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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, the Virginia Tax Bulletin issued 
periodically by the Department of Taxation, and notices of public 
hearings and open meetings of state agencies. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
Proposed regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating 
agency at any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 12 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
23:7 VA.R. 1023-1140 December 11, 2006, refers to Volume 23, Issue 
7, pages 1023 through 1140 of the Virginia Register issued on 
December 11, 2006. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards; Vice 
Chairman; James M. LeMunyon; Ryan T. McDougle; William R. 
Janis; Robert L. Calhoun; Frank S. Ferguson; E.M. Miller, Jr.; 
Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; James F. Almand; Jane M. Roush. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
June T. Chandler, Assistant Registrar. 
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

May 2010 through June 2011 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

26:19 May 5, 2010 May 24, 2010 

26:20 May 18, 2010 (Tuesday) June 7, 2010 

26:21 June 2, 2010 June 21, 2010 

26:22 June 16, 2010 July 5, 2010 

26:23 June 30, 2010 July 19, 2010 

26:24 July 14, 2010 August 2, 2010 

26:25 July 28, 2010 August 16, 2010 

26:26 August 11, 2010 August 30, 2010 

27:1 August 25, 2010 September 13, 2010 

27:2 September 8, 2010 September 27, 2010 

27:3 September 22, 2010 October 11, 2010 

27:4 October 6, 2010 October 25, 2010 

27:5 October 20, 2010 November 8, 2010 

27:6 November 3, 2010 November 22, 2010 

27:7 November 16, 2010 (Tuesday) December 6, 2010 

27:8 December 1, 2010 December 20, 2010 

27:9 December 14, 2010 (Tuesday) January 3, 2011 

27:10 December 29, 2010 January 17, 2011 

27:11 January 12, 2011 January 31, 2011 

27:12 January 26, 2011 February 14, 2011 

27:13 February 9, 2011 February 28, 2011 

27:14 February 23, 2011 March 14, 2011 

27:15 March 9, 2011 March 28, 2011 

27:16 March 23, 2011 April 11, 2011 

27:17 April 6, 2011 April 25, 2011 

27:18 April 20, 2011 May 9, 2011 

27:19 May 4, 2011 May 23, 2011 

27:20 May 18, 2011 June 6, 2011 

27:21 June 1, 2011 June 20, 2011 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC105-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Optometry. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Dennis M. Garcia. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend regulations to 
prohibit provisions in a lease that control or attempt to control 
malpractice liability coverage, patient records, and scheduling 
of patient appointments.  

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reasons for Decision: The board considered this 
petition and voted to deny the request because it believes the 
current laws and regulations in Virginia concerning attempts 
to control an optometrist's practice are adequate to protect the 
public. 

Agency Contact: Leslie Knackel, Executive Director, Board 
of Optometry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, 
VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4508, FAX (804) 527-4466, 
or email leslie.knackel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-32; Filed May 5, 2010, 4:08 p.m. 
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulations filed by 
the Marine Resources Commission are exempt from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
12 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 
required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-490. Pertaining to Sharks 
(amending 4VAC20-490-20, 4VAC20-490-44).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 1, 2010.  

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Ave., 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) define "agent"; (ii) prohibit the use of 
agents in the spiny dogfish fishery; and (iii) allow the 
commissioner or his designee to grant exceptions to the 
prohibition against transfers of the spiny dogfish limited 
entry fishery permit.  

4VAC20-490-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise. 

"Agent" means any person who possesses the Commercial 
Fisherman Registration License, fishing gear license, or 
fishing permit of a registered commercial fisherman in order 
to fish that commercial fisherman's gear or sell that 
commercial fisherman's harvest. 

"Carcass length" means that length measured in a straight 
line from the anterior edge of the first dorsal fin to the 
posterior end of the shark carcass. 

"COLREGS Line" means the COLREGS Demarcation lines, 
as specified in Coastal Pilot, 35th and 36th editions by 
Lighthouse Press. 

"Commercial shark fishermen" means any commercially 
permitted fisherman who has landed and sold one pound of 
shark or more (excludes spiny dogfish) in that calendar year 
(January 1 through December 31). 

"Commercially permitted nonsandbar large coastal shark" 
means any of the following species: 

Blacktip, Carcharhinus limbatus 

Bull, Carcharhinus leucas 

Great hammerhead, Sphyrna mokarran 

Lemon, Negaprion brevirostris 

Nurse, Ginglymostoma cirratum 

Scalloped hammerhead, Sphyrna lewini 

Silky, Carcharhinus falciformis 

Smooth hammerhead, Sphyrna zygaena 

Spinner, Carcharhinus brevipinna  

Tiger, Galeocerdo cuvier 

"Commercially permitted pelagic shark" means any of the 
following species: 

Blue, Prionace glauca 

Oceanic whitetip, Carcharhinus longimanus 

Porbeagle, Lamna nasus 

Shortfin mako, Isurus oxyrinchus 

Thresher, Alopias vulpinus 

"Commercially permitted small coastal shark" means any of 
the following species: 

Atlantic sharpnose, Rhizoprionodon terraenovae 

Blacknose, Carcharhinus acronotus 

Bonnethead, Sphyrna tiburo 

Finetooth, Carcharhinus isodon 

"Commercially prohibited shark" means any of the 
following species: 

Atlantic angel, Squatina dumeril 

Basking, Cetorhinus maximus 

Bigeye sand tiger, Odontaspis noronhai 

Bigeye sixgill, Hexanchus nakamurai 
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Bigeye thresher, Alopias superciliosus 

Bignose, Carcharhinus altimus 

Caribbean reef, Carcharhinus perezii 

Caribbean sharpnose, Rhizoprionodon porosus 

Dusky, Carcharhinus obscurus 

Galapagos, Carcharhinus galapagensis 

Longfin mako, Isurus paucus 

Narrowtooth, Carcharhinus brachyurus 

Night, Carcharhinus signatus 

Sand tiger, Carcharias taurus 

Sevengill, Heptranchias perlo 

Sixgill, Hexanchus griseus 

Smalltail, Carcharhinus porosus 

Whale, Rhincodon typus 

White, Carcharodon carcharias 

"Control rule" means a time-certain date, past, present or 
future, used to establish participation in a limited entry 
fishery and may or may not include specific past harvest 
amounts. 

"Dressed weight" means the result from processing a fish by 
removal of head, viscera, and fins, but does not include 
removal of the backbone, halving, quartering, or otherwise 
further reducing the carcass. 

"Finning" means removing the fins and returning the 
remainder of the shark to the sea. 

"Fork length" means the straight-line measurement of a fish 
from the tip of the snout to the fork of the tail. The 
measurement is not made along the curve of the body. 

"Movable gill net" means any gill net other than a staked gill 
net. 

"Large mesh gill net" means any gill net having a stretched 
mesh equal to or greater than five inches. 

"Longline" means any fishing gear that is set horizontally, 
either anchored, floating or attached to a vessel, and that 
consists of a mainline or groundline, greater than 1,000 feet in 
length, with multiple leaders (gangions) and hooks, whether 
retrieved by hand or mechanical means. 

"Permitted commercial gear" means rod and reel, handlines, 
shark shortlines, small mesh gill nets, large mesh gill nets, 
pound nets, and weirs. 

"Recreational shore angler" means a person not fishing from 
a vessel nor transported to or from a fishing location by a 
vessel. 

"Recreational vessel angler" means a person fishing from a 
vessel or transported to or from a fishing location by a vessel. 

"Recreationally permitted shark" means any of the following 
species:  

Atlantic sharpnose, Rhizoprionodon terraenovae 

Blacknose, Carcharhinus acronotus 

Blacktip, Carcharhinus limbatus 

Blue, Prionace glauca 

Bonnethead, Sphyrna tiburo 

Bull, Carcharhinus leucas 

Finetooth, Carcharhinus isodon 

Great hammerhead, Sphyrna mokarran 

Lemon, Negaprion brevirostris 

Nurse, Ginglymostoma cirratum 

Oceanic whitetip, Carcharhinus longimanus 

Porbeagle, Lamna nasus 

Scalloped hammerhead, Sphyrna lewini 

Shortfin mako, Isurus oxyrinchus 

Smooth dogfish, Mustelus canis 

Smooth hammerhead, Sphyrna zygaena 

Spinner, Carcharhinus brevipinna  

Thresher, Alopias vulpinus 

Tiger, Galeocerdo cuvier  

"Recreationally prohibited shark" means any of the 
following species: 

Atlantic angel, Squatina dumeril 

Basking, Cetorhinus maximus 

Bigeye sand tiger, Odontaspis noronhai 

Bigeye sixgill, Hexanchus nakamurai 

Bigeye thresher, Alopias superciliosus 

Bignose, Carcharhinus altimus 

Caribbean reef, Carcharhinus perezii 

Caribbean sharpnose, Rhizoprionodon porosus 

Dusky, Carcharhinus obscurus 

Galapagos, Carcharhinus galapagensis 

Longfin mako, Isurus paucus 

Narrowtooth, Carcharhinus brachyurus 

Night, Carcharhinus signatus 
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Sand tiger, Carcharias taurus 

Sandbar, Carcharhinus plumbeus 

Sevengill, Heptranchias perlo 

Silky, Carcharhinus falciformis 

Sixgill, Hexanchus griseus 

Smalltail, Carcharhinus porosus 

Whale, Rhincodon typus 

White, Carcharodon carcharias 

"Research only shark" means any of the following species: 

Sandbar, Carcharhinus plumbeus 

"Shark shortline" means a fish trotline that is set 
horizontally, either anchored, floating or attached to a vessel, 
and that consists of a mainline or groundline, 1,000 feet in 
length or less, with multiple leaders (gangions) and no more 
than 50 corrodible circle hooks, whether retrieved by hand or 
mechanical means. 

"Small mesh gill net" means any gill net having a stretched 
mesh less than five inches. 

"Smooth dogfish" means any shark of the species Mustelus 
canis. 

"Spiny dogfish" means any shark of the species Squalus 
acanthias. 

4VAC20-490-44. Spiny dogfish limited entry fishery 
permit and permit transfers. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, catch, possess, 
or land any spiny dogfish without first having obtained a 
spiny dogfish limited entry fishery permit from the Marine 
Resources Commission. Such permit shall be completed in 
full by the permittee who shall keep a copy of that permit in 
his possession while fishing for or selling spiny dogfish. 
Permits shall only be issued to Virginia registered 
commercial fishermen meeting either of the following 
criteria: 

1. Shall have documented on Virginia mandatory harvest 
reporting forms harvest from a legally licensed, movable 
gill net for an average of at least 60 days from 2006 
through 2008, and a minimum harvest of one pound of 
spiny dogfish at any time from 2006 through 2008. 

2. Shall have documented on Virginia mandatory reporting 
forms harvests that total greater than 10,000 pounds of 
spiny dogfish in any one year from 2006 through 2008. 

B. It is unlawful to transfer any spiny dogfish limited entry 
fishery permit after November 23, 2009. 

C. The use of agents in the spiny dogfish fishery is 
prohibited. 

D. The commissioner or his designee may grant exceptions 
to the prohibition against transfers of the spiny dogfish 
limited entry fishery permit as described in subsection B of 
this section to any individual who meets any of the following 
criteria: 

1. Demonstrates a significant hardship on the basis of 
health and provides the commissioner documentation, by 
an attending physician, of the medical condition.  

2. Demonstrates a significant hardship on the basis of a call 
to active military duty and provides the commissioner an 
explanation, in writing, and copy of the military orders for 
active duty. 

3. Documents the retirement or death of the immediate 
family member permitted for the spiny dogfish limited 
entry fishery and possessing a legal Commercial 
Fisherman Registration License. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2374; Filed April 30, 2010, 2:18 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-560. Pertaining to Shellfish 
Management Areas (amending 4VAC20-560-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 1, 2010.  

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Ave., 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This amendment changes the 2010 season for the harvest 
of clams by patent tong from the Newport News Shellfish 
Management Area to January 1, 2010, through June 30, 
2010, and December 1, 2010, through December 31, 2010, 
and makes it unlawful for any person to harvest clams by 
patent tong from such area from July 1, 2010, through 
November 30, 2010.  

4VAC20-560-40. Patent tong season.  

A. The lawful season for the harvest of clams by patent tong 
from the York River Shellfish Management Area shall be 
August 15 through November 30.  

B. The lawful season for the harvest of clams by patent tong 
from the Poquoson River Shellfish Management Area shall be 
March 15 through May 1.  

C. The lawful season for the harvest of clams by patent tong 
from the Back River Shellfish Management Area shall be 
January 1 through March 31.  

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest clams by 
patent tong from either the York River, Poquoson River, or 
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Back River Shellfish Management Area except as provided in 
subsections A, B, and C of this section.  

E. The Except as provided in subsection G of this section, 
the lawful season for the harvest of clams by patent tong from 
the Newport News Shellfish Management Area shall be 
December 1 through April 30, except that if the catch of 
clams per tong-hour for the previous season is less than 174 
clams per tong-hour, the lawful season shall be December 1 
through March 31.  

F. It Except as provided in subsection G of this section, it 
shall be unlawful for any person to harvest clams by patent 
tong from the Newport News Shellfish Management Area 
from May 1 through November 30, except that if the catch of 
clams per tong-hour for the previous season is less than 174 
clams per tong-hour, it shall be unlawful for any person to 
harvest clams by patent tong from the Newport News 
Shellfish Management Area from April 1 through November 
30.  

G. The lawful season for the harvest of clams by patent tong 
from the Newport News Shellfish Management Area shall be 
January 1, 2010, through June 30, 2010, and December 1, 
2010, through December 31, 2010. It shall be unlawful for 
any person to harvest clams by patent tong from the Newport 
News Shellfish Management Area from July 1, 2010, through 
November 30, 2010. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2375; Filed April 30, 2010, 2:15 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-720. Pertaining to 
Restrictions on Oyster Harvest (amending 4VAC20-720-
10, 4VAC20-720-60, 4VAC20-720-110; repealing 
4VAC20-720-106).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 1, 2010.  

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Ave., 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) make it unlawful for any person to 
harvest or attempt to harvest oysters prior to sunrise or 
after 2 p.m. from certain areas, except as described in new 
chapter 4VAC20-1230, which is contained in the next 
regulatory action and (ii) repeal 4VAC20-720-106, which 
is being replaced by 4VAC20-1230.  

4VAC20-720-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to protect and conserve 
Virginia's oyster resource, and promote the preservation of 
oyster broodstock, which has been depleted by disease, 

harvesting, and natural disasters, and protect the public 
health. 

4VAC20-720-60. Day and time limit. 

A. It shall be unlawful to take, catch, or possess oysters on 
Saturday and Sunday from the public oyster grounds or 
unassigned grounds in the waters of the Commonwealth of 
Virginia, except that this provision shall not apply to any 
person harvesting no more than one bushel per day by hand 
or ordinary tong for household use only during the season 
when the public oyster grounds or unassigned grounds are 
legally open for harvest. The presence of any gear normally 
associated with the harvesting of oysters on board the boat or 
other vehicle used during any harvesting under this exception 
shall be prima facie evidence of violation of this chapter. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or attempt 
to harvest oysters prior to sunrise or after 2 p.m. from the 
areas described in subdivisions 1, 3, 5, 6, and 7 of 4VAC20-
720-40, except as described in 4VAC20-720-106 4VAC20-
1230. In addition, it shall be unlawful for any boat with an 
oyster dredge aboard to leave the dock until one hour before 
sunrise or return to the dock after sunset, and it shall be 
unlawful for any boat with a hand scrape aboard to leave the 
dock until one-half hour before sunrise or return to the dock 
after sunset. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or attempt 
to harvest oysters in the area as described in subdivision 4 of 
4VAC20-720-40 prior to 7 a.m. and after 1 p.m. 

4VAC20-720-106. Public health and warm water harvest 
restrictions. (Repealed.) 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to have any cat, dog, 
or other animal on board a vessel during the harvest of 
oysters. 

B. From May 1 through September 30, any vessel used for 
the harvest of oysters for human consumption from either 
public or private grounds shall have shading over the area that 
serves as storage for the oysters (except as described in 
subsection C of this section), and all oysters in the vessel 
shall be offloaded every day. 

C. From May 1 through September 30, any vessel used for 
the harvest of oysters for human consumption that are placed 
in an aquaculture container completely covered by a lid or 
top, shall not be required to have shading over that container. 

D. From June 15 through August 31, it shall be unlawful for 
any person, or person aboard a vessel, to leave the dock or 
shore prior to one hour before sunrise to harvest or attempt to 
harvest oysters from private grounds. 

E. From May 1 through June 14, it shall be unlawful to 
harvest oysters for human consumption from public or private 
grounds after 11 a.m., and oysters harvested before 11 a.m. 
shall be refrigerated by 11 a.m. that same day. 
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F. From June 15 through August 31, it shall be unlawful to 
harvest oysters for human consumption from public or private 
grounds after 10 a.m., and oysters harvested before 10 a.m. 
shall be refrigerated by 10 a.m. that same day. 

G. From September 1 through September 30, it shall be 
unlawful to harvest oysters for human consumption from 
public or private grounds after 12 p.m., and oysters harvested 
before 12 p.m. shall be refrigerated by 12 p.m. that same day. 

H. Subsections E, F, and G of this section shall not apply to 
the harvest of seed oysters or the customary husbandry 
processes associated with aquaculture of oysters. 

I. Oysters may be harvested after the end of the designated 
harvesting time in subsections E, F, and G of this section 
provided there is a Virginia Department of Health, Division 
of Shellfish Sanitation-approved refrigeration system or ice 
storage area for the oysters on board the harvest vessel that is 
in use for cooling oysters at all times or the total time 
expended on harvesting those oysters does not exceed two 
hours from start of harvest to refrigeration of those oysters, 
and there is verifiable documentation, such as a log book or 
GPS trip log that corresponds to that harvesting event. 

4VAC20-720-110. Penalty. 

A. As set forth in § 28.2-903 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person violating any provision of this chapter shall be guilty 
of a Class 3 misdemeanor and a second or subsequent 
violation of any provision of this chapter committed by the 
same person within 12 months of a prior violation is a Class 1 
misdemeanor. 

B. In addition to the penalty prescribed by law, any person 
violating any provisions of this chapter shall return all oysters 
in possession to the water, shall cease harvesting on that day, 
all harvesting apparatus shall be subject to seizure and 
pursuant to § 28.2-232 of the Code of Virginia shall be 
subject to the immediate forfeiture of all oyster licenses and 
permits until appearing before the Marine Resources 
Commission. 

C. In addition to the penalty prescribed by § 28.2-802 of the 
Code of Virginia, any person violating any provisions of 
4VAC20-720-106 shall destroy all oysters harvested by that 
person in violation of 4VAC20-720-106 in the presence of a 
marine police officer, and shall be subject to the immediate 
forfeiture of all oyster licenses and permits until appearing 
before the Marine Resources Commission. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2355; Filed April 30, 2010, 2:09 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1230. Pertaining to 
Restrictions on Shellfish (adding 4VAC20-1230-10 
through 4VAC20-1230-40). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 1, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Ave., 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This chapter establishes harvest times and handling 
procedures for shellfish harvested during the months of 
May through September to protect the public health. 
Definitions are included to explain the particular 
requirements established by this chapter. Penalties for 
violating any provision of the chapter are also included. 

CHAPTER 1230 
PERTAINING TO RESTRICTIONS ON SHELLFISH 

4VAC20-1230-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to establish harvest times and 
handling procedures for shellfish harvested during the months 
of May through September to protect the health of the public. 

4VAC20-1230-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Harvest" means the act of removing shellfish from a 
designated harvest area and placing that harvest on or in a 
man-made conveyance or other means of transport. 

"Mechanical refrigeration" means storage in a container that 
is approved by the Virginia Department of Health Division of 
Shellfish Sanitation and capable of cooling to and 
maintaining an ambient temperature of 45°F or less. 

"Oysters" mean those oysters greater than 2-1/2 inches in 
shell length. 

"Shading" means to shelter by intercepting the direct rays of 
the sun to protect the shellfish from heat, using a tarp or 
cover. 

"Shellfish" means all species of bivalve molluscan shellfish. 

"Time to refrigeration" means the amount of time from 
when the harvested shellstock is no longer within the water 
column to when it is refrigerated. 

4VAC20-1230-30. Public health and warm water harvest 
restrictions. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to have any cat, dog, 
or other animal on board a vessel during the harvest of 
shellfish. 

B. From May 1 through September 30, any vessel used for 
the harvest of shellfish, from either public or private grounds, 
shall provide adequate air flow through and shading over the 
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area that serves as storage for the shellfish. All shellfish in the 
vessel shall be offloaded every day. 

C. From May 1 through September 30, all land-based 
deliveries of shellfish requiring more than 30 minutes from 
landing that shellfish shall be made aboard trucks or 
conveyances equipped with mechanical refrigeration having 
an ambient temperature of 45°F or less before loading begins, 
except that shellfish may be thoroughly iced according to 
procedures approved by the Virginia Department of Health 
(VDH) Division of Shellfish Sanitation. Mechanically 
refrigerated containers shall be in operation from the time of 
loading to the time of offloading. Any operator of a truck that 
is delivering shellfish using a truck not owned by a certified 
shellfish dealer shall possess a truck refrigeration certificate 
issued by the VDH Division of Shellfish Sanitation. Upon 
receipt of any shellfish at the shore-based plant, certified 
shellfish dealers must immediately place any shellfish 
received from the harvester under mechanical refrigeration. 

D. From June 15 through August 31, it shall be unlawful for 
any person or person aboard a vessel to leave the dock or 
shore prior to one hour before sunrise to harvest or attempt to 
harvest oysters from private grounds. 

E. From May 1 through June 14, it shall be unlawful for any 
person or person aboard a vessel to harvest oysters from 
public or private grounds after 11 a.m., and oysters harvested 
before 11 a.m. shall be offloaded and placed in VDH Division 
of Shellfish Sanitation-approved mechanical refrigeration or 
storage containers with ice by 11 a.m. that same day. 

F. From June 15 through August 31, it shall be unlawful for 
any person or person aboard a vessel to harvest oysters from 
public or private grounds after 10 a.m., and oysters harvested 
before 10 a.m. shall be offloaded and placed in VDH Division 
of Shellfish Sanitation-approved mechanical refrigeration or 
storage containers with ice by 10 a.m. that same day. 

G. From September 1 through September 30, it shall be 
unlawful for any person or person aboard a vessel to harvest 
oysters from public or private grounds after noon, and oysters 
harvested before noon shall be offloaded and placed in VDH 
Division of Shellfish Sanitation-approved mechanical 
refrigeration or storage containers with ice by noon that same 
day. 

H. Except as described in subsections K and L of this 
section, oysters may be harvested after the designated 
harvesting time in subsections E, F, and G of this section, 
provided (i) the total time, from the time the vessel leaves the 
dock or shore until the oysters are offloaded from the vessel 
and placed in VDH Division of Shellfish Sanitation-approved 
mechanical refrigeration or storage containers with ice, shall 
not exceed five hours; (ii) there is a Virginia Marine 
Resources Commission-approved Global Positioning System 
tracking device on board the harvest vessel that is in 
continuous operation from the time that vessel leaves the 

dock or shore until the vessel returns to the dock, and the 
oysters are offloaded from that vessel; and (iii) the harvester 
has applied for and been granted a permit by the Virginia 
Marine Resources Commission to harvest oysters after these 
designated harvesting times, and the harvester has designated 
a single landing site for that permit. 

I. Any person who violates subsection H of this section shall 
be subject to immediate forfeiture of his Virginia Marine 
Resources Commission harvesting permit until such time that 
person appears before the commission. 

J. From May 1 through September 30, a Bulk Seed Permit 
shall be obtained from the Virginia Marine Resources 
Commission for the harvest of any seed oysters that are 
greater than 2-1/2 inches. Any person who harvests any seed 
oysters greater than 2-1/2 inches and is not in possession of a 
Bulk Seed Permit issued by the Virginia Marine Resources 
Commission shall be in violation of this chapter. 

K. Any person may handle oysters as part of a cage 
aquaculture operation for husbandry purposes after the 
designated harvesting times described in subsections E, F, 
and G of this section, provided that person possesses a valid 
Cage Aquaculture Husbandry Permit from the Virginia 
Marine Resources Commission. Any person who handles 
oysters in cage oyster aquaculture operations after the 
designated harvesting times described in subsections E, F, 
and G of this section and does not possess a Cage Oyster 
Aquaculture Husbandry Permit issued by the Virginia Marine 
Resources Commission shall be in violation of this chapter. 

L. Oysters may be harvested in open areas of the James 
River and its adjacent tributaries, upstream from the Monitor 
Merrimac Memorial Bridge Tunnel, in addition to the 
designated harvesting times in subsections E, F, and G of this 
section, provided (i) there is a VDH Division of Shellfish 
Sanitation-approved refrigeration unit or ice storage area on 
board the harvesting vessel; (ii) the harvester has applied for 
and been issued a VDH Division of Shellfish Sanitation 
Vessel approval certificate that is required to be on board the 
vessel at all times during the harvest of oysters and has 
designated a single landing site for that permit; and (iii) the 
oysters are placed in an operating refrigeration unit or ice is 
applied to the oysters from the start of harvest and throughout 
the harvest period until the oysters are offloaded. 

4VAC20-1230-40. Penalty. 

A. In addition to the penalty prescribed by law, any person 
violating any provision of this chapter shall destroy, in the 
presence of a marine police officer, all shellfish in his 
possession and cease harvesting on that day. All harvesting 
apparatus shall be subject to seizure and, pursuant to § 28.2-
232 of the Code of Virginia, all licenses and permits shall be 
subject to immediate forfeiture, until that person appears 
before the Marine Resources Commission. 
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B. As set forth in § 28.2-903 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person violating any provision of this chapter shall be guilty 
of a Class 3 misdemeanor, and a second or subsequent 
violation of any provision of this chapter committed by the 
same person within 12 months of a prior violation is a Class 1 
misdemeanor. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2335; Filed April 30, 2010, 2:05 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The reserved sections shown in the 
following State Board of Education proposed Regulations 
Governing Local School Boards and School Divisions 
(8VAC20-720) were published in 26:1 VA.R. 38-43 
September 14, 2009. The following two regulatory actions 
repeal current outdated regulations and replace them with 
provisions in proposed 8VAC20-720 relating to (i) student 
fees and charges and (ii) textbooks and instructional 
materials, respectively. 

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 8VAC20-370. Rules Governing Fees 
and Charges (repealing 8VAC20-370-10). 

8VAC20-720. Regulations Governing Local School Boards 
and School Divisions (adding 8VAC20-720-10 through 
8VAC20-720-170). 

Statutory Authority: § 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

June 3, 2010 - 7 p.m. - Marion Senior High School, 848 
Stage Street, Marion, VA  

June 10, 2010 - 7 p.m. - T. C. Williams High School, 3330 
King Street, Alexandria, VA  

June 10, 2010 - 7 p.m. - Jolliff Middle School, 1021 Jolliff 
Road, Chesapeake, VA 

June 10, 2010 - 7 p.m. - James River High School, 3700 
James River Road, Midlothian, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: July 26, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Dr. Margaret N. Roberts, Office of Policy 
and Communications, Department of Education, P.O. Box 
2120, 101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 225-2540, FAX (804) 225-2524, or 
email margaret.roberts@doe.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 
Board of Education to adopt bylaws for its own governance 
and promulgate such regulations as may be necessary to carry 
out its powers and duties and the provisions of Title 22.1 of 

the Code of Virginia. Additionally, § 22.1-6 of the Code of 
Virginia limits the fees that may be charged to those that are 
permitted by state law or Board of Education regulations. 

Purpose: The purpose of this proposal is to repeal the current 
regulations governing fees charged by local school divisions 
and create new better defined and updated provisions that will 
be added as a section to the proposed Regulations Governing 
Local School Boards and School Divisions, 8VAC20-720 
once they become final. The current regulations governing 
fees and charges will be repealed simultaneously with the 
adoption of the addition to the Regulations Governing Local 
School Boards and School Divisions. 

The proposed regulatory action will have no negative impact 
on the health, safety, or welfare of the public; however, the 
action will provide an added safeguard for the public by 
clarifying for parents any monetary cost to them for their 
child's activities or programs at public school. Therefore, the 
proposed action is deemed necessary for the welfare of the 
public. 

Substance: The proposed regulation provides changes to 
school board policies and procedures and includes specific 
provisions regarding permissible and impermissible fees, 
policies for families that cannot afford the fees, and 
impermissible actions for the failure to pay the fees. 

The following changes related to policy are proposed: 

1. Local school boards that charge fees would be required 
to have a policy and a fee schedule that would be provided 
to parents annually and posted on the school division's 
website. 

2. The policy would include a provision to waive or reduce 
fees for economically disadvantaged students and students 
whose families are undergoing economic hardships. 

3. The policy and fee schedule would be required to be 
consistent across the school division. 

4. No fees could be charged that had not been approved by 
the local school division. 

The following changes related to fees and charges are 
proposed: 

1. Fees may not be charged as a condition of school 
enrollment unless the student is not of school age or does 
not live within the jurisdiction (§§ 22.1-1, 22.1-3, and 
22.1-5 of the Code of Virginia). 

2. Fees may not be charged for textbooks or textbook 
deposits; however, § 22.1-143 of the Code of Virginia 
permits local school divisions to assess a reasonable fee for 
lost or damaged textbooks. 

3. Fees may not be charged for pupil transportation to and 
from school (Attorney General's Opinion dated August 29, 
2007), but may be charged for the student's pro rata cost of 
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providing for voluntary extracurricular activities (§ 22.1-
176 of the Code of Virginia). 

4. Fees may be charged for summer school unless the 
summer school program is a remediation program required 
by the Standards of Quality (§ 22.1-253.13:1 of the Code 
of Virginia). 

5. Fees may be charged for class dues; however, class dues 
shall not be mandatory, and the school board must specify 
the kinds of programs and activities covered by class dues. 

6. Fees may be charged for nonmandatory services such as 
parking fees and locker fees (Attorney General's Opinions 
dated November 8, 1991 and 1964-65 Att'y Gen. Ann. 
Rep. 294). 

7. Fees may be charged for consumable materials, such as 
workbooks, but the local school board must have a policy 
to ensure that these are furnished at a reduced price or free 
of charge to students who are unable to afford them 
(§ 22.1-243 of the Code of Virginia). 

8. Fees may be charged for the behind the wheel portion of 
the driver's education program (§ 22.1-205 of the Code of 
Virginia). 

9. Fees may be charged for the preparation and distribution 
of official paper copies of the student's transcript, provided 
that the school board first provides a reasonable number of 
copies for free. Official electronic copies of transcripts 
shall be provided at no cost. 

The following additional provision related to nonpayment of 
fees is proposed: 

A student may not be suspended or expelled for 
nonpayment of fees and charges. 

Issues: While the Code of Virginia does not specifically 
require these regulations, it does limit the fees that may be 
charged to those that are permitted by state law or Board of 
Education regulations. Therefore, the Board of Education 
must adopt regulations in order to properly address the issue 
of what fees may or may not be charged by local school 
divisions. This proposal updates and clarifies an outdated 
regulation to provide better guidance to local school divisions 
and incorporates Attorney General's Opinions and changes to 
the Code of Virginia. 

The proposed regulation provides changes to school board 
policies and procedures and includes specific provisions 
regarding permissible and impermissible fees, policies for 
families that cannot afford the fees, and permissible actions 
for the failure to pay the fees. 

Some parents and members of the public have, over the years, 
believed that school divisions were not making provisions for 
low-income and disadvantaged families. This proposal is 
advantageous to students and their families who will have 
access to necessary information regarding fees and charges 

and who will be assured that fees charges by local school 
divisions are in accordance with state law and regulations. 
Additionally, the regulation will clarify that children from 
families that are economically disadvantaged will not be 
denied opportunities based on their inability to pay the 
imposed fees. There are no disadvantages to the public or the 
Commonwealth. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Rules Governing Fees and Charges, 8VAC20-370-10, were 
adopted on or before September 1, 1980, and have not been 
amended since that time. The Board of Education (Board) 
proposes to repeal these current regulations governing fees 
charged by local school divisions and create new provisions 
that would be added as a section to the proposed Regulations 
Governing Local School Boards and School Divisions, 
8VAC20-720-10 et seq. 

In addition to a different location within the Virginia 
Administrative Code, the proposed regulations governing fees 
charged by local school divisions would have the following 
changes: 1) Local school boards that charge fees would be 
required to have a policy and a fee schedule that would be 
provided to parents annually and posted on the school 
division's website. 2) The policy would include a provision to 
waive or reduce fees for economically disadvantaged students 
and students whose families are undergoing economic 
hardships. 3) The policy and fee schedule would be required 
to be consistent across the school division. 4) No fees could 
be charged that had not been approved by the local school 
division. 5) Fees may not be charged as a condition of school 
enrollment unless the student is not of school age or does not 
live within the jurisdiction (§§ 22.1-1, 22.1-3, and 22.1-5 of 
the Code of Virginia). 6) Fees may not be charged for 
textbooks or textbook deposits; however, § 22.1-243 of the 
Code of Virginia, permits local school divisions to assess a 
reasonable fee for lost or damaged textbooks. 7) Fees may not 
be charged for pupil transportation to and from school 
(Attorney General's Opinion dated August 29, 2007), but may 
be charged for the student's pro rata cost of providing for 
voluntary extracurricular activities (§ 22.1-176 of the Code of 
Virginia). 8) Fees may be charged for summer school unless 
the summer school program is a remediation program 
required by the Standards of Quality (§ 22.1-253.13:1 of the 
Code of Virginia). 9) Fees may be charged for class dues; 
however, class dues shall not be mandatory, and the school 
board must specify the kinds of programs and activities 
covered by class dues. 10) Fees may be charged for non-
mandatory services such as parking fees and locker fees 
(Attorney General's Opinions dated November 8, 1991 and 
1964-65 Att'y Gen. Ann. Rep. 294). 11) Fees may be charged 
for consumable materials, such as workbooks, but the local 
school board must have a policy to ensure that these are 
furnished at a reduced price or free of charge to students who 
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are unable to afford them (§ 22.1-243 of the Code of 
Virginia). 12) Fees may be charged for the behind the wheel 
portion of the driver's education program (§ 22.1-205 of the 
Code of Virginia). 13) Fees may be charged for the 
preparation and distribution of official paper copies of the 
student's transcript, provided that the school board first 
provides a reasonable number of copies for free. Official 
electronic copies of transcripts shall be provided at no cost. 
14) A student may not be suspended or expelled for 
nonpayment of fees and charges. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Much of the proposed amended 
language is beneficial in that helps provide clarity for the 
public.  The clarifying language does not increase costs. 

The Virginia Department of Education (Department) is not 
aware of how many school divisions currently post fee 
schedules on their websites. This is very useful information 
for parents and guardians. Since all divisions already have 
websites, the cost of posting this information is relatively 
small. Thus this proposal to require posting will create a net 
benefit for the Commonwealth.  

The proposal to require that each school division provide for 
the reduction or waiver of fees for economically 
disadvantaged students and students whose families are 
undergoing economic hardships would reduce costs for some 
households. In 2008 the Department surveyed school 
divisions about fee policies. Of the 83 school divisions that 
responded to the survey in 2008, 64 school divisions 
answered that they assessed fees. Of these 64 divisions, 38 
divisions answered that they had a schedule of fees and 20 
responded that they had a financial hardship policy 
concerning fees. Thus it is likely that the proposed 
requirement to provide for the reduction or waiver of fees for 
economically disadvantaged students and students whose 
families are undergoing economic hardships will have a 
significant positive impact for some less well-to-do Virginia 
families. 

Neither the Code of Virginia nor current regulations reference 
charges for the preparation and distribution of official paper 
copies of student transcripts. The Board proposes to specify 
that local school boards may charge fees for "the preparation 
and distribution of official paper copies of student transcripts; 
however, each school board shall provide a reasonable 
number of copies for free before a charge is levied for 
additional official copies. Official electronic copies of student 
transcripts shall be provided for free." The Department did 
not ask about transcript fees in their 2008 survey and are not 
currently aware of the distribution of fee policies for 
transcripts among local school divisions. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
affect the 132 school divisions in the Commonwealth as well 

as the over one million students in Virginia's public schools 
and their parents or guardians. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
affect all localities and are not specifically known to 
disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposal to require that each school division provide for the 
reduction or waiver of fees for economically disadvantaged 
students and students whose families are undergoing 
economic hardships would reduce costs for some households. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
amendments are unlikely to significantly affect small 
businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments are unlikely to 
significantly affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect real estate development 
costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The agency agrees with 
the economic impact analysis done by Department of 
Planning and Budget. The agency will continue to examine 
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the economic and administrative impact of the regulations as 
they progress through the Administrative Process Act 
process. 

Summary: 

The Rules Governing Fees and Charges, 8VAC20-370-10, 
were adopted on or before September 1, 1980, and have 
not been amended since that time. The Board of Education 
proposes to repeal these current regulations governing 
fees charged by local school divisions and create new 
provisions that would be added as a section to the 
proposed Regulations Governing Local School Boards and 
School Divisions, 8VAC20-720. 

In addition to a different location within the Virginia 
Administrative Code, the proposed regulations governing 
fees charged by local school divisions would have the 
following changes: (i) local school boards that charge fees 
would be required to have a policy and a fee schedule that 
would be provided to parents annually and posted on the 
school division's website; (ii) the policy would include a 
provision to waive or reduce fees for economically 
disadvantaged students and students whose families are 
undergoing economic hardships; (iii) the policy and fee 
schedule would be required to be consistent across the 
school division; and (iv) no fee could be charged that had 
not been approved by the local school division. 
Additionally, fees may not be charged (i) as a condition of 
school enrollment unless the student is not of school age or 
does not live within the jurisdiction; (ii) for textbooks or 
textbook deposits; however, local school divisions may 
assess a reasonable fee for lost or damaged textbooks; and 
(iii) for pupil transportation to and from school but may be 
charged for the student's pro rata cost of providing for 
voluntary extracurricular activities. However, fees may be 
charged for (i) summer school unless the summer school 
program is a remediation program required by the 
Standards of Quality; (ii) class dues; however, class dues 
shall not be mandatory and the school board must specify 
the kinds of programs and activities covered by class dues; 
(iii) consumable materials, such as workbooks, but the 
local school board must have a policy to ensure that these 
are furnished at a reduced price or free of charge to 
students who are unable to afford them; (iv) nonmandatory 
services such as parking and lockers; (v) the behind the 
wheel portion of the driver's education program; and (vi) 
the preparation and distribution of official paper copies of 
the student's transcript, provided that the school board 
first provides a reasonable number of copies for free and 
official electronic copies of transcripts at no cost. Also, a 
student may not be suspended or expelled for nonpayment 
of fees and charges. 

CHAPTER 720 
REGULATIONS GOVERNING LOCAL SCHOOL 

BOARDS AND SCHOOL DIVISIONS 

8VAC20-720-10 through 8VAC20-720-70. (Reserved.) 

8VAC20-720-80. Student fees and charges. 

A. No fees or charges may be levied on any pupil by any 
school board unless authorized by the Board of Education or 
prescribed by the Code of Virginia. 

B. Each local school board shall develop a policy in 
accordance with the requirements of the Standards of Quality, 
§ 22.1-253.13:7 of the Code of Virginia, addressing any fees 
that are charged. The policy shall include the schedule of fees 
charged by the school division, provisions for reducing or 
waiving fees, and sanctions for nonpayment of fees. The 
policy and the fee schedule shall be provided to parents 
annually and posted on the school division's website. 

C. The policy shall provide for the reduction or waiver of 
fees for economically disadvantaged students and students 
whose families are undergoing economic hardships. This 
shall include, but not be limited to, families receiving 
unemployment benefits and public assistance, including 
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), food 
stamps, and Medicaid; foster families caring for children in 
foster care; and families that are homeless. 

D. School divisions shall not charge any fees that have not 
been approved by the local school board. 

E. The fee policy and the fee schedule shall be consistent 
throughout the school division, although there may be 
different fee schedules for elementary, middle, and high 
schools. 

F. Local school boards shall not charge fees: 

1. As a condition of school enrollment, except for students 
who are not of school-age or who do not reside within the 
jurisdiction, in accordance with §§ 22.1-1 and 22.1-3 of the 
Code of Virginia and as provided for in § 22.1-5 of the 
Code of Virginia; 

2. For instructional programs and activities, or materials 
required for instruction, except as specified in subsection G 
of this section; 

3. For textbooks or textbook deposits; however, § 22.1-243 
of the Code of Virginia permits a local school board to 
assess a reasonable fee or charge for lost or damaged 
textbooks; 

4. For pupil transportation to and from school; or  

5. For summer school programs or other forms of 
remediation required by the Standards of Quality, § 22.1-
253.13:1 of the Code of Virginia. 

G. Local school boards may charge fees for the following: 
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1. Nonmandatory services, such as parking or locker rental; 

2. Nonmandatory extracurricular activities; 

3. Class dues; however, class dues shall not be mandatory, 
and the school board shall specify the kinds of programs 
and activities covered by class dues; 

4. Field trips or educationally-related programs that are not 
required instructional activities; 

5. Deposits for musical instruments not required for 
instructional activities; 

6. Distance learning classes for enrichment and not 
necessary to meet the requirements for a diploma; 

7. Summer school, unless the classes are required for 
remediation as prescribed by the Standards of Quality, 
§ 22.1-253.13:1 of the Code of Virginia; 

8. Overdue or lost or damaged library books; 

9. Lost or damaged textbooks, in accordance with § 22.1-
243 of the Code of Virginia; however, textbooks shall be 
provided free of charge; 

10. Consumable materials such as workbooks, writing 
books, and drawing books; however, in accordance with 
§ 22.1-243 of the Code of Virginia, the local school board 
shall develop a policy ensuring that workbooks, writing 
books, and drawing books are furnished to students who 
are unable to afford them at a reduced price or free of 
charge;  

11. The behind-the-wheel portion of the driver's education 
program in accordance with § 22.1-205 of the Code of 
Virginia;  

12. A student's pro rata share of the cost of providing 
transportation for voluntary extracurricular activities, in 
accordance with § 22.1-176 of the Code of Virginia; and  

13. The preparation and distribution of official paper 
copies of student transcripts; however, each school board 
shall provide a reasonable number of copies for free before 
a charge is levied for additional official copies. Official 
electronic copies of student transcripts shall be provided 
for free. 

H. Local school boards shall not: 

1. Withhold any student's scholastic report card or diploma 
because of nonpayment of fees and charges, in accordance 
with § 22.1-6 of the Code of Virginia; or  

2. Suspend or expel a student for nonpayment of fees and 
charges. 

I. Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to prohibit the 
school board of any county, city, or town from making 
supplies, services, or materials available to pupils at cost. 

J. These regulations do not address the operation of school 
stores or fund-raising activities where transactions are strictly 
voluntary. 

8VAC20-720-90 through 8VAC20-720-170. (Reserved.) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1531; Filed May 5, 2010, 10:05 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 8VAC20-170. Regulations Governing 
Instructional Materials -- Selection and Utilization by 
Local School Boards (repealing 8VAC20-170-10). 

8VAC20-220. Regulations Governing Textbook Adoption 
State Level (repealing 8VAC20-220-10 through 8VAC20-
220-70). 

8VAC20-230. Regulations Governing Textbook Adoption 
Local Level (repealing 8VAC20-230-10 through 8VAC20-
230-40). 

8VAC20-270. Regulations Governing Textbook Fund 
Management and Handling on Local Level (repealing 
8VAC20-270-10 through 8VAC20-270-130). 

8VAC20-720. Regulations Governing Local School Boards 
and School Divisions (adding 8VAC20-720-10 through 
8VAC20-720-170). 

Statutory Authority: § 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

June 3, 2010 - 7 p.m. - Marion Senior High School, 
848 Stage Street, Marion, VA  

June 10, 2010 - 7 p.m. - T. C. Williams High School, 
3330 King Street, Alexandria, VA  

June 10, 2010 - 7 p.m. - Jolliff Middle School, 1021 Jolliff 
Road, Chesapeake, VA 

June 10, 2010 - 7 p.m. - James River High School, 
3700 James River Road, Midlothian, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: July 26, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Dr. Margaret N. Roberts, Office of Policy 
and Communications, Department of Education, P.O. Box 
2120, 101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 225-2540, FAX (804) 225-2524, or 
email margaret.roberts@doe.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 
Board of Education to adopt bylaws for its own governance 
and promulgate such regulations as may be necessary to carry 
out its powers and duties and the provisions of Title 22.1 of 
the Code of Virginia. Section 22.1-242 of the Code of 
Virginia, effective July 1, 2008, requires the Board of 
Education to adopt regulations governing (i) the purchase of 
textbooks approved by it for use in the public schools directly 
from the publishers by school boards and (ii) the distribution 
of such textbooks for the use by children attending public 
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schools in Virginia. Additionally, § 22.1-38 of the Code of 
Virginia permits local school boards to use textbooks not 
approved by the Board of Education so long as the school 
board selects the books in accordance with regulations 
promulgated by the board. 

Purpose: The purpose of this proposal is to repeal four current 
regulations and add to the proposed Regulations Governing 
Local School Boards and School Divisions, 8VAC20-720, by 
creating sections governing instructional materials and 
textbooks. The current regulations governing instructional 
materials and textbooks will be repealed simultaneously with 
the adoption of the additions in this regulatory action to the 
proposed Regulations Governing Local School Boards and 
School Divisions. These proposed new sections will not 
become effective until after the proposed Regulations 
Governing Local School Boards and School Divisions 
become final. 

The proposed regulation sections will capture the 
requirements of Chapters 430, 663, and 615 of the 2008 Acts 
of Assembly regarding textbook purchasing. These provisions 
relate to the approval of textbooks, basal textbooks, contacts 
with textbook publishers, and the selection of instructional 
materials by local school divisions. In addition, a number of 
provisions that are unnecessary, outdated, or are no longer 
required by the Code of Virginia are deleted. The goal of this 
proposal is to have regulations that comport with the Code of 
Virginia requirements governing textbooks and other statutes, 
such as the Virginia Procurement Act, while providing local 
school divisions and school boards more flexibility in the 
selection and purchasing of textbooks and instructional 
materials.  

The proposed regulatory action will have no negative impact 
on the health, safety, or welfare of the public; however, the 
action will provide an added safeguard for the public by 
clarifying for parents their role in reviewing the textbooks 
under consideration for use in their child's classroom. 
Therefore, the proposed action is deemed necessary for the 
welfare of the public. 

Substance: The proposed sections include provisions related 
to the approval of textbooks, basal textbooks, contracts with 
textbook publishers, the distribution of textbooks and 
consumable materials, and the selection of instructional 
materials by local school divisions. In addition, a number of 
provisions in the four sets of current regulations that are 
unnecessary, outdated, or are no longer required by the Code 
of Virginia are not included. 

Issues: This proposal is beneficial to the public as well as 
local school divisions in that the provisions will be up-to-date 
and provide local school divisions with more flexibility 
without having a negative impact on the provision of 
educational services. The requirements regarding 
instructional materials and textbooks will be added to the 
proposed Regulations Governing Local School Boards and 

School Divisions once they are final. This will eliminate the 
need to consult four separate regulations making it easier for 
school divisions to determine applicable requirements. 
Additionally, the requirements regarding textbooks have been 
placed into one section and will provide the requirements for 
today's educational programs and more directly reflect current 
business practices. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Education (Board) currently has three sets of 
regulations governing textbooks and one set of regulations 
governing instructional materials. The regulations governing 
textbooks are: Regulations Governing Textbook Adoption 
State Level (8VAC20-220), Regulations Governing Textbook 
Adoption Local Level (8VAC20-230), and Regulations 
Governing Textbook Fund Management and Handling on 
Local Level (8VAC20-270). The regulations governing 
instructional materials are: Regulations Governing 
Instructional Materials – Selection and Utilization by Local 
School Boards (8VAC20-170). All of these regulations were 
adopted on or before September 1, 1980, and have not been 
amended since that time. The Board proposes to repeal all 
four of these regulations and add provisions concerning 
textbooks and instructional materials to the proposed 
Regulations Governing Local School Boards and School 
Divisions (8VAC20-720). 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. All of the proposed textbook 
and instructional material rules and requirements for the 
Regulations Governing Local School Boards and School 
Divisions are either essentially the same as the current rules 
and requirements in the existing four regulations mentioned 
above, reflect current federal law, are directly from the Code 
of Virginia, or are clarifications. Thus, the proposals will not 
have significant impact beyond the positive impact of 
additional clarity. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
affect the 132 school divisions in the Commonwealth as well 
as the over one million students in Virginia's public schools 
and their parents or guardians. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
affect all localities and do not disproportionately affect 
particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the 
use and value of private property. 
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Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
amendments are unlikely to significantly affect small 
businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments are unlikely to 
significantly affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect real estate development 
costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The agency agrees with 
the Economic Impact Analysis done by DPB. The agency will 
continue to examine the economic and administrative impact 
of the regulations as they progress through the Administrative 
Process Act process. 

Summary: 

The Board of Education currently has three sets of 
regulations governing textbooks and one set of regulations 
governing instructional materials. The regulations 
governing textbooks are: Regulations Governing Textbook 
Adoption State Level (8VAC20-220), Regulations 
Governing Textbook Adoption Local Level (8VAC20-230), 
and Regulations Governing Textbook Fund Management 
and Handling on Local Level (8VAC20-270). The 
regulations governing instructional materials are: 
Regulations Governing Instructional Materials – Selection 

and Utilization by Local School Boards (8VAC20-170). All 
of these regulations were adopted on or before September 
1, 1980, and have not been amended since that time. The 
board proposes to repeal all four of these regulations and 
add provisions concerning textbooks and instructional 
materials to the proposed Regulations Governing Local 
School Boards and School Divisions (8VAC20-720).  The 
proposed provisions relate to the approval of textbooks, 
basal textbooks, contracts with textbook publishers, and 
the selection of instructional materials by local school 
divisions. 

CHAPTER 720 
REGULATIONS GOVERNING LOCAL SCHOOL 

BOARDS AND SCHOOL DIVISIONS 

8VAC20-720-10. Definitions. 

"Textbooks" means print or electronic media for students 
use that serve as the primary curriculum basis for grade-level 
subject or course. 

8VAC20-720-20 through 8VAC20-720-150. (Reserved.) 

8VAC20-720-160. Instructional materials. 

A. Local school boards shall be responsible for the selection, 
approval, and utilization of instructional materials. 

B. Local school boards shall adopt policies and criteria for 
the selection of instructional materials that shall include, at a 
minimum: 

1. Instituting a policy regarding the rights of parents to 
inspect, upon request, any instructional materials used as 
part of the educational curriculum for students, and the 
procedure for granting a request by a parent for such 
access, in accordance with the Protection of Pupil Rights 
Amendment, 20 USC § 123h, and its implementing 
regulation, 34 CFR Part 98; 

2. Establishing procedures for the reconsideration of 
challenged materials; 

3. Placing special emphasis on the thorough evaluation of 
materials related to controversial or sensitive topics such as 
sex education, moral education, and religion; and 

4. Including in the curriculum and scheduling options for 
students whose parents choose to withdraw them from 
class for the duration of the treatment of a sensitive or 
controversial topic. Parents should be required to justify 
their requests. 

8VAC20-720-170. Textbooks. 

A. Textbook approval. 

1. The Board of Education shall have the authority to 
approve textbooks for use in the public schools of Virginia. 

2. In approving basal textbooks for reading in kindergarten 
and first grade, the board shall report to local school boards 
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those textbooks with a minimum decodability standard 
based on words that students can correctly read by properly 
attaching speech sounds to each letter to formulate the 
word at 70% or above for such textbooks, in accordance 
with § 22.1-239 of the Code of Virginia. 

3. Any local school board may use textbooks not approved 
by the board provided the school board selects such books 
in accordance with this chapter. 

B. Selection of textbooks by local school boards. Local 
school boards shall adopt procedures for the selection of 
textbooks. These procedures shall include, at a minimum, the 
following: 

1. Appointment of an evaluation committee by the local 
school board to review and evaluate textbooks in one or 
more of the subject areas. 

2. Notice to parents that textbooks under consideration for 
approval will be listed on the school division's website and 
made available at designated locations for review by any 
interested citizens. Provisions shall be made for those 
reviewing such textbooks to present their comments and 
observations, if any, to the school board through locally 
approved procedures. Actions that are necessary to assure 
appropriate consideration of citizen comments and 
observations shall be taken and adequate time for such 
consideration shall be allowed. 

3. Use of selection criteria that has been approved by the 
local school board. 

C. Purchasing Board of Education approved textbooks. 

1. Local school divisions shall purchase textbooks 
approved by the Board of Education directly from the 
publishers of the textbooks by either entering into written 
term contracts or issuing purchase orders on an as-needed 
basis in accordance with § 22.1-241 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

2. Such written comments or purchase orders shall be 
exempt from the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-
4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and from any local 
adopted regulations or procedures. 

D. Purchasing non-Board of Education approved textbooks. 

Local school divisions shall purchase non-Board of 
Education approved textbooks by either entering into 
written contracts or issuing purchase orders on an as-
needed basis in accordance with locally adopted 
procurement procedures or regulations that contain 
requirements for competitive purchasing or the Virginia 
Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-4300 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia). 

E. Certifications. 

1. The division superintendent and chairperson of the local 
school board shall annually certify to the Virginia 
Department of Education that: 

a. All textbooks were selected and purchased in 
accordance with this chapter; and 

b. The price paid for each textbook was not in excess of 
that charged elsewhere in the United States in accordance 
with § 22.1-241 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. The certification shall include a list of all textbooks 
adopted by the local school board. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1353; Filed May 5, 2010, 10:04 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 11. GAMING 

VIRGINIA RACING COMMISSION 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory actions 
filed by the Virginia Racing Commission are exempt from the 
Administrative Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 18 of 
the Code of Virginia when promulgating regulations 
regulating actual live horse racing at race meetings licensed 
by the commission. 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 11VAC10-60. Participants (amending 
11VAC10-60-70, 11VAC10-60-120). 

Statutory Authority: § 59.1-369 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 29, 2010. 

Agency Contact: David S. Lermond, Jr., Regulatory 
Coordinator, Virginia Racing Commission, 10700 
Horsemen's Lane, New Kent, VA 23024, telephone (804) 
966-7404, FAX (804) 966-7418, or email 
david.lermond@vrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

These amendments (i) clarify the consequences to a trainer 
who is suspended for more than 10 days in Virginia and 
(ii) reduce the amount of overweight a jockey may carry 
before a race from seven to five pounds. 

11VAC10-60-70. Trainer.  

A. Generally. No horse may be entered to race at a race 
meeting licensed by the commission unless the horse is under 
the care and supervision of a person holding a permit in good 
standing from the commission as a trainer. A trainer may 
represent the owner in entering of a horse, declaring the horse 
out of a race or retaining a jockey.  
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B. Qualifications. A permit may be issued to a person to 
participate in horse racing as a trainer if the person possesses 
a currently valid permit as a trainer in Virginia or another 
jurisdiction or if the person satisfactorily completes a trainer's 
test administered under the supervision of the stewards. A 
person shall not be issued a permit as a trainer unless he 
meets the following requirements:  

1. The person must be 18 years old or older;  

2. If the applicant for the permit is subject to the 
compensation provisions of the Virginia Workers' 
Compensation Act (§ 65.2-100 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia), he must submit proof of his compliance with the 
insurance and self-insurance provisions of that Act with his 
application for the permit;  

3. The person must be qualified by experience or 
competence to care for and train racehorses; and  

4. The person must have in his charge a horse eligible to 
race.  

C. Trainer's test. The stewards may require any person, 
whether or not he holds a currently valid permit in Virginia or 
another jurisdiction as a trainer, to satisfactorily complete a 
trainer's test to demonstrate that he is qualified by experience 
or competence to care for and train racehorses. The test shall 
consist of a written test administered by the stewards and a 
barn test administered by representatives of the horsemen, 
under the supervision of the stewards.  

D. Prohibitions. A holder of a permit may not participate in 
horse racing as a trainer and as a jockey agent, veterinarian or 
veterinarian's assistant. In addition, a trainer:  

1. Shall not train horses under an assumed name or stable 
name;  

2. Shall not engage in any activity, directly or indirectly, 
involving the care, supervision or racing of horses other 
than those he has registered with the racing secretary as 
being in his charge; and  

3. A holder of permits to participate in horse racing as a 
trainer and as a jockey shall only ride those horses trained 
by the permit holder.  

E. Suspension. All horses in the charge of a trainer whose 
permit is suspended for more than 10 days or revoked shall 
not be allowed to race. When a trainer's permit is suspended 
or revoked, it shall be the responsibility of the owners of the 
horses to designate in writing to the stewards to whom the 
responsibilities for training the horses shall be transferred. 
This written notice shall be presented to the stewards for 
approval. The stewards, in their discretion, may withhold 
approval of a transfer of horses to another trainer, if they 
believe that the transfer of the horses to another trainer would 
in any way circumvent the intent of the ruling of the 
commission. All horses in the care of a trainer who is 

suspended for more than 10 days must be transferred to 
another trainer approved by the stewards. During the period 
of suspension the suspended trainer shall (i) have no 
communication with the new trainer, the new trainer's staff, 
or the horse owner; (ii) not benefit financially from 
transferred horses in his stable during the time of suspension; 
and (iii) not be permitted on the grounds except with the 
permission of the stewards. 

F. Duties. A person holding a permit allowing him to 
participate in horse racing as a trainer shall be responsible for 
the proper care, health, training, safety and protection of 
horses under his care against administration of all substances 
foreign to the natural horse, except those specifically 
permitted by the regulations of the commission. In the 
exercise of his duties, a trainer shall:  

1. Register with the stewards all persons in his employ and 
ensure that all of his employees have made application for 
the appropriate permits from the commission;  

2. Promptly notify the stewards and the licensee's director 
of security of any employee he discharges;  

3. Register all horses in his charge and present to the racing 
secretary the certificates of registration, certificates of 
eligibility or other registration documents;  

4. Enter horses with the permission of the owner and bear 
primary responsibility as to the horse's eligibility, weight 
allowances, racing fitness, proper shoes, bandages, and 
other equipment;  

5. Ensure that the horse is in the paddock at the time 
prescribed by the stewards;  

6. Furnish the name of the jockey engaged to ride the horse 
at the time designated by the racing secretary;  

7. Attend the horse in the paddock and supervise the 
saddling of the horse, and in his absence, provide an 
assistant trainer or other trainer to attend the saddling of 
horses and assume responsibility for the horses already 
entered;  

8. Witness himself, or assign one of his employees to 
witness, the collection of samples of blood, urine, or other 
bodily substances in the test barn;  

9. Maintain the stable area assigned to his horses in a neat, 
clean and sanitary condition at all times, and ensure that all 
fire prevention measures are taken; and  

10. Report promptly to the commission veterinarian any 
serious illness or death of a horse in his charge.  

G. Standardbred trainer. A permit may be issued to a person 
desiring to participate in horse racing as a trainer of 
Standardbreds if the person possesses a currently valid 
trainer's license from the United States Trotting Association 
or a permit in Virginia.  
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H. Steeplechase trainer. A permit may be issued to a person 
desiring to participate in horse racing as a trainer of horses 
utilized in steeplechase races if the person possesses a 
currently valid trainer's license issued by the stewards of the 
National Steeplechase Association or a currently valid permit 
as a trainer of horses utilized in steeplechase races in Virginia 
or another jurisdiction.  

I. Substitute trainer. When a trainer is absent from his stable 
or the enclosure and a horse under his care is scheduled to 
race, he must provide a licensed trainer or assistant trainer to 
assume joint responsibility for the horses he is training. The 
substitute trainer or assistant trainer shall sign, in the presence 
of the stewards, a statement accepting responsibility for those 
horses.  

J. Assistant trainer. A person holding a permit allowing him 
to participate in horse racing as a trainer may employ an 
assistant trainer with the approval of the stewards. Any 
assistant trainer shall be qualified to assume the duties and 
responsibilities imposed upon the holder of a trainer's permit, 
and the trainer shall be jointly responsible for the assistant 
trainer's acts and omissions involving racing matters and this 
chapter.  

K. Trainer responsibility. The trainer shall be the absolute 
insurer of, and responsible for, the condition of each horse he 
enters in a race, regardless of the acts of third parties. A 
trainer shall not start a horse or permit a horse in his custody, 
care or control to be started if he knows, or through the 
exercise of reasonable care he might have known or has cause 
to believe, that the horse has received a substance foreign to 
the natural horse, except those specifically permitted by the 
regulations of the commission. The trainer shall guard, or 
caused to be guarded, each horse in his charge in a manner 
and for a period of time before racing so as to prevent any 
person from administering a substance foreign to the natural 
horse, except those specifically permitted by the regulations 
of the commission.  

11VAC10-60-120. Jockey.  

A. Generally. A person shall submit an application to 
participate in horse racing as a jockey. The applicant shall 
submit to the stewards sufficient evidence that he is either a 
journeyman or apprentice jockey in Virginia or another 
jurisdiction and demonstrates sufficient horsemanship to ride 
in a race without jeopardizing the safety of horses or other 
jockeys.  

B. Examinations. A jockey may be required to take a 
physical examination from a physician appointed by the 
stewards to establish that he possesses the physical ability to 
safely ride in races. A jockey may also be required to take an 
eye examination from a physician appointed by the stewards 
to establish he has eyesight sufficient to safely ride in races.  

C. Apprentice jockey. If the person does not possess a 
currently valid permit in Virginia or another jurisdiction as an 

apprentice jockey, has not ridden satisfactorily in three races 
at a pari-mutuel meeting, or has never held a thoroughbred 
journeyman jockey permit, then the stewards may allow the 
person to ride probationary mounts in three races at a race 
meeting licensed by the commission under the following 
conditions:  

1. That he is at least 16 years old;  

2. That he has held a permit for at least one year as an 
exercise rider under the supervision of a person holding a 
permit as a trainer;  

3. A trainer submits a notarized statement to the stewards 
that the person has been employed by him and has 
demonstrated sufficient horsemanship to be allowed to ride 
in three races at a race meeting licensed by the 
commission;  

4. The starter has schooled the person from the starting 
gate with other horses and approves the person as capable 
of breaking a horse properly from the starting gate;  

5. The stewards retain sole discretion of whether or not the 
person possesses the physical ability and has demonstrated 
sufficient horsemanship to ride in a race without 
jeopardizing the safety of horses or other jockeys; and  

6. The stewards, in their discretion, may at any time deny 
the person the opportunity to ride in more races for cause.  

If the person possesses a currently valid permit from 
another jurisdiction as an apprentice jockey or has ridden 
satisfactorily in three races at a pari-mutuel meeting, then 
the person must submit sufficient evidence to the stewards:  

a. That he is at least 16 years old;  

b. That he has ridden satisfactorily in at least three races 
at a pari-mutuel meeting; and  

c. That he has demonstrated to the stewards sufficient 
horsemanship to ride in a race without jeopardizing the 
safety of horses or other jockeys.  

D. Amateur jockey. A permit may be issued to a person 
desiring to participate in horse racing as an amateur jockey. 
The person shall compete on even terms when riding against 
professional jockeys, but he shall not accept any fees or 
gratuities. The person must meet all of the requirements for 
an apprentice jockey, and his amateur status must be noted on 
the program.  

E. Steeplechase jockey. A permit may be issued to a person 
desiring to participate in horse racing as a jockey riding 
horses in steeplechase races. A person shall submit an 
application for the appropriate permit, meet all of the 
requirements pertaining to holders of permits as jockeys, and 
hold a currently valid license issued by the stewards of the 
National Steeplechase Association.  
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F. Foreign jockey. Whenever a jockey from a foreign 
country, excluding Mexico and Canada, rides in the United 
States, he must submit an application for a permit and declare 
that he is a holder of a valid permit and currently not under 
suspension. To facilitate this process, the jockey shall present 
a declaration sheet stating:  

1. That he is the holder of a valid permit to ride;  

2. That he is not currently under suspension; and  

3. That he agrees to be bound by the rules and regulations 
of the jurisdiction in which he is riding.  

This sheet shall be retained by the stewards and at the 
conclusion of the jockey's participation in racing, it shall be 
returned to the jockey, properly endorsed by the stewards, 
stating he has not incurred any penalty or had a fall. If a 
penalty has been assessed against the jockey, the stewards 
shall notify the racing authority issuing the original permit to 
extend the penalty for the same period of time.  

G. Apprentice allowance. An apprentice jockey may claim 
the following weight allowances in all overnight races except 
stakes and handicaps:  

1. A 10-pound allowance beginning with the first mount 
and continuing until the apprentice has ridden five winners.  

2. A seven-pound allowance until the apprentice has ridden 
an additional 35 winners.  

3. If an apprentice has ridden a total of 40 winners prior to 
the end of a period of one year from the date of riding his 
fifth winner, he shall have an allowance of five pounds for 
one year from the date of the fifth winning mount.  

4. If, after a period of one year from the date of the fifth 
winning mount, the apprentice jockey has not ridden 40 
winners, the applicable weight allowance shall continue for 
one more year or until the apprentice rides his 40th 
winning mount, whichever comes first. But in no event 
may a weight allowance be claimed for more than two 
years from the date of the fifth winning mount, unless an 
extension has been granted under the provisions of this 
regulation.  

5. An apprentice who possesses a contractual agreement 
may claim an allowance of three pounds for an additional 
one year when riding horses owned or trained by the 
original contract employer.  

H. Extension of apprentice allowance. The commission or 
its designee may extend the weight allowance of an 
apprentice jockey when an apprentice jockey is unable to 
continue riding due to (i) physical disablement or illness, (ii) 
military service, (iii) attendance in an institution of secondary 
or higher education, (iv) restriction on racing, or (v) other 
valid reasons.  

1. In order to qualify for an extension, an apprentice jockey 
shall have been rendered unable to ride for a period of not 
less than seven consecutive days during the period in 
which the apprentice was entitled to an apprentice weight 
allowance. Under exceptional circumstances, the 
commission or its designee will give consideration to the 
total days lost collectively.  

2. The commission or its designee shall have the authority 
to grant an extension to an eligible applicant, but only after 
the apprentice jockey has submitted documentation to them 
verifying the days lost as defined by this regulation.  

3. An apprentice jockey may petition the commission or its 
designee for an extension of time for claiming apprentice 
weight allowances, and the apprentice jockey shall be 
bound by the decision of the commission or its designee. If 
the apprentice jockey has been denied an extension in 
another jurisdiction, the commission or its designee shall 
deny the application for an extension.  

I. Jockey contracts. An apprentice jockey may enter into a 
contract with an owner or trainer, who holds an appropriate 
permit issued by the commission, for a period not less than 
three years nor more than five years. The following 
provisions shall apply to contracts for apprentice jockeys:  

1. The original contract is to be submitted to the stewards 
with copies made available to the parties to the contract;  

2. A written extension may be made to a contract, if the 
original was for less than five years;  

3. The original contract shall be kept in full force and in 
effect throughout its contract period. Any and all 
amendments to the contract shall be made a part of and 
either added to or attached to copies in the possession of 
the parties and a copy of the amendments submitted to the 
stewards;  

4. An owner or trainer may not enter into a contract with 
an apprentice jockey unless he has control or possession of 
a stable of horses as would, in the discretion of the 
stewards, warrant the employment of an apprentice;  

5. An apprentice jockey may not acquire his own contract;  

6. All apprentice jockey contracts must be submitted to the 
stewards within 30 days of their execution or upon filing 
an application for a permit;  

7. The contract shall provide for fair remuneration, 
adequate medical attention, suitable board and lodging, 
workers' compensation insurance coverage, and provision 
for conserving the savings out of the earnings of the 
apprentice; and  

8. Any apprentice or contract rider shall be entitled to the 
regular jockey fees, except when riding a horse owned in 
part or solely by his contract holder. An interest in the 
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winnings only, e.g., a trainer's commission, does not 
constitute ownership.  

J. Apprentice certificate. An apprentice jockey may be 
granted an apprentice certificate issued by the commission or 
its designee, in lieu of a traditional apprentice contract. An 
apprentice jockey who loses his weight allowances shall 
obtain a jockey permit before being permitted to ride again.  

K. Restrictions of jockeys under contract. Any apprentice or 
journeyman jockey who is under a contract to an owner or 
trainer shall not:  

1. Ride any horse not owned or trained by his contract 
employer in a race against a horse owned or trained by his 
contract employer;  

2. Ride or agree to ride any horse in a race without consent 
of his contract employer; and  

3. Share any money earned from riding with his contract 
employer.  

L. Calls and engagements. Any jockey who is not prohibited 
by a contract may agree to give first or second calls on his 
services to any owner or trainer. If the agreement is for more 
than 30 days, then the agreement must be in writing and a 
copy of the agreement submitted to the stewards for approval. 
Any jockey employed by an owner or trainer on a regular 
salaried basis may not ride against the stable. No owner or 
trainer shall employ or engage a jockey to prevent him from 
riding another horse.  

M. Naming of jockeys. A jockey shall be named to ride a 
horse in a race at a time designated by the racing secretary, 
and a subsequent change of a jockey shall be approved by the 
stewards. The following provisions shall apply to the naming 
of a jockey:  

1. After a jockey gives a call to ride a horse in a race, either 
personally or through his agent, and fails to fulfill the 
engagement, he shall not accept another engagement in 
that race or be assigned by the stewards to another horse in 
that race;  

2. In races where a jockey has more than one engagement, 
the jockey agent shall specify a first and second call on the 
jockey's services; and  

3. A jockey may be named on no more than two horses in a 
race. In turf course races, in which there is an also-eligible 
list for the dirt course, a jockey may be named on no more 
than three horses, one of which shall be a dirt course only 
entrant.  

N. Fee earned. A jockey's fee shall be considered earned 
when the jockey is weighed out by the clerk of scales. The fee 
shall not be considered earned if the jockey, of his own free 
will, takes himself off of his mount where injury to the horse 
or rider is not involved. Any conditions or considerations not 

covered by the above regulation shall be at the discretion of 
the stewards.  

O. Multiple engagements. If any owner, or his trainer or 
authorized agent, engages two or more jockeys to ride the 
same horse in the same race after the time designated by the 
racing secretary to name jockeys, the owner shall pay the 
jockey taken off the horse a matching fee equal to that earned 
by the jockey who rode the horse. No owner shall be held 
liable for multiple engagements where such engagements are 
the results of actions taken by jockeys or their agents. An 
owner or trainer who elects to remove a jockey from his 
mount after the time designated by the racing secretary for 
naming jockeys may be subject to disciplinary action by the 
stewards.  

P. Duty to fulfill engagements. A jockey shall fulfill his duly 
scheduled riding engagements, unless excused by the 
stewards. No jockey shall be forced to ride a horse he 
believes to be unsound or over a racing surface that he 
believes to be unsafe. If the stewards find that a jockey's 
refusal to fulfill a riding engagement is unwarranted, then the 
jockey may be subject to disciplinary action.  

Q. Presence in jockey room. A jockey who has an 
engagement to ride in a race shall report his weight and be 
physically present in the jockeys' room at a time appointed by 
the stewards, unless excused by the stewards, and upon 
arrival shall report all of his engagements for the program to 
the clerk of scales. The following provisions shall apply:  

1. In the event a jockey does not report to the clerk of 
scales at the appointed time, the clerk of scales shall advise 
the stewards who may name a substitute jockey and any 
substitution shall be publicly announced prior to the 
opening of wagering;  

2. After reporting to the clerk of scales, a jockey shall 
remain in the jockeys' room until he has fulfilled all of his 
engagements for the program. A jockey may only leave to 
ride in a race or to view the races from a location approved 
by the stewards;  

3. A jockey shall have no communication with any person 
outside the jockeys' room other than an owner or trainer for 
whom he is riding, a racing official, his jockey agent or a 
representative of the media; and  

4. A jockey who intends to discontinue riding at a race 
meeting prior to its conclusion shall notify the stewards no 
later than upon fulfilling his final engagement of the day he 
intends to depart.  

R. Attire. A jockey shall wear traditional attire and shall be 
neat and clean in appearance. A jockey shall wear the cap and 
jacket in the owner's racing colors, white breeches, top boots, 
protective helmet, safety vest which meets the minimum 
specifications as defined by the British Equestrian Trade 
Association, and a number on his right shoulder 
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corresponding to the horse's number as shown on the saddle 
cloth and daily program.  

S. Weighing out. A jockey shall report to the clerk of scales 
for weighing out, not more than one hour and not less than 15 
minutes before post time for each race in which he is engaged 
to ride, and at the time of weighing out shall declare 
overweight, if any. The following provisions shall apply to 
weighing out:  

1. A jockey shall not carry more than two pounds of 
overweight without the consent of the owner or trainer of 
the horse which he is engaged to ride; however, a jockey 
shall not carry more than seven five pounds of overweight;  

2. Bit, blinkers, bridle, number cloth, reins, safety helmet, 
safety vest, whip, goggles, overgirth, chamois and 
breastplate shall not be included in a jockey's weight;  

3. All overweights shall be promptly reported to the 
stewards; and  

4. No horse shall be disqualified because of overweight 
carried.  

T. Weighing in. Following the completion of the race, a 
jockey shall ride his horse to the designated area, salute the 
stewards, dismount, remove from the horse his equipment, 
without assistance, which is to be included in a jockey's 
weight, and move directly to the scales where he may be 
weighed in by the clerk of scales. No person shall throw any 
covering over any horse until a jockey has removed from the 
horse his equipment which is to be included in a jockey's 
weight. Due to injury to either horse or jockey, the stewards 
may excuse the jockey from weighing in. A jockey shall not 
weigh in at less weight than he weighed out and no jockey 
shall weigh in at more than four pounds over the weight at 
which he weighed out, unless affected by the weather and 
with the permission of the stewards.  

U. Wagering. A jockey may only have a wager placed for 
him through an owner or trainer of the horse he is riding in 
the race, and the jockey's wager shall only be on his horse to 
win. The owner or trainer placing the wager shall keep 
precise records of all wagers placed for a jockey and the 
record shall be available to the stewards upon request.  

V. Viewing films. The stewards shall attempt to notify all 
jockeys who are requested to attend the reviewing of the 
films, and their names shall be posted on the film list. A 
jockey whose name is on the film list shall be present at the 
designated time and place to view the films of the race, unless 
excused by the stewards. A jockey may be accompanied by a 
representative of his choosing.  

W. Designated races. A jockey who is serving a suspension 
of 10 days or less will be permitted to ride in a designated 
race during the suspension if:  

1. The race has been specified as a designated race by the 
racing secretary before opening day of the race meeting.  

2. The race has been approved as a designated race by the 
stewards.  

3. The jockey is named not later than at the time designated 
by the racing secretary.  

4. The jockey agrees to serve an additional day of 
suspension in place of the day on which the jockey rides in 
a designated race.  

Reciprocity of this regulation will apply only to those 
jurisdictions which have adopted the designated race 
regulation.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2347; Filed May 5, 2010, 11:47 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 11VAC10-110. Entries (amending 
11VAC10-110-100, 11VAC10-110-180, 11VAC10-110-
190).  

Statutory Authority: § 59.1-369 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 29, 2010.  

Agency Contact: David S. Lermond, Jr., Regulatory 
Coordinator, Virginia Racing Commission, 10700 
Horsemen's Lane, New Kent, VA 23024, telephone (804) 
966-7404, FAX (804) 966-7418, or email 
david.lermond@vrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) clarify that the responsibility 
of claiming weight penalties and weight allowances as well 
as the eligibility of a horse rests solely with the trainer and 
(ii) simplify the rule for how long a horse must wait before 
racing again after being excused by the stewards or a 
veterinarian.  

11VAC10-110-100. Penalties and allowances.  

The primary responsibility for claiming the weight penalties 
and weight allowances for thoroughbreds and quarter horses 
shall rest with the person filing the entry trainer. However, 
the racing secretary shall be secondarily responsible for 
verifying the correctness of the penalties and allowances 
claimed by the nominator. The following provisions shall 
apply to penalties and allowances:  

1. Penalties are obligatory;  

2. Allowances are optional as to all of the allowance or any 
part thereof;  

3. Allowances must be claimed at the time of entry and 
cannot be waived after the closing of entries, except by 
permission of the stewards;  
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4. A horse shall start with only the allowance of weight to 
which it is entitled at the time of starting, regardless of the 
allowance it was entitled to at the time of entry;  

5. Horses incurring penalties for a race shall not be entitled 
to any allowances, with the exception of age, sex or 
apprentice, for that race;  

6. An apprentice allowance may be claimed only in 
overnight races and cannot be claimed in a stakes or 
handicap race;  

7. Horses not entitled to the first allowance in a race shall 
not be entitled to any subsequent allowance specified in the 
conditions;  

8. Allowances are not cumulative, unless specified in the 
conditions of the race;  

9. Failure to claim an allowance is not cause for 
disqualifying the horse;  

10. A claim of an allowance to which a horse is not entitled 
shall not disqualify the horse unless the incorrect weight is 
carried by the horse in the race;  

11. A protest that a claim of an allowance is incorrect must 
be made in writing and submitted to the stewards at least 
one hour before post time;  

12. No horse shall incur a penalty or be barred from any 
race for having finished second or lower in any race;  

13. No horse shall be given a weight allowance for failure 
to finish second or lower in any race;  

14. No horse shall receive an allowance for not winning in 
one or more races, but maiden allowances and allowances 
to horses that have not won a race within a specified period 
or a race of a specified value are permissible;  

15. Penalties incurred and allowances due in jump races 
shall not apply to races on the flat and vice versa;  

16. No horse shall incur a penalty for a placing from which 
it was subsequently disqualified, but a horse earning a 
placing through the disqualification shall incur the penalty 
for that placement;  

17. When a race is under appeal, the horse that finished 
first and any other horse, which may be moved into first 
place, shall be liable for all penalties attached to the winner 
until there has been a final determination;  

18. Any error discovered in the assignment of any penalty 
or claim of any allowance may be corrected, with the 
permission of the stewards, until 45 minutes prior to post 
time;  

19. In determining eligibility, allowances and penalties, the 
reports, records and statistics as published in the Daily 
Racing Form and its monthly chart books or any similar 
publication shall be considered official; and  

20. In all races, except handicaps and races where the 
conditions expressly state otherwise, two-year-old fillies 
are allowed three pounds and fillies and mares three years 
old and upward are allowed five pounds before September 
1 and three pounds thereafter.  

11VAC10-110-180. Scratches. 

For flat racing, a horse may be withdrawn from or 
"scratched out" of a race after the closing of entries under the 
following conditions:  

1. Scratches shall be made in a manner prescribed by the 
racing secretary;  

2. Scratches are subject to the approval of the stewards;  

3. A horse may be scratched from a stakes race, futurity or 
other special event until 45 minutes before post time for 
the race for any reason;  

4. No horse may be scratched from an overnight race 
without the approval of the stewards;  

5. In making a determination on whether to permit a horse 
to be scratched from an overnight race, the stewards may 
require a report from a veterinarian, who possesses a 
permit issued by the commission, attesting to the physical 
condition of the horse;  

6. Scratches, once approved by the stewards, are 
irrevocable; and  

7. Entry of any Any horse that has been scratched or 
excused from starting by the stewards because of a 
physical disability or sickness shall not be accepted 
permitted to race again until the horse has been removed 
from the Veterinarian's List by the commission 
veterinarian and the expiration of three racing six calendar 
days after following the day on which such horse was 
scratched or excused and the horse has been removed from 
the Veterinarian's List by the commission veterinarian.  

11VAC10-110-190. Responsibility for eligibility.  

The primary responsibility for the eligibility of a horse for a 
race shall rest with the person filing the entry trainer. In any 
event, a No person shall not enter a horse which that is 
ineligible under the conditions specified in the condition book 
or condition sheet. The racing secretary shall be secondarily 
responsible for verifying the eligibility of each horse as 
specified in the condition book or condition sheet as well as 
the penalties and allowances.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2348; Filed May 5, 2010, 11:46 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 11VAC10-140. Flat Racing (amending 
11VAC10-140-40, 11VAC10-140-60). 

Statutory Authority: § 59.1-369 of the Code of Virginia. 
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Effective Date: May 29, 2010.  

Agency Contact: David S. Lermond, Jr., Regulatory 
Coordinator, Virginia Racing Commission, 10700 
Horsemen's Lane, New Kent, VA 23024, telephone (804) 
966-7404, FAX (804) 966-7418, or email 
david.lermond@vrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) clarify that the commission 
veterinarian or his designee is permitted to touch a horse 
while in the paddock and (ii) require the permission of the 
stewards to add or discontinue the use of equipment that 
restricts vision or affects performance. 

11VAC10-140-40. Prohibitions. 

No person other than the horse's owner, trainer, employees 
of the owner or trainer, paddock judge, horse identifier, 
assigned valet, commission veterinarian or his designee, 
steward, farrier, pony rider, or outrider shall touch a horse 
while it is in the paddock. The material used as a tongue tie 
shall be supplied by the horse's trainer or his designee, who 
shall affix the tongue tie in the paddock.  

11VAC10-140-60. Changing equipment. 

Permission must be obtained from the stewards for the 
following changes of a horse's equipment from that which the 
horse used in its last previous start:  

1. To add blinkers or any device that would restrict vision 
or could affect performance to a horse's equipment or to 
discontinue the use of blinkers or any such device that 
would restrict vision or could affect performance;  

2. To use or discontinue use of a bar plate;  

3. To race a horse without shoes or with a type of shoes not 
generally used for racing; and  

4. To race a horse without the jockey carrying a whip.  

Changes of equipment shall be noted in the daily program. 
In the absence of such notation, the change of equipment shall 
be announced to the public and noted on the closed-circuit 
television system. The stewards shall cause an appropriate 
public announcement or a display to be made in the paddock 
or elsewhere at the discretion of the stewards for the 
aforementioned changes of equipment.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2349; Filed May 5, 2010, 11:47 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Racing Commission 
is exempt from the Administrative Process Act pursuant to 
§ 2.2-4002 B 23 of the Code of Virginia when promulgating 
regulations pertaining to the administration of medication or 
other substances foreign to the natural horse. 

Title of Regulation: 11VAC10-180. Medication (amending 
11VAC10-180-35, 11VAC10-180-60, 11VAC10-180-75, 
11VAC10-180-90, 11VAC10-180-100, 11VAC10-180-110). 

Statutory Authority: § 59.1-369 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 29, 2010.  

Agency Contact: David S. Lermond, Jr., Regulatory 
Coordinator, Virginia Racing Commission, 10700 
Horsemen's Lane, New Kent, VA 23024, telephone (804) 
966-7404, FAX (804) 966-7418, or email 
david.lermond@vrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendments add rules pertaining to intra-articular 
injections, peri-neural injections, and hyperbaric oxygen 
chambers. Also, a recommended penalty for category "D" 
drug violations has been added. In addition, these 
amendments clarify what the consequences will be to a 
trainer who is suspended for more than 10 days in Virginia 
to correspond with an amendment being made to 
11VAC10-60, Participants. Finally, these amendments 
include minor changes to rules concerning steroids, test 
barn procedures, reporting procedures, and split samples. 
These amendments were recommended to the commission 
by the Virginia Racing Commission's Equine Medical 
Director and Code Revision and Rules Committee. 

11VAC10-180-35. Prohibited practices. 

A. No trainer shall allow a horse to appear in a race, 
qualifying race or official timed workout, when the horse 
contains in its system any prohibited substance, as determined 
by testing of blood, saliva or urine, or any other reasonable 
means. 

B. No person shall administer any substance to a horse on 
race day other than those substances expressly permitted by 
the commission. Substances permitted by the commission 
shall be administered solely for the benefit and welfare of the 
horse, nonperformance altering, of no danger to 
riders/drivers, and unlikely to interfere with the detection of 
prohibited substances. 

C. No veterinarian or permit holder shall, without good 
cause, possess or administer any substance to a horse stabled 
within the enclosure or at any facility under the jurisdiction of 
the commission: 

1. That has not been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug 
Administration (FDA) for any use (human or animal), or 
the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Center for Veterinary 
Biologics; 

2. That is on the U.S. Drug Enforcement Agency's 
Schedule I or Schedule II of controlled substances as 
prepared by the Attorney General of the United States 
pursuant to 21 USC § 811 and 812; 
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3. That its use may endanger the health and welfare of the 
horse or endanger the safety of the rider or driver, or its use 
may adversely affect the integrity of racing; or 

4. That does not have a recognized laboratory analytical 
method to detect and confirm its administration.  

D. No person, except a veterinarian holding a valid 
veterinarian's permit or an assistant under his immediate 
supervision, shall have in his possession within the enclosure 
of a horse racing facility any prescription substance for 
animal use unless: 

1. The person actually possesses, within the enclosure of 
the horse racing facility, documentary evidence that a 
prescription has been issued to him for the substance by a 
licensed veterinarian; 

2. The prescription substance is labeled with a dosage for 
the horse or horses to be treated with the prescription 
substance; and 

3. The horse or horses named in the prescription are then 
under the care and supervision of the permit holder and are 
then stabled within the enclosure of the horse racing 
facility. 

E. The possession or administration of erythropoietin 
(Epogen), darbepoietin, oxyglobin, Hemopure, or any 
analogous substance that increases oxygen-carrying capacity 
of the blood is prohibited. Furthermore, should the analysis of 
a test sample detect the presence of antibodies of 
erythropoietin or darbepoietin or any analogous substance in 
the horse's blood that indicates a history of use of these 
substances, the horse shall be prohibited from racing and 
placed on the veterinarian's list until the horse tests negative 
for the presence of such antibodies. 

F. The use of androgenic and anabolic steroids is prohibited 
in racing horses as stipulated in 11VAC10-180-75. 

G. The use of an extracorporal shockwave therapy device or 
radial pulse wave therapy device is prohibited on the 
racetrack premises and at any site that falls under the 
jurisdiction of the Virginia Racing Commission unless: 

1. The therapy device is registered with the commission 
veterinarian; 

2. The therapy device is used by a veterinarian who is a 
permit holder; and 

3. Each use of the therapy device is reported to the 
commission veterinarian on the treatment report. 

Notwithstanding the provisions above, whether on or off the 
premises, a shockwave therapy device or radial pulse wave 
therapy device shall not be used on a racehorse fewer than 10 
days before the horse is to race. For the purposes of this 
calculation, the day of treatment shall be considered day one. 

H. Tubing of horses prohibited. The tubing or dosing of any 
horse for any reason on race day is prohibited, unless 
administered for medical emergency purposes by a licensed 
veterinarian in which case the horse shall be scratched. The 
practice of administration of any substance, via a tube or 
other method, into a horse's stomach on race day is 
considered a violation of this chapter. 

1. Using or possessing the ingredients or the paraphernalia 
associated with forced feeding to a horse of any 
alkalinizing agent with or without a concentrated form of 
carbohydrate, or administering any substance by tubing or 
other method on race day shall be considered a violation of 
this chapter. 

2. Under the provisions of this subsection, endoscopic 
examination shall not be considered a violation of this 
chapter. 

I. Notwithstanding any other provision in this chapter, no 
substance of any kind may be administered to a horse within 
three hours of the scheduled post time for the race in which 
the horse is entered. To ensure uniform supervision and 
conformity to this regulation, the trainer shall have each horse 
programmed to race stabled in its assigned stall within the 
enclosure of the horse race facility no fewer than four hours 
prior to post time for the respective race. 

J. Intra-articular injections prohibited. Injecting any 
substance or inserting a needle into a joint space is prohibited 
within five days prior to the horse's race.  

K. Peri-neural injections prohibited. Injecting a local 
anesthetic or other chemical agent adjacent to a nerve is 
prohibited within three days prior to the horse's race.  

L. Hyperbaric oxygen chamber prohibited. Subjecting a 
horse to therapy utilizing a hyperbaric oxygen chamber is 
prohibited within four days prior to the horse's race.  

11VAC10-180-60. Medications and prohibited substances. 

A. Medications and prohibited substances are divided into 
five classes. The classes are: 

1. Class 1. Substances found in this class have no generally 
accepted medical use in the racehorse and have a very high 
pharmacological potential for altering the performance of a 
racehorse. These substances should never be found in the 
horse's system through post-race postrace testing or in the 
possession of any holder of a permit within the enclosure 
of a horse racing facility licensed by the commission. Such 
substances are potent stimulants of the nervous system 
including opiates, opium derivatives, synthetic opioids, 
psychoactive drugs, amphetamines and U.S. Drug 
Enforcement Agency (DEA) Scheduled I and II controlled 
substances. 

2. Class 2. Substances in this class have a high potential to 
affect the outcome of a race. Most are not generally 
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accepted as therapeutic agents in the racehorse. Many are 
products intended to alter consciousness or the psychic 
state of humans, and have no approved or indicated use in 
the horse. Some, such as injectable local anesthetics, have 
legitimate uses in equine medicine, but should not be found 
in a racehorse through postrace testing. The following 
groups of substances are in this class: 

a. Opiate partial agonists or agonist-antagonists; 

b. Nonopiate psychotropic drugs, which may have 
stimulant, depressant, analgesic or neuroleptic effects; 

c. Miscellaneous substances that might have a stimulant 
effect on the central nervous system (CNS); 

d. Drugs with prominent CNS depressant action; 

e. Antidepressant and antipsychotic drugs, with or 
without prominent CNS stimulatory or depressant 
effects; 

f. Muscle-blocking substances that have a direct 
neuromuscular blocking action; 

g. Local anesthetics that have a reasonable potential for 
use as nerve-blocking agents (except procaine); 

h. Other biological substances and snake venoms or 
chemicals that may be used as nerve-blocking agents; 
and 

i. Erythropoietin (Epogen), darbepoietin, oxyglobin, 
hemopure, or other blood-doping agents. 

3. Class 3. Substances found in this class may or may not 
have an accepted therapeutic use in the horse, but have a 
potential to enhance performance, and their presence in the 
horse's system is prohibited on race day. The following 
groups of substances are in this class: 

a. Substances affecting the autonomic nervous system 
that do not have prominent CNS effects, but that do have 
prominent cardiovascular and respiratory system effects 
(bronchodilators are included in this category); 

b. Local anesthetics that have nerve-blocking potential 
but also a high potential for producing urine residue 
levels from a method of use not related to the anesthetic 
effect of the substance (procaine); 

c. Miscellaneous substances with mild sedative action, 
such as the sleep-inducing antihistamines; 

d. Primary vasodilating/hypotensive agents; 

e. Potent diuretics affecting renal function and body fluid 
composition; and 

f. Anabolic and/or androgenic steroids and/or growth 
hormones not specifically permitted by the regulations of 
the Virginia Racing Commission for use in racing horses 
other than boldenone, stanozolol, nandrolone, and 

testosterone, which are classified elsewhere in this 
section.  

4. Class 4. Substances in this class are primarily 
therapeutic medications routinely used in racehorses. 
These may influence performance, but generally have a 
more limited ability to do so. The following groups of 
drugs are in this class: 

a. Nonopiate substances that have a mild central 
analgesic effect; 

b. Substances affecting the autonomic nervous system 
that do not have prominent CNS, cardiovascular or 
respiratory effects: 

(1) Substances used solely as topical vasoconstrictors or 
decongestants; 

(2) Substances used as gastrointestinal antispasmodics; 

(3) Substances used to void the urinary bladder; and 

(4) Substances with a major effect on CNS vasculature or 
smooth muscle of visceral organs. 

(5) Antihistamines that do not have a significant CNS 
depressant effect (this does not include H1 blocking 
agents, which are listed in Class 5). 

c. Mineral corticoid substances; 

d. Skeletal muscle relaxants; 

e. Anti-inflammatory substances that may reduce pains as 
a consequence of their anti-inflammatory actions, which 
include: 

(1) Nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs); 

(2) Corticosteroids (glucocorticoids); and 

(3) Miscellaneous anti-inflammatory agents. 

f. Boldenone, stanozolol, nandrolone, and testosterone, 
individually but not in combination, at levels stipulated 
in 11VAC10-180-75. 

g. Less potent diuretics; 

h. Cardiac glycosides and antiarrhythmics including: 

(1) Cardiac glycosides; 

(2) Anti-arrhythmic agents (exclusive of lidocaine, 
bretylium and propranolol); and 

(3) Miscellaneous cardiotonic drugs. 

i. Topical anesthetics agents not available in injectable 
formulations; 

j. Antidiarrheal agents; and 

k. Miscellaneous substances including: 
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(1) Expectorants with little or no other pharmacologic 
action; 

(2) Stomachics; and 

(3) Mucolytic agents. 

5. Class 5. Drugs in this class are therapeutic medications 
for which concentration limits have been established as 
well as certain miscellaneous agents. Included specifically 
are agents that have very localized action only, such as 
anti-ulcer drugs and certain anti-allergenic drugs. The 
anticoagulant drugs are also included. 

B. Disciplinary actions.  

1. In issuing penalties against individuals found guilty of 
medication and drug violations a regulatory distinction 
shall be made between the detection of therapeutic 
medications used routinely to treat racehorses and those 
drugs that have no reason to be found at any concentration 
in the test sample on race day. 

2. The stewards or the commission will use the Racing 
Medication and Testing Consortium's penalty category and 
schedule as a starting place in the penalty stage of the 
deliberations for a rule violation for any drug listed in the 
Association of Racing Commissioners International (RCI) 
Uniform Classification Guidelines for Foreign Substances, 
revised July 2007. 

3. If a licensed veterinarian is administering or prescribing 
a drug not listed in the RCI Uniform Classification 
Guidelines for Foreign Substances or shown in the RMTC 
penalty guideline listing, the identity of the drug shall be 
forwarded to the commission veterinarian to be forwarded 
to the Racing Medication and Testing Consortium for 
classification. 

4. Any drug or metabolite thereof found to be present in a 
pre- or postrace sample that is not classified in the most 
current RCI Uniform Classification Guidelines for Foreign 
Substances shall be assumed to be an RCI Class 1 Drug 
and the trainer and owner shall be subject to those penalties 
as set forth in schedule "A" unless satisfactorily 
demonstrated otherwise by the Racing Medication and 
Testing Consortium, with a penalty category assigned. 

5. The penalty categories and their related schedules, if 
applicable, shall be on the following criteria: 

a. Whether the drug is approved by the U.S. Food and 
Drug Administration for use in the horse; 

b. Whether the drug is approved by the U.S. Food and 
Drug Administration for use in any species; 

c. Whether the drug has any legitimate therapeutic 
application in the equine athlete; 

d. Whether the drug was identified as "necessary" by the 
RMTC Veterinary Advisory Committee; 

e. Whether legitimate, recognized therapeutic alternatives 
exist; and 

f. The current RCI classification of the drug. 

6. Except as may be expressly stipulated in the regulations 
elsewhere, the penalty categories "A," "B," and "C," and 
"D" and their related schedules for trainers and owners are 
as follows: 

a. The recommended penalties for violations due to the 
presence of a substance carrying a category "A" penalty 
and for violations of 11VAC10-180-35 are: 

(1) First offense for the trainer will be: 

(a) Minimum one-year suspension absent mitigating 
circumstances. The presence of aggravating factors could 
be used to impose a maximum of a five-year suspension; 

(b) Minimum fine of $10,000 absent mitigating 
circumstances; and 

(c) May be referred to the commission for any further 
action deemed necessary by the commission. 

(2) Second lifetime offense in any jurisdiction for the 
trainer will be: 

(a) Minimum five-year suspension absent mitigating 
circumstances. The presence of aggravating factors could 
be used to impose a maximum of license revocation with 
no reapplication for a five-year period; 

(b) Minimum fine of $10,000 absent mitigating 
circumstances; and 

(c) May be referred to the commission for any further 
action deemed necessary by the commission. 

(3) Third and any subsequent lifetime offense in any 
jurisdiction for the trainer will be: 

(a) Minimum 10-year suspension absent mitigating 
circumstances. The presence of aggravating factors could 
be used to impose a maximum of license revocation with 
no reapplication for a five-year period; 

(b) Minimum fine of $10,000 absent mitigating 
circumstances; and 

(c) May be referred to the commission for any further 
action deemed necessary by the commission. 

(4) First offense for the owner will be: 

(a) Disqualification and loss of purse; and 

(b) Horse shall be placed on the veterinarian's list for 90 
days and must pass a commission-approved examination 
before becoming eligible to be entered. 

(5) Second lifetime offense in owner's stable in any 
jurisdiction will be: 
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(a) Disqualification, loss of purse and $5,000 fine; and 

(b) Horse shall be placed on the veterinarian's list for 120 
days and must pass a commission-approved examination 
before becoming eligible to be entered. 

(6) Third and any subsequent lifetime offense in the 
owner's stable in any jurisdiction will be: 

(a) Disqualification, loss of purse, $10,000 fine and 90 
days suspension; and 

(b) Horse shall be placed on the veterinarian's list for 180 
days and must pass a commission-approved examination 
before becoming eligible to be entered. 

b. The recommended penalties for violations due to the 
presence of a substance carrying a category "B" penalty, 
for the presence of more than one NSAID in a plasma or 
serum sample, and for violations of the established level 
for total carbon dioxide are: 

(1) First offense for the trainer will be: 

(a) Minimum 15-day suspension absent mitigating 
circumstances. The presence of aggravating factors could 
be used to impose a maximum of a 60-day suspension; 
and 

(b) Minimum fine of $2,500 absent mitigating 
circumstances. The presence of aggravating factors could 
be sued to impose a maximum fine of $10,000. 

(2) Second offense within a 365-day period in any 
jurisdiction for the trainer will be: 

(a) Minimum 30-day suspension absent mitigating 
circumstances. The presence of aggravating factors could 
be used to impose a maximum of a 180-day suspension; 
and 

(b) Minimum fine of $5,000 absent mitigating 
circumstances. The presence of aggravating factors could 
be used to impose a maximum fine of $10,000. 

(3) Third and any subsequent offense within a 365-day 
period in any jurisdiction for the trainer will be: 

(a) Minimum 90-day suspension absent mitigating 
circumstances. The presence of aggravating factors could 
be used to impose up to a maximum of a two-year 
suspension; 

(b) Minimum fine of $10,000 absent mitigating 
circumstances; and 

(c) May be referred to the commission for any further 
action deemed necessary by the commission.  

(4) First offense for the owner will be: 

(a) Disqualification and loss of purse; and 

(b) Horse must pass a commission-approved examination 
before becoming eligible to be entered. 

(5) Second offense in the owner's stable within a 365-day 
period in any jurisdiction will be: 

(a) Disqualification and loss of purse; and 

(b) Horse must pass a commission-approved examination 
before becoming eligible to be entered. 

(6) Third and any subsequent offense in owner's stable 
within a 365-day period in any jurisdiction will be: 

(a) Disqualification and loss of purse; 

(b) Minimum fine of $5,000 absent mitigating 
circumstances; and 

(c) Horse shall be placed on the veterinarian's list for 45 
days and must pass a commission-approved examination 
before becoming eligible to be entered. 

c. The recommended penalties for violations due to the 
presence of a substance carrying a category "C" penalty 
are: 

(1) First offense for the trainer will be: 

(a) Disqualification and loss of purse; and 

(b) Minimum fine of $500 absent mitigating 
circumstances. 

(2) Second offense for the trainer within a 365-day 
period in any jurisdiction will be: 

(a) Disqualification and loss of purse; 

(b) Minimum fine of $1,000 absent mitigating 
circumstances; and 

(c) Minimum 15-day suspension absent mitigating 
circumstances. 

(3) Third and any subsequent offense for the trainer 
within a 365-day period in any jurisdiction will be: 

(a) Disqualification and loss of purse; 

(b) Minimum fine of $2,500 absent mitigating 
circumstances; and 

(c) Minimum 30-day suspension absent mitigating 
circumstances. 

(4) First offense for the owner will be: 

(a) Disqualification and loss of purse; 

(b) Horse must pass a commission-approved examination 
before becoming eligible to be entered. 

(5) Second offense in owner's stable within a 365-day 
period in any jurisdiction will be: 

(a) Disqualification and loss of purse; 
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(b) Horse shall be placed on the veterinarian's list for 45 
days and must pass a commission-approved examination 
before becoming eligible to be entered. 

(6) Third and any subsequent offense in owner's stable 
within a 365-day period in any jurisdiction will be: 

(a) Disqualification and loss of purse; 

(b) Minimum fine of $5,000 absent mitigating 
circumstances; and 

(c) Horse shall be placed on the veterinarian's list for 60 
days and must pass a commission-approved examination 
before becoming eligible to be entered. 

d. The recommended penalty for violations due to the 
presence of a substance carrying a category "D" penalty 
is an official letter of reprimand. 

7. Any permit holder of the commission, including 
practicing veterinarians, found to be responsible for the 
improper or intentional administration of any drug 
resulting in a positive test may be subject to the same 
penalties set forth to the trainer.  

8. Any veterinarian found to be involved in the 
administration of any drug carrying the penalty category of 
"A" shall be referred to the respective state licensing board 
of veterinary medicine for consideration of further 
disciplinary action and/or license revocation. This is in 
addition to any penalties issued by the stewards or the 
commission. 

9. Any person who the stewards or the commission believe 
may have committed acts in violation of criminal statutes 
shall be referred to the appropriate law-enforcement 
agency. Administrative action taken by the stewards or the 
commission in no way prohibits a prosecution for criminal 
acts committed, nor does a potential criminal prosecution 
stall administrative action by the stewards or the 
commission. 

10. Pursuant to 11VAC10-60-70 E of the commission 
regulations, horses in the care of a trainer who is 
suspended for 10 days or more must be transferred to 
another trainer approved by the stewards. During the 
period of suspension the suspended trainer shall have no 
communication, oral or written, with the new trainer and 
shall not benefit financially from horses in his stable at the 
time of suspension. all horses in the care of a trainer who is 
suspended for more than 10 days must be transferred to 
another trainer approved by the stewards. During the 
period of suspension the suspended trainer shall have no 
communication with the new trainer, the new trainers' 
staff, or the horse owner; shall not benefit financially from 
transferred horses in his stable during the time of 
suspension; and shall not be permitted on the grounds 
except with the permission of the stewards. 

11VAC10-180-75. Androgenic and anabolic steriods 
steroids. 

A. All androgenic and anabolic steroids are prohibited in 
racing horses, except as provided below. 

B. Residues of the major metabolite of stanozolol, 
nandrolone, boldenone and testosterone at concentrations less 
than the thresholds indicated below are permitted in test 
samples collected from racing horses. 

C. Concentrations of these substances identified in 
subsection B of this section shall not exceed the following 
total threshold concentrations (i.e., free drug or metabolite 
and drug or metabolite liberated from its conjugates): 

1. Metabolite of stanozolol (16Beta-hydroxystanozolol) – 1 
ng/ml in urine for all horses regardless of gender. 

2. Boldenone – 15 ng/ml in urine in male horses other than 
geldings. No boldenone is permitted in geldings or female 
horses. 

3. Nandrolone: 

a. 1 ng/ml in urine in geldings, fillies, and mares. 

b. 45 ng/ml in urine in male horses other than geldings. 

4. Testosterone. 

a. 20 ng/ml in urine in geldings. 

b. 55 ng/ml in urine in fillies and mares. 

c. Male horses other than geldings will not be tested. 

D. The presence of more than one of the four substances 
identified in subsection B of this section at concentrations 
greater than the individual thresholds indicated in subsection 
C of this section or a combination of any two or more 
substances recognized as androgenic or anabolic is 
prohibited. 

E. Test samples collected from male horses other than 
geldings must be so identified to the laboratory. 

F. Any horse administered an androgenic or anabolic steroid 
to assist in the recovery from illness or injury may be placed 
on the veterinarian's list in order to monitor the concentration 
of the drug or metabolite in urine. After the concentration has 
fallen below the designated threshold, the horse is eligible to 
be removed from the list. 

G. The stewards shall take disciplinary actions for reports of 
quantitative testing by the primary testing laboratory 
indicating the presence of one or more androgenic or anabolic 
steroid at concentrations above the individual thresholds 
indicated in subsection C of this section. 

1. For the first violation of the regulation pertaining to 
androgenic and anabolic steroids regarding a particular 
horse, absent mitigating factors, the recommended 
penalties are: 
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a. Disqualification and loss of purse; 

b. Fine up to $1,000 at the stewards' discretion if 
aggravating factors are found; and 

c. The horse shall be placed on the veterinarian's list until 
the concentration has fallen below the designated 
threshold level. 

2. For the second violation of the regulation pertaining to 
androgenic and anabolic steroids in a 365-day period for 
the same horse, absent mitigating factors, the 
recommended penalties are: 

a. Disqualification and loss of purse; 

b. Fine of $2,500, 90 days suspension; and 

c. The horse shall be placed on the veterinarian's list until 
the concentration has fallen below the designated 
threshold level. 

3. For the third violation of the regulation pertaining to 
androgenic and anabolic steroids in a 365-day period for 
the same horse, absent mitigating factors, the 
recommended penalties are: 

a. Disqualification and loss of purse; 

b. Revocation of permit; and 

c. The horse shall be placed on the veterinarian's list until 
the concentration has fallen below the designated 
threshold level. 

11VAC10-180-90. Bicarbonate testing.  

A. Generally. By this regulation, the Virginia Racing 
Commission prohibits the feeding or administration to a horse 
on race day of any bicarbonate-containing substance or other 
alkalinizing substance that effectively alters the serum or 
plasma pH or concentration of bicarbonates or carbon dioxide 
in the horse.  

B. Test values. A serum total carbon dioxide level exceeding 
37.0 millimoles per liter constitutes a positive test.  

C. Testing procedure. The stewards or commission 
veterinarian may, at their discretion and at any time, order the 
collection of test samples from any horses present within the 
enclosure for determination of serum or plasma pH or 
concentration of bicarbonate, carbon dioxide, or electrolytes. 
Prerace-testing may be done at a time and manner directed by 
the commission veterinarian. If testing post race, blood 
samples shall be taken at least one hour after racing. A 
Whether prerace or postrace, the sample consisting shall 
consist of at least two blood tubes shall be taken from the 
horse to determine the serum total carbon dioxide 
concentration. If the chief racing chemist finds that the total 
carbon dioxide levels in the tubes exceed the standard test 
values of 37.0 millimoles per liter, then he shall inform the 
stewards of the positive test results.  

D. Split samples prohibited. The procedures for split sample 
testing shall not apply to bicarbonate testing procedures.  

E. Disciplinary actions. The stewards shall, absent 
mitigating circumstances specifically noted in their findings, 
impose the following disciplinary action for violation of this 
section:  

1. First offense: $2,500 fine and 90-day suspension; loss of 
purse.  

2. Second offense: $5,000 fine and 180-day suspension; 
loss of purse.  

3. Third offense: Revocation of license.  

The stewards also may refer the case to the commission for 
further disciplinary action.  

11VAC10-180-100. Collection of samples.  

A. Test barn. Test samples shall be collected in the test barn 
under the supervision of the commission veterinarian or his 
designee. The commission veterinarian may, at his discretion, 
permit test samples to be collected in the horse's stall or any 
other location he deems appropriate. Under these 
circumstances, the commission veterinarian shall inform the 
stewards maintain a written record of his decision.  

B. Horses to be tested. The stewards or commission 
veterinarian may, at any time, order the taking of test samples 
from any horse stabled within the enclosure of the horse 
racing facility, prior to racing or after racing including 
qualifying races and official timed workouts for the stewards 
or commission veterinarian. However, the stewards shall 
designate at least one horse from each race for the collection 
of test samples.  

C. Collection procedure.  

1. The trainer or a permit holder designated by the trainer 
shall accompany the horse to the test barn and witness the 
collection and splitting of the samples. The trainer or 
permit holder designated by the trainer shall cooperate with 
the commission veterinarian and the commission's 
veterinary technicians in the performance of their duties. 
The trainer or permit holder designated by the trainer must 
remain with the horse until the horse is released from the 
test barn.  

2. Horses, from which samples are to be collected, shall be 
escorted, following the race, directly to the test barn by the 
commission's veterinary technicians and the horses shall 
remain in the test barn until released by the commission 
veterinarian, his designee, or the test barn supervisor.  

3. Stable equipment, other than common necessities for 
washing and cooling out a horse, is prohibited in the test 
barn. A practicing veterinarian may attend a horse in the 
test barn only in the presence of the commission 
veterinarian or the commission's veterinary technicians.  
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4. During the collection of test samples, the owner or 
trainer, or an assistant designated by the owner or trainer, 
shall be present and witness the collection of the test 
sample, the splitting of the sample and sealing of 
containers. In the case of a claimed horse, the owner or 
trainer, or an assistant designated by the owner or trainer in 
whose name the horse started, shall be present to witness 
the collection of the test samples.  

5. The test and split samples collected from a horse shall 
have identification tags affixed. One portion of the tag, 
bearing a printed identification number, shall remain with 
the sealed test and split samples, and the other portion of 
the tag bearing the same printed identification numbers 
shall be detached in the presence of the witness. The 
commission veterinarian or his designee shall on the 
detached portion of the tags identify the horse from which 
the test and split samples were collected, the race and date, 
and other information deemed appropriate. The detached 
portion of the tag shall be witnessed by the trainer or a 
permit holder designated by the trainer, and shall be 
retained by the commission veterinarian for safekeeping.  

6. A horse's identity shall be confirmed by examining its 
lip-tattoo number, or for a Standardbred, its freeze brand 
number. A horse that has not been lip-tattooed or a 
Standardbred that has not been freeze branded shall be 
reported immediately to the stewards.  

7. If, after a horse remains for a reasonable time in the test 
barn, a test sample of urine cannot be collected from the 
horse, the commission veterinarian may, at his discretion, 
collect a test sample of blood or permit the horse to be 
returned to its barn where a test sample may be collected 
under the supervision of the commission veterinarian or the 
commission's veterinary technicians.  

11VAC10-180-110. Laboratory findings and reports. 

A. Primary testing laboratory. The commission shall 
designate a primary testing laboratory for the analysis of test 
samples collected under the supervision of the commission 
veterinarian. The commission shall designate a chief racing 
chemist within the primary testing laboratory who shall have 
the authority to report his findings to the executive secretary 
of the commission, the stewards and the commission 
veterinarian. 

B. Reference laboratories. The commission shall designate 
one or more laboratories, other than the primary testing 
laboratory, as references laboratories. These laboratories will 
conduct confirmatory analysis of split samples. Any reference 
laboratory must be willing to accept split samples for 
confirmatory testing. Any reference laboratory shall send 
results to both the person requesting the testing and the 
commission. 

C. Chief racing chemist's responsibilities. The chief racing 
chemist shall be responsible for safeguarding and analyzing 

the test samples delivered to the primary testing laboratory. It 
shall be the chief racing chemist's responsibility to maintain 
proper equipment, adequate staffing and acceptable 
procedures to thoroughly and accurately analyze test samples 
submitted to the primary testing laboratory. 

D. Reporting procedures. The chief racing chemist shall 
submit to the executive secretary of the commission, the 
stewards and the commission veterinarian a written report as 
to each test sample analyzed, indicating by identification tag 
number whether the test sample was negative or there was a 
chemical identification. All confirmed positive identifications 
shall be submitted to the executive secretary, the stewards, 
and the commission veterinarian. 

E. Chemical identifications. If the chief racing chemist 
determines that there is present in the test sample a substance 
or metabolites of a substance foreign to the natural horse, 
except those specifically permitted by the regulations of the 
commission, he shall submit a report of chemical 
identification to the executive secretary of the commission, 
the stewards and the commission veterinarian. In a report of 
chemical identification, the chief racing chemist shall submit 
evidence acceptable in the scientific community and 
admissible in court in support of his determination. 

F. Review of chemical identifications. Upon receipt of a 
report of a chemical identification from the chief racing 
chemist, the stewards shall conduct a review of the chemical 
identification, which shall include, but not be limited to, the 
chief racing chemist and the commission veterinarian. During 
the review, the following procedures shall apply: 

1. All references to the report of a chemical identification 
shall be only by the identification tag number of the sample 
collected from the horse; 

2. The chief racing chemist shall submit his written report 
of the chemical identification and the evidence supporting 
his finding; 

3. The commission veterinarian shall submit a written 
statement to the stewards including, but not limited to, the 
class of the substance, the concentration level detected in 
the sample, if determined, and its probable effect on a 
racehorse; 

4. The stewards may ask questions at any time and request 
further documentation as they deem necessary; 

5. After receiving the appropriate information on the 
identified substance, the stewards shall determine whether 
the chemical identification constitutes a violation of the 
regulations of the commission and whether it should be 
deemed a positive test result. In doing so, the stewards 
shall consider, among other things, the concentration level 
reported, its likely effect on the horse, and whether 
environmental contamination may have contributed to the 
test result; 
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6. In the event of a positive test result, the stewards shall 
notify the trainer and the owner of the horse of his the right 
to send the split sample collected from the horse to one of 
the reference laboratories, designated by the commission, 
for confirmatory testing; 

7. If the trainer or the owner elects to send the split sample 
to a reference laboratory, the stewards shall take no 
disciplinary action against any permit holder until the 
results from the reference laboratory are received, and the 
findings shall be a part of the record of any subsequent 
hearing; and 

8. The chief racing chemist's report of a chemical 
identification, the commission veterinarian's written 
statement, the results of confirmatory testing and any other 
documentation submitted to the stewards shall become part 
of the record of any subsequent proceedings. 

G. Barred from racing. No horse from which a positive test 
sample was collected shall be permitted to race until the 
stewards have made a final determination in the matter. Such 
a horse shall not be immune from resulting disciplinary action 
by the stewards or the commission. 

H. Frozen samples. Unconsumed portions of all test samples 
tested by the primary testing laboratory will be maintained in 
a frozen state until cleared by the chief racing chemist and 
permission for their disposal is obtained from the Senior 
Commonwealth Steward. 

I. Split samples. The commission veterinarian or his 
designee shall determine a minimum test sample requirement 
for the primary testing laboratory. If the test sample collected 
is less than the minimum requirement, then the entire test 
sample shall be sent to the primary laboratory. 

If the sample collected is greater than the minimum sample 
requirement but less than twice that amount, the portion of 
the test sample that is greater than the minimum test sample 
requirement shall be secured as the split sample. 

If the test sample collected is greater than twice the 
minimum test sample requirement, a portion of the sample 
approximately equal to the test sample shipped to the primary 
testing laboratory shall be secured as the split sample. 

J. Storage of split samples. Split samples shall be stored in 
secured location inside a locked freezer in accordance with 
the following procedures: 

1. Split samples shall be secured in the test barn in the 
same manner as the portion of the test sample acquired for 
shipment to the primary laboratory until such time as test 
samples are packed and secured for shipment to the 
primary laboratory. 

2. Upon packing of the test samples for shipment to the 
primary laboratory, the split samples shall be transferred to 
the locked freezer by the commission veterinarian or his 

authorized designee who shall be responsible for securing 
possession of the keys. 

3. The freezer for storage of split samples shall be opened 
only for depositing or removing split samples, for 
inventory, or for checking the condition of split samples. 

4. Whenever the freezer used for storage of split samples is 
opened, it shall be attended by the commission veterinarian 
or his designee and a representative of the horsemen if the 
respective horsemen's association has provided a 
representative. In the case that the split samples from a 
race must be secured in the freezer and no horsemen's 
representative is present, the commission veterinarian or 
his designee shall be in attendance. 

5. A log shall be maintained each time the freezer used for 
storage of split samples is opened to specify each person in 
attendance, the purpose for opening the freezer, 
identification of split samples deposited or removed, the 
date and time the freezer was opened, and the time the 
freezer was locked. 

6. Any evidence of a malfunction of the freezer used for 
storage of split samples or evidence that split samples are 
not in a frozen condition shall be documented in the log 
and immediately reported to the stewards. 

K. Shipment of split samples. The trainer or owner of the 
horse shall have 48 hours from receipt of notice of a positive 
test result to request that the split sample be shipped to one of 
the reference laboratories designated by the commission and 
the split sample shall be shipped to the requested reference 
laboratory. The cost of shipment and additional testing shall 
be paid by the permit holder requesting the testing of the split 
sample. Upon the expiration of this 48-hour period, the 
trainer or owner relinquishes his right to request a split 
sample. 

L. Chain of custody form. The commission veterinarian, or 
his designee, shall be responsible for the completion of a 
chain of custody verification form that shall provide a place 
for recording the following information: 

1. Date and time the split sample is removed from the 
freezer; 

2. The test sample number; 

3. The address of the reference laboratory; 

4. The name and address where the split sample package is 
to be taken for shipment to the reference laboratory; 

5. Verification of retrieval of the split sample from the 
freezer; 

6. Verification that each specific step of the split sample 
packaging procedure is in accordance with the 
recommended procedure; 
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7. Verification of the address of the reference laboratory on 
the split sample package; 

8. Verification of the condition of the split sample package 
immediately prior to the transfer of custody to the carrier 
for shipment to the reference laboratory; and 

9. The date and time custody of the split sample package 
was transferred to the carrier. The commission 
veterinarian, or his designee, shall witness, attest and sign 
the form, and a copy of the form shall be supplied to the 
trainer or owner. 

In the event that the trainer or owner of the horse, or his 
designee, is not present, the commission veterinarian may not 
remove the split sample from the freezer or ship the split 
sample to a reference laboratory unless the trainer or owner 
has declined in writing his option to witness the removal, 
packaging and shipping procedure. 

M. Packaging the split sample. The following procedures 
shall apply to the packaging of the split sample:  

1. The split sample shall be removed from the freezer by 
the commission veterinarian or his designee; the trainer or 
owner, or his designee, may be present. 

2. The trainer or owner, or his designee, may witness the 
packaging of the split sample by the commission 
veterinarian or his designee, in accordance with the 
instructions supplied by the reference laboratory. 

3. The exterior of the package shall be secured and 
identified with initialed tape, evidence tape or other means 
to prevent tampering with the package. 

4. The trainer or owner, or his designee, may accompany 
the commission veterinarian or his designee while 
delivering the package containing the split sample to the 
location where custody is transferred to the delivery carrier 
for shipment to the reference laboratory. 

5. The trainer or owner, or his designee, may inspect the 
package containing the split sample immediately prior to 
transfer to the delivery carrier to verify that the package is 
intact and has not been tampered with. 

6. The trainer or owner, or his designee, if witnessing the 
procedures, shall sign the chain of custody verification 
form. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2292; Filed May 5, 2010, 11:47 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: For the following regulatory 
actions the Department of Medical Assistance Services is 
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to 
changes in Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion 
is involved. The Department of Medical Assistance Services 
will receive, consider, and respond to petitions from any 
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 
or revision. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, and 
Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services (amending 
12VAC30-50-100, 12VAC30-50-105, 12VAC30-50-110, 
12VAC30-50-140, 12VAC30-50-180). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2010.  

Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 E. Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Based upon annual federal Appropriations Act language, 
particularly P.L. 111-8, which prohibits federal funding 
(especially Medicaid) for abortion services except in 
certain circumstances, this amendment was submitted by 
the Governor of Virginia to the 2010 Virginia General 
Assembly and adopted as Amendment 91 of the 2010 
Virginia Appropriation Act. 

Currently the Department of Medical Assistance Services' 
regulations permit abortion coverage where the life or the 
health of the mother is at risk. Because the health of the 
mother is not included under federal law as an exception to 
the abortion coverage limitation, the Department of 
Medical Assistance Services is removing the reference to 
the mother's health from the regulation. 

Part III  
Amount, Duration and Scope of Services  

12VAC30-50-100. Inpatient hospital services provided at 
general acute care hospitals and freestanding psychiatric 
hospitals; enrolled providers.  

A. Preauthorization of all inpatient hospital services will be 
performed. This applies to both general acute care hospitals 
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and freestanding psychiatric hospitals. Nonauthorized 
inpatient services will not be covered or reimbursed by the 
Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS). 
Preauthorization shall be based on criteria specified by 
DMAS. In conjunction with preauthorization, an appropriate 
length of stay will be assigned using the HCIA, Inc., Length 
of Stay by Diagnosis and Operation, Southern Region, 1996, 
as guidelines.  

1. Admission review.  

a. Planned/scheduled admissions. Review shall be done 
prior to admission to determine that inpatient 
hospitalization is medically justified. An initial length of 
stay shall be assigned at the time of this review. Adverse 
authorization decisions shall have available a 
reconsideration process as set out in subdivision 4 of this 
subsection.  

b. Unplanned/urgent or emergency admissions. These 
admissions will be permitted before any prior 
authorization procedures. Review shall be performed 
within one working day to determine that inpatient 
hospitalization is medically justified. An initial length of 
stay shall be assigned for those admissions which have 
been determined to be appropriate. Adverse authorization 
decisions shall have available a reconsideration process 
as set out in subdivision 4 of this subsection.  

2. Concurrent review shall end for nonpsychiatric claims 
with dates of admission and services on or after July 1, 
1998, with the full implementation of the DRG 
reimbursement methodology. Concurrent review shall be 
done to determine that inpatient hospitalization continues 
to be medically necessary. Prior to the expiration of the 
previously assigned initial length of stay, the provider shall 
be responsible for obtaining authorization for continued 
inpatient hospitalization. If continued inpatient 
hospitalization is determined necessary, an additional 
length of stay shall be assigned. Concurrent review shall 
continue in the same manner until the discharge of the 
patient from acute inpatient hospital care. Adverse 
authorization decisions shall have available a 
reconsideration process as set out in subdivision 4 of this 
subsection.  

3. Retrospective review shall be performed when a 
provider is notified of a patient's retroactive eligibility for 
Medicaid coverage. It shall be the provider's responsibility 
to obtain authorization for covered days prior to billing 
DMAS for these services. Adverse authorization decisions 
shall have available a reconsideration process as set out in 
subdivision 4 of this subsection.  

4. Reconsideration process.  

a. Providers requesting reconsideration must do so upon 
verbal notification of denial.  

b. This process is available to providers when the nurse 
reviewers advise the providers by telephone that the 
medical information provided does not meet DMAS 
specified criteria. At this point, the provider must request 
by telephone a higher level of review if he disagrees with 
the nurse reviewer's findings. If higher level review is not 
requested, the case will be denied and a denial letter 
generated to both the provider and recipient identifying 
appeal rights.  

c. If higher level review is requested, the authorization 
request will be held in suspense and referred to the 
Utilization Management Supervisor (UMS). The UMS 
shall have one working day to render a decision. If the 
UMS upholds the adverse decision, the provider may 
accept that decision and the case will be denied and a 
denial letter identifying appeal rights will be generated to 
both the provider and the recipient. If the provider 
continues to disagree with the UMS' adverse decision, he 
must request physician review by DMAS medical 
support. If higher level review is requested, the 
authorization request will be held in suspense and 
referred to DMAS medical support for the last step of 
reconsideration.  

d. DMAS medical support will review all case specific 
medical information. Medical support shall have two 
working days to render a decision. If medical support 
upholds the adverse decision, the request for 
authorization will then be denied and a letter identifying 
appeal rights will be generated to both the provider and 
the recipient. The entire reconsideration process must be 
completed within three working days.  

5. Appeals process.  

a. Recipient appeals. Upon receipt of a denial letter, the 
recipient shall have the right to appeal the adverse 
decision. Under the Client Appeals regulations, Part I 
(12VAC30-110-10 et seq.) of 12VAC30-110, the 
recipient shall have 30 days from the date of the denial 
letter to file an appeal.  

b. Provider appeals. If the reconsideration steps are 
exhausted and the provider continues to disagree, upon 
receipt of the denial letter, the provider shall have 30 
days from the date of the denial letter to file an appeal if 
the issue is whether DMAS will reimburse the provider 
for services already rendered. The appeal shall be held in 
accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-
4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

B. Out-of-state inpatient general acute care hospitals and 
freestanding psychiatric hospitals, enrolled providers. In 
addition to meeting all of the preauthorization requirements 
specified in subsection A of this section, out-of-state hospitals 
must further demonstrate that the requested admission meets 
at least one of the following additional standards. Services 
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provided out of state for circumstances other than these 
specified reasons shall not be covered.  

1. The medical services must be needed because of a 
medical emergency;  

2. Medical services must be needed and the recipient's 
health would be endangered if he were required to travel to 
his state of residence;  

3. The state determines, on the basis of medical advice, 
that the needed medical services, or necessary 
supplementary resources, are more readily available in the 
other state;  

4. It is the general practice for recipients in a particular 
locality to use medical resources in another state.  

C. Cosmetic surgical procedures shall not be covered unless 
performed for physiological reasons and require DMAS prior 
approval.  

D. Reimbursement for induced abortions is provided in only 
those cases in which there would be a substantial 
endangerment to health or life of the mother if the fetus were 
carried to term.  

E. Coverage of inpatient hospitalization shall be limited to a 
total of 21 days per admission in a 60-day period for the same 
or similar diagnosis or treatment plan. The 60-day period 
would begin on the first hospitalization (if there are multiple 
admissions) admission date. There may be multiple 
admissions during this 60-day period. Claims which exceed 
21 days per admission within 60 days for the same or similar 
diagnosis or treatment plan will not be authorized for 
payment. Claims which exceed 21 days per admission within 
60 days with a different diagnosis or treatment plan will be 
considered for reimbursement if medically indicated. Except 
as previously noted, regardless of authorization for the 
hospitalization, the claims will be processed in accordance 
with the limit for 21 days in a 60-day period. Claims for stays 
exceeding 21 days in a 60-day period shall be suspended and 
processed manually by DMAS staff for appropriate 
reimbursement. The limit for coverage of 21 days for 
nonpsychiatric admissions shall cease with dates of service on 
or after July 1, 1998.  

EXCEPTION: SPECIAL PROVISIONS FOR ELIGIBLE 
INDIVIDUALS UNDER 21 YEARS OF AGE: Consistent 
with 42 CFR 441.57, payment of medical assistance services 
shall be made on behalf of individuals under 21 years of age, 
who are Medicaid eligible, for medically necessary stays in 
general hospitals and freestanding psychiatric hospitals in 
excess of 21 days per admission when such services are 
rendered for the purpose of diagnosis and treatment of health 
conditions identified through a physical or psychological, as 
appropriate, examination. The admission and length of stay 
must be medically justified and preauthorized via the 
admission and concurrent or retrospective review processes 

described in subsection A of this section. Medically 
unjustified days in such hospitalizations shall not be 
authorized for payment.  

F. Mandatory lengths of stay.  

1. Coverage for a normal, uncomplicated vaginal delivery 
shall be limited to the day of delivery plus an additional 
two days unless additional days are medically justified. 
Coverage for cesarean births shall be limited to the day of 
delivery plus an additional four days unless additional days 
are medically justified.  

2. Coverage for a radical or modified radical mastectomy 
for treatment of disease or trauma of the breast shall be 
provided for a minimum of 48 hours. Coverage for a total 
or partial mastectomy with lymph node dissection for 
treatment of disease or trauma of the breast shall be 
provided for a minimum of 24 hours. Additional days 
beyond the specified minimums for either radical, 
modified, total, or partial mastectomies may be covered if 
medically justified and prior authorized until the diagnosis 
related grouping methodology is fully implemented. 
Nothing in this chapter shall be construed as requiring the 
provision of inpatient coverage where the attending 
physician in consultation with the patient determines that a 
shorter period of hospital stay is appropriate.  

G. Coverage in freestanding psychiatric hospitals shall not 
be available for individuals aged 21 through 64. Medically 
necessary inpatient psychiatric care rendered in a psychiatric 
unit of a general acute care hospital shall be covered for all 
Medicaid eligible individuals, regardless of age, within the 
limits of coverage prescribed in this section and 12VAC30-
50-105.  

H. For the purposes of organ transplantation, all similarly 
situated individuals will be treated alike. Transplant services 
for kidneys, corneas, hearts, lungs, and livers shall be covered 
for all eligible persons. High dose chemotherapy and bone 
marrow/stem cell transplantation shall be covered for all 
eligible persons with a diagnosis of lymphoma, breast cancer, 
leukemia, or myeloma. Transplant services for any other 
medically necessary transplantation procedures that are 
determined to not be experimental or investigational shall be 
limited to children (under 21 years of age). Kidney, liver, 
heart, and bone marrow/stem cell transplants and any other 
medically necessary transplantation procedures that are 
determined to not be experimental or investigational require 
preauthorization by DMAS medical support. Inpatient 
hospitalization related to kidney transplantation will require 
preauthorization at the time of admission and, concurrently, 
for length of stay. Cornea transplants do not require 
preauthorization of the procedure, but inpatient 
hospitalization related to such transplants will require 
preauthorization for admission and, concurrently, for length 
of stay. The patient must be considered acceptable for 
coverage and treatment. The treating facility and transplant 
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staff must be recognized as being capable of providing high 
quality care in the performance of the requested transplant. 
Standards for coverage of organ transplant services are in 
12VAC30-50-540 through 12VAC30-50-580.  

I. In compliance with federal regulations at 42 CFR 441.200, 
Subparts E and F, claims for hospitalization in which 
sterilization, hysterectomy or abortion procedures were 
performed shall be subject to review. Hospitals must submit 
the required DMAS forms corresponding to the procedures. 
Regardless of authorization for the hospitalization during 
which these procedures were performed, the claims shall 
suspend for manual review by DMAS. If the forms are not 
properly completed or not attached to the bill, the claim will 
be denied or reduced according to DMAS policy.  

12VAC30-50-105. Inpatient hospital services provided at 
general acute care hospitals and freestanding psychiatric 
hospitals; nonenrolled providers (nonparticipating/out of 
state).  

A. The full DRG inpatient reimbursement methodology 
shall become effective July 1, 1998, for general acute care 
hospitals and freestanding psychiatric hospitals which are 
nonenrolled providers (nonparticipating/out of state) and the 
same reviews, criteria, and requirements shall apply as are 
applied to enrolled, in-state, participating hospitals in 
12VAC30-50-100.  

B. Inpatient hospital services rendered by nonenrolled 
providers shall not require prior authorization with the 
exception of transplants as described in subsection K of this 
section and this subsection. However, these inpatient hospital 
services claims will be suspended from automated computer 
payment and will be manually reviewed for medical necessity 
as described in subsections B through K of this section using 
criteria specified by DMAS. Inpatient hospital services 
provided out of state to a Medicaid recipient who is a resident 
of the Commonwealth of Virginia shall only be reimbursed 
under at least one of the following conditions. It shall be the 
responsibility of the hospital, when requesting prior 
authorization for the admission, to demonstrate that one of the 
following conditions exists in order to obtain authorization.  

1. The medical services must be needed because of a 
medical emergency;  

2. Medical services must be needed and the recipient's 
health would be endangered if he were required to travel to 
his state of residence;  

3.The state determines, on the basis of medical advice, that 
the needed medical services, or necessary supplementary 
resources, are more readily available in the other state;  

4. It is the general practice for recipients in a particular 
locality to use medical resources in another state.  

C. Medicaid inpatient hospital admissions (lengths-of-stay) 
are limited to the 75th percentile of PAS (Professional 

Activity Study of the Commission on Professional and 
Hospital Activities) diagnostic/procedure limits. For 
admissions under four days that exceed the 75th percentile, 
the hospital must attach medical justification records to the 
billing invoice to be considered for additional coverage when 
medically justified. For all admissions that exceed three days 
up to a maximum of 21 days, the hospital must attach medical 
justification records to the billing invoice. (See the exception 
to subsection H of this section.)  

D. Cosmetic surgical procedures shall not be covered unless 
performed for physiological reasons and require DMAS prior 
approval.  

E. Reimbursement for induced abortions is provided in only 
those cases in which there would be a substantial 
endangerment to health or life of the mother if the fetus was 
carried to term.  

F. Hospital claims with an admission date prior to the first 
surgical date, regardless of the number of days prior to 
surgery, must be medically justified. The hospital must write 
on or attach the justification to the billing invoice for 
consideration of reimbursement for all pre-operative days. 
Medically justified situations are those where appropriate 
medical care cannot be obtained except in an acute hospital 
setting thereby warranting hospital admission. Medically 
unjustified days in such admissions will be denied.  

G. Reimbursement will not be provided for weekend 
(Saturday/Sunday) admissions, unless medically justified. 
Hospital claims with admission dates on Saturday or Sunday 
will be pended for review by medical staff to determine 
appropriate medical justification for these days. The hospital 
must write on or attach the justification to the billing invoice 
for consideration of reimbursement coverage for these days. 
Medically justified situations are those where appropriate 
medical care cannot be obtained except in an acute hospital 
setting thereby warranting hospital admission. Medically 
unjustified days in such admission will be denied.  

H. Coverage of inpatient hospitalization shall be limited to a 
total of 21 days per admission in a 60-day period for the same 
or similar diagnosis or treatment plan. The 60-day period 
would begin on the first hospitalization (if there are multiple 
admissions) admission date. There may be multiple 
admissions during this 60-day period. Claims which exceed 
21 days per admission within 60 days for the same or similar 
diagnosis or treatment plan will not be reimbursed. Claims 
which exceed 21 days per admission within 60 days with a 
different diagnosis or treatment plan will be considered for 
reimbursement if medically justified. The admission and 
length of stay must be medically justified and preauthorized 
via the admission and concurrent review processes described 
in subsection A of 12VAC30-50-100. Claims for stays 
exceeding 21 days in a 60-day period shall be suspended and 
processed manually by DMAS staff for appropriate 
reimbursement. The limit for coverage of 21 days shall cease 
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with dates of service on or after July 1, 1998. Medically 
unjustified days in such hospitalizations shall not be 
reimbursed by DMAS.  

EXCEPTION: SPECIAL PROVISIONS FOR ELIGIBLE 
INDIVIDUALS UNDER 21 YEARS OF AGE: Consistent 
with 42 CFR 441.57, payment of medical assistance services 
shall be made on behalf of individuals under 21 years of age 
who are Medicaid eligible for medically necessary stays in 
general hospitals and freestanding psychiatric facilities in 
excess of 21 days per admission when such services are 
rendered for the purpose of diagnosis and treatment of health 
conditions identified through a physical or psychological, as 
appropriate, examination.  

I. Mandatory lengths of stay.  

1. Coverage for a normal, uncomplicated vaginal delivery 
shall be limited to the day of delivery plus an additional 
two days unless additional days are medically justified. 
Coverage for cesarean births shall be limited to the day of 
delivery plus an additional four days unless additional days 
are medically necessary.  

2. Coverage for a radical or modified radical mastectomy 
for treatment of disease or trauma of the breast shall be 
provided for a minimum of 48 hours. Coverage for a total 
or partial mastectomy with lymph node dissection for 
treatment of disease or trauma of the breast shall be 
provided for a minimum of 24 hours. Additional days 
beyond the specified minimums for either radical, 
modified, total, or partial mastectomies may be covered if 
medically justified and prior authorized until the diagnosis 
related grouping methodology is fully implemented. 
Nothing in this chapter shall be construed as requiring the 
provision of inpatient coverage where the attending 
physician in consultation with the patient determines that a 
shorter period of hospital stay is appropriate.  

J. Reimbursement will not be provided for inpatient 
hospitalization for those surgical and diagnostic procedures 
listed on the DMAS outpatient surgery list unless the 
inpatient stay is medically justified or meets one of the 
exceptions.  

K. For purposes of organ transplantation, all similarly 
situated individuals will be treated alike. Transplant services 
for kidneys, corneas, hearts, lungs, and livers shall be covered 
for all eligible persons. High dose chemotherapy and bone 
marrow/stem cell transplantation shall be covered for all 
eligible persons with a diagnosis of lymphoma, breast cancer, 
leukemia or myeloma. Transplant services for any other 
medically necessary transplantation procedures that are 
determined to not be experimental or investigational shall be 
limited to children (under 21 years of age). Kidney, liver, 
heart, bone marrow/stem cell transplants and any other 
medically necessary transplantation procedures that are 
determined to not be experimental or investigational require 

preauthorization by DMAS. Cornea transplants do not require 
preauthorization. The patient must be considered acceptable 
for coverage and treatment. The treating facility and 
transplant staff must be recognized as being capable of 
providing high quality care in the performance of the 
requested transplant. Standards for coverage of organ 
transplant services are in 12VAC30-50-540 through 
12VAC30-50-580.  

L. In compliance with 42 CFR 441.200, Subparts E and F, 
claims for hospitalization in which sterilization, hysterectomy 
or abortion procedures were performed shall be subject to 
review of the required DMAS forms corresponding to the 
procedures. The claims shall suspend for manual review by 
DMAS. If the forms are not properly completed or not 
attached to the bill, the claim will be denied or reduced 
according to DMAS policy.  

12VAC30-50-110. Outpatient hospital and rural health 
clinic services.  

A. Outpatient hospital services.  

1. Outpatient hospital services means preventive, 
diagnostic, therapeutic, rehabilitative, or palliative services 
that:  

a. Are furnished to outpatients;  

b. Except in the case of nurse-midwife services, as 
specified in 42 CFR 440.165, are furnished by or under 
the direction of a physician or dentist; and  

c. Are furnished by an institution that:  

(1) Is licensed or formally approved as a hospital by an 
officially designated authority for state standard-setting; 
and  

(2) Except in the case of medical supervision of nurse-
midwife services, as specified in 42 CFR 440.165, meets 
the requirements for participation in Medicare.  

2. Reimbursement for induced abortions is provided in 
only those cases in which there would be substantial 
endangerment of health or life to the mother if the fetus 
was carried to term.  

3. The following limits and requirements shall apply to 
DMAS coverage of outpatient observation beds.  

a. Observation bed services shall be covered when they 
are reasonable and necessary to evaluate a medical 
condition to determine appropriate level of treatment.  

b. Nonroutine observation for underlying medical 
complications, as explained in documentation attached to 
the provider's claim for payment, after surgery or 
diagnostic services shall be covered. Routine use of an 
observation bed shall not be covered. Noncovered routine 
use shall be:  
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(1) Routine preparatory services and routine recovery 
time for outpatient surgical or diagnostic testing services 
(e.g., services for routine post-operative monitoring 
during a normal recovery period (four to six hours)).  

(2) Observation services provided in conjunction with 
emergency room services, unless, following the 
emergency treatment, there are clear medical 
complications which must be managed by a physician 
other than the original emergency physician.  

(3) Any substitution of an outpatient observation service 
for a medically appropriate inpatient admission.  

c. These services must be billed as outpatient care and 
may be provided for up to 23 hours. A patient stay of 24 
hours or more shall require inpatient precertification, 
where applicable.  

d. When inpatient admission is required following 
observation services and prior approval has been 
obtained for the inpatient stay, observation charges must 
be combined with the appropriate inpatient admission 
and be shown on the inpatient claim for payment. 
Observation bed charges and inpatient hospital charges 
shall not be reimbursed for the same day.  

B. Rural health clinic services and other ambulatory services 
furnished by a rural health clinic.  

The same service limitations apply to rural health clinics as 
to all other services.  

C. Federally qualified health center (FQHC) services and 
other ambulatory services that are covered under the plan and 
furnished by an FQHC in accordance with § 4231 of the State 
Medicaid Manual (HCFA-Pub. 45-4).  

The same service limitations apply to FQHCs as to all other 
services.  

12VAC30-50-140. Physician's services whether furnished 
in the office, the patient's home, a hospital, a skilled 
nursing facility or elsewhere. 

A. Elective surgery as defined by the Program is surgery 
that is not medically necessary to restore or materially 
improve a body function.  

B. Cosmetic surgical procedures are not covered unless 
performed for physiological reasons and require Program 
prior approval.  

C. Routine physicals and immunizations are not covered 
except when the services are provided under the Early and 
Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) 
Program and when a well-child examination is performed in a 
private physician's office for a foster child of the local social 
services department on specific referral from those 
departments.  

D. Outpatient psychiatric services.  

1. Psychiatric services are limited to an initial availability 
of 26 sessions, without prior authorization during the first 
treatment year. An additional extension of up to 26 
sessions during the first treatment year must be prior 
authorized by DMAS or its designee. The availability is 
further restricted to no more than 26 sessions each 
succeeding year when prior authorized by DMAS or its 
designee. Psychiatric services are further restricted to no 
more than three sessions in any given seven-day period. 
Consistent with § 6403 of the Omnibus Budget 
Reconciliation Act of 1989, medically necessary 
psychiatric services shall be covered when prior authorized 
by DMAS or its designee for individuals younger than 21 
years of age when the need for such services has been 
identified in an EPSDT screening.  

2. Psychiatric services can be provided by psychiatrists or 
by a licensed clinical social worker, licensed professional 
counselor, licensed clinical nurse specialist-psychiatric, or 
a licensed marriage and family therapist under the direct 
supervision of a psychiatrist.*  

3. Psychological and psychiatric services shall be 
medically prescribed treatment that is directly and 
specifically related to an active written plan designed and 
signature-dated by either a psychiatrist or by a licensed 
clinical social worker, licensed professional counselor, 
licensed clinical nurse specialist-psychiatric, or licensed 
marriage and family therapist under the direct supervision 
of a psychiatrist.*  

4. Psychological or psychiatric services shall be considered 
appropriate when an individual meets the following 
criteria:  

a. Requires treatment in order to sustain behavioral or 
emotional gains or to restore cognitive functional levels 
that have been impaired;  

b. Exhibits deficits in peer relations, dealing with 
authority; is hyperactive; has poor impulse control; is 
clinically depressed or demonstrates other dysfunctional 
clinical symptoms having an adverse impact on attention 
and concentration, ability to learn, or ability to participate 
in employment, educational, or social activities;  

c. Is at risk for developing or requires treatment for 
maladaptive coping strategies; and  

d. Presents a reduction in individual adaptive and coping 
mechanisms or demonstrates extreme increase in 
personal distress.  

5. Psychological or psychiatric services may be provided in 
an office or a mental health clinic.  

E. Any procedure considered experimental is not covered.  

F. Reimbursement for induced abortions is provided in only 
those cases in which there would be a substantial 



Regulations 

Volume 26, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations May 24, 2010 

2473 

endangerment of health or life to the mother if the fetus was 
carried to term.  

G. Physician visits to inpatient hospital patients over the age 
of 21 are limited to a maximum of 21 days per admission 
within 60 days for the same or similar diagnoses or treatment 
plan and is further restricted to medically necessary 
authorized (for enrolled providers)/approved (for nonenrolled 
providers) inpatient hospital days as determined by the 
Program.  

EXCEPTION: SPECIAL PROVISIONS FOR ELIGIBLE 
INDIVIDUALS UNDER 21 YEARS OF AGE: Consistent 
with 42 CFR 441.57, payment of medical assistance services 
shall be made on behalf of individuals under 21 years of age, 
who are Medicaid eligible, for medically necessary stays in 
general hospitals and freestanding psychiatric facilities in 
excess of 21 days per admission when such services are 
rendered for the purpose of diagnosis and treatment of health 
conditions identified through a physical examination. 
Payments for physician visits for inpatient days shall be 
limited to medically necessary inpatient hospital days.  

H. (Reserved.)  

I. Reimbursement shall not be provided for physician 
services provided to recipients in the inpatient setting 
whenever the facility is denied reimbursement.  

J. (Reserved.)  

K. For the purposes of organ transplantation, all similarly 
situated individuals will be treated alike. Transplant services 
for kidneys, corneas, hearts, lungs, and livers shall be covered 
for all eligible persons. High dose chemotherapy and bone 
marrow/stem cell transplantation shall be covered for all 
eligible persons with a diagnosis of lymphoma, breast cancer, 
leukemia, or myeloma. Transplant services for any other 
medically necessary transplantation procedures that are 
determined to not be experimental or investigational shall be 
limited to children (under 21 years of age). Kidney, liver, 
heart, and bone marrow/stem cell transplants and any other 
medically necessary transplantation procedures that are 
determined to not be experimental or investigational require 
preauthorization by DMAS. Cornea transplants do not require 
preauthorization. The patient must be considered acceptable 
for coverage and treatment. The treating facility and 
transplant staff must be recognized as being capable of 
providing high quality care in the performance of the 
requested transplant. Standards for coverage of organ 
transplant services are in 12VAC30-50-540 through 
12VAC30-50-580.  

L. Breast reconstruction/prostheses following mastectomy 
and breast reduction.  

1. If prior authorized, breast reconstruction surgery and 
prostheses may be covered following the medically 
necessary complete or partial removal of a breast for any 

medical reason. Breast reductions shall be covered, if prior 
authorized, for all medically necessary indications. Such 
procedures shall be considered noncosmetic.  

2. Breast reconstruction or enhancements for cosmetic 
reasons shall not be covered. Cosmetic reasons shall be 
defined as those which are not medically indicated or are 
intended solely to preserve, restore, confer, or enhance the 
aesthetic appearance of the breast.  

M. Admitting physicians shall comply with the requirements 
for coverage of out-of-state inpatient hospital services. 
Inpatient hospital services provided out of state to a Medicaid 
recipient who is a resident of the Commonwealth of Virginia 
shall only be reimbursed under at least one the following 
conditions. It shall be the responsibility of the hospital, when 
requesting prior authorization for the admission, to 
demonstrate that one of the following conditions exists in 
order to obtain authorization. Services provided out of state 
for circumstances other than these specified reasons shall not 
be covered.  

1. The medical services must be needed because of a 
medical emergency;  

2. Medical services must be needed and the recipient's 
health would be endangered if he were required to travel to 
his state of residence;  

3. The state determines, on the basis of medical advice, 
that the needed medical services, or necessary 
supplementary resources, are more readily available in the 
other state;  

4. It is general practice for recipients in a particular locality 
to use medical resources in another state.  

N. In compliance with 42 CFR 441.200, Subparts E and F, 
claims for hospitalization in which sterilization, hysterectomy 
or abortion procedures were performed shall be subject to 
review of the required DMAS forms corresponding to the 
procedures. The claims shall suspend for manual review by 
DMAS. If the forms are not properly completed or not 
attached to the bill, the claim will be denied or reduced 
according to DMAS policy.  

O. Prior authorization is required for the following 
nonemergency outpatient procedures: Magnetic Resonance 
Imaging (MRI), including Magnetic Resonance Angiography 
(MRA), Computerized Axial Tomography (CAT) scans, 
including Computed Tomography Angiography (CTA), or 
Positron Emission Tomography (PET) scans performed for 
the purpose of diagnosing a disease process or physical 
injury. The referring physician ordering nonemergency 
outpatient Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI), 
Computerized Axial Tomography (CAT) scans, or Positron 
Emission Tomography (PET) scans must obtain prior 
authorization from the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services (DMAS) for those scans. The servicing provider will 
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not be reimbursed for the scan unless proper prior 
authorization is obtained from DMAS by the referring 
physician.  

P. Outpatient substance abuse treatment services shall be 
limited to an initial availability of 26 therapy sessions without 
prior authorization during the first treatment year. An 
additional extension of up to 26 sessions during the first 
treatment year must be prior authorized by DMAS or its 
designee. The availability is further restricted to no more than 
26 therapy sessions each succeeding year when prior 
authorized by DMAS or its designee. Outpatient substance 
abuse treatment services are further restricted to no more than 
three sessions in any given seven-day period. Consistent with 
§ 6403 of the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1989, 
medically necessary substance abuse services shall be 
covered when prior authorized by DMAS or its designee for 
individuals younger than 21 years of age when the need for 
such services has been identified in an EPSDT screening and 
the above limits have been exceeded. 

1. Outpatient substance abuse services shall be provided by 
medical doctors or by doctors of osteopathy who have 
completed three years of post-graduate residency training 
in psychiatry; or by a physician or doctor of osteopathy 
who is certified in addiction medicine. The provider must 
also be qualified by training and experience in all of the 
following areas of substance abuse/addiction counseling: 
clinical evaluation; treatment planning; referral; service 
coordination; counseling; client, family, and community 
education; documentation; and professional and ethical 
responsibilities. Outpatient substance abuse treatment 
services are further defined in 12VAC30-50-228. 

2. Psychological and psychiatric substance abuse services 
shall be prescribed treatment that is directly and 
specifically related to an active written plan designed and 
signature-dated by one of the professionals listed in 
subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

3. Psychological or psychiatric substance abuse services 
shall be considered appropriate when an individual meets 
the criteria for an Axis I substance-related disorder. 
Nicotine or caffeine abuse or dependence shall not be 
covered. The Axis I substance-related disorder shall meet 
American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM) Level 
of Care Criteria as prescribed in Patient Placement Criteria 
for the Treatment of Substance-Related Disorders (ASAM 
PPC-2R), Second Edition. 

4. Psychological or psychiatric substance abuse services 
may be provided in an office or a clinic under the direction 
of a physician. 

*Licensed clinical social workers, licensed professional 
counselors, licensed clinical nurse specialists-psychiatric, and 
licensed marriage and family therapists may also directly 

enroll or be supervised by psychologists as provided for in 
12VAC30-50-150. 

12VAC30-50-180. Clinic services. 

A. Reimbursement for induced abortions is provided in only 
those cases in which there would be a substantial 
endangerment of health or life to the mother if the fetus were 
carried to term.  

B. Clinic services means preventive, diagnostic, therapeutic, 
rehabilitative, or palliative items or services that:  

1. Are provided to outpatients;  

2. Are provided by a facility that is not part of a hospital 
but is organized and operated to provide medical care to 
outpatients; and  

3. Except in the case of nurse-midwife services, as 
specified in 42 CFR 440.165, are furnished by or under the 
direction of a physician or dentist.  

C. Reimbursement to community mental health clinics for 
medical psychotherapy services is provided only when 
performed by a qualified therapist. For purposes of this 
section, a qualified therapist is:  

1. A licensed physician who has completed three years of 
post-graduate residency training in psychiatry;  

2. An individual licensed by one of the boards 
administered by the Department of Health Professions to 
provide medical psychotherapy services including: 
licensed clinical psychologists, licensed clinical social 
workers, licensed professional counselors, clinical nurse 
specialists-psychiatric, or licensed marriage and family 
therapists; or  

3. An individual who holds a master's or doctorate degree, 
who has completed all coursework necessary for licensure 
by one of the appropriate boards as specified in subdivision 
2 of this subsection, and who has applied for a license but 
has not yet received such license, and who is currently 
supervised in furtherance of the application for such 
license, in accordance with requirements or regulations 
promulgated by DMAS, by one of the licensed 
practitioners listed in subdivisions 1 and 2 of this 
subsection.  

D. Coverage of community mental health clinics for 
substance abuse treatment services, as further defined in 
12VAC30-50-228, is provided only when performed by a 
qualified therapist and consistent with an active written plan 
designed and signature-dated. For purposes of providing this 
service a qualified therapist shall be: 

1. Physicians and doctors of osteopathy who have 
completed three years of post-graduate residency training 
in psychiatry or by a physician or doctor of osteopathy who 
is certified in addiction medicine. 
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2. A licensed clinical psychologist, licensed clinical social 
worker, licensed professional counselor, licensed 
psychiatric clinical nurse specialist, a licensed psychiatric 
nurse practitioner, a licensed marriage and family therapist, 
or a licensed substance abuse treatment practitioner. The 
provider must also be qualified by training and experience 
in all of the following areas of substance abuse/addiction 
counseling: clinical evaluation; treatment planning; 
referral; service coordination; counseling; client, family, 
and community education; documentation; and 
professional and ethical responsibilities.  

3. An individual who holds a master's or doctorate degree, 
who has completed all coursework necessary for licensure 
by the respective board, and who has applied for a license 
but has not yet received such license, and who is currently 
supervised in furtherance of the application for such 
license, in accordance with requirements or regulations 
promulgated by DMAS, by one of the licensed 
practitioners listed in this subsection. 

4. An individual who holds a bachelor's degree in any field 
and certification as a substance abuse counselor (CSAC) or 
an individual who holds a bachelor's degree and is a 
certified addictions counselor (CAC) who is under the 
direct supervision of one of the licensed practitioners listed 
in subdivision C 1 or 2 of this subsection. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2400; Filed May 5, 2010, 10:55 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-10. State Plan Under Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act Medical Assistance 
Program; General Provisions (amending 12VAC30-10-
690). 

12VAC30-70. Methods and Standards for Establishing 
Payment Rates - Inpatient Hospital Services (amending 
12VAC30-70-50, 12VAC30-70-221, 12VAC30-70-291, 
12VAC30-70-301, 12VAC30-70-351, 12VAC30-70-391). 

12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards for Establishing 
Payment Rates; Other Types of Care (amending 
12VAC30-80-180, 12VAC30-80-190, 12VAC30-80-200). 

12VAC30-90. Methods and Standards for Establishing 
Payment Rates for Long-Term Care (amending 
12VAC30-90-41). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act (42 USC § 1396 et seq.). 

Effective Date: July 1, 2010.  

Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulatory action implements reimbursement changes 
mandated by the Virginia General Assembly in the 2010 
Appropriation Act (Act) to be effective July 1, 2010 as 
follows: 

Reimbursement Changes Affecting Hospitals (12VAC30-
70) is amended to (i) eliminate the inflation adjustment for 
long-stay hospitals and freeze ceilings in state fiscal year 
(SFY) 2011 and 2012 as mandated by Item 297 AAA of the 
Act; (ii) rebase hospital diagnosis-related group weights, 
case rates, psychiatric, and rehabilitation per diem rates 
and eliminate the SFY 2012 inflation adjustment for 
hospital operating rates as mandated by Item 297 BBB 1 a 
of the Act; (iii) change the inpatient hospital Medicaid 
utilization from 15% to 14% to determine 
Disproportionate Share Hospital (DSH) eligibility, rebase 
the DSH reimbursement for all hospitals, and eliminate the 
SFY 2012 inflation adjustment for hospital DSH payments 
as mandated by Item 297 BBB 1 b of the Act; (iv) eliminate 
inflation for graduate medical education per resident 
amounts in SFYs 2011 and 2012 as directed by Item 297 
BBB 1 c of the Act; (v) eliminate rebasing in SFY 2011 and 
inflation in SFYs 2011 and 2012 for freestanding 
psychiatric hospital facilities as directed by Item 287 CCC 
of the Act; and (vi) exclude certain out-of-state hospitals 
from receiving indirect medical education payments and 
reduce DSH payments to certain out-of-state hospitals, as 
mandated by Item 297 TTT of the  Act.  

Reimbursement Changes Affecting Other Providers 
(12VAC30-80) is amended to (i) eliminate the inflation 
adjustments for home health agencies for SFYs 2011 and 
2012 as mandated by Item 297 FFF of the Act; (ii) reduce 
rates for procedure codes determined under resource 
based relative value system by 3.0% in SFY 2011 and an 
additional 1.0% in SFY 2012 as mandated by Item 297 
CCC of the Act; and (iii) eliminate the inflation 
adjustments in SFYs 2011 and 2012  for outpatient 
rehabilitation agencies as mandated by Item 297 GGG of 
the Act.  

Reimbursement Changes Affecting Nursing Facilities 
(12VAC30-90) is amended to (i) eliminate rebasing in SFY 
2011 and inflation in SFYs 2011 and 2012 as directed by 
Item 306 DDD 1 a of the Act; and (ii) freeze nursing 
facility and specialized care ceilings. 

In addition, this action amends 12VAC30-10-690 by 
expanding the basis for termination of a Medicaid provider 
in conformance with Chapter 785 of the 2010 Acts of 
Assembly. 

12VAC30-10-690. Exclusion of providers and suspension 
of practitioners and other individuals. 

A. All of the requirements of 42 CFR 1002, Subpart B are 
met.  
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In addition to meeting all federal requirements, the agency, 
under the authority of state law, imposes broader sanctions.  

B. The Medicaid agency meets the requirements of:  

1. § 1902(p) of the Act by excluding from participation: 

a. At the state's discretion, any individual or entity for 
any reason for which the Secretary could exclude the 
individual or entity from participation in a program under 
Title XVIII in accordance with § 1128, 1128A, or 
1866(b)(2).  

b. Any HMO (as defined in § 1903(m) of the Act) or an 
entity furnishing services under a waiver approved under 
§ 1915(b)(1) of the Act, that: 

(1) Could be excluded under § 1128(b)(8) relating to 
owners and managing employees who have been 
convicted of certain crimes or received other sanctions; 
or  

(2) Has, directly or indirectly, a substantial contractual 
relationship (as defined by the Secretary) with an 
individual or entity that is described in § 1128(b)(8)(B) 
of the Act.  

2. An MCO, PIHP, PAHP, or PCCM may not have 
prohibited affiliations with individuals (as defined in 42 
CFR 438.610(b)) who are debarred, suspended, or 
otherwise excluded from participating in procurement 
activities under the Federal Acquisition Regulation or from 
participating in nonprocurement activities under 
regulations issued under Executive Order No. 12549 or 
under guidelines implementing Executive Order No. 
12549. If the Commonwealth finds that an MCO, PCCM, 
PIHP, or PAHP is not in compliance, the Commonwealth 
will comply with the requirements of 42 CFR 438.610(c). 

3. § 1902(a)(39) of the Act by:  

a. Excluding an individual or entity from participation for 
the period specified by the Secretary, when required by 
the Secretary to do so in accordance with § 1128 or 
1128A of the Act; and  

b. Providing that no payment will be made with respect 
to any item or service furnished by an individual or entity 
during this period.  

C. The Medicaid agency meets the requirements of:  

1. § 1902(a)(41) of the Act with respect to prompt 
notification to HCFA whenever a provider is terminated, 
suspended, sanctioned, or otherwise excluded from 
participating under this state plan; and  

2. § 1902(a)(49) of the Act with respect to providing 
information and access to information regarding sanctions 
taken against health care practitioners and providers by 
state licensing authorities in accordance with § 1921 of the 
Act.  

D. Provider terminations or exclusions shall be in 
accordance with § 32.1-325 D and E of the Code of Virginia.  

12VAC30-70-50. Hospital reimbursement system. 

The reimbursement system for hospitals includes the 
following components:  

A. Hospitals were grouped by classes according to number 
of beds and urban versus rural. (Three groupings for rural - 0 
to 100 beds, 101 to 170 beds, and over 170 beds; four 
groupings for urban - 0 to 100, 101 to 400, 401 to 600, and 
over 600 beds.) Groupings are similar to those used by the 
Health Care Financing Administration (HCFA) in 
determining routine cost limitations.  

B. Prospective reimbursement ceilings on allowable 
operating costs were established as of July 1, 1982, for each 
grouping. Hospitals with a fiscal year end after June 30, 1982, 
were subject to the new reimbursement ceilings.  

The calculation of the initial group ceilings as of July 1, 
1982, was based on available, allowable cost data for 
hospitals in calendar year 1981. Individual hospital operating 
costs were advanced by a reimbursement escalator from the 
hospital's year end to July 1, 1982. After this advancement, 
the operating costs were standardized using SMSA wage 
indices, and a median was determined for each group. These 
medians were readjusted by the wage index to set an actual 
cost ceiling for each SMSA. Therefore, each hospital 
grouping has a series of ceilings representing one of each 
SMSA area. The wage index is based on those used by HCFA 
in computing its Market Basket Index for routine cost 
limitations.  

Effective July 1, 1986, and until June 30, 1988, providers 
subject to the prospective payment system of reimbursement 
had their prospective operating cost rate and prospective 
operating cost ceiling computed using a new methodology. 
This method uses an allowance for inflation based on the 
percent of change in the quarterly average of the Medical 
Care Index of the Chase Econometrics - Standard Forecast 
determined in the quarter in which the provider's new fiscal 
year began.  

The prospective operating cost rate is based on the 
provider's allowable cost from the most recent filed cost 
report, plus the inflation percentage add-on.  

The prospective operating cost ceiling is determined by 
using the base that was in effect for the provider's fiscal year 
that began between July 1, 1985, and June 1, 1986. The 
allowance for inflation percent of change for the quarter in 
which the provider's new fiscal year began is added to this 
base to determine the new operating cost ceiling. This new 
ceiling was effective for all providers on July 1, 1986. For 
subsequent cost reporting periods beginning on or after July 
1, 1986, the last prospective operating rate ceiling determined 
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under this new methodology will become the base for 
computing the next prospective year ceiling.  

Effective on and after July 1, 1988, and until June 30, 1989, 
for providers subject to the prospective payment system, the 
allowance for inflation shall be based on the percent of 
change in the moving average of the Data Resources, 
Incorporated Health Care Cost HCFA-Type Hospital Market 
Basket determined in the quarter in which the provider's new 
fiscal year begins. Such providers shall have their prospective 
operating cost rate and prospective operating cost ceiling 
established in accordance with the methodology which 
became effective July 1, 1986. Rates and ceilings in effect 
July 1, 1988, for all such hospitals shall be adjusted to reflect 
this change.  

Effective on or after July 1, 1989, for providers subject to 
the prospective payment system, the allowance for inflation 
shall be based on the percent of change in the moving average 
of the Health Care Cost HCFA-Type Hospital Market Basket, 
adjusted for Virginia, as developed by Data Resources, 
Incorporated, determined in the quarter in which the 
provider's new fiscal year begins. Such providers shall have 
their prospective operating cost rate and prospective operating 
cost ceiling established in accordance with the methodology 
which became effective July 1, 1986. Rates and ceilings in 
effect July 1, 1989, for all such hospitals shall be adjusted to 
reflect this change.  

Effective on and after July 1, 1992, for providers subject to 
the prospective payment system, the allowance for inflation, 
as described above, which became effective on July 1, 1989, 
shall be converted to an escalation factor by adding two 
percentage points, (200 basis points) to the then current 
allowance for inflation. The escalation factor shall be applied 
in accordance with the inpatient hospital reimbursement 
methodology in effect on June 30, 1992. On July 1, 1992, the 
conversion to the new escalation factor shall be accomplished 
by a transition methodology which, for non-June 30 year end 
hospitals, applies the escalation factor to escalate their 
payment rates for the months between July 1, 1992, and their 
next fiscal year ending on or before May 31, 1993.  

Effective July 1, 2010, through June 30, 2012, the escalation 
factor shall be zero. In addition, ceilings shall remain at the 
same level as the ceilings for long stay hospitals with fiscal 
year's end of June 30, 2010. 

The new method will still require comparison of the 
prospective operating cost rate to the prospective operating 
ceiling. The provider is allowed the lower of the two amounts 
subject to the lower of cost or charges principles.  

C. Subsequent to June 30, 1992, the group ceilings shall not 
be recalculated on allowable costs, but shall be updated by the 
escalator factor.  

D. Prospective rates for each hospital shall be based upon 
the hospital's allowable costs plus the escalator factor, or the 

appropriate ceilings, or charges; whichever is lower. Except 
to eliminate costs that are found to be unallowable, no 
retrospective adjustment shall be made to prospective rates.  

Depreciation, capital interest, and education costs approved 
pursuant to PRM-15 (§ 400), shall be considered as pass 
throughs and not part of the calculation. Capital interest is 
reimbursed the percentage of allowable cost specified in 
12VAC30-70-271. 

E. An incentive plan should be established whereby a 
hospital will be paid on a sliding scale, percentage for 
percentage, up to 25% of the difference between allowable 
operating costs and the appropriate per diem group ceiling 
when the operating costs are below the ceilings. The incentive 
should be calculated based on the annual cost report.  

The table below presents three examples under the new 
plan:  

Group 
Ceiling 

Hospital's 
Allow-

able Cost 
Per Day 

$ 

Dif-
ference 

% or 
Ceiling 

$ 

Sliding 
Scale 

Incentive 
% of Dif-
ference 

$230.00 $230.00 -0- -0- -0- -0- 

230.00 207.00 23.00 10% 2.30 10% 

230.00 172.00 57.50 25% 14.38 25% 

230.00 143.00 76.00 33% 19.00 25% 

F. There will be special consideration for exception to the 
median operating cost limits in those instances where 
extensive neonatal care is provided.  

G. Disproportionate share hospitals defined.  

The following criteria shall be met before a hospital is 
determined to be eligible for a disproportionate share 
payment adjustment.  

1. Criteria.  

a. A Medicaid inpatient utilization rate in excess of 8% 
for hospitals receiving Medicaid payments in the 
Commonwealth, or a low-income patient utilization rate 
exceeding 25% (as defined in the Omnibus Budget 
Reconciliation Act of 1987 and as amended by the 
Medicare Catastrophic Coverage Act of 1988); and  

b. At least two obstetricians with staff privileges at the 
hospital who have agreed to provide obstetric services to 
individuals entitled to such services under a State 
Medicaid plan. In the case of a hospital located in a rural 
area (that is, an area outside of a Metropolitan Statistical 
Area, as defined by the Executive Office of Management 
and Budget), the term "obstetrician" includes any 
physician with staff privileges at the hospital to perform 
nonemergency obstetric procedures.  
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c. Subdivision 1 b of this subsection does not apply to a 
hospital:  

(1) At which the inpatients are predominantly individuals 
under 18 years of age; or  

(2) Which does not offer nonemergency obstetric 
services as of December 21, 1987.  

2. Payment adjustment.  

a. Hospitals which have a disproportionately higher level 
of Medicaid patients shall be allowed a disproportionate 
share payment adjustment based on the type of hospital 
and on the individual hospital's Medicaid utilization. 
There shall be two types of hospitals: (i) Type One, 
consisting of state-owned teaching hospitals, and (ii) 
Type Two, consisting of all other hospitals. The 
Medicaid utilization shall be determined by dividing the 
number of utilization Medicaid inpatient days by the total 
number of inpatient days. Each hospital with a Medicaid 
utilization of over 8.0% shall receive a disproportionate 
share payment adjustment.  

b. For Type One hospitals, the disproportionate share 
payment adjustment shall be equal to the product of (i) 
the hospital's Medicaid utilization in excess of 8.0% 
times 11, times (ii) the lower of the prospective operating 
cost rate or ceiling. For Type Two hospitals, the 
disproportionate share payment adjustment shall be equal 
to the product of (i) the hospital's Medicaid utilization in 
excess of 8.0% times (ii) the lower of the prospective 
operating cost rate or ceiling.  

c. No payments made under subdivision 1 or 2 of this 
subsection shall exceed any applicable limitations upon 
such payments established by federal law or regulations.  

H. Outlier adjustments.  

1. DMAS shall pay to all enrolled hospitals an outlier 
adjustment in payment amounts for medically necessary 
inpatient hospital services provided on or after July 1, 
1991, involving exceptionally high costs for individuals 
under one year of age.  

2. DMAS shall pay to disproportionate share hospitals (as 
defined in paragraph G above) an outlier adjustment in 
payment amounts for medically necessary inpatient 
hospital services provided on or after July 1, 1991, 
involving exceptionally high costs for individuals under six 
years of age.  

3. The outlier adjustment calculation.  

a. Each eligible hospital which desires to be considered 
for the adjustment shall submit a log which contains the 
information necessary to compute the mean of its 
Medicaid per diem operating cost of treating individuals 
identified in subdivision H 1 or 2 above. This log shall 
contain all Medicaid claims for such individuals, 

including, but not limited to: (i) the patient's name and 
Medicaid identification number; (ii) dates of service; (iii) 
the remittance date paid; (iv) the number of covered 
days; and (v) total charges for the length of stay. Each 
hospital shall then calculate the per diem operating cost 
(which excludes capital and education) of treating such 
patients by multiplying the charge for each patient by the 
Medicaid operating cost-to-charge ratio determined from 
its annual cost report.  

b. Each eligible hospital shall calculate the mean of its 
Medicaid per diem operating cost of treating individuals 
identified in subdivision H 1 or 2 above. Any hospital 
which qualifies for the extensive neonatal care provision 
(as governed by paragraph F, above) shall calculate a 
separate mean for the cost of providing extensive 
neonatal care to individuals identified in subdivision H 1 
or 2 above.  

c. Each eligible hospital shall calculate its threshold for 
payment of the adjustment, at a level equal to two and 
one-half standard deviations above the mean or means 
calculated in subdivision H 3 (ii) above.  

d. DMAS shall pay as an outlier adjustment to each 
eligible hospital all per diem operating costs which 
exceed the applicable threshold or thresholds for that 
hospital.  

4. Pursuant to 12VAC30-50-100, there is no limit on 
length of time for medically necessary stays for individuals 
under six years of age. This section provides that consistent 
with 42 CFR 441.57, payment of medical assistance 
services shall be made on behalf of individuals under 21 
years of age, who are Medicaid eligible, for medically 
necessary stays in acute care facilities in excess of 21 days 
per admission when such services are rendered for the 
purpose of diagnosis and treatment of health conditions 
identified through a physical examination. Medical 
documentation justifying admission and the continued 
length of stay must be attached to or written on the invoice 
for review by medical staff to determine medical necessity. 
Medically unjustified days in such admissions will be 
denied.  

Article 2  
Prospective (DRG-Based) Payment Methodology  

12VAC30-70-221. General.  

A. Effective July 1, 2000, the prospective (DRG-based) 
payment system described in this article shall apply to 
inpatient hospital services provided in enrolled general acute 
care hospitals, rehabilitation hospitals, and freestanding 
psychiatric facilities licensed as hospitals, unless otherwise 
noted.  

B. The following methodologies shall apply under the 
prospective payment system:  
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1. As stipulated in 12VAC30-70-231, operating payments 
for DRG cases that are not transfer cases shall be 
determined on the basis of a hospital specific operating rate 
per case times relative weight of the DRG to which the 
case is assigned.  

2. As stipulated in 12VAC30-70-241, operating payments 
for per diem cases shall be determined on the basis of a 
hospital specific operating rate per day times the covered 
days for the case with the exception of payments for per 
diem cases in freestanding psychiatric facilities. Payments 
for per diem cases in freestanding psychiatric facilities 
licensed as hospitals shall be determined on the basis of a 
hospital specific rate per day that represents an all-
inclusive payment for operating and capital costs.  

3. As stipulated in 12VAC30-70-251, operating payments 
for transfer cases shall be determined as follows: (i) the 
transferring hospital shall receive an operating per diem 
payment, not to exceed the DRG operating payment that 
would have otherwise been made and (ii) the final 
discharging hospital shall receive the full DRG operating 
payment.  

4. As stipulated in 12VAC30-70-261, additional operating 
payments shall be made for outlier cases. These additional 
payments shall be added to the operating payments 
determined in subdivisions 1 and 3 of this subsection.  

5. As stipulated in 12VAC30-70-271, payments for capital 
costs shall be made on an allowable cost basis.  

6. As stipulated in 12VAC30-70-281, payments for direct 
medical education costs of nursing schools and 
paramedical programs shall be made on an allowable cost 
basis. Payment for direct graduate medical education 
(GME) costs for interns and residents shall be made 
quarterly on a prospective basis, subject to cost settlement 
based on the number of full time equivalent (FTE) interns 
and residents as reported on the cost report.  

7. As stipulated in 12VAC30-70-291, payments for 
indirect medical education costs shall be made quarterly on 
a prospective basis.  

8. As stipulated in 12VAC30-70-301, payments to 
hospitals that qualify as disproportionate share hospitals 
shall be made quarterly on a prospective basis.  

C. The terms used in this article shall be defined as provided 
in this subsection:  

"Base year" means the state fiscal year for which data is 
used to establish the DRG relative weights, the hospital case-
mix indices, the base year standardized operating costs per 
case, and the base year standardized operating costs per day. 
The base year will change when the DRG payment system is 
rebased and recalibrated. In subsequent rebasings, the 
Commonwealth shall notify affected providers of the base 
year to be used in this calculation.  

"Base year standardized costs per case" reflects the 
statewide average hospital costs per discharge for DRG cases 
in the base year. The standardization process removes the 
effects of case-mix and regional variations in wages from the 
claims data and places all hospitals on a comparable basis.  

"Base year standardized costs per day" reflects the statewide 
average hospital costs per day for per diem cases in the base 
year. The standardization process removes the effects of 
regional variations in wages from the claims data and places 
all hospitals on a comparable basis. Base year standardized 
costs per day were calculated separately, but using the same 
calculation methodology, for the different types of per diem 
cases identified in this subsection under the definition of "per 
diem cases."  

"Cost" means allowable cost as defined in Supplement 3 
(12VAC30-70-10 through 12VAC30-70-130) and by 
Medicare principles of reimbursement.  

"Disproportionate share hospital" means a hospital that 
meets the following criteria:  

1. A Medicaid utilization rate in excess of 15% 14%, or a 
low-income patient utilization rate exceeding 25% (as 
defined in the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1987 
and as amended by the Medicare Catastrophic Coverage 
Act of 1988); and  

2. At least two obstetricians with staff privileges at the 
hospital who have agreed to provide obstetric services to 
individuals entitled to such services under a state Medicaid 
plan. In the case of a hospital located in a rural area (that 
is, an area outside of a Metropolitan Statistical Area as 
defined by the Executive Office of Management and 
Budget), the term "obstetrician" includes any physician 
with staff privileges at the hospital to perform 
nonemergency obstetric procedures.  

3. Subdivision 2 of this definition does not apply to a 
hospital:  

a. At which the inpatients are predominantly individuals 
under 18 years of age; or  

b. Which does not offer nonemergency obstetric services 
as of December 21, 1987.  

"DRG cases" means medical/surgical cases subject to 
payment on the basis of DRGs. DRG cases do not include per 
diem cases.  

"DRG relative weight" means the average standardized costs 
for cases assigned to that DRG divided by the average 
standardized costs for cases assigned to all DRGs.  

"Groupable cases" means DRG cases having coding data of 
sufficient quality to support DRG assignment.  

"Hospital case-mix index" means the weighted average 
DRG relative weight for all cases occurring at that hospital.  



Regulations 

Volume 26, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations May 24, 2010 

2480 

"Medicaid utilization percentage" is equal to the hospital's 
total Medicaid inpatient days divided by the hospital's total 
inpatient days for a given hospital fiscal year. The Medicaid 
utilization percentage includes days associated with inpatient 
hospital services provided to Medicaid patients but 
reimbursed by capitated managed care providers. This 
definition includes all paid Medicaid days (from DMAS MR 
reports for fee-for-service days and managed care 
organization or hospital reports for HMO days) and 
nonpaid/denied Medicaid days to include medically 
unnecessary days, inappropriate level of care service days, 
and days that exceed any maximum day limits (with 
appropriate documentation). The definition of Medicaid days 
does not include any general assistance, Family Access to 
Medical Insurance Security (FAMIS), State and Local 
Hospitalization (SLH), charity care, low-income, indigent 
care, uncompensated care, bad debt, or Medicare dually 
eligible days. It does not include days for newborns not 
enrolled in Medicaid during the fiscal year even though the 
mother was Medicaid eligible during the birth. 

"Medicare wage index" and the "Medicare geographic 
adjustment factor" are published annually in the Federal 
Register by the Health Care Financing Administration. The 
indices and factors used in this article shall be those in effect 
in the base year.  

"Operating cost-to-charge ratio" equals the hospital's total 
operating costs, less any applicable operating costs for a 
psychiatric DPU, divided by the hospital's total charges, less 
any applicable charges for a psychiatric DPU. The operating 
cost-to-charge ratio shall be calculated using data from cost 
reports from hospital fiscal years ending in the state fiscal 
year used as the base year.  

"Outlier adjustment factor" means a fixed factor published 
annually in the Federal Register by the Health Care Financing 
Administration. The factor used in this article shall be the one 
in effect in the base year.  

"Outlier cases" means those DRG cases, including transfer 
cases, in which the hospital's adjusted operating cost for the 
case exceeds the hospital's operating outlier threshold for the 
case.  

"Outlier operating fixed loss threshold" means a fixed dollar 
amount applicable to all hospitals that shall be calculated in 
the base year so as to result in an expenditure for outliers 
operating payments equal to 5.1% of total operating payments 
for DRG cases. The threshold shall be updated in subsequent 
years using the same inflation values applied to hospital rates.  

"Per diem cases" means cases subject to per diem payment 
and include (i) covered psychiatric cases in general acute care 
hospitals and distinct part units (DPUs) of general acute care 
hospitals (hereinafter "acute care psychiatric cases"), (ii) 
covered psychiatric cases in freestanding psychiatric facilities 
licensed as hospitals (hereinafter "freestanding psychiatric 

cases"), and (iii) rehabilitation cases in general acute care 
hospitals and rehabilitation hospitals (hereinafter 
"rehabilitation cases").  

"Psychiatric cases" means cases with a principal diagnosis 
that is a mental disorder as specified in the ICD-9-CM. Not 
all mental disorders are covered. For coverage information, 
see Amount, Duration, and Scope of Services, Supplement 1 
to Attachment 3.1 A & B (12VAC30-50-95 through 
12VAC30-50-310). The limit of coverage of 21 days in a 60-
day period for the same or similar diagnosis shall continue to 
apply to adult psychiatric cases.  

"Psychiatric operating cost-to-charge ratio" for the 
psychiatric DPU of a general acute care hospital means the 
hospital's operating costs for a psychiatric DPU divided by 
the hospital's charges for a psychiatric DPU. In the base year, 
this ratio shall be calculated as described in the definition of 
"operating cost-to-charge ratio" in this subsection, using data 
from psychiatric DPUs.  

"Readmissions" occur when patients are readmitted to the 
same hospital for the same or a similar diagnosis within five 
days of discharge. Such cases shall be considered a 
continuation of the same stay and shall not be treated as a 
new case. Similar diagnoses shall be defined as ICD-9-CM 
diagnosis codes possessing the same first three digits.  

"Rehabilitation operating cost-to-charge ratio" for a 
rehabilitation unit or hospital means the provider's operating 
costs divided by the provider's charges. In the base year, this 
ratio shall be calculated as described in the definition of 
"operating cost-to-charge ratio" in this subsection, using data 
from rehabilitation units or hospitals.  

"Statewide average labor portion of operating costs" means 
a fixed percentage applicable to all hospitals. The percentage 
shall be periodically revised using the most recent reliable 
data from the Virginia Health Information (VHI), or its 
successor.  

"Transfer cases" means DRG cases involving patients (i) 
who are transferred from one general acute care hospital to 
another for related care or (ii) who are discharged from one 
general acute care hospital and admitted to another for the 
same or a similar diagnosis within five days of that discharge. 
Similar diagnoses shall be defined as ICD-9-CM diagnosis 
codes possessing the same first three digits.  

"Type One" hospitals means those hospitals that were state-
owned teaching hospitals on January 1, 1996. "Type Two" 
hospitals means all other hospitals.  

"Ungroupable cases" means cases assigned to DRG 469 
(principal diagnosis invalid as discharge diagnosis) and DRG 
470 (ungroupable) as determined by the AP-DRG Grouper.  

D. The All Patient Diagnosis Related Groups (AP-DRG) 
Grouper shall be used in the DRG payment system. Until 
notification of a change is given, Version 14.0 of this grouper 
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shall be used. DMAS shall notify hospitals when updating the 
system to later grouper versions.  

E. Effective January 1, 2010, DRG cases shall be grouped 
based on the exclusion of Hospital Acquired Conditions 
(HAC) as published by Medicare periodically. HACs shall be 
defined using the criteria published by Medicare in the 
Federal Register (73 FR 48471-48491 (August 19, 2008)). 
Any significant changes to the Medicare list of conditions 
shall be implemented each January 1.  

F. The primary data sources used in the development of the 
DRG payment methodology were the department's hospital 
computerized claims history file and the cost report file. The 
claims history file captures available claims data from all 
enrolled, cost-reporting general acute care hospitals, 
including Type One hospitals. The cost report file captures 
audited cost and charge data from all enrolled general acute 
care hospitals, including Type One hospitals. The following 
table identifies key data elements that were used to develop 
the DRG payment methodology and that will be used when 
the system is recalibrated and rebased.  

Data Elements for DRG Payment Methodology 

Data Elements Source 

Total charges for each groupable case Claims history file 

Number of groupable cases in each DRG Claims history file 

Total number of groupable cases Claims history file 

Total charges for each DRG case Claims history file 

Total number of DRG cases Claims history file 

Total charges for each acute care 
psychiatric case Claims history file 

Total number of acute care psychiatric 
days for each acute care hospital Claims history file 

Total charges for each freestanding 
psychiatric case 

Medicare cost 
reports 

Total number of psychiatric days for each 
freestanding psychiatric hospital 

Medicare cost 
reports 

Total charges for each rehabilitation case Claims history file 

Total number of rehabilitation days for 
each acute care and freestanding 
rehabilitation hospital Claims history file 

Operating cost-to-charge ratio for each 
hospital Cost report file 

Operating cost-to-charge ratio for each 
freestanding psychiatric facility licensed 
as a hospital 

Medicare cost 
reports 

Psychiatric operating cost-to-charge ratio 
for the psychiatric DPU of each general 
acute care hospital Cost report file 

Rehabilitation cost-to-charge ratio for 
each rehabilitation unit or hospital Cost report file 

Statewide average labor portion of 
operating costs VHI 

Medicare wage index for each hospital Federal Register 

Medicare geographic adjustment factor 
for each hospital Federal Register 

Outlier operating fixed loss threshold Claims history file 

Outlier adjustment factor Federal Register 

12VAC30-70-291. Payment for indirect medical education 
costs.  

A. Hospitals shall be eligible to receive payments for 
indirect medical education. Out-of-state cost reporting 
hospitals are eligible for this payment only if they have 
Virginia Medicaid utilization in the base year of at least 12% 
of total Medicaid days. These payments recognize the 
increased use of ancillary services associated with the 
educational process and the higher case-mix intensity of 
teaching hospitals. The payments for indirect medical 
education shall be made in estimated quarterly lump sum 
amounts and settled at the hospital's fiscal year end.  

B. Final payment for IME shall be determined as follows:  

1. Type One hospitals shall receive an IME payment equal 
to the hospital's Medicaid operating reimbursement times 
an IME percentage determined as follows:  

IME Percentage for Type One Hospitals = [1.89 X ((1 + 
r)0.405-1)] X (IME Factor)  

An IME factor shall be calculated for each Type One 
hospital and shall equal a factor that, when used in the 
calculation of the IME percentage, shall cause the 
resulting IME payments to equal what the IME payments 
would be with an IME factor of one, plus an amount 
equal to the difference between operating payments using 
the adjustment factor specified in subdivision B 1 of 
12VAC30-70-331 and operating payments using an 
adjustment factor of one in place of the adjustment factor 
specified in subdivision B 1 of 12VAC30-70-331.  

2. Type Two hospitals shall receive an IME payment equal 
to the hospital's Medicaid operating reimbursement times 
an IME percentage determined as follows:  

IME Percentage for Type Two Hospitals = [1.89 X ((1 + 
r)0.405-1)] X 0.5695  

In both equations, r is the ratio of full-time equivalent 
residents to staffed beds, excluding nursery beds. The 
IME payment shall be calculated each year using the 
most recent reliable data regarding the number of full-
time equivalent residents and the number of staffed beds, 
excluding nursery beds.  
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C. An additional IME payment shall be made for inpatient 
hospital services provided to Medicaid patients but 
reimbursed by capitated managed care providers. This 
payment shall be equal to the hospital's hospital specific 
operating rate per case, as determined in 12VAC30-70-311, 
times the hospital's HMO paid discharges times the hospital's 
IME percentage, as determined in subsection B of this 
section.  

D. An additional IME payment not to exceed $1.5 million 
$1.9 million in total shall be apportioned among Type Two 
Hospitals with Medicaid NICU utilization in excess of 50% 
and with overall Medicaid utilization in excess of 50% as 
reported to the Department of Medical Assistance Services as 
of March 1, 2004. These payments shall be apportioned based 
on each eligible hospital's percentage of Medicaid NICU 
patient days relative to the total of these days among eligible 
hospitals as reported by March 1, 2004.  

E. An additional IME payment not to exceed $500,000 in 
total shall be apportioned among Type Two Hospitals with 
Medicaid NICU days in excess of 4,500 as reported to the 
Department of Medical Assistance Services as of March 1, 
2005, that do not otherwise receive an additional IME 
payment under subsection D of this section. These payments 
shall be apportioned based on each eligible hospital's 
percentage of Medicaid NICU patient days relative to the 
total of these days among eligible hospitals as reported by 
March 1, 2005.  

12VAC30-70-301. Payment to disproportionate share 
hospitals.  

A. Payments to disproportionate share hospitals (DSH) shall 
be prospectively determined in advance of the state fiscal year 
to which they apply. The payments shall be made on a 
quarterly basis, shall be final, and shall not be subject to 
settlement except when necessary due to the limit in 
subsection D of this section.  

B. Hospitals qualifying under the 15% 14% inpatient 
Medicaid utilization percentage shall receive a DSH payment 
based on the hospital's type and the hospital's Medicaid 
utilization percentage.  

1. Type One hospitals shall receive a DSH payment equal 
to:  

a. The sum of (i) the hospital's Medicaid utilization 
percentage in excess of 10.5%, times 17, times the 
hospital's Medicaid operating reimbursement, times 
1.4433 and (ii) the hospital's Medicaid utilization 
percentage in excess of 21%, times 17, times the 
hospital's Medicaid operating reimbursement, times 
1.4433.  

b. Multiplied by the Type One hospital DSH Factor. The 
Type One hospital DSH factor shall equal a percentage 
that when applied to the DSH payment calculation yields 

a DSH payment equal to the total calculated using the 
methodology outlined in subdivision 1 a of this 
subsection using an adjustment factor of one in the 
calculation of operating payments rather than the 
adjustment factor specified in subdivision B 1 of 
12VAC30-70-331.  

2. Type Two hospitals shall receive a DSH payment equal 
to the sum of (i) the hospital's Medicaid utilization 
percentage in excess of 10.5%, times the hospital's 
Medicaid operating reimbursement, times 1.2074 and (ii) 
the hospital's Medicaid utilization percentage in excess of 
21%, times the hospital's Medicaid operating 
reimbursement, times 1.2074. Out-of-state cost reporting 
hospitals with Virginia utilization in the base year of less 
than 12% of total Medicaid days shall receive 50% of the 
payment described in this subsection. 

C. Hospitals qualifying under the 25% low-income patient 
utilization rate shall receive a DSH payment based on the 
hospital's type and the hospital's low-income utilization rate.  

1. Type One hospitals shall receive a DSH payment equal 
to the product of the hospital's low-income utilization in 
excess of 25%, times 17, times the hospital's Medicaid 
operating reimbursement.  

2. Type Two hospitals shall receive a DSH payment equal 
to the product of the hospital's low-income utilization in 
excess of 25%, times the hospital's Medicaid operating 
reimbursement.  

3. Calculation of a hospital's low-income patient utilization 
percentage is defined in 42 USC § 1396r-4(b)(3).  

D. No DSH payments shall exceed any applicable 
limitations upon such payments established by federal law or 
regulations and § 1923(g) of the Social Security Act.  

E. Each hospital's eligibility for DSH payment and the 
amount of the DSH payment shall be calculated at the time of 
each rebasing using the most recent reliable utilization data 
and projected operating reimbursement data available. The 
utilization data used to determine eligibility for DSH payment 
and the amount of the DSH payment shall include days for 
Medicaid recipients enrolled in capitated managed care 
programs. In years when DSH payments are not rebased in 
the way described above, the previous year's amounts shall be 
adjusted for inflation.  

For freestanding psychiatric facilities licensed as hospitals, 
DSH payment shall be based on the most recently settled 
Medicare cost report available before the beginning of the 
state fiscal year for which a payment is being calculated.  

F. Effective July 1, 2010, DSH payments shall be rebased 
for all hospitals with the final calculation reduced by a 
uniform percentage such that the expenditures in FY 2011 do 
not exceed expenditures in FY 2010 separately for Type One 
and Type Two hospitals. The reduction shall be calculated 
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after determination of eligibility. Payments determined in FY 
2011 shall not be adjusted for inflation in FY 2012. 

12VAC30-70-351. Updating rates for inflation.  

Each July, the Virginia moving average values as compiled 
and published by Global Insight (or its successor), under 
contract with the department shall be used to update the base 
year standardized operating costs per case, as determined in 
12VAC30-70-361, and the base year standardized operating 
costs per day, as determined in 12VAC30-70-371, to the 
midpoint of the upcoming state fiscal year. The most current 
table available prior to the effective date of the new rates shall 
be used to inflate base year amounts to the upcoming rate 
year. Thus, corrections made by Global Insight (or its 
successor), in the moving averages that were used to update 
rates for previous state fiscal years shall be automatically 
incorporated into the moving averages that are being used to 
update rates for the upcoming state fiscal year.  

The inflation adjustment for hospital operating rates, 
disproportionate share hospitals (DSH) payments, and 
graduate medical education payments shall be eliminated for 
fiscal year (FY) 2010, with the exception of long stay 
hospitals. This reduction will not be applicable to rebasing in 
FY 2011. 

In FY 2011, hospital operating rates shall be rebased; 
however the 2008 base year costs shall only be increased 
2.58% for inflation. For FY 2011 there shall be no inflation 
adjustment for graduate medical education (GME) or 
freestanding psychiatric facility rates. The inflation 
adjustment shall be eliminated for hospital operating rates, 
GME payments, and freestanding psychiatric facility rates for 
FY 2012. 

12VAC30-70-391. Recalibration and rebasing policy.  

A. The department recognizes that claims experience or 
modifications in federal policies may require adjustment to 
the DRG payment system policies provided in this part. The 
state agency shall recalibrate (evaluate and adjust the DRG 
relative weights and hospital case-mix indices) and rebase 
(review and update the base year standardized operating costs 
per case and the base year standardized operating costs per 
day) the DRG payment system at least every three years. 
Recalibration and rebasing shall be done in consultation with 
the Medicaid Hospital Payment Policy Advisory Council 
noted in 12VAC30-70-490. When rebasing is carried out, if 
new rates are not calculated before their required effective 
date, hospitals required to file cost reports and freestanding 
psychiatric facilities licensed as hospitals shall be settled at 
the new rates, for discharges on and after the effective date of 
those rates, at the time the hospitals' cost reports for the year 
in which the rates become effective are settled. 

B. Effective July 1, 2009, rates for freestanding psychiatric 
facilities shall be rebased using 2005 cost data as the base 

year. Future rebasings shall be consistent with rebasing for all 
other hospitals. 

C. Effective July 1, 2010, rates for freestanding psychiatric 
facilities shall not be rebased. 

12VAC30-80-180. Establishment of rate per visit.  

A. Effective for dates of services on and after July 1, 1991, 
the Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) 
shall reimburse home health agencies (HHAs) at a flat rate 
per visit for each type of service rendered by HHAs (i.e., 
nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech-
language pathology services, and home health aide services.) 
In addition, supplies left in the home and extraordinary 
transportation costs will be paid at specific rates.  

B. Effective for dates of services on and after July 1, 1993, 
DMAS shall establish a flat rate for each level of service for 
HHAs by peer group. There shall be three peer groups: (i) the 
Department of Health's HHAs, (ii) non-Department of Health 
HHAs whose operating office is located in the Virginia 
portion of the Washington DC-MD-VA metropolitan 
statistical area, and (iii) non-Department of Health HHAs 
whose operating office is located in the rest of Virginia. The 
use of the Health Care Financing Administration (HCFA) 
designation of urban metropolitan statistical areas (MSAs) 
shall be incorporated in determining the appropriate peer 
group for these classifications.  

The Department of Health's agencies are being placed in a 
separate peer group due to their unique cost characteristics 
(only one consolidated cost report is filed for all Department 
of Health agencies).  

C. Rates shall be calculated as follows:  

1. Each home health agency shall be placed in its 
appropriate peer group.  

2. Department of Health HHAs' Medicaid cost per visit 
(exclusive of medical supplies costs) shall be obtained 
from its 1989 cost-settled Medicaid cost report. Non-
Department of Health HHAs' Medicaid cost per visit 
(exclusive of medical supplies costs) shall be obtained 
from the 1989 cost-settled Medicaid Cost Reports filed by 
freestanding HHAs. Costs shall be inflated to a common 
point in time (June 30, 1991) by using the percent of 
change in the moving average factor of the Data Resources 
Inc., (DRI), National Forecast Tables for the Home Health 
Agency Market Basket (as published quarterly).  

3. To determine the flat rate per visit effective July 1, 1993, 
the following methodology shall be utilized:  

a. The peer group HHA's per visit rates shall be ranked 
and weighted by the number of Medicaid visits per 
discipline to determine a median rate per visit for each 
peer group at July 1, 1991.  
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b. The HHA's peer group median rate per visit for each 
peer group at July 1, 1991, shall be the interim peer 
group rate for calculating the update through January 1, 
1992. The interim peer group rate shall be updated by 
100% of historical inflation from July 1, 1991, through 
December 31, 1992, and shall become the final interim 
peer group rate which shall be updated by 50% of the 
forecasted inflation to the end of December 31, 1993, to 
establish the final peer group rates. The lower of the final 
peer group rates or the Medicare upper limit at January 1, 
1993, will be effective for payments from July 1, 1993, 
through December 1993.  

c. Separate rates shall be provided for the initial 
assessment, follow-up, and comprehensive visits for 
skilled nursing and for the initial assessment and follow-
up visits for physical therapy, occupational therapy, and 
speech therapy. The comprehensive rate shall be 200% of 
the follow-up rate, and the initial assessment rates shall 
be $15 higher than the follow-up rates. The lower of the 
peer group median or Medicare upper limits shall be 
adjusted as appropriate to assure budget neutrality when 
the higher rates for the comprehensive and initial 
assessment visits are calculated.  

4. The fee schedule shall be adjusted annually beginning 
July 1, 2010, based on the percent of change in the moving 
average of the National Forecast Tables for the Home 
Health Agency Market Basket published by Global Insight 
(or its successor) for the second quarter of the calendar 
year in which the fiscal year begins. The report shall be the 
latest published report prior to the fiscal year. The method 
to calculate the annual update shall be:  

a. All subsequent year peer group rates shall be 
calculated utilizing the previous final peer group rate 
established on July 1.  

b. The annual July 1 update shall be compared to the 
Medicare upper limit per visit in effect on each January 
1, and the HHA's shall receive the lower of the annual 
update or the Medicare upper limit per visit as the final 
peer group rate.  

D. Effective July 1, 2009, the previous inflation increase 
effective January 1, 2009, shall be reduced by 50%. 

E. Effective July 1, 2010, through June 30, 2012, there shall 
be no inflation adjustment for home health agencies. 

12VAC30-80-190. State agency fee schedule for RBRVS. 

A. Reimbursement of fee-for-service providers. Effective for 
dates of service on or after July 1, 1995, the Department of 
Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) shall reimburse fee-
for-service providers, with the exception of home health 
services (see 12VAC30-80-180) and durable medical 
equipment services (see 12VAC30-80-30), using a fee 

schedule that is based on a Resource Based Relative Value 
Scale (RBRVS). 

B. Fee schedule. 

1. For those services or procedures which are included in 
the RBRVS published by the Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS) as amended from time to time, 
DMAS' fee schedule shall employ the Relative Value Units 
(RVUs) developed by CMS as periodically updated. 

a. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2008, 
DMAS shall implement site of service differentials and 
employ both nonfacility and facility RVUs. The 
implementation shall be budget neutral using the 
methodology in subdivision 2 of this subsection. 

b. The implementation of site of service shall be 
transitioned over a four-year period. 

(1) Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2008, 
DMAS shall calculate the transitioned facility RVU by 
adding 75% of the difference between the nonfacility 
RVU and nonfacility RVU to the facility RVU. 

(2) Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2009, 
DMAS shall calculate the transitioned facility RVU by 
adding 50% of the difference between the nonfacility 
RVU and nonfacility RVU to the facility RVU. 

(3) Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2010, 
DMAS shall calculate the transitioned facility RVU by 
adding 25% of the difference between the nonfacility 
RVU and nonfacility RVU to the facility RVU. 

(4) Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2011, 
DMAS shall use the unadjusted Medicare facility RVU. 

2. DMAS shall calculate the RBRVS-based fees using 
conversion factors (CFs) published from time to time by 
CMS. DMAS shall adjust CMS' CFs by additional factors 
so that no change in expenditure will result solely from the 
implementation of the RBRVS-based fee schedule. DMAS 
may revise the additional factors when CMS updates its 
RVUs or CFs so that no change in expenditure will result 
solely from such updates. Except for this adjustment, 
DMAS' CFs shall be the same as those published from 
time to time by CMS. The calculation of the additional 
factors shall be based on the assumption that no change in 
services provided will occur as a result of these changes to 
the fee schedule. The determination of the additional 
factors required above shall be accomplished by means of 
the following calculation: 

a. The estimated amount of DMAS expenditures if 
DMAS were to use Medicare's RVUs and CFs without 
modification, is equal to the sum, across all relevant 
procedure codes, of the RVU value published by the 
CMS, multiplied by the applicable conversion factor 
published by the CMS, multiplied by the number of 
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occurrences of the procedure code in DMAS patient 
claims in the most recent period of time (at least six 
months). 

b. The estimated amount of DMAS expenditures, if 
DMAS were not to calculate new fees based on the new 
CMS RVUs and CFs, is equal to the sum, across all 
relevant procedure codes, of the existing DMAS fee 
multiplied by the number of occurrences of the 
procedures code in DMAS patient claims in the period of 
time used in subdivision 2 a of this subsection. 

c. The relevant additional factor is equal to the ratio of 
the expenditure estimate (based on DMAS fees in 
subdivision 2 b of this subsection) to the expenditure 
estimate based on unmodified CMS values in subdivision 
2 a of this subsection. 

d. DMAS shall calculate a separate additional factor for: 

(1) Emergency room services (defined as the American 
Medical Association's (AMA) publication of the Current 
Procedural Terminology (CPT) codes 99281, 99282, 
99283, 99284, and 992851 in effect at the time the 
service is provided);  

(2) Obstetrical/gynecological services (defined as 
maternity care and delivery procedures, female genital 
system procedures, obstetrical/gynecological-related 
radiological procedures, and mammography procedures, 
as defined by the American Medical Association's 
(AMA) publication of the Current Procedural 
Terminology (CPT) manual in effect at the time the 
service is provided); 

(3) Pediatric preventive services (defined as preventive 
E&M procedures, excluding those listed in subdivision 
2 d (1) of this subsection, as defined by the AMA's 
publication of the CPT manual, in effect at the time the 
service is provided, for recipients under age 21); 

(4) Pediatric primary services (defined as evaluation and 
management (E&M) procedures, excluding those listed 
in subdivisions 2 d (1) and 2 d (3) of this subsection, as 
defined by the AMA's publication of the CPT manual, in 
effect at the time the service is provided, for recipients 
under age 21); 

(5) Adult primary and preventive services (defined as 
E&M procedures, excluding those listed in subdivision 2 
d (1) of this subsection, as defined by the AMA's 
publication of the CPT manual, in effect at the time the 
service is provided, for recipients age 21 and over); and 

(6) All other procedures set through the RBRVS process 
combined. 

3. For those services or procedures for which there are no 
established RVUs, DMAS shall approximate a reasonable 
relative value payment level by looking to similar existing 

relative value fees. If DMAS is unable to establish a 
relative value payment level for any service or procedure, 
the fee shall not be based on a RBRVS, but shall instead be 
based on the previous fee-for-service methodology. 

4. Fees shall not vary by geographic locality. 

5. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2007, 
fees for emergency room services (defined in subdivision 2 
d (1) of this subsection) shall be increased by 5.0% relative 
to the fees that would otherwise be in effect.  

C. Effective for dates of service on or after May 1, 2006, 
fees for obstetrical/gynecological services (defined in 
subdivision B 2 d (2) of this section) shall be increased by 
2.5% relative to the fees in effect on July 1, 2005.  

D. Effective for dates of service on or after May 1, 2006, 
fees for pediatric services (defined in subdivisions B 2 d (3) 
and (4) of this section) shall be increased by 5.0% relative to 
the fees in effect on July 1, 2005. Effective for dates of 
service on or after July 1, 2006, fees for pediatric services 
(defined in subdivisions B 2 d (3) and (4) of this section) shall 
be increased by 5.0% relative to the fees in effect on May 1, 
2006. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2007, 
fees for pediatric primary services (defined in subdivision B 2 
d (4) of this section) shall be increased by 10% relative to the 
fees that would otherwise be in effect. 

E. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2007, fees 
for pediatric preventive services (defined in subdivision B 2 d 
(3) of this section) shall be increased by 10% relative to the 
fees that would otherwise be in effect. 

F. Effective for dates of service on or after May 1, 2006, 
fees for adult primary and preventive services (defined in 
subdivision B 2 d (4) of this section) shall be increased by 
5.0% relative to the fees in effect on July 1, 2005. Effective 
for dates of service on or after July 1, 2007, fees for adult 
primary and preventive services (defined in subdivision B 2 d 
(5) of this section) shall be increased by 5.0% relative to the 
fees that would otherwise be in effect. 

G. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2007, 
fees for all other procedures set through the RBRVS process 
combined (defined in subdivision B 2 d (6) of this section) 
shall be increased by 5.0% relative to the fees that would 
otherwise be in effect. 

H. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2010, 
fees for all procedures set through the RBRVS process shall 
be decreased by 3.0% relative to the fees that would 
otherwise be in effect. However, if the increased federal 
medical assistance percentage under the American Recovery 
and Reinvestment Act (P.L. 111-5) is extended through June 
30, 2011, as provided in Item 297 CCCC.3 of the 2010 
Virginia Acts of Assembly, the reduction in this subsection 
shall not become effective. 
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I. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2011, fees 
for all procedures set through the RBRVS process shall be 
decreased by 4.0% relative to the fees that would have been 
in effect except for the provisions of subsection H of this 
section. However, if the increased federal medical assistance 
percentage under the American Recovery and Reinvestment 
Act (P.L. 111-5) is extended through June 30, 2011, as 
provided in Item 297 CCCC.3 of the 2010 Virginia Acts of 
Assembly, the reduction in this subsection shall not become 
effective. 

12VAC30-80-200. Prospective reimbursement for 
rehabilitation agencies. 

A. Effective for dates of service on and after July 1, 2009, 
rehabilitation agencies, excluding those operated by 
community services boards and state agencies, shall be 
reimbursed a prospective rate equal to the lesser of the 
agency's fee schedule amount or billed charges per procedure. 
The agency shall develop a statewide fee schedule based on 
CPT codes to reimburse providers what the agency estimates 
they would have been paid in FY 2010 minus $371,800.  

B. For providers with fiscal years that do not begin on July 
1, 2009, services on or before June 30, 2009, for the fiscal 
year in progress on that date shall be settled based on the 
previous prospective rate methodology and the ceilings in 
effect for that fiscal year as of June 30, 2009.  

C. Rehabilitation services furnished by community service 
boards or state agencies shall be reimbursed costs based on 
annual cost reporting methodology and procedures. 

D. Beginning with state fiscal years beginning on or after 
July 1, 2010, rates shall be adjusted annually for inflation 
using the Virginia-specific nursing home input price index 
contracted for by the agency. The agency shall use the percent 
moving average for the quarter ending at the midpoint of the 
rate year from the most recently available index prior to the 
beginning of the rate year. 

E. Effective July 1, 2010, there will be no inflation 
adjustment for outpatient rehabilitation facilities through June 
30, 2012. 

12VAC30-90-41. Nursing facility reimbursement formula. 

A. Effective on and after July 1, 2002, all NFs subject to the 
prospective payment system shall be reimbursed under "The 
Resource Utilization Group-III (RUG-III) System as defined 
in Appendix IV (12VAC30-90-305 through 12VAC30-90-
307)." RUG-III is a resident classification system that groups 
NF residents according to resource utilization. Case-mix 
indices (CMIs) are assigned to RUG-III groups and are used 
to adjust the NF's per diem rates to reflect the intensity of 
services required by a NF's resident mix. See 12VAC30-90-
305 through 12VAC30-90-307 for details on the Resource 
Utilization Groups. 

1. Any NF receiving Medicaid payments on or after 
October 1, 1990, shall satisfy all the requirements of § 
1919(b) through (d) of the Social Security Act as they 
relate to provision of services, residents' rights and 
administration and other matters. 

2. Direct and indirect group ceilings and rates. 

a. In accordance with 12VAC30-90-20 C, direct patient 
care operating cost peer groups shall be established for 
the Virginia portion of the Washington DC-MD-VA 
MSA, the Richmond-Petersburg MSA and the rest of the 
state. Direct patient care operating costs shall be as 
defined in 12VAC30-90-271. 

b. Indirect patient care operating cost peer groups shall 
be established for the Virginia portion of the Washington 
DC-MD-VA MSA, for the rest of the state for facilities 
with less than 61 licensed beds, and for the rest of the 
state for facilities with more than 60 licensed beds. 

3. Each facility's average case-mix index shall be 
calculated based upon data reported by that nursing facility 
to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) 
(formerly HCFA) Minimum Data Set (MDS) System. See 
12VAC30-90-306 for the case-mix index calculations. 

4. The normalized facility average Medicaid CMI shall be 
used to calculate the direct patient care operating cost 
prospective ceilings and direct patient care operating cost 
prospective rates for each semiannual period of a NFs 
subsequent fiscal year. See 12VAC30-90-306 D 2 for the 
calculation of the normalized facility average Medicaid 
CMI. 

a. A NFs direct patient care operating cost prospective 
ceiling shall be the product of the NFs peer group direct 
patient care ceiling and the NFs normalized facility 
average Medicaid CMI. A NFs direct patient care 
operating cost prospective ceiling will be calculated 
semiannually. 

b. A CMI rate adjustment for each semiannual period of 
a nursing facility's prospective fiscal year shall be 
applied by multiplying the nursing facility's normalized 
facility average Medicaid CMI applicable to each 
prospective semiannual period by the nursing facility's 
case-mix neutralized direct patient care operating cost 
base rate for the preceding cost reporting period (see 
12VAC30-90-307). 

c. See 12VAC30-90-307 for the applicability of case-mix 
indices. 

5. Direct and indirect ceiling calculations. 

a. Effective for services on and after July 1, 2006, the 
direct patient care operating ceiling shall be set at 117% 
of the respective peer group day-weighted median of the 
facilities' case-mix neutralized direct care operating costs 



Regulations 

Volume 26, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations May 24, 2010 

2487 

per day. The calculation of the medians shall be based on 
cost reports from freestanding nursing homes for 
provider fiscal years ending in the most recent base year. 
The medians used to set the peer group direct patient care 
operating ceilings shall be revised and case-mix 
neutralized every two years using the most recent reliable 
calendar year cost settled cost reports for freestanding 
nursing facilities that have been completed as of 
September 1. 

b. The indirect patient care operating ceiling shall be set 
at 107% of the respective peer group day-weighted 
median of the facility's specific indirect operating cost 
per day. The calculation of the peer group medians shall 
be based on cost reports from freestanding nursing homes 
for provider fiscal years ending in the most recent base 
year. The medians used to set the peer group indirect 
operating ceilings shall be revised every two years using 
the most recent reliable calendar year cost settled cost 
reports for freestanding nursing facilities that have been 
completed as of September 1. 

6. Reimbursement for use of specialized treatment beds. 
Effective for services on and after July 1, 2005, nursing 
facilities shall be reimbursed an additional $10 per day for 
those recipients who require a specialized treatment bed 
due to their having at least one Stage IV pressure ulcer. 
Recipients must meet criteria as outlined in 12VAC30-60-
350, and the additional reimbursement must be 
preauthorized as provided in 12VAC30-60-40. Nursing 
facilities shall not be eligible to receive this reimbursement 
for individuals whose services are reimbursed under the 
specialized care methodology. Beginning July 1, 2005, this 
additional reimbursement shall be subject to adjustment for 
inflation in accordance with 12VAC30-90-41 B, except 
that the adjustment shall be made at the beginning of each 
state fiscal year, using the inflation factor that applies to 
provider years beginning at that time. This additional 
payment shall not be subject to direct or indirect ceilings 
and shall not be adjusted at year-end settlement. 

B. Adjustment of ceilings and costs for inflation. Effective 
for provider fiscal years starting on and after July 1, 2002, 
ceilings and rates shall be adjusted for inflation each year 
using the moving average of the percentage change of the 
Virginia-Specific Nursing Home Input Price Index, updated 
quarterly, published by Standard & Poor's DRI. For state 
fiscal year 2003, peer group ceilings and rates for indirect 
costs will not be adjusted for inflation. 

1. For provider years beginning in each calendar year, the 
percentage used shall be the moving average for the second 
quarter of the year, taken from the table published for the 
fourth quarter of the previous year. For example, in setting 
prospective rates for all provider years beginning in 
January through December 2002, ceilings and costs would 
be inflated using the moving average for the second quarter 

of 2002, taken from the table published for the fourth 
quarter of 2001. 

2. Provider specific costs shall be adjusted for inflation each 
year from the cost reporting period to the prospective rate 
period using the moving average as specified in subdivision 1 
of this subsection. If the cost reporting period or the 
prospective rate period is less than 12 months long, a fraction 
of the moving average shall be used that is equal to the 
fraction of a year from the midpoint of the cost reporting 
period to the midpoint of the prospective rate period. 

3. Ceilings shall be adjusted from the common point 
established in the most recent rebasing calculation. Base 
period costs shall be adjusted to this common point using 
moving averages from the DRI tables corresponding to the 
provider fiscal period, as specified in subdivision 1 of this 
subsection. Ceilings shall then be adjusted from the 
common point to the prospective rate period using the 
moving average(s) for each applicable second quarter, 
taken from the DRI table published for the fourth quarter 
of the year immediately preceding the calendar year in 
which the prospective rate years begin. Rebased ceilings 
shall be effective on July 1 of each rebasing year, so in 
their first application they shall be adjusted to the midpoint 
of the provider fiscal year then in progress or then 
beginning. Subsequently, they shall be adjusted each year 
from the common point established in rebasing to the 
midpoint of the appropriate provider fiscal year. For 
example, suppose the base year is made up of cost reports 
from years ending in calendar year 2000, the rebasing year 
is SFY2003, and the rebasing calculation establishes 
ceilings that are inflated to the common point of July 1, 
2002. Providers with years in progress on July 1, 2002, 
would receive a ceiling effective July 1, 2002, that would 
be adjusted to the midpoint of the provider year then in 
progress. In some cases this would mean the ceiling would 
be reduced from the July 1, 2002, ceiling level. The 
following table shows the application of these provisions 
for different provider fiscal periods. 

Table I 
Application of Inflation to Different Provider Fiscal Periods 

Provider 
FYE 

Effective 
Date of New 

Ceiling 

First 
PFYE 
After 

Rebasing 
Date 

Inflation 
Time 
Span 
from 

Ceiling 
Date to 

Midpoint 
of First 

PFY 

Second 
PFYE 
After 
Re-

basing 
Date 

Inflation 
Time Span 

from 
Ceiling 
Date to 

Midpoint 
of Second 

PFY 

3/31 7/1/02 3/31/03 + 1/4 year 3/31/04 
+1-1/4 
years 

6/30 7/1/02 6/30/03 + 1/2 year 6/30/04 
+ 1-1/2 
years 

9/30 7/1/02 9/30/02 - 1/4 year 9/30/03 
+ 3/4 
years 
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12/31 7/1/02 12/31/02 -0- 12/31/03 +1 year 

The following table shows the DRI tables that would 
provide the moving averages for adjusting ceilings for 
different prospective rate years. 

Table II 
Source Tables for DRI Moving Average Values  

Provider 
FYE 

Effective 
Date of New 

Ceiling 

First 
PFYE 
After 

Rebasing 
Date 

Source 
DRI 

Table for 
First PFY 
Ceiling 
Inflation 

Second 
PFYE 
After 
Re-

basing 
Date 

Source 
DRI Table 
for Second 

PFY 
Ceiling 
Inflation 

3/31 7/1/02 3/31/03 
Fourth 
Quarter 

2001 
3/31/04 

Fourth 
Quarter 

2002 

6/30 7/1/02 6/30/03 
Fourth 
Quarter 

2001 
6/30/04 

Fourth 
Quarter 

2002 

9/30 7/1/02 9/30/02 
Fourth 
Quarter 

2000 
9/30/03 

Fourth 
Quarter 

2001 

12/31 7/1/02 12/31/02 
Fourth 
Quarter 

2000 
12/31/03 

Fourth 
Quarter 

2001 

In this example, when ceilings are inflated for the second 
PFY after the rebasing date, the ceilings will be inflated 
from July 1, 2002, using moving averages from the DRI 
table specified for the second PFY. That is, the ceiling for 
years ending June 30, 2004, will be the June 30, 2002, base 
period ceiling, adjusted by 1/2 of the moving average for 
the second quarter of 2002, compounded with the moving 
average for the second quarter of 2003. Both these moving 
averages will be taken from the fourth quarter 2002 DRI 
table. 

C. The RUG-III Nursing Home Payment System shall 
require comparison of the prospective operating cost rates to 
the prospective operating ceilings. The provider shall be 
reimbursed the lower of the prospective operating cost rate or 
prospective operating ceiling. 

D. Nonoperating costs. Plant or capital, as appropriate, costs 
shall be reimbursed in accordance with Articles 1, 2, and 3 of 
this subpart. Plant costs shall not include the component of 
cost related to making or producing a supply or service. 

NATCEPs cost shall be reimbursed in accordance with 
12VAC30-90-170. 

E. The prospective rate for each NF shall be based upon 
operating cost and plant/capital cost components or charges, 
whichever is lower, plus NATCEPs costs. The disallowance 
of nonreimbursable operating costs in any current fiscal year 
shall be reflected in a subsequent year's prospective rate 
determination. Disallowances of nonreimbursable plant or 
capital, as appropriate, costs and NATCEPs costs shall be 

reflected in the year in which the nonreimbursable costs are 
included. 

F. Effective July 1, 2001, for those NFs whose indirect 
operating cost rates are below the ceilings, an incentive plan 
shall be established whereby a NF shall be paid, on a sliding 
scale, up to 25% of the difference between its allowable 
indirect operating cost rates and the indirect peer group 
ceilings. 

1. The following table presents four incentive examples: 

Peer 
Group 

Ceilings 

Allowable 
Cost Per 

Day 
Difference 

% of 
Ceiling 

Sliding 
Scale 

Scale % 
Difference

$30.00 $27.00 $3.00 10% $0.30 10% 

30.00 22.50 7.50 25% 1.88 25% 

30.00 20.00 10.00 33% 2.50 25% 

30.00 30.00 0 0     

2. Efficiency incentives shall be calculated only for the 
indirect patient care operating ceilings and costs. Effective 
July 1, 2001, a direct care efficiency incentive shall no 
longer be paid. 

G. Quality of care requirement. A cost efficiency incentive 
shall not be paid for the number of days for which a facility is 
out of substantial compliance according to the Virginia 
Department of Health survey findings as based on federal 
regulations. 

H. Sale of facility. In the event of the sale of a NF, the 
prospective base operating cost rates for the new owner's first 
fiscal period shall be the seller's prospective base operating 
cost rates before the sale. 

I. Public notice. To comply with the requirements of 
§ 1902(a)(28)(c) of the Social Security Act, DMAS shall 
make available to the public the data and methodology used 
in establishing Medicaid payment rates for nursing facilities. 
Copies may be obtained by request under the existing 
procedures of the Virginia Freedom of Information Act. 

J. Effective July 1, 2005, the total per diem payment to each 
nursing home shall be increased by $3.00 per day. This 
increase in the total per diem payment shall cease effective 
July 1, 2006. Effective July 1, 2006, when cost data that 
include time periods before July 1, 2005, are used to set 
facility specific rates, a portion of the $3.00 per day amount 
identified above, based on the percentage of patient days in 
the provider's cost reporting period that fall before July 1, 
2005, adjusted for appropriate inflation and multiplied times 
the provider's Medicaid utilization rate, shall be allocated to 
the facility specific direct and indirect cost per day prior to 
comparison to the peer group ceilings. For purposes of this 
subsection, $1.68 of the $3.00 shall be considered direct costs 
and $1.32 of the $3.00 shall be considered indirect costs. 
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K. Effective July 1, 2008, and ending after June 30, 2009, 
the operating rate for nursing facilities shall be reduced by 
1.329%. 

L. Effective July 1, 2009, through June 30, 2010, there will 
be no inflation adjustment for nursing facility operating rates 
and ceilings and specialized care operating rates and ceilings. 
Exempt from this are government-owned nursing facilities 
with Medicaid utilization of 85% or greater in provider fiscal 
year 2007. 

M. Effective July 1, 2010, through June 30, 2012, there shall 
be no inflation adjustment for nursing facility and specialized 
care operating rates.  Nursing facility and specialized care 
ceilings shall freeze at the same level as the ceilings for 
nursing facilities with provider fiscal year ends of June 30, 
2010. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2387; Filed May 6, 2010, 12:50 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Medical 
Assistance Services is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 
are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law 
or the appropriation act where no agency discretion is 
involved. The Department of Medical Assistance Services 
will receive, consider, and respond to petitions from any 
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 
or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards 
for Establishing Payment Rates; Other Types of Care 
(amending 12VAC30-80-40). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2010.  

Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This amendment is required to comply with Item 297 SSS 
of the 2010 Virginia Appropriation Act, which requires 
DMAS to amend the State Plan for Medical Assistance to 
decrease the maximum reimbursement for pharmaceutical 
products from the current pricing methodology of the 
estimated acquisition cost equaling the Average Wholesale 
Price (AWP) minus 10.25%, to a methodology in which the 
estimated acquisition cost is equal to the AWP minus 
13.1%. This budget reduction in pharmacy reimbursement 
is dependent upon the unavailability of enhanced federal 
match dollars provided for in the American Recovery and 

Reinvestment Act (ARRA - P.L. 111-5). The increased 
federal Medicaid payments to the states under ARRA run 
out in December 2010. Congress currently is considering 
extending the enhanced federal Medicaid payments to the 
states through June 30, 2011. If Congress extends the 
increased federal match percentage, Virginia will not 
implement this budget reduction measure. If, however, 
Congress does not extend the ARRA enhanced percentage, 
DMAS must implement this reduction in pharmacy 
reimbursement effective July 1, 2010. 

12VAC30-80-40. Fee-for-service providers: pharmacy. 

Payment for pharmacy services shall be the lowest of items 
1 through 5 (except that items 1 and 2 will not apply when 
prescriptions are certified as brand necessary by the 
prescribing physician in accordance with the procedures set 
forth in 42 CFR 447.512(c) if the brand cost is greater than 
the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) upper 
limit of VMAC cost) subject to the conditions, where 
applicable, set forth in subdivisions 6 and 7 of this section:  

1. The upper limit established by the CMS for multiple 
source drugs pursuant to 42 CFR 447.512 and 447.514, as 
determined by the CMS Upper Limit List plus a dispensing 
fee. If the agency provides payment for any drugs on the 
HCFA Upper Limit List, the payment shall be subject to 
the aggregate upper limit payment test.  

2. The methodology used to reimburse for generic drug 
products shall be the higher of either (i) the lowest 
Wholesale Acquisition Cost (WAC) plus 10% or (ii) the 
second lowest WAC plus 6.0%. This methodology shall 
reimburse for products' costs based on a Maximum 
Allowable Cost (VMAC) list to be established by the 
single state agency.  

a. In developing the maximum allowable reimbursement 
rate for generic pharmaceuticals, the department or its 
designated contractor shall: 

(1) Identify three different suppliers, including 
manufacturers that are able to supply pharmaceutical 
products in sufficient quantities. The drugs considered 
must be listed as therapeutically and pharmaceutically 
equivalent in the Food and Drug Administration's most 
recent version of the Approved Drug Products with 
Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (Orange Book). 
Pharmaceutical products that are not available from three 
different suppliers, including manufacturers, shall not be 
subject to the VMAC list. 

(2) Identify that the use of a VMAC rate is lower than the 
Federal Upper Limit (FUL) for the drug. The FUL is a 
known, widely published price provided by CMS; and 

(3) Distribute the list of state VMAC rates to pharmacy 
providers in a timely manner prior to the implementation 
of VMAC rates and subsequent modifications. DMAS 
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shall publish on its website, each month, the information 
used to set the Commonwealth's prospective VMAC 
rates, including, but not necessarily limited to: 

(a) The identity of applicable reference products used to 
set the VMAC rates; 

(b) The Generic Code Number (GCN) or National Drug 
Code (NDC), as may be appropriate, of reference 
products; 

(c) The difference by which the VMAC rate exceeds the 
appropriate WAC price; and 

(d) The identity and date of the published compendia 
used to determine reference products and set the VMAC 
rate. The difference by which the VMAC rate exceeds 
the appropriate WAC price shall be at least or equal to 
10% above the lowest-published wholesale acquisition 
cost for products widely available for purchase in the 
Commonwealth and shall be included in national pricing 
compendia. 

b. Development of a VMAC rate that does not have a 
FUL rate shall not result in the use of higher-cost 
innovator brand name or single source drugs in the 
Medicaid program. 

c. DMAS or its designated contractor shall: 

(1) Implement and maintain a procedure to add or 
eliminate products from the list, or modify VMAC rates, 
consistent with changes in the fluctuating marketplace. 
DMAS or its designated contractor will regularly review 
manufacturers' pricing and monitor drug availability in 
the marketplace to determine the inclusion or exclusion 
of drugs on the VMAC list; and 

(2) Provide a pricing dispute resolution procedure to 
allow a dispensing provider to contest a listed VMAC 
rate. DMAS or its designated contractor shall confirm 
receipt of pricing disputes within 24 hours, via telephone 
or facsimile, with the appropriate documentation of 
relevant information, e.g., invoices. Disputes shall be 
resolved within three business days of confirmation. The 
pricing dispute resolution process will include DMAS' or 
the contractor's verification of accurate pricing to ensure 
consistency with marketplace pricing and drug 
availability. Providers will be reimbursed, as appropriate, 
based on findings. Providers shall be required to use this 
dispute resolution process prior to exercising any 
applicable appeal rights. 

3. The provider's usual and customary charge to the public, 
as identified by the claim charge. 

4. The Estimated Acquisition Cost (EAC), which shall be 
based on the published Average Wholesale Price (AWP) 
minus a percentage discount established by the General 
Assembly (as set forth in subdivision 8 of this section) or, 

in the absence thereof, by the following methodology set 
out in subdivisions a through c of this subdivision. 

a. Percentage discount shall be determined by a statewide 
survey of providers' acquisition cost. 

b. The survey shall reflect statistical analysis of actual 
provider purchase invoices. 

c. The agency will conduct surveys at intervals deemed 
necessary by DMAS. 

5. MAC methodology for specialty drugs. Payment for 
drug products designated by DMAS as specialty drugs 
shall be the lesser of subdivisions 1 through 4 of this 
section or the following method, whichever is least: 

a. The methodology used to reimburse for designated 
specialty drug products shall be the WAC price plus the 
WAC percentage. The WAC percentage is a constant 
percentage identified each year for all GCNs. 

b. Designated specialty drug products are certain 
products used to treat chronic, high-cost, or rare diseases; 
the drugs subject to this pricing methodology and their 
current reimbursement rates are listed on the DMAS 
website at the following internet address: 
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/downloads/pdfs/pharm-
special_mac_list.pdf. 

c. The MAC reimbursement methodology for specialty 
drugs shall be subject to the pricing review and dispute 
resolution procedures described in subdivisions 2 c (1) 
and 2 c (2) of this section. 

6. Payment for pharmacy services will be as described 
above; however, payment for legend drugs will include the 
allowed cost of the drug plus only one dispensing fee per 
month for each specific drug. Exceptions to the monthly 
dispensing fees shall be allowed for drugs determined by 
the department to have unique dispensing requirements. 
The dispensing fee for brand name and generic drugs is 
$3.75.  

7. The Program pays additional reimbursement for unit 
dose dispensing systems of dispensing drugs. DMAS 
defines its unit dose dispensing system coverage consistent 
with that of the Board of Pharmacy of the Department of 
Health Professions (18VAC110-20-420). This service is 
paid only for patients residing in nursing facilities. 
Reimbursements are based on the allowed payments 
described above plus the unit dose per capita fee to be 
calculated by DMAS' fiscal agent based on monthly per 
nursing home resident service per pharmacy provider. Only 
one service fee per month may be paid to the pharmacy for 
each patient receiving unit dose dispensing services. 
Multisource drugs will be reimbursed at the maximum 
allowed drug cost for specific multiple source drugs as 
identified by the state agency or CMS' upper limits as 
applicable. All other drugs will be reimbursed at drug costs 
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not to exceed the estimated acquisition cost determined by 
the state agency. The original per capita fee shall be 
determined by a DMAS analysis of costs related to such 
dispensing, and shall be reevaluated at periodic intervals 
for appropriate adjustment. The unit dose dispensing fee is 
$5.00 per recipient per month per pharmacy provider. 

8. Determination of EAC was the result of a report by the 
Office of the Inspector General that focused on appropriate 
Medicaid marketplace pricing of pharmaceuticals based on 
the documented costs to the pharmacy. An EAC of AWP 
minus 10.25% 13.1% shall become effective July 1, 2002 
2010. However, if the increased federal medical assistance 
percentage under the American Recovery and 
Reinvestment Act (P.L. 111-5) is extended through June 
30, 2011, as provided in Item 297 SSS of the 2010 Acts of 
Assembly, the reduction shall remain at AWP minus 
10.25%. The dispensing fee for brand name and generic 
drugs of $3.75 shall remain in effect, creating a payment 
methodology based on the previous algorithm (least of 
subdivisions of this section) plus a dispensing fee where 
applicable. 

9. Home infusion therapy.  

a. The following therapy categories shall have a 
pharmacy service day rate payment allowable: hydration 
therapy, chemotherapy, pain management therapy, drug 
therapy, total parenteral nutrition (TPN). The service day 
rate payment for the pharmacy component shall apply to 
the basic components and services intrinsic to the therapy 
category. Submission of claims for the per diem rate shall 
be accomplished by use of the CMS 1500 claim form.  

b. The cost of the active ingredient or ingredients for 
chemotherapy, pain management and drug therapies shall 
be submitted as a separate claim through the pharmacy 
program, using standard pharmacy format. Payment for 
this component shall be consistent with the current 
reimbursement for pharmacy services. Multiple 
applications of the same therapy shall be reimbursed one 
service day rate for the pharmacy services. Multiple 
applications of different therapies shall be reimbursed at 
100% of standard pharmacy reimbursement for each 
active ingredient.  

10. Supplemental rebate agreement. Based on the 
requirements in § 1927 of the Social Security Act, the 
Commonwealth of Virginia has the following policies for 
the supplemental drug rebate program for Medicaid 
recipients:  

a. The model supplemental rebate agreement between the 
Commonwealth and pharmaceutical manufacturers for 
legend drugs provided to Medicaid recipients, submitted 
to CMS on February 5, 2004, and entitled Virginia 
Supplemental Drug Rebate Agreement Contract A and 

Amendment #2 to Contract A has been authorized by 
CMS.  

b. The model supplemental rebate agreement between the 
Commonwealth and pharmaceutical manufacturers for 
drugs provided to Medicaid recipients, submitted to CMS 
on February 5, 2004, and entitled Virginia Supplemental 
Drug Rebate Agreement Contract B and Amendment #2 
to Contract B has been authorized by CMS.  

c. The model supplemental rebate agreement between the 
Commonwealth and pharmaceutical manufacturers for 
drugs provided to Medicaid recipients, submitted to CMS 
on February 5, 2004, and entitled Virginia Supplemental 
Drug Rebate Agreement Contract C, and Amendments 
#1 and #2 to Contract C has been authorized by CMS.  

d. Supplemental drug rebates received by the state in 
excess of those required under the national drug rebate 
agreement will be shared with the federal government on 
the same percentage basis as applied under the national 
drug rebate agreement.  

e. Prior authorization requirements found in § 1927(d)(5) 
of the Social Security Act have been met.  

f. Nonpreferred drugs are those that were reviewed by the 
Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee and not included 
on the preferred drug list. Nonpreferred drugs will be 
made available to Medicaid beneficiaries through prior 
authorization.  

g. Payment of supplemental rebates may result in a 
product's inclusion on the PDL.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2393; Filed May 3, 2010, 3:21 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-135. Demonstration Waiver 
Services (amending 12VAC30-135-140). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This amendment is required to comply with Item 297 XX of 
the 2010 Virginia Appropriation Act, which requires that 
the Department of Medical Assistance Services amend the 
Children’s Mental Health Program Waiver to permit a 
child to be evaluated as a separate assistance unit of one. 
The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services has 
approved the change in eligibility. This regulatory change 
allows children to be counted as a family of one when the 
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child is discharged from a Psychiatric Residential 
Treatment Facility (PRTF).  

Currently, when a child is discharged from a PRTF, 
eligibility is based on the family's income. This may cause 
the child to lose Medicaid eligibility for community care 
and may result in the child remaining in the PRTF for a 
longer stay. The program only has about 25 children 
enrolled versus a projected 300. This change will result in 
more children being enrolled in the waiver and save the 
Commonwealth from having to pay the higher costs of a 
PRTF. 

12VAC30-135-140. Client eligibility requirements and 
intake process. 

A. Virginia will apply the financial eligibility criteria 
contained in the State Plan for the categorically needy 
evaluate clients for the CMH waiver as a separate assistance 
unit of one regardless of whether the child is living in the 
home with a parent or guardian, or siblings. Under this 
waiver, clients must meet the financial and nonfinancial 
Medicaid eligibility criteria and meet the PRTF institutional 
level-of-care criteria. DMAS shall be the single state agency 
authority responsible for the supervision and administration 
of the CMH waiver. 

B. The following three criteria shall apply to all CMH 
waiver services: 

1. Clients qualifying for CMH waiver services must have a 
demonstrated need for the service resulting in significant 
functional limitations. The need for the service must arise 
from the client having a SED and meeting the level-of-care 
for admission to a PRTF; 

2. The services described in the ISP, and services as 
delivered, must be consistent with the Medicaid definition 
of each service; and 

3. Services must be recommended based on a current 
assessment using a DMAS-approved assessment 
instrument and a client's demonstrated need for each 
specific service. 

C. Assessment, screening, authorization and enrollment in 
home and community-based care services. 

1. To ensure that Virginia's CMH waiver serves only 
clients who would otherwise remain in a PRTF, home and 
community-based care services shall be considered only 
for clients who have resided in a PRTF for at least 90 days 
to ensure that the client's condition has been stabilized. 
Home and community-based care services shall be the 
critical service that enables the client to be discharged 
home rather than remaining in a PRTF. Clients must 
receive at least one CMH waiver service to remain in the 
waiver. 

2. CMH waiver services must be determined by DMAS or 
a DMAS-contracted entity to be an appropriate service 
alternative as defined in these regulations to remaining in a 
PRTF. 

3. The client shall be recommended for CMH waiver 
services after completion of a comprehensive assessment 
of the client's needs and available supports. The 
completion of an assessment is mandatory before the client 
can be enrolled in the CMH waiver and Medicaid assumes 
payment responsibility for the waiver services. 

4. The CMH waiver screener shall gather relevant medical, 
social, and psychological data and identify services to meet 
the client's needs in the community. 

5. The client or family/caregiver, as appropriate, must be 
offered the choice of CMH waiver services or to remain in 
the PRTF. If the client chooses CMH waiver services, the 
client must also be offered the choice of waiver providers. 

6. The screener shall explore alternative settings and 
services to provide the care needed by the client. 

7. Medicaid will not pay for any home and community-
based care services delivered prior to the authorization date 
approved by DMAS or a DMAS-contracted entity. Any 
CSP for home and community-based care services must be 
preapproved by DMAS prior to Medicaid reimbursement 
for waiver services. 

D. Screening for the CMH waiver. 

1. Clients requesting CMH waiver services will be 
screened and will receive services on a first-come, first-
served basis based on the availability of services in the 
community to support the client.  

2. To be eligible for CMH waiver services, the client must:  

a. Have been a resident of a PRTF for at least 90 days 
prior to applying for the CMH waiver;  

b. Continue to meet the PRTF criteria described in 
12VAC30-50-130; 

c. Have services identified in the community to meet the 
client's needs;  

d. Have a case manager assigned; and  

e. Continue to meet Medicaid eligibility criteria. 

E. Waiver approval process: authorizing and accessing 
services. 

1. The screener is the entity responsible for assessing the 
client to determine if the client meets the criteria for 
admission to the CMH waiver. 

2. If a client is a CSA client, the screener shall be the CSA 
representative. If the client is not a CSA client, the screener 
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shall be the mental health or treatment foster care case 
manager. 

3. Once the screener has determined that a client meets the 
eligibility criteria for CMH waiver services and the client 
or family/caregiver, as appropriate, has chosen this 
program, the client or family/caregiver will be provided 
with a list of available service providers. The client or 
family/caregiver, as appropriate, must be given a choice of 
providers if there is more than one provider available that 
can meet the client's needs. The client or family/caregiver, 
as appropriate, must also be given a choice of CD or 
agency-directed respite and companion services, if the 
client is eligible for these services. 

4. When all required information has been submitted to 
DMAS or its contractor for preauthorization, DMAS or the 
contractor will have 10 business days to review 
preauthorization requests. If the request is approved, the 
client will be sent written notification of enrollment in the 
CMH waiver and services may begin. 

5. Only CMH waiver services authorized on the CSP by 
the screening entity according to DMAS policies may be 
reimbursed by DMAS. 

6. All CSPs are subject to approval by DMAS. 

F. Reevaluation of service need. 

1. The comprehensive service plan (CSP). 

a. The CSP shall be reviewed at intervals as determined 
by DMAS with the case manager, client, 
family/caregiver, service providers, consultants, and 
others involved in the care of the client based on 
relevant, current assessment data. 

b. The case manager is responsible for continuous 
monitoring of the appropriateness of the client's services 
and revisions to the CSP as indicated by the changing 
needs of the client. The case manager must review the 
CSP at least every three months to determine whether 
service goals and objectives are being met and whether 
any modifications to the CSP are necessary. 

c. Any modification to the amount or type of services in 
the CSP must be approved by the client or 
family/caregiver, as appropriate, and be pre-authorized 
by DMAS. 

2. Review of level-of-care. 

a. The case manager shall complete a reassessment 
annually, in coordination with the client, 
family/caregiver, service providers, consultants, and 
others involved in the care of the client, to ensure that the 
client continues to meet the PRTF criteria. The 
reassessment shall include the completion of the 
assessment instrument and any other appropriate 
assessment data. If warranted, the case manager shall 

coordinate a medical examination and a mental health 
assessment for the client. The CSP shall be revised as 
appropriate. 

b. A new mental health assessment shall be required 
whenever the current mental health assessment is no 
longer reflective of the client's current condition. 

3. The case manager will monitor the service providers' 
ISPs to ensure that all providers are working toward the 
identified goals of the client. 

4. Case managers will be required to conduct a minimum 
of quarterly face-to-face visits for all CMH waiver clients. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2346; Filed May 4, 2010, 1:40 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 

Notice of Extension of Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC5-21. Board of Accountancy 
Regulations (amending 18VAC5-21-30). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-4402 and 54.1-4403 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: May 14, 2009, through November 13, 2010. 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 
Board of Accountancy (board) requested an extension of the 
above-referenced emergency regulation to complete the 
requirements of the Administrative Process Act. The 
emergency regulations were published in 25:20 VA.R. 3642-
3645 June 8, 2009 (http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol25/iss 
20/v25i20.pdf). 

The board proposed this emergency regulation to reduce the 
amount of education required for licensure that must be 
obtained prior to taking the certified public accountant (CPA) 
examination through Virginia so that the requirement was no 
more restrictive than that of most other states. The proposed 
emergency regulation also defined "accounting concentration 
or equivalent," which is a requirement for licensure and for 
taking the CPA examination through Virginia. 

The emergency regulation became effective May 14, 2009, 
and contained all education requirements for taking the CPA 
examination through Virginia. Those requirements have been 
incorporated into the accounting programs of Virginia's 
colleges and universities and into the plans of students and 
others for taking the CPA examination through Virginia. The 
board intended for the provisions of the emergency regulation 
to become permanent as part of a separate fast track 
regulatory action containing comprehensive changes to the 
board's regulations in response to revisions to the 
accountancy statutes that became effective July 1, 2007. 
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The proposed fast-track regulations, however, will not 
become effective before the scheduled expiration of the 
emergency regulation on May 13, 2010. Allowing the 
emergency regulation to expire would impose an 
unconscionable burden on students and others who have, in 
good faith, adopted plans based on the emergency regulation. 
Expiration of the emergency regulation also would 
significantly reduce the board's revenues, as individuals 
would begin taking the CPA examination through states that 
already have the same requirements as those in the emergency 
regulations. Therefore, the board requested a six-month 
extension to November 13, 2010. 

The Governor approved the board's request to extend the 
expiration date of the emergency regulation for six months as 
provided in § 2.2-4011 D of the Code of Virginia. Therefore, 
the regulations will continue in effect through November 13, 
2010. 

Agency Contact: Wade A. Jewell, Executive Director, Board 
of Accountancy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Perimeter Center, 
Suite 402, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8540, 
FAX (804) 527-4409, or email wade.jewell@boa.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1099; Filed May 12, 2010, 2:34 p.m.  
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND 
RECREATION 

Proposed Consent Special Order for Harrell 
Contracting, Inc. 

Purpose of notice: To seek public comment on the terms of a 
proposed Consent Special Order (order) issued to Harrell 
Contracting, Inc. 

Public comment period: May 24, 2010, through June 23, 
2010. 

Summary of proposal: The proposed order describes a 
settlement between the Virginia Soil and Water Conservation 
Board and Harrell Contracting, Inc. to resolve alleged past 
violations of the Virginia Stormwater Water Management Act 
and the Virginia Stormwater Management Program (VSMP) 
Permit Regulations at the Quality Culvert construction project 
in Greensville County, Virginia. The proposed order requires 
payment of a $20,550 civil charge. 

How to comment: The Virginia Department of Conservation 
and Recreation accepts written comments from the public by 
mail, email, or facsimile. All comments must include the 
name, address, and telephone number of the person 
commenting. Comments must be received during the 
comment period. A copy of the proposed order is available on 
request from the person identified directly below as the 
contact. 

Contact for public documents and additional information: 
David Kearney, Virginia Department of Conservation and 
Recreation, 203 Governor Street, Suite 206, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 225-2558, FAX (804) 786-1798, or 
email david.kearney@dcr.virginia.gov. 

Contact Information: David C. Dowling, Policy, Planning, 
and Budget Director, Department of Conservation and 
Recreation, 203 Governor Street, Suite 302, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 786-2291, FAX (804) 786-6141, or 
email david.dowling@dcr.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Modification of Appomattox River Total Maximum 
Daily Load 

Notice is hereby given that the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality (DEQ) seeks comment on proposed 
modifications to the bacteria total maximum daily load 
(TMDL) developed for the Appomattox River and tributaries 
located in Appomattox, Buckingham, Cumberland, Prince 
Edward, Amelia, Nottoway, Powhatan, Chesterfield, 
Dinwiddie, and Prince George Counties and the Cities of 
Petersburg, Colonial Heights, and Hopewell, Virginia. A 
TMDL of E. coli was developed to address the bacterial 
impairments in the Appomattox River Basin. This TMDL 

was approved by the federal Environmental Protection 
Agency on August 30, 2004, and can be found at the 
following website: http://www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl/apptmdls/ 
jamesrvr/app.pdf. DEQ seeks written comments from 
interested persons on the modification of this TMDL. 

The U.S. Army Garrison and Fort Lee (VPDES Permit 
#0059161) is an industrial minor facility that discharges to 
the Appomattox River (segment 3). The facility was assigned 
a waste load allocation (WLA) of 8.73E+11 cfu/year in the 
TMDL based on the design flow of 0.5 million gallons per 
day (MGD). However, this facility is a potable water 
treatment plant (not a sewage treatment plant); therefore, the 
discharge from this facility is not considered to contribute 
bacteria and monitoring of the effluent is not required under 
the permit. 

The Appomattox River Water Authority (VPDES Permit 
#0005819) is an industrial minor facility that discharges to an 
unnamed tributary of Lake Chesdin (segment 2 of 
Appomattox River). The facility was assigned a WLA of 
4.70E+12 cfu/year in the TMDL based on the design flow of 
2.7 MGD. However, this facility is a potable water treatment 
plant (not a sewage treatment plant); therefore, the discharge 
from this facility is not considered to contribute bacteria and 
monitoring of the effluent is not required under the permit. 

Therefore, DEQ proposes the following changes to the report:  

 Remove the WLA assigned to U.S. Army Garrison and 
Fort Lee (VPDES Permit #0059161) and add the 
8.73E+11 cfu/year to a future growth load for segment 3 
of the Appomattox River (as stated in the report).  This 
facility's outfall lies within segment 3. 

 Remove the WLA assigned to the Appomattox River 
Water Authority (VPDES Permit #0005819) in 
segments 2 and 3 of the Appomattox River and add the 
4.70E+12 cfu/year to a future growth load for the 
respective segments. This facility's outfall lies within 
segment 2. The WLA portion of this facility assigned in 
segment 3 was intended to be protective of the 
downstream impairment and will be added to the future 
growth load in segment 3. 

 Total future growth load (moved from the WLA) in 
segment 2 will equal 4.70E+12 cfu/year. 

 Total future growth load (moved from the WLA) in 
segment 3 will equal 5.57E+12 cfu/year. 

For the bacterial TMDL, the proposed WLA changes will 
neither cause nor contribute to the nonattainment of the 
Appomattox River basin (0% increase). 

The public comment period for this modification will end on 
June 23, 2010. Please include the name, address, and 
telephone number of the person submitting comments or 
questions and send to Margaret Smigo, Department of 
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Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4969-A 
Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, telephone (804) 527-5124, 
or email margaret.smigo@deq.virginia.gov. 

Draft Permit and Total Maximum Daily Load 
Modification in Augusta County 

Purpose of notice: To seek public comment on a draft permit 
from the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality 
(DEQ) and associated modifications of a total maximum daily 
load (TMDL) that will allow the release of industrial 
wastewater from potable water treatment plant into a water 
body in Augusta County, Virginia. 

First public notice issue date: April 30, 2010. 

Public comment period: 30 days following first public notice 
issue date. 

Permit name and number: Virginia Pollutant Discharge 
Elimination System Permit - Wastewater (Permit No. 
VA0084212) issued by DEQ, under the authority of the State 
Water Control Board. 

Name and address of applicant: Augusta County Service 
Authority, 18 Government Center Lane, P.O. Box 859, 
Verona, VA 24482. 

Name and address of facility: Churchville Water Treatment 
Plant, 356 Buffalo Gap Highway, Churchville, VA 24421. 

Project description: The Augusta County Service Authority 
has applied for reissuance of the referenced permit. The 
applicant proposes to release treated industrial wastewater 
from a potable water treatment plant at a rate of 0.14 million 
gallons per day (MGD) into Whiskey Creek in Augusta 
County in the Middle River watershed. A watershed is the 
land area drained by a river and its incoming streams. The 
permit will limit the following pollutants to amounts that 
protect water quality: solids, chlorine, bacteria, chloride, and 
pH. 

Modification of Middle River TMDL: A TMDL has been 
developed for bacteria to address recreational use impairment 
in the Middle River. This TMDL was approved by the federal 
Environmental Protection Agency on August 10, 2004, and 
can be found at the following website: 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl/apptmdls/shenrvr/middle.p
df. DEQ proposes to modify the wasteload allocation tables in 
this TMDL to accommodate the increased discharge from this 
facility. The revised WLA tables would accommodate this 
discharge at a permitted design flow of 0.14 MGD and at 
permitted E. coli concentration of 126 cfu/100ml. This 
equates to an annual bacteria WLA of 2.44 x 1011 cfu/100ml 
for this facility. 

How to comment and/or request a public hearing: DEQ 
accepts comments and requests for public hearing by email, 
fax, or postal mail. All comments and requests must be in 

writing and be received by DEQ during the comment period. 
Submittals must include the names, mailing addresses, and 
telephone numbers of the commentator/requestor and of all 
persons represented by the commentator/requestor. A request 
for public hearing must also include: (i) the reason why a 
public hearing is requested; (ii) a brief, informal statement 
regarding the nature and extent of the interest of the requestor 
or of those represented by the requestor, including how and to 
what extent such interest would be directly and adversely 
affected by the permit; and (iii) specific references, where 
possible, to terms and conditions of the permit with suggested 
revisions. DEQ may hold a public hearing, including another 
comment period, if public response is significant and there 
are substantial, disputed issues relevant to the permit. 

Contact for public comments, document requests, and 
additional information: Tara Sieber, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Valley Regional Office, 4411 Early 
Road, P.O. Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, telephone 
(540) 574-7870, FAX (540) 574-7878, or email 
tara.sieber@deq.virginia.gov. 

Modification of Total Maximum Daily Load for 
Mattox Creek 

Notice is hereby given that the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality (DEQ) seeks comment on the 
proposed modifications to the bacteria total maximum daily 
load (TMDL) developed for Mattox Creek in King George 
and Westmoreland Counties. 

The Mattox Creek TMDL was developed to address bacterial 
impairments in portions of the free-flowing and tidal 
segments of Mattox Creek. The TMDL was approved by the 
federal Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) on August 2, 
2006, and can be found at the following website: 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl/apptmdls/potrvr/mattox.pdf. 

DEQ seeks written comments from interested persons on the 
modification of this TMDL. In the Mattox Creek Bacteria 
TMDL approved by the EPA and the Virginia State Water 
Control Board in 2006, these changes are necessary for the 
following permitted dischargers: 

 The Washington District Elementary School 
(VA0082058) is a VPDES minor municipal plant in 
Montross, Virginia. The facility, which discharges to 
the free-flowing segment, was incorrectly assigned a 
waste load allocation (WLA) of 2.2E+06 cfu/year, 
based on the available discharge monitoring report 
(DMR) records at the time of issuance. The TMDL 
included a WLA expansion factor for permitted 
facilities. DEQ proposes to revise the TMDL by 
increasing the bacteria WLA to 1.06E+10  cfu/year to 
accommodate this facility at a maximum design flow of 
0.006 million gallons per day (MGD) at an E. coli 
concentration of 126 N/100mL. This will also change 
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the WLA expansion factor from 1.1E+07 to 3.1E+10 
(based on a 300% growth in the WLA for the free-
flowing recreation impairment). The change to the 
WLA is not the result of any permit change; rather, the 
original TMDL contained incorrect values for the 
design flow and WLA for this facility. 

 The Washington District Elementary School 
(VA0082058) was not originally assigned WLAs for the 
downstream tidal impairment in the TMDL report as it 
should have been. DEQ proposes to revise the TMDL 
by assigning a bacteria WLA of 2.93E+09 cfu/year to 
accommodate this facility at a maximum design flow of 
0.006 MGD and assign a WLA expansion factor of 
1.47E+10 cfu/year at an Enterococci concentration of 
35 N/100mL (based on a 500% growth in the WLA for 
the tidal recreation impairment). The change to the 
WLA is not the result of any permit change; rather, the 
original TMDL did not contain a necessary WLA for 
this facility for the impaired downstream tidal segment. 

 The Outdoor World Harborview facility (VA0089087) 
is a VPDES minor municipal plant in Oak Grove, 
Virginia. The facility, which discharges to the tidal 
segment, was incorrectly assigned a WLA of 1.7E+05 
cfu/year, based on the long-term average flow of the 
facility. The TMDL included a WLA expansion factor 
for permitted facilities.  DEQ proposes to revise the 
TMDL by assigning a bacteria WLA of 9.78E+09 
cfu/year to accommodate this facility at a maximum 
design flow of 0.02 MGD. This change will also change 
the WLA expansion factor from 8.5E+05 to 4.89E+10 
cfu/year at an Enterococci concentration of 35 N/100mL 
(for the tidal recreation impairment). The change to the 
WLA is not the result of any permit change; rather, the 
original TMDL contained incorrect values for the 
design flow and WLA for this facility. 

 The Outdoor World Harborview facility (VA0089087) 
was also assigned a WLA of 3.0E+05 cfu/year based on 
the long-term average flow of the facility. The TMDL 
included a WLA expansion factor for permitted 
facilities. DEQ proposes to revise the TMDL by 
assigning the bacteria WLA of 5.53E+09 cfu/year to 
accommodate this facility at a maximum design flow of 
0.02 MGD. This change would also increase the WLA 
expansion factor from 1.5E+06 to 2.77E+10 cfu/year at 
a fecal coliform concentration of 20 N/100mL – per the 
facility's limit as recommended by the Virginia 
Department of Health for UV disinfection (for the 
shellfish impairment). The change to the WLA is not 
the result of any permit change; rather, the original 
TMDL contained incorrect values for the fecal coliform 
limit, design flow, and WLA for this facility. This 
facility has not yet been constructed. 

The proposed changes above will neither cause nor contribute 
to the nonattainment of Mattox Creek, as documented in the 
EPA approved TMDL report. 

The public comment period for this modification will end on 
June 23, 2010. Written comments should include the name, 
address, and telephone number of the person submitting the 
comments and should be sent to Margaret Smigo, Piedmont 
Regional Office, Department of Environmental Quality, 
4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, telephone 
(804)527-5124, or email margaret.smigo@deq.virginia.gov. 

Total Maximum Daily Load for Nebletts Mill Run in 
Sussex County and Hatcher Run in Dinwiddie 

County 

Public meeting: Wednesday, June 16, 2010, at 2:30 p.m. at 
the Rowanty Technical Center located at 20000 Rowanty 
Road, Carson, VA 23830. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality (DEQ) and the Department of Conservation and 
Recreation have been developing a total maximum daily load 
(TMDL) report, which is a water quality study to quantify the 
bacteria pollution sources in an unnamed tributary (UT) to 
Nebletts Mill Run in Sussex County and Hatcher Run in 
Dinwiddie County. This notice announces the final public 
meeting on June 16, 2010, and a public comment opportunity 
that begins on June 17, 2010. 

Meeting description: A summary presentation will be given 
of the draft TMDL report regarding the water quality 
impairments of the streams mentioned above that fail the 
recreational use due to bacterial violations. The meeting will 
serve as an opportunity for the public to offer input regarding 
the impaired watersheds and to ask questions regarding the 
water quality study and report development. The presentation 
will include loadings and suggested reductions of bacteria in 
order to meet water quality standards for recreational use. 

Description of study: Virginia agencies have been working to 
identify and quantify sources of the bacterial contamination 
for Hatcher Run and an UT to Nebletts Mill Run. The former 
impairment spans approximately 4 miles and the latter 
approximately 2 miles. These waterways are impaired for 
failure to meet the recreational designated use due to 
exceedances of the bacteria water quality standard. 
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Waterbody Location 
Impaired 
Length 

(mi) 
Impairment 

Hatcher Run 
(VAP_K23R-

05-BAC) 

Dinwiddie 
County 
(from 

headwaters to 
the pond 
below Rt. 

627) 

4.36 

Unnamed 
Tributary to 

Nebletts Mill 
Run 

(VAP_K23R-
03-BAC) 

Sussex 
County 

1.73 

Total Impaired Length 6.09 

Recreational 
Use 

 

The study reports on the current status of the streams via 
sampling performed by DEQ and the possible sources of 
bacterial contamination. The study recommends TMDLs for 
the above impairments. To restore water quality, bacteria 
levels have to be reduced to the TMDL amount. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax, or postal mail. Written comments should include the 
name, address, and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ during the comment 
period, which begins on June 17, 2010, and expires July 19, 
2010. 

Contact for additional information: Margaret Smigo, TMDL 
Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, 
Piedmont Regional Office, 4949A Cox Road, Glen Allen, 
VA, 23060, telephone (804) 527-5124, Fax (804)-527-5106, 
or email margaret.smigo@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH AND DEPARTMENT OF 
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE SERVICES 

Proposed Notice of Request for Certificate of Public 
Need Applications for Development of Additional 
Nursing Home Beds Planning Target Year 2013 

Legal Notice of Request for Certificate of Public Need 
Applications. 

Pursuant to the authority vested in the State Board of Health 
(board) and the Department of Medical Assistance Services 
(DMAS) by § 32.1-102.3:2 of the Code of Virginia, notice is 
hereby given of the proposed issuance of a request for 
applications (RFA). This RFA would be a request for 
certificate of public need (COPN) applications for projects 
that would result in an increase in the number of beds in 
which nursing home services are provided in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia. The RFA process is outlined in 

12VAC5-220-335 of the Virginia Medical Care Facilities 
Certificate of Public Need Rules and Regulations. 

Eligible Planning District and Total Nursing Home Beds 
Available for Authorization. 

In the review cycles that would be established by this RFA 
upon issuance of the final notice, the Commissioner of Health 
will consider requests for COPNs that propose an increase in 
nursing home beds in the planning districts (PD) identified 
below and that propose an increase in beds no greater than the 
number of available beds shown below for that planning 
district. COPN requests that propose an increase in nursing 
home beds in any other planning district not identified below 
or propose an increase in beds greater than the number of 
available beds shown below for the eligible planning district 
will not be accepted for review. 

Planning District 9, also known as the Rappahannock-
Rapidan Planning District, consisting of the counties of 
Culpeper, Fauquier, Madison, Orange, and Rappahannock.  
Total nursing home beds available for authorization: 60. 

Planning District 10, also known as the Thomas Jefferson 
Planning District, consisting of the counties of Albemarle, 
Fluvanna, Greene, Louisa, and Nelson and the city of 
Charlottesville.  
Total nursing home beds available for authorization: 60. 

Planning District 18, also known as the Middle Peninsula 
Planning District, consisting of the counties of Essex, 
Gloucester, King and Queen, King William, Matthews, 
and Middlesex.  
Total nursing home beds available for authorization: 30. 

Evaluation of Need for Additional Nursing Home Beds.  

The "Nursing Facilities" component of the Virginia State 
Medical Facilities Plan contains a nursing home bed need 
forecasting method (12VAC5-230-610). This method has 
been employed by the Virginia Department of Health to 
compute a forecast of needed nursing home beds in 2013 in 
each of Virginia's twenty-two planning districts.1 

Consistent with 12VAC5-230-610 A, no planning district is 
considered to have a need for additional nursing home beds 
unless the average annual occupancy of all existing Medicaid-
certified nursing home beds in the planning district was at 
least 93%, excluding the bed inventory and utilization of the 
Virginia Veterans Care Centers. 

For purposes of this document, the annual occupancy of 
Medicaid-certified nursing home beds was determined from 
filings with Virginia Health Information made by Virginia 
nursing homes covering their fiscal year 2008. The average 
annual occupancy of one planning district was adjusted to 
take into account the fact that one nursing home in the 
planning district, although Medicaid-certified at the end of its 
fiscal year, had a substantial period of nonparticipation in the 
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Medicaid program during the nursing home's fiscal year 
2008. 

Also, no planning district will be considered to have a need 
for additional nursing home beds if there are uncompleted 
nursing home beds, for which Medicaid certification will be 
sought, that were authorized for the planning district within 
the three years prior to this notice of a proposed RFA. The 
following table displays, by planning district, the nursing 
home gross bed need forecast for 2013, the current licensed 

bed inventory plus uncompleted COPN-authorized additions 
of nursing home beds, and the net bed need forecast for 2013. 

The table also shows the average annual occupancy rate of 
Medicaid-certified nursing home beds for each planning 
district for the 2008 reporting year and identifies the status of 
each planning district with respect to authorized but 
uncompleted nursing home beds. The final column of the 
table states whether the planning district qualifies for 
additional nursing home beds for 2013. 

Nursing Home Bed Need Forecast and 
Whether a Planning District Qualifies for Additional Nursing Home Beds for 2013 

 
Planning 
District 

Gross 
Bed Need 
Forecast 
For 2013 

Existing 
Plus 

Authorized 
Beds 

Projected 
Net Bed 

Need 
In 2013 

Average 
Occupancy 

Medicaid Beds 
2008 

Authorized 
But 

Uncompleted 
Medicaid Beds 

Planning District 
Qualifies for 
Additional 
NH Beds 

1 511 641 (130) 88.4% no no--no need 
2 426 547 (121) 76.7% no no--no need 
3 1,378 1,405 (27) 93.1% no no--no need 
4 828 788 40 85.7% no no--low occu. 
5 2,046 2,301 (255) 91.0% no no--no need 
6 1,746 1,528 218 92.4% no no--low occu. 
7 966 972 (6) 89.2% no no--no need 
8 5,026 4,358 668 89.6% no no--low occu. 
9 815 746 69 93.7% no yes--60 beds 

10 1,081 1,007 74 93.4% no yes--60 beds 
11 1,512 1,550 (38) 92.9% no no--no need 
12 2,036 1,929 107 91.8% no no--low occu. 
13 935 881 54 92.9% yes no--low occu. 
14 638 665 (27) 95.4% yes no--no need 
15 3,927 4,049 (122) 93.0% yes no--no need 
16* 825 785 40 92.4% no no--low occu. 
17 332 368 (36) 79.2% no no--no need. 
18 593 550 43 93.0% no yes--30 beds 
19 1,099 1,075 24 91.0% no no--low occu. 
20 4,547 4,421 126 90.2% no no--low occu. 
21 2,056 1,875 181 92.5% no no--low occu. 
22 377 389 (12) 89.8% no no--no need 

Total VA 33,700 32,830 870 91.0%   

1 For conduct of the certificate of public need program, the Virginia Department of Health continues to recognize the former Planning District 20, Southeastern 
Virginia, and the former Planning District 21, Peninsula, rather than Planning District 23, Hampton Roads, which combined the former PD 20 and PD 21. 

Sources: Virginia State Medical Facilities Plan (12VAC5-230-610)  
Virginia Employment Commission (population projections, 2007 edition) 
2006 Virginia Nursing Home Patient Survey, Health Systems Agency of Northern Virginia (for age-specific nursing 
home use rates) 
Office of Licensure and Certification, VDH (for bed inventory) 

*Note to table: There are 90 authorized but uncompleted nursing home beds in PD 16 that are expected to be Medicaid-
certified. However, by virtue of provisions of HB 267 of the 2006 General Assembly (Chap. 816 of the 2006 Acts of 
Assembly), the existence of these uncompleted beds is not to keep PD 16 from being the subject of an RFA, if PD 16 otherwise 
qualifies for an RFA. Therefore, PD 16 is shown above as having no uncompleted beds expected to be certified for Medicaid. 
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Basis for Review. 

The Commissioner, in her review of COPN requests 
submitted pursuant to this RFA, will consider each of the 
eight factors enumerated in § 32.1-102.3 B of the Code of 
Virginia, as applicable. She will also consider applicable 
standards of the State Medical Facilities Plan (12VAC5-230-
600 et. seq.). 

Projection of Potential Fiscal Impact. 

The Department of Medical Assistance Services projects total 
additional expenditures for medical services provided to 
Medicaid recipients of approximately $4.29 million ($2.14 
million of Commonwealth general funds) for the fiscal year 
ending June 30, 2014, if all 150 beds included in this RFA are 
authorized and available for occupancy by July 1, 2013. This 
projection is based on the following principal assumptions: 

Average proportion of beds filled during FY 
2014 

90.69% 

Assumed Medicaid proportion of bed-days of 
service 

61.24% 

Average estimated payment rate per day (net of 
patient co-payments) 

$140.69 

Schedule for Review. 

COPN requests filed in response to this RFA must be filed in 
accordance with the provisions of 12VAC5-220-355. The 
review schedules shown below will apply. Letters of intent 
and applications must be received by the Virginia Department 
of Health Division of COPN and by the applicable regional 
health planning agency, if one is then in operation, by the 
dates shown below in order to qualify for consideration in the 
specified review cycle. 

Letter of intent must be received by (to be stated in the 
final notice). 

Application must be received by (to be stated in the final 
notice). 

Review cycle will begin on (to be stated in the final notice). 

Application Fees. 

The Virginia Department of Health shall collect fees for 
COPN applications filed in response to this RFA. No 
application may be deemed to be complete for review until 
the required application fee is paid. The fee is one percent of 
the proposed capital expenditure for the project, but not less 
than $1,000 or more than $20,000. 

STATE LOTTERY DEPARTMENT 

Director's Order 

The following Director's Orders of the State Lottery 
Department were filed with the Virginia Registrar of 
Regulations on April 1, 2010, and April 4, 2010. The orders 

may be viewed at the State Lottery Department, 900 East 
Main Street, Richmond, VA, or at the office of the Registrar 
of Regulations, 910 Capitol Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
VA. 

Director's Order Number Twenty-Five (10) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1177; "Quick Silver" Final 
Rules for Game Operation (effective May 4, 2010) 

Director's Order Number Twenty-Six (10) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1188; "$70 Million Payout 
Spectacular" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective May 
4, 2010) 

Director's Order Number Thirty-Four (10) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1173; "Muscle Car Money" 
Final Rules for Game Operation (effective May 4, 2010) 

Director's Order Number Forty-Five (10) 

Virginia Lottery's "Muscle Car Money Sweepstakes" Final 
Rules for Game Operation (effective May 4, 2010) 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Mailing Address: Virginia Code Commission, 910 Capitol 
Street, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 
Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed 

Beginning with Volume 26, Issue 1 of the Virginia Register 
of Regulations dated September 14, 2009, the Cumulative 
Table of Virginia Administrative Code Sections Adopted, 
Amended, or Repealed will no longer be published in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. The cumulative table may 
be accessed on the Virginia Register Online webpage at 
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/cumultab.htm. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations 

Agencies are required to use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) when filing regulations for publication in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. The Office of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations implemented a web-based application 
called RIS for filing regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register. The Registrar's office has 
worked closely with the Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) to coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory 
Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one 
another by sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

The Office of the Virginia Register is working toward the 
eventual elimination of the requirement that agencies file 
print copies of regulatory packages. Until that time, agencies 
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may file petitions for rulemaking, notices of intended 
regulatory actions and general notices in electronic form only; 
however, until further notice, agencies must continue to file 
print copies of proposed, final, fast-track and emergency 
regulatory packages. 

ERRATA 

STATE WATER CONTOL BOARD 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-31. Virginia Pollutant 
Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Permit 
Regulation. 

Publication: 26:11 VA.R. 1699-1735 February 1, 2010. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 1723, 9VAC25-31-130 C 5 f, line 2, after 
"subdivision 5" strike "f (1)" 

Page 1723, 9VAC25-31-130 C 5 i, change "i. Effect of 
certification." to "g. Effect of certification." 

VA.R. Doc. R10-2203; Filed May 11, 2010 
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