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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 
regulations. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 
provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 
any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 12 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
23:7 VA.R. 1023-1140 December 11, 2006, refers to Volume 23, Issue 
7, pages 1023 through 1140 of the Virginia Register issued on 
December 11, 2006. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, 
Chairman; William R. Janis, Vice Chairman; James M. LeMunyon; 
Ryan T. McDougle;  Robert L. Calhoun; Frank S. Ferguson; 
E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Jane M. Roush; 
Patricia L. West. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
June T. Chandler, Assistant Registrar. 
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

August 2010 through August 2011 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

26:25 July 28, 2010 August 16, 2010 

26:26 August 11, 2010 August 30, 2010 

27:1 August 25, 2010 September 13, 2010 

27:2 September 8, 2010 September 27, 2010 

27:3 September 22, 2010 October 11, 2010 

27:4 October 6, 2010 October 25, 2010 

27:5 October 20, 2010 November 8, 2010 

27:6 November 3, 2010 November 22, 2010 

27:7 November 16, 2010 (Tuesday) December 6, 2010 

27:8 December 1, 2010 December 20, 2010 

27:9 December 14, 2010 (Tuesday) January 3, 2011 

27:10 December 29, 2010 January 17, 2011 

27:11 January 12, 2011 January 31, 2011 

27:12 January 26, 2011 February 14, 2011 

27:13 February 9, 2011 February 28, 2011 

27:14 February 23, 2011 March 14, 2011 

27:15 March 9, 2011 March 28, 2011 

27:16 March 23, 2011 April 11, 2011 

27:17 April 6, 2011 April 25, 2011 

27:18 April 20, 2011 May 9, 2011 

27:19 May 4, 2011 May 23, 2011 

27:20 May 18, 2011 June 6, 2011 

27:21 June 1, 2011 June 20, 2011 

27:22 June 15, 2011 July 4, 2011 

27:23 June 29, 2011 July 18, 2011 

27:24 July 13, 2011 August 1, 2011 

27:25 July 27, 2011 August 15, 2011 

27:26 August 10, 2011 August 29, 2011 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC150-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Veterinary Medicine. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Elaine Sottile. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend regulations to 
prohibit a veterinarian from charging a fee to write a 
prescription; a written prescription is necessary for consumer 
to be able to obtain medicines from less costly sources. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reasons for Decision: The board does not 
regulate business practice or fees charged by veterinarians for 
services rendered, so it has denied the petition to prohibit 
charging a fee for writing a prescription. While most 
veterinarians do not typically impose a fee for writing a 
prescription separate from an examination fee, they would 
reserve the right to charge such a fee for fulfilling repeated 
requests without any other means of compensation. It is then 
the consumer's choice whether to accept the business practice 
of a particular veterinarian or seek care from another 
practitioner. 

Agency Contact: Leslie Knackel, Executive Director, Board 
of Veterinary Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4468, FAX (804) 
525-4471, or email leslie.knackel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-40; Filed July 21, 2010, 9:48 a.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

The State Board of Education has withdrawn the Notice of 
Intended Regulatory Action to repeal 8VAC20-670, 
Regulations Governing the Operation of Private Day 
Schools for Students with Disabilities, and promulgate 
8VAC20-671, Regulations Governing the Operation of 
Private Day Schools for Students with Disabilities and 
Educational Programs Offered in Group Homes and 
Residential Facilities in the Commonwealth, which was 
published 25:3 VA.R. 337 October 13, 2008. The board 
intends to issue an updated Notice of Intended Regulatory 
Action. 

Agency Contact: Dr. Margaret N. Roberts, Office of Policy & 
Communications, Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120, 
101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 225-2540, FAX (804) 225-2524, or email 
margaret.roberts@doe.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1552; Filed July 26, 2010, 1:36 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 11. GAMING 

VIRGINIA RACING COMMISSION 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

The Virginia Racing Commission has withdrawn the Notice 
of Intended Regulatory Action for 11VAC10-50, 
Regulations Pertaining to Horse Racing with Pari-Mutuel 
Wagering: Racing Officials, which was published 19:25 
VA.R. 3660 August 25, 2003. 

Agency Contact: David S. Lermond, Jr., Regulatory 
Coordinator, Virginia Racing Commission, 10700 
Horsemen's Lane, New Kent, VA 23024, telephone (804) 
966-7404, FAX (804) 966-7418, or email 
david.lermond@vrc.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R03-304; Filed July 19, 2010, 11:00 a.m.  

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

The Virginia Racing Commission has withdrawn the Notice 
of Intended Regulatory Action for 11VAC10-60, 
Regulations Pertaining to Horse Racing with Pari-Mutuel 
Wagering: Participants, which was published 19:25 VA.R. 
3660 August 25, 2003. 

Agency Contact: David S. Lermond, Jr., Regulatory 
Coordinator, Virginia Racing Commission, 10700 
Horsemen's Lane, New Kent, VA 23024, telephone (804) 

966-7404, FAX (804) 966-7418, or email 
david.lermond@vrc.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R03-305; Filed July 19, 2010, 11:00 a.m.  

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

The Virginia Racing Commission has withdrawn the Notice 
of Intended Regulatory Action for 11VAC10-60, 
Regulations Pertaining to Horse Racing with Pari-Mutuel 
Wagering: Participants, which was published 25:25 VA.R. 
4372 August 17, 2009. The amendments to increase permit 
holder fees were adopted in a separate action. 

Agency Contact: David S. Lermond, Jr., Regulatory 
Coordinator, Virginia Racing Commission, 10700 
Horsemen's Lane, New Kent, VA 23024, telephone (804) 
966-7404, FAX (804) 966-7418, or email 
david.lermond@vrc.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1942; Filed July 19, 2010, 11:00 a.m.  

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

The Virginia Racing Commission has withdrawn the Notice 
of Intended Regulatory Action for 11VAC10-70, 
Regulations Pertaining to Horse Racing with Pari-Mutuel 
Wagering: Stewards (Period of Authority), which was 
published 19:11 VA.R. 1563 February 10, 2003. 

Agency Contact: David S. Lermond, Jr., Regulatory 
Coordinator, Virginia Racing Commission, 10700 
Horsemen's Lane, New Kent, VA 23024, telephone (804) 
966-7404, FAX (804) 966-7418, or email 
david.lermond@vrc.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R03-116; Filed July 19, 2010, 11:00 a.m.  

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

The Virginia Racing Commission has withdrawn the Notice 
of Intended Regulatory Action for 11VAC10-70, 
Regulations Pertaining to Horse Racing with Pari-Mutuel 
Wagering: Stewards, which was published 19:25 VA.R. 
3661 August 25, 2003. 

Agency Contact: David S. Lermond, Jr., Regulatory 
Coordinator, Virginia Racing Commission, 10700 
Horsemen's Lane, New Kent, VA 23024, telephone (804) 
966-7404, FAX (804) 966-7418, or email 
david.lermond@vrc.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R03-306; Filed July 19, 2010, 11:00 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to 
consider amending the following regulation: 12VAC5-481, 
Virginia Radiation Protection Regulations. The purpose of 
the proposed action is to update regulations for X-ray and 
therapeutic radiation machines. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-229 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 15, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Leslie Foldesi, MS, CHP, Director, Division 
of Radiological Health, Department of Health, 109 Governor 
St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-8151, FAX 
(804) 864-8155, or email les.foldesi@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2412; Filed July 15, 2010, 2:57 p.m.  

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

The State Board of Health has withdrawn the Notice of 
Intended Regulatory Action for 12VAC5-507, Guidelines 
for General Assembly Nursing Scholarships and Loan 
Repayment Program Requiring Service in a Long-Term 
Care Facility, and 12VAC5-510, Guidelines for General 
Assembly Nursing Scholarships, which was published 
17:11 VA.R. 1828 February 12, 2001. 

A new Notice of Intended Regulatory Action is published 
concurrently in this issue of the Register for 12VAC5-507 to 
provide details on the implementation of a loan and 
scholarship program for nurses that would require, in return, 
an individual's service in a long-term care facility. 

Agency Contact: Aileen Edwards Harris, M.S.A., Rural 
Health and Workforce Programs Manager, Virginia 
Department of Health, Office of Minority Health and Public 
Health Policy,109 Governor Street, Suite 1016-East, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7436. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R01-97; Filed July 21, 2010, 3:19 p.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to 
consider promulgating the following regulation: 12VAC5-
507, Nursing Scholarships and Loan Repayment Program 
Requiring Service in a Long-Term Care Facility. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to provide details on the 
implementation of a loan and scholarship program for nurses 
that would require, in return, an individual's service in a long-
term care facility. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-122.6:01 and 54.1-3011.2 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 15, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Aileen Harris, Department of Health, 109 
Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-
7436, or email aileen.harris@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-1890; Filed July 15, 2010, 3:00 p.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to 
consider amending the following regulation: 12VAC5-540, 
Rules and Regulations for the Identification of Medically 
Underserved Areas in Virginia. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to update the process for determining 
medically underserved areas in Virginia so that more timely 
and accurate computations will result. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-122.5 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 15, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Kenneth Studer, Department of Health, 109 
Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-
7428, or email ken.studer@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2199; Filed July 15, 2010, 3:01 p.m.  

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Behavioral 
Health and Developmental Services intends to consider 
amending the following regulation: 12VAC35-105, Rules 
and Regulations for the Licensing of Providers of Mental 
Health, Mental Retardation, Substance Abuse, the 
Individual and Family Developmental Disabilities 
Support Waiver, and Residential Brain Injury Services. 
The purpose of the proposed action is to allow the 
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services to establish and collect fees for the licensing services 
offered by the department. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 37.2-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 15, 2010. 
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Agency Contact: Les Saltzberg, Director, Office of Licensing, 
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services, 1220 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-1747, FAX (804) 371-0092, or email 
les.saltzberg@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2275; Filed July 16, 2010, 12:29 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Funeral Directors and 
Embalmers intends to consider amending the following 
regulations: 18VAC65-20, Regulations of the Board of 
Funeral Directors and Embalmers, and 18VAC65-40, 
Regulations for the Funeral Service Internship Program. 
The purpose of the proposed action is to consider an increase 
in fees charged to regulants to meet its statutory responsibility 
to have sufficient revenue to offset expenses. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 15, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Lisa Russell Hahn, Executive Director, 
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 9960 Mayland 
Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone 
(804) 367-4424, FAX (804) 527-4637, or email 
lisa.hahn@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2522; Filed July 19, 2010, 3:20 p.m.  

BOARD OF LONG-TERM CARE ADMINISTRATORS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Long-Term Care 
Administrators intends to consider amending the following 
regulations: 18VAC95-20, Regulations Governing the 
Practice of Nursing Home Administrators, and 18VAC95-
30, Regulations Governing the Practice of Assisted Living 
Facility Administrators. The purpose of the proposed action 
is to consider an increase in fees charged to applicants and 
licensees to have sufficient revenue to offset increased 
expenditures. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 15, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Lisa Russell Hahn, Executive Director, 
Board of Long-Term Care Administrators, 9960 Mayland 
Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone 
(804) 367-4595, FAX (804) 527-4413, or email 
ltc@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2364; Filed July 19, 2010, 4:23 p.m.  

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Optometry intends to 
consider amending the following regulation: 18VAC105-20, 
Regulations Governing the Practice of Optometry. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to consider an increase in 
fees charged to licensees to meet its statutory responsibility to 
have sufficient revenue to cover expenditures. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 15, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 
Board of Optometry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4508, FAX (804) 
527-4466, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2523; Filed July 19, 2010, 3:21 p.m.  

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Social Work intends to 
consider amending the following regulation: 18VAC140-20, 
Regulations Governing the Practice of Social Work. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to consider an increase in 
fees and a change from a biennial to an annual renewal. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 15, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, 
Board of Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4488, FAX 
(804) 527-4435, or email evelyn.brown@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2391; Filed July 19, 2010, 4:26 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

COMMISSION ON THE VIRGINIA ALCOHOL SAFETY 
ACTION PROGRAM 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

The Commission on the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action 
Program has withdrawn the Notice of Intended Regulatory 
Action for 24VAC35-50, VASAP Training and Accrediting 
Manual, which was published 25:9 VAR 1679 January 5, 
2009. 

Agency Contact: Richard L. Foy, Technical Instructor, 
Commission on the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program, 
701 East Franklin Street, Suite 1110, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-5895, FAX (804) 786-6286, or email 
rfoy.vasap@state.va.us. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1670; Filed July 20, 2010, 12:46 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESOURCE 
MANAGEMENT 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 
exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance 
with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, which 
excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 
requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 
regulations do not differ materially from those required by 
federal law or regulation. The Department of Human 
Resource Management will receive, consider, and respond to 
petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC55-20. Commonwealth of 
Virginia Health Benefits Program (amending 1VAC55-20-
20, 1VAC55-20-320). 

Statutory Authority: § 2.2-2818 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 16, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Charles Reed, Associate Director, 
Department of Human Resource Management, 101 North 
Fourteenth Street, 13th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-3124, FAX (804) 371-0231, or email 
charles.reed@dhrm.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

These amendments increase the limiting age of adult 
dependent children from age 23 to age 26 and remove any 
residency and employee financial support requirements 
that currently apply to otherwise eligible adult children. 

These provisions go into effect the first day of the plan 
years following September 23, 2010. Thus, for The Local 
Choice (TLC) plans the effective date will be October 1, 
2010, for some school groups, and July 1, 2010, for the 
remainder of the TLC plans. The effective date will be July 
1, 2011, for the health benefits plan for state employees. 

Part I  
General  

1VAC55-20-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Accident or health plan" means a plan described in the 
Internal Revenue Code § 105.  

"Administrative services arrangement" means an 
arrangement whereby a third party administrator agrees to 
administer all or part of the health benefits program.  

"Adoption agreement" means an agreement executed 
between a local employer and the department specifying the 
terms and conditions of the local employer's participation in 
the health benefits program.  

"Alternative health benefits plans" means optional medical 
benefits plans, inclusive of but not limited to HMOs and 
PPOs, which are offered pursuant to the health benefits 
program in addition to the basic statewide plan(s).  

"Basic statewide plan(s)" means the statewide 
hospitalization, medical and major medical plan offered at a 
uniform rate to all state employees pursuant to § 2.2-2818 of 
the Code of Virginia.  

"Benefits administrator" means the person or office 
designated in the application and adoption agreement to be 
responsible for the day-to-day administration of the health 
benefits program at the local level. The benefits administrator 
is an employee of the agency or local employer that employs 
the benefits administrator. The benefits administrator is not 
an agent of the health insurance plan or the Department of 
Human Resource Management.  

"Coordinated service" means a health care service or supply 
covered under both the program and another health plan. The 
coordinated service will be provided under the program only 
to the extent it is not excluded or limited under the program.  

"Coordination of benefits" means the establishment of a 
priority between two or more underwriters which provide 
health benefits protection covering the same claims incident.  

"Department" means the Department of Human Resource 
Management.  

"Dependent" means any person who is determined to be an 
eligible family member of an employee pursuant to 
subsection E of 1VAC55-20-320.  

"Director" means the Director of the Department of Human 
Resource Management.  

"Dual membership" means the coverage in the health 
benefits program of the employee and either the spouse or 
one dependent. This definition does not include coverage of 
retirees or employees or their spouses who are otherwise 
covered by Medicare.  
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"Effective date of coverage" means the date on which a 
participant is enrolled for benefits under a plan or plans 
elected under the health benefits program.  

"Employee" means a person employed by an employer 
participating in the health benefits program or, where 
demanded by the context of this chapter, a retired employee 
of such an employer. The term "employee" shall include state 
employees and employees of local employers.  

"Employee health insurance fund" or "health insurance 
funds" means accounts established by the state treasury and 
maintained by the department within which contributions to 
the plan shall be deposited.  

"Employer" means the entity with whom a person maintains 
a common law employee-employer relationship. The term 
"employer" is inclusive of each state agency and of a local 
employer.  

"Employer application" or "application" means the form, to 
be provided by the department, to be used by the local 
employer for applying to participate in the health benefits 
program.  

"Enrollment action" means providing the information, which 
would otherwise be contained on an enrollment form, through 
an alternative means such as through the world wide web or 
through an interactive voice response system, for the purpose 
of securing or changing membership or coverage in the 
employee health benefits program. Submitting a properly 
completed enrollment form and taking an enrollment action 
through an employee self-service system are used 
interchangeably to indicate equivalent actions.  

"Enrollment form" means the form, to be provided by the 
department, to be used by participants to enroll in a plan or to 
indicate a change in coverage.  

"Experience adjustment" means the adjustment determined 
by the department, consistent with its actuarial practices, to 
premiums for the year in which a local employer withdraws 
from the plan.  

"Family membership" means the coverage in the health 
benefits program of the employee and two or more eligible 
dependents.  

"Health Maintenance Organization" or "HMO" means an 
entity created under federal law, "The Health Maintenance 
Organization Act of 1973" (Title XIII of the Public Health 
Service Act), as amended, or one defined under state law.  

"Health benefits program" or "program" means, individually 
or collectively, the plan or plans the department may establish 
pursuant to §§ 2.2-1204 and 2.2-2818 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

"Health plan" means:  

1. A plan or program offering benefits for, or as a result of, 
any type of health care service when it is:  

a. Group or blanket insurance (including school 
insurance programs);  

b. Blue Cross, Blue Shield, group practice (including 
HMOs and PPOs), individual practice (including IPAs), 
or any other prepayment arrangement (including this 
program) when;  

(1) An employer contributes any portion of the premium; 
or  

(2) An employer contracts for the group coverage on 
behalf of employees; or  

(3) It is any labor-management trustee plan, union 
welfare plan, employer organization plan, or employee 
benefit organization plan.  

2. The term "health plan" refers to each plan or program 
separately. It also refers to any portion of a plan or 
program which reserves the right to take into account 
benefits of other health plans when determining its own 
benefits. If a health plan has a coordination of benefits 
provision which applies to only part of its services, the 
terms of this section will be applied separately to that part 
and to any other part.  

3. A prepaid health care services contract or accident or 
health plan meeting all the following conditions is not a 
health plan:  

a. One that is individually underwritten;  

b. One that is individually issued;  

c. One that provides only for accident and sickness 
benefits; and  

d. One that is paid for entirely by the subscriber.  

A contract or policy of the type described in this subdivision 
3 is not subject to coordination of benefits.  

"Impartial health entity" means an organization, which upon 
written request from the Department of Human Resource 
Management examines the adverse health benefits claim 
decision made by the Commonwealth's Third Party 
Administrator (TPA). The impartial health entity should 
determine whether the TPA's decision is objective, clinically 
valid, compatible with established principles of health care, 
and appropriate under the terms of the contractual obligations 
to the covered person.  

"Insured arrangement" means an accident or health plan 
underwritten by an insurance company wherein the 
department's only obligation as it may relate to claims is the 
payment of insurance company premiums.  
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"Independent hearing officer" means an individual requested 
by the director of the department from a list maintained by the 
Executive Secretary of the Supreme Court to arbitrate 
disputes which may arise in conjunction with these 
regulations or the health benefits program.  

"Local employees" or "employees of local governments" 
means all officers and employees of the governing body of 
any county, city, or town, and the directing or governing body 
of any political entity, subdivision, branch, or unit of the 
Commonwealth or of any commission or public authority or 
body corporate created by or under an act of the General 
Assembly specifying the power or powers, privileges or 
authority capable of exercise by the commission or public 
authority or body corporate, as distinguished from §§ 15.2-
1300, 15.2-1303 or similar statutes, provided that the officers 
and employees of a social services department, welfare board, 
mental health and mental retardation services board, or library 
board of a county, city, or town shall be deemed to be the 
employees of local government.  

"Local employer" means any county, city, or town, school 
board, and the directing or governing body of any political 
entity, subdivision, branch or unit of the Commonwealth or of 
any commission or public authority or body corporate created 
by or under an act of the General Assembly specifying the 
power or powers, privileges or authority capable of exercise 
by the commission or public authority or body corporate, as 
distinguished from §§ 15.2-1300, 15.2-1303 of the Code of 
Virginia, or similar statutes. 

"Local officer" means the treasurer, registrar, commissioner 
of revenue, attorney for the Commonwealth, clerk of a circuit 
court, sheriff, or constable of any county or city or deputies or 
employees of any of the preceding local officers.  

"Local retiree" means a former local employee who has met 
the terms and conditions for early, normal or late retirement 
from a local employer.  

"Open enrollment" means the period during which an 
employee may elect to commence, to waive or to change 
membership or plans offered pursuant to the health benefits 
program.  

"Part-time employee," as defined by each local employer, 
means an employee working less than full time whom a local 
employer has determined to be eligible to participate in the 
program. The conditions of participation for these employees 
shall be decided by the local employer in a nondiscriminatory 
manner.  

"Participant" means any person actively enrolled and 
covered by the health benefits program "Participants" means 
individuals covered by the plan due to their relationship with 
the employer. They are not covered as dependents under the 
plan. 

"Plan administrator" means the department.  

"Preferred provider organization" or "PPO" means an entity 
through which a group of health care providers, such as 
doctors, hospitals and others, agree to provide specific 
medical and hospital care and some related services at a 
negotiated price.  

"Preexisting condition" means a condition which, in the 
opinion of the plan's medical advisors, displayed signs or 
symptoms before the participant's effective date of coverage. 
These signs or symptoms must be ones of which the 
participant was aware or should reasonably have been aware. 
The condition is considered preexisting whether or not the 
participant was seen or treated for the condition. It is also 
considered preexisting whether or not the signs and 
symptoms of the condition were correctly diagnosed.  

"Primary coverage" means the health plan which will 
provide benefits first. It does not matter whether or not a 
claim has been filed for benefits with the primary health plan.  

"Retiree" means any person who meets the definition of 
either a state retiree or a local retiree.  

"Secondary coverage" means the health plan under which 
the benefits may be reduced to prevent duplicate or 
overlapping coverage.  

"Self-funded arrangement" means a facility through which 
the plan sponsor agrees to assume the risk associated with the 
type of benefit provided without using an insurance company.  

"Single membership" means coverage of the employee only 
under the health benefits program.  

"State" means the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

"State agency" means a court, department, institution, office, 
board, council, or other unit of state government located in 
the legislative, judicial or executive departments or group of 
independent agencies, as shown in the Appropriation Act, and 
which is designated in the Appropriation Act by title and a 
three-digit agency code.  

"State employee" means any person who is regularly 
employed full time on a salaried basis, whose tenure is not 
restricted as to temporary or provisional appointment, in the 
service of, and whose compensation is payable, no more often 
than biweekly, in whole or in part, by the Commonwealth or 
any department, institution, or agency thereof. "State 
employee" shall include the Governor, Lieutenant Governor, 
Attorney General, and members of the General Assembly. It 
includes "judge" as defined in § 51.1-301 of the Code of 
Virginia and judges, clerks and deputy clerks of regional 
juvenile and domestic relations, county juvenile and domestic 
relations, and district courts of the Commonwealth.  

"State retiree" means a former state employee who has met 
the terms and conditions for early, normal or late retirement 
from the Commonwealth.  
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"Teacher" means any employee of a county, city, or other 
local public school board.  

Part IV  
Employee Participation  

1VAC55-20-320. Eligible employees.  

A. State employees.  

1. Full-time salaried, classified employees and faculty as 
defined in 1VAC55-20-20 are eligible for membership in 
the health benefits program. A full-time salaried employee 
is one who is scheduled to work at least 32 hours per week 
or carries a faculty teaching load considered to be full time 
at his institution.  

2. Certain full-time employees in auxiliary enterprises 
(such as food services, bookstores, laundry services, etc.) 
at the University of Virginia, Virginia Military Institute 
and the College of William and Mary as well as other state 
institutions of higher learning are also considered state 
employees even though they do not receive a salaried state 
paycheck. The Athletic Department of Virginia 
Polytechnic Institute and State University is an example of 
a local auxiliary whose members are eligible for the 
program.  

3. Certain full-time employees of the Medical College of 
Virginia Hospital Authority are eligible for the program as 
long as they are on the authority's payroll and were 
enrolled in the program on November 1, 1996. They may 
have payroll deductions for health benefits premiums even 
if they rotate to the Veterans' Administration Hospital or 
other acute care facility.  

4. Other employees identified in the Code of Virginia as 
eligible for the program.  

5. Classified positions include employees who are fully 
covered by the Virginia Personnel Act, employees 
excluded from the Virginia Personnel Act by subdivision 
16 of § 2.2-2905 of the Code of Virginia, and employees 
on a restricted appointment. A restricted appointment is a 
classified appointment to a position that is funded at least 
10% from gifts, grants, donations, or other sources that are 
not identifiable as continuing in nature. An employee on a 
restricted appointment must receive a state paycheck in 
order to be eligible.  

B. Local employees.  

1. Full-time employees of participating local employers are 
eligible to participate in the program. A full-time employee 
is one who meets the definition set forth by the local 
employer in the employer application.  

2. Part-time employees of local employers may participate 
in the plan if the local employer elects and the election 
does not discriminate among part-time employees. In order 
for the local employer to cover part-time employees, the 

local employer must provide to the department a definition 
of what constitutes a part-time employee.  

The department reserves the right to establish a separate 
plan for part-time employees.  

C. Unavailability of employer-sponsored coverage.  

1. Employees, officers, and teachers without access to 
employer-sponsored health care coverage may participate 
in the plan. The employers of such employees, officers, 
and teachers must apply for participation and certify that 
other employer-sponsored health care coverage is not 
available. The employers shall collect contributions from 
such individuals and timely remit them to the department 
or its designee, act as a channel of communication with the 
covered employee and otherwise assist the department as 
may be necessary. The employer shall act as fiduciary with 
respect to such contributions and shall be responsible for 
any interest or other charges imposed by the department in 
accordance with these regulations.  

2. Local employees living outside the service area of the 
plan offered by their local employer shall not be 
considered as local employees whose local employers do 
not offer a health benefits plan. For example, a local 
employee who lives in North Carolina and works in 
Virginia may live outside the service area of the HMO 
offered by his employer; however, he may not join the 
program individually.  

3. Employer sponsorship of a health benefits plan will be 
broadly construed. For example, an employer will be 
deemed to sponsor health care coverage for purposes of 
this section and 1VAC55-20-260 if it utilizes § 125 of the 
Internal Revenue Code or any similar provision to allow 
employees, officers, or teachers to contribute their portion 
of the health care contribution on a pretax basis.  

4. Individual employees and dependents who are eligible to 
join the program under the provisions of this subsection 
must meet all of the eligibility requirements pertaining to 
state employees except the identity of the employer.  

D. Retirees.  

1. Retirees are not eligible to enroll in the state retiree 
health benefits group outside of the opportunities provided 
in this section.  

2. Retirees are eligible for membership in the state retiree 
group if a completed enrollment form is received within 31 
days of separation for retirement. Retirees who remain in 
the health benefits group through a spouse's state employee 
membership may enroll in the retiree group at one of three 
later times: (i) future open enrollment, (ii) within 31 days 
of a qualifying mid-year event, or (iii) within 31 days of 
being removed from the active state employee spouse's 
membership.  
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3. Membership in the retiree group may be provided to an 
employee's spouse or dependents who were covered in the 
active employee group at the time of the employee's death 
in service.  

4. Retirees who have attained the age of 65 or are 
otherwise covered or eligible for Medicare may enroll in 
certain plans as determined by the department provided 
that they apply for such coverage within 31 days of their 
separation from active service for retirement. Medicare 
will be the primary payor and the program shall serve as a 
supplement to Medicare's coverage.  

5. Retirees who are ineligible for Medicare must apply for 
coverage within 31 days of their separation from active 
service for retirement. In order to receive coverage, the 
individual must meet the retirement requirements of his 
employer and receive an immediate annuity.  

6. Local employers may offer retiree coverage at their 
option.  

E. Dependents.  

1. The following family members may be covered if the 
employee elects:  

a. The employee's spouse.  

The marriage must be recognized as legal in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia.  

b. Children. Under the health benefits program, the 
following eligible children may be covered to the end of 
the year in which they turn age 23 regardless of student 
status 26 (age requirement is waived for adult 
incapacitated children), if the child lives at home or is 
away at school, is not married and receives over one-half 
of his support from the employee.: 

(1) Natural and children, adopted children, or children 
placed for adoption. In the case of natural or adopted 
children, living at home may mean living with the other 
parent if the employee is divorced.  

Also, if the biological parents are divorced, the support 
test is met if a natural or adopted child receives over one-
half of his support from either parent or a combination of 
support from both parents. However, in order for the 
noncustodial parent to cover the child, the noncustodial 
parent must be entitled to claim the child as a dependent 
on his federal income tax return, or the custodial parent 
must sign a written declaration that he will not claim the 
child as a dependent on his federal income tax return.  

(2) Stepchildren. Unmarried stepchildren living with the 
employee in a parent-child relationship. However, 
stepchildren may not be covered as a dependent unless 
their principal place of residence is with the employee 
and the child is a member of the employee's household. 
A stepchild must receive over one-half of his support 

from the employee A stepchild is the natural or legally 
adopted child of the participant's legal spouse. Such 
marriage must be recognized by the Commonwealth of 
Virginia.  

(3) Incapacitated children. Adult children who are 
incapacitated due to a physical or mental health 
condition, as long as the child was covered by the plan 
and the incapacitation existed prior to the termination of 
coverage due to the child attaining the limiting age. The 
employee must make written application, along with 
proof of incapacitation, prior to the child reaching the 
limiting age. Such extension of coverage must be 
approved by the plan and is subject to periodic review. 
Should the plan find that the child no longer meets the 
criteria for coverage as an incapacitated child, the child's 
coverage will be terminated at the end of the month 
following notification from the plan to the enrollee. The 
child must live with the employee as a member of the 
employee's household and be dependent upon the 
employee for financial support. In the case of a divorce, 
living with the spouse will satisfy the condition of living 
with the employee. Furthermore, the support test is met if 
either the employee or spouse or combination of the 
employee and spouse provide over one half of the child's 
financial support. 

Adult incapacitated children of new employees may also 
be covered, provided that:  

(a) The enrollment form is submitted within 31 days of 
hire;  

(b) The child has been covered continuously by group 
employer coverage since the disability first occurred; and  

(c) The disability commenced prior to the child attaining 
the limiting age of the plan.  

The enrollment form must be accompanied by a letter 
from a physician explaining the nature of the 
incapacitation, date of onset and certifying that the 
dependent is not capable of self-support. This extension 
of coverage must be approved by the plan in which the 
employee is enrolled.  

(4) Other children. A child in which a court has ordered 
the employee to assume sole permanent custody. The 
principal place of residence must be with the employee, 
and the child must a member of the employee's 
household.  

Additionally, if the employee or spouse shares custody 
with the minor child who is the parent of the "other 
child," then the other child may be covered. The other 
child, the parent of the other child, and the spouse who 
has custody must be living in the same household as the 
employee.  
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When a child loses eligibility, coverage terminates at the 
end of the month in which the event that causes the loss 
of eligibility occurs.  

There are certain categories of persons who may not be 
covered as dependents under the program. These include 
dependent siblings, grandchildren, nieces, and nephews 
except where the criteria for "other children" are satisfied. 
Parents, grandparents, aunts, and uncles are not eligible for 
coverage regardless of dependency status.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2476; Filed July 27, 2010, 11:25 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-540. Rules and Regulations 
Pertaining to Carbonated and Still Water Bottling Plants 
and Beverages (repealing 2VAC5-540-10 through 2VAC5-
540-70). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 3.2-5101 and 3.2-5121 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

September 30, 2010 - 2 p.m. - Department of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services, 102 Governor Street, 2nd Floor, 
Board Room, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: October 15, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Ryan Davis, Program Manager, Office of 
Dairy and Foods, Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 786-8910, FAX (804) 371-7792, TTY (800) 828-1120, 
or email ryan.davis@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Sections 3.2-5101 and 3.2-5121 of the Code of 
Virginia authorize the Board of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services to adopt regulations, as needed, for the efficient 
enforcement of the Virginia Food Laws. 

Purpose: It is proposed that these regulations be rescinded to 
resolve the issue of duplicative requirements as the 
requirements of the subject regulation already exist in the 
Virginia Food Laws. The requirements ensure that 
establishments that process carbonated and still water 
beverages do so in a manner that renders the food or drink 
safe and unadulterated. Since the requirements of this 
regulation are already enforced via the Virginia Food Laws, 
their repeal will not negatively impact the health, safety, or 
welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth. 

Substance: Substantive changes will be the repeal of these 
regulations. Requirements relating to the facility, sanitation, 
restrooms, and infectious diseases have already been 
incorporated into the Virginia Food Laws. 

Issues: The primary advantage of this action to repeal the 
regulation is to eliminate duplicative requirements. The 
elimination of these requirements, which are already part of 
the Virginia Food Laws, will result in the elimination of 
potential confusion regarding regulatory requirements relative 
to certain food establishments. Elimination of duplicative 
provisions will also result in more efficient enforcement of 
requirements relating to food safety by agents of the 
Commonwealth, and positively impact the public, the food 
industry, and the Commonwealth. There do not appear to be 
any disadvantages to this particular action. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 
(VDACS) proposes to repeal these regulations. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Almost all elements of these 
regulations are included in the Virginia Food Laws (Title 3.2, 
Chapter 51 of the Code of Virginia). One exception is the 
regulatory requirement for a separate syrup room. According 
to VDACS separate syrup rooms are not necessary to 
maintain sanitary conditions. Since requiring a separate syrup 
room can increase costs for firms and there is essentially no 
benefit to the requirement, eliminating this requirement with 
the proposed repeal of the regulations will produce a net 
benefit. Eliminating regulations that are duplicative of the 
Code of Virginia will have no impact beyond reducing 
potential future confusion when and if the Virginia Food 
Laws are amended. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
affect the 42 carbonated and still water bottling firms in 
Virginia.1 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the 
use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
amendments are unlikely to significantly affect small 
businesses. 
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Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments are unlikely to 
significantly affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect real estate development 
costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 
(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 

__________________________ 
1 Data Source: Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The agency concurs 
with the analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

This regulation provides basic requirements for 
carbonated and still water bottling plants. The repeal of 
this regulation is requested because the essential elements 
of the regulation have already been incorporated into the 
Virginia Food Laws, Chapter 51 (§ 3.2-5100 et seq.) of 
Title 3.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-2088; Filed July 16, 2010, 4:12 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Education is 
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to 
changes in Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion 
is involved. The State Board of Educatin will receive, 
consider, and respond to petitions from any interested person 
at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-131. Regulations Establishing 
Standards for Accrediting Public Schools in Virginia 
(amending 8VAC20-131-360).  

Statutory Authority: § 22.1-253.13:3 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 15, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Anne Wescott, Assistant Superintendent, 
Policy and Communications, Department of Education, P.O. 
Box 2120, Richmond, VA 23218-2120, telephone (804) 225-
2403, FAX (804) 225-2524, or email 
anne.wescott@doe.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments delay the effective date of these 
regulations, with the exception of the Graduation and 
Completion Index prescribed in 8VAC20-131-280 and 
8VAC20-131-300 and the other provisions of the 
regulations already in effect, until the 2011-2012 school 
year, pursuant to Chapter 378 of the 2010 Acts of the 
Assembly. 

8VAC20-131-360. Effective date. 

The provisions in 8VAC20-131-30 B relating to double 
testing and the provisions in 8VAC20-131-60 C relating to 
Virtual Virginia shall become effective July 31, 2009. 
Schools with a graduating class shall meet prescribed 
thresholds on a graduation and completion rate index as 
prescribed in 8VAC20-131-280 and 8VAC20-131-300 for 
accreditation ratings earned in 2010-2011 and awarded in 
2011-2012. Unless otherwise specified, the remainder of 
these regulations shall be effective beginning with the 2010-
2011 2011-2012 academic year. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2501; Filed July 20, 2010, 2:39 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-580. Underground Storage 
Tanks: Technical Standards and Corrective Action 
Requirements (amending 9VAC25-580-10, 9VAC25-580-
20, 9VAC25-580-50, 9VAC25-580-120, 9VAC25-580-130, 
9VAC25-580-140; adding 9VAC25-580-125, 9VAC25-580-
370). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 62.1-44.15 and 62.1-44.34:9 of the 
Code of Virginia; 40 CFR Parts 280 and 281. 

Effective Date: September 15, 2010.  

Agency Contact: Russell Ellison, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4269, FAX (804) 
698-4266, or email russell.ellison@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to the requirements of the federal Energy Policy 
Act of 2005, the regulation is amended to accomplish the 
following: (i) require secondary containment of all new 
and replacement underground storage tanks (USTs) and 
associated piping within 1,000 feet of an existing 
community water system (this includes the piping 
distribution system) or other potable drinking water well; 
(ii) develop criteria for determining what tanks are 
ineligible for petroleum delivery, the methods for marking 
the tanks, providing notice to owners/operators and 
delivery companies that the tanks are ineligible, and 
reclassifying ineligible tanks as eligible; and (iii) require 
training for certain classes of UST operators. The goal of 
the amendments is to reduce the number and severity of 
petroleum leaks from UST systems by strengthening 
pollution prevention requirements and encouraging UST 
owners and operators to maintain compliant UST systems.  

Since publication of the proposal, 9VAC25-580-125 has 
been modified to clarify when a deliverer is responsible for 
delivering to an ineligible tank, and, in 9VAC25-580-370, 
the requirement for certain operators to be on site within 
24 hours and the time frame for retention of training 
records has been modified. 

The full text of this new federal legislation can be found at 
http://www.epa.gov/oust/fedlaws/nrg05_01.htm. This 
action consolidates two Notices of Intended Regulatory 
Action: Amendment Regarding Operator Training for 
Owners and Operators (24:14 VA.R. 1887 March 17, 
2008) and Incorporation of Requirements of Federal 
Energy Policy Act of 2005 (23:25 VA.R. 4100 August 20, 
2007). 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part I  
Definitions, Applicability and Interim Prohibition  

9VAC25-580-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Aboveground release" means any release to the surface of 
the land or to surface water. This includes, but is not limited 
to, releases from the aboveground portion of a UST system 
and aboveground releases associated with overfills and 
transfer operations as the regulated substance moves to or 
from a UST system. 

"Ancillary equipment" means any devices including, but not 
limited to, such devices as piping, fittings, flanges, valves, 
and pumps used to distribute, meter, or control the flow of 
regulated substances to and from an UST. 

"Below ground release" means any release to the subsurface 
of the land and to ground water. This includes, but is not 
limited to, releases from the belowground portions of an 
underground storage tank system and belowground releases 
associated with overfills and transfer operations as the 
regulated substance moves to or from an underground storage 
tank. 

"Beneath the surface of the ground" means beneath the 
ground surface or otherwise covered with earthen materials. 

"Board" means the State Water Control Board. 

"Building official" means the executive official of the local 
government building department empowered by § 36-105 of 
the Code of Virginia to enforce and administer the Virginia 
Uniform Statewide Building Code (USBC). 

"Cathodic protection" is a technique to prevent corrosion of 
a metal surface by making that surface the cathode of an 
electrochemical cell. For example, a tank system can be 
cathodically protected through the application of either 
galvanic anodes or impressed current.  

"Cathodic protection tester" means a person who can 
demonstrate an understanding of the principles and 
measurements of all common types of cathodic protection 
systems as applied to buried or submerged metal piping and 
tank systems. At a minimum, such persons must have 
education and experience in soil resistivity, stray current, 
structure-to-soil potential, and component electrical isolation 
measurements of buried metal piping and tank systems.  



Regulations 

Volume 26, Issue 25 Virginia Register of Regulations August 16, 2010 

2826 

"CERCLA" means the Comprehensive Environmental 
Response, Compensation, and Liability Act of 1980, as 
amended (42 USC § 9601 et seq.). 

"Compatible" means the ability of two or more substances to 
maintain their respective physical and chemical properties 
upon contact with one another for the design life of the tank 
system under conditions likely to be encountered in the UST. 

"Community water system" means a public water system 
that serves at least 15 service connections used by year-round 
residents or regularly serves at least 25 year-round residents. 

"Connected piping" means all underground piping including 
valves, elbows, joints, flanges, and flexible connectors 
attached to a tank system through which regulated substances 
flow. For the purpose of determining how much piping is 
connected to any individual UST system, the piping that joins 
two UST systems should be allocated equally between them.  

"Corrosion expert" means a person who, by reason of 
thorough knowledge of the physical sciences and the 
principles of engineering and mathematics acquired by a 
professional education and related practical experience, is 
qualified to engage in the practice of corrosion control on 
buried or submerged metal piping systems and metal tanks. 
Such a person must be accredited or certified as being 
qualified by the National Association of Corrosion Engineers 
or be a registered professional engineer who has certification 
or licensing that includes education and experience in 
corrosion control of buried or submerged metal piping 
systems and metal tanks.  

"De minimis" means trivial and beyond the intent of 
regulation, as that term is used at 53 Fed. Reg. 37108-37109. 

"Delivery prohibition" is prohibiting the delivery, deposit, or 
acceptance of product to an underground storage tank system 
that has been determined to be ineligible by the board for 
such delivery, deposit, or acceptance. 

"Delivery prohibition tag" means a tag, device, or 
mechanism on the tank's fill pipes that clearly identifies an 
underground storage tank system as ineligible for product 
delivery. The tag or device is easily visible to the product 
deliverer and clearly states and conveys that it is unlawful to 
deliver to, deposit into, or accept product into the ineligible 
underground storage tank system. The tag, device, or 
mechanism is generally tamper resistant. 

"Dielectric material" means a material that does not conduct 
direct electrical current. Dielectric coatings are used to 
electrically isolate UST systems from the surrounding soils. 
Dielectric bushings are used to electrically isolate portions of 
the UST system (e.g., tank from piping).  

"Director" means the director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality.  

"Electrical equipment" means underground equipment that 
contains dielectric fluid that is necessary for the operation of 
equipment such as transformers and buried electrical cable.  

"Excavation zone" means the volume containing the tank 
system and backfill material bounded by the ground surface, 
walls, and floor of the pit and trenches into which the UST 
system is placed at the time of installation.  

"Existing community water system or existing potable 
drinking water well" means a community water system or 
potable drinking water well is in place when a new 
installation or replacement of an underground tank, piping, or 
motor fuel dispensing system begins. 

"Existing tank system" means a tank system used to contain 
an accumulation of regulated substances or for which 
installation has commenced on or before December 22, 1988. 
Installation is considered to have commenced if:  

1. The owner or operator has obtained all federal, state, and 
local approvals or permits necessary to begin physical 
construction of the site or installation of the tank system; 
and if  

2. a. Either a continuous on-site physical construction or 
installation program has begun; or  

b. The owner or operator has entered into contractual 
obligations-which cannot be cancelled or modified 
without substantial loss-for physical construction at the 
site or installation of the tank system to be completed 
within a reasonable time.  

"Farm tank" is a tank located on a tract of land devoted to 
the production of crops or raising animals, including fish, and 
associated residences and improvements. A farm tank must be 
located on the farm property. "Farm" includes fish hatcheries, 
rangeland and nurseries with growing operations.  

"Flow-through process tank" is a tank that forms an integral 
part of a production process through which there is a steady, 
variable, recurring, or intermittent flow of materials during 
the operation of the process. Flow-through process tanks do 
not include tanks used for the storage of materials prior to 
their introduction into the production process or for the 
storage of finished products or by-products from the 
production process.  

"Free product" refers to a regulated substance that is present 
as a nonaqueous phase liquid (e.g., liquid not dissolved in 
water).  

"Gathering lines" means any pipeline, equipment, facility, or 
building used in the transportation of oil or gas during oil or 
gas production or gathering operations.  

"Hazardous substance UST system" means an underground 
storage tank system that contains a hazardous substance 
defined in § 101(14) of the Comprehensive Environmental 
Response, Compensation and Liability Act (CERCLA) of 
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1980 (42 USC § 9601 et seq.) (but not including any 
substance regulated as a hazardous waste under subtitle C of 
RCRA) or any mixture of such substances and petroleum, and 
which is not a petroleum UST system.  

"Heating oil" means petroleum that is No. 1, No. 2, No. 4-
light, No. 4-heavy, No. 5-light, No. 5-heavy, and No. 6 
technical grades of fuel oil; other residual fuel oils (including 
Navy Special Fuel Oil and Bunker C); and other fuels when 
used as substitutes for one of these fuel oils. Heating oil is 
typically used in the operation of heating equipment, boilers, 
or furnaces.  

"Hydraulic lift tank" means a tank holding hydraulic fluid 
for a closed-loop mechanical system that uses compressed air 
or hydraulic fluid to operate lifts, elevators, and other similar 
devices.  

"Liquid trap" means sumps, well cellars, and other traps 
used in association with oil and gas production, gathering, 
and extraction operations (including gas production plants), 
for the purpose of collecting oil, water, and other liquids. 
These liquid traps may temporarily collect liquids for 
subsequent disposition or reinjection into a production or 
pipeline stream, or may collect and separate liquids from a 
gas stream.  

"Maintenance" means the normal operational upkeep to 
prevent an underground storage tank system from releasing 
product.  

"Motor fuel" means petroleum or a petroleum-based 
substance that is motor gasoline, aviation gasoline, No. 1 or 
No. 2 diesel fuel, or any grade of gasohol, and is typically 
used in the operation of a motor engine. This definition 
applies to blended petroleum motor fuels such as biodiesel 
and ethanol blends that contain more than a de minimis 
amount of petroleum or petroleum-based substance. 

"Motor fuel dispenser system" means the motor fuel 
dispenser and the equipment necessary to connect the 
dispenser to the underground storage tank system. The 
equipment necessary to connect the motor fuel dispenser to 
the underground storage tank system may include check 
valves, shear valves, unburied risers or flexible connectors, or 
other transitional components that are beneath the dispenser 
and connect the dispenser to the underground piping. 

"New tank system" means a tank system that will be used to 
contain an accumulation of regulated substances and for 
which installation has commenced after December 22, 1988 
(See also "existing tank system").  

"Noncommercial purposes" with respect to motor fuel 
means not for resale.  

"On the premises where stored" with respect to heating oil 
means UST systems located on the same property where the 
stored heating oil is used.  

"Operational life" refers to the period beginning when 
installation of the tank system has commenced until the time 
the tank system is properly closed under Part VII (9VAC25-
580-310 et seq.) of this chapter. 

"Operator" means any person in control of, or having 
responsibility for, the daily operation of the UST system.  

"Overfill release" is a release that occurs when a tank is 
filled beyond its capacity, resulting in a discharge of the 
regulated substance to the environment.  

"Owner" means:  

1. In the case of a UST system in use on November 8, 
1984, or brought into use after that date, any person who 
owns an UST system used for storage, use, or dispensing 
of regulated substances; and  

2. In the case of any UST system in use before November 
8, 1984, but no longer in use on that date, any person who 
owned such UST immediately before the discontinuation 
of its use.  

The term "owner" shall not include any person who, without 
participating in the management of an underground storage 
tank or being otherwise engaged in petroleum production, 
refining, and marketing, holds indicia of ownership primarily 
to protect the holder's security interest in the tank.  

"Person" means an individual, trust, firm, joint stock 
company, corporation, including a government corporation, 
partnership, association, any state or agency thereof, 
municipality, county, town, commission, political subdivision 
of a state, any interstate body, consortium, joint venture, 
commercial entity, the government of the United States or 
any unit or agency thereof.  

"Petroleum UST system" means an underground storage 
tank system that contains petroleum or a mixture of 
petroleum with de minimis quantities of other regulated 
substances. Such systems include those containing motor 
fuels, jet fuels, distillate fuel oils, residual fuel oils, 
lubricants, petroleum solvents, and used oils.  

"Pipe" or "piping" means a hollow cylinder or the tubular 
conduit that is constructed of nonearthen materials that 
routinely contains and conveys regulated substances from the 
underground tank(s) to the dispenser(s) or other end-use 
equipment. Such piping includes any elbows, couplings, 
unions, valves, or other in-line fixtures that contain and 
convey regulated substances from the underground tank(s) to 
the dispenser(s). Pipe or piping does not include vent, vapor 
recovery, or fill lines. 

"Pipeline facilities (including gathering lines)" are new and 
existing pipe rights-of-way and any associated equipment, 
facilities, or buildings. 

"Potable drinking water well" means any hole (dug, driven, 
drilled, or bored) that extends into the earth until it meets 
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groundwater that supplies water for a noncommunity public 
water system, or otherwise supplies water for household use 
(consisting of drinking, bathing, cooking, or other similar 
uses). Such wells may provide water to entities such as a 
single-family residence, group of residences, businesses, 
schools, parks, campgrounds, and other permanent or 
seasonal communities.  

"Product deliverer" is any person who delivers or deposits 
product into an underground storage tank. 

"Public water system" means a system for the provision to 
the public of water for human consumption through pipes or, 
after August 5, 1998, other constructed conveyances, if such 
system has at least 15 service connections or regularly serves 
an average of at least 25 individuals daily at least 60 days out 
of the year. Such term includes (i) any collection, treatment, 
storage, and distribution facilities under control of the 
operator of such system and used primarily in connection 
with such system and (ii) any collection or pretreatment 
storage facilities not under such control that are used 
primarily in connection with such system. Such term does not 
include any "special irrigation district." A public water 
system is either a "community water system" or a 
"noncommunity water system." 

"RCRA" means the federal Resource Conservation and 
Recovery Act of 1976 as amended (42 USC § 6901 et seq.).  

"Regulated substance" means an element, compound, 
mixture, solution, or substance that, when released into the 
environment, may present substantial danger to the public 
health or welfare, or the environment. The term "regulated 
substance" includes:  

1. Any substance defined in § 101(14) of the 
Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, 
and Liability Act (CERCLA) of 1980 (42 USC § 9601 et 
seq.), but not any substance regulated as a hazardous waste 
under subtitle C of the Resource Conservation and 
Recovery Act (RCRA) of 1976 (42 USC § 6901 et seq.); 
and  

2. Petroleum, including crude oil or any fraction thereof, 
that is liquid at standard conditions of temperature and 
pressure (60°F and 14.7 pounds per square inch absolute). 
The term "regulated substance" includes but is not limited 
to petroleum and petroleum-based substances comprised of 
a complex blend of hydrocarbons derived from crude oil 
through processes of separation, conversion, upgrading, 
and finishing, such as motor fuels, jet fuels, distillate fuel 
oils, residual fuel oils, lubricants, petroleum solvents, and 
used oils.  

"Release" means any spilling, leaking, emitting, discharging, 
escaping, leaching or disposing from an UST into ground 
water, surface water or subsurface soils.  

"Release detection" means determining whether a release of 
a regulated substance has occurred from the UST system into 
the environment or into the interstitial space between the UST 
system and its secondary barrier or secondary containment 
around it.  

"Repair" means to restore a tank or UST system component 
that has caused a release of product from the UST system. 

"Replace" means, when applied to underground storage 
tanks and piping, to remove an underground storage tank and 
install a new underground storage tank or to remove and put 
back greater than 50% of the length of a piping run excluding 
connectors (such as flexible connectors) connected to an 
underground storage tank. 

"Residential tank" is a tank located on property used 
primarily for dwelling purposes. 

"SARA" means the Superfund Amendments and 
Reauthorization Act of 1986. 

"Secondary containment" means a release prevention and 
release detection system for an underground tank and/or 
piping. For purposes of this definition, release prevention 
means an underground tank and/or piping having an inner and 
outer barrier and release detection means a method of 
monitoring the space between the inner and outer barriers for 
a leak or release of regulated substances from the 
underground tank and/or piping.  

"Septic tank" is a water-tight covered receptacle designed to 
receive or process, through liquid separation or biological 
digestion, the sewage discharged from a building sewer. The 
effluent from such receptacle is distributed for disposal 
through the soil and settled solids and scum from the tank are 
pumped out periodically and hauled to a treatment facility.  

"Storm water or waste water collection system" means 
piping, pumps, conduits, and any other equipment necessary 
to collect and transport the flow of surface water run-off 
resulting from precipitation, or domestic, commercial, or 
industrial wastewater to and from retention areas or any areas 
where treatment is designated to occur. The collection of 
storm water and wastewater does not include treatment except 
where incidental to conveyance.  

"Surface impoundment" is a natural topographic depression, 
man-made excavation, or diked area formed primarily of 
earthen materials (although it may be lined with man-made 
materials) that is not an injection well.  

"Tank" is a stationary device designed to contain an 
accumulation of regulated substances and constructed of 
nonearthen materials (e.g., concrete, steel, plastic) that 
provide structural support. 

"Underdispenser containment" means containment 
underneath a dispenser that will prevent leaks from the 
dispenser from reaching soil or groundwater.  
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"Underground area" means an underground room, such as a 
basement, cellar, shaft or vault, providing enough space for 
physical inspection of the exterior of the tank situated on or 
above the surface of the floor.  

"Underground release" means any belowground release.  

"Underground storage tank" or "UST" means any one or 
combination of tanks (including underground pipes connected 
thereto) that is used to contain an accumulation of regulated 
substances, and the volume of which (including the volume of 
underground pipes connected thereto) is 10% or more beneath 
the surface of the ground. This term does not include any:  

1. Farm or residential tank of 1,100 gallons or less capacity 
used for storing motor fuel for noncommercial purposes;  

2. Tank used for storing heating oil for consumption on the 
premises where stored;  

3. Septic tank;  

4. Pipeline facility (including gathering lines) regulated 
under:  

a. The Regulated under the Natural Gas Pipeline Safety 
Act of 1968 (49 USC App. § 1671, et seq.);  

b. The Regulated under the Hazardous Liquid Pipeline 
Safety Act of 1979 (49 USC App. § 2001, et seq.); or  

c. Which is an intrastate pipeline facility regulated under 
state laws comparable to the provisions of the law 
referred to in subdivisions 4 a or 4 b of this definition;  

5. Surface impoundment, pit, pond, or lagoon;  

6. Storm water or wastewater collection system;  

7. Flow-through process tank;  

8. Liquid trap or associated gathering lines directly related 
to oil or gas production and gathering operations; or  

9. Storage tank situated in an underground area (such as a 
basement, cellar, mineworking, drift, shaft, or tunnel) if the 
storage tank is situated upon or above the surface of the 
floor.  

The term "underground storage tank" or "UST" does not 
include any pipes connected to any tank which is described in 
subdivisions 1 through 9 of this definition.  

"Upgrade" means the addition or retrofit of some systems 
such as cathodic protection, lining, or spill and overfill 
controls to improve the ability of an underground storage tank 
system to prevent the release of product.  

"UST system" or "tank system" means an underground 
storage tank, connected underground piping, underground 
ancillary equipment, and containment system, if any.  

"Wastewater treatment tank" means a tank that is designed 
to receive and treat an influent wastewater through physical, 
chemical, or biological methods.  

9VAC25-580-20. Applicability. 

A. The requirements of this chapter apply to all owners and 
operators of an UST system as defined in 9VAC25-580-10 
except as otherwise provided in subsections B, C, and D of 
this section. Any UST system listed in subsection C of this 
section must meet the requirements of 9VAC25-580-30.  

B. The following UST systems are excluded from the 
requirements of this chapter:  

1. Any UST system holding hazardous wastes listed or 
identified under Subtitle C of the Solid Waste Disposal Act 
(33 USC § 1251 et seq.), or a mixture of such hazardous 
waste and other regulated substances.  

2. Any wastewater treatment tank system that is part of a 
wastewater treatment facility regulated under § 402 or 
§ 307(b) of the Clean Water Act.  

3. Equipment or machinery that contains regulated 
substances for operational purposes such as hydraulic lift 
tanks and electrical equipment tanks.  

4. Any UST system whose capacity is 110 gallons or less.  

5. Any UST system that contains a de minimis 
concentration of regulated substances.  

6. Any emergency spill or overflow containment UST 
system that is expeditiously emptied after use.  

C. Deferrals. Parts II, III, IV, V, and VII, and IX of this 
chapter do not apply to any of the following types of UST 
systems:  

1. Wastewater treatment tank systems;  

2. Any UST systems containing radioactive material that 
are regulated under the Atomic Energy Act of 1954 
(42 USC § 2011 et seq.);  

3. Any UST system that is part of an emergency generator 
system at nuclear power generation facilities regulated by 
the Nuclear Regulatory Commission under 10 CFR Part 
50, Appendix A;  

4. Airport hydrant fuel distribution systems; and  

5. UST systems with field-constructed tanks.  

D. Deferrals. Part IV does not apply to any UST system that 
was installed before [ September 15, 2010 (i.e., ] the effective 
date of the secondary containment requirements in 
subdivision 7 of 9VAC25-580-50 [ ) ] and stores fuel solely 
for use by emergency power generators.  



Regulations 

Volume 26, Issue 25 Virginia Register of Regulations August 16, 2010 

2830 

Part II  
UST Systems: Design, Construction, Installation, and 

Notification  

9VAC25-580-50. Performance standards for new UST 
systems. 

Owners and operators must obtain a permit, the required 
inspections and a Certificate of Use issued in accordance with 
the provisions of the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building 
Code. No UST system shall be installed or placed into use 
without the owner and operator having obtained the required 
permit, inspections and Certificate of Use from the building 
official under the provisions of the Virginia Uniform 
Statewide Building Code ( [ Chapter 6 ( ] § 36-97 et seq. [ ) 
of Title 36 ] of the Code of Virginia).  

In the case of state-owned facilities the Department of 
General Services shall function as the building official in 
accordance with § 36-98.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

In the case of federal facilities the building official must be 
contacted. Owners and operators must obtain a permit, the 
required inspections and a Certificate of Use must be issued 
in accordance with the provisions of the Virginia Uniform 
Statewide Building Code.  

In order to prevent releases due to structural failure, 
corrosion, or spills and overfills for as long as the UST 
system is used to store regulated substances, all owners and 
operators of new UST systems must meet the following 
requirements.  

1. Tanks.  

Each tank must be properly designed and constructed, and 
any portion underground that routinely contains product 
must be protected from corrosion, in accordance with a 
code of practice developed by a nationally recognized 
association or independent testing laboratory as specified 
below:  

a. The tank is constructed of fiberglass-reinforced plastic;  

NOTE: The following industry codes may be used to 
comply with subdivision 1 a of this section: Underwriters 
Laboratories Standard 1316, "Standard for Glass-Fiber-
Reinforced Plastic Underground Storage Tanks for 
Petroleum Products"; Underwriters Laboratories of 
Canada CAN4-S615-M83, "Standard for Reinforced 
Plastic Underground Tanks for Petroleum Products"; or 
American Society of Testing and Materials Standard 
D4021-86, "Standard Specification for Glass-Fiber-
Reinforced Polyester Underground Petroleum Storage 
Tanks."  

b. The tank is constructed of steel and cathodically 
protected in the following manner:  

(1) The tank is coated with a suitable dielectric material;  

(2) Field-installed cathodic protection systems are 
designed by a corrosion expert;  

(3) Impressed current systems are designed to allow 
determination of current operating status as required in 
subdivision 3 of 9VAC25-580-90; and  

(4) Cathodic protection systems are operated and 
maintained in accordance with 9VAC25-580-90; or  

NOTE: The following codes and standards may be used 
to comply with subdivision 1 b of this section:  

(a) Steel Tank Institute "Specification for STI-P3 System 
of External Corrosion Protection of Underground Steel 
Storage Tanks";  

(b) Underwriters Laboratories Standard 1746, "Corrosion 
Protection Systems for Underground Storage Tanks";  

(c) Underwriters Laboratories of Canada CAN4-S603-
M85, "Standard for Steel Underground Tanks for 
Flammable and Combustible Liquids," and CAN4-
G03.1-M85, "Standard for Galvanic Corrosion Protection 
Systems for Underground Tanks for Flammable and 
Combustible Liquids," and CAN4-S631-M84, "Isolating 
Bushings for Steel Underground Tanks Protected with 
Coatings and Galvanic Systems"; or  

(d) National Association of Corrosion Engineers 
Standard RP-02-85, "Control of External Corrosion on 
Metallic Buried, Partially Buried, or Submerged Liquid 
Storage Systems," and Underwriters Laboratories 
Standard 58 "Standard for Steel Underground Tanks for 
Flammable and Combustible Liquids."  

c. The tank is constructed of a steel-fiberglass-reinforced-
plastic composite; or  

NOTE: The following industry codes may be used to 
comply with subdivision 1 c of this section: Underwriters 
Laboratories Standard 1746, "Corrosion Protection 
Systems for Underground Storage Tanks," or the 
Association for Composite Tanks ACT-100, 
"Specification for the Fabrication of FRP Clad 
Underground Storage Tanks."  

d. The tank construction and corrosion protection are 
determined by the board to be designed to prevent the 
release or threatened release of any stored regulated 
substance in a manner that is no less protective of human 
health and the environment than subdivisions 1 a through 
c of this section.  

2. Piping. The piping that routinely contains regulated 
substances and is in contact with the ground must be 
properly designed, constructed, and protected from 
corrosion in accordance with a code of practice developed 
by a nationally recognized association or independent 
testing laboratory as specified below:  
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a. The piping is constructed of fiberglass-reinforced 
plastic.  

NOTE: The following codes and standards may be used 
to comply with subdivision 2 a of this section:  

(1) Underwriters Laboratories Subject 971, "UL Listed 
Non-Metal Pipe Nonmetallic Underground Piping for 
Flammable Liquids"; 

(2) Underwriters Laboratories Standard 567, "Pipe 
Connectors for Flammable and Combustible and LP 
Gas";  

(3) Underwriters Laboratories of Canada Guide ULC-
107, "Glass Fiber Reinforced Plastic Pipe and Fittings for 
Flammable Liquids"; and  

(4) Underwriters Laboratories of Canada Standard CAN 
4-S633-M81, "Flexible Underground Hose Connectors."  

b. The piping is constructed of steel and cathodically 
protected in the following manner:  

(1) The piping is coated with a suitable dielectric 
material;  

(2) Field-installed cathodic protection systems are 
designed by a corrosion expert;  

(3) Impressed current systems are designed to allow 
determination of current operating status as required in 
subdivision 3 of 9VAC25-580-90; and  

(4) Cathodic protection systems are operated and 
maintained in accordance with 9VAC25-580-90; or  

NOTE: The following codes and standards may be used 
to comply with subdivision 2 b of this section:  

(a) National Fire Protection Association Standard 30, 
"Flammable and Combustible Liquids Code";  

(b) American Petroleum Institute Publication 1615, 
"Installation of Underground Petroleum Storage 
Systems";  

(c) American Petroleum Institute Publication 1632, 
"Cathodic Protection of Underground Petroleum Storage 
Tanks and Piping Systems"; and  

(d) National Association of Corrosion Engineers 
Standard RP-01-69, "Control of External Corrosion on 
Submerged Metallic Piping Systems."  

c. The piping construction and corrosion protection are 
determined by the board to be designed to prevent the 
release or threatened release of any stored regulated 
substance in a manner that is no less protective of human 
health and the environment than the requirements in 
subdivisions 2 a through b of this section.  

3. Spill and overfill prevention equipment.  

a. Except as provided in subdivision 3 b of this section, 
to prevent spilling and overfilling associated with 
product transfer to the UST system, owners and operators 
must use the following spill and overfill prevention 
equipment:  

(1) Spill prevention equipment that will prevent release 
of product to the environment when the transfer hose is 
detached from the fill pipe (for example, a spill 
catchment basin); and  

(2) Overfill prevention equipment that will:  

(a) Automatically shut off flow into the tank when the 
tank is no more than 95% full;  

(b) Alert the transfer operator when the tank is no more 
than 90% full by restricting the flow into the tank or 
triggering a high-level alarm; or  

(c) Restrict the flow 30 minutes prior to overfilling, alert 
the operator with a high level alarm one minute before 
overfilling, or automatically shut off flow into the tank so 
that none of the fittings located on top of the tank are 
exposed to product due to overfilling.  

b. Owners and operators are not required to use the spill 
and overfill prevention equipment specified in 
subdivision 3 a of this section if:  

(1) Alternative equipment is used that is determined by 
the board to be no less protective of human health and 
the environment than the equipment specified in 
subdivision 3 a (1) or (2) of this section; or  

(2) The UST system is filled by transfers of no more than 
25 gallons at one time.  

4. Installation. All tanks and piping must be properly 
installed in accordance with a code of practice developed 
by a nationally recognized association or independent 
testing laboratory and in accordance with the 
manufacturer's instructions.  

NOTE: Tank and piping system installation practices and 
procedures described in the following codes may be used 
to comply with the requirements of subdivision 4 of this 
section:  

a. American Petroleum Institute Publication 1615, 
"Installation of Underground Petroleum Storage 
System";  

b. Petroleum Equipment Institute Publication RP100, 
"Recommended Practices for Installation of Underground 
Liquid Storage Systems"; or  

c. American National Standards Institute Standard B31.3, 
"Petroleum Refinery Piping," and American National 
Standards Institute Standard B31.4 "Liquid Petroleum 
Transportation Piping System."  
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NOTE: These industry codes require that prior to bringing 
the system into use the following tests be performed: (i) 
tank tightness test (air); (ii) pipe tightness test (air or 
hydrostatic); and (iii) precision system test in accordance 
with NFPA 329 (detection of .05 gal/hr leak rate).  

5. Certification of installation. All owners and operators 
must ensure that one or more of options a through d of the 
following methods of certification, testing, or inspection is 
performed, and a Certificate of Use has been issued in 
accordance with the provisions of the Virginia Uniform 
Statewide Building Code to demonstrate compliance with 
subdivision 4 of this section. A certification of compliance 
on the UST Notification form must be submitted to the 
board in accordance with 9VAC25-580-70.  

a. The installer has been certified by the tank and piping 
manufacturers;  

b. The installation has been inspected and certified by a 
registered professional engineer with education and 
experience in UST system installation;  

c. All work listed in the manufacturer's installation 
checklists has been completed; or  

d. The owner and operator have complied with another 
method for ensuring compliance with subdivision 4 of 
this section that is determined by the board to be no less 
protective of human health and the environment.  

6. Release detection. Release detection shall be provided in 
accordance with Part IV (9VAC25-580-130 et seq.) of this 
chapter. 

7. Secondary containment. 

a. Each new or replaced petroleum underground storage 
tank, or piping connected to any petroleum underground 
storage tank, installed within 1,000 feet of any existing 
community water system or existing potable drinking 
water well must be secondarily contained in accordance 
with 9VAC25-580-140 A. In the case of a replacement of 
a petroleum underground storage tank or the piping 
connected to the petroleum underground storage tank, the 
secondary containment requirements shall apply only to 
the specific petroleum underground storage tank or 
piping run being replaced, not to other petroleum 
underground storage tanks and connected pipes 
comprising such system. The entire piping run must be 
secondarily contained if more than 50% of the length of a 
piping run connected to a petroleum underground storage 
tank is to be replaced. 

b. Motor fuel dispenser systems. Each new motor fuel 
dispenser system installed within 1,000 feet of any 
existing community water system or existing potable 
drinking water well shall have underdispenser 
containment in accordance with 9VAC25-580-140 B. A 
motor fuel dispenser system is considered new when: 

(1) A dispenser is installed at a location where there 
previously was no dispenser (new UST system or new 
dispenser location at an existing UST system), or 

(2) An existing dispenser is removed and replaced with 
another dispenser and the equipment used to connect the 
dispenser to the UST system is replaced. This equipment 
may include unburied flexible connectors or risers or 
other transitional components that are beneath the 
dispenser and connect the dispenser to the piping. 

c. If an owner or operator intends to install a new 
petroleum UST system that is located greater than 1,000 
feet from any existing community water system or 
existing potable drinking water well and the owner or 
operator will install a potable drinking water well at the 
new facility that is within 1,000 feet of the petroleum 
underground storage tanks, piping, or motor fuel 
dispenser systems as part of the new UST installation, 
then secondary containment and underdispenser 
containment are required, regardless of whether the well 
is installed before or after the petroleum underground 
storage tanks, piping, and motor fuel dispenser systems 
are installed.  

d. A tank owner or operator who intends to install an 
UST system or motor fuel dispenser system that will not 
meet the requirements in subdivision 7 a or c of this 
subsection must demonstrate to the board that the 
distance from the proposed new or replacement 
petroleum underground storage tank or piping or motor 
fuel dispenser system to the existing community water 
system or existing potable drinking water well is greater 
than 1,000 feet. 

(1) The tank owner or operator shall make such a 
demonstration by submitting to the board a map showing 
the distance from the proposed new or replacement 
petroleum underground storage tank or piping or motor 
fuel dispenser system to the existing community water 
system or existing potable drinking water well. If the 
distance is greater than 1,000 feet but less than 2,000 
feet, the map must be prepared by a licensed professional 
surveyor. If the distance is greater than 2,000 feet, the 
map is not required to be prepared by a licensed 
professional surveyor. The tank owner or operator must 
submit the map to the board at least 30 days prior to the 
installation. 

(2) The map must delineate the distance from the 
proposed new or replacement petroleum underground 
storage tank or piping or motor fuel dispenser system to 
the closest existing community water system or existing 
potable drinking water well. The distance must be 
measured from the closest part of the proposed new or 
replacement petroleum underground storage tank or 
piping or motor fuel dispenser system to: 
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(a) The closest part of the nearest existing community 
water system including such components as the location 
of the wellhead(s) for ground water or location of the 
intake point(s) for surface water, water lines, processing 
tanks, and water storage tanks; and water distribution or 
service lines under the control of the community water 
system operator; and 

(b) The wellhead of the nearest existing potable drinking 
water well. 

e. The requirement for secondary containment does not 
apply to: 

(1) Petroleum underground storage tanks that are not new 
or not replaced in a manifolded UST system;  

(2) Piping runs that are not new or not replaced on 
petroleum underground storage tanks with multiple 
piping runs;  

(3) Suction piping that meets the requirements at 9VAC 
25-580-140 C 2 b  [ (1) through (5) ] or piping that 
manifolds two or more petroleum USTs together;  

(4) Repairs meant to restore a petroleum underground 
storage tank, pipe, or dispenser to operating condition. 
For purposes of this subsection, a repair is any activity 
that does not meet the definition of "replace"; and 

(5) Other instances approved by the board where 
equivalent protection is provided.  

9VAC25-580-120. Reporting and recordkeeping. 

Owners and operators of UST systems must cooperate fully 
with inspections, monitoring and testing conducted by the 
board, as well as requests for document submission, testing, 
and monitoring by the owner or operator pursuant to § 9005 
of Subtitle I of the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act, 
as amended.  

1. Reporting. Owners and operators must submit the 
following information to the board: 

a. Notification for all UST systems (9VAC25-580-70), 
which includes certification of installation for new UST 
systems (9VAC25-580-50 5) (subdivision 5 of 9VAC25-
580-50), 

b. Reports of all releases including suspected releases 
(9VAC25-580-190), spills and overfills (9VAC25-580-
220), and confirmed releases (9VAC25-580-240); 

c. Corrective actions planned or taken including initial 
abatement measures (9VAC25-580-250), site 
characterization (9VAC25-580-260), free product 
removal (9VAC25-580-270), and corrective action plan 
(9VAC25-580-280); and 

d. An amended notification form must be submitted 
within 30 days after permanent closure or change-in-
service (9VAC25-580-320). 

2. Recordkeeping. Owners and operators must maintain the 
following information: 

a. Documentation of operation of corrosion protection 
equipment (9VAC25-580-90); 

b. Documentation of UST system repairs (9VAC25-580-
110 6) (subdivision 6 of 9VAC25-580-110); 

c. Recent compliance with release detection requirements 
(9VAC25-580-180); and  

d. Results of the site investigation conducted at 
permanent closure (9VAC25-580-350). 

e. Documentation of operator training required by 
9VAC25-580-125, including verification of training for 
current Class A, Class B, and Class C operators, and 
current list of operators and written instructions or 
procedures for Class C operators in accordance with 
9VAC25-580-125 (relating to operator training). 

3. Availability and maintenance of records. Owners and 
operators must keep the records required either: 

a. At the UST site and immediately available for 
inspection by the board; or 

b. At a readily available alternative site and be provided 
for inspection to the board upon request. 

In the case of permanent closure records required under 
9VAC25-580-350, owners and operators are also 
provided with the additional alternative of mailing 
closure records to the board if they cannot be kept at the 
site or an alternative site as indicated above. 

Part IV  
Release Detection  

9VAC25-580-125. Operator training. 

A. Definitions. 

1. For purposes of this section, "Class A operator" means 
an operator who has primary responsibility to operate and 
maintain the underground storage tank system and facility. 
The Class A operator's responsibilities include managing 
resources and personnel, such as establishing work 
assignments, to achieve and maintain compliance with 
regulatory requirements. In general, Class A operators 
focus on the broader aspects of the underground storage 
tank statutory and regulatory requirements and standards 
necessary to properly operate and maintain the 
underground storage tank system and facility. 

2. For purposes of this section, "Class B operator" means 
an operator who implements applicable underground 
storage tank regulatory requirements and standards in the 
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field or at the underground storage tank facility. A Class B 
operator oversees and implements the day-to-day aspects 
of operations, maintenance, and recordkeeping for the 
underground storage tanks at one or more facilities. 

3. For purposes of this section, "Class C operator" means 
the person responsible for responding to alarms or other 
indications of emergencies caused by spills or releases 
from underground storage tank systems and equipment 
failures. A Class C operator, generally, is the first line of 
response to events indicating emergency conditions. 

B. Requirements for trained operators. 

1. Owners and operators of UST systems shall designate 
Class A, Class B, and Class C operators for each UST 
system or facility that has underground storage tanks. 

a. A person may be designated for more than one class of 
operator. 

b. Any person designated for more than one class of 
operator shall successfully complete the required training 
under subsection C of this section for each operator class 
for which he is designated. 

c. Persons trained in accordance with subsection C of this 
section may perform operator duties consistent with their 
training when employed or contracted by the tank owner 
or operator to perform these functions.  

2. Designated operators shall successfully complete 
required training under subsection C of this section no later 
than August 8, 2012. 

3. Class A operators shall be familiar with training 
requirements for each class of operator and may provide 
required training for Class C operators. 

4. Class B operators shall be familiar with Class B and 
Class C operator responsibilities and may provide training 
for Class C operators. 

5. Trained operators shall be readily available to respond to 
suspected/confirmed releases, other unusual operating 
conditions and equipment shut-offs or failures. 

a. The Class A or Class B operator shall be available for 
immediate telephone consultation when an UST facility 
is in operation. A Class A or Class B operator shall be 
able to be onsite at the facility within [ 24 hours a 
reasonable time to perform necessary functions ]. 

b. For manned facilities, a Class C operator shall be 
onsite whenever the UST facility is in operation. After 
[ effective date September 15, 2010, ] written instructions 
or procedures shall be maintained and visible at manned 
UST facilities for persons performing duties of the Class 
C operator to follow and to provide notification 
necessary in the event of emergency conditions. 

c. For unmanned facilities, a Class C operator shall be 
available for immediate telephone consultation and shall 
be able to be onsite within [ two hours of being contacted 
a reasonable time to perform necessary functions ]. 
Emergency contact information shall be prominently 
displayed at the site. After [ effective date September 15, 
2010, ] written instructions or procedures shall be 
maintained and visible at unmanned UST facilities for 
persons performing duties of the Class C operator to 
follow and to provide notification necessary in the event 
of emergency conditions. 

C. Required training. 

1. Class A operators shall successfully complete a training 
course approved by the board that includes a general 
knowledge of UST system requirements. Training shall 
provide information that should enable the operator to 
make informed decisions regarding compliance and 
ensuring that appropriate persons are fulfilling operation, 
maintenance, and recordkeeping requirements and 
standards of this chapter and/or federal underground 
storage tank requirements in 40 CFR Part 280 (relating to 
technical standards and corrective action requirements for 
owners and operators of underground storage tanks 
(UST)), including, at a minimum, the following: 

a. Spill and overfill prevention; 

b. Release detection and related reporting requirements; 

c. Corrosion protection; 

d. Emergency response; 

e. Product and equipment compatibility; 

f. Financial responsibility; 

g. Notification and storage tank registration 
requirements; 

h. Temporary and permanent closure requirements; and 

i. Class B and Class C operator training requirements. 

2. Class B operators shall successfully complete a training 
course approved by the board that includes an in-depth 
understanding of operation and maintenance aspects of 
UST systems and related regulatory requirements. Training 
shall provide specific information on the components of 
UST systems, materials of construction, methods of release 
detection and release prevention applied to UST systems 
and components. Training shall address operation and 
maintenance requirements of this chapter and/or federal 
underground storage tank requirements in 40 CFR Part 
280, including, at a minimum, the following: 

a. Spill and overfill prevention; 

b. Release detection and related reporting requirements; 

c. Corrosion protection and related testing; 
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d. Emergency response; 

e. Product and equipment compatibility; 

f. Reporting and recordkeeping requirements; and 

g. Class C operator training requirements. 

3. Class C operators. At a minimum, training provided by 
the tank owner or Class A or Class B operator shall enable 
the Class C operator to take action in response to 
emergencies caused by spills or releases and alarms from 
an underground storage tank. Training shall include written 
instructions or procedures for the Class C operator to 
follow and to provide notification necessary in the event of 
emergency conditions. 

4. Successful completion for Class A and Class B operators 
means completion of the entire training course and 
demonstration of knowledge of the course material as 
follows: 

a. Receipt of a passing grade (a score of 80% or better) 
on an examination of material presented in the training 
course, or demonstration through practical (hands-on) 
application to the trainer of operation and maintenance 
checks of underground storage tank equipment, including 
performance of release detection at the UST facility, at 
the conclusion of onsite training; and 

b. Receipt of a training certificate by an approved trainer 
upon verification of successful completion of training 
under this section. 

5. Reciprocity. The board may also recognize successful 
completion of Class A and Class B operator training on 
regulatory standards consistent with 40 CFR Part 280, 
which is recognized by other state or implementing 
agencies and which is approved by EPA as meeting 
operator training grant guidelines published by EPA. 

6. The tank owner and operator shall incur the costs of the 
training.  

D. Timing of training. 

1. An owner and operator shall ensure that Class A, Class 
B and Class C operators are trained as soon as practicable 
after [ effective date September 15, 2010, ] contingent 
upon availability of approved training providers, but not 
later than August 8, 2012. 

2. When a Class A or Class B operator is replaced after 
August 8, 2012, a new operator shall be trained within 60 
days of assuming duties for that class of operator. 

3. Class C operators shall be trained before assuming 
duties of a Class C operator. After [ effective date 
September 15, 2010, ] written instructions or procedures 
shall be provided to Class C operators to follow and to 
provide notification necessary in the event of emergency 
conditions. Class C operators shall be briefed on these 

instructions or procedures at least annually (every 12 
months), which may be concurrent with annual safety 
training required under Occupational Safety and Health 
Administration, 29 CFR Part 1910 (relating to 
Occupational Safety and Health Standards). 

E. Retraining. 

1. Owners and operators of UST systems shall ensure that 
Class A and B operators in accordance with subsection C 
of this section are retrained if the board determines that the 
UST system is out of compliance with the requirements of 
9VAC25-580-30 through 9VAC25-580-190. At a 
minimum, Class A and Class B operators shall successfully 
complete retraining in the areas identified as out of 
compliance. 

2. Class A and B operators shall complete training pursuant 
to this subsection no later than 90 days from the date the 
board identifies the noncompliance. 

F. Documentation. 

1. Owners and operators of underground storage tank 
facilities shall prepare and maintain a list of designated 
Class A, Class B, and Class C operators. The list shall 
represent the current Class A, Class B, and Class C 
operators for the UST facility and shall include: 

a. The name of each operator, class of operation trained 
for, and the date each operator successfully completed 
initial training and refresher training, if any.  

b. For Class A and Class B operators that are not 
permanently onsite or assigned to more than one facility, 
telephone numbers to contact the operators. 

2. A copy of the certificates of training for Class A and 
Class B operators shall be on file [ as long as each operator 
serves in that capacity at the facility or three years, 
whichever is longer, ] and readily available [ , ] and a copy 
of the facility list of Class A, Class B, and Class C 
operators and Class C operator instructions or procedures 
shall be kept onsite and immediately available for manned 
UST facilities and readily available for unmanned facilities 
(see subdivision 2 e of 9VAC25-580-120 relating to 
reporting and recordkeeping). 

3. Class C operator and owner contact information, 
including names and telephone numbers, and any 
emergency information shall be conspicuously posted at 
unmanned facilities. 
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Part IV 
Release Detection 

9VAC25-580-130. General requirements for all petroleum 
and hazardous substance UST systems. 

A. Owners and operators of new and existing UST systems 
must provide a method, or combination of methods, of release 
detection that:  

1. Can detect a release from any portion of the tank and the 
connected underground piping that routinely contains 
product;  

2. Is installed, calibrated, operated, and maintained in 
accordance with the manufacturer's instructions, including 
routine maintenance and service checks for operability or 
running condition; and  

3. Meets the performance requirements in 9VAC25-580-
160 or 9VAC25-580-170, with any performance claims 
and their manner of determination described in writing by 
the equipment manufacturer or installer. In addition, 
methods used after December 22, 1990, except for methods 
permanently installed prior to that date, must be capable of 
detecting the leak rate or quantity specified for that method 
in subsections subdivisions 2, 3 and 4 of 9VAC25-580-160 
or subdivisions 1 and 2 of 9VAC25-580-170 with a 
probability of detection of 0.95 and a probability of false 
alarm of 0.05.  

B. When a release detection method operated in accordance 
with the performance standards in 9VAC25-580-160 or 
9VAC25-580-170 indicates a release may have occurred, 
owners and operators must notify the board in accordance 
with Part V (9VAC25-580-190 et seq.) of this chapter.  

C. Owners and operators of all UST systems must comply 
with the release detection requirements of this part by 
December 22 of the year listed in the following table:  

SCHEDULE FOR PHASE-IN OF RELEASE DETECTION  

Year when release detection is required 
(by December 22 of the year indicated) 

Year 
system 

was 
installed 1989 1990 1991 1992 1993 

Before 
1965 or 
date 
unknown 

RD P       

1965-1969   P/RD       

1970-1974   P RD     

1975-1979   P   RD   

1980-1988   P     RD 

New tanks (after December 22, 1988) immediately upon 
installation.  

P = Must begin release detection for all pressurized piping in 
accordance with subdivision C 2 a of 9VAC25-580-140.  

RD = Must begin release detection for tanks and suction 
piping in accordance with subsection subdivisions C 1 and 
subdivision C 2 b of 9VAC25-580-140, and 9VAC25-580-
150.  

D. Any existing UST system that cannot apply a method of 
release detection that complies with the requirements of this 
part must complete the closure procedures in Part VII 
(9VAC25-580-310 et seq.) of this chapter by the date on 
which release detection is required for that UST system under 
subsection C of this section.  

9VAC25-580-140. Requirements for petroleum UST 
systems. 

A. Owners and operators of petroleum UST systems 
required to have secondary containment under subdivision 7 
of 9VAC25-580-50 must provide secondary containment and 
release detection for tanks and piping as follows: 

1. Secondary containment systems must be designed, 
constructed, and installed to:  

a. Contain regulated substances released from the tank 
system until they are detected and removed;  

b. Prevent the release of regulated substances to the 
environment at any time during the operational life of the 
UST system; and  

c. Be checked for evidence of a release at least every 30 
days.  

2. Double-walled tanks must be designed, constructed, and 
installed to:  

a. Contain a release from any portion of the inner tank 
within the outer wall; and  

b. Detect the failure of the inner wall.  

3. External liners (including vaults) must be designed, 
constructed, and installed to:  

a. Contain 100% of the capacity of the largest tank within 
its boundary;  

b. Prevent the interference of precipitation or 
groundwater intrusion with the ability to contain or detect 
a release of regulated substances; and  

c. Surround the tank completely (i.e., it is capable of 
preventing lateral as well as vertical migration of 
regulated substances). 

4. Underground piping must be equipped with secondary 
containment that satisfies the requirements of subdivision 1 
of this subsection (e.g., trench liners, jacketing of double-
walled pipe). In addition, underground piping that conveys 
regulated substances under pressure must be equipped with 
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an automatic line leak detector in accordance with 
subdivision 1 of 9VAC25-580-170. 

5. Perform interstitial monitoring in accordance with 
subdivision 7 of 9VAC 25-580-160. 

B. Owners and operators of petroleum USTs required to 
have secondary containment under subdivision 7 of 9VAC25-
580-50 must have motor fuel underdispenser containment that 
is liquid-tight on its sides, bottom, and at any penetrations; be 
compatible with the substance conveyed by the piping; and 
allow for visual inspection and access to the components in 
the containment system or be monitored. 

C. Owners and operators of petroleum UST systems not 
required to have secondary containment under subdivision 7 
of 9VAC25-580-50 must provide release detection for tanks 
and piping as follows:  

1. Tanks. Tanks must be monitored at least every 30 days 
for releases using one of the methods listed in subsections 
subdivisions 4 through 8 of 9VAC25-580-160 except that:  

a. UST systems that meet the performance standards in 
subsections subdivisions 1 through 5 of 9VAC25-580-50 
or subsections subdivisions 1 through 4 of 9VAC25-580-
60 may use both monthly inventory control requirements 
in subsection subdivision 1 or 2 of 9VAC25-580-160, 
and tank tightness testing (conducted in accordance with 
subsection subdivision 3 of 9VAC25-580-160 at least 
every five years until December 22, 1998, or until 10 
years after the tank is installed or upgraded under 
subsection subdivision 2 of 9VAC25-580-60, whichever 
is later;  

b. UST systems that do not meet the performance 
standards in 9VAC25-580-50 or 9VAC25-580-60 may 
use monthly inventory controls (conducted in accordance 
with subsection subdivision 1 or 2 of 9VAC25-580-160) 
and annual tank tightness testing (conducted in 
accordance with subsection subdivision 3 of 9VAC25-
580-160) until December 22, 1998, when the tank must 
be upgraded under 9VAC25-580-60 or permanently 
closed under 9VAC25-580-320; and  

c. Tanks with capacity of 550 gallons or less may use 
weekly tank gauging (conducted in accordance with 
subsection subdivision 2 of 9VAC25-580-160).  

2. Piping. Underground piping that routinely contains 
regulated substances must be monitored for releases in a 
manner that meets one of the following requirements:  

a. Pressurized piping. Underground piping that conveys 
regulated substances under pressure must:  

(1) Be equipped with an automatic line leak detector 
conducted in accordance with subdivision 1 of 9VAC25-
580-170; and  

(2) Have an annual line tightness test conducted in 
accordance with subdivision 2 of 9VAC25-580-170 or 
have monthly monitoring conducted in accordance with 
subdivision 3 of 9VAC25-580-170.  

b. Suction piping. Underground piping that conveys 
regulated substances under suction must either have a 
line tightness test conducted at least every three years 
and in accordance with subdivision 2 of 9VAC25-580-
170, or use a monthly monitoring method conducted in 
accordance with subdivision 3 of 9VAC25-580-170. No 
release detection is required for suction piping that is 
designed and constructed to meet the following 
standards:  

(1) The below-grade piping operates at less than 
atmospheric pressure;  

(2) The below-grade piping is sloped so that the contents 
of the pipe will drain back into the storage tank if the 
suction is released;  

(3) Only one check valve is included in each suction line;  

(4) The check valve is located directly below and as close 
as practical to the suction pump; and  

(5) A method is provided that allows compliance with 
subdivisions 2 b (2) through (4) of this section subsection 
to be readily determined.  

9VAC25-580-370. Requirements for delivery prohibition. 

A. No person shall deliver to, deposit into, or accept a 
petroleum product or other regulated substance into an 
underground storage tank that has been identified [ under 
subdivision G 2 of this section ] by the board to be ineligible 
for such delivery, deposit, or acceptance. Unless authorized in 
writing by the board, no person shall alter, deface, remove, or 
attempt to remove a tag that prohibits delivery, deposit, or 
acceptance of a petroleum product or other regulated 
substance to an underground storage tank.  

B. When an inspection or other information provides reason 
to believe one or more of the following violations exists, the 
board shall initiate a proceeding in accordance with 
subsection D of this section: 

1. Spill prevention equipment is not installed on the UST 
system properly as required by 9VAC25-580-50 or 
9VAC25-580-60 or is disabled; 

2. Overfill protection equipment is not installed on the 
UST system properly as required by 9VAC25-580-50 or 
9VAC25-580-60 or is disabled; 

3. Release detection equipment is not installed on the UST 
system properly or is disabled or a release detection 
method is not being performed as required by 9VAC25-
580-50 or 9VAC25-580-60; 
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4. Corrosion protection equipment is not installed on the 
UST system properly as required by 9VAC25-580-50 or 
9VAC25-580-60 or is disabled; 

5. Secondary containment is not installed on the UST 
system properly as required by 9VAC25-580-50, 9VAC25-
580-60, or 9VAC25-580-150 or is disabled; or 

6. The board has reason to believe that an UST system is 
leaking and the owner or operator has failed to initiate and 
complete the investigation and confirmation requirements 
of 9VAC25-580-190 through 9VAC25-580-210. 

C. For purposes of subsection B of this section, spill 
prevention, overfill prevention, corrosion protection, release 
detection, or secondary containment equipment that is not 
verifiable as installed is not installed. 

D. The board shall provide written notice to the owner and 
operator pursuant to subdivision G 1 of this section that it will 
conduct an informal fact finding pursuant to § 2.2-4019 of the 
Code of Virginia to determine whether the underground 
storage tank(s) shall be ineligible for delivery, deposit, or 
acceptance of a petroleum product or other regulated 
substance. The fact finding shall be scheduled as soon as 
practicable after the notice, and within 10 business days in 
any event. Upon a finding to impose delivery prohibition, the 
board shall affix a tag to the fill pipe of the underground 
storage tank(s) prohibiting delivery, deposit, or acceptance of 
a petroleum product or other regulated substance.  

E. When the board issues a notice of alleged violation based 
on an inspection or other information that provides reason to 
believe a UST system is not in compliance with the 
requirements of Part II, III, or IV of this chapter not listed in 
subsection B of this section, the requirements of 9VAC25-
580-240 through 9VAC25-580-280, or the requirements of 
9VAC25-590 (Petroleum Underground Storage Tank 
Financial Responsibility Requirements), and the owner or 
operator fails to comply with the notice of alleged violation 
within the time prescribed by the board, the board may 
proceed in accordance with subsection D of this section. 

F. The board may classify all underground storage tanks 
containing petroleum or any other regulated substance at a 
facility as ineligible for delivery, deposit, or acceptance of a 
petroleum product or other regulated substance if one or more 
underground storage tanks at the facility has been classified 
as ineligible for more than 90 days and the ineligible 
underground storage tank(s) has neither been closed in 
accordance with 9VAC25-580-310 or 9VAC25-580-320 nor 
returned to compliance. The board shall provide written 
notice to the owner and operator pursuant to subdivision G 1 
of this section that it will conduct an informal fact finding 
pursuant to § 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia to determine 
whether all the underground storage tanks shall be ineligible 
for delivery, deposit, or acceptance of a petroleum product or 
other regulated substance. The fact finding shall be scheduled 

as soon as practicable after the notice, and within 10 business 
days in any event. 

G. Notice.  

1. The board shall provide written notice of an informal 
fact finding to consider delivery prohibition to the owner 
and operator. The notice shall meet the requirements of 
§ 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia. The notice shall further 
advise the owner and operator of the possibility of a special 
order pursuant to subsection I of this section. 

2. The presence of the delivery prohibition tag on the fill 
pipe of an ineligible underground storage tank shall be 
sufficient notice to any person, including the owner, the 
operator, and product deliverers, that the underground 
storage tank is ineligible for delivery or deposit. The board 
may use other methods in addition to the delivery 
prohibition tag to provide notice to product deliverers. 

H. An owner or operator shall notify the board in writing 
once an ineligible underground storage tank has been returned 
to compliance and provide a written report detailing all 
actions that have been taken to return the UST system to 
compliance, as well as supporting evidence such as test 
reports, invoices, receipts, inventory records, etc. As soon as 
practicable after confirming that the underground storage tank 
is in compliance with the requirements of this chapter or 
9VAC25-590, or both, but in no event later than two business 
days, the board shall remove or authorize the owner or 
operator, in writing, to remove the delivery prohibition tag. 

I. If the board determines that a violation exists that warrants 
the imposition of delivery prohibition, the board may further 
consider whether the threat posed by the violation is 
outweighed by the need for fuel from the underground storage 
tank(s) in question to meet an emergency situation or the need 
for availability of or access to motor fuel in any rural and 
remote area. If the board finds that such a condition 
outweighs the immediate risk of the violation, the board may 
defer imposition of delivery prohibition for up to 180 days. In 
every such case the director shall consider (i) issuing a special 
order under the authority of subdivision 10 of § 10.1-1186 of 
the Code of Virginia prescribing a prompt schedule for 
abating the violation and (ii) imposing a civil penalty. 

J. The board may temporarily authorize an owner or 
operator to accept delivery into an ineligible underground 
storage tank(s) if such activity is necessary to test or calibrate 
the underground storage tank(s) or dispenser system. 

K. Nothing in this section shall prevent the board or the 
director from exercising any other enforcement authority 
including, without limitation, their authority to issue 
emergency orders and their authority to seek injunctive relief. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-749; Filed July 27, 2010, 11:12 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 10. FINANCE AND FINANCIAL 
INSTITUTIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 
of the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 10VAC5-120. Security Required of 
Money Order Sellers and Money Transmitters (adding 
10VAC5-120-50). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 6.1-378.1 and 12.1-13 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 27, 2010.  

Agency Contact: Gerald Fallen, Deputy Commissioner, State 
Corporation Commission, Bureau of Financial Institutions, 
P.O. Box 640, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-
9699, FAX (804) 371-9416, or email 
gerald.fallen@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The State Corporation Commission is adopting a 
regulation that establishes the schedule for the annual 
assessment to be paid by money order sellers and money 
transmitters licensed under Chapter 12 (§ 6.1-370 et seq.) 
of Title 6.1 of the Code of Virginia to defray the costs of 
their examination and supervision. Under the final 
regulation, licensees are required to pay an annual 
assessment of $0.000047 per dollar of money orders sold 
and money transmitted based on the dollar volume of 
business conducted by a licensee, either directly or 
through its authorized delegates, during the calendar year 
preceding the year of the assessment. 

AT RICHMOND, JULY 21, 2010 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. BFI-2010-00144 

Ex Parte: In re: annual assessment 
of licensed money order sellers and 
money transmitters 

ORDER ADOPTING A REGULATION 

On May 17, 2010, the State Corporation Commission 
("Commission") entered an Order to Take Notice of a 
proposal to adopt a regulation pursuant to § 6.1-373 B of the 
Code of Virginia. The proposed regulation, 10 VAC 5-120-

50, prescribes an assessment schedule for money order sellers 
and money transmitters licensed under Chapter 12 of Title 6.1 
of the Code of Virginia ("licensees") in order to defray the 
cost of their examination and supervision. The Order and 
proposed regulation were published in the Virginia Register 
of Regulations on June 7, 2010, posted on the Commission's 
website, and mailed to all licensees and other interested 
parties. Licensees and other interested parties were afforded 
the opportunity to file written comments or request a hearing 
on or before June 18, 2010. 

Comments on the proposed regulation were filed by Mr. 
Randy Mersky on behalf of Global Express Money Orders, 
Inc.1 In his comment letter, Mr. Mersky contended that the 
examination process has historically been more complicated, 
involved, and time consuming for money transmitters, and 
that the assessment rate for money orders should be much 
lower than the assessment rate for money transmission. Mr. 
Mersky also recommended that the assessment schedule take 
into account a licensee's overall size or net worth.2 On June 
22, 2010, the Commission entered an Order directing the 
Bureau of Financial Institutions ("Bureau") to file a written 
response to Mr. Mersky's comments. 

On June 25, 2010, the Bureau filed a Response to 
Comments. The Bureau reported to the Commission that it 
had contacted regulators in several other states (California, 
Ohio, Texas, and Wyoming) that have substantial experience 
regulating and examining money order sellers and money 
transmitters, and that all of the state regulators uniformly 
indicated that (i) money order sellers must comply with the 
same laws as money transmitters, (ii) regulators use the same 
programs and procedures to examine both products, and (iii) 
the time allotted by regulators for examinations is identical. 
The Bureau also indicated that the complexity and length of a 
particular licensee's examination is already factored into the 
proposed assessment schedule, and that the overall size or net 
worth of a licensee is redundant and/or inapt as a proxy for 
the amount of regulatory resources that need to be devoted to 
an institution. 

On July 8, 2010, the Bureau filed a Supplement to Response 
in which it requested leave to supplement its Response to 
Comments on the basis that it had inadvertently omitted 
certain germane information. Specifically, the states of Ohio, 
Texas, and Wyoming had all informed the Bureau that they 
apply the same assessment rate to money order sellers and 
money transmitters. The Bureau requested that this 
supplemental information be appended to its Response to 
Comments. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered the 
proposed regulation, the comments timely filed, the Bureau's 
Response to Comments, the record herein, and applicable 
law, finds that the Bureau's request for leave to supplement its 
Response to Comments should be granted, that a hearing is 
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unnecessary, and that the regulation should be adopted as 
proposed. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed regulation, 10 VAC 5-120-50, attached 
hereto is adopted effective July 27, 2010.  

(2) This Order and the attached regulation shall be posted on 
the Commission's website at 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
shall send a copy of this Order, including a copy of the 
attached regulation, to the Virginia Registrar of Regulations 
for publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

(4) This case is dismissed from the Commission's docket of 
active cases. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 
the Commission to: Randy Mersky, Global Express Money 
Orders, Inc., 8819 Monard Drive, Silver Spring, Maryland 
20910; Ezra C. Levine, Howrey LLP, 1299 Pennsylvania 
Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20004-2402; and to the 
Commissioner of Financial Institutions, who shall mail a 
copy of this Order and the attached regulation to all licensed 
money order sellers and money transmitters and such other 
interested parties as he may designate. 

_____________________________ 
1 After the comment period deadline, a comment letter was filed by Mr. Ezra 
C. Levine on behalf of The Money Services Round Table. The Money 
Services Round Table requested that the proposed regulation be amended to 
include a cap of $100,000 per licensee. 

2 In his comments, Mr. Mersky also "suggested" that a hearing be held to 
discuss this matter further.  

CHAPTER 120  
SECURITY REQUIRED OF MONEY ORDER SELLERS 

AND MONEY TRANSMITTERS  

10VAC5-120-50. Assessment schedule for the examination 
and supervision of money order sellers and money 
transmitters. 

Pursuant to subsection B of § 6.1-373 of the Code of 
Virginia, the commission sets the following schedule for the 
annual assessment to be paid by persons licensed under 
Chapter 12 (§ 6.1-370 et seq.) of Title 6.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. The assessment defrays the costs of the examination 
and supervision of licensees by the Bureau of Financial 
Institutions. 

The annual assessment shall be $0.000047 per dollar of 
money orders sold and money transmitted by a licensee 
pursuant to Chapter 12 (§ 6.1-370 et seq.) of Title 6.1 of the 
Code of Virginia. The assessment shall be based on the dollar 
volume of business conducted by a licensee, either directly or 
through its authorized delegates, during the calendar year 
preceding the year of the assessment. 

The amount calculated using the above schedule shall be 
rounded down to the nearest whole dollar. 

Fees shall be assessed on or before August 1 for the current 
calendar year. The assessment shall be paid by licensees on or 
before September 1. 

The annual report, due April 15 each year, of each licensee 
provides the basis for its assessment. In cases where a license 
has been granted between January 1 and April 15 of the year 
of the assessment, the licensee's initial annual assessment 
shall be $0. 

Fees prescribed and assessed pursuant to this schedule are 
apart from, and do not include, the following: (i) the annual 
license renewal fee of $750 authorized by subsection A of 
§ 6.1-373 of the Code of Virginia and (ii) the reimbursement 
for expenses authorized by subsection C of § 6.1-373 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2418; Filed July 21, 2010, 3:37 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 
of the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 10VAC5-210. Motor Vehicle Title 
Lending (adding 10VAC5-210-10 through 10VAC5-210-
110). 

Statutory Authority: § 6.2-2214 (effective October 1, 2010) 
and 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

September 7, 2010 - 2 p.m. - State Corporation 
Commission, Courtroom, Tyler Building, 1300 East 
Main Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: August 30, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Susan Hancock, Deputy Commissioner, 
Bureau of Financial Institutions, State Corporation 
Commission, P.O. Box 640, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 371-9701, FAX (804) 371-9416, or email 
susan.hancock@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The State Corporation Commission is proposing 
regulations in connection with Chapter 477 of the 2010 
Acts of Assembly, which, effective October 1, 2010, 
establishes a comprehensive licensing and regulatory 
framework for motor vehicle title lenders and motor 
vehicle title loans. The proposed regulations (i) define 
various terms used in Chapter 477, including "duplicate 
original" and "good funds instrument"; (ii) require a 
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licensee to file written reports with the Commissioner of 
Financial Institutions within 15 days following the 
occurrence of certain events (including those events set 
forth in Chapter 477); (iii) require a licensee to provide 
prospective borrowers with a warning notice; (iv) 
prescribe the contents of the rights and responsibilities 
pamphlet; (v) require a licensee to post in or on its 
licensed locations the days and hours during which it is 
open for business so that the posting is legible from 
outside; (vi) prohibit a licensee from making a motor 
vehicle title loan to a borrower on the same day that the 
borrower repaid or satisfied in full a motor vehicle title 
loan from the same licensee or another licensee; (vii) 
require a licensee to include various questions in its loan 
application form so that the licensee will know whether an 
applicant is ineligible for a motor vehicle title loan; (viii) 
provide that a licensee must release its security interest 
and take other specified actions within 10 days after the 
date that a borrower's obligations under a motor vehicle 
title loan are satisfied in full; (ix) require a licensee to 
provide certain data to the Commissioner of Financial 
Institutions when filing its annual report, such as the total 
number and dollar amount of motor vehicle title loans 
made by the licensee; (x) set forth the rules governing the 
conduct of other business in motor vehicle title lending 
offices, including the findings that the commission would 
need to make before approving an application to conduct 
other business in a licensee's motor vehicle title lending 
offices, the uniform conditions applicable to the conduct of 
any approved other business as well as the conditions 
attached to specific types of other businesses, such as 
making payday loans, acting as an agent of a money 
transmitter, and providing tax preparation services; (xi) 
require a licensed motor vehicle title lender to disclose 
certain information in its advertisements, including the 
name of the lender as set forth in the license issued by the 
commission and a statement that the lender is "licensed by 
the Virginia State Corporation Commission"; (xii) require 
a licensee to maintain certain records for at least three 
years after final payment is made on a motor vehicle title 
loan, including copies of the loan application, the loan 
agreement, and a record of the fair market value of the 
motor vehicle securing the loan; (xiii) require a licensee to 
maintain a repossession log or similar record of all motor 
vehicles that have been repossessed by or on behalf of the 
licensee; (xiv) require a licensee to maintain certain other 
records for at least three years after a motor vehicle used 
to secure a loan is repossessed and sold by or on behalf of 
the licensee, including copies of the written notices and 
accounting that were mailed by the licensee to the 
borrower prior to the sale of the motor vehicle; (xv) clarify 
the commission's enforcement authority and provide that 
the commission may, at its discretion, waive or grant 
exceptions to any provision of its motor vehicle title 
lending regulations for good cause shown; and (xiv) set 
forth various other requirements and limitations.  

In addition, the proposed regulations reflect statutory 
citations to Title 6.2 in conformance with Chapter 794 of 
the 2010 Acts of Assembly, which recodifies Title 6.1 of the 
Code of Virginia as Title 6.2. 

AT RICHMOND, JULY 22, 2010 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. BFI-2010-00165 

Ex Parte: In re: motor vehicle 
title lending regulations 

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Chapter 477 of the 2010 Virginia Acts of Assembly amends 
the Code of Virginia by adding Chapter 21 of Title 6.1 of the 
Code of Virginia ("Chapter 21"), which establishes a 
comprehensive licensing and regulatory framework for motor 
vehicle title lenders and motor vehicle title loans. Chapter 21 
will become effective on October 1, 2010. Section 6.1-494 of 
Chapter 21 authorizes the State Corporation Commission 
("Commission") to adopt regulations that it deems appropriate 
to effect the purposes of such chapter. 

The Bureau of Financial Institutions ("Bureau") has 
submitted to the Commission proposed regulations that define 
various terms used in Chapter 21, clarify and implement 
certain requirements, limitations, and prohibitions applicable 
to motor vehicle title lenders and motor vehicle title loans, 
and prescribe the contents of the pamphlet that licensees must 
furnish to prospective borrowers. Since the final regulations 
will be made effective on or after the date that Title 6.1 of the 
Code of Virginia is replaced by Title 6.2 of the Code of 
Virginia,1 all of the affected statutory citations that appear in 
the proposed regulations reference Title 6.2 rather than 
Title 6.1. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, based on the information 
supplied by the Bureau, is of the opinion and finds that the 
proposed regulations should be considered for adoption with 
an effective date of October 1, 2010. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed regulations, entitled "Motor Vehicle Title 
Lending," are appended hereto and made a part of the 
record herein. 

(2) Comments on the proposed regulations must be 
submitted in writing to Joel H. Peck, Clerk, State 
Corporation Commission, c/o Document Control Center, 
P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218, on or before 
August 30, 2010. All correspondence shall contain a 
reference to Case No. BFI-2010-00165. Interested persons 
desiring to submit comments electronically may do so by 
following the instructions available at the Commission's 
website: http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 
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(3) The Commission shall conduct a hearing in the 
Commission's Courtroom, Second Floor, Tyler Building, 
1300 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, at 2:00 p.m. 
on September 7, 2010, to consider the adoption of the 
proposed regulations. 

(4) This Order and the attached proposed regulations shall 
be posted on the Commission's website at 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(5) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
shall send a copy of this Order, including a copy of the 
attached proposed regulations, to the Virginia Registrar of 
Regulations for publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent to the 
Commissioner of Financial Institutions, who shall forthwith 
mail a copy of this Order, including a copy of the proposed 
regulations, to any interested parties that he may designate. 

_________________________________ 
1 Chapter 794 of the 2010 Virginia Acts of Assembly recodifies Title 6.1 of 
the Code of Virginia as Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia effective October 1, 
2010. Chapter 21 of Title 6.1 will become Chapter 22 of Title 6.2. 

CHAPTER 210 
MOTOR VEHICLE TITLE LENDING 

10VAC5-210-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Act" means Chapter 22 (§ 6.2-2200 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

"Advertisement" for purposes of the Act and this chapter 
means a commercial message in any medium that promotes, 
directly or indirectly, a motor vehicle title loan. The term 
includes a communication sent to a consumer as part of a 
solicitation of business, but excludes messages on 
promotional items such as pens, pencils, notepads, hats, 
calendars, etc. 

"Bureau" means the Bureau of Financial Institutions. 

"Business day" for purposes of the Act and this chapter 
means a day on which the licensee's office is open for 
business as posted as required by subsection B of 10VAC5-
210-50. 

"Commission" means the State Corporation Commission. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Financial 
Institutions. 

"Duplicate original" for purposes of the Act and this chapter 
means an exact copy of a signed original, an exact copy with 
signatures created by the same impression as the original, or 
an exact copy bearing an original signature. 

"Good funds instrument" for purposes of the Act and this 
chapter means a certified check, cashier's check, money order 
or, if the licensee is equipped to handle such payments, 
payment effected by use of a credit card. 

"Liquid assets" for purposes of the Act and this chapter 
means cash in depository institutions, money market funds, 
commercial paper, and treasury bills. 

B. Other terms used in this chapter shall have the meaning 
set forth in § 6.2-2200 of the Act. 

10VAC5-210-20. Requirements for licensees; reporting 
requirements; acquisitions. 

A. A licensee shall maintain in its own name unencumbered 
liquid assets per place of business in Virginia of at least 
$75,000 at all times. 

1. The minimum liquid assets required to be maintained 
pursuant to this subsection shall be separate and apart 
from, and in addition to, any minimum liquid assets that 
the licensee is required to maintain in connection with any 
other business conducted in the same office.  

2. A licensee shall upon request by the bureau submit proof 
that it is complying with the provisions of this subsection. 

B. After receiving its license from the commission, a 
licensee shall give written notice to the bureau of its 
commencement of business within 10 days thereafter. 

C. Within 15 days following the occurrence of any of the 
following events, a licensee shall file a written report with the 
commissioner describing the event and its expected impact, if 
any, on the activities of the licensee in Virginia:  

1. Bankruptcy, reorganization, or receivership proceedings 
are filed by or against the licensee.  

2. The Attorney General or any other governmental 
authority institutes an action against the licensee under the 
Virginia Consumer Protection Act (§ 59.1-196 et seq. of 
the Code of Virginia). 

3. Any governmental authority institutes revocation, 
suspension, or other formal administrative, regulatory, or 
enforcement proceedings against the licensee. 

4. Any governmental authority (i) revokes or suspends the 
licensee's motor vehicle title lender license, title pawn 
license, or similar license; (ii) takes formal administrative, 
regulatory, or enforcement action against the licensee 
relating to its motor vehicle title lending, title pawn, or 
similar business; or (iii) takes any other action against the 
licensee relating to its motor vehicle title lending, title 
pawn, or similar business where the total amount of 
restitution or other payment from the licensee exceeds 
$20,000. A licensee shall not be required to provide the 
commissioner with information about such event to the 
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extent that such disclosure is prohibited by the laws of 
another state. 

5. Based on allegations by any governmental authority that 
the licensee violated any law or regulation applicable to the 
conduct of its licensed motor vehicle title lending, title 
pawn, or similar business, the licensee enters into, or 
otherwise agrees to the entry of, a settlement or consent 
order, decree, or agreement with or by such governmental 
authority. 

6. The licensee surrenders its license to engage in motor 
vehicle title lending, title pawn, or similar business in 
another state in lieu of threatened or pending license 
revocation, license suspension, or other administrative, 
regulatory, or enforcement action. 

7. The licensee is denied a license to engage in motor 
vehicle title lending, title pawn, or similar business in 
another state. 

8. The licensee or any of its members, partners, directors, 
officers, principals, or employees is indicted or convicted 
of a felony. 

D. Any person submitting an application to acquire, directly 
or indirectly, 25% or more of the voting shares of a 
corporation or 25% or more of the ownership of any other 
person licensed to conduct business under the Act shall pay a 
nonrefundable application fee of $500. 

E. If a person has filed a bond with the bureau, as required 
by § 6.2-2204 of the Code of Virginia, such bond shall be 
retained by the bureau notwithstanding the occurrence of any 
of the following events: 

1. The person's license is surrendered, suspended, or 
revoked; or 

2. The person ceases making motor vehicle title loans. 

F. Within 30 days after a person's license is surrendered or 
revoked, the former licensee shall provide the bureau with (i) 
the name, address, and telephone number of a designated 
contact person; (ii) the location of the former licensee's motor 
vehicle title loan records; and (iii) any additional information 
that the bureau may reasonably require. 

G. A person shall remain subject to the provisions of the Act 
and this chapter applicable to licensees in connection with all 
motor vehicle title loans that the person made while licensed 
as a motor vehicle title lender notwithstanding the occurrence 
of any of the following events: 

1. The person's license is surrendered, suspended, or 
revoked; or 

2. The person ceases making motor vehicle title loans. 

10VAC5-210-30. Notice and pamphlet. 

A. Prior to furnishing a prospective borrower with a loan 
application or receiving any information relating to loan 
qualification, a licensee shall provide the prospective 
borrower with (i) a written notice that complies with 
subsection B of this section; and (ii) a borrower rights and 
responsibilities pamphlet that complies with subsections C 
and D of this section. 

B. 1. The required text of the written notice shall be as 
follows: "WARNING: A motor vehicle title loan is not 
intended to meet your long-term financial needs. The interest 
rate on a motor vehicle title loan is high and you are pledging 
your motor vehicle as collateral for the loan. If you fail to 
repay your loan in accordance with your loan agreement, we 
may repossess and sell your motor vehicle. You should 
consider whether there are other lower cost loans available to 
you. If you obtain a motor vehicle title loan, you should 
request the minimum loan amount required to meet your 
immediate needs." A licensee shall not modify or supplement 
the required text of the written notice. 

2. The written notice shall be printed on a single 8-1/2 x 11 
sheet of paper and be separate from all other papers, 
documents, or notices obtained or furnished by the 
licensee. The notice shall be printed in at least 24-point 
bold type and contain an acknowledgment that is signed 
and dated by each prospective borrower. The 
acknowledgement shall state the following: "I 
acknowledge that I have received a copy of this notice and 
the pamphlet entitled "Motor Vehicle Title Lending in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia - Borrower Rights and 
Responsibilities."  

3. A duplicate original of the acknowledged notice shall be 
kept by a licensee in the separate file maintained with 
respect to the loan for the period specified in § 6.2-2209 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

C. The borrower rights and responsibilities pamphlet shall 
be printed in at least 12-point type and be separate from all 
other papers, documents, or notices obtained or furnished by 
the licensee. The pamphlet shall contain the exact language 
prescribed in subsection D of this section. A licensee shall not 
modify or supplement the required text of the pamphlet. The 
title of the pamphlet ("Motor Vehicle Title Lending in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia - Borrower Rights and 
Responsibilities") and the headings for the individual sections 
of the pamphlet (e.g., "In General," "Notice from Lender," 
etc.) shall be printed in bold type. 

D. The required text of the borrower rights and 
responsibilities pamphlet shall be as follows: 
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MOTOR VEHICLE TITLE LENDING IN THE 
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 

BORROWER RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES 

Please take the time to carefully review the information 
contained in this pamphlet. It is designed to advise you of 
your rights and responsibilities in connection with obtaining a 
motor vehicle title loan in Virginia under Chapter 22 (§ 6.2-
2200 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

If you have any questions about motor vehicle title lending 
or want additional information, you may contact the Virginia 
State Corporation Commission's Bureau of Financial 
Institutions toll-free at (800) 552-7945 or on the Internet at 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/bfi. 

In General: You are responsible for evaluating whether a 
motor vehicle title loan is right for you. Alternatives may 
include among other things less expensive short-term 
financing from another financial institution, family, or 
friends, a cash advance on a credit card, or an account with 
overdraft protection. 

Notice from Lender: A motor vehicle title lender is 
required to provide you with a clear and conspicuous printed 
notice advising you that a motor vehicle title loan is not 
intended to meet your long-term financial needs; that the 
interest rate on a motor vehicle title loan is high; and that if 
you fail to repay your loan in accordance with your loan 
agreement, the motor vehicle title lender may repossess and 
sell your motor vehicle.  

Prohibition on Obtaining Loan if Motor Vehicle has 
Existing Lien / One Loan at a Time: Virginia law prohibits 
a motor vehicle title lender from making a motor vehicle title 
loan to you if (i) your certificate of title indicates that your 
motor vehicle is security for another loan or has an existing 
lien; or (ii) you currently have another motor vehicle title loan 
from either the same motor vehicle title lender or any other 
motor vehicle title lender conducting motor vehicle title 
lending business in Virginia.  

Prohibition on Obtaining Loan on Same Day Another 
Loan was Repaid: Virginia law prohibits a motor vehicle 
title lender from making a motor vehicle title loan to you on 
the same day that you repaid or satisfied in full a motor 
vehicle title loan from either the same motor vehicle title 
lender or any other motor vehicle title lender conducting 
motor vehicle title lending business in Virginia. 

Prohibition on Loans to Covered Members of the Armed 
Forces and their Dependents: Virginia law prohibits a 
motor vehicle title lender from making motor vehicle title 
loans to covered members of the armed forces and their 
dependents. If you are (i) on active duty under a call or order 
that does not specify a period of 30 days or less; or (ii) on 
active guard and reserve duty, then you are a covered member 
of the armed forces and a motor vehicle title lender is 

prohibited from making a motor vehicle title loan to you. A 
motor vehicle title lender is also prohibited from making a 
motor vehicle title loan to you if (i) you are married to a 
covered member of the armed forces; (ii) you are the child, as 
defined in 38 USC § 101(4), of a covered member of the 
armed forces; or (iii) more than one-half of your support 
during the past 180 days was provided by a covered member 
of the armed forces. 

Certificate of Title / Other Security Interests: Prior to 
obtaining a motor vehicle title loan, you will be required to 
give a motor vehicle title lender the certificate of title for your 
motor vehicle. The motor vehicle title lender is required to 
record its lien with the Virginia Department of Motor 
Vehicles and hold the certificate of title until your loan is 
repaid or satisfied in full. The motor vehicle title lender 
cannot take an interest in more than one motor vehicle as 
security for a motor vehicle title loan. Apart from your motor 
vehicle and any accessories that are attached to it, the motor 
vehicle title lender cannot take an interest in any other 
property you own as security for a motor vehicle title loan. 

Maximum Loan Amount: A motor vehicle title lender 
cannot loan you more than 50% of the fair market value of 
your motor vehicle. The fair market value is generally based 
on the loan value for your motor vehicle according to a 
recognized pricing guide. 

Minimum and Maximum Loan Term / Monthly 
Payments: Under Virginia law, your loan term cannot be 
either less than 120 days or more than 12 months. Your motor 
vehicle title loan will be repayable in substantially equal 
monthly installments of principal and interest. However, if 
you have a longer first payment period, your first monthly 
payment may be larger than your remaining monthly 
payments. 

Interest and Other Loan Costs: The following are the 
maximum interest rates that a motor vehicle title lender is 
permitted to charge you PER MONTH on the principal 
amount of your loan that remains outstanding: (i) 22% per 
month on the portion of the outstanding balance up to and 
including $700; (ii) 18% per month on the portion of the 
outstanding balance between $701 and $1,400; and (iii) 15% 
per month on the portion of the outstanding balance of $1,401 
and higher. As long as these maximum rates are not 
exceeded, a motor vehicle title lender is allowed to accrue 
interest using a single blended interest rate if the outstanding 
balance is higher than $700. In addition to interest, a motor 
vehicle title lender may charge you for the actual cost of 
recording its lien with the Virginia Department of Motor 
Vehicles. 

If you make a payment more than seven calendar days after 
its due date, a motor vehicle title lender may impose a late 
charge of up to five percent of the amount of the payment. 
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A motor vehicle title lender is prohibited from accruing or 
charging you interest on or after (i) the date the motor vehicle 
title lender repossesses your motor vehicle; or (ii) 60 days 
after you fail to make a monthly payment on your loan, unless 
you are hiding your motor vehicle. 

Other than interest and the costs specifically mentioned in 
this section and the section below ("Costs of Repossession 
and Sale"), no additional amounts may be directly or 
indirectly charged, contracted for, collected, received, or 
recovered by a motor vehicle title lender. 

Costs of Repossession and Sale: A motor vehicle title 
lender may charge you for any reasonable costs that it incurs 
in repossessing, preparing for sale, and selling your motor 
vehicle if (i) you default on your motor vehicle title loan; (ii) 
the motor vehicle title lender sends you a written notice at 
least 10 days prior to repossession advising you that your 
motor vehicle title loan is in default and that your motor 
vehicle may be repossessed unless you pay the outstanding 
principal and interest; and (iii) you fail to pay the amount 
owed prior to the date of repossession. A motor vehicle title 
lender is prohibited from charging you for any storage costs if 
the motor vehicle title lender takes possession of your motor 
vehicle. 

Written Loan Agreement: A motor vehicle title lender 
must provide you with a written loan agreement, which must 
be signed by both you and an authorized representative of the 
motor vehicle title lender. Your motor vehicle title loan 
agreement is a binding, legal document that requires you to 
repay your loan. Make sure you read the entire loan 
agreement carefully before signing and dating it. A motor 
vehicle title lender must provide you with a duplicate original 
of your loan agreement at the time you sign it. If any 
provision of your loan agreement violates Chapter 22 (§ 6.2-
2200 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia, the 
provision will not be enforceable against you. 

Property Insurance: A motor vehicle title lender may 
require you to purchase or maintain property insurance for 
your motor vehicle. However, a motor vehicle title lender 
cannot require you to purchase or maintain property insurance 
from or through a particular provider or list of providers.  

Prohibition on Obtaining Funds Electronically: A motor 
vehicle title lender is prohibited from electronically debiting 
your deposit account or obtaining any of your funds by 
electronic means. 

Loan Proceeds: You will receive your loan proceeds in the 
form of (i) cash; (ii) a check from the motor vehicle title 
lender; or (iii) a debit card. If you receive a check, the motor 
vehicle title lender is prohibited from charging you a fee for 
cashing the check. Similarly, a check casher located in the 
same office is prohibited from charging you a fee for cashing 
the motor vehicle title lender's check. If you receive a debit 
card, the motor vehicle title lender is prohibited from 

charging you an additional fee when you withdraw or use the 
loan proceeds. 

Other Businesses: A motor vehicle title lender is prohibited 
from engaging in any other businesses in its motor vehicle 
title loan offices unless permitted by order of the State 
Corporation Commission. A motor vehicle title lender is also 
prohibited by statute from selling you any type of insurance 
coverage. 

Using Motor Vehicle Title Loan to Purchase Products or 
Services or Repay Other Loans: A motor vehicle title 
lender is prohibited from making you a motor vehicle title 
loan so that you can purchase another product or service sold 
at the motor vehicle title lender's business location. A motor 
vehicle title lender is also prohibited from making you a 
motor vehicle title loan so that you can repay another loan 
you may have from either the motor vehicle title lender or an 
affiliate of the motor vehicle title lender. 

Right to Cancel: You have the right to cancel your motor 
vehicle title loan at any time prior to the close of business on 
the next day the motor vehicle title lender is open following 
the date your loan is made by either returning the original 
loan proceeds check or paying the motor vehicle title lender 
the amount advanced to you in cash or by certified check, 
cashier's check, money order or, if the motor vehicle title 
lender is equipped to handle such payments, by using a credit 
card. If you cancel your motor vehicle title loan, the motor 
vehicle title lender must mark your original loan agreement 
with the word "canceled" and return it to you along with your 
certificate of title. 

Cash Payments / Partial Payments / Prepayments: You 
have the right to receive a signed, dated receipt for each cash 
payment made in person, which will show the balance 
remaining on your motor vehicle title loan. 

Additionally, you have the right to make a partial payment 
on your motor vehicle title loan at any time prior to its 
specified due date without penalty. However, a motor vehicle 
title lender may apply a partial payment first to any amounts 
that are due and unpaid at the time of such payment. If your 
motor vehicle title loan is current, a partial payment will 
reduce your outstanding balance as well as the total amount 
of interest that you will be required to pay. 

You also have the right to prepay your motor vehicle title 
loan in full before its specified maturity date without penalty 
by paying the motor vehicle title lender the total outstanding 
balance on your loan, including any accrued and unpaid 
interest and other charges that you may owe on your motor 
vehicle title loan. 

Lender to Return Original Loan Agreement and 
Certificate of Title: Within 10 days after the date that you 
repay your motor vehicle title loan in full, the motor vehicle 
title lender must (i) mark your original loan agreement with 
the word "paid" or "canceled" and return it to you; (ii) take 
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any action necessary to reflect the termination of its lien on 
your motor vehicle's certificate of title; and (iii) return the 
certificate of title to you. If you have any questions or 
concerns regarding your certificate of title, you should contact 
the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. 

No Rollovers, Extensions, Etc.: A motor vehicle title 
lender cannot refinance, renew, extend, or rollover your 
motor vehicle title loan. 

Failure to Repay: Pay back your motor vehicle title loan!  
Know when your payments are due and be sure to repay your 
motor vehicle title loan on time and in full. IF YOU DO NOT 
REPAY YOUR MOTOR VEHICLE TITLE LOAN IN 
ACCORDANCE WITH YOUR LOAN AGREEMENT, THE 
MOTOR VEHICLE TITLE LENDER MAY REPOSSESS 
AND SELL YOUR MOTOR VEHICLE (see section below 
on "Repossession and Sale of your Motor Vehicle"). 

In general, a motor vehicle title lender cannot seek a 
personal money judgment against you if you fail to pay any 
amount owed in accordance with your loan agreement. 
However, a motor vehicle title lender may seek a personal 
money judgment against you if you impair the motor vehicle 
title lender's security interest by (i) intentionally damaging or 
destroying your motor vehicle; (ii) intentionally hiding your 
motor vehicle; (iii) giving the motor vehicle title lender a lien 
on a motor vehicle that has an undisclosed prior lien; (iv) 
selling your motor vehicle without the motor vehicle title 
lender's written consent; or (v) securing another loan or 
obligation with a security interest in your motor vehicle 
without the motor vehicle title lender's written consent. 

In collecting or attempting to collect a motor vehicle title 
loan, a motor vehicle title lender is required to comply with 
the restrictions and prohibitions applicable to debt collectors 
contained in the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, 15 USC 
§ 1692 et seq., regarding harassment or abuse; false, 
misleading or deceptive statements or representations; and 
unfair practices in collections. A motor vehicle title lender is 
also prohibited from threatening or beginning criminal 
proceedings against you if you fail to pay any amount owed 
in accordance with your loan agreement. 

Repossession and Sale of your Motor Vehicle: If you do 
not repay your motor vehicle title loan in accordance with 
your loan agreement, the motor vehicle title lender may 
repossess and sell your motor vehicle in order to recover any 
outstanding amounts that you owe. 

If a motor vehicle title lender repossesses your motor 
vehicle, the motor vehicle title lender must send you a written 
notice at least 15 days prior to the sale of your motor vehicle. 
The notice will contain (i) the date and time after which your 
motor vehicle may be sold; and (ii) a written accounting of 
the outstanding balance on your motor vehicle title loan, the 
amount of interest accrued through the date the motor vehicle 
title lender took possession of your motor vehicle, and any 

reasonable costs incurred to date by the motor vehicle title 
lender in connection with repossessing, preparing for sale, 
and selling your motor vehicle. At any time prior to the sale 
of your motor vehicle, you may obtain your motor vehicle by 
paying the motor vehicle title lender the total amount 
specified in the notice. Payment must be made in cash or by 
certified check, cashier's check, money order or, if the motor 
vehicle title lender is equipped to handle such payments, by 
using a credit card. 

Within 30 days of a motor vehicle title lender receiving 
funds from the sale of your motor vehicle, you are entitled to 
receive any surplus from the sale in excess of the sum of the 
following: (i) the outstanding balance on your motor vehicle 
title loan; (ii) the amount of interest accrued on your motor 
vehicle title loan through the date the motor vehicle title 
lender repossessed your motor vehicle; and (iii) any 
reasonable costs incurred by the motor vehicle title lender in 
repossessing, preparing for sale, and selling your motor 
vehicle. 

See section above on "Costs of Repossession and Sale" for 
additional information regarding the conditions that must be 
met in order for a motor vehicle title lender to collect the 
reasonable costs of repossessing, preparing for sale, and 
selling your motor vehicle. 

Violation of the Virginia Consumer Protection Act: 
Losses suffered as the result of a motor vehicle title lender's 
violation of Chapter 22 (§ 6.2-2200 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the 
Code of Virginia may be pursued under the Virginia 
Consumer Protection Act (§ 59.1-196 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia), which in some cases permits consumers to recover 
actual and punitive damages. 

Complaints and Contacting the Bureau of Financial 
Institutions: For assistance with any complaints you may 
have against a motor vehicle title lender, please contact the 
Bureau of Financial Institutions toll-free at (800) 552-7945 or 
on the Internet at http://www.scc.virginia.gov/bfi. Complaints 
must be filed in writing with the Bureau of Financial 
Institutions. Complaints should be mailed to the Bureau of 
Financial Institutions, Attn: Complaints, P.O. Box 640, 
Richmond, Virginia 23218-0640, or faxed to the Bureau of 
Financial Institutions, Attn: Complaints, at (804) 371-9416. 

10VAC5-210-40. Posting of charges and contact 
information for complaints. 

Licensees shall conspicuously post the schedule of finance 
charges and notice required by subdivision 14 of § 6.2-2215 
of the Code of Virginia in accordance with the provisions of 
this section. 

A. The minimum size for the poster shall be 24 inches by 18 
inches. 

B. The title for the schedule of finance charges, which shall 
be printed in at least 48-point bold type, shall be 
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"SCHEDULE OF FINANCE CHARGES FOR MOTOR 
VEHICLE TITLE LOANS." The title for the notice, which 
shall also be printed in at least 48-point bold type, shall be 
"HOW TO FILE A COMPLAINT AGAINST US." 

C. The schedule of finance charges and notice shall be 
printed in at least 24-point bold type. 

D. The notice shall contain the following statement: "Should 
you wish to file a complaint against us, you may contact the 
Bureau of Financial Institutions at (800) 552-7945 or on the 
Internet at http://www.scc.virginia.gov/bfi. Complaints must 
be filed in writing with the Bureau of Financial Institutions. 
Complaints should be mailed to the Bureau of Financial 
Institutions, Attn: Complaints, P.O. Box 640, Richmond, 
Virginia 23218-0640, or faxed to the Bureau of Financial 
Institutions, Attn: Complaints, at (804) 371-9416." 

10VAC5-210-50. Additional business requirements and 
restrictions. 

A. Each original license shall be prominently posted in each 
place of business of the licensee. 

B. A licensee shall post in or on its licensed locations the 
days and hours during which it is open for business so that the 
posting is legible from outside. 

C. A licensee shall endeavor to provide the loan documents, 
printed notice, and pamphlet required by 10VAC5-210-30, in 
a language other than English when a prospective borrower is 
unable to read the materials printed in English. 

D. A licensee shall not knowingly make a motor vehicle title 
loan to (i) a person who has an outstanding motor vehicle title 
loan from the same licensee or another licensee; (ii) a covered 
member of the armed forces; or (iii) a dependent of a covered 
member of the armed forces. To enable a licensee to make 
these determinations and the determination in subsection F of 
this section, a licensee shall clearly and conspicuously include 
the following questions in its written loan application, which 
the licensee shall require each applicant to answer before 
obtaining a motor vehicle title loan. A licensee shall not make 
a motor vehicle title loan to an applicant unless the applicant 
answers "no" to all of these questions: 

1. Do you currently have a motor vehicle title loan from 
any motor vehicle title lender? 

2. At any time today, did you repay or satisfy in full a 
motor vehicle title loan from any motor vehicle title 
lender? 

3. Are you (i) on active duty under a call or order that does 
not specify a period of 30 days or less, or (ii) on active 
guard and reserve duty? 

4. Are you married to an individual who is either (i) on 
active duty under a call or order that does not specify a 
period of 30 days or less, or (ii) on active guard and 
reserve duty? 

5. Are you the child, as defined in 38 USC § 101(4), of an 
individual who is either (i) on active duty under a call or 
order that does not specify a period of 30 days or less, or 
(ii) on active guard and reserve duty? 

6. Was more than one-half of your support during the past 
180 days provided by an individual who is either (i) on 
active duty under a call or order that does not specify a 
period of 30 days or less or (ii) on active guard and reserve 
duty? 

E. A licensee shall not require a borrower to purchase or 
maintain property insurance for a motor vehicle from or 
through a particular provider or list of providers. 

F. A licensee shall not make a motor vehicle title loan to a 
borrower on the same day that the borrower repaid or 
satisfied in full a motor vehicle title loan from the same 
licensee or another licensee. Any motor vehicle title loan 
made in violation of this subsection shall for purposes of 
subdivision 17 of § 6.2-2215 of the Code of Virginia be 
deemed an evasion of the prohibition on refinancing a motor 
vehicle title loan agreement set forth in § 6.2-2216 F of the 
Code of Virginia.  

G. The maturity date of a motor vehicle title loan shall not 
be earlier than 120 days from the date a motor vehicle title 
loan agreement is executed by a borrower or later than 12 
months from the date a motor vehicle title loan agreement is 
executed by a borrower. 

H. A licensee shall not electronically debit a borrower's 
deposit account or otherwise obtain any funds from a 
borrower by electronic means, including the use of the 
Automated Clearing House network, electronic funds 
transfers, electronic check conversions, or re-presented check 
entries. 

I. If a licensee disburses loan proceeds by means of a check, 
the licensee shall not (i) charge the borrower a fee for cashing 
the check or (ii) permit either a check casher located in the 
same office or any affiliated check casher to charge the 
borrower a fee for cashing the check. 

J. A borrower shall have the right to cancel a motor vehicle 
title loan agreement at any time before the close of business 
on the next business day following the date that the loan 
agreement is executed by the borrower by returning the 
original loan proceeds check or paying to the licensee, in the 
form of cash or good funds instrument, the principal amount 
advanced to the borrower. If a borrower cancels a loan 
agreement in accordance with this subsection, the licensee 
shall upon receipt of the loan proceeds check, cash, or good 
funds instrument (i) mark the original loan agreement with 
the word "canceled," return it to the borrower, and retain a 
copy in its records; and (ii) return the certificate of title to the 
borrower. Furthermore, the licensee shall not be entitled to 
charge, contract for, collect, receive, recover, or require a 



Regulations 

Volume 26, Issue 25 Virginia Register of Regulations August 16, 2010 

2848 

borrower to pay any interest, fees, or other amounts otherwise 
permitted by § 6.2-2216 of the Code of Virginia. 

K. A licensee shall give a borrower a signed, dated receipt 
for each cash payment made in person, which shall state the 
balance due on the loan. 

L. A borrower shall be permitted to prepay a motor vehicle 
title loan either in whole or in part without charge. Partial 
prepayments shall reduce the outstanding loan balance upon 
which interest is calculated. A licensee may apply a payment 
first to any amounts that are due and unpaid at the time of 
such payment. 

M. Pursuant to §§ 6.2-2215 and 46.2-643 of the Code of 
Virginia, a licensee shall release its security interest and 
perform the following acts within 10 days after the date that a 
borrower's obligations under a motor vehicle title loan 
agreement are satisfied in full: (i) mark the original loan 
agreement with the word "paid" or "canceled," return it to the 
borrower, and retain a copy in its records; (ii) take any action 
necessary to reflect the termination of its lien on the motor 
vehicle's certificate of title; and (iii) return the certificate of 
title to the borrower. 

N. When sending the written notices and accounting 
specified by § 6.2-2217 of the Code of Virginia, a licensee 
shall obtain proof of mailing from the United States Postal 
Service or other common carrier. 

O. A licensee may impose a late charge for failure to make 
timely payment of any amount due under a motor vehicle title 
loan agreement provided that (i) the late charge is specified in 
the loan agreement and (ii) the amount of the late charge does 
not exceed 5.0% of the amount of the payment. A payment 
shall be considered to be timely if it is made no later than 
seven calendar days after the due date specified in the loan 
agreement. 

P. Nothing in the Act or this chapter shall be construed to 
prohibit a licensee from (i) voluntarily accepting a payment 
on an outstanding motor vehicle title loan from a borrower 
after the date that such payment was due to the licensee or (ii) 
considering a payment to be timely if it is made more than 
seven calendar days after its due date. However, except as 
otherwise permitted by the Act and this chapter, the licensee 
shall not charge, contract for, collect, receive, recover, or 
require a borrower to pay any additional interest, fees, or 
other amounts. 

10VAC5-210-60. Annual reporting requirements. 

When making the annual report required by § 6.2-2210 of 
the Code of Virginia, in addition to other information 
required by the commissioner, a licensee shall provide the 
following data regarding motor vehicle title loans made to 
Virginia residents: 

1. The total number and dollar amount of motor vehicle 
title loans made by the licensee. 

2. The total number of individual borrowers to whom 
motor vehicle title loans were made by the licensee. 

3. The minimum, maximum, and average loan amount of 
motor vehicle title loans made by the licensee.  

4. The minimum, maximum, and average Annual 
Percentage Rate of motor vehicle title loans made by the 
licensee. 

5. The minimum, maximum, and average term (in days) of 
motor vehicle title loans made by the licensee.  

6. The total number of individual borrowers that failed to 
make a monthly payment on a motor vehicle title loan for 
at least 60 days. 

7. The total number of motor vehicles that were 
repossessed by or on behalf of the licensee. 

8. The total number of repossessed motor vehicles that 
were sold by or on behalf of the licensee. 

9. The total number of personal money judgments against 
borrowers that were obtained by or on behalf of the 
licensee. 

10VAC5-210-70. Other business in motor vehicle title 
lending offices. 

A. This section governs the conduct of any business other 
than motor vehicle title lending where a licensed motor 
vehicle title lending business is conducted. As used in this 
section, the term "other business operator" refers to a licensed 
motor vehicle title lender or third party, including an affiliate 
of the licensed motor vehicle title lender, who conducts or 
wants to conduct other business from one or more motor 
vehicle title lending offices. 

1. Pursuant to subdivision 18 of § 6.2-2215 of the Code of 
Virginia, a licensee shall not conduct the business of 
making motor vehicle title loans at any office, suite, room, 
or place of business where any other business is solicited 
or conducted, except a registered check cashing business or 
such other business as the commission determines should 
be permitted, and subject to such conditions as the 
commission deems necessary and in the public interest. 

2. No person shall engage in the business of selling 
insurance or enrolling borrowers under group insurance 
policies from any office, suite, room, or place of business 
where a licensed motor vehicle title lending business is 
conducted. 

3. Pursuant to § 6.2-2107 of the Code of Virginia, no 
person registered or required to be registered as a check 
casher under Chapter 21 (§ 6.2-2100 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of 
the Code of Virginia shall make loans from any location, 
including an office, suite, room, or place of business where 
a licensed motor vehicle title lending business is 
conducted, unless the person is licensed under Chapter 18 
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(§ 6.2-1800 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia and 
the loans are made in accordance with Chapter 18 of Title 
6.2 of the Code of Virginia. Accordingly, a person 
registered or required to be registered as a check casher 
shall not make motor vehicle title loans. 

B. Upon the filing of a written application, provision of any 
information relating to the application as the commissioner 
may require, and payment of the fee required by law, other 
business may be conducted in a location where a licensed 
motor vehicle title lending business is conducted if the 
commission finds that (i) the proposed other business is 
financial in nature; (ii) the proposed other business is in the 
public interest; (iii) the other business operator has the 
general fitness to warrant belief that the business will be 
operated in accordance with law; and (iv) the applicant has 
been operating its motor vehicle title lending business in 
accordance with the Act and this chapter. The commission 
shall in its discretion determine whether a proposed other 
business is "financial in nature," and shall not be obliged to 
consider the meaning of this term under federal law. A 
business is financial in nature if it primarily deals with the 
offering of debt, money or credit, or services directly related 
thereto.  

C. Written evidence of commission approval of each other 
business conducted by an other business operator should be 
maintained at each location where such other business is 
conducted.  

D. All approved other businesses in motor vehicle title 
lending offices shall be conducted in accordance with the 
following conditions: 

1. The licensee shall not make a motor vehicle title loan to 
a borrower to enable the borrower to purchase or pay any 
amount owed in connection with the (i) goods or services 
sold or (ii) loans offered, facilitated, or made, by the other 
business operator at the licensee's motor vehicle title 
lending offices. 

2. The other business operator shall comply with all federal 
and state laws and regulations applicable to its other 
business, including any applicable licensing requirements. 

3. The other business operator shall not use or cause to be 
published any advertisement or other information that 
contains any false, misleading, or deceptive statement or 
representation concerning its other business, including the 
rates, terms, or conditions of the products, services, or 
loans that it offers. The other business operator shall not 
make or cause to be made any misrepresentation as to (i) 
its being licensed to conduct the other business or (ii) the 
extent to which it is subject to supervision or regulation. 

4. The licensee shall not make a motor vehicle title loan or 
vary the terms of a motor vehicle title loan on the condition 
or requirement that a person also (i) purchase a good or 
service from or (ii) obtain a loan from or through the other 

business operator. The other business operator shall not (a) 
sell its goods or services; (b) offer, facilitate, or make 
loans; or (c) vary the terms of its goods, services, or loans 
on the condition or requirement that a person also obtain a 
motor vehicle title loan from the licensee. 

5. The other business operator shall maintain books and 
records for its other business separate and apart from the 
licensee's motor vehicle title lending business and in a 
different location within the licensee's motor vehicle title 
lending offices. The bureau shall be given access to all 
such books and records and be furnished with any 
information and records that it may require in order to 
determine compliance with all applicable conditions, laws, 
and regulations. 

E. If a licensee receives commission authority for an other 
business operator to conduct a payday lending business from 
the licensee's motor vehicle title lending offices, the 
following additional conditions shall be applicable: 

1. The licensee shall not make a motor vehicle title loan to 
a person if (i) the person has an outstanding payday loan 
from the other business operator or (ii) on the same day the 
person repaid or satisfied in full a payday loan from the 
other business operator. 

2. The other business operator shall not make a payday 
loan to a person if (i) the person has an outstanding motor 
vehicle title loan from the licensee or (ii) on the same day 
the person repaid or satisfied in full a motor vehicle title 
loan from the licensee. 

3. The other business operator and the licensee shall not 
make a payday loan and a motor vehicle title loan 
contemporaneously or in response to a single request for a 
loan or credit. 

4. The licensee and other business operator shall provide 
each applicant for a motor vehicle title loan or payday loan 
with a separate disclosure, signed by the applicant, that 
clearly identifies all of the loan products available in the 
licensee's motor vehicle title lending offices along with the 
corresponding Annual Percentage Rate, interest rate, and 
other costs associated with each loan product. 

F. If a licensee receives commission authority for an other 
business operator to conduct business as an authorized 
delegate or agent of a money order seller or money 
transmitter from the licensee's motor vehicle title lending 
offices, the other business operator shall be and remain a 
party to a written agreement to act as an authorized delegate 
or agent of a person licensed or exempt from licensing as a 
money order seller or money transmitter under Chapter 19 
(§ 6.2-1900 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia. The 
other business operator shall not engage in money order sales 
or money transmission services on its own behalf or on behalf 
of any person other than a licensed or exempt money order 
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seller or money transmitter with whom it has a written 
agreement. 

G. If a licensee receives commission authority for an other 
business operator to conduct the business of (i) tax 
preparation and electronic tax filing services or (ii) 
facilitating third party tax preparation and electronic tax filing 
services from the licensee's motor vehicle title lending 
offices, the following additional conditions shall be 
applicable: 

1. The licensee shall not make, arrange, or broker a motor 
vehicle title loan that is secured by (i) an interest in a 
borrower's tax refund, (ii) an assignment of income 
payable to a borrower, or (iii) an assignment of an interest 
in a borrower's account at a depository institution. 

2. The other business operator shall not engage in the 
business of (i) accepting funds for transmission to the 
Internal Revenue Service or other government 
instrumentalities or (ii) receiving tax refunds for delivery 
to individuals unless licensed or exempt from licensing 
under Chapter 19 (§ 6.2-1900 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

H. If a licensee receives commission authority for an other 
business operator to conduct the business of facilitating or 
arranging tax refund anticipation loans or tax refund 
payments from the licensee's motor vehicle title lending 
offices, the following additional conditions shall be 
applicable: 

1. The other business operator shall not facilitate or arrange 
a tax refund anticipation loan or tax refund payment to 
enable a person to pay any amount owed to the licensee as 
a result of a motor vehicle title loan transaction. 

2. The other business operator and the licensee shall not 
facilitate or arrange a tax refund anticipation loan or tax 
refund payment and make a motor vehicle title loan 
contemporaneously or in response to a single request for a 
loan or credit. 

3. The licensee shall not make, arrange, or broker a motor 
vehicle title loan that is secured by (i) an interest in a 
borrower's tax refund, (ii) an assignment of income 
payable to a borrower, or (iii) an assignment of an interest 
in a borrower's account at a depository institution. 

4. The other business operator shall not engage in the 
business of receiving tax refunds or tax refund payments 
for delivery to individuals unless licensed or exempt from 
licensing under Chapter 19 (§ 6.2-1900 et seq.) of Title 6.2 
of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The licensee and other business operator shall provide 
each applicant for a motor vehicle title loan or tax refund 
anticipation loan with a separate disclosure, signed by the 
applicant, that clearly identifies all of the loan products 
available in the licensee's motor vehicle title lending 

offices along with the corresponding Annual Percentage 
Rate, interest rate, and other costs associated with each 
loan product. 

I. If a licensee receives commission authority for an other 
business operator to conduct a consumer finance business 
from the licensee's motor vehicle title lending offices, the 
following additional conditions shall be applicable: 

1. The licensee shall not make a motor vehicle title loan to 
a person if (i) the person has an outstanding consumer 
finance loan from the other business operator or (ii) on the 
same day the person repaid or satisfied in full a consumer 
finance loan from the other business operator. 

2. The other business operator shall not make a consumer 
finance loan to a person if (i) the person has an outstanding 
motor vehicle title loan from the licensee or (ii) on the 
same day the person repaid or satisfied in full a motor 
vehicle title loan from the licensee. 

3. The licensee and other business operator shall not make 
a motor vehicle title loan and a consumer finance loan 
contemporaneously or in response to a single request for a 
loan or credit. 

4. The licensee and other business operator shall provide 
each applicant for a motor vehicle title loan or consumer 
finance loan with a separate disclosure, signed by the 
applicant, that clearly identifies all of the loan products 
available in the licensee's motor vehicle title lending 
offices along with the corresponding Annual Percentage 
Rate, interest rate, and other costs associated with each 
loan product. 

J. If a licensee receives commission authority for an other 
business operator to conduct the business of operating an 
automated teller machine from the licensee's motor vehicle 
title lending offices, the other business operator shall not 
charge a fee or receive other compensation in connection with 
the use of its automated teller machine by a person when the 
person is withdrawing funds in order to make a payment on a 
motor vehicle title loan from the licensee. 

K. The commission may impose any additional conditions 
upon the conduct of other business in motor vehicle title 
lending offices that it deems necessary and in the public 
interest. 

L. Failure by a licensee or other business operator to comply 
with any provision of this section or any condition imposed 
by the commission, or failure by a licensee to comply with 
the Act, this chapter, or any other law or regulation applicable 
to the conduct of the licensee's business, may result in 
revocation of the authority to conduct other business or any 
form of enforcement action specified in 10VAC5-210-100. 
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10VAC5-210-80. Advertising. 

A. A licensee shall disclose the following information in its 
advertisements:  

1. The name of the motor vehicle title lender as set forth in 
the license issued by the commission. 

2. A statement that the motor vehicle title lender is 
"licensed by the Virginia State Corporation Commission." 

3. The license number assigned by the commission to the 
motor vehicle title lender (i.e., VTL-XXX). 

B. The information required by subsection A of this section 
shall be disclosed in accordance with the disclosure standards 
prescribed in § 6.2-2218 B of the Code of Virginia. 

10VAC5-210-90. Books, accounts, and records; 
responding to requests from the bureau. 

A. A licensee shall maintain in its licensed offices such 
books, accounts, and records as the bureau may reasonably 
require in order to determine whether the licensee is 
complying with the Act and this chapter. Such books, 
accounts, and records shall be maintained apart and separate 
from those relating to any other business in which the 
licensee is involved. 

B. In addition to any other books, accounts, and records as 
the bureau may reasonably require, a licensee shall maintain 
copies of the following records for at least three years after 
final payment is made on any motor vehicle title loan: 

1. The loan application. 

2. The motor vehicle title loan agreement. If a loan has 
been repaid or satisfied in full, a licensee shall maintain a 
copy of the motor vehicle title loan agreement with the 
word "paid" or "canceled" along with documentation 
showing that the licensee released its security interest in 
the borrower's motor vehicle. 

3. A record of the fair market value of the motor vehicle 
securing the loan along with supporting documentation 
from a recognized pricing guide. Supporting 
documentation shall include any factors used to determine 
the value of the motor vehicle, including the motor 
vehicle's condition, features, mileage, as well as the name 
of the pricing guide that the licensee relied upon in making 
the loan. 

4. Any disclosures that were given to a borrower pursuant 
to the Truth in Lending Act (15 USC § 1601 et seq.) or any 
other federal or state laws. 

5. The certificate of title for the motor vehicle, which shall 
reflect the licensee's security interest unless the borrower 
canceled or fully satisfied the motor vehicle title loan prior 
to the licensee recording its security interest with the 
Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. 

C. A licensee shall maintain a repossession log or similar 
record of all motor vehicles that have been repossessed by or 
on behalf of the licensee, including motor vehicles that are 
voluntarily surrendered by borrowers. The log or record shall 
include the following information: (i) the borrower's first and 
last name; (ii) the make, model, year, and vehicle 
identification number of the motor vehicle; (iii) the date the 
motor vehicle was repossessed; (iv) the date the motor vehicle 
was sold; (v) the name of the purchaser; and (vi) the sale 
price of the motor vehicle. Furthermore, in addition to any 
other books, accounts, and records as the bureau may 
reasonable require, a licensee shall maintain copies of the 
following records for at least three years after a motor vehicle 
used to secure a loan is repossessed and sold by or on behalf 
of the licensee: 

1. The written notices and accounting sent by the licensee 
to a borrower pursuant to § 6.2-2217 of the Code of 
Virginia along with the proof of mailing from the United 
States Postal Service or other common carrier. 

2. Supporting documentation of the sale of the motor 
vehicle and the proceeds derived from the sale. 

3. The check or other method of payment used to deliver 
any excess proceeds from the sale of the motor vehicle to a 
borrower. 

D. A motor vehicle title lender shall retain for at least three 
years after it is last published, delivered, transmitted, or made 
available, an example of every advertisement used, including 
but not limited to solicitation letters, commercial scripts, and 
recordings of all radio and television broadcasts, but 
excluding copies of Internet web pages. 

E. When the bureau requests a written response, books, 
records, documentation, or other information from a licensee 
in connection with the bureau's investigation, enforcement, or 
examination of compliance with applicable laws, the licensee 
shall deliver a written response as well as any requested 
books, records, documentation, or information within the time 
period specified in the bureau's request. If no time period is 
specified, a written response as well as any requested books, 
records, documentation, or information shall be delivered by 
the licensee to the bureau not later than 30 days from the date 
of such request. In determining the specified time period for 
responding to the bureau and when considering a request for 
an extension of time to respond, the bureau shall take into 
consideration the volume and complexity of the requested 
written response, books, records, documentation, or 
information, and such other factors as the bureau determines 
to be relevant under the circumstances. Requests made by the 
bureau pursuant to this subsection are deemed to be in 
furtherance of the investigation and examination authority 
provided for in § 6.2-2212 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. If a licensee disposes of records containing a consumer's 
personal financial information following the expiration of any 
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applicable record retention periods, such records shall be 
shredded, incinerated, or otherwise disposed of in a secure 
manner. Licensees may arrange for service from a business 
record destruction vendor. 

10VAC5-210-100. Enforcement; civil penalties. 

A. Failure to comply with any provision of the Act or this 
chapter may result in civil penalties, license suspension, 
license revocation, the entry of a cease and desist order, or 
other appropriate enforcement action. 

B. Pursuant to § 6.2-2222 of the Code of Virginia, a licensee 
shall be subject to a separate civil penalty of up to $1,000 for 
every violation of the Act, this chapter, or other law or 
regulation applicable to the conduct of the licensee's business. 
If a licensee violates any provision of the Act, this chapter, or 
other law or regulation applicable to the conduct of the 
licensee's business in connection with multiple loans or 
borrowers, the licensee shall be subject to a separate civil 
penalty for each loan or borrower. For example, if a licensee 
makes five loans and the licensee violates two provisions of 
this chapter that are applicable to the five loans, the licensee 
shall be subject to a maximum civil penalty of $10,000. 

10VAC5-210-110. Commission authority. 

The commission may, at its discretion, waive or grant 
exceptions to any provision of this chapter for good cause 
shown. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (10VAC5-210) 

Personal Financial Report and Disclosure Statement, CCB-
1123 (rev. 3/08). 

Limited Personal Financial Report and Disclosure 
Statement, CCB-1143 (rev. 3/08).  

Depository Institution Authorization Form, CCB-1149 (rev. 
12/04). 

Employment and Business Affiliation Disclosure Form, 
CCB-1150 (rev. 3/08). 

Application for a Motor Vehicle Title Lender License 
pursuant to Chapter 21 of Title 6.1 of the Code of Virginia, 
CCB-5523 (eff. 6/10). 

Motor Vehicle Title Lender Surety Bond pursuant to § 6.1-
484 of the Code of Virginia, CCB-5524 (eff. 6/10). 

Application for an Additional Office or Relocation of an 
Existing Office pursuant to Chapter 21 of Title 6.1 of the 
Code of Virginia, CCB-5525 (eff. 6/10). 

Application for Permission to Acquire Control of a Motor 
Vehicle Lender Licensee pursuant to § 6.1-488 of the Code of 
Virginia, CCB-5526 (eff. 6/10). 

Application to Conduct the Business of Motor Vehicle Title 
Lending and Other Business at the Same Location, CCB-
5527 (eff. 7/10). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2528; Filed July 27, 2010, 9:25 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

JOINT BOARDS OF NURSING AND MEDICINE 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Nursing is claiming 
an exemption from the Administrative Process Act in 
accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to 
changes in Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion 
is involved. The Board of Nursing will receive, consider, and 
respond to petitions from any interested person at any time 
with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-40. Regulations for 
Prescriptive Authority for Nurse Practitioners (amending 
18VAC90-40-130).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 15, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 
Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4515, FAX 
(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This action of the Boards of Nursing and Medicine amends 
18VAC90-40, Regulations for Prescriptive Authority for 
Nurse Practitioners, to include unauthorized use or 
disclosure of confidential information obtained from the 
Prescription Monitoring Program as grounds for 
disciplinary action. The amendment conforms the 
regulation to § 54.1-2525 of the Code of Virginia. 

Part IV  
Discipline  

18VAC90-40-130. Grounds for disciplinary action. 

A. The boards may deny approval of prescriptive authority, 
revoke or suspend authorization, or take other disciplinary 
actions against a nurse practitioner who:  



Regulations 

Volume 26, Issue 25 Virginia Register of Regulations August 16, 2010 

2853 

1. Exceeds his authority to prescribe or prescribes outside 
of the written practice agreement with the supervising 
physician;  

2. Has had his license as a nurse practitioner suspended, 
revoked or otherwise disciplined by the boards pursuant to 
18VAC90-30-220;  

3. Fails to comply with requirements for continuing 
competency as set forth in 18VAC90-40-55.  

B. Unauthorized use or disclosure of confidential 
information received from the Prescription Monitoring 
Program shall be grounds for disciplinary action. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2449; Filed July 28, 2010, 2:03 p.m.  

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Veterinary Medicine 
is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process 
Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of 
Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 
agency discretion is involved. The Board of Veterinary 
Medicine will receive, consider, and respond to petitions from 
any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC150-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Veterinary Medicine (amending 
18VAC150-20-140). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 15, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 
Board of Veterinary Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 662-4426, FAX 
(804) 527-4471, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

This action amends the Board of Veterinary Medicine's 
regulations relating to unprofessional conduct for 
conformity to the language of § 54.1-3812.1 of the Code 
of Virginia (Chapter 574 of the 2010 Acts of the 
Assembly). 18VAC150-20-140, which sets out grounds 
for unprofessional conduct, refers to reporting "evidence 
of animal abuse" while § 54.1-3812.1 of the Code of 
Virginia refers to reporting "suspected animal cruelty." 
For consistency with the Code of Virginia and the 
provision of immunity for such reports, the regulation is 
amended to use the terminology found in § 54.1-3812.1 
of the Code of Virginia. 

Part III  
Unprofessional Conduct  

18VAC150-20-140. Unprofessional conduct. 

Unprofessional conduct as referenced in § 54.1-3807(5) of 
the Code of Virginia shall include the following:  

1. Representing conflicting interests except by express 
consent of all concerned given after a full disclosure of the 
facts. Acceptance of a fee from both the buyer and the 
seller is prima facie evidence of a conflict of interest. 

2. Practicing veterinary medicine or equine dentistry where 
an unlicensed person has the authority to control the 
professional judgment of the licensed veterinarian or the 
equine dental technician. 

3. Issuing a certificate of health unless he shall know of his 
own knowledge by actual inspection and appropriate tests 
of the animals that the animals meet the requirements for 
the issuance of such certificate on the day issued. 

4. Revealing confidences gained in the course of providing 
veterinary services to a client, unless required by law or 
necessary to protect the health, safety or welfare of other 
persons or animals. 

5. Advertising in a manner which is false, deceptive, or 
misleading or which makes subjective claims of 
superiority. 

6. Violating any state law, federal law, or board regulation 
pertaining to the practice of veterinary medicine, veterinary 
technology or equine dentistry. 

7. Practicing veterinary medicine or as an equine dental 
technician in such a manner as to endanger the health and 
welfare of his patients or the public, or being unable to 
practice veterinary medicine or as an equine dental 
technician with reasonable skill and safety. 

8. Performing surgery on animals in an unregistered 
veterinary establishment or not in accordance with the 
establishment permit or with accepted standards of 
practice. 

9. Refusing the board or its agent the right to inspect an 
establishment at reasonable hours. 

10. Allowing unlicensed persons to perform acts restricted 
to the practice of veterinary medicine, veterinary 
technology or an equine dental technician including any 
invasive procedure on a patient or delegation of tasks to 
persons who are not properly trained or authorized to 
perform such tasks. 

11. Failing to provide immediate and direct supervision to 
a licensed veterinary technician or an assistant in his 
employ. 
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12. Refusing to release a copy of a valid prescription upon 
request from a client. 

13. Misrepresenting or falsifying information on an 
application or renewal form. 

14. Failing to report evidence of animal abuse suspected 
animal cruelty to the appropriate authorities. 

15. Failing to release patient records when requested by the 
owner; a law-enforcement entity; or a federal, state, or 
local health regulatory agency. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2488; Filed July 28, 2010, 2:03 p.m.  
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GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 21 (2010) 

Use of Virginia's Volume Cap Allocations for 
Qualified Energy Conservation Bonds 

Background 

Pursuant to Section 54D(e) of the Internal Revenue Code and 
as described in Notice 2009-29 of the Internal Revenue 
Service, IRB 2009-16 ("Notice 2009-29"), the 
Commonwealth of Virginia (the "Commonwealth") received 
$80,600,000 of the Qualified Energy Conservation Bonds 
("QECBs") national bond limitation (the "Commonwealth 
Allocation"). QECBs are tax credit bonds that may be issued 
by state or local governments for one or more qualified 
conservation purposes described in Notice 2009-29.  

Notice 2009-29 further provides that the Commonwealth 
Allocation shall be initially suballocated among large local 
governments in the Commonwealth (the "Originally Awarded 
Localities") in an amount that bears the same ratio to the 
Commonwealth's Allocation as the population of each of such 
large local governments bears to the population of the 
Commonwealth (the "Original Locality Suballocations"). For 
purposes of Section 54D of the Code, the term "large local 
government" means any municipality or county that has a 
population of 100,000 or more. In making the Original 
Locality Suballocations, Notice 2009-29 requires the 
Commonwealth to use population figures for its large local 
governments based on available data from the United States 
Census Bureau for the period that is closest in time to that 
used for the Commonwealth and released by the Census 
before 2009. After such suballocation, any amount remaining 
shall belong to the Commonwealth (the "Original 
Commonwealth Suballocation"). Originally Awarded 
Localities may reallocate all or any portion of their respective 
Original Locality Suballocations to the Commonwealth.  

Section 54D(e)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code further 
provides that not more than 30 percent of the Commonwealth 
Allocation of QECBs be private activity bonds as determined 
under Section 141 of the Code (the "70% Use Requirement").  

QECBs provide a cost-effective option for financing state and 
local energy conservation projects. It is important that the 
Commonwealth and its localities have this financing 
mechanism available to facilitate projects that reduce energy 
consumption and energy costs and promote energy 
conservation. Therefore, to the extent any Originally 
Awarded Locality determines not to use its Original Locality 
Suballocation, it is imperative to provide an orderly process 
for the re-allocation of any such unused amounts (the 
"Returned Locality Suballocations") for other qualifying 
projects. Moreover, it is critical that the Commonwealth 
establish a procedure to reallocate any Returned Locality 
Suballocations. Lastly, the Commonwealth must establish a 

procedure to ensure compliance with the 70% Use 
Requirement. 

Accordingly, by virtue of the authority vested in me as 
Governor under Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and 
Sections 2.2-103 and 2.2-435.7 of the Code of Virginia, and 
subject to my continuing and ultimate authority and 
responsibility to act in such matters, I hereby establish the 
following Original Locality Suballocations and Original 
Commonwealth Suballocation, and further direct Chief of 
Staff Martin Kent to serve as the Commonwealth's QECB 
allocation director (the "Allocation Director") to establish a 
procedure for the reallocation of any Returned Locality 
Suballocations.  

Suballocation 

1. The Original Commonwealth Allocation is $80,600,000.  

2. The Original Locality Suballocations are set forth below:  

Locality Population Percentage Suballocation 

Fairfax County 1,004,151 13.04% $10,512,656 

Virginia Beach City 435,004 5.65% $4,554,143 

Prince William County 359,588 4.67% $3,764,598 

Chesterfield County 299,022 3.88% $3,130,521 

Henrico County 289,460 3.76% $3,030,414 

Loudoun County 277,346 3.60% $2,903,590 

Norfolk City 235,982 3.07% $2,470,542 

Chesapeake City 218,830 2.84% $2,290,975 

Arlington County 203,909 2.65% $2,134,764 

Richmond City 199,991 2.60% $2,093,745 

Newport News City 180,810 2.35% $1,892,936 

Hampton City 146,466 1.90% $1,533,382 

Alexandria City 139,848 1.82% $1,464,096 

Stafford County 120,621 1.57% $1,262,805 

Spotsylvania County 118,887 1.54% $1,244,652 

Portsmouth City 101,931 1.32% $1,067,136 

Total Locality Suballocation    $45,350,954 

3. The Original Commonwealth Suballocation is 
$35,249,046. 

4. Any Originally Awarded Localities that do not plan to 
use any portion of their Original Locality Suballocations 
should notify the Allocation Director so that their Returned 
Locality Suballocations may be reallocated to another 
locality or project within the Commonwealth.  

5. The Allocation Director shall develop a process for the 
application, evaluation and re-allocation of any Returned 
Locality Suballocations to maximize the use of this 
financing mechanism to promote energy conservation 
within the Commonwealth.  
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6. Each Originally Awarded Locality shall ensure 
compliance with the 70% Use Requirement and upon 
issuance of any QECBs using such Originally Awarded 
Locality's Original Locality Suballocation shall provide a 
copy of the IRS Form 8038 to the Allocation Director.  

7. The Allocation Director is hereby authorized to delegate 
to any official or agency or department of the 
Commonwealth any matter or task described herein, to take 
any action that he, as the Allocation Director, deems 
necessary or desirable to affect the purposes hereof, and to 
create an advisory committee consistent with, and in 
furtherance of, this Executive Order.  

8. Determination of compliance with the procedures and 
requirements set forth herein or in the additional guidance, 
including any filings to be made and the timing and 
substance thereof, shall be subject to the sole discretion of 
the Allocation Director.  

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and 
shall remain in full force and effect until December 31, 2013, 
unless amended or rescinded by further executive order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia this 20th day of July, 2010. 

/s/ Robert F. McDonnell 
Governor 
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Bureau of Financial Institutions 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. BFI-2010-00144 

Ex Parte: In re: annual assessment 
of licensed money order sellers and 
money transmitters 

RESPONSE TO COMMENTS 

Pursuant to the Order Directing Response to Comments that 
was entered by the State Corporation Commission 
("Commission") on June 22, 2010, the Bureau of Financial 
Institutions ("Bureau"), by counsel, submits this response to 
the written comments that were filed by Mr. Randy Mersky 
on behalf of Global Express Money Orders, Inc. 

In his comment letter, Mr. Mersky asserted that money orders 
and money transmission services are very distinct financial 
service products, and that it would be unfair for the 
Commission to apply the same assessment rate to both 
products. In support of his position that the assessment rate 
for money orders should be much lower than the assessment 
rate for money transmission, Mr. Mersky contended that the 
examination process has historically been more complicated, 
involved, and time consuming for money transmission. Mr. 
Mersky also stated that examinations for larger businesses are 
more extensive and take longer than they do for smaller 
businesses, so he also recommended that the assessment 
schedule take into account a licensee's overall size or net 
worth. 

As Mr. Mersky indicated in his written comments, the 
proposed regulation does not differentiate between money 
orders sold and money transmitted for purposes of calculating 
the annual assessment. While the Bureau concurs with Mr. 
Mersky's observation that money orders are distinguishable 
from money transmission services, the Bureau does not 
believe that the examination of money transmitters is more 
complicated, involved, and time consuming than the 
examination of money order sellers. Since the Bureau has 
only been examining licensed money order sellers and money 
transmitters for a short period of time, the Bureau has very 
limited firsthand information regarding the relative 
complexity and duration of its examinations of money order 
sellers and money transmitters. Therefore, the Bureau 
contacted regulators in several other states (California, Ohio, 
Texas, and Wyoming) that have substantial experience 
regulating and examining money order sellers and money 
transmitters. All of the state regulators uniformly indicated 
that (i) money order sellers must comply with the same laws 
as money transmitters, (ii) regulators use the same programs 
and procedures to examine both products, and (iii) the time 

allotted by regulators for examinations is identical. Moreover, 
in certain respects such as a licensee's permissible 
investments and financial condition, money orders may 
necessitate more examiner time and analysis than is required 
for money transmission because licensees tend to have much 
larger portions of their money orders outstanding. 
Accordingly, based on the information gathered by the 
Bureau from the aforementioned states, Mr. Mersky's 
comparison of money order seller and money transmitter 
examinations appears to be outdated or inaccurate. 

It is unclear to the Bureau from Mr. Mersky's comment letter 
whether he is proposing to measure a licensee's "overall size" 
by its net worth for purposes of distinguishing between 
"larger businesses" and "smaller businesses." If Mr. Mersky 
was contemplating an alternative means of gauging a 
licensee's size, then the Bureau might be inclined to subscribe 
to his broad generalization that examinations for larger 
businesses are more extensive and take longer than they do 
for smaller businesses. However, with respect to Mr. 
Mersky's suggestion that the assessment schedule take into 
account a licensee's overall size or net worth, it is the 
Bureau's opinion that the complexity and length of a 
particular licensee's examination is properly and sufficiently 
factored into the proposed assessment schedule through the 
dollar amount of money orders sold and money transmitted 
by a licensee pursuant to Chapter 12 of Title 6.1 of the Code 
of Virginia. Moreover, a licensee's dollar volume of business 
usually reflects the relative size of the institution when 
compared to other licensees, and the Bureau is unable to 
discern any meaningful nexus between licensees' net worth 
and the Bureau's examinations. Consequently, it is the 
Bureau's view that the overall size or net worth of a licensed 
money order seller or money transmitter is redundant and/or 
inapt as a proxy for the amount of regulatory resources that 
need to be devoted to an institution. Therefore, the 
Commission should not incorporate a licensee's overall size 
or net worth as an additional factor in the assessment 
schedule. 

In conclusion, the Bureau believes that the proposed 
assessment schedule accurately and fairly reflects the 
comparable amount of time and effort that is entailed in 
examining and supervising money order sellers and money 
transmitters. Contrary to Mr. Mersky's remark, the proposed 
schedule is not expected to result in smaller businesses 
subsidizing the costs associated with examining larger 
businesses. Accordingly, the Bureau recommends that the 
Commission adopt the regulation as proposed. 

Respectfully submitted, 

BUREAU OF FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS 

By: Todd E. Rose, Associate General Counsel, Office of 
General Counsel, State Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 
1197, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9671. 
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Dated: June 25, 2010 

* * * * * * * * 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. BFI-2010-00144 

Ex Parte: In re: annual assessment 
of licensed money order sellers and 
money transmitters 

SUPPLEMENT TO RESPONSE 

COMES NOW the Bureau of Financial Institutions 
("Bureau"), by counsel, and requests leave to supplement the 
Response to Comments ("Response") that it filed on June 25, 
2010. In support of its request, the Bureau states the 
following: 

(1) On June 22, 2010, the State Corporation Commission 
("Commission") entered an Order requiring the Bureau to file 
a written response to the comments that were filed by 
Mr. Randy Mersky on behalf of Global Express Money 
Orders, Inc. 

(2) On June 25, 2010, the Bureau filed its Response. In its 
Response, the Bureau informed the Commission that it had 
contacted regulators in several other states (California, Ohio, 
Texas, and Wyoming) that have substantial experience 
regulating and examining money order sellers and money 
transmitters, and that these other states had uniformly 
indicated to the Bureau that (i) money order sellers must 
comply with the same laws as money transmitters; 
(ii) regulators use the same programs and procedures to 
examine both products; and (iii) the time allotted by 
regulators for examinations is identical.  

(3) The Bureau inadvertently omitted certain additional 
information that is germane to its Response. Specifically, the 
state of Ohio had also advised the Bureau that it applies the 
same assessment rate to money order sellers and money 
transmitters. Regulators in the states of Texas and Wyoming 
also informed the Bureau that they assess money order sellers 
and money transmitters using the same assessment rate. In the 
state of California, the assessment calculation for money 
order sellers appears to be handled differently than the 
assessment calculation for money transmitters. However, 
based on the information that it received, the Bureau is unable 
to reach any definitive conclusions regarding the relative 
assessment rates. 

WHEREFORE, the Bureau respectfully requests that the 
preceding supplemental information be appended to its 
Response. 

Respectfully submitted, 

BUREAU OF FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS 

By: Todd E. Rose, Associate General Counsel, Office of 
General Counsel, State Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 
1197, Richmond, Virginia 23218-1197, telephone (804) 371-
9671, FAX (804) 371-9240. 

Dated: July 8, 2010 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Proposed Action for BFI Waste Systems of Virginia, 
L.L.C. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for BFI Waste 
Systems of Virginia, L.L.C., for alleged stormwater effluent 
violations at the Old Dominion landfill located at 2001 
Charles City Road, Richmond, VA. The consent order 
requires corrective action and payment of a civil charge. A 
description of the proposed action is available at the 
Department of Environmental Quality office named below or 
online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Frank Lupini will accept 
comments from August 16, 2010, to September 16, 2010, by 
email at frank.lupini@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (804) 527-
5106 or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 
Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, 
VA 23060. 

Coastal Zone Management Program - Notice of 
Updates to Enforceable Policies 

This public notice is to inform interested parties that the 
Virginia Coastal Zone Management Program's enforceable 
policies have been updated and incorporated into the 
Program. 

The Coastal Zone Management Act (15 CFR 923.80) requires 
states to formally incorporate any amendments, 
modifications, or other changes to approved management 
programs, including policies that the state uses or intends to 
use for federal consistency. The changes discussed were 
previously made to the individual policies and are now 
formally incorporated into the Virginia Coastal Zone 
Management Program. These updates are considered to be 
routine program changes, and therefore do not significantly 
affect (i) uses subject to management; (ii) special 
management areas; (iii) boundaries; (iv) authorities and 
organization; or (v) coordination, public involvement, and 
national interest components of the Virginia Coastal 
Resources Management Program. 

A summary of the updates and sections that were withdrawn 
can be found in the notice on the Department of 
Environmental Quality's website at: 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/coastal/2010programchanges. 
html. 

In addition the text of these changes and an analysis of their 
implication to the Virginia Coastal Zone Management 
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Program is available at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/coastal/ 
2010programchanges.html. The National Oceanic and 
Atmospheric Administration's approval letter of June 23, 
2010, includes the specific code sections and denotes sections 
that were incorporated but do not contain enforceable 
policies. This letter can be 
accessed at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/coastal/documents/ 
2010progchangeacceptltr.pdf. 

If you require paper copies of any of these documents, please 
contact the Virginia Coastal Zone Management Program 
listed below. 

Contact Information: April Bahen, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4005, or email 
april.bahen@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE LOTTERY DEPARTMENT 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the State Lottery 
Department were filed with the Virginia Registrar of 
Regulations on July 16, 2010. The orders may be viewed at 
the State Lottery Department, 900 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA, or at the office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, 910 Capitol Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA. 

Director's Order Number Sixty-Two (10) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1194; "Redskins Legacy" 
Final Rules for Game Operation (effective July 15, 2010) 

Director's Order Number Sixty-Three (10) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1196; "Monopoly" Final 
Rules for Game Operation (effective July 15, 2010) 

Director's Order Number Sixty-Four (10) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1199; "Jewel 7's" Final Rules 
for Game Operation (effective July 15, 2010) 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Notice of Periodic Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order Number 14 (2010), the 
Department of Social Services is currently reviewing 
22VAC40-745, Assessment in Assisted Living Facilities, to 
determine if it should be terminated, amended, or retained in 
its current form. The review will be guided by the principles 
listed in Executive Order Number 14 (2010) and in the 
department's Plan for Review of Existing Agency 
Regulations. 

The department seeks public comment regarding the 
regulation's interference in private enterprise and life, 
essential need of the regulation, less burdensome and 
intrusive alternatives to the regulation, specific and 

measurable goals that the regulation is intended to achieve, 
and whether the regulation is clearly written and easily 
understandable. 

Written comments may be submitted until September 6, 2010, 
in care of Paige McCleary, Adult Services Program 
Consultant, Virginia Department of Social Services, 801 East 
Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, by FAX to (804) 726-
7895, or by email to paige.mccleary@dss.virginia.gov. 

Notice of Periodic Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order Number 14 (2010), the 
Department of Social Services is currently reviewing 
22VAC40-901, Community Services Block Grant Program, 
to determine if it should be terminated, amended, or retained 
in its current form. The review will be guided by the 
principles listed in Executive Order Number 14 (2010) and in 
the department's Plan for Review of Existing Agency 
Regulations. 

The department seeks public comment regarding the 
regulation's interference in private enterprise and life, 
essential need of the regulation, less burdensome and 
intrusive alternatives to the regulation, specific and 
measurable goals that the regulation is intended to achieve, 
and whether the regulation is clearly written and easily 
understandable. 

Written comments may be submitted until September 6, 2010, 
in care of J. Mark Grigsby, Director, Office of Community 
Services, Virginia Department of Social Services, 801 East 
Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, by FAX to (804) 726-
7946, or by email to james.grigsby@dss.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Action for Samuel Aman 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Samuel Aman 
to resolve wetland and state waters violations pertaining to 
the Virginia Water Protection program. The proposed 
enforcement action contains a schedule of compliance with 
detail corrective measure requirements and incorporates a 
supplemental environmental project to be completed by 
Samuel Aman. A description of the proposed action is 
available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 
named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. David Miles 
will accept comments from August 17, 2010, to September 
15, 2010, by email at david.miles@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at 
(434) 582-5125, or postal mail at Department of 
Environmental Quality, Blue Ridge Regional Office, 7705 
Timberlake Road, Lynchburg, VA 24502. 

Proposed Action for the Arlington County Board 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Arlington 
County Board for violations in Arlington County. These 



General Notices/Errata 

Volume 26, Issue 25 Virginia Register of Regulations August 16, 2010 

2860 

violations include unauthorized discharges of partially treated 
sewage from the Arlington County Water Pollution Control 
Plant into Four Mile Run. A description of the proposed 
action is available at the Department of Environmental 
Quality office named below or online at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. Sarah Baker will accept comments 
from August 17, 2010, through September 16, 2010, by email 
at sarah.baker@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (703) 583-3821, or 
postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 
Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, 
VA 22193. 

Proposed Action for the Town of Cape Charles 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Town of 
Cape Charles, Northampton County, for alleged violations of 
the Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Permit 
at the Town's wastewater treatment plant. A description of the 
proposed action is available at the Department of 
Environmental Quality office named below or online at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. Paul R. Smith will accept comments 
from August 14, 2010, to September 15, 2010, by email at 
paul.smith@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (757) 518-2009, or 
postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 
Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Blvd., Virginia 
Beach, VA 23462. 

Proposed Action for Courtney Development, Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Courtney 
Development, Inc. for alleged violations at the Crossridge 
subdivision in Henrico County, VA. The State Water Control 
Board proposes to issue a consent special order to Courtney 
Development, Inc. to address noncompliance with Virginia 
Water Protection Permit regulations. A description of the 
proposed action is available at the Department of 
Environmental Quality office named below or online at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. Cynthia Akers will accept comments 
from August 16, 2010, to September 15, 2010, by email at 
e.cynthia.akers@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (804) 527-5106, or 
postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 
Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, 
VA 23060. 

Proposed Action for Halifax County Service 
Authority 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Halifax 
County Service Authority for violations at the Maple Avenue 
Wastewater Treatment Plant located in the Town of South 
Boston. The proposed enforcement action contains a schedule 
of compliance which details the corrective action required. A 
description of the proposed action is available at the 
Department of Environmental Quality office named below or 
online at www.deq.virginia.gov. G. Marvin Booth, III will 
accept comments from August 16, 2010, to September 16, 
2010, by email at marvin.booth@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at 

(434) 582-5125, or postal mail at Department of 
Environmental Quality, Blue Ridge Regional Office, 7705 
Timberlake Road, Lynchburg, VA 24502. 

Proposed Action for IMTT-Virginia 

An enforcement action has been proposed for IMTT-Virginia, 
Chesapeake, for alleged violations of Virginia State Water 
Control Law. A description of the proposed action is 
available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 
named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. John Brandt 
will accept comments from August 16, 2010, to September 
15, 2010, by email at john.brandt@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at 
(757) 518-2009, or postal mail at Department of 
Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 
Southern Blvd., Virginia Beach, VA 23462. 

Proposed Action for KmX Chemical Corp. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for KmX Chemical 
Corp. for alleged violations of the Virginia State Water 
Control Law at the KmX Facility at 30474 Energy Drive, 
New Church, Accomack County, concerning the 
unauthorized discharge of pollutants to state waters. A 
description of the proposed action is available at the 
Department of Environmental Quality office named below or 
online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Paul R. Smith will accept 
comments from August 14, 2010, to September 15, 2010, by 
email at paul.smith@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (757) 518-
2009, or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 
Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Blvd., Virginia 
Beach, VA 23462. 

Proposed Action for Metro Used Auto Parts, Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Metro Used 
Auto Parts, Inc., for alleged violations of Virginia Pollutant 
Discharge Elimination General Permit VAR05 at the Metro 
automobile salvage yard at 5209 Sondej Avenue in the City 
of Chesapeake. A description of the proposed action is 
available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 
named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Paul R. 
Smith will accept comments from August 16, 2010, to 
September 15, 2010, by email at 
paul.smith@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (757) 518-2009, or 
postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 
Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Blvd., Virginia 
Beach, VA 23462. 

Proposed Action for North Carolina & Virginia 
Railroad Company, L.L.C. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the North 
Carolina & Virginia Railroad Company, L.L.C., for alleged 
violations of the Virginia State Water Control Law 
concerning the unauthorized discharge of oil to state waters, 
the Albemarle Canal in the City of Chesapeake. A description 



General Notices/Errata 

Volume 26, Issue 25 Virginia Register of Regulations August 16, 2010 

2861 

of the proposed action is available at the Department of 
Environmental Quality office named below or online at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. Paul R. Smith will accept comments 
from August 16, 2010, to September 15, 2010, by email at 
paul.smith@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (757) 518-2009, or 
postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 
Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Blvd., Virginia 
Beach, VA 23462. 

Draft 2010 Water Quality Assessment Integrated 
Report 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) 
will release the Draft 2010 Water Quality Assessment 
Integrated Report (Integrated Report) on August 23, 2010, for 
public comment. The final report will be released this fall 
after review and approval by the United States Environmental 
Protection Agency. 

The Integrated Report combines both the § 305(b) Water 
Quality Assessment Report and the § 303(d) List of Impaired 
Waters. Both are required by the Federal Clean Water Act 
and the Virginia Water Quality Monitoring Information and 
Restoration Act. The 2010 report is based on Water Quality 
Standards in effect as of February 1, 2010. This report will be 
available for download at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/wqa/ 
throughout the public comment period, which ends on Friday, 
September 24, 2010, at 5 p.m. 

A CD with a copy of the final report and associated maps can 
be pre-ordered at no charge via the website above (limit one 
per person). Anyone who received the report on CD in 2008 
will automatically receive a 2010 final report CD. Hard 
copies of the report will only be printed upon request, via the 
website. The online maps will also be included on the final 
report CD. 

A webinar summarizing the findings in the report will be held 
on the Internet on August 26, 2010, from 11 a.m. to noon. 
Interested persons must register in advance at 
https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/267343337. 
Questions about the report may be submitted online during 
the webinar. 

Written comments on the draft 2010 Integrated Report may 
be sent to the contact person below. Please include your 
name, U.S. mail address, telephone number, and email 
address so DEQ can add you to its notification list for future 
assessments. 

Contact Information: Darryl Glover, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4321, FAX (804) 
698-4416, or email darryl.glover@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Mailing Address: Virginia Code Commission, 910 Capitol 
Street, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 
Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed 

Beginning with Volume 26, Issue 1 of the Virginia Register 
of Regulations dated September 14, 2009, the Cumulative 
Table of Virginia Administrative Code Sections Adopted, 
Amended, or Repealed will no longer be published in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. The cumulative table may 
be accessed on the Virginia Register Online webpage at 
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/cumultab.htm. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations 

Agencies are required to use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) when filing regulations for publication in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. The Office of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations implemented a web-based application 
called RIS for filing regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register. The Registrar's office has 
worked closely with the Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) to coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory 
Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one 
another by sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

The Office of the Virginia Register is working toward the 
eventual elimination of the requirement that agencies file 
print copies of regulatory packages. Until that time, agencies 
may file petitions for rulemaking, notices of intended 
regulatory actions and general notices in electronic form only; 
however, until further notice, agencies must continue to file 
print copies of proposed, final, fast-track and emergency 
regulatory packages. 



General Notices/Errata 

Volume 26, Issue 25 Virginia Register of Regulations August 16, 2010 

2862 

 




