years and shall be available for inspection and 
copying by any member of the board or its special agents 
during reasonable hours.  

3VAC5-20-30. Advertising; exterior; signs; vehicles; 
uniforms. 

Outdoor alcoholic beverage advertising shall comply with 
3VAC5-20-10, be limited to signs and is otherwise 
discretionary, except as follows:  

1. Manufacturers and wholesalers, including wineries and 
farm wineries:  

a. No more than one sign upon the licensed premises, no 
portion of which may be higher than 30 feet above 
ground level on a wholesaler's premises;  

b. No more than two signs, which must be directional in 
nature, not farther than ½ 1/2 mile from the licensed 
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establishment limited in dimension to 64 square feet with 
advertising limited to brand names;  

c. If the establishment is a winery also holding a retail 
off-premises winery license or is a farm winery, 
additional directional signs with advertising limited to 
trade names, brand names, the terms "farm winery" or 
"winery," and tour information, may be erected in 
accordance with state and local rules, regulations and 
ordinances; and  

d. Only on vehicles and uniforms of persons employed 
exclusively in the business of a manufacturer or 
wholesaler, which shall include any antique vehicles 
bearing original or restored alcoholic beverage 
advertising used for promotional purposes. Additionally, 
any person whether licensed in this Commonwealth or 
not, may use and display antique vehicles bearing 
original or restored alcoholic beverage advertising.  

2. Retailers, including mixed beverage licensees, other than 
carriers and clubs:  

a. No more than two signs at the establishment and, in 
the case of establishments at intersections, three signs, 
the advertising on which, including symbols approved by 
the United States Department of Transportation relating 
to alcoholic beverages, shall be limited to 12 inches in 
height or width and not animated and, in the case of signs 
remote from the premises, subordinate to the main theme 
and substantially in conformance with the size and 
content of advertisements of other services offered at the 
establishment; and  

b. Limited only to words and terms appearing on the face 
of the license describing the privileges of the license and, 
where applicable: "Mixed Drinks," "Mixed Beverages," 
"Cocktails," "Exotic Drinks," "Polynesian Drinks," 
"Cocktail Lounge," "Liquor," "Spirits," and not including 
Signs may not include any reference to or depiction of 
"Bar Room," "Saloon," "Speakeasy," "Happy Hour," or 
references or depictions of similar import, nor to prices 
of alcoholic beverages, including references to "special" 
or "reduced" prices or similar terms when used as 
inducements to purchase or consume alcoholic beverages 
[ , except that, notwithstanding the provisions of 3VAC5-
50-160 B 8, a retail licensee may post one two-
dimensional sign not exceeding 17" x 22", attached to the 
exterior of the licensed premises, limited in content to the 
terms "Happy Hour" or "Drink Specials" and the time 
period within which alcoholic beverages are being sold at 
reduced prices ] Notwithstanding the above, the terms 
"Bar," "Bar Room," "Saloon," and "Speakeasy" may be 
used in combination with other words that connote a 
restaurant as part of the retail licensee's trade name; and  

c. No advertising of alcoholic beverages may be 
displayed in exterior windows or within the interior of 

the retail establishment in such a manner that such 
advertising materials may be viewed from the exterior of 
the retail premises, except on table menus or newspaper 
tear sheets.  

3. Manufacturers, wholesalers and retailers may engage in 
billboard advertising within stadia, coliseums or racetracks 
that are used primarily for professional or semiprofessional 
athletic or sporting events.  

3VAC5-20-40. Advertising; newspaper, magazines, radio, 
television, trade publications, etc print and electronic 
media. 

A. Beer, wine and mixed Alcoholic beverage advertising in 
the print or electronic media is permitted with the following 
exceptions requirements and conditions:  

1. All references to mixed beverages are prohibited except 
the following: "Mixed Drinks," "Mixed Beverages," 
"Exotic Drinks," "Polynesian Drinks," "Cocktails," 
"Cocktail Lounges," "Liquor" and "Spirits";  

2. The following terms or depictions thereof are prohibited 
unless they are used in combination with other words that 
connote a restaurant and they are part of the licensee's 
trade name: "Bar," "Bar Room," "Saloon," "Speakeasy," or 
references or depictions of similar import; and  

3. Any references to "Happy Hour" or similar terms are 
prohibited.  

B. Further requirements and conditions are as follows:  

1. All alcoholic beverage advertising shall include the 
name and address (street address optional) of the 
responsible advertiser;. 

2. Advertising placed by a manufacturer, bottler or 
wholesaler in trade publications of associations of retail 
licensees or college publications shall not constitute 
cooperative advertising;  

3. 2. Advertisements of beer, wine and mixed alcoholic 
beverages are not allowed in college student publications 
unless in reference to a dining establishment, except as 
provided below. A "college student publication" is defined 
as any college or university publication that is prepared, 
edited or published primarily by students at such 
institution, is sanctioned as a curricular or extra-curricular 
activity by such institution and which is distributed or 
intended to be distributed primarily to persons under 21 
years of age.  

Advertising of beer, wine and mixed beverages by a dining 
establishment in college student publications shall not 
contain any reference to particular brands or prices and 
shall be limited only to the use of the following words: 
"A.B.C. on-premises," "beer," "wine," "mixed beverages," 
"cocktails," or any combination of these words; and  
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4. 3. Advertisements of beer, wine and mixed alcoholic 
beverages are prohibited in publications not of general 
circulation which are distributed or intended to be 
distributed primarily to persons under 21 years of age, 
except in reference to a dining establishment as provided in 
subdivision 3; notwithstanding the above mentioned 
provisions, all advertisements of beer, wine and mixed 
alcoholic beverages are prohibited in publications 
distributed or intended to be distributed primarily to a high 
school or younger age level.  

5. 4. Notwithstanding the provisions of this or any other 
regulation of the board pertaining to advertising, a 
manufacturer, bottler or wholesaler of alcoholic beverages 
may place an advertisement in a college student 
publication which is distributed or intended to be 
distributed primarily to persons over 18 and under 21 years 
of age which has a message relating solely to and 
promoting public health, safety and welfare, including, but 
not limited to, moderation and responsible drinking 
messages, anti-drug use messages and driving under the 
influence warnings. Such advertisement may contain the 
name, logo and address of the sponsoring industry 
member, provided such recognition is at the bottom of and 
subordinate to the message, occupies no more than 10% of 
the advertising space, and contains no reference to or 
pictures of the sponsor's brand or brands, mixed drinks, or 
exterior signs product. Any public service advertisement 
involving alcoholic beverages shall contain a statement 
specifying the legal drinking age in the Commonwealth.  

B. As used in the section, "electronic media" shall mean any 
system involving the transfer of signs, signals, writing, 
images, sounds, data, or intelligence of any nature transmitted 
in whole or in part by a wire, radio, television, 
electromagnetic, photo-electronic, or photo-optical system, 
including, but not limited to, radio, television, electronic mail, 
and the Internet. 

3VAC5-20-50. Advertising; newspapers and magazines; 
programs; spirits. (Repealed.) 

A. Except as provided in subsection B, alcoholic beverage 
advertising of products greater than 14% alcohol by 
manufacturers, bottlers, importers or wholesalers via the 
media shall be limited to newspapers and magazines of 
general circulation, or similar publications of general 
circulation, and to printed programs relating to professional, 
semi-professional and amateur athletic and sporting events, 
conservation and environmental programs and for events of a 
charitable or cultural nature, subject to the following 
conditions:  

1. Required statements:  

a. Name and address (street address optional) of the 
responsible advertiser.  

b. Contents of the product advertised in accordance with 
all labeling requirements. If only the class of spirits or 
wine, such as "whiskey" or "chardonnay" is referred to, 
statements as to contents may be omitted.  

c. Any written, printed or graphic advertisement shall be 
in lettering or type size sufficient to be conspicuous and 
readily legible.  

2. Prohibited statement. Any reference to a spirit's price 
that is not the prevailing price at government stores, 
excepting references approved in advance by the board 
relating to temporarily discounted prices.  

3. Further limitation. Spirits may not be advertised in 
college student publications as defined in 3VAC5-20-40 B 
nor in newspapers, programs or other written or pictorial 
matter primarily relating to intercollegiate athletic events.  

B. Electronic advertising of alcoholic beverages containing 
more than 14% alcohol but less than 22% alcohol shall be 
permitted as long as it emphasizes that such alcoholic 
beverages are traditionally served with meals or immediately 
before or following a meal.  

3VAC5-20-60. Advertising; novelties and specialties. 

Distribution of novelty and specialty items, including 
wearing apparel, bearing alcoholic beverage advertising, shall 
be subject to the following limitations and conditions:  

1. Items not in excess of $10 in wholesale value may be 
given away;  

2. Manufacturers, importers, bottlers, brokers, wholesalers 
or their representatives may give licensed retailers items 
not in excess of $10 in wholesale value, limited to one item 
per retailer, and one item per employee, per visit, which 
may not be displayed in quantities equal to the number of 
employees of the retail establishment present at the time 
the items are delivered. Thereafter, such employees may 
wear or display the items on the licensed premises. Neither 
manufacturers, importers, bottlers, brokers, wholesalers or 
their representatives may give such items to patrons on the 
premises of retail licensees; however, manufacturers [ , 
wholesalers, ] or their authorized representatives [ other 
than wholesalers ] conducting tastings pursuant to the 
provisions of § 4.1-201.1 of the Code of Virginia may give 
no more than one such item to each consumer provided a 
sample of alcoholic beverages during the tasting event; and 
such items bearing moderation and responsible drinking 
messages may be displayed by the licensee and his 
employees on the licensed premises and given to patrons 
on such premises as long as any references to any alcoholic 
beverage manufacturer or its brands are subordinate in type 
size and quantity of text to such moderation message;  

3. Items in excess of $10 in wholesale value may be 
donated by distilleries, wineries and breweries only to 
participants or entrants in connection with the sponsorship 
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of conservation and environmental programs, professional, 
semi-professional or amateur athletic and sporting events 
subject to the limitations of 3VAC5-20-100, and for events 
of a charitable or cultural nature;  

4. Items may be sold by mail upon request or over-the-
counter at retail establishments customarily engaged in the 
sale of novelties and specialties, provided they are sold at 
the reasonable open market price in the localities where 
sold; 

5. Wearing apparel shall be in adult sizes; and 

6. Point-of-sale order blanks, relating to novelty and 
specialty items, may be provided by beer and wine 
wholesalers to retail licensees for use on their premises, if 
done for all retail licensees equally and after obtaining the 
consent, which may be a continuing consent, of each 
retailer or his representative. Wholesale licensees in the 
Commonwealth may not put order blanks on the package. 
Wholesalers may not be involved in the redemption 
process.  

3VAC5-20-70. Advertising; fairs and trade shows; 
alcoholic beverage displays. (Repealed.) 

Alcoholic beverage advertising at fairs and trade shows shall 
be limited to booths assigned to manufacturers, bottlers and 
wholesalers and to the following:  

1. Display of alcoholic beverages in closed containers with 
informational signs provided such merchandise is not sold 
or given away except as permitted in 3VAC5-70-100;  

2. Distribution of informational brochures, pamphlets, and 
the like, relating to alcoholic beverages; and  

3. Distribution of novelty and specialty items bearing 
alcoholic beverage advertising not in excess of $5.00 in 
wholesale value.  

3VAC5-20-80. Advertising; film presentations. 
(Repealed.) 

Advertising of alcoholic beverages by means of film 
presentations is restricted to the following:  

1. Presentations made only to bona fide private groups, 
associations or organizations upon request; and  

2. Presentations essentially educational in nature.  

3VAC5-20-90. Advertising; coupons. 

A. "Normal retail price" shall mean the average retail price 
of the brand and size of the product in a given market, and not 
a reduced or discounted price. 

B. Coupons may be advertised in accordance with the 
following conditions and restrictions: 

1. Manufacturers of spirits, wine and beer may use only 
refund, not discount, coupons. The coupons may not 

exceed 50% of the normal retail price and may not be 
honored at a retail outlet but shall be mailed directly to the 
manufacturer or its designated agent. Such agent may not 
be a wholesaler or retailer of alcoholic beverages. Coupons 
are permitted in the print media, the Internet, by direct mail 
[ or electronic mail ] to consumers or as part of, or attached 
to, the package. Beer refund coupons may be part of, or 
attached to, the package only if the brewery put them on at 
the point of manufacture; however, beer and wine 
wholesalers may provide coupon pads to retailers for use 
by retailers on their premises, if done for all retail licensees 
equally and after obtaining the consent, which may be a 
continuing consent, of each retailer or his representative. 
Wholesale beer licensees in the Commonwealth may not 
put them on the package. Wholesale wine licensees may 
attach refund coupons to the package and wholesale wine 
licensees may provide coupon pads to retailers for use by 
retailers on their premises, if done for all retail licensees 
equally and after obtaining the consent, which may be a 
continuing consent, for each retailer or his representative. 

2. Manufacturers offering refund coupons on spirits and 
wine sold in state government stores shall notify the board 
at least 45 days in advance of the issuance of the coupons 
of its amount, its expiration date and the area of the 
Commonwealth in which it will be primarily used, if not 
used statewide. 

3. Wholesale licensees are not permitted to offer coupons. 

4. Retail licensees may offer coupons, including their own 
discount or refund coupons, on wine and beer sold for off-
premises consumption only. Retail licensees may offer 
their own coupons in the print media, at the point-of-sale 
or by direct mail to consumers. 

5. No retailer may be paid a fee by manufacturers or 
wholesalers of alcoholic beverages for display or use of 
coupons and the name of the retail establishment may not 
appear on any refund coupons offered by manufacturers. 
No manufacturer or wholesaler may furnish any coupons 
or materials regarding coupons to retailers which are 
customized or designed for discount or refund by the 
retailer. 

6. Retail licensees or employees thereof may not receive 
refunds on coupons obtained from the packages before sale 
at retail.  

7. No coupons may be honored for any individual below 
the legal age for purchase. 

3VAC5-20-100. Advertising; sponsorship of public events; 
restrictions and conditions. 

A. Generally. Alcoholic beverage advertising in connection 
with the sponsorship of public events shall be limited to 
sponsorship of conservation and environmental programs, 
professional, semi-professional, or amateur athletic and 
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sporting events and events of a charitable or cultural nature 
by [ distilleries, wineries, and breweries manufacturers and 
wholesalers ].  

B. Restrictions and conditions.  

1. Any sponsorship on a college, high school or younger 
age level is prohibited;  

2. Cooperative advertising, as defined in 3VAC5-20-10 
3VAC5-30-80, is prohibited;  

3. Awards or contributions of alcoholic beverages are 
prohibited;  

4. Advertising of alcoholic beverages shall conform in size 
and content to the other advertising concerning the event 
and advertising regarding charitable events shall place 
primary emphasis on the charitable fund raising nature of 
the event;  

5. A charitable event is one held for the specific purpose of 
raising funds for a charitable organization which is exempt 
from federal and state taxes;  

6. Advertising in connection with the sponsorship of an 
event may be only in the media, including programs, 
tickets and schedules for the event, on the inside of 
licensed or unlicensed retail establishments and at the site 
of the event;  

7. Advertising materials as defined in 3VAC5-30-60 G, 
table tents as defined in 3VAC5-30-60 H and canisters are 
permitted; [ and ]  

8. Prior written notice shall be submitted to the board 
describing the nature of the sponsorship and giving the 
date, time and place of it [ .; and 

9. Manufacturers may sponsor public events and 
wholesalers may only cosponsor charitable events. ]  

3VAC5-30-10. Rotation and exchange of stocks of 
retailers by wholesalers; permitted and prohibited acts.  

A. Permitted acts. For the purpose of maintaining the 
freshness of the stock and the integrity of the products sold by 
him, a wine wholesaler may perform, except on Sundays, and 
a beer wholesaler may perform, except on Sundays in 
jurisdictions where local ordinances restrict Sunday sales of 
alcoholic beverages, the following services for a retailer upon 
consent, which may be a continuing consent, of the retailer:  

1. Rotate, repack and rearrange wine or beer in a display 
(shelves, coolers, cold boxes, and the like, and floor 
displays in a sales area);  

2. Restock wine and beer;  

3. Rotate, repack, rearrange and add to his own stocks of 
wine or beer in a storeroom space assigned to him by the 
retailer;  

4. Transfer wine and beer between storerooms, between 
displays, and between storerooms and displays; and  

5. Create or build original displays using wine or beer 
products only.  

B. Prohibited acts. A wholesaler may not:  

1. Alter or disturb in any way the merchandise sold by 
another wholesaler, whether in a display, sales area or 
storeroom except in the following cases:  

a. When the products of one wholesaler have been 
erroneously placed in the area previously assigned by the 
retailer to another wholesaler; or  

b. When a floor display area previously assigned by a 
retailer to one wholesaler has been reassigned by the 
retailer to another wholesaler;  

2. Mark or affix retail prices to products other than those 
sold by the wholesaler to the retailer; or  

3. Sell or offer to sell alcoholic beverages to a retailer with 
the privilege of return, except for ordinary and usual 
commercial reasons as set forth below:  

a. Products defective at the time of delivery may be 
replaced;  

b. Products erroneously delivered may be replaced or 
money refunded;  

c. Products that a manufacturer discontinues nationally 
may be returned and money refunded;  

d. Resalable draft beer may be returned and money 
refunded;  

e. Products in the possession of a retail licensee whose 
license is terminated by operation of law, voluntary 
surrender or order of the board may be returned and 
money refunded upon permit issued by the board;  

f. Products which have been condemned and are not 
permitted to be sold in this Commonwealth may be 
replaced or money refunded upon permit issued by the 
board; or  

g. Wine or beer may be exchanged on an identical 
quantity and brand basis for quality control purposes. 
Any such exchange shall be documented by the word 
"exchange" on the proper invoice.  

3VAC5-30-20. Restrictions upon employment; exceptions.  

No retail licensee shall employ in any capacity in his 
licensed business any person engaged or employed in the 
manufacturing, bottling or wholesaling of alcoholic 
beverages; nor shall any licensed manufacturer, bottler or 
wholesaler employ in any capacity in his licensed business 
any person engaged or employed in the retailing of alcoholic 
beverages.  
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This section shall not apply to banquet licensees, farm 
winery licensees, or to off-premises winery licensees.  

3VAC5-30-30. Certain transactions to be for cash; "cash" 
defined; checks and money orders; electronic fund 
transfers; records and reports by sellers; payments to the 
board.  

A. Sales of wine or beer between wholesale and retail 
licensees of the board shall be for cash paid and collected at 
the time of or prior to delivery, except where payment is to be 
made by electronic fund transfer as hereinafter provided. 
Each invoice covering such a sale or any other sale shall be 
signed by the purchaser at the time of delivery and shall 
specify the manner of payment.  

B. "Cash," as used in this section, shall include (i) legal 
tender of the United States, (ii) a money order issued by a 
duly licensed firm authorized to engage in such business in 
the Commonwealth, (iii) a valid check drawn upon a bank 
account in the name of the licensee or permittee or in the 
trade name of the licensee or permittee making the purchase, 
[ or ] (iv) an electronic fund transfer, initiated by a wholesaler 
pursuant to subsection D of this section, from a bank account 
in the name, or trade name, of the retail licensee making a 
purchase from a wholesaler or the board [ , or (v) a credit or 
debit card issued in the name of the licensee or permittee or in 
the trade name of the licensee or permittee ].  

C. If a check, money order or electronic fund transfer is 
used, the following provisions apply:  

1. If only alcoholic beverage merchandise is being sold, the 
amount of the checks, money orders or electronic fund 
transfers shall be no larger than the purchase price of the 
alcoholic beverages; and  

2. If nonalcoholic merchandise is also sold to the retailer, 
the check, money order or electronic fund transfer may be 
in an amount no larger than the total purchase price of the 
alcoholic beverages and nonalcoholic beverage 
merchandise. If a separate invoice is used for the 
nonalcoholic merchandise, a copy of it shall be attached to 
the copies of the alcoholic beverage invoices which are 
retained in the records of the wholesaler and the retailer. If 
a single invoice is used for both the alcoholic beverages 
and nonalcoholic beverage merchandise, the alcoholic 
beverage items shall be separately identified and totaled.  

D. If an electronic fund transfer is used for payment by a 
licensed retailer or a permittee for any purchase from a 
wholesaler or the board, the following provisions shall apply:  

1. Prior to an electronic fund transfer, the retail licensee 
shall enter into a written agreement with the wholesaler 
specifying the terms and conditions for an electronic fund 
transfer in payment for the delivery of wine or beer to that 
retail licensee. The electronic fund transfer shall be 
initiated by the wholesaler no later than one business day 

after delivery and the wholesaler's account shall be 
credited by the retailer's bank no later than the following 
business day. The electronic fund transfer agreement shall 
incorporate the requirements of this subdivision, but this 
subdivision shall not preclude an agreement with more 
restrictive provisions. For purposes of this subdivision, the 
term "business day" shall mean a business day of the 
respective bank;  

2. The wholesaler must generate an invoice covering the 
sale of wine or beer, and shall specify that payment is to be 
made by electronic fund transfer. Each invoice must be 
signed by the purchaser at the time of delivery; and  

3. Nothing in this subsection shall be construed to require 
that any licensee must accept payment by electronic fund 
transfer.  

E. Wholesalers shall maintain on their licensed premises 
records of all invalid checks received from retail licensees for 
the payment of wine or beer, as well as any stop payment 
order, insufficient fund report or any other incomplete 
electronic fund transfer reported by the retailer's bank in 
response to a wholesaler initiated electronic fund transfer 
from the retailer's bank account. Further, wholesalers shall 
report to the board any invalid checks or incomplete 
electronic fund transfer reports received in payment of wine 
or beer when either (i) any such invalid check or incomplete 
electronic fund transfer is not satisfied by the retailer within 
seven days after notice of the invalid check or a report of the 
incomplete electronic fund transfer is received by the 
wholesaler, or (ii) the wholesaler has received, whether 
satisfied or not, either more than one such invalid check from 
any single retail licensee or received more than one 
incomplete electronic fund transfer report from the bank of 
any single retail licensee, or any combination of the two, 
within a period of 180 days. Such reports shall be upon a 
form provided by the board and in accordance with the 
instructions set forth in such form.  

F. Payments to the board for the following items shall be for 
cash, as defined in subsection B:  

1. State license taxes and application fees;  

2. Purchases of alcoholic beverages from the board by 
mixed beverage licensees;  

3. Wine taxes and excise taxes on beer and wine coolers;  

4. Solicitors' permit fees and temporary permit fees;  

5. Registration and certification fees, and the markup or 
profit on cider, collected pursuant to these regulations;  

6. Civil penalties or charges and costs imposed on 
licensees and permittees by the board; and  

7. Forms provided to licensees and permittees at cost by 
the board.  
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3VAC5-30-60. Inducements to retailers; beer and wine 
tapping equipment; bottle or can openers; spirits back-
bar pedestals; banquet licensees; paper, cardboard or 
plastic advertising materials; clip-ons and table tents; 
sanctions and penalties. 

A. Any manufacturer, bottler or wholesaler may sell, rent, 
lend, buy for or give to any retailer, without regard to the 
value thereof, the following:  

1. Draft beer knobs, containing advertising matter which 
shall include the brand name and may further include only 
trademarks, housemarks and slogans and shall not include 
any illuminating devices or be otherwise adorned with 
mechanical devices which are not essential in the 
dispensing of draft beer; and  

2. Tapping equipment, defined as all the parts of the 
mechanical system required for dispensing draft beer in a 
normal manner from the carbon dioxide tank through the 
beer faucet, excluding the following:  

a. The carbonic acid gas in containers, except that such 
gas may be sold only at the reasonable open market price 
in the locality where sold;  

b. Gas pressure gauges (may be sold at cost);  

c. Draft arms or standards;  

d. Draft boxes; and  

e. Refrigeration equipment or components thereof.  

Further, a manufacturer, bottler or wholesaler may sell, rent 
or lend to any retailer, for use only by a purchaser of draft 
beer in kegs or barrels from such retailer, whatever tapping 
equipment may be necessary for the purchaser to extract such 
draft beer from its container.  

B. Any manufacturer, bottler or wholesaler may sell to any 
retailer and install in the retailer's establishment tapping 
accessories such as standards, faucets, rods, vents, taps, tap 
standards, hoses, cold plates, washers, couplings, gas gauges, 
vent tongues, shanks, and check valves, if the tapping 
accessories are sold at a price not less than the cost of the 
industry member who initially purchased them, and if the 
price is collected within 30 days of the date of sale.  

Wine tapping equipment shall not include the following:  

1. Draft wine knobs, which may be given to a retailer;  

2. Carbonic acid gas, nitrogen gas, or compressed air in 
containers, except that such gases may be sold in 
accordance with the reasonable open market prices in the 
locality where sold and if the price is collected within 30 
days of the date of the sales; or  

3. Mechanical refrigeration equipment.  

C. Any beer tapping equipment may be converted for wine 
tapping by the beer wholesaler who originally placed the 

equipment on the premises of the retail licensee, provided that 
such beer wholesaler is also a wine wholesaler licensee. 
Moreover, at the time such equipment is converted for wine 
tapping, it shall be sold, or have previously been sold, to the 
retail licensee at a price not less than the initial purchase price 
paid by such wholesaler.  

D. Any manufacturer, bottler or wholesaler of wine or beer 
may sell or give to any retailer, bottle or can openers upon 
which advertising matter regarding alcoholic beverages may 
appear, provided the wholesale value of any such openers 
given to a retailer by any individual manufacturer, bottler or 
wholesaler does not exceed $10 $20. Openers in excess of 
$10 $20 in wholesale value may be sold, provided the 
reasonable open market price is charged therefor.  

E. Any manufacturer of spirits may sell, lend, buy for or 
give to any retail licensee, without regard to the value thereof, 
back-bar pedestals to be used on the retail premises and upon 
which advertising matter regarding spirits may appear.  

F. Manufacturers [ of alcoholic beverages and their 
authorized vendors ] or wholesalers of wine or beer may sell 
at the reasonable wholesale price to banquet licensees [ wine ] 
glasses or paper or plastic cups upon which advertising matter 
regarding [ wine or beer alcoholic beverages ] may appear.  

G. Manufacturers, bottlers or wholesalers of alcoholic 
beverages may not provide point-of-sale advertising for any 
alcoholic beverage or any nonalcoholic beer or nonalcoholic 
wine to retail licensees except in accordance with 3VAC5-20-
20 3VAC5-30-80. Manufacturers, bottlers and wholesalers 
may provide advertising materials to any retail licensee that 
have been customized for that retail licensee provided that 
such advertising materials must:  

1. Comply with all other applicable regulations of the 
board;  

2. Be for interior use only;  

3. Contain references to the alcoholic beverage products or 
brands offered for sale by the manufacturer, bottler, or 
wholesaler providing such materials and to no other 
products; and  

4. Be made available to all retail licensees.  

H. Any manufacturer, bottler or wholesaler of wine, beer or 
spirits may sell, lend, buy for or give to any retail licensee 
clip-ons and table tents.  

I. Any manufacturer, bottler or wholesaler of alcoholic 
beverages may clean and service, either free or for 
compensation, coils and other like equipment used in 
dispensing wine and beer, and may sell solutions or 
compounds for cleaning wine and beer glasses, provided the 
reasonable open market price is charged.  
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J. Any manufacturer, bottler or wholesaler of alcoholic 
beverages licensed in this Commonwealth may sell ice to 
retail licensees provided the reasonable open market price is 
charged.  

K. Any licensee of the board, including any manufacturer, 
bottler, importer, broker as defined in § 4.1-216 A of the 
Code of Virginia, wholesaler or retailer who violates, 
attempts to violate, solicits any person to violate or consents 
to any violation of this section shall be subject to the 
sanctions and penalties as provided in § 4.1-328 of the Code 
of Virginia.  

3VAC5-30-80. Advertising materials that may be 
provided to retailers by manufacturers, importers, 
bottlers, or wholesalers. 

A. There shall be no cooperative advertising as between a 
producer, manufacturer, bottler, importer, or wholesaler and a 
retailer of alcoholic beverages, except as may be authorized 
by regulation pursuant to § 4.1-216 of the Code of Virginia. 
The term "cooperative advertising" shall mean the payment or 
credit, directly or indirectly, by any manufacturer, bottler, 
importer, or wholesaler whether licensed in this 
Commonwealth or not to a retailer for all or any portion of 
advertising done by the retailer. 

B. Manufacturers [ , bottlers, or their authorized vendors as 
defined in § 4.1-216.1 of the Code of Virginia ] and 
wholesalers of alcoholic beverages may sell, lend, buy for, or 
give to retailers any nonilluminated advertising materials 
made of paper, cardboard, canvas, rubber, foam, or plastic, 
provided the advertising materials have a wholesale value of 
$40 or less per item. Advertising material referring to any 
brand or manufacturer of spirits may only be provided to 
mixed beverage licensees and may not be provided by beer 
and wine wholesalers, or their employees, unless they hold a 
spirits solicitor's permit. 

C. Manufacturers, bottlers, or wholesalers may supply to 
retailers napkins, placemats, and coasters that contain (i) a 
reference to the name of a brand of nonalcoholic beer or 
nonalcoholic wine, or (ii) a message relating solely to and 
promoting moderation and responsible drinking, which 
message may contain the name, logo, and address of the 
sponsoring manufacturer, bottler, or wholesaler, provided 
such recognition is subordinate to the message. 

D. Any manufacturer, including any vendor authorized by 
any such manufacturer, whether or not licensed in the 
Commonwealth, may sell service items bearing alcoholic 
brand references to on-premises retail licensees. Such retail 
licensee may display the service items on the premises of his 
licensed establishment. Each such retail licensee purchasing 
such service items shall retain a copy of the evidence of his 
payment to the manufacturer or authorized vendor for a 
period of not less than two years from the date of each sale of 
the service items. As used in this subdivision, "service items" 

means articles of tangible personal property normally used by 
the employees of on-premises licensees to serve alcoholic 
beverages to customers including, but not limited to, glasses, 
napkins, buckets, and coasters. 

E. Beer and wine "neckers," recipe booklets, brochures 
relating to the wine manufacturing process, vineyard 
geography, and history of a wine manufacturing area; and 
point-of-sale entry blanks relating to contests and 
sweepstakes may be provided by beer and wine wholesalers 
to retail licensees for use on retail premises, if such items are 
offered to all retail licensees equally, and the wholesaler has 
obtained the consent, which may be a continuing consent, of 
each retailer or his representative. Wholesale licensees in the 
Commonwealth may not put entry blanks on the package. 
Solicitors holding permits under the provisions of 3VAC5-
60-80 may provide point-of-sale entry blanks relating to 
contests and sweepstakes to mixed beverage licensees for use 
on the premises if such items are offered to all mixed 
beverage licensees equally, and the solicitor has obtained the 
consent, which may be a continuous consent, of each mixed 
beverage licensee or his representative. 

F. Manufacturers, bottlers, or wholesalers may supply 
refund coupons, if they are supplied, displayed, and used in 
accordance with 3VAC5-20-90. 

G. No manufacturer, bottler, wholesaler, or importer of 
alcoholic beverages, whether licensed in this Commonwealth 
or not, may directly or indirectly sell, rent, lend, buy for, or 
give to any retailer any advertising materials, decorations, or 
furnishings under any circumstances otherwise prohibited by 
law, nor may any retailer induce, attempt to induce, or 
consent to any such supplier of alcoholic beverages 
furnishing such retailer any such advertising. 

H. Any advertising materials provided for herein, which 
may have been obtained by any retail licensee from any 
manufacturer, bottler, or wholesaler of alcoholic beverages, 
may be installed in the interior of the licensed establishment 
by any such manufacturer, bottler, or wholesaler using any 
normal and customary installation materials. With the consent 
of the retail licensee, which consent may be a continuing 
consent, wholesalers may mark or affix retail prices on these 
materials. 

I. Every retail licensee who obtains any point-of-sale 
advertising shall keep a complete, accurate, and separate 
record of all such material obtained. Such records shall show 
(i) the name and address of the person from whom obtained; 
(ii) the date furnished; (iii) the item furnished; and (iv) the 
price charged therefore. All such records, invoices and 
accounts shall be kept by each such licensee at the place 
designated in the license for a period of two years and shall 
be available for inspection and copying by any member of the 
board or its special agents during reasonable hours. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-878; Filed January 13, 2010, 9:37 a.m.  
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TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND 
RECREATION 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC5-30. Virginia State Parks 
Regulations (amending 4VAC5-30-10 through 4VAC5-30-
50, 4VAC5-30-70, 4VAC5-30-90, 4VAC5-30-120, 4VAC5-
30-140, 4VAC5-30-150, 4VAC5-30-160, 4VAC5-30-190, 
4VAC5-30-220 through 4VAC5-30-280, 4VAC5-30-300, 
4VAC5-30-310, 4VAC5-30-330, 4VAC5-30-340, 4VAC5-
30-360 through 4VAC5-30-400; adding 4VAC5-30-32, 
4VAC5-30-274, 4VAC5-30-276, 4VAC5-30-410, 4VAC5-
30-420, 4VAC5-30-422; repealing 4VAC5-30-100, 4VAC5-
30-110, 4VAC5-30-210, 4VAC5-30-320, 4VAC5-30-350). 

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-104 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: March 3, 2010. 

Effective Date: March 18, 2010.  

Agency Contact: David C. Dowling, Policy, Planning, and 
Budget Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 
203 Governor Street, Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-2291, FAX (804) 786-6141, or email 
david.dowling@dcr.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Under § 10.1-104.4 of the Code of Virginia the 
department has the authority to "prescribe rules and 
regulations necessary or incidental to the performance of 
duties or execution of powers conferred by law." The 
department is charged with "foster[ing] the upkeep and 
maintenance" of parks and recreational areas under § 10.1-
200 of the Code of Virginia. The Virginia State Parks 
Regulations allow for the public use of these areas within 
certain parameters. 

Purpose: The significant majority of amendments proposed 
by this regulatory action were recommendations made by the 
Attorney General's Government and Regulatory Reform 
Taskforce. The amendments include striking sections that are 
redundant because the illegal activities are already covered in 
the Code of Virginia; clarifying existing language to be 
consistent with similar regulations and the Code of Virginia; 
clarifying the permitting process and allowing for electronic 
filing of permits, applications, and reservations; and making 
several grammatical changes. These suggested amendments 
will make the State Parks Regulations consistent with the 
Code of Virginia and easier for the public to understand. 

An additional section regarding the potential consequences 
for failing to comply with the State Parks Regulations and all 
other applicable laws and regulations has been added for 
clarity. It also serves to increase public awareness that all 
laws and regulations are applicable on park lands. 

Three new sections have been created. One new section 
permits the director to prohibit the importation of firewood or 
allow the entry of firewood into state parks only under 
specified conditions. This section grants the director the 
ability, if necessary, to address a potential threat to park 
forests and habitat from an infesting species of concern, such 
as an emerald ash borer. One of the primary ways infecting 
species are spread is through the sale and delivery of 
firewood. The other new sections regarding the prohibitions 
on the release of animals and wildlife on park property and 
the feeding of wildlife clearly state existing practices and 
procedures already employed by state parks. Prohibiting the 
release of animals and the feeding of wildlife are necessary to 
ensure the health and safety of the existing wildlife 
communities as well as the public. 

These regulations are necessary to protect the public health, 
safety, and welfare while visiting Virginia state parks. These 
regulations define the unique conducts expected by visitors to 
the parks. Examples include the prohibitions on removing 
flowers and plants, camping and cabin policies, hunting and 
fishing procedures, and the correct use of numerous types of 
park trails. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The proposed 
amendments are believed to be noncontroversial. The 
majority are recommendations of the Attorney General's 
Government and Regulatory Reform Task Force and Chapter 
624 of the 2009 Acts of Assembly. The additional section 
regarding the potential consequences for failing to comply 
with the State Parks Regulations and all other applicable laws 
and regulations has been added for clarity and to increase 
public awareness. The new sections regarding the 
prohibitions on the release of animals and wildlife on park 
property and the feeding of wildlife clearly state existing 
practices and procedures already employed by state parks. 
These prohibitions protect the existing wildlife communities 
at the parks and the general public. The section regarding the 
importation of firewood allows the director to act, if 
necessary, to protect the forest and habitat of the parks. One 
of the primary ways infecting species are spread is through 
the importation of infected or infested firewood into any park. 

Substance: The significant majority of amendments proposed 
by this regulatory action were recommendations made by the 
Attorney General's Government and Regulatory Reform 
Taskforce. The amendments include striking sections that are 
redundant because the illegal activities are already covered in 
the Code of Virginia; clarifying existing language to be 
consistent with similar regulations and the Code of Virginia; 
clarifying the permitting process and allowing for electronic 
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filing of permits, applications, and reservations; and making 
several grammatical changes. These suggested amendments 
will make the State Parks Regulations consistent with the 
Code of Virginia and easier for the public to understand. An 
additional section regarding the potential consequences for 
failing to comply with the State Parks Regulations and all 
other applicable laws and regulations has been added for 
clarity. It also serves to increase public awareness that all 
laws and regulations are applicable on park lands. Three new 
sections have been created. One new section permits the 
director to prohibit the importation of firewood or allow the 
entry of firewood into state parks only under specified 
conditions. This section grants the director the ability, if 
necessary, to address a potential threat to park forests and 
habitat from an infesting species of concern, such as an 
emerald ash borer. The other new sections regarding the 
prohibitions on the release of animals and wildlife on park 
property and the feeding of wildlife clearly state existing 
practices and procedures already employed by state parks. 
These regulations are necessary to protect the public health, 
safety, and welfare of those visiting Virginia State Parks. 
These regulations define the unique conducts expected by 
visitors to the parks. Examples include the prohibitions on 
removing flowers and plants, camping and cabin policies, 
hunting and fishing procedures, and the correct use of 
numerous types of park trails. 

Issues: There are no disadvantages to the public, the 
department, or others regarding any of the recommendations 
of the Attorney General's Government and Regulatory 
Reform Task Force and Chapter 624 of the 2009 Acts of 
Assembly. The recommendations of the Task Force will 
make the State Parks Regulations consistent with the Code of 
Virginia, potentially make the filing of permit applications 
and reservations more efficient, and make the regulations 
more easily understood by the public. 

There are no disadvantages to the public, the department, or 
others regarding the section regarding the potential 
consequences for failing to comply with the State Parks 
Regulations and all other applicable laws and regulations. 

There are no disadvantages to the public, the department, or 
others regarding the sections prohibiting the prohibitions on 
the release of animals and wildlife on park property and the 
feeding of wildlife. The addition of these sections clearly 
state existing park policies and procedures and will serve to 
ensure the continued health and welfare of the existing 
wildlife populations and the general public. 

There may be some minor disadvantages to the public and the 
department regarding the new section on the importation of 
firewood. Should the rare need for the implementation of 
such a prohibition occur, visitors will need to bring firewood 
that has been treated in a manner set out by the United States 
Department of Agriculture, buy firewood from the park itself, 
or collect firewood from within the confines of the park in 

accordance with park policy. The department will have to 
enforce this provision if it is enacted. However, the primary 
advantage is the continued safety of the forests and habitats of 
the parks. One of the primary methods infecting species are 
spread is through the importation of infected or infested 
firewood. By significantly curtailing the arrival of firewood 
into state parks, the health of the forests will be protected 
when it is shown to be necessary. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Department of Conservation and Recreation (Department) 
proposes to amend the Virginia State Parks Regulations by: 
1) striking sections which are redundant to language in the 
Code of Virginia, 2) clarifying existing language without 
changing requirements, and 3) changing some language to be 
consistent with the Code of Virginia.  Additionally, the 
Department proposes to amend the regulations to allow the 
Director of the Department to prohibit the importation of 
firewood or allow the entry of firewood into state parks when 
such firewood may be infected or infested with a species of 
concern. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. When language in regulations 
and the Code of Virginia conflict, the Code of Virginia 
applies. Thus the proposal to change language in the 
regulations to be consistent with the Code will have no effect 
on requirements. Striking redundant language and clarifying 
existing language without changing requirements will of 
course not affect requirements either. 

The proposed regulations specify that "The Director of the 
Department of Conservation and Recreation may prohibit the 
importation of firewood or certain types of firewood into any 
park or allow such entry only under specified conditions 
when such firewood may be infected or infested with a 
species of concern." When such a determination has been 
made, firewood to be used by any person within a park must 
be either: 1) purchased from the park, 2) be from a certified 
source, or 3) be collected from within the confines of the park 
in accordance with park policy. The proposed regulations 
specify the conditions under which firewood may be certified. 

The purpose of the proposed ability to ban the importation of 
firewood under specified circumstances is to address a 
potential threat to park forests and habitats from an infesting 
species of concern, such as an emerald ash borer.  One of the 
primary ways infecting species are spread is through the sale 
and delivery of firewood.  According to the Department 
firewood importation bans would be rare.  Since such bans 
would only occur when doing so would likely reduce damage 
to the health of park forests and habitats, and park visitors 
would still in most cases likely have access to alternate 
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firewood, this proposal likely produces a net benefit for the 
Commonwealth. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Virginia state parks, sellers 
of firewood, and park visitors are affected by these 
regulations. 

Localities Particularly Affected. These regulations and the 
proposed amendments particularly affect localities where 
state parks are situated. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. In the rare 
occasions1 that a firewood ban may be necessary, some 
businesses which collect and sell firewood could possibly be 
negatively affected if the importation of firewood was 
curtailed to address a threat. However, firewood retailers 
which have been certified might benefit by a commensurate 
increased demand. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. In the rare 
occasions that a firewood ban may be necessary, some small 
businesses which collect and sell firewood could possibly be 
negatively affected if the importation of firewood was 
curtailed to address a threat. However, firewood retailers 
(likely small businesses) which have been certified might 
benefit by a commensurate increased demand. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. There is no alternate method that would 
reduce the small potential adverse impact on a small number 
of firewood retailers that would also meet the desired policy 
goal of reduced risk to the health of park forests and habitats. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
will not affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

_______________________ 
1 According to the Department of Conservation and Recreations, firewood 
bans would occur only infrequently. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Department of 
Conservation and Recreation concurs with the economic 
impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and 
Budget regarding the Virginia State Parks Regulations 
(4VAC5-30). 

Summary: 

The amendments incorporate recommendations received 
from the Attorney General's Government and Regulatory 
Reform Task Force including conforming the definition of 
person with the definition used in § 2.2-419 of the Code of 
Virginia (4VAC5-30-10), striking sections that are 
redundant because the illegal activities are already 
covered in the Code of Virginia (4VAC5-30-100, 4VAC5-
30-110, and 4VAC5-30-300 B), and clarifying existing 
language to be consistent with similar regulations 
(4VAC5-30-140, 4VAC5-30-150, 4VAC5-30-160, 4VAC5-
30-220, 4VAC5-30-270, 4VAC5-30-280, and 4VAC5-30-
310). 4VAC5-30-320 is repealed because the subject is 
covered in the Code of Virginia. Amendments clarify the 
permitting process for certain activities (4VAC5-30-40, 
4VAC5-30-50, 4VAC5-30-220, 4VAC5-30-370, and 
4VAC5-30-390). 

Revisions to 4VAC5-30-40, 4VAC5-30-150, and 4VAC5-
30-160 allow for the electronic filing of permits and 
reservations in a manner determined by the department 
(which is often specified in policy) in accordance with 
Chapter 624 of the 2009 Acts of Assembly. 

An additional section (4VAC5-30-32) regarding the 
potential consequences for failing to comply with the State 
Park Regulations and all other applicable laws and 
regulations is added for clarity. 

Three new sections are created regarding the importation 
of firewood, release of animals or wildlife on park 
property, and the feeding of wildlife.  The importation of 
firewood (4VAC5-30-410) may be prohibited by the 
director of the department. This section is created in 
response to a potential threat by an infecting species, such 
as the emerald ash borer, which may jeopardize the forest 
and habitat in state parks. Both sections 4VAC5-30-420 
(prohibiting the release of animals or wildlife into park 
property) and 4VAC5-30-422 (prohibiting the feeding of 
wildlife) are created to clearly articulate department 
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practice regarding these actions and to protect the existing 
wildlife communities at the parks. 

4VAC5-30-10. Definition of terms.  

Whenever used in this chapter, the following respective 
terms, unless otherwise therein expressly defined, shall mean 
and include each of the meanings herein respectively set 
forth.  

"Bathing area" means any beach or water area designated by 
the department as a bathing area.  

"Bicycle path" means any path maintained for bicycles.  

"Bridle path or trail" means any path or trail maintained for 
persons riding on horseback.  

"Camping Unit" means a tent, tent trailer, travel trailer, 
camping trailer, pick-up camper, motor homes or any other 
portable device or vehicular-type structure as may be 
developed, marketed or used for temporary living quarters or 
shelter during periods of recreation, vacation, leisure time, or 
travel.  

"Department" means the Department of Conservation and 
Recreation.  

"Foot path or trail" means any path or trail maintained for 
pedestrians or handicapped disabled persons.  

"Motor vehicle" means any vehicle which possesses a motor 
of any description used for propulsion or to assist in the 
propulsion of the vehicle.  

"Owner" means any person, firm, association, copartnership 
or corporation owning, leasing, operating, or having the 
exclusive use of a vehicle, animal or any other property under 
a lease or otherwise.  

"Park" means, unless specifically limited, all designated 
state parks, parkways, historical and natural areas, natural 
area preserves, sites, and other recreational areas under the 
jurisdiction of the Department of Conservation and 
Recreation.  

"Permits" means any written license issued by or under 
authority of the department, permitting the performance of a 
specified act or acts.  

"Person" means any natural person, corporation, company, 
association, joint stock association, firm or copartnership, an 
individual, proprietorship, partnership, joint venture, joint 
stock company, syndicate, business trust, estate, club, 
committee, organization, or group of persons acting in 
concert.  

"Regulation" means regulations duly adopted by the 
Department of Conservation and Recreation.  

4VAC5-30-20. Construction. 

In the interpretation of the Virginia State Parks Regulations, 
their provisions shall be construed as follows: (i) any terms in 
the singular shall include the plural; (ii) any term in the 
masculine shall include the feminine and the neuter; (iii) any 
requirements or prohibition of any act shall, respectively, 
extend to and include the causing or procuring, directly or 
indirectly of such act; (iv) no provision hereof shall make 
unlawful any act necessarily performed by any law-
enforcement officer as defined by § 9.1-101 of the Code of 
Virginia or employee of the department in line of duty or 
work as such, or by any person, his agents or employees, in 
the proper and necessary execution of the terms of any 
agreement with the department; (v) any act otherwise 
prohibited by Virginia State Parks Regulations, provided it is 
not otherwise prohibited by law or local ordinance, shall be 
lawful if performed under, by virtue of and strictly within the 
provisions of a permit so to do, and to the extent authorized 
thereby, and (vi) this chapter are in addition to and 
supplement the state vehicle and traffic laws which are in 
force in all parks and which are incorporated herein and made 
a part hereof. 

4VAC5-30-30. Territorial scope.  

All Virginia State Parks Regulations shall be effective 
within and upon all state parks, historical and natural areas, 
natural area preserves, roads, sites, and other recreational 
areas in the Commonwealth which may be under the 
jurisdiction management or control of the Department of 
Conservation and Recreation and shall regulate the use 
thereof by all persons.  

4VAC5-30-32. General. 

Failure to comply with the Virginia State Parks Regulations, 
as well as other applicable laws and regulations, may result in 
revocation of permits, forfeiture of applicable prices paid, and 
prosecution. 

4VAC5-30-40. Permits.  

The department may issue a permit for activities otherwise 
prohibited in this chapter. A permit to do any act shall 
authorize the same only insofar as it may be performed in 
strict accordance with the terms and conditions thereof. Any 
violation by its holders or his agents or employees of any 
term or condition thereof shall constitute grounds for its 
revocation by the department, or by its authorized 
representative, whose action therein shall be final. In case of 
revocation of any permit, all moneys paid for or on account 
thereof shall, at the option of the department, be forfeited to 
and be retained by it; and the holder of such permit, together 
with his agents and employees who violated such terms and 
conditions, shall be jointly and severally liable to the 
department for all damages and loss suffered by it in excess 
of money so forfeited and retained; but neither such forfeiture 
and retention by the department of the whole or any part of 
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such moneys nor the recovery or collection thereby of such 
damages, or both, shall in any manner relieve such person or 
persons from liability to punishment for any violation of any 
provision of any Virginia State Parks Regulation.  

Permit applications may be obtained through individual 
parks, the department website, or through the park central 
office. Permits may be filed electronically in a manner 
specified by the department, including, but not limited to, 
electronic mail or by completing any forms provided online 
by the department. 

4VAC5-30-50. Flowers, plants, minerals, etc.  

No person shall remove, destroy, cut down, scar, mutilate, 
injure, take or gather in any manner any tree, flower, fern, 
shrub, rock or plant, historical artifact, or mineral in any park 
unless a special permit has been obtained for scientific 
collecting. Special permits may be obtained for scientific 
collecting. To obtain a special permit for scientific collecting 
in a state park, a Research and Collecting Permit Application 
must be completed and provided to the department at: 

Department of Conservation and Recreation 

203 Governor Street, Suite 306 

Richmond, Virginia  23219-2010. 

To obtain a special permit for scientific collecting in a 
natural area or natural area preserve, a Research and 
Collecting Permit Application must be completed and 
provided to the department at: 

Department of Conservation and Recreation 

Division of Natural Heritage 

217 Governor Street, Third Floor 

Richmond, Virginia  23219. 

4VAC5-30-70. Disposal of refuse, garbage, etc.  

No person shall deposit in any part of the park any garbage, 
sewerage, refuse, waste, cigarette or cigar butts, vegetables, 
foodstuffs, boxes, tin cans, plastics, paper, or other litter or 
other waste material or obnoxious material, except in 
containers designed for such purposes.  

4VAC5-30-90. Disorderly conduct prohibited Lawful 
orders.  

No person shall disobey a lawful order of a Virginia State 
Park manager, caretaker, ranger, or patrolman; nor commit a 
nuisance; nor use abusive, profane, or insulting language; nor 
unreasonably disturb or annoy others; be under the influence 
of intoxicants, do any act tending to or amounting to a breach 
of the peace nor conduct himself in any disorderly manner 
whatsoever conservation officer.  

4VAC5-30-100. Gambling. (Repealed.) 

Gambling in any park is prohibited and no person shall bring 
into the park or have in his possession while there, any 
implement or device commonly used, or intended for 
gambling purposes.  

4VAC5-30-110. Intoxicating liquors or beverages. 
(Repealed.) 

No person shall be or become intoxicated, or under the 
influence of intoxicants, in public while in the confines of any 
park. Public display or use of beer, wine, whiskey or other 
intoxicating liquor or beverage or the containers thereof is 
prohibited.  

4VAC5-30-120. Opening and closing hours.  

No person except employees or officers of the department 
shall be allowed within the park between the hours of 10 p.m. 
and 6 a.m. except cabin guests and campers unless 
participating in special park affiliated sanctioned activities, 
hunting and fishing.  

4VAC5-30-140. Picnic area.  

Picnicking in any park is allowed only in the areas 
designated as picnic areas.  

4VAC5-30-150. Camping. 

A. Permit. Camping will be conducted only under permit, 
issued on the basis of a valid application, after payment of fee 
and at the campsite designated. Application for camping 
permit shall be made on the prescribed campsite application 
forms. A permit is obtained by completing a valid Virginia 
State Parks Camping Permit Form or Honor Camping 
Application and submitting payment in accordance with all 
applicable prices and payment policies. A camping permit can 
only be issued by the park management. Only an individual 
18 years of age or older who is a member of and accepts 
responsibility for the camping party may be issued a camping 
permit. The act of placing a reservation through the state 
parks reservation center does not constitute a camping permit. 

Camping may only be performed in strict accordance with 
the terms and conditions of the permit. Any violation of the 
permit by the permittee or any member of the party shall 
constitute grounds for permit revocation by the department, or 
by its authorized representative, whose action shall be final. 
In case of revocation of any permit, all moneys paid for or on 
account thereof shall at the option of the department be 
forfeited and retained by the department.  

B. Registration. Registration by an adult, 18 years of age or 
over, who is a member of and accepts responsibility for, the 
camping party, is required before setting up camp.  

C. B. Occupancy. Occupancy of each campsite shall be 
limited to not more than six persons or one immediate family, 
except by special permission from designated park officials. 
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The term immediate family shall mean relatives living at the 
same common household of residence. 

D. C. Number of Camping Units. No camping unit can be 
used except that which is shown in the campsite application. 
Camping units, equipment, and vehicles. All camping units, 
equipment, and vehicles shall be placed within the perimeter 
of the designated campsite without infringing on adjoining 
campsites or vegetation. Where high impact areas have been 
designated, all camping units, equipment, and vehicles shall 
be placed within the defined borders of the high impact area. 

E. D. Camping Periods periods. No Camping camping shall 
be permitted in excess of 14 consecutive days nights within a 
30-day period. The minimum camping period shall be one 
day. Park managers shall have the authority to increase the 
number of nights.  

Check-in time shall be 4 p.m. Check out Check-out time is 
4:00 p.m. 3 p.m. Campers may be permitted to occupy 
campsites prior to 4 p.m., but no earlier than 8 a.m., if 
campsites are available. No camping units, vehicles or other 
Any personal property shall be left or allowed to remain on at 
the campsite after the duration or termination of the permitted 
camping period reservation period check-out time shall be 
removed by park staff at the owner's expense.  

F. E. Motor Vehicles vehicles. Only one two motor vehicle 
vehicles in addition to the camping unit allowed under 
subsection D above may be C of this section are permitted on 
a campsite at any time with no additional prices. All other 
motor vehicles must shall be parked at in the designated 
parking areas area of each campsite. Any additional vehicles 
beyond two are subject to daily parking prices and shall be 
parked at designated overflow parking areas. 

G. F. Visitors. All campers, at the time of registration, shall 
inform the designated park official of the names of any 
visitors who are expected to arrive at the campsite during the 
the permitted camping period. No visitor shall be allowed at 
the campsite unless so identified. All visitors shall register on 
the visitors register. No visitor shall be allowed before 8:00 
a.m. 6 a.m. and all visitors must leave the campground area 
by 10:00 10 p.m. All visitors shall be charged the appropriate 
daily parking or admissions prices prior to entering the park. 

G. Quiet hours. Quiet hours in the campgrounds shall be 
from 10 p.m. to 6 a.m. Generators, amplified music, or other 
disturbances that can be heard outside the perimeters of the 
user's campsite are prohibited during the designated quiet 
hours. 

H. Pets. Domestic and household pets are permitted in 
campgrounds only with payment of all applicable  prices. 
Owners are responsible for cleaning up after their pets and for 
ensuring their pets do not disturb other campers. Horses and 
other livestock are not permitted unless facilities are 
specifically provided for them. 

4VAC5-30-160. Cabins.  

Cabin reservations are made for a minimum period of one 
week, and, when space is available, for a maximum period of 
two weeks. If a vacancy exists at the termination of the rental 
period, the occupant may extend his stay. Reservations begin 
on Monday and run until the following Monday. Use of state 
park cabins shall only be permitted pursuant to established 
department regulations (4VAC5-36) and policy dealing with 
reservations, registration, occupancy, prices, length of stay, 
and rental period. 

4VAC5-30-190. Boating.  

Boating of any kind in a bathing area is prohibited except 
such boating as is necessary to keep such areas properly 
protected and policed.  

4VAC5-30-210. Explosives. (Repealed.) 

No person shall bring into or have in any park any explosive 
or explosive substance.  

4VAC5-30-220. Fires and lighted cigarettes. 

No person shall kindle, build, maintain or use a fire other 
than in places provided or designated for such purposes 
except by special permit in any park. Any fire shall be 
continuously under the care and direction of a competent 
person over sixteen years of age from the time it is kindled 
until it is extinguished. No person within the confines of any 
park shall throw away or discard any lighted match, cigarette, 
cigar, or other burning object. Any lighted match, cigarette, 
cigar, or other burning object must be entirely extinguished 
before being thrown away or discarded. 

4VAC5-30-230. Smoking.  

No person shall smoke in any structure or place in any park 
where smoking is prohibited. Smoking may be forbidden by 
the department or its authorized agent in any part of any park 
when it is deemed the fire hazard makes such action 
advisable.  

4VAC5-30-240. Hunting.  

No person within the confines of any park, shall hunt, 
pursue, trap, shoot, injure, kill or molest in any way any bird 
or animal, nor shall any person have any wild bird or animal 
in his possession within the park, provided, however, that this 
regulation shall not apply in areas designated for hunting by 
the Department of Conservation and Recreation department. 
At such time as the department director deems it in the best 
interest of the safety and welfare of the public and other 
persons authorized to be in the area, he shall close the area to 
hunting and post boundaries to that effect.  

4VAC5-30-250. Fishing. 

Fishing The taking of fish by hook and line, the taking of 
bait fish by cast net, and crabbing by line and net is permitted 
in the designated areas in each park, the only stipulations 
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being that persons fishing taking fish by hook and line must 
have a state fishing license where required by law and comply 
with the applicable Department of Game and Inland Fisheries 
or Marine Resources Commission rules and regulations. This 
is intended to be a complete list of authorized fishing 
activities in parks and does not allow other activities 
requiring fishing licenses such as bow-fishing or the taking of 
amphibians, which are prohibited. 

4VAC5-30-260. Animals at large. 

No person shall cause or permit any animal owned by him, 
in his custody, or under his control, except an animal 
restrained by a leash not exceeding six feet in length, to enter 
any park, and each such animal found at large may be seized 
and disposed of as provided by the law or ordinance covering 
disposal of stray animals on highways or public property then 
in effect at the place where such stray animals may be seized. 
No animal shall be left unattended by its owner in any park at 
any time, except for animals in designated stables. Animals 
shall not be allowed in bathing areas under any 
circumstances, except for service or hearing dogs identifiable 
in accordance with § 51.5-44 of the Code of Virginia. 

4VAC5-30-270. Sports and games; when permitted.  

No games or athletic contest shall be allowed in any park 
except in such places as may be designated therefor.  

4VAC5-30-274. Foot path or trail use. 

Persons shall only use paths, trails, or other designated areas 
in any park. No person shall engage in an activity expressly 
prohibited by a trail safety sign. 

4VAC5-30-276. Bicycle path use. 

No person shall use a bicycle or similarly propelled devices 
in any area other than designated bicycle paths in any park. 
No person shall engage in an activity expressly prohibited by 
a trail safety sign. 

4VAC5-30-280. Horses Bridle path use.  

No person shall use, ride, or drive a horse or other animal in 
any park except to, from, or along a bridle path, to or from a 
parking area associated with such bridle path, or other 
designated area. No person shall engage in an activity 
expressly prohibited by a trail safety sign. 

4VAC5-30-300. Parking.  

A. No owner or driver shall cause or permit a vehicle to 
stand anywhere in any park outside of designated parking 
spaces, except a reasonable time in a drive to receive or 
discharge passengers.  

B. No owner or driver shall cause or permit a vehicle to 
stand in any space designated for use by the handicapped in 
any park unless the vehicle displays a license plate or decal 
issued by the Commissioner of the Department of Motor 
Vehicles of Virginia under authority of § 46.2-731 or § 46.2-

739 of the Code of Virginia, or a similar identification issued 
by similar authority in some other state or The District of 
Columbia.  

4VAC5-30-310. Obstructing traffic.  

No person shall cause or permit a vehicle to obstruct traffic 
by unnecessary stopping in any park.  

4VAC5-30-320. Speed limit. (Repealed.) 

Rate of speed in excess of twenty-five miles per hour is 
prohibited.  

4VAC5-30-330. Excessive loads.  

No person shall operate an excessively loaded vehicle 
anywhere in any park. The determination of whether a load is 
excessive will be made by the park manager management and 
will be based upon the load and the condition of the road.  

4VAC5-30-340. Commercial enterprises.  

No person shall, in any park, without a permit, sell or offer 
for sale, hire, lease or let out, any object or merchandise, 
property, privilege, service or any other thing, or engage in 
any business or erect any building, booth, tent, stall or any 
other structure whatsoever for a commercial purpose.  

No person to whom property of any park has been entrusted 
for personal use shall hire, lease, let out, or sell the same to 
any other person.  

4VAC5-30-350. Photographs. (Repealed.)  

No person shall, without a permit, take photographs or 
moving pictures within the limits of any park for the purpose 
of selling the negatives thereof or the prints therefrom.  

4VAC5-30-360. Commercial vehicles. 

No person shall operate a bus, taxicab or other commercial 
vehicle designed or used for the transportation of passengers 
or property within any park without a permit, except for the 
arranged pickup or delivery of park users.  

4VAC5-30-370. Advertising.  

No sign, notice or advertisements of any nature shall be 
erected or posted at any place within any park, nor shall any 
musical instrument, radio, talking machine, or drum be 
operated or any noise be made for the purpose of attracting 
attention to any exhibition of any kind without written 
permission from the Department.  

4VAC5-30-380. Meetings and exhibitions.  

No person shall in any park erect any structure, stand or 
platform, hold any meeting, or exhibition, perform any 
ceremony, or make any speech, or address except by permit if 
it limits or impacts the ability of the general public to utilize 
the park for the purposes for which is was established, may 
cause injury or damage to park resources, or impairs the 
operation of the park facilities or delivery of services.  
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4VAC5-30-390. Alms and contributions.  

No person shall within any park solicit alms or contributions 
for any purpose, without special permission from the 
department director.  

4VAC5-30-400. Aviation.  

No person shall voluntarily bring, land or cause to descend 
or alight within or upon any park, any airplane, remote 
control model aircraft, flying machine, balloon, parachute or 
other apparatus for aviation except under permit. 
"Voluntarily" in this connection shall mean anything other 
than a forced landing.  

4VAC5-30-410. Importation of firewood. 

A. The Director of the Department of Conservation and 
Recreation may prohibit the importation of firewood or 
certain types of firewood into any park or allow such entry 
only under specified conditions when such firewood may be 
infected or infested with a species of concern. Any firewood 
transported to the park by a person found to be in violation of 
such prohibition shall be confiscated and destroyed. Should 
any person charged under this section be found not guilty, the 
person shall be reimbursed for only the cost of the firewood. 

B. When the director makes a written determination to 
implement subsection A of this section, the following 
minimum requirements apply: 

1. Such determination shall be posted to the department's 
website and posted at the park where applicable. 

2. Firewood to be used by any person within a park must 
be purchased from the park, must be proven to be from a 
certified source in accordance with subdivision 3 of this 
subsection if transported to the park, or may be collected 
from within the confines of the park in accordance with 
park policy. The department may allow for the sale or 
distribution of firewood within the park with prior written 
agreement that it has been treated in accordance with 
subdivision 3 of this subsection. Firewood includes all 
wood, processed or unprocessed, meant for use in a 
campfire. Such ban shall not include scrap building 
materials, such as 2x4s; but may extend to wood pallets as 
determined by the director. 

3. Firewood certified to be sold and distributed within the 
park by a firewood dealer shall be subject to at least one of 
the following conditions: 

a. Exclude all ash tree material from the firewood 
production area. Dealers will have to demonstrate ability 
to identify and separate firewood species. 

b. Remove bark and outer half inch of sapwood off of all 
nonconiferous firewood. 

c. Kiln dry all nonconiferous firewood to USDA 
specifications. 

d. Heat treat all nonconiferous firewood to USDA 
specifications. 

e. Fumigate all nonconiferous firewood to USDA 
specifications. 

f. Offer conclusive proof demonstrating to the 
satisfaction of the department that the origin of the wood 
was from a noninfected area. 

g. Offer conclusive proof demonstrating to the 
satisfaction of the department that the wood containing 
the infecting or infesting species of concern has been 
properly treated and the species is controlled by an 
alternative control mechanism. 

The director may eliminate or restrict conditions offered 
in this subsection as determined to be necessary to 
properly address the infecting or infesting species of 
concern to the satisfaction of  the department. 

4VAC5-30-420. Release of animals or wildlife on park 
property. 

No person shall release animals or wildlife captured or 
propagated elsewhere into any park. 

4VAC5-30-422. Feeding wildlife prohibited. 

No person shall feed wildlife in any park, except for park 
sponsored programmatic activities. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (4VAC5-30) 

Natural Area Preserve Research and Collecting Permit 
Application, DCR 199-003 (11/07). 

Research and Collecting Permit Application, DCR 199-043 
(12/00).  

Cabin & Camping Permit (1/10). 
VA.R. Doc. No. R10-1568; Filed January 6, 2010, 11:45 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 6VAC20-171. Regulations Relating to 
Private Security Services (amending 6VAC20-171-10, 
6VAC20-171-20, 6VAC20-171-30, 6VAC20-171-50 
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through 6VAC20-171-320, 6VAC20-171-350 through 
6VAC20-171-400, 6VAC20-171-420 through, 6VAC20-
171-560; adding 6VAC20-171-71, 6VAC20-171-72, 
6VAC20-171-111, 6VAC20-171-115, 6VAC20-171-116, 
6VAC20-171-117, 6VAC20-171-135, 6VAC20-171-305, 
6VAC20-171-308, 6VAC20-171-375, 6VAC20-171-376, 
6VAC20-171-395; repealing 6VAC20-171-245, 6VAC20-
171-430, 6VAC20-171-440). 

Statutory Authority: § 9-182 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

May 20, 2010 - 9 a.m. - General Assembly Building, 9th 
and Broad Streets, House Room D, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: April 2, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Lisa McGee, Regulatory Manager, 
Department of Criminal Justice Services, P.O. Box 1300, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-2419, FAX (804) 
786-6344, or email lisa.mcgee@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The legal authority to review, amend, or revise 
regulations relating to private security services is found in 
§ 9.1-141 of the Code of Virginia. Additionally, this review is 
in accordance with Executive Order 36 (2006). 

Purpose: The purpose of this regulatory action is a 
comprehensive review and amendment of existing 
regulations. This review and recommended amendments is 
based on legislative actions that require development of 
regulations for locksmiths as well as further development of 
regulations relating to detective canine handlers. In addition 
to recent legislative actions, a comprehensive review will 
amend and revise the rules mandating and prescribing 
standards, requirements and procedures that serve to protect 
the citizens of the Commonwealth from unqualified, 
unscrupulous, and incompetent persons engaging in the 
activities of private security services. This regulatory action is 
essential to protect the health, safety, and welfare of citizens 
who utilize the various categories of private security services 
by establishing the regulatory requirements for locksmiths 
and detector canine handlers. These regulations ensure they 
have a criminal background check, meet minimum training 
standards, and are held to prescribed standards of conduct. 
Knowing that locksmiths and detector canine handlers have 
met these regulatory requirements increases the public trust 
and brings credibility to the industry. The revised firearms 
training requirements directly increase the level of 
competence for individuals who utilize firearms in a private 
security defined field. The additional training should have a 
direct impact in the reduction of accidental discharges of 
firearms.  

Substance: While all areas of the regulations will be subject 
to this comprehensive review, the substance of this review 
will be to include a permanent regulatory scheme for 
locksmiths and detector canine handlers, examiners, and 

teams operating within the Commonwealth. This review will 
focus on reevaluating the existing licensure, registration, 
certification and training requirements, procedures, fees, 
administrative requirements, and standards of conduct. 

6VAC20-171-10 – Definitions: Definitions have been 
inserted or amended in regard to the regulatory program 
established for locksmiths and detector canine handlers and 
examiners in accordance with § 9.1-138 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia. Other amendments to the definitions are based on 
terminology related to firearms training and variances in 
methods of conducting training. 

6VAC20-171-20 – Fees. Amendments to the fee structure 
include an option for businesses to obtain a one year or two 
year initial license, an increase in the firearms endorsement 
fee, an additional category fee for training schools and 
instructors, and a separation of certification applications fees 
and required regulatory compliance training fees. The 
electronic roster submittal fee has been deleted and instructor 
training development fees have been removed from the 
regulation. There is also a new manual processing service fee 
for applications not submitted by available electronic 
methods. Other amendments involve a restructuring of the fee 
schedule for clarity. 

6VAC20-171-30 – Fingerprint processing. Amendments are 
included to reflect the current criminal history records search 
process utilized by the department. 

6VAC20-171-50 – Initial business license application. The 
amendments incorporate the new categories of locksmith and 
detector canine business as well as clarify what constitutes a 
legal entity change thus requiring a new license. 

6VAC20-171-70 – Compliance agent. This section has been 
amended to clarify the application process and requirements 
for a compliance agent. Two new sections have been inserted 
(6VAC20-171-71 – Compliance Agent Certification Renewal 
Requirements and 6VAC20-171-72 – Compliance Agent 
Regulatory Compliance Training Requirements). The 
amendments do not make any major changes to the 
requirements but provide clarity for the process and make the 
process inclusive in one article of the regulations compared to 
being spread throughout the document. 

6VAC20-171-80 to 6VAC20-171-90 – Training school 
certification. The proposed regulations establish the 
categories of training in which schools will be required to 
submit a category of training fee depending on the number of 
training categories provided by the training school. Language 
is included to clarify what constitutes a legal entity change. 

6VAC20-171-100 to 6VAC20-171-111 – Instructor 
Certification. Amendments include a new category of training 
fee, range qualification requirements for firearms instructors, 
and new training requirements to include regulatory 
compliance training and continuing education. Inserting a 
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new section 6VAC20-171-111 provides clarity and makes the 
process inclusive in one article of the regulations. 

6VAC20-171-115 to 6VAC20-171-117 – Detector Canine 
Handler Examiner Certification. The new sections establish 
the initial, renewal, and training requirements for 
certification.  

6VAC20-171-120 to 6VAC20-171-130 – Private Security 
Services Registration. The amendments include the new 
categories of registration for locksmiths and detector canine 
handlers and include the requirement of a photo submission 
by the applicant. 

6VAC20-171-135 – Firearms endorsements. This new section 
clarifies the process of obtaining a firearms endorsement and 
makes the process inclusive within one article of the 
regulations. It also establishes a timeframe in which retraining 
must be taken. 

6VAC20-171-180 – Reinstatement. Amendments to the 
reinstatement procedures have been inserted that allow a 
company to continue to operate during the reinstatement 
period and establishes continued authority by the department. 

6VAC20-171-190 – Renewal extension. Amendments include 
a broader description of emergency temporary assignments to 
include purposes of natural disaster, homeland security, or 
document threat. Language has been inserted that allows the 
department to waive the requirement of submittal prior to 
expiration with justification and establishes the timeframe for 
which an exemption may be issued. 

6VAC20-171-200 – Denial, probation, suspension and 
revocation. Includes an amendment in which the last known 
employing business or training school will be notified if an 
employee of the company is subject to disciplinary action by 
the department. 

6VAC171-220 to 6VAC20-171-280 – Administrative 
Requirements and Standards of Conduct. Amendments reflect 
new administrative requirements and standards of conduct for 
businesses, compliance agents, training schools, training 
school directors, and instructors. These amendments include 
the removal of a provision that a business license or training 
school certification is null and void due to a lapse of 
insurance and inserts a clause that each day of uninsured 
activity would be construed as an individual violation. New 
provisions have been inserted for reporting requirements upon 
termination of a compliance agent or training school director. 
Administrative requirements to maintain a use of force policy, 
records for employees carrying intermediate weapons, and 
records in regard to detector canine handler teams have been 
added for businesses.  

Additional standards of conduct have been included to 
prohibit acting as an ostensible licensee for undisclosed 
persons; providing false or misleading information; refusing 
to cooperate with an investigation; or for providing materially 

incorrect, misleading, incomplete, or untrue information to 
the department. 

A provision has been added requiring regulated individuals to 
report within 10 days having been arrested for a crime in any 
jurisdiction as well as establish standards of conduct 
pertaining to authorized access to the department's licensing 
database. 

Additional reporting requirements have been added for 
training schools and school personnel regarding range 
qualification failures. 

Other minor amendments ensure concise language for clarity 
and consistency. 

6VAC20-171-300 – Private security services training session. 
Language has been deleted that required schools to submit 
sessions and rosters within a specific time period and a 
provision has been added that details the information a school 
will be required to capture on a training completion form. 

6VAC20-171-305 – On-line service training programs. This 
new section establishes the requirements for a school to offer 
on-line in-service training sessions. 

6VAC20-171-308 – Detector Canine Handler Examiners. 
This new section establishes the administrative requirements 
and standards of conduct for detector canine handler 
examiners. 

6VAC20-171-310 through 6VAC20-171-320 – Registered 
personnel administrative requirements and standards of 
conduct. Amendments include a provision for requiring 
registered personnel to report within 10 days having been 
arrested for a crime in any jurisdiction and the prohibition of 
having an arrest that the prima facie evidence would indicate 
the propensity for harming the public. The proposed 
regulations add a requirement that personnel who carry or 
have access to a patrol rifle while on duty must have written 
authorization from their employer and include additional 
standards of conduct to prohibit providing false or misleading 
information; refusing to cooperate with an investigation; or 
providing materially incorrect, misleading, incomplete, or 
untrue information to the department. 

6VAC20-171-350 – Entry level training. The training 
requirements have been changed to separate private security 
orientation training into its own block of training versus being 
incorporated in each entry-level mandated training session. 
The entry-level training has been restructured to include 
specific courses and hours for clarity. In addition, the 
minimum course and hour requirements for locksmiths and 
detector canine handlers have been added. The compulsory 
minimum training standards for armed security officers has 
increased from 40 hours to 50 hours due to an increase in 
firearms training hours and the hours for shotgun entry-level 
training have increased from two to four hours. 
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The course content has been amended to reflect the block 
section for private security orientation, minor changes to the 
content for armed security officer classroom training, and the 
hour requirements for each individual section of a course has 
been removed. The proposed regulations reflect the course 
content for locksmiths and detector canine handler examiners 
and all training provisions for compliance agents has been 
deleted and added to 6VAC20-171-70 through 6VAC20-171-
72. 

6VAC20-171-360 – In-service training. The amendments 
include in-service training requirements for locksmiths and 
detector canine handlers and combines the course content and 
minimum hour requirements within one section. 

6VAC20-171-365 through 6VAC20-171-400 – Firearms 
training. The entry-level firearms training compulsory 
minimum training standards have been amended. An 
enhanced firearms training for armed security 
officers/couriers and personal protection specialist has been 
inserted (6VAC20-171-375) and reflects an increase of 10 
hours of training compared to the entry-level firearms training 
for all other armed registered categories. The entry-level 
handgun range qualification has been moved to a new section 
for clarity purposes (6VAC20-171-376) and a new course of 
fire has been inserted. 

The advanced firearms training compulsory minimum 
training standards for personal protection specialists have 
been amended.  The topics have been amended to address 
concealed carry laws and use of force. The hours are reduced 
due to the removal of duplicate training objectives already 
addressed in the basic firearms training requirements which is 
a prerequisite for the advanced handgun training. 

The shotgun minimum training standards and course of fire 
have been amended, which increases the classroom training 
by two hours. 

A new section has been created to address entry-level patrol 
rifle training (6VAC20-171-395) and includes the classroom 
training and course of fire. 

Amendments to firearms retraining increases the classroom 
hours to four hours for all armed registered personnel with the 
exception personal protection specialists who must complete 
advanced firearms retraining. This is a new requirement for 
the armed security officers.  

6VAC20-171-430-440 – Entry-level security canine handler 
training. This section has been repealed and the provisions are 
now included in the entry-level and in-service training 
sections for registered personnel under 6VAC20-171-350 and 
6VAC20-171-360. 

6VAC20-171-500 – Disciplinary action; sanctions; 
publication of records. An additional sanction - the use of 
conditional agreements - has been added to the list of 

sanctions that the department may impose for a violation or 
noncompliance. 

Issues: The primary advantage of implementing the new 
provisions presented in the proposed regulation is to provide 
necessary public protection tasked through existing statutes. 
Advantages to the public and the Commonwealth are to 
secure the public safety and welfare against incompetent, 
unqualified, unscrupulous, or unfit persons engaging in 
activities of private security services in the Commonwealth. 
The goal of these amended regulations is to ensure that (i) 
eligible individuals in the private security services industry 
receive compulsory minimum training and abide by 
established standards of conduct and (ii) individuals with 
certain criminal history records, or who are in violation of 
rules established for public safety, are prohibited from 
performing private security services. 

The establishment of these regulations does not pose any 
disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Pursuant to requirements for periodic review, the Board of 
Criminal Justice Services (Board) proposes to amend its 
Regulations Relating to Private Security Services. Amongst 
the substantive changes in this regulatory action, the Board 
proposes to replace emergency regulations that govern 
locksmiths (pursuant to Chapter 638 of the 2008 Acts of the 
Assembly) and add new regulations for detector canine 
handlers and detector canine handler examiners (pursuant to 
Chapter 470 of the 2004 Acts of the Assembly). The Board 
also proposes to: 

•  Rewrite firearms endorsement requirements to include three 
levels of handgun training and increase training requirements 
for security officers/couriers to include 10 more hours of 
firearms training, 

•  Increase the hours of training needed for a shotgun 
endorsement, and the hours needed for renewal of each type 
of firearms endorsement, from two to four, 

•  Add new requirements for patrol rifle training, 

•  Allow businesses that are applying for initial licensure to 
choose to be licensed for one or two years before they must 
renew, 

•  Add a $20 manual processing fee for applications not 
submitted through available electronic means, 

•  Increase the firearms endorsement fee from $10 to $30 per 
year and issue a separate firearm endorsement card, 

•  Charge training schools a $50 fee for each training category 
rather than the flat $500 fee they currently pay for approval of 
training materials and charge instructors $10 per category for 
each addition certification category, 
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•  Decrease fees for initial compliance agent certification and 
compliance agent certification renewal,  

•  Require instructors and examiners to complete regulatory 
compliance entry level and in-service training (fees added for 
these categories) and  

•  Require regulated entities to report within 10 days when 
they are arrested for a crime in any jurisdiction.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
some of these proposed changes. The costs likely exceed the 
benefits for at least one of these proposed changes. For 
several other regulatory changes, there is insufficient 
information to ascertain whether benefits outweigh costs. All 
benefits and costs are discussed below. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Pursuant to Chapter 638 of the 
2008 Acts of the Assembly, the Board promulgated 
emergency regulations for registration of locksmiths in July 
2008. The Board now proposes permanent regulation to 
replace the emergency regulations that will expire on 
December 30th of this year.  

Under these proposed regulations, locksmiths will have to 
complete 20 hours of initial training (2 hours of training on 
applicable Virginia law and 18 hours on subject matter 
training), pass an exam and pay a $25 initial registration fee 
for a registration that is valid for two years. Fees for initial 
training range between $200 and $325, depending on which 
private training school is offering it. Every biennium, 
registered locksmiths will have to complete four hours of 
continuing education and pay a $20 fee to renew their 
registration. Fees for continuing education range between $89 
and $125. As provided by Chapter 638, locksmiths who have 
actively and continuously provided locksmith services for 
two or more years prior to July 1, 2008 are exempt from the 
initial training requirements. 

In order to get an initial business license, locksmith 
businesses will have to 1) provide fingerprints for each 
principal owner and supervisor of the applying business ($50 
per fingerprint card), 2) show evidence of a surety bond of at 
least $100,000 or a liability insurance policy with minimum 
coverages of $100,000 and $300,000, 3) complete an 
irrevocable consent form for the Department of Criminal 
Justice Services (DCJS) to serve as service agent for all 
actions filed in any court in the Commonwealth, 4) designate 
an employee as a compliance agent who will make sure the 
business complies with applicable laws and regulations and 5) 
pay a fee of either $550 for an initial license valid for one 
year or $800 for an initial license valid for two years. This fee 
covers business licensure for one category; each additional 
category adds $50 to the cost of the business license. 
Businesses will have to pay $500 for renewal of licensure at 
the time their initial license expires. 

DCJS reports that the legislature recently required registration 
of locksmiths in order to protect the public "from incompetent 

or unqualified persons" who were in the locksmith trade. To 
the extent that regulation achieves this goal, the public will 
benefit from locksmiths being required to register. 
Locksmiths who choose to become registered will benefit 
from a likely decrease in the number of individuals who 
practice this trade in direct competition with them. It is not 
entirely clear that these benefits outweigh the costs, both 
direct and indirect, that will be accrued by licensed locksmith 
businesses and registered locksmiths. Direct costs include 
fees for licensure and/or registration and fees for classes. 
Indirect costs include the value of time spent attending classes 
and studying for and taking exams. In particular, the costs of 
business licensure may prove too onerous for some single 
proprietor locksmiths. The number of individuals who work 
as locksmiths is very likely to fall on account of licensure 
requirements. 

Currently, these regulations do not include provision for 
registration of detector canine handlers and certification of 
detector canine handler examiners. Pursuant to Chapter 470 
of the 2004 Acts of the Assembly, the Board now proposes to 
add provisions that will govern registration, certification and 
licensure for these groups.  

The Board proposes to require detector canine handlers to 
complete 160 hours of initial training (2 hours of training on 
applicable Virginia law and 158 hours on subject matter 
training), pass an exam and pay a $25 for initial registration. 
DCJS reports that this training will cost approximately $1,000 
per 40 hour week of training. Detector canine handlers who 
have already completed training that would be equivalent to 
that required by the Board will be able to pay an entry level 
partial-training exemption fee of $25 and the initial 
registration fee in order to gain their registration. DCJS staff 
believes that most individuals who would seek registration 
already have national certification that is at least equivalent to 
the initial training required in these proposed regulations. 

These training requirements seem to be approximately 
equivalent to what is required for police detector canine 
handlers. Given the nature of the relationship that must be 
fostered between a canine and its handler, and the repetition 
of exercises that is necessary to teach an animal to reliably 
perform a task, the benefits of requiring training before 
registration likely outweigh the costs of that training (and 
registration). 

If detector canine handlers are business proprietors rather 
than employees of a business, they will need to meet the 
Board's requirements for business licensure (see explanation 
of locksmith business licensure above) and must complete 
regulatory compliance agent certification training ($50 initial 
certification fee). These individuals will have to renew their 
licenses at the end of the initial licensure term ($500 fee) and 
will have to complete compliance agent in-service 
(continuing education) every two years ($25 fee). 
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Under the Board's proposal, detector canine handler 
examiners must 1) be at least 18 years old, 2) have a high 
school diploma or GED, 3) have a minimum of five years of 
experience as a detector canine handler and a minimum of 
two years experience as a detector canine trainer, 4) be 
certified as a detector canine handler examiner by a Board 
recognized national certification organization, a division of 
the United States military or other formal entity or by a 
certified DCJS private security services detector canine 
handler examiner, 5) pass an exam, 6) provide fingerprints to 
DCJS ($50 fee) and 7) pay the initial certification fee of $50 
in order to get a certification that is valid for two years. 
Within 12 months of initial certification, examiners will have 
to satisfactorily complete regulatory compliance training ($75 
fee). In order to renew certification, these examiners must 
either have maintained certification under these regulations or 
complete 16 hours of continuing education before they 
recertify every two years (application fee $25) and complete 
regulatory compliance in-service training ($50 fee). No costs 
for continuing education are available but, given the number 
of hours required for those who have not maintained their 
certification, these costs will likely be more than several 
hundred dollars. 

To the extent that requiring detector canine handler examiners 
to be certified improves the quality of the services they offer, 
the public will benefit from these regulatory changes. There is 
insufficient information to gauge whether these benefits 
outweigh the costs listed above. 

Nothing in these proposed regulations would explicitly 
prohibit examiners from forming a business rather than 
working for another business or training school. There does 
appears to be an oblique assumption, in the regulation's 
Administrative Requirements and Behavior Standards, that 
examiners will be working for a business or training school 
licensed by the Board. These regulations as currently 
proposed would appear not to require examiner businesses to 
be licensed by the Board. 

Current regulations include provision for two levels of 
firearms training in order to gain a firearms endorsement. All 
registrants except for personal protection specialists must 
currently complete entry-level handgun training (14 hours 
training). Personal protection specialists must currently 
complete both entry-level handgun training and advanced 
handgun training (24 hours training) in order to gain a 
firearms endorsement. An endorsement that allows the 
registrant to use a shotgun requires two extra hours of 
training. There currently is no specifically required training 
for patrol rifles. 

The Board proposes to modify these firearms training 
requirements so that handgun training is separated into three 
classes.  All registrants but armed security officers, armed 
couriers and personal protection specialists that are seeking a 
firearms endorsement must complete fundamental handgun 

training (14 hours training). Armed security officers and 
armed couriers who are seeking a firearms endorsement have 
to complete basic handgun training (24 hours training). 
Personal protection specialists must complete both basic and 
advanced handgun training (14 hours training). The Board 
proposes to increase the training required to carry a shotgun 
from two to four hours (and increase the hours needed 
annually to renew an endorsement from two to four). The 
Board also proposes to add a 24 hour training requirement for 
patrol rifles.  

These changes will increase the hours of handgun training 
needed by armed security officers and armed couriers for 
firearms endorsement by ten but will leave the hours of 
handgun training needed for other registrants unchanged. Any 
individuals who will seek an initial shotgun endorsement in 
the future, or will seek to renew any category of endorsement, 
will see the hours of training needed double from two to four 
hours. Any individuals who have been able to carry patrol 
rifles under current endorsement requirements will now have 
two pay for, and complete, 24 extra hours of training. 

Estimates found online for firearms training indicate that 
training for each category of firearm will likely cost between 
$100 and $200 (but will likely be less for the additional two 
hours of retraining per category that will be required). 
Registrants will incur direct costs for additional training as 
well as indirect costs for the time spent on training. DCJS 
staff reports that the Board believes additional training for 
armed security officers and armed couriers is needed to 
ensure the safety of the public that these individuals work 
around. There is insufficient information to ascertain whether 
the benefit of additional public safety outweighs the cost of 
the 10 extra training hours required. 

The Board proposes many more hours of training for the 
additional patrol rifle endorsement than it does for the 
additional shotgun endorsement.  It also proposes to require a 
higher accuracy for range qualification than is required for 
either handguns or shotguns (85% versus 75%-79% and 70% 
respectively). The differential 20 hours of classroom training 
would likely only be justified if there was no carryover value 
from entry-level handgun training, to patrol rifle training, that 
could be assumed to exist for the required shotgun training 
(or if patrol rifles are much harder weapons to learn and 
operate). Although the Board has relaxed the range standard 
for patrol rifles from the initially proposed 100% accuracy, 
this standard still exceeds the standard imposed by surveyed 
local police departments (which ranged between 70% and 
80%). Because the Board is imposing much more stringent 
standards for patrol rifles than other weapons, costs likely 
outweigh benefits for these proposed changes. 

Currently, private security firms pay $800 for a business 
license that is valid for two years and $500 for renewal of that 
license every two years, thereafter. The Board proposes to 
allow firms the option of getting an initial license for $550 
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that will be valid for a year or paying $800 for a two year 
license. The biennial license renewal fee would remain $500. 
While the average annual cost over time would be the same 
no matter which initial license is chosen, firms will benefit 
from the ability to defer costs. The proposed change will give 
firms greater flexibility to plan expenses. 

The Board proposes to add a $20 fee for applications that are 
not submitted through available electronic means and to 
increase the firearms endorsement fee from $10 to $30. The 
manual processing service fee is being proposed to encourage 
applicants to use Board resources that are less costly and 
more efficient. Since the fee will only apply if there are 
available electronic submission means, regulated entities are 
unlikely to incur this cost unless they feel that they benefit 
from doing so. The Board is proposing the fee increase for 
firearms endorsement because they intend to start issuing a 
separate (wallet card) form rather than adding the 
endorsement to an individual's registration certificate. Since 
endorsements and registrations are not valid for the same 
length of time, there is benefit is separating them.  

Currently, training schools pay a fee of $800 fee for initial 
licensure and a fee of $500 for electronic roster submittal 
authorization.  The Board proposes to eliminate the electronic 
roster submittal authorization and instead charge training 
schools a $50 fee for each category of training offered past 
the first one (which is included in the licensure fee). There are 
eight categories of training so training schools would incur 
costs of only $350 if they taught all categories. Training 
schools will save between $150 and $500 on account of this 
proposed regulatory change.  

Similarly, the Board proposes to cut the fees for instructor 
certification and compliance agent certification in half and 
implement an instructor certification category fee of $10. 
Initial instructor certification will decrease from $100 to $50 
and instructor certification renewal will decrease from $50 to 
$25. Instructors will pay a $10 fee for each training category 
past the first for which certification is sought. Initial 
compliance agent certification will also decrease from $100 
to $50 and compliance agent renewal will decrease from $50 
to $25 but training will no longer be included in these fees. 
Compliance agent certification and training are being 
separated because private firms can now offer DCJS training 
online. Compliance agents will get a net benefit from this 
change only if training costs do not exceed what they will be 
saving in certification fees. This proposed change will likely 
save most instructors money.  

Current regulation require registrants and licensed businesses 
to report to the Board within 10 days if they, or any principal, 
owner or employee, are convicted, plead guilty or nolo 
contendere, of any crime. The Board proposes to also require 
that all arrests be reported. DCJS reports that the Board wants 
to know if its regulated entities are arrested for any crimes 
that might indicate that they are a danger to the public. 

Affected entities will likely incur some reporting costs and 
will also lose some of the privacy they currently enjoy. The 
costs of this proposed requirement could likely be minimized 
if the Board only required entities to report arrests for crimes 
that would give the Board cause to take disciplinary action. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. These proposed changes 
will affect all entities that are subject to the Regulations 
Relating to Private Security Services. DCJS reports that these 
entities include 2,000 private security services businesses, 
41,000 individual registrants (9,750 of which have firearms 
endorsements), 2,416 compliance officers, 488 instructors and 
128 private security services training schools. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The number of locksmiths 
practicing in the Commonwealth will likely be smaller on 
account of the costs imposed by these proposed regulations. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The value 
of locksmith businesses will likely decrease on account of 
these proposed regulations. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Small business 
locksmiths, detector canine handlers and detector canine 
handler examiners will incur costs for initial registration, 
registration renewal, Board business licensure and business 
licensure renewal as listed above. Armed security officers and 
armed couriers will incur costs for completing 10 extra hours 
of firearms training, and two extra hours of firearms 
retraining (for each category of firearm). Instructors and 
detector canine handler examiners will incur costs for 
regulatory compliance training. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Instead of requiring instructors and 
examiners to complete a regulatory compliance course and 
then pass a test, the Board might allow these entities to just 
take the test. The Board might also allow these entities to 
attest on their applications that they have read and understand 
relevant regulations and laws, as is allowed by several other 
regulatory Boards in the Commonwealth. The Board also 
might consider alternate, less expensive, requirements for 
private security businesses where the registrant is the only 
employee. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
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regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property. Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§ 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Department of 
Criminal Justice Services, Office of Regulatory Affairs, 
concurs with the economic impact analysis as reviewed by the 
Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed regulation establishes a licensure, 
registration, and certification process for locksmiths, 
detector canine handlers, and detector canine handler 
examiners. The regulation establishes a regulatory fee 
structure; compulsory minimum entry-level training 
standards, including firearms training and qualifications; 
standards of conduct; and administration of the regulatory 
system. These regulations replace emergency regulations 
in effect for the locksmith industry. 

Part I  
Definitions  

6VAC20-171-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 
et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Alarm respondent" means a natural person who responds to 
the signal of an alarm for the purpose of detecting an 
intrusion of the home, business or property of the end user.  

"Armed" means a private security registrant who carries or 
has immediate access to a firearm in the performance of his 
duties.  

"Armed security officer" means a natural person employed 
to (i) safeguard and protect persons and property or (ii) deter 

theft, loss, or concealment of any tangible or intangible 
personal property on the premises he is contracted to protect, 
and who carries or has access to a firearm in the performance 
of his duties.  

"Armored car personnel" means persons who transport or 
offer to transport under armed security from one place to 
another money, negotiable instruments or other valuables in a 
specially equipped motor vehicle with a high degree of 
security and certainty of delivery.  

"Assistant training school director" means a certified 
instructor designated by a private security training school 
director to submit training school session notifications and 
training rosters and perform administrative duties in lieu of 
the director.  

"Board" means the Criminal Justice Services Board or any 
successor board or agency.  

"Business advertising material" means display 
advertisements in telephone directories, letterhead, business 
cards, local newspaper advertising and contracts.  

"Central station dispatcher" means a natural person who 
monitors burglar alarm signal devices, burglar alarms or any 
other electrical, mechanical or electronic device used to 
prevent or detect burglary, theft, shoplifting, pilferage or 
similar losses; used to prevent or detect intrusion; or used 
primarily to summon aid for other emergencies.  

"Certification" means a the method of regulation indicating 
that qualified persons have met the minimum requirements as 
private security services training schools, private security 
services instructors, or compliance agents, or certified 
detector canine handler examiners.  

"Certified training school" means a training school that is 
certified by the department for the specific purpose of training 
private security services business personnel in at least one 
category of the compulsory minimum training standards.  

"Class" means a block of instruction no less than 50 minutes 
in length on a particular subject.  

"Classroom training" means instruction conducted by an 
instructor in person to students in an organized manner 
utilizing a lesson plan. 

"Combat loading" means tactical loading of shotgun while 
maintaining coverage of threat area.  

"Compliance agent" means a natural person who is an owner 
of, or employed by, a licensed private security services 
business. The compliance agent shall assure the compliance 
of the private security services business with all applicable 
requirements as provided in § 9.1-139 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

"Courier" means any armed person who transports or offers 
to transport from one place to another documents or other 
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papers, negotiable or nonnegotiable instruments, or other 
small items of value that require expeditious service.  

"Cruiser safe" means the chamber is empty, the action of the 
shotgun is closed and locked, and magazine tube is loaded. 

"Date of hire" means the date any employee of a private 
security services business or training school performs 
services regulated or required to be regulated by the 
department.  

"Department" or "DCJS" means the Department of Criminal 
Justice Services or any successor agency.  

"Detector canine" means any dog that detects drugs or 
explosives. 

"Detector canine handler" means any individual who uses a 
detector canine in the performance of private security 
services. 

"Detector canine handler examiner" means any individual 
who examines the proficiency and reliability of detector 
canines and detector canine handlers in the detection of drugs 
or explosives. 

"Detector canine team" means the detector canine handler 
and his detector canine performing private security duties. 

"Director" means the chief administrative officer of the 
department.  

"Electronic roster submittal" means the authority given to 
the training director or assistant training director of a private 
security training school, after they have submitted an 
application and the required nonrefundable fee, to submit a 
training school roster to the department electronically through 
the department's online system.  

"Electronic images" mean an acceptable method of 
maintaining required documentation for private security 
services licensed businesses and certified training schools 
through the scanning, storage, and maintenance of verifiable 
electronic copies of original documentation. 

"Electronic security business" means any person who 
engages in the business of or undertakes to (i) install, service, 
maintain, design or consult in the design of any electronic 
security equipment to an end user; (ii) respond to or cause a 
response to electronic security equipment for an end user; or 
(iii) have access to confidential information concerning the 
design, extent, status, password, contact list, or location of an 
end user's electronic security equipment.  

"Electronic security employee" means a natural person who 
is employed by an electronic security business in any capacity 
which may give him access to information concerning the 
design, extent, status, password, contact list, or location of an 
end user's electronic security equipment.  

"Electronic security equipment" means electronic or 
mechanical alarm signaling devices, including burglar alarms 

or holdup alarms or cameras used to detect intrusion, 
concealment or theft to safeguard and protect persons and 
property. This shall not include tags, labels, and other devices 
that are attached or affixed to items offered for sale, library 
books, and other protected articles as part of an electronic 
article surveillance and theft detection and deterrence system.  

"Electronic security sales representative" means a natural 
person who sells electronic security equipment on behalf of 
an electronic security business to the end user.  

"Electronic security technician" means a natural person who 
installs, services, maintains or repairs electronic security 
equipment.  

"Electronic security technician's assistant" means a natural 
person who works as a laborer under the supervision of the 
electronic security technician in the course of his normal 
duties, but who may not make connections to any electronic 
security equipment.  

"Employed" means an employer/employee relationship 
where the employee is providing work in exchange for 
compensation and the employer directly controls the 
employee's conduct and pays taxes on behalf of the employee. 
The term "employed" shall not be construed to include 
independent contractors.  

"Employee" means a natural person employed by a licensee 
to perform private security services that are regulated by the 
department.  

"End user" means any person who purchases or leases 
electronic security equipment for use in that person's home or 
business.  

"Engaging in the business of providing or undertaking to 
provide private security services" means any person who 
solicits business within the Commonwealth of Virginia 
through advertising, business cards, submission of bids, 
contracting, public notice for private security services, 
directly or indirectly, or by any other means.  

"Firearms endorsement" means a method of regulation that 
identifies an individual registered as a private security 
registrant and has successfully completed the annual firearms 
training and has met the requirements as set forth in this 
chapter.  

"Firearms training verification" means verification of 
successful completion of either initial or retraining 
requirements for handgun, or shotgun, or patrol rifle training, 
or both.  

"Firm" means a business entity, regardless of method of 
organization, applying for a an initial or renewal private 
security services business license or for the renewal or 
reinstatement of same private security services training school 
certification.  
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"Incident" means an event that exceeds the normal extent of 
one's duties.  

"In-service training requirement" means the compulsory in-
service training standards adopted by the Criminal Justice 
Services Board for private security services business 
personnel.  

"Intermediate weapon" means a tool not fundamentally 
designed to cause deadly force with conventional use. This 
would exclude all metal ammunition firearms or edged 
weapons. These weapons include but are not limited to 
baton/collapsible baton, chemical irritants, electronic 
restraining devices, projectiles, and other less-lethal weapons 
as defined by the department. 

"Job-related training" means training specifically related to 
the daily job functions of a given category of registration or 
certification as defined in this chapter. Certifiable job-related 
training may include a maximum of one hour of instruction 
dedicated to the review of regulations. 

"Key cutting" means making duplicate keys from an existing 
key and includes no other locksmith services. 

"License number" means the official number issued to a 
private security services business licensed by the department.  

"Licensed firm" means a business entity, regardless of 
method of organization, which holds a valid private security 
services business license issued by the department.  

"Licensee" means a licensed private security services 
business.  

"Locksmith security equipment" means mechanical, 
electrical or electro-mechanical locking devices for the 
control of ingress or egress that do not primarily detect 
intrusion, concealment and theft.  

"Locksmith" means any individual that performs locksmith 
services, or advertises or represents to the general public that 
the individual is a locksmith even if the specific term 
locksmith is substituted with any other term by which a 
reasonable person could construe that the individual 
possesses special skills relating to locks or locking devices, 
including use of the words lock technician, lockman, safe 
technician, safeman, boxman, unlocking technician, lock 
installer, lock opener, physical security technician, or similar 
descriptions. 

"Locksmith services" mean selling; servicing; rebuilding; 
repairing; rekeying; repining; changing the combination to an 
electronic or mechanical locking device; programming either 
keys to a device or the device to accept electronic controlled 
keys; originating keys for locks or copying keys; adjusting or 
installing locks or deadbolts, mechanical or electronic locking 
devices, egress control devices, safes, and vaults; or opening, 
defeating or bypassing locks or latching mechanisms in a 
manner other than intended by the manufacturer with or 

without compensation for the general public or on property 
not his own nor under his own control or authority. 

"Official documentation" means personnel records; DD214; 
copies of business licenses indicating ownership; law-
enforcement transcripts; certificates of training completion; a 
signed letter provided directly by a current or previous 
employer detailing dates of employment and job duties; 
college transcripts; letters of commendation; private security 
services registrations, certifications or licenses from other 
states; and other employment, training, or experience 
verification documents. A resume is not considered official 
documentation.  

"On duty" means the time during which private security 
services business personnel receive or are entitled to receive 
compensation for employment for which a registration or 
certification is required.  

"On-line training" means training approved by the 
department and offered via the Internet or an Intranet for the 
purpose of remote access on-demand or long distance training 
that meets all requirements for compulsory minimum training 
standards. 

"Open breach loading" means a method of loading or 
reloading an empty shotgun with the bolt open. 

"Performance of his duties" means on duty in the context of 
this chapter.  

"Person" means any individual, group of individuals, firm, 
company, corporation, partnership, business, trust, 
association, or other legal entity.  

"Personal protection specialist" means any natural person 
who engages in the duties of providing close protection from 
bodily harm to any person.  

"Physical address" means the location of the building that 
houses a private security services business or training school, 
or the location where the individual principals of a business 
reside. A post office box is not a physical address.  

"Principal" means any sole proprietor, individual listed as an 
officer or director with the Virginia State Corporation 
Commission, board member of the association, or partner of a 
licensed firm or applicant for licensure.  

"Private investigator" means any natural person who 
engages in the business of, or accepts employment to make, 
investigations to obtain information on (i) crimes or civil 
wrongs; (ii) the location, disposition, or recovery of stolen 
property; (iii) the cause of accidents, fires, damages, or 
injuries to persons or to property; or (iv) evidence to be used 
before any court, board, officer, or investigative committee.  

"Private security services business" means any person 
engaged in the business of providing, or who undertakes to 
provide, armored car personnel, security officers, personal 
protection specialists, private investigators, couriers, security 
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canine handlers, security canine teams, detector canine 
handlers, detector canine teams, alarm respondents, 
locksmiths, central station dispatchers, electronic security 
employees, electronic security sales representatives or 
electronic security technicians and their assistants to another 
person under contract, express or implied.  

"Private security services business personnel" means each 
employee of a private security services business who is 
employed as an unarmed security officer, armed security 
officer/courier, armored car personnel, security canine 
handler, detector canine handler, private investigator, 
personal protection specialist, alarm respondent, locksmith, 
central station dispatcher, electronic security employee, 
electronic security sales representative, electronic security 
technician or electronic security technician's assistant.  

"Private security services instructor" means any natural 
person certified by the department to provide mandated 
instruction in private security subjects for a certified private 
security services training school.  

"Private security services registrant" means any qualified 
individual who has met the requirements under Article 6 
(6VAC20-171-120 et seq.) of Part III of this chapter to 
perform the duties of alarm respondent, locksmith, armored 
car personnel, central station dispatcher, courier, electronic 
security sales representative, electronic security technician, 
electronic security technician's assistant, personal protection 
specialist, private investigator, security canine handler, 
detector canine handler, unarmed security officer or armed 
security officer.  

"Private security services training school" means any person 
certified by the department to provide instruction in private 
security subjects for the training of private security services 
business personnel in accordance with this chapter.  

"Reciprocity" means the relation existing between Virginia 
and any other state, commonwealth or providence as 
established by agreements approved by the board.  

"Recognition" means the relation of accepting various 
application requirements between Virginia and any other 
state, commonwealth or providence as established by 
agreements approved by the board.  

"Registration" means a method of regulation which 
identifies individuals as having met the minimum 
requirements for a particular registration category as set forth 
in this chapter.  

"Registration category" means any one of the following 
categories: (i) unarmed security officer and armed security 
officer/courier, (ii) security canine handler, (iii) armored car 
personnel, (iv) private investigator, (v) personal protection 
specialist, (vi) alarm respondent, (vii) central station 
dispatcher, (viii) electronic security sales representative, or 
(ix) electronic security technician, or (x) electronic security 

technician's assistant, (xi) detector canine handler or (xii) 
locksmith.  

"Security canine" means a dog that has attended, completed, 
and been certified as a security canine by a certified security 
canine handler instructor in accordance with approved 
department procedures and certification guidelines. "Security 
canine" shall not include detector dogs.  

"Security canine handler" means any natural person who 
utilizes his security canine in the performance of private 
security duties.  

"Security canine team" means the security canine handler 
and his security canine performing private security duties.  

"Session" means a group of classes comprising the total 
hours of mandated compulsory minimum training standards 
in any of the following categories: unarmed security officer, 
armed security officer/courier, personal protection specialist, 
armored car personnel, security canine handler, private 
investigator, alarm respondent, locksmith, central station 
dispatcher, electronic security sales representative, electronic 
security technician, electronic security technician's assistant 
or compliance agent of licensure, registration, or certification 
in accordance with this article and in accordance with §§ 9.1-
150.2, 9.1-185.2 and 9.1-186.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Supervisor" means any natural person who directly or 
indirectly supervises registered or certified private security 
services business personnel.  

"This chapter" means the Regulations Relating to Private 
Security Services (6VAC20-171) as part of the Virginia 
Administrative Code.  

"Training certification" means verification of the successful 
completion of any training requirement established in this 
chapter.  

"Training requirement" means any entry level, in-service, or 
firearms retraining standard established in this chapter.  

"Training school director" means a natural person 
designated by a principal of a certified private security 
services training school to assure the compliance of the 
private security services training school with all applicable 
requirements as provided in the Code of Virginia and this 
chapter.  

"Unarmed security officer" means a natural person who 
performs the function of observation, detection, reporting, or 
notification of appropriate authorities or designated agents 
regarding persons or property on the premises he is contracted 
to protect, and who does not carry or have access to a firearm 
in the performance of his duties.  

"Uniform" means any clothing with a badge, patch or 
lettering which clearly identifies persons to any observer as 
private security services business personnel, not law-
enforcement officers.  
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Part II  
Application Fees  

6VAC20-171-20. Fees.  

A. Schedule of fees. The fees listed below reflect the costs 
of handling, issuance, and production associated with 
administering and processing applications for licensing, 
registration, certification and other administrative requests for 
services relating to private security services.  

CATEGORIES FEES 

   

CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORDS CHECK  

Fingerprint Processing Application $50

    

LICENSE   

Initial business license $800 

  1 Year License $550 

  2 Year License $800 

Business license renewal (2 Year License) $500 

Business license category fee $50 

    

CERTIFICATIONS   

Initial compliance agent certification 
(includes training) 

$100$50 

Compliance agent certification renewal 
(includes training) 

$50$25 

Initial registration $25 

Registration renewal $20 

Firearms endorsement (annual) $10 

Initial training school $800 

Training school renewal $500 

Training school category fee $50 

Training school electronic roster submittal 
authorization 

$500 

Initial instructor certification $100$50 

Instructor certification renewal $50$25 

Instructor certification category fee $10 

Initial Detector Canine Handler Examiner 
certification 

$50 

Detector Canine Handler Examiner 
Certification renewal 

$25 

Initial certification $25 

Certification renewal $20 

    

REGISTRATION   

Initial registration $25 

Registration renewal $20 

Additional registration category form $20 

Replacement photo identification  $20 

    

TRAINING RELATED   

Firearm Endorsement $30 

Application for Entry-level partial-training 
exemption 

$25 

In Service Training Alternative Credit 
Evaluation 

$25  

Regulatory Compliance entry-level training $75  

Regulatory Compliance In-service training $50  

Fingerprint card processing $50 

Additional registration category form $20 

Replacement photo identification letter $15 

Training completion roster form $30 

General instructor development course $300 

General instructor in service training $50 

Firearms instructor development course $300 

Firearms instructor in service training $50 

Technical assistant training $50 

B. Reinstatement fee.  

1. The department shall collect a reinstatement fee for 
registration, license, or certification renewal applications 
not received on or before the expiration date of the 
expiring registration, license, or certification pursuant to 
6VAC 20-171-180. 

2. The reinstatement fee shall be 50% above and beyond 
the renewal fee of the registration, license, certification, or 
any other credential issued by the department wherein a fee 
is established and renewal is required. 

C. Dishonor of fee payment due to nonsufficient insufficient 
funds. 

1. The department may suspend the registration, license, 
certification, or authority it has granted any person, 
licensee or registrant who submits a check or similar 
instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or 
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regulation which is not honored by the financial institution 
upon which the check or similar instrument is drawn. 

2. The suspension shall become effective upon receipt of 
written notice of the dishonored payment. Upon 
notification of the suspension, the person, registrant or 
licensee may request that the suspended registration, 
license, certification, or authority be reinstated, provided 
payment of the dishonored amount plus any penalties or 
fees required under the statute or regulation accompany the 
request. Suspension under this provision shall be exempt 
from the Administrative Process Act. 

D. Manual processing service fee. The department shall 
collect a $20 service fee for any applications under this 
chapter that are submitted to the department by other means 
than the available electronic methods established by the 
department. 

Part III  
Applications Procedures and Requirements  

Article 1  
Criminal History Records Search  

6VAC20-171-30. Fingerprint processing. 

A. On or before the first date of hire, each person applying 
for licensure as a private security services business, including 
principals, supervisors, and electronic security employees; 
certification as a private security services training school; 
certification as a compliance agent, detector canine handler 
examiner or instructor; or a private security registration or 
private security certification shall submit to the department:  

1. Two One completed fingerprint cards card provided by 
the department or another electronic method approved by 
the department;  

2. A fingerprint processing application;  

3. The applicable, nonrefundable fee; and  

4. All criminal history conviction information on a form 
provided by the department.  

B. The department shall submit those fingerprints to the 
Virginia State Police for the purpose of conducting a Virginia 
Criminal History Records search and a National Criminal 
Records search to determine whether the individual or 
individuals have a record of conviction.  

C. Fingerprints cards found to be unclassifiable will be 
returned to the applicant. Action on the application will be 
suspended suspend all action on the application pending the 
resubmittal resubmission of a classifiable fingerprint cards 
card. The applicant shall be so notified in writing and shall 
must submit a new fingerprint cards and the applicable, 
nonrefundable fee to the department card within 30 days of 
notification before the processing of his application shall 
resume. However, no such fee may be required if the rejected 

fingerprint cards are included and attached to the new 
fingerprint cards when resubmitted and the department is not 
assessed additional processing fees. If a fingerprint card is not 
submitted within the 30 days, the initial fingerprint 
application process will be required to include applicable 
application fees. 

D. If the applicant is denied by DCJS, the department will 
notify the applicant by letter regarding the reasons for the 
denial. The compliance agent will also be notified in writing 
by DCJS that the applicant has been denied.  

E. Fingerprint applications will only be active for 120 days 
from submittal. Application for licenses, registrations, and 
certifications must be submitted within that 120-day period or 
initial fingerprint submittal will be required. 

Article 2  
Private Security Services Business License  

6VAC20-171-50. Initial business license application. 

A. Prior to the issuance of a business license, the applicant 
shall meet or exceed the requirements of licensing and 
application submittal to the department as set forth in this 
section.  

B. Each person seeking a license as a private security 
services business shall file a completed application provided 
by the department including:  

1. For each principal and supervisor of the applying 
business, their fingerprints pursuant to 6VAC20-171-30; 
for each electronic security employee of an electronic 
security services business, their fingerprints pursuant to 
6VAC20-171-30; 

2. Documentation verifying that the applicant has secured a 
surety bond in the amount of $100,000 executed by a 
surety company authorized to do business in Virginia, or a 
certificate of insurance reflecting the department as a 
certificate holder, showing a policy of comprehensive 
general liability insurance with a minimum coverage of 
$100,000 and $300,000 issued by an insurance company 
authorized to do business in Virginia; 

3. For each nonresident applicant for a license, on a form 
provided by the department, a completed irrevocable 
consent for the department to serve as service agent for all 
actions filed in any court in this Commonwealth;  

4. For each applicant for a license as a private security 
services business except sole proprietor or partnership, on 
a form provided by the department shall submit on the 
license application, the identification number issued by the 
Virginia State Corporation Commission for verification 
that the entity is authorized to conduct business in the 
Commonwealth;  

5. A physical address in Virginia where records required to 
be maintained by the Code of Virginia and this chapter are 
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kept and available for inspection by the department. A post 
office box is not a physical address;  

6. 5. On the license application, designation of at least one 
individual as compliance agent who is not designated as 
compliance agent for any other licensee, and who is 
certified or eligible for certification pursuant to 6VAC20-
171-70;  

7. 6. The applicable, nonrefundable license application fee; 
and  

8. 7. Designation on the license application of the type of 
private security business license the applicant is seeking. 
The initial business license fee includes one category. A 
separate fee will be charged for each additional category. 
The separate categories are identified as follows: security 
officers/couriers (armed and unarmed), private 
investigators, electronic security personnel, armored car 
personnel, personal protection specialists, locksmiths, 
detector canine handlers and security canine handlers. 
Alarm respondents crossover into both the security officer 
and electronic security category; therefore, if an applicant 
is licensed in either of these categories, he can provide 
these services without purchasing an additional category 
fee.  

C. Upon completion of the initial license application 
requirements, the department may issue an initial license for a 
period not to exceed 24 months.  

D. The department may issue a letter of temporary licensure 
to businesses seeking licensure under § 9.1-139 of the Code 
of Virginia for not more than 120 days while awaiting the 
results of the state and national fingerprint search conducted 
on the principals and compliance agent of the business, 
provided the applicant has met the necessary conditions and 
requirements.  

E. A new license is required whenever there is any change in 
the ownership or type of organization of the licensed entity 
that results in the creation of a new legal entity. Such changes 
include but are not limited to: 

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general 
partnership or the managing partner in a limited 
partnership; and 

3. Formation or dissolution of a corporation, a limited 
liability company, or an association or any other business 
entity recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth of 
Virginia. 

F. Each license shall be issued to the legal business entity 
named on the application, whether it be a sole proprietorship, 
partnership, corporation, or other legal entity, and shall be 
valid only for the legal entity named on the license. No 
license shall be assigned or otherwise transferred to another 

legal entity, with the exception of a sole proprietorship or 
partnership that incorporates to form a new corporate entity 
where the initial licensee remains as a principal in the newly 
formed corporation. This exception shall not apply to any 
existing corporation that purchases the business or assets of 
an existing sole proprietorship.  

G. Each licensee shall comply with all applicable 
administrative requirements and standards of conduct and 
shall not engage in any acts prohibited by applicable sections 
of the Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

H. Each licensee shall be a United States citizen or legal 
resident alien of the United States.  

6VAC20-171-60. Renewal license application.  

A. Applications for license renewal should be received by 
the department at least 30 days prior to expiration. The 
department will provide a renewal notification to the last 
known mailing address of the licensee. However, if a renewal 
notification is not received by the licensee, it is the 
responsibility of the licensee to ensure renewal requirements 
are filed with the department. License renewal applications 
must be received by the department and all license 
requirements must be completed prior to the expiration date 
or shall be subject to all applicable, nonrefundable renewal 
fees plus reinstatement fees. Outstanding fees or monetary 
penalties owed to DCJS must be paid prior to issuance of said 
renewal.  

B. Licenses will be renewed for a period not to exceed 24 
months.  

C. The department may renew a license when the following 
are received by the department:  

1. A properly completed renewal application;  

2. Documentation verifying that the applicant has secured 
and maintained a surety bond in the amount of $100,000 
executed by a surety company authorized to do business in 
Virginia, or a certificate of insurance reflecting the 
department as a certificate holder, showing a policy of 
comprehensive general liability insurance with a minimum 
coverage of $100,000 and $300,000 issued by an insurance 
company authorized to do business in Virginia;  

3. Fingerprint records for any new or additional principals 
submitted to the department within 30 days of their hire 
date pursuant to 6VAC20-171-30 provided, however, that 
any change in the ownership or type of organization of the 
licensed entity has not resulted in the creation of a new 
legal entity pursuant to 6VAC-20-171-50;  

4. On the application, designation of at least one 
compliance agent who has satisfactorily completed all 
applicable  training requirements;  

5. The applicable, nonrefundable license renewal fee and 
applicable category of service fees; and  
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6. On the first day of employment, each new and additional 
supervisor's fingerprints submitted to the department 
pursuant to § 9.1-139 H of the Code of Virginia.  

D. Each principal and compliance agent listed on the 
business applying for a license renewal application shall be in 
good standing in every jurisdiction where licensed, registered 
or certified in a private security services or related field. This 
subsection shall not apply to any probationary periods during 
which the individual is eligible to operate under the license, 
registration or certification.  

E. Any renewal application received after the expiration date 
of a license shall be subject to the requirements set forth by 
the reinstatement provisions of this chapter.  

F. On the renewal application the licensee must designate 
the type of private security business license he wishes to 
renew. The fee will be based upon the category or categories 
selected on the renewal application pursuant to 6VAC20-171-
20.  

Article 3  
Compliance Agent Certification  

6VAC20-171-70. Compliance agent training and 
certification requirements. 

A. Each person applying for certification as compliance 
agent shall meet the minimum requirements for eligibility:  

1. Be a minimum of 18 years of age;  

2. Have (i) three years of managerial or supervisory 
experience in a private security services business, a federal, 
state, or local law-enforcement agency, or in a related field 
or (ii) five years experience in a private security services 
business, with a federal, state or local law-enforcement 
agency, or in a related field; and  

3. Be a United States citizen or legal resident alien of the 
United States.  

B. Each person applying for certification as compliance 
agent shall file with the department:  

1. A properly completed application provided by the 
department;  

2. Fingerprint cards card pursuant to 6VAC20-171-30;  

3. Official documentation verifying that the individual has 
(i) three years of managerial or supervisory experience in a 
private security services business, a federal, state, or local 
law-enforcement agency, or in a related field or (ii) five 
years experience in a private security services business, 
with a federal, state or local law-enforcement agency, or in 
a related field; and  

4. The applicable, nonrefundable application fee.  

C. Following review of all application requirements, the 
department shall assign the applicant to an entry level 

compliance agent training session provided by the 
department, at which the applicant must successfully 
complete the applicable entry level compliance agent training 
requirements pursuant to this chapter and achieve a passing 
score of 80% on the compliance agent examination. The 
department may issue a certification for a period not to 
exceed 24 months when the following are received by the 
department: 

1. A properly completed application provided by the 
department;  

2. The applicable, nonrefundable certification fee; 

3. Verification of eligibility pursuant to § 9.1-139 A of the 
Code of Virginia; and 

4. Verification of satisfactory completion of department 
regulatory compliance entry-level training requirements 
pursuant to 6VAC20-171-72 of this chapter. 

D. Following completion of the entry level training 
requirements, the compliance agent must complete in-service 
training pursuant to the compulsory minimum training 
standards set forth by this chapter.  

E. D. Each compliance agent shall comply with all 
applicable administrative requirements and standards of 
conduct and shall not engage in any acts prohibited by 
applicable sections of the Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

6VAC20-171-71. Compliance agent certification renewal 
requirements. 

A. Applications for certification renewal should be received 
by the department at least 30 days prior to expiration. The 
department will provide a renewal notification to the last 
known mailing address or email address provided by the 
certified compliance agent. However, if a renewal notification 
is not received by the compliance agent, it is the 
responsibility of the compliance agent to ensure renewal 
requirements are filed with the department. Certification 
renewal applications received by the department after the 
expiration date shall be subject to all applicable, 
nonrefundable renewal fees plus reinstatement fees. 

B. Each person applying for compliance agent certification 
renewal shall meet the minimum requirements for eligibility 
as follows:  

1. Successfully apply on an application provided by the 
department, and complete the in-service regulatory 
compliance agent classroom training session provided by 
the department, or successfully complete an approved 
online in-service training session pursuant to 6VAC20-
171-72. Training must be completed within the 12 months 
immediately preceding the expiration date of the current 
certification pursuant to the certification training standards 
in 6VAC20-171-72; and 
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2. Be in good standing in every jurisdiction where licensed, 
registered, or certified in private security services or 
related field. This subdivision shall not apply to any 
probationary periods during which the individual is eligible 
to operate under the license, registration, or certification. 

C. The department may renew a certification for a period not 
to exceed 24 months. 

D. The department may renew a certification when the 
following are received by the department: 

1. A properly completed renewal application provided by 
the department;  

2. The applicable, nonrefundable certification renewal fee; 
and 

3. Verification of satisfactory completion of department 
regulatory compliance agent in-service training pursuant to 
6VAC20-171-72. 

E. Any renewal application received after the expiration date 
of a certification shall be subject to the requirements set forth 
by the reinstatement provisions of this chapter. 

6VAC20-171-72. Compliance agent regulatory compliance 
training requirements. 

A. Each eligible person applying to attend a regulatory 
compliance entry-level or in-service training session provided 
by the department shall file with the department: 

1. A properly completed application provided by the 
department; and 

2. The applicable, nonrefundable application fee. 

Upon receipt of the training enrollment application the 
department will assign the applicant to a training session 
provided by the department. Applicants for initial 
certification as a compliance agent must achieve a minimum 
passing score of 80% on the entry-level regulatory 
compliance training examination. 

B. Department entry-level regulatory compliance training 
must be completed within 12 months of approval of 
application for an initial compliance agent certification. 

C. Each person certified by the department to act as a 
compliance agent shall complete the department in-service 
regulatory compliance training within the last 12-month 
period of certification.  

Article 4  
Private Security Services Training School Certification  

6VAC20-171-80. Initial training school application. 

A. Prior to the issuance of a training school certification, the 
applicant shall meet or exceed the requirements of 
certification and application submittal to the department as set 
forth in this section.  

B. Each person seeking certification as a private security 
services training school shall file a completed application 
provided by the department to include:  

1. For each principal of the applying training school, their 
fingerprints pursuant to 6VAC20-171-30;  

2. Documentation verifying that the applicant has secured a 
surety bond in the amount of $100,000 executed by a 
surety company authorized to do business in Virginia, or a 
certificate of insurance reflecting the department as a 
certificate holder, showing a policy of comprehensive 
general liability insurance with a minimum coverage of 
$100,000 and $300,000 issued by an insurance company 
authorized to do business in Virginia;  

3. For each nonresident applicant for a training school, on a 
form provided by the department, a completed irrevocable 
consent for the department to serve as service agent for all 
actions filed in any court in this Commonwealth;  

4. For each applicant for certification as a private security 
services training school except sole proprietor and 
partnership, on a form certification application provided by 
the department, the identification number issued by the 
Virginia State Corporation Commission for verification 
that the entity is authorized to conduct business in the 
Commonwealth;  

5. A physical location in Virginia where records required 
to be maintained by the Code of Virginia and this chapter 
are kept and available for inspection by the department. A 
post office box is not a physical location;  

6. 5. On the training school certification application, 
designation of at least one individual as training director 
who is not designated as training director for any other 
training school, and who is certified as an instructor 
pursuant to Article 5 (6VAC20-171-100 et seq.) of this 
part. A maximum of four individuals may be designated as 
an assistant training school director;  

7. 6. A copy of the curriculum in course outline format for 
each category of training to be offered, including the hours 
of instruction with initial and in-service courses on 
separate documents;  

8. 7. A copy of the training school regulations;  

9. 8. A copy of the training completion certificate to be 
used by the training school;  

10. 9. A copy of the range regulations to include the 
assigned DCJS range identification number if firearms 
training will be offered; and  

11. 10. The applicable, nonrefundable training school 
certification application fee. 

11. On the certification application, selection of the 
category of training the applicant is seeking to provide. 
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The initial training school certification fee includes one 
category. A separate fee will be charged for each additional 
category of training. The separate categories are identified 
as follows: (i) security officers/couriers/alarm respondent 
(armed and unarmed) to include arrest authority and 
firearms training, (ii) private investigators, (iii) locksmiths, 
electronic security personnel to include central station 
dispatchers, (iv) armored car personnel, (v) personal 
protection specialists, (vi) detector canine handlers, 
security canine handlers, (vii) special conservators of the 
peace pursuant to § 9.1-150 of the Code of Virginia, and 
(viii) bail bondsmen pursuant to § 9.1-185 of the Code of 
Virginia, bail enforcement agents pursuant to § 9.1-186 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

C. When the department has received and processed a 
completed application and accompanying material, the 
department shall may inspect the training facilities to ensure 
conformity with department policy, including an inspection of 
the firearms range, if applicable, to ensure conformity with 
the minimum requirements set forth by this chapter.  

D. Upon completion of the initial training school application 
requirements, the department may issue an initial certification 
for a period not to exceed 24 months.  

E. The department may issue a letter of temporary 
certification to training schools for not more than 120 days 
while awaiting the results of the state and national fingerprint 
search conducted on the principals and training director of the 
business, provided the applicant has met the necessary 
conditions and requirements.  

F. A new certification is required whenever there is any 
change in the ownership or type of organization of the 
certified entity that results in the creation of a new legal 
entity. Such changes include but are not limited to: 

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general 
partnership or the managing partner in a limited 
partnership; and 

3. Formation or dissolution of a corporation, a limited 
liability company, or an association or any other business 
entity recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth of 
Virginia. 

G. Each certification shall be issued to the legal entity 
named on the application, whether it be a sole proprietorship, 
partnership, corporation, or other legal entity, and shall be 
valid only for the legal entity named on the certification. No 
certification shall be assigned or otherwise transferred to 
another legal entity, with the exception of a sole 
proprietorship or partnership that incorporates to form a new 
corporate entity where the initial licensee remains as a 
principal in the newly formed corporation. This exception 

shall not apply to any existing corporation that purchases the 
training school or assets of an existing sole proprietorship.  

H. Each certified training school shall comply with all 
applicable administrative requirements and standards of 
conduct and shall not engage in any acts prohibited by 
applicable sections of the Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

6VAC20-171-90. Renewal training school application. 

A. Applications for certification renewal should be received 
by the department at least 30 days prior to expiration. The 
department will provide a renewal notification to the last 
known mailing address of or email address provided by the 
certified training school. However, if a renewal notification is 
not received by the training school, it is the responsibility of 
the training school to ensure renewal requirements are filed 
with the department. Certification renewal applications 
received by the department after the expiration date shall be 
subject to all applicable, nonrefundable renewal fees plus 
reinstatement fees. Outstanding fees or monetary penalties 
owed to DCJS must be paid prior to issuance of said renewal.  

B. Upon completion of the renewal training school 
application requirements, the department may issue a renewal 
certification for a period not to exceed 24 months.  

C. The department may renew a certification when the 
following are received by the department:  

1. A properly completed renewal application;  

2. Documentation verifying that the applicant has secured 
and maintained a surety bond in the amount of $100,000 
executed by a surety company authorized to do business in 
Virginia, or a certificate of insurance reflecting the 
department as a certificate holder, showing a policy of 
comprehensive general liability insurance with a minimum 
coverage of $100,000 and $300,000 issued by an insurance 
company authorized to do business in Virginia;  

3. On the application, designation of at least one certified 
instructor as training director who has satisfactorily 
completed all applicable training requirements; and  

4. Fingerprints for each new and additional principal 
pursuant to § 9.1-139 H of the Code of Virginia.  

5. The applicable, nonrefundable certification renewal fee. 

6. The applicable, nonrefundable category fee and 
documentation required pursuant to 6VAC20-171-80 for 
any new categories of training. 

D. Each principal and instructor listed on the license training 
school applying for a certification renewal application shall 
be in good standing in every jurisdiction where licensed, 
registered or certified in private security services or related 
field. This subsection shall not apply to any probationary 
periods during which the individual is eligible to operate 
under the license, registration or certification.  
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E. Any renewal application received after the expiration date 
of a certification shall be subject to the requirements set forth 
by the reinstatement provisions of this chapter pursuant to 
6VAC20-171-180. 

Article 5  
Private Security Services Instructor Certification  

6VAC20-171-100. Initial instructor application.  

A. Each person applying for certification as an instructor 
shall meet the following minimum requirements for 
eligibility:  

1. Be a minimum of 18 years of age;  

2. Have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED);  

3. Have either (i) successfully completed a DCJS instructor 
development course within the three years immediately 
preceding the date of the application or submitted a waiver 
application for an instructor development course that meets 
or exceeds standards established by the department; or (ii) 
successfully completed an approved DCJS instructor 
development program longer than three years prior to the 
date of application, and provided documented instruction 
during the three years immediately preceding or provided 
documented instruction in a related field at an institution of 
higher learning;  

4. Have a minimum of (i) three years management or 
supervisory experience with a private security services 
business or with any federal, military police, state, county 
or municipal law-enforcement agency, or in a related field; 
or (ii) five years general experience in a private security 
services business, with a federal, state or local law-
enforcement agency, or in a related field; or (iii) one year 
experience as an instructor or teacher at an accredited 
educational institution or agency in the subject matter for 
which certification is requested, or in a related field; and  

5. Have previous training and a minimum of two years 
work experience for those subjects in which certification is 
requested; and 

5. 6. Be a United State States citizen or legal resident alien 
of the United States.  

B. Each person applying for certification as an instructor 
shall file with the department:  

1. A properly completed application provided by the 
department;  

2. Fingerprint cards card pursuant to 6VAC20-171-30;  

3. Official documentation verifying that the applicant 
meets the minimum eligibility requirements pursuant to 
this section;  

4. Official documentation verifying previous instructor 
experience, training, work experience and education for 

those subjects in which certification is requested. The 
department will evaluate qualifications based upon the 
justification provided;  

5. 4. The applicable, nonrefundable application fee; and  

6. 5. Evidence of status as a United States citizen or legal 
resident alien of the United States.  

C. Following review of all application requirements, the 
department shall verify eligibility and authorize the applicant 
to submit a regulatory compliance training enrollment 
application for an entry-level instructor regulatory 
compliance classroom training session provided by the 
department, or approve the applicant for taking the approved 
online training session pursuant to 6VAC20-171-111, at 
which the applicant must successfully complete the applicable 
entry-level regulatory compliance training requirements 
pursuant to this chapter and achieve a passing score of 80% 
on the regulatory compliance examination. 

C. D. In addition to the instructor qualification requirements 
described in subsections A and B through C of this section, 
each applicant for certification as a firearms instructor shall 
submit to the department:  

1. Official documentation that the applicant has 
successfully completed a DCJS firearms instructor school 
or a waiver application with supporting documentation 
demonstrating completion of a firearms instructor school 
specifically designed for law-enforcement or private 
security personnel that meets or exceeds standards 
established by the department within the three years 
immediately preceding the date of the instructor 
application.  

2. Official documentation in the form of a signed, dated 
range sheet identifying the type, caliber, and action, along 
with the qualification score and course of fire that the 
applicant has successfully qualified, with a minimum range 
qualification of 85%, with each of the following:  

a. A revolver;  

b. A semi-automatic handgun; and  

c. A shotgun. 

3. Firearms instructors applying to provide patrol rifle 
training in accordance with 6VAC20-171-395 must submit 
official documentation in the form of a signed, dated range 
sheet that the applicant has successfully qualified, with a 
minimum range qualification of 85%, with a patrol rifle. 

4. Range qualifications must have been completed within 
the 12 months immediately preceding the instructor 
application date and have been completed at a Virginia 
criminal justice agency, training academy, correctional 
facility, or certified private security training school. The 
qualifications must be documented by another instructor 
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certified as a law-enforcement firearms instructor or 
private security services firearms instructor. 

3. 5. The firearms instructor training must have been 
completed within the three years immediately preceding 
the date of the instructor application; or in the event that 
the school completion occurred prior to three years, the 
applicant shall have provided firearms instruction during 
the three years immediately preceding the date of the 
instructor application.  

D. E. Upon completion of the initial instructor application 
requirements, the department may issue an initial certification 
for a period not to exceed 24 months.  

E. F. The department may issue a letter of temporary 
certification to instructors for not more than 120 days while 
awaiting the results of the state and national fingerprint search 
provided the applicant has met the necessary conditions and 
requirements.  

F. G. Each certification shall be issued to the individual 
named on the application and shall be valid only for use by 
that individual. No certification shall be assigned or otherwise 
transferred to another individual.  

G. H. Each instructor shall comply with all applicable 
administrative requirements and standards of conduct and 
shall not engage in any acts prohibited by applicable sections 
of the Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

6VAC20-171-110. Renewal instructor application. 

A. Applications for certification renewal should be received 
by the department at least 30 days prior to expiration. The 
department will provide a renewal notification to the last 
known mailing address of or email address provided by the 
certified instructor. However, if a renewal notification is not 
received by the instructor, it is the responsibility of the 
instructor to ensure renewal requirements are filed with the 
department. Certification renewal applications received by the 
department after the expiration date shall be subject to all 
applicable, nonrefundable renewal fees plus reinstatement 
fees.  

B. Each person applying for instructor certification renewal 
shall meet the minimum requirements for eligibility as 
follows:  

1. Successfully complete the in-service training regulatory 
compliance classroom training session provided by the 
department, or successfully complete an approved online 
in-service training session pursuant to 6VAC20-171-111 
within the 12 months immediately preceding the expiration 
date of the current certification pursuant to the compulsory 
minimum training standards in 6VAC20-171-360; and;  

2. Successfully complete a minimum of 4 hours of 
continuing education in instructor development. Training 

must be completed within the 12 months immediately 
preceding the expiration date of the current certification; 

3. Successfully complete a minimum of 2 hours of 
professional development for topics related to each 
category of instructor certification during the certification 
period; and 

2. 4. Be in good standing in every jurisdiction where 
licensed, registered or certified in a private security 
services or related field. This subdivision shall not apply to 
any probationary periods during which the individual is 
eligible to operate under the license, registration or 
certification.  

C. The department may renew a certification for a period not 
to exceed 24 months.  

D. The department may renew a certification when the 
following are received by the department:  

1. A properly completed renewal application provided by 
the department; and  

2. The applicable, nonrefundable certification renewal fee.; 

3. Verification of satisfactory completion of regulatory 
compliance in-service training provided by the department; 

4. Verification of satisfactory completion of instructor 
development continuing education requirements;  

5. Verification of 2 hours of professional development 
training in each category of certification taken during the 
certification period; and 

6. For firearms instructors, official documentation in the 
form of a signed, dated range sheet identifying the type, 
caliber, and action, along with the qualification score and 
course of fire, with a minimum range qualification of 85%, 
with each of the following: 

a. A revolver; 

b. A semi-automatic handgun; and 

c. A shotgun. 

7. Firearms instructors applying to provide patrol rifle 
training in accordance with 6VAC20-171-395 must submit 
official documentation in the form of a signed, dated range 
sheet that the applicant has successfully qualified, with a 
minimum range qualification of 85%, with a patrol rifle. 

8. Range qualifications must have been completed within 
the 12 months immediately preceding the instructor 
application date and have been completed at a Virginia 
criminal justice agency, training academy, correctional 
facility, or certified private security training school. The 
qualifications must be documented by another instructor 
certified as a law-enforcement firearms instructor or 
private security services firearms instructor. 
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E. Any instructor renewal application received by the 
department shall meet all renewal requirements prior to the 
expiration date of a certification or shall be subject to the 
requirements set forth by the reinstatement provisions of this 
chapter.  

6VAC20-171-111. Instructor regulatory compliance 
training requirements. 

A. Each eligible person applying to attend a regulatory 
compliance entry-level or in-service training session provided 
by the department shall file with the department: 

1. A properly completed application provided by the 
department; and 

2. The applicable, nonrefundable application fee. 

Upon receipt of the training enrollment application the 
department will assign the applicant to a regulatory 
compliance training session provided by the department. 
Applicants for initial certification as an instructor must 
achieve a minimum passing score of 80% on the entry-level 
regulatory compliance examination. 

B. Department entry-level regulatory compliance training 
must be completed within 12 months of approval of 
application for an initial instructor certification. 

6VAC20-171-115. Initial detector canine handler 
examiner certification. 

A. Each person applying for certification as a detector 
canine handler examiner shall meet the following minimum 
requirements for eligibility:  

1. Be a minimum of 18 years of age;  

2. Have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED);  

3. Have a minimum of five years experience as a detector 
canine handler and a minimum of two years experience as 
a detector canine trainer; 

4. Have an active certification as a detector canine handler 
examiner or equivalent credential from a department 
approved national organization, unit of the United States 
military, or other formal entity; or be sponsored by a 
certified DCJS private security services detector canine 
handler examiner; 

5. Successfully pass a written examination and 
performance evaluations according to department 
guidelines; and 

6. Be a United States citizen or legal resident alien of the 
United States.  

B. Each person applying for certification as a detector 
canine handler examiner shall file with the department:  

1. A properly completed application provided by the 
department;  

2. Fingerprint card pursuant to 6VAC20-171-30;  

3. Official documentation according to subdivisions A 3 
and 4 of this section; and 

4. The applicable, nonrefundable application fee.  

C. Following review of all application requirements, the 
department shall verify eligibility and authorize the applicant 
to submit a regulatory compliance training enrollment 
application pursuant to 6VAC20-171-117 for an entry-level 
classroom training session provided by the department, or 
approve the applicant for taking the approved online training 
session pursuant to 6VAC20-171-117, at which the applicant 
must successfully complete the applicable entry-level 
regulatory compliance training requirements pursuant to this 
chapter and achieve a passing score of 80% on the 
examination. 

D. Upon completion of the initial detector canine handler 
examiner application requirements, the department may issue 
an initial certification for a period not to exceed 24 months.  

E. The department may issue a letter of temporary 
certification to detector canine handler examiners  for not 
more than 120 days while awaiting the results of the state and 
national fingerprint search provided the applicant has met the 
necessary conditions and requirements.  

F. Each certification shall be issued to the individual named 
on the application and shall be valid only for use by that 
individual. No certification shall be assigned or otherwise 
transferred to another individual.  

G. Each detector canine handler examiner shall comply with 
all applicable administrative requirements and standards of 
conduct and shall not engage in any acts prohibited by 
applicable sections of the Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

6VAC20-171-116. Renewal detector canine handler 
examiner certification. 

A. Applications for certification renewal should be received 
by the department at least 30 days prior to expiration. The 
department will provide a renewal notification to the last 
known mailing address of the certified examiner. However, if 
a renewal notification is not received by the examiner, it is 
the responsibility of the examiner to ensure renewal 
requirements are filed with the department. Certification 
renewal applications received by the department after the 
expiration date shall be subject to all applicable, 
nonrefundable renewal fees plus reinstatement fees.  

B. Each person applying for examiner certification renewal 
shall meet the minimum requirements for eligibility as 
follows:  

1. Have maintained certification as a detector canine 
handler examiner or equivalent credential according to 
6VAC20-171-115 A 4 or demonstrate the completion of a 
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minimum of 16 hours of continuing education during the 
previous certification period; and  

2. Be in good standing in every jurisdiction where licensed, 
registered, or certified. This subdivision shall not apply to 
any probationary periods during which the individual is 
eligible to operate under the license, registration, or 
certification.  

C. The department may renew a certification for a period not 
to exceed 24 months.  

D. The department may renew a certification when the 
following are received by the department:  

1. A properly completed renewal application provided by 
the department;  

2. The applicable, nonrefundable certification renewal fee.; 
and 

3. Official documentation according to subsection B 1 of 
this section.  

E. Any examiner renewal application received by the 
department shall meet all renewal requirements prior to the 
expiration date of a certification or shall be subject to the 
requirements set forth by the reinstatement provisions of this 
chapter. 

6VAC20-171-117. Detector canine handler examiner 
regulatory compliance training enrollment. 

A. Each eligible person applying to attend a regulatory 
compliance entry-level training session provided by the 
department shall file with the department: 

1. A properly completed application provided by the 
department; and 

2. The applicable, nonrefundable application fee. 

Upon receipt of the training enrollment application the 
department will assign the applicant to a regulatory 
compliance examiner training session provided by the 
department, at which the applicant must successfully 
complete the applicable training requirements. Applicants for 
initial certification as an examiner must achieve a minimum 
passing score of 80% on the entry-level examination. 

B. Department entry-level regulatory compliance training 
must be completed within 12 months of approval of 
application for an initial examiner certification. 

Article 6  
Private Security Services Registration  

6VAC20-171-120. Initial registration application. 

A. Individuals required to be registered, pursuant to § 9.1-
139 C of the Code of Virginia, in the categories of armored 
car personnel, courier, unarmed security officer, armed 
security officer, security canine handler, explosives detector 

canine handler, narcotics detector canine handler, private 
investigator, personal protection specialist, alarm respondent, 
locksmith, central station dispatcher, electronic security sales 
representative, electronic security technician, or electronic 
security technician's assistant shall meet all registration 
requirements in this section. Prior to the issuance of a 
registration, the applicant shall meet or exceed the 
requirements of registration and application submittal to the 
department as set forth in this section. Individuals who carry 
or have access to a firearm while on duty must have a valid 
registration with a firearm endorsement pursuant to 6VAC20-
171-140. If carrying a handgun concealed, the individual 
must also have a valid concealed handgun permit and the 
written permission of his employer pursuant to § 18.2-308 of 
the Code of Virginia.  

B. Each person applying for registration shall meet the 
minimum requirements for eligibility as follows:  

1. Be a minimum of 18 years of age;  

2. Successfully complete all initial training requirements 
for each registration category requested, including firearms 
endorsement if applicable, requested pursuant to the 
compulsory minimum training standards in 6VAC20-171-
360 6VAC20-171-350; and  

3. Be a United States citizen or legal resident alien of the 
United States.  

C. Each person applying for registration shall file with the 
department:  

1. A properly completed application provided by the 
department;  

2. On the application, his mailing address;  

3. Fingerprint cards card pursuant to 6VAC20-171-30; and  

4. A photo taken by a certified private security services 
training school or other site approved by the department; 
and 

5. The applicable, nonrefundable application fee.  

D. Each person seeking or required to seek registration as 
unarmed security officer, alarm respondent, locksmith, central 
station dispatcher, electronic security sales representative, 
electronic security technician, or electronic security 
technician's assistant may be employed for a period not to 
exceed 90 consecutive days in any categories listed above 
while completing the compulsory minimum training 
standards, provided:  

1. Fingerprint cards Fingerprints have been submitted 
pursuant to 6VAC20-171-30;  

2. The individual is not employed in excess of 120 days 
without having been issued a registration from the 
department; and  
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3. The individual did not fail to timely complete the 
required training with previous employer(s).  

E. Upon completion of the initial registration application 
requirements, the department may issue an initial registration 
letter for a period not to exceed 24 months. This registration 
letter shall be submitted by the applicant to the Virginia 
Department of Motor Vehicles or other specified entity for a 
state-issued photo identification card.  

F. The department may issue a letter of temporary 
registration for not more than 120 days while awaiting the 
results of the state and national fingerprint search, provided 
the applicant has met the necessary conditions and 
requirements.  

G. Each registration shall be issued to the individual named 
on the application and shall be valid only for use by that 
individual. No registration shall be assigned or otherwise 
transferred to another individual.  

H. Each registered individual shall comply with all 
applicable administrative requirements and standards of 
conduct and shall not engage in any acts prohibited by 
applicable sections of the Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

6VAC20-171-130. Renewal registration application. 

A. Applications for registration renewal shall meet all 
renewal requirements and should be received by the 
department at least 30 days prior to expiration. The 
department will provide a renewal notification to the last 
known mailing address of or email address provided by the 
registered individual. However, if a renewal notification is 
not received by the individual, it is the responsibility of the 
individual to ensure renewal requirements are filed with the 
department. Registration renewal applications received by the 
department after the expiration date shall be subject to all 
applicable, nonrefundable renewal fees plus reinstatement 
fees.  

B. Each person applying for registration renewal shall meet 
the minimum requirements for eligibility as follows:  

1. Successfully complete the in-service training, and 
firearms retraining if applicable, pursuant to the 
compulsory minimum training standards set forth by this 
chapter; and  

2. Be in good standing in every jurisdiction where licensed, 
registered or certified. This subdivision shall not apply to 
any probationary periods during which the individual is 
eligible to operate under the license, registration or 
certification.  

C. The department may renew a registration when the 
following are received by the department:  

1. A properly completed renewal application provided by 
the department;  

2. For individuals applying for renewal with the category 
of armored car personnel, fingerprint cards card submitted 
pursuant to 6VAC20-171-30;  

3. The applicable, nonrefundable registration renewal fee; 
and  

4. For individuals with firearms endorsements, evidence of 
completion of annual firearms retraining in accordance 
with 6VAC20-171-400. Part V, Article 2 (6VAC20-171-
365 et seq.) of this chapter; and 

5. Upon the request of the department, a new photo taken 
by a certified private security services training school or 
other site approved by the department. 

D. Upon completion of the renewal registration application 
requirements, the department may issue a registration letter 
for a period not to exceed 24 months. This registration letter 
shall be submitted by the applicant to the Virginia 
Department of Motor Vehicles or other specified entity for a 
state-issued photo identification card.  

E. Any renewal application received by the department shall 
meet all renewal requirements prior to the expiration date of a 
registration or shall be subject to the requirements set forth by 
the reinstatement provisions of this chapter pursuant to 
6VAC20-171-180.  

6VAC20-171-135. Firearms endorsement. 

A. Firearms training endorsement is required for all private 
security services business personnel who carry or have 
immediate access to a firearm while on duty. Each person 
who carries or has immediate access to firearms while on 
duty shall qualify with each type of action and caliber of 
firearm to which he has access.  

B. Each person applying for a firearms endorsement shall 
meet the minimum requirements for eligibility as follows:  

1. Must be registered in a regulated category. 

2. Must complete entry-level handgun, and if applicable, 
shotgun and patrol rifle training as described in Part V, 
Article 2 (6VAC20-171-360 et seq.) of this chapter. 

C. All armed private security services business personnel 
with the exception of personal protection specialist must 
satisfactorily complete firearms retraining prescribed in 
6VAC20-171-400. 

D. All armed personal protection specialist must 
satisfactorily complete firearms retraining prescribed in 
6VAC20-171-420.  

E. Firearms endorsements are issued for a period not to 
exceed 12 months. Individuals must complete firearms 
retraining within the 90 days prior to the expiration of their 
current firearm endorsement or will be required to complete 
entry-level training requirements prior to applying for an 
active endorsement. 
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6VAC20-171-170. Replacement state issued photo 
identification letter.  

Registered individuals seeking a replacement state issued 
photo identification letter card shall submit to the department:  

1. A properly completed application provided by the 
department; and  

2. The applicable, nonrefundable application fee.  

Article 8  
Reinstatement and Renewal Extension  

6VAC20-171-180. Reinstatement.  

A. Any business license, training school, instructor, 
compliance agent, detector canine handler examiner 
certification, instructor certification or registration not 
renewed on or before the expiration date shall become null 
and void. Pursuant to the Code of Virginia, all such persons 
must currently be licensed, registered or certified with the 
department to provide private security services.  

B. A renewal application must be received by the 
department within 60 days following the expiration date of 
the license, certification or registration in order to be 
reinstated by the department providing all renewal 
requirements have been met. Prior to reinstatement the 
following shall be submitted to the department:  

1. The appropriate renewal application and completion of 
renewal requirements including required training pursuant 
to this chapter; and  

2. The applicable, nonrefundable reinstatement fee 
pursuant to this chapter and in accordance with 6VAC20-
171-20 B.  

The department shall not reinstate renewal applications 
received after the 60-day reinstatement period has expired. 
It is unlawful to operate without a valid registration, 
certification, or license including during reinstatement 
period.  

The department shall not reinstate business licenses or 
training school certifications that have become null and void 
due to not maintaining required insurance or surety bond 
coverage.  

C. No license, registration or certification shall be renewed 
or reinstated when all renewal application requirements are 
received by the department more than 60 days following the 
expiration date of the license. After that date, the applicant 
shall meet all initial application requirements, including 
applicable training requirements.  

D. Following submittal of all reinstatement requirements, 
the department will process and may approve any application 
for reinstatement pursuant to the renewal process for the 
application.  

E. When a license, certification, or registration is reinstated, 
the applicant shall continue to have the same DCJS number 
and shall be assigned an expiration date two years from the 
previous expiration date of the license, certification, or 
registration. 

F. An applicant who reinstates shall be regarded as having 
been continuously licensed, certified, or registered without 
interruption. Therefore, the applicant shall remain under the 
disciplinary authority of the department during this entire 
period and may be held accountable for his activities during 
this period. 

G. A person who fails to reinstate his license, certification, 
or registration shall be regarded as unlicensed, uncertified, or 
unregistered from the expiration date of the license, 
certification, or registration forward. 

H. Nothing in this chapter shall divest the department of its 
authority to discipline a person for a violation of the law or 
regulations during the period of time for which the person 
was licensed, certified, or registered. 

6VAC20-171-190. Renewal extension.  

A. An extension of the time period to meet renewal 
requirements may be approved only under specific 
circumstances which do not allow private security personnel, 
businesses, or training schools to complete the required 
procedures within the prescribed time period. The following 
are the only circumstances for which extensions may be 
granted:  

1. Extended illness;  

2. Extended injury;  

3. Military or foreign service; or  

4. Any emergency temporary assignment of private 
security personnel for purposes of (i) natural disaster, (ii) 
homeland security or (iii) documented threat, by the 
private security services business or training school for 
which he is employed.  

B. A request for extension shall:  

1. Be submitted in writing, dated and signed by the 
individual or principal of a licensed entity prior to the 
expiration date of the time limit required for completion of 
the requirements. This requirement may be waived by the 
department based on an evaluation of the justification for 
waiver. 

2. Indicate the projected date the person, business, or 
training school will be able to comply with the 
requirements; and  

3. Include a copy of the physician's record of the injury or 
illness, or a copy of the government orders or 
documentation of emergency temporary assignment.  
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C. No extension will be approved for registrations, 
certifications, or business licenses that have expired with the 
exception of cases involving military or foreign services.  

D. C. Applications for additional extensions may be 
approved upon written request of the person, business, or 
training school.  

D. The total time for renewal extension, including additional 
extensions, shall not exceed 12 months beyond the original 
expiration date. If renewal requirements are not met during 
the period of extension, the individual must complete all 
initial training requirements to include applicable entry-level 
training. 

E. The private security services person, business, or training 
school shall be nonoperational during the period of extension.  

Article 9  
Application Sanctions; Exemptions, Recognition/Reciprocity  

6VAC20-171-200. Denial, probation, suspension and 
revocation. 

A. The department may deny a license, registration or 
certification in which any person or principal of an applying 
business has been convicted in any jurisdiction of any felony 
or of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, assault and 
battery, damage to real or personal property, controlled 
substances or imitation controlled substances as defined in 
Article 1 (§ 18.2-247 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of the 
Code of Virginia, prohibited sexual behavior as described in 
Article 7 (§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 18.2 of the 
Code of Virginia, or firearms. Any plea of nolo contendere 
shall be considered a conviction for the purposes of this 
chapter. The record of a conviction, authenticated in such 
form as to be admissible in evidence under the laws of the 
jurisdiction where convicted, shall be admissible as prima 
facie evidence of such conviction.  

B. The department may deny a license, registration or 
certification in which any person or principal of an applying 
business or training school has not maintained good standing 
in every jurisdiction where licensed, registered or certified in 
a private security services or related field; or has had his 
license, registration or certification denied upon initial 
application, suspended, revoked, surrendered, or not renewed; 
or has otherwise been disciplined in connection with a 
disciplinary action prior to applying for licensing, registration 
or certification in Virginia.  

C. Any false or misleading statement on any state 
application or supporting documentation is grounds for denial 
or revocation and may be subject to criminal prosecution.  

D. The department may deny licensure to a firm, 
certification, or registration for other just cause.  

E. A licensee, training school, compliance agent, instructor, 
detector canine handler examiner, or registered individual 

shall be subject to disciplinary action for violations or 
noncompliance with the Code of Virginia or this chapter. 
Disciplinary action shall be in accordance with procedures 
prescribed by the Administrative Process Act. The 
disciplinary action may include but is not limited to a letter of 
censure, fine, probation, suspension or revocation.  

F. If a registrant or certified person is subject to disciplinary 
action for violations or noncompliance with the Code of 
Virginia or this chapter, the department will notify the last 
known licensed or certified private security services business 
or training school. 

Part IV  
Administrative Requirements/Standards of Conduct  

Article 1  
Private Security Services Businesses  

6VAC20-171-215. General requirements. 

All private security services registered and certified 
personnel, licensed businesses and certified training schools 
are required to maintain administrative requirements and 
standards of conduct as determined by the Code of Virginia, 
department guidelines and this chapter.  

6VAC20-171-220. Business administrative requirements. 

A licensee shall:  

1. Maintain at all times with the department its email 
address and physical location in Virginia where records 
required to be maintained by the Code of Virginia and this 
chapter are kept and available for inspection by the 
department address. A post office box is not a physical 
location address. Such notification shall be in writing and 
received by the department no later than 10 days after the 
effective date of the change.  

2. Maintain at all times with the department its current 
operating name and all fictitious names. Any name change 
reports shall be submitted in writing within 10 days after 
the occurrence of such change and accompanied by 
certified true copies of the documents that establish the 
name change.  

3. Report in writing to the department any change in its 
ownership or principals that does not result in the creation 
of a new legal entity. Such written report shall be received 
by the department within 30 days after the occurrence of 
such change to include fingerprint cards pursuant to this 
chapter.  

4. Report in writing to the department any change in the 
entity of the licensee that results in continued operation 
requiring a license. Such written report shall be received by 
the department within 10 days after the occurrence of such 
change.  
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5. Maintain at all times current liability coverage at least in 
the minimum amounts prescribed by the application 
requirements of this chapter. Failure of the business to do 
so shall result in the license becoming null and void. Each 
day of uninsured activity would be construed as an 
individual violation of this requirement. 

6. Maintain at all times with the department a completed 
irrevocable consent for service if the licensee is not a 
resident of the Commonwealth of Virginia. Licensees that 
move their business from the Commonwealth shall file a 
completed irrevocable consent for services within 15 days 
of the change in location.  

7. Employ at all times at least one individual designated as 
compliance agent who is in good standing and is certified 
pursuant to 6VAC20-171-70 and who is not currently 
designated as compliance agent for another licensee. In the 
event there is more than one compliance agent designated 
for the business, designate one as the primary compliance 
agent and point of contact.  

8. Maintain at all times and for a period of not less than 
three years from the date of termination of employment the 
following documentation concerning all regulants: 
documentation or electronic images of the date of hire in 
the regulated category, documentation that the fingerprint 
processing application was submitted on the date of hire, 
verification that the employee is a U.S. citizen or legal 
resident alien and is properly registered/certified and 
trained, current physical and mailing addresses for all 
regulated employees and telephone numbers if applicable.  

9. Upon termination of employment of a certified 
compliance agent, notify the department in writing within 
10 calendar days. This notification shall include the name 
of the individual responsible for the licensee's adherence to 
applicable administrative requirements and standards of 
conduct during the period of replacement. 

10. Within 90 days of termination of employment of the 
sole remaining compliance agent, submit the name of a 
new compliance agent who is eligible for certification 
pursuant to this chapter and who is not currently 
designated for another licensee. Individuals not currently 
eligible may pursue certification pursuant to Part III 
(6VAC20-171-30 et seq.) of this chapter. Such notification 
shall be in writing and signed by a principal of the business 
and the designated compliance agent.  

11. Prominently display at all times for public inspection, 
in a conspicuous place where the public has access, the 
business license issued by the department.  

12. Ensure that all individuals submit fingerprint cards 
pursuant to 6VAC20-171-30 as required by the Code of 
Virginia.  

13. Inform the department in writing within 10 days of 
receiving knowledge of any principal, partner, officer, 
compliance agent or employee regulated or required to be 
regulated by this chapter being arrested for a crime in any 
jurisdiction, pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being 
convicted or found guilty of any felony or of a 
misdemeanor as outlined in § 9.1-139 K of the Code of 
Virginia.  

14. Inform the department in writing within 10 days of 
receiving knowledge of any principal, licensee, subsidiary, 
partner, officer, compliance agent or employee regulated or 
required to be regulated by this chapter, having been found 
guilty by any court or administrative body of competent 
jurisdiction to have violated the private security services 
business statutes or regulations of that jurisdiction, there 
being no appeal therefrom or the time for appeal having 
elapsed.  

15. On a form provided by the department and within 10 
calendar days of receiving knowledge of the an incident, 
submit a report of any incident in which any registrant has 
discharged a firearm while on duty, excluding any training 
exercise.  

16. In the event a complaint against the licensee is received 
by the department, be required to furnish documentary 
evidence (written agreement) of the terms agreed to 
between licensee and client, which shall include at a 
minimum the specific scope of services and fees assessed 
for such services. The licensee shall retain a copy for a 
period of not less than three years from completion of said 
agreement.  

17. Not fail to honor the terms and conditions of a warranty 
or written agreement.  

18. In the event a licensee sells or otherwise transfers the 
ownership of a monitoring agreement of an electronic 
security customer, notify the end user, in writing, within 30 
days of the transfer of monitoring services. No licensee 
shall sell or otherwise transfer to an entity not licensed in 
Virginia.  

19. Ensure that all regulated employees carry a state issued 
the photo identification card along with their registration or 
certification card, unless the card is one in the same issued 
by the department while on duty. 

20. Maintain a written use of force policy dictating the 
business' policy for using deadly force and for use of less 
lethal force. A statement certifying that the employee has 
read and understands the business' use of force policy must 
be signed by each employee who is permitted to carry 
firearms or intermediate weapons and maintained in the 
employee's file. 
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21. Maintain records for individual employees permitted to 
carry intermediate weapons while on duty to verify training 
in the use of the permitted intermediate weapons.  

22. Maintain at all times and for a period of not less than 
three years from the date of termination, decertification or 
other separation, records of detector canine handler team 
certifications to include a photo of detector canine teams 
utilized to provide regulated private security services as 
defined in this chapter.  

6VAC20-171-230. Business standards of conduct.  

A licensee shall:  

1. Conform to all requirements pursuant to the Code of 
Virginia and this chapter.  

2. Ensure that all employees regulated, or required to be 
regulated, by this chapter conform to all application 
requirements, administrative requirements and standards of 
conduct pursuant to the Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

3. Not direct any employee regulated, or required to be 
regulated, by this chapter to engage in any acts prohibited 
by the Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

4. Employ individuals regulated, or required to be 
regulated, as follows:  

a. A licensee shall employ or otherwise utilize 
individuals possessing a valid registration issued by the 
department showing the registration categories required 
to perform duties requiring registration pursuant to the 
Code of Virginia;  

b. A licensee shall not allow individuals requiring 
registration as armored car personnel, armed security 
officers/couriers, armed alarm respondents with firearm 
endorsement, private investigators, personal protection 
specialists, detector canine handlers or security canine 
handlers to perform private security services until such 
time as the individual has been issued a registration by 
the department;  

c. A licensee may employ individuals requiring 
registration as unarmed alarm respondent without firearm 
endorsement, locksmith, central station dispatcher, 
electronic security sales representative, electronic 
security technician, armored car driver, unarmed security 
officer or electronic security technician's assistant for a 
period not to exceed 90 consecutive days in any 
registered category listed above while completing the 
compulsory minimum training standards provided:  

(1) The individual's fingerprint cards have been 
submitted pursuant to Article 1 (6VAC20-171-30 et seq.) 
of Part III of this chapter;  

(2) The individual is not employed in excess of 120 days 
without having been issued a registration from the 
department; and  

(3) The individual did not fail to timely complete the 
required training with previous employer(s).  

d. A licensee shall not employ any individual carrying or 
having access to a firearm in the performance of his 
duties who has not obtained a valid registration and 
firearms endorsement from the department; and  

e. A licensee shall maintain appropriate documentation to 
verify compliance with these requirements. A licensee 
shall maintain these documents after employment is 
terminated for a period of not less than three years.  

5. Not contract or subcontract any private security services 
in the Commonwealth of Virginia to a person not required 
to be licensed by the department. Verification of a 
contractor's or subcontractor's license issued by the 
department shall be maintained for a period of not less than 
three years.  

6. Ensure that the compliance agent conforms to all 
applicable application requirements, administrative 
requirements and standards of conduct pursuant to the 
Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

7. Permit the department during regular business hours to 
inspect, review, or copy those documents, electronic 
images, business records or training records that are 
required to be maintained by the Code of Virginia and this 
chapter.  

8. Not violate or aid and abet others in violating the 
provisions of Article 4 (§ 9.1-138 et seq.) of Chapter 1 of 
Title 9.1 of the Code of Virginia or this chapter.  

9. Not commit any act or omission that results in a private 
security license or registration being suspended, revoked, 
not renewed or being otherwise disciplined in any 
jurisdiction.  

10. Not have Ensure that regulated employees of the 
business have not been convicted or found guilty in any 
jurisdiction of the United States of any felony or a 
misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, assault and 
battery, damage to real or personal property, controlled 
substances or imitation controlled substances as defined in 
Article 1 (§ 18.2-247 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of 
the Code of Virginia, prohibited sexual behavior as 
described in Article 7 (§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of 
Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia, or firearms, from which 
no appeal is pending, the time for appeal having elapsed. 
Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 
conviction for the purpose of this chapter. The record of 
conviction certified or authenticated in such form as to be 
admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction 
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where convicted shall be prima facie evidence of such 
guilt.  

11. Not obtain or aid and abet others to obtain a license, 
license renewal, registration, registration renewal, 
certification, certification renewal, or firearms 
endorsement through any fraud or misrepresentation.  

12. Include the business license number issued by the 
department on all business advertising materials pursuant 
to the Code of Virginia. Business advertising materials 
containing information regarding more than one licensee 
must contain the business license numbers of each licensee 
identified. 

13. Not conduct a private security services business in such 
a manner as to endanger the public health, safety and 
welfare.  

14. Not falsify, or aid and abet others in falsifying, training 
records for the purpose of obtaining a license, registration 
or certification.  

15. Not represent as one's own a license issued to another 
private security services business.  

16. When providing central station monitoring services, 
attempt to verify the legitimacy of a burglar alarm 
activation by calling the site of the alarm. If unable to 
make contact, call one additional number provided by the 
alarm user who has the authority to cancel the dispatch. 
(This shall not apply if the alarm user has provided written 
authorization requesting immediate or one call dispatch to 
both their local police department and their dealer of 
record). This shall not apply to duress or hold-up alarms.  

17. Not perform any unlawful or negligent act resulting in 
loss, injury or death to any person.  

18. Utilize vehicles for private security services using or 
displaying a an amber flashing light only as specifically 
authorized by § 46.2-1025.9 of the Code of Virginia.  

19. Not use or display the state seal of Virginia or the seal 
of the Department of Criminal Justice Services, or any 
portion thereof, or the seal of any political subdivision of 
the Commonwealth, or any portion thereof, as a part of any 
logo, stationery, letter, training document, business card, 
badge, patch, insignia or other form of identification or 
advertisement.  

20. Not provide information obtained by the firm or its 
employees to any person other than the client who secured 
the services of the licensee without the client's prior written 
consent. Provision of information in response to official 
requests from law-enforcement agencies, the courts, or the 
department shall not constitute a violation of this chapter. 
Provision of information to law-enforcement agencies 
pertinent to criminal activity or to planned criminal activity 
shall not constitute a violation of this chapter.  

21. Not engage in acts of unprofessional conduct in the 
practice of private security services.  

22. Not engage in acts of negligent or incompetent private 
security services.  

23. Not make any misrepresentation or false promise to a 
private security services business client or potential private 
security services business client.  

24. Not violate any state or local ordinances.  

25. Satisfy all judgments to include binding arbitrations 
related to private security services not provided.  

26. Not publish or cause to be published any written 
business material relating to private security services that 
contains an assertion, representation, or statement of fact 
that is false, deceptive or misleading.  

27. Not conduct private security business under a fictitious 
or assumed name unless the name is on file with the 
Department of Criminal Justice Services. This does not 
apply to a private investigator conducting a "pretext," 
provided that the private investigator does not state that he 
is representing a private security business that does not 
exist or otherwise prohibited under federal law.  

28. Not act as or be an ostensible licensee for undisclosed 
persons who do or will control directly or indirectly the 
operations of the licensee's business. 

29. Not provide false or misleading information to 
representatives of the department. 

30. Not refuse to cooperate with an investigation being 
conducted by the department. 

31. Not provide materially incorrect, misleading, 
incomplete, or untrue information on a license application, 
renewal application, or any other document filed with the 
department. 

6VAC20-171-240. Compliance agent administrative 
requirements and standards of conduct. 

A compliance agent shall:  

1. Conform to all requirements pursuant to the Code of 
Virginia and this chapter.  

2. Maintain at all times with the department his mailing 
address and email address. Written notification of any 
change of address shall be in writing and received by the 
department no later than 10 days after the effective date of 
the change.  

3. Not violate or aid and abet others in violating the 
provisions of Article 4 (§ 9.1-138 et seq.) of Chapter 1 of 
Title 9.1 of the Code of Virginia or this chapter.  

4. Not commit any act or omission which results in a 
private security license or registration being suspended, 
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revoked, not renewed or being otherwise disciplined in any 
jurisdiction.  

5. Not have been convicted or found guilty in any 
jurisdiction of the United States of any felony or a 
misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, assault and 
battery, damage to real or personal property, controlled 
substances or imitation controlled substances as defined in 
Article 1 (§ 18.2-247 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of 
the Code of Virginia, prohibited sexual behavior as 
described in Article 7 (§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of 
Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia, or firearms, from which 
no appeal is pending, the time for appeal having elapsed. 
Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 
conviction for the purpose of this chapter. The record of 
conviction certified or authenticated in such form as to be 
admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction 
where convicted shall be prima facie evidence of such 
guilt.  

6. Inform the department, and the licensee for which the 
individual is designated as compliance agent if applicable, 
in writing within 10 days after being arrested for a crime in 
any jurisdiction, pleading guilty or nolo contendere or and 
after being convicted or found guilty of any felony or of a 
misdemeanor as outlined in § 9.1-139 K of the Code of 
Virginia.  

7. Inform the department, and the licensee for which the 
individual is designated as compliance agent if applicable, 
in writing within 10 days after having been found guilty by 
any court or administrative body of competent jurisdiction 
to have violated the private security services business 
statutes or regulations of that jurisdiction, there being no 
appeal therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed.  

8. Not obtain a license, license renewal, registration, 
registration renewal, certification or certification renewal 
through any fraud or misrepresentation.  

9. Only be designated with the department and acting as a 
compliance agent for one licensed entity.  

10. Be designated with the department as compliance agent 
for a licensee and shall:  

a. Ensure that the licensee and all employees regulated, 
or required to be regulated, by this chapter conform to all 
application requirements, administrative requirements 
and standards of conduct pursuant to the Code of 
Virginia and this chapter;  

b. Maintain documentation for all employees or persons 
otherwise utilized that verifies compliance with 
requirements pursuant to the Code of Virginia and this 
chapter;  

c. Notify the department in writing within 10 calendar 
days following termination of his employment as 
compliance agent for the licensee; and  

d. Ensure that all regulated employees carry a state issued 
photo identification card unless the card is one in the 
same along with their registration or certification card.  

11. Not engage in acts of unprofessional conduct in the 
practice of private security services.  

12. Not engage in acts of negligent and/or incompetent 
private security services.  

13. Not make any misrepresentation or false promise to a 
private security services business client or potential private 
security services business client.  

14. Satisfy all judgments to include binding arbitrations 
related to private security services not provided.  

15. Not publish or cause to be published any written 
business material relating to private security services that 
contain an assertion, representation, or statement of fact 
that is false, deceptive or misleading.  

16. Not conduct private security business under a fictitious 
or assumed name unless the name is on file with the 
Department of Criminal Justice Services. This does not 
apply to a private investigator conducting a "pretext," 
provided that the private investigator does not state that he 
is representing a private security business that does not 
exist.  

17. Not violate any state or local ordinances related to 
private security services. 

18. Not provide false or misleading information to 
representatives of the department. 

19. Not refuse to cooperate with an investigation being 
conducted by the department. 

20. Not use access to the department's database 
information for any other purpose than verifying 
employee's application status. 

21. Not allow another to use access granted to the 
department's database for any purpose. 

22. Not provide materially incorrect, misleading, 
incomplete, or untrue information on a certification 
application, certification renewal application, or any other 
document filed with the department. 

23. Not have an arrest that the prima facie evidence would 
indicate the propensity for harming the public. 

Article 2  
Private Security Services Training Schools  

6VAC20-171-245. General requirements. (Repealed.)  

All training schools are required to maintain administrative 
requirements and standards of conduct as determined by the 
Code of Virginia, department guidelines and this chapter.  
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Article 2  
Private Security Services Training Schools  

6VAC20-171-250. Administrative Training school 
administrative requirements. 

A training school shall:  

1. Maintain at all times with the department its email 
address and physical location in Virginia where records 
required to be maintained by the Code of Virginia and this 
chapter are kept and available for inspection by the 
department address. A post office box is not a physical 
location address. Such notification shall be in writing and 
received by the department no later than 10 days after the 
effective date of the change.  

2. Employ at all times one individual designated as training 
director who is currently certified as an instructor pursuant 
to this chapter and who is not currently designated as 
training director for another training school. A training 
school may designate a maximum of four individuals as 
assistant training school directors.  

3. Upon termination of the services of a certified instructor, 
notify the department in writing within 10 calendar days. 
Should the instructor also be designated as the training 
director for the training school, this notification shall 
include the name of the instructor responsible for the 
training school's adherence to applicable administrative 
requirements and standards of conduct during the period of 
training director replacement.  

4. Within 90 days of termination of employment of the sole 
remaining training director, submit the name of a new 
instructor eligible for designation pursuant to this chapter 
and who is not currently designated for another training 
school. Individuals not currently eligible may pursue 
certification pursuant to Part III (6VAC20-171-30 et seq.) 
of this chapter. Such notification shall be in writing and 
signed by a principal of the training school and the 
designated training director.  

5. Notify the department in writing of any certified 
instructors or subject matter specialists eligible to provide 
instruction at the training school. The notification shall be 
received by the department prior to the individual 
conducting any training for the training school and signed 
by the training school director and the designated instructor 
or subject matter specialist.  

6. Prominently display at all times, in a conspicuous place 
where the public has access, the training school 
certification issued by the department.  

7. Maintain at all times current liability coverage at least in 
the minimum amounts prescribed by the application 
requirements of this chapter. Failure of the training school 
to do so shall result in the certification becoming null and 

void. Each day of uninsured activity would be construed as 
an individual violation of this requirement. 

8. Inform the department in writing within 10 days, for any 
principal, partner, officer, instructor or employee regulated 
or required to be regulated by this chapter being arrested 
for a crime in any jurisdiction, pleading guilty or nolo 
contendere or being convicted or found guilty of any 
felony or of a misdemeanor as outlined in § 9.1-139 K of 
the Code of Virginia. 

9. Inform the department in writing within 10 days, for any 
principal, partner, officer, instructor or employee regulated 
or required to be regulated by this chapter having been 
found guilty by any court or administrative body of 
competent jurisdiction to have violated the private security 
services business statutes or regulations of that jurisdiction, 
there being no appeal therefrom or the time for appeal 
having elapsed.  

10. Report in writing to the department any change in its 
ownership or principals that does not result in the creation 
of a new legal entity. Such written report shall be received 
by the department within 10 days after the occurrence of 
such change to include fingerprint cards submitted 
pursuant to 6VAC20-171-30.  

11. Maintain at all times with the department its current 
operating name and fictitious names. Any name change 
reports shall be submitted in writing within 10 days after 
the occurrence of such change and accompanied by 
certified true copies of the documents that establish the 
name change.  

12. Report in writing to the department any change in the 
entity of the training school that results in continued 
operation requiring a certification. Such written report shall 
be received by the department within 10 days after the 
occurrence of such change.  

13. Maintain written authorization from the department for 
any subject matter specialists being used to provide 
instruction.  

14. Develop lesson plans for each training curriculum and 
subject being offered in accordance with the topical 
outlines submitted to the department to include hours of 
instruction.  

15. Maintain comprehensive and current lesson plans for 
each entry level training curriculum and subject being 
offered.  

16. Maintain comprehensive and current lesson plans for 
each in-service training curriculum and subject being 
offered.  

17. Maintain comprehensive and current lesson plans for 
each firearms training curriculum and subject being 
offered.  
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18. Date all lesson plans and handout material, including 
the initial date of development and subsequent revisions.  

19. Ensure that current copies of the following 
requirements are provided to and maintained with the 
department, including:  

a. A list of all training locations used by the training 
school, excluding hotel/motel facilities;  

b. A list of all firing range names and locations;  

c. A list of all subject matter specialists currently 
employed, or otherwise utilized; and  

d. Copies of current topical outlines for all lesson plans 
and curriculums. The lesson plans and subsequent course 
outlines shall include (i) specific reference to the course 
content involving the Code of Virginia and this chapter 
and (ii) the hours of instruction.  

20. Ensure that range qualification for all firearms training 
is completed pursuant to this chapter except with written 
authorization from the department.  

21. On a form provided by the department and within 10 
calendar days of the an incident, submit a report of any 
incident in which any instructor, student or employee has 
discharged a firearm while on duty, excluding any training 
exercise.  

22. Not act as or be a certified training school for 
undisclosed persons who directly or indirectly control the 
operation of the training school.  

23. Inform the department and compliance agent of the 
employing business if applicable, in a format prescribed by 
the department within seven days of any person regulated 
under this chapter who fails to requalify with a minimum 
passing score on the range. 

6VAC20-171-260. Training school standards of conduct.  

A training school shall:  

1. Conform to all requirements pursuant to the Code of 
Virginia and this chapter.  

2. Ensure that the owners, principals, training director and 
all instructors employed by the training school conform to 
all applicable application requirements, administrative 
requirements and standards of conduct pursuant to the 
Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

3. Utilize only certified instructors, or other individuals 
eligible to provide instruction pursuant to this chapter in 
the conduct of private security training sessions.  

4. Maintain current files that include copies or electronic 
images of attendance records, a master final examination, 
pass/fail recording of examination and firearms 
qualification scores, training completion rosters, and 
training completion forms for each student for three years 

from the date of the training session in which the 
individual student was enrolled.  

5. Permit the department during regular business hours to 
inspect, review, or copy those documents, electronic 
images, business records or training records that are 
required to be maintained by the Code of Virginia and this 
chapter.  

6. Permit the department to inspect and observe any 
training session. Certified training schools that conduct 
training sessions not located within Virginia may be 
required to pay the expenses of inspection and review.  

7. Include the training school certification number issued 
by the department on all business advertising materials 
pursuant to the Code of Virginia.  

8. Not violate or aid and abet others in violating the 
provisions of Article 4 (§ 9.1-138 et seq.) of Chapter 1 of 
Title 9.1 of the Code of Virginia or this chapter.  

9. Not commit any act or omission that results in a private 
security license or registration being suspended, revoked, 
not renewed or being otherwise disciplined in any 
jurisdiction.  

10. Ensure that the owner, principals, training director and 
all instructors employed by the training school have not 
been convicted or found guilty in any jurisdiction of the 
United States of any felony or a misdemeanor involving 
moral turpitude, assault and battery, damage to real or 
personal property, controlled substances or imitation 
controlled substances as defined in Article 1 (§ 18.2-247 et 
seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia, 
prohibited sexual behavior as described in Article 7 
(§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 18.2 of the Code of 
Virginia, or firearms, from which no appeal is pending, the 
time for appeal having elapsed. Any plea of nolo 
contendere shall be considered a conviction for the purpose 
of this chapter. The record of conviction certified or 
authenticated in such form as to be admissible in evidence 
under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted shall be 
prima facie evidence of such guilt.  

11. Not obtain or aid and abet others to obtain a license, 
license renewal, registration, registration renewal, 
certification or certification renewal through any fraud or 
misrepresentation.  

12. Conduct entry level and in-service training sessions 
separately. In-service subjects and curriculums may not be 
incorporated or included as a part of the entry-level 
subjects and curriculums.  

13. Not conduct a private security services training school 
in such a manner as to endanger the public health, safety 
and welfare.  
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14. Not falsify, or aid and abet others in falsifying, training 
records for the purpose of obtaining a license, registration, 
certification, or certification as a compliance agent, 
training school, school director or instructor.  

15. Not represent as one's own a certification issued to 
another private security services training school.  

16. Not perform any unlawful or negligent act resulting in 
loss, injury or death to any person.  

17. Not use or display the state seal of Virginia, or any 
portion thereof, as a part of any logo, stationery, business 
card, badge, patch, insignia or other form of identification 
or advertisement.  

18. Not use or display the state seal of the Department of 
Criminal Justice Services, or any portion thereof, or the 
seal of any political subdivision, or any portion thereof, as 
a part of the training school's logo, stationery, letter, 
training document, business card, badge, patch, insignia or 
other form of identification or advertisement.  

19. Not engage in acts of unprofessional conduct in the 
practice of private security services.  

20. Not engage in acts of negligent or incompetent private 
security services.  

21. Not make any misrepresentation or false promise to a 
private security services business client or potential private 
security services business client.  

22. Not violate any state or local ordinances related to 
private security services.  

23. Satisfy all judgments to include binding arbitrations 
related to private security services not provided.  

24. Not publish or cause to be published any written 
business material relating to private security services that 
contains an assertion, representation, or statement of fact 
that is false, deceptive or misleading.  

25. Not provide false or misleading information to 
representatives of the department. 

26. Not refuse to cooperate with an investigation being 
conducted by the department. 

27. Not act as or be an ostensible certified training school 
for undisclosed persons who do or will control directly or 
indirectly the operations of the training school. 

28. Not provide materially incorrect, misleading, 
incomplete, or untrue information on a certification 
application, renewal application, or any other document 
filed with the department. 

6VAC20-171-270. Private security services training 
Training school director administrative requirements and 
standards of conduct. 

A training school director shall:  

1. Ensure that the certified training school and all 
employees regulated, or required to be regulated, by this 
chapter conform to all application requirements, 
administrative requirements and standards of conduct 
pursuant to the Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

2. Conform to all application requirements, administrative 
requirements and standards of conduct as a certified 
instructor pursuant to the Code of Virginia and this 
chapter.  

3. Maintain documentation for all employees or persons 
otherwise utilized that verifies compliance with 
requirements pursuant to the Code of Virginia and this 
chapter.  

4. Notify the department in writing within 10 calendar days 
following termination of his employment as training 
director for the certified training school.  

5. Not engage in acts of unprofessional conduct in the 
practice of private security services.  

6. Not engage in act of negligent or incompetent private 
security services.  

7. Not make any misrepresentation or false promise to a 
private security services business client or potential private 
security services business client.  

8. Not violate any state or local ordinances relating to 
private security services.  

9. Satisfy all judgments to include binding arbitrations 
relating to private security services not provided.  

10. Not publish or cause to be published any written 
business material relating to private security services that 
contains an assertion, representation, or statement of fact 
that is false, deceptive or misleading.  

11. Use access to the department's database information 
only for the purpose of verifying employed instructors' or 
students' application status. 

12. Not allow another to use access granted to the 
department's database for any purpose. 

13. Inform the department and compliance agent of the 
employing business if applicable, in a format prescribed by 
the department within seven days of any person regulated 
under this chapter who fails to requalify with a minimum 
passing score on the range. 
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6VAC20-171-280. Private security services instructor 
administrative requirements and standards of conduct. 

An instructor shall:  

1. Conform to all requirements pursuant to the Code of 
Virginia and this chapter.  

2. Maintain at all times with the department his email 
address and mailing address. Written notification of any 
address change shall be in writing and received by the 
department no later than 10 days after the effective date of 
the change.  

3. Not have been convicted or found guilty in any 
jurisdiction of the United States of any felony or a 
misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, assault and 
battery, damage to real or personal property, controlled 
substances or imitation controlled substances as defined in 
Article 1 (§ 18.2-247 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of 
the Code of Virginia, prohibited sexual behavior as 
described in Article 7 (§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of 
Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia, or firearms, from which 
no appeal is pending, the time for appeal having elapsed. 
Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 
conviction for the purpose of this chapter. The record of 
conviction certified or authenticated in such form as to be 
admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction 
where convicted shall be prima facie evidence of such 
guilt.  

4. Inform the department, and the training school for which 
the individual is designated as an instructor if applicable, in 
writing within 10 days after being arrested for a crime in 
any jurisdiction pleading guilty or nolo contendere or and 
after being convicted or found guilty of any felony or of a 
misdemeanor as outlined in § 9.1-139 K of the Code of 
Virginia.  

5. Inform the department, and the training school for which 
the individual is designated as instructor, if applicable, in 
writing within 10 days after having been found guilty by 
any court or administrative body of competent jurisdiction 
to have violated the private security services business 
statutes or regulations of that jurisdiction, there being no 
appeal therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed.  

6. Not violate or aid and abet others in violating the 
provisions of Article 4 (§ 9.1-138 et seq.) of Chapter 1 of 
Title 9.1 of the Code of Virginia or this chapter.  

7. Not commit any act or omission that results in a private 
security license or registration being suspended, revoked, 
not renewed or being otherwise disciplined in any 
jurisdiction.  

8. Not obtain a license, license renewal, registration, 
registration renewal, certification or certification renewal 
through any fraud or misrepresentation.  

9. Conduct training sessions pursuant to requirements 
established in this chapter.  

10. Notify the department within 10 calendar days 
following termination of his employment as instructor for 
the training school.  

11. Not engage in acts of unprofessional conduct in the 
practice of private security services.  

12. Not engage in acts of negligent or incompetent private 
security services.  

13. Not make any misrepresentation or false promise to a 
private security services business client or potential private 
security services business client.  

14. Not violate any state or local ordinances relating to 
private security services.  

15. Not publish or cause to be published any material 
relating to Private Security Services that contain an 
assertion, representation, or statement of fact that is false, 
deceptive, or misleading. 

16. Not provide false or misleading information to 
representatives of the department. 

17. Not refuse to cooperate with an investigation being 
conducted by the department. 

18. Not provide materially incorrect, misleading, 
incomplete, or untrue information in a certification 
application, renewal application, or any other document 
filed with the department. 

19. Not have an arrest that the prima facie evidence would 
indicate the propensity for harming the public. 

20. Transport, carry, and utilize firearms while on duty 
only in a manner that does not endanger the public health, 
safety, and welfare. 

21. Report in writing to the training school director within 
24 hours of any person regulated under this chapter who 
fails to requalify with a minimum passing score on the 
range. 

22. Provide any person who fails to requalify with a 
mimimum passing score on the range with a failure to 
requalify notice provided by the department. 

6VAC20-171-290. Instruction exceptions Instructor 
alternatives. 

A. Subject matter specialist.  

1. Training schools may employ or otherwise utilize 
individuals as subject matter specialists to provide 
instruction in specific areas of a training curriculum. 
During the approved portions of training, a certified 
instructor is not required to be present.  
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2. The training school shall obtain written authorization 
from the department prior to any subject matter specialist 
providing instruction. Written authorization may be 
requested by submitting on a form provided by the 
department:  

a. A written request for authorization specifically 
outlining the requested subject matter; and  

b. Documentation that supports the individual's 
credentials for instructing in the proposed subject matter.  

3. The department may issue a written authorization for a 
period not to exceed 24 months. 

B. Guest lecturer. Training schools may employ or 
otherwise utilize individuals as guest lecturer in specific areas 
of a training curriculum. A certified instructor is required to 
be present during all portions of training conducted by a guest 
lecturer.  

6VAC20-171-300. Private security services training 
session. 

A. Training sessions will be conducted in accordance with 
requirements established in this chapter. Adherence to the 
administrative requirements, attendance and standards of 
conduct are the responsibility of the training school, training 
school director and instructor of the training session.  

B. Administrative requirements.  

1. In a manner approved by the department, a notification 
to conduct a training session shall be submitted to the 
department. All notifications shall be received by the 
department, or postmarked if mailed, no less than seven 
calendar days prior to the beginning of each training 
session to include the date, time, instructors and location of 
the training session. The department may allow a session to 
be conducted with less than seven calendar days of 
notification with prior approval. Session notifications 
require no fee from the training school. A notification to 
conduct a training session shall be deemed to be in 
compliance unless the training school director is notified 
by the department to the contrary.  

2. Notification of any changes to the dates, times, location 
or cancellation of a future training session must be 
submitted to the department in writing and received by the 
department at least 24 hours in advance of the scheduled 
starting time of the class. In the event that a session must 
be cancelled on the scheduled date, the department must be 
notified immediately followed by a cancellation in writing 
as soon as practical. 

2. All current training material to include course outline 
and training objectives must be approved by the 
department prior to offering a course of instruction for 
enrollment.  

3. On a form provided by the department, the The training 
school director shall issue an original training completion 
form and training certificate to each student who 
satisfactorily completes a training session no later than five 
business days following the training completion date. The 
training completion form shall include the following: 

a. A unique training completion number; 

b. The name, a unique identification number, and address 
of the individual; 

c. The name of the particular course that the individual 
completed; 

d. The dates of course completion/test passage; 

e. An expiration date. Training completion forms shall 
expire 12 months from the date of course completion; 

f. The name, address, telephone number, and training 
school certification number; and 

g. The name, signature, and DCJS identification number 
of the school director and primary instructor.  

4. In a manner approved by the department, the training 
school director shall submit an original training completion 
roster to the department affirming each student's successful 
completion of the session. The training completion roster 
shall be received by the department within seven calendar 
days, or postmarked if mailed, no later than five business 
days following the training completion date. The training 
completion roster for each session must be accompanied by 
the applicable, nonrefundable processing fee.  

5. A written examination shall be administered at the 
conclusion of each entry level training session. The 
examination shall be based on the applicable learning 
objectives. The student must attain a minimum grade of 
80% for compliance agent entry-level training or 70% for 
all other entry-level training examinations and any 
applicable practical exercises, to satisfactorily complete the 
training session.  

6. Firearms classroom training shall be separately tested 
and graded. Individuals must achieve a minimum score of 
70% on the firearms classroom training examination.  

7. Failure to achieve a minimum score of 70% on the 
firearms classroom written examination will exclude the 
individual from the firearms range training.  

8. To successfully complete the handgun or shotgun 
firearms range training, the individual must achieve a 
minimum qualification score of 75% of the scoring value 
of the target.  

9. To successfully complete the private investigator entry 
level training session, the individual must:  
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a. Successfully complete each of the four graded 
practical exercises required; and  

b. Pass the written examination with a minimum score of 
70%.  

10. To successfully complete the personal protection 
specialist entry level training session, the individual must:  

a. Complete each of the five graded practical exercises 
required under protective detail operations pursuant to 
6VAC20-171-350 E 6 (the practical exercises must be 
successfully completed prior to the written examination); 
and  

b. Pass the written examination with a minimum score of 
70%.  

11. The unarmed security officer must:  

a. Complete the required training; and  

b. Successfully pass the written examination with a 
minimum score of 70%.  

9. To successfully complete the advanced firearms range 
training, the individual must achieve a minimum 
qualification score of 92% of the scoring value of the 
target. 

10. To successfully complete the patrol rifle firearms range 
training, the individual must achieve a minimum 
qualification score of 85% of the scoring value of the 
target. 

C. Attendance.  

1. Private security services business personnel enrolled in 
an approved training session are required to be present for 
the hours required for each training session unless they 
have been granted a partial exemption to training from the 
department.  

2. Tardiness and absenteeism will not be permitted. 
Individuals violating these provisions will be required to 
make up any training missed. Such All training must be 
completed within 60 days after the completion of the 
training session or at the next available session offered by 
the training school the 12 months prior to application of a 
registration or certification. Individuals not completing the 
required training within this period are required to 
complete the entire training session.  

3. Individuals that who do not successfully complete the 
compulsory minimum training standards of the training 
session shall not be reported to the department except 
where required pursuant to this chapter issued a training 
completion form or training certificate.  

4. Each individual attending an approved training session 
shall comply with the regulations promulgated by the 
board and any other rules within the authority of the 

training school. If the training school director or instructor 
considers a violation of the rules detrimental to the training 
of other students or to involve cheating on examinations, 
the training school director or instructor may expel the 
individual from the school. Notification of such action 
shall immediately be reported to the employing firms and 
the department.  

D. Standards of conduct.  

1. The training school, training school director and 
instructor shall at all times conform to the application 
requirements, administrative requirements and standards of 
conduct established for certification as a training school 
and instructor.  

2. Training sessions will be conducted by certified 
instructors or other individuals authorized to provide 
instruction pursuant to this chapter and must be present for 
all periods of instruction.  

3. Training sessions will be conducted utilizing lesson 
plans developed including at a minimum the compulsory 
minimum training standards established pursuant to this 
chapter.  

4. Instruction shall be provided in no less than 50-minute 
classes.  

5. Training sessions may shall not exceed nine hours of 
classroom instruction per day. Range qualification and 
practical exercises shall not be considered classroom 
instruction; however, total training, including the 
maximum allotment of nine hours classroom instruction 
and applicable range qualification and practical exercises, 
shall not exceed 12 hours per day. This does not include 
time allotted for breaks, meals and testing.  

6. All audio-visual training aids must be accompanied by a 
period of instruction where the instructor reviews the 
content of the presentation and the students are provided 
the opportunity to ask questions regarding the content.  

7. A training session must adhere to the minimum 
compulsory training standards and must be presented in its 
entirety. Training school directors may require additional 
hours of instruction, testing or evaluation procedures.  

8. A training session must provide accurate and current 
information to the students.  

9. Mandated training conducted not in accordance with the 
Code of Virginia and this chapter is null and void.  

10. A duplicate set of instructor course materials, including 
all student materials, shall be made available to any 
department inspector during the training session, if 
requested.  

11. There will be no live ammunition permitted in the 
classroom.  
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Article 3  
Private Security Services Registered Personnel  

6VAC20-171-305. General requirements On-line in-
service training programs. 

All registered personnel are required to maintain 
administrative requirements and standards of conduct as 
determined by the Code of Virginia, department guidelines 
and this chapter.  

On-line training programs may only be offered for 
compulsory minimum in-service training requirements. On-
line training programs shall meet the following requirements: 

1. All on-line schools shall maintain a private security 
services training school certification in good standing and 
meet all of the administrative requirements and standards 
of conduct specified in this chapter. 

2. All current on-line training material to include complete 
course content and performance objectives of mandated 
compulsory training requirements must be approved by the 
department prior to offering a course of instruction for 
enrollment. 

3. Students enrolled in an on-line training program shall 
successfully complete all course material within 30 days of 
the first log-on to the training school website or prior to the 
registration or certification expiration date or final 
reinstatement date, whichever comes first. 

4. Training schools offering on-line courses that accept 
credit card payments shall subscribe to an e-commerce 
solution service to protect the security and integrity of the 
monetary transaction. 

5. The training software programs used by a certified 
training school shall allow the department auditing access 
to the training system. Such auditing access shall be 
available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. 

6. The training software program shall be capable of 
generating a unique electronic notification of training 
completion for each student completing the course 
requirements and each course of instruction on a 24-hour a 
day basis. 

7. The training of completion shall include the following: 

a. A unique training completion number; 

b. The name, a unique identification number, and address 
of the individual; 

c. The name of the particular course that the individual 
completed; 

d. Dates of course completion/test passage; 

e. Name, address, telephone number, and license number 
of the training school; and 

f. Name, signature, and DCJS identification number of 
the school director and primary instructor. 

8. The training software program shall be capable of 
generating a training certificate for each student and each 
course of instruction that can be printed by the student's 
computer and printer. This training certificate shall only be 
made available to the student upon successful completion 
of all course material. 

9. The training software program shall be capable of 
capturing and archiving student information for a period of 
not less than three years. 

10. Training schools offering on-line training courses will 
designate one individual as the network administrator for 
that school's network server. The network administrator 
will be the technical contact between the department and 
the training school. Upon termination of the services of the 
designated network administrator, a new administrator 
shall be designated and notification made to the department 
within 10 days after effective date of the change.  

6VAC20-171-308. Detector canine handler examiners 
administrative requirements and standards of conduct. 

A. Administrative requirements. An examiner shall:  

1. Maintain at all times with the department his email 
address and mailing address. Written notification of any 
address change shall be in writing and received by the 
department no later than 10 days after the effective date of 
the change.  

2. Inform the department, and the business or training 
school for which the individual is employed, if applicable, 
in writing within 10 days after being arrested for a crime 
by any court, pleading guilty or nolo contendere, and after 
being convicted or found guilty of any felony or of a 
misdemeanor as outlined in § 9.1-139 K of the Code of 
Virginia.  

3. Inform the department, and the business or training 
school for which the individual is employed, if applicable, 
in writing within 10 days after having been found guilty by 
any court or administrative body of competent jurisdiction 
to have violated the private security services business 
statutes or regulations of that jurisdiction, there being no 
appeal therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed.  

4. Satisfy all judgments to include binding arbitrations 
related to private security services not provided. 

5. Notify the department within 10 calendar days following 
termination of his employment as an examiner for a 
business or training school.  

6. Conduct examinations pursuant to the requirements 
established by the department. 
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7. Notify the department within 10 calendar days following 
termination of any certification as a detector canine handler 
examiner or equivalent with any national organization, unit 
of the United States military, or other formal entity 
involved with certifying, training or setting standards for 
detection canines.  

8. Notify the department in writing within 10 calendar days 
of determining that a detector canine handler or detector 
canine fails to successfully complete the certification 
examination. 

9. Maintain documentation and a photograph of the 
examined detector canine team for three years for all 
examinations conducted that verifies compliance with 
requirements pursuant to the Code of Virginia and this 
chapter. 

10. Utilize only department-approved certification 
examinations for the testing and certification of detector 
canine teams.  

B. Standards of conduct. An examiner shall:  

1. Conform to all requirements pursuant to the Code of 
Virginia and this chapter.  

2. Not have been convicted or found guilty in any 
jurisdiction of the United States of any felony or a 
misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, assault and 
battery, damage to real or personal property, controlled 
substances or imitation controlled substances as defined in 
Article 1 (§ 18.2-247 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of 
the Code of Virginia, prohibited sexual behavior as 
described in Article 7 (§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of 
Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia, or firearms, from which 
no appeal is pending, the time for appeal having elapsed. 
Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 
conviction for the purpose of this chapter. The record of 
conviction certified or authenticated in such form as to be 
admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction 
where convicted shall be prima facie evidence of such 
guilt.  

3. Not violate or aid and abet others in violating the 
provisions of Article 4 (§ 9.1-138 et seq.) of Chapter 1 of 
Title 9.1 of the Code of Virginia or this chapter.  

4. Not commit any act or omission that results in a private 
security license, registration, or certification being 
suspended, revoked, not renewed or being otherwise 
disciplined in any jurisdiction.  

5. Not obtain a license, license renewal, registration, 
registration renewal, certification, or certification renewal 
through any fraud or misrepresentation.  

6. Not engage in acts of unprofessional conduct in the 
practice of private security services.  

7. Not engage in acts of negligent or incompetent private 
security services.  

8. Not make any misrepresentation or false promise to a 
private security services business client or potential private 
security services business client.  

9. Not violate any state or local ordinances relating to 
private security services.  

10. Not publish or cause to be published any material 
relating to private security services that contain an 
assertion, representation, or statement of fact that is false, 
deceptive, or misleading. 

11. Not provide false or misleading information to 
representatives of the department. 

12. Not refuse to cooperate with an investigation being 
conducted by the department. 

13. Not provide materially incorrect, misleading, 
incomplete, or untrue information in a certification 
application, renewal application, or any other document 
filed with the department. 

14. Not have an arrest that the prima facie evidence would 
indicate the propensity for harming the public. 

6VAC20-171-310. Registered personnel administrative 
requirements. 

A registered individual shall:  

1. Conform to all requirements pursuant to the Code of 
Virginia and this chapter.  

2. Maintain at all times with the department his mailing 
address, e-mail address and phone number, if applicable. 
Written notification of any change in mailing address, e-
mail address or phone number shall be in writing and 
received by the department no later than 10 days after the 
effective date of the change.  

3. Inform the department, and the business for which the 
individual is employed if applicable, in writing within 10 
days after being arrested for a crime in any jurisdiction, 
pleading guilty or nolo contendere or and after being 
convicted or found guilty of any felony or of a 
misdemeanor as outlined in § 9.1-139 K of the Code of 
Virginia.  

4. Inform the department, and the business for which the 
individual is employed if applicable, in writing within 10 
days after having been found guilty by any court or 
administrative body of competent jurisdiction to have 
violated the private security services business statutes or 
regulations of that jurisdiction, there being no appeal 
therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed.  

5. Inform the department, and the compliance agent of the 
licensee if employed by a private security services 
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business, of any incident in which any registrant has 
discharged a firearm while on duty, excluding any training 
exercise. This report shall be made within 24 hours of the 
incident.  

6VAC20-171-320. Registered personnel standards of 
conduct. 

A registered individual shall:  

1. Conform to all requirements pursuant to the Code of 
Virginia and this chapter.  

2. Not violate or aid and abet others in violating the 
provisions of Article 4 (§ 9.1-138 et seq.) of Chapter 1 of 
Title 9.1 of the Code of Virginia or this chapter.  

3. Not commit any act or omission that results in a private 
security license, registration or certification being 
suspended, revoked, not renewed or being otherwise 
disciplined in any jurisdiction.  

4. Not have been convicted or found guilty in any 
jurisdiction of the United States of any felony or a 
misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, assault and 
battery, damage to real or personal property, controlled 
substances or imitation controlled substances as defined in 
Article 1 (§ 18.2-247 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of 
the Code of Virginia, prohibited sexual behavior as 
described in Article 7 (§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of 
Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia, or firearms, from which 
no appeal is pending, the time for appeal having elapsed. 
Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 
conviction for the purpose of this chapter. The record of 
conviction certified or authenticated in such form as to be 
admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction 
where convicted shall be prima facie evidence of such 
guilt.  

5. Not obtain a license, license renewal, registration, 
registration renewal, certification or certification renewal 
through any fraud or misrepresentation.  

6. Not solicit or contract to provide any private security 
services without first having obtained a private security 
services business license with the department.  

7. Carry Be in possession of a valid registration card or 
valid temporary authorization registration letter at all times 
while on duty. Individuals requiring registration as an 
unarmed security officer, an alarm respondent, a locksmith, 
a central station dispatcher, an electronic security sales 
representative or an electronic security technician may be 
employed for not more than 90 consecutive days in any 
category listed above while completing the compulsory 
minimum training standards and may not be employed in 
excess of 120 days without having been issued a 
registration or an exception from the department.  

8. Carry Be in possession of the private security state 
issued photo registration identification card at all times 
while on duty once the authorization has been approved 
from the department, except those individuals operating 
outside the Commonwealth of Virginia who shall obtain 
the state issued photo identification card prior to providing 
services when physically located in the Commonwealth.  

9. Perform those duties authorized by his registration only 
while employed by a licensed private security services 
business and only for the clients of the licensee. This shall 
not be construed to prohibit an individual who is registered 
as an armed security officer from being employed by a 
nonlicensee as provided for in § 9.1-140 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

10. Possess a valid firearms training endorsement if he 
carries or has access to firearms while on duty and then 
only those firearms by type of action and caliber to which 
he has been trained on and is qualified to carry. Carry or 
have access to a patrol rifle while on duty only with the 
expressed written authorization of the licensed private 
security services business employing the registrant. 

11. Carry a firearm concealed while on duty only with the 
expressed written authorization of the licensed private 
security services business employing the registrant and 
only in compliance with § 18.2-308 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

12. Transport, carry and utilize firearms while on duty only 
in a manner that does not endanger the public health, safety 
and welfare.  

13. If authorized to make arrests, make arrests in full 
compliance with the law and using only the minimum 
force necessary to effect an arrest.  

14. Engage in no conduct which shall mislead or 
misrepresent through word, deed or appearance suggests 
that a registrant is a law-enforcement officer, or other 
government official. 

15. Display one's registration while on duty in response to 
the request of a law-enforcement officer, department 
personnel or client.  

16. Not perform any unlawful or negligent act resulting in 
a loss, injury or death to any person. 

17. If a uniform is required, wear the uniform required by 
his employer. If wearing a uniform while employed as an 
armed security officer, unarmed security officer, alarm 
respondent or armored car personnel, that uniform must:  

a. Include at least one insignia clearly identifying the 
name of the licensed firm employing the individual and, 
except armored car personnel, a name plate or tape 
bearing, as a minimum, the individual's last name 
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attached on the outermost garment, except rainwear worn 
only to protect from inclement weather; and  

b. Include no patch or other writing (i) containing the 
word "police" or any other word suggesting a law-
enforcement officer; (ii) containing the word "officer" 
unless used in conjunction with the word "security"; or 
(iii) resembling any uniform patch or insignia of any duly 
constituted law-enforcement agency of this 
Commonwealth, its political subdivisions or of the 
federal government. This restriction shall not apply to 
individuals who are also duly sworn special police 
officers, to the extent that they may display words that 
accurately represent that distinction.  

18. When providing services as a central station dispatcher, 
attempt to verify the legitimacy of a burglar alarm 
activation by contacting an authorized individual at the site 
where an alarm signal originated before dispatching 
authorities. This shall not apply if the alarm user has 
provided written authorization requesting immediate 
dispatch. This shall not apply to duress or hold-up alarms.  

19. Act only in such a manner that does not endanger the 
public health, safety and welfare.  

20. Not represent as one's own a registration issued to 
another individual.  

21. Not falsify, or aid and abet others in falsifying, training 
records for the purpose of obtaining a license, registration, 
certification, or certification as a compliance agent, 
training school, school director or instructor.  

22. Not provide information obtained by the registrant or 
his employing firm to any person other than the client who 
secured the services of the licensee without the client's 
prior written consent. Provision of information in response 
to official requests from law-enforcement agencies, the 
courts, or from the department shall not constitute a 
violation of this chapter. Provision of information to law-
enforcement agencies pertinent to criminal activity or to 
planned criminal activity shall not constitute a violation of 
this chapter.  

23. Not engage in acts of unprofessional conduct in the 
practice of private security services.  

24. Not engage in acts of negligent or incompetent private 
security services.  

25. Not make any misrepresentation or make a false 
promise to a private security services business client or 
potential private security services business client.  

26. Satisfy all judgments to include binding arbitrations 
related to private security services not provided.  

27. Not provide false or misleading information to 
representatives of the department. 

28. Not refuse to cooperate with an investigation being 
conducted by the department. 

29. Not provide materially incorrect, misleading, 
incomplete, or untrue information on a registration 
application, renewal application, or any other document 
filed with the department. 

30. Not have an arrest that the prima facie evidence would 
indicate the propensity for harming the public. 

Part V  
Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for Private 

Security Services Business Personnel Registrations 

Article 1  
Registration/Certification Registration Category 

Requirements  

6VAC20-171-350. Entry level training. 

A. Each person employed by a private security services 
business or applying to the department for registration as an 
unarmed security officer, armed security officer/courier, 
personal protection specialist, armored car personnel, security 
canine handler, explosives detector canine handler, narcotics 
detector canine handler, private investigator, alarm 
respondent, locksmith, central station dispatcher, electronic 
security sales representative, electronic security technician, or 
electronic security technician's assistant as defined by § 9.1-
138 of the Code of Virginia, or for certification as a 
compliance agent as required by § 9.1-139 of the Code of 
Virginia, who has not met the compulsory minimum training 
standards prior to July 13, 1994, must meet the compulsory 
minimum training standards herein established, unless 
provided for otherwise in accordance with this chapter.  

B. Training will be credited only if application for 
registration or certification is submitted to received by the 
department within 12 months of completion of training.  

C. Hour Course and minimum hour requirement. The 
compulsory minimum entry level training courses and 
specific minimum hour requirement by category, excluding 
examinations, practical exercises and range qualification, 
shall be:  

1. Unarmed security officer – 18 hours 

a. 10E: Private Security Orientation – 2 hours 

b. 01E: Security Officer Core Subjects – 16 hours 

2. Armed security officer/courier – 40 hours – 50 hours (54 
hours including shotgun training)  

*There are 8 hours of Arrest Powers, Policies, 
Procedures that are included in the Armed Security 
Officer Training. These 8 hours are mandatory for armed 
security officers only.  

a. 10E: Private Security Orientation – 2 hours 
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b. 01E: Security Officer Core Subjects – 16 hours  

c. 05E: Armed Security Officer Arrest Authority – 8 
hours 

d. 075E: Basic Handgun – 24 hours 

e. 08E: Entry-level Shotgun – 4 hours (if applicable*)   * 
To also have access to a shotgun while on duty, the 
additional shotgun course is required.  

3. Armored car personnel – 26 hours (30 hours with 
shotgun) 

a.10E: Private Security Orientation – 2 hours 

b. 03E: Armored Car Procedures – 10 hours 

c. 07E: Fundamental Handgun – 14 hours 

d. 08E: Entry-level Shotgun – 4 hours (if applicable*) * 
To also have access to a shotgun while on duty, the 
additional shotgun course is required.  

4. Security canine handler – 30 hours (excluding basic 
obedience training) 

a. 10E: Private Security Orientation – 2 hours 

b. 01E: Security Officer Core Subjects – 16 hours 
(prerequisite for 04ES) 

c. Prerequisite for 04ES – Basic Obedience Training 

d. 04ES: Security Canine Handler – 12 hours 

5. Private investigator – 60 hours  

a. 10E: Private Security Orientation – 2 hours 

b. 02E: Private Investigator Subjects – 58 hours 

6. Personal protection specialist – 60 hours  

a. 10E: Private Security Orientation – 2 hours 

b. 02E: Personal Protection Specialist – 58 hours 

c. 075E: Basic Handgun – 24 hours (prerequisite for 09E 
Advanced Handgun)  

d. 09E: Advanced Handgun – 14 hours (for armed 
personal protection specialists) 

7. Alarm respondent – 18 hours  

a. 10E: Private Security Orientation – 2 hours 

b. 01E: Security Officer Core Subjects – 16 hours 

8. Central station dispatcher – 8 hours  

a. 10E: Private Security Orientation – 2 hours 

b. 30E: Electronic Security Core Subjects – 2 hours 

c. 38E: Central Station Dispatcher – 4 hours 

9. Electronic security sales representative – 8 hours  

a. 10E: Private Security Orientation – 2 hours 

b. 30E: Electronic Security Core Subjects – 2 hours 

c. 39E: Electronic Security Sales – 4 hours 

10. Electronic security technician – 14 hours  

a. 10E: Private Security Orientation – 2 hours 

b. 30E: Electronic Security Core Subjects – 2 hours 

c. 35E: Electronic Security Technician – 10 hours 

11. Electronic security technician's assistant – 4 hours  

a. 10E: Private Security Orientation – 2 hours 

b. 30E: Electronic Security Core Subjects – 2 hours 

12. Detector Canine Handler – 160 hours (excluding 
certification examination) 

a. 10E: Private Security Orientation – 2 hours 

b. 04ED: Detector Canine Handler – 158 hours  

c. Certification exam by a Certified Detector Canine 
Handler Examiner 

13. Locksmith – 18 hours 

a.10E: Private Security Orientation – 2 hours 

b. 25E: Locksmith – 16 hours 

12. Compliance agent – 6 hours  

D. Course content. The compulsory minimum entry level 
training course content by category specific course, excluding 
examinations, mandated practical exercises and range 
qualification, shall be as provided in this subsection.  

1. Private Security Orientation (10E) – 2 Hours (excluding 
examination) 

a. Introduction to private security 

b. Applicable sections of the Code of Virginia and 
Regulations Relating to Private Security Services 

c. Written comprehensive examination 

This session is a requirement for all registration categories. 
However, an individual applying for more than one 
category of registration or adding an additional category 
shall only be required to take this training one time within 
12 months of submitting application. 

1. 2. Security officer core subjects. (01E) – 16 hours 
(excluding examination)  

The entry level curriculum for unarmed security officer, 
armed security officer/courier, security canine handler, and 
alarm respondent sets forth the following areas identified 
as:  

a. Orientation – 2 hours  



Regulations 

Volume 26, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations February 1, 2010 

1521 

(1) Virginia law and regulations  

(2) Code of ethics  

(3) General duties and responsibilities  

b. a. Law – 4 hours  

c. b. Security patrol, access control and communications 
– 2 hours  

d. c. Documentation – 4 hours  

e. d. Emergency procedures – 4 hours  

f. e. Confrontation management – 2 hours  

f. Use of force 

g. Written comprehensive examination 

Total hours (excluding exam) – 18 16 hours  

2. Armed security officer/courier. 3. Armed Security 
Officer Arrest Authority (05E) – 8 hours (excluding 
examination) 

a. Arrest powers, policies and procedures 

b. Written comprehensive examination 

a. Security officer core subjects – 18 16 hours  

b. Entry level handgun training (refer to Article 2 
(6VAC20-171-365 et seq.) of this part) – 14 hours 
(includes dry fire, and judgmental shooting and low level 
light shooting familiarization)  

c. Arrest powers, policies, procedures - 8 hours  

d. Entry level shotgun training, if applicable (refer to 
Article 2 (6VAC20-171-365 et seq.) of this part) – 2 
hours  

Total hours (excluding examinations, shotgun classroom 
instruction and range qualification) – 40 hours  

3. 4. Armored car personnel. (03E) – 10 hours (excluding 
examination) 

a. Administration and armored car orientation – 1 hour  

b. Applicable sections of the Code of Virginia and DCJS 
regulations – 1 hour  

c. a. Armored car procedures – 10 hours  

d. b. Written comprehensive examination  

e. Entry level handgun training (refer to Article 2 
(6VAC20-171-365 et seq.) of this part) – 14 hours 
(includes 4 hours of range dry fire and low level lighting)  

f. Entry level shotgun training, if applicable (refer to 
Article 2 (6VAC20-171-365 et seq.) of this part) – 2 
hours  

Total hours (excluding examinations, shotgun classroom 
instruction and range qualification) – 26 hours  

4. 5. Security canine handler. (04ES) 20 hours (excluding 
examination and basic obedience training) 

a. Prerequisites for security canine handler entry level 
(official documentation required): Successful completion 
of basic obedience training. 

b. Demonstration of proficiency. The student must 
demonstrate his proficiency in the handling of a security 
canine to satisfy the minimum standards  

c. Evaluation by a certified private security canine 
handler instructor and basic obedience retraining  

d. Security canine handler orientation/legal authority  

e. Canine patrol techniques  

f. Written comprehensive examination  

Complete entry level training requirements pursuant to 
Article 3 (6VAC20-171-430 et seq.) of this part.  

5. 6. Private investigator. (02E) – 58 hours (excluding 
examination and practical exercises) 

a. Orientation: applicable sections of the Code of 
Virginia; Administrative Code 6VAC20-171; standards 
Standards of professional conduct; and ethics – 6 hours  

b. Law: basic law; legal procedures and due process; civil 
law; criminal law; evidence; and legal privacy 
requirements – 16 hours plus one practical exercise – one 
practical exercise 

c. General investigative skills, tools and techniques: 
surveillance; research; and interviewing – 16 hours plus 
one practical exercise – one practical exercise 

d. Documentation: Report preparations; photography; 
audio recording; general communication; and courtroom 
testimony – 8 hours plus one practical exercise – one 
practical exercise 

e. Types of investigations: accident; insurance; 
background; domestic; undercover; fraud and financial; 
missing persons and property; and criminal – 14 hours 
plus one practical exercise – one practical exercise 

f. Written comprehensive examination  

Total hours in classroom (excluding written examination 
and practical exercises) – 60 hours  

6. 7. Personal protection specialist. (32E) – 58 hours 
(excluding written examination and practical exercises) 

a. Administration and personal protection orientation – 3 
hours  

b. Applicable sections of the Code of Virginia and DCJS 
regulations – 1 hour  
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c. b. Assessment of threat and protectee vulnerability – 8 
hours  

d. c. Legal authority and civil law – 8 hours  

e. d. Protective detail operations – 28 hours  

f. e. Emergency procedures – 12 hours  

(1) CPR Medical procedures 

(2) Emergency first aid Defensive preparedness 

(3) Defensive preparedness  

g. f. Performance evaluation –Five practical exercises  

h. g. Written comprehensive examination  

Total hours (excluding written examination and 
performance evaluation) – 60 hours  

7. Alarm respondent.  

Security officer core subjects – 18 hours  

8. Electronic security core subjects. (30E) – 2 hours 
(excluding examination) The entry level electronic security 
subjects curriculum for central station dispatcher, 
electronic security sales representative, electronic security 
technician and electronic security technician's assistant sets 
forth the following areas identified as:  

a. Administration and orientation to private security – 1 
hour  

b. Applicable sections of the Code of Virginia and DCJS 
regulations – 1 hour  

c. a. Overview of electronic security – 1 hour  

d. b. False alarm prevention – 1 hour  

e. c. Written comprehensive examination  

Total hours (excluding examination) – 4 hours  

9. Central station dispatcher. (38E) – 4 hours (excluding 
examination) 

a. Electronic security subjects – 4 hours  

b. a. Central station dispatcher subjects – 4 hours  

(1) Duties and responsibilities  

(2) Communications skills  

(3) Emergency procedures  

c. b. Written comprehensive examination  

Total hours (excluding examination) – 8 hours  

10. Electronic security sales representative. (39E) 4 hours 
(excluding examination) 

a. Electronic security subjects – 4 hours  

b. a. Electronic security sales representative subjects – 4 
hours  

(1) Duties and responsibilities  

(2) System design/components  

(3) False alarm prevention  

c. b. Written comprehensive examination  

Total hours (excluding examination) – 8 hours  

11. Electronic security technician. (39E) – 4 hours 
(excluding examination) 

a. Electronic security subjects – 4 hours  

b. a. Electronic security technician subjects – 10 hours  

(1) Duties and responsibilities  

(2) Electronics  

(3) Control panels  

(4) Protection devices and application  

(5) Test equipment  

(6) Power and grounding  

(7) National electrical code  

(8) Job safety  

c. b. Written comprehensive examination  

Total hours (excluding examination) – 14 hours  

12. Compliance agent.  

a. Industry overview and responsibilities  

b. Regulations review  

c. Business practices and ethical standards  

d. Records requirements and other related issues  

e. Written examination  

Total hours (excluding written examination) – 6 hours  

12. Detector Canine Handler (04ED) – 158 hours to 
include practical exercises (excluding certification exam) 

a. Introduction/orientation/administration 

(1) Code of Ethics 

(2) General Duties and Responsibilities 

(3) Legal 

b. Working Canines 

(1) Historical Perspective 

(2) Terms and Definitions 

(3) Methodology and Application 
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(4) Training Documentation 

(5) Search Patterns 

c. Basic Canine Handling (including practical exercises) 

(1) Training 

(2) Care and Health 

(3) Emergency Medical Care 

d. Detector Canine Deployment 

Canine Behavior: Reading and Understanding 

e. Explosive or Narcotics Familiarization (including 
practical exercises) 

(1) Illegal Narcotics Familiarization 

(2) Explosives Substance and I.E.D. Familiarization 

(3) Safety 

f. Written comprehensive exam 

13. Locksmith (25E) – 16 hours (excluding examination) 

a. Orientation to Locksmithing   

(1) History of locksmithing 

(2) Ethics 

(3) Trade resources  

(4) Terminology 

(5) Professional conduct 

(6) Job safety 

b. Public Safety Codes  

(1) NFPA (80, 101) 

(2) Overview of Authorities Having Jurisdiction (AHJs) 

(3) ADA 

(4) Terminology 

(5) Safety code resources 

c. Technical Applications – 10 hours  

Terminology (to include definition/purpose/function) 

(a) Locks/types  

(b) Handing 

(c) Master keying 

(d) Key records and codes 

(e) Key blanks and keyways 

(f) Physical security 

(g) Types of client sites 

(h) Safes/vaults 

(i) Access control 

(j) Handling restricted keys 

(k) Door system components 

(l) Automotive 

(m) Written comprehensive examination 

6VAC20-171-360. In-service training. 

A. Each person registered with the department as an armed 
security officer/courier, personal protection specialist, 
armored car personnel, security canine handler, narcotics 
detector canine handler, explosives detector canine handler, 
private investigator, alarm respondent, locksmith, central 
station dispatcher, electronic security sales representative, 
electronic security technician, unarmed security officer or 
electronic security technician's assistant, or certified by the 
department to act as a compliance agent shall complete the 
compulsory in-service training standard once during each 24-
month period of registration or certification.  

1. Compliance agent.  

a. In-service training must be completed within 12 
months immediately preceding the expiration date.  

b. Individuals who fail to complete in-service training 
prior to the established expiration date may complete in-
service training within 30 days after the expiration date if 
a completed in-service training enrollment application 
and a $25 delinquent training fee is received by the 
department.  

2. Instructor. All private security instructors must complete 
instructor in-service training within 12 months 
immediately preceding the individual's expiration date.  

B. Hour Course Content and minimum hour requirement. 
The compulsory minimum in-service training content and 
minimum hour requirement by category, excluding 
examinations, practical exercises and range qualification, 
shall be as follows:  

1. Unarmed security officer: (01I) Security Officer Core 
Subjects In-Service – 4 hours  

a. Legal authority 

b. Job-related training 

2. Armed security officer/courier (01I) Security Officer 
Core Subjects In-Service – 4 hours (not including range 
retraining) 

a. Legal authority 

b. Job-related training 

3. Armored car personnel (03I) Armored Car Personnel In-
Service – 4 hours 
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Job-related training 

4. Security canine handler (04IS) Security Canine Handler 
In-Service – 8 hours  

a. Basic obedience evaluation and retraining 

b. Canine grooming, feeding, and health care 

c. Apprehension techniques 

d. Obedience 

5. Private investigator (02I) Private Investigator In-Service 
– 8 hours  

Job-related training 

6. Personal protection specialist (32I) Personal Protection 
Specialist In-Service – 8 hours (not including range 
retraining for armed) 

Job-related training 

7. Alarm respondent (01I) Security Officer Core Subjects 
In-Service – 4 hours 

a. Legal authority 

b. Job-related training 

8. Central station dispatcher (38I) Central Station 
Dispatcher In-Service – 4 hours 

Job-related training 

9. Electronic security sales representative (39I) Electronic 
Sales Representative In-Service – 4 hours 

Job-related training 

10. Electronic security technician (35I) Electronic 
Technician In-Service – 4 hours 

Job-related training 

11. Electronic security technician's assistant (30I) 
Electronic Security Subjects In-Service – 2 hours  

Job-related training 

12. Compliance agent —4 hours Detector canine handler 
(04ID) Detector Canine Handler In-Service – 8 hours 
(excluding certification exam) 

a. Detector canine team retraining and problem solving 

b. Search techniques 

c. Terrorist/criminal intelligence update and team safety 

d. Certification exam (conducted by a certified detector 
canine handler examiner) 

13. Firearms instructor —4 hours Locksmith (25I) 
Locksmith In-Service – 4 hours 

Job-related training 

14. General instructor —4 hours  

C. Course content. The compulsory minimum in-service 
training course content by category, excluding examinations, 
practical exercises and range qualification, shall be as 
follows:  

1. Security officer core subjects: Unarmed security 
officer/armed security officer/courier/alarm respondent  

a. Legal authority —2 hours  

b. Job-related training —2 hours  

Total hours —4 hours  

2. Armored car personnel  

Job-related training —4 hours  

Total hours —4 hours  

3. Security canine handler (annual requirement per 
6VAC20-171-440)  

a. Basic obedience evaluation and retraining —4 hours  

b. Job-related training —4 hours  

Total hours —8 hours  

4. Private investigator  

Job-related training —8 hours  

Total hours —8 hours  

5. Personal protection specialist  

Job-related training —8 hours  

Total hours —8 hours  

6. Central station dispatcher  

Job-related training —4 hours  

Total hours —4 hours  

7. Electronic security sales representative  

Job-related training —4 hours  

Total hours —4 hours  

8. Electronic security technician  

Job-related training —4 hours  

Total hours —4 hours  

9. Electronic security technician's assistant  

Job-related training —2 hours  

Total hours —2 hours  

10. Compliance agent  

a. Industry overview and responsibilities  
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b. Regulations review  

c. Business practices and ethical standards  

d. Records requirements and other related topics  

Total hours —4 hours  

11. General instructor  

a. Regulations review and legal issues  

b. Ethical standards  

c. Records requirements and other related topics  

d. Techniques of instruction delivery, including practical 
exercises  

Total hours —4 hours  

12. Firearms instructor  

a. Legal issues  

b. Techniques of delivery of instruction and other related 
topics  

Total hours —4 hours  

Article 2  
Firearms Training Requirements  

6VAC20-171-365. General firearms training 
requirements. 

A. Firearms training endorsement is required for all private 
security services business personnel who carry or have 
immediate access to a firearm while on duty. Each person 
who carries or has immediate access to firearms while on 
duty shall qualify with each type of action and caliber of 
firearm to which he has access.  

B. Each person registered as armored car personnel, security 
canine handler, detector canine handler, private investigator, 
alarm respondent, locksmith, central station dispatcher, 
electronic security sales representative, electronic security 
technician, or electronic security technician's assistant must 
complete fundamental handgun training in order to apply for 
a firearms endorsement. 

C. Each person applying for a registration as an armed 
security officer/courier must complete basic handgun training 
in order to apply for a firearms endorsement. 

D. Each person registered as a personal protection specialist 
must complete basic handgun training and advanced handgun 
training in order to apply for a firearms endorsement. 

6VAC20-171-370. Entry level Fundamental handgun 
training. 

A. Handgun classroom training.  

1. The entry level fundamental handgun classroom training 
will include but not be limited to the following:  

a. The proper care and maintenance of the firearm;  

b. Civil liability of the use of firearms;  

c. Criminal liability of the use of firearms;  

d. Firearms retention and storage;  

e. Deadly force;  

f. Justifiable deadly force;  

g. Range safety;  

h. Principles of marksmanship;  

i. Practical firearms handling and safety;  

j. Judgmental shooting; and  

k. Low level light shooting familiarization.  

a. Practical handgun handling 

(1) Identification of handgun parts 

(2) Draw 

(3) Reholstering 

(4) Ready position 

(5) Loading  

(6) Administrative loading 

(7) Unloading 

(8) Administrative  

(9) Malfunctions 

(10) Immediate actions procedures 

(11) Feedway clearance procedures 

(12) Proper care and maintenance 

(13) Firearms retention  

(14) Ammunition identification and management  

(15) Range safety 

b. Fundamentals of marksmanship 

(1) Grip 

(2) Stance (position) 

(3) Sight alignment 

(4) Sight picture 

(5) Trigger control 

(6) Breathing 

(7) Follow through 

c. Dim light/low light/reduced light practice and 
familiarization 



Regulations 

Volume 26, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations February 1, 2010 

1526 

(1) Hours of darkness 

(2) Identification of target/threat/background 

(3) Unaided training 

(4) Aided training 

(5) Flashlight use 

(6) Reloading during low light conditions 

(7) Malfunctions 

(8) Range safety 

d. Use of force 

e. Criminal and civil liability  

f. Judgmental shooting: judgmental shooting scenarios will 
be conducted in the classroom/range 

g. Lead exposure 

Total Hours (excluding written examination) –14 hours  

2. Written examination required.  

B. Range qualification (no minimum hours). The purpose of 
the range qualification course is to provide practical firearms 
training to individuals desiring to become armed private 
security services business personnel.  

1. Prior to the date of range training, it will be the 
responsibility of the school director to ensure that all 
students are informed of the proper attire and equipment to 
be worn for the firing range portion of the training. 
Equipment needed: handgun, belt with directional draw 
holster, ammunition (60 rounds)  

2. Factory loaded practice or duty ammunition (60 rounds) 
may be used for practice or range qualification.  

3. Course shall be fired double action, or double single 
action except for single action semi-automatic handguns.  

4. All qualifications shall be conducted using a B-27 
silhouette target or the FBI "Q" target. Alternate targets 
may be utilized with prior approval by the department.  

5. With prior approval of the department, a reasonable 
modification of the firearms course may be approved to 
accommodate qualification on indoor ranges.  

6. A certified firearms instructor must be present on the 
range directly controlling the fire line during all phases of 
firearms training. There shall be a minimum of one 
certified firearms instructor per five shooters on the line.  

7. All individuals shall qualify with directional draw 
holsters only.  

8. The range qualification of individuals shall be scored as 
follows:  

B27 target: (use indicated K-value) 7, 8, 9, 10 X rings —
value 5 points, other hits on silhouette —value 0 points: 
divide points scored by maximum possible score to 
obtain decimal and convert to percentage, e.g., 225 / 300 
=.75 = 75%.  

FBI Q target: all hits inside the bottle —value 5 points; 
hits outside the bottle —value 0 points.  

9. The low light range/familiarization of individuals shall 
be scored as indicated above. This is strictly a 
familiarization course with no pass or fail grade provided.  

C. Course: Virginia Private Security Course of Fire for 
Handguns. The course of fire shall be conducted using, at a 
minimum, the requirements set forth in subsection B of this 
section. Strong/weak hand refers to the primary hand used in 
firing the firearm. The opposite hand may be used for 
support. The course of fire shall be conducted in the 
following phases:  

1. Phase 1; 3 yards, utilizing weaver, modified weaver, or 
isosceles stance, 18 rounds:  

a. Load 6 rounds and holster loaded firearm.  

b. On command, draw and fire 2 rounds (3 seconds), 
repeat.  

c. Load 6 rounds and holster loaded firearm.  

d. On command, draw and fire 6 rounds with strong 
hand.  

e. Unload, reload 6 rounds and fire 6 rounds with weak 
hand (25 seconds).  

2. Phase 2; 7 yards, utilizing weaver, modified weaver, or 
isosceles stance, 24 rounds:  

a. Load 6 rounds and holster loaded firearm.  

b. On command, draw and fire 1 round (2 seconds), 
repeat.  

c. Load 6 rounds and holster loaded firearm.  

d. On command, draw and fire 2 rounds (3 seconds), 
repeat.  

e. Load 6 rounds and holster loaded firearm.  

f. On command, draw and fire 6 rounds, reload 6 rounds, 
fire 6 rounds (30 seconds).  

3. Phase 3; 15 yards, 70 seconds, 18 rounds:  

a. Load 6 rounds and holster loaded firearm.  

b. On command, assume kneeling position, draw and fire 
6 rounds with strong hand.  

c. Assume standing position, unload, reload and fire 6 
rounds from weak-hand barricade position.  
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d. Unload, reload and fire 6 rounds from strong-hand 
barricade position (Kneeling position may be fired using 
barricade position.) (70 seconds). 

D. Low Light Course: Virginia Private Security Low Light 
Familiarization Course of Fire for Handguns. The course of 
fire shall be conducted using, at a minimum, the requirements 
set forth in this subsection. Equipment needed: belt with 
directional draw holster, handgun, two speed loaders or three 
magazines, range ammunition (30 rounds). Equipment 
provided by instructor: A range that can simulate low light or 
a pair of welders goggles for each student that simulates low 
light. Strong/weak hand refers to the primary hand used in 
firing the firearm. The opposite hand may be used for 
support. The course of fire shall be conducted in the 
following phases:  

1. Phase 1; 3 yards, utilizing weaver or isosceles stance, 18 
rounds:  

a. Load 6 rounds and come to ready.  

b. On command, fire 2 rounds (3 seconds) repeat.  

c. Load 6 rounds and come to ready.  

d. On command, fire 6 rounds with strong hand.  

e. Unload, reload 6 rounds and fire 6 rounds (30 
seconds).  

2. Phase 2; 7 yards, utilizing weaver or isosceles stance, 12 
rounds:  

a. Load 6 rounds and come to ready.  

b. On command, fire 2 rounds (5 seconds), and repeat.  

c. Load 6 rounds and come to ready.  

d. On command, draw and fire 3 rounds (6 seconds), and 
repeat.  

6VAC20-171-375. Basic handgun training. 

Handgun classroom training.  

1. The basic handgun classroom training will include but 
not be limited to the following:  

a. Practical handgun handling 

(1) Identification of handgun parts 

(2) Draw 

(3) Reholstering 

(4) Ready position 

(5) Loading  

(6) Administrative loading 

(7) Tactical reloading 

(8) Rapid reloading 

(9) Unloading 

(10) Administrative  

(11) Malfunctions 

(12) Immediate actions procedures 

(13) Feedway clearance procedures 

(14) Proper care and maintenance 

(15) Firearms retention  

(16) Ammunition identification and management  

(17) Range safety 

b. Fundamentals of marksmanship 

(1) Grip 

(2) Stance (position) 

(3) Sight alignment 

(4) Sight picture 

(5) Trigger control 

(6) Breathing 

(7) Follow through 

c. Dim light/low light/reduced light practice and 
familiarization 

(1) Hours of darkness 

(2) Identification of target/threat/background 

(3) Unaided training 

(4) Aided training 

(5) Flashlight use 

(6) Reloading during low light conditions 

(7) Malfunctions 

(8) Range safety 

d. Use of force 

(1) Deadly force 

(2) Justifiable deadly force 

e. Liability  

(1) Criminal liability 

(2) Civil liability 

(3) Negligent discharge prevention 

f. Judgmental shooting: judgmental shooting scenarios will 
be conducted in the classroom/range 

(1) Shoot/don't shoot judgment 
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(2) Turn and fire drills 

(3) Failure to stop drills 

(4) Multiple target drills 

g. Lead exposure 

Total Hours (excluding written examination) —24 hours  

2. Written examination required.  

6VAC20-171-376. Handgun range qualification. 

A. Range qualification (no minimum hours). The purpose of 
the range qualification course is to provide practical firearms 
training and qualification to individuals desiring to become 
armed private security services business personnel.  

1. Prior to the date of range training, it will be the 
responsibility of the school director to ensure that all 
students are informed of the proper attire and equipment to 
be worn for the firing range portion of the training. 
Equipment needed: handgun, belt with directional draw 
holster, i.e., one that is worn on the same side of the body 
as the shooting hand, two speed loaders or three 
magazines, ammunition (48 rounds)  

2. Each student will fire a minimum of 24 rounds of 
factory loaded ammunition prior to qualification. (There is 
no course of fire; it is at the firearms instructor's discretion 
on how the round will be utilized.) 

3. Course shall be fired double action or double single 
action, except for single action semi-automatic handguns.  

4. All qualifications shall be conducted using a B-27 
silhouette target or the FBI "Q" target. Alternate targets 
may be utilized with prior approval by the department.  

5. With prior approval of the department, a reasonable 
modification of the firearms course may be approved to 
accommodate qualification on indoor ranges.  

6. A certified firearms instructor must be present on the 
range directly controlling the firing line during all phases 
of firearms training. There shall be a minimum of one 
certified firearms instructor per five shooters on the line.  

7. The range qualification of individuals shall be scored as 
follows:  

a. B27 target: (use indicated K-value) 7, 8, 9, 10 X rings 
—value 5 points, other hits on silhouette —value 0 
points: divide points scored by maximum possible score 
to obtain decimal and convert to percentage, e.g., 225 ÷ 
300 =.75 = 75%.  

b. FBI Q target: all hits inside the bottle —value 5 points; 
hits outside the bottle —value 0 points.  

8. The low light range/night time practice and 
familiarization course of fire.  

B. Course: Virginia private security course of fire for 
handguns. The course of fire shall be conducted using, at a 
minimum, the requirements set forth in this subsection. 
Strong support hand refers to the primary hand used in firing 
the firearm. All magazines will be loaded to maximum 
capacity; it will be the responsibility of the student to change 
magazines as required. Magazine change refers to tactical 
reloading/reloading refers to when the magazine is depleted. 
The course of fire shall be conducted in the following phases 
and scored as follows:  

1. Rounds: 48 rounds duty ammunition or equivalent 

Initial magazine loading: magazine and speed reloaders 
loaded to capacity. 

Ammunition management: shooter is responsible for 
maintaining a loaded handgun, performing speed 
reloads/tactical reloads as necessary. Running out of 
ammunition during a stage is not a valid alibi. 

Target: B-27 or FBI Q target 

Scoring: B27 target: 7, 8, 9, 10 X rings-value 5 points, 
other hits on silhouette-value 0 points: divide points scored 
by maximum possible score to obtain decimal and convert 
to percentage, e.g., 190 ÷ 250 = .76 = 76%.  

FBI Q target: all hits inside the bottle – value 5 points; hits 
outside the bottle – value 0 points. 

Total possible: 250 points 

Minimum score: 190 (76%) 38 hits 

Firing position: all rounds will be fired from a two-handed 
standing position unless noted otherwise. 

Reholster: all reholstering will be done on command. 

Start position: handgun secured in approved holster, 
interview position and all spare magazines secured in duty 
pouches. 

2. Magazines loaded to capacity. Shooter is responsible for 
maintaining a loaded handgun, performing speed reloads 
and topping off magazines as necessary. Running out of 
ammunition during a stage is not a valid alibi. 

3. Phase 1: 3 yards, utilizing a proper stance, 18 rounds 

On command, draw and fire: 

a. 2 rounds (3 seconds), drop/scan and re-holster, repeat 3 
times 

b. 1 round (2 seconds), drop/scan and re-holster, repeat 6 
times 

c. 6 rounds (15 seconds), 3 rounds with the strong hand 
ONLY, transfer firearm the support hand and fire 3 
rounds with the support hand ONLY, transfer to strong 
hand, drop/scan, re-holster. 
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4. Phase 2: 7 yards, utilizing a proper stance, 18 rounds 

On command, draw and fire: 

a. 1 round (2 seconds), drop/scan and reholster, repeat 6 
times 

b. 2 rounds (3 seconds), drop/scan and reholster, repeat 3 
times 

c. 6 rounds (10 seconds), drop/scan and reholster 

5. Phase 3: 15 yards, kneeling position, 12 rounds 

On command, draw and fire: 

6 rounds kneeling strong side barricade position, reload 
and fire 6 rounds from the support barricade position (25 
seconds) 

C. Low light course: Virginia private security low light 
practice/familiarization course of fire for handguns. The 
course of fire shall be conducted using, at a minimum, the 
requirements set forth in this subsection. Equipment needed: 
belt with directional draw holster, flashlight, handgun, two 
speed loaders or three magazines, range ammunition (24 
rounds). Equipment provided by instructor: A range that can 
simulate low light or a pair of welders goggles for each 
student that simulates low light. Strong/weak hand refers to 
the primary hand used in firing the firearm. The opposite 
hand may be used for support. The course of fire shall be 
conducted in the following phases for practice and 
familiarization:  

1. Target: B-27 or FBI Q target 

2. Scoring: B27 target: 7, 8, 9, 10 X rings--value 5 points, 
other hits on silhouette--value 0 points: divide points 
scored by maximum possible score to obtain decimal and 
convert to percentage, e.g., 95 ÷ 120 = .79 = 79%.  

3. FBI Q target: all hits inside the bottle – value 5 points; 
hits outside the bottle – value 0 points. 

4. Phase I; 3 yards, utilizing a proper stance, 12 rounds: 

a. Load magazines to full capacity and come to ready  

b. On command, fire 2 rounds (3 seconds) repeat 

c. On command, fire 6 rounds  

(15 Seconds) 

5. Phase 2; 7 yards, utilizing proper stance, 12 rounds  

a. On command, fire 2 rounds (5 seconds), and repeat 

b. On command, fire 3 rounds (6 seconds), and repeat 

D. Alternate course of fire semi-automatic handguns 

1. Firearms instructors are authorized to implement a 
substitute handgun qualification course for semi-automatic 
handguns that incorporate the following elements at a 
minimum: 

a. All classroom instruction contained in subsection A of 
this section; 

b. The targets used are either a B-27 silhouette target or 
FBI Q target; 

c. All firing is initiated with the firearm in a directional 
draw holster; 

d. The alternative course of fire will incorporate a 
minimum of 4 magazine changes; 

e. Scoring will be the same as that contained in 
subdivision B 1 of this section; 

f. There shall not be more than 5 students on the firing 
line for each certified firearms instructor present; 

g. Firing distances shall be 3 yards, 7 yards, and 15 
yards; 

h. A total of 60 rounds of ammunition will be fired by 
each shooter; and 

i. Course will incorporate strong hand and weak hand 
firing position. 

2. Timing of firing in each stage will be similar to that 
imposed in the standard course of fire; i.e., 1 shot in 2 
seconds, 2 shots in 3 seconds. Firearms instructors are 
allowed to decrease the time limits imposed in the standard 
course of fire, but may not exceed them. 

3. Firearms instructors desiring to develop an alternate 
course of fire for semi-automatic handguns must submit 
the proposed course in writing to the department for 
approval prior to that alternate course being used for 
qualification firing. 

4. An alternative course of fire for semi-automatics 
approved by the department will not be used to qualify or 
requalify shooters armed with a revolver. 

6VAC20-171-380. Entry-level shotgun training. 

A. Shotgun classroom training. Individual must first 
successfully complete entry-level handgun training. The entry 
level shotgun classroom instruction will emphasize but not be 
limited to:  

1. Safe and proper use and handling of shotgun;  

2. Nomenclature;  

3. Positions and combat loading techniques;  

4. Decision-making for the officer with the shotgun;  

5. Transition from sidearm to shotgun; and  

6. Shotgun retention and proper use of a sling.  

Total hours —2 hours  

1. Shotgun handling techniques 
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a. Identification of shotgun parts 

b. Slings – traditional sling, single point sling, 3 point 
sling 

c. Cruiser carry conditions  

d. Cruiser safe 

e. Chambering 

f. Reloading 

g. Transition from handgun to shotgun/shotgun to 
handgun (if applicable) 

h. Malfunctions 

(1) Immediate actions procedures 

(2) Feedway clearance procedures 

i. Proper care and maintenance 

j. Shotgun retention 

k. Ammunition management and identification 

l. Range safety 

m. Dim light/low light 

2. Fundamentals of shotgun marksmanship 

a. Grip 

b. Stance (position) 

c. Sight alignment 

d. Sight picture 

e. Trigger control 

f. Breathing 

g. Follow through 

3. Written examination 

Total hours excluding examination (4 hours) 

B. Range qualification (no minimum hours). The purpose of 
the range firing course is to provide practical shotgun training 
and qualification to those individuals who carry or have 
immediate access to a shotgun in the performance of their 
duties.  

1. For certification, 12 gauge, double aught "00" buckshot 
ammunition shall be used. Five rounds.  

2. Scoring —70% of available pellets must be within 
silhouette.  

1. Fire a minimum of 10 prequalification rounds using 12 
gauge, double aught "00" buckshot or rifle slug ammunition 
and 12 handgun rounds. Prequalification will include 
transition from handgun to shotgun and shotgun to handgun. 

2. Fire 10 rounds of shotgun rounds (buckshot and/or rifled 
slugs if issued) on a daylight course using B27 single/multiple 
targets with 70% accuracy. 

3. Fire 10 rounds of (buck-shot and/or rifled slugs if issued) 
using B27 single/multiple targets on a nighttime course with 
70% accuracy. 

4. Complete daylight and dim light shotgun practice and 
qualification courses with distance, positions, rounds, targets, 
and time limitations as described in subsection C of this 
section. 

C. Course: Virginia Private Security Course of Fire for 
Shotguns.  

Distance Position No. 
Rounds 

Target Time 

Combat 
load & 
fire 15 
Yds. 

Standing/
Shoulder 

3 B 27 
Silhouette 

20 sec. 

Combat 
load & 
fire 25 
Yds. 

Kneeling/
Shoulder 

2 B 27 
Silhouette 

15 sec. 
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Prequalification 
Condition Distance Position Rounds Target Time 

Cruiser Safe 15 Standing/shoulder/transition* 3 SG/3 HG B27 25 sec 
Open breach 15 Kneeling/shoulder 2 B27 15 sec 
Cruiser Safe 25 Kneeling/shoulder/transition 3 SG/3 HG B27 30 sec 
Open breach 25 Standing/shoulder 2 B27 20 sec 

Day Light Qualification 
Condition Distance Position Rounds Target Time 

Cruiser Safe 15 Standing/shoulder 3 B27 15 sec 
Open breach reloading 15 Kneeling/shoulder 2 B27 10 sec 

Cruiser Safe 25 Kneeling/shoulder 3 B27 20 sec 
Open breach reloading 25 Standing/shoulder 2 B27 25 sec 

Dim Light/Low Light Qualification 
Condition Distance Position Rounds Target Time 

Cruiser Safe 7 Standing/shoulder 3 B27 20 sec 
Open breach reloading 7 Kneeling/shoulder 2 B27 15 sec 

Cruiser Safe 15 Standing/shoulder 3 B27 25 sec 
Open breach reloading 15 Kneeling/shoulder 2 B27 30 sec 

D. A certified firearms instructor must be present on the 
range directly controlling the firing line during all phases of 
firearms range training. There shall be a minimum of one 
certified firearms instructor per five shooters on the line.  

6VAC20-171-390. Advanced handgun training - required 
for the entry level personal protection specialist who 
wishes to have firearms endorsement and optional for 
other armed registrants.  

A. The entry level basic handgun training is a prerequisite 
for taking the advanced handgun training.  

B. Advanced handgun classroom training.  

1. The advanced handgun training will include but not be 
limited to:  

a. Proper care of the weapon Firearms safety;  

b. Civil and criminal liability of the use of firearms;  

c. Criminal liability of the use of firearms Concealed 
carry law and authority;  

d. Weapons retention Function of firearms in close 
protection operations;  

e. Deadly force Deployment of firearms in close 
protection operations;  

f. Justifiable deadly Use of force;  

g. Range safety;  

h. Practical firearms handling;  

i. g. Principles of advanced marksmanship; and  

j. h. Decision-making for the personal protection 
specialist.  

Total hours (excluding written examination) —24 hours – 
14 hours 

2. Written examination required.  

C. Range qualification (no minimum hours). The purpose of 
this course of fire is to assess and improve the tactical, 
protection-related shooting skills for personal protection 
specialist candidates seeking certification to be armed. This 
course entails five increasingly challenging stages of 
advanced firearms exercises with a 92% score required for 
qualification.  

1. The advanced handgun course of fire is comprised of the 
following exercises:  

a. Shoot/don't shoot judgment;  

b. Turn and fire drills;  

c. Failure to stop drills;  

d. Multiple target drills; and  

e. Judgmental shooting.  

2. For all range practicals (stage two through stage four):  

a. The student will fire at a man-size silhouette target 
with the following requirements:  

(1) 4-inch diameter circle in head;  

(2) 8-inch diameter circle in chest/body area; and  

(3) Center points of circles –13-1/2 inches apart.  

b. All rounds fired must hit within these circles.  

c. Minimum 92% qualification score = 25 rounds total 
requiring 23 hits. With regard to scoring:  
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(1) 25 points (1 round is good for 1 point).  

(2) 92% of shots must be "in circle" hits for a passing 
grade (2 misses allowed on total course).  

(3) Shots not taken during stage five when a "no-shoot" 
situation is presented scores a point, just as an accurate 
shot in a hostile situation.  

(4) 92% is 23 of 25 possible.  

3. A certified advanced handgun firearms instructor must 
be on the range during all phases of advanced handgun 
training. There shall be no less than one certified advanced 
handgun firearms instructor per four students.  

D. Course: Virginia Private Security Advanced Handgun 
Course of Fire.  

1. Stage One: Shoot/don't shoot drill. Stage one of the 
advanced handgun course of fire is conducted in a 
classroom using a 16 mm film or video cassette tape of 
firearms combat scenarios or in practical exercises on the 
range to assess the student's decision-making capability 
given job-related shoot/don't shoot incidents.  

After the interaction of the scenario, the students must 
explain all their commands and actions.  

Dry-fire response from a weapon rendered safe should be 
incorporated into the scenario interaction.  

2. Stage Two: Turn-and-fire drill. Stage two of the 
advanced handgun course of fire is held at a firing range 
and consists of turn-and-fire drills from varying distances 
(straight draw hip holsters only).  

All handguns are loaded with six 6 rounds of ammunition 
and safely holstered. Shooters are positioned with their 
backs to the targets, facing the instructor up-range. The 
instructor will command all shooters to walk at a normal 
pace, directly away from the target. Upon the command 
"fire," the students must quickly turn while acquiring a 
firm grip on the weapon. Once facing the target and in a 
stable position, they must safely draw and fire two 2 
rounds at the designated target circle. After shooting, while 
facing the target, the student must reholster safely, then 
turn around to face up range, ready to continue the 
exercise. The "fire" commands will be called at 3-5 yards, 
5-7 yards, and then 8-10 yards.  

3. Stage Three: Failure to stop drill. Stage three of the 
advanced handgun course of fire is held at a firing range 
and consists of failure to stop drills fired from the seven-
yard 7-yard line (straight draw hip holsters only).  

All handguns are loaded with six 6 rounds of ammunition 
and are safely holstered. Shooters are positioned with their 
backs to the targets, facing the instructor up-range. The 
instructor will command all shooters to walk at a normal 
pace, directly away from the target. Upon the command 

"fire," given at approximately the seven-yard 7-yard line, 
each shooter must safely turn around while acquiring a 
firm grip on their weapon as performed in the previous 
drill. Once facing the target, the students will draw and fire 
two 2 rounds at the 8-inch body circle, and then one 
immediate round to the 4-inch head circle. The student will 
then safely reholster. The drill will be repeated three times.  

4. Stage Four: Multiple target identification drill. Stage 
four of the advanced handgun course of fire is held at a 
firing range and consists of multiple target identification 
drills fired from varying distances (straight draw hip 
holsters only).  

Each shooter will line up on a set of three targets. Only two 
shooters at one time can complete this exercise on a 
standard 10-12 station range. However, smaller ranges may 
allow for only one shooter at a time.  

Each handgun is loaded with six rounds of ammunition and 
safely holstered. The shooters are positioned with their 
backs to the targets, facing the instructor up-range. The 
instructor will command all shooters to walk at a normal 
pace, directly away from the targets. Upon the command 
"left," "right," or "center," the student must again turn 
around safely while establishing a firm grip on the weapon. 
Then, once stable, the student must quickly draw and fire 2 
rounds at the designated circle on the "called" target ("L," 
"R," "C"). Then, the shooter, while still facing the targets, 
must safely reholster, turn around to face up range, and 
continue the exercise. Each two-round pair must be fired 
within four 4 seconds of the called command. Direction 
commands will be called at 3-5 yards, 5-7 yards, and then 
8-10 yards.  

5. Stage Five: Judgmental shooting. This drill combines 
the skills developed in the prior four stages. The shooter 
will be required to safely turn and fire at a "photograph" 
type target which may be either friendly or hostile. It 
requires hostile targets to be stopped using deadly force. 
Necessity (immediate jeopardy) is presumed for this 
exercise. This stage allows the instructor to evaluate the 
decision-making capability of the student as well as his 
shooting accuracy and safety.  

Shooter is placed on the 10-yard line facing the instructor 
with the target to his rear. The target will be placed at any 
location along the range target line and should not be seen 
by the student until he is given the "turn" command during 
the drill. Each shooter has the opportunity to complete this 
drill four times. Each decision is worth one point. If he 
shoots at a hostile target, a hit anywhere on that target will 
score the point. If a friendly target is presented, it is clearly 
a no-shoot situation and the student should merely holster 
safely to score the point. There is a four-second 4-second 
time limit at this stage for any "shoot" situation.  
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The instructor will allow each shooter two opportunities to 
complete this drill and place two targets downrange for 
each. Four points or hits are still necessary at this stage for 
the total score. If two targets are used, then the time limit is 
raised to six 6 seconds, regardless of whether two hostile 
targets are used or one hostile with one friendly.  

6VAC20-171-395. Entry-level patrol rifle training. 

A. Patrol rifle classroom training. The entry-level patrol rifle 
classroom instruction will emphasize but not be limited to:  

1. Rifle handling techniques 

a. Nomenclature/identification of rifle parts 

b. Field striping and reassembling 

c. Loading and unloading 

d. Cruiser carry conditions 

e. Cruiser safe 

f. Chambering 

g. Reloading 

h. Slings 

(1) Traditional sling 

(2) Single point sling 

(3) 3 Point sling 

i. Transition from handgun to rifle/rifle to handgun  

j. Malfunctions 

k. Immediate actions procedures 

l. Feedway clearance procedures 

m. Proper care and maintenance 

n. Rifle retention  

o. Ammunition management and identification 

p. Range safety 

q. Dim light/low light  

2. Fundamentals of rifle marksmanship 

a. Grip 

b. Stance (position) 

c. Sight alignment 

d. Sight picture 

e. Trigger control 

f. Breathing 

g. Follow through 

3. Zeroing iron sights 

a. Establishing mechanical zero 

b. Zeroing process 

4. Dim light shooting 

a. Hours of darkness/dim light 

b. Identification requirements 

c. Unaided reduced light shooting techniques 

d. Aided reduced light shooting techniques 

5. Shooting positions 

a. Fundamentals of shooting positions 

b. Basic patrol positions 

6. Use of force 

7. Criminal and civil liability 

8. Judgmental shooting 

9. Written comprehensive examination 

Total hours (excluding examination) 24 hours 

B. Range qualification (no minimum hours). The purpose of 
the range firing course is to provide practical patrol rifle 
training and qualification to those individuals who carry or 
have immediate access to a patrol rifle in the performance of 
their duties with the sighting system that will be carried on 
duty.  

C. Patrol rifle qualification course. 

1. All rifle qualification will be done with a law-
enforcement type and caliber rifle.   A total of 60 rounds of 
ammunition will be fired for rifle qualification. 

2. All rifle qualification firing will be done with a tactical 
(not parade) style sling mounted on the rifle and utilized by 
the shooter. 

3. All indoor rifle qualification firing will be done at a 
range that accommodates a distance of 25 yards between 
the shooter and the target. No variances of this distance are 
allowed. The indoor target system will contain two targets 
per shooter mounted side by side. The targets will be FBI 
Q-R, half-sized silhouette targets. Use of this target types 
will simulate shooting at 50 yards. 

4. All outdoor rifle qualification firing will be done at 50 
yards using the FBI Q silhouette full-sized targets. Two of 
these targets will be mounted side by side for each shooter. 

5. FBI Q silhouette targets are used for rifle qualification, 
scoring will be all hits inside the bottle – value 5 points; 
outside the bottle – value 0 points. With these targets a 
maximum score of 300 points is possible. Minimum 
qualification is 85% or 255 points. 

D. Patrol rifle course of fire. 
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1. All shooter are required to fire at a minimum of 30 
familiarization rounds which will include transition drills 
from handgun to rifle and rifle to handgun. 

2. Stage 1; 50 yards/25 yards (indoors) – Shooters will load 
their rifle with a magazine of 20 rounds and place the 
selector on safe. From the standing position with the rifle 
in the sling carry position, on command the shooters will 
fire 5 rounds from the standing position, place the selector 
on safe, assume a kneeling position and fire 5 rounds, place 
the selector on safe shooter will assume the prone position, 
the shooter will fire 10 rounds. All 20 rounds of this stage 
will be fired at the left hand target. (1 minute) When firing 
is complete shooters will place the selector on safe and 
await further command. 

3. Stage 2; 25 yards – Shooters will load their rifle with a 
magazine of 15 rounds and place the selector on safe. From 
the standing position with the rifle in the sling carry 
position, on command the shooters will fire 5 rounds from 
the standing position, place the selector on safe, assume a 
kneeling position and fire 5 rounds, place the selector on 
safe shooter will assume the prone position, the shooter 
will fire 5 rounds. All 15 rounds of this stage will be fired 
at the right hand target.  (45 seconds) When firing is 
complete shooters will place the selector on safe and await 
further command. 

4. Stage 3; 15 yards - On command shooters will assume 
the standing position and load rifle with a magazine of 10 
rounds. On command shooters will fire 5 rounds at the 
right-hand target, place the selector on safe, assume the 
kneeling position and fire 5 rounds at the left-hand target in 
15 seconds. 

5. Stage 4; 7 yards - On command shooters will load rifle 
with a magazine of 20 rounds, selector in the safe position, 
and then place the rifle in the sling carry position. On 
command shooters will fire 2 rounds into the right target 
with a 2 second time limit. Upon completion of firing 
shooters will place the selector on safe and the rifle in the 
sling carry position. This exercise will be fired 5 times 
with a total of 10 rounds expended. 

6. Stage 5; 5 yards - On command shooters will load rifle 
with a magazine of 5 rounds, selector in the safe position, 
and then place the rifle in the sling carry position. On 
command shooters will fire 1 round into the left target head 
with a 2 second time limit. Upon completion of firing 
shooters will place the selector on safe and the rifle in the 
sling carry position. This exercise will be fired 5 times 
with a total of 5 rounds expended. 

E. Low light/dim light qualification course of fire. 

7 yards - Under low-light conditions, on command 
shooters will fire 5 rounds at the left target, place the 
selector in the safe position, assume the kneeling position 

and fire 5 rounds at the right target. A time limit of 1 
minute is allowed for this stage. 

6VAC20-171-400. Firearms (handgun/shotgun) 
retraining. 

A. All armed private security services business personnel 
with the exception of personal protection specialists must 
satisfactorily complete two 4 hours of firearms classroom 
training or practical exercises and range training, and 
requalify as prescribed in 6VAC20-171-370 6VAC20-171-
376 B and C for handgun. Firearms instructors who have 
received prior approval from the department may substitute 
the alternative course specified in 6VAC20-171-370 D and 
the low-light course specified in 6VAC20-171-370 C for 
requalification firing with a semi-automatic handgun. and 
6VAC20-171-380 for shotgun, if applicable, on an annual 
basis prior to the issuance of the Firearms Endorsement, as 
follows:  

1. Classroom retraining or practical exercises —2 hours  

2. Range qualification with handgun and/or shotgun, if 
applicable (no minimum hours)  

Total hours (excluding range qualification) —2 hours  

B. Requalification training with the shotgun shall be 
comprised of 4 hours of classroom training or practical 
exercises and range training and requalification firing as 
specified in 6VAC20-171-380 B. 

C. Requalification training with the patrol rifle shall be 
comprised of 4 hours of firearms classroom training or 
practical exercises and range training and requalification 
firing as specified in 6VAC20-171-395 for patrol rifle. 

D. All applicable firearms retraining must be completed and 
documented with the department on an annual basis prior to 
the issuance of a firearms endorsement. 

6VAC20-171-420. Advanced handgun retraining.  

All armed private security services business personnel 
registered in the category of personal protection specialist or 
other armed category seeking advanced handgun designation 
must satisfactorily complete advanced handgun retraining, 
which includes eight hours of firearms classroom training and 
range training, and requalify as prescribed in 6VAC20-171-
390 C for handgun within the 12-month period immediately 
preceding the expiration date of his registration as follows:  

1. Legal authority and decision making —4 hours  

2. Handgun safety, marksmanship and skill development 
—4 hours  

3. Completion of advanced handgun course of fire  

Total Hours (excluding range qualification) – 8 hours  
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Article 3  
Security Canine Handler Training Requirements  

6VAC20-171-430. Entry level security canine handler 
training. (Repealed.) 

A. Prerequisites for security canine handler entry level 
(official documentation required):  

1. Successful completion of the security officer core 
subjects curriculum—18 hours; and  

2. Successful completion of basic obedience training.  

B. Following successful completion of the above 
prerequisites, each security canine handler must also comply 
with the following requirements:  

1. Demonstration of proficiency. The student must 
demonstrate his proficiency in the handling of a security 
canine to satisfy the minimum standards —2 hours  

2. Evaluation by a certified private security canine handler 
instructor and basic obedience retraining  

3. Security canine handler orientation/legal authority —4 
hours  

4. Canine patrol techniques —6 hours  

5. Written examination  

Total hours (excluding examinations) —30 hours  

6VAC20-171-440. Security canine handler retraining. 
(Repealed.) 

Each security canine handler registrant shall comply 
annually with the requirement for basic obedience evaluation 
and retraining (Refer to 6VAC20-171-430).  

1. Applicable sections of the Code of Virginia and DCJS 
regulations —1 hour  

2. Security canine handler basic obedience evaluation and 
retraining —4 hours  

3. Canine grooming, feeding, and health care —1 hour  

4. Apprehension techniques —1 hour  

5. Obedience —1 hour  

Total hours—8 hours  

Article 4 3 
Training Exemptions  

6VAC20-171-445. Training exemptions.  

Persons who meet the statutory requirements as set forth in § 
9.1-141 of the Code of Virginia may apply for a partial 
exemption from the compulsory training standards. 
Individuals requesting such partial exemption shall file an 
application furnished by the department and include the 
applicable, nonrefundable application fee. The department 

may issue such partial exemption on the basis of individual 
qualifications as supported by required documentation. Those 
applying for and receiving exemptions must comply with all 
regulations promulgated by the board. Each person receiving 
a partial exemption must apply to the department for 
registration within 12 months from the date of issuance, 
otherwise the partial exemption shall become null and void.  

Article 2  
Department Action/Sanctions  

6VAC20-171-500. Disciplinary action; sanctions; 
publication of records. 

A. Each person subject to jurisdiction of this chapter who 
violates any statute or regulation pertaining to private security 
services shall be subject to sanctions imposed by the 
department regardless of criminal prosecution.  

B. The department may impose any of the following 
sanctions, singly or in combination, when it finds the 
respondent in violation or in noncompliance of the Code of 
Virginia or of this chapter:  

1. Letter of reprimand or censure;  

2. Probation for any period of time;  

3. Suspension of license, registration, certification, or 
approval granted, for any period of time;  

4. Revocation;  

5. Refusal to issue, renew or reinstate a license, 
registration, certification or approval;  

6. Fine not to exceed $2,500 per violation as long as the 
respondent was not criminally prosecuted;  

7. Remedial training.; or 

8. Conditional agreements. 

C. The department may conduct hearings and issue cease 
and desist orders to persons who engage in activities 
prohibited by this chapter but do not hold a valid license, 
certification or registration. Any person in violation of a cease 
and desist order entered by the department shall be subject to 
all of the remedies provided by law and, in addition, shall be 
subject to a civil penalty payable to the party injured by the 
violation.  

D. The director may summarily suspend a license, 
certification or registration under this chapter without a 
hearing, simultaneously with the filing of a formal complaint 
and notice for a hearing, if the director finds that the 
continued operations of the licensee or registrant would 
constitute a life-threatening situation, or has resulted in 
personal injury or loss to the public or to a consumer, or 
which may result in imminent harm, personal injury or loss.  

E. All proceedings pursuant to this section are matters of 
public record and shall be preserved. The department may 
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publish a list of the names and addresses of all persons, 
licensees, firms, registrants, training schools, school directors, 
compliance agents and licensed firms whose conduct and 
activities are subject to this chapter and have been sanctioned 
or denied licensure, registration, certification or approval.  

6VAC20-171-550. Appeals.  

The findings and the decision of the director may be 
appealed to the board provided that written notification is 
given to the attention of the Director, Department of Criminal 
Justice Services, 805 East Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia 
23219, within 30 days following the date notification of the 
hearing decision was served, or the date it was mailed to the 
respondent, whichever occurred first. In the event the hearing 
decision is served by mail, three days shall be added to that 
period. (Rule 2A:2 of Rules of the Virginia Supreme Court.)  

6VAC20-171-560. Court review; appeal of final agency 
order.  

A. The agency's final administrative decision (final agency 
orders) may be appealed. Any person affected by, and 
claiming the unlawfulness of the agency's final case decision, 
shall have the right to direct review thereof by an appropriate 
and timely court action. Such appeal actions shall be initiated 
in the circuit court of jurisdiction in which the party applying 
for review resides; save, if such party is not a resident of 
Virginia, the venue shall be in the city of Richmond, Virginia.  

B. Notification shall be given to the attention of the 
Director, Department of Criminal Justice Services, 805 East 
Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, in writing within 30 
days of the date notification of the board decision was served, 
or the date it was mailed to the respondent, whichever 
occurred first. In the event the board decision was served by 
mail, three days shall be added to that period. (Rule 2A:2 of 
Rules of the Virginia Supreme Court.)  

C. During all judicial proceedings incidental to such 
disciplinary action, the sanctions imposed by the board shall 
remain in effect, unless the court issues a stay of the order.  

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (6VAC20-171)  

Irrevocable Consent for Service Form, PSS-IC (eff. 2/00). 
PSS-IRC (eff. 5/07). 

Fingerprint Processing Application, PSS-FP (eff. 2/00). (eff. 
3/08). 

Initial Compliance Agent Training and Certification, PSS-
CA (eff. 2/00). (eff. 3/08). 

Initial Business License Application, PSS-LA (eff. 2/00). 
(eff. 3/08). 

Renewal Business License Application, PSS-LR (eff. 2/00). 
(eff. 3/08). 

Initial Private Security Registration Application, PSS-RA 
(eff. 2/00). (eff. 3/08). 

Renewal Private Security Registration Application, PSS-RR 
(eff. 2/00). (eff. 3/08). 

Partial Training Exemption Application for Entry-Level 
Training, PSS-WA Entry (eff. 2/00). (eff. 3/08). 

In-Service Alternative Credit Application Instructions, PSS-
WA In-Service (eff. 5/07). 

Training Completion Roster Application, PSS-SA1 (eff. 
2/00). PSS-TCR (eff. 5/07). 

Initial Private Security Instructor Certification Application - 
Instructions, PSS-IA (eff. 2/00). (eff. 1/07). 

Renewal Private Security Instructor Application, PSS-IR 
(eff. 2/00). (eff. 5/07). 

Private Security Services Complaint Form, PSS-C (eff. 
2/00). (eff. 5/07). 

Duplicate/Replacement Photo ID Application, PSS-MP2 
(eff. 2/00). 

General Instructor Entry Level Training Enrollment, PSS-
GE (eff. 2/00). (eff. 5/07). 

Compliance Agent In-Service Training Enrollment, PSS-CT 
(eff. 2/00). (eff. 5/07). 

Training Completion Form, PSS-TCF (eff. 2/00). (eff. 8/05). 

Initial Private Security Certification Application, PSS-UA 
(eff. 2/00).  

Renewal Private Security Certification Application, PSS-UR 
(eff. 2/00).  

Additional Registration Category Application, PSS-MP1 
(eff. 2/00). PSS-ARC (eff. 3/08). 

Training Session Notification Form, PSS-TN (eff. 2/00). 
PSS-TSN (eff. 5/07). 

Initial Training School Application, PSS-TA (eff. 2/00). 
(eff. 5/07). 

Renewal Training School Application, PSS-TR (eff. 2/00). 
(eff. 5/07). 

General Instructor In-Service Training Enrollment, PSS-GI 
(eff. 2/00). (eff. 5/07). 

Personal Protection Specialist Advanced Firearms Instructor 
Entry Level Training Enrollment, PSS-PPSFI (eff. 2/00).  
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Private Security Firearms Instructor Entry Level Training 
Enrollment, PSS-FE (eff. 2/00).  

Firearm Discharge Report, PSS-FR (eff. 2/00). (eff. 5/07). 

Firearms Instructor In-Service Training Enrollment, PSS-FI 
(eff. 2/00). (eff. 5/07). 

Business or Training School Address Change Form, PSS-
AC2 (eff. 3/08). 

Private Security Services Bond, PSS-BD (eff. 5/07). 

Compliance Agent Designation/Removal Form, PSS-CD 
(eff. 3/08). 

Additional Private Security License Category Application, 
PSS-LC (eff. 3/08). 

Compliance Agent Certification Application and Online 
Training Exemption Form, PSS-WC (eff. 5/07). 

Criminal History Supplemental Form, PSS-CHS (eff. 3/08). 

Criminal History Waiver Application, PSS-CHW (eff. 3/08). 

Locksmith Experience Verification for Entry-Level Training 
Waiver - No Fee, PSS-LTW (eff. 3/08). 

Request for Extension Form, PSS-ER (eff. 5/07). 

Individual Address Change Form, PSS-IAC (eff. 5/07). 

Firearms Endorsement Application, PSS-RF (eff. 3/08). 

Training School Staff Change Form, PSS-SC (eff. 4/07). 

School Director Designation and Acceptance Form, PSS-SD 
(eff. 5/07). 

Electronic Roster Submittal Authorization Application, PSS-
SR (eff. 5/07). 

Training School Add Category Form - No Fee, PSS-TSAC 
(eff.3/08). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1546; Filed January 13, 2010, 11:29 a.m.  

STATE BOARD OF JUVENILE JUSTICE 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 6VAC35-41. Regulation Governing 
Juvenile Group Homes and Halfway Houses (adding 
6VAC35-41-10 through 6VAC35-41-1330). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 16.1-309.9, 66-10, and 66-24 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

April 6, 2010 - 7 p.m. - General Assembly Building, 9th 
and Broad Streets, Richmond, VA 

April 7, 2010 - 10 a.m. - Department of Juvenile Justice, 
700 Centre, 700 East Franklin Street, 2nd Floor 
Conference Room, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: April 7, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Janet P. Van Cuyk, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Juvenile Justice, 700 Centre, 700 East Franklin 
Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-
4097, FAX (804) 371-0773, or email 
janet.vancuyk@djj.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 16.1-309.9 of the Code of Virginia requires the 
board to develop, promulgate, and approve standards for the 
operation and evaluation of facilities authorized by the 
Virginia Juvenile Community Crime Control Act (Article 
12.1 (§ 16.1-309.2 et seq.) of Chapter 11 of Title 16.1 of the 
Code of Virginia) which includes group homes that receive 
funding through this Act. 

Section 66-24 of the Code of Virginia establishes the board as 
the licensing agency for group homes or residential facilities 
providing care of juveniles in direct state care and requires 
the board to promulgate regulations for licensure or 
certification of these facilities. This section also requires that 
the regulations include (i) specifications for the structure and 
accommodations of such facilities according to the needs of 
the juveniles to be placed in the home or facility; (ii) rules 
concerning allowable activities, local government and group 
home or residential care facility imposed curfews, and study, 
recreational, and bedtime hours; and (iii) a requirement that 
each home or facility have a community liaison responsible 
for facilitating cooperative relationships with the neighbors, 
the school system, local law enforcement, local government 
officials, and the community at large. 

Additionally, the board is entrusted with general authority 
under § 66-10 of the Code of Virginia to promulgate such 
regulations as may be necessary to carry out the provisions of 
the laws of the Commonwealth administered by the director 
or the department. 

Purpose: The board regulates three distinct types of facilities: 
(i) juvenile correctional centers; (ii) juvenile secure detention 
centers; and (iii) group homes and halfway houses. At 
present, these facilities are governed by two separate 
regulations: (a) the Standards for Juvenile Residential 
Facilities (6VAC35-140) and (b) the Standards for the Interim 
Regulation of Children's Residential Facilities (6VAC35-51). 

The department has had several iterations of regulations 
governing the residential facilities regulated by the board. 
Earlier, the department had five separate regulations 
governing secure detention homes, postdispositional 
confinement in secure detention, predispositional and 
postdispositional group homes, and juvenile correctional 
centers. These regulations applied to the facilities in 
conjunction with the Standards for the Interdepartmental 
Regulation of Children's Residential Facilities (CORE 
regulation) that went into effect in 1981. 

The board's Standards for Juvenile Residential Facilities 
(6VAC35-140) was most recently reviewed and revised in 
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May 2005 and consists of the board's regulations for all 
facilities it regulates. This regulation establishes the minimum 
standards for residential facilities in the Commonwealth's 
juvenile justice system and covers program operations, health 
care, personnel, facility safety, and physical environment. It 
contains additional provisions for secure custody facilities, 
boot camps, work camps, juvenile industries, and independent 
living programs. 

The Standards for the Interim Regulation of Children's 
Residential Facilities (6VAC35-51) is a reenactment of the 
CORE regulation in its entirety. This regulation was adopted 
by the board in September 2008 to comply with Chapter 873 
of the 2008 Acts of the General Assembly, which mandated 
the repeal of the CORE regulation and action to be taken by 
the affected boards by October 31, 2009. This regulation has 
more expansive provisions than 6VAC35-140 and also 
contains minimum requirements for the different facilities 
regulated by the board.  

Throughout the years, problems have been identified in 
implementing the requirements contained in these two 
separate regulations given the distinct nature of the three 
types of facilities. Accordingly, the board has approved 
consolidating current regulatory requirements for residential 
programs and dividing them into separate regulations 
governing (i) juvenile correctional centers; (ii) detention 
centers; and (iii) group homes and halfway houses. This 
revamping of the regulatory scheme was done in conjunction 
with a comprehensive review of the current provisions. This 
review was done with the goals of enhancing the clarity of the 
regulatory requirements and achieving improvements that 
will be reasonable and prudent, and will not impose an 
unnecessary burden on regulants or the public. 

Having clear and concise regulations is essential to protecting 
the health, safety, and welfare of residents in group homes 
and halfway houses as well as citizens in the community. 
With clear expectations for the administrators managing these 
facilities, the facilities will be able to be operate more 
smoothly, which will become extremely important in this 
current climate of limited financial resources and will 
continue to allow for supporting the needs of the residents, 
thus supporting the overall rehabilitation and community 
safety goals of the department. 

Substance: The primary intent of this regulatory overhaul is 
to reduce confusion in applying the regulatory requirements 
in each type of facility regulated by the board (juvenile 
correctional centers, secure detention centers, and group 
homes and halfway houses). Each provision was reviewed as 
to whether it was (i) appropriate for the type of facility; (ii) 
clear in its intent and effect; and (iii) necessary for the proper 
management of the facility. Amendments were made to 
accommodate the specific needs of group homes and halfway 
houses and to enhance program and service requirements to 
best provide for the residents. 

The following changes were made to the proposed regulation: 

1. Contains only those provisions relating to group 
homes' and halfway houses' operation and management.  

2. Removes any responsibilities of the department, 
regulatory authority, or the board currently included in 
the regulations (i.e., issuance of license or certificate and 
sanctions).  

3. Reorganizes the order of the regulatory provisions and 
groups the provisions with similar provisions. The 
proposed regulation has sections for: (i) general 
provisions; (ii) administration and personnel; (iii) 
physical environment; (iv) safety and security; (v) 
residents’ rights; (vi) program operation; (vii) work 
programs; (viii) health care services; and (ix) behavior 
management. Facility specific parts are included as 
needed (i.e., wilderness and independent living 
programs).  

4. The following changes are proposed to the General 
Provisions: 

a. Deletes many definitions (such as the definition of 
"day" and "therapy"); changes definitions to correspond 
with those used in other regulations; and, where 
appropriate, incorporates definitions into the substantive 
provisions of the regulation. Adds definitions for "direct 
care staff," "direct supervision," "regulatory authority," 
and "written." 

b. Cross-references the board's Certification Regulation 
(6VAC35-20) for consistency in application of variances. 

c. Allows serious incident and child protective service 
reports to be noted in the resident's case record and 
documented elsewhere. Mirrors recent changes adopted 
by the Department of Social Services in its residential 
regulation.  

5. The following changes are proposed in Administration 
and Personnel: 

a. Amends the provisions relating to community 
relationships. Each draft adopts different provisions 
specific to the type of setting and locations. 

b. Amends the background checks sections to conform 
with the board variance issued November 2008. 

c. Reworks the entire training sections. Separates out (i) 
orientation, (ii) required initial training, and (iii) 
retraining. Some different requirements are in each of the 
facilities. 

d. Adds a requirement for staff who transport residents to 
report any changes in their license status.  Clusters all 
provisions relating to volunteers together. 

e. Reworks the staff and resident tuberculosis screening 
requirements to conform with the language of the 
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Division of Tuberculosis Control in the Department of 
Health. 

f. Removes the requirement to retain face sheets 
permanently. 

g. Amends the qualifications section to require the 
facility to follow the procedures of the governing 
authority or locality and ensure employees meet 
applicable job qualifications. 

h. Deletes the provision requiring a procedure regarding 
political activity on the premises.  

6. The following changes are proposed to Physical 
Environment: 

a. Amends requirements relating to fire inspections. 

b. Groups all space utilization requirements into one 
section and removes the current regulatory requirements 
to accommodate study space and all requirements 
relating to live-in staff. 

c. Does not require the sleeping environment to be 
conducive to sleep and rest. 

d. Deletes the space requirements for a dining area and 
school classrooms.  

e. Removes prohibition on allowing residents to prepare 
food.  

7. The following changes are proposed to Safety and 
Security: 

a. Clarifies the requirements for residents and contract 
workers in implementing and training on the 
emergency/evacuation plan. 

b. Reworks the searches of residents section to address 
facility specific issues. 

c. Adds a section requiring a procedure if residents are 
allowed to access the Internet.  

d. Prohibits weapons on the premises except by law 
enforcement and defines "weapon."  

e. Deletes the requirement for safety rules for the use and 
maintenance of power equipment. 

8. The following changes are proposed to Residents' 
Rights: 

a. Changes requirement to mail visitation procedure from 
within 24 hours to by "the end of the next business day." 

b. Adds a section titled "Contact with attorneys, courts, 
and law enforcement." 

c. Removes the provisions regarding incontinent 
residents.   

9. The following change is proposed to Program 
Operation: 

Separates and reworks the sections regarding individual 
service plans and quarterly reports. 

10. Reworks and updates the health care sections. 

11. The following changes are proposed to Behavior 
Management: 

a. Changes the requirement for all residents to have a 
behavior support plan to a requirement for a plan to be 
developed when there is a need for supports in addition 
to those provided for in the behavior management 
program.  

b. Prohibits the use of chemical agents.  

12. Redrafts confusing language and deletes unnecessary 
verbiage. 

13. Makes other technical and stylistic changes, such as 
deleting provisions that are duplicative of other 
regulatory or statutory requirements (such as the 
restatement that the facility must comply with laws or 
procedures). 

Issues: The Board of Juvenile Justice serves as the regulatory 
authority for secure residential facilities, both juvenile 
correctional centers and local detention centers, and the group 
homes and halfway houses operated by or funded through the 
department. Currently, these facilities are governed by two 
separate regulations: (i) the Standards for Juvenile Residential 
Facilities (6VAC35-140) and (ii) Standards for the Interim 
Regulation of Children's Residential Facilities (6VAC35-51), 
unless specifically exempted. 

The current regulatory scheme has several difficulties in 
application.  Each regulation has the full force and effect of 
law; unfortunately, some of the provisions are contradictory 
or conflict. Additionally, there are numerous exclusions for 
the different types of facilities from a variety of regulatory 
provisions. Sometimes it is unclear exactly which facilities 
are exempted and to which section or subsection such 
exceptions are applicable. 

To address these issues the department considered two 
courses of action: (i) consolidate the two existing regulations 
into one or (ii) separate the two regulations into three 
regulations, one for each different type of facility regulated 
by the board. 

Due to the distinct characteristics of the types of facilities 
regulated by the Board of Juvenile Justice and the complexity 
of applying a single regulation to the appropriate facility, it 
was concluded that it would be difficult to regulate all such 
facilities in one single regulation. The board approved 
pursuing the second course of action. Thus, the department is 
proposing separate regulations for the three distinct types of 
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facilities it regulates: (i) juvenile correctional centers; (ii) 
detention centers; and (iii) group homes and halfway houses. 

Having clear, concise regulations is essential to protecting the 
health, safety, and welfare of residents in group homes and 
halfway houses and citizens in the community.  With clear 
expectations for the administrators running these facilities, 
the facilities will be able to be run more smoothly, which will 
become extremely important in this current climate of limited 
financial resources, and will continue to allow for supporting 
the needs of the residents, thus supporting the overall 
rehabilitation and community safety goals of the department. 

This regulation poses no known disadvantages to the public 
or the Commonwealth. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Juvenile Justice (Board) proposes to consolidate the 
provisions of two current regulations (6VAC35-51 and 
6VAC35-140) into one new regulation that will govern 
juvenile group homes and halfway houses. Most provisions in 
this new regulation will not vary in any substantive way from 
those mandated by current regulation, current Board policy, 
and current law. There are, however, several new 
requirements in the new regulation. Specifically, the Board 
proposes to: 

•  Require copies of facilities' visitation procedures to be 
mailed to parents of new residents by the end of the business 
day immediately following the resident's admission, 

•  Allow greater flexibility in the timing of yearly fire 
inspections, 

•  Eliminate the requirements that staff write an initial plan 
that outlines a structured program of care and a daily routine 
within three days and a behavior support plan with 30 days of 
a resident's commitment, 

•  Allow an exception to daily shower requirements for times 
when there are draught conditions, 

•  Require facility staff to enrolled new residents in school 
within five days of admission, 

•  Require approval from a parent, placing agency and facility 
administrator before a resident can visit the home of a facility 
employee, and  

•  Require each facility to formulate an Internet usage policy 
for residents. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. The costs and benefits of these changes are 
discussed below.  

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulations require that 
copies of facilities' visitation procedures to be mailed to 
parents of new residents within 24 hours of the resident's 

admission. The Board proposes to change this requirement so 
that facility staff have until the end of the business day 
following an admission to mail this information. Facility staff 
will benefit from having slightly more flexibility to mail out 
information to parents on days when mail is picked up and as 
it fits into staff duties. 

Current regulations require group homes and halfway houses 
to undergo a fire inspection at least every 13 months. Since 
fire inspectors, rather than facility staff, conduct these 
inspections, this puts staff in an untenable position of 
guaranteeing the timing of someone else's work.  The Board 
proposes to change the regulation so that staff must attempt to 
arrange a fire inspection within 13 months of the previous 
inspection, maintain documentation of current certification 
and document attempts to schedule the fire inspection should 
that inspection not be completed within 13 months of the last 
inspection. This change will benefit facility staff by only 
making them responsible for the actions that they can take. 

Current regulations require facility staff to draft a plan that 
outlines a structured program of care and a daily routine for 
new residents within three days of their commitment. The 
Board proposes to replace this requirement with a provision 
for new residents to participate in ongoing programs upon 
arrival (and until release). The Board also proposes to 
eliminate the requirement that staff write a behavior support 
plan within 30 days of admission. Since all aspects of life in 
these facilities are already structured, and each facility has a 
behavior management program that is applicable to all 
residents, the Board believes that requiring separate written 
plans for each resident is duplicative and unnecessary. Staff at 
group homes and halfway houses are likely to benefit from 
this regulatory change because it allows them to eliminate a 
task that likely does not benefit residents. 

Current regulation requires facilities to allow residents to take 
showers every day. The Board proposes to allow an exception 
to this rule if the Governor declares a state of emergency due 
to draught conditions or if a locality implements water 
restrictions. This exception will allow facility administrators 
to restrict showers, after consultation with local health 
officials, until such time as water restrictions are lifted. Any 
alternate shower schedule will have to account for situations 
where daily showers are a medical necessity.  This change 
will benefit group homes and halfway houses, particularly 
those in rural areas that rely on wells that can run dry if 
overused during droughts, by allowing them greater 
flexibility in extraordinary circumstances where it would be 
detrimental to follow the normal rules. 

Current regulations require facility staff to enroll new 
residents in school within five days of admission.  Because 
this rule does not allow flexibility in situations (summer or 
holiday breaks) when schools may not be open, the Board 
proposes to only require that staff attempt to enroll new 
residents in school within five days. This change will benefit 
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facility staff by only making them responsible for the actions 
that they can take to ensure compliance with the law. 

Current regulations require the approval of a legal guardian 
and placing agency before a resident can visit the home of a 
facility employee. The Board proposes to change this 
requirement so that such visits require the approval of a 
parent, placing agency, and the facility administrator before 
they can occur. This change will likely benefit all parties by 
ensuring that anyone who has legal responsibility for a 
resident knows, and approves of, his or her whereabouts. 

Current regulations have no rules for Internet usage by 
residents of group homes and halfway houses. The Board 
proposes to require that each facility have rules if residents 
are allowed to access the Internet. This change will benefit 
staff at facilities as well as residents by allowing both groups 
to know the rules that they will be respectively enforcing and 
governed by. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. DJJ reports that this 
regulation will affect the 24 locally, privately or commission 
operated juvenile group homes and halfway houses. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 
likely have no impact on employment in the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 
regulatory action will likely have no effect on the use or value 
of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Small businesses 
in the Commonwealth are unlikely to incur any costs on 
account of this regulatory action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Small businesses in the Commonwealth are 
unlikely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 
action. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The responsible 
Virginia Board of Juvenile Justice agency representatives 
have reviewed the Department of Planning and Budget's 
(DPB) economic impact analysis of 6VAC35-41, Regulation 
Governing Juvenile Group Homes and Halfway Houses. The 
agency is in agreement with DPB's analysis. 

Summary: 

The Board of Juvenile Justice (board) proposes to 
consolidate the provisions of two current regulations 
(6VAC35-51 and 6VAC35-140) into one new regulation 
(6VAC35-41) that will govern juvenile residential facilities 
funded under the Virginia Juvenile Community Crime 
Control Act (group homes) and halfway houses operated 
by the Department of Juvenile Justice. Both current 
regulations address the requirements not only for group 
homes and halfway houses, but also for juvenile 
correctional centers and detention centers. The primary 
intent of this regulatory overhaul is to reduce confusion in 
applying the regulatory requirements in each distinct type 
of facility. After a comprehensive review, amendments 
were made to accommodate the type of facility's specific 
needs and to enhance program and service requirements to 
best provide for the residents. 

Most provisions in the new regulation will not vary in any 
substantive way from those mandated by current 
regulation, board policy, or law. However, several new 
provisions include: (i) requiring copies of facilities' 
visitation procedures to be mailed to parents of new 
residents by the end of the business day immediately 
following the resident's admission; (ii) allowing greater 
flexibility in the timing of yearly fire inspections; (iii) 
eliminating the requirements that staff write an initial plan 
that outlines a structured program of care and a daily 
routine within three days and a behavior support plan 
within 30 days of a resident's commitment; (iv) allowing an 
exception to daily shower requirements for times when 
there are draught conditions; (v) requiring facility staff to 
enrolled new residents in school within five days of 
admission; (vi) requiring approval from a parent, placing 
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agency, and facility administrator before a resident can 
visit the home of a facility employee; and (vii) requiring 
each facility to formulate an Internet usage policy for 
residents. 

CHAPTER 41  
REGULATION GOVERNING JUVENILE GROUP 

HOMES AND HALFWAY HOUSES  

Part I  
General Provisions  

6VAC35-41-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Annual" means within 13 months of the previous event or 
occurrence. 

"Board" means Board of Juvenile Justice. 

"Case record" or "record" means written or electronic 
information relating to one resident and the resident's family, 
if applicable. This information includes, but is not limited to, 
social, medical, psychiatric, and psychological records; 
reports; demographic information; agreements; all 
correspondence relating to care of the resident; service plans 
with periodic revisions; aftercare plans and discharge 
summary; and any other information related to the resident. 

"Contraband" means any item possessed by or accessible to 
a resident or found within a facility or on its premises (i) that 
is prohibited by statute, regulation, or facility procedure, (ii) 
that is not acquired through approved channels or in 
prescribed amounts, or (iii) that may jeopardize the safety and 
security of the facility or individual residents. 

"Department" or "DJJ" means the Department of Juvenile 
Justice. 

"Direct care staff" means the staff whose primary job 
responsibilities are (i) maintaining the safety, care, and well-
being of residents and (ii) implementing the structured 
program of care and behavior management program. 

"Direct supervision" means that the staff may work with 
residents while not in the presence of direct care staff. Staff 
members who provide direct supervision are responsible for 
maintaining the safety, care, and well-being of the residents in 
addition to providing services or performing the primary 
responsibilities of that position. 

"Director" means the Director of the Department of Juvenile 
Justice. 

"Emergency" means a sudden, generally unexpected 
occurrence or set of circumstances demanding immediate 
action such as a fire, chemical release, loss of utilities, natural 
disaster, taking of hostages, major disturbances, escape, and 
bomb threats. Emergency does not include regularly 

scheduled employee time off or other situations that could be 
reasonably anticipated. 

"Facility administrator" means the individual who has the 
responsibility for the on-site management and operation of 
the facility on a regular basis. 

"Family oriented group home" means a private home in 
which residents may reside upon placement by a lawful 
placing agency. 

"Group home" means a juvenile residential facility that is a 
community based, home-like single dwelling, or its 
acceptable equivalent, other than the private home of the 
operator, and does not exceed the capacity approved by the 
regulatory authority. For the purpose of this chapter, a group 
home includes a halfway house that houses residents in 
transition from a commitment to the department. 

"Individual service plan" or "service plan" means a written 
plan of action developed, revised as necessary, and reviewed 
at intervals to meet the needs of a resident. The individual 
service plan specifies (i) measurable short-term and long-term 
goals and (ii) the objectives, strategies, and time frames for 
reaching the goals. 

"Juvenile residential facility" or "facility" means a publicly 
or privately operated facility or placement where 24-hour per 
day care is provided to residents who are separated from their 
legal guardians and that is required to be licensed or certified. 
As used in this regulation, the term includes, but is not 
necessarily limited to, group homes, family-oriented group 
homes, and halfway houses and excludes juvenile 
correctional centers and juvenile detention centers. 

"Living unit" means the space in which a particular group of 
residents in care of a juvenile residential facility reside. A 
living unit contains sleeping areas, bath and toilet facilities, 
and a living room or its equivalent for use by the residents of 
the living unit. Depending upon its design, a building may 
contain one living unit or several separate living units. 

"On duty" means the period of time an employee is 
responsible for the direct supervision of one or more 
residents. 

"Parent" or "legal guardian" means (i) a biological or 
adoptive parent who has legal custody of an individual, 
including either parent if custody is shared under a joint 
decree or agreement; (ii) a biological or adoptive parent with 
whom the individual regularly resides; (iii) a person judicially 
appointed as a legal guardian; or (iv) a person who exercises 
the rights and responsibilities of legal custody by delegation 
from a biological or adoptive parent, upon provisional 
adoption, or otherwise by operation of law. 

"Placement" means an activity by any person that provides 
assistance to a placing agency, parent, or legal guardian in 
locating and effecting the movement of a resident to a 
juvenile residential facility. 
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"Placing agency" means (i) any person, group, court, court 
service unit, or agency licensed or authorized by law to place 
residents in a juvenile residential facility or (ii) a local board 
of social services authorized to place residents in a juvenile 
residential facility. 

"Premises" means the tracts of land on which any part of a 
facility is located and any buildings on such tracts of land. 

"Provider" means the person, corporation, partnership, 
association, locality, commission, or public agency to whom 
a license or certificate is issued and who is legally responsible 
for compliance with the regulatory and statutory requirements 
relating to the facility. 

"Regulatory authority" means the board or the department as 
designated by the board. 

"Resident" means an individual who is legally placed in, 
formally placed in, or admitted to a juvenile residential 
facility for supervision, care, training, or treatment on a 24-
hour per day basis. 

"Rules of conduct" means a listing of a facility's rules or 
regulations that is maintained to inform residents and others 
of the behavioral expectations of the behavior management 
program, about behaviors that are not permitted, and about 
the sanctions that may be applied when impermissible 
behaviors occur. 

"Shelter care facility" means a facility or an emergency 
shelter specifically approved to provide a range of services, as 
needed, on an individual basis not to exceed 90 days. 

"Written" means the required information is communicated 
in writing. Such writing may be available in either hard copy 
or in electronic form. 

6VAC35-41-20. Applicability. 

This chapter applies to group homes, halfway houses, shelter 
care, and other applicable juvenile residential facilities 
regulated by the board as authorized by statute. Parts I 
(6VAC35-41-10 et seq.) through VI (6VAC35-41-710 et 
seq.), XII (6VAC35-41-1150 et seq.), and XIII (6VAC35-41-
1290 et seq.) of this chapter apply to all juvenile residential 
facilities, with the exception of family-oriented group homes, 
governed by this regulation unless specifically excluded. 
Parts VII (6VAC35-41-950) through XI (6VAC35-41-1120 et 
seq.) of this chapter apply only to the specific programs or 
facilities as indicated. 

6VAC35-41-30. Previous regulations terminated. 

This chapter replaces the Standards for the Interim 
Regulation of Children's Residential Facilities (6VAC35-51) 
and the Standards for Juvenile Residential Facilities 
(6VAC35-140) for the regulation of all juvenile residential 
facilities as defined herein. The Standards for the Interim 
Regulation of Children's Residential Facilities and the 
Standards for Juvenile Residential Facilities remain in effect 

for juvenile detention facilities and juvenile correctional 
centers, regulated by the board, until such time as the board 
adopts new regulations related thereto. 

6VAC35-41-40. Certification. 

A. The provider shall comply with the provisions of the 
Regulations Governing the Monitoring, Approval, and 
Certification of Juvenile Justice Programs (6VAC35-20). The 
provider shall:  

1. Demonstrate compliance with this chapter, other 
applicable regulations issued by the board, and applicable 
statutes and regulations;  

2. Implement approved plans of action to correct findings 
of noncompliance are being implemented; and 

3. Ensure no noncompliance may pose an immediate and 
direct danger to residents.  

B. The provider shall maintain the documentation necessary 
to demonstrate compliance with this chapter for a minimum 
of three years.  

C. The current certificate shall be posted at all times in each 
facility in a place conspicuous to the public. 

6VAC35-41-50. Age of residents. 

A. Facilities shall admit residents only in compliance with 
the age limitations approved by the board in establishing the 
facility's certification capacity, except as provided in 
subsection B of this section. 

B. A facility shall not admit a resident who is above the age 
approved for licensure. A child may remain in the facility 
above the age of licensed capacity (i) to allow the resident to 
complete a program identified in the resident's individual 
service plan and (ii) if a discharge plan has been established. 
This subsection does not apply to shelter care programs. 

6VAC35-41-60. Relationship to the regulatory authority. 

A. All reports and information as the regulatory authority 
may require to establish compliance with this chapter and 
other applicable regulations and statutes shall be submitted to 
or made available to the regulatory authority. 

B. A written report of any contemplated changes in 
operation that would affect the terms of the license or 
certificate or the continuing eligibility for licensure or 
certification shall be submitted to the regulatory authority. A 
change may not be implemented prior to approval by the 
regulatory authority.  

6VAC35-41-70. Relationship with the department. 

A. The director or designee shall be notified within five 
working days of any significant change in administrative 
structure or newly hired facility administrator.  
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B. Any of the following that may be related to the health 
safety or human rights of residents shall be self-reported to 
the director or designee within 10 days: (i) lawsuits against 
the facility or its governing authority and (ii) settlements with 
the facility or its governing authority. 

6VAC35-41-80. Variances. 

A. Board action may be requested by the facility 
administrator to relieve a facility from having to meet or 
develop a plan of action for the requirements of a specific 
section or subsection of this regulation, either permanently or 
for a determined period of time, as provided in the 
Regulations Governing the Monitoring, Approval, and 
Certification of Juvenile Justice Programs (6VAC35-20). 

B. Any such variance may not be implemented prior to 
approval of the board. 

6VAC35-41-90. Serious incident reports. 

A. The following events shall be reported within 24 hours 
to: (i) to the placing agency, (ii) to the parent or legal 
guardian, or both, as applicable and appropriate, and (iii) the 
director or designee:  

1. Any serious incident, accident, illness, or injury to the 
resident;  

2. The death of a resident;  

3. Any overnight absence from the facility without 
permission;  

4. Any runaway;  

5. Any fire, hostage or emergency situation, or natural 
disaster that jeopardizes the health, safety, and welfare of 
the residents; and 

6. Any suspected case of child abuse or neglect at the 
facility, on a facility event or excursion, or involving 
facility center staff as provided in 6VAC35-41-100 
(suspected child abuse or neglect). 

The 24 hour reporting requirement may be extended when 
the emergency situation or natural disaster has made such 
communication impossible (e.g., modes of communication 
are not functioning). In such cases, notice shall be provided as 
soon as feasible thereafter. 

B. The provider shall notify the director or designee within 
24 hours of any events detailed in subsection A of this section 
and all other situations required by the regulatory authority of 
which the facility has been notified. 

C. The facility shall (i) prepare and maintain a written report 
of the events listed in subsections A and B of this section and 
(ii) submit a copy of the written report to the director or 
designee. The report shall contain the following information: 

1. The date and time the incident occurred; 

2. A brief description of the incident; 

3. The action taken as a result of the incident; 

4. The name of the person who completed the report; 

5. The name or identifying information of the person who 
made the report to the placing agency and to either the 
parent or legal guardian, as appropriate and applicable; and 

6. The name of or identifying information provided by the 
person to whom the report was made, including any law 
enforcement or child protective service personnel. 

D. The resident's record shall contain a written reference (i) 
that an incident occurred and (ii) of all applicable reporting. 

E. In addition to the requirements of this section, any serious 
incident involving an allegation of child abuse or neglect at 
the facility, at a facility sponsored event, or involving facility 
staff shall be governed by 6VAC35-41-100 (suspected child 
abuse or neglect). 

6VAC35-41-100. Suspected child abuse or neglect. 

A. When there is a reason to suspect that a child is an abused 
or neglected child, the matter shall be reported immediately to 
the local department of social services as required by § 63.2-
1509 of the Code of Virginia and in accordance with the 
written procedures. 

B. Written procedures shall be distributed to all staff 
members and shall at a minimum provide for the following:  

1. Handling accusations against staff;  

2. Reporting and documenting suspected cases of child 
abuse and neglect; and  

3. Cooperating during any investigation. 

C. Any case of suspected child abuse or neglect shall be 
reported and documented as required in 6VAC35-41-90 
(serious incident reports). The resident's record shall contain a 
written reference that a report was made. 

6VAC35-41-110. Grievance procedure. 

A. Written procedure shall provide that residents are 
oriented to and have continuing access to a grievance 
procedure that provides for:  

1. Resident participation in the grievance process with 
assistance from staff upon request;  

2. Investigation of the grievance by an objective employee 
who is not the subject of the grievance; 

3. Documented, timely responses to all grievances with the 
reasons for the decision;  

4. At least one level of appeal;  

5. Administrative review of grievances;  
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6. Protection from retaliation or threat of retaliation for 
filing a grievance; and  

7. Hearing of an emergency grievance within eight hours.  

B. Each resident shall be oriented to the grievance procedure 
in an age or developmentally appropriate manner.  

C. The grievance procedure shall be (i) written in clear and 
simple language and (ii) posted in an area easily accessible to 
residents and their parents and legal guardians. 

D. Staff shall assist and work cooperatively with other 
employees in facilitating the grievance process. 

Part II  
Administrative and Personnel 

Article 1  
General Provisions 

6VAC35-41-120. Responsibilities of the provider or 
governing authority. 

A. The provider shall clearly identify the corporation, 
association, partnership, individual, or public agency that is 
the holder of the certificate (governing authority). Any 
change in the identity or corporate status of the governing 
authority or provider shall be reported to the director or 
designee. 

B. The governing authority shall appoint a facility 
administrator to whom it delegates the authority and 
responsibility for administrative direction of the facility.  

C. A written decision-making plan shall be developed and 
implemented and shall provide for a staff person with the 
qualifications of a facility administrator to be designated to 
assume the temporary responsibility for the operation of the 
facility. Each plan shall include an organizational chart.  

D. The provider shall have a written statement of its (i) 
purpose, (ii) population served, and (iii) available services for 
each facility subject to this regulation.  

E. Written procedures shall be developed and implemented 
to monitor and evaluate quality assurance in each facility. 
Improvements shall be implemented when indicated. 

6VAC35-41-130. Insurance. 

A. Documentation of the following insurance coverage shall 
be maintained: 

1. Liability insurance covering the premises and the 
facility's operations, including all employees and 
volunteers, if applicable. 

2. Insurance necessary to comply with Virginia's minimum 
insurance requirements for all vehicles used to transport 
residents. 

B. Staff who use personal vehicles for official business, 
including transporting residents, shall be informed of the 

requirements to provide and document insurance coverage for 
such purposes.  

6VAC35-41-140. Participation of residents in human 
research. 

A. The provider shall have procedures approved by its 
governing authority to govern the review, approval, and 
monitoring of human research. Human research means any 
systematic investigation, including research development, 
testing, and evaluating, involving human subjects, including 
but not limited to a resident or his parents, guardians, or 
family members, that is designed to develop or contribute to 
generalized knowledge. Human research does not include 
statistical analysis of information readily available on the 
subject that does not contain any identifying information or 
research exempted by federal research regulations pursuant to 
45 CFR 46.101(b). 

B. Information on residents shall be maintained as provided 
in 6VAC35-41-330 (maintenance of residents' records) and 
all records and information related to the human research 
shall be kept confidential in accordance with applicable laws 
and regulations. 

C. The provider may require periodic progress reports of any 
research project and a formal final report of all completed 
research projects. 

Article 2 
Hiring 

6VAC35-41-150. Job descriptions. 

A. There shall be a written job description for each position 
that, at a minimum, includes the: 

1. Job title or position; 

2. Duties and responsibilities of the incumbent; 

3. Job title or identification of the immediate supervisor; 
and 

4. Minimum education, experience, knowledge, skills, and 
abilities required for entry level performance of the job. 

B. A copy of the job description shall be given to each 
person assigned to a position prior to assuming that position's 
duties. 

6VAC35-41-160. Qualifications. 

A. Facilities subject to (i) the rules and regulations of a 
governing authority or (ii) the rules and regulations of a local 
government personnel office shall develop written minimum 
entry-level qualifications in accord with the rules and 
regulations of the supervising personnel authority. Facilities 
not subject to rules and regulations of the governing authority 
or a local government personnel office shall follow the 
minimum entry-level qualifications of the Virginia 
Department of Human Resource Management. 
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B. When services or consultations are obtained on a 
contractual basis, they shall be provided by professionally 
qualified personnel. 

C. Each facility shall provide documentation of contractual 
agreements or staff expertise to provide educational services, 
counseling services, psychological services, medical services, 
or any other services needed to serve the residents in 
accordance with the facility's program description as defined 
by the facility's criteria of admission, required by 6VAC35-
41-730 B (application for admission).  

6VAC35-41-170. Physical examination. 

When the qualifications for a position require a given set of 
physical abilities, all persons selected for such positions shall 
be examined by a physician at the time of employment to 
ensure that they have the level of medical health or physical 
ability required to perform assigned duties. Persons hired into 
positions that require a given set of physical abilities may be 
reexamined annually in accordance with written procedures.  

6VAC35-41-180. Employee and volunteer background 
checks. 

A. Except as provided in subsection C of this section, all 
persons who (i) accept a position of employment at, (ii) 
volunteer on a regular basis and will be alone with a resident 
in the performance of their duties, or (iii) provide contractual 
services directly to a resident on a regular basis and will be 
alone with a resident in the performance of his duties in a 
juvenile residential facility shall undergo the following 
background checks in accordance with § 63.2-1726 of the 
Code of Virginia to ascertain whether there are criminal acts 
or other circumstances that would be detrimental to the safety 
of residents in the facility: 

1. A reference check;  

2. A criminal history check; 

3. A fingerprint check with the Virginia State Police and 
Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI);  

4. A central registry check with Child Protective Services; 
and  

5. A driving record check if applicable to the individual's 
job duties.  

B. To minimize vacancy time when the fingerprint checks 
required by subdivision A 3 of this section have been 
requested, employees may be hired, pending the results of the 
fingerprint checks, provided:  

1. All of the other applicable components of subsection A 
of this section have been completed;  

2. The applicant is given written notice that continued 
employment is contingent on the fingerprint check results 
as required by subdivision A 3 of this section; and  

3. Employees hired under this exception shall not be 
allowed to be alone with residents and may work with 
residents only when under the direct supervision of staff 
whose background checks have been completed, until such 
time as all background checks are completed. 

C. Documentation of compliance with this section shall be 
retained in the individual's personnel record as provided in 
6VAC35-41-310 (personnel records). 

D. Written procedures shall provide for the supervision of 
nonemployee persons, who are not subject to the provisions 
of subsection A of this section and who have contact with 
residents. 

Article 3 
Employee Orientation and Training 

6VAC35-41-190. Required initial orientation. 

A. Before the expiration of the employee's seventh work day 
at the facility, each employee shall be provided with a basic 
orientation on the following: 

1. The facility; 

2. The population served; 

3. The basic objectives of the program;  

4. The facility's organizational structure;  

5. Security, population control, emergency preparedness, 
and evacuation procedures in accordance with 6VAC35-
41-490 (emergency and evacuation procedures);  

6. The practices of confidentiality; 

7. The residents' rights; and  

8. The basic requirements of and competencies necessary 
to perform in his positions. 

B. Prior to working with residents while not under the direct 
supervision of staff who have completed all applicable 
orientations and training, each direct care staff shall receive a 
basic orientation on the following: 

1. The facility's program philosophy and services; 

2. The facility's behavior management program; 

3. The facility's behavior intervention procedures and 
techniques, including the use of least restrictive 
interventions and physical restraint; 

4. The residents' rules of conduct and responsibilities; 

5. The residents' disciplinary and grievance procedures;  

6. Child abuse and neglect and mandatory reporting; 

7. Standard precautions; and 

8. Documentation requirements as applicable to his duties.  
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C. Volunteers shall be oriented in accordance with 
6VAC35-41-300 (orientation and training for volunteers or 
interns). 

6VAC35-41-200. Required initial training. 

A. Each full-time and part-time employee and relief staff 
shall complete initial, comprehensive training that is specific 
to the individual's occupational class, is based on the needs of 
the population served, and ensures that the individual has the 
competencies to perform the jobs.  

1. Direct care staff shall receive at least 40 hours of 
training, inclusive of all training required by this section, in 
their first year of employment.  

2. Contractors shall receive training required to perform 
their position responsibilities in a juvenile residential 
facility.  

B. Within 30 days following the employee's start date at the 
facility or before the employee is responsible for the direct 
supervision of a resident, all direct care staff and staff who 
provide direct supervision of the residents while delivering 
services, with the exception of workers employed by contract 
to provide behavioral health or health care services, shall 
complete training in the following areas: 

1. Emergency preparedness and response; 

2. First aid and cardiopulmonary resuscitation, unless the 
individual is currently certified, with certification required 
as applicable to their duties; 

3. The facility's behavior management program; 

4. The residents' rules of conduct and the rationale for the 
rules;  

5. The facility's behavior intervention procedures, with 
physical and mechanical restraint training required as 
applicable to their duties; 

6. Child abuse and neglect; 

7. Mandatory reporting; 

8. Maintaining appropriate professional relationships; 

9. Interaction among staff and residents; 

10. Suicide prevention;  

11. Residents' rights;  

12. Standard precautions; and 

13. Procedures applicable to the employees' position and 
consistent with their work profiles. 

C. Employees who administer medication shall have, prior 
to such administration, successfully completed a medication 
training program approved by the Board of Nursing or be 
licensed by the Commonwealth of Virginia to administer 
medication. 

D. Training shall be required by and provided as appropriate 
to the individual's job duties and in accordance with the 
provider's training plan.  

E. When an individual is employed by contract to provide 
services for which licensure by a professional organization is 
required, documentation of current licensure shall constitute 
compliance with this section.  

F. Volunteers and interns shall be trained in accordance 
6VAC35-41-300 (orientation and training for volunteers or 
interns). 

6VAC35-41-210. Required retraining. 

A. Each employee, relief staff, and contractor shall complete 
retraining that is specific to the individual's occupational class 
and the position's job description and addresses any 
professional development needs. 

B. All staff shall complete an annual training refresher on 
the facility's emergency preparedness and response plan and 
procedures. 

C. All direct care staff and staff who provide direct 
supervision of the residents while delivering services, with 
the exception of workers who are employed by contract to 
provide behavioral health or health care services, shall 
complete at least 40 hours of training annually that shall 
include training in the following areas: 

1. Suicide prevention; 

2. Child abuse and neglect; 

3. Mandatory reporting;  

4. Standard precautions; and 

5. Behavior intervention procedures. 

D. Staff required by their position to have certification in 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation and first aid shall receive 
training sufficient to maintain current certifications.  

E. Employees who administer medication shall complete an 
annual refresher training on the administration of medication. 

F. Retraining shall (i) be required by and provided as 
appropriate to the individual's job duties, (ii) address any 
needs identified by the individual and the supervisor, if 
applicable, and (iii) be in accordance with the provider's 
training plan. 

G. When an individual is employed by contract to provide 
services for which licensure by a professional organization is 
required, documentation of current licensure shall constitute 
compliance with this section.  

H. Staff who have not timely completed required retraining 
shall not be allowed to have direct care responsibilities 
pending completion of the retraining requirements. 
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Article 4 
Personnel 

6VAC35-41-220. Written personnel procedures. 

The provider shall have and implement provider approved 
written personnel procedures and make these readily 
accessible to each staff member. 

6VAC35-41-230. Code of ethics. 

A written code of ethics shall be available to all employees.  

6VAC35-41-240. Reporting criminal activity. 

A. Staff shall be required to report all known criminal 
activity by residents or staff to the facility administrator for 
appropriate action.  

B. The facility administrator, in accordance with written 
procedures, shall notify the appropriate persons or agencies, 
including law enforcement, child protective services, and the 
department as appropriate and applicable, of suspected 
criminal violations by residents or staff.  Suspected criminal 
violations relating to the health and safety or human rights of 
residents shall be reported to the director or designee. 

C. The facility shall assist and cooperate with the 
investigation of any such complaints and allegations as 
necessary. 

6VAC35-41-250. Notification of change in driver's license 
status. 

Staff whose job responsibilities may involve transporting 
residents shall (i) maintain a valid driver's license and (ii) 
report to the facility administrator or designee any change in 
their driver's license status including but not limited to 
suspensions, restrictions, and revocations.  

6VAC35-41-260. Physical or mental health of personnel. 

When an individual poses a direct threat to the health and 
safety of a resident, others at the facility, or the public or is 
unable to perform essential job-related functions, that 
individual shall be removed immediately from all duties 
involved in the direct care or direct supervision of residents. 
The facility may require a medical or mental health 
evaluation to determine the individual's fitness for duty prior 
to returning to duties involving the direct care or direct 
supervision of residents. The results of any medical 
information or documentation of any disability related 
inquiries shall be maintained separately from the employee's 
personnel records maintained in accordance with 6VAC35-
41-310 (personnel records). For the purpose of this section a 
direct threat means a significant risk of substantial harm. 

Article 5 
Volunteers 

6VAC35-41-270. Definition of volunteers or interns. 

For the purpose of this chapter, volunteer or intern means 
any individual or group who of their own free will provides 
goods and services without competitive compensation.  

6VAC35-41-280. Selection and duties of volunteers or 
interns. 

A. Any facility that uses volunteers or interns shall develop 
and implement written procedures governing their selection 
and use. Such procedures shall provide for the objective 
evaluation of persons and organizations in the community 
who wish to associate with the residents. 

B. Volunteers and interns shall have qualifications 
appropriate for the services provided. 

C. The responsibilities of interns and individuals who 
volunteer on a regular basis shall be clearly defined in 
writing. 

D. Volunteers and interns shall neither be responsible for the 
duties of direct care staff nor for the direct supervision of the 
residents.  

6VAC35-41-290. Background checks for volunteers or 
interns. 

A. Any individual who (i) volunteers on a regular basis or is 
an intern and (ii) will be alone with a resident in the 
performance of that position’s duties shall be subject to the 
background check requirements provided for in 6VAC35-41-
180 A (employee and volunteer background checks). 

B. Documentation of compliance with the background check 
requirements shall be maintained for each intern and each 
volunteer for whom a background investigation is required. 
Such records shall be kept in accordance with 6VAC35-41-
310 (personnel records). 

C. A facility that uses volunteers shall have procedures for 
supervising volunteers, on whom background checks are not 
required or whose background checks have not been 
completed, who have contact with residents. 

6VAC35-41-300. Orientation and training for volunteers 
or interns. 

A. Volunteers and interns shall be provided with a basic 
orientation on the following:  

1. The facility; 

2. The population served; 

3. The basic objectives of the facility;  

4. The facility's organizational structure;  
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5. Security, population control, emergency, emergency 
preparedness, and evacuation procedures;  

6. The practices of confidentiality; 

7. The residents' rights; and 

8. The basic requirements of and competencies necessary 
to perform their duties and responsibilities. 

B. Volunteers and interns shall be trained within 30 days 
from their start date at the facility in the following:  

1. Any procedures that are applicable to their duties and 
responsibilities; and 

2. Their duties and responsibilities in the event of a facility 
evacuation. 

Article 6 
Employee Records 

6VAC35-41-310. Personnel records. 

A. Separate up-to-date written or automated personnel 
records shall be maintained on each (i) employee and (ii) 
volunteer or intern on whom a background check is required.  

B. The records of each employee shall include: 

1. A completed employment application form or other 
written material providing the individual's name, address, 
phone number, and social security number or other unique 
identifier; 

2. Educational background and employment history; 

3. Written references or notations of oral references; 

4. Annual performance evaluations; 

5. Date of employment for each position held and date of 
separation;  

6. Documentation of compliance with requirements of 
Virginia law regarding child protective services and 
criminal history background investigations; 

7. Documentation of the verification of any educational 
requirements and of professional certification or licensure 
if required by the position;  

8. Documentation of all training required by this chapter 
and any other training received by individual staff; and 

9. A current job description. 

C. If applicable, health records, including reports of any 
required health examinations, shall be maintained separately 
from the other records required by this section. 

D. The personnel records of volunteers and contractual 
service providers may be limited to documentation of 
compliance with the background checks as required by 
6VAC35-41-180 (employee and volunteer background 
checks). 

6VAC35-41-320. Employee tuberculosis screening and 
follow-up. 

A. On or before the employee's start date at the facility each 
employee shall submit evidence of freedom from tuberculosis 
in a communicable form that is no older than 30 days, The 
documentation shall indicate the screening results as to 
whether there is an absence of tuberculosis in a 
communicable form. 

B. Each employee shall submit evidence of an annual 
evaluation of freedom from tuberculosis in a communicable 
form. 

C. Employees shall undergo a subsequent tuberculosis 
screening or evaluation, as applicable, in the following 
circumstances: 

1. The employee comes into contact with a known case of 
infectious tuberculosis; or 

2. The employee develops chronic respiratory symptoms of 
three weeks duration. 

D. Employees suspected of having tuberculosis in a 
communicable form shall not be permitted to return to work 
or have contact with staff or residents until a physician has 
determined that the individual does not have tuberculosis in a 
communicable form. 

E. Any active case of tuberculosis developed by an 
employee or a resident shall be reported to the local health 
department in accordance with the requirements of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia State Board of Health 
Regulations for Disease Reporting and Control (12VAC5-
90). 

F. Documentation of any screening results shall be retained 
in a manner that maintains the confidentiality of information. 

G. The detection, diagnosis, prophylaxis, and treatment of 
pulmonary tuberculosis shall be performed in compliance 
with Screening for TB Infection and Disease, Policy 99-001, 
Virginia Department of Health's Division of Tuberculosis 
Prevention and Control. 

Article 7 
Residents' Records 

6VAC35-41-330. Maintenance of residents' records. 

A. A separate written or automated case record shall be 
maintained for each resident that shall include all 
correspondence and documents received by the facility 
relating to the care of that resident and documentation of all 
case management services provided.  

B. A separate health record may be kept on each resident. 
The resident's active health records shall be readily accessible 
in case of emergency and shall be made available to 
authorized staff consistent with applicable state and federal 
statutes and regulations. 
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C. Each case record and health record shall be kept (i) up to 
date, (ii) in a uniform manner, and (ii) confidential from 
unauthorized access. 

D. Written procedures shall provide for the management of 
all records, written and automated, and shall describe 
confidentiality, accessibility, security, and retention of 
records pertaining to residents, including: 

1. Access, duplication, dissemination, and acquisition of 
information only to persons legally authorized according to 
federal and state laws; 

2. Facilities using automated records shall address 
procedures that include: 

a. How records are protected from unauthorized access; 

b. How records are protected from unauthorized Internet 
access; 

c. How records are protected from loss; 

d. How records are protected from unauthorized 
alteration; and 

e. How records are backed up. 

3. Security measures to protect records (i) from loss, 
unauthorized alteration, inadvertent or unauthorized 
access, or disclosure of information; and (ii) during 
transportation of records between service sites; 

4. Designation of person responsible for records 
management; and 

5. Disposition of records in the event the facility ceases to 
operate. 

E. Written procedure shall specify what information is 
available to the resident. 

F. Active and closed written records shall be kept in secure 
locations or compartments that are accessible to authorized 
staff and shall be protected from unauthorized access, fire, 
and flood. 

G. All case records shall be retained as governed by The 
Library of Virginia. 

6VAC35-41-340. Face sheet. 

A. At the time of admission each resident's record shall 
include, at a minimum, a completed face sheet that contains 
the following: 

1. The resident's full name, last known residence, birth 
date, gender, race, unique numerical identifier, and 
admission date;  

2. Names, addresses, and telephone numbers of the 
resident's placing agency, emergency contacts, legal 
guardians, and parents, as applicable and appropriate; and 

B. Upon discharge, the date of and reason for discharge, 
names and addresses of persons to whom the resident was 
discharged, and forwarding address of the resident, if known, 
shall be recorded on the face sheet.  

C. Information shall be updated when changes occur. 

Part III 
Physical Environment 

6VAC35-41-350. Buildings and inspections. 

A. All newly constructed buildings, major renovations to 
buildings, and temporary structures shall be inspected and 
approved by the local building official. Approval shall be 
documented by a certificate of occupancy. 

B. A current copy of the facility's annual inspection by fire 
prevention authorities indicating that all buildings and 
equipment are maintained in accordance with the Virginia 
Statewide Fire Prevention Code (13VAC5-51) shall be 
maintained. If the fire prevention authorities have failed to 
timely inspect the facility's buildings and equipment, 
documentation of the facility's request to schedule the annual 
inspection as well as documentation of any necessary follow-
up with fire prevention authorities shall be maintained. 

C. The facility shall maintain a current copy of its annual 
inspection and approval, in accordance with state and local 
inspection laws, regulations, and ordinances, of the following: 

1. General sanitation; 

2. Sewage disposal system; 

3. Water supply;  

4. Food service operations; and 

5. Swimming pools, if applicable. 

6VAC35-41-360. Equipment and systems inspections and 
maintenance. 

A. All safety, emergency, and communications equipment 
and systems shall be inspected, tested, and maintained by 
designated staff in accordance with the manufacturer's 
recommendations or instruction manuals or, absent such 
requirements, in accordance with a schedule that is approved 
by the facility administrator. Testing of such equipment and 
systems shall, at a minimum, be conducted quarterly.  

B. Whenever safety, emergency, and communications 
equipment or a system is found to be defective, corrective 
action shall be taken to rectify the situation and to repair, 
remove, or replace the defective equipment.  

6VAC35-41-370. Heating and cooling systems and 
ventilation. 

A. Heat shall be distributed in all rooms occupied by the 
residents such that a temperature no less than 68°F is 
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maintained, unless otherwise mandated by state or federal 
authorities. 

B. Air conditioning or mechanical ventilating systems, such 
as electric fans, shall be provided in all rooms occupied by 
residents when the temperature in those rooms exceeds 80°F. 

6VAC35-41-380. Lighting. 

A. Sleeping and activity areas in the facility shall provide 
natural lighting.  

B. All areas within buildings shall be lighted for safety and 
the lighting shall be sufficient for the activities being 
performed. 

C. There shall be night lighting sufficient to observe 
residents. 

D. Each facility shall have a plan for providing alternative 
lighting in case of emergencies.  

E. Outside entrances and parking areas shall be lighted. 

6VAC35-41-390. Plumbing and water supply; 
temperature. 

A. Plumbing shall be maintained in operational condition, as 
designed. 

B. An adequate supply of hot and cold running water shall 
be available at all times. 

C. Precautions shall be taken to prevent scalding from 
running water. Water temperatures should be maintained at 
100°F to 120°F. 

6VAC35-41-400. Toilet facilities. 

A. There shall be at least one toilet, one hand basin, and one 
shower or bathtub in each living unit. 

B. There shall be at least one bathtub or bathtub alternative 
in each facility. 

C. There shall be at least one toilet, one hand basin, and one 
shower or tub for every eight residents for facilities certified 
or licensed before July 1, 1981. 

D. There shall be one toilet, one hand basin, and one shower 
or tub for every four residents in any building constructed or 
structurally modified after July 1, 1981. Facilities licensed or 
certified after December 28, 2007, shall comply with the one-
to-four ratio. 

E. The maximum number of staff members on duty in the 
living unit shall be counted in determining the required 
number of toilets and hand basins when a separate bathroom 
is not provided for staff. 

F. There shall be at least one mirror securely fastened to the 
wall at a height appropriate for use in each room where hand 
basins are located. 

G. When bathrooms are not designated for individual use:  

1. Each toilet shall be enclosed for privacy, and 

2. Bathtubs and showers shall provide visual privacy for 
bathing by use of enclosures, curtains, or other appropriate 
means. 

H. Windows in bathrooms and dressing areas shall provide 
for privacy. 

6VAC35-41-410. Sleeping areas. 

A. Males and females shall have separate sleeping areas. 

B. No more than four residents shall share a bedroom or 
sleeping area. 

C. Beds shall be at least three feet apart at the head, foot, 
and sides; and double-decker beds shall be at least five feet 
apart at the head, foot, and sides. 

D. Sleeping quarters in facilities established, constructed, or 
structurally modified after July 1, 1981, shall have:  

1. At least 80 square feet of floor area in a bedroom 
accommodating one person; 

2. At least 60 square feet of floor area per person in rooms 
accommodating two or more persons; and 

3. Ceilings with a primary height at least 7-1/2 feet in 
height exclusive of protrusions, duct work, or dormers. 

E. Mattresses shall be fire retardant as evidenced by 
documentation from the manufacturer except in buildings 
equipped with an automated sprinkler system as required by 
the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-
63).  

F. Each resident shall be assigned drawer space and closet 
space, or their equivalent, that is accessible to the sleeping 
area for storage of clothing and personal belongings.  

G. Windows in sleeping areas and dressing areas shall 
provide for privacy.  

H. Every sleeping area shall have a door that may be closed 
for privacy or quiet and this door shall be readily opened in 
case of fire or other emergency.  

6VAC35-41-420. Furnishings. 

All furnishings and equipment shall be safe, clean, and 
suitable to the ages and number of residents. 

6VAC35-41-430. Disposal of garbage and management of 
hazardous materials. 

A. Provision shall be made for the collection and legal 
disposal of all garbage and waste materials.  

B. All flammable, toxic, and caustic materials within the 
facility shall be stored, used, and disposed of in appropriate 
receptacles and in accordance with federal, state, and local 
requirements.  
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6VAC35-41-440. Smoking prohibitions. 

Smoking shall be prohibited in living areas and in areas 
where residents participate in programs. 

6VAC35-41-450. Space utilization. 

A. Each facility shall provide for the following: 

1. A living room;  

2. An indoor recreation area with appropriate recreation 
materials;  

3. An outdoor recreation area;  

4. A dining area, where meals are served, that is equipped 
with tables and benches or chairs;  

5. A visitation area that permits informal communication 
between residents and visitors, including the opportunity 
for physical contact in accordance with written procedures;  

6. Kitchen facilities and equipment for the preparation and 
service of meals with any walk-in refrigerators or freezers 
equipped to permit emergency exits;  

7. Space and equipment for laundry equipment if laundry is 
done at the facility;  

8. Space for the storage of items such as first aid 
equipment, household supplies, recreational equipment, 
luggage, out-of-season clothing, and other materials; and  

9. Space for administrative activities including, as 
appropriate to the program, confidential conversations and 
provision for storage of records and materials.  

B. Spaces or areas may be interchangeably utilized but shall 
be in functional condition for the designated purposes.  

6VAC35-41-460. Maintenance of the buildings and 
grounds. 

A. The interior and exterior of all buildings and grounds 
shall be safe, maintained, and reasonably free of clutter and 
rubbish. This includes, but is not limited to, (i) required locks, 
mechanical devices, indoor and outdoor equipment, and 
furnishings; and (ii) all areas where residents, staff, and 
visitors may reasonably be expected to have access. 

B. All buildings shall be reasonably free of stale, musty, or 
foul odors.  

C. Buildings shall be kept reasonably free of flies, roaches, 
rats, and other vermin.  

6VAC35-41-470. Animals on the premises. 

A. Animals maintained on the premises shall be housed at a 
reasonable distance from sleeping, living, eating, and food 
preparation areas, as well as a safe distance from water 
supplies.  

B. Animals maintained on the premises shall be tested, 
inoculated, and licensed as required by law. 

C. The premises shall be kept reasonably free of stray 
domestic animals. 

D. Pets shall be provided with clean sleeping areas and 
adequate food and water. 

Part IV 
Safety and Security 

6VAC35-41-480. Fire prevention plan. 

Each facility shall develop a fire prevention plan that 
provides for an adequate fire protection service.  

6VAC35-41-490. Emergency and evacuation procedures. 

A. The provider shall develop a written emergency 
preparedness and response plan for each facility. The plan 
shall address: 

1. Documentation of contact with the local emergency 
coordinator to determine (i) local disaster risks, (ii) 
communitywide plans to address different disasters and 
emergency situations, and (iii) assistance, if any, that the 
local emergency management office will provide to the 
facility in an emergency; 

2. Analysis of the provider's capabilities and potential 
hazards, including natural disasters, severe weather, fire, 
flooding, work place violence or terrorism, missing 
persons, severe injuries, or other emergencies that would 
disrupt the normal course of service delivery; 

3. Written emergency management procedures outlining 
specific responsibilities for provision of administrative 
direction and management of response activities; 
coordination of logistics during the emergency; 
communications; life safety of employees, contractors, 
interns, volunteers, visitors and residents; property 
protection; community outreach; and recovery and 
restoration; 

4. Written emergency response procedures for assessing 
the situation; protecting residents, employees, contractors, 
interns, volunteers, visitors, equipment and vital records; 
and restoring services. Emergency procedures shall 
address: 

a. Communicating with employees, contractors, and 
community responders; 

b. Warning and notification of residents; 

c. Providing emergency access to secure areas and 
opening locked doors; 

d. Conducting evacuations to emergency shelters or 
alternative sites and accounting for all residents; 

e. Relocating residents, if necessary; 



Regulations 

Volume 26, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations February 1, 2010 

1553 

f. Notifying parents and legal guardians, as applicable 
and appropriate; 

g. Alerting emergency personnel and sounding alarms;  

h. Locating and shutting off utilities when necessary; and 

i. Providing for a planned, personalized means of 
effective egress for residents who use wheelchairs, 
crutches, canes, or other mechanical devices for 
assistance in walking. 

5. Supporting documents that would be needed in an 
emergency, including emergency call lists, building and 
site maps necessary to shut off utilities, designated escape 
routes, and list of major resources such as local emergency 
shelters; and 

6. Schedule for testing the implementation of the plan and 
conducting emergency preparedness drills. 

B. The provider shall develop emergency preparedness and 
response training for all employees to ensure they are 
prepared to implement the emergency preparedness plan in 
the event of an emergency. Such training shall include the 
employees' responsibilities for: 

1. Alerting emergency personnel and sounding alarms; 

2. Implementing evacuation procedures, including 
evacuation of residents with special needs (i.e., deaf, blind, 
nonambulatory); 

3. Using, maintaining, and operating emergency 
equipment; 

4. Accessing emergency information for residents 
including medical information; and 

5. Utilizing community support services. 

C. Contractors and volunteers and interns shall be oriented 
in their responsibilities in implementing the emergency 
preparedness plan in the event of an emergency. 

D. The provider shall review and document the review of 
the emergency preparedness plan annually and make 
necessary revisions. Such revisions shall be communicated to 
employees, contractors, interns, and volunteers and 
incorporated into training for employees, contractors, interns, 
and volunteers and orientation of residents to services. 

E. In the event of a disaster, fire, emergency, or any other 
condition that may jeopardize the health, safety, and welfare 
of residents, the provider shall take appropriate action to 
protect the health, safety, and welfare of the residents and to 
remedy the conditions as soon as possible. 

F. In the event of a disaster, fire, emergency, or any other 
condition that may jeopardize the health, safety, and welfare 
of residents, the provider should first respond and stabilize 
the disaster or emergency. After the disaster or emergency is 

stabilized, the provider shall report the disaster or emergency 
in accordance with 6VAC35-41-90 (serious incident reports). 

G. Floor plans showing primary and secondary means of 
emergency exiting shall be posted on each floor in locations 
where they can be seen easily by staff and residents. 

H. The responsibilities of the residents in implementing the 
emergency procedures shall be communicated to all residents 
within seven days following admission or a substantive 
change in the procedures. 

I. At least one evacuation drill (the simulation of the 
facility's emergency procedures) shall be conducted each 
month in each building occupied by residents. During any 
three consecutive calendar months, at least one evacuation 
drill shall be conducted during each shift. 

J. Evacuation drills shall include, at a minimum: 

1. Sounding of emergency alarms;  

2. Practice in evacuating buildings;  

3. Practice in alerting emergency authorities;  

4. Simulated use of emergency equipment; and 

5. Practice in accessing resident emergency information. 

K. A record shall be maintained for each evacuation drill 
and shall include the following: 

1. Buildings in which the drill was conducted;  

2. Date and time of drill;  

3. Amount of time to evacuate the buildings;  

4. Specific problems encountered;  

5. Staff tasks completed including:  

a. Head count, and 

b. Practice in notifying emergency authorities; and 

6. The name of the staff members responsible for 
conducting and documenting the drill and preparing the 
record. 

L. The facility shall assign one staff member who shall 
ensure that all requirements regarding the emergency 
preparedness and response plan and the evacuation drill 
program are met. 

6VAC35-41-500. Contraband. 

Written procedure shall provide for the control, detection, 
and disposition of contraband.  

6VAC35-41-510. Searches of residents. 

A. Each facility that conducts searches shall have 
procedures that provide that all searches shall be subject to 
the following: 
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1. Searches of residents' persons shall be conducted only 
for the purposes of maintaining facility security and 
controlling contraband while protecting the dignity of the 
resident.  

2. Searches are conducted only by personnel who are 
authorized to conduct such searches. 

3. The resident shall not be touched any more than is 
necessary to conduct the search.  

B. Facilities that do not conduct searches of residents shall 
have a procedure prohibiting them. 

C. Strip searches and visual inspections of the vagina and 
anal cavity areas shall only be permitted (i) if ordered by a 
court; (ii) if conducted by law-enforcement personnel acting 
in his official capacity; or (iii) if the facility obtains the 
approval of the regulatory authority to conduct such searches. 
A facility that conducts such searches shall have a procedure 
that provides that the searches shall be subject to the 
following: 

1. The search shall be performed by personnel of the same 
sex as the resident being searched;  

2. The search shall be conducted in an area that ensures 
privacy; and 

3. Any witness to the search shall be of the same gender as 
the resident. 

D. Manual and instrumental searches of the anal cavity or 
vagina shall be prohibited unless court ordered. 

6VAC35-41-520. Telephone access and emergency 
numbers. 

A. There shall be at least one continuously operable, nonpay 
telephone accessible to staff in each building in which 
residents sleep or participate in programs. 

B. There shall be an emergency telephone number where a 
staff person may be immediately contacted 24 hours a day. 

C. An emergency telephone number shall be provided to 
residents and the adults responsible for their care when a 
resident is away from the facility and not under the 
supervision of direct care staff or law-enforcement officials. 

6VAC35-41-530. Internet access. 

Facilities that allow resident access to the Internet shall have 
procedures governing such usage. 

6VAC35-41-540. Weapons. 

A. The possession, use, and storage of weapons in facilities 
or on the premises where residents are reasonably expected to 
have access are prohibited except when specifically 
authorized by statutes or regulations or provided in subsection 
B of this section. For the purpose of this section, weapons 
shall include (i) any pistol, revolver, or other weapon 

intended to propel a missile of any kind by action of an 
explosion; (ii) any dirk, bowie knife, except a pocket knife 
having a folding metal blade of less than three inches, 
switchblade knife, ballistic knife, machete, straight razor, 
slingshot, spring stick, metal knucks, or blackjack; (iii) 
nunchucks or other flailing instrument with two or more rigid 
parts that swing freely; and (iv) throwing star or oriental dart.  

B. Weapons shall be permitted if they are in the possession 
of a licensed security personnel or law-enforcement officer 
while in the course of his duties.  

6VAC35-41-550. Transportation. 

A. It shall be the responsibility of the facility to have 
transportation available or to make the necessary 
arrangements for routine and emergency transportation.  

B. There shall be written safety rules for transportation of 
residents and, if applicable, for the use and maintenance of 
vehicles.  

C. The facility shall have a procedure for the verification of 
appropriate licensure for staff whose duties involve 
transporting residents. 

Part V 
Residents' Rights 

6VAC35-41-560. Prohibited actions. 

The following actions are prohibited: 

1. Deprivation of drinking water or food necessary to meet 
a resident's daily nutritional needs, except as ordered by a 
licensed physician for a legitimate medical purpose and 
documented in the resident's record; 

2. Denial of contacts and visits with the resident's attorney, 
a probation officer, the department, regulatory authority, a 
supervising agency representative, or representatives of 
other agencies or groups as required by applicable statutes 
or regulations; 

3. Bans on contacts and visits with family or legal 
guardians, except as permitted by other applicable state 
regulations or by order of a court of competent jurisdiction; 

4. Any action that is humiliating, degrading, or abusive; 

5. Corporal punishment, which is administered through the 
intentional inflicting of pain or discomfort to the body 
through actions such as, but not limited to (i) striking or 
hitting with any part of the body or with an implement; (ii) 
pinching, pulling, or shaking; or (iii) any similar action that 
normally inflicts pain or discomfort;  

6. Subjection to unsanitary living conditions; 

7. Denial of opportunities for bathing or access to toilet 
facilities, except as ordered by a licensed physician for a 
legitimate medical purpose and documented in the 
resident's record; 
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8. Denial of health care; 

9. Deprivation of appropriate services and treatment; 

10. Application of aversive stimuli, except as permitted 
pursuant to other applicable state regulations.  Aversive 
stimuli means any physical forces (e.g., sound, electricity, 
heat, cold, light, water, or noise) or substances (e.g., hot 
pepper, pepper sauce, or pepper spray) measurable in 
duration and intensity that when applied to a resident are 
noxious or painful to the individual, but does not include 
striking or hitting the individual with any part of the body 
or with an implement or pinching, pulling, or shaking the 
resident;  

11. Administration of laxatives, enemas, or emetics, except 
as ordered by a licensed physician or poison control center 
for a legitimate medical purpose and documented in the 
resident's record; 

12. Deprivation of opportunities for sleep or rest, except as 
ordered by a licensed physician for a legitimate medical 
purpose and documented in the resident's record; 

13. Involuntary placement of a resident alone in a locked 
room or a secured area where the resident is prevented 
from leaving;  

14. Use of mechanical restraints (e.g., handcuffs, waist 
chains, leg irons, disposable plastic cuffs, leather restraints, 
or a restraint chair); 

15. Involuntary use of pharmacological restraints 
(administration of medication for the emergency control of 
an individual’s behavior when the administration is not a 
standard treatment for the resident’s medical or psychiatric 
condition); 

16. Discrimination on the basis of race, religion, national 
origin, sex, or physical disability; and 

17. Other constitutionally prohibited actions. 

6VAC35-41-570. Residents' mail. 

A. A resident's incoming or outgoing mail may be delayed 
or withheld only in accordance with this section or as 
permitted by other applicable regulations or by order of a 
court.  

B. In accordance with written procedures, staff may open 
and inspect residents' incoming and outgoing nonlegal mail 
for contraband. When based on legitimate facility interests of 
order and security, nonlegal mail may be read, censored, or 
rejected. In accordance with written procedures, the resident 
shall be notified when incoming or outgoing letters are 
withheld in part or in full.  

C. In the presence of the recipient and in accordance with 
written procedures, staff may open to inspect for contraband, 
but shall not read, legal mail. Legal mail shall mean any 
written material that is sent to or received from a designated 

class of correspondents, as defined in procedures, which shall 
include any court, legal counsel, administrators of the 
grievance system, or administrators of the department, 
facility, provider, or governing authority.  

D. Staff shall not read mail addressed to parents, immediate 
family members, legal guardian, guardian ad litem, counsel, 
courts, officials of the committing authority, public official, 
or grievance administrators unless permission has been 
obtained from a court or the facility administrator has 
determined that there is a reasonable belief that the security of 
a facility is threatened. When so authorized, staff may read 
such mail only in the presence of a witness and in accordance 
with written procedures.  

E. Except as otherwise provided in this section, incoming 
and outgoing letters shall be held for no more than 24 hours 
and packages for no more than 48 hours, excluding weekends 
and holidays.  

F. Cash, stamps, and other specified items may be held for 
the resident.  

G. Upon request, each resident shall be given postage and 
writing materials for all legal correspondence and at least two 
other letters per week.  

H. Residents shall be permitted to correspond at their own 
expense with any person or organization provided such 
correspondence does not pose a threat to facility order and 
security and is not being used to violate or to conspire to 
violate the law.  

I. First class letters and packages received for residents who 
have been transferred or released shall be forwarded.  

J. Written procedure governing correspondence of residents 
shall be made available to all staff and residents and shall be 
reviewed annually and updated as needed.  

6VAC35-41-580. Telephone calls. 

Residents shall be permitted reasonable access to a 
telephone in accordance with procedures that take into 
account the need for facility security and order, resident 
behavior, and program objectives.  

6VAC35-41-590. Visitation. 

A. Residents shall be permitted to reasonable visiting 
privileges, consistent with written procedures, that take into 
account (i) the need for security and order, (ii) the behavior of 
individual residents and visitors, (iii) the importance of 
helping the resident maintain strong family and community 
ties, (iv) the welfare of the resident; and (v) whenever 
possible, flexible visiting hours.  

B. Copies of the written visitation procedures shall be made 
available to the parents, when appropriate, legal guardians, 
the resident, and other interested persons important to the 
resident no later than the time of admission except that when 
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parents or legal guardians do not participate in the admission 
process, visitation procedures shall be mailed, either 
electronically or via first class mail, to them by the close of 
the next business day after admission, unless a copy has 
already been provided to the individual. 

6VAC35-41-600. Contact with attorneys, courts, and law 
enforcement. 

A. Residents shall have uncensored, confidential contact 
with their legal representative in writing, as provided for in 
6VAC35-41-570 (residents' mail), by telephone, or in person. 
For the purpose of this section a legal representative is 
defined as a court appointed or retained attorney or a 
paralegal, investigator, or other representative from that 
attorney's office. 

B. Residents shall not be denied access to the courts. 

C. Residents shall not be required to submit to questioning 
by law enforcement, though they may do so voluntarily.  

1. Residents' consent shall be obtained prior to any contact 
with law enforcement.  

2. No employee may coerce a resident's decision to consent 
to have contact with law enforcement.  

3. Each facility shall have procedures for establishing a 
resident's consent to any such contact and for documenting 
the resident's decision. The procedures may provide for (i) 
notification of the parent or legal guardian, as appropriate 
and applicable, prior to the commencement of questioning; 
and (ii) opportunity, at the resident's request, to confer with 
an attorney, parent or guardian, or other person in making 
the decision whether to consent to questioning.  

6VAC35-41-610. Personal necessities and hygiene. 

A. At admission, each resident shall be provided the 
following: 

1. An adequate supply of personal necessities for hygiene 
and grooming; 

2. Size appropriate clothing and shoes for indoor or 
outdoor wear; 

3. A separate bed equipped with a mattress, a pillow, 
blankets, bed linens, and, if needed, a waterproof mattress 
cover; and 

4. Individual washcloths and towels. 

B. At the time of issuance, all items shall be clean and in 
good repair.  

C. Personal necessities shall be replenished as needed.  

D. The washcloths, towels, and bed linens shall be cleaned 
or changed, at a minimum, once every seven days. Bleach or 
another sanitizing agent approved by the federal 

Environmental Protection Agency to destroy bacteria shall be 
used in the laundering of such linens and table linens. 

E. Staff shall promote good personal hygiene of residents by 
monitoring and supervising hygiene practices each day and 
by providing instruction when needed. 

6VAC35-41-620. Showers. 

Residents shall have the opportunity to shower daily, except 
when a declaration of a state of emergency due to drought 
conditions has been issued by the Governor or water 
restrictions have been issued by the locality. Under these 
exceptional circumstances showers shall be restricted as 
determined by the facility administrator after consultation 
with local health officials. The alternate schedule 
implemented under these exceptional circumstances shall 
account for cases of medical necessity related to health 
concerns and shall be in effect only until such time as the 
water restrictions are lifted. 

6VAC35-41-630. Clothing. 

A. Provision shall be made for each resident to have an 
adequate supply of clean and well-fitting clothes and shoes 
for indoor and outdoor wear. 

B. Clothes and shoes shall be similar in style to those 
generally worn by individuals of the same age in the 
community who are engaged in similar activities. 

C. Residents shall have the opportunity to participate in the 
selection of their clothing. 

D. Residents shall be allowed to take personal clothing when 
leaving the facility. 

6VAC35-41-640. Residents' privacy. 

Residents shall be provided privacy while bathing, dressing, 
or conducting toileting activities. This section does not apply 
to medical personnel performing medical procedures or to 
staff providing assistance to residents whose physical or 
mental disabilities dictate the need for assistance with these 
activities as justified in the resident's record. 

6VAC35-41-650. Nutrition. 

A. Each resident, except as provided in subsection B of this 
section, shall be provided a daily diet that (i) consists of at 
least three nutritionally balanced meals and an evening snack, 
(ii) includes an adequate variety and quantity of food for the 
age of the resident, and (iii) meets minimum nutritional 
requirements and the U.S. Dietary Guidelines. 

B. Special diets or alternative dietary schedules, as 
applicable, shall be provided in the following circumstances: 
(i) when prescribed by a physician or (ii) when necessary to 
observe the established religious dietary practices of the 
resident. In such circumstances, the meals shall meet the 
minimum nutritional requirements of the U.S. Dietary 
Guidelines. 
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C. Menus of actual meals served shall be kept on file for at 
least six months. 

D. Staff who eat in the presence of the residents shall be 
served the same meals as the residents unless a special diet 
has been prescribed by a physician for the staff or residents or 
the staff or residents are observing established religious 
dietary practices. 

E. There shall not be more than 15 hours between the 
evening meal and breakfast the following day, except when 
the facility administrator approves an extension of time 
between meals on weekends and holidays. When an extension 
is granted on a weekend or holiday, there shall never be more 
than 17 hours between the evening meal and breakfast.  

F. Providers shall assure that food is available to residents 
who for documented medical or religious reasons need to eat 
breakfast before the 15 hours have expired. 

6VAC35-41-660. School enrollment and study time. 

A. The facility shall make all reasonable efforts to enroll 
each resident of compulsory school attendance age in an 
appropriate educational program within five school business 
days after admission and in accordance with § 22.1-254 of the 
Code of Virginia and Regulations Governing the 
Reenrollment of Students Committed to the Department of 
Juvenile Justice (8VAC20-660), if applicable. Documentation 
of the enrollment and any attempt to enroll the resident shall 
be maintained in the resident's record. 

B. Each provider shall develop and implement written 
procedures to ensure that each resident has adequate study 
time. 

6VAC35-41-670. Religion. 

A. Residents shall not be required or coerced to participate 
in or be unreasonably denied participation in religious 
activities. 

B. The provider's procedures on religious participation shall 
be available to residents and any individual or agency 
considering placement of an individual in the facility. 

6VAC35-41-680. Recreation. 

A. The provider shall have a written description of its 
recreation program that describes activities that are consistent 
with the facility's total program and with the ages, 
developmental levels, interests, and needs of the residents that 
includes: 

1. Opportunities for individual and group activities, both 
structured and unstructured; 

2. Use of available community recreational resources and 
facilities; 

3. Scheduling of activities so that they do not conflict with 
meals, religious services, educational programs, or other 
regular events; and 

4. Regularly scheduled indoor and outdoor recreational 
activities that are structured to develop skills and attitudes. 

B. The provider shall develop and implement written 
procedures to ensure the safety of residents participating in 
recreational activities that include: 

1. How activities will be directed and supervised by 
individuals knowledgeable in the safeguards required for 
the activities; 

2. How residents are assessed for suitability for an activity 
and the supervision provided; and 

3. How safeguards for water related activities will be 
provided, including ensuring that a certified life guard 
supervises all swimming activities.  

C. For all overnight recreational trips away from the facility, 
the provider shall document trip planning to include:  

1. A supervision plan for the entire duration of the activity 
including awake and sleeping hours; 

2. A plan for safekeeping and distribution of medication; 

3. An overall emergency, safety, and communication plan 
for the activity including emergency numbers of facility 
administration; 

4. Staff training and experience requirements for each 
activity; 

5. Resident preparation for each activity; 

6. A plan to ensure that all necessary equipment for the 
activity is in good repair and appropriate for the activity; 

7. A trip schedule giving addresses and phone numbers of 
locations to be visited and how the location was chosen 
and evaluated; 

8. A plan to evaluate residents' physical health throughout 
the activity and to ensure that the activity is conducted 
within the boundaries of the resident's capabilities, dignity, 
and respect for self-determination; 

9. A plan to ensure that a certified life guard supervises all 
swimming activities in which residents participate; and 

10. Documentation of any variations from trip plans and 
reason for the variation. 

D. All overnight out-of-state or out-of-country recreational 
trips require written permission from each resident's legal 
guardian. Documentation of the written permission shall be 
kept in the resident's record. 
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6VAC35-41-690. Residents' funds. 

A. The provider shall implement written procedures for 
safekeeping and for recordkeeping of any money that belongs 
or is provided to residents, including allowances, if 
applicable. 

B. A resident's funds, including any allowance or earnings, 
shall be used for the resident's benefit, for payments ordered 
by a court, or to pay restitution for damaged property or 
personal injury as determined by disciplinary procedures. 

6VAC35-41-700. Fundraising. 

The provider shall not use residents in its fundraising 
activities without the written permission of the legal guardian 
and the consent of residents. 

Part VI 
Program Operation 

Article 1 
Admission, Transfer, and Discharge 

6VAC35-41-710. Placement pursuant to a court order. 

When a resident is placed in a facility pursuant to a court 
order, the following requirements shall be met by maintaining 
a copy of a court order in the resident's case record: 

1. 6VAC35-41-730 (application for admission). 

2. 6VAC35-41-740 (admission procedures). 

3. 6VAC35-41-750 (written placement agreement).  

4. 6VAC35-41-780 (emergency admissions). 

5. 6VAC35-41-810 (discharge procedures). 

6VAC35-41-720. Readmission to a shelter care program. 

A. When a resident is readmitted to a shelter care facility 
within 30 days from discharge, the following requirements 
shall not apply:  

1. 6VAC35-41-730 (application for admission). 

2. 6VAC35-41-740 (admission procedures). 

B. When a resident is readmitted to a shelter care facility 
within 30 days from discharge, the facility shall: 

1. Review and update all information on the face sheet as 
provided in 6VAC35-41-340 (face sheet); 

2. Complete a health screening in accordance with 
6VAC35-41-1200 (health screening at admission);  

3. Complete required admission and orientation process as 
provided in 6VAC35-41-760 (admission); and 

4. Update in the case record any other information 
regarding the resident that has changed since discharge.  

6VAC35-41-730. Application for admission. 

A. Except for placements pursuant to a court order or 
resulting from a transfer between residential facilities located 
in Virginia and operated by the same governing authority, all 
admissions shall be based on evaluation of an application for 
admission.  

B. Providers shall develop and fully complete prior to 
acceptance for care an application for admission that is 
designed to compile information necessary to determine: 

1. The educational needs of the prospective resident; 

2. The mental health, emotional, and psychological needs 
of the prospective resident; 

3. The physical health needs, including the immunization 
needs, of the prospective resident; 

4. The protection needs of the prospective resident; 

5. The suitability of the prospective resident' admission; 

6. The behavior support needs of the prospective resident; 
and 

7. Information necessary to develop a service plan and a 
behavior support plan. 

C. Each facility shall develop and implement written 
procedures to assess each prospective resident as part of the 
application process to ensure that: 

1. The needs of the prospective resident can be addressed 
by the facility's services;  

2. The facility's staff are trained to meet the prospective 
resident’s needs; and 

3. The admission of the prospective resident would not 
pose any significant risk to (i) the prospective resident or 
(ii) the facility's residents or staff. 

6VAC35-41-740. Admission procedures. 

A. Except for placements pursuant to a court order, the 
facility shall admit only those residents who are determined 
to be compatible with the services provided through the 
facility. 

B. The facility's written criteria for admission shall include 
the following: 

1. A description of the population to be served;  

2. A description of the types of services offered;  

3. Intake and admission procedures; 

4. Exclusion criteria to define those behaviors or problems 
that the facility does not have the staff with experience or 
training to manage; and 

5. Description of how educational services will be 
provided to the population being served. 
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6VAC35-41-750. Written placement agreement. 

A. Except for placements pursuant to a court order or when 
a resident admits himself to a shelter care facility, each 
resident's record shall contain, prior to a routine admission, a 
completed placement agreement signed by a facility 
representative and the legal guardian or placing agency. 
Routine admission means the admittance of a resident 
following evaluation of an application for admission and 
execution of a written placement agreement. 

B. The written placement agreements shall: 

1. Authorize the resident's placement; 

2. Address acquisition of and consent for any medical 
treatment needed by the resident; 

3. Address the rights and responsibilities of each party 
involved; 

4. Address financial responsibility for the placement; 

5. Address visitation with the resident; and 

6. Address the education plan for the resident and the 
responsibilities of all parties. 

6VAC35-41-760. Admission. 

A. Written procedure governing the admission and 
orientation of residents to the facility shall provide for:  

1. Verification of legal authority for placement;  

2. Search of the resident and the resident's possessions, 
including inventory and storage or disposition of property, 
as appropriate;  

3. Health screening;  

4. Notification of parents and legal guardians, as applicable 
and appropriate, including of (i) admission, (ii) visitation, 
and (iii) general information, including how the resident's 
parent or legal guardian may request information and 
register concerns and complaints with the facility;  

5. Interview with resident to answer questions and obtain 
information;  

6. Explanation to resident of program services and 
schedules; and  

7. Assignment of resident to a housing unit or room. 

B. When a resident is readmitted to a shelter care facility 
within 30 days from discharge, the facility shall update the 
information required in subsection A of this section.  

6VAC35-41-770. Orientation to facility rules and 
disciplinary procedures. 

A. During the orientation to the facility, residents shall be 
given written information describing facility rules, the 
sanctions for rule violations, and the facility's disciplinary 

process. These shall be explained to the resident and 
documented by the dated signature of resident and staff.  

B. Where a language or literacy problem exists that can lead 
to a resident misunderstanding the facility rules and 
regulations, staff or a qualified person under the supervision 
of staff shall assist the resident. 

6VAC35-41-780. Emergency admissions. 

Providers accepting emergency admissions, which are the 
unplanned or unexpected admission of a resident in need of 
immediate care excluding self-admittance to a shelter care 
facility or a court ordered placement, shall: 

1. Develop and implement written procedures governing 
such admissions that shall include procedures to make and 
document prompt efforts to obtain (i) a written placement 
agreement signed by the legal guardian or (ii) the order of 
a court; 

2. Place in each resident's record the order of a court, a 
written request for care or documentation of an oral request 
for care, and justification of why the resident is to be 
admitted on an emergency basis; and 

3. Except placements pursuant to court orders, clearly 
document in written assessment information gathered for 
the emergency admission that the individual meets the 
facility's criteria for admission. 

6VAC35-41-790. Resident transfer between residential 
facilities located in Virginia and operated by the same 
governing authority. 

A. Except for transfers pursuant to a court order, when a 
resident is transferred from one to another facility operated by 
the same provider or governing authority the sending facility 
shall provide the receiving facility, at the time of transfer, a 
written summary of (i) the resident's progress while at the 
facility; (ii) the justification for the transfer; (iii) the resident's 
current strengths and needs; and (iv) any medical needs, 
medications, and restrictions and, if necessary, instructions 
for meeting these needs. 

B. Except for transfers pursuant to a court order, when a 
resident is transferred from one to another facility operated by 
the same provider or governing authority the receiving 
facility shall document at the time of transfer: 

1. Preparation through sharing information with the 
resident, the family and the placing agency about the 
facility, the staff, the population served, activities, and 
criteria for admission; 

2. Notification to the family, if appropriate; the resident, 
the placement agency, and the legal guardian; and 

3. Receipt of the written summary from the sending facility 
required by subsection A of this section. 
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6VAC35-41-800. Placement of residents outside the 
facility. 

A resident shall not be placed outside the facility prior to the 
facility obtaining a placing agency license from the 
Department of Social Services, except as permitted by statute 
or by order of a court of competent jurisdiction. 

6VAC35-41-810. Discharge procedures. 

A. The provider shall have written criteria for discharge that 
shall include: 

1. Criteria for a resident's completing the program that are 
consistent with the facility's programs and services;  

2. Conditions under which a resident may be discharged 
before completing the program; and 

3. Procedures for assisting placing agencies in placing the 
residents should the facility cease operation. 

B. The provider's criteria for discharge shall be accessible to 
prospective residents, legal guardians, and placing agencies.  

C. Residents shall be discharged only to the legal guardian, 
legally authorized representative, or foster parent with the 
written authorization of a representative of the legal guardian. 
A resident over the age of 17 or who has been emancipated 
may assume responsibility for his own discharge.  

D. As appropriate and applicable, information concerning 
current medications, need for continuing therapeutic 
interventions, educational status, and other items important to 
the resident's continuing care shall be provided to the legal 
guardian or legally authorized representative, as appropriate. 

6VAC35-41-820. Discharge documentation. 

A. Except for residents discharged pursuant to a court order, 
the case record shall contain the following: 

1. Documentation that discharge planning occurred prior to 
the planned discharge date; 

2. Documentation that discussions with the parent or legal 
guardian, placing agency, and resident regarding discharge 
planning occurred prior to the planned discharge date;  

3. A written discharge plan developed prior to the planned 
discharge date; and 

4. As soon as possible, but no later than 30 days after 
discharge, a comprehensive discharge summary placed in 
the resident's record and sent to the placing agency. The 
discharge summary shall review the following: 

a. Services provided to the resident; 

b. The resident's progress toward meeting service plan 
objectives; 

c. The resident's continuing needs and recommendations, 
if any, for further services and care; 

d. Reasons for discharge and names of persons to whom 
resident was discharged; 

e. Dates of admission and discharge; and 

f. Date the discharge summary was prepared and the 
signature of the person preparing it. 

B. When a resident is discharged pursuant to a court order, 
the case record shall contain a copy of the court order. 

Article 2 
Programs and Services 

6VAC35-41-830. Operational procedures. 

Current operational procedures shall be accessible to all 
staff. 

6VAC35-41-840. Structured programming. 

A. Each facility shall implement a comprehensive, planned, 
and structured daily routine, including appropriate 
supervision designed to: 

1. Meet the residents' physical and emotional needs; 

2. Provide protection, guidance, and supervision;  

3. Ensure the delivery of program services; and 

4. Meet the objectives of any individual service plan. 

B. Each facility shall have goals, objectives, and strategies 
consistent with the facility's mission and program objectives 
utilized when working with all residents until the residents' 
individualized service plans are developed. These goals, 
objectives, and strategies shall be provided to the residents in 
writing during orientation to the facility. 

C. Residents shall be allowed to participate in the facility's 
programs, as applicable, upon admission.  

6VAC35-41-850. Daily log. 

A. A daily communication log shall be, in accordance with 
facility procedures, maintained to inform staff of significant 
happenings or problems experienced by residents. 

B. The date and time of the entry and the identity of the 
individual making each entry shall be recorded. 

C. If the facility records log book-type information on a 
computer, all entries shall post the date, time, and identity of 
the person making an entry. The computer shall prevent 
previous entries from being overwritten.  

6VAC35-41-860. Individual service plan. 

A. An individual service plan shall be developed and placed 
in the resident's record within 30 days following admission 
and implemented immediately thereafter. The initial 
individual service plan shall be distributed to the resident; the 
resident's family, legal guardian, or legally authorized 
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representative; the placing agency; and appropriate facility 
staff. 

B. Individual service plans shall describe in measurable 
terms the: 

1. Strengths and needs of the resident; 

2. Resident's current level of functioning; 

3. Goals, objectives, and strategies established for the 
resident including a behavior support plan, if appropriate; 

4. Projected family involvement; 

5. Projected date for accomplishing each objective; and 

6. Status of the projected discharge plan and estimated 
length of stay except that this requirement shall not apply 
to a facility that discharges only upon receipt of the order 
of a court of competent jurisdiction. 

C. Each service plan shall include the date it was developed 
and the signature of the person who developed it. 

D. The service plan shall be reviewed within 60 days of the 
development of the plan and within each 90-day period 
thereafter. The individual service plan shall be revised as 
necessary. Any changes to the plan shall be made in writing. 
All participants shall receive copies of the revised plan. 

E. The resident and facility staff shall participate in the 
development of the individual service plan. 

F. The (i) supervising agency and (ii) resident's parents, 
legal guardian, or legally authorized representative, if 
appropriate and applicable, shall be given the opportunity to 
participate in the development of the resident's individual 
service plan. 

G. Copies of the individual service plan shall be provided to 
the (i) resident; (ii) parents or legal guardians, as appropriate 
and applicable, and (iii) the placing agency. 

6VAC35-41-870. Quarterly reports. 

A. Except when a resident is placed in a shelter care 
program, the resident's progress toward meeting his 
individual service plan goals shall be reviewed and a progress 
report shall be prepared within 60 days of the development of 
the plan and within each 90-day period thereafter and shall 
review the status of the following:  

1. Resident's progress toward meeting the plan's objectives; 

2. Family's involvement; 

3. Continuing needs of the resident; 

4. Resident's progress towards discharge; and 

5. Status of discharge planning. 

B. Each quarterly progress report shall include the date it 
was developed and the signature of the person who developed 
it. 

C. All quarterly progress reports shall be distributed to the 
resident; the resident's family, legal guardian, or legally 
authorized representative; the placing agency; and appropriate 
facility staff.  

6VAC35-41-880. Therapy. 

Therapy, if provided, shall be provided by an individual (i) 
licensed as a therapist by the Department of Health 
Professions or (ii) who is licensure eligible and working 
under the supervision of a licensed therapist unless exempted 
from these requirements under the Code of Virginia. 

6VAC35-41-890. Community relationships. 

A. Opportunities shall be provided for the residents to 
participate in activities and to utilize resources in the 
community. 

B. In addition to the requirements of 6VAC35-41-290 
(background checks for volunteers or interns), written 
procedures shall govern how the facility will determine if 
participation in such community activities or programs would 
be in the residents' best interest. 

C. Each facility shall have a staff community liaison who 
shall be responsible for facilitating cooperative relationships 
with neighbors, the school system, local law enforcement, 
local government officials, and the community at large. 

D. Each provider shall develop and implement written 
procedures for promoting positive relationships with the 
neighbors that shall be approved by the department. 

6VAC35-41-900. Resident visitation at the homes of staff. 

Resident visitation at the homes of staff is prohibited unless 
written permission from the (i) resident's parent or legal 
guardian, as applicable and appropriate, (ii) the facility 
administrator, and (iii) the placing agency is obtained before 
the visitation occurs. The written permission shall be kept in 
the resident's record. 

Article 3 
Supervision 

6VAC35-41-910. Additional assignments of direct care 
staff. 

If direct care staff assume nondirect care responsibilities, 
such responsibilities shall not interfere with the staff's direct 
care duties. 

6VAC35-41-920. Staff supervision of residents. 

A. Staff shall provide 24-hour awake supervision seven days 
a week.  
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B. No member of the direct care staff shall be on duty and 
responsible for the direct care of residents more than six 
consecutive days without a rest day, except in an emergency. 
For the purpose of this section, a rest day shall mean a period 
of not less than 24 consecutive hours during which a staff 
person has no responsibility to perform duties related to the 
operation of the facility. 

C. Direct care staff shall have an average of at least two rest 
days per week in any four-week period.  

D. Direct care staff shall not be on duty more than 16 
consecutive hours, except in an emergency. 

E. There shall be at least one trained direct care worker on 
duty and actively supervising residents at all times that one or 
more residents are present. 

F. Whenever residents are being supervised by staff there 
shall be at least one staff person present with a current basic 
certification in standard first aid and a current certificate in 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation issued by a recognized 
authority. 

G. The provider shall develop and implement written 
procedures that address staff supervision of residents 
including contingency plans for resident illnesses, 
emergencies, off-campus activities, and resident preferences. 
These procedures shall be based on the: 

1. Needs of the population served; 

2. Types of services offered;  

3. Qualifications of staff on duty; and 

4. Number of residents served. 

6VAC35-41-930. Staffing pattern. 

A. During the hours that residents are scheduled to be 
awake, there shall be at least one direct care staff member 
awake, on duty, and responsible for supervision of every 10 
residents, or portion thereof, on the premises or participating 
in off-campus, facility sponsored activities, except that 
independent living programs shall have at least one direct 
care staff member awake, on duty, and responsible for 
supervision of every 15 residents on the premises or 
participating in off-campus, facility sponsored activities.  

B. During the hours that residents are scheduled to sleep 
there shall be no less than one direct care staff member on 
duty and responsible for supervision of every 16 residents, or 
portion thereof, on the premises.  

C. There shall be at least one direct care staff member on 
duty and responsible for the supervision of residents in each 
building where residents are sleeping. This requirement does 
not apply to approved independent living programs.  

D. On each floor where residents are sleeping, there shall be 
at least one direct care staff member awake and on duty for 
every 30 residents or portion thereof.  

6VAC35-41-940. Outside personnel working in the 
facility. 

A. Facility staff shall monitor all situations in which outside 
personnel perform any kind of work in the immediate 
presence of residents in the facility.  

B. Adult inmates shall not work in the immediate presence 
of any resident and shall be monitored in a way that there 
shall be no direct contact between or interaction among adult 
inmates and residents.  

Part VII 
Work Programs 

6VAC35-41-950. Work and employment. 

A. Assignment of chores that are paid or unpaid work 
assignments shall be in accordance with the age, health, 
ability, and service plan of the resident. 

B. Chores shall not interfere with school programs, study 
periods, meals, or sleep. 

C. Work assignments or employment outside the facility, 
including reasonable rates of pay, shall be approved by the 
facility administrator with the knowledge and consent of the 
legal guardian. 

D. In both work assignments and employment the facility 
administrator shall evaluate the appropriateness of the work 
and the fairness of the pay. 

Part VIII 
Independent Living Programs 

6VAC35-41-960. Independent living programs. 

A. Independent living programs shall be a competency 
based program, specifically approved by the board to provide 
the opportunity for the residents to develop the skills 
necessary to become independent decision makers, to become 
self-sufficient adults, and to live successfully on their own 
following completion of the program. 

B. Independent living programs shall have a written 
description of the curriculum and methods used to teach 
living skills, which shall include finding and keeping a job, 
managing personal finances, household budgeting, hygiene, 
nutrition, and other life skills. 

6VAC35-41-970. Independent living programs curriculum 
and assessment. 

A. Each independent living program must demonstrate that a 
structured program using materials and curriculum approved 
by the board is being used to teach independent living skills. 
The curriculum must include information regarding each of 
the areas listed in subsection B of this section. 
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B. Within 14 days of placement the provider must complete 
an assessment, including strengths and needs, of the resident's 
life skills using an independent living assessment tool 
approved by the department. The assessment must cover the 
following areas:  

1. Money management and consumer awareness; 

2. Food management; 

3. Personal appearance; 

4. Social skills; 

5. Health and sexuality; 

6. Housekeeping; 

7. Transportation; 

8. Educational planning and career planning; 

9. Job seeking skills; 

10. Job maintenance skills; 

11. Emergency and safety skills; 

12. Knowledge of community resources; 

13. Interpersonal skills and social relationships; 

14. Legal skills; 

15. Leisure activities; and 

16. Housing. 

C. The resident's individualized service plan shall include, in 
addition to the requirements found in 6VAC35-41-860 
(individual service plan), goals, objectives, and strategies 
addressing each of the areas listed in subsection B of this 
section, as applicable. 

6VAC35-41-980. Employee training in independent living 
programs. 

Each independent living program shall develop and 
implement procedures to train all direct care staff within 14 
days of employment on the content of the independent living 
curriculum, the use of the independent living materials, the 
application of the assessment tool, and the documentation 
methods used. Documentation of the training shall be kept in 
the employee's staff record. 

6VAC35-41-990. Medication management in independent 
living programs. 

If residents age 18 years or older are to share in the 
responsibility for their own medication with the provider, the 
independent living program shall develop and implement 
written procedures that include: 

1. Training for the resident in self administration and 
recognition of side effects; 

2. Method for storage and safekeeping of medication; 

3. Method for obtaining approval for the resident to self 
administer medication from a person authorized by law to 
prescribe medication; and 

4. Method for documenting the administration of 
medication. 

6VAC35-41-1000. Nutrition procedure in independent 
living programs. 

Each independent living program shall develop and 
implement written procedures that ensure that each resident is 
receiving adequate nutrition as required in 6VAC35-41-650 
A, B, and C (nutrition). 

Part IX 
Wilderness Programs and Adventure Activities 

6VAC35-41-1010. Wilderness program. 

A. The provider must obtain approval by the board prior to 
operating a primitive camping program. 

B. Any wilderness program must meet the following 
conditions: (i) maintain a nonpunitive environment; (ii) have 
an experience curricula; (iii) accept residents only nine years 
of age or older who cannot presently function at home, in 
school, or in the community. 

C. Any wilderness work program or wilderness work camp 
program shall have a written program description covering: 

1. Its intended resident population; 

2. How work assignments, education, vocational training, 
and treatment will be interrelated; 

3. The length of the program; 

4. The type and duration of treatment and supervision to be 
provided upon release or discharge; and 

5. The program's behavioral expectations, incentives, and 
sanctions.  

6VAC35-41-1020. Wilderness programs or adventure 
activities. 

A. All wilderness programs and providers that take residents 
on wilderness or adventure activities shall develop and 
implement procedures that include: 

1. Staff training and experience requirements for each 
activity; 

2. Resident training and experience requirements for each 
activity; 

3. Specific staff to resident ratio and supervision plan 
appropriate for each activity, including sleeping 
arrangements and supervision during night time hours; 

4. Plans to evaluate and document each participant's 
physical health throughout the activity; 
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5. Preparation and planning needed for each activity and 
time frames; 

6. Arrangement, maintenance, and inspection of activity 
areas; 

7. A plan to ensure that any equipment and gear that is to 
be used in connection with a specified wilderness or 
adventure activity is appropriate to the activity, certified if 
required, in good repair, in operable condition, and age and 
body size appropriate; 

8. Plans to ensure that all ropes and paraphernalia used in 
connection with rope rock climbing, rappelling, high and 
low ropes courses, or other adventure activities in which 
ropes are used are approved annually by an appropriate 
certifying organization and have been inspected by staff 
responsible for supervising the adventure activity before 
engaging residents in the activity;  

9. Plans to ensure that all participants are appropriately 
equipped, clothed, and wearing safety gear, such as a 
helmet, goggles, safety belt, life jacket, or a flotation 
device, that is appropriate to the adventure activity in 
which the resident is engaged; 

10. Plans for food and water supplies and management of 
these resources;  

11. Plans for the safekeeping and distribution of 
medication; 

12. Guidelines to ensure that participation is conducted 
within the boundaries of the resident's capabilities, dignity, 
and respect for self-determination; 

13. Overall emergency, safety, and communication plans 
for each activity including rescue procedures, frequency of 
drills, resident accountability, prompt evacuation, and 
notification of outside emergency services; and 

14. Review of trip plans by the trip coordinator.  

B. Direct care workers hired by wilderness campsite 
programs and providers that take residents on wilderness or 
adventure activities shall be trained in a wilderness first aid 
course. 

6VAC35-41-1030. Initial physical for wilderness programs 
or adventure activities. 

Initial physical forms used by wilderness campsite programs 
and providers that take residents on wilderness or adventure 
activities shall include: 

1. A statement notifying the doctor of the types of 
activities the resident will be participating in; and 

2. A statement signed by the doctor stating the individual's 
health does not prevent him from participating in the 
described activities. 

6VAC35-41-1040. Physical environment of wilderness 
programs or adventure activities. 

A. Each resident shall have adequate personal storage area. 

B. Fire extinguishers of a 2A 10BC rating shall be 
maintained so that it is never necessary to travel more than 75 
feet to a fire extinguisher from combustion-type heating 
devices, campfires, or other source of combustion. 

C. Artificial lighting shall be provided in a safe manner. 

D. All areas of the campsite shall be lighted for safety when 
occupied by residents. 

E. A telephone or other means of communication is required 
at each area where residents sleep or participate in programs. 

F. First aid kits used by wilderness campsite programs and 
providers that take residents on adventure activities shall be 
activity appropriate and shall be accessible at all times.  

6VAC35-41-1050. Sleeping areas of wilderness programs 
or adventure activities. 

A. In lieu of or in addition to dormitories, cabins, or 
barracks for housing residents, primitive campsites may be 
used.  

B. Sleeping areas shall be protected by screening or other 
means to prevent admittance of flies and mosquitoes. 

C. A separate bed, bunk, or cot shall be made available for 
each person. 

D. A mattress cover shall be provided for each mattress. 

E. Bedding shall be clean, dry, sanitary, and in good repair. 

F. Bedding shall be adequate to ensure protection and 
comfort in cold weather. 

G. Sleeping bags, if used, shall be fiberfill and rated for 0°F. 

H. Linens shall be changed as often as required for 
cleanliness and sanitation but not less frequently than once a 
week. 

I. Staff of the same sex may share a sleeping area with the 
residents. 

6VAC35-41-1060. Personal necessities in wilderness 
programs or adventure activities. 

A. Each resident shall be provided with an adequate supply 
of clean clothing that is suitable for outdoor living and is 
appropriate to the geographic location and season. 

B. Sturdy, water resistant, outdoor footwear shall be 
provided for each resident. 

6VAC35-41-1070. Trip or activity coordination for 
wilderness programs or adventure activities. 

A. All wilderness programs and facilities that take residents 
on wilderness or adventure activities must designate one staff 
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person to be the trip coordinator who will be responsible for 
all facility wilderness or adventure trips. 

1. This person must have experience in and knowledge 
regarding wilderness activities and be trained in wilderness 
first aid. The individual must also have at least one year 
experience at the facility and be familiar with the facility 
procedures, staff, and residents. 

2. Documentation regarding this knowledge and 
experience shall be found in the individual's staff record. 

3. The trip coordinator will review all trip plans and 
procedures and will ensure that staff and residents meet the 
requirements as outlined in the facility's procedure 
regarding each wilderness or adventure activity to take 
place during the trip. 

4. The trip coordinator will review all trip plans and 
procedures and will ensure that staff and residents meet the 
requirements as outlined in the facility's procedure 
regarding each wilderness or adventure activity to take 
place during the trip. 

B. The trip coordinator shall conduct a post trip debriefing 
within 72 hours of the group's return to base to evaluate 
individual and group goals as well as the trip as a whole. 

C. The trip coordinator will be responsible for writing a 
summary of the debriefing session and shall be responsible 
for ensuring that procedures are updated to reflect 
improvements needed. 

D. A trip folder will be developed for each wilderness or 
adventure activity conducted away from the facility and shall 
include: 

1. Medical release forms including pertinent medical 
information on the trip participants;  

2. Phone numbers for administrative staff and emergency 
personnel; 

3. Daily trip logs; 

4. Incident reports; 

5. Swimming proficiency list if trip is near water; 

6. Daily logs; 

7. Maps of area covered by the trip; and 

8. Daily plans.  

E. The provider shall ensure that before engaging in any 
aquatic activity, each resident shall be classified by the trip 
coordinator or his designee according to swimming ability in 
one of two classifications: swimmer and nonswimmer. This 
shall be documented in the resident's record and in the trip 
folder. 

F. The provider shall ensure that lifesaving equipment is 
provided for all aquatic activities and is placed so that it is 

immediately available in case of an emergency. At a 
minimum, the equipment shall include: 

1. A whistle or other audible signal device; and 

2. A lifesaving throwing device. 

Part X 
Family Oriented Group Homes 

6VAC35-41-1080. Requirements of family oriented group 
home systems. 

Family oriented group home systems shall have written 
procedures for:  

1. Setting the number of residents to be housed in each 
home and room of the home and prohibiting individuals 
less than 18 years of age and individuals older than 17 
years of age from sharing sleeping rooms without specific 
approval from the facility administrator;  

2. Providing supervision of and guidance for the family 
oriented group home parents and relief staff;  

3. Admitting and orienting residents;  

4. Preparing a treatment plan for each resident within 30 
days of admission or 72 hours in the case of a shelter care 
facility, and reviewing the plan quarterly;  

5. Providing appropriate programs and services from intake 
through release;  

6. Providing residents with spending money;  

7. Managing resident records and releasing information;  

8. Providing medical and dental care to residents;  

9. Notifying parents and guardians, as appropriate and 
applicable, the placing agency, and the department of any 
serious incident as specified in written procedures;  

10. Making a program supervisor or designated staff 
person available to residents and house parents 24 hours a 
day; and 

11. Ensuring the secure control of any firearms and 
ammunition in the home.  

6VAC35-41-1090. Examination by physician. 

Each resident admitted to a family oriented group home 
shall have a physical examination including tuberculosis 
screening within 30 days of admission unless the resident was 
examined within six months prior to admission to the 
program.  

6VAC35-41-1100. Requirements of family group homes. 

Each family oriented group home shall have:  

1. A fire extinguisher, inspected annually;  

2. Smoke alarm devices in working condition;  
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3. Alternative methods of escape from second story;  

4. Modern sanitation facilities;  

5. Freedom from physical hazards;  

6. A written emergency plan that is communicated to all 
new residents at orientation;  

7. An up-to-date listing of medical and other emergency 
resources in the community;  

8. A separate bed for each resident, with clean sheets and 
linens weekly;  

9. A bedroom that is well illuminated and ventilated; is in 
reasonably good repair; is not a hallway, unfinished 
basement or attic; and provides conditions for privacy; 

10. A place to store residents' clothing and personal items;  

11. Sanitary toilet and bath facilities that are adequate for 
the number of residents;  

12. A safe and clean place for indoor and outdoor 
recreation;  

13. Adequate furniture;  

14. Adequate laundry facilities or laundry services;  

15. A clean and pleasant dining area;  

16. Adequate and nutritionally balanced meals; and  

17. Daily provision of clean clothing and articles necessary 
for maintaining proper personal hygiene.  

6VAC35-41-1110. Other applicable regulations. 

Each family oriented group home shall also be subject to 
and comply with the requirements of the following provisions 
of this chapter: 

1. 6VAC35-41-180 (employee and volunteer background 
checks);  

2. 6VAC35-41-190 (required initial orientation); 

3. 6VAC35-41-200 (required initial training); and 

4. 6VAC35-41-210 (required retraining). 

Part XI 
Respite Care 

6VAC35-41-1120. Definition of respite care. 

Respite care facility shall mean a facility that is specifically 
approved to provide short-term, periodic residential care to 
residents accepted into its program in order to give the 
parents or legal guardians temporary relief from responsibility 
for their direct care. 

6VAC35-41-1130. Admission and discharge from respite 
care. 

A. Acceptance of an individual as eligible for respite care by 
a respite care facility is considered admission to the facility. 
Each individual period of respite care is not considered a 
separate admission.  

B. A respite care facility shall discharge a resident when the 
legal guardian no longer intends to use the facility's services.  

6VAC35-41-1140. Updating health records in respite care. 

Respite care facilities shall update the information required 
by 6VAC35-41-1170 B (health care procedures) at the time of 
each stay at the facility.  

Part XII 
Health Care Services 

6VAC35-41-1150. Definitions applicable to health care 
services. 

"Health authority" means the individual, government 
authority, or health care contractor responsible for organizing, 
planning, and monitoring the timely provision of appropriate 
health care services, including arrangements for all levels of 
health care and the ensuring of quality and accessibility of all 
health services, consistent with applicable statutes and 
regulations, prevailing community standards, and medical 
ethics.  

"Health care record" means the complete record of medical 
screening and examination information and ongoing records 
of medical and ancillary service delivery including, but not 
limited to, all findings, diagnoses, treatments, dispositions, 
prescriptions, and their administration.  

"Health care services" means those actions, preventative and 
therapeutic, taken for the physical and mental well-being of a 
resident. Health care services include medical, dental, 
orthodontic, mental health, family planning, obstetrical, 
gynecological, health education, and other ancillary services.  

"Health trained personnel" means an individual who is 
trained by a licensed health care provider to perform specific 
duties such as administering heath care screenings, reviewing 
screening forms for necessary follow-up care, preparing 
residents and records for sick call, and assisting in the 
implementation of certain medical orders.  

6VAC35-41-1160. Provision of health care services. 

Treatment by nursing personnel shall be performed pursuant 
to the laws and regulations governing the practice of nursing 
within the Commonwealth. Other health-trained personnel 
shall provide care within their level of training and 
certification.  
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6VAC35-41-1170. Health care procedures. 

A. The provider shall have and implement written 
procedures for promptly: 

1. Arranging for the provision of medical and dental 
services for health problems identified at admission;  

2. Arranging for the provision of routine ongoing and 
follow-up medical and dental services after admission; 

3. Arranging for emergency medical and mental health 
care services, as appropriate and applicable, for each 
resident as provided by statute or by the agreement with 
the resident's legal guardian;  

4. Arranging for emergency medical and mental health 
care services, as appropriate and applicable, for any 
resident experiencing or showing signs of suicidal or 
homicidal thoughts, symptoms of mood or thought 
disorders, or other mental health problems; and 

5. Ensuring that the required information in subsection B 
of this section is accessible and up to date. 

B. The following written information concerning each 
resident shall be readily accessible to staff who may have to 
respond to a medical or dental emergency: 

1. Name, address, and telephone number of the physician 
and dentist to be notified; 

2. Name, address, and telephone number of a relative or 
other person to be notified; 

3. Medical insurance company name and policy number or 
Medicaid number; 

4. Information concerning: 

a. Use of medication; 

b. All allergies, including medication allergies; 

c. Substance abuse and use;  

d. Significant past and present medical problems; and 

5. Written permission for emergency medical care, dental 
care, and obtaining immunizations or a procedure and 
contacts for obtaining consent. 

C. Facilities approved to provide respite care shall update 
the information required by subsection B of this section at the 
time of each stay at the facility. 

6VAC35-41-1180. Health-trained personnel. 

A. Health-trained personnel shall provide care as appropriate 
to their level of training and certification and shall not 
administer health care services for which they are not 
qualified or specifically trained. 

B. The facility shall retain documentation of the training 
received by health-trained personnel necessary to perform any 

designated health care services. Documentation of applicable, 
current licensure or certification shall constitute compliance 
with this section. 

6VAC35-41-1190. Consent to and refusal of health care 
services. 

A. The knowing and voluntary agreement, without undue 
inducement or any element of force, fraud, deceit, duress, or 
other form of constraint or coercion, of a person who is 
capable of exercising free choice (informed consent) to health 
care shall be obtained from the resident, parent, guardian, or 
legal custodian as required by law.  

B. The resident, parent, guardian, or legal custodian, as 
applicable, shall be advised by an appropriately trained 
medical professional of (i) the material facts regarding the 
nature, consequences, and risks of the proposed treatment, 
examination, or procedure and (ii) the alternatives to it.  

C. Residents may refuse in writing medical treatment and 
care. This subsection does not apply to medication refusals 
that are governed by 6VAC35-41-1280 (medication). 

D. When health care is rendered against the resident's will, it 
shall be in accordance with applicable laws and regulations.  

6VAC35-41-1200. Health screening at admission. 

The facility shall require that:  

1. To prevent newly arrived residents who pose a health or 
safety threat to themselves or others from being admitted 
to the general population, all residents shall immediately 
upon admission undergo a preliminary health screening 
consisting of a structured interview and observation by 
health care personnel or health-trained staff, using a health 
screening form that has been approved by the facility's 
health authority. As necessary to maintain confidentiality, 
all or a portion of the interview shall be conducted with the 
resident without the presence of the parent or guardian. 

2. Residents admitted to the facility who pose a health or 
safety threat to themselves or others are not admitted to the 
facility's general population but provision shall be made 
for them to receive comparable services. 

3. Immediate health care is provided to residents who need 
it.  

6VAC35-41-1210. Tuberculosis screening. 

A. Within seven days of placement each resident shall have 
had a screening assessment for tuberculosis. The screening 
assessment can be no older than 30 days.  

B. A screening assessment for tuberculosis shall be 
completed annually on each resident.  

C. The facility's screening practices shall comply with 
guidelines and recommendations of (Screening for TB 
Infection and Disease, Policy TB 99-001) the Virginia 
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Department of Health, Division of Tuberculosis Prevention 
and Control for the detection, diagnosis, prophylaxis, and 
treatment of pulmonary tuberculosis.  

6VAC35-41-1220. Medical examinations and treatment. 

A. Except for residents placed in a shelter care facility, each 
resident accepted for care shall have a physical examination 
by or under the direction of a licensed physician no earlier 
than 90 days prior to admission to the facility or no later than 
seven days following admission, except (i) the report of an 
examination within the preceding 12 months shall be 
acceptable if a resident transfers from one facility licensed or 
certified by a state agency to another and (ii) a physical 
examination shall be conducted within 30 days following an 
emergency admission if a report of physical examination is 
not available. 

B. Each resident shall have an annual physical examination 
by or under the direction of a licensed physician and an 
annual dental examination by a licensed dentist.  

6VAC35-41-1230. Infectious or communicable diseases. 

A. A resident with a communicable disease shall not be 
admitted unless a licensed physician certifies that: 

1. The facility is capable of providing care to the resident 
without jeopardizing residents and staff; and 

2. The facility is aware of the required treatment for the 
resident and the procedures to protect residents and staff. 

The requirements of this subsection shall not apply to shelter 
care facilities. 

B. The facility shall implement written procedures approved 
by a medical professional that: 

1. Address staff (i) interactions with residents with 
infectious, communicable, or contagious medical 
conditions; and (ii) use of standard precautions;  

2. Require staff training in standard precautions, initially 
and annually thereafter; and 

3. Require staff to follow procedures for dealing with 
residents who have infectious or communicable diseases. 

6VAC35-41-1240. Suicide prevention. 

Written procedure shall provide (i) for a suicide prevention 
and intervention program, developed in consultation with a 
qualified medical or mental health professional, and (ii) for 
all direct care staff to be trained in the implementation of the 
program.  

6VAC35-41-1250. Residents' health records. 

A. Each resident's health record shall include written 
documentation of (i) the initial physical examination, (ii) an 
annual physical examination by or under the direction of a 
licensed physician including any recommendation for follow-

up care, and (iii) documentation of the provision of follow-up 
medical care recommended by the physician or as indicated 
by the needs of the resident. 

B. The resident's active health records (i) shall be kept 
confidential and inaccessible from unauthorized persons, (ii) 
shall be readily accessible in case of emergency, and (iii) 
shall be made available to authorized staff consistent with 
applicable state and federal statutes and regulations.  

C. Each physical examination report shall include: 

1. Information necessary to determine the health and 
immunization needs of the resident, including: 

a. Immunizations administered at the time of the exam; 

b. Vision exam; 

c. Hearing exam; 

d. General physical condition including documentation of 
apparent freedom from communicable disease including 
tuberculosis;  

e. Allergies, chronic conditions, and handicaps, if any; 

f. Nutritional requirements including special diets, if any; 

g. Restrictions on physical activities, if any; and 

h. Recommendations for further treatment, 
immunizations, and other examinations indicated; 

2. Date of the physical examination; and 

3. Signature of a licensed physician, the physician's 
designee, or an official of a local health department. 

D. Each resident's health record shall include written 
documentation of (i) an annual examination by a licensed 
dentist and (ii) documentation of follow-up dental care 
recommended by the dentist or as indicated by the needs of 
the resident. This requirement does not apply to shelter care 
facilities and respite care facilities. 

E. Each resident's health record shall include notations of 
health and dental complaints and injuries and shall summarize 
symptoms and treatment given. 

F. Each resident's health record shall include or document 
the facility's efforts to obtain treatment summaries of ongoing 
psychiatric or other mental health treatment and reports, if 
applicable.  

6VAC35-41-1260. First aid kits. 

A. A well stocked first aid kit shall be maintained and 
readily accessible for dealing with minor injuries and medical 
emergencies.  

B. First aid kits should be monitored in accordance with 
established facility procedures to ensure kits are maintained, 
stocked, and ready for use. 
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6VAC35-41-1270. Hospitalization and other outside 
medical treatment of residents. 

A. When a resident needs hospital care or other medical 
treatment outside the facility:  

1. The resident shall be transported safely; and  

2. A parent or legal guardian, a staff member, or a law-
enforcement officer, as appropriate, shall accompany the 
resident and stay at least during admission.  

B. If a parent or legal guardian does not accompany the 
resident to the hospital or other medical treatment outside the 
facility, the parent or legal guardian shall be informed that the 
resident was taken outside the facility for medical attention as 
soon as is practicable.  

6VAC35-41-1280. Medication. 

A. All medication shall be properly labeled consistent with 
the requirements of the Virginia Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-
3400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Medication prescribed 
for individual use shall be so labeled. 

B. All medication shall be securely locked, unless otherwise 
ordered by a physician on an individual basis for keep-on-
person or equivalent use. 

C. All staff responsible for medication administration who 
do not hold a license issued by the Virginia Department of 
Health Professions authorizing the administration of 
medications shall have successfully completed a medication 
training program approved by the Board of Nursing or be 
licensed by the Commonwealth of Virginia to administer 
medications before they can administer medication. All staff 
who administer medication shall complete an annual refresher 
medication training. 

D. Staff authorized to administer medication shall be 
informed of any known side effects of the medication and the 
symptoms of the effects. 

E. A program of medication, including procedures regarding 
the use of over-the-counter medication pursuant to written or 
verbal orders signed by personnel authorized by law to give 
such orders, shall be initiated for a resident only when 
prescribed in writing by a person authorized by law to 
prescribe medication. 

F. All medications shall be administered in accordance with 
the physician's or other prescriber's instructions and 
consistent with the standards of practice outlined in the 
current medication aide training curriculum approved by the 
Board of Nursing. 

G. A medication administration record shall be maintained 
of all medicines received by each resident and shall include: 

1. Date the medication was prescribed or most recently 
refilled; 

2. Drug name; 

3. Schedule for administration; 

4. Strength; 

5. Route; 

6. Identity of the individual who administered the 
medication; and 

7. Dates the medication was discontinued or changed. 

H. In the event of a medication incident or an adverse drug 
reaction, first aid shall be administered if indicated. Staff shall 
promptly contact a poison control center, pharmacist, nurse, 
or physician and shall take actions as directed. If the situation 
is not addressed in standing orders, the attending physician 
shall be notified as soon as possible and the actions taken by 
staff shall be documented. For the purpose of this section a 
medical incident means an error made in administering a 
medication to a resident including the following: (i) a resident 
is given incorrect medication; (ii) medication is administered 
to an incorrect resident; (iii) an incorrect dosage is 
administered; (iv) medication is administered at a wrong time 
or not at all; and (v) the medication is administered through 
an improper method. A medication error does not include a 
resident's refusal of appropriately offered medication.  

I. Written procedures shall provide for (i) the documentation 
of medication incidents, (ii) the review of medication 
incidents and reactions and making any necessary 
improvements, (iii) the storage of controlled substances, and 
(iv) the distribution of medication off campus. The 
procedures must be approved by a health care professional. 
Documentation of this approval shall be retained. 

J. Medication refusals shall be documented including action 
taken by staff. The facility shall follow procedures for 
managing such refusals that shall address: 

1. Manner by which medication refusals are documented, 
and 

2. Physician follow-up, as appropriate. 

K. Disposal and storage of unused, expired, and 
discontinued medications shall be in accordance with 
applicable laws and regulations. 

L. The telephone number of a regional poison control center 
and other emergency numbers shall be posted on or next to 
each nonpay telephone that has access to an outside line in 
each building in which residents sleep or participate in 
programs. 

M. Syringes and other medical implements used for 
injecting or cutting skin shall be locked and inventoried in 
accordance with facility procedures. 
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Part XIII 
Behavior Support and Management 

6VAC35-41-1290. Behavior management. 

A. Each facility shall implement a behavior management 
program. Behavior management shall mean those principles 
and methods employed to help a resident achieve positive 
behavior and to address and correct a resident's inappropriate 
behavior in a constructive and safe manner in accordance 
with written procedures governing program expectations, 
treatment goals, and residents' and employees' safety and 
security. 

B. Written procedures governing this program shall provide 
the following:  

1. A listing of the rules of conduct and behavioral 
expectations for the resident;  

2. Orientation of residents as provided in 6VAC35-41-770 
(orientation to facility rules and disciplinary procedures); 

3. The definition and listing of a system of privileges and 
sanctions that is used and available for use. Sanctions shall 
be listed in the order of their relative degree of 
restrictiveness and shall contain alternative to room 
confinement as a sanction. 

4. Specification of the staff members who may authorize 
the use of each privilege and sanction; 

5. Documentation requirements when privileges are 
applied and sanctions are imposed; and 

6. Specification of the processes for implementing such 
procedures.  

C. Written information concerning the procedures of the 
provider's behavior management program shall be provided 
prior to admission to prospective residents, legal guardians, 
and placing agencies. For court-ordered and emergency 
admissions, this information shall be provided to: 

1. Residents within 12 hours following admission;  

2. Placing agencies within 72 hours following the resident's 
admission; and 

3. Legal guardians within 72 hours following the resident's 
admission. 

D. When substantive revisions are made to procedures 
governing management of resident behavior, written 
information concerning the revisions shall be provided to: 

1. Residents prior to implementation; and 

2. Legal guardians and placing agencies prior to 
implementation.  

E. The facility administrator or designee shall review the 
behavior management program and procedures at least 

annually to determine appropriateness for the population 
served. 

F. Any time residents are present, staff must be present who 
have completed all trainings in behavior management. 

6VAC35-41-1300. Behavior support. 

A. Each facility shall have a procedure regarding behavior 
support plans for use with residents who need supports in 
addition to those provided in the facility's behavior 
management program that addresses the circumstances under 
which such plans shall be utilized. Such plans shall support 
the resident's self-management of his own behavior and shall 
include: 

1. Identification of positive and problem behavior; 

2. Identification of triggers for behaviors; 

3. Identification of successful intervention strategies for 
problem behavior; 

4. Techniques for managing anger and anxiety; and 

5. Identification of interventions that may escalate 
inappropriate behaviors. 

B. Individualized behavior support plans shall be developed 
in consultation with the: 

1. Resident; 

2. Legal guardian, if applicable; 

3. Resident's parents, if applicable; 

4. Program director; 

5. Placing agency staff; and 

6. Other applicable individuals. 

C. Prior to working alone with an assigned resident, each 
staff member shall review and be prepared to implement the 
resident's behavior support plan. 

6VAC35-41-1310. Timeout. 

A. A facility may use a systematic behavior management 
technique program component designed to reduce or 
eliminate inappropriate or problematic behavior by having a 
staff require a resident to move to a specific location that is 
away from a source of reinforcement for a specific period of 
time or until the problem behavior has subsided (time-out) 
under the following conditions:  

1. The provider shall develop and implement written 
procedures governing the conditions under which a 
resident may be placed in timeout and the maximum period 
of timeout. 

2. The conditions and maximum period of timeout shall be 
based on the resident's chronological and developmental 
level.  
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3. The area in which a resident is placed shall not be 
locked nor the door secured in a manner that prevents the 
resident from opening it. 

4. A resident in timeout shall be able to communicate with 
staff. 

5. Staff shall check on the resident in the timeout area at 
least every 15 minutes and more often depending on the 
nature of the resident's disability, condition, and behavior. 

B. Use of timeout and staff checks on the residents shall be 
documented. 

6VAC35-41-1320. Physical restraint. 

A. Physical restraint shall be used as a last resort only after 
less restrictive interventions have failed or to control residents 
whose behavior poses a risk to the safety of the resident, 
others, or the public.  

1. Staff shall use the least force deemed reasonable to be 
necessary to eliminate the risk or to maintain security and 
order and shall never use physical restraint as punishment 
or with the intent to inflict injury. 

2. Staff may physically restrain a resident only after less 
restrictive behavior interventions have failed or when 
failure to restrain would result in harm to the resident or 
others. 

3. Physical restraint may be implemented, monitored, and 
discontinued only by staff who have been trained in the 
proper and safe use of restraint. 

4. For the purpose of this section, physical restraint shall 
mean the application of behavior intervention techniques 
involving a physical intervention to prevent an individual 
from moving all or part of that individual's body. 

B. Written procedures governing use of physical restraint 
shall include: 

1. The staff position who will write the report and 
timeframe;  

2. The staff position who will review the report and 
timeframe; and 

3. Methods to be followed should physical restraint, less 
intrusive interventions, or measures permitted by other 
applicable state regulations prove unsuccessful in calming 
and moderating the resident's behavior. 

C. All physical restraints shall be reviewed and evaluated to 
plan for continued staff development for performance 
improvement. 

D. Each application of physical restraint shall be fully 
documented in the resident's record including: 

1. Date and time of the incident; 

2. Staff involved; 

3. Justification for the restraint; 

4. Less restrictive behavior interventions that were 
unsuccessfully attempted prior to using physical restraint; 

5. Duration; 

6. Description of method or methods of physical restraint 
techniques used;  

7. Signature of the person completing the report and date; 
and 

8. Reviewer's signature and date. 

6VAC35-41-1330. Chemical agents. 

Staff are prohibited from using pepper spray and other 
chemical agents to manage resident behavior. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (6VAC35-41) 

Health Services Intake Medical Screening, HS 1/10. 

TB Risk Assessment Form, TB 512-Form (rev. 2/05), 
Virginia Department of Health Division of TB Control. 

Instructions for the TB Risk Assessment Form, TB 512-
Instructions (rev. 2/05), Virginia Department of Health 
Division of TB Control. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(6VAC35-41) 

Screening for TB Infection and Disease, Policy TB 99-001 
(www.vdh.virginia.gov/epidemiology/DiseasePrevention/Pro
grams/Tuberculosis/Policies/screening.htm), Virginia 
Department of Health.  

A Resource Guide for Medication Management for Persons 
Authorized Under the Drug Control Act, Developed by the 
Virginia Department of Social Services, Approved as Revised 
by the Board of Nursing, July 1996, September 2000. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1817; Filed January 11, 2010, 2:27 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 6VAC35-71. Regulation Governing 
Juvenile Correctional Centers (adding 6VAC35-71-10 
through 6VAC35-71-1270). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 66-10 and 66-13 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

April 6, 2010 - 7 p.m. - General Assembly Building, 9th 
and Broad Streets, Richmond, VA 



Regulations 

Volume 26, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations February 1, 2010 

1572 

April 7, 2010 - 10 a.m. - Department of Juvenile Justice, 
700 Centre, 700 East Franklin Street, Second Floor 
Conference Room, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: April 7, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Janet P. Van Cuyk, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Juvenile Justice, 700 Centre, 700 E. Franklin 
St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-
4097, FAX (804) 371-0773, or email 
janet.vancuyk@djj.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 66-13 of the Code of Virginia provides the 
department with the authority to "receive juveniles committed 
to it by the courts of the Commonwealth" and to "establish, 
staff and maintain facilities for the rehabilitation, training and 
confinement of such juveniles." 

The Board of Juvenile Justice is entrusted with general 
authority to promulgate regulations by § 66-10 of the Code of 
Virginia, which states the board may "promulgate such 
regulations as may be necessary to carry out the provisions of 
this title and other laws of the Commonwealth administered 
by the Director or the Department." 

This regulation also contains provisions governing privately 
operated juvenile correctional centers and boot camps. These 
are mandated by Chapter 2.1 (§ 66-25.3 et seq.) of Title 66 
(Juvenile Corrections Private Management Act) and § 66-13 
of the Code of Virginia, respectively. 

Purpose: The Board of Juvenile Justice regulates three 
distinct types of facilities: (i) juvenile correctional centers; (ii) 
detention centers; and (iii) group homes and halfway houses. 
At present, these facilities are regulated by the board and are 
governed by two separate regulations: (a) the Standards for 
Juvenile Residential Facilities (6VAC35-140) and (b) the 
Standards for the Interim Regulation of Children's Residential 
Facilities (6VAC35-51). 

The department has had several iterations of regulations 
governing the residential facilities regulated by the board. 
Earlier, the department had five separate regulations 
governing secure detention homes, postdispositional 
confinement in secure detention, predispositional and 
postdispositional group homes, and juvenile correctional 
centers. These regulations applied to the facilities in 
conjunction with the Standards for the Interdepartmental 
Regulation of Children's Residential Facilities (CORE 
regulation), which went into effect in 1981. 

The board's Standards for Juvenile Residential Facilities 
(6VAC35-140) was most recently reviewed and revised in 
May 2005 and consists of the board's regulations for all 
facilities it regulates. This regulation establishes the minimum 
standards for residential facilities in the Commonwealth's 
juvenile justice system and covers program operations, health 
care, personnel, facility safety, and physical environment. It 
contains additional provisions for secure custody facilities, 

boot camps, work camps, juvenile industries, and independent 
living programs. 

The Standards for the Interim Regulation of Children's 
Residential Facilities (6VAC35-51) is a reenactment of the 
CORE regulation in its entirety as a board regulation. This 
regulation was adopted by the board in September 2008 in 
order to comply with the requirements of Chapter 873 of the 
2008 Acts of the General Assembly, which mandated the 
repeal of the CORE regulation and action to be taken by the 
affected boards by October 31, 2009. This regulation has 
more expansive provisions than 6VAC35-140 and also 
contains minimum requirements for the different facilities 
regulated by the board.  

Throughout the years, problems have been identified in 
implementing the requirements contained in these two 
separate regulations, given the distinct nature of the three 
types of facilities regulated by the board. Accordingly, the 
board has approved consolidating the current regulatory 
requirements for residential programs and separating them 
into separate regulations governing (i) juvenile correctional 
centers; (ii) detention centers; and (iii) group homes and 
halfway houses. This revamping of the regulatory scheme 
was done in conjunction with a comprehensive review of the 
current provisions. This review was done with the goals of 
enhancing the clarity of the regulatory requirements and 
achieving improvements that are reasonable and prudent, and 
will not impose an unnecessary burden on its regulants or the 
public. 

Having clear, concise regulations is essential to protecting the 
health, safety, and welfare of residents in juvenile 
correctional centers and citizens in the community. With clear 
expectations for the administrators running these facilities, 
the facilities will be able to be run more smoothly and utilize 
any extra resources for supporting the needs of the residents, 
thus supporting the overall rehabilitation and community 
safety goals of the department. 

Substance: The primary intent of this regulatory overhaul is 
to reduce confusion in applying the regulatory requirements 
in each type of facility regulated by the board (juvenile 
correctional centers, secure detention centers, and group 
homes and halfway houses). Each provision was reviewed as 
to whether it (i) was appropriate for the type of facility; (ii) 
was clear in its intent and effect; and (iii) was necessary for 
the proper management of the facility. Amendments were 
made to accommodate the juvenile correctional centers' 
specific needs and to enhance program and service 
requirements to best provide for the residents. 

The following changes from the current regulatory scheme 
(6VAC35-140 and 6VAC35-51) are proposed: 

1. Contains only those provisions relating to juvenile 
correction center (JCC) operation and management.  
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2. Removes any responsibilities of the department, 
regulatory authority, or the board currently included in 
the regulations (i.e., issuance of license or certificate and 
sanctions).  

3. Reorganizes the order of the regulatory provisions and 
groups the provisions with similar provisions. The 
proposed regulation has sections for: (i) general 
provisions; (ii) administration and personnel; (iii) 
physical environment; (iv) safety and security; (v) 
residents' rights; (vi) program operation; (vii) work 
programs; (viii) health care services; and (ix) behavior 
management. Facility specific parts are included as 
needed (i.e., privately operated JCCs and boot camps).  

4. The following changes are proposed to the General 
Provisions: 

a. Deletes many definitions (such as the definition of 
"day" and "therapy"); changes definitions to correspond 
with those used in other regulations; and, where 
appropriate, incorporates definitions into the substantive 
provisions of the regulation. Adds definitions for "direct 
care," "direct supervision," "regulatory authority," and 
"written." 

b. Cross-references the board's certification regulation 
(6VAC35-20) for consistency in application of variances. 

c. Allows serious incident and child protective services 
reports to be noted in the resident's case record and 
documented elsewhere. Mirrors recent changes adopted 
by the Department of Social Services in its residential 
regulation.  

d. Removes the requirement for posting the certification 
and grievance procedure in an area accessible to the 
public.  

e. Adds a resident advisory committee section requiring 
each JCC, except the Reception and Diagnostic Center 
(RDC), to have a resident advisory committee that meets 
monthly with the superintendent or designee to discuss 
facility issues affecting the residents. 

5. The following changes are proposed in Administration 
and Personnel: 

a. Amends the provisions relating to community 
relationships and adopts provisions specific to the type of 
setting and locations. 

b. Amends the background check sections to conform 
with the board variance issued November 2008. 

c. Reworks the training sections. Separates out (i) 
orientation; (ii) required initial training; and (iii) 
retraining. 

d. Adds a requirement for staff who transport residents to 
report any changes in their license status. 

e. Clusters all provisions relating to volunteers together. 

f. Reworks the staff and resident tuberculosis screening 
requirements to conform with the language of the 
Division of Tuberculosis Control in the Department of 
Health. 

g. Removes the requirement to retain face sheets 
permanently. 

h. Changes the requirements for administrative staff 
visiting the activity and living areas. 

i. Requires all direct care staff to be certified in first aid 
and CPR and to keep these certifications current.  

j. Deletes sections relating to personnel records and 
human resources issues as these are governed by the 
Department of Human Resources Management and 
department personnel procedures. 

k. Deletes the provision requiring a procedure regarding 
political activity on the premises.  

6. The following changes are proposed to Physical 
Environment: 

a. Amends requirements relating to fire inspections. 

b. Groups all space utilization requirements into one 
section and removes the current regulatory requirements 
to accommodate study space and all requirements 
relating to live-in staff. 

c. Deletes the prohibition of having more than four 
residents in a sleeping area; does not require the sleeping 
environment to be conducive to sleep and rest. 

d. Adds a hazardous chemicals section requiring a hazard 
communication plan.  

e. Adopts board policy language regarding the facility's 
smoking prohibitions. 

f. Requires food service operation maintenance and pest 
control plans.  

g. Removes the prohibition on allowing residents to 
prepare food.  

7. The following changes are proposed to Safety and 
Security: 

a. Clarifies the requirements for residents and contract 
workers in implementing and training on the 
emergency/evacuation plan. 

b. Reworks the searches of residents section to address 
facility-specific issues. 

c. Defers to written procedures regarding weapons on the 
premises. 

8. The following changes are proposed to Residents' 
Rights: 
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a. Changes requirement to mail visitation procedure from 
within 24 hours to by the end of "the next business day." 

b. Adds a section titled "Contact with attorneys, courts, 
and law enforcement." 

c. Removes the provisions regarding incontinent 
residents. 

d. Removes the requirements for the facility to have a 
witness present when mail is examined by staff, to hold 
cash and stamps for the residents, and to review the 
procedures annually. Retains the requirement for the 
facility to provide two stamps per week and to allow 
correspondence with attorney and courts. 

e. Allows exception to the daily shower requirement for 
the management of maladaptive behaviors.  

f. Allows exception to the privacy provision when mental 
health issues require constant supervision.  

g. Allows exception to the diet schedule to manage 
maladaptive behaviors or for institutional security. 

9. The following changes are proposed to Program 
Operation: 

a. Separates and reworks the sections regarding 
individual service plans and quarterly reports. 

b. Adds language regarding the applicability and 
components of the classification plan. 

c. In the communication with parents section, adds a 
requirement for each JCC to provide parents with the 
contact information for an individual at the facility to 
which inquiries may be addressed and, if the parent 
requests, to be invited to any scheduled staffing or 
treatment team meetings. 

d. Redefines "rest day" as the period during which the 
employee is scheduled off versus actually off. 

10. The following changes are proposed to Health Care 
Services:  

a. Requires direct care staff to be trained in certain health 
procedures (derived from board policy 12-001.21). 

b. Requires a dental examination upon admission to a 
JCC (derived from board policy 12-003). 

c. Requires a resident's immunizations record to be 
updated, except when the resident qualifies for an 
exemption under state law (derived from board policy 
12-003). 

d. Requires health screenings when a resident is 
transferred between JCCs (derived from board policy 12-
003).  

e. Requires procedures for sick call and timely 
responding to medical issues (derived from board policy 
12-004). 

f. Requires emergency health care services at JCCs 
(derived from board policy 12-007). 

g. Requires the resident to have a physical 30 days prior 
to release (derived from board policy 12-003).   

11. The following changes are proposed to Behavior 
Management: 

a. Changes the requirement for all residents to have a 
behavior support plan to a requirement for a behavior 
support contract to be developed when there is a need for 
supports in addition to those provided for in the behavior 
management program.  

b. Prohibits the use of chemical agents.  

c. Reworks all provisions relating to room confinement, 
isolation, and administrative segregation.  

d. Streamlines the process for monitoring residents in 
mechanical restraints. 

12. Redrafts confusing language and deletes unnecessary 
verbiage. 

13. Makes other technical and stylistic changes, such as 
deleting provisions that are duplicative of other 
regulatory or statutory requirements (e.g., the restatement 
that the facility must comply with laws or procedures). 

Issues: The Board of Juvenile Justice serves as the regulatory 
authority for secure residential facilities, both juvenile 
correctional centers and local detention centers, and the group 
homes and halfway houses operated by or funded through the 
department. Currently, these facilities are governed by two 
separate regulations: (i) the Standards for Juvenile Residential 
Facilities (6VAC35-140) and (ii) the Standards for the 
Interim Regulation of Children's Residential Facilities 
(6VAC35-51), unless specifically exempted. 

The current regulatory scheme has several difficulties in 
application. Each regulation has the full force and effect of 
law. Unfortunately, some of the provisions are contradictory 
or conflict. Additionally, there are numerous exclusions for 
the different types of facilities from a variety of regulatory 
provisions. Sometimes it is unclear exactly which facilities 
are exempted and to which section or subsection such 
exceptions are applicable. 

To address these issues the department considered two 
courses of action: (i) consolidate the two existing regulations 
into one or (ii) separate the two regulations into three 
regulations, one for each different type of facility regulated 
by the board. 

Due to the distinct characteristics of the types of facilities 
regulated by the Board of Juvenile Justice and the complexity 
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of applying a single regulation to the appropriate facility, it 
was concluded that it would be difficult to regulate all such 
facilities in one single regulation. The board approved 
pursuing the second course of action. Thus, the department is 
proposing separate regulations for the three distinct types of 
facilities it regulates: (i) juvenile correctional centers; (ii) 
detention centers; and (iii) group homes and halfway houses. 

Having clear, concise regulations is essential to protecting the 
health, safety, and welfare of residents in juvenile 
correctional centers and citizens in the community. With clear 
expectations for the administrators managing these facilities, 
the facilities will be able to be operate more smoothly and 
utilize any extra resources for supporting the needs of the 
residents, thus supporting the overall rehabilitation and 
community safety goals of the department. 

This regulation poses no known disadvantages to the public 
or the Commonwealth. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Juvenile Justice (Board) proposes to consolidate the 
provisions of two current regulations (6VAC35-51 and 
6VAC35-140) into one new regulation that will govern 
Juvenile Correctional Centers (JCC). Most provisions in this 
new regulation will not vary in any substantive way from 
those mandated by current regulation, current Board policy, 
and current law. There are, however, several new 
requirements in the new regulation. Specifically, the Board 
proposes to: 

•  Require each JCC to have a community liaison and allow 
each facility to form a community advisory committee, 

•  Require all direct care staff to maintain current certification 
in CPR and first aid, 

•  No longer require newly constructed facilities to have 
separate bathrooms from those that are available for residents 
to use, 

•  Change requirements for resident sleeping areas to take into 
account older facilities that do not have a physical room 
configuration that allows them to comply with current 
regulations, 

•  Require copies of facilities' visitation procedures to be 
mailed to parents of new residents by the end of the business 
day immediately following the resident's admission, 

•  Allow the requirement for residents to shower daily to be 
modified if necessary to maintain security of the facility so 
long as the modification is approved by the JCC 
superintendent or a mental health provider, 

•  Institute an exception to the rule that requires staff to give 
residents privacy bathing, dressing or using the bathroom so 
that suicidal residents can be supervised at all times, 

•  Allow exceptions to normal meal rules, so long as the 
substitute meals meet nutritional requirements, on the advice 
of a mental health provider or at the order of the 
superintendent of the facility if needed to maintain facility 
security, and 

•  Require facilities to provide two hot meals a day. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
most proposed changes. There is insufficient information to 
determine if benefits outweigh costs for one of these proposed 
changes. The costs and benefits of these changes are 
discussed below. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulations require all 
JCCs to have a community advisory committee which 
includes individuals from the communities where the JCCs 
are located. At some JCCs, however, no community members 
are interested in joining the required committee. Because of 
this, the Board proposes to only require JCCs to have a 
community liaison and allow the JCCs to choose whether to 
form a community advisory committee. This change will 
benefit JCCs by allowing them to meet their regulatory 
responsibility to communicate with the larger community 
without requiring them to form a committee that the larger 
may or may not want to participate in. This change is unlikely 
to add costs to any affected entity. 

Currently, all JCC staff that will work directly with residents 
must complete CPR and first aid training as part of their 
initial training. Current regulations do not require direct care 
staff to recertify in CPR/first aid once their initial certification 
has lapsed but JCC policy does. The Board proposes to move 
this policy into regulation. JCCs have CPR/first aid 
instructors on staff and recertification is required every two 
years. To the extent that first aid/CPR skills may be necessary 
in the jobs of these staff, requiring maintenance of that 
certification is likely also beneficial. 

Current facility requirements for juvenile correctional centers 
require that there be a separate bathroom facilities (from those 
open to residents) for staff. Current regulations also require 
that no more than four residents sleep in one room and that 
beds be placed at least three feet apart. The Board proposes to 
remove the requirement for separate staff bathrooms. The 
Board also proposes to remove the requirement that there be 
no more than four residents per bedroom because the Board 
now allows dormitory sleeping areas in facilities. The Board 
proposes to specify that the requirement that beds be at least 
three feet apart only applies to facilities built after July 1981 
because facilities built before then have concrete barriers in 
the sleeping areas that make it impossible to safely place beds 
that far apart. The Department of Juvenile Justice (DJJ) will 
benefit from these regulatory changes as they allow greater 
flexibility in building new facilities where space is used more 
efficiently and also allows older facilities to safely house 
residents without running afoul of regulatory requirements. 
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Current regulations require that copies of facilities' visitation 
procedures to be mailed to parents of new residents within 24 
hours of the resident's admission. The Board proposes to 
change this requirement so that facility staff have until the 
end of the business day following an admission to mail this 
information. Facility staff will benefit from having slightly 
more flexibility to mail out information to parents on days 
when mail is picked up and as it fits into staff duties. 

Current regulations require facilities to give all residents the 
opportunity to shower daily. The Board proposes to allow 
showers to be restricted as necessary to maintain the security 
of the JCC. This action will only be allowed with the 
approval of the superintendent of the facility in question or, 
for individual residents, on the advice of their mental health 
provider. This change will benefit facility staff as it will allow 
them to get permission to temporarily suspend daily showers 
if permitting them would adversely impact facility safety. 
This change will also provide a benefit for residents who, for 
instance, may be suicidal; with the advice of that resident's 
mental health provider, staff will be able to temporarily 
suspend shower privileges rather than having to choose 
between violating a resident's privacy rights or allowing the 
resident to shower alone when that might allow the resident 
the opportunity to harm themselves.  

Current regulations require that residents be given privacy 
from sight supervision by staff of the opposite sex when they 
are bathing, dressing or using bathroom facilities. The Board 
proposes to allow an exception to this rule if constant 
supervision is needed because of a mental health condition. 
This change will benefit facility staff who currently cannot 
both follow the current regulatory requirement and ensure the 
safety of residents who wish to harm themselves. Suicidal 
residents may temporarily lose their right to privacy on 
account of this change but this cost is likely outweighed by 
the benefit of increased safety for these individuals. 

Current regulations require that facilities provide three daily 
meals, one of which must be hot, that provide for all the 
nutritional requirements of a healthy diet. Exceptions to meal 
rules are currently allowed to meet religious restrictions and 
on the order of a medical doctor.  

The Board proposes to extend the exceptions to the meal rules 
to include those recommended for a resident by his or her 
mental health provider and those necessary to ensure the 
safety of the facility and its residents. Any replacement meals 
that are offered in lieu of normal meals must provide the same 
nutrition. This change will allow facility staff greater 
flexibility to meet the nutritional needs of the residents while 
still keeping them safe. 

The Board also proposes to change the regulation to reflect 
current practice, which has JCCs serving two hot meals a day 
rather than one. Preparation of hot meals is likely to cost 
more than offering cold meals (such as cereal and fruit for 
breakfast or sandwiches for lunch) but it is unlikely that these 

additional meals would be more nutritious. While there may 
be some benefit for residents who enjoy hot meals more than 
they do cold ones, it is unclear whether that benefit would 
outweigh the additional costs that facilities will incur.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. DJJ reports that this 
regulation will affect the seven state-operated juvenile 
correctional centers. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 
likely have no impact on employment in the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 
regulatory action will likely have no effect on the use or value 
of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Small businesses 
in the Commonwealth are unlikely to incur any costs on 
account of this regulatory action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Small businesses in the Commonwealth are 
unlikely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 
action. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 
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Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The responsible 
Virginia Board of Juvenile Justice agency representatives 
have reviewed the Department of Planning and Budget's 
economic impact analysis of 6VAC35-71, Regulation 
Governing Juvenile Correctional Centers. The agency is in 
agreement with DPB's analysis. 

Summary: 

The Board of Juvenile Justice (board) proposes to 
consolidate the provisions of two current regulations 
(6VAC35-51 and 6VAC35-140) into a new regulation 
(6VAC35-71) that will govern juvenile correctional 
centers. Most provisions in the new regulation will not 
vary in any substantive way from those mandated by 
current regulation, board policy, or law. However, several 
new provisions include: (i) requiring each juvenile 
correctional center to have a community liaison and allow 
each facility to form a community advisory committee; (ii) 
requiring all direct care staff to maintain current 
certification in CPR and first aid; (iii) no longer requiring 
newly constructed facilities to have separate bathrooms 
from those that are available for residents to use; (iv) 
changing requirements for resident sleeping areas to take 
into account older facilities that do not have a physical 
room configuration that allows them to comply with 
current regulations; (v) requiring copies of facilities' 
visitation procedures to be mailed to parents of new 
residents by the end of the business day immediately 
following the resident's admission; (vi) allowing the 
requirement for residents to shower daily to be modified if 
necessary to maintain security of the facility so long as the 
modification is approved by the superintendent of the 
facility or a mental health provider; (vii) instituting an 
exception to the rule the requires staff to give residents 
privacy bathing, dressing or using the bathroom so that 
suicidal residents can be supervised at all times; (viii) 
allowing exceptions to normal meal rules, so long as the 
substitute meals meet nutritional requirements, on the 
advice of a mental health provider or at the order of the 
superintendent of the facility if needed to maintain facility 
security; and (ix) requiring facilities to provide two hot 
meals a day.  

CHAPTER 71  
REGULATION GOVERNING JUVENILE 

CORRECTIONAL CENTERS  

Part I 
General Provisions 

6VAC35-71-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Annual" means within 13 months of the previous event or 
occurrence. 

"Board" means Board of Juvenile Justice. 

"Case record" or "record" means written or electronic 
information regarding a resident and the resident's family, if 
applicable, maintained in accordance with written procedures. 

"Contraband" means any item possessed by or accessible to 
a resident or found within a juvenile correctional center or on 
its premises that (i) is prohibited by statute, regulation, or 
department procedure; (ii) is not acquired through approved 
channels or in prescribed amounts; or (iii) may jeopardize the 
safety and security of the juvenile correctional center or 
individual residents. 

"Department" means the Department of Juvenile Justice.  

"Direct care" means the time during which a resident who is 
committed to the department pursuant to § 16.1-272 or 16.1-
285.1, or subsection A 14 or 17 of § 16.1-278.8 of the Code 
of Virginia is under the supervision of staff in a juvenile 
correctional center operated by or under contract with the 
department.  

"Direct care staff" means the staff whose primary job 
responsibilities are for (i) maintaining the safety, care, and 
well-being of residents; (ii) implementing the structured 
program of care and the behavior management program; and 
(iii) maintaining the security of the facility. 

"Direct supervision" means the act of working with residents 
who are not in the presence of direct care staff. Staff members 
who provide direct supervision are responsible for 
maintaining the safety, care, and well-being of the residents in 
addition to providing services or performing the primary 
responsibilities of that position. 

"Director" means the Director of the Department of Juvenile 
Justice. 

"Emergency" means a sudden, generally unexpected 
occurrence or set of circumstances demanding immediate 
action such as a fire, chemical release, loss of utilities, natural 
disaster, taking of hostages, major disturbances, escape, and 
bomb threats. Emergency does not include regularly 
scheduled employee time off or other situations that could be 
reasonably anticipated. 

"Individual service plan" or "service plan" means a written 
plan of action developed, revised as necessary, and reviewed 
at intervals, to meet the needs of a resident. The individual 
service plan specifies (i) measurable short-term and long-term 
goals; (ii) the objectives, strategies, and time frames for 
reaching the goals; and (iii) the individuals responsible for 
carrying out the plan. 

"Juvenile correctional center," "JCC," or "facility" means a 
public or private facility, operated by or under contract with 
the Department of Juvenile Justice, where 24-hour per day 
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care is provided to residents under the direct care of the 
department. 

"Living unit" means the space in a juvenile correctional 
center in which a particular group of residents reside that 
contains sleeping areas, bath and toilet facilities, and a living 
room or its equivalent for use by the residents.  Depending 
upon its design, a building may contain one living unit or 
several separate living units. 

"On duty" means the period of time, during an employee's 
scheduled work hours, during which the employee is 
responsible for the direct supervision of one or more residents 
in performance of that employee's position's duties. 

"Parent" or "legal guardian" means (i) a biological or 
adoptive parent who has legal custody of a resident, including 
either parent if custody is shared under a joint decree or 
agreement; (ii) a biological or adoptive parent with whom a 
resident regularly resides; (iii) a person judicially appointed 
as a legal guardian of a resident; or (iv) a person who 
exercises the rights and responsibilities of legal custody by 
delegation from a biological or adoptive parent, upon 
provisional adoption, or otherwise by operation of law. 

"Premises" means the tracts of land on which any part of a 
juvenile correctional center is located and any buildings on 
such tracts of land. 

"Reception and Diagnostic Center" or "RDC" means the 
juvenile correctional center that serves as the central intake 
facility for all individuals committed to the department. The 
Reception and Diagnostic Center's primary function is to 
orient, evaluate, and classify each resident before being 
assigned to a juvenile correctional center or alternative 
placement. 

"Regulatory authority" means the board or the department if 
designated by the board. 

"Resident" means an individual, either a minor or an adult, 
who is committed to the department and resides in a juvenile 
correctional center. 

"Rules of conduct" means a listing of a juvenile correctional 
center's rules or regulations that is maintained to inform 
residents and others of the behavioral expectations of the 
behavior management program, about behaviors that are not 
permitted, and about the sanctions that may be applied when 
impermissible behaviors occur. 

"Superintendent" means the individual who has the 
responsibility for the on-site management and operation of a 
juvenile correctional center on a regular basis. 

"Written" means the required information is communicated 
in writing. Such writing may be available in either hard copy 
or in electronic form. 

6VAC35-71-20. Previous regulations terminated. 

This chapter replaces the Standards for the Interim 
Regulation of Children's Residential Facilities, (6VAC 35-
51), and the Standards for Juvenile Residential Facilities, 
(6VAC35-140), for the regulation of all JCCs as defined 
herein. The Standards for the Interim Regulation of 
Children’s Residential Facilities and the Standards for 
Juvenile Residential Facilities remain in effect for secure 
detention facilities and group homes, regulated by the board, 
until such time as the board adopts new regulations related 
thereto. 

6VAC35-71-30. Certification. 

A. The JCC shall maintain a current certification 
demonstrating compliance with the provisions of the 
Regulations Governing the Monitoring, Approval, and 
Certification of Juvenile Justice Programs (6VAC35-20). 

B. The JCC shall demonstrate compliance with this chapter, 
other applicable regulations issued by the board, and 
applicable statutes and regulations as interpreted by the 
assessment and compliance measures approved in accordance 
with board regulations or department procedures.  

C. Documentation necessary to demonstrate compliance 
with this chapter shall be maintained for a minimum of three 
years. 

6VAC35-71-40. Relationship to the regulatory authority. 

All reports and information as the regulatory authority may 
require to establish compliance with this chapter and other 
applicable regulations and statutes shall be submitted to or 
made available to the regulatory authority. 

6VAC35-71-50. Variances. 

A. Board action may be requested by the superintendent to 
relieve a JCC from having to meet or develop a plan of action 
for the requirements of a specific section or subsection of this 
regulation, either permanently or for a determined period of 
time, as provided in the Regulations Governing the 
Monitoring, Approval, and Certification of Juvenile Justice 
Programs (6VAC35-20) and in accordance with written 
procedures. 

B. A variance may not be implemented prior to approval of 
the board. 

6VAC35-71-60. Serious incident reports. 

A. The following events shall be reported within 24 hours to 
the director or his designee:  

1. Any serious illness, incident, injury, or accident 
involving injury or death of a resident;  

2. Any absence from the facility without permission; and 

3. All other situations required by written procedures. 
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B. As appropriate and applicable, the facility shall, within 24 
hours and in accordance with written procedures, report the 
incidents listed in subsection A of this section to (i) the parent 
or legal guardian and (ii) the supervising court service unit or 
agency.  

C. The facility shall prepare and maintain a written report of 
the events listed in subsection A of this section which shall 
contain the following information: 

1. The date and time the incident occurred; 

2. A brief description of the incident; 

3. The action taken as a result of the incident; 

4. The name of the person who completed the report; 

5. The name or identifying information of the person who 
made the report to the supervising agency and to the parent 
or legal guardian; and 

6. The name or identifying information of the person to 
whom the report was made, including any law enforcement 
or child protective service personnel. 

D. The resident's record shall contain a written reference (i) 
that an incident occurred and (ii) of all applicable reporting. 

E. In addition to the requirements of this section, any 
suspected child abuse and neglect shall be governed by 
6VAC35-71-70 (suspected child abuse or neglect). 

6VAC35-71-70. Suspected child abuse or neglect. 

A. When there is reason to suspect that a resident is an 
abused or neglected child, the matter shall be reported 
immediately to the local department of social services as 
required by § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia and in 
accordance with written procedures. 

B. Any case of suspected child abuse or neglect occurring at 
the JCC, occurring on a JCC sponsored event or excursion, or 
involving JCC staff shall be reported within 24 hours, in 
accordance with written procedures, to (i) the director or his 
designee, (ii) the court services unit, and (iii) the resident's 
parent or legal guardian, as appropriate and applicable.  

C. When a case of suspected child abuse or neglect is 
reported to child protective services a record shall be 
maintained at the facility that contains the following 
information:  

1. The date and time the suspected abuse or neglect 
occurred; 

2. A brief description of the suspected abuse or neglect; 

3. Action taken as a result of the suspected abuse or 
neglect; and 

4. The name or identifying information of the person to 
whom the report was made at the local child protective 
services unit. 

D. The resident's record shall contain a written reference that 
a report was made. 

E. Written procedures shall be accessible to staff regarding 
the following:  

1. Handling accusations of child abuse or neglect, 
including those made against staff; 

2. Reporting, consistent with requirements of the Code of 
Virginia, and documenting suspected cases of child abuse 
or neglect to the local child protective services unit; and  

3. Cooperating during any investigation. 

6VAC35-71-80. Grievance procedure. 

A. The superintendent or designee shall ensure the facility's 
compliance with the department's grievance procedure. The 
grievance procedure shall provide for the following:  

1. Resident participation in the grievance process, with 
assistance from staff upon request;  

2. Investigation of the grievance by an impartial and 
objective person who is not the subject of the grievance; 

3. Documented, timely responses to all grievances with the 
supporting reasons for the decision;  

4. At least one level of appeal; 

5. Administrative review of grievances;  

6. Protection of residents from retaliation or the threat of 
retaliation for filing a grievance; and  

7. Immediate review of emergency grievances with 
resolution as soon as practicable but no later than eight 
hours.  

B. Residents shall be oriented to the grievance procedure in 
an age or developmentally appropriate manner. 

C. The grievance procedure shall be (i) written in clear and 
simple language and (ii) posted in an area accessible to 
residents. 

D. Staff shall assist and work cooperatively with other 
employees in facilitating the grievance process. 

6VAC35-71-90. Resident advisory committee. 

Each JCC, except RDC, shall have a resident advisory 
committee that is representative of the facility's population, 
that shall meet monthly with the superintendent or designees 
during which time the residents shall be given the opportunity 
to raise matters of concern to the residents and to have input 
into planning, problem-solving, and decision-making in areas 
of the residential program that affect their lives. 
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Part II 
Administrative and Personnel 

Article 1 
General Provisions 

6VAC35-71-100. Administration and organization. 

Each JCC shall have an organizational chart that includes 
functions, services, and activities in administrative subunits, 
which shall be reviewed and updated as needed, as 
determined by the JCC superintendent or designee. 

6VAC35-71-110. Organizational communications. 

A. The JCC shall comply with department procedures 
requiring reports concerning major incidents, population data, 
employee vacancies, and other information as needed or 
required by department procedures.  

B. The superintendent or designee shall meet, at least 
monthly, with all department heads and key staff members.  

C. The superintendent or the assistant superintendent, chief 
of security, treatment program supervisor, or counseling 
supervisor, if designated by the superintendent, shall visit the 
living units and activity areas at least weekly to encourage 
informal contact with employees and residents and to observe 
informally the facility's living and working conditions. The 
superintendent shall make such visits, at a minimum, one 
time per month. 

6VAC35-71-120. Community relationships. 

Each JCC shall designate a community liaison and, if 
appropriate, a community advisory committee that serve as a 
link between the facility and the community, which may 
include neighbors, local law enforcement, and local 
government officials. 

6VAC35-71-130. Participation of residents in human 
research. 

A. Residents shall not be used as subjects of human research 
except as provided in 6VAC35-170 and in accordance with 
Chapter 5.1 (§ 32.1-162.16 et seq.) of Title 32.1 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

B. For the purpose of this section, human research means 
any systematic investigation using human subjects as defined 
by § 32.1-162.16 of the Code of Virginia and 6VAC35-170. 
Human research shall not include research prohibited by state 
or federal statutes or regulations or research exempt from 
federal regulations or mandated by any applicable statutes or 
regulations. The testing of medicines or drugs for 
experimentation or research is prohibited.  

Article 2 
Background Checks 

6VAC35-71-140. Background checks. 

A. Except as provided in subsection C of this section, all 
persons who (i) accept a position of employment or (ii) 
provide contractual services directly to a resident on a regular 
basis and will be alone with a resident in the performance of 
his duties in a JCC shall undergo the following background 
checks, in accordance with § 63.2-1726 of the Code of 
Virginia, to ascertain whether there are criminal acts or other 
circumstances that would be detrimental to the safety of 
residents in the JCC: 

1. A reference check;  

2. A criminal history record check;  

3. Fingerprint checks with the Virginia State Police and 
Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI);  

4. A central registry check with Child Protective Services; 
and  

5. A driving record check, if applicable to the individual's 
job duties.  

B. To minimize vacancy time, when the fingerprint checks 
required by subdivision 3 of this subsection have been 
requested, employees may be hired, pending the results of the 
fingerprint checks, provided:  

1. All of the other applicable components of this subsection 
have been completed; 

2. The applicant is given written notice that continued 
employment is contingent on the fingerprint check results 
as required by subdivision 3 of this subsection; and 

3. Employees hired under this exception shall not be 
allowed to be alone with residents and may work with 
residents only when under the direct supervision of staff 
whose background checks have been completed until such 
time as all the requirements of this section are completed. 

C. Documentation of compliance with this section shall be 
retained. 

D. Written procedures shall provide for the supervision of 
nonemployee persons, who are not subject to the provisions 
of this subsection who have contact with residents. 

Article 3 
Employee Orientation and Training 

6VAC35-71-150. Required initial orientation. 

A. Before the expiration of the employee's seventh work day 
at the facility, each employee shall be provided with a basic 
orientation on the following: 

1. The facility; 
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2. The population served; 

3. The basic objectives of the program;  

4. The facility's organizational structure;  

5. Security, population control, emergency preparedness, 
and evacuation procedures in accordance with 6VAC35-
41-460 (emergency and evacuation procedures);  

6. The practices of confidentiality; 

7. The residents' rights; and  

8. The basic requirements of and competencies necessary 
to perform in their positions. 

B. Prior to working with residents while not under the direct 
supervision of staff who have completed all applicable 
orientations and training, each direct care staff shall receive a 
basic orientation on the following: 

1. The facility's program philosophy and services; 

2. The facility's behavior management program; 

3. The facility's behavior intervention procedures and 
techniques, including the use of least restrictive 
interventions and physical restraint; 

4. The residents' rules of conduct and responsibilities; 

5. The residents' disciplinary and grievance procedures;  

6. Child abuse and neglect and mandatory reporting; 

7. Standard precautions; and 

8. Documentation requirements as applicable to their 
duties.  

C. Volunteers shall be oriented in accordance with 
6VAC35-71-240 (volunteer and intern orientation and 
training). 

6VAC35-71-160. Required initial training. 

A. Each employee shall complete initial, comprehensive 
training that is specific to the individual's occupational class, 
is based on the needs of the population served, and ensures 
that the individual has the competencies to perform the 
position responsibilities.  Contractors shall receive training 
required to perform their position responsibilities in a 
correctional environment. 

B. Direct care staff and employees responsible for the direct 
supervision of residents shall, before that employee is 
responsible for the direct supervision of a resident, complete 
at least 120 hours of training which shall include training in 
the following areas: 

1. Emergency preparedness and response; 

2. First aid and cardiopulmonary resuscitation, unless the 
individual is currently certified, with certification required 
as applicable to their duties; 

3. The facility's behavior management program; 

4. The residents' rules of conduct and the rationale for the 
rules;  

5. The facility's behavior interventions, with restraint 
training required as applicable to their duties; 

6. Child abuse and neglect; 

7. Mandatory reporting; 

8. Maintaining appropriate professional relationships; 

9. Appropriate interaction among staff and residents; 

10. Suicide prevention;  

11. Residents' rights;  

12. Health care training, if applicable, as provided in 
6VAC35-71-910 (Health care training of direct care staff); 

13. Standard precautions;  

14. Procedures applicable to the employees' position and 
consistent with their work profiles; and 

15. Other topics as required by the department and any 
applicable state or federal statutes or regulations.  

C. Administrative and managerial staff shall receive at least 
40 hours of training during their first year of employment.  
Clerical and support staff shall receive at least 16 hours of 
training.  

D. Employees who administer medication shall, prior to 
such administration, successfully complete a medication 
training program approved by the Board of Nursing or be 
licensed by the Commonwealth of Virginia to administer 
medication. 

E. Employees providing medical services shall be trained in 
tuberculosis control practices. 

F. When an individual is employed by contract to provide 
services for which licensure by a professional organization is 
required, documentation of current licensure shall constitute 
compliance with this section.  

G. Volunteers and interns shall be trained in accordance 
with 6VAC35-71-240 (volunteer and intern orientation and 
training). 

6VAC35-71-170. Retraining. 

A. Each employee shall complete retraining that is specific 
to the individual's occupational class and the position's job 
description, and addresses any professional development 
needs. 

1. Direct care staff and employees who provide direct 
supervision of the residents shall complete 40 hours of 
training annually, inclusive of the requirements of this 
section. 
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2. Administrative and managerial staff shall receive at least 
40 hours of training annually. 

3. Clerical and support staff shall receive at least 16 hours 
of training annually.  

4. Contractors shall receive retraining as required to 
perform their position responsibilities in the correctional 
environment.  

B. All staff shall complete an annual training refresher on 
the facility's emergency preparedness and response plan and 
procedures. 

C. All direct care staff and employees who provide direct 
supervision of the residents shall complete annual retraining 
in the following areas: 

1. Suicide prevention; 

2. Maintaining appropriate professional relationships; 

3. Appropriate interaction among staff and residents; 

4. Child abuse and neglect; 

5. Mandatory reporting;  

6. Standard precautions;  

7. Behavior management techniques; and 

8. Other topics as required by the department and any 
applicable state or federal statutes or regulations. 

D. All direct care staff shall receive training sufficient to 
maintain a current certification in first aid and 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation. 

E. Employees who administer medication shall complete 
annual refresher training on the administration of medication.  

F. When an individual is employed by contract to provide 
services for which licensure by a professional organization is 
required, documentation of current licensure shall constitute 
compliance with this section.  

G. All staff approved to apply physical restraints as provided 
for in 6VAC35-71-1130 (physical restraint) shall be trained 
as needed to maintain the applicable current certification.   

H. All staff approved to apply mechanical restraints shall be 
retrained annually as required by 6VAC35-71-1180 
(mechanical restraints). 

I. Staff who have not timely completed required retraining 
shall not be allowed to have direct care responsibilities 
pending completion of the retraining requirements. 

Article 4 
Personnel 

6VAC35-71-180. Code of ethics. 

A written set of rules describing acceptable standards of 
conduct for all employees shall be available to all employees. 

6VAC35-71-190. Reporting criminal activity. 

A. Staff shall be required to report all known criminal 
activity by residents or staff to the superintendent or designee. 

B. The superintendent, in accordance with written 
procedures, shall notify the appropriate persons or agencies, 
including law enforcement and child protective services if 
applicable and appropriate, of suspected criminal violations 
by residents or staff.  

C. The JCC shall assist and cooperate with the investigation 
of any such complaints and allegations as necessary.  

6VAC35-71-200. Notification of change in driver's license 
status. 

Staff whose job responsibilities may involve transporting 
residents shall (i) maintain a valid driver's license and (ii) 
report to the superintendent or designee any change in their 
driver's license status, including, but not limited to, 
suspensions, restrictions, and revocations.  

Article 5 
Volunteers 

6VAC35-71-210. Definition of volunteers or interns. 

For the purpose of this chapter, volunteer or intern means 
any individual or group who of their own free will provides 
goods and services without competitive compensation. 

6VAC35-71-220. Selection and duties of volunteers and 
interns. 

A. Any JCC that uses volunteers or interns shall implement 
written procedures governing their selection and use. Such 
procedures shall provide for the evaluation of persons and 
organizations in the community who wish to associate with 
the residents. 

B. Volunteers and interns shall have qualifications 
appropriate for the services provided. 

C. The responsibilities of interns and individuals who 
volunteer on a regular basis shall be clearly defined in 
writing. 

D. Volunteers and interns may not be responsible for the 
duties of direct care staff. 

6VAC35-71-230. Volunteer and intern background 
checks. 

A. Any individual who (i) volunteers or is an intern on a 
regular basis in a JCC and (ii) will be alone with a resident in 
the performance of the position's duties shall be subject to the 
background check requirements provided for in of 6VAC35-
71-140 A (background checks).  

B. Documentation of compliance with the background check 
requirements shall be maintained for each volunteer or intern 
for whom a background investigation is required. 
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C. A JCC that uses volunteers or interns shall implement 
written procedures for supervising volunteers or interns, on 
whom background checks are not required or whose 
background checks have not been completed, who have 
contact with residents. 

6VAC35-71-240. Volunteer and intern orientation and 
training. 

A. Any individual who (i) volunteers on a regular basis or is 
an intern in a JCC and will be alone with the resident or (ii) is 
the designated leader for a group of volunteers shall be 
provided with a basic orientation on the following:  

1. The facility; 

2. The population served; 

3. The basic objectives of the department;  

4. The department and facility organizational structure;  

5. Security, population control, emergency preparedness, 
and evacuation procedures;  

6. The practices of confidentiality; 

7. The residents' rights; and 

8. The basic requirements of and competencies necessary 
to perform their duties and responsibilities.  

B. Volunteers and interns shall be trained within 30 days 
from their start date at the facility in the following:  

1. Any procedures that are applicable to their duties and 
responsibilities; and 

2. Their duties and responsibilities in the event of a facility 
evacuation as provided in 6VAC35-71-460 (emergency 
and evacuation procedures). 

Article 6 
Employee Records 

6VAC35-71-250. Employee tuberculosis screening and 
follow-up. 

A. On or before the employee's start date at the facility and 
at least annually thereafter each employee shall submit the 
results of a tuberculosis screening assessment that is no older 
than 30 days. The documentation shall indicate the screening 
results as to whether there is an absence of tuberculosis in a 
communicable form. 

B. Each employee shall submit evidence of an annual 
evaluation of freedom from tuberculosis in a communicable 
form. 

C. Employees shall undergo a subsequent tuberculosis 
screening or evaluation, as applicable, in the following 
circumstances: 

1. The employee comes into contact with a known case of 
infectious tuberculosis; or 

2. The employee develops chronic respiratory symptoms of 
three weeks duration. 

D. Employees suspected of having tuberculosis in a 
communicable form shall not be permitted to return to work 
or have contact with staff or residents until a physician has 
determined that the individual does not have tuberculosis in a 
communicable form. 

E. Any active case of tuberculosis developed by an 
employee or a resident shall be reported to the local health 
department in accordance with the requirements of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia State Board of Health 
Regulations for Disease Reporting and Control (12VAC5-
90). 

F. Documentation of any screening results shall be retained 
in a manner that maintains the confidentiality of information. 

G. The detection, diagnosis, prophylaxis, and treatment of 
pulmonary tuberculosis shall be performed in compliance 
with Screening for TB Infection and Diseases, Policy TB 99-
001, Virginia Department of Health, Division of Tuberculosis 
Prevention and Control. 

Article 7 
Residents' Records 

6VAC35-71-260. Maintenance of residents' records. 

A. A separate written or automated case record shall be 
maintained for each resident, which shall include all 
correspondence and documents received by the JCC relating 
to the care of that resident and documentation of all case 
management services provided. 

B. Separate health care records, including behavioral health, 
as applicable, and medical records, shall be kept on each 
resident. Health care records shall be maintained in 
accordance with 6VAC35-71-1020 (residents' health records) 
and applicable statutes and regulations. Behavioral health 
care records may be kept separately from other medical 
records. 

C. Each case record and health care record shall be kept up 
to date and in a uniform manner in accordance with written 
procedures. Case records shall be released in accordance with 
§§ 16.1-300 and 16.1-309.1 of the Code of Virginia and 
applicable state and federal laws and regulations. 

D. The procedures for management of residents' records, 
written and automated, shall describe confidentiality, 
accessibility, security, and retention of records pertaining to 
residents, including: 

1. Access, duplication, dissemination, and acquiring of 
information only to persons legally authorized according to 
federal and state laws; 

2. Security measures to protect records from loss, 
unauthorized alteration, inadvertent or unauthorized 
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access, disclosure of information, and transportation of 
records between service sites; and 

3. Designation of the person responsible for records 
management.  

E. Active and closed records shall be kept in secure 
locations or compartments that are accessible only to 
authorized employees and are protected from unauthorized 
access, fire, and flood. 

F. Each resident's written case and health care records shall 
be stored separately subsequent to the resident's discharge in 
accordance with applicable statutes and regulations. 

G. Residents' inactive records shall be retained as required 
by The Library of Virginia. 

6VAC35-71-270. Face sheet. 

A. At the time of admission, each resident's record shall 
include a completed face sheet that contains (i) the resident's 
full name, last known residence, birth date, birthplace, 
gender, race, social security number or other unique 
identifier, religious preference, and admission date; and (ii) 
names, addresses, and telephone numbers of the resident's 
legal guardians, supervising agency, emergency contacts, and 
parents, if appropriate. 

B. The face sheet shall be updated when changes occur and 
maintained in accordance with written procedures. 

Part III 
Physical Environment 

6VAC35-71-280. Buildings and inspections. 

A. All newly constructed buildings, major renovations to 
buildings, and temporary structures shall be inspected and 
approved by the appropriate building officials. There shall be 
a valid, current certificate of occupancy available at each 
JCC. 

B. A current copy of the facility's annual inspection by fire 
prevention authorities indicating that all buildings and 
equipment are maintained in accordance with the Virginia 
Statewide Fire Prevention Code (13VAC5-51) shall be 
maintained. If the fire prevention authorities have failed to 
timely inspect the facility's buildings and equipment, the 
facility shall maintain documentation of its request to 
schedule the annual inspection, as well as documentation of 
any necessary follow-up. For this subsection, the definition of 
annual shall be defined by the Virginia Department of Fire 
Programs, State Fire Marshal's Office.  

C. The facility shall maintain a current copy of its 
compliance with annual inspection and approval by an 
independent, outside source in accordance with state and local 
inspection laws, regulations, and ordinances, of the following: 

1. General sanitation; 

2. The sewage disposal system, if applicable; 

3. The water supply, if applicable;  

4. Food service operations; and 

5. Swimming pools, if applicable. 

6VAC35-71-290. Equipment and systems inspections and 
maintenance. 

A. All safety, emergency, and communications equipment 
and systems shall be inspected, tested, and maintained by 
designated staff in accordance with the manufacturer's 
recommendations or instruction manuals or, absent such 
requirements, in accordance with a schedule that is approved 
by the superintendent. 

1. The facility shall maintain a listing of all safety, 
emergency, and communications equipment and systems 
and the schedule established for inspections and testing. 

2. Testing of such equipment and systems shall, at a 
minimum, be conducted quarterly.  

B. Whenever safety, emergency, and communications 
equipment or a system is found to be defective, immediate 
steps shall be taken to rectify the situation and to repair, 
remove, or replace the defective equipment.  

6VAC35-71-300. Alternate power source. 

Each JCC shall have access to an alternate power source to 
maintain essential services in an emergency.  

6VAC35-71-310. Heating and cooling systems and 
ventilation. 

A. Heat shall be distributed in all rooms occupied by the 
residents so that a temperature no less than 68°F is 
maintained, unless otherwise mandated by state or federal 
authorities. 

B. Air conditioning or mechanical ventilating systems, such 
as electric fans, shall be provided in all rooms occupied by 
residents when the temperature in those rooms exceeds 80°F. 

6VAC35-71-320. Lighting. 

A. Sleeping and activity areas shall provide natural lighting. 

B. All areas within buildings shall be lighted for safety, and 
the lighting shall be sufficient for the activities being 
performed. 

C. Night lighting shall be sufficient to observe residents.  

D. Operable flashlights or battery-powered lanterns shall be 
accessible to each direct care staff on duty. 

E. Outside entrances and parking areas shall be lighted. 
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6VAC35-71-330. Plumbing and water supply; 
temperature. 

A. Plumbing shall be maintained in operational condition, as 
designed. 

B. An adequate supply of hot and cold running water shall 
be available at all times. 

C. Precautions shall be taken to prevent scalding from 
running water. Hot water temperatures should be maintained 
at 100°F to 120°F. 

6VAC35-71-340. Drinking water. 

A. In all JCCs constructed after January 1, 1998, all sleeping 
areas shall have fresh drinking water for residents' use.  

B. All activity areas shall have potable drinking water 
available for residents' use. 

6VAC35-71-350. Toilet facilities. 

A. There shall be at least one toilet, one hand basin, and one 
shower or bathtub in each living unit.  

B. There shall be toilet facilities available for resident use in 
all sleeping areas for each JCC constructed after January 1, 
1998. 

C. There shall be at least one toilet, one hand basin, and one 
shower or tub for every eight residents for facilities licensed 
before July 1, 1981.  There shall be one toilet, one hand basin, 
and one shower or tub for every four residents in any building 
constructed or structurally modified after July 1, 1981. 

D. There shall be at least one bathtub in each facility. 

E. The maximum number of employees on duty in the living 
unit shall be counted in determining the required number of 
toilets and hand basins when a separate bathroom is not 
provided for staff. 

6VAC35-71-360. Sleeping areas. 

A. Male and female residents shall have separate sleeping 
areas. 

B. Beds in all facilities or sleeping areas established, 
constructed, or structurally modified after July 1, 1981, shall 
be at least three feet apart at the head, foot, and sides; and 
double-decker beds in such facilities shall be at least five feet 
apart at the head, foot, and sides. Facilities or sleeping areas 
established, constructed, or structurally modified before July 
1, 1981, shall have a bed placement plan approved by the 
director or designee.  

C. Mattresses shall be fire retardant as evidenced by 
documentation from the manufacturer, except in buildings 
equipped with an automated sprinkler system as required by 
the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-
63). 

D. Sleeping quarters established, constructed, or structurally 
modified after July 1, 1981, shall have: 

1. At least 80 square feet of floor area in a bedroom 
accommodating one person; 

2. At least 60 square feet of floor area per person in rooms 
accommodating two or more persons; and 

3. Ceilings with a primary height at least 7-1/2 feet in 
height exclusive of protrusions, duct work, or dormers. 

6VAC35-71-370. Furnishings. 

All furnishings and equipment shall be safe, clean, and 
suitable to the ages and number of residents. 

6VAC35-71-380. Disposal of garbage and waste. 

Provision shall be made for the collection and legal disposal 
of all garbage and waste materials.  

6VAC35-71-390. Hazardous materials and chemicals. 

A. Each facility shall have a hazard communication plan that 
(i) governs the evaluation of the potential hazards of 
chemicals used at the facility and (ii) requires the 
communication of information to employees concerning 
hazards and appropriate protective measures. 

B. All flammable, toxic, and caustic materials within the 
JCC shall be stored, used, and disposed of in appropriate 
receptacles and in accordance with federal, state, and local 
requirements. 

6VAC35-71-400. Smoking prohibition. 

Residents shall be prohibited from using, possessing, 
purchasing, or distributing any tobacco products.  Tobacco 
products, including cigarettes, cigars, pipes, and smokeless 
tobacco, such as chewing tobacco or snuff, shall not be used 
by staff or visitors in any areas of the facility or its premises 
where residents may see or smell the tobacco product. 

6VAC35-71-410. Space utilization. 

A. Each JCC shall provide for the following: 

1. An indoor recreation area with appropriate recreation 
materials; 

2. An outdoor recreation area;  

3. Kitchen facilities and equipment for the preparation and 
service of meals;  

4. A dining area equipped with tables and seating; 

5. Space and equipment for laundry equipment, if laundry 
is done on site;  

6. Space for the storage of items such as first aid 
equipment, household supplies, recreational equipment, 
and other materials;  
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7. A designated visiting area that permits informal 
communication between residents and visitors, including 
opportunity for physical contact in accordance with written 
procedures;  

8. Space for administrative activities including, as 
appropriate to the program, confidential conversations and 
provision for storage of records and materials; and  

9. A central medical room with medical examination 
facilities equipped in consultation with the health authority. 

B. If a school program is operated at the facility, school 
classrooms shall be designed in consultation with appropriate 
education authorities to comply with applicable state and 
local requirements.  

C. Spaces or areas may be interchangeably utilized but shall 
be in functional condition for the designated purpose. 

6VAC35-71-420. Kitchen operation and safety. 

A. Each facility shall have a food service operation 
maintenance plan that addresses the following: (i) food 
sanitation and safety procedures; (ii) the inspection of all food 
service, preparation, and dining areas and equipment; (iii) a 
requirement for sanitary and temperature-controlled storage 
facilities for food; and (iv) the monitoring of refrigerator and 
water temperatures.  

B. Written procedures shall govern access to all areas where 
food or utensils are stored and the inventory and control of 
culinary equipment to which residents reasonably may be 
expected to have access.  

C. Walk-in refrigerators and freezers shall be equipped to 
permit emergency exits. 

D. Bleach or another sanitizing agent approved by the 
federal Environmental Protection Agency to destroy bacteria 
shall be used in laundering table and kitchen linens.  

6VAC35-71-430. Maintenance of the buildings and 
grounds. 

A. The interior and exterior of all buildings and grounds 
shall be safe, maintained, and reasonably free of clutter and 
rubbish. This includes but is not limited to (i) required locks, 
mechanical devices, indoor and outdoor equipment, and 
furnishings; and (ii) all areas where residents, staff, and 
visitors may reasonably be expected to have access. 

B. All buildings shall be reasonably free of stale, musty, or 
foul odors.  

C. Each facility shall have a written plan to control pests and 
vermin. Buildings shall be kept reasonably free of flies, 
roaches, rats, and other vermin. Any condition conducive to 
harboring or breeding insects, rodents, or other vermin shall 
be eliminated immediately. Each facility shall document 
efforts to eliminate such conditions.  

6VAC35-71-440. Animals on the premises. 

A. Animals maintained on the premises shall be housed at a 
reasonable distance from sleeping, living, eating, and food 
preparation areas as well as a safe distance from water 
supplies.  

B. Animals maintained on the premises shall be tested, 
inoculated, and licensed as required by law. 

C. The premises shall be kept reasonably free of stray 
domestic animals. 

D. Pets shall be provided with clean sleeping areas and 
adequate food and water. 

Part IV 
Safety and Security 

6VAC35-71-450. Fire prevention plan. 

Each JCC shall develop and implement a fire prevention 
plan that provides for an adequate fire protection service. 

6VAC35-71-460. Emergency and evacuation procedures. 

A. Each JCC shall have a written emergency preparedness 
and response plan. The plan shall address: 

1. Documentation of contact with the local emergency 
coordinator to determine (i) local disaster risks; (ii) 
communitywide plans to address different disasters and 
emergency situations; and (iii) assistance, if any, that the 
local emergency management office will provide to the 
facility in an emergency; 

2. Analysis of the facility's capabilities and potential 
hazards, including natural disasters, severe weather, fire, 
flooding, workplace violence or terrorism, missing 
persons, severe injuries, or other emergencies that would 
disrupt the normal course of service delivery; 

3. Written emergency management procedures outlining 
specific responsibilities for (i) provision of administrative 
direction and management of response activities; (ii) 
coordination of logistics during the emergency; (iii) 
communications; (iv) life safety of employees, contractors, 
interns, volunteers, visitors, and residents; (v) property 
protection; (vi) community outreach; (vii) and recovery 
and restoration; 

4. Written emergency response procedures for (i) assessing 
the situation; (ii) protecting residents, employees, 
contractors, interns, volunteers, visitors, equipment, and 
vital records; and (iii) restoring services shall address: 

a. Communicating with employees, contractors, and 
community responders; 

b. Warning and notification of residents; 

c. Providing emergency access to secure areas and 
opening locked doors; 
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d. Requiring fire and emergency keys that are instantly 
identifiable by sight and touch;  

e. Conducting evacuations to emergency shelters or 
alternative sites and accounting for all residents; 

f. Relocating residents, if necessary; 

g. Notifying parents and legal guardians, as applicable 
and appropriate; 

h. Alerting emergency personnel and sounding alarms;  

i. Locating and shutting off utilities when necessary; and 

j. Providing for a planned, personalized means of 
effective egress for residents who use wheelchairs, 
crutches, canes, or other mechanical devices for 
assistance in walking. 

5. Supporting documents that would be needed in an 
emergency, including emergency call lists, building and 
site maps necessary to shut off utilities, designated escape 
routes, and list of major resources such as local emergency 
shelters; and 

6. Schedule for testing the implementation of the plan and 
conducting emergency preparedness drills. 

B. All employees shall be trained to ensure they are 
prepared to implement the emergency preparedness plan in 
the event of an emergency. Such training shall include the 
employees' responsibilities for: 

1. Alerting emergency personnel and sounding alarms; 

2. Implementing evacuation procedures, including 
evacuation of residents with special needs (i.e., deaf, blind, 
nonambulatory); 

3. Using, maintaining, and operating emergency 
equipment; 

4. Accessing emergency information for residents 
including medical information; and 

5. Utilizing community support services. 

C. Contractors and volunteers shall be oriented in their 
responsibilities in implementing the evacuation plan in the 
event of an emergency. Such orientation shall be in 
accordance with the requirements of 6VAC35-71-150 
(required initial orientation), 6VAC35-71-160 (required 
initial training), and 6VAC35-71-240 (volunteer and intern 
orientation and training). 

D. The JCC shall document the review of the emergency 
preparedness plan annually and make necessary revisions. 
Such revisions shall be communicated to employees, 
contractors, volunteers, and interns and shall be incorporated 
into (i) training for employees, contractors, interns, and 
volunteers; and (ii) orientation of residents to services. 

E. In the event of a disaster, fire, emergency or any other 
condition that may jeopardize the health, safety and welfare 
of residents, the facility shall take appropriate action to 
protect the health, safety and welfare of the residents and to 
remedy the conditions as soon as possible. 

F. In the event of a disaster, fire, emergency, or any other 
condition that may jeopardize the health, safety and welfare 
of residents, the facility should first respond and stabilize the 
disaster or emergency. After the disaster or emergency is 
stabilized, the facility shall (i) report the disaster or 
emergency to (a) the legal guardian and (b) the director or his 
designee of the conditions at the facility and (ii) report the 
disaster or emergency to the regulatory authority. Such 
reporting shall be made as soon as possible but no later than 
72 hours after the incident is stabilized. 

G. Floor plans showing primary and secondary means of 
emergency exiting shall be posted on each floor in locations 
where they can easily be seen by employees and residents. 

H. The responsibilities of the residents in implementing the 
emergency and evacuation procedures shall be communicated 
to all residents within seven days following admission or a 
substantive change in the procedures. 

I. At least one evacuation drill (the simulation of the 
facility's emergency procedures) shall be conducted each 
month in each building occupied by residents. During any 
three consecutive calendar months, at least one evacuation 
drill shall be conducted during each shift. 

J. A record shall be maintained for each evacuation drill and 
shall include the following:  

1. Buildings in which the drill was conducted;  

2. Date and time of drill;  

3. Amount of time to evacuate the buildings; and 

4. Specific problems encountered. 

K. Each JCC shall assign one employee who shall ensure 
that all requirements regarding the emergency preparedness 
and response plan and the evacuation drill program are met. 

6VAC35-71-470. Security procedures. 

Each JCC shall follow written security procedures related to 
the following: 

1. Post orders or shift duties for each security post; 

2. Population count;  

3. A control center that integrates all external and internal 
security functions and communications, is secured from 
residents' access, and is staffed 24 hours a day; 

4. Control of the perimeter;  

5. Actions to be taken regarding any escapes or absences 
without permission; 
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6. Searches of the buildings and premises; and 

7. The control, detection, and disposition of contraband. 

6VAC35-71-480. Searches of residents. 

A. Written procedures shall govern searches of residents, 
including patdowns and frisk searches, strip searches, and 
body cavity searches, and shall include the following: 

1. Searches of residents' persons shall be conducted only 
for the purposes of maintaining facility security and 
controlling contraband while protecting the dignity of the 
resident.   

2. Searches are conducted only by personnel who are 
authorized to conduct such searches. 

3. The resident shall not be touched any more than is 
necessary to conduct the search. 

B. Strip searches and visual inspections of the vagina and 
anal cavity areas shall be subject to the following: 

1. The search shall be performed by personnel of the same 
sex as the resident being searched;  

2. The search shall be conducted in an area that ensures 
privacy; and 

3. Any witness to the search shall be of the same gender as 
the resident.  

C. Manual and instrumental searches of the anal cavity or 
vagina, not including medical examinations or procedures 
conducted by medical personnel for medical purposes, shall 
be: 

1. Performed only with the written authorization of the 
facility administrator or by a court order; 

2. Conducted by a qualified medical professional; 

3. Witnessed by personnel of the same gender as the 
resident; and 

4. Fully documented in the resident's medical file. 

6VAC35-71-490. Communications systems. 

A. There shall be at least one continuously operable, nonpay 
telephone accessible to staff in each building in which 
residents sleep or participate in programs.  

B. There shall be a means for communicating between the 
control center and living units.  

C. The facility shall be able to provide communications in 
an emergency. 

6VAC35-71-500. Emergency telephone numbers. 

An emergency telephone number shall be provided to 
residents and the adults responsible for their care when a 
resident is away from the facility and not under the 
supervision of direct care staff or law-enforcement officials. 

6VAC35-71-510. Weapons. 

No firearms or other weapons shall be permitted on the 
JCC's premises and during JCC-related activities except as 
provided in written procedures or authorized by the director 
or designee. Written procedures shall govern any possession, 
use, and storage of authorized firearms and other weapons on 
the JCC's premises and during JCC-related activities.  

6VAC35-71-520. Equipment inventory. 

Written procedure shall govern the inventory and control of 
all security, maintenance, recreational, and medical 
equipment of the facility to which residents reasonably may 
be expected to have access.  

6VAC35-71-530. Power equipment. 

The facility shall implement written safety rules for use and 
maintenance of power equipment.  

6VAC35-71-540. Transportation. 

A. Each JCC shall have transportation available or make the 
necessary arrangements for routine and emergency 
transportation.  

B. There shall be written safety rules for transportation of 
residents and for the use and maintenance of vehicles. 

C. Written procedure shall provide for the verification of 
appropriate licensure for staff whose duties involve 
transporting residents. 

Part V 
Residents' Rights 

6VAC35-71-550. Prohibited actions. 

Residents shall not be subjected to the following actions: 

1. Deprivation of drinking water or food necessary to meet 
a resident's daily nutritional needs, except as ordered by a 
licensed physician for a legitimate medical purpose and 
documented in the resident's record; 

2. Denial of contacts and visits with the resident's attorney, 
a probation officer, the regulatory authority, a supervising 
agency representative, or representatives of other agencies 
or groups as required by applicable statutes or regulations; 

3. Any action that is humiliating, degrading, abusive, or 
unreasonably impinges upon the residents' rights; 

4. Denial of equal access to agency programs and 
activities; 

5. Corporal punishment, which is administered through the 
intentional inflicting of pain or discomfort to the body 
through actions such as, but not limited to (i) striking or 
hitting with any part of the body or with an implement; (ii) 
pinching, pulling, or shaking; or (iii) any similar action that 
normally inflicts pain or discomfort;  
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6. Subjection to unsanitary living conditions; 

7. Deprivation of opportunities for bathing or access to 
toilet facilities, except as ordered by a licensed physician 
for a legitimate medical purpose and documented in the 
resident's record; 

8. Denial of health care; 

9. Denial of appropriate services and treatment; 

10. Application of aversive stimuli, except as provided in 
this chapter or permitted pursuant to other applicable state 
regulations. Aversive stimuli means any physical forces 
(e.g., sound, electricity, heat, cold, light, water, or noise) or 
substances (e.g., hot pepper, pepper sauce, or pepper spray) 
measurable in duration and intensity that when applied to a 
resident are noxious or painful to the individual, but does 
not include striking or hitting the individual with any part 
of the body or with an implement or pinching, pulling, or 
shaking the resident;  

11. Administration of laxatives, enemas, or emetics, except 
as ordered by a licensed physician or poison control center 
for a legitimate medical purpose and documented in the 
resident's record; 

12. Deprivation of opportunities for sleep or rest, except as 
ordered by a licensed physician for a legitimate medical 
purpose and documented in the resident's record;  

13. Involuntary use of pharmacological restraints 
(administration of medication for the emergency control of 
an individual's behavior when the administration is not a 
standard treatment for the resident's medical or psychiatric 
condition); 

14. Discrimination on the basis of race, religion, national 
origin, sex, or physical disability; and 

15. Other constitutionally prohibited actions. 

6VAC35-71-560. Residents' mail. 

A. A resident's incoming or outgoing mail may be delayed 
or withheld only in accordance with this section, as permitted 
by other applicable regulations, or by order of a court. 

B. Staff may open and inspect residents' incoming and 
outgoing nonlegal mail for contraband. When based on 
legitimate facility interests of order and security, nonlegal 
mail may be read, censored, or rejected in accordance with 
written procedures.  The resident shall be notified when 
incoming or outgoing letters are withheld in part or in full.  

C. In the presence of the recipient and in accordance with 
written procedures, staff may open to inspect for contraband, 
but shall not read, legal mail. For the purpose of this section, 
legal mail means a communication sent to or received from a 
designated class of correspondents, as defined in written 
procedures, including but not limited to the court, an attorney, 
and the grievance system or department administrators.  

D. Staff shall not read mail addressed to parents, immediate 
family members, legal guardian, guardian ad litem, counsel, 
courts, officials of the committing authority, public officials, 
or grievance administrators unless (i) permission has been 
obtained from a court or (ii) the director or his designee has 
determined that there is a reasonable belief that the security of 
a facility is threatened. When so authorized staff may read 
such mail, in accordance with written procedures.  

E. Except as otherwise provided in this section, incoming 
and outgoing letters shall be held for no more than 24 hours 
and packages shall be held for no more than 48 hours, 
excluding weekends and holidays.  

F. Upon request, each resident shall be given postage and 
writing materials for all legal correspondence and at least two 
other letters per week.  

G. Residents shall be permitted to correspond at their own 
expense with any person or organization provided such 
correspondence does not pose a threat to facility order and 
security and is not being used to violate or to conspire to 
violate the law.  

H. First class letters and packages received for residents who 
have been transferred or released shall be forwarded.  

I. Written procedure governing correspondence of residents 
shall be made available to all employees and residents and 
updated as needed.  

6VAC35-71-570. Telephone calls. 

Telephone calls shall be permitted in accordance with 
written procedures that take into account the need for facility 
security and order, the resident's behavior, and program 
objectives. 

6VAC35-71-580. Visitation. 

A. A resident's contacts and visits with immediate family 
members or legal guardians shall not be subject to 
unreasonable limitations except as permitted by written 
procedures, other applicable regulations, or by order of a 
court.  

B. Residents shall be permitted to have visitors, consistent 
with written procedures that take into account (i) the need for 
facility security and order, (ii) the behavior of individual 
residents and the visitors, and (iii) the importance of helping 
the resident maintain strong family and community 
relationships.  Written procedures shall provide for the 
accommodation of special circumstances.  

C. Copies of the visitation procedures shall be mailed, either 
electronically or via first class mail, to the residents' parents 
or legal guardians, as applicable and appropriate, and other 
applicable persons no later than close of the next business day 
after arrival at the JCC, unless a copy has already been 
provided to the individual. 
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D. Resident visitation at an employee's home is prohibited.  

6VAC35-71-590. Contact with attorneys, courts, and law 
enforcement. 

A. Residents shall have uncensored, confidential contact 
with their legal representative in writing, as provided for in 
6VAC35-41-560 (residents' mail), by telephone, or in person. 
Reasonable limits may be placed on such contacts as 
necessary to protect the security and order of the facility. For 
the purpose of this section a legal representative is defined as 
a court-appointed or retained attorney or a paralegal, 
investigator, or other representative from the attorney's office. 
Evidence that the attorney has been retained shall be required 
prior to permitting access.  

B. Residents shall not be denied access to the courts.  

C. Residents shall not be required to submit to questioning 
by law enforcement, though they may do so voluntarily. 

1. Written procedures shall be implemented for obtaining a 
resident's consent prior to any contact with law 
enforcement. 

2. No employee may coerce a resident's decision to consent 
to have contact with law enforcement.  

6VAC35-71-600. Personal necessities. 

A. At admission, each resident shall be provided the 
following: 

1. An adequate supply of personal necessities for hygiene 
and grooming; 

2. Size-appropriate clothing and shoes for indoor or 
outdoor wear; 

3. A separate bed equipped with a mattress, a pillow, 
blankets, bed linens, and, if needed, a waterproof mattress 
cover; and 

4. Individual washcloths and towels. 

B. At the time of issuance, all items shall be clean and in 
good repair.  

C. Personal necessities shall be replenished as needed.  

D. The washcloths, towels, and bed linens shall be cleaned 
or changed, at a minimum, once every seven days. Bleach or 
another sanitizing agent approved by the federal 
Environmental Protection Agency to destroy bacteria shall be 
used in the laundering of such linens. 

E. After issuance, blankets shall be cleaned or changed as 
needed.  

6VAC35-71-610. Showers. 

Residents shall have the opportunity to shower daily except 
as (i) provided in written procedures for the purpose of 
maintaining facility security or for the special management of 

maladaptive behavior if approved by the superintendent or 
designee or a mental health professional or (ii) approved by 
the regulatory authority. 

6VAC35-71-620. Residents' privacy. 

Residents shall be provided privacy from routine sight 
supervision by staff members of the opposite gender while 
bathing, dressing, or conducting toileting activities except 
when constant supervision is necessary to protect the resident 
due to mental health issues. This section does not apply to 
medical personnel performing medical procedures or to staff 
providing assistance to residents whose physical or mental 
disabilities dictate the need for assistance with these activities 
as justified in the resident's record. 

6VAC35-71-630. Nutrition. 

A. Each resident, except as provided in subsection B of this 
section, shall be provided a daily diet that (i) consists of at 
least three nutritionally balanced meals, of which two are hot 
meals, and an evening snack; (ii) includes an adequate variety 
and quantity of food for the age of the resident; and (iii) 
meets minimum nutritional requirements and the U.S. Dietary 
Guidelines. 

B. Special diets or alternative dietary schedules, as 
applicable, shall be provided in the following circumstances: 
(i) when prescribed by a physician; (ii) when necessary to 
observe the established religious dietary practices of the 
resident; or (iii) when necessary for the special management 
of maladaptive behavior or to maintain facility security if 
approved by the superintendent or designee or a mental health 
professional. In such circumstances, the meals shall meet the 
minimum nutritional requirements of the U.S. Dietary 
Guidelines and any required approval shall be documented.  

C. Menus of actual meals served shall be kept on file for at 
least six months. 

D. Staff who eat in the presence of the residents shall be 
served the same meals as the residents unless a special diet 
has been prescribed by a physician for the staff or residents 
are observing established religious dietary practices. 

E. There shall not be more than 15 hours between the 
evening meal and breakfast the following day, except when 
the superintendent approves an extension of time between 
meals on weekends and holidays.  When an extension is 
granted on a weekend or holiday, there shall never be more 
than 17 hours between the evening meal and breakfast.  

F. Each JCC shall assure that food is available to residents 
who for documented medical or religious reasons need to eat 
breakfast before the 15 hours have expired. 

6VAC35-71-640. Reading materials. 

Reading materials that are appropriate to residents' ages and 
levels of competency shall be available to all residents. 
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6VAC35-71-650. Religion. 

A. Residents shall not be required or coerced to participate 
in or unreasonably denied participation in religious activities. 

B. Residents shall be informed of their rights relating to 
religious participation during orientation as provided in 
6VAC35-71-680 (admission and orientation). 

6VAC35-71-660. Recreation. 

A. Each JCC shall implement a recreational program plan 
that includes: 

1. Opportunities for individual and group activities; 

2. Opportunity for large muscle exercise daily; 

3. Scheduling so that activities do not conflict with meals, 
religious services, educational programs, or other regular 
events; and 

4. Regularly scheduled indoor and outdoor recreational 
activities that are structured to develop skills. Outdoor 
recreation will be available whenever practicable in 
accordance with the facility's recreation plan. Staff shall 
document any adverse weather conditions, threat to facility 
security, or other circumstances preventing outdoor 
recreation. 

B. Each recreational program plan shall (i) address the 
means by which residents will be medically assessed for any 
physical limitations or necessary restrictions on physical 
activities and (ii) provide for the supervision of and 
safeguards for residents, including when participating in 
water related and swimming activities. 

6VAC35-71-670. Residents' funds. 

Residents’ funds, including any per diem or earnings, shall 
be used only (i) for their benefit; (ii) for payment of any fines, 
restitution, costs, or support ordered by a court or 
administrative judge; or (iii) to pay restitution for damaged 
property or personal injury as determined by disciplinary 
procedures. 

Part VI 
Program Operation 

Article 1 
Placement, Transfer, and Release 

6VAC35-71-680. Admission and orientation. 

A. Written procedure governing the admission and 
orientation of residents to the JCC shall provide for:  

1. Verification of legal authority for placement;  

2. Search of the resident and the resident's possessions, 
including inventory and storage or disposition of property, 
as appropriate and provided for in 6VAC35-71-690 
(residents' personal possessions);  

3. Health screening as provided for in 6VAC35-71-940 
(health screening at admission);  

4. Notification of parent or legal guardian of admission; 

5. Provision to the parent or legal guardian of information 
on (i) visitation, (ii) how to request information, and (iii) 
how to register concerns and complaints with the facility;  

6. Interview with resident to answer questions and obtain 
information;  

7. Explanation to resident of program services and 
schedules; and  

8. Assignment of resident to a living unit, sleeping area, or 
room.  

B. The resident shall receive an orientation to the following:  

1. The behavior management program as required by 
6VAC35-71-1090 (behavior management). 

a. During the orientation, residents shall be given written 
information describing rules of conduct, the sanctions for 
rule violations, and the disciplinary process. These shall 
be explained to the resident and documented by the dated 
signature of resident and staff.  

b. Where a language or literacy problem exists that can 
lead to a resident misunderstanding the rules of conduct 
and related regulations, staff or a qualified person under 
the supervision of staff shall assist the resident.  

2. The grievance procedure as required by 6VAC35-71-80 
(grievance procedure). 

3. The disciplinary process as required by 6VAC35-71-
1110 (disciplinary process). 

4. The resident's responsibilities in implementing the 
emergency procedures as required by 6VAC35-71-460 
(emergency and evacuation procedures). 

5. The resident's rights relating to religious participation as 
required by 6VAC35-71-650 (religion). 

6VAC35-71-690. Residents' personal possessions. 

A. Each JCC shall inventory residents' personal possessions 
upon admission and document the information in residents’ 
case records. When a resident arrives at a JCC with items that 
the resident is not permitted to possess in the facility, staff 
shall:  

1. Dispose of contraband items in accordance with written 
procedures;  

2. If the items are nonperishable property that the resident 
may otherwise legally possess, securely store the property 
and return it to the resident upon release; or  

3. Make reasonable documented efforts to return the 
property to the resident, or parent or legal guardian.  
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B. Personal property that remains unclaimed six months 
after a documented attempt to return the property may be 
disposed of in accordance with written procedures.  

6VAC35-71-700. Classification plan. 

A. A JCC shall utilize an objective classification system for 
determining appropriate security levels, the needs, and the 
most appropriate services of the residents and for assigning 
them to living units according to their needs and existing 
resources. 

B. Residents shall be placed according to their classification 
levels. Such classification shall be reviewed as necessary in 
light of (i) the facility's safety and security and (ii) the 
resident’s needs and progress. 

6VAC35-71-710. Resident transfer between and within 
JCCs. 

A. When a resident is transferred between JCCs, the 
following shall occur: 

1. The resident's case records, including medical and 
behavioral health records, shall accompany the resident to 
the receiving facility; and 

2. The resident's parents or legal guardian, if applicable 
and appropriate, and the court service unit or supervising 
agency shall be notified within 24 hours of the transfer.  

B. When a resident is transferred to a more restrictive unit, 
program, or facility within a JCC or between JCCs, the JCC 
shall provide due process safeguards for residents prior to 
their transfer.  

C. In the case of emergency transfers, such safeguards and 
notifications shall be instituted as soon as practicable after 
transfer. 

6VAC35-71-720. Release. 

A. Residents shall be released from a JCC in accordance 
with written procedure.  

B. The case record of each resident serving an indeterminate 
commitment, who is not released pursuant to a court order, 
shall contain the following: 

1. A discharge plan developed in accordance with written 
procedures;  

2. Documentation that the release was discussed with the 
parent or legal guardian, if applicable and appropriate, the 
court services unit, and the resident; and 

3. As soon as possible, but no later than 30 days after 
release, a comprehensive release summary placed in the 
resident's record and sent to the persons or agency that 
made the placement. The release summary shall review: 

a. Services provided to the resident; 

b. The resident's progress toward meeting service plan 
objectives; 

c. The resident's continuing needs and recommendations, 
if any, for further services and care; 

d. The names of persons to whom resident was released; 

e. Dates of admission and release; and 

f. Date the release summary was prepared and the 
identification of the person preparing it. 

C. The case record of each resident serving a determinate 
commitment or released pursuant to an order of a court shall 
contain a copy of the court order.  

D. As appropriate and applicable, information concerning 
current medications, need for continuing therapeutic 
interventions, educational status, and other items important to 
the resident's continuing care shall be provided to the legal 
guardian or legally authorized representative, as appropriate 
and applicable.  

E. Upon discharge, the (i) date of discharge and (ii) the 
name of the person to whom the resident was discharged, if 
applicable, shall be documented in the case record.  

Article 2 
Programs and Services 

6VAC35-71-730. Operational procedures. 

Current operational procedures shall be accessible to all 
staff.  

6VAC35-71-740. Structured programming. 

A. Each facility shall implement a comprehensive, planned, 
and structured daily routine, including appropriate 
supervision, designed to: 

1. Meet the residents' physical and emotional needs; 

2. Provide protection, guidance, and supervision;  

3. Ensure the delivery of program services; and 

4. Meet the objectives of any individual service plan. 

B. Residents shall be provided the opportunity to participate 
in programming, as applicable, upon admission to the facility.  

6VAC35-71-750. Communication with court service unit 
staff. 

A. Each resident's probation or parole officer shall be 
provided with the contact information for an individual at the 
facility to whom inquiries on assigned resident cases may be 
addressed.  

B. The resident's probation or parole officer shall be invited 
to participate in any scheduled classification and staffing 
team meetings at RDC and any scheduled treatment team 
meetings. 
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6VAC35-71-760. Communication with parents. 

A. Each resident's parent or legal guardian, as appropriate 
and applicable, shall be provided with the contact information 
for an individual at the facility to whom inquiries regarding 
the resident may be addressed.  

B. If contacted by the resident's parent or legal guardian, the 
facility shall provide the requesting individual with the 
opportunity to participate in any scheduled classification and 
staffing team meetings at RDC and any scheduled treatment 
team meetings. 

6VAC35-71-770. Case management services. 

A. The facility shall implement written procedures 
governing case management services, which shall address: 

1. The resident's adjustment to the facility, group living, 
and separation from the resident's family;  

2. Supportive counseling, as needed;  

3. Transition and community reintegration planning and 
preparation; and  

4. Communicating with (i) staff at the facility; (ii) the 
parents or legal guardians, as appropriate and applicable; 
(iii) the court service unit; and (iv) community resources, 
as needed.  

B. The provision of case management services shall be 
documented in the case record. 

6VAC35-71-780. Daily log. 

A. A daily log shall be maintained, in accordance with 
written procedures, to inform staff of significant happenings 
or problems experienced by residents including, but not 
limited to, health and dental complaints and injuries.  

B. Each entry in the daily log shall contain (i) the date of the 
entry, (ii) the name of the individual making the entry, and 
(iii) the time each entry is made.  

6VAC35-71-790. Individual service plans. 

A. An individual service plan shall be developed and placed 
in the resident's record within 30 days following arrival at the 
facility and implemented immediately thereafter. This section 
does not apply to residents who are housed at RDC for 60 
days or less. If a resident remains at RDC for longer than 60 
days, an individual plan shall be developed at that time, 
placed in the resident's record, and implemented immediately 
thereafter. 

B. Individual service plans shall describe in measurable 
terms the: 

1. Strengths and needs of the resident; 

2. Resident's current level of functioning; 

3. Goals, objectives, and strategies established for the 
resident; 

4. Projected family involvement; 

5. Projected date for accomplishing each objective; and 

6. Status of the projected release plan and estimated length 
of stay except that this requirement shall not apply to 
residents who are determinately committed to the 
department. 

C. Each individual service plan shall include the date it was 
developed and the signature of the person who developed it. 

D. The resident and facility staff shall participate in the 
development of the individual service plan. 

E. The supervising agency and resident's parents, legal 
guardian, or legally authorized representative, if appropriate 
and applicable, shall be given the opportunity to participate in 
the development of the resident's individual service plan.  

F. Copies of the individual service plan shall be provided to 
the (i) resident; (ii) parents or legal guardians, as appropriate 
and applicable, and (iii) placing agency.  

G. The individual service plan shall be reviewed within 60 
days of the development of the individual service plan and 
within each 90-day period thereafter.  

H. The individual service plan shall be updated annually and 
revised as necessary. Any changes to the plan shall be made 
in writing. All participants shall receive copies of the revised 
plan. 

6VAC35-71-800. Quarterly reports. 

A. The resident's progress toward meeting his individual 
service plan goals shall be reviewed, and a progress report 
shall be prepared within 60 days of the development of the 
service plan and within each 90-day period thereafter. The 
report shall review the status of the following:  

1. Resident's progress toward meeting the plan's objectives; 

2. Family's involvement; 

3. Continuing needs of the resident; 

4. Resident's progress towards discharge; and 

5. Status of discharge planning. 

B. Each quarterly progress report shall include the date it 
was developed and the signature of the person who developed 
it. 

C. All quarterly progress reports shall be reviewed with the 
resident and distributed to the resident's parents, legal 
guardian, or legally authorized representative; the supervising 
agency; and appropriate facility staff. 
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6VAC35-71-810. Behavioral health services. 

Behavioral health services, if provided, shall be provided by 
an individual (i) licensed by the Department of Health 
Professions or (ii) who is working under the supervision of a 
licensed clinician. 

Article 3 
Supervision 

6VAC35-71-820. Staff supervision of residents. 

A. Staff shall provide 24-hour awake supervision seven days 
a week.  

B. No member of the direct care staff shall be on duty more 
than six consecutive days without a rest day, except in an 
emergency. For the purpose of this section, a rest day means a 
period of not less than 24 consecutive hours during which the 
direct care staff person has no responsibility to perform duties 
related to the operation of a JCC. 

C. Direct care staff shall be scheduled with an average of at 
least two rest days per week in any four-week period.  

D. Direct care staff shall not be on duty more than 16 
consecutive hours, except in an emergency. 

E. There shall be at least one trained direct care staff on duty 
and actively supervising residents at all times that one or 
more residents are present. 

F. The facility shall implement written procedures that 
address staff supervision of residents including contingency 
plans for resident illnesses, emergencies, and off-campus 
activities. These procedures shall be based on the: 

1. Needs of the population served; 

2. Types of services offered;  

3. Qualifications of staff on duty; and 

4. Number of residents served. 

G. Staff shall regulate the movement of residents within the 
facility in accordance with written procedures.  

H. No JCC shall permit an individual resident or group of 
residents to exercise control or authority over other residents 
except when practicing leadership skills as part of an 
approved program under the direct and immediate supervision 
of staff.  

6VAC35-71-830. Staffing pattern. 

A. During the hours that residents are scheduled to be 
awake, there shall be at least one direct care staff member 
awake, on duty, and responsible for supervision of every 10 
residents, or portion thereof, on the premises or participating 
in off-campus, facility-sponsored activities.  

B. During the hours that residents are scheduled to sleep, 
there shall be no less than one direct care staff member on 

duty and responsible for supervision of every 16 residents, or 
portion thereof, on the premises.  

C. There shall be at least one direct care staff member on 
duty and responsible for the supervision of residents in each 
building or living unit where residents are sleeping.  

6VAC35-71-840. Outside personnel. 

A. JCC staff shall monitor all situations in which outside 
personnel perform any kind of work in the immediate 
presence of residents.  

B. Adult inmates shall not work in the immediate presence 
of any resident and shall be monitored in a way that there 
shall be no direct contact between or interaction among adult 
inmates and residents. 

Article 4 
Work Programs 

6VAC35-71-850. Facility work assignments. 

A. Work assignments, whether paid or unpaid, shall be in 
accordance with the age, health, ability, and service plan of 
the resident. 

B. Work assignments shall not interfere with school 
programs, study periods, meals, or sleep. 

6VAC35-71-860. Agreements governing juvenile 
industries work programs. 

A. If the department enters into an agreement with a public 
or private entity for the operation of a work program pursuant 
to § 66-25.1 of the Code of Virginia, the agreement shall:  

1. Comply with all applicable federal and state laws and 
regulations, including but not limited to the Fair Labor 
Standards Act (29 USC § 201 et seq.), child labor laws, 
and workers' compensation insurance laws;  

2. State the length of the agreement and the criteria by 
which it may be extended or terminated;  

3. Specify where residents will work and, if not at a 
juvenile correctional center, the security arrangements at 
the work site; and 

4. Summarize the educational, vocational, or job training 
benefits to residents.  

B. The agreement shall address how residents will be hired 
and supervised, including:  

1. The application and selection process;  

2. The qualifications required of residents;  

3. A requirement that there be a job description for each 
resident's position;  

4. Evaluation of each resident's job-related behaviors and 
attitudes, attendance, and quality of work; and  



Regulations 

Volume 26, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations February 1, 2010 

1595 

5. Whether and how either party may terminate a resident's 
participation.  

C. The agreement shall address resident's compensation 
including:  

1. The manner by which and through what funding source 
residents are to be paid; and  

2. If applicable, whether any deductions shall be made 
from the resident's compensation for subsistence payments, 
restitution to victims, etc.  

D. As applicable, the agreement shall specify:  

1. That accurate records be kept of the work program's 
finances, materials inventories, and residents' hours of 
work, and that such records be subject to inspection by 
either party and by an independent auditor;  

2. How the project's goods or services will be marketed;  

3. How proceeds from the project will be collected and 
distributed to the parties; and 

4. Which party is responsible for providing:  

a. The materials to be worked on;  

b. The machinery to be used;  

c. Technical training and supervision in the use of 
equipment or processes;  

d. Utilities;  

e. Transportation of raw materials and finished goods;  

f. Disposal of waste generated in the work project; and  

g. Safety and other special equipment and clothing.  

Part VII 
Health Care Services 

6VAC35-71-870. Health care services definitions. 

"Health care record" means the complete record of medical 
screening and examination information and ongoing records 
of medical and ancillary service delivery including, but not 
limited to, all findings, diagnoses, treatments, dispositions, 
prescriptions, and their administration.  

"Health care services" means those actions, preventative and 
therapeutic, taken for the physical and mental well-being of a 
resident. Health care services include medical, dental, 
orthodontic, mental health, family planning, obstetrical, 
gynecological, health education, and other ancillary services.  

"Health trained personnel" means an individual who is 
trained by a licensed health care provider to perform specific 
duties such as administering heath care screenings, reviewing 
screening forms for necessary follow-up care, preparing 
residents and records for sick call, and assisting in the 
implementation of certain medical orders.  

6VAC35-71-880. Local health authority. 

A physician, health administrator, government authority, 
health care contractor, supervising registered nurse or head 
nurse, or health agency shall be designated the local health 
authority responsible for organizing, planning, and 
monitoring the timely provision of appropriate health care 
services, including arrangements for all levels of health care 
and the ensuring of quality and accessibility of all health 
services, including medical, nursing, dental, and mental 
health care, consistent with applicable statutes, prevailing 
community standards, and medical ethics.  All medical, 
psychiatric, dental, and nursing matters are the province of 
the physician, dentist, and nurse, respectively.  

6VAC35-71-890. Provision of health care services. 

A. The health care provider shall be guided by 
recommendations of the American Academy of Family 
Practice or the American Academy of Pediatrics, as 
appropriate, in the direct provision of health care services.  

B. Treatment by nursing personnel shall be performed 
pursuant to the laws and regulations governing the practice of 
nursing within the Commonwealth. Other health-trained 
personnel shall provide care within their level of training and 
certification.  

6VAC35-71-900. Health care procedures. 

A. The department shall have and implement written 
procedures for promptly: 

1. Providing or arranging for the provision of medical and 
dental services for health problems identified at admission;  

2. Providing or arranging for the provision of routine 
ongoing and follow-up medical and dental services after 
admission; 

3. Providing emergency services for each resident as 
provided by statute or by the agreement with the resident's 
legal guardian, if under the age of 18, or the resident, if 
over the age of 18;  

4. Providing emergency services for any resident 
experiencing or showing signs of suicidal or homicidal 
thoughts, symptoms of mood or thought disorders, or other 
mental health problems; and 

5. Ensuring that the required information in subsection B 
of this section is accessible and up to date. 

B. The following written information concerning each 
resident shall be readily accessible to designated staff who 
may have to respond to a medical or dental emergency: 

1. The physician or dentist to be contacted;  

2. Name, address, and telephone number of a relative or 
other person to be notified; and 

3. Information concerning: 
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a. Use of medication; 

b. All allergies, including medication allergies; 

c. Substance abuse and use; and 

d. Significant past and present medical problems.  

6VAC35-71-910. Health care training of direct care staff. 

Direct care staff shall be trained to respond to health 
emergencies. The training shall include the following: 

1. Recognition of signs and symptoms and knowledge of 
actions required in emergencies; 

2. Administration of first aid and cardiopulmonary 
resuscitation (CPR); 

3. Methods of obtaining assistance; 

4. Signs and symptoms of mental illness, retardation, and 
chemical dependency; and 

5. General health care needs of residents, including 
communicable diseases. 

6VAC35-71-920. Health-trained personnel. 

A. Health-trained personnel shall provide care as appropriate 
to their level of training and certification and shall not 
administer health care services for which they are not 
qualified or specifically trained. 

B. The facility shall retain documentation of the training 
received by health-trained personnel necessary to perform any 
designated health care services. Documentation of applicable, 
current licensure or certification shall constitute compliance 
with this section. 

6VAC35-71-930. Consent to and refusal of health care 
services. 

A. The resident or parent or legal guardian, as applicable, 
shall be advised by an appropriately trained medical 
professional of (i) the material facts regarding the nature, 
consequences, and risks of the proposed treatment, 
examination, or procedure; and (ii) the alternatives to it.  

B. Health care services, as defined in 6VAC35-101-10 
(definitions), shall be provided in accordance with § 54.1-
2969 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. Residents may refuse, in writing, medical treatment and 
care. This subsection does not apply to medication refusals 
that are governed by 6VAC35-41-1070 (medication).  

D. When health care is rendered against the resident's will, it 
shall be in accordance with applicable laws and regulations. 

6VAC35-71-940. Health screening at admission. 

Written procedure shall require that:  

1. To prevent newly arrived residents who pose a health or 
safety threat to themselves or others from being admitted 

to the general population, all residents shall immediately 
upon admission undergo a preliminary health screening 
consisting of a structured interview and observation by 
health care personnel or health-trained staff, using a health 
screening form that has been approved by the department's 
health administrator.  

2. Residents admitted to the facility who are identified 
through the screening required in subdivision 1 of this 
section as posing a health risk to themselves or others are 
shall be separated from the facility's general population 
until they are no longer a risk. During the period of 
separation, the residents shall receive services 
approximating those available to the facility's general 
population, as deemed appropriate to their condition.  

3. Immediate health care is provided to residents who need 
it.  

6VAC35-71-950. Tuberculosis screening. 

A. Within seven days of placement, each resident shall have 
had a screening assessment for tuberculosis.  The screening 
assessment can be no older than 30 days. 

B. A screening assessment for tuberculosis shall be 
completed annually on each resident.  

C. The facility's screening practices shall comply with 
guidelines and recommendations (Screening for TB Infection 
and Disease, Policy TB 99-001) of the Virginia Department 
of Health, Division of Tuberculosis Prevention and Control, 
for the detection, diagnosis, prophylaxis, and treatment of 
pulmonary tuberculosis.  

6VAC35-71-960. Medical examinations. 

A. Within five days of arrival at a JCC, all residents who are 
not directly transferred from another JCC shall be medically 
examined by a physician or a qualified health care 
practitioner operating under the supervision of a physician to 
determine if the resident requires medical attention or poses a 
threat to the health of staff or other residents. This 
examination shall include the following: 

1. Complete medical, immunization, and psychiatric 
history; 

2. Recording of height, weight, body mass index, 
temperature, pulse, respiration, and blood pressure;  

3. Reports of medical laboratory testing and clinical testing 
results, as deemed medically appropriate, to determine 
both clinical status and freedom from communicable 
disease;  

4. Medical examination, including gynecological 
assessment of females, when appropriate;  

5. Documentation of immunizations administered; and 
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6. A plan of care, including initiation of treatment, as 
appropriate.  

B. For residents transferring from one JCC to another, the 
report of a medical examination within the preceding 13 
months shall be acceptable. 

C. Each resident shall have an annual physical examination 
by or under the direction of a licensed physician.  

6VAC35-71-970. Dental examinations. 

A. Within seven days of arrival at a JCC, all residents who 
are not directly transferred from another JCC shall undergo a 
dental examination by a dentist.  

B. For residents transferring from one JCC to another, the 
report of a dental examination within the preceding 13 
months shall be acceptable. 

C. Each resident shall have an annual dental examination by 
a dentist and routine prophylactic treatment.  

6VAC35-71-980. Immunizations. 

Each resident's immunizations shall be updated consistent 
with the regulations (12VAC5-90-110) of the Virginia 
Department of Health, Office of Epidemiology, Division of 
Immunization, at the time the record is reviewed. Exemptions 
for immunizations shall be granted consistent with state or 
federal law. 

6VAC35-71-990. Health screening for intrasystem 
transfers. 

A. All residents transferred between JCCs shall receive a 
medical, dental, and mental health screening by health-trained 
or qualified health care personnel upon arrival at the facility. 
The screening shall include: 

1. A review of the resident's health care record; 

2. Discussion with the resident on his medical status; and 

3. Observation of the resident.  

B. All findings shall be documented and the resident shall be 
referred for follow-up care as appropriate. 

6VAC35-71-1000. Infectious or communicable diseases. 

A. A resident with a known communicable disease that can 
be transmitted person-to-person shall not be housed in the 
general population unless a licensed physician certifies that:  

1. The facility is capable of providing care to the resident 
without jeopardizing residents and staff; and 

2. The facility is aware of the required treatment for the 
resident and the procedures to protect residents and staff. 

B. The facility shall implement written procedures, 
approved by a medical professional, that: 

1. Address staff (i) interactions with residents with 
infectious, communicable, or contagious medical 
conditions; and (ii) use of standard precautions;  

2. Require staff training in standard precautions, initially 
and annually thereafter; and  

3. Require staff to follow procedures for dealing with 
residents who have infectious or communicable diseases. 

C. Employees providing medical services shall be trained in 
tuberculosis control practices. 

6VAC35-71-1010. Suicide prevention. 

Written procedure shall provide that (i) there is a suicide 
prevention and intervention program developed in 
consultation with a qualified medical or mental health 
professional and (ii) all direct care staff are trained and 
retrained in the implementation of the program.  

6VAC35-71-1020. Residents' health records. 

A. Each resident's health record shall include written 
documentation of (i) the initial physical examination, (ii) an 
annual physical examination by or under the direction of a 
licensed physician including any recommendation for follow-
up care, and (iii) documentation of the provision of follow-up 
medical care recommended by the physician.  

B. Each physical examination report shall include: 

1. Information necessary to determine the health and 
immunization needs of the resident, including: 

a. Immunizations administered at the time of the exam; 

b. Vision exam; 

c. Hearing exam; 

d. General physical condition, including documentation 
of apparent freedom from communicable disease 
including tuberculosis;  

e. Allergies, chronic conditions, and handicaps, if any; 

f. Nutritional requirements, including special diets, if 
any; 

g. Restrictions on physical activities, if any; and 

h. Recommendations for further treatment, 
immunizations, and other examinations indicated. 

2. Date of the physical examination; and 

3. Signature of a licensed physician, the physician's 
designee, or an official of a local health department. 

C. Each resident's health record shall include written 
documentation of (i) an annual examination by a licensed 
dentist and (ii) documentation of follow-up dental care 
recommended by the dentist based on the needs of the 
resident.  



Regulations 

Volume 26, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations February 1, 2010 

1598 

D. Each resident's health record shall include notations of 
health and dental complaints and injuries and shall summarize 
symptoms and treatment given.  

E. Each resident's health record shall include, or document 
the facility's efforts to obtain, treatment summaries of 
ongoing psychiatric or other mental health treatment and 
reports, if applicable.  

F. Written procedure shall provide that residents' active 
health records shall be:  

1. Kept confidential from unauthorized persons and in a 
file separate from the case record;  

2. Readily accessible in case of emergency; and  

3. Made available to authorized staff consistent with 
applicable state and federal laws.  

6VAC35-71-1030. First aid kits. 

A. Each facility shall have first aid kits that shall be 
maintained in accordance with written procedures that shall 
address the (i) contents; (ii) location; and (iii) method of 
restocking.  

B. The first aid kit shall be readily accessible for minor 
injuries and medical emergencies. 

6VAC35-71-1040. Sick call. 

A. All residents shall have the opportunity daily to request 
health care services.  

B. Resident requests for health care services shall be 
documented, reviewed for the immediacy of need and the 
intervention required, and responded to daily by qualified 
medical staff.  Residents shall be referred to a physician 
consistent with established protocols and written or verbal 
orders issued by personnel authorized by law to give such 
orders. 

C. The frequency and duration of sick call shall be sufficient 
to meet the health needs of the facility population.  For the 
purpose of this section, sick call shall mean the evaluation 
and treatment of a resident in a clinical setting, either on or 
off site, by a qualified health care professional. 

6VAC35-71-1050. Emergency medical services. 

A. Each JCC shall have access to 24-hour emergency 
medical, mental health, and dental services for the care of an 
acute illness or unexpected health care need that cannot be 
deferred until the next scheduled sick call.  

B. Procedures shall include arrangements for the following: 

1. Utilization of 911 emergency services; 

2. Emergency transportation of residents from the facility; 

3. Security procedures for the immediate transfer of 
residents when appropriate; 

4. Use of one or more designated hospital emergency 
departments or other appropriate facilities consistent with 
the operational procedures of local supporting rescue 
squads; 

5. Response by on-call health care providers to include 
provisions for telephonic consultation, guidance, or direct 
response as clinically appropriate; and  

6. On-site first aid and crisis intervention. 

C. Staff who respond to medical or dental emergencies shall 
do so in accordance with written procedures.  

6VAC35-71-1060. Hospitalization and other outside 
medical treatment of residents. 

A. When a resident needs hospital care or other medical 
treatment outside the facility:  

1. The resident shall be transported safely and in 
accordance with applicable security procedures that are 
applied consistent with the severity of the medical 
condition; and  

2. Staff shall escort and supervise residents when outside 
the facility for hospital care or other medical treatment, 
until appropriate security arrangements are made. This 
subdivision shall not apply to the transfer of residents 
under the Psychiatric Inpatient Treatment of Minors Act 
(§§ 16.1-355 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

B. In accordance with applicable laws and regulations, the 
parent or legal guardian, as appropriate and applicable, shall 
be informed that the resident was taken outside the facility for 
medical attention as soon as is practicable.  

6VAC35-71-1070. Medication. 

A. All medication shall be properly labeled consistent with 
the requirements of the Virginia Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-
3400 et seq.). Medication prescribed for individual use shall 
be so labeled. 

B. All medication shall be securely locked, except when 
otherwise ordered by a physician on an individual basis for 
keep-on-person or equivalent use.  

C. All staff responsible for medication administration who 
do not hold a license issued by the Virginia Department of 
Health Professions authorizing the administration of 
medications shall successfully complete a medication training 
program approved by the Board of Nursing and receive 
annual refresher training as required before they can 
administer medication. 

D. Staff authorized to administer medication shall be 
informed of any known side effects of the medication and the 
symptoms of the effects. 

E. A program of medication, including procedures regarding 
the use of over-the-counter medication pursuant to written or 
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verbal orders signed by personnel authorized by law to give 
such orders, shall be initiated for a resident only when 
prescribed in writing by a person authorized by law to 
prescribe medication. 

F. All medications shall be administered in accordance with 
the physician's or other prescriber's instructions and 
consistent with the standards of practice outlined in the 
current medication aide training curriculum approved by the 
Board of Nursing. 

G. A medication administration record shall be maintained 
of all medicines received by each resident and shall include: 

1. Date the medication was prescribed or most recently 
refilled; 

2. Drug name; 

3. Schedule for administration, to include notation of each 
dose administered or refused; 

4. Strength; 

5. Route; 

6. Identity of the individual who administered the 
medication; and 

7. Dates the medication was discontinued or changed. 

H. In the event of a medication incident or an adverse drug 
reaction, first aid shall be administered if indicated. As 
addressed in the physician's standing orders, staff shall 
promptly contact a physician, nurse, pharmacist, or poison 
control center and shall take actions as directed. If the 
situation is not addressed in standing orders, the attending 
physician shall be notified as soon as possible and the actions 
taken by staff shall be documented. For the purpose of this 
section, a medical incident means an error made in 
administering a medication to a resident including the 
following: (i) a resident is given incorrect medication; (ii) 
medication is administered to the incorrect resident; (iii) an 
incorrect dosage is administered; (iv) medication is 
administered at a wrong time or not at all; and (v) the 
medication is administered through an improper method. A 
medication incident does not include a resident's refusal of 
appropriately offered medication. 

I. Written procedures shall provide for (i) the documentation 
of medication incidents, (ii) the review of medication 
incidents and reactions and making any necessary 
improvements, (iii) the storage of controlled substances, and 
(iv) the distribution of medication off campus. The 
procedures must be approved by a department's health 
administrator. Documentation of this approval shall be 
retained. 

J. Medication refusals shall be documented including action 
taken by staff. The facility shall follow procedures for 
managing such refusals, which shall address: 

1. Manner by which medication refusals are documented; 
and 

2. Physician follow-up, as appropriate. 

K. Disposal and storage of unused, expired, and 
discontinued medications shall be in accordance with 
applicable laws and regulations.  

L. The telephone number of a regional poison control center 
and other emergency numbers shall be posted on or next to 
each nonpay telephone that has access to an outside line in 
each building in which residents sleep or participate in 
programs. 

M. Syringes and other medical implements used for 
injecting or cutting skin shall be locked and inventoried in 
accordance with facility procedures. 

6VAC35-71-1080. Release physical. 

Each resident shall be medically examined by a physician or 
qualified health care practitioner operating under the 
supervision of a physician within 30 days prior to release, 
unless exempted by the responsible physician based on a 
sufficiently recent full medical examination. 

Part VIII 
Behavior Management 

6VAC35-71-1090. Behavior management. 

A. Each JCC shall implement a behavior management 
program approved by the director or designee. Behavior 
management shall mean those principles and methods 
employed to help a resident achieve positive behavior and to 
address and correct a resident's inappropriate behavior in a 
constructive and safe manner in accordance with written 
procedures governing program expectations, treatment goals, 
resident and staff safety and security, and the resident's 
individual service plan.  

B. Written procedures governing this program shall provide 
the following: 

1. List the behavioral expectations for the resident;  

2. Define and list techniques that are used and available for 
use;  

3. Specify the staff members who may authorize the use of 
each technique;  

4. Specify the processes for implementing; and 

5. Means of documenting and monitoring of the program's 
implementation. 

C. When substantive revisions are made to the behavior 
management program, written information concerning the 
revisions shall be provided to the residents and direct care 
staff prior to implementation. 
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6VAC35-71-1100. Behavior support contract. 

A. When a resident exhibits a pattern of behavior indicating 
a need for behavioral support in addition to that provided in 
the facility's behavior management program, a written 
behavior support contract shall be developed, in accordance 
with written procedures, with the intent of assisting the 
resident to self-manage these behaviors. Procedures 
governing behavior support contracts shall address (i) the 
circumstances under which such contracts will be utilized and 
(ii) the means of documenting and monitoring the contract's 
implementation. 

B. Prior to working alone with an assigned resident, each 
staff member shall review and be prepared to implement the 
resident's behavior support contract. 

6VAC35-71-1110. Disciplinary process. 

A. Each JCC shall follow written procedures for handling (i) 
minor resident misbehavior through an informal process and 
(ii) instances when a resident is charged with a violation of 
the rules of conduct through the formal process outlined 
below. Such procedures shall provide for (i) graduated 
sanctions and (ii) staff and resident orientation and training on 
the procedures.  

B. When staff have reason to believe a resident has 
committed a rule violation that cannot be resolved through the 
facility's informal process, staff shall prepare a disciplinary 
report detailing the alleged rule violation. The resident shall 
be given a written copy of the report within 24 hours of the 
alleged rule violation. 

C. After the resident receives notice of an alleged rule 
violation, the resident shall be provided the opportunity to 
admit or deny the charge. 

1. The resident may admit to the charge in writing to a 
superintendent or designee who was not involved in the 
incident, accept the sanction prescribed for the offense, and 
waive his right to any further review. 

2. If the resident denies the charge or there is reason to 
believe that the resident's admission is coerced or that the 
resident does not understand the charge or the implication 
of the admission, the formal process for resolving the 
matter detailed in subsection D of this section shall be 
followed. 

D. The formal process for resolving rule violations shall 
provide the following: 

1. A disciplinary hearing to determine if substantial 
evidence exists to find the resident guilty of the rule 
violation shall be scheduled to occur no later than seven 
days, excluding weekends and holidays, after the rule 
violation. The hearing may be postponed with the 
resident's consent. 

2. The resident alleged to have committed the rule 
violations shall be given at least 24 hours notice of the time 
and place of the hearing, but the hearing may be held 
within 24 hours with the resident's written consent.  

3. The disciplinary hearing on the alleged rule violation 
shall: 

a. Be conducted by an impartial and objective staff who 
shall determine (i) what evidence is admissible, (ii) the 
guilt or innocence of the resident, and (iii) if the resident 
is found guilty of the rule violation, what sanctions shall 
be imposed;  

b. Allow the resident to be present throughout the 
hearing, unless the resident waives the right to attend, his 
behavior justifies exclusion, or another resident's 
testimony must be given in confidence. The reason for 
the resident's absence or exclusion shall be documented;  

c. Permit the resident to make a statement and present 
evidence and to request relevant witnesses on his behalf. 
The reasons for denying such requests shall be 
documented; 

d. Permit the resident to request a staff member to 
represent him and question the witnesses. A staff 
member shall be appointed to help the resident when it is 
apparent that the resident is not capable of effectively 
collecting and presenting evidence on his own behalf; 
and 

e. Be documented, with a record of the proceedings kept 
for six months. 

4. A written record shall be made of the hearing disposition 
and supporting evidence. The hearing record shall be kept 
on file at the JCC. 

5. The resident shall be informed in writing of the 
disposition and, if found guilty of the rule violation, the 
reasons supporting the disposition and the right to appeal. 

6. If the resident is found guilty of the rule violation, a 
copy of the disciplinary report shall be placed in the case 
record. 

7. The superintendent or designee shall review all 
disciplinary hearings and dispositions to ensure conformity 
with procedures and regulations. 

8. The resident shall have the right to appeal the 
disciplinary hearing decision to the superintendent or 
designee within 24 hours of receiving the decision. The 
appeal shall be decided within 24 hours of its receipt, and 
the resident shall be notified in writing of the results within 
three days. These time frames do not include weekends and 
holidays. 

E. When it is necessary to place the resident in confinement 
to protect the facility's security or the safety of the resident or 
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others, the charged resident may be confined pending the 
formal hearing for up to 24 hours. Confinement for longer 
than 24 hours must be reviewed at least once every 24 hours 
by the superintendent or designee who was not involved in 
the incident. For any confinement exceeding 72 hours, notice 
shall be made in accordance with 6VAC35-71-1140 D (room 
confinement).  

6VAC35-71-1120. Timeout. 

A. Facilities that use a systematic behavior management 
technique program component designed to reduce or 
eliminate inappropriate or problematic behavior by having a 
staff require a resident to move to a specific location that is 
away from a source of reinforcement for a specific period of 
time or until the problem behavior has subsided (time-out) 
shall implement procedures governing the following:  

1. The conditions, based on the resident's chronological 
and developmental level, under which a resident may be 
placed in timeout; 

2. The maximum period of timeout based on the resident's 
chronological and developmental level; and 

3. The area in which a resident is placed.  

B. A resident in timeout shall be able to communicate with 
staff. 

C. Staff shall check on the resident in the timeout area at 
least every 15 minutes and more often depending on the 
nature of the resident's disability, condition, and behavior. 

D. Use of timeout and staff checks on the residents shall be 
documented. 

6VAC35-71-1130. Physical restraint. 

A. Physical restraint shall be used as a last resort only after 
less restrictive behavior intervention techniques have failed or 
to control residents whose behavior poses a risk to the safety 
of the resident, others, or the public. 

1. Staff shall use the least force necessary to eliminate the 
risk or to maintain security and order and shall never use 
physical restraint as punishment or with intent to inflict 
injury. 

2. Trained staff members may physically restrain a resident 
only after less restrictive behavior interventions have failed 
or when failure to restrain would result in harm to the 
resident or others. 

3. Physical restraint may be implemented, monitored, and 
discontinued only by staff who have been trained in the 
proper and safe use of restraint. 

4. For the purpose of this section, physical restraint shall 
mean the application of behavior intervention techniques 
involving a physical intervention to prevent an individual 
from moving all or part of that individual's body. 

B. Each JCC shall implement written procedures governing 
use of physical restraint that shall include: 

1. A requirement for training in crisis prevention and 
behavior intervention techniques that staff may use to 
control residents whose behaviors pose a risk; 

2. The staff position who will write the report and time 
frame;  

3. The staff position who will review the report for 
continued staff development for performance improvement 
and the time frame for this review;  

4. Methods to be followed should physical restraint, less 
intrusive behavior interventions, or measures permitted by 
other applicable state regulations prove unsuccessful in 
calming and moderating the resident's behavior; and  

5. Identification of control techniques that are appropriate 
for identified levels of risk. 

C. Each application of physical restraint shall be fully 
documented in the resident's record including: 

1. Date and time of the incident; 

2. Staff involved; 

3. Justification for the restraint; 

4. Less restrictive behavior interventions that were 
unsuccessfully attempted prior to using physical restraint; 

5. Duration; 

6. Description of method or methods of physical restraint 
techniques used;  

7. Signature of the person completing the report and date; 
and 

8. Reviewer's signature and date. 

6VAC35-71-1140. Room confinement. 

A. Written procedures shall govern how and when residents 
may be confined to a locked room. 

B. Whenever a resident is confined to a locked room, 
including but not limited to being placed in isolation, staff 
shall check the resident visually at least every 30 minutes and 
more frequently if indicated by the circumstances.  

C. Residents who are confined to a locked room, including 
but not limited to being placed in isolation, shall be afforded 
the opportunity for at least one hour of physical exercise, 
outside of the locked room, every calendar day unless the 
resident's behavior or other circumstances justify an 
exception. The reasons for any such exception shall be 
approved in accordance with written procedures and 
documented. 

D. If a resident is confined to a locked room for more than 
24 hours, the superintendent or designee shall be notified.  
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E. If the confinement extends to more than 72 hours, the (i) 
confinement and (ii) the steps being taken or planned to 
resolve the situation shall be immediately reported to the 
department staff, in a position above the level of 
superintendent, as designated in written procedures. If this 
report is made verbally, it shall be followed immediately with 
a written, faxed, or secure email report in accordance with 
written procedures.  

F. The superintendent or designee shall make personal 
contact with each resident who is confined to a locked room 
each day of confinement.  

G. When confined to a room, the resident shall have a means 
of communication with staff, either verbally or electronically. 

H. If the resident, after being confined to a locked room, 
exhibits self-injurious behavior (i) staff shall immediately 
consult with, and document that they have consulted with, a 
mental health professional; and (ii) the resident shall be 
monitored in accordance with established protocols, including 
constant supervision, if appropriate. 

6VAC35-71-1150. Isolation. 

A. When a resident is confined to a locked room for a 
specified period of time as a disciplinary sanction for a rule 
violation (isolation), the provisions of 6VAC35-71-1140 
(room confinement) apply. 

B. Room confinement during isolation shall not exceed five 
consecutive days. 

C. During isolation, the resident is not permitted to 
participate in activities with other residents and all activities 
are restricted, with the exception of (i) eating, (ii) sleeping, 
(iii) personal hygiene, (iv) reading, (v) writing, and (vi) 
physical exercise as provided in 6VAC35-71-1140 (room 
confinement).  

D. Residents who are placed in isolation shall be housed no 
more than one to a room.  

6VAC35-71-1160. Administrative segregation. 

A. Residents who are placed in administrative segregation 
units shall be housed no more than two to a room. Single 
occupancy rooms shall be available when indicated for 
residents with severe medical disabilities, residents suffering 
from serious mental illness, sexual predators, residents who 
are likely to be exploited or victimized by others, and 
residents who have other special needs for single housing. 

B. Residents who are placed in administrative segregation 
units shall be afforded basic living conditions approximating 
those available to the facility's general population and as 
provided for in written procedures. Exceptions may be made 
in accordance with written procedures when justified by clear 
and substantiated evidence. If residents who are placed in 
administrative segregation are confined to a room or placed in 
isolation, the provisions of 6VAC35-71-1140 (room 

confinement) and 6VAC35-71-1150 (isolation) apply, as 
applicable. 

C. For the purpose of this section, administrative segregation 
means the placement of a resident, after due process, in a 
special housing unit or designated individual cell that is 
reserved for special management of residents for purposes of 
protective custody or the special management of residents 
whose behavior presents a serious threat to the safety and 
security of the facility, staff, general population, or 
themselves. For the purpose of this section, protective 
custody shall mean the separation of a resident from the 
general population for protection from or of other residents 
for reasons of health or safety. 

6VAC35-71-1170. Chemical agents. 

Chemical agents, such as pepper spray, shall not be used by 
staff for behavior management or facility security purposes. 

6VAC35-71-1180. Mechanical restraints. 

A. Written procedure shall govern the use of mechanical 
restraints and shall specify:  

1. The conditions under which handcuffs, waist chains, leg 
irons, disposable plastic cuffs, leather restraints, and 
mobile restraint chair may be used;  

2. That the superintendent or designee shall be notified 
immediately upon using restraints in an emergency 
situation;  

3. That restraints shall never be applied as punishment;  

4. That residents shall not be restrained to a fixed object or 
restrained in an unnatural position;  

5. That each use of mechanical restraints, except when 
used to transport a resident, shall be recorded in the 
resident's case file or in a central log book; and 

6. That the facility maintains a written record of routine 
and emergency distribution of restraint equipment.  

B. If a JCC uses mechanical restraints, written procedure 
shall provide that (i) all staff who are authorized to use 
restraints shall receive department-approved training in their 
use, including procedures for checking the resident's 
circulation and checking for injuries; and (ii) only properly 
trained staff shall use restraints.  

C. For the purpose of this section, mechanical restraint shall 
mean the use of an approved mechanical device that 
involuntarily restricts the freedom of movement or voluntary 
functioning of a limb or portion of an individual's body as a 
means to control his physical activities when the individual 
being restricted does not have the ability to remove the 
device.  
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6VAC35-71-1190. Monitoring residents placed in 
mechanical restraints. 

A. Written procedure shall provide that when a resident is 
placed in mechanical restraints staff shall:  

1. Provide for the resident's reasonable comfort and ensure 
the resident's access to water, meals, and toilet; and 

2. Make a direct personal check on the resident at least 
every 15 minutes and more often if the resident's behavior 
warrants. 

B. When a resident is placed in mechanical restraints for 
more than two hours cumulatively in a 24-hour period, with 
the exception of use in routine transportation of residents, 
staff shall immediately consult with a mental health 
professional. This consultation shall be documented. 

C. If the resident, after being placed in mechanical restraints, 
exhibits self-injurious behavior, (i) staff shall immediately 
consult with, and document that they have consulted with, a 
mental health professional and (ii) the resident shall be 
monitored in accordance with established protocols, including 
constant supervision, if appropriate. Any such protocols shall 
be in compliance with the procedures required by 6VAC35-
71-1200 (restraints for medical and mental health purposes).  

6VAC35-71-1200. Restraints for medical and mental 
health purposes. 

Written procedure shall govern the use of restraints for 
medical and mental health purposes. Written procedure 
should identify the authorization needed; when, where, and 
how restraints may be used; for how long; and what type of 
restraint may be used.  

Part IX 
Private JCCs 

6VAC35-71-1210. Private contracts for JCCs. 

A. Each privately operated JCC shall abide by the 
requirement of (i) the Juvenile Corrections Private 
Management Act (§ 66-25.3 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), 
(ii) its governing contract, (iii) this chapter, and (iv) 
applicable department procedures, including but not limited 
to procedures relating to case management, the use of 
physical restraint and mechanical restraints, confidentiality, 
visitation, community relationships, and media access. 

B. Each privately operated JCC shall develop procedures, 
approved by the department, to facilitate the transfer of the 
operations of the facility to the department in the event of the 
termination of the contract. 

6VAC35-71-1220. Privately operated JCCs. 

In addition to the other requirements of this chapter, 
privately operated JCCs shall house only residents who have 
been committed to the department and who have been 

properly transferred to the facility by the department, unless 
otherwise specified by contract with the department. 

Part X 
Boot Camps 

6VAC35-71-1230. Definition of boot camp. 

For the purpose of this chapter, a boot camp shall mean a 
short-term secure or nonsecure juvenile residential program 
that includes aspects of basic military training, such as drill 
and ceremony. Such programs utilize a form of military-style 
discipline whereby employees are authorized to respond to 
minor institutional offenses, at the moment they notice the 
institutional offenses being committed, by imposing 
immediate sanctions that may require the performance of 
some physical activity, such as pushups or some other 
sanction, as provided for in the program's written procedures. 

6VAC35-71-1240. Staff physical and psychological 
qualifications. 

The boot camp shall include in the qualifications for staff 
positions a statement of:  

1. The physical fitness level requirements for each staff 
position; and  

2. Any psychological assessment or evaluation required 
prior to employment.  

6VAC35-71-1250. Residents' physical qualifications. 

The boot camp shall have written procedures that govern:  

1. Admission, including a required written statement from 
a physician that the resident meets the American Pediatric 
Society's guidelines to participate in contact sports and 
from a licensed mental health professional that the resident 
is an appropriate candidate for a boot camp program; and  

2. Discharge should a resident be physically unable to keep 
up with the program.  

6VAC35-71-1260. Residents' nonparticipation. 

The boot camp shall have written procedures approved by 
the department for dealing with residents who are not 
complying with boot camp program requirements.  

6VAC35-71-1270. Program description. 

The boot camp shall have a written program description that 
states:  

1. How residents' physical training, work assignment, 
education and vocational training, and treatment program 
participation will be interrelated;  

2. The length of the boot camp program and the kind and 
duration of treatment and supervision that will be provided 
upon the resident's release from the residential program;  
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3. Whether residents will be cycled through the program 
individually or in platoons; and  

4. The program's incentives and sanctions, including 
whether military or correctional discipline will be used. If 
military style discipline is used, written procedures shall 
specify what summary punishments are permitted.  

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (6VAC35-71) 

Health Services Intake Medical Screening, HS 1/10. 

Intrasystem Transfer Medical Review, HS 2/09.  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(6VAC35-71) 

Screening for TB Infection and Disease, Policy TB 99-001 
(www.vdh.virginia.gov/epidemiology/DiseasePrevention/Pro
grams/Tuberculosis/Policies/screening.htm), Virginia 
Department of Health.  

Prevention and Control of Tuberculosis in Correctional and 
Detention Facilities: Recommendations from CDC, Morbidity 
and Mortality Weekly Report, July 7, 2006, Vol. 55, No. RR-
9 
(http://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/preview/mmwrhtml/rr5509a1.ht
m), Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for 
Disease Control and Prevention. 

A Resource Guide for Medication Management for Persons 
Authorized Under the Drug Control Act, Developed by the 
Virginia Department of Social Services, Approved as Revised 
by the Board of Nursing, July 1996, September 2000. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1820; Filed January 11, 2010, 2:25 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 6VAC35-101. Regulations Governing 
Juvenile Secure Detention Centers (adding 6VAC35-101-
10 through 6VAC35-101-1270). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 16.1-322.7 and 66-10 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

April 6, 2010 - 7 p.m. - General Assembly Building, 9th 
and Broad Streets, Richmond, VA 

April 7, 2010 - 10 a.m. - Department of Juvenile Justice, 
700 Centre, 700 East Franklin Street, 2nd Floor 
Conference Room, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: April 7, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Janet P. Van Cuyk, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Juvenile Justice, 700 Centre, 700 E. Franklin 
St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-
4097, FAX (804) 371-0773, or email 
janet.vancuyk@djj.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 16.1-322.7 of the Code of Virginia requires the 
Board of Juvenile Justice (board) to make, adopt, and 
promulgate regulations governing the operation of local or 
regional detention centers. This mandate requires the 
regulation of the minimum standards for the administration 
and operation of the facilities. 

The board is entrusted with general authority under § 66-10 
of the Code of Virginia to promulgate such regulations as are 
necessary to carry out the provisions of the laws of the 
Commonwealth administered by the director or the 
department. 

Purpose: The board regulates three distinct types of facilities: 
(i) juvenile correctional centers; (ii) detention centers; and 
(iii) group homes and halfway houses. At present, these 
facilities are governed by two separate regulations: (a) the 
Standards for Juvenile Residential Facilities (6VAC35-140) 
and (b) Standards for the Interim Regulation of Children's 
Residential Facilities (6VAC35-51). 

The department has had several iterations of regulations 
governing the residential facilities regulated by the board. 
Earlier, the department had five separate regulations 
governing secure detention homes, postdispositional 
confinement in secure detention, predispositional and 
postdispositional group homes, and juvenile correctional 
centers. These regulations applied to the facilities in 
conjunction with the Standards for the Interdepartmental 
Regulation of Children's Residential Facilities (CORE 
regulation) that went into effect in 1981. 

The board's Standards for Juvenile Residential Facilities 
(6VAC35-140) was most recently reviewed and revised in 
May 2005 and consists of the board's regulations for all 
facilities it regulates. This regulation establishes the minimum 
standards for residential facilities in the Commonwealth's 
juvenile justice system and covers program operations, health 
care, personnel, facility safety, and physical environment. It 
contains additional provisions for secure custody facilities, 
boot camps, work camps, juvenile industries, and independent 
living programs. 

The Standards for the Interim Regulation of Children's 
Residential Facilities (6VAC35-51) is a reenactment of the 
CORE regulation in its entirety. This regulation was adopted 
by the board in September 2008 to comply with the 
requirements of Chapter 873 of the 2008 Acts of the General 
Assembly, which mandated the repeal of the CORE 
regulation and action to be taken by the affected boards by 
October 31, 2009. This regulation has more expansive 
provisions than Standards for Juvenile Residential Facilities 
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(6VAC35-140) and also contains minimum requirements for 
the different facilities regulated by the board.  

Throughout the years, problems have been identified in 
implementing the requirements contained in these two 
separate regulations given the distinct nature of the three 
types of facilities. Accordingly, the board has approved 
consolidating current regulatory requirements for residential 
programs and dividing them into separate regulations 
governing (i) juvenile correctional centers; (ii) detention 
centers; and (iii) group homes and halfway houses. This 
revamping of the regulatory scheme was done in conjunction 
with a comprehensive review of the current provisions. This 
review was done with the goals of enhancing the clarity of the 
regulatory requirements and achieving improvements that 
will be reasonable and prudent, and will not impose an 
unnecessary burden on regulants or the public. 

Having clear, concise regulations is essential to protecting the 
health, safety, and welfare of residents in juvenile secure 
detention centers and citizens in the community. With clear 
expectations for the administrators managing these facilities, 
the facilities will be able to operate more smoothly, which 
will become extremely important in this current climate of 
limited financial resources, and will continue to allow for 
supporting the needs of the residents, thus supporting the 
overall rehabilitation and community safety goals of the 
department. 

Substance: The primary intent of this regulatory overhaul is 
to reduce confusion in applying the regulatory requirements 
in each type of facility regulated by the board (juvenile 
correctional centers, detention centers, and group 
homes/halfway houses). Each provision was reviewed as to 
whether it was (i) appropriate for the type of facility; (ii) clear 
in its intent and effect; and (iii) necessary for the proper 
management of the facility. Amendments were made to 
accommodate the detention centers' specific needs and to 
enhance program and service requirements to best provide for 
the residents. 

The following changes were made to the proposed regulation: 

1. Contains only those provisions relating to that type of 
facility's operation and management.  

2. Removes any responsibilities of the department, 
regulatory authority, or the board currently included in 
the regulations (i.e., issuance of license or certificate and 
sanctions).  

3. Reorganizes the order of the regulatory provisions and 
groups the provisions with similar provisions. The 
proposed regulation has sections for: (i) general 
provisions; (ii) administration and personnel; (iii) 
physical environment; (iv) safety and security; (v) 
residents' rights; (vi) program operation; (vii) work 
programs; (viii) health care services; and (ix) behavior 

management. Facility specific parts are included as 
needed (i.e., postdispositional detention programs).  

4. The following changes are proposed to the General 
Provisions: 

a. Deletes many definitions (such as the definition of 
"day" and "therapy"); changes definitions to correspond 
with those used in other regulations; and, where 
appropriate, incorporates definitions into the substantive 
provisions of the regulation.  Adds definitions for "direct 
care staff," "direct supervision," "regulatory authority," 
and "written." 

b. Cross-references the board's certification regulation 
(6VAC35-20) for consistency in application of variances. 

c. Allows serious incident and child protective services 
reports to be noted in the resident's case record and 
documented elsewhere. Mirrors recent changes adopted 
by the Department of Social Services in its residential 
regulation.  

5. The following changes are proposed in Administration 
and Personnel: 

a. Amends the provisions relating to community 
relationships and adopts different provisions specific to 
the type of setting and locations. 

b. Amends the background checks section to conform 
with the board variance issued November 2008. 

c. Reworks the training sections. Separates out (i) 
orientation; (ii) required initial training; and (iii) 
retraining. 

d. Adds a requirement for staff who transport residents to 
report any changes in their license status. 

e. Clusters all provisions relating to volunteers together. 

f. Reworks the staff and resident tuberculosis screening 
requirements to conform with the language of the 
Division of Tuberculosis Control in the Department of 
Health. 

g. Removes the requirement to retain face sheets 
permanently. 

h. Amends the qualifications section to require the 
facility to follow the procedures of the governing 
authority or locality and ensure employees meet 
applicable job qualifications. 

6. The following changes are proposed to Physical 
Environment: 

a. Amends requirements relating to fire inspections. 

b. Groups all space utilization requirements into one 
section and removes the current regulatory requirements 
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to accommodate study space and all requirements 
relating to live-in staff. 

c. Cross-references the board's reimbursement 
regulations (6VAC35-30) for new construction. 

d. Requires same-sex sleeping rooms (not sleeping areas) 
and deletes the prohibition of having more than four 
residents in a sleeping area. 

e. Adopts board policy language regarding the facility's 
smoking prohibitions. 

f. Deletes the space requirements for a dining area. 

7. The following changes are proposed to Safety and 
Security: 

a. Clarifies the requirements for residents and contract 
workers in implementing and training on the 
emergency/evacuation plan. 

b. Reworks the searches of residents section to address 
facility-specific issues. 

c. Prohibits weapons on the premises except by law 
enforcement. 

8. The following changes are proposed to Residents' 
Rights: 

a. Changes requirement to mail visitation procedure from 
within 24 hours to by "the end of the next business day." 

b. Adds a section titled "Contact with attorneys, courts, 
and law enforcement." 

c. Removes the provisions regarding incontinent 
residents. 

d. Removes the requirements for the facility to have a 
witness present when mail is examined by staff, to hold 
cash and stamps for the residents, and for the residents to 
be able to send correspondence at their own expense.  
Retains the requirement for the facility to provide two 
stamps per week and to allow correspondence with 
attorney/courts.  

e. Allows an exception to the privacy provision when 
mental health issues require constant supervision. 

9. The following changes are proposed to Program 
Operation: 

a. Separates and reworks the sections regarding 
individual service plans and quarterly reports. 

b. Requires one staff member certified in first aid and 
CPR for every 16 residents present. Current regulation 
requires one staff member certified in first aid/CPR to be 
present whenever residents are being supervised. 

10. The health care sections are reworked and updated. 

11. The following changes are proposed to Behavior 
Management: 

a. Changes the requirement for all residents to have a 
behavior support plan to a requirement for a plan to be 
developed when there is a need for supports in addition 
to those provided for in the behavior management 
program. 

b. Reworks the disciplinary process for an expedited 
process in detention centers.  

c. Reworks all provisions relating to room confinement, 
isolation, and administrative segregation. 

d. Prohibits the use of chemical agents.  

12. Redrafts confusing language and deletes unnecessary 
verbiage. 

13. Makes other technical and stylistic changes, such as 
deleting provisions that are duplicative of other 
regulatory or statutory requirements (e.g., the restatement 
that the facility must comply with laws or procedures). 

Issues: The Board of Juvenile Justice serves as the regulatory 
authority for secure residential facilities, both juvenile 
correctional centers and detention centers, and the group 
homes and halfway houses operated by or funded through the 
department. Currently, these facilities are governed by two 
separate regulations: (i) Standards for Juvenile Residential 
Facilities (6VAC35-140) and (ii) Standards for the Interim 
Regulation of Children's Residential Facilities (6VAC35-51), 
unless specifically exempted. 

The current regulatory scheme has several difficulties in 
application. Each regulation has the full force and effect of 
law; unfortunately, some of the provisions are contradictory 
or conflict. Additionally, there are numerous exclusions for 
the different types of facilities from a variety of regulatory 
provisions. Sometimes it is unclear exactly which facilities 
are exempted and to which section or subsection such 
exceptions are applicable. 

To address these issues the department considered two 
courses of action: (i) consolidate the two existing regulations 
into one or (ii) separate the two regulations into three 
regulations, one for each different type of facility regulated 
by the board. 

Due to the distinct characteristics of the types of facilities 
regulated by the Board of Juvenile Justice and the complexity 
of applying a single regulation to the appropriate facility, it 
was concluded that it would be difficult to regulate all such 
facilities in one single regulation. The board approved 
pursuing the second course of action. Thus, the department is 
proposing separate regulations for the three distinct types of 
facilities it regulates: (i) juvenile correctional centers; (ii) 
detention centers; and (iii) group homes and halfway houses. 
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Having clear, concise regulations is essential to protecting the 
health, safety, and welfare of residents in secure detention 
centers and citizens in the community. With clear 
expectations for the administrators managing these facilities, 
the facilities will be able to be operate more smoothly, which 
will become extremely important in this current climate of 
limited financial resources, and will continue to allow for 
supporting the needs of the residents, thus supporting the 
overall rehabilitation and community safety goals of the 
department. 

This regulation poses no known disadvantages to the public 
or the Commonwealth. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Juvenile Justice (Board) proposes to consolidate the 
provisions of two current regulations (6VAC35-51 and 
6VAC35-140) into one new regulation that will govern 
juvenile secure detention centers. Most provisions in this new 
regulation will not vary in any substantive way from those 
mandated by current regulation, current Board policy, and 
current law. There are, however, several new requirements in 
the new regulation. Specifically, the Board proposes to: 

•  Change requirements for resident sleeping areas to allow 
more than four residents to share a sleeping area, 

•  Change the number of CPR/first aid certified staff that are 
required to be on shift when there are residents present (this 
change will harmonize this regulation with current practice),  

•  Require copies of facilities' visitation procedures to be 
mailed to parents of new residents by the end of the business 
day immediately following the resident's admission, 

•  Institute an exception to the rule the requires staff to give 
residents privacy bathing, dressing, or using the bathroom so 
that suicidal residents can be supervised at all times, 

•  Allow greater flexibility in the timing of yearly fire 
inspections, and 

•  Eliminate the requirement that staff write an initial plan that 
outlines a structured program of care and a daily routine 
within three days of a resident's commitment. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. The costs and benefits of these changes are 
discussed below.  

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulations require that 
no more than four residents sleep in one room. The Board 
proposes to remove the requirement that there be no more 
than four residents per bedroom because the Board now 
allows dormitory sleeping areas in facilities. Although no 
detention homes currently have this type of sleeping area, 
localities will benefit from this regulatory change as it allows 
greater flexibility in building new facilities where space is 

used more efficiently. This change will make the detention 
center regulation consistent with the regulation for juvenile 
correctional facilities. 

Current regulations require that each detention home have 
one CPR/first aid certified staff member working whenever 
there are residents present in the home. Current practice, 
however, dictates that there be one certified staff member 
working for every 16 residents that are present. The Board 
proposes to amend this regulation to reflect current practice. 
No detention home will presently incur any costs but this 
regulatory change will remove the flexibility to change 
practice that these homes currently enjoy. 

Current regulations require that copies of facilities' visitation 
procedures to be mailed to parents of new residents within 24 
hours of the resident's admission. The Board proposes to 
change this requirement so that facility staff have until the 
end of the business day following an admission to mail this 
information. Facility staff will benefit from having slightly 
more flexibility to mail out information to parents on days 
when mail is picked up and as it fits into staff duties. 

Current regulations require that residents be given privacy 
from sight supervision by staff of the opposite sex when they 
are bathing, dressing or using bathroom facilities. The Board 
proposes to allow an exception to this rule if constant 
supervision is needed because of a mental health condition. 
This change will benefit facility staff that currently cannot 
both follow the current regulatory requirement and ensure the 
safety of residents who wish to harm themselves. Suicidal 
residents may temporarily lose their right to privacy on 
account of this change but this cost is likely outweighed by 
the benefit of increased safety for these individuals. 

Current regulations require detention centers to undergo a fire 
inspection at least every 13 months. Since fire inspectors, 
rather than facility staff, conduct these inspections, this puts 
staff in an untenable position of guaranteeing the timing of 
someone else's work. The Board proposes to change the 
regulation so that staff must attempt to arrange a fire 
inspection within 13 months of the previous inspection, 
maintain documentation of current certification, and 
document attempts to schedule the fire inspection should that 
inspection not be completed within 13 months of the last 
inspection. This change will benefit detention center staff by 
only making them responsible for the actions that they can 
take. 

Current regulations require detention home staff to draft a 
plan that outlines a structured program of care and a daily 
routine for new residents within three days of their 
commitment. The Board proposes to replace this requirement 
with a provision for new residents to participate in ongoing 
programs upon arrival (and until release). Since all aspects of 
life in a detention canter are already structured, the Board 
believes that requiring a separate written plan for each 
resident is duplicative and unnecessary. Staff at detention 
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centers are likely to benefit from this regulatory change 
because it allows them to eliminate a task that is likely 
unnecessary. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. DJJ reports that this 
regulation will affect the 24 locally or commission operated 
juvenile secure detention centers. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 
likely have no impact on employment in the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 
regulatory action will likely have no effect on the use or value 
of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Small businesses 
in the Commonwealth are unlikely to incur any costs on 
account of this regulatory action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Small businesses in the Commonwealth are 
unlikely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 
action. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The responsible 

Virginia Board of Juvenile Justice agency representatives 
have reviewed the Department of Planning and Budget's 
(DPB) economic impact analysis of 6VAC35-101, Regulation 
Governing Juvenile Secure Detention Centers. The agency is 
in agreement with DPB's analysis. 

Summary: 

The Board of Juvenile Justice (board) proposes to 
consolidate the provisions of two current regulations 
(6VAC35-51 and 6VAC35-140) into one new regulation 
(6VAC35-101) that will govern juvenile secure detention 
centers. Both current board regulations address the 
requirements not only for juvenile secure detention centers, 
but also for juvenile correctional centers and group homes 
and halfway houses. The primary intent of this regulatory 
overhaul is to reduce confusion in applying the regulatory 
requirements in each distinct type of facility. After a 
comprehensive review, amendments were made to 
accommodate the type of facility's specific needs and to 
enhance program and service requirements to best provide 
for the residents. 

Most provisions in the new regulation will not vary in any 
substantive way from those mandated by current 
regulation, board policy, or law. However, several new 
provisions include: (i) changing requirements for resident 
sleeping areas to allow more than four residents to share a 
sleeping area; (ii) changing the number of CPR/first aid 
certified staff that are required to be on shift when 
residents are present; (iii) requiring copies of facilities' 
visitation procedures to be mailed to parents of new 
residents by the end of the business day immediately 
following the resident's admission; (iv) instituting an 
exception to the rule requiring staff to give residents 
privacy bathing; dressing; or using the bathroom so that 
suicidal residents can be supervised at all times; (v) 
allowing greater flexibility in the timing of yearly fire 
inspections; and (vi) eliminating the requirement that staff 
write an initial plan that outlines a structured program of 
care and a daily routine within three days of a resident's 
commitment. 

CHAPTER 101  
REGULATION GOVERNING JUVENILE SECURE 

DETENTION CENTERS  

Part I 
General Provisions 

6VAC35-101-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Annual" means within 13 months of the previous event or 
occurrence. 
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"Behavior management" means those principles and 
methods employed to help a resident achieve positive 
behavior and to address and correct a resident's inappropriate 
behavior in a constructive and safe manner in accordance 
with written procedures governing program expectations and 
resident and employee safety and security. 

"Board" means the Board of Juvenile Justice. 

"Case record" or "record" means written or electronic 
information relating to one resident and the resident's family, 
if applicable. This information includes, but is not limited to, 
social, medical, psychiatric, and psychological records; 
reports; demographic information; agreements; all 
correspondence relating to care of the resident; service plans 
with periodic revisions; aftercare plans and discharge 
summary; and any other information related to the resident. 

"Contraband" means any item possessed by or accessible to 
a resident or found within a detention center or on its 
premises (i) that is prohibited by statute, regulation, or the 
facility's procedure, (ii) that is not acquired through approved 
channels or in prescribed amounts, or (iii) that may jeopardize 
the safety and security of the detention center or individual 
residents.  

"Department" means the Department of Juvenile Justice. 

"Detention center" or "secure juvenile detention center" 
means a local, regional, or state, publicly or privately 
operated secure custody facility that houses individuals who 
are ordered to be detained pursuant to the Code of Virginia. 
This term does not include juvenile correctional centers. 

"Direct care staff" means the staff whose primary job 
responsibilities are (i) maintaining the safety, care, and well-
being of residents, (ii) implementing the structured program 
of care and the behavior management program, and (iii) 
maintaining the security of the facility. 

"Direct supervision" means the act of working with residents 
while not in the presence of direct care staff. Staff members 
who provide direct supervision are responsible for 
maintaining the safety, care, and well-being of the residents in 
addition to providing services or performing the primary 
responsibilities of that position. 

"Director" means the Director of the Department of Juvenile 
Justice. 

"Emergency" means a sudden, generally unexpected 
occurrence or set of circumstances demanding immediate 
action such as a fire, chemical release, loss of utilities, natural 
disaster, taking of hostages, major disturbances, escape, and 
bomb threats. Emergency does not include regularly 
scheduled employee time off or other situations that could be 
reasonably anticipated. 

"Facility administrator" means the individual who has the 
responsibility for the on-site management and operation of 
the detention center on a regular basis.  

"Health care record" means the complete record of medical 
screening and examination information and ongoing records 
of medical and ancillary service delivery including, but not 
limited to, all findings, diagnoses, treatments, dispositions, 
and prescriptions and their administration. 

"Health care services" means those actions, preventative and 
therapeutic, taken for the physical and mental well-being of a 
resident. Health care services include medical, dental, 
orthodontic, mental health, family planning, obstetrical, 
gynecological, health education, and other ancillary services. 

"Health trained personnel" means an individual who is 
trained by a licensed health care provider to perform specific 
duties such as administering heath care screenings, reviewing 
screening forms for necessary follow-up care, preparing 
residents and records for sick call, and assisting in the 
implementation of certain medical orders. 

"Individual service plan" or "service plan" means a written 
plan of action developed, revised as necessary, and reviewed 
at intervals to meet the needs of a resident. The individual 
service plan specifies (i) measurable short-term and long-term 
goals; (ii) the objectives, strategies, and time frames for 
reaching the goals; and (iii) the individuals responsible for 
carrying out the plan. 

"Living unit" means the space in a detention center in which 
a particular group of residents reside that contains sleeping 
areas, bath and toilet facilities, and a living room or its 
equivalent for use by the residents. Depending upon its 
design, a building may contain one living unit or several 
separate living units. 

"On duty" means the period of time an employee is 
responsible for the direct supervision of one or more 
residents.  

"Parent" or "legal guardian" means (i) a biological or 
adoptive parent who has legal custody of a resident, including 
either parent if custody is shared under a joint decree or 
agreement; (ii) a biological or adoptive parent with whom a 
resident regularly resides; (iii) a person judicially appointed 
as a legal guardian of a resident; or (iv) a person who 
exercises the rights and responsibilities of legal custody by 
delegation from a biological or adoptive parent, upon 
provisional adoption, or otherwise by operation of law. 

"Postdispositional detention program" means a program in a 
detention center serving residents who are subject to a 
sentence or dispositional order for placement in the detention 
center for a period exceeding 30 days pursuant to subdivision 
A 16 of § 16.1-278.8 and subsection B of § 16.1.284.1 of the 
Code of Virginia. 
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"Premises" means the tracts of land on which any part of a 
detention center is located and any buildings on such tracts of 
land. 

"Regulatory authority" means the board or the department as 
designated by the board. 

"Resident" means an individual who is confined in a 
detention center. 

"Rules of conduct" means a listing of a detention center's 
rules or regulations that is maintained to inform residents and 
others of the behavioral expectations of the behavior 
management program, about behaviors that are not permitted, 
and about the sanctions that may be applied when 
impermissible behaviors occur. 

"Written" means the required information is communicated 
in writing. Such writing may be available in either hard copy 
or in electronic form. 

6VAC35-101-20. Applicability. 

Parts I (6VAC35-101-10 et seq.) though VIII (6VAC35-
101-1070 et seq.) of this chapter apply to juvenile detention 
centers for both predispositional and postdispositional 
programs unless specifically excluded. Part IX (6VAC35-
101-1160 et seq.) of this chapter only applies to detention 
centers operating postdispositional detention programs for 
residents sentenced for a period exceeding 30 days pursuant 
to subdivision A 16 of § 16.1-278.8 and subsection B of 
§ 16.1.284.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

6VAC35-101-30. Previous regulations terminated. 

This chapter replaces the Standards for the Interim 
Regulation of Children's Residential Facilities (6VAC 35-51) 
and the Standards for Juvenile Residential Facilities 
(6VAC35-140) for the regulation of all detention centers as 
defined herein. The Standards for the Interim Regulation of 
Children's Residential Facilities and the Standards for 
Juvenile Residential Facilities remain in effect for juvenile 
correctional centers and group homes, regulated by the board, 
until such time as the board adopts new regulations related 
thereto. 

6VAC35-101-40. Certification. 

A. The detention center shall comply with the provisions of 
the Regulations Governing the Monitoring, Approval, and 
Certification of Juvenile Justice Programs (6VAC35-20). The 
detention center shall: 

1. Demonstrate compliance with this chapter, other 
applicable regulations issued by the board, and applicable 
statutes and regulations; 

2. Implement approved plans of action to correct findings 
of noncompliance are being implemented; and 

3. Ensure no noncompliances may pose an immediate and 
direct danger to residents.  

B. Documentation necessary to demonstrate compliance 
with this chapter shall be maintained for a minimum of three 
years.  

C. The current license or certificate shall be posted at all 
times in a place conspicuous to the public. 

6VAC35-101-50. Relationship to the regulatory authority. 

A. All reports and information as the regulatory authority 
may require to establish compliance with this chapter and 
other applicable regulations and statutes shall be submitted to 
or made available to the regulatory authority.  

B. A written report of any contemplated changes in 
operation that would affect the terms of the license or 
certificate or the continuing eligibility for licensure or 
certification shall be submitted to the regulatory authority. A 
change may not be implemented prior to approval by the 
regulatory authority. 

6VAC35-101-60. Relationship with the department. 

A. The director or designee shall be notified within five 
working days of any significant change in administrative 
structure or newly hired facility administrator.  

B. Any of the following that may be related to the health 
safety or human rights of residents shall be self-reported to 
the director or designee within 10 days: (i) lawsuits against 
the detention center or its governing authority and (ii) 
settlements with the detention center or its governing 
authority. 

6VAC35-101-70. Variances. 

A. Board action may be requested by the facility 
administrator to relieve a detention center from having to 
meet or develop a plan of action for the requirements of a 
specific section or subsection of this regulation, either 
permanently or for a determined period of time, as provided 
in the Regulations Governing the Monitoring, Approval, and 
Certification of Juvenile Justice Programs (6VAC35-20). 

B. Any such variance may not be implemented prior to 
approval of the board. 

6VAC35-101-80. Serious incident reports. 

A. The following events shall be reported within 24 hours to 
(i) the applicable court service unit; (ii) either the parent or 
legal guardian, as appropriate and applicable; and (iii) the 
director or designee:  

1. Any serious incident, accident, illness, or injury to the 
resident; 

2. The death of a resident;  

3. Any suspected case of child abuse or neglect at the 
detention center, on a detention center-sponsored event or 
excursion, or involving detention center staff as provided 
in 6VAC35-41-60 (suspected child abuse and neglect);  
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4. Any disaster, fire, emergency, or other condition that 
may jeopardize the health, safety, and welfare of residents; 
and 

5. Any absence from the detention center without 
permission. 

B. The detention center shall notify the director or designee 
within 24 hours of any events detailed in subsection A of this 
section and all other situations required by the regulatory 
authority of which the facility has been notified. 

C. The facility shall (i) prepare and maintain a written report 
of the events listed in subsections A and B of this section and 
(ii) submit a copy of the written report to the director or 
designee. The report shall contain the following information:  

1. The date and time the incident occurred; 

2. A brief description of the incident; 

3. The action taken as a result of the incident; 

4. The name of the person who completed the report; 

5. The name or identifying information of the person who 
made the report to the applicable court service unit and to 
either the parent or legal guardian, as appropriate and 
applicable; and 

6. The name or identifying information of the person to 
whom the report was made, including any law-enforcement 
or child protective service personnel.  

D. The resident's record shall contain a written reference (i) 
that an incident occurred and (ii) of all applicable reporting. 

E. In addition to the requirements of this section, any serious 
incident involving an allegation of child abuse or neglect at 
the detention center, at a detention center sponsored event, or 
involving detention center staff shall be governed by 
6VAC35-101-90 (suspected child abuse or neglect). 

6VAC35-101-90. Suspected child abuse or neglect. 

A. When there is reason to suspect that a resident is an 
abused or neglected child, the matter shall be reported 
immediately to the local department of social services as 
required by § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia and in 
accordance with written procedures.  

B. Written procedures shall be distributed to all staff 
members and shall at a minimum provide for:  

1. Handling accusations against staff;  

2. Reporting and documenting suspected cases of child 
abuse and neglect; and  

3. Cooperating during any investigation. 

C. Any case of suspected child abuse or neglect shall be 
reported and documented as required in 6VAC35-101-80 

(serious incident reports). The resident's record shall contain a 
written reference that a report was made. 

6VAC35-101-100. Grievance procedure. 

A. Written procedure shall provide that residents are 
oriented to and have continuing access to a grievance 
procedure that provides for:  

1. Resident participation in the grievance process with 
assistance from staff upon request;  

2. Investigation of the grievance by an objective employee 
who is not the subject of the grievance; 

3. Documented, timely responses to all grievances with the 
reasons for the decision;  

4. At least one level of appeal; 

5. Administrative review of grievances;  

6. Protection from retaliation or threat of retaliation for 
filing a grievance; and  

7. Hearing of an emergency grievance within eight hours.  

B. Each resident shall be oriented to the grievance procedure 
in an age or developmentally appropriate manner. 

C. The grievance procedure shall be (i) written in clear and 
simple language and (ii) posted in an area easily accessible to 
residents and their parents and legal guardians. 

D. Staff shall assist and work cooperatively with other 
employees in facilitating the grievance process. 

Part II 
Administrative and Personnel 

Article 1 
General Provisions 

6VAC35-101-110. Responsibilities of the governing 
authority. 

A. The detention center's governing body or authority 
(governing authority) shall be clearly identified.  

B. The governing authority shall appoint a facility 
administrator to whom it delegates the authority and 
responsibility for the on-site administrative direction of the 
detention center. 

C. A written decision-making plan shall be developed and 
implemented and shall provide for a staff person with the 
qualifications of a facility administrator to be designated to 
assume the temporary responsibility for the operation of the 
detention center. Each plan shall include an organizational 
chart. 

D. Written procedures shall be developed and implemented 
to monitor and evaluate service quality and effectiveness on a 
systematic and on-going basis. Improvements shall be 
implemented when indicated. 
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6VAC35-101-120. Insurance. 

A. Documentation of the following insurance coverage shall 
be maintained: 

1. Liability insurance covering the premises and the 
detention center's operations, including all employees and 
volunteers, if applicable. 

2. Insurance necessary to comply with Virginia's minimum 
insurance requirements for all vehicles used to transport 
residents, including vehicles owned by staff. 

B. Staff who use personal vehicles for official business, 
including transporting residents, shall be informed of the 
requirements to provide and document insurance coverage for 
such purposes.  

6VAC35-101-130. Participation of residents in human 
research. 

A. Written procedures approved by its governing authority 
shall govern the review, approval, and monitoring of human 
research. Human research means any systematic 
investigation, involving a resident or a resident's parents, 
guardians, or family members as the subject of the research, 
which may expose the subject to physical or psychological 
injury and which departs from the application of established 
and accepted therapeutic methods appropriate to meet the 
individual's needs. Human research does not include 
statistical analysis of information readily available on the 
subject that does not contain any identifying information or 
research exempted by federal research regulations pursuant to 
45 CFR 46.101(b). 

B. Information on residents shall be maintained as provided 
in 6VAC35-101-330 (maintenance of residents' records) and 
all records and information related to the human research 
shall be kept confidential in accordance with applicable laws 
and regulations. 

C. The procedures may require periodic progress reports of 
any research project and a formal final report of all completed 
research projects. 

Article 2 
Hiring 

6VAC35-101-140. Job descriptions. 

A. There shall be a written job description for each position 
that, at a minimum, includes the: 

1. Job title or position; 

2. Duties and responsibilities of the incumbent; 

3. Job title or identification of the immediate supervisor; 
and 

4. Minimum education, experience, knowledge, skills, and 
abilities required for entry level performance of the job. 

B. A copy of the job description shall be given to each 
person assigned to a position prior to assuming that position's 
duties. 

6VAC35-101-150. Qualifications. 

A. Detention centers subject to (i) the rules and regulations 
of the governing authority or (ii) the rules and regulations of a 
local government personnel office shall develop written 
minimum entry-level qualifications in accord with the rules 
and regulations of the supervising personnel authority. 
Detention centers not subject to rules and regulations of the 
governing authority or a local government personnel office 
shall follow the minimum entry-level qualifications of the 
Virginia Department of Human Resource Management. 

B. When services or consultations are obtained on a 
contractual basis they shall be provided by professionally 
qualified personnel. 

6VAC35-101-160. Physical examination. 

When the qualifications for a position require a given set of 
physical abilities, all persons selected for such positions shall 
be examined by a physician at the time of employment to 
ensure that they have the level of medical health or physical 
ability required to perform assigned duties. Persons hired into 
positions that require a given set of physical abilities may be 
reexamined annually in accordance with written procedures.  

6VAC35-101-170. Employee and volunteer background 
checks. 

A. Except as required by subsection C, all persons who (i) 
accept a position of employment at, (ii) volunteer on a regular 
basis and will be alone with a resident in the performance of 
their duties, or (iii) provide contractual services directly to a 
resident on a regular basis and will be alone with a resident in 
the performance of that person's duties shall undergo the 
following background checks in accordance with § 63.2-1726 
of the Code of Virginia to ascertain whether there are 
criminal acts or other circumstances that would be 
detrimental to the safety of residents: 

1. A reference check;  

2. A criminal history record check;  

3. Fingerprint checks with the Virginia State Police and 
Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI);  

4. A central registry check with Child Protective Services; 
and  

5. A driving record check if applicable to the individual's 
job duties.  

B. To minimize vacancy time, when the fingerprint checks 
required by subdivision A 3 of this section have been 
requested, employees may be hired, pending the results of the 
fingerprint checks, provided:  
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1. All of the other applicable components of subsection A 
of this section have been completed;  

2. The applicant is given written notice that continued 
employment is contingent on the fingerprint check results 
as required by subdivision A 3 of this section; and  

3. Employees hired under this exception shall not be 
allowed to be alone with residents and may work with 
residents only when under the direct supervision of staff 
whose background checks have been completed until such 
time as all the requirements of this section are completed. 

C. Documentation of compliance with this section shall be 
retained in the individual's personnel record as provided in 
6VAC35-101-310 (personnel records).  

D. Written procedures shall provide for the supervision of 
nonemployee persons, who are not subject to the provisions 
of subsection A of this section who have contact with 
residents.  

Article 3 
Employee Orientation and Training 

6VAC35-101-180. Required initial orientation. 

A. Initial orientation shall be provided to all full-time and 
part-time staff, relief staff, and contractors who provide 
services to residents on a regular basis, in accordance with 
each position's job description. 

B. Before the expiration of the individual's seventh work day 
at the facility, each employee shall be provided with a basic 
orientation on the following: 

1. The facility; 

2. The population served; 

3. The basic objectives of the program;  

4. The facility's organizational structure;  

5. Security, population control, emergency preparedness, 
and evacuation procedures as provided for in 6VAC35-
101-510 (emergency and evacuation procedures);  

6. The practices of confidentiality; 

7. The residents' rights;  

8. The basic requirements of and competencies necessary 
to perform in his positions;  

9. The facility's program philosophy and services; 

10. The facility's behavior management program as 
provided for in 6VAC35-101-1070 (behavior 
management); 

11. The facility's behavior intervention procedures and 
techniques, including the use of least restrictive 
interventions and physical restraint; 

12. The residents' rules of conduct and responsibilities; 

13. The residents' disciplinary process as provided for in 
6VAC35-101-1080 (disciplinary process);  

14. The residents' grievance procedures as provided for in 
6VAC35-101-100 (grievance procedure);  

15. Child abuse and neglect and mandatory reporting as 
provided for in 6VAC35-101-80 (serious incident reports) 
and 6VAC35-101-90 (suspected child abuse or neglect); 

16. Standard precautions as provided for in 6VAC35-101-
1010 (infectious or communicable diseases); and 

17. Documentation requirements as applicable to his 
duties.  

C. Volunteers shall be oriented in accordance with 
6VAC35-101-300 (volunteer and intern orientation and 
training). 

6VAC35-101-190. Required initial training. 

A. Each full-time and part-time employee and relief staff 
shall complete initial, comprehensive training that is specific 
to the individual's occupational class, is based on the needs of 
the population served, and ensures that the individual has the 
competencies to perform the jobs. 

1. Direct care staff shall receive at least 40 hours of 
training, inclusive of all training required by this section, in 
their first year of employment.  

2. Contractors shall receive training required to perform 
their position responsibilities in a detention center.  

B. Within 30 days following the employee's start date at the 
facility or before the employee is responsible for the direct 
supervision of a resident, all direct care staff and staff who 
provide direct supervision of the residents shall complete 
training in the following areas: 

1. Emergency preparedness and response as provided for in 
6VAC35-101-510 (emergency and evacuation procedures); 

2. The facility's behavior management program as 
provided for in 6VAC35-101-1070 (behavior 
management); 

3. The residents' rules of conduct and the rationale for the 
rules;  

4. The facility's behavior intervention procedures, with 
physical and mechanical restraint training required as 
applicable to their duties and as required by subsection D 
of this section; 

5. Child abuse and neglect and mandatory reporting as 
provided for in 6VAC35-101-80 (serious incident reports) 
and 6VAC35-101-90 (suspected child abuse or neglect); 

6. Maintaining appropriate professional boundaries and 
relationships; 
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7. Interaction among staff and residents; 

8. Suicide prevention as provided for in 6VAC35-101-
1020 (suicide prevention);  

9. Residents' rights;  

10. Standard precautions as provided for in 6VAC35-101-
1010 (infectious or communicable diseases); and 

11. Procedures applicable to the employees' position and 
consistent with their work profiles. 

D. Employees who are authorized by the facility 
administrator to restrain a resident, as provided for in 
6VAC35-101-1090 (physical restraint) and 6VAC35-101-
1130 (mechanical restraints), shall be trained in the facility's 
approved restraint techniques within 90 days of such 
authorization and prior to applying any restraint techniques.  

E. Employees who administer medication shall have, prior 
to such administration and as provided for in 6VAC35-101-
1060 (medication), successfully completed a medication 
training program approved by the Board of Nursing or be 
licensed by the Commonwealth of Virginia to administer 
medication. 

F. When an individual is employed by contract to provide 
services for which licensure by a professional organization is 
required, documentation of current licensure shall constitute 
compliance with this section.  

G. Volunteers and interns shall be trained in accordance 
with 6VAC35-101-300 (volunteer and intern orientation and 
training). 

6VAC35-101-200. Retraining. 

A. Each full-time and part-time employee and relief staff 
shall complete retraining that is specific to the individual's 
occupational class, the position's job description, and 
addresses any professional development needs. 

B. All full-time and part-time employees and relief staff 
shall complete an annual training refresher on the facility's 
emergency preparedness and response plan and procedures as 
provided for in 6VAC35-101-480 (emergency and evacuation 
procedures). 

C. All direct care staff shall receive at least 40 hours of 
training annually that shall include training on the following:  

1. Suicide prevention as provided for in 6VAC35-101-
1020 (suicide prevention); 

2. Standard precautions as provided for in 6VAC35-101-
1010 (infectious or communicable diseases); 

3. Maintaining appropriate professional relationships; 

4. Interaction among staff and residents; 

5. Child abuse and neglect and mandatory reporting as 
provided for in 6VAC35-101-80 (serious incident reports) 

and 6VAC35-101-90 (suspected child abuse or neglect); 
and 

6. Behavior intervention procedures. 

D. All staff approved to apply physical restraints, as 
provided for in 6VAC35-101-1090 (physical restraint) shall 
be trained as needed to maintain the applicable current 
certification. 

E. All staff approved to apply mechanical restraints shall be 
retrained annually as required by 6VAC35-101-1130 
(mechanical restraints). 

F. Employees who administer medication shall complete 
annual refresher training as provided for in 6VAC35-101-
1060 (medication). 

G. When an individual is employed by contract to provide 
services for which licensure by a professional organization is 
required, documentation of current licensure shall constitute 
compliance with this section.  

H. Staff who have not timely completed required retraining 
shall not be allowed to have direct care responsibilities 
pending completion of the retraining requirements. 

Article 4 
Personnel 

6VAC35-101-210. Written personnel procedures. 

Written personnel procedures approved by the governing 
authority or facility administrator shall be developed, 
implemented, and readily accessible to each staff member. 

6VAC35-101-220. Code of ethics. 

A written code of ethics shall be available to all employees.  

6VAC35-101-230. Reporting criminal activity. 

A. Written procedures shall require staff to report all known 
criminal activity by residents or staff to the facility 
administrator including, but not limited to, offenses listed in 
§§ 53.1-203 (felonies by prisoners); 18.2-55 (bodily injuries 
caused by prisoners); 18.2-48.1 (abduction by prisoners); 
18.2-64.1 (carnal knowledge of certain minors); 18.2-64.2 
(carnal knowledge of an inmate, parolee, probationer, 
detainee, or pretrial or posttrial offender); and 18.2-477.1 
(escapes from juvenile facility) of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The facility administrator, in accordance with written 
procedures, shall notify the appropriate persons or agencies, 
including law enforcement, child protective services, and the 
department, if applicable and appropriate, of suspected 
criminal violations by residents or staff. Suspected criminal 
violations relating to the health and safety or human rights of 
residents shall be reported to the director or designee.  

C. The detention center shall assist and cooperate with the 
investigation of any such complaints and allegations as 
necessary. 
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6VAC35-101-240. Notification of change in driver's 
license status. 

Staff whose job responsibilities may involve transporting 
residents shall be required to (i) maintain a valid driver's 
license and (ii) report to the facility administrator or designee 
any change in their driver's license status including but not 
limited to suspensions, restrictions, and revocations. 

6VAC35-101-250. Political activity. 

Written procedures governing any campaigning, lobbying, 
and political activities by employees that are consistent with 
applicable statutes and state or local policies shall be 
developed and implemented. The procedure shall be made 
available to all employees.  

6VAC35-101-260. Physical or mental health of personnel. 

When an individual poses a direct threat to the health and 
safety of a resident, others at the facility, or the public or is 
unable to perform essential job-related functions, that 
individual shall be removed immediately from all duties 
involved in the direct care or direct supervision of residents. 
The facility may require a medical or mental health 
evaluation to determine the individual's fitness for duty prior 
to returning to duties involving the direct care or direct 
supervision of residents. The results of any medical 
information or documentation of any disability-related 
inquiries shall be maintained separately from the employee's 
personnel records maintained in accordance with 6VAC35-
101-310 (personnel records). For the purpose of this section a 
direct threat means a significant risk of substantial harm. 

Article 5 
Volunteers 

6VAC35-101-270. Definition of volunteers or interns. 

For the purpose of this chapter, volunteer or intern means 
any individual or group who of their own free will provides 
goods and services without competitive compensation. 

6VAC35-101-280. Selection and duties of volunteers and 
interns. 

A. Any detention center that uses volunteers or interns shall 
develop and implement written procedures governing their 
selection and use. Such procedures shall provide for the 
objective evaluation of persons and organizations in the 
community who wish to associate with the residents. 

B. Volunteers and interns shall have qualifications 
appropriate for the services provided. 

C. The responsibilities of interns and individuals who 
volunteer on a regular basis shall be clearly defined in 
writing. 

D. Volunteers and interns shall neither be responsible for the 
duties of direct care staff nor for the direct supervision of the 
residents.  

6VAC35-101-290. Background checks for volunteers and 
interns. 

A. Any individual who (i) volunteers on a regular basis or is 
an intern and (ii) will be alone with a resident in the 
performance of that person's duties shall be subject to the 
background check requirements in 6VAC35-101-170 A 
(employee and volunteer background checks). 

B. Documentation of compliance with the background check 
requirements shall be maintained for each intern and 
volunteer for whom a background investigation is required. 
Such records shall be kept in accordance with 6VAC35-101-
310 (personnel records). 

C. A detention center that uses volunteers or interns shall 
have procedures for supervising volunteers or interns, on 
whom background checks are not required or whose 
background checks have not been completed, who have 
contact with residents. 

6VAC35-101-300. Volunteer and intern orientation and 
training. 

A. Volunteers and interns shall be provided with a basic 
orientation on the following:  

1. The facility; 

2. The population served; 

3. The basic objectives of the facility;  

4. The facility's organizational structure;  

5. Security, population control, emergency, emergency 
preparedness, and evacuation procedures;  

6. The practices of confidentiality; 

7. The residents' rights; and 

8. The basic requirements of and competencies necessary 
to perform their duties and responsibilities.  

B. Volunteers and interns shall be trained within 30 days 
from their start date at the facility in the following:  

1. Any procedures that are applicable to their duties and 
responsibilities; and 

2. Their duties and responsibilities in the event of a facility 
evacuation as provided for in 6VAC35-101-510 
(emergency and evacuation procedures). 

Article 6 
Employee Records 

6VAC35-101-310. Personnel records. 

A. Separate up-to-date written or automated personnel 
records shall be maintained on each (i) employee and (ii) 
volunteer or intern on whom a background check is required. 

B. The records of each employee shall include: 
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1. A completed employment application form or other 
written material providing the individual's name, address, 
phone number, and social security number or other unique 
identifier; 

2. Educational background and employment history; 

3. Written references or notations of oral references; 

4. Annual performance evaluations; 

5. Date of employment for each position held and 
separation date;  

6. Documentation of compliance with requirements of 
Virginia law regarding child protective services and 
criminal history background investigations; 

7. Documentation of the verification of any educational 
requirements and of professional certification or licensure, 
if required by the position;  

8. Documentation of all training required by this chapter 
and any other training received by individual staff; and 

9. A current job description. 

C. If applicable, health records, including reports of any 
required health examinations, shall be maintained separately 
from the other records required by this section. 

D. Personnel records on contract service providers and 
volunteers and interns may be limited to the verification of 
the completion of any required background checks as 
required by 6VAC35-101-170 (employee and volunteer 
background checks).  

6VAC35-101-320. Employee tuberculosis screening and 
follow-up. 

A. On or before the employee's start date at the facility and 
at least annually thereafter each employee shall submit the 
results of a tuberculosis screening assessment that is no older 
than 30 days. The documentation shall indicate the screening 
results as to whether there is an absence of tuberculosis in a 
communicable form. 

B. Each employee shall submit evidence of an annual 
evaluation of freedom from tuberculosis in a communicable 
form. 

C. Employees shall undergo a subsequent tuberculosis 
screening or evaluation, as applicable, in the following 
circumstances: 

1. The employee comes into contact with a known case of 
infectious tuberculosis; and 

2. The employee develops chronic respiratory symptoms of 
three weeks' duration. 

D. Employees suspected of having tuberculosis in a 
communicable form shall not be permitted to return to work 
or have contact with staff or residents until a physician has 

determined that the individual does not have tuberculosis in a 
communicable form. 

E. Any active case of tuberculosis developed by an 
employee or a resident shall be reported to the local health 
department in accordance with the requirements of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia State Board of Health 
Regulations for Disease Reporting and Control (12VAC5-
90). 

F. Documentation of any screening results shall be retained 
in a manner that maintains the confidentiality of information. 

G. The detection, diagnosis, prophylaxis, and treatment of 
pulmonary tuberculosis shall be performed in compliance 
with Screening for TB Infection and Disease, Policy 99-001, 
Virginia Department of Health, Division of Tuberculosis 
Prevention and Control. 

Article 7 
Residents' Records 

6VAC35-101-330. Maintenance of residents' records. 

A. A separate written or automated case record shall be 
maintained for each resident that shall include all 
correspondence and documents received by the detention 
center relating to the care of that resident and documentation 
of all case management services provided. 

B. A separate health record may be kept on each resident. 
The resident's active health records shall be kept in 
accordance with 6VAC35-101-1030 (residents' health care 
records) and applicable laws and regulations. 

C. Each case record and health record shall be kept (i) up to 
date, (ii) in a uniform manner, and (iii) confidential from 
unauthorized access. Case records shall be released in 
accordance with §§ 16.1-300 and 16.1-309.1 of the Code of 
Virginia and applicable state and federal laws and regulations. 

D. Written procedures shall provide for the management of 
all records, written and automated, and shall describe 
confidentiality, accessibility, security, and retention of 
records pertaining to residents, including: 

1. Access, duplication, dissemination, and acquisition of 
information only to persons legally authorized according to 
federal and state laws; 

2. If automated records are utilized, the procedures shall 
address: 

a. How records are protected from unauthorized access; 

b. How records are protected from unauthorized Internet 
access; 

c. How records are protected from loss; 

d. How records are protected from unauthorized 
alteration; and 
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e. How records are backed up. 

3. Security measures to protect records from (i) loss, 
unauthorized alteration, inadvertent or unauthorized 
access, or disclosure of information; and (ii) during 
transportation of records between service sites; 

4. Designation of person responsible for records 
management; and 

5. Disposition of records in the event the detention center 
ceases to operate. 

E. The procedure shall specify what information is available 
to the resident. 

F. Active and closed written records shall be kept in secure 
locations or compartments that are accessible to authorized 
staff and shall be protected from unauthorized access, fire, 
and flood. 

G. All case records shall be retained as governed by The 
Library of Virginia. 

6VAC35-101-340. Face sheet. 

A. At the time of admission each resident's record shall 
include, at a minimum, a completed face sheet that contains 
the following: 

1. The resident's full name, last known residence, birth 
date, birthplace, gender, race, unique numerical identifier, 
religious preference, and admission date; and 

2. Names, addresses, and telephone numbers of the 
applicable court service unit, emergency contacts, and 
parents or legal guardians, as appropriate and applicable. 

B. Information shall be updated when changes occur. 

C. Upon discharge, the (i) date of discharge and (ii) name of 
the person to whom the resident was discharged, if applicable, 
shall be added to the face sheet.  

Part III 
Physical Environment 

6VAC35-101-350. Buildings and inspections. 

A. All newly constructed buildings, major renovations to 
buildings, and temporary structures shall be inspected and 
approved by the local building official. Approval shall be 
documented by a certificate of occupancy. 

B. A current copy of the facility's annual inspection by fire 
prevention authorities indicating that all buildings and 
equipment are maintained in accordance with the Virginia 
Statewide Fire Prevention Code (13VAC5-51) shall be 
maintained. If the fire prevention authorities have failed to 
timely inspect the detention center's buildings and equipment, 
documentation of the facility's request to schedule the annual 
inspection as well as documentation of any necessary follow-
up with fire prevention authorities shall be maintained. 

C. A current copy of the detention center's annual inspection 
and approval, in accordance with state and local inspection 
laws, regulations, and ordinances, of the systems listed below 
shall be maintained. These inspections shall be of the: 

1. General sanitation; 

2. Sewage disposal system; 

3. Water supply; and 

4. Food service operations. 

D. Building plans and specifications for new construction, 
change in use of existing buildings, and any structural 
modifications or additions to existing buildings shall be 
submitted to and approved by the regulatory authority and by 
other appropriate regulatory agencies. Any planned 
construction, renovation, enlargement, or expansion of a 
detention center shall follow the submission and approval 
requirements of the Regulations for State Reimbursement of 
Local Juvenile Residential Facility Costs (6VAC35-30) and 
of any other applicable regulatory authorities.  

6VAC35-101-360. Equipment and systems inspections and 
maintenance. 

A. All safety, emergency, and communications equipment 
and systems shall be inspected, tested, and maintained by 
designated staff in accordance with the manufacturer's 
recommendations or instruction manuals or, absent such 
requirements, in accordance with a schedule that is approved 
by the facility administrator. Testing of such equipment and 
systems shall, at a minimum, be conducted quarterly. 

B. Whenever safety, emergency, and communications 
equipment or a system is found to be defective, immediate 
steps shall be taken to rectify the situation and to repair, 
remove, or replace the defective equipment.  

6VAC35-101-370. Alternate power source. 

The facility shall have access to an alternate power source 
for use in an emergency.  

6VAC35-101-380. Heating and cooling systems and 
ventilation. 

A. Heat shall be distributed in all rooms occupied by the 
residents such that a temperature no less than 68°F is 
maintained, unless otherwise mandated by state or federal 
authorities. 

B. Air conditioning or mechanical ventilating systems, such 
as electric fans, shall be provided in all rooms occupied by 
residents when the temperature in those rooms exceeds 80°F. 

6VAC35-101-390. Lighting. 

A. Sleeping and activity areas shall provide natural lighting.  
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B. All areas within buildings shall be lighted for safety and 
the lighting shall be sufficient for the activities being 
performed. 

C. There shall be night lighting sufficient to observe 
residents. 

D. Operable flashlights or battery powered lanterns shall be 
accessible to each direct care staff member on duty. 

E. Outside entrances and parking areas shall be lighted. 

6VAC35-101-400. Plumbing and water supply; 
temperature. 

A. Plumbing shall be maintained in operational condition, as 
designed. 

B. An adequate supply of hot and cold running water shall 
be available at all times. 

C. Precautions shall be taken to prevent scalding from 
running water. Water temperatures should be maintained at 
100°F to 120°F. 

6VAC35-101-410. Drinking water. 

A. In all detention centers constructed after January 1, 1998, 
all sleeping areas shall have fresh drinking water for the 
residents' use. 

B. All activity areas shall have potable drinking water 
available for the residents' use. 

6VAC35-101-420. Toilet facilities. 

A. There shall be at least one toilet, one hand basin, and one 
shower or bathtub in each living unit.  

B. There shall be toilet facilities available for resident use in 
all sleeping areas for each detention center constructed after 
January 1, 1998. 

C. There shall be at least one toilet, one hand basin, and one 
shower or bathtub for every eight residents for detention 
centers constructed before July 1, 1981. There shall be one 
toilet, one hand basin, and one shower or tub for every four 
residents in any building constructed or structurally modified 
after July 1, 1981. 

D. There shall be at least one bathtub in each facility. 

E. The maximum number of staff members on duty in the 
living unit shall be counted in determining the required 
number of toilets and hand basins when a separate bathroom 
is not provided for staff. 

6VAC35-101-430. Sleeping areas. 

A. Males and females shall have separate sleeping rooms. 

B. Beds shall be at least three feet apart at the head, foot, 
and sides; and double-decker beds shall be at least five feet 
apart at the head, foot, and sides. 

C. Sleeping quarters established, constructed, or structurally 
modified after July 1, 1981, shall have: 

1. At least 80 square feet of floor area in a bedroom 
accommodating one person; 

2. At least 60 square feet of floor area per person in rooms 
accommodating two or more persons; and 

3. Ceilings with a primary height at least 7-1/2 feet in 
height exclusive of protrusions, duct work, or dormers. 

D. Mattresses shall be fire retardant as evidenced by 
documentation from the manufacturer except in buildings 
equipped with an automated sprinkler system as required by 
the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-
63). 

E. The environment of sleeping areas shall be, during 
sleeping hours, maintained in a manner that is conducive to 
sleep and rest. 

6VAC35-101-440. Furnishings. 

All furnishings and equipment shall be safe, clean, and 
suitable to the ages and number of residents. 

6VAC35-101-450. Disposal of garbage and management 
of hazardous materials. 

A. Provision shall be made for the collection and legal 
disposal of all garbage and waste materials. 

B. All flammable, toxic, and caustic materials within the 
facility shall be stored, used, and disposed of in appropriate 
receptacles and in accordance with federal, state, and local 
requirements.  

6VAC35-101-460. Smoking prohibition. 

Tobacco products, including cigarettes, cigars, pipes, and 
smokeless tobacco, such as chewing tobacco or snuff, shall 
not be used by staff or visitors in any areas of the facility or 
its premises where residents may see or smell the tobacco 
product. 

6VAC35-101-470. Space utilization. 

A. Each detention center shall provide for the following: 

1. Indoor and outdoor recreation areas;  

2. School classrooms when a school program is operated at 
the detention center developed in consultation with the 
local educational authorities;  

3. Kitchen facilities and equipment for the preparation and 
service of meals;  

4. Space and equipment for laundry, if laundry is done at 
the detention center;  

5. A designated visiting area that permits informal 
communication between residents and visitors, including 
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opportunity for physical contact in accordance with written 
procedures; 

6. Storage space for items such as first aid equipment, 
household supplies, recreational equipment, and other 
materials;  

7. Space for administrative activities including, as 
appropriate to the program, confidential conversations and 
provision for storage of records and materials; and  

8. A central medical room with medical examination 
facilities developed and equipped in consultation with the 
health authority. 

B. If a school programs is operated at the facility, school 
classrooms shall be designed in consultation with appropriate 
education authorities to comply with applicable state and 
local requirements. 

C. Spaces or areas may be interchangeably utilized but shall 
be in functional condition for the designated purposes.  

6VAC35-101-480. Kitchen operation and safety. 

A. Meals shall be served in areas equipped with tables and 
benches or chairs that are size and age appropriate for the 
residents. 

B. Written procedures shall govern access to all areas where 
food or utensils are stored and the inventory and control of all 
culinary equipment to which the residents reasonably may be 
expected to have access. 

C. Walk-in refrigerators and freezers shall be equipped to 
permit emergency exits. 

D. Bleach or another sanitizing agent approved by the 
federal Environmental Protection Agency to destroy bacteria 
shall be used in laundering table and kitchen linens. 

E. Residents shall not be permitted to work in the detention 
center's food service.  

6VAC35-101-490. Maintenance of the buildings and 
grounds. 

A. The interior and exterior of all buildings and grounds 
shall be safe, maintained, and reasonably free of clutter and 
rubbish. This includes, but is not limited to, (i) required locks, 
mechanical devices, indoor and outdoor equipment, and 
furnishings and (ii) all areas where residents, staff, and 
visitors reasonably may be expected to have access. 

B. All buildings shall be reasonably free of stale, musty, or 
foul odors.  

C. Buildings shall be kept reasonably free of flies, roaches, 
rats, and other vermin. 

6VAC35-101-500. Animals on the premises. 

A. Animals maintained on the premises shall be housed at a 
reasonable distance from sleeping, living, eating, and food 

preparation areas, as well as a safe distance from water 
supplies.  

B. Animals maintained on the premises shall be tested, 
inoculated, and licensed as required by law. 

C. The premises shall be kept reasonably free of stray 
domestic animals. 

D. Pets shall be provided with clean sleeping areas and 
adequate food and water. 

Part IV 
Safety and Security 

6VAC35-101-510. Emergency and evacuation procedures. 

A. A written emergency preparedness and response plan 
shall be developed. The plan shall address: 

1. Documentation of contact with the local emergency 
coordinator to determine (i) local disaster risks; (ii) 
communitywide plans to address different disasters and 
emergency situations; and (iii) assistance, if any, that the 
local emergency management office will provide to the 
detention center in an emergency; 

2. Analysis of the detention center's capabilities and 
potential hazards, including natural disasters, severe 
weather, fire, flooding, work place violence or terrorism, 
missing persons, severe injuries, or other emergencies that 
would disrupt the normal course of service delivery; 

3. Written emergency management procedures outlining 
specific responsibilities for provision of administrative 
direction and management of response activities; 
coordination of logistics during the emergency; 
communications; life safety of employees, contractors, 
interns, volunteers, visitors, and residents; property 
protection; fire protection service; community outreach; 
and recovery and restoration; 

4. Written emergency response procedures for assessing 
the situation; protecting residents, employees, contractors, 
interns, volunteers, and visitors; equipment and vital 
records; and restoring services. Emergency procedures 
shall address: 

a. Communicating with employees, contractors, and 
community responders; 

b. Warning and notification of residents; 

c. Providing emergency access to secure areas and 
opening locked doors; 

d. Conducting evacuations to emergency shelters or 
alternative sites and accounting for all residents; 

e. Relocating residents, if necessary; 

f. Notifying parents and legal guardians, as applicable 
and appropriate; 
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g. Alerting emergency personnel and sounding alarms;  

h. Locating and shutting off utilities when necessary; and 

i. Providing for a planned, personalized means of 
effective egress for residents who use wheelchairs, 
crutches, canes, or other mechanical devices for 
assistance in walking.  

5. Supporting documents that would be needed in an 
emergency, including emergency call lists, building and 
site maps necessary to shut off utilities, designated escape 
routes, and list of major resources such as local emergency 
shelters; and 

6. Schedule for testing the implementation of the plan and 
conducting emergency preparedness drills. 

B. Emergency preparedness and response training shall be 
developed for all employees to ensure they are prepared to 
implement the emergency preparedness plan in the event of 
an emergency.  Such training shall be conducted in 
accordance with 6VAC35-101-180 (required initial 
orientation) through 6VAC35-101-200 (retraining) and 
include the employees' responsibilities for: 

1. Alerting emergency personnel and sounding alarms; 

2. Implementing evacuation procedures, including 
evacuation of residents with special needs (i.e., deaf, blind, 
nonambulatory); 

3. Using, maintaining, and operating emergency 
equipment; 

4. Accessing emergency information for residents 
including medical information; and 

5. Utilizing community support services. 

C. Contractors and volunteers shall be oriented in their 
responsibilities in implementing the evacuation plan in the 
event of an emergency. Such orientation shall be in 
accordance with the requirements of 6VAC35-101-180 
(required initial orientation) and 6VAC35-101-300 (volunteer 
and intern orientation and training).  

D. The annual review of the emergency preparedness plan 
shall be documented, and revisions shall be made as deemed 
necessary. Such revisions shall be communicated to 
employees, contractors, interns, and volunteers and 
incorporated into training for employees, contractors, interns 
and volunteers, and orientation of residents to services. 

E. In the event of a disaster, fire, emergency, or any other 
condition that may jeopardize the health, safety, and welfare 
of residents, appropriate actions shall be taken to protect the 
health, safety, and welfare of the residents and to remedy the 
conditions as soon as possible. 

F. In the event of a disaster, fire, emergency, or any other 
condition that may jeopardize the health, safety, and welfare 

of residents, the detention center first should respond and 
stabilize the disaster or emergency. After the disaster or 
emergency is stabilized, the disaster or emergency shall be 
reported to the legal guardian and the applicable court service 
unit and the conditions at the detention center and the disaster 
or emergency shall be reported to the director or designee as 
soon as possible, but no later than 72 hours after the incident 
occurs. 

G. Floor plans showing primary and secondary means of 
emergency exiting shall be posted on each floor in locations 
where they can be seen easily by staff and residents. 

H. The responsibilities of the residents in implementing the 
emergency and evacuation procedures shall be communicated 
to all residents within seven days following admission or a 
substantive change in the procedures. 

I. At least one evacuation drill (the simulation of the 
detention center's emergency procedures) shall be conducted 
each month in each building occupied by residents. During 
any three consecutive calendar months, at least one 
evacuation drill shall be conducted during each shift. 

J. Evacuation drills shall include, at a minimum: 

1. Sounding of emergency alarms;  

2. Practice in evacuating buildings;  

3. Practice in alerting emergency authorities;  

4. Simulated use of emergency equipment; and 

5. Practice in accessing resident emergency information. 

K. A record shall be maintained for each evacuation drill 
and shall include the following: 

1. Buildings in which the drill was conducted;  

2. Date and time of drill;  

3. Amount of time to evacuate the buildings;  

4. Specific problems encountered;  

5. Staff tasks completed including:  

a. Head count, and 

b. Practice in notifying emergency authorities; and  

6. The name of the staff members responsible for 
conducting and documenting the drill and preparing the 
record. 

L. One staff member shall be assigned to ensure that all 
requirements regarding the emergency preparedness and 
response plan and the evacuation drill program are met. 

6VAC35-101-520. Control center. 

To maintain the internal security, a control center that is 
secured from residents' access shall be staffed 24 hours a day 
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and shall integrate all external and internal security functions 
and communications networks.  

6VAC35-101-530. Control of perimeter. 

A. In accordance with a written plan, the detention center's 
perimeter shall be controlled by appropriate means to provide 
that residents remain within the perimeter and to prevent 
unauthorized access by the public.  

B. Pedestrians and vehicles shall enter and leave at 
designated points in the perimeter.  

6VAC35-101-540. Escapes. 

Written procedure shall govern staff actions to be taken 
regarding escapes and any absence from the facility without 
permission.  Any such procedure shall provide for the release 
of information consistent with the provisions of § 16.1-309.1 
of the Code of Virginia.  

6VAC35-101-550. Contraband. 

Written procedure shall provide for the control, detection, 
and disposition of contraband. Such procedures shall govern 
searches of residents, as required by 6VAC35-101-560 
(searches of residents), and searches of the premises and shall 
provide for respecting residents' rights.  

6VAC35-101-560. Searches of residents. 

A. Written procedures shall govern searches of residents, 
including patdowns and frisk searches, strip searches, and 
body cavity searches, and shall include the following: 

1. Searches of residents' persons shall be conducted only 
for the purposes of maintaining facility security and 
controlling contraband while protecting the dignity of the 
resident. 

2. Searches are conducted only by personnel who are 
authorized to conduct such searches. 

3. The resident shall not be touched any more than is 
necessary to conduct the search. 

B. Strip searches and visual inspections of the vagina and 
anal cavity areas shall be subject to the following: 

1. The search shall be performed by personnel of the same 
sex as the resident being searched;  

2. The search shall be conducted in an area that ensures 
privacy; and 

3. Any witness to the search shall be of the same gender as 
the resident. 

C. Manual and instrumental searches of the anal cavity or 
vagina, not including medical examinations or procedures 
conducted by medical personnel for medical purposes, shall 
be: 

1. Performed only with the written authorization of the 
facility administrator or by a court order; 

2. Conducted by a qualified medical professional; 

3. Witnessed by personnel of the same gender as the 
resident; and 

4. Fully documented in the resident's medical file. 

6VAC35-101-570. Communications systems. 

A. There shall be a means for communicating between the 
control center and living areas.  

B. The detention center shall be able to provide 
communications in an emergency.  

6VAC35-101-580. Telephone access and emergency 
numbers. 

A. There shall be at least one continuously operable, nonpay 
telephone accessible to staff in each building in which 
residents sleep or participate in programs. 

B. There shall be an emergency telephone number where a 
staff person may be immediately contacted 24 hours a day. 

C. An emergency telephone number shall be provided to 
residents and the adults responsible for their care when a 
resident is away from the facility and not under the 
supervision of direct care staff or law-enforcement officials. 

6VAC35-101-590. Keys. 

A. The detention center shall have a written key control plan 
to keep keys secure at all times.  

B. Fire and emergency keys shall be instantly identifiable by 
sight and touch.  

C. There shall be different master keys for the interior 
security and outer areas.  

6VAC35-101-600. Weapons. 

Written procedures shall be developed and implemented to 
govern the possession and use of firearms, pellet guns, air 
guns, and other weapons on the detention center's premises. 
The procedure shall provide that no firearms, pellet guns, air 
guns, or other weapons shall be permitted on the premises 
unless the weapons are: 

1. In the possession of and use by authorized law-
enforcement personnel admitted to facilities in response to 
emergencies; or 

2. Stored in secure weapons lockers outside the secure 
perimeter of the facility by law-enforcement personnel 
conducting official business at the facility.  

6VAC35-101-610. Area and equipment restrictions. 

Written procedure shall govern the inventory and control of 
all security, maintenance, recreational, and medical 
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equipment of the detention center to which residents 
reasonably may be expected to have access.  

6VAC35-101-620. Power equipment. 

Written safety rules shall be developed and implemented for 
the use and maintenance of power equipment. 

6VAC35-101-630. Transportation. 

A. Each detention center shall have transportation available 
or make the necessary arrangements for routine and 
emergency transportation.  

B. There shall be written safety rules for transportation of 
residents and for the use of vehicles. 

C. Written procedure shall provide for the verification of 
appropriate licensure for staff whose duties involve 
transporting residents. 

6VAC35-101-640. Transportation of residents; transfer to 
department. 

A. Residents shall be transported in accord with Guidelines 
for Transporting Juveniles in Detention issued by the board in 
accord with § 16.1-254 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. When a resident is transported to the department from a 
detention center, all information pertaining to the resident's 
medical, educational, behavioral, and family circumstances 
during the resident's stay in detention shall be sent either in a 
written document or electronically to the department (i) with 
the resident, if the detention center is given at least 24 hours 
notice; or (ii) within 24 hours after the resident is transported, 
if such notice is not given.  

Part V 
Residents' Rights 

6VAC35-101-650. Prohibited actions. 

The following actions are prohibited: 

1. Deprivation of drinking water or food necessary to meet 
a resident's daily nutritional needs, except as ordered by a 
licensed physician for a legitimate medical purpose and 
documented in the resident's record; 

2. Denial of contacts and visits with the resident's attorney, 
a probation officer, the regulatory authority, a supervising 
agency representative, or representatives of other agencies 
or groups as required by applicable statutes or regulations; 

3. Any action that is humiliating, degrading, or abusive; 

4. Corporal punishment, which is administered through the 
intentional inflicting of pain or discomfort to the body 
through actions such as, but not limited to (i) striking or 
hitting with any part of the body or with an implement; (ii) 
pinching, pulling, or shaking; or (iii) any similar action that 
normally inflicts pain or discomfort;  

5. Subjection to unsanitary living conditions; 

6. Deprivation of opportunities for bathing or access to 
toilet facilities, except as ordered by a licensed physician 
for a legitimate medical purpose and documented in the 
resident's record; 

7. Denial of health care; 

8. Denial of appropriate services and treatment; 

9. Application of aversive stimuli, except as permitted 
pursuant to other applicable state regulations; aversive 
stimuli means any physical forces (e.g., sound, electricity, 
heat, cold, light, water, or noise) or substances (e.g., hot 
pepper, pepper sauce, or pepper spray) measurable in 
duration and intensity that when applied to a resident are 
noxious or painful to the individual, but does not include 
striking or hitting the individual with any part of the body 
or with an implement or pinching, pulling, or shaking the 
resident;  

10. Administration of laxatives, enemas, or emetics, except 
as ordered by a licensed physician or poison control center 
for a legitimate medical purpose and documented in the 
resident's record; 

11. Deprivation of opportunities for sleep or rest, except as 
ordered by a licensed physician for a legitimate medical 
purpose and documented in the resident's record;  

12. Involuntary use of pharmacological restraints 
(administration of medication for the emergency control of 
an individual's behavior when the administration is not a 
standard treatment for the resident's medical or psychiatric 
condition); 

13. Discrimination on the basis of race, religion, national 
origin, sex, or physical disability; and 

14. Other constitutionally prohibited actions. 

6VAC35-101-660. Residents' mail. 

A. A resident's incoming or outgoing mail may be delayed 
or withheld only in accordance with this section, as permitted 
by other applicable regulations, or by order of a court. 

B. Staff may open and inspect residents' incoming and 
outgoing nonlegal mail for contraband. When based on 
legitimate interests of the facility's order and security, 
nonlegal mail may be read, censored, or rejected in 
accordance with written procedures. The resident shall be 
notified when incoming or outgoing letters are withheld in 
part or in full.  

C. In the presence of the recipient and in accordance with 
written procedures, staff may open to inspect for contraband, 
but shall not read, legal mail. Legal mail shall mean any 
written material that is sent to or received from a designated 
class of correspondents, as defined in procedures, which shall 
include any court, legal counsel, or administrators of the 
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grievance system, the governing authority, the department, or 
the regulatory authority.  

D. Staff shall not read mail addressed to parents, immediate 
family members, legal guardians, guardian ad litems, counsel, 
courts, officials of the committing authority, public officials, 
or grievance administrators unless permission has been 
obtained from a court or the facility administrator or his 
designee has determined that there is reasonable belief that 
the security of the facility is threatened. When so authorized, 
staff may read such mail in accordance with written 
procedures.  

E. Except as otherwise provided in this section, incoming 
and outgoing letters shall be held for no more than 24 hours 
and packages for no more than 48 hours, excluding weekends 
and holidays.  

F. If requested by the resident, postage and writing materials 
shall be provided for outgoing legal correspondence and at 
least two other letters per week. 

G. First-class letters and packages received for residents 
who have been transferred or released shall be forwarded.  

H. Written procedure governing correspondence of residents 
shall be made available to all staff and residents and shall be 
reviewed annually and updated as needed.  

6VAC35-101-670. Telephone calls. 

Telephone calls shall be permitted in accordance with 
procedures that take into account the need for security and 
order, resident behavior, and program objectives.  

6VAC35-101-680. Visitation. 

A. A resident's contacts and visits with family or legal 
guardians shall not be subject to unreasonable limitations 
except as permitted by written procedures, other applicable 
regulations, or by order of a court.  

B. Residents shall be permitted reasonable visiting 
privileges, consistent with written procedures, that take into 
account (i) the need for security and order, (ii) the behavior of 
the residents and visitors, (iii) the importance of helping the 
resident maintain strong family and community ties, and (iv) 
whenever possible, flexible visiting hours.  

C. Visitation procedures shall be provided upon request to 
the parent or legal guardian, as appropriate and applicable, 
and the residents. 

6VAC35-101-690. Contact with attorneys, courts, and law 
enforcement. 

A. Residents shall have uncensored, confidential contact 
with their legal representative in writing, as required by 
6VAC35-101-660 (residents' mail), by telephone, or in 
person. Reasonable limits may be placed on such contacts as 
necessary to protect the security and order of the facility. For 
the purpose of this section a legal representative is defined as 

a court appointed or retained attorney or a paralegal, 
investigator, or other representative from that attorney's 
office.  

B. Residents shall not be denied access to the courts.  

C. Residents shall not be required to submit to questioning 
by law enforcement, although they may do so voluntarily. 

1. Residents' consent shall be obtained prior to any contact 
with law enforcement.  

2. No employee may coerce a resident's decision to consent 
to have contact with law enforcement.  

3. Each facility shall have procedures for establishing a 
resident's consent to any such contact and for documenting 
the resident's decision. The procedures may provide for (i) 
notification of the parent or legal guardian, as appropriate 
and applicable, prior to the commencement of questioning; 
and (ii) opportunity, at the resident's request, to confer with 
an attorney, parent or legal guardian, or other person in 
making the decision whether to consent to questioning. 

6VAC35-101-700. Personal necessities. 

A. At admission, each resident shall be provided the 
following: 

1. An adequate supply of personal necessities for hygiene 
and grooming; 

2. Size appropriate clothing and shoes for indoor or 
outdoor wear; 

3. A separate bed equipped with a mattress, a pillow, 
blankets, bed linens, and, if needed, a waterproof mattress 
cover; and 

4. Individual washcloths and towels. 

B. At the time of issuance, all items shall be clean and in 
good repair.  

C. Personal necessities shall be replenished as needed.  

D. The washcloths, towels, and bed linens shall be cleaned 
or changed, at a minimum, once every seven days. Bleach or 
another sanitizing agent approved by the federal 
Environmental Protection Agency to destroy bacteria shall be 
used in the laundering of such linens and table linens. 

E. After issuance, blankets shall be cleaned or changed as 
needed.  

6VAC35-101-710. Showers. 

Residents shall have the opportunity to shower daily. 

6VAC35-101-720. Clothing. 

Provision shall be made for each resident to have an 
adequate supply of clean, size appropriate clothing and shoes 
for indoor or outdoor wear. 
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6VAC35-101-730. Residents' privacy. 

Residents shall be provided privacy from routine sight 
supervision by staff members of the opposite gender while 
bathing, dressing, or conducting toileting activities, except 
when constant supervision is necessary to protect the resident 
due to mental health issues. This section does not apply to 
medical personnel performing medical procedures or to staff 
providing assistance to residents whose physical or mental 
disabilities dictate the need for assistance with these activities 
as justified in the resident's record. 

6VAC35-101-740. Nutrition. 

A. Each resident, except as provided in subsection B of this 
section, shall be provided a daily diet that (i) consists of at 
least three nutritionally balanced meals and an evening snack, 
(ii) includes an adequate variety and quantity of food for the 
age of the resident, and (iii) meets minimum nutritional 
requirements and the U.S. Dietary Guidelines. 

B. Special diets or alternative dietary schedules, as 
applicable, shall be provided (i) when prescribed by a 
physician or (ii) when necessary to observe the established 
religious dietary practices of the resident. In such 
circumstances, the meals shall meet the minimum nutritional 
requirements of the U.S. Dietary Guidelines. 

C. Menus of actual meals served shall be kept on file for at 
least six months. 

D. Staff who eat in the presence of the residents shall be 
served the same meals as the residents unless a special diet 
has been prescribed by a physician for the staff or residents or 
the staff or residents are observing established religious 
dietary practices. 

E. There shall not be more than 15 hours between the 
evening meal and breakfast the following day, except when 
the facility administrator approves an extension of time 
between meals on weekends and holidays. When an extension 
is granted on a weekend or holiday, there shall never be more 
than 17 hours between the evening meal and breakfast.  

F. Food shall be made available to residents who for 
documented medical or religious reasons need to eat breakfast 
before the 15 hours have expired. 

6VAC35-101-750. Reading materials. 

A. Reading materials that are appropriate to residents' ages 
and levels of competency shall be available to all residents. 

B. Written procedure shall be developed and implemented 
governing resident access to publications. 

6VAC35-101-760. Religion. 

A. Residents shall not be required or coerced to participate 
in or unreasonably denied participation in religious activities. 

B. Procedures on religious participation shall be available to 
residents.  

6VAC35-101-770. Recreation. 

A. The detention center shall have a written description of 
its recreation program that describes activities that are 
consistent with the detention center's total program and with 
the ages, developmental levels, interests, and needs of the 
residents that includes: 

1. Opportunities for individual and group activities; 

2. Opportunity for large muscle exercise daily; 

3. Scheduling so that activities do not conflict with meals, 
religious services, educational programs, or other regular 
events;  

4. Provision of a variety of equipment for each indoor and 
outdoor recreation period; and 

5. Regularly scheduled indoor and outdoor recreational 
activities. Outdoor recreation will be available whenever 
practicable in accordance with the facility's recreation 
program. Staff shall document any adverse weather 
conditions, threat to facility security, or other 
circumstances preventing outdoor recreation. 

B. The recreational program shall (i) address the means by 
which residents will be medically assessed for any physical 
limitations or necessary restrictions on physical activities and 
(ii) provide for the supervision of and safeguards for 
residents, including when participating in water-related and 
swimming activities.  

6VAC35-101-780. Residents' funds. 

A. The facility shall develop and implement written 
procedures for safekeeping and for recordkeeping of any 
money that belongs to residents. 

B. Residents' funds shall be used only (i) for their benefit; 
(ii) for payment of any fines, restitution, costs, or support 
ordered by a court; or (iii) to pay restitution for damaged 
property or personal injury as determined by disciplinary 
process. 

6VAC35-101-790. Fundraising. 

Residents shall not be used in fundraising activities without 
the written permission of the legal guardian and the consent 
of residents. 

Part VI 
Program Operation 

Article 1 
Admission, Transfer, and Release 

6VAC35-101-800. Admission and orientation. 

A. Written procedure governing the admission and 
orientation of residents shall provide for:  
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1. Verification of legal authority for placement;  

2. Search of the resident and the resident's possessions, 
including inventory and storage or disposition of property, 
as appropriate and required by 6VAC35-101-800 
(admission and orientation) and 6VAC35-101-810 
(residents' personal possessions);  

3. Health screening as required by 6VAC35-101-980 
(health screening at admission);  

4. Mental health screening as required by 6VAC35-101-
820 (mental health screening); 

5. Notification of parent or legal guardian of admission; 

6. Provision to the parent or legal guardian of information 
on (i) visitation, (ii) how to request information, and (iii) 
how to register concerns and complaints with the facility;  

7. Interview with resident to answer questions and obtain 
information; and 

8. Explanation to resident of program services and 
schedules.  

B. The resident shall receive an orientation to the following:  

1. The behavior management program as required by 
6VAC35-101-1070 (behavior management); 

a. During the orientation, residents shall be given written 
information describing rules of conduct, the sanctions for 
rule violations, and the disciplinary process. These shall 
be explained to the resident and documented by the dated 
signature of resident and staff.  

b. Where a language or literacy problem exists that can 
lead to a resident misunderstanding the rules of conduct 
and related regulations, staff or a qualified person under 
the supervision of staff shall assist the resident. 

2. The grievance procedure as required by 6VAC35-101-
100 (grievance procedure); 

3. The disciplinary process as required by 6VAC35-101-
1080 (disciplinary process); and 

4. The resident's responsibilities in implementing the 
emergency procedures as required by 6VAC35-101-510 
(emergency and evacuation procedures).  

C. Such orientation shall occur prior to assignment of the 
resident to a housing unit or room.  

6VAC35-101-810. Residents' personal possessions. 

A. Residents' personal possessions shall be inventoried upon 
admission and such inventory shall be documented in the 
resident's case record. When a resident arrives at a facility 
with items not permitted in the detention center, staff shall:  

1. Dispose of contraband items in accordance with written 
procedures; and 

2. If the items are nonperishable property that the resident 
may otherwise legally possess, securely store the property 
and return it to the resident upon release.  

B. Each detention center shall implement a written 
procedure regarding the disposition of personal property 
unclaimed by residents after release from the facility. 

6VAC35-101-820. Mental health screening. 

A. Each resident shall undergo a mental health screening as 
required by § 16.1-248.2 of the Code of Virginia to ascertain 
the resident's suicide risk level and need for a mental health 
assessment. Such screening shall include the following: 

1. A preliminary mental health screening, at the time of 
admission, consisting of a structured interview and 
observation as provided in facility procedures; and  

2. The administration of an objective mental health 
screening instrument within 48 hours of admission. 

B. If the mental health screening indicates that a mental 
health assessment is needed, it shall take place within 24 
hours of such determination as required in § 16.1-248.2 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

6VAC35-101-830. Classification plan. 

Residents shall be assigned to sleeping rooms and living 
units according to a written plan that takes into consideration 
detention center design, staffing levels, and the behavior and 
characteristics of individual residents.  

6VAC35-101-840. Discharge. 

A. Residents shall be released only in accordance with 
written procedure.  

B. Each resident's record shall contain a copy of the 
documentation authorizing the resident's discharge.  

C. Residents shall be discharged only to the legal guardian 
or legally authorized representative. 

D. As applicable and appropriate, information concerning 
current medications shall be provided to the legal guardian or 
legally authorized representative. 

Article 2 
Programs and Services 

6VAC35-101-850. Operational procedures. 

The current program or operating procedure manual shall be 
readily accessible to all staff.  

6VAC35-101-860. Structured programming. 

A. Each facility shall implement a comprehensive, planned, 
and structured daily routine, including appropriate 
supervision, designed to: 

1. Meet the residents' physical, emotional, and educational 
needs; 
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2. Provide protection, guidance, and supervision;  

3. Ensure the delivery of program services; and 

4. Meet the objectives of any individual service plan. 

B. The structured daily routine shall be followed for all 
weekday and weekend programs and activities.  Deviations 
from the schedule shall be documented. 

6VAC35-101-870. Written communication between staff; 
daily log. 

A. Procedures shall be implemented providing for the 
written means of communication between staff, such as the 
use of daily logs. This means of communication shall be 
maintained to inform staff of significant happenings or 
problems experienced by residents, such as any resident 
medical or dental complaints or injuries. 

B. The date and time of the entry and the identity of the 
individual making each entry shall be recorded. 

C. If the means of communication between staff is 
electronic, all entries shall post the date, time, and name of 
the person making an entry. The computer shall prevent 
previous entries from being overwritten.  

Article 3 
Supervision 

6VAC35-101-880. Additional assignments of direct care 
staff. 

A. Direct care staff and staff responsible for the direct 
supervision of residents may assume the duties of nondirect 
care personnel only when these duties do not interfere with 
their direct care or direct supervision responsibilities. 

B. Residents shall not be solely responsible for support 
functions, including but not necessarily limited to, food 
service, maintenance of building and grounds, and 
housekeeping.  

6VAC35-101-890. Staff supervision of residents. 

A. Staff shall provide 24-hour awake supervision seven days 
a week.  

B. No member of the direct care staff shall be on duty and 
responsible for the direct care of residents for more than six 
consecutive days without a rest day, except in an emergency. 
For the purpose of this section, rest day shall mean a period 
of not less than 24 consecutive hours during which a staff 
person has no responsibility to perform duties related to the 
operation of a detention center. Such duties shall include 
participation in any training that is required by (i) this 
chapter, (ii) the employee's job duties, or (iii) the employee's 
supervisor.  

C. Direct care staff shall have an average of at least two rest 
days per week in any four-week period.  

D. Direct care staff shall not be on duty more than 16 
consecutive hours except in an emergency. 

E. When both males and females are housed in the same 
living unit at least one male and one female staff member 
shall be actively supervising at all times.  

F. Staff shall always be in plain view of another staff person 
when entering an area occupied by residents of the opposite 
sex.  

G. Staff shall regulate the movement of residents within the 
detention center in accordance with written procedures.  

H. Written procedures shall be implemented governing the 
transportation of residents outside the detention center and 
from one jurisdiction to another.  

6VAC35-101-900. Staffing pattern. 

A. During the hours that residents are scheduled to be 
awake, there shall be at least one direct care staff member 
awake, on duty, and responsible for supervision of every 10 
residents, or portion thereof, on the premises or participating 
in off-campus, detention center sponsored activities.  

B. During the hours that residents are scheduled to sleep 
there shall be no less than one direct care staff member on 
duty and responsible for supervision of every 16 residents, or 
portion thereof, on the premises.  

C. There shall be at least one direct care staff member on 
duty and responsible for the supervision of residents in each 
building where residents are sleeping.  

D. At all times, there shall be no less than one direct care 
staff member with current certifications in standard first aid 
and cardiopulmonary resuscitation on duty for every 16 
residents, or portion thereof, being supervised by staff.  

6VAC35-101-910. Outside personnel working in the 
detention center. 

A. Detention center staff shall monitor all situations in 
which outside personnel perform any kind of work in the 
immediate presence of residents in the detention center.  

B. Adult inmates shall not work in the immediate presence 
of any resident and shall be monitored in a way that there 
shall be no direct contact between or interaction among adult 
inmates and residents. 

Article 4 
Work Programs 

6VAC35-101-920. Work and employment. 

A. Assignment of chores, that are paid or unpaid work 
assignments, shall be in accordance with the age, health, 
ability, and service plan of the resident. 

B. Chores shall not interfere with school programs, study 
periods, meals, or sleep. 
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C. In both work assignments and employment the facility 
administrator or designee shall evaluate the appropriateness 
of the work and the fairness of the pay. 

Part VII 
Health Care Services 

6VAC35-101-930. Health authority. 

The facility administrator shall designate a physician, nurse, 
nurse practitioner, government authority, health 
administrator, health care contractor, or health agency to 
serve as the facility's health authority responsible for 
organizing, planning, and monitoring the timely provision of 
appropriate health care services, including arrangements for 
all levels of health care and the ensuring of quality and 
accessibility of all health services, consistent with applicable 
statutes and regulations, prevailing community standards, and 
medical ethics. 

6VAC35-101-940. Provision of health care services. 

Treatment by nursing personnel shall be performed pursuant 
to the laws and regulations governing the practice of nursing 
within the Commonwealth. Other health-trained personnel 
shall provide care within their level of training and 
certification.  

6VAC35-101-950. Health care procedures. 

A. Written procedures shall be developed and implemented 
for: 

1. Providing or arranging for the provision of medical and 
dental services for health problems identified at admission;  

2. Providing or arranging for the provision of on-going and 
follow-up medical and dental services after admission; 

3. Providing or arranging for the provision of dental 
services for residents who present with acute dental 
concerns;  

4. Providing emergency services for each resident as 
provided by statute or by the agreement with the resident's 
legal guardian;  

5. Providing emergency services for any resident 
experiencing or showing signs of suicidal or homicidal 
thoughts, symptoms of mood or thought disorders, or other 
mental health problems; and 

6. Ensuring that the required information in subsection B 
of this section is accessible and up to date. 

B. The following written information concerning each 
resident shall be readily accessible to staff who may have to 
respond to a medical or dental emergency: 

1. Name, address, and telephone number of the physician 
and dentist to be notified; 

2. Name, address, and telephone number of a relative or 
other person to be notified; and 

3. Information concerning: 

a. Use of medication; 

b. All allergies, including medication allergies; 

c. Substance abuse and use; and 

d. Significant past and present medical problems.  

6VAC35-101-960. Health-trained personnel. 

A. Health-trained personnel shall provide care as appropriate 
to their level of training and certification and shall not 
administer health care services for which they are not 
qualified or specifically trained. 

B. The facility shall retain documentation of the training 
received by health-trained personnel necessary to perform any 
designated health care services. Documentation of applicable, 
current licensure or certification shall constitute compliance 
with this section. 

6VAC35-101-970. Consent to and refusal of health care 
services. 

A. Health care services, as defined in 6VAC35-101-10 
(definitions), shall be provided in accordance with § 54.1-
2969 of the Code of Virginia. The knowing and voluntary 
agreement, without undue inducement or any element of 
force, fraud, deceit, duress, or other form of constraint or 
coercion, of a person who is capable of exercising free choice 
(informed consent) to health care shall be obtained from the 
resident or parent or legal custodian, as required by law.  

B. The resident and parent or legal guardian, as appropriate 
and applicable, shall be advised by an appropriately trained 
medical professional of (i) the material facts regarding the 
nature, consequences, and risks of the proposed treatment, 
examination, or procedure and (ii) the alternatives to it. 

C. Residents may refuse in writing medical treatment and 
care. Facilities shall have written procedures for: 

1. Explaining the implications of refusals; and 

2. Documenting the reason for the refusal. 

This subsection does not apply to medication refusals that 
are governed by 6VAC35-101-1060 (medication).  

D. When health care is rendered against the resident's will, it 
shall be in accordance with applicable laws and regulations.  

6VAC35-101-980. Health screening at admission. 

A. To prevent newly arrived residents who pose a health or 
safety threat to themselves or others from being admitted to 
the general population, all residents shall immediately upon 
admission undergo a preliminary health screening consisting 
of a structured interview and observation by health care 
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personnel or health-trained personnel, as defined in 6VAC35-
101-10 (definitions), using a health screening form that has 
been approved by the health authority.  

B. Residents admitted who pose a health or safety threat to 
themselves or others shall be separated from the detention 
center's general population but provision shall be made for 
them to receive comparable services.  

C. Immediate health care is provided to residents who need 
it.  

6VAC35-101-990. Tuberculosis screening. 

A. Within five days of admission to the facility each resident 
shall have had a screening assessment for tuberculosis. The 
screening assessment can be no older than 30 days.  

B. A screening assessment for tuberculosis shall be 
completed annually on each resident.  

C. The facility's screening practices shall comply with 
current guidelines and recommendations of the Virginia 
Department of Health, Division of Tuberculosis Prevention 
and Control for the detection, diagnosis, prophylaxis, and 
treatment of pulmonary tuberculosis.  

6VAC35-101-1000. Residents' medical examination; 
responsibility for preexisting conditions. 

A. Within five days of admission, all residents who are not 
directly transferred from another detention center shall be 
medically examined by a physician or a qualified health care 
practitioner operating under the supervision of a physician to 
determine if the resident requires medical attention or poses a 
threat to the health of staff or other residents. A full medical 
examination is not required if there is documented evidence 
of a complete health examination within the previous 90 
days; in such cases, a physician or qualified health care 
practitioner shall review the resident's health record and 
update as necessary.  

B. A detention center shall not accept financial 
responsibility for preexisting medical, dental, psychological, 
or psychiatric conditions, except on an emergency basis.  

6VAC35-101-1010. Infectious or communicable diseases. 

A. A resident with a communicable disease shall not be 
housed in the general population unless a licensed physician 
certifies that: 

1. The facility is capable of providing care to the resident 
without jeopardizing residents and staff; and 

2. The facility is aware of the required treatment for the 
resident and the procedures to protect residents and staff. 

B. The facility shall implement written procedures approved 
by a medical professional that: 

1. Address staff (i) interactions with residents with 
infectious, communicable, or contagious medical 
conditions; and (ii) use of standard precautions;  

2. Require staff training in standard precautions, initially 
and annually thereafter; and 

3. Require staff to follow procedures for dealing with 
residents who have infectious or communicable diseases.  

6VAC35-101-1020. Suicide prevention. 

Written procedure shall provide for (i) a suicide prevention 
and intervention program developed in consultation with a 
qualified medical or mental health professional and (ii) all 
direct care staff to be trained and retrained in the 
implementation of the program.  

6VAC35-101-1030. Residents' health care records. 

A. Each resident's health record shall include written 
documentation of (i) the initial physical examination, (ii) an 
annual physical examination by or under the direction of a 
licensed physician including any recommendation for follow-
up care, and (iii) documentation of the provision of follow-up 
medical care recommended by the physician or as indicated 
by the needs of the resident. 

B. The resident's active health records (i) shall be kept 
confidential and inaccessible from unauthorized persons, (ii) 
shall be readily accessible in case of emergency, and (iii) 
shall be made available to authorized staff consistent with 
applicable state and federal statutes and regulations. 

C. Each physical examination report shall include: 

1. Information necessary to determine the health and 
immunization needs of the resident, including: 

a. Immunizations administered at the time of the exam; 

b. Vision exam; 

c. Hearing exam; 

d. General physical condition, including documentation 
of apparent freedom from communicable disease, 
including tuberculosis;  

e. Allergies, chronic conditions, and handicaps, if any; 

f. Nutritional requirements, including special diets, if 
any; 

g. Restrictions on physical activities, if any; and 

h. Recommendations for further treatment, 
immunizations, and other examinations indicated. 

2. Date of the physical examination; and 

3. Signature of a licensed physician, the physician's 
designee, or an official of a local health department. 

D. Each resident's health record shall include: 
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1. Notations of health and dental complaints and injuries 
and a summary of the residents symptoms and the 
treatment given; and 

2. A copy of the information required in subsection B of 
6VAC35-101-950 (health care procedures).  

6VAC35-101-1040. First aid kits. 

A. A well stocked first aid kit shall be maintained and 
readily accessible for dealing with minor injuries and medical 
emergencies.  

B. First aid kits should be monitored in accordance with 
established facility procedures to ensure kits are maintained, 
stocked, and ready for use. 

6VAC35-101-1050. Hospitalization and other outside 
medical treatment of residents. 

A. When a resident needs hospital care or other medical 
treatment outside the detention center:  

1. The resident shall be transported safely; and  

2. A staff member or a law-enforcement officer, as 
appropriate, shall accompany the resident until appropriate 
security arrangements are made. This subdivision shall not 
apply to the transfer of residents under The Psychiatric 
Inpatient Treatment of Minors Act (§ 16.1-355 et seq. of 
the Code of Virginia). 

B. In accordance with applicable laws and regulations, the 
parent or legal guardian, as appropriate and applicable, shall 
be informed that the resident was taken outside the facility for 
medical attention as soon as is practicable. 

6VAC35-101-1060. Medication. 

A. All medication shall be properly labeled consistent with 
the requirements of the Virginia Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-
3400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Medication prescribed 
for individual use shall be so labeled. 

B. All medication shall be securely locked, except (i) as 
required by 6VAC35-101-1250 (delivery of medication in 
postdispositional programs) or (ii) if otherwise ordered by a 
physician on an individual basis for keep-on-person or 
equivalent use.  

C. All staff responsible for medication administration who 
do not hold a license issued by the Virginia Department of 
Health Professions authorizing the administration of 
medications shall have successfully completed a medication 
training program approved by the Board of Nursing or be 
licensed by the Commonwealth of Virginia to administer 
medications before they can administer medication as stated 
in 6VAC35-101-190 (required initial training). Such staff 
members shall undergo an annual refresher training as stated 
in 6VAC35-101-200 (retraining). 

D. Staff authorized to administer medication shall be 
informed of any known side effects of the medication and the 
symptoms of the effects. 

E. A program of medication, including procedures regarding 
the use of over-the-counter medication pursuant to written or 
verbal orders issued by personnel authorized by law to give 
such orders, shall be initiated for a resident only when 
prescribed in writing by a person authorized by law to 
prescribe medication. 

F. All medications shall be administered in accordance with 
the physician's or other prescriber's instructions and 
consistent with the standards of practice outlined in the 
current medication aide training curriculum approved by the 
Board of Nursing. 

G. A medication administration record shall be maintained 
of all medicines received by each resident and shall include: 

1. Date the medication was prescribed or most recently 
refilled; 

2. Drug name; 

3. Schedule for administration; 

4. Strength; 

5. Route; 

6. Identity of the individual who administered the 
medication; and 

7. Dates the medication was discontinued or changed. 

H. In the event of a medication incident or an adverse drug 
reaction, first aid shall be administered if indicated. Staff shall 
promptly contact a poison control center, pharmacist, nurse, 
or physician and shall take actions as directed. If the situation 
is not addressed in standing orders, the attending physician 
shall be notified as soon as possible and the actions taken by 
staff shall be documented. A medication incident shall mean 
an error made in administering a medication to a resident 
including the following: (i) a resident is given incorrect 
medication; (ii) medication is administered to the incorrect 
resident; (iii) an incorrect dosage is administered; (iv) 
medication is administered at a wrong time or not at all; and 
(v) the medication is administered through an improper 
method. A medication error does not include a resident's 
refusal of appropriately offered medication.  

I. Written procedures shall provide for (i) the documentation 
of medication incidents, (ii) the review of medication 
incidents and reactions and making any necessary 
improvements, (iii) the storage of controlled substances, and 
(iv) the distribution of medication off campus. The 
procedures must be approved by a health care professional. 
Documentation of this approval shall be retained. 
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J. Medication refusals shall be documented including action 
taken by staff. The facility shall follow procedures for 
managing such refusals which shall address: 

1. Manner by which medication refusals are documented; 
and 

2. Physician follow-up, as appropriate. 

K. Disposal and storage of unused, expired, and 
discontinued medications shall be in accordance with 
applicable laws and regulations. 

L. The telephone number of a regional poison control center 
and other emergency numbers shall be posted on or next to 
each nonpay telephone that has access to an outside line in 
each building in which residents sleep or participate in 
programs. 

M. Syringes and other medical implements used for 
injecting or cutting skin shall be locked and inventoried in 
accordance with facility procedures. 

Part VIII 
Behavior Management 

6VAC35-101-1070. Behavior management. 

A. A behavior management program shall be implemented. 
Behavior management shall mean those principles and 
methods employed to help a resident achieve positive 
behavior and to address and correct a resident's inappropriate 
behavior in a constructive and safe manner in accordance 
with written procedures governing program expectations and 
the residents' and employees' safety and security.  

B. Written procedures governing this program shall provide 
the following: 

1. A listing of the rules of conduct and behavioral 
expectations for the resident;  

2. Orientation of residents as required by 6VAC35-101-
800 (admission and orientation); 

3. The definition and listing of a system of privileges and 
sanctions that is used and available for use. Sanctions (i) 
shall be listed in the order of their relative degree of 
restrictiveness; (ii) may include a "cooling off" period 
where a resident is placed in a room for no more than 60 
minutes; and (iii) shall contain alternatives to room 
confinement; 

4. The specification of the staff members who may 
authorize the use of each privilege and sanction;  

5. Documentation requirements when privileges are 
applied and sanctions are imposed;  

6. The specification of the processes for implementing 
such procedures; and 

7. Means of documenting and monitoring of the program's 
implementation including, but not limited to, an on-going 
administrative review of the implementation to ensure 
conformity with the procedures.  

C. When substantive revisions are made to the behavior 
management program, written information concerning the 
revisions shall be provided to the residents and direct care 
staff shall be oriented on the changes prior to implementation. 

D. The facility administrator shall review the detention 
center's behavior intervention techniques and procedures at 
least annually to determine appropriateness for the population 
served. 

6VAC35-101-1080. Disciplinary process. 

A. Procedures. Written procedures shall govern the 
disciplinary process that shall contain the following:  

1. Graduated sanctions and progressive discipline; 

2. Training on the disciplinary process and rules of 
conduct; and 

3. Documentation on the administration of privileges and 
sanctions as provided in the behavior management 
program. 

B. Disciplinary report. A disciplinary report shall be 
completed when it is alleged that a resident has violated a rule 
of conduct for which room confinement, including a bedtime 
earlier than that provided on the daily schedule, may be 
imposed as a sanction. 

1. All disciplinary reports shall contain the following: 

a. A description of the alleged rule violation, including 
the date, time, and location; 

b. A listing of any staff present at the time of the alleged 
rule violation; 

c. The signature of the resident and the staff who 
completed the report; and 

d. The sanctions, if any, imposed.  

2. A disciplinary report shall not be required when a 
resident is placed in his room for a "cooling off" period, in 
accordance with written procedures, that does not exceed 
60 minutes. 

C. Review of rule violation. A review of the disciplinary 
report shall be conducted by an impartial person. After the 
resident receives notification of the alleged rule violation, the 
resident shall be provided with the opportunity to admit or 
deny the charge. 

1. The resident may admit the charge, in writing, and 
accept the sanction (i) prescribed for the offense or (ii) as 
amended by the impartial person. 
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2. The resident may deny the charge and the impartial 
person shall: 

a. Meet in person with the resident; 

b. Review the allegation with the resident; 

c. Provide the resident with the opportunity to present 
evidence, including witnesses;  

d. Provide, upon the request of the resident, for an 
impartial staff member to assist the resident in the 
conduct of the review; 

e. Render a decision and inform the resident of the 
decision and rationale supporting this decision; 

f. Complete the review within 12 hours of the time of the 
alleged rule violation, including weekends and holidays, 
unless the time frame ends during the resident's 
scheduled sleeping hours. In such circumstances, the 
delay shall be documented and the review shall be 
conducted within the same time frame thereafter; 

g. Document the review, including any statement of the 
resident, evidence, witness testimony, the decision, and 
the rationale for the decision; and 

h. Advise the resident of the right to appeal the decision.  

D. Appeal. The resident shall have the right to appeal the 
decision of the impartial person.  

1. The resident's claim shall be reviewed by the facility 
administrator or designee and shall be decided within 24 
hours of the alleged rule violation, including weekends and 
holidays, unless the time frame ends during the resident's 
scheduled sleeping hours. In such circumstances, the delay 
shall be documented and the review shall be conducted 
within the same time frame thereafter. The review by the 
facility administrator may be conducted via electronic 
means.  

2. The resident shall be notified in writing of the results 
immediately thereafter.  

E. Report retention. If the resident is found guilty of the rule 
violation, a copy of the disciplinary report shall be placed in 
the case record. If a resident is found not guilty of the alleged 
rule violation, the disciplinary report shall be removed from 
the resident's case record and shall be maintained as required 
by 6VAC35-101-330 (maintenance of residents' records). 

6VAC35-101-1090. Physical restraint. 

A. Physical restraint shall be used as a last resort only after 
less restrictive interventions have failed or to control residents 
whose behavior poses a risk to the safety of the resident, 
others, or the public.  

1. Staff shall use the least force deemed reasonable to be 
necessary to eliminate the risk or to maintain security and 

order and shall never use physical restraint as punishment 
or with the intent to inflict injury. 

2. Staff may physically restrain a resident only after less 
restrictive behavior interventions have failed or when 
failure to restrain would result in harm to the resident or 
others. 

3. Physical restraint may be implemented, monitored, and 
discontinued only by staff who have been trained in the 
proper and safe use of restraint. 

4. For the purpose of this section, physical restraint shall 
mean the application of behavior intervention techniques 
involving a physical intervention to prevent an individual 
from moving all or part of that individual's body. 

B. Written procedures shall govern the use of physical 
restraint and shall include: 

1. The staff position who will write the report and time 
frame;  

2. The staff position who will review the report and time 
frame; 

3. Methods to be followed should physical restraint, less 
intrusive interventions, or measures permitted by other 
applicable state regulations prove unsuccessful in calming 
and moderating the resident's behavior; and 

4. An administrative review of the use of physical 
restraints to ensure conformity with the procedures.  

C. Each application of physical restraint shall be fully 
documented in the resident's record including: 

1. Date and time of the incident; 

2. Staff involved; 

3. Justification for the restraint; 

4. Less restrictive behavior interventions that were 
unsuccessfully attempted prior to using physical restraint; 

5. Duration; 

6. Description of method or methods of physical restraint 
techniques used;  

7. Signature of the person completing the report and date; 
and 

8. Reviewer's signature and date. 

6VAC35-101-1100. Room confinement and isolation. 

A. Written procedures shall govern how and when residents 
may be confined to a locked room for both segregation and 
isolation purposes.  

B. Whenever a resident is confined to a locked room, 
including but not limited to being placed in isolation, staff 
shall check the resident visually at least every 30 minutes and 



Regulations 

Volume 26, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations February 1, 2010 

1632 

more often if indicated by the circumstances. Staff shall 
conduct a check at least every 15 minutes in accordance with 
approved procedures when the resident is on suicide watch.  

C. Residents who are confined to a room, including but not 
limited to being placed in isolation, shall be afforded the 
opportunity for at least one hour of physical exercise, outside 
of the locked room, every calendar day unless the resident's 
behavior or other circumstances justify an exception. The 
reasons for any such exception shall be documented.  

D. If a resident is confined to his room for any reason for 
more than 24 hours, the facility administrator or designee 
shall be notified.  

E. If the confinement extends to more than 72 hours, the (i) 
confinement and (ii) steps being taken or planned to resolve 
the situation shall be immediately reported to the director or 
designee. If this report is made verbally, it shall be followed 
immediately with a written, faxed, or secure email report in 
accordance with written procedures.  

F. Room confinement, including isolation or administrative 
confinement, shall not exceed five consecutive days except 
when ordered by a medical provider. 

G. When confined to a room, the resident shall have a means 
of communication with staff, either verbally or electronically. 

H. The facility administrator or designee shall make 
personal contact with each resident who is confined to a 
locked room, including being placed in isolation, each day of 
confinement.  

I. During isolation, the resident is not permitted to 
participate in activities with other residents and all activities 
are restricted, with the exception of (i) eating, (ii) sleeping, 
(iii) personal hygiene, (iv) reading, and (v) writing. 

6VAC35-101-1110. Administrative confinement. 

A. Residents shall be placed in administrative confinement 
only by the facility administrator or designee.  The reason for 
such placement shall be documented in the resident's case 
record.  

B. Residents who are placed in administrative confinement 
shall be housed no more than two to a room. Single 
occupancy rooms shall be available when indicated for 
residents with severe medical disabilities, residents suffering 
from serious mental illness, sexual predators, residents who 
are likely to be exploited or victimized by others, and 
residents who have other special needs for single housing. 

C. Residents who are placed in administrative confinement 
shall be afforded basic living conditions approximating those 
available to the facility's general population and, as provided 
for in approved procedures, shall be afforded privileges 
similar to those of the general population. Exceptions may be 
made in accordance with established procedures when 
justified by clear and substantiated evidence. If residents who 

are placed in administrative confinement are confined to a 
room or placed in isolation, the provisions of 6VAC35-101-
1100 (room confinement and isolation) and 6VAC35-1140 
(monitoring restrained residents) apply, as applicable. 

D. Administrative confinement means the placement of a 
resident in a special housing unit or designated individual cell 
that is reserved for special management of residents for 
purposes of protective custody or the special management of 
residents whose behavior presents a serious threat to the 
safety and security of the facility, staff, general population, or 
themselves. For the purpose of this section, protective 
custody shall mean the separation of a resident from the 
general population for protection from or for other residents 
for reasons of health or safety. 

6VAC35-101-1120. Chemical agents. 

Staff are prohibited from using pepper spray and other 
chemical agents to manage resident behavior or maintain 
institutional security.  

6VAC35-101-1130. Mechanical restraints. 

A. Written procedure shall govern the use of mechanical 
restraints. Such procedures shall be approved by the 
department and shall specify:  

1. The conditions under which handcuffs, waist chains, leg 
irons, disposable plastic cuffs, leather restraints, and a 
mobile restraint chair may be used;  

2. That the facility administrator or designee shall be 
notified immediately upon using restraints in an emergency 
situation; 

3. That restraints shall never be applied as punishment or a 
sanction;  

4. That residents shall not be restrained to a fixed object or 
restrained in an unnatural position;  

5. That each use of mechanical restraints, except when 
used to transport a resident or during video court hearing 
proceedings, shall be recorded in the resident's case file or 
in a central log book; and  

6. That a written record of routine and emergency 
distribution of restraint equipment be maintained. 

B. Written procedure shall provide that (i) all staff who are 
authorized to use restraints shall receive training in such use, 
including how to check the resident's circulation and how to 
check for injuries and (ii) only trained staff shall use 
restraints.  

6VAC35-101-1140. Monitoring restrained residents. 

A. Written procedure shall provide that when a resident is 
placed in restraints, staff shall:  

1. Provide for the resident's reasonable comfort and ensure 
the resident's access to water, meals, and toilet; and 
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2. Make a direct personal check on the resident at least 
every 15 minutes and more often if the resident's behavior 
warrants.  

B. When a resident is placed in mechanical restraints for 
more than two hours cumulatively in a 24-hour period, with 
the exception of use in routine transportation of residents, 
staff shall immediately consult with a mental health 
professional.  This consultation shall be documented. 

C. If the resident, after being placed in mechanical restraints, 
exhibits self-injurious behavior, (i) staff shall immediately 
consult with and document that they have consulted with a 
mental health professional and (ii) the resident shall be 
monitored in accordance with established protocols, including 
constant supervision, if appropriate. Any such protocols shall 
be in compliance with the procedures required by 6VAC35-
101-1150 (restraints for medical and mental health purposes).  

6VAC35-101-1150. Restraints for medical and mental 
health purposes. 

Written procedure shall govern the use of restraints for 
medical and mental health purposes. Written procedure shall 
identify the authorization needed; when, where, and how 
restraints may be used; for how long; and what type of 
restraint may be used.  

Part IX 
Postdispositional Detention Programs 

6VAC35-101-1160. Approval of postdispositional 
detention programs. 

A detention center that accepts placements in a 
postdispositional detention program, as defined herein, must 
be approved by the board to operate a postdispositional 
detention program. The certificate issued by the board shall 
state that the detention center is approved to operate a 
postdispositional detention program and the maximum 
number of residents that may be included in the 
postdispositional detention program. The board will base its 
approval of the postdispositional detention program on the 
program's compliance with provisions of 6VAC35-101-1160 
(approval of postdispositional detention programs) through 
6VAC35-101-1270 (release from a postdispositional 
detention program).  

6VAC35-101-1170. Agreement with court service unit. 

The postdispositional detention program shall request a 
written agreement with the court service unit of the 
committing court defining working relationships and 
responsibilities in the implementation and utilization of the 
postdispositional detention program.  

6VAC35-101-1180. Placements in postdispositional 
detention programs. 

A. A detention center that accepts placements in a 
postdispositional detention program shall have written 

procedure ensuring reasonable utilization of the detention 
center for both predispositional detention and the 
postdispositional detention program. This procedure shall 
provide for a process to ensure that the postdispositional 
detention program does not cause the detention center to 
exceed its rated capacity.  

B. When a court orders a resident detained in a 
postdispositional detention program, the detention center 
shall:  

1. Obtain from the court service unit a copy of the court 
order, the resident's most recent social history, and any 
other written information considered by the court during 
the sentencing hearing; and  

2. Develop a written plan with the court service unit within 
five business days to enable such residents to take part in 
one or more locally available treatment programs 
appropriate for their rehabilitation that may be provided in 
the community or at the detention center.  

C. When a detention center accepts placements in a 
postdispositional detention program, the detention center 
shall:  

1. Provide programs or services for the residents in the 
postdispositional detention program that are not routinely 
available to predispositionally detained residents. This 
requirement shall not prohibit residents in the 
postdispositional detention program from participating in 
predispositional services or any other available programs; 
and  

2. Establish a schedule clearly identifying the times and 
locations of programs and services available to residents in 
the postdispositional detention program.  

D. Upon the receipt of (i) a referral of the probation officer 
of a potential resident who meets the prerequisite criteria for 
placement provided in § 16.1-284.1 of the Code of Virginia 
or (ii) an order of the court, the detention center shall conduct 
the statutorily required assessment as to whether a resident is 
an appropriate candidate for placement in a postdispositional 
detention program. The assessment shall assess the resident's 
need for services using a process that is outlined in writing, 
approved by the department, and agreed to by both the facility 
administrator and the director of the court service unit. Based 
on these identified needs, the assessment shall indicate the 
appropriateness of the postdispositional detention program for 
the resident's rehabilitation.  

E. When programs or services are not available in the 
detention center, a resident in a postdispositional detention 
program may be considered for temporary release from the 
detention center to access such programs or services in the 
community. 

1. Prior to any such temporary release, both the detention 
center and the court service unit shall agree in writing as to 
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the suitability of the resident to be temporarily released for 
this purpose.  

2. Residents who present a significant risk to themselves or 
others shall not be considered suitable candidates for 
participation in programs or services outside the detention 
center or for paid employment outside the detention center. 
Such residents may participate in programs or services 
within the detention center, as applicable, appropriate, and 
available. 

6VAC35-101-1190. Program description. 

The postdispositional detention program shall have a written 
statement of its:  

1. Purpose and philosophy;  

2. Treatment objectives;  

3. Criteria and requirements for accepting residents;  

4. Criteria for measuring a resident's progress;  

5. General rules of conduct and the behavior management 
program, with specific expectations for behavior and 
appropriate sanctions;  

6. Criteria and procedures for terminating services, 
including terminations prior to the resident's successful 
completion of the program;  

7. Methods and criteria for evaluating program 
effectiveness; and  

8. Provisions for appropriate custody, supervision, and 
security when programs or services are delivered outside 
the detention center.  

6VAC35-101-1200. Individual service plans in 
postdispositional detention programs. 

A. A written plan of action, the individual service plan, shall 
be developed and placed in the resident's record within 30 
days following admission and implemented immediately 
thereafter. The individual service plan shall: 

1. Be revised as necessary and reviewed at intervals; and 

2. Specify (i) measurable short-term and long-term goals; 
(ii) the objectives, strategies, and time frames for reaching 
the goals; and (iii) the individuals responsible for carrying 
out the plan. 

B. Individual service plans shall describe in measurable 
terms the: 

1. Strengths and needs of the resident; 

2. Resident's current level of functioning; 

3. Goals, objectives, and strategies established for the 
resident; 

4. Projected family involvement; and 

5. Projected date for accomplishing each objective. 

C. Each service plan shall include the date it was developed 
and the signature of the person who developed it. 

D. The resident and facility staff shall participate in the 
development of the individual service plan. 

E. The (i) supervising agency and (ii) resident's parents, 
legal guardian, or legally authorized representative, if 
appropriate and applicable, shall be given the opportunity to 
participate in the development of the resident's individual 
service plan.  

F. The initial individual service plan shall be distributed to 
the resident, the resident's parents or legal guardian as 
appropriate and applicable, and the applicable court service 
unit. 

G. Staff responsible for daily implementation of the 
resident's individual service plan shall be able to describe the 
resident's behavior in terms of the objectives in the plan. 

6VAC35-101-1210. Progress reports in postdispositional 
detention programs. 

A. There shall be a documented review of each resident's 
progress in accordance with § 16.1-284.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. The review shall report the: 

1. Resident's progress toward meeting the plan's objectives; 

2. Family's involvement; and 

3. Continuing needs of the resident. 

B. Each progress report shall include (i) the date it was 
developed and (ii) the signature of the person who developed 
it. 

6VAC35-101-1220. Case management services in 
postdispositional detention programs. 

A. The facility shall implement written procedures 
governing case management services that shall address: 

1. The resident's adjustment to the facility, group living, 
and separation from the resident's family;  

2. Supportive counseling, as needed;  

3. Transition and community reintegration planning and 
preparation; and  

4. Communicating with (i) staff at the facility, (ii) the 
parents or legal guardians, as appropriate and applicable, 
(iii) the court service unit, and (iv) community resources, 
as needed.  

B. The provision of case management services shall be 
documented in the case record. 
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6VAC35-101-1230. Residents' health care records in 
postdispositional detention programs. 

A. In addition to the requirements of 6VAC35-101-1030 
(residents' health care records), each resident's health record 
shall include or document all efforts to obtain treatment 
summaries of ongoing psychiatric or other mental health 
treatment and reports, if applicable.  

B. In addition to the information required by 6VAC35-101-
950 (health care procedures), the following information shall 
be readily accessible to staff who may have to respond to a 
medical or dental emergency:  

1. Medical insurance company name and policy number or 
Medicaid number; and 

2. Written permission for emergency medical care, dental 
care, and obtaining immunizations or a procedure and 
contacts for obtaining consent.  

6VAC35-101-1240. Services by licensed professionals in 
postdispositional detention programs. 

When a postdispositional detention program refers a resident 
to a licensed professional in private practice, the program 
shall check with the appropriate licensing authority's Internet 
web page or by other appropriate means to verify that the 
individual is appropriately licensed.  

6VAC35-101-1250. Delivery of medication in 
postdispositional detention programs. 

A detention center that accepts postdispositional placements 
exceeding 30 consecutive days pursuant to § 16.1-284 of the 
Code of Virginia shall have and follow written procedures, 
approved by its health authority, that either permits or 
prohibits self-medication by postdispositional residents. The 
procedures may distinguish between residents who receive 
postdispositional services entirely within the confines of the 
detention center and those who receive any postdispositional 
services outside the detention center. The procedures shall 
conform to the specific requirements of the Drug Control Act 
(§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

6VAC35-101-1260. Residents' paid employment in 
postdispositional detention programs. 

A. Paid employment may be part of the rehabilitation and 
treatment plan for a postdispositional resident. Such work 
must be in a setting that the facility administrator has 
determined to be appropriate.  

B. Paid employment for any resident participating in a 
postdispositional detention program must be in accordance 
with 6VAC35-101-920 (work and employment).  

6VAC35-101-1270. Release from a postdispositional 
detention program. 

In addition to the requirements in 6VAC35-101-840 
(discharge), information concerning the resident's need for 

continuing therapeutic interventions, educational status, and 
other items important to the resident's continuing care shall be 
provided to the legal guardian or legally authorized 
representative, as appropriate, at the time of the resident's 
discharge from the facility. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (6VAC35-101) 

Health Services Intake Medical Screening, HS 1/10. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(6VAC35-101) 

Screening for TB Infection and Disease, Policy TB 99-001 
(www.vdh.virginia.gov/epidemiology/DiseasePrevention/Pro
grams/Tuberculosis/Policies/screening.htm), Virginia 
Department of Health.  

Prevention and Control of Tuberculosis in Correctional and 
Detention Facilities: Recommendations from CDC, Morbidity 
and Mortality Weekly Report, July 7, 2006, Vol. 55, No. RR-9 
(http://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/preview/mmwrhtml/rr5509a1.htm), 
Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for 
Disease Control and Prevention. 

A Resource Guide for Medication Management for Persons 
Authorized Under the Drug Control Act, Developed by the 
Virginia Department of Social Services, Approved as Revised 
by the Board of Nursing, July 1996, September 2000. 

Guidelines for Transporting Juveniles in Detention, Revised 
September 8, 2004, Virginia Department of Juvenile Justice. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1816; Filed January 11, 2010, 2:24 p.m.  

FORENSIC SCIENCE BOARD 

Withdrawal of Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 6VAC40-60. DNA Data Bank 
Regulations (adding 6VAC40-60-10 through 6VAC40-60-
80). 

Statutory Authority: § 19.2-310.5 of the Code of Virginia. 

The Forensic Science Board has WITHDRAWN the proposed 
regulation entitled, 6VAC40-60, DNA Data Bank 
Regulations, which was published in 25:6 VA.R. 1215-1218 
November 24, 2008. On January 6, 2010, the board voted to 
withdraw this regulation, which will be redrafted and 
presented for the board's consideration on May 12, 2010.  

Agency Contact: Stephanie Merritt, Department Counsel, 
Department of Forensic Science, 700 North Fifth Street, 
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Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2281, FAX (804) 
786-6857, or email stephanie.merritt@dfs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-739; Filed January 14, 2010, 1:28 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-40. Regulations Governing 
Educational Services for Gifted Students (amending 
8VAC20-40-10, 8VAC20-40-20, 8VAC20-40-40, 8VAC20-
40-60; adding 8VAC20-40-55; repealing 8VAC20-40-30, 
8VAC20-40-50, 8VAC20-40-70). 

Statutory Authority: § 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2010.  

Agency Contact: Dr. Margaret N. Roberts, Office of Policy & 
Communications, Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120, 
101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 225-2540, FAX (804) 225-2524, or email 
margaret.roberts@doe.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendments (i) require that school divisions with 
identification in general intellectual aptitude provide 
service options "continuously and sequentially" from 
kindergarten through twelfth grade; (ii) stipulate that 
identification in a specific academic aptitude area may 
occur as assessment instruments exist to support 
identification; (iii) require that school divisions that elect 
to identify students in one or more specific academic 
aptitude areas shall provide continuous and sequential 
service options through twelfth grade; (iv) require that 
school divisions post their plan for the education of gifted 
students on their websites and have printed copies of the 
plan available for citizens who do not have online access; 
(v) require that the identification and placement committee 
determine the eligibility status of each student referred for 
the division's gifted education program and notify the 
parent or guardian of its decision within 90 instructional 
days of the receipt of a parent's or legal guardian's consent 
for assessment; (vi) require that requests filed by parents 
or legal guardians to appeal any action of the 
identification and placement committee shall be filed 
within 10 instructional days of receipt of notification of the 
action by the division; (vii) reduce the minimum number of 
criteria used for the identification of gifted students from 
four to three; (viii) require that school divisions must 
assure that the selected and administered testing and 
assessment materials have been evaluated by the 
developers for cultural, racial, and linguistic biases; (ix) 

explicitly state that specific academic aptitude areas 
include English, history and social science, mathematics, 
or science; (x) require that school divisions provide 
professional development for instructional personnel who 
deliver services within the gifted education program based 
on the competencies specified for the gifted education add-
on endorsement; (xi) require that each school board 
approve a comprehensive plan for the education of gifted 
students that includes the components identified in the 
regulations; (xii) require that each school board submit a 
comprehensive plan for the education of gifted students to 
the Department of Education for technical review on a 
schedule determined by the department; and (xiii) clarify 
that current funding for the education of gifted students is 
governed by the appropriation act. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part I  
Applicability and Definitions  

8VAC20-40-10. Applicability. 

This chapter shall apply to all local school divisions in the 
Commonwealth, regarding their [ gifted education ] services 
for students from kindergarten through [ high school 
graduation twelfth grade ]. 

8VAC20-40-20. Definitions. 

The words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have 
the following meanings [ , ] unless the content context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Appropriately differentiated curricula" for gifted students 
refer to curricula designed in response to their cognitive and 
effective needs. Such curricula provide emphasis on both 
accelerative and enrichment opportunities for curriculum and 
instruction" means curriculum and instruction adapted or 
modified to accommodate the accelerated learning aptitudes 
of [ eligible or ] identified students in their areas of strength. 
Such curriculum and instructional strategies provide 
accelerated and enrichment opportunities that recognize 
gifted students' needs for (i) advanced content and pacing of 
instruction,; (ii) original research or production,; (iii) problem 
finding and solving,; (iv) higher level thinking that leads to 
the generation of products,; and (v) a focus on issues, themes, 
and ideas within and across areas of study. Such curriculum 
and instruction are offered continuously and sequentially to 
support the achievement of student outcomes, and provide 
support necessary for these students to work at increasing 
levels of complexity that differ significantly from those of 
their age-level peers.  
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"Eligible student" means a student who has been identified 
as gifted by the identification and placement committee for 
the school division's gifted education program. 

"Gifted students" means those students in public elementary, 
middle, and secondary schools beginning with kindergarten 
through [ graduation twelfth grade ] whose abilities who 
demonstrate high levels of accomplishment or who show the 
potential for higher levels of accomplishment when compared 
to others of the same age, experience, or environment. Their 
aptitudes and potential for accomplishment are so outstanding 
that they require special programs to meet their educational 
needs. These students will be identified by professionally 
qualified persons through the use of multiple criteria as 
having potential or demonstrated abilities and who have 
evidence of high performance capabilities, which may include 
leadership, aptitudes in one or more of the following areas:  

1. Intellectual General intellectual aptitude or aptitudes. 
Students with advanced aptitude or conceptualization 
whose development is accelerated beyond their age peers 
as demonstrated by advanced skills, concepts, and creative 
expression in multiple general intellectual ability or in 
specific intellectual abilities. Such students demonstrate or 
have the potential to demonstrate superior reasoning; 
persistent intellectual curiosity; advanced use of language; 
exceptional problem solving; rapid acquisition and mastery 
of facts, concepts, and principles; and creative and 
imaginative expression across a broad range of intellectual 
disciplines beyond their age-level peers. 

2. Specific academic aptitude. Students with specific 
aptitudes in selected academic areas: mathematics; the 
sciences; or the humanities as demonstrated by advanced 
skills, concepts, and creative expression in those areas. 
Such students demonstrate or have the potential to 
demonstrate superior reasoning; persistent intellectual 
curiosity; advanced use of language; exceptional problem 
solving; rapid acquisition and mastery of facts, concepts, 
and principles; and creative and imaginative expression 
beyond their age-level peers in selected academic areas 
that include English, history and social science, 
mathematics, [ and or ] science. 

3. Technical and practical arts Career and technical 
aptitude. Students with specific aptitudes in selected 
technical or practical arts as demonstrated by advanced 
skills and creative expression in those areas to the extent 
they need and can benefit from specifically planned 
educational services differentiated from those provided by 
the general program experience. Such students demonstrate 
or have the potential to demonstrate superior reasoning; 
persistent technical curiosity; advanced use of [ technical ] 
language; exceptional problem solving; rapid acquisition 
and mastery of facts, concepts, and principles; and creative 
and imaginative expression beyond their age-level peers in 
career and technical fields. 

4. Visual or performing arts aptitude. Students with 
specific aptitudes in selected visual or performing arts as 
demonstrated by advanced skills and creative expression 
who excel consistently in the development of a product or 
performance in any of the visual and performing arts to the 
extent that they need and can benefit from specifically 
planned educational services differentiated from those 
generally provided by the general program experience. 
Such students demonstrate or have the potential to 
demonstrate superior creative reasoning and imaginative 
expression; persistent artistic curiosity; and advanced 
acquisition and mastery of techniques, perspectives, 
concepts, and principles beyond their age-level peers in 
visual or performing arts. 

"Identification" is means the multistaged process of 
reviewing student data collected at the screening level and 
conducting further evaluation of student potential to 
determine the most qualified students for the specific gifted 
program available. finding students who are eligible for 
[ service options offered through ] the division's gifted 
education program. The identification process begins with a 
divisionwide screening component that is followed by a 
referral component, and that concludes with the determination 
of eligibility by the school division's identification and 
placement committee [ or committees ]. The identification 
process includes the review of valid and reliable student data 
based on criteria established and applied consistently by the 
school division. The process shall include the review of 
information or data from multiple sources to determine 
whether a student's aptitudes and learning needs are most 
appropriately served through the school division's gifted 
education program. 

"Identification/Placement Committee" "Identification and 
placement committee" means a standing committee which is 
composed of a professional who knows the child, classroom 
teacher or teachers, others representing assessment 
specialists, gifted program staff and school administration, 
and others deemed appropriate. This committee may operate 
at the school or division level. In either case, consistent 
criteria must be established for the division. the building-level 
or division-level committee that shall determine a student's 
eligibility for the division's gifted education program, based 
on the student's assessed aptitude and learning needs. The 
identification and placement committee shall determine 
which of the school division's service options are appropriate 
for meeting the learning needs of the eligible student. 

"Learning needs of gifted students" means gifted students' 
needs for advanced and complex content that is paced and 
sequenced to respond to their persistent intellectual, artistic, 
or technical curiosity; exceptional problem-solving abilities; 
rapid acquisition and mastery of information; conceptual 
thinking processes; and imaginative expression across a broad 
range of disciplines.  
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"Placement" means the determination of the appropriate 
educational option options for each eligible student.  

"Referral" means the formal and direct process that parents 
[ or legal guardians ], teachers, professionals, [ or ] students 
[ , peers, self, or others ] use to request that a kindergarten 
through twelfth-grade student be assessed for gifted education 
program services. 

"Screening" is the process of creating the pool of potential 
candidates using multiple criteria through the referral process, 
review of test data, or from other sources. Screening is the 
active search for students who should be evaluated for 
identification means the [ divisionwide search each school 
division conducts at least once annually across all its students 
to determine which students should be referred for 
identification and service in the gifted education program. 
The annual screening shall, at a minimum, consist of a review 
of current assessment data for all kindergarten through 
twelfth-grade students. Students selected through the school 
division's screening process are then referred for formal 
identification annual process of creating a pool for candidates 
from kindergarten through twelfth grade using multiple 
criteria through the referral process, the review of current 
assessment data, or other information from other sources. 
Screening is the active search for students who are then 
referred for the formal identification process ].  

"Service options" include means the instructional approach 
or approaches, setting or settings, and staffing selected for the 
delivery of appropriate service or services that are based on 
student needs [ programs service or services ] provided to 
eligible students based on their assessed needs in their areas 
of strength. 

"Student outcomes" are specified expectations based on the 
assessment of student cognitive and affective needs. Such 
outcomes should articulate expectations for advanced levels 
of performance for gifted learners means the advanced 
achievement and performance expectations established for 
each gifted student, through the review of the student's 
assessed learning needs and the goals of the program of 
study, that are reviewed and reported to parents or legal 
guardians. 

Part II 
Responsibilities of the Local School Divisions  

8VAC20-40-30. Applicability. (Repealed.) 

The requirements set forth in this part are applicable to local 
school divisions providing educational services for gifted 
students in elementary and secondary schools from 
kindergarten through graduation.  

8VAC20-40-40. Identification Screening, referral, 
identification, and [ placement service ]. 

A. Each school division shall establish a uniform procedure 
with common criteria procedures for screening, [ referral, and 

identification of referring, identifying, and serving students in 
kindergarten through twelfth grade who are gifted in ] general 
intellectual or specific academic aptitude [ gifted students ]. If 
the school division elects to identify students [ with specific 
academic aptitudes in general intellectual aptitude ], they it 
shall [ include procedures for identification and service in, at 
a minimum, English, history and social science, mathematics, 
and science, ] and humanities [ provide service options from 
kindergarten through twelfth grade ]. These procedures will 
permit referrals from school personnel, parents or legal 
guardians, other persons of related expertise, peer referral and 
self-referral of those students believed to be gifted. Pertinent 
information, records, and other performance evidence of 
referred students will be examined by a building level or 
division level identification committee. Further, the 
committee or committees will determine the eligibility of the 
referred students for differentiated programs. Students who 
are found to be eligible by the Identification/Placement 
Committee shall be offered a differentiated program by the 
school division. [ Identification in a specific academic 
aptitude area may occur as assessment instruments exist to 
support identification. If the school division elects to identify 
students in one or more selected academic aptitude areas, it 
shall provide service options through twelfth grade. ] School 
divisions may identify and serve gifted students in career and 
technical aptitude or visual [ and or ] performing arts aptitude, 
or both, at their discretion. 

B. Each school division shall maintain a division review 
procedure for students whose cases are appealed. This 
procedure shall involve individuals, the majority of whom did 
not serve on the Identification/Placement Committee. These 
uniform procedures shall include a screening process that 
requires instructional personnel to review, at a minimum, 
current assessment data on each kindergarten through twelfth-
grade student annually. Some data used in the screening 
process may be incorporated into multiple criteria reviewed 
by the [ designated ] identification and placement committee 
to determine eligibility, but those data shall not replace norm-
referenced aptitude test data. 

C. These uniform procedures shall permit referrals from 
[ school personnel, ] parents or legal guardians, [ or other 
persons of related expertise, as well as peer or self-referral 
teachers, professionals, students, peers, self, or others ]. Such 
referrals shall be accepted for kindergarten through twelfth-
grade students. 

D. An identification and placement committee shall review 
pertinent information, records, and other performance 
evidence for referred students. [ The committee shall consider 
input from a professional who knows the child. ] The 
committee shall include [ a professional who knows the child, 
as well as ] classroom teachers, assessment specialists, gifted 
program staff, school administrators, or others with 
credentials or experience in gifted education. The committee 
shall (i) review data from multiple sources selected and used 
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consistently within the division to assess students' aptitudes in 
the areas of giftedness the school division serves, (ii) 
determine whether a student is eligible for the division's 
services, and (iii) determine which of the school division's 
service options match the learning needs of the eligible 
student. The committee may review valid and reliable data 
administered by another division for a transfer student who 
has been identified previously. 

1. Identification of students for the gifted education 
program shall be based on multiple criteria established by 
the school division and designed to seek out those students 
with superior aptitudes, including students for whom 
accurate identification may be affected because they are 
economically disadvantaged, have limited English 
proficiency, or have a disability. Data shall include scores 
from valid and reliable instruments that assess students' 
potential for advanced achievement, as well as instruments 
that assess demonstrated advanced skills, conceptual 
knowledge, and problem-solving aptitudes.  

2. Valid and reliable data for each referred student shall be 
examined by the building-level or division-level 
identification and placement committee. The committee 
shall determine the eligibility of each referred student for 
the school division's gifted education [ program services ]. 
Students who are found eligible by the identification and 
placement committee shall be offered [ programs or 
courses service options ] with appropriately differentiated 
curriculum and instruction by the school division.  

3. The identification process used by each school division 
must ensure that no single criterion is used to determine a 
student's eligibility. The identification process shall include 
at least three measures from the following categories: 

a. Assessment of appropriate student products, 
performance, or portfolio;  

b. Record of observation of in-classroom behavior;  

c. Appropriate rating scales, checklists, or questionnaires;  

d. Individual interview;  

e. Individually administered or group-administered, 
[ nationally ] norm-referenced aptitude [ or achievement ] 
tests;  

f. Record of previous accomplishments (such as awards, 
honors, grades, etc.); or 

g. Additional valid and reliable measures or procedures.  

4. If a program is designed to address general intellectual 
aptitude [ or specific academic aptitude ], an individually 
administered or group-administered, [ nationally ] norm-
referenced aptitude test shall be included as one of the 
three measures used in the school division's identification 
procedure.  

5. If a program is designed to address [ either the visual 
and performing arts or career and technical specific 
academic ] aptitude, [ a portfolio or other performance 
assessment measure in the specific aptitude area shall be 
included as part of the data reviewed by the identification 
and placement committee an individually administered or 
group-administered, nationally norm-referenced aptitude or 
achievement test shall be included as one of the three 
measures used in the school division's identification 
procedures ]. 

[ 6. If a program is designed to address either the visual or 
performing arts or career and technical aptitude, a portfolio 
or other performance assessment measure in the specific 
aptitude area shall be included as a part of the data 
reviewed by the identification and placement committee. ]  

E. Within [ 60 business 90 instructional ] days [ of, 
beginning with ] the receipt of a [ referral parent's or legal 
guardian's consent for assessment ], the identification and 
placement committee shall determine the eligibility status of 
each student referred for the division's gifted education 
program and notify the parent or guardian of its decision. If a 
student is identified as gifted and eligible for services, the 
identification and placement committee shall determine 
which service options most effectively meet the assessed 
learning needs of the student. Identified gifted students shall 
be offered placement in [ a classroom or program an 
instructional ] setting that provides: 

1. Appropriately differentiated curriculum and instruction 
provided by professional instructional personnel trained to 
work with gifted students; and 

2. Monitored and assessed student outcomes that are 
reported to the parents and legal guardians. 

8VAC20-40-50. Criteria for screening and identification. 
(Repealed.) 

Eligibility of students for programs for the gifted shall be 
based on multiple criteria for screening and identification 
established by the school division, and designed to seek out 
high aptitude in all populations. Multiple criteria shall include 
four or more of the following categories:  

1. Assessment of appropriate student products, 
performance, or portfolio;  

2. Record of observation of in-classroom behavior;  

3. Appropriate rating scales, checklists, or questionnaires;  

4. Individual interview;  

5. Individual or group aptitude tests;  

6. Individual or group achievement tests;  

7. Record of previous accomplishments (such as awards, 
honors, grades, etc.);  
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8. Additional valid and reliable measures or procedures.  

If a program is designed to address general intellectual 
aptitude, aptitude measures must be included as one of the 
categories in the division identification plan. If a program is 
designed to address specific academic aptitude, an 
achievement or an aptitude measure in the specific academic 
area must be included as one of the categories in the division 
identification plan. If a program is designed to address either 
the visual/performing arts or technical/practical arts aptitude, 
a performance measure in the specific aptitude area must be 
used. Inclusion of a test score in a division identification plan 
does not indicate that an individual student must score at a 
prescribed level on the test or tests to be admitted to the 
program. No single criterion shall be used in determining 
students who qualify for, or are denied access to, programs 
for the gifted.  

8VAC20-40-55. Parental rights for notification, consent, 
and appeal. 

A. School divisions shall provide written notification to and 
seek written consent from parents and legal guardians to:  

1. Conduct any required assessment to determine a referred 
student's eligibility for the school division's gifted 
education program; 

2. Announce the decision of the identification and 
placement committee regarding a referred student's 
eligibility for and placement in the school division's gifted 
education program; and 

3. Provide services for an identified gifted student in the 
school division's gifted education program.  

B. Each school division shall adopt a review procedure for 
students whose cases are appealed. This procedure shall 
involve a committee, the majority of whose members did not 
serve on the initial identification and placement committee, 
and shall inform parents or legal guardians, in writing, of the 
appeal process. Requests filed by parents or legal guardians to 
appeal any action of the identification and placement 
committee shall be filed within 10 [ business instructional ] 
days of receipt of notification of the action by the division. 
The process shall include an opportunity to meet with an 
administrator to discuss the decision. 

1. A parent or legal guardian of a student who was referred 
but not identified by the identification and placement 
committee as eligible for services in the school division's 
gifted education program shall be informed, in writing, 
within 10 [ business instructional ] days, of the school 
division's process to appeal the committee's decision. 

2. A parent or legal guardian of an identified gifted student 
may appeal any action taken by the school division to 
change the student's identification for, placement in, or exit 
from the school division's gifted education program.  

C. Following the notification and consent of a parent or 
legal guardian, the identification and placement committee 
shall apprise school administrators of each student's eligibility 
status. 

8VAC20-40-60. Local plan, local advisory committee, and 
annual report. 

A. [ Each school board shall submit a comprehensive plan 
for the education of gifted students to the Department of 
Education (DOE) for technical review on a schedule 
determined by the department. ] Each school division board 
shall submit to the Department of Education for approval a 
[ review and ] approve [ annually ] a comprehensive plan for 
the education of gifted students that includes the components 
identified in these regulations. Modifications to the plan shall 
be reported to the Department of Education on dates specified 
by the department. The development process for the school 
division's local plan for the education of the gifted shall 
include opportunities for public review of the school 
division's plan. The approved local plan shall be accessible 
through the school division's website and the school division 
shall ensure that printed copies of the comprehensive plan are 
available to citizens who do not have online access. The plan 
shall include the following components as follow:  

1. A statement of philosophy for the gifted education 
program;  

2. A statement of the school division's gifted education 
program goals and objectives for identification, delivery of 
services, curriculum and instruction, [ personnel 
preparation professional development ], and parent and 
community involvement;  

3. Procedures for the early and on-going screening, 
referral, identification and placement of gifted students;, 
beginning with kindergarten through secondary graduation 
twelfth-grade in at least one of the four defined areas of 
giftedness; a general intellectual or a specific academic 
aptitude program; and, if provided in the school division, 
procedures for the screening, referral, identification, and 
placement of gifted students in visual [ and or ] performing 
arts or career and technical aptitude programs; 

4. A procedure for notifying written notification of parents 
or legal guardians when additional testing or additional 
information is required during the identification process 
and for obtaining permission of parents or legal guardians 
prior to placement of students a gifted student in the 
appropriate program service options;  

5. A policy for notifying gifted students' change of 
placement within, and written notification to parents or 
legal guardians of identification and placement decisions, 
including initial changes in placement or exit from the 
program, which includes an opportunity for parents who 
disagree with the committee or committees decision to 
meet and discuss their concern or concerns with an 
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appropriate administrator. Such notice shall include an 
opportunity for parents or guardians to meet and discuss 
their concerns with an appropriate administrator and to file 
an appeal; 

6. Assurances that student records are maintained 
according to 8VAC20-150-10 et seq., Management of 
Student's Scholastic Record in the Public Schools of 
Virginia in compliance with applicable state and federal 
privacy laws and regulations;  

7. Assurances that (i) [ testing and evaluation assessment 
materials selected and administered are sensitive to free of 
the selected and administered testing and assessment 
materials have been evaluated by the developers for ] 
cultural, racial, and linguistic differences, biases; (ii) 
identification procedures are constructed so that they those 
procedures may identify high potential/ability in all 
underserved culturally diverse, low socio-economic, and 
disabled populations, high potential or aptitude in any 
student whose accurate identification may be affected by 
economic disadvantages, by limited English proficiency, or 
by disability; (iii) standardized tests and other measures 
have been validated for the specific purpose for which they 
are used purpose of identifying gifted students; and (iv) 
instruments are administered and interpreted by a trained 
personnel in conformity with the developer's instructions 
of their producer;  

8. A procedure to identify and evaluate student outcomes 
based on the initial and ongoing assessment of their 
cognitive and affective needs;  

9. A procedure to match service options, including 
instructional approaches, settings, and staffing, to 
designated student needs;  

10. A framework for appropriately differentiated curricula 
indicating accelerative and enrichment opportunities in 
content, process, and product;  

11. Procedures for the selection/evaluation of teachers and 
for the training of personnel to include 
administrators/supervisors, teachers, and support staff;  

12. Procedures for the appropriate evaluation of the 
effectiveness of the school division's program for gifted 
students; and  

13. Other information as required by the Department of 
Education.  

8. Assurances that accommodations or modifications 
determined by the school division's special education 
Individualized Education Program (IEP) team, as required 
for the student to receive a free appropriate public 
education, shall be incorporated into the student's gifted 
education services; 

9. Assurances that a written copy of the school division's 
approved local plan for the education of the gifted is 
available to parents or legal guardians of each referred 
student, and to others upon request; 

10. Evidence that gifted education service options from 
kindergarten through twelfth grade are offered 
continuously and sequentially, with instructional time 
during the school day and week to (i) work with their age-
level peers, (ii) work with their intellectual and academic 
peers, (iii) work independently [ ;, ] and (iv) foster 
intellectual and academic growth of gifted students. 
Parents and legal guardians shall receive assessment of 
each gifted student's [ intellectual and ] academic growth; 

11. A description of the school division's program of 
differentiated curriculum and instruction demonstrating 
accelerated and advanced content [ within programs or 
courses ];  

12. [ Polices Policies ] and procedures that allow access to 
programs of study and advanced courses at a pace and 
sequence commensurate with their learning needs;  

13. Evidence that school divisions provide professional 
development based on the competencies specified in 
8VAC20-542-310, Gifted education (add-on endorsement), 
for instructional personnel who deliver services within the 
gifted education program; and  

14. Procedures for the annual [ evaluation review ] of the 
effectiveness of the school division's gifted education 
program, including review of student outcomes and the 
[ intellectual and ] academic growth of gifted students. 
Such [ evaluations review ] shall be based on multiple 
criteria and shall include multiple sources of information 
[ for gifted students ].  

B. Each school division shall establish a local advisory 
committee composed of parents, school personnel, and other 
community members who are appointed by the school board. 
This committee shall reflect the ethnic and geographical 
composition of the school division. The purpose of this 
committee shall be to advise the school board through the 
division superintendent of the educational needs of all gifted 
students in the division. As a part of this goal, the This 
committee shall have two responsibilities: (i) to review 
annually the local plan for the education of gifted students, 
including revisions, and (ii) to determine the extent to which 
the plan for the previous year was implemented. The findings 
of the annual program effectiveness and the recommendations 
of the advisory committee shall be submitted annually in 
writing through to the division superintendent to and the 
school board.  

C. Each school division shall submit an annual report to the 
Department of Education in a format prescribed by the 
department. 
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8VAC20-40-70. [ Funding. (Repealed.) ]  

State funds administered by the Department of Education for 
the education of gifted students shall be used to support only 
those activities identified in the school division's plan as 
approved by the Board of Education. [ Funds designated by 
the Virginia General Assembly for the education of gifted 
students shall be used by school divisions in accordance with 
the provisions of the appropriation act. ]  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-94; Filed January 12, 2010, 11:02 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 9VAC5-50. New and Modified 
Stationary Sources (amending 9VAC5-50-240, 9VAC5-50-
250, 9VAC5-50-260). 

9VAC5-80. Permits for Stationary Sources (amending 
9VAC5-80-1100, 9VAC5-80-1110, 9VAC5-80-1120, 
9VAC5-80-1140 through 9VAC5-80-1220, 9VAC5-80-
1240 through 9VAC5-80-1300; adding 9VAC5-80-1105, 
9VAC5-80-1255; repealing 9VAC5-80-1320). 

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia; 
Clean Air Act (§§ 110, 112, 165, 173, 182 and Title V); 40 
CFR Parts 51, 61, 63, 70, and 72. 

Public Hearing Information: 

April 14, 2010 - 10 a.m. - Department of Environmental 
Quality, 629 East Main Street, Second Floor Conference 
Room, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: May 3, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Gary Graham, Department of 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 
23240, telephone (804) 698-4103, FAX (804) 698-4510, or 
email gegraham@deq.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 10.1-1308 of the Virginia Air Pollution 
Control Law authorizes the State Air Pollution Control Board 
to promulgate regulations abating, controlling, and 
prohibiting air pollution in order to protect public health and 
welfare. 

Federal Requirements: 

Section 110(a) of the Clean Air Act (CAA) mandates that 
each state adopt and submit to the federal Environmental 
Protection Agency (EPA) a plan that provides for the 
implementation, maintenance, and enforcement of each 
primary and secondary air quality standard within each air 
quality control region in the state. The state implementation 
plan shall be adopted only after reasonable public notice is 

given and public hearings are held. The plan shall include 
provisions to accomplish, among other tasks, the following: 

(1) Establish enforceable emission limitations and other 
control measures as necessary to comply with the provisions 
of the CAA, including economic incentives such as fees, 
marketable permits, and auctions of emissions rights; 

(2) Establish a program for the enforcement of the emission 
limitations and schedules for compliance; and 

(3) Establish programs for the regulation and permitting of 
the modification and construction of any stationary source 
within the areas covered by the plan to assure the 
achievement of the ambient air quality standards. 

40 CFR Part 51 sets out requirements for the preparation, 
adoption, and submittal of state implementation plans. These 
requirements mandate that any such plan shall include several 
provisions, as summarized below. 

Subpart F (Procedural Requirements) specifies definitions of 
key terms, stipulations and format for plan submission, 
requirements for public hearings, and conditions for plan 
revisions and federal approval. 

Subpart G (Control Strategy) specifies the description of 
emissions reductions estimates sufficient to attain and 
maintain the standards, the description of control measures 
and schedules for implementation, time periods for 
demonstrations of the control strategy's adequacy, an 
emissions inventory, an air quality data summary, data 
availability, special requirements for lead emissions, stack 
height provisions, and intermittent control systems. 

Subpart I (Review of New Sources and Modifications) 
specifies legally enforceable procedures, public availability of 
information on sources, identification of responsible agency, 
and administrative procedures. 

Section 51.160 of Subpart I specifies that the plan must 
stipulate legally enforceable procedures that enable the 
permitting agency to determine whether the construction or 
modification of a facility, building, structure, or installation, 
or combination of these, will result in either a violation of any 
part of a control strategy or interference with attainment or 
maintenance of a national standard and, if such violation or 
interference would occur, the means by which the 
construction or modification can be prevented. The 
procedures must identify types and sizes of facilities, 
buildings, structures, or installations that will be subject to 
review and discuss the basis for determining which facilities 
will be subject to review. The procedures must provide that 
owners of facilities, buildings, structures, or installations must 
submit information on the nature and amounts of emissions 
and on the location, construction, and operation of the 
facility. The procedures must ensure that owners comply with 
applicable control strategies after permit approval. The 
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procedures must discuss air quality data and modeling 
requirements on which applications must be based. 

Section 51.161 of Subpart I specifies that the permitting 
agency must provide opportunity for public comment on 
information submitted by owners and on the agency's analysis 
of the effect of construction or modification on ambient air 
quality, including the agency's proposed approval or 
disapproval.  Section 51.161 also specifies the minimum 
requirements for public notice and comment on this 
information. 

Section 51.162 of Subpart I specifies that the responsible 
agency must be identified in the plan. 

Section 51.163 of Subpart I specifies that the plan must 
include administrative procedures to be followed in 
determining whether the construction or modification of a 
facility, building, structure or installation will violate 
applicable control strategies or interfere with the attainment 
or maintenance of a national standard. 

Subpart L (Legal Authority) specifies identification of legal 
authority to implement plans and assignment of legal 
authority to local agencies. 

Section 51.230 of Subpart L specifies that each state 
implementation plan must show that the state has the legal 
authority to carry out the plan, including the authority to 
perform the following actions: 

(1) adopt emission standards and limitations and any other 
measures necessary for the attainment and maintenance of the 
national ambient air quality standards; 

(2) enforce applicable laws, regulations, and standards, and 
seek injunctive relief; 

(3) obtain information necessary to determine whether air 
pollution sources are in compliance with applicable laws, 
regulations, and standards, including authority to require 
recordkeeping and to make inspections and conduct tests of 
air pollution sources; and 

(4) prevent construction, modification, or operation of a 
facility, building, structure, or installation, or combination 
thereof, which directly or indirectly results or may result in 
emissions of any air pollutant at any location which will 
prevent the attainment or maintenance of a national standard. 

Section 51.231 of Subpart L requires the identification of 
legal authority as follows: 

(1) the provisions of law or regulation which the state 
determines provide the authorities required under § 51.231 
must be specifically identified, and copies of such laws or 
regulations must be submitted with the plan; and 

(2) the plan must show that the legal authorities specified in 
Subpart L are available to the state at the time of submission 
of the plan. 

State Requirements: 

Section 10.1-1322.4 of the Code of Virginia provides an 
exemption (unless required by federal law or regulation) from 
permit requirements for the use of an alternative fuel or raw 
material, if the owner demonstrates to the board that, as a 
result of trial burns at the facility or other facilities or other 
sufficient data, the emissions resulting from the use of the 
alternative fuel or raw material supply are decreased. The 
Code further provides (to the extent allowed by federal law or 
regulation) that no demonstration shall be required for the use 
of processed animal fat, processed fish oil, processed 
vegetable oil, distillate oil, or any mixture thereof in place of 
the same quantity of residual oil to fire industrial boilers. 

Purpose: The purpose of the regulation is to protect public 
health, safety, and welfare by establishing the procedural and 
legal basis for the issuance of new source permits for a 
proposed new stationary source or a project at an existing one 
that will (i) enable the agency to conduct a preconstruction 
review in order to determine compliance with applicable 
control technology and other standards, (ii) assess the impact 
of the emissions from the source on air quality, and (iii) 
provide a state and federally enforceable mechanism to 
enforce permit program requirements.  The proposed 
amendments are being made to simplify the program 
requirements and reduce the complexity of the permit 
program, as well as revise program requirements based on 
implementation experience. 

Substance:  

1. The program is being changed to convert from a permit 
applicability approach for modifications that look at the net 
emissions increase due to or directly resultant from the 
physical or operational changes from all affected units to an 
approach that only looks at emissions increases from the 
affected emissions units that make up the project. Currently 
applicability is based on the net emissions increase based on 
all the source-wide emissions changes due to or directly 
resultant from the physical or operational changes. The 
proposed program will base permit applicability on the 
emissions from only those emissions units that are new or that 
undergo a physical or operational change at a project. 
Debottlenecked emissions (collateral emissions increases and 
decreases from unchanged processes and equipment) and all 
emissions decreases from affected emissions units will no 
longer be considered in determining permit applicability. 

2. The program is being changed such that Best Available 
Control Technology (BACT) determinations will be required 
for all emissions units that are subject to the minor new 
source review program. The requirement for a BACT 
determination will be applied to each pollutant emitted by the 
new source or project in amounts equal to or greater than the 
exempt emission rate threshold; however, permit terms and 
conditions may be applied to any pollutant from the affected 
emissions units as may be necessary to support the BACT 
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determination. Restrictions on the proportion of the potential 
emissions reductions that may be considered for a BACT 
cost-benefit analysis will be removed. The current minimum 
net emissions increase applicability thresholds for individual 
affected emissions units will also be eliminated. 

3. In order to implement the program changes identified in 
items 1 and 2 above, the program is being changed to add 
definitions and other provisions that will facilitate the clear 
and consistent identification of the emissions units subject to 
the permit program (i.e., affected units). For a "new stationary 
source," the affected emissions units will be all emissions 
units located to an undeveloped site. For a "project" at an 
existing stationary source, the affected emissions units will be 
all new or added emissions units and all modified emissions 
units that make up the project. 

4. The program is being changed such that reconstruction of 
an emissions unit by the replacement of some of its 
components will no longer be treated differently from the 
modification of an emissions unit. Such changes will no 
longer be exempt if the potential to emit is not increased, but 
instead will only be exempt if the increase in the emissions 
rate is less than the exempt emission rates for a modified 
stationary source, just like any other modified emissions unit. 
Reconstruction of an emissions unit by replacing the entire 
emissions unit will continue to be exempt as a "replacement 
of an emissions unit" as long as the potential to emit does not 
increase as a result of that replacement. Reconstruction will 
only exist in the minor new source review program as it 
pertains to its applicability under the federal new source 
performance standards in 40 CFR Part 60. 

5. The program is being changed such that certain 
transportable engines will no longer be considered as nonroad 
engines that are excluded from the definition of a stationary 
source. Emissions from such engines may now be subject to 
the provisions of the minor new source review program and 
subject to emissions control requirements. 

6. The exemption for certain sized fuel burning equipment is 
being changed to (i) expand the exemption to include space 
heaters, (ii) reduce the maximum exemption size for natural 
gas-fired fuel burning equipment, and (iii) in ozone 
nonattainment and maintenance areas, aggregate similar types 
of fuel burning equipment that are included in a single project 
for the purpose of comparison with the exempt size criteria. 

7. Exemptions are being added for (i) vegetative waste 
recycling/mulching operations, (ii) open pit incinerators 
subject to the open burning rule, and (iii) certain process 
testing and remediation projects that remain in existence for 
less than a year. 

8. The program is being changed to remove the prohibition 
against exempting NSPS facilities. 

9. Provisions are being added to provide for processing and 
issuing informational permit applicability determinations. 

10. Provisions are being added to incorporate the federal 
requirements for the new PM2.5 air quality standard. 

11. The provisions covering permits for sources subject to the 
federal hazardous air pollutant new source review program 
are being restructured to increase clarity. 

12. Provisions are being added to allow terms and conditions 
of permits to be combined. 

13. Finally, a number of other provisions have been rewritten 
to increase clarity, including clarifying (i) when to include 
fugitive emissions in determining permit applicability, (ii) 
how changes in stack height are subject to permit review 
requirements, (iii) how regulatory changes affect new and 
previous permit applications, (iv) which modifications are 
subject to public participation requirements, and (v) how to 
make permit changes to accommodate exempt equipment 
replacements. 

Issues: The advantages to the affected entities will vary 
widely according to source size and type and the particular 
options chosen by each source in order to comply with the 
regulation. The current regulation poses many challenges to 
the affected entities in making applicability determinations, 
particularly for smaller businesses for which the program is 
mainly intended. Implementation of the current regulation has 
placed a significant administrative burden upon the affected 
entities. Under the current regulation, determination of permit 
applicability cannot be made with any reasonable degree of 
efficiency, effectiveness, or consistency. Interpreting the new 
regulation is a major time-consuming workload for the 
affected entities. However, the affected entities will lose the 
increased flexibility inherent in the more complex regulation. 

The problems cited above relative to making applicability 
determinations also place a similar burden upon the 
department. The primary benefit as a result of the changes to 
this regulation will be a reduction in the complexity of the 
regulation and associated reduction in workload of the permit 
writers and field inspectors who make compliance 
determinations. There are no disadvantages to the department. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
main proposed change will eliminate "netting" of emissions 
increases and decreases when making Minor New Source 
Review permit applicability determinations. The 
determination will now be made based only upon emissions 
increases from only those emissions units that are physically 
or operationally changed. "Debottlenecked" emissions 
increases will no longer be considered when making Minor 
New Source Review permit applicability determinations. 
There are numerous other proposed minor changes that are 
streamlining in nature. 
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Result of Analysis. There is insufficient data to accurately 
compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the costs. 

Estimated Economic Impact. These regulations contain 
applicability rules and standards for Minor New Source 
Review (MNSR). MNSR is the review of new and modified 
sources of certain air emissions from sources that do not 
qualify for review under Prevention of Significant 
Deterioration (PSD) and Non-attainment New Source Review 
(NSR). MNSR review looks at the emissions changes 
resulting from new sources or modifications to existing 
sources. In general, construction, reconstruction, or 
modification of existing sources is contingent upon issuance 
of a permit. In the permit process, the Department of 
Environmental Quality (DEQ) conducts a preconstruction 
review in order to determine compliance with applicable 
control technology and other standards and to assess the 
impact of the net emissions from the facility on air quality. 

The main proposed change is adoption of an approach that 
only looks at emissions increases from the unit being changed 
instead of looking at emissions increases and decreases from 
the units being changed (the affected units) plus emissions 
changes to other units upstream or downstream from the 
affected units, as is currently done. The differences between 
the two approaches are twofold. First, emissions decreases 
from emissions units at the source other than the affected 
units will no longer be used to offset emissions increases 
from the affected units, when determining whether the source 
must obtain a Minor NSR permit. Secondly, debottlenecked 
emissions increases (or decreases) will no longer be 
considered when determining if the change in emissions is 
sufficient to meet the requirements for getting a Minor NSR 
permit. Debottlenecked emissions are collateral emissions 
increases and decreases from unchanged processes and 
equipment upstream and/or downstream of the emissions unit 
being modified. In short, only emissions increases from the 
affected emissions units will be considered in determining 
permit applicability in the future. 

The remaining proposed changes are streamlining in nature 
and include; requiring Best Available Control Technology 
(BACT) determinations for all emissions units that are subject 
to the minor new source review program; adding definitions 
and other provisions that will facilitate the clear and 
consistent identification of the emissions units subject to the 
permit program; changing the way that replacement emissions 
units are exempted and changing certain exemption 
requirements for portable stationary sources; removal of 
transportable engines from a non-road engine exclusion and 
resolution of conflicting exemptions for reconstructed 
emissions units and modified emissions units; modifying the 
exemption for certain sized fuel burning equipment to include 
space heaters, to reduce the maximum exemption size for 
natural gas-fired fuel burning equipment, to aggregate similar 
types of fuel burning equipment under certain conditions; 
adding exemptions for vegetative waste recycling/mulching 

operations, open pit incinerators subject to the open burning 
rule, certain process testing and remediation projects that 
remain in existence for less than a year; removing the 
prohibition against exempting NSPS facilities; providing for 
processing and issuing informational permit applicability 
determinations; incorporating the federal requirements for the 
new PM2.5 air quality standard; clarifying the provisions 
covering permits for sources subject to the federal hazardous 
air pollutant new source review program; adding provisions 
to allow terms and conditions of permits to be combined; 
numerous other clarifications throughout the regulations. 

The main economic benefit of the proposed regulations is 
expected to be lower administrative costs for the affected 
sources and for DEQ. According to DEQ, determination of 
permit applicability under current regulations which requires 
evaluation of a large number of possible types of emissions 
increases and decreases under a set of complex guidance 
criteria, which slows the permit process and requires 
additional discussion with the owners of the facility. 
Consideration of debottlenecked emissions is particularly 
costly for all the parties involved in the process, because the 
determination of those emissions are usually subject to a long 
negotiation process that usually results in withdrawal of the 
permit application. Thus, the proposed simpler permit 
applicability determination is expected to reduce 
administrative compliance costs. Also, sources are likely to 
find it cheaper to prepare a permit application package 
because it is a simpler approach and to be more certain of the 
outcome of the application process. The cost to prepare a 
permit application varies considerably from $800 for a small 
source to $80,000 for a large source. Similarly, the costs of an 
amendment to a permit vary from $160 to $4,200 depending 
on the size of the source.  

While sources are likely to realize some administrative cost 
savings, they will also lose some flexibility and potential 
savings from that flexibility that may have been available to 
them when they could potentially "net out" of Minor NSR 
permit review. However, DEQ believes that most of the 
affected entities support the proposed regulations showing a 
willingness to adopt a simpler approach. This may be taken as 
an indication that the expected reduction in administrative 
costs outweighs the expected costs of losing some flexibility 
for sources. 

Finally, the effect of proposed changes on the statewide 
emissions and consequently on air quality is not expected to 
be significant. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulations 
will affect businesses and entities that wish to construct or 
modify their stationary sources in a way that is subject to 
MNSR.  Approximately 335 permits were issued in 2001, 350 
in 2002, 250 in 2003, and 170 in the first half of 2004. 
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Localities Particularly Affected.  

The proposed regulations apply throughout the 
Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed changes are 
expected to reduce administrative compliance costs 
associated with obtaining a permit from DEQ. However, the 
reduction in compliance costs does not, by itself, infer a 
change in employment, since it is not known how the released 
funds will be used.  If consulting businesses lose a significant 
number of customers as a result of the simpler approach, their 
demand for professional labor could decrease. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Any 
reduction in compliance costs for sources of air emissions can 
be expected to increase profits to firms owning the sources 
which could positively affect the asset value of the firms 
owning the sources. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Most of the 
sources subject to these regulations are probably small 
businesses. While the proposed changes do not create 
significant costs, the most important changes have the effect 
of reducing compliance costs. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. No significant adverse effect on small 
businesses is expected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No significant effect on real 
estate development costs is expected. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
department has reviewed the economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget and has 
no comment. 

Background: 

The regulation applies to the construction or 
reconstruction of new stationary sources or modifications 
(physical or operational changes) to existing ones. 
Exemptions are provided for smaller facilities. With some 
exceptions, the owner must obtain a permit from the 
agency prior to the construction or modification of the 
source. The owner of the proposed new or modified source 
must provide information as needed to enable the agency 
to conduct a preconstruction review in order to determine 
compliance with applicable control technology and other 
standards and to assess the impact of the net emissions 
from the facility on air quality. The regulation also 
provides the basis for the agency's final action (approval 
or disapproval) on the permit depending upon the results 
of the preconstruction review. The regulation provides a 
source-wide perspective to determine applicability based 
upon the net emissions changes due to or directly resulting 
from the modification (physical or operational change at 
an existing stationary source). Procedures for making 
changes to permits are included. There are provisions that 
allow the use of a general permit. The regulation also 
allows consideration of additional factors for making Best 
Available Control Technology (BACT) determinations for 
sources subject to minor new source review. 

Summary: 

The primary change being made to the program is to 
convert from a permit applicability approach for 
modifications that looks at the net emissions increase due 
to or directly resultant from the physical or operational 
changes from all affected units to an approach that only 
looks at emissions increases from new and modified 
emissions units. Currently, applicability is based on the net 
emissions increase based on all the source-wide emissions 
changes due to or directly resultant from the physical or 
operational change. The proposed program would base 
permit applicability on the emissions increases from only 
those emissions units that undergo a physical or 
operational change in the project. 

Secondary changes include (i) changes to the way that 
BACT determinations will be made, (ii) changes to the way 
that NSPS affected facilities are exempted, (iii) removal of 
transportable engines from a nonroad engine exclusion, 
(iv) resolution of conflicting exemptions for reconstructed 
emissions units and modified emissions units, (v) 
exemption of short-term testing and remediation projects 
and aggregation of emissions units under some other 
exemptions, (vi) changes to the way that replacement 
emissions units are exempted, (vii) changes to certain 



Regulations 

Volume 26, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations February 1, 2010 

1647 

exemption requirements for portable stationary sources, 
(viii) changes to the way that emission rates are calculated 
for certain exemptions, (ix) resolution of regulatory 
conflicts concerning open pit incinerators, and (x) 
clarification of other provisions of the minor new source 
review program. 

Article 4 
Standards of Performance for Stationary Sources (Rule 5-4) 

9VAC5-50-240. Applicability and designation of affected 
facility.  

A. The affected facilities in at stationary sources to which 
the provisions of this article apply are facilities emissions 
units that emit or cause air pollution are subject to the new 
source review program.  

B. The provisions of this article apply throughout the 
Commonwealth of Virginia.  

C. The provisions of this article apply only to affected 
facilities subject to the new source review program to any 
regulated air pollutant except to the extent that it is regulated 
under 9VAC5-60 (Hazardous Air Pollutant Sources). 
However, the exemption provided by this subsection does not 
extend to other properties of the exempted pollutants that may 
require regulation under 9VAC5-40 (Existing Stationary 
Sources) or 9VAC5-50 (New and Modified Stationary 
Sources).  

9VAC5-50-250. Definitions.  

A. For the purpose of applying this article in the context of 
the Regulations for the Control and Abatement of Air 
Pollution and subsequent amendments or any orders issued by 
the board related uses, the words or terms shall have the 
meanings given them in subsection C of this section.  

B. As used in this article Unless otherwise required by 
context, all terms not defined here herein shall have the 
meanings given them in 9VAC5 Chapter 10 (9VAC5-10-), 
unless otherwise required by context 9VAC5-80 (Permits for 
Stationary Sources), 9VAC5-10 (General Definitions), or 
commonly ascribed to them by recognized authorities, in that 
order of priority.  

C. Terms defined.  

"Best available control technology" or "BACT" means, as 
used in 9VAC5-50-260, a standard of performance an 
emissions limitation (including a visible emission standard) 
based on the maximum degree of emission reduction for any 
pollutant which would be emitted from any proposed a new 
stationary source or project which the board, on a case-by-
case basis, taking into account energy, environmental and 
economic impacts and other costs, determines is achievable 
for such source the new stationary source or project through 
the application of production processes or available methods, 
systems and techniques, including fuel cleaning or treatment 

or innovative fuel combustion techniques for control of such 
pollutant. In no event shall application of best available 
control technology result in emissions of any pollutant which 
would exceed the emissions allowed by any applicable 
standard in Article 5 (9VAC5-50-400 et seq.) of this part or 
Article 1 (9VAC5-60-60 et seq.) or Article 2 (9VAC5-60-90 
et seq.) of Part II of 9VAC5 Chapter 60 9VAC5-60 
(Hazardous Air Pollutant Sources). If the board determines 
that technological or economic limitations on the application 
of measurement methodology to a particular emissions unit 
would make the imposition of an emission standard 
infeasible, a design, equipment, work practice, operational 
standard, or combination of them, may be prescribed instead 
of requiring the application of best available control 
technology. Such standard shall, to the degree possible, set 
forth the emission reduction achievable by implementation of 
such design, equipment, work practice or operation, and shall 
provide for compliance by means which achieve equivalent 
results. In determining best available control technology for 
stationary sources subject to Article 6 (9VAC5-80-1100 et 
seq.) of Part II of 9VAC5 Chapter 80, consideration shall be 
given to the nature and amount of the new emissions, 
emission control efficiencies achieved in the industry for the 
source type, and the cost effectiveness of the incremental 
emission reduction achieved.  

"Lowest achievable emission rate" means for any source, the 
more stringent rate of emissions based on the following:  

1. The most stringent emissions limitation which is 
contained in the implementation plan of any state for such 
class or category of stationary source, unless the owner of 
the proposed stationary source demonstrates that such 
limitations are not achievable; or  

2. The most stringent emissions limitation which is 
achieved in practice by such class or category of stationary 
source. This limitation, when applied to a modification, 
means the lowest achievable emissions rate for the new or 
modified emissions units within the stationary source. In 
no event shall the application of this term permit a 
proposed new or modified stationary source to emit any 
pollutant in excess of the amount allowable under an 
applicable new source standard of performance.  

"New source review (NSR) program" means a 
preconstruction review and permit program (i) for new 
stationary sources or modifications (physical changes or 
changes in the method of operation); (ii) established to 
implement the requirements of §§ 110(a)(2)(C), 112 (relating 
to permits for hazardous air pollutants), 165 (relating to 
permits in prevention of significant deterioration areas), and 
173 (relating to permits in nonattainment areas) of the federal 
Clean Air Act and associated regulations; and (iii) codified in 
Article 6 (9VAC5-80-1100 et seq.), Article 7 (9VAC5-80-
1400 et seq.), Article 8 (9VAC5-80-1605 et seq.) and Article 
9 (9VAC5-80-2000 et seq.) of 9VAC5 Chapter 80.  
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9VAC5-50-260. Standard for stationary sources.  

A. No owner or other person shall cause or permit to be 
discharged into the atmosphere from any affected facility any 
emissions in excess of that resultant from using emissions 
limitations representing best available control technology, as 
reflected in any term or condition that may be placed upon the 
minor NSR permit approval for the facility.  

B. A new stationary source shall apply best available control 
technology for each regulated pollutant that it would have the 
potential to emit in amounts for which there would be an 
uncontrolled emission rate equal to or greater than the levels 
in 9VAC5-80-1320 C 9VAC5-80-1105 C. For a new 
stationary source, a permit may be issued pursuant to Article 
6 (9VAC5-80-1100 et seq.) of Part II of 9VAC5-80 (Permits 
for Stationary Sources) containing such terms and conditions 
as may be necessary to implement a best available control 
technology determination for any regulated air pollutant that 
may be emitted from any affected emissions unit.  

C. A modification project shall apply best available control 
technology for each regulated pollutant for which it would 
result in a net emissions increase at the source there would be 
an increase in the uncontrolled emission rate equal to or 
greater than the levels in 9VAC5-80-1105 D. This 
requirement applies to each proposed affected emissions unit 
at which a net emissions increase in the pollutant would occur 
in amounts equal to or greater than the levels in 9VAC5-80-
1320 D as a result of physical change or change in the method 
of operation in the unit in the project. For a project, a permit 
may be issued pursuant to Article 6 (9VAC5-80-1100 et seq.) 
of Part II of 9VAC5-80 (Permits for Stationary Sources) 
containing such terms and conditions as may be necessary to 
implement a best available control technology determination 
for any regulated air pollutant emitted, or that may be 
emitted, from any affected emissions unit.  

D. For the phased construction of new stationary sources or 
projects, the determination of best available control 
technology BACT determination shall be reviewed and 
modified, as appropriate, at the latest reasonable time which 
occurs no later than 18 months prior to commencement of 
construction of each independent phase of the new stationary 
source or project. At such time, the owner of the applicable 
stationary source or project may be required to demonstrate 
the adequacy of any previous determination of best available 
control technology BACT determination for the source 
affected emissions units.  

Article 6  
Permits for New and Modified Stationary Sources  

9VAC5-80-1100. Applicability. 

A. Except as provided in subsection C of this section, the 
provisions of this article apply to the construction, 
reconstruction, relocation or modification of any stationary 
source (i) the construction of any new stationary source or 

any project (which includes any addition or replacement of an 
emissions unit, any modification to an emissions unit or any 
combination of these changes), and (ii) the reduction of any 
stack outlet elevation at any stationary source.  

B. The provisions of this article apply throughout the 
Commonwealth of Virginia.  

C. The Except as provided in subdivision 3 of this 
subsection, the provisions of this article do not apply to any 
stationary source, emissions unit or facility that is exempt 
under the provisions of 9VAC5-80-1320 9VAC5-80-1105. 

1. Exemption from the requirement to obtain a minor NSR 
permit under this article shall not relieve any owner of the 
responsibility to comply with any other applicable 
provisions of regulations of the board or any other 
applicable regulations, laws, ordinances and orders of the 
governmental entities having jurisdiction. 

2. Any stationary source, emissions unit or facility which is 
exempt from the provisions of this article based on the 
criteria in 9VAC5-80-1320 9VAC5-80-1105 but which 
exceeds the applicability thresholds for any applicable 
emission standard in 9VAC5 Chapter 40 (9VAC5-40) 
9VAC5-40 (Existing Stationary Sources) if it were an 
existing source or any applicable standard of performance 
in 9VAC5 Chapter 50 (9VAC5-50) 9VAC5-50 (New and 
Modified Stationary Sources) shall be subject to the more 
restrictive of the provisions of either the emission standard 
in 9VAC5 Chapter 40 (9VAC5-40) 9VAC5-40 (Existing 
Stationary Sources) or the standard of performance in 
9VAC5 Chapter 50 (9VAC5-50) 9VAC5-50 (New and 
Modified Stationary Sources).  

3. Any new stationary source or project that would be 
subject to the provisions of this article except for being 
exempt based on one or more of the criteria in 9VAC5-80-
1105 may opt to be subject to this article notwithstanding 
the exemptions in 9VAC5-80-1105. The provisions of this 
article shall apply to the new stationary source or project as 
if the applicable exemption criteria did not apply. Opting in 
to the minor NSR program shall not affect the applicability 
of such exemptions to any subsequent project. 

D. The Except as provided in 9VAC5-80-1105 C 3 and D 3, 
fugitive emissions of a stationary source, to the extent 
quantifiable, shall be included in determining whether it is 
subject to this article. The provisions of this article do not 
apply to a stationary source or modification that would be 
subject to this article only if fugitive emissions, to the extent 
quantifiable, are considered in calculating the uncontrolled 
emissions rate of the source or net emissions increase.  

E. An affected facility subject to Article 5 (9VAC5-50-400 
et seq.) of Part II of 9VAC5 Chapter 50 shall not be exempt 
from the provisions of this article, except where:  
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1. The affected facility would be subject only to 
recordkeeping or reporting requirements or both under 
Article 5 (9VAC5-50-400 et seq.) of 9VAC5 Chapter 50; 
or  

2. The affected facility is constructed, reconstructed or 
modified at a stationary source which has a current permit 
for similar affected facilities that requires compliance with 
emission standards and other requirements that are not less 
stringent than the provisions of Article 5 (9VAC5-50-400 
et seq.) of 9VAC5 Chapter 50.  

E. Where construction of a new stationary source or a 
project is accomplished in contemporaneous increments that 
individually are not subject to approval under this article and 
that are not part of a program of construction of a new 
stationary source or project in planned incremental phases 
approved by the board, all such increments shall be added 
together for determining the applicability of any particular 
change under the provisions of this article. An incremental 
change is contemporaneous with the particular change only if 
it occurs between the date five years before commencing 
construction on the particular change and the date that the 
emissions increase from the particular change occurs. 

F. Regardless of the exemptions provided in this article, no 
owner or other person shall circumvent the requirements of 
this article by causing or allowing a pattern of ownership or 
development over a geographic area of a stationary source 
which, except for the pattern of ownership or development, 
would otherwise require a minor NSR permit.  

G. No provision of this article shall be construed as 
exempting any stationary source or emissions unit from the 
provisions of the major new source review program. 
Accordingly, no provision of the major new source review 
program regulations shall be construed as exempting any 
stationary source or emissions unit from this article.  

H. Unless specified otherwise, the provisions of this article 
are applicable to various sources as follows:  

1. Provisions referring to "sources," "new or modified 
sources, or both" or "stationary sources" are applicable to 
the construction, relocation, replacement, reconstruction or 
modification of all stationary sources (including major 
stationary sources and major modifications) and the 
emissions from them to the extent that such sources and 
their emissions are not subject to the provisions of the 
major new source review program.  

2. Provisions referring to "major stationary sources" are 
applicable to the construction, relocation, or reconstruction 
replacement of all major stationary sources subject to this 
article. Provisions referring to "major modifications" are 
applicable to major modifications of major stationary 
sources subject to this article.  

3. In cases where the provisions of the major new source 
review program conflict with those of this article, the 
provisions of the major new source review program shall 
prevail.  

4. Provisions referring to "state and federally enforceable" 
or "federally and state enforceable" or similar wording 
shall mean "state-only enforceable" for terms and 
conditions of a minor NSR permit designated state-only 
enforceable under 9VAC5-80-1120 F.  

I. For sources subject to the federal hazardous air pollutant 
new source review program, the provisions of the federal 
hazardous air pollutant new source review program shall be 
implemented through this article and the applicable article of 
Part II of 9VAC5-60 (Hazardous Air Pollutant Sources). 
Implementation of the federal hazardous air pollutant new 
source review program shall be independent of applicability 
and exemption criteria of this article. Additional details may 
be found in subdivisions 1, 2, and 3 of this subsection. Minor 
NSR permits shall be the administrative mechanism for 
issuing approvals under the provisions of federal hazardous 
air pollutant new source review program. Except as noted 
below, in cases where there are differences between the 
provisions of this article and the provisions of federal 
hazardous air pollutant new source review program, the more 
restrictive provisions shall apply. The provisions of 9VAC5-
80-1150 and 9VAC5-80-1160 shall not apply to sources 
subject to the federal hazardous air pollutant new source 
review program. Other sections of this article also provide 
requirements relative to the application of this article to 
sources subject to the federal hazardous air pollutant new 
source review program, in which case those provisions shall 
prevail. This subsection applies only to the extent that the 
provisions of the federal hazardous air pollutant new source 
review program are not being implemented by other new 
source review program regulations of the board. 

1. The provisions of 40 CFR 61.05, 40 CFR 61.06, 40 CFR 
61.07, 40 CFR 61.08 and 40 CFR 61.15 for issuing 
approvals of the construction of any new source or 
modification of any existing source subject to the 
provisions of 40 CFR Part 61. These provisions of the 
federal hazardous air pollutant new source review program 
shall be implemented through this article and Article 1 
(9VAC5 60 60 et seq.) of Part II of 9VAC5-60 (Hazardous 
Air Pollutant Sources). 

2. The provisions of 40 CFR 63.5 for issuing approvals to 
construct a new source or reconstruct a source subject to 
the provisions of 40 CFR Part 63, except for Subparts B, 
D, and E. These provisions of the federal hazardous air 
pollutant new source review program shall be implemented 
through this article and Article 2 (9VAC5-60-90 et seq.) of 
Part II of 9VAC5-60 (Hazardous Air Pollutant Sources). 

3. The provisions of 40 CFR 63.50 through 40 CFR 63.56 
for issuing Notices of MACT Approval prior to the 
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construction of a new emissions unit. These provisions of 
the federal hazardous air pollutant new source review 
program shall be implemented through this article and 
Article 3 (9VAC5-60-120 et seq.) of Part II of 9VAC5-60. 
Any information regarding how minor NSR permits are to 
be issued to a source category or portion of a source 
category subject to this element of the federal hazardous 
air pollutant new source review program under the 
provisions of this article may be found in Article 3 
(9VAC5-60-120 et seq.) of Part II of 9VAC5-60 
(Hazardous Air Pollutant Sources). 

4. The provisions of 40 CFR 63.40 through 40 CFR 63.44 
for issuing approvals to construct a new source or 
reconstruct a source listed in the source category schedule 
for standards and to construct a new major source or 
reconstruct a major source even if the source category is 
not listed in the source category schedule for standards. 
These provisions of the federal hazardous air pollutant new 
source review program shall not be implemented through 
this article but shall be implemented through Article 7 
(9VAC5-80-1400 et seq.) of this part. 

J. Unless otherwise approved by the board or prescribed in 
the regulations of the board, when this article is amended, the 
previous provisions of this article shall remain in effect for all 
applications that are deemed complete under the provisions of 
9VAC5-80-1160 B prior to [insert the effective date of the 
amendments]. Any minor NSR permit applications that have 
not been determined to be complete as of [insert the effective 
date of the amendments] shall be subject to the new 
provisions of this article. 

K. The provisions of 40 CFR Parts 60, 61, and 63 cited in 
this article apply only to the extent that they are incorporated 
by reference in Article 5 (9VAC5-50-400 et seq.) of Part II of 
9VAC5-50 (New and Modified Sources) and Article 1 
(9VAC5-60-60 et seq.) and Article 2 (9VAC5-60-90 et seq.) 
of Part II of 9VAC5-60 (Hazardous Air Pollutant Sources). 

L. The provisions of 40 CFR Parts 51, 58, 60, 61, and 63 
cited in this article apply only to the extent that they are 
incorporated by reference in 9VAC5-20-21. 

M. Particulate matter (PM2.5) emissions and particulate 
matter (PM10) emissions shall include gaseous emissions from 
a source or activity that condense to form particulate matter at 
ambient temperatures. On or after January 1, 2011, such 
condensable particulate matter shall be accounted for in 
applicability determinations and in establishing emissions 
limitations for PM2.5 and PM10 in minor NSR permits. 
Compliance with emissions limitations for PM2.5 and PM10 
issued prior to this date shall not be based on condensable 
particulate matter unless required by the terms and conditions 
of the permit. Applicability determinations made prior to this 
date without accounting for condensable particulate matter 
shall not be considered in violation of this section. 

9VAC5-80-1105. Permit exemptions. 

A. The general requirements for minor NSR permit 
exemptions are as follows: 

1. The provisions of this article do not apply to the 
following stationary sources or emissions units: 

a. The construction of any stationary source or emissions 
unit that is exempt under the provisions of subsections B 
through F of this section. In determining whether a 
source is exempt from the provisions of this article, the 
provisions of subsections B through D of this section are 
independent from the provisions of subsections E and F 
of this section. A source must be determined to be 
exempt both under the provisions of subsections B 
through D of this section taken as a group and under the 
provisions of subsections E and F of this section to be 
exempt from this article. 

b. Vegetative waste recycling/mulching operations that 
do not exceed 2100 hours of operation in any 12-month 
consecutive period at a single stationary source. To 
qualify as an exemption under this subdivision, the total 
rated capacity of all diesel engines at the source, 
including portable diesel engines temporarily located at 
the site, may not exceed 1200 brake horsepower (output). 

c. The location of a portable emissions unit at a site 
subject to the following conditions: 

(1) Any new emissions from the portable emissions unit 
are secondary emissions. 

(2) The portable emissions unit is either subject to (i) a 
minor NSR permit authorizing the emissions unit as a 
portable emissions unit subject to this subdivision or (ii) 
a general permit. 

(3) The emissions of the portable emissions unit at the 
site would be temporary. 

(4) The portable emissions unit would not undergo 
modification or replacement that would be subject to this 
article. 

(5) The portable emissions unit is suitable to the area in 
which it is to be located. 

(6) Reasonable notice is given to the board prior to 
locating the emissions unit to the site identifying the 
proposed site and the probable duration of operation at 
the site. Such notice shall be provided to the board not 
less than 15 days prior to the date the emissions unit is to 
be located at the site unless a different notification 
schedule is previously approved by the board. 

d. The reactivation of a stationary source unless a 
determination concerning shutdown has been made 
pursuant to the provisions of 9VAC5-20-220. 
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e. The use by any existing stationary source or emissions 
unit of an alternative fuel or raw material, if the 
following conditions are met: 

(1) The owner demonstrates to the board that, as a result 
of trial burns at the owner's facility or other facilities or 
other sufficient data, the emissions resulting from the use 
of the alternative fuel or raw material supply are 
decreased. No demonstration will be required for the use 
of processed animal fat, processed fish oil, processed 
vegetable oil, distillate oil, or any mixture thereof in 
place of the same quantity of residual oil to fire industrial 
boilers. 

(2) The use of an alternative fuel or raw material would 
not be subject to review under this article as a project. 

2. The provisions of this article do not apply to the 
following stationary sources or emissions units provided 
the stationary source or emissions unit is (i) exempt under 
the provisions of subsections E and F of this section and 
(ii) meets any other applicable criteria or conditions set 
forth in this subdivision. 

a. Replacement of an emissions unit subject to the 
following criteria: 

(1) The replacement emission unit is (i) of an equal or 
lesser size and (ii) of an equal or lesser rated capacity as 
compared to the replaced emissions unit. 

(2) The replacement emissions unit is functionally 
equivalent to the replaced emissions unit. 

(3) The replacement emissions unit does not change the 
basic design parameters of the process operation. 

(4) The potential to emit of the replacement emissions 
unit does not exceed the potential to emit of the replaced 
emissions unit. If the replaced emissions unit is subject to 
terms and conditions contained in a minor NSR permit, 
the owner may, concurrently with the notification 
required in subdivision (6) of this subdivision, request a 
minor amendment as provided in 9VAC5-80-1280 B 4 to 
that permit to apply those terms and conditions to the 
replacement emissions unit. However, the replacement 
emissions unit's potential to emit is not limited for the 
purposes of this subdivision unless (and until) the 
requested minor permit amendment is granted by the 
board. 

(5) The replaced emissions unit is either removed or 
permanently shut down in accordance with the provisions 
of 9VAC5-20-220. 

(6) The owner notifies the board, in writing, of the 
proposed replacement at least 15 days prior to 
commencing construction on the replacement emissions 
unit. Such notification shall include the size, function, 
and rated capacity of the existing and replacement 

emissions units and the registration number of the 
affected stationary source. 

b. A reduction in stack outlet elevation provided that the 
stack serves only facilities that have been previously 
determined to be exempt from the minor NSR program. 

3. In determining whether a facility is exempt from the 
provisions of this article under the provisions of subsection 
B of this section, the definitions in 9VAC5-40 (Existing 
Stationary Sources) that would cover the facility if it were 
an existing source shall be used unless deemed 
inappropriate by the board. 

4. Any owner claiming that a facility is exempt from this 
article under the provisions of this section shall keep 
records as may be necessary to demonstrate to the 
satisfaction of the board that the facility was exempt at the 
time a minor NSR permit would have otherwise been 
required under this article. 

B. Facilities as specified below shall be exempt from the 
provisions of this article. 

1. Fuel burning equipment units (external combustion 
units, not engines and turbines) and space heaters in a 
single application as follows: 

a. Except as provided in subdivision b of this 
subdivision, the exemption thresholds in subdivisions (1) 
through (4) of this subdivision shall be applied on an 
individual unit basis for each fuel type. 

(1) Using solid fuel with a maximum heat input of less 
than 1,000,000 Btu per hour. 

(2) Using liquid fuel with a maximum heat input of less 
than 10,000,000 Btu per hour. 

(3) Using liquid and gaseous fuel with a maximum heat 
input of less than 10,000,000 Btu per hour. 

(4) Using gaseous fuel with a maximum heat input of less 
than 30,000,000 Btu per hour. 

b. In ozone nonattainment areas designated in 9VAC5-
20-204 or ozone maintenance areas designated in 
9VAC5-20-203, the exemption thresholds in subdivision 
a of this subdivision shall be applied in the aggregate for 
each fuel type. 

2. Engines and turbines that are used for emergency 
purposes only and that do not individually exceed 500 
hours of operation per year at a single stationary source as 
follows. All engines and turbines in a single application 
must also meet the following criteria to be exempt. 

a. Gasoline engines with an aggregate rated brake 
(output) horsepower of less than 910 hp and gasoline 
engines powering electrical generators having an 
aggregate rated electrical power output of less than 611 
kilowatts. 
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b. Diesel engines with an aggregate rated brake (output) 
horsepower of less than 1,675 hp and diesel engines 
powering electrical generators having an aggregate rated 
electrical power output of less than 1125 kilowatts. 

c. Combustion gas turbines with an aggregate of less than 
10,000,000 Btu per hour heat input (low heating value). 

3. Engines that power mobile sources during periods of 
maintenance, repair, or testing. 

4. Volatile organic compound storage and transfer 
operations involving petroleum liquids and other volatile 
organic compounds with a vapor pressure less than 1.5 
pounds per square inch absolute under actual storage 
conditions or, in the case of loading or processing, under 
actual loading or processing conditions; and any operation 
specified below: 

a. Volatile organic compound transfer operations 
involving: 

(1) Any tank of 2,000 gallons or less storage capacity; or 

(2) Any operation outside the volatile organic compound 
emissions control areas designated in 9VAC5-20-206. 

b. Volatile organic compound storage operations 
involving any tank of 40,000 gallons or less storage 
capacity. 

5. Vehicle customizing coating operations, if production is 
less than 20 vehicles per day. 

6. Vehicle refinishing operations. 

7. Coating operations for the exterior of fully assembled 
aircraft or marine vessels. 

8. Petroleum liquid storage and transfer operations 
involving petroleum liquids with a vapor pressure less than 
1.5 pounds per square inch absolute under actual storage 
conditions or, in the case of loading or processing, under 
actual loading or processing conditions (kerosene and fuel 
oil used for household heating have vapor pressures of less 
than 1.5 pounds per square inch absolute under actual 
storage conditions; therefore, kerosene and fuel oil are not 
subject to the provisions of this article when used or stored 
at ambient temperatures); and any operation or facility 
specified below: 

a. Gasoline bulk loading operations at bulk terminals 
located outside volatile organic compound emissions 
control areas designated in 9VAC5-20-206. 

b. Gasoline dispensing facilities. 

c. Gasoline bulk loading operations at bulk plants: 

(1) With an expected daily throughput of less than 4,000 
gallons, or 

(2) Located outside volatile organic compound emissions 
control areas designated in 9VAC5-20-206. 

d. Account/tank trucks; however, permits issued for 
gasoline storage/transfer facilities should include a 
provision that all associated account/tank trucks meet the 
same requirements as those trucks serving existing 
facilities. 

e. Petroleum liquid storage operations involving: 

(1) Any tank of 40,000 gallons or less storage capacity; 

(2) Any tank of less than 420,000 gallons storage 
capacity for crude oil or condensate stored, processed or 
treated at a drilling and production facility prior to 
custody transfer; or 

(3) Any tank storing waxy, heavy pour crude oil. 

9. Petroleum dry cleaning plants with a total 
manufacturers' rated solvent dryer capacity less than 84 
pounds as determined by the applicable new source 
performance standard in 9VAC5-50-410. 

10. Any addition of, relocation of, or change to a 
woodworking machine within a wood product 
manufacturing plant provided the system air movement 
capacity, expressed as the cubic feet per minute of air, is 
not increased and maximum control efficiency of the 
control system is not decreased. 

11. Wood sawmills and planing mills primarily engaged in 
sawing rough lumber and timber from logs and bolts, or 
resawing cants and flitches into lumber, including box 
lumber and softwood cut stock; planing mills combined 
with sawmills; and separately operated planing mills that 
are engaged primarily in producing surfaced lumber and 
standard workings or patterns of lumber. This also includes 
facilities primarily engaged in sawing lath and railroad ties 
and in producing tobacco hogshead stock, wood chips, and 
snow fence lath. This exemption does not include any 
facility that engages in the kiln drying of lumber. 

12. Exhaust flares at natural gas and coalbed methane 
extraction wells. 

13. Temporary facilities subject to the following 
conditions: 

a. The operational period of the temporary facility (the 
period from the date that the first pollutant-emitting 
operation is commenced to the date of shutdown of the 
temporary facility) is 12 months or less. 

b. The uncontrolled emissions rate of any regulated air 
pollutant that would be emitted from the temporary 
facility during the operational period does not exceed the 
applicable exempt emission rate as set forth in 9VAC5-
80-1105 C (exemption rates for new stationary sources) 
or 9VAC5-80-1105 D (exemption rates for projects). The 
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uncontrolled emission rate may be calculated based upon 
the total number of hours in the operational period 
instead of 8760 hours. All temporary facilities that will 
be co-located at a stationary source shall be considered in 
the aggregate when calculating the uncontrolled 
emissions rate under this subdivision. 

c. Upon completion of the operational period, the 
temporary facility shall be either (i) shut down in 
accordance with 9VAC5-20-220 or (ii) returned to its 
original state and condition unless, prior to the end of the 
operational period, the owner demonstrates in writing to 
the satisfaction of the board that the facility is exempt 
under 9VAC5-80-1105 C (exemption rates for new 
stationary sources) or D (exemption rates for new 
stationary projects) using 8760 hours of operation per 
year. 

d. Not less than 30 calendar days prior to commencing 
the operational period, the owner shall notify the board in 
writing of the proposed temporary facility and shall 
provide (i) calculations demonstrating that the temporary 
facility is exempt under this subdivision and under 
9VAC5-80-1105 E and F and (ii) proposed dates for 
commencing the first pollutant-emitting operation and 
shutdown of the temporary facility. 

e. The owner shall provide written notifications to the 
board of (i) the actual date of commencing the first 
pollutant-emitting operation and (ii) the actual date of 
shutdown of the temporary facility. Notifications shall be 
postmarked not more than 10 days after such dates. 

14. Open pit incinerators subject to Article 40 (9VAC5-40-
5600 et seq.) of Part II of 9VAC5-40 (Existing Stationary 
Sources) and used solely for the purpose of disposal of 
clean burning waste and debris waste. 

C. The exemption of new stationary sources shall be 
determined as specified below: 

1. New stationary sources with uncontrolled emission rates 
less than all of the emission rates specified below shall be 
exempt from the provisions of this article. The 
uncontrolled emission rate of a new stationary source is the 
sum of the uncontrolled emission rates of the individual 
affected emissions units. Facilities exempted by subsection 
B of this section shall not be included in the summation of 
uncontrolled emissions for purposes of exempting new 
stationary sources under this subsection. 

Pollutant Emissions Rate 

Carbon Monoxide 100 tons per year (tpy) 

Nitrogen Oxides 40 tpy 

Sulfur Dioxide 40 tpy 

Particulate Matter 25 tpy 

Particulate Matter (PM10) 15 tpy 

Particulate Matter (PM2.5) 10 tpy 

Volatile organic compounds 25 tpy 

Lead 0.6 tpy 

Fluorides 3 tpy 

Sulfuric Acid Mist 6 tpy 

Hydrogen Sulfide (H2S) 9 tpy 

Total Reduced Sulfur 
(including H2S) 

9 tpy 

Reduced Sulfur Compounds 
(including H2S) 

9 tpy 

Municipal waste combustor 
organics (measured as total 
tetra-throughocta-chlorinated 
dibenzo-p-dioxins and 
dibenzofurans)  

3.5 x 10-6 tpy 

Municipal waste combustor 
metals (measured as 
particulate matter) 

13 tpy 

Municipal waste combustor 
acid gases (measured as the 
sum of SO2 and HCl) 

35 tpy 

Municipal solid waste landfill 
emissions (measured as 
nonmethane organic 
compounds) 

22 tpy 

2. If the particulate matter (PM10 or PM2.5) emissions for a 
stationary source can be determined in a manner acceptable 
to the board and the stationary source is deemed exempt 
using the emission rate for particulate matter (PM10 or 
PM2.5), the stationary source shall be considered to be 
exempt for particulate matter (PM). If the emissions of 
particulate matter (PM10 or PM2.5) cannot be determined in 
a manner acceptable to the board, the emission rate for 
particulate matter (PM) shall be used to determine the 
exemption status. 

3. The provisions of this article do not apply to a new 
stationary source if all of the emissions considered in 
calculating the uncontrolled emission rate of the new 
stationary source are fugitive emissions. 

D. The exemption of projects shall be determined as 
specified below: 

1. A project that would result in increases in uncontrolled 
emission rates at the stationary source less than all of the 
emission rates specified below shall be exempt from the 
provisions of this article. The uncontrolled emission rate 
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increase of a project is the sum of the uncontrolled 
emission rate increases of the individual affected emissions 
units. Uncontrolled emissions rate decreases are not 
considered as part of this calculation. Facilities exempted 
by subsection B of this section shall not be included in the 
summation of uncontrolled emissions for purposes of 
exempting projects under this subsection. 

Pollutant Emissions Rate 

Carbon Monoxide 100 tons per year (tpy) 

Nitrogen Oxides 10 tpy 

Sulfur Dioxide 10 tpy 

Particulate matter 15 tpy 

Particulate matter PM10 10 tpy 

Particulate matter (PM2.5) 5 tpy 

Volatile organic compounds 10 tpy 

Lead 0.6 tpy 

Fluorides 3 tpy 

Sulfuric Acid Mist 6 tpy 

Hydrogen Sulfide (H2S) 9 tpy 

Total Reduced Sulfur 
(including H2S) 

9 tpy 

Reduced Sulfur Compounds 
(including H2S) 

9 tpy 

Municipal waste combustor 
organics (measured as total 
tetra-through octa-chlorinated 
dibenzo-p-dioxins and 
dibenzofurans) 

3.5 x 10-6 tpy 

Municipal waste combustor 
metals (measured as 
particulate matter) 

13 tpy 

Municipal waste combustor 
acid gases (measured as the 
sum of SO2 and HCl) 

35 tpy 

Municipal solid waste landfill 
emissions (measured as 
nonmethane organic 
compounds) 

22 tpy 

2. If the particulate matter (PM10 or PM2.5) emissions for a 
stationary source can be determined in a manner acceptable 
to the board and the stationary source is deemed exempt 
using the emission rate for particulate matter (PM10 or 
PM2.5), the stationary source shall be considered to be 
exempt for particulate matter (PM). If the emissions of 
particulate matter (PM10 or PM2.5) cannot be determined in 

a manner acceptable to the board, the emission rate for 
particulate matter (PM) shall be used to determine the 
exemption status. 

3. The provisions of this article do not apply to a project if 
all of the emissions considered in calculating the 
uncontrolled emission rate increase of the project are 
fugitive emissions. 

E. Exemptions for stationary sources of toxic pollutants not 
subject to the federal hazardous air pollutant new source 
review program shall be as follows: 

1. Stationary sources exempt from the requirements of 
Article 5 (9VAC5-60-300 et seq.) of Part II of 9VAC5-60 
(Hazardous Air Pollutant Sources) as provided in 9VAC5-
60-300 C 1, C 2, C 7, D, or E shall be exempt from the 
provisions of this article. 

2. Facilities as specified below shall not be exempt, 
regardless of size or emission rate, from the provisions of 
this article. 

a. Incinerators, unless (i) the incinerator is used 
exclusively as air pollution control equipment, or (ii) the 
incinerator is an open pit incinerator subject to Article 40 
(9VAC5-40-5600 et seq.) of Part II of 9VAC5-40 
(Existing Stationary Sources) and used solely for the 
disposal of clean burning waste and debris waste. 

b. Ethylene oxide sterilizers. 

c. Boilers, incinerators, or industrial furnaces as defined 
in 40 CFR 260.10 and subject to 9VAC20-60 (Hazardous 
Waste Regulations). 

F. This subsection provides information on the extent to 
which any source category or portion of a source category 
subject to the federal hazardous air pollutant new source 
review program may be exempt from the provisions of this 
article. 

1. This subdivision addresses those source categories 
subject to the provisions of 40 CFR 61.05, 40 CFR 61.06, 
40 CFR 61.07, 40 CFR 61.08, and 40 CFR 61.15 that 
establish the requirements for issuing approvals of the 
construction of any new source or modification of any 
existing source subject to the provisions of 40 CFR Part 
61. Any source category or portion of a source category 
subject to this element of the federal hazardous air 
pollutant new source review program shall be exempt from 
the provisions of this article if specifically exempted from 
that program by 40 CFR Part 61. 

2. This subdivision addresses those source categories 
subject to the provisions of 40 CFR 63.5 that establish the 
requirements for issuing approvals to construct a new 
source or reconstruct a source subject to the provisions of 
40 CFR Part 63, except for Subparts B, D, and E. Any 
source category or portion of a source category subject to 
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this element of the federal hazardous air pollutant new 
source review program shall be exempt from the provisions 
of this article if specifically exempted from that program 
by 40 CFR Part 63. 

3. This subdivision addresses those source categories 
subject to the provisions of 40 CFR 63.50 through 40 CFR 
63.56 that establish the requirements for issuing notices of 
MACT approval prior to the construction of a new 
emissions unit listed in the source category schedule for 
standards. Any information regarding exemptions for a 
source category or portion of a source category subject to 
this element of the federal hazardous air pollutant new 
source review program may be found in Article 3 (9VAC5-
60-120 et seq.) of Part II of 9VAC5-60 (Hazardous Air 
Pollutant Sources). 

4. This subdivision addresses those source categories for 
which EPA has promulgated a formal determination that 
no regulations or other requirements need to be established 
pursuant to § 112 of the federal Clean Air Act in the source 
category schedule for standards. Any source category or 
portion of a source category subject to this element of the 
federal hazardous air pollutant new source review program 
shall be exempt from the provisions of this article. 

9VAC5-80-1110. Definitions.  

A. For the purpose of applying this article in the context of 
the Regulations for the Control and Abatement of Air 
Pollution and related uses, the words or terms shall have the 
meanings given them in subsection C of this section.  

B. As used in this article, all terms not defined here herein 
shall have the meanings given them in 9VAC5 Chapter 10 
(9VAC5-10) 9VAC5-10 (General Definitions), unless 
otherwise required by context.  

C. Terms defined.  

"Allowable emissions" means the emission rate of a 
stationary source calculated by using the maximum rated 
capacity of the source (unless the source is subject to state 
and federally enforceable limits which restrict the operating 
rate or hours of operation, or both) and the most stringent of 
the following:  

1. Applicable emission standards;  

2. The emission limitation specified as a state and federally 
enforceable permit condition, including those with a future 
compliance date; and  

3. Any other applicable emission limitation, including 
those with a future compliance date.  

"Addition" means the construction of a new emissions unit 
at or the relocation of an existing emissions unit to a 
stationary source. 

"Affected emissions units" means the following emissions 
units, as applicable: 

1. For a new stationary source, all emissions units. 

2. For a project, the added, modified, and replacement 
emissions units that are part of the project. 

"Applicable federal requirement" means all of, but not 
limited to, the following as they apply to affected emissions 
units in a source subject to this article (including 
requirements that have been promulgated or approved by the 
administrator through rulemaking at the time of permit 
issuance but have future-effective compliance dates):  

1. Any standard or other requirement provided for in an 
implementation plan established pursuant to § 110, 
§ 111(d), or § 129 of the federal Clean Air Act, including 
any source-specific provisions such as consent agreements 
or orders.  

2. Any limit term or condition in any construction permit 
issued under the new source review program or in any 
operating permit issued pursuant to the state operating 
permit program. However, those terms or conditions 
designated as state-only enforceable pursuant to 9VAC5-
80-1120 F or 9VAC5-80-820 G shall not be applicable 
federal requirements. 

3. Any emission standard, alternative emission standard, 
alternative emission emissions limitation, equivalent 
emission emissions limitation or other requirement 
established pursuant to § 112 or § 129 of the federal Clean 
Air Act as amended in 1990.  

4. Any new source performance standard or other 
requirement established pursuant to § 111 of the federal 
Clean Air Act, and any emission standard or other 
requirement established pursuant to § 112 of the federal 
Clean Air Act before it was amended in 1990.  

5. Any limitations and conditions or other requirement in a 
Virginia regulation or program that has been approved by 
EPA under Subpart E of 40 CFR Part 63 for the purposes 
of implementing and enforcing § 112 of the federal Clean 
Air Act.  

6. Any requirement concerning accident prevention under 
§ 112(r)(7) of the federal Clean Air Act.  

7. Any compliance monitoring requirements established 
pursuant to either § 504(b) or § 114(a)(3) of the federal 
Clean Air Act.  

8. Any standard or other requirement for consumer and 
commercial products under § 183(e) of the federal Clean 
Air Act.  

9. Any standard or other requirement for tank vessels under 
§ 183(f) of the federal Clean Air Act.  
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10. Any standard or other requirement in 40 CFR Part 55 
to control air pollution from outer continental shelf 
sources.  

11. Any standard or other requirement of the regulations 
promulgated to protect stratospheric ozone under Title VI 
of the federal Clean Air Act, unless the administrator has 
determined that such requirements need not be contained in 
a federal operating permit issued under this article.  

12. With regard to temporary sources subject to 9VAC5-
80-130, (i) any ambient air quality standard, except 
applicable state requirements , and (ii) requirements 
regarding increments or visibility as provided in Article 8 
(9VAC5-80-1605 et seq.) of this part.  

13. Any standard or other requirement under § 126 (a)(1) 
and (c) of the federal Clean Air Act. 

"Begin actual construction" means initiation of permanent 
physical on-site construction of an emissions unit. This 
includes, but is not limited to, installation of building 
supports and foundations, laying of underground pipework, 
and construction of permanent storage structures. With 
respect to a change in method of operation, this term refers to 
those on-site activities other than preparatory activities which 
mark the initiation of the change. With respect to the initial 
location or relocation of a portable emissions unit, this term 
refers to the delivery of any portion of the portable emissions 
unit to the site.  

"Clean wood" means uncontaminated natural or untreated 
wood. Clean wood includes but is not limited to byproducts 
of harvesting activities conducted for forest management or 
commercial logging, or mill residues consisting of bark, 
chips, edgings, sawdust, shavings, or slabs. It does not 
include wood that has been treated, adulterated, or chemically 
changed in some way; treated with glues, binders, or resins; 
or painted, stained, or coated. 

"Commence," as applied to the construction, reconstruction 
or modification of an emissions unit, means that the owner 
has all necessary preconstruction approvals or permits and 
has either:  

1. Begun, or caused to begin, a continuous program of 
actual on-site construction, reconstruction or modification 
of the unit, to be completed within a reasonable time; or  

2. Entered into binding agreements or contractual 
obligations, which cannot be canceled or modified without 
substantial loss to the owner, to undertake a program of 
actual construction, reconstruction or modification of the 
unit, to be completed within a reasonable time.  

"Complete application" means that the application contains 
all the information necessary for processing the application 
and that the provisions of § 10.1-1321.1 of the Virginia Air 
Pollution Control Law have been met. Designating an 
application complete for purposes of permit processing does 

not preclude the board from requesting or accepting 
additional information.  

"Construction" means fabrication, erection, installation, 
demolition, relocation, addition, replacement, or installation 
modification of an emissions unit that would result in a 
change in the uncontrolled emission rate.  

"Construction waste" means solid waste that is produced or 
generated during construction, remodeling, or repair of 
pavements, houses, commercial buildings, and other 
structures. Construction wastes include, but are not limited to, 
lumber, wire, sheetrock, broken brick, shingles, glass, pipe, 
concrete, paving materials, and metal and plastics if the metal 
or plastics are a part of the materials of construction or empty 
containers for such materials. Paints, coatings, solvents, 
asbestos, any liquid, compressed gases or semi-liquids, and 
garbage are not construction wastes. 

"Debris waste" means wastes resulting from land clearing 
operations. Debris wastes include, but are not limited to, 
stumps, wood, brush, leaves, soil, and road spoils. 

"Demolition waste" means that solid waste that is produced 
by the destruction of structures or their foundations, or both, 
and includes the same materials as construction wastes. 

"Diesel engine" means, for the purposes of 9VAC5-80-1105 
A 1 b, any internal combustion engine that burns diesel or #2 
fuel oil to provide power to processing equipment for a 
vegetative waste recycling/mulching operation. 

"Emergency" means, in the context of 9VAC5-80-1320 B 2 
9VAC5-80-1105 B 2, a situation where immediate action on 
the part of a source is needed and where the timing of the 
action makes it impractical to meet the requirements of this 
article, such as sudden loss of power, fires, earthquakes, 
floods or similar occurrences.  

"Emissions cap" means any limitation on the rate of 
emissions of any air pollutant from one or more emissions 
units established and identified as an emissions cap in any 
permit issued pursuant to the new source review program or 
operating permit program.  

"Emissions limitation" means a requirement established by 
the board that limits the quantity, rate, or concentration of 
emissions of air pollutants on a continuous basis, including 
any requirement relating to the operation or maintenance of a 
source to assure continuous emissions reduction, and any 
design standard, equipment standard, work practice, 
operational standard, or pollution prevention technique. 

"Emissions unit" means any part of a stationary source 
which emits or would have the potential to emit any regulated 
air pollutant.  

"Enforceable as a practical matter" means that the permit 
contains emission emissions limitations that are enforceable 
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by the board or the department and meet the following 
criteria:  

1. Are permanent;  

2. Contain a legal obligation for the owner to adhere to the 
terms and conditions;  

3. Do not allow a relaxation of a requirement of the 
implementation plan;  

4. Are technically accurate and quantifiable;  

5. Include averaging times or other provisions that allow at 
least monthly (or a shorter period if necessary to be 
consistent with the implementation plan) checks on 
compliance. This may include, but not be limited to, the 
following: compliance with annual limits in a rolling basis, 
monthly or shorter limits, and other provisions consistent 
with 9VAC5-80-1180 this article and other regulations of 
the board; and  

6. Require a level of recordkeeping, reporting and 
monitoring sufficient to demonstrate compliance.  

"Existing stationary source" means any stationary source 
other than a new stationary source. 

"Federal hazardous air pollutant new source review 
program" means a program for the preconstruction review 
and approval of new sources or expansions to existing ones 
the construction, reconstruction, or modification of any 
stationary source in accordance with regulations specified 
below and promulgated to implement the requirements of § 
112 (relating to hazardous air pollutants) of the federal Clean 
Air Act.  

1. The provisions of 40 CFR 61.05, 40 CFR 61.06, 40 CFR 
61.07, 40 CFR 61.08 and 40 CFR 61.15 for issuing 
approvals of the construction of any new source or 
modification of any existing source subject to the 
provisions of 40 CFR Part 61. These provisions of the 
federal hazardous air pollutant new source review program 
shall be implemented through this article and Article 1 
(9VAC5-60-60 et seq.) of 9VAC5 Chapter 60.  

2. The provisions of 40 CFR 63.5 for issuing approvals to 
construct a new source or reconstruct a source subject to 
the provisions of 40 CFR Part 63, except for Subparts B, D 
and E. These provisions of the federal hazardous air 
pollutant new source review program shall be implemented 
through this article and Article 2 (9VAC5-60-90 et seq.) of 
9VAC5 Chapter 60.  

3. The provisions of 40 CFR 63.50 through 40 CFR 63.56 
for issuing Notices of MACT approval Approval prior to 
the construction of a new emissions unit. These provisions 
of the federal hazardous air pollutant new source review 
program shall be implemented through this article and 
Article 3 (9VAC5-60-120 et seq.) of 9VAC5 Chapter 60.  

"Federally enforceable" means all limitations and conditions 
which that are enforceable by the administrator and citizens 
under the federal Clean Air Act or that are enforceable under 
other statutes administered by the administrator. Federally 
enforceable limitations and conditions include, but are not 
limited to, the following:  

1. Emission standards, alternative emission standards, 
alternative emission emissions limitations, and equivalent 
emission emissions limitations established pursuant to 
§ 112 of the federal Clean Air Act, as amended in 1990.  

2. New source performance standards established pursuant 
to § 111 of the federal Clean Air Act, and emission 
standards established pursuant to § 112 of the federal 
Clean Air Act before it was amended in 1990.  

3. All terms and conditions (unless expressly designated as 
state-only enforceable) in a federal operating permit, 
including any provisions that limit a source's potential to 
emit, unless expressly designated as not federally 
enforceable.  

4. Limitations and conditions that are part of an 
implementation plan established pursuant to § 110, 
§ 111(d) or § 129 of the federal Clean Air Act.  

5. Limitations and conditions (unless expressly designated 
as state-only enforceable) that are part of a federal 
construction permit issued under 40 CFR 52.21 or any 
construction permit issued under regulations approved by 
the EPA in accordance with 40 CFR Part 51 into the 
implementation plan.  

6. Limitations and conditions (unless expressly designated 
as state-only enforceable) that are part of an a state 
operating permit issued pursuant to a program approved by 
the EPA into an implementation plan as meeting the EPA's 
minimum criteria for federal enforceability, including 
adequate notice and opportunity for EPA and public 
comment prior to issuance of the final permit and 
practicable enforceability. where the permit and the permit 
program pursuant to which it was issued meet all of the 
following criteria: 

a. The operating permit program has been approved by 
the EPA into the implementation plan under § 110 of the 
federal Clean Air Act. 

b. The operating permit program imposes a legal 
obligation that operating permit holders adhere to the 
terms and limitations of such permits and provides that 
permits that do not conform to the operating permit 
program requirements and the requirements of EPA's 
underlying regulations may be deemed not federally 
enforceable by EPA. 

c. The operating permit program requires that all 
emissions limitations, controls, and other requirements 
imposed by such permits will be at least as stringent as 
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any other applicable limitations and requirements 
contained in the implementation plan or enforceable 
under the implementation plan, and that the program may 
not issue permits that waive, or make less stringent, any 
limitations or requirements contained in or issued 
pursuant to the implementation plan, or that are 
otherwise federally enforceable. 

d. The limitations, controls, and requirements in the 
permit in question are permanent, quantifiable, and 
otherwise enforceable as a practical matter. 

e. The permit in question was issued only after adequate 
and timely notice and opportunity for comment by the 
EPA and the public.  

7. Limitations and conditions in a Virginia regulation of 
the board or program that has been approved by the EPA 
under Subpart E of 40 CFR Part 63 for the purposes of 
implementing and enforcing § 112 of the federal Clean Air 
Act.  

8. Individual consent agreements that the EPA has legal 
authority to create.  

"Federal operating permit" means a permit issued under the 
federal operating permit program. 

"Federal operating permit program" means an operating 
permit system (i) for issuing terms and conditions for major 
stationary sources, (ii) established to implement the 
requirements of Title V of the federal Clean Air Act and 
associated regulations, and (iii) codified in Article 1 (9VAC5-
80-50 et seq.), Article 2 (9VAC5-80-310 et seq.), Article 3 
(9VAC5-80-360 et seq.), and Article 4 (9VAC5-80-710 et 
seq.) of this part. 

"Fixed capital cost" means the capital needed to provide all 
the depreciable components.  

"Fugitive emissions" means those emissions which that 
could not reasonably pass through a stack, chimney, vent, or 
other functionally equivalent opening.  

"General permit" means a permit issued under this article 
that meets the requirements of 9VAC5-80-1250.  

"Hazardous air pollutant" means (i) any air pollutant listed 
in § 112(b) of the federal Clean Air Act, as amended by 40 
CFR 63.60 Subpart C of 40 CFR Part 63, and (ii) 
incorporated by reference into the regulations of the board at 
9VAC5-60-92 B.  

"Major modification" means any modification defined as 
such in 9VAC5-80-1615 C or 9VAC5-80-2010 C, as may 
apply project at a major stationary source that would result in 
a significant emissions increase in any regulated air pollutant. 
For projects, the emissions increase may take into 
consideration any state and federally enforceable permit 
conditions that are in effect on the date the application is 
deemed complete under the provisions of 9VAC5-80-1160 B.  

"Major new source review (NSR) permit" means a permit 
issued under the major new source review program. 

"Major new source review (major NSR) program" means a 
preconstruction review and permit program (i) for new major 
stationary sources or major modifications (physical changes 
or changes in the method of operation); (ii) established to 
implement the requirements of §§ 112, 165 and 173 of the 
federal Clean Air Act and associated regulations; and (iii) 
codified in Article 7 (9VAC5-80-1400 et seq.), Article 8 
(9VAC5-80-1605 et seq.) and Article 9 (9VAC5-80-2000 et 
seq.) of this part.  

"Major stationary source" means any stationary source 
which that emits, or has the potential to emit, 100 tons or 
more per year of any regulated air pollutant. For new 
stationary sources, the potential to emit may take into 
consideration any state and federally enforceable permit 
conditions that are in effect on the date the application is 
deemed complete under the provisions of 9VAC5-80-1160 B. 

"Minor new source review (NSR) permit" means a permit 
issued pursuant to this article. 

"Minor new source review (minor NSR) program" means a 
preconstruction review and permit program (i) for regulated 
air pollutants from new stationary sources or modifications 
(physical changes or changes in the method of operation) that 
do not qualify for projects that are not subject to review under 
the major new source review program; (ii) established to 
implement the requirements of §§ 110(a)(2)(C) and 112 of the 
federal Clean Air Act and associated regulations; and (iii) 
codified in Article 6 (9VAC5-80-1100 et seq.) of this part this 
article. The minor NSR program may also be used to 
implement the terms and conditions described in 9VAC5-80-
1120 F 1; however, those terms and conditions shall be state-
only enforceable and shall not be applicable federal 
requirements.  

"Modification" means any physical change in, or change in 
the method of operation of, or addition to, a stationary source 
that would result in a net emissions increase an emissions unit 
that increases the uncontrolled emission rate of any regulated 
air pollutant emitted into the atmosphere by the source unit or 
which that results in the emission of any regulated air 
pollutant into the atmosphere not previously emitted, except 
that the. The following shall not, by themselves (unless 
previously limited by permit conditions), be considered 
modifications physical changes or changes in the method of 
operation under this definition:  

1. Maintenance, repair and replacement which of 
components that the board determines to be routine for a 
source type and which does not fall within the definition of 
"reconstruction replacement";  

2. An increase in the throughput or production rate of a 
unit (unless previously limited by any state enforceable and 
federally enforceable permit conditions established 



Regulations 

Volume 26, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations February 1, 2010 

1659 

pursuant to this chapter), if that increase does not exceed 
the operating design capacity of that unit;  

3. An increase in the hours of operation (unless previously 
limited by any state enforceable and federally enforceable 
permit conditions established pursuant to this chapter);  

4. Use of an alternative fuel or raw material (unless 
previously limited by any state enforceable and federally 
enforceable permit conditions established pursuant to this 
chapter) if, prior to the date any provision of the 
regulations of the board becomes applicable to the source 
type, the source emissions unit was designed to 
accommodate that alternative use. A source unit shall be 
considered to be designed to accommodate an alternative 
fuel or raw material if provisions for that use were included 
in the final construction specifications;  

5. Use of an alternative fuel or raw material that the 
emissions unit is approved to use under any new source 
review permit; 

6. The addition, replacement or use of any system or 
device whose primary function is the reduction of air 
pollutants, except when a system or device that is 
necessary to comply with applicable air pollution control 
laws and, permit conditions or regulations is replaced by a 
system or device which the board considers to be less 
efficient in the control of air pollution emissions; or  

6. 7. The removal of any system or device whose primary 
function is the reduction of air pollutants if the system or 
device is not (i) necessary for the source to comply with 
any applicable air pollution control laws, permit 
conditions, or regulations or (ii) used to avoid any 
applicable new source review program requirement.  

8. A change in ownership at a stationary source. 

"Modified source" means any stationary source (or portion 
of it), the modification of which commenced on or after 
March 17, 1972.  

"Necessary preconstruction approvals or permits" means 
those permits or approvals required under federal air quality 
control laws and regulations, and those air quality control 
laws and regulations which are the NSR program that is part 
of the implementation plan.  

"Net emissions increase" means the amount by which the 
sum of the following exceeds zero: (i) any increase in the 
uncontrolled emission rate from a particular physical change 
or change in the method of operation at a stationary source 
and (ii) any other increases and decreases in the uncontrolled 
emission rate at the source that are concurrent with the 
particular change and are otherwise creditable. An increase or 
decrease in the uncontrolled emission rate is concurrent with 
the increase from the particular change only if it is directly 
resultant from the particular change. An increase or decrease 
in the uncontrolled emission rate is not creditable if the board 

has relied on it in issuing a permit for the source under the 
new source review program and that permit is in effect when 
the increase in the uncontrolled emission rate from the 
particular change occurs. Creditable increases and decreases 
shall be federally enforceable or enforceable as a practical 
matter.  

"New source" means any stationary source (or portion of it), 
the construction or relocation of which commenced on or 
after March 17, 1972; and any stationary source (or portion of 
it), the reconstruction of which commenced on or after 
December 10, 1976.  

"New source review (NSR) permit" means a permit issued 
under the new source review program. 

"New source review (NSR) program" means a 
preconstruction review and permit program (i) for regulated 
air pollutants from new stationary sources or modifications 
projects (physical changes or changes in the method of 
operation); (ii) established to implement the requirements of 
§§ 110(a)(2)(C), 112 (relating to permits for hazardous air 
pollutants), 165 (relating to permits in prevention of 
significant deterioration areas), and 173 (relating to permits in 
nonattainment areas) of the federal Clean Air Act and 
associated regulations; and (iii) codified in Article 6 (9VAC5-
80-1100 et seq.) this article, Article 7 (9VAC5-80-1400 et 
seq.), Article 8 (9VAC5-80-1605 et seq.) and Article 9 
(9VAC5-80-2000 et seq.) of this part. The NSR program may 
also be used to implement the terms and conditions described 
in 9VAC5-80-1120 F 1; however, those terms and conditions 
shall be state-only enforceable and shall not be applicable 
federal requirements. 

"New stationary source" means any stationary source to be 
constructed at or relocated to an undeveloped site. 

"Nonroad engine" means any internal combustion engine:  

1. In or on a piece of equipment that is self-propelled or 
serves a dual purpose by both propelling itself and 
performing another function (such as garden tractors, off-
highway mobile cranes and bulldozers); or 

2. In or on a piece of equipment that is intended to be 
propelled while performing its function (such as 
lawnmowers and string trimmers); or. 

3. That, by itself or in or on a piece of equipment, is 
portable or transportable, meaning designed to be capable 
of being carried or moved from one location to another. 
Indications of transportability include, but are not limited 
to, wheels, skids, carrying handles, dollies, trailers, or 
platforms.  

An internal combustion engine is not a nonroad engine if: 1. 
The the engine is used to propel a motor vehicle or a vehicle 
used solely for competition, or is subject to standards 
promulgated under § 202 of the federal Clean Air Act; or. 
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2. The engine otherwise included in subdivision 3 above 
remains or will remain at a location for more than 12 
consecutive months or a shorter period of time for an 
engine located at a seasonal source.  

For purposes of this definition, a location is any single site at 
a building, structure, facility or installation. Any engine (or 
engines) that replaces an engine at a location and that is 
intended to perform the same or similar function as the engine 
replaced will be included in calculating the consecutive time 
period. An engine located at a seasonal source is an engine 
that remains at a seasonal source during the full annual 
operating period of the seasonal source. A seasonal source is 
a stationary source that remains in a single location on a 
permanent basis (i.e., at least two years) and that operates at 
the single location approximately three months (or more) 
each year. This paragraph does not apply to an engine after 
the engine is removed from the location.  

"Plantwide applicability limitation (PAL)" means an 
emissions limitation expressed in tons per year, for a pollutant 
at a major stationary source, that is enforceable as a practical 
matter and established sourcewide in accordance with 
9VAC5-80-1865 or 9VAC5-80-2144. 

"PAL permit" means the state operating permit issued by the 
board that establishes a PAL for a major stationary source. 

"Portable," in reference to emissions units, means an 
emissions unit that is designed to have the capability of being 
moved from one location to another for the purpose of 
operating at multiple locations and storage when idle. 
Indications of portability include, but are not limited to, 
wheels, skids, carrying handles, dollies dolly, trailers trailer, 
or platforms platform.  

"Potential to emit" means the maximum capacity of a 
stationary source to emit a pollutant under its physical and 
operational design. Any physical or operational limitation on 
the capacity of the source to emit a pollutant, including air 
pollution control equipment, and restrictions on hours of 
operation or on the type or amount of material combusted, 
stored, or processed, shall be treated as part of its design only 
if the limitation or its effect on emissions is state and 
federally enforceable. Secondary emissions do not count in 
determining the potential to emit of a stationary source.  

"Precursor pollutant" means the following: 

(1) Volatile organic compounds and nitrogen oxides are 
precursors to ozone. 

(2) Sulfur dioxide is a precursor to PM2.5. 

(3) Nitrogen oxides are presumed to be precursors to PM2.5 
in all PM2.5, unless the board determines that emissions of 
nitrogen oxides from sources in a specific area are not a 
significant contributor to that area's ambient PM2.5 
concentrations. 

(4) Volatile organic compounds and ammonia are 
presumed not to be precursors to PM2.5, unless the board 
determines that emissions of volatile organic compounds 
or ammonia from sources in a specific area are a 
significant contributor to that area's ambient PM2.5 
concentrations. 

"Process operation" means any method, form, action, 
operation, or treatment of manufacturing or processing, 
including any storage or handling of materials or products 
before, during, or after manufacturing or processing. 

"Project" means any change at an existing stationary source 
consisting of the addition, replacement, or modification of 
one or more emissions units. 

"Public comment period" means a time during which the 
public shall have the opportunity to comment on the new or 
modified source permit application information (exclusive of 
confidential information) for a new stationary source or 
project, the preliminary review and analysis of the effect of 
the source upon the ambient air quality, and the preliminary 
decision of the board regarding the permit application.  

"Reactivation" means beginning operation of an emissions 
unit that has been shut down.  

"Reconstruction" means, for the sole purposes of 9VAC5-
80-1210 A, B, and C, the replacement of an emissions unit or 
its components to such an extent that:  

1. The fixed capital cost of the new components exceeds 
50% of the fixed capital cost that would be required to 
construct a comparable entirely new unit;  

2. The replacement significantly extends the life of the 
emissions unit; and  

3. It is technologically and economically feasible to meet 
the applicable emission standards prescribed under 
regulations of the board.  

Any determination by the board as to whether a proposed 
replacement constitutes reconstruction shall be based on:  

1. The fixed capital cost of the replacements in comparison 
to the fixed capital cost of the construction of a comparable 
entirely new unit;  

2. The estimated life of the unit after the replacements 
compared to the life of a comparable entirely new unit;  

3. The extent to which the components being replaced 
cause or contribute to the emissions from the unit; and  

4. Any economic or technical limitations on compliance 
with applicable standards of performance which that are 
inherent in the proposed replacements.  

"Regulated air pollutant" means any of the following:  

1. Nitrogen oxides or any volatile organic compound;.  
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2. Any pollutant (including any associated precursor 
pollutant) for which an ambient air quality standard has 
been promulgated;.  

3. Any pollutant subject to any standard promulgated under 
§ 111 of the federal Clean Air Act; 40 CFR Part 60.  

4. Any pollutant subject to a standard promulgated under 
or other requirements established under § 112 of the 
federal Clean Air Act concerning hazardous air pollutants 
40 CFR Part 61 and any pollutant regulated under 40 CFR 
Part 63; or.  

5. Any pollutant subject to a regulation adopted by the 
board.  

"Relocation" means a change in physical location of a 
stationary source or an emissions unit from one stationary 
source to another stationary source.  

"Replacement" means the substitution of an emissions unit 
for an emissions unit located at a stationary source, which 
will thereafter perform the same function as the replaced 
emissions unit. 

"Secondary emissions" means emissions which occur or 
would occur as a result of the construction, reconstruction, 
modification or operation of a new stationary source or an 
emissions unit, but do not come from the stationary source 
itself. For the purpose of this article, secondary emissions 
must be specific, well-defined, and quantifiable; and must 
affect the same general areas as the stationary source which 
that causes the secondary emissions. Secondary emissions 
include emissions from any off site support facility which that 
would not be constructed or increase its emissions except as a 
result of the construction or operation of the stationary source 
or emissions unit. Secondary emissions do not include any 
emissions which that come directly from a mobile source, 
such as emissions from the tailpipe of a motor vehicle, from a 
train, or from a vessel.  

"Significant" means: 

a. In reference to an emissions increase, an increase in 
potential to emit that would equal or exceed any of the 
following rates: 

Pollutant Emissions Rate 

Carbon Monoxide 100 tons per year (tpy) 

Nitrogen Oxides 40 tpy 

Sulfur Dioxide 40 tpy 

Particulate Matter (PM) 25 tpy 

Particulate Matter (PM10) 15 tpy 

Particulate Matter (PM2.5) 10 tpy 

Volatile organic compounds 25 tpy 

Lead 0.6 tpy 

b. In reference to an emissions increase for a regulated air 
pollutant not listed in subdivision a of this definition, there 
is no emissions rate that shall be considered significant. 

c. If the particulate matter (PM10 or PM2.5) emissions for a 
stationary source or emissions unit can be determined in a 
manner acceptable to the board and the emissions increase 
is determined to be significant using the emission rate for 
particulate matter (PM10 or PM2.5), the stationary source or 
emissions unit shall be considered to be significant for 
particulate matter (PM). If the emissions of particulate 
matter (PM10 or PM2.5) cannot be determined in a manner 
acceptable to the board, the emission rate for particulate 
matter (PM) shall be used to determine whether the 
emissions increase is significant. 

"Significant emissions increase" means, for a regulated air 
pollutant, an increase in emissions that is significant for that 
pollutant. 

"Site" means one or more contiguous or adjacent properties 
under the control of the same person (or persons under 
common control). 

"Source category schedule for standards" means the 
schedule (i) issued pursuant to § 112(e) of the federal Clean 
Air Act for promulgating MACT standards issued pursuant to 
§ 112(d) of the federal Clean Air Act and (ii) incorporated by 
reference into the regulations of the board in subdivision 2 of 
9VAC5-60-92. 

"Space heater" means any fixed or portable, liquid or 
gaseous fuel-fired, combustion unit used to heat air in a 
space, or used to heat air entering a space, for the purpose of 
maintaining an air temperature suitable for comfort, storage, 
or equipment operation. Space heaters do not include 
combustion units used primarily for the purpose of 
conditioning or processing raw materials or product, such as 
driers, kilns, or ovens. 

"State enforceable" means all limitations and conditions 
which that are enforceable as a practical matter, including any 
regulation of the board, those requirements developed 
pursuant to 9VAC5-170-160, requirements within any 
applicable order or variance, and any permit requirements 
established pursuant to this chapter.  

"State operating permit" means a permit issued under the 
state operating permit program. 

"State operating permit program" means an operating permit 
program (i) for issuing limitations and conditions for 
stationary sources; (ii) promulgated to meet the EPA's 
minimum criteria for federal enforceability, including 
adequate notice and opportunity for the EPA and public 
comment prior to issuance of the final permit, and practicable 
enforceability; and (iii) codified in Article 5 (9VAC5-80-800 
et seq.) of this part.  
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"Stationary source" means any building, structure, facility or 
installation which that emits or may emit any regulated air 
pollutant. A stationary source shall include all of the 
pollutant-emitting activities which that belong to the same 
industrial grouping, are located on one or more contiguous or 
adjacent properties, and are under the control of the same 
person (or persons under common control) except the 
activities of any watercraft or any nonroad engine. Pollutant-
emitting activities shall be considered as part of the same 
industrial grouping if they belong to the same "major group" 
(i.e., which that have the same two-digit code) as described in 
the "Standard Industrial Classification Manual," as amended 
by the supplement (see 9VAC5-20-21).  

"Synthetic minor source" means a stationary source whose 
potential to emit is constrained by state enforceable and 
federally enforceable limits, so as to place that stationary 
source below the threshold at which it would be subject to 
permit or other requirements governing major stationary 
sources in regulations of the board or in the federal Clean Air 
Act that otherwise has the potential to emit regulated air 
pollutants in amounts that are at or above those for major 
stationary sources, as applicable, but that has taken a 
restriction so that its potential to emit is less than such 
amounts for major stationary sources. Such restrictions must 
be enforceable as a practical matter. The term "synthetic 
minor source" applies independently for each regulated air 
pollutant that the source has the potential to emit.  

"Temporary facility" means a facility that (i) is operated to 
achieve a specific objective (such as serving as a pilot test 
facility, a process feasibility project, or a remediation project) 
and (ii) does not contribute toward the commercial production 
of any product or service (including byproduct and 
intermediate product) during the operational period. Portable 
emissions units covered by the exemption under 9VAC5-80-
1105 A 1 c and facilities used to augment or enable routine 
production are not considered temporary facilities for the 
purposes of this definition. 

"Toxic pollutant" means any air pollutant (i) listed in 
§ 112(b) of the federal Clean Air Act, as amended by Subpart 
C of 40 CFR Part 63 and (ii) incorporated by reference into 
the regulations of the board at 9VAC5-60-92 B, or any other 
air pollutant that the board determines, through adoption of 
regulation, to present a significant risk to public health. This 
term excludes asbestos, fine mineral fibers, radionuclides, and 
any glycol ether that does not have a TLV®. 

"Uncontrolled emission rate" means the emission rate from 
an emissions unit when operating at maximum capacity 
without air pollution control equipment. Air pollution control 
equipment includes control equipment that is not vital to its 
operation, except that its use enables the owner to conform to 
applicable air pollution control laws and regulations. Annual 
uncontrolled emissions shall be based on the maximum 
annual rated capacity (based on 8,760 hours of operation per 

year) of the emissions unit, unless the emissions unit or 
stationary source is subject to state and federally enforceable 
permit conditions that limit the annual hours of operation. 
Enforceable permit conditions on the type or amount of 
material combusted, stored, or processed may be used in 
determining the uncontrolled emission rate of an emissions 
unit or stationary source. The uncontrolled emission rate of a 
stationary source is the sum of the uncontrolled emission 
rates of the individual emissions units. Secondary emissions 
do not count in determining the uncontrolled emission rate of 
a stationary source. 

"Undeveloped site" means any site or facility at which no 
emissions units are located at the time the permit application 
is deemed complete, or at the time the owner begins actual 
construction, whichever occurs first. An undeveloped site also 
includes any site or facility at which all of the emissions units 
have been determined to be shut down pursuant to the 
provisions of 9VAC5-20-220. 

"Vegetative waste" means decomposable materials 
generated by land clearing activities and includes shrub, bush 
and tree prunings, bark, brush, leaves, limbs, roots, and 
stumps. Vegetative waste does not include construction or 
demolition waste or any combination of them. 

"Vegetative waste recycling/mulching operation" means any 
activity related to size reduction or separating, or both, of 
clean wood or vegetative waste, or both, by grinding, 
shredding, chipping, screening, or any combination of them. 

9VAC5-80-1120. General.  

A. No owner or other person shall begin actual construction, 
reconstruction or modification of, or operate, any new 
stationary source or any project subject to this article without 
first obtaining from the board a permit to construct and 
operate or to modify and operate the source under the 
provisions of this article. The owner may not construct or 
operate the stationary source or project contrary to the terms 
and conditions of that permit.  

B. Except as provided in 9VAC5-80-1320 9VAC5-80-1105 
A 1 c, no owner or other person shall relocate any stationary 
source or emissions unit from one stationary source to 
another without first obtaining from the board a minor NSR 
permit to relocate the stationary source or unit.  

C. No Except as provided in 9VAC5-80-1105 A 2 b, no 
owner or other person shall reduce the outlet elevation of any 
stack or chimney which discharges any regulated air pollutant 
from an affected facility emissions unit without first obtaining 
a minor NSR permit from the board.  

D. The board may combine the requirements of and the 
permits for emissions units within a stationary source subject 
to the new source review program into one permit. Likewise 
the board may require that applications for permits for 
emissions units within a stationary source required by any 
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provision of the new source review program be combined into 
one application. The board will take actions to combine 
permit terms and conditions as provided in 9VAC5-80-1255. 
Actions to combine permit terms and conditions involve 
relocating the terms and conditions contained in two or more 
permits issued to single stationary source to a single permit 
document. Actions to combine permit terms and conditions in 
and of themselves are not a mechanism for making changes to 
permits; such actions shall be taken under 9VAC5-80-1260 as 
explained in subsection E of this section.  

E. The board may incorporate the terms and conditions of a 
state operating permit into a permit issued pursuant to this 
article. The permit issued pursuant to this article may 
supersede the state operating permit provided the public 
participation provisions of the state operating permit program 
are followed. The board may incorporate the terms and 
conditions of a permit issued pursuant to this article into a 
state operating permit provided all of the permitted emissions 
units are operational and determined to be in compliance in 
accordance with 9VAC5-80-1200. The board will take 
actions to make changes to permit terms and conditions as 
provided in 9VAC5-80-1260. Nothing in this subsection is 
intended to imply that once an action has been taken to make 
a change to a permit, the resulting permit change may not be 
combined with other terms and conditions in a single permit 
document as provided in subsection D of this section.  

F. All terms and conditions of any minor NSR permit issued 
under this article shall be federally enforceable except those 
that are designated state-only enforceable under subdivision 1 
of this subsection. Any term or condition that is not federally 
enforceable shall be designated as state-only enforceable as 
provided in subdivision 2 of this subsection.  

1. A term or condition of any minor NSR permit issued 
under this article shall not be federally enforceable if it is 
derived from or is designed to implement Article 2 
(9VAC5-40-130 et seq.) of 9VAC5 Chapter 40 Part II of 
9VAC5-40 (Existing Stationary Sources), Article 2 
(9VAC5-50-130 et seq.) of 9VAC5 Chapter 50 Part II of 
9VAC5-50 (New and Modified Stationary Sources), or 
Article 4 (9VAC5-60-200 et seq.) or Article 5 (9VAC5-60-
300 et seq.) of 9VAC5 Chapter 60 Part II of 9VAC5-60 
(Hazardous Air Pollutant Sources).  

2. Any term or condition of any minor NSR permit issued 
under this article that is not federally enforceable shall be 
marked in the permit as state-only enforceable and shall 
only be enforceable only by the board. Incorrectly 
designating a term or condition as state-only enforceable 
shall not provide a shield from federal enforcement of a 
term or condition that is legally federally enforceable.  

G. Nothing in the regulations of the board shall be construed 
to prevent the board from granting minor NSR permits for 
programs of construction or modification of a new stationary 
source or project in planned incremental phases. In such 

cases, all net emissions increases from all emissions units 
covered by the program shall be added together for 
determining the applicability of this article.  

H. For sources subject to the federal hazardous air pollutant 
new source review program, the provisions of the federal 
hazardous air pollutant new source review program shall be 
implemented through this article and the applicable article of 
9VAC5 Chapter 60 (9VAC5-60). Permits issued under this 
article shall be the administrative mechanism for issuing 
approvals under the provisions of federal hazardous air 
pollutant new source review program. Except as noted below, 
in cases where there are differences between the provisions of 
this article and the provisions of federal hazardous air 
pollutant new source review program, the more restrictive 
provisions shall apply. The provisions of 9VAC5-80-1150 
and 9VAC5-80-1160 shall not apply to sources subject to the 
federal hazardous air pollutant new source review program. 
Other sections of this article also provide requirements 
relative to the application of this article to sources subject to 
the federal hazardous air pollutant new source review 
program, in which case those provisions shall prevail. This 
subsection applies only to the extent that the provisions of the 
federal hazardous air pollutant new source review program 
are not being implemented by other new source review 
program regulations of the board.  

9VAC5-80-1140. Applications.  

A. A single application is required identifying at a minimum 
each emissions unit subject to the provisions of this article in 
the new stationary source or the project, or affected by the 
stack outlet elevation reduction. The application shall be 
submitted according to procedures acceptable to the board. 
However, where several emissions units are included in one 
project, a single application covering all units in the project 
may be submitted.  

B. A separate application is required for each new stationary 
source or project.  

C. For new stationary sources or for projects with phased 
development, a single application should be submitted 
covering the entire new stationary source or project.  

D. Any application, form, report, or certification submitted 
to the board shall comply with the provisions of 9VAC5-20-
230.  

E. Any application submitted pursuant to this article shall 
contain a certification signed by the applicant as follows:  

"I certify that I understand that the existence of a minor 
new source review permit under this article does not shield 
the source from potential enforcement of any regulation of 
the board governing the major new source review program 
and does not relieve the source of the responsibility to 
comply with any applicable provision of the major NSR 
new source review program regulations."  
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9VAC5-80-1150. Application information required.  

A. The board shall furnish application forms to applicants. 
Completion of these forms serves as initial registration of 
new and modified stationary sources and emissions units 
subject to this article.  

B. Each application for a minor NSR permit shall include 
such information as may be required by the board to 
determine the effect of the proposed new stationary source or 
emissions unit on the ambient air quality and to determine 
compliance with the any emission standards which are 
applicable. The information required shall include, but is not 
limited to, the following:  

1. Company name and address (or plant name and address 
if different from the company name), owner's name and 
agent, and telephone number and names of plant site 
manager or contact or both.  

2. A description of the source's processes and products (by 
Standard Industrial Classification Code).  

3. All emissions of regulated air pollutants.  

a. A minor NSR permit application shall describe all 
emissions of regulated air pollutants emitted from any 
emissions unit or group of emissions units to be covered 
by the permit in the new stationary source or project or 
affected by the stack outlet elevation reduction. The 
permit application shall include a description of all 
changes in uncontrolled emissions from the project.  

b. Emissions shall be calculated as required in the minor 
NSR permit application form or instructions or in a 
manner acceptable to the board.  

c. Fugitive emissions shall be included in the minor NSR 
permit application to the extent quantifiable.  

4. Emissions rates in tons per year and in such terms as are 
necessary to establish compliance consistent with the 
applicable standard reference test method.  

5. Information needed to determine or regulate emissions 
as follows: fuels, fuel use, raw materials, production rates, 
loading rates, and operating schedules.  

6. Identification and description of air pollution control 
equipment and compliance monitoring devices or 
activities.  

7. Limitations on source operation affecting emissions or 
any work practice standards, where applicable, for all 
regulated air pollutants at the source.  

8. Calculations on which the information in subdivisions 3 
through 7 of this subsection is based. Any calculations 
shall include sufficient detail to permit assessment of the 
validity of such calculations.  

9. Any additional information or documentation that the 
board deems necessary to review and analyze the air 
pollution aspects of the new stationary source or emissions 
unit the project, or the stack outlet elevation reduction, 
including the submission of measured air quality data at 
the proposed site prior to construction, reconstruction or 
modification. Such measurements shall be accomplished 
using procedures acceptable to the board.  

C. The above information and analysis shall be determined 
and presented according to procedures and using methods 
acceptable to the board.  

9VAC5-80-1160. Action on permit application.  

A. Prior to submitting an application for processing under 
subsections B through F of this section, the owner may 
request a nonbinding applicability determination as to which 
particular provisions of the new source review program are 
applicable. The request for the applicability determination 
shall include sufficient information as may be necessary for 
the board to make an applicability determination and may 
include the same information required for an application. 
Within 30 days after receipt of a request, the board will (i) 
notify the applicant of the applicability determination or (ii) 
provide a determination that the information provided by the 
owner is insufficient to make an applicability determination, 
along with the identification of any deficiencies. 

B. Within 30 days after receipt of an application, the board 
will notify the applicant of the status of the application. The 
notification of the initial determination with regard to the 
status of the application will be provided by the board in 
writing and will include (i) a determination as to which 
provisions of the new source review program are applicable, 
(ii) the identification of any deficiencies, and (iii) a 
determination as to whether the application contains sufficient 
information to begin application review. The determination 
that the application has sufficient information to begin review 
is not necessarily a determination that it is complete. Within 
30 days after receipt of any additional information, the board 
will notify the applicant in writing of any deficiencies in such 
information. The date of receipt of a complete application for 
processing under subsection B C of this section shall be the 
date on which the board received all required information, 
including any applicable permit fees, and the provisions of § 
10.1-1321.1 of the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law have 
been met, if applicable.  

B. C. The board will normally process an application 
according to the steps specified in subdivisions 1 through 4 of 
this subsection. Processing time for these steps is normally 90 
days following receipt of a complete application. If a public 
hearing is required, processing time is normally 180 days 
following receipt of a complete application. The board may 
extend this time period if additional information is needed.  
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1. Complete the preliminary review and analysis in 
accordance with 9VAC5-80-1190 and the preliminary 
determination of the board. This step may constitute the 
final step if the provisions of 9VAC5-80-1170 concerning 
public participation are not applicable.  

2. When required, complete the public participation 
requirements in accordance with 9VAC5-80-1170.  

3. Consider the public comments received in accordance 
with 9VAC5-80-1170. 

4. Complete the final review and analysis and the final 
determination of the board.  

C. D. The board will normally take final action on an 
application after completion of the applicable steps in 
subsection B C of this section, except in cases where direct 
consideration of the application by the board is granted 
pursuant to 9VAC5-80-25. The board will review any request 
made under 9VAC5-80-1170 F, and will take final action on 
the request and application as provided in Part I (9VAC5-80-
5 et seq.) of this chapter.  

D. E. The board shall notify the applicant in writing of its 
decision on the application, including its reasons, and shall 
also specify the applicable emission limitations standards. 
These emission limitations standards are applicable during 
any emission testing conducted in accordance with 9VAC5-
80-1200.  

E. F. The applicant may appeal the decision pursuant to Part 
VIII (9VAC5-170-190 et seq.) of 9VAC5 Chapter 170 
9VAC5-170 (Regulation for General Administration).  

F. G. Within five days after notification to the applicant 
pursuant to subsection C E of this section, the notification and 
any comments received pursuant to the public comment 
period and public hearing shall be made available for public 
inspection at the same location as was the information in 
9VAC5-80-1170 E 1.  

9VAC5-80-1170. Public participation.  

A. No later than 15 days after receiving the initial 
determination notification required under 9VAC5-80-1160 A 
B, the applicant for a minor NSR permit for a new major 
stationary source or a major modification shall notify the 
public of the proposed major stationary source or major 
modification in accordance with subsection B of this section.  

B. The public notice required by subsection A of this section 
shall be placed by the applicant in at least one newspaper of 
general circulation in the affected air quality control region. 
The notice shall be approved by the board and shall include, 
but not be limited to, the following:  

1. The source name, location, and type;  

2. The pollutants and the total quantity of each which the 
applicant estimates will be emitted, and a brief statement of 
the air quality impact of such pollutants;  

3. The control technology proposed to be used at the time 
of the publication of the notice; and  

4. The name and telephone number of a contact person, 
employed by the applicant, who can answer questions 
about the proposed source.  

C. Upon a determination by the board that it will achieve the 
desired results in an equally effective manner, an applicant 
for a minor NSR permit may implement an alternative plan 
for notifying the public to that required in subsections A and 
B of this section.  

D. Prior to the decision of the board, minor NSR permit 
applications as specified below shall be subject to a public 
comment period of at least 30 days. At the end of the public 
comment period, a public hearing shall be held in accordance 
with subsection E of this section.  

1. Applications for stationary sources of hazardous air 
pollutants requiring a case-by-case maximum achievable 
control technology determination under Article 3 (9VAC5-
60-120 et seq.) of 9VAC5 Chapter 60 Part II of 9VAC5-60 
(Hazardous Air Pollutant Sources).  

2. Applications for new major stationary sources and major 
modifications.  

3. Applications for projects that would result in an increase 
in the potential to emit of any regulated air pollutant that 
would equal or exceed 100 tons per year, considering any 
state and federally enforceable permit conditions that will 
be placed on the source by a minor NSR permit. 

4. Applications for new stationary sources which or 
projects that have the potential for public interest 
concerning air quality issues, as determined by the board in 
its discretion. The identification of such sources may shall 
be made using the following nonexclusive criteria:  

a. Whether the new stationary source or project is 
opposed by any person;  

b. Whether the new stationary source or project has 
resulted in adverse media;  

c. Whether the new stationary source or project has 
generated adverse comment through any public 
participation or governmental review process initiated by 
any other governmental agency; and  

d. Whether the new stationary source or project has 
generated adverse comment by a local official, governing 
body or advisory board.  

4. 5. Applications for stationary sources for which any 
provision of the minor NSR permit is to be based upon a 
good engineering practice (GEP) stack height that exceeds 
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the height allowed by subdivisions 1 and 2 of the GEP 
definition. The demonstration specified in subdivision 3 of 
the GEP definition must be available during the public 
comment period and required by 9VAC5-50-20 H 3 shall 
be included in the application.  

E. When a public comment period and public hearing are 
required, the board shall notify the public, by advertisement 
in at least one newspaper of general circulation in the affected 
air quality control region, of the opportunity for the public 
comment and the public hearing on the information available 
for public inspection under the provisions of subdivision 1 of 
this subsection. The notification shall be published at least 30 
days prior to the day of the public hearing. For permits 
subject to § 10.1-1307.01 of the Code of Virginia, written 
comments will be accepted by the board for at least 15 days 
after any hearing, unless the board votes to shorten the period. 

1. Information on the minor NSR permit application 
(exclusive of confidential information under 9VAC5-170-
60), as well as the preliminary review and analysis and 
preliminary determination of the board, shall be available 
for public inspection during the entire public comment 
period in at least one location in the affected air quality 
control region. Any demonstration included in an 
application specified in subdivision D 5 of this section 
shall be available for public inspection during the public 
comment period. 

2. A copy of the notice shall be sent to all local air 
pollution control agencies having jurisdiction in the 
affected air quality control region, all states sharing the 
affected air quality control region, and to the regional 
administrator, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.  

3. Notices of public comment periods and public hearings 
for major stationary sources and major modifications 
published under this section shall meet the requirements of 
§ 10.1-1307.01 of the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law.  

F. Following the initial publication of the notice required 
under subsection E of this section, the board will receive 
written requests for direct consideration of the minor NSR 
permit application by the board pursuant to the requirements 
of 9VAC5-80-25. In order to be considered, the request must 
be submitted no later than the end of the public comment 
period. A request for direct consideration of an application by 
the board shall contain the following information: 

1. The name, mailing address, and telephone number of the 
requester. 

2. The names and addresses of all persons for whom the 
requester is acting as a representative (for the purposes of 
this requirement, an unincorporated association is a 
person). 

3. The reason why direct consideration by the board is 
requested. 

4. A brief, informal statement setting forth the factual 
nature and the extent of the interest of the requester or of 
the persons for whom the requester is acting as 
representative in the application or preliminary 
determination, including an explanation of how and to 
what extent such interest would be directly and adversely 
affected by the issuance, denial or revision of the permit in 
question. 

5. Where possible, specific references to the terms and 
conditions of the permit in question, together with 
suggested revisions and alterations of those terms and 
conditions that the requester considers are needed to 
conform the permit to the intent and provisions of the 
Virginia Air Pollution Control Law. 

G. The board will review any request made under subsection 
F of this section, and will take final action on the request as 
provided in 9VAC5-80-1160 C D. 

H. In order to facilitate the efficient issuance of permits 
under Articles 1 (9VAC5-80-50 et seq.) and 3 (9VAC5-80-
360 et seq.) of this part, upon request of the applicant the 
board shall process the minor NSR permit application under 
this article using public participation procedures meeting the 
requirements of this section and 9VAC5-80-270 or 9VAC5-
80-670, as applicable.  

9VAC5-80-1180. Standards and conditions for granting 
permits.  

A. No minor NSR permit will be granted pursuant to this 
article unless it is shown to the satisfaction of the board that 
the source will comply with the following standards:  

1. The source shall be designed, built and equipped to 
comply with standards of performance prescribed under 
9VAC5 Chapter 50 (9VAC5-50-10 et seq.) 9VAC5-50 
(New and Modified Stationary Sources) and with emission 
standards prescribed under 9VAC5 Chapter 60 (9VAC5-
60-10 et seq.) 9VAC5-60 (Hazardous Air Pollutant 
Sources);  

2. For sources subject to the federal hazardous air pollutant 
new source review program, the source shall be designed, 
built, and equipped to comply with the applicable emission 
standard and other requirements prescribed in 40 CFR Part 
61 or 63 or Article 3 (9VAC5-60-120 et seq.) of 9VAC5 
Chapter 60 Part II of 9VAC5-60 (Hazardous Air Pollutant 
Sources), as applicable;  

3. The source shall be designed, built and equipped to 
operate without preventing or interfering with the 
attainment or maintenance of any applicable ambient air 
quality standard and without causing or exacerbating a 
violation of any applicable ambient air quality standard; 
and  

4. The source shall be designed, built and equipped to 
operate without causing a violation of the applicable 
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provisions of regulations of the board or the applicable 
control strategy portion of the implementation plan.  

B. Permits Minor NSR permits may be granted to stationary 
sources or emissions units that contain emission caps 
provided the caps are made enforceable as a practical matter 
using the elements set forth in subsection D of this section. 
The emission caps may be considered in determining whether 
a stationary source is a synthetic minor source. 

C. Permits granted pursuant to this article Minor NSR 
permits may contain emissions standards as necessary to 
implement the provisions of this article and 9VAC5-50-260. 
The following criteria apply in establishing emission 
standards to the extent necessary to assure that emissions 
levels are enforceable as a practical matter:  

1. Standards may include limits on the level, quantity, rate, 
or concentration or any combination of them for each 
affected pollutant.  

2. In no case shall a standard result in emissions which 
would exceed the emissions rate based on the potential to 
emit of the emissions unit.  

3. The standard may prescribe, as an alternative to or a 
supplement to an emission limitation a limit prescribed 
under subdivision 1 of this subsection, an equipment, work 
practice, fuels specification, process materials, 
maintenance, or operational standard standards, or any 
combination of them.  

D. Permits issued under this article Minor NSR permits will 
contain, but need not be limited to, any of the following 
elements as necessary to ensure that the permits are 
enforceable as a practical matter:  

1. Emission standards.  

2. Conditions necessary to enforce emission standards. 
Conditions may include, but not be limited to, any of the 
following:  

a. Limit  Limits on fuel sulfur content.  

b. Limit Limits on production rates with time frames as 
appropriate to support the emission standards.  

c. Limit Limits on raw material usage rate.  

d. Limits on the minimum required capture, removal and 
overall control efficiency for any air pollution control 
equipment.  

3. Specifications for permitted equipment, identified as 
thoroughly as possible. The identification shall include, but 
not be limited to, type, rated capacity, and size. 
Specifications included in the permit under this subdivision 
are for informational purposes only and do not form 
enforceable terms or conditions of the permit unless the 
specifications are needed to form the basis for one or more 
of the other terms or conditions in the permit.  

4. Specifications for air pollution control equipment 
installed or to be installed. Specifications included in the 
permit under this subdivision are for informational 
purposes only and do not form enforceable terms or 
conditions of the permit unless the specifications are 
needed to form the basis for one or more of the other terms 
or conditions in the permit.  

5. Specifications for air pollution control equipment 
operating parameters and the circumstances under which 
such equipment shall be operated, where necessary to 
ensure that the required overall control efficiency is 
achieved. The operating parameters may include, but need 
not be limited to, any of the following:  

a. Pressure indicators and required pressure drop.  

b. Temperature indicators and required temperature.  

c. pH indicators and required pH.  

d. Flow indicators and required flow.  

6. Requirements for proper operation and maintenance of 
any pollution control equipment, and appropriate spare 
parts inventory.  

7. Stack Performance test requirements.  

8. Reporting or recordkeeping requirements, or both.  

9. Continuous emission or air quality monitoring 
requirements, or both.  

10. Other requirements as may be necessary to ensure 
compliance with the applicable regulations.  

9VAC5-80-1190. Application review and analysis.  

No minor NSR permit shall be granted pursuant to this 
article unless compliance with the standards in 9VAC5-80-
1180 is demonstrated to the satisfaction of the board by a 
review and analysis of the application performed on a source-
by-source basis as specified below:  

1. Applications for new stationary sources and projects 
shall be subject to the following review and analysis:  

a. A control technology review to determine if the source 
emissions units will be designed, built and equipped to 
comply with all applicable standards of performance 
prescribed under 9VAC5 Chapter 50 (9VAC5-50-10 et 
seq.) 9VAC5-50 (New and Modified Stationary Sources).  

b. An air quality analysis to determine the impact of 
pollutant emissions as may be deemed appropriate by the 
board.  

2. Applications for stationary sources of hazardous toxic 
air pollutants shall be subject to a control technology 
review to determine if the source will be designed, built 
and equipped to comply with all applicable emission 
standards prescribed under 9VAC5 Chapter 60 (9VAC5-
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60-10 et seq.) 9VAC5-60 (Hazardous Air Pollutant 
Sources).  

3. Applications under 9VAC5-80-1120 C (concerning 
stack outlet elevation reduction) shall be subject to an air 
quality analysis to determine the impact of applicable 
criteria pollutant emissions as may be deemed appropriate 
by the board.  

4. Applications for sources subject to the federal hazardous 
air pollutant new source review program shall be subject to 
a control technology review to determine if the source will 
be designed, built and equipped to comply with all 
applicable emission standards prescribed under 40 CFR 
Part 61 or 63 or Article 3 (9VAC5-60-120 et seq.) of 
9VAC5 Chapter 60 Part II of 9VAC5-60 (Hazardous Air 
Pollutant Sources).  

9VAC5-80-1200. Compliance determination and 
verification by performance testing.  

A. For stationary sources other than those specified in 
subsection B of this section, compliance with standards of 
performance shall be determined in accordance with the 
provisions of 9VAC5-50-20 and shall be verified by 
performance tests in accordance with the provisions of 
9VAC5-50-30.  

B. For stationary sources of hazardous air toxic pollutants, 
compliance with emission standards shall be determined in 
accordance with the provisions of 9VAC5-60-20 and shall be 
verified by emission tests in accordance with the provisions 
of 9VAC5-60-30.  

C. Testing required by subsections A and B of this section 
shall be conducted by the owner within 60 days after 
achieving the maximum production rate at which the new or 
modified source will be operated, but not later than 180 days 
after initial startup of the source; and 60 days thereafter the 
board shall be provided by the owner with one or, upon 
request, more copies of a written report of the results of the 
tests.  

D. For sources subject to the provisions of 40 CFR Part 60, 
61 or 63, the compliance determination and performance test 
requirements of subsections A, B and C of this section shall 
be met as specified in those parts of Title 40 of the Code of 
Federal Regulations.  

E. For sources other than those specified in subsection D of 
this section, the requirements of subsections A, B and C of 
this section shall be met unless the board:  

1. Specifies or approves, in specific cases, the use of a 
reference method with minor changes in methodology;  

2. Approves the use of an equivalent method;  

3. Approves the use of an alternative method, the results of 
which the board has determined to be adequate for 
indicating whether a specific source is in compliance;  

4. Waives the requirement for testing because, based upon 
a technical evaluation of the past performance of similar 
source types, using similar control methods, the board 
reasonably expects the new or modified source to perform 
in compliance with applicable standards; or  

5. Waives the requirement for testing because the owner of 
the source has demonstrated by other means to the board's 
satisfaction that the source is in compliance with the 
applicable standard.  

F. The provisions for the granting of waivers under 
subsection E of this section are intended for use in 
determining the initial compliance status of a source. The 
granting of a waiver does not obligate the board to grant any 
waivers once the source has been in operation for more than 
one year beyond the initial startup date.  

G. The granting of a waiver under this section does not 
shield the source from potential enforcement of any permit 
term or condition, applicable requirement of the 
implementation plan, or any other applicable federal 
requirement promulgated under the federal Clean Air Act.  

9VAC5-80-1210. Permit invalidation, suspension, 
revocation and enforcement.  

A. In addition to the sources subject to this article, the 
provisions of this section shall apply to sources specified 
below: 

1. Any stationary source (or portion of it), the construction, 
modification, or relocation of which commenced on or 
after March 17, 1972. 

2. Any stationary source (or portion of it), the 
reconstruction of which commenced on or after December 
10, 1976. 

B. A minor NSR permit granted pursuant to this article shall 
become invalid if a program of continuous construction, 
reconstruction or modification is not commenced within the 
latest of the following time frames:  

1. Eighteen months from the date the minor NSR permit is 
granted;  

2. Nine months from the date of the issuance of the last 
permit or other authorization (other than minor NSR 
permits) granted pursuant to this article) from any 
governmental entity; or  

3. Nine months from the date of the last resolution of any 
litigation concerning any such permits or authorizations 
(including minor NSR permits) granted pursuant to this 
article).  

B. C. A minor NSR permit granted pursuant to this article 
shall become invalid if a program of construction, 
reconstruction or modification is discontinued for a period of 
18 months or more, or if a program of construction, 
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reconstruction or modification is not completed within a 
reasonable time. This provision does not apply to the period 
between construction of the approved phases of a the phased 
construction of a new stationary source or project; each phase 
must commence construction within 18 months of the 
projected and approved commencement date.  

C. D. The board may extend the periods prescribed in 
subsections A B and B C of this section upon a satisfactory 
demonstration that an extension is justified. Provided there is 
no substantive change to the application information, the 
review and analysis, and the decision of the board, such 
extensions may be granted using the procedures for minor 
amendments in 9VAC5-80-1280.  

D. E. Any owner who constructs or operates a new or 
modified source subject to this section not in accordance with 
the terms and conditions of any permit to construct or operate, 
or any owner of a new or modified source subject to this 
article section who commences construction or operation 
without receiving a permit hereunder, shall be subject to 
appropriate enforcement action including, but not limited to, 
any specified in this section.  

E. Permits issued under this article F. Minor NSR permits 
shall be subject to such terms and conditions set forth in the 
permit as the board may deem necessary to ensure 
compliance with all applicable requirements of the 
regulations of the board.  

F. G. The board may revoke any minor NSR permit if the 
permittee:  

1. Knowingly makes material misstatements in the permit 
application or any amendments to it;  

2. Fails to comply with the terms or conditions of the 
permit;  

3. Fails to comply with any emission standards applicable 
to an emissions unit included in the permit;  

4. Causes emissions from the stationary source which 
result in violations of, or interfere with the attainment and 
maintenance of, any ambient air quality standard; or fails 
to operate in conformance with any applicable control 
strategy, including any emission standards or emission 
emissions limitations, in the implementation plan in effect 
at the time that an application is submitted; or  

5. Fails to comply with the applicable provisions of this 
article.  

G. H. The board may suspend, under such conditions and for 
such period of time as the board may prescribe, any minor 
NSR permit for any of the grounds for revocation contained 
in subsection F G of this section or for any other violations of 
the regulations of the board.  

H. I. The permittee shall comply with all terms and 
conditions of the minor NSR permit. Any permit 

noncompliance constitutes a violation of the Virginia Air 
Pollution Control Law and is grounds for (i) enforcement 
action or (ii) suspension or revocation.  

I. J. Violation of the regulations of the board shall be 
grounds for revocation of minor NSR permits issued under 
this article and are subject to the civil charges, penalties and 
all other relief contained in Part V (9VAC5-170-120 et seq.) 
of 9VAC5 Chapter 170 9VAC5-170 (Regulation for General 
Administration) and the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law.  

J. K. The board shall notify the applicant in writing of its 
decision, with its reasons, to change, suspend or revoke a 
minor NSR permit, or to render a minor NSR permit invalid.  

K. L. Nothing in the regulations of the board shall be 
construed to prevent the board and the owner from making a 
mutual determination that a minor NSR permit is invalid or 
revoked prior to any final decision rendered under subsection 
J K of this section.  

L. M. Nothing in the regulations of the board shall be 
construed to prevent the board and the owner from making a 
mutual determination that a minor NSR permit is rescinded 
because all of the statutory or regulatory requirements (i) 
upon which the permit is based or (ii) that necessitated 
issuance of the permit are no longer applicable.  

M. N. Except with respect to minor NSR permits issued in 
accordance with Article 3 (9VAC5-60-120 et seq.) of 9VAC5 
Chapter 60 Part II of 9VAC5-60 (Hazardous Air Pollutant 
Sources), the provisions of subsections A, B and C B, C, and 
D shall not apply to sources subject to the federal hazardous 
air pollutant new source review program.  

9VAC5-80-1220. Existence of permit no defense.  

The existence of a minor NSR permit under this article shall 
not constitute defense to a violation of the Virginia Air 
Pollution Control Law or the regulations of the board and 
shall not relieve any owner of the responsibility to comply 
with any applicable regulations, laws, ordinances and orders 
of the governmental entities having jurisdiction.  

9VAC5-80-1240. Transfer of permits.  

A. No person shall transfer a minor NSR permit from one 
location to another, or from one piece of equipment to 
another.  

B. In the case of a transfer of ownership of a stationary 
source, the new owner shall abide by any current minor NSR 
permit issued to the previous owner. The new owner shall 
notify the board of the change in ownership within 30 days of 
the transfer.  

C. In the case of a name change of a stationary source, the 
owner shall abide by any current minor NSR permit issued 
under the previous source name. The owner shall notify the 
board of the change in source name within 30 days of the 
name change.  
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D. The provisions of this section concerning the transfer of a 
minor NSR permit from one location to another shall not 
apply to the relocation of portable emission emissions units 
that are exempt from the provisions of this article by 9VAC5-
80-1320 A 1 c 9VAC5-80-1105 A 1 c.  

E. The provisions of this section concerning the transfer of a 
minor NSR permit from one piece of equipment to another 
shall not apply to the replacement of an emissions unit that is 
exempt from the provisions of this article by 9VAC5-80-1105 
A 2 a. 

9VAC5-80-1250. General permits.  

A. The requirements for issuance of a general permit are as 
follows:  

1. The board may issue a general permit covering a 
stationary source or emissions unit category containing 
numerous similar stationary sources or emissions units that 
meet the following criteria:  

a. All stationary sources or emissions units in the 
category shall be essentially the same in terms of 
operations and processes and emit either the same 
pollutants or those with similar characteristics.  

b. Stationary sources or emissions units shall not be 
subject to case-by-case standards or requirements.  

c. Stationary sources or emissions units shall be subject 
to the same or substantially similar requirements 
governing operation, emissions, monitoring, reporting, or 
recordkeeping.  

2. Stationary sources or emissions units operating under 
the authority of a general permit shall comply with all 
requirements applicable to other permits issued under this 
article.  

3. General permits shall (i) identify the criteria by which 
stationary sources or emissions units may qualify for the 
general permit and (ii) describe the process for stationary 
sources or emissions units to use in applying for the 
general permit.  

4. General permits shall be issued in accordance with 
§ 2.2-4006 A 9 of the Administrative Process Act.  

5. In addition to fulfilling the requirements specified by 
law, the notice of public comment shall include, but not be 
limited to, the following:  

a. The name, address and telephone number of a 
department contact from whom interested persons may 
obtain additional information including copies of the 
draft general permit;  

b. The criteria to be used in determining which stationary 
sources or emissions units qualify for coverage under the 
general permit;  

c. A brief description of the stationary source or 
emissions unit category that the department believes 
qualifies for coverage under the general permit including, 
but not limited to, an estimate of the number of 
individual stationary sources or emissions units in the 
category;  

d. A brief description of the application process to be 
used by owners of stationary sources or emissions units 
to request coverage under the general permit; and  

e. A brief description of the public comment procedures.  

B. The requirements for application for coverage under a 
general permit are as follows:  

1. Stationary sources or emissions units which qualify for 
coverage under a general permit may apply to the board for 
coverage under the terms of the general permit. Stationary 
sources or emissions units that do not qualify for coverage 
under a general permit shall apply for a minor NSR permit 
issued under the other provisions of this article.  

2. The application shall meet the requirements of this 
article and include all information necessary to determine 
qualification for and to assure compliance with the general 
permit.  

3. Stationary sources or emissions units that qualify for 
coverage under the general permit after coverage is granted 
to other stationary sources or emissions units in the 
category addressed by the general permit shall file an 
application with the board using the application process 
described in the general permit. The board shall grant 
authority to operate under the general permit to the 
stationary source or emissions unit if it determines that the 
stationary source or emissions unit meets the criteria set 
out in the general permit.  

C. The requirements for granting authority to operate under 
a general permit are as follows:  

1. The board shall grant authority to operate under the 
conditions and terms of the general permit to stationary 
sources or emissions units that meet the criteria set out in 
the general permit covering the specific stationary source 
or emissions unit category.  

2. Granting authority to operate under a general permit to a 
stationary source or emissions unit covered by a general 
permit shall not require compliance with the public 
participation procedures under 9VAC5-80-1170.  

3. A response to each general permit application may be 
provided at the discretion of the board. The general permit 
may specify a reasonable time period after which the 
owner of a stationary source or emissions unit that has 
submitted an application shall be deemed to be authorized 
to operate under the general permit.  
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4. Stationary sources or emissions units authorized to 
operate under a general permit may be issued a letter, a 
certificate, or a summary of the general permit provisions, 
limits, and requirements, or any other document which 
would attest that the stationary source or emissions unit is 
authorized to operate under the general permit.  

5. The general permit shall specify where the general 
permit and the letter, certificate, summary or other 
document shall be maintained by the source.  

D. The stationary source or emissions unit shall be subject to 
enforcement action under 9VAC5-80-1210 for operation 
without a minor NSR permit issued under this article if the 
stationary source or emissions unit is later determined by the 
board not to qualify for the conditions and terms of the 
general permit.  

9VAC5-80-1255. Actions to combine permit terms and 
conditions. 

A. General requirements for actions to combine permit 
terms and conditions are as follows: 

1. Except as provided in subdivision 3 of this subsection, 
the board may take actions to combine permit terms and 
conditions as provided under subsections B through E of 
this section. 

2. Requests to combine permit terms and conditions may 
be initiated by the permittee or by the board. 

3. Under no circumstances may an action to combine 
permit terms and conditions be used for any of the 
following: 

a. To combine the terms and conditions of (i) a federal 
operating permit, (ii) a PAL permit, or (iii) any permit 
that is or will be part of the implementation plan. 

b. To take an action to issue a permit or change a permit 
for the fabrication, erection, installation, demolition, 
relocation, addition, replacement, or modification of an 
emissions unit that would result in a change in emissions 
that would otherwise (i) be subject to review under this 
article or (ii) require a permit or permit amendment under 
the new source review program. 

c. To allow any stationary source or emissions unit to 
violate any federal requirement. 

B. The board may take actions to combine the terms and 
conditions of state operating permits and new source review 
permits, along with any changes to state operating permits 
and new source review permits. 

C. If the board and the owner make a mutual determination 
that it facilitates improved compliance or the efficient 
processing and issuing of permits, the board may take an 
action to combine the terms and conditions of permits for 
emissions units within a stationary source into one or more 

permits. Likewise the board may require that applications for 
permits for emissions units within a stationary source 
required by any permit program be combined into one 
application. 

D. Actions to combine the terms and conditions of permits 
are subject to the following conditions: 

1. Each term or condition in the combined permit shall be 
accompanied by a statement that specifies and references 
the origin (enabling permit program) of, along with the 
regulatory or any other authority for, the term or condition. 

2. Each term or condition in the combined permit shall be 
accompanied by a statement that specifies the effective 
date of the term or condition. 

3. Each term or condition in the combined permit shall be 
identified by its original designation (i.e., state-only 
enforceable or federally and state enforceable) consistent 
with the applicable enforceability designation of the term 
or condition in the contributing permit. 

4. Except as provided in subsection E of this section, all 
terms and conditions in the contributing permits shall be 
included in the combined permit without change. The 
combined permit will supersede the contributing permits, 
which will no longer be effective. 

E. Actions to make changes to permit terms and conditions 
as may be necessary to facilitate actions to combine permit 
terms and conditions may be accomplished in accordance 
with the minor amendment procedures (unless specified 
otherwise in this section) of the enabling permit program (i.e., 
the permit program that is the origin of the term or condition), 
subject to the following conditions: 

1. Updates to regulatory or other authorities may be 
accomplished in accordance with the administrative 
amendment procedures of the enabling permit program. 

2. If two or more terms or conditions apply to the same 
emissions unit or emissions units and are substantively 
equivalent, the more restrictive of the duplicate terms or 
conditions may be retained and the less restrictive one 
removed, subject to the provisions of subdivision 4 of this 
subsection. 

3. If two or more similar terms or conditions apply to the 
same emissions unit or emissions units and one is 
substantively more restrictive than the others, the more 
restrictive of the terms or conditions shall be retained, 
regardless of whether the less restrictive terms or 
conditions are removed. If the less restrictive of the similar 
terms or conditions is removed, the provisions of 
subdivision 4 of this subsection apply. 

4. The removal of similar terms or conditions from 
contributing permits is subject to the following conditions: 
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a. If any one of the terms or conditions removed is 
federally and state enforceable, the more restrictive term 
or condition that is retained in the combined permit shall 
be federally and state enforceable. 

b. If any one of the terms or conditions originates in a 
permit subject to a major NSR program, that major NSR 
program shall become the effective enabling permit 
program for the more restrictive term or condition that is 
retained in the combined permit. If more than one major 
NSR program is the basis for a term or condition, all of 
the applicable major NSR programs shall be the enabling 
permit program for that term or condition. 

c. The regulatory basis for all of the similar terms or 
conditions that are removed shall be included in the 
reference for the term or condition that is retained.  

9VAC5-80-1260. Changes to Actions to change permits.  

A. The general requirements for making actions to make 
changes to minor NSR permits are as follows:  

1. Changes Except as provided in subdivision 3 of this 
subsection, changes to a minor NSR permit issued under 
this article shall be made as specified under subsections B 
and C of this section and 9VAC5-80-1270 through 
9VAC5-80-1300.  

2. Changes to a minor NSR permit issued under this article 
may be initiated by the permittee as specified in subsection 
B of this section or by the board as specified in subsection 
C of this section.  

3. Changes to a minor NSR permit issued under this article 
and incorporated into a permit issued under Article 1 
(9VAC5-80-50 et seq.) or Article 3 (9VAC5-80-360 et 
seq.) of this part shall be made as specified in Article 1 
(9VAC5-80-50 et seq.) or Article 3 (9VAC5-80-360 et 
seq.) of this part.  

4. This section shall not be applicable to general permits.  

B. The requirements for changes initiated by the permittee 
are as follows:  

1. The permittee may initiate a change to a minor NSR 
permit by submitting a written request to the board for an 
administrative permit amendment, a minor permit 
amendment or a significant permit amendment. The 
requirements for these permit revisions changes can be 
found in 9VAC5-80-1270 through 9VAC5-80-1290.  

2. A request for a change by a permittee shall include a 
statement of the reason for the proposed change.  

C. The board may initiate a change to a minor NSR permit 
through the use of permit reopenings as specified in 9VAC5-
80-1300.  

9VAC5-80-1270. Administrative permit amendments.  

A. Administrative permit amendments shall be required used 
for and limited to the following:  

1. Correction of typographical or any other error, defect or 
irregularity which does not substantially affect the permit.  

2. Identification of a change in the name, address, or phone 
number of any person identified in the permit, or of a 
similar minor administrative change at the source.  

3. Change in ownership or operational control of a source 
where the board determines that no other change in the 
permit is necessary, provided that a written agreement 
containing a specific date for transfer of permit 
responsibility, coverage, and liability between the current 
and new permittee has been submitted to the board and the 
requirements of 9VAC5-80-1240 have been fulfilled.  

4. The combining of permits under the new source review 
program as provided in 9VAC5-80-1120 D.  

B. The administrative permit amendment procedures are as 
follows:  

1. The board will normally take final action on a request 
for an administrative permit amendment no more than 60 
days from receipt of the request.  

2. The board will incorporate the changes without 
providing notice to the public under 9VAC5-80-1170 and 
designate in the permit amendment that such permit 
revisions have been made pursuant to this section.  

3. The owner may implement the changes addressed in the 
request for an administrative amendment immediately 
upon submittal of the request.  

9VAC5-80-1280. Minor permit amendments.  

A. Minor permit amendment procedures shall be used only 
for those permit amendments that meet all of the following 
criteria:  

1. Do not violate any applicable federal requirement;.  

2. Do not involve significant changes to existing 
monitoring, reporting, or recordkeeping requirements that 
would make the permit requirements less stringent, such as 
a change to the method of monitoring to be used, a change 
to the method of demonstrating compliance or a relaxation 
of reporting or recordkeeping requirements;.  

3. Do not require or change a case-by-case determination 
of an emission emissions limitation or other standard; 
requirement.  

4. Do Except as provided in subdivision C 2 of this section, 
do not seek to establish or change a permit term or 
condition (i) for which there is no corresponding 
underlying applicable regulatory requirement and (ii) that 
the source has assumed to avoid an applicable regulatory 
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requirement to which the source would otherwise be 
subject. Such terms and conditions include:  

a. An emissions cap assumed to avoid classification as a 
modification under project subject to the new source 
review program or as a modification under § 112 of the 
federal Clean Air Act; and  

b. An alternative emissions limit approved pursuant to 
regulations promulgated under § 112(i)(5) of the federal 
Clean Air Act;.  

5. Are not modifications under the new source review 
program or under § 112 of the federal Clean Air Act; and 
that would otherwise require a permit under the new source 
review program.  

6. Are not required to be processed as a significant 
amendment under 9VAC5-80-1290 or as an administrative 
permit amendment under 9VAC5-80-1270.  

B. Notwithstanding subsection A of this section, minor 
permit amendment procedures may be used for permit 
amendments that meet any of the following criteria:  

1. Involve the use of economic incentives, emissions 
trading, and other similar approaches to the extent that 
such minor permit amendment procedures are explicitly 
provided for in a regulation of the board or a federally-
approved program.  

2. Require new or more frequent monitoring or reporting 
by the permittee or a reduction in the level of an emissions 
cap.  

3. Designate any minor NSR permit term or permit 
condition that meets the criteria in 9VAC5-80-1120 F 1 (i) 
as state-only enforceable as provided in 9VAC5-80-1120 F 
2 for any minor NSR permit issued under this article or any 
repealed or amended regulation from which this article is 
derived.  

4. Apply any minor NSR permit term or condition that is 
applicable to an existing emissions unit to its replacement 
emissions unit that otherwise meets the requirements for 
exemption from the minor new source review permit 
program requirements under the provisions of 9VAC5-80-
1105 A 2 a. 

C. Notwithstanding subsection A of this section, minor 
Minor permit amendment procedures may be used for permit 
amendments involving the rescission of a provision of a 
minor NSR permit if the board and the owner make a mutual 
determination that the provision is rescinded because all of 
the underlying statutory or regulatory requirements (i) upon 
which the provision is based or (ii) that necessitated inclusion 
of the provision are no longer applicable.  

1. In order for the underlying statutory and regulatory 
requirements to be considered no longer applicable, the 

provision of the permit that is being rescinded must not 
cover a regulated air pollutant. 

2. Any emissions cap contained in the permit shall be 
adjusted downward appropriately so that the emissions 
unit's potential to emit does not reflect any compound no 
longer considered a regulated air pollutant. 

D. A request for the use of minor permit amendment 
procedures shall include all of the following: 1. A a 
description of the change, the emissions resulting from the 
change, and any new applicable regulatory requirements that 
will apply if the change occurs. 2. A , accompanied by a 
request that such procedures be used. The applicant may, at 
the applicant's discretion, include a suggested proposed 
permit amendment. 

E. The public participation requirements of 9VAC5-80-1170 
shall not extend to minor permit amendments.  

F. Normally within 90 days of receipt by the board of a 
complete request under minor permit amendment procedures, 
the board will do one of the following:  

1. Issue the permit amendment as proposed.  

2. Deny the permit amendment request.  

3. Determine that the requested amendment does not meet 
the minor permit amendment criteria and should be 
reviewed under the significant amendment procedures.  

G. The requirements for making changes are as follow 
follows:  

1. The owner may make the change proposed in the minor 
permit amendment request immediately after the request is 
filed.  

2. After the change under subdivision 1 of this subsection 
is made, and until the board takes any of the actions 
specified in subsection F of this section, the source shall 
comply with both the applicable regulatory requirements 
governing the change and the proposed permit terms and 
conditions amendment.  

3. During the time period specified in subdivision 2 of this 
subsection, the owner need not comply with the existing 
permit terms and conditions he seeks to modify if the 
applicant has submitted a suggested proposed permit 
amendment pursuant to subsection D of this section. 
However, if the owner fails to comply with the proposed 
permit terms and conditions during this time period, the 
existing permit terms and conditions he seeks to modify 
may be enforced against him.  

9VAC5-80-1290. Significant amendment procedures.  

A. The criteria for use of significant amendment procedures 
are as follows:  
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1. Significant amendment procedures shall be used for 
requesting permit amendments that do not qualify as minor 
permit amendments under 9VAC5-80-1280 or as 
administrative amendments under 9VAC5-80-1270.  

2. Significant amendment procedures shall be used for 
those permit amendments that meet any one of the 
following criteria:  

a. Involve significant changes to existing monitoring, 
reporting, or recordkeeping requirements that would 
make the permit requirements less stringent, such as a 
change to the method of monitoring to be used, a change 
to the method of demonstrating compliance or a 
relaxation of reporting or recordkeeping requirements.  

b. Require or change a case-by-case determination of an 
emission emissions limitation or other standard 
requirement.  

c. Seek to establish or change a minor NSR permit term 
or condition (i) for which there is no corresponding 
underlying applicable regulatory requirement and (ii) that 
the source has assumed to avoid an applicable regulatory 
requirement to which the source would otherwise be 
subject. Such terms and conditions include:  

(1) An emissions cap assumed to avoid classification as a 
modification under project subject to the new source 
review program or as a modification under § 112 of the 
federal Clean Air Act; and  

(2) An alternative emissions limit approved pursuant to 
regulations promulgated under § 112(i)(5) of the federal 
Clean Air Act.  

3. Significant amendment procedures may not be used to 
bypass the public participation requirements in 9VAC5-80-
1170 for an application for a project that would be subject 
to the minor new source review program. 

B. A request for a significant permit amendment shall 
include a description of the change, the emissions resulting 
from the change, and any new applicable regulatory 
requirements that will apply if the change occurs. The 
applicant may, at the applicant's discretion, include a 
suggested draft permit amendment.  

C. The At the discretion of the board, the provisions of 
9VAC5-80-1170 D and E shall apply to requests made under 
this section if the permit is for a stationary source emissions 
unit subject to the request under this section was subject to 
review in any previous permit application that was subject to 
9VAC5-80-1170.  

D. The board will normally take final action on significant 
permit amendments within 90 days after receipt of a complete 
request. If a public hearing is required, processing time for a 
permit amendment is normally 180 days following receipt of 
a complete request except in cases where direct consideration 

of the request by the board is granted pursuant to 9VAC5-80-
25. The board may extend this time period if additional 
information is needed.  

E. The owner shall not make the change applied for in the 
significant amendment request until the amendment is 
approved by the board under subsection D of this section.  

9VAC5-80-1300. Reopening for cause.  

A. A minor NSR permit may be reopened and amended 
revised under any of the following situations:  

1. Additional regulatory requirements become applicable 
to the emissions units covered by the permit after a permit 
is issued but prior to commencement of construction.  

2. The board determines that the permit contains a material 
mistake or that inaccurate statements were made in 
establishing the emissions standards or other terms or 
conditions of the permit.  

3. The board determines that the permit must be amended 
to assure compliance with the applicable regulatory 
requirements or that the terms and conditions of the permit 
are not sufficient to meet all of the standards and 
requirements contained in this article.  

4. A new emission standard prescribed under 40 CFR Part 
60, 61 or 63 becomes applicable after a permit is issued but 
prior to initial startup.  

B. Proceedings to reopen and reissue a minor NSR permit 
shall follow the same procedures as apply to initial permit 
issuance and shall affect only those parts of the permit for 
which cause to reopen exists. Such reopening shall be made 
as expeditiously as practicable.  

C. Reopenings shall not be initiated before a notice of such 
intent is provided to the source by the board at least 30 days 
in advance of the date that the permit is to be reopened, 
except that the board may provide a shorter time period in the 
case of an emergency.  

9VAC5-80-1320 Permit exemption levels. (Repealed.) 

A. The general requirements for permit exemption levels are 
as follows:  

1. The provisions of this article do not apply to the 
following stationary sources or emissions units:  

a. The construction, reconstruction, relocation or 
modification of any stationary source or emissions unit 
that is exempt under the provisions of subsections B 
through F of this section. 

b. The reconstruction of any stationary source or 
emissions unit if the potential to emit resulting from the 
reconstruction will not increase.  

c. The relocation of a portable emissions unit provided 
that:  
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(1) The new emissions from the portable emissions unit 
are secondary emissions;  

(2) The portable emissions unit has previously been 
permitted or is subject to a general permit;  

(3) The unit would not undergo modification or 
reconstruction; 

(4) The unit is suitable to the area in which it is to be 
located; and  

(5) Reasonable notice is given to the board prior to the 
relocation identifying the proposed new location and the 
probable duration of operation at the new location. Such 
notice shall be given to the board not less than 15 days in 
advance of the proposed relocation  unless a different 
time duration is previously approved by the board.  

d. The reactivation of a stationary source unless a 
determination concerning shutdown has been made 
pursuant to the provisions of 9VAC5-20-220.  

e. The use by any source of an alternative fuel or raw 
material, if the following conditions are met: 

(1) The owner demonstrates to the board that, as a result 
of trial burns at the owner's facility or other facilities or 
other sufficient data, the emissions resulting from the use 
of the alternative fuel or raw material supply are 
decreased.  No demonstration will be required for the use 
of processed animal fat, processed fish oil, processed 
vegetable oil, distillate oil, or any mixture thereof in 
place of the same quantity of residual oil to fire industrial 
boilers. 

(2) The use of an alternative fuel or raw material would 
not be subject to review under this article as a 
modification. 

2. In determining whether a facility source is exempt from 
the provisions of this article, the provisions of subsections 
B through D of this section are independent from the 
provisions of subsections E and F of this section. A source 
must be determined to be exempt both under the provisions 
of subsections B through D taken as a group and under the 
provisions of subsection E or F to be exempt from this 
article.  

3. In determining whether a facility is exempt from the 
provisions of this article under the provisions of subsection 
B of this section, the definitions in 9VAC5 Chapter 40 
(9VAC5-40-10 et seq.) that would cover the facility if it 
were an existing source shall be used unless deemed 
inappropriate by the board.  

4. Any owner claiming that a facility is exempt from this 
article under the provisions of this section shall keep 
records as may be necessary to demonstrate to the 
satisfaction of the board that the facility was exempt at the 

time a permit would have otherwise been required under 
this article.  

B. Facilities as specified below shall be exempt from the 
provisions of this article as they pertain to construction, 
modification, reconstruction or relocation.  

1. Fuel burning equipment units (external combustion 
units, not engines and turbines) as follows:  

a. Using solid fuel with a maximum heat input of less 
than 1,000,000 Btu per hour.  

b. Using liquid fuel with a maximum heat input of less 
than 10,000,000 Btu per hour.  

c. Using liquid and gaseous fuel with a maximum heat 
input of less than 10,000,000 Btu per hour.  

d. Using gaseous fuel with a maximum heat input of less 
than 50,000,000 Btu per hour.  

2. Engines and turbines used for emergency purposes only 
and which do not exceed 500 hours of operation per year at 
a single stationary source as follows:  

a. Gasoline engines with an aggregate rated brake 
(output) horsepower of less than 910 hp and gasoline 
engines powering electrical generators having an 
aggregate rated electrical power output of less than 611 
kilowatts.  

b. Diesel engines with an aggregate rated brake (output) 
horsepower of less than 1,675 hp and diesel engines 
powering electrical generators having an aggregate rated 
electrical power output of less than 1125 kilowatts.  

c. Combustion gas turbines with an aggregate of less than 
10,000,000 Btu per hour heat input (low heating value).  

3. Engines that power mobile sources during periods of 
maintenance, repair or testing.  

4. Volatile organic compound storage and transfer 
operations involving petroleum liquids and other volatile 
organic compounds with a vapor pressure less than 1.5 
pounds per square inch absolute under actual storage 
conditions or, in the case of loading or processing, under 
actual loading or processing conditions; and any operation 
specified below:  

a. Volatile organic compound transfer operations 
involving:  

(1) Any tank of 2,000 gallons or less storage capacity; or  

(2) Any operation outside the volatile organic compound 
emissions control areas designated in 9VAC5-20-206.  

b. Volatile organic compound storage operations 
involving any tank of 40,000 gallons or less storage 
capacity.  
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5. Vehicle customizing coating operations, if production is 
less than 20 vehicles per day.  

6. Vehicle refinishing operations.  

7. Coating operations for the exterior of fully assembled 
aircraft or marine vessels.  

8. Petroleum liquid storage and transfer operations 
involving petroleum liquids with a vapor pressure less than 
1.5 pounds per square inch absolute under actual storage 
conditions or, in the case of loading or processing, under 
actual loading or processing conditions (kerosene and fuel 
oil used for household heating have vapor pressures of less 
than 1.5 pounds per square inch absolute under actual 
storage conditions; therefore, kerosene and fuel oil are not 
subject to the provisions of this article when used or stored 
at ambient temperatures); and any operation or facility 
specified below:  

a. Gasoline bulk loading operations at bulk terminals 
located outside volatile organic compound emissions 
control areas designated in 9VAC5-20-206.  

b. Gasoline dispensing facilities.  

c. Gasoline bulk loading operations at bulk plants:  

(1) With an expected daily throughput of less than 4,000 
gallons; or  

(2) Located outside volatile organic compound emissions 
control areas designated in 9VAC5-20-206.  

d. Account/tank trucks; however, permits issued for 
gasoline storage/transfer facilities should include a 
provision that all associated account/tank trucks meet the 
same requirements as those trucks serving existing 
facilities.  

e. Petroleum liquid storage operations involving:  

(1) Any tank of 40,000 gallons or less storage capacity;  

(2) Any tank of less than 420,000 gallons storage 
capacity for crude oil or condensate stored, processed or 
treated at a drilling and production facility prior to 
custody transfer; or  

(3) Any tank storing waxy, heavy pour crude oil.  

9. Petroleum dry cleaning plants with a total 
manufacturers' rated solvent dryer capacity less than 84 
pounds as determined by the applicable new source 
performance standard in 9VAC5-50-410.  

10. Any addition of, relocation of or change to a 
woodworking machine within a wood product 
manufacturing plant provided the system air movement 
capacity, expressed as the cubic feet per minute of air, is 
not increased and maximum control efficiency of the 
control system is not decreased.  

11. Wood sawmills and planing mills primarily engaged in 
sawing rough lumber and timber from logs and bolts, or 
resawing cants and flitches into lumber, including box 
lumber and softwood cut stock; planing mills combined 
with sawmills; and separately operated planing mills that 
are engaged primarily in producing surfaced lumber and 
standard workings or patterns of lumber. This also includes 
facilities primarily engaged in sawing lath and railroad ties 
and in producing tobacco hogshead stock, wood chips, and 
snow fence lath. This exemption does not include any 
facility that engages in the kiln drying of lumber.  

12. Exhaust flares at natural gas and coalbed methane 
extraction wells.  

C. The exemption of new and relocated sources shall be 
determined as specified below:  

1. Stationary sources with a potential to emit at rates less 
than all of the emission rates specified below shall be 
exempt from the provisions of this article pertaining to 
construction or relocation.  

  Pollutant Emissions Rate 

  Carbon Monoxide 100 tons per year 
(tpy) 

  Nitrogen Oxides 40 tpy 

  Sulfur Dioxide 40 tpy 

  Particulate Matter 25 tpy 

  Particulate Matter (PM10) 15 tpy 

  Volatile organic compounds 25 tpy 

  Lead 0.6 tpy 

  Fluorides 3 tpy 

  Sulfuric Acid Mist 6 tpy 

  Hydrogen Sulfide (H2S) 9 tpy 

  Total Reduced Sulfur (including 
H2S) 

9 tpy 

  Reduced Sulfur Compounds 
(including H2S) 

9 tpy 

  Municipal waste combustor 
organics (measured as total 
tetra-through octa-chlorinated 
dibenzo-p-dioxins and 
dibenzofurans) 

3.5 x 10-6 tpy 

  Municipal waste combustor 
metals (measured as particulate 
matter) 

13 tpy 

  Municipal waste combustor acid 
gases (measured as the sum of 

35 tpy 
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SO2 and HCI) 

  Municipal solid waste landfill 
emissions (measured as 
nonmethane organic 
compounds) 

22 tpy 

2. Facilities exempted by subsection B of this section shall 
not be included in the determination of potential to emit of 
a stationary source for purposes of exempting sources 
under this subsection.  

3. If the particulate matter (PM10) emissions for a 
stationary source can be determined in a manner acceptable 
to the board and the stationary source is deemed exempt 
using the emission rate for particulate matter (PM10), the 
stationary source shall be considered to be exempt for 
particulate matter. If the emissions of particulate matter 
(PM10) cannot be determined in a manner acceptable to the 
board, the emission rate for particulate matter shall be used 
to determine the exemption status.  

D. The exemption of modified and reconstructed sources 
shall be determined as specified below:  

1. Stationary sources with net emissions increases less than 
all of the emission rates specified below shall be exempt 
from the provisions of this article pertaining to 
modification or reconstruction.  

  Pollutant Emissions Rate 

  Carbon Monoxide 100 tons per year 
(tpy) 

  Nitrogen Oxides 10 tpy 

  Sulfur Dioxide 10 tpy 

  Particulate Matter 15 tpy 

  Particulate Matter (PM10) 10 tpy 

  Volatile organic compounds 10 tpy 

  Lead 0.6 tpy 

  Fluorides 3 tpy 

  Sulfuric Acid Mist 6 tpy 

  Hydrogen Sulfide (H2S) 9 tpy 

  Total Reduced Sulfur (including 
H2S) 

9 tpy 

  Reduced Sulfur Compounds 
(including H2S) 

9 tpy 

  Municipal waste combustor 
organics (measured as total 
tetra-through octa-chlorinated 
dibenzo-p-dioxins and 
dibenzofurans) 

3.5 x 10-6 tpy 

  Municipal waste combustor 
metals (measured as particulate 
matter) 

13 tpy 

  Municipal waste combustor acid 
gases (measured as the sum of 
SO2 and HCl) 

35 tpy 

  Municipal solid waste landfill 
emissions (measured as 
nonmethane organic 
compounds) 

22 tpy 

2. Facilities exempted by subsection B of this section shall 
not be included in the determination of net emissions 
increase of a stationary source for purposes of exempting 
sources under this subsection. However, any other 
increases and decreases in the uncontrolled emission rate at 
the source that are concurrent with a particular change 
shall be included in the determination of net emissions 
increase of a stationary source for purposes of exempting 
sources under this subsection, and if the change is not 
exempt, the other increases shall be subject to 9VAC5-50-
260 C.  

3. If the particulate matter (PM10) emissions for a 
stationary source can be determined in a manner acceptable 
to the board and the stationary source is deemed exempt 
using the emission rate for particulate matter (PM10), the 
stationary source shall be considered to be exempt for 
particulate matter. If the emissions of particulate matter 
(PM10) cannot be determined in a manner acceptable to the 
board, the emission rate for particulate matter shall be used 
to determine the exemption status.  

E. Exemptions for stationary sources of toxic pollutants not 
subject to the federal hazardous air pollutant new source 
review program shall be as follows:  

1. Stationary sources exempt from the requirements of 
Article 5 (9VAC5-60-300 et seq.) of 9VAC5 Chapter 60 as 
provided in 9VAC5-60-300 C 1, C 2, D or E shall be 
exempt from the provisions of this article.  

2. Facilities as specified below shall not be exempt, 
regardless of size or emission rate, from the provisions of 
this article.  

a. Incinerators, unless the incinerator is used exclusively 
as air pollution control equipment.  

b. Ethylene oxide sterilizers.  

c. Boilers, incinerators, or industrial furnaces as defined 
in 40 CFR 260.10 and subject to 9VAC20 Chapter 60 
(9VAC20-60) 

F. Any source category or portion of a source category 
subject to the federal hazardous air pollutant new source 
review program shall be exempt from the provisions of this 
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article if specifically exempted from that program by 40 CFR 
Part 61 or 63. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R06-106; Filed January 12, 2010, 2:06 p.m.  

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 
exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance 
with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, which 
excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 
requirements of federal law or regulations provided such 
regulations do not differ materially from those required by 
federal law or regulation. The Virginia Waste Management 
Board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 
or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-60. Virginia Hazardous 
Waste Management Regulations (amending 9VAC20-60-
18, 9VAC20-60-260, 9VAC20-60-261, 9VAC20-60-270). 

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1402 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 6921 et seq.; 40 CFR Parts 260 and 272. 

Effective Date: March 3, 2010.  

Agency Contact: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4426, FAX (804) 
698-4510, or email karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Hazardous Waste Management Regulations, 9VAC20-60, 
include requirements in the form of incorporated federal 
regulatory text at Title 40 of the Code of Federal 
Regulations. The amendments specifies that the federal 
regulatory text as it existed prior to July 1, 2009, is 
incorporated. The effective date of the incorporated text 
will be the effective date as published in the Federal 
Register notice or the effective date of this amendment 
(March 3, 2010), whichever is later. Additionally, for the 
chapter to operate properly, some additional specifications 
about what portions of the federal rules are not being 
adopted have been added. 

9VAC20-60-18. Applicability of incorporated references 
based on the dates on which they became effective.  

Except as noted, when a regulation of the United States 
Environmental Protection Agency set forth in Title 40 of the 
Code of Federal Regulations is adopted herein and 
incorporated by reference, that regulation shall be as it exists 
and has been published as a final regulation in the Federal 
Register prior to July 1, 2007 2009, with the effective date as 
published in the Federal Register notice or February 6, 2008 
March 3, 2010, whichever is later.  

9VAC20-60-260. Adoption of 40 CFR Part 260 by 
reference.  

A. Except as otherwise provided, the regulations of the 
United States Environmental Protection Agency set forth in 
40 CFR Part 260 are hereby incorporated as part of the 
Virginia Hazardous Waste Management Regulations. Except 
as otherwise provided, all material definitions, reference 
materials and other ancillaries that are a part of 40 CFR Part 
260 are also hereby incorporated as part of the Virginia 
Hazardous Waste Management Regulations.  

B. In all locations in these regulations where 40 CFR Part 
260 is incorporated by reference, the following additions, 
modifications and exceptions shall amend the incorporated 
text for the purpose of its incorporation into these regulations:  

1. In 40 CFR 260.10, the term "Administrator" shall mean 
the administrator of the United States Environmental 
Protection Agency or his designee.  

2. In 40 CFR 260.10, the term "EPA" shall mean the 
United States Environmental Protection Agency.  

3. In 40 CFR 260.10 the term "new tank system" and 
"existing tank system," the reference to July 14, 1986, 
applies only to tank regulations promulgated pursuant to 
federal Hazardous and Solid Waste Amendment (HSWA) 
requirements. HSWA requirement categories include:  

a. Interim status and permitting requirements applicable 
to tank systems owned and operated by small quantity 
generators;  

b. Leak detection requirements for all underground tank 
systems for which construction commenced after July 14, 
1986; and  

c. Permitting standards for underground tanks that cannot 
be entered for inspection.  

For non-HSWA regulations, the reference date shall be 
January 1, 1998.  

4. In 40 CFR 260.10, the term "Regional Administrator" 
shall mean the regional administrator of Region III of the 
United States Environmental Protection Agency or his 
designee.  

5. In 40 CFR 260.10 definitions of the terms "Person," 
"State," and "United States," the term "state" shall have the 
meaning originally intended by the Code of Federal 
Regulations and not be supplanted by "Commonwealth of 
Virginia."  

6. In 40 CFR 260.10 and wherever elsewhere in Title 40 of 
the Code of Federal Regulations the term "universal waste" 
appears, it shall be amended by addition of the following 
sentence: "In addition to the hazardous wastes listed 
herein, the term "universal waste" shall include those 
hazardous wastes listed in Part XVI (9VAC20-60-1495 et 
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seq.) of the Virginia Hazardous Waste Management 
Regulations as universal wastes, under such terms and 
requirements as shall therein be ascribed."  

7. Throughout 40 CFR 260.11(a), the terms "EPA" and 
"U.S. Environmental Protection Agency" shall not be 
supplanted with the term "Commonwealth of Virginia."  

8. In Part XIV (9VAC20-60-1370 et seq.), the Virginia 
Hazardous Waste Management Regulations contain 
provisions analogous to 40 CFR 260.30, 40 CFR 260.31, 
40 CFR 260.32, 40 CFR 260.33, 40 CFR 260.40, and 40 
CFR 260.41. These sections of 40 CFR Part 260 are not 
incorporated by reference and are not a part of the Virginia 
Hazardous Waste Management Regulations.  

9. Sections 40 CFR 260.2, 40 CFR 260.20, 40 CFR 260.21, 
40 CFR 260.22 and 40 CFR 260.23 are not included in the 
incorporation of 40 CFR Part 260 by reference and are not 
a part of the Virginia Hazardous Waste Management 
Regulations.  

10. Appendix I to 40 CFR Part 260 is not incorporated by 
reference and is not a part of the Virginia Hazardous Waste 
Management Regulations.  

11. Regardless of the provisions of 9VAC20-60-18, the 
revisions to 40 CFR Part 260 as promulgated by U.S. EPA 
on October 30, 2008, (73 FR 64717) (definition of solid 
waste rule) are not adopted herein. 

9VAC20-60-261. Adoption of 40 CFR Part 261 by 
reference.  

A. Except as otherwise provided, the regulations of the 
United States Environmental Protection Agency set forth in 
40 CFR Part 261 are hereby incorporated as part of the 
Virginia Hazardous Waste Management Regulations. Except 
as otherwise provided, all material definitions, reference 
materials and other ancillaries that are a part of 40 CFR Part 
261 are also hereby incorporated as part of the Virginia 
Hazardous Waste Management Regulations.  

B. In all locations in these regulations where 40 CFR Part 
261 is incorporated by reference, the following additions, 
modifications and exceptions shall amend the incorporated 
text for the purpose of its incorporation into these regulations:  

1. Any agreements required by 40 CFR 261.4(b)(11)(ii) 
shall be sent to the United States Environmental Protection 
Agency at the address shown and to the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Post Office Box 10009, Richmond, 
Virginia 23240-0009.  

2. In 40 CFR 261.4(e)(3)(iii), the text "in the Region where 
the sample is collected" shall be deleted.  

3. In 40 CFR 261.4(f)(1), the term "Regional 
Administrator" shall mean the regional administrator of 
Region III of the United States Environmental Protection 
Agency or his designee.  

4. In 40 CFR 261.6(a)(2), recyclable materials shall be 
subject to the requirements of 9VAC20-60-270 and Part 
XII (9VAC20-60-1260 et seq.) of this chapter.  

5. No hazardous waste from a conditionally exempt small 
quantity generator shall be managed as described in 40 
CFR 261.5(g)(3)(iv) or 40 CFR 261.5(g)(3)(v) unless such 
waste management is in full compliance with all 
requirements of the Solid Waste Management Regulations 
(9VAC20-80).  

6. In 40 CFR 261.9 and wherever elsewhere in Title 40 of 
the Code of Federal Regulations there is a listing of 
universal wastes or a listing of hazardous wastes that are 
the subject of provisions set out in 40 CFR Part 273 as 
universal wastes, it shall be amended by addition of the 
following sentence: "In addition to the hazardous wastes 
listed herein, the term "universal waste" and all lists of 
universal waste or waste subject to provisions of 40 CFR 
Part 273 shall include those hazardous wastes listed in Part 
XVI (9VAC20-60-1495 et seq.) of the Virginia Hazardous 
Waste Management Regulations as universal wastes, under 
such terms and requirements as shall therein be ascribed."  

7. In Subparts B and D of 40 CFR Part 261, the term 
"Administrator" shall mean the administrator of the United 
States Environmental Protection Agency, and the term 
"Director" shall not supplant "Administrator" throughout 
Subparts B and D.  

8. Regardless of the provisions of 9VAC20-60-18, the 
revisions to 40 CFR Part 261 as promulgated by U.S. EPA 
on October 30, 2008, (73 FR 64717) (definition of solid 
waste rule) are not adopted herein. 

9. Regardless of the provisions of 9VAC20-60-18, the 
revisions to 40 CFR Part 261 as promulgated by U.S. EPA 
on December 19, 2008, (73 FR 77953) (RCRA 
Comparable Fuel Exclusion) are not adopted herein. 

9VAC20-60-270. Adoption of 40 CFR Part 270 by 
reference.  

A. Except as otherwise provided, those regulations of the 
United States Environmental Protection Agency set forth in 
40 CFR Part 270 are hereby incorporated as part of the 
Virginia Hazardous Waste Management Regulations. Except 
as otherwise provided, all material definitions, reference 
materials and other ancillaries that are a part of incorporated 
sections of 40 CFR Part 270 are also hereby incorporated as 
part of the Virginia Hazardous Waste Management 
Regulations.  

B. In all locations in these regulations where 40 CFR Part 
270 is incorporated by reference, the following additions, 
modifications and exceptions shall amend the incorporated 
text for the purpose of its incorporation into these regulations:  

1. In 40 CFR Part 270 and wherever elsewhere in Title 40 
of the Code of Federal Regulations there is a listing of 
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universal wastes or a listing of hazardous wastes that are 
the subject of provisions set out in 40 CFR Part 273 as 
universal wastes, it shall be amended by addition of the 
following sentence: "In addition to the hazardous wastes 
listed herein, the term "universal waste" and all lists of 
universal waste or waste subject to provisions of 40 CFR 
Part 273 shall include those hazardous wastes listed in Part 
XVI (9VAC20-60-1495 et seq.) of the Virginia Hazardous 
Waste Management Regulations as universal wastes, under 
such terms and requirements as shall therein be ascribed."  

2. In 40 CFR 270.5, the term "Administrator" shall mean 
the administrator of the United States Environmental 
Protection Agency or his designee.  

3. In 40 CFR 270.5, the term "Regional Administrator" 
shall mean the regional administrator of Region III of the 
United States Environmental Protection Agency or his 
designee.  

4. The underground injection of hazardous waste for 
treatment, storage or disposal shall be prohibited 
throughout the Commonwealth of Virginia, and no permits 
shall be issued for underground injection facilities.  

5. Validity of the federal HWM permits. This section 
replaces 40 CFR 270.51, which is not included in the 
incorporation of 40 CFR Part 270 by reference and is not a 
part of the Virginia Hazardous Waste Management 
Regulations.  

a. Hazardous waste management facilities located in 
Virginia which possess an effective final RCRA permit 
issued by the United States Environmental Protection 
Agency will be considered to possess a valid Virginia 
hazardous waste management permit for the duration of 
the unexpired term of the federal permit, provided that:  

(1) The facility remains in compliance with all of the 
conditions specified in the federal permit;  

(2) The operator submits a complete copy of the federal 
permit to the department no later than the effective date 
of the federal permit; and  

(3) The owner and operator of the facility submit a 
request to continue the federal permit addressed to the 
department.  

b. Federal permits issued to hazardous waste 
management facilities located in Virginia by the United 
States Environmental Protection Agency pursuant to 
HSWA requirements which constitute the federal portion 
of the combined Virginia--United States Environmental 
Protection Agency RCRA permits are considered, for the 
purposes of this chapter, as addenda to the Virginia 
permits and will remain in effect during the unexpired 
term of the Virginia permit.  

6. All permit applications and reapplications required by 
these regulations shall be accompanied by an appropriate 
permit application fee as specified in Part XII (9VAC20-
60-1260 et seq.) of this chapter. Applications or 
reapplications not accompanied by such fees will not be 
considered complete. The director shall not issue a permit 
before receiving a complete application except permits by 
rule, emergency permits, or continued federal permits. In 
addition, an application for a permit is not complete until 
the department receives an application form and any 
supplemental information, which are completed to the 
department's satisfaction. The completeness of any 
application for a permit shall be judged independently of 
the status of any other permit application or permit for the 
same facility or activity. In cases where Part A of the 
application was first submitted to the United States 
Environmental Protection Agency Administrator, a copy of 
such submission shall also be sent to the department.  

7. Interim status.  

a. The director may deny interim status to any owner or 
operator if, at the time the Part A application is 
submitted, the facility is in violation of any regulation of 
the board so as to pose a substantial present or potential 
hazard to human health or environment.  

b. Unless subject of an exception specified in 40 CFR 
270.73, interim status terminates when final disposition 
of a permit application is made or when interim status is 
terminated by the director. Interim status may be 
terminated for any of the following reasons:  

(1) Failure to submit a completed Part B application on 
time;  

(2) Failure to furnish any information required by this 
chapter;  

(3) Falsification, misrepresentation or failure to fully 
disclose any information submitted or required to be kept 
under this chapter;  

(4) Violation of this chapter; and  

(5) A determination that the facility poses a significant 
threat to public health or the environment.  

c. The director may terminate the interim status upon 
receiving a voluntary request for such an action from the 
owner and the operator of the facility.  

(1) To be considered for voluntary termination such 
request shall:  

(a) Be received by the department prior to the issuance of 
the request to submit Part B of the permit application in 
accordance with this section; and  

(b) Be accompanied by a waiver of procedures contained 
in this section.  
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(2) Termination under this part will not be granted to the 
owner and operator of the facility:  

(a) Which is not in compliance with the standards 
contained in 9VAC20-60-265; or  

(b) When termination proceedings have been instituted 
under this section.  

d. The effective date of the termination of the interim 
status will be determined by the director to allow for 
proper closure of the facility in accordance with Subpart 
G of 40 CFR Part 264 and Subpart G of 40 CFR Part 
265, as applicable.  

8. Each permit shall include permit conditions necessary to 
achieve compliance with the Virginia Waste Management 
Act (§ 10.1-1400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and 
regulations, including each of the applicable requirements 
specified in this part (Part III) of these regulations. In 
satisfying this provision, the director may incorporate 
applicable requirements of Part III directly into the permit 
or establish other permit conditions that are based on these 
requirements.  

9. In addition to the other general information requirements 
to be part of the contents of any Part B in 40 CFR 
270.14(b), the following information is required for all 
hazardous waste management facilities, except as provided 
otherwise:  

a. A copy of the general inspection schedule required by 
40 CFR 264.15(b). Include, where applicable, as part of 
the inspection schedule, specific requirements in 40 CFR 
264.174, 40 CFR 264.193(i), 40 CFR 264.195, 40 CFR 
264.226, 40 CFR 264.254, 40 CFR 264.273, 40 CFR 
264.303, 40 CFR 264.573, 40 CFR 264.574, 40 CFR 
264.602, 40 CFR 264.1033, 40 CFR 264.1052, 40 CFR 
264.1053, and 40 CFR 264.1058.  

b. Traffic pattern, estimated volume (number, types of 
vehicles) and control; describe access road surfacing and 
load bearing capacity; show traffic control signals.  

10. A period of 30 days shall elapse between the date of 
public notice and the date of a public hearing under 40 CFR 
270.42(b)(4) and 40 CFR 270.42(c)(4).  

11. Notices given under 40 CFR 270.30(l)(1) shall be 
written.  

12. The following additional information is required from 
owners or operators of facilities that store or treat hazardous 
waste in waste piles if an exemption is sought to Subpart F of 
40 CFR Part 264 and 40 CFR 264.251 as provided in 40 CFR 
264.250(c) and 40 CFR 264.90(b)(2):  

a. An explanation of how the standards of 40 CFR 
264.250(c) will be complied with; and  

b. Detailed plans and an engineering report describing 
how the requirements of 40 CFR 264.90(b)(2) will be 
met.  

13. The agencies of the Commonwealth publish notices of 
regulatory activity, permit hearings and other official 
notices in the Virginia Register. Any references in 
incorporated federal text that indicate a publication is to be 
made in the Federal Register shall be construed to mean 
the Virginia Register when such publication is to be made 
by an agency of the Commonwealth.  

14. Appeal rights and procedures related to a remedial 
action plan (RAP) included in 40 CFR 270.155, especially 
appeals to the EPA Environmental Appeals Board, are not 
incorporated into these regulations. Appeals of actions 
related to the content or process of developing a RAP will 
be governed by the Administrative Process Act, Chapter 40 
(§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

15. The conditions of an expired permit continue in force 
until the effective date of the new permit if the permittee 
has submitted a timely reapplication that is a complete 
application for a new permit; and the director, through no 
fault of the permittee, does not issue a new permit with an 
effective date on or before the expiration date of the 
previous permit. Permits that are continued remain fully 
effective and enforceable.  

When the permittee is not in compliance with the 
conditions of the expiring or expired permit, the director 
may choose to do any or all of the following:  

a. Initiate enforcement action based on the permit that 
has been continued;  

b. Issue a notice of intent to deny the new permit. If the 
permit is denied, the owner or operator would then be 
required to cease activities authorized by the continued 
permit or be subject to enforcement action for operating 
without a permit;  

c. Issue a new permit with appropriate conditions; or  

d. Take other actions authorized by this chapter.  

16. Part XII (9VAC20-60-1260 through 9VAC20-60-
1285) of this chapter applies to all permitted facilities, to 
facilities operating under interim status, to facilities subject 
to an order or agreement, and to all large quantity 
generators. In addition to permit application fees, a 
permitted treatment, storage, and disposal facility is 
assessed an annual fee. A facility that operates under 
interim status, a facility that is subject to an order or 
agreement, and a large quantity generator are also assessed 
annual fees.  

17. Regardless of the provisions of 9VAC20-60-18, the 
revisions to 40 CFR Part 270 as promulgated by U.S. EPA 
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on October 30, 2008, (73 FR 64717) (definition of solid 
waste rule) are not adopted herein. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-1788; Filed January 11, 2010, 2:08 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Waste Management 
Board is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 
of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 
agency discretion is involved. The Virginia Waste 
Management Board will receive, consider, and respond to 
petitions from any interested person at any time with respect 
to reconsideration or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 9VAC20-80. Solid Waste 
Management Regulations (amending 9VAC20-80-10, 
9VAC20-80-160). 

9VAC20-85. Coal Combustion Byproduct Regulations 
(amending 9VAC20-85-70). 

9VAC20-101. Vegetative Waste Management and Yard 
Waste Composting Regulations (amending 9VAC20-101-
10). 

9VAC20-170. Transportation of Solid and Medical 
Wastes on State Waters (amending 9VAC20-170-10). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 10.1-1402, 10.1-1408.1 and 10.1-
1454.1 of the Code of Virginia; 42 USC § 6941 et seq.; 40 
CFR Parts 257 and 258. 

Effective Date: March 3, 2010.  

Agency Contact: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4426, FAX (804) 
698-4510, or email karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments conform the regulation to the 
requirements of Chapters 27 and 348 of the 2009 Acts of 
Assembly by revising the definition of "disclosure 
statement" to remove the requirement that social security 
numbers of key personnel be provided, and providing that 
the board shall not exclude or exempt from the definition of 
"solid waste" or any solid waste permitting requirements 
the use, reuse, or reclamation of unamended coal 
combustion byproduct in an area designated as a 100-year 
floodplain. 

Part I  
Definitions  

9VAC20-80-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Abandoned facility" means any inactive solid waste 
management facility that has not met closure and post-closure 
requirements. 

"Active life" means the period of operation beginning with 
the initial receipt of solid waste and ending at completion of 
closure activities required by this chapter. 

"Active portion" means that part of a facility or unit that has 
received or is receiving wastes and that has not been closed in 
accordance with this chapter. 

"Agricultural waste" means all solid waste produced from 
farming operations. 

"Airport" means, for the purpose of this chapter, a military 
airfield or a public-use airport open to the public without 
prior permission and without restrictions within the physical 
capacities of available facilities. 

"Anaerobic digestion" means the decomposition of organic 
materials in the absence of oxygen or under low oxygen 
concentration. Anaerobic conditions occur when gaseous 
oxygen is depleted during respiration. Anaerobic 
decomposition is not considered composting. 

"Applicant" means any and all persons seeking or holding a 
permit under this chapter. 

"Aquifer" means a geologic formation, group of formations, 
or a portion of a formation capable of yielding significant 
quantities of ground water to wells or springs. 

"Areas susceptible to mass movement" means those areas of 
influence (i.e., areas characterized as having an active or 
substantial possibility of mass movement) where the 
movement of earth material at, beneath, or adjacent to the 
solid waste management unit, because of natural or man-
induced events, results in the downslope transport of soil and 
rock material by means of gravitational influence. Areas of 
mass movement include, but are not limited to, landslides, 
avalanches, debris slides and flows, soil fluction, block 
sliding, and rock fall. 

"Ash" means the fly ash or bottom ash residual waste 
material produced from incineration or burning of solid waste 
or from any fuel combustion. 

"Base flood" see "Hundred-year flood." 

"Bedrock" means the rock that underlies soil or other 
unconsolidated, superficial material at a site. 

"Benchmark" means a permanent monument constructed of 
concrete and set in the ground surface below the frostline 
with identifying information clearly affixed to it. Identifying 
information will include the designation of the benchmark as 
well as the elevation and coordinates on the local or Virginia 
state grid system. 
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"Beneficial use" means a use which is of benefit as a 
substitute for natural or commercial products and does not 
contribute to adverse effects on health or environment. 

"Bioremediation" means remediation of contaminated media 
by the manipulation of biological organisms to enhance the 
degradation of contaminants. 

"Bird hazard" means an increase in the likelihood of 
bird/aircraft collisions that may cause damage to the aircraft 
or injury to its occupants. 

"Board" means the Virginia Waste Management Board. 

"Bottom ash" means ash or slag that has been discharged 
from the bottom of the combustion unit after combustion. 

"By-product material" means a material that is not one of the 
primary products of a production process and is not solely or 
separately produced by the production process. By-product 
does not include a co-product that is produced for the general 
public's use and is ordinarily used in the form that is produced 
by the process. 

"Captive industrial landfill" means an industrial landfill that 
is located on property owned or controlled by the generator of 
the waste disposed of in that landfill. 

"Clean wood" means uncontaminated natural or untreated 
wood. Clean wood includes but is not limited to by-products 
of harvesting activities conducted for forest management or 
commercial logging, or mill residues consisting of bark, 
chips, edgings, sawdust, shavings or slabs. It does not include 
wood that has been treated, adulterated, or chemically 
changed in some way; treated with glues, binders, or resins; 
or painted, stained or coated. 

"Closed facility" means a solid waste management facility 
which has been properly secured in accordance with the 
requirements of this chapter. 

"Closure" means that point in time when a unit of a 
permitted landfill is filled, capped, certified as final covered 
by a professional engineer, inspected, and closure notification 
is performed by the department in accordance with 9VAC20-
80-250 E 6, 9VAC20-80-260 E 5, or 9VAC20-80-270 E 5.  

"Coal combustion by-products" means residuals, including 
fly ash, bottom ash, boiler slag, and flue gas emission control 
waste produced by coal-fired electrical or steam generating 
units. 

"Combustion unit" means an incinerator, waste heat 
recovery unit or boiler. 

"Commercial chemical product" means a chemical 
substance which is manufactured or formulated for 
commercial, agricultural or manufacturing use. This term 
includes a manufacturing chemical intermediate, off-
specification chemical product, which, if it met specification, 
would have been a chemical product or intermediate. It 

includes any residues remaining in the container or the inner 
liner removed from the container that has been used to hold 
any of the above which have not been removed using the 
practices commonly employed to remove materials from that 
type of container and has more than one inch of residue 
remaining. 

"Commercial waste" means all solid waste generated by 
establishments engaged in business operations other than 
manufacturing or construction. This category includes, but is 
not limited to, solid waste resulting from the operation of 
stores, markets, office buildings, restaurants and shopping 
centers. 

"Community activity" means the normal activities taking 
place within a local community to include residential, site 
preparation and construction, government, commercial, 
institutional, and industrial activities. 

"Compliance schedule" means a time schedule for measures 
to be employed on a solid waste management facility which 
will ultimately upgrade it to conform to this chapter. 

"Composite liner system" means a system designed and 
constructed to meet the requirements of 9VAC20-80-250 B 9. 

"Compost" means a stabilized organic product produced by 
a controlled aerobic decomposition process in such a manner 
that the product can be handled, stored, and/or applied to the 
land without adversely affecting public health or the 
environment. Composted sludge shall be as specified in 
12VAC5-581-630. 

"Composting" means the manipulation of the natural aerobic 
process of decomposition of organic materials to increase the 
rate of decomposition. 

"Conditionally exempt small quantity generator" means a 
generator of hazardous waste who has been so defined in 
40 CFR 261.5. That section applies to the persons who 
generate in that calendar month no more than 100 kilograms 
of hazardous waste or 1 kilogram of acutely hazardous waste. 

"Confined composting system" means a composting process 
that takes place inside an enclosed container. 

"Construction/Demolition/Debris landfill" or "CDD landfill" 
means a land burial facility engineered, constructed and 
operated to contain and isolate construction waste, demolition 
waste, debris waste, or combinations of the above solid 
wastes. 

"Construction waste" means solid waste which is produced 
or generated during construction, remodeling, or repair of 
pavements, houses, commercial buildings, and other 
structures. Construction wastes include, but are not limited to 
lumber, wire, sheetrock, broken brick, shingles, glass, pipes, 
concrete, paving materials, and metal and plastics if the metal 
or plastics are a part of the materials of construction or empty 
containers for such materials. Paints, coatings, solvents, 
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asbestos, any liquid, compressed gases or semi-liquids and 
garbage are not construction wastes. 

"Contaminated soil" means, for the purposes of this chapter, 
a soil that, as a result of a release or human usage, has 
absorbed or adsorbed physical, chemical, or radiological 
substances at concentrations above those consistent with 
nearby undisturbed soil or natural earth materials. 

"Container" means any portable device in which a material 
is stored, transported, treated, or otherwise handled and 
includes transport vehicles that are containers themselves 
(e.g., tank trucks) and containers placed on or in a transport 
vehicle. 

"Containment structure" means a closed vessel such as a 
tank or cylinder. 

"Convenience center" means a collection point for the 
temporary storage of solid waste provided for individual solid 
waste generators who choose to transport solid waste 
generated on their own premises to an established centralized 
point, rather than directly to a disposal facility. To be 
classified as a convenience center, the collection point may 
not receive waste from collection vehicles that have collected 
waste from more than one real property owner. A 
convenience center shall be on a system of regularly 
scheduled collections. 

"Cover material" means compactable soil or other approved 
material which is used to blanket solid waste in a landfill. 

"Debris waste" means wastes resulting from land clearing 
operations. Debris wastes include, but are not limited to 
stumps, wood, brush, leaves, soil, and road spoils. 

"Demolition waste" means that solid waste which is 
produced by the destruction of structures and their 
foundations and includes the same materials as construction 
wastes. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality. 

"Director" means the Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality. For purposes of submissions to the 
director as specified in the Waste Management Act, 
submissions may be made to the department. 

"Discard" means to abandon, dispose of, burn, incinerate, 
accumulate, store or treat before or instead of being 
abandoned, disposed of, burned or incinerated. 

"Discarded material" means a material which is: 

A. Abandoned by being: 

1. Disposed of; 

2. Burned or incinerated; or 

3. Accumulated, stored or treated (but not used, reused, 
or reclaimed) before or in lieu of being abandoned by 
being disposed of, burned or incinerated; 

B. Recycled used, reused, or reclaimed material as defined 
in this part; or 

C. Considered inherently waste-like as described in 
9VAC20-80-140 C. 

"Discharge of dredged material" means any release of 
material that is excavated or dredged from the waters of the 
U.S. or state waters and returned to the waters of the U.S. or 
state waters. 

"Disclosure statement" means a sworn statement or 
affirmation, in such form as may be required by the director 
(see DEQ Form DISC-01 and 02 (Disclosure Statement), 
which includes: 

1. The full name, and business address, and social security 
number of all key personnel; 

2. The full name and business address of any entity, other 
than natural person, that collects, transports, treats, stores, 
or disposes of solid waste or hazardous waste in which any 
key personnel holds an equity interest of five percent or 
more; 

3. A description of the business experience of all key 
personnel listed in the disclosure statement; 

4. A listing of all permits or licenses required for the 
collection, transportation, treatment, storage, or disposal of 
solid waste or hazardous waste issued to or held by any 
key personnel within the past 10 years; 

5. A listing and explanation of any notices of violation, 
prosecution, administrative orders (whether by consent or 
otherwise), license or permit suspensions or revocations, or 
enforcement actions of any sort by any state, federal or 
local authority, within the past ten years, which are 
pending or have concluded with a finding of violation or 
entry of a consent agreement, regarding an allegation of 
civil or criminal violation of any law, regulation or 
requirement relating to the collection, transportation, 
treatment, storage or disposal of solid waste or hazardous 
waste by any key personnel, and an itemized list of all 
convictions within ten years of key personnel of any of the 
following crimes punishable as felonies under the laws of 
the Commonwealth or the equivalent thereof under the 
laws of any other jurisdiction: murder; kidnapping; 
gambling; robbery; bribery; extortion; criminal usury; 
arson; burglary; theft and related crimes; forgery and 
fraudulent practices; fraud in the offering, sale, or purchase 
of securities; alteration of motor vehicle identification 
numbers; unlawful manufacture, purchase, use or transfer 
of firearms; unlawful possession or use of destructive 
devices or explosives; violation of the Drug Control Act, 
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Chapter 34 (§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code 
of Virginia; racketeering; or violation of antitrust laws; 

6. A listing of all agencies outside the Commonwealth 
which have regulatory responsibility over the applicant or 
have issued any environmental permit or license to the 
applicant within the past ten years, in connection with the 
applicant's collection, transportation, treatment, storage or 
disposal of solid waste or hazardous waste; 

7. Any other information about the applicant and the key 
personnel that the director may require that reasonably 
relates to the qualifications and ability of the key personnel 
or the applicant to lawfully and competently operate a solid 
waste management facility in Virginia; and 

8. The full name and business address of any member of 
the local governing body or planning commission in which 
the solid waste management facility is located or proposed 
to be located, who holds an equity interest in the facility. 

"Displacement" means the relative movement of any two 
sides of a fault measured in any direction. 

"Disposal" means the discharge, deposit, injection, dumping, 
spilling, leaking or placing of any solid waste into or on any 
land or water so that such solid waste or any constituent of it 
may enter the environment or be emitted into the air or 
discharged into any waters. 

"EPA" means the United States Environmental Protection 
Agency. 

"Existing unit" means any permitted solid waste 
management unit that is receiving or has received solid waste 
and has not been closed in accordance with the regulations in 
effect at the time of closure. Waste placement in existing 
units shall be consistent with past operating practices, the 
permit, or modified practices to ensure good management. 

"Facility" means solid waste management facility unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise. 

"Facility boundary" means the boundary of the solid waste 
management facility approved to manage solid waste as 
defined in Part A of the permit application. For unpermitted 
solid waste management facilities as defined in 9VAC20-80-
200, the facility boundary is the boundary of the property 
where the solid waste is located. For facilities with a permit-
by-rule (PBR) the facility boundary is the boundary of the 
property where the permit-by-rule activity occurs. 

"Facility structure" means any building, shed, or utility or 
drainage line on the facility. 

"Fault" means a fracture or a zone of fractures in any 
material along which strata on one side have been displaced 
with respect to that on the other side. 

"Floodplain" means the lowland and relatively flat areas 
adjoining inland and coastal waters, including lowlying areas 
of offshore islands where flooding occurs. 

"Fly ash" means ash particulate collected from air pollution 
attenuation devices on combustion units. 

"Food chain crops" means crops grown for human 
consumption, tobacco, and crops grown for pasture and 
forage or feed for animals whose products are consumed by 
humans. 

"Fossil fuel combustion products" means coal combustion 
byproducts as defined in this regulation, coal combustion 
byproducts generated at facilities with fluidized bed 
combustion technology, petroleum coke combustion 
byproducts, byproducts from the combustion of oil, 
byproducts from the combustion of natural gas, and 
byproducts from the combustion of mixtures of coal and 
"other fuels" (i.e., co-burning of coal with "other fuels" where 
coal is at least 50% of the total fuel). For purposes of this 
definition, "other fuels" means waste-derived fuel product, 
auto shredder fluff, wood wastes, coal mill rejects, peat, tall 
oil, tire-derived fuel, deionizer resins, and used oil. 

"Free liquids" means liquids which readily separate from the 
solid portion of a waste under ambient temperature and 
pressure as determined by the Paint Filter Liquids Test, 
Method 9095, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 
Publication SW-846. 

"Garbage" means readily putrescible discarded materials 
composed of animal, vegetable or other organic matter. 

"Gas condensate" means the liquid generated as a result of 
gas control or recovery processes at the solid waste 
management unit. 

"Ground water" means water below the land surface in a 
zone of saturation. 

"Hazardous constituent" means a constituent of solid waste 
listed in Part V, Table 5.1. 

"Hazardous waste" means a "hazardous waste" as described 
by the Virginia Hazardous Waste Management Regulations 
(9VAC20-60). 

"Holocene" means the most recent epoch of the Quaternary 
period, extending from the end of the Pleistocene Epoch to 
the present. 

"Home use" means the use of compost for growing plants 
which is produced and used on a privately owned residential 
site. 

"Host agreement" means any lease, contract, agreement or 
land use permit entered into or issued by the locality in which 
the landfill is situated that includes terms or conditions 
governing the operation of the landfill. 



Regulations 

Volume 26, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations February 1, 2010 

1686 

"Household hazardous waste" means any waste material 
derived from households (including single and multiple 
residences, hotels, motels, bunkhouses, ranger stations, crew 
quarters, campgrounds, picnic grounds and day-use recreation 
areas) which, except for the fact that it is derived from a 
household, would otherwise be classified as a hazardous 
waste in accordance with 9VAC20-60. 

"Household waste" means any waste material, including 
garbage, trash and refuse, derived from households. 
Households include single and multiple residences, hotels and 
motels, bunkhouses, ranger stations, crew quarters, 
campgrounds, picnic grounds and day-use recreation areas. 
Household wastes do not include sanitary waste in septic 
tanks (septage) which is regulated by other state agencies. 

"Hundred-year flood" means a flood that has a 1.0% or 
greater chance of recurring in any given year or a flood of 
magnitude equaled or exceeded on the average only once in a 
hundred years on the average over a significantly long period. 

"Ignitable waste" means: (i) Liquids having a flash point of 
less than 140°F (60°C) as determined by the methods 
specified in the Virginia Hazardous Waste Management 
Regulations (9VAC20-60); (ii) nonliquids liable to cause fires 
through friction, absorption of moisture, spontaneous 
chemical change or retained heat from manufacturing or 
liable, when ignited, to burn so vigorously and persistently as 
to create a hazard; (iii) ignitable compressed gases, oxidizers, 
or both. 

"Incineration" means the controlled combustion of solid 
waste for disposal. 

"Incinerator" means a facility or device designed for the 
treatment of solid waste by combustion. 

"Industrial waste" means any solid waste generated by 
manufacturing or industrial process that is not a regulated 
hazardous waste. Such waste may include, but is not limited 
to, waste resulting from the following manufacturing 
processes: Electric power generation; fertilizer/agricultural 
chemicals; food and related products/by-products; inorganic 
chemicals; iron and steel manufacturing; leather and leather 
products; nonferrous metals manufacturing/foundries; organic 
chemicals; plastics and resins manufacturing; pulp and paper 
industry; rubber and miscellaneous plastic products; stone, 
glass, clay, and concrete products; textile manufacturing; 
transportation equipment; and water treatment. This term 
does not include mining waste or oil and gas waste. 

"Industrial waste landfill" means a solid waste landfill used 
primarily for the disposal of a specific industrial waste or a 
waste which is a by-product of a production process. 

"Inert waste" means solid waste which is physically, 
chemically and biologically stable from further degradation 
and considered to be nonreactive. Inert wastes include rubble, 
concrete, broken bricks, bricks, and blocks. 

"Injection well" means, for the purposes of this chapter, a 
well or bore hole into which fluids are injected into selected 
geological horizons. 

"Institutional waste" means all solid waste emanating from 
institutions such as, but not limited to, hospitals, nursing 
homes, orphanages, and public or private schools. It can 
include regulated medical waste from health care facilities 
and research facilities that must be managed as a regulated 
medical waste. 

"Karst terranes" means areas where karst topography, with 
its characteristic surface and subterranean features, is 
developed as the result of dissolution of limestone, dolomite, 
or other soluble rock. Characteristic physiographic features 
present in karst terranes include, but are not limited to, 
sinkholes, sinking streams, caves, large springs, and blind 
valleys. 

"Key personnel" means the applicant itself and any person 
employed by the applicant in a managerial capacity, or 
empowered to make discretionary decisions, with respect to 
the solid waste or hazardous waste operations of the applicant 
in Virginia, but shall not include employees exclusively 
engaged in the physical or mechanical collection, 
transportation, treatment, storage, or disposal of solid or 
hazardous waste and such other employees as the director 
may designate by regulation. If the applicant has not 
previously conducted solid waste or hazardous waste 
operations in Virginia, the term also includes any officer, 
director, partner of the applicant, or any holder of five percent 
or more of the equity or debt of the applicant. If any holder of 
five percent or more of the equity or debt of the applicant or 
of any key personnel is not a natural person, the term includes 
all key personnel of that entity, provided that where such 
entity is a chartered lending institution or a reporting 
company under the Federal Security and Exchange Act of 
1934, the term does not include key personnel of such entity. 
Provided further that the term means the chief executive 
officer of any agency of the United States or of any agency or 
political subdivision of the Commonwealth, and all key 
personnel of any person, other than a natural person, that 
operates a landfill or other facility for the disposal, treatment, 
or storage of nonhazardous solid waste under contract with or 
for one of those governmental entities. 

"Lagoon" means a body of water or surface impoundment 
designed to manage or treat waste water. 

"Land application unit" means an area where solid or liquid 
wastes are applied onto or incorporated into the soil surface 
(excluding manure spreading operations) for agricultural 
purposes or for treatment or disposal. 

"Landfill" means a sanitary landfill, an industrial waste 
landfill, or a construction/demolition/debris landfill. 
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"Landfill disposal area" means the area within the facility 
boundary of a landfill in which solid waste is buried or 
permitted for actual burial. 

"Landfill gas" means gas generated as a byproduct of the 
decomposition of organic materials in a landfill. Landfill gas 
consists primarily of methane and carbon dioxide. 

"Lateral expansion" means a horizontal expansion of the 
waste management unit boundary. 

"Leachate" means a liquid that has passed through or 
emerged from solid waste and contains soluble, suspended or 
miscible materials from such waste. Leachate and any 
material with which it is mixed is solid waste; except that 
leachate that is pumped from a collection tank for 
transportation to disposal in an off-site facility is regulated as 
septage, leachate discharged into a waste water collection 
system is regulated as industrial waste water and leachate that 
has contaminated ground water is regulated as contaminated 
ground water. 

"Lead acid battery" means, for the purposes of this chapter, 
any wet cell battery. 

"Lift" means the daily landfill layer of compacted solid 
waste plus the cover material. 

"Liquid waste" means any waste material that is determined 
to contain "free liquids" as defined by this chapter. 

"Lithified earth material" means all rock, including all 
naturally occurring and naturally formed aggregates or 
masses of minerals or small particles of older rock that 
formed by crystallization of magma or by induration of loose 
sediments. This term does not include man-made materials, 
such as fill, concrete, and asphalt, or unconsolidated earth 
materials, soil, or regolith lying at or near the earth's surface. 

"Litter" means, for purposes of this chapter, any solid waste 
that is discarded or scattered about a solid waste management 
facility outside the immediate working area. 

"Lower explosive limit" means the lowest concentration by 
volume of a mixture of explosive gases in air that will 
propagate a flame at 25°C and at atmospheric pressure. 

"Manufacturing or mining by-product" means a material that 
is not one of the primary products of a particular 
manufacturing or mining operation, but is a secondary and 
incidental product of the particular operation and would not 
be solely and separately manufactured or mined by the 
particular manufacturing or mining operation. The term does 
not include an intermediate manufacturing or mining product 
which results from one of the steps in a manufacturing or 
mining process and is typically processed through the next 
process step within a short time. 

"Materials recovery facility" means a solid waste 
management facility for the collection, processing and 
recovery of material such as metals from solid waste or for 

the production of a fuel from solid waste. This does not 
include the production of a waste-derived fuel product. 

"Maximum horizontal acceleration in lithified earth 
material" means the maximum expected horizontal 
acceleration depicted on a seismic hazard map, with a 90% or 
greater probability that the acceleration will not be exceeded 
in 250 years, or the maximum expected horizontal 
acceleration based on a site-specific seismic risk assessment. 

"Monitoring" means all methods, procedures and techniques 
used to systematically analyze, inspect and collect data on 
operational parameters of the facility or on the quality of air, 
ground water, surface water, and soils. 

"Monitoring wells" means a well point below the ground 
surface for the purpose of obtaining periodic water samples 
from ground water for quantitative and qualitative analysis. 

"Mulch" means woody waste consisting of stumps, trees, 
limbs, branches, bark, leaves and other clean wood waste 
which has undergone size reduction by grinding, shredding, 
or chipping, and is distributed to the general public for 
landscaping purposes or other horticultural uses except 
composting as defined and regulated under this chapter or the 
Vegetative Waste Management and Yard Waste Composting 
Regulations (9VAC20-101). 

"Municipal solid waste" means that waste which is normally 
composed of residential, commercial, and institutional solid 
waste and residues derived from combustion of these wastes. 

"New solid waste management facility" means a facility or a 
portion of a facility that was not included in a previous 
determination of site suitability (Part A approval). 

"Nonsudden events" mean those events continuing for an 
extended time period or for long term releases of 
contaminants into the environment which take place over 
time such as leachate contamination of ground water. 

"Nuisance" means an activity which unreasonably interferes 
with an individual's or the public's comfort, convenience or 
enjoyment such that it interferes with the rights of others by 
causing damage, annoyance, or inconvenience. 

"Off-site" means any site that does not meet the definition of 
on-site as defined in this part. 

"On-site" means the same or geographically contiguous 
property, which may be divided by public or private right-of-
way, provided the entrance and exit to the facility are 
controlled by the owner or the operator of the facility. 
Noncontiguous properties owned by the same person, but 
connected by a right-of-way which he controls and to which 
the public does not have access, are also considered on-site 
property. 

"Open burning" means the combustion of solid waste 
without: 
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1. Control of combustion air to maintain adequate 
temperature for efficient combustion; 

2. Containment of the combustion reaction in an enclosed 
device to provide sufficient residence time and mixing for 
complete combustion; and 

3. Control of the combustion products' emission. 

"Open dump" means a site on which any solid waste is 
placed, discharged, deposited, injected, dumped or spilled so 
as to present a threat of a release of harmful substances into 
the environment or present a hazard to human health. Such a 
site is subject to the Open Dump Criteria in 9VAC20-80-180. 

"Operating Record" means records required to be 
maintained in accordance with the facility permit or this part 
(see 9VAC20-80-570). 

"Operator" means the person responsible for the overall 
operation and site management of a solid waste management 
facility. 

"Owner" means the person who owns a solid waste 
management facility or part of a solid waste management 
facility. 

"Permit" means the written permission of the director to 
own, operate or construct a solid waste management facility. 

"PCB" means any chemical substance that is limited to the 
biphenyl molecule that has been chlorinated to varying 
degrees or any combination of substances which contain such 
substance (see 40 CFR 761.3). 

"Person" means an individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, a governmental body, a municipal corporation or 
any other legal entity. 

"Point source" means any discernible, confined and discrete 
conveyance, including but not limited to any pipe, ditch, 
channel, tunnel, conduit, well, discrete fissure, container, 
rolling stock, vessel or other floating craft, from which 
pollutants are or may be discharged. Return flows from 
irrigated agriculture are not included. 

"Pollutant" means any substance which causes or contributes 
to, or may cause or contribute to, environmental degradation 
when discharged into the environment. 

"Poor foundation conditions" means those areas where 
features exist which indicate that a natural or man-induced 
event may result in inadequate foundation support for the 
structural components of a solid waste management unit. 

"Post-closure" means the requirements placed upon solid 
waste disposal facilities after closure to ensure environmental 
and public health safety for a specified number of years after 
closure. 

"Private solid waste disposal facility" means any solid waste 
disposal facility including, without limitations, all solid waste 

disposal facilities other than facilities owned or operated by a 
local government, combination of local governments or 
public service authority. 

"Processing" means preparation, treatment, or conversion of 
waste by a series of actions, changes, or functions that bring 
about a desired end result. 

"Progressive cover" means cover material placed over the 
working face of a solid waste disposal facility advancing over 
the deposited waste as new wastes are added keeping the 
exposed area to a minimum. 

"Public land" means any land, used for any purpose, that is 
leased or owned by a governmental entity. 

"Putrescible waste" means solid waste which contains 
organic material capable of being decomposed by micro-
organisms and cause odors. 

"Qualified ground water scientist" means a scientist or 
engineer who has received a baccalaureate or post-graduate 
degree in the natural sciences or engineering and has 
sufficient training and experience in ground water hydrology 
and related fields as may be demonstrated by state 
registration, professional certifications, or completion of 
accredited university programs that enable that individual to 
make sound professional judgements regarding ground water 
monitoring, contaminant fate and transport, and corrective 
action. 

"RCRA" means the Solid Waste Disposal Act, as amended 
by the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act of 1976 (42 
USC § 6901 et seq.), the Hazardous and Solid Waste 
Amendments of 1984, and any other applicable amendments 
to these laws. 

"RDF (Refuse Derived Fuel)" means solid waste that is 
processed to be used as fuel to produce energy. 

"Reclaimed material" means a material that is processed or 
reprocessed to recover a usable product or is regenerated to a 
usable form. 

"Refuse" means all solid waste products having the 
character of solids rather than liquids and which are 
composed wholly or partially of materials such as garbage, 
trash, rubbish, litter, residues from clean up of spills or 
contamination, or other discarded materials. 

"Registered professional engineer" means an engineer 
licensed to practice engineering in the Commonwealth as 
defined by the rules and regulations set forth by the Board of 
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, and 
Landscape Architects (18VAC10-20). 

"Regulated hazardous waste" means a solid waste that is a 
hazardous waste, as defined in the Virginia Hazardous Waste 
Management Regulations (9VAC20-60), that is not excluded 
from those regulations as a hazardous waste. 
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"Regulated medical waste" means solid wastes so defined by 
the Regulated Medical Waste Management Regulations 
(9VAC20-120) as promulgated by the Virginia Waste 
Management Board. 

"Release" means, for the purpose of this chapter, any 
spilling, leaking, pumping, pouring, emitting, emptying, 
discharging, injection, escaping, leaching, dumping, or 
disposing into the environment solid wastes or hazardous 
constituents of solid wastes (including the abandonment or 
discarding of barrels, containers, and other closed receptacles 
containing solid waste). This definition does not include: any 
release which results in exposure to persons solely within a 
workplace; release of source, by-product or special nuclear 
material from a nuclear incident, as those terms are defined in 
the Atomic Energy Act of 1954 (68 Stat. 923); and the normal 
application of fertilizer. For the purpose of this chapter, 
release also means substantial threat of release. 

"Remediation waste" means all solid waste, including all 
media (ground water, surface water, soils and sediments) and 
debris, that are managed for the purpose of remediating a site 
under Part IV (9VAC20-80-170 et seq.) or Part V (9VAC20-
80-240 et seq.) of this chapter or under the Voluntary 
Remediation Regulations (9VAC20-160). For a given facility, 
remediation wastes may originate only from within the 
boundary of that facility, and may include wastes managed as 
a result of remediation beyond the boundary of the facility. 
Hazardous wastes as defined in 9VAC20-60, as well as "new" 
or "as generated" wastes, are excluded from this definition. 

"Remediation waste management unit" or "RWMU" means 
an area within a facility that is designated by the director for 
the purpose of implementing remedial activities required 
under Part IV or V of this chapter or under the Voluntary 
Remediation Regulations (9VAC20-160). An RWMU shall 
only be used for the management of remediation wastes 
pursuant to implementing such remedial activities at the 
facility. 

"Residential waste" means household waste. 

"Resource recovery system" means a solid waste 
management system which provides for collection, 
separation, use, reuse, or reclamation of solid wastes, 
recovery of energy and disposal of non-recoverable waste 
residues. 

"Rubbish" means combustible or slowly putrescible 
discarded materials which include but are not limited to trees, 
wood, leaves, trimmings from shrubs or trees, printed matter, 
plastic and paper products, grass, rags and other combustible 
or slowly putrescible materials not included under the term 
"garbage." 

"Runoff" means any rainwater, leachate, or other liquid that 
drains over land from any part of a solid waste management 
facility. 

"Runon" means any rainwater, wastewater, leachate, or 
other liquid that drains over land onto any part of the solid 
waste management facility. 

"Salvage" means the authorized, controlled removal of 
waste materials from a solid waste management facility. 

"Sanitary landfill" means an engineered land burial facility 
for the disposal of household waste which is so located, 
designed, constructed and operated to contain and isolate the 
waste so that it does not pose a substantial present or potential 
hazard to human health or the environment. A sanitary 
landfill also may receive other types of solid wastes, such as 
commercial solid waste, nonhazardous sludge, hazardous 
waste from conditionally exempt small quantity generators, 
construction demolition debris, and nonhazardous industrial 
solid waste. 

"Saturated zone" means that part of the earth's crust in which 
all voids are filled with water. 

"Scavenging" means the unauthorized or uncontrolled 
removal of waste materials from a solid waste management 
facility. 

"Scrap metal" means bits and pieces of metal parts such as 
bars, rods, wire, empty containers, or metal pieces that may 
be combined together with bolts or soldering which are 
discarded material and can be used, reused, or reclaimed. 

"Secondary containment" means an enclosure into which a 
container or tank is placed for the purpose of preventing 
discharge of wastes to the environment. 

"Seismic impact zone" means an area with a 10% or greater 
probability that the maximum horizontal acceleration in 
lithified earth material, expressed as a percentage of the 
earth's gravitational pull (g), will exceed 0.10g in 250 years. 

"Semiannual" means an interval corresponding to 
approximately 180 days. For the purposes of scheduling 
monitoring activities, sampling within 30 days of the 180-day 
interval will be considered semiannual. 

"Site" means all land and structures, other appurtenances, 
and improvements on them used for treating, storing, and 
disposing of solid waste. This term includes adjacent land 
within the facility boundary used for the utility systems such 
as repair, storage, shipping or processing areas, or other areas 
incident to the management of solid waste. 

(Note: This term includes all sites whether they are planned 
and managed facilities or are open dumps.) 

"Sludge" means any solid, semi-solid or liquid waste 
generated from a municipal, commercial or industrial 
wastewater treatment plant, water supply treatment plant, or 
air pollution control facility exclusive of treated effluent from 
a wastewater treatment plant. 
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"Small landfill" means a landfill that disposed of 100 
tons/day or less of solid waste during a representative period 
prior to October 9, 1993, and did not dispose of more than an 
average of 100 tons/day of solid waste each month between 
October 9, 1993, and April 9, 1994. 

"Solid waste" means any of those materials defined as 'solid 
waste' in Part III (9VAC20-80-140 et seq.) of this chapter. 

"Solid waste boundary" means the outermost perimeter of 
the solid waste (vertical projection on a horizontal plane) as it 
would exist at completion of the disposal activity within the 
facility boundary. 

"Solid waste disposal area" means the area within the 
facility boundary of a landfill facility in which solid waste is 
buried. 

"Solid waste disposal facility" means a solid waste 
management facility at which solid waste will remain after 
closure. 

"Solid waste management facility ("SWMF")" means a site 
used for planned treating, storing, or disposing of solid waste. 
A facility may consist of several treatment, storage, or 
disposal units. 

"Source separation" means separation of recyclable 
materials by the waste generator of materials that are 
collected for use, reuse or reclamation. 

"Special wastes" mean solid wastes that are difficult to 
handle, require special precautions because of hazardous 
properties or the nature of the waste creates waste 
management problems in normal operations. (See Part VIII 
(9VAC20-80-630 et seq.) of this chapter.) 

"Speculatively accumulated material" means any material 
that is accumulated before being used, reused, or reclaimed or 
in anticipation of potential use, reuse, or reclamation. 
Materials are not being accumulated speculatively when they 
can be used, reused or reclaimed, have a feasible means of 
use, reuse, or reclamation available and 75% of the materials 
accumulated are being removed from the facility annually. 

"Stabilized compost" means a compost that has passed the 
stability criteria outlined in 9VAC20-80-330 D 2 a. 

"State solid waste management plan ("State Plan" or 
"Plan")" means the plan of the Virginia Waste Management 
Board that sets forth solid waste management goals and 
objectives and describes planning and regulatory concepts to 
be employed by the Commonwealth. 

"State waters" means all water, on the surface and under the 
ground, wholly or partially within, or bordering the 
Commonwealth, or within its jurisdiction. 

"Storage" means the holding of waste, at the end of which 
the waste is treated, disposed, or stored elsewhere. 

"Structural components of a solid waste disposal unit" 
means liners, leachate collection systems, final covers, run-
on/run-off systems, and any other component used in the 
construction and operation of the solid waste disposal facility 
that is necessary for protection of human health and the 
environment. 

"Structural fill" means an engineered fill with a projected 
beneficial end use, constructed using soil or coal combustion 
by-products spread and compacted with proper equipment 
and covered with a vegetated soil cap. 

"Sudden event" means a one time, single event such as a 
sudden collapse or a sudden, quick release of contaminants to 
the environment. An example would be the sudden loss of 
leachate from an impoundment into a surface stream caused 
by failure of a containment structure. 

"Surface impoundment or impoundment" means a facility or 
part of a facility that is a natural topographic depression, man-
made excavation, or diked area formed primarily of earthen 
materials (although it may be lined with man-made 
materials), that is designed to hold an accumulation of liquid 
wastes or wastes containing free liquids and that is not an 
injection well. 

"SW-846" means Test Methods for Evaluating Solid Waste, 
Physical/Chemical Methods, EPA Publication SW-846, 
Second Edition, 1982 as amended by Update I (April, 1984), 
and Update II (April, 1985) and the third edition, November, 
1986, as amended. 

"Tank" means a stationary device, designed to contain an 
accumulation of liquid or semi-liquid components of solid 
waste that is constructed primarily of non-earthen materials 
that provide structural support. 

"TEF" or "Toxicity Equivalency Factor" means a factor 
developed to account for different toxicities of structural 
isomers of polychlorinated dibenzodioxins and dibenzofurans 
and to relate them to the toxicity of 2,3,7,8-tetrachloro 
dibenzo-p-dioxin. 

"Terminal" means the location of transportation facilities 
such as classification yards, docks, airports, management 
offices, storage sheds, and freight or passenger stations, 
where solid waste that is being transported may be loaded, 
unloaded, transferred, or temporarily stored. 

"Thermal treatment" means the treatment of solid waste in a 
device which uses elevated temperature as the primary means 
to change the chemical, physical, or biological character, or 
composition of the solid waste. 

"Tire chip" means a material processed from waste tires that 
is a nominal two square inches in size, and ranges from 1/4 
inches to 4 inches in any dimension. Tire chips contain no 
wire protruding more than 1/4 inch. 
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"Tire shred" means a material processed from waste tires 
that is a nominal 40 square inches in size, and ranges from 4 
inches to 10 inches in any dimension. 

"Transfer station" means any solid waste storage or 
collection facility at which solid waste is transferred from 
collection vehicles to haulage vehicles for transportation to a 
central solid waste management facility for disposal, 
incineration or resource recovery. 

"Trash" means combustible and noncombustible discarded 
materials and is used interchangeably with the term rubbish. 

"Treatment" means, for the purpose of this chapter, any 
method, technique or process, including but not limited to 
incineration, designed to change the physical, chemical or 
biological character or composition of any waste to render it 
more stable, safer for transport, or more amenable to use, 
reuse, reclamation or recovery. 

"Unadulterated wood" means wood that is not painted, nor 
treated with chemicals such as preservatives nor mixed with 
other wastes. 

"Underground source of drinking water" means an aquifer or 
its portion: 

A. Which contains water suitable for human consumption; 
or 

B. In which the ground water contains less than 10,000 
mg/liter total dissolved solids. 

"Unit" means a discrete area of land used for the 
management of solid waste. 

"Unstable area" means a location that is susceptible to 
natural or human-induced events or forces capable of 
impairing the integrity of some or all of the landfill structural 
components responsible for preventing releases from a 
landfill. Unstable areas can include poor foundation 
conditions, areas susceptible to mass movements, and Karst 
terranes. 

"Uppermost aquifer" means the geologic formation nearest 
the natural ground surface that is an aquifer, as well as, lower 
aquifers that are hydraulically interconnected with this aquifer 
within the facility boundary. 

"Used or reused material" means a material which is either: 

A. Employed as an ingredient (including use as an 
intermediate) in a process to make a product, excepting 
those materials possessing distinct components that are 
recovered as separate end products; or 

B. Employed in a particular function or application as an 
effective substitute for a commercial product or natural 
resources. 

"Vector" means a living animal, insect or other arthropod 
which transmits an infectious disease from one organism to 
another. 

"Vegetative waste" means decomposable materials 
generated by yard and lawn care or land clearing activities 
and includes, but is not limited to, leaves, grass trimmings, 
woody wastes such as shrub and tree prunings, bark, limbs, 
roots, and stumps. For more detail see 9VAC20-101. 

"Vertical design capacity" means the maximum design 
elevation specified in the facility's permit or if none is 
specified in the permit, the maximum elevation based on a 3:1 
slope from the waste management unit boundary. 

"VPDES ("Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 
System")" means the Virginia system for the issuance of 
permits pursuant to the Permit Regulation (9VAC25-31), the 
State Water Control Law, and § 402 of the Clean Water Act 
(33 USC § 1251 et seq.). 

"Washout" means carrying away of solid waste by waters of 
the base flood. 

"Waste derived fuel product" means a solid waste or 
combination of solid wastes that have been treated (altered 
physically, chemically, or biologically) to produce a fuel 
product with a minimum heating value of 5,000 BTU/lb. 
Solid wastes used to produce a waste derived fuel product 
must have a heating value, or act as binders, and may not be 
added to the fuel for the purpose of disposal. Waste 
ingredients may not be listed or characteristic hazardous 
wastes. The fuel product must be stable at ambient 
temperature, and not degraded by exposure to the elements. 
This material may not be "Refuse Derived Fuel (RDF)" as 
defined in 9VAC5-40-890. 

"Waste management unit boundary" means the vertical 
surface located at the boundary line of the unit. This vertical 
surface extends down into the uppermost aquifer. 

"Waste needing special handling (special waste)" means any 
solid waste which requires extra or unusual management 
when introduced into a solid waste management facility to 
insure protection of human health or the environment. 

"Waste pile" means any non-containerized accumulation of 
nonflowing, solid waste that is used for treatment or storage. 

"Waste tire" means a tire that has been discarded because it 
is no longer suitable for its original intended purpose because 
of wear, damage or defect. (See 9VAC20-150 for other 
definitions dealing with the waste tire program.) 

"Wastewaters" are, for the purpose of this chapter, wastes 
that contain less than 1.0% by weight total organic carbon 
(TOC) and less than 1.0% by weight total suspended solids 
(TSS). 
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"Water pollution" means such alteration of the physical, 
chemical, or biological properties of any state water as will or 
is likely to create a nuisance or render such waters: 

A. Harmful or detrimental or injurious to the public health, 
safety, or welfare, or to the health of animals, fish, or 
aquatic life or plants; 

B. Unsuitable, with reasonable treatment, for use as present 
or possible future sources of public water supply; or 

C. Unsuitable for recreational, commercial, industrial, 
agricultural, or other reasonable uses, provided that: 

1. An alteration of the physical, chemical, or biological 
properties of state waters or a discharge or deposit of 
sewage, industrial wastes, or other wastes to state waters 
by any owner which by itself is not sufficient to cause 
pollution but which in combination with such alteration 
or discharge or deposit to state waters by other persons is 
sufficient to cause pollution; 

2. The discharge of untreated sewage by any person into 
state waters; and 

3. The contribution to the degradation of water quality 
standards duly established by the State Water Control 
Board; 

are "pollution" for the terms and purposes of this chapter. 

"Water table" means the upper surface of the zone of 
saturation in ground waters in which the hydrostatic pressure 
is equal to the atmospheric pressure. 

"Waters of the United States or waters of the U.S." means: 

A. All waters which are currently used, were used in the 
past, or may be susceptible to use in interstate or foreign 
commerce, including all waters which are subject to the 
ebb and flow of the tide; 

B. All interstate waters, including interstate "wetlands"; 

C. All other waters such as intrastate lakes, rivers, streams 
(including intermittent streams), mud flats, sand flats, 
"wetlands," sloughs, prairie potholes, wet meadows, playa 
lakes, or natural ponds the use, degradation, or destruction 
of which would affect or could affect interstate or foreign 
commerce including: 

1. Any such waters which are or could be used by 
interstate or foreign travelers for recreational or other 
purposes; 

2. Any such waters from which fish or shellfish are or 
could be taken and sold in interstate or foreign 
commerce; 

3. Any such waters which are used or could be used for 
industrial purposes by industries in interstate commerce; 

4. All impoundments of waters otherwise defined as 
waters of the United States under this definition; 

5. Tributaries of waters identified in subdivisions 1 
through 4 of this definition; 

6. The territorial sea; and 

7. Wetlands adjacent to waters (other than waters that are 
themselves wetlands) identified in subdivisions 1 through 
6 of this definition. 

"Wetlands" mean those areas that are defined by the federal 
regulations under 33 CFR Part 328. 

"White goods" means any stoves, washers, hot water 
heaters, and other large appliances. 

"Working face" means that area within a landfill which is 
actively receiving solid waste for compaction and cover. 

"Yard waste" means decomposable waste materials 
generated by yard and lawn care and includes leaves, grass 
trimmings, brush, wood chips, and shrub and tree trimmings. 
Yard waste shall not include roots or stumps that exceed six 
inches in diameter. 

9VAC20-80-160. Conditional exemptions.  

A. The following solid wastes are exempt from this chapter 
provided that they are managed in accordance with the 
requirements promulgated by other applicable state agencies:  

1. Drilling fluids, produced waters, and other wastes 
associated with the exploration, development or production 
of crude oil, natural gas or geothermal energy;  

2. Solid waste from the extraction, beneficiation and 
processing of ores and minerals, including coal;  

3. Fossil fuel combustion products used for mine 
reclamation, mine subsidence, or mine refuse disposal on a 
mine site permitted by the Virginia Department of Mines, 
Minerals and Energy when used in accordance with the 
standards developed by the Department of Environmental 
Quality;  

4. Waste or by-product derived from an industrial process 
that meets the definition of fertilizer, soil amendment, soil 
conditioner or horticultural growing medium as defined in 
§ 3.1-106.2 of the Code of Virginia, or whose intended 
purpose is to neutralize soil acidity (see § 3.1-126.2:1 of 
the Code of Virginia), and that is regulated under the 
authority of the Virginia Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services;  

5. Fossil fuel combustion products bottom ash or boiler 
slag used as a traction control material or road surface 
material if the use is consistent with Virginia Department 
of Transportation practices;  



Regulations 

Volume 26, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations February 1, 2010 

1693 

6. Waste tires generated by and stored at salvage yards 
licensed by the Department of Motor Vehicles provided 
that they do not pose a hazard or a nuisance; and  

7. Chipped waste tires used as the drainage material in 
construction of septage drainfields regulated under the 
authority of the Virginia Department of Health.  

B. Fossil fuel combustion products are exempt from this 
chapter provided they are used in one or more of the 
following applications or when handled, processed, 
transported, or stockpiled for such use:  

1. Used as a base, sub-base or fill material under a paved 
road, the footprint of a structure, a paved parking lot, 
sidewalk, walkway or similar structure, or in the 
embankment of a road. In the case of roadway 
embankments, materials will be placed in accordance with 
VDOT specifications, and exposed slopes not directly 
under the surface of the pavement must have a minimum of 
18" of soil cover over the fossil fuel combustion products, 
the top six inches of which must be capable of sustaining 
the growth of indigenous plant species or plant species 
adapted to the area.  The use, reuse, or reclamation of 
unamended coal combustion byproduct shall not be placed 
in an area designated as a 100-year floodplain;  

2. Processed with a cementitious binder to produce a 
stabilized structural fill product which is spread and 
compacted with proper equipment for the construction of a 
project with a specified end use;  

3. Used for the extraction or recovery of materials and 
compounds contained within the fossil fuel combustion 
products.  

NOTE 1: Residuals from the processing operations remain 
solid wastes.  

NOTE 2: The use of fossil fuel combustion products 
outlined in this regulation has been evaluated only with 
regard to the protection of human health and the environment. 
A qualified professional engineer should evaluate any 
structural application of fossil fuel combustion products.  

C. The following solid wastes are exempt from this chapter 
provided that they are reclaimed or temporarily stored 
incidentally to reclamation, are not accumulated 
speculatively, and are managed without creating an open 
dump, hazard or a public nuisance:  

1. Paper and paper products;  

2. Unadulterated wood waste which is to undergo size 
reduction in order to produce mulch;  

3. Cloth;  

4. Glass;  

5. Plastics;  

6. Waste tire chips; and  

7. Mixtures of above materials only. Such mixtures may 
include scrap metals excluded from regulation in 
accordance with the provisions of 9VAC20-80-150 H.  

Part III  
Management Standards  

Article 1  
Locational Restrictions  

9VAC20-85-70. Locational restrictions.  

Fossil fuel combustion products used, reused, or reclaimed 
on or below ground shall not be placed:  

1. In areas subject to base floods unless it can be shown 
that fossil fuel combustion products can be protected from 
inundation or washout and that flow of water is not 
restricted, except for unamended coal combustion 
byproduct which shall not be placed in areas subject to 
base floods;  

2. With the vertical separation between the fossil fuel 
combustion products and the maximum seasonal water 
table or bedrock less than two feet;  

3. Closer than:  

a. 100 feet of any perennial stream,  

b. 100 feet of any water well (other than a monitoring 
well) in existence at the onset of the project,  

c. 25 feet of a bedrock outcrop, unless the outcrop is 
properly treated to minimize infiltration into fractured 
zones,  

d. 100 feet of a sinkhole, or  

e. 25 feet from any property boundary or, in the case of 
projects permitted by the DMME, 25 feet from the permit 
boundary.  

(NOTE: All distances are to be measured in the 
horizontal plane.)  

4. In wetlands, unless applicable federal, state and local 
permits are obtained; and  

5. On the site of an active or inactive dump, unpermitted 
landfill, lagoon, or similar facility, even if such facility is 
closed.  

Part I  
Definitions  

9VAC20-101-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise. Chapter 14 (§ 10.1-1400 et seq.) of Title 
10.1 of the Code of Virginia defines words and terms that 
supplement those in this chapter. The Virginia Solid Waste 
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Management Regulations, 9VAC20-80-10 et seq., define 
additional words and terms that supplement those in the 
statute and this chapter. When the statute, as cited, and the 
solid waste management regulations, as cited, define a word 
or term differently, the definition of the statute is controlling.  

"Agricultural operation" means any operation devoted to the 
bona fide production of crops, animals, or fowl, including but 
not limited to the production of fruits and vegetables of all 
kinds; meat, dairy, and poultry products; nuts, tobacco, 
nursery and floral products; and the production and harvest of 
products from silviculture activity.  

"Board" means the Virginia Waste Management Board.  

"Building" means an enclosed structure which has no open 
side.  

"Clean wood" means uncontaminated natural or untreated 
wood. Clean wood includes but is not limited to byproducts 
of harvesting activities conducted for forest management or 
commercial logging, or mill residues consisting of bark, 
chips, edgings, sawdust, shavings or slabs. It does not include 
wood that has been treated, adulterated, or chemically 
changed in some way; treated with glues, binders, or resins; 
or painted, stained or coated.  

"Compost" means a stabilized organic product produced by 
a controlled aerobic decomposition process in such a manner 
that the product can be handled, stored, or applied to the land 
without adversely affecting public health or the environment.  

"Composting" means the manipulation of the natural aerobic 
process of decomposition of organic materials to increase the 
rate of decomposition.  

"Decomposed vegetative waste" means a stabilized organic 
product produced from vegetative waste by a controlled 
natural decay process in such a manner that the product can 
be handled, stored, or applied to the land without adversely 
affecting public health or the environment.  

"Decomposition of vegetative waste" means a controlled 
natural process, active or passive, which results in the decay 
and chemical breakdown of vegetative waste.  

"Department" means the Department of Environmental 
Quality.  

"Director" means the Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality.  

"Disclosure statement" means a sworn statement or 
affirmation, in such form as may be required by the director, 
which includes:  

1. The full name, and business address, and social security 
number of all key personnel;  

2. The full name and business address of any entity, other 
than a natural person, that collects, transports, treats, 
stores, or disposes of solid waste or hazardous waste in 

which any key personnel holds an equity interest of 5.0% 
or more;  

3. A description of the business experience of all key 
personnel listed in the disclosure statement;  

4. A listing of all permits or licenses required for the 
collection, transportation, treatment, storage, or disposal of 
solid waste or hazardous waste issued to or held by any 
key personnel within the past 10 years;  

5. A listing and explanation of any notices of violation, 
prosecutions, administrative orders (whether by consent or 
otherwise), license or permit suspensions or revocations or 
enforcement actions of any sort by any state, federal or 
local authority, within the past 10 years, which are pending 
or have concluded with a finding of violation or entry of a 
consent agreement, regarding an allegation of civil or 
criminal violation of any law, regulation or requirement 
relating to the collection, transportation, treatment, storage, 
or disposal of solid waste or hazardous waste by any key 
personnel, and an itemized list of all convictions within 10 
years of key personnel of any of the following crimes 
punishable as felonies under the laws of the 
Commonwealth or the equivalent thereof under the laws of 
any other jurisdiction: murder; kidnapping; gambling; 
robbery; bribery; extortion; criminal usury; arson; 
burglary; theft and related crimes; forgery and fraudulent 
practices; fraud in the offering, sale, or purchase of 
securities; alteration of motor vehicle identification 
numbers; unlawful manufacture, purchase, use or transfer 
of firearms; unlawful possession or use of destructive 
devices or explosives; violation of the Drug Control Act, 
Chapter 34 (§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code 
of Virginia; racketeering; or violation of antitrust laws;  

6. A listing of all agencies outside the Commonwealth 
which have regulatory responsibility over the applicant or 
have issued any environmental permit or license to the 
applicant within the past 10 years in connection with the 
applicant's collection, transportation, treatment, storage or 
disposal of solid waste or hazardous waste;  

7. Any other information about the applicant and the key 
personnel that the director may require that reasonably 
relates to the qualifications and ability of the key personnel 
or the applicant to lawfully and competently operate a solid 
waste management facility in Virginia; and  

8. The full name and business address of any member of 
the local governing body or planning commission in which 
the solid waste management facility is located or proposed 
to be located, who holds an equity interest in the facility.  

"Equity" means both legal and equitable interests.  

"Key personnel" means the applicant itself and any person 
employed by the applicant in a managerial capacity, or 
empowered to make discretionary decisions, with respect to 
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the solid waste or hazardous waste operations of the applicant 
in Virginia, but shall not include employees exclusively 
engaged in the physical or mechanical collection, 
transportation, treatment, storage, or disposal of solid or 
hazardous waste and such other employees as the director 
may designate by regulation. If the applicant has not 
previously conducted solid waste or hazardous waste 
operations in Virginia, the term also includes any officer, 
director, partner of the applicant, or any holder of 5.0% or 
more of the equity or debt of the applicant. If any holder of 
5.0% or more of the equity or debt of the applicant or of any 
key personnel is not a natural person, the term includes all 
key personnel of that entity, provided that where such entity 
is a chartered lending institution or a reporting company 
under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (15 USC § 78a et 
seq.), the term does not include key personnel of such entity. 
Provided further that the term means the chief executive 
officer of any agency of the United States or of any agency or 
political subdivision of the Commonwealth, and all key 
personnel of any person, other than a natural person, that 
operates a landfill or other facility for the disposal, treatment, 
or storage of nonhazardous solid waste under contract with or 
for one of those governmental entities.  

"Land clearing activities" means the removal of flora from a 
parcel of land.  

"Land clearing debris" means vegetative waste resulting 
from land clearing activities.  

"Landscape maintenance" means the care of lawns, 
shrubbery, and vines, and includes the pruning of trees.  

"Leachate" means a liquid that has passed through or 
emerged from solid waste and contains soluble, suspended or 
miscible materials from such waste. Leachate and any 
material with which it is mixed is solid waste; except that 
leachate that is pumped from a collection tank for 
transportation to disposal in an off-site facility is regulated as 
septage, and leachate discharged into a wastewater collection 
system is regulated as industrial waste water.  

"Mulch" means woody waste consisting of stumps, trees, 
limbs, branches, bark, leaves and other clean wood waste 
which has undergone size reduction by grinding, shredding, 
or chipping, and is distributed to the general public for 
landscaping purposes or other horticultural uses except 
composting as defined and regulated under this chapter or the 
Solid Waste Management Regulations, 9VAC20-80-10 et 
seq.  

"Off-site" means any site that does not meet the definition of 
on-site as defined in this part.  

"On-site" means the same or geographically contiguous 
property, which may be divided by public or private right-of-
way, provided the entrance and exit to the facility are 
controlled by the owner or the operator of the facility. 
Noncontiguous properties owned by the same person but 

connected by a right-of-way which he controls and to which 
the public does not have access is also considered on-site 
property.  

"Open dump" means a site on which any solid waste is 
placed, discharged, deposited, injected, dumped, or spilled so 
as to create a nuisance or present a threat of a release of 
harmful substances into the environment or present a hazard 
to human health.  

"Owner of real property" means a person, persons or legal 
entity who holds title to a parcel of real property, and, for the 
purpose of this chapter, any person, persons or legal entity 
who holds more than 5.0% of the stock or substance of a 
company or corporation that holds title to a parcel of real 
property.  

"Permit by rule" means provisions of the regulations stating 
that a facility or activity is deemed to have a permit if it meets 
the requirements of the provision.  

"Putrescible waste" means solid waste which contains 
organic material capable of being decomposed by micro-
organisms and causes odors.  

"Runoff" means any rainwater, wastewater, leachate, or 
other liquid that drains over land from any part of the solid 
waste management facility.  

"Runon" means any rainwater, wastewater, leachate, or 
other liquid that drains over land onto any part of the solid 
waste management facility.  

"Solid waste management facility" means a site used for 
planned treating, long term storage, or disposing of solid 
waste. A facility may consist of several treatment, storage, or 
disposal units. For the purposes of this chapter only, "long 
term storage" shall be deemed to occur if during any period of 
30 consecutive calendar days the site was not free of solid 
waste.  

"Structural roadway prism" means the line of repose from 
the shoulder break to the shoulder break of the roadway, 
usually a 1:1 slope.  

"Vegetative waste" means decomposable materials 
generated by yard and lawn care or land clearing activities 
and includes, but is not limited to, leaves, grass trimmings, 
woody wastes such as shrub and tree prunings, bark, limbs, 
roots, and stumps.  

"Vegetative waste management facility" means a solid waste 
management facility that manages vegetative waste.  

"Yard waste" means decomposable waste materials 
generated by yard and lawn care and includes leaves, grass 
trimmings, brush, wood chips, and shrub and tree trimmings. 
Yard waste shall not include roots or stumps that exceed six 
inches in diameter. (Note: Yard wastes are also vegetative 
waste; however, the terms are not interchangeable because 
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vegetative wastes may include wastes that are not yard 
wastes.)  

"Yard waste compost" means a stabilized organic product 
produced from yard waste by a controlled aerobic 
decomposition process in such a manner that the product can 
be handled, stored, and/or applied to the land so that it does 
not pose a present or potential hazard to human health or the 
environment.  

"Yard waste composting" means the controlled aerobic yard 
waste decomposition process by which yard waste compost is 
produced.  

"Yard waste composting facility" means an engineered 
facility for composting of yard waste which is so located, 
designed, constructed, and operated to isolate, process, and 
manage the yard waste and yard waste compost so that it does 
not pose a present or potential hazard to human health or the 
environment.  

9VAC20-170-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Affiliated company" means (i) any company that directly or 
indirectly owns, controls, or holds, with power to vote, 10% 
or more of the outstanding voting securities of a pure captive 
insurer or (ii) any company of which 10% or more of the 
voting securities are directly or indirectly owned, controlled, 
or held, with power to vote, by a parent, subsidiary, or 
associated company.  

"Anniversary date" means the date of issuance of a financial 
mechanism.  

"Applicant" means any and all persons seeking or holding a 
permit required under this chapter.  

"Associated company" means any company in the same 
corporate system with a pure captive insurer.  

"Association captive insurer" means any insurer transacting 
the business of insurance and reinsurance only on risks, 
hazards, and liabilities of the members of an insurance 
association.  

"Beneficial use" means both instream and offstream uses of 
state waters. Instream beneficial uses include, but are not 
limited to, the protection of fish and wildlife habitat, 
maintenance of waste assimilation, recreation, navigation, and 
cultural and aesthetic values. Offstream beneficial uses 
include, but are not limited to, domestic (including public 
water supply), agricultural, electric power generation, 
commercial and industrial uses. Public water supply uses for 
human consumption shall be considered the highest priority.  

"Board" means the Virginia Waste Management Board.  

"Bodily injury" means the death or injury of any person 
incident to a waste deposit from a vessel, but not including 
any death, disablement, or injuries covered by workers' 
compensation, disability benefits or unemployment 
compensation law or other similar law. Bodily injury may 
include payment of medical, hospital, surgical, and funeral 
expenses arising out of the death or injury of any person. This 
term shall not include those liabilities that, consistent with 
standard insurance industry practices, are excluded from 
coverage in liability insurance policies for bodily injury.  

"Captive insurer" means any pure captive insurer or any 
association captive insurer.  

"Certificant" means an owner or operator who has been 
issued a Certificate of Financial Responsibility under this 
chapter.  

"Certificate applicant" means an owner or operator who has 
applied for a Certificate of Financial Responsibility or for the 
renewal of a Certificate of Financial Responsibility under this 
chapter.  

"Certificate of Financial Responsibility" or "certificate" 
means a Certificate of Financial Responsibility issued under 
Part VI (9VAC20-170-270 et seq.) of this chapter, unless 
otherwise indicated.  

"Certified copy" means a legible copy certified as accurate 
by a notary public or other person authorized to take oaths in 
the United States.  

"CFR" means Code of Federal Regulations.  

"Charter by demise" means to hire for exclusive use through 
a lease.  

"Closure" means the act of securing a solid waste 
management facility pursuant to the requirements of this 
chapter.  

"Commercial transport" means transportation for the 
purposes of commercial carriage of solid wastes or regulated 
medical wastes as cargo.  

"Commercial transporter" means any person who transports 
for the purposes of commercial carriage of solid wastes or 
regulated medical wastes as cargo.  

"Construction demolition debris waste" or "CDD waste" 
means solid waste that is produced or generated during 
construction or destruction, remodeling, or repair of 
pavements, houses, commercial buildings, their foundations 
and other structures. Construction demolition debris wastes 
include, but are not limited to lumber, wire, sheetrock, broken 
brick, shingles, glass, pipes, concrete, paving materials, and 
metal and plastics if the metal or plastics are a part of the 
materials of construction or empty containers for such 
materials. Paints, coatings, solvents, asbestos, any liquid, 
compressed gases or semi-liquids and garbage are not 
construction demolition debris wastes.  
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"Container" means any watertight structure that meets the 
provisions of this chapter.  

"Containment and cleanup" means abatement, containment, 
removal and disposal of solid wastes or regulated medical 
wastes that have been deposited to state waters or adjoining 
shorelines, and the restoration of the environment to its 
existing state prior to a deposit of the wastes.  

"Demise charterer" means a person with whom the owner of 
the vessel enters into a demise charter. The charterer takes 
over all possession and control of the vessel from the owner 
of the vessel and becomes subject to the duties and 
responsibilities of ownership. The charterer is also 
responsible for directing the operations of the vessel and 
providing the master and crew.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality.  

"Destination facility" means a facility that treats, disposes 
of, or recycles solid wastes or regulated medical wastes in 
accordance with applicable federal and state regulations.  

"Director" means the Director of the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality or an authorized representative.  

"Disclosure statement" means a sworn statement or 
affirmation, in such form as may be required by the director, 
which includes:  

1. The full name, and business address, and social security 
number of all key personnel;  

2. The full name and business address of any entity, other 
than a natural person, that collects, transports, treats, 
stores, or disposes of solid waste or hazardous waste in 
which any key personnel holds an equity interest of 5.0% 
or more;  

3. A description of the business experience of all key 
personnel listed in the disclosure statement;  

4. A listing of all permits or licenses required for the 
collection, transportation, treatment, storage or disposal of 
solid waste or hazardous waste issued to or held by any 
key personnel within the past 10 years;  

5. A listing and explanation of any notices of violation, 
prosecutions, administrative orders (whether by consent or 
otherwise), license or permit suspensions or revocations, or 
enforcement actions of any sort by any state, federal or 
local authority, within the past 10 years, that are pending or 
have concluded with a finding of violation or entry of a 
consent agreement, regarding an allegation of civil or 
criminal violation of any law, regulation or requirement 
relating to the collection, transportation, treatment, storage 
or disposal of solid waste or hazardous waste by any key 
personnel, and an itemized list of all convictions within 10 
years of key personnel of any of the following crimes 
punishable as felonies under the laws of the 
Commonwealth or the equivalent thereof under the laws of 

any other jurisdiction: murder; kidnapping; gambling; 
robbery; bribery; extortion; criminal usury; arson; 
burglary; theft and related crimes; forgery and fraudulent 
practices; fraud in the offering, sale, or purchase of 
securities; alteration of motor vehicle identification 
numbers; unlawful manufacture, purchase, use or transfer 
of firearms; unlawful possession or use of destructive 
devices or explosives; violation of the Drug Control Act, 
Chapter 34 (§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code 
of Virginia; racketeering; or violation of antitrust laws;  

6. A listing of all agencies outside the Commonwealth that 
have regulatory responsibility over the applicant or have 
issued any environmental permit or license to the applicant 
within the past 10 years in connection with the applicant's 
collection, transportation, treatment, storage, or disposal of 
solid waste or hazardous waste;  

7. Any other information about the applicant and the key 
personnel that the director may require that reasonably 
relates to the qualifications and abilities of the key 
personnel or the applicant to lawfully and competently 
operate a solid waste management facility in Virginia; and  

8. The full name and business address of any member of 
the local governing body or planning commission in which 
the solid waste management facility is located or proposed 
to be located, who holds an equity interest in the facility.  

"Existing facility" means any receiving facility that is 
constructed prior to July 2, 2003.  

"Generator" means any person, by site, whose act or process 
produces solid wastes or regulated medical wastes, or whose 
act first causes solid wastes or regulated medical wastes to 
become subject to this chapter.  

"Insurance association" means any group of individuals, 
corporations, partnerships, associations, or governmental 
units or agencies whose members collectively own, control, 
or hold with power to vote all of the outstanding voting 
securities of an association captive insurer.  

"Key personnel" means the applicant itself and any person 
employed by the applicant in a managerial capacity, or 
empowered to make discretionary decisions, with respect to 
the solid waste or hazardous waste operations of the applicant 
in Virginia, but shall not include employees exclusively 
engaged in the physical or mechanical collection, 
transportation, treatment, storage, or disposal of solid or 
hazardous waste and such other employees as the director 
may designate by regulation. If the applicant has not 
previously conducted solid waste or hazardous waste 
operations in Virginia, the term also includes any officer, 
director, partner of the applicant, or any holder of 5.0% or 
more of the equity or debt of the applicant. If any holder of 
5.0% or more of the equity or debt of the applicant or of any 
key personnel is not a natural person, the term includes all 
key personnel of that entity, provided that where such entity 
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is a chartered lending institution or a reporting company 
under the Federal Security and Exchange Act of 1934, the 
term does not include key personnel of such entity. Provided 
further that the term means the chief executive officer of any 
agency of the United States or of any agency or political 
subdivision of the Commonwealth, and all key personnel of 
any person, other than a natural person, that operates a 
landfill or other facility for the disposal, treatment or storage 
of nonhazardous solid waste under contract with or for one of 
those governmental entities.  

"Leachate" means a liquid that has passed through or 
emerged from solid waste or regulated medical waste and 
contains soluble, suspended, or miscible materials from such 
waste. Leachate and any material with which it is mixed is 
solid waste; except that leachate that is pumped from a 
collection tank for transportation to disposal in an off-site 
facility is regulated as septage, and leachate discharged into a 
wastewater collection system is regulated as industrial 
wastewater.  

"Load Line Certificate" means a certificate issued by the 
American Bureau of Shipping (ABS) or other similarly 
qualified organizations authorized by the Secretary of 
Transportation (U.S. Department of Transportation) to the 
owner of the vessel, in accordance with 46 USC Chapter 51.  

"Manifest" means the shipping document originated and 
signed by the generator in accordance with the provisions of 
this chapter. For transportation of regulated medical wastes, 
the hazardous materials shipping paper requirements under 49 
CFR Part 172 Subpart C may be reflected in the manifest.  

"Medical waste" or "regulated medical waste" means solid 
wastes defined to be regulated medical wastes by Part III of 
the Regulated Medical Waste Management Regulations 
(9VAC20-120). Solid waste packaged as regulated medical 
waste is regulated medical waste. Medical wastes that have 
been sterilized, treated or incinerated in accordance with the 
Regulated Medical Waste Management Regulations 
(9VAC20-120) are no longer considered as regulated medical 
waste.  

"Navigable waters of the Commonwealth" means state water 
being used or susceptible of being used, in its natural and 
ordinary condition, as a highway for commerce, on which 
trade and travel are or may be conducted in the customary 
modes of trade and travel on water.  

"New facility" means any receiving facility that is 
constructed on or after July 2, 2003.  

"Odors" means any emissions that cause an odor 
objectionable to individuals of ordinary sensibility.  

"Operator" means, in the case of a receiving facility, any 
person responsible for the overall operation of a receiving 
facility that handles solid wastes or regulated medical wastes. 
In the case of a vessel, it means any person who operates, 

charters by demise, rents or otherwise exercises control over 
or responsibility for a vessel.  

"Owner" means, in the case of a receiving facility, any 
person who owns a receiving facility or part of a receiving 
facility that handles solid wastes or regulated medical wastes 
as cargo for hire. In the case of a vessel, it means any person 
who owns a vessel or a part of a vessel that transports solid 
wastes or regulated medical wastes as cargo for hire.  

"Parent" means a corporation, partnership, governmental 
unit or agency, or individual who directly or indirectly owns, 
controls or holds, with power to vote, more than 50% of the 
outstanding voting securities of a pure captive insurer.  

"Permit by rule" means provisions including public 
participation of this chapter stating that a facility or activity is 
deemed to have a permit if it meets the requirements of the 
provision.  

"Person" means an individual, trust, firm, joint stock 
company, corporation including a government corporation, 
partnership, association, any state or agency thereof, 
municipality, county, town, commission, political subdivision 
of a state, any interstate body, consortium, joint venture, 
commercial entity, the government of the United States or 
any unit or agency thereof.  

"Property damage" means the loss or destruction of, or 
damage to, the property of any third party including any loss, 
damage or expense incident to a waste deposit from a vessel. 
This term shall not include those liabilities that, consistent 
with standard insurance industry practices, are excluded from 
coverage in liability insurance policies for property damage.  

"Provider of financial responsibility" means an entity that 
provides financial responsibility to an owner and operator of a 
vessel transporting solid wastes or regulated medical wastes 
through one of the mechanisms listed in 9VAC20-170-310, 
including a financial institution, surety, or issuer of a letter of 
credit.  

"Public vessel" means a vessel that is owned or demise 
chartered and operated by the United States government or a 
government of a foreign country and that is not engaged in 
commercial service.  

"Pure captive insurer" means any insurer transacting the 
business of insurance and reinsurance only on risks, hazards, 
and liabilities of its parent, subsidiary companies of its parent, 
and associated and affiliated companies.  

"Receiving facility" means a facility, vessel or operation that 
loads or off-loads solid wastes or regulated medical wastes 
transported upon the navigable waters of the Commonwealth 
by a commercial transporter.  

"Solid waste" means any garbage, refuse, sludge and other 
discarded material, including solid, liquid, semisolid or 
contained gaseous material, resulting from industrial, 
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commercial, mining and agricultural operations, or 
community activities but does not include (i) materials 
regulated as hazardous wastes under the Virginia Hazardous 
Waste Management Regulations (9VAC20-60); (ii) scrap 
metal, dredged material, recyclable construction demolition 
debris being transported directly to a processing facility for 
recycling or reuse and source-separated recyclables; (iii) solid 
or dissolved material in domestic sewage; (iv) solid or 
dissolved material in irrigation return flows or in industrial 
discharges that are sources subject to a permit from the State 
Water Control Board; or (v) source, special nuclear, or 
byproduct material as defined by the Federal Atomic Energy 
Act of 1954, as amended.  

"State waters" means all water, on the surface and under the 
ground, wholly or partially within or bordering the 
Commonwealth or within its jurisdiction.  

"Subsidiary company" means any corporation of which 50% 
or more of the outstanding voting securities are directly or 
indirectly owned, controlled, or held, with power to vote, by a 
parent or by a company that is a subsidiary of the parent.  

"Surface water" means any water in the Commonwealth, 
except ground water as defined in § 62.1-255 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

"Transport" or "transportation" means any movement of 
solid wastes or regulated medical wastes, and any packing, 
loading, unloading or storage incidental thereto.  

"USC" means the U.S. Code.  

"Vehicle" means any motor vehicle, rolling stock or other 
artificial contrivance for transport whether self-propelled or 
otherwise, except vessels.  

"Vessel" includes every description of watercraft or other 
contrivance used as a means of transporting on water, 
whether self-propelled or otherwise, and shall include barges 
and tugs.  

"Waste deposit" or "deposit of waste" means any solid waste 
or regulated medical waste from a vessel or a receiving 
facility that is placed, discharged, spilled, dropped, or leaked 
into state waters or adjoining shorelines.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2011; Filed January 12, 2010, 2:07 p.m.  

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 
exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance 
with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, which 
excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 
requirements of federal law or regulations provided such 
regulations do not differ materially from those required by 
federal law or regulation. The State Water Control Board will 

receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 
person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-31. Virginia Pollutant 
Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Permit 
Regulation (amending 9VAC25-31-30, 9VAC25-31-100, 
9VAC25-31-130, 9VAC25-31-170, 9VAC25-31-200, 
9VAC25-31-290, 9VAC25-31-400). 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 
§ 402 of the federal Clean Water Act; 40 CFR Parts 122, 123, 
124, 403 and 503. 

Effective Date: March 3, 2010.  

Agency Contact: Betsy Bowles, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4059, FAX (804) 
698-4116, or email betsy.bowles@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The existing Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 
System (VPDES) Permit Regulation (9VAC25-31) has been 
amended, where applicable, to reflect changes to 40 CFR 
Parts 9, 122, and 412 as published in the Federal Register 
(Volume 73, No. 225, dated November 20, 2008). 

The VPDES permit regulation governs the authorization to 
manage pollutants from various sources, including 
concentrated animal feeding operations (CAFOs). The 
State Water Control Board has the authority to administer 
the federal National Pollutant Discharge Elimination 
System (NPDES) program within the Commonwealth, and 
as such, the program is called the Virginia Pollutant 
Discharge Elimination System (VPDES). Operations that 
meet the federal definition of CAFO found in 40 CFR 
122.23(b) must seek coverage under a NPDES permit if the 
operation discharges or proposes to discharge. CAFOs are 
currently regulated in Virginia under the Virginia 
Pollution Abatement (VPA) permit regulation (9VAC25-
32), the VPA General Permit Regulation for Confined 
Animal Feeding Operations (9VAC25-192), and the VPA 
General Permit Regulation for Poultry Waste Management 
(9VAC25-630). Concentrated Animal Feeding Operations 
currently covered under these regulations will be required 
to be covered under the VPDES permit regulation 
(9VAC25-31) or VPDES general permit regulation 
(9VAC25-191) if they discharge or propose to discharge. 

9VAC25-31-30. Federal effluent guidelines.  

A. The following federal regulations are hereby incorporated 
by reference:  

Aluminum Forming 40 CFR Part 467 (2005)  

Asbestos Manufacturing 40 CFR Part 427 (2005)  

Battery Manufacturing 40 CFR Part 461 (2005)  
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Canned and Preserved Fruits and Vegetables 40 CFR Part 
407 (2005)  

Canned and Preserved Seafood 40 CFR Part 408 (2005)  

Carbon Black Manufacturing 40 CFR Part 458 (2005)  

Cement Manufacturing 40 CFR Part 411 (2005)  

Centralized Waste Treatment 40 CFR Part 437 (2005)  

Coal Mining 40 CFR Part 434 (2005)  

Coil Coating 40 CFR Part 465 (2005)  

Copper Forming 40 CFR Part 468 (2005)  

Dairy Products 40 CFR Part 405 (2005)  

Electrical and Electronic Components 40 CFR Part 469 
(2005)  

Electroplating 40 CFR Part 413 (2005)  

Explosives Manufacturing 40 CFR Part 457 (2005)  

Feedlots 40 CFR Part 412 (2005) (2009)  

Ferroalloy Manufacturing 40 CFR Part 424 (2005)  

Fertilizer Manufacturing 40 CFR Part 418 (2005)  

Glass Manufacturing 40 CFR Part 426 (2005)  

Grain Mills 40 CFR Part 406 (2005)  

Gum and Wood Chemicals Manufacturing 40 CFR Part 
454 (2005)  

Hospitals 40 CFR Part 460 (2005)  

Ink Formulating 40 CFR Part 447 (2005)  

Inorganic Chemicals Manufacturing 40 CFR Part 415 
(2005)  

Iron and Steel Manufacturing 40 CFR Part 420 (2005)  

Landfills 40 CFR Part 445 (2005)  

Leather Tanning and Finishing 40 CFR Part 425 (2005)  

Meat Products 40 CFR Part 432 (2005)  

Metal Finishing 40 CFR Part 433 (2005)  

Metal Molding and Casting 40 CFR Part 464 (2005)  

Metal Products and Machinery 40 CFR Part 438 (2005)  

Mineral Mining and Processing 40 CFR Part 436 (2005)  

Nonferrous Metals 40 CFR Part 421 (2005)  

Nonferrous Metal Forming 40 CFR Part 471 (2005)  

Oil and Gas Extraction 40 CFR Part 435 (2005)  

Ore Mining and Dressing 40 CFR Part 440 (2005)  

Organic Chemicals, Plastics and Synthetic Fibers 40 CFR 
Part 414 (2005)  

Paint Formulating 40 CFR Part 446 (2005)  

Paving and Roofing Materials 40 CFR Part 443 (2005)  

Pesticide Chemicals 40 CFR Part 455 (2005)  

Petroleum Refining 40 CFR Part 419 (2005)  

Pharmaceutical Manufacturing 40 CFR Part 439 (2005)  

Phosphate Manufacturing 40 CFR Part 422 (2005)  

Photographic Processing 40 CFR Part 459 (2005)  

Plastics Molding and Forming 40 CFR Part 463 (2005)  

Porcelain Enameling 40 CFR Part 466 (2005)  

Pulp, Paper and Paperboard 40 CFR Part 430 (2005)  

Rubber Processing 40 CFR Part 428 (2005)  

Secondary Treatment 40 CFR Part 133 (2005)  

Soaps and Detergents 40 CFR Part 417 (2005)  

Steam Electric Power Generation 40 CFR Part 423 (2005)  

Sugar Processing 40 CFR Part 409 (2005)  

Textile Mills 40 CFR Part 410 (2005)  

Timber Products 40 CFR Part 429 (2005)  

Toxic Pollutant Effluent Standards 40 CFR Part 129 
(2005)  

Transportation Equipment Cleaning 40 CFR Part 442 
(2005)  

Waste Combustors 40 CFR Part 444 (2005)  

B. The director shall be responsible for identifying any 
subsequent changes in the regulations incorporated in the 
previous subsection or the adoption or the modification of 
any new national standard. Upon identifying any such federal 
change or adoption, the director shall initiate a regulation 
adopting proceedings by preparing and filing with the 
Registrar of Regulations the notice required by § 2.2-4006 A 
4 c of the Code of Virginia or a notice of a public hearing 
pursuant to § 2.2-4007 C of the Code of Virginia.  

Part II  
Permit Applications and Special VPDES Permit Programs  

9VAC25-31-100. Application for a permit.  

A. Duty to apply. Any person who discharges or proposes to 
discharge pollutants or who owns or operates a sludge-only 
facility whose sewage sludge use or disposal practice is 
regulated by 9VAC25-31-420 through 9VAC25-31-720 and 
who does not have an effective permit, except persons 
covered by general permits, excluded from the requirement 
for a permit by this chapter, or a user of a privately owned 
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treatment works unless the board requires otherwise, shall 
submit a complete application to the department in 
accordance with this section. All concentrated animal feeding 
operations have a duty to seek coverage under a VPDES 
permit. The requirements for concentrated animal feeding 
operations are described in subdivisions C 1 and 3 of 
9VAC25-31-130.  

B. Who applies. When a facility or activity is owned by one 
person but is operated by another person, it is the operator's 
duty to obtain a permit.  

C. Time to apply.  

1. Any person proposing a new discharge, shall submit an 
application at least 180 days before the date on which the 
discharge is to commence, unless permission for a later 
date has been granted by the board. Facilities proposing a 
new discharge of storm water associated with industrial 
activity shall submit an application 180 days before that 
facility commences industrial activity which may result in 
a discharge of storm water associated with that industrial 
activity. Different submittal dates may be required under 
the terms of applicable general permits. Persons proposing 
a new discharge are encouraged to submit their 
applications well in advance of the 90 or 180 day 
requirements to avoid delay. New discharges composed 
entirely of storm water, other than those dischargers 
identified in 9VAC25-31-120 A 1, shall apply for and 
obtain a permit according to the application requirements 
in 9VAC25-31-120 B.  

2. All TWTDS whose sewage sludge use or disposal 
practices are regulated by 9VAC25-31-420 through 
9VAC25-31-720 must submit permit applications 
according to the applicable schedule in subdivision 2 a or b 
of this subsection.  

a. A TWTDS with a currently effective VPDES permit 
must submit a permit application at the time of its next 
VPDES permit renewal application. Such information 
must be submitted in accordance with subsection D of 
this section.  

b. Any other TWTDS not addressed under subdivision 2 
a of this subsection must submit the information listed in 
subdivisions 2 b (1) through (5) of this subsection to the 
department within one year after publication of a 
standard applicable to its sewage sludge use or disposal 
practice(s), using a form provided by the department. The 
board will determine when such TWTDS must submit a 
full permit application.  

(1) The TWTDS's name, mailing address, location, and 
status as federal, state, private, public or other entity;  

(2) The applicant's name, address, telephone number, and 
ownership status;  

(3) A description of the sewage sludge use or disposal 
practices. Unless the sewage sludge meets the 
requirements of subdivision P 8 d of this section, the 
description must include the name and address of any 
facility where sewage sludge is sent for treatment or 
disposal and the location of any land application sites;  

(4) Annual amount of sewage sludge generated, treated, 
used or disposed (estimated dry weight basis); and  

(5) The most recent data the TWTDS may have on the 
quality of the sewage sludge.  

c. Notwithstanding subdivision 2 a or b of this 
subsection, the board may require permit applications 
from any TWTDS at any time if the board determines 
that a permit is necessary to protect public health and the 
environment from any potential adverse effects that may 
occur from toxic pollutants in sewage sludge.  

d. Any TWTDS that commences operations after 
promulgation of an applicable standard for sewage 
sludge use or disposal shall submit an application to the 
department at least 180 days prior to the date proposed 
for commencing operations.  

D. Duty to reapply. All permittees with a currently effective 
permit shall submit a new application at least 180 days before 
the expiration date of the existing permit, unless permission 
for a later date has been granted by the board. The board shall 
not grant permission for applications to be submitted later 
than the expiration date of the existing permit.  

E. Completeness.  

1. The board shall not issue a permit before receiving a 
complete application for a permit except for VPDES 
general permits. An application for a permit is complete 
when the board receives an application form and any 
supplemental information which are completed to its 
satisfaction. The completeness of any application for a 
permit shall be judged independently of the status of any 
other permit application or permit for the same facility or 
activity.  

2. No application for a VPDES permit to discharge sewage 
into or adjacent to state waters from a privately owned 
treatment works serving, or designed to serve, 50 or more 
residences shall be considered complete unless the 
applicant has provided the department with notification 
from the State Corporation Commission that the applicant 
is incorporated in the Commonwealth and is in compliance 
with all regulations and relevant orders of the State 
Corporation Commission.  

3. No application for a new individual VPDES permit 
authorizing a new discharge of sewage, industrial wastes, 
or other wastes shall be considered complete unless it 
contains notification from the county, city, or town in 
which the discharge is to take place that the location and 
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operation of the discharging facility are consistent with 
applicable ordinances adopted pursuant to Chapter 22 (§ 
15.2-2200 et seq.) of Title 15.2 of the Code of Virginia. 
The county, city or town shall inform in writing the 
applicant and the board of the discharging facility's 
compliance or noncompliance not more than 30 days from 
receipt by the chief administrative officer, or his agent, of a 
request from the applicant. Should the county, city or town 
fail to provide such written notification within 30 days, the 
requirement for such notification is waived. The provisions 
of this subsection shall not apply to any discharge for 
which a valid VPDES permit had been issued prior to 
March 10, 2000.  

4. A permit application shall not be considered complete if 
the board has waived application requirements under 
subsection J or P of this section and the EPA has 
disapproved the waiver application. If a waiver request has 
been submitted to the EPA more than 210 days prior to 
permit expiration and the EPA has not disapproved the 
waiver application 181 days prior to permit expiration, the 
permit application lacking the information subject to the 
waiver application shall be considered complete.  

5. In accordance with § 62.1-44.19:3 A of the Code of 
Virginia, no application for a permit or variance to 
authorize the storage of sewage sludge shall be complete 
unless it contains certification from the governing body of 
the locality in which the sewage sludge is to be stored that 
the storage site is consistent with all applicable ordinances. 
The governing body shall confirm or deny consistency 
within 30 days of receiving a request for certification. If 
the governing body does not so respond, the site shall be 
deemed consistent. 

F. Information requirements. All applicants for VPDES 
permits, other than POTWs and other TWTDS, shall provide 
the following information to the department, using the 
application form provided by the department (additional 
information required of applicants is set forth in subsections 
G through K of this section).  

1. The activities conducted by the applicant which require 
it to obtain a VPDES permit;  

2. Name, mailing address, and location of the facility for 
which the application is submitted;  

3. Up to four SIC codes which best reflect the principal 
products or services provided by the facility;  

4. The operator's name, address, telephone number, 
ownership status, and status as federal, state, private, 
public, or other entity;  

5. Whether the facility is located on Indian lands;  

6. A listing of all permits or construction approvals 
received or applied for under any of the following 
programs:  

a. Hazardous Waste Management program under RCRA 
(42 USC § 6921);  

b. UIC program under SDWA (42 USC § 300h);  

c. VPDES program under the CWA and the law;  

d. Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD) program 
under the Clean Air Act (42 USC § 4701 et seq.);  

e. Nonattainment program under the Clean Air Act 
(42 USC § 4701 et seq.);  

f. National Emission Standards for Hazardous Pollutants 
(NESHAPS) preconstruction approval under the Clean 
Air Act (42 USC § 4701 et seq.);  

g. Ocean dumping permits under the Marine Protection 
Research and Sanctuaries Act (33 USC § 14 et seq.);  

h. Dredge or fill permits under § 404 of the CWA; and  

i. Other relevant environmental permits, including state 
permits.  

7. A topographic map (or other map if a topographic map 
is unavailable) extending one mile beyond the property 
boundaries of the source, depicting the facility and each of 
its intake and discharge structures; each of its hazardous 
waste treatment, storage, or disposal facilities; each well 
where fluids from the facility are injected underground; 
and those wells, springs, other surface water bodies, and 
drinking water wells listed in public records or otherwise 
known to the applicant in the map area; and  

8. A brief description of the nature of the business.  

G. Application requirements for existing manufacturing, 
commercial, mining, and silvicultural dischargers. Existing 
manufacturing, commercial mining, and silvicultural 
dischargers applying for VPDES permits, except for those 
facilities subject to the requirements of 9VAC25-31-100 H, 
shall provide the following information to the department, 
using application forms provided by the department.  

1. The latitude and longitude of each outfall to the nearest 
15 seconds and the name of the receiving water.  

2. A line drawing of the water flow through the facility 
with a water balance, showing operations contributing 
wastewater to the effluent and treatment units. Similar 
processes, operations, or production areas may be indicated 
as a single unit, labeled to correspond to the more detailed 
identification under subdivision 3 of this subsection. The 
water balance must show approximate average flows at 
intake and discharge points and between units, including 
treatment units. If a water balance cannot be determined 
(for example, for certain mining activities), the applicant 
may provide instead a pictorial description of the nature 
and amount of any sources of water and any collection and 
treatment measures.  
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3. A narrative identification of each type of process, 
operation, or production area which contributes wastewater 
to the effluent for each outfall, including process 
wastewater, cooling water, and storm water run-off; the 
average flow which each process contributes; and a 
description of the treatment the wastewater receives, 
including the ultimate disposal of any solid or fluid wastes 
other than by discharge. Processes, operations, or 
production areas may be described in general terms (for 
example, dye-making reactor, distillation tower). For a 
privately owned treatment works, this information shall 
include the identity of each user of the treatment works. 
The average flow of point sources composed of storm 
water may be estimated. The basis for the rainfall event 
and the method of estimation must be indicated.  

4. If any of the discharges described in subdivision 3 of 
this subsection are intermittent or seasonal, a description of 
the frequency, duration and flow rate of each discharge 
occurrence (except for storm water run-off, spillage or 
leaks).  

5. If an effluent guideline promulgated under § 304 of the 
CWA applies to the applicant and is expressed in terms of 
production (or other measure of operation), a reasonable 
measure of the applicant's actual production reported in the 
units used in the applicable effluent guideline. The 
reported measure must reflect the actual production of the 
facility.  

6. If the applicant is subject to any present requirements or 
compliance schedules for construction, upgrading or 
operation of waste treatment equipment, an identification 
of the abatement requirement, a description of the 
abatement project, and a listing of the required and 
projected final compliance dates.  

7. a. Information on the discharge of pollutants specified in 
this subdivision (except information on storm water 
discharges which is to be provided as specified in 
9VAC25-31-120). When quantitative data for a pollutant 
are required, the applicant must collect a sample of effluent 
and analyze it for the pollutant in accordance with 
analytical methods approved under 40 CFR Part 136 
(2005). When no analytical method is approved the 
applicant may use any suitable method but must provide a 
description of the method. When an applicant has two or 
more outfalls with substantially identical effluents, the 
board may allow the applicant to test only one outfall and 
report that the quantitative data also apply to the 
substantially identical outfalls. The requirements in e and f 
of this subdivision that an applicant must provide 
quantitative data for certain pollutants known or believed 
to be present do not apply to pollutants present in a 
discharge solely as the result of their presence in intake 
water; however, an applicant must report such pollutants as 
present. Grab samples must be used for pH, temperature, 

cyanide, total phenols, residual chlorine, oil and grease, 
fecal coliform, and fecal streptococcus. For all other 
pollutants, 24-hour composite samples must be used. 
However, a minimum of one grab sample may be taken for 
effluents from holding ponds or other impoundments with 
a retention period greater than 24 hours. In addition, for 
discharges other than storm water discharges, the board 
may waive composite sampling for any outfall for which 
the applicant demonstrates that the use of an automatic 
sampler is infeasible and that the minimum of four grab 
samples will be a representative sample of the effluent 
being discharged.  

b. For storm water discharges, all samples shall be 
collected from the discharge resulting from a storm event 
that is greater than 0.1 inch and at least 72 hours from the 
previously measurable (greater than 0.1 inch rainfall) 
storm event. Where feasible, the variance in the duration 
of the event and the total rainfall of the event should not 
exceed 50% from the average or median rainfall event in 
that area. For all applicants, a flow-weighted composite 
shall be taken for either the entire discharge or for the 
first three hours of the discharge. The flow-weighted 
composite sample for a storm water discharge may be 
taken with a continuous sampler or as a combination of a 
minimum of three sample aliquots taken in each hour of 
discharge for the entire discharge or for the first three 
hours of the discharge, with each aliquot being separated 
by a minimum period of 15 minutes (applicants 
submitting permit applications for storm water discharges 
under 9VAC25-31-120 C may collect flow-weighted 
composite samples using different protocols with respect 
to the time duration between the collection of sample 
aliquots, subject to the approval of the board). However, 
a minimum of one grab sample may be taken for storm 
water discharges from holding ponds or other 
impoundments with a retention period greater than 24 
hours. For a flow-weighted composite sample, only one 
analysis of the composite of aliquots is required. For 
storm water discharge samples taken from discharges 
associated with industrial activities, quantitative data 
must be reported for the grab sample taken during the 
first 30 minutes (or as soon thereafter as practicable) of 
the discharge for all pollutants specified in 9VAC25-31-
120 B 1. For all storm water permit applicants taking 
flow-weighted composites, quantitative data must be 
reported for all pollutants specified in 9VAC25-31-120 
except pH, temperature, cyanide, total phenols, residual 
chlorine, oil and grease, fecal coliform, and fecal 
streptococcus. The board may allow or establish 
appropriate site-specific sampling procedures or 
requirements, including sampling locations, the season in 
which the sampling takes place, the minimum duration 
between the previous measurable storm event and the 
storm event sampled, the minimum or maximum level of 
precipitation required for an appropriate storm event, the 
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form of precipitation sampled (snow melt or rain fall), 
protocols for collecting samples under 40 CFR Part 136 
(2005), and additional time for submitting data on a case-
by-case basis. An applicant is expected to know or have 
reason to believe that a pollutant is present in an effluent 
based on an evaluation of the expected use, production, 
or storage of the pollutant, or on any previous analyses 
for the pollutant. (For example, any pesticide 
manufactured by a facility may be expected to be present 
in contaminated storm water run-off from the facility.)  

c. Every applicant must report quantitative data for every 
outfall for the following pollutants:  

Biochemical oxygen demand (BOD5)  

Chemical oxygen demand  

Total organic carbon  

Total suspended solids  

Ammonia (as N)  

Temperature (both winter and summer)  

pH  

d. The board may waive the reporting requirements for 
individual point sources or for a particular industry 
category for one or more of the pollutants listed in 
subdivision 7 c of this subsection if the applicant has 
demonstrated that such a waiver is appropriate because 
information adequate to support issuance of a permit can 
be obtained with less stringent requirements.  

e. Each applicant with processes in one or more primary 
industry category (see 40 CFR Part 122 Appendix A 
(2005)) contributing to a discharge must report 
quantitative data for the following pollutants in each 
outfall containing process wastewater:  

(1) The organic toxic pollutants in the fractions 
designated in Table I of 40 CFR Part 122 Appendix D 
(2005) for the applicant's industrial category or 
categories unless the applicant qualifies as a small 
business under subdivision 8 of this subsection. Table II 
of 40 CFR Part 122 Appendix D (2005) lists the organic 
toxic pollutants in each fraction. The fractions result 
from the sample preparation required by the analytical 
procedure which uses gas chromatography/mass 
spectrometry. A determination that an applicant falls 
within a particular industrial category for the purposes of 
selecting fractions for testing is not conclusive as to the 
applicant's inclusion in that category for any other 
purposes; and  

(2) The pollutants listed in Table III of 40 CFR Part 122 
Appendix D (2005) (the toxic metals, cyanide, and total 
phenols).  

f. (1) Each applicant must indicate whether it knows or 
has reason to believe that any of the pollutants in Table 
IV of 40 CFR Part 122 Appendix D (2005) (certain 
conventional and nonconventional pollutants) is 
discharged from each outfall. If an applicable effluent 
limitations guideline either directly limits the pollutant 
or, by its express terms, indirectly limits the pollutant 
through limitations on an indicator, the applicant must 
report quantitative data. For every pollutant discharged 
which is not so limited in an effluent limitations 
guideline, the applicant must either report quantitative 
data or briefly describe the reasons the pollutant is 
expected to be discharged.  

(2) Each applicant must indicate whether it knows or has 
reason to believe that any of the pollutants listed in Table 
II or Table III of 40 CFR Part 122 Appendix D (2005) 
(the toxic pollutants and total phenols) for which 
quantitative data are not otherwise required under 
subdivision 7 e of this subsection, is discharged from 
each outfall. For every pollutant expected to be 
discharged in concentrations of 10 ppb or greater the 
applicant must report quantitative data. For acrolein, 
acrylonitrile, 2,4 dinitrophenol, and 2-methyl-4,6 
dinitrophenol, where any of these four pollutants are 
expected to be discharged in concentrations of 100 ppb 
or greater the applicant must report quantitative data. For 
every pollutant expected to be discharged in 
concentrations less than 10 ppb, or in the case of 
acrolein, acrylonitrile, 2,4 dinitrophenol, and 2-methyl-
4,6 dinitrophenol, in concentrations less than 100 ppb, 
the applicant must either submit quantitative data or 
briefly describe the reasons the pollutant is expected to 
be discharged. An applicant qualifying as a small 
business under subdivision 8 of this subsection is not 
required to analyze for pollutants listed in Table II of 40 
CFR Part 122 Appendix D (2005) (the organic toxic 
pollutants).  

g. Each applicant must indicate whether it knows or has 
reason to believe that any of the pollutants in Table V of 
40 CFR Part 122 Appendix D (2005) (certain hazardous 
substances and asbestos) are discharged from each 
outfall. For every pollutant expected to be discharged, the 
applicant must briefly describe the reasons the pollutant 
is expected to be discharged, and report any quantitative 
data it has for any pollutant.  

h. Each applicant must report qualitative data, generated 
using a screening procedure not calibrated with analytical 
standards, for 2,3,7,8-tetrachlorodibenzo-p-dioxin 
(TCDD) if it:  

(1) Uses or manufactures 2,4,5-trichlorophenoxy acetic 
acid (2,4,5,-T); 2-(2,4,5-trichlorophenoxy) propanoic 
acid (Silvex, 2,4,5,-TP); 2-(2,4,5-trichlorophenoxy) 
ethyl, 2,2-dichloropropionate (Erbon); O,O-dimethyl O-
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(2,4,5-trichlorophenyl) phosphorothioate (Ronnel); 2,4,5-
trichlorophenol (TCP); or hexachlorophene (HCP); or  

(2) Knows or has reason to believe that TCDD is or may 
be present in an effluent.  

8. An applicant which qualifies as a small business under 
one of the following criteria is exempt from the 
requirements in subdivision 7 e (1) or 7 f (1) of this 
subsection to submit quantitative data for the pollutants 
listed in Table II of 40 CFR Part 122 Appendix D (2005) 
(the organic toxic pollutants):  

a. For coal mines, a probable total annual production of 
less than 100,000 tons per year; or  

b. For all other applicants, gross total annual sales 
averaging less than $100,000 per year (in second quarter 
1980 dollars).  

9. A listing of any toxic pollutant which the applicant 
currently uses or manufactures as an intermediate or final 
product or by-product. The board may waive or modify 
this requirement for any applicant if the applicant 
demonstrates that it would be unduly burdensome to 
identify each toxic pollutant and the board has adequate 
information to issue the permit.  

10. Reserved.  

11. An identification of any biological toxicity tests which 
the applicant knows or has reason to believe have been 
made within the last three years on any of the applicant's 
discharges or on a receiving water in relation to a 
discharge.  

12. If a contract laboratory or consulting firm performed 
any of the analyses required by subdivision 7 of this 
subsection, the identity of each laboratory or firm and the 
analyses performed.  

13. In addition to the information reported on the 
application form, applicants shall provide to the board, at 
its request, such other information, including pertinent 
plans, specifications, maps and such other relevant 
information as may be required, in scope and details 
satisfactory to the board, as the board may reasonably 
require to assess the discharges of the facility and to 
determine whether to issue a VPDES permit. The 
additional information may include additional quantitative 
data and bioassays to assess the relative toxicity of 
discharges to aquatic life and requirements to determine 
the cause of the toxicity.  

H. Application requirements for manufacturing, commercial, 
mining and silvicultural facilities which discharge only 
nonprocess wastewater. Except for storm water discharges, all 
manufacturing, commercial, mining and silvicultural 
dischargers applying for VPDES permits which discharge 
only nonprocess wastewater not regulated by an effluent 

limitations guideline or new source performance standard 
shall provide the following information to the department 
using application forms provided by the department:  

1. Outfall number, latitude and longitude to the nearest 15 
seconds, and the name of the receiving water;  

2. Date of expected commencement of discharge;  

3. An identification of the general type of waste 
discharged, or expected to be discharged upon 
commencement of operations, including sanitary wastes, 
restaurant or cafeteria wastes, or noncontact cooling water. 
An identification of cooling water additives (if any) that 
are used or expected to be used upon commencement of 
operations, along with their composition if existing 
composition is available;  

4. a. Quantitative data for the pollutants or parameters 
listed below, unless testing is waived by the board. The 
quantitative data may be data collected over the past 365 
days, if they remain representative of current operations, 
and must include maximum daily value, average daily 
value, and number of measurements taken. The applicant 
must collect and analyze samples in accordance with 40 
CFR Part 136 (2005). Grab samples must be used for pH, 
temperature, oil and grease, total residual chlorine, and 
fecal coliform. For all other pollutants, 24-hour composite 
samples must be used. New dischargers must include 
estimates for the pollutants or parameters listed below 
instead of actual sampling data, along with the source of 
each estimate. All levels must be reported or estimated as 
concentration and as total mass, except for flow, pH, and 
temperature.  

(1) Biochemical oxygen demand (BOD5).  

(2) Total suspended solids (TSS).  

(3) Fecal coliform (if believed present or if sanitary 
waste is or will be discharged).  

(4) Total residual chlorine (if chlorine is used).  

(5) Oil and grease.  

(6) Chemical oxygen demand (COD) (if noncontact 
cooling water is or will be discharged).  

(7) Total organic carbon (TOC) (if noncontact cooling 
water is or will be discharged).  

(8) Ammonia (as N).  

(9) Discharge flow.  

(10) pH.  

(11) Temperature (winter and summer).  

b. The board may waive the testing and reporting 
requirements for any of the pollutants or flow listed in 
subdivision 4 a of this subsection if the applicant submits 
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a request for such a waiver before or with his application 
which demonstrates that information adequate to support 
issuance of a permit can be obtained through less 
stringent requirements.  

c. If the applicant is a new discharger, he must submit the 
information required in subdivision 4 a of this subsection 
by providing quantitative data in accordance with that 
section no later than two years after commencement of 
discharge. However, the applicant need not submit 
testing results which he has already performed and 
reported under the discharge monitoring requirements of 
his VPDES permit.  

d. The requirements of subdivisions 4 a and 4 c of this 
subsection that an applicant must provide quantitative 
data or estimates of certain pollutants do not apply to 
pollutants present in a discharge solely as a result of their 
presence in intake water. However, an applicant must 
report such pollutants as present. Net credit may be 
provided for the presence of pollutants in intake water if 
the requirements of 9VAC25-31-230 G are met;  

5. A description of the frequency of flow and duration of 
any seasonal or intermittent discharge (except for storm 
water run-off, leaks, or spills);  

6. A brief description of any treatment system used or to be 
used;  

7. Any additional information the applicant wishes to be 
considered, such as influent data for the purpose of 
obtaining net credits pursuant to 9VAC25-31-230 G;  

8. Signature of certifying official under 9VAC25-31-110; 
and  

9. Pertinent plans, specifications, maps and such other 
relevant information as may be required, in scope and 
details satisfactory to the board.  

I. Application requirements for new and existing 
concentrated animal feeding operations and aquatic animal 
production facilities. New and existing concentrated animal 
feeding operations and concentrated aquatic animal 
production facilities shall provide the following information 
to the department, using the application form provided by the 
department:  

1. For concentrated animal feeding operations:  

a. The name of the owner or operator;  

b. The facility location and mailing address;  

c. Latitude and longitude of the production area (entrance 
to the production area);  

d. A topographic map of the geographic area in which the 
CAFO is located showing the specific location of the 
production area, in lieu of the requirements of 
subdivision F 7 of this section;  

e. Specific information about the number and type of 
animals, whether in open confinement or housed under 
roof (beef cattle, broilers, layers, swine weighing 55 
pounds or more, swine weighing less than 55 pounds, 
mature dairy cows, dairy heifers, veal calves, sheep and 
lambs, horses, ducks, turkeys, other);  

f. The type of containment and storage (anaerobic 
lagoon, roofed storage shed, storage ponds, underfloor 
pits, above ground storage tanks, below ground storage 
tanks, concrete pad, impervious soil pad, other) and total 
capacity for manure, litter, and process wastewater 
storage (tons/gallons);  

g. The total number of acres under control of the 
applicant available for land application of manure, litter, 
or process wastewater;  

h. Estimated amounts of manure, litter, and process 
wastewater generated per year (tons/gallons); and  

i. For CAFOs that must seek coverage under a permit 
after December 31, 2006, certification that a nutrient 
management plan has been completed and will be 
implemented upon the date of coverage. For CAFOs 
required to seek coverage under a permit after December 
31, 2009, a nutrient management plan that at a minimum 
satisfies the requirements specified in subsection E of 
9VAC25-31-200 and subdivision C 9 of 9VAC25-31-
130, including, for all CAFOs subject to 40 CFR Part 
412 Subpart C or Subpart D (2009), the requirements of 
40 CFR 412.4(c) (2009), as applicable. 

2. For concentrated aquatic animal production facilities:  

a. The maximum daily and average monthly flow from 
each outfall;  

b. The number of ponds, raceways, and similar 
structures;  

c. The name of the receiving water and the source of 
intake water;  

d. For each species of aquatic animals, the total yearly 
and maximum harvestable weight;  

e. The calendar month of maximum feeding and the total 
mass of food fed during that month; and  

f. Pertinent plans, specifications, maps and such other 
relevant information as may be required, in scope and 
details satisfactory to the board.  

J. Application requirements for new and existing POTWs 
and treatment works treating domestic sewage. Unless 
otherwise indicated, all POTWs and other dischargers 
designated by the board must provide to the department, at a 
minimum, the information in this subsection using an 
application form provided by the department. Permit 
applicants must submit all information available at the time of 
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permit application. The information may be provided by 
referencing information previously submitted to the 
department. The board may waive any requirement of this 
subsection if it has access to substantially identical 
information. The board may also waive any requirement of 
this subsection that is not of material concern for a specific 
permit, if approved by the regional administrator. The waiver 
request to the regional administrator must include the board's 
justification for the waiver. A regional administrator's 
disapproval of the board's proposed waiver does not 
constitute final agency action but does provide notice to the 
board and permit applicant(s) that the EPA may object to any 
board-issued permit issued in the absence of the required 
information.  

1. All applicants must provide the following information:  

a. Name, mailing address, and location of the facility for 
which the application is submitted;  

b. Name, mailing address, and telephone number of the 
applicant and indication as to whether the applicant is the 
facility's owner, operator, or both;  

c. Identification of all environmental permits or 
construction approvals received or applied for (including 
dates) under any of the following programs:  

(1) Hazardous Waste Management program under the 
Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA), 
Subpart C;  

(2) Underground Injection Control program under the 
Safe Drinking Water Act (SDWA);  

(3) NPDES program under the Clean Water Act (CWA);  

(4) Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD) 
program under the Clean Air Act;  

(5) Nonattainment program under the Clean Air Act;  

(6) National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air 
Pollutants (NESHAPS) preconstruction approval under 
the Clean Air Act;  

(7) Ocean dumping permits under the Marine Protection 
Research and Sanctuaries Act;  

(8) Dredge or fill permits under § 404 of the CWA; and  

(9) Other relevant environmental permits, including state 
permits;  

d. The name and population of each municipal entity 
served by the facility, including unincorporated 
connector districts. Indicate whether each municipal 
entity owns or maintains the collection system and 
whether the collection system is separate sanitary or 
combined storm and sanitary, if known;  

e. Information concerning whether the facility is located 
in Indian country and whether the facility discharges to a 
receiving stream that flows through Indian country;  

f. The facility's design flow rate (the wastewater flow 
rate the plant was built to handle), annual average daily 
flow rate, and maximum daily flow rate for each of the 
previous three years;  

g. Identification of type(s) of collection system(s) used 
by the treatment works (i.e., separate sanitary sewers or 
combined storm and sanitary sewers) and an estimate of 
the percent of sewer line that each type comprises; and  

h. The following information for outfalls to surface 
waters and other discharge or disposal methods:  

(1) For effluent discharges to surface waters, the total 
number and types of outfalls (e.g., treated effluent, 
combined sewer overflows, bypasses, constructed 
emergency overflows);  

(2) For wastewater discharged to surface impoundments:  

(a) The location of each surface impoundment;  

(b) The average daily volume discharged to each surface 
impoundment; and  

(c) Whether the discharge is continuous or intermittent;  

(3) For wastewater applied to the land:  

(a) The location of each land application site;  

(b) The size of each land application site, in acres;  

(c) The average daily volume applied to each land 
application site, in gallons per day; and  

(d) Whether land application is continuous or 
intermittent;  

(4) For effluent sent to another facility for treatment prior 
to discharge:  

(a) The means by which the effluent is transported;  

(b) The name, mailing address, contact person, and 
phone number of the organization transporting the 
discharge, if the transport is provided by a party other 
than the applicant;  

(c) The name, mailing address, contact person, phone 
number, and VPDES permit number (if any) of the 
receiving facility; and  

(d) The average daily flow rate from this facility into the 
receiving facility, in millions of gallons per day; and  

(5) For wastewater disposed of in a manner not included 
in subdivisions 1 h (1) through (4) of this subsection 
(e.g., underground percolation, underground injection):  
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(a) A description of the disposal method, including the 
location and size of each disposal site, if applicable;  

(b) The annual average daily volume disposed of by this 
method, in gallons per day; and  

(c) Whether disposal through this method is continuous 
or intermittent;  

2. All applicants with a design flow greater than or equal to 
0.1 mgd must provide the following information:  

a. The current average daily volume of inflow and 
infiltration, in gallons per day, and steps the facility is 
taking to minimize inflow and infiltration;  

b. A topographic map (or other map if a topographic map 
is unavailable) extending at least one mile beyond 
property boundaries of the treatment plant, including all 
unit processes, and showing:  

(1) Treatment plant area and unit processes;  

(2) The major pipes or other structures through which 
wastewater enters the treatment plant and the pipes or 
other structures through which treated wastewater is 
discharged from the treatment plant. Include outfalls 
from bypass piping, if applicable;  

(3) Each well where fluids from the treatment plant are 
injected underground;  

(4) Wells, springs, and other surface water bodies listed 
in public records or otherwise known to the applicant 
within 1/4 mile of the treatment works' property 
boundaries;  

(5) Sewage sludge management facilities (including on-
site treatment, storage, and disposal sites); and  

(6) Location at which waste classified as hazardous under 
RCRA enters the treatment plant by truck, rail, or 
dedicated pipe;  

c. Process flow diagram or schematic.  

(1) A diagram showing the processes of the treatment 
plant, including all bypass piping and all backup power 
sources or redundancy in the system. This includes a 
water balance showing all treatment units, including 
disinfection, and showing daily average flow rates at 
influent and discharge points, and approximate daily flow 
rates between treatment units; and  

(2) A narrative description of the diagram; and  

d. The following information regarding scheduled 
improvements:  

(1) The outfall number of each outfall affected;  

(2) A narrative description of each required 
improvement;  

(3) Scheduled or actual dates of completion for the 
following:  

(a) Commencement of construction;  

(b) Completion of construction;  

(c) Commencement of discharge; and  

(d) Attainment of operational level; and  

(4) A description of permits and clearances concerning 
other federal or state requirements;  

3. Each applicant must provide the following information 
for each outfall, including bypass points, through which 
effluent is discharged, as applicable:  

a. The following information about each outfall:  

(1) Outfall number;  

(2) State, county, and city or town in which outfall is 
located;  

(3) Latitude and longitude, to the nearest second;  

(4) Distance from shore and depth below surface;  

(5) Average daily flow rate, in million gallons per day;  

(6) The following information for each outfall with a 
seasonal or periodic discharge:  

(a) Number of times per year the discharge occurs;  

(b) Duration of each discharge;  

(c) Flow of each discharge; and  

(d) Months in which discharge occurs; and  

(7) Whether the outfall is equipped with a diffuser and 
the type (e.g., high-rate) of diffuser used.  

b. The following information, if known, for each outfall 
through which effluent is discharged to surface waters:  

(1) Name of receiving water;  

(2) Name of watershed/river/stream system and United 
States Soil Conservation Service 14-digit watershed 
code;  

(3) Name of State Management/River Basin and United 
States Geological Survey 8-digit hydrologic cataloging 
unit code; and  

(4) Critical flow of receiving stream and total hardness of 
receiving stream at critical low flow (if applicable).  

c. The following information describing the treatment 
provided for discharges from each outfall to surface 
waters:  
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(1) The highest level of treatment (e.g., primary, 
equivalent to secondary, secondary, advanced, other) that 
is provided for the discharge for each outfall and:  

(a) Design biochemical oxygen demand (BOD5 or 
CBOD5) removal (percent);  

(b) Design suspended solids (SS) removal (percent); and, 
where applicable;  

(c) Design phosphorus (P) removal (percent);  

(d) Design nitrogen (N) removal (percent); and  

(e) Any other removals that an advanced treatment 
system is designed to achieve.  

(2) A description of the type of disinfection used, and 
whether the treatment plant dechlorinates (if disinfection 
is accomplished through chlorination).  

4. Effluent monitoring for specific parameters.  

a. As provided in subdivisions 4 b through j of this 
subsection, all applicants must submit to the department 
effluent monitoring information for samples taken from 
each outfall through which effluent is discharged to 
surface waters, except for CSOs. The board may allow 
applicants to submit sampling data for only one outfall 
on a case-by-case basis, where the applicant has two or 
more outfalls with substantially identical effluent. The 
board may also allow applicants to composite samples 
from one or more outfalls that discharge into the same 
mixing zone.  

b. All applicants must sample and analyze for the 
following pollutants:  

(1) Biochemical oxygen demand (BOD5 or CBOD5);  

(2) Fecal coliform;  

(3) Design flow rate;  

(4) pH;  

(5) Temperature; and  

(6) Total suspended solids.  

c. All applicants with a design flow greater than or equal 
to 0.1 mgd must sample and analyze for the following 
pollutants:  

(1) Ammonia (as N);  

(2) Chlorine (total residual, TRC);  

(3) Dissolved oxygen;  

(4) Nitrate/Nitrite;  

(5) Kjeldahl nitrogen;  

(6) Oil and grease;  

(7) Phosphorus; and  

(8) Total dissolved solids.  

Facilities that do not use chlorine for disinfection, do not 
use chlorine elsewhere in the treatment process, and have 
no reasonable potential to discharge chlorine in their 
effluent may delete chlorine.  

d. All POTWs with a design flow rate equal to or greater 
than one million gallons per day, all POTWs with 
approved pretreatment programs or POTWs required to 
develop a pretreatment program, and other POTWs, as 
required by the board must sample and analyze for the 
pollutants listed in Table 2 of 40 CFR Part 122 Appendix 
J (2005), and for any other pollutants for which the board 
or EPA have established water quality standards 
applicable to the receiving waters.  

e. The board may require sampling for additional 
pollutants, as appropriate, on a case-by-case basis.  

f. Applicants must provide data from a minimum of three 
samples taken within 4-1/2 years prior to the date of the 
permit application. Samples must be representative of the 
seasonal variation in the discharge from each outfall. 
Existing data may be used, if available, in lieu of 
sampling done solely for the purpose of this application. 
The board may require additional samples, as 
appropriate, on a case-by-case basis.  

g. All existing data for pollutants specified in 
subdivisions 4 b through e of this subsection that is 
collected within 4-1/2 years of the application must be 
included in the pollutant data summary submitted by the 
applicant. If, however, the applicant samples for a 
specific pollutant on a monthly or more frequent basis, it 
is only necessary, for such pollutant, to summarize all 
data collected within one year of the application.  

h. Applicants must collect samples of effluent and 
analyze such samples for pollutants in accordance with 
analytical methods approved under 40 CFR Part 136 
(2005) unless an alternative is specified in the existing 
VPDES permit. Grab samples must be used for pH, 
temperature, cyanide, total phenols, residual chlorine, oil 
and grease, and fecal coliform. For all other pollutants, 
24-hour composite samples must be used. For a 
composite sample, only one analysis of the composite of 
aliquots is required.  

i. The effluent monitoring data provided must include at 
least the following information for each parameter:  

(1) Maximum daily discharge, expressed as 
concentration or mass, based upon actual sample values;  

(2) Average daily discharge for all samples, expressed as 
concentration or mass, and the number of samples used 
to obtain this value;  

(3) The analytical method used; and  



Regulations 

Volume 26, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations February 1, 2010 

1710 

(4) The threshold level (i.e., method detection limit, 
minimum level, or other designated method endpoints) 
for the analytical method used.  

j. Unless otherwise required by the board, metals must be 
reported as total recoverable.  

5. Effluent monitoring for whole effluent toxicity.  

a. All applicants must provide an identification of any 
whole effluent toxicity tests conducted during the 4-1/2 
years prior to the date of the application on any of the 
applicant's discharges or on any receiving water near the 
discharge.  

b. As provided in subdivisions 5 c through i of this 
subsection, the following applicants must submit to the 
department the results of valid whole effluent toxicity 
tests for acute or chronic toxicity for samples taken from 
each outfall through which effluent is discharged to 
surface waters, except for combined sewer overflows:  

(1) All POTWs with design flow rates greater than or 
equal to one million gallons per day;  

(2) All POTWs with approved pretreatment programs or 
POTWs required to develop a pretreatment program;  

(3) Other POTWs, as required by the board, based on 
consideration of the following factors:  

(a) The variability of the pollutants or pollutant 
parameters in the POTW effluent (based on chemical-
specific information, the type of treatment plant, and 
types of industrial contributors);  

(b) The ratio of effluent flow to receiving stream flow;  

(c) Existing controls on point or nonpoint sources, 
including total maximum daily load calculations for the 
receiving stream segment and the relative contribution of 
the POTW;  

(d) Receiving stream characteristics, including possible 
or known water quality impairment, and whether the 
POTW discharges to a coastal water, or a water 
designated as an outstanding natural resource water; or  

(e) Other considerations (including, but not limited to, 
the history of toxic impacts and compliance problems at 
the POTW) that the board determines could cause or 
contribute to adverse water quality impacts.  

c. Where the POTW has two or more outfalls with 
substantially identical effluent discharging to the same 
receiving stream segment, the board may allow 
applicants to submit whole effluent toxicity data for only 
one outfall on a case-by-case basis. The board may also 
allow applicants to composite samples from one or more 
outfalls that discharge into the same mixing zone.  

d. Each applicant required to perform whole effluent 
toxicity testing pursuant to subdivision 5 b of this 
subsection must provide:  

(1) Results of a minimum of four quarterly tests for a 
year, from the year preceding the permit application; or  

(2) Results from four tests performed at least annually in 
the 4-1/2 year period prior to the application, provided 
the results show no appreciable toxicity using a safety 
factor determined by the board.  

e. Applicants must conduct tests with multiple species 
(no less than two species, e.g., fish, invertebrate, plant) 
and test for acute or chronic toxicity, depending on the 
range of receiving water dilution. The board recommends 
that applicants conduct acute or chronic testing based on 
the following dilutions: (i) acute toxicity testing if the 
dilution of the effluent is greater than 100:1 at the edge 
of the mixing zone or (ii) chronic toxicity testing if the 
dilution of the effluent is less than or equal to 100:1 at 
the edge of the mixing zone.  

f. Each applicant required to perform whole effluent 
toxicity testing pursuant to subdivision 5 b of this 
subsection must provide the number of chronic or acute 
whole effluent toxicity tests that have been conducted 
since the last permit reissuance.  

g. Applicants must provide the results using the form 
provided by the department, or test summaries if 
available and comprehensive, for each whole effluent 
toxicity test conducted pursuant to subdivision 5 b of this 
subsection for which such information has not been 
reported previously to the department.  

h. Whole effluent toxicity testing conducted pursuant to 
subdivision 5 b of this subsection must be conducted 
using methods approved under 40 CFR Part 136 (2005), 
as directed by the board.  

i. For whole effluent toxicity data submitted to the 
department within 4-1/2 years prior to the date of the 
application, applicants must provide the dates on which 
the data were submitted and a summary of the results.  

j. Each POTW required to perform whole effluent 
toxicity testing pursuant to subdivision 5 b of this 
subsection must provide any information on the cause of 
toxicity and written details of any toxicity reduction 
evaluation conducted, if any whole effluent toxicity test 
conducted within the past 4-1/2 years revealed toxicity.  

6. Applicants must submit the following information about 
industrial discharges to the POTW:  

a. Number of significant industrial users (SIUs) and 
categorical industrial users (CIUs) discharging to the 
POTW; and  
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b. POTWs with one or more SIUs shall provide the 
following information for each SIU, as defined in 
9VAC25-31-10, that discharges to the POTW:  

(1) Name and mailing address;  

(2) Description of all industrial processes that affect or 
contribute to the SIU's discharge;  

(3) Principal products and raw materials of the SIU that 
affect or contribute to the SIU's discharge;  

(4) Average daily volume of wastewater discharged, 
indicating the amount attributable to process flow and 
nonprocess flow;  

(5) Whether the SIU is subject to local limits;  

(6) Whether the SIU is subject to categorical standards 
and, if so, under which category and subcategory; and  

(7) Whether any problems at the POTW (e.g., upsets, 
pass through, interference) have been attributed to the 
SIU in the past 4-1/2 years.  

c. The information required in subdivisions 6 a and b of 
this subsection may be waived by the board for POTWs 
with pretreatment programs if the applicant has 
submitted either of the following that contain information 
substantially identical to that required in subdivisions 6 a 
and b of this subsection:  

(1) An annual report submitted within one year of the 
application; or  

(2) A pretreatment program.  

7. Discharges from hazardous waste generators and from 
waste cleanup or remediation sites. POTWs receiving 
Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA), 
Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, 
and Liability Act (CERCLA), or RCRA Corrective Action 
wastes or wastes generated at another type of cleanup or 
remediation site must provide the following information:  

a. If the POTW receives, or has been notified that it will 
receive, by truck, rail, or dedicated pipe any wastes that 
are regulated as RCRA hazardous wastes pursuant to 40 
CFR Part 261 (2005), the applicant must report the 
following:  

(1) The method by which the waste is received (i.e., 
whether by truck, rail, or dedicated pipe); and  

(2) The hazardous waste number and amount received 
annually of each hazardous waste.  

b. If the POTW receives, or has been notified that it will 
receive, wastewaters that originate from remedial 
activities, including those undertaken pursuant to 
CERCLA and § 3004(u) or 3008(h) of RCRA, the 
applicant must report the following:  

(1) The identity and description of the site or facility at 
which the wastewater originates;  

(2) The identities of the wastewater's hazardous 
constituents, as listed in Appendix VIII of 40 CFR Part 
261 (2005), if known; and  

(3) The extent of treatment, if any, the wastewater 
receives or will receive before entering the POTW.  

c. Applicants are exempt from the requirements of 
subdivision 7 b of this subsection if they receive no more 
than 15 kilograms per month of hazardous wastes, unless 
the wastes are acute hazardous wastes as specified in 40 
CFR 261.30(d) and 261.33(e) (2005).  

8. Each applicant with combined sewer systems must 
provide the following information:  

a. The following information regarding the combined 
sewer system:  

(1) A map indicating the location of the following:  

(a) All CSO discharge points;  

(b) Sensitive use areas potentially affected by CSOs (e.g., 
beaches, drinking water supplies, shellfish beds, sensitive 
aquatic ecosystems, and outstanding national resource 
waters); and  

(c) Waters supporting threatened and endangered species 
potentially affected by CSOs; and  

(2) A diagram of the combined sewer collection system 
that includes the following information:  

(a) The location of major sewer trunk lines, both 
combined and separate sanitary;  

(b) The locations of points where separate sanitary 
sewers feed into the combined sewer system;  

(c) In-line and off-line storage structures;  

(d) The locations of flow-regulating devices; and  

(e) The locations of pump stations.  

b. The following information for each CSO discharge 
point covered by the permit application:  

(1) The following information on each outfall:  

(a) Outfall number;  

(b) State, county, and city or town in which outfall is 
located;  

(c) Latitude and longitude, to the nearest second;  

(d) Distance from shore and depth below surface;  

(e) Whether the applicant monitored any of the following 
in the past year for this CSO: (i) rainfall, (ii) CSO flow 
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volume, (iii) CSO pollutant concentrations, (iv) receiving 
water quality, or (v) CSO frequency; and  

(f) The number of storm events monitored in the past 
year;  

(2) The following information about CSO overflows 
from each outfall:  

(a) The number of events in the past year;  

(b) The average duration per event, if available;  

(c) The average volume per CSO event, if available; and  

(d) The minimum rainfall that caused a CSO event, if 
available, in the last year;  

(3) The following information about receiving waters:  

(a) Name of receiving water;  

(b) Name of watershed/stream system and the United 
States Soil Conservation Service watershed (14-digit) 
code, if known; and  

(c) Name of State Management/River Basin and the 
United States Geological Survey hydrologic cataloging 
unit (8-digit) code, if known; and  

(4) A description of any known water quality impacts on 
the receiving water caused by the CSO (e.g., permanent 
or intermittent beach closings, permanent or intermittent 
shellfish bed closings, fish kills, fish advisories, other 
recreational loss, or exceedance of any applicable state 
water quality standard).  

9. All applicants must provide the name, mailing address, 
telephone number, and responsibilities of all contractors 
responsible for any operational or maintenance aspects of 
the facility.  

10. All applications must be signed by a certifying official 
in compliance with 9VAC25-31-110.  

11. Pertinent plans, specifications, maps and such other 
relevant information as may be required, in scope and 
details satisfactory to the board.  

K. Application requirements for new sources and new 
discharges. New manufacturing, commercial, mining and 
silvicultural dischargers applying for VPDES permits (except 
for new discharges of facilities subject to the requirements of 
subsection H of this section or new discharges of storm water 
associated with industrial activity which are subject to the 
requirements of 9VAC25-31-120 B 1 and this subsection) 
shall provide the following information to the department, 
using the application forms provided by the department:  

1. The expected outfall location in latitude and longitude to 
the nearest 15 seconds and the name of the receiving water;  

2. The expected date of commencement of discharge;  

3. a. Description of the treatment that the wastewater will 
receive, along with all operations contributing wastewater 
to the effluent, average flow contributed by each operation, 
and the ultimate disposal of any solid or liquid wastes not 
discharged;  

b. A line drawing of the water flow through the facility 
with a water balance as described in subdivision G 2;  

c. If any of the expected discharges will be intermittent 
or seasonal, a description of the frequency, duration and 
maximum daily flow rate of each discharge occurrence 
(except for storm water run-off, spillage, or leaks); and  

4. If a new source performance standard promulgated 
under § 306 of the CWA or an effluent limitation guideline 
applies to the applicant and is expressed in terms of 
production (or other measure of operation), a reasonable 
measure of the applicant's expected actual production 
reported in the units used in the applicable effluent 
guideline or new source performance standard for each of 
the first three years. Alternative estimates may also be 
submitted if production is likely to vary;  

5. The requirements in subdivisions H 4 a, b, and c of this 
section that an applicant must provide estimates of certain 
pollutants expected to be present do not apply to pollutants 
present in a discharge solely as a result of their presence in 
intake water; however, an applicant must report such 
pollutants as present. Net credits may be provided for the 
presence of pollutants in intake water if the requirements 
of 9VAC25-31-230 G are met. All levels (except for 
discharge flow, temperature, and pH) must be estimated as 
concentration and as total mass.  

a. Each applicant must report estimated daily maximum, 
daily average, and source of information for each outfall 
for the following pollutants or parameters. The board 
may waive the reporting requirements for any of these 
pollutants and parameters if the applicant submits a 
request for such a waiver before or with his application 
which demonstrates that information adequate to support 
issuance of the permit can be obtained through less 
stringent reporting requirements.  

(1) Biochemical oxygen demand (BOD).  

(2) Chemical oxygen demand (COD).  

(3) Total organic carbon (TOC).  

(4) Total suspended solids (TSS).  

(5) Flow.  

(6) Ammonia (as N).  

(7) Temperature (winter and summer).  

(8) pH.  
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b. Each applicant must report estimated daily maximum, 
daily average, and source of information for each outfall 
for the following pollutants, if the applicant knows or has 
reason to believe they will be present or if they are 
limited by an effluent limitation guideline or new source 
performance standard either directly or indirectly through 
limitations on an indicator pollutant: all pollutants in 
Table IV of 40 CFR Part 122 Appendix D (2005) (certain 
conventional and nonconventional pollutants).  

c. Each applicant must report estimated daily maximum, 
daily average and source of information for the following 
pollutants if he knows or has reason to believe that they 
will be present in the discharges from any outfall:  

(1) The pollutants listed in Table III of 40 CFR Part 122 
Appendix D (2005) (the toxic metals, in the discharge 
from any outfall, Total cyanide, and total phenols);  

(2) The organic toxic pollutants in Table II of 40 CFR 
Part 122 Appendix D (2005) (except bis (chloromethyl) 
ether, dichlorofluoromethane and 
trichlorofluoromethane). This requirement is waived for 
applicants with expected gross sales of less than 
$100,000 per year for the next three years, and for coal 
mines with expected average production of less than 
100,000 tons of coal per year.  

d. The applicant is required to report that 2,3,7,8 
Tetrachlorodibenzo-P-Dioxin (TCDD) may be 
discharged if he uses or manufactures one of the 
following compounds, or if he knows or has reason to 
believe that TCDD will or may be present in an effluent:  

(1) 2,4,5-trichlorophenoxy acetic acid (2,4,5-T) (CAS 
#93-76-5);  

(2) (2) 2-(2,4,5-trichlorophenoxy) propanoic acid (Silvex, 
2,4,5-TP) (CAS #93-72-1);  

(3) 2-(2,4,5-trichlorophenoxy) ethyl 2,2-
dichloropropionate (Erbon) (CAS #136-25-4);  

(4) 0,0-dimethyl 0-(2,4,5-trichlorophenyl) 
phosphorothioate (Ronnel) (CAS #299-84-3);  

(5) 2,4,5-trichlorophenol (TCP) (CAS #95-95-4); or  

(6) Hexachlorophene (HCP) (CAS #70-30-4);  

e. Each applicant must report any pollutants listed in 
Table V of 40 CFR Part 122 Appendix D (2005) (certain 
hazardous substances) if he believes they will be present 
in any outfall (no quantitative estimates are required 
unless they are already available).  

f. No later than two years after the commencement of 
discharge from the proposed facility, the applicant is 
required to submit the information required in subsection 
G of this section. However, the applicant need not 
complete those portions of subsection G of this section 

requiring tests which he has already performed and 
reported under the discharge monitoring requirements of 
his VPDES permit;  

6. Each applicant must report the existence of any technical 
evaluation concerning his wastewater treatment, along with 
the name and location of similar plants of which he has 
knowledge;  

7. Any optional information the permittee wishes to have 
considered;  

8. Signature of certifying official under 9VAC25-31-110; 
and  

9. Pertinent plans, specifications, maps and such other 
relevant information as may be required, in scope and 
details satisfactory to the board.  

L. Variance requests by non-POTWs. A discharger which is 
not a publicly owned treatment works (POTW) may request a 
variance from otherwise applicable effluent limitations under 
any of the following statutory or regulatory provisions within 
the times specified in this subsection:  

1. Fundamentally different factors.  

a. A request for a variance based on the presence of 
fundamentally different factors from those on which the 
effluent limitations guideline was based shall be filed as 
follows:  

(1) For a request from best practicable control technology 
currently available (BPT), by the close of the public 
comment period for the draft permit; or  

(2) For a request from best available technology 
economically achievable (BAT) and/or best conventional 
pollutant control technology (BCT), by no later than:  

(a) July 3, 1989, for a request based on an effluent 
limitation guideline promulgated before February 4, 
1987, to the extent July 3, 1989, is not later than that 
provided under previously promulgated regulations; or  

(b) 180 days after the date on which an effluent limitation 
guideline is published in the Federal Register for a 
request based on an effluent limitation guideline 
promulgated on or after February 4, 1987.  

b. The request shall explain how the requirements of the 
applicable regulatory or statutory criteria have been met.  

2. A request for a variance from the BAT requirements for 
CWA § 301(b)(2)(F) pollutants (commonly called 
nonconventional pollutants) pursuant to § 301(c) of the 
CWA because of the economic capability of the owner or 
operator, or pursuant to § 301(g) of the CWA (provided 
however that a § 301(g) variance may only be requested 
for ammonia; chlorine; color; iron; total phenols (when 
determined by the Administrator to be a pollutant covered 
by § 301(b)(2)(F) of the CWA) and any other pollutant 
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which the administrator lists under § 301(g)(4) of the 
CWA) must be made as follows:  

a. For those requests for a variance from an effluent 
limitation based upon an effluent limitation guideline by:  

(1) Submitting an initial request to the regional 
administrator, as well as to the department, stating the 
name of the discharger, the permit number, the outfall 
number(s), the applicable effluent guideline, and whether 
the discharger is requesting a §§ 301(c) or 301(g) of the 
CWA modification, or both. This request must have been 
filed not later than 270 days after promulgation of an 
applicable effluent limitation guideline; and  

(2) Submitting a completed request no later than the 
close of the public comment period for the draft permit 
demonstrating that: (i) all reasonable ascertainable issues 
have been raised and all reasonably available arguments 
and materials supporting their position have been 
submitted; and (ii) that the applicable requirements of 40 
CFR Part 125 (2005) have been met. Notwithstanding 
this provision, the complete application for a request 
under § 301(g) of the CWA shall be filed 180 days 
before EPA must make a decision (unless the Regional 
Division Director establishes a shorter or longer period); 
or  

b. For those requests for a variance from effluent 
limitations not based on effluent limitation guidelines, 
the request need only comply with subdivision 2 a (2) of 
this subsection and need not be preceded by an initial 
request under subdivision 2 a (1) of this subsection.  

3. A modification under § 302(b)(2) of the CWA of 
requirements under § 302(a) of the CWA for achieving 
water quality related effluent limitations may be requested 
no later than the close of the public comment period for the 
draft permit on the permit from which the modification is 
sought.  

4. A variance for alternate effluent limitations for the 
thermal component of any discharge must be filed with a 
timely application for a permit under this section, except 
that if thermal effluent limitations are established on a 
case-by-case basis or are based on water quality standards 
the request for a variance may be filed by the close of the 
public comment period for the draft permit. A copy of the 
request shall be sent simultaneously to the department.  

M. Variance requests by POTWs. A discharger which is a 
publicly owned treatment works (POTW) may request a 
variance from otherwise applicable effluent limitations under 
any of the following statutory provisions as specified in this 
paragraph:  

1. A request for a modification under § 301(h) of the CWA 
of requirements of § 301(b)(1)(B) of the CWA for 
discharges into marine waters must be filed in accordance 

with the requirements of 40 CFR Part 125, Subpart G 
(2005).  

2. A modification under § 302(b)(2) of the CWA of the 
requirements under § 302(a) of the CWA for achieving 
water quality based effluent limitations shall be requested 
no later than the close of the public comment period for the 
draft permit on the permit from which the modification is 
sought.  

N. Expedited variance procedures and time extensions.  

1. Notwithstanding the time requirements in subsections L 
and M of this section, the board may notify a permit 
applicant before a draft permit is issued that the draft 
permit will likely contain limitations which are eligible for 
variances. In the notice the board may require the applicant 
as a condition of consideration of any potential variance 
request to submit a request explaining how the 
requirements of 40 CFR Part 125 (2005) applicable to the 
variance have been met and may require its submission 
within a specified reasonable time after receipt of the 
notice. The notice may be sent before the permit 
application has been submitted. The draft or final permit 
may contain the alternative limitations which may become 
effective upon final grant of the variance.  

2. A discharger who cannot file a timely complete request 
required under subdivisions L 2 a (2) or L 2 b of this 
section may request an extension. The extension may be 
granted or denied at the discretion of the board. Extensions 
shall be no more than six months in duration.  

O. Recordkeeping. Except for information required by 
subdivision C 2 of this section, which shall be retained for a 
period of at least five years from the date the application is 
signed (or longer as required by Part VI (9VAC25-31-420 et 
seq.) of this chapter), applicants shall keep records of all data 
used to complete permit applications and any supplemental 
information submitted under this section for a period of at 
least three years from the date the application is signed.  

P. Sewage sludge management. All TWTDS subject to 
subdivision C 2 a of this section must provide the information 
in this subsection to the department using an application form 
approved by the department. New applicants must submit all 
information available at the time of permit application. The 
information may be provided by referencing information 
previously submitted to the department. The board may waive 
any requirement of this subsection if it has access to 
substantially identical information. The board may also waive 
any requirement of this subsection that is not of material 
concern for a specific permit, if approved by the regional 
administrator. The waiver request to the regional 
administrator must include the board's justification for the 
waiver. A regional administrator's disapproval of the board's 
proposed waiver does not constitute final agency action, but 
does provide notice to the board and the permit applicant that 
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the EPA may object to any board issued permit issued in the 
absence of the required information.  

1. All applicants must submit the following information:  

a. The name, mailing address, and location of the 
TWTDS for which the application is submitted;  

b. Whether the facility is a Class I Sludge Management 
Facility;  

c. The design flow rate (in million gallons per day);  

d. The total population served;  

e. The TWTDS's status as federal, state, private, public, 
or other entity;  

f. The name, mailing address, and telephone number of 
the applicant; and  

g. Indication whether the applicant is the owner, 
operator, or both.  

2. All applicants must submit the facility's VPDES permit 
number, if applicable, and a listing of all other federal, 
state, and local permits or construction approvals received 
or applied for under any of the following programs:  

a. Hazardous Waste Management program under the 
Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA);  

b. UIC program under the Safe Drinking Water Act 
(SDWA);  

c. NPDES program under the Clean Water Act (CWA);  

d. Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD) program 
under the Clean Air Act;  

e. Nonattainment program under the Clean Air Act;  

f. National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air 
Pollutants (NESHAPS) preconstruction approval under 
the Clean Air Act;  

g. Dredge or fill permits under § 404 of the CWA;  

h. Other relevant environmental permits, including state 
or local permits.  

3. All applicants must identify any generation, treatment, 
storage, land application, or disposal of sewage sludge that 
occurs in Indian country.  

4. All applicants must submit a topographic map (or other 
map if a topographic map is unavailable) extending one 
mile beyond property boundaries of the facility and 
showing the following information:  

a. All sewage sludge management facilities, including 
on-site treatment, storage, and disposal sites; and  

b. Wells, springs, and other surface water bodies that are 
within 1/4 mile of the property boundaries and listed in 
public records or otherwise known to the applicant.  

5. All applicants must submit a line drawing and/or a 
narrative description that identifies all sewage sludge 
management practices employed during the term of the 
permit, including all units used for collecting, dewatering, 
storing, or treating sewage sludge; the destination(s) of all 
liquids and solids leaving each such unit; and all processes 
used for pathogen reduction and vector attraction 
reduction.  

6. The applicant must submit sewage sludge monitoring 
data for the pollutants for which limits in sewage sludge 
have been established in Part VI (9VAC25-31-420 et seq.) 
of this chapter for the applicant's use or disposal practices 
on the date of permit application with the following 
conditions:  

a. The board may require sampling for additional 
pollutants, as appropriate, on a case-by-case basis.  

b. Applicants must provide data from a minimum of three 
samples taken within 4-1/2 years prior to the date of the 
permit application. Samples must be representative of the 
sewage sludge and should be taken at least one month 
apart. Existing data may be used in lieu of sampling done 
solely for the purpose of this application.  

c. Applicants must collect and analyze samples in 
accordance with analytical methods specified in 
9VAC25-31-490 unless an alternative has been specified 
in an existing sewage sludge permit.  

d. The monitoring data provided must include at least the 
following information for each parameter:  

(1) Average monthly concentration for all samples 
(mg/kg dry weight), based upon actual sample values;  

(2) The analytical method used; and  

(3) The method detection level.  

7. If the applicant is a person who prepares sewage sludge, 
as defined in 9VAC25-31-500, the applicant must provide 
the following information:  

a. If the applicant's facility generates sewage sludge, the 
total dry metric tons per 365-day period generated at the 
facility.  

b. If the applicant's facility receives sewage sludge from 
another facility, the following information for each 
facility from which sewage sludge is received:  

(1) The name, mailing address, and location of the other 
facility;  

(2) The total dry metric tons per 365-day period received 
from the other facility; and  

(3) A description of any treatment processes occurring at 
the other facility, including blending activities and 
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treatment to reduce pathogens or vector attraction 
characteristics.  

c. If the applicant's facility changes the quality of sewage 
sludge through blending, treatment, or other activities, 
the following information:  

(1) Whether the Class A pathogen reduction 
requirements in 9VAC25-31-710 A or the Class B 
pathogen reduction requirements in 9VAC25-31-710 B 
are met, and a description of any treatment processes 
used to reduce pathogens in sewage sludge;  

(2) Whether any of the vector attraction reduction options 
of 9VAC25-31-720 B 1 through 8 are met, and a 
description of any treatment processes used to reduce 
vector attraction properties in sewage sludge; and  

(3) A description of any other blending, treatment, or 
other activities that change the quality of sewage sludge.  

d. If sewage sludge from the applicant's facility meets the 
ceiling concentrations in 9VAC25-31-540 B 1, the 
pollutant concentrations in 9VAC25-31-540 B 3, the 
Class A pathogen requirements in 9VAC25-31-710 A, 
and one of the vector attraction reduction requirements in 
9VAC25-31-720 B 1 through 8, and if the sewage sludge 
is applied to the land, the applicant must provide the total 
dry metric tons per 365-day period of sewage sludge 
subject to this subsection that is applied to the land.  

e. If sewage sludge from the applicant's facility is sold or 
given away in a bag or other container for application to 
the land, and the sewage sludge is not subject to 
subdivision 7 d of this subsection, the applicant must 
provide the following information:  

(1) The total dry metric tons per 365-day period of 
sewage sludge subject to this subsection that is sold or 
given away in a bag or other container for application to 
the land; and  

(2) A copy of all labels or notices that accompany the 
sewage sludge being sold or given away.  

f. If sewage sludge from the applicant's facility is 
provided to another person who prepares sewage sludge, 
as defined in 9VAC25-31-500, and the sewage sludge is 
not subject to subdivision 7 d of this subsection, the 
applicant must provide the following information for 
each facility receiving the sewage sludge:  

(1) The name and mailing address of the receiving 
facility;  

(2) The total dry metric tons per 365-day period of 
sewage sludge subject to this subsection that the 
applicant provides to the receiving facility;  

(3) A description of any treatment processes occurring at 
the receiving facility, including blending activities and 

treatment to reduce pathogens or vector attraction 
characteristic;  

(4) A copy of the notice and necessary information that 
the applicant is required to provide the receiving facility 
under 9VAC25-31-530 G; and  

(5) If the receiving facility places sewage sludge in bags 
or containers for sale or give-away to application to the 
land, a copy of any labels or notices that accompany the 
sewage sludge.  

8. If sewage sludge from the applicant's facility is applied 
to the land in bulk form and is not subject to subdivision 7 
d, e or f of this subsection, the applicant must provide the 
following information:  

a. The total dry metric tons per 365-day period of sewage 
sludge subject to this subsection that is applied to the 
land.  

b. If any land application sites are located in states other 
than the state where the sewage sludge is prepared, a 
description of how the applicant will notify the 
permitting authority for the state(s) where the land 
application sites are located.  

c. The following information for each land application 
site that has been identified at the time of permit 
application:  

(1) The name (if any), and location for the land 
application site;  

(2) The site's latitude and longitude to the nearest second, 
and method of determination;  

(3) A topographic map (or other map if a topographic 
map is unavailable) that shows the site's location;  

(4) The name, mailing address, and telephone number of 
the site owner, if different from the applicant;  

(5) The name, mailing address, and telephone number of 
the person who applies sewage sludge to the site, if 
different from the applicant;  

(6) Whether the site is agricultural land, forest, a public 
contact site, or a reclamation site, as such site types are 
defined in 9VAC25-31-500;  

(7) The type of vegetation grown on the site, if known, 
and the nitrogen requirement for this vegetation;  

(8) Whether either of the vector attraction reduction 
options of 9VAC25-31-720 B 9 or 10 is met at the site, 
and a description of any procedures employed at the time 
of use to reduce vector attraction properties in sewage 
sludge; and  

(9) Other information that describes how the site will be 
managed, as specified by the board.  
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d. The following information for each land application 
site that has been identified at the time of permit 
application, if the applicant intends to apply bulk sewage 
sludge subject to the cumulative pollutant loading rates in 
9VAC25-31-540 B 2 to the site:  

(1) Whether the applicant has contacted the permitting 
authority in the state where the bulk sewage sludge 
subject to 9VAC25-31-540 B 2 will be applied, to 
ascertain whether bulk sewage sludge subject to 
9VAC25-31-540 B 2 has been applied to the site on or 
since July 20, 1993, and if so, the name of the permitting 
authority and the name and phone number of a contact 
person at the permitting authority;  

(2) Identification of facilities other than the applicant's 
facility that have sent, or are sending, sewage sludge 
subject to the cumulative pollutant loading rates in 
9VAC25-31-540 B 2 to the site since July 20, 1993, if, 
based on the inquiry in subdivision 8 d (1) of this 
subsection, bulk sewage sludge subject to cumulative 
pollutant loading rates in 9VAC25-31-540 B 2 has been 
applied to the site since July 20, 1993.  

e. If not all land application sites have been identified at 
the time of permit application, the applicant must submit 
a land application plan that, at a minimum:  

(1) Describes the geographical area covered by the plan;  

(2) Identifies the site selection criteria;  

(3) Describes how the site(s) will be managed;  

(4) Provides for advance notice to the board of specific 
land application sites and reasonable time for the board 
to object prior to land application of the sewage sludge 
and to notify persons residing on property bordering such 
sites for the purpose of receiving written comments from 
those persons for a period not to exceed 30 days. The 
department shall, based upon these comments, determine 
whether additional site-specific requirements should be 
included in the authorization for land application at the 
site; and  

(5) Provides for advance public notice of land application 
sites in a newspaper of general circulation in the area of 
the land application site.  

A request to increase the acreage authorized by the initial 
permit by 50% or more shall be treated as a new 
application for purposes of public notice and public 
hearings. 

9. An applicant for a permit authorizing the land 
application of sewage sludge shall provide to the 
department, and to each locality in which the applicant 
proposes to land apply sewage sludge, written evidence of 
financial responsibility, including both current liability and 
pollution insurance, or such other evidence of financial 

responsibility as the board may establish by regulation in 
an amount not less than $1 million per occurrence, which 
shall be available to pay claims for cleanup costs, personal 
injury, bodily injury and property damage resulting from 
the transport, storage and land application of sewage 
sludge in Virginia. The aggregate amount of financial 
liability to be maintained by the applicant shall be $1 
million for companies with less than $5 million in annual 
gross revenue and shall be $2 million for companies with 
$5 million or more in annual gross revenue. 

10. If sewage sludge from the applicant's facility is placed 
on a surface disposal site, the applicant must provide the 
following information:  

a. The total dry metric tons of sewage sludge from the 
applicant's facility that is placed on surface disposal sites 
per 365-day period.  

b. The following information for each surface disposal 
site receiving sewage sludge from the applicant's facility 
that the applicant does not own or operate:  

(1) The site name or number, contact person, mailing 
address, and telephone number for the surface disposal 
site; and  

(2) The total dry metric tons from the applicant's facility 
per 365-day period placed on the surface disposal site.  

c. The following information for each active sewage 
sludge unit at each surface disposal site that the applicant 
owns or operates:  

(1) The name or number and the location of the active 
sewage sludge unit;  

(2) The unit's latitude and longitude to the nearest 
second, and method of determination;  

(3) If not already provided, a topographic map (or other 
map if a topographic map is unavailable) that shows the 
unit's location;  

(4) The total dry metric tons placed on the active sewage 
sludge unit per 365-day period;  

(5) The total dry metric tons placed on the active sewage 
sludge unit over the life of the unit;  

(6) A description of any liner for the active sewage 
sludge unit, including whether it has a maximum 
permeability of 1 X 10-7cm/sec;  

(7) A description of any leachate collection system for 
the active sewage sludge unit, including the method used 
for leachate disposal, and any federal, state, and local 
permit number(s) for leachate disposal;  

(8) If the active sewage sludge unit is less than 150 
meters from the property line of the surface disposal site, 
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the actual distance from the unit boundary to the site 
property line;  

(9) The remaining capacity (dry metric tons) for the 
active sewage sludge unit;  

(10) The date on which the active sewage sludge unit is 
expected to close, if such a date has been identified;  

(11) The following information for any other facility that 
sends sewage sludge to the active sewage sludge unit:  

(a) The name, contact person, and mailing address of the 
facility; and  

(b) Available information regarding the quality of the 
sewage sludge received from the facility, including any 
treatment at the facility to reduce pathogens or vector 
attraction characteristics;  

(12) Whether any of the vector attraction reduction 
options of 9VAC25-31-720 B 9 through 11 is met at the 
active sewage sludge unit, and a description of any 
procedures employed at the time of disposal to reduce 
vector attraction properties in sewage sludge;  

(13) The following information, as applicable to any 
groundwater monitoring occurring at the active sewage 
sludge unit:  

(a) A description of any groundwater monitoring 
occurring at the active sewage sludge unit;  

(b) Any available groundwater monitoring data, with a 
description of the well locations and approximate depth 
to groundwater;  

(c) A copy of any groundwater monitoring plan that has 
been prepared for the active sewage sludge unit;  

(d) A copy of any certification that has been obtained 
from a qualified groundwater scientist that the aquifer 
has not been contaminated; and  

(14) If site-specific pollutant limits are being sought for 
the sewage sludge placed on this active sewage sludge 
unit, information to support such a request.  

11. If sewage sludge from the applicant's facility is fired in 
a sewage sludge incinerator, the applicant must provide the 
following information:  

a. The total dry metric tons of sewage sludge from the 
applicant's facility that is fired in sewage sludge 
incinerators per 365-day period.  

b. The following information for each sewage sludge 
incinerator firing the applicant's sewage sludge that the 
applicant does not own or operate:  

(1) The name and/or number, contact person, mailing 
address, and telephone number of the sewage sludge 
incinerator; and  

(2) The total dry metric tons from the applicant's facility 
per 365-day period fired in the sewage sludge 
incinerator.  

12. If sewage sludge from the applicant's facility is sent to 
a municipal solid waste landfill (MSWLF), the applicant 
must provide the following information for each MSWLF 
to which sewage sludge is sent:  

a. The name, contact person, mailing address, location, 
and all applicable permit numbers of the MSWLF;  

b. The total dry metric tons per 365-day period sent from 
this facility to the MSWLF;  

c. A determination of whether the sewage sludge meets 
applicable requirements for disposal of sewage sludge in 
a MSWLF, including the results of the paint filter liquids 
test and any additional requirements that apply on a site-
specific basis; and  

d. Information, if known, indicating whether the MSWLF 
complies with criteria set forth in the Virginia Solid 
Waste Management Regulations, 9VAC20-80.  

13. All applicants must provide the name, mailing address, 
telephone number, and responsibilities of all contractors 
responsible for any operational or maintenance aspects of 
the facility related to sewage sludge generation, treatment, 
use, or disposal.  

14. At the request of the board, the applicant must provide 
any other information necessary to determine the 
appropriate standards for permitting under Part VI 
(9VAC25-31-420 et seq.) of this chapter, and must provide 
any other information necessary to assess the sewage 
sludge use and disposal practices, determine whether to 
issue a permit, or identify appropriate permit requirements; 
and pertinent plans, specifications, maps and such other 
relevant information as may be required, in scope and 
details satisfactory to the board.  

15. All applications must be signed by a certifying official 
in compliance with 9VAC25-31-110.  

Q. Applications for facilities with cooling water intake 
structures.  

1. Application requirements. New facilities with new or 
modified cooling water intake structures. New facilities 
with cooling water intake structures as defined in 
9VAC25-31-165 must report the information required 
under subdivisions 2, 3, and 4 of this subsection and under 
9VAC25-31-165. Requests for alternative requirements 
under 9VAC25-31-165 must be submitted with the permit 
application.  

2. Source water physical data. These include:  

a. A narrative description and scaled drawings showing 
the physical configuration of all source water bodies used 
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by the facility, including area dimensions, depths, salinity 
and temperature regimes, and other documentation that 
supports the determination of the water body type where 
each cooling water intake structure is located;  

b. Identification and characterization of the source water 
body's hydrological and geomorphologic features, as well 
as the methods used to conduct any physical studies to 
determine the intake's area of influence within the water 
body and the results of such studies; and  

c. Location maps.  

3. Cooling water intake structure data. These include:  

a. A narrative description of the configuration of each 
cooling water intake structure and where it is located in 
the water body and in the water column;  

b. Latitude and longitude in degrees, minutes, and 
seconds for each cooling water intake structure;  

c. A narrative description of the operation of each 
cooling water intake structure, including design intake 
flow, daily hours of operation, number of days of the 
year in operation and seasonal changes, if applicable;  

d. A flow distribution and water balance diagram that 
includes all sources of water to the facility, recirculation 
flows and discharges; and  

e. Engineering drawings of the cooling water intake 
structure.  

4. Source water baseline biological characterization data. 
This information is required to characterize the biological 
community in the vicinity of the cooling water intake 
structure and to characterize the operation of the cooling 
water intake structures. The department may also use this 
information in subsequent permit renewal proceedings to 
determine if the design and construction technology plan as 
required in 9VAC25-31-165 should be revised. This 
supporting information must include existing data if 
available. Existing data may be supplemented with data 
from newly conducted field studies. The information must 
include:  

a. A list of the data in subdivisions 4 b through 4 f of this 
subsection that is not available and efforts made to 
identify sources of the data;  

b. A list of species (or relevant taxa) for all life stages 
and their relative abundance in the vicinity of the cooling 
water intake structure;  

c. Identification of the species and life stages that would 
be most susceptible to impingement and entrainment. 
Species evaluated should include the forage base as well 
as those most important in terms of significance to 
commercial and recreational fisheries;  

d. Identification and evaluation of the primary period of 
reproduction, larval recruitment, and period of peak 
abundance for relevant taxa;  

e. Data representative of the seasonal and daily activities 
(e.g., feeding and water column migration) of biological 
organisms in the vicinity of the cooling water intake 
structure;  

f. Identification of all threatened, endangered, and other 
protected species that might be susceptible to 
impingement and entrainment at the cooling water intake 
structures;  

g. Documentation of any public participation or 
consultation with federal or state agencies undertaken in 
development of the plan; and  

h. If information requested in subdivision 4 of this 
subsection is supplemented with data collected using 
field studies, supporting documentation for the source 
water baseline biological characterization must include a 
description of all methods and quality assurance 
procedures for sampling, and data analysis including a 
description of the study area; taxonomic identification of 
sampled and evaluated biological assemblages (including 
all life stages of fish and shellfish); and sampling and 
data analysis methods. The sampling and/or data analysis 
methods used must be appropriate for a quantitative 
survey and based on consideration of methods used in 
other biological studies performed within the same 
source water body. The study area should include, at a 
minimum, the area of influence of the cooling water 
intake structure.  

Note 1: Until further notice subdivision G 7 e (1) of this 
section and the corresponding portions of the VPDES 
application Form 2C are suspended as they apply to coal 
mines.  

Note 2: Until further notice subdivision G 7 e (1) of this 
section and the corresponding portions of Item V-C of the 
VPDES application Form 2C are suspended as they apply to:  

a. Testing and reporting for all four organic fractions in the 
Greige Mills Subcategory of the Textile Mills industry 
(subpart C-Low water use processing of 40 CFR Part 410 
(2005)), and testing and reporting for the pesticide fraction 
in all other subcategories of this industrial category.  

b. Testing and reporting for the volatile, base/neutral and 
pesticide fractions in the Base and Precious Metals 
Subcategory of the Ore Mining and Dressing industry 
(subpart B of 40 CFR Part 440 (2005)), and testing and 
reporting for all four fractions in all other subcategories of 
this industrial category.  

c. Testing and reporting for all four GC/MS fractions in the 
Porcelain Enameling industry.  
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Note 3: Until further notice subdivision G 7 e (1) of this 
section and the corresponding portions of Item V-C of the 
VPDES application Form 2C are suspended as they apply to:  

a. Testing and reporting for the pesticide fraction in the 
Tall Oil Rosin Subcategory (subpart D) and Rosin-Based 
Derivatives Subcategory (subpart F) of the Gum and Wood 
Chemicals industry (40 CFR Part 454 (2005)), and testing 
and reporting for the pesticide and base-neutral fractions in 
all other subcategories of this industrial category.  

b. Testing and reporting for the pesticide fraction in the 
leather tanning and finishing, paint and ink formulation, 
and photographic supplies industrial categories.  

c. Testing and reporting for the acid, base/neutral and 
pesticide fractions in the petroleum refining industrial 
category.  

d. Testing and reporting for the pesticide fraction in the 
Papergrade Sulfite Subcategories (subparts J and U) of the 
Pulp and Paper industry (40 CFR Part 430 (2005)); testing 
and reporting for the base/neutral and pesticide fractions in 
the following subcategories: Deink (subpart Q), Dissolving 
Kraft (subpart F), and Paperboard from Waste Paper 
(subpart E); testing and reporting for the volatile, 
base/neutral and pesticide fractions in the following 
subcategories: BCT Bleached Kraft (subpart H), Semi-
Chemical (subparts B and C), and Nonintegrated-Fine 
Papers (subpart R); and testing and reporting for the acid, 
base/neutral, and pesticide fractions in the following 
subcategories: Fine Bleached Kraft (subpart I), Dissolving 
Sulfite Pulp (subpart K), Groundwood-Fine Papers 
(subpart O), Market Bleached Kraft (subpart G), Tissue 
from Wastepaper (subpart T), and Nonintegrated-Tissue 
Papers (subpart S).  

e. Testing and reporting for the base/neutral fraction in the 
Once-Through Cooling Water, Fly Ash and Bottom Ash 
Transport Water process wastestreams of the Steam 
Electric Power Plant industrial category.  

9VAC25-31-130. Concentrated animal feeding operations.  

A. Permit requirement for CAFOs.  

1. Concentrated animal feeding operations as defined in 
9VAC25-31-10 or designated in accordance with 
subsection B of this section are point sources that require 
VPDES permits for discharges or potential proposed 
discharges. Once an operation is defined as a CAFO, the 
VPDES requirements for CAFOs apply with respect to all 
animals in confinement at the operation and all manure, 
litter and process wastewater generated by those animals or 
the production of those animals, regardless of the type of 
animal.  

2. Two or more animal feeding operations under common 
ownership are considered, for the purposes of this chapter, 
to be a single animal feeding operation if they adjoin each 

other or if they use a common area or system for the 
disposal of wastes.  

B. Case-by-case designations. The board may designate any 
animal feeding operation as a concentrated animal feeding 
operation upon determining that it is a significant contributor 
of pollution to surface waters.  

1. In making this designation the board shall consider the 
following factors:  

a. The size of the animal feeding operation and the 
amount of wastes reaching surface waters;  

b. The location of the animal feeding operation relative to 
surface waters;  

c. The means of conveyance of animal wastes and 
process wastewaters into surface waters;  

d. The slope, vegetation, rainfall, and other factors 
affecting the likelihood or frequency of discharge of 
animal wastes and process wastewaters into surface 
waters; and  

e. Other relevant factors.  

2. No animal feeding operation with less than the numbers 
of animals set forth in the definition of Medium CAFO in 
this regulation shall be designated as a concentrated animal 
feeding operation unless:  

a. Pollutants are discharged into surface waters through a 
manmade ditch, flushing system, or other similar 
manmade device; or  

b. Pollutants are discharged directly into surface waters 
which originate outside of the facility and pass over, 
across, or through the facility or otherwise come into 
direct contact with the animals confined in the operation.  

3. A permit application shall not be required from a 
concentrated animal feeding operation designated under 
this subsection until the board has conducted an on-site 
inspection of the operation and determined that the 
operation should and could be regulated under the VPDES 
permit program.  

C. Who must seek coverage under a VPDES permit?  

1. All CAFO owners or operators must apply for a permit. 
All CAFO The owners or operators must of a CAFO shall 
seek coverage under a VPDES permit, except as provided 
in subdivision 2 of this subsection if the CAFO discharges 
or proposes to discharge. A CAFO proposes to discharge if 
it is designed, constructed, operated, or maintained such 
that a discharge will occur. Specifically, the CAFO owner 
or operator must shall either apply for an individual 
VPDES permit or apply for coverage under a VPDES 
general permit. If there is no VPDES general permit 
available to the CAFO, the CAFO owner or operator must 
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shall submit an application for an individual permit to the 
board.  

2. Exception. An owner or operator of a Large CAFO does 
not need to seek coverage under a VPDES permit if the 
owner or operator has received a notice from the board of a 
determination under 9VAC25-31-130 C 5 certifies to the 
board that the CAFO has "no potential to discharge" does 
not discharge or propose to discharge manure, litter or 
process wastewater.  

3. Information to submit with permit application. A permit 
application for an individual permit must include the 
information specified in 9VAC25-31-100 I. A notice of 
intent for a general permit must include the information 
specified in 9VAC25-31-100 I and 9VAC25-31-170.  

4. Land application discharges from a CAFO are subject to 
VPDES requirements. The discharge of manure, litter or 
process wastewater to surface waters from a CAFO as the 
result of the application of that manure, litter or process 
wastewater by the CAFO to land areas under its control is 
a discharge from that CAFO subject to VPDES 
requirements, except where it is an agricultural storm water 
discharge as provided in 33 USC § 1362(14). For purposes 
of this subdivision, where the manure, litter or process 
wastewater has been applied in accordance with a nutrient 
management plan approved by the Department of 
Conservation and Recreation and in accordance with site 
specific nutrient management practices that ensure 
appropriate agricultural utilization of the nutrients in the 
manure, litter or process wastewater, as specified in 
subdivisions E 1 f through i of 9VAC25-31-200 E, a 
precipitation-related discharge of manure, litter or process 
wastewater from land areas under the control of a CAFO is 
an agricultural storm water discharge.  

a. For unpermitted Large CAFOs, a precipitation-related 
discharge of manure, litter, or process wastewater from 
land areas under the control of a CAFO shall be 
considered an agricultural stormwater discharge only 
where the manure, litter, or process wastewater has been 
land applied in accordance with site-specific nutrient 
management practices that ensure appropriate 
agricultural utilization of the nutrients in the manure, 
litter, or process wastewater, as specified in subdivisions 
E 1 f through i of 9VAC25-31-200.  

b. Unpermitted Large CAFOs shall maintain 
documentation specified in subdivision E 1 i of 9VAC25-
31-200 either on site or at a nearby office, or otherwise 
make such documentation readily available to department 
staff upon request.  

5. "No potential to discharge" determinations for Large 
CAFOs.  

a. Determination by the board. The board, upon request, 
may make a case-specific determination that a Large 

CAFO has "no potential to discharge" pollutants to 
surface waters. In making this determination, the board 
must consider the potential for discharges from both the 
production area and any land application areas. The 
board must also consider any record of prior discharges 
by the CAFO. In no case may the CAFO be determined 
to have "no potential to discharge" if it has had a 
discharge within the five years prior to the date of the 
request submitted under subdivision C 5 b of this section. 
For purposes of this section, the term "no potential to 
discharge" means that there is no potential for any CAFO 
manure, litter or process wastewater to be added to 
surface waters under any circumstance or climatic 
condition. A determination that there is "no potential to 
discharge" for purposes of this section only relates to the 
discharges of manure, litter and process wastewater 
covered by this section.  

b. Information to support a "no potential to discharge" 
request. In requesting a determination of "no potential to 
discharge," the CAFO owner or operator must submit 
any information that would support such a determination 
within the time frame provided by the board and in 
accordance with subdivisions 6 and 7 of this subsection. 
Such information must include all the information 
specified in 9VAC25-31-100 F and 9VAC25-31-100 I 1. 
The board has discretion to require additional 
information to supplement the request, and may also 
gather additional information through onsite inspection 
of the CAFO.  

c. Process for making a "no potential to discharge" 
determination. Before making a final decision to grant a 
"no potential to discharge" determination, the board must 
issue a notice to the public stating that a "no potential to 
discharge" request has been received. This notice must be 
accompanied by a fact sheet that includes, when 
applicable: a brief description of the type of facility or 
activity that is the subject of the "no potential to 
discharge" determination; a brief summary of the factual 
basis, upon which the request is based, for granting the 
"no potential to discharge" determination; and a 
description of the procedures for reaching a final decision 
on the "no potential to discharge" determination.  

The board must base the decision to grant a "no potential 
to discharge" determination on the administrative record, 
which includes all information submitted in support of a 
"no potential to discharge" determination and any other 
supporting data gathered by the board. The board must 
notify any CAFO seeking a "no potential to discharge" 
determination of its final determination within 90 days of 
receiving the request.  

d. Deadline for requesting a "no potential to discharge" 
determination. The owner or operator must request a "no 
potential to discharge" determination by the applicable 
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permit application date specified in subdivision C 6 of 
this subsection.  

e. The "no potential to discharge" determination does not 
relieve the CAFO from the consequences of an actual 
discharge. Any unpermitted CAFO that discharges 
pollutants into surface waters is in violation of State 
Water Control Law even if it has received a "no potential 
to discharge" determination from the board. Any CAFO 
that has received a determination of "no potential to 
discharge", but that anticipates changes in circumstances 
that could create the potential for a discharge, should 
contact the Department of Environmental Quality, and 
apply for and obtain permit authorization prior to the 
change of circumstances.  

5. No discharge certification option.  

a. The owner or operator of a CAFO that meets the 
eligibility criteria in subdivision 5 b of this subsection 
may certify to the board that the CAFO does not 
discharge or propose to discharge. A CAFO owner or 
operator who certifies that the CAFO does not discharge 
or propose to discharge is not required to seek coverage 
under a VPDES permit pursuant to subdivision 1 of this 
subsection, provided that the CAFO is designed, 
constructed, operated, and maintained in accordance with 
the requirements of subdivisions 5 b and c of this 
subsection, and subject to the limitations in subdivision 5 
d of this subsection.  

b. Eligibility criteria. In order to certify that a CAFO 
does not discharge or propose to discharge, the owner or 
operator of a CAFO shall document, based on an 
objective assessment of the conditions at the CAFO, that 
the CAFO is designed, constructed, operated, and 
maintained in a manner such that the CAFO will not 
discharge, as follows:  

(1) The CAFO's production area is designed, constructed, 
operated, and maintained so as not to discharge. The 
CAFO shall maintain documentation that demonstrates 
that:  

(a) Any open manure storage structures are designed, 
constructed, operated, and maintained to achieve no 
discharge based on a technical evaluation in accordance 
with the elements of the technical evaluation set forth in 
40 CFR 412.46(a)(1)(i) through (viii) (2009);  

(b) Any part of the CAFO's production area that is not 
addressed by subdivision 5 b (1) (a) of this subsection is 
designed, constructed, operated, and maintained such that 
there will be no discharge of manure, litter, or process 
wastewater; and  

(c) The CAFO implements the additional measures set 
forth in 40 CFR 412.37(a) and (b) (2009);  

(2) The CAFO has developed and is implementing an up-
to-date nutrient management plan to ensure no discharge 
from the CAFO, including from all land application areas 
under the control of the CAFO, that addresses, at a 
minimum, the following:  

(a) The elements of subdivisions E 1 a through i of 
9VAC25-31-200 and 40 CFR 412.37(c) (2009); and  

(b) All site-specific operation and maintenance practices 
necessary to ensure no discharge, including any practices 
or conditions established by a technical evaluation 
pursuant to subdivision 5 b (1) (a) of this subsection; and  

(3) The CAFO shall maintain documentation required by 
subdivision 5 b of this subsection either on site or at a 
nearby office, or otherwise make such documentation 
readily available to the department staff upon request.  

c. Submission to the board. In order to certify that a 
CAFO does not discharge or propose to discharge, the 
CAFO owner or operator shall complete and submit to 
the board, by certified mail or equivalent method of 
documentation, a certification that includes, at a 
minimum, the following information:  

(1) The legal name, address, and phone number of the 
CAFO owner or operator (see 9VAC25-31-100 B);  

(2) The CAFO name and address, the county name, and 
the latitude and longitude where the CAFO is located;  

(3) A statement that describes the basis for the CAFO's 
certification that it satisfies the eligibility requirements 
identified in subdivision 5 b of this subsection; 

(4) The following certification statement: "I certify under 
penalty of law that I am the owner or operator of a 
concentrated animal feeding operation (CAFO), 
identified as [Name of CAFO], and that said CAFO 
meets the requirements of subdivision 5 of this 
subsection. I have read and understand the eligibility 
requirements of subdivision 5 b of this subsection for 
certifying that a CAFO does not discharge or propose to 
discharge and further certify that this CAFO satisfies the 
eligibility requirements. As part of this certification, I am 
including the information required by subdivision 5 c of 
this subsection. I also understand the conditions set forth 
in subdivisions 5 d, e and f of this subsection regarding 
loss and withdrawal of certification. I certify under 
penalty of law that this document and all other 
documents required for this certification were prepared 
under my direction or supervision and that qualified 
personnel properly gathered and evaluated the 
information submitted. Based upon my inquiry of the 
person or persons directly involved in gathering and 
evaluating the information, the information submitted is 
to the best of my knowledge and belief true, accurate and 
complete. I am aware there are significant penalties for 
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submitting false information, including the possibility of 
fine and imprisonment for knowing violations."; and 

(5) The certification shall be signed in accordance with 
the signatory requirements of 9VAC25-31-110.  

d. Term of certification. A certification that meets the 
requirements of subdivisions 5 b and c of this subsection 
shall become effective on the date it is submitted, unless 
the board establishes an effective date of up to 30 days 
after the date of submission. Certification will remain in 
effect for five years or until the certification is no longer 
valid or is withdrawn, whichever occurs first. A 
certification is no longer valid when a discharge has 
occurred or when the CAFO ceases to meet the eligibility 
criteria in subdivision 5 b of this subsection.  

e. Withdrawal of certification.  

(1) At any time, a CAFO may withdraw its certification 
by notifying the board by certified mail or equivalent 
method of documentation. A certification is withdrawn 
on the date the notification is submitted to the board. The 
CAFO does not need to specify any reason for the 
withdrawal in its notification to the board.  

(2) If a certification becomes invalid in accordance with 
subdivision 5 d of this subsection, the CAFO shall 
withdraw its certification within three days of the date on 
which the CAFO becomes aware that the certification is 
invalid. Once a CAFO's certification is no longer valid, 
the CAFO is subject to the requirement in subdivision 1 
of this subsection to seek permit coverage if it discharges 
or proposes to discharge.  

f. Recertification. A previously certified CAFO that does 
not discharge or propose to discharge may recertify in 
accordance with subdivision 5 f (1) of this subsection, 
except that where the CAFO has discharged, the CAFO 
may only recertify if the following additional conditions 
are met:  

(1) The CAFO had a valid certification at the time of the 
discharge;  

(2) The owner or operator satisfies the eligibility criteria 
of subdivision 5 b of this subsection, including any 
necessary modifications to the CAFO's design, 
construction, operation, and/or maintenance to 
permanently address the cause of the discharge and 
ensure that no discharge from this cause occurs in the 
future;  

(3) The CAFO has not previously recertified after a 
discharge from the same cause;  

(4) The owner or operator submits to the board for 
review the following documentation: a description of the 
discharge, including the date, time, cause, duration, and 
approximate volume of the discharge, and a detailed 

explanation of the steps taken by the CAFO to 
permanently address the cause of the discharge in 
addition to submitting a certification in accordance with 
subdivision 5 c of this subsection; and  

(5) Notwithstanding subdivision 5 d of this subsection, a 
recertification that meets the requirements of 
subdivisions 5 f (3) and (4) of this subsection shall only 
become effective 30 days from the date of submission of 
the recertification documentation.  

i. Effect of certification.  

(1) An unpermitted CAFO certified in accordance with 
subdivision 5 of this subsection is presumed not to 
propose to discharge. If such a CAFO does discharge, it 
is not in violation of the requirement that CAFOs that 
propose to discharge seek permit coverage pursuant to 
subdivisions 1 and 6 of this subsection, with respect to 
that discharge. In all instances, the discharge of a 
pollutant without a permit is a violation of the Clean 
Water Act § 301(a) prohibition against unauthorized 
discharges from point sources.  

(2) In any enforcement proceeding for failure to seek 
permit coverage under subdivisions 1 and 6 of this 
subsection that is related to a discharge from an 
unpermitted CAFO, the burden is on the CAFO to 
establish that it did not propose to discharge prior to the 
discharge when the CAFO either did not submit 
certification documentation as provided in subdivision 5 
c or 5 f (4) of this subsection within at least five years 
prior to the discharge, or withdrew its certification in 
accordance with subdivision 5 e of this subsection. 
Design, construction, operation, and maintenance in 
accordance with the criteria of subdivision 5 b of this 
subsection satisfies this burden.  

6. When a CAFO must seek coverage under a VPDES 
permit.  

a. Operations defined as CAFOs prior to April 14, 2003. 
For operations that are defined as CAFOs under 
regulations that are in effect prior to April 14, 2003, the 
owner or operator must have or seek to obtain coverage 
under a VPDES permit as of April 14, 2003, and comply 
with all applicable VPDES requirements, including the 
duty to maintain permit coverage in accordance with 
subdivision 7 of this subsection.  

b. Operations defined as CAFOs as of April 14, 2003, 
that were not defined as CAFOs prior to that date. For all 
CAFOs, the owner or operator of the CAFO must seek to 
obtain coverage under a VPDES permit by January 1, 
2006 February 27, 2009.  

c. Operations that become defined as CAFOs after April 
14, 2003, but that are not new sources. For newly 
constructed AFOs and CAFOs that make changes to their 
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operations that result in becoming defined as CAFOs for 
the first time, after April 14, 2003, but are not new 
sources, the owner or operator must seek to obtain 
coverage under a VPDES permit, as follows:  

(1) For newly constructed operations not subject to 
effluent limitation guidelines, 180 days prior to the time 
the CAFO commences operation; or  

(2) For other operations (e.g., resulting from an increase 
in the number of animals), as soon as possible, but no 
later than 90 days after becoming defined as a CAFO; 
except that or  

(3) If an operational change that makes the operation a 
CAFO would not have made it a CAFO prior to April 14, 
2003, the operation has at least until April 14, 2006 
February 27, 2009, or 90 days after becoming defined as 
a CAFO, whichever is later.  

d. New sources. New sources must seek to obtain 
coverage under a permit at least 180 days prior to the 
time the CAFO commences operation.  

e. Operations that are designated CAFOs. For operations 
designated as a CAFO in accordance with subsection B 
of this section, the owner or operator must seek to obtain 
coverage under a VPDES permit no later than 90 days 
after receiving notice of the designation.  

f. "No potential to discharge." Notwithstanding any other 
provision of this section, a CAFO that has received a "no 
potential to discharge" determination in accordance with 
subdivision 5 of this subsection is not required to seek 
coverage under a VPDES permit. If circumstances 
materially change at a CAFO that has received a "no 
potential to discharge" determination, such that the 
CAFO has a potential for a discharge, the CAFO has a 
duty to immediately notify the board and seek coverage 
under a VPDES permit within 30 days after the change in 
circumstances.  

7. Duty to maintain permit coverage. No later than 180 
days before the expiration of the permit, the permittee must 
shall submit an application to renew its permit, in 
accordance with 9VAC25-31-100. However, the permittee 
need not continue to seek continued permit coverage or 
reapply for a permit if:  

a. The facility has ceased operation or is no longer a 
CAFO; and  

b. The permittee has demonstrated to the satisfaction of 
the board that there is no remaining potential for a the 
CAFO will not discharge of manure, litter or associated 
process wastewater that was generated while the 
operation was a CAFO, other than agricultural storm 
water from application areas or propose to discharge 
upon expiration of the permit.  

8. Procedures for CAFOs seeking coverage under a general 
permit.  

a. CAFO owners or operators shall submit a registration 
statement when seeking authorization to discharge under 
a general permit in accordance with subsection B of 
9VAC25-31-170. The board will review registration 
statements submitted by CAFO owners or operators to 
ensure that the registration statement includes the 
information required by subsection I of 9VAC25-31-100, 
including a nutrient management plan that meets the 
requirements of subsection E of 9VAC25-31-200 and 
applicable effluent limitations and standards, including 
those specified in 40 CFR Part 412 (2009). When 
additional information is necessary to complete the 
registration statement or clarify, modify, or supplement 
previously submitted material, the board may request 
such information from the owner or operator. If the board 
makes a preliminary determination that the registration 
statement meets the requirements of subsection I of 
9VAC25-31-100 and subsection E of 9VAC25-31-200, 
the board will notify the public of the board's proposal to 
grant coverage under the permit to the CAFO and make 
available for public review and comment the registration 
statement submitted by the CAFO, including the CAFO's 
nutrient management plan, and the draft terms of the 
nutrient management plan to be incorporated into the 
permit. The process for submitting public comments and 
public hearing requests, and the public hearing process if 
a request for a public hearing is granted, shall follow the 
procedures applicable to draft permits set forth in 
9VAC25-31-300, 9VAC25-31-310 and 40 CFR 124.13 
(2009). The board may establish, either by regulation or 
in the general permit, an appropriate period of time for 
the public to comment and request a public hearing that 
differs from the time period specified in 9VAC25-31-
290. The board's response to significant comments 
received during the comment period is governed by 
9VAC25-31-320, and, if necessary, the board will require 
the CAFO owner or operator to revise the nutrient 
management plan in order to be granted permit coverage. 
When the board authorizes coverage for the CAFO 
owner or operator under the general permit, the terms of 
the nutrient management plan shall become incorporated 
as terms and conditions of the permit for the CAFO. The 
board will notify the CAFO owner or operator and 
inform the public that coverage has been authorized and 
of the terms of the nutrient management plan 
incorporated as terms and conditions of the permit 
applicable to the CAFO.  

9. Changes to a nutrient management plan. Any permit 
issued to a CAFO shall require the following procedures to 
apply when a CAFO owner or operator makes changes to 
the CAFO's nutrient management plan previously 
submitted to the board:  
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a. The CAFO owner or operator shall provide the board 
with the most current version of the CAFO's nutrient 
management plan and identify changes from the previous 
version, except that the results of calculations made in 
accordance with the requirements of subdivisions E 5 a 
(2) and E 5 b (4) of 9VAC25-31-200 are not subject to 
the requirements of subdivision 9 of this subsection.  

b. The board will review the revised nutrient 
management plan to ensure that it meets the requirements 
of this section and applicable effluent limitations and 
standards, including those specified in 40 CFR Part 412 
(2009), and will determine whether the changes to the 
nutrient management plan necessitate revision to the 
terms of the nutrient management plan incorporated into 
the permit issued to the CAFO. If revision to the terms of 
the nutrient management plan is not necessary, the board 
will notify the CAFO owner or operator and upon such 
notification the CAFO may implement the revised 
nutrient management plan. If revision to the terms of the 
nutrient management plan is necessary, the board will 
determine whether such changes are substantial changes 
as described in subdivision 9 c of this subsection.  

(1) If the board determines that the changes to the terms 
of the nutrient management plan are not substantial, the 
board will make the revised nutrient management plan 
publicly available and include it in the permit record, 
revise the terms of the nutrient management plan 
incorporated into the permit, and notify the owner or 
operator and inform the public of any changes to the 
terms of the nutrient management plan that are 
incorporated into the permit.  

(2) If the board determines that the changes to the terms 
of the nutrient management plan are substantial, the 
board will notify the public and make the proposed 
changes and the information submitted by the CAFO 
owner or operator available for public review and 
comment. The process for public comments, public 
hearing requests, and the public hearing process if a 
public hearing is held shall follow the procedures 
applicable to draft permits set forth in 9VAC25-31-300, 
9VAC25-31-310 and 40 CFR 124.13 (2009). The board 
may establish, either by regulation or in the CAFO's 
permit, an appropriate period of time for the public to 
comment and request a public hearing on the proposed 
changes that differs from the time period specified in 
9VAC25-31-290. The board will respond to all 
significant comments received during the comment 
period as provided in 9VAC25-31-320, and require the 
CAFO owner or operator to further revise the nutrient 
management plan if necessary, in order to approve the 
revision to the terms of the nutrient management plan 
incorporated into the CAFO's permit. Once the board 
incorporates the revised terms of the nutrient 
management plan into the permit, the board will notify 

the owner or operator and inform the public of the final 
decision concerning revisions to the terms and conditions 
of the permit.  

c. Substantial changes to the terms of a nutrient 
management plan incorporated as terms and conditions 
of a permit include, but are not limited to:  

(1) Addition of new land application areas not previously 
included in the CAFO's nutrient management plan. 
Except that if the land application area that is being 
added to the nutrient management plan is covered by 
terms of a nutrient management plan incorporated into an 
existing VPDES permit in accordance with the 
requirements of subdivision E 5 of 9VAC25-31-200, and 
the CAFO owner or operator applies manure, litter, or 
process wastewater on the newly added land application 
area in accordance with the existing field-specific permit 
terms applicable to the newly added land application 
area, such addition of new land would be a change to the 
new CAFO owner or operator's nutrient management 
plan but not a substantial change for purposes of this 
section;  

(2) Any changes to the field-specific maximum annual 
rates for land application, as set forth in subdivision E 5 a 
of 9VAC25-31-200, and to the maximum amounts of 
nitrogen and phosphorus derived from all sources for 
each crop, as set forth in subdivision E 5 b of 9VAC25-
31-200;  

(3) Addition of any crop or other uses not included in the 
terms of the CAFO's nutrient management plan and 
corresponding field-specific rates of application 
expressed in accordance with subdivision E 5 of 
9VAC25-31-200; and  

(4) Changes to site-specific components of the CAFO's 
nutrient management plan, where such changes are likely 
to increase the risk of nitrogen and phosphorus transport 
to state waters.  

10. Causes for modification of nutrient management plans. 
The incorporation of the terms of a CAFO's nutrient 
management plan into the terms and conditions of a 
general permit when a CAFO obtains coverage under a 
general permit in accordance with subdivision C 8 of 
9VAC25-31-130 and 9VAC25-31-170 is not a cause for 
modification pursuant to the requirements of 9VAC25-31-
370.  

9VAC25-31-170. General permits.  

A. The board may issue a general permit in accordance with 
the following:  

1. The general permit shall be written to cover one or more 
categories or subcategories of discharges or sludge use or 
disposal practices or facilities described in the permit under 
subdivision 2 b of this subsection, except those covered by 
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individual permits, within a geographic area. The area 
should correspond to existing geographic or political 
boundaries, such as:  

a. Designated planning areas under §§ 208 and 303 of 
CWA;  

b. Sewer districts or sewer authorities;  

c. City, county, or state political boundaries;  

d. State highway systems;  

e. Standard metropolitan statistical areas as defined by 
the Office of Management and Budget;  

f. Urbanized areas as designated by the Bureau of the 
Census according to criteria in 30 FR 15202 (May 1, 
1974); or  

g. Any other appropriate division or combination of 
boundaries.  

2. The general permit may be written to regulate one or 
more categories or subcategories of discharges or sludge 
use or disposal practices or facilities, within the area 
described in subdivision 1 of this subsection, where the 
sources within a covered subcategory of discharges are 
either:  

a. Storm water point sources; or  

b. One or more categories or subcategories of point 
sources other than storm water point sources, or one or 
more categories or subcategories of treatment works 
treating domestic sewage, if the sources or treatment 
works treating domestic sewage within each category or 
subcategory all:  

(1) Involve the same or substantially similar types of 
operations;  

(2) Discharge the same types of wastes or engage in the 
same types of sludge use or disposal practices;  

(3) Require the same effluent limitations, operating 
conditions, or standards for sewage sludge use or 
disposal;  

(4) Require the same or similar monitoring; and  

(5) In the opinion of the board, are more appropriately 
controlled under a general permit than under individual 
permits.  

3. Where sources within a specific category of dischargers 
are subject to water quality-based limits imposed pursuant 
to 9VAC25-31-220, the sources in that specific category or 
subcategory shall be subject to the same water quality-
based effluent limitations.  

4. The general permit must clearly identify the applicable 
conditions for each category or subcategory of dischargers 

or treatment works treating domestic sewage covered by 
the permit.  

5. The general permit may exclude specified sources or 
areas from coverage.  

B. Administration.  

1. General permits may be issued, modified, revoked and 
reissued, or terminated in accordance with applicable 
requirements of this chapter.  

2. Authorization to discharge, or authorization to engage in 
sludge use and disposal practices.  

a. Except as provided in subdivisions 2 e and 2 f of this 
subsection, dischargers (or treatment works treating 
domestic sewage) seeking coverage under a general 
permit shall submit to the department a written notice of 
intent to be covered by the general permit. A discharger 
(or treatment works treating domestic sewage) who fails 
to submit a notice of intent in accordance with the terms 
of the permit is not authorized to discharge, (or in the 
case of a sludge disposal permit, to engage in a sludge 
use or disposal practice), under the terms of the general 
permit unless the general permit, in accordance with 
subdivision 2 e of this subsection, contains a provision 
that a notice of intent is not required or the board notifies 
a discharger (or treatment works treating domestic 
sewage) that it is covered by a general permit in 
accordance with subdivision 2 f of this subsection. A 
complete and timely notice of intent (NOI) to be covered 
in accordance with general permit requirements fulfills 
the requirements for permit applications for the purposes 
of this chapter.  

b. The contents of the notice of intent shall be specified 
in the general permit and shall require the submission of 
information necessary for adequate program 
implementation, including at a minimum, the legal name 
and address of the owner or operator, the facility name 
and address, type of facility or discharges, and the 
receiving stream or streams. General permits for storm 
water discharges associated with industrial activity from 
inactive mining, inactive oil and gas operations, or 
inactive landfills occurring on federal lands where an 
operator cannot be identified may contain alternative 
notice of intent requirements. Notices of intent for 
coverage under a general permit for concentrated animal 
feeding operations must include the information specified 
in 9VAC25-31-100 I 1, including a topographic map. All 
notices of intent shall be signed in accordance with 
9VAC25-31-110.  

c. General permits shall specify the deadlines for 
submitting notices of intent to be covered and the date or 
dates when a discharger is authorized to discharge under 
the permit.  
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d. General permits shall specify whether a discharger (or 
treatment works treating domestic sewage) that has 
submitted a complete and timely notice of intent to be 
covered in accordance with the general permit and that is 
eligible for coverage under the permit, is authorized to 
discharge, (or in the case of a sludge disposal permit, to 
engage in a sludge use or disposal practice), in 
accordance with the permit either upon receipt of the 
notice of intent by the department, after a waiting period 
specified in the general permit, on a date specified in the 
general permit, or upon receipt of notification of 
inclusion by the board. Coverage may be terminated or 
revoked in accordance with subdivision 3 of this 
subsection.  

e. Discharges other than discharges from publicly owned 
treatment works, combined sewer overflows, primary 
industrial facilities, and storm water discharges 
associated with industrial activity, may, at the discretion 
of the board, be authorized to discharge under a general 
permit without submitting a notice of intent where the 
board finds that a notice of intent requirement would be 
inappropriate. In making such a finding, the board shall 
consider: the type of discharge; the expected nature of 
the discharge; the potential for toxic and conventional 
pollutants in the discharges; the expected volume of the 
discharges; other means of identifying discharges 
covered by the permit; and the estimated number of 
discharges to be covered by the permit. The board shall 
provide in the public notice of the general permit the 
reasons for not requiring a notice of intent.  

f. The board may notify a discharger (or treatment works 
treating domestic sewage) that it is covered by a general 
permit, even if the discharger (or treatment works 
treating domestic sewage) has not submitted a notice of 
intent to be covered. A discharger (or treatment works 
treating domestic sewage) so notified may request an 
individual permit under subdivision 3 c of this 
subsection.  

g. A CAFO owner or operator may be authorized to 
discharge under a general permit only in accordance with 
the process described in subdivision C 8 of 9VAC25-31-
130.  

3. Requiring an individual permit.  

a. The board may require any discharger authorized by a 
general permit to apply for and obtain an individual 
VPDES permit. Any interested person may request the 
board to take action under this subdivision. Cases where 
an individual VPDES permit may be required include the 
following:  

(1) The discharger or treatment works treating domestic 
sewage is not in compliance with the conditions of the 
general VPDES permit;  

(2) A change has occurred in the availability of 
demonstrated technology or practices for the control or 
abatement of pollutants applicable to the point source or 
treatment works treating domestic sewage;  

(3) Effluent limitation guidelines are promulgated for 
point sources covered by the general VPDES permit;  

(4) A water quality management plan containing 
requirements applicable to such point sources is 
approved;  

(5) Circumstances have changed since the time of the 
request to be covered so that the discharger is no longer 
appropriately controlled under the general permit, or 
either a temporary or permanent reduction or elimination 
of the authorized discharge is necessary;  

(6) Standards for sewage sludge use or disposal have 
been promulgated for the sludge use and disposal 
practice covered by the general VPDES permit; or  

(7) The discharge(s) is a significant contributor of 
pollutants. In making this determination, the board may 
consider the following factors:  

(a) The location of the discharge with respect to surface 
waters;  

(b) The size of the discharge;  

(c) The quantity and nature of the pollutants discharged 
to surface waters; and  

(d) Other relevant factors;  

b. Permits required on a case-by-case basis.  

(1) The board may determine, on a case-by-case basis, 
that certain concentrated animal feeding operations, 
concentrated aquatic animal production facilities, storm 
water discharges, and certain other facilities covered by 
general permits that do not generally require an 
individual permit may be required to obtain an individual 
permit because of their contributions to water pollution.  

(2) Whenever the board decides that an individual permit 
is required under this subsection, except as provided in 
subdivision 3 b (3) of this subsection, the board shall 
notify the discharger in writing of that decision and the 
reasons for it, and shall send an application form with the 
notice. The discharger must apply for a permit within 60 
days of notice, unless permission for a later date is 
granted by the board. The question whether the 
designation was proper will remain open for 
consideration during the public comment period for the 
draft permit and in any subsequent public hearing.  

(3) Prior to a case-by-case determination that an 
individual permit is required for a storm water discharge 
under this subsection, the board may require the 
discharger to submit a permit application or other 
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information regarding the discharge under the law and § 
308 of the CWA. In requiring such information, the 
board shall notify the discharger in writing and shall send 
an application form with the notice. The discharger must 
apply for a permit under 9VAC25-31-120 A 1 within 60 
days of notice or under 9VAC25-31-120 A 7 within 180 
days of notice, unless permission for a later date is 
granted by the board. The question whether the initial 
designation was proper will remain open for 
consideration during the public comment period for the 
draft permit and in any subsequent public hearing.  

c. Any owner or operator authorized by a general permit 
may request to be excluded from the coverage of the 
general permit by applying for an individual permit. The 
owner or operator shall submit an application under 
9VAC25-31-100 with reasons supporting the request. 
The request shall be processed under the applicable parts 
of this chapter. The request shall be granted by issuing of 
an individual permit if the reasons cited by the owner or 
operator are adequate to support the request.  

d. When an individual VPDES permit is issued to an 
owner or operator otherwise subject to a general VPDES 
permit, the applicability of the general permit to the 
individual VPDES permittee is automatically terminated 
on the effective date of the individual permit.  

e. A source excluded from a general permit solely 
because it already has an individual permit may request 
that the individual permit be revoked, and that it be 
covered by the general permit. Upon revocation of the 
individual permit, the general permit shall apply to the 
source.  

9VAC25-31-200. Additional conditions applicable to 
specified categories of VPDES permits.  

The following conditions, in addition to those set forth in 
9VAC25-31-190, apply to all VPDES permits within the 
categories specified below:  

A. Existing manufacturing, commercial, mining, and 
silvicultural dischargers. All existing manufacturing, 
commercial, mining, and silvicultural dischargers must notify 
the department as soon as they know or have reason to 
believe:  

1. That any activity has occurred or will occur which 
would result in the discharge, on a routine or frequent 
basis, of any toxic pollutant which is not limited in the 
permit, if that discharge will exceed the highest of the 
following notification levels:  

a. One hundred micrograms per liter (100 μg/l);  

b. Two hundred micrograms per liter (200 μg/l) for 
acrolein and acrylonitrile; five hundred micrograms per 
liter (500 μg/l) for 2,4-dinitrophenol and for 2-methyl-

4,6-dinitrophenol; and one milligram per liter (1 mg/l) 
for antimony;  

c. Five times the maximum concentration value reported 
for that pollutant in the permit application; or  

d. The level established by the board in accordance with 
9VAC25-31-220 F.  

2. That any activity has occurred or will occur which 
would result in any discharge, on a nonroutine or 
infrequent basis, of a toxic pollutant which is not limited in 
the permit, if that discharge will exceed the highest of the 
following notification levels:  

a. Five hundred micrograms per liter (500 μg/l);  

b. One milligram per liter (1 mg/l) for antimony;  

c. Ten times the maximum concentration value reported 
for that pollutant in the permit application; or  

d. The level established by the board in accordance with 
9VAC25-31-220 F.  

B. Publicly and privately owned treatment works. All 
POTWs and PVOTWs must provide adequate notice to the 
department of the following:  

1. Any new introduction of pollutants into the POTW or 
PVOTW from an indirect discharger which would be 
subject to § 301 or § 306 of the CWA and the law if it were 
directly discharging those pollutants; and  

2. Any substantial change in the volume or character of 
pollutants being introduced into that POTW or PVOTW by 
a source introducing pollutants into the POTW or PVOTW 
at the time of issuance of the permit.  

3. For purposes of this subsection, adequate notice shall 
include information on (i) the quality and quantity of 
effluent introduced into the POTW or PVOTW, and (ii) 
any anticipated impact of the change on the quantity or 
quality of effluent to be discharged from the POTW or 
PVOTW.  

4. When the monthly average flow influent to a POTW or 
PVOTW reaches 95% of the design capacity authorized by 
the VPDES permit for each month of any three-month 
period, the owner shall within 30 days notify the 
department in writing and within 90 days submit a plan of 
action for ensuring continued compliance with the terms of 
the permit.  

a. The plan shall include the necessary steps and a 
prompt schedule of implementation for controlling any 
current problem, or any problem which could be 
reasonably anticipated, resulting from high influent 
flows.  

b. Upon receipt of the owner's plan of action, the board 
shall notify the owner whether the plan is approved or 
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disapproved. If the plan is disapproved, such notification 
shall state the reasons and specify the actions necessary 
to obtain approval of the plan.  

c. Failure to timely submit an adequate plan shall be 
deemed a violation of the permit.  

d. Nothing herein shall in any way impair the authority of 
the board to take enforcement action under §§ 62.1-
44.15, 62.1-44.23, or 62.1-44.32 of the Code of Virginia.  

C. Wastewater works operator requirements.  

1. The permittee shall employ or contract at least one 
wastewater works operator who holds a current wastewater 
license appropriate for the permitted facility. The license 
shall be issued in accordance with Title 54.1 of the Code of 
Virginia and the regulations of the Board for Waterworks 
and Wastewater Works Operators (18VAC160-20). Not 
withstanding the foregoing requirement, unless the 
discharge is determined by the board on a case-by-case 
basis to be a potential contributor of pollution, no licensed 
operator is required for wastewater treatment works:  

a. That have a design hydraulic capacity equal to or less 
than 0.04 mgd;  

b. That discharge industrial waste or other waste from 
coal mining operations; or  

c. That do not utilize biological or physical/chemical 
treatment.  

2. In making this case-by-case determination, the board 
shall consider the location of the discharge with respect to 
state waters, the size of the discharge, the quantity and 
nature of pollutants reaching state waters and the treatment 
methods used at the wastewater works.  

3. The permittee shall notify the department in writing 
whenever he is not complying, or has grounds for 
anticipating he will not comply with the requirements of 
subdivision 1 of this subsection. The notification shall 
include a statement of reasons and a prompt schedule for 
achieving compliance.  

D. Lake level contingency plans. Any VPDES permit issued 
for a surface water impoundment whose primary purpose is to 
provide cooling water to power generators shall include a lake 
level contingency plan to allow specific reductions in the flow 
required to be released when the water level above the dam 
drops below designated levels due to drought conditions, and 
such plan shall take into account and minimize any adverse 
effects of any release reduction requirements on downstream 
users. This subsection shall not apply to any such facility that 
addresses releases and flow requirements during drought 
conditions in a Virginia Water Protection Permit.  

E. Concentrated Animal Feeding Operations (CAFOs). The 
activities of the CAFO shall not contravene the Water Quality 
Standards, as amended and adopted by the board, or any 

provision of the State Water Control Law. There shall be no 
point source discharge of manure, litter or process wastewater 
to surface waters of the state except in the case of an overflow 
caused by a storm event greater than the 25-year, 24-hour 
storm, except that for swine, poultry, and veal calf operations 
constructed after April 14, 2003, in the case of a storm event 
greater than the 100-year, 24-hour storm. Agricultural storm 
water discharges as defined in subdivision C 4 of 9VAC25-
31-130 are permitted. Domestic sewage or industrial waste 
shall not be managed under the Virginia Pollutant Discharge 
Elimination System General Permit for CAFOs (9VAC25-
191). Any permit issued to a CAFO must shall include:  

1. Requirements to develop and, implement and comply 
with a nutrient management plan. At a minimum, a nutrient 
management plan must shall include best management 
practices and procedures necessary to implement 
applicable effluent limitations and standards. Permitted 
CAFOs must have their nutrient management plans 
developed and implemented by December 31, 2006. 
CAFOs that seek to obtain coverage under a permit after 
December 31, 2006, must have a nutrient management plan 
developed and implemented upon the date of permit 
coverage and be in compliance with the nutrient 
management plan as a requirement of the permit. The 
nutrient management plan must, to the extent applicable:  

a. Ensure adequate storage of manure, litter, and process 
wastewater, including procedures to ensure proper 
operation and maintenance of the storage facilities;  

b. Ensure proper management of mortalities (i.e., dead 
animals) to ensure that they are not disposed of in a 
liquid manure, storm water, or process wastewater 
storage or treatment system that is not specifically 
designed to treat animal mortalities;  

c. Ensure that clean water is diverted, as appropriate, 
from the production area;  

d. Prevent direct contact of confined animals with surface 
waters of the state;  

e. Ensure that chemicals and other contaminants handled 
onsite are not disposed of in any manure, litter, process 
wastewater, or stormwater storage or treatment system 
unless specifically designed to treat such chemicals and 
other contaminants;  

f. Identify appropriate site specific conservation practices 
to be implemented, including as appropriate buffers or 
equivalent practices, to control runoff of pollutants to 
surface waters of the state;  

g. Identify protocols for appropriate testing of manure, 
litter, process wastewater and soil;  

h. Establish protocols to land apply manure, litter or 
process wastewater in accordance with site specific 
nutrient management practices that ensure appropriate 
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agricultural utilization of the nutrients in the manure, 
litter or process wastewater; and  

i. Identify specific records that will be maintained to 
document the implementation and management of the 
minimum elements described above.  

2. Recordkeeping requirements. The permittee must create, 
maintain for five years, and make available to the director 
upon request the following records:  

a. All applicable records identified pursuant to 
subdivision 1 i of this subsection;  

b. In addition, all CAFOs subject to EPA Effluent 
Guidelines for Feedlots (40 CFR Part 412) must comply 
with recordkeeping requirements as specified in 40 CFR 
412.37(b) and (c) and 40 CFR 412.47(b) and (c);  

A copy of the CAFO's site-specific nutrient management 
plan must be maintained on site and made available to the 
director upon request.  

3. Requirements relating to transfer of manure or process 
wastewater to other persons. Prior to transferring manure, 
litter or process wastewater to other persons, large CAFOs 
must provide the recipient of the manure, litter or process 
wastewater with the most current nutrient analysis. The 
analysis provided must be consistent with the requirements 
of EPA Effluent Guidelines for Feedlots (40 CFR Part 
412). Large CAFOs must retain for five years records of 
the date, recipient name and address and approximate 
amount of manure, litter or process wastewater transferred 
to another person.  

4. Annual reporting requirements for CAFOs. The 
permittee must submit an annual report to the director. The 
annual report must include:  

a. The number and type of animals, whether in open 
confinement or housed under roof (beef cattle, broilers, 
layers, swine weighing 55 pounds or more, swine 
weighing less than 55 pounds, mature dairy cows, dairy 
heifers, veal calves, sheep and lambs, horses, ducks, 
turkeys, other);  

b. Estimated amount of total manure, litter and process 
wastewater generated by the CAFO in the previous 12 
months (tons/gallons);  

c. Estimated amount of total manure, litter and process 
wastewater transferred to other persons by the CAFO in 
the previous 12 months (tons/gallons);  

d. Total number of acres for land application covered by 
the nutrient management plan developed in accordance 
with subdivision 1 of this subsection;  

e. Total number of acres under control of the CAFO that 
were used for land application of manure, litter and 
process wastewater in the previous 12 months;  

f. Summary of all manure, litter and process wastewater 
discharges from the production area that occurred in the 
previous 12 months including date, time and approximate 
volume; and  

g. A statement indicating whether the current version of 
the CAFO's nutrient management plan was developed or 
approved by a certified nutrient management planner.; 
and 

h. The actual crop(s) planted and actual yield(s) for each 
field, the actual nitrogen and phosphorus content of the 
manure, litter, and process wastewater, the results of 
calculations conducted in accordance with subdivisions 5 
a (2) and 5 b (4) of this subsection, and the amount of 
manure, litter, and process wastewater applied to each 
field during the previous 12 months; and, for any CAFO 
that implements a nutrient management plan that 
addresses rates of application in accordance with 
subdivision 5 b of this subsection, the results of any soil 
testing for nitrogen and phosphorus taken during the 
preceding 12 months, the data used in calculations 
conducted in accordance with subdivision 5 b (4) of this 
subsection, and the amount of any supplemental fertilizer 
applied during the previous 12 months.  

5. Terms of the nutrient management plan. Any permit 
issued to a CAFO shall require compliance with the terms 
of the CAFO's site-specific nutrient management plan. The 
terms of the nutrient management plan are the information, 
protocols, best management practices, and other conditions 
in the nutrient management plan determined by the board 
to be necessary to meet the requirements of subdivision 1 
of this subsection. The terms of the nutrient management 
plan, with respect to protocols for land application of 
manure, litter, or process wastewater required by 
subdivision 4 h of this subsection and, as applicable, 40 
CFR 412.4(c) (2009), shall include the fields available for 
land application; field-specific rates of application properly 
developed, as specified in subdivisions 5 a and b of this 
subsection, to ensure appropriate agricultural utilization of 
the nutrients in the manure, litter, or process wastewater; 
and any timing limitations identified in the nutrient 
management plan concerning land application on the fields 
available for land application. The terms shall address rates 
of application using one of the following two approaches, 
unless the board specifies that only one of these 
approaches may be used:  

a. Linear approach. An approach that expresses rates of 
application as pounds of nitrogen and phosphorus, 
according to the following specifications:  

(1) The terms include maximum application rates from 
manure, litter, and process wastewater for each year of 
permit coverage, for each crop identified in the nutrient 
management plan, in chemical forms determined to be 
acceptable to the board, in pounds per acre, per year, for 
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each field to be used for land application, and certain 
factors necessary to determine such rates. At a minimum, 
the factors that are terms shall include: the outcome of 
the field-specific assessment of the potential for nitrogen 
and phosphorus transport from each field; the crops to be 
planted in each field or any other uses of a field such as 
pasture or fallow fields; the realistic yield goal for each 
crop or use identified for each field; the nitrogen and 
phosphorus recommendations from sources specified by 
the board for each crop or use identified for each field; 
credits for all nitrogen in the field that will be plant 
available; consideration of multi-year phosphorus 
application; and accounting for all other additions of 
plant available nitrogen and phosphorus to the field. In 
addition, the terms include the form and source of 
manure, litter, and process wastewater to be land-applied; 
the timing and method of land application; and the 
methodology by which the nutrient management plan 
accounts for the amount of nitrogen and phosphorus in 
the manure, litter, and process wastewater to be applied.  

(2) Large CAFOs that use this approach shall calculate 
the maximum amount of manure, litter, and process 
wastewater to be land applied at least once each year 
using the results of the most recent representative 
manure, litter, and process wastewater tests for nitrogen 
and phosphorus taken within 12 months of the date of 
land application; or  

b. Narrative rate approach. An approach that expresses 
rates of application as a narrative rate of application that 
results in the amount, in tons or gallons, of manure, litter, 
and process wastewater to be land applied, according to 
the following specifications:  

(1) The terms include maximum amounts of nitrogen and 
phosphorus derived from all sources of nutrients, for 
each crop identified in the nutrient management plan, in 
chemical forms determined to be acceptable to the board, 
in pounds per acre, for each field, and certain factors 
necessary to determine such amounts. At a minimum, the 
factors that are terms shall include: the outcome of the 
field-specific assessment of the potential for nitrogen and 
phosphorus transport from each field; the crops to be 
planted in each field or any other uses such as pasture or 
fallow fields (including alternative crops identified in 
accordance with subdivision 5 b (2) of this subsection); 
the realistic yield goal for each crop or use identified for 
each field; and the nitrogen and phosphorus 
recommendations from sources specified by the board for 
each crop or use identified for each field. In addition, the 
terms include the methodology by which the nutrient 
management plan accounts for the following factors 
when calculating the amounts of manure, litter, and 
process wastewater to be land applied: results of soil tests 
conducted in accordance with protocols identified in the 
nutrient management plan, as required by subdivision 1 g 

of this subsection; credits for all nitrogen in the field that 
will be plant available; the amount of nitrogen and 
phosphorus in the manure, litter, and process wastewater 
to be applied; consideration of multi-year phosphorus 
application; accounting for all other additions of plant 
available nitrogen and phosphorus to the field; the form 
and source of manure, litter, and process wastewater; the 
timing and method of land application; and volatilization 
of nitrogen and mineralization of organic nitrogen.  

(2) The terms of the nutrient management plan include 
alternative crops identified in the CAFO's nutrient 
management plan that are not in the planned crop 
rotation. Where a CAFO includes alternative crops in its 
nutrient management plan, the crops shall be listed by 
field, in addition to the crops identified in the planned 
crop rotation for that field, and the nutrient management 
plan shall include realistic crop yield goals and the 
nitrogen and phosphorus recommendations from sources 
specified by the board for each crop. Maximum amounts 
of nitrogen and phosphorus from all sources of nutrients 
and the amounts of manure, litter, and process 
wastewater to be applied shall be determined in 
accordance with the methodology described in 
subdivision 5 b (1) of this subsection.  

(3) For CAFOs using this approach, the following 
projections shall be included in the nutrient management 
plan submitted to the board, but are not terms of the 
nutrient management plan: the CAFO's planned crop 
rotations for each field for the period of permit coverage; 
the projected amount of manure, litter, or process 
wastewater to be applied; projected credits for all 
nitrogen in the field that will be plant available; 
consideration of multi-year phosphorus application; 
accounting for all other additions of plant available 
nitrogen and phosphorus to the field; and the predicted 
form, source, and method of application of manure, litter, 
and process wastewater for each crop. Timing of 
application for each field, insofar as it concerns the 
calculation of rates of application, is not a term of the 
nutrient management plan.  

(4) CAFOs that use this approach shall calculate 
maximum amounts of manure, litter, and process 
wastewater to be land applied at least once each year 
using the methodology required in subdivision 5 b (1) of 
this subsection before land applying manure, litter, and 
process wastewater and shall rely on the following data:  

(a) A field-specific determination of soil levels of 
nitrogen and phosphorus, including, for nitrogen, a 
concurrent determination of nitrogen that will be plant 
available consistent with the methodology required by 
subdivision 5 b (1) of this subsection, and for 
phosphorus, the results of the most recent soil test 
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conducted in accordance with soil testing requirements 
approved by the board; and  

(b) The results of most recent representative manure, 
litter, and process wastewater tests for nitrogen and 
phosphorus taken within 12 months of the date of land 
application, in order to determine the amount of nitrogen 
and phosphorus in the manure, litter, and process 
wastewater to be applied.  

9VAC25-31-290. Public notice of permit actions and 
public comment period.  

A. Scope.  

1. The board shall give public notice that the following 
actions have occurred:  

a. A draft permit has been prepared under 9VAC25-31-
260 D;  

b. A public hearing has been scheduled under 9VAC25-
31-310; or  

c. A VPDES new source determination has been made 
under 9VAC25-31-180.  

2. No public notice is required when a request for permit 
modification, revocation and reissuance, or termination is 
denied under 9VAC25-31-370 B. Written notice of that 
denial shall be given to the requester and to the permittee. 
Public notice shall not be required for submission or 
approval of plans and specifications or conceptual 
engineering reports not required to be submitted as part of 
the application.  

3. Public notices may describe more than one permit or 
permit actions.  

B. Timing.  

1. Public notice of the preparation of a draft permit 
required under subsection A of this section shall allow at 
least 30 days for public comment.  

2. Public notice of a public hearing shall be given at least 
30 days before the hearing. (Public notice of the hearing 
may be given at the same time as public notice of the draft 
permit and the two notices may be combined.)  

C. Methods. Public notice of activities described in 
subdivision A 1 of this section shall be given by the following 
methods:  

1. By mailing a copy of a notice to the following persons 
(any person otherwise entitled to receive notice under this 
subdivision may waive his or her rights to receive notice 
for any classes and categories of permits):  

a. The applicant (except for VPDES general permits 
when there is no applicant);  

b. Any other agency which the board knows has issued or 
is required to issue a VPDES, sludge management 
permit;  

c. Federal and state agencies with jurisdiction over fish, 
shellfish, and wildlife resources and over coastal zone 
management plans, the Advisory Council on Historic 
Preservation, State Historic Preservation Officers, 
including any affected states (Indian Tribes);  

d. Any state agency responsible for plan development 
under § 208(b)(2), 208(b)(4) or § 303(e) of the CWA and 
the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, the U.S. Fish and 
Wildlife Service and the National Marine Fisheries 
Service;  

e. Any user identified in the permit application of a 
privately owned treatment works;  

f. Persons on a mailing list developed by:  

(1) Including those who request in writing to be on the 
list;  

(2) Soliciting persons for area lists from participants in 
past permit proceedings in that area; and  

(3) Notifying the public of the opportunity to be put on 
the mailing list through periodic publication in the public 
press and in such publications as EPA regional and state 
funded newsletters, environmental bulletins, or state law 
journals. (The board may update the mailing list from 
time to time by requesting written indication of continued 
interest from those listed. The board may delete from the 
list the name of any person who fails to respond to such a 
request.);  

g. (1) Any unit of local government having jurisdiction 
over the area where the facility is proposed to be located; 
and  

(2) Each state agency having any authority under state 
law with respect to the construction or operation of such 
facility;  

2. By Except for permits for concentrated animal feeding 
operations as defined in 9VAC25-31-10 or designated in 
accordance with 9VAC25-31-130 B, by publication once a 
week for two successive weeks in a newspaper of general 
circulation in the area affected by the discharge. The cost 
of public notice shall be paid by the owner; and  

3. Any other method reasonably calculated to give actual 
notice of the action in question to the persons potentially 
affected by it, including press releases or any other forum 
or medium to elicit public participation.  

D. Contents.  

1. All public notices issued under this part shall contain the 
following minimum information:  



Regulations 

Volume 26, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations February 1, 2010 

1733 

a. Name and address of the office processing the permit 
action for which notice is being given;  

b. Name and address of the permittee or permit applicant 
and, if different, of the facility or activity regulated by 
the permit, except in the case of VPDES draft general 
permits;  

c. A brief description of the business conducted at the 
facility or activity described in the permit application or 
the draft permit, for VPDES general permits when there 
is no application;  

d. Name, address and telephone number of a person from 
whom interested persons may obtain further information, 
including copies of the draft permit or draft general 
permit, as the case may be, statement of basis or fact 
sheet, and the application;  

e. A brief description of the procedures for submitting 
comments and the time and place of any public hearing 
that will be held, including a statement of procedures to 
request a public hearing (unless a hearing has already 
been scheduled) and other procedures by which the 
public may participate in the final permit decision;  

f. A general description of the location of each existing 
or proposed discharge point and the name of the 
receiving water and the sludge use and disposal practice 
or practices and the location of each sludge treatment 
works treating domestic sewage and use or disposal sites 
known at the time of permit application. For draft general 
permits, this requirement will be satisfied by a map or 
description of the permit area;  

g. Requirements applicable to cooling water intake 
structures under § 316 of the CWA, in accordance with 
9VAC25-31-165; and  

h. Any additional information considered necessary or 
proper.  

2. In addition to the general public notice described in 
subdivision 1 of this subsection, the public notice of a 
public hearing under 9VAC25-31-310 shall contain the 
following information:  

a. Reference to the date of previous public notices 
relating to the permit;  

b. Date, time, and place of the public hearing;  

c. A brief description of the nature and purpose of the 
public hearing, including the applicable rules and 
procedures; and  

d. A concise statement of the issues raised by the persons 
requesting the public hearing.  

3. Public notice of a VPDES draft permit for a discharge 
where a request for alternate thermal effluent limitations 
has been filed shall include:  

a. A statement that the thermal component of the 
discharge is subject to effluent limitations incorporated in 
9VAC25-31-30 and a brief description, including a 
quantitative statement, of the thermal effluent limitations 
proposed under § 301 or § 306 of the CWA;  

b. A statement that an alternate thermal effluent 
limitation request has been filed and that alternative less 
stringent effluent limitations may be imposed on the 
thermal component of the discharge under the law and § 
316(a) of the CWA and a brief description, including a 
quantitative statement, of the alternative effluent 
limitations, if any, included in the request; and  

c. If the applicant has filed an early screening request for 
a CWA § 316(a) variance, a statement that the applicant 
has submitted such a plan.  

E. In addition to the general public notice described in 
subdivision D 1 of this section, all persons identified in 
subdivisions C 1 a, b, c, and d of this section shall be mailed a 
copy of the fact sheet or statement of basis, the permit 
application (if any) and the draft permit (if any).  

F. Upon receipt of an application for the issuance of a new 
or modified permit other than those for agricultural 
production or aquacultural production activities, the board 
shall: 

1. Notify, in writing, the locality wherein the discharge or, 
as applicable, the associated land application of sewage 
sludge, or land disposal of treated sewage, stabilized 
sewage sludge or stabilized septage does or is proposed to 
take place of, at a minimum:  

a. The name of the applicant; 

b. The nature of the application and proposed discharge; 

c. The availability and timing of any comment period; 
and 

d. Upon request, any other information known to, or in 
the possession of, the board or the department regarding 
the applicant not required to be held confidential by this 
chapter. 

2. Establish a date for a public meeting to discuss technical 
issues relating to proposals for land application of sewage 
sludge, or land disposal of treated sewage, stabilized 
sewage sludge or stabilized septage. The department shall 
give notice of the date, time, and place of the public 
meeting and a description of the proposal by publication in 
a newspaper of general circulation in the city or county 
where the proposal is to take place. Public notice of the 
scheduled meeting shall occur no fewer than seven or more 
than 14 days prior to the meeting. The board shall not issue 
the permit until the public meeting has been held and 
comment has been received from the local governing body, 
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or until 30 days have lapsed from the date of the public 
meeting.  

3. Except for land application of sewage sludge or land 
disposal of treated sewage, stabilized sewage sludge or 
stabilized septage, make a good faith effort to provide this 
same notice and information to (i) each locality and 
riparian property owner to a distance one-quarter mile 
downstream and one-quarter mile upstream or to the fall 
line whichever is closer on tidal waters and (ii) each 
locality and riparian property owner to a distance one-half 
mile downstream on nontidal waters. Distances shall be 
measured from the point, or proposed point, of discharge. 
If the receiving river at the point or proposed point of 
discharge is two miles wide or greater, the riparian 
property owners on the opposite shore need not be notified. 
Notice to property owners shall be based on names and 
addresses taken from local tax rolls. Such names and 
addresses shall be provided by the commissioners of the 
revenue or the tax assessor's office of the affected 
jurisdictions upon request by the board.  

4. For a site that is to be added to an existing permit 
authorizing land application of sewage sludge, notify 
persons residing on property bordering such site and 
receive written comments from those persons for a period 
not to exceed 30 days. Based upon the written comments, 
the department shall determine whether additional site-
specific requirements should be included in the 
authorization for land application at the site. 

G. Before issuing any permit, if the board finds that there 
are localities particularly affected by the permit, the board 
shall:  

1. Publish, or require the applicant to publish, a notice in a 
local paper of general circulation in the localities affected 
at least 30 days prior to the close of any public comment 
period. Such notice shall contain a statement of the 
estimated local impact of the proposed permit, which at a 
minimum shall include information on the specific 
pollutants involved and the total quantity of each which 
may be discharged; and  

2. Mail the notice to the chief elected official and chief 
administrative officer and planning district commission for 
those localities.  

Written comments shall be accepted by the board for at least 
15 days after any public hearing on the permit, unless the 
board votes to shorten the period. For the purposes of this 
section, the term "locality particularly affected" means any 
locality which bears any identified disproportionate material 
water quality impact which would not be experienced by 
other localities. 

9VAC25-31-400. Minor modifications of permits.  

Upon the consent of the permittee, the board may modify a 
permit to make the corrections or allowances for changes in 
the permitted activity listed in this section, without following 
the procedures of Part IV of this chapter. Any permit 
modification not processed as a minor modification under this 
section must be made for cause and with draft permit and 
public notice. Minor modifications may only:  

A. Correct typographical errors;  

B. Require more frequent monitoring or reporting by the 
permittee;  

C. Change an interim compliance date in a schedule of 
compliance, provided the new date is not more than 120 days 
after the date specified in the existing permit and does not 
interfere with attainment of the final compliance date 
requirement;  

D. Allow for a change in ownership or operational control of 
a facility where the board determines that no other change in 
the permit is necessary, provided that a written agreement 
containing a specific date for transfer of permit responsibility, 
coverage, and liability between the current and new 
permittees has been submitted to the department;  

E. 1. Change the construction schedule for a discharger 
which is a new source. No such change shall affect a 
discharger's obligation to have all pollution control equipment 
installed and in operation prior to discharge.  

2. Delete a point source outfall when the discharge from 
that outfall is terminated and does not result in discharge of 
pollutants from other outfalls except in accordance with 
permit limits; or  

F. Incorporate conditions of an approved POTW 
pretreatment program (or a modification thereto that has been 
approved in accordance with the procedures in this chapter) 
as enforceable conditions of the POTW's permits.  

G. Incorporate changes to the terms of a CAFO's nutrient 
management plan that have been revised in accordance with 
the requirements of subdivision C 9 of 9VAC25-31-130.  

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (9VAC25-31)  

VPDES Sewage Sludge Permit Application Form with 
instructions (rev. 2000).  

Application Form 1 - General Information, Consolidated 
Permits Program, EPA Form 3510-1 (June 1980).  
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Virginia State Water Control Board Fish Farm 
Questionnaire (July 1996).  

Application Form 2A - NPDES Form 2A Application for 
Permit to Discharge Municipal Wastewater, EPA Form 3510-
2A (eff. 1/99).  

Form 2B NPDES, Applications for Permit to Discharge 
Wastewater Concentrated Animal Feeding Operations and 
Aquatic Animal Production Facilities, EPA Form 3510-2B 
(rev. 11/08).  

Application Form 2C - Wastewater Discharge Information, 
Consolidated Permits Program, EPA Form 3510-2C (rev. 
February 1985).  

Application Form 2D - New Sources and New Dischargers: 
Application for Permit to Discharge Process Wastewater, 
EPA Form 3510-2D (September 1986).  

Application Form 2E - Facilities Which Do Not Discharge 
Process Wastewater, EPA Form 3510-2E (September 1986).  

Form 2F NPDES, Application for Permit to Discharge 
Stormwater, Discharges Associated with Industrial Activity, 
EPA Form 3510-2F (November 1990).  

Local Government Ordinance Form (eff. 2000).  
VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2203; Filed January 12, 2010, 2:09 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 10. FINANCE AND FINANCIAL 
INSTITUTIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 
of the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 10VAC5-200. Payday Lending 
(amending 10VAC5-200-100). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 6.1-458 and 12.1-13 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 1, 2010. 

Agency Contact: R. J. Face, Bureau of Financial Institutions 
Commissioner, State Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 
640, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9659, FAX 
(804) 371-9416, or email joe.face@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The State Corporation Commission is adopting changes to 
its regulation governing the conduct of other business in 
payday lending offices. Subsection A of 10VAC5-200-100 
defines the term "other business operator," recites the 
general restriction on the conduct of other business in 
payday lending offices, and identifies the specific types of 
businesses that are prohibited from being conducted from 
payday lending offices. Subsection B specifies additional 
findings that the commission will need to make before 
approving an application to conduct other business in a 
licensee's payday lending offices. Subsections C and D 
contain a few technical changes. Subsection E adds a set of 
uniform conditions that would generally be applicable to 
the conduct of other business in payday lending offices. 
Subsections F through K prescribe the conditions that 
would be attached to specific types of other businesses, 
such as making open-end auto title loans, acting as an 
agent of a money transmitter, and providing tax 
preparation services. Subsection L recites the 
commission's authority to impose any additional conditions 
that it deems necessary and in the public interest. 
Subsection M provides that the conditions set forth in the 
regulation will generally supersede the conditions 
established in the approval orders that were previously 
entered by the commission. The exception is found in 
subsection N, which relates to other businesses that are not 
identified in subsections F through K. Lastly, subsection O 
provides that the commission may take various forms of 
enforcement action if a licensee or other business operator 
fails to comply with applicable laws or conditions. In the 
final regulation, the commission added two conditions 
applicable to the conduct of open-end credit business from 
payday lending offices. The two conditions provide in 
pertinent part that (i) upon entering into an open-end 
credit plan secured by a borrower's motor vehicle, the 
other business operator must record its security interest 
with the Department of Motor Vehicles; and (ii) an other 
business operator is prohibited from entering into an open-
end credit plan secured by a prospective borrower's motor 
vehicle if the motor vehicle is already subject to a purchase 
money security interest or other outstanding lien. 

AT RICHMOND, DECEMBER 29, 2009 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 

At the relation of the 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. BFI-2009-00344 

Ex Parte: In the matter of adopting 
rules for the conduct of other business 
in payday lending offices 
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ORDER ADOPTING A REGULATION 

On August 4, 2009, the State Corporation Commission 
("Commission") entered an Order to Take Notice of a 
proposal by the Bureau of Financial Institutions ("Bureau") to 
amend 10 VAC 5-200-100, which relates to the conduct of 
other business in payday lending offices.  The Order and 
proposed regulation were published in the Virginia Register 
of Regulations on August 31, 2009, posted on the 
Commission's website, and mailed to all licensed payday 
lenders and other interested parties.  Licensed payday lenders 
and other interested parties were afforded the opportunity to 
file written comments or request a hearing on or before 
October 30, 2009. 

Comments on the proposed regulation were filed by Title 
Cash of Virginia Inc.; Approved Cash Advance Centers 
(Virginia), LLC d/b/a Approved Cash Advance; 
F&L Marketing Enterprises, LLC d/b/a Cash-2-U Payday 
Loans; the Center for Responsible Lending; the Virginia 
Poverty Law Center; Housing Opportunities Made Equal of 
Virginia, Inc.; and Virginians Against Payday Loans.  
Additionally, the Community Financial Services Association 
of America ("CFSA") filed comments on the proposed 
regulation and requested a hearing. 

On November 13, 2009, the Commission entered an Order 
Scheduling Hearing, and on December 9, 2009, the 
Commission convened a hearing to consider the adoption of 
the proposed regulation. During the hearing regarding other 
business conducted in payday lending offices, there was 
considerable discussion regarding the conditions applicable to 
open-end loans secured by a security interest in a motor 
vehicle, as views were expressed on the two additional issues 
that the Commission raised in its Order to Take Notice; to 
wit, (i) whether a licensee or third party making such loans 
should be required to record its security interest with the 
Department of Motor Vehicles, and (ii) whether a licensee or 
third party should be prohibited from entering into an open-
end credit plan secured by a prospective borrower's motor 
vehicle if the motor vehicle is already subject to a purchase 
money security interest or other outstanding lien. 

Douglas Densmore, on behalf of F&L Marketing 
Enterprises, LLC d/b/a Cash-2-U Payday Loans, opined that 
these two provisions are inconsistent with the plain language 
in § 6.1-330.78 of the Code of Virginia, which provides only 
that a loan must be secured by a security interest in a motor 
vehicle.  Since the legislature did not include these provisions 
in Chapters 784 and 860 of the 2009 Acts of Assembly, Mr. 
Densmore concluded that such provisions do not belong in 
the subject regulation. 

David Clarke, representing Virginians Against Payday 
Loans, James Speer, on behalf of the Virginia Poverty Law 
Center, and Theodore Adams, representing the Center for 
Responsible Lending, were in favor of adding conditions to 
the regulation that would (i) require a licensee or third party 

making open-end loans to record its security interest with the 
Department of Motor Vehicles, and (ii) prohibit a licensee or 
third party from entering into an open-end credit plan secured 
by a prospective borrower's motor vehicle if the motor 
vehicle is already subject to a purchase money security 
interest or other outstanding lien. 

It has been maintained that the proposed recordation 
requirement would promote the public interest by putting 
others on notice that a licensee or third party has a security 
interest in a motor vehicle.  Such notice serves to protect 
existing lienholders, prospective lenders, and purchasers of 
motor vehicles who would otherwise be unaware of the 
security interest or the open-end loan that is secured by it.  It 
has also be asserted that the proposed requirement would (i) 
avoid confusion among borrowers, lenders, and potential 
lienholders regarding their rights with respect to motor 
vehicles; (ii) ensure that licensees and third parties operating 
in payday lending offices are making open-end loans secured 
by a bona fide security interest in a motor vehicle; and (iii) 
foster greater awareness on the part of borrowers who might 
not otherwise fully recognize the potential consequences of 
failing to repay such loans. 

In addition, it has been contended that prohibiting a licensee 
or third party from entering into an open-end credit plan 
secured by a prospective borrower's motor vehicle if the 
motor vehicle is already subject to a purchase money security 
interest or other outstanding lien promotes the public interest 
because it reduces the opportunity for licensees or third 
parties to make loans to borrowers that they are incapable of 
repaying. 

Staff counsel informed the Commission at the hearing that 
the Bureau believes that it could enforce the two auto title 
lending provisions in question provided that a licensee or 
third party making open-end loans is required by the 
regulation to maintain adequate supporting documentation in 
its loan files.  Staff counsel also furnished the Commission 
with the results of a Bureau survey of its fellow state 
regulators in which the Bureau queried whether other states 
that allow auto title lending have either of these two 
provisions in their laws. Lastly, Staff counsel responded to 
the CFSA's written comments regarding the Bureau's 
proposed regulation. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered the 
proposed regulation, the written comments filed, the record 
herein, and applicable law, concludes that the proposed 
regulation should be modified to (i) require a licensee or third 
party making open-end loans to record its security interest 
with the Department of Motor Vehicles, and (ii) prohibit a 
licensee or third party from entering into an open-end credit 
plan secured by a prospective borrower's motor vehicle if the 
motor vehicle is already subject to a purchase money security 
interest or other outstanding lien.  The Commission further 
concludes that the regulation should be modified to require 
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licensees or third parties to maintain adequate supporting 
documentation of compliance with these two provisions in 
their loan files. The Commission believes that these 
additional conditions are consistent with existing law and will 
promote the public interest. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed regulation, 10 VAC 5-200-100, as 
modified herein and attached hereto, is adopted effective 
February 1, 2010. 

(2) This Order and the attached regulation shall be posted on 
the Commission's website at 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
shall send a copy of this Order, including a copy of the 
attached regulation, to the Virginia Registrar of Regulations 
for publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

(4) This case is dismissed from the Commission's docket of 
active cases. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 
the Commission to: Roy A. Hutcheson, Jr., Vice President, 
Title Cash of Virginia Inc., 513 Sparkman Drive, NW, Suite 
C, Huntsville, Alabama 35801; Patricia Dauterman, Director 
of Employee Development & Compliance, Approved Cash 
Advance Centers (Virginia), LLC d/b/a Approved Cash 
Advance, P.O. Box 2038, Cleveland, Tennessee 37320-2038; 
Carla Stone Witzel, Gordon, Feinblatt, Rothman, Hoffberger 
& Hollander, LLC, 233 East Redwood Street, Baltimore, 
Maryland 21202-3332; Jennifer Johnson, Senior Legislative 
Council, Center for Responsible Lending, P.O. Box 3638, 
Durham, North Carolina 27702-3638; James W. Speer, 
Executive Director, Virginia Poverty Law Center, 700 East 
Franklin Street, Suite 14T1, Richmond, Virginia 23219; 
Helen O'Beirne, Housing Opportunities Made Equal of 
Virginia, Inc., 700 East Franklin Street, Suite 3A, Richmond, 
Virginia 23219; David W. Clarke, LeClairRyan, 951 East 
Byrd Street, Eighth Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219; 
Tommy Moore, Executive Vice President, Community 
Financial Services Association of America, 515 King Street, 
Suite 300, Alexandria, Virginia 22314-3137; Douglas W. 
Densmore, Gentry, Locke, Rakes, & Moore, LLP, P.O. Box 
40013, Roanoke, Virginia 24022-0013; Theodore F. Adams, 
III, McGuireWoods LLP, One James Center, 901 East Cary 
Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219-4030; and to the 
Commissioner of Financial Institutions, who shall mail a 
copy of this Order and the attached regulation to all licensed 
payday lenders and other interested parties designated by the 
Bureau of Financial Institutions. 

10VAC5-200-100. Other business in payday lending 
offices. 

A. This section governs the conduct of any business other 
than payday lending where a licensed payday lending 

business is conducted. As used in this section, the term "other 
business operator" refers to a licensed payday lender or third 
party, including an affiliate of the licensed payday lender, 
who conducts or wants to conduct other business from one or 
more payday lending offices. 

1. Pursuant to § 6.1-463 of the Code of Virginia, a licensee 
shall not conduct the business of making payday loans at 
any office, suite, room, or place of business where any 
other business is solicited or conducted, except a registered 
check cashing business or such other business as the 
commission determines should be permitted, and subject to 
such conditions as the commission deems necessary and in 
the public interest. 

2. Notwithstanding any provision of this section or order 
entered by the commission prior to [ December 1, 2009 
February 1, 2010 ], the following other businesses shall not 
be conducted from any office, suite, room, or place of 
business where a licensed payday lending business is 
conducted: 

a. Selling insurance or enrolling borrowers under group 
insurance policies. 

b. Making loans under an open-end credit or similar plan 
as described in § 6.1-330.78 of the Code of Virginia 
unless the loans are secured by a security interest in a 
motor vehicle as this term is defined in § 46.2-100 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

3. Pursuant to § 6.1-439 of the Code of Virginia, no person 
registered or required to be registered as a check casher 
under Chapter 17 (§ 6.1-432 et seq.) of Title 6.1 of the 
Code of Virginia shall make loans from any location, 
including an office, suite, room, or place of business where 
a licensed payday lending business is conducted, unless the 
person is licensed under the Act and the loans are made in 
accordance with the Act. 

B. Upon the filing of a written application, provision of any 
information relating to the application as the Commissioner 
of Financial Institutions may require, and payment of the fee 
required by law, and subject to approval by the commission 
and the imposition of such conditions as the commission 
deems necessary and in the public interest, other business 
may be conducted in a location where a licensed payday 
lending business is conducted if the commission determines 
finds that such (i) the proposed other business is financial in 
nature, except the selling of insurance or the enrolling of 
borrowers under group insurance policies; (ii) the proposed 
other business is in the public interest; (iii) the other business 
operator has the general fitness to warrant belief that the 
business will be operated in accordance with law; and (iv) the 
applicant has been operating its payday lending business in 
accordance with the Act and this chapter. The commission 
shall in its discretion determine whether a proposed other 
business is "financial in nature," and shall not be obliged to 
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consider the meaning of this term under federal law. A 
business is financial in nature if it primarily deals with the 
offering of debt, money or credit, or services directly related 
thereto.  

C. Nothing contained herein shall apply to any nonfinancial 
Nonfinancial other business may be conducted pursuant to 
any order of the commission entered on or before June 15, 
2004. However, this subsection shall not be construed to 
authorize any person to begin engaging in such other business 
at payday lending locations where such other business was 
not conducted as of June 15, 2004.  

D. Written evidence of commission approval of each other 
business conducted by any payday lender licensee an other 
business operator should be maintained at each location 
where such other business is conducted.  

E. Except as otherwise provided in subsection N of this 
section, all approved other businesses in payday lending 
offices shall be conducted in accordance with the following 
conditions: 

1. The licensee shall not make a payday loan to a borrower 
to enable the borrower to purchase or pay any amount 
owed in connection with the (i) goods or services sold, or 
(ii) loans offered, facilitated, or made, by the other 
business operator at the licensee's payday lending offices. 

2. The other business operator shall comply with all federal 
and state laws and regulations applicable to its other 
business, including any applicable licensing requirements. 

3. The other business operator shall not use or cause to be 
published any advertisement or other information that 
contains any false, misleading, or deceptive statement or 
representation concerning its other business, including the 
rates, terms, or conditions of the products, services, or 
loans that it offers. The other business operator shall not 
make or cause to be made any misrepresentation as to (i) 
its being licensed to conduct the other business, or (ii) the 
extent to which it is subject to supervision or regulation. 

4. The licensee shall not make a payday loan or vary the 
terms of a payday loan on the condition or requirement that 
a person also (i) purchase a good or service from, or (ii) 
obtain a loan from or through, the other business operator. 
The other business operator shall not (a) sell its goods or 
services, (b) offer, facilitate, or make loans, or (c) vary the 
terms of its goods, services, or loans, on the condition or 
requirement that a person also obtain a payday loan from 
the licensee. 

5. The other business operator shall maintain books and 
records for its other business separate and apart from the 
licensee's payday lending business and in a different 
location within the licensee's payday lending offices. The 
bureau shall be given access to all such books and records 
and be furnished with any information and records that it 

may require in order to determine compliance with all 
applicable conditions, laws, and regulations. 

F. If a licensee (i) received commission authority for an 
other business operator to conduct open-end credit business 
from the licensee's payday lending offices, or (ii) receives 
commission authority for an other business operator to 
conduct open-end auto title lending business from the 
licensee's payday lending offices, the following additional 
conditions shall be applicable: 

1. Any loan made by the other business operator pursuant 
to an open-end credit agreement shall be secured by a 
security interest in a motor vehicle, as defined in § 46.2-
100 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. The licensee shall not make a payday loan to a person if 
(i) the person has an outstanding open-end loan from the 
other business operator, or (ii) on the same day the person 
repaid or satisfied in full an open-end loan from the other 
business operator. 

3. The other business operator shall not make an open-end 
loan to a person pursuant to an open-end credit agreement 
if (i) the person has an outstanding payday loan from the 
licensee, or (ii) on the same day the person repaid or 
satisfied in full a payday loan from the licensee. 

4. The other business operator and the licensee shall not 
make an open-end loan and a payday loan 
contemporaneously or in response to a single request for a 
loan or credit. 

5. The licensee and other business operator shall provide 
each applicant for a payday loan or open-end credit plan 
with a separate disclosure, signed by the applicant, that 
clearly identifies all of the loan products available in the 
licensee's payday lending offices along with the 
corresponding Annual Percentage Rate, interest rate, and 
other costs associated with each loan product. 

[ 6. Upon entering into an open-end credit plan secured by 
a borrower's motor vehicle, the other business operator 
shall record its security interest with the Department of 
Motor Vehicles and maintain adequate supporting 
documentation thereof in its loan file. 

7. The other business operator shall not enter into an open-
end credit plan secured by a prospective borrower's motor 
vehicle if the motor vehicle is already subject to a purchase 
money security interest or other outstanding lien. The other 
business operator shall maintain adequate supporting 
documentation in its loan file that a borrower's motor 
vehicle was not subject to a purchase money security 
interest or other outstanding lien at the time the borrower 
entered into the open-end credit plan. ] 

G. If a licensee received or receives commission authority 
for an other business operator to conduct business as an 
authorized delegate or agent of a money order seller or money 
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transmitter from the licensee's payday lending offices, the 
other business operator shall be and remain a party to a 
written agreement to act as an authorized delegate or agent of 
a person licensed or exempt from licensing as a money order 
seller or money transmitter under Chapter 12 (§ 6.1-370 et 
seq.) of Title 6.1 of the Code of Virginia. The other business 
operator shall not engage in money order sales or money 
transmission services on its own behalf or on behalf of any 
person other than a licensed or exempt money order seller or 
money transmitter with whom it has a written agreement. 

H. If a licensee received or receives commission authority 
for an other business operator to conduct the business of (i) 
tax preparation and electronic tax filing services, or (ii) 
facilitating third party tax preparation and electronic tax filing 
services, from the licensee's payday lending offices, the 
following additional conditions shall be applicable: 

1. The licensee shall not make, arrange, or broker a payday 
loan that is secured by an interest in a borrower's tax 
refund, or in whole or in part by (i) any other assignment 
of income payable to a borrower, or (ii) any assignment of 
an interest in a borrower's account at a depository 
institution. This condition shall not be construed to prohibit 
the licensee from making a payday loan that is secured 
solely by a check payable to the licensee drawn on a 
borrower's account at a depository institution. 

2. The other business operator shall not engage in the 
business of (i) accepting funds for transmission to the 
Internal Revenue Service or other government 
instrumentalities, or (ii) receiving tax refunds for delivery 
to individuals, unless licensed or exempt from licensing 
under Chapter 12 (§ 6.1-370 et seq.) of Title 6.1 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

I. If a licensee received or receives commission authority for 
an other business operator to conduct the business of 
facilitating or arranging tax refund anticipation loans or tax 
refund payments from the licensee's payday lending offices, 
the following additional conditions shall be applicable: 

1. The other business operator shall not facilitate or arrange 
a tax refund anticipation loan or tax refund payment to 
enable a person to pay any amount owed to the licensee as 
a result of a payday loan transaction. 

2. The other business operator and the licensee shall not 
facilitate or arrange a tax refund anticipation loan or tax 
refund payment and make a payday loan 
contemporaneously or in response to a single request for a 
loan or credit. 

3. The licensee shall not make, arrange, or broker a payday 
loan that is secured by an interest in a borrower's tax 
refund, or in whole or in part by (i) any other assignment 
of income payable to a borrower, or (ii) any assignment of 
an interest in a borrower's account at a depository 
institution. This condition shall not be construed to prohibit 

the licensee from making a payday loan that is secured 
solely by a check payable to the licensee drawn on a 
borrower's account at a depository institution. 

4. The other business operator shall not engage in the 
business of receiving tax refunds or tax refund payments 
for delivery to individuals unless licensed or exempt from 
licensing under Chapter 12 (§ 6.1-370 et seq.) of Title 6.1 
of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The licensee and other business operator shall provide 
each applicant for a payday loan or tax refund anticipation 
loan with a separate disclosure, signed by the applicant, 
that clearly identifies all of the loan products available in 
the licensee's payday lending offices along with the 
corresponding Annual Percentage Rate, interest rate, and 
other costs associated with each loan product. 

J. If a licensee received or receives commission authority for 
an other business operator to conduct a consumer finance 
business from the licensee's payday lending offices, the 
following additional conditions shall be applicable: 

1. The licensee shall not make a payday loan to a person if 
(i) the person has an outstanding consumer finance loan 
from the other business operator, or (ii) on the same day 
the person repaid or satisfied in full a consumer finance 
loan from the other business operator. 

2. The other business operator shall not make a consumer 
finance loan to a person if (i) the person has an outstanding 
payday loan from the licensee, or (ii) on the same day the 
person repaid or satisfied in full a payday loan from the 
licensee. 

3. The licensee and other business operator shall not make 
a payday loan and a consumer finance loan 
contemporaneously or in response to a single request for a 
loan or credit. 

4. The licensee and other business operator shall provide 
each applicant for a payday loan or consumer finance loan 
with a separate disclosure, signed by the applicant, that 
clearly identifies all of the loan products available in the 
licensee's payday lending offices along with the 
corresponding Annual Percentage Rate, interest rate, and 
other costs associated with each loan product. 

K. If a licensee received or receives commission authority 
for an other business operator to conduct the business of 
operating an automated teller machine from the licensee's 
payday lending offices, the other business operator shall not 
charge a fee or receive other compensation in connection with 
the use of its automated teller machine by a person when the 
person is withdrawing funds in order to make a payment on a 
payday loan from the licensee. 

L. The commission may impose any additional conditions 
upon the conduct of other business in payday lending offices 
that it deems necessary and in the public interest. 
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M. Except as otherwise provided in subsection N of this 
section, the conditions set forth or referred to in subsections E 
through L of this section shall supersede the conditions set 
forth in the commission's approval orders entered prior to 
[ December 1, 2009 February 1, 2010 ]. 

N. If prior to [ December 1, 2009 February 1, 2010, ] a 
licensee received commission authority for an other business 
operator to conduct a business not identified in subsections F 
through K of this section, the conditions that were imposed 
by the commission at the time of the approval shall remain in 
full force and effect. 

O. Failure by a licensee or other business operator to comply 
with any provision of this section or any condition imposed 
by the commission, or failure by a licensee to comply with 
the Act, this chapter, or any other law or regulation applicable 
to the conduct of the licensee's business, may result in the 
revocation of the authority to conduct other business, fines, 
license suspension, license revocation, or other appropriate 
enforcement action. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-2079; Filed January 6, 2010, 10:00 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-110. Regulations for the 
Immunization of School Children (amending 12VAC5-
110-10, 12VAC5-110-20, 12VAC5-110-30, 12VAC5-110-
50, 12VAC5-110-70, 12VAC5-110-80, 12VAC5-110-90, 
12VAC5-110-100, 12VAC5-110-130; repealing 12VAC5-
110-140). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-271.2, 32.1-12 and 32.1-46 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 3, 2010.  

Agency Contact: James Farrell, Director, Division of 
Immunization, Department of Health, 109 Governor St., 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-8055, or email 
james.farrell@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) incorporate immunization 
requirements enacted by the legislature, (ii) reflect 
changes in the current immunization schedule 
recommended by the American Academy of Pediatrics and 
the American Academy of Family Physicians, and (iii) add 
registered nurses to the list of entities that can administer 
immunizations and can provide certification that required 
vaccines would be detrimental to a child's health. 

Changes to the proposed regulation (i) increase the 
minimum number of doses of polio vaccine required for 
school entry to four and clarify the requirement that one 
dose must be administered on or after the fourth birthday 
in order to comply with recent Advisory Committee on 
Immunization Practices recommendations; (ii) add family 
day home or developmental center to the definition of 
"school"; (iii) change the measles, mumps, and varicella 
vaccine requirements to clarify that the second dose of 
each vaccine must be administered prior to kindergarten 
entry; and (iv) change conditional enrollment to clarify 
that the 180-calendar-day period applies only if more than 
two doses of hepatitis B vaccine is required.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part I  
Definitions  

12VAC5-110-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Adequate immunization" means the immunization 
requirements prescribed under 12VAC5-110-70.  

"Admit" or "admission" means the official enrollment or 
reenrollment for attendance at any grade level, whether full-
time or part-time, of any student by any school.  

"Admitting official" means the school principal or his 
designated representative if a public school; if a nonpublic 
school or child care center, the principal, headmaster or 
director of the school or center.  

"Board" means the State Board of Health.  

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner.  

"Compliance" means the completion of the immunization 
requirements prescribed under 12VAC5-110-70.  

"Conditional enrollment" means the enrollment of a student 
for a period of 90 days contingent upon the student having 
received at least one dose of each of the required vaccines and 
the student possessing a plan, from a physician or local health 
department, for completing his immunization requirements 
within the ensuing 90 calendar days. If the student requires 
more than two doses of hepatitis B vaccine, the conditional 
enrollment period [ , for hepatitis B vaccine only, ] shall be 
180 calendar days. 

"Documentary proof" means an appropriately completed 
copy of Form MCH 213B and the temporary certification 
form for Haemophilus influenzae type b disease where 
applicable, Form MCH 213C or a computer generated 
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facsimile of Form 213C 213F signed by a physician or his 
designee, registered nurse, or an official of a local health 
department. The MCH 213C SUPPLEMENT A copy of the 
immunization record signed or stamped by a physician or his 
designee, registered nurse, or an official of a local health 
department indicating the dates of administration including 
month, day, and year of the required vaccines, shall be 
acceptable in lieu of recording these dates on Form MCH 
213C 213F, as long as the supplement record is attached to 
Form MCH 213C 213F and the remainder of Form MCH 
213C 213F has been appropriately completed. For a new 
student transferring from an out-of-state school, any 
immunization record, which contains the exact date 
(month/day/year) of administration of each of the required 
doses of vaccines when indicated, is signed by a physician 
[ of or ] his designee or registered nurse, and complies fully 
with the requirements prescribed under 12VAC5-110-70 shall 
be acceptable.  

"Immunization" means the administration of a product 
licensed by the FDA to confer protection against one or more 
specific pathogens.  

"Immunization schedule" means the schedule developed and 
published by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 
(CDC), the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices 
(ACIP), the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), and the 
American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP). 

"Physician" means any person licensed to practice medicine 
in any of the 50 states or the District of Columbia.  

"School" means:  

1. Any public school from kindergarten through grade 12 
operated under the authority of any locality within this 
Commonwealth;  

2. Any private or parochial religious school that offers 
instruction at any level or grade from kindergarten through 
grade 12;  

3. Any private or parochial religious nursery school or 
preschool, or any private or parochial religious child care 
center required to be licensed by this Commonwealth; 
[ and ]  

4. Any preschool handicapped classes or Head Start classes 
operated by the school divisions within this 
Commonwealth [ ; and  

5. Any family day home or developmental center ].  

"Student" means any person less than 20 years of age who 
seeks admission to any Virginia school, or for whom 
admission to any Virginia school is sought by a parent or 
guardian who seeks admission to a school, or for whom 
admission to a school is sought by a parent or guardian, and 
who will not have attained the age of 20 years by the start of 
the school term for which admission is sought. 

"Twelve months of age" means the 365th day following the 
date of birth. For the purpose of evaluating records, vaccines 
administered up to four days prior to the first birthday (361 
days following the date of birth) will be considered valid. 

Part II  
General Information 

12VAC5-110-20. Purpose. 

This chapter is designed to ensure that all students attending 
any public, private or parochial school and all attendees of 
licensed child care centers in the Commonwealth, are 
adequately immunized and protected against diphtheria, 
pertussis, tetanus, poliomyelitis, rubeola, rubella, mumps, 
haemophilus influenzae type b, and hepatitis B, varicella, 
pneumococcal, and human papillomavirus disease as 
appropriate for the age of the student. 

12VAC5-110-30. Administration. 

A. The Board of Health has the responsibility for 
promulgating regulations pertaining to the implementation of 
the school immunization law and standards of immunization 
by which a child attending a any school or child care center 
may be judged to be adequately immunized. 

B. The State Health Commissioner is the executive officer 
for the State Board of Health with the authority of the board 
when it is not in session, subject to the rules and regulations 
of the board. 

C. The local health director is responsible for providing 
assistance in implementing this chapter to the school 
divisions in his jurisdiction and for providing immunizations 
to children determined not to be adequately immunized, who 
present themselves to the local health department for 
immunization. 

D. The school principals of public schools and the 
principals, headmasters and directors of nonpublic schools 
and child care centers shall require each student attending 
their institutions to provide documentary proof of 
immunization against the diseases listed in 12VAC5-110-70.  

 [ 12VAC5-110-50. Application of the Administrative 
Process Act.  

The provisions of the Virginia Administrative Process Act , 
contained in Chapter 1.1:1 (§ 9-6.14:1 et seq.) of Title 9 of 
the Code of Virginia, (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia) shall govern the adoption, amendment, modification 
and revision of this chapter, and the conduct of all 
proceedings and appeals hereunder. ]  

Part III  
Immunization Requirements  

12VAC5-110-70. Immunization requirements. 

Every new student and every child attending a licensed child 
care center enrolling in a school shall provide documentary 
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proof of adequate immunization with the prescribed number 
of doses of each of the vaccines and toxoids listed in the 
following subdivisions, as appropriate for his age according 
to the immunization schedule. Spacing, minimum ages, and 
minimum intervals shall be in accordance with the 
immunization schedule. A copy of every student's 
immunization record shall be on file in his school record. 

1. Diphtheria and Tetanus Toxoids and Pertussis Vaccine 
(DTP). For students less than seven years of age, a 
minimum of three doses of DTP,with one dose 
administered after the student's fourth birthday. If any of 
these three doses must be administered on or after the 
seventh birthday, Td (adult tetanus toxoid full dose and 
diphtheria toxoid reduced dose) should be used instead of 
DTP.  

1. Diphtheria Toxoid. A minimum of four [ or more ] 
properly spaced doses of diphtheria toxoid. One dose shall 
be administered on or after the fourth birthday. A booster 
dose shall be administered prior to entering the sixth grade 
if at least five years have passed since the last dose of 
diphtheria toxoid. 

2. Tetanus Toxoid. A minimum of four [ or more ] 
properly spaced doses of tetanus toxoid. One dose shall be 
administered on or after the fourth birthday. A booster dose 
shall be administered prior to entering the sixth grade if at 
least five years have passed since the last dose of tetanus 
toxoid. 

3. Acellular Pertussis Vaccine. A minimum of four [ or 
more ] properly spaced doses of acellular pertussis vaccine. 
One dose shall be administered on or after the fourth 
birthday. A booster dose shall be administered prior to 
entering the sixth grade if at least five years have passed 
since the last dose of pertussis vaccine. 

2. 4. Poliomyelitis Vaccine. A minimum of [ three four ] 
doses of [ all trivalent oral ] poliomyelitis vaccine [ (OPV) 
or all inactivated polio vaccine (IPV), ] with one dose 
administered [ on or ] after the fourth birthday or three 
doses of enhanced-potency inactivated poliomyelitis 
vaccine (IPV), with one dose administered after the fourth 
birthday when OPV is contraindicated. 

3. 5. Measles (Rubeola) Vaccine. For students enrolling in 
kindergarten or first grade on and after July 1, 1991, one 
One dose of live measles vaccine administered at age 12 
months or older, and a second dose administered [ at four 
to six years of age or ] prior to entering kindergarten or 
first grade, whichever occurs first. The two doses must be 
administered at least one month apart. Students entering 
sixth grade on and after July 1, 1992, shall also have 
received two doses of live measles vaccine, with the first 
dose administered at age 12 months or older and the 
second dose at least one month after the first dose. All 
other students shall have received at least one dose of live 

measles vaccine. Any measles immunization received after 
1968 should be considered to have been administered using 
a live virus vaccine. 

4. German Measles (Rubella) 6. Rubella Vaccine. A 
minimum of one dose of rubella virus vaccine administered 
at age 12 months or older.  

5. 7. Mumps Vaccine. A minimum of one One dose of 
mumps virus vaccine administered at age 12 months or 
older and a second dose administered [ at four to six years 
of age or ] prior to entering kindergarten. The requirement 
for mumps vaccine shall not apply to any child admitted 
for the first time to any grade level, kindergarten through 
grade 12 of a school prior to August 1, 1981.  

6. 8. Haemophilus Influenzae Type b (Hib) Vaccine. A 
complete series of Hib vaccine i.e., up to a maximum of 
four doses of vaccine as appropriate for the age of the child 
and the age at which the immunization series was initiated. 
The number of doses administered shall be in accordance 
with current immunization schedule recommendations of 
either the American Academy of Pediatrics or those of the 
U.S. Public Health Service. Attestation by the physician or 
his designee, registered nurse, or an official of a local 
health department on the temporary form documenting 
immunizations against Hib, that portion of Form MCH 
213C 213F pertaining to Hib vaccine, a computer 
generated facsimile of MCH 213C, or on the MCH 213C 
Supplement as defined in 12VAC5-110-10 under 
"documentary proof" shall mean that the child has satisfied 
the requirements of this section. This section shall not 
apply to children older than 30 60 months of age or for 
admission to any grade level, kindergarten through grade 
12.  

The dosage schedule for Hib vaccine varies with the 
manufacturer. The number of doses of vaccine required is 
also governed by the age at which immunization is 
initiated. Hence the reason why the requirements for Hib 
vaccine are prescribed in a manner different from those for 
the other vaccines.  

7. 9. Hepatitis B Vaccine. A minimum of three doses of 
hepatitis B vaccine for all children born on or after January 
1, 1994. The FDA has approved a two-dose schedule only 
for adolescents 11 through 15 years of age and only when 
the Merck brand (RECOMBIVAX HB) Adult Formulation 
Hepatitis B vaccine is used. The two RECOMBIVAX HB 
adult doses must be separated by a minimum of four 
months. The two dose schedule using the adult formulation 
must be clearly documented in the Hepatitis B section on 
Form MCH 213F.  

10. Varicella (Chickenpox) Vaccine. All susceptible 
children born on and after January 1, 1997, shall be 
required to have one dose of chickenpox vaccine on or 
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after 12 months of age and a second dose administered [ at 
four to six years of age or ] prior to entering kindergarten. 

11. Pneumococcal Conjugate Vaccine (PCV). A complete 
series of PCV, i.e., up to a maximum of four doses of 
vaccine as appropriate for the age of the child and the age 
at which the immunization series was initiated. The 
number of doses administered shall be in accordance with 
current immunization schedule recommendations. 
Attestation by the physician or his designee, registered 
nurse, or an official of a local health department on that 
portion of Form MCH 213F pertaining to PCV vaccine 
shall mean that the child has satisfied the requirements of 
this section. This section shall not apply to children older 
than 24 months of age. 

12. Human Papillomavirus (HPV) Vaccine. Three doses of 
properly spaced HPV vaccine for females, effective 
October 1, 2008. The first dose shall be administered 
before the child enters the sixth grade. 

12VAC5-110-80. Exemptions from immunization 
requirements. 

A. Religious and medical exemptions. No certificate of 
immunization shall be required of any student for admission 
to school if:  

1. The student or his parent or guardian submits a 
Certificate of Religious Exemption (Form CRE 1), to the 
admitting official of the school to which the student is 
seeking admission. Form CRE 1 is an affidavit stating that 
the administration of immunizing agents conflicts with the 
student's religious tenets or practices. For a student 
enrolled before July 1, 1983, any document present in the 
student's permanent school record claiming religious 
exemption shall be acceptable, The form is available on the 
Division of Immunization website at 
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov//Epidemiology/Immunization/
requirements.htm; or  

2. The school has written certification on any either of the 
documents specified under "documentary proof" in 
12VAC5-110-10 from a physician, registered nurse, or a 
local health department that one or more of the required 
immunizations may be detrimental to the student's health. 
Such certification of medical exemption shall specify the 
nature and probable duration of the medical condition or 
circumstance that contraindicates immunization. For a 
student enrolled before July 1, 1983, any document 
attesting to the fact that one or more of the required 
immunizations may be detrimental to the student's health 
shall be acceptable.  

3. Upon the identification of an outbreak, potential 
epidemic, or epidemic of a vaccine-preventable disease in 
a public or private school, the commissioner has the 
authority to require the exclusion from such school of all 
children who are not immunized against that disease. 

B. Demonstration of existing immunity. The demonstration 
in a student of antibodies against either rubeola or, rubella, or 
varicella in sufficient quantity to ensure protection of that 
student against that disease, shall render that student exempt 
from the immunization requirements contained in 12VAC5-
110-70 for the disease in question. Such protection should be 
demonstrated by means of a serological testing method 
appropriate for measuring protective antibodies against 
rubeola or, rubella, or varicella respectively. Reliable history 
of chickenpox disease diagnosed or verified by a health care 
provider shall render students exempt from varicella 
requirements. 

C. HPV vaccine. Because the human papillomavirus is not 
communicable in a school setting, a parent or guardian, at the 
parent's or guardian's sole discretion, may elect for the 
parent's or guardian's child not to receive the HPV vaccine, 
after having reviewed materials describing the link between 
the human papillomavirus and cervical cancer approved for 
such use by the board. 

Part IV  
Procedures and Responsibilities  

12VAC5-110-90. Responsibilities of admitting officials. 

A. Procedures for determining the immunization status of 
students. Each admitting official or his designee shall review, 
before the first day of each school year, the school medical 
record of every new student seeking admission to his school, 
and that of every student enrolling in grade six for 
compliance with the measles vaccine requirements prescribed 
in [ subdivisions 1, 2, and 3 of ] 12VAC5-110-70 3. Such 
review shall determine into which one of the following 
categories each student falls:  

1. Students whose immunizations are adequately 
documented and complete in conformance with 12VAC5-
110-70. Students with documentation of existing immunity 
to measles, rubella, or varicella as defined in 12VAC5-
110-80 B shall be considered to be adequately immunized 
for such disease.  

2. Students who are exempt from the immunization 
requirements of 12VAC5-110-70 because of medical 
contraindications or religious beliefs provided for by 
12VAC5-110-80.  

3. Students whose immunizations are inadequate according 
to the requirements of 12VAC5-110-70.  

4. Students without any documentation of having been 
adequately immunized.  

B. Notification of deficiencies. Upon identification of the 
students described in subdivisions A 3 and 4 of 12VAC5-
110-90 A this section, the admitting official shall notify the 
student or his parent or guardian of the student: 
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1. That there is no, or insufficient, documentary proof of 
adequate immunization in the student's school records.  

2. That the student cannot be admitted to school unless he 
has documentary proof that he is exempted from 
immunization requirements pursuant to 12VAC5-110-70. 

3. That the student may be immunized and receive 
certification by a licensed physician, registered nurse, or an 
official of a local health department. 

4. How to contact the local health department to receive 
the necessary immunizations. 

C. Conditional enrollment. Any student whose 
immunizations are incomplete may be admitted conditionally 
if that student provides documentary proof at the time of 
enrollment of having received at least one dose of the 
required immunizations accompanied by a schedule for 
completion of the required doses within 90 calendar days, 
during which time that student shall complete the 
immunizations required under 12VAC5-110-70. The 
following table contains a suggested plan for ensuring the 
completion of these requirements within the 90 day 
conditional enrollment period. If the student requires more 
than two doses of hepatitis B vaccine, the conditional 
enrollment period [ , for hepatitis B vaccine only, ] shall be 
180 calendar days. If a student is a homeless child or youth 
and does not have documentary proof of necessary 
immunizations or has incomplete immunizations and is not 
exempted from immunization as described in 12VAC5-110-
80, the school administrator shall immediately admit such 
student and shall immediately refer the student to the local 
school division liaison, who shall assist in obtaining the 
documentary proof of, or completing, immunizations. The 
admitting official should examine the records of any 
conditionally enrolled student at regular intervals to ensure 
that such a student remains on schedule with his plan of 
completion. 

A SUGGESTED PLAN FOR ENSURING COMPLIANCE 

TIME ACTION STEP 

Day 0 Conditional enrollment period starts. If 
student has not received first dose(s) of 
required vaccines, exclude student. 

Day 1 to Day 
42 

Student should have received second 
dose(s) of required vaccines. 

Day 43 to Day 
88 

Student should have received third 
dose(s) of required vaccines. 

Day 89 and 
Day 90 

Confirm that immunizations are 
completed; exclude children not in 
compliance. 

D. Exclusion. The admitting official shall, at the end of the 
conditional enrollment period, exclude any student who is not 

in compliance with the immunization requirements under 
12VAC5-110-70 and who has not been granted an exemption 
under 12VAC5-110-80 until that student provides 
documentary proof that his immunization schedule has been 
completed, unless documentary proof, that a medical 
contraindication developed during the conditional enrollment 
period, is submitted. 

E. Transfer of records. The admitting official of every 
school shall be responsible for sending a student's 
immunization records or a copy thereof, along with his 
permanent academic or scholastic records, to the admitting 
official of the school to which a student is transferring within 
30 days of his transfer to the new school. 

F. Report of student immunization status. Each admitting 
official shall, within 30 days of the beginning of each school 
year or entrance of a student, or by October 15 of each school 
year, file with the State Health Department through the health 
department for his locality, a report summarizing the 
immunization status of the students in his school. This report 
shall be filed using the web-enabled reporting system or on 
Form SIS 1, the Student Immunization Status Report, and 
shall contain the number of students admitted to that school 
with documentary proof of immunization, the number of 
students who have been admitted with a medical or religious 
exemption and the number of students who have been 
conditionally admitted. The report for students entering the 
sixth grade shall include the number with a booster dose of 
tetanus, diphtheria, or pertussis containing vaccine within the 
last five years. 

G. Each admitting official shall ensure that the parent or 
guardian of a female to be enrolled in the sixth grade receives 
educational materials describing the link between the human 
papillomavirus and cervical cancer. Materials shall be 
approved by the board and provided to the parent or guardian 
prior to the child's enrollment in the sixth grade. 

12VAC5-110-100. Responsibilities of physicians and local 
health departments.  

A. Documentary proof for students immunized in Virginia. 
Every physician, registered nurse, and local health department 
providing immunizations to a child shall provide 
documentary proof, as defined in 12VAC5-110-10, to the 
child or his parent or guardian of all immunizations 
administered. 

B. Documentary proof for out-of-state students. For a 
student transferring from an out-of-state school to a Virginia 
school, the admitting official may accept as documentary 
proof any immunization record for that student which that is 
signed by a physician or [ registered ] nurse and that contains 
the exact date (month/day/year) of administration of each of 
the required doses of vaccines when indicated and which that 
complies fully with the requirements prescribed under 
12VAC5-110-70. Any immunization record which that does 
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not contain the signature of a physician or a nurse and does 
not contain the month/day/year of administration of each of 
the required vaccine doses shall not be accepted by the 
admitting official as documentary proof of adequate 
immunization with the exception of immunization against 
Hib. Such a student's record shall be evaluated by an official 
of the local health department who shall determine if that 
student is adequately immunized in accordance with the 
provisions of 12VAC5-110-70. Should the local health 
department determine that such a student is not adequately 
immunized, that student shall be referred to his private 
physician or local health department for any required 
immunizations. 

12VAC5-110-130. Responsibility of parent to have a child 
immunized. 

In accordance with § 32.1-46 of the Code of Virginia, "the 
parent, guardian or person standing in loco parentis of each 
child within this Commonwealth shall cause such child to be 
ensure such child is immunized by vaccine against diphtheria, 
tetanus, whooping cough and poliomyelitis and hepatitis B 
before such child attains the age of one year, against 
Haemophilus influenzae type b before he attains the age of 30 
months, and against measles (rubeola), German measles 
(rubella) and mumps before such child attains the age of two 
years. All children shall also be required to receive a second 
dose of measles (rubeola) vaccine in accordance with the 
regulations of the board. The board's regulations shall require 
that all children receive a second dose of measles (rubeola) 
vaccine prior to first entering kindergarten or first grade and 
that all children who have not yet received a second dose of 
measles (rubeola) vaccine receive such second dose prior to 
entering the sixth grade." in accordance with the 
immunization schedule.  

The parent or guardian of a child who is home instructed 
shall ensure such child is immunized in accordance with 
§ 22.1-271.4 of the Code of Virginia. 

Penalties for noncompliance shall be in accordance with 
§ 32.1-27 of the Code of Virginia. 

[ 12VAC5-110-140. General penalties. (Repealed.) 

In accordance with § 32.1-27 of the Code of Virginia, "any 
person willfully violating or refusing, failing or neglecting to 
comply with any regulation or order of the board or 
commissioner of any provision of this title shall be guilty of a 
Class 1 misdemeanor unless a different penalty is specified." ]  

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (12VAC5-110) 

Certificate of Religious Exemption, CRE 1 (Eff. CRE-1, 
Rev. 00/92 (eff. 7/83). 

School Entrance Physical Examination and Immunization 
Certification, MCH-213C (Rev. 10/91) MCH 213F (rev. 
04/07). 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(12VAC5-110) 

[ 2009 2010 ] Recommended Immunization Schedule for 
Persons Aged 0 through 6 Years, U.S. Department of Health 
and Human Services. 

[ 2009 2010 ] Recommended Immunization Schedule for 
Persons Aged 7 through 18 Years, U.S. Department of Health 
and Human Services. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1339; Filed January 8, 2010, 2:40 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-508. Regulations Governing 
the Virginia Physician Loan Repayment Program (adding 
12VAC5-508-10 through 12VAC5-508-270). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-122.6:1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 3, 2010.  

Agency Contact: Kathy Wibberly, PhD, Division Director, 
Office of Minority Health and Public Health Policy, 
Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 864-7426, FAX (804) 864-7440, or 
email kathy.wibberly@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulation establishes the eligibility criteria for the 
Virginia Physician Loan Repayment Program for primary 
care physicians and psychiatrists. It explains that 
recipients must practice (i) in a designated medically 
underserved area as identified by the Board of Health, (ii) 
in a federal Health Professional Shortage Area (HPSA) in 
Virginia designated by the Health Resources and Services 
Administration, or (iii) at an approved state or local 
institution. It also sets penalties for a recipient's failure to 
fulfill the practice requirements of the program. Only 
technical changes designed to ensure consistency of 
language have been made since publication of the 
proposed regulation. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  
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CHAPTER 508  
REGULATIONS GOVERNING THE VIRGINIA 
PHYSICIAN LOAN REPAYMENT PROGRAM  

[ Article 1 Part I ] 
Definitions and General Information  

12VAC5-508-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

[ "Accredited residency" means a graduate medical 
education program in family practice medicine, general 
internal medicine, pediatric medicine, obstetrics and 
gynecology, or psychiatry accredited by the Liaison 
Committee on Graduate Medical Education. ]  

"Board" or "Board of Health" means the State Board of 
Health.  

"Commercial loans" means loans made by banks, credit 
unions, savings and loan associations, insurance companies, 
schools, and either financial or credit institutions that are 
subject to examination and supervision in their capacity as 
lenders by an agency of the United States or of the state in 
which the lender has its principal place of business.  

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner.  

"Department" means Virginia Department of Health.  

"Full-time" means at least 40 hours per week for 45 weeks 
per year.  

"Health Professional Shortage Area" or "HPSA" means a 
geographic area in Virginia designated by the Bureau of 
Primary Health Care, Health Resources [ and Services ] 
Administration as medically underserved in accordance with 
the procedures of the Public Health Service Act (42 USC § 
254e) and implementing regulations (42 CFR Part 5.2).  

[ "Medically underserved area" means a geographic area in 
Virginia designated by the State Board of Health in 
accordance with the rules and regulations for the 
identification of medically underserved areas, § 32.1-122.5 of 
the Code of Virginia, or designated as federal health 
professional shortage area (HPSA) in Virginia, designated by 
the Bureau of Primary Health Care, Health Resources 
Administration in accordance with the Public Health Service 
Act (42 USC § 254e) and implementing regulations (42 CFR 
Part 5.2). ]  

"Participant" or "loan repayment participant" means an 
eligible primary care physician [ , or ] an eligible psychiatrist 
[ , or an eligible medical student ] who enters into a contract 
with the commissioner and participates in the loan repayment 
program. 

"Penalty" means the amount of money equal to twice the 
amount of all monetary loan repayment paid to the loan 
repayment participant, less any service obligation completed.  

"Practice" means the practice of medicine by a recipient in 
one of the designated primary care specialties in a specific 
geographic area determined to be fulfillment of the recipient's 
loan repayment obligation.  

"Primary care" means the specialties of family practice 
medicine, general internal medicine, pediatric medicine, 
obstetrics and gynecology, and psychiatry.  

"Reasonable educational expenses" means the costs of 
education, exclusive of tuition, that are considered to be 
required by the school’s degree program or an eligible 
program of study, such as fees for room, board, transportation 
and commuting costs, books, supplies, educational equipment 
and materials, and clinical travel, which was a part of the 
estimated student budget of the school in which the 
participant was enrolled.  

"State or local institution" means any Virginia state agency 
or local government agency that may require services of a 
primary care practitioner. This includes, but is not limited to, 
the Department of Health [ ;, ] the Department of [ Mental 
Health, Mental Retardation, and Substance Abuse Behavioral 
Health and Developmental ] Services [ ;, ] the Department of 
Corrections [ ;, the Department of Juvenile Justice, ] and local 
community services boards. 

[ "Virginia medically underserved area" or "VMUA" means 
a geographic area in Virginia designated by the State Board 
of Health in accordance with the Rules and Regulations for 
the Identification of Medically Underserved Areas (12VAC5-
540) or § 32.1-122.5 of the Code of Virginia, or designated as 
a federal health professional shortage area (HPSA) in 
Virginia by the Bureau of Primary Health Care, Health 
Resources and Services Administration in accordance with 
the procedures of the Public Health Service Act (42 USC 
§ 254e) and implementing regulations (42 CFR Part 5.2). ]  

12VAC5-508-20. General information and purpose of 
chapter. 

These regulations set forth the criteria for eligibility for the 
Virginia Physician Loan Repayment Program [ for 
physician's and medical students ]; the general terms and 
conditions applicable to the obligation of each loan 
repayment recipient to practice in a state or local institution or 
a medically underserved area of Virginia, as identified by the 
Board of Health by regulation or a federal [ health 
professional shortage area (  ] HPSA [ ) ] in Virginia, 
designated by the Bureau of Primary Health Care, Health 
Resources [ and Services ] Administration; and penalties for a 
recipient's failure to fulfill the practice requirements of the 
Virginia Physician Loan Repayment Program. 
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The purpose of the Virginia Physician Loan Repayment 
Program is to improve the recruitment and retention of 
primary care practitioners in underserved areas of Virginia 
and in state and local institutions. A limited number of loan 
repayment participation contracts will be signed with 
participants in return for service in a designated Virginia 
Medically Underserved Area (VMUA) or [ health 
professional shortage area (  ] HPSA [ ) ], and targeted at 
practitioners located in non-profit community-based or 
hospital-based primary care centers. Private-for-profit entities 
will be eligible depending on the insurance status of the 
patient population. State and local institutions are eligible. 
Loan repayment benefits are to be used to repay outstanding 
qualifying medical educational loans and are based on the 
availability of funds. 

12VAC5-508-30. Compliance with the Administrative 
Process Act. 

Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of 
Virginia (the Administrative Process Act) governs the 
promulgation and administration of this chapter and applies to 
any appeal of a case decision made pursuant to or based upon 
this chapter. 

[ Article 2 Part II ]  
Administration of the Virginia Physician Loan Repayment 

Program  

12VAC5-508-40. Administration. 

The State Health Commissioner, as executive officer of the 
Board of Health, shall administer this program. Any requests 
for variance from these regulations shall be considered on an 
individual basis [ by the board in regular session ]. 

12VAC5-508-50. Eligible applicants. 

Eligible applicants for the Virginia Physician Loan 
Repayment Program must: 

1. Be a citizen of the United States; 

2. Be an allopathic (M.D.) [ , or ] osteopathic (D.O.) 
physician [ or medical student pursuing a degree as an 
M.D. or D.O., ] who [ has is enrolled in the final year of an 
approved residency program in allopathic medicine, 
osteopathic medicine, psychiatry, or already in practice; 
and who will have ] completed post-graduate training [ in 
an accredited residency ] in specialties of family practice 
medicine, general internal medicine, general pediatrics, 
obstetrics/gynecology, osteopathic general practice or 
psychiatry [ when the period of obligated service begins ]. 
Note that obstetrics/gynecology practitioners must provide 
prenatal care and obstetric service to be eligible for the 
Virginia Physician Loan Repayment Program. Practitioners 
who practice only gynecology are not eligible to participate 
in the loan repayment program; 

3. Have a valid unrestricted Virginia license to practice 
medicine, a copy of which shall be furnished to the 
Virginia Physician Loan Repayment Program; 

[ 4. Be enrolled in the final year of an approved residency 
program in allopathic medicine, osteopathic medicine, 
psychiatry or already in practice; 

5. 4. ] Have submitted a completed application to 
participate in the Virginia Physician Loan Repayment 
Program; and 

[ 6. 5. ] Have signed and submitted a written contract 
agreeing to repay educational loans and to serve for the 
applicable period of obligated service in an area of defined 
need. 

12VAC5-508-60. Application requirement and 
restrictions. 

The applicant must submit a completed application for loan 
repayment on a form provided by the Virginia Physician 
Loan Repayment Program between the dates of January 1 and 
May 1 of the year in which the applicant intends to initiate 
practice in a medically underserved area. The applicant must 
agree to serve for not less than two years and up to four years. 

12VAC5-508-70. Selection criteria. 

Applicants shall be competitively reviewed and selected for 
participation in the Virginia Physician Loan Repayment 
Program based upon the following criteria: 

1. Commitment to serve. The individual's stated 
commitment to serve in a designated medically 
underserved area of Virginia or in a state or local 
institution. 

2. Virginia residents/graduates. Preferential consideration 
will be given to individuals who are or have been Virginia 
residents, graduates of Virginia medical schools 
(verification will be obtained by the Virginia Physician 
Loan Repayment Program), or natives of rural [ and or ] 
designated medically underserved areas. 

3. Availability for service. Individuals who are 
immediately eligible and available for service will be given 
higher consideration. 

4. Length of proposed commitment. Preferential 
consideration will be given to individuals who commit to 
longer periods of service. 

5. Selection for participation. All of an individual's 
professional qualifications and competency to practice in 
an underserved area will be considered, including board 
eligibility or [ specialty ] certification [ in his specialty ], 
professional achievements, and other indicators of 
competency received from supervisors, program directors, 
[ etc or other individuals who have agreed to enter into an 
employment contract with the individual ]. 
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6. No other obligations. Individuals shall have no other 
obligation for health professional service to the federal 
government or state government unless such obligation 
will be completely satisfied prior to the beginning of 
service under the Virginia Physician Loan Repayment 
Program. 

12VAC5-508-80. Loan repayment amount. 

The amount that the Commonwealth agrees to repay will 
depend upon availability of funds and the applicant's 
indebtedness, but no amount will exceed the total 
indebtedness. For each year of participation, the 
Commonwealth will repay loan amounts according to the 
following schedule: two years of service will receive up to 
$50,000 (minimum requirement); three years of service will 
receive up to $85,000; and four years of service will receive 
up to $120,000. 

12VAC5-508-90. Loans qualifying for repayment. 

Based on the availability of funds, the loan repayment 
program will pay for the cost of education necessary to obtain 
a medical degree. The program will pay toward the 
outstanding principal, interest, and related expense of federal, 
state, or local government loans (not to include repayment of 
the Virginia Medical Scholarship Program) and commercial 
loans obtained by the participant for: 

1. School tuition and required fees incurred by the 
participant; 

2. Other reasonable educational expenses, including fees, 
books and laboratory expenses; and 

3. Reasonable living expenses. 

12VAC5-508-100. Repayment restrictions. 

[ A. ] The following financial debts or service obligations 
are not qualified for repayment by the loan repayment 
program: 

1. Public Health Service Physician Shortage Area 
Scholarship; 

2. Public Health and National Health Service Corps 
Scholarship Training Program; 

3. Indian Health Service Scholarship Program; 

4. Armed Forces Health Professions Scholarship Programs; 

5. National Health Service Corps Scholarship Program 
financial damages or loans obtained to repay such 
damages; 

6. Indian Health Corps Scholarship or loans obtained to 
repay such damages; 

7. Financial damages or loans obtained to repay damages 
incurred as a result of breach of contract with any other 
federal, state, local agency or commercial institution; 

8. Loans for which documentation verifying the 
educational use of the loans is not available or is not 
sufficient; 

9. Loans or part of loans obtained for educational or 
personal expenses during the participant's education that 
exceed the "reasonable" level, as determined by the 
school's standard budget in the year the loan was made; 

10. Loans that have been repaid in full, and loans that incur 
their own obligation for service which has not yet been 
performed; 

11. Loans from friends and relatives; and 

12. The Virginia Medical Scholarship Program. 

[ B. ] The Department of Health will be the final authority in 
determining qualifying educational loans. 

12VAC5-508-110. Release of information. 

Applicants shall agree to execute a release to allow the 
board access to loan records, credit information, and 
information from lenders necessary to verify eligibility and to 
determine loan repayments. To facilitate the process, 
applicants should submit pay-off statements from each 
lending institution. 

Participants who have consolidated qualifying loans with 
other loans may be asked to submit other documentation, 
such as copies of original loan applications, to verify the 
portion of the loan that qualifies for repayment. 

The applicant is required to submit all requested loan 
documentation prior to approval by the Commonwealth. 

12VAC5-508-120. Service obligation sites. 

All sites eligible for loan repayment participation will be 
located in a designated medically underserved area of the 
Commonwealth or in a state or local institution. All 
placements must be to an approved entity providing primary 
health care within the designated VMUA or HPSA or a state 
or local institution. Each applicant will be provided with a list 
of preapproved areas. 

12VAC5-508-130. Effective date for start of service. 

Applicants become participants in the loan repayment 
program only when the applicant and the commissioner or 
[ his ] designee have signed the loan repayment program 
contract. The effective start date of the obligated service 
under contract is the date of employment or the date of the 
commissioner's signature, whichever is later. 

If the contracted participant fails to begin or complete the 
period of professional practice to which he has agreed, the 
participant will be subject to the financial damages specified 
in the contract. 
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12VAC5-508-140. Repayment policy. 

It will be the responsibility of the participant to negotiate 
with each lending institution for the terms of the educational 
loan repayments. Each lending institution must certify that 
the participant's debt is a valid educational loan prior to 
payment by the loan repayment program. Any penalties 
associated with early repayment shall be the responsibility of 
the participant. 

12VAC5-508-150. Disbursement procedure. 

In an effort to assist loan repayment participants in reducing 
their educational debt with as little interest expense as is 
possible, the Virginia Physician Loan Repayment Program 
will disburse the funds in a lump sum payment. A participant 
will be paid one lump sum payment up to $50,000 the first 
year for the minimum two-year commitment within 45 days 
of execution of the contract. If a participant commits to a 
service obligation greater than two years, he will be paid a 
lump sum payment up to $35,000 the following year 
depending on availability of funds, approximately 45 days 
after the beginning of the subsequent year. The maximum 
number of years to which a participant can commit is four 
years. 

12VAC5-508-160. Compensation during service. 

Each participant is responsible for negotiating his own 
compensation package directly with the site where he will 
provide primary health care services. 

12VAC5-508-170. Tax implications. 

Loan repayments are income and, therefore, are taxable by 
the United States Internal Revenue Service. It will be the 
responsibility of each participant to report the loan repayment 
award when preparing his tax return. Program participants 
should [ seek the advice of consider working with ] a 
qualified tax advisor regarding this matter. 

The [ board department ] will provide a form 1099 to 
applicants awarded loan repayment. 

12VAC5-508-180. Monitoring during service. 

Monitoring of the service by participants shall be conducted 
on an ongoing basis by department staff. Service verification 
forms will be submitted by the participant to the department 
semi-annually (every six months), countersigned by a 
representative of the service site, [ e.g., the to include, but not 
limited to, a ] medical director, human resource coordinator, 
[ or ] chief executive officer, [ etc., ] certifying continuous 
full-time service by [ participants the participant ]. 

The participant is required to maintain practice records in a 
manner that will allow the department to readily determine if 
the individual has complied with or is complying with the 
terms and conditions of the participation agreement. 
Department staff reserves the right to conduct a regular 
survey to ensure that all participants are maintaining practices 

that accept Medicare and Medicaid assignment and do not 
discriminate based on the patient's ability to pay. 

12VAC5-508-190. Change of practice site. 

Should any participant find that he is unable to fulfill the 
service commitment at the loan repayment site to which he 
has committed to practice, he may be placed in breach of 
contract status or he may be expected to continue service at 
another approved loan repayment site within six months from 
departure from the previous site. This site will be selected in 
consultation with the participant and with the approval of the 
commissioner. 

In the event of a dispute between the participant and the site, 
every effort will be made to resolve the dispute before 
reassignment will be permitted. 

12VAC5-508-200. Terms of service. 

The following are the terms of service for the loan 
repayment program: 

1. The participant shall contract to provide a minimum of 
two years with a maximum of up to four years in whole 
year increments. Additional service beyond the two-year 
commitment is dependent upon the availability of state 
funds for the Virginia Physician Loan Repayment 
Program. An existing contract may be renewed for one 
year at a time up to a maximum of four years, as funds 
become available; 

2. The participant shall begin service within 12 months 
from entering into the contract; 

3. The participant shall provide full-time service of at least 
40 hours per week for 45 weeks per year to allow for 
continuing education, holidays, and vacation. The 
minimum 40-hour week must not be performed in less than 
four days per week, with no more than 12 hours of work 
performed in any 24-hour period. Time spent in an "on-
call" status will not count toward the 40-hour week. Any 
exceptions to the "on-call" provisions of this section must 
be approved in advance by the commissioner prior to 
placement. 

4. No period of internship, residency, or other advanced 
clinical training may count toward satisfying a period of 
obligated service under this loan repayment program. 

12VAC5-508-210. Conditions of practice. 

A. The participant must agree to provide health [ service 
services ] without discrimination regardless of a patient's 
ability to pay. Payments from Medicare and Medicaid [ or 
both ] must be accepted by the designated service site. 

B. The participant must agree to comply with all policies, 
rules, and regulations of the designated service site. 
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[ Article 3 Part III ]  
Contract  

12VAC5-508-220. Loan repayment contract. 

Prior to becoming a participant in the Virginia Physician 
Loan Repayment Program, the applicant shall enter into a 
contract with the commissioner agreeing to the terms and 
conditions upon which the loan repayment is granted. The 
contract shall: 

1. Include the terms and conditions to carry out the 
purposes and intent of this program; 

2. Provide that the participant will be required to provide 
primary health care services at an approved site in a 
designated medically underserved area or in a state or local 
institution for a minimum period of two years. A four-year 
commitment is required in order to be eligible for the 
maximum amount of loan repayment, depending upon 
availability of funds. All loan repayment program 
participation will be contingent upon continuous, full-time 
practice in a medically underserved area of Virginia or in a 
state or local institution; 

3. Provide for repayment of all amounts paid, plus interest, 
and penalties, less any service time, as set out in the 
contract in the event of breach of the contract; 

4. Be signed by the applicant; and 

5. Be signed by the commissioner or his designee. 

12VAC5-508-230. Breach of contract. 

The following may constitute breach of contract: 

1. Participant's failure to begin or complete his term of 
obligated service under the terms and conditions of the 
Virginia Physician Loan Repayment contract, regardless of 
the length of the agreed period of obligated service; 

2. Participant's falsification [ or and/or ] misrepresentation 
of information [ or misrepresentation of information ] on 
the program application or verification forms or other 
required [ document documents ]; 

3. Participant's employment being terminated for good 
cause, as determined by the employer and confirmed by the 
department. If employment is terminated for reasons 
beyond the participant's control (e.g., closure of site), the 
participant must transfer to another approved site in a 
designated medically underserved area or in a state or local 
institution within six months of termination. Failure of 
participant to accept such a transfer site shall be deemed to 
be a breach of the contract; and 

4. Participant's failure to provide all reasonable, usual and 
customary full-time health care service for at least 45 
weeks per year. 

12VAC5-508-240. Collection procedure. 

If any person who has received funds and has been declared 
in breach of contract under this program at any time becomes 
an employee of the Commonwealth or any of its agencies, he 
shall be deemed to have agreed, as a condition of 
employment, to voluntarily or involuntarily [ withholding 
have ] his wages [ withheld ] to repay the default damages. 

Failure of a participant to make any repayment of the 
penalty when it is due shall be cause for the commissioner to 
refer the debt to the Attorney General of the Commonwealth 
of Virginia for collection. The recipient shall be responsible 
for any costs of collection as may be provided in Virginia 
law. 

12VAC5-508-250. Waiver and suspension or both. 

Participants have the obligation to complete full-time 
continuous service for the period of their entire commitment. 
Under unusual circumstances (e.g., illness), a participant may 
request that the commissioner agree to a postponement of the 
service obligation. This postponement, if granted, will not 
relieve the participant of the responsibility to complete the 
remaining portion of the obligation. Such postponement will 
not be permitted as a matter of course, but may be allowed in 
the most compelling cases. 

Waiver of the default provisions may be considered if the 
participant suffers from a physical or mental disability that 
occurs after the participant's commitment and results in the 
total and permanent inability of the participant to perform the 
obligated service (as determined by the commissioner), or if 
the participant dies during the period of obligated service. 

12VAC5-508-260. Cash reimbursement and penalty. 

Regardless of the length of the agreed period of obligated 
service, participants who serve less than the two-year 
minimum (but at least one year) are liable to pay monetary 
damages to the Commonwealth of Virginia as stated in the 
contract. The default penalty will require the participant to 
repay twice the total amount of the award received. (For 
example, if a recipient owes $50,000, he would have to repay 
[ at a ] total of $100,000.) 

[ Article 4 Part IV ]  
Records and Reporting  

12VAC5-508-270. Reporting requirements. 

[ Reporting requirements of the loan repayment participant 
are as follows: ]  

[ A. 1. ] Each participant shall at any time provide 
information as required by the commissioner to verify 
compliance with the practice requirements of the Virginia 
Physician Loan Repayment Program, e.g., verification of 
employment, see 12VAC5-508-180. 
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[ B. 2. ] Each participant shall promptly notify the 
commissioner, in writing, within 30 days before any of the 
following events occur: 

[ 1. a. ] Participant changes name; 

[ 2. b. ] Participant changes address; 

[ 3. c. ] Participant changes practice site; 

[ 4. d. ] Participant no longer intends to fulfill service 
obligation as a primary care health care provider in a 
designated medically underserved area; or 

[ 5. e. ] Participant ceases to practice as a physician. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (12VAC5-508) 

[ 2009-2010 ] Application Form [ (rev. 1/10) ]. 

[ Application for Recruitment (Site Application). 

Authorization of Release Form. 

Certification. 

Certification of Nondelinquent Status. 

Verification of Employment. 

Documents Checklist. 

Virginia Loan Repayment Program Contract. 

Health Professional Shortage Areas (HPSAs) and Virginia 
Medically Underserved Areas (VMUAs) as of November 16, 
2001. ] 

VA.R. Doc. No. R01-106; Filed January 13, 2010, 10:41 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-590. Waterworks Regulations 
(amending 12VAC5-590-10; adding 12VAC5-590-125). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12, 32.1-170 and 32.1-174.4 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: April 2, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Robert A. K. Payne, Compliance Manager, 
Department of Health, 109 Governor St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 864-7498, or email 
rob.payne@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-12 of the Code of Virginia provides that 
State Board of Health may promulgate such regulations as 

may be necessary to carry out the provisions of this title and 
other laws of the Commonwealth administered by it, the 
commissioner, or the department. 

Section 32.1-170 specifically establishes that the purpose for 
the board's regulations governing drinking water is to protect 
public health and to promote public welfare. This section 
authorizes the board to adopt minimum health standards for 
pure water, and any other provisions necessary to guarantee a 
supply of pure water for the Commonwealth's citizens. 

Section 32.1-174.4 requires the State Board of Health to 
promulgate regulations that create mechanisms or 
enforcement options for eliminating chronically noncompliant 
waterworks. 

Chapters 648 and 774 of the 2007 General Assembly require 
the department to implement a program to identify 
chronically noncompliant waterworks and create mechanisms 
or enforcement options for eliminating chronically 
noncompliant waterworks.  (Note: An ancillary part of the 
General Assembly action was the amendment of § 15.2-2146, 
Powers of localities to acquire certain waterworks system. 
This is not part of this regulatory proposal.) 

Purpose: This action is the result of a Joint Legislative Audit 
and Review Commission study and subsequent General 
Assembly action. The proposed regulation identifies 
chronically noncompliant waterworks, requires written 
notification to all customers and to the county officers in 
which the waterworks is located, and prescribes specific 
action a waterworks owner must take to bring the waterworks 
into compliance with Waterworks Regulations or to eliminate 
the waterworks to protect public health. 

Substance: 12VAC5-590-10 includes the Code of Virginia 
definition of a chronically noncompliant waterworks into the 
body of the Waterworks Regulations. 

12VAC5-590-125 allows the State Health Commissioner to 
issue an order to the owner of a chronically noncompliant 
waterworks requiring the waterworks owner to submit: (i) a 
schedule for returning the waterworks to compliance and (ii) 
a comprehensive business plan (§ 32.1-172 B of the Code of 
Virginia). 

If the waterworks owner is financially incapable of 
performing any necessary capital improvements, the 
waterworks owner is required to make good faith applications 
to appropriate financial institutions for funding to complete 
the improvements.  The waterworks owner is also required to 
notify each consumer of the commissioner's order including a 
copy of the compliance schedule. 

Additionally, the commissioner is required to send a copy of 
the order to the chief administrative officer of the locality in 
which the waterworks is located. 
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The waterworks owner is subject to the civil fines provided in 
Article 2 (§ 32.1-167 et seq.) of Chapter 6 of Title 32.1 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Issues: The primary issue addressed by this proposed 
regulation is to attempt to protect the health of consumers 
served by a waterworks in Virginia that has been determined 
to be chronically noncompliant. The proposed regulation will 
require recalcitrant waterworks owners to bring the 
chronically noncompliant waterworks into compliance with 
the Waterworks Regulations. 

The State Health Commissioner will inform the local 
government in which the chronically noncompliant 
waterworks is located, that it may initiate action, if desired by 
the locality, to secure ownership of the waterworks and 
assume operation in compliance with the Waterworks 
Regulation. 

This proposed regulation poses no disadvantages to the public 
or the Commonwealth. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Pursuant to Chapters 648 and 774 of the 2007 General 
Assembly, the State Board of Health proposes to establish 
mechanisms and enforcement options to eliminate chronically 
noncompliant waterworks and adopt the statutory definition 
provided in the same legislation. 

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient data to accurately 
compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the costs. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Pursuant to Chapters 648 and 
774 of the 2007 General Assembly, the State Board of Health 
proposes to establish mechanisms and enforcement options to 
eliminate chronically noncompliant waterworks and adopt the 
statutory definition provided in the same legislation. 

Waterworks that provide water for drinking or domestic use 
are required to maintain clean and reliable supply of water. 
This goal is accomplished by requiring the owner of such 
systems to monitor the water quality periodically, to report 
the results to the Virginia Departement of Health (VDH), and 
to provide pertinent information to the customers. Once a 
problem identified with a waterworks, VDH starts to remedy 
the problem. While majority of problems have been resolved 
successfully, VDH reports that there have been about eight 
cases where the owner have failed to successfully remediate 
the problem for a long time despite repeated efforts. In 
response to the citizen concerns, legislation enacted in 2007 
directed the board to establish a program to improve 
compliance. 

The board proposes to require the owner of a chronically 
noncompliant waterworks to submit a compliance schedule 
and a comprehensive business plan to return the system to 
compliance. If the owner does not have the financial 

resources, he or she will be required to make good faith 
applications to financial institutions to fund needed 
improvements. The owner will also be required to send the 
copy of the commissioner’s order and a copy of the 
compliance schedule to the customers. The commissioner will 
also send a copy of the order to the local government where 
the waterworks is located. 

While there is likely to be some additional administrative 
costs associated with issuing an order, reviewing the 
compliance plan, and notifying the locality, VDH expects 
those costs to be minimal. Similarly, owners are expected to 
incur some administrative costs associated with drafting a 
compliance plan, distributing notices to customers, and 
making good faith applications to financial institutions if 
needed. 

On the other hand, to the extent the proposed new 
requirements improve compliance, an economic benefit in 
terms of reduced risks to health and safety may be expected 
from improved water quality. However, the ability of the 
proposed requirements to improve compliance may be 
somewhat limited as the owners can abandon the waterworks 
if the expected administrative or remediation costs associated 
with required compliance are too high. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Approximately 2,880 
waterworks are currently permitted in Virginia. Of those, only 
eight are estimated to be chronically noncompliant 
waterworks. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 
apply throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. No significant effect on 
employment is expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No 
significant effect on the use and value of private property 
expected. However, small administrative costs and potential 
remediation costs that may result from the proposed 
requirements would be expected to have a negative effect on 
the asset value of affected waterworks. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Of the 2,880 
water works approximately 1,806 are privately owned and all 
of them are believed to be small businesses. Thus, the 
potential administrative and remediation costs discussed 
above, would apply to small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. There is no known alternative method that 
would minimize the adverse effect for the same level of 
enforcement improvement. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No significant effect on real 
estate development costs is expected. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
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regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The agency concurs 
substantially with the economic impact analysis submitted by 
the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments provide a regulatory definition 
of a chronically noncompliant waterworks and establish an 
enforcement procedure that allows the commissioner to 
take action against recalcitrant waterworks owners to 
compel compliance and protect the public health and 
welfare. 

Part I 
General Framework for Waterworks Regulations  

Article 1 
Definitions 

12VAC5-590-10. Definitions. 

As used in this chapter, the following words and terms shall 
have meanings respectively set forth unless the context 
clearly requires a different meaning: 

"Action level" means the concentration of lead or copper in 
water specified in 12VAC5-590-410 E, which determines, in 
some cases, the treatment requirements contained in 
12VAC5-590-420 C, D, E and F that an owner is required to 
complete. 

"Air gap separation" means the unobstructed vertical 
distance through the free atmosphere between the lowest 
opening from any pipe or faucet supplying pure water to a 

tank, plumbing fixture, or other device and the rim of the 
receptacle. 

"Annual daily water demand" means the average rate of 
daily water usage over at least the most recent three-year 
period. 

"Applied water" means water that is ready for filtration. 

"Approved" means material, equipment, workmanship, 
process or method that has been accepted by the 
commissioner as suitable for the proposed use. 

"Auxiliary water system" means any water system on or 
available to the premises other than the waterworks. These 
auxiliary waters may include water from a source such as 
wells, lakes, or streams; or process fluids; or used water. 
They may be polluted or contaminated or objectionable, or 
constitute an unapproved water source or system over which 
the water purveyor does not have control. 

"Backflow" means the flow of water or other liquids, 
mixtures, or substances into the distribution piping of a 
waterworks from any source or sources other than its intended 
source. 

"Backflow prevention device" means any approved device, 
method, or type of construction intended to prevent backflow 
into a waterworks. 

"Bag filters" means pressure-driven separation devices that 
remove particulate matter larger than one micrometer using 
an engineered porous filtration media. They are typically 
constructed of a nonrigid, fabric filtration media housed in a 
pressure vessel in which the direction of flow is from the 
inside of the bag to outside. 

"Bank filtration" means a water treatment process that uses a 
well to recover surface water that has naturally infiltrated into 
groundwater through a river bed or bank(s). Infiltration is 
typically enhanced by the hydraulic gradient imposed by a 
nearby pumping water supply or other well(s). 

"Best available technology (BAT)" means the best 
technology, treatment techniques, or other means which that 
the commissioner finds, after examination for efficacy under 
field conditions and not solely under laboratory conditions 
and in conformance with applicable EPA regulations, are 
available (taking cost into consideration). 

"Board" means the State Board of Health. 

"Breakpoint chlorination" means the addition of chlorine to 
water until the chlorine demand has been satisfied and further 
additions result in a residual that is directly proportional to 
the amount added. 

"Cartridge filters" means pressure-driven separation devices 
that remove particulate matter larger than one micrometer 
using an engineered porous filtration media. They are 
typically constructed as rigid or semi-rigid, self-supporting 
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filter elements housed in pressure vessels in which flow is 
from the outside of the cartridge to the inside. 

"Chlorine" means dry chlorine. 

"Chlorine gas" means dry chlorine in the gaseous state. 

"Chlorine solution (chlorine water)" means a solution of 
chlorine in water. 

"Chronically noncompliant waterworks" or "CNC" means a 
waterworks that is unable to provide pure water for any of the 
following reasons: (i) the waterworks' record of performance 
demonstrates that it can no longer be depended upon to 
furnish pure water to the persons served; (ii) the owner has 
inadequate technical, financial, or managerial capacity to 
furnish pure water to the people served; (iii) the owner has 
failed to comply with an order issued by the board or the 
commissioner; (iv) the owner has abandoned the waterworks 
and has discontinued supplying pure water to the persons 
served; or (v) the owner is subject to a forfeiture order 
pursuant to § 32.1-174.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Coagulation" means a process using coagulant chemicals 
and mixing by which colloidal and suspended materials are 
destabilized and agglomerated into floc. 

"Coliform bacteria group" means a group of bacteria 
predominantly inhabiting the intestines of man or animal but 
also occasionally found elsewhere. It includes all aerobic and 
facultative anaerobic, gram-negative, non-sporeforming 
bacilli that ferment lactose with production of gas. Also 
included are all bacteria that produce a dark, purplish-green 
colony with metallic sheen by the membrane filter technique 
used for coliform identification. 

"Combined distribution system" means the interconnected 
distribution system consisting of the distribution systems of 
wholesale waterworks and of the consecutive waterworks that 
receive finished water. 

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner. 

"Community waterworks" means a waterworks which that 
serves at least 15 service connections used by year-round 
residents or regularly serves at least 25 year-round residents. 

"Compliance cycle" means the nine-year calendar year cycle 
during which a waterworks shall monitor. Each compliance 
cycle consists of three three-year compliance periods. The 
first calendar year cycle begins January 1, 1993, and ends 
December 31, 2001; the second begins January 1, 2002, and 
ends December 31, 2010; the third begins January 1, 2011, 
and ends December 31, 2019. 

"Compliance period" means a three-year calendar year 
period within a compliance cycle. Each compliance cycle has 
three three-year compliance periods. Within the first 
compliance cycle, the first compliance period runs from 
January 1, 1993, to December 31, 1995; the second from 

January 1, 1996, to December 31, 1998; the third from 
January 1, 1999, to December 31, 2001. 

"Comprehensive performance evaluation" or "(CPE)" means 
a thorough review and analysis of a treatment plant's 
performance-based capabilities and associated administrative, 
operational and maintenance practices. It is conducted to 
identify factors that may be adversely impacting a plant's 
capability to achieve compliance and emphasizes approaches 
that can be implemented without significant capital 
improvements. For purposes of compliance with 12VAC5-
590-530 C 1 b (2), the comprehensive performance evaluation 
shall consist of at least the following components: assessment 
of plant performance; evaluation of major unit processes; 
identification and prioritization of performance limiting 
factors; assessment of the applicability of comprehensive 
technical assistance; and preparation of a CPE report. 

"Confluent growth" means a continuous bacterial growth 
covering the entire filtration area of a membrane filter, or a 
portion thereof, in which bacterial colonies are not discrete. 

"Consecutive waterworks" means a waterworks which that 
has no water production or source facility of its own and 
which that obtains all of its water from another permitted 
waterworks or receives some or all of its finished water from 
one or more wholesale waterworks. Delivery may be through 
a direct connection or through the distribution system of one 
or more consecutive waterworks. 

"Consumer" means any person who drinks water from a 
waterworks. 

"Consumer's water system" means any water system located 
on the consumer's premises, supplied by or in any manner 
connected to a waterworks. 

"Contaminant" means any objectionable or hazardous 
physical, chemical, biological, or radiological substance or 
matter in water. 

"Conventional filtration treatment" means a series of 
processes including coagulation, flocculation, sedimentation, 
and filtration resulting in substantial particulate removal. 

"Corrosion inhibitor" means a substance capable of reducing 
the corrosivity of water toward metal plumbing materials, 
especially lead and copper, by forming a protective film on 
the interior surface of those materials. 

"Cross connection" means any connection or structural 
arrangement, direct or indirect, to the waterworks whereby 
backflow can occur. 

"CT" or "CTcalc" means the product of "residual disinfectant 
concentration" (C) in mg/L determined before or at the first 
customer, and the corresponding "disinfectant contact time" 
(T) in minutes, i.e., "C" x "T". 

"Daily fluid intake" means the daily intake of water for 
drinking and culinary use and is defined as two liters. 
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"Dechlorination" means the partial or complete reduction of 
residual chlorine in water by any chemical or physical process 
at a waterworks with a treatment facility. 

"Degree of hazard" means the level of health hazard, as 
derived from an evaluation of the potential risk to health and 
the adverse effect upon the waterworks. 

"Diatomaceous earth filtration" means a process resulting in 
substantial particulate removal in which (i) a precoat cake of 
diatomaceous earth filter media is deposited on a support 
membrane (septum), and (ii) while the water is filtered by 
passing through the cake on the septum, additional filter 
media known as body feed is continuously added to the feed 
water to maintain the permeability of the filter cake. 

"Direct filtration" means a series of processes including 
coagulation and filtration but excluding sedimentation 
resulting in substantial particulate removal. 

"Disinfectant" means any oxidant (including chlorine) that is 
added to water in any part of the treatment or distribution 
process for the purpose of killing or deactivating pathogenic 
organisms. 

"Disinfectant contact time" ("T" in CT calculations) means 
the time in minutes that it takes for water to move from the 
point of disinfectant application to the point where residual 
disinfectant concentration ("C") is measured. 

"Disinfection" means a process that inactivates pathogenic 
organisms in water by chemical oxidants or equivalent agents. 

"Disinfection profile" means a summary of Giardia lamblia 
or virus inactivation through the treatment plant. 

"Distribution main" means a water main whose primary 
purpose is to provide treated water to service connections. 

"District Engineer" means the employee assigned by the 
Commonwealth of Virginia, Department of Health, Office of 
Drinking Water to manage its regulatory activities in a 
geographical area of the state consisting of a state planning 
district or subunit of a state planning district. 

"Domestic or other nondistribution system plumbing 
problem" means a coliform contamination problem in a 
waterworks with more than one service connection that is 
limited to the specific service connection from which the 
coliform positive sample was taken. 

"Domestic use or usage" means normal family or household 
use, including drinking, laundering, bathing, cooking, 
heating, cleaning and flushing toilets (see Article 2 (§ 32.1-
167 et seq.) of Chapter 6 of Title 32.1 of the Code of 
Virginia). 

"Double gate-double check valve assembly" means an 
approved assembly composed of two single independently 
acting check valves including tightly closing shutoff valves 

located at each end of the assembly and petcocks and test 
gauges for testing the watertightness of each check valve. 

"Dual sample set" means a set of two samples collected at 
the same time and same location, with one sample analyzed 
for TTHM and the other sample analyzed for HAA5. Dual 
sample sets are collected for the purposes of conducting an 
initial distribution system evaluation (IDSE) under 12VAC5-
590-370 B 3 e (2) and determining compliance with the 
TTHM and HAA5 MCLs under 12VAC5-590-370 B 3 e (3). 

"Effective corrosion inhibitor residual," means, for the 
purpose of 12VAC5-590-420 C 1 only, a concentration 
sufficient to form a passivating film on the interior walls of a 
pipe. 

"Enhanced coagulation" means the addition of sufficient 
coagulant for improved removal of disinfection byproduct 
precursors by conventional filtration treatment. 

"Enhanced softening" means the improved removal of 
disinfection byproduct precursors by precipitative softening. 

"Entry point" means the place where water from the source 
after application of any treatment is delivered to the 
distribution system. 

"Equivalent residential connection" means a volume of 
water used equal to a residential connection which that is 400 
gallons per day unless supportive data indicates otherwise. 

"Exception" means an approved deviation from a "shall" 
criteria contained in Part III (12VAC5-590-640 et seq.) of this 
chapter. 

"Exemption" means a conditional waiver of a specific 
PMCL or treatment technique requirement which that is 
granted to a specific waterworks for a limited period of time. 

"Filter profile" means a graphical representation of 
individual filter performance, based on continuous turbidity 
measurements or total particle counts versus time for an entire 
filter run, from startup to backwash inclusively, that includes 
an assessment of filter performance while another filter is 
being backwashed. 

"Filtration" means a process for removing particulate matter 
from water by passage through porous media. 

"Finished water" means water that is introduced into the 
distribution system of a waterworks and is intended for 
distribution and consumption without further treatment, 
except as treatment necessary to maintain water quality in the 
distribution system (e.g., booster disinfection, addition of 
corrosion control chemicals). 

"First draw sample" means a one-liter sample of tap water, 
collected in accordance with 12VAC5-590-370 B 6 a (2), that 
has been standing in plumbing pipes at least six hours and is 
collected without flushing the tap. 
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"Flocculation" means a process to enhance agglomeration or 
collection of smaller floc particles into larger, more easily 
settleable particles through gentle stirring by hydraulic or 
mechanical means. 

"Flowing stream" means a course of running water flowing 
in a definite channel. 

"Free available chlorine" means that portion of the total 
residual chlorine remaining in water at the end of a specified 
contact period which that will react chemically and 
biologically as hypochlorous acid or hypochlorite ion. 

"GAC10" means granular activated carbon filter beds with 
an empty-bed contact time of 10 minutes based on average 
daily flow and a carbon reactivation frequency of every 180 
days, except that the reactivation frequency for GAC10 used 
as a best available technology for compliance with 12VAC5-
590-410 C 2 b (1) (b) shall be 120 days. 

"GAC20" means granular activated carbon filter beds with 
an empty-bed contact time of 20 minutes based on average 
daily flow and a carbon reactivation frequency of every 240 
days. 

"Governmental entity" means the Commonwealth, a town, 
city, county, service authority, sanitary district or any other 
governmental body established under the Code of Virginia, 
including departments, divisions, boards or commissions. 

"Gross alpha particle activity" means the total radioactivity 
due to alpha particle emission as inferred from measurements 
on a dry sample. 

"Gross beta particle activity" means the total radioactivity 
due to beta particle emission as inferred from measurements 
on a dry sample. 

"Groundwater" means all water obtained from sources not 
classified as surface water (or surface water sources). 

"Groundwater under the direct influence of surface water" 
means any water beneath the surface of the ground with 
significant occurrence of insects or other macroorganisms, 
algae, or large-diameter pathogens such as Giardia lamblia, or 
Cryptosporidium. It also means significant and relatively 
rapid shifts in water characteristics such as turbidity, 
temperature, conductivity, or pH that closely correlate to 
climatological or surface water conditions. The commissioner 
in accordance with 12VAC5-590-430 will determine direct 
influence of surface water. 

"Haloacetic acids (five)" or "(HAA5)" means the sum of the 
concentrations in milligrams per liter of the haloacetic acid 
compounds (monochloroacetic acid, dichloroacetic acid, 
trichloroacetic acid, monobromoacetic acid, and 
dibromoacetic acid), rounded to two significant figures after 
addition. 

"Halogen" means one of the chemical elements chlorine, 
bromine, fluorine, astatine or iodine. 

"Health hazard" means any condition, device, or practice in 
a waterworks or its operation that creates, or may create, a 
danger to the health and well-being of the water consumer. 

"Health regulations" means regulations which that include 
all primary maximum contaminant levels, treatment technique 
requirements, and all operational regulations, the violation of 
which would jeopardize the public health. 

"Hypochlorite" means a solution of water and some form of 
chlorine, usually sodium hypochlorite. 

"Initial compliance period" means for all regulated 
contaminants, the initial compliance period is the first full 
three-year compliance period beginning at least 18 months 
after promulgation with the exception of waterworks with 150 
or more service connections for contaminants listed at Table 
2.3, VOC 19-21; Table 2.3, SOC 19-33; and antimony, 
beryllium, cyanide (as free cyanide), nickel, and thallium 
which that shall begin January 1993. 

"Interchangeable connection" means an arrangement or 
device that will allow alternate but not simultaneous use of 
two sources of water. 

"Karstian geology" means an area predominantly underlain 
by limestone, dolomite, or gypsum and characterized by rapid 
underground drainage. Such areas often feature sinkholes, 
caverns, and sinking or disappearing creeks. In Virginia, this 
generally includes all that area west of the Blue Ridge and, in 
Southwest Virginia, east of the Cumberland Plateau. 

"Lake/reservoir" means a natural or man-made basin or 
hollow on the Earth's surface in which water collects or is 
stored that may or may not have a current or single direction 
of flow. 

"Large waterworks" means, for the purposes of 12VAC5-
590-370 B 6, 12VAC5-590-420 C through F, 12VAC5-590-
530 D, and 12VAC5-590-550 D only, a waterworks that 
serves more than 50,000 persons. 

"Lead free" means the following: 

1. When used with respect to solders and flux, refers to 
solders and flux containing not more than 0.2% lead; 

2. When used with respect to pipes and pipe fittings, refers 
to pipes and pipe fittings containing not more than 8.0% 
lead; 

3. When used with respect to plumbing fittings and fixtures 
intended by the plumbing manufacturer to dispense water 
for human ingestion, refers to fittings and fixtures that are 
in compliance with standards established in accordance 
with 42 USC § 300g-6(e). 

"Lead service line" means a service line made of lead which 
that connects the water main to the building inlet and any lead 
pigtail, gooseneck or other fitting that is connected to such 
lead line. 
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"Legionella" means a genus of bacteria, some species of 
which have caused a type of pneumonia called Legionnaires 
Disease. 

"Liquid chlorine" means a liquefied, compressed chlorine 
gas as shipped in commerce. 

"Locational running annual average" or "LRAA" means the 
average of sample analytical results for samples taken at a 
particular monitoring location during the previous four 
calendar quarters. 

"Log inactivation (log removal)" means that a 99% 
reduction is a 2-log inactivation; a 99.9% reduction is a 3-log 
inactivation; a 99.99% reduction is a 4-log inactivation. 

"Man-made beta particle and photon emitters" means all 
radionuclides emitting beta particles and/or photons listed in 
the most current edition of "Maximum Permissible Body 
Burdens and Maximum Permissible Concentration of 
Radionuclides in Air or Water for Occupational Exposure," 
National Bureau of Standards Handbook 69, except the 
daughter products of thorium-232, uranium-235 and uranium-
238. 

"Maximum daily water demand" means the rate of water 
usage during the day of maximum water use. 

"Maximum contaminant level (MCL)" means the maximum 
permissible level of a contaminant in water which that is 
delivered to any user of a waterworks, except in the cases of 
turbidity and VOCs, where the maximum permissible level is 
measured at each entry point to the distribution system. 
Contaminants added to the water under circumstances 
controlled by the user, except those resulting from corrosion 
of piping and plumbing caused by water quality, are excluded 
from this definition. MCLs are set as close to the MCLGs as 
feasible using the best available treatment technology. 
Maximum contaminant levels may be either "primary" 
(PMCL), meaning based on health considerations or 
"secondary" (SMCL) meaning based on aesthetic 
considerations. 

"Maximum residual disinfectant level (MRDL)" means a 
level of a disinfectant added for water treatment that may not 
be exceeded at the consumer's tap without an unacceptable 
possibility of adverse health effects. For chlorine and 
chloramines, a waterworks is in compliance with the MRDL 
when the running annual average of monthly averages of 
samples taken in the distribution system, computed quarterly, 
is less than or equal to the MRDL. For chlorine dioxide, a 
waterworks is in compliance with the MRDL when daily 
samples are taken at the entrance to the distribution system 
and no two consecutive daily samples exceed the MRDL. 
MRDLs are enforceable in the same manner as maximum 
contaminant levels. There is convincing evidence that 
addition of a disinfectant is necessary for control of 
waterborne microbial contaminants. Notwithstanding the 
MRDLs listed in Table 2.12, operators may increase residual 

disinfectant levels of chlorine or chloramines (but not 
chlorine dioxide) in the distribution system to a level and for 
a time necessary to protect public health to address specific 
microbiological contamination problems caused by 
circumstances such as distribution line breaks, storm runoff 
events, source water contamination, or cross-connections. 

"Maximum residual disinfectant level goal (MRDLG)" 
means the maximum level of a disinfectant added for water 
treatment at which no known or anticipated adverse effect on 
the health of persons would occur, and which that allows an 
adequate margin of safety. MRDLGs are nonenforceable 
health goals and do not reflect the benefit of the addition of 
the chemical for control of waterborne microbial 
contaminants. 

"Maximum total trihalomethane potential (MTP)" means the 
maximum concentration of total trihalomethanes produced in 
a given water containing a disinfectant residual after seven 
days at a temperature of 25°C or above. 

"Medium-size waterworks," means, for the purpose of 
12VAC5-590-370 B 6, 12VAC5-590-420 C through F, 
12VAC5-590-530, and 12VAC5-590-550 D only, a 
waterworks that serves greater than 3,300 and less than or 
equal to 50,000 persons. 

"Membrane filtration" means a pressure or vacuum-driven 
separation process in which particulate matter larger than one 
micrometer is rejected by an engineered barrier, primarily 
through a size exclusion mechanism, and that has a 
measurable removal efficiency of a target organism that can 
be verified through the application of a direct integrity test. 
This definition includes the common membrane technologies 
of microfiltration, ultrafiltration, nanofiltration, and reverse 
osmosis. 

"Method detection limit" means the minimum concentration 
of a substance that can be measured and reported with 99% 
confidence that the analyte concentration is greater than zero 
and is determined from analysis of a sample in a given matrix 
containing the analyte. 

"Most probable number (MPN)" means that number of 
organisms per unit volume that, in accordance with statistical 
theory, would be more likely than any other number to yield 
the observed test result or that would yield the observed test 
result with the greatest frequency, expressed as density of 
organisms per 100 milliliters. Results are computed from the 
number of positive findings of coliform-group organisms 
resulting from multiple-portion decimal-dilution plantings. 

"Noncommunity waterworks" means a waterworks that is 
not a community waterworks, but operates at least 60 days 
out of the year. 

"Nonpotable water" means water not classified as pure 
water. 
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"Nontransient noncommunity waterworks (NTNC)" means a 
waterworks that is not a community waterworks and that 
regularly serves at least 25 of the same persons over six 
months out of the year. 

"Office" means the Commonwealth of Virginia, Department 
of Health, Office of Drinking Water. 

"One hundred year flood level" means the flood elevation 
which that will, over a long period of time, be equaled or 
exceeded on the average once every 100 years. 

"Operator" means any individual employed or appointed by 
any owner, and who is designated by such owner to be the 
person in responsible charge, such as a supervisor, a shift 
operator, or a substitute in charge, and whose duties include 
testing or evaluation to control waterworks operations. Not 
included in this definition are superintendents or directors of 
public works, city engineers, or other municipal or industrial 
officials whose duties do not include the actual operation or 
direct supervision of waterworks. 

"Optimal corrosion control treatment" means the corrosion 
control treatment that minimizes the lead and copper 
concentrations at users' taps while ensuring that the treatment 
does not cause the waterworks to violate any other section of 
this chapter. 

"Owner" or "water purveyor" means an individual, group of 
individuals, partnership, firm, association, institution, 
corporation, governmental entity, or the federal government 
which that supplies or proposes to supply water to any person 
within this state from or by means of any waterworks (see 
Article 2 (§ 32.1-167 et seq.) of Chapter 6 of Title 32.1 of the 
Code of Virginia). 

"Picocurie (pCi)" means that quantity of radioactive material 
producing 2.22 nuclear transformations per minute. 

"Plant intake" means the works or structures at the head of a 
conduit through which water is diverted from a source (e.g., 
river or lake) into the treatment plant. 

"Point of disinfectant application" means the point where the 
disinfectant is applied and water downstream of that point is 
not subject to recontamination by surface water runoff. 

"Point-of-entry treatment device (POE)" means a treatment 
device applied to the water entering a house or building for 
the purpose of reducing contaminants in the water distributed 
throughout the house or building. 

"Point-of-use treatment device (POU)" means a treatment 
device applied to a single tap for the purpose of reducing 
contaminants in the water at that one tap. 

"Pollution" means the presence of any foreign substance 
(chemical, physical, radiological, or biological) in water that 
tends to degrade its quality so as to constitute an unnecessary 
risk or impair the usefulness of the water. 

"Pollution hazard" means a condition through which an 
aesthetically objectionable or degrading material may enter 
the waterworks or a consumer's water system. 

"Post-chlorination" means the application of chlorine to 
water subsequent to treatment. 

"Practical quantitation level (PQL)" means the lowest level 
achievable by good laboratories within specified limits during 
routine laboratory operating conditions. 

"Prechlorination" means the application of chlorine to water 
prior to filtration. 

"Presedimentation" means a preliminary treatment process 
used to remove gravel, sand and other particulate material 
from the source water through settling before the water enters 
the primary clarification and filtration processes in a 
treatment plant. 

"Process fluids" means any fluid or solution which that may 
be chemically, biologically, or otherwise contaminated or 
polluted which that would constitute a health, pollutional, or 
system hazard if introduced into the waterworks. This 
includes, but is not limited to: 

1. Polluted or contaminated water; 

2. Process waters; 

3. Used waters, originating from the waterworks which that 
may have deteriorated in sanitary quality; 

4. Cooling waters; 

5. Contaminated natural waters taken from wells, lakes, 
streams, or irrigation systems; 

6. Chemicals in solution or suspension; and 

7. Oils, gases, acids, alkalis, and other liquid and gaseous 
fluid used in industrial or other processes, or for fire 
fighting purposes. 

"Pure water" or "potable water" means water fit for human 
consumption and domestic use which that is sanitary and 
normally free of minerals, organic substances, and toxic 
agents in excess of reasonable amounts for domestic usage in 
the area served and normally adequate in quantity and quality 
for the minimum health requirements of the persons served 
(see Article 2 (§ 32.1-167 et seq.) of Chapter 6 of Title 32.1 
of the Code of Virginia). 

"Raw water main" means a water main which that conveys 
untreated water from a source to a treatment facility. 

"Reduced pressure principle backflow prevention device 
(RPZ device)" means a device containing a minimum of two 
independently acting check valves together with an 
automatically operated pressure differential relief valve 
located between the two check valves. During normal flow 
and at the cessation of normal flow, the pressure between 
these two checks shall be less than the supply pressure. In 
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case of leakage of either check valve, the differential relief 
valve, by discharging to the atmosphere, shall operate to 
maintain the pressure between the check valves at less than 
the supply pressure. The unit shall include tightly closing 
shut-off valves located at each end of the device, and each 
device shall be fitted with properly located test cocks. These 
devices shall be of the approved type. 

"REM" means the unit of dose equivalent from ionizing 
radiation to the total body or any internal organ or organ 
system. A "millirem" (MREM) is 1/1000 of a REM. 

"Repeat compliance period" means any subsequent 
compliance period after the initial compliance period. 

"Residual disinfectant concentration ("C" in CT 
Calculations)" means the concentration of disinfectant 
measured in mg/L in a representative sample of water. 

"Responsible charge" means designation by the owner of 
any individual to have duty and authority to operate or 
modify the operation of waterworks processes. 

"Sanitary facilities" means piping and fixtures, such as 
sinks, lavatories, showers, and toilets, supplied with potable 
water and drained by wastewater piping. 

"Sanitary survey" means an investigation of any condition 
that may affect public health. 

"Secondary water source" means any approved water 
source, other than a waterworks' primary source, connected to 
or available to that waterworks for emergency or other 
nonregular use. 

"Sedimentation" means a process for removal of solids 
before filtration by gravity or separation. 

"Service connection" means the point of delivery of water to 
a customer's building service line as follows: 

1. If a meter is installed, the service connection is the 
downstream side of the meter; 

2. If a meter is not installed, the service connection is the 
point of connection to the waterworks; 

3. When the water purveyor is also the building owner, the 
service connection is the entry point to the building. 

"Service line sample" means a one-liter sample of water, 
collected in accordance with 12VAC5-590-370 B 6 a (2) (c), 
that has been standing for at least six hours in a service line. 

"Sewer" means any pipe or conduit used to convey sewage 
or industrial waste streams. 

"Single family structure," means, for the purpose of 
12VAC5-590-370 B 6 (a) only, a building constructed as a 
single-family residence that is currently used as either a 
residence or a place of business. 

"Slow sand filtration" means a process involving passage of 
raw water through a bed of sand at low velocity (generally 
less than 0.4 m/h) resulting in substantial particulate removal 
by physical and biological mechanisms. 

"Small waterworks," means, for the purpose of 12VAC5-
590-370 B 6, 12VAC5-590-420 C through F, 12VAC5-590-
530 D and 12VAC5-590-550 D only, a waterworks that 
serves 3,300 persons or fewer. 

"Standard sample" means that portion of finished drinking 
water that is examined for the presence of coliform bacteria. 

"Surface water" means all water open to the atmosphere and 
subject to surface runoff. 

"SUVA" means specific ultraviolet absorption at 254 
nanometers (nm), an indicator of the humic content of water. 
It is a calculated parameter obtained by dividing a sample's 
ultraviolet absorption at a wavelength of 254 nm (UV254) (in 
m-1) by its concentration of dissolved organic carbon (DOC) 
(in mg/L). 

"Synthetic organic chemicals (SOC)" means one of the 
family of organic man-made compounds generally utilized for 
agriculture or industrial purposes. 

"System hazard" means a condition posing an actual, or 
threat of, damage to the physical properties of the waterworks 
or a consumer's water system. 

"Terminal reservoir" means an impoundment providing end 
storage of water prior to treatment. 

"Too numerous to count" means that the total number of 
bacterial colonies exceeds 200 on a 47-mm diameter 
membrane filter used for coliform detection. 

"Total effective storage volume" means the volume 
available to store water in distribution reservoirs measured as 
the difference between the reservoir's overflow elevation and 
the minimum storage elevation. The minimum storage 
elevation is that elevation of water in the reservoir that can 
provide a minimum pressure of 20 psi at a flow as determined 
in 12VAC5-590-690 C to the highest elevation served within 
that reservoir's service area under systemwide maximum 
daily water demand. 

"Total organic carbon" (TOC) means total organic carbon in 
mg/L measured using heat, oxygen, ultraviolet irradiation, 
chemical oxidants, or combinations of these oxidants that 
convert organic carbon to carbon dioxide, rounded to two 
significant figures. 

"Total trihalomethanes (TTHM)" means the sum of the 
concentrations of the trihalomethanes expressed in milligrams 
per liter (mg/L) and rounded to two significant figures. For 
the purpose of these regulations, the TTHM's shall mean 
trichloromethane (chloroform), dibromochloromethane, 
bromodichloromethane, and tribromomethane (bromoform). 
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"Transmission main" means a water main whose primary 
purpose is to move significant quantities of treated water 
among service areas. 

"Treatment technique requirement" means a requirement 
which that specifies for a contaminant a specific treatment 
technique(s) demonstrated to the satisfaction of the division 
to lead to a reduction in the level of such contaminant 
sufficient to comply with these regulations. 

"Trihalomethane (THM)" means one of the family of 
organic compounds, named as derivatives of methane, 
wherein three of the four hydrogen atoms in methane are each 
substituted by a halogen atom in the molecular structure. 

"Two-stage lime softening" means a process in which 
chemical addition and hardness precipitation occur in each of 
two distinct unit clarification processes in series prior to 
filtration. 

"Uncovered finished water storage facility" means a tank, 
reservoir, or other facility used to store water that will 
undergo no further treatment to reduce microbial pathogens 
(except residual disinfection) and is directly open to the 
atmosphere. 

"Unregulated contaminant (UC)" means a contaminant for 
which a monitoring requirement has been established, but for 
which no MCL or treatment technique requirement has been 
established. 

"Used water" means any water supplied by a water purveyor 
from the waterworks to a consumer's water system after it has 
passed through the service connection. 

"Variance" means a conditional waiver of a specific 
regulation which that is granted to a specific waterworks. A 
PMCL Variance is a variance to a Primary Maximum 
Contaminant Level, or a treatment technique requirement. An 
Operational Variance is a variance to an operational 
regulation or a Secondary Maximum Contaminant Level. 
Variances for monitoring, reporting and public notification 
requirements will not be granted. 

"Virus" means a microbe that is infectious to humans by 
waterborne transmission. 

"Volatile synthetic organic chemical (VOC)" means one of 
the family of manmade organic compounds generally 
characterized by low molecular weight and rapid vaporization 
at relatively low temperatures or pressures. 

"Waterborne disease outbreak" means the significant 
occurrence of acute infectious illness, epidemiologically 
associated with the ingestion of water from a waterworks 
which that is deficient in treatment, as determined by the 
commissioner or the State Epidemiologist. 

"Water purveyor" (same as owner). 

"Water supply" means water that shall have been taken into 
a waterworks from all wells, streams, springs, lakes, and 
other bodies of surface waters (natural or impounded), and 
the tributaries thereto, and all impounded groundwater, but 
the term "water supply" shall not include any waters above 
the point of intake of such waterworks (see Article 2 (§ 32.1-
167 et seq.) of Chapter 6 of Title 32.1 of the Code of 
Virginia). 

"Water supply main" or "main" means any water supply 
pipeline that is part of a waterworks distribution system. 

"Water Well Completion Report" means a report form 
published by the State Water Control Board entitled "Water 
Well Completion Report," which requests specific 
information pertaining to the ownership, driller, location, 
geological formations penetrated, water quantity and quality 
encountered as well as construction of water wells. The form 
is to be completed by the well driller. 

"Waterworks" means a system that serves piped water for 
drinking or domestic use to (i) the public, (ii) at least 15 
connections, or (iii) an average of 25 individuals for at least 
60 days out of the year. The term "waterworks" shall include 
all structures, equipment and appurtenances used in the 
storage, collection, purification, treatment and distribution of 
pure water except the piping and fixtures inside the building 
where such water is delivered (see Article 2 (§ 32.1-167 et 
seq.) of Chapter 6 of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia). 

"Waterworks with a single service connection" means a 
waterworks which that supplies drinking water to consumers 
via a single service line. 

"Wholesale waterworks" means a waterworks that treats 
source water as necessary to produce finished water and then 
delivers some or all of that finished water to another 
waterworks. Delivery may be through a direct connection or 
through the distribution system of one or more consecutive 
waterworks. 

12VAC5-590-125. Chronically noncompliant waterworks. 

A. The commissioner may identify a waterworks as 
chronically noncompliant (CNC) whenever he determines 
that: 

1. The waterworks has a documented performance record 
that demonstrates the waterworks is not a dependable 
supplier of potable water; 

2. The owner has shown inadequate technical, financial, or 
managerial capabilities to provide potable water; 

3. The owner has failed to comply with an order issued by 
the commissioner; 

4. The owner has abandoned the waterworks and has 
discontinued providing potable water to the consumers; or 
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5. The owner is subject to a forfeiture order pursuant to 
§ 32.1-174.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Once the commissioner determines that a waterworks is 
CNC, he shall issue an order to the owner containing a 
schedule to bring the waterworks into compliance with this 
chapter and require the submission of a comprehensive 
business plan pursuant to § 32.1-172 B of the Code of 
Virginia. If capital improvements are necessary to bring the 
waterworks into compliance, and the owner does not possess 
sufficient assets to make the necessary improvements, the 
order shall require the owner to make annual, good faith 
applications for loans, grants, or both, to appropriate financial 
institutions to secure funding for such improvements, until 
such improvements are complete and operational. The owner 
shall provide a copy of the order to each consumer with a 
copy of the compliance schedule within 10 calendar days of 
issuance of the order. 

C. The owner shall provide the commissioner a copy of the 
notice distributed and a signed certification of the distribution 
completion date within five calendar days of completing the 
notification required in subsection B of this section. 

D. The commissioner shall send a copy of the order to the 
chief administrative officer of the locality in which the 
waterworks is located for appropriate action under § 15.2-
2146 of the Code of Virginia. 

E. In addition to the provisions of § 32.1-27 of the Code of 
Virginia, any owner who violates this chapter, an order of the 
board, or a statute governing public water supplies shall be 
subject to those civil penalties provided in §§ 32.1-167 
through 32.1-176 of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1136; Filed January 11, 2010, 2:54 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, and 
Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services (amending 
12VAC30-50-130). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia; 42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Effective Date: March 3, 2010.  

Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This amendment implements Item 306 OO of Chapter 879 
of the 2008 Acts of Assembly by requiring providers to 
obtain prior authorization in order to be reimbursed for 

intensive in-home services to children and adolescents.  
This requirement has been in effect since July 2, 2008, 
under emergency regulations.   

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

12VAC30-50-130. Skilled nursing facility services, 
EPSDT, school health services and family planning. 

A. Skilled nursing facility services (other than services in an 
institution for mental diseases) for individuals 21 years of age 
or older. 

Service must be ordered or prescribed and directed or 
performed within the scope of a license of the practitioner of 
the healing arts. 

B. Early and periodic screening and diagnosis of individuals 
under 21 years of age, and treatment of conditions found. 

1. Payment of medical assistance services shall be made on 
behalf of individuals under 21 years of age, who are 
Medicaid eligible, for medically necessary stays in acute 
care facilities, and the accompanying attendant physician 
care, in excess of 21 days per admission when such 
services are rendered for the purpose of diagnosis and 
treatment of health conditions identified through a physical 
examination. 

2. Routine physicals and immunizations (except as 
provided through EPSDT) are not covered except that 
well-child examinations in a private physician's office are 
covered for foster children of the local social services 
departments on specific referral from those departments. 

3. Orthoptics services shall only be reimbursed if 
medically necessary to correct a visual defect identified by 
an EPSDT examination or evaluation. The department 
shall place appropriate utilization controls upon this 
service. 

4. Consistent with the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act 
of 1989 § 6403, early and periodic screening, diagnostic, 
and treatment services means the following services: 
screening services, vision services, dental services, hearing 
services, and such other necessary health care, diagnostic 
services, treatment, and other measures described in Social 
Security Act § 1905(a) to correct or ameliorate defects and 
physical and mental illnesses and conditions discovered by 
the screening services and which are medically necessary, 
whether or not such services are covered under the State 
Plan and notwithstanding the limitations, applicable to 
recipients ages 21 and over, provided for by the Act § 
1905(a). 

5. Community mental health services. 

a. Intensive in-home services to children and adolescents 
under age 21 shall be time-limited interventions provided 
typically but not solely in the residence of a child who is 
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at risk of being moved into an out-of-home placement or 
who is being transitioned to home from out-of-home 
placement due to a documented medical need of the 
child. These services provide crisis treatment; individual 
and family counseling; and communication skills (e.g., 
counseling to assist the child and his parents to 
understand and practice appropriate problem solving, 
anger management, and interpersonal interaction, etc.); 
case management activities and coordination with other 
required services; and 24-hour emergency response. 
These services shall be limited annually to 26 weeks. 
After an initial period, prior authorization is required for 
Medicaid reimbursement. 

b. Therapeutic day treatment shall be provided two or 
more hours per day in order to provide therapeutic 
interventions. Day treatment programs, limited annually 
to 780 units, provide evaluation; medication; education 
and management; opportunities to learn and use daily 
living skills and to enhance social and interpersonal skills 
(e.g., problem solving, anger management, community 
responsibility, increased impulse control, and appropriate 
peer relations, etc.); and individual, group and family 
psychotherapy. 

c. Community-Based Services for Children and 
Adolescents under 21 (Level A). 

(1) Such services shall be a combination of therapeutic 
services rendered in a residential setting. The residential 
services will provide structure for daily activities, 
psychoeducation, therapeutic supervision and psychiatric 
treatment to ensure the attainment of therapeutic mental 
health goals as identified in the individual service plan 
(plan of care). Individuals qualifying for this service 
must demonstrate medical necessity for the service 
arising from a condition due to mental, behavioral or 
emotional illness that results in significant functional 
impairments in major life activities in the home, school, 
at work, or in the community. The service must 
reasonably be expected to improve the child's condition 
or prevent regression so that the services will no longer 
be needed. DMAS will reimburse only for services 
provided in facilities or programs with no more than 16 
beds. 

(2) In addition to the residential services, the child must 
receive, at least weekly, individual psychotherapy that is 
provided by a licensed mental health professional. 

(3) Individuals must be discharged from this service 
when other less intensive services may achieve 
stabilization. 

(4) Authorization is required for Medicaid 
reimbursement. 

(5) Room and board costs are not reimbursed. Facilities 
that only provide independent living services are not 
reimbursed. 

(6) Providers must be licensed by the Department of 
Social Services, Department of Juvenile Justice, or 
Department of Education under the Standards for 
Interdepartmental Regulation of Children's Residential 
Facilities (22VAC42-10). 

(7) Psychoeducational programming must include, but is 
not limited to, development or maintenance of daily 
living skills, anger management, social skills, family 
living skills, communication skills, and stress 
management. 

(8) The facility/group home must coordinate services 
with other providers. 

d. Therapeutic Behavioral Services (Level B). 

(1) Such services must be therapeutic services rendered 
in a residential setting that provides structure for daily 
activities, psychoeducation, therapeutic supervision and 
psychiatric treatment to ensure the attainment of 
therapeutic mental health goals as identified in the 
individual service plan (plan of care). Individuals 
qualifying for this service must demonstrate medical 
necessity for the service arising from a condition due to 
mental, behavioral or emotional illness that results in 
significant functional impairments in major life activities 
in the home, school, at work, or in the community. The 
service must reasonably be expected to improve the 
child's condition or prevent regression so that the 
services will no longer be needed. DMAS will reimburse 
only for services provided in facilities or programs with 
no more than 16 beds. 

(2) Authorization is required for Medicaid 
reimbursement. 

(3) Room and board costs are not reimbursed. Facilities 
that only provide independent living services are not 
reimbursed. 

(4) Providers must be licensed by the Department of 
Mental Health, Mental Retardation, and Substance Abuse 
Services (DMHMRSAS) under the Standards for 
Interdepartmental Regulation of Children's Residential 
Facilities (22VAC42-10). 

(5) Psychoeducational programming must include, but is 
not limited to, development or maintenance of daily 
living skills, anger management, social skills, family 
living skills, communication skills, and stress 
management. This service may be provided in a program 
setting or a community-based group home. 
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(6) The child must receive, at least weekly, individual 
psychotherapy and, at least weekly, group psychotherapy 
that is provided as part of the program. 

(7) Individuals must be discharged from this service 
when other less intensive services may achieve 
stabilization. 

6. Inpatient psychiatric services shall be covered for 
individuals younger than age 21 for medically necessary 
stays for the purpose of diagnosis and treatment of mental 
health and behavioral disorders identified under EPSDT 
when such services are rendered by: 

a. A psychiatric hospital or an inpatient psychiatric 
program in a hospital accredited by the Joint Commission 
on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations; or a 
psychiatric facility that is accredited by the Joint 
Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 
Organizations, the Commission on Accreditation of 
Rehabilitation Facilities, the Council on Accreditation of 
Services for Families and Children or the Council on 
Quality and Leadership. 

b. Inpatient psychiatric hospital admissions at general 
acute care hospitals and freestanding psychiatric 
hospitals shall also be subject to the requirements of 
12VAC30-50-100, 12VAC30-50-105, and 12VAC30-60-
25. Inpatient psychiatric admissions to residential 
treatment facilities shall also be subject to the 
requirements of Part XIV (12VAC30-130-850 et seq.) of 
this chapter. 

c. Inpatient psychiatric services are reimbursable only 
when the treatment program is fully in compliance with 
42 CFR Part 441 Subpart D, as contained in 42 CFR 
441.151 (a) and (b) and 441.152 through 441.156. Each 
admission must be preauthorized and the treatment must 
meet DMAS requirements for clinical necessity. 

7. Hearing aids shall be reimbursed for individuals younger 
than 21 years of age according to medical necessity when 
provided by practitioners licensed to engage in the practice 
of fitting or dealing in hearing aids under the Code of 
Virginia. 

C. School health services. 

1. School health assistant services are repealed effective 
July 1, 2006. 

2. School divisions may provide routine well-child 
screening services under the State Plan. Diagnostic and 
treatment services that are otherwise covered under early 
and periodic screening, diagnosis and treatment services, 
shall not be covered for school divisions. School divisions 
to receive reimbursement for the screenings shall be 
enrolled with DMAS as clinic providers. 

a. Children enrolled in managed care organizations shall 
receive screenings from those organizations. School 
divisions shall not receive reimbursement for screenings 
from DMAS for these children. 

b. School-based services are listed in a recipient's 
Individualized Education Program (IEP) and covered 
under one or more of the service categories described in 
§ 1905(a) of the Social Security Act. These services are 
necessary to correct or ameliorate defects of physical or 
mental illnesses or conditions. 

3. Service providers shall be licensed under the applicable 
state practice act or comparable licensing criteria by the 
Virginia Department of Education, and shall meet 
applicable qualifications under 42 CFR Part 440. 
Identification of defects, illnesses or conditions and 
services necessary to correct or ameliorate them shall be 
performed by practitioners qualified to make those 
determinations within their licensed scope of practice, 
either as a member of the IEP team or by a qualified 
practitioner outside the IEP team. 

a. Service providers shall be employed by the school 
division or under contract to the school division.  

b. Supervision of services by providers recognized in 
subdivision 4 of this subsection shall occur as allowed 
under federal regulations and consistent with Virginia 
law, regulations, and DMAS provider manuals.  

c. The services described in subdivision 4 of this 
subsection shall be delivered by school providers, but 
may also be available in the community from other 
providers. 

d. Services in this subsection are subject to utilization 
control as provided under 42 CFR Parts 455 and 456.  

e. The IEP shall determine whether or not the services 
described in subdivision 4 of this subsection are 
medically necessary and that the treatment prescribed is 
in accordance with standards of medical practice. 
Medical necessity is defined as services ordered by IEP 
providers. The IEP providers are qualified Medicaid 
providers to make the medical necessity determination in 
accordance with their scope of practice. The services 
must be described as to the amount, duration and scope.  

4. Covered services include: 

a. Physical therapy, occupational therapy and services for 
individuals with speech, hearing, and language disorders, 
performed by, or under the direction of, providers who 
meet the qualifications set forth at 42 CFR 440.110. This 
coverage includes audiology services; 

b. Skilled nursing services are covered under 42 CFR 
440.60. These services are to be rendered in accordance 
to the licensing standards and criteria of the Virginia 
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Board of Nursing. Nursing services are to be provided by 
licensed registered nurses or licensed practical nurses but 
may be delegated by licensed registered nurses in 
accordance with the regulations of the Virginia Board of 
Nursing, especially the section on delegation of nursing 
tasks and procedures. the licensed practical nurse is 
under the supervision of a registered nurse.  

(1) The coverage of skilled nursing services shall be of a 
level of complexity and sophistication (based on 
assessment, planning, implementation and evaluation) 
that is consistent with skilled nursing services when 
performed by a licensed registered nurse or a licensed 
practical nurse. These skilled nursing services shall 
include, but not necessarily be limited to dressing 
changes, maintaining patent airways, medication 
administration/monitoring and urinary catheterizations.  

(2) Skilled nursing services shall be directly and 
specifically related to an active, written plan of care 
developed by a registered nurse that is based on a written 
order from a physician, physician assistant or nurse 
practitioner for skilled nursing services. This order shall 
be recertified on an annual basis.  

c. Psychiatric and psychological services performed by 
licensed practitioners within the scope of practice are 
defined under state law or regulations and covered as 
physicians' services under 42 CFR 440.50 or medical or 
other remedial care under 42 CFR 440.60. These 
outpatient services include individual medical 
psychotherapy, group medical psychotherapy coverage, 
and family medical psychotherapy. Psychological and 
neuropsychological testing are allowed when done for 
purposes other than educational diagnosis, school 
admission, evaluation of an individual with mental 
retardation prior to admission to a nursing facility, or any 
placement issue. These services are covered in the 
nonschool settings also. School providers who may 
render these services when licensed by the state include 
psychiatrists, licensed clinical psychologists, school 
psychologists, licensed clinical social workers, 
professional counselors, psychiatric clinical nurse 
specialist, marriage and family therapists, and school 
social workers. 

d. Personal care services are covered under 42 CFR 
440.167 and performed by persons qualified under this 
subsection. The personal care assistant is supervised by a 
DMAS recognized school-based health professional who 
is acting within the scope of licensure. This practitioner 
develops a written plan for meeting the needs of the 
child, which is implemented by the assistant. The 
assistant must have qualifications comparable to those 
for other personal care aides recognized by the Virginia 
Department of Medical Assistance Services. The 
assistant performs services such as assisting with 

toileting, ambulation, and eating. The assistant may serve 
as an aide on a specially adapted school vehicle that 
enables transportation to or from the school or school 
contracted provider on days when the student is receiving 
a Medicaid-covered service under the IEP. Children 
requiring an aide during transportation on a specially 
adapted vehicle shall have this stated in the IEP. 

e. Medical evaluation services are covered as physicians' 
services under 42 CFR 440.50 or as medical or other 
remedial care under 42 CFR 440.60. Persons performing 
these services shall be licensed physicians, physician 
assistants, or nurse practitioners. These practitioners shall 
identify the nature or extent of a child's medical or other 
health related condition.  

f. Transportation is covered as allowed under 42 CFR 
431.53 and described at State Plan Attachment 3.1-D. 
Transportation shall be rendered only by school division 
personnel or contractors. Transportation is covered for a 
child who requires transportation on a specially adapted 
school vehicle that enables transportation to or from the 
school or school contracted provider on days when the 
student is receiving a Medicaid-covered service under the 
IEP. Transportation shall be listed in the child's IEP. 
Children requiring an aide during transportation on a 
specially adapted vehicle shall have this stated in the IEP.  

g. Assessments are covered as necessary to assess or 
reassess the need for medical services in a child's IEP 
and shall be performed by any of the above licensed 
practitioners within the scope of practice. Assessments 
and reassessments not tied to medical needs of the child 
shall not be covered. 

5. DMAS will ensure through quality management review 
that duplication of services will be monitored. School 
divisions have a responsibility to ensure that if a child is 
receiving additional therapy outside of the school, that 
there will be coordination of services to avoid duplication 
of service.  

D. Family planning services and supplies for individuals of 
child-bearing age. 

1. Service must be ordered or prescribed and directed or 
performed within the scope of the license of a practitioner 
of the healing arts. 

2. Family planning services shall be defined as those 
services that delay or prevent pregnancy. Coverage of such 
services shall not include services to treat infertility nor 
services to promote fertility. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1328; Filed January 5, 2010, 3:55 p.m.  
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Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards 
for Establishing Payment Rates; Other Types of Care 
(amending 12VAC30-80-20, 12VAC30-80-200; adding 
12VAC30-80-35).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 3, 2010.  

Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This action implements reimbursement changes for 
ambulatory surgery centers as well as outpatient 
rehabilitation facilities that are currently reimbursed on a 
cost basis. Since publication of the proposed regulations, 
12VAC30-80-200 is changed to delete a reference to a 
partial year cost report for outpatient rehabilitation 
services as cost reports are replaced by a statewide fee 
schedule. Another change includes an amendment to 
12VAC30-80-20 to conform that section to the new 
regulations by deleting comprehensive outpatient 
rehabilitation facilities from the list of services that are 
cost reimbursed. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

[ 12VAC30-80-20. Services that are reimbursed on a cost 
basis.  

A. Payments for services listed below shall be on the basis 
of reasonable cost following the standards and principles 
applicable to the Title XVIII Program with the exception 
provided for in subdivision D 2 d. The upper limit for 
reimbursement shall be no higher than payments for Medicare 
patients on a facility by facility basis in accordance with 42 
CFR 447.321 and 42 CFR 447.325. In no instance, however, 
shall charges for beneficiaries of the program be in excess of 
charges for private patients receiving services from the 
provider. The professional component for emergency room 
physicians shall continue to be uncovered as a component of 
the payment to the facility.  

B. Reasonable costs will be determined from the filing of a 
uniform cost report by participating providers. The cost 
reports are due not later than 90 days after the provider's 
fiscal year end. If a complete cost report is not received 
within 90 days after the end of the provider's fiscal year, the 
Program shall take action in accordance with its policies to 

assure that an overpayment is not being made. The cost report 
will be judged complete when DMAS has all of the 
following:  

1. Completed cost reporting form(s) provided by DMAS, 
with signed certification(s);  

2. The provider's trial balance showing adjusting journal 
entries;  

3. The provider's financial statements including, but not 
limited to, a balance sheet, a statement of income and 
expenses, a statement of retained earnings (or fund 
balance), and a statement of changes in financial position;  

4. Schedules that reconcile financial statements and trial 
balance to expenses claimed in the cost report;  

5. Depreciation schedule or summary;  

6. Home office cost report, if applicable; and  

7. Such other analytical information or supporting 
documents requested by DMAS when the cost reporting 
forms are sent to the provider.  

C. Item 398 D of the 1987 Appropriation Act (as amended), 
effective April 8, 1987, eliminated reimbursement of return 
on equity capital to proprietary providers.  

D. The services that are cost reimbursed are:  

1. Inpatient hospital services to persons over 65 years of 
age in tuberculosis and mental disease hospitals.  

2. Outpatient hospital services excluding laboratory.  

a. Definitions. The following words and terms when used 
in this regulation shall have the following meanings 
when applied to emergency services unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise:  

"All-inclusive" means all emergency department and 
ancillary service charges claimed in association with the 
emergency room visit, with the exception of laboratory 
services.  

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services consistent with Chapter 10 (§et seq.) of Title 
32.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Emergency hospital services" means services that are 
necessary to prevent the death or serious impairment of 
the health of the recipient. The threat to the life or health 
of the recipient necessitates the use of the most 
accessible hospital available that is equipped to furnish 
the services.  

"Recent injury" means an injury that has occurred less 
than 72 hours prior to the emergency department visit.  

b. Scope. DMAS shall differentiate, as determined by the 
attending physician's diagnosis, the kinds of care 
routinely rendered in emergency departments and 
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reimburse for nonemergency care rendered in emergency 
departments at a reduced rate.  

(1) With the exception of laboratory services, DMAS 
shall reimburse at a reduced and all-inclusive 
reimbursement rate for all services, including those 
obstetric and pediatric procedures contained in 
12VAC30-80-160, rendered in emergency departments 
that DMAS determines were nonemergency care.  

(2) Services determined by the attending physician to be 
emergencies shall be reimbursed under the existing 
methodologies and at the existing rates.  

(3) Services performed by the attending physician that 
may be emergencies shall be manually reviewed. If such 
services meet certain criteria, they shall be paid under the 
methodology for subdivision 2 b (2) of this subsection. 
Services not meeting certain criteria shall be paid under 
the methodology of subdivision 2 b (1) of this subsection. 
Such criteria shall include, but not be limited to:  

(a) The initial treatment following a recent obvious 
injury.  

(b) Treatment related to an injury sustained more than 72 
hours prior to the visit with the deterioration of the 
symptoms to the point of requiring medical treatment for 
stabilization.  

(c) The initial treatment for medical emergencies 
including indications of severe chest pain, dyspnea, 
gastrointestinal hemorrhage, spontaneous abortion, loss 
of consciousness, status epilepticus, or other conditions 
considered life threatening.  

(d) A visit in which the recipient's condition requires 
immediate hospital admission or the transfer to another 
facility for further treatment or a visit in which the 
recipient dies.  

(e) Services provided for acute vital sign changes as 
specified in the provider manual.  

(f) Services provided for severe pain when combined 
with one or more of the other guidelines.  

(4) Payment shall be determined based on ICD-9-CM 
diagnosis codes and necessary supporting documentation.  

(5) DMAS shall review on an ongoing basis the 
effectiveness of this program in achieving its objectives 
and for its effect on recipients, physicians, and hospitals. 
Program components may be revised subject to achieving 
program intent, the accuracy and effectiveness of the 
ICD-9-CM code designations, and the impact on 
recipients and providers.  

c. Limitation to 80% of allowable cost. Effective for 
services on and after July 1, 2003, reimbursement of 
Type Two hospitals for outpatient services shall be at 

80% of allowable cost, with cost to be determined as 
provided in subsections A, B, and C of this section. For 
hospitals with fiscal years that do not begin on July 1, 
2003, outpatient costs, both operating and capital, for the 
fiscal year in progress on that date shall be apportioned 
between the time period before and the time period after 
that date, based on the number of calendar months in the 
cost reporting period, falling before and after that date. 
Operating costs apportioned before that date shall be 
settled according to the principles in effect before that 
date, and those after at 80% of allowable cost. Capital 
costs apportioned before that date shall be settled 
according to the principles in effect before that date, and 
those after at 80% of allowable cost. Operating and 
capital costs of Type One hospitals shall continue to be 
reimbursed at 94.2% and 90% of cost respectively.  

d. Outpatient reimbursement methodology prior to July 
1, 2003. DMAS shall continue to reimburse for 
outpatient hospital services, with the exception of direct 
graduate medical education for interns and residents, at 
100% of reasonable costs less a 10% reduction for 
allowable capital costs and a 5.8% reduction for 
allowable operating costs. This methodology shall 
continue to be in effect after July 1, 2003, for Type One 
hospitals.  

e. Payment for direct medical education costs of nursing 
schools, paramedical programs and graduate medical 
education for interns and residents.  

(1) Direct medical education costs of nursing schools and 
paramedical programs shall continue to be paid on an 
allowable cost basis.  

(2) Effective with cost reporting periods beginning on or 
after July 1, 2002, direct graduate medical education 
(GME) costs for interns and residents shall be reimbursed 
on a per-resident prospective basis. See 12VAC30-70-
281 for prospective payment methodology for graduate 
medical education for interns and residents.  

3. Rehabilitation agencies operated by community services 
boards. For reimbursement methodology applicable to 
other rehabilitation agencies, see 12VAC30-80-200. 
Reimbursement for physical therapy, occupational therapy, 
and speech-language therapy services shall not be provided 
for any sums that the rehabilitation provider collects, or is 
entitled to collect, from the NF or any other available 
source, and provided further, that this amendment shall in 
no way diminish any obligation of the NF to DMAS to 
provide its residents such services, as set forth in any 
applicable provider agreement.  

4. Comprehensive outpatient rehabilitation facilities.  

5. 4. Rehabilitation hospital outpatient services. ]  
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12VAC30-80-35. Fee for service: ambulatory surgery 
centers. 

A. Definitions: The following words and terms when used in 
this part shall have the following [ meaning meanings ] unless 
the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Ambulatory Patient Group (APG)" means a defined group 
of outpatient procedures, encounters, or ancillary services that 
incorporates International Classification of Disease (ICD) 
diagnosis codes, Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) 
codes, and Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System 
(HCPCS) codes. 

"APG relative weight" means the relative expected average 
costs for each APG divided by the relative expected average 
costs for visits assigned to all APGs. 

B. Effective July 1, 2010, the prospective Ambulatory 
Patient Group (APG)-based payment system described as 
follows shall apply to Ambulatory Surgery Center (ASC) 
services: 

1. The operating payments for ASC visits shall be 
determined on the basis of a base rate per visit times the 
relative weight of the APG to which the visit is assigned. 

2. The APG relative weights shall be the weights 
determined and published periodically by DMAS. The 
weights shall be updated at least every three years. 

3. The base rate shall be adjusted by the budget neutrality 
factor (BNF) to ensure that no increase in expenditures 
occurs as a result of updates to the relative weights. The 
base period used to adjust the base rate shall be a recent 
12-month period prior to the fiscal year that the new base 
rates will be effective. 

4. The operating payment shall represent total allowable 
amount for a visit including ancillary services. 

C. The Ambulatory Patient Group (APG) grouper used in 
the ASC payment system for ASCs shall be determined by 
DMAS. Providers or provider representatives shall be given 
notice prior to implementing a new grouper. 

12VAC30-80-200. Prospective reimbursement for 
rehabilitation agencies. 

A. Effective for dates of service on and after July 1, 2003 
2009, rehabilitation agencies, excluding those operated by 
community services boards and state agencies, shall be 
reimbursed a prospective rate equal to the lesser of the 
agency's cost per visit for each type of rehabilitation service 
(physical therapy, occupational therapy, and speech therapy) 
or a statewide ceiling established for each type of service. The 
prospective ceiling for each type of service shall be equal to 
112% of the median cost per visit, for such services, of 
rehabilitation agencies. The median shall be calculated using 
a base year to be determined by the department fee schedule 
amount or billed charges per procedure. The agency shall 

develop a statewide fee schedule based on CPT codes to 
reimburse providers what the agency estimates they would 
have been paid in FY 2010 minus $371,800. Effective July 1, 
2003, the median calculated and the resulting ceiling shall be 
applicable to all services beginning on and after July 1, 2003, 
and all services in provider fiscal years beginning in 
SFY2004.  

B. In each provider fiscal year, each provider's prospective 
rate shall be determined based on the cost report from the 
previous year and the ceiling, calculated by DMAS, that is 
applicable to the state fiscal year in which the provider fiscal 
year begins.  

C. B. For providers with fiscal years that do not begin on 
July 1, 2003, 2009, services on or before June 30, 2009, for 
the fiscal year in progress on that date shall be apportioned 
between the time period before and the time period after that 
date based on the number of calendar months before and after 
that date. Costs apportioned before that date shall be settled 
based on allowable costs, and those after shall be settled 
based on the prospective methodology the previous 
prospective rate methodology and the ceilings in effect for 
that fiscal year as of June 30, 2009. [ Providers may choose 
not to submit a cost report for a partial year. In that case, 
interim payments for services furnished for dates of service 
prior to July 2009 shall be considered final. ]  

C. Rehabilitation services furnished by community service 
boards or state agencies shall be reimbursed costs based on 
annual cost reporting methodology and procedures. 

D. Beginning with state fiscal years beginning on and or 
after July 1, 2004 2010, the ceiling and the provider specific 
cost per visit rates shall be adjusted annually for inflation, 
from the previous year to the prospective year, using the 
nursing facility inflation factor published for Virginia by 
DRI, applicable to the calendar year in progress at the start of 
the state fiscal year using the Virginia-specific nursing home 
input price index contracted for by the agency. The agency 
shall use the percent moving average for the quarter ending at 
the midpoint of the rate year from the most recently available 
index prior to the beginning of the rate year. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1405; Filed January 5, 2010, 3:54 p.m.  

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC35-105. Rules and Regulations 
for Licensing Providers by the Department of Behavioral 
Health and Developmental Services (amending 12VAC35-
105-10 through 12VAC35-105-70, 12VAC35-105-90, 
12VAC35-105-100, 12VAC35-105-110, 12VAC35-105-115, 
12VAC35-105-130 through 12VAC35-105-240, 12VAC35-
105-260 through 12VAC35-105-560, 12VAC35-105-580 
through 12VAC35-105-620, 12VAC35-105-650, 12VAC35-
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105-660, 12VAC35-105-680, 12VAC35-105-690, 
12VAC35-105-700, 12VAC35-105-710, 12VAC35-105-720, 
12VAC35-105-740, 12VAC35-105-750, 12VAC35-105-770, 
12VAC35-105-790 through 12VAC35-105-840, 12VAC35-
105-870 through 12VAC35-105-910, 12VAC35-105-925, 
12VAC35-105-930 through 12VAC35-105-1020, 
12VAC35-105-1040, 12VAC35-105-1050, 12VAC35-105-
1060, 12VAC35-105-1080, 12VAC35-105-1090, 12VAC35-
105-1100, 12VAC35-105-1110, 12VAC35-105-1140 
through 12VAC35-105-1250, 12VAC35-105-1270 through 
12VAC35-105-1370, 12VAC35-105-1390, 12VAC35-105-
1400, 12VAC35-105-1410; adding 12VAC35-105-155, 
12VAC35-105-265, 12VAC35-105-325, 12VAC35-105-645, 
12VAC35-105-665, 12VAC35-105-675, 12VAC35-105-691, 
12VAC35-105-693, 12VAC35-105-1055, 12VAC35-105-
1235, 12VAC35-105-1255; repealing 12VAC35-105-630, 
12VAC35-105-640, 12VAC35-105-670, 12VAC35-105-730, 
12VAC35-105-850, 12VAC35-105-860).  

Statutory Authority: § 37.2-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

March 9, 2010 - 10 a.m. - Henrico Area Mental Health 
and Retardation Services Building, 10299 Woodman 
Road, Conference Room C, Glen Allen, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: April 2, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Les Saltzberg, Director, Office of Licensing, 
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services, 1220 Bank Street, P.O. Box 1797, Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 371-6885, FAX (804) 692-0066, or 
email les.saltzberg@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 37.2-203 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 
the State Board of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services (board) to adopt regulations necessary to carry out 
the provisions of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia. The 
board has the authority to adopt regulations for licensing 
under § 37.2-404 of the Code of Virginia. Providers of 
services are required to be licensed under § 37-2.405 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: This action is necessary to increase the protections 
for the health, safety, and welfare of individuals receiving 
services from licensed providers. These revisions strengthen 
the ability of the Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services (DBHDS) to deny applications for 
licensing, revoke licenses, and restrict the activities of 
provider applicants that do not meet service standards during 
the provisional period. The agency has determined that these 
updates are necessary to resolve issues pertaining to the 
regulation of service areas where problems have occurred. 

These revisions also update the definitions for consistency 
with other regulations of the board and with the current 
mission of DBHDS, including the provision of person 
centered planning and the goals of recovery and self-

determination for individuals receiving services. Updates will 
also ensure that the regulations reflect current standards of 
practice, statutes, and regulatory requirements. 

Substance: The following changes have been proposed: 

1. Revise language to reflect the concepts of person centered 
planning, recovery, and the empowerment of persons 
receiving services. 

2. Update definitions for consistency with other regulations of 
the board and other state agencies. 

3. Update requirements for consistency with mental health 
reform laws and to allow DBHDS to impose restrictions and 
requirements on applicants and providers during the 
provisional licensing period, including requiring disclosure of 
previous licenses and disciplinary actions, prohibiting 
provisional providers from adding new services, and adding 
criteria for denying or revoking a license. 

4. Add provisions allowing DBHDS to stipulate on the 
license the special expertise of a provider, as established by 
DBHDS. 

5. Eliminate the provision requiring an audit every three years 
and replace it with a provision that DBHDS may require an 
audit should the circumstances warrant it. 

6. Remove the requirement that group homes must be 
inspected by the Virginia Department of Health. The DBHDS 
Office of Licensing will continue its routine inspections of 
kitchens in group homes as part of the licensing process. 

7. Add a requirement for providers to designate a staff person 
to act as a community liaison to work with neighbors, local 
government, and the community. 

8. Adjust the timeframe for submitting a certificate of 
occupancy and floor plan to be more economical for provider 
applicants. 

9. Limit the occupancy of shared bedrooms in a Medicaid 
waiver group home to two individuals. 

10. Reduce the maximum number of beds allowed in a 
community intermediate care/mental retardation facility 
(ICF/MR) from 20 to 12 beds. 

11. Add a requirement for stocking a three-day supply of food 
as recommended by the Virginia Department of Emergency 
Management. 

12. Delete or modify the specific references to and the 
definitions of Qualified Mental Health Professional (QMHP), 
Qualified Mental Retardation Professional (QMRP), 
Qualified Developmental Disabilities Professional, and 
Qualified Brain Injury Professional. The Department of 
Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) uses terms QMHP and 
QMRP for purposes that are not entirely consistent with these 
regulations. QMHP and QMRP have been replaced with 
descriptions of the required qualifications for individuals who 



Regulations 

Volume 26, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations February 1, 2010 

1769 

supervise and are responsible for approval of assessments and 
individualized service plans (ISPs). These qualifications have 
been updated to allow appropriate experience to substitute for 
a degree. 

13. Update the quality improvement process to require 
providers to obtain input from individuals receiving services 
about their satisfaction with their participation in 
individualized service plan (ISP) development. 

14. Add a requirement that a history of trauma and abuse be 
included as part of the comprehensive assessment. 

15. Allow for a state or federally sanctioned standardized 
assessment to substitute for the required assessment in the 
regulations as long as the standardized assessment 
incorporates certain health and safety issues. 

16. Relocate to the beginning of the ISP section the 
requirement for the participation of the individual receiving 
services in the ISP development to stress the importance of 
this participation. 

17.Clarify and strengthen the requirements for initial ISPs. 
The ISP is now required to be completed within 24 hours of 
admission and must address health, safety, and immediate 
service needs. 

18. Increase the timeframe for completion of a comprehensive 
ISP from 30 to 60 days after admission under most 
conditions. The intention is to reduce paperwork for providers 
when individuals receive services for periods of less than 60 
days. 

19. Require that goals on ISPs be written in the language of 
the individual receiving services whenever possible. 

20. Change terminology from "behavior management" to 
"behavior interventions." 

21. Strengthen the requirements for sponsor residential 
homes. The regulations now outline the requirements for 
sponsor agreements. 

22. Add requirements for licensing sponsor residential 
services for children according to a recent opinion from the 
Office of the Attorney General which indicated that DBHDS 
may license this service. 

23. Enhance the requirements for case management services. 

Issues: This action poses no disadvantages to the public or the 
Commonwealth. Several advantages have been identified. 
The regulations will be more consistent with the needs of 
individuals receiving services, providers, and the agency's 
mission. Clarification of regulatory requirements will 
facilitate their application and promote better understanding 
for users. Modifications were made to reduce implementation 
costs for providers and the agency whenever possible and 
resolve identified problem areas. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
State Board of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services (Board) proposes to make several substantive 
amendments to its regulations governing licensure of non-
residential care providers and residential facilities. 
Specifically, the Board proposes to: 

•  Update definitions (and other text throughout these 
regulations) to reflect current practices, 

•  Require applicants for licensure to disclose "the legal 
names and dates of any services licensed to the applicant in 
other states or in Virginia" as well as disciplinary actions or 
sanctions taken against the applicant (in relation to any 
previously licensed services) and any crimes of which the 
applicant has been convicted, 

•  Eliminate the requirement that food services at licensed 
group homes and community residential homes must be 
inspected and approved by local health department 
authorities, 

•  Eliminate the requirement that providers undergo an audit 
every three years and replace it with a statement that the 
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services (DBHDS) may, at its discretion, ask for an audit, 

•  Eliminate the requirement that service locations that are not 
hooked into public water and sewer lines have their wells and 
septic fields inspected annually and replace it with a 
requirements that these service locations be in compliance 
with state and local laws for such inspections, 

•  Limit per bedroom occupancy in Medicaid waiver group 
homes licensed after the effective date of these proposed 
regulations to two individuals, and 

•  Limit maximum patient capacity of Intermediate Care 
Facility for the Mentally Retarded (ICF/MR) facilities 
licensed after the effective date of these proposed regulations 
to 12 individuals. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
several proposed changes. There is insufficient information to 
accurately gauge whether benefits will outweigh costs for 
several other of these proposed changes. The potential costs 
associated with further limiting maximum capacity of 
ICF/MR facilities, however, likely outweigh the potential 
benefits of making this change. All likely substantive costs 
and benefits are discussed below. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Since these regulations were 
promulgated, common terminology amongst professionals 
who care for individuals who are mentally ill, mentally 
retarded or who have substance abuse issues has changed. 
The Board proposes to amend not only the definitions section 
in these regulations, but also language throughout all other 
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sections, to reflect these changes; for instance, the Board 
proposes to insert the phrase intellectual disabilities next to 
each iteration of the phrase mental retardation because 
intellectual disabilities is more used by individuals who work 
with the disabled. These changes to language are not likely to 
increase costs for regulated entities but will likely provide the 
benefit of additional clarity (since regulatory language will 
more closely resemble language in common use in this field). 

Current state law does not allow the Board to deny licensure 
to individuals on account of criminal record or sanctions or 
disciplinary actions levied against them with regard to other 
licenses that may have been held in the past; current 
regulations do not require disclosure of conviction or 
disciplinary action, either. The Board proposes to require that 
this information be disclosed on any application for licensure. 
The Board will not be able, at this point, to deny licensure to 
individuals who have been convicted of crimes or who have 
been subject to disciplinary action either in Virginia or any 
other state but they will be able to initiate disciplinary action 
(which may include loss of licensure) against licensees who 
fail to disclose this information. 

This proposed change will not (absent legislative action) cost 
applicants with less than pristine past behavior the ability to 
engage in enterprise for which Board licensure is required but 
it will provide the benefit of additional information, both for 
the Board and for citizens who will be able to better choose 
service providers with this additional information. This 
proposed change will also allow the Board to discipline 
individuals who do not fully disclose information about past 
behavior and, so, may allow the Board to better protect client 
populations. 

Current regulations require service providers that offer food 
services to have those food services inspected and approved 
by local health authorities. DBHDS reports that such 
inspections are not among the tasks that local health 
authorities normally perform. Since this requires licensees to 
obtain a service that is not available, the Board proposes to 
eliminate this provision. This regulatory change will benefit 
licensees in that it will conform these regulations to reality 
and clarify what is required of licensee for any entities who 
might choose to read them. 

Current regulations require that licensed service providers 
have their financial records audited by a certified public 
accountant every three years. DBHDS reports that these 
audits usually cost service providers between $1,500 and 
$2,000.  The Board proposes to eliminate the strict time frame 
for obtaining an audit and instead require that audits be done 
upon request of the Board. If the Board asks for audits less 
frequently than every three years, then this proposed change 
will likely benefit service providers. If, on the other hand, the 
Board asks for audits more frequently then every three years, 
this change will likely raise costs for service providers. In 
practice, the Board will likely ask for audits more frequently 

from some licensees and less frequently from others (because 
of complaints, appearance of financial struggle, etc). Whether 
this proposed change provides a net benefit for service 
providers as a whole will depend on whether the majority of 
service providers are audited less often or more often than 
every three years. 

Current regulations require facilities that have septic systems 
or well water, or both, to inspect those systems on an annual 
basis. The Board proposes to eliminate this requirement. 
Instead, regulations will have language that indicates that 
facilities will have to follow applicable state and local laws. 
Since facilities are already subject to these laws, this 
proposed change will only remove any additional inspections 
imposed by the Board’s current regulations. Whether this 
change provides a benefit for regulated entities will depend 
on whether state and local laws require inspections less 
frequently than every year. 

Current regulations do not contain a limit on the number of 
patients per bedroom for Medicaid waiver group homes.  The 
Board proposes to limit group homes (licensed after the 
effective date of these proposed regulations) to only housing 
two patients per room. DBHDS reports that this change is 
being proposed to further therapeutic ends for patients. 
Patients who reside in these group homes often have sensory 
issues which cause them to react badly when surrounded by 
many people or much noise and confusion. This change may 
benefit patients who have the issues reported by DBHDS but 
will also decrease the flexibility that group homes currently 
have to house patients in the most efficient manner possible. 
This change will also give existing licensed facilities a 
competitive advantage over future group homes that will be 
differentially affected by this rule. DBHDS reports that 
waivers will be available so that more than two patients may 
be housed in a single room if it would not be adversely 
impact therapeutic outcomes. Whether this proposed change 
proves to be a net benefit for patients and licensees will 
depend on how much patients benefit and how responsive the 
Board is in issuing waivers. 

Current regulations set the maximum capacity for ICF/MR 
facilities at 20 patients. The Board proposes to lower this 
capacity for facilities that are licensed after the effective date 
of these proposed regulations to a maximum of 12 patients. 
This proposed change would reduce the operational flexibility 
for facilities licensed in the future and would increase the per 
patient overhead costs for facilities that would choose to take 
in more than 12 patients but will be precluded from doing so. 
DBHDS reports that there are currently four facilities that 
house more than 12 patients and that facilities must obtain a 
certificate of public need (COPN) if they plan to house more 
than 12 patients. DBHDS further reports that there is no 
evidence that larger facilities are more unsafe or that patients 
in those facilities have worse outcomes. This change will also 
give existing licensed facilities a competitive advantage over 
future group homes that will be differentially affected by this 
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rule. Costs will likely outweigh benefits for this proposed 
change. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. DBHDS reports that the 
Board currently licenses 524 facilities, 484 of which qualify 
as small businesses. All of these licensees and the clients that 
they serve will be affected by these proposed regulations. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal to further 
limit capacity of IFC/MR facilities licensed in the future may 
artificially lower demand for the labor of individuals who 
would be hired if these facilities were working under current 
rules. This might limit growth in employment in these fields. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposal to further limit capacity of IFC/MR facilities 
licensed in the future will likely increase per patient costs 
(compared to costs for current facilities. This will put such 
facilities at a competitive disadvantage and will likely limit 
profits for such facilities. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposal to 
further limit capacity of IFC/MR facilities licensed in the 
future will likely increase per patient costs (compared to costs 
for current facilities. This will put such facilities at a 
competitive disadvantage and will likely limit profits for such 
facilities. DBHDS reports that 484 of the facilities licensed by 
the Board qualify as small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The extra costs incurred by small businesses 
licensed in the future would be further minimized if 
maximum capacity for ICF/MR facilities were not lowered by 
40%. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The agency concurs 
with the economic impact analysis prepared by the 
Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) update definitions and text 
of the regulations to reflect current practices as well as 
relevant laws and regulations; (ii) require applicants for 
licensure to disclose other services licensed to the 
applicant in other states or Virginia, disciplinary actions 
or sanctions taken against the applicant in relation to any 
previously licensed service, and any criminal convictions; 
(iii) strengthen the ability to take disciplinary action or 
impose restrictions when providers fail to comply with 
licensing standards and to deny licenses to applicants 
under certain conditions; (iv) eliminate the local health 
department inspection and approval requirement for food 
services at licensed group homes and community 
residential homes; (v) eliminate the periodic audit 
requirement and replace it with a statement that the 
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services may ask for an audit at its discretion; (vi) 
eliminate the wells and septic fields annual inspection for 
service locations not hooked into public water and sewer 
lines and replace it with a requirement to comply with 
state and local laws for such inspections; (vii) limit the per 
bedroom occupancy in Medicaid waiver group homes 
licensed after the effective date of these proposed 
regulations to two individuals; and (viii) limit the 
maximum patient capacity of a community intermediate 
care/mental retardation facility licensed after the effective 
date of these proposed regulations to 12 individuals. 
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CHAPTER 105  
RULES AND REGULATIONS FOR THE LICENSING OF 

PROVIDERS OF MENTAL HEALTH, MENTAL 
RETARDATION, SUBSTANCE ABUSE, THE 

INDIVIDUAL AND FAMILY DEVELOPMENTAL 
DISABILITIES SUPPORT WAIVER, AND RESIDENTIAL 

BRAIN INJURY BY THE DEPARTMENT OF 
BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND DEVELOPMENTAL 

SERVICES 

Part I  
General Provisions  

Article 1  
Authority and Applicability  

12VAC35-105-10. Authority and applicability.  

A. Section 37.1-179.1 37.2-404 of the Code of Virginia 
authorizes the commissioner to license providers subject to 
rules and regulations promulgated adopted by the State 
Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse 
Services Board of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services. 

B. No provider shall establish, maintain, conduct or operate 
any service for persons with mental illness or mental 
retardation or persons with substance addiction or abuse 
without first receiving a license from the commissioner.  

Article 2.  
Definitions  

12VAC35-105-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Abuse" (§ 37.2-100 of the Code of Virginia) means any act 
or failure to act by an employee or other person responsible 
for the care of an individual receiving services in a facility or 
program operated, licensed, or funded by the department, 
excluding those operated by the Virginia Department of 
Corrections, that was performed or was failed to be 
performed knowingly, recklessly, or intentionally, and that 
caused or might have caused physical or psychological harm, 
injury, or death to an individual a person receiving services 
care or treatment for mental illness, mental retardation 
(intellectual disability), or substance abuse (substance use 
disorder). Examples of abuse include, but are not limited to, 
the following acts such as:  

1. Rape, sexual assault, or other criminal sexual behavior;  

2. Assault or battery;  

3. Use of language that demeans, threatens, intimidates, or 
humiliates the person;  

4. Misuse or misappropriation of the person's assets, goods, 
or property;  

5. Use of excessive force when placing a person in 
physical or mechanical restraint;  

6. Use of physical or mechanical restraints on a person that 
is not in compliance with federal and state laws, 
regulations, and policies, professional accepted standards 
of practice, or the person's individual service 
individualized services plan;  

7. Use of more restrictive or intensive services or denial of 
services to punish the person or that is not consistent with 
his individual service individualized services plan.  

"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means personal care 
activities and include bathing, dressing, transferring, toileting, 
grooming, hygiene, feeding, and eating. An individual's 
degree of independence in performing these activities is part 
of determining the appropriate level of care and services.  

"Admission" means the process of acceptance into a service 
that includes orientation to service goals, rules and 
requirements, and assignment to appropriate employees as 
defined by the provider's policies. 

"Authorized representative" means a person permitted by 
law or the Rules and Regulations to Assure Rights of 
Individuals Receiving Services from Providers Licensed, 
Funded, or Operated by the Department of Behavioral Health 
and Developmental Services (12VAC35-115) to authorize the 
disclosure of information or consent to treatment and services 
or the participation in human research. 

"Behavior management intervention" means those principles 
and methods employed by a provider to help an individual 
receiving services to achieve a positive outcome and to 
address and correct inappropriate challenging behavior in a 
constructive and safe manner. Behavior management 
intervention principles and methods must be employed in 
accordance with the individualized service services plan and 
written policies and procedures governing service 
expectations, treatment goals, safety, and security.  

"Behavioral treatment" or "positive behavior support 
program" means any set of documented procedures that are 
an integral part of the interdisciplinary treatment plan and are 
developed on the basis of a systemic data collection such as a 
functional assessment for the purpose of assisting an 
individual receiving services to achieve any or all of the 
following: (i) improved behavioral functioning and 
effectiveness; (ii) alleviation of the symptoms of 
psychopathology; or (iii) reduction of serious behaviors. A 
behavioral treatment program can also be referred to as a 
behavioral treatment plan or behavioral support plan.  

"Behavioral treatment plan," "functional plan," or 
"behavioral support plan" means any set of documented 
procedures that are an integral part of the individualized 
services plan and are developed on the basis of a systematic 
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data collection, such as a functional assessment, for the 
purpose of assisting individuals to achieve: 

1. Improved behavioral functioning and effectiveness; 

2. Alleviation of symptoms of psychopathology; or 

3. Reduction of challenging behaviors. 

"Brain injury" means any injury to the brain that occurs after 
birth, but before age 65, that is acquired through traumatic or 
nontraumatic insults. Nontraumatic insults may include, but 
are not limited to, anoxia, hypoxia, aneurysm, toxic exposure, 
encephalopathy, surgical interventions, tumor, and stroke. 
Brain injury does not include hereditary, congenital, or 
degenerative brain disorders, or injuries induced by birth 
trauma.  

"Brain Injury Waiver" means a Virginia Medicaid home and 
community-based waiver for persons with brain injury 
approved by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.  

"Care" or "treatment" means a set of individually planned 
interventions, training, habilitation, or supports that help an 
individual obtain or maintain an optimal level of functioning, 
reduce the effects of disability or discomfort, or ameliorate 
symptoms, undesirable changes or conditions specific to 
physical, mental, behavioral, cognitive, or social functioning 
the individually planned, sound, and therapeutic interventions 
that conform to current acceptable professional practice and 
that are intended to improve or maintain functioning of an 
individual receiving services delivered by a provider. 

"Case management service" means assisting assistance to 
individuals and their families to access family members in 
assessing needed services and supports that are essential to 
meeting their basic needs identified in their individualized 
service plan, which include not only accessing needed mental 
health, mental retardation and substance abuse services, but 
also any medical, nutritional, social, educational, vocational 
and employment, housing, economic assistance, 
transportation, leisure and recreational, legal, and advocacy 
services and supports that the individual needs to function in 
a community setting responsive to the person's individual 
needs. Case management services include: identifying and 
reaching out to potential users of the service; assessing needs 
and planning services; linking the individual to services and 
supports; assisting the individual directly to locate, develop, 
or obtain needed services and resources; coordinating services 
with other providers; enhancing community integration; 
making collateral contacts; monitoring service delivery; 
discharge planning; and advocating for individuals in 
response to their changing needs. Maintaining waiting lists 
for services, case management tracking and periodically 
contacting individuals for the purpose of determining the 
potential need for services shall be considered screening and 
referral and not admission into licensed case management. 
The term "case management service" does not include 

maintaining service waiting lists or periodically contacting or 
tracking individuals to determine potential service needs.  

"Clubhouse service" means the provision of recovery-
oriented psychosocial rehabilitation services in a 
nonresidential setting on a regular basis not less than two 
hours per day, five days per week, in which clubhouse 
members and employees work together in the development 
and implementation of structured activities involved in the 
day-to-day operation of the clubhouse facilities and in other 
social and employment opportunities through skills training, 
peer support, vocational rehabilitation, and community 
resource development.  

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the 
Department of Mental Behavioral Health, Mental Retardation 
and Substance Abuse Services or his authorized agent 
Developmental Services. 

"Community gero-psychiatric residential services" means 
24-hour nonacute care in conjunction with treatment provided 
to individuals with mental illness, behavioral problems, and 
concomitant health problems who are usually age 65 or older 
in a geriatric setting that provides is less intensive services 
than a psychiatric hospital, but more intensive mental health 
services than a nursing home or group home. Individuals with 
mental illness, behavioral problems, and concomitant health 
problems (usually age 65 and older), appropriately treated in 
a geriatric setting, are provided Services include assessment 
and individualized services planning by an interdisciplinary 
services team, intense supervision, psychiatric care, 
behavioral treatment planning and behavioral interventions, 
nursing, and other health related services. An 
Interdisciplinary Services Team assesses the individual and 
develops the services plan.  

"Community intermediate care facility/mental retardation 
(ICF/MR)" means a service residential facility licensed by the 
Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation, and 
Substance Abuse Services in which care is provided in which 
care is provided to individuals who have mental retardation 
(intellectual disability) or a developmental disability due to 
brain injury who are not in need of nursing care, but who 
need more intensive training and supervision than may be 
available in an assisted living facility or group home. Such 
facilities must shall comply with Title XIX of the Social 
Security Act standards and federal certification requirements, 
provide health or rehabilitative services, and provide active 
treatment to individuals receiving services toward the 
achievement of a more independent level of functioning or an 
improved quality of life.  

"Complaint" means an allegation brought to the attention of 
the department that a licensed provider violated of a violation 
of these regulations or a provider's policies and procedures 
related to these regulations.  
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"Co-occurring disorders" means the presence of more than 
one and often several of the following disorders that are 
identified independently of one another and are not simply a 
cluster of symptoms resulting from a single disorder: mental 
illness, mental retardation (intellectual disability), or 
substance use disorder; brain injury; or developmental 
disability. 

"Co-occurring services" means individually planned, sound, 
and therapeutic treatment that addresses in an integrated 
concurrent manner the service needs of individuals who have 
co-occurring disorders who have an established diagnosis in 
one domain such as mental illness, mental retardation 
(intellectual disability), substance abuse disorder, 
developmental disability, or brain injury and signs or 
symptoms of an evolving disorder in another domain; or who 
present acute signs or symptoms of a co-occurring condition.  

"Consumer service plan" or "CSP" means that document 
addressing all needs of recipients of home and community-
based care developmental disability services (IFDDS 
Waiver), in all life areas. Supporting documentation 
developed by service providers is to be incorporated in the 
CSP by the support coordinator. Factors to be considered 
when these plans are developed may include, but are not 
limited to, recipient ages, level of functioning, and 
preferences.  

"Corrective action plan" means the provider's pledged 
corrective action in response to noncompliances cited areas of 
noncompliance documented by the regulatory authority. A 
corrective action plan must be completed within a specified 
time.  

"Correctional facility" means a facility operated under the 
management and control of the Virginia Department of 
Corrections.  

"Corporal punishment" means punishment administered 
through the intentional inflicting of pain or discomfort to the 
an individual's body (i) through actions such as, but not 
limited to, striking or hitting the individual with any part of 
the body or with an implement; (ii) through pinching, pulling 
or shaking; or (iii) through any similar action that normally 
inflicts pain or discomfort to the individual.  

"Crisis" means a situation in which an individual presents an 
immediate danger to self or others or is at risk of serious 
mental or physical health deterioration that produces 
emotional, mental, physical, medical, or behavioral distress or 
challenges; or any situation or circumstance in which the 
individual perceives or experiences a sudden loss of his 
ability to use effective problem-solving and coping skills.  

"Crisis stabilization" means direct, intensive intervention to 
individuals who are experiencing serious psychiatric or 
behavioral problems, or both, that jeopardize their current 
community living situation. This service shall include 
temporary intensive services and supports that avert 

emergency psychiatric hospitalization or institutional 
placement or prevent out-of-home placement. This service 
shall be designed to stabilize recipients and strengthen the 
current living situations so that individuals can be maintained 
in the community during and beyond the crisis period 
nonresidential ambulatory or residential direct care and 
treatment to nonhospitalized individuals experiencing an 
acute crisis that may jeopardize their current community 
living situation. Crisis stabilization is intended to avert 
hospitalization or rehospitalization; provide normative 
environments with a high assurance of safety and security for 
crisis intervention; stabilize individuals in crisis; and mobilize 
the resources of the community support system, family 
members, and others for ongoing rehabilitation and recovery.  

"Day support service" means the provision of individualized 
planned activities, supports, training, supervision, and 
transportation to individuals with mental retardation or related 
conditions, or brain injury, to improve functioning or 
maintain an optimal level of functioning structured programs 
of treatment, activity, or training services generally in clusters 
of two or more continuous hours per day provided to groups 
or individuals in nonresidential (center-based) settings or in 
the community (noncenter-based) settings. Services may Day 
support services may provide opportunities for peer 
interaction and community integration and are designed to 
enhance the following skills: self-care and hygiene, eating, 
toileting, task learning, community resource utilization, 
environmental and behavioral skills, social skills, medication 
management, prevocational skills, and transportation skills. 
Services provide opportunities for peer interaction and 
community integration. Services may be provided in a facility 
(center based) or provided out in the community (noncenter 
based). Services are provided for two or more consecutive 
hours per day. The term "day support service" does not 
include services in which the primary function is to provide 
extended sheltered or competitive employment, supported or 
transitional employment-related services, general education 
educational services, or general recreational services, or 
outpatient services licensed pursuant to this chapter.  

"Day treatment services" means the provision of 
coordinated, intensive, comprehensive, and multidisciplinary 
treatment to individuals through a combination of diagnostic, 
medical, psychiatric, case management, psychosocial 
rehabilitation, prevocational and educational services. 
Services are provided for two or more consecutive hours per 
day treatment that includes the major diagnostic, medical, 
psychiatric, psychosocial, and prevocational and educational 
treatment modalities designed for adults with serious mental 
illnesses or substance use or co-occurring disorders who 
require coordinated, intensive, comprehensive, and 
multidisciplinary treatment that is not provided in outpatient 
services. Partial hospitalization is a type of day treatment 
service. See definitions of "therapeutic day treatment services 
for children and adolescents" and "partial hospitalization."  
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"Department" means the Virginia Department of Mental 
Health, Mental Retardation Behavioral Health and Substance 
Abuse Developmental Services.  

"Discharge" means the process by which the individual's 
active involvement with a provider is terminated by the 
provider or individual.  

"Discharge plan" means the written plan that establishes the 
criteria for an individual's discharge from a service and 
identifies and coordinates planning for aftercare delivery of 
any services needed after discharge.  

"Dispense" means to deliver a drug to an ultimate user by or 
pursuant to the lawful order of a practitioner, including the 
prescribing and administering, packaging, labeling or 
compounding necessary to prepare the substance for that 
delivery. (§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia.)  

"Emergency service" means mental health, mental 
retardation or substance abuse services available unscheduled 
and sometimes scheduled crisis intervention, stabilization, 
and referral assistance provided over the telephone or face-to-
face, if indicated, 24 hours a day and seven days per week 
that provide crisis intervention, stabilization, and referral 
assistance over the telephone or face-to-face for individuals 
seeking services for themselves or others. Emergency 
services also may include walk-ins, home visits, jail 
interventions, pre-admission screenings, preadmission and 
other screening activities designed to stabilize an individual 
within the setting most appropriate to the individual's current 
condition associated with judicial admission to a state 
hospital, inpatient or crisis stabilization unit, training center, 
or other activities associated with the judicial admission 
process, such as mandatory outpatient treatment orders.  

"Group home or community residential service" means a 
congregate residential service providing 24-hour supervision 
in a community-based, home-like dwelling. These services 
are provided for individuals needing assistance Services 
include supervision, supports, counseling, and training in 
activities of daily living or for individuals whose service plan 
identifies the need for the specific type types of supervision 
or counseling services available in this setting. Section 15.2-
2291 of the Code of Virginia defines group homes for zoning 
purposes as having eight or fewer residents. 

"Home and noncenter based" means that a service is 
provided in the individual's home or other noncenter-based 
setting. This includes but is not limited to noncenter-based 
day support, supportive in-home, and intensive in-home 
services.  

"IFDDS Waiver" means the Individual and Family 
Developmental Disabilities Support Waiver.  

"Individual" or "individual receiving services" means a 
person receiving care or treatment or other services from a 
provider that are licensed under this chapter whether that 

person is referred to as a patient, consumer, client, resident, 
student, individual, recipient, family member, relative, or 
other term. When the term is used, the requirement applies to 
every individual receiving services of the provider.  

"Individualized services plan" or "ISP" means a 
comprehensive and regularly updated written plan of action to 
meet the needs and preferences of an individual that describes 
the individual's needs, the measurable goals and objectives to 
address those needs, and strategies to reach the individual's 
goals. An ISP is person-centered, empowers the individual, 
and is designed to meet the needs and preferences of the 
individual. The ISP is developed through a partnership 
between the individual and the provider and includes an 
individual's treatment plan, habilitation plan, person-centered 
plan, or plan of care.  

"Initial assessment" means an assessment conducted prior to 
or at admission to determine whether the individual meets the 
service's admission criteria; what the individual's immediate 
service, health, and safety needs are; and whether the provider 
has the capability and staffing to provide the needed services. 

"Inpatient psychiatric service" means a intensive 24-hour 
intensive medical, nursing care, and treatment services 
provided for to individuals with mental illness illnesses or 
problems with substance abuse use disorders in a hospital as 
defined in § 32.1-123 of the Code of Virginia or in a special 
unit of such a hospital.  

"Instrumental activities of daily living" or "IADLs" means 
meal preparation, housekeeping, laundry, and managing 
money. A person's degree of independence in performing 
these activities is part of determining appropriate level of care 
and services.  

"Intensive Community Treatment (ICT) service" means a 
self-contained interdisciplinary team of at least five full-time 
equivalent clinical staff, a program assistant, and a full-time 
psychiatrist that:  

1. Assumes responsibility for directly providing needed 
treatment, rehabilitation, and support services to identified 
individuals with severe and persistent mental illnesses 
especially those who have severe symptoms that are not 
effectively remedied by available treatments or who 
because of reasons related to their mental illness resist or 
avoid involvement with mental health services;  

2. Minimally refers individuals to outside service 
providers;  

3. Provides services on a long-term care basis with 
continuity of caregivers over time;  

4. Delivers 75% or more of the services outside program 
offices; and  

5. Emphasizes outreach, relationship building, and 
individualization of services.  



Regulations 

Volume 26, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations February 1, 2010 

1776 

The individuals to be served by ICT are individuals who 
have severe symptoms and impairments not effectively 
remedied by available treatments or who, because of reasons 
related to their mental illness, resist or avoid involvement 
with mental health services.  

"Intensive in-home service" means family preservation 
interventions for children and adolescents who have or are at-
risk of serious emotional disturbance, including such 
individuals who also have a diagnosis of mental retardation 
(intellectual disability). Services are Intensive in-home 
service is usually time-limited and is provided typically in the 
residence of an individual who is at risk of being moved to 
out-of-home placement or who is being transitioned back 
home from an out-of-home placement. These services include 
The service includes 24-hour per day emergency response; 
crisis treatment; individual and family counseling; life, 
parenting, and communication skills; and case management 
activities and coordination with other services; and 
emergency response.  

"Intensive outpatient service" means treatment provided in a 
concentrated manner (involving multiple outpatient visits per 
week) over a period of time for individuals requiring 
intensive outpatient stabilization. These services usually 
Intensive outpatient services include multiple group therapy 
sessions during the week, individual and family therapy, 
individual monitoring, and case management.  

"Investigation" means a detailed inquiry or systematic 
examination of the operations of a provider or its services 
regarding a violation of regulations or law. An investigation 
may be undertaken as a result of a complaint, an incident 
report or other information that comes to the attention of the 
department.  

"Legally authorized representative" means a person 
permitted by law to give informed consent for disclosure of 
information and give informed consent to treatment, 
including medical treatment, and participation in human 
research for an individual who lacks the mental capacity to 
make these decisions.  

"Licensed mental health professional (LMHP)" means a 
physician, licensed clinical psychologist, licensed 
professional counselor, licensed clinical social worker, 
licensed substance abuse treatment practitioner, licensed 
marriage and family counselor, or certification as a certified 
psychiatric clinical nurse specialist.  

"Location" means a place where services are or could be 
provided. 

"Managed withdrawal services" means detoxification 
services to eliminate or reduce the effects of alcohol or other 
drugs in the individual's body. 

"Mandatory outpatient treatment order" means an order 
issued by the court pursuant to § 37.2-817 D of the Code of 
Virginia.   

"Medical detoxification" means a service provided in a 
hospital or other 24-hour care facility, under the supervision 
of medical personnel using medication to systematically 
eliminate or reduce effects of alcohol or other drugs in the 
individual's body.  

"Medical evaluation" means the process of assessing an 
individual's health status that includes a medical history and a 
physical examination of an individual conducted by a 
licensed medical practitioner operating within the scope of his 
license.  

"Medication" means prescribed or over-the-counter drugs or 
both.  

"Medication administration" means the direct application of 
medications by injection, inhalation, or ingestion or any other 
means to an individual receiving services by (i) persons 
legally permitted to administer medications or (ii) the 
individual at the direction and in the presence of persons 
legally permitted to administer medications.  

"Medication error" means that an error has been made in 
administering a medication to an individual when any of the 
following occur: (i) the wrong medication is given to an 
individual, such as (ii) the wrong individual is given the 
medication, (iii) the wrong dosage is given to an individual, 
(iv) medication is given to an individual at the wrong time or 
not at all, or (v) the proper method is not used to give the 
medication to the individual.  

"Medication storage" means any area where medications are 
maintained by the provider, including a locked cabinet, 
locked room, or locked box.  

"Mental Health Community Support Service (MHCSS)" 
means the provision of recovery-oriented psychosocial 
rehabilitation services to individuals with long-term, severe 
psychiatric disabilities including. MHCSS include skills 
training and assistance in accessing and effectively utilizing 
services and supports that are essential to meeting the needs 
identified in their the individualized service services plan and 
development of environmental supports necessary to sustain 
active community living as independently as possible. 
MHCSS Services are may be provided in any setting in which 
the individual's needs can be addressed, skills training 
applied, and recovery experienced.  

"Mental illness" means a disorder of thought, mood, 
emotion, perception, or orientation that significantly impairs 
judgment, behavior, capacity to recognize reality, or ability to 
address basic life necessities and requires care and treatment 
for the health, safety, or recovery of the individual or for the 
safety of others. 
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"Mental retardation (intellectual disability)" means 
substantial a disability originating before the age of 18 years 
characterized concurrently by (i) significantly subaverage 
general intellectual functioning as demonstrated by 
performance on a standardized measure of intellectual 
functioning administered in conformity with accepted 
professional practice that is at least two standard deviations 
below the mean; and (ii) that originates during the 
development period and is associated with impairment 
significant limitations in adaptive behavior as expressed in 
conceptual, social, and practical adaptive skills (§ 37.2-100 of 
the Code of Virginia). It exists concurrently with related 
limitations in two or more of the following applicable 
adaptive skill areas: communication, self-care, home living, 
social skills, community use, self-direction, health and safety, 
functional academics, leisure, and work. According to the 
American Association on Intellectual and Developmental 
Disabilities (AAIDD) definition, these impairments should be 
assessed in the context of the individual's environment, 
considering cultural and linguistic diversity as well as 
differences in communication, and sensory motor and 
behavioral factors. Within an individual, limitations often 
coexist with strengths. The purpose of describing limitations 
is to develop a profile of needed supports. With personalized 
supports over a sustained period, the functioning of an 
individual will improve. In some organizations, the term 
"intellectual disability" is used instead of "mental 
retardation." 

"Mentally ill" means any person afflicted with mental 
disease to such an extent that for his own welfare or the 
welfare of others he requires care and treatment, or with 
mental disorder or functioning classifiable under the 
diagnostic criteria from the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual 
of Mental Disorders of the American Psychiatric Association, 
Fourth Edition, 1994, that affects the well-being or behavior 
of an individual.  

"Neglect" means the failure by an individual or provider 
responsible for providing services to provide nourishment, 
treatment, care, goods, or services necessary to the health, 
safety or welfare of a person receiving care or treatment for 
mental illness, mental retardation or substance abuse (§ 37.2-
100 of the Code of Virginia). This definition of neglect also 
applies to individuals receiving in-home support, crisis 
stabilization, and day support under the IFDDS or Brain 
Injury Waiver and individuals receiving residential brain 
injury services a program or facility operated, licensed, or 
funded by the department, excluding those operated by the 
Department of Corrections, responsible for providing services 
to do so, including nourishment, treatment, care, goods, or 
services necessary to the health, safety, or welfare of a person 
receiving care or treatment for mental illness, mental 
retardation (intellectual disability), or substance abuse.  

"Neurobehavioral services" means the assessment, 
evaluation, and treatment of cognitive, perceptual, behavioral, 

and other impairments caused by brain injury that affect an 
individual's ability to function successfully in the community.  

"Opioid treatment service" means an intervention strategy 
that combines treatment with the administering or dispensing 
of opioid agonist treatment medication. An individual-
specific, physician-ordered dose of medication is 
administered or dispensed either for detoxification or 
maintenance treatment.  

"Outpatient service" means a variety of treatment 
interventions generally provided to individuals, groups or 
families on an hourly schedule, on an individual, group, or 
family basis, and usually in a clinic or similar facility or in 
another location. Outpatient services may include, but are not 
limited to, emergency services, crisis intervention services, 
diagnosis and evaluation, intake and screening, counseling, 
psychotherapy, behavior management, psychological testing 
and assessment, chemotherapy and medication management 
services, and jail based services diagnosis and evaluation, 
screening and intake, counseling, psychotherapy, behavior 
management, psychological testing and assessment, 
laboratory and other ancillary services, medical services, 
medication services, and, jail and detention-based services. 
"Outpatient service" specifically includes:  

1. Services operated by a community services board 
established pursuant to Chapter 5 (§ 37.2-500 et seq.) of 
Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia;  

2. Services funded wholly or in part, directly or indirectly, 
by a community services board or a behavioral health 
authority established pursuant to Chapter 5 (§ 37.2-500 et 
seq.) or Chapter 6 (§ 37.2-600 et seq.) of Title 37.2 of the 
Code of Virginia; or  

3. Services that are owned, operated, or controlled by a 
corporation organized pursuant to the provisions of either 
Chapter 9 (§ 13.1-601 et seq.) or Chapter 10 (§ 13.1-801 et 
seq.) of Title 13.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Partial hospitalization service" means the provision within 
a medically supervised setting of day treatment services that 
are time-limited active treatment interventions, more 
intensive than outpatient services, designed to stabilize and 
ameliorate acute symptoms, and serve as an alternative to 
inpatient hospitalization or to reduce the length of a hospital 
stay. Partial hospitalization is focused on individuals at risk of 
hospitalization or who have been recently discharged from an 
inpatient setting.  

"Person-centered" means focusing on the needs and 
preferences of the individual; empowering and supporting the 
individual in defining the direction for his life; and promoting 
self-determination, community involvement, and recovery. 

"Plan of care" means a document addressing all needs of 
recipients of home and community-based care developmental 
disability services (IFDDS Waiver) in all life areas. It 
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includes supporting documentation developed by service 
providers. Factors considered in developing this plan may 
include recipient ages, level of functioning, and preferences.  

"Program of Assertive Community Treatment (PACT) 
service" means a self-contained interdisciplinary team of at 
least 10 full-time equivalent clinical staff, a program 
assistant, and a full- or part-time psychiatrist that:  

1. Assumes responsibility for directly providing needed 
treatment, rehabilitation, and support services to identified 
individuals with severe and persistent mental illnesses;, 
especially those who have severe symptoms that are not 
effectively remedied by available treatments or who 
because of reasons related to their mental illness resist or 
avoid involvement with mental health services; 

2. Minimally refers individuals to outside service 
providers;  

3. Provides services on a long-term care basis with 
continuity of caregivers over time;  

4. Delivers 75% or more of the services outside program 
offices; and  

5. Emphasizes outreach, relationship building, and 
individualization of services.  

The individuals to be served by PACT are individuals who 
have severe symptoms and impairments not effectively 
remedied by available treatments or who, because of reasons 
related to their mental illness, resist or avoid involvement 
with mental health services.  

"Provider" means any person, entity or organization, 
excluding an agency of the federal government by whatever 
name or designation, that delivers (i) services to persons with 
mental illness, mental retardation (intellectual disability), or 
substance abuse;, (ii) services to persons who receive day 
support, in-home support, or crisis stabilization services 
funded through the IFDDS Waiver;, (iii) services to persons 
under the Brain Injury Waiver;, or (iv) residential services for 
persons with brain injury. The person, entity or organization 
shall include a hospital as defined in § 32.1-123 of the Code 
of Virginia, community services board, behavioral health 
authority, private provider, and any other similar or related 
person, entity or organization. It shall not include any 
individual practitioner who holds a license issued by a health 
regulatory board of the Department of Health Professions or 
who is exempt from licensing pursuant to §§ 54.1-2901, 54.1-
3001, 54.1-3501, 54.1-3601 and 54.1-3701 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

"Psychosocial rehabilitation service" means care or 
treatment for individuals with long-term, severe psychiatric 
disabilities, which is designed to improve their quality of life 
by assisting them to assume responsibility over their lives and 
to function as actively and independently in society as 
possible, through the strengthening of individual skills and 

the development of environmental supports necessary to 
sustain community living the process of providing 
assessment, medication education, opportunities to learn and 
use independent living skills and enhance social and 
interpersonal skills, opportunities for vocational and other 
education, family support and education, and advocacy in a 
supportive community environment focusing on 
normalization. It emphasizes strengthening the individual's 
ability to deal with everyday life rather than focusing on the 
treatment of pathological conditions. Psychosocial 
rehabilitation includes skills training, peer support, vocational 
rehabilitation, and community resource development oriented 
toward empowerment, recovery, and competency.  

"Qualified Brain Injury Professional (QBIP)" means a 
clinician in the health professions who is trained and 
experienced in providing brain injury services to individuals 
who have a brain injury diagnosis including a (i) physician: a 
doctor of medicine or osteopathy; (ii) psychiatrist: a doctor of 
medicine or osteopathy, specializing in psychiatry and 
licensed in Virginia; (iii) psychologist: a person with a 
master's degree in psychology from a college or university 
with at least one year of clinical experience; (iv) social 
worker: a person with at least a bachelor's degree in human 
services or related field (social work, psychology, psychiatric 
rehabilitation, sociology, counseling, vocational 
rehabilitation, human services counseling, or other degree 
deemed equivalent to those described) from an accredited 
college, with at least two years of clinical experience 
providing direct services to individuals with a diagnosis of 
brain injury; (v) certified brain injury specialist; (vi) 
registered nurse licensed in Virginia with at least one year of 
clinical experience; or (vii) any other licensed rehabilitation 
professional with one year of clinical experience.  

"Qualified Developmental Disabilities Professional 
(QDDP)" means an individual possessing at least one year of 
documented experience working directly with individuals 
who have related conditions and is one of the following: a 
doctor of medicine or osteopathy, a registered nurse, or an 
individual holding at least a bachelor's degree in a human 
service field including, but not limited to, sociology, social 
work, special education, rehabilitation counseling, or 
psychology.  

"Qualified Mental Health Professional (QMHP)" means a 
clinician in the health professions a person working in a 
PACT or ICT who is trained and experienced in providing 
psychiatric or mental health services to individuals who have 
a psychiatric diagnosis; including a (i) physician: a doctor of 
medicine or osteopathy; (ii) psychiatrist: a doctor of medicine 
or osteopathy, specializing in psychiatry and licensed in 
Virginia; (iii) psychologist: an individual with a master's 
degree in psychology from a college or university with at 
least one year of clinical experience; (iv) social worker: an 
individual with at least a bachelor's degree in human services 
or related field (social work, psychology, psychiatric 
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rehabilitation, sociology, counseling, vocational 
rehabilitation, human services counseling or other degree 
deemed equivalent to those described) from an accredited 
college and with at least one year of clinical experience 
providing direct services to persons with a diagnosis of 
mental illness; (v) Registered Psychiatric Rehabilitation 
Provider (RPRP) registered with the International Association 
of Psychosocial Rehabilitation Services (IAPSRS) United 
States Psychiatric Rehabilitation Association (USPRA); (vi) 
registered nurse licensed in the Commonwealth of Virginia 
with at least one year of clinical experience; or (vii) any other 
licensed mental health professional.  

"Qualified Mental Retardation Professional (QMRP)" means 
an individual possessing at least one year of documented 
experience working directly with individuals who have 
mental retardation or other developmental disabilities and is 
one of the following: a doctor of medicine or osteopathy, a 
registered nurse, or holds at least a bachelor's degree in a 
human services field including, but not limited to, sociology, 
social work, special education, rehabilitation counseling, and 
psychology.  

"Qualified Paraprofessional in Brain Injury (QPPBI)" means 
an individual with at least a high school diploma and two 
years experience working with individuals with disabilities.  

"Qualified Paraprofessional in Mental Health (QPPMH)" 
means an individual a person who must, at a minimum, meet 
one of the following criteria: (i) registered with the 
International Association of Psychosocial Rehabilitation 
Services (IAPSRS) as an Associate Psychiatric Rehabilitation 
Provider (APRP); (ii) an Associate's Degree in a related field 
(social work, psychology, psychiatric rehabilitation, 
sociology, counseling, vocational rehabilitation, human 
services counseling) and at least one year of experience 
providing direct services to persons with a diagnosis of 
mental illness; or (iii) a minimum of 90 hours classroom 
training and 12 weeks of experience under the direct personal 
supervision of a QMHP providing services to persons with 
mental illness and at least one year of experience (including 
the 12 weeks of supervised experience). 

"Recovery" means a journey of healing and transformation 
enabling an individual with a mental illness to live a 
meaningful life in a community of his choice while striving to 
achieve his full potential. For individuals with substance use 
disorders, recovery is an incremental process leading to 
positive social change and a full return to biological, 
psychological, and social functioning. For individuals with 
mental retardation (intellectual disability), the concept of 
recovery does not apply in the sense that persons with mental 
retardation (intellectual disability) will need supports 
throughout their entire life although these may change over 
time. With supports, individuals with mental retardation 
(intellectual disability) are capable of living lives that are 

fulfilling and satisfying and that bring meaning to themselves 
and others that they know.  

"Referral" means the process of directing an applicant or an 
individual to a provider or service that is designed to provide 
the assistance needed.  

"Related conditions" or "developmental disabilities" means 
autism or a severe, chronic disability that meets all of the 
following conditions identified in 42 CFR 435.1009:  

1. Attributable to cerebral palsy, epilepsy or any other 
condition, other than mental illness, that is found to be 
closely related to mental retardation (intellectual disability) 
because this condition results in impairment of general 
intellectual functioning or adaptive behavior similar to 
behavior of persons with mental retardation (intellectual 
disability), and requires treatment or services similar to 
those required for these persons;  

2. Manifested before the person reaches age 22;  

3. Likely to continue indefinitely; and  

4. Results in substantial functional limitations in three or 
more of the following areas of major life activity:  

a. Self-care;  

b. Understanding and use of language;  

c. Learning;  

d. Mobility;  

e. Self-direction; or  

f. Capacity for independent living.  

"Residential crisis stabilization service" means (i) providing 
short-term, intensive treatment to individuals who require 
multidisciplinary treatment in order to stabilize acute 
psychiatric symptoms and prevent admission to a psychiatric 
inpatient unit; (ii) providing normative environments with a 
high assurance of safety and security for crisis intervention; 
and (iii) mobilizing the resources of the community support 
system, family members, and others for ongoing 
rehabilitation and recovery.  

"Residential service" means a category of service providing 
24-hour care support in conjunction with care and treatment 
or a training program in a setting other than a hospital or 
training center. Residential services provide a range of living 
arrangements from highly structured and intensively 
supervised to relatively independent requiring a modest 
amount of staff support and monitoring. Residential services 
include, but are not limited to: residential treatment, group or 
community homes, supervised living, residential crisis 
stabilization, community gero-psychiatric residential, 
community intermediate care facility-MR, sponsored 
residential homes, medical and social detoxification, 
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neurobehavioral services, and substance abuse residential 
treatment for women and children.  

"Residential treatment service" means providing an 
intensive and highly structured mental health, substance 
abuse, or neurobehavioral service, or services for co-
occurring disorders in a residential setting, other than an 
inpatient service. 

"Respite care service" means providing for a short-term, 
time limited period of care of an individual for the purpose of 
providing relief to the individual's family, guardian, or regular 
care giver. Individuals providing respite care are recruited, 
trained, and supervised by a licensed provider. These services 
may be provided in a variety of settings including residential, 
day support, in-home, or in a sponsored residential home. 

"Restraint" means the use of an approved a mechanical 
device, medication, physical intervention, or hands-on hold, 
or pharmacologic agent to involuntarily prevent an individual 
receiving services from moving his body to engage in a 
behavior that places him or others at imminent risk. This term 
includes restraints used for behavioral, medical, or protective 
purposes. There are three kinds of restraints: 

1. A restraint used for "behavioral" purposes means the use 
of an approved physical hold, a psychotropic medication, 
or a mechanical device that is used for the purpose of 
controlling behavior or involuntarily restricting the 
freedom of movement of the individual in an instance in 
which there is an imminent risk of an individual harming 
himself or others, including staff; when nonphysical 
interventions are not viable; and safety issues require an 
immediate response.  

2. A restraint used for "medical" purposes means the use of 
an approved mechanical or physical hold to limit the 
mobility of the individual for medical, diagnostic, or 
surgical purposes and the related post-procedure care 
processes, when the use of such a device is not a standard 
practice for the individual's condition.  

3. A restraint used for "protective" purposes means the use 
of a mechanical device to compensate for a physical 
deficit, when the individual does not have the option to 
remove the device. The device may limit an individual's 
movement and prevent possible harm to the individual 
(e.g., bed rail or gerichair) or it may create a passive barrier 
to protect the individual (e.g., helmet).  

4. A "mechanical restraint" means the use of an approved 
mechanical device that involuntarily restricts the freedom 
of movement or voluntary functioning of a limb or a 
portion of a person's body as a means to control his 
physical activities, and the individual receiving services 
does not have the ability to remove the device.  

5. A "pharmacological restraint" means a drug that is given 
involuntarily for the emergency control of behavior when it 

is not standard treatment for the individual's medical or 
psychiatric condition.  

6. A "physical restraint" (also referred to "manual hold") 
means the use of approved physical interventions or 
"hands-on" holds to prevent an individual from moving his 
body to engage in a behavior that places him or others at 
risk of physical harm. Physical restraint does not include 
the use of "hands-on" approaches that occur for extremely 
brief periods of time and never exceed more than a few 
seconds duration and are used for the following purposes: 
(i) to intervene in or redirect a potentially dangerous 
encounter in which the individual may voluntarily move 
away from the situation or hands-on approach or (ii) to 
quickly de-escalate a dangerous situation that could cause 
harm to the individual or others.  

1. Mechanical restraint means the use of a mechanical 
device that cannot be removed by the individual to restrict 
the individual's freedom of movement or functioning of a 
limb or portion of an individual's body when that behavior 
places him or others at imminent risk. 

2. Pharmacological restraint means the use of a medication 
that is administered involuntarily for the emergency 
control of an individual's behavior when that individual's 
behavior places him or others at imminent risk and the 
administered medication is not a standard treatment for the 
individual's medical or psychiatric condition. 

3. Physical restraint, also referred to as manual hold, means 
the use of a physical intervention or hands-on hold to 
prevent an individual from moving his body when that 
individual's behavior places him or others at imminent risk. 

"Restraints for behavioral purposes" means using a physical 
hold, medication, or a mechanical device to control behavior 
or involuntary restrict the freedom of movement of an 
individual in an instance when all of the following conditions 
are met: (i) there is an emergency; (ii) nonphysical 
interventions are not viable; and (iii) safety issues require an 
immediate response. 

"Restraints for medical purposes" means using a physical 
hold, medication, or mechanical device to limit the mobility 
of an individual for medical, diagnostic, or surgical purposes, 
such as routine dental care or radiological procedures and 
related post-procedure care processes, when use of the 
restraint is not the accepted clinical practice for treating the 
individual's condition. 

"Restraints for protective purposes" means using a 
mechanical device to compensate for a physical or cognitive 
deficit when the individual does not have the option to 
remove the device. The device may limit an individual's 
movement, for example, bed rails or a gerichair, and prevent 
possible harm to the individual or it may create a passive 
barrier, such as a helmet to protect the individual. 
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"Restriction" means anything that limits or prevents an 
individual from freely exercising his rights and privileges.  

"Screening" means the preliminary assessment of an 
individual's appropriateness for admission or readmission to a 
service process or procedure for determining whether the 
individual meets the minimum criteria for admission.  

"Seclusion" means the involuntary placement of an 
individual receiving services alone, in a locked room or 
secured area from which he is physically prevented from 
leaving an area secured by a door that is locked or held shut 
by a staff person by physically blocking the door, or by any 
other physical or verbal means so that the individual cannot 
leave it.  

"Serious injury" means any injury resulting in bodily hurt, 
damage, harm or loss that requires medical attention by a 
licensed physician, doctor of osteopathic medicine, physician 
assistant, or nurse practitioner while the individual is 
supervised by or involved in services; or injuries related to 
the individual's diagnosis wherever they occur, such as, 
attempted suicides, medication overdoses, reactions from 
medications administered or prescribed by the service, when 
the injuries require medical attention by a licensed physician, 
doctor of osteopathic medicine, physician assistant, or nurse 
practitioner. 

"Service" or "services" means (i) planned individualized 
interventions intended to reduce or ameliorate mental illness, 
mental retardation (intellectual disability), or substance abuse 
through care, treatment, training, habilitation, or other 
supports that are delivered by a provider to individuals with 
mental illness, mental retardation (intellectual disability), or 
substance abuse. Services include outpatient services, 
intensive in-home services, opioid treatment services, 
inpatient psychiatric hospitalization, community gero-
psychiatric residential services, assertive community 
treatment and other clinical services; day support, day 
treatment, partial hospitalization, psychosocial rehabilitation, 
and habilitation services; case management services; and 
supportive residential, special school, halfway house, and 
other residential services; (ii) day support, in home support, 
and crisis stabilization services provided to individuals under 
the IFDDS Waiver; and (iii) planned individualized 
interventions intended to reduce or ameliorate the effects of 
brain injury through care, treatment, or other supports 
provided under the Brain Injury Waiver or in residential 
services for persons with brain injury.  

"Shall" means an obligation to act is imposed.  

"Shall not" means an obligation not to act is imposed.  

"Skills training" means systematic skill building through 
curriculum-based psychoeducational and cognitive-behavioral 
interventions. These interventions break down complex 
objectives for role performance into simpler components, 

including basic cognitive skills such as attention, to facilitate 
learning and competency. 

"Social detoxification service" means providing nonmedical 
supervised care for the individual's natural process of 
withdrawal from excessive use of alcohol or other drugs.  

"Sponsored residential home" means a service where 
providers arrange for, supervise and provide programmatic, 
financial, and service support to families or individuals 
persons (sponsors) providing care or treatment in their own 
homes for adults.  

"State board" means the State Board of Behavioral Health 
and Developmental Services. The board has statutory 
responsibility for adopting regulations that may be necessary 
to carry out the provisions of Title 37.2 of the Code of 
Virginia and other laws of the Commonwealth administered 
by the commissioner or the department. 

"State methadone authority" means the Virginia Department 
of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse 
Services department that is authorized by the federal Center 
for Substance Abuse Treatment to exercise the responsibility 
and authority for governing the treatment of opiate addiction 
with an opioid drug. This is the agency designated by the 
Governor to exercise the responsibility and authority for 
governing the treatment of opiate addiction with an opioid 
drug.  

"Substance abuse" or "substance use disorder" means the 
use, of drugs enumerated in the Virginia Drug Control Act (§ 
54.1-3400 et seq.) without a compelling medical reason, of or 
alcohol and other drugs which that (i) results in psychological 
or physiological dependency dependence or danger to self or 
others as a function of continued and compulsive use in such 
a manner as to induce or (ii) results in mental, emotional or 
physical impairment and cause that causes socially 
dysfunctional or socially disordering behavior; and (iii) 
because of such substance abuse requires care and treatment 
for the health of the individual. This care and treatment may 
include counseling, rehabilitation, or medical or psychiatric 
care.  

"Substance abuse residential treatment for women with 
children service" means a 24-hour residential service 
providing an intensive and highly structured substance abuse 
service for women with children who live in the same facility.  

"Supervised living residential service" means the provision 
of significant direct supervision and community support 
services to individuals living in apartments or other 
residential settings. These services differ from supportive in-
home service because the provider assumes responsibility for 
management of the physical environment of the residence, 
and staff supervision and monitoring are daily and available 
on a 24-hour basis. Services are provided based on the needs 
of the individual in areas such as food preparation, 
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housekeeping, medication administration, personal hygiene, 
and budgeting.  

"Supportive in-home service" (formerly supportive 
residential) means the provision of community support 
services and other structured services to assist individuals. 
Services, to strengthen individual skills, and to provide 
environmental supports necessary to attain and sustain 
independent community residential living. They Services 
include, but are not limited to, drop-in or friendly-visitor 
support and counseling to more intensive support, 
monitoring, training, in-home support, respite care, and 
family support services. Services are based on the needs of 
the individual and include training and assistance. These 
services normally do not involve overnight care by the 
provider; however, due to the flexible nature of these 
services, overnight care may be provided on an occasional 
basis. 

"Systemic corrective action" means the provider's plans to 
address any cited violation of these regulations that will 
significantly reduce the probability that the violation will re-
occur. 

"Therapeutic day treatment for children and adolescents" 
means a treatment program that serves (i) children and 
adolescents from birth through age 17 with serious emotional 
disturbances, substance use, or co-occurring disorders or (ii) 
children from birth through age seven who are at risk of 
serious emotional disturbance, in order to combine 
psychotherapeutic interventions with education and mental 
health or substance abuse treatment. Services include: 
evaluation; medication education and management; 
opportunities to learn and use daily living skills and to 
enhance social and interpersonal skills; and individual, group, 
and family counseling. 

"Time out" means assisting an individual to regain 
emotional control by removing the individual from his 
immediate environment to a different, open location until he 
is calm or the problem behavior has subsided the involuntary 
removal of an individual by a staff person from a source of 
reinforcement to a different, open location for a specified 
period of time or until the problem behavior has subsided to 
discontinue or reduce the frequency of problematic behavior.  

"Volunteer" means a person who, without financial 
remuneration, provides services to individuals on behalf of 
the provider.  

Part II  
Licensing Process  

12VAC35-105-30. Licenses. 

A. Licenses are issued to providers who offer services to one 
or a combination of the following disability groups: persons 
with individuals who have mental illness, persons with 
mental retardation (intellectual disability), persons with or 

substance addiction or abuse problems; persons with related 
conditions use disorder; have developmental disability and 
are served under the IFDDS Waiver,; or persons with have 
brain injury and are served in residential settings or under the 
Brain Injury Waiver or in a residential service.  

B. Providers shall be licensed to provide specific services as 
defined in this chapter or as determined by the commissioner. 
These services include:  

1. Case management;  

2. Clubhouse;  

3. 2. Community gero-psychiatric residential;  

4. 3. Community intermediate care facility-MR;  

5. Crisis 4. Residential crisis stabilization (residential and 
nonresidential);  

5. Nonresidential crisis stabilization; 

6. Day support;  

7. Day treatment, includes club house and therapeutic day 
treatment for children and adolescents;  

8. Group home and community residential;  

9. Inpatient psychiatric;  

10. Intensive Community Treatment (ICT);  

11. Intensive in-home;  

12. Intensive outpatient;  

13. Medical detoxification Managed withdrawal, including 
medical detoxification and social detoxification;  

14. Mental health community support;  

15. Opioid treatment;  

16. Emergency; 

16. 17. Outpatient;  

17. 18. Partial hospitalization;  

18. 19. Program of assertive community treatment 
(PACT);  

19. 20. Psychosocial rehabilitation;  

20. 21. Residential treatment;  

21. 22. Respite care;  

22. Social detoxification;  

23. Sponsored residential home;  

24. Substance abuse residential treatment for women with 
children;  

25. Supervised living residential; and  
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26. Supportive in-home.  

C. A license addendum describes shall describe the services 
licensed, the population disabilities of individuals who may 
be served, the specific locations where services are to be 
provided or organized administered, and the terms, and 
conditions for each service offered by a licensed provider. For 
residential and inpatient services, the license identifies the 
number of beds individuals each residential location may 
serve at a given time. 

12VAC35-105-40. Application requirements. 

A. All providers that are not currently licensed shall be 
required to apply for a license using the application 
designated by the commissioner. Providers applying for a 
license must shall submit:  

1. A working budget showing projected revenue and 
expenses for the first year of operation, including a revenue 
plan.  

2. Documentation of working capital to include:  

a. Funds or a line of credit sufficient to cover at least 90 
days of operating expenses if the provider is a 
corporation, unincorporated organization or association, 
a sole proprietor, or a partnership.  

b. Appropriated revenue if the provider is a state or local 
government agency, board or commission.  

3. Documentation of authority to conduct business in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia.  

4. A disclosure statement identifying the legal names and 
dates of any services licensed to the applicant in other 
states or in Virginia, previous sanctions or negative actions 
against any license to provide services that the applicant 
holds or has held in any other state or in Virginia, the 
names and dates of any disciplinary actions involving the 
applicant's current or past licensed services, and any 
criminal convictions and conviction dates involving the 
applicant. 

B. Providers must shall submit an application listing each 
service to be provided and submit the following items for 
each service:  

1. A staffing plan;  

2. Employee credentials or and job descriptions containing 
all the elements outlined in 12VAC35-105-410 A;  

3. A service description containing all the elements 
outlined in 12VAC35-105-580 C; and 

4. Records management policy containing all the elements 
outlined in 12VAC35-105-390 and 12VAC35-105-870 A; 
and. 

5. A certificate of occupancy, floor plan (with dimensions), 
and any required inspections for all service locations.  

C. The provider shall confirm his intent to renew the license 
prior to the expiration date of the license and notify the 
department in advance of any changes in service or location.  

12VAC35-105-50. Issuance of licenses. 

A. The commissioner issues may issue the following types 
of licenses.  

B. A conditional license shall be issued to a new provider or 
service for services that demonstrates compliance with 
administrative and policy regulations but has not 
demonstrated compliance with all the regulations.  

1. A conditional license shall not exceed six months.  

2. A conditional license may be renewed if the provider is 
not able to demonstrate compliance with all the regulations 
at the end of the license period. A conditional license and 
any renewals shall not exceed 12 successive months for all 
conditional licenses and renewals combined.  

3. A provider or service holding a conditional license shall 
demonstrate progress toward compliance.  

4. A provider holding a conditional license shall not add 
services or locations during the conditional period. 

5. A group home or community residential service provider 
shall not serve more than four individuals in a single 
location during the conditional period. 

C. A provisional license may be issued to a provider or for a 
service that has demonstrated an inability to maintain 
compliance with regulations, has violations of human rights 
or licensing regulations that pose a threat to the health or 
safety of individuals being served, has multiple violations of 
human rights or licensing regulations, or has failed to comply 
with a previous corrective action plan.  

1. A provisional license may be issued at any time.  

2. The term of a provisional license may not exceed six 
months.  

3. A provisional license may be renewed; but a provisional 
license and any renewals shall not exceed 12 successive 
months for all provisional licenses and renewals combined.  

4. A provider or service holding a provisional license shall 
demonstrate progress toward compliance.  

5. A provider for a service holding a provisional license 
shall not increase its services or locations or expand the 
capacity of the service. 

5. 6. A provisional license for a service shall be noted as a 
stipulation on the provider license. The stipulation shall 
also indicate the violations to be corrected and the 
expiration date of the provisional license.  

D. A full license shall be issued after a provider or service 
demonstrates compliance with all the applicable regulations.  
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1. A full license may be granted to a provider for service 
for up to three years. The length of the license shall be in 
the sole discretion of the commissioner.  

2. If a full license is granted for three years, it shall be 
referred to as a triennial license. A triennial license shall be 
granted to providers for services who that have had no 
noncompliances or only violations that did not pose a 
threat to the health of safety of individuals being served 
during the previous license period demonstrated 
compliance with the regulations. The commissioner may 
waive this limitation if the provider has demonstrated 
consistent compliance for more than a year or that 
sufficient provider oversight is in place issue a triennial 
license to a provider for service that had violations during 
the previous license period if those violations did not pose 
a threat to the health or safety of individuals being served 
and the provider or service has demonstrated consistent 
compliance for more than a year and has a process that 
provides sufficient oversight to maintain compliance in 
place.  

3. If a full license is granted for one year, it shall be 
referred to as an annual license.  

4. The term of the first full renewal license after the 
expiration of a conditional or provisional license may shall 
not exceed one year.  

E. The license may bear stipulations. Stipulations may be 
limitations on the provider or may impose additional 
requirements. Terms of any such stipulations on licenses 
issued to the provider shall be specified on the provider 
license.  

1. Stipulations may be added to the license issued to the 
provider to place limits on the provider or to impose 
additional requirements on the provider. Terms of any such 
stipulations shall be specified on the provider license. 

2. Stipulations may recognize the expertise of the provider 
as defined and approved by the department to serve 
individuals with specialized needs. 

F. A license shall not be transferred or assigned to another 
provider. A new application shall be made and a new license 
issued when there is a change in ownership.  

G. A license shall not be issued or renewed unless the 
provider is affiliated with a local human rights committee.  

H. No service may shall be issued a license with an 
expiration date that is after the expiration date of the provider 
license.  

I. A license continues shall continue in effect after the 
expiration date if the provider has submitted a renewal 
application before the date of expiration and there are no 
grounds to deny the application. The department shall issue a 
letter stating the provider or service license shall be effective 

for six additional months if the license is not issued before the 
date of expiration. 

12VAC35-105-60. Modification.  

A. Upon written request by the provider, the license may be 
modified during the term of the license with respect to the 
populations A provider shall submit a written service 
modification application at least 45 days in advance of a 
proposed modification to its license. The modification may 
address the characteristics of individuals served (disability, 
age, and gender), the services offered, the locations where 
services are provided, existing stipulations and the, or the 
maximum number of beds. Approval of such request shall be 
at the sole discretion of the commissioner individuals served 
under the provider or service license.  

B. A change requiring a modification of the license shall not 
be implemented prior to approval by the commissioner. The 
department may give approval to implement a modification 
pending the issuance of the modified license based on 
guidelines determined by the commissioner Upon receipt of 
the completed service modification application, the 
commissioner may revise the provider or service license. 
Approval of such request shall be at the sole discretion of the 
commissioner.  

C. A change requiring a modification of the license shall not 
be implemented prior to approval by the commissioner. The 
department may send the provider a letter approving 
implementation of the modification pending the issuance of 
the modified license. 

12VAC35-105-70. Onsite reviews. 

A. The department shall conduct an announced or 
unannounced onsite review of all new providers and services 
to determine compliance with this chapter.  

B. The department shall conduct unannounced onsite 
reviews of licensed providers and each of its services service 
at any time and at least annually to determine compliance 
with these regulations. The annual unannounced onsite 
reviews shall be focused on preventing specific risks to 
individuals, including an evaluation of the physical facilities 
in which the services are provided.  

C. The department may conduct announced and 
unannounced onsite reviews at any time as part of the 
investigations of complaints or incidents to determine if there 
is a violation of this chapter.  

12VAC35-105-90. Compliance. 

A. The department shall determine the level of compliance 
with each regulation as follows:  

1. "Compliance" (C) means the provider is clearly in 
compliance with acts in accordance with a regulation.  
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2. "Noncompliance" (NC) means the provider is clearly in 
noncompliance with fails to meet or violates part or all of a 
regulation.  

3. "Not Determined" (ND) means that the provider must 
provide additional information to determine compliance 
with a regulation.  

4. "Not Applicable" (NA) means the provider is 
specifically exempted from or not required to demonstrate 
compliance with the provisions of a regulation at the time.  

B. The provider, including its employees, contract service 
providers, student interns and volunteers, shall comply with 
all applicable regulations.  

12VAC35-105-100. Sanctions. 

A. The commissioner may invoke the sanctions enumerated 
in § 37.1-185.1 § 37.2-419 of the Code of Virginia upon 
receipt of information that a licensed provider is:  

1. In violation of the provisions of §§ 37.1-84.1 and 37.1-
179 through 37.1-189.1 §§ 37.2-400 through 37.2-422 of 
the Code of Virginia, these regulations, or the provisions of 
the Rules and Regulations to Assure the Rights of 
Individuals Receiving Services from Providers of Mental 
Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services 
Licensed, Funded, or Operated by the Department of 
Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse 
Services (12VAC35-115); and  

2. Such violation adversely impacts affects the human 
rights of individuals, or poses an imminent and substantial 
threat to the health, safety or welfare of individuals.  

The commissioner shall notify the provider in writing of the 
specific violations found, and of his intention to convene an 
informal conference pursuant to § 2.2-4019 of the Code of 
Virginia at which the presiding officer will be asked to 
recommend issuance of a special order.  

B. The sanctions contained in the special order shall remain 
in effect during the pendency of any appeal of the special 
order.  

12VAC35-105-110. Denial, revocation or suspension of a 
license. 

A. An application for a license or license renewal may be 
denied and a full, conditional, or provisional license may be 
revoked or suspended for one or more of the following 
reasons:  

1. The provider has violated any provisions of Chapter 8 
(§ 37.1-179 et seq.) of Title 37.1 Article 2 (§ 37.2-403 et 
seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia or 
these licensing regulations;  

2. The provider's conduct or practices are detrimental to 
the welfare of any individual receiving services or in 
violation of human rights identified in § 37.1-84.1 § 37.2-

400 of the Code of Virginia or the human rights regulations 
(12VAC35-115);  

3. The provider permits, aids, or abets the commission of 
an illegal act;  

4. The provider fails or refuses to submit reports or to 
make records available as requested by the department;  

5. The provider refuses to admit a representative of the 
department to the premises; or  

6. The provider fails to submit or implement an adequate 
corrective action plan.; or 

7. The provider submits substantively misleading or false 
information to the department.  

B. A provider shall be notified in writing of the department's 
intent to deny, revoke or suspend a License; the reasons for 
the action; the right to appeal; and the appeal process. The 
provider has the right to appeal the department's decision 
under the provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-
4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

12VAC35-105-115. Summary suspension.  

A. In conjunction with any proceeding for revocation, denial 
or other action, when conditions or practices exist that pose 
an immediate and substantial threat to the health, safety, and 
welfare of the residents individuals living there, the 
commissioner may issue an order of summary suspension of 
the license to operate any group home or residential facility 
service for adults when he believes the operation of the home 
or facility residential service should be suspended during the 
pendency of such proceeding.  

B. Prior to the issuance of an order of summary suspension, 
the department shall contact the Executive Secretary of the 
Supreme Court of Virginia to obtain the name of a hearing 
officer. The department shall schedule the time, date, and 
location of the administrative hearing with the hearing officer. 

C. The order of summary suspension shall take effect upon 
its issuance. It shall be delivered by personal service and 
certified mail, return receipt requested, to the address of 
record of the licensee as soon as practicable. The order shall 
set forth: 

1. The time, date, and location of the hearing;  

2. The procedures for the hearing;  

3. The hearing and appeal rights; and 

4. Facts and evidence that formed the basis for the order of 
summary suspension. 

D. The hearing shall take place within three business days of 
the issuance of the order of summary suspension. 

E. The department shall have the burden of proving in any 
summary suspension hearing that it had reasonable grounds to 
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require the licensee to cease operations during the pendency 
of the concurrent revocation, denial, or other proceeding.  

F. The administrative hearing officer shall provide written 
findings and conclusions together with a recommendation as 
to whether the license should be summarily suspended, to the 
commissioner within five business days of the hearing. 

G. The commissioner shall issue a final order of summary 
suspension or make a determination that the summary 
suspension is not warranted based on the facts presented and 
the recommendation of the hearing officer within seven 
business days of receiving the recommendation of the hearing 
officer. 

H. The commissioner shall issue and serve on the group 
home or residential facility for adults or its designee by 
personal service or by certified mail, return receipt requested 
either: 

1. A final order of summary suspension including (i) the 
basis for accepting or rejecting the hearing officer's 
recommendation, and (ii) notice that the group home or 
residential facility may appeal the commissioner's decision 
to the appropriate circuit court no later than 10 days 
following issuance of the order; or 

2. Notification that the summary suspension is not 
warranted by the facts and circumstances presented and 
that the order of summary suspension is rescinded. 

I. The licensee may appeal the commissioner's decision on 
the summary suspension to the appropriate circuit court no 
more than 10 days after issuance of the final order. 

J. The outcome of concurrent revocation, denial, and other 
proceedings shall not be affected by the outcome of any 
hearing pertaining to the appropriateness of the order of 
summary suspension. 

K. At the time of the issuance of the order of summary 
suspension, the department shall contact the appropriate 
agencies to inform them of the action and the need to develop 
relocation plans for residents, and ensure that any other legal 
guardians or responsible family members are informed of the 
pending action.  

12VAC35-105-130. Confidentiality of records.  

Records that are confidential under federal or state law shall 
be maintained as confidential by the department and shall not 
be further disclosed except as required or permitted by law.  

Part III  
Administrative Services  

Article 1  
Management and Administration  

12VAC35-105-140. License availability.  

The current license or a copy shall be prominently displayed 
for public inspection in all service locations.  

12VAC35-105-150. Compliance with applicable laws, 
regulations and policies. 

The provider including its employees, contractors, students, 
and volunteers shall comply with:  

1. These regulations;  

2. Terms The terms and stipulations of the license;  

3. All applicable federal, state or local laws, and 
regulations including but not limited to:  

a. Laws regarding employment practices including the 
Equal Employment Opportunity Act;  

b. The Americans with Disabilities Act and the 
Virginians with Disabilities Act;  

c. Occupational Safety and Health Administration 
regulations;  

d. Virginia Department of Health regulations;  

e. Laws or and regulations of the Department of Health 
Professions;  

f. Uniform Statewide Building Code; and  

g. Uniform Statewide Fire Prevention Code.  

4. Section 37.1-84.1 37.2-400 of the Code of Virginia on 
the human rights of individuals receiving services and 
related human rights regulations adopted by the state 
board; and  

5. Section 37.1-197.1 of the Code of Virginia regarding 
prescreening and predischarge planning. Providers 
responsible for complying with § 37.1-197.1 are required 
to develop and implement policies and procedures that 
include:  

a. Identification of employees or services responsible for 
prescreening and predischarge planning services for all 
disability groups; and  

b. Completion of predischarge plans prior to an 
individual's discharge in consultation with the state 
facility which:  

(1) Involve the individual or his legally authorized 
representative and reflect the individual's preferences to 
the greatest extent possible consistent with the 
individual's needs.  
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(2) Include the mental health, mental retardation, 
substance abuse, social, educational, medical, 
employment, housing, legal, advocacy, transportation, 
and other services that the individual will need upon 
discharge into the community and identify the public or 
private agencies or persons that have agreed to provide 
them.  

6. 5.The provider's own policies. All required policies shall 
be in writing.  

12VAC35-105-155. Preadmission screening, predischarge 
planning, involuntary commitment, and mandatory 
outpatient treatment orders. 

A. Providers responsible for complying with § 37.2-505 of 
the Code of Virginia regarding community service board 
preadmission screening and predischarge planning shall 
establish and implement policies and procedures that include: 

1. Identification, qualification, training, and responsibilities 
of employees responsible for prescreening and 
predischarge planning. 

2. Completion of predischarge plans prior to an individual's 
discharge in consultation with the state facility that: 

a. Involve the individual or his authorized representative 
and reflect the individual's preferences to the greatest 
extent possible consistent with the individual's needs. 

b. Include mental health, mental retardation (intellectual 
disability), substance abuse, social, educational, medical, 
employment, housing, legal, advocacy, transportation, 
and other services that the individual will need upon 
discharge into the community and identify the public or 
private agencies or persons that have agreed to provide 
them. 

B. Any provider who serves individuals through an 
emergency custody order, temporary detention order, or 
mandatory outpatient treatment order shall develop and 
implement policies and procedures to comply with §§ 37.2-
800 through 37.2-817 of the Code of Virginia.  

12VAC35-105-160. Reviews by the department; requests 
for information. 

A. The provider shall permit representatives from the 
department to conduct reviews to:  

1. Verify application information;  

2. Assure compliance with this chapter; and  

3. Investigate complaints.  

B. The provider shall cooperate fully with inspections and 
provide all information requested to assist representatives 
from the department who conduct inspections.  

C. The provider shall collect, maintain, and report or make 
available the following information to the department:  

1. Each allegation of abuse or neglect shall be reported to 
the assigned human rights advocate and the individual's 
authorized representative within 24 hours from the receipt 
of the initial allegation and the investigating authority shall 
provide a written report of the results of the investigation 
of abuse or neglect to the provider and the human rights 
advocate within 10 working days, unless an exemption has 
been granted, from the date the investigation began. The 
report shall include but not be limited to the following: 
whether abuse, neglect or exploitation occurred; type of 
abuse; and whether the act resulted in physical or 
psychological injury. Reported information shall include 
the type of abuse, neglect, or exploitation that is alleged 
and whether there is physical or psychological injury to the 
individual. 

2. Deaths and Each instance of death or serious injuries 
injury shall be reported in writing to the department within 
24 hours of discovery and by phone to the legally 
individual's authorized representative as applicable within 
24 hours to. Reported information shall include, but not be 
limited to, the following: the date and place of the 
individual's death or serious injury; the nature of the 
individual's injuries and the treatment required received; 
and the circumstances of the death or serious injury. 
Deaths that occur in a hospital as a result of illness or 
injury occurring when the individual was in a licensed 
service shall be reported. 

3. Each instance of seclusion or restraint that does not 
comply with the human rights regulations or approved 
variances, or that results in injury to an individual, shall be 
reported to the legally individual's authorized 
representative and the assigned human rights advocate 
within 24 hours.  

4. Reports and other such information required by the 
department to establish compliance with these regulations 
or any other local, state, and federal statutues or 
regulations. 

D. The provider shall submit, or make available, reports and 
information that the department requires to establish 
compliance with these regulations and applicable statutes.  

E. D. Records that are confidential under federal or state law 
shall be maintained as confidential by the department and 
shall not be further disclosed except as permitted by law; 
however, there shall be no right of access to communications 
that are privileged pursuant to § 8.01-581.17 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

F. If E. Additional information requested by the department 
if compliance with a regulation cannot be determined, the 
department shall issue a licensing report requesting additional 
information. Additional information must shall be submitted 
within 10 business days of the issuance of the licensing report 
requesting additional information. Extensions may be granted 
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by the department when requested prior to the due date, but 
extensions shall not exceed an additional 10 business days. 

F. Applicants and providers shall not submit substantively 
misleading or false information to the department. 

12VAC35-105-170. Corrective action plan. 

A. If there is noncompliance with any of these regulations 
applicable regulation during an initial or ongoing review or 
investigation, the department shall issue a licensing report 
describing the noncompliance and requesting the provider to 
submit a corrective action plan for each violation cited.  

B. The provider shall submit to the department and 
implement a written corrective action plan for each regulation 
with which it is found to be in noncompliance with these 
regulations identified on violation as identified in the 
licensing report.  

C. The corrective action plan shall include a:  

1. Description of the systemic corrective actions to be 
taken that will minimize the possibility that the violation 
will occur again;  

2. Date of completion for each corrective action; and  

3. Signature of the person responsible for the service.  

D. The provider shall submit a corrective action plans plan 
to the department within 15 business days of the issuance of 
the licensing report. Extensions may be granted by the 
department when requested prior to the due date, but 
extensions shall not exceed an additional 10 business days. 
An immediate corrective action plan shall be required if the 
department determines that the violations pose a danger to 
individuals receiving the service.  

E. A corrective action plan shall be approved by the 
department Upon receipt of the corrective action plan, the 
department shall review the plan and shall determine whether 
the plan is approved or not approved. The provider has an 
additional 10 business days to submit a revised corrective 
action plan after receiving a notice that the plan submitted has 
not been approved by the department.  

F. When the provider disagrees with a citation of a violation, 
the provider shall discuss this disagreement with the licensing 
specialist initially. If the disagreement is not resolved, the 
provider may ask for a meeting with the licensing specialist's 
supervisor to challenge a finding of noncompliance. The 
determination of the supervisor is final.  

G. The provider shall monitor implementation of pledged 
corrective action and include a plan for such monitoring in its 
quality assurance activities specified in 12VAC30-105-620.  

12VAC35-105-180. Notification of changes.  

A. The provider shall notify the department in writing prior 
to implementing changes that affect:  

1. Organizational or administrative structure, including the 
name of the provider;  

2. Geographic location of the provider or its services;  

3. Service description as defined in these regulations;  

4. Significant changes in qualifications required for a 
position or qualifications of an individual occupying a 
position to the staffing plan, position descriptions, or 
employee or contractor qualifications; or  

5. Bed capacity for services providing residential or 
inpatient services.  

B. The provider shall not implement the specified changes 
without the prior approval of the department.  

C. The provider shall provide any documentation necessary 
for the department to determine continued compliance with 
these regulations after any of these specified changes are 
implemented.  

D. A provider shall notify the department in writing of its 
intent to discontinue services 30 days prior to the cessation of 
services. The provider will shall continue to provide all 
services that are identified in every each individual's 
Individualized Services Plan (ISP) ISP after it has given 
official notice of its intent to cease operations and until each 
individual is appropriately discharged. The provider will shall 
further continue to maintain substantial compliance with all 
applicable regulations as it discontinues its services.  

E. All individuals receiving services or their authorized 
representatives shall be notified of the provider's intent to 
cease services in writing 30 days prior to the cessation of 
services. This written notification will shall be documented in 
each individual's ISP. Also, refer to as outlined in Records 
Management, Part V (12VAC35-105-870 et seq.) of this 
chapter.  

12VAC35-105-190. Operating authority, governing body 
and organizational structure. 

A. The provider shall provide the following evidence of its 
operating authority.: 

1. A public organization Public organizations shall provide 
documents describing the administrative framework of the 
governmental department of which it is a component or 
describing the legal and administrative framework under 
which it was established and operates.  

2. All private organizations except sole proprietorships 
shall provide a certification certificate from the State 
Corporation Commission.  

B. The provider's provider shall provide an organizational 
chart that clearly identifies its governing body and 
organizational structure shall be clearly identified by 
providing an organizational chart.  
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C. The provider shall document the role and actions of the 
governing body, which shall be consistent with its operating 
authority. The provider shall identify its operating elements 
and services, the internal relationship among these elements 
and services, and the its management or leadership structure.  

12VAC35-105-210. Fiscal accountability. 

A. The provider shall document financial resources to 
operate its services or facilities or shall have a line of credit 
sufficient to cover 90 days of operating expense, based on a 
working budget showing projected revenue and expenses 
arrangements or a line of credit that are adequate to ensure 
maintenance of ongoing operations for at least 90 days on an 
ongoing basis. The amount needed shall be based on a 
working budget showing projected revenue and expenses.  

B. At the end of each fiscal year, the provider shall prepare, 
according to generally accepted accounting principles 
(GAAP) or those standards promulgated by the Governmental 
Accounting Standards Board (GASB) and the State Auditor 
of Public Accounts:  

1. An operating statement showing revenue and expenses 
for the fiscal year just ended.  

2. A balance sheet showing assets and liabilities for the 
fiscal year just ended. At least once every three years, all 
financial records shall be audited by The department may 
require an audit of all financial records by an independent 
Certified Public Accountant (CPA) or audited as otherwise 
provided by law or regulation.  

3. Providers operating as a part of a local government 
agency are excluded from providing not required to 
provide a balance sheet; however, they shall provide a 
financial statement.  

C. The provider shall have written internal controls to 
minimize the risk of theft or embezzlement of provider funds.  

D. The provider shall identify in writing the title and 
qualifications of the person who has the authority and 
responsibility for the fiscal management of its services. At a 
minimum, the person who has the authority and responsibility 
for the fiscal management of the provider shall be bonded or 
otherwise indemnified.  

12VAC35-105-220. Indemnity coverage. 

To protect the interests of individuals, employees, and the 
provider from risks of liability, there shall be indemnity 
coverage to include:  

1. General liability;  

2. Professional liability;  

3. Vehicular Commercial vehicular liability; and  

4. Property damage.  

12VAC35-105-230. Written fee schedule.  

If the provider charges for services, the written schedule of 
rates and charges shall be available to the individual or 
authorized representative upon request.  

12VAC35-105-240. Policy on funds of individuals 
receiving services.  

A. The provider shall establish and implement a written 
policy for handling funds of individuals receiving services, 
including providing for separate accounting of individual 
funds.  

B. The provider shall have documented financial controls to 
minimize the risk of theft or embezzlement of funds of 
individuals receiving services.  

C. The provider shall purchase a surety bond or otherwise 
provide assurance for the security of all funds of individuals 
receiving services deposited with the provider.  

Article 2  
Physical Environment  

12VAC35-105-260. Building inspection and classification.  

All locations shall be inspected and approved as required by 
the appropriate building regulatory entity. Approval 
Documentation of approval shall be a Certificate of Use and 
Occupancy indicating the building is classified for its 
proposed licensed purpose. The provider shall submit a copy 
of the Certificate of Use and Occupancy to the department for 
new locations. This section does not apply to correctional 
facilities or home and noncenter-based services. Sponsored 
residential services service providers shall certify compliance 
of that their sponsored residential homes comply with this 
regulation.  

12VAC35-105-265. Floor plans. 

All services shall submit floor plans with room dimensions 
to the department for new locations. This does not apply to 
home or noncenter-based services. 

12VAC35-105-270. Building modifications.  

A. Building The provider shall submit building plans and 
specifications for new any planned construction of locations, 
change in at a new location, changes in the use of existing 
locations, and any structural modifications or additions to 
existing locations where services are provided shall be 
submitted for review by the department to determine 
compliance with the licensing regulations. This section does 
not apply to correctional facilities, jails, or home and 
noncenter-based services.  

B. An The provider shall submit an interim plan to the 
department addressing safety and continued service delivery 
shall be required for new if new construction or for 
conversion, involving structural modifications or additions to 
existing buildings is planned.  
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12VAC35-105-280. Physical environment. 

A. The physical environment, design, structure, furnishings, 
and lighting shall be appropriate to the population individuals 
served and the services provided and. 

B. The physical environment shall be accessible to 
individuals with physical and sensory disabilities.  

B. C. The physical environment and furnishings shall be 
clean, dry, free of foul odors, safe, and well-maintained.  

C. The physical environment, design, structure, furnishing, 
and lighting shall be appropriate to the population served and 
the services provided.  

D. Floor surfaces and floor covering coverings shall 
promote mobility in areas used by individuals and shall 
promote maintenance of sanitary conditions.  

E. The physical environment shall be well ventilated. 
Temperatures shall be maintained between 65°F and 80°F.  

F. Adequate hot and cold running water of a safe and 
appropriate temperature shall be available. Hot water 
accessible to individuals being served shall be maintained 
within a range of 100-120°F. If temperatures cannot be 
maintained within the specified range, the provider shall 
make provisions for protecting individuals from injury due to 
scalding.  

G. Lighting shall be sufficient for the activities being 
performed and all areas within buildings and outside 
entrances and parking areas shall be lighted for safety.  

H. Recycling, composting, and garbage disposal shall not 
create a nuisance, permit transmission of disease, or create a 
breeding place for insects or rodents.  

I. If smoking is permitted, the provider shall make 
provisions for alternate smoking areas that are separate from 
the service environment. This regulation does not apply to 
home-based services.  

J. For all program areas added after September 19, 2002, 
minimum room height shall be 7-1/2 feet.  

K. This section regulation does not apply to home and 
noncenter-based services. Sponsored residential services shall 
certify compliance of sponsored residential homes with this 
regulation.  

12VAC35-105-290. Food service inspections.  

Any location where the provider is responsible for preparing 
or serving food shall request inspection and obtain approval 
by state or local health authorities regarding food service and 
general sanitation at the time of the original application and 
annually thereafter. Documentation of the most recent three 
inspections and approval shall be kept on file. This regulation 
does not apply to sponsored residential services or to group 
homes or community residential homes.  

12VAC35-105-300. Sewer and water inspections. 

A. A location Service locations shall either be on a public 
water and sewage systems system or the location's on a 
nonpublic water and sewage system shall be inspected and 
approved by state or local health authorities at the time of its 
original application and annually thereafter. Documentation 
of the three most recent inspections and approval shall be 
kept on file. Sponsored Prior to a location being licensed, the 
provider shall obtain the report from the building inspector 
pertaining to the septic system and its capacity. Nonpublic 
water and sewer systems shall be maintained in good working 
order and in compliance with local and state laws. Providers 
of sponsored residential home services shall certify 
compliance of that their sponsored residential homes comply 
with this regulation.  

B. A location that is Service locations that are not on a 
public water system shall have a water sample tested prior to 
being licensed and annually by an accredited, independent 
laboratory for the absence of chloroform. The water sample 
shall also be tested for lead or nitrates if recommended by the 
local health department. Documentation of the three most 
recent inspections shall be kept on file.  

12VAC35-105-310. Weapons. 

The provider or facility shall have and implement a written 
policy governing the use and possession of firearms, pellet 
guns, air rifles and other weapons on the facility's premises of 
the provider's services. The policy shall provide that no 
firearms, pellet guns, air rifles and other weapons on the 
facility's premises shall be permitted unless the weapons are:  

1. In the possession of licensed security or sworn law-
enforcement personnel;  

2. Kept securely under lock and key; or  

3. Used under the supervision of a responsible adult in 
accordance with policies and procedures developed by the 
facility provider for the weapons' lawful and safe use.  

12VAC35-105-320. Fire inspections.  

The provider shall document at the time of its original 
application and annually thereafter that buildings and 
equipment in residential service locations with more than 
eight beds serving more than eight individuals are maintained 
in accordance with the Virginia Statewide Fire Prevention 
Code (13VAC5-51). This section does not apply to 
correctional facilities or home and noncenter-based or 
sponsored residential home services.  

12VAC35-105-325. Community liaison. 

Each residential service shall designate a staff person as a 
community liaison responsible for facilitating cooperative 
relationships with neighbors, local law-enforcement 
personnel, local government officials, and the community at 
large.  
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Article 3  
Physical Environment of Residential/Inpatient Service 

Locations  

12VAC35-105-330. Beds.  

A. The provider shall not operate more beds than the 
number for which its service location or locations are 
licensed.  

B. A community intermediate care facility for the mentally 
retarded ICF/MR may not have more than 20 12 beds at any 
one location. This applies to new applications for services 
after September 19, 2002 and not to existing services or 
locations licensed prior to [the effective date of these 
regulations].  

12VAC35-105-340. Bedrooms.  

A. Size of bedrooms Bedrooms shall meet the following 
square footage requirements.: 

1. Single occupancy bedrooms shall have no less than 80 
square feet of floor space.  

2. Multiple occupancy bedrooms shall have no less than 60 
square feet of floor space per individual.  

3. This subsection does not apply to community gero-
psychiatric residential services.  

B. No more than four individuals shall share a bedroom, 
except in group homes where no more than two individuals 
shall share a room. This does not apply to group home 
locations licensed prior to [the effective date of these 
regulations].  

C. Each individual shall be assigned have adequate storage 
space accessible to the bedroom for clothing and personal 
belongings.  

D. This section does not apply to correctional facilities and 
jails. Sponsored Providers of sponsored residential home 
services shall certify compliance of that their sponsored 
residential homes comply with this regulation.  

12VAC35-105-350. Condition of beds.  

Beds shall be clean, comfortable, and equipped with a 
mattress, pillow, blankets, and bed linens. When a bed is 
soiled, providers shall assist individuals with bathing as 
needed, and provide clean clothing and bed linen. Sponsored 
Providers of sponsored residential home services shall certify 
compliance of that their sponsored residential homes comply 
with this regulation.  

12VAC35-105-360. Privacy.  

A. Bedroom and bathroom windows and doors shall provide 
privacy.  

B. Bathrooms not intended for individual use shall provide 
privacy for showers and toilets.  

C. No required path of travel to the bathroom shall be 
through another bedroom.  

D. This section does not apply to correctional facilities and 
jails. Sponsored Providers of sponsored residential home 
services shall certify compliance of that their sponsored 
residential homes comply with this regulation.  

12VAC35-105-370. Ratios of toilets, basins and showers or 
baths.  

For all residential and inpatient locations established, 
constructed or reconstructed after January 13, 1995, there 
shall be at least one toilet, one hand basin, and shower or bath 
for every four individuals. Sponsored This section does not 
apply to correctional facilities or jails. Providers of sponsored 
residential home services shall certify compliance of that their 
sponsored residential homes comply with this regulation. This 
section does not apply to correctional facilities or jails.  

12VAC35-105-380. Lighting.  

Each service location shall have adequate lighting in halls 
and bathrooms at night. Sponsored Providers of sponsored 
residential home services shall certify compliance of that their 
sponsored residential homes comply with this regulation.  

Article 4  
Human Resources  

12VAC35-105-390. Confidentiality and security of 
personnel records.  

A. The provider shall maintain an organized system to 
manage and protect the confidentiality of personnel files and 
records.  

B. Physical and data security controls shall exist for 
electronic records personnel records maintained in electronic 
databases.  

C. Providers shall comply with requirements of the 
American Americans with Disabilities Act and the Virginians 
with Disabilities Act regarding retention of employee health-
related information in a file separate from personnel files.  

12VAC35-105-400. Criminal registry checks.  

A. The provider shall develop a policy for the criminal 
history and registry checks for all employees, contractors, 
students and volunteers. The policy shall contain, at a 
minimum, a disclosure statement concerning whether the 
person has ever been convicted of or is the subject of pending 
charges for any offense Providers shall comply with the 
background check requirements for direct care positions 
outlined in § 37.2-416 of the Code of Virginia for individuals 
hired after July 1, 1999.  

B. After July 1, 1999, providers shall comply with the 
background check requirements for direct care positions 
outlined in § 37.1-183.3 of the Code of Virginia Prior to a 
new employee beginning his duties, the provider shall obtain 
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the employee's written consent and personal information 
necessary to obtain a search of the registry of founded 
complaints of child abuse and neglect maintained by the 
Virginia Department of Social Services.  

C. The provider shall submit all information required by the 
department to complete the background checks for all 
employees, and for contractors, students and volunteers, if 
required by the provider's policy develop a policy for criminal 
history and registry checks for all employees, contractors, 
students, and volunteers. The policy shall require at a 
minimum a disclosure statement from the employee, 
contractor, student, or volunteer stating whether the person 
has ever been convicted of or is the subject of pending 
charges for any offense and shall address what actions the 
provider will take should it be discovered that an employee, 
student, contractor, or volunteer has a founded case of abuse 
or neglect or both, or a conviction or pending criminal charge.  

D. Prior to a new employee beginning his duties, the 
provider shall obtain the employee's written consent and 
personal information necessary to obtain a search of the 
registry of founded complaints of child abuse and neglect 
maintained by the Department of Social Services. Results of 
the search of the registry shall be maintained in the 
employee's personnel record The provider shall submit all 
information required by the department to complete the 
background and registry checks for all employees and for 
contractors, students, and volunteers if required by the 
provider's policy.  

E. The provider shall maintain the following documentation:  

1. The disclosure statement; and  

2. Documentation that the provider submitted all 
information required by the department to complete the 
background and registry checks, and memoranda from the 
department transmitting the results to the provider, and the 
results from the Child Protective Registry check.  

12VAC35-105-410. Job description.  

A. Each employee or contractor shall have a written job 
description that includes:  

1. Job title;  

2. Duties and responsibilities required of the position;  

3. Job title of the immediate supervisor; and  

4. Minimum knowledge, skills, and abilities, experience or 
professional qualifications required for entry level as 
specified in 12VAC35-105-420.  

B. Employees or contractors shall have access to their 
current job description. There The provider shall be a have 
written documentation of the mechanism for advising used to 
advise employees or contractors of changes to their job 
responsibilities.  

12VAC35-105-420. Qualifications of employees or 
contractors.  

A. Any person who assumes the responsibilities of any 
employee position as an employee or a contractor shall meet 
the minimum qualifications of that position as determined by 
job descriptions.  

B. Employees and contractors shall comply, as required, 
with the regulations of the Department of Health Professions. 
The provider shall design and, implement a mechanism, and 
document the process used to verify professional credentials.  

C. Service directors Supervisors shall have experience in 
working with the population individuals being served and in 
providing the services outlined in the service description.  

D. Job descriptions shall include minimum knowledge, 
skills and abilities, professional qualification qualifications 
and experience appropriate to the duties and responsibilities 
required of the position.  

12VAC35-105-430. Employee or contractor personnel 
records. 

A. Employee or contractor personnel record records, 
whether hard-copy or electronic, shall include:  

1. Identifying Individual identifying information;  

2. Education and training history;  

3. Employment history;  

4. Results of the any provider credentialing process 
including methods of verification of applicable 
professional licenses or certificates;  

5. Results of reasonable efforts to secure job-related 
references and reasonable verification of employment 
history;  

6. Results of the required criminal background checks and 
a search searches of the registry of founded complaints of 
child abuse and neglect, if any;  

7. Results of performance evaluations;  

8. A record of disciplinary action taken by the provider, if 
any;  

9. A record of adverse action by any licensing and 
oversight bodies and or organizations and state human 
rights regulations, if any; and  

10. A record of participation in employee development 
activities, including orientation.  

B. Each employee or contractor personnel record shall be 
retained in its entirety for a minimum of three years after the 
employee's or contractor's termination of employment.  
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12VAC35-105-440. Orientation of new employees, 
contractors, volunteers, and students. 

New employees, contractors, volunteers, and students shall 
be oriented commensurate with their function or job-specific 
responsibilities within 15 business days. Orientation to The 
provider shall document that the orientation covers each of 
the following policies shall be documented. Orientation shall 
include, procedures, and practices:  

1. Objectives and philosophy of the provider;  

2. Practices of confidentiality including access, 
duplication, and dissemination of any portion of an 
individual's record;  

3. Practices that assure an individual's rights including 
orientation to human rights regulations;  

4. Applicable personnel policies;  

5. Emergency preparedness procedures;  

6. Infection control practices and measures; and  

7. Other policies and procedures that apply to specific 
positions and specific duties and responsibilities.  

12VAC35-105-450. Employee training and development. 

The provider shall provide training and development 
opportunities for employees to enable them to perform fully 
support the individuals served and to carry out the 
responsibilities of their job jobs. The provider shall develop a 
training policy must address that addresses the frequency of 
retraining on medication administration, behavior 
management, and emergency preparedness. Training 
Employee participation in training and development 
opportunities shall be documented in the employee personnel 
records and accessible to the department.  

12VAC35-105-460. Emergency medical or first aid 
training.  

There shall be at least one employee or contractor on duty at 
each location who holds a current certificate, issued by a 
recognized authority, in standard first aid and 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation, or with emergency medical 
training. A nurse or physician who holds a current 
professional license shall be deemed to hold a current 
certificate in first aid, but not in CPR.  

12VAC35-105-470. Notification of policy changes.  

All employees or contractors shall be kept informed of 
policy changes that affect performance of duties. The 
provider shall have written documentation of the process used 
to advise employees or contractors of policy changes. 

12VAC35-105-480. Employee or contractor performance 
evaluation. 

A. The provider shall develop and implement a policy for 
evaluating employee or and contractor performance.  

B. Employee development needs and plans shall be a part of 
the performance evaluation.  

C. The provider shall evaluate employee or and contractor 
performance at least annually.  

12VAC35-105-490. Written grievance policy.  

The provider shall have a written grievance policy and a 
mechanism to shall inform employees of grievance 
procedures. The provider shall have documentation of the 
process used to advise employees of grievance procedures. 

12VAC35-105-500. Students and volunteers.  

A. The provider shall have and implement a written policy 
that clearly defines and communicates the requirements for 
the use and responsibilities of students and volunteers 
including selection and supervision.  

B. The provider shall not rely on students or volunteers for 
the provision of direct care services. The provider staffing 
plan shall not include volunteers or students.  

12VAC35-105-510. Tuberculosis screening. 

A. Each new employee, contractor, student or volunteer who 
will have direct contact with individuals being served 
receiving services shall obtain a statement of certification by 
a qualified licensed practitioner indicating the absence of 
tuberculosis in a communicable form within 30 days of 
employment or initial contact with individuals receiving 
services. The employee shall submit a copy of the original 
screening to the provider. A statement of certification shall 
not be required for an a new employee who has separated 
from service with another licensed provider with a break in 
service of six months or less or who is currently working for 
another licensed provider. The employee must submit a copy 
of the original screening to the provider.  

B. All employees, contractors, students or volunteers in 
substance abuse co-occurring outpatient or substance abuse 
residential treatment services shall be certified as tuberculosis 
free on an annual basis by a qualified licensed practitioner.  

C. Any employee, contractor, student or volunteer who 
comes in contact with a known case of active tuberculosis 
disease or who develops symptoms of active tuberculosis 
disease (including, but not limited to fever, chills, 
hemoptysis, cough, fatigue, night sweats, weight loss or 
anorexia) of three weeks duration shall be screened as 
determined appropriate for continued contact with employees, 
contractors, students, volunteers, or individuals receiving 
services based on consultation with the local health 
department.  
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D. An employee, contractor, student or volunteer suspected 
of having active tuberculosis shall not be permitted to return 
to work or have contact with employees, contractors, 
students, volunteers or individuals receiving services until a 
physician has determined that the person is free of active 
tuberculosis.  

Article 5  
Health and Safety Management  

12VAC35-105-520. Risk management.  

A. The provider shall designate a person responsible for risk 
management.  

B. The provider shall document and implement a plan to 
identify, monitor, reduce and minimize risks associated with 
personal injury, infectious disease, property damage or loss, 
and other sources of potential liability.  

C. As part of the plan, the The provider shall conduct and 
document that a safety inspection has been performed at least 
annually its own safety inspections of all each service 
locations location owned, rented, or leased by the provider. 
Recommendations for safety improvement shall be 
documented and implemented by the provider.  

D. The provider shall document serious injuries to 
employees, contractors, students, volunteers and visitors. 
Documentation shall be kept on file for three years. The 
provider shall evaluate injuries at least annually. 
Recommendations for improvement shall be documented and 
implemented by the provider.  

E. The risk management plan shall establish and implement 
policies to identify any populations at risk for falls and to 
develop a prevention/management program.  

F. The provider shall develop, document and implement 
infection control measures, including the use of universal 
precautions.  

12VAC35-105-530. Emergency preparedness and 
response plan. 

A. The provider shall develop a written emergency 
preparedness and response plan for all of a provider's services 
and locations that describes its approach to emergencies 
throughout the organization or community. This plan shall 
include an analysis of potential emergencies that could 
disrupt the normal course of service delivery including 
emergencies that would require expanded or extended care 
over a prolonged period of time. The plan shall address:  

1. Specific procedures describing mitigation, preparedness, 
response and recovery strategies, actions, and 
responsibilities for each emergency. 

2. Documentation of contact involvement with the local 
emergency coordinator authorities to determine local 

disaster risks and community-wide plans to address 
different disasters and emergency situations.  

2. Analysis of the provider's capabilities and potential 
hazards, including natural disasters, severe weather, fire, 
flooding, work place violence or terrorism, missing 
persons, severe injuries, or other emergencies that would 
disrupt the normal course of service delivery.  

3. The process for notifying local and state authorities of 
the emergency and a process for contacting staff when 
emergency response measures are initiated.  

4. Written emergency management policies outlining 
specific responsibilities for provision of administrative 
direction and management of response activities, 
coordination of logistics during the emergency, 
communications, life safety of employees, contractors, 
students, volunteers, visitors and individuals receiving 
services, property protection, community outreach, and 
recovery and restoration.  

4. 5. Written emergency response procedures for initiating 
the response and recovery phase of the plan including a 
description of how, when, and by whom the phases will be 
activated. This includes assessing the situation; protecting 
individuals receiving services, employees, contractors, 
students, volunteers, visitors, equipment and vital records; 
and restoring services. Emergency procedures shall 
address:  

a. Communicating with employees, contractors and 
community responders Warning and notification of 
individuals receiving services;  

b. Warning and notification of individuals receiving 
services Communicating with employees, contractors, 
and community responders;  

c. Designating alternative roles and responsibilities of 
staff during emergencies including to whom they will 
report in the provider's organization command structure 
and when activated in the community's command 
structure;  

d. Providing emergency access to secure areas and 
opening locked doors;  

d. e. Conducting evacuations to emergency shelters or 
alternative sites and accounting for all individuals 
receiving services;  

e. f. Relocating individuals receiving residential or 
inpatient services, if necessary;  

f. g. Notifying family members and legal guardians or 
authorized representatives;  

g. h. Alerting emergency personnel and sounding alarms;  

h. i. Locating and shutting off utilities when necessary; 
and 
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j. Maintaining a 24 hour telephone answering capability 
to respond to emergencies for individuals receiving 
services. 

6. Processes for managing the following under emergency 
conditions: 

a. Activities related to the provision of care, treatment, 
and services including but not limited to scheduling, 
modifying, or discontinuing services; controlling 
information about individuals receiving services; 
providing medication; and transportation services; 

b. Logistics related to critical supplies such as 
pharmaceuticals, food, linen, and water; 

c. Security including access, crowd control, and traffic 
control; and 

d. Back-up communication systems in the event of 
electronic or power failure. 

7. Specific processes and protocols for evacuation of the 
provider's building or premises when the environment 
cannot support adequate care, treatment, and services.  

5. 8. Supporting documents that would be needed in an 
emergency, including emergency call lists, building and 
site maps necessary to shut off utilities, designated escape 
routes, and list of major resources such as local emergency 
shelters.  

6. 9. Schedule for testing the implementation of the plan 
and conducting emergency preparedness drills.  

B. The provider shall develop and implement periodic 
annual emergency preparedness and response training for all 
employees, individuals receiving services, contractors, 
students, and volunteers. Training This training shall also be 
provided as part of orientation for new employees and cover 
responsibilities for:  

1. Alerting emergency personnel and sounding alarms;  

2. Implementing evacuation procedures, including 
evacuation of individuals with special needs (i.e., deaf, 
blind, nonambulatory);  

3. Using, maintaining, and operating emergency 
equipment;  

4. Accessing emergency medical information for 
individuals receiving services; and  

5. Utilizing community support services.  

C. The provider shall review the emergency preparedness 
plan annually and make necessary revisions. Such revisions 
shall be communicated to employees, contractors, students 
and, volunteers, and individuals receiving services and 
incorporated into training for employees, contractors, students 
and volunteers and orientation of individuals to services.  

D. In the event of a disaster, fire, emergency or any other 
condition that may jeopardize the health, safety and welfare 
of individuals, the provider shall take appropriate action to 
protect the health, safety and welfare of the individuals 
receiving services and take appropriate actions to remedy the 
conditions as soon as possible.  

E. Employees, contractors, students and volunteers shall be 
knowledgeable in and prepared to implement the emergency 
preparedness plan in the event of an emergency. The plan 
shall include a policy regarding periodic regularly scheduled 
emergency preparedness training for all employees, 
contractors, students and volunteers.  

F. In the event of a disaster, fire, emergency, or any other 
condition that may jeopardize the health, safety and welfare 
of individuals, the provider should first respond and stabilize 
the disaster/emergency. After the disaster/emergency is 
stabilized, the provider should report the disaster/emergency 
to the department, but no later than 72 24 hours after the 
incident occurs.  

G. Providers of residential services shall have at all times a 
three-day supply of emergency food and water for all 
residents and staff. Emergency food supplies should include 
foods that do not require cooking. Water supplies shall 
include one gallon of water, per person, per day. 

H. This section regulation does not apply to home and 
noncenter-based services. 

12VAC35-105-540. Access to telephone in emergencies; 
emergency telephone numbers. 

A. Telephones shall be accessible for emergency purposes.  

B. Current emergency telephone numbers and location of 
the nearest hospital, ambulance service, rescue squad and 
other trained medical personnel, poison control center, fire 
station and the police are prominently posted near the 
telephones Instructions for contacting emergency services and 
telephone numbers shall be prominently posted near the 
telephone including directions to the nearest hospital and how 
to contact provider medical personnel if appropriate.  

C. This section regulation does not apply to home and 
noncenter-based services and correctional facilities.  

12VAC35-105-550. First aid kit accessible. 

A. A well-stocked first aid kit shall be maintained and 
readily accessible for minor injuries and medical emergencies 
at each service location and to employees or contractors 
providing in-home services or traveling with individuals. The 
minimum requirements of a well-stocked first aid kit that 
shall be maintained include a thermometer, bandages, saline 
solution, band-aids, sterile gauze, tweezers, instant ice-pack, 
adhesive tape, first-aid cream, and antiseptic soap, an 
accessible, unexpired 30 cc bottle of Syrup of Ipecac (for use 
at the direction of the Poison Control Center or a physician), 
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and activated charcoal (for use at the direction of the Poison 
Control Center or a physician).  

B. A cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) face guard or 
mask shall be readily accessible. 

12VAC35-105-560. Operable flashlights or battery 
lanterns.  

Operable flashlights or battery lanterns shall be readily 
accessible to employees and contractors in services that 
operate between dusk and dawn to use in emergencies. This 
section regulation does not apply to home and noncenter-
based services.  

12VAC35-105-580. Service description requirements.  

A. The provider shall develop, implement, review and revise 
its descriptions of services offered according to the provider's 
mission and shall have that information make service 
descriptions available for public review.  

B. The provider shall document that outline how each 
service offers a structured program of care individualized 
interventions and care designed to meet the individuals' 
physical and emotional needs; provide protection, guidance 
and supervision; and meet the objectives of any required 
service plan.  

C. The provider shall prepare a written description of each 
service it offers. Service description elements Elements of 
each service description shall include:  

1. Goals Service goals;  

2. Care A description of care, treatment, training, 
habilitation, or other supports provided;  

3. Characteristics and needs of the population individuals 
to be served;  

4. Contract services, if any;  

5. Admission Eligibility requirements and admission, 
continued stay, and exclusion criteria;  

6. Termination of treatment Service termination and 
discharge or transition criteria; and  

7. Type and role of employees or contractors.  

D. The provider shall revise a the written service description 
whenever the service description changes.  

E. The provider shall not implement services that are 
inconsistent with its most current service description.  

F. The provider shall admit only those individuals whose 
service needs are consistent with the service description, for 
whom services are available, and for which staffing levels 
and types meet the needs of the individuals served. 

G. The provider shall provide for the physical separation of 
children and adults in residential and inpatient services and 

shall provide separate group programming for adults and 
children, except in the case of family services. The provider 
shall provide for the safety of children accompanying parents 
receiving services. Older adolescents transitioning from 
school to adult activities may participate in mental retardation 
(intellectual disability) day support services with adults.  

G. If the provider offers substance abuse treatment services, 
the H. The service description for substance abuse treatment 
services shall address the timely and appropriate treatment of 
substance abusing pregnant women.  

I. If the provider plans to serve individuals as of a result of a 
temporary detention order to a service, prior to admitting 
those individuals to that service, the provider shall submit a 
written plan for adequate staffing and security measures to 
ensure the individual can be served safely within the service 
to the department for approval. If approved the department 
will add a stipulation to the license authorizing the provider to 
serve individuals who are under temporary detention orders. 

J. The provider shall have a written plan on cultural and 
linguistic competency that assists the organization in 
delivering culturally competent services and use the National 
Standards on Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate 
Services (CLAS) as a primary guidance document. 

12VAC35-105-590. Provider staffing plan.  

A. The provider shall design and implement a staffing plan 
including that includes the type types and role roles and 
numbers of employees and contractors that reflects the 
required to provide the service. This staffing plan shall reflect 
the:  

1. Needs of the population individuals served;  

2. Types of services offered;  

3. The service description; and  

4. The number Number of people to be served at a given 
time.  

B. The provider shall develop a written transition staffing 
plan for new services, added locations, and changes in 
capacity.  

C. The provider shall meet the following staffing 
requirements relate related to supervision.  

1. The provider shall describe how employees, volunteers, 
contractors and student interns are to will be supervised in 
the staffing plan and how that supervision will be 
documented.  

2. Supervision of employees, volunteers, contractors and 
student interns shall be provided by persons who have 
experience in working with the population served and in 
providing the services outlined in the service description. 
In addition, supervision of mental health services shall be 
performed by a QMHP and supervision of mental 



Regulations 

Volume 26, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations February 1, 2010 

1797 

retardation services shall be performed by a QMRP or an 
employee or contractor with experience equivalent to the 
educational requirement. Supervision of IFDDS Waiver 
services shall be performed by a QDDP or an employee or 
contractor with equivalent experience. Supervision of 
Brain Injury Waiver services or residential services shall 
be performed by a QBIP or an employee or contractor with 
equivalent experience.  

3. Supervision shall be appropriate to the services provided 
and the needs of the individual. Supervision shall be 
documented.  

4. Supervision shall include responsibility for approving 
assessments and individualized services plans. This 
responsibility may be delegated to an employee or 
contractor who is a QMHP, QMRP, QDDP, or QBIP or 
who has equivalent experience meets the qualification for 
supervision as defined in this regulation. 

5. Supervision of mental health and substance abuse 
services and co-occurring disorders shall be provided by a 
person who is trained and experienced in providing 
psychiatric, mental health, or substance abuse services to 
individuals who have a psychiatric or substance abuse 
disorder diagnosis including (i) a doctor of medicine or 
osteopathy; (ii) a psychiatrist who is a doctor of medicine 
or osteopathy specializing in psychiatry and licensed in 
Virginia; (iii) a psychologist who has a master's degree in 
psychology from a college or university with at least one 
year of clinical experience; (iv) a social worker with at 
least a bachelor's degree in human services or related field 
(social work, psychology, psychiatric rehabilitation, 
sociology, counseling, vocational rehabilitation, human 
services counseling, or other degree deemed equivalent to 
those described); (v) a Registered Psychiatric 
Rehabilitation Provider (RPRP) registered with the United 
States Psychiatric Rehabilitation Association (USPRA); 
(vi) a registered nurse licensed in Virginia with at least one 
year of clinical experience; or (vii) any other licensed 
mental health professional with at least one year of clinical 
experience.  

6. Supervision of mental retardation (intellectual disability) 
services shall be provided by a person with at least one 
year of documented experience working directly with 
individuals who have mental retardation (intellectual 
disability) or other developmental disabilities and holds at 
least a bachelor's degree in a human services field 
including but not limited to sociology, social work, special 
education, rehabilitation counseling, nursing, or 
psychology. 

7. Supervision of individual and family developmental 
disabilities support (IFDDS) services shall be provided by 
a person possessing at least one year of documented 
experience working directly with individuals who have 
related conditions and is one of the following: a doctor of 

medicine or osteopathy; a registered nurse; or a person 
holding at least a bachelor's degree in a human service 
field including but not limited to sociology, social work, 
special education, rehabilitation counseling, or psychology.  

8. Supervision of brain injury services shall be provided at 
a minimum by a clinician in the health professions who is 
trained and experienced in providing brain injury services 
to individuals who have a brain injury diagnosis including: 
(i) a doctor of medicine or osteopathy; (ii) a psychiatrist 
who is a doctor of medicine or osteopathy specializing in 
psychiatry and licensed in Virginia; (iii) a psychologist 
who has a master's degree in psychology from a college or 
university with at least one year of clinical experience; (iv) 
a social worker who has a bachelor's degree in human 
services or a related field (social work, psychology, 
psychiatric evaluation, sociology, counseling, vocational 
rehabilitation, human services counseling, or other degree 
deemed equivalent to those described) from an accredited 
college or university with at least two years of clinical 
experience providing direct services to individuals with a 
diagnosis of brain injury; (v) a Certified Brain Injury 
Specialist; (vi) a registered nurse licensed in Virginia with 
at least one year of clinical experience; or (vii) any other 
licensed rehabilitation professional with one year of 
clinical experience. 

9. Providers of intensive in-home services shall define the 
nature and frequency of supervision by the LMHP 
provided to employees working directly with individuals 
receiving services. The LMHP shall provide direct 
supervision to these employees at least bi-weekly. 

10. Individuals employed as supervisors prior to [the 
effective date of these regulations] may supervise services 
based on their experience. 

11. Supervision shall include responsibility for approving 
assessments and individualized services plans. This 
responsibility may be delegated to an employee or 
contractor who meets the qualifications for supervision as 
defined in these regulations. 

D. The provider shall employ or contract with persons with 
appropriate training, as necessary, to meet the specialized 
needs of and to ensure the safety of individuals being served 
in residential services with medical or nursing needs, ; 
speech, language, or hearing problems; or other needs where 
specialized training is necessary.  

E. The provider Providers of brain injury services shall 
employ or contract with a neuropsychologist or licensed 
clinical psychologist specializing in brain injury to assist, as 
appropriate, with initial assessments, development of 
individualized services plans, crises, staff training, and 
service design.  

F. Direct care staff in who provide brain injury services shall 
meet the qualifications of a QPPBI and successfully complete 
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an approved training curriculum on brain injuries within six 
months of employment have at least a high school diploma 
and two years of experience working with individuals with 
disabilities or shall have successfully completed an approved 
training curriculum on brain injuries within six months of 
employment.  

12VAC35-105-600. Nutrition.  

A. A provider preparing and serving food shall:  

1. Have Implement a written plan for the provision of food 
services, which ensures access to nourishing, well-
balanced, healthful meals;  

2. Make reasonable efforts to prepare meals that consider 
cultural background, personal preferences, and food habits 
and that meet the dietary needs of the individuals served; 
and  

3. Assist individuals who require assistance feeding 
themselves in a manner that effectively addresses any 
deficits.  

B. Providers of residential and inpatient services shall 
develop and implement a policy to monitor each individual's 
food consumption for:  

1. Warning signs of changes in physical or mental status 
related to nutrition; and  

2. Compliance with any needs determined by the 
individualized services plan or prescribed by a physician, 
nutritionist or health care professional.  

12VAC35-105-610. Community participation.  

Opportunities shall be provided for individuals receiving 
services Individuals receiving residential, day support, and 
day treatment services shall be afforded the opportunity to 
participate in community activities. This regulation applies to 
residential, day support and day treatment services. The 
provider shall have written documentation that such 
opportunities were made available to individuals served. 

12VAC35-105-620. Monitoring and evaluating service 
quality.  

The provider shall have a mechanism written policies and 
procedures to monitor and evaluate service quality and 
effectiveness on a systematic and ongoing basis. Input from 
individuals receiving services and their authorized 
representatives, if applicable, about services used and 
satisfaction level of participation in the direction of service 
planning shall be part of the provider's quality assurance 
system. The provider shall implement improvements, when 
indicated.  

Article 2  
Screening, Admission, Assessment, Service Planning and 

Orientation  

12VAC35-105-630. Policies on screening, admission and 
referrals. (Repealed.) 

A. The provider shall establish written criteria for admission 
that include:  

1. A description of the population to be served;  

2. A description of the types of services offered; and  

3. Exclusion criteria.  

B. The provider shall admit only those individuals whose 
service needs are consistent with the service description, for 
whom services are available, and for which staffing levels 
and types meet the needs of the individuals served.  

C. The provider shall complete a preliminary assessment 
detailed enough to determine that the individual qualifies for 
admission and to develop a preliminary individualized 
services plan for individuals admitted to services. Employee 
or contractors responsible for screening, admitting and 
referral shall have immediate access to written service 
descriptions and admission criteria.  

D. The provider shall assist individuals who are not admitted 
to identify other appropriate services.  

E. The provider shall develop and implement procedures for 
screening, admitting, and referring individuals to services, to 
include staff who are designated to perform these activities.  

12VAC35-105-640. Screening and referral services 
documentation and retention. (Repealed.) 

A. The provider shall maintain written documentation of 
each screening performed, including:  

1. Date of initial contact;  

2. Name, age, and gender of the individual;  

3. Address and phone number, if applicable;  

4. Presenting needs or situation to include 
psychiatric/medical problems, current medications and 
history of medical care;  

5. Name of screening employee or contractor;  

6. Method of screening;  

7. Screening recommendation; and  

8. Disposition of individual.  

B. The provider shall retain documentation for each 
screening. For individuals not admitted, documentation shall 
be retained for six months. Documentation shall be included 
in the individual's record if the individual is admitted.  
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12VAC35-105-645. Initial contacts, screening, admission, 
assessment, service planning, orientation, and discharge. 

A. The provider shall develop and implement policies and 
procedures for initial contacts and screening, admissions, and 
referral of individuals to other services and designate staff to 
perform these activities. 

B. The provider shall maintain written documentation of an 
individual's initial contact and screening prior to his 
admission including the: 

1. Date of contact; 

2. Name, age, and gender of the individual; 

3. Address and telephone number of the individual, if 
applicable; 

4. Reason why the individual is requesting services; and 

5. Disposition of the individual including his referral to 
other services for further assessment, placement on a 
waiting list for service, or admission to the service.  

C. The provider shall assist individuals who are not admitted 
to identify other appropriate services. 

D. The provider shall retain documentation of the 
individual's initial contacts and screening for six months.  
Documentation shall be included in the individual's record if 
the individual is admitted to the service. 

12VAC35-105-650. Assessment policy.  

A. The provider shall document develop and implement an a 
written assessment policy. The policy shall define how 
assessments will be documented.  

B. The provider shall conduct an assessment to identify an 
individual's physical, medical, behavioral, functional, and 
social strengths, preferences and needs, as applicable. The 
assessment shall address:  

1. Onset/duration of problems;  

2. Social/behavioral/developmental/family history;  

3. Employment/vocation/educational background;  

4. Previous interventions/outcomes;  

5. Financial resources and benefits;  

6. Health history and current medical care needs;  

7. Legal status, including guardianship, commitment and 
representative payee status, and relevant criminal charges 
or convictions, probation or parole status;  

8. Daily living skills;  

9. Social/family supports;  

10. Housing arrangements; and  

11. Ability to access services.  

B. The provider shall solicit the individual's own assessment 
and shall actively involve the individual and authorized 
representative, if applicable, in the preparation of initial and 
comprehensive assessments and in subsequent reassessments. 
In these assessments and reassessments the provider shall 
consider the individual's needs, strengths, goals, preferences, 
and abilities within the individual's cultural context.  

C. The assessment policy shall designate employees or 
contractors who are responsible for conducting assessments. 
Employees or contractors responsible for assessments These 
employees or contractors shall have experience in working 
with the population needs of individuals who are being 
assessed and with, the assessment tool or tools being utilized, 
and the provision of services that the individuals may require.  

D. Frequency of assessments.  

1. A preliminary assessment shall be done prior to 
admission;  

2. The preliminary assessment shall be updated and 
finalized during the first 30 days of service prior to 
completing the individualized services plan. Longer term 
assessments may be included as part of the individualized 
services plan. The provider shall document the reason for 
assessments requiring more than 30 days.  

3. Reassessments shall be completed when there is a need 
based on the medical, psychiatric or behavioral status of 
the individual and at least annually.  

E. D. Assessment is an ongoing activity. The provider shall 
make reasonable attempts to obtain previous assessments.  

E. An initial assessment shall be completed prior to or at 
admission to the service. With the participation of the 
individual and the individual's authorized representative, if 
applicable, the provider shall complete an initial assessment 
detailed enough to determine whether the individual qualifies 
for admission and to develop an initial ISP for those 
individuals who are admitted to the service. This initial 
assessment shall assess immediate service, health and safety 
needs, and at a minimum address the individual's: 

1. Diagnosis; 

2. Presenting needs including the individual's stated needs, 
psychiatric needs, support needs, and the onset and 
duration of problems; 

3. Current medical problems; 

4. Current medications; 

5. Current and past substance use or abuse, including co-
occurring mental health and substance abuse disorders; and  

6. At-risk behavior to self and others. 

F. A comprehensive assessment shall update and finalize the 
initial assessment. The timing for completion of the 
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comprehensive assessment shall be based upon the nature and 
scope of the service but shall occur no later than 60 days after 
admission. It shall address:  

1. Onset and duration of problems;  

2. Social, behavioral, developmental and family history 
and supports; 

3. Cognitive functioning including strengths and 
weaknesses;  

4. Employment, vocation and educational background;  

5. Previous interventions and outcomes;  

6. Financial resources and benefits;  

7. Health history and current medical care needs, to 
include:  

a. Allergies; 

b. Recent physical complaints and medical conditions; 

c. Nutritional needs; 

d. Chronic conditions; 

e. Communicable diseases; 

f. Restrictions on physical activities if any; 

g. Past serious illnesses, serious injuries, and 
hospitalizations; 

h. Serious illnesses and chronic conditions of the 
individual's parents, siblings, and significant others in the 
same household; 

i. Current and past substance usage including alcohol, 
prescription and nonprescription medications, and illicit 
drugs; and  

j. Reproductive history including pregnancy status. 

8. Psychiatric and substance use issues including current 
mental health or substance use needs, presence of co-
occurring disorders, history of substance use or abuse, and 
circumstances that increase the individual's risk for mental 
health or substance use issues; 

9. History of abuse, neglect, sexual and domestic violence, 
or trauma including psychological trauma; 

10. Legal status including guardianship, commitment, and 
representative payee status; 

11. Relevant criminal charges or convictions and probation 
or parole status; 

12. Daily living skills; 

13. Housing arrangements; 

14. Ability to access services including transportation 
needs; and 

15. As applicable, and in all residential services, fall risk, 
communication methods or needs, and mobility and 
adaptive equipment needs. 

G. Providers of short-term intensive services including 
inpatient and crisis stabilization services shall develop 
policies for completing comprehensive assessments within 
the time frames appropriate for those services. 

H. Providers of non-intensive or short-term services shall 
meet the requirements for the initial assessment at a 
minimum. Non-intensive services are services provided in 
jails, nursing homes, or other locations when access to 
records and information is limited by the location and nature 
of the services. Short-term services typically are provided for 
less than 60 days. 

I. Providers may utilize standardized state or federally 
sanctioned assessment tools that do not meet all the criteria of 
12VAC35-105-650 as the initial or comprehensive 
assessment tools as long as the tools assess the individual's 
health and safety issues and substantially meet the 
requirements of this regulation. 

J. Individuals who receive medication-only services shall be 
reassessed at least annually to determine whether there is a 
change in the need for additional services and the 
effectiveness of the medication.  

K. The provider shall retain documentation for each 
assessment for a period of six months. Documentation shall 
be included in the individual's record if the individual is 
admitted.  

L. The provider shall assist individuals who are not 
scheduled for further assessment or who are not admitted to 
identify other appropriate services.  

12VAC35-105-660. Individualized services plan (ISP).  

A. The provider shall develop a preliminary individualized 
services plan for the first 30 days. The preliminary 
individualized services plan shall be developed and 
implemented within 24 hours of admission and shall continue 
in effect until the individualized services plan is developed or 
the individual is discharged, whichever comes first actively 
involve the individual and authorized representative, as 
appropriate, in the development, review, and revision of a 
person-centered ISP. The individualized services planning 
process shall be consistent with laws protecting 
confidentiality, privacy, human rights of individuals receiving 
services, and rights of minors.  

B. The provider shall develop an individualized services 
plan for each individual as soon as possible after admission 
but no later than 30 days after admission. Providers of short-
term services must develop and implement a policy to 
develop individualized services plans within a time frame 
consistent with the expected length of stay of individuals. 
Services requiring longer term assessments may include the 
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completion of those as part of the individualized services plan 
as long as all appropriate services are incorporated into the 
individualized services plan based on the assessment 
completed within 30 days of admission and the individualized 
services plan is updated upon the completion of assessment 
initial person-centered ISP for the first 60 days. This ISP shall 
be developed and implemented within 24 hours of admission 
to address immediate service, health, and safety needs and 
shall continue in effect until the ISP is developed or the 
individual is discharged, whichever comes first.  

C. The individualized services plan shall address:  

1. The individual's needs and preferences.  

2. Relevant psychological, behavioral, medical, 
rehabilitation and nursing needs as indicated by the 
assessment;  

3. Individualized strategies, including the intensity of 
services needed;  

4. A communication plan for individuals with 
communication barriers, including language barriers; and  

5. The behavior treatment plan, if applicable.  

D. The provider shall comply with the human rights 
regulations in regard to participation in decision-making by 
the individual or legally authorized representative in 
developing or revising the individualized services plan.  

E. The provider shall involve family members, guardian, or 
others, if appropriate, in developing, reviewing, or revising, at 
least annually, the individualized service plans consistent 
with laws protecting confidentiality, privacy, the human 
rights of individuals receiving services (see 12VAC35-115-
60) and the rights of minors.  

F. Employees or contractors responsible for implementation 
of an individualized services plan shall demonstrate a 
working knowledge of the plan's goals, objectives and 
strategies.  

G. The provider shall designate a person who will develop 
and implement individualized service plans.  

H. The provider shall implement the individualized services 
plan and review it at least every three months or whenever 
there is a revised assessment. These reviews shall evaluate the 
individual's progress toward meeting the plan's objectives. 
The goals, objectives and strategies of the individualized 
services plan shall be updated, if indicated.  

I. The individualized service plan shall be consistent with 
the CSP for individuals served by the IFDDS Waiver.  

J. In brain injury services, the individualized services plan 
shall be reassessed and revised more frequently than annually, 
consistent with the individual's course of recovery.  

C. The provider shall develop and implement a person-
centered comprehensive ISP as soon as possible after 
admission based upon the nature and scope of services but no 
later than 60 days after admission. 

12VAC35-105-665. ISP requirements. 

A. The comprehensive ISP shall address or include: 

1. The individual's needs, strengths, abilities, personal 
preferences, goals, and natural supports; 

2. A summary of or reference to the assessment; 

3. Relevant and attainable goals, measurable objectives, 
and specific strategies for addressing each identifiable 
need; 

4. Services and supports and frequency of services required 
to accomplish the goals including relevant psychological, 
mental health, substance abuse, behavioral, medical, 
rehabilitation, training, and nursing needs and supports as 
indicated by the assessment;  

5. The role of the individual and others in implementing 
the service plan; 

6. A communication plan for individuals with 
communication barriers, including language barriers; 

7. A behavior support or treatment plan, if applicable; 

8. A safety plan that addresses identified risks to the 
individual or to others, including a fall risk plan; 

9. A crisis or relapse plan, if applicable;  

10. Target dates for accomplishment of goals and 
objectives and estimated duration of ISP; 

11. Discharge goals, if applicable; 

12. Identification of employees or contractors responsible 
for coordination and integration of services, including 
employees of other agencies; and 

13. Recovery plans. 

B. The ISP shall be signed and dated at a minimum by the 
person responsible for implementing the plan and the 
individual receiving services or the authorized representative. 
If the signature of the individual receiving services or the 
authorized representative cannot be obtained the provider 
shall document his attempt to attain the necessary signature 
and the reason why he was unable to obtain it.  

C. The provider shall designate a person who will be 
responsible for developing, implementing, reviewing, and 
revising each individual's ISP in collaboration with the 
individual or authorized representative, as appropriate. 

D. Employees or contractors who are responsible for 
implementing the ISP shall demonstrate a working 
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knowledge of the objectives and strategies contained in the 
individual's current ISP. 

E. Providers of short-term intensive services such as 
inpatient and crisis stabilization services that are typically 
provided for less than 30 days shall develop and implement a 
policy to develop an ISP within a timeframe consistent with 
the length of stay of individuals. 

F. The ISP shall be consistent with the plan of care for 
individuals served by the IFDDS Waiver. 

G. When a provider provides more than one service to an 
individual the provider may maintain a single ISP document 
that contains individualized objectives and strategies for each 
service provided. 

H. Whenever possible the identified goals in the ISP shall be 
written in the words of the individual receiving services. 

12VAC35-105-670. Individualized services plan 
requirements. (Repealed.) 

A. The individualized services plan shall include, at a 
minimum:  

1. A summary or reference to the assessment;  

2. Goals and measurable objectives for addressing each 
identified need;  

3. The services and supports and frequency of service to 
accomplish the goals and objectives;  

4. Target dates for accomplishment of goals and 
objectives;  

5. Estimated duration of service plan;  

6. Discharge plan, where applicable; and  

7. The employees or contractors responsible for 
coordination and integration of services, including 
employees of other agencies.  

B. The individualized services plan shall be signed and 
dated, at a minimum, by the person responsible for 
implementing the plan and the individual receiving services 
or the legally authorized representative. If unable to obtain 
the signature of the individual receiving services or the 
legally authorized representative, the provider shall document 
the reason.  

12VAC35-105-675. Reassessments and ISP reviews. 

A. Reassessments shall be completed at least annually and 
when there is a need based on the medical, psychiatric, or 
behavioral status of the individual. 

B. The provider shall update the ISP at least annually. The 
provider shall review the ISP at least every three months or 
whenever there is a revised assessment based upon the 
individual's changing needs or goals. These reviews shall 
evaluate the individual's progress toward meeting the plan's 

goals and objectives and the continued relevance of the ISP's 
objectives and strategies. The provider shall update the goals, 
objectives, and strategies contained in the ISP, if indicated, 
and implement any updates made.  

12VAC35-105-680. Progress notes or other 
documentation.  

The provider shall use signed and dated progress notes or 
other documentation to document the services provided, and 
the implementation of and outcomes of individualized 
services plans contained in the ISP.  

12VAC35-105-690. Orientation.  

A. The provider shall develop and implement a written 
policy regarding the orientation of individuals and the legally 
their authorized representative representatives, if applicable to 
services.  

B. At a minimum, As appropriate to the scope and level of 
services the policy shall require the provision to individuals 
and the legally authorized representative of the following 
information, as appropriate to the scope and level of services:  

1. The mission of the provider or service;  

2. Confidentiality Service confidentiality practices and 
protections for individuals receiving services;  

3. Human rights policies and protections and instructions 
on how to report violations;  

4. Participation Opportunities for participation in treatment 
services and discharge planning;  

5. Fire safety and emergency preparedness procedures;  

6. The provider's grievance procedure;  

7. Service guidelines including criteria for discharge or 
transfer from services;  

8. Physical plant or building lay-out;  

9. Hours and days of operation; and  

10. Availability of after-hours service; and 

11. Any charges or fees due from the individual. 

C. In addition, individuals receiving treatment services in a 
correctional facilities will facility shall receive an orientation 
to the facility's security restrictions.  

D. The provider shall document that orientation has been 
provided to individuals and the legal guardian/authorized 
representative the individual and authorized representative, if 
applicable, received an orientation to services.  

12VAC35-105-691. Transition of individuals among 
service locations. 

A. The provider shall have written procedures that define the 
process for transitioning an individual between or among 
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services or locations operated by the provider.  At a minimum 
the policy shall address: 

1. The process by which the provider will assure continuity 
of services during and following transition. 

2. The participation of the individual and his family or 
authorized representative, as applicable, in the decision to 
move and in the planning for transfer; 

3. The process and timeframe for transferring the 
individual's record and ISP to the destination location; 

4. The process and timeframe for transmitting the transfer 
summary to the destination location; and  

5. The process and timeframe for transmitting, where 
applicable, discharge and admission summaries to the 
destination location. 

B. The transfer summary shall include at a minimum the 
following: 

1. Description of each service provided at the initial 
location; 

2. Description of each service to be provided at the 
destination location; 

3. Reason for the individual's transfer; 

4. Documentation of involvement by the individual and his 
family or authorized representative, as applicable, in the 
decision to and planning for the transfer; 

5. Current psychiatric and medical conditions or issues of 
the individual and the identity of the individual's health 
care providers; 

6. Updated progress of the individual in meeting goals and 
objectives in his ISP; 

7. Emergency medical information; 

8. Dosages of all currently prescribed medications and 
over-the-counter medications used by the individual; 

9. Transfer date; and 

10. Signature of employee or contractor responsible for 
preparing the transfer summary. 

C. The transfer summary may be documented in the 
individual's progress notes or in information easily accessible 
within an electronic record. 

12VAC35-105-693. Discharge. 

A. The provider shall have policies and procedures 
regarding the discharge or termination of individuals from the 
service. These policies and procedures shall include medical 
and clinical criteria for discharge. 

B. Discharge instructions shall be provided in writing to the 
individual and his authorized representative, as applicable. 

Discharge instructions shall include at a minimum 
medications and dosages; names, phone numbers, and 
addresses of any providers to whom the individual is referred; 
current medical issues or conditions; and the identity of 
health care providers. This applies to residential and inpatient 
services only. 

C. The provider shall make appropriate arrangements or 
referrals to all service providers identified in the discharge 
plan prior to the individual's scheduled discharge date. 

D. The content of the discharge plan and the determination 
to discharge the individual shall be consistent with the ISP 
and the criteria for discharge. 

E. The provider shall document in the individual's service 
record that the individual, his authorized representative, and 
his family members, as appropriate, have been involved in the 
discharge planning process. 

F. A written discharge summary shall be completed within 
30 days of discharge and shall include at a minimum the 
following: 

1. Reason for the individual's admission to and discharge 
from the service; 

2. Description of the individual's or authorized 
representative's participation in discharge planning; 

3. The individual's current level of functioning or 
functioning limitations, if applicable; 

4. Recommended procedures, activities, or referrals to 
assist the individual in maintaining or improving 
functioning and increased independence; 

5. The status, location, and arrangements that have been 
made for future services; 

6. Progress made by the individual in achieving goals and 
objectives identified in the ISP and summary of critical 
events during service provision; 

7. Discharge date; 

8. Discharge medications, if applicable; 

9. Date the discharge summary was actually written or 
documented; and 

10. Signature of the person who prepared the summary. 

Article 3  
Crisis Intervention and Clinical Emergencies  

12VAC35-105-700. Written policies and procedures for a 
crisis or clinical emergency interventions; required 
elements.  

A. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures for prompt intervention in the event 
of a crisis or clinical a behavioral, medical, or psychiatric 
emergency that occurs may occur during screening and 
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referral or during, at admission and, or during the period of 
service provision. A clinical emergency refers to either a 
medical or psychiatric emergency.  

B. The policies and procedures shall include:  

1. A definition of what constitutes a crisis and clinical or 
behavioral, medical, or psychiatric emergency;  

2. Procedures for stabilization and immediate access to 
immediately accessing appropriate internal and external 
resources including a provision for. This shall include a 
provision for obtaining physician and mental health 
clinical services if the provider's or service's on-call or 
back-up physician back up or mental health clinical 
services are not available at the time of the emergency;  

3. Employee or contractor responsibilities; and  

4. Location of emergency medical information for 
individuals each individual receiving services, including 
any advance psychiatric or medical directive or crisis 
response plan developed by the individual, which shall be 
readily accessible to employees or contractors on duty in 
an emergency or crisis.  

12VAC35-105-710. Documenting crisis intervention and 
clinical emergency services.  

A. The provider shall develop a method for documenting the 
provision of crisis intervention and clinical emergency 
services. Documentation shall include the following:  

1. Date and time;  

2. Nature Description of the nature of or circumstances 
surrounding the crisis or emergency;  

3. Name of individual;  

4. Precipitating Description of precipitating factors;  

5. Interventions/treatment Interventions or treatment 
provided;  

6. Employees Names of employees or contractors involved 
responding to or consulted during the crisis or emergency; 
and  

7. Outcome.  

B. If a crisis or clinical emergency involves an individual 
who is admitted into service, documentation of the crisis 
intervention documentation or provision of emergency 
services shall become part of his record.  

Article 4  
Medical Management  

12VAC35-105-720. Health care policy.  

A. The provider shall develop and implement a written 
policy, appropriate to the scope and level of service that 

addresses provision of adequate and appropriate medical care. 
This policy shall describe how:  

1. Medical care needs will be assessed including 
circumstances that will prompt the decision to obtain a 
medical assessment.  

2. Individualized services plans will address any medical 
care needs appropriate to the scope and level of service.  

3. Identified medical care needs will be addressed.  

4. Substance abuse will be assessed. 

5. The provider manages will manage medical care needs 
or responds respond to abnormal findings.  

5. 6. The provider communicates will communicate 
medical assessments and diagnostic laboratory results to 
individuals the individual and authorized representatives 
representative, as appropriate.  

6. 7. The provider keeps will keep accessible to staff and 
contractors on duty the names, addresses, and phone 
numbers of the individual's medical and dental providers.  

7. 8. The provider ensures will ensure a means for 
facilitating and arranging, as appropriate, transportation to 
medical and dental appointments and medical tests, when 
services cannot be provided on site.  

B. The provider shall establish and implement policies to 
identify any individuals who are at risk for falls and develop 
and implement a fall prevention and management plan and 
program for each at risk individual. 

C. Providers of residential or inpatient services shall either 
provide or arrange for the provision of appropriate medical 
care. A provider Providers of other services shall define 
instances when it they shall provide or arrange for appropriate 
medical and dental care and instances when it they shall refer 
the individual to appropriate medical care.  

D. The provider shall develop, document, and implement 
infection control measures including the use of universal 
precautions. 

E. The provider shall report outbreaks of infectious diseases 
to the Department of Health pursuant to § 32.1-37 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

12VAC35-105-730. Medical information. (Repealed.) 

A. The provider shall develop and implement a medical 
evaluation or document its ability to obtain a medical 
evaluation that consists of, at a minimum, a health history and 
emergency medical information.  

B. A health history shall include:  

1. Allergies;  

2. Recent physical complaints and medical conditions;  
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3. Chronic conditions;  

4. Communicable diseases;  

5. Handicaps or restriction on physical activities, if any;  

6. Past serious illnesses, serious injuries and 
hospitalizations;  

7. Serious illnesses and chronic conditions of the 
individual's parents, siblings and significant others in the 
same household;  

8. Current and past drug usage including alcohol, 
prescription and nonprescription medications, and illicit 
drugs; and  

9. Sexual health and reproductive history.  

12VAC35-105-740. Physical examination.  

A. The provider shall develop in consultation with a 
qualified practitioner and implement a policy on the provision 
of physical examinations in consultation with a qualified 
practitioner. Providers of residential services shall administer 
or obtain results of physical exams within 30 days of an 
individual's admission. Providers of inpatient services shall 
administer physical exams within 24 hours of an individual's 
admission.  

B. A physical examination shall include, at a minimum:  

1. General physical condition (history and physical);  

2. Evaluation for communicable diseases;  

3. Recommendations for further diagnostic tests and 
treatment, if appropriate;  

4. Other examinations that may be indicated, if 
appropriate; and  

5. The date of examination and signature of a qualified 
practitioner.  

C. Locations designated for physical examinations shall 
ensure individual privacy.  

D. The provider shall make arrangements for the timely 
receipt of any further diagnostic tests, treatments, or 
examinations that may be indicated by the physical 
examination. 

E. The provider shall document results of the physical 
examination and of any follow-up diagnostic tests, 
treatments, or examinations in the individual's records. 

12VAC35-105-750. Emergency medical information.  

A. The provider shall maintain the following emergency 
medical information for each individual:  

1. If available, the name, address, and telephone number 
of:  

a. The individual's physician; and  

b. A relative, legally authorized representative, or other 
person to be notified;  

2. Medical insurance company name and policy or 
Medicaid, Medicare or CHAMPUS number, if any; and  

3. Currently prescribed medications and over-the-counter 
medications used by the individual;  

4. Medication and food allergies;  

5. History of substance abuse;  

6. Significant medical problems or conditions;  

7. Significant ambulatory or sensory problems; 

8. Significant communication problems; and  

8. 9. Advance directive, if one exists.  

B. Current emergency medical information shall be readily 
available to employees or contractors wherever program 
services are provided.  

Article 5  
Medication Management Services  

12VAC35-105-770. Medication management.  

A. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies addressing:  

1. The safe administration, handling, storage, and disposal 
of medications;  

2. The use of medication orders;  

3. The handling of packaged medications brought by 
individuals from home or other residences;  

4. Employees or contractors who are authorized to 
administer medication and training required for 
administration of medication;  

5. The use of professional samples; and  

6. The window within which medications can be given in 
relation to the ordered time of administration.  

B. Medications shall be administered only by persons who 
are authorized by state law.  

C. Medications shall be administered only to the individuals 
for whom the medications are prescribed and shall be 
administered as prescribed.  

D. The provider shall maintain a daily log of all medicines 
received and refused by each individual. This log shall 
identify the employee or contractor who administered the 
medication, the name of the medication and dosage 
administered or refused, and the time the medication was 
administered or refused.  

E. If the provider administers medications or supervises self-
administration of medication in a service, a current 
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medication order for all medications the individual receives 
shall be maintained on site.  

F. The provider shall promptly dispose of discontinued 
drugs, outdated drugs, and drug containers with worn, 
illegible, or missing labels according to the applicable 
regulations of the Virginia Board of Pharmacy.  

12VAC35-105-790. Medication administration and 
storage or pharmacy operation.  

A. The A provider responsible for medication administration 
and medication storage or pharmacy operations shall comply 
with:  

1. The Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code 
of Virginia);  

2. The Virginia Board of Pharmacy regulations 
(18VAC110-20);  

3. The Virginia Board of Nursing regulations and 
Medication Administration Curriculum (18VAC90-20-370 
through 18VAC90-20-390); and  

4. Applicable federal laws and regulations relating to 
controlled substances.  

B. The A provider responsible for medication administration 
and storage or pharmacy operation shall provide in-service 
training to employees and consultation to individuals or 
legally and authorized representatives on issues of basic 
pharmacology including medication side effects.  

Article 6  
Behavior Management Interventions 

12VAC35-105-800. Policies and procedures on behavior 
management techniques interventions and supports.  

A. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures that describe the use of behavior 
management techniques interventions, including, but not 
limited to, seclusion, restraint, and time out. The policies and 
procedures shall:  

1. Be consistent with applicable federal and state laws and 
regulations;  

2. Emphasize positive approaches to behavior management 
interventions;  

3. List and define behavior management techniques 
interventions in the order of their relative degree of 
intrusiveness or restrictiveness and the conditions under 
which they may be used in each service for each 
individual;  

4. Protect the safety and well-being of the individual at all 
times, including during fire and other emergencies;  

5. Specify the mechanism for monitoring the use of 
behavior management techniques interventions; and  

6. Specify the methods for documenting the use of 
behavior management techniques interventions.  

B. The behavior management policies and procedures shall 
be developed, implemented, and monitored by employees or 
contractors trained in behavior management programming 
Employees and contractors trained in behavior support 
interventions shall implement and monitor all behavior 
interventions.  

C. Policies and procedures related to behavior management 
shall be available to individuals, their families, guardians and 
advocates except that it does not apply to services provided in 
correctional facilities interventions shall be available to 
individuals, their families, authorized representatives, and 
advocates. Notification of policies does not need to occur in 
correctional facilities.  

D. Individuals receiving services shall not discipline, 
restrain, seclude or implement behavior management 
techniques interventions on other individuals receiving 
services.  

E. Injuries resulting from or occurring during the 
implementation of behavior management techniques 
interventions shall be recorded in the clinical individual's 
services record and reported to the employee or contractor 
responsible for the overall coordination of services.  

12VAC35-105-810. Behavioral treatment plan.  

A behavioral treatment plan may be developed as part of the 
individualized services plan in response to behavioral needs 
identified through the assessment process. A behavioral 
treatment plan may include restrictions only if the plan has 
been developed according to procedures outlined in the 
human rights regulations. Behavioral A behavioral treatment 
plan shall be developed, implemented, and monitored by 
employees or contractors trained in behavioral treatment.  

12VAC35-105-820. Prohibited actions.  

The following actions shall be prohibited:  

1. Prohibition of contacts and visits with attorney, 
probation officer, placing agency representative, minister 
or chaplain;  

2. Any action that is humiliating, degrading, or abusive;  

3. Corporal punishment;  

4. Subjection to unsanitary living conditions;  

5. Deprivation of opportunities for bathing or access to 
toilet facilities except as ordered by a licensed physician 
for a legitimate medical purpose and documented in the 
individual's record;  

6. Deprivation of appropriate services and treatment;  

7. Deprivation of health care;  
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8. Administration of laxatives, enemas, or emetics except 
as ordered by a physician or other professional acting 
within the scope of his license for a legitimate medical 
purpose and documented in the individual's record;  

9. Applications of aversive stimuli except as permitted 
pursuant to other applicable state regulations;  

10. Limitation on contacts with regulators, advocates or 
staff attorneys employed by the department or the 
Department for the Rights of Virginians with Disabilities 
Virginia Office for Protection and Advocacy.  

11. Deprivation of drinking water or food necessary to 
meet an individual's daily nutritional needs except as 
ordered by a licensed physician for a legitimate medical 
purpose and documented in the individual's record;  

12. Prohibition on contacts and or visits with family or 
legal guardian an authorized representative except as 
permitted by other applicable state regulations or by order 
of a court of competent jurisdiction;  

13. Delay or withholding of incoming or outgoing mail 
except as permitted by other applicable state and federal 
regulations or by order of a court of competent jurisdiction; 
and  

14. Deprivation of opportunities for sleep or rest except as 
ordered by a licensed physician for a legitimate medical 
purpose and documented in the individual's record.  

12VAC35-105-830. Seclusion, restraint, and time out.  

A. The use of seclusion, restraint, and time out shall comply 
with applicable federal and state laws and regulations and be 
consistent with the provider's policies and procedures.  

B. Devices used for mechanical restraint shall be designed 
specifically for behavior management of human beings in 
clinical or therapeutic programs.  

C. Application of time out, seclusion, and restraint shall be 
documented in the individual's record and, at a minimum, 
include the following:  

1. Physician's order;  

2. Date and time;  

3. Employees or contractors involved;  

4. Circumstances and reasons for use, including but not 
limited to other behavior management techniques 
attempted;  

5. Duration;  

6. Type of technique used; and  

7. Outcomes, including documentation of debriefing of the 
individual and staff involved following the incident.  

12VAC35-105-840. Requirements for seclusion room.  

A. The room used for seclusion shall meet the design 
requirements for buildings used for detention or seclusion of 
persons.  

B. The seclusion room shall be at least six feet wide and six 
feet long with a minimum ceiling height of eight feet.  

C. The seclusion room shall be free of all protrusions, sharp 
corners, hardware, fixtures or other devices which may cause 
injury to the occupant individual. 

D. Windows in the seclusion room shall be so constructed as 
to minimize breakage and otherwise prevent the occupant 
individual from harming himself.  

E. Light fixtures and other electrical receptacles in the 
seclusion room shall be recessed or so constructed as to 
prevent the occupant individual from harming himself. Light 
controls shall be located outside the seclusion room.  

F. Doors to the seclusion room shall be at least 32 inches 
wide, shall open outward and shall contain observation view 
panels of transparent wire glass or its approved equivalent, 
not exceeding 120 square inches but of sufficient size for 
someone outside the door to see into all corners of the room.  

G. The seclusion room shall contain only a mattress with a 
washable mattress covering designed to avoid damage by 
tearing.  

H. The seclusion room shall maintain temperatures 
appropriate for the season.  

I. All space in the seclusion room shall be visible through 
the locked door, either directly or by mirrors.  

Article 7  
Continuity of Service and Discharge  

12VAC35-105-850. Transition of individuals among 
services. (Repealed.)  

A. The provider shall have written procedures to define the 
process for the transition of an individual among services of 
the provider. At a minimum, the policy will address:  

1. Continuity of service;  

2. Participation of the individual and his family;  

3. Transfer of the individual's record;  

4. Transfer summary; and  

5. Where applicable, discharge and admission summaries.  

B. The transfer summary will include at a minimum:  

1. The originating service;  

2. The destination service;  

3. Reason for transfer;  
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4. Current psychiatric and medical condition of the 
individual;  

5. Updated progress on meeting the goals and objectives of 
the ISP;  

6. Medications and dosages in use;  

7. Transfer date; and  

8. Signature of employee or contractor responsible for 
preparing the transfer summary.  

12VAC35-105-860. Discharge. (Repealed.) 

A. The provider shall have written policies and procedures 
regarding the discharge of individuals from the service and 
termination of services. These policies and procedures shall 
include medical or clinical criteria for discharge.  

B. Discharge instructions shall be provided, in writing, to 
the individual or his legally authorized representative or both. 
Discharge instructions shall include, at a minimum, 
medications and dosages, phone numbers and addresses of 
any providers to whom the individual is referred, current 
medical issues, conditions, and the identity of health care 
providers. This regulation applies to residential and inpatient 
services.  

C. The provider shall make appropriate arrangements or 
referrals to all services identified by the discharge plan prior 
to the individual's scheduled discharge date.  

D. Discharge planning and discharge shall be consistent 
with the individualized services plan and the criteria for 
discharge.  

E. The individual's, the individual's legally authorized 
representative and the individual's family's involvement in 
discharge planning shall be documented in the individual's 
service record.  

F. A written discharge summary shall be completed within 
30 days of discharge and shall include, at a minimum, the:  

1. Reason for admission and discharge;  

2. Individual's participation in discharge planning;  

3. Individual's level of functioning or functional 
limitations, if applicable;  

4. Recommendations on procedures, activities, or referrals 
to assist the individual in maintaining or improving 
functioning and increased independence and the status, 
location and arrangements for future services that have 
been made;  

5. Progress made achieving the goals and objectives 
identified in the individualized services plan and summary 
of critical events during service provision;  

6. Discharge date;  

7. Discharge medications, if applicable;  

8. Date the discharge summary was actually 
written/documented; and  

9. Signature of person who prepared summary.  

Part V  
Records Management  

12VAC35-105-870. Written and electronic records 
management policy.  

A. The provider shall develop and implement a written and 
electronic records management policy that shall describe 
describes confidentiality, accessibility, security, and retention 
of records pertaining to individuals, including:  

1. Access and limitation of access, duplication and, or 
dissemination of individual information only to persons 
legally who are authorized to access such information 
according to federal and state laws;  

2. Storage, processing and handling of active and closed 
records;  

3. Storage, processing and handling of electronic records;  

4. Security measures to that protect records from loss, 
unauthorized alteration, inadvertent or unauthorized 
access, disclosure of information, and transportation of 
records between service sites; physical and data security 
controls shall exist for electronic records;  

5. Strategies for service continuity and record recovery 
from interruptions that result from disasters or emergencies 
including contingency plans, electronic or manual back-up 
systems, and data retrieval systems; 

6. Designation of the person responsible for records 
management; and  

6. 7. Disposition of records in the event that the service 
ceases operation. If the disposition of records would 
involve involves a transfer to another provider, the 
provider shall have a written agreement with that provider.  

B. The records management policy shall be consistent with 
applicable state and federal laws and regulations including:  

1. Section 32.1-127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia;  

2. 42 USC § 290dd;  

3. 42 CFR Part 2; and  

4. The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act 
(Public Law 104-191, 42 45 USC § 300gg et seq.) and 
implementing regulations (42 CFR Part 146) (45 CFR 
Parts 160, 162, and 164).  
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12VAC35-105-880. Documentation policy.  

A. The provider shall define, by policy, all records it 
maintains that address an individual's care and treatment and 
what each record contains.  

B. The provider shall define, by policy, and implement a 
system of documentation which that supports appropriate 
service planning, coordination, and accountability. At a 
minimum this policy shall outline:  

1. The location of the individual's record;  

2. Methods of access by employees or contractors to the 
individual's record; and  

3. Methods of updating the individual's record by 
employees or contractors including the frequency and 
format of updates.  

C. Entries in the individual's record shall be current, dated, 
and authenticated by the person persons making the entry 
entries. Errors shall be corrected by striking through the 
incorrect information and initialing the correction. If records 
are electronic, the provider shall develop and implement a 
written policy to identify on the identification of corrections 
of to the record.  

12VAC35-105-890. Individual's service record.  

A. There shall be a single, separate primary record for each 
individual or family admitted for service. A separate record 
shall be maintained for each family member who is receiving 
individual treatment.  

B. All individuals admitted to the service shall have 
identifying information on the face sheet readily accessible in 
the individual's service record. Identifying information on a 
standardized face sheet or sheets shall include the following:  

1. Identification number unique for the individual;  

2. Name of individual;  

3. Current residence, if known;  

4. Social security number;  

5. Gender;  

6. Marital status;  

7. Date of birth;  

8. Name of legal guardian or authorized representative, if 
applicable;  

9. Name, address, and telephone number for emergency 
contact;  

10. Adjudicated legal incompetency or legal incapacity, if 
applicable; and  

11. Date of admission to service.  

C. In addition to the face sheet, an individual's service 
record shall contain, at a minimum:  

1. Screening documentation;  

2. Assessments;  

3. Medical evaluation, as applicable to the service;  

4. Individualized services plans and reviews;  

5. Progress notes; and  

6. A discharge summary, if applicable.  

12VAC35-105-900. Record storage and security.  

A. When not in use, active and closed records shall be stored 
in a locked cabinet or room.  

B. Physical and data security controls shall exist for to 
protect electronic records.  

12VAC35-105-910. Retention of individual's service 
records.  

A. An Unless otherwise specified by state or federal 
requirements, the provider shall retain an individual's service 
records shall be kept record for a minimum of three years 
after his discharge date or date of last contact unless 
otherwise specified by state or federal requirements.  

B. Permanent information kept on each individual shall 
include The provider shall retain the following individual 
information permanently:  

1. Individual's name;  

2. Social security number;  

3. Date of individual's birth;  

4. Dates of admission and discharge; and  

5. Name and address of legal guardian authorized 
representative, if any.  

Part VI  
Additional Requirements for Selected Services  

Article 1  
Opioid Treatment Services  

12VAC35-105-925. Standards for the evaluation of the 
need for new licenses for providers of services to persons 
with opioid addiction. 

A. Applicants requesting an initial license to provide a new 
service for the treatment of opioid addiction through the use 
of methadone or any other opioid treatment medication or 
controlled substance shall supply information to demonstrate 
the department that demonstrates the need for, and 
appropriateness of, the proposed service in accordance with 
this section. 
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B. Applicants shall demonstrate that the geographic and 
demographic parameters of the service area are reasonable 
and the proposed service is expected to serve a sufficient 
number of individuals to justify the service as documented in 
subsection D of this section. For purposes of demonstrating 
need, applicants shall define a service area that is located 
entirely in Virginia and does not extend more than 100 miles 
from the proposed location of the service. Applicants also 
shall identify the number of individuals they seek to be 
licensed to serve. 

C. Applicants shall submit admission policies that give 
priority to individuals residing in the service area for 
admission and placement on waiting lists. 

D. Applicants shall demonstrate that there are persons 
residing in their service areas who have an opioid addiction 
who would benefit from the proposed service. The following 
information may be used by the applicant to document that 
individuals in the service area are known or reasonably 
expected to need the proposed service: 

1. Numbers of persons on waiting lists for admission to 
any existing opioid addiction or other public substance 
abuse treatment program in the service area for the most 
recent available 12-month period; 

2. Numbers of opioid use disorder cases (e.g., overdoses) 
originating from the proposed service area that have been 
treated in hospital emergency rooms for the most recent 
available 12-month period; 

3. Projections of the number of persons in the service area 
who are likely to obtain services for opioid addiction, 
based on drug-use forecasting data; 

4. Data reported on suicidal and accidental deaths related 
to opioid use in the proposed service area for the most 
recent available 12-month period; 

5. Data regarding arrests from local law-enforcement 
officials in the proposed service area related to illicit 
opioid activities; 

6. Data on communicable diseases for the proposed service 
area related to injection drug abuse (e.g. HIV, AIDS, TB, 
and Hepatitis B and C); 

7. Data on the availability of any evidence-based 
alternative service or services that have been proven 
effective in the treatment of opioid addiction and that are 
accessible to persons within the proposed service area, 
including services provided by physicians' offices; and 

8. Letters of support from citizens, governmental officials, 
or health care providers, that indicate that there are 
conditions or problems associated with substance abuse in 
the community that demonstrate a need for opioid 
treatment services in the service area. 

E. The department shall determine whether a need exists for 
the proposed service based on the documentation provided in 
accordance with subsection D of this section and the 
consideration of the following standards: 

1. Whether there are a sufficient number of persons in the 
proposed service area who are likely to need the specific 
opioid treatment service that the applicant intends to 
provide; 

2. Whether the data indicate that evidence-based service 
capacity in the service area is not responsive to or 
sufficient enough to meet the needs of individuals with 
opioid addiction; and 

3. Whether there is documentation of support to confirm 
the need for the proposed service in the proposed service 
area. 

F. The proposed site of the service shall comply with § 37.2-
406 of the Code of Virginia and, with the exception of 
services that are proposed to be located in Planning District 8, 
shall not be located within one-half mile of a public or private 
licensed day care center or a public or private K-12 school. 

G. In jurisdictions without zoning ordinances, the 
department shall request that the local governing body advise 
it as to whether the proposed site is suitable for and 
compatible with use as an office and the delivery of health 
care services. The department shall make this request when it 
notifies the local governing body of a pending application. 

H. Applicants shall demonstrate that the building or space to 
be used to provide the proposed service is suitable for the 
treatment of opioid addiction by submitting documentation of 
the following: 

1. The proposed site complies with the requirements of the 
local building regulatory entity; 

2. The proposed site complies with local zoning laws or 
ordinances, including any required business licenses; 

3. In the absence of local zoning ordinances, the proposed 
site is suitable for and compatible with use as offices and 
the delivery of health care services; 

4. In jurisdictions where there are no parking ordinances, 
the proposed site has sufficient off-street parking to 
accommodate the needs of the individuals being served and 
prevent the disruption of traffic flow; 

5. The proposed site can accommodate individuals during 
periods of inclement weather; 

6. The proposed site complies with the Virginia Statewide 
Fire Prevention Code; and 

7. The applicant has a written plan to ensure security for 
storage of methadone at the site, which complies with 
regulations of the Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA), and 
the Virginia Board of Pharmacy. 
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I. Applicants shall submit information to demonstrate that 
there are sufficient personnel available to meet the following 
staffing requirements and qualifications: 

1. The program director shall be licensed or certified by the 
applicable Virginia health regulatory board or by a 
nationally recognized certification board, or eligible for 
this license or certification with relevant training, 
experience, or both, in the treatment of persons with opioid 
addiction; 

2. The medical director shall be a board-certified 
addictionologist or have successfully completed or will 
complete within one year, a course of study in opiate 
addiction that is approved by the department; 

3. A minimum of one pharmacist; 

4. Nurses; 

5. Counselors shall be licensed or certified by the 
applicable Virginia health regulatory board or by a 
nationally recognized certification board, or eligible for 
this license or certification; and  

6. Personnel to provide support services. 

J. Applicants shall submit a description for the proposed 
service that includes: 

1. Proposed mission, philosophy, and goals of the provider; 

2. Care, treatment, and services to be provided, including a 
comprehensive discussion of levels of care provided and 
alternative treatment strategies offered; 

3. Proposed hours and days of operation; 

4. Plans for on-site security; and 

5. A diversion control plan for dispensed medications, 
including policies for use of drug screens. 

K. Applicants shall, in addition to the requirements of 
12VAC35-105-580 C 2, provide documentation of their 
capability to provide the following services and support 
directly or by arrangement with other specified providers 
when such services and supports are (i) requested by an 
individual being served or (ii) identified as an individual 
need, based on the assessment conducted in accordance with 
12VAC35-105-60 B and included in the individualized 
services plan: 

1. Psychological services; 

2. Social services; 

3. Vocational services; 

4. Educational services; and  

5. Employment services. 

L. Applicants shall submit documentation of contact with 
community services boards or behavioral health authorities in 

their service areas to discuss its plans for operating in the area 
and to develop joint agreements, as appropriate. 

M. Applicants shall provide policies and procedures that 
require every six months each individual served to be 
assessed by the treatment team to determine if that individual 
is appropriate for safe and voluntary medically supervised 
withdrawal, alternative therapies including other medication 
assisted treatments, or continued federally approved 
pharmacotherapy treatment for opioid addiction. 

N. Applicants shall submit policies and procedures 
describing services they will provide to individuals who wish 
to discontinue opioid treatment services. 

O. Applicants shall provide assurances that the service will 
have a community liaison responsible for developing and 
maintaining cooperative relationships with community 
organizations, other service providers, local law enforcement, 
local government officials, and the community at large. 

P. The department, including the Office of Licensing, Office 
of Human Rights, or Office of Substance Abuse Services, 
shall conduct announced and unannounced reviews and 
complaint investigations, in collaboration with the state 
methadone authority, Virginia Board of Pharmacy, and DEA 
to determine compliance with the regulations. 

12VAC35-105-930. Registration, certification or 
accreditation.  

A. The opioid treatment service shall maintain current 
registration or certification with:  

1. The Federal federal Drug Enforcement Administration;  

2. The federal Department of Health and Human Services; 
and  

3. The Virginia Board of Pharmacy.  

B. If required by federal regulations, a A provider of opioid 
treatment services shall be required to maintain accreditation 
with an entity approved under federal regulations.  

12VAC35-105-940. Criteria for involuntary termination 
from treatment.  

A. The provider shall establish criteria for involuntary 
termination from treatment that describe the rights of the 
individual receiving services and the responsibilities and 
rights of the provider.  

B. The provider shall establish a grievance procedure as part 
of the rights of the individual.  

C. On admission, the individual shall be given a copy of the 
criteria and shall sign a statement acknowledging receipt of 
same. The signed acknowledgement shall be maintained in 
the individual's record.  

D. Upon admission and annually all individuals shall sign an 
authorization for disclosure of information to allow programs 
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access to the Virginia Prescription Monitoring System. 
Failure to comply shall be grounds for nonadmission to the 
program. 

12VAC35-105-950. Service operation schedule.  

A. The service's days of operation shall meet the needs of 
the population individuals served. If the service dispenses or 
administers a medication requiring daily dosing, the service 
shall operate seven days a week, 12 months a year, except for 
official state holidays. Prior approval from the state 
methadone authority shall be required for additional closed 
days.  

B. The service may close on Sundays if the following 
criteria are met: 

1. The provider develops and implements policies and 
procedures that address recently inducted individuals 
receiving services, individuals not currently on a stable 
dose of medication, patients that present noncompliance 
treatment behaviors, and individuals who previously 
picked up take-homes on Sundays, security of take-home 
doses, and health and safety of individuals receiving 
services. 

2. The provider receives prior approval from the state 
methadone authority for Sunday closings. 

3. Once approved, the provider shall notify individuals 
receiving services in writing at least 30 days in advance of 
their intent to close on Sundays. The notice shall address 
the risks to the individuals and the security of take-home 
medications. All individuals shall receive an orientation 
addressing take-home policies and procedures, and this 
orientation shall be documented in the patient record prior 
to receiving take-home medications. 

4. The provider shall establish procedures for emergency 
access to dosing information 24 hours a day, seven days a 
week. This information may be provided via an answering 
service, pager, or other electronic measures. Information 
needed includes the individual's last dosing time and date, 
and dose. 

C. Medication dispensing hours shall include at least two 
hours each day of operation outside normal working hours, 
i.e., before 9 a.m. and after 5 p.m. The state methadone 
authority may approve an alternative schedule if that schedule 
meets the needs of the population served.  

12VAC35-105-960. Physical examinations.  

A. The individual shall have a complete physical evaluation 
prior to admission to the service unless the individual is 
transferring from another licensed opioid agonist service. A 
full physical examination, including the results of serology 
and other tests, shall be completed within 14 days of 
admission.  

B. Physical exams of each individual shall be completed 
annually or more frequently if there is a change in the 
individual's physical or mental condition.  

C. The provider shall maintain the report of the individual's 
physical examination in the individual's service record.  

D. On admission, all individuals shall be tested for 
AIDS/HIV. The individual may sign a notice of refusal 
without prejudice.  

E. The provider shall coordinate treatment services for 
individuals who are prescribed benzodiapines and 
prescription narcotics with the treating physician. The 
coordination shall be the responsibility of the provider's 
physician and shall be documented. 

12VAC35-105-970. Counseling sessions.  

The provider shall conduct face-to-face counseling sessions 
(either individual or group) at least every two weeks for the 
first year of an individual's treatment and every month in the 
second year of the individual's treatment. After two years, the 
number of face-to-face counseling sessions that an individual 
receives shall be based on the individual's progress in 
treatment. Absences The failure of an individual to participate 
in counseling sessions shall be addressed as part of the overall 
treatment process.  

12VAC35-105-980. Drug screens.  

A. The provider shall perform at least eight random drug 
screens during a 12-month period unless the conditions in 
subdivision B of this subsection apply;  

B. Whenever an individual's drug screen indicates continued 
illicit drug use or when clinically and environmentally 
indicated, random drug screens shall be performed weekly.  

C. Drug screens shall be analyzed for opiates, methadone (if 
ordered), benzodiazepines and cocaine. In addition, drug 
screens for other drugs with that have the potential for 
addiction shall be performed when clinically and 
environmentally indicated.  

D. The provider shall develop and implement a policy on 
how the results of drug screens shall be used to direct 
treatment.  

12VAC35-105-990. Take-home medication.  

A. Prior to dispensing regularly scheduled take-home 
medication, the provider shall ensure the individual 
demonstrates a level of current lifestyle stability as evidenced 
by the following:  

1. Regular clinic attendance, including dosing and 
participation in counseling or group sessions;  

2. Absence of recent alcohol abuse and other illicit drug 
use;  

3. Absence of significant behavior problems; and  
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4. Absence of recent criminal activities, charges or 
convictions; 

5. Stability of the individual's home environment and 
social relationships;  

6. Length of time in treatment;  

7. Ability to assure take-home medications are safely 
stored; and  

8. Demonstrated rehabilitative benefits of take-home 
medications outweigh the risks of possible diversion. 

B. The provider shall educate the individual on the safe 
transportation and storage of take-home medication.  

12VAC35-105-1000. Preventing duplication of medication 
services.  

To prevent duplication of opioid medication services to an 
individual, the provider shall have develop and implement a 
policy and implement procedures to contact for contacting 
every opioid treatment service within a 50-mile radius before 
admitting an individual.  

12VAC35-105-1010. Guests.  

A. No medication shall be dispensed The provider shall not 
dispense medication to any guest unless the guest has been 
receiving such medication services from another provider and 
documentation from such that provider has been received 
prior to dispensing medication.  

B. Guests may receive medication for up to 28 days. To 
continue receiving medication after 28 days, the guest must 
be admitted to the service. Individuals receiving guest 
medications as part of a residential treatment service may 
exceed the 28-day maximum time limit.  

12VAC35-105-1020. Detoxification prior to involuntary 
discharge.  

Individuals The provider shall give an individual who are is 
being involuntarily discharged shall be given an opportunity 
to detoxify from opioid agonist medication not less than 10 
days or not more than 30 days prior to his discharge from the 
service, unless the state methadone authority has granted an 
exception.  

12VAC35-105-1040. Emergency preparedness plan.  

The provider's emergency preparedness plan shall include 
provision for the continuation of opioid treatment in the event 
of an emergency or natural disaster.  

12VAC35-105-1050. Security of opioid agonist medication 
supplies.  

A. At a minimum, the provider shall secure opioid agonist 
medication supplies shall be secured as follows: by restricting 
access to medication areas to medical or pharmacy personnel. 

1. Admittance to the medication area shall be restricted to 
medical or pharmacy personnel;  

2. B. Medication inventory shall be reconciled The provider 
shall reconcile the medication inventory monthly; and.  

3. C. Inventory The provider shall keep inventory records, 
including the monthly reconciliation, shall be kept for three 
years.  

B. D. The provider shall maintain a current plan to control 
the diversion of medication to unprescribed or illegal uses.  

Article 2  
Managed Withdrawal Services 

12VAC35-105-1055. Description of level of care provided. 

In the service description the provider shall describe the 
level of services and the medical management provided.  

Article 2  
Social Detoxification Services  

12VAC35-105-1060. Cooperative agreements with 
community agencies.  

The provider shall establish cooperative agreements with 
other community agencies to accept referrals for treatment, 
including provisions for physician coverage if not provided 
on-site, and emergency medical care. The agreements shall 
clearly outline the responsibility of each party.  

12VAC35-105-1080. Direct-care training for providers of 
detoxification services.  

A. The provider shall document staff training in the areas of:  

1. Management of withdrawal; and  

2. First responder training; or. 

3. First aid and CPR training.  

B. New employees or contractors shall be trained within 30 
days of employment. Untrained employees or contractors 
shall not be solely responsible for the care of individuals.  

12VAC35-105-1090. Minimum number of employees or 
contractors on duty.  

In detoxification service locations, at least two employees or 
contractors shall be on duty at all times. If the location is 
within or contiguous to another service location, at least one 
employee or contractor shall be on duty at the location with 
trained backup employees or contractors immediately 
available. In other managed withdrawal settings the number 
of staff on duty shall be appropriate for the services offered 
and individuals served. 

12VAC35-105-1100. Documentation.  

Employees or contractors on each shift shall document 
services provided and significant events in the individual's 
record on each shift.  
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12VAC35-105-1110. Admission assessments.  

During the admission process, providers of detoxification 
managed withdrawal services shall:  

1. Identify individuals with a high-risk for medical 
complications or who may pose a danger to themselves or 
others;  

2. Assess substances used and time of last use;  

3. Determine time of last meal;  

4. Administer a urine screen;  

6. 5. Analyze blood alcohol content or administer a 
breathalyzer; and  

7.  6. Record vital signs.  

Article 3  
Services in Department of Corrections Correctional Facilities  

12VAC35-105-1140. Clinical and security coordination.  

A. The provider shall have formal and informal methods of 
resolving procedural and programmatic issues regarding 
individual care arising between the clinical and security 
employees or contractors.  

B. The provider shall demonstrate ongoing communication 
between clinical and security employees to ensure individual 
care.  

C. The provider shall provide cross-training for the clinical 
and security employees or contractors that includes:  

1. Mental health, mental retardation (intellectual 
disability), and substance abuse education;  

2. Use of clinical and security restraints; and  

3. Channels of communication.  

D. Employees or contractors shall receive periodic in-
service training, and have knowledge of and be able to 
demonstrate the appropriate use of clinical and security 
restraint.  

E. Security and behavioral assessments shall be completed 
at the time of admission to determine service eligibility and at 
least weekly for the safety of individuals, other persons, 
employees, and visitors.  

F. Personal grooming and care services for individuals shall 
be a cooperative effort between the clinical and security 
employees or contractors.  

G. Clinical needs and security level shall be considered 
when arrangements are made regarding privacy for individual 
contact with family and attorneys.  

H. Living quarters shall be assigned on the basis of the 
individual's security level and clinical needs.  

I. An assessment of the individual's clinical condition and 
needs shall be made when disciplinary action or restrictions 
are required for infractions of security measures.  

J. Clinical services consistent with the individual's condition 
and plan of treatment shall be provided when security 
detention or isolation is imposed.  

12VAC35-105-1150. Other requirements for correctional 
facilities.  

A. Group bathroom facilities shall be partitioned between 
toilets and urinals to provide privacy.  

B. If uniform clothing is required, the clothing shall be 
properly fitted, climatically suitable, durable, and presentable.  

C. Financial compensation for work performed shall be 
determined by the Department of Corrections. Personal 
housecleaning tasks may be assigned without compensation 
to the individual.  

D. The use of audio equipment, such as televisions, radios, 
and record players, shall not interfere with therapeutic 
activities.  

E. Aftercare planning for individuals nearing the end of 
incarceration shall include a provision for continuing 
medication and follow-up services with area community 
services to facilitate successful reintegration into the 
community including specific appointment provided to the 
inmate no later than the day of release.  

Article 4  
Sponsored Residential Homes Services  

12VAC35-105-1160. Sponsored residential home 
information.  

Providers of sponsored residential home services shall 
maintain the following information:  

1. Names and ages of residential sponsors;  

2. Date of sponsored residential home agreement;  

3. The maximum number of individuals that can be placed 
in the home at a given time;  

4. Names and ages of all other individuals who are not 
receiving services, but are residing in a sponsored 
residential home;  

5. Address and telephone number of the sponsored 
residential home; and  

6. All Names of all staff employed in the home, including 
on-call and substitute staff.  

12VAC35-105-1170. Sponsored residential home 
agreements.  

A. The provider shall develop and maintain a written 
agreement with residential home sponsors. Sponsors are 
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individuals persons who provide the home where the service 
is located and are directly responsible for the provision of 
services. The agreement shall include the:  

1. Be available for inspection by the licensing specialist; 
and Provider's responsibilities;  

2. Include a provision for granting the right of entry to state 
licensing specialists or human rights advocates to 
investigate complaints. Sponsor's responsibilities; 

3. Scope of services; 

4. Supervision; 

5. Compensation; 

6. Training; and 

7. Reporting requirements and procedures. 

B. The agreement shall be available for inspection by the 
licensing specialist and shall include a provision for granting 
the right of entry to state licensing specialists or human rights 
advocates to conduct inspections.  

12VAC35-105-1180. Sponsor qualification and approval 
process.  

A. The provider shall evaluate and certify each sponsored 
residential homes home other than his own through face-to-
face interviews, home visits inspections, and other 
information documenting compliance with this regulation. 
The provider shall submit the certification form to the 
department before individuals are placed in the home and 
ensure that the following requirements are met annually.  

B. The provider shall certify and document that all each 
sponsored residential homes meet home meets the criteria for 
physical environment and residential services designated in 
these regulations.  

C. The provider shall document the ability of the sponsored 
staff's ability residential home staff to meet the needs of the 
individuals placed in the home by assessing and 
documenting:  

1. The sponsored staff's ability of the staff to communicate 
and understand individuals receiving services;  

2. The sponsored staff's ability of the staff to provide the 
care, treatment, training, or habilitation for individual 
individuals receiving services in the home;  

3. The abilities of all members of the sponsored household 
to accept individuals with disabilities and their disability-
related characteristics, especially the ability of children in 
the household to adjust to nonfamily members living with 
them; and  

4. The financial capacity of the sponsor to meet the 
sponsor's own expenses for up to 90 days, independent of 
payments received for residents living in the home.; and  

5. The education, qualifications, and experience of the staff 
with the individuals served including Virginia Department 
of Motor Vehicles driving record, tuberculosis screening, 
first-aid and CPR certification, and completion of 
medication administration and behavior management 
interventions training. 

D. The provider shall obtain three job-related references, 
past licensing history, criminal background checks, and a 
search of the registry of founded complaints of child abuse 
and neglect maintained by the Department of Social Services 
for the sponsor and all adults in the home who are staff. The 
provider must develop policies for obtaining references, 
background and registry checks for all adults in the home 
who are not staff and not the individuals being served.  

E. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies for obtaining references, criminal background 
checks, and registry checks for all adults in the home who are 
neither staff nor individuals being served. The policy shall 
indicate what action the provider will take if the results 
indicate that a member of the sponsor family has been 
convicted of a barrier crime or fails to meet the requirements 
of this regulation should an ineligible result be received.  

F. Sponsored The sponsored residential home members shall 
submit to the provider the results of a physical and mental 
health examination of family members when requested by the 
provider based on indications of a physical or mental health 
problem issue.  

F. G. Sponsored residential homes shall not also operate as 
group homes or Department of Social Services approved 
homes or foster homes.  

H. The provider shall submit the name, address, and 
certification of the sponsored residential home to the 
department prior to adding the home. The provider shall 
submit the name and address of the sponsored residential 
home to the department prior to closing the home. The 
provider shall submit a service modification when approving 
homes more than 100 miles from the previously approved 
homes.  

12VAC35-105-1190. Sponsored residential home service 
policies.  

A. The provider shall develop and implement policies to 
provide orientation and supportive services to sponsored the 
sponsored residential home staff specific to individual the 
needs of the individuals receiving services.  

B. The provider shall develop and implement a training plan 
for the sponsored sponsor staff consistent with resident the 
needs of the individuals receiving services.  

C. The provider shall specify staffing arrangements in all 
sponsored residential homes, including on-call and substitute 
care arrangements.  
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D. The provider shall develop and implement a written 
policy on managing, monitoring, and supervising sponsored 
residential homes. This policy shall address changes in 
supervision arrangements as the number of homes increase. 

E. The provider shall conduct at least semi-annual 
unannounced visits to inspections of each sponsored 
residential homes home other than his own. Inspections shall 
be performed at least on a quarterly basis during the year with 
at least two being unannounced inspections. 

F. On an on-going basis and at least annually, the provider 
shall review and document compliance of by each sponsored 
residential homes home and sponsors sponsor with 
regulations related to sponsored residential homes.  

G. The provider shall develop written policies regarding 
termination of for terminating a sponsored residential home.  

H. The provider shall document that all residents or their 
authorized representatives are provided the opportunity to 
choose a new placement when the current placement ends. 
Prior to moving an individual to another placement the 
provider shall conduct and document a meeting to include the 
individual and their authorized representative, if applicable, 
case manager, the current sponsor, and a receiving placement 
staff, if possible. 

12VAC35-105-1200. Supervision.  

A. The provider shall have a supervisor for every 20 
sponsored residential homes where individuals are residing.  

B. A responsible adult shall be available to provide 
supervision to the individual as specified in the individualized 
service plan.  

B. C. Any member of the sponsor family who transports 
individuals receiving services must have a valid driver's 
license and automobile liability insurance. The vehicle used 
to transport individuals receiving services shall have a valid 
registration and inspection sticker.  

C. D. The sponsor shall inform the provider in advance of 
any anticipated additions or changes in the sponsored 
residential home or as soon as possible after an unexpected 
change occurs.  

E. In addition to the current reporting requirements the 
sponsor shall report all hospitalizations of the individuals 
being served to the provider and the individual's case 
manager within 24 hours.  

12VAC35-105-1210. Sponsored residential home service 
records.  

Providers of sponsored residential home services shall 
maintain records on each sponsored residential home, which 
shall include:  

1. Documentation of three references for the owner of the 
sponsor home;  

2. Criminal background checks and results of the search of 
the registry of founded complaints of child abuse and 
neglect on for all adults who are staff adult employees in 
the home;  

3. Orientation and training provided by the provider to the 
sponsor and employees;  

4. A The log of provider visits to each inspections of the 
sponsored residential home including the date, the staff 
person visiting employee conducting the inspection, the 
purpose of the visit inspection, and a description of any 
significant events; and  

5. The sponsor will maintain a daily log maintained by the 
sponsor of significant events related to individuals 
receiving services.  

12VAC35-105-1220. Regulations pertaining to employees 
staff.  

Providers will shall certify and document compliance of 
sponsors with regulations pertaining to employees staff.  

12VAC35-105-1230. Maximum number of beds or 
occupants in sponsored residential home. 

The maximum number of individuals served in a sponsored 
residential home beds is two. The maximum number of 
occupants in a sponsored residential home is seven.  

12VAC35-105-1235. Sponsored residential home services 
for children. 

In addition, the following requirements shall be met for 
homes serving children: 

1. The provider shall develop a service description based 
upon evidence-based practices or an accepted therapeutic 
model of mental health, mental retardation (intellectual 
disability), substance abuse, or brain injury care for 
children. 

2. The provider shall use a treatment team model 
consisting of staff who provide intensive support and 
consultation to the sponsor parents. 

3. Weekly team meetings and supervision shall be held 
with the sponsor parent or parents to review progress on 
each case, review the daily behavioral information 
collected, and adjust the child's individualized services 
plan. 

4. The sponsor parent or parents shall keep a daily log of 
behavioral and other child specific information and be 
available for daily Monday through Friday contact from 
the provider. 

5. The sponsor parent or parents shall receive 25 hours per 
year of in-service training pertaining to providing services 
for the child they serve in addition to the training otherwise 
required in these regulations. The sponsor parent or parents 
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shall also participate in ongoing training at least once a 
quarter. 

6. The provider is not considered a child placing agency. 
Children are placed with the provider by licensed child 
placing agencies, local departments of social services, or 
parents.  

7. The sponsor parent or parents shall be at least 25 years 
old. 

8. The sponsor parent or parents shall be able to provide 
care and supervision during nonschool hours.  

9. The provider shall have access through directly 
providing it or developing agreements for 24-hour 
emergency mental health care for children with serious 
emotional disturbances served. 

Article 5  
Case Management Services  

12VAC35-105-1240. Service requirements for providers of 
case management services.  

A. As part of the intake assessment, the provider of case 
management services shall identify individuals whose needs 
may be addressed through case management services.  

B. Providers of case management services shall document 
that the services below are performed consistent with the 
individual's assessment and individualized services plan ISP.  

1. Enhancing community integration through increased 
opportunities for community access and involvement and 
creating opportunities to enhance community living skills 
to promote community adjustment including, to the 
maximum extent possible, the use of local community 
resources available to the general public;  

2. Making collateral contacts with the individual's 
significant others with properly authorized releases to 
promote implementation of the individual's individualized 
services plan and his community adjustment;  

3. Assessing needs and planning services to include 
developing a case management individualized services 
plan;  

4. Linking the individual to those community supports that 
are most likely to promote the personal 
habilitative/rehabilitative and life goals of the individual as 
developed in the individualized service plan (ISP) ISP;  

5. Assisting the individual directly to locate, develop, or 
obtain needed services, resources, and appropriate public 
benefits;  

6. Assuring the coordination of services and service 
planning within a provider agency, with other providers 
and with other human service agencies and systems, such 
as local health and social services departments;  

7. Monitoring service delivery through contacts with 
individuals receiving services, service providers and 
periodic site and home visits to assess the quality of care 
and satisfaction of the individual;  

8. Providing follow up instruction, education and 
counseling to guide the individual and develop a 
supportive relationship that promotes the individualized 
services plan ISP;  

9. Advocating for individuals in response to their changing 
needs, based on changes in the individualized services 
plan; 

10. Developing a crisis plan for an individual that includes 
the individual's references regarding treatment in an 
emergency situation; 

11. 10. Planning for transitions in individual's lives; and  

12. 11. Knowing and monitoring the individual's health 
status, any medical conditions, and his medications and 
potential side effects, and assisting the individual in 
accessing primary care and other medical services, as 
needed.; and 

12. Understanding the capabilities of services to meet the 
individual's indentified needs and preferences and to serve 
the individual without placing the individual, other 
participants, or staff at risk of serious harm. 

12VAC35-105-1250. Qualifications of case management 
employees or contractors.  

A. Employees or contractors providing case management 
services shall have knowledge of:  

1. Services and systems available in the community 
including primary health care, support services, eligibility 
criteria and intake processes and generic community 
resources;  

2. The nature of serious mental illness, mental retardation 
and/or mental retardation (intellectual disability), substance 
abuse, or co-occurring disorders depending on the 
population individual's served, including clinical and 
developmental issues;  

3. Different types of assessments, including functional 
assessment, and their uses in service planning;  

4. Treatment modalities and intervention techniques, such 
as behavior management, independent living skills 
training, supportive counseling, family education, crisis 
intervention, discharge planning and service coordination;  

5. Types of mental health, mental retardation (intellectual 
disability) and substance abuse programs available in the 
locality;  

6. The service planning process and major components of a 
service plan;  
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7. The use of medications in the care or treatment of the 
population served; and  

8. All applicable federal and state laws, state regulations 
and local ordinances.  

B. Employees or contractors providing case management 
services shall have skills in:  

1. Identifying and documenting an individual's need for 
resources, services, and other supports;  

2. Using information from assessments, evaluations, 
observation, and interviews to develop service plans;  

3. Identifying and documenting how resources, services 
and natural supports such as family can be utilized to 
promote achievement of an individual's personal 
habilitative/rehabilitative and life goals; and  

4. Coordinating the provision of services by diverse public 
and private providers.  

C. Employees or contractors providing case management 
services shall have abilities to:  

1. Work as team members, maintaining effective inter- and 
intra-agency working relationships;  

2. Work independently performing position duties under 
general supervision; and  

3. Engage and sustain ongoing relationships with 
individuals receiving services.  

12VAC35-105-1255. Case manager choice. 

The provider shall develop and implement a policy as to 
how individuals are assigned case managers and how they can 
request a change of their assigned case manager.  

12VAC35-105-1270. Physical environment requirements 
of community gero-psychiatric residential services.  

A. Providers shall be responsible for ensuring safe mobility 
and unimpeded access to programs or services by installing 
and maintaining ramps, handrails, grab bars, elevators, 
protective surfaces and other assistive devices or 
accommodations as determined by periodic review of the 
needs of the individuals being served. Entries, doors, halls 
and program areas, including bedrooms, must have adequate 
room to accommodate wheel chairs and allow for proper 
transfer of individuals. Single bedrooms shall have at least 
100 square feet and multi-bed rooms shall have 80 square feet 
per individual.  

B. Floors must have resilient, nonabrasive, and slip-resistant 
floor surfaces and floor coverings that promote mobility in 
areas used by individuals and promote maintenance of 
sanitary conditions.  

C. Temperatures shall be maintained between 70°F and 80°F 
throughout resident areas.  

D. Bathrooms, showers and program areas must be 
accessible to individuals. There must be at least one bathing 
unit available by lift, door or swivel-type tub.  

E. Areas must be provided for quiet and for recreation.  

F. Areas must be provided for charting, storing of 
administrative supplies, a utility room, employee hand 
washing, dirty linen, clean linen storage, clothes washing, and 
equipment storage.  

12VAC35-105-1280. Monitoring.  

Employees or contractors shall regularly monitor individuals 
in all areas of the residence to ensure safety.  

12VAC35-105-1290. Service requirements for providers of 
gero-psychiatric residential services.  

A. Providers shall provide mental health, nursing and 
rehabilitative services; medical and psychiatric services; and 
pharmaceutical services for each individual as specified in the 
individualized services plan ISP.  

B. Providers shall provide crisis stabilization services.  

C. Providers shall develop and implement written policies 
and procedures that support an active program of mental 
health and behavioral management directed toward assisting 
each individual to achieve outcomes consistent with the 
highest level of self-care, independence and quality of life. 
Programming may be on-site or at another location in the 
community.  

D. Providers shall develop and implement written policies 
and procedures that respond to the nursing needs of each 
individual to achieve outcomes consistent with the highest 
level of self-care, independence and quality of life. Providers 
shall be responsible for:  

1. Providing each individual services to prevent clinically 
avoidable complications, including but not limited to: skin 
care, dexterity and mobility, continence, hydration and 
nutrition;  

2. Giving each individual proper daily personal attention 
and care, including skin, nail, hair and oral hygiene, in 
addition to any specific care ordered by the attending 
physician;  

3. Dressing each individual in clean clothing and 
encouraging each individual to wear day clothing when out 
of bed;  

4. Providing each individual tub or shower baths as often 
as needed, but not less than twice weekly, or a sponge bath 
daily if the medical condition prohibits tub or shower 
baths.;  

5. Providing each individual appropriate pain management; 
and  
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6. Ensuring that each individual has his own personal 
utensils, grooming items, adaptive devices and other 
personal belongings including those with sentimental 
value.  

E. Providers shall integrate behavioral/mental health care 
and medical/nursing care in the individualized services plan.  

F. Providers shall have available nourishment between 
scheduled meals.  

12VAC35-105-1300. Staffing requirements for community 
gero-psychiatric residential services.  

A. Community gero-psychiatric residential services shall be 
under the direction of a:  

1. Program director with experience in gero-psychiatric 
services.  

2. Medical director.  

3. Director of clinical services who is a registered nurse 
with experience in gero-psychiatric services.  

B. Providers shall provide qualified nursing supervisors, 
nurses, and certified nurse aides on all shifts, seven days per 
week, in sufficient number to meet the assessed nursing care 
and behavioral management needs determined by the 
individualized services plans ISPs.  

C. Providers shall provide qualified staff for behavioral, 
psychosocial rehabilitation, rehabilitative, mental health, or 
recreational programming to meet the needs determined by 
the individualized services plan ISP. These services shall be 
under the direction of a registered nurse, licensed 
psychologist, licensed clinical social worker, or licensed 
therapist.  

12VAC35-105-1310. Interdisciplinary services planning 
team.  

A. At a minimum, a registered nurse, a licensed 
psychologist, a licensed social worker, a therapist 
(recreational, occupational or physical therapist), a 
pharmacist, and a psychiatrist shall participate in the 
development and review of the individualized services plan 
ISP. Other employees or contractors as appropriate shall be 
included.  

B. The interdisciplinary services planning team shall meet to 
develop the individualized services plans ISP and review it 
quarterly. Members of the team shall be available for 
consultation on an as needed basis.  

C. The interdisciplinary services planning team shall review 
the medications prescribed at least quarterly and consult with 
the primary care physician as needed.  

D. The interdisciplinary services planning team shall 
integrate medical care plans prescribed by the primary care 

physician into the individualized services plan ISP and 
consult with the primary care physician as needed.  

12VAC35-105-1330. Medical director.  

Providers of community gero-psychiatric community 
residential services shall employ or have a written agreement 
with one or more psychiatrists with training and experience in 
gero-psychiatric services to serve as medical director. The 
duties of the medical director shall include, but are not limited 
to:  

1. Responsibility for the overall medical and psychiatric 
care;  

2. Advising the program director and the director of 
clinical services on medical/psychiatric issues, including 
the criteria for residents to be admitted, transferred or 
discharged;  

3. Advising on the development, execution and 
coordination of policies and procedures that have a direct 
effect upon the quality of medical, nursing and psychiatric 
care delivered to residents; and  

4. Acting as liaison and consulting with the administrator 
and the primary care physician on matters regarding 
medical, nursing and psychiatric care policies and 
procedures.  

12VAC35-105-1340. Physician services and medical care.  

A. Each individual in a community gero-psychiatric 
residential service shall be under the care of a primary care 
physician. Nurse practitioners and physician assistants 
licensed to practice in Virginia may provide care in 
accordance with their practice agreements. Prior to, or at the 
time of admission, each individual, his legally authorized 
representative, or the entity responsible for his care shall 
designate a primary care physician.  

B. The primary care physician shall conduct a physical 
examination at the time of admission or within 72 hours of 
admission into a community gero-psychiatric residential 
service. The primary care physician shall develop, in 
coordination with the interdisciplinary services planning 
team, a medical care plan of treatment for an individual.  

C. All physicians or other prescribers shall review all 
medication orders at least every 60 days or whenever there is 
a change in medication.  

D. The provider shall have a signed agreement with a local 
general hospital describing back-up and emergency medical 
care plans.  
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Article 7  
Intensive Community Treatment and Program of Assertive 

Community Treatment Services  

12VAC35-105-1360. Admission and discharge criteria.  

A. Individuals must meet the following admission criteria:  

1. Severe Diagnosis of a severe and persistent mental 
illness, predominantly schizophrenia, other psychotic 
disorder, or bipolar disorder, that seriously impairs 
functioning in the community. Individuals with a sole 
diagnosis of substance addiction or abuse or mental 
retardation (intellectual disability) are not eligible for 
services.  

2. Impairments on a continuing or intermittent basis 
without intensive community support to include one or 
more of the following Significant challenges to community 
integration without intensive community support including 
persistent or recurrent difficulty with one or more of the 
following:  

a. Inability to consistently perform Performing practical 
daily living tasks required for basic adult functioning in 
the community;  

b. Persistent or recurrent failure to perform daily living 
tasks except with significant support of assistance by 
family, friends or relatives Maintaining employment at a 
self-sustaining level or consistently carrying out 
homemaker roles; or  

c. Inability to be consistently employed at a self-
sustaining level or inability to consistently carry out 
homemaker roles; or  

d. Inability to maintain c. Maintaining a safe living 
situation.  

3. High service needs indicated due to one or more of the 
following problems:  

a. Residence in a state mental health facility or other 
psychiatric hospital but clinically assessed to be able to 
live in a more independent situation if intensive services 
were provided or anticipated to require extended 
hospitalization, if more intensive services are not 
available;  

b. High user of state mental health facility or other acute 
psychiatric hospital inpatient services within the past two 
years or a frequent user of psychiatric emergency 
services (more than four times per year) Multiple 
admissions to or at least one recent long-term stay (30 
days or more) in a state mental health facility or other 
acute psychiatric hospital inpatient setting within the past 
two years; or a recent history of more than four 
interventions by psychiatric emergency services per year;  

c. Intractable (i.e., persistent or very recurrent) Persistent 
or very recurrent severe major symptoms (e.g., affective, 
psychotic, suicidal);  

d. Co-occurring substance addiction or abuse of 
significant duration (e.g., greater than six months);  

e. High risk or a recent history (within the past six 
months) of criminal justice involvement (e.g., arrest and 
or incarceration);  

f. Unable to meet Ongoing difficulty meeting basic 
survival needs or residing in substandard housing, 
homeless, or at imminent risk of becoming homeless; or  

g. Unable Inability to consistently participate in 
traditional office-based services.  

B. Individuals receiving PACT individuals or ICT services 
should not be discharged for failure to comply with treatment 
plans or other expectations of the provider, except in certain 
circumstances as outlined. Individuals must meet at least one 
of the following criteria to be discharged:  

1. Moving Change in the individual's residence to a 
location out of the service area;  

2. Death of the individual;  

3. Incarceration of the individual for a period to exceed a 
year or long term hospitalization for (more than one year); 
however, the provider is expected to prioritize these 
individuals for PACT or ICT services upon their 
anticipated return to the community if the individual 
wishes to return to services and the service level is 
appropriate to his needs;  

4. Choice of the individual (the with the provider is 
responsible for revising the individualized services plan 
ISP to meet any concerns of the individual leading to the 
choice of discharge) discharge; or  

5. Demonstration by the individual of an ability to function 
Significant sustained recovery by the individual in all 
major role areas with minimal team contact and support for 
at least two years as determined by both the individual and 
ICT or PACT team.  

12VAC35-105-1370. Treatment team and staffing plan.  

A. ICT and PACT Services are delivered by 
interdisciplinary teams.  

1. The PACT and ICT team teams shall have employees or 
contractors, 80% of whom meet the qualifications of 
QMHP, who are qualified to provide the services described 
in 12VAC35-105-1410, including at least five full-time 
equivalent clinical employees or contractors on an ICT 
team and at least 10 full-time equivalent clinical employees 
or contractors on a PACT team, a program assistant, and a 
full- or part-time psychiatrist. The team shall include the 
following positions:  
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a. Team Leader — one full-time equivalent (FTE) 
QMHP with at least three years experience in the 
provision of mental health services to adults with serious 
mental illness. The team leader shall oversee all aspects 
of team operations and shall routinely provide direct 
services to individuals in the community. 

b. Nurses — one or more FTE registered nurse with one 
year of experience or licensed practical nurse with three 
years of experience in the provision of mental health 
services to adults with serious mental illness PACT and 
ICT nurses shall be full-time employees or contractors 
with the following minimum qualifications: A registered 
nurse (RN) shall have one year of experience in the 
provision of mental health services to adults with serious 
mental illness. A licensed practical nurse (LPN) shall 
have three years of experience in the provision of mental 
health services to adults with serious mental illness. ICT 
teams shall have at least one qualified full-time nurse. 
PACT teams shall have at least three qualified full-time 
nurses at least one of whom shall be a qualified RN.  

c. Mental health professionals — two or more FTE 
QMHPs (half of whom shall hold a master's degree), 
including a vocational specialist and a substance abuse 
specialist One full-time vocational specialist and one 
full-time substance abuse specialist. These staff members 
shall provide direct services to consumers in their area of 
specialty and provide leadership to other team members 
to also assist individuals with their self identified 
employment or substance abuse recovery goals.  

d. Peer specialists — one or more FTE full-time QPPMH 
or QMHP who is or has been a recipient of mental health 
services for severe and persistent mental illness. The peer 
specialist shall be a fully integrated team member who 
provides peer support directly to individuals and provides 
leadership to other team members in understanding and 
supporting individuals' recovery goals. 

e. Program assistant — one full-time person with skills 
and abilities in medical records management, operating 
and coordinating shall operate and coordinate the 
management information system, maintaining maintain 
accounts and budget records for individual and program 
expenditures, and providing provide receptionist 
activities.  

f. Psychiatrist — one physician who is board certified in 
psychiatry or who is board eligible in psychiatry and is 
licensed to practice medicine. An equivalent ratio to 20 
minutes (.008 FTE) of psychiatric time for each 
individual served must be maintained. The psychiatrist 
shall be a fully integrated team member who attends 
team meetings and actively participates in developing 
and implementing each individual ISP. 

2. In addition, a PACT team includes at least three FTE 
nurses (at least one of whom is an RN and five or more 
mental health professionals. QMHP and mental health 
professional standards: 

a. At least 80% of the clinical employees or contractors, 
not including the program assistant or psychiatrist, shall 
meet QMHP standards and shall be qualified to provide 
the services described in 12VAC35-105-1410. 

b. Mental health professionals – At least half of the 
clinical employees or contractors, not including the team 
leader or nurses and including the peer specialist if that 
person holds such a degree, shall hold a master's degree 
in a human service field. 

3. Staffing capacity: 

a. An ICT team shall have at least five full-time 
equivalent clinical employees or contractors. A PACT 
team shall have at least 10 full-time equivalent clinical 
employees or contractors. 

B. b. ICT and PACT teams must shall include a 
minimum number of employees (counting contractors but 
not counting the psychiatrist and program assistant) to 
maintain an employee to individual ratio of at least 1:10.  

c. ICT teams may serve no more than 80 individuals. 
PACT teams may serve no more than 120 individuals.  

d. A transition plan will shall be required of PACT teams 
that will allow for "start-up" when newly forming teams 
are not in full compliance with the PACT model relative 
to staffing patterns and client consumer capacity.  

C. B. ICT and PACT teams shall meet daily Monday 
through Friday or at least four days per week to review and 
plan routine services and to plan for address or prevent 
emergency and crisis situations.  

D. C. ICT teams shall operate a minimum of 8 hours per 
day, 5 days per week and shall provide services on a case-by-
case basis in the evenings and on weekends. PACT teams 
shall be available to individuals 24 hours per day and shall 
operate a minimum of 12 hours each weekday and 8 hours 
each weekend day and each holiday.  

E. D. The ICT and PACT team shall make crisis services 
directly available 24 hours a day but may arrange coverage 
through another crisis services provider if the team 
coordinates with the crisis services provider daily. The PACT 
team shall operate an after-hours on-call system and be 
available to individuals by telephone or in person.  

12VAC35-105-1390. ICT and PACT service daily 
operation and progress notes. 

A. ICT teams and PACT teams shall conduct daily 
organizational meetings Monday through Friday at a regularly 
scheduled time to review the status of all individuals and the 
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outcome of the most recent employee or contractor contact, 
assign daily and weekly tasks to employees and contractors, 
revise treatment plans as needed, plan for emergency and 
crisis situations, and to add service contacts that are identified 
as needed.  

B. A daily log that provides a roster of individuals served in 
the ICT or PACT services program and documentation of 
services provided and contacts made with them shall be 
maintained and utilized in the daily team meeting. There shall 
also be at least a weekly individual progress note 
documenting progress or lack of progress toward goals and 
objectives as outlined in the Psychosocial Rehabilitation 
Services Plan services provided in accordance with the ISP or 
attempts to engage the consumer in services.  

12VAC35-105-1400. ICT and PACT assessment.  

The provider shall solicit the individual's own assessment of 
his needs, strengths, goals, preferences and abilities to 
identify the need for recovery oriented treatment, 
rehabilitation and support services and the status of his 
environmental supports within the individual's cultural 
context. The With the participation of the individual, the 
provider will assess:  

1. Psychiatric history, mental status and diagnosis, 
including the content of an advance directive;  

2. Medical, dental and other health needs;  

3. Extent and effect of drug or alcohol use;  

4. Education and employment including current daily 
structures use of time, school or work status, interests and 
preferences and the effect of psychiatric symptomatology 
on and supports and barriers to educational and 
employment performance;  

5. Social development and functioning including childhood 
and family history, culture and religious beliefs, leisure 
interests, and social skills;  

6. Housing and daily living skills, including the support 
needed to obtain and maintain decent, affordable housing 
integrated into the broader community; the current ability 
to meet basic needs such as personal hygiene, food 
preparation, housekeeping, shopping, money management 
and the use of public transportation and other community 
based resources;  

7. Family and social network including the current scope 
and strength of a individual's network of family, peers, 
friends, and co-workers, and their understanding and 
expectations of the team's services;  

8. Finances and benefits including the management of 
income, the need for and eligibility for benefits, and the 
limitations and restrictions of those benefits; and  

9. Legal and criminal justice involvement including the 
guardianship, commitment, representative payee status, 
and the experience as either victim or accused person.  

12VAC35-105-1410. Service requirements.  

Providers shall document that the following services are 
provided consistent with the individual's assessment and 
individualized services plan ISP.  

1. Ongoing assessment to ascertain the needs, strengths, 
and preferences of the individual;  

2. Case management;  

3. Nursing;  

4. Symptom assessment and management Support for 
wellness self-management, including the development and 
implementation of individual recovery plans; symptom 
assessment; and recovery education;  

5. Psychopharmacological treatment, administration and 
monitoring;  

6. Substance abuse assessment and treatment for 
individuals with a dual co-occurring diagnosis of mental 
illness and substance abuse;  

7. Individual supportive therapy;  

8. Skills training in activities of daily living, social skills, 
interpersonal relationships, and leisure time;  

9. Supportive in-home services;  

10. Work-related services to help find and maintain 
employment;  

11. Support for resuming education;  

12. Support, education, consultation, and skill-teaching to 
family members and significant others;  

13. Collaboration with families and assistance to 
individuals with children;  

14. Direct support to help individuals secure and maintain 
decent, affordable housing that is integrated into the 
broader community and to obtain legal and advocacy 
services, financial support, money-management services, 
medical and dental services, transportation, and natural 
supports in the community; and 

15. Mobile crisis assessment, intervention interventions to 
prevent or resolve potential crises, and facilitation into and 
out of psychiatric hospitals.  

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 
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FORMS (12VAC35-105) 

Initial Provider Application For Licensing (rev.1/10). 

Renewal Provider Application For Licensing (rev. 2/09). 

Service Modification - Provider Request, DMH 966E 1140 
(rev. 1/09).  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(12VAC35-105)  

Diagnostic Criteria from the Diagnostic and Statistical 
Manual of Mental Disorders, Fourth Edition, American 
Psychiatric Association, Washington, D.C., 1994.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-260; Filed January 6, 2010, 10:09 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 
of the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-395. Rules Governing 
Settlement Agents (amending 14VAC5-395-30, 14VAC5-
395-40). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 6.1-2.25 and 12.1-13 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 25, 2010.  

Agency Contact: Scott White, Senior Counsel, Office of 
General Counsel, State Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 
1197, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9671, FAX 
(804) 371-9240, or email scott.white@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 
The amendments incorporate statutory changes made to 
§ 6.1-2.26 of the Code of Virginia that shift the duty to 
register settlement agents from the Virginia State Bar to 
the appropriate licensing authority. The amendments 
incorporate these statutory changes by making the Bureau 
of Insurance responsible for registering title insurance 
agents and title insurance companies that conduct 
settlements. 

AT RICHMOND, JANUARY 7, 2010 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 

At the relation of the  

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2009-00249 

Ex Parte: In the matter of Adopting 
Amendments to the Rules Governing 
Settlement Agents  

ORDER ADOPTING AMENDMENTS TO RULES 

By Order to Take Notice ("Order") entered herein 
November 12, 2009, all interested persons were ordered to 
take notice that subsequent to December 21, 2009, the State 
Corporation Commission ("Commission") would consider the 
entry of an order adopting amendments proposed by the 
Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") to the Commission's "Rules 
Governing Settlement Agents" set forth in Chapter 395 of 
Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code unless on or 
before December 21, 2009, any person objecting to the 
adoption of the proposed amendments filed a request for 
hearing with the Clerk of the Commission ("Clerk"). 

The Order also required all interested persons to file their 
comments in support of or in opposition to the proposed 
amendments on or before December 21, 2009. 

No comments or requests for a hearing were filed with the 
Clerk. 

THE COMMISSION, having considered the proposed 
amendments, is of the opinion that the attached amendments 
to the Rules should be adopted. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1)  The proposed amendments to Chapter 395 of Title 14 of 
the Virginia Administrative Code entitled "Rules Governing 
Settlement Agents," which are to be published in Chapter 395 
of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code, amended at 
14 VAC 5-395-30 and 14 VAC 5-395-40, which are attached 
hereto and made a part hereof, should be, and they are hereby, 
ADOPTED to be effective January 25, 2010. 

(2)  AN ATTESTED COPY hereof, shall be sent by the 
Clerk of the Commission to the Bureau in care of Deputy 
Commissioner Brian P. Gaudiose, who forthwith shall give 
further notice of the adoption of the amendments to the Rules 
by mailing a copy of this Order, including a clean copy of the 
attached final amended Rules, to all licensed title insurance 
companies and other interested parties designated by the 
Bureau. 

(3)  The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
forthwith shall cause a copy of this Order, including a copy of 
the amended Rules, to be forwarded to the Virginia Register 
of Regulations for appropriate publication in the Virginia 
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Register of Regulations and shall make this Order and the 
attached amended Rules available on the Commission's 
website, http://www.scc.virginia.gov/caseinfo.htm. 

(4)  The Bureau of Insurance shall file with the Clerk of the 
Commission an affidavit of compliance with the notice 
requirements of paragraph (2) of this Order. 

14VAC5-395-30. Registration.  

Every title insurance agent, title insurance agency and title 
insurance company that acts as a settlement agent shall be 
required to be registered with the Virginia State Bar bureau in 
accordance with the provisions of § 6.1-2.26 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

14VAC5-395-40. Insurance and bonding requirements. 

A. At the time of registration with the Virginia State Bar, 
every title insurance agent and title insurance agency acting 
as a settlement agent shall file with the bureau a certification 
on a form prescribed by the bureau, that the settlement agent 
has, and thereafter shall keep in force for as long as they are 
acting as a settlement agent, the following:  

1. An errors and omissions insurance policy providing 
limits of at least $250,000 per occurrence or per claim and 
issued by an insurer authorized to do business in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia. 

2. A blanket fidelity bond or employee dishonesty 
insurance policy providing limits of at least $100,000 per 
occurrence or per claim and issued by an insurer 
authorized to do business in the Commonwealth of 
Virginia. Settlement agents that have no employees except 
the owners, partners, shareholders, or members may 
request a waiver of this requirement on their certification 
form. 

B. Every title insurance agent and title insurance agency that 
acts as a settlement agent in the Commonwealth of Virginia 
or is registered with the Virginia State Bar shall file with the 
bureau a an original surety bond in an amount not less than 
$200,000 on a form prescribed by the bureau. The original 
surety bond shall be filed with the bureau at the time of 
registration with the Virginia State Bar and, if such bond is 
canceled, at the time a replacement bond is issued. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(14VAC5-395) 

Statement on Auditing Standards, Special Reports, July 1, 
1989, American Institute of Certified Public Accountants.  

Securities Act Regulations (SEC970016).  
VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2219; Filed January 8, 2010, 11:03 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

COMMON INTEREST COMMUNITY BOARD 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC48-50. Common Interest 
Community Manager Regulations (adding 18VAC48-50-
10 through 18VAC48-50-290). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2349 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: April 1, 2010.  

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 
Common Interest Community Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8510, 
FAX (804) 527-4298, or email cic@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulation establishes the licensure requirements for 
common interest community managers, as well as the 
standards of practice and conduct for common interest 
community managers and requirements for training 
programs. The qualifications for licensure have been 
amended to require at least one supervisory employee or 
officer with five years experience to complete a 
comprehensive training program approved by the board, 
and require at least 50% of persons who have principal 
responsibility to obtain one of the previously approved 
designations along with requisite experience, or 
completion of an introductory training program approved 
by the board along with completion of requisite 
experience. In addition to the training program provisions, 
clarifying changes were made throughout the regulations, 
including the qualifications for licensure, bond/insurance 
reporting requirements for provisional licensees, and the 
prohibited acts. The primary change from the proposed 
regulation is the addition of criteria for training program 
approval. Other changes made since the proposed 
regulation were mainly clarifying in nature.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

CHAPTER 50  
COMMON INTEREST COMMUNITY MANAGER 

REGULATIONS  

Part I  
General  

18VAC48-50-10. Definitions. 

Section 54.1-2345 of the Code of Virginia provides 
definitions of the following terms and phrases as used in this 
chapter: 
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"Association" 

"Board" 

"Common interest community" 

"Common interest community manager" 

"Declaration" 

"Governing board" 

"Lot" 

"Management services" 

The following words, terms, and phrases when used in this 
chapter shall have the following meaning unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise. 

"Address of record" means the mailing address designated 
by the regulant to receive notices and correspondence from 
the board. Notice mailed to the address of record by certified 
mail, return receipt requested, shall be deemed valid notice. 

"Applicant" means a common interest community manager 
that has submitted an application for licensure. 

"Application" means a completed, board-prescribed form 
submitted with the appropriate fee and other required 
documentation. 

"Contact hour" means 50 minutes of instruction. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation. 

"Firm" means a sole proprietorship, association, partnership, 
corporation, limited liability company, limited liability 
partnership, or any other form of business organization 
recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth of Virginia 
and properly registered, as may be required, with the Virginia 
State Corporation Commission. 

"Full-time employee" means an employee who spends a 
minimum of 30 hours a week carrying out the work of the 
licensed common interest community manager. 

"Gross receipts" means all revenue derived from providing 
management services to common interest communities in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia, excluding pass-through expenses 
or reimbursement of expenditures by the regulant on behalf of 
an association. 

"Regulant" means a common interest community manager 
as defined in § 54.1-2345 of the Code of Virginia who holds a 
license issued by the board.  

"Reinstatement" means the process and requirements 
through which an expired license can be made valid without 
the regulant having to apply as a new applicant. 

"Renewal" means the process and requirements for 
periodically approving the continuance of a license for 
another period of time. 

"Responsible person" means the employee, officer, manager, 
owner, or principal of the firm who shall be designated by 
each firm to ensure compliance with Chapter 23.3 (§ 54.1-
2345 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, and all 
regulations of the board, and to receive communications and 
notices from the board that may affect the firm. In the case of 
a sole proprietorship, the sole proprietor shall have the 
responsibilities of the responsible person.  

"Sole proprietor" means any individual, not a corporation or 
other registered business entity, who is trading under his own 
name, or under an assumed or fictitious name pursuant to the 
provisions of §§ 59.1-69 through 59.1-76 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Part II  
Entry  

18VAC48-50-20. Application procedures. 

All applicants seeking licensure shall submit an application 
with the appropriate fee specified in 18VAC48-50-60. 
Application shall be made on forms provided by the 
department. 

By submitting the application to the department, the 
applicant certifies that the applicant has read and understands 
the applicable statutes and the board's regulations. 

The receipt of an application and the deposit of fees by the 
board does not indicate approval by the board. 

The board may make further inquiries and investigations 
with respect to the applicant's qualifications to confirm or 
amplify information supplied. All applications shall be 
completed in accordance with the instructions contained 
herein and on the application. Applications will not be 
considered complete until all required documents are received 
by the board. 

A firm will be notified within 30 days of the board's receipt 
of an initial application if the application is incomplete. Firms 
that fail to complete the process within 12 months of receipt 
of the application in the board's office must submit a new 
application and fee.  

18VAC48-50-30. Qualifications for licensure. 

A. Firms that provide common interest community 
management services shall submit an application on a form 
prescribed by the board and shall meet the requirements set 
forth in § 54.1-2346 of the Code of Virginia, as well as the 
additional qualifications of this section. 

B. Any firm offering management services as defined in 
§ 54.1-2345 of the Code of Virginia shall hold a license as a 
common interest community manager. All names under 
which the common interest community manager conducts 
business shall be disclosed on the application. The name 
under which the firm conducts business and holds itself out to 
the public (i.e., the trade or fictitious name) shall also be 
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disclosed on the application. Firms shall be organized as 
business entities under the laws of the Commonwealth of 
Virginia or otherwise authorized to transact business in 
Virginia. Firms shall register any trade or fictitious names 
with the State Corporation Commission or the clerk of court 
in the county or jurisdiction where the business is to be 
conducted in accordance with §§ 59.1-69 through 59.1-76 of 
the Code of Virginia before submitting an application to the 
board. 

C. The applicant shall disclose the firm's mailing address, 
the firm's physical address, and the address of the office from 
which the firm provides management services to Virginia 
common interest communities. A post office box is only 
acceptable as a mailing address when a physical address is 
also provided. 

D. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 
each applicant shall disclose the following information about 
the firm, the responsible person, and any of the principals of 
the firm: 

1. All felony convictions. 

2. All misdemeanor convictions, in any jurisdiction, within 
three years of the date of application. 

3. Any plea of nolo contendere or finding of guilt 
regardless of adjudication or deferred adjudication shall be 
considered a conviction for the purposes of this section. 
The record of conviction certified or authenticated in such 
form as to be admissible in evidence under the laws of the 
jurisdiction where convicted shall be admissible as prima 
facie evidence of such guilt.  

E. The applicant shall submit evidence of a blanket fidelity 
bond or employee dishonesty insurance policy in accordance 
with § 54.1-2346 D of the Code of Virginia. Proof of current 
bond or insurance policy must be submitted in order to obtain 
or renew the license. The bond or insurance policy must be in 
force no later than the effective date of the license and shall 
remain in effect through the date of expiration of the license.  

F. The applicant shall be in compliance with the standards of 
conduct and practice set forth in Part V (18VAC48-50-140 et. 
seq.) of this chapter at the time of application, while the 
application is under review by the board, and at all times 
when the license is in effect. 

G. The applicant, the responsible person, and any principals 
of the firm shall be in good standing in Virginia and in every 
jurisdiction and with every board or administrative body 
where licensed, certified, or registered and the board, in its 
discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant who has been 
subject to, or whose principals have been subject to, or any 
firm in which the applicant's principals hold a 10% or greater 
interest have been subject to, any form of adverse disciplinary 
action, including but not limited to, reprimand, revocation, 
suspension or denial, imposition of a monetary penalty, 

required to complete remedial education, or any other 
corrective action, in any jurisdiction or by any board or 
administrative body or surrendered a license, certificate, or 
registration in connection with any disciplinary action in any 
jurisdiction prior to [ applying for obtaining ] licensure in 
Virginia.  

H. The applicant shall provide all relevant information about 
the firm, the responsible person, and any of the principals of 
the firm for the seven years prior to application on any 
outstanding judgments, past-due tax assessments, defaults on 
bonds, or pending or past bankruptcies, and specifically shall 
provide all relevant financial information related to providing 
management services as defined in § 54.1-2345 of the Code 
of Virginia. The applicant shall further disclose whether or 
not one or more of the principals who individually or 
collectively own more than a 50% equity interest in the firm 
are or were equity owners holding, individually or 
collectively, a 10% or greater interest in any other entity 
licensed by any agency of the Commonwealth of Virginia that 
was the subject of any adverse disciplinary action, including 
revocation of a license, within the seven-year period 
immediately preceding the date of application. 

I. Applicants for licensure shall hold an active designation as 
an Accredited Association Management Company by the 
Community Associations Institute. 

J. In lieu of the provisions of subsection I of this section, an 
applicant may be licensed provided the applicant certifies to 
the board that the applicant has (i) at least one supervisory 
employee or officer with five years of experience in providing 
management services and who has successfully completed a 
comprehensive training program as described in 18VAC48-
50-250 B, as approved by the board, involved in all aspects of 
the management services offered and provided by the firm 
and (ii) at least 50% of persons who have principal 
responsibility for management services [ to a common 
interest community in the Commonwealth of Virginia ] meet 
one of the following: 

1. Hold an active designation as a Professional Community 
Association Manager and certify having provided 
management services for a period of 12 months 
immediately preceding application;  

2. Hold an active designation as a Certified Manager of 
Community Associations by the National Board of 
Certification for Community Association Managers and 
certify having two years of experience in providing 
management services. Of the required two years 
experience, a minimum of 12 months of experience must 
have been gained immediately preceding application;  

3. Hold an active designation as an Association 
Management Specialist and certify having two years of 
experience in providing management services. Of the 
required two years experience, a minimum of 12 months of 
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experience must have been gained immediately preceding 
application; or 

4. Have completed an introductory training program, as set 
forth in 18VAC48-50-250 A, and [ passed a ] certifying 
examination approved by the board and certify having two 
years experience in providing management services. Of the 
required two years experience, a minimum of 12 months of 
experience must have been gained immediately preceding 
application. 

K. The firm shall designate a responsible person. 

18VAC48-50-40. Application denial. 

The board may refuse initial licensure due to an applicant's 
failure to comply with entry requirements or for any of the 
reasons for which the board may discipline a regulant. The 

board, at its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 
accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. The 
denial is considered to be a case decision and is subject to 
appeal under Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Part III  
Fees  

18VAC48-50-50. General fee requirements. 

All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The 
date on which the fee is received by the department or its 
agent will determine whether the fee is on time. Checks or 
money orders shall be made payable to the Treasurer of 
Virginia. 

18VAC48-50-60. Fee schedule. 

Fee Type Fee Amount   
Recovery Fund 
Fee* (if 
applicable) 

Total Amount Due 
(excluding annual 
assessment in 
18VAC48-50-80) 

When Due 

Initial Common Interest 
Community Manager 
Application 

$100 + 25 $125 With initial application 
filed on or after January 
1, 2009 

Common Interest 
Community Manager 
Renewal 

$100     $100 With renewal 
application 

Common Interest 
Community Manager 
Reinstatement (includes a 
$200 reinstatement fee in 
addition to the regular $100 
renewal fee) 

$300     $300 With renewal 
application 

Training Program Provider 
Initial Application 

$100     $100 With application 

Training Program Provider 
[ Add Additional ] Program 

$50     $50 With application 

*In accordance with § 55-530.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC48-50-70. Annual assessment. 
In addition to the fees listed in 18VAC48-50-60, each 

common interest community manager must submit an annual 
assessment in accordance with § 54.1-2349 A 1 of the Code 
of Virginia. The annual assessment shall be submitted with 
the initial application and with each renewal application. 
When the annual assessment due is less than $1,000, the 
common interest community manager shall submit 
documentation of gross receipts for the preceding calendar 
year with each annual assessment in order to verify the annual 
assessment amount due. Documentation of gross receipts is 
not required from common interest community managers that 
submit the maximum annual assessment amount of $1,000. 

Acceptable documentation may include, but is not limited to, 
audits, tax returns, or financial statements.  

18VAC48-50-80. Provisional licenses. 

Provisional licenses will be subject to the annual assessment 
for each year that the provisional license is in effect. When 
the annual assessment due is less than $1,000, the common 
interest community manager shall submit documentation of 
gross receipts for the preceding calendar year with each 
annual assessment in order to verify the annual assessment 
amount due. Documentation of gross receipts is not required 
from common interest community managers that submit the 
maximum annual assessment amount of $1,000. Acceptable 
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documentation may include, but is not limited to, audits, tax 
returns, or financial statements. 

Provisional licensees must submit annual proof of current 
bond or insurance policy in accordance with 18VAC48-50-30 
D, and are also subject to the provisions of 18VAC48-50-150 
D. Failure to submit the annual assessment and proof of 
current bond or insurance policy within 30 days of the request 
by the board shall result in the automatic suspension of the 
license.  

Part IV  
Renewal and Reinstatement  

18VAC48-50-90. Renewal required. 

A license issued under this chapter shall expire one year 
from the last day of the month in which it was issued. A fee 
shall be required for renewal. In accordance with § 54.1-2346 
F of the Code of Virginia, provisional licenses shall expire on 
June 30, 2011, and shall not be renewed. 

18VAC48-50-100. Expiration and renewal. 

A. Prior to the expiration date shown on the license, licenses 
shall be renewed upon completion of the renewal application, 
submittal of proof of current bond or insurance policy as 
detailed in 18VAC48-50-30 D, and payment of the fees 
specified in 18VAC48-50-60 and 18VAC48-50-70. The 
board will mail a renewal notice to the regulant at the last 
known mailing address of record. Failure to receive this 
notice shall not relieve the regulant of the obligation to renew. 
If the regulant fails to receive the renewal notice, a copy of 
the license may be submitted with the required fees as an 
application for renewal. By submitting an application for 
renewal, the regulant is certifying continued compliance with 
the Standards of Conduct and Practice in Part V (18VAC48-
50-140 et seq.) of this chapter. 

B. Applicants for renewal shall continue to meet all of the 
qualifications for licensure set forth in 18VAC48-50-30. 

18VAC48-50-110. Reinstatement required. 

A. If the requirements for renewal of a license, including 
receipt of the fees by the board and submittal of proof of 
current bond or insurance policy as detailed in 18VAC48-50-
30 D, are not completed within 30 days of the license 
expiration date, the regulant shall be required to reinstate the 
license by meeting all renewal requirements and by paying 
the reinstatement fee specified in 18VAC48-50-60. 

B. A license may be reinstated for up to six months 
following the expiration date. After six months, the license 
may not be reinstated under any circumstances and the 
regulant must meet all current entry requirements and apply 
as a new applicant. 

C. Any regulated activity conducted subsequent to the 
license expiration date may constitute unlicensed activity and 

be subject to prosecution under Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) 
of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

18VAC48-50-120. Status of license during the period prior 
to reinstatement. 

A regulant who applies for reinstatement of a license shall 
be subject to all laws and regulations as if the regulant had 
been continuously licensed. The regulant shall remain under 
and be subject to the disciplinary authority of the board 
during this entire period. 

18VAC48-50-130. Board discretion to deny renewal or 
reinstatement. 

The board may deny renewal or reinstatement of a license 
for the same reasons as it may refuse initial licensure or 
discipline a current regulant. 

The board may deny renewal or reinstatement of a license if 
the regulant has been subject to a disciplinary proceeding and 
has not met the terms of an agreement for licensure, has not 
satisfied all sanctions, or has not fully paid any monetary 
penalties and costs imposed by the board. 

Part V  
Standards of Conduct and Practice  

18VAC48-50-140. Grounds for disciplinary action. 

The board may place a regulant on probation, impose a 
monetary penalty in accordance with § 54.1-2351 H of the 
Code of Virginia, or revoke, suspend or refuse to renew any 
license when the regulant has been found to have violated or 
cooperated with others in violating any provisions of the 
regulations of the board or Chapter 23.3 (§ 54.1-2345 et seq.) 
of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC48-50-150. Maintenance of license. 

A. No license issued by the board shall be assigned or 
otherwise transferred.  

B. A regulant shall report, in writing, all changes of address 
to the board within 30 days of the change and shall return the 
license to the board. In addition to the address of record, a 
physical address is required for each license. If the regulant 
holds more than one license, certificate, or registration, the 
regulant shall inform the board of all licenses, certificates, 
and registrations affected by the address change.  

C. Any change in any of the qualifications for licensure 
found in 18VAC48-50-30 shall be reported to the board 
within 30 days of the change. 

D. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection C of this 
section, a regulant shall report the cancellation, amendment, 
expiration, or any other change of any bond or insurance 
policy submitted in accordance with 18VAC48-50-30 D 
within five days of the change. 
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18VAC48-50-160. Maintenance and management of 
accounts. 

Regulants shall maintain all funds from associations in 
accordance with § 54.1-2353 A of the Code of Virginia. 
Funds that belong to others that are held as a result of the 
fiduciary relationship shall be labeled as such to clearly 
distinguish funds that belong to others from those funds of the 
common interest community manager.  

18VAC48-50-170. Change of business entity requires a 
new license. 

A. Licenses are issued to firms as defined in this chapter and 
are not transferable. Whenever the legal business entity 
holding the license is dissolved or altered to form a new 
business entity, the license becomes void and shall be 
returned to the board within 30 days of the change. Such 
changes include but are not limited to:  

1. Cessation of the business or the voluntary termination of 
a sole proprietorship or general partnership; 

2. Death of a sole proprietor; 

3. Formation, reformation, or dissolution of a general 
partnership, limited partnership, corporation, limited 
liability company, association, or any other business entity 
recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth of 
Virginia; or 

4. The suspension or termination of the corporation's 
existence by the State Corporation Commission. 

B. When a new firm is formed, the new firm shall apply for 
a new license on a form provided by the board before 
engaging in any activity regulated by Chapter 23.3 (§ 54.1-
2345 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or the 
regulations of the board. 

18VAC48-50-180. Notice of adverse action. 

A. Regulants shall notify the board of the following actions 
[ against the firm, the responsible person, and any principals 
of the firm ]:  

1. Any disciplinary action taken by [ another any ] 
jurisdiction, board, or administrative body of competent 
jurisdiction, including but not limited to any reprimand, 
license revocation, suspension or denial, monetary penalty, 
or requirement for remedial education or other corrective 
action.  

2. Any voluntary surrendering of a license, certificate, or 
registration done in connection with a disciplinary action in 
another jurisdiction. 

3. Any conviction, finding of guilt, or plea of guilty, 
regardless of adjudication or deferred adjudication, of any 
felony or of any misdemeanor in any jurisdiction. Review 
of convictions shall be subject to the requirements of § 
54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. Any plea of nolo 

contendere shall be considered a conviction for the purpose 
of this section. 

B. The notice must be made to the board in writing within 
30 days of the action. A copy of the order or other supporting 
documentation must accompany the notice. The record of 
conviction, finding, or case decision shall be considered 
prima facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt.  

18VAC48-50-190. Prohibited acts. 

A. The following acts are prohibited and any violation may 
result in disciplinary action by the board:  

1. Violating, inducing another to violate, or cooperating 
with others in violating any of the provisions of any of the 
regulations of the board or Chapter 23.3 (§ 54.1-2345 et 
seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, Chapter 4.2 
(§ 55-79.39 et seq.) of Title 55 of the Code of Virginia, 
Chapter 24 (§ 55-424 et seq.) of Title 55 of the Code of 
Virginia, Chapter 26 (§ 55-508 et seq.) of Title 55 of the 
Code of Virginia, or Chapter 29 (§ 55-528 et seq.) of Title 
55 of the Code of Virginia, or engaging in any acts 
enumerated in §§ 54.1-102 and 54.1-111 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

2. Allowing the common interest community manager 
license to be used by another. 

3. Obtaining or attempting to obtain a license by false or 
fraudulent representation, or maintaining, renewing, or 
reinstating a license by false or fraudulent representation. 

4. A regulant having been convicted, found guilty, or 
disciplined in any jurisdiction of any offense or violation 
enumerated in 18VAC48-50-180.  

5. Failing to inform the board in writing within 30 days 
that the regulant was convicted, found guilty, or disciplined 
in any jurisdiction of any offense or violation enumerated 
in 18VAC48-50-180. 

6. Failing to report a change as required by 18VAC48-50-
150 or 18VAC48-50-170. 

7. The intentional and unjustified failure to comply with 
the terms of the [ management ] contract, operating 
agreement, or [ association ] governing documents. 

8. Engaging in dishonest or fraudulent conduct in 
providing management services. 

9. Failing to satisfy any judgments or restitution orders 
entered by a court or arbiter of competent jurisdiction. 

10. Incompetence in providing management services. 

11. Failing to handle association funds in accordance with 
the provisions of § 54.1-2353 A of the Code of Virginia or 
18VAC48-50-160. 
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12. Failing to account in a timely manner for all money and 
property received by the regulant in which the association 
has or may have an interest.  

13. Failing to disclose to the association material facts 
related to the association's property or concerning 
management services of which the regulant has actual 
knowledge.  

14. Failing to provide complete records related to the 
association's management services to the association 
within 30 days of any written request by the association or 
within 30 days of the termination of the contract unless 
otherwise agreed to in writing by both the association and 
the common interest community manager. 

15. Failing upon written request of the association to 
provide books and records such that the association can 
perform pursuant to §§ 55-510 (Property Owners 
Association Act), 55-79.74:1 (Condominium Act), and 55-
474 (Virginia Real Estate Cooperative Act) of the Code of 
Virginia. 

16. Commingling the funds of any association by a 
principal, his employees, or his associates with the 
principal's own funds or those of his firm. 

17. Failing to act in providing management services in a 
manner that safeguards the interests of the public. 

18. Failing to make use of a legible, written contract 
clearly specifying the terms and conditions of the 
management services to be performed by the common 
interest community manager. The contract shall include, 
but not be limited to, the following: 

a. Beginning and ending dates of the contract;  

b. Cancellation rights of the parties;  

c. Record retention and distribution policy;  

d. A general description of the records to be kept and the 
bookkeeping system to be used; and  

e. The common interest community manager's license 
number.  

B. Prior to commencement of the terms of the contract or 
acceptance of payments, the contract shall be signed by the 
regulant and the client or the client's authorized agent.  

18VAC48-50-200. Establishment of code of conduct. 

The firm shall establish and distribute to the firm's 
employees, principals, and agents a written code of conduct to 
address business practices including the appropriateness of 
giving and accepting gifts, bonuses, or other remuneration to 
and from common interest communities or providers of 
services to common interest communities. In accordance with 
clause (ii) of § 54.1-2346 E of the Code of Virginia, the code 
of conduct for officers, directors, and employees shall also 

address disclosure of relationships with other firms that 
provide services to common interest communities and that 
may give rise to a conflict of interest. 

18VAC48-50-210. Establishment of internal accounting 
controls. 

The firm shall establish written internal accounting controls 
to provide adequate checks and balances over the financial 
activities and to manage the risk of fraud and illegal acts. The 
internal accounting controls shall be in accordance with 
generally accepted accounting practices. 

18VAC48-50-220. Response to inquiry and provision of 
records. 

A. A regulant must respond within 10 days to [ a request 
by ] the board or any of its agents regarding any complaint 
filed with the department. 

B. Unless otherwise specified by the board, a regulant of the 
board shall produce to the board or any of its agents within 10 
days of the request any document, book, or record concerning 
any transaction in which the regulant was involved, or for 
which the regulant is required to maintain records for 
inspection and copying by the board or its agents. The board 
may extend such time frame upon a showing of extenuating 
circumstances prohibiting delivery within such 10-day period.  

C. A regulant shall not provide a false, misleading, or 
incomplete response to the board or any of its agents seeking 
information in the investigation of a complaint filed with the 
board. 

D. With the exception of the requirements of subsections A 
and B of this section, a regulant must respond to an inquiry 
by the board or its agent within 21 days. 

Part VI  
Training Programs and Examination  

18VAC48-50-230. Training programs generally. 

All training programs [ proposed for the purposes of 
meeting the requirements of this chapter ] must be approved 
by the board. Any or all of the [ approved ] training programs 
can be met using distance or online education technology. 
Training programs may be approved retroactively; however, 
no [ regulant applicant ] will receive credit for the training 
program until such approval is granted by the board.  

18VAC48-50-240. Approval of common interest 
community manager training programs. 

Each provider of a training program shall submit an 
application for program approval on a form provided by the 
board. In addition to the appropriate fee provided in 
18VAC48-50-60, the application shall include but is not 
limited to: 

1. The name of the provider; 
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2. Provider contact person, address, and telephone number; 

3. Program contact hours; 

4. Schedule of training program, if established, including 
dates, times, and locations; 

5. Instructor information, including name, license [ number 
or ] numbers, if applicable, and a list of [ other ] trade-
appropriate designations, as well as a professional resume 
with a summary of [ acceptable ] teaching experience and 
subject-matter knowledge and qualifications [ acceptable to 
the board ]; 

6. A summary of qualifications and experience in 
providing training for common interest communities; 

7. Training program and material fees; and 

8. Training program syllabus. 

18VAC48-50-250. Training program requirements. 

A. In order to qualify as an introductory training program 
under 18VAC48-50-30 J 4, the introductory training program 
must include a minimum of 16 contact hours and the syllabus 
shall encompass all of the subject areas set forth in subsection 
C of this section.  

B. In order to qualify as a comprehensive training program 
under 18VAC48-50-30 J 1, the comprehensive training 
program must include a minimum of 80 contact hours and the 
syllabus shall include at least 40 contact hours encompassing 
all of the subject areas set forth in subsection C of this section 
and may also include up to 40 contact hours in other subject 
areas approved by the board.  

C. The following subject areas as they relate to common 
interest communities and associations shall be included in 
each training program. 

1. Governance, legal matters, and communications; 

2. Financial matters, including budgets, reserves, 
investments, [ internal controls,  ] and assessments; 

3. Contracting; 

4. Risk management and insurance;  

5. Management ethics for common interest community 
managers; 

6. Facilities maintenance; and 

7. Human resources. 

D. All training programs are required to have a final, written 
examination.  

[ E. All training program providers must provide each 
student with a certificate of training program completion or 
other documentation that the student may use as proof of 
training program completion.  Such documentation shall 
contain the contact hours completed. ]  

18VAC48-50-260. Maintenance of records. 

All providers must establish and maintain a record for each 
student. The record shall include the student’s name and 
address, [ social security number or control number issued by 
the Department of Motor Vehicles, ] the training program 
name and hours attended, the training program syllabus or 
outline, the name or names of the instructors, the date of 
successful completion, and the board’s approved training 
program code. Records shall be available for inspection 
during normal business hours by authorized representatives of 
the board. Providers must maintain these records for a 
minimum of five years. 

18VAC48-50-270. Reporting of changes. 

Any change in the information provided in 18VAC48-50-
240 must be reported to the board within 30 days of the 
change with the exception of changes in the schedule of 
training program offerings, which must be reported within 10 
days of the change. [ Failure to report the changes as required 
may result in the withdrawal of approval of a training 
program by the board. Any change in information submitted 
will be reviewed to ensure compliance with the provisions of 
this chapter. ]  

18VAC48-50-280. Withdrawal of approval. 

The board may withdraw approval of any training program 
for the following reasons: 

1. The training program being offered no longer meets the 
standards established by the board. 

2. The provider, through an agent or otherwise, advertises 
its services in a fraudulent or deceptive way. 

3. The provider, instructor, or designee of the provider 
falsifies any information relating to the application for 
approval, training program information, or student records 
or fails to produce records required by 18VAC48-50-260. 

4. A change in the information provided [ in that results in 
noncompliance with ] 18VAC48-50-240, except for 
subdivision 4 of 18VAC48-50-240.  

[ 5. Failure to comply with 18VAC48-50-270. ]  

18VAC48-50-290. Examinations. 

All examinations required for licensure shall be approved by 
the board and [ provided administered ] by the board [ or , ] a 
testing service acting on behalf of the board, or another 
governmental agency or organization.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1641; Filed January 11, 2010, 2:11 p.m.  
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BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-22. Board for Contractors 
Regulations (amending 18VAC50-22-100, 18VAC50-22-
140, 18VAC50-22-170, 18VAC50-22-250). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-1102 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: April 1, 2010.  

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 
Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (804) 527-4401, or 
email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulatory action (i) increases fees for initial 
licensure and license renewal and reinstatement of Class 
A, B, and C contractors; (ii) eliminates the water well 
examination as it is no longer applicable to contractors; 
and (iii) increases fees for a designated employee change, 
a qualified individual change, and the addition of a 
classification or specialty. Since publication of the 
proposed fee structure, the fees for (i) initial licensure and 
license renewal and reinstatement of Class A, B, and C 
contractors and (ii) a designated employee change, a 
qualified individual change, and the addition of a 
classification or specialty were increased further in 
compliance with § 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia. In 
addition, the proposed $50 Virginia Transaction Recovery 
Fund assessment upon license renewal and reinstatement 
has been removed. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

18VAC50-22-100. Fees. 

Each check or money order shall be made payable to the 
Treasurer of Virginia. All fees required by the board are 
nonrefundable. In the event that a check, money draft or 
similar instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or 
regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution 
named, the applicant or regulant shall be required to remit 
fees sufficient to cover the original fee, plus an additional 
processing charge set by the department: 

Fee Type When Due Amount 
Due 

Class C Initial 
License 

with license 
application 

$150 
[ $200 
$210 ]  

Class B Initial License with license 
application 

$175 [ $305 
$345 ]  

Class A Initial 
License 

with license 
application 

$200 
[ $330 
$360 ]  

Declaration of 
Designated Employee 

with license 
application $40 

Qualified Individual 
Exam Fee 

with exam 
application $20 

Class B Exam Fee 
with exam 

application ($20 
per section) 

$40 

Class A Exam Fee 
with exam 

application ($20 
per section) 

$60 

Water Well Exam with exam 
application $40 

Note: A $25 Recovery Fund assessment is also required 
with each initial license application. If the applicant does not 
meet all requirements and does not become licensed, this 
assessment will be refunded. The examination fees approved 
by the board but administered by another governmental 
agency or organization shall be determined by that agency or 
organization. 

18VAC50-22-140. Renewal fees. 

Each check or money order should be made payable to the 
Treasurer of Virginia. All fees required by the board are 
nonrefundable. 

In the event that a check, money draft, or similar instrument 
for payment of a fee required by statute or regulation is not 
honored by the bank or financial institution named, the 
applicant or regulant shall be required to remit fees sufficient 
to cover the original fee, plus an additional processing charge 
set by the department:  

Fee Type When Due Amount Due 

Class C 
Renewal 

with renewal 
application 

$110 [ $175 
$195  ]  

Class B 
Renewal 

with renewal 
application 

$150 [ $200 
$225 ]  

Class A 
Renewal 

with renewal 
application 

$165 [ $225 
$240 ]  

[ Note: A $50 Recovery Fund assessment is also required 
with each renewal. ]  

The date on which the renewal fee is received by the 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation or 
its agent shall determine whether the licensee is eligible for 
renewal or must apply for reinstatement.  
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18VAC50-22-170. Reinstatement fees.  

Each check or money order should be made payable to the 
Treasurer of Virginia. All fees required by the board are 
nonrefundable. In the event that a check, money draft, or 
similar instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or 
regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution 
named, the applicant or regulant shall be required to remit 
fees sufficient to cover the original fee, plus an additional 
processing charge set by the department:  

Fee Type When Due Amount Due 

Class C 
Reinstatement 

with reinstatement 
application 

$260* 
[ $375* 
$405* ]  

Class B 
Reinstatement 

with reinstatement 
application 

$325* 
[ $425* 
$460* ]  

Class A 
Reinstatement 

with reinstatement 
application 

$365* 
[ $475* 
$490* ]  

*Includes renewal fee listed in 18VAC50-22-140. 

[ Note: A $50 Recovery Fund assessment is also required 
with reinstatement. ]  

The date on which the reinstatement fee is received by the 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation or 
its agent shall determine whether the licensee is eligible for 
reinstatement or must apply for a new license and meet the 
entry requirements in place at the time of that application. In 
order to ensure that licensees are qualified to practice as 
contractors, no reinstatement will be permitted once one year 
from the expiration date of the license has passed.  

18VAC50-22-250. Fees.  

Each check or money order should be made payable to the 
Treasurer of Virginia. All fees required by the board are 
nonrefundable. In the event that a check, money draft, or 
similar instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or 
regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution 
named, the applicant or regulant shall be required to remit 
fees sufficient to cover the original fee, plus an additional 
processing charge set by the department:  

Fee Type When Due Amount 
Due 

Change of Designated 
Employee 

with change 
form 

$40 [ $80 
$110 ]  

Change of Qualified 
Individual 

with change 
form 

$40 [ $80 
$110 ]  

Addition of 
Classification or 
Specialty 

with addition 
application 

$40 [ $80 
$110 ]  

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (18VAC50-22) 

Contractor Licensing Information, 27INTRO [ (8/07) 
(5/09) ]. 

Trade-Related Examinations and Qualifications Information, 
27EXINFO (8/07). 

License Application, 27LIC (rev.[ 8/08) 4/10) ]. 

Class C License Application (Short Form), 27CSF (rev. 
8/08) [ insert date) 4/10) ]. 

Additional License Classification/Specialty Designation 
Application, 27ADDCL (rev. 8/07) [ insert date) 4/10) ]. 

Change of Qualified Individual Application, 27CHQI (rev. 
8/07) [ insert date) 4/10) ]. 

Change of Designated Employee Application, 27CHDE 
(rev. 8/07) [ insert date) 4/10) ]. 

Changes of Responsible Management Form, 27CHRM (eff. 
8/07). 

Experience Reference, 27EXP (8/07). 

Certificate of License Termination, 27TERM [ (8/07) 
(5/09) ]. 

[ Education Provider Registration/Course Approval, 
27CONTEDREG (eff. 4/08). 

Education Provider Registration/Course Approval 
Application; Contractors Prelicense and Continuing 
Education, 27EDREG (rev. 6/09). ] 

Education Provider Listing Form, 27EDLIST [ (eff. 4/08) 
(5/09) ]. 

Financial Statement, 27FINST [ (eff. 8/07) (5/09) ]. 

Additional Qualified Individual Experience Reference Form, 
27QIEXP [ (eff. 8/07) (5/09) ]. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1169; Filed January 11, 2010, 4:53 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-30. Individual License and 
Certification Regulations (amending 18VAC50-30-90, 
18VAC50-30-120, 18VAC50-30-130, 18VAC50-30-150; 
repealing 18VAC50-30-110).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-1102 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: April 1, 2010.  
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Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 
Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (804) 527-4401, or 
email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The regulatory action (i) increases fees for (a) initial 
licensure and license renewal and reinstatement of 
tradesmen, liquefied petroleum gas fitters, and natural gas 
providers; (b) initial certification and certification renewal 
and reinstatement for backflow prevention device workers, 
elevator mechanics, and water well systems providers; (c) 
card exchanges; and (d) trade designation additions and 
deletions; and (ii) repeals fees for the issuance of 
replacement cards. Since publication of the proposed fee 
structure, the fees for card exchanges, renewals, and trade 
designation were increased further in compliance with § 
54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

18VAC50-30-90. Fees for licensure and certification. 

A. Each check or money order shall be made payable to the 
Treasurer of Virginia. All fees required by the board are 
nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The date of receipt 
by the department or its agent is the date that will be used to 
determine whether or not it is on time. Fees remain active for 
a period of one year from the date of receipt and all 
applications must be completed within that time frame.  

B. Fees are as follows:  

Original tradesman license by 
examination 

$90 $130 

Original tradesman license without 
examination 

$90 $130 

Card exchange (exchange of locality-
issued card for state-issued Virginia 
tradesman license) 

$40 [ $80 
$95 ]  

Liquefied petroleum gas fitter $90 $130 

Natural gas fitter provider $90 $130 

Backflow prevention device worker 
certification 

$90 $130 

Elevator mechanic certification $90 $130 

Water well systems provider certification $90 $130 

18VAC50-30-110. Fees for duplicate cards. (Repealed.) 

The fee for a duplicate card shall be as follows:  

First request $30 

Second request $30 

Third request $45 

Any request for the issuance of such a card must be in 
writing to the board. Requests for a third or subsequent 
duplicate card may be referred for possible disciplinary 
action.  

18VAC50-30-120. Renewal. 

A. Licenses and certification cards issued under this chapter 
shall expire two years from the last day of the month in which 
they were issued as indicated on the license or certification 
card. 

B. Effective with all licenses issued or renewed after 
December 31, 2007, as a condition of renewal or 
reinstatement and pursuant to § 54.1-1133 of the Code of 
Virginia, all individuals holding tradesman licenses with the 
trade designations of plumbing, electrical and heating 
ventilation and cooling shall be required to satisfactorily 
complete three hours of continuing education for each 
designation and individuals holding licenses as liquefied 
petroleum gas fitters and natural gas fitter providers, one hour 
of continuing education, relating to the applicable building 
code, from a provider approved by the board in accordance 
with the provisions of this chapter. 

C. Certified elevator mechanics, as a condition of renewal or 
reinstatement and pursuant to § 54.1-1143 of the Code of 
Virginia, shall be required to satisfactorily complete eight 
hours of continuing education relating to the provisions of the 
Virginia Statewide Building Code pertaining to elevators, 
escalators and related conveyances. This continuing education 
will be from a provider approved by the board in accordance 
with the provisions of this chapter.  

D. Certified water well systems providers, as a condition of 
renewal or reinstatement and pursuant to § 54.1-1129 B of the 
Code of Virginia, shall be required to satisfactorily complete 
eight hours of continuing education in the specialty of 
technical aspects of water well construction, applicable 
statutory and regulatory provisions, and business practices 
related to water well construction from a provider approved 
by the board in accordance with the provisions of this chapter. 

E. Renewal fees are as follows:  

Tradesman license $40 [ $80 $90 ]  

Liquefied petroleum gas fitter license $40 [ $80 $90 ]  

Natural gas fitter provider license $40 [ $80 $90 ]  

Backflow prevention device worker 
certification 

$40 [ $80 $90 ]  
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Elevator mechanic certification $40 [ $80 $90 ]  

Water well systems provider 
certification 

$40 [ $80 $90 ]  

All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. 

F. The board will mail a renewal notice to the regulant 
outlining procedures for renewal. Failure to receive this 
notice, however, shall not relieve the regulant of the 
obligation to renew. If the regulant fails to receive the 
renewal notice, a photocopy of the tradesman license or 
backflow prevention device worker certification card may be 
submitted with the required fee as an application for renewal 
within 30 days of the expiration date. 

G. The date on which the renewal fee is received by the 
department or its agent will determine whether the regulant is 
eligible for renewal or required to apply for reinstatement. 

H. The board may deny renewal of a tradesman license or a 
backflow prevention device worker certification card for the 
same reasons as it may refuse initial issuance or to discipline 
a regulant. The regulant has a right to appeal any such action 
by the board under the Virginia Administrative Process Act 
(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

I. Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty, 
reimbursement of cost, or other fee assessed by consent order 
or final order shall result in delaying or withholding services 
provided by the department such as, but not limited to, 
renewal, reinstatement, processing of a new application, or 
exam administration. 

18VAC50-30-130. Reinstatement. 

A. Should the Department of Professional and Occupational 
Regulation fail to receive the renewal application or fees 
within 30 days of the expiration date, the regulant will be 
required to apply for reinstatement of the license or 
certification card. 

B. Reinstatement fees are as follows: 

Tradesman license $130* $140* 

Liquefied petroleum gas fitter license $130* $140* 

Natural gas fitter provider license $130* $140* 

Backflow prevention device worker 
certification 

$130* $140* 

Elevator mechanic certification $130* $140* 

Water well systems provider 
certification 

$130* $140* 

*Includes renewal fee listed in 18VAC50-30-120. 

All fees required by the board are nonrefundable and shall 
not be prorated. 

C. Applicants for reinstatement shall meet the requirements 
of 18VAC50-30-30. 

D. The date on which the reinstatement fee is received by 
the department or its agent will determine whether the license 
or certification card is reinstated or a new application is 
required.  

E. In order to ensure that license or certification card holders 
are qualified to practice as tradesmen, liquefied petroleum gas 
fitters, natural gas fitter providers, backflow prevention 
device workers, elevator mechanics, or water well systems 
providers, no reinstatement will be permitted once one year 
from the expiration date has passed. After that date the 
applicant must apply for a new license or certification card 
and meet the then current entry requirements.  

F. Any tradesman, liquefied petroleum gas fitter, or natural 
gas fitter provider activity conducted subsequent to the 
expiration of the license may constitute unlicensed activity 
and may be subject to prosecution under Title 54.1 of the 
Code of Virginia. Further, any person who holds himself out 
as a certified backflow prevention device worker, as defined 
in § 54.1-1128 of the Code of Virginia, or as a certified 
elevator mechanic, as defined in § 54.1-1140 of the Code of 
Virginia, or as a water well systems provider as defined in 
§ 54.1-1129.1 of the Code of Virginia, without the 
appropriate certification, may be subject to prosecution under 
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. Any activity related to the 
operating integrity of an elevator, escalator, or related 
conveyance, conducted subsequent to the expiration of an 
elevator mechanic certification may constitute illegal activity 
and may be subject to prosecution under Title 54.1 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

G. The board may deny reinstatement of a license or 
certification card for the same reasons as it may refuse initial 
issuance or to discipline a regulant. The regulant has a right to 
appeal any such action by the board under the Virginia 
Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia). 

H. Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty, 
reimbursement of cost, or other fee assessed by consent order 
or final order shall result in delaying or withholding services 
provided by the department, such as, but not limited to, 
renewal, reinstatement, processing of a new application, or 
exam administration. 

Part IV  
Standards of Practice  

18VAC50-30-150. Adding or deleting trade designations.  

A. A regulant may add designations to a license by 
demonstrating, on a form provided by the board, acceptable 
evidence of experience, and examination if appropriate, in the 
designation sought. The experience, and successful 
completion of examinations, must be demonstrated by 
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meeting the requirements found in Part II (18VAC50-30-20 et 
seq.) of this chapter.  

B. The fee for each addition is $40 [ $80 $90 ] . All fees 
required by the board are nonrefundable.  

C. While a regulant may have multiple trade designations on 
his license, the renewal date will be based upon the date the 
card was originally issued to the individual by the board, not 
the date of the most recent trade designation addition.  

D. If a regulant is seeking to delete a designation, then the 
individual must provide a signed statement listing the 
designation to be deleted. There is no fee for the deletion of a 
designation. If the regulant only has one trade or level 
designation, the deletion of that designation will result in the 
termination of the license.  

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (18VAC50-30) 

Tradesman License Application, 2710LIC (rev. 8/07) 
[ (insert date) 4/10) ].  

Backflow Prevention Device Worker Certification 
Application, 2710BPD (rev. 8/07) [ (insert date) 4/10) ]. 

Elevator Mechanic Certification Application, 2710ELE (rev. 
8/07) [ (insert date) 4/10) ]. 

Individual Experience Form, 2710EXP (rev. 8/07) [ (2/08) 
5/09) ].  

Vocational Training Form, 2710VOTR (rev. 8/07) [ (2/08) 
5/09) ]. 

Education Provider Registration/Course Approval 
Application, 27edreg [ (eff. 8/06) (rev. 5/09) ]. 

Certified Water Well System Provider Application, 
2710WSP (eff. 11/07) [ (insert date) (rev. 4/10) ]. 

[ Education Provider Listing Form (rev. 5/09). 

Temporary Elevator Mechanic Certification (rev. 4/10). ]  
VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1262; Filed January 11, 2010, 4:55 p.m.  

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-80. Regulations Governing 
the Licensure of Occupational Therapists (amending 
18VAC85-80-10, 18VAC85-80-26, 18VAC85-80-40, 
18VAC85-80-45, 18VAC85-80-50, 18VAC85-80-65, 
18VAC85-80-70, 18VAC85-80-72, 18VAC85-80-73, 
18VAC85-80-80, 18VAC85-80-90, 18VAC85-80-100, 
18VAC85-80-110; adding 18VAC85-80-111; repealing 
18VAC85-80-61). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 3, 2010.  

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 
Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4621, FAX (804) 
527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish requirements for the licensure 
of occupational therapy assistants as mandated by 
Chapters 64 and 89 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly. 

The regulations specify the national credential for 
licensure, the requirements for continuing competency and 
renewal, fees for licensure as an occupational therapy 
assistant (OTA), the provisions for supervision of OTAs, 
and the perimeters for practice. In order to be licensed, an 
applicant must pass the certification examination for an 
occupational therapy assistant from the National Board for 
Certification in Occupational Therapy (NBCOT). Practice 
by an OTA must be supervised by an occupational 
therapist (OT) and include services that do not require the 
clinical decision or specific knowledge, skills, and 
judgment of a licensed OT nor the discretionary aspects of 
the initial assessment, evaluation, or development of a 
treatment plan. 

Revisions to the proposed regulations (i) change 
occupational therapy "personnel" to occupational therapy 
"assistants"; and (ii) change the requirement for 
countersigning by an OT of documentation in a patient 
record entered by an OTA from "within 10 days of such 
information being recorded" to countersigning at the time 
of review and evaluation required (at least once every 
tenth treatment session or 30 calendar days, whichever 
comes first). 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  



Regulations 

Volume 26, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations February 1, 2010 

1837 

Part I  
General Provisions  

18VAC85-80-10. Definitions.  

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-2900 of 
the Code of Virginia: 

"Board" 

"Occupational therapy assistant" 

"Practice of occupational therapy" 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"ACOTE" means the Accreditation Council for 
Occupational Therapy Education.  

"Active practice" means a minimum of 160 hours of 
professional practice as an occupational therapist or an 
occupational therapy assistant within the 24-month period 
immediately preceding renewal or application for licensure, if 
previously licensed or certified in another jurisdiction. The 
active practice of occupational therapy may include 
supervisory, administrative, educational or consultative 
activities or responsibilities for the delivery of such services.  

"Advisory board" means the Advisory Board of 
Occupational Therapy.  

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Medicine.  

"Contact hour" means 60 minutes of time spent in continued 
learning activity.  

"NBCOT" means the National Board for Certification in 
Occupational Therapy, under which the national examination 
for certification is developed and implemented.  

"National examination" means the examination prescribed 
by NBCOT for certification as an occupational therapist or an 
occupational therapy assistant and approved for licensure in 
Virginia.  

"Occupational therapy personnel" means appropriately 
trained individuals who provide occupational therapy services 
under the supervision of a licensed occupational therapist.  

18VAC85-80-26. Fees.  

A. The following fees have been established by the board:  

1. The initial fee for the occupational therapist license shall 
be $130; for the occupational therapy assistant, it shall be 
$70.  

2. The fee for reinstatement of the occupational therapist 
license that has been lapsed for two years or more shall be 
$180; for the occupational therapy assistant, it shall be $90.  

3. The fee for active license renewal for an occupational 
therapist shall be $135 and; for inactive license renewal 
shall be $70 and an occupational therapy assistant, it shall 
be $70. The fees for inactive license renewal shall be $70 
for an occupational therapist and $35 for an occupational 
therapy assistant.  Renewals shall be due in the birth month 
of the licensed therapist licensee in each even-numbered 
year.  

4. The additional fee for processing a late renewal 
application within one renewal cycle shall be $50 for an 
occupational therapist and $30 for an occupational therapy 
assistant.  

5. The fee for a letter of good standing or verification to 
another state for a license shall be $10.  

6. The fee for reinstatement of licensure pursuant to § 54.1-
2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000.  

7. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  

8. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5, and the fee 
for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.  

9. The fee for an application or for the biennial renewal of 
a restricted volunteer license shall be $35, due in the 
licensee's birth month. An additional fee for late renewal of 
licensure shall be $15 for each renewal cycle.  

B. Unless otherwise provided, fees established by the board 
shall not be refundable.  

18VAC85-80-40. Educational requirements.  

A. An applicant who has received his professional education 
in the United States, its possessions or territories, shall 
successfully complete all academic and fieldwork 
requirements of an accredited educational program as verified 
by the ACOTE.  

B. An applicant who has received his professional education 
outside the United States, its possessions or territories, shall 
successfully complete all academic and clinical fieldwork 
requirements of a program approved by a member association 
of the World Federation of Occupational Therapists as 
verified by the candidate's occupational therapy program 
director and as required by the NBCOT and submit proof of 
proficiency in the English language by passing the Test of 
English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) with a score 
acceptable to the board. TOEFL may be waived upon 
evidence of English proficiency.  

C. An applicant who does not meet the educational 
requirements as prescribed in subsection A or B of this 
section but who has received certification by the NBCOT as 
an occupational therapist or an occupational therapy assistant 
shall be eligible for licensure in Virginia and shall provide the 
board verification of his education, training and work 
experience acceptable to the board.  
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18VAC85-80-45. Practice by a graduate awaiting 
examination results.  

A. A graduate of an accredited occupational therapy 
educational program may practice with the designated title of 
"Occupational Therapist, License Applicant" or "O.T.L.-
Applicant" until he has taken and received the results of the 
licensure examination from NBCOT or for one year six 
months from the date of graduation, whichever occurs sooner. 
The graduate shall use one of the designated titles on any 
identification or signature in the course of his practice. 

B. A graduate of an accredited occupational therapy 
assistant educational program may practice with the 
designated title of "Occupational Therapy Assistant-License 
Applicant" or "O.T.A.-Applicant" until he has taken and 
received the results of the licensure examination from 
NBCOT or for six months from the date of graduation, 
whichever occurs sooner. The graduate shall use one of the 
designated titles on any identification or signature in the 
course of his practice.  

18VAC85-80-50. Examination requirements. 

A. An applicant for licensure to practice as an occupational 
therapist shall submit evidence to the board that he has passed 
the certification examination for an occupational therapist and 
any other examination required for initial certification from 
the NBCOT. 

B. An applicant for licensure to practice as an occupational 
therapy assistant shall submit evidence to the board that he 
has passed the certification examination for an occupational 
therapy assistant and any other examination required for 
initial certification from the NBCOT. 

18VAC85-80-61. Certification of occupational therapy 
assistants. (Repealed.) 

Effective July 26, 2005, a person who holds himself out to 
be or advertises that he is an occupational therapy assistant or 
uses the designation "O.T.A." or any variation thereof shall 
have obtained initial certification by the National Board for 
Certification in Occupational Therapy (NBCOT) as a certified 
occupational therapy assistant.  

18VAC85-80-65. Registration for voluntary practice by 
out-of-state licenses licensees. 

Any occupational therapist or an occupational therapy 
assistant who does not hold a license to practice in Virginia 
and who seeks registration to practice under subdivision 27 of 
§ 54.1-2901 of the Code of Virginia on a voluntary basis 
under the auspices of a publicly supported, all volunteer, 
nonprofit organization that sponsors the provision of health 
care to populations of underserved people shall:  

1. File a complete application for registration on a form 
provided by the board at least five business days prior to 

engaging in such practice. An incomplete application will 
not be considered;  

2. Provide a complete record of professional licensure in 
each state in which he has held a license and a copy of any 
current license;  

3. Provide the name of the nonprofit organization, the dates 
and location of the voluntary provision of services;  

4. Pay a registration fee of $10; and  

5. Provide a notarized statement from a representative of 
the nonprofit organization attesting to its compliance with 
provisions of subdivision 27 of § 54.1-2901 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

Part III  
Renewal of Licensure; Reinstatement  

18VAC85-80-70. Biennial renewal of licensure.  

A. An occupational therapist or an occupational therapy 
assistant shall renew his license biennially during his birth 
month in each even-numbered year by:  

1. Paying to the board the renewal fee prescribed in 
18VAC85-80-26;  

2. Indicating that he has been engaged in the active 
practice of occupational therapy as defined in 18VAC85-
80-10; and  

3. Attesting to completion of continued competency 
requirements as prescribed in 18VAC85-80-71.  

B. An occupational therapist or an occupational therapy 
assistant whose license has not been renewed by the first day 
of the month following the month in which renewal is 
required shall pay an additional fee as prescribed in 
18VAC85-80-26.  

18VAC85-80-72. Inactive licensure. 

A. A licensed occupational therapist or an occupational 
therapy assistant who holds a current, unrestricted license in 
Virginia shall, upon a request on the renewal application and 
submission of the required fee, be issued an inactive license. 
The holder of an inactive license shall not be required to 
maintain hours of active practice or meet the continued 
competency requirements of 18VAC85-80-71 and shall not 
be entitled to perform any act requiring a license to practice 
occupational therapy in Virginia. 

B. An inactive licensee may reactivate his license upon 
submission of the following: 

1. An application as required by the board; 

2. A payment of the difference between the current renewal 
fee for inactive licensure and the renewal fee for active 
licensure; 
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3. If the license has been inactive for two to six years, 
documentation of having engaged in the active practice of 
occupational therapy or having completed a board-
approved practice of 160 hours within 60 consecutive days 
under the supervision of a licensed occupational therapist; 
and 

4. Documentation of completed continued competency 
hours equal to the requirement for the number of years, not 
to exceed four years, in which the license has been 
inactive. 

C. An occupational therapist or occupational therapy 
assistant who has had an inactive license for six years or more 
and who has not engaged in active practice, as defined in 
18VAC85-80-10, shall serve a board-approved practice of 
320 hours to be completed in four consecutive months under 
the supervision of a licensed occupational therapist. 

D. The board reserves the right to deny a request for 
reactivation to any licensee who has been determined to have 
committed an act in violation of § 54.1-2915 of the Code of 
Virginia or any provisions of this chapter. 

18VAC85-80-73. Restricted volunteer license. 

A. An occupational therapist or an occupational therapy 
assistant who held an unrestricted license issued by the 
Virginia Board of Medicine or by a board in another state as a 
licensee in good standing at the time the license expired or 
became inactive may be issued a restricted volunteer license 
to practice without compensation in a clinic that is organized 
in whole or in part for the delivery of health care services 
without charge in accordance with § 54.1-106 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

B. To be issued a restricted volunteer license, an 
occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant shall 
submit an application to the board that documents compliance 
with requirements of § 54.1-2928.1 of the Code of Virginia 
and the application fee prescribed in 18VAC85-80-26. 

C. The licensee who intends to continue practicing with a 
restricted volunteer license shall renew biennially during his 
birth month, meet the continued competency requirements 
prescribed in subsection D of this section, and pay to the 
board the renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC85-80-26.  

D. The holder of a restricted volunteer license shall not be 
required to attest to hours of continuing education for the first 
renewal of such a license. For each renewal thereafter, the 
licensee shall attest to obtaining 10 hours of continuing 
education during the biennial renewal period with at least five 
hours of Type 1 and no more than five hours of Type 2 as 
specified in 18VAC85-80-71.  

18VAC85-80-80. Reinstatement.  

A. An occupational therapist or an occupational therapy 
assistant who allows his license to lapse for a period of two 

years or more and chooses to resume his practice shall submit 
a reinstatement application to the board and information on 
any practice and licensure or certification in other 
jurisdictions during the period in which the license was 
lapsed, and shall pay the fee for reinstatement of his licensure 
as prescribed in 18VAC85-80-26.  

B. An occupational therapist or occupational therapy 
assistant who has allowed his license to lapse for two years 
but less than six years, and who has not engaged in active 
practice as defined in 18VAC85-80-10, shall serve a board-
approved practice of 160 hours to be completed in two 
consecutive months under the supervision of a licensed 
occupational therapist.  

C. An occupational therapist or an occupational therapy 
assistant who has allowed his license to lapse for six years or 
more, and who has not engaged in active practice, shall serve 
a board-approved practice of 320 hours to be completed in 
four consecutive months under the supervision of a licensed 
occupational therapist.  

D. An applicant for reinstatement shall meet the continuing 
competency requirements of 18VAC85-80-71 for the number 
of years the license has been lapsed, not to exceed four years.  

E. An occupational therapist or an occupational therapy 
assistant whose license has been revoked by the board and 
who wishes to be reinstated shall make a new application to 
the board and payment of the fee for reinstatement of his 
license as prescribed in 18VAC85-80-26 pursuant to § 54.1-
2408.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Part IV  
Practice of Occupational Therapy  

18VAC85-80-90. General responsibilities.  

A. An occupational therapist renders services of assessment, 
program planning, and therapeutic treatment upon request for 
such service. The practice of occupational therapy may 
include supervisory, administrative, educational or 
consultative activities or responsibilities for the delivery of 
such services. 

B. An occupational therapy assistant renders services under 
the supervision of an occupational therapist that do not 
require the clinical decision or specific knowledge, skills and 
judgment of a licensed occupational therapist and do not 
include the discretionary aspects of the initial assessment, 
evaluation or development of a treatment plan for a patient.  

18VAC85-80-100. Individual responsibilities.  

A. An occupational therapist provides assessment by 
determining the need for, the appropriate areas of, and the 
estimated extent and time of treatment. His responsibilities 
include an initial screening of the patient to determine need 
for services and the collection, evaluation and interpretation 
of data necessary for treatment.  
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B. An occupational therapist provides program planning by 
identifying treatment goals and the methods necessary to 
achieve those goals for the patient. The therapist analyzes the 
tasks and activities of the program, documents the progress, 
and coordinates the plan with other health, community or 
educational services, the family and the patient. The services 
may include but are not limited to education and training in 
activities of daily living (ADL); the design, fabrication, and 
application of orthoses (splints); guidance in the selection and 
use of adaptive equipment; therapeutic activities to enhance 
functional performance; prevocational evaluation and 
training; and consultation concerning the adaptation of 
physical environments for individuals who have disabilities.  

C. An occupational therapist provides the specific activities 
or therapeutic methods to improve or restore optimum 
functioning, to compensate for dysfunction, or to minimize 
disability of patients impaired by physical illness or injury, 
emotional, congenital or developmental disorders, or by the 
aging process.  

D. An occupational therapy assistant is responsible for the 
safe and effective delivery of those services or tasks delegated 
by and under the direction of the occupational therapist. 
Individual responsibilities of an occupational therapy 
assistant may include: 

1. Participation in the evaluation or assessment of a patient 
by gathering data, administering tests, and reporting 
observations and client capacities to the occupational 
therapist; 

2. Participation in intervention planning, implementation, 
and review; 

3. Implementation of interventions as determined and 
assigned by the occupational therapist; 

4. Documentation of patient responses to interventions and 
consultation with the occupational therapist about patient 
functionality; 

5. Assistance in the formulation of the discharge summary 
and follow-up plans; and 

6. Implementation of outcome measurements and provision 
of needed patient discharge resources. 

18VAC85-80-110. Supervisory responsibilities of an 
occupational therapist. 

A. Delegation to unlicensed occupational therapy personnel 
an occupational therapy assistant. 

1. An occupational therapist shall be responsible for 
supervision of occupational therapy personnel who work 
under his direction ultimately responsible and accountable 
for patient care and occupational therapy outcomes under 
his clinical supervision. 

2. An occupational therapist shall not delegate the 
discretionary aspects of the initial assessment, evaluation 
or development of a treatment plan for a patient to 
unlicensed occupational therapy personnel nor shall he 
delegate any task requiring a clinical decision or the 
knowledge, skills, and judgment of a licensed occupational 
therapist.  

3. Delegation shall only be made if, in the judgment of the 
occupational therapist, the task or procedures do not 
require the exercise of professional judgment, can be 
properly and safely performed by an appropriately trained 
unlicensed occupational therapy personnel occupational 
therapy assistant, and the delegation does not jeopardize 
the health or safety of the patient. 

4. Delegated tasks or procedures shall be communicated to 
an occupational therapy assistant on a patient-specific basis 
with clear, specific instructions for performance of 
activities, potential complications, and expected results. 

B. The frequency, methods, and content of supervision are 
dependent on the complexity of patient needs, number and 
diversity of patients, demonstrated competency and 
experience of the assistant, and the type and requirements of 
the practice setting. The occupational therapist providing 
clinical supervision shall meet with the occupational therapy 
[ personnel assistant ] to review and evaluate treatment and 
progress of the individual patients at least once every fifth 
tenth treatment session or 21 30 calendar days, whichever 
occurs first. For the purposes of this subsection, group 
treatment sessions shall be counted the same as individual 
treatment sessions. 

C. An occupational therapist shall not may provide clinical 
supervision for more than up to six occupational therapy 
personnel, to include no more than three occupational therapy 
assistants at any one time. 

D. An occupational therapist shall be responsible and 
accountable for the services provided by occupational therapy 
personnel under his clinical supervision. The occupational 
therapy assistant shall document in the patient record any 
aspects of the initial evaluation, treatment plan, discharge 
summary, or other notes on patient care performed by the 
assistant [ , and the supervising occupational therapist shall 
review and countersign within 10 days of such information 
being recorded. The supervising occupational therapist shall 
countersign such documentation in the patient record at the 
time of the review and evaluation required in subsection B of 
this section ].  

18VAC85-80-111. Supervision of unlicensed occupational 
therapy personnel. 

A. Unlicensed occupational therapy personnel may be 
supervised by an occupational therapist or an occupational 
therapy assistant. 
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B. Unlicensed occupational therapy personnel may be 
utilized to perform: 

1. Nonclient-related tasks including, but not limited to, 
clerical and maintenance activities and the preparation of 
the work area and equipment; and 

2. Certain routine patient-related tasks that, in the opinion 
of and under the supervision of an occupational therapist, 
have no potential to adversely impact the patient or the 
patient's treatment plan. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (18VAC85-80)  

Instructions for Completing an Occupational Therapist 
Licensure Application (rev. 12/07).  

Application for a License to Practice as an Occupational 
Therapist (rev. 12/07).  

Instructions for Completing an Occupational Therapy 
Assistant Licensure Application (eff. 11/08). 

Application for a License to Practice as an Occupational 
Therapy Assistant (eff. 11/08). 

Form A, Claims History Sheet (rev. 8/07).  

Form A, Occupational Therapy Assistant, Claims History 
Sheet (eff. 11/08). 

Form B, Activity Questionnaire (rev. 8/07).  

Form B, Occupational Therapy Assistant, Activity 
Questionnaire (eff. 11/08). 

Form C, Clearance from Other State Boards (rev. 10/07).  

Form C, Occupational Therapy Assistant, Clearance from 
Other State Boards (eff. 11/08). 

Form L, Certificate of Professional Education (rev. 8/07).  

Form L, Occupational Therapy Assistant, Certificate of 
Professional Education (eff. 11/08). 

Board Approved Practice, Occupational Therapist 
Traineeship (rev. 8/07).  

Instructions for Completing Reinstatement of Occupational 
Therapy Licensure (rev. 8/07).  

Reinstatement Application Instructions for Occupational 
Therapy Practitioner Licensure after Mandatory Suspension, 
Suspension or Surrender (rev. 10/07). 

Application for Reinstatement of Licensure to Practice 
Occupational Therapy (rev. 8/07).  

Instructions for Supervised Practice, Occupational Therapy 
Reinstatement (rev. 8/07).  

Supervised Practice Application, Occupational Therapy 
Reinstatement (rev. 8/07).  

Continued Competency Activity and Assessment Form (rev. 
4/00).  

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (rev. 
8/07).  

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 8/08).  
VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1387; Filed January 11, 2010, 4:40 p.m.  
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GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 106 (2009) 

ADDITIONAL AUTHORIZATION DUE TO A SEVERE 
WEATHER EVENT THROUGHOUT THE 

COMMONWEALTH 

On November 11, 2009 I verbally declared a state of 
emergency to exist for the Commonwealth of Virginia based 
on severe weather from prolonged periods of wet and windy 
weather from the remnants of Tropical Storm Ida and a 
coastal Nor'easter causing widespread power outages, 
flooding and transportation difficulties throughout the State. 

The health and general welfare of the citizens of the 
Commonwealth require that state action be taken to help 
alleviate the conditions caused by this situation. The effects 
of this storm constitute a natural disaster wherein human life 
and public and private property are imperiled, as described in 
§ 44-146.16 of the Code of Virginia. 

In addition to the measures I took pursuant to Executive 
Order 101, I authorize the following actions to be taken by 
the Commissioner of the Virginia Marine Resources 
Commission: 

The Marine Resources Commissioner is authorized to act on 
behalf of the Commission in issuing permits pursuant to 
Chapter 12 of Title 28.2 of the Code of Virginia when, in the 
judgment of the Commissioner, it is necessary to address 
immediate health and safety needs and the Commissioner 
would be unable to convene a meeting of the full Commission 
in a timely manner. In an effort to address the impacts 
attributable to this Storm damage on the health, safety and 
general welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth, and in 
an attempt to expedite the return of impacted areas and 
structures to pre-event conditions insofar as is possible, no 
permits for encroachments over State-owned submerged 
lands shall be required to replace previously permitted 
structures that conform with the following criteria: 

1. The pre-existing structure must have been previously 
authorized and in a serviceable condition prior to the onset 
of the Storm.  

2. The replacement structure must be reconstructed in the 
same location and in identical or smaller dimensions as the 
previously permitted structure.  

3. Reconstruction activities must be initiated prior to June 
30, 2010 and completed prior to December 31, 2010.  

4. Any property owner(s) seeking to replace a previously 
permitted structure pursuant to this Executive Order must 
submit to the Virginia Marine Resources Commission a 
letter attesting to the foregoing and containing suitable 
drawings of the proposed replacement structure(s) for 
comparison purposes.  

5. No person may proceed with replacement of a previously 
permitted structure under the provisions of this Executive 
Order without written approval from the Commissioner of 
the Virginia Marine Resources Commission.  

This Executive Order shall be effective upon signing and 
shall remain in full force and effect until June 30, 2010 unless 
sooner amended or rescinded by further executive order. 
Termination of the Executive Order is not intended to 
terminate any federal-type benefits granted or to be granted 
due to injury or death as a result of service under this 
Executive Order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia, this 23rd Day of December, 
2009. 

/s/ Timothy M. Kaine 
Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 107 (2009) 

DEVELOPMENT AND REVIEW OF REGULATIONS 
PROPOSED BY STATE AGENCIES 

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor under 
Article V of the Constitution of the Commonwealth of 
Virginia and under the laws of the Commonwealth, including 
but not limited to Sections 2.2-4013 and 2.2-4017 of the Code 
of Virginia, and subject to my continuing and ultimate 
authority and responsibility to act in such matters, I hereby 
establish policies and procedures for review of all new, 
revised, and existing regulations proposed by state agencies, 
which shall include for purposes of this executive order all 
agencies, boards, commissions and other entities of the 
Commonwealth within the Executive Branch which issue 
regulations. Nothing in this Executive Order shall be 
construed to limit my authority under Section 2.2-4013 to 
require an additional 30-day final adoption period, or to 
exercise any other rights and prerogatives existing under 
Virginia law. 

General Policy 

The Executive Branch agencies of the Commonwealth must 
consider, review, and promulgate many regulations each year. 
This Executive Order sets out procedures and requirements to 
ensure the efficiency and quality of Virginia's regulatory 
process. 

All state employees who draft, provide policy analysis for, or 
review regulations shall carefully consider and apply the 
principles outlined below during the regulatory development 
and review process. All regulatory activity should be 
undertaken with the least possible intrusion in the lives of the 
citizens of the Commonwealth consistent with public health, 
safety, and welfare. Where applicable and to the extent 
permitted by law, it shall be the policy of the Commonwealth 
that, unless otherwise mandated by law, only regulations that 
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are necessary to interpret the law or to protect the public 
health, safety, or welfare shall be promulgated. 

A. Agencies shall identify the nature and significance of the 
problem a regulation is intended to address, including, where 
applicable, the failure of private markets and institutions to 
adequately address the problem. 

B. Agencies shall identify and assess reasonably available 
alternatives in lieu of regulation for achieving the goals of a 
regulation, including where feasible and consistent with 
public health, safety, and welfare: 

a. The use of economic incentives to encourage the desired 
outcomes (such as user fees or marketable permits); 

b. The use of information disclosure requirements, rather 
than regulatory mandates, so that the public can make more 
informed choices; and 

c. The use of performance standards in place of mandating 
specific techniques or behavior. 

C. Regulatory development shall be based on the best 
reasonably available scientific, economic, and other 
information concerning the need for, and consequences of, 
the intended regulation. Agencies shall specifically cite the 
best reasonably available scientific, economic, and other 
information in support of regulatory proposals.   

D. Regulations shall be designed to achieve their intended 
objective in the most efficient, cost-effective manner. 

E. Regulations shall be clearly written and easily 
understandable by the individuals and entities affected. 

F. All legal requirements related to public participation and 
all public participation guidelines shall be strictly followed to 
ensure that citizens have reasonable access and opportunity to 
present their comments and concerns. Agencies shall 
establish procedures that provide for a timely written 
response to all comments and the inclusion of suggested 
changes that would improve the quality of the regulation. 

G. In addition to requirements set out in the Virginia 
Administrative Process Act, agencies shall post all 
rulemaking actions on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall to 
ensure that the public is adequately informed of rulemaking 
activity. 

H. Agencies, as well as reviewing entities, shall endeavor to 
perform their tasks in the regulatory process as expeditiously 
as the regulatory subject matter will allow and shall adhere to 
the time frames set out in this Executive Order. 

I. Each agency head will be held accountable for ensuring that 
the policies and objectives specified in this Executive Order 
are put into effect. Agency heads shall ensure that 
information requested by the Department of Planning and 
Budget (DPB) or the Office of the Governor in connection 
with this Executive Order is provided on a timely basis.  

J. Regulations shall not be considered perpetual and will be 
subject to periodic evaluation and review and modification, as 
appropriate, in accordance with the Administrative Process 
Act. 

K. Public comment will be encouraged for all regulations. 
The Department of Planning and Budget shall work with state 
agencies to promote use of the Town Hall to facilitate public 
comment. 

L. Regulatory development shall be conducted in accordance 
with statutory provisions related to impact on small 
businesses. The Department of Planning and Budget shall 
work with state agencies to address these requirements during 
the regulatory review process. 

Applicability 

The review process in this Executive Order applies to 
rulemaking initiated by agencies of the Commonwealth of 
Virginia in accordance with Article 2 of the Administrative 
Process Act (APA) (Section 2.2-4006 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia). 

With the exception of the requirements governing the 
periodic review of existing regulations, the posting of 
meeting agenda and minutes, and the posting of guidance 
documents, the requirements of this Executive Order may not 
apply to regulations exempt from Article 2 of the APA. A 
Cabinet Secretary or the Governor may request in writing that 
an agency comply with all or part of the requirements of this 
Executive Order for regulations exempt from Article 2 of the 
APA. Copies of such requests shall be forwarded to the 
Governor's Policy Office and DPB. In addition, a Cabinet 
Secretary may request in writing that certain Article 2 exempt 
regulations be further exempted from all or part of the 
requirements of this Executive Order. 

These procedures shall apply in addition to those already 
specified in the APA, the agencies' public participation 
guidelines, and the agencies' basic authorizing statutes. 

Any failure to comply with the requirements set forth herein 
shall in no way affect the validity of a regulation, create any 
cause of action or provide standing for any person under 
Article 5 of the APA (Section 2.2-4025 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia), or otherwise challenge the actions of a government 
entity responsible for adopting or reviewing regulations. 

Regulatory Review Process 

Regulations shall be subject to Executive Branch review as 
specified herein. For each stage of the regulatory 
development process, DPB shall develop an appropriate 
background form describing the regulatory action. Agencies 
shall use the form to inform the public about the substance 
and reasons for the rulemaking. All agency regulatory 
packages shall be submitted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 
Hall and shall include the completed form for that stage of the 
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regulatory process and the text of the regulation where 
applicable.  

Agencies shall submit regulatory packages to the Registrar on 
the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall within 14 days of being 
authorized to do so. The Counselor to the Governor may 
grant exceptions to this requirement for good cause. 

A. Notice of Intended Regulatory Action (NOIRA) 

DPB shall conduct an initial review of the submission of a 
Notice of Intended Regulatory Action to determine whether it 
complies with all requirements of this Executive Order and 
applicable statutes and whether the contemplated regulatory 
action comports with the policy of the Commonwealth as set 
forth herein. The NOIRA shall include the nature of the 
regulatory changes being considered and the relevant sections 
of the Virginia Administrative Code. The Director of DPB 
shall develop an appropriate review form for NOIRAs to 
ensure the most efficient use of DPB staff resources. DPB 
shall advise the appropriate Secretary and the Governor of 
DPB's determination. The agency shall be authorized to 
submit the NOIRA to the Registrar for publication when the 
Governor approves the NOIRA for publication. Public 
comments received following publication of the NOIRA 
should be encouraged and carefully considered in 
development of the proposed stage of a regulation. 

If the Director of DPB advises the appropriate Secretary and 
the Governor that the NOIRA presents issues requiring 
further review, the NOIRA shall be forwarded to the 
Secretary. The Secretary shall review the NOIRA within 
seven days and forward a recommendation to the Governor. 
The Chief of Staff is hereby authorized to approve NOIRAs 
on behalf of the Governor. 

B. Proposed Regulation and Fast-Track Regulations 

Following the initial public comment period required by 
Section 2.2-4007 B of the Code of Virginia and taking into 
account the comments received, the agency shall prepare a 
regulatory review package.  Agencies should complete the 
proposed regulation after the close of the NOIRA comment 
period as expeditiously as the subject matter will allow. 

If a regulatory package is submitted to DPB, and DPB 
determines that the package is not substantially complete, 
then DPB shall notify the agency within 10 calendar days. At 
that time, the agency must withdraw the package from the 
Town Hall and resubmit the package only after all important 
missing elements identified by DPB have been completed. 

A proposed regulatory action shall be in as close to final form 
as possible, including completed review by all appropriate 
technical advisory committees. A proposed regulation shall 
not address new issues that were not disclosed to the public 
when the NOIRA was published. If an agency can 
demonstrate a compelling reason to include new issues, an 

exception to this policy may be granted by the Chief of Staff 
during the proposed regulation review process. 

The Attorney General's Office will also be requested to 
provide any appropriate comments for consideration by the 
Governor with respect to the proposed regulation.  It is my 
intent that this process for feedback be managed in a manner 
similar to the process that has traditionally been used for 
soliciting the Attorney General's advice and recommendations 
on enrolled legislation. 

DPB shall review the proposed regulation package to 
determine whether it complies with all requirements of this 
Executive Order and applicable statutes and whether the 
contemplated regulatory action comports with the policy of 
the Commonwealth as set forth herein. Within 45 days of 
receiving a complete proposed regulation package from the 
agency, the Director of DPB shall advise the Secretary of 
DPB's determination.  The Secretary shall review the 
proposed regulation package within 14 days and forward a 
recommendation to the Governor. The Chief of Staff is 
hereby authorized to approve proposed regulations on behalf 
of the Governor. Within 14 days of receiving notification that 
the Governor has approved the proposed regulation package, 
the agency shall submit the proposed regulation package to 
the Registrar for publication, unless an exception to this 
requirement is granted for good cause by the Counselor to the 
Governor. 

With respect to fast-track regulations, the Department of 
Planning and Budget shall review the fast-track regulation to 
determine whether the regulatory change is appropriately 
within the intended scope of fast-track regulatory authority. 
Agencies shall report to DPB and the Governor's Policy 
Office all comments and or objections received with respect 
to a fast-track rulemaking. 

If the Governor does not approve the regulatory package, the 
appropriate agency or board shall revisit the regulation as 
appropriate. 

C. Final Regulation 

After the agency has reviewed the comments received during 
the public comment period following publication of the 
proposed regulation and has revised the proposed regulation, 
as the agency deems necessary and proper, the agency shall 
prepare the final regulation package for submission to the 
Department of Planning and Budget. 

The agency shall submit the final regulation to DPB after the 
close of the proposed regulation comment period as 
expeditiously as the subject matter will allow. 

DPB shall review the final regulation package to determine 
whether it complies with all requirements of this Executive 
Order and applicable statutes and whether the regulatory 
action comports with the policy of the Commonwealth as set 
forth herein. In particular, DPB shall assess the effect of any 
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substantive changes made since the publication of the 
proposed regulation and the responsiveness of the agency to 
public comment.  Within 14 days of receiving a complete 
final regulation package from the agency, the Director of 
DPB shall advise the Secretary and the Governor of DPB's 
determination. 

The Attorney General's Office will also be requested to 
provide any appropriate comments for consideration by the 
Governor with respect to the final regulation. It is my intent 
that this process for feedback be managed in a manner similar 
to the process that has traditionally been used for soliciting 
the Attorney General's advice and recommendations on 
enrolled legislation. 

After DPB's review, the final regulation shall be forwarded to 
the appropriate Secretary and the Governor. The Secretary 
shall make a recommendation to the Governor within seven 
days. The agency shall be authorized to submit the final 
regulation to the Registrar for publication if and when the 
Governor approves the final regulatory package for 
publication. 

If the Governor does not approve the regulatory package, the 
appropriate agency or board shall revisit the regulation as 
appropriate. 

D. Emergency Regulation 

In addition to the information required on the background 
form, the agency shall also include in the regulatory package 
for any emergency regulation a memorandum from the Office 
of the Attorney General certifying that the agency has legal 
authority to promulgate the emergency regulation. 

DPB shall review the emergency regulation package to 
determine whether it complies with all requirements of this 
Executive Order and applicable statutes and whether the 
contemplated regulatory action comports with the policy of 
the Commonwealth as set forth herein. Within 14 days of 
receiving a complete emergency regulation package from the 
agency, the Director of DPB shall advise the Secretary of 
DPB's determination. The Secretary shall review the 
emergency regulation package within 14 days and forward a 
recommendation to the Governor. Upon receiving notification 
that the Governor has approved the emergency regulation 
package, the agency may then submit the emergency 
regulation package to the Registrar for publication. 

If the Governor does not approve the regulatory package, the 
appropriate agency or board shall revisit the regulation as 
appropriate. 

Periodic Review of Existing Regulations 

Each existing regulation in the state shall be reviewed at least 
once every four years by the promulgating agency unless 
specifically exempted from periodic review by the Governor. 
The review shall ensure that each regulation complies with 
the principles set out in this Executive Order. In addition, 

each periodic review shall include an examination by the 
Office of the Attorney General to ensure statutory authority 
for the regulation and that the regulation does not exceed the 
authority to regulate granted in the enabling legislation. The 
periodic review of a regulation shall be reported on a form 
established by DPB. Such form shall minimally provide an 
opportunity for the agency to demonstrate the regulation's 
compliance with the policies set out in this Executive Order. 

Agencies shall cooperate with reviews of regulations by the 
Office of the Attorney General, including but not limited to, 
reasonable requests for data and other supporting information 
as may be necessary to conduct the review. 

Prior to the commencement date of the periodic review for a 
regulation, an agency shall post on the Town Hall a notice of 
the periodic review. The agency shall provide for a minimum 
of 21 days of public comment commencing on the posted date 
for the review. No later than 90 days after the close of the 
public comment period, the agency shall post a completed 
periodic review report on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

When a regulation has undergone a comprehensive review as 
part of a regulatory action and when the agency has solicited 
public comment on the regulation, a periodic review shall not 
be required until four years after the effective date of this 
regulatory action.  

The Governor may request a periodic review of a regulation 
at any time deemed appropriate. Such a request may outline 
specific areas to be addressed in the review.  In the case of 
such a request, the agency shall follow the procedures for 
periodic review as established herein or such other procedures 
as may be stipulated by the Governor. 

Petitions for Rulemaking 

Agencies shall post petitions for rulemaking and written 
decisions to grant or deny the petitioner's request on the 
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall in accordance with the time 
frames established in Section 2.2-4007 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Waivers from Process Deadlines 

Agencies shall file all regulatory actions in a timely manner. 
Agencies shall file all actions in as timely a manner as 
possible, and in all instances within 90 days of approval by 
the Governor unless a waiver of this requirement is granted. 
The Chief of Staff may waive the deadlines an agency must 
meet when submitting NOIRAs, proposed, and final 
regulatory packages. A waiver shall only be granted when an 
agency has demonstrated a compelling need for extending the 
deadlines set out herein. An agency shall submit a waiver 
request as soon as possible prior to the expiration of a 
deadline. Such requests shall be submitted on forms prepared 
by DPB. 
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Electronic Availability of Meeting Agenda and Minutes 

Executive Branch agencies that promulgate regulations and 
keep minutes of regulatory meetings shall post such minutes 
of their public meetings on the Virginia Regulatory Town 
Hall in accordance with the time frames established in 
Section 2.2-3707.1 of the Code of Virginia. In addition, 
wherever feasible, agencies shall post the agenda for a public 
meeting on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at least seven 
days prior to the date of the meeting. 

Electronic Availability of Guidance Documents 

To the extent feasible, agencies shall make all guidance 
documents, as defined by Section 2.2-4001 of the Code of 
Virginia, available to the public on the Virginia Regulatory 
Town Hall. Any guidance document currently available in 
electronic format shall be posted on the Virginia Regulatory 
Town Hall.  Any changes to a guidance document shall be 
reflected on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall within 10 
days of the change. The Counselor to the Governor may 
waive these requirements or extend these deadlines in cases 
where agencies have demonstrated a compelling need. An 
agency shall submit a waiver request as soon as possible prior 
to the expiration of the deadline. Such requests shall be 
submitted on forms prepared by DPB. 

This Executive Order rescinds Executive Order Number 
Thirty-Six (2006). This Executive Order shall become 
effective upon its signing and shall remain in full force and 
effect until June 30, 2010, unless amended or rescinded by 
further Executive Order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia on this 30th day of December, 
2009. 

/s/ Timothy M. Kaine 
Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 108 (2010) 

DESIGNATION OF STRENGTHENING 
COMMUNITIES FUND GRANT RECIPIENT 

The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 
(ARRA) provided an opportunity for eligible applicants to 
seek grants from the Strengthening Communities Fund-State, 
Local, and Tribal Government Capacity Building Program 
(SCF) administered by the U.S. Department of Health and 
Human Services (HHS), Office of Community Services 
(OCF).  Grantees use program funds to provide capacity 
building services to community- and faith-based nonprofit 
organizations that will help them better serve those in need 
and facilitate the participation of such organizations in the 
economic recovery. 

The SCF funding announcement required that a state-level 
applicant for the grant funds must be designated by the State 

as an Authorized Entity through a statute, resolution or 
executive order.  If such a document had not been signed or 
approved prior to the application due date, a letter from the 
executive officer could be submitted with the application and 
the requisite resolution, statute or executive order submitted 
before the start of the grant. 

Virginia Community Capital (VCC), an innovative 
Community Development Financial Institution (CDFI) that 
the State established specifically to provide technical 
assistance and financial services to housing and community 
development ventures within the Commonwealth, requested 
designation as an Authorized Entity as part of its SCF grant 
application. Accordingly, in June 2009, I provided a letter to 
the Secretary of Health and Human Services designating 
VCC as the Authorized Entity for the purpose of applying for 
and administering SCF grant funds made available through 
ARRA. VCC recently received notice of the award of 
$250,000 in SCF program funds. To remain in compliance 
with the terms of the program and assure continued access to 
program funds, it is necessary to affirm the Authorized Entity 
designation through an Executive Order. 

Designation of the Authorized Entity 

Under the terms of the grant, VCC will be responsible for: 1) 
conducting programmatic and financial oversight of the SCF 
State, Local, and Tribal Government Capacity Building 
program grant award; 2) implementing the approved work 
plan; 3) participating in national evaluation studies; and 4) 
sending key staff to an annual grantee conference in 
Washington, D.C. Grant funding will enable VCC to 
accomplish program objectives through the provision of 
training and technical assistance services to secular and faith-
based organizations. Training will focus on providing in-
depth information to nonprofit organizations interested in 
becoming more active in the economic recovery by pursuing 
community economic development activities. Technical 
assistance will help nonprofits and localities build their 
internal capacity to participate in innovative community and 
economic development initiatives through one-on-one 
technical assistance and the creation of a peer-to-peer 
technical assistance network. Finally, the SCF grant will 
enable VCC to improve its internal capacity to assist faith- 
and community-based nonprofit organizations in those 
economically distressed areas of the Commonwealth where 
VCC has concentrated its resources and efforts. 

Through its role in providing an infusion of $17 million in 
equity capital to VCC in 2005, the State was instrumental in 
transforming the organization into a community development 
corporation able to operate throughout the Commonwealth. 
VCC's activities have complemented and are expected to 
continue to complement State efforts addressing the needs of 
economically distressed communities. The Department of 
Housing and Community Development and other state 
agencies will continue to work with VCC in meeting the 
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obligations of the HHS grant. Continuation of this close and 
collaborative working relationship is further established 
through the participation of the Director of the Department of 
Housing and Community Development as a member of the 
VCC Board of Directors.  

Therefore, in response to these circumstances and by virtue of 
the authority vested in me as Governor under Article V of the 
Constitution of Virginia and Section 2.2-103 of the Code of 
Virginia, and subject to my continuing and ultimate authority 
and responsibility to act in such matters, I hereby designate 
Virginia Community Capital as the Authorized Entity for the 
purpose of applying for and administering grant funds 
received from the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act 
(ARRA) of 2009, Strengthening Communities Fund–State, 
Local, and Tribal Government Capacity Building Program, 
administered by the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services (HHS), Office of Community Services. 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and 
shall remain in full force and effect during the term of the 
grant unless sooner amended or rescinded by further 
executive order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia on this 8th day of January, 2010. 

/s/ Timothy M. Kaine 
Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 109 (2010) 

WORKPLACE SAFETY AND EMPLOYEE HEALTH 

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor under 
Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and the laws of the 
Commonwealth, including but not limited to Title 2.2 of the 
Code of Virginia, and subject to my continuing and ultimate 
authority and responsibility to act in such matters, I hereby 
reestablish and revise the Workplace Safety and Employee 
Health Initiative established under Executive Order Number 
Fifty-two (1999) and Executive Order Number Ninety-four 
(2005). This initiative will ensure a safe and healthy 
workplace for state employees, reduce the incidence of work-
related accidents and illnesses occurring in state agencies, and 
assist employees in returning to work from both work-related 
and non-work related illnesses and injuries. 

Injuries and illnesses cause considerable pain and hardship 
for employees and their families and hinder the effective 
operation of state agencies. Human resource, risk 
management and safety professionals report that many of 
these injuries and illnesses can be reduced or prevented. In 
addition, lost productivity for the employee and employer can 
be lessened by transitional employment and/or job 
modification. 

Keeping our government workers safe, whole, healthy and, 
whenever possible, employed is the duty of every state 

agency. This can only be accomplished with the full 
commitment of agency management working in partnership 
with all employees. All state agencies have an important role 
to play not only in reducing work-related injuries but also in 
improving return-to-work services for all injured or ill 
employees. 

All executive branch departments, agencies, and institutions 
of higher education shall: 

•  Cooperate with the Department of Human Resource 
Management State Employee Workers' Compensation 
Services (DHRM) by implementing initiatives to reduce 
work-related injuries and improve services to injured 
employees; 

•  Cooperate with DHRM and the Virginia Retirement 
System Virginia Sickness and Disability Program to 
establish return-to-work opportunities appropriate for the 
individual employee and agency; 

•  Ensure that job expectations are clearly defined in the 
employee work profile to include physical requirements; 

•  Submit the First Report of Injury to the State Employee 
Workers' Compensation Services within 10 days of the 
injury; 

•  Identify trends and the impact on the agency; 

•  Include in managers' performance expectations, when 
appropriate, goals to encourage a safer work environment 
and reduction in work-related and non-work related 
employee lost time; 

•  Evaluate and maintain the agency's return-to-work policy 
for both work-related and non-work related periods of 
disability; 

•  Evaluate the work-related injuries and illnesses that 
occurred in FY 2010 and each subsequent fiscal year in 
order to reestablish goals and strategies to reduce them, to 
enhance workplace safety, and for transitional duty; 

•  Evaluate the work-related and non-work related injuries 
and illnesses that occurred in FY 2010 and each subsequent 
fiscal year where employees were unable to return to work 
in a transitional and/or permanent capacity; 

•  Establish strategies and practices to reduce lost time and 
to support the safe resumption of work for state employees; 

•  Report by October 1st of each year to the Department of 
Human Resource Management on the agency's compliance 
with the provisions of this Executive Order. 

In order to support agency Workplace Safety and Health 
initiatives and goals, the Virginia Retirement System and 
Department of Human Resource Management shall: 

•  Review agency annual reports; 
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•  Provide training, consultation, and support for agency 
initiatives; and 

•  Report non-compliance with the provisions of this 
Executive Order, and report annually to the Governor on 
progress made in improving workplace safety and returning 
employees to work; 

•  Consult with the Virginia Retirement System as 
administrator for the Virginia Sickness and Disability 
Program with regard to the compliance outcomes and work 
collaboratively to support agency initiatives in safely 
returning employees to work. 

This Executive Order rescinds and replaces Executive Order 
Number Ninety-four (2005), Workplace Safety and Employee 
Health, issued by Governor Mark R. Warner, on July 14, 
2005. 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon signing and 
shall remain in full force and effect until superseded or 
rescinded by further executive action. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia on this 8th day of January, 2010. 

/s/ Timothy M. Kaine 
Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 110 (2010) 

ALLOCATION OF A PORTION OF THE 
COMMONWEALTH'S SHARE OF THE CALENDAR 

YEAR 2009 NATIONAL LIMITATION FOR QUALIFIED 
SCHOOL CONSTRUCTION BONDS UNDER THE 

AMERICAN RECOVERY AND REINVESTMENT ACT 
OF 2009 

The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (Pub. 
L. No. 111-5, 123 Stat. 355) was enacted on February 17, 
2009 ("ARRA").  Section 3(a) of ARRA sets forth the 
purposes of ARRA, which include (i) preserving and creating 
jobs and promoting economic recovery, (ii) assisting those 
most impacted by the recession, (iii) investing in 
infrastructure that will provide long-term economic benefits, 
and (iv) stabilizing State and local government budgets, in 
order to minimize and avoid reductions in essential services 
and counterproductive State and local tax increases. 

Section 1521(a), Title I, Division B of ARRA added Section 
54F to the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended (the 
"Tax Code"). Section 54F provides for the issuance of 
qualified school construction bonds ("QSCBs"). QSCBs are 
tax credit bonds that are designed to bear no interest and may 
be issued to finance the construction, rehabilitation, or repair 
of a public school facility or for qualifying public school 
facility land acquisitions. Among the conditions for the valid 
issuance of QSCBs is the receipt of an award of the national 

limitation for the calendar year in which the QSCBs are to be 
issued. 

Section 54F(c) creates a national limitation of $11 billion for 
each of calendar years 2009 and 2010. Section 54F(d)(1) 
requires the U.S. Secretary of the Treasury to make 
allocations to the States in proportion to the respective 
amounts each State is eligible to receive under Section 1124 
of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (20 
U.S.C. 6333) for the most recent federal fiscal year ending 
before the calendar year. Pursuant to Notice 2009-35 of the 
Internal Revenue Service (IRB 2009-17, dated April 27, 
2009) (the "Notice"), the share of the calendar year 2009 
national limitation allocated to the Commonwealth of 
Virginia (the "Commonwealth" or "Virginia") is 
$191,077,000 (the "2009 Commonwealth Share"). 

Section 54F(d)(1) also provides that the national limitation 
amount allocated to a state for any calendar year shall be 
allocated by the state to issuers within the state. The Notice 
provides that eligible issuers of QSCBs include states, 
political subdivisions as defined for purposes of Section 103 
of the Tax Code, large local educational agencies that are 
state or local governmental entities, certain "on-behalf-of" 
issuers and certain conduit financing issuers. Neither Virginia 
nor federal law provides any process for making allocations 
of the 2009 Commonwealth Share to eligible issuers. 

Of the $191,077,000 2009 Commonwealth Share, Executive 
Order 90 (2009) allocated an amount to certain qualifying 
projects in certain localities that were on the First Priority 
Waiting List approved by the Virginia Board of Education. 
Since that time, additional net qualifying cost of $1,500,000 
for the Lylburn Downing Middle School in the city of 
Lexington have been identified and additional projects 
totaling $37,489,989 have been added by the Board of 
Education to the First Priority Waiting List. 

On October 14, 2009, I announced the availability of the 
remaining portion of the 2009 Commonwealth Share to local 
school divisions through a competitive evaluation process to 
finance energy efficiency improvements and renovations, as 
well as renewable energy projects for public school buildings.  
Working cooperatively, the Department of Education and 
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy supervised an 
application process that concluded on November 12, 2009. 
Subsequently, each application and project has been 
evaluated against criteria including annual energy savings, 
project payback period, shovel readiness, and composite 
index. 

Accordingly, by virtue of the powers invested in me by 
Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and Section 2.2-103 
of the Code of Virginia of 1950, as amended, as Governor of 
the Commonwealth of Virginia, I hereby allocate to VPSA 
pursuant to Section 54F(d)(1) of the Tax Code a portion of 
the 2009 Commonwealth Share sufficient for VPSA to issue a 
face amount of QSCBs at one time or from time to time to 
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produce for each of the below-listed projects an amount of net 
sale proceeds up to the maximum amount of the qualifying 
costs specified below: 

From the First Priority Waiting List: 
Locality Project Maximum 

Net Sale 
Proceeds 

Virginia Beach 
City  

Great Neck 
Middle School 

$7,500,000 

Washington 
County 

John Battle High 
School 

$489,126 

 Abingdon High 
School 

$489,126 

 Patrick Henry 
High School 

$1,177,236 

 Holston High 
School 

$602,186 

 Meadowview 
Elementary School 

$1,491,288 

 Wallace Middle 
School 

$1,165,073 

 Glade Spring 
Middle School 

$1,596,000 

 William N. Neff 
Center 

$3,100,000 

Hopewell City Hopewell City 
High School 

$7,500,000 

Virginia Beach 
City 

College Park 
Elementary School 

$4,879,954 

Lexington City Lylburn Downing 
Middle School 

$1,500,000 

Montgomery 
County 

New Price's Fork 
Elementary School 

$7,500,000 

From the Competitive Process: 
Locality Project Maximum 

Sale 
Proceeds 

Amelia County Amelia County 
Public Schools 

$1,205,379 

Arlington County Arlington Career 
Center 

$3,331,022 

Buena Vista Parry McCluer $510,000 
Greene County Greene County 

Technical 
Education Center 

$212,275 

 Nathanael Greene 
Elementary School 

$354,739 

 Ruckersville 
Elementary School 

$348,318 

 William Monroe 
High School 

$1,223,377 

 William Monroe 
Middle School 

$287,170 

Greensville County Belfield 
Elementary School 

$52,942 

 Greensville 
County High 
School 

$471,841 

 Wyatt Middle 
School 

$12,036 

 Greensville 
Elementary School 

$209,285 

Hampton City Division Wide 
Lighting Upgrade 
Initiative 

$2,500,000 

King William 
County 

Acquinton 
Elementary School 

$85,000 

 Hamilton Holmes 
Middle School 

$65,800 

 King William 
High School 

$62,500 

 Cool Spring 
Primary School 

$47,650 

Lancaster County Lancaster Middle 
School 

$211,983 

 Lancaster High 
School 

$179,146 

Lunenburg County Central High 
School 

$1,172,948 

Martinsville City Martinsville 
Middle School 

$577,208 

 Albert Harris 
Elementary School 

$327,410 

 Patrick Henry 
Elementary School 

$146,131 

Montgomery 
County 

MCPS Energy 
Performance 
Contract 

$9,389,331 

Prince William 
County 

Hylton High 
School 

$1,918,591 

 Benton Middle 
School 

$476,836 

 Sudley Elementary 
School 

$131,856 

 Marumsco Hills 
Elementary School 

$189,422 

 West Gate 
Elementary School 

$33,000 

 Vaughan 
Elementary School 

$30,000 

 Swans Creek 
Elementary School 

$57,000 

 Sinclair 
Elementary School 

$24,000 

 Signal Hill 
Elementary School 

$60,000 

 Potomac View 
Elementary School 

$45,000 
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 Parkside Middle 
School 

$117,750 

 Occoquan 
Elementary School 

$30,000 

 Neabsco 
Elementary School 

$42,750 

 Minnieville 
Elementary School 

$39,750 

Prince William 
County 

Kerrydale 
Elementary School 

$35,625 

 Samuel L. 
Gravely, Jr. 
Elementary School 

$70,500 

 Glenkirk 
Elementary School 

$61,875 

 Gar-Field Senior 
High School 

$279,000 

 Fannie W. 
Fitzgerald 
Elementary School 

$78,750 

 Cedar Point 
Elementary School 

$36,750 

 Brentsville District 
High School 

$84,000 

 Bennett 
Elementary School 

$62,250 

 Belmont 
Elementary School 

$33,750 

 Bel Air 
Elementary School 

$39,750 

 Ashland 
Elementary School 

$72,750 

 Alvey Elementary 
school 

$61,500 

 Parkside Middle 
School 

$895,949 

 Tyler Elementary 
School 

$30,000 

 Yorkshire 
Elementary School 

$79,500 

 Gainesville 
Middle School 

$100,500 

 Woodbridge 
Senior High 
School 

$279,000 

 Woodbridge 
Middle School 

$93,750 

 Mary Williams 
Elementary School 

$62,250 

 Victory 
Elementary School 

$67,500 

 Sudley Elementary 
School 

$39,750 

 Stonewall Jackson 
High School 

$232,500 

 Rosa Parks 
Elementary School 

$60,750 

 Rockledge 
Elementary School 

$36,000 

 Osbourn Park 
High School 

$232,500 

 Marumsco Hills 
Elementary School 

$35,250 

 Marsteller Middle 
School 

$100,500 

 Leesylvania 
Elementary School 

$60,000 

 Godwin Middle 
School 

$92,250 

 Forest Park High 
School 

$206,250 

 Ellis Elementary 
School 

$26,250 

 Coles Elementary 
School 

$36,000 

 Bull Run Middle 
School 

$100,500 

 Buckland Mills 
Elementary School 

$66,750 

 Bristow Run 
Elementary School 

$62,250 

 Beville Middle 
School 

$100,500 

 Benton Middle 
School 

$100,500 

 Battlefield Middle 
School 

$206,250 

 Potomac Middle 
School 

$101,250 

 Freedom High 
School 

$207,000 

Prince William 
County 

Hylton High 
School 

$554,000 

 Stonewall Jackson 
High School 

$394,000 

 Osbourn Park 
High School 

$373,000 

 Gar-Field High 
School 

$371,000 

Roanoke City Preston Park 
Elementary School 

$152,182 

 Morningside 
Elementary School 

$337,758 

 Westside 
Elementary School 

$383,842 

 Monterey 
Elementary School 

$236,757 

Shenandoah 
County 

North Fork Middle 
School 

$595,951 

 Peter Muhlenberg 
Middle School 

$664,321 
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 Central High 
School 

$909,540 

 Signal Knob 
Middle School 

$601,543 

 Sandy Hook 
Elementary School 

$965,526 

 Ashby Lee 
Elementary School 

$930,664 

 W. W. Robinson 
Elementary School 

$1,120,575 

 Triplett Business 
and Technical 
Institute 

$574,639 

 Strasburg High 
School 

$429,379 

 Stonewall Jackson 
High School 

$510,858 

Spotsylvania 
County 

Courtland 
Elementary School 

$680,000 

 Chancellor 
Elementary School 

$200,000 

 Lee Hill 
Elementary School 

$45,305 

 Salem Elementary 
School 

$45,035 

 Battlefield Middle 
School  

$650,000 

 Career and 
Technical Center  

$68,587 

 Courtland High 
School 

$92,445 

 Spotsylvania High 
School 

$126,110 

 Massaponax High 
School 

$126,110 

 Battlefield 
Elementary School 

$35,919 

 Brock Road 
Elementary School 

$46,616 

 Courthouse Road 
Elementary School 

$46,616 

 Robert E. Lee 
Elementary School 

$34,241 

 Smith Station 
Elementary School 

$47,088 

 Courtland 
Elementary School 

$40,795 

 Battlefield Middle 
School 

$56,998 

 Chancellor Middle 
and High School 

$172,729 

 Thornburg Middle 
School 

$66,699 

Stafford County Stafford County 
Public Schools 

$1,100,000 

 Rockhill 
Elementary School 

$180,000 

Virginia Beach 
City 

College Park 
Elementary School 

$4,879,954 

Washington 
County 

Abingdon, 
Holston, Patrick 
Henry & John S. 
Battle High 
Schools 

$400,000 

Westmoreland 
County 

Washington & Lee 
High School 

$1,975,369 

York County Grafton-Bethel 
Elementary School 
HVAC Project 

$1,100,000 

The Secretary/Treasurer of VPSA shall notify the Chief of 
Staff in writing of how much of the 2009 Commonwealth 
Share VPSA has used pursuant to this Executive Order within 
five business days following each VPSA issuance of the 
QSCBs contemplated hereby.  I hereby authorize the Chief of 
Staff to provide certificates of compliance with Section 
54F(c) of the Tax Code as may be requested by the VPSA. 

This Executive Order shall be effective as of January 14, 
2010, without any further act or filing and shall remain in 
force and effect so long as Section 54F shall remain in effect, 
unless sooner rescinded or amended by further executive 
order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia this 13th day of January, 2010. 

/s/ Timothy M. Kaine 
Governor 
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Fugitive Dust Petition for Rulemaking - Comment 
Period Extended 

On December 21, 2009, a public comment period was 
announced in the Virginia Register of Regulations (26:8 
VA.R. 929 December 21, 2009) on two petitions for 
rulemaking submitted to the State Air Pollution Control 
Board. The petitions requested amendments to 9VAC5-40 
and 9VAC5-50 regarding fugitive dust emissions. At the 
State Air Pollution Control Board meeting on January 8, 
2010, the board approved an extension of the public comment 
period on the petitions. The comment period now closes on 
February 10, 2010. 

Contact Information: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4426, FAX (804) 
698-4510, or email karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Bureau of Insurance 

January 11, 2010 

Administrative Letter 2010-01 

To: All Insurers Licensed to Write Accident and Sickness 
Insurance in Virginia, and all Health Services Plans and 
Health Maintenance Organizations Licensed in Virginia 

Re: 14VAC5-190-10 et seq.: Rules Governing the Reporting 
of Cost and Utilization Data Relating to Mandated 
Benefits and Mandated Providers Notification of 
Additional Reporting Requirement for the 2010 
Reporting Period 

The purpose of this letter is to alert carriers to an additional 
category of coverage for which cost and utilization 
information must be reported to the State Corporation 
Commission ("Commission"), on Form MB-1, due on or 
before May 1, 2011. Carriers are responsible for making 
necessary adjustments to their data capturing systems to 
ensure that Form MB-1 accurately reflects cost and utilization 
data relating to this additional reporting category for the 2010 
reporting period (calendar year). 

In accordance with the provisions of § 38.2-3418.15 of the 
Code of Virginia, insurers, health services plans, and health 
maintenance organizations are required to offer and make 
available coverage for prosthetic devices and components. 
The requirements of this mandated offer apply to all 
insurance policies, contracts, and plans delivered, issued for 
delivery, reissued, or extended in Virginia on and after 
January 1, 2010, or at any time thereafter when any term of 
the policy, contract, or plan is changed or any premium 

adjustment is made. Carriers should review § 38.2-3418.15 of 
the Code of Virginia in its entirety for a complete description 
of the coverage requirements for this mandated offer. 

Carriers are encouraged to review all requirements applicable 
to mandated benefits and mandated providers as well as the 
associated reporting requirements to determine the extent to 
which this new reporting requirement affects their 
organization and to ensure compliance with all existing 
mandated benefit and provider requirements. 

In order to avoid confusion and to facilitate the capturing of 
appropriate data relating to the coverage requirement for 
prosthetic devices and components, the carrier is directed to 
consult the 2010 listing of CPT and ICD-9-CM codes.  

Please refer any questions regarding this matter to: Mary Ann 
Mason, Senior Insurance Market Examiner, State Corporation 
Commission, Bureau of Insurance, Life and Health Division, 
P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-
9348, FAX (804) 371-9944, or email 
maryann.mason@scc.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Proposed Consent Order - Bath County Service 
Authority 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Bath 
County Service Authority for alleged violations in Bath 
County. A proposed consent order describes a settlement to 
resolve certain permit violations including unauthorized 
discharges of solids at its Hot Springs Regional STP. A 
description of the proposed action is available at the DEQ 
office named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. 
Steven W. Hetrick will accept comments by email 
(steven.hetrick@deq.virginia.gov), FAX (540) 574-7878 or 
postal mail (Department of Environmental Quality, Valley 
Regional Office, P.O. Box 3000, 4411 Early Road, 
Harrisonburg, VA 22801), from February 1, 2010, to 
March 3, 2010. 

Total Maximum Daily Load - Hunting Creek, 
Cameron Run, and Holmes Run 

Announcement of a Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) 
study to restore water quality in the bacteria impaired waters 
of Hunting Creek, Cameron Run, and Holmes Run. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality (DEQ) and the Virginia Department of Conservation 
and Recreation (DCR) announce the third Technical Advisory 
Committee (TAC) Meeting for the Hunting Creek, Cameron 
Run, and Holmes Run Bacteria TMDL Studies. 

TAC meeting: Friday, February 12, 2010, 10:30 a.m. - Noon, 
City of Alexandria's City Hall, Sister Cities Conference 
Room 1101, 301 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314.
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Meeting description: This is the third meeting of the TAC. 
The purpose of the TAC will be to provide technical input 
and insight for the project, and to assist with stakeholder and 
public participation. 

Description of study: Portions of Hunting Creek, Cameron 
Run, and Holmes Run have been identified as impaired on the 
Clean Water Act § 303(d) list for not supporting the primary 
contact recreation use due to elevated levels of E. coli 
bacteria. Virginia agencies are working to identify the sources 
of bacteria contamination in these stream segments. The 
Hunting Creek, Cameron Run, and Holmes Run watersheds 
are located within Arlington County, the City of Alexandria, 
the City of Falls Church, and Fairfax County. Below are 
descriptions of the impaired segments that will be addressed 
in this study: 

Stream 
Name Impairments Area Upstream 

Limit 
Downstream 

Limit 

Hunting 
Creek 
(Tidal) 

Recreational 
use 

Impairment 
due to E. coli 

bacteria 

0.53 
square 
miles 

Route 241 
(Telegraph 

Road) 
Bridge 

Crossing 

Confluence 
with the 
Potomac 

 River 

Cameron 
Run 

(Nontidal) 

Recreational 
use 

Impairment 
due to E. coli 

bacteria 

2.08 
miles 

Confluence 
with 

Backlick 
Run 

Route 241 
(Telegraph 

Road)  
Bridge 

Crossing 

Holmes 
Run 

(Nontidal) 

Recreational 
use 

Impairment 
due to E. coli 

bacteria 

3.58 
miles 

Mouth of 
Lake 

Barcroft 

Confluence 
with 

Backlick 
Run 

During this study, DEQ will develop a total maximum daily 
load, or a TMDL, for each of the impaired stream segments. 
A TMDL is the total amount of a pollutant a water body can 
receive and still meet water quality standards. To restore 
water quality, pollutant levels have to be reduced to the 
TMDL allocated amount. 

How to comment: The public comment period on the 
materials presented at the TAC meeting will extend from 
February 12, 2010, until 9 a.m. on March 15, 2010. DEQ 
accepts written comments by email, fax, or postal mail. 
Written comments should include the name, address, and 
telephone number of the person commenting, and be received 
by DEQ during the comment period. Please send all 
comments to the contact listed below. 

Contact for additional information: Katie Conaway, Virginia 
Department of Environmental Quality, 13901 Crown Court, 
Woodbridge, VA 22193, telephone (703) 583-3804, email 
katie.conaway@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Order - Shore Landvest, Inc. 
(dba Sunset Beach Resort) 

Purpose of notice: To seek public comment on a proposed 
consent order from the Department of Environmental Quality 
for a location in Northampton County, Virginia. 

Public comment period: January 30, 2010, to March 3, 2010. 

Consent order description: The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to Shore Landvest, Inc. (dba 
Sunset Beach Resort) to address alleged violations of Virginia 
Ground Water Management Act. The location where the 
alleged violations occurred is 32246 Lankford Highway, 
Cape Charles. The consent order describes a settlement to 
resolve the unpermitted withdrawal of ground water and 
failing to provide the information needed to complete a 
permit application. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax or postal mail. All comments must include the 
name, address, and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ within the comment 
period. The public may review the proposed consent order at 
the DEQ office named below or on the DEQ website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests, and 
additional information: Paul R. Smith, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 
Southern Blvd., Virginia Beach, VA 23462, telephone (757) 
518-2020, FAX (757) 518-2009, or email 
paul.smith@deq.virginia.gov. 

Total Maximum Daily Load Study in Mattawoman 
Creek, Northampton County 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality will host 
a public meeting on a water quality study for Mattawoman 
Creek, located in Northampton County, on Wednesday, 
February 3, 2010. 

The meeting will start at 6 p.m. in the Accomack-
Northampton Planning District Commission office located at 
23372 Front Street, Accomac, Virginia. The purpose of the 
meeting is to provide information and discuss the study with 
interested local community members and local government. 

Mattawoman Creek (VAT-C14E-13) was identified in 
Virginia's 1998 § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report as 
impaired for not supporting the Shellfishing Use. The 
impairment is based on the shellfish harvesting condemnation 
of Growing Area 86 imposed by the Virginia Department of 
Health-Division of Shellfish Sanitation. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 
of the Code of Virginia require DEQ to develop total 
maximum daily loads (TMDLs) for pollutants responsible for 
each impaired water contained in Virginia's 303(d) TMDL 
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Priority List and Report and subsequent water quality 
assessment reports. 

During the study, DEQ will develop a TMDL for the 
impaired water. A TMDL is the total amount of a pollutant a 
water body can contain and still meet water quality standards. 
To restore water quality, pollutant levels have to be reduced 
to the TMDL amount. 

The public comment period on materials presented at this 
meeting will extend from February 3, 2010, to March 5, 2010. 
For additional information or to submit comments, contact 
Jennifer Howell, Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Blvd., 
Virginia Beach, VA 23462, telephone (757) 518-2111, or 
email jennifer.howell@deq.virginia.gov. 

Additional information is also available on the DEQ website 
at www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl. 

Total Maximum Daily Load Study in Lower 
Nansemond River, Suffolk 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality will host 
a public meeting on a water quality study for Bleakhorn 
Creek, Knotts Creek, and Bennett Creek, located in the City 
of Suffolk, on Monday February 8, 2010. 

The meeting will start at 6 p.m. in the Creekside Elementary 
School cafeteria, 1000 Bennetts Creek Park, Road, Suffolk, 
VA. The purpose of the meeting is to provide information and 
discuss the study with interested local community members 
and local government.  

Bleakhorn Creek (VAT-G13E-10), Knotts Creek (VAT-
G13E-11), and Bennett Creek (VAT-G13E-12) were 
identified in Virginia's 1998 § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and 
Report as impaired for not supporting the Shellfishing Use. 
The impairment is based on the shellfish harvesting 
condemnation of Growing Area 46 (063-046A, B, and C 
Lower Nansemond River) imposed by the Virginia 
Department of Health-Division of Shellfish Sanitation. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 
of the Code of Virginia require DEQ to develop total 
maximum daily loads (TMDLs) for pollutants responsible for 
each impaired water contained in Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL 
Priority List and Report and subsequent water quality 
assessment reports. 

During the study, DEQ will develop a TMDL for the 
impaired water. A TMDL is the total amount of a pollutant a 
water body can contain and still meet water quality standards. 
To restore water quality, pollutant levels have to be reduced 
to the TMDL amount. 

The public comment period on materials presented at this 
meeting will extend from February 8, 2010, through March 
10, 2010. For additional information or to submit comments, 

contact Jennifer Howell, Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 
Southern Blvd., Virginia Beach, VA 23462, telephone (757) 
518-2111, or email jennifer.howell@deq.virginia.gov. 

Additional information is also available on the DEQ website 
at www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl. 

Total Maximum Daily Load Study in Sandy Bottom 
Branch and Tributary, Accomack County 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality will host 
a public meeting on a water quality study for Sandy Bottom 
Branch and tributary, located in Accomack County, on 
Wednesday, February 3, 2010. 

The meeting will start at 6 p.m. in the Accomack-
Northampton Planning District Commission office located at 
23372 Front Street, Accomac, Virginia. The purpose of the 
meeting is to provide information and discuss the study with 
interested local community members and local government. 

Sandy Bottom Branch (VAT-C10R-02) and its tributary 
(VAT-C10R-01) were identified in Virginia's 1998 § 303(d) 
TMDL Priority List and Report as impaired for not 
supporting the Aquatic Life Use. The impairments are based 
on biological monitoring data of the stream's benthic 
community. Virginia agencies are working to identify the 
stressors that are affecting the benthic communities in these 
creeks. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 
of the Code of Virginia require DEQ to develop total 
maximum daily loads (TMDLs) for pollutants responsible for 
each impaired water contained in Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL 
Priority List and Report and subsequent water quality 
assessment reports.  

During the study, DEQ will develop a TMDL for the 
impaired waters. A TMDL is the total amount of a pollutant a 
water body can contain and still meet water quality standards. 
To restore water quality, pollutant levels have to be reduced 
to the TMDL amount. 

The public comment period on materials presented at this 
meeting will extend from February 3, 2010, to March 5, 2010. 
For additional information or to submit comments, contact 
Jennifer Howell, Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Blvd., 
Virginia Beach, VA 23462, telephone (757) 518-2111, or 
email jshowell@deq.virginia.gov. 

Additional information is also available on the DEQ website 
at www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl. 
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Total Maximum Daily Load Studies in the Tidewater 
Regional Area 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality will host 
a public meeting on water quality studies for several water 
bodies that are impaired due to not meeting dissolved oxygen 
(DO) water quality standards. 

The meeting will be held on Monday February 22, 2010, and 
will start at 6 p.m. at the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 
Southern Blvd., Virginia Beach, VA. The purpose of the 
meeting is to provide information and discuss the studies with 
interested local community members and local government. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 
of the Code of Virginia require DEQ to develop total 
maximum daily loads (TMDLs) for pollutants responsible for 
each impaired water contained in Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL 
Priority List and Report and subsequent water quality 
assessment reports. 

During the study, DEQ will develop a TMDL for the 
impaired waters. A TMDL is the total amount of a pollutant a 
water body can contain and still meet water quality standards. 
To restore water quality, pollutant levels have to be reduced 
to the TMDL amount. 

The waters listed below were identified in Virginia's 1998 
§ 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report as impaired for not 
supporting the Aquatic Life Use. The impairments are based 
on water quality monitoring data reports of sufficient 
exceedances of Virginia's water quality standard for dissolved 
oxygen. 

Albemarle Canal (VAT-K41R_AAC01A06) 
North Landing River-
middle 

(VAT-K41R_NLR02A06) 

West Neck Creek-middle (VAT-K41R_WNC01A00) 
Milldam Creek-lower (VAT-K41R_MLD02A06) 
Nawney Creek-upper (VAT-K42E_NWN01A00)  
Nawney Creek-lower (VAT-K42E_NWN02A00) 

Several impaired segments were identified as needing an 
assessment to determine if natural conditions are the cause of 
the low DO values. If it is determined that anthropogenic 
causes contribute to the impairments, a TMDL will be 
developed for each waterbody listed below: 

Tarrara Creek (VAT-K13R_TRR01A00) 
Mill Swamp (VAT-K34R_MSW01A00) 
Rattlesnake Swamp (VAT-K34R_RKN01A02) 
Seacock Swamp-upper (VAT-K35R_SCK01A00) 
Blackwater River-middle 
K36 

(VAT-K36R_BLW02A08) 

Blackwater River-middle 
K36 

(VAT-K36R_BLW03A08) 

Blackwater River-lower 
middle K36 

(VAT-K36R_BLW04A08) 

Blackwater River-lower 
K36 

(VAT-K36R_BLW05A08) 

Blackwater River-mouth 
K36 

(VAT-K36R_BLW06A08) 

Blackwater River-upper 
K33 

(VAT-K33R_BLW01A00) 

Blackwater River-lower 
K33 

(VAT-K33R_BLW02A04) 

Blackwater River-lower 
K33 

(VAT-K33R_BLW03A08) 

The public comment period on materials presented at this 
meeting will extend from February 22, 2010, to March 24, 
2010. For additional information or to submit comments, 
contact Jennifer Howell, Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 
Southern Blvd., Virginia Beach, VA 23462, telephone (757) 
518-2111, or email jshowell@deq.virginia.gov. 

Additional information is also available on the DEQ website 
at www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl. 
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VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

Drinking Water Construction 
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Drinking Water State Revolving Funds 

The Virginia Department of Health (VDH) is pleased to 
announce several opportunities for drinking water funding. 
Construction applications may be submitted year round. 
However, applications received after the due date stated 
below will be considered for funding in following cycle. As 
described below, funding is made possible by our Drinking 
Water State Revolving Fund (DWSRF) Program. VDH 
anticipates having at least $20 million. Also the enclosed 
attachment describes the Water Supply Assistance Grant 
Fund Program. Our FY 2011 DWSRF Intended Use Plan will 
be developed using your input on these issues. 

(1) 1452(k) Source Water Protection Initiatives - (5 pages) 
Must be postmarked by April 2, 2010. This provision 
allows VDH to loan money for activities to protect 
important drinking water resources. Loan funds are 
available to: (1) community and non-profit noncommunity 
waterworks to acquire land/conservation easements and (2) 
community waterworks, only, to establish local, voluntary 
incentive-based protection measures. 

(2) Construction Funds - (10 pages) Must be postmarked by 
April 2, 2010. Private and public owners of community 
waterworks and nonprofit noncommunity waterworks are 
eligible to apply for construction funds. VDH makes 
selections based on criteria described in the Program 
Design Manual, such as existing public health problems, 
noncompliance, affordability, regionalization, the 
availability of matching funds, etc. Readiness to proceed 
with construction is a key element. A preliminary 
engineering report must be submitted if required by VDH. 
An instruction packet and construction project schedule are 
included. 

(3) Set-Aside Suggestion Forms - (2 pages) Must be 
postmarked by April 2, 2010. Anyone has the opportunity 
to suggest new or continuing set-aside (nonconstruction) 
activities. Set-aside funds help VDH assist waterworks 
owners to prepare for future drinking water challenges and 
assure the sustainability of safe drinking water. 

(4) Planning & Design Grants - (9 pages) Must be 
postmarked by August 27, 2010. Private and public owners 
of community waterworks are eligible to apply for these 
grant funds. Grants can be up to $30,000 per project for 
small, financially stressed, community waterworks serving 
fewer than 3,300 persons. Eligible projects may include 
preliminary engineering planning, design of plans and 
specifications, performance of source water quality and 
quantity studies, drilling test wells to determine source 
feasibility, or other similar technical assistance projects.  
These funds could assist the waterworks owner in future 
submittals for construction funds. 

VDH's Program Design Manual describes the features of the 
above opportunities for funding. After receiving the 

aforementioned public input, VDH will develop a draft 
Intended Use Plan for public review and comment. When 
developed in August, the draft Intended Use Plan will 
describe specific details for use of the funds. A public 
meeting is planned for October and written comments will be 
accepted before a final version is submitted to the USEPA for 
approval. 

You may request the applications, set-aside suggestion form, 
Program Design Manual and information from and forward 
any comments to Steve Pellei, P.E., FCAP Director, by 
writing or calling Virginia Department of Health, James 
Madison Building, Room 622, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 864-7489. The materials are also accessible 
on VDH's website 
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinkingwater/financial. 

Water Supply Assistance Grant Funding 

The 1999 General Assembly created the Water Supply 
Assistance Grant Fund (WSAGF) in § 32.1-171.2 of the Code 
of Virginia. The purpose of the WSAG is to make grant funds 
available to localities and owners of waterworks to assist in 
the provision of drinking water. 

Funds are available by submitting an application postmarked 
on or before the dates indicated for the following: 

(1) Planning Grants – Application must be postmarked by 
August 27, 2010. Of available funding, $60,000 or 16.67% 
will be used for planning needs. Your application cannot 
exceed this amount. 

In ranking of applications, preference is given to those that 
address problems of small, community waterworks with 
multi-jurisdictional support. The applicant submits the current 
VDH planning application to VDH. To promote coordination 
of funding and streamline the process for applicants, grants 
are prioritized in accordance with rating criteria of the current 
DWSRF Program. For WSAGF funding purposes only, up to 
50 extra points are added to the DWSRF rating criteria 
relative to the Stress Index rank. 

Eligible activities may include, but are not limited to, capacity 
building activities addressing regionalization or 
consolidation, performance of source water quality and 
quantity studies, drilling test wells to determine source 
feasibility, income surveys, preliminary engineering planning, 
design and preparation of plans and specifications, or other 
similar technical assistance projects. 

(2) Surface Water Development or Improvement Grants – 
Application must be postmarked by April 2, 2010. Of 
available funding, $200,000 or 55.55% will be used for 
community waterworks surface source water development or 
improvement activities.  Your application cannot exceed this 
amount. 

The applicant submits the current VDH construction 
application to VDH. In ranking of applications, preference is 
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given to those that address problems of small, community 
waterworks with multi-jurisdictional support.  

Eligible activities may include land purchase, options to 
purchase land, general site development costs, and dam 
upgrade and construction. 

(3) Small Project Construction Grants – Application must be 
postmarked by April 2, 2010. Of available funding, $100,000 
or 27.78% will be used for small project construction that is 
defined as a project whose total project cost does not exceed 
$50,000. Eligible activities may include, but are not limited 
to, upgrade or construction of well or spring sources, 
waterlines, storage tanks, and treatment. 

The applicant submits the current VDH construction 
application to VDH. To promote coordination of funding and 
streamline the process for applicants, grants are prioritized in 
accordance with rating criteria of the current DWSRF 
Program. For WSAGF purposes only, up to 30 extra points 
are added to the VDH rating criteria relative to the Stress 
Index rank. Preference is given to community waterworks. 
This priority system ensures that all eligible acute or chronic 
health/SDWA compliance projects are funded before any 
other eligible project.  

VDH's WSAGF Program Guidelines describe the features of 
the above opportunities for funding.  

You may request the applications or Program Guidelines 
from us by writing or calling Virginia Department of Health, 
James Madison Building, Room 622, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 864-7489. The applications are also 
accessible on VDH's website 
www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinkingwater/financial. 

DEPARTMENT OF JUVENILE JUSTICE 

Public Hearing on Three Regulations: 6VAC35-41, 
6VAC35-71, and 6VAC35-101 

The Department (Board) of Juvenile Justice will hold a public 
hearing for persons wishing to bring concerns, questions, or 
suggestions regarding the following regulations: 

6VAC35-41, Regulation Governing Juvenile Group Homes 
and Halfway Houses 

6VAC35-71, Regulation Governing Juvenile Correctional 
Centers 

6VAC35-101, Regulation Governing Juvenile Secure 
Detention Centers 

The first session will be held on Tuesday, April 6, 2010, from 
7 p.m. to 9 p.m. at the General Assembly Building at 9th & 
Broad Streets, Richmond, VA. Also, on Wednesday, April 7, 
2010, the board will allow for additional public comments 
during its regularly scheduled meeting which begins at 
10 a.m. at the Department's Central Office building at 700 

Centre, 700 E. Franklin Street, Richmond, VA, Second Floor 
Conference Room. 

All comments should be submitted to Deborah C. Hayes no 
later than Friday, April 2, 2010, at 700 E. Franklin Street, 
Richmond, VA, or you may bring 15 copies of your 
comments with you to the hearing. 

Contact Information: Janet P. Van Cuyk, Regulatory 
Coordinator, 700 Centre, 700 E. Franklin St., 4th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4097, FAX (804) 
371-0773, or email janet.vancuyk@djj.virginia.gov. 

STATE LOTTERY DEPARTMENT 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the State Lottery 
Department were filed with the Virginia Registrar of 
Regulations on January 6, 2010, and January 12, 2010. The 
orders may be viewed at the State Lottery Department, 900 
East Main Street, Richmond, VA, or at the office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, 910 Capitol Street, 2nd Floor, 
Richmond, VA. 

Final Rules for Game Operation: 

Director's Order Number One (10) 

"Megapower" Virginia Lottery Retailer Incentive Program 
Rules (effective 1/12/10) 

Director's Order Number Two (10) 

"Subscriptions Movie Fun Pack Sweepstakes" Final Rules for 
Game Operation (effective 1/6/10) 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 
Mailing Address: Virginia Code Commission, 910 Capitol 
Street, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 
Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed 

Beginning with Volume 26, Issue 1 of the Virginia Register 
of Regulations dated September 14, 2009, the Cumulative 
Table of Virginia Administrative Code Sections Adopted, 
Amended, or Repealed will no longer be published in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. The cumulative table may 
be accessed on the Virginia Register Online webpage at 
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/cumultab.htm. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations 

Agencies are required to use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) when filing regulations for publication in the 
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Virginia Register of Regulations. The Office of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations implemented a web-based application 
called RIS for filing regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register. The Registrar's office has 
worked closely with the Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) to coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory 
Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one 
another by sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

The Office of the Virginia Register is working toward the 
eventual elimination of the requirement that agencies file 
print copies of regulatory packages. Until that time, agencies 
may file petitions for rulemaking, notices of intended 
regulatory actions and general notices in electronic form only; 
however, until further notice, agencies must continue to file 
print copies of proposed, final, fast-track and emergency 
regulatory packages. 

ERRATA 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 
Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-630. Virginia Pollution 
Abatement General Permit Regulation for Poultry Waste 
Management. 

Publication: 26:6 VA.R. 570-591 November 23, 2009. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 571, 9VAC25-630-10, definition of "Permittee," 
beginning on line 1, strike "whose confined poultry feeding 
operation is" 

Page 571, 9VAC25-630-10, definition of "Poultry waste 
broker" or "broker" as follows: 

beginning on line 1, strike ", other than the poultry 
grower," 

line 2, strike "more than 10 tons of" 

line 3, strike "in any 365-day period"  

line 5, strike "some or all of the" 
VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1062; Filed  January 22, 2010, 3:12 p.m. 

* * * * * * * * 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-720. Water Quality 
Management Planning Regulation.  

Publication: 26:10 VA.R. 1321-1329 January 18, 2010. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 1329, 9VAC25-720-50 C, NOTE (10), end of 
paragraph, change "paragraph (c)" to "clause (c)" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-128; Filed January 21, 2010, 11:30 a.m. 
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