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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 
regulations. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 
provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 
any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 12 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
26:20 VA.R. 2510-2515 June 7, 2010, refers to Volume 26, Issue 20, 
pages 2510 through 2515 of the Virginia Register issued on  
June 7, 2010. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, 
Chairman; Bill Janis, Vice Chairman; James M. LeMunyon; Ryan T. 
McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; Frank S. Ferguson; E.M. Miller, Jr.; 
Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Jane M. Roush; Patricia L. West. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
June T. Chandler, Assistant Registrar. 
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

November 2010 through December 2011 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

27:6 November 3, 2010 November 22, 2010 

27:7 November 16, 2010 (Tuesday) December 6, 2010 

27:8 December 1, 2010 December 20, 2010 

27:9 December 14, 2010 (Tuesday) January 3, 2011 

27:10 December 28, 2010 (Tuesday) January 17, 2011 

27:11 January 12, 2011 January 31, 2011 

27:12 January 26, 2011 February 14, 2011 

27:13 February 9, 2011 February 28, 2011 

27:14 February 23, 2011 March 14, 2011 

27:15 March 9, 2011 March 28, 2011 

27:16 March 23, 2011 April 11, 2011 

27:17 April 6, 2011 April 25, 2011 

27:18 April 20, 2011 May 9, 2011 

27:19 May 4, 2011 May 23, 2011 

27:20 May 18, 2011 June 6, 2011 

27:21 June 1, 2011 June 20, 2011 

27:22 June 15, 2011 July 4, 2011 

27:23 June 29, 2011 July 18, 2011 

27:24 July 13, 2011 August 1, 2011 

27:25 July 27, 2011 August 15, 2011 

27:26 August 10, 2011 August 29, 2011 

28:1 August 24, 2011 September 12, 2011 

28:2 September 7, 2011 September 26, 2011 

28:3 September 21, 2011 October 10, 2011 

28:4 October 5, 2011 October 24, 2011 

28:5 October 19, 2011 November 7, 2011 

28:6 November 2, 2011 November 21, 2011 

28:7 November 15, 2011 (Tuesday) December 5, 2011 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: None specified. 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-12 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Kenneth Strong. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner requests that the 
Board of Health adopt, promulgate, and enforce a policy 
aimed at educating the public and decision makers in the 
environmental and health effects of extremely low frequency 
magnetic fields located inside high voltage electric power line 
right-of-ways. 

Agency's Plan for Disposition of Request: The agency 
anticipates it will consider public comments, information 
submitted by the petitioner, and any additional information 
before determining what appropriate action is required. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 12, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Dwight Flammia, Ph.D., Public Health 
Toxicologist, Virginia Department of Health, 109 Governor 
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-8127. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-18; Filed October 28, 2010, 9:04 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC125-30. Regulations Governing 
the Certification of Sex Offender Treatment Providers. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Maria S. Stransky. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend regulations for 
supervision of applicants for certification as sex offender 
treatment providers to allow a percentage of supervision 
sessions by videoconference. 

Agency's Plan for Disposition of Request: The board will 
discuss the petition at its meeting on February 8, 2011, and 
make a decision on whether to initiate regulatory action. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 15, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, 
Board of Psychology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Henrico, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4488, FAX (804) 527-4435, or 
email evelyn.brown@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-17; Filed October 29, 2010, 9:51 a.m. 

 



NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 
 

Volume 27, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 22, 2010 

596 

NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

PESTICIDE CONTROL BOARD 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

The Pesticide Control Board has WITHDRAWN the Notice 
of Intended Regulatory Action for 2VAC20-60, Regulations 
Governing Pesticide Containers and Containment Under 
Authority of the Virginia Pesticide Control Act, which was 
published in 26:7 VA.R. 771 December 7, 2009.  

Agency Contact: Liza Fleeson, Program Manager, Office of 
Pesticide Services, Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 372-6371 ext: 559, FAX (804) 786-9149, or email 
liza.fleeson@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2121; Filed November 4, 2010, 11:08 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Education 
intends to consider promulgating the following regulation: 
8VAC20-740, Regulations Governing Nutritional 
Guidelines for Competitive Foods Sold in Virginia Public 
Schools. The purpose of the proposed action is to establish 
nutritional guidelines for all foods sold to students in public 
schools during the regular school day that are not part of the 
national school lunch or school breakfast programs. The 
promulgation of this regulation is in compliance with Chapter 
718 of the 2010 Acts of Assembly. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 22.1-207.4 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 22, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Mrs. Catherine Digilio-Grimes, Director of 
School Nutrition Programs, Department of Education, P.O. 
Box 2120, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 225-2074, 
or email catherine.digilio-grimes@doe.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2611; Filed October 29, 2010, 9:56 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to 
consider promulgating the following regulation: 12VAC5-
105, Rabies Regulations. The purpose of the proposed action 
is to implement the revisions made to certain rabies related 
sections of the Code of Virginia by the 2010 Acts of 
Assembly. These regulations will inform and add detail to the 
five rabies related sections of the Code of Virginia that were 
modified and one completely new section that was developed 
as part of Chapters 182 and 834 of the 2010 Acts of 
Assembly. Specific goals of these regulations include: 
developing a system for rabies vaccine exemptions, creating 
definitions for common terms in the rabies related laws, and 
developing a model plan for rabies exposure response at the 
local level. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-12 of the Code of Virginia and 
the second enactment of Chapter 834 of the 2010 Acts of 
Assembly. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 22, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Julia Murphy, DVM, State Epidemiological 
Veterinarian, Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 5th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-8113, 
FAX (804) 864-8131, or email 
julia.murphy@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2637; Filed October 26, 2010, 10:09 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR ARCHITECTS, PROFESSIONAL 
ENGINEERS, LAND SURVEYORS, CERTIFIED 

INTERIOR DESIGNERS AND LANDSCAPE 
ARCHITECTS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board for Architects, 
Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified Interior 
Designers, and Landscape Architects intends to consider 
amending the following regulation: 18VAC10-20, Board for 
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, 
Certified Interior Designers and Landscape Architects 
Regulations. Per Executive Order 14 (10), a general review 
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of each regulation is required at least every four years. The 
purpose of the general review of this regulation is to update 
regulatory standards for experience, education, and training to 
reflect current industry standards. Additional changes to the 
regulation will be made as necessary. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 22, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Kathleen R. Nosbisch, Executive Director, 
Board for Architects, Professional Engineers, Land 
Surveyors, Certified Interior Designers and Landscape 
Architects, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (804) 527-4294, or 
email apelscidla@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2357; Filed October 26, 2010, 1:48 p.m.  

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, AND 
HOME INSPECTORS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Virginia Board for Asbestos, 
Lead, and Home Inspectors intends to consider amending the 
following regulation: 18VAC15-30, Virginia Lead-Based 
Paint Activities Regulations. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to review and amend the regulation to remove the 
requirement that the lead license expiration date corresponds 
with the lead training expiration date. The current result is 
that lead license expiration dates may vary from one license 
cycle to another causing confusion among regulants. Most 
licenses issued under the Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation (DPOR) have a license cycle of one 
or two years and the expiration date is the last day of the 
month wherein issued. Amending these regulations will make 
the lead program license cycle consistent with other programs 
housed under DPOR, which will in turn lessen the confusion 
among regulants. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-501 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 22, 2010. 

Agency Contact: David Dick, Executive Director, Virginia 
Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 9960 
Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 
(804) 367-8595, FAX (804) 527-4297, or email 
alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2634; Filed October 22, 2010, 3:39 p.m.  

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board for Contractors intends to 
consider amending the following regulation: 18VAC50-22, 
Board for Contractors Regulations. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to add Accessibility Services Contracting 
as a new specialty and to amend the definition of 
"modular/manufactured building contracting" to comply with 
new federal Housing and Urban Development requirements. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 22, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 
Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (804) 527-4401, or 
email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2636; Filed October 26, 2010, 9:05 a.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board for Contractors intends to 
consider amending the following regulation: 18VAC50-30, 
Individual License and Certification Regulations. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to add a definition of 
"certified accessibility mechanics," the criteria for such 
certification, the fees associated with such certification, the 
continuing education associated with such certification, 
prohibited acts, and the jurisdiction of the board over such 
regulants. The proposed amendments also include an 
endorsement for limited use/limited application elevators. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-1102 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 22, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 
Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (804) 527-4401, or 
email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2485; Filed October 26, 2010, 1:46 p.m.  
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REAL ESTATE BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Real Estate Board intends to 
consider amending the following regulation: 18VAC135-50, 
Fair Housing Regulations. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to make clarifying changes and ensure consistency 
with federal and state law. Other changes that may be 
necessary may also be considered. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 36-96.8 and 54.1-2105 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 22, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real 
Estate Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 527-4299, or 
email reboard@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2269; Filed October 26, 2010, 9:15 a.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in promulgating 2VAC5-325, 
Regulations Governing Pine Shoot Beetle. This regulation is 
promulgated pursuant to § 3.2-703 of the Code of Virginia, 
which provides authority for the Board of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services to quarantine this Commonwealth or any 
portion thereof when it determines that such action is 
necessary to prevent or retard the spread of a pest into, within, 
or from this Commonwealth. 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-325. Regulations Governing 
Pine Shoot Beetle (amending 2VAC5-325-30).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 3.2-701 and 3.2-703 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 5, 2010.  

Agency Contact: Larry Nichols, Program Manager, 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 
1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-3515, FAX 
(804) 371-7793, or email larry.nichols@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

By authority granted under § 3.2-703 of the Code of 
Virginia, the Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services has extended the area regulated under the 
Regulations Governing Pine Shoot Beetle due to the 
detection of adult Pine Shoot Beetle in Loudoun County. 
The amendment will add the county of Loudoun to the 
Regulations Governing Pine Shoot Beetle to delay the long 
distance (artificial) spread of the pine shoot beetle from 
infested areas to noninfested areas.  

The quarantine restricts the movement of regulated 
articles, as defined in 2VAC5-325-20, from regulated 
localities to nonregulated localities. The regulated articles 
include pine products that pose a significant risk of 
transporting the pine shoot beetle, such as bark nuggets 
(including bark chips), Christmas trees, logs with bark 
attached, lumber with bark attached, nursery stock, raw 
pine material for wreaths and garland, and stumps. 
Regulated articles may move freely within the regulated 
areas.  

2VAC5-325-30. Regulated areas.  

The following areas in Virginia:  

The entire county counties of:  

Clarke  

Loudoun 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2629; Filed November 5, 2010, 3:43 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND 
RECREATION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Conservation 
and Recreation is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
1 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes agency orders or 
regulations fixing rates or prices. The Department of 
Conservation and Recreation will receive, consider, and 
respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 
respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC5-36. Standard Fees for Use of 
Department of Conservation and Recreation Facilities, 
Programs, and Services (amending 4VAC5-36-50 through 
4VAC5-36-120, 4VAC5-36-140, 4VAC5-36-150, 4VAC5-
36-160, 4VAC5-36-180 through 4VAC5-36-210).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-104 of the Code of Virginia.  

Effective Date: January 1, 2011.  

Agency Contact: David C. Dowling, Policy, Planning, and 
Budget Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 
203 Governor St., Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-2291, FAX (804) 786-6141, or email 
david.dowling@dcr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

These amendments alter fees in the following regulations: 
parking and launch fees (4VAC5-36-50); admission fees 
(4VAC5-36-60); swimming fees (4VAC5-36-70); 
commercial and nonprofit user fees (4VAC5-36-80); 
camping fees; (4VAC5-36-90); cabin fees (4VAC5-36-
100); picnic shelter fees (4VAC5-36-110); amphitheater 



Regulations 

Volume 27, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 22, 2010 

600 

and gazebo fees (4VAC5-36-120); interpretive canoe, boat, 
and paddleboat fees (4VAC5-36-140); interpretive and 
educational tours and program fees (4VAC5-36-150); 
outdoor skill program fees (4VAC5-36-160); state park 
performing arts center fees (4VAC5-36-180); 
environmental education center fees (4VAC5-36-190); 
miscellaneous rental fees (4VAC5-36-200); and conference 
center and meeting facility fees (4VAC5-36-210). 

Increases to these rates and prices represent changes to 
maintain fair market value, the addition of new facilities 
and offerings, updates to ensure consistency with the 
private sector, and revisions to reflect private 
concessionaires' new seasonal prices.  

4VAC5-36-50. Parking and launch fees.  

PARKING FEES (NONTAXABLE)  

  WEEKDAYS WEEKENDS 

Daily Parking for 
Passenger Vehicles: 
Applies to cars, trucks, 
vans (up to 15 passenger), 
and motorcycles. 

  

  

  All parks unless 
listed below. 

$2.00 $3.00 

  Parks under 
construction and 
having only 
limited facilities 
and services. 

$2.00 $2.00 

  Fairy Stone, 
Raymond R. 
"Andy" Guest Jr. 
Shenandoah 
River, Smith 
Mountain Lake, 
Claytor Lake, 
Kiptopeke, 
Westmoreland, 
Mason Neck, Sky 
Meadows, 
Chippokes 

$3.00 $4.00 

  Leesylvania, First 
Landing, Lake 
Anna, Pocahontas 

$4.00 $5.00 

  York River 
Croaker 
Landing/Pier Area 
(also requires boat 
launch fee for all 
vehicles) 

$3.00 $3.00 

Horse Trailer Parking Fee 
(also requires vehicle 
parking fee.) All parks 
unless listed below. 

$3.00 per 
trailer 

$3.00 per 
trailer 

  
Lake Anna 

$4.00 per 
trailer 

$4.00 per 
trailer 

  Surcharge for 
additional horse in 
same trailer. 

$2.00 per 
horse 

$2.00 per 
horse 

Other Trailer Parking Fee: 
Applies to other trailers 
not covered by camping, 
horse trailer and boat 
launch fee. (Add to daily 
parking fee.) 

$2.00 per 
trailer 

$2.00 per 
trailer 

Daily Bus Parking: All 
Seasons. Applies to 
vehicles with 16 or more 
passenger capacity. 

    

  All parks unless 
listed below. 

$10 $10 

  Claytor Lake, 
Hungry Mother, 
Leesylvania, 
Mason Neck, New 
River Trail 

$12 $12 

  First Landing, 
Kiptopeke, Lake 
Anna, Pocahontas, 
Westmoreland 

$15 $15 

Natural Area Preserve 
Parking Fees for any 
Vehicle: The department 
may charge these fees at 
any Natural Area Preserve.

$2.00 $2.00 

Boat Launch Fees: 
Required to use park boat 
ramps on bodies of water 
where motorboats are 
permitted. Required for all 
vehicles using York River 
Croaker Landing/Pier 
Area. May not apply to 
small "car-top" launch 
facilities (facilities at 
which boats may only be 
launched by hand carrying 
them to the water). The fee 
is normally added to the 
parking fee to create a 
combined park/launch 
payment. 

    

Daily Launch Fees: All 
Seasons 

    

  All parks unless 
listed below. 

$3.00 $3.00 

  Claytor Lake $2.00 $2.00 
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  First Landing, 
Kiptopeke (with 
Marine Fishing 
License), Lake 
Anna 

$4.00 $4.00 

  Kiptopeke 
(without Marine 
Fishing License), 
Leesylvania 

$8.00 $8.00 

Surcharge for second boat 
on same trailer: jet ski 

$2.00 $2.00 

Overnight parking at boat 
launch: where available 

$10 $10 

Camper's Boat Launch Fee 
Kiptopeke: Does not apply 
if camper parks trailer at 
campsite. 

$3.00 $3.00 

Boat Tournament Fee for 
Fishing Tournaments: 
Registration fee is based 
on the number of boats 
registered and is 
nonrefundable regardless 
of number that actually 
participates. This fee is in 
addition to the applicable 
daily launch fee. 

No charge $2.00 per boat 

  

  FEE 

Annual and Lifetime Parking Fees:   

Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus: 
Lifetime admission and parking pass to all 
state parks, plus 10% discount on camping, 
all state park merchandise, equipment 
rentals, and shelter rentals. 

  

  Age up to 40 $303 

  Age 41-45 $273 

  Age 46-50 $242 

  Age 51-55 $212 

  Age 56-61 $182 

Senior Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport 
Plus (Age 62 or older): See Lifetime 
Naturally Yours Passport Plus above. 

$110 

Naturally Yours Passport Plus: 12-month 
from date of purchase admission and 
parking pass to all state parks, plus 10% 
discount on camping, all state park 
merchandise, equipment rentals, and shelter 
rentals. 

$61 

Naturally Yours Parking Passport: 12-
month from date of purchase admission and 
parking pass to park of purchase. 

$36 

Senior Naturally Yours Passport Plus: See 
Naturally Yours Passport Plus above. 

$33 

Senior Naturally Yours Parking Passport: 
See Naturally Yours Parking Passport 
above. 

$22 

Golden Disability Pass: Available to 
persons with disabilities as verified by U.S. 
Social Security Administration's (SSA) 
"Benefit Verification Letter." Pass remains 
in effect unless SSA withdraws eligibility. 

No Charge 

Disabled Veterans Passport 

Admission, parking, and launch pass to all 
state parks, plus 50% discount on camping 
fees, swimming fees, shelter rentals, and 
department equipment rentals when 
provided by the department. Where 
equipment rentals are provided by private 
concessionaires, this passport does not 
apply. 

The passport shall be issued upon request to 
a veteran of the armed forces of the United 
States with a letter from the U.S. 
Department of Veterans Affairs, or from 
the military service that discharged the 
veteran, certifying that such veteran has a 
service-connected disability rating of 
100%. This passport coverage shall be valid 
for as long as that determination by the 
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs 
remains in effect. 

No Charge 

Annual Horse Trailer-Vehicle Pass: 12-
months from date of purchase admission 
and park pass, including horse trailer, good 
at all parks. 

$79 

Annual Horse Trailer-Vehicle Pass: 
Pocahontas and New River Trail Only. 
Valid only in combination with purchase of 
$30 horse arena annual pass. 

$70 

Annual Horse Trailer-Vehicle Pass: 
Occoneechee and Staunton River Only 

$50 

Annual and Lifetime Park/Launch Fees:   

Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus for 
Boaters: Lifetime admission, parking, and 
launch pass to all state parks, plus 10% 
discount on camping, all state park 
merchandise, equipment rentals, and shelter 
rentals. 

  

  Age up to 40 $606 

  Age 41-45 $545 
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  Age 46-50 $485 

  Age 51-55 $424 

  Age 56-61 $364 

Senior Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport 
Plus for Boaters (Age 62 or older): See 
Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus for 
Boaters above. 

$314 

Naturally Yours Passport Plus for Boaters: 
12-month from date of purchase admission, 
parking, and launch pass to all state parks, 
plus 10% discount on camping, all state 
park merchandise, equipment rentals, and 
shelter rentals. 

$152 

Park/Launch Passport:   

  12-month from date of purchase 
admission, parking, and launch pass 
to all state parks including 
Leesylvania. 

$128 

  12-month from date of purchase 
admission, parking, and launch pass 
to First Landing, Kiptopeke, or Lake 
Anna. Good only at park of purchase. 

$97 

  12-month from date of purchase 
admission, parking, and launch pass 
to park of purchase other than 
Leesylvania, First Landing, 
Kiptopeke, or Lake Anna. 

$79 

Senior Naturally Yours Passport Plus for 
Boaters: Annual permit for all parks 
including Leesylvania. 

$121 

Senior Park/Launch Passport:   

  12-month from date of purchase 
admission, parking, and launch pass 
to all state parks including 
Leesylvania. 

$109 

  12-month from date of purchase 
admission, parking, and launch pass 
to First Landing, Kiptopeke, or Lake 
Anna. Good only at park of purchase. 

$79 

  12-month from date of purchase 
admission, parking, and launch pass 
to park of purchase other than 
Leesylvania, First Landing, 
Kiptopeke, or Lake Anna. 

$66 

Buggs Island Lake Special Annual Pass: 
Good only at Occoneechee and Staunton 
River State Parks. 

$50 

Leesylvania Annual Overnight 
Boating/Parking Pass. 

$67 

Disabled Visitor Annual Boat Launch Pass 
(in addition to disabled tags). 

$44 

    

Special Event Fees: EVENT FEE 

Standard Special Event Parking Fee: 
Applies to all parks and events that utilize 
parking fees unless noted below. 

$10 per 
vehicle 

Community Event Fee: May be used by any 
park as a condition of a Special Use Permit 
for a community event provided by a 
nonprofit group or organization or 
government agency or entity. 

$1.00 per 
vehicle 

Sky Meadows: Strawberry Festival.   

  Advance payment $15 per 
vehicle 

  Day of Event $20 per 
vehicle 

New River Trail: Wythe County Heritage 
Day. Grayson Highlands Fall Festival. 
Hungry Mother Arts and Crafts Festival. 

$6.00 per 
vehicle 

Claytor Lake Arts and Crafts Festival. $5.00 per 
vehicle with 
canned food 
donation on 
designated day 

$10 per 
vehicle 

Kiptopeke: Eastern Shore Birding Festival. Parking Fee 
waived to 
registered 
festival guests; 
otherwise 
standard fees 
apply 

Smith Mountain Lake: special park/launch 
rate for boaters participating in fishing 
tournaments if the tournament sponsor has 
also rented the Tournament Headquarters 
Building. 

$5.00 per 
vehicle/ boat 
combination 

Standard Special Event Per Person 
Entrance Fee: Applies to all parks and 
events that utilize per person admission 
fees unless noted below. 

$4.00 per 
adult 
$3.00 per 
child, 6 
through 12 
years 
Children 
under 6 free 
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Sailor's Creek Battlefield: Battle of Sailor's 
Creek Reenactment. 

$5.00 per 
person  
Children 
under 6 free 
$10 maximum 
per vehicle 
$50 per bus 
(16 passenger 
+) 

Chippokes Plantation Steam and Gas 
Engine Show. 

$5.00 per 
person  
Children 
under 12 free 

Chippokes Plantation Christmas. $5.00 per 
person 

Chippokes Gospel Explosion. $10 per person 
$7.00 for 
advance ticket 
purchase 
Children 
under 12 free 

Chippokes Pork, Peanut & Pine Festival. $5 per person 
Children 
under 13 free 

Grayson Highlands Wayne C. Henderson 
Music Festival. 

$10 per person 
Children 
under 12 free 

York River Estuaries Day. $2.00 (Age 3 
through 12) 
$3.00 (Age 13 
and over) 

Natural Tunnel Special Event Parking Fee. $2.00 per 
person 
$6.00 per 
vehicle 

Occoneechee Pow Wow. $5.00 per 
person (13 
years and 
older) 
$3.00 per 
child, 3 
through 12 
years 
$3.00 Seniors 
(62 and over)  
Children 
under 3 free 

  Occoneechee Pow Wow School 
Groups 

$4.00 per 
student 
Teachers and 
Chaperones 
free 

Notes on parking fees:  

1. Weekend rates apply on Memorial Day, Fourth of July, 
and Labor Day holidays.  

2. No parking fee is required for up to two vehicles per 
campsite and per cabin at any state park during the period 
of overnight stay. Vehicles in excess of two shall pay the 
prevailing daily parking fee for each day that the vehicle is 
parked in the park.  

3. 2. Except as otherwise noted, boat launching shall be 
free for up to one boat per vehicle per campsite or , cabin, 
lodge, camping cabin, travel trailer, or camping lodge.  

4. 3. Parking fees are waived for any vehicle displaying 
disabled license plates or temporary disabled parking 
identification issued by any state or the federal 
government. However, the fee for any additional types of 
trailers, the boat launch fee or the portion of any combined 
parking-launching fee that applies to boat launching shall 
be collected from such vehicles. Additionally, the price for 
annual passes and lifetime passes that include boat 
launching for qualified disabled individuals shall be 
calculated by subtracting the applicable parking pass fee 
from the park/launch pass fee. 

5. 4. Parking fees are waived for any vehicle occupied 
solely by students and/or teachers and/or assisting 
personnel participating in an official activity of a bona fide 
school, home school, or institution of higher learning. 
Parks may require that individuals in vehicles other than 
those marked as a school bus verify their official activity 
by letter from the school or approved field trip form, or in 
the case of home school groups, proof of home school 
status such as current ID card from a state or national home 
school organization (HEAV, HSLDA, etc.) or a copy of the 
letter from the school district that acknowledges "Notice of 
Intent" to home school for that school year.  

6. 5. Parking fees are waived for official vehicles of 
federal, state, and local governments while on official 
business; vehicles making deliveries to the park; contractor 
and business vehicles performing work in the park; and 
emergency vehicles while conducting official business, 
including training.  

7. 6. Parking fees are waived for park employees during 
time of employment, including family and household 
members of staff occupying staff residences, visitors to 
staff residences, and park volunteers entering the park to 
perform volunteer duties.  

8. 7. Parking fees may be waived for vehicles conducting 
research or collecting activities provided such waiver is 
included in the language of the Research and Collection 
Permit as required in 4VAC5-30-50. 

9. 8. The period covered by a daily parking fee shall be 
midnight to midnight. Park guests utilizing overnight 
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parking when and where available (e.g., backpackers, 
overnight fishermen, etc.) will be required to pay the 
applicable daily parking fee for each calendar day that their 
vehicle is in the parking lot (partial days included).  

10. 9. Annual permits shall be valid for 12 months from the 
date of purchase, unless otherwise noted.  

11. 10. Parking fees are waived for visitors entering the 
park for the sole purpose of dining at the park restaurant at 
Douthat and Hungry Mother State Parks.  

12. 11. Parking fees are waived at state parks for 
participants in Walk for Parks, Fall River Renaissance, 
Envirothons, March for Parks, Operation Spruce-Up Day, 
Stewardship Virginia, National Trails Day, and other park-
sanctioned public service events as approved by the 
director.  

13. 12. Daily parking fees are reduced to $1.00 for vehicles 
occupied by participants in fund-raising events sponsored 
by nonprofit organizations (Walk-A-Thons, etc.) provided 
the sponsor has obtained a special use permit from the park 
that contains provisions for the identification of 
participants in the event.  

14. 13. Parking fees shall be waived for persons using park 
roads to gain legal access to their private residence and 
guests to such residences; and for vehicles passing through, 
but not stopping in, a park on a public roadway.  

15. 14. Revenue collected from special event parking 
and/or admission fees may be divided between the park 
and the event sponsor if so designated and approved in the 
special event permit following a determination made by the 
director that the revenue split is in the benefit of the 
Commonwealth.  

16. 15. Annual Park/Launch pass also covers the park 
entrance or parking fee for horse trailers or other allowable 
trailers. Annual and Lifetime parking-only passes do not 
include trailers.  

17. 16. Parking fees are waived for service vehicles such as 
tow trucks when entering the park to service a visitor 
vehicle.  

18. 17. Parking fees are waived for visitors entering the 
park to attend a performance by a U.S. military band if this 
is a required condition for the band's performance.  

19. 18. Parking fees are included in the rental fees for 
meeting facilities, up to the capacity of the facility and 
provided that this waiver of fee is included in the rental 
agreement for the facility.  

20. 19. Parking fees are waived for a period of up to 15 
minutes for persons entering the park to deposit materials 
in community recycling collection containers.  

21. 20. Parking fees are waived for vehicles occupied 
entirely by persons attending fee interpretive programs.  

22. 21. Annual parking passes that do not include boat 
launch require payment of daily launch fee if launching a 
boat at any park or for all vehicles using Croaker 
Landing/Pier Area at York River State Park.  

23. 22. Annual parking pass holders are not guaranteed the 
parking privileges of the pass should parking places be 
unavailable.  

24. 23. Parking fees are waived at Mason Neck during the 
park's annual Elizabeth Hartwell Eagle Festival. 

25. 24. The payment of a parking fee at one park shall be 
applied to parking at any state park on the same day 
provided that the visitor supplies evidence of the paid 
parking fee. 

25. Annual passes are issued to the purchaser and members 
of the same household and may not be transferred. 
Improper transfer or use may result in revocation of the 
pass without refund. 

26. Parking fees are waived at all state parks on Veterans 
Day, November 11, of each year. 

4VAC5-36-60. Admission fees.  

ADMISSION FEES (NONTAXABLE)  

  DAILY 
ADMISSION PER 
PERSON 
(Weekdays and 
Weekends unless 
otherwise noted.) 

ANNUAL PASS 
(Good for 12 
months from date 
of purchase.) 

Shot Tower Free NA 

$1.50 (Groups of 
10 or more: age 6 
through 12) 
$3.00 (Groups of 
10 or more: age 13 
and up) 

NA 

$2.00 (Ages 6 
through 12) 

$5.00 (age 6 
through 12) per 
year 

$4.00 (Age 13 and 
up) 

$10 (age 13 and 
over) per year  

Southwest VA 
Museum 

NA $15 (family: up to 
2 adults and 2 
children) per year  

Kiptopeke Fishing 
Pier Fishing Fee 

$1.00 (Age 6 
through 12) 
$3.00 (Age 13 and 
over) 

NA 
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Kiptopeke Fishing 
Pier Fishing Fee: 
Coupon book good 
for 10 visits 

$20 per 10 Passes NA 

Annual Night 
Fishing: All parks 
where available 
(also requires 
parking fee) 

$15 per person per 
year 

  

Late Night Fishing: 
All parks where 
available (also 
requires parking 
fee) 

$3.00 per person 
per night 

  

  ADMISSION 

Natural Tunnel Chairlift:   

  Children under age 6 Free 

  Round trip per person $3.00 

  One-way per person $2.00 

  Group Rate Round Trip per person 
(10 or more)  

$2.00 

  Season Pass $20 

  Daily Pass (Good for unlimited trips 
on date of issue, good for one 
person only) 

$6.00 

Archery Range: All parks where 
available; per person user fee 

$2.00 per day (over 
12) 
$1.00 per day (age 
3 through 12) 
$15 per year (any 
age) 

  Bear Creek Lake $5.00 per day (over 
12) 
$3.00 per day (age 
3 through 12) 
$45 per year (any 
age) 
$3.00 per person, 
per day group fee 
(minimum of 10 
participants) 

Pocahontas & New River Trail Horse 
Show Admission 

$5.00 per person 
Children 12 & 
under free 

Park Sponsored Special Event Vendor 
Fees. All parks where available unless 
otherwise noted 

$125 per 
merchandise 
vendor 
$150 per food 
vendor 

Occoneechee Pow Wow $150 per 
merchandise 
vendor 
$175 per food 
vendor 

Mason Neck Fall Special Event $50 per vendor 

Caledon Art & Wine Festival $50 per artist 
vendor 
$100 per winery 
vendor 

New River Trail $25 per 
merchandise 
vendor 
$25 per food 
vendor 

Notes on admission/entrance fees:  

1. Fees are waived at Natural Tunnel for use of the chairlift 
on one designated "Customer Appreciation Day" per year.  

2. Museum entrance fees are waived at the Southwest 
Virginia Museum during the "Festival of Trees" event for 
members of groups who submitted trees for the display.  

3. For park museums and historic features that charge an 
entrance fee, visitors participating in the Time Travelers 
program of the Virginia Association of Museums shall be 
charged the existing per person group rate for that facility.  

4. Entrance fees are waived at the Southwest Virginia 
Museum on Veteran's Day, November 11, of each year. 

4VAC5-36-70. Swimming fees.  

SWIMMING (NONTAXABLE)  

Daily Swimming Fees WEEKDAYS WEEKENDS 

All parks with fee 
swimming areas unless 
noted. 

Under age 3 Free 
$2.00 (Age 3 
through 12) 
$3.00 (Age 13 
and over) 

Under age 3 
Free 
$3.00 (Age 3 
through 12) 
$4.00 (Age 13 
and over) 

  Staunton 
River, Natural 
Tunnel, and 
Westmoreland 

Under age 3 Free 
$3.00 (Age 3 
through 12) 
$4.00 (Age 13 
and over) 

Under age 3 
Free 
$4.00 (Age 3 
through 12) 
$5.00 (Age 13 
and over) 

  Pocahontas Under age 3 Free 
$5.00 (Age 3 
through 12) 
$6.00 (Age 13 
and over) 

Under age 3 
Free 
$7.00 (Age 3 
through 12) 
$8.00 (Age 13 
and over) 
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  Group campers 
utilizing 
primitive group 
camps. All 
parks where 
available 
unless 
otherwise 
noted. 

$1.00 (all ages) $1.00 (all 
ages) 

  Pocahontas 
(Group Cabin 
Guests) 

$3.00 (all ages) $3.00 (all 
ages) 

  Chippokes 
Plantation: 
Recreation/Edu
cation Fun 
Package: 
Swimming, 
Mansion, and 
Farm & 
Forestry 
Museum 
(Memorial Day 
– Labor Day: 
Wed. – Sun.) 

$3.50 (Age 3 
through 12) 
$6.00 (Age 13 
and over) 

$3.50 (Age 3 
through 12) 
$6.00 (Age 13 
and over) 

Deposit on all locker 
keys: Refunded 
when key is 
returned. 

$2.00 each 

Swimming Coupon 
Book: (Age 3 and 
over). All parks 
where available 
unless otherwise 
noted. 

$21 per 10 coupons 
$40 per 20 coupons 

  Staunton 
River, Natural 
Tunnel, and 
Westmoreland 

$28 per 10 coupons 
$53 per 20 coupons 

  Pocahontas $45 per 10 coupons 
$86 per 20 coupons 

  WEEKDAYS WEEKENDS

Group Swimming: 
per person (10 
persons or more). All 
parks where 
available unless 
otherwise noted. 

$1.50 (Age 3 
through 12) 
$2.50 (Age 13 and 
over) 

$2.00 (Age 3 
through 12) 
$3.00 (Age 
13 and over) 

  Staunton 
River, Natural 
Tunnel, and 
Westmoreland 
Group 
Swimming (20 
persons or 
more). Five-
day advanced 
registration 
required. 

$2.50 (all ages) $3.50 (all 
ages) 

  Pocahontas 
Group 
Swimming (20 
persons or 
more). Five-
day advanced 
registration 
required. 

$4.00 (all ages) $5.00 (all 
ages) 

Season Swimming 
Permit: All parks 
where available 
unless otherwise 
noted. 

$40 (Age 3 through 12) 
$50 (Age 13 and over) 

  Staunton 
River, Natural 
Tunnel, and 
Westmoreland 

$50 (Age 3 through 12) 
$60 (Age 13 and over) 

  Pocahontas $60 (Age 3 through 12) 
$70 (Age 13 and over) 

After-Hours 
Exclusive Use of 
Pool or Swimming 
Area: All parks 
where available. 
Requires prior 
reservation. Rental 
period of 
approximately 1-2 
hours, depending 
upon operating 
schedule and amount 
of available daylight. 
Cancellation fee 
charged if 
reservation is 
cancelled less than 3 
days before the date 
of event unless 
cancellation is for 
inclement weather or 
cancelled by the 
park. 

$100 (up to 25 persons) 
$125 (26 to 50 persons) 
$175 (51 to 75 persons) 
$200 (76 to 100 persons) 
$35 to open food concessions with 
rental 
$50 cancellation fee 
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Swimming lessons. 
All parks where 
available unless 
otherwise noted. 
Package of eight 45-
minute lessons 
(includes parking) 

$30 per person 
$25 per person if two or more from 
same family 

Notes on swimming fees:  

1. Nonswimming adults in street clothes admitted to 
swimming areas free when supervising children age 12 and 
under.  

2. Rain check Policy for Swimming: All state parks will 
issue a rain check, good for a period of 12 months from the 
date of issue, to any paying customer (does not apply to 
free swimming vouchers) if the swimming area is forced to 
close for 40 minutes or more due to inclement weather. 
Rain checks may be issued only to patrons present at the 
swimming area at the time of closure.  

3. A full refund is available for a group reservation only if 
the park or swimming area contractor is notified three days 
in advance of the time of the reservation. In the event that 
the group is unable to complete their reservation due to 
inclement weather, rain checks will be issued to the 
individual members of the group in the same manner as 
other park patrons.  

4. All Season Swimming Permits include parking during 
the swimming season only.  

5. Weekend rates apply on Memorial Day, Fourth of July, 
and Labor Day holidays. 

4VAC5-36-80. Commercial and nonprofit user fees.  

COMMERCIAL AND NONPROFIT ORGANIZATIONAL 
USERS FEES (NONTAXABLE) 

PERMIT TYPE: 
DAILY 

FEE 
ANNUAL 

FEE 

Commercial Parking and State Park 
Use Permit Fees: Required for for-
profit companies and businesses that 
use the lands and/or facilities of a 
state park to deliver services to the 
public for a fee, and when such use is 
similar or the same as the general 
public use, unless permitted by other 
means. May not be used to establish 
exclusive or continuous concession-
type services. Activities of this type 
include but are not limited to canoe, 
horse, bicycle, or hiking trip 
outfitters and rental agencies (if they 
deliver equipment or services on park 
property), caterers, and for-profit day 
care centers (note that some day care 
centers are government or nonprofit). 

    

The agency reserves the right to 
withhold this or any other permit or 
license for commercial use of parks 
when such use is deemed to be not in 
keeping with the mission or intended 
purpose of the park, conflicts or 
interferes with other use of the park, 
or creates an unreasonable burden on 
the management of the park. 
Licensed commercial fishermen are 
not required to pay this fee, but are 
required to pay the applicable public 
user fee for the use of state park boat 
launches. 

  For 1 or 2 vehicles 
(passenger vehicles up to 15-
passenger vans) or one bus 
and one passenger vehicle 

$10 NA 

  For 1 to 6 vehicles 
(passenger vehicles up to 15-
passenger vans) or two buses 
and two passenger vehicles 

NA $250 

Commercial 
Parking/Launching/Horse Riding 
Fees: Required for for-profit 
companies and businesses that use 
the lands and/or facilities of a state 
park to deliver services to the public 
for a fee, and when such use is 
similar or the same as the general 
public use, unless permitted by other 
means. May not be used to establish 
exclusive or continuous concession-
type services. 

    

  For 1 or 2 vehicles 
(passenger vehicles up to 15-
passenger vans) and/or 
passenger vehicle with 
trailer combinations; or one 
bus and one passenger 
vehicle and/or passenger 
vehicle with trailer 
combination 

$14 NA 

  For 1 to 6 vehicles 
(passenger vehicles up to 15-
passenger vans) and/or 
passenger vehicle with 
trailer combinations; or two 
buses and two passenger 
vehicles and/or passenger 
vehicle with trailer 
combinations 

NA $300 

Nonprofit Organization Parking Fees: 
These fees may be utilized only by 
nonprofit organizations engaged in 
the activities or purposes of the 
organization. 
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  For 1 or 2 vehicles 
(passenger vehicles up to 15-
passenger vans) or one bus 
and one passenger vehicle 

$4.00 $30 

  For 1 to 6 vehicles 
(passenger vehicles up to 15-
passenger vans) or two buses 
and two passenger vehicles 

$9.00 $70 

Nonprofit Organization 
Parking/Launching Fees: These fees 
may be utilized only by nonprofit 
organizations engaged in the 
activities or purposes of the 
organization. 

    

  For 1 or 2 vehicles 
(passenger vehicles up to 15-
passenger vans) and/or 
passenger vehicle with 
trailer combinations; or one 
bus and one passenger 
vehicle and/or passenger 
vehicle with trailer 
combination 

$6.00 $65 

  For 1 to 6 vehicles 
(passenger vehicles up to 15-
passenger vans) and/or 
passenger vehicle with 
trailer combinations; or two 
buses and two passenger 
vehicles and/or passenger 
vehicle with trailer 
combinations 

$10 $130 

Notes on commercial and nonprofit user fees: 

Annual permits issued under this section are not 
transferable but may be used by the employees, volunteers, 
or agents of the company, business, or organization to 
which the permit was issued provided that such use is 
limited to the official business or activities of the company, 
business, or organization. 

4VAC5-36-90. Camping fees.  

CAMPING FEES (TAXABLE, Price here does not include 
tax)  

Camping fees include free use of dump 
station and free swimming and boat 
launching for members of the camping 
party during their stay at the property, 
when and where available, except that at 
Kiptopeke State Park guest is subject to 
applicable launch fee unless the trailer is 
returned to the campsite immediately 
after launching. The number of campers 
per campsite is limited to six individuals 
except when all campers are members of 
the same household. 

ALL SEASONS 
(Per site fees) 

Standard Sites: No hookup; access to 
bathhouse and restrooms. 

  

  All parks with standard sites unless 
noted below. 

$16 per night 

  Hungry Mother, Grayson 
Highlands, Staunton River, 
Westmoreland, Occoneechee 
(nonwaterfront), Claytor Lake, 
Raymond R. "Andy" Guest, Jr. 
Shenandoah River, Smith Mountain 
Lake. 

$20 per night 

  Occoneechee Waterfront Sites. $23 per night 

  Douthat, Kiptopeke, First Landing, 
Lake Anna. 

$24 per night 

Water and Electric Sites: Access to water 
and electric hookups; access to bathhouse 
and restrooms. 

  

  All parks where available unless 
noted below. 

$22 per night 

  Chippokes Plantation, Claytor 
Lake, Douthat, Fairy Stone, 
Grayson Highlands, Hungry 
Mother, Occoneechee 
(nonwaterfront), Staunton River, 
Westmoreland, Pocahontas, Smith 
Mountain Lake, Belle Isle, James 
River. 

$25 per night 

  Occoneechee Waterfront Sites. $28 per night 

  Kiptopeke, First Landing, Lake 
Anna, Shenandoah. 

$30 per night 

Water, Electric, and Sewage Sites: Access 
to water, electric, and sewage hookups; 
access to bathhouse and restrooms. 

  

  Kiptopeke. $35 per night 

  Hungry Mother. $28 per night 

Primitive Camping Sites: primitive 
restrooms; no showers. 

  

  All parks where available unless 
noted below. 

$11 per night 

  James River, Sky Meadows. $13 per night 

  Grayson Highlands: Sites with 
electricity (November, March and 
April when bathhouses are closed). 

$15 per night 

  Occoneechee (persons renting the 
entire equestrian campground will 
receive a 10% discount on the 
combined price for sites and stalls, 
including transaction fees). 

$15 per night 
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  New River Trail Primitive camping 
sites at Foster Falls and Cliffview, 
Primitive Sites at Sky Meadows. 

$15 per night 

  New River Trail Water Trail 
Camping (no potable water). 

$12 per night 

Horse Camping   

  Horse Stall Fee. $7.00 per night 
(Outside Stalls) 
$9.00 per night 
(Inside Stall) 

Standard Rates   

Primitive Group Camp Rental (camping 
in special primitive group areas). All 
parks where available. 

  

  Up to 20 campers. $61 for entire area 
per night 

  Up to 30 campers. $91 for entire area 
per night 

  31 or more campers, up to 
maximum capacity of group camp 
area. 

$122 for entire area 
per night 

  Grayson Highlands: Primitive 
camping is available in the stable 
area November, March, and April. 

$15 per site per 
night 

Special Group Camping Areas:   

  
Fairy Stone Group Campsites. 

$20 per site per 
night 

  Chippokes Plantation: All 4 Sites; 
Group Rate; 24 persons maximum. 
Natural Tunnel Group Area. 
Grayson Highlands Group Area. 
James River Group Area. 
Shenandoah Group Area. 
Sky Meadows Group Area. 

$67 per night (only 
available as entire 
group area) 

  Sky Meadows 6 Site Group Area. $100 per night 

  Westmoreland Group Area. $122 per night 

  Standard Buddy Sites: All parks 
where available unless noted below. 

$78 per night 

  Douthat Buddy Sites. 
Holliday Lake Group Camp. 

$97 per night 

  James River Equestrian Group Area 
(persons renting the entire 
equestrian campground will receive 
a 10% discount on the combined 
price for sites and stalls, including 
transaction fees). 

$216 per night 

Camping – Other Fees   

  Camping Site Transaction Fee: 
Applies to each purchase 
transaction of a camping visit to a 
campsite (i.e., one transaction fee 
per camping visit per site no matter 
how many nights). Applies to 
Internet, reservation center, and 
walk up visits.  

$5.00 

  Pet Dog Fees (this fee does not 
apply to service or hearing dogs 
identifiable in accordance with 
§ 51.5-44 of the Code of Virginia). 

$5.00 per pet dog 
per night 

  Dump Station Fee: Free to state 
park campers during stay. 

$5.00 per use 

  Camping Reservation Cancellation 
Fee Individual Site. 

$10 per reservation 

  Camping Reservation Cancellation 
Fee Group Sites. 

$30 per reservation 

  Hiker or noncamper Shower Fee at 
Virginia State Parks. 

$5.00 per person 

Notes on camping:  

1. Check-out time is 3 p.m. and check-in time is 4 p.m.  

2. Camping Transfer/Cancellation/Early Departure Policy.  

a. Any fees to be refunded are calculated less the 
applicable cancellation fee(s).  

b. Fees paid to the reservation center by credit card will 
be refunded to the original credit card charged.  

c. Fees paid by check or money order to the reservation 
center, or by any method at the park, will be refunded by 
state check.  

d. A customer may move a camping reservation to 
another date or park, referred to as a transfer, through the 
reservation center only, and prior to 4 p.m. on the 
scheduled date of arrival. If the reservation center will 
not be open again prior to the start date of the 
reservation, transferring is not an option. There is no fee 
to transfer.  

e. A camping reservation may be canceled until 4 p.m. on 
the scheduled date of arrival but campers will be charged 
the cancellation fee. This cancellation fee applies to each 
separate reservation made.  

f. Once the 4 p.m. check-in time is reached on the 
scheduled day of arrival, any adjustment to a reservation 
is considered an early departure.  

g. After the check-in time is reached, the first night is 
considered used whether the site is occupied or not.  
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h. There is a one-night penalty, deducted from any 
amount available for refund, for early departure.  

3. Campers are allowed two vehicles per campsite per day 
without charge of a parking fee. Additional vehicles, 
beyond two, must pay the prevailing parking fee in effect 
at the park for each day that the vehicle(s) is parked in the 
park. The number of vehicles allowed to park on the 
campsite varies according to site design and size of other 
camping equipment. No vehicles shall park on a campsite 
in other than the designated area for this purpose. Camper 
vehicles that do not fit on the site, whether or not they 
require the special camper vehicle fee, must park in the 
designated overflow parking area.  

4. Each member of the camping party, except in primitive 
group areas, up to the maximum allowable per site, may 
receive an entrance pass to the park's swimming facility on 
the basis of one pass per night of camping. Passes only 
issued during days and seasons of operation of the 
swimming facility and only good during the member's 
registered stay.  

5. Damage to campsites, not considered normal wear and 
tear, will be billed to the person registered for the campsite 
on an itemized cost basis.  

6. At honor collection sites, the stated camping fees on this 
list shall be considered as having tax included. Honor 
collection is defined as the payment of the camping fee on-
site at the park at a nonelectronic collection point at which 
the payment is placed in a box or safe provided for that 
purpose.  

7. Horse stalls may only be rented in conjunction with the 
rental of a campsite in the equestrian campground and a 
person must occupy the campsite. All horses brought to the 
park by overnight guests must be kept in rental stalls 
except in primitive equestrian areas at New River Trail and 
James River State Parks. 

4VAC5-36-100. Cabin fees.  

CABIN RENTALS (TAXABLE, Price here does not include tax) 

  
BASE RATE 

VIRGINIA 
RESIDENTS 

PRIME SEASON CABIN AND LODGE RATES 

Cabin/Lodge Type 

Per-
Night 
Rental 

Fee 

Per-
Week 
Rental 

Fee 

Per-
Night 
Rental 

Fee 

Per-
Week 
Rental 

Fee 

  Efficiency $84 $502 $75 $450 

  One Bedroom, Standard $98 $589 $88 $529 

  One Bedroom, 
Waterfront or Water 
View 

$108 $652 $97 $582 

 One Bedroom, 
Chippokes Plantation 

$113 $686 $104 $617 

 Two Bedroom, Standard, 
all parks where available 
unless noted below 

$112 $680 $102 $613 

 Two Bedroom, Bear 
Creek Lake, James 
River, Occoneechee, 
Lake Anna, Shenandoah, 
Natural Tunnel 

$118 $713 $106 $643 

 Two Bedroom, 
Waterfront or Water 
View, all parks where 
available unless noted 
below 

$125 $749 $112 $674 

 Two Bedroom, 
Waterfront or Water 
View, Bear Creek Lake, 
Occoneechee, Lake 
Anna 

$130 $784 $118 $706 

 Two Bedroom, First 
Landing, Chippokes 
Plantation 

$132 $791 $119 $712 

 Three Bedroom, 
Standard, all parks 
where available unless 
noted below 

$129 $771 $116 $692 

 Three Bedroom, 
Chippokes Plantation, 
Bel Air Guest House 

$149 $898 $134 $809 

 Three Bedroom, Claytor 
Lake, Bear Creek Lake, 
James River, 
Occoneechee, Lake 
Anna, Southwest 
Virginia Museum Poplar 
Hill Cottage, 
Shenandoah, Natural 
Tunnel, Douthat 

$149 $888 $130 $798 

 Hill Lodge (Twin Lakes) $167 $1,002 $150 $902 

 Fairy Stone Lodge 
(Fairy Stone), Creasy 
Lodge (Douthat), Bel 
Air Mansion (Belle Isle) 

$301 $1,802 $270 $1,622 

 Douthat Lodge 
(Douthat), Hungry 
Mother Lodge (Hungry 
Mother), Potomac River 
Retreat (Westmoreland) 

$354 $2,124 $318 $1,913 
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  6-Bedroom Lodge, 
Kiptopeke, James River, 
Claytor Lake, 
Occoneechee, Bear 
Creek Lake, 
Shenandoah, Natural 
Tunnel, Douthat 

$371 $2,226 $334 $2,004 

MID-SEASON CABIN AND LODGE RATES 

Cabin/Lodge Type 

Per-
Night 
Rental 

Fee 

Per-
Week 
Rental 

Fee 

Per-
Night 
Rental 

Fee 

Per-
Week 
Rental 

Fee 

  Efficiency $74 $446 $67 $401 

  One Bedroom, Standard $87 $523 $80 $470 

  One Bedroom, 
Waterfront or Water 
View 

$96 $574 $86 $519 

  One Bedroom, 
Chippokes Plantation 

$101 $611 $93 $549 

  Two Bedroom, Standard, 
all parks where available 
unless noted below 

$101 $605 $91 $545 

  Two Bedroom, Bear 
Creek Lake, James 
River, Occoneechee, 
Lake Anna, Shenandoah, 
Natural Tunnel 

$105 $634 $96 $570 

  Two Bedroom, 
Waterfront or Water 
View, all parks where 
available unless noted 
below 

$111 $666 $100 $599 

  Two Bedroom, 
Waterfront or Water 
View, Bear Creek Lake, 
Occoneechee, Lake 
Anna  

$117 $697 $104 $627 

  Two Bedroom, First 
Landing, Chippokes 
Plantation 

$117 $704 $106 $634 

  Three Bedroom, 
Standard, all parks 
where available unless 
noted below 

$113 $686 $104 $617 

  Three Bedroom, 
Chippokes Plantation, 
Bel Air Guest House 

$133 $799 $119 $720 

 Three Bedroom, Claytor 
Lake, Bear Creek Lake, 
James River, 
Occoneechee, Lake 
Anna, Southwest 
Virginia Museum Poplar 
Hill Cottage, 
Shenandoah, Natural 
Tunnel, Douthat 

$133 $790 $116 $710 

 Hill Lodge (Twin Lakes) $149 $891 $133 $802 

 Fairy Stone Lodge 
(Fairy Stone), Creasy 
Lodge (Douthat), Bel 
Air Mansion (Belle Isle) 

$267 $1,603 $240 $1,442 

 Douthat Lodge 
(Douthat), Hungry 
Mother Lodge (Hungry 
Mother), Potomac River 
Retreat (Westmoreland) 

$315 $1,892 $284 $1,702 

 6-Bedroom Lodge, 
Kiptopeke, James River, 
Claytor Lake, 
Occoneechee, Bear 
Creek Lake, 
Shenandoah, Natural 
Tunnel, Douthat 

$331 $1,982 $297 $1,783 

OFF-SEASON CABIN AND LODGE RATES 

Cabin/Lodge Type 

Per-
Night 
Rental 

Fee 

Per-
Week 
Rental 

Fee 

Per-
Night 
Rental 

Fee 

Per-
Week 
Rental 

Fee 

 Efficiency $62 $372 $57 $335 

 One Bedroom, Standard $72 $436 $65 $392 

 One Bedroom, 
Waterfront or Water 
View 

$81 $478 $71 $432 

 One Bedroom, 
Chippokes Plantation 

$84 $508 $77 $457 

 Two Bedroom, Standard, 
all parks where available 
unless noted below 

$84 $504 $75 $454 

 Two Bedroom, Bear 
Creek Lake, James 
River, Occoneechee, 
Lake Anna, Shenandoah, 
Natural Tunnel 

$88 $528 $79 $475 

 Two Bedroom, 
Waterfront or Water 
View, all parks where 
available unless noted 
below 

$92 $554 $83 $499 
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  Two Bedroom, 
Waterfront or Water 
View, Bear Creek Lake, 
Occoneechee, Lake 
Anna 

$97 $581 $87 $522 

  Two Bedroom, First 
Landing, Chippokes 
Plantation 

$98 $585 $88 $527 

  Three Bedroom, 
Standard, all parks 
where available unless 
noted below 

$95 $570 $85 $512 

  Three Bedroom, 
Chippokes Plantation, 
Bel Air Guest House 

$110 $664 $99 $597 

  Three Bedroom, Claytor 
Lake, Bear Creek Lake, 
James River, 
Occoneechee, Lake 
Anna, Southwest 
Virginia Museum Poplar 
Hill Cottage, 
Shenandoah, Natural 
Tunnel, Douthat 

$110 $657 $96 $591 

  Hill Lodge (Twin Lakes) $124 $741 $111 $667 

  Fairy Stone Lodge 
(Fairy Stone), Creasy 
Lodge (Douthat), Bel 
Air Mansion (Belle Isle) 

$222 $1,332 $201 $1,199 

  Douthat Lodge 
(Douthat), Hungry 
Mother Lodge (Hungry 
Mother), Potomac River 
Retreat (Westmoreland)) 
(Westmoreland) 

$263 $1,573 $237 $1,415 

  6-Bedroom Lodge, 
Kiptopeke, James River, 
Claytor Lake, 
Occoneechee, Bear 
Creek Lake, 
Shenandoah, Natural 
Tunnel, Douthat 

$275 $1,649 $249 $1,483 

CAMPING CABINS, 
CAMPING LODGES, 
YURTS, AND TRAVEL 
TRAILERS (camping 
cabins, camping lodges, 
yurts, and travel trailers 
located in campgrounds and 
operated in conjunction 
with the campground) 

Per-
Night 
Rental 

Fee 

Per-
Week 
Rental 

Fee 

Per-
Night 
Rental 

Fee 

Per-
Week 
Rental 

Fee 

Camping Cabin rental rate: 
(2-night minimum rental 
required) 

$49 NA $45 NA 

 Yurt rental: Standard fee $98 $589 $88 $529 

 Travel Trailers: 25-30' 
Standard fee 

$98 $589 $88 $529 

 Camping Lodges: 
Standard fee 

$98 $589 $88 $529 

Additional Cabin Fees: 

 Cabin Transaction Fee: 
Applies to each purchase 
transaction of a visit to a 
cabin (i.e., one 
transaction fee per cabin 
visit per site no matter 
how many nights). 
Applies to Internet, 
reservation center, and 
walk up visits. 

$5.00 

 Additional Bed Rentals $3.00 per rental night 

 Additional linens at all 
parks unless otherwise 
noted. One set of linens 
is 1 sheet set (1 fitted 
sheet, 1 flat sheet, and 1 
pillowcase) or 1 towel 
set (1 bath towel, 1 hand 
towel, and 1 washcloth 
or 2 bath towels and 1 
washcloth) 

$2.00 per sheet set 
$2.00 per towel set 

 Cabin Cancellation Fee: 
Applies to all lodging in 
this section except as 
described below in 
"Lodge Cancellation 
Fee" 

$20 per cancellation period: See 
notes on Cabin 
Transfer/Cancellation/Early 
Departure Policy. 

 Lodge Cancellation Fee: 
Applies to Fairy Stone 
Lodge, Douthat Lodge, 
Hungry Mother Lodge, 
Potomac River Retreat, 
and all 6-bedroom park 
lodges 

$50 per cancellation period: See 
notes on Cabin 
Transfer/Cancellation/Early 
Departure Policy 

 Pet Fee (this fee does not 
apply to service or 
hearing dogs identifiable 
in accordance with § 
51.5-44 of the Code of 
Virginia). 

$10 per pet per night 

Pocahontas Group Cabins DAY WEEK 

 Algonquian Ecology 
Camp Dining Hall: 8 
a.m. to 10 p.m. for day 
use, 24-hour use when 
rented with cabins 

$236 $1,181 



Regulations 

Volume 27, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 22, 2010 

613 

  Swift Creek Dining Hall: 
8 a.m. to 10 p.m. for day 
use, 24-hour use when 
rented with cabins 

$275 $1,375 

  Dining Hall: fee for 
partial day rental when 
associated with full day 
rental as noted above 

$140 NA 

Cabin Units: per unit, per 
night  

$112 $560 

  Complete Algonquian 
Ecology Camp (4 units: 
112 capacity) with 
Dining Hall 

$460 $2,300 

  Complete Swift Creek 
Camp (2 units: 56 
capacity) with Dining 
Hall 

$375 $1,875 

Refundable security deposit 
charged for all reservations 

$100 per reservation 

Notes on Pocahontas Group Cabins:  

Pocahontas Group Cabins: Reservations of $200 or more 
require a 25% prepayment, due within 14 days of making 
the reservation. Balance of fees is due 60 days prior to the 
reservation start date. Reservations of less than $200 
require payment in full to confirm the reservation, due 
within 14 days of making the reservation. Cancellations 
made 30 days or more prior to the first day of the 
reservation shall receive a refund less a $30 per unit 
cancellation fee. Cancellations made less than 30 days 
prior to the first date of the reservation receive no refund 
unless the units are subsequently rented, in which case the 
refund shall be full price minus $30 per unit.  

Notes on cabins and lodges:  

1. Seasonal cabin and lodge rates shall be in effect 
according to the following schedule, except for camping 
cabins, camping lodges, yurts, and travel trailers, which 
operate on the same schedule and season as the 
campground at that particular park. In the event that a 
weekly rental period includes two seasonal rates, the 
higher rate will apply for the entire weekly rental period.  

PARK 
PRIME 

SEASON 
MID-

SEASON 
OFF-

SEASON 

Bear Creek Lake 
Belle Isle 
Chippokes 
Plantation 
First Landing 
Kiptopeke  
Lake Anna  
Occoneechee  
Southwest 
Virginia 
Museum 
Staunton River 
Twin Lakes 
Westmoreland 

Friday 
night 
prior to 
Memorial 
Day 
through 
the 
Sunday 
night 
prior to 
Labor 
Day 

April 1 
through 
the 
Thursday 
night prior 
to 
Memorial 
Day, and 
Labor Day 
through 
November 
30 

December 1 
through 
March 31 

Claytor Lake 
Douthat 
Fairy Stone 
Hungry Mother 
James River  
Smith Mountain 
Lake 
Shenandoah 
Natural Tunnel 

Friday 
night 
prior to 
Memorial 
Day 
through 
the 
Sunday 
night 
prior to 
Labor 
Day, and 
October 1 
through 
October 
31 

April 1 
through 
the 
Thursday 
night prior 
to 
Memorial 
Day, and 
Labor Day 
through 
September 
30, and 
November 
1 through 
November 
30 

December 1 
through 
March 31 

2. All dates refer to the night of the stay; checkout time is 
10 a.m. and check-in time is 3 p.m.  

3. The following holiday periods are charged prime season 
weekend rates: the Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, and 
Saturday period that includes Thanksgiving Day; and 
Christmas Eve and Christmas Day; and New Year's Eve 
and New Year's Day.  

4. Cabin guests are allowed two vehicles per for a one or 
two bedroom cabin, and three vehicles for a three bedroom 
cabin per day without charge of parking fee. Additional 
vehicles must pay the prevailing parking fee for each day 
that the vehicle is parked in the park. The number of 
vehicles allowed to park at the cabin varies according to 
site design and other factors. All vehicles must park in 
designated parking areas, either at the cabin or in the 
designated overflow parking area.  

5. Lodge Six-bedroom lodge guests are allowed six 
vehicles per lodge per day without charge of parking fee. 
Additional vehicles must pay the prevailing vehicle 
parking fee for each day the vehicle is parked in the park. 
The number of vehicles allowed to park at the lodge varies 
according to site design and other factors. All vehicles 
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must park in designated parking areas, either at the lodge 
or in the designated overflow parking area.  

6. Damage to cabins and other rental units under this 
section, not considered normal wear and tear, may be 
billed to the person registered for the cabin or rental unit 
on an itemized cost basis.  

7. Each member of the cabin rental party, up to the 
maximum allowable for the rented unit, may receive an 
entrance pass to the park's swimming facility on the basis 
of one pass per night of rental. Passes are only issued 
during days and seasons of operation of the swimming 
facility and are only good during the member's registered 
stay.  

8. Employees of DCR and the members of committees and 
boards of DCR shall receive a discount of 50% on 
applicable cabin or lodge rates for any season, when the 
rental of such cabins or lodge is in connection with the 
official business of DCR or its committees or boards.  

Notes on cabin or lodge transfer/cancellation/early departure 
policy:  

1. Any fees to be refunded are calculated less the 
applicable cancellation fees listed below.  

2. Fees paid to the reservation center by credit card will be 
refunded to the original credit card charged.  

3. Fees paid by check or money order to the reservation 
center, or by any method at the park, will be refunded by 
state check.  

4. A customer may move a cabin or lodge reservation to 
another date or park, referred to as a transfer, through the 
reservation center only, and prior to 5 p.m. on the Monday 
before the scheduled date of arrival. After 5 p.m. on the 
Monday before the scheduled date of arrival, cancellation 
is the only option (see note 5 below) except that transfers 
to a different cabin or lodge for the same rental nights shall 
be allowed, subject to availability, up to the check in time 
for the original reservation. 

5. Once the reservation is paid for, a customer may cancel 
in full with payment of the required cancellation fee if 
there are more than 30 days before the scheduled arrival 
date. As long as the reservation is not during the one-week 
minimum stay requirement period, the length of stay may 
be reduced without a fee as long as there are more than 30 
days before the scheduled arrival. However, the length of 
stay cannot be less than two nights. During the 30 days 
prior to the scheduled arrival date, the cancellation fee is 
charged for each night cancelled or reduced from the stay. 
Once the official check-in time on the scheduled arrival 
date is reached, the cancellation policy is no longer in 
effect and the early departure policy applies.  

6. Once the 3 p.m. check-in time is reached on the 
scheduled day of arrival, any adjustment to a reservation is 
considered an early departure. There is a two night 
minimum charge associated with all cabin, lodge, camping 
cabin, travel trailer, and camping lodge stays. Reducing the 
total nights stayed will incur a $20 per night fee. If the 
original reservation was for a week, the weekly discount 
will no longer be valid and the fee will be adjusted to the 
nightly rate before any refunds are calculated.  

4VAC5-36-110. Picnic shelters and event tents fees.  

PICNIC SHELTERS AND EVENT TENTS (TAXABLE)  

The shelter rental periods shall be from park 
opening until park closing, unless otherwise 
specified. 

DAY 

Standard Small Picnic Shelter Rental Fee: Bear 
Creek Lake, Belle Isle, Caledon, Chippokes 
Plantation, Claytor Lake (including gazebo), 
Douthat, Holliday Lake, Hungry Mother (half 
shelter), Lake Anna, Natural Tunnel, New River 
Trail, Occoneechee, Pocahontas, Smith Mountain 
Lake, Twin Lakes, Westmoreland, York River, 
and all other small park picnic shelters. 

$53 

Standard Large Picnic Shelter Rental Fee: Belle 
Isle, Chippokes Plantation, Claytor Lake, 
Douthat Fairy Stone, First Landing, Grayson 
Highlands, Hungry Mother (full shelter), James 
River, Kiptopeke, Lake Anna, Natural Tunnel, 
Occoneechee, Pocahontas, Shenandoah, Smith 
Mountain Lake (Pavilion), Staunton River, 
Staunton River Battlefield, Twin Lakes, 
Westmoreland, York River, and all other large 
park picnic shelters. 

$84 

Shenandoah Large Group Shelter $95 

Leesylvania Shelter Rental $126 

Leesylvania: Lee's Landing Picnic Area Rental $58 

Leesylvania: Lee's Landing Picnic Shelter $315 

  With 15 tables and 100 chairs $735 

Mason Neck Picnic Area Rental 

  Without tent shelter $58 

  With tent shelter (seasonably available) $126 

Chippokes Plantation Conference Shelter (with 
kitchen) 

$105 per 
function 

Chippokes Plantation Conference Shelter 
(without kitchen) 

$63 per 
function 

Mini-Shelter: All parks where available unless 
otherwise noted. 

$21 

Event Tent Rental: Full day in-park rental only. Price includes set 
up and take down. 
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  Standard fee: All parks where available unless 
otherwise noted. 

$0.38 $0.45 
per square 

foot 

  Chippokes Plantation, Douthat, Kiptopeke, 
Lake Anna, Pocahontas, Shenandoah River, 
Smith Mountain Lake, York River. 

$0.45 $0.55 
per square 

foot 

  False Cape, First Landing, Leesylvania, 
Mason Neck. 

$0.50 $0.60 
per square 

foot 

  Standard 10' x 10' event tent $25 per day 

  Westmoreland, Caledon Natural Area: 20' x 
40' tent with tables and chairs 

$400 per day 

  White String Lights for Tent $0.80 per 
foot 

  Side Panels for Tent $1.50 per 
foot 

Standard Shelter Cancellation Fee: Cancellation 
fee deducted from refund if refund is made more 
than 14 days prior to the reservation date. No 
refunds if cancellation made within 14 days prior 
to date. Shelter reservation may be transferred 
without penalty if the change is made through the 
reservations center prior to scheduled use. 

$10 

4VAC5-36-120. Amphitheater and gazebo fees.  

AMPHITHEATERS AND GAZEBOS (TAXABLE, Price here 
does not include tax)  

Amphitheater or Gazebo Rental Fee: The 
amphitheater or gazebo rental periods shall be 
from park opening until park closing unless 
otherwise specified. 

DAY 

  Leesylvania, Fairy Stone, Staunton 
River, Kiptopeke and all other 
amphitheaters and gazebos unless noted 
below. 

$32 

  Hungry Mother, Occoneechee, 
Westmoreland, New River Trail, 
Shenandoah River (overlook). 

$53 

  Smith Mountain Lake, Natural Tunnel 
(gazebo at Cove Ridge), James River, 
First Landing (gazebo at Chesapeake 
Bay Center). 

$74 

  Claytor Lake (gazebo), First Landing 
(gazebo at Chesapeake Bay Center). 

$84 

  York River and Douthat Amphitheater. $105 

  Shenandoah Overlook Rental $16 per 
half-day 

$32 per full 
day 

  Natural Tunnel and First Landing 
Amphitheaters: Private group or 
company rate: 

$315 

  Natural Tunnel and First Landing 
Amphitheaters: Educational group. 

$158 

  Natural Tunnel Amphitheater Wedding 
Package: Three consecutive half-day 
rental periods. 

$420 per 
package 

  First Landing: Courtyard at Chesapeake 
Bay Center; includes amphitheater and 
gazebo. 

$788 

  First Landing: Additional hourly charge 
for hours beyond 10 p.m. for gazebo. 

$11 per 
hour 

  First Landing: Additional hourly charge 
for hours beyond 10 p.m. for Courtyard. 

$53 per 
hour 

  Fishing Tournament Staging. All parks 
where available. 

$26 

  Pocahontas Amphitheater Area: Without 
Heritage Center. Includes Amphitheater, 
Exhibit Area, Restrooms and use of 
sound system. 

$630 

  Pocahontas Amphitheater Area Plus 
Heritage Center 

$840  

  Parking Attendant (per attendant). $11 per 
hour 

  Law Enforcement Officer (per officer). $26 per 
hour 

  Natural Tunnel: Rental of Observation 
Deck at mouth of tunnel for dinner 
parties. Includes use of chairlift for 
transportation of guests and supplies and 
set-up/take-down of tables and chairs. 

$300 per 4 
hours  

  Natural Tunnel Amphitheater 
Concession Building 

$42 

  Natural Tunnel: Sound System Rental $32 

Standard Amphitheater/Gazebo Cancellation 
Fee: Cancellation fee deducted from refund if 
refund is made more than 14 days prior to the 
reservation date. No refunds if cancellation 
made within fourteen days prior to date. 

$11 

  All parks unless listed below. $11 

  Pocahontas Amphitheater or First 
Landing Courtyard 

$105 
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4VAC5-36-140. Interpretive canoe, boat, and paddleboat 
fees.  

INTERPRETIVE CANOE, BOAT, AND PADDLEBOAT 
PROGRAMS (NONTAXABLE)  

Interpretive Canoe, Boat, and Paddleboat 
Tours: 

FEE 

Environmental Education Group Canoe Tour: 
Available only to bona fide educational groups. 
Requires previous reservation and 
arrangements. Minimum 10 persons. Mason 
Neck and all other parks where available 
unless otherwise noted. 

$3.00 per 
person 

Standard Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for 
Individuals: Applies to canoe, rowboat, or 
paddleboat tours. Child riding as third 
passenger, where allowed, is free. 

  

  Individuals at all parks unless noted 
below. 

$5.00 per 
person 

  Individuals at Leesylvania, York River, 
Pocahontas, Kiptopeke, Chippokes. 

$9.00 per 
person 

  
Individuals at Mason Neck. 

$15 per 
person 

  
Individuals at Natural Tunnel. 

$12 per 
person 

  Individuals at False Cape: Back Bay 
Interpretive Tour. 

$16 per 
person 

  Family Groups at all parks unless noted 
below. Minimum 4 paying customers. 

$4.00 per 
person 

  Family Groups at Leesylvania, 
Pocahontas, York River, Kiptopeke. 
Minimum 4 paying customers. 

$6.00 per 
person 

  
Family Groups at Mason Neck. 

$9.00 per 
person 

  Group rate at Natural Tunnel (minimum 
10 paying customers). 

$12 per 
person 

Sunset, Moonlight, Dawn, or Extended Canoe 
Interpretive Tour Fee for Individuals: Applies 
to canoe, rowboat, or paddleboat tours. 

  

  All parks where offered unless noted 
below. 

$6.00 per 
person 

  Sunset, Dawn, Extended Canoe 
Interpretive Tour Fee for Individuals: 
Leesylvania, York River, Chippokes, 
Kiptopeke. 

$11 per 
person 

  Sunset, Dawn, Extended Canoe 
Interpretive Tour Fee for Individuals: 
New River Trail, Mason Neck. 

$15 per 
person 

  Extended Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee 
for Individuals: 
Grayson Highlands, Hungry Mother, 
New River Trail. 

$25 per 
person 

  Moonlight/Night Canoe Interpretive Tour 
Fee for Individuals: 
Leesylvania, York River, Chippokes. 

$13 per 
person 

  Moonlight/Night Canoe Interpretive Tour 
Fee for Individuals: 
Mason Neck. 

$20 per 
person 

Sunset, Moonlight, Dawn, or Extended Canoe 
Interpretive Tour Fee for Family Groups: 
Applies to canoe, rowboat, or paddleboat tours. 
Minimum four paying customers. 

  

  All parks where offered unless otherwise 
noted. 

$5.00 per 
person 

  Sunset, Dawn, or Extended Canoe 
Interpretive Tour Fee for Family Groups: 
Leesylvania, York River, Chippokes. 
Requires 4 or more paying customers. 

$7.00 per 
person 

  Sunset, Dawn, or Extended Canoe 
Interpretive Tour Fee for Family Groups: 
New River Trail, Mason Neck. 

$11 per 
person 

  Moonlight/Night Canoe Interpretive Tour 
Fee for Family Groups: 
Leesylvania, York River. Requires 4 or 
more paying customers. 

$8.00 per 
person 

  Extended Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee 
for Family Groups: 
Grayson Highlands. 

$25 per 
person 

Bear Creek Lake: Willis River Interpretive 
Canoe Tour 

  

  
Short Trip. 

$8.00 per 
person 

  
Long Trip. 

$10 per 
person 

Natural Tunnel Clinch River:   

  Half-Day Trip Group Rate. Requires 10 
or more paying customers. 

$12 per 
person 

  Full-Day Trip. Group Rate. Requires 10 
or more paying customers. 

$20 per 
person 

  
Half-Day Trip. Individuals. 

$15 per 
person 

  
Full-Day Trip. Individuals. 

$25 per 
person 

  
Overnight Trip. Individuals. 

$45 per 
person 

  
Short Trip. Clinchport to Copper Creek 

$7.00 per 
person 
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Interpretive Kayak Tour, Solo Kayak: All 
parks where available unless otherwise noted. 

$16 per 
person 

Interpretive Kayak Tour, Solo Kayak: 
Westmoreland, Caledon  

$19 per 
person 

Interpretive Kayak Tour, Tandem Kayak: All 
parks where available unless otherwise noted. 

$22 per kayak 

Interpretive Kayak Tour, Tandem Kayak: 
Westmoreland, Caledon  

$25 per kayak 

Tag-along Fee: Participant provides their own 
canoe or kayak. Not available at all sites. 

$10 per 
person 

Interpretive Pontoon Boat Tour: All parks 
where available. 

$2.00 (Age 3 
through 12) 
$3.00 (Age 13 
and over) 

Interpretive Tube Tour: all parks where 
available unless otherwise noted. 

$6.00 per 
person 

Lake Excursion and Ecology Tour   

  Claytor Lake $10 (Age 13 
and over) 
$7.00 (Age 3 
through 12) 

  Rental of Entire Boat (Exclusive Use): 
All parks where available 

$60 per tour 

Notes on Interpretive Canoe, Boat, and Paddleboat Programs:  

1. Cancellation Policy for group reservations: Guest must 
cancel four days prior to the tour date in order to receive a 
refund. Any guest canceling less than four days before the 
start of the reservation will not be eligible for a refund. A 
one-time $10 cancellation fee will apply per reservation 
regardless of number of boats reserved. In the event of 
inclement weather where the park must cancel, the guest 
will be offered either a complete refund or reservation 
transfer to another date.  

2. Additional costs for supplies and materials may apply. 

4VAC5-36-150. Interpretive and educational tours and 
program fees.  

INTERPRETIVE AND EDUCATIONAL TOURS AND 
PROGRAMS (NONTAXABLE)  

Interpretive and Educational Tours and Programs 

PARK PROGRAM FEE 

All parks 
unless 
otherwise 
noted: 

Standard Interpretive 
Program or Tour: (Fee 
does not apply to 
informational programs 
such as typical staff led 
nature hikes or campfire 
programs or roving 
interpretation). 

$2.00 per 
person 
$6.00 per 
family Free 

Fee-based Interpretive 
Program or Tour: (Fee 
only applies to programs 
or tours that have unusual 
costs or require special 
equipment, personnel, 
marketing, or other 
special arrangements). 

$2.00 per 
person 
$6.00 per 
family 

Standard Fee-based Night 
Hike or Evening Program 
or Evening Tour: (Fee 
only applies to programs 
or tours that have unusual 
costs or require special 
equipment, personnel, 
marketing, or other 
special arrangements). 

$3.00 per 
person 
$8.00 per 
family 

Standard Workshop Fee $5.00 per child 
(Age 12 and 
under) 
$15 per adult 
(Age 13 and 
over) 

Standard Wagon Ride 
Program 

$3.00 per 
person 
$8.00 per 
family 
$25 exclusive 
group 

Extended or Special 
Event Wagon Ride 
Program 

$4.00 per 
person 
$10 per family 
$75 exclusive 
group booking 

Park Outreach Program: 
Price per park staff 
member conducting 
program 

$10 for under 
2 hours 
$25 for 2 to 3 
hours 
$50 for 4 
hours plus 

Standard Junior Ranger 
Program: 4-day program. 
All parks unless noted 
below. 

$10 full 
program 
$3.00 per day 

Haunted Hike $1.00 (Age 3 
through 12) 
$3.00 (Age 13 
and over) 

Geo Caching or 
Orienteering Interpretive 
Program. 

$3.00 per 
person 
$8.00 per 
family 
$25 per group 
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Nature-Themed Birthday 
Party: Includes a nature 
talk, hike, games, songs, 
and time in the Nature 
Center for gifts and cakes. 
At least one staff member 
is present to conduct 
activities. 

$96 per hour 
plus materials 
cost for 12 
children 
$8.00 per 
additional 
child 

Standard Orienteering 
Program 

$3.00 per 
person 

$25 per group 
(20 maximum) 

Standard Women's 
Wellness Weekend 
Program 

$149 per 
person 

Chippokes Photography Class $45 per person 

Junior Ranger Program $5.00 per 
person per day 

Hayrides $2.00 per child
$3.00 per adult 

Adventure Rangers 
Interpretive Program 

$10 per person 
per day 

Make a Birdhouse 
Program 

$5.00 per 
person 

Make Your Own Hiking 
Stick Program 

$3.00 per 
person 

Grayson 
Highlands 

2-Day Photography Class $35 per person 

Individual interpretive 
program pass: (Allows 
admission for one person 
to 4 interpretive programs 
valued at $3.00 or less) 

$6.00 per pass Occoneechee, 
Caledon, Sky 
Meadows 

Family interpretive 
program pass: (Allows 
admission for members of 
the same family to 4 
interpretive programs 
valued at $8.00 or less) 

$18 per pass 

Pocahontas Nature Camps $100 per child 
per program 
plus materials 
cost 
$30 per child 
plus materials 
cost for Jr. 
Assistant. The 
Jr. Assistant 
helps the park 
staff in 
conducting 
camp 
programs. 

Curious Kids $3.00 per 
program 

Nature and Discovery 
Programs (School/Groups 
Outreach) 

$4.00 per child 

$80 minimum 
$15 additional 
if program is 
outside of 
Chesterfield 
County 

Interpretive Program 
Series: 6-program series 

$15 per person 
per program 
$45 per person 
per 4 programs
$60 per person 
per 6 programs 

Nature and Discovery 
Programs (School/Groups 
Outreach) 

$2.00 per child
$50 minimum 
$15 additional 
if program is 
outside of the 
following 
counties: 
Fauquier, 
Frederick, 
Clark, and 
Loudoun 

Sky Meadows 

House and Grounds Tour $3.00 per 
person age 13 
and older 
$2.00 per child 
age 6 through 
12 
$8.00 per 
family 

Smith 
Mountain Lake 

Nature and Discovery 
Programs (School/Groups 
Outreach) 

$10 per school 
visit 

How Our Ancestors Lived  $5.00 per 
person  

Special Themed 
Interpretive Program 

$10 per person 

Music or Literary Event 
$5.00 per 
person 

Workshop (Adult) $10 per person 

Workshop (Children) $5.00 per 
person 

Southwest 
Virginia 
Museum 

Nature and Discovery 
Programs (School/Groups 
Outreach) 

$25 for under 
2 hours 
$50 from 2 
hours to under 
4 hours 
$75 for 4 or 
more hours 
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Guided Tour or Activity School 
Groups: $1.50 
per person 
Public Groups: 
$2.50 per 
person 

Step-On Tour Guide 
Service 

$7.00 per 
person 

Caledon Eagle Tours $6.00 per 
person 
$50 Flat Rate 
(minimum: 10; 
maximum: 20) 

All Group Programs up to 
2 hours long 

$5.00 per 
person 

Haunted Hay Ride $5.00 per 
person (age 7 
and over) 
Children under 
7 free 

Special Program Bus Fee: 
Programs involving 
transportation within the 
natural area. 

$3.00 per 
person 

Workshop (Adult) $15 per person 

Caledon 

Workshop (Children) $5.00 per 
person 

Guided Programs $25 per 
program 
(Maximum 30 
participants) 
$25 facility fee 
(If applicable) 

Environmental Education 
(Children's Activities) 

$25 per 
program 
(Maximum 30 
participants) 
$25 facility fee 
(If applicable) 

Natural 
Tunnel: Cove 
Ridge 

Environmental Education 
(Adult Facilitation) 

$15 per person 

Hungry 
Mother/ 
Hemlock 
Haven 

Junior Naturalist Program $4.00 per 
person per 
week 
$12 unlimited 
participation 
in interpretive 
season 

Kiptopeke Birding Program (Hawk 
observatory/bird banding 
station) 

$4.00 per 
person 

Birding Program (Group 
Rates) 

$35 
(Corporate) 
$25 
(Nonprofit) 

Guided Adventure 
Programs 

$4.00 per 
person 
$40 per group 
(Minimum 12 
persons) 

York River Children's 
Programs 

$2.00 per 
person, single 
program 
$10 unlimited 
participation 
throughout 
Interpretive 
Season 

York River 

"Nature Party": Nature 
Themed Birthday Party 
for Children 

$10 per person 

Westmoreland Guided Program Fee $25 per person 

Junior Ranger Program 
(Includes T-Shirt) 

$35 per person 

Wagon Ride Program $50 Exclusive 
Education 
Group 
Booking 

Hay Wagon and Hot Dog 
Roast 

$10 per person 

Bike Tours - 2 hours $10 per person 

Extended Bike Tours - 4 
hours 

$15 per person 

Canoe and Bike Tour - 4 
hours 

$20 per person 

Natural Tunnel 

Halloween Haunted 
House/Hay Wagon Ride 

$3.00 (Age 3 
through 12) 
$5.00 (Age 13 
and over) 

Mason Neck Junior Ranger Program $50 per person 

Field Archaeology 
Workshop 

$25 per person Holliday Lake 

Junior Ranger Program (3 
half-day workshop) (Ages 
6 to 13) 

$25 per child 

Wildlife Watch Tour – 
Per Person 

$8.00 per 
person 

False Cape 

Astronomy Program $10 per person 

Staunton River Interpretive Craft $2.00 per 
person 
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First Landing Junior Ranger Program 
3 Hour Program| 
6 Hour Program 

  

$25 per person 
$50 per person 

Bear Creek 
Lake 

Junior Ranger Program $20 per person 

Junior Ranger Program $50 per person 

Halloween Haunted Hike $2.00 per 
person 
$6.00 per 
group (4 
person 
maximum) 

Interpretive Programs $2.00 per 
person 

Leesylvania 

Kids Fishing Tournament $2.00 per child 

Pannel Cave Tour $10 per person 
$7.00 per 
person 
(Family-
Group; 8-
person 
minimum) 

Bolling Cave Tours $15 per person 
$12 per person 
(Family-
Group; 8-
person 
minimum) 

Natural Tunnel 

Stock Creek Tunnel Tour $5.00 per 
person 

New River Trail Seniors 
Van Tour Full Day 

$25 per person 

New River Trail Seniors 
Van Tour Half Day 

$15 per person 

New River 
Trail 

Bertha Cave Tour $10 per person 

James River Haunted Wagon Ride $5.00 per 
person (Age 7 
and over) 
Children 6 and 
under free 

Triple Treat Program: 
Hayride/Canoe/Campfire 

$10 per person 

Junior Ranger 3-day 
program 

$5.00 per class 

Belle Isle 

Bike Tour: visitors can 
supply their own bike or 
rent separately 

$2.00 per 
person 
$6.00 per 
family 

Notes on interpretive and educational tours and programs:  

Additional costs for supplies and materials may apply.  

4VAC5-36-160. Outdoor skill program fees.  

OUTDOOR SKILL PROGRAMS (NONTAXABLE)  

Outdoor Skill Programs FEE 

Outdoor Survival Skills 
and Backpacking 

$95 per 
person 

Basic Map and Compass $25 per 
person 

Beginning Rock 
Climbing and 
Backpacking 

$95 per 
person 

Grayson Highlands 

Advanced Map and 
Compass Skills 

$25 per 
person 

Photography Workshop, 
with meals and lodging 

$325 per 
person 

Photography Workshop, 
with meals, no lodging 

$295 per 
person 

Photography Workshop, 
no meals, no lodging 

$225 per 
person 

Nonparticipant Lodging 
and Food 

$235 per 
person 

Westmoreland, 
Douthat, Hungry 
Mother, False Cape 

Nonparticipant Meals 
only 

$125 per 
person 

Lake Anna Prospecting for Gold 
Workshop 

$50 per 
person 

Hungry Mother Mountain Empire Fly 
Fishing School 

$225 per 
person 

Grayson Highlands Guided Fly Fishing Trip: 
Half-day 
Guided Fly Fishing Trip: 
Full-day 

$50 per 
person 
$75 per 
person 

Outdoor Skills Workshop $5.00 per 
class per 
person 

$10 per 
class per 
family 

Sky Meadows 

Primitive Camping Series 
(3 classes = 1 series) 

$15 per 
series per 
person 

$30 per 
series per 
family 
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Backpacking Series 
(4 classes = 1 series) 

$20 per 
series per 
person 

$40 per 
series per 
family 

4VAC5-36-180. State park performing arts events fees.  

STATE PARK PERFORMING ARTS EVENTS (NONTAXABLE)  

State Parks Performing Arts 
Events: 

FEE 

All parks unless otherwise 
noted below: 

Under age 3 is free 
$3.00 (Age 3 through 12) 
$5.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Pocahontas Premier Shows $8.00 per person advance 
tickets, includes daily parking 
fee 
$10 per person day of show 
Children 12 and under free 
$40 per person season tickets-
includes daily parking fee for 
day of all Premier shows 

$5.00 per person the day of 
show with coupon and the 
purchase of one ticket at full 
price 

Natural Tunnel Gospel Singing 
Festival 

$5.00 per vehicle 

Douthat Performing Arts in the 
Park 

Under age 3 is free 
$4.00 (Age 3 through 12) 
$9.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Smith Mountain Lake: Music 
in the Park (per event) 

Under age 12 is free 
$3.00 (Age 13 and over) 

  Pass for 10 events $20 

  Pass for 15 events $28 

Note on Performing Arts Event Fees:  

Cancellation Policy for Performing Arts Programs:  

1. Generally, all events go on rain or shine and no 
refunds will be given. If an event is canceled by 
management, a full refund will be provided to ticket 
holders if rescheduling is not an option. No refunds will 
be given for any reason other than event cancellation.  

2. "Ticket as Voucher" policy for Performing Arts Series: 
Generally, all events go on rain or shine. Should a 
specific event/program in the series be canceled by 
management, the cancellation policy regarding refunds 
(see 1 above) applies. However, unused tickets, including 
tickets not used due to purchaser's own decision, retain 
face value that may be applied to entry to subsequent 
events, including events in future seasons. No refunds 

will be given for any reason other than event 
cancellation.  

4VAC5-36-190. Environmental education center fees.  

ENVIRONMENTAL EDUCATION SERVICES AND 
FACILITIES FEES (TAXABLE unless otherwise noted)  

PARK SERVICE OR FACILITY FEE 

Caledon Rental of Environmental 
Education Center 

$60 per 
day 
$40 per 
half-day 

First 
Landing 

Chesapeake Bay Center Exhibit 
Area. Fee required after 5 p.m. 
or after regular operating hours 

$25 per 
hour  

Wash Woods Environmental 
Education Center - Use by 
educational group 

$200 per 
night 
$60 day 
use 

Wash Woods Environmental 
Education Center - Use by 
noneducational group 

$300 per 
night 
$100 day 
use 

Deposit to accompany 
reservation application 

$40 

Environmental Education 
Programs (Nontaxable) 

$75 

Bus transportation for 
educational group (Nontaxable) 

$36 round 
trip 
$18 one 
way 

Bus transportation for 
noneducational group 
(Nontaxable) 

$48 round 
trip 
$24 one 
way 

Bus transportation within the 
park (Nontaxable) 

$18 per 
hour 

Beach vehicle transportation for 
educational group (10 person 
minimum) 

$100 
round trip 

Beach vehicle transportation for 
noneducational group (10 
person minimum) 

$160 
round trip 

Beach vehicle transportation, 
individual rate on regularly 
scheduled dates 

$8.00 
round trip 
per person 

Transportation, Additional Park 
Vehicle (Nontaxable) 

$36 round 
trip 

False Cape 
State Park 

Transportation for 
nonemergency but unplanned 
trips out of park: 
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Transportation for Camper $18 per 
trip 

Transportation for Camper with 
Canoe or Kayak 

$24 per 
trip 

Kayak/Canoe Trailer 
Transportation for Campers 

$100 per 
trip 

After hours transportation 
surcharge 

$8.00 per 
trip 

Equipment Rental $25 

Hartwell Environmental 
Education Center Mason Neck 
State Park Conference Room 
(Includes wet lab sampling and 
A.V. equipment) 

$50 per 
half-day 
$80 per 
full-day 

Mason Neck 

Environmental Education 
Equipment only: Excludes 
center and wet lab conference 
room – outdoor activity only 

$25 per 
half-day 
$40 per 
full-day 

Discovery Room   

  Teacher-Led Programs Up 
to 4 hours (Nontaxable) 

$50 

  Ranger-Led Programs Up 
to 4 hours (Nontaxable) 

$85 

  Menu Programs: Picked 
by instructor – led by 
ranger; 1-hour 15-minute 
minimum (Nontaxable) 

$30 

Leesylvania 

  Equipment Rental: For use 
outside of Visitor Center; 
4 hour maximum 

$20 

Note on Environmental Education Center Fees:  

Environmental Education Center Cancellation Policy: For 
day-use E.E.C. cancellation policy, Picnic Shelter 
cancellation policy shall apply. For overnight-use E.E.C. 
cancellation policy, cabin cancellation policy shall apply.  

4VAC5-36-200. Miscellaneous rental fees.  

RENTALS (TAXABLE; Price here does not include tax)  

Bike Rentals (includes helmet) FEE 

  All parks where available 
unless otherwise noted  

$3.00 per hour 
$8.00 per half-day 
$15 per full-day 

  Claytor Lake $4.00 per hour 
$25 per day 

  New River Trail, James River, 
Mason Neck 

$5.00 per hour 
$12 per half-day 
$18 per day 

  First Landing $5.00 per hour 
$16 per day 

Bike Helmet without bike rental $1.00 

Child Cart for bike $5.00 

Boat Rentals   

Standard Paddle Boat Rental:   

  All parks where available 
unless otherwise noted  

$4.00 per half-hour 
$6.00 per hour 

  Fairy Stone, Westmoreland, 
Hungry Mother  

$5.00 per half-hour 
$8.00 per hour 

  Smith Mountain Lake $10 per half-hour 
$15 per one hour 
$80 for 24 hours 
$30 additional for each 
day after first day 

Standard Canoe Rental:   

  All parks where available 
unless otherwise noted. 

$8.00 per hour 
$15 per half-day 
$25 per full-day 
$40 for 24 hours 
$100 per week 

  Smith Mountain Lake $8.00 per half-hour 
$12 per one hour 
$60 for 24 hours 
$30 additional for each 
day after first day 

  Claytor Lake $10 $12 per hour 
$35 per half-day 
$50 per day 

  Leesylvania, Mason Neck $7.00 per half-hour 
$12 per hour 
$35 per half-day 
$50 per day 

  James River $10 per hour (does not 
include shuttle) 
$40 per day (does not 
include shuttle) 
$120 per week (does 
not include shuttle) 
$12 per half hour past 
return time 

Standard Float Trips:   

  James River   

    Bent Creek to Canoe 
Landing: 

  

    Canoe $45 Max 3 people 

    Single Kayak $35 per kayak 

    Double Kayak $45 per kayak 
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    Canoe Landing to Dixon 
Landing: 

  

    Tubes $12 per tube 

    Group of four or more $10 per tube 

    Canoe $15 per canoe 

    Single Kayak $15 per kayak 

    Double Kayak $15 per kayak 

    Bent Creek to Dixon 
Landing: 

  

    Canoe $50 per canoe 

    Single Kayak $40 per kayak 

    Double Kayak $50 per kayak 

    Shuttle Service Only:   

    Canoe Landing to Dixon 
Landing, canoe or single 
kayak, scheduled or 
unscheduled 

$2.00 per person 
$5.00 per canoe/kayak 

    Bent Creek Shuttle 
(Scheduled) 

$5.00 per boat 
(canoe/kayak) 
$5.00 per person 

    Bent Creek Shuttle 
(Unscheduled) 

$15 per boat 
(canoe/kayak) 
$15 per person 

    Tubes $5.00 per person/Bent 
Creek Shuttle 
$2.00 between 
landings in park 

    Late Rental Fee $15 per half hour past 
return time 

  New River Trail $7.00 per hour 
$20 per half-day 
$30 per day 
$35 per half-day, 
includes canoe rental 
and shuttle 
$50 per full day, 
includes canoe rental 
and shuttle 

  Canoe Rental (includes shuttle)   

    Trip A: Austinville to 
Foster Falls 

$35 per canoe 

    Trip B: Ivanhoe to 
Austinville 

$45 per canoe 

    Trip C: Ivanhoe to Foster 
Falls 

$50 per canoe 

    Trip D: Foster Falls to 
Route 100 

$45 per canoe 

    Trip E: Route 100 to 
Allisonia 

$50 per canoe 

    Trip F: Foster Falls to 
Allisonia 

$55 per canoe 

  Kayak Rental (includes shuttle)   

    Trip A: Austinville to 
Foster Falls 

$25 per kayak 

    Trip B: Ivanhoe to 
Austinville 

$35 per kayak 

    Trip C: Ivanhoe to Foster 
Falls 

$40 per kayak 

    Trip D: Foster Falls to 
Route 100 

$35 per kayak 

    Trip E: Route 100 to 
Allisonia 

$40 per kayak 

    Trip F: Foster Falls to 
Allisonia 

$45 per kayak 

Standard Rowboat Rental, without 
motor: 

  

  All parks where available 
unless otherwise noted 

$6.00 per hour 
$12 per half-day 
$22 per full-day 
$36 per 24 hours 
$80 per week 

  Hungry Mother: Rowboats $4.00 per hour 
$15 per day 
$40 per week 

  New River Trail: Rafts and flat-
bottom boats 

$7.00 per hour 
$20 per half-day 
$30 per day 

Standard Rowboat Rental with electric 
motor and battery: All parks where 
available unless otherwise noted 

$10 per hour 
$20 per 4 hours 
$36 per day 
$100 per 4 days 
$150 per week 

Standard Motorboat Rental, 16-foot 
console steering, 25-45 horsepower 
outboard. All parks where available. 

$18 per hour 
$90 per day 

Standard Fishing Boat Rental with 
gasoline motor and one tank of fuel: 
All parks where available. 

$10 per hour (2-hour 
minimum) 
$50 per day 

Pedal Craft Rental: (Hydro-Bike, 
Surf-Bike, etc.) All parks where 
available unless otherwise noted. 

  

  One person. $8.00 per hour 

  Two person. $10 per hour 
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  Smith Mountain Lake: Hydro 
Bike  

$8.00 per half hour 
$12 per hour 
$4.00 additional per 
hour after first hour 
$60 per 24 hours 
$30 additional per day 
after first day 

  Barracuda Boat. All parks 
where available 

$10 per hour 

Solo Kayak Rental:   

  All parks where available 
unless otherwise noted  

$8.00 per hour 
$20 per half-day 
$30 per day 
$40 for 24 hours 
$100 per week 

  Westmoreland $9.00 per hour 
$17 per half-day 
$30 per day 

  Smith Mountain Lake $8.00 per half hour 
$12 per hour 
$60 per 24 hours 
$30 additional per day 
after first day 

  Mason Neck $6.00 per half-hour 
$10 per hour 
$35 per half-day 
$50 per day 

  James River $7.00 per hour (does 
not include shuttle) 
$20 per day (does not 
include shuttle) 
$80 per week (does not 
include shuttle) 
$12 per half hour past 
return time 

  Claytor Lake $8.00 $10 per hour 
$25 per half-day 
$40 per day 

Tandem Kayak Rental:   

  All parks where available 
unless otherwise noted. 

$10 per hour 
$20 per half-day 
$30 per full-day 
$45 for 24 hours 
$120 per week 

  Claytor Lake $10 per hour 
$35 per half-day 
$50 per day 

  Westmoreland $12 per hour 
$22 per half-day 
$36 per day 

  Smith Mountain Lake $10 per half-hour 
$15 per hour 
$80 for 24 hours 
$30 additional for each 
day after first day 

  Mason Neck $8.00 per half-hour 
$15 per hour 
$45 per 4 hours 
$60 per day 

Smith Mountain Lake: 14-foot fishing 
boat with 5 hp (3 person capacity). 
Rental does not include fuel and oil. 
Damage deposit of $200 required. 

$50 for 3 hours 
$10 additional per 
hour after first 3 hours 
$150 for 24 hours 
$30 additional per day 
after first day 

Claytor Lake: 14-foot v-hull boat with 
25 16-foot Bass Tracker with 60 hp 
motor. Damage deposit of 50% 
required 

$25 $30 per hour 
$65 $75 per half-day 
$100 $115 per day 

Claytor Lake: 17-foot bowrider with 
135 hp motor. Damage deposit of 50% 
required 

$40 $45 per hour 
$115 $120 per half day 
$180 $185 per day 

Claytor Lake: 20-foot pontoon boat 
with 90 hp motor. Damage deposit of 
50% required 

$40 $45 per hour 
$110 $120 per half-
day 
$175 $185 per day 

Claytor Lake: 24-foot pontoon boat 
with 75 hp motor. Damage deposit of 
50% required 

$45 $50 per hour 
$125 $140 per half-
day 
$200 $210 per day 

Claytor Lake: 30-foot pontoon boat 
with 115 hp motor. Damage deposit of 
50% required 

$60 per hour 
$160 $165 per half-
day 
$250 per day 

Claytor Lake: 18-foot bowrider with 
190 hp motor. Damage deposit of 50% 
required 

$45 $50 per hour 
$125 $135 per half-
day 
$200 $205 per day 

Claytor Lake: 19-foot bowrider with 
220 hp motor, Damage deposit of 50% 
required. 

$50 $55 per hour 
$135 $150 per half-
day 
$220 $225 per day 

Occoneechee: 17-1/2-foot fishing 
boat. Rental includes 30 gallons of 
fuel. Damage deposit of $200 required 

$85 per hour 
$20 additional per 
hour after first hour 
$175 per 8 hours 
$875 per 7 day week 

Occoneechee: 20-foot pontoon boat 
with motor (8 person capacity) Rental 
includes 30 gallons of fuel. Damage 
deposit of $200 required. 

$85 per hour 
$20 additional per 
hour after first hour 
$175 per 8 hours 
$875 per 7 day week 
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Occoneechee: 22-foot pontoon boat 
with motor (10 person capacity) 
Rental includes 30 gallons of fuel. 
Damage deposit of $200 required. 

$95 per hour 
$20 additional per 
hour after first hour 
$185 per 8 hours 
$925 per 7 day week 

Occoneechee: 25-foot pontoon boat 
with motor (14 person capacity) 
Rental includes 30 gallons of fuel. 
Damage deposit of $200 required. 

$110 per hour 
$25 additional per 
hour after first hour 
$230 per 8 hours 
$1,150 per 7 day week 

Smith Mountain Lake: 18-20-foot 
Runabout with 190 hp (8 person 
capacity). Rental does not include fuel 
and oil. Damage deposit of $200 
required. 

$165 for 3 hours 
$20 additional per 
hour after first 3 hours 
$255 per 8 hours 
$320 for 24 hours 
$100 additional per 
day after first day 

Claytor Lake: 18-foot pontoon boat (7 
person capacity) or 21-foot pontoon 
boat (9 person capacity). Damage 
deposit of 50% required  

$35 $40 per hour 
$100 $110 per half-
day  

$165 $170 per day 

Claytor Lake: Jet Ski 15.5 hp (for use 
with rental of pontoon boat only). 

$125 $110 per half-
day 
$200 $170 per day 

Smith Mountain Lake: 24-foot 
pontoon boat with 40 hp (10-12 
person capacity). Damage deposit of 
$200 required. 

$90 for 3 hours 
$20 additional per 
hour after first 3 hours 
$165 per 8 hours 
$215 for 24 hours 
$80 additional each 
day after first day 

Smith Mountain Lake: Personal 
Watercraft (Waverunner 700). Rental 
does not include fuel and oil. Damage 
deposit of $500 required. 

$180 for 3 hours 
$20 additional per 
hour after first 3 hours 
$270 per 8 hours 
$335 for 24 hours 
$130 additional per 
day after first day 

Belle Isle: Motorboat less than 25 
horsepower (3 gallons of fuel 
included, 2 hour minimum) 

$15 per hour 
$60 per half-day 
$100 per day 

Belle Isle: Motorboat 25-49 
horsepower (11 gallons of fuel 
included, 2 hour minimum) 

$22 per hour 
$70 per half-day 
$110 per day 

Standard Damage/Replacement Fees: 
All parks where available unless 
otherwise noted. Not required for 
damage due to normal wear and tear. 

  

  Paddle $20 

  Anchor/Rope $40 

  Fuel Tank/Hose $60 

  Fire Extinguisher $25 

  Throw Cushion $10 

  Propeller (small) $100 

  Propeller (large) $135 

  Personal Flotation Device 
(PFD): replacement fee for 
lost/damaged PFD 

$25 each 

Other Rentals:   

Personal Flotation Device (PFD): 
When separate from boat rental. 

$1.00 per day 

Smith Mountain Lake, James River: 
Personal Floatation Device, type II. 

$5.00 for first day 
$1.00 additional days 

Smith Mountain Lake: Personal 
Floatation Device, type III 

$7.00 for first day 
$2.00 additional days 

Canoe/Kayak Paddles: All parks 
where available unless otherwise 
noted. 

$5.00 per day 

New River Trail: Float Tubes $5.00 per hour 
$12 per half-day 
$18 per day 

James River:   

  Cooler Tubes $3.00 per day 

  Seat Backs (kayaks) $3.00 per day 

  Tubes $8.00 per hour (does 
not include shuttle) 
$20 per day (does not 
include shuttle) 
$12 per half hour past 
return time 

Claytor Lake: 2-person tow tube and 
towrope (with rental of boat only) 

$20 per 2 hours 
$25 per half-day 
$30 per day 

Claytor Lake: Water skis and towrope 
(with rental of boat only) 

$20 per 2 hours 
$25 per half-day 
$30 per day 

Claytor Lake: Kneeboard and towrope 
(with rental of boat only) 

$15 per 2 hours 
$20 per half-day 
$25 per day 

Smith Mountain Lake: Tow tube; 
Water Skis; Knee Board 

$15 per day with boat 
rental 
$5.00 per additional 
day 
$25 per day without 
boat rental 

Smith Mountain Lake: Wake Board $25 per day with boat 
rental 
$10 per additional day 
$30 per day without 
boat rental 
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Mobile Pig Cooker: All parks where 
available unless otherwise noted. 

$40 per day 

GPS Units $6.00 per unit per half-
day 
$10 per unit per day 

Volleyball Net and Ball Rental: All 
parks where available. 

$10 

Binocular Rentals (2 hours): All parks 
where available. 

$2.00 

Beach Floats: All parks where 
available. 

$1.00 per hour 
$3.00 for 4-hours 
$5.00 for full-day 

Surf Lounge Floating Chair Rental. 
All parks where available. 

$2.00 per hour, single 
chair 
$5.00 per half-day, 
single chair 
$7.00 per full day, 
single chair 
$3.00 per hour, double 
chair 
$7.00 per half-day, 
double chair 
$10 per full day, 
double chair 

Body Board: First Landing $6.00 per day 

Beach Umbrella: All parks where 
available unless otherwise noted. 

$3.00 per hour 
$8.00 for 4 hours 
$15 for full-day 

  First Landing $6.00 per day 

Beach Chair: All parks where 
available 

$5.00 per day 

  First Landing $6.00 per day 

Fishing Rods: All parks where 
available unless otherwise noted. 

$5.00 per half-day 

  First Landing $6.00 per day 
$3.00 per rod per 
fishing program 

Tents with a group camp reservation. 
All parks where available. 

  

  2-person tent  $12 per day 

  3-person tent $20 per day 

  4-person tent $25 per day 

  5-person tent $30 per day 

Coleman Camp Stove Rental, includes 
fuel 

$10 per day 

Tabletop Propane Grill, includes fuel $15 per day 

Coin-Operated Washing Machine: All 
parks where available unless 
otherwise noted. 

$1.25 per load, tax 
included 

  First Landing $1.50 per load, tax 
included 

Coin Operated Dryer: All parks where 
available unless otherwise noted. 

$1.25 per load, tax 
included 

  First Landing $1.50 per load, tax 
included 

6-Foot Table (Includes 6 chairs) 
Additional chairs: All parks where 
available unless otherwise noted. 

$20 per rental period 
$3.00 each per rental 
period 

  Caledon $8.00 per 6' round 
table 
$1.50 per white 
padded seat chair 

Pump Out: All parks where available 
unless otherwise noted. 

$5.00 

Horse Rentals:   

  All parks where available 
unless otherwise noted. 

$20 per one-hour ride 
$40 per two-hour ride 
$100 per full day ride 

Pony Rides: All parks where available 
unless otherwise noted. 

$5.00 per 15 minutes 

Horseback Riding Lessons: All parks 
where available unless otherwise 
noted. 

$25 per lesson on 
group basis 
$30 per lesson for 
individual 

Horseback Summer Day Camp: All 
parks where available unless 
otherwise noted. 

$180 per person per 
week 

Horseshoe or Croquet Rental for 
Campers. All parks where available. 

$1.00 per hour 
$5.00 per day 
$20 deposit 

4VAC5-36-210. Conference center and meeting facility 
fees.  

CONFERENCE CENTERS (TAXABLE)  

Prices may be discounted 
and/or waived by the 
director when necessary to 
create competitive bids for 
group sales. FEE 

Hemlock Haven Conference 
Center at Hungry Mother 

  

  Main Hall (Capacity: 
375) 

$275 per day 

  Upper Level 
(Capacity: 50) 

$175 per day 
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  Redbud Room: 
(Capacity 35) 

$75 per day 

  Laurel Room 
(Capacity: 20) 

$40 per day 

  Entire Meeting Room 
Complex 

$420 per day 

  Day Use Recreational 
Package (Includes all 
outside recreational 
facilities) 

  

    0 – 250 
Persons 

$300 per half-day 
$600 per full-day 

    250 – 500 
Persons 

$425 per half-day 
$850 per full-day 

    500 + persons $575 per half-day 
$1,200 per full-day 

Cedar Crest Conference 
Center at Twin Lakes 

  

  Complex: Doswell 
Hall with deck, 
grounds, volleyball, 
horseshoes; Kitchen, 
Latham and Hurt 
Rooms NOT included. 

$229 per 4 hours 
$459 per day 
$53 each extra hour 

  Doswell Meeting 
Room: Meeting Room 
Only; no kitchen or 
dining room. 

$164 per room per 4 hours 
$328 per room per day 
$37 each extra hour 

  Small breakout rooms 
with main room: 
Latham and Hurt. 

$65 per room per 4 hours 
$131 per room per day 
$21 each extra hour 

  Small breakout rooms 
without main room. 

$98 per room per 4 hours 
$196 per room per day 
$37 each extra hour 

  Picnic Shelter or 
Gazebo at Cedar 
Crest. 

$68 per 4 hours 
$131 per day 
$11 each extra hour 

  Kitchen rental Only 
available with 
complex rental. 

$105 per event 

  Kitchen Cleaning Fee: 
Deposit. 

$150 per event 

Chippokes Plantation 
Meeting, Conference, and 
Special Use Facilities 

  

  Mansion Conference 
Room. 

$26 per hour 

  Mansion or Historic 
Area Grounds 
(Includes parking for 
party rental). 

$525 per 4 hours 

  Mansion Board Room $105 per 4 hours 

  Chippokes Plantation 
Conference Shelter 
(Available on 
reservation basis 
only). 

$105 per 4 hours 

  Wedding Package 
(includes historic area 
grounds, gardens, tent 
set up and take down, 
10 60-inch round 
tables, 10 standard 
size rectangle tables, 
100 folding chairs, 
Wedding Coordinator, 
changing room for 
bride and groom, 
Mansion kitchen area, 
boardroom, no fee for 
wedding rehearsal). 

$1,412 per 4 hours 
$2,073 per 8 hours 
$50 nonrefundable reservation 
fee 

Southwest Virginia Museum – 
Victorian Parlor Room Rental 
(Based on 4-hour rental) DAY EVENING 

  Victorian Parlor    

    Up to 30 
People (8 
tables – 30 
chairs) OR Up 
to 50 people 
(50 chairs and 
head table) 

$42 $68 

  Additional meeting 
rooms: Victorian 
Parlor must be rented 
in order to rent 
additional rooms.  

  

    Hallway 
(downstairs) 
(Includes three 
existing tables 
with linens) 

$11 $11 

   Additional Hours $10 per 
hour 

$10 per hour 

   Exceeding approved 
hours 

$20 per 
hour 

$20 per hour 

   Wedding Portraits $52 per 2 
hours 

$78 per 2 hours 
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  Wedding Packages EVENT 

  

  

Wedding Package A: 
Accommodates 100 
people. Use of arbor 
in Victorian Garden. 
Setup of 100 chairs. 
One parking 
attendant. Use of 
wedding space for 
previous night's 
rehearsal. Bride and 
groom dressing 
rooms. Free use of 
facilities for wedding 
portrait (must be 
scheduled). 

$500 

  

  

  

Wedding Package B: 
Accommodates 100 
people. Use of a 
40x40 Tent. Small 
platform stage (4"H x 
8'W x 8'L). Accent 
rope lighting. Setup of 
100 chairs. One 
parking attendant. Use 
of wedding space for 
previous night's 
rehearsal. Bride and 
groom dressing 
rooms. Free use of 
facilities for wedding 
portrait (must be 
scheduled). 

$1,500 

  

  

  

Wedding Package C: 
Accommodates 200 
people (this requires 
an off-site reception 
area). Use of a 40x60 
tent. Small platform 
stage (4"H x 8'W x 
8'L). Accent rope 
lighting. Setup of 200 
chairs. Two parking 
attendants. Use of 
wedding space for 
previous night's 
rehearsal. Bride and 
groom dressing 
rooms. Free use of 
facilities for wedding 
portrait (must be 
scheduled). 

$2,500 

  

  Reception Packages 

  

  

Casual Reception 
Package A: May be 
reserved with 
Wedding Package A 
or B. Use of Victorian 
Parlor or foyer; parlor 
set with serving tables 
and linens. Use of 
serving kitchen. 

$200 

  

  

  

Casual Reception 
Package B: May be 
reserved with 
Wedding Package A 
or B. Use of 20x30 
tent; set with tables 
and linens. Use of 
serving kitchen. 

$300 

  

  

  

Formal Reception 
Package C: May be 
reserved with 
Wedding Package A 
or B. Use of 40x60 
tent; sit-down 
reception for 100 to 
include tables, linens 
and chairs. Use of 
serving kitchen. 

$2,250 

  

  Wedding and Reception Combination Package 

  

  

Wedding and 
Reception 
Combination Package: 
Accommodates 100 
people. Both wedding 
and reception are held 
under the same tent. 
Use of a 40x60 tent. 
Small platform stage 
(4"H x 8'W x 8'L). 
Accent rope lighting. 
Setup of 100 chairs. 
One parking 
attendant. Use of 
wedding space for 
previous night's 
rehearsal. Bride and 
groom dressing 
rooms. Free use of 
facilities for wedding 
portrait (must be 
scheduled). Back of 
tent set with serving 
tables and linens. Use 
of serving kitchen. 

$2,500 
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  Damage Fee: a minimal 
damage fee will be 
accessed the person(s) 
renting the property for 
damage to the site. 

$200 

  

Wilderness Road (Mansion 
and Ground Rental) 

  

  Mansion or Lawn: 
separately 

$63 for 4 hours 

  Mansion and Lawn: 
combined 

$105 for 4 hours 

  Additional hours 
beyond scheduled 
operating hours 

$11 per hour 

  Karlan Mansion and 
Grounds Rental 

$350 for first day 
$150 for each additional day 

Cove Ridge Center at Natural 
Tunnel:  

PRIVATE 
FEE 

EDUCATIONAL 
FEE 

  Cove Ridge Center 
Annual Membership: 
Membership entitles 
organization to a 25% 
discount on facility 
rental fees and group 
rates on all programming 
offered through the 
center. 

$1,050 
per year 

$525 per year 

  Day Use: Exclusive use 
of the auditorium, 
meeting room, resource 
library, catering kitchen, 
great room with stone 
fireplace and deck for 
two consecutive half-day 
rental periods, and 
parking passes. 

$315 $210 

  Overnight Use of one 
dorm: Includes Day Use 
Package plus one dorm 
rooms for one night and 
swimming (in season). 

$683 $498 

  Overnight Use of both 
dorms: Includes Day Use 
Package plus two dorm 
rooms for one night and 
swimming (in season). 

$892 $656 

  Wedding Package Day 
Use: Exclusive use of the 
auditorium, meeting 
room, resource library, 
catering kitchen, great 
room with stone 
fireplace and deck for 
three consecutive half-
day rental periods, and 
parking passes. 

$525 NA 

  Wedding Package 
Overnight: Includes Day 
Use Package plus one 
dorm for one night and 
swimming (in season). 

$919 NA 

  Wedding Package 
Overnight: Includes Day 
Use Package plus both 
dorms for one night and 
swimming (in season). 

$1,102 NA 

  Wedding Package with 
Amphitheater: Rental of 
the park amphitheater in 
conjunction with any of 
the above wedding 
packages. 

$236 for 
the rental 
period 

NA 

  Removal of furniture 
from great room (only 
available with exclusive 
use of the center). 

$42 $42 

  Additional seating on 
deck (only available with 
exclusive use of the 
center). 

$42 $0 

  Auditorium $126 per 
half day 
$231 per 
full day 

$99 per half day 
$183 per full day 

  Classroom – Library 
(half-day) 

$63 $47 

  One dorm: Overnight 
lodging for up to 30, 
includes swimming (in 
season) and parking 
passes. 

$420 per 
night 
April 1-
October 
31 
$378 per 
night 
November 
1-March 
31 

$315 per night 
April 1-October 
31 
$283 per night 
November 1-
March 31 
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  Both Dorms: Overnight 
lodging for up to 60, 
includes swimming (in 
season) and parking 
passes. 

$630 per 
night 
April 1-
October 
31 
$567 per 
night 
November 
1-March 
31 

$472 per night 
April 1-October 
31 
$425 per night 
November 1-
March 31 

  Per Person Student Rate 
for Overnight Dorm Use 

$13 per 
person 

$13 per person 

  Kitchen Use (when not 
included in package) 

$50 per 
event 

$50 per event 

Heritage Center at Pocahontas: 
All reservations require 50% 
down at time of reservation 
(Nonrefundable within 14 days 
of event) 

PRIVATE 
FEE 

EDUCATIONAL 
FEE 

  Large Room (Capacity: 
seated at tables 50; 
reception style 125, 
auditorium 80: includes 
tables, chairs, and 
warming kitchen) 

$131 per 
4 hours 
$236 per 
full-day 
$26 each 
extra hour 

$78 per 4 hours 
$141 per full-day 
$15 each extra 
hour 

Westmoreland FEE 

  Tayloe and Helen 
Murphy Hall Meeting 
Facility: Includes 
Main Meeting Room, 
Kitchen, and Grounds 

$500 (8 a.m. to 10 p.m.) 
$350 additional rental days after 
first day 
$75 per hour for usage beyond 
reservation period 

  Potomac Overlook 
Rental 

$55 per day 

  Breakout Meeting 
Room (May be rented 
separately from main 
meeting room only 
within 45 days of 
event. 

$75 (8 a.m. to 10 p.m.) 

  Kitchen Clean Up 
Fee: (Waived if renter 
cleans facility) 

$250 per event 

  Wedding Package - 
Includes half-day 
rental for wedding 
rehearsal, and a full-
day rental for 
wedding/reception 

$300 

  Potomac River 
Retreat: Table and 
Chair Set-up 

$40 

Fairy Stone   

  Fayerdale Hall 
Meeting Facility 
Weekend Rental. 
Includes Friday, 
Saturday, and Sunday 

  

    One Day Rental $236 (8 a.m. to 10 p.m.) 

    Two Consecutive 
Days Rental 

$315 

    Three 
Consecutive 
Days Rental 

$366 

  Fayerdale Hall 
Meeting Facility 
Weekday Rental. 
Includes Monday 
through Thursday 
only. 

  

    One Day Rental $75 (8 a.m. to 10 p.m.) 

    Two Consecutive 
Days Rental 

$125 

    Three 
Consecutive 
Days Rental 

$174 

    Four Consecutive 
Days Rental 

$225 

Douthat   

  Restaurant (includes 
table set-up) 

$236 

  Allegheny Room: Up 
to 30 persons. 

$158 per day 

  Wedding Package: 
Conference room and 
amphitheater (see 
"amphitheater 
section") on day of 
wedding, plus an extra 
half-day amphitheater 
for rehearsal. 

$289 

First Landing   

  Trail Center 
Conference Room 
(Capacity: 45) 

$42 per half-day 
$63 per full-day 

Lake Anna   

  Visitor Center $32 per half-day 
$53 per full day 

  Concessions Building 
Rental 

$100 per day 
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Bear Creek Lake   

  Meeting facility $236 per day 
$25 each extra hour 

  Wedding Package $315 per day 

Claytor Lake   

  Marina Meeting 
Facility: Includes 
facility, chairs, and 
tables. 

$550 per day 
$825 per two days 

  Wedding Package: 
Includes rental of 
facility, chairs, tables, 
gazebo, and special 
use permit ($10 
permit fee is waived 
with package).  

$625 per day package 
$995 per two-day package 

Leesylvania 
Wedding/Function Package: 
Includes Rental of: Lee's 
Landing Picnic Shelter, 100 
Chairs, 15 Tables, and 
Parking for up to 50 
vehicles 

$840 per half-day 
$945 per full-day 

Mason Neck   

  Wedding Package: 20 
foot by 40 foot tent, 
100 chairs, parking 
for up to 50 cars  

$788 per event 

  Parking Attendant $53 per 4 hours 

Smith Mountain Lake   

  Meeting room at 
Visitor Center 

$158 per day 

  Exceeding approved 
hours. All parks 
unless otherwise 
noted below. 

$25 per hour 

Sky Meadows   

  Timberlake House 
Meeting Room 
Capacity 15 people 

$50 per day 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. 
$75 per evening beyond 5 p.m. 

  Timberlake House 
Kitchen (in conjunction 
with rental of meeting 
room) 

$25 per day or part of day 

Equipment and Services 
Associated with Meetings 
and Rentals: 

  

  Microphone/Podium 
Rental 

$15 per day 

Chair Rentals 

  White, padded $3.00 

  White, plastic event 
chair 

$1.50 

  Standard folding chair $1.00 

Table Rentals 

  Rectangular, 6' $7.50 

  Rectangular, 8' $8.00 

  Round, 4' $7.50 

  Round, 5' $8.75 

  Round, 6' $15 

  Linen Rentals:   

  Table cloth only 
Place settings 

$3.00 per table 
$2.00 each 

Twin Lakes   

  Overlay $1.25 per table 

  Napkins $0.40 per napkin 

  Fax First 2 pages free 
$2.00 each extra page 

  Copies Single copy free 
$0.15 each extra copy 

  Lost Key Fee $10 

  Easels $5.00 per day 

  Overhead Projector $10 per day 

  TV with VCR $10 

  Second TV $10 

  Overhead Projector 
with Screen 

$10 

  Slide Projector with 
Screen 

$10 

  Flip Chart $10 

Event Clean Up Fees   

  Park labor to clean up 
after special events 
and facility rentals if 
not done in 
accordance with rental 
agreement or use 
permit  

$50 per hour 

Notes on conference and meeting facilities fees:  

1. Conference and meeting facilities require a 30% 
prepayment due 10 days after making reservation, and 
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payment of the full balance prior to or on the first day of 
the reservation. Cancellations made 14 or more days prior 
to the first day of the reservation shall be charged the lesser 
of 10% of the total fee or $100. Cancellations made less 
that 14 days prior to the first date of the reservation shall 
be charged 30% of the total fee.  

2. Alcohol use during weddings at the Southwest Virginia 
Museum: Weddings held during public operating hours of 
the museum will not be allowed to serve alcohol. 
Weddings held after regular operating hours of the 
museum must comply with ABC permit laws and have 
alcohol in the designated reception areas. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2624; Filed November 2, 2010, 3:42 p.m.  

VIRGINIA SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION 
BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Soil and Water 
Conservation Board is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 
are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law 
or the appropriation act where no agency discretion is 
involved. The Virginia Soil and Water Conservation Board 
will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 
or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC50-20. Impounding Structure 
Regulations (amending 4VAC50-20-30, 4VAC50-20-50, 
4VAC50-20-105, 4VAC50-20-175, 4VAC50-20-220; 
adding 4VAC50-20-53).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-605 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 22, 2010.  

Agency Contact: David C. Dowling, Policy, Planning, and 
Budget Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 
203 Governor Street, Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-2291, FAX (804) 786-6141, or email 
david.dowling@dcr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Chapters 249 and 270 of the 2010 Acts of Assembly 
resulted in modifications to certain technical elements of 
the Virginia Dam Safety Act requiring amendments to the 
Virginia Impounding Structure Regulations. Specifically, 
this action makes the following amendments to the 
regulations: 

In 4VAC50-20-30, definitions are added that explain the 
difference between an existing impounding structure and 
new construction for the purposes of defining to which 
impounding structures the 0.9 PMP is applicable.  

In 4VAC50-20-50, Table 1, the newly defined terms (new 
construction and existing impounding structures) are used 
to delineate spillway design standards, and a column is 
added to set out the revised spillway standards for existing 
impounding structures. The primary change is the 
reduction from a PMF spillway design flood standard to 
0.90 PMP for high hazard dams. Also in Table 1, under the 
Minimum Threshold for Incremental Damage Analysis 
column, the threshold floor for high hazard dams is 
changed from 0.50 PMF to 100-year. Finally in Table 1, 
the action adds (i) subsection F to point to the location of 
the new definitions for existing impounding structures and 
for new construction; (ii) subsection G to indicate that a 
0.6 PMP spillway design flood may be acceptable if the 
owner meets the requirements set out in a new section, 
4VAC50-20-53; and (iii) subsection H that explains what 
probable maximum precipitation (PMP) means.  

4VAC50-20-53 is a new section that sets out special 
criteria and certification requirements for a high hazard 
dam owner that wants to utilize a 0.6 PMP spillway design 
flood standard.  

In 4VAC50-20-105, a requirement is added for the 
inclusion of the certification statement as part of a dam 
owner's regular operation and maintenance certificate 
application if the owner is claiming the 0.6 PMP standard 
that is set out in the new 4VAC50-20-53.  

Also in 4VAC50-20-105, in the subsection regarding 
inspection frequency, a statement is added that references 
the annual inspection requirement by a licensed 
professional engineer for a dam owner who is claiming the 
0.6 PMP standard pursuant to the new 4VAC50-20-53. 
Under 4VAC50-20-53, the inspections for a high hazard 
dam are annual rather than every two years. 

4VAC50-20-175 clarifies via reference to the new 
4VAC50-20-53 that a table-top exercise needs to be done 
at least once every two years if the dam owner is claiming 
the 0.6 PMP standard. The current standard is once every 
six years.  

In 4VAC50-20-220, a statement is included regarding the 
ability for a dam owner to submit to the board his own 
plan to address deficiencies. This standard practice 
already is within the Dam Safety Program and the 
statement adds clarity. 

4VAC50-20-30. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Acre-foot" means a unit of volume equal to 43,560 cubic 
feet or 325,853 gallons (equivalent to one foot of depth over 
one acre of area).  
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"Agricultural purpose" means the production of an 
agricultural commodity as defined in § 3.1-249.27 of the 
Code of Virginia that requires the use of impounded waters. 

"Agricultural purpose dams" means impounding structures 
which are less than 25 feet in height or which create a 
maximum impoundment smaller than 100 acre-feet, and 
operated primarily for agricultural purposes.  

"Alteration" means changes to an impounding structure that 
could alter or affect its structural integrity. Alterations 
include, but are not limited to, changing the height or 
otherwise enlarging the dam, increasing normal pool or 
principal spillway elevation or physical dimensions, changing 
the elevation or physical dimensions of the emergency 
spillway, conducting necessary structural repairs or structural 
maintenance, or removing the impounding structure. 
Structural maintenance does not include routine maintenance.  

"Alteration permit" means a permit required for any 
alteration to an impounding structure. 

"Board" means the Virginia Soil and Water Conservation 
Board.  

"Conditional Operation and Maintenance Certificate" means 
a certificate required for impounding structures with 
deficiencies.  

"Construction" means the construction of a new impounding 
structure. 

"Construction permit" means a permit required for the 
construction of a new impounding structure.  

"Dam break inundation zone" means the area downstream of 
a dam that would be inundated or otherwise directly affected 
by the failure of a dam. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of 
Conservation and Recreation. 

"Design flood" means the calculated volume of runoff and 
the resulting peak discharge utilized in the evaluation, design, 
construction, operation and maintenance of the impounding 
structure.  

"Director" means the Director of the Department of 
Conservation and Recreation or his designee.  

"Drill" means a type of emergency action plan exercise that 
tests, develops, or maintains skills in an emergency response 
procedure. During a drill, participants perform an in-house 
exercise to verify telephone numbers and other means of 
communication along with the owner's response. A drill is 
considered a necessary part of ongoing training. 

"Emergency Action Plan or EAP" means a formal document 
that recognizes potential impounding structure emergency 
conditions and specifies preplanned actions to be followed to 
minimize loss of life and property damage. The EAP specifies 
actions the owner must take to minimize or alleviate 

emergency conditions at the impounding structure. It contains 
procedures and information to assist the owner in issuing 
early warning and notification messages to responsible 
emergency management authorities. It shall also contain dam 
break inundation zone maps as required to show emergency 
management authorities the critical areas for action in case of 
emergency. 

"Emergency Action Plan Exercise" means an activity 
designed to promote emergency preparedness; test or evaluate 
EAPs, procedures, or facilities; train personnel in emergency 
management duties; and demonstrate operational capability. 
In response to a simulated event, exercises should consist of 
the performance of duties, tasks, or operations very similar to 
the way they would be performed in a real emergency. An 
exercise may include but not be limited to drills and tabletop 
exercises. 

"Emergency Preparedness Plan" means a formal document 
prepared for Low Hazard impounding structures that provides 
maps and procedures for notifying owners of downstream 
property that may be impacted by an emergency situation at 
an impounding structure. 

"Existing impounding structure" means any impounding 
structure in existence or under a construction permit prior to 
July 1, 2010. 

"Freeboard" means the vertical distance between the 
maximum water surface elevation associated with the 
spillway design flood and the top of the impounding 
structure. 

"Height" means the hydraulic height of an impounding 
structure. If the impounding structure spans a stream or 
watercourse, height means the vertical distance from the 
natural bed of the stream or watercourse measured at the 
downstream toe of the impounding structure to the top of the 
impounding structure. If the impounding structure does not 
span a stream or watercourse, height means the vertical 
distance from the lowest elevation of the downstream limit of 
the barrier to the top of the impounding structure.  

"Impounding structure" or "dam" means a man-made 
structure, whether a dam across a watercourse or structure 
outside a watercourse, used or to be used to retain or store 
waters or other materials. The term includes: (i) all dams that 
are 25 feet or greater in height and that create an 
impoundment capacity of 15 acre-feet or greater, and (ii) all 
dams that are six feet or greater in height and that create an 
impoundment capacity of 50 acre-feet or greater. The term 
"impounding structure" shall not include: (a) dams licensed 
by the State Corporation Commission that are subject to a 
safety inspection program; (b) dams owned or licensed by the 
United States government; (c) dams operated primarily for 
agricultural purposes which are less than 25 feet in height or 
which create a maximum impoundment capacity smaller than 
100 acre-feet; (d) water or silt retaining dams approved 
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pursuant to § 45.1-222 or § 45.1-225.1 of the Code of 
Virginia; or (e) obstructions in a canal used to raise or lower 
water.  

"Impoundment" means a body of water or other materials 
the storage of which is caused by any impounding structure.  

"Life of the impounding structure" and "life of the project" 
mean that period of time for which the impounding structure 
is designed and planned to perform effectively, including the 
time required to remove the structure when it is no longer 
capable of functioning as planned and designed.  

"Maximum impounding capacity" means the volume of 
water or other materials in acre-feet that is capable of being 
impounded at the top of the impounding structure.  

"New construction" means any impounding structure issued 
a construction permit or otherwise constructed on or after July 
1, 2010. 

"Normal or typical water surface elevation" means the water 
surface elevation at the crest of the lowest ungated outlet 
from the impoundment or the elevation of the normal pool of 
the impoundment if different than the water surface elevation 
at the crest of the lowest ungated outlet. For calculating sunny 
day failures for flood control impounding structures, 
stormwater detention impounding structures, and related 
facilities designed to hold back volumes of water for slow 
release, the normal or typical water surface elevation shall be 
measured at the crest of the auxiliary or emergency spillway.  

"Operation and Maintenance Certificate" means a certificate 
required for the operation and maintenance of all impounding 
structures.  

"Owner" means the owner of the land on which an 
impounding structure is situated, the holder of an easement 
permitting the construction of an impounding structure and 
any person or entity agreeing to maintain an impounding 
structure. The term "owner" may include the Commonwealth 
or any of its political subdivisions, including but not limited 
to sanitation district commissions and authorities, any public 
or private institutions, corporations, associations, firms or 
companies organized or existing under the laws of this 
Commonwealth or any other state or country, as well as any 
person or group of persons acting individually or as a group.  

"Planned land use" means land use that has been approved 
by a locality or included in a master land use plan by a 
locality, such as in a locality's comprehensive land use plan.  

"Spillway" means a structure to provide for the controlled 
release of flows from the impounding structure into a 
downstream area. 

"Stage I Condition" means a flood watch or heavy 
continuous rain or excessive flow of water from ice or snow 
melt. 

"Stage II Condition" means a flood watch or emergency 
spillway activation or impounding structure overtopping 
where a failure may be possible. 

"Stage III Condition" means an emergency spillway 
activation or impounding structure overtopping where 
imminent failure is probable. 

"Sunny day dam failure" means the failure of an impounding 
structure with the initial water level at the normal reservoir 
level, usually at the lowest ungated principal spillway 
elevation or the typical operating water level. 

"Tabletop Exercise" means a type of emergency action plan 
exercise that involves a meeting of the impounding structure 
owner and the state and local emergency management 
officials in a conference room environment. The format is 
usually informal with minimum stress involved. The exercise 
begins with the description of a simulated event and proceeds 
with discussions by the participants to evaluate the EAP and 
response procedures and to resolve concerns regarding 
coordination and responsibilities. 

"Top of the impounding structure" means the lowest point of 
the nonoverflow section of the impounding structure.  

"Watercourse" means a natural channel having a well-
defined bed and banks and in which water normally flows.  

4VAC50-20-50. Performance standards required for 
impounding structures.  

A. In accordance with the definitions provided by § 10.1-
604 of the Code of Virginia and 4VAC50-20-30, an 
impounding structure shall be regulated if the impounding 
structure is 25 feet or greater in height and creates a 
maximum impounding capacity of 15 acre-feet or greater, or 
the impounding structure is six feet or greater in height and 
creates a maximum impounding capacity of 50 acre-feet or 
greater and is not otherwise exempt from regulation by the 
Code of Virginia. Impounding structures exempted from this 
chapter are those that are: 

1. Licensed by the State Corporation Commission that are 
subject to a safety inspection program; 

2. Owned or licensed by the United States government; 

3. Operated primarily for agricultural purposes that are less 
than 25 feet in height or that create a maximum 
impoundment capacity smaller than 100 acre-feet; 

4. Water or silt-retaining dams approved pursuant to 
§ 45.1-222 or 45.1-225.1 of the Code of Virginia; or 

5. Obstructions in a canal used to raise or lower water. 

Impounding structures of regulated size and not exempted 
shall be constructed, operated and maintained such that they 
perform in accordance with their design and purpose 
throughout the life of the project. For impounding structures, 
the spillway(s) capacity shall perform at a minimum to safely 
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pass the appropriate spillway design flood as determined in 
Table 1. For the purposes of utilizing Table 1, Hazard 
Potential Classification shall be determined in accordance 
with 4VAC50-20-40. 

TABLE 1  
Impounding Structure Regulations  

Applicable to all impounding structures that are 25 feet or greater 
in height and that create a maximum impounding capacity of 15 
acre-feet or greater, and to all impounding structures that are six 
feet or greater in height and that create a maximum impounding 
capacity of 50 acre-feet or greater and is not otherwise exempt 
from regulation by the Code of Virginia.  

Hazard 
Potential 
Class of Dam 

Spillway 
Design Flood 
(SDF)B for 
New 
ConstructionF 

Spillway 
Design 
Flood 
(SDF)B for 
Existing 
Impounding 
StructuresF,G 

Minimum 
Threshold 
for 
Incremental 
Damage 
Analysis  

High PMFC  0.9 PMPH .50 PMF 
100-YRD 

Significant .50 PMF  .50 PMF 100-YRD  

Low 100-YRD  100-YRD 50-YRE  

B. The spillway design flood (SDF) represents the largest 
flood that need be considered in the evaluation of the 
performance for a given project. The impounding structure 
shall perform so as to safely pass the appropriate SDF. 
Reductions in the established SDF may be evaluated through 
the use of incremental damage analysis pursuant to 4VAC50-
20-52. The SDF established for an impounding structure shall 
not be less than those standards established elsewhere by state 
law or regulations, including but not limited to the Virginia 
Stormwater Management Program (VSMP) Permit 
Regulations (4VAC50-60). Due to potential for future 
development in the dam break inundation zone that would 
necessitate higher spillway design flood standards or other 
considerations, owners may find it advisable to consider a 
higher spillway design flood standard than is required.  

C. PMF: Probable Maximum Flood is the flood that might 
be expected from the most severe combination of critical 
meteorologic and hydrologic conditions that are reasonably 
possible in the region. The PMF is derived from the current 
probable maximum precipitation (PMP) available from the 
National Weather Service, NOAA. In some cases, a modified 
PMF may be calculated utilizing local topography, 
meteorological conditions, hydrological conditions, or PMP 
values supplied by NOAA. Any deviation in the application 
of established developmental procedures must be explained 
and justified by the owner's engineer. The owner's engineer 
must develop PMF hydrographs for 6-, 12-, and 24-hour 
durations. The hydrograph that creates the largest peak 
outflow is to be used to determine capacity for nonfailure and 
failure analysis. Present and planned land-use conditions shall 

be considered in determining the runoff characteristics of the 
drainage area. 

D. 100-Yr: 100-year flood represents the flood magnitude 
expected to be equaled or exceeded on the average of once in 
100 years. It may also be expressed as an exceedence 
probability with a 1.0% chance of being equaled or exceeded 
in any given year. Present and planned land-use conditions 
shall be considered in determining the runoff characteristics 
of the drainage area. 

E. 50-Yr: 50-year flood represents the flood magnitude 
expected to be equaled or exceeded on the average of once in 
50 years. It may also be expressed as an exceedence 
probability with a 2.0% chance of being equaled or exceeded 
in any given year. Present and planned land-use conditions 
shall be considered in determining the runoff characteristics 
of the drainage area. 

F. For the purposes of Table 1 "Existing impounding 
structure" and "New construction" are defined in 4VAC50-
20-30. 

G. An existing impounding structure as defined in 4VAC50-
20-30, that is currently classified as high hazard, or is 
subsequently found to be high hazard through reclassification, 
shall only be required to pass the flood resulting from 0.6 
PMP instead of the flood resulting from the 0.9 PMP SDF if 
the dam owner meets the requirements set out in 4VAC50-
20-53. 

H. PMP: Probable maximum precipitation means the 
theoretically greatest depth of precipitation for a given 
duration that is meteorologically possible over a given size 
storm area at a particular geographical location at a particular 
time of year with no allowance made for future long-term 
climatic trends. In practice, this is derived over flat terrain by 
storm transposition and moisture adjustment to observed 
storm patterns. In Virginia, the 0.9 PMP is meant to 
characterize the maximum recorded rainfall event within the 
Commonwealth. 

4VAC50-20-53. Special criteria for reduced SDF 
requirement for certain high hazard dams. 

A. An existing impounding structure that is currently 
classified as high hazard, or is subsequently found to be high 
hazard through reclassification, shall be allowed to pass the 
flood resulting from 0.6 PMP instead of the flood resulting 
from 0.9 PMP SDF if the dam owner certifies annually that 
such impounding structure meets each of the following 
conditions: 

1. The owner has a current emergency action plan that is 
approved by the board and that is developed and updated in 
accordance with 4VAC50-20-175; 

2. The owner has exercised the emergency action plan in 
accordance with 4VAC50-20-175 and conducts a table-top 
exercise at least once every two years; 
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3. The department has verification that both the local 
organization for emergency management and the Virginia 
Department of Emergency Management have on file 
current emergency action plans and updates for the 
impounding structure; 

4. The conditions at the impounding structure are 
monitored on a daily basis and as dictated by the 
emergency action plan; 

5. The impounding structure is inspected at least annually 
by a professional engineer and all observed deficiencies are 
addressed within 120 days of such inspection.  Such 
inspection reports shall be completed in accordance with 
4VAC50-20-105 E and be submitted to the department 
with the owner's certification; 

6. The owner has a dam break inundation zone map 
developed in accordance with the regulations that is 
acceptable to the department; 

7. The owner is insured in an amount that will substantially 
cover the costs of downstream property losses to others 
that may result from a dam failure; and 

8. The owner has the impounding structure's emergency 
action plan posted on his website, or upon the request of 
the owner, the department or another state agency 
responsible for providing emergency management services 
to citizens agrees to post the plan on its website. If the 
department or another state agency agrees to post the plan 
on its website, the owner shall provide the plan in a format 
suitable for posting.  

A dam owner who meets the conditions of subdivisions 1 
through 8 of this subsection, but has not provided record 
drawings to the department for his impounding structure, 
shall submit a complete record report developed in 
accordance with 4VAC50-20-70 J, excluding the required 
submittal of the record drawings. 

B. The dam owner must retain documents for a six-year 
period that supports the certification of the elements set out in 
subsection A. 

Part III  
Certificate Requirements  

4VAC50-20-105. Regular Operation and Maintenance 
Certificates. 

A. A Regular Operation and Maintenance Certificate is 
required for an impounding structure. Such six-year 
certificates shall include the following based on hazard 
classification: 

1. High Hazard Potential Regular Operation and 
Maintenance Certificate; 

2. Significant Hazard Potential Regular Operation and 
Maintenance Certificate; or 

3. Low Hazard Potential Regular Operation and 
Maintenance Certificate. 

B. The owner of an impounding structure shall apply for the 
renewal of the six-year Regular Operation and Maintenance 
Certificate 90 days prior to its expiration. If a Regular 
Operation and Maintenance Certificate is not renewed as 
required, the board shall take appropriate enforcement action. 

C. Any owner of an impounding structure that does not have 
a Regular Operation and Maintenance Certificate or any 
owner renewing a Regular Operation and Maintenance 
Certificate shall file an Operation and Maintenance 
Certificate Application. A form for the application is 
available from the department (Operation and Maintenance 
Certificate Application for Virginia Regulated Impounding 
Structures). Such application shall be signed by the owner 
and signed and sealed by a licensed professional engineer. 
The following information shall be submitted on or with the 
application: 

1. The application shall include the following required 
information: 

a. The name of structure and inventory number; 

b. The proposed hazard potential classification; 

c. Owner's name or representative if corporation, mailing 
address, residential and business telephone numbers, and 
other means of communication; 

d. An operating plan and schedule including a narrative 
on the operation of control gates and spillways and the 
impoundment drain; 

e. For earthen embankment impounding structures, a 
maintenance plan and schedule for the embankment, 
principal spillway, emergency spillway, low-level outlet, 
impoundment area, downstream channel, and staff gages; 

f. For concrete impounding structures, a maintenance 
plan and schedule for the upstream face, downstream 
face, crest of dam, galleries, tunnels, abutments, 
spillways, gates and outlets, and staff gages; 

g. An inspection schedule for operator inspection, 
maintenance inspection, technical safety inspection, and 
overtopping situations; 

h. A schedule including the rainfall amounts, emergency 
spillway flow levels or storm event that initiates the 
Emergency Action or Preparedness Plan and the 
frequency of observations; 

i. A statement as to whether or not the current hazard 
potential classification for the impounding structure is 
appropriate and whether or not additional work is needed 
to make an appropriate hazard potential designation; 

j. For newly constructed or recently altered impounding 
structures, a certification from a licensed professional 
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engineer who has monitored the construction or 
alteration of the impounding structure that, to the best of 
the engineer's judgment, knowledge, and belief, the 
impounding structure and its appurtenances were 
constructed or altered in conformance with the plans, 
specifications, drawings and other requirements approved 
by the board; 

k. Certification by the owner's engineer that the 
Operation and Maintenance Certificate Application 
information provided pursuant to subdivision 1 of this 
subsection is true and correct in their professional 
judgment. Such certification shall include the engineer's 
signature, printed name, Virginia number, date, and the 
engineer's Virginia seal; and 

l. Owner's signature certifying the Operation and 
Maintenance Certificate Application information 
provided pursuant to subdivision 1 of this subsection and 
that the operation and maintenance plan and schedule 
shall be conducted in accordance with this chapter. 

2. An Inspection Report (Annual Inspection Report for 
Virginia Regulated Impounding Structures) in accordance 
with subsection E of this section; 

3. An Emergency Action Plan in accordance with 
4VAC50-20-175 or an Emergency Preparedness Plan in 
accordance with 4VAC50-20-177 and evidence that the 
required copies of such plan have been submitted to the 
local organization for emergency management and the 
Virginia Department of Emergency Management; and 

4. Any additional analysis determined necessary by the 
director, the board or the owner's engineer to address 
public safety concerns. Such additional analysis may 
include, but not be limited to, seismic stability, earthen 
spillway integrity, adequate freeboard allowance, stability 
assessment of the impoundment's foundation, potential 
liquefaction of the embankment, overturning or sliding of a 
concrete structure and other structural stress issues.; and 

5. If applicable, a current certification from the dam owner 
in accordance with 4VAC50-20-53. 

D. If the Operation and Maintenance Certificate Application 
submittal is found to be not complete, the director shall 
inform the applicant within 30 days and shall explain what 
changes are required for an acceptable submission. Within 60 
days of receipt of a complete application the board shall act 
upon the application. Upon finding that the impounding 
structure as currently operating is in compliance with this 
chapter, the board shall issue a Regular Operation and 
Maintenance Certificate. Should the board find that the 
impounding structure as currently operating is not in 
compliance with this chapter, the board may deny the permit 
application or issue a Conditional Operation and Maintenance 
Certificate in accordance with 4VAC50-20-150. 

E. Inspections shall be performed on an impounding 
structure annually. 

1. Inspection Reports (Annual Inspection Report for 
Virginia Regulated Impounding Structures) signed and 
sealed by a licensed professional engineer shall be 
submitted to the department in accordance with the 
following schedule: 

a. For a High Hazard Potential impounding structure, 
every two years,; 

b. For a Significant Hazard Potential impounding 
structure, every three years,;  

c. For a Low Hazard Potential impounding structure, 
every six years.; or 

d. For a High Hazard Potential impounding structure, 
annually in accordance with 4VAC50-20-53, where 
applicable. 

In years when an Inspection Report signed and sealed by 
a licensed professional engineer is not required, an owner 
shall submit the Annual Inspection Report for Virginia 
Regulated Impounding Structures. 

2. The Inspection Report shall include the following 
required information: 

a. Project information including the name and inventory 
number of structure, name of the reservoir, and purpose 
of the reservoir; 

b. City or county where the impounding structure is 
located; 

c. Owner's name or representative if corporation, mailing 
address, residential and business telephone numbers, and 
other means of communication; 

d. Owner's engineer's name, firm, professional engineer 
Virginia number, mailing address, and business 
telephone number; 

e. Inspection observation of the impounding structure 
including the following: 

(1) Earthen embankment information including any 
embankment alterations; erosion; settlement, 
misalignments or cracks; seepage and seepage flow rate 
and location; 

(2) Upstream slope information including notes on 
woody vegetation removed, rodent burrows discovered, 
and remedial work performed; 

(3) Intake structure information including notes on 
deterioration of concrete structures, exposure of rebar 
reinforcement, need to repair or replace trash rack, any 
problems with debris in the reservoir, and whether the 
drawdown valve operated; 
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(4) Abutment contacts including notes on seepage and 
seepage flow rate and location; 

(5) Earthen emergency spillway including notes on 
obstructions to flow and plans to correct, rodent burrows 
discovered, and deterioration in the approach or 
discharge channel; 

(6) Concrete emergency spillway including notes on the 
deterioration of the concrete, exposure of rebar 
reinforcement, any leakage below concrete spillway, and 
obstructions to flow and plans to correct; 

(7) Downstream slope information including notes on 
woody vegetation removed, rodent burrows discovered, 
whether seepage drains are working, and any seepage or 
wet areas; 

(8) Outlet pipe information including notes on any water 
flowing outside of discharge pipe through the 
impounding structure and a description of any reflection 
or damage to the pipe; 

(9) Stilling basin information including notes on the 
deterioration of the concrete, exposure of rebar 
reinforcement, deterioration of the earthen basin slopes, 
repairs made, and any obstruction to flow; 

(10) Gates information including notes on gate 
malfunctions or repairs, corrosion or damage, and 
whether any gates were operated and if so how often and 
to what extreme; 

(11) Reservoir information including notes on new 
developments upstream of the dam, slides or erosion of 
lake banks, and general comments to include silt, algae, 
or other influence factors; 

(12) Instruments information including any reading of 
instruments and any installation of new instruments; and 

(13) General information including notes on new 
development in the downstream dam break inundation 
zone that would impact hazard classification or spillway 
design flood requirements, the maximum stormwater 
discharge or peak elevation during the previous year, 
whether general maintenance was performed and when, 
and actions that need to be completed before the next 
inspection. 

f. Evaluation rating of the impounding structure and 
appurtenances (excellent, good, or poor), general 
comments, and recommendations; 

g. Certification by the owner and date of inspection; and 

h. Certification and seal by the owner's engineer and date 
of inspection, as applicable. 

F. The owner of an impounding structure shall notify the 
department immediately of any change in the use of the area 

downstream that would impose hazard to life or property in 
the event of failure. 

4VAC50-20-175. Emergency Action Plan (EAP) for High 
and Significant Hazard Potential impounding structures. 

A. In order to protect life during potential emergency 
conditions at an impounding structure, and to ensure 
effective, timely action is taken should an impounding 
structure emergency occur, an EAP shall be required for each 
High and Significant Hazard Potential impounding structure. 
The EAP shall be coordinated with the Department of 
Emergency Management in accordance with § 44-146.18 of 
the Code of Virginia. The EAP required by these regulations 
shall be incorporated into local and interjurisdictional 
emergency plans pursuant to § 44-146.19 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

B. It is the impounding structure owner's responsibility to 
develop, maintain, exercise, and implement a site-specific 
EAP. 

C. An EAP shall be submitted every six years. The EAP 
shall be submitted with the owner's submittal of their Regular 
Operation and Maintenance Certificate application (Operation 
and Maintenance Certificate Application for Virginia 
Regulated Impounding Structures). 

D. The owner shall update and resubmit the EAP 
immediately upon becoming aware of necessary changes to 
keep the EAP workable. Should an impounding structure be 
reclassified, an EAP in accordance with this section shall be 
submitted. 

E. A drill shall be conducted annually for each high or 
significant hazard impounding structure. To the extent 
practicable, the drill should include a face-to-face meeting 
with the local emergency management agencies responsible 
for any necessary evacuations to review the EAP and ensure 
the local emergency management agencies understand the 
actions required during an emergency. A Except as set out in 
4VAC50-20-53, a table-top exercise shall be conducted once 
every six years, although more frequent table-top exercises 
are encouraged. Drills and table-top exercises for multiple 
impounding structures may be performed in combination if 
the involved parties are the same. Owners shall certify to the 
department annually that a drill, a table-top exercise, or both 
has been completed and provide any revisions or updates to 
the EAP or a statement that no revisions or updates are 
needed. 

F. Impounding structure owners shall test existing 
monitoring, sensing, and warning equipment at remote or 
unattended impounding structures at least twice per year or as 
performed by the Virginia Department of Emergency 
Management pursuant to § 10.1-609.1 of the Code of Virginia 
and maintain a record of such tests. 
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G. An EAP shall contain the following seven basic elements 
unless otherwise specified in this subsection. 

1. Notification chart. A notification chart shall be included 
for all classes of impounding structures that shows who is 
to be notified, by whom, and in what priority. The 
notification chart shall include contact information 
providing 24-hour telephone coverage for all responsible 
parties including, but not limited to, the impounding 
structure operator or manager, state and local emergency 
management officials, local police or sheriffs' departments, 
and the owner's engineer. The notification chart shall also 
identify the process by which downstream property owners 
will be notified, and what party or parties will be 
responsible for making such notifications. 

2. Emergency Detection, Evaluation, and Classification. 
The EAP shall include a discussion of the procedures for 
timely and reliable detection, evaluation, and classification 
of emergency situations considered to be relevant to the 
project setting and impounding features. Each relevant 
emergency situation is to be documented to provide an 
appropriate course of action based on the urgency of the 
situation. Where appropriate, situations should address 
impounding structure failures that are imminent or in 
progress, a situation where the potential for impounding 
structure failure is rapidly developing, and a situation 
where the threat is slowly developing. 

3. Responsibilities. The EAP shall specify responsibilities 
for EAP-related tasks. The EAP shall also clearly designate 
the responsible party for making the decision that an 
emergency condition no longer exists at the impounding 
structure. The EAP shall include procedures and the 
responsible parties for notifying to the extent possible any 
known local occupants, owners, or lessees of downstream 
properties potentially impacted by the impounding 
structure's failure. 

4. Preparedness. The EAP shall include a section that 
describes preparedness actions to be taken both before and 
following development of emergency conditions. 

5. Dam Break Inundation Maps. The EAP shall include 
dam break inundation maps developed in accordance with 
4VAC50-20-54. 

6. Appendices. The appendices shall contain information 
that supports and supplements the material used in the 
development and maintenance of the EAP such as analyses 
of impounding structure failure floods; plans for training, 
exercising, updating, and posting the EAP; and other site-
specific concerns. 

7. Certification. The EAP shall include a section that 
identifies all parties with assigned responsibilities in the 
EAP pursuant to subdivision 3 of this subsection. This will 
include certification that the EAP has been received by 
these parties. The preparer's name, title, and contact 

information shall be printed in this section. The preparer's 
signature shall also be included in the certification section. 
The local organization for emergency management shall 
provide the owner and the department with any 
deficiencies they may note. 

H. The development of the EAP shall be coordinated with 
all entities, jurisdictions, and agencies that would be affected 
by an impounding structure failure or that have statutory 
responsibilities for warning, evacuation, and postflood 
actions. Consultation with state and local emergency 
management officials at appropriate levels of management 
responsible for warning and evacuation of the public shall 
occur to ensure that there is awareness of their individual and 
group responsibilities. The owner shall also coordinate with 
the local organization for emergency management to identify 
properties that upon failure of the impounding structure 
would result in economic impacts. 

I. The EAP, or any updates to an existing EAP, shall be 
submitted to the department, the local organization for 
emergency management, and the Virginia Department of 
Emergency Management. Two copies shall be provided to the 
department. 

J. The following format shall be used as necessary to 
address the requirements of this section. 

Title Page/Cover Sheet 

Table of Contents 

I. Certifications 

II. Notification Flowchart 

III. Statement of Purpose 

IV. Project Description 

V. Emergency Detection, Evaluation, and Classification 

VI. General Responsibilities Under the EAP 

A. Impounding Structure Owner Responsibilities 

B. Responsibility for Notification 

C. Responsibility for Evacuation 

D. Responsibility for Termination and Follow-Up 

E. EAP Coordinator Responsibility 

VII. Preparedness 

VIII. Inundation Maps 

IX. Appendices 

A. Investigation and Analyses of Impounding Structure 
Failure Floods 

B. Plans for Training, Exercising, Updating, and Posting 
the EAP 
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C. Site-Specific Concerns 

4VAC50-20-220. Unsafe conditions. 

A. No owner shall maintain an unsafe impounding structure. 
Designation of an impounding structure as unsafe shall be 
made in accordance with § 10.1-607.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

B. Imminent danger.  

1. If an owner or the owner's engineer has determined that 
circumstances are impacting the integrity of the 
impounding structure that could result in the imminent 
failure of the impounding structure, temporary repairs may 
be initiated prior to approval from the board. The owner 
shall notify the department within 24 hours of identifying 
the circumstances impacting the integrity of the 
impounding structure. Such emergency notification shall 
not relieve the owner of the need to obtain an alteration 
permit as soon as may be practicable, nor shall the owner 
take action beyond that necessary to address the emergency 
situation. 

2. When the director finds that an impounding structure is 
unsafe and constitutes an imminent danger to life or 
property, he shall immediately notify the Virginia 
Department of Emergency Management and confer with 
the owner who shall activate the Emergency Action Plan or 
Emergency Preparedness Plan if appropriate to do so. The 
owner of an impounding structure found to constitute an 
imminent danger to life or property shall take immediate 
corrective action to remove the imminent danger as 
required by § 10.1-608 of the Code of Virginia.  

C. Nonimminent danger. The owner of an impounding 
structure who has been issued findings and recommendations, 
by the board, for the correction of deficiencies that may 
threaten life or property if not corrected, shall undertake to 
implement the recommendations for correction of 
deficiencies according to a schedule of implementation 
contained in that report as required by § 10.1-609 of the Code 
of Virginia. A dam owner may submit to the board his own 
plan, consistent with this chapter, to address the 
recommendations for correction of deficiencies and the 
schedule of implementation contained in the department's 
safety inspection report. The board shall determine if the 
submitted plan and schedule are sufficient to address 
deficiencies.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2417; Filed November 2, 2010, 3:41 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC15-40. Small Renewable Energy 
Projects (Wind) Permit by Rule (adding 9VAC15-40-10 
through 9VAC15-40-140).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1197.6 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 22, 2010.  

Agency Contact: Carol C. Wampler, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4579, FAX (804) 
698-4346, or email carol.wampler.renewable.energy@gmail.com. 

Summary: 

This action implements the requirements of Chapters 808 
and 854 of the 2009 Acts of Assembly requiring the 
Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) to develop 
one or more permits by rule for wind-energy projects with 
rated capacity not exceeding 100 megawatts. The permit 
by rule establishes requirements for potential 
environmental impacts analyses, mitigation plans, facility 
site planning, public participation, permit fees, interagency 
consultations, compliance, and enforcement. This final 
regulation constitutes DEQ's permit by rule for wind 
energy projects. Changes from the proposed include 
clarification of the public notice/meeting requirements and 
incorporation of specific requirements for offshore/coastal 
wind energy projects based on the recommendations of the 
offshore/coastal regulatory advisory panel. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

CHAPTER 40  
SMALL RENEWABLE ENERGY PROJECTS (WIND) 

PERMIT BY RULE  

Part I 
Definitions and Applicability 

9VAC15-40-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Applicant" means the owner or operator who submits an 
application to the department for a permit by rule pursuant to 
this chapter. 

[ "Coastal zone" means the jurisdictions of Tidewater 
Virginia, as follows: the counties of Accomack, Arlington, 
Caroline, Charles City, Chesterfield, Essex, Fairfax, 
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Gloucester, Hanover, Henrico, Isle of Wight, James City, 
King George, King and Queen, King William, Lancaster, 
Mathews, Middlesex, New Kent, Northampton, 
Northumberland, Prince George, Prince William, Richmond, 
Spotsylvania, Stafford, Surry, Westmoreland, and York; and 
the cities of Alexandria, Chesapeake, Colonial Heights, 
Fairfax, Falls Church, Fredericksburg, Hampton, Hopewell, 
Newport News, Norfolk, Petersburg, Poquoson, Portsmouth, 
Richmond, Suffolk, Virginia Beach, and Williamsburg.  

"Coastal Avian Protection Zones" or "CAPZ" means the 
areas designated on the map of "Coastal Avian Protection 
Zones" generated on the department's Coastal GEMS 
geospatial data system (9VAC15-40-120 C 1). ]  

"Department" means the Department of Environmental 
Quality, its director, or the director's designee. 

"DCR" means the Department of Conservation and 
Recreation. 

"DGIF" means the Department of Game and Inland 
Fisheries. 

"Disturbance zone" means the area within the site directly 
impacted by construction and operation of the wind energy 
project, and within 100 feet of the boundary of the directly 
impacted area. 

"Ecological core" means an area of nonfragmented forest, 
marsh, dune, or beach of ecological importance that is at least 
100 acres in size and identified in DCR's Natural Landscape 
Assessment web-based application [ (9VAC15-40-120 B 2) 
(9VAC15-40-120 C 2) ]. 

"Historic resource" means any prehistoric or historic district, 
site, building, structure, object, or cultural landscape that is 
included or meets the criteria necessary for inclusion in the 
Virginia Landmarks Register pursuant to the authorities of 
§ 10.1-2205 of the Code of Virginia and in accordance with 
17VAC5-30-40 through 17VAC5-30-70. 

[ "Important Bird Areas" means the designation of discrete 
sites by the National Audubon Society as having local, 
regional, continental or global importance for birds because 
they support significant numbers of one or more high priority 
avian species (e.g., T&E, SGCN) during the breeding, 
wintering, or migration seasons. ]  

"Interconnection point" means the point or points where the 
wind energy project connects to a project substation for 
transmission to the electrical grid. 

"Invasive plant species" means non-native plant species that 
cause, or are likely to cause, economic or ecological harm or 
harm to human health as established by Presidential 
Executive Order 13112 (64 FR 6183, February 3, 1999) and 
contained on DCR's Invasive Alien Plant Species of Virginia 
[ (9VAC15-40-120 A 3) (9VAC15-40-120 B 3) ]. 

[ "Migratory corridors" means major travel routes used by 
significant numbers of birds during biannual migrations 
between breeding and wintering grounds. 

"Migratory staging areas" means those sites along migratory 
corridors where significant numbers of birds stop to feed and 
rest during biannual migrations between breeding and 
wintering grounds that are essential to successful migration. ]  

"Natural heritage resource" means the habitat of rare, 
threatened, or endangered plant and animal species, rare or 
state significant natural communities or geologic sites, and 
similar features of scientific interest benefiting the welfare of 
the citizens of the Commonwealth. 

[ "Nearshore waters" means all tidal waters within the 
Commonwealth of Virginia and seaward of the mean low-
water shoreline to three nautical miles offshore in the Atlantic 
Ocean. ]  

"Operator" means the person responsible for the overall 
operation and management of a wind energy project. 

[ "Other avian mitigation factors" means Important Bird 
Areas, migratory corridors, migratory staging areas, and 
wintering areas within the Coastal Avian Protection Zones. ]  

"Owner" means the person who owns all or a portion of a 
wind energy project.  

"Permit by rule" means provisions of the regulations stating 
that a project or activity is deemed to have a permit if it meets 
the requirements of the provision.  

"Person" means any individual, partnership, firm, 
association, joint venture, public or private corporation, trust, 
estate, commission, board, public or private institution, 
utility, cooperative, county, city, town, or other political 
subdivision of the Commonwealth, any interstate body, or 
any other legal entity.  

"Phase of a project" means one continuous period of 
construction, startup, and testing activity of the wind energy 
project. A phase is deemed complete when 90 calendar days 
have elapsed since the last previous wind turbine has been 
placed in service, except when a delay has been caused by a 
significant force majeure event, in which case a phase is 
deemed complete when 180 calendar days have elapsed since 
the last previous wind turbine has been placed in service. 

"Post-construction" means any time after the last turbine on 
the wind energy project or phase of that project has been 
placed in service. 

"Pre-construction" means any time prior to commencing 
land-clearing operations necessary for the installation of 
energy-generating structures at the small wind energy project. 

"Rated capacity" means the maximum capacity of a wind 
energy project based on the sum total of each turbine's 
nameplate capacity. 
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"SGCN" or "species of greatest conservation need" means 
any vertebrate species so designated by DGIF as Tier 1 or 
Tier 2 in the Virginia Wildlife Action Plan [ (9VAC15-40-
120 A 6) (9VAC15-40-120 B 6) ]. 

"Site" means the area containing a wind energy project that 
is under common ownership or operating control. Electrical 
infrastructure and other appurtenant structures up to the 
interconnection point shall be considered to be within the site. 

"Small renewable energy project" means (i) an electrical 
generation facility with a rated capacity not exceeding 100 
megawatts that generates electricity only from sunlight, wind, 
falling water, wave motion, tides, or geothermal power, or (ii) 
an electrical generation facility with a rated capacity not 
exceeding 20 megawatts that generates electricity only from 
biomass, energy from waste, or municipal solid waste. 

"Small wind energy project," "wind energy project," or 
"project" [ (i) ] means a small renewable energy project that 
[ (i) ] generates electricity from wind, whose main purpose is 
to supply electricity, consisting of one or more wind turbines 
and other accessory structures and buildings, including 
substations, post-construction meteorological towers, 
electrical infrastructure, and other appurtenant structures and 
facilities within the boundaries of the site; and (ii) is designed 
for, or capable of, operation at a rated capacity equal to or 
less than 100 megawatts. Two or more wind energy projects 
otherwise spatially separated but under common ownership or 
operational control, which are connected to the electrical grid 
under a single interconnection agreement, shall be considered 
a single wind energy project. Nothing in this definition shall 
imply that a permit by rule is required for the construction of 
meteorological towers to determine the appropriateness of a 
site for the development of a wind energy project. 

[ "State-owned submerged lands" means lands that lie 
seaward of the mean low-water mark in tidal waters or that 
have an elevation below the ordinary mean high-water 
elevation in nontidal areas that are considered property of the 
Commonwealth pursuant to § 28.2-1200 of the Code of 
Virginia. ]  

"T&E," "state threatened or endangered species," or "state-
listed species" means any wildlife species designated as a 
Virginia endangered or threatened species by DGIF pursuant 
to the § 29.1-563-570 of the Code of Virginia and 4VAC15-
20-130. 

"VLR" means the Virginia Landmarks Register [ (9VAC15-
40-120 A 1) (9VAC15-40-120 B 1) ]. 

"VLR-eligible" means those historic resources that meet the 
criteria necessary for inclusion on the VLR pursuant to 
17VAC5-30-40 through 17VAC5-30-70 but are not listed in 
VLR. 

"VLR-listed" means those historic resources that have been 
listed in the VLR in accordance with the criteria of 17VAC5-
30-40 through 17VAC5-30-70. 

[ "VMRC" means the Virginia Marine Resources 
Commission. ]  

"Wildlife" means wild animals; except, however, that T&E 
insect species shall only be addressed as part of natural 
heritage resources and shall not be considered T&E wildlife.  

[ "Wintering areas" means those sites where a significant 
portion of the rangewide population of one or more avian 
species overwinter annually. ]  

9VAC15-40-20. Authority and applicability. 

This regulation is issued under authority of Article 5 
(§ 10.1-1197.5 et seq.) of Chapter 11.1 of Title 10.1 of the 
Code of Virginia. The regulation contains requirements for 
wind-powered electric generation projects consisting of wind 
turbines and associated facilities with a single interconnection 
to the electrical grid that are designed for, or capable of, 
operation at a rated capacity equal to or less than 100 
megawatts. The department has determined that a permit by 
rule is required for small wind energy projects with a rated 
capacity [ equal to or ] greater than 5 megawatts and this 
regulation contains the permit by rule provisions for these 
projects in Part II (9VAC15-40-30 et seq.) of this chapter. 
The department has also determined that a permit by rule is 
not required for small wind energy projects with a rated 
capacity [ less than of ] 5 megawatts [ or less ] and this 
regulation contains notification [ and other ] provisions for 
these projects in Part III (9VAC15-40-130) of this chapter. 

Part II 
Permit by Rule Provisions 

9VAC15-40-30. Application for permit by rule for wind 
energy projects. 

A. The owner or operator of a small wind energy project 
with a rated capacity [ equal to or ] greater than 5 megawatts 
shall submit to the department a complete application, in 
which he satisfactorily accomplishes all of the following: 

1. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 1 of the Code of 
Virginia, [ and as early in the project development process 
as practicable, ] furnishes to the department a notice of 
intent, to be published in the Virginia Register, that he 
intends to submit the necessary documentation for a permit 
by rule for a small renewable energy project; 

2. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 2 of the Code of 
Virginia, furnishes to the department a certification by the 
governing body of the locality or localities wherein the 
small renewable energy project will be located that the 
project complies with all applicable land use ordinances; 

3. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 3 of the Code of 
Virginia, furnishes to the department copies of all 
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interconnection studies undertaken by the regional 
transmission organization or transmission owner, or both, 
on behalf of the small renewable energy project; 

4. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 4 of the Code of 
Virginia, furnishes to the department a copy of the final 
interconnection agreement between the small renewable 
energy project and the regional transmission organization 
or transmission owner indicating that the connection of the 
small renewable energy project will not cause a reliability 
problem for the system. If the final agreement is not 
available, the most recent interconnection study shall be 
sufficient for the purposes of this section. When a final 
interconnection agreement is complete, it shall be provided 
to the department. The department shall forward a copy of 
the agreement or study to the State Corporation 
Commission; 

5. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 5 of the Code of 
Virginia, furnishes to the department a certification signed 
by a professional engineer licensed in Virginia that the 
maximum generation capacity of the small wind energy 
project, as designed, does not exceed 100 megawatts; 

6. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 6 of the Code of 
Virginia, furnishes to the department an analysis of 
potential environmental impacts of the small renewable 
energy project's operations on attainment of national 
ambient air quality standards; 

7. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 7 of the Code of 
Virginia, furnishes to the department, where relevant, an 
analysis of the beneficial and adverse impacts of the 
proposed project on natural resources.  The owner or 
operator shall perform the analyses prescribed in 9VAC15-
40-40. For wildlife, that analysis shall be based on 
information on the presence, activity, and migratory 
behavior of wildlife to be collected at the site for a period 
of time dictated by the site conditions and biology of the 
wildlife being studied, not exceeding 12 months; 

8. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 8 of the Code of 
Virginia, furnishes to the department a mitigation plan 
pursuant to [ 9VAC15-4060 9VAC15-40-60 ] that details 
reasonable actions to be taken by the owner or operator to 
avoid, minimize, or otherwise mitigate such impacts, and 
to measure the efficacy of those actions; provided, 
however, that the provisions of 9VAC15-40-30 A 8 shall 
only be required if the department determines, pursuant to 
9VAC15-40-50, that the information collected pursuant to 
§ 10.1-1197.6 B 7 of the Code of Virginia and 9VAC15-
40-40 indicates that significant adverse impacts to wildlife 
or historic resources are likely. The mitigation plan shall be 
an addendum to the operating plan of the wind energy 
project, and the owner or operator shall implement the 
mitigation plan as deemed complete and adequate by the 
department. The mitigation plan shall be an enforceable 
part of the permit by rule; 

9. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 9 of the Code of 
Virginia, furnishes to the department a certification signed 
by a professional engineer licensed in Virginia that the 
project is designed in accordance with 9VAC15-40-80; 

10. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 10 of the Code of 
Virginia, furnishes to the department an operating plan that 
includes a description of how the project will be operated 
in compliance with its mitigation plan, if such a mitigation 
plan is required pursuant to 9VAC15-40-50; 

11. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 11 of the Code of 
Virginia, furnishes to the department a detailed site plan 
meeting the requirements of 9VAC15-40-70;  

12. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 12 of the Code of 
Virginia, furnishes to the department a certification signed 
by the applicant that the small wind energy project has 
applied for or obtained all necessary environmental 
permits;  

13. Prior to authorization of the project and in accordance 
with §§ 10.1-1197.6 B 13 and 10.1-1197.6 B 14 of the 
Code of Virginia, conducts a 30-day public review and 
comment period and holds a public meeting pursuant to 
9VAC15-40-90. The public meeting shall be held in the 
locality or, if the project is located in more than one 
locality, in a place proximate to the location of the 
proposed project [ ; however, for projects located in 
nearshore waters or on state-owned submerged lands, the 
meeting shall be held in the locality that is the closest 
distance from the approximate center of the project's 
disturbance zone ]. Following the public meeting and 
public comment period, the applicant shall prepare a report 
summarizing the issues raised by the public and include 
any written comments received and the applicant's 
response to those comments. The report shall be provided 
to the department as part of this application; and 

14. In accordance with 9VAC15-40-110, furnishes to the 
department the appropriate fee. 

B. Within 90 days of receiving all of the required documents 
and fees listed in subsection A of this section, the department 
shall determine, after consultation with other agencies in the 
Secretariat of Natural Resources, whether the application is 
complete and whether it adequately meets the requirements of 
this chapter, pursuant to § 10.1-1197.7 A of the Code of 
Virginia. 

1. If the department determines that the application meets 
the requirements of this chapter, then the department shall 
notify the applicant in writing that he is authorized to 
construct and operate a small wind energy project pursuant 
to this chapter. 

2. If the department determines that the application does 
not meet the requirements of this chapter, then the 
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department shall notify the applicant in writing and specify 
the deficiencies. 

3. If the applicant chooses to correct deficiencies in a 
previously submitted application, the department shall 
follow the procedures of this subsection and notify the 
applicant whether the revised application meets the 
requirements of this chapter within 60 days of receiving 
the revised application. 

4. Any case decision by the department pursuant to this 
subsection shall be subject to the process and appeal 
provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 
et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

9VAC15-40-40. Analysis of the beneficial and adverse 
impacts on natural resources. 

A. Analyses of wildlife. To fulfill the requirements of 
§ 10.1-1197.6 B 7 of the Code of Virginia, the applicant shall 
conduct pre-construction wildlife analyses. The analyses of 
wildlife shall include the following:  

1. Desktop surveys and maps. The applicant shall obtain a 
wildlife report and map generated from DGIF's Virginia 
Fish and Wildlife Information Service [ or Wildlife 
Environmental Review Map Service ] web-based 
application [ (9VAC15-40-120 B 3) (9VAC15-40-120 C 3) 
or from a data and mapping system including the most 
recent data available from DGIF's subscriber-based 
Wildlife Environmental Review Map Service ] of the 
following: (i) [ known ] wildlife species and [ habitats 
known to occur habitat features ] on the site or within two 
miles of the boundary of the site; (ii) [ known ] bat 
hibernacula [ known to occur ] on the site or within five 
miles of the boundary of the site; and (iii) [ known ] 
maternity and bachelor bat colonies [ known to occur ] on 
the site or within 12 miles of the boundary of the site [ and 
(iv) known or potential sea turtle nesting beaches located 
within one mile of the disturbance zone ]. 

2. Breeding bird surveys. If the desktop analyses 
prescribed in subdivision 1 of this subsection indicate the 
presence of or habitat for a state-listed T&E bird species or 
a Tier 1 or Tier 2 bird SGCN within the disturbance zone, 
then the applicant shall conduct a breeding bird survey to 
identify state T&E bird species and Tier 1 and Tier 2 bird 
SGCN occurring within the disturbance zone during the 
species' annual breeding season. 

3. Field survey of nonavian resources. If the desktop 
analyses prescribed in subdivision 1 of this subsection 
indicate the presence of or habitat for a Tier 1 or Tier 2 
vertebrate SGCN, other than a bird, within the disturbance 
zone, then the applicant shall conduct field surveys of 
suitable habitats for that species within the disturbance 
zone to determine the species' occurrence and relative 
distribution within the disturbance zone. 

4. Raptor migration surveys. The applicant shall conduct 
one year of raptor migration surveys, in both the spring and 
fall seasons, to determine the relative abundance of 
migrant raptors moving through the general vicinity of the 
disturbance zone. 

[ 5. Desktop surveys and maps of coastal avian migration 
corridors. When a proposed wind energy project site will 
be located in part or in whole within the coastal zone of 
Virginia, the applicant shall obtain a desktop report and 
maps generated from the department's Coastal GEMS 
geospatial data system (9VAC15-40-120 B 1) showing 
essential wildlife habitats, important bird areas, and 
migratory songbird stopover habitat. 

5. Map and field studies for avian resources in Coastal 
Avian Protection Zones (CAPZ). 

a. The applicant shall consult the "Coastal Avian 
Protection Zones" map generated on the department's 
Coastal GEMS geospatial data system (9VAC15-40-120 
C 1) and determine whether the proposed wind energy 
project site will be located in part or in whole within one 
or more CAPZ. 

b. When a proposed wind energy project site will be 
located in part or in whole within one or more Coastal 
Avian Protection Zones, then the applicant shall perform 
avian field studies, or shall rely on existing scientific 
analysis as reflected on the CAPZ map, for each zone 
where the project is located, as follows: 

(1) Zone 1: Nearshore waters extending 1 - 4.83 km (0.62 
- 3 mi) from Virginia's ocean-facing shoreline, excluding 
the mouth of the Chesapeake Bay. In this zone, the 
relevant avian species and other avian mitigation factors 
are: T&E species (migratory Piping Plovers, Wilson's 
Plovers, Peregrine Falcons, Gull-billed Terns, and 
Roseate Terns); hemispherically important migratory 
corridor for shorebirds, seabirds and waterfowl; and 
hemispherically important migratory staging area and 
wintering area for seabirds and waterfowl. The applicant 
shall either perform avian field studies regarding the 
actual or likely occurrence of these resources, or rely on 
existing scientific analysis as reflected on the CAPZ 
map. 

(2) Zone 2: Nearshore waters that extend from Virginia's 
ocean-facing shoreline out to 1 km (0.62 mi), excluding 
the mouth of the Chesapeake Bay. In this zone, the 
relevant avian species and other avian mitigation factors 
are: T&E species (migratory and breeding Piping 
Plovers, Wilson's Plovers, Peregrine Falcons and Gull-
billed Terns, and migratory Roseate Terns) and 
hemispherically important migratory corridor, migratory 
staging area, and wintering area for shorebirds, seabirds 
and waterfowl. The applicant shall either perform avian 
field studies regarding the actual or likely occurrence of 
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these resources or rely on existing scientific analysis as 
reflected on the CAPZ map. 

(3) Zone 3: Barrier island/seaside lagoon system, 
including a 100 m (328 ft) offshore buffer. In this zone, 
the relevant avian species and other avian mitigation 
factors are: T&E species (breeding and migratory Piping 
Plovers, Wilson's Plovers, Gull-billed Terns, Peregrine 
Falcons and Bald Eagles) and hemispherically important 
staging area and wintering area for shorebirds, seabirds, 
and waterfowl. The applicant shall either perform avian 
field studies regarding the actual or likely occurrences of 
these resources or rely on existing scientific analysis as 
reflected on the CAPZ map. 

(4) Zone 4: Southern end of the Delmarva Peninsula 
(mainland only), including a 10 km long (6.21 mi) strip 
along the western (bayside) fringe of the peninsula that 
extends from Wise Point to (and including) Savage Neck. 
In this zone, the relevant avian species and other avian 
mitigation factors are: T&E species (migratory Peregrine 
Falcons and breeding and migratory Bald Eagles), the 
designation as an Important Bird Area, and 
hemispherically important migratory staging area for 
passerines and other landbirds. The applicant shall either 
perform avian field studies regarding the actual or likely 
occurrence of these resources or rely on existing 
scientific analysis as reflected on the CAPZ map. 

(5) Zone 5: Delmarva Peninsula, excluding zones 3 and 
4. In this zone, the relevant avian species and other avian 
mitigation factors are: T&E species (breeding Bald 
Eagles) and regionally to hemispherically important fall 
migratory staging area for landbirds. The applicant shall 
either perform avian field studies regarding the actual or 
likely occurrence of these resources or rely on existing 
scientific analysis as reflected on the CAPZ map. 

(6) Zone 6: Southern end and mouth of the Chesapeake 
Bay, including the waters off of the western shore of the 
Delmarva Peninsula that extend from Wise Point north to 
the mouth of Craddock Creek. In this zone, the relevant 
avian species and other avian mitigation factors are: 
migratory staging area and wintering area for seabirds 
and waterfowl that may be of hemispheric importance. 
The applicant shall conduct aerial transect surveys for 
waterfowl and seabirds during the fall migration, spring 
migration, and wintering seasons to determine the 
distribution, density, and relative abundance of these 
species within this zone throughout the nonbreeding 
season. 

(7) Zone 7: Lower portions of the James, York, and 
Rappahannock Rivers and small tributaries along the 
south side of the lower Potomac River. In this zone, 
relevant avian species and other avian mitigation factors 
are: T&E species (breeding Bald Eagles), regionally 
important fall migratory staging areas and wintering 

areas for waterfowl, and spring migratory staging areas 
of unknown significance. The applicant shall conduct 
aerial transect surveys for waterfowl during the spring 
migration season to determine the distribution, density, 
and relative abundance of these species within this zone 
during the spring season. The applicant shall either 
perform avian field studies regarding the actual or likely 
occurrences of breeding Bald Eagles and waterfowl 
during the fall and winter seasons or rely on existing 
scientific analysis as reflected on the CAPZ map. 

(8) Zone 8: Western portions of the Chesapeake Bay. In 
this zone, the relevant avian species and other avian 
mitigation factors are: migratory staging area and 
wintering area for seabirds and waterfowl of unknown 
significance. The applicant shall conduct aerial transect 
surveys for waterfowl and seabirds in the fall migration, 
spring migration, and wintering seasons to determine the 
distribution, density, and relative abundance of these 
species within this zone throughout the nonbreeding 
season. 

(9) Zone 9: Virginia's northeast sector of the Chesapeake 
Bay, including all nearshore waters, marshes, and islands 
within Tangier and Pocomoke Sounds and all islands and 
marshes located along the western fringe of the Delmarva 
Peninsula from Craddock Creek north to the 
Virginia/Maryland border. This zone is recognized as a 
migratory staging area and wintering area for seabirds 
and waterfowl of unknown significance. The applicant 
shall conduct aerial transect surveys for waterfowl and 
seabirds during the fall migration, spring migration, and 
wintering seasons to determine the distribution, density, 
and relative abundance of these species within this zone 
throughout the nonbreeding season. In this zone, 
additional relevant avian species and other avian 
mitigation factors are: T&E species (breeding Bald 
Eagles and Peregrine Falcons) and the designation as an 
Important Bird Area. The applicant shall either perform 
avian field studies regarding the actual or likely 
occurrence of these additional resources or rely on 
existing scientific analysis as reflected on the CAPZ 
map. 

(10) Zone 10: Upper reaches of the James, 
Rappahannock, and Potomac Rivers. In this zone the 
relevant avian species and other avian mitigation factors 
are T&E species (breeding Bald Eagles and continentally 
important Bald Eagle concentration areas), the 
designation as Important Bird Areas, and locally to 
continentally important waterfowl wintering areas. The 
applicant shall either perform avian field studies 
regarding the actual or likely occurrence of these 
resources or rely on existing scientific analysis as 
reflected on the CAPZ map. 
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(11) Zone 11: Lower reaches of the Mattaponi and 
Pamunkey tributaries. In this zone, the relevant avian 
species and other avian mitigation factors are: T&E 
species (breeding Bald Eagles) and the designation as an 
Important Bird Area. The applicant shall either perform 
avian field studies regarding the actual or likely 
occurrence of these resources or rely on existing 
scientific analysis as reflected on the CAPZ map. 

(12) Zone 12: Outer fringes of the lower, middle, and 
northern peninsulas. In this zone, the relevant avian 
species and other avian mitigation factors are: T&E 
species (breeding Bald Eagles). The applicant shall either 
perform avian field studies regarding the actual or likely 
occurrence of these resources or rely on existing 
scientific analysis as reflected on the CAPZ map. 

(13) Zone 13: Interior portions of the lower, middle, and 
northern peninsulas. In this zone, the relevant avian 
species and other avian mitigation factors are: T&E 
species (breeding Bald Eagles, for which little 
information currently exists in this zone). The applicant 
shall perform ground surveys for breeding Bald Eagles to 
determine distribution and abundance of Bald Eagle nests 
within the disturbance zone and within .25 mile of the 
perimeter of the disturbance zone. 

(14) Zone 14: Back Bay and surrounding private lands. 
In this zone, the relevant avian species and other avian 
mitigation factors are: T&E species (breeding Bald 
Eagles), the designation as Important Bird Area, and 
locally to continentally important migratory staging area 
and wintering area for waterfowl. The applicant shall 
either perform avian field studies regarding the actual or 
likely occurrence of these resources, or rely on existing 
scientific analysis as reflected on the CAPZ map. ]  

6. Bat acoustic surveys. The applicant shall conduct bat 
acoustic surveys to determine the presence of and level of 
bat activity and use within the disturbance zone. 

7. Mist-netting or harp-trapping surveys. If the applicant 
identifies potential for T&E bat species [ to occur ] within 
the disturbance zone, the applicant shall conduct a season-
appropriate mist-netting survey or harp-trapping survey or 
both.  

8. Wildlife report. The applicant shall provide to the 
department a report summarizing the relevant findings of 
the desktop and field surveys conducted pursuant to 
subdivisions 1 through 7 of this subsection [ , along with 
all data and supporting documents ]. The applicant shall 
assess and describe the expected beneficial and adverse 
impacts, if any, of the proposed project on wildlife 
resources identified in subdivisions 1 through 7 of this 
subsection. 

B. Analyses of historic resources. To fulfill the requirements 
of § 10.1-1197.6 B 7 of the Code of Virginia, the applicant 

shall also conduct a pre-construction historic resources 
analysis. The analysis shall be conducted by a qualified 
professional meeting the professional qualification standards 
of the Secretary of the Interior's Standards for Archeology 
and Historic Preservation [ (9VAC15-40-120 A 2) (9VAC15-
40-120 B 2) ] in the appropriate discipline. The analysis shall 
include each of the following: 

1. Compilation of known historic resources. The applicant 
shall gather information on known historic resources 
within the disturbance zone and within five miles of the 
disturbance zone boundary and present this information on 
the context map referenced in 9VAC15-40-70 B, or as an 
overlay to this context map, as well as in tabular format.  

2. Architectural survey. The applicant shall conduct a field 
survey of all architectural resources, including cultural 
landscapes, 50 years of age or older within the disturbance 
zone and within 1.5 miles of the disturbance zone 
boundary and evaluate the eligibility of any identified 
resource for listing in the VLR [ ; however, for wind 
energy projects located in nearshore waters, this field study 
shall include all architectural resources 50 years of age or 
older within five miles of the disturbance zone boundary, 
but shall not extend more than 1.5 miles inland from the 
mean low water mark ]. 

3. Archaeological survey. The applicant shall conduct an 
archaeological field survey of the disturbance zone and 
evaluate the eligibility of any identified archaeological site 
for listing in the VLR [ ; however, the requirements of this 
subdivision shall not apply to any portion of the 
disturbance zone located on state-owned submerged lands 
that are subject to VMRC permitting pursuant to Title 28.2 
of the Code of Virginia ].  

4. Historic resources report. The applicant shall provide to 
the department a report presenting the findings of the 
studies and analyses conducted pursuant to subdivisions 1 
through [ 4 3 ] of this subsection [ along with all data and 
supporting documents ]. The applicant shall assess and 
describe the expected beneficial and adverse impacts, if 
any, of the proposed project on historic resources identified 
in subdivisions 1, 2, and 3 of this subsection. 

C. Analyses of other natural resources. To fulfill the 
requirements of § 10.1-1197.6 B 7 of the Code of Virginia, 
the applicant shall also conduct pre-construction analyses of 
the impact of the proposed project on other natural resources, 
which have not been addressed pursuant to subsection A or B 
of this section, and as are specified in subdivisions 1 and 2 of 
this subsection. The analyses shall include: 

1. Natural heritage resources. An analysis of the impact of 
the project on natural heritage resources, which shall 
include the following: 

a. A desktop survey of natural heritage resources within 
the site and within two miles of the boundary of the site.  
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b. Field surveys within the disturbance zone mapping: (i) 
the ecological community groups as classified in 
accordance with DCR's The Natural Communities of 
Virginia, Classification of Ecological Community 
Groups [ (9VAC15-40-120 A 4) (9VAC15-40-120 B 
4) ]; (ii) natural heritage resources to include species and 
community identification, location, age, size, spatial 
distribution, and evidence of reproduction; (iii) caves; 
(iv) mines; (v) rock outcrops; (vi) cliffs; (vii) wetlands; 
and (viii) invasive plant species. 

2. Scenic resources. An analysis of the impact of the 
project on scenic resources, as follows:  

a. Pursuant to 9VAC15-40-70, for the area within the site 
and within five miles of the boundary of the site, a 
viewshed analysis of the impact of the proposed project 
on existing federally designated or state-designated 
scenic resources, including national parks, national 
forest-designated scenic areas, state parks, state natural 
area preserves, national scenic trails, national or state-
designated scenic roads, national or state-designated 
scenic rivers, and those resources identified as potential 
candidates for such designation in DCR's Virginia 
Outdoors Plan [ (9VAC15-40-120 A 5) (9VAC15-40-120 
B 5) ]. 

b. The applicant shall conduct these analyses and shall 
show the potential impact of the proposed project on the 
viewshed from such identified resources, where 
applicable.  

3. Other natural resources report. The applicant shall 
provide to the department a report, including maps, 
documenting the results of the analyses conducted pursuant 
to subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection. The applicant 
shall assess and describe the expected beneficial and 
adverse impacts, if any, of the proposed project on natural 
resources identified in subdivisions 1 and 2 of this 
subsection. 

9VAC15-40-50. Determination of likely significant 
adverse impacts. 

A. The department shall find that significant adverse 
impacts to wildlife are likely whenever the wildlife analyses 
prescribed in 9VAC15-40-40 A document that either of the 
following conditions exists: 

1. Bats have been detected, or a hibernaculum exists, 
within the disturbance zone.  

2. State-listed T&E wildlife are found to occur within the 
disturbance zone [ ; or the disturbance zone is located on or 
within one mile of a known or potential sea turtle nesting 
beach. 

3. Within the Coastal Avian Protection Zones, the 
applicant's field studies indicate that significant adverse 
impacts to avian resources are likely, or the applicant 

stipulates that existing scientific analysis, as reflected on 
the CAPZ map, supports a conclusion that significant 
adverse impacts to avian resources are likely ]. 

B. The department shall find that significant adverse impacts 
to historic resources are likely whenever the historic 
resources analyses prescribed by 9VAC15-40-40 B indicate 
that the proposed project is likely to diminish significantly 
any aspect of a historic resource's integrity.  

9VAC15-40-60. Mitigation plan. 

A. If the department determines that significant adverse 
impacts to wildlife or historic resources or both are likely, 
then the applicant shall prepare a mitigation plan. The 
mitigation plan shall include a description of the affected 
wildlife or historic resources, or both, and the impact to be 
mitigated; a description of actions that will be taken to avoid 
the stated impact; and a plan for implementation. If the 
impact cannot reasonably be avoided, the plan shall include a 
description of actions that will be taken to minimize the stated 
impact and a plan for implementation. If neither avoidance 
nor minimization is reasonably practicable, the plan shall 
include a description of other measures that may be taken to 
offset the stated impact; and a plan for implementation. 

B. Mitigation measures for significant adverse impacts to 
wildlife shall include: 

1. For state-listed T&E wildlife, the applicant shall take all 
reasonable measures to avoid significant adverse impacts, 
or shall demonstrate in the mitigation plan what significant 
adverse impacts cannot practicably be avoided and why 
additional proposed actions are reasonable. These 
additional proposed actions may include best practices to 
avoid, minimize, or offset adverse impacts to resources 
analyzed pursuant to 9VAC15-40-40 A or 9VAC15-40-40 
C 1. 

[ 2. For proposed projects where the disturbance zone is 
located on or within one mile of a known or potential sea 
turtle nesting beach, the applicant shall take all reasonable 
measures to avoid significant adverse impacts, or shall 
demonstrate in the mitigation plan what significant adverse 
impacts cannot practicably be avoided and why additional 
proposed mitigation actions are reasonable. Mitigation 
measures shall include the following: 

a. Avoiding construction within likely sea turtle crawl or 
nesting habitats during the turtle nesting and hatching 
season (May 20 - October 31). If avoiding construction 
during this period is not possible, then conducting daily 
crawl surveys of the disturbance zone (May 20 - August 
31) and one mile beyond the northern and southern 
reaches of the disturbance zone (hereinafter "sea turtle 
nest survey zone") between sunrise and 9 a.m. by 
qualified individuals who have the ability to distinguish 
accurately between nesting and non-nesting emergences. 
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b. If construction is scheduled during the nesting season, 
then including measures to protect nests and hatchlings 
found within the sea turtle nest survey zone. 

c. Minimizing nighttime construction during the nesting 
season and designing project lighting during the 
construction and operational phases to minimize impacts 
on nesting sea turtles and hatchlings. 

3. For avian resources within any of the Coastal Avian 
Protection Zones that are referenced in 9VAC15-40-40 A 
5, the applicant shall take all reasonable measures to avoid 
significant adverse impacts, or shall demonstrate in the 
mitigation plan what significant adverse impacts cannot be 
practicably be avoided and why additional proposed 
mitigation actions are reasonable. ]  

[ 2. 4. ] For bats, the mitigation plan shall include measures 
to curtail operation of wind turbines on low wind speed 
nights when bats are likely to be active within the 
disturbance zone and to monitor the efficacy of these 
measures; however, the combined cost of mitigation and 
post-construction monitoring, in each year after year one, 
shall not exceed 120 hours of curtailment per year per 
turbine, averaged. The combined cost of mitigation shall 
consist of lost revenue from curtailment of wind turbines, 
including lost production tax credits. 

[ 3. 5. ] Post-construction monitoring shall be designed to 
achieve the following: 

a. Estimate the level of avian and bat fatalities associated 
with the wind energy project, accounting for scavenger 
removal and searcher efficiency [ ; however, estimates of 
avian and bat fatalities shall not be required for areas 
seaward of the mean low-water shoreline ]. 

b. Investigate the correlation of bat fatalities with project 
operational protocols, weather-related variables, and the 
effectiveness of operational adjustments to reduce 
impacts. 

[ 4. 6. ] Post-construction wildlife mitigation and 
management shall include the following: 

a. Post-construction mitigation. After completing the 
initial one year of post-construction monitoring, the 
owner or operator shall submit [ the first year's 
monitoring data and ] a [ revised mitigation ] plan 
[ consisting of his proposed detailing the ] monitoring 
and mitigation actions expected to be implemented for 
the remainder of the project's operating life. [ Such 
mitigation actions shall be designed to address the 
impacts revealed by the initial year of post-construction 
monitoring. One year after the revised mitigation plan is 
submitted, and annually thereafter, the owner or operator 
shall submit a report consisting of the results of ongoing 
monitoring, including data and supporting documents, an 
explanation of how the mitigation measures reflect 

results indicated by the monitoring data, and 
documentation showing expenditures and lost revenues 
attributable to curtailment, other mitigation actions, and 
monitoring. ]  

b. Amendment of mitigation plan. After three years of 
post-construction mitigation efforts, the owner or 
operator of the project may initiate a consultation with 
the department to propose amendments to the mitigation 
plan. The owner or operator shall submit any proposed 
amendments of the mitigation plan to the department. 
The department may approve the proposed amendments 
if the department determines that the proposed 
amendments will avoid or minimize adverse impacts to a 
demonstrably equal or greater extent as the mitigation 
measures being implemented at that time. Alternatively, 
the department may approve the proposed amendments 
to the mitigation plan if the owner or operator 
demonstrates that the mitigation measures being 
implemented at that time are not effectively avoiding or 
minimizing adverse impacts, [ and the owner's or 
operator's proposed amendments are preferable methods 
to mitigate for ongoing adverse impacts. For example, 
proposed amendments may include in which case the 
owner or operator may propose and the department may 
approve ways of offsetting ongoing adverse impacts, 
such as ] funding research or preserving habitats. 

C. Mitigation measures for significant adverse impacts to 
historic resources shall include: 

1. Significant adverse impacts to VLR-eligible or VLR-
listed architectural resources shall be minimized, to the 
extent practicable, through design of the wind energy 
project or the installation of vegetative or other screening.  

2. If significant adverse impacts to VLR-eligible or VLR-
listed architectural resources cannot be avoided or 
minimized such that impacts are no longer significantly 
adverse, then the applicant shall develop a reasonable and 
proportionate mitigation plan that offsets the significantly 
adverse impacts and has a demonstrable public benefit and 
benefit for the affected or similar resource. 

3. If any identified VLR-eligible or VLR-listed 
archaeological site can not be avoided or minimized to 
such a degree as to avoid a significant adverse impact, 
significant adverse impacts of the project will be mitigated 
through archaeological data recovery.  

9VAC15-40-70. Site plan and context map requirements. 

A. The applicant shall submit a site plan that includes maps 
showing the physical features [ , topography, ] and land cover 
of the area within the site, both before and after construction 
of the proposed project. The site plan shall be submitted at a 
scale sufficient to show, and shall include, the following: (i) 
the boundaries of the site; (ii) the location, height, and 
dimensions of all existing and proposed wind turbines, other 
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structures, fencing, and other infrastructure; (iii) the location, 
grades, and dimensions of all temporary and permanent on-
site and access roads from the nearest county or state 
maintained road; [ (iv) existing topography; ] and [ (v) (iv) ] 
water bodies, waterways, wetlands, and drainage channels. 
[ For any part of a site that is located in nearshore waters, the 
site plan shall also include bathymetry; the location and depth 
of underground cables, transmission lines, and pipelines; 
navigational channels; and beaches, marshes, and other 
emergent terrestrial features. ]  

B. The applicant shall submit a context map including the 
area encompassed by the site and within five miles of the site 
boundary. The context map shall show state and federal 
resource lands and other protected areas, [ Coastal Avian 
Protection Zones, ] historic resources, state roads, waterways, 
locality boundaries, forests, open spaces, and transmission 
and substation infrastructure. [ If any part of a site is located 
in nearshore waters, the context map shall also include 
bathymetry; navigational channels; commercially licensed 
fixed fishing devices; permitted aquaculture operations; 
shellfish leases; public shellfish grounds; artificial reefs; and 
submerged aquatic vegetation. ]  

9VAC15-40-80. Small wind energy project design 
standards. 

The design and installation of the small wind energy project 
shall incorporate any requirements of the mitigation plan that 
pertain to design and installation, if a mitigation plan is 
required pursuant to 9VAC15-40-50. 

9VAC15-40-90. Public participation. 

A. Before the initiation of any construction at the small wind 
energy project, the [ owner or operator applicant ] shall 
[ comply with this section. The owner or operator shall first ] 
publish a notice once a week for two consecutive weeks in a 
major local newspaper of general circulation informing the 
public that he intends to construct and operate a project 
eligible for a permit by rule. No later than the date of 
newspaper publication of the initial notice, the owner or 
operator shall submit to the department a copy of the notice 
along with electronic copies of all documents [ that the 
applicant plans to submit ] in support of the application. The 
notice shall include:  

1. A brief description of the proposed project and its 
location, including the approximate dimensions of the site, 
approximate number of turbines, and approximate 
maximum blade-tip height; 

2. A statement that the purpose of the public participation 
is to acquaint the public with the technical aspects of the 
proposed project and how the standards and the 
requirements of this chapter will be met, to identify issues 
of concern, to facilitate communication, and to establish a 
dialogue between the owner or operator and persons who 
may be affected by the project;  

3. Announcement of a 30-day comment period in 
accordance with subsection [ D C ] of this section, and the 
name, telephone number, address, and email address of the 
[ owner's or operator's representative applicant ] who can 
be contacted by the interested persons to answer questions 
or to whom comments shall be sent; 

4. Announcement of the date, time, and place for a public 
meeting held in accordance with subsection [ C D ] of this 
section; and 

5. Location where copies of the documentation to be 
submitted to the department in support of the permit by 
rule application [ are located in accordance with 9VAC15-
40-90 B will be available for inspection ]. 

B. The owner or operator shall place a copy of the 
documentation in a location accessible to the public [ during 
business hours for the duration of the 30-day comment 
period ] in the vicinity of the proposed project.  

[ C. The public shall be provided at least 30 days to 
comment on the technical and the regulatory aspects of the 
proposal. The comment period shall begin no sooner than 15 
days after the applicant initially publishes the notice in the 
local newspaper. ]  

[ C. D. ] The [ owner or operator applicant ] shall hold a 
public meeting not earlier than 15 days after the [ initial 
publication of the notice required in subsection A of this 
section beginning of the 30-day public comment period ] and 
no later than seven days before the close of the 30-day 
comment period. The meeting shall be held in the locality or, 
if the project is located in more than one locality, in a place 
proximate to the location of the proposed project [ ; however, 
for projects located in nearshore waters or on state-owned 
submerged lands, the meeting shall be held in the locality that 
is the closest distance from the approximate center of the 
project's disturbance zone ]. 

[ D. The public shall be provided at least 30 days to 
comment on the technical and the regulatory aspects of the 
proposal. The comment period shall begin on the date the 
owner or operator initially publishes the notice in the local 
newspaper. ]  

E. For purposes of this chapter, the applicant and any 
interested party who submits written comments on the 
proposal to the [ owner's or operator's representative 
applicant ] during the public comment period or who signs in 
and provides oral comments at the public meeting shall be 
deemed to have participated in the proceeding for a permit by 
rule under this chapter and pursuant to § 10.1-1197.7 B of the 
Code of Virginia. 

9VAC15-40-100. Change of ownership, project 
modifications, termination. 

A. Change of ownership. A permit by rule may be 
transferred to a new owner or operator if:  
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1. The current owner or operator notifies the department at 
least 30 days in advance of the transfer date by submittal of 
a notice per subdivision 2 of this subsection;  

2. The notice shall include a written agreement between the 
existing and new owner or operator containing a specific 
date for transfer of permit responsibility, coverage, and 
liability between them; and  

3. The transfer of the permit by rule to the new owner or 
operator shall be effective on the date specified in the 
agreement described in subdivision 2 of this subsection.  

B. Project modifications. Provided project modifications are 
in accordance with the requirements of this permit by rule and 
do not increase the rated capacity of the small wind energy 
project, the owner or operator of a project authorized under a 
permit by rule may modify its design or operation or both by 
furnishing to the department new certificates prepared by a 
professional engineer, new documentation required under 
9VAC15-40-30, and the appropriate fee in accordance with 
9VAC15-40-110. The department shall review the received 
modification submittal in accordance with the provisions of 
subsection B of 9VAC15-40-30. 

C. Permit by rule termination. The department may 
terminate the permit by rule whenever the department finds 
that: 

1. The applicant has knowingly or willfully misrepresented 
or failed to disclose a material fact in any report or 
certification required under this chapter; or 

2. After the department has taken enforcement actions 
pursuant to 9VAC15-40-140, the owner or operator 
persistently operates the project in significant violation of 
the project's mitigation plan. 

Prior to terminating a permit by rule pursuant to subdivision 
1 or 2 of this subsection, the department shall hold an 
informal fact-finding proceeding pursuant to § 2.2-4019 of 
the Virginia Administrative Process Act in order to assess 
whether to continue with termination of the permit by rule or 
to issue any other appropriate order. If the department 
determines that it should continue with the termination of the 
permit by rule, the department shall hold a formal hearing 
pursuant to § 2.2-4020 of the Virginia Administrative Process 
Act. Notice of the formal hearing shall be delivered to the 
owner or operator. Any owner or operator whose permit by 
rule is terminated by the department shall cease operating his 
small wind energy project.  

9VAC15-40-110. Fees. 

A. Purpose. The purpose of this section is to establish 
schedules and procedures pertaining to the payment and 
collection of fees from any applicant seeking a new permit by 
rule or a modification to an existing permit by rule for a small 
wind energy project. 

B. Permit fee payment and deposit. Fees for permit by rule 
applications or modifications shall be paid by the applicant as 
follows:  

1. Due date. All permit application fees or modification 
fees are due on submittal day of the application or 
modification package.  

2. Method of payment. Fees shall be paid by check, draft, 
or postal money order made payable to "Treasurer of 
Virginia/DEQ" and shall be sent to the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Receipts Control, P.O. Box 10150, 
Richmond, VA 23240.  

3. Incomplete payments. All incomplete payments shall be 
deemed nonpayments.  

4. Late payment. No application or modification submittal 
will be deemed complete until the department receives 
proper payment.  

C. Fee schedules. Each application for a permit by rule and 
each application for a modification of a permit by rule is a 
separate action and shall be assessed a separate fee. The 
amount of the permit application fee is based on the costs 
associated with the permitting program required by this 
chapter. The fee schedules are shown in the following table:  

Type of Action Fee 

Permit by rule application (including first three 
years of operation) 

$16,000

Permit by rule modification (after first three years 
of operation) 

$5,000

D. Use of fees. Fees are assessed for the purpose of 
defraying the department's costs of administering and 
enforcing the provisions of this chapter including, but not 
limited to, permit by rule processing, permit by rule 
modification processing, and inspection and monitoring of 
small wind energy projects to ensure compliance with this 
chapter. Fees collected pursuant to this section shall be used 
for the administrative and enforcement purposes specified in 
this section and in § 10.1-1197.6 E of the Code of Virginia.  

E. Fund. The fees, received by the department in accordance 
with this chapter, shall be deposited in the Small Renewable 
Energy Project Fee Fund. 

F. Periodic review of fees. Beginning July 1, 2012, and 
periodically thereafter, the department shall review the 
schedule of fees established pursuant to this section to ensure 
that the total fees collected are sufficient to cover 100% of the 
department's direct costs associated with use of the fees.  

9VAC15-40-120. Internet accessible resources. 

[ A. ] This chapter refers to resources to be used [ by 
applicants in gathering information to be submitted to the 
department ]. These resources are available through the 
Internet; therefore, in order to assist the applicants, the 
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uniform resource locator or Internet address is provided for 
each of the references listed in this section.  

[ A. B. ] Internet available resources. 

1. The Virginia Landmarks Register, Virginia Department 
of Historic Resources, 2801 Kensington Avenue, 
Richmond, Virginia. Available at the following Internet 
address: http://www.dhr.virginia.gov/registers/register.htm.  

2. Professional Qualifications Standards, the Secretary of 
the Interior’s Standards and Guidelines for Archeology and 
Historic Preservation, as amended and annotated (48 FR 
44716-740, September 29, 1983), National Parks Service, 
Washington, DC. Available at the following Internet 
address: http://www.nps.gov/history/local-
law/arch_stnds_9.htm.  

3. Invasive alien plant species of Virginia, Virginia 
Department of Conservation and Recreation, Division of 
Natural Heritage, Richmond, Virginia. Available at the 
following Internet address: 
http://www.dcr.virginia.gov/natural_heritage/invspinfo.sht
ml. 

4. The Natural Communities of Virginia, Classification of 
Ecological Community Groups, Second Approximation, 
[ 2006, Version 2.3, 2010, ] Virginia Department of 
Conservation and Recreation, Division of Natural Heritage, 
Richmond, VA. Available at the following Internet 
address: 
http://www.dcr.virginia.gov/natural_heritage/ncintro.shtml. 

5. Virginia Outdoors Plan, 2007, Virginia Department of 
Conservation and Recreation, Richmond, Virginia. 
Available at the following Internet address: 
http://www.dcr.virginia.gov/recreational_planning/vop.sht
ml.  

6. Virginia's Comprehensive Wildlife Conservation 
Strategy, 2005 [ (referred to as the Virginia Wildlife 
Action Plan) ], Virginia Department of Game and Inland 
Fisheries, 4010 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia. 
Available at the following Internet address: 
http://www.bewildvirginia.org/wildlifeplan/.  

[ B. C. ] Internet applications. 

1. Coastal GEMS application, 2010, Virginia Department 
of Environmental Quality. Available at the following 
Internet address: 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/coastal/coastalgems.html.  

NOTE: This website is maintained by the department. 
Assistance and information may be obtained by contacting 
Virginia Coastal Zone Management Program, Virginia 
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 E. Main Street, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219, (804) 698-4000. 

2. Natural Landscape Assessment, 2010, Virginia 
Department of Conservation and Recreation. Available at 

the following Internet address: for detailed information on 
ecological cores go to 
http://www.dcr.virginia.gov/natural_heritage/vclnavnla.sht
m. Land maps may be viewed at DCR's Land Conservation 
Data Explorer Geographic Information System website at 
http://www.vaconservedlands.org/gis.aspx.  

NOTE: The website is maintained by DCR. Actual 
shapefiles and metadata are available for free by contacting 
a DCR staff person at vaconslands@dcr.virginia.gov or 
DCR, Division of Natural Heritage, 217 Governor Street, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219, (804) 786-7951. 

3. [ Virginia ] Fish and Wildlife Information Service [ or 
Wildlife Environmental Review Map Service ], 2010, 
Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries. 
Available at the following Internet address: 
http://www.vafwis.org/fwis/. 

NOTE: This website is maintained by DGIF and [ it 
requires registration for use is accessible to the public as 
"visitors" or to registered subscribers. Registration, 
however, is required for access to resource-specific or 
species-specific locational data and records ]. Assistance 
and information may be obtained by contacting DGIF, Fish 
and Wildlife [ Information ] Service, 4010 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, Virginia 23230, [ (804) 367-1000 (804) 
367-6913 ].  

Part III 
Notification [ and Other ] Provisions [ for Projects of 5 

Megawatts or Less ]  

9VAC15-40-130. Small wind energy projects [ less than 
of ] 5 megawatts [ or less ]. 

[ A. ] The owner or operator of a small wind energy project 
with a rated capacity equal to or less than 500 kilowatts is not 
required to submit any notification or certification to the 
department. 

[ B. ] The owner or operator of a small wind energy project 
with a rated capacity greater than 500 kilowatts and [ equal to 
or ] less than 5 megawatts shall [ notify : 

1. Notify ] the department by submitting a certification by 
the governing body of the locality or localities wherein the 
project will be located that the project complies with all 
applicable land use ordinances and applicable local 
government requirements [ ; and 

2. For projects located in part or in whole within zones 1, 
2, 3, 4, 5, 10, 11, 12, or 14 on the Coastal Avian Protection 
Zones (CAPZ) map, contribute $1,000 per megawatt of 
rated capacity, or partial megawatt thereof, to a fund 
designated by the department in support of scientific 
research investigating the impacts of projects in CAPZ on 
avian resources ]. 
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Part IV 
Enforcement 

9VAC15-40-140. Enforcement. 

The department may enforce the provisions of this chapter 
and any permits by rule authorized under this chapter in 
accordance with §§ 10.1-1197.9, 10.1-1197.10, and 10.1-
1197.11 of the Code of Virginia. In so doing, the department 
may: 

1. Issue directives in accordance with the law;  

2. Issue special orders in accordance with the law;  

3. Issue emergency special orders in accordance with the 
law;  

4. Seek injunction, mandamus or other appropriate remedy 
as authorized by the law;  

5. Seek civil penalties under the law; or  

6. Seek remedies under the law, or under other laws 
including the common law.  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(9VAC15-40) 

The Natural Communities of Virginia, Classification of 
Ecological Community Groups, Second Approximation 
(Version [ 2.2), 2006 2.3), 2010 ], Virginia Department of 
Conservation and Recreation, Division of Natural Heritage, 
Richmond, [ VA Virginia ].  

Virginia Outdoors Plan, 2007, Virginia Department of 
Conservation and Recreation, Richmond, Virginia.  

Virginia's Comprehensive Wildlife Conservation Strategy, 
2005, Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 
Richmond, Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-2090; Filed November 2, 2010, 1:04 p.m.  

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-260. Water Quality 
Standards (amending 9VAC25-260-185).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 33 
USC § 1251 et seq. of the federal Clean Water Act; 40 CFR 
Part 131. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: December 22, 2010. 

Effective Date: January 6, 2011.  

Agency Contact: Alan Pollock, Department of Environmental 
Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, 

VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4002, FAX (804) 698-4116, 
or email alan.pollock@deq.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia mandates 
and authorizes the State Water Control Board to establish 
water quality standards and policies for any state waters 
consistent with the purpose and general policy of the State 
Water Control Law, and to modify, amend, or cancel any 
such standards or policies established. The federal Clean 
Water Act at § 303(c) mandates the State Water Control 
Board to review and, as appropriate, modify and adopt water 
quality standards. The promulgating entity is the State Water 
Control Board. 

The corresponding federal water quality standards regulation 
at 40 CFR 131.6 describes the minimum requirements for 
water quality standards. The minimum requirements are use 
designations, water quality criteria to protect the designated 
uses, and an antidegradation policy. All of the citations 
mentioned describe mandates for water quality standards. 

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Water 
Quality Standards regulation (40 CFR 131.11) is the 
regulatory basis for the EPA requiring states to establish 
water quality criteria to protect designated uses and the 
criteria are used to assess whether a waterbody is meeting 
those uses. 

Purpose: The proposed amendments to the regulation are 
essential to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the 
citizens of the Commonwealth by protecting the water quality 
and living resources of the Chesapeake Bay and its tidal 
rivers. EPA has continued to refine the assessment procedures 
as scientific research and management applications reveal 
new insights and knowledge about the Chesapeake Bay. The 
EPA's procedure documents being incorporated into Virginia 
regulation by this action replace or otherwise supersede 
similar criteria assessment procedures published in earlier 
documents, but not all of them. Therefore, it is necessary for 
the Virginia water quality standards to refer to each of the 
addenda published by EPA. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The proposed 
amendment to 9VAC25-260-185 B references assessment 
protocol documents published by EPA. These protocols have 
been developed by EPA through a collaborative process 
within the Chesapeake Bay Program. Other amendments are 
to correct reference to water quality standard sections, 
misspellings, and grammar and to add clarity. The proposed 
amendments are expected to be non-controversial and 
therefore justify using the fast track process.  

Substance: The proposed substantive amendment to 
9VAC25-260-185 B of the Water Quality Standards is a 
reference to the October 2007, September 2008, and May 
2010 Chesapeake Bay Criteria Assessment Protocols 
Addenda. These recently published protocols are being used 
by EPA to develop the total maximum daily loads (TMDLs) 
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for the Chesapeake Bay and its tidal rivers. TMDLs must be 
developed in accordance with approved water quality 
standards. Therefore, it is necessary for the Virginia water 
quality standards to refer to each of the addenda published by 
EPA. 

Issues: There are no primary advantages or disadvantages to 
the public. The primary advantage to the agency and the 
Commonwealth is having improved methods for assessing 
attainment of designated uses in the Chesapeake Bay. There 
is no disadvantage to the agency or the Commonwealth that 
will result from the adoption of this amendment. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
State Water Control Board (Board) proposes to incorporate 
the latest United States Environmental Protection Agency 
(EPA) Chesapeake Bay Criteria Assessment Protocols 
Addenda into these regulations. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. In reference to whether various 
specified criteria for the protection of the Chesapeake Bay are 
met, the current and proposed regulations state that  

Attainment of these criteria shall be assessed through 
comparison of the generated cumulative frequency 
distribution of the monitoring data to the applicable 
criteria reference curve for each designated use. If the 
monitoring data cumulative frequency curve is 
completely contained inside the reference curve, then the 
segment is in attainment of the designated use. 

The regulations list the EPA documents that specify the 
reference curves and procedures to be followed. The Board 
proposes to add the October 2007, September 2008, and May 
2010 Chesapeake Bay Criteria Assessment Protocols 
Addenda to the list of EPA documents that specify the 
reference curves and procedures to be followed.  

In practice this will produce three changes. First, chlorophyll 
level data will be averaged with a geometric mean rather than 
an arithmetic mean. This will reduce the likelihood that a 
spike in the data will produce an average that is not reflective 
of the most common data readings. This will slightly reduce 
the chance that chlorophyll levels for a Chesapeake Bay 
segment will be deemed unacceptable due to a single outlier 
reading. Second, a different methodology that will more 
accurately reflect levels of dissolved oxygen will be used. 
Third, reference curves have been updated to reflect the best 
current available information. Neither the different 
methodology for measuring dissolved oxygen nor the 
updating of reference curves is expected to greatly affect the 
likelihood of whether a Chesapeake Bay segment will be 
deemed to be meeting water quality standards, but will be 

beneficial in that the accuracy of information produced for 
consideration will likely be moderately improved.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. These regulations affect 
entities with point source permitted discharges greater than 
0.5 million gallons per day (MGD) with nutrients and oxygen 
demanding substances in their discharge. This includes 
sewage treatment plants, food processing (poultry and 
seafood), chemical and pulp and paper industries.  

Localities Particularly Affected. These regulations 
particularly affect localities containing or adjacent to the 
Chesapeake Bay, Potomac River, Rappahannock River, 
Corrotoman River, Piankatank River, Mattaponi River, 
Pamunkey River, York River, Mobjack Bay, James River, 
Appomattox River, Chickahominy River, Elizabeth River, 
Lafayette River, Lynnhaven River, Pocomoke River, and 
Tangier Sound. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the 
use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
amendments are unlikely to significantly affect small 
businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments are unlikely to 
significantly affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect real estate development 
costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 
(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 



Regulations 

Volume 27, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 22, 2010 

654 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The department has 
reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared by the 
Department of Planning and Budget and has no comment. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendment to the Chesapeake Bay nutrient 
criteria section (9VAC25-260-185) of the Water Quality 
Standards regulation incorporates the October 2007, 
September 2008, and May 2010 Chesapeake Bay Criteria 
Assessment Protocols Addenda. The amendment also 
corrects grammatical errors to footnote 1 of 9VAC25-260-
185 B and in 9VAC25-260-185 D 1. 

9VAC25-260-185. Criteria to protect designated uses from 
the impacts of nutrients and suspended sediment in the 
Chesapeake Bay and its tidal tributaries.  

A. Dissolved oxygen.  

Designated 
Use 

Criteria Concentration/ 
Duration 

Temporal 
Application 

7-day mean ≥ 6 mg/l 
(tidal habitats with 0-0.5 
ppt salinity) 

Migratory 
fish 
spawning 
and nursery Instantaneous minimum 

≥ 5 mg/l 

February 1 - May 
31 

30 day mean ≥ 5.5 mg/l 
(tidal habitats with 0-0.5 
ppt salinity) 

30 day mean ≥ 5 mg/l 
(tidal habitats with > 0.5 
ppt salinity) 

7 day mean ≥ 4 mg/l Open water1 

Instantaneous minimum 
≥ 3.2 mg/l at 
temperatures < 29°C 

Instantaneous minimum 
≥ 4.3 mg/l at 
temperatures ≥ 29°C 

year-round2  

30 day mean ≥ 3 mg/l 

1 day mean ≥ 2.3 mg/l Deep water 

Instantaneous minimum 
≥ 1.7 mg/l 

June 1 - 
September 30  

Deep 
channel 

Instantaneous minimum 
≥ 1 mg/l 

June 1 - 
September 30 

1In applying this open water instantaneous criterion to the 
Chesapeake Bay and its tidal tributaries where the existing water 
quality for dissolved oxygen exceeds an instantaneous minimum 
of 3.2 mg/l, that higher water quality for dissolved oxygen shall be 
provided antidegradation protection in accordance with 9 VAC 25-
610-30 A 2 9VAC25-260-30 A 2. 
2Open-water dissolved oxygen criteria attainment is assessed 
separately over two time periods: summer (June 1- September 30) 
and nonsummer (October 1-May 31) months. 

B. Submerged aquatic vegetation and water clarity. 
Attainment of the shallow-water submerged aquatic 
vegetation designated use shall be determined using any one 
of the following criteria:  

Designated 
Use 

Chesapeake 
Bay 

Program 
Segment 

SAV 
Acres1 

Percent 
Light-

Through-
Water2 

Water 
Clarity 
Acres1 

Temporal 
Applica-

tion 

CB5MH 7,633 22% 14,514 
April 1 - 

October 31 

CB6PH 1,267 22% 3,168 
March 1 - 
November 

30 

CB7PH 15,107 22% 34,085 
March 1 - 
November 

30 

CB8PH 11 22% 28 
March 1 - 
November 

30 

POTTF 2,093 13% 5,233 
April 1 - 

October 31 

POTOH 1,503 13% 3,758 
April 1 - 

October 31 

POTMH 4,250 22% 10,625 
April 1 - 

October 31 

RPPTF 66 13% 165 
April 1 - 

October 31 

RPPOH 4 13% 10 
April 1 - 

October 31 

RPPMH 1700 22% 5000 
April 1 - 

October 31 

CRRMH 768 22% 1,920 
April 1 - 

October 31 

PIAMH 3,479 22% 8,014 
April 1 - 

October 31 

MPNTF 85 13% 213 
April 1 - 

October 31 

MPNOH - - - - 

PMKTF 187 13% 468 
April 1 - 

October 31 

PMKOH - - - - 

Shallow 
Water 

Submerged 
Aquatic 

Vegetation 
Use 

YRKMH 239 22% 598 
April 1 - 

October 31 



Regulations 

Volume 27, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 22, 2010 

655 

YRKPH 2,793 22% 6,982 
March 1 - 
November 

30 

MOBPH 15,901 22% 33,990 
March 1 - 
November 

30 

JMSTF2 200 13% 500 
April 1 - 

October 31 

JMSTF1 1000 13% 2500 
April 1 - 

October 31 

APPTF 379 13% 948 
April 1 - 

October 31 

JMSOH 15 13% 38 
April 1 - 

October 31 

CHKOH 535 13% 1,338 
April 1 - 

October 31 

JMSMH 200 22% 500 
April 1 - 

October 31 

JMSPH 300 22% 750 
March 1 - 
November 

30 

WBEMH  - - - - 

SBEMH  - - - - 

EBEMH  - - - - 

ELIPH  - - - - 

LYNPH 107 22% 268 
March 1 - 
November 

30 

POCOH - - - - 

POCMH 4,066 22% 9,368 
April 1 - 

October 31 

TANMH 13,579 22% 22,064 
April 1 - 

October 31 

1The assessment period for SAV and water clarity acres 
shall be the single best year in the most recent three 
consecutive years. When three consecutive years of data are 
not available, a minimum of three years within the data 
assessment window shall be used.  
2Percent Light through Water = 100e(-KdZ) where Kd is water 
column light attenuation coefficient and can be measured 
directly or converted from a measured secchi depth where 
Kd = 1.45/secchi depth. Z = depth at location of 
measurement of Kd. 

C. Chlorophyll a.  

Designated 
Use 

Chlorophyll a Narrative 
Criterion 

Temporal 
Application 

Open Water 

Concentrations of 
chlorophyll a in free-
floating microscopic 
aquatic plants (algae) 
shall not exceed levels 
that result in undesirable 
or nuisance aquatic plant 
life, or render tidal waters 
unsuitable for the 
propagation and growth 
of a balanced, indigenous 
population of aquatic life 
or otherwise result in 
ecologically undesirable 
water quality conditions 
such as reduced water 
clarity, low dissolved 
oxygen, food supply 
imbalances, proliferation 
of species deemed 
potentially harmful to 
aquatic life or humans or 
aesthetically 
objectionable conditions. 

March 1 - 
September 30 

*See 9VAC25-260-310 special standard bb for numerical 
chlorophyll criteria for the tidal James River. 

D. Implementation.  

1. Chesapeake Bay program segmentation scheme as 
described in Chesapeake Bay Program, 2004 Chesapeake 
Bay Program Analytical Segmentation Scheme-Revisions, 
Decisions and Rationales: 1983—2003, CBP/TRS 268/04, 
EPA 903-R-04-008, Chesapeake Bay Program, Annapolis, 
Maryland, and the Chesapeake Bay Program published 
2005 addendum (CBP/TRS 278-06; EPA 903-R-05-004) is 
listed below and shall be used as the spatial assessment 
unit to determine attainment of the criteria in this section 
for each designated use. 

Chesapeake 
Bay Segment 
Description 

Segment 
Name1 

Chesapeake 
Bay Segment 
Description 

Segment 
Name1 

Lower Central 
Chesapeake 
Bay 

CB5MH Mobjack Bay MOBPH 

Western Lower 
Chesapeake 
Bay 

CB6PH Upper Tidal 
Fresh James 
River 

JMSTF2 

Eastern Lower 
Chesapeake 
Bay 

CB7PH Lower Tidal 
Fresh James 
River 

JMSTF1 



Regulations 

Volume 27, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 22, 2010 

656 

Mouth of the 
Chesapeake 
Bay 

CB8PH Appomattox 
River 

APPTF 

Upper Potomac 
River 

POTTF Middle James 
River 

JMSOH 

Middle 
Potomac River 

POTOH Chickahominy 
River 

CHKOH 

Lower 
Potomac River 

POTMH Lower James 
River 

JMSMH 

Upper 
Rappahannock 
River 

RPPTF Mouth of the 
James River 

JMSPH 

Middle 
Rapphannock 
Rappahannock 
River 

RPPOH Western 
Branch 
Elizabeth River 

WBEMH 

Lower 
Rapphannock 
Rappahannock 
River 

RPPMH Southern 
Branch 
Elizabeth River 

SBEMH 

Corrotoman 
River 

CRRMH Eastern Branch 
Elizabeth River 

EBEMH 

Piankatank 
River 

PIAMH Lafayette River LAFMH 

Upper 
Mattaponi 
River 

MPNTF Mouth of the 
Elizabeth River 

ELIPH 

Lower 
Mattaponi 
River 

MPNOH Lynnhaven 
River 

LYNPH 

Upper 
Pamunkey 
River 

PMKTF Middle 
Pocomoke 
River 

POCOH 

Lower 
Pamunkey 
River 

PMKOH Lower 
Pocomoke 
River 

POCMH 

Middle York 
River 

YRKMH Tangier Sound TANMH 

Lower York 
River 

YRKPH     

1First three letters of segment name represent Chesapeake 
Bay segment description, letters four and five represent the 
salinity regime of that segment (TF = Tidal Fresh, OH = 
Oligohaline, MH = Mesohaline and PH = Polyhaline) and a 
sixth space is reserved for subdivisions of that segment. 

2. The assessment period shall be the most recent three 
consecutive years. When three consecutive years of data 
are not available, a minimum of three years within the the 
data assessment window shall be used.  

3. Attainment of these criteria shall be assessed through 
comparison of the generated cumulative frequency 
distribution of the monitoring data to the applicable criteria 
reference curve for each designated use. If the monitoring 
data cumulative frequency curve is completely contained 
inside the reference curve, then the segment is in 
attainment of the designated use. The reference curves and 
procedures to be followed are published in the USEPA, 
Ambient Water Quality Criteria for Dissolved Oxygen, 
Water Clarity and Chlorophyll a for the Chesapeake Bay 
and Its Tidal Tributaries, EPA 903-R-03-002, April 2003 
and the 2004 (EPA 903-R-03-002 October 2004) and , 
2007 (CBA/TRS (CBP/TRS 285-07, EPA 903-R-07-003), 
2007 (CBP/TRS 288/07, EPA 903-R-07-005), 2008 
(CBP/TRS 290-08, EPA 903-R-08-001), and 2010 
(CBP/TRS 301-10, EPA 903-R-10-002) addenda. An 
exception to this requirement is in measuring attainment of 
the SAV and water clarity acres, which are compared 
directly to the criteria.  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(9VAC25-260) 

Chesapeake Bay Program Analytical Segmentation Scheme 
-- Revisions, Decisions and Rationales 1983-2003, EPA 903-
R-04-008, CBP/TRS 268/04, October 2004, US EPA Region 
III Chesapeake Bay Office. 

Chesapeake Bay Program Analytical Segmentation Scheme 
-- Revisions, Decisions and Rationales 1983-2003, EPA 903-
R-05-004, CBP/TRS 278-06, 2005 Addendum, December 
2005, US EPA Region III Chesapeake Bay Office. 

Ambient Water Quality Criteria for Dissolved Oxygen, 
Water Clarity and Chlorophyll a for the Chesapeake Bay and 
Its Tidal Tributaries, EPA 903-R-03-002, April 2003 and 
2004 Addendum, October 2004, US EPA Region III 
Chesapeake Bay Office 

Ambient Water Quality Criteria for Dissolved Oxygen, 
Water Clarity and Chlorophyll a for the Chesapeake Bay and 
Its Tidal Tributaries, EPA 903-R-07-003, CBP/TRS 285/07 
2007 Addendum, July 2007, US EPA Region III Chesapeake 
Bay Office. 

Technical Support Document for Identification of 
Chesapeake Bay Designated Uses and Attainability, EPA 
903-R-03-004, October 2003 and 2004 Addendum, October 
2004, US EPA Region III Chesapeake Bay Office. 

Ambient Water Quality Criteria for Dissolved Oxygen, 
Water Clarity and Chlorophyll a for the Chesapeake Bay and 
its Tidal Tributaries - 2007 Chlorophyll Criteria Addendum, 
EPA 903-R-07-005, CBP/TRS 288/07, November 2007, U.S. 
EPA Region III Chesapeake Bay Office. 

Ambient Water Quality Criteria for Dissolved Oxygen, 
Water Clarity and Chlorophyll a for the Chesapeake Bay and 
its Tidal Tributaries - 2008 Technical Support for Criteria 
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Assessment Protocols Addendum, EPA 903-R-08-001, 
CBP/TRS 290-08, September 2008, U.S. EPA Region III 
Chesapeake Bay Office. 

Ambient Water Quality Criteria for Dissolved Oxygen, 
Water Clarity and Chlorophyll a for the Chesapeake Bay and 
its Tidal Tributaries - 2010 Technical Support for Criteria 
Assessment Protocols Addendum, EPA 903-R-10-002, 
CBP/TRS 301-10, May 2010, U.S. EPA Region III 
Chesapeake Bay Office. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2439; Filed November 2, 2010, 1:06 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 10. FINANCE AND FINANCIAL 
INSTITUTIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 
of the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 10VAC5-200. Payday Lending 
(amending 10VAC5-200-100).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 6.2-1815 and 12.1-13 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 
upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 10, 2010. 

Agency Contact: E. J. Face, Jr., Bureau of Financial 
Institutions Commissioner, State Corporation Commission, 
P.O. Box 640, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-
9659, FAX (804) 371-9416, or email 
joe.face@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Based on Chapter 477 of the 2010 Acts of Assembly, which 
became effective on October 1, 2010, the State 
Corporation Commission is proposing changes to 
10VAC5-200-100, which governs the conduct of other 
business in payday lending offices. The amendments to 
10VAC5-200-100 A 2 prohibit the business of making 
loans under an open-end credit plan from a licensee's 
payday lending office. However, amendments to 10VAC5-
200-100 F retain certain conditions for open-end auto title 
lending because Chapter 477 permits lenders to continue 
collecting payments on their outstanding open-end auto 
title loans. Amendments to 10VAC5-200-100 B clarify the 

standards for approving the conduct of other business in 
payday lending offices, and the amendments to 10VAC5-
200-100 G prescribe the uniform conditions that would be 
applicable to conduct a motor vehicle title lending business 
from a licensee's payday lending office. An additional 
disclosure requirement is added at the end of 10VAC5-
200-100 J and K. Lastly, based on Chapter 794 of the 2010 
Acts of Assembly, which recodified Title 6.1 of the Code of 
Virginia as Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia effective 
October 1, 2010, the amendments update Code of Virginia 
citations.  

AT RICHMOND, NOVEMBER 2, 2010 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. BFI-2010-00253 

Ex Parte: In re: other business 
in payday lending offices 

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Section 6.2-1815 of the Code of Virginia provides that the 
State Corporation Commission ("Commission") shall adopt 
such regulations as it deems appropriate to effect the purposes 
of Chapter 18 (§ 6.2-1800 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code of 
Virginia. The Commission's payday lending regulations are 
set forth in Title 10 of the Virginia Administrative Code. 

The Bureau of Financial Institutions ("Bureau") has 
submitted to the Commission proposed amendments to 
10 VAC 5-200-100 ("Section 100") of the Virginia 
Administrative Code, which governs the conduct of other 
business in payday lending offices. The impetus for the 
proposed amendments is Chapter 477 of the 2010 Virginia 
Acts of Assembly ("Chapter 477"), which became effective 
on October 1, 2010, and primarily established a licensing and 
regulatory framework for motor vehicle title lenders and 
motor vehicle title loans. More significant to Section 100 is 
that Chapter 477 also amended Virginia's open-end lending 
statute, § 6.2-312 of the Code of Virginia (formerly § 6.1-
330.78 of the Code of Virginia). As amended, § 6.2-312 C 
provides in pertinent part as follows:  

(i) A licensee, as defined in § 6.2-1800, shall not engage in 
the extension of credit under an open-end credit plan 
described in this section and, (ii) a third party shall not 
engage in the extension of credit under an open-end credit 
plan described in this section at any office, suite, room, or 
place of business where a licensee conducts the business of 
making payday loans. 

The proposed regulation reflects this amendment, but retains 
certain conditions for open-end auto title lending because 
other business operators are permitted by Chapter 477 to 
continue collecting payments on any outstanding open-end 
loans. Also included in the proposal as a result of Chapter 477 
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is a set of uniform conditions that would be applicable to the 
conduct of a motor vehicle title lending business from a 
licensee's payday lending offices. Notably, the proposed 
conditions for motor vehicle title lending are largely a subset 
of the conditions in Section 100 that have been applicable to 
the conduct of an open-end auto title lending business from a 
licensee's payday lending offices. 

Another source of proposed changes to Section 100 is 
10 VAC 5-210-70 of the Virginia Administrative Code, 
which was adopted by the Commission effective October 1, 
2010, and governs the conduct of other business in motor 
vehicle title lending offices. Although 10 VAC 5-210-70 was 
initially proposed to mirror Section 100, the Commission 
ultimately clarified the standards for approving other business 
in motor vehicle title lending offices (subsection B) and 
added a disclosure requirement at the end of subsections E, H, 
and I when it adopted 10 VAC 5-210-70. Accordingly, in 
order to similarly clarify Section 100 and promote 
consistency between these two regulations, the proposal also 
includes modifications that track the Commission's changes 
to 10 VAC 5-210-70. 

Lastly, based on Chapter 794 of the 2010 Virginia Acts of 
Assembly, which recodified Title 6.1 of the Code of Virginia 
as Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia effective October 1, 2010, 
the Bureau is also proposing to update the affected statutory 
references that are found throughout Section 100. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, based on the information 
supplied by the Bureau, is of the opinion and finds that the 
proposed regulation should be considered for adoption with 
an effective date of January 1, 2011. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed regulation, entitled "Other Business in 
Payday Lending Offices," is appended hereto and made a part 
of the record herein. 

(2) Comments or requests for a hearing on the proposed 
regulation must be submitted in writing to Joel H. Peck, 
Clerk, State Corporation Commission, c/o Document Control 
Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218, on or 
before December 10, 2010. Requests for a hearing shall state 
why a hearing is necessary and why the issues cannot be 
adequately addressed in written comments. All 
correspondence shall contain a reference to Case No. BFI-
2010-00253. Interested persons desiring to submit comments 
or request a hearing electronically may do so by following the 
instructions available at the Commission's website: 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(3) This Order and the attached proposed regulation shall be 
posted on the Commission's website at 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(4) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
shall send a copy of this Order, including a copy of the 

attached proposed regulation, to the Virginia Registrar of 
Regulations for publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof, together with a copy of the 
proposed regulation, shall be sent by the Clerk of the 
Commission to the Commission's Office of General Counsel 
and the Commissioner of Financial Institutions, who shall 
send a copy of this Order, together with a copy of the 
proposed regulation, to all licensed payday lenders and other 
interested parties designated by the Bureau. 

10VAC5-200-100. Other business in payday lending 
offices. 

A. This section governs the conduct of any business other 
than payday lending where a licensed payday lending 
business is conducted. As used in this section, the term "other 
business operator" refers to a licensed payday lender or third 
party, including an affiliate of the licensed payday lender, 
who conducts or wants to conduct other business from one or 
more payday lending offices. 

1. Pursuant to § 6.1-463 6.2-1820 of the Code of Virginia, 
a licensee shall not conduct the business of making payday 
loans at any office, suite, room, or place of business where 
any other business is solicited or conducted, except a 
registered check cashing business or such other business as 
the commission determines should be permitted, and 
subject to such conditions as the commission deems 
necessary and in the public interest. 

2. Notwithstanding any provision of this section or order 
entered by the commission prior to February October 1, 
2010, the following other businesses shall not be 
conducted from any office, suite, room, or place of 
business where a licensed payday lending business is 
conducted: 

a. Selling insurance or enrolling borrowers under group 
insurance policies. 

b. Making loans under an open-end credit or similar plan 
as described in § 6.1-330.78 6.2-312 of the Code of 
Virginia unless the loans are secured by a security 
interest in a motor vehicle as this term is defined in 
§ 46.2-100 of the Code of Virginia. However, if prior to 
October 1, 2010, a licensee received commission 
authority for an other business operator to conduct open-
end credit business or open-end auto title lending 
business from the licensee's payday lending offices, the 
other business operator may continue collecting 
payments on any outstanding open-end loans (i) in 
accordance with the terms of its existing open-end credit 
agreements and (ii) subject to the conditions imposed by 
this section. 

3. Pursuant to § 6.1-439 6.2-2107 of the Code of Virginia, 
no person registered or required to be registered as a check 
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casher under Chapter 17 21 (§ 6.1-432 6.2-2100 et seq.) of 
Title 6.1 6.2 of the Code of Virginia shall make loans from 
any location, including an office, suite, room, or place of 
business where a licensed payday lending business is 
conducted, unless the person is licensed under the Act and 
the loans are made in accordance with the Act. 

B. Upon the filing of a written application, provision of any 
information relating to the application as the Commissioner 
of Financial Institutions may require, and payment of the fee 
required by law, No other business may shall be conducted in 
a location where a licensed licensee conducts a payday 
lending business is conducted if the commission finds that (i) 
unless the proposed other business is financial in nature; (ii) 
the proposed other business is in the public interest; (iii) and 
the licensee obtains prior approval from the commission. 
Applications for approval shall be made in writing on a form 
provided by the Commissioner of Financial Institutions, and 
shall be accompanied by payment of the fee required by law 
and any information relating to the application that the 
Commissioner of Financial Institutions may require. In acting 
upon an application, the commission shall consider (i) 
whether the other business operator has the general fitness to 
warrant belief that the business will be operated in accordance 
with law; and (iv) (ii) whether the applicant has been 
operating its payday lending business in accordance with the 
Act and this chapter; and (iii) any other factors that the 
commission deems relevant. The commission shall in its 
discretion determine whether a proposed other business is 
"financial in nature," and shall not be obliged to consider the 
meaning of this term under federal law. A business is 
financial in nature if it primarily deals with the offering of 
debt, money or credit, or services directly related thereto.  

C. Nonfinancial other business may be conducted pursuant 
to any order of the commission entered on or before June 15, 
2004. However, this subsection shall not be construed to 
authorize any person to begin engaging in such other business 
at payday lending locations where such other business was 
not conducted as of June 15, 2004.  

D. Written evidence of commission approval of each other 
business conducted by an other business operator should be 
maintained at each location where such other business is 
conducted.  

E. Except as otherwise provided in subsection N O of this 
section, all approved other businesses in payday lending 
offices shall be conducted in accordance with the following 
conditions: 

1. The licensee shall not make a payday loan to a borrower 
to enable the borrower to purchase or pay any amount 
owed in connection with the (i) goods or services sold, or 
(ii) loans offered, facilitated, or made, by the other 
business operator at the licensee's payday lending offices. 

2. The other business operator shall comply with all federal 
and state laws and regulations applicable to its other 
business, including any applicable licensing requirements. 

3. The other business operator shall not use or cause to be 
published any advertisement or other information that 
contains any false, misleading, or deceptive statement or 
representation concerning its other business, including the 
rates, terms, or conditions of the products, services, or 
loans that it offers. The other business operator shall not 
make or cause to be made any misrepresentation as to (i) 
its being licensed to conduct the other business, or (ii) the 
extent to which it is subject to supervision or regulation. 

4. The licensee shall not make a payday loan or vary the 
terms of a payday loan on the condition or requirement that 
a person also (i) purchase a good or service from, or (ii) 
obtain a loan from or through, the other business operator. 
The other business operator shall not (a) sell its goods or 
services, (b) offer, facilitate, or make loans, or (c) vary the 
terms of its goods, services, or loans, on the condition or 
requirement that a person also obtain a payday loan from 
the licensee. 

5. The other business operator shall maintain books and 
records for its other business separate and apart from the 
licensee's payday lending business and in a different 
location within the licensee's payday lending offices. The 
bureau shall be given access to all such books and records 
and be furnished with any information and records that it 
may require in order to determine compliance with all 
applicable conditions, laws, and regulations. 

F. If a licensee (i) received commission authority for an 
other business operator to conduct open-end credit business 
or open-end auto title lending business from the licensee's 
payday lending offices, or (ii) receives commission authority 
for an other business operator to conduct open-end auto title 
lending business from the licensee's payday lending offices, 
the following additional conditions shall be applicable: 

1. Any loan made by the other business operator pursuant 
to an open-end credit agreement shall be secured by a 
security interest in a motor vehicle, as defined in § 46.2-
100 of the Code of Virginia The other business operator 
shall not (i) enter into any new open-end credit agreements 
or (ii) make any new loans pursuant to its existing open-
end credit agreements. 

2. The licensee shall not make a payday loan to a person if 
(i) the person has an outstanding open-end loan from the 
other business operator, or (ii) on the same day the person 
repaid or satisfied in full an open-end loan from the other 
business operator. 

3. The other business operator shall not make an open-end 
loan to a person pursuant to an open-end credit agreement 
if (i) the person has an outstanding payday loan from the 
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licensee, or (ii) on the same day the person repaid or 
satisfied in full a payday loan from the licensee. 

4. The other business operator and the licensee shall not 
make an open-end loan and a payday loan 
contemporaneously or in response to a single request for a 
loan or credit. 

5. The licensee and other business operator shall provide 
each applicant for a payday loan or open-end credit plan 
with a separate disclosure, signed by the applicant, that 
clearly identifies all of the loan products available in the 
licensee's payday lending offices along with the 
corresponding Annual Percentage Rate, interest rate, and 
other costs associated with each loan product. 

6. Upon entering into an open-end credit plan secured by a 
borrower's motor vehicle, the other business operator shall 
record its security interest with the Department of Motor 
Vehicles and maintain adequate supporting documentation 
thereof in its loan file. 

7. The other business operator shall not enter into an open-
end credit plan secured by a prospective borrower's motor 
vehicle if the motor vehicle is already subject to a purchase 
money security interest or other outstanding lien. The other 
business operator shall maintain adequate supporting 
documentation in its loan file that a borrower's motor 
vehicle was not subject to a purchase money security 
interest or other outstanding lien at the time the borrower 
entered into the open-end credit plan. 

G. If a licensee received or receives commission authority 
for an other business operator to conduct a motor vehicle title 
lending business from the licensee's payday lending offices, 
the following additional conditions shall be applicable: 

1. The other business operator shall be licensed or exempt 
from licensing under Chapter 22 (§ 6.2-2200 et seq.) of 
Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. The licensee shall not make a payday loan to a person if 
(i) the person has an outstanding motor vehicle title loan 
from the other business operator, or (ii) on the same day 
the person repaid or satisfied in full a motor vehicle title 
loan from the other business operator. 

3. The other business operator shall not make a motor 
vehicle title loan to a person if (i) the person has an 
outstanding payday loan from the licensee, or (ii) on the 
same day the person repaid or satisfied in full a payday 
loan from the licensee. 

4. The other business operator and the licensee shall not 
make a motor vehicle title loan and a payday loan 
contemporaneously or in response to a single request for a 
loan or credit. 

5. The licensee and other business operator shall provide 
each applicant for a payday loan or motor vehicle title loan 

with a separate disclosure, signed by the applicant, that 
clearly identifies all of the loan products available in the 
licensee's payday lending offices along with the 
corresponding Annual Percentage Rate, interest rate, and 
other costs associated with each loan product. The 
disclosure shall also identify the collateral, if any, that will 
be used to secure repayment of each loan product. 

H. If a licensee received or receives commission authority 
for an other business operator to conduct business as an 
authorized delegate or agent of a money order seller or money 
transmitter from the licensee's payday lending offices, the 
other business operator shall be and remain a party to a 
written agreement to act as an authorized delegate or agent of 
a person licensed or exempt from licensing as a money order 
seller or money transmitter under Chapter 12 19 (§ 6.1-370 
6.2-1900 et seq.) of Title 6.1 6.2 of the Code of Virginia. The 
other business operator shall not engage in money order sales 
or money transmission services on its own behalf or on behalf 
of any person other than a licensed or exempt money order 
seller or money transmitter with whom it has a written 
agreement. 

H. I. If a licensee received or receives commission authority 
for an other business operator to conduct the business of (i) 
tax preparation and electronic tax filing services, or (ii) 
facilitating third party tax preparation and electronic tax filing 
services, from the licensee's payday lending offices, the 
following additional conditions shall be applicable: 

1. The licensee shall not make, arrange, or broker a payday 
loan that is secured by an interest in a borrower's tax 
refund, or in whole or in part by (i) any other assignment 
of income payable to a borrower, or (ii) any assignment of 
an interest in a borrower's account at a depository 
institution. This condition shall not be construed to prohibit 
the licensee from making a payday loan that is secured 
solely by a check payable to the licensee drawn on a 
borrower's account at a depository institution. 

2. The other business operator shall not engage in the 
business of (i) accepting funds for transmission to the 
Internal Revenue Service or other government 
instrumentalities, or (ii) receiving tax refunds for delivery 
to individuals, unless licensed or exempt from licensing 
under Chapter 12 19 (§ 6.1-370 6.2-1900 et seq.) of Title 
6.1 6.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

I. J. If a licensee received or receives commission authority 
for an other business operator to conduct the business of 
facilitating or arranging tax refund anticipation loans or tax 
refund payments from the licensee's payday lending offices, 
the following additional conditions shall be applicable: 

1. The other business operator shall not facilitate or arrange 
a tax refund anticipation loan or tax refund payment to 
enable a person to pay any amount owed to the licensee as 
a result of a payday loan transaction. 
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2. The other business operator and the licensee shall not 
facilitate or arrange a tax refund anticipation loan or tax 
refund payment and make a payday loan 
contemporaneously or in response to a single request for a 
loan or credit. 

3. The licensee shall not make, arrange, or broker a payday 
loan that is secured by an interest in a borrower's tax 
refund, or in whole or in part by (i) any other assignment 
of income payable to a borrower, or (ii) any assignment of 
an interest in a borrower's account at a depository 
institution. This condition shall not be construed to prohibit 
the licensee from making a payday loan that is secured 
solely by a check payable to the licensee drawn on a 
borrower's account at a depository institution. 

4. The other business operator shall not engage in the 
business of receiving tax refunds or tax refund payments 
for delivery to individuals unless licensed or exempt from 
licensing under Chapter 12 19 (§ 6.1-370 6.2-1900 et seq.) 
of Title 6.1 6.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The licensee and other business operator shall provide 
each applicant for a payday loan or tax refund anticipation 
loan with a separate disclosure, signed by the applicant, 
that clearly identifies all of the loan products available in 
the licensee's payday lending offices along with the 
corresponding Annual Percentage Rate, interest rate, and 
other costs associated with each loan product. The 
disclosure shall also identify the collateral, if any, that will 
be used to secure repayment of each loan product. 

J. K. If a licensee received or receives commission authority 
for an other business operator to conduct a consumer finance 
business from the licensee's payday lending offices, the 
following additional conditions shall be applicable: 

1. The licensee shall not make a payday loan to a person if 
(i) the person has an outstanding consumer finance loan 
from the other business operator, or (ii) on the same day 
the person repaid or satisfied in full a consumer finance 
loan from the other business operator. 

2. The other business operator shall not make a consumer 
finance loan to a person if (i) the person has an outstanding 
payday loan from the licensee, or (ii) on the same day the 
person repaid or satisfied in full a payday loan from the 
licensee. 

3. The licensee and other business operator shall not make 
a payday loan and a consumer finance loan 
contemporaneously or in response to a single request for a 
loan or credit. 

4. The licensee and other business operator shall provide 
each applicant for a payday loan or consumer finance loan 
with a separate disclosure, signed by the applicant, that 
clearly identifies all of the loan products available in the 
licensee's payday lending offices along with the 

corresponding Annual Percentage Rate, interest rate, and 
other costs associated with each loan product. The 
disclosure shall also identify the collateral, if any, that will 
be used to secure repayment of each loan product. 

K. L. If a licensee received or receives commission authority 
for an other business operator to conduct the business of 
operating an automated teller machine from the licensee's 
payday lending offices, the other business operator shall not 
charge a fee or receive other compensation in connection with 
the use of its automated teller machine by a person when the 
person is withdrawing funds in order to make a payment on a 
payday loan from the licensee. 

L. M. The commission may impose any additional 
conditions upon the conduct of other business in payday 
lending offices that it deems necessary and in the public 
interest. 

M. N. Except as otherwise provided in subsection N O of 
this section, the conditions set forth or referred to in 
subsections E through L M of this section shall supersede the 
conditions set forth in the commission's approval orders 
entered prior to February 1, 2010 January 1, 2011. 

N. O. If prior to February 1, 2010 January 1, 2011, a 
licensee received commission authority for an other business 
operator to conduct a business not identified in subsections F 
through K L of this section, the conditions that were imposed 
by the commission at the time of the approval shall remain in 
full force and effect.  

O. P. Failure by a licensee or other business operator to 
comply with any provision of this section or any condition 
imposed by the commission, or failure by a licensee to 
comply with the Act, this chapter, or any other law or 
regulation applicable to the conduct of the licensee's business, 
may result in the revocation of the authority to conduct other 
business, fines, license suspension, license revocation, or 
other appropriate or any form of enforcement action specified 
in 10VAC5-200-120. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2641; Filed November 2, 2010, 2:43 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 13. HOUSING 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Notice of Suspension of Regulatory Process and 
Additional Public Comment Period 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC5-51. Virginia Statewide Fire 
Prevention Code. 

Statutory Authority: § 27-97 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 22, 2010. 
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Notice is hereby given that, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 of the 
Code of Virginia, the Board of Housing and Community 
Development is suspending certain provisions of the final 
Virginia Statewide Fire Prevention Code (13VAC5-51) 
published in 27:2 VA.R. 183-217 September 27, 2010, and is 
soliciting additional comments on changes made to these 
specific provisions between publication of the proposed 
regulations and publication of the final regulations.  The 
specific provisions are set forth below. 

The additional 30-day comment period ends on December 22, 
2010. Written comment regarding these specific provisions 
may be submitted to the agency contact listed below.  

13VAC5-51-81 P 5 

5. Child day centers, assisted living facilities and adult day 
care centers licensed by the Virginia Department of Social 
Services based on licensed capacity as follows: 

5.1. $50 for 1 to 8. 

5.2. $75 for 9 to 20. 

5.3. $100 for 21 to 50. 

5.4. $200 for 51 to 100. 

5.5. $400 for 101 or more. 

13VAC5-51-131 E and F 

E. Change Section 315.1 to read: 

315.1. General. Storage shall be in accordance with this 
section. 

F. Change Section 315.2 to read: 

315.2. Storage in buildings. Storage of materials in 
buildings shall be orderly and stable. Storage of 
combustible materials shall be separated from heaters or 
heating devices by distance or shielding so that ignition 
cannot occur. 

13VAC5-51-133 C, H, and J 

C. Add exception to Section 503.2.1 to read: 

Exception: Fire apparatus access roads exclusively serving 
single family dwelling or townhouse developments that are 
fully sprinklered as provided for in Sections R313.1 or 
R313.2 of the International Residential Code shall have an 
unobstructed width of not less than 18 feet (5486 mm), 
exclusive of shoulders. 

H. Add Sections 507.3.1 and 507.3.2 to read: 

507.3.1. Fire flow requirements for fully sprinklered 
residential developments. Notwithstanding Section 
103.1.2, the fire flow requirements in Table B105.1 of 
Appendix B of the IFC, as modified by Section 507.3.2, 
shall be permitted to be used for determining fire flow in 
single family dwelling and townhouse developments which 

are fully sprinklered as provided for in Sections R313.1 or 
R313.2 of the International Residential Code. 

507.3.2. Modifications to Table B105.1. The first six rows 
of columns five and six of Table B105.1 of Appendix B of 
the IFC shall be modified as shown below for the use of 
Table B105.1 in Section 507.3.1. 

  
Type 5-B 

Fire-flow 
(gallons per minute) 

  0-5000 1000 

  5001-7200 1250 

  7201-8200 1500 

  8201-9500 1750 

  9501-11300 2000 

  11301-13000 2250 

J. Add Section 507.5.1.1 to read: 

507.5.1.1. Fire hydrant requirements for fully sprinklered 
residential developments. Notwithstanding Section 
103.1.2, the number and distribution of fire hydrants in 
Table C105.1 of Appendix C of the IFC shall be permitted 
to be used in single family dwelling and townhouse 
developments which are fully sprinklered as provided for 
in Sections R313.1 or R313.2 of the International 
Residential Code, with the spacing and distances of fire 
hydrants indicated in Table C105.1 increased by 100%. 

13VAC51-133.5 D 

D. Change Section 609.3.3.2 to read: 

609.3.3.2. Cleaning. Hoods, grease-removal devices, fans, 
ducts and other appurtenances shall be cleaned at intervals 
necessary to prevent the accumulation of grease based 
upon a written and posted cleaning schedule that shall be 
established and maintained on the premises by the owner 
or operator of the ventilation system. The schedule shall be 
originated by the owner or operator of the ventilation 
system based upon criteria particular to the cooking 
operation. Cleanings shall be recorded and the records 
shall state the extent, time and date of cleaning. 

Agency Contact: Stephen W. Calhoun, Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Housing and Community 
Development, Main Street Center, 600 East Main Street, 
Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-7000, 
FAX (804) 371-7090, TTY (804) 371-7089, or email 
steve.calhoun@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1893; Filed October 29, 2010, 9:51 a.m.  
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Notice of Suspension of Regulatory Process and 
Additional Comment Period 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC5-63. Virginia Uniform 
Statewide Building Code. 

Statutory Authority: § 36-98 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 22, 2010. 

Notice is hereby given that, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 of the 
Code of Virginia, the Board of Housing and Community 
Development is suspending certain provisions of the final 
Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63) 
published in 27:2 VA.R. 217-342 September 27, 2010, and is 
soliciting additional comments on changes made to these 
specific provisions between publication of the proposed 
regulations and publication of the final regulations.  The 
specific provisions are set forth below. 

The additional 30-day comment period ends on December 22, 
2010. Written comment regarding these specific provisions 
may be submitted to the agency contact listed below.  

13VAC5-63-210 M 68 and M 69 

68. Change Section E3802.4 to read: 

E3802.4 In unfinished basements. Where type SE or NM 
cable is run at angles with joists in unfinished basements, 
cable assemblies containing two or more conductors of 
sizes 6 AWG and larger and assemblies containing three 
or more conductors of sizes 8 AWG and larger shall not 
require additional protection where attached directly to 
the bottom of the joists. Smaller cables shall be run either 
through bored holes in joists or on running boards. NM 
cable installed on the wall of an unfinished basement 
shall be permitted to be installed in a listed conduit or 
tubing or shall be protected in accordance with Table 
E3802.1. Conduit or tubing shall be provided with a 
suitable insulating bushing or adapter at the point the 
where cable enters the raceway. The NM or SE cable 
sheath shall extend through the conduit or tubing and into 
the outlet or device box not less than 1/4 inch (6.4 mm). 
The cable shall be secured within 12 inches (305 mm) of 
the point where the cable enters the conduit or tubing. 
Metal conduit, tubing, and metal outlet boxes shall be 
connected to an equipment grounding conductor. 

69. Change Section E3902.11 to read: 

E3902.11 Arc-fault protection of bedroom outlets. All 
branch circuits that supply 120-volt, single phase, 15-
ampere and 20-ampere outlets installed in bedrooms shall 
be protected by a combination type arc-fault circuit 
interrupter installed to provide protection of the branch 
circuit. 

Exceptions: 

1. Where a combination AFCI is installed at the first 
outlet to provide protection for the remaining portion of 

the branch circuit, the portion of the branch circuit 
between the branch-circuit overcurrent device and such 
outlet shall be wired with metal outlet and junction boxes 
and RMC, IMC, EMT or steel armored cable, Type AC 
meeting the requirements of Section E3908.8. 

2. AFCI protection is not required for a branch circuit 
supplying only a fire alarm system where the branch 
circuit is wired with metal outlet and junction boxes and 
RMC, IMC, EMT or steel armored cable Type AC 
meeting the requirements of Section E3908.8. 

13VAC5-63-240 E, L, and Q 

E. Change Section 903.2.3 of the IBC to read: 

903.2.3 Group E. An automatic sprinkler system shall be 
provided for Group E occupancies as follows: 

1. Throughout all Group E fire areas greater than 20,000 
square feet (1858 m2) in area. 

2. Throughout every portion of educational buildings 
below the lowest level of exit discharge serving that 
portion of the building. 

Exception: An automatic sprinkler system is not required 
in any area below the lowest level of exit discharge serving 
that area where every classroom throughout the building 
has at least one exterior exit door at ground level. 

L. Change Item 1 of Section 906.1 of the IBC to read: 

906.1 General. Portable fire extinguishers shall be 
provided in occupancies and locations as required by the 
International Fire Code. 

1. In Group A, B, E, F, H, I, M, R-1, R-4, and S 
occupancies. 

[ Exceptions Exception ]:[ 1. ] Group R-2 occupancies [ In 
Group A, B, and E occupancies equipped throughout with 
quick response sprinklers, portable fire extinguishers shall 
be required only in locations specified in Items 2 through 
6. 2. ] In Group I-3 occupancies, portable fire extinguishers 
shall be permitted to be located at staff locations and the 
access to such extinguishers shall be permitted to be 
locked. 

Q. Change Section 911.1.3 of the IBC to read: 

911.1.3 Size. The fire command center shall be a minimum 
of 96 square feet (9 m2) in area with a minimum dimension 
of eight feet (2438 mm). 

Exception: Where it is determined by the building official, 
after consultation with the fire chief, that specific building 
characteristics require a larger fire command center, the 
building official may increase the minimum required size 
of the fire command center up to 200 square feet (19 m2) in 
area with a minimum dimension of up to 10 feet (3048 
mm). 
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13VAC5-63-245 B 

B. Change Section 1005.1 of the IBC to read: 

1005.1 Minimum required egress width. The means of 
egress width shall not be less than required by this section. 
The total width of means of egress in inches (mm) shall not 
be less than the total occupant load served by the means of 
egress multiplied by 0.3 inches (7.62 mm) per occupant for 
stairways and by 0.2 inches (5.08 mm) per occupant for 
other egress components. The width shall not be less than 
specified elsewhere in this code. Multiple means of egress 
shall be sized such that the loss of any one means of egress 
shall not reduce the available capacity to less than 50% of 
the required capacity. The maximum capacity required 
from any story of a building shall be maintained to the 
termination of the means of egress. 

Exceptions: 

1. Means of egress complying with Section 1028. 

2. For occupancies other than Groups H-1, H-2, H-3, H-4 
and I-2, in buildings equipped with an automatic 
sprinkler system installed in accordance with Section 
903.3.1.1 or 903.3.1.2, the total width of means of egress 
in inches (mm) shall not be less than the total occupant 
load served by the means of egress multiplied by 0.2 
inches (5.08 mm) per occupant for stairways and by 0.15 
inches (3.81 mm) per occupant for other egress 
components. 

Agency Contact: Stephen W. Calhoun, Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Housing and Community 
Development, Main Street Center, 600 East Main Street, 
Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-7000, 
FAX (804) 371-7090, TTY (804) 371-7089, or email 
steve.calhoun@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1894; Filed October 29, 2010, 9:51 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 
of the powers of a court of record. 

Titles of Regulations: 14VAC5-40. Rules Governing Life 
Insurance and Annuity Marketing Practices (repealing 
14VAC5-40-10 through 14VAC5-40-80). 

14VAC5-41. Rules Governing Advertisment of Life 
Insurance and Annuities (adding 14VAC5-41-10 through 
14VAC5-41-160). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 
upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 17, 2010. 

Agency Contact: Weldon Hazlewood, Principal Market 
Examiner, Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation 
Commission, P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (804) 371-9047, FAX (804) 371-9944, or email 
weldon.hazlewood@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The repeal of 14VAC5-40 is necessary because the rules 
are outdated and many provisions are no longer 
applicable to current advertising practices. The proposed 
rules in 14VAC5-41 address and clarify many of the 
advertisement requirements found in the Code of Virginia, 
retain some of the provisions from Chapter 40, and more 
closely follow the National Association of Insurance 
Commissioners' Model Regulation on this subject. The 
proposed rules (i) establish the form and content of 
advertisements; (ii) establish general disclosure 
requirements; (iii) set standards for advertisements 
regarding information on premiums, nonguaranteed policy 
elements and benefits, policy costs and cost comparison, 
insurer identity, testimonials, and introductory or special 
offers; and (iv) establish requirements for policies sold to 
students, licensing, and approval and records 
maintenance. It is anticipated that these regulations will 
become effective July 1, 2011.  

 

AT RICHMOND, OCTOBER 20, 2010 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 

At the relation of the 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2010-00214 

Ex Parte: In the matter of 
Repealing and Adopting New 
Rules Governing Advertisement 
of Life Insurance and Annuities 

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Section 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia provides that the 
State Corporation Commission ("Commission") shall have 
the power to promulgate rules and regulations in the 
enforcement and administration of all laws within its 
jurisdiction, and § 38.2-223 of the Code of Virginia provides 
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that the Commission may issue any rules and regulations 
necessary or appropriate for the administration and 
enforcement of Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

The rules and regulations issued by the Commission 
pursuant to § 38.2-223 of the Code of Virginia are set forth in 
Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code. 

The Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") has submitted to the 
Commission a proposal to repeal Chapter 40 of Title 14 of the 
Virginia Administrative Code entitled Rules Governing Life 
Insurance and Annuity Marketing Practices ("Rules"), which 
are set out at 14 VAC 5-40-10 through 14 VAC 5-40-80, and 
proposes a new chapter, Chapter 41 of Title 14 of the Virginia 
Administrative Code entitled Rules Governing Advertisement 
of Life Insurance and Annuities ("Proposed Rules") set forth 
at 14 VAC 5-41-10 through 14 VAC 5-41-160. 

The repeal of Chapter 40 is necessary because the Rules are 
old and outdated, and many provisions are no longer 
applicable to current advertisement practices. 

The Proposed Rules in Chapter 41 address and clarify many 
of the advertisement requirements found in the Code of 
Virginia, retain some of the provisions from Chapter 40, and 
more closely follow the National Association of Insurance 
Commissioners' (NAIC) Model Regulation on this subject. 
The Proposed Rules establish the form and content of 
advertisements and general disclosure requirements, set 
standards for advertisements that include information on 
premiums, nonguaranteed policy elements and benefits, 
address policy costs and cost comparison requirements, 
insurer identity, advertisements using testimonials or offering 
introductory or special offers, requirements for policies sold 
to students and licensing, as well as approval and records 
maintenance requirements.  

The Commission is of the opinion that the Rules contained 
in Chapter 40 of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code 
should be repealed, and the Proposed Rules at Chapter 41 of 
Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code should be 
considered for adoption.  

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposal that Chapter 40 of Title 14 of the Virginia 
Administrative Code set out at 14 VAC 5-40-10 through 
14 VAC 5-40-80 be repealed and a new chapter proposed at 
Chapter 41 of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code 
set forth at 14 VAC 5-41-10 through 14 VAC 5-41-160, be 
attached hereto and made a part hereof. 

(2) All interested persons who desire to comment in support 
of or in opposition to, or request a hearing to oppose the 
repeal of Chapter 40 and the adoption of the proposed new 
Chapter 41 shall file such comments or hearing request on or 
before December 17, 2010, with the Clerk of the 
Commission, Document Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, 
Richmond, Virginia 23218 and shall refer to Case No. INS-

2010-00214. Interested persons desiring to submit comments 
electronically may do so by following the instructions at the 
Commission's website: 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/caseinfo.htm. 

(3) If no written request for a hearing on the proposed repeal 
and adoption of new rules is filed on or before December 17, 
2010, the Commission, upon consideration of any comments 
submitted in support of or in opposition to the proposal, may 
repeal Chapter 40 and adopt proposed Chapter 41 of Title 14 
of the Virginia Administrative Code as proposed by the 
Bureau of Insurance. 

(4) AN ATTESTED COPY hereof, together with a copy of 
the proposal to repeal and adopt new rules, shall be sent by 
the Clerk of the Commission to the Bureau of Insurance in 
care of Deputy Commissioner Jacqueline K. Cunningham, 
who forthwith shall give further notice of the proposal to 
repeal and adopt new rules by mailing a copy of this Order, 
together with the proposal, to all insurers licensed by the 
Commission to write life insurance and annuity contracts in 
the Commonwealth of Virginia, as well as all interested 
parties. 

(5) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
forthwith shall cause a copy of this Order, together with the 
proposal to repeal and adopt new rules, to be forwarded to the 
Virginia Registrar of Regulations for appropriate publication 
in the Virginia Register of Regulations.  

(6) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
shall make available this Order and the attached proposed 
revisions to the Rules on the Commission's website: 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(7) The Bureau of Insurance shall file with the Clerk of the 
Commission an affidavit of compliance with the notice 
requirements of paragraph (4) above. 

CHAPTER 41 
RULES GOVERNING ADVERTISEMENT OF LIFE 

INSURANCE AND ANNUITIES 

14VAC5-41-10. Purpose and applicability. 

A. The purpose of this chapter is to set forth minimum 
standards and guidelines to assure a full and truthful 
disclosure to the public of all material and relevant 
information in the advertising of life insurance policies and 
annuity contracts. 

B. All advertisements, regardless of by whom written, 
created, designed, or presented, shall be the responsibility of 
the insurer or the agent who created or presented the 
advertisement. 

C. This chapter shall apply to any life insurance or annuity 
advertisement intended for dissemination in this 
Commonwealth. In variable contracts where disclosure 
requirements are established pursuant to federal regulation, 
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this chapter shall be interpreted to eliminate any conflict with 
federal regulation. 

14VAC5-41-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meaning unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Advertisement" means any marketing communication that 
is oral, printed, written, or other material of any type from 
any source that is used by an agent or insurer and that is 
designed to create or has the effect of creating public interest 
in life insurance or annuities, or induces or tends to induce the 
public to purchase, increase, modify, reinstate, borrow on, 
surrender, replace, or retain a policy including, but not limited 
to:  

1. Printed or published material, audiovisual material, 
mailing envelopes, or descriptive literature of an insurer or 
agent used in direct mail, newspapers, magazines, radio, 
telephone and television scripts, billboards or similar 
displays, websites and other Internet displays or 
communications, social media, or other forms of electronic 
communications;  

2. Descriptive literature and sales aids of all kinds, 
authored by the insurer, its agents, or third parties, issued, 
distributed, or used by an insurer or agent including but not 
limited to circulars, booklets, illustrations, form letters, 
pamphlets, brochures, and books or portions thereof; 

3. Materials, statements, or communications of any type 
used for the recruitment, training, and education of an 
insurer's sales personnel and agents that are designed to be 
used or are used to induce the public to purchase, increase, 
modify, reinstate, borrow on, surrender, replace, or retain a 
policy; or  

4. Prepared or extemporaneous sales talks, presentations, 
and material for use or used by agents. 

"Advertisement" does not include:  

1. Communications or materials used within an insurer's 
own organization, not used as a sales aid, and not intended 
to be disseminated to the public;  

2. Communications with policyholders other than material 
urging them to purchase, increase, modify, reinstate, 
borrow on, surrender, replace, or retain a policy; or  

3. A general announcement from a group or blanket 
policyholder to eligible individuals on an employment or 
membership list that a policy or program has been written 
or arranged; provided the announcement clearly indicates 
that it is preliminary to the issuance of a booklet explaining 
the proposed coverage.  

"Agent" means a person defined in § 38.2-1800 of the Code 
of Virginia.  

"Commission" means the State Corporation Commission.  

"Contribution principle" means the dividend determination 
principle wherein aggregate divisible surplus is distributed or 
illustrated to be distributed among participating policies in the 
same proportion as the policies are considered to have 
contributed to divisible surplus.  

"Determinable policy elements" means elements that are 
derived from processes or methods that are guaranteed at 
issue and not subject to company discretion, but where the 
values or amounts cannot be determined until some point 
after issue. These elements include the premiums, credited 
interest rates (including any bonus), benefits, values, 
noninterest based credits, charges or elements of formulas 
used to determine any of these. These elements may be 
described as guaranteed but not determined at issue. An 
element is considered determinable if it was calculated from 
underlying determinable policy elements only, or from both 
determinable and guaranteed policy elements. 

"Guaranteed policy elements" means the premiums, 
benefits, values, credits or charges under a policy, or elements 
of formulas used to determine any of these that are 
guaranteed and determined at issue. 

"Home office" means either the insurer's home office or the 
principal executive or administrative office of the insurer 
from which policyholder services available to the citizens of 
this Commonwealth are directed or administered.  

"Insurer" means any person, corporation, association, 
partnership, reciprocal exchange, interinsurer, Lloyd's, 
fraternal benefit society, or any other legal entity that is 
defined as an "insurer" in the Code of Virginia.  

"Nonguaranteed policy elements" means the premiums, 
credited interest rates (including any bonus), benefits, values, 
noninterest based credits, charges or elements of formulas 
used to determine any of these, that are subject to company 
discretion and are not guaranteed at issue. An element is 
considered nonguaranteed if any of the underlying 
nonguaranteed elements are used in its calculation. 

"Policy" means any policy, plan, certificate including a 
fraternal benefit certificate, contract, agreement, statement of 
coverage, rider, or endorsement that provides for life 
insurance or annuity benefits unless otherwise specifically 
defined in this chapter.  

"Preneed funeral contract" means any agreement where 
payment is made by the consumer prior to the receipt of 
services or supplies contracted for, that evidences 
arrangements prior to death for (i) the providing of funeral 
services or (ii) the sale of funeral supplies. 

14VAC5-41-30. Form and content of advertisements. 

A. An advertisement shall not be combined or included with 
an advertisement of a product or service that is not life 
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insurance or an annuity that disguises, misleads, misinforms 
or otherwise minimizes the nature of the advertisement.  

B. An advertisement shall be truthful and not misleading in 
fact or by implication. The form and content of an 
advertisement shall be sufficiently accurate, complete, and 
clear so as to avoid deception. It shall not have the capacity or 
tendency to mislead or deceive. Whether an advertisement 
has the capacity or tendency to mislead or deceive shall be 
determined by the commission from the overall impression 
that the advertisement may be reasonably expected to create 
within the segment of the public to which it is directed. 

C. An advertisement shall not omit material information or 
use words, phrases, statements, references, or illustrations if 
the omission or use has the capacity, tendency, or effect of 
misleading or deceiving purchasers, prospective purchasers or 
policyowners as to the nature of their relationship with the 
insurer, or the nature or extent of any policy benefit, loss 
covered, premium payable, or state or federal tax 
consequences. The fact that the policy offered is made 
available to a prospective insured for inspection prior to 
consummation of the sale, or an offer is made to refund the 
premium if the purchaser is not satisfied, does not remedy 
misleading statements.  

D. An advertisement shall not make unfair, inaccurate, or 
incomplete comparisons of policies, benefits, dividends, or 
rates of other insurers. An advertisement shall not disparage 
or falsely or unfairly describe other insurers, agents, policies, 
services, or methods of marketing.  

E. An advertisement shall not use the terms "investment," 
"investment plan," "founder's plan," "charter plan," 
"expansion plan," "profit," "profits," "profit sharing," 
"deposit," "interest plan," "savings," "savings plan," 
"retirement plan," "private pension plan" or other similar 
terms in connection with a policy in a context or under 
circumstances or conditions as to have the capacity or 
tendency to mislead. 

F. An advertisement of a particular policy shall not state or 
imply that prospective insureds shall be or become members 
of a special class, group or quasi-group and as such enjoy 
special rates, dividends, or underwriting privileges, unless 
that is fact. 

14VAC5-41-40. General disclosure requirements. 

A. The information required to be disclosed by this chapter 
shall not be minimized, rendered obscure, or presented in an 
ambiguous fashion or intermingled with the text of an 
advertisement so as to confuse or mislead. 

B. If an advertisement uses the terms "nonmedical," "no 
medical examination required," or similar terms where issue 
is not guaranteed, these terms shall be accompanied by a 
further disclosure of equal prominence and juxtaposition to 

the effect that issuance of the policy may depend upon the 
answers to the health questions contained in the application. 

C. An advertisement shall not contain figures, dollar 
amounts, or statistical information unless it accurately reflects 
recent and relevant facts. The source of any figures, dollar 
amounts, or statistics used in advertisements shall be 
identified therein. 

D. An advertisement that relates to a policy under which the 
death benefit varies with the length of time the policy has 
been in force shall clearly call attention to the amount of 
minimum death benefit under the policy. If the death benefit 
during a specified period following the policy date of issue is 
limited to an amount equal to the sum of the premiums paid 
on the policy (with or without interest at a stated rate and 
regardless of whether the premiums are assumed to have 
always been paid annually), then any advertisement of the 
policy by an insurer shall prominently and clearly disclose the 
nature of the limited benefit. For the purposes of this 
subdivision only, the term "death benefit" does not include 
amounts payable because of accidental death, and exclusions 
applicable to death caused by suicide, occupational hazard, or 
aviation hazard are not to be considered in deriving the "death 
benefit." 

E. Any advertisement that mentions or refers to universal 
life insurance premiums shall include the following 
disclosure: 

"It is possible that coverage will expire when either no 
premiums are paid following the initial premium, or 
subsequent premiums are insufficient to continue coverage." 

F. An insurer or agent shall advise a prospective applicant 
who is considering replacing a policy that under the existing 
policy the period of time during which the existing insurer 
could contest the policy or deny coverage for death caused by 
suicide may have expired or may expire earlier than it will 
under the proposed policy. 

G. An advertisement for life insurance or an annuity that is 
to be used to fund a preneed funeral contract shall disclose 
that fact. 

H. An advertisement for life insurance or an annuity in 
which the face amount or any part of the face amount is based 
on the actual or estimated cost of funeral goods or services 
shall contain the following disclosure: 

"This is (life insurance or an annuity). This (life insurance or 
annuity) does not specifically cover funeral goods or services. 
The beneficiary of this (life insurance or annuity) may use the 
proceeds of this (life insurance or annuity) for any purpose, 
unless otherwise directed. The face amount of this (life 
insurance or annuity) is not guaranteed to increase at the same 
rate as the costs of a funeral increase." 
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14VAC5-41-50. Premiums. 

A. An amount that is a premium for a policy shall be 
referred to in any advertisement only as a premium. The use 
of words such as "deposit," "deposit premium," "investment," 
or other misleading or confusing terminology to refer to a 
premium is prohibited.  

B. An advertisement shall not contain a statement or 
representation that premiums paid for a policy can be 
withdrawn under the terms of the policy. Reference may be 
made to amounts paid into an advance premium fund, which 
are intended to pay premiums at a future time, to the effect 
that they may be withdrawn under the conditions of the 
prepayment agreement. Reference also may be made to 
withdrawal rights under any unconditional premium refund 
offer.  

C. An advertisement for a policy with nonlevel premiums 
shall prominently describe the premium changes. 

D. An advertisement in which the insurer describes a policy 
that reserves the right to change the amount of the premium 
during the policy term shall prominently describe this feature.  

E. An advertisement for a policy with pure endowment 
benefits payable within the premium paying period shall 
contain information regarding the premium charged in a 
clearly identified separate amount. The specific amount of 
each separate endowment shall be shown in dollar amounts 
only. An advertisement shall not represent a pure endowment 
benefit as a "profit" or "return" on the premium paid, rather 
than a policy benefit for which a specified premium is paid.  

F. An advertisement shall not imply the existence of an 
actuarial relationship between a specific premium or portion 
thereof, and a specific benefit or portion thereof, provided 
under a policy where, in fact, none exists. No premium or a 
portion of a premium shall be represented as an "additional," 
"separate," or "special" premium unless there is an actuarial 
relationship between the premium or portion thereof, and 
some specifically identifiable benefit or portion thereof.  

G. No artificial relationships among premiums, interest 
rates, and benefits or portions thereof shall be implied or 
created.  

H. An advertisement shall not represent that premium 
payments will not be required for each year of the policy in 
order to maintain the illustrated death benefits, unless that is 
the fact. 

I. An advertisement shall not use the term "vanish," 
"vanishing premium," or a similar term that implies the policy 
becomes paid up, to describe a plan using nonguaranteed 
elements to pay a portion of future premiums.  

14VAC5-41-60. Nonguaranteed policy elements. 

A. An advertisement shall not utilize or describe 
nonguaranteed policy elements in a manner that is misleading 

or has the capacity or tendency to mislead. In this connection, 
analogies and comparisons between dividends payable on 
shares of stock and dividends payable under a policy are 
prohibited unless the advertisement fully, clearly, and 
accurately describes the differences.  

B. An advertisement shall not state or imply that the 
payment or amount of nonguaranteed policy elements is 
guaranteed. If nonguaranteed policy elements are illustrated, 
they shall be based on the insurer's current scale, and the 
illustration shall contain a prominent statement to the effect 
that the nonguaranteed policy elements are not to be 
construed as guarantees of amounts to be paid in the future.  

C. An advertisement shall not state or imply that illustrated 
dividends or other nonguaranteed policy elements under 
either or both a participating policy or pure endowment will 
be or can be sufficient at any future time to assure without the 
future payment of premiums, the receipt of benefits, such as a 
paid-up policy, unless the advertisement clearly and precisely 
explains the benefits or coverage provided at that time and the 
conditions required for that to occur. 

D. An advertisement shall not state or imply that dividends 
are other than mainly a refund or return of part of the 
premium paid or that dividends are guaranteed.  

E. An advertisement shall not state or imply that a 
prospective policyholder will receive dividends or other 
nonguaranteed benefits, or special or favored treatment in the 
allowance or payment of amounts or other monetary benefits 
not expressly provided in the policy.  

F. An advertisement shall not refer to dividends as "tax free" 
or use words of similar import, unless the tax treatment of 
dividends is fully explained and the nature of the dividend as 
a return of premium is indicated clearly.  

G. An advertisement shall show dividends in dollar amount 
form only.  

H. If a dividend illustration is determined in a manner 
involving substantial deviation from the contribution 
principle, an advertisement showing illustrated dividends 
shall prominently display the following caution: "The 
illustrated dividends for this policy were determined in a 
manner inconsistent with generally accepted practices." 

14VAC5-41-70. Policies and benefits. 

A. An advertisement shall not use as the name or title of a 
policy any phrase which omits the words "life insurance" or 
"annuity," as appropriate, unless accompanied by other 
language clearly indicating it is life insurance or an annuity.  

B. An advertisement shall clearly and prominently describe 
the true nature or type of policy advertised.  

C. An advertisement shall not state, represent or imply that a 
prospective or current policyholder will receive the right to 
benefits that are not a part of the policy itself, or made an 
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effective part of the policy by rider or other instrument 
approved by and on file with the commission.  

D. An advertisement shall not represent, directly or 
indirectly, that a policy may be sold only to certain persons 
because of their occupation, association, age, sex, or other 
condition unless it can be shown that the policy advertised is, 
in fact, sold only to those persons. 

E. An advertisement shall not contain statements indicating 
that because a prospect has agreed to furnish names of 
potential purchasers, he is entitled to any specific benefits not 
available to all policyholders generally.  

F. An advertisement shall not represent an increasing or 
other term insurance provision as a return of premium, a cash 
surrender value, or anything other than a guaranteed 
insurance benefit for which a premium is charged.  

G. An advertisement shall not state or imply that a policy 
contains features or benefits that are not found in other 
policies, unless that is true.  

H. In any advertisement, the basic death benefit shall be 
shown as a single amount, not arbitrarily or deceptively split 
into two or more parts, implying that there is a relationship 
between some part of a premium or other policy amount and 
some part of the death benefit, unless that is the fact, and 
provided the relationship is not for the purpose of, or may 
likely have the effect of, misleading or deceiving.  

I. If nonforfeiture values are shown in any advertisement, 
the values must be shown either for the entire amount of the 
basic death benefit or for each $1,000 of initial death benefit.  

J. An advertisement shall not state or imply that on the death 
of an insured, the beneficiary will receive, or should have 
received, the cash value of a policy in addition to the face 
amount, unless the policy so provides.  

K. An advertisement shall not state or imply in any way that 
interest charged on a policy loan or the reduction of death 
benefits by the amount of outstanding policy loans is unfair, 
inequitable, or in any manner an incorrect or improper 
practice.  

L. The use of savings "passbooks" and similar misleading 
techniques to show a policy's cash value is prohibited.  

M. Analogies between a policy's cash values and savings 
accounts or other investments, and between premium 
payments and contributions to savings accounts or other 
investments shall be complete and accurate. The analogy shall 
make clear that the representation is an analogy only and that 
cash values and premium payments are not identical to a 
savings account or other investments and contributions.  

N. An advertisment shall not represent a pure endowment 
benefit as earnings on premiums paid or represent that a pure 
endowment benefit in a policy is other than a guaranteed 
benefit for which a specific part or all of the premium is being 

paid by the policyholder. For the purpose of this section, 
coupons or other devices for periodic payment of endowment 
benefits are included within the phrase "a pure endowment 
benefit."  

14VAC5-41-80. Policy costs and cost comparisons. 

A. The words "free," "no cost," "without cost," "no 
additional cost," "at no extra cost," or words of similar import 
shall not be used with respect to any benefit or service being 
made available with a policy unless true. If there is no charge 
to the insured, then the identity of the payor and the amount 
of the payment shall be prominently disclosed. An 
advertisement may specify the charge for a benefit or a 
service or may state that a charge is included in the premium 
or use other appropriate language.  

B. An advertisement of a particular policy shall not use the 
phrase "inexpensive," "low cost" or any similar term unless 
that fact is capable of being demonstrated to the satisfaction 
of the commission.  

C. An advertisement shall not imply or state that all older 
policies are more or less costly than newer policies.  

D. A system or presentation that does not recognize the time 
value of money through the use of appropriate interest 
adjustments shall not be used for comparing the costs of two 
or more policies. The system may be used for the purpose of 
providing accounting information on a single policy owned 
by a business or for the purpose of showing the income tax 
implications of ownership of a single policy provided (i) it is 
accompanied by a statement disclosing that the presentation 
does not recognize that, because of interest, a dollar in the 
future has less value than a dollar today, and (ii) it is not used, 
directly or by implication, for purposes of illustrating the cost 
of the policy.  

E. An advertisement of two or more policies sold as a 
"package" or other combination shall not direct attention 
improperly at the cost competitiveness of one part of the 
"package" when the cost competitiveness of that part is not 
indicative of the cost competitiveness of the "package" as a 
whole.  

F. An advertisement of a single policy shall not direct 
attention improperly at the cost competitiveness of a part of 
the policy when the cost competitiveness of that part is not 
indicative of the cost competitiveness of the entire policy.  

G. An advertisement of a policy at a particular issue age, 
sex, or amount shall not lead prospective policyholders to 
believe that the cost competitiveness of the policy is similar at 
other issue ages, sex, or amounts unless that is a fact.  

H. An advertisement containing a cost comparison of two or 
more policies with nonguaranteed policy elements in which 
the method of investment income allocation differs between 
or among the policies shall state that fact and shall contain a 
brief explanation of the implications of the cost comparison.  
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14VAC5-41-90. Insurer identity and representations. 

A. An advertisement shall not contain statements, pictures, 
comparative financial ratios, or illustrations that are false, 
misleading, or irrelevant in fact or by implication, with 
respect to the assets, liabilities, insurance in force, corporate 
structure, financial condition, age, or relative position of the 
insurer in the insurance business or with regard to affiliates or 
subsidiaries of the insurer. An advertisement shall not contain 
a recommendation by any commercial rating service unless it 
clearly defines the scope and extent of the recommendation.  

B. An advertisement shall not state or imply that a purchaser 
of a policy will share in or receive a stated percentage or 
portion of the earnings on the general account assets of the 
insurer unless that is a fact.  

C. The name of the insurer shall be clearly identified in all 
advertisements about the insurer or its products, and if any 
specific policy is advertised it shall be identified either by its 
form number or other appropriate description. If an 
application is a part of the advertisement, the name of the 
insurer shall be shown on the application.  

D. An advertisement shall not use a trade name, an 
insurance group designation, name of the parent company of 
the insurer, name of a particular division of the insurer, a 
reinsurer of the insurer, service mark, slogan, symbol, or 
other device or reference without disclosing the name of the 
insurer if the advertisement would have the capacity or 
tendency to mislead or deceive as to the true identity of the 
insurer, or create the impression that a company other than 
the insurer would have any responsibility for the financial 
obligations under a policy.  

E. An advertisement shall not use any combination of 
words, symbols, or physical materials that by their content, 
phraseology, shape, color, or other characteristics are so 
similar to a combination of words, symbols, or physical 
materials used by a governmental program or agency or 
otherwise appear to be of a nature that they tend to mislead 
prospective insureds into believing that the solicitation is in 
some manner connected with a governmental program or 
agency.  

F. An advertisement shall not use any combination of words, 
symbols, or physical materials that by their content, 
phraseology, shape, color, or other characteristics are so 
similar to a combination of words, symbols, or physical 
materials used by a noninsurance company with whom the 
prospective insured has a financial relationship or otherwise 
appear to be of a nature that it tends to mislead or deceive the 
prospective insured into believing that the purchase of 
insurance is required by the company.  

G. An advertisement shall not represent that the mere size of 
an insurer or its total insurance in force necessarily affects 
either the solvency of the insurer or the reliability of the 
policies issued by the insurer.  

H. An advertisement shall not contain any statement that 
would lead a prospective buyer or policyholder of life 
insurance or annuity to believe that he is acquiring stock in an 
insurer by purchasing the life insurance or annuity.  

I. An advertisement shall not contain any statement that 
creates an inference that policyholders are entitled to benefits 
or profits on the same basis as stockholders. 

J. An insurer or agent shall not use the terms "financial 
planner," "investment advisor," "financial consultant," 
"financial counseling" or other similar terms in a way that 
implies that the person who is engaged in the business of 
insurance, is generally engaged in an advisory business in 
which compensation is unrelated to sales unless that is 
actually a fact. No person engaged in the business of 
insurance shall hold himself out, directly or indirectly, to the 
public as a "financial planner," "investment advisor," 
"financial consultant," "financial counselor" or any other 
specialist engaged in the business of giving complete 
financial planning advice relating to investments, insurance, 
real estate, tax matters, and trust and estate matters unless that 
person in fact is engaged in that business and renders those 
services. Not included in "services" is the presentation of 
computer printouts that fall into the category of advanced 
programming for the purpose of selling a policy. 

K. An advertisement of a policy marketed by direct response 
techniques shall not state or imply that because there is no 
insurance agent or commission involved there will be a cost 
savings to prospective purchasers unless that is the fact.  

L. An insurer or agent shall not use materials, statements, or 
communications of any kind that when used alone are not 
misleading, but become deceptive or misleading when 
combined. 

M. An insurer or agent shall not offer or provide to a 
proposed insured or other person a gift of substantial value if 
an application, inquiry card, or reinstatement application is 
returned within a specified period of time. For purposes of 
this subsection, a gift valued at $5.00 or less shall not be 
considered of substantial value. 

14VAC5-41-100. Testimonials, appraisals, analyses and 
endorsements. 

A. A testimonial, appraisal, analysis, or endorsement used in 
an advertisement shall be genuine; represent the current 
opinion of the author; be applicable to the policy advertised, 
if any; and be accurately reproduced with sufficient 
completeness to avoid misleading or deceiving prospective 
insureds as to the nature or scope of the testimonial, appraisal, 
analysis, or endorsement. In using testimonials, appraisals, 
analyses, or endorsements the insurer or agent makes as its 
own all the statements contained therein, and these statements 
are subject to all provisions of this chapter. 
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B. If the individual making a testimonial, appraisal, analysis, 
or endorsement has a financial interest in the insurer or a 
related entity as a stockholder, director, officer, employee, or 
otherwise, that fact shall be clearly and prominently disclosed 
in the advertisement. If an individual receives any financial 
benefit directly or indirectly, greater than required union scale 
wages, that fact shall be clearly and prominently disclosed in 
the advertisement by language identical or substantially 
similar to the following: "THIS IS A PAID 
ENDORSEMENT."  

C. An advertisement shall not state or imply that an insurer 
or a policy has been approved or endorsed by a group of 
individuals, society, association, or other organization unless 
that is the fact and unless any proprietary relationship 
between an organization and the insurer is disclosed. If the 
entity making the endorsement or testimonial is owned, 
controlled, or managed by the insurer or receives any 
payment or other consideration from the insurer for making 
the endorsement or testimonial, that fact shall be disclosed in 
the advertisement.  

14VAC5-41-110. Introductory, initial or special offers. 

A. An advertisement of one policy or combination of 
policies shall not state or imply that the policy or combination 
of policies is an introductory, initial, or special offer, or that 
applicants will receive substantial advantages not available at 
a later date, or that the offer is available only to a specified 
group of individuals, unless that is the fact. An advertisement 
shall not describe an enrollment period as "special" or 
"limited" or use similar words or phrases in describing it 
when the insurer uses successive enrollment periods as its 
usual method of marketing its policies.  

B. An advertisement shall not state or imply that only a 
specific number of policies will be sold, or that a time is fixed 
for the discontinuance of the sale of a particular policy 
because of special advantages available in the policy.  

C. An advertisement shall not offer a policy that utilizes a 
reduced initial premium rate in a manner that overemphasizes 
the availability and the amount of the reduced initial 
premium. When an insurer charges an initial premium that 
differs in amount from the amount of the renewal premium 
payable on the same mode, all references to the reduced 
initial premium shall be followed by an asterisk or other 
appropriate symbol that refers the reader to that specific 
portion of the advertisement that contains the full rate 
schedule for the policy.  

D. An enrollment period during which a particular policy 
may be purchased on an individual basis shall not be offered 
within this Commonwealth unless there has been a lapse of 
not less than six months between the close of the immediately 
preceding enrollment period for the same or substantially 
similar policy and the opening of a new enrollment period. 
The advertisement shall specify the date by which the 

applicant must mail the application, that shall be not less than 
10 days and not more than 40 days from the date on which 
the enrollment period is presented for the first time in the 
advertisement. This section applies to all the affiliated 
companies of a group of insurance companies under common 
management or control. This section does not apply to the use 
of a termination or cutoff date beyond which an individual 
application for a guaranteed issue policy will not be accepted 
by an insurer in those instances where the application has 
been sent to the applicant in response to his request. It is also 
inapplicable to solicitations of employees or members of a 
particular group or association that otherwise would be 
eligible under specific provisions of the Code of Virginia for 
group, blanket, or franchise insurance. In cases where a 
policy is marketed on a direct response basis to prospective 
insureds by reason of some common relationship with a 
sponsoring organization, this section shall be applied 
separately to each sponsoring organization.  

14VAC5-41-120. Policies sold to students. 

A. The envelope in which advertisement material is 
contained may be addressed to the parents of students. The 
address shall not include any combination of words that 
imply that the correspondence is from a school, college, 
university, or other education or training institution nor shall 
it imply that the institution has endorsed the material or 
supplied the insurer with information about the student unless 
that is a fact.  

B. All advertisements including, but not limited to, 
informational flyers shall be clearly identified as coming from 
an insurer or agent, if that is the case, and these entities shall 
be clearly marked as such.  

C. The return address on the envelope shall not imply that 
the soliciting insurer or agent is affiliated with a university, 
college, school, or other educational or training institution 
unless that is a fact. 

14VAC5-41-130. Individual deferred annuity contracts or 
deposit funds. 

A. Any illustrations or statements containing or based upon 
nonguaranteed interest rates shall likewise set forth with 
equal prominence comparable illustrations or statements 
containing or based upon the guaranteed accumulation rates. 
The nonguaranteed interest rate shall not be greater than those 
currently being credited by the company unless the 
nonguaranteed rates have been publicly declared by the 
company with an effective date for new issues not more than 
three months subsequent to the date of declaration. 

B. If an advertisement for a particular annuity or advance 
premium fund states the accumulation interest rate based on 
net contributions, it shall also disclose in close proximity and 
with equal prominence, the accumulation interest rate based 
on gross contribution and the relationship between gross and 
net contributions. 
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C. An advertisement shall not state or imply that annuities or 
advance premium funds are accorded preferential tax 
treatment unless the advertisement describes the tax 
consequences of purchasing an annuity or making payments 
into an advance premium fund, including tax consequences 
on surrender and on death.  

D. If the contract does not provide a cash surrender benefit 
prior to commencement of payment of annuity benefits, an 
illustration or statement concerning the contract shall 
prominently state that cash surrender benefits are not 
provided. 

E. Any illustrations, depictions, or statements containing or 
based on determinable policy elements shall set forth with 
equal prominence comparable illustrations, depictions, or 
statements containing or based on guaranteed policy 
elements. 

14VAC5-41-140. Jurisdictional licensing. 

A. An advertisement that is intended to be seen or heard 
beyond the limits of the jurisdiction in which the insurer or 
agent is licensed shall not imply licensing beyond those 
limits.  

B. An advertisement may state that an insurer or agent is 
licensed in the state where the advertisement appears, 
provided it does not exaggerate that fact or suggest or imply 
that competing insurers or agents may not be so licensed.  

C. An advertisement shall not create the impression that the 
insurer, its financial condition or status, the payment of its 
claims, or the merits, desirability, or advisability of its policy 
forms or kinds of plans of insurance are recommended or 
endorsed by any governmental entity. However, where a 
governmental entity has recommended or endorsed a policy 
form or plan, that fact may be stated if the entity authorizes its 
recommendation or endorsement to be used in an 
advertisement.  

D. An advertisement shall not represent or imply that any 
financial ratio, illustrative material or advertisement, 
including pictures, diagrams, charts, projections, or other 
material, has been approved or sanctioned by the commission, 
unless that is a fact.  

14VAC5-41-150. Approval and records maintenance 
requirements. 

A. All advertisements written, created, designed, or 
presented by an agent or other party responsible for 
advertisement shall be approved by the insurer. 

B. Each insurer shall establish and at all times maintain a 
system of control over the method of dissemination, content, 
and form of all advertisements of its policies. A system of 
control shall include regular and routine notification to 
agents, brokers, and others authorized by the insurer to 
disseminate advertisements of the requirement and 

procedures for company approval prior to the use of any 
advertisement that is not furnished by the insurer. 

C. Each insurer shall maintain at its home or principal office 
a complete file containing a specimen copy of every printed, 
published, or prepared advertisement of its individual policies 
and specimen copies of typical printed, published, or prepared 
advertisements of its blanket, franchise, and group policies, 
disseminated in this Commonwealth, with a notation 
indicating the manner and extent of distribution and the form 
number of any policy referred to in any advertisement. The 
file shall be subject to inspection by the commission. All 
advertisements shall be maintained in the file for a period of 
five years after discontinuance of their use or publication.  

D. Each insurer shall inform its agents of the requirements 
of this regulation. 

E. If the commission finds that it may be in the best interests 
of the public, at the commission's specific request, it may 
require particular insurers or agents to submit all or any part 
of their advertisements to the commission for review or 
approval prior to use.  

14VAC5-41-160. Severability. 

If any provision of this chapter or its application to any 
person or circumstance is for any reason held to be invalid by 
a court, the remainder of this chapter and the application of 
the provisions to other persons or circumstances shall not be 
affected.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2414; Filed October 21, 2010, 9:19 a.m.  
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Environmental Study on Eight Stream Segments 
Within the James River Watershed 

Purpose of notice: To seek public comment and announce a 
public meeting on two water quality studies by the 
Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) for eight stream 
segments that drain from portions of Campbell, Bedford, and 
Amherst counties and the City of Lynchburg and are located 
within the James River watershed. 

Public meeting information: The meeting will be held on 
Thursday, December 9, 2010, in the Community Room of the 
Lynchburg Public Library, 2315 Memorial Avenue, 
Lynchburg, VA, from 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.  

Comment period: December 10, 2010, to January 10, 2011. 

Meeting description: Virginia agencies are working to 
identify and eliminate sources of bacteria contamination in 
eight stream segments from the James River watershed in 
Central Virginia that currently exceed DEQ water quality 
standards and are listed on the "impaired," or dirty waters, 
list. The local streams included in the studies are: 18.43 miles 
of James River, 5.37 miles of Ivy Creek, 5.9 miles of 
Tomahawk Creek, 3.47 miles of Burton Creek, 10.55 miles of 
Judith Creek, 5.45 miles of Fishing Creek, 10.24 miles of 
Blackwater Creek, and 8.5 miles of Beaver Creek. 

The pending public meeting will present and allow public 
comment and questions on two water quality studies, which 
include: 

1. An amendment to the James River total maximum daily 
load (TMDL) developed and adopted in 2007. The TMDL 
study provides a summary of the source of pollutants 
within the stream segments and provides a summary of the 
amount of pollutant that must be removed to meet water 
quality standards for the eight stream segments. 

2. The James River TMDL Implementation Plan, or 
watershed management plan, presents an outline of 
voluntary actions or practices that should be utilized within 
the region to meet the water quality standard (TMDL) for 
the local streams. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax, or postal mail. Written comments should include the 
name, address, and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ during the comment 
period. DEQ also accepts written and oral comments at the 
public meeting announced in this notice. Written comments 
should be directed to Paula Nash, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 7705 Timberlake Road, Lynchburg, 
VA 24502, email paula.nash@deq.virginia.gov, or telephone 
(434) 582-5120, or to Kelly Hitchcock, Virginia's Region 
2000 Local Government Council, 828 Main Street, 12th 

Floor, Lynchburg, VA 24504, email 
khitchcock@region2000.org, or telephone (434) 845-3491. 

Additional information: For additional information on the 
James River Basin TMDL or the James River TMDL 
Implementation Plan, you may (i) contact Kelly Hitchcock, 
contact information above, (ii) go to the Environmental 
Section of the Virginia's Region 2000 Local Government 
Council website at http://region2000.org/environmental-
services.html, or (iii) go to the DEQ website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. 

PCB Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) Study in the 
Elizabeth River and Lower James River Watersheds 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) 
will host a public meeting on a water quality study for the 
Elizabeth River mainstem, branches, and several tributaries as 
well as the middle-lower portions of the James River and 
major tributaries, on Wednesday, December 1, 2010. The 
meeting will start at 6 p.m. in the DEQ, Tidewater Regional 
Office, 5636 Southern Blvd., Virginia Beach, VA. 

There are several impaired estuarine and tributary segments 
in the James River and Elizabeth River watersheds that were 
identified in the 2006 and 2008 Water Quality Assessment 
and Integrated Reports due to violations of Virginia's water 
quality standards for PCB (polychlorinated biphenyl) in fish 
tissue. The PCB-impaired segments include the entire 
mainstem of the James River, from the fall line to the mouth 
and major tributaries: Nansemond River, Pagan River, Jones 
Creek, Chuckatuck and Brewers Creeks, and Bennett Creek. 
For the purpose of this meeting, the portion of the James 
River covered in this region will extend southward from the 
Chickahominy River. Included in the Elizabeth River 
watershed are the main channel, the Western, Southern and 
Eastern Branches, St. Julian's Creek, Deep Creek, Broad 
Creek, and Willoughby Bay. 

The purpose of the study will be to identify sources in the 
watersheds and to determine the reductions in loadings 
needed to meet the water quality goals. The TMDL will be 
used to determine a water quality endpoint. Because 
violations of Virginia's water quality standards for PCB in 
fish tissue have been detected, the objective of the PCB 
TMDL will be to ensure the "fishing" designated use in the 
river is supported to allow consumption of fish protective of 
human health. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 
of the Code of Virginia require DEQ to develop TMDLs for 
pollutants responsible for each impaired water contained in 
Virginia's 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report and 
subsequent Water Quality Assessment Reports. 

The public comment period on materials presented at this 
meeting will extend from December 2, 2010, to January 3, 
2011. For additional information or to submit comments, 
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contact Jennifer Howell, Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 
Southern Blvd., Virginia Beach, VA 23462, by telephone 
(757) 518-2111, or by email 
jennifer.howell@deq.virginia.gov. Additional information is 
also available on the DEQ website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl. 

Total Maximum Daily Load Implementation Plan for 
Hays Creek, Walker Creek, Moffatts Creek, and Otts 

Creek in Augusta and Rockbridge Counties 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) and the 
Department of Conservation and Recreation (DCR) seek 
written and oral comments from interested persons on the 
development of a total maximum daily load (TMDL) 
implementation plan for Hays Creek, Walker Creek, Moffatts 
Creek, and Otts Creek in Augusta and Rockbridge counties. 
Hays Creek was listed on the 1998 303(d) TMDL Priority 
List and Report as impaired due to violations of the state's 
water quality standard for bacteria. This impairment extends 
for 11.99 miles from Moffatts Creek to the confluence with 
the Maury River. Tributaries of Hays Creek, including 
Moffatts Creek, Walker Creek, and Otts Creek are also listed 
on the 2006 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report for 
violations of the state's water quality standard for bacteria. 
These TMDLs were approved by EPA on May 19, 2008, and 
are available on DEQ's website at 
http://gisweb.deq.virginia.gov/tmdlapp/tmdl_report_search.cfm. 

Section 62.1-44.19:7 C of the Code of Virginia requires the 
development of an implementation plan (IP) for approved 
TMDLs. The IP should provide measurable goals and the date 
of expected achievement of water quality objectives. The IP 
should also include the corrective actions needed and their 
associated costs, benefits, and environmental impacts. 

DEQ and DCR will hold a final public meeting on Thursday, 
December 2, 2010, at 7 p.m. to inform the public of the IP 
development and to solicit comments on the draft document. 
The meeting will be held at the Rockbridge Baths Volunteer 
Fire Department, 5024 Maury River Road, Rockbridge Baths, 
VA. 

The draft implementation plan will be available for review on 
DEQ's website no later than December 2, 2010, at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl/iprpts.html. The public 
comment period for this final public meeting will end on 
Monday January 3, 2011. Written comments should include 
the name, address, and telephone number of the person 
submitting the comments and should be sent to Nesha 
McRae, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 
44 Sangers Lane, Suite 102, Staunton, VA 24401, telephone 
(540) 332-9238, or email nesha.mcrae@dcr.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

Drinking Water State Revolving Fund Program - 
Intended Use Plan for FY2010 

The Virginia Department of Health (VDH) received 
numerous funding requests and set-aside suggestions 
following the January 2009 announcement regarding funds 
available from the Drinking Water State Revolving Fund 
Program. Through the Safe Drinking Water Act, Congress 
authorizes capitalization grants to the states but authorization 
has not been finalized. 

VDH's Office of Drinking Water (ODW) has prepared a draft 
intended use plan (IUP) using information submitted via the 
funding requests and set-aside suggestions. This draft IUP is 
for review and comment by the public. The document entitled 
"Virginia Drinking Water State Revolving Fund Program 
Design Manual" (dated January 12, 2009) is a part of the IUP. 
This document was mailed in the January announcement and 
is available at: 
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinkingwater/financial. 

As previously announced, VDH will hold a public meeting. 
The meeting will be on Wednesday, December 15, 2010, 
from 8:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. at the Office of Drinking Water 
East Central Field Office, 300 Turner Road, Richmond, VA 
23225. In addition, comments from the public are to be 
postmarked by Friday, December 24, 2010. 

Those parties planning to attend may contact Theresa Hewlett 
at (804) 864-7501 by the close of business on Monday, 
December 13, 2010. Please direct your requests for 
information and forward written comments to: Steven D. 
Pellei, P. E., Virginia Department of Health, Office of 
Drinking Water, James Madison Building, Room 622, 109 
Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-
7489, FAX (804) 864-7521. 

Contact Information: Steven D. Pellei, P.E., Program 
Manager, Virginia Department of Health, 109 Governor 
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7489, 
FAX (804) 864-7521, or email steve.pellei@vdh.virginia.gov. 

STATE LOTTERY DEPARTMENT 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the State Lottery 
Department were filed with the Virginia Registrar of 
Regulations on November 3, 2010. The orders may be viewed 
at the State Lottery Department, 900 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA, or at the office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, 910 Capitol Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA. 
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Director's Order Number Ninety-Two (10) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1205; "Tis The Season" Final 
Rules for Game Operation (effective nunc pro tunc to 
November 2, 2010) 

Director's Order Number Ninety-Six (10) 

Virginia's Twenty-Fourth On-Line Game "Virginia's New 
Year Millionaire Raffle" Final Rules for Game Operation 
(effective nunc pro tunc to November 2, 2010) 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, General Assembly Building, 
2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice (804) 
786-3591; FAX (804) 692-0625; Email: 
varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 
requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 
websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 
http://www.virginia.gov/cmsportal3/cgi-bin/calendar.cgi. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 
Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 
regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 
repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 
regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 
the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 
available at http://register.dls.virginia.gov/cumultab.htm. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations: Agencies are required to use the Regulation 
Information System (RIS) when filing regulations for 
publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 
Office of the Virginia Register of Regulations implemented a 
web-based application called RIS for filing regulations and 
related items for publication in the Virginia Register. The 
Registrar's office has worked closely with the Department of 
Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 
complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 
regulatory information. 

The Office of the Virginia Register is working toward the 
eventual elimination of the requirement that agencies file 
print copies of regulatory packages. Until that time, agencies 
may file petitions for rulemaking, notices of intended 
regulatory actions, and general notices in electronic form 
only; however, until further notice, agencies must continue to 
file print copies of proposed, final, fast-track, and emergency 
regulatory packages. 
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